
TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical and Remedial 

Care Services (amending 12VAC30-50-220).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 42 USC §1396 et seq. 

Effective Dates: December 6, 2016, through June 5, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, Policy Division, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that agencies may adopt emergency 

regulations in situations in which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or less from its 

enactment, and the regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 of the 

Code of Virginia. Item 306 OOOO of Chapter 780 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, the 2016 

Appropriation Act, directs the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to cover 

low-dose computed tomography lung cancer screenings for high-risk adults. The 

amendments conform the regulation to this requirement. 

12VAC30-50-220. Other diagnostic Diagnostic, screening, preventive, and rehabilitative 

services, i.e., other than those provided elsewhere in this plan.  

A. Diagnostic services are provided but only when necessary to confirm a diagnosis.  

B. Screening services.  

1. Screening mammograms for the female recipient population aged 35 and over shall be 

covered, consistent with the guidelines published by the American Cancer Society.  

2. Screening PSA (prostate specific antigen) and the related DRE (digital rectal 

examination) for males shall be covered, consistent with the guidelines published by the 

American Cancer Society.  

3. Screening Pap smears shall be covered annually for females, consistent with the 

guidelines published by the American Cancer Society.  

4. Screening services for colorectal cancer, specifically screening with an annual fecal occult 

blood test, flexible sigmoidoscopy or colonoscopy, or in appropriate circumstances 

radiologic imaging, in accordance with the most recently published recommendations 

established by the American College of Gastroenterology, in consultation with the American 

Cancer Society, for the ages, family histories, and frequencies referenced in such 

recommendations.  

5. Low-dose computed tomography lung cancer screening shall be covered annually for 

individuals between the ages of 55 years and 79 years who are current smokers, have quit 

smoking within the last 15 years, or have a history of smoking at least one pack of cigarettes 

per day for 30 or more years.  

C. Maternity length of stay and early discharge.  



1. If the mother and newborn, or the newborn alone, are discharged earlier than 48 hours 

after the day of delivery, DMAS will cover one early discharge follow-up visit as 

recommended by the physicians in accordance with and as indicated by the "Guidelines for 

Perinatal Care," 4th Edition, August 1997, as developed by the American Academy of 

Pediatrics and the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. The mother and 

newborn, or the newborn alone if the mother has not been discharged, must meet the criteria 

for early discharge to be eligible for the early discharge follow-up visit. This early discharge 

follow-up visit does not affect or apply to any usual postpartum or well-baby care or any 

other covered care to which the mother or newborn is entitled; it is tied directly to an early 

discharge.  

2. The early discharge follow-up visit must be provided as directed by a physician. The 

physician may coordinate with the provider of his choice to provide the early discharge 

follow-up visit, within the following limitations. Qualified providers are those hospitals, 

physicians, nurse midwives, nurse practitioners, federally qualified health clinics, rural 

health clinics, and health departments' clinics that are enrolled as Medicaid providers and are 

qualified by the appropriate state authority for delivery of the service. The staff providing 

the follow-up visit, at a minimum, must be a registered nurse having training and experience 

in maternal and child health. The visit must be provided within 48 hours of discharge.  
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