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The Virginia Register is an official state publication issued 
every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 
quarterly, and the last index of the year is cumulative. The 
Virginia Register has several functions. The new and amended 
sections of regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, 
are required by law to be published in The Virginia Register of 
Regulations. In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other 
information about state government, including all emergency 
regulations and executive orders issued by the Governor, the 
Virginia Tax Bulletin issued periodically by the Department of 
Taxation, and notices of public hearings and open meetings of 
state agencies. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must 

first publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory 
action: a basis, purpose, substance and issues statement: an 
economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 
Planning and Budget; the agency's response to the economic 
impact analysis; a summary: a notice giving the public an 
opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the 
proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, 
the promulgating agency receives public comments for a 
minimum of 60 days. The Governor reviews the proposed 
regulation to determine if it is necessary to protect the public 
health, safety and welfare, and if it is clearly written and easily 
understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the 
proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the 
agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor's 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not 
less than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public 
comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The appropriate standing committee of each branch of the 
General Assembly may meet during the promulgation or final 
adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar and the 
promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the 
Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a 
legislative objection, the agency shall file a response with the 
Registrar, the objecting legislative committee, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text 
of the regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the 
proposed regulation and explaining any substantial changes made 
since publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period 
begins upon final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time 
and, if he objects, f01ward his objection to the Registrar and the 
agency. In addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the 
Governor may suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular General Assembly 
session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the 
members of the appropriate standing committees and the 
Governor. The Governor's objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If 
the Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation 
have substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an 
additional 30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice 
of the additional public comment period required by the Governor 
will be published in the Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days 
when it receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit 
additional public comment, unless the agency determines that the 
changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day 
final adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the 
promulgating agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been 
filed, in which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes 
effective on the date specified, which shall be after the expiration 

of the 21-day extension period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 
authority to require the agency to provide for additional public 
comment, in which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, 
becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided for 
additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or 
(iv) the agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 30-day public 
comment period. 

Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promul­
gating agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
If an agency demonstrates that (i) there is an immediate threat 

to the public's health or safety; or (ii) Virginia statutory law, the 
appropriation act, federal law, or federal regulation requires a 
regulation to take effect no later than (a) 280 days from the 
enactment in the case of Virginia or federal law or the 
appropriation act, or (b) 280 days from the effective date of a 
federal regulation, it then requests the Governor's approval to 
adopt an emergency regulation. The emergency regulation 
becomes operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar 
of Regulations, unless a later date is specified. Emergency 
regulations are limited to addressing specifically defined situations 
and may not exceed 12 months in duration. Emergency 
regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency 
may proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through 
the usual procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement 
regulation, the agency must (i) deliver the Notice of Intended 
Regulatory Action to the Registrar in time to be published within 
60 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation; and (ii) 
deliver the proposed regulation to the Registrar in time to be 
published within 180 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, the 
emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the 

procedures to be followed. For specific statutory language, it is 
suggested that Article 2 (§ 9-6.14:7.1 et seq.) of Chapter 1.1:1 of 
the Code of Virginia be examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, 
and date. 12:8 VA.R. 1096-1106 January 8, 1996, refers to 
Volume 12, Issue 8, pages 1096 through 1106 of the Virginia 
Register issued on January 8, 1996. 

"The Virginia Register of Regulations" (USPS-001831) is 
published bi-weekly, except four times in January, April, July and 
October, for $100 per year by the Virginia Code Commission, 
General Assembly Building, Capitol Square, Richmond, Virginia 
23219. Telephone (804) 786-3591. Second-Class Postage Rates 
Paid at Richmond, Virginia. POSTMASTER: Send address 
changes to The Virginia Register of Regulations, 910 Capitol 
Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to 
Article 7 (§ 9-6.14:22 et seq.) of Chapter 1.1:1 of the Code of 
Virginia. Individual copies, if available, may be purchased for 
$4.00 each from the Registrar of Regulations. 
Members of the Virainia Code Commission: Joseph V. Gartlan, 

.-Jr., Chairman; W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr., Vice Chairman; Robert L. 
Calhoun; Russell M. Carneal; Bernard S. Cohen; Jay W. 
DeBoer; Frank S. Ferguson; E. M. Miller, Jr.; Jackson E. 
Reasor, Jr.; James B. Wilkinson. · 

Staff of the Virainia Register: E. M. Miller, Jr .• Acting Registrar of 
Regulations; Jane D. Chaffin, Deputy Registrar of Regulations. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

Symbol Key 
t Indicates entries since last publication of the Virginia Register 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES (BOARD OF) 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services intends to consider amending regulations entitled: 2 
VAC 5-180-10 el seq. Rules and Regulations Governing 
Pseudorabies in Virginia. Pseudorabies is a disease that 
exacts a high death toll among the animals it infects, many of 
which are domesticated animals. Among the animals that 
can be infected with pseudorabies are cattle, sheep, dogs, 
cats, and notably, swine. There is no known evidence that 
humans can contract pseudorabies. Most kinds of animals 
infected with pseudorabies die before they can infect other 
animals (death usually occurs within 72 hours after infection). 
Sw1ne are a different matter. Although pseudorabies can kill 
swine (the younger the swine, the higher the rate of 
mortality), they can also recover from the disease and spread 
11 to other sw1ne and to other kinds of animals. Virginia's 
regulations to eradicate pseudorabies from swine are part of 
a nat1onal program designed to rid the nation of 
pseudorabies. This regulation provides rules to govern the 
program for the eradication of pseudorabies from swine in 
Virginia. The purpose of the contemplated regulatory action 
is to review the regulation for effectiveness and continued 
need including, but not limited to, a proposal to allow Virginia 
to participate in the national program to eradicate 
pseudorabies at whatever stage its circumstances at a 
particular time would allow -- whether stage 1 or stage 5, or 
any stage 1n between. The agency invites comment on 
whether there should be an advisor appointed for the present 
r:gulatory action. An advisor is (i) a standing advisory panel, 
(11) an ad-hoc advisory panel, (iii) a consultant with groups, 
(1v) a consultant with individuals, or (v) any combination 
thereof. The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed regulation after publication. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.1-724, 3.1-726 and 3.1-730 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 8:30 a.m. on August 
26, 1996, to Dr. W. M. Sims, Jr., Department of Agriculture 
and . Consumer Services, Division of Animal Industry 
Serv1ces, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218-1163. 

Co~tacl: T. R. Lee, Program Supervisor, Department of 
Agnculture and Consumer Services, Office of Veterinary 
Serv1ces, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218-1163, 
telephone (804) 786-2483. 

VA.R. Doc. No. A96·3BB; Filed May 28, 1996,2:30 p.m. 

Volume 12, Issue 23 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution Control Board 
intends to consider promulgating regulations entitled: 9 VAC 
5-500-10 el seq. Exclusionary General Permit lor Federal 
Operating Permit Program. The purpose of the proposed 
act1on 1s to develop a general permit that will become a 
legally enforceable mechanism for stationary sources subject 
to the federal operating permit program (Article 1 of 9 VAC 5-
80-.1 0 et seq:) to be excluded from the program provided they 
mamta1n the" actual annual emissions at a specified level 
that is less than the potential to emit applicability thresholds 
fo.' the federal operating permit program. A public meeting 
Will be held by the department in the Training Room, 
Department of EnVIronmental Quality, 629 East Main Street 
Richmond, Virginia, at 10 a.m. on August 7, 1996, to discus~ 
the intended action. Unlike a public hearing, which is 
Intended only to receive testimony, this meeting is being held 
to d1scuss and exchange ideas and information relative to 
regulation development. The department will form a technical 
advisory committee to assist in the development of the 
regulation. If you desire to be on the committee, notify the 
agency contact in writing by 4:30 p.m. on August 8 1996 
and provide your name, address, phone number ~nd th~ 
organization you represent (if any). Notification of the 
composition of the technical advisory committee will be sent 
to all applicants. If you wish to be on the committee, you are 
encouraged to attend the public meeting mentioned above. 
The primary function of the committee is to develop a 
recommended regulation for department consideration 
through the collaborative approach of regulatory negotiation 
and co~sensus. After publicati~n in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations, th~ department w1ll hold at least one public 
heanng to prov1de opportunity for public comment on any 
regulation drafted pursuant to this notice. 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m. on August 
8, 1996, to the Director, Office of Air Program Development, 
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, 
Richmond, VA, 23240. 

Contact: Robert A. Mann, Director, Office of Air Program 
Development, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. 
Box 10009, Richmond, VA, 23240, telephone (804) 698-
4419, toll-free (800) 592-5482, FAX (804) 698-4510, or (804) 
698-4021 fTDD 'lil 

Monda~ August~ 1996 
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Notices of Intended Regulatory Action 

BOARD FOR COSMETOLOGY 

t Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice Is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board lor Cosmetology intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled: 18 VAC 55-20-10 et 
seq. Board lor Cosmetology Regulations. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to revise examination language to 
Incorporate reference to the Public Procurement Act and to 
simplify provisions of current regulations. The agency 
intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation 
after publication. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-1 ~v2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until September 5, 1996. 

Contact: Karen W. O'Neal, Assistant Director, Board for 
Cosmetology, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8509, FAX (804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-
9753fTDD 'if 

VA.R. Doc. No. R96·479; Filed July 8, 1996, 11:58 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES 
(CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD) 

t Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services Board 
intends to consider amending regulations entitled: 6 VAC 20-
20·1 0 et seq. Rules Relating lo Compulsory Minimum 
Training Standards lor Law-Enlorcemenl Officers. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to amend the regulations 
relating to minimum training standards for law-enforcement 
officers to update these based on the 1995 job task analysis 
which identified the knowledge, skills, and abilities required to 
pertorm the duties of the position at a minimally acceptable 
level. Updated standards and training will be consistent with 
pertormance expectations for law-enforcement officers in the 
Commonwealth that best meet the goal of maintaining public 
safety. The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed regulation after publication. 

Statutory Authority: § 9-170 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until September 5, 1996, 
to Lex Eckenrode, Deputy Director, Bureau of Operations, 
Departmen.t of Criminal Justice Services, 805 East Broad 
Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Contact: Judy Kirkendall, Job Task Analysis Administrator, 
Department ol Criminal Justice Services, 805 E. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-8003 or FAX 
(804) 371-8981. 

VA.R.f?oc. No. R96-494; Filed July 17, 1996, "!0:02a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION (STATE BOARD OF) 

Notice ol Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice Is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled: 8 VAC 20-130-10 el 
seq., Regulations Establishing Standards lor Accredlilng 
Public Schools In VIrginia. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to ensure improved compliance with the Standards 
of Quality which require the Board of Education to promulgate 
regulations establishing standards for accrediting public 
schools in Virginia. The board seeks to amend the existing 
standards of accreditation to locus the accreditation and 
evaluation of schools more strongly on student academic 
achievement and school level progress toward meeting the 
academic objectives in the standards of learning recently 
adopted by the board. The Board of Education will hold 
preliminary public hearings in August to receive suggestions 
from the public for revisions to the accrediting standards. 
The specific dates, times, and location will be published in a 
future issue of the Virginia Register, as well as announced at 
the July 25 Board of Education meeting and advertised 
through the state media. Speakers are requested to provide 
their comments in writing, if possible, at the lime they speak. 
Comments will also be received by mail at the Board of 
Education, P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, Virginia 23218-2120. 
In addition to these preliminary public hearings, the board will 
hold additional hearings following publication of the proposed 
revisions to the regulations. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16,22.1-19 and 22.1·253.13:3 B 
of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submi!!ed until September 30, 
1996. 

Contact: Lin Carbin-Howerton, Policy Director, Department 
of Education, P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA, 23218-2120, 
telephone (804) 225-2543, toll free (800) 292-3820 or FAX 
(804) 225-2053. 

DEPARTMENT OF FORESTRY 

t Notice ollntended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Forestry intends to 
consider repealing regulations entitled: 4 VAC 5-40-10 el 
seq. State Forests Regulations. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to repeal regulations that regulate uses, 
maintain order and preserve the conditions of all state forests 
including the roads, ponds, lakes, streams, rivers, beaches, 
food patches and recreational areas where the public may 
visit The Department of Forestry believes that current laws 
provide sufficient protection over its varied interests and 
allows the full enjoyment without degradation to the state 
forest resources. The department also believes that a 
separate regulation to administer state forests is redundant 
with many public safety laws and is not necessary. The 

Virginia Register of Regulations 
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Notices of Intended Regulatory Action 

agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed repeal of the regulation after publication. 

Statutory Authority: § 1 0.1-11 01 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until September 9, 1996. 

Contact: Ronald Jenkins, Administration Officer, 
Department of Forestry, P.O. Box 3758, Charlottesville, VA 
22903, telephone (804) 977-6555, FAX (804) 293-2768, or 
(804) 977-6555!TDD 'lil' 

VAR. Doc. No. R96-492; Filed July 17, 1996,9:44 a.m. 

t Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Forestry intends to 
consider repealing regulations entitled: 4 VAC 5-60-10 et 
seq. Reforestation of Timberlands. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to repeal the regulations that provide for 
the administration of resources, i.e., personnel, equipment, 
materials and supplies. These regulations provide for the 
protection, preservation and perpetuation of the state's forest 
resources. The regulations were recommended for repeal 
after the Executive Order 15(94) review revealed that state 
law provides necessary guidance to administer the state 
reforestation program and protect the state's forest 
resources. The agency does not intend to hold a public 
hearing on the proposed repeal of the regulation after 
publication. 

Statutory Authority: § 1 0.1-11 01 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until September 9, 1996. 

Contact: Ronald Jenkins, Administration Officer, 
Department of Forestry, P.O. Box 3758, Charlottesville, VA 
22903, telephone (804) 977-6555, FAX (804) 293-2768, or 
(804) 977-6555!TDD 'lil' 

VA.R. Doc. No. R96-493; Filed July 17, 1996,9:44 a.m. 

STATE BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Juvenile Justice 
intends to consider repealing regulations entitled: 6 VAC 35-
4a"iO et seq. Predispositional and Postdispositional 
Group Home Standards. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to provide an integrated approach to the regulation 
of juvenile residential facilities by repealing these standards 
for predispositional and postdispositional group homes, to be 
replaced by a new, consolidated regulation governing all 
classes of juvenile residential facilities. The agency intends 
to hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation after 
publication. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-309.9 and 66-10 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 9, 1996. 
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Contact: Donald R. Carignan, Policy Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 1110, Richmond, 
VA, 23208-1110, telephone (804) 371-0743 or FAX (804) 
371-0773. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R96-429; Filed June 14, 1996, 1:19 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Juvenile Justice 
intends to consider amending regulations entitled: 6 VAC 35-
60-10 et seq. Minimum Standards for Virginia 
Delinquency Prevention and Youth Development Act 
Grants Programs. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
update this existing regulation to reflect changes in the focus 
of offices on youth, and to give such offices on youth greater 
flexibility in achieving program goals. The agency does not 
intend to hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation 
after publication. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 66-10 and 66-30 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 9, 1996. 

Contact: Donald R. Carignan, Policy Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 1110, Richmond, 
VA, 23208-1110, telephone (804) 371-0743 or FAX (804) 
371-0773. 

VA.R. Doc. No. A96·422; Filed June 14,1996, 1:18p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Juvenile Justice 
intends to consider repealing regulations entitled: 6 VAC 35-
70-10 et seq. Learning Center Standards (Juvenile 
Correctional Center Standards). The purpose of the 
proposed action is to provide an integrated approach to the 
regulation of juvenile residential facilities by terminating these 
learning center standards and other separate regulations, to 
be replaced by a new, consolidated regulation governing all 
classes of juvenile residential facilities. The agency intends 
to hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation after 
publication. 

Statutory Authority: § 66-1 0 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 9, 1996. 

Contact: Donald R. Carignan, Policy Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 1110, Richmond, 
VA, 23208-1110, telephone (804) 371-0743 or FAX (804) 
371-0773. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R96-428; Filed June 14, 1996, 1:19 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

·Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Juvenile Justice 
intends to consider repealing regulations entitled: 6 VAC 35-
80-10 et seq. Holdover Standards. The purpose of the 
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proposed action is to terminate this regulation which governs 
"holdover" operations that are intended to provide short-term 
placement for juveniles who do not meet the criteria for 
detention. To the extent that standards are necessary for 
such operations, they will be provided through a consolidated 
regulation governing nonresidential programs and services 
for juveniles in the community. The agency intends to hold a 
public hearing on the proposed regulation after publication. 

Statutory Authority: § 66-1 0 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 9, 1996. 

Contact: Donald A. Carignan, Policy Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 1110, Richmond, 
VA, 23208-1110, telephone ,304) 371-0743 or FAX (804) 
371-0773. 

VA. A. Doc. No. R96-424; Filed June 14, 1996, 1:18 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Cod.e of Virginia that the State Board of Juvenile Justice 
intends to consider repealing regulations entitled: 6 VAC 35-
90-10 et seq. Standards lor Posldispositional 
Confinement lor Secure Detention and Court Service 
Units. The purpose of the proposed action is to provide an 
integrated approach to the regulation of juvenile residential 
facilities by repealing these standards for postdispositional 
confinement of juveniles, and other separate regulations, and 
issuing in their place a new, consolidated regulation 
governing all classes of juvenile residential facilities. The 
agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
regulation after publication. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-284.1 and 66-1 0 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 9, 1996. 

Contact: Donald A. Carignan, Policy Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice. P.O. Box 1110. Richmond, 
VA, 23208-1110, telephone (804) 371-0743 or FAX (804) 
371-0773. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R96-426; Filed June 14, 1996, 1:19 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Juvenile Justice 
intends to consider repealing regulations entitled: 6 VAC 35-
100-10 el seq. Standards for Secure Detention. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to provide an integrated 
approach to the regulation of juvenile residential facilities by 
repealing these standards for secure detention. along with 
other separate regulations, to be replaced by a new, 
consolidated regulation governing all classes of juvenile 
residential facilities. The agency intends to hold a public 
hearing on the proposed regulation after publication. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-284.1 and 66-1 0 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 9. 1996. 

Contact: Donald A. Carignan, Policy Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice. P.O. Box 1110, Richmond, 
VA, 23208-1110, telephone (804) 371-0743 or FAX (804) 
371-0773. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R96-425; Filed June 14, 1996, 1:19 p.m. 

t Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Juvenile Justice 
intends to consider amending regulations entitled: 6 VAC 35-
110-10 el seq. Minimum Standards lor Court Service in 
Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Courts. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to update existing 
standards for court service units, and possibly incorporate 
into this regulation additional standards to be developed for 
community sanctions and services pursuant to the Virginia 
Juvenile Community Crime Control Act, as well as standards 
for outreach detention. The agency intends to hold a public 
hearing on the proposed regulation after publication. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-233 through 16.1-235; 16.1-
309.9 and 66-10 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until September 6, 1996. 

Contact: Donald A. Carignan, Policy Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 1110, Richmond, 
VA, 23208-1110, telephone (804) 371-0743 or FAX (804) 
371-0773. 

VA.R Doc. No. R96-481; Filed July 15, 1996, 1:06 p.m. 

Notice ollnlended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6" 14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Juvenile Justice 
intends to consider repealing regulations entitled: 6 VAC 35-
120·10 et seq. Standards lor Family Group Homes. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to provide an integrated 
approach to the regulation of juvenile residential facilities by 
terminating these standards for family group homes and 
other separate regulations, to be replaced by a new. 
consolidated regulation governing all classes of juvenile 
residential facilities. The agency intends to hold a public 
hearing on the proposed regulation after publication. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-309.9 and 66-10 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 9, 1996. 

Contact: Donald R. Carignan, Policy Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 1110, Richmond. 
VA. 23208-1110. telephone (804) 371-0743 or FAX (804) 
371-0773. 

VA. A. Doc. No. R96-427: Filed June 14, 1996, 1:19 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Juvenile Justic.e 
intends to consider repealing regulations entitled: 6 VAC 35-
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130·10 el seq. Standards lor Outreach Detention. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to provide a 
comprehensive regulatory approach to nonresidential 
programs and services for juveniles before the court, by 
repealing these standards for outreach detention as a 
separate regulation, and incorporating their essential 
provisions into expanded standards for court services. The 
agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
regulation after publication. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1·311 and 66·1 0 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 9, 1996. 

Contact: Donald R. Carignan, Policy Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 1110, Richmond, 
VA, 23208·1110, telephone (804) 371-0743 or FAX (804) 
371-0773. 

VA.R. Doc. No. A96-421; Filed June 14, 1996, 1:18 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Juvenile Justice 
intends to consider promulgating regulations entitled: 6 VAC 
35·140·10 el seq. Standards lor Juvenile Residential 
Facilities. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
consolidate in one regulation simplified standards governing 
the operation of all types of juvenile residential facility 
overseen by the Board of Juvenile Justice. This new 
regulation will replace standards for secure detention; 
standards for postdispositional confinement for secure 
detention and court service units; predispositional and 
postdispositional group home standards; standards for family 
group homes; and standards for juvenile correctional centers, 
formerly known as learning center standards. The agency 
intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation 
after publication. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-284.1, 16.1-309.9 and 66-10 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 9, 1996. 

Contact: Donald R. Carignan, Policy Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 1110, Richmond, 
VA, 23208-1110, telephone (804) 371-0743 or FAX (804) 
371-0773. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R96-423; Filed June 14, 1996, 1:18 p.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Mines, Minerals and 
Energy intends to consider amending regulations entitled: 4 
VAC 25·150-10 et seq. Gas and Oil Regulation. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to amend the Department 
of Mines, Minerals and Energy's (DMME) regulations 
governing permitting, operations, plugging, and site 
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restoration of gas and oil exploration and development wells, 
gathering pipelines and associated facilities. The regulations 
are necessary to protect the public health and safety from 
adverse effects of gas and oil exploration and production 
activities. The amendments will implement the 
recommendation identified during DMME's regulation review 
under Executive Order Fifteen (94). The recommendations 
will streamline the regulatory process, eliminate unnecessary 
regulatory requirements, clarify language, and implement 
changes based on DMME, gas and oil operator, and citizen 
experience implementing the regulation since it was 
promulgated in 1991. Copies of the regulatory review report 
are available at the DMME, Division of Gas and Oil in 
Abingdon and DMME office in Richmond. The agency 
intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation 
after publication. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 45.1-161.3 and 45.1-361.27 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 7, 1996. 

Contact: B. Thomas Fulmer, Oil and Gas Inspector, 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of Gas 
and Oil, 230 Charwood Drive, P.O. Box 1416, Abingdon, VA, 
24212, telephone (540) 676-5423, FAX (540) 676-5459, or 
(BOO) 828-1120 (VA Relay Center)/TDD 'Iii' 

VIRGINIA PUBLIC TELECOMMUNICATIONS BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Virginia Public Telecommunications 
Board intends to consider repealing regulations entitled: VR 
410-01·02, Master Plan lor Public Telecommunications, 
1973. The purpose of the proposed action is to repeal the 
1973 plan. The revised version adopted in 1991 is not a 
regulation. The agency intends to hold a public hearing on 
the proposed repeal of the regulation after publication. 

Statutory Authority: § 2.1-563.25 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until September 30, 
1996. 

Contact: Suzanne J. Piland, Public Telecommunications 
Branch Manager, Department of Information Technology, 110 
South 7th Street, Richmond, VA, 23219, telephone (804) 
371-5544 or FAX (804) 371-5556. 

REAl ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

t Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Real Estate Appraiser Board intends 
to consider amending regulations entitled: 18 VAC 130-20· 

. 10 el seq. Real Estate Appraiser Board Rules and 
Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
provide for less burdensome alternatives . than current 
regulations while still protecting the health, safety and welfare 
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of the public and complying with state and federal mandates. 
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
regulation after publication. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2013 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until September 5, 1996. 

Contact: Karen O'Neal, Assistant Director, Real Estate 
Appraiser Board, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-2039, FAX (804) 367-2475, or (804) 
367-9753fTDD 'il 

VA. A. Doc. No. R96-480; Filed July a, 1996, 11:58 a.m. 
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PUBLIC COMMENT PERIODS REGARDING STATE AGENCY REGULATIONS 

Effective July 1, 1995, publication of notices of public comment periods in a newspaper of 
general circulation in the state capital is no longer required by the Administrative Process Act (§ 
9-6.14:1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Chapter 717 of the 1995 Acts of Assembly eliminated 
the newspaper publication requirement from the Administrative Process Act. In The Virginia 
Register of Regulations, the Registrar of Regulations has developed this section entitled "Public 
Comment Periods - Proposed Regulations" to give notice of public comment periods and public 
hearings to be held on proposed regulations. The notice will be published once at the same 
time the proposed regulation is published in the Proposed Regulations section of the Virginia 
Register. The notice will continue to be carried in the Calendar of Events section of the Virginia 
Register until the public comment period and public hearing date have passed. 

Notice is given in compliance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the Code of Virginia that the following public hearings and public comment 
periods regarding proposed state agency regulations are set to afford the public an opportunity to express their views. 

CRIMINAl JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

October 8, 1996- 9 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

October 4, 1996 -- Written comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services 
Board intends to amend regulations entitled: 6 VAC 20-
170-10 el seq. Regulations Relating to Private 
Security Services. The proposed amendments (i) 
provide an opportunity for licensed businesses and 
certified training schools to renew for a two-year time 
period, resulting in a reduction of fees; (ii) reduce the 
application requirement for individuals who have 
completed training and applied for certification as an 
unarmed security officer; and (iii) allow the department to 
issue a temporary license or certification to applicant 
businesses and training schools, providing the 
opportunity to enter the industry once initial requirements 
have been met. 

Statutory Authority: § 9-182 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Lex T. Eckenrode, Bureau Director, Department of 
Criminal Justice Services, 805 East Broad Street, 10th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-4000 or FAX 
(804) 786-8981. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAl ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Reproposed 

September 4, 1996 -- Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services intends to amend regulations 
entitled: 12 VAC 30-50-100 et seq. Part Ill, Amount 
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Duration and Scope of Services; 12 VAC 30-70-10 el 
seq. Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates--Inpatient Hospital Care; and 12 VAC 
30-80-10 et seq. Methods and Standards lor 
Establishing Payment Rates--Other Types of Care. 
The purpose of the proposed amendments is to reduce 
the lengths of inpatient hospital stays when medically 
appropriate in compliance with amendments to the 
budget, and revise the maternity length of stay and 
follow-up visit policies to comply with new legislation. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until September 4, 1996, 
to Sally Rice, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, Virginia 
23219. 

Contact: Victoria P. Simmons or Roberta Jonas, Regulatory 
Coordinators, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
1300 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-8850. 

******** 

October 4, 1996 -- Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services intends to amend regulations 
entitled: 2 VAC 30-120-70 et seq. Part II, Home and 
Community Based Services lor Technology Assisted 
Individuals. The purpose of the proposed amendments 
is to (i) provide for the use of an objective scoring tool for 
determining whether a patient requires substantial and 
ongoing nursing services; (ii) allow persons who were 
eligible for the program prior to their 21st birthday to 
remain in the program and continue to receive benefits 
after they turn 21, providing they continue to meet certain 
criteria; and (iii) allow persons over 21, who are residing 
in a specialized care nursing facility, to be admitted to 
the program if the cost of their home care would be less 
than the cost of their current care. 
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Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until October 4, 1996, to 
Michelle Baker, PDS, Department of Medical Assistance 
Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219. 

Contact: Victoria P. Simmons or Roberta Jonas, Regulatory 
Coordinators, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
1300 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-8850. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

August 9, 1996- 8 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

October 4, 1996 -- Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends 
to repeal regulations entitled: 18 VAC 85-100-10 et 
seq., Certification of Radiological Technology 
Practitioners, and adopt regulations entitled: 18 VAC 
85-101-10 et seq. Regulations Governing the 
Licensure of Radiologic Technologists and 
Radiologic Technologists-Limited. The board 
proposes to repeal regulations for certification of 
radiologic technologists and promulgate new regulations 
for the licensure of radiologic technologists and 
radiologic technologists-limited as mandated by the 1994 
Acts of the Assembly to be effective January 1, 1997. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-2900, 54.1-2956.8:1 
and 54.1-2956.8:2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-
1717, telephone (804) 662-7423, FAX (804) 662-9943, or 
(804) 662-7197fTDD 'lir 
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PROPOSED REGULATIONS 
For information concerning Proposed Regulations, see Information Page. 

Symbol Key 
Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Italic type indicates proposed new text. 

Language which has been stricken indicates proposed text for deletion. 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 6 VAC 20·170·10 el seq. Regulations 
Relating to Private Security Services (amending 6 VAC 
20·170·10, 6 VAC 20-170-20, 6 VAC 20-170·50, 6 VAC 20· 
170·60, 6 VAC 20·170·80, 6 VAC 20-170·90, 6 VAC 20·170· 
100, 6 VAC 20-170·150, 6 VAC 20·170·200, 6 VAC 20·170· 
210, 6 VAC 20·170-230 through 6 VAC 20·170·280, 6 VAC 
20-170·340 through 6 VAC 20·170·400, 6 VAC 20·170·430, 
6 VAC 20·170·460, 6 VAC 20-170·470, 6 VAC 20·170-480, 6 
VAC 20·170-520 through 6 VAC 20·170·550, 6 VAC 20·170· 
620 through 6 VAC 20·170·650, 6 VAC 20·170·730, 6 VAC 
20·170·760, 6 VAC 20-170·770, 6 VAC 20-170·820, 6 VAC 
20·170·830, 6 VAC 20·110·930 through 6 VAC 20·170-960, 
6 VAC 20·170·1000; adding 6 VAC 20-170·45, 6 VAC 20· 
170·55, 6 VAC 20·110·75, 6 VAC 20·170-76, 6 VAC 20·170· 
475, 6 VAC 20-110·615 through 6 VAC 20·170-619, 6 VAC 
20·170-625, and 6 VAC 20·170-765; repealing 6 VAC 20· 
170-220, 6 VAC 20-170·490, 6 VAC 20·170·500, 6 VAC 20· 
170-510, 6 VAC 20·170-560 through 6 VAC 20-170-610, 
and 6 VAC 20·170-840 through 6 VAC 20·110·890). 

Statutory Authority: § 9-182 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date: October 8, 1996 - 9 a.m. 
Written comments may be submitted until October 4, 
1996. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Basis: Pursuant to the statutory authority set forth by§ 9-182 
of the Code of Virginia. the Criminal Justice Services Board 
(CJSB) will amend and revise its regulations relating to 
private security services. The primary basis tor amending the 
regulations is to incorporate changes that, while continuing to 
protect the public safety and welfare, allow the agency to 
more expeditiously license and certify individuals and 
businesses who have fulfilled initial application requirements. 

Purpose: The purpose of these regulations is to set forth a 
regulatory program which mandates and prescribes 
standards, requirements, and procedures that serve to 
protect the public safety and welfare from unqualified, 
unscrupulous, and incompetent persons engaged in the 
activities of private security services. 

Substance: The proposed amendments (i) provide an 
opportunity for licensed businesses and certified training 
schools to renew for a two~year time period, resulting in a 
reduction of fees; (ii) reduce the application requirement tor 
individuals who have completed training and applied for 
certification as an unarmed security officer; and (iii) allow the 
department to issue a temporary license or certification to 
applicant businesses and training schools, providing the 
opportunity to enter the industry once initial requirements 
have been met. 
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Issues: The primary advantages that these regulations 
provide to the general public are: (i) sets forth standards, 
procedures, and requirements that serve to protect the safety 
and welfare of the general public from deceptive or 
misleading private security services business practitioners, 
and; (ii) secures the public safely and welfare against 
incompetent, unscrupulous and unqualified persons by 
establishing methods of licensure, registration and 
certification that serve to enhance the competency of persons 
performing or engaged in the activities of private security 
services. A possible disadvantage of these regulations is 
that the program it prescribes receives no moneys from the 
general fund, therefore, the cost to administer the program 
must be absorbed by the affected entities. 

Estimated Impact: The estimated number of persons 
affected by the Regulations Relating to Private Security 
Services is approximately 18,000 to 22,000. This includes 
owners of private security businesses and training schools, 
instructors, registered and certified individuals, and others 
that may be engaged in the private security services industry. 

As the proposed changes will refine particular application 
requirements, there are no additional costs projected for 
implementation and compliance outside the normal operating 
costs of the program. In addition, these regulations do not 
impact disproportionately upon any locality. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) 
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13 
(94). Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply; the identity of any localities and types 
of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or 
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the 
impact on the use and value of private property. The analysis 
presented below represents DPB's best estimate of these 
economic affects. 

Summary of the Proposed Regulation. The proposed 
regulation amends the existing regulation governing 
licensing, certification, and training requirements for the 
private security service industry. The primary amendments 
contained in the proposed regulation are as follows: 

1. Certain licensing tees have been adjusted; 

2. Temporary business licenses can be issued under 
certain circumstances; 

3. Incidents involving the discharge of a firearm while on 
duty must be reported in writing to DCJS; 
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4. Individuals who have prior felony or misdemeanor 
convictions are prohibited from employment as unarmed 
security officers, absent written approval by DCJS; 

5. Persons employed as unarmed security officers must 
apply lor certification within 120 days of employment, 
and firms are not permitted to employ such individuals 
for more than 150 days unless they have received 
certification; and 

6. The employment category of alarm correspondent is 
no longer divided into armed and unarmed alarm 
respondents. 

Estimated Economic Impact 

Item 1. The proposed regulation makes three amendments 
to the current fee schedule. First, the lee lor initial business 
license has been changed from $600 to $518. The current 
$600 license fee includes two $41 charges for processing two 
sets of fingerprint cards. In the proposed regulation these 
fingerprint card processing charges will be assessed 
separately. This change will reduce overall licensing costs in 
those situations where only one set of fingerprint cards is 
necessary. 

The second amendment to the current fee schedule permits 
business and training schools to renew their licenses for 
either one year, as in the current regulation, or two years. 
Licensees who renew for two years will receive a $50 
reduction in the total fee. 

The third amendment to the current fee schedule is the 
replacement of the annual $10 renewal fee for instructors 
with a $25 recertification fee every three years. This change 
will result in a $5 fee reduction over the three year period. 

Item 2. Although allowing private security firms to obtain 
temporary licenses under certain circumstances certainly 
enhances regulatory flexibility, it is not anticipated to have 
significant economic effect. 

Item 3. The requirement that private security firms report 
incidents involving the discharge of a firearm while on duty to 
DCJS will necessarily create a small increase in regulatory 
compliance costs for affected firms. This increase in 
compliance costs is certainly outweighed by the benefit to 
public safety associated with making the responsible 
department aware of such incidents however. 

Items 4 through 6. Items 4 through 6 are not anticipated to 
have any significant economic effects. 

Businesses and Entities Particularly Affected. The proposed 
regulation particularly affects the approximately 900 private 
security firms licensed to operate in Virginia and their 
approximately 20,000 employees. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities are particularly 
affected by the proposed regulation. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 
is not anticipated to have a significant effect on employment. 

Affects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed regulation is not anticipated to have a significant 
effect on the use and value of private property. 

Summary of Analysis. DPB anticipates that the only 
significant economic effect of the proposed amendments to 
the current regulation will be a modest reduction in the 
regulatory compliance costs associated with licensing fees. 

Agency's Response to Department of Planning and Budget's 
Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of Criminal 
Justice Services concurs with the Economic Impact Analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget as it 
pertains to 6 VAG 20-170 (Regulations Relating to Private 
Security Services). 

Summary: 

The primary proposed amendments incorporate 
legislative changes including the definitions of "business 
advertising material" and "license number'' to establish 
the regulatory procedure for complying with the law 
requiring all advertisements by private security services 
businesses to include their license number issued by 
DCJS. In addition, legislation provided individuals 
requiring registration in any electronic security services 
category a 90-day time period in which they may 
complete the required entry-level training. Changes that 
were not a result of legislation, include provisions 
allowing an option tor a two-year renewal for businesses 
and training schools, at a reduced fee; authorization for 
DCJS to issue a temporary business license, training 
school and instructor certification, provided basic 
requirements are met; allowing individuals who have 
completed security officer training to apply for 
certification by DCJS without currently being employed 
by a licensee, and establishing requirements; and 
establishing the in-service training requirements for 
private security instructors and compliance agents. 

PART I. 
DEFINITIONS. 

6 VAC 20-170-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meaning, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise. 

"Alarm respondent" means a natural person who responds 
to the signal of an alarm for the purpose of detecting an 
intrusion of the home, business or property of the end user. 

"Any person engaged in the business of providing or who 
undertakes to provide" means any person who solicits 
business within the Commonwealth of Virginia through 
advertising, business cards, submission of bids, contracting, 
public notice for private security services, directly or 
indirectly, or by any other means. 

"Armed security officer" means a security officer, as 
defined below, who carries or has immediate access to a 
firearm or other deadly weapon in the pertormance of his 
duties. 

''Armored car personnel" means persons who transport or 
offer to transport under armed security from one place to 
another, money, negotiable instruments or other valuables in 
a specially equipped motor vehicle with a high degree of 
security and certainty of delivery. 
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"Board" means the Criminal Justice ServicG;, f:k•.:ud or rmy 
successor board or agency. 

"Business advertising material" m&t;ll:> 

directories, stationery, business cards, loca! 
advertising and contracts. 

telephone 
newspaper 

"Central station dispatcher" means a natur;:;.: r:r·~·::;.on who 
monitors burglar alarm signal devices, burg!:~;- ;!J_:,i¥ms or gny 
other electrical, mechanical or electronic dr'"ice u~ed to 
prevent or detect burglary, theft, shoplifting, pilferage or 
similar losses; used to prevent or detect intrubl\1P; or used 
primarily to summon aid for other emergencies. 

"Certification" means a method of regulatiOn whereby 
soFI:ain inEJiviEhml f39FSennel qualified individuals who are 
eligible to be employed by a private security services 
business or a private security training school ~ req~.:~ireEI te 
es!aiA seFiilisa!ieA !Fern t~e Ele~aFirneAt ~8FS8aAI te t~e CeEie 
ef VirgiRia have met the minimum requirements set forth in 
this chapter. 

"Certified school director" means the chief administrative 
officer of a certified training school. 

"Certified training school" means a training school which 
provides instruction in at least the minimum training 
mandated and is certified by the department for the specific 
purpose of training private security services business 
personnel. 

"Class" means a minimum of 50 minutes of instruction on a 
particular subject. 

"Combat load" means tactical loading of shotgun while 
maintaining coverage of threat area. 

"Compliance agent" means a natural person who is an 
owner of, or employed by, a licensed private security services 
business. The compliance agent shall assure the compliance 
of the private security services business with all applicable 
requirements as provided in § 9-183.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Courier" means any armed person who transports or 
offers to transport from one place to another documents or 
other papers, negotiable or nonnegotiable instruments, or 
other small items of value that require expeditious service. 

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice 
Services or any successor agency. 

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 
department. 

"Electronic security business" means any person who 
engages in the business of or undertakes to (i) install, 
service, maintain, design or consult in the design of any 
electronic security equipment to an end user; or (ii) respond 
to or cause a response to electronic security equipment for 
an end user. 

"Electronic security employee" means a natural person 
who is employed by an electronic security business in any 
capacity which may give him access to information 
concerning the design, extent or status of an end user's 
electronic security equipment. 
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"Electronic security equipment" means electronic or 
mechanical alarm signaling devices including burglar alarms 
or holdup alarms or cameras used to detect intrusion, 
concealment or theft. 

"Electronic security sales representative" means a natural 
person who sells electronic security equipment on behalf of 
an electronic security business to the end user. 

"Electronic security technician" means a natural person 
who installs, services, maintains or. repairs electronic security 
equipment. 

"Electronic security technician's assistant" means a natural 
person who works as a laborer under the supervision of the 
electronic security technician in the course of his normal 
duties, but who may not make connections to any electronic 
security equipment. 

"End user" means any person who purchases or leases 
electronic security equipment for use in that person's home or 
business. 

"enfJflfJ•'RfJ in the business ef p.'<3vic!inf} er oodeFiakiF>fJ te 
pre1•ide pr.''iate eeGIHity serAees" A'leans aAy ~eFseA w~e 
seliei,ts 9\:JsiAess ·:v;,tl4iA tAe Cemmenwealth of Vir§iRia 
I~F98§~ aEiveFiisiA§, S8Siness saFes, S813missieA ef siEfs, 
seAtrastiA§, ~"slis Aetise feF pFivate ses"Fity seFvises, Efirestly 
er iAEiiFestly, er sy aAy et~er means. 

"Firearms certification" means the verification of successful 
completion of either initial or retraining requirements for 
handgun or shotgun training, or both. 

"Firm" means a business entity, regardless of method of 
organization, applying for a private security services business 
license or for the renewal or reinstatement of same. 

"Guard dog handler" means any person employed by a 
private security services business to handle dogs in the 
performance of duty in protection of property or persons. 

"Incident" means an event which exceeds the normal 
extent of one's duties. 

"Jn.service training requirement" means the compulsory in­
service training standards adopted by the Criminal Justice 
Services Board for private security services business 
personnel. 

"License number" means the official number issued to a 
private security services business licensed by the 
department. 

"Licensed firm" means a business entity, regardless of 
method of organization, which holds a valid private security 
services business license issued by the department. 

"Licensee" means a licensed private security services 
business. 

"Lee.lfsmit.'=l seeldrity eqldipmeRf" meaRs meehaRieal, 
elestFisal er elestre rneseanieal lesl<ing Elevioes feF t~e seAtml 
of iRgress or ogmss that de not primarily 9oteet iRtrblsioR, 

.. seAsealrneAt aAd t~elt. 

"On duty" means that time during which a registrant or 
tmarme€1 sesHrity effisor roseivos private security services 
business personnel receive or is are entitled to receive 
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compensation for employment for which a registration or 
lfaifliRg certification is required afKl that tiffio while Fie is 
tFaveliA§, imme<!lately-bofeFe aed afteF the ~eriea ef ast"al 
d"ty, te aeEI frem the ~lase of d"ty. 

"Performance of his duties" means on duty in the context of 
this chapter. 

"Person" means any individual, group of individuals, firm, 
company, corporation, partnership, business, trust, 
association, or other legal entity. 

"Personal protection specialist" means any person who 
engages in the business of providing protection from bodily 
harm to another. 

"Principal" means any sole proprietor, ol!iser or aireoter ef 
the sorpoFatieR individual listed as an officer or director with 
the Virginia State Corporation Commission, member of the 
association, or partner of a licensed firm or applicant for 
licensure. 

"Private investigator" means any person who engages in 
the business of, or accepts employment to make, 
inv!lstigations to obtain information on (i) crimes or civil 
wrongs; (ii) the location, disposition, or recovery of stolen 
property; (iii) the cause of accidents, fires, damages, or 
injuries to persons or to property; or (iv) evidence to be used 
before any court, board, officer, or investigative committee. 

"Private security services business" means any person 
engaged in the business of providing, or who undertakes to 
provide, (i) armored car personnel, security officers, personal 
protection specialists, private investigators, couriers, or guard 
dog handlers to another person under contract, express or 
implied; or (ii) alarm respondents, central station dispatchers, 
electronic security employees, electronic security sales 
representatives or electronic security technicians to another 
person under contract, express or implied. 

"Private security services business personnel" means each 
employee of a private security services business who is 
employed as an unarmed security officer, armed security 
officer/courier, armored car personnel, guard dog handler 
private investigator, personal protection specialist, alarm 
respondent, central station dispatcher, electronic security 
employee, electronic security sales representative, electronic 
security technician or electronic security technician's 
assistant. 

"Registrant" means any individual who has met the 
requirements for registration in any of the categories listed 
under 11 registration category." 

"Registration" means a method of regulation wRereby 
celt>iR ~ersennel em~leree !l)' a wivale ses~ril)' servises 
OOsiness are FOEjl:.lirod to oStaiA a rD§iStFation from the 
~e~artment ~~rs"ant te Part V ef IRis Fe~ulatien which 
identifies individuals as having met the minimum 
requirements for a particular registration category as set forth 
in lhis chapter. 

"Registration category" means any one of the following 
categories: (i) armed security officer/courier, (ii) guard dog 
handler, (iii) armored car personnel, (iv) private investigator, 
(v) personal protection specialist, (vi) alarm respondent, (vii) 

central station dispatcher, (viii) electronic security sales 
representative, or (ix) electronic security technician. 

"Security officer" means any person employed by a private 
security service business to safeguard and protect persons 
and property or to prevent theft, loss, or concealment of any 
tangible or intangible personal property. 

''Session'' means a group of classes comprising the total 
hours of mandated training in any of the following categories: 
unarmed security officer, armed security officer/courier, 
personal protection specialist, armored car personnel, guard 
dog handler, private investigator, alarm respondent, central 
station dispatcher, electronic security sales representative, 
electronic security technician, electronic security technician's 
assistant or compliance agent 

"S/Gre deteelive" means a sesuril}' effieer in the eentext E>f 
leis soapier. 

'This chapter' means the Regulations Relating to Private 
Security Services (6 VAG 20-170-10 et seq.) as part of the 
Virginia Administrative Code. 

"Training certification" means verification of the successful 
completion of any training requirement established in this 
chapter. 

''Training requirement" means any initial or retraining 
standard established in this chapter. 

"Unarmed security officer" means a security officer who 
does not carry or have immediate access to a firearm or other 
deadly weapon in the pertormance of his duties. 

11lJ.Afiereev-er psrseR" moans a private iAvesti'gater iA tho 
eeRtext ef teie sha~ter. 

"Uniform" means any clothing with a badge, patch or 
lettering which clearly identifies persons to any observer as 
private security services business personnel, not law­
enforcement officers. 

PART II. 
SCHEDULE OF FEES. 

6 VAC 20-170-20. Schedule ollees. 

The fees listed below reflect the costs of handling, 
issuance, and production associated with administering and 
processing applications for licensing, registration, certification 
and other administrative requests for services relating to 
private security setvices. 

Categories 

Initial business license 
Business license renewal 

Renewal for one year 
Renewal for two years 

Initial compliance agent 
Initial registration 
Registration renewal 
Initial training school 
Training school renewal 

Renewal for one year 
Renewal for two years 

Instructor 

Fees 

$600$518 

$250 
$450 
$126 
$76 
$35 

$500 

$250 
$450 

$91 
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Instructor roAowal recertification :t-:J--9 $25 
Initial unarmed security officer t:fa.ffi.i.A.§ ceiil!ic~:Vcn $15 
Unarmed security officer~ certificntion renewal$15 
Application for training exemption $25 
Fingerprint card processing $41 
Additional registration categories $25 
Replacement photo identification $15 
Training completion roster form $10 
Initial Electronic Security Technician's Assistant 
Certification $56 
Electronic Security Technician's Assistant Certification 
Renewal $15 
Initial Electronic Security Employee Certification $56 
Electronic Security Employee Certification Renewal $15 

PART Ill. 
RENEWAL EXTENSION PROVISIONS. 

6 VAC 20-170-45. Extension of time period to meet 
renewal requirements. 

A. An extension of the time period to meet renewal 
requirements may be approved only under specific 
circumstances which do not allow the private security 
personnel, businesses, or training schools to complete the 
required procedures within the prescribed time period. The 
private security services person, business, or training school 
shall be nonoperational during the period of extension. The 
following are the only circumstances tor which extensions 
may be granted: 

1. Illness, 

2. Injury, or 

3. Military service. 

B. An application for extension shall: 

1. Be submitted prior to the expiration date of the time 
limit required for completion of the requirements; and 

2. Indicate the projected date the person, business, or 
training school will be able to comply with the 
requirements. 

C. No extension will be approved for registrations, 
certifications, or business licenses which have expired. 

D. Applications for additional extensions may be approved 
upon written request of the person, business, or training 
school. 

PART +lh IV. 
LICENSING PROCEDURES AND REQUIREMENTS. 

6 VAC 20-170-50, Initial licensing requirements tor a 
private security services business. 

Each person seeking a license as a private security 
services business shall file an application furnished by the 
department accompanied by a nonrefundable application fee 
of $SOO $518. Each principal of the business entity applying 
for a private security serv·lces business license must be listed 
on the application and is responsible for the firm's adherence 
to the Code of Virginia and this chapter. Each fl8fSOO 
principal listed on the application shall sem~lete a 
Sbll313lemental bllsiness license 31313lioatien and submit his 
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~print sartls--fingerprinls on one completed set of two 
fingerprint cards along with a the applicable nonrefundable 
fee ef $41; Rowevor, a ma3Eimum of tvvo cote af fingerprint 
sards may assempany the applioalkln at no qjeitienal sest. 
Initial business licenses shaH be issued for a period not to 
exceed 12 months. All forms shall be completed in full 
compliance with the instructions provided by the department. 
Applicants shall meet or exceed the requirements of &-¥AG 
20 170 130 through e VAG 20 t 70 180 licensure as set forth 
in this chapter prior to the issuance of a license. 

6 VAC 20-170-55, Temporary business license. 

The department may issue a fetter of temporary licensure 
to businesses seeking licensure under§ 9-183.3 of the Code 
of Virginia for not more than 120 days while awaiting the 
results of the state and national fingerprint search conducted 
on the principals and compliance agent of the business, 
provided the applicant has met the conditions and 
requirements set forth in this part. 

6 VAC 20-170-60, Surely bond or insurance required. 

Each porseA see',"<iA:§ a 1\Gmme applicant for licensure as a 
private security services business shall secure a surety bond 
in the amount of $25,000, executed by a surety company 
authorized to do business in Virginia, or a certificate of 
insurance showing a policy of comprehensive general liability 
insurance with a minimum coverage of $100,000 and 
$300,000, issued by an insurance company authorized to do 
business in Virginia. Documentation of continuous and 
current coverage of the surety bond or comprehensive 
general liability insurance must be filed and maintained with 
the department. 

6 VAC 20-170-75, Corporate authorization. 

Each applicant for a license as a private security services 
business whose legal entity is a corporation or limited liability 
company shall, on a form provided by the department, 
provide the identification number issued by the Virginia State 
Corporation Commission for verification that the entity is 
authorized to conduct business in the Commonwealth. 

6 VAC 20-170-76. Private security services business 
license number. 

On or after July 1, 1997, all private security services 
businesses in the Commonwealth shaJI include their license 
number on all business advertising materials. 

6 VAC 20-170-80. Compliance agent required; 
certification requirements; duties and responsibilities; 
restriction; retention and replacement. 

A. Each firm applying for a license as a private security 
services business shall designate at least one individual as 
compliance agent who is not designated as compliance agent 
tor any other licensee. To become a compliance agent, an 
individual shall file a properly completed application furnished 
by the department and conform to the following requirements 
and procedures: 

1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age; 

2. Have three years of managerial or supervisory 
experience in a private security services business, or ln a 
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federal, state, or local law-enforcement agency, or In a 
related field; 

3. Successfully complete the applicable compliance 
agent training requirements pursuant to 6 VAG ag 170 
!i4Q M aRa 6 VAG 29 17Q SeQ J Part VI (6 VAC 20-170· 
360 at seq.) of this chapter and achieve a passing score 
on the compliance agent examination; 

4. Be designated by a licensed private security services 
business as Its compliance agent; 

5. Be in good standing In every jurisdiction where 
licensed or registered in private security services; and 

6. Submit his fingerprints on two completed fingerprint 
cards, as provided by the department, and a the 
applicable nonrefundable application fee ~. 

8. The compliance agent shall at all times comply with the 
following: 

1. Ensure that the licensed firm is in full compliance with 
the Code of Virginia and this chapter; 

. 2. Ensure that VSP Form-167 has been submitted to the 
Virginia State Police for processing before the individual 
may begin work, and maintain a copy in the firm's files 
for each unarmed gll8f<J security officer as required by § 
9·183.3 of the Code of Virginia; 

3. Ensure the maintenance of documentary evidence 
that each unarmed security officer or electronic security 
technician's assistant has complied with, or been 
exempted from, the compulsory minimum training 
standards as required by § 9·183.3 of the Code of 
Virginia; 

4. Ensure that the licensed firm does not utilize or 
otherwise employ any person as an unarmed security 
officer or electronic security technician's assistant in 
excess of 90 days prior to the completion of the 
applicable compulsory minimum training standards; 

5. Ensure that the licensed firm does not utilize or 
otherwise employ any person as an unarmed security 
officer for which the VSP Form-167 reveals a felony or 
misdemeanor conviction involving moral turpitude, 
sexual offense, drug offense, physical injury or property 
damage without written approval from the department; 

6. Ensure that the licensed firm does not utilize or 
otherwise employ any person as an unarmed security 
officer in excess of 150 days without the individual being 
issued a certification as an unarmed security officer from 
the department; 

& 7. Maintain training, employment, and payroll records 
which document the licensee's compliance with the Code 
of Virginia and this chapter; 

<h 8. Ensure that an irrevocable consent for the 
department to serve as service agent for all actions filed 
in any court in this Commonwealth is submitted to the 
department within 30 days after the licensee moves to a 
location outside Virginia;-; and 

---------------··--
9. On a form provided by the department, submit a 
report of any incident in which any registrant has 
discharged a firearm while on duty, excluding any 
training exercise, This form shall be submitted by the 
licensed firm within 10 days of completion of an 
investigation of the Incident. 

C. No Individual shall be certified by the department as a 
compliance agent for more than one licensee at any given 
time. 

D. 1. Each licensee shall maintain at least one individual 
as a compliance agent who has met the requirements of 
6 VAC 20·170-80 and has been certified by the 
department 

2. Each licensee shall notify the department in writing 
within 10 calendar days of the termination of employment 
of a certified compliance agent. 

3. Within 90 days of termination of the employment of a 
licensee's sole remaining compliance agent, the licensee 
shall submit the name of a new compliance agent who 
has met the requirements of 6 VAC 20·170-80 . 

6 VAC 20·170·90. Criminal history records search. 

Upon application for a private security services business 
license, each compliance agent and principal of the applicant 
firm shall submit to the department their fingerprints on one 
completed set of two fingerprint cards Bfl-·k>Fms provided by 
the department, and a-$4+ the applicable nonrefundable fee 
for each set of fin§SF~FiAI cares eeyeA<I-#1e allewable two 
sets ~roviEieel wit~ t~e iAitial b"siAess a~~lisatien. The 
department shall submit those fingerprints to the Virginia 
State Police for the purpose of conducting a Virginia Criminal 
History Records search and a National Criminal Records 
search to determine whether the individual or individuals 
have a record of conviction. 

6 VAC 20·170·100. Unclassiliable fingerprint cards. 

Fingerprints cards found to be unclassifiable will be 
returned to the applicant. Action on the application will be 
suspended pending the resubmiltal of classifiable fingerprint 
cards. The applicant sAe1M shall be so notified in writing and 
shall submit new fingerprint cards and a the applicable 
nonrefundable fee ef-.W. to the department before the 
processing of his application shall resume. However, no 
such fee may be required if the rejected fingerprint cards are 
included and attached to the new fingerprint cards when 
resubmitted. 

6 VAC 20·110·150. Change of ownership or entity. 

A. Each licensee shall report in writing to the department 
any change in its ownership or principals which does not 
result in the creation of a new legal entity. Such written 
report shall be received by the department within 30 days 
after the occurrence of such change and shall include the 
application form, fingerprint cards and a the applicable 
nonrefundable fee ef..$41- for each new individual. 

B. A new license is required whenever there is any change 
in the ownership or manner of organization of the licensed 
entity which results in the creation of a new legal entity. 
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PART IV. 
Re~JEWAb Ql" biGI!P-ISE. 

6 VAC 20·170·200. Renewal notification; Invalid license. 

A. The department will mail to the last known address of 
the licensee a renewal notification. Failure of the licensee to 
renew prior to the expiration of the license shall be the sole 
responsibility of the licensed firm's compliance agent. 

B. A private security services business license not 
renewed on or before the expiration date of the license shall 
become null and void. Operating a private security services 
business without a valid private security services business 
license is a violation of § 9-183.3 of the Code of Virginia aR<l 
tl1is si1a~teF. 

6 VAC 20·170-210. 
reinstatement. 

License expiration; renewal; 

A. All liseeses issyee te ~Fivate seSYFity seFViees 
llYsieesses si1all lle valie feF a ~eFie9 est te e><seeEI 12 
FflSAt11s. Applicants for license renewal shall have the option 
of renewing for either a period not to exceed 12 months or a 
period not to exceed 24 months. 

B. Applications for license renewal should be received by 
the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. License 
renewal applications received by the department after the 
expiration date shall be subject to all applicable 
nonrefundable renewal fees plus reinstatement fees. 

C. The department may renew the a license feF a ~eFie9 
AS! Is 8>EG88B 12 FflSAtAS fFSFTl the e>E~iFalieA sate ef the 
lieeflS8 when the following are received by the department: 

1. A properly completed renewal application; 

2. A The applicable nonrefundable license renewal fee 
<>f..$2W; and 

3. Documentation that the firm has in force a policy of 
comprehensive general liability insurance or a surety 
bond in at least the amount required by 6 VAC 20-170-
60; documentation of continuous and current coverage of 
the surety bond or comprehensive general liability 
insurance must be filed and maintained with the 
department. 

D. Each compliance agent listed on the license renewal 
application shall have satisfactorily completed all applicable 
training requirements. 

E. Each principal or compliance agent listed on the license 
renewal application shall be in good standing and free of 
disciplinary action in every jurisdiction where licensed or 
registered. 

F. A renewal application received by the department within 
180 days following the expiration date of the license shall be 
accompanied by a the applicable nonrefundable renewal fee 
<>f..$2W and a the nonrefundable reinstatement fee ef..$+2a. 

G. No license shall be renewed or reinstated when the 
application and fee are received by the department more than 
180 days following the expiration date of the license. After 
that date, the applicant shall meet all initial licensing 
requirements. 
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H. The department may deny renewal or reinstatement of 
a license for the same reason as it may refuse initial 
licensure or discipline a licensee. 

6 VAC 20·170·220. iilllenslen elllme perledle renew a 
pFI\Iale seemlly asF\'Isee business lleenee. (Repealed.) 

A. AR SlHSASiSR ef the tiFAS ~eFieel te FBAS'A' a ~Fi•1ale 
ses~Fity servises I:Jijsinees liseese may ee a~~Fe,•ea enly 
tiREieF t~ese spesilis siFs~mstaAses whis~ 9e Ret allew the 
~Fivate ses~rily seFvises l:lYsieess le Feeew ils liseese wilhie 
the ~FessFi9e8 tiFTle ~eFiea. TRe ~Fivate ses~Fity seFvises 
l:lYsiRess shall l:le AeRe~eFatieAal <lYFiRg the peFieel ef 
exteRsieR. The lellewing aFe the eAiy siFSYFAslaeses leF 
wl<isfl e>fteesiees may ee §FaAteel: 

1. IIIRSSS, 

2. IRiYF)', sr 

~. MililaFy seFvise. 

B. Ae a~plisatieA leF exteAsiee el t11e tiFTle peFieel leF 
FBAewal ef a pFi••ale sesYFity seFVises I:Jysieess liseese shall: 

1. !le S"I:JFTlitiSS iA WFitiA§ WiBF te the ex~iFatieA ~ale ef 
the ~Fivate seGYFity SSFViees BYSiABSS JiG9AS8; aeel 

2. IA~isate the ~Fejeste9 eats the liseAS88 will ee allis te 
semply witi'l the Fe~"iFeFAeAis leF ~Fivate ses~Fity 
sorvioos bl:lsiness lioonse renewal. 

G. AR e><teAsisR will eel lle a~~Fevea leF a ~Fivate ses~Fity 
seFvises ll~siRess liseAse wl1ish has ex~iFe9. 

D. App'.isal;,eAS fer aaelilieAal 9J<I9ASieRS may lle 8J'J'FSV9Q 
Y~SR \'/FitteR FS~YSS! ef the ~FiAGi~aJ ef the ~Fivate S9GYFily 
services 9t~siness. 

PART V. 
REGISTRATION PROCEDURES AND REQUIREMENTS. 

6 VAC 20-170·230. Initial registration requirements. 

A. Individuals seeking registration under§ 9-183.3 B of the 
Code of Virginia shall file an application furnished by the 
department which shall be accompanied by a the applicable 
nonrefundable application fee el-$+6. Each applicant shall 
meet or exceed the following requirements prior to the 
issuance of a registration: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age; 

2. Disclose to the department his physical address (a 
post office box is not a physical address); 

3. Submit his fingerprints on two completed fingerprint 
cards SA ferrns provided by the department; and 

4. fit Successfully complete all initial training 
requirements for each registration category requestedi-<>f 
(ii) ""'in§ the ~eried ef J"IY 1, 1999, thFeYgh i>eptembeF 
ao, 199§, eash iA9ivi9Yal a~~lyin§ feF •egist•atieR as aA 
e1,ectmR\c cec1:1rWy tesl=lnieian, central stffiion Elispatehor, 
olectmnio soottrity sales rej3resontativo or personal 
pretoetien specialist FRay be §IFBntoa a toFRperary waiver 
IFSF'A the Fe~YiFSFAeRt ef GSA'l~iyieg with the sem~YISSF)' 
minimum tminin§ stanEimc:Js. '..Vith the mtoeptien of tAo 
seR1plelieR el the FfliAiFA""' traiRiR§ staREiarEis, all etheF 
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initial registratian re~Yirements s~all a~~ly. lmfivieYals 
iss1:1eS teffiJ3SFaPf registratieAs it=~ asser8aRse witt:! this 
~re1•isieR s~all oemplete t~e sempYisery miRimYm 
training stan <lares SA er sefere Osteser a1' 199§. 
lneivieYals seel<ing registratien as alarm respenaents 
are net eligi81e YnEler this prevision. 

B. ln<livielyals seel<iR§ registration yneer the ~revisiens sf 
§ g 18a.a 1 ef t~e Gees sf Vir§inia, effeotive fer a periea sf 
ene year frem Jyly 1, 1996, shall file an applisatien fyrnishea 
8y the aepartment whioe shall 8e asoempanieEI ey a 
nenrefYn<lasle ap~lisatien fee et $76. eoaoi'l a~plisant shall 
meet er B*Geee lAs tellewing re~yirements prier te the 
iSSI.:JBAGS Sf a FO§iStratieR: 

1. lle at least 1 g years ef age; 

2. Disslese te ti'le eeparlment Ais pi'lysisal aaaress (a 
pest effise ee>< is net a peysisal aEieFBss); 

a. SYtlmit ~'lis fingerprints en tv.•e sempletea finger~rint 
sares previeea sy ti'le aepartment; ana 

4. Previae eesYmentary evieense ef fyll time astive 
employment as re~yirea fer eas~ sategery in whish 
registratien is F9Ejldeste8: 

a. ElestroRiG sesl:lFity tesi=IRisiaR empleyment fer a 
perlea ef three years ifflmeaiately preseaing ti'le <late 
sf ap~lisatien; 

8. Central statien eis~atsher effl~leyment fer a 
periea ef ene year imffle<liately preseaing the aate ef 
applisatien; 

c. E:leetreAis sec~:~rity sales re(3reseRtative 
efflpleyment fer a perie<l ef ens year ifflffleaiately 
preseeing ti'le aate ef applisatien; 

e. Alarm res~enaent em~leyfflent fer a periea of ene 
year imffle<liately preeeaing ti'le aate ef applieatien. 

G. lnaiviaYals seel<ing registration "neer ti'le previsiens ef 
§ 9 18a.a d ef tee Ceae ef Virginia, effestive fer a ~eriea ef 
ene year freffl Jyly 1, 1999, shall file an a~plieatien f"rnishee 
ay the aepartmeAl WRiGR SRall SB aeeeFf\paniee ay a 
nenrefyneaele a~~lisatien lee ef $7&. eoaee applieant seall 
Ff!BBI er ellseea tee fellewiR§ re~"irements prier te ti'le 
iSSbl3R69 Of 3 FO§iStr:ation: 

1. lle at least 1 8 years el age; 

2. Diselese te the ee~artFfleAt Ris peysisal aaaress (a 
~esteffise BB* is net a ~eysisal aaeress); 

a. S"tlfflit Ris fingerprints SA t\'<e G9Fflpletea fingerprint 
earae ~reviaea ay tee aepartFf!ent; 

4. Previfle Seeumentmy evi8onee of om)31oyFRent as a 
personal pretectien speeialist fer a periee ef the teree 
years immeaiately preeeeiR§ IRe aate ef ap~lisatien; ana 

§. ProviSo dos~:~ment31)' evidense ef SI;JsGessfi:JI 
som(3lotian of f30fConal protostion training 3f3f3FGVe8 13y 
the aepartment. 

B. Individuals seeking registration as alarm respondent, 
central station dispatcher, electronic security sales 
representative or electronic security technician may be 

employed for not more than 90 days while completing the 
compulsory minimum training standards, provided the 
individual has submitted his fingerprints on forms provided by 
the department. An application for registration must be 
received by the department within 10 calendar days of the 
completion of the required training. 

6 VAC 20-170-240. 
certifications. 

Additional categories and 

Registerea iAaivieYals seeking aeeitienal registration 
sategeries er sertifisatiens seall file an a~plisatien, fyrniseea 
8y lee eepartFfiSAl, aesYFf\enting that tee fellewin§ training 
reql:lirements for tAo FOttblested eate§erios or sertifisatieRs 
Rave Seen met Individuals seeking certification or 
registration for additional categories must meet the following 
requirements: 

1. Tee nenreiYAEiaele fee fer ease IiiiA§ is $26. 
Successful completion of applicable entry level training 
for each additional registration or certification category; 

2. A properly completed application has been received 
by the department; 

3. The applicable nonrefundable fee has been received 
by the department; 

:b 4. Individuals may avoid paying a separate fee for 
additional categories or certifications when the additional 
registration categories or certifications are requested on 
the application for registration renewal. 

6 VAC 20-170-250. Criminal history records search. 

Upon receipt of an initial registration application, the 
department shall submit the fingerprints of the applicant to 
the Virginia State Police for the purpose of conducting a 
Virginia Criminal History Records search and a National 
Criminal Records search to determine whether the applicant 
has a record of conviction. Applicants submitting 
unclassifiable fingerprint cards shall be required to submit his 
fingerprints on new fingerprint cards along with a the 
applicable nonrefundable fee ef-.$4+. However, no such fee 
shall be required if the rejected fingerprint cards are included 
and attached to the new fingerprint cards when resubmitted. 
In the case of registration renewal application for armored car 
personnel only, a Virginia Criminal History Records search 
and a national criminal records search to determine whether 
the applicant has a record of conviction shall be conducted. 

6 VAC 20-170-260. Temporary registration. 

The department may issue a letter of temporary 
registration to individuals seeking registration under § 9-
183.3 of the Code of Virginia for not more than 120 days 
while awaiting the results of the state and national fingerprint 
search, provided the applicant has met the conditions and 
requirements set forth in e V/\C 2G 17Q 22G threugh e VAG 
2Q 17Q 27Q ana IAe Virginia Criminal Reeerds searsR prevea 
negative Part IV (6 VAG 20-170-50 et seq.) ofthJs chapter. 

6 VAC 20-170-270. 
registrant. 

Duties and responsibilities of 

The registrant must at all times comply with the following: 
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1. Carry a valid registration at all times while on duty;. 
Individuals requiring registration as alarm respondent, 
central station dispatcher, electronic security sales 
representative or electronic security technician may be 
employed for not more then 90 days while completing 
the compulsory minimum training standards, provided 
the individual has submitted his fingerprints on forms 
provided by the department. An application for 
registration must be received by the department within 
10 calendar days of the completion of the required 
training. 

2. Perform those duties authorized by his registration 
only while employed by a licensed private security 
services business and only for the clients of the licensee. 
This shall not be construed to prohibit an individual who 
is registered as an armed security officer from being 
employed by a nonlicensee as provided for in § 9·183.2 
of the Code of Virginia;. 

3. Carry or have immediate access to firearms while on 
duty only while possessing a valid firearms certification;. 

4. Carry a firearm concealed while on duty only with the 
expressed authorization of the licensed private security 
services business employing the registrant and only in 
compliance with § 18.2·308 of the Code of Virginia;. 

5. Transport, carry and utilize firearms while on duty only 
in a manner which does not endanger the public health, 
safety and welfare;. 

6. Report to employer any incident in which the 
registrant has discharged a firearm while on duty, 
excluding any training exercise. 

lh 7. If authorized to make arrests, make arrests in full 
compliance with the law and using only the minimum 
force necessary to effect an arrest;. 

+, B. Engage in no conduct which through word, deed or 
appearance suggests that a registrant is a law· 
enforcement officer or other government official;. 

& 9. Display one's registration while on duty in response 
to the request of a law-enforcement officer, department 
personnel or client;. This shall not apply to armored car 
personnel or personal protection specialists. 

9, 10. Never perform any unlawful or negligent act 
resulting in a loss, injury or death to any person;. 

.W, 11. Private security personnel are not required to 
wear a uniform while on duty; however, if wearing the 
military style or law-enforcement style uniform of a 
private security licensee while on duty, that uniform must 
have: 

a. At least one insignia clearly identifying the name of 
the licensed firm employing the individual and, except 
armored car personnel, a name plate or tape bearing, 
as a minimum, the individual's last name and first and 
middle initials attached on the outermost garment, 
except rainwear worn only to protect from inclement 
weather; and 
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b. No patch or other writing (i) containing the word 
"police" or any other words suggesting a law· 
enforcement officer; (il) containing the word "officer" 
unless used in conjunction with the words "security"; or 
(iii) resembling any uniform patch or Insignia of any 
duly constituted law-enforcement agency of this 
Commonwealth, its political subdivisions or of the 
federal government. This restriction shall not apply to 
individuals who are also duly sworn special police 
officers, to the extent that they may display words 
which accurately represent that distinction;. 

++. 12. Utilize a vehicle with flashing lights in the 
conduct of a private security services business only as 
provided in § 46.2·1 025 of the Code of Virginia aRa IRis 
sl1a~ter;. 

.:;.2-, 13. Never use or display the state seal of Virginia as 
a part of any logo, stationery, business card, badge, 
patch, insignia or other form of identification or 
advertisement;. 

.:;.a, 14. Never display the uniform, badge or other 
insignia while not on duty;. 

+4, 15. O"riR§ IRe se"rse sf aRy ~rivate iRvesti~atieR, 
Never provide Information obtained by any licensed firm 
and its employees to any person other than the client 
who em~ secured the services of the licensee le 
ebtaiR !Rat iRiermalieR, without the client's prior written 
consent. Provision of information in response to official 
requests from law-enforcement agencies, oc from the 
department, shall not constitute a violation of this 
chapter. Provision of information to law-enforcement 
agencies pertinent to criminal activity or to planned 
criminal activity shall not constitute a violation of this 
chapter;. 

~ 16. Inform the department and compliance agent of 
employer in writing within 30 days of pleading guilty or 
nolo contendere or being convicted or found guilty of any 
felony or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, 
sexual offense, drug offense, physical injury or property 
damage;. 

~ 17. Inform the department and compliance agent of 
employer in writing within 30 days after having been 
found guilty by any court or administrative body of 
competent jurisdiction to have violated the private 
security services business statutes or regulations of that 
jurisdiction, there being no appeal therefrom or the time 
for appeal having elapsed;. 

-1+. 18. Acting as a registrant only in such a manner as 
to not endanger the public health, safety and welfare;. 

~ 19. Engage in no unethical, fraudulent, or dishonest 
conduct.;-. 

+9-:. 20. Never represent as one's own a registration 
issued to another individual, or represent oneself as 
certified compliance agent of a licensee, training school, 
school director or instructor unless so certified by the 
department;. 

~ 21. Never falsify, or aid and abet others in falsifying, 
training records for the purpose of obtaining a license, 
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registration, ~,;~narA=IeEi seeblrity sffiser training 
certification, or certification as a compliance agent, 
training school, school director or instructor. 

6 VAC 20-170-280. Replacement photo identification. 

Registered individuals seeking a replacement photo 
identification shall submit to the department: 

1. A properly completed application; and 

2. A The applicable nonrefundable processing fee el 
$+6. 

6 VAC 20-170-340. Registration expiration, renewal, 
reinstatement; extensh:m ef time peried te review. 

A. The department will mail a renewal notification to the 
last known address of the registrant. Failure of the registrant 
to renew prior to the expiration date of the registration shall 
be the sole responsibility of the individual registrant. 

B. A private security services registration not renewed on 
or before the expiration date of the registration shall become 
null and void. Periorming private security services duties 
withOut a valid private security services registration is a 
violation of the Code of Virginia. 

C. 1. All registrations issued on or after July 1, 1993, shall 
be valid for a period not to exceed 12 months. 

2. All registrations issued prior to July 1, 1993, shall 
expire on the expiration date of the registration. 

D. 1. Applications for registration renewal should be 
received by the department at least 30 days prior to 
expiration. A registration renewal application received by 
the department after the expiration date shall be subject 
to all applicable nonrefundable renewal fees plus 
nonrefundable reinstatement fees. 

2. The department may renew the registration for a 
period not to exceed 12 months from the expiration date 
of the expiring registration when each applicant meets or 
exceeds the following requirements: 

a. SOOmil A properly completed renewal application le 
is received by the department; 

b. Successfully complete the applicable training or 
retraining requirements for each registration category 
and each training certification requested; and 

c. A The applicable nonrefundable registration 
renewal fee ~ is received by the department. 

E. 1. Registration renewal applications received within 180 
days following the expiration date shall be accompanied 
by a the applicable nonrefundable renewal fee ~ 
and a the applicable nonrefundable reinstatement fee el 
W,W. 

2. No registration shall be renewed or reinstated when 
the application for renewal and fee are received by the 
department after 180 days following the expiration date 
of the registration. After that date, the applicant shall 
meet then current initial registration requirements. 

3. The date on which the application and fee are 
received by the department shall determine whether the 
registrant is eligible for renewal or reinstatement or is 
required to apply for initial registration. 

4. The department may deny renewal or reinstatement 
of a registration for the same reason as it may mf.!:::l.se 
deny initial registration or discipline a registrant. 

r;. 1. An extensien ef the time period te renew a private 
ses1:1rity servises FO§istration may be approveS only 
1::1nEier these spesifis sirs~:~mstanses whieA Ela not allow 
tAo individl:lal to renew his re§istration witl=lin tAo 
~ressribe<l time ~eris<l. ne iA<livi<lual SRall As! ~erfsrm 
private ses1:1rity f~:~nstions d~:~riAg tho period of o>Gension. 
Toe fellewiA§ are toe sAiy sirsumstaAses fer wRiBil 
e~HGAGiOAS may be §F3Rtod: 

a. IIIASSS, 

13. IAjl:lry, er 

s. Military seFVise. 

2. ,'\n a13p!isatien fer extension of tAo time peAeEI fer 
FSnewal of a private sosmity servises registratien sAall: 

a. Be submitte<l iA writiA§ ~risr te toe eJE~iratisA <late 
of tAo 13rivate sos1:1rity sePu·iseo rogistFatien; and 

b. lo<lisate toe ~rojests<l Elate toe mgistraot will be 
able Is som~ly witR toe· re~Hiromeots fer wivate 
sos1:1rity sorvisos rogistratien renewal. 

3. AA e><teosieo will oet be a~~reve<l fer a ~rivate 
sos1:1rity soPu'isoo rogistratioA vvRish Rae O){piroEI. 

4. Applisations foF aEiditienal oxtonsiens may 13e 
a~~reve<l "~"" writteo re~uest of toe registraot. 

6 VAC 20-170-350. Firearms certification, expiration, 
renewal. 

A Firearms certification is required for all registrants who 
carry or have immediate access to a firearm while on duty. 

A, B. An individual who has successfully completed the 
handgun training requirements may submit a properly 
completed application for registration with handgun 
certification. 

1. Handgun certification will be documented on the 
registration and shall expire on the expiration date of the 
registration. 

2. The department may grant a handgun certification 
"P"" reseipt of los followiog: 

a. Upon receipt of a properly completed application; 
and 

b. Satisfactory completion of the applicable handgun 
training requirements. 

<>, C. An individual who has successfully met the handgun 
training requirements, and has successfully completed the 
shotgun training requirement, may submit a properly 
completed application for registration with shotgun 
certification. 
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1. Shotgun certification will be documented on the 
registration and shall expire on the expiration date of the 
registration. 

2. The department may grant a shotgun certification 
8pen meeipt ef t~e fellewiRg: 

a. Upon receipt of a properly completed application; 
and 

b. Satisfactory completion of the applicable shotgun 
training requirements. 

G., 0. All handgun and shotgun certifications shall be 
issued tor a period not to exceed 12 months and shall 
become null and void on the expiration date of the 
registration. "Firearms endorsements" issued prior to July 1, 
1993, shall become null and void on the expiration date of the 
endorsement. 

1* E. The department may renew handgun and shotgun 
certifications for a period not to exceed 12 months from the 
expiration date of the registration: 

1. Upon receipt of a properly completed registration 
renewal application; 

2. Satisfactory completion of all applieasle entry level 
training, firearms retraining and applicable in·service 
training requirements for all registration categories; and 

3. A The applicable nonrefundable renewal fee <:>~-$a& is 
received by the department. (ORe $as The applicable 
fee for registration renewal includes firearms 
certifications if all requirements have been met.) 

€-o F. The department may deny renewal of a firearms 
certification for the same reason as it may refuse deny initial 
firearms certification or discipline a registrant 

PART VI. 
CERTIFICATION PROCEDURES AND REQUIREMENTS. 

6 VAC 20-170-360. Initial unarmed security officer 
training certification requirements. 

A. Each person employed or utilized as an unarmed 
security officer shall successfully complete the compulsory 
minimum training standards for unarmed security officers and 
make application to the department for the issuance of an 
unarmed security officer certification, except that such 
persons may be employed for not more than 90 days while 
completing the compulsory minimum training standards. For 
unarmed security officers employed by a licensed private 
security services business, the department must receive an 
application for certification within 120 days of employment. 

B. Individuals seeking unarmed security officer certification 
shall file an application provided by the department which 
shall be accompanied by a the applicable nonrefundable 
processing fee ef...$-1-<;. Each applicant shall meet or exceed 
the following requirements prior to issuance of an unarmed 
security officer certification: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age; 

2. Disclose to the department a physical address (a post 
office box is not a physical address); and 
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3. Successfully complete the initial unarmed security 
officer training requirement and, it appropriate, in-service 
training requirements for unarmed security officerST-8-fl€1. 

4. ~ave l~e GOR1plianee ageRl ef ~is OR1pleyer aHesl t~at 
doettmentary evidenee OJ~ists tl=lat an investigatien to 
aeterffliRe S8itasility ef l~e appliGaRt ~as seeR GORS"Glea 
and reviewed as re~ttired by tAo CoQe of ViFginia. 

C. Each person employed or utilized as an unarmed 
security officer on or after July 13, 1994, shall comply with the 
unarmed security officer training certification requirements. 

6 VAC 20-170-370. Initial electronic security technician's 
assistant certification requirements. 

A. No person shall be employed or utilized as an 
electronic security technician's assistant until he has 
submitted a fingerprint processing application and his 
fingerprints on two cards provided by the department. 

B. Each person employed or utilized as an electronic 
security technician's assistant shall successfully complete the 
compulsory minimum training standards for electronic 
security technician's assistants and make application to the 
department for the issuance of an electronic security 
technician's assistant certification, except that such persons 
may be employed for not more than 90 days while completing 
the compulsory minimum training standards. 

C. Individuals seeking certification as an electronic 
security technician's assistant shall file an application 
provided by the department which shall be accompanied by a 
the applicable nonrefundable processing fee el-$W. Each 
applicant shall meet or exceed the following requirements 
prior to the issuance of an electronic security technician's 
assistant certification: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age; 

2. Disclose to the department his physical address (a 
post office box is not a physical address); 

3. Submit his fingerprints on two completed fingerprint 
cards provided by the department; and 

4. Successfully complete the initial electronic security 
technician's assistant training requirement. 

6 VAC 20-170-380. Initial electronic security employee 
certification requirements. 

A. No person shall be employed or utilized as an 
electronic security employee until he has submitted the 
following to the department: 

1. A fingerprint processing application with his 
fingerprints on two fingerprint cards provided by the 
department; and 

2. A certification application indicating the applicant has 
met or exceeded these requirements: 

a. Be at least 18 years of age; 

b. Disclose to the department his physical address (a 
post office box is not a physical address); and 
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c. A The applicable nonrefundable application fee Gl 
$W. 

B. Each person must receive a temporary authorization 
letter from the department before being employed or utilized 
as an electronic security employee. 

6 VAC 20-170-390. Criminal history records search. 

1\. U~en ~iring a persen te be employee as an ~narmoa 
security ef!ioor, tee oemplianso agent ef teo b~siness seall 
submit en tee first say ef empleyment, VSP Perm 167 signee 
by tee a~~lisant te tee Virginia State Peliso fer tee ~~rpese ef 
conG~;:~atiA§ a Vif§inia CRminal !:--4istery F=leesrEJs seaFSA te 
eetermine weoteer tee applisant eas a resera of senvistien. 
An indi.,ieual may net be ompleyoel fer mere tean 3G Elays 
wi#loot Elosumentatien of tee sempletien at tee Virginia 
CFiFAinall=:listspt Rocerds search. 

lh Upon receipt of an initial application for certification as 
electronic security technician's assistant or electronic security 
employee, the department shall submit the fingerprints of the 
applicant to the Virginia State Police for the purpose of 
conducting a Virginia Criminal History Records search and a 
National Criminal Records search to determine whether the 
applicant has a record of conviction. Applicants submitting 
unclassifiable fingerprint cards shall be required to submit his 
fingerprints on new fingerprint cards along with a the 
applicable nonrefundable fee ef44-1.. However, no such fee 
shall be required if the rejected fingerprint cards are included 
and attached to the new fingerprint cards when resubmitted. 

6 VAC 20-170-400. Duties and responsibilities of certified 
unarmed security officers, electronic security 
technician's assistants, and electronic security 
employees. 

The unarmed security officer, electronic security 
technician's assistant and electronic security employee must 
at all times comply with the following: 

1. Carry a valid certification card at all times while on 
duty except under the provisions of § 9-183 D or § 9-183 
F of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Perform those duties authorized by this chapter only 
while employed by a licensed private security services 
business and only for the clients of the licensee. This 
shall not be construed to prohibit an individual who is 
employed as an unarmed security officer from being 
employed by a nonlicensee as provided for in § 9-183.2 
of the Code of Virginia; 

3. Never carry or have immediate access to firearms 
while on duty; 

4. Engage in no conduct which through word, deed or 
appearance falsely suggests that an unarmed security 
officer, electronic security technician's assistant or 
electronic secudty employee is a law-enforcement officer 
or other government official; 

5. Display one's certification while on duty in response to 
the request of a law-enforcement officer, department 
personnel or client; 

6. Never perform any unlawful or negligent act resulting 
in a loss, injury or death to any person; 

7. Private security personnel are not required to wear a 
uniform while on duty; however, if wearing the law­
enforcement style or military style uniform of a private 
security licensee while on duty, that uniform must have: 

a. At least one insignia clearly identifying the name of 
the licensed firm employing the individual and a name 
plate or tape bearing, as a minimum, the individual's 
last name and first and middle initials attached on the 
outermost garment, except rainwear worn only to 
protect from inclement weather; and 

b. No patch or other writing (i) containing the word 
"police" or any other words suggesting a law­
enforcement officer; (ii) containing the word "officer" 
unless used in conjunction with the word "security"; or 
(iii) resembling any uniform patch or insignia of any 
duly constituted law-enforcement agency of this 
Commonwealth, its political subdivisions or of the 
federal government. This restriction shall not apply to 
individuals who are also duly sworn special police 
officers, to the extent that they may display words 
which accurately represent that distinction; 

8. Utilize a vehicle with flashing lights in the conduct of a 
private security services business only as provided in § 
46.2-1025 of the Code of Virginia; 

9. Never use or display the state seal of Virginia as a 
part of any logo, stationery, business card, badge, patch, 
insignia or other form of identification or advertisement; 

10. Never display the uniform, badge or other insignia 
while not on duty; 

11. Inform the department in writing within 30 days of 
pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 
found guilty of any felony or of a misdemeanor involving 
moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug offense, physical 
injury or property damage; 

12. Inform the department in writing within 30 days after 
having been found guilty by any court or administrative 
body of competent jurisdiction to have violated the 
private security services business statutes or regulations 
of that jurisdiction, there being no appeal therefrom or 
the time for appeal having elapsed; 

13. Acting as an unarmed security officer, electronic 
security technician's assistant or electronic security 
employee only in such a manner as to not endanger the 
public hea'<h, safety and welfare; 

14. Eng3.ge in no unethical, fraudulent, or dishonest 
conduct; 

15. Never represent as one's own certification issued to 
another individual, or representing oneself as a certified 
compliance agent of a licensee, school director or 
instructor unless certified as such by this department; 

16. Never falsify, or aid and abet others in falsifying, 
training records for the purpose of obtaining a license, 
registration, ~,;~narme9 security officer training 
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certification, or certification as a compliance agent, 
training school, school director or instructor. 

6 VAC 20-170-430. Replacement photo identification. 

Unarmed security officers, electronic security technician's 
assistants or electronic security employees seeking a 
replacement photo identification shall submit to the 
department: 

1 . A properly completed application; and 

2. A The applicable nonrefundable processing fee~. 

6 VAC 20-170-460. Certification expiration, renewal, 
reinstatement. 

A. The department will mail a renewal notification to the 
last known address of the individual. Failure of the individual 
to renew prior to the expiration date of the certification shall 

· be the sole responsibility of the individual. 

B. A certification not renewed on or before the expiration 
date of the seFtifisale certification shall become null and void. 
PeFfaFmiR§ private ses"Fity seFVises •Mies l:leyeAa the iAilial 
9G <lays ef em~leymefl\ wilheut a valia seFtilisaliaA is a 
vielalieR el the Geae el \liF!JiAia aRa !his shapter. 

C. A certification shall be valid for a period not to exceed 
24 months from the date of issue. All such certifications shall 
expire on the expiration date of the certification. 

D. 1. An application lor certification renewal "*1St should 
be received by the department at least 30 days prior to 
expiration. Certification applications received by the 
department after the expiration date shall be subject to 
all applicable nonrefundable renewal fees plus 
reinstatement fees. 

2. The department may renew a certification for a period 
not to exceed 24 months from the expiration date of the 
certification: 

a. Upon receipt of a properly completed renewal 
application; 

b. Satisfactory completion of the in-service training 
requirements; and 

c. A The applicable nonrefundable renewal lee ~ 
is received by the department. 

E. 1. Renewal applications received within 180 days 
following the expiration date shall be accompanied by a 
the applicable nonrefundable renewal fee ef-.$.l<; and a 
the applicable nonrefundable reinstatement fee sf $7.69. 

2. No certification shall be renewed or reinstated when 
the application for renewal and fee are received by the 
department after 180 days following the expiration date 
of the certification. After that date, the applicant shall 
meet then current initial certification requirements. 

3. The date on which the application and fee are 
received by the department shall determine whether the 
individual is eligible for renewal or reinstatement or is 
required to apply lor initial certification. 
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4. The department may deny renewal or reinstatement 
of a certification for the same reason as it may refuse the 
initial certification or discipline an unarmed security 
officer. 

PART VII. 
COMPULSORY MINIMUM TRAINING STANDARDS FOR 

PRIVATE SECURITY SERVICES BUSINESS PERSONNEL. 

Article 1. 
Registration/Certification Category Requirements. 

6 VAC 20-170-470. Entry level training. 

Each person employed by a private security services 
business or applying to the department for registration as an 
armed security officer/courier, personal protection specialist, 
armored car personnel, guard dog handler, private 
investigator, alarm respondent, central station dispatcher, 
electronic security sales representative, or electronic security 
technician as defined by § 9-183.1 of the Code of Virginia, or 
applying to the department for training certification as an 
unarmed security officer or certification as an electronic 
security technician's assistant as required by § 9-183.3 of !he 
Code of Virginia, or lor certification as a compliance agent as 
required by § 9-183.3 of the Code of Virginia, who has not 
met the compulsory minimum training standards prior lo July 
13, 1994, must meet the compulsory minimum training 
standards herein established, unless provided lor otherwise 
in accordance with 8 \~A.G 2Q 179 489 aR<l § 'JAG 29 179 
49Q efttlis sha~ter 6 VAC20-170-475. 

6 VAC 20-170-475. In-service training. 

A. Each person registered with the department as an 
armed security officer/courier, personal protection specialist, 
armored car personnel, guard dog handler, private 
investigator, alarm respondent, central station dispatcher, 
electronic security sales representative, electronic secwily 
technician, or applying to the department for certification as 
an unarmed security officer or electronic security technician's 
assistant, or certified by the department to act as a 
compliance agent, shall complete the compulsory in-service 
training standafd once during each 24-month period of 
registration or certification as determined by the department. 

B. Compliance agent. 

1. Individuals who completed entry level training after 
July 1, 1993, must complete in-service training within 
each 24-month period following the initial entry level 
training date. 

2. Individuals who were certified as compliance 
prior to July 1, 1993, must complete compliance agent 
in-service training within each 24-month period following 
the original in-service training date. 

3. In-service training must be completed within 12 
months prior to the established training due date. 

4. Individuals who fail to complete in-service training 
prior to the established training due date may complete 
in-service training within 90 days after the established 
training due date if a completed in-service training 
enrollment application and a $25 delinquent training fee 
is received by the department. 
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C. Instructor. 

1. All private security instructors initially certified prior to 
December 31, 1994, must complete instructor in-service 
training prior to his certification expiration in the year 
1997 and thereafter within each 36-month period of 
cerUfication. 

2. All private security instructors initially certified after 
January 1, 1995, but before December 31, 1996, must 
complete instructor in-service training prior to his 
certification expiration in the year 2000 and thereafter 
within each 36-month period of certification. 

3. All private security instructors initially certified on or 
after January 1, 1997, must complete instructor in­
service training within each 36-month period following 
certification. 

61/AC 20-170-480. Exemptions. 

A. Persons who meet the statutory requirements as set 
forth in § 9-182 of the Code of Virginia may apply tor a partial 
exemption from the compulsory training standards. 
Individuals requesting such partial exemption shall file an 
application furnished by the department and include the 
applicable nonrefundable application fee ef---$21;. The 
department may issue such partial exemption on the basis of 
individual qualifications as supported by required 
documentation. Those applying lor and receiving exemptions 
must with all regulations promulgated by the board. 
Each person receiving a partial exemption must apply to the 
department lor registration within 12 months from the date of 
issuance, otherwise the partial exemption shall become null 
and void. The following are the requirements tor qualification 
lor a partial exemption from the compulsory training 
standards: 

1. Entry level training. 

+, a. Persons having previous employment previously 
employed as law-enforcement officers who have not 
terminated or been terminated from said employment 
more than five years prior to the application date must 
submit official documentation of the following with the 
application lor partial exemption: 

"' (1) Completion of law-enforcement entry level 
training, and 

b. (2) Five continuous years of law-enforcement 
employment provided such employment as a law­
enforcement officer was not terminated due to 
mfsconduct or incompetence. 

2c b. Persons having previous training or employment 
in any of the classifications defined in § 9-183.1 of the 
Code ol Virginia must submit official documentation of 
the following with the application lor partial exemption: 

& (1) Completion of previous private security 
training, which has been approved by the 
department and which meets or exceeds the 
compulsory mrmmum training standards 
promulgated by the board, or 

bo (2) Five years continuous employment in the 
category tor which partial exemption is sought, 
provided such employment was not terminated due 
to misconduct or Incompetence. 

2. In-service training. Persons who have completed 
training which meets or exceeds the compulsory 
minimum training standards promulgated by the board 
for the in-service training required for the individuals 
particular category may be authorized credit for such 
training, provided the training has been completed within 
24 months of the expiration date of the registration 
period during which in-service training is required. 
Official documentation of the following must accompany 
the application for partial in-service training credit: 

a. Job-related training sessions which meet or exceed 
Department of Criminal Justice Services standards 
and are offered by institutions, associations, or private 
firms may be approved for partial in-service training 
credit. 

b. Applications for partial in-service training credit 
shaf/ include information relating to the sponsoring 
organization and a copy of the training schedule. The 
schedule shall contain the dates, times, subject matter 
and instructor for each session. 

3. Prior firearms credit. Persons having previous 
department-approved firearms training may be 
authorized credit tor such training which meets or 
exceeds the compulsory minimum training standards for 
private security services business personnel, provided 
such training has been completed within the 12 months 
preceding the date of application. Official documentation 
of completion of department approved firearms training 
and qualification at a Virginia criminal justice agency, 
academy or correctional department must accompany 
the application for partial in-service training credit. 

6 VAC 20-170-490. FiFearmstraining. (Repealed.) 

FiFeaFms eeFiilisatieA is req"irea fer all ~rivate ses"rily 
servises 13b1SiAess j39FS9RRel flFier te sarryiA§ er Raving 
immeaiale assess Is a firearm in t~e ~eFiermaAee et a"ty. 

6 VAC 20-170-500. In seR:ise training. (Repealed.) 

eae~ ~eFSeA registered wit~ t~e ae~allmeRI as aA a<mee 
see~;.~rity effiserf.eet:Jrier, flOFSeRal pratestiaR GI30cialist, 
armerea ear perseAAel, §Yare <leg handler, ~rivate 
iAvestigaler, alarm respeA<IaAI, eeAtral staliaR aispatsi'Jar, 
elestrenis sesblrity sales representative, alostronis soG~:~rity 
teehAieiaA, er applyieg te l~e r:lepartmaAt fer ea<tifisalien as 
an l.marmea ses~:~rity offiser or elestFenie sosl:lrity toehnieiaA's 
asslslaAt, er eertifiee 13y ttle ElepaFimeAI te ast as a 
eempliaAee a§eAI, s~all eemplete t~e sempYisery in seFVise 
traiAiA§ staAr:larr:l eAse a"riA§ eae~ 24 menth perieEI ef 
registralieA er eeFiifiealieA as eetermiAe<l lly toe ElepariFAeAt. 
CempliaAee ageAt iA seFViee trainiA§ is re~YireEI witRiA 24 
menths ef eAiry le.,eltraiAing, er the last sempletee in seFViee 
trainiA§. 
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6 VAC 20-170·510. lnslrueler ••seFilllealleA. (Repealed.) 

ease ~erseA seFiifiea as an iABtr"ster sl;all sem~lete 
reeertlfieatieA traiRIA§ witoin easl; ae manti; ~eriea ef Initial 
seFiifisalien oats. 

6 VAC 20-170-520. Compulsory minimum entry level 
training by category. 

Total hours do not Include time for examinations, practical 
exercises and range qualification. Refer to 6 VAC 20-170-
540 for the minimum training requirements for each category. 

Unarmed security officer- 16 hours 

Armed security officer/courier - 24 hours 

Armored car personnel- 20 hours 

Guard dog handler - 28 hours 

Private investigator- 60 hours 

Personal protection specialist - 68 hours 

URarffieEI Alarm respondent- 16 hours 

ArffieEI alarm res~endent 24 Re"'" 

Central station dispatcher - 8 hours 

Electronic security sales representative - 8 hours 

Electronic security technician- 14 hours 

Electronic security technician's assistant - 4 hours 

Compliance agent- 6 hours 

6 VAC 20-170·530. Compulsory minimum In-service 
training by category. 

Total hours do not Include time for examinations. Refer to 6 
VAC 20-170-550 for the minimum in-service training 
requirements for each category. 

Unarmed security officer - 4 hours 

Armed security officer/courier- 4 hours 

Armored car personnel - 4 hours 

Guard dog handler - 8 hours 

Private investigator- 8 hours 

Personal protection specialist- 16 hours 

Unarmed Alarm respondent- 4 hours 

Armoe alam=~ resFJenEient 4 Rei:IFS 

Central station dispatcher- 4 hours 

Electronic security sales representative~ 4 hours 

Electronic security technician~ e 4 hours 

Electronic security technician's assistant~ 2 hours 

Compliance agent- 4 hours 

Instructor· 8 hours 

Volume 12, Issue 23 

Proposed Regulations 

6 VAC 20-170·540. 
requirements. 

Minimum entry level training 

A. Core subjects. The entry level curriculum for unarmed 
security officer, armed security officer/courier, guard dog 
handler, unarmeEI alarm res~enEient anEI armeEI and alarm 
respondent sets forth the following areas Identified as: 

Cere s~bjeels 

Administration and security orientation/regulations - 2 
hours 

Legal authority and arrest authority and procedures - 6 
hours 

Emergency and defensive procedures - 8 hours 

Written examination 

Total hours (excluding exam)- 16 hours 

B. Armed security officer/courier. 

In aaaitian le ti;e sussasslul sem~letian ef the sara 
suejasts surris~lum (!l V!'.G 2G 17G 84Q A), sash armed 
sesurlty elliser/seurler m"st alse semply wiiR firearms trainln§ 
requlmmeR!s. (Firearms sertifisatieR is requires fer all ~rivals 
ses"rity servises e"siness ~ersennel prier te sarryln§ er 
having lmmeaiate assess te a firearm In the perfermanse ef 
d!Jty,) 
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1. ManEI§un slassreem trainin§ (refer te !l VAG 2Q 17Q 
SeQ) 8 hours 

2. aROI§"A slassreem instr"otien, If a~~lisaele (refer te !l 
VAG 20 17Q 8§Q) 2 hours 

d. VVr\tteA firearms oxamiAatieR 

4. Ran§e quallfisatien. ~te minimum heurs required 
(refer te S VAG 20 179 SeQ). ease ~ersen wile sarries 
er has imme<liate assess te firearms in IRe pelfermanse 
ef Ei"IY shall q"alify wit!; eash type anEI salieer ef firearm 
te whioi; he has assess. 

1. Core subjects- 16 hours 

2. Entry level handgun training (refer to Article 2 (6 VAC 
20-170-615 et seq.) of this part) - 8 hours 

3. Entry level shotgun training, if applicable (refer to 
Article 2 (6 VAC 20-170-615 et seq.) of this part) - 1 hour 

Total hours (excluding examination, shotgun) classroom 
instruction and range qualification) - 24 hours 

C. Armored car personnel. 

1. Armored car orientation/state regulations - 3 hours 

2. Armored car procedures - 9 hours 

3. Written examination 

4. Entry-level firearms training (e VAG 20 17Q e1Q 8) 
(refer to Article 2 (6 VAG 20-170-615 et seq.) of this part) 
- 8 hours 

Total hours (excluding examinations and range 
qualification)- 20 hours 
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D. Guard dog handler. 

1. Prerequisites for guard dog handler entry level 
(official documentation required): 

a. Successful completion of the core subjects 
curriculum (9 VAG 29 179 a49 subsection A of this 
section) - 16 hours 

b. Successful completion of basic obedience training 

2. Following successful completion of the above 
prerequisites, each guard dog handler must also comply 
with the following requirements: 

a. Demonstration of proficiency. The student must 
demonstrate his proficiency in the handling of a 
security canine to satisfy the minimum standards - 2 
hours 

Evaluation by a certified private security guard dog 
handler instructor and 
Basic obedience retraining 

b. Guard dog handler orientation/legal authority - 4 
hours 

c. Canine patrol techniques - 6 hours 

d. Written examination 

Total hours (excluding examinations)- 28 hours 

E. Private investigator. 

1. Investigator orientation/regulations - 8 hours 

2. Collecting and reporting information - 6 hours 

3. General investigative techniques - 20 hours 

4. Interviewing techniques- 8 hours 

5. Criminal law, procedure and rules of evidence - 8 
hours 

6. Civil law, procedure and rules of evidence- 10 hours 

7. \~'ritten GOffiJ3reRensive mEaFRinatien Three practical 
field exercises 

8. TAres prastisal field mmrsises Written comprehensive 
examination 

Total hours in classroom (excluding written examination 
and practical exercises) - 60 hours 

F. Personal protection specialist. 
~ratastiaA s~esialist st"deAt A'wst alse 
fellawiA§ '"~"iFemeAts: 

l"iash ~eFSeAal 
sem~ly with the 

1. Personal protection orientation - 4 hours 

2. Assessment of threat and protectee vulnerability - 8 
hours 

3. Legal authority and issues - 16 hours 

4. Protective detail operations- 28 hours 

5. Emergency procedures- 12 hours 

a. CPR - 8 hours 

b. Emergency first aid 

c. Defensive preparedness 

d. Emergency relocation 

6. Performance evaluation - Five practical exercises 

7. Written examination 

Total hours (excluding written examination and 
performance evaluation)- 68 hours 

G. UAarmed Alarm respondent. l"iash ""armed alarm 
res~eRdaRt st"deRt m"st s"ssessf"IIY sem~lete the sere 
s"bjasts s"rris"l"m (e VAG 29 179 849 A) 

Core subjects (refer to subsection A of this section)- 16 
hours 

1-1. Armed alarm res~eRdeRI. lA additiaR ta toe s"ssessf"l 
sem~letieR af toe sere s"bjests s"Fris"l"m (6 V/\G 29 179 
§49 A), easl1 aFR1ed alarm respeRdeRt A'WSt alse semply witl1 
firearms training re~1::1irements. F=iremms seFtifisation is 
re~~;:~ire8 for all J3Fivate ses1::1rity servises bi:Jsiness peroonnel 
prior te GarryiR§ er haviRg immm:liate acsosc te a firearm iR 
t~e ferlermaRse ef ~"ty. 

1. l=laREI§I:JR classreem iRstmstieR (refer te 8 V/\C 20 
179 899 B) 8 ~""'" 
2. S~et§"" slassraam iRstr"etieR (if afflisable) (Fefer te 
6 VAG 20 170 860 G) 1 ~e"r 

3. 'A'ritteR firearms OJ(affiiRatieR 

4. RaR§8 ~"alifisalieR. Ne miRim"m ~e"rs re~"ired. 
EaeA FJOFCen wAa carries er Aas imrno9iato assess te 
firearms iR t~e ~erlermaRse ef d"ty soall ~"alify wit~ 
eash type aRd ealibeF ef firearm te woiso oe ~as assess. 

Tetal hei:Jrs (eJtsltJ9iRg m<aminatieR, shetgi:JR claccreom 
instr"etieR, aRd ~"alifieatien en tl1e raA§e) 24 11e"rs 

h H. Electronic security subjects. The entry level 
electronic security subjects curriculum for central station 
dispatcher, electronic security sales representative, electronic 
security technician and electronic security technician's 
assistant sets forth the following areas identified as: 

1. Orientation 

2. Code of Virginia 

3. Regulations Relating to Private Security Services 

4. Introduction to electronic security 

5. Written examination 

Total hours (excluding examination) · 4 hours 

J.o I. Central station dispatcher. 

1. Electronic security subjects (refer to e VAG 20 170 
§4G.J subsection H of this section)- 4 hours 

2. Central station dispatcher subjects- 4 hours 

a. Duties and responsibilities 

b. Communications skills 
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c. Emergency procedures 

d. False alarm prevention 

3. Written examination 

Total hours (excluding examination) - 8 hours 

K,. J. Electronic security sales representative. 

1. Electronic security subjects (refer to S VAG 29 179 
e4G-J subsection H of this section) - 4 hours 

2. Electronic security sales representative subjects - 4 
hours 

a. Duties and responsibilities 

b. System design/components 

c. False alarm prevention 

3. Written examination 

Total hours (excluding examination) - 8 hours 

b K. Electronic security technician. E.aeh eleetreRio 
sos"rity teshnisian st"dent nn"st also sonnply with the 
followiA§ req"irennents: 

1. Electronic security subjects (refer to S VAG 29 179 
e4G-J subsection H of this section) - 4 hours 

2. Electronic security technician subjects- 10 hours 

a. Duties and responsibilities 

b. Electronics 

c. Control panels 

d. Protection devices and application 

e. Test equipment 

f. Power and grounding 

g. National electrical code 

h. Job safety 

i. False alarm FRana§ement prevention 

3. Written examination 

Total hours (excluding examination)- 14 hours 

M, L. Compliance agent. 

1. Industry overview and responsibilities: regulations 
review, business practices, ethical standards, records 
requirements and other related issues- 6 hours 

2. Written examination 

Total hours (excluding written examination)- 6 hours 

n Firearms training. Firearms seFI:ifieation is ret:~l:lired for 
all private seei:Jrity servisos S~:~sinesc f38Fsonnel f3Fior to 
sarryin§ or Raving irnrne9iate assess to a 1irean=R iR tAo 
perfornnanse of <My. l"irearnns traiRiR§ nn"st be sonn~leted 
witl=lin 12 months imFRe9iately preseding ci:JI3FRission of an 
applisatien. FirearFRs training soFRpleto9 longer tl:lan 12 
AnORths WiOF to a~~lisatiOR SRGII ROt be vali<J. 
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1. 1-iaRd§UR slassreonn trainiR§ (refer to S VAG 2Q 179 
889) 8 ho"rs 

2. Si'let§"" slassroonn instrustion, if a~~lisable (refer to S 
V/\C 29 179 869) 1 ho"r 

3. Written firoarFRS oxaFRination (refer to e VAG 20 170 

swr. 
4. Raoge ~"alifisation. No nnininnunn hours re~uirod. 
e:asR f30rson who earries or Ras iffiFRe9late aeeess to 
firearnns iR toe ~orfornnaoso of duty shall ~ualify with 
oash ty~e aod salibor of firearnn to whish he has assess. 

Total hot:JFS eo net inslude examination shotgun 
slacsreoFR instnwtion er range Ell:Jalifisatien 8 hei:IFS 

0. PersoF\al proteetien Sf30Gia',i&t aGvansee firearms 
trainiR§. lA additioR to the s"ssessful sonnpletion of the 
flOFsenal j:>Foteotion Sfleeialist entry level smrie~:~lt:IFR (6 VAG 
29 179 949 1"), eash arnnoa persooal ~rotestion s~esialist 

studeot nnust also sonnply with the ~orsooal protestioR 
s~osialist advaosed hand§"" traiAiR§ 24 hours. 

1. 'P'eaf3on selestien anEl neFRenslature 

2. Safety and f"nstioRiA§ 

:J. l"un<Jannentals of nnari<SAAGRSRip 

4. Deeision making fer the f!Orsonal f!Feteetion Gf3esialist 

e. l"iroarnns sl<ill develo~nnent 

6. Vir§inia flF\Vate sest:Irity SOI:lFSO of fire fer hanElg1:1ns 

7. Personal f!retestien Sf3eeialist aElvansee firearFFis 
sot:Irse of fire for hand§l:lns 

8. 'A'ritten 8)(3Fflinatien. each f3Fivate SOGl:IFity OFRfliOyee 
who sarries or has iFRFRediate assess to firearFRs in tl:le 
~erfernnaose of duty shall ~"alify with eash ty~e ana 
salil3er of firearFR to wl=lish he Rae assess. 

Total hours (o><sl"din§ writteR O>tannioation) 21 ho"rs 

6 VAC 20-170-550. Compulsory minimum in-service 
training requirements. 

A. Core subjects. Unarmed security officer/armed security 
officer/courier/~:~narFRed alarm respondent'arrneEI alarFR 
respondeAt. 
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Legal authority/regulatioos review- 2 hours 

Job related training- 2 hours 

Total hours- 4 hours 

B. Armored car personnel. 

Statuter; a~o~thorizatien/rogulations review 2 hours 

Legal authority- 2 hours 

Armored car procedures - 2 hours 

Total hours - 4 hours 

C. Guard dog handler. 

Basic obedience evaluation and retraining- 2 hours 

Legal authority1re§I:Jiatiens review- 2 hours 
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Job related training- 2 hours 

Canine patrol techniques - 2 hours 

Total hours- 8 hours 

D. Private investigator. 

Legal authority/iss~es (sivil ami sFiFRiAal) 1Feg~latieAs 
fel.Aewcivil and crimina/law issues ~ 4 hours 

Investigative procedures- 4 hours 

Total hours- 8 hours 

E. Personal protection specialist 

Re§~latieAs Feview 1 l'le~r 

Legal authority and issues - 2 hours 

Protective detail operations- 10 hours 

Emergency procedures - 3 hours 

Total hours- 16 hours 

F. Central station dispatcher 

CeEie and FB§I:IIatieR review 1 ho~::~r 

Job related training/false alarm prevention a RS~FS 
Total hours- 4 hours 

G. Electronic security sales representative 

Ceae aAEI reg"latieA review 1 he"' 

Job related training/false alarm prevention a he~Fs 
Total hours- 4 hours 

H. Electronic security technician 

Ceae ana reg"latieA review 1 he"r 

Job related training/false alarm prevention a he~rs 
Total hours- 4 hours 

I. Electronic security technician's assistant 

Job related training 

Total hours- 2 hours 

J. Compliance agent. 

Ceae aeEI reg"latien review e he"rs 

Jes Felatea traieiR§#alse alaFm ~FeveetieR 1.a heyrs 

Tetal 4 heYFS 

Industry ovetview and responsibilities, regulations 
review, business practices, ethical standards, records 
requirements, and other related issues 

Total hours- 4 hours 

K. Instructor. 

Regulations review, legal issues, ethical standards 
records requirements and other related topics - 2 hours 

Techniques of instruction delivery including practical 
exercises - 6 hours 

Total hours- 8 hours 

6 VAC 20-170-560. Partial in servise training ~ 
(Repealed.) 

1\. Par:tial in service trainin§ credit may be approved fer 
atton9aneo at training programs whish are not cendb!otod 
ti'lreugi'l a De~aFtmeRt ef Criminal J~stiee SefViees seFtified 
private sesYrity trainiR§ ssheel. lnaivid"al farlial in servise 
tFaiAiAg sreEiit ap~lisatieRs FAYS! be scbfflittod en feFms 
previEies sy the ElepaF1FR8Rt. The lei/ewing pmsedcros feF 
applyiRg fer ~aflial in servise tmiAin§ sredit FRust be fellewea: 

1. Jab relatea training sessions which FflOOt or O}(Geed 
Do~aFIFReRt ef CFiFRiRal J"stise Sorvieos stanoaras anEI 
are offereEJ by inctittltions, associations, ar private firms 
may SO a~preveEI fer ~aflial iR seriise trainin~ 

2. Applications for f3artial in service training credit shall 
inoltlde information relatiR§ to the sponsoring 
eFganization ane a GOJ3Y of tAo trainin§ sef:le91:t1e. TAo 
sshod"le shall sentain tee dates, times, suejest matter 
and instrtlctor far each session. 

a. Applisatiens mYst be s"smitted within §Q days ef the 
last Elay sf the tFaining session. 

B. Partial in service training credit for regt:Jiationc review 
may se appreveEI u~eA sYssessf"l sempletien ef semplianse 
ageAt in service training. 

6 VAC 20-170-570. ExiensieA ef time perie<l lo meet In 
servise trainin!l reqyiremeRI. (Repealed.) 

/\. An m(tension of the tiFBe period to cernplote in service 
training ret:~tliroments may be apFJroved only tlnder cpooifio 
oircl:ln:~stanoes whish EJo not allow tho private secb!rity 
OFRJ31eyee to somplote the ret:tl::lireG in service training within 
the ~reseribea time ~erie<l. The fellewiR§ are the eAI)' 
oirGI:II'flstanoes for which extensions may Be granted: 

1. Illness, 

2. lnjb!l)', or 

d. Militart ser·ioe. 

B. /\n appl.;satien fer extens,ien sha.": 

1. fle sYbrnittea ~rier te the e"pimtioR Elate ef tee time 
limit ret:~l::lireEJ fer completion of tho compulsory in service 
training fOEjb!irements; an!l 

&-IRaisate the prejestea sate the iRdividual will be able 
to oomply with the in seFVise trainfn§ roquirement&.-

C. No m(tencien will be approved for registratiens or 
oer=tifisations whish have O)EpireEJ. 

D. 1\,pplioations for atltlitienal mttonciens may be approved 
b!pon written ret:~ blest of the individ1:1al. 

6 VAC 20-170-580. Firearms retraiRiRg. (Repealed.) 

A. /\II armed private security servioes bt~sinesc personnel 
mtlst satisfastorily complete twa !:lours ef firearms claccreom 
retraining, range training, and ret:~ualify as prosoribec:l in 6 

Virginia Register of Regulations 

3088 



VAG 20 HG g;;g 8 aee e VAG 2G 17G BeG, if applisaele, 
<luriA§ easll 12 fflentlls ef re§istratien. Certifies sslleels 
!3Feviding firearms retmining rn~:.~st R=Jeet the reEjuimmonts of 
Part VIII ef til is sllapter. 

8. <Oasn armed re§is!Fant wl<le llas sefflplie<l witR tile initial 
firearffls trainin§ re~uirefflent sllall sefflply annually witR 
firearffls retrainin§ witllin tile 12 fflente peFie<l presesing tile 
OJ(pimtion Elate of Ric mgistration. Firearms tmining 
sernpletes Ienger tllan 12 fflentlls prier te tile expiration sate 
of hie registmtion is not valid. 

C. Firearms slassreom retminin§. 

Flan9gun alassraem retrainin§l 2 hDI:JFS 

Shot§l:lA olacsream retrainin§ 1 l=lol:lr 

Range ~ualifisatien (ne rniniffluffl lleurs re~uires). 

Total lleurs (m<slu<ling range ~ualifisatien ans slletg"n 
olaccreom training) 2 hams 

6 VAC 20-170-590. Pe•senal p•etestien spesialist 
aG!vanse<i handgun mlfaining 8 heYfS (Repealed.) 

1\. Easll arme<l personal pretestien spesialist registrant 
fflust satisfasterily semplete eight he"'" ef personal 
protestion cpeoialist aEivanoed Randg~:~n olassroom training, 
range retraining, ana re~ualify, if applisaele. Certifies 
saheols waviEiiA§ 13ersona'. pretestien qaeaialist aEivaF\aeEl 
hanEigun retraining must meet tile re~"irefflents ef l'>art VIII ef 
this shaplef, 

8. <Oash arme<l personal pretestien spesialist registrant 
whe has semplie<l w~h tile in;,tial personal pretestien 
spesialist a<lvanse<l firearms training re~"irement, shall 
semply annually with personal pretestien spesialist as•;anses 
han<lg"n retraining within tee 12 month paries presesing tile 
mcpiration Elate ef his registration. PeFSenal I=J'Feteotien 
speeialist a<lvanses llan<lgun retraining sempletes Ienger 
than 12 fflOnthS prier te the SXpiratien sate ef his registration 
is net vali<l. 

6 VAC 20-170-600. GuaFd deg handleF basis eeediense 
e•Jaluatien and retraining 2 heu•s (Repealed.) 

Eash guar<l oeg han<ller registrant shall semply annually 
with the requirement fer 13asio e9edienoe evaluation anEl 
retraining. 

6 VAC 20-170-610. lnst•Ysle• FeGerlifisalieA training. 
(Repealed.) 

A ~egulations review, legal isc~:~es, ethisal standarGs, 
reoords requireFRonts and other related te13ios 2 het:Jrs 

8. Teshni~ues ef instr"stien <lelivery 6 heurs lnslusing 
prastioal exeroices. 

Tela\ hems (m<slusing test'1ng) 8-Roors 

Article 2. 
Firearms Training Requirements. 

6 VAC 20-170-615. 
requirements. 

Entry level firearms training 

A. Firearms certification is required for all private security 
services business personnel who carry or have immediate 
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access to a firearm while on duty. Each person who carries 
or has immediate access to firearms while on duty shall 
qualify with each type and caliber of firearm to which he has 
access. 

B. Handgun training. 

1. The entry level handgun classroom training will 
emphasize but not be limited to: 

a. The proper care of the weapon; 

b. Civil liability of the use of firearms; 

c. Crimina/liability of the use of firearms; 

d. Weapons retention; 

e. Deadly force; 

f. Justifiable deadly force; 

g. Range safety; 

h. Practical firearms handling; and 

i. Principles of marksmanship. 

Total hours (excluding written examination)- 8 hours 

2. Written examination required. 

3. No minimum hours are required for range 
qualification. The purpose of the range qualification 
course is to provide practical firearms training to 
individuals desiring to become armed private security 
services business personnel. 

a. Prior to the date of range training, it will be the 
responsibility of the school director to ensure that all 
students are informed of the proper attire and 
equipment to be worn for the firing range portion of the 
training. 

b. Ammunition - 60 rounds - factory loaded semi­
wadcutter or duty ammunition may be used for 
practice or range qualification or both. 

c. Target- Silhouette (M-9, Transitional Target 2, full­
size 821, B21x or B-27) - Alternate targets may be 
utilized with prior approval by the department. 

d. With prior approval of the department, a reasonable 
modification of the firearms course may be approved 
to accommodate qualification on indoor ranges. 

e. A certified firearms instructor must be on the range 
during all phases of firearms training. There shall be 
one firearms instructor per four shooters on the line. 

f. Directional draw holsters only. 

g. Scoring. 

(1) M-9, Transitional Target 2, 821, B21x, 827 target 
- (use indicated K-value) 8, 9, 10 X rings - value 5 
points, 7 ring - value 4 points, other hits on 
silhouette - value 3 points: divide points scored by 
maximum possible score to obtain decimal and 
convert to percentage, e.g., 225 + 300 = .75 = 75%. 
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(2) Q targets - any fired round striking the bottle area 
to include its marked border - value 5 points - any 
fired round striking outside the bottle area - value 3 
points. 

h. Course: Virginia Private Security Course of Fire for 
Handguns. 

(Strong/weak hand refers to the primary hand used in 
firing the weapon. The opposite hand may be used for 
support) 

Target-- Silhouette (821, 82/X, 827), 60 rounds 

Double action, except for single action semi-automatic 
weapons. 

Minimum qualifying score - 75% 

Phase 1 -- 3 yards, point shoulder position, 18 rounds: 

Load 6 rounds and holster loaded weapon. 

On command, draw and fire 2 rounds (3 seconds) 
repeat. 

Load 6 rounds and holster loaded weapon. 

On command, draw and fire 6 rounds with strong 
hand. 

Unload, reload 6 rounds and fire 6 rounds with weak 
hand (25 seconds). 

Phase 2 -- 7 yards, point shoulder position, 24 rounds: 

Load 6 rounds and holster loaded weapon. 

On command, draw and fire 1 round (2 seconds), 
repeat. 

Load 6 rounds and holster loaded weapon. 

On command, draw and fire 2 rounds (3 seconds), 
repeat 

Load 6 rounds and holster loaded weapon. 

On command, draw and fire 6 rounds, reload 6 rounds, 
fire 6 rounds (30 seconds). 

Phase 3 -- 15 yards, 70 seconds, 18 rounds: 

Load 6 rounds and holster loaded weapon. 

On command, assume kneeling position, draw and fire 
6 rounds with strong hand. 

Assume standing positkm, unload, reload and fire 6 
rounds from weak hand barricade position. 

Unload, reload and fire 6 rounds from strong hand 
barricade position (70 seconds). 

(Kneeling position may be fired using barricade 
position.) 

C. Shotgun·training. 

1. The entry level shotgun classroom instruction will 
emphasize but not be limited to: 

a. Safe and proper use and handling of shotgun; 

b. Nomenclature; and 

c. Positions and combat loading techniques. 

Total hours- 1 hour 

2. No minimum hourS reqUired for range firing. The 
purpose of the range firing course is to provide practical 
shotgun trairiing to those individuals who carry or have 
immediate access to a shotgun in the performance of 
their duties. 

3. For certification, 12 gauge, double aught "00" 
buckshot ammunition shall be used. Five rounds. 

4. Scoring - 70% of available pellets must be within 
silhouette. 

5. Course: Virginia Private Security Course of Fire for 
Shotguns. 

No. 
Distance Position Rounds Target Time 

Combat Standing! B-27 
load & fire 15 Yds. Shoulder 3 Silhouette 20sec. 

Combat Kneeling! B-27 
load & fire 25 Yds. Shoulder 2 Silhouette 15 sec. 

6. A certified firearms instructor must be on the range 
during all phases of firearms range training. There shall 
be one certified firearms instructor per tour shooters on 
the line. 

D. Personal protection specialist advanced handgun 
training. In order to be eligible for the personal protection 
specialist advanced handgun course of fire, each personal 
protection specialist student must have completed entry level 
handgun training and qualified on the Virginia private security 
course of tire .for handgun by shooting a minimum score of 
85%. 

1. The entry level personal protection specialist 
advanced handgun classroom training will emphasize 
but not be limited to: 

a. Weapon selection and nomenclature; 

b. Safety and functioning; 

c. Fundamentals of marksmanship review; and 

d. Decision making for the personal protection 
specialist. 

Total hours (excluding written examination)- 24 hours 

2. Written examination required. 

3. No minimum hours required for range qualification. 
The purpose of this course of fire is to assess and 
improve the tactk:al, protection-related shooting skills for 
personal protection specialist candidates seeking 
certification to be armed. This course entails five 
increasingly challenging stages of advanced firearms 
exercises with a 92% score required for qualification. 

The advanced handgun course of fire is comprised of the 
following ·exercises: 
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a. Shoot/don't shoot judgment; 

b. Turn and fire drills; 

c. Failure to stop drills; 

d. Multiple target drills; and 

e. Judgmental shooting. 

4. For all range practicals (stage two through stage 
four), the student will fire at a man-size silhouette target 
with the following requirements: 

a. 4" diameter circle in head; 

b. 8" diameter circle in chest/body area; 

c. Center points of circles - 13!12 inches apart; 

d. All rounds fired must hit within these circles; and 

e. Minimum 92% qualification score = 25 rounds total 
requiring 23 hits. 

5. Scoring: 

a. 25 points (1 round is good for 1 point). 

b. 92% of shots must be "in circle" hits for a passing 
grade (2 misses allowed on total course). 

c. Shots not taken during stage five, when a "no­
shoot" situation is presented scores a point, just as an 
accurate shot in a hostile situation. 

d. 92% is 23 of 25 possible. 

6. A certified personal protection specialist firearms 
instructor must be on the range during all phases of 
personal protection specialist advanced handgun 
training. There shall be one certified personal protection 
specialist firearms instructor per four students. 

7. Virginia private security course of fire for personal 
protection specialist. 

a. Stage One: Shoot/don't shoot drill. Stage one of 
the personal protection specialist advanced handgun 
course of fire is conducted in a classroom using a 16 
mm film or video cassette tape of firearms combat 
scenarios to assess the student's decision making 
capability given job-related shoot/don't shoot incidents. 

After the interaction of the scenario, the students must 
explain all their commands and actions. 

Dry-fire response from a weapon rendered safe should 
be incorporated into the scenario interaction. 

b. Stage Two: Turn-and-fire drill. Stage two of the 
personal protection specialist advanced handgun 
course of fire is held at a firing range and consists of 
tum-and-fire drills from varying distances (straight 
draw hip holsters only}. 

All handguns are loaded with six rounds of ammunition 
and safely holstered. Shooters are positioned with 
their backs to the targets, facing the instructor up­
range. The instructor will command all shooters to 
walk at a normal pace, directly away from the target. 
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Upon the command "fire," the students must quickly 
turn while acquiring a firm grip on the weapon. Once 
facing the target and in a stable position, they must 
safely draw and fire two rounds at the designated 
target circle. After shooting, while facing the target, 
the student must reholster safely, then turn around to 
face up-range, ready to conNnue the exercise. The 
"fire" commands will be called at 3-5 yards, 5-7 yards, 
and then 8-10 yards. 

c. Stage Three: Failure to stop drill. Stage three of 
the personal protection specialist advanced handgun 
course of fire is held at a firing range and consists of 
failure to stop drills fired from the seven-yard line 
(straight draw hip holsters only}. 

All handguns are loaded with six rounds of ammunition 
and are safely holstered. Shooters are positioned with 
their backs to the targets, facing the instructor up­
range. The instructor will command all shooters to 
walk at normal pace, directly away from the target. 
Upon the command "fire," given at approximately the 
seven-yard line, each shooter must safely turn around 
while acquiring a firm grip on their weapon as 
performed in the previous drill. Once facing the target, 
the students will draw and fire two rounds at the 8-inch 
body circle, and then one immediate round to the 4-
inch head circle. The student will then safely 
reholster. The drill will be repeated three times. 

d. Stage Four: Multiple target identification drill. 
Stage four of the personal protection specialist 
advanced handgun course of fire is held at a firing 
range and consists of multiple target identification drills 
fired from varying distances (straight draw hip holsters 
only}. 

Each shooter will line up on a set of three targets. 
Only two shooters at one time can complete this 
exercise on a standard 10-12 station range. However, 
smaller ranges may allow for only 1 shooter at a time. 

Each handgun is loaded with 6 rounds of ammunition 
and safely holstered. The shooters are positioned with 
their backs to the targets, facing the instructor up­
range. The instructor will command all shooters to 
walk at a normal pace, directly away from the targets. 
Upon the command "left," "right," or "center," the 
student must again tum around safely while 
establishing a firm grip on the weapon. Then, once 
stable, the student must quickly draw and fire 2 rounds 
at the designated circle on the "called" target ("L," "R," 
"C"). Then, the shooter, while still facing the targets, 
must safely reholster, turn around to face up-range, 
and continue the exercise. Each two round pair must 
be fired within 4 seconds of the called command. 
Direction commands will be called at 3-5 yards, 5-7 
yards, and then 8-10 yards. 

e. Stage Five: Judgmental shooting. This drill 
combines the skills developed in the prior four stages. 
The shooter will be required to safely turn and fire at a 
"photograph" type target which may be either friendly 
or hostile. It requires hostile targets to be stopped 
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using deadly force. Necessity (Immediate jeopardy) is 
presumed for this exercise. This stage allows the 
instructor to evaluate the decision-making capability of 
the student as well as his shooting accuracy and 
safety. 

Shooter is placed on the 1 0-yard line facing the 
instructor with the target to his rear. The target will be 
placed at any location along the range target line and 
should not be seen by the student until he is given the 
"turn" command during the drill. Each shooter has the 
opportunity to complete this drill four times. Each 
decision is worth one point. If he shoots at a hostile 
target, a hit anywhere on that target will score the 
point. If a friendly target is presented, it is clearly a no­
shoot situation and the student should merely holster 
safely to score the point. There is a four-second time 
limit at this stage for any "shoot" situation. 

The instructor may choose to allow each shooter only 
two opportunities to complete this drill and place two 
targets downrange for each. Four points or hits are 
still necessary at this stage for the total score. If two 
targets are used, then the time limit is raised to six 
seconds, regardless of whether two hostile targets are 
used or one hostile with one friendly. This allows the 
instructor the opportunity to challenge a stronger 
shooter. 

6 VAC 20-170-616. Firearms retraining. 

A. Handgun retraining. 

1. All armed private security services business 
personnel must satisfactorily complete two hours of 
firearms classroom training and range training, and 
requa/ify as prescribed in 6 VAG 20-170-615 for handgun 
within the 12-month period immediately preceding the 
expiration date of his registration. 

2. Approved schools providing handgun retraining must 
meet the requirements of Part VIII (6 VAG 20-170-620 et 
seq.) of this chapter. 

3. Handgun classroom retraining. 

Range qualification - (no minimum hours required) 

Total hours (excluding range qualification and shotgun 
classroom training) - 2 hours 

8. Shotgun retraining. 

1. All armed private security services business 
personnel must satisfactorily complete one hour of 
classroom training and range training, and requalify with 
the shotgun as prescribed in 6 VAG 20-170-615, if 
applicable. 

2. Approved schools providing handgun retraining must 
meet the requirements of Part VIII (6 VAG 20-170-620 et 
seq.) of this chapter. 

3. Shotgun classroom retraining. 

Range qualification - (no minimum hours required) 

Total hours (excluding range qualification)- 1 hour 

C. Personal protection specialist advanced handgun 
retraining. 

1. Personal protection specialist advanced handgun 
course of fire (not including range qualification) 

a. Legal authority and decision making - 4 hours 

b. Handgun safety, marksmanship and skill 
development- 4 hours 

Total hours (excluding range qualification)- 8 hours 

Article 3. 
Guard Dog Handler Retraining. 

6 VAC 20·170-617. Guard dog handler retraining. 

Each guard dog handler registrant shall comply annually 
with the requirement for basic obedience evaluation and 
retraining (refer to Article 1 (6 VAC 20-170-470 et seq.) of th1s 
part). 

Guard dog handler basic obedience evaluation and 
retraining 

Total hours - 2 hours 

6 VAC 20-170-618 and 6 VAC 20·170-619. Reserved. 

PART VIII. 
PRIVATE SECURITY SERVICES TRAINING SCHOOLS. 

Article 1. 
School Certification. 

6 VAC 20-170-620. Initial requirements for the 
certification of a private security services training school. 

In accordance with § 9,182 of the Code of Virginia, the 
department may certify those schools which on the basis of 
curricula, instructors and facilities, provide training which 
meets the compulsory minimum training standards. Each 
person seeking to certify a private security services training 
school shall file an application, provided by the department, 
accompanied by a the applicable nonrefundable fee ei-$WQ. 
Each principal of 1he business entity applying for certification 
as a private security services training school must be listed 
on the application and is responsible for the school's 
adherence to the Code of Virginia and this chapter. Each 
person listed on the application shall complete a 
SH~~IemeAtal fingerprint processing application and submit 
his fingerprints on one completed set of two fingerprint cards 
along with a the applicable nonrefundable fee sf $41; 
~ewever, a ma3Eiml:lm of twa cots of fiRgerpriAt oarEJc may 
as8em~aRy the a~~li8atisR at As adaitieAal 8881. 
Certifications shall be issued for a period not to exceed 12 
months. All forms shall be completed in full compliance with 
the instructions provided by the department Applicants shall 
meet or exceed all of the requirements contained in this part 
prior to the issuance of a training school certification. 

6 VAC 20-170-625. 
certification. 

Temporary training school 

The department may issue a letter of temporary 
certification to a training school applicant for not more than 
120 days while awaiting the results or the state and national 
fingerprint search conducted on the principals of the business 
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entity, provided the applicant has met the conditions and 
requirements set forth in this part. 

6 VAC 20-170-630. Certification requirements; 
designation of school director; school director duties 
and responsibilities; retention and replacement of school 
director. 

A. Each person seeking to establish a certified private 
security services training school shall designate a school 
director. The school director shall be an individual, who is not 
designated as school director for any other certified private 
security services training school, and shall possess current 
certification as a private security instructor. 

B. The certified school director shall at all times comply 
with the following: 

1. Ensure that the certified training school is in full 
compliance with the Code of Virg"1nia and this chapter, 

2. Ensure that all sessions conducted meet the 
requirements for mandated training; 

3. Ensure that all instructors of the certified training 
school have been certified by the department as private 
security instructors and instruct in accordance with the 
Code of Virginia and this chapter; 

4. Ensure that all training completion rosters are filed 
with the department within seven business days of the 
training completion date; 

5. Ensure the maintenance of training, employment and 
payroll records which document compliance with the 
Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

C. 1. Each certified training school shall maintain an 
individual as school director who has met the 
requirements of this chapter and has been certified by 
the department. 

2. Each training school shall notify the department in 
writing within 1 0 calendar days of the termination of 
employment of a certified school director. 

3. Within 90 days of termination of the school's certified 
director, the school shall submit, on a form provided by 
the department, the name of a new school director who 
has met the requirements of this chapter. 

6 VAC 20-170-640. Criminal history records search. 

Upon application for certification as a private security 
services training school, each training director and principal 
of the applicant firm shall submit his fingerprints to the 
department on one completed set of two fingerprint cards oo 
IGfms provided by the department, and a-$4+ the applicable 
nonrefundable processing fee fer east. set sf fiA§erpriAt sarEls 
beyeREJ ttle allewallle twe sets pre,•iElea witt. ti1e iAitial traiAiA§ 
sstleel applisatieR. The department shall submit those 
fingerprints to the Virginia State Police for the purpose of 
conducting a Virginia Criminal History Records search and a 
National Criminal Records search to determine whether the 
individual has a record of conviction. 
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6 VAC 20-170-650. Unclassiliable fingerprint cards. 

Fingerprint cards found to be unclassifiable will be returned 
to the applicant. Action on the application will be suspended 
pending the resubmittal of classifiable fingerprint cards. The 
applicant should be so notified in writing and shall submit his 
fingerprints on new fingerprint cards and a the applicable 
nonrefundable fee ef.-.$4..1. to the department before the 
processing of his application shall resume. However, no 
such fee may be required if the rejected fingerprint cards are 
included and attached to the new fingerprint cards when 
resubmitted. 

6 VAC 20-170-730. 
reinstatement. 

School expiration, renewal, 

A. The department will mail a renewal application to the 
last known address of the certified school director. Failure of 
the certified school director to renew certification prior to the 
expiration date of the certification shall not be the 
responsibility of the department. 

B. A private security training school not renewed on or 
before the expiration date of the certification shall become 
null and void. Operating a training school without valid 
certification is a violation of the Code of Virginia and this 
chapter. 

C. All certifications granted to private security services 
training schools shall be valid for a period not to exceed -+;< 
24months. 

D. Applications for renewal must be received 30 days prior 
to expiration. School renewal applications received by the 
department after the expiration date shall be subject to all 
applicable nonrefundable renewal fees plus nonrefundable 
reinstatement fees. 

E. Applicants for renewal of training school certification 
shall have the option of renewing for either a period not to 
exceed 12 months or a period not to exceed 24 months. 

-h F. The department may renew the certification of a 
training school for a period not to exceed -+2 24 months when 
the following are reseivee by ttle deparlffieRI requirements 
are met 

a. 1. A properly completed renewal application is 
submitted to the department, ami 

&. 2. A The applicable nonrefundable renewal fee sf 
$aW, is submitted to the department; 

2-o 3. The certified school director and each certified 
instructor listed on the school renewal application must 
have satisfactorily completed all applicable instructor 
training requirement&; and 

:h 4. Each certified director, principal or certified 
instructor listed on the school renewal application shall 
be in good standing and free of disciplinary action in 
every jurisdiction where licensed or certified. 

~ G. A renewal application received by the department 
·within 180 days following the expiration date of the 
certification shall be accompanied by a the applicable 
nonrefundable renewal fee of $2§0 and the nonrefundable 
reinstatement fee <>f..$+2e. 
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2-c H. No training school shall be renewed or reinstated 
when the renewal application and fee are received by the 
department after 180 days following the expiration date of the 
approval. After that date, the applicant shall meet then 
current initial school certification requirements. 

:;., I. The date on which the application and fee are 
received by the department shall determine whether the 
applicant is eligible for renewal or reinstatement or is required 
to apply tor initial certification as a private security training 
schooL 

Article 2. 
Instructor Certification. 

6 VAC 20-170-760. Certified instructors. 

A. Instructors desiring to instruct in a certified training 
school shall submit an application for instructor certification. 
The applicant must provide documentation of previous work 
experience, instructor experience, training and education for 
those subjects in which certification is requested. The 
department will evaluate qualifications based upon the 
justification provided. In addition, all instructor applicants 
shall meet the following requirements and provide 
documentation thereof: 

1. Have a minimum of three years management or 
supervisory experience with a private security services 
business or with any federal, military police, state, county 
or municipal law~enforcement agency, or in a related 
field; or have a minimum of one year experience as an 
instructor or teacher at an accredited educational 
institution or agency in the subject matter for which 
certification is requested, or in a related field; 

2. Have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED); 

3. Successful completion of an instructor development 
program, within the three years immediately preceding 
the date of the application, that meets or exceeds 
standards established by the department; or successful 
completion of an instructor development program longer 
than three years prior to the date of application, and has 
provided instruction during the three years immediately 
preceding, or has provided instruction in a related field at 
an institution of higher learning; 

4. Submit his fingerprints on one set of two completed 
fingerprint cards oA forms provided by the department; 
and 

5. Submit a properly completed instructor application 
and a the applicable nonrefundable application fee e1 
$9+. 

B. In addition to the instructor qualification requirements 
described in subsection A of this section, each firearms 
instructor must have completed a firearms instructors school 
specifically designed for law-enforcement or private security 
personnel. Each firearms instructor candidate must provide 
documentation of ran§e Eli:Jalification with a minimum range 
qualification of 85% with each of the following: 

1. A revolver; 

2. A semi-automatic handgun; and 

3. A shotgun. 

The firearms instructor training must have been completed 
within the three years immediately preceding the date of the 
instructor application; or in the event that the school 
completion occurred prior to three years, the applicant shall 
have provided firearms instruction during the three years 
immediately preceding. 

C. In a98ition to the re"li:JireFflents of si:Jbsection A of this 
section, each can8idate fer certification as a gi:Jard Gog 
hantiler instrt~ctor, armored car personnel instri:Jctar, peFGonal 
protection specialist instri:Jctor, and electronic sec~:.~rity 

iAstrYster Shall sUbmit to the BO~artmeAt official 
Eioci:Jmentatien of Eli:Jalificatiens in each specifieS area. 

6 VAG 20-170-765. Temporary instructor certification. 

The department may issue a letter of temporary 
certification to an instructor applicant for not more than 120 
days while awaiting the results of the state and national 
fingerprint search conducted on the applicant. provided the 
applicant has met the conditions and requirements, set forth 
in this part. 

6 VAC 20-170-770. Criminal history records search. 

Upon receipt of an initial application for instructor 
certification, the department shall submit the fingerprints of 
the applicant to the Virginia State Police for the purpose of 
conducting a Virginia Criminal History Records search and a 
national criminal records search to determine whether the 
applicant has a record of conviction. Applicants submitting 
unclassifiable fingerprint cards shall be required to submit 
their fingerprints on new fingerprint cards along with a the 
applicable nonrefundable fee el-$4+. However, no such fee 
shall be required if the rejected fingerprint cards are included 
and attached to the new fingerprint cards when resubmitted. 

6 VAC 20-170-820. Renewal of iAstrustor GertiliGalioA. 
Registration/certification in*service training credit. 

A. ThO department may deny renewal of instri:Jetor 
certification for the same reason as it may ref~:.~se initial 
certification er Eliscipline an instri:Jctor. 

g.,. Instructors certified to teach mandatoTY in-service 
training classes, except firearms retraining, may receive 
credit for hours towards the in-service training requirements 
for the categories for which they are currently registered. 
Instructors receive credit 1or classes in which they provide 
instruction, upon s~:.~bmission of proper Eioc~:.~mentation anEI 
de~artmeAt approval by submitting their names on the 
training completion roster for that session. 

C. each person certified as a private seci:Jrity irwtrbiGtor 
shall oompJete the instr~:.~cter recertification reqt~irernents by 
Deseml3er 21 of tl1e thiro saleA9ar year fellewieg iAitial 
cer1ifJeation anEI every thirEI calenEiar year thereafter. All 
private seoi:Jrity irwtri:JGtors certified prior to d~:.~ne dO, 1-9-94,­
m"st sempl)' with this re~Yirement IJy DecemiJer 31, 1997. 

6 VAC 20-170-830. Certification expiration, renewal, 
reinstatement. 

A. The department will mail to the last known address of 
the instructor a renewal notification. Failure of the InstructOr 
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to renew prior to the expiration of the certification shall be the 
sole responsibility of the instructor. 

A private security services instructor certification not 
renewed on or before the expiration date shall become null 
and void. Operating as a private security services instructor 
without a valid private security services instructor certification 
is a violation of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

B. All certifications issued to private security services 
instructors shall be valid for a period not to exceed 4-2 36 
months. 

C. 1. Applications for renewal of instructor certification 
must be received by the department at least 30 days 
prior to expiration. Renewal applications received by the 
department after the expiration date shall be subject to 
all applicable nonrefundable renewal fees plus 
reinstatement fees. 

2. The department may renew the instructor certification 
for a period not to exceed 4-2 36 months from the 
expiration date of the certification when the following are 
received by the department: 

a. A properly completed renewal application; 

b. A The applicable nonrefundable renewal fee el 
$W; and 

c. Documentation that the instructor has met the 
applicable recertification training standards. 

3. Each instructor must have satisfactorily completed all 
applicable training requirements. 

4. Each instructor shall be in good standing and free of 
disciplinary action in every jurisdiction where licensed, 
registered or certified. 

5. A renewal application received by the department 
within 180 days following the expiration date of the 
certification shall be accompanied by a the applicable 
nonrefundable renewal fee eJ4W and a the applicable 
nonrefundable reinstatement fee ef $9.QQ. 

6. No instructor certification shall be renewed or 
reinstated when the application and fee are received by 
the department more than 180 days following the 
expiration date of the certification. After that date, the 
applicant shall meet all initial instructor certification 
requirements. 

7. The department may deny renewal or reinstatement 
of an instructor for the same reason as it may refuse 
initial certification or discipline a licensee. 

PART IX. 
FIRt;;:ARMS TRAI~liNG. 

6 VAC 20-170-840. Firearms training requirements. 
(Repealed.) 

A. Private seot:Jrity services b1::1siness personnel wl=lo apply 
for armed registration sl=lall be reEjl:lired to meet tho f3Fovisions 
ef 6 VAG 2Q 17Q B§Q and. if a~~lisable, 6 VliC 2Q 17Q 86Q. 

8. e:very student must qualify wit~ eas~ ty~e and saliber ef 
fimarm l=le willl=lave aoooss to wl=lile on Eh:Jt-y. 
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6 VAC 20-170-850. Handgun t•ainiR!J. (Repealed.) 

/\. Tl=lo oi§ll=lt hot:Jrs of classroom trainin§l will empl=lasi:zo 
but net be limited te: 

1. ne ~re~er sare ef t~e wea~en; 

2. Civil liability ef t~e use ef firearms; 

~- Criminal liability ef t~e use ef firearms; 

1. \-\'eapons retention; 

§. Deadly terse; 

6. Justifiable deadly feree; 

7. Range safety; 

8. Prastisal firearms ~andling; an9 

9. Prinsi~les ef marl<smans~i~; 

8. Ne minimum ~ours are required fer range qualifisatien. 
T~e ~ur~ese ef t~e range qualifisalien seurse is to ~revide 
f3raotioal firearn:~s training to individ~::~als desiring to beGome 
armed f3rivate seo1::1rity sePtises b1::1siness personnel. 

1. Prier te t~e date ef range training, it will be t~e 
res~ensibility ef IRe ss~eel direster te ensure !~at all 
stwJents are informed ef t~e ~re~er attire and equi~ment 
te be worn fer t~e firing range ~ertien of t~e training. 

2. Amm1::1nition €iQ ro1::1n8s faotory loaEiod semi 
wadsutter or duty ammunition may be used fer ~rastise 
er range qualifisatien er bet~. 

~- Target Sil~euette (M 9, Transitional Target 2, full 
size 921, 821" er 8 27) Alternate targets may be 
utilized wit~ ~rier a~~roval by t~e de~artmenl. 

4. '1'/ith prior approval of tl=le department, a reasonable 
medifisatien ef t~e firearms seurse may be a~~reved te 
aooemmadate Ejl:lalifisatien en indoor ranges. 

§. A oertifie9 firearms instr1::1stor FAI::ISt be on tho range 
during all ~~ases ef firearms training. T~ere s~all se one 
firearms instrt:Joter per fel:lr shooters en tl=le line. 

6. Direstienal draw ~elsters only. 

7. Ssering: 

a. M 9, Transitional Target 2, B21, B21x, B27 target 
(use in9isated K value) 8, 9, 1 Q X rings value § 

~eints, 7 ring value 4 ~eints, et~er ~its en sil~euette 
vah,JO a 13oints: divide points sooreEJ by n:~a~cin:~~::~n:~ 

possible score to obtain desiR=Jal and convert to 
~ersentage, e.g., 22§ : ~QQ .79 7s"C 

b. Q targets any fired roun9 stril<iR§ t~e bottle area 
te inslu<le its marl<ed border value 9 ~eints any fired 
re• lAd stril<ing outside t~e bettie area value ~ ~eints. 

8. Cot:Jrse: Virginia Private Ses~::~rity Cottrse af ~ire for 
f4andguns. 

Target Sil~euette (821, 821 X, B27) 6Q reun<ls 

Do~::~ble astian, m(Qept for single astian semi attteR=Jatis 
weapons. 
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Mini"'""' ~"alifying seam 78% 

Pease 1 a yarEis, ~eiR1 SRB"IEier ~esitieR, 18 reiiRSS: 

LeaEI a re"nEis aRe Reister leaeeEI wea~eR. 
! 

OR GSFRFRBREI, Eiraw a~EI fire 2 FSIIREIS (a seseRSS) 

F9f'S'l"h 
LeaEI a F811AElS aREI helster leaEieEI wea~eR. 

OR 69ffiFRBREI, Elraw BREI fire e reiiREIS witR streRg 
hafl4 

Unlea<l, releaEI e reiiREIS BREI fire e reiiREIS WitR weal< 
eanEI (2§ sesends). 

Pl<ase 2 7 yarEis, ~eint si'le11IE1er ~esitieR, 24 re11REis: 

leaEI e re11nEis anEI eelster leaEieEI wea~en. 

On seFRffiaREI, Elraw anEI fire 1 re11nEI (2 sesenEis), 

F9f'S'l"h 
Leas ll FSIIREis aml eelster leaEieEI wea~en. 

On GSFRFRBREI, Elraw aREI fire 2 reiiREIS (3 sesenEis), 

F9f'S'l"h 
LeaEI e reiiREIS BREI Reister leaEieEI wea~eR. 

OR GeFRmanEI, Elrav.• BAS fire e reiiRSS, releaEI e reiiRSS, 
fire e re11nEis (30 sesenEis). 

Phase a Hi yarEis, 70 sesaRSS, 18 reiiRSS: 

lease reiiRSS ana Reister leases wea~eR. 

On eemFRanEI, ass~:~me lmoolin§ pesitien, draw anEI fire 
e re"nss witR SIFSRg RBRS. 

Ass~:~ffie stancJing pesitien, ~:~nlea8, releaEi anEI fiFB €1 
re1:1nEis fFem weal< AaREI barrieaEJe f38Sitien. 

UnleaEI, releas ana fire e re11n8s frem stmng eans 
barrisaee ~esitien (70 seseR8s). 

(Kneeling ~esitieR may Be fires IISiRg sarrisaee 
~esitien.) 

6 VAC 20-170-860. Shetgun !FaiRing. (Repealed.) 

A. TAo ene hel.lr of elassreem instrt~stien will eFRpRasize 
Silt Ret Be liffiitea te: 

1. Sale ana ~re~er """ a"<J eanEIIing ef shel§lffii 

2. NeffienslatYre; anEI 

a. PesitieRS BREI 68FR8at leading teSRRi~lleS. 

B. ~Je rniniFRl:lFR l=le~:~rs re~t~ireEI fer raR§O firin§. TAo 
~11rpese ef toe range firing se11rse is te ~revise ~rastisal 
shet§IIA training te these inEiiviE111als whe sarry er have 
iFRmeEiiate assess te a shetgiiR in the ~erfermanse ef teeir 
fMie& 

C. Fer sertifisatien, 12 ga11ge, Eie118le a11ght "00" 811sl<shet 
amrr'"RitieR shall Be IlSee. Five reiiRSS. 

D. SseriRg 70% ef availasle ~ellets FRIIS! se witein 
silheue!la. 

e. Gel:lrse: ViFEJinia Private SOGI:lFity Cel:lFSO of !=ire for 

~>«>, 

Oistanse Pesili<>R RooOOs +aF§€1 +ffile 

Geml3a! StanEiin§l ll-2+ 
leaEI & fire +a-¥9& Si:lel:::liEier 3 Sill:lel.let:te -Geml3a! Kneelin§f ll-2+ 
leaEI & fire 2§..¥<:1& SAe~:~IEier 2 SiiAe~:~ette -F. A ser:tifieEi fimarms iAstr~;~otor ffii;JSt 13e oR tho raRge 
e11ring all ~eases el firearms ran§e trainiRg. There shall 13e 
ene sertifieEI firearFRs instr11ster ~er fe11r sheeters ee the liRe. 

6 VAC 20-170-870. Firearms retraining. (Repealed.) 

A. All armeEi flFivate seo~;~rity cervises 13Hsiness porseAnel 
m11st satisfasterily sem~leta twa he11rs ef firearms slassreem 
training, raR§e trainin§, ana req"alify as ~ressrisee in 6 VAG 
20 170 860 !l fer haRSgiiR, ana ens RS"r ef elassreem 
training, range trainin§, ana req11alify with tee soet§IIR as 
~ressrisee in e VAG 20 170 860, if a~~lisasle, within the 12 
mente ~eriae immesiately pmse<lieg the e><piratieR <late ef his 
re§listratieA. 

!l. A~~mves seheels prevising fimarms retraining m"st 
meet the reqYirements ef Part VIII ef this sea~ter. 

6 VAC 20-170-880. Personal l'•elesliGR Sl'eeialisl 
a<l,•anGed handgun training. (Repealed.) 

A. The ~arsenal ~retestien s~esialist aavansea handg11n 
training will em~hasize 8111 nat se limites te: 

1. 'A'eafleA soleotien anEi AOFAenslatme; 

2. Safety ana fynelieRiRg; 

a. I=~;~REian=~eAtals sf n=~arlmmaAship mview; anEi 

4. Deeisien mal<ing fer the ~ersenal ~reteetien 
speoialist. 

B. No n=~iAiffii;Jffi Re1:1rS ret:~l:liFOEi fer raAgo Eji;Jallfioatien. Tho 
~~~r~ese ef this se11rse ef fim is te assess ana im~mve tee 
taetisal, ~reteetian relates seeetiR§ sl<ills fer ~arsenal 
~retestien s~esialist eanEiiaates seel<ieg sertifieatien te se 
arFReS. This ee11rse entails five inereasingly seallenging 
sta§les of aEivaAoeEi firearffis O)WFsisos with a 92% soere 
req11ire8 far q11alifisatien. 

1. In ereer te se eligisle fer the ~ersaeal ~retestien 

s~eeialist aevaneee eanEig"n se"rse ef fire, ease 
~ersanal ~mtestian s~esialist st11Eient m"st q"alify an tee 
Virginia j3FiVate SOGI:IFity GGI;JFSO Of fire fer hanEig1:1n 13y 
sheetiA§I a minimw:n ssere of 89%. 

2. The aevaneee han<lg11n ee11rse ef fire is samwisee ef 
the fellewiA§I mcereises: 

a. Sheet/<len't seeet j11<lgment 

9. TIIFR an<l fire arills 

6. F'ail11re Ia sta~ <lrills 

9. M11lti~le target erills 

e. Jy8gFRental sheeting 
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3. l"er ell range ~rastisals (618§8 twa lhre~gh sta§S 
fe~r), the st~aen!-wiii-IH"e a! a man si•a silt.a~ette target 
with thelellawin§ ~ 

&.-4"-<liametsr sirsle in Rea<~ 

l:l. 8" eiameter sirsle in ahest<aeay area 

s. Genter points of airales ta 1/2 inaAes apart 

e. All re~nas fires m~st Ait witAin these airales 

e. Minimum 92% ~~a~n saara a 26 reunds tetal 
re~~lrlng 23 hits 

4. Saerinw. 

~te-f+ ro~nEI is geed for 1 point) 

il. 92% ef shets must se "in eirale" hits far a passing 
graae (2 misses allowed on lata! ~ 

a. Shels net lal<en d~ring stage five, when a "ne 
sheet" situatien is presentee saeres a paint, j~st as an 
ass~ rate shet in a hestile situation. 

a. 92% is 23 of 26 possil:llo 

e. A sertifiee persenal proteatien spesialist firearms 
instruster must so on tt.e range €luring all phases ef 
porsenal pretootion spesialist ad•,•ansea AanEigun 
training. There seal! ee ens certified ~arsenal ~reteotien 
s~esialist firearms instr~oler ~er leur stuaen!s. 

e. Virginia private soouri!y oeuree ef lire fer persenal 
~reteotien s~eoialist, 

a. Stage One: SoaaVaen't soeet Elrill Sta§e ene af tAo 
persenal ~retestien spesialist a€ivanseEI hand§un 
oaurse ef fire is sanauoted in a olassreem ~sing a 1 S 
mm film er viaee sassette tape ef firearms seml:lat 
ssenaries te assess toe stuaent's Eleoisien mal<ing 
sapaeility given jee related shoeVEion't sooot inoiEients. 

Aftef..lho interaotien of tAe soenarie, tAo stuEients must 
o><plain all teeir oemmanas an€1 astiens. 

Dry lire respenso fmm a weapon renEiereEI safe sAe~l€1 
So inser~=JerateEi inte tl=le ssonarie intOFastion. 

e. Stage Twe: Tum and lire erill 

Stage two of the personal ~rotootion sposialist 
aEivanoeEI eanEig"n seurso of lire is AeiEI at a firing 
range and sonsists of tldFR aAE:I fire Elrills froR=t vaF'Jing 
Elistansos (straight Elraw hip Aolsters only). 

AI! handguns are leaded with she reunEis of affiFRtmitien 
and safely eelstereEI. Seooters are positioned wite 
their sasl<s to toe targets, lasing the instruster ~~ 
range. TAo instruater will sommand all seoeters to 
wall< at a normal pass, Elirestly away frenn teo target. 
Upen the sernman€! "fire," tAo stt~dents mt~st ~ldisl~ly 

tum while as~"iring a firnn gri~ on teo weapon. Once 
lasing tee target and in a staele pesitien, teey nnust 
safely araw anEI fire two reunEls at tAe eesignateEI 
target sirsle. /\Iter soooting, weile lasing tee target, 
tee st"aont """"t roeelster safely, teen turn are""" te 
face t!p mngo, ready to sentinue tho oxersico. TAo 
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!'.lire!!..W'mmands will ae sellae at 3 a yards, e 7 yaf<i&; 
anti-IR&n 8 1 G yaras. 

e. Stage Terse: Failwre teste~ EH4II 

S!a§e 111ree sf the ~ersenal ~rateetien s~eaiali5t 
advaneea t.an€i~un se~rse al lire Is held at a firing 
range ana eensists ef fail~re te ate~ erills fires lrem 
#\a-seven yare line (straight Elraw ei~ helsters only). 

1\11 Randguns are leased witR sl" rounds ef ammunitien 
an<J-are safely helsteree. Sheelers are ~esitiened with 
tl'lelr basl<s to IRe targets, lasing 111e instrwster u~ 
range. The instr"oter will oemnnana ail sloleeters te 
wall< at nermal ~ase, aireotly away frem the target 
\J~en the oeR'lnnana "tire," given al ·~~rel<imately !he 
seven yare line, eaoA seeeter must safely turn areunel 
wAils ae~uiring a firm gri~ en tt.eir wea~en as 
perfernnee in IRe ~revieus arill. Onae facing tee target, 
teo stwaents will draw and fire twe reunas at the 8 inch 
beay sirole, ana tAen one innmeaiate rownEl to the 4 
inch heaEI sirsle. Tile stwEienl will tAen safely 
rehelster. The erill will be repeated teres times. 

d. Stage P:eu.: Multiple target i€ientifieatien arill 

Stage leur ef the ~arsenal ~reteotion s~eolalist 
advanse<l AanaguR se~rse el fire is eeiEI at a firiRg 
range aRe sensists ef multiple target idoRtifioatieR 
drills fired freR'l varying Elistanaes (straiget <lraw Ri~ 
t.elstare enly). 

eaoi1 soeoter will line ~P en a set af te·ee targets. 
Only two sheeters at oRe time san oemplete IAis 
e•ersise en a stanEiara 10 12 station range. 19ewever, 
smaller raRges may allew fer enly 1 soeetor at a time. 

e;aeo handg~n is loadeEI with fl reunes ef amnn"nitien 
ana safely holstered. Tee seeeters are positienea witfl 
lheif-I:Jaoks te the targets, facing the instr"oter up 
range. TAe instruster will semnnand all shooters to 
wall< at a nermal pass, directly away frem the targets. 
Uf)en tAo oemmanG "left," "Fi§lRt," er "oenter," tAo 
student must again turn areYna safely WAils 
es!abliseing a firm grip en tAe weapen. Then, once 
stasis, the student must quisl<ly draw and lire 2 re~nds 
at tho dosiEJnateEt sirsle an tRe "salleeJ" tar§Jet ("L," "R.," 
"C"). TheA, lAs sAooter, wlo\ile still facing tee targets, 
nnust safely reeelster, turn areuRa te lase up range, 
and oontinl:le tAo mmrsise. Easl:l two ro~:~nEI 13air m~;~st 
eo fires witein 4 sesenas ef tee sallea sommana. 
Oirostien sommanEis will se sailed at a e yards, e 7 
yar<Js, anEiteen 8 1 0 yaras. 

e. Stage ~ive: Judgmental seeeting 

This Elrill aenneinos tee sl<ills Eleveloped in tee prier 
fe"r stages. TAe sheeter will lle re~"ired to safely I"'" 
anEJ fire at a "peetogrape" ty~e target weisA may be 
either frienaly or eestile. It requires eestile targets te 
be sto~peEl using eeaely farce. Nesessity (innnnediate 
jeepar<ly) is pres"nneEJ fer this eJ<ersise. Teis stage 
allows tAo instfl:wtor to evall:Jate tAe desision R=~aking 
sapabilily ef tee studeRt as well as eis sRooliR§ 
aeoYrasy ana safety. 
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Sheeler is plasee OR IRe 1 e yare line !asiA§ IRe 
iRstruoter with the tar§OI to Ris rear. The tar§et will 8e 
placed at aRy leoatieR aloR§ the raR§e tar§et liRe aRe 
sheule Ret 8e seeR loy the studeet uetil he is §iVeR the 
"tum" GoffiffiaRd au riA§ the drill. Each seeeter has the 
epperluRity te oeffiplete this rJrill leur tiffies. Eash 
desisieR is worth ORe peiAt. If he sReets at a hostile 
tar§et, a hit aAywhere oR that tar§el will ssere the 
peiAt. II a lrieAely tar§et is preseAted, it is slearly a Ae 
sheet situatieR aRe the stueeet sheule ffierely holster 
safely ts score tAo point. Thme is a fe1:1r sesond time 
liffiit at this sta§e fer aAy "sReet" situatieA. 

The iAstruster ffiay sheese te allow eash shooter eAiy 
twe eppertuRities to semplete IRiS drill aee place two 
tar§ets dewAraR§e fer ease. Four points er hits are 
still eesessary at IRis stage fer the total soere. II two 
tmgets are I:JseEJ, tReR tAo time liffiit is miseEJ to six 
seseAes, reganJiess of whether two Restile targets are 
usee er eee eestile with eee frienaly. This allows the 
instruster the eppertueity te shallenge a stronger 
shooter. 

6 VAC 20-170-890. Personal pFetestien speoialist 
aEivanseEI haAEigun Fetrainin§. (Repealed.} 

1. legal authority aee eesisiee ffial<iAg 4 hours 

2. F!aeegue safety, ffiarl<sffiaAsRip ana sl<ill 
eevelepffiSA\ 4 hours 

PersonaiJ3rotestion spesialist advansetl handgtJn sol:lrse 
el fire total eeurs (Ret ieslueiAg raege ~ualifioatieA) 8 
A<wrs 

PART X. 
CERTIFIED PRIVATE SECURITY SERVICES TRAINING 

SCHOOLS ATTENDANCE AND ADMINISTRATIVE 
REQUIREMENTS. 

6 VAC 20-170-930. Examination and testing. 

A. A written examination shall be administered at the 
conclusion of each entry level training session. Each 
examination shall include tAree two questions based on each 
learning objective for the compulsory minimum training 
session. The student must attain a minimum grade of 70% to 
satisfactorily complete the training session. 

B. Firearms classroom training shall be separately tested 
and graded. Individuals must achieve a minimum score of 
70% on the firearms classroom training examination. 

C. Failure to achieve a minimum score of 70% on the 
firearms classroom written examination will exclude the 
individual from the firearms range training. 

D. To successfully complete the firearms range training, 
the individual must achieve a minimum qualification score of 
75% of the scoring value of the target. 

E. To successfully complete the private investigator entry 
level training Session, the individual must 

1. Complete each of the three graded practical 
exercises required; and 

2. Pass the written examination with a minimum score of 
70%. 

F. To successfully complete the personal protection 
specialist entry level training session, the individual must 

1. Complete each of the five graded practical exercises 
required under Protective Detail Operations (the practical 
exercises in total must be passed with a minimum 70% 
score and must be successfully completed prior to the 
written examination); and 

2. Pass the written examination with a minimum score of 
70%. 

6 VAC 20-170-940. Training completion forms. 

On forms provided by the department, each training 
director shall issue an original training completion form to 
each student who satisfactorily completes a training session, 
no later than seven business days following the training 
completion date. A sepy shall 8e retaiRed sA file with ttle 
sertifieE! trainin§J ssl=leel fer a minimum ef throe years. 

6 VAC 20-170-950. Training completion roster. 

The school director shall submit to the department a 
private security training roster affirming each student's 
successful completion of the session. The training 
completion roster and the applicable nonrefundable lee shall 
be received by the department within seven business days of 
the completion date of aA approved the training session. 
One copy shall be retained on file with the approved certified 
training school for a minimum of three years. +He 
nenrofunE!able fee fer presessin§J a trainin§J sempletion roster 
is $1 Q per rester. The training completion roster for each 
session must be accompanied by the applicable 
nonrefundable processing fee. 

6 VAC 20-170-960. Sanctions. 

The private security services tfa.fA.iR§ school director, 
training school and instructor shall be subject to disciplinary 
action for violation or noncompliance with the Code of 
Virginia and this chapter. Failure to file the forms and reports 
required by the Code of Virginia and this chapter shall be a 
basis for imposition of sanctions. 

PART XI. 
STANDARDS OF PRACTICE AND PROHIBITED ACTS. 

6 VAG 20-170-1000. Prohibited acts. 

It shall be unlawful for a person to engage in any of the 
following acts. Each of the acts listed below is cause for 
disciplinary action: 

1. Violating or aiding and abetting others in violating the 
provisions of Article 2.1 (§ 9-183.1 et seq.) of Chapter 27 
of Title 9 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. 

2. Having committed any act or omission which resulted 
in a private security license or registration being 
suspended, revoked, not renewed or being otherwise 
disciplined in any jurisdiction. 

3. Having been convicted or found guilty, regardless of 
adjudication in any jurisdiction of the United States, of 
any felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, 
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sexual offense, drug offense, physical injury, or property 
damage, frorn which no appeal is pending, the time for 
appeal having elapsed. Any plea of nolo contendere 
shall be considered a conviction for the purpose of this 
chapter. The record of conviction certified or 
authenticated in such form as to be admissible in 
evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where 
convicted shall be prima facie evidence of such guilt. 

4. Failing to inform the department in writing within 30 
days of pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being 
convicted or found guilty of any felony or of a 
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, 
drug offense, physical injury or property damage. 

5. Obtaining a license, license renewal, registration, 
registration renewal, ~ certification, ~ 
certification renewal, or certification to act as compliance 
agent for a licensee, a training school, school director, or 
·Instructor, through any fraud or misrepresentation. 

6. Failing or refusing to produce to the department, 
during regular business hours, for inspection or copying 
any document or record in the compliance agent's or the 
licensed firm's possession which is pertinent to the 
records required to be kept by the Code of Virginia or by 
this chapter. 

7. Engaging in conduct which through word, deed, or 
appearance falsely suggests that a private security 
registrant or employee is a law·enforcement officer or 
other government official. 

8. Failing to inform the department in writing within 30 
days after having been found guilty by any court or 
administrative body of competent jurisdiction to have 
violated the private security services business statutes or 
regulations of that jurisdiction, there being no appeal 
therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. 

9. Conducting a private security services business or 
acting as a registrant or compliance agent in such a 
manner as to endanger the public health, safety and 
welfare. 

10. Engaging in unethical, fraudulent or dishonest 
conduct. 

t1. Falsifying, or aiding and abett'lng others in falsifying, 
training records for the purpose of obtaining a license, 
registration, certification, or certification as a compiiance 
agent, training school, school director or instructor. 

12. Representing as one's own a license issued to 
another private security services business or a 
registration issued to another individual, or representing 
oneself as a certified compliance agent of a licensee, 
training school, school director or instructor. 

13. Employing individuals who do not possess a valid 
registration issued by the department showing the 
registration categories required to perform one's duties. 
Individuals requiring registration as alarm respondent, 
central station dispatcher, electronic security sales 
representative or electronic security technician may be 
employed for not more than 90 days while completing 
the compulsory minimum training standards, provided 
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the individual has submitted his fingerprints on forms 
provided by the department. An application for 
registration must be received by the department within 
10 calendar days of the completion of the required 
training. 

14. Utilizing a person as an arined security officer who 
has not successfully completed the compulsory minimum 
standards for armed security officers or who does not 
have a valid firearms certification. 

15. Performing any unlawful or negligent act resulting in 
loss, injury or death to any person. 

16. If wearing while on duty the law-enforcement style or 
military style uniform of a private security licensee: 

a. Which does not have at least one insignia dearly 
identifying the name of the licensed firm employing !he 
individual and, except armored car personnel, a name 
plate or tape bearing, as a minimum, the individual's 
last name and first and middle initials attached on the 
outermost garment, except rainwear worn only to 
protect from inclement weather; and 

b. Having a patch or other writing containing the word 
"police" or any other words suggesting a law­
enforcement officer, or "officer," unless used in 
conjunction with the word "security"; or resembllng any 
uniform patch or ir1signia of any duly constituted law-" 
enforcement agency of this Commonwealth, its 
political subdivisions or of the federal government 
This restriction shall .not apply to individuals who are 
also duly sworn special police officers, to the extent 
that they may display words which accurately 
represent that distinction. 

17. Utilizing a vehicle for a private security services 
business which uses or displays a flashing light not 
specifically authorized by the Code of Virginia. 

tB. Using or displaying the state seal of Virginia as a 
part of any licensed firm's logo, stationery, business 
card, badge, patch, insignia or other form of identification 
or advertisement. 

19. Displaying of the uniform, badge or other insignia by 
employees of licensed firms while not on duty. 

20. D"FiR~ t~e semse ef any ~Fivate investigalis!+, 
Providing information obtained by any licensed firm and 
its employees to any person other than the client who 
em!'lleyed secured the services of the licensee ts----GB-I:a-i-n 
tRat inferFRatien, without the client's prior written consent. 
Provision of information in response to official requests 
from law~enforcement agencies, or from the department, 
shall not constitute a violation of this chapter. Provision 
of information to law-enforcement agencies pertinent to 
criminal activity or to planned criminal activity shall not 
constitute a violation of this chapter. 

21. The failure of a licensee's approved compliance 
agent to at all times comply with the following: 

a. Ensure that the licensed firm is at all times in full 
compliance with the Code of Virginia and this chapter; 
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b. Ensure that the documentary evidence concerning 
unarmed security officers required by§ 9-183.3 D of 
the Code of Virginia is maintained; 

c. Ensure that the documentary evidence concerning 
electronic security technician's assistant required by § 
~ 9-183.3 E of the Code of Virginia is 
maintained. 

d. Ensure that the licensed firm does not utilize or 
otherwise employ any person as an unarmed security 
officer or electronic security technician's assistant in 
excess of 90 days prior to the completion of the 
compulsory minimum training standards for unarmed 
security officer or electronic security technician's 
assistant; and 

e. Maintain VSP Forms 167, training, employment and 
payroll records which document the licensed firm's 
compliance with the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

f. Ensure that the licensed firm does not utilize or 
othe!Wise employ any person as an unarmed security 
officer for which the VSP Form-167 reveals a felony or 
misdemeanor conviction involving moral turpitude, 
sexual offense, drug offense, physical injury or 
property damage without written approval from the 
department. 

g. Ensure that the licensed firm does not utilize or 
otherwise employ any person as an unarmed security 
officer in excess of 150 days without the individual 
being issued a cerlification as an unarmed security 
officer from the department. 

22. Failure of the certified school director or certified 
instructor to comply with the following: 

a. Conduct training in compliance with the compulsory 
minimum training standards; 

b. Utilize only certified training instructors; 

c. Provide only accurate and current instruction and 
information to students; 

d. Maintain and file with the department all records 
required by the Code of Virginia and this chapter; 

e. Ensure that the certified training school is in 
compliance with the Code of Virginia and this chapter; 
or 

L Submit training completion rosters and fees to the 
department within seven business days of the 
completion of training. 

23. Soliciting private security services business through 
advertising, business cards, bidding on contracts, or 
other means without having first obtained a private 
security services business license. 

24. Failing to carry the private security photo 
identification card at all times while on duty. 

25. Failure of an individual to present his private security 
registration photo identification card while on duty in 
response to the request of a law-enforcement officer, 

department personnel or client This shall not apply to 
armored car personnel or personal protection specialists. 

EDITOR'S NOTICE: The forms used in administering the 
Regulations Relating to Private Security Services (6 VAG 20-
170-10 et seq.) are listed below. Added, amended, or 
deleted forms are reflected on the listing. The forms are 
available for review at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia, and at the Department of Criminal 
Justice Services, 805 E. Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia. 

Initial Usense Application Private Security Services Initial 
Business (PSS Bb 7 1 03) License Application (PSS LA 1.96) 

S"pplornental Private Ses"rity Serlioes 8"siness Usense 
1\pplisation 

Ceflifisate of lns"ranso (PSS !lb 7 293) 

Private Ses"fity Servises Sene (PSS !lb 7 393) 

Irrevocable Consent for Service (PSS 7-493) 

Fingerprint Processing Application (PSS I"P 7 04) (PSS FP 
1.96) 

Application for Compliance Agent Training and Certification 
(PSS CA 7 94) (PSS CA 1.96) 

Private Security Setvices Business License Renewal 
Application (PSS bR 7 04) (PSS LR 1.96) 

Application for Initial Private Security Registration (PSS RA 7 
94) (PSS RA 1.96) 

Renewal Application for Private Security Registration tpgS 
RR 7 04) (PSS RR 1.96) 

Unarrnec:J Ses"rit)' Offiser Trainin§ Ceflifisation 1\pplisation 
(PSS UA 7 04) 

Application for Partial Exemption from the Compulsory 
Minimum Training Standards for Private Security Services 
Business Personnel (PSS WA 7 94) (PSS WA 1.96) 

Private Security Training Completion Roster (PSS TCR) (PSS 
SA 1.96) 

Private Security Instructor Certification Application (PSS IS 7 
94) (PSS /A 1.96) 

Private Security Instructor Certification Renewal Application 
(PSS IR 7 04) (PSS IR 1.96) 

Complaint Ferrn Private Security Services (PSS C 0793) 
Complaint Form (PSS C 1.96) 

Applisation for Duplicate/Replacement Photo Identification 
(PSS ICR S 703) Application (PSS 2MP 1.96) 

Private Security General Instructor School Application f1>SS 
Gl 7 94) (PSS G/ 1.96) 

Compliance Agent In-Service Training Enrollment (PSS CT) 
(PSS CT 1.96) 

Training Completion Form (PSS TCF 7 94) (PSS TCF 1.96) 

Private Security Services Certification Application (PSS UA 
1.96) 
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Private Security Services Certification Renewal Application 
(PSS UR 1.96) 

Application for Additional Registration Category (PSS IMP 
1.96) 

Notification of Private Security Services Training Session 
(PSS TN 1. 96) 

Private Security Services Training School Certification 
Application (PSS TA 1.96) 

Private Security Services Training School Certification 
Renewal Application (PSS TR 1.96) 

General Instructor Re-Certification Training Enrollment (PSS 
Gl2 1.96) 

Private Security Personal Protection Specialist Advanced 
Firearms Instructor School Application (PSS Fl3 1.96) 

Private Security Firearms Instructor School Application (PSS 
Fl 1.96) 

Firearms Instructor Re-Certification Training Enrollment (PSS 
Fl2 1.96) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R96-482; Filed July 16, 1996, 2:19p.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

REPROPOSED 

EDITOR'S NOTICE: The Department of Medical Assistance 
Services has proposed additional changes to the following 
regulations from the amendments published in 12:12 VA.R. 
1629-1638 March 4, 1996. Differences between the 
proposed and reproposed regulations are shown in brackets. 
The initial public comment period ended May 4, 1996; 
however, the agency is soliciting comments on the 
reproposed regulations for an additional 30-day period 
beginning August 5, 1996, and ending September 4, 1996. 

Title of Regulations: State Plan for Medical Assistance 
Relating to Reductions in Covered Inpatient Hospital and 
Physician Services; Home Tomorrow Program; and 
Maternity Length of Stay and Early Discharge. 

12 VAC 30-50-10 et seq. Part Ill, Amount, Duration and 
Scope of Services (amending 12 VAC 30-50-100, 12 VAC 
30-50-140, and 12 VAG 30-50-2211). 

12 VAC 30-70-10 et seq. Methods and Standards for 
Establishing Payment Rates--Inpatient Hospital Care 
(amending 12 VAC 30-70-50). 

12 VAC 30-80-10 et seq. Methods and Standards for 
Establishing Payment Rates--Other Types of Care 
(adding 12 VAG 30-80-115). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date: N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until September 4. 1996. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information} 
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Basis and Authority: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia 
grants to the Board of Medical Assistance Services the 
authority to administer and amend the Plan for Medical 
Assistance. Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia 
authorizes the Director of the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services (DMAS) to administer and amend the 
Plan for Medical Assistance according to the board's 
requirements. The director approved, on July 16, 1996, the 
initiation of a public comment period for the revised proposed 
regulations. The Code of Virginia, in § 9-6.14:7.1 et seq., 
requires agencies to adopt and amend regulations subject to 
public notice and comment when the action being taken does 
not meet one of the statutory exemptions. 

Subsequent to two separate emergency adoption actions, the 
agency initiated the public notice and comment process as 
contained in Article 2 for the APA. These related regulations 
are being promulgated as one regulatory change through the 
Article 2 process. The Code of Virginia, at § 9-6.14:4.1 C, 
requires the agency to publish the Notice of Intended 
Regulatory Action within 60 days of the effective date of the 
emergency regulation if it intends to promulgate a permanent 
replacement regulation. The Notice of Intended Regulatory 
Action for this regulatory change was published in the Virginia 
Register on October 30, 1995. 

The Governor's 1995 amendments to the 1994-96 
Appropriations Act included cost savings for Fiscal Year 1996 
that must be achieved from a reduction in the average length 
of stay for inpatient hospital services and a shorter stay for 
obstetrical services for patients with uncomplicated vaginal 
deliveries. These budget amendments are identified as 
Numbers 710 and 712 respectively in the Department of 
Planning and Budget's budget system. 

Chapter 201 of the 1996 Virginia Acts of Assembly requires 
the Medicaid State Plan to provide for inpatient lengths of 
stay for pregnant women in accordance with the "Guidelines 
for Perinatal Care" as developed by the American Academy 
of Pediatrics and the American College of Obstetricians and 
Gynecologists. The language also requires payment for a 
follow-up visit as recommended by the attending physician 
within the time limits and in accordance with the guidelines. 

Purpose: The purpose of this proposal is to make permanent 
policies to reduce the lengths of inpatient hospital stays when 
medically appropriate in compliance with amendments to the 
budget, and to revise the maternity length of stay and follow­
up visit policies to comply with new legislation. 

Summary and Analysis: The sections of the State Plan 
affected by this action are Supplement 1 to Attachments 
3.1A&B: Amount, Duration and Scope of Services (12 VAC 
30-50-100: Inpatient Hospital Services; 12 VAC 30-50-140: 
Physician's Services; and 12 V AC 30-50-220: Other 
diagnostic, screening, preventive, and rehabilitative services, 
other than those provided elsewhere in this plan): Attachment 
4.19A: Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment 
Rates (12 VAC 30-70-50: Hospital Reimbursement System); 
and Attachment 4.19 B: Methods and Standards for 
Establishing Payment Rate (12 VAC 30-80-115: Fee-for­
service: Early Discharge Follow-up Visit for Mothers and 
Newborns). 
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DMAS completed an analysis of inpatient hospital claims 
which showed that the length of stay for inpatient services 
among Medicaid patients in Virginia, by admission diagnosis 
and procedure pertormed, is higher than the lengths of stay 
among patients covered by private insurance. By reducing 
the average Medicaid length of stay in inpatient hospitals to 
levels similar to that of patients with private insurance, DMAS 
estimated that the Commonwealth could generate significant 
cost savings in Medicaid expenditures. Based on this 
analysis, the Governor included in his 1995 amendments to 
the i 994-96 Appropriations Act two amendments reducing 
the Medicaid budget by decreasing the average length of stay 
for inpatient hospital services from six days to five days and 
by decreasing the length of stay for obstetric services to one 
day. 

DMAS has adopted a four-part approach to adjust Medicaid 
policies to more accurately reflect current medical practice. 
The four parts address the documentation of medical 
necessity for hospital admissions exceeding three days, for 
preoperative stays, for weekend admissions based on the 
redeflnitlon of a weekend, and for obstetrical services. All of 
these changes aflect the State Plan for Medical Assistance 
and are required to achieve the cost savings in FY 1996 as 
required by the Governor's budget amendments. The 
advantage ol these changes is that they enhance the 
economical performance of Virginia's Medicaid Program by 
preventing reimbursement for services that are not medically 
necessary. 

Currently under the State Plan, DMAS requires hospitals to 
submit documentation of medical necessity for claims for 
inpatient hospital services on all admissions that exceed 
seven days. The purpose of this requirement is to ensure 
that the Virginia Medicaid Program is only reimbursing for 
services that are truly medically necessary. In order to 
decrease Medicaid's average length of stay, DMAS is 
reducing the current standard for submission of 
documentation of medical necessity from "admissions that 
exceed seven days" to "admissions that exceed three days." 
Claims requiring this additional justification will continue to be 
reviewed by DMAS utilization review analysts to determine 
the medical necessity of the length of stay. Days that are 
determined medically unnecessary by the utilization review 
analyst are denied payment. The change in the medical 
necessity documentation standard will require that hospital 
providers of inpatient services submit medical justification for 
all inpatient hospital admissions that exceed three days. This 
change is consistent with insurance practices under 
indemnity and managed care plans. 

A second change to the State Plan needed to achieve the 
reduction in the average length of stay addresses medical 
justification for preoperative stays. DMAS currently allows 
payment for a one day stay prior to surgery without 

-submission of documentation of medical necessity. Only 
stays beyond one day prior to surgery require medical 
justification to be considered for payment. Since this policy 
was promulgated in the early 1980's, medical practice has 
changed so that preoperative stays are almost nonexistent. 
The majority of preoperative procedures are now conducted 
on an outpatient basis. Therefore, DMAS is revising its policy 
so that any admission for which preoperative days are 

necessary be medically justified. Utilization review analysts 
will review all preoperative days for medical necessity. 

The third change to the State Plan needed to achieve the 
reduction in the average length of stay is to redefine a 
weekend admission to be more consistent with current 
medical practices. DMAS currently prohibits reimbursement 
for weekend admissions unless medically justified. A 
weekend admission is defined as an admission on Friday or 
Saturday. By redefining a weekend admission to be an 
admission on Saturday or Sunday, DMAS anticipates that 
medically unnecessary admissions on Sunday will be 
reduced or avoided, thereby reducing the overall average 
Medicaid length of. stay. Sunday admission must be for 
medically justified emergencies. Not only will this change 
prevent the payment of claims for medically unnecessary 
admissions on Sunday, but it will also prevent hospitals from 
having to provide documentation of medical necessity for 
Friday admissions. At the time a weekend admission was 
originally defined, Friday was not a routine surgery day and, 
therefore, any admission on a Friday had to be a medically 
justified emergency. Medical practice has since changed, so 
that Friday is now a routine day for surgery. Therefore, by 
eliminating Friday from and adding Sunday to the definition of 
a weekend admission, DMAS' State Plan will be brought up­
to-date with current medical practices, which in turn will 
contribute to the reduction in the average length of stay. 
Saturday admissions will contin·ue to require documentation 
of medical necessity. 

The fourth change involves obstetrical services for patients 
with uncomplicated deliveries. The Governor's second 
amendment mentioned above was also included to shorten 
the stay for these services. The department originally 
proposed to address this mandate in two ways. First, DMAS 
addressed the requirements for documentation of medical 
necessity for obstetrical admissions for uncomplicated 
vaginal deliveries. DMAS proposed changing the standard 
for submission of documentation to "admissions that exceed 
one day." At the time of the original proposal, this change 
was consistent with insurance practices under indemnity and 
managed care plans. Secondly, DMAS proposed that 
hospitals be offered the option of participating in the Home 
TomorroW Program. No dOcumentation of medical 
justification would be required for deliveries billed under the 
Home Tomorrow Program. 

The Home Tomorrow Program was the result of a pilot 
program implemented successfully in several hospitals in the 
Commonwealth in cooperation with the Virginia Hospital 
Association (VHA). Beginning in 1992, the pilot program 
consisted of a trial period of special obstetric services. These 
pilots basically provided for one day of inpatient hospital care 
(24 hours to 36 hours) to be followed by a home health visit 
for those women and their newborns who met certain health 
standards. The referenced home health visit was provided 
either directly by the hospital's affiliated home health agency 
or was contracted out by the hospital to a nonaffiliated home 
health agency. The women selected for the trial Home 
Tomorrow programs were those who were expected to have 
normal vaginal deliveries, at term. without significant medical. 
obstetric or peri- or post-natal complications, nor prolonged 
labor or difficult instrument delivery and Who delivered a . 
healthy term infant, and also who had good social support 
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systems. The services which were required to be covered 
were the short inpatient stay followed by a home visit by 
registered nurses trained in mother and infant assessments. 
The nurses' home visit assessments contained required 
minimum components for both the new mother and newborn. 
Also, these participating hospitals were reimbursed one fee 
for these bundled services: inpatient hospital care for a 
normal, uncomplicated vaginal delivery, home visit post­
delivery and any educational efforts provided at that time. 

However, during the 1996 General Assembly session, new 
legislation was passed that supersedes the provisions of the 
Home Tomorrow Program. Chapter 201 of the 1996 Virginia 
Acts of Assembly requires the Medicaid State Plan to provide 
for inpatient lengths of stay for pregnant women in 
accordance with the "Guidelines for Perinatal Care" as 
developed by the American Academy of Pediatrics and the 
American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. The 
language also requires payment for a follow-up visit as 
recommended by the attending physician within the time 
limits and in accordance with the guidelines. The language in 
this legislation necessitates the replacement of the Home 
Tomorrow Program with a new policy. Therefore, the 
provisions of this regulatory change that relate to the Home 
Tomorrow Program are being stricken from this package. 

Under the new policy the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services (DMAS) will cover maternity inpatient hospital 
charges as follows. DMAS will cover the day of delivery plus 
an additional two days for a normal, uncomplicated vaginal 
delivery without reqUinng documentation of medical 
necessity. DMAS will cover the day of delivery plus an 
additional four days without requiring documentation of 
medical necessity for cesarean births. Claims for any 
additional days must be medically justified. 

If the mother and newborn are discharged earlier than 48 
hours after the day of delivery, DMAS will cover an early 
discharge follow-up visit if recommended by the physician. 
The visit must be provided in accordance with the "Guidelines 
for Perinatal Care." The mother and newborn must both 
meet the criteria for early discharge to be eligible for the early 
discharge follow-up visit. If only the newborn is discharged 
earlier than 48 hours, he must meet the early discharge 
criteria to be eligible for the follow-up visit. This early 
discharge follow-up visit does not affect or apply to any usual 
postpartum or well-baby care provided to all new mothers 
and babies; it is tied directly to an early discharge. 

Physicians have their choice of providers with whom they 
coordinate to provide the early discharge follow-up visit, 
within limitations. The care given at the follow-up visit must 
be provided by, at a minimum, a registered nurse having 
training and experience in maternal and child health. The 
visit must be provided within 48 hours of discharge. 

The early discharge follow-up visit is intended to provide for 
care that would have been provided in the hospital in the 
past. Since many neonatal problems do not become 
apparent until several days following birth, the follow-up visit 
provides an opportunity to check on the condition of the 
mother and newborn shortly after they leave the care of the 
hospital. In this way, the mother and newborn can return 
home earlier, while being assured of quality care. 
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Issues: This program is expected to provide benefits to both 
the providers and the Commonwealth. Medicaid recipients, 
other than new mothers, who are hospitalized will not be 
adversely affected by these changes since they reflect 
current medical practice and are based on medical necessity. 
New mothers and newborns may receive additional services 
beyond current service limits. The advantage of these 
changes to the Commonwealth is that they enhance the 
economical periormance of Virginia's Medicaid Program by 
preventing reimbursement for services that are not medically 
necessary. 

The disadvantage of this action is the increase in justification 
of medical necessity. In addition to the increase in providing 
medical justification, hospital providers will have to ensure 
that medical staff, utilization review committee staff, and 
reimbursement staff are aware of these changes. Medical 
and nursing staff will need to ensure that medical justification 
is documented in the chart. 

The agency projects no negative issues involved in 
implementing this proposed change. 

Summary of Public Comments Received: DMAS' proposed 
regulations were published in the March 4, 1996, Virginia 
Register for their public comment period from March 4, 1996, 
to May 4, 1996. Comments were received from the Virginia 
Department of Health and the Virginia Association for Home 
Care. Both parties were concerned about the qualifications 
of staff providing the home visits under the Home Tomorrow 
Program. Description of the visit as a "comprehensive home 
health visit" generated confusion over the differences 
between this type of visit and a home health visit as provided 
by a home health agency. DMAS had also identified the 
description of this visit as an area of concern. However, 
legislation passed by the 1996 General Assembly required 
changes that supersede the provisions of the Home 
Tomorrow Program. These comments have been considered 
during the development of the policy that addresses the 
General Assembly mandate. Both commenters were notified 
that the Home Tomorrow Program portions of this regulatory 
package are not being finalized and that their comments were 
being used in the development of the replacement policy. 

Because of the substantive changes to this regulation as a 
result of the new legislative mandate, the agency is 
publishing the revised proposed regulation for an additional 
comment period. 

Fiscal/Budget Impact: The 1995 Appropriation Act reduced 
DMAS' FY 1996 appropriation by $10 million ($5.0 million GF; 
$5.0 million NGF) and authorized DMAS to reduce the 
average length of stay for inpatient hospital services from six 
to five days. Also, DMAS' FY 1996 appropriation was 
reduced by $6 million ($3.0 million GF; $3.0 million NGF) and 
DMAS was authorized to implement shorter hospital stays for 
obstetrical services for uncomplicated vaginal deliveries. 
DMAS achieved these savings by implementing the changes 
under the authority of emergency regulations. This savings is 
now reflected in the agency's base budget. 

Those affected by these changes include Medicaid providers 
of inpatient hospital and maternity services, Medicaid 
recipients who are hospitalized, and DMAS utilization review 
staff. 
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The Impact of lowering the threshold for providing medical 
justification and requiring medical justification for all 
preoperative days and Saturday/Sunday admissions is that 
hospital providers will have to submit medical justification for 
approximately 1 0,000 claims that previously did not require 
justification. This estimate accounts for the fact that 
elimination of medical justification for Friday admissions will 
result in a decrease of approximately 2,000 claims. Also, 
instituting the more rigorous requirements for medical 
justification will result in hospitals avoiding unnecessary 
preoperative days and weekend admissions. 

In addition to the increase in providing medical justification, 
hospital providers will need to ensure that medical staff, 
utilization review committee "taff, and reimbursement staff 
are aware of these changes. Medical and nursing staff will 
need to ensure that medical justification is documented in the 
chart. If claims are submitted without the appropriate medical 
justification, hospitals may experience an aging of their 
accounts receivable until the claim is resubmitted with the 
proper justification. 

The estimated 102,000 Medicaid recipients who are 
hospitalized annually will not be adversely affected by these 
changes since they reflect current medical practice and are 
based on medical necessity. 

DMAS will reallocate one staff member to assist the 
Utilization Review staff with the increased number of claims 
to review. Therefore, no additional costs will be incurred by 
DMAS for these changes. 

This change will also affect all providers of maternity 
services. The requirement for hospitals to submit additional 
documentation after a specified number of days is current 
policy. However, the number of days covered for a cesarean 
birth is longer than the current limit, so this will represent a 
loosening of requirements for those cases. The most 
significant change is the arrangement for an early discharge 
follow-up visit when appropriate. Only those hospitals that 
have been participating in the Home Tomorrow Program have 
an established procedure for arranging this visit. This will be 
a new requirement for all other hospitals, physicians, and 
clinics. In addition, those hospitals that have been 
participating in the Home Tomorrow Program have been 
receiving an all-inclusive fee to cover both the inpatient 
hospital services and the follow-up visit. This will no longer 
be the case; hospitals will only be reimbursed for the 
inpatient services provided, as defined under the provisions 
of the inpatient hospital reimbursement methodology. The 
provider of the early discharge follow-up visit must bill 
separately, and will be reimbursed under a fee-for-service 
methodology. 

This policy change will represent an increase in the numbers 
1nd types of providers who can offer the follow-up visit. 
Jnder the Home Tomorrow Program, the criteria for the 
orovider of the follow-up visit was not clearly defined. Many 
of the comments received regarding the Home Tomorrow 
program indicated concerns regarding the qualifications of 
those providing the follow-up examinations. In addition, 
because of the way in which the hospitals were reimbursed, 
there was a financial incentive for the hospitals to utilize their 
own nurses to provide the follow-up visit. DMAS considered 
these comments regarding the existing program during the 

development of the new program. The new policy provides 
criteria for the provider of the follow-up visit, and, by 
reimbursing the follow-up visit independently of the inpatient 
services, removes the incentive for hospitals to utilize only 
their own employees to provide the follow-up care. This will 
allow other types of providers more opportunity to participate 
in this program than were able to participate in the Home 
Tomorrow Program. 

This policy change will result in an overall increase in 
services provided by hospitals, public health clinics and other 
providers of the early discharge follow-up visit. The Home 
Tomorrow Program required dismissal after only 24 hours to 
qualify for the follow-up visit. The new policy requires a 
follow-up visit be covered for recipients who remain in the 
hospital up to 48 hours after the day of delivery. By allowing 
an extra day of inpatient care prior to discharge while still 
being eligible for the follow-up visit, DMAS anticipates the 
number of follow-up visits will increase under the new 
program. 

Currently, DMAS estimates coverage of approximately 1,212 
follow-up visits under the Home Tomorrow Program during 
the past year. Because these visits were part of an all· 
inclusive fee to the hospital, this number does not equate to a 
direct dollar figure. In state Fiscal Year 1995, Medicaid 
received 16,922 claims for normal vaginal deliveries that did 
not exceed a three-day inpatient stay, and 5,335 claims for 
cesarean births that did not exceed a five-day inpatient stay. 
Based on these figures, the agency anticipates covering as 
many as 22,250 early discharge follow'up visits in fiscal year 
1997. This is 21,045 more visits than provided under the 
Home Tomorrow Program. At a maximum reimbursement 
rate of $76.64 per visit, this could amount to an increase of 
$1,612,889 in payments for this service. This estimate is 
based on the assumption that this regulatory change will 
result in increased follow-up visits and will not impact hospital 
length of stay lor deliveries. If this regulatory change does 
affect the length of stay, the fiscal impact has the potential to 
be greater. 

There are no localities which are uniquely affected by these 
regulations as they apply statewide. 

Summarv: 

This proposal reduces the lengths of inpatient hospital 
stays when medically appropriate in compliance with 
amendments to the budget, and revises the maternity 
length of stay and follow-up visit policies to comply with 
new legislation. 

The Home Tomorrow Program was the result of a pilot 
program implemented successfully in several hospitals in 
the Commonwealth in cooperation with the Virginia 
Hospital Association (VHA). Beginning in 1992, the pilot 
program consisted of a trial period of special obstetric 
services. These pilots bask;al/y provided for one day of 
inpatient hospital care (24 hours to 36 hours) to be 
followed by a home health visit for those women and 
their newborns who met certain health standards. 

However, during the 1996 General Assembly session, 
new legislation was passed that requires changes to the 
maternity length of stay and follow-up visit policies. 
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Chapters 155 and 201 of the 1996 Virginia Acts of 
Assembly require the Medicaid State Plan to provide for 
inpatient lengths of stay for pregnant women in 
accordance with the "Guidelines for Perinatal Care" as 
developed by the American Academy of Pediatrics and 
the American College of Obstetricians and 
Gynecologists. The language also requires payment for 
a follow-up visit as recommended by the attending 
physician within the time limits and in accordance with 
the guidelines. The language in this legislation 
necessitates revisions to this agency's regulations. 

Under the revised policy, if the mother and newborn are 
discharged earlier than 48 hours after the day of 
delivery, DMAS will cover an early discharge follow-up 
visit if recommended by the physician. The visit must be 
provided in accordance with the "Guidelines for Perinatal 
Care. " Since many neonatal problems do not become 
apparent until several days following birth, the follow-up 
visit provides an opportunity to check on the condition of 
the mother and newborn shortly after they leave the care 
of the hospital. In this way, the mother and newborn can 
return home earlier while being assured of quality care. 

12 VAC 30-50-100. Inpatient hospital services other than 
!hose provided in an Institution for mental diseases. 

A. Medicaid inpatient hospital admissions (lengths-of-stay) 
are limited to the 75th percentile of PAS (Professional Activity 
Study of the Commission on Professional and Hospital 
Activities) diagnostic/procedure limits. For admissions under 
ll four days that exceed the 75th percentile, the hospital must 
attach medical justification records to the billing invoice to be 
considered for additional coverage when medically justified. 
For all admissions that exceed 7 three days up to a maximum 
of 21 days, the hospital must attach medical justification 
records to the billing invoice. (See the exception to 
subsection F of this section.) 

B. Medicaid does not pay the Medicare (Title XVIII) 
coinsurance lor hospital care after 21 days regardless of the 
length-of-stay covered by the other insurance. (See 
exception to subsection F of this section.) 

C. Reimbursement for induced abortions is provided in 
only those cases in which there would be a substantial 
endangerment to health or life of the mother if the fetus were 
carried to term. 

D. Reimb"rsemeAIIer severea hes~ilal says is limiteEI le 
eee say prier te s"r§ery, ""less meEiisally j"stilieEI. Hospital 
claims with an admission date mere thaA eRe <lay prior to the 
first surgical date will peAEI ler re;•iew lly meelisal stall te 
deterf!1iAe apprepriate fi1Beiisal j"stilisatieA., regardless of the 
number of days prior to surgery, must be medically justified. 
The hospital must write on or attach the justification to the 
billing invoice for consideration of reimbursement for 
adEiilieAal a// preoperative days. Medically justified situations 
are those where appropriate medical care cannot be obtained 
except in an acute hospital setting thereby warranting hospital 
admission. Medically unjustified days in such admissions will 
be denied. 

E. Reimbursement will not be provided for weekend 
(ffi€1ay!Saturday/Sunday) admissions, unless medically 
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justified. Hospital claims wtth admission dates on FFi<lay er 
Saturday or Sunday will be pended for review by medical staff 
to determine appropriate medical justification for these days. 
The hospital must write on or attach the justification to the 
billing invoice for consideration of reimbursement coverage 
for these days. Medically justified situations are those where 
appropriate medical care cannot be obtained except in an 
acute hospital setting thereby warranting hospital admission. 
Medically unjustified days in such admissions will be denied. 

F. Coverage of inpatient hospitalization will be limited to a 
total of 21 days for all admissions within a fixed period, which 
would begin with the first day inpatient hospital services are 
furnished to an eligible recipient and end 60 days from the 
day of the first admission. There may be multiple admissions 
during this 60-day period; however, when total days exceed 
21, all subsequent claims will be reviewed. Claims which 
exceed 21 days within 60 days with a different diagnosis and 
medical justification will be paid. Any claim which has the 
same or similar diagnosis will be denied. EXCEPTION: 
SPECIAL PROVISIONS FOR ELIGIBLE INDIVIDUALS 
UNDER 21 YEARS OF AGE: Consistent with 42 CFR 441.57, 
pa,yment of medical assistance services shall be made on 
behalf of individuals under 21 years of age, who are Medicaid 
eligible, for medically necessary stays in acute care facilities 
in excess of 21 days per admission when such services are 
rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of health 
conditions identified through a physical examination. Medical 
documentation justifying admission and the continued length 
of stay must be attached to or written on the invoice for 
review by medical staff to detenmine medical necessity. 
Medically unjustified days in such admissions will be denied. 

G. l'le~ealea. [ Ce•<erage shall se limited te ene £Jay ef 
iRf38,fient h96pifa/ eare fer oostelrieal sen'iGes fer 
I;JR6BFRf3JiGBtefi 'lagJRa! fle,'hr.er:ies E:JRiess afklitieRa.' EI~IS are 
meEI!ea.'/}' jiJBfifieEI. The hespila! miJBt allash meEiiea! 
}IJBtWeatien te the Bi.lfing irweiee lor sensiEieratieR ef 
reimB!IFSement se<<erage fer these Elaj.'B. 1/leEiieally 
!JR}IJBiifieEI fiB)'B iR s116h admissien shaN se Elenied. Coverage 
for a normal, uncomplicated vaginal delivery shall be limited 
to the day of delivery plus an additional two days unless 
additional days are medically justified. Coverage for 
cesarean births shall be limited to the day of delivery plus an 
additional four days unless additional days are medically 
justified. ] 

H. Reimbursement will not be provided for inpatient 
hospitalization for those surgical and diagnostic procedures 
listed on the mandatory outpalient surgery list unless the 
inpatient stay is medically justified or meets one of the 
exceptions. The requirements for mandatory outpatient 
surgery do not apply to recipients in the retroactive eligibility 
period. 

I. For the purposes of organ transplantation, all similarly 
situated individuals will be treated alike. Transplant services 
for kidneys and corneas shall be covered for all eligible 
persons. Transplant services for liver, heart, and bone 
marrow transplantation and any other medically necessary 

.transplantation procedures that are determined to not be 
experimental or investigational shall be limited to children 
(under 21 years of age). Kidney, liver, heart, and bone 
marrow transplants and any other medically necessary 
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transplantation procedures that are determined to not be 
experimental or investigational require preauthorization. 
Cornea transplants do not require preauthorization. The 
patient must be considered acceptable for coverage and 
treatment. The treating facility and transplant staff must be 
recognized as being capable of providing high quality care in 
the performance of the requested transplant. 
Reimbursement for covered liver, heart, and bone marrow 
transplant services and any other medically necessary 
transplantation procedures that are determined to not be 
experimental or investigational shall be a fee based upon the 
greater of a prospectively determined, procedure-specific flat 
fee determined by the agency or a prospectively determined, 
procedure-specific percentage of usual and customary 
charges. The flat lee reimbursement will cover procurement 
costs; all hospital costs from admission to discharge lor the 
transplant procedure; and total physician costs for all 
physicians providing services during the transplant hospital 
stay, including radiologists, pathologists, oncologists, 
surgeons, etc. The flat fee reimbursement does not include 
pre- and post-hospitalization for the transplant procedure or 
pretransplant evaluation. Reimbursement for approved 
transplant procedures that are performed out of state will be 
made in the same manner as reimbursement for transplant 
procedures performed in the Commonwealth. 
Reimbursement for covered kidney and cornea transplants is 
at the allowed Medicaid rate. Standards for coverage of 
organ transplant services are in 12 VAC 30-50-540. 

J. The department may exempt portions or all of the 
utilization review documentation requirements of subsections 
A, D, E, F as it pertains to recipients under age 21, G, or H in 
writing for specific hospitals from time to time as part of their 
ongoing hospital utilization review performance evaluation. 
These exemptions are based on utilization review 
performance and review edit criteria which determine an 
individual hospital's review status as specified in the hospital 
provider manual. In compliance with federal regulations at 42 
CFR 441.200, Subparts E and F, claims for hospitalization in 
which sterilization, hysterectomy or abortion procedures were 
pertormed, shall be subject to medical documentation 
requirements. 

K. Hospitals qualifying for an exemption of all 
documentation requirements except as described in 
subsection J above shall be granted "delegated review 
status" and shall, while the exemption remains in effect, not 
be required to submit medical documentation to support 
pended claims on a prepayment hospital utilization review 
basis to the extent allowed by federal or state law or 
regulation. The following audit conditions apply to delegated 
review status for hospitals: 

1. The department shall conduct periodic on-site post­
payment audits of qualifying hospitals using a statistically 
valid sampling of paid claims for the purpose of reviewing 
the medical necessity of inpatient stays. 

2. The hospital shall make all medical records of which 
medical . reviews will be necessary available upon 
request, and shall provide an appropriate place for the 
department's auditors to conduct such review. 

3. The qualifying hospital will immediately refund to the 
department in accordance with § 32.1-325.1 A and B of 

the Code of Virginia the full amount of any initial 
overpayment identified during such audit. 

4. The hospital may appeal adverse medical necessity 
and overpayment decisions pursuant to the current 
administrative process for appeals of post-payment 
review decisions. 

5. The department may, at its option, depending on the 
utilization review pertormance determined by an audit 
based on criteria set forth in the hospital provider 
manual, remove a hospital from delegated review status 
and reapply certain or all prepayment utilization review 
documentation requirements. 

12 VAC 30-50·140. Physician's services whether 
furnished in the office, the patient's home, a hospital, a 
skilled nursing facility or elsewhere. 

A. Elective surgery as defined by the Program is surgery 
that is not medically necessary to restore or materially 
improve a body function. 

B. Cosmetic surgical procedures are not covered unless 
pertormed for physiological reasons and require Program 
prior approval. 

C. Routine physicals and immunizations are not covered 
except when the services are provided under the Early and 
Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) 
Program and when a well-child examination is performed in a 
private physician's office for a foster child of the local social 
services department on specific referral from those 
departments. 

D. Psychiatric setvices. 

1. Psychiatric services are limited to an initial availability 
of 26 sessions, with one possible extension (subject to 
the approval of the Psychiatric Review Board) of 26 
sessions during the first year of treatment. The 
availability is further restricted to no more than 26 
sessions each succeeding year when approved by the 
Psychiatric Review Board. Psychiatric services are 
further restricted to no more than three sessions in any 
given seven-day period. 

2. Psychiatric services can be provided by psychiatrists, 
clinical psychologists licensed by the State Board of 
Medicine, psychologists clinical licensed by the Board of 
Psychology, or by a licensed clinical social worker under 
the direct supervision of a psychiatrist, licensed clinical 
psychologist or a licensed psychologist clinical. 

3. PsychologiGal and psychiatric services shall be 
medically prescribed treatment which is directly and 
specifically related to an active written plan designed and 
signature-dated by either a psychiatrist or a clinical 
psychologist licensed by the Board of Medicine, a 
psychologist clinical licensed by the Board of 
Psychology, or a licensed clinical social worker under the 
direct supervision of a licensed clinical psychologist, a 
licensed psychologist clinical, or a psychiatrist. 

4. Psychological or psychiatric services shall be 
considered appropriate when an individual meets the 
following criteria: 
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a. Requires treatment in order to sustain behavioral or 
emotional gains or to restore cognitive functional 
levels which have been impaired; 

b. Exhibits deficits in peer relations, dealing with 
authority; is hyperactive; has poor impulse control; is 
clinically depressed or demonstrates other 
dysfunctional clinical symptoms having an adverse 
impact on attention and concentration, ability to learn, 
or ability to participate in employment, educational, or 
social activities; 

c. Is at risk for developing or requires treatment for 
maladaptive coping strategies; and 

d. Presents a reduction in individual adaptive and 
coping mechanisms or demonstrates extreme 
increase in personal distress. 

5. Psychological or psychiatric services may be provided 
in an office or a mental health clinic. 

E. Any procedure considered experimental is not covered. 

F. Reimbursement for induced abortions is provided in 
only those cases in which there would be a substantial 
endangerment of health or life to the mother if the fetus were 
carried to term. 

G. Physician visits to inpatient hospital patients are limited 
to a maximum of 21 days per admission within 60 days for 
the same or similar diagnoses and is further restricted to 
medically necessary inpatient hospital days as determined by 
the Program. EXCEPTION: SPECIAL PROVISIONS FOR 
ELIGIBLE INDIVIDUALS UNDER 21 YEARS OF AGE: 
Consistent with 42 CFR 441.57, payment of medical 
assistance services shall be made on behalf of individuals 
under 21 years of age, who are Medicaid eligible, for medically 
necessary stays in acute care facilities in excess of 21 days 
per admissio.n when such services are rendered for the 
purpose of diagnosis and treatment of health conditions 
identified through a physical examination. Payments for 
physician visits for inpatient days determined to be medically 
unjustified will be adjusted. 

H. Repealed. 

I. Rerealed. Reimbursement shalf not be provided tor 
physician services provided to recipients in the inpatient 
setting whenever the facility is denied reimbursement. 

J. Reimbursement will not be provided for physician 
services performed in the inpatient setting for those surgical 
or diagnostic procedures listed on the mandatory outpatient 
surgery list unless the service is medically justified or meets 
one of the exceptions. The requirements of mandatory 
outpatient surgery do not apply to recipients in a retroactive 
eligibility period. 

K. For the purposes of organ transplantation, all similarly 
situated individuals will be treated alike. Transplant services 
for kidneys and corneas shall be covered for all eligible 
persons. Transplant services for liver, heart, and bone 
marrow and any other medically necessary transplantation 
procedures that are determined to not be experimental or 
investigational shall be limited to children (under 21 years of 
age). Kidney, liver, heart, and bone marrow transplants and 
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any other medically necessary transplantation procedures 
that are determined to not be experimental or investigational 
require preauthorization. Cornea transplants do not require 
preauthorization. The patient must be considered acceptable 
for coverage and treatment. The treating facility and 
transplant staff must be recognized as being capable of 
providing high quality care in the performance of the 
requested transplant. Reimbursement for covered liver, 
heart, and bone marrow transplant services and any other 
medically necessary transplantation procedures that are 
determined to not be experimental or investigational shall be 
a fee based upon the greater of a prospectively determined, 
procedure-specific flat fee determined by the agency or a 
prospectively determined, procedure-specific percentage of 
usual and customary charges. The flat fee reimbursement 
will cover procurement costs; all hospital costs from 
admission to discharge for the transplant procedure; and total 
physician costs lor all physicians providing services during 
the transplant hospital stay, including radiologists, 
pathologists, oncologists, surgeons, etc. The flat lee 
reimbursement does not include pre- and post-hospitalization 
for the transplant procedure or pretransplant evaluation. 
Reimbursement for approved transplant procedures that are 
perlormed out of state will be made in the same manner as 
reimbursement for transplant procedures performed in the 
Commonwealth. Reimbursement lor covered kidney and 
cornea transplants is at the allowed Medicaid rate. Standards 
for coverage of organ transplant services are in 12 VAC 30-
50-540. 

12 VAC 30-50-220. Other diagnostic, screening, 
preventive, and rehabilitative services, i.e., other than 
those provided elsewhere in this plan. 

A. Diagnostic services are not provided. 

B. Screening services. Screening mammograms for the 
female recipient population aged 35 and over shall be 
covered, consistent with the guidelines published by the 
American Cancer Society. 

C. [ Preventive servises are net previ~ed. Maternity length 
of stay and early discharge. 

1. If the mother and newborn, or the newborn alone, are 
discharged earlier than 48 hours after the day of 
delivery, DMAS will cover one early discharge follow-up 
visit as recommended by the physicians in accordance 
with and as indicated by the "Guidelines for Perinatal 
Care" as developed by the American Academy of 
Pediatrics and the American College of Obstetricians 
and Gynecologists (1992). The mother and newborn, or 
the newborn alone if the mother has not been 
discharged, must meet the criteria for early discharge to 
be eligible tor the early discharge follow-up visit. This 
early discharge follow-up visit does not affect or apply to 
any usual postpartum or well-baby care or any other 
covered care to which the mother or newborn is entitled; 
it is tied directly to an early discharge. The criteria for an 
early discharge are as follows: 

a. Discharge criteria for early discharge of mother. 

(1) Uncomplicated vaginal, full-term delivery 
following a normal antepartum course; 
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(2) Postpartum observation has suffk;ientfy 
documented a stable course, including the following 
observations: 

(a} Vital signs are stable; 

(b) Uterine fundus is firm, bleeding (lochia) is 
controlled, of normal amount and color; 

(c) Hemoglobin is greater than eight, hematocrit is 
greater than or equal to 24 and estimated blood 
loss is not greater than 500 cc or blood loss does 
not result in the patient being symptomatic for 
anemia, i.e., lightheadedness, syncope, 
tachycardia, or shortness of breath; 

(d) Episiotomy/repaired laceration is not inflamed 
and there is no evidence of infection or 
hematoma; 

(e) Tolerating prescnbed diet post delivery; 

(I} Voiding without difficulty and passing flatus. 
Bowel sounds present; and 

(g) If not previously obtained, ABO and Rh typing 
must be done and, if indicated, the appropriate 
amount of Rho(D) immunoglobin must be 
administered. 

b. Discharge criteria tor early discharge of infant. The 
newborn must be deemed normal by physical 
examination and stable meeting the following criteria: 

(1) Term delivery and weight is considered normal; 

(2) Infant is able to maintain a stable body 
temperature under normal conditions; 

(3) Infant is able to take and tolerate feedings by 
mouth and demonstrates normal sucking and 
swallowing reflexes; 

(4) Laboratory data must be reviewed to include: 

(a) Maternal testing tor syphilis and hepatitis B 
surface antigen; 

(b) Cord or infant blood type and direct Coombs 
test (if the mother is Rho( D) negative, or is type 0, 
or if screening has not been performed tor 
maternal antibodies; 

(c) Hemoglobin or hematocrit and blood glucose 
determinations, as clinically indicated; and 

(d) Any screening tests required by law; and 

(5) Initial hepatitis 8 vaccine must have been 
administered. 

c. Discharge criteria tor early discharge of mother and 
infant. 

(1} Family members or other support persons must 
be available to the mother for the first few days 
following discharge; 

(2) The mother or caretaker has demonstrated the 
ability to care tor her infant, including feeding, 

bathing, cord care, diapering, body temperature 
assessment and measurement with a thermometer; 

(3) The mother or caretaker has been taught basic 
assessment skills, including neonatal well-being and 
recognition of illness. She verbalizes understanding 
of possible complications and has been instructed to 
notify the appropriate practitioner as necessary; and 

(4) A physician-directed source of continuing 
medical care tor both mother and baby must be 
identified and arrangements made for the baby to be 
examined within 48 hours of discharge. 

2. The early discharge follow-up visit must be provided 
as directed by a physic1an. The physician may 
coordinate with the provider of his choice to provide the 
early discharge follow-up visit, within the following 
limitations. Qualified providers are those hospitals, 
physicians, nurse midwives, nurse practitioners, federally 
qualified health clinics, rural health clinics, and health 
departments clinics that are enrolled as Medicaid 
providers and are qualified by the appropriate state 
authority tor delivery of the service. The staff providing 
the follow-up visit, at a minimum, must be a registered 
nurse having training and experience in maternal and 
child health. The visit must be provided within 48 hours 
of discharge. 

3. The visit must include, at a minimum, the following: 

a. Maternal assessment must include, but is not 
limited to: 

(1) Vital s(gns; 

(2) Assessment of lochia, height and firmness of the 
uterus; 

(3) Assessment of the episiotomy, if applicable; 

(4) Assessment for and of hemorrhoids; 

(5) Assessment of bowel and bladder function; 

(6) Assessment of the breasts, especially the 
nipples if the mother is breast feeding. Assessment 
of the mother's understanding of breast/nipple care 
and understanding of proper care; 

(7} Assessment of eating habits for nutritional 
balance, stressing good nutrition especially in the 
breast feeding mother; 

(8} Assessment tor signs and symptoms of anemia 
and, if present, notification of the responsible 
physician for further instructions; 

(9) Confirmation that the mother has an appointment 
for a six-week postpartum check-up; and 

(10) Identification of the need for and make referrals 
to the appropriate resources for identified medical, 
social, and nutritional concerns and needs. 

b. Newborn assessment must include, but is not 
limited to: 

(1) Vital signs: 
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(2) Weight; 

(3) Examination of the umbilical cord and 
circumcision, if applicable; 

(4) Assessment of hydration status; 

(5) Evaluation of acceptance and tolerance of 
feedings, including the frequency of feeds and the 
amount taken each feed. If possible, observation of 
the mother or caretaker feeding the infant for 
technique assessment; 

(6) Assessment of bowel and bladder function; 

(7) Assessment of skin coloration; if the infant 
demonstrates any degree of jaundice, notification of 
the physician for further instruction. If infant is pale, 
mottled, lethargic, or with poor muscle tone, 
immediate notification of the physician for further 
instruction; 

(B) Assessment of infant behavior, sleep/wake 
patterns; 

(9) Assessment of the quality of mother/infant 
interaction, bonding; 

(10) Blood samples for lab work, or a urine sample 
as directed by state Jaw, physician, or clinical 
judgment; 

(11) Confirmation that the infant has an appointment 
for routine two-week check up; 

(12) Discussion with the mother or caretaker 
planning for health maintenance, including 
preventive care, periodic evaluations, 
immunizations, signs and symptoms of physical 
change requiring immediate attention and 
emergency services available; and 

(13) Identification of the need for and make referrals 
to any other existing appropriate resources tor 
identified medical, social and nutritional concerns 
and needs.] 

D. Rehabilitative services. 

1, Intensive physical rehabilitation. 

a. Medicaid covers intensive inpatient rehabilitation 
services as defined in subdivision D 1 d in facilities 
certified as rehabilitation hospitals or rehabilitation 
units in acute care hospitals which have been certified 
by the Department of Health to meet the requirements 
to be excluded from the Medicare Prospective 
Payment System. 

b. Medicaid covers intensive outpatient physical 
rehabilitation services as defined in subdivision D 1 d 
in facilities which are certified as Comprehensive 
Outpatient Rehabilitation Facilities (CORFs). 

c. These facilities are excluded from the 21-day limit 
otherwise applicable to inpatient hospital services. 
Cost reimbursement principles are defined in 12 VAC 
30-70-10 through 12 VAC 30-70-130. 
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d. An intensive rehabilitation program provides 
intensive skilled rehabilitation nursing, physical 
therapy, occupational therapy, and, if needed, speech­
language pathology, cognitive rehabilitation, 
prosthetic-orthotic services, psychology, social work, 
and therapeutic recreation. The nursing staff must 
support the other disciplines in carrying out the 
activities of daily living, utilizing correctly the training 
received in therapy and furnishing other needed 
nursing services. The day-to-day activities must be 
carried out under the continuing direct supervision of a 
physician with special training or experience in the 
field of physical medicine and rehabilitation. 

e. Nothing in this regulation is intended to preclude 
DMAS from negotiating individual contracts with in­
state intensive physical rehabilitation facilities for those 
individuals with special intensive rehabilitation needs. 

f. For continued intensive rehabilitation services, the 
patient must demonstrate an ability to actively 
participate in goal-related therapeutic interventions 
developed by the interdisciplinary team. This shall be 
evidenced by regular attendance in planned activities 
and demonstrated progress toward the established 
goals. 

g. Intensive rehabilitation services shall be considered 
for termination regardless of the preauthorized length 
of stay when any of the following conditions are met: 

(1) No further potential for improvement is 
demonstrated. The patient has reached his 
maximum progress and a safe and effective 
maintenance program has been developed. 

(2) There is limited motivation on the part of the 
individual or caregiver. 

(3) The individual has an unstable condition that 
affects his ability to participate in a rehabilitative 
plan. 

(4) Progress toward an established goal or goals 
cannot be achieved within a reasonable period of 
time. 

(5) The established goal serves 
increase meaningful functional 
capabilities. 

no purpose to 
or cognitive 

(6) The service can be provided by someone other 
than a skilled rehabilitation professionaL 

2. Community mental health services. Definitions. The 
following words and terms, when used in these regulations, 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services consistent with Chapter 1 0 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) of 
Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"DMHMRSAS" means Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services 
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consistent with Chapter 1 (§ 37.1-39 et seq.) of Title 37.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

a. Mental health services. The following services, 
with their definitions, shall be covered: 

(1) Intensive in-home services for children and 
adolescents under age 21 shall be time-limited 
interventions provided typically but not solely in the 
residence of an individual who is at risk of being 
moved into an out-of-home placement or who is 
being transitioned to home from out-of-home 
placement due to a disorder diagnosable under the 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental 
Disorders-111-R (DSM-111-R). These services provide 
crisis treatment; individual and family counseling; life 
(e.g., counseling to assist parents to understand and 
practice proper child nutrition, child health care, 
personal hygiene, and financial management, etc.), 
parenting (e.g., counseling to assist parents to 
understand and practice proper nurturing and 
discipline, and behavior management, etc.), and 
communication skills (e.g., counseling to assist 
parents to understand and practice appropriate 
problem-solving, anger management, and 
interpersonal interaction, etc.); case management 
activities and coordination with other required 
services; and 24-hour emergency response. These 
services shall be limited annually to 26 weeks. 

(2) Therapeutic day treatment for children and 
adolescents shall be provided in sessions of two or 
more hours per day, to groups of seriously 
emotionally disturbed children and adolescents or 
children at risk of serious emotional disturbance in 
order to provide therapeutic interventions. Day 
treatment programs, limited annually to 780 units, 
provide evaluation, medication education and 
management, opportunities to learn and use daily 
living skills and to enhance social and interpersonal 
skills (e.g., problem solving, anger management, 
community responsibility, increased impulse control 
and appropriate peer relations, etc.), and individual, 
group and family counseling. 

(3) Day treatment/partial hospitalization services for 
adults shall be provided in sessions of two or more 
consecutive hours per day, which may be scheduled 
multiple times per week, to groups of individuals in a 
nonresidential setting. These services, limited 
annually to 780 units, include the major diagnostic, 
medical, psychiatric, psychosocial and 
psychoeducational treatment modalities designed 
for individuals with serious mental disorders who 
require coordinated, intensive, comprehensive, and 
multidisciplinary treatment. 

(4) Psychosocial rehabilitation for adults shall be 
provided in sessions of two or more consecutive 
hours per day to groups of individuals in a 
nonresidential setting. These services, limited 
annually to 936 units, include assessment, 
medication education, psychoeducation, 
opportunities to learn and use independent living 
skills and to enhance social and interpersonal skills, 

family support, and education within a supportive 
and normalizing program structure and environment. 

(5) Crisis intervention shall provide immediate 
mental health care, available 24 hours a day, seven 
days per week, to assist individuals who are 
experiencing acute mental dysfunction requiring 
immediate clinical attention. This service's 
objectives shall be to prevent exacerbation of a 
condition, to prevent injury to the client or others, 
and to provide treatment in the context of the least 
restrictive setting. Crisis intervention activities, 
limited annually to 180 hours, shall include 
assessing the crisis situation, providing short-term 
counseling designed to stabilize the individual or the 
family unit or both, providing access to further 
immediate assessment and follow-up, and linking 
the individual and family with ongoing care to 
prevent future crises. Crisis intervention services 
may include, but are not limited to, office visits, 
home visits, preadmission screenings, telephone 
contacts, and other client-related activities for the 
prevention of institutionalization. 

b. Mental retardation services/related conditions. Day 
health and rehabilitation services shall be covered for 
persons with MR or related conditions and the 
following definitions shall apply: 

Day health and rehabilitation services (limited to 780 
units per year) shall provide individualized activities, 
supports, training, supervision, and transportation 
based on a written physician's order/plan of care to 
eligible persons lor two or more hours per day 
scheduled multiple times per week. These services 
are intended to improve the recipient's condition or to 
maintain an optimal level of functioning, as well as to 
ameliorate the recipient's disabilities or deficits by 
reducing the degree of impairment or dependency. 
Therapeutic consultation to service providers, family, 
and friends of the client around implementation of the 
physician's order/plan of care may be included as part 
of the services provided by the day health and 
rehabilitation program. The provider shall be licensed 
by DMHMRSAS as a Day Support Program. Specific 
components of day health and rehabilitation services 
include the following as needed: 

(1) Self-care and hygiene skills; 

(2) Eating and toilet training skills; 

(3) Task learning skills; 

(4) Community resource utilization skills (e.g., 
training in time, telephone, basic computations with 
money, warning sign recognition, and personal 
identifications, etc.); 

(5) Environmental and behavior skills (e.g., training 
in punctuality, self-discipline, care of personal 
belongings and respect for property and in wearing 
proper clothing for the weather, etc.); 

(6) Medication management; 
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(7) Travel and related training to and from the 
training sites and service and support activities; 

(8) Skills related to the above areas, as appropriate 
that will enhance or retain the recipient's functioning. 

3. Coverage shall be provided for investigations by local 
health departments to determine the source of lead 
contamination in the home as part of the management 
and treatment of Medicaid-eligible children who have 
been diagnosed with elevated blood lead levels. Only 
costs that are eligible for federal funding participation in 
accordance with current federal regulations shall be 
covered. Payments for environmental investigations 
under this section shall be limited to no more than two 
visits per residence. 

12 VAC 30-70-50. Hospital reimbursement system. 

The reimbursement system for hospitals includes the 
following components: 

A. Hospitals were grouped by classes according to 
number of beds and urban versus rural. (Three groupings for 
rural - 0 to 100 beds, 101 to 170 beds, and over 170 beds; 
four groupings for urban - 0 to 100, 101 to 400, 401 to 600, 
and over 600 beds.) Groupings are similar to those used by 
the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA) in 
determining routine cost limitations. 

B. Prospective reimbursement ceilings on allowable 
operating costs were established as of July 1, 1982, for each 
grouping. Hospitals with a fiscal year end after June 30, 
1982, were subject to the new reimbursement ceilings. 

The calculation of the initial group ceilings as of July 1, 
1982, was based on available, allowable cost data for 
hospitals in calendar year 1981. Individual hospital operating 
costs were advanced by a reimbursement escalator from the 
hospital's year end to July 1, 1982. After this advancement, 
the operating costs were standardized using SMSA wage 
indices, and a median was determined for each group. 
These medians were readjusted by the wage index to set an 
actual cost ceiling for each SMSA. Therefore, each hospital 
grouping has a series of ceilings representing one of each 
SMSA area. The wage index is based on those used by 
HCFA in computing its Market Basket Index for routine cost 
limitations. 

Effective July 1, 1986, and until June 30, 1988, providers 
subject to the prospective payment system of reimbursement 
had their prospective operating cost rate and prospective 
operating cost ceiling computed using a new methodology. 
This method uses an allowance for inflation based on the 
percent of change in the quarterly average of the Medical 
Care Index of the Chase Econometrics - Standard Forecast 
determined in the quarter in which the provider's new fiscal 
year began. 

The prospective operating cost rate is based on the 
provider's allowable cost from the most recent filed cost 
report, plus the inflation percentage add-on. 

The prospective operating cost ceiling is determined by 
using the base that was in effect for the provider's fiscal year 
that began between July 1, 1985, and June 1, 1986. The 
allowance for inflation percent of change for the quarter in 
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which the provider's new fiscal year began is added to this 
base to determine the new operating cost ceiling. This new 
ceiling was effective for all providers on July 1, 1986. For 
subsequent cost reporting periods beginning on or after July 
1, 1986, the last prospective operating rate ceiling 
determined under this new methodology will become the 
base for computing the next prospective year ceiling. 

Effective on and after July 1, 1988, and until June 30, 
1989, for providers subject to the prospective payment 
system, the allowance for inflation shall be based on the 
percent of change in the moving average of the Data 
Resources, Incorporated Health Care Cost HCFA-Type 
Hospital Market Basket determined in the quarter in which 
the provider's new fiscal year begins. Such providers shall 
have their prospective operating cost rate and prospective 
operating cost ceiling established in accordance with the 
methodology which became effective July 1, 1986. Rates 
and ceilings in effect July 1, 1988, for all such hospitals shall 
be adjusted to reflect this change. 

Effective on or after July 1, 1989, for providers subject to 
the prospective payment system, the allowance for inflation 
shall be based on the percent ol change in the moving 
average of the Health Care Cost HCFA-Type Hospital Market 
Basket, adjusted for Virginia {GRI--V}, as developed by Data 
Resources, Incorporated, determined in the quarter in which 
the provider's new fiscal year begins. Such providers shall 
have their prospective operating cost rate and prospective 
operating cost ceiling established in accordance with the 
methodology which became effective July 1, 1986. Rates 
and ceilings in effect July 1, 1989, lor all such hospitals shall 
be adjusted to reflect this change. 

Effective on and after July 1, 1992, for providers subject to 
the prospective payment system, the allowance for inflation, 
as described above, which became effective on July 1, 1989, 
shall be converted to an escalation factor by adding two 
percentage points, (200 basis points) (DRI V 12) to the then 
current allowance for inflation. The escalation factor shall be 
applied in accordance with the '*""""" inpatient hospital 
reimbursement methodology in effect on June 30, 1992. On 
July 1, 1992, the conversion to the new escalation factor shall 
be accomplished by a transition methodology which, for non­
June 30 year end hospitals, applies the escalation factor to 
escalate their payment rates for the months between July 1, 
1992, and their next fiscal year ending on or before May 31, 
1993. 

The new method will still require comparison of the 
prospective operating cost rate to the prospective operating 
ceiling. The provider is allowed the lower of the two amounts 
subject to the lower of cost or charges principles. 

C. Subsequent to June 30, 1992, the group ceilings shall 
not be recalculated on allowable costs, but shall be updated 
by the escalator factor. 

D. Prospective rates for each hospital shall be based upon 
the hospital's allowable costs plus the escalator factor, or the 
appropriate ceilings, or charges; whichever is lower. Except 

.to eliminate costs that are found to be unallowable, no 
retrospective adjustment shall be made to prospective rates. 
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Depreciation, capital interest, and education costs 
approved pursuant to PRM-t5 (§ 400), shall be considered 
as pass throughs and not part of the calculation. 

E. An incentive plan should be established whereby a 
hospital will be paid on a sliding scale, percentage for 
percentage, up to 25% of the difference between allowable 
operating costs and the appropriate per diem group ceiling 
when the operating costs are below the ceilings. The 
incentive should be calculated based on the annual cost 
report. 

The table below presents three examples under the new 
plan: 

Hospital's Difference Sliding Scale 
Group Allowable Cost %of Incentive% 
Ceiling Per Day $ Ceiling $ of Difference 

$230.00 $230.00 -0- -0- -0- -0-
230.00 207.00 23.00 10% 2.30 10% 
230.00 172.00 57.50 25% 14.38 25% 
230.00 143.00 76.00 33% 19.00 25% 

F. There will be special consideration for exception to the 
median operating cost limits in those instances where 
extensive neonatal care is provided. 

G. Disproportionate share hospitals defined. 

The following criteria shall be met before a hospital is 
determined to be eligible for a disproportionate share 
payment adjustment. 

1. Criteria. 

a. A Medicaid inpatient utilization rate in excess of 8% 
for hospitals receiving Medicaid payments in the 
Commonwealth, or a low-income patient utilization rate 
exceeding 25% (as defined in the Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1987 and as amended by the 
Medicare Catastrophic Coverage Act of 1988); and 

b. At least two obstetricians with staff privileges at the 
hospital who have agreed to provide obstetric services 
to individuals entitled to such services under a State 
Medicaid plan. In the case of a hospital located in a 
rural area (that is, an area outside of a Metropolitan 
Statistical Area, as defined by the Executive Office of 
Management and Budget), the term "obstetrician" 
includes any physician with staff privileges at the 
hospital to perform nonemergency obstetric 
procedures. 

c. S~;~bseetieR A.2 Subdivision 1 b of this subsection 
does not apply to a hospital: 

(1) At which the inpatients are predominantly 
individuals under 18 years of age; or 

(2) Which does not offer nonemergency obstetric 
services as of December 21, 1987. 

2. Payment adjustment. 

a. Hospitals which have a disproportionately higher 
level of Medicaid patients shall be allowed a 
disproportionate share payment adjustment based on 
the type of hospital and on the individual hospital's 

Medicaid utilization. There shall be two types of 
hospitals: (i) Type One, consisting of state-owned 
teaching hospitals, and (ii) Type Two, consisting of all 
other hospitals. The Medicaid utilization shall be 
determined by dividing the number of utilization 
Medicaid inpatient days by the total number of 
inpatient days. Each hospital with a Medicaid 
utilization of over 8.0% shall receive a disproportionate 
share payment adjustment. 

b. For Type One hospitals, the disproportionate share 
payment adjustment shall be equal to the product of 
(i) the hospital's Medicaid utilization in excess of 8.0%, 
times 11, times (ii) the lower of the prospective 
operating cost rate or ceiling. For Type Two hospitals, 
the disproportionate share payment adjustment shall 
be equal to the product of (i) the hospital's Medicaid 
utilization in excess of 8.0%, times (ii) the lower of the 
prospective operating cost rate or ceiling. 

c. No payments made under subdivision 1 or 2 of this 
subsection shall exceed any applicable limitations 
upon such payments established by federal law or 
regulations. 

H. Outlier adjustments. 

1. DMAS shall pay to all enrolled hospitals an outlier 
adjustment in payment amounts for medically necessary 
inpatient hospital services provided on or after July 1, 
1991, involving exceptionally high costs for individuals 
under one year of age. 

2. DMAS shall pay to disproportionate share hospitals 
(as defined in paragraph G above) an outlier adjustment 
in payment amounts for medically necessary inpatient 
hospital services provided on or after July 1, 1991, 
involving exceptionally high costs for individuals under 
six years of age. 

3. The outlier adjustment calculation. 

a. Each eligible hospital which desires to be 
considered for the adjustment shall submit a log which 
contains the information necessary to compute the 
mean of its Medicaid per diem operating cost of 
treating individuals identified in subdivision H 1 or 2 
above. This log shall contain all Medicaid claims for 
such individuals, including, but not limited to: (i) the 
patient's name and Medicaid identification number; (ii) 
dates of service; (iii) the remittance date paid; (iv) the 
number of covered days; and (v) total charges for the 
length of stay. Each hospital shall then calculate the 
per diem operating cost (which excludes capital and 
education) of treating such patients by multiplying the 
charge for each patient by the Medicaid operating 
cost-to-charge ratio determined from its annual cost 
report. 

b. Each eligible hospital shall calculate the mean of its 
Medicaid per diem operating cost of treating 
individuals identified in subdivision H 1 or 2 above. 
Any hospital which qualifies for the extensive neonatal 
care provision (as governed by paragraph F, above) 
shall calculate a separate mean for the cost of 
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providing extensive neonatal care to Individuals 
identified in subdivision H 1 or 2 above. 

c. Each eligible hospital shall calculate its threshold 
for payment of the adjustment, at a level equal to two 
and one-half standard deviations above the mean or 
means calculated ·,n subdivision H 3 (II) above. 

d. DMAS shall pay as an outlier adjustment to each 
eligible hospital all per diem operating costs which 
exceed the applicable threshold or thresholds for that 
hospital. 

4. Pursuant to 12 VAG 30-50-100, there is no limit on 
length of time for medically necessary stays for 
individuals under six years of age. This section provides 
that consistent with Ills EPSDT pre~m"' refe,eEite iR 42 
CFR 441.57, payment of medical assistance services 
shall be made on behalf of individuals under 21 years of 
age, who are Medicaid eligible, for medically necessary 
stays in acute care facilities in excess of 21 days per 
admission when such services are rendered lor the 
purpose of diagnosis and treatment of health conditions 
identified through a physical examination. Medical 
documentation justifying admission and the continued 
length of stay must be attached to or written on the 
invoice for review by medical staff to determine medical 
necessity. Medically unjustified days in such admissions 
will be denied. 

I. AU inclusive rate fer ene fiaJ' fFlatemity anfi newsem 
serAees. 

1. He8f3ila/s may ••elumar/iy pallieipale in a pr9f!J>'BR'1 (#le 
Heme Temen<JI'! P•'fl§·'Bm! whe.'BiR wemen whe have 
unoeFRfJiisaleri vaginal rieliveries rRBJ' be riieeflarge<l 
!rem the heS(3ita/ within 24 heurs ef euoh fiali>•e#ee. If 
P•"''•<'fiars efleese le pallieipate anri the patienle a.'B 
Eieterminec.l te be meriisaUy Sf3fl•"ef3riale le partie/pate, 
eeverage is prevleeri fer reutine iRf'a#ent serAees plus a 
eeFRfJrehens/1'8 heme health visit, inehlc.liRg a ffiatemal 
assessmeRt, a Reweem asse55FReRt, aRGI a Reme 
aeeesefFleRI. FieimeureemeRt fer the tela/ paelrage ef 
inpatient ami eutpatient eer.<ieee wi/1 13e a #xed per ease 
rate. The Heme Temer.'Bw paekage of eer.•iees ineluries 
ene flay ef iRf'a#ent eerAees an<l ene seFRfJFehenei'.'8 
heme \\'sit pre1<ic.lefi ••d#lin 48 hours ef riieeharge. Gases 
with leR[Jer .'<mgthe ef stay er where a heme ••ieit flees 
net eeeur within 48 heurs el wseflarge shaN net ee 
reimeurseri unrier the Heme Ternerrew p.'Bgraffi. These 
eases '//it! Be Fe!ml:u:~rseri at the Rerma.' per dlem 
reimbi-Jrsement rate. 

2. TFie Heme TemeF.'BW leta/ li!feci per ease .'alee in 
ef!eet !rem OGteeer 1, 19(}.§, threugh v'une :19, 1900, 
sl=iall9e: 

Ner#tom 'lfr§JiRia 
Fiest ef State 
Stale Teael>ing Hespilals 

TRese ameunts sf:la# lae eensifieretl te eeAstittJte 
reime!Jrsernent belil fer eperaUng an<l li;(<Jd eeeta. 
Di$f3repellienate share Fleepilal flB)'FRente aseeeiate<l 
witf:J these SBP/-iGes, if applisatJ!e, wiJl fJe r:eiFR/:J/;JtSefi 
upen year eR£1 eest setJ:Iement. 
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ueeri fer he8f3itale ••d#l Iissa/ JIBflfS'-8RIJiR!raH#aHiFFI8. 
(Reier te sul>see#en B of-this sestioA.) ] 

[ 12 VAC 30-80·115. Fee-for-service: Discharge 
Follow-up Visit for Mothers and Newboms. 

The early discharge follow-up visit for mothers and 
newborns covwed under the provisions of 12 VAG 30-50-220 
C shall be reimbursed at the tower of the state agency fee 
schedule or actual charges. Providers qualified for 
reimbursement of this service are those hospitals, physicians, 
nurse midwives, nurse practitioners, federally qualified health 
clinics, rural health clinics, and health department clinics that 
are enrolled as Medicaid providers and are qualified by the 
appropriate state authority for delivery of the service. The 
service shall be delivered either by the appropriate 
professional who is an employee of the participating provider 
or is under contract with the participating billing providers 
listed in this section. The staff providing the follow-up visit, at 
a minimum, shall be a registered nurse having training and 
experience in maternal and child health. ) 

Document lncoroorated by Reference 

Guidelines for Perinatal Care, ·1 992, American Academy of 
Pediatrics and the American College ol Obstetricians and 
Gynecologists. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R96-497; Filed ,July 17, i 996, 11:43 a.m. 

******** 

Title of Regulation: 12 VAG 30·120·7!1 el seq. Part II: 
Home and Community Based SeNices lor Technology 
Assisted Individuals (amending 12 VAG 30-120-70 
through 12 VAC 30·120-120; adding 12 VAG 30·120-115; 
repealing 12 VAG 30·120-130). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date: N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until October 4, 1996. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Basis and Authority: Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia 
grants to the Director of the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services (DMAS) the authority to administer and 
amend the Plan for Medical Assistance in lieu of board action 
pursuant to the board's requirements. Sections 9-6.14:7.1 
and 9-6.14:9.1 of the Administrative Process Act provide for 
this agency's promulgation ol proposed regulations subject to 
the Governor's review. 

Purpose: The purpose of this proposal is to amend the 
Technology Assisted Waiver Program to update the definition 
of those eligible to receive services and to conform the 
financial eligibility criteria to correspond to the current HCFA 
interpretation. 

·Summary and Analysis: The Technology Assisted Waiver 
Program provides home and community~based services (care 
coordination and private duty nursing) to recipients who are 
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dependent on a technology as a substitute for a vital function, 
e.g., ventilators, trachiostomies, and tube feedings. The 
waiver services allow the recipient to remain in the home 
rather than being institutionalized at an increased cost. The 
changes to the regulation allow DMAS to ensure that this 
service is only offered to persons who meet all criteria for 
service. This will allow DMAS to focus the available limited 
dollars to those most in need of home nursing and case 
management. 

There have been many changes in the administration of the 
Technology Assisted Waiver Program since the program 
began in 1988. The current regulations no longer accurately 
reflect the program which has been federally approved. 
Failure to re~contorm the agency's existing regulations to the 
current federally approved waiver policies will jeopardize the 
agency's standing in potential appeals and lawsuits. Without 
regulations which have been duly amended via the 
Administrative Process Act, the agency lacks the needed 
state authority to expend general funds dollars for these 
federally approved policy changes. 

A. Definition of Persons Eligible to Receive Services. One of 
the criteria used to determine eligibility for technology­
assisted waiver services is the need for substantial and 
ongoing skilled nursing. When waiver services are 
requested, it is relatively easy to determine if a child is 
dependent on a technology. However, deciding whether the 
child needs substantial and ongoing nursing care is currently 
being determined using subjective impressions. Decisions 
made with this method have been difficult to defend and may 
have resulted in recipients with similar conditions not being 
treated equally. Agency staff are often overturned during 
appeal hearings when the issue is whether a child needs 
substantial nursing care. The use of an objective scoring tool 
to determine if a recipient needs substantial and ongoing 
skilled nursing services will ensure that such requests are 
consistently evaluated. An objective method of measuring 
the need for nursing ensures that all recipients are treated 
equitably and decisions based on its use are easily defended 
during challenges. 

The Technology Assisted Waiver Program was originally 
developed for coverage of children under the age of 21. In 
1991, the technology assisted waiver was amended to allow 
persons who are eligible under the waiver prior to their 21st 
birthday to remain in the program and continue to receive 
services even after they turn 21, as long as they meet the 
medical and target population criteria. HCFA approved this 
change to the waiver; however, the regulations were never 
amended to reflect this change. Currently there are six 
persons over the age of 21 receiving waiver services under 
this waiver amendment. This regulatory change will bring the 
regulations into agreement with the waiver as HCFA has 
approved it. 

Although these regulations currently limit the services to 
persons under the age ol 21 at the time of program 
admission, there are frequent requests for home~based care 
for adults (those over the age of 21) who also meet all the 
waiver services criteria except the age requirement. These 
adults must, in the absence of home~based care, remain in 
an institutional setting. In August 1995, HCFA approved an 
additional amendment that allows persons over the age of 21. 

who are currently residing in a specialized care nursing 
facility, to be admitted to the technology assisted waiver 
when the cost of their home care is less than or equal to the 
cost of their continued care in the nursing facility. These 
changes will allow disabled adults to transfer to cost-effective, 
home-based services. For young adults, the opportunity to 
reside in the community rather than a nursing facility is 
desirable to maintain maximum function, participate in 
rehabilitative services, and become a productive adult 
member of society. 

Persons requesting waiver services must have resided in a 
nursing facility, or a higher level institution, reimbursed by 
Medicaid, for a minimum of 90 days prior to admission to 
waiver services. Citizens and advocacy groups have already 
expressed their concerns to DMAS about this requirement. 
By restricting this new eligible population to those currently in 
a specialized care nursing facility, Medicaid reimbursed home 
care will not be substituted for care currently being provided 
by community or family support systems. Meeting the 90-day 
requirement also ensures that the technology dependent 
patient meets the federal individual cost effectiveness 
standard. It is estimated that in the first year that this service 
is offered, eight adults will be admitted to waiver services. 

B. Financial Eligibility Criteria. In 1994, HCFA issued revised 
preprinted waiver form pages to the states. These wording 
changes have been incorporated into the proposed regulation 
package and do not affect the type or number of persons 
eligible to receive services through the waiver. 

Issues: 

A. Definition of Persons Eligible to Receive Services. The 
use of an objective system lor determining eligibility for the 
program is an advantage for providers and recipients. Based 
on clear, easily interpreted criteria, providers and the public 
will be able to easily determine if a potential recipient meets 
the criteria for services. This will avoid inappropriate referrals 
and allow physicians and other health care workers to 
appropriately plan for discharge. This is also an advantage to 
DMAS because it saves staff time by reducing the number of 
unnecessary assessments for services. During the trial 
period ol the objective scoring tool, there were no appeals of 
decisions to deny or terminate services because the child did 
not meet the criteria. Based on this experience, 
implementation of this system will also result in a significant 
savings to the agency in staff time needed lor participation in 
the appeals process. 

The policy to allow persons who were admitted to the waiver 
prior to their 21st birthday to continue receiving services after 
they turn 21 has been in place since 1991. Since that time 
there have been no issues arising from this programmatic 
change. However, without regulatory foundation, the six 
adults who are receiving services under this provision will 
have to be discharged from the program. Discharge lrorn the 
program would result in substantial negative reaction from 
nursing providers, physicians, hospitals, and advocacy 
groups, and would increase DMAS costs for coverage of 
these individuals for institutional care. 

The proposed changes in the regulation will improve the 
recipients and providers access to technology assisted 
waiver services. More recipients will be able to accesS 
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community based services at reduced cost to Medicaid 
thereby avoiding prolonged institutionalization. This Is a 
primary advantage for young technology dependent adults 
who oll1erwise would have to remain In nursing facilities away 
from educational or vocational opportunities. Several young 
adults currently in nursing homes are aware that this change 
has been requested and are anticipating discharge Into the 
community. Failure to change the regulation will result In 
these recipients having to remain in a nursing facility at 
increased cos! to Medicaid. 

B. Financial Eligibility Criteria. The revision of financial 
eligibility criteria to conform with HCFA's current 
interpretation does not a!lect providers or recipients. I! Is a 
wording change only and does not affect determination of 
eligibility. 

The agency projects no negative Issues Involved in 
Implementing these proposed changes. 

Fiscal/Budget lmgac!: There will be no negative financial 
impact on providers or recipients from these regulatory 
changes. There are no localities which are uniquely affected 
by these regulations as they apply statewide. 

A. Definition of Persons Eligible to Receive Services. The 
adoption of an objective scoring system to determine 
eligibility for these services will not financially impact 
providers or recipients. Recipients who are determined to be 
ineligible for services, would have been ineligible using the 
current subjective system. The objective system may 
generate small, yet undetermined, cost savings for DMAS 
which is expected to negate the need for additional staff in 
the future. 

Allowing recipients who began services prior to their 21st 
birthday to continue receiving services will have no fiscal 
impact because this change has been in place since 1991. 
The six adults currently receiving services under this 
provision are monitored to ensure their home-based care 
remains no more costly than institutional care. Any increased 
financial impact for DMAS has been included in budget 
projections since 1991. 

The addition of adults in nursing facilities to the target 
population for waiver services will be cost effective for DMAS. 
Adults will not be eligible for the program unless their home­
based care services will be no more costly than the cost of 
their care in a nursing facility. The agency currently 
estimates that eight adults will be added during the first year. 
Waiver related costs will be approximately $36,000 ($17,485 
GF; $18,515 NGF) per year for each recipient or $288,000 
($139,881 GF; $148,118 NGF) for FY '97. In comparison, the 
approximate cost of caring for these individuals in specialized 
care settings (which their medical needs require) is $10,358 
per month per individual or $124,296 total funds per year 
each for a total of $994,368 ($482,964 GF; $511,403 NGF) 
for FY '97. 

B. Financial Eligibility Criteria. If these changes are not 
implemented, Virginia's continued receipt of federal matching 
funds might be jeopardized. The agency's total expenditures 
for this program in the waiver year December 1, 1992, to 
November 30, 1993, were $5,877,100. 
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Department qf Plaonlog and Budget'§ Eoqngmlc Impact 
Analysl§; The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) 
has analyzed the economic Impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13 
(94). Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic 
Impact analyses Include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entitles to whom the 
regulation would apply; the Identity of any localities and types 
of businesses or other entitles particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the pmjected costs to affected businesses or 
entitles to implement or comply with the regulation, and the 
impact on the use and value of private property. The analysis 
presented below represents DPB's best estimate of these 
economic affects. 

Summary of the Proposed Regulation. The proposed 
regulation amends the current regulation governing the 
Technology Assisted Waiver Program. The Technology 
Assisted Waiver Program provides home-based and 
community-based services to patients who are dependent on 
a technology as a substitute for some vital function (e.g., 
ventilators, tube feedings, etc.). The primary amendments 
contained in the proposed regulation are as follows: 

1. Use of an objective scoring tool for determining 
whether a patient requires substantial and ongoing 
nursing services; 

2. Allowing persons who were eligible lor the program 
prior to their 21st birthday to remain in the program and 
continue to receive benefits after they turn 21, providing 
they continue to meet certain criteria; and 

3. Allowing persons over 21, who are residing in a 
specialized care nursing facility, to be admitted to the 
program if the cost of their home care would be less than 
the cost of their current care. 

Estimated Economic Impact 

Item 1. The use of an objective scoring tool to determine the 
need for substantial and ongoing nursing care will have at 
least two effects. First, it will simplify the process of making 
such decisions. The economic consequence of this effect is 
likely to be a reduction in agency resource requirements. 
Insufficient information exists at this time to quantify the exact 
magnitude of this reduction, however. 

Second, the use of an objective scoring tool will reduce the 
uncertainly associated with the determination process and, 
thereby, reduce the likelihood that agency determinations will 
be appealed. The economic consequence of this effect is a 
likely reduction in the legal and other expenses associated 
with the appeals process. DMAS reports that in the past 
approximately three to four decisions were appealed per 
year, and each appeal involved roughly ten hours of staff time 
in addition to litigation costs, which are highly variable. It is 
probable that objective scoring will reduce these expenses in 
the future. It is currently not possible to know the exact 
magnitude of this reduction, however. 

Items 2 and 3. Adults are not eligible for the waiver program 
unless the cost of their home care is less than the cost of 
their care in an institutional facility. As a result, the addition 
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of these individuals to the program can only reduce medical 
costs by providing cost-effective alternatives to institutional 
care. DMAS estimates that overall medical expenditures will 
be reduced by roughly $88,300 for each adult who qualifies to 
enter the waiver program. 

Businesses and Entities Particularly Affected. The proposed 
regulation particularly affects medical care facilities and 
individuals eligible for the Technology Assisted Waiver 
Program. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities are particularly 
affected by the proposed regulation. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 
is not anticipated to have a significant effect on employment. 

Affects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed regulation is not anticipated to have a significant 
effect on the use and value of private property. 

Summary of Analysis. The proposed regulation amends the 
current regulation governing the Technology Assisted Waiver 
Program to: (i) require the use of an objective scoring tool in 
determining the need for substantial and ongoing nursing 
services, and (ii) allow the individuals over 21 to qualify for 
the program under certain conditions. These amendments 
are expected to have two primary economic effects: (i) 
reduce agency resource requirements, and (ii) reduce 
medical expenditures. 

Agency's Response to Department of Planning and Budget's 
Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs with the 
economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 
Planning and Budget regarding the regulations concerning 
Home and Community Based Care Services for Technology 
Assisted Individuals. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) provide for the use of an 
objective scoring tool for determining whether a patient 
requires substantial and ongoing nursing services; (ii) 
allow persons who were eligible for the program prior to 
their 21st bitthday to remain in the program and continue 
to receive benefits after they turn 21 providing they 
continue to meet certain criteria; and (iii) allow persons 
over 21 who are residing in a specialized care nursing 
facility to be admitted to the program if the cost of their 
home care would be less than the cost of their current 
care. 

12 VAC 30-120-70. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in #lese 
FG§YialieRs this patt, shall have the following meanings 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

''Activities of daily living (ADL)'" means personal care tasks, 
i.e., bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, bowel/bladder 
control, and eating/feeding. A person's degree of 
independence in performing these activities is a part of 
determining appropriate level of care and services. 

"Congregate private duty nursing" means nursing provided 
to two or more recipients in a group setting. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services. 

"Health care coordinator" means the health sam 
~mfessieRal aesigRatea by toe ~Feviaer seRtrasteEl with 
DMAS to pelimFR health care coortliRatioR as registered 
nurse who is responsible for ensuring that the assessment, 
care planning, monitoring, and review activities as required 
by DMAS are accomplished. This individual may be either an 
employee of DMAS or a DMAS contractor. 

"Health care coordination" means a comprehensive needs 
assessment, determination of cost effectiveness, and the 
coordination of the service efforts of multiple providers in 
order to avoid duplication of services and to ensure the 
individual's access to and receipt of needed services. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living (IADL)'" means social 
tasks, i.e., meal preparation, shopping, housekeeping, 
laundry, money management. A person's degree of 
independence in performing these activities is a part of 
determining appropriate level of care and services. Meal 
preparation is planning, preparing, cooking and serving food. 
Shopping is getting to and from the store, obtaining/paying 
for groceries and carrying them home. Housekeeping is 
dusting. washing dishes, making beds, vacuuming, cleaning 
floors, and cleaning kitchen/bathroom. Laundry is 
washing/drying clothes. Money management is paying bills, 
writing checks, handling cash transactions, and making 
change. 

"Medical equipment and supplies" means those articles 
prescribed by the attending physician, generally recognized 
by the medical community as serving a diagnostic or 
therapeutic purpose and as being a medically necessary 
element of the home care plan. Items covered are medically 
necessary equipment and supplies needed to assist the 
individual in the home environment, without regard to whether 
those Rot alroaGy available l:IREior otRor seP!ises items are 
covered by the Plan. 

"Objective Scoring Criteria" means the evaluative tool to be 
used to determine the appropriateness for an individual's 
admission to these services. 

"Personal assistance" means care provided by an aide or 
respiratory therapist trained in the provision of assistance 
with ADLs or IADLs. 

"Plan of care" means the written plan of services and 
supplies certified by the attending physician needed by the 
individual to ensure optimal health and safety for an extended 
period of time. 

"Primary caregiver" means either a family member or other 
person who takes primary responsibility for providing 
personal care, assistance with ADLs or /ADLs or both, and 
other care needs the recipient is unable to provide for 
himself. 

"Private duty nursing" means individual and continuous 
nursing care provided by a registered nurse or a licensed 
practical nurse under the supervision of a registered nurse. 

"Providers" means those individuals or facilities registered, 
licensed, or certified, or both, as appropriate, and enrolled by 
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DMAS to render services to Medicaid recipients eligible for 
services. 

"Respite care services" means temporary skilled nursing 
services designed to relieve the famHy of the care of the 
technology assisted individual (up to age 21) for a short 
period or periods of time (a maximum of 15 days per year or 
360 hours per 12-month period). Respite care shall be 
provided in the home of the individual's family or caretaker. 

11Routine respiratory therapy" means services that can be 
provided on a regularly scheduled basis. Therapy 
interventions may include: (i) monitoring of oxygen in blood; 
(ii) evaluation of pulmonary functioning; and (iii) maintenance 
of respiratory equipment. 

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "the Plan" means 
the document containing the covered groups, covered 
services and their limitations, and provider reimbursement 
methodologies as provided for under Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act. 

"Technology assisted" means any s~Ha, yeYAger t~aA 21 
yeafS individual, defined as chronically ill or severely 
impaired w~ese iiiAess er eisability weYie, iA t~e abseRse sf 
ReFRe sam servises, prooipitate aEimissien te er proleng that 
s~ile's stay iA a ~espital, AYFSiA§ fasility, er et~er leA§ term 
sare fasHity. T~is iAeivieyal mYst Aeee who needs both a 
medical device to compensate for the loss of a vital body 
function and substantial and ongoing skilled nursing care to 
avert death or further disability. The tee~Aelegy assistee 
ehHa s~all iAeiYae eRe er mere ef the fellewiA§ eategeries: 
and whose illness or disability would, in the absence of 
services approved under this waiver require admission to or 
prolonged stay in a hospital, nursing facility, or other medical 
long-term care facilfty. 

1. C~iiSFBA aepeASeAt at least paFt sf eaeh say SA 
mee~aAieal veAtilaters. 

2. ChilareA re~YiriA§ preleAgea iAtraveAeYs 
aEiminlstmtien of n~:~tritienal c~;;~l3stanoes er EfH:l§S. 

a. Chil<lreA ~aviA§ aaily aepeA9eAS8 8A ether aevise 
bases respiratory er AYtritieAal sYppert, iAeiY<liAg 
traoRoostemy t~:~l3e sam, s~:~otiening, exygon sttppeFt, or 
1Ybe fee<liA§. 

12 VAC 30-120-80. Ce'.'erage statemeAI. General 
coverage and requirements for technology assisted 
waiver services. 

A. Coverage statement. 

1. Coverage shall be provided under the administration 
of DMAS for certain technology assisted individuals HjHe 
the age ef 21 who would otherwise remain in hospitals 
(for individuals under 21) or specialized ccire nursing 
facilities (for those over 21) for which Medicaid 
reimbursement would be made. 

g., 2. The objective of this waiver is to provide for 
medically appropriate and cost-effective coverage of 
services necessary to maintain these individuals in the 
community. 
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G., 3. Coverage shall not be provided lor these services 
in board and care facilities or adult care residences. 

D. Cevera§e shall se ~revi<JeEf fer private rMy ""'SiR§, 
•es~ite ears, ""tritieRal ""~plemeRis (AeRiegeREI er"§s) aRE! 
meaieal ""~plies aA<l "~"i~meAt Ael el~eF\'/Ise avarlasle 
YA<ler the State PlaA. All """~ serviees shall be severe a eAiy 
iA t~e iA9ivi9Yal'e ~eme. 

B. Patient qualifications. A Medicaid eligible technology 
assisted individual shalf be eligible for services if he meets 
the following requirements: 

1. The technology assisted individual shalf be 
determined to need a medical device when the individual 
meets one or more of the foJ/owing categories: 

a. Individuals depending at least part of each day on 
mechanical ventilators. 

b. Individuals requiring prolonged intravenous 
administration of nutritional substances or drugs. 

c. Individuals having daily dependence on other 
device-based respiratory or nutritional support, 
including tracheostomy tube care, oxygen support, or 
tube feeding. 

2. The individual's attending physician must certify the 
individual's need for this level of care. 

3. In addition to the medical needs identified in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection, the technology assisted 
individual shalf be determined to need substantial and 
ongoing skilled nursing care. This determination shalf be 
made using an objective tool approved by DMAS. The 
recipient shall be required to meet a minimum standard 
an the Objective Scoring Criteria to be eligible to be 
admitted to technology assisted waiver services. 

4. In addition to the medical needs identified in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection, Medicaid eligible 
individuals younger than 21 shalf be admitted to this 
service only if the anticipated cost to Medicaid of home 
care will be less than the cast to Medicaid of the 
individual in a hospital or nursing facility. 

5. In addition to the medical needs identified in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection, Medicaid eligible 
individuals alder than 21 must enter this service from a 
specialized nursing facility or other comparable or higher 
level of care Medicaid-reimbursed institution when it is 
determined that the individual will require care from that 
institution for an extended period of time or would be 
transferred to a specialized nursing facility for that level 
of care, or both. Such other comparable Medicaid 
reimbursed institution could be a general acute care 
hospital, an inpatient rehabilitation hospital, or other 
subacute setting. Before this individual can be approved 
tor this community-based Medicaid reimbursed service, 
the individual must have been residing at the facility for a 
minimum of 90 days. At least a portion of the cost for 
each of the 90 days must have been reimbursed by 
Medicaid. If the recipient has been in the facility for more 
than 90 days at the time of the request for waiver 
services, at least a portion of the cost for ·each of these 
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days in the most recent 90-day period must have been 
paid by Medicaid. An individual older than 21 shall be 
admitted to this waiver service only if the anticipated cost 
to Medicaid of his home care will be less than the current 
average cost of care in a specialized nursing facility. 

6. If a person is over age 21 and already a waiver 
recipient and requires admission to a nursing facility or 
rehabilitation hospital for more than 30 days but less 
than 90 days, the recipient will be discharged from the 
waiver. To be readmitted to the waiver services, the 
recipient must be assessed to determine that the 
recipient currently meets the specialized nursing facility 
and waiver criteria. If these criteria are met, the recipient 
shall be readmitted to waiver services without having to 
first be admitted to a specialized care bed for 90 days. 

7. If a recipient over age 21 is discharged from the 
waiver for any reason other than admission to a 
specialized nursing facility or other comparable or higher 
level of care for more than 90 days, the recipient must be 
admitted to a specialized care facility level of care for at 
least 90 days before the recipient can be readmitted to 

· the waiver in order to ensure that community care being 
provided by other sources is not supplanted by Medicaid 
reimbursed care. 

8. The individual shalf have a live-in primary caregiver 
who accepts responsibility for the individual's health and 
welfare or the individual shall be over the age of 21 and 
share a home with one or more other waiver recipients. 

9. These services shalf not be available to individuals 
while an inpatient in general acute care hospitals, skilled 
nursing facilities, intermediate care facilities, ·or 
intermediate care facilities for the mentally retarded. 

10. Any Individual, regardless of age, who reqwres 
admission to any type of medical care facility for fewer 
than 30 days shall again be eligible for waiver services 
upon discharge from the facility so long as all other 
requirements continue to be met. 

C. Patient eligibility requirements. 

1. Individuals receiving services under this waiver must 
be eligible under one of the following eligibility groups: 
ADC and AFDC-re/ated recipients, SSt and SSt-related 
recipients, aged, blind or disabled recipients eligible 
under 42 CFR 435.121, and the special home and 
community-based waiver group at 42 CFR 435.217 
which includes individuals who are eligible under the 
State Plan if they were institutionalized. The income 
level used for the special home and community-based 
waiver group at 42 CFR 435.217 is 300% of the current 
Supplemental Security Income payment standard for one 
person. Medically needy individuals are eligible if they 
meet the medically needy financial requirements for 
income and resources. 

2. Under this waivered service, the coverage groups 
authorized under § 1902(a}(10)(C}(i)(lll) of the Social 
Security Act (42 USC§ 1396a(a}(10)) will be considered 
as if they were institutionalized for the purpose of 
applying institutional deeming rules. All recipients under 

the waiver must meet the financial and nonfinancial 
Medicaid eligibility criteria and be Medicaid eligible in an 
institution. The deeming rules are applied to waiver 
eligible individuals as if the individuals were residing in 
an institution or would require that level of care. 

3. Virginia shall reduce its payment lor home and 
community-based services provided for an individual by 
that amount of the individual's total income (including 
amounts disregarded in determining eligibility) that 
remains after allowable deductions for personal 
maintenance needs, deductions for other dependents 
and medical needs have been made according to the 
requirements in 42 CFR 435.726. 

4. Individuals who are eligible for third party payment for 
the alternative institutional services shall not be eligible 
for these waivered services. If an individual or their 
legally responsible party voluntarily cancels enrollment in 
any insurance plan which would have provided coverage 
for institutional services in order to become eligible for 
waiver services, eligibility for the waiver shall be denied. 

12 VAC 30-120-90. Covered services and provider 
requirements. 

A. Private duty nursing service shall be covered for 
individuals "P Ia \he ago ef 21 q"alilieEI lor enrolled in the 
technology assisted waiver services. This service shall be 
provided <>Aly through either a home health agency licensed 
or certified by the Virginia Department of Health for Medicaid 
participation, and with which DMAS has a contract for private 
duty nursing or a day care center licensed by the Virginia 
Department of Social Services which employs registered 
nurses and is enrolled by DMAS to provide congregate 
private duty nursing. At a minimum, the private duty nurse 
shall either be a licensed practical nurse or a registered 
nurse with a current and valid license issued by the Virginia 
State Board of Nursing. 

1. For individuals under 21, during the first 30 days after 
the individual's admission to the waiver service, private 
duty nursing is covered for 24 hours per day if needed 
and appropriate to assist the family in adjustment to the 
care associated with technology assistance. After 30 
days, private duty nursing shall be reimbursed for a 
maximum of 16 hours per 24-hour period. The 
department may grant individual exceptions, not to 
exceed 30 total days per annum, to these maximum 
limits based on documented emergency needs of the 
individual and ceRtiRued aggregate the case, without 
inclusion of additional emergency costs, which continue 
to meet requirements for cost effectiveness of 
community services. 

2. If the individual is woaRe9 from no longer dependent 
upon the technology, reimbursement may be available 
for private duty nursing for a ma><im~m ef 16 ~e~rs the 
number of hours previously approved in the plan of care 
per 24·hour period not to exceed two weeks from the 
date the attending physician certifies the cessation of 
technology assistance. 
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3. The hours of private duty nursing approved for 
coverage shall be limited by medical necessity and cost 
effectiveness. 

4. Congregate private duty nursing shall be limited to a 
maximum ratio of one private duty nurse to two adult 
waiver recipients except when two or more waiver 
recipients share a home where ratios will be determined 
by the combined needs of the residents. 

B. Respite care service shall be covered for individuals "'' 
te l~e a§e ef 21 who are qualified for technology assisted 
waiver services and who have a primary caregiver, other than 
the provider, who requires relief from the burden of 
caregiving. This service shall be provided by skilled nursing 
staff (registered nurse or licensed practical nurse licensed to 
practice in the Commonwealth) under the direct supervision 
of a home health agency licensed or certified by the Virginia 
Department of Health for Medicaid participation and with 
which DMAS has a contract to provide private duty nursing. 

C. Durable medical equipment and supplies Asl el~eFWise 
ee\•erea iA l~e State PlaA shall be provided for individuals 
qualified for technology services. This service shall be 
provided by persons qualified to render it. 

1. Durable medical equipment and supplies shall be 
necessary to maintain the individual in the home 
environment. 

a. Medical equipment and supplies shall be 
prescribed by the attending physician and included in 
the plan of care, and sAall must be generally 
recognized as serving a diagnostic or therapeutic 
purpose and being medically necessary for the home 
care of the individual. 

b. Vendors of durable medical equipment and 
supplies related to the technology upon which the 
individual is dependent shall have a contract with 
DMAS to provide services. 

c. In addition to providing the ventilator or other 
respiratory-deviced support and associated equipment 
and supplies, the vendor providing the ventilator shall 
ensure the following: 

(1) 24 hour on-call for emergency services; 

(2) Technicians to make regularly scheduled 
maintenance visits at least every +a 30 days and 
more often if called; 

(3) Replacement or repair of equipment and 
supplies as required; and 

(4) Respiratory therapist registered or certified with 
the National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC) on­
call 24 hours per day and stationed within two hours 
of the individual's home to facilitate immediate 
response. The respiratory therapist shall be 
available for routine respiratory therapy as well as 
emergency care. In the event that the Department 
of Health Professions implements through state law 
a regulation requiring registration, certification or 
licensure for respiratory therapists to practice in the 
Commonwealth, DMAS shall require all respiratory 
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therapists providing services to this technology 
assisted population to be duly registered, licensed or 
certified. 

2. Medical equipment and supplies include: 

a. All durable medical equipment and supplies which 
are covered under the State Plan. See t!ole attashFAeAt 
listiA§ fer s~eeifis iteFAs whieR are se"ered. and those 
medical equipment and supplies, including such items 
which may be defined as assistive technology and 
environmental modifications which are not covered 
under the State Plan but are medically necessary and 
cost effective for the individual's maintenance in the 
community; and 

b. A~Aea meA iter Nutritional supplements. 

D. NctritieAal scp~leFAeRis (AeRIS§BAd dregs) shall ~e 
severes fer these iAdivia~als fer wheFA IM ~~ysisiaA has 
9otormino9 tRat tRoso are me9ieally neeessary anEI wRo are 
reseivin§ etRer waiver services. Personal assistance 
services shall be covered for individuals over the age of 21 
who require some assistance with activities of daily living and 
instrumental activities of daily living but do not require and 
are able to do without skilled interventions during portions of 
their day or are able to self perform or direct their skilled care 
needs during the period when personal assistance would be 
provided. This service shall be provided by durable medical 
equipment agencies contracted with DMAS. 

12 VAC 30·120-100. Provider reimbursement. 

A. All private duty nursing services shall be reimbursed at 
an hourly negotiated fee. 

B. Respite care shall be reimbursed at an hourly 
negotiated fee. 

C. Prior approval for durable medical equipment and 
supplies shall be requested from DMAS by the durable 
medical equipment provider. The request must be submitted 
to the health care coordinator. Prior approval by DMAS shall 
be required for all durable medical equipment and other 
medically related supplies furnished under this program 
before the individual's admission to waiver serv'1ces and 
before reimbursement. If additional equipment and supplies 
are needed following the individual's admission to waiver 
services, the 1-iealth Care Geersiealer shall durable medical 
equipment provider must obtain DMAS' prior approval. This 
prior authorization requirement shall apply to all durable 
medical equipment and supplies that are covered under the 
State Plan or the waiver. 

D. Prier a~~reval by DMAS shall l>e re~cimd fer A~tritieAal 
scp~lemeAts fcFAishea cAder this pregraFA before t~e 

\Atliv\t;h,:~a"s admission to walvor services ana before 
roimbur:somont. If nutritional sr:JpplomoAts are noe8o8 
fellewiA§ the iAElividual's admissieA te waiver servises, t~e 

~ealth sara seerEJiAater FACSt eetaiR DMAS' ap~reval. 
Personal assistance shall be reimbursed at an hourly 
negotiated tee. 

Monday, August 5, 1996 

3119 



Proposed Regulations 

12 VAC 30·120·11 0. Patient EJYalillsalieFI and eligibility 
requlreme111s. Assessment and plan of care 
requirements. 

A. Meeisai~ eli§ible iAEiiviaHals, yeHA§BF tAaA 21, SAall be 
efllitloG to tl1is seFviee aaseEI eR tAo aRtisif')atea sest to 
MeEiisaiEI sf 11omo sam eoiR§ less teaR tl1e aRtisi~ateEI sest to 
MeaieaiEI of tl1e iAt:li"liaual remaiAiAg iR IRe Aespital aREI 
basea OR seRtiAueEI a§gre§ate east ellestiveAess of 
oommi:IRity serviees. 

El. TAe iRaiviaHal shall eave a live iA primary sare §iver 
woe assepts resf30Rsibility fer tfle iAEih•iEIYal's flealtR aAEI 
welfare. 

C. These seFviees sAall net ee availallle to iREiivieuals 
reseiviRg eare iR geReral asYte sara Aespitals, sl<illee AYrsiA§ 
fasilities, iRtermeaiate sara fasilities, er iAtormeEiiate saf8 
fasilities fer IRe moRtally retar<leEI. 

0. Vir§iRia will apf')ly tee fiRaAeial eli§ieility srite~a 
seAtaiAeEI iR tAo State PlaR fer toe sate§erisally eeeEiy aR<l 
the meelisally Reeely. 'lif\liRia eas elestea to SO\"OF IRe 
eptieAal sate§erisally Ree<ly greHp HREier 42 C~R 436.211, 
436.231 aRe 426.217. The iAeeme level wseEI fer 436.211, 
436.231 anEI 436.217 is 3GQ% of tAe eYrreAI SY~~Iemental 
SesYrity IAOeme 13aymeAt staAEiare fer eRe person. 

1. UREier IRis waiver. the severage groups aYtAerizeEI 
YAaer § 19G2(a)(1 G)(A)(ii)(VI) ef t11e Sesial Sesyrity Ast 
will ~e sensiEiareEI as if tAey were instiMienalized fer IRe 
f'Yrpese of a~13lying institHtienal <leemiR§ rYies. 1\11 
resipieAts YR<ler IRe waiver mYst meet tee fiRaRsial aeEI 
neAfinansial MeeisaiEI eligieility sriteria anEI eo Me<lisaia 
eligiele in an instiMien. Tee asemiA§ rYies are af')pliea 
te waiver eligillle in<liviEIYals as if lAs ineiviaYals were 
resieiRg in an iRstiMien or weHie reqyire IAat level of 
Gal'&. 

2. ViFginia SAall reaYse its ~ayment fer Rome aRe 
semmHnity 13aseEI servises previ<lea to aR inEiivieyal WAe 
is eli§iele fer Meeisaia servises HA<ler 42 CFR 43§.217 
ey teat ameHRl of IRS iRaiviEIYal's total iRseme (inSIYding 
ameYnts eisregaraea ie eetermiAiR§ eli§ieility) teat 
remains alter allewaele EledYstieRs fer j>Orsenal 
mainteAanse AeeEis, Elet:lYstiees fer etAer Ele»eREients, 
aREI meaisal Aeeds Rave eeen maEie, asserEiiR§ te IRe 
gYiEieliees iR 42 C~R 436.738 anEI § 191 a(s)(3) of IRe 
Sesial Sesyrity Ast as ameR<leEI ey IRe CenseliEiata<l 
Omni~Hs E!YO§Ot ResensiliatieR Ast sf 198e. OMAS will 
reEIHse its 13ayment fer Aeme aREI semmHRily eased 
waiver servises ey IRe amsHRt teat remains after 
<ledYsting IRe lollewing amoYA!s ie lAo follewieg order 
frem tl=lo individldal's inseFAe: 

a. Fer inaiviEIHals to WAem § 1924(EI) aj>j>lies, Vir§inia 
intends to waive tee reqYirement fer sem~araeility 

f3YFSYaRt Is§ 192G(a)(1Q)(E!). to allow fer !Ae lellewiAg: 

(1) AR ameYnt fer IRe maiRteAaRse Ree<ls of tee 
inaiviEIYal whiso is eqHal Is tee sategerisally neeEiy 
income stan9ard fer a naninstit~::~tienallzod individl:4al. 

(2) Fer an individHal with eRiy a speHse at heme. tee 
semm~:~nity EJ3Gusal iRseme allewanse EieterFRiAed in 

asseraaRse witA § 1924(8) of the Seoial SesYrily 
A<;!, 

(3) .~ar aR ineliviElHal with a family at eame, an 
a4<litianal ameHnt for tho maintenanse ROods of tho 
family eeterminea in asserEianse with § 1921(8) of 
the Ssoial SesYrity As!. 

(4) ,•,me~nt fer ineHrree e><pensee fer meeieal or 
remeEiial sara !Rat are net subjset to payment by a 
third party insiYsin§ MeaisaFe ana eti'ler Realth 
h=!GidF8t=l68 flFeffiibiFAS, EIOdi;!Sti91os, SF GOiASI::Jrane& 

eRar§es ana nesessary modisal er romoEiial sara 
rese§nizeEI YReiOr stale law SH! GOVOFOEi HRGer-!Ae 
!>laA, 

e. Fer all ether iRdividHals: 

(1) An ameunt fer !As maintenanee noose of the 
inEiiviEIYal whish is e~Hal to the eata§srisally nee8y 
inseme slanEiare for a neninsti!Ytienalizod ineiviaHal. 

(2) ~er aR individHal witA a family at i'leme, an 
aaaitienal ameYn! for the maintenanse Reeds of tAB 
family wAiGA shall be e~Hal te the medisally neoEiy 
iAseme standard fer a famil)' of the same size. 

(3) AmeHAis fer insHrred expenses fer meEiisal or 
remedial sara teat are Ret sYejest to paymeet t>y a 
!AirEl party iRsi"EiiR§ Mesisare ami steer Aealth 
iASHF3Aso f3Femil::lms, Se9~:Jsti91es, er seiASUfD:Ase 
sl=lar€Jes aAEI Aesessary' mo9ieal or mmeSial sare 
rese§Aized YREier state law ilul severee YnEler the 
state MeEiisal AssistaRse Plan. 

6. Assessment ana PlaA el Care fe'J"irements. 

+. A. The initial assessment and development of the plan 
of care shall be conducted by a mYI!idissiplinaty team. The 
team sAall insiHae an attending physician, a ""rse, anEI a 
sesial werl<er and a health care coordinator. 

e., 1. The f')Aysisial physician shall be currently certified 
by the Board of Medicine and have a currently valid 
license to practice medicine in the Commonwealth" The 
physician shall have experience in the needs and care of 
technology assisted persons and the needs of children if 
the individual being admitted to waiver services is a 
child. 

b. 2. The nYrse soall health care coordinator must be a 
regislere<l nYrse currently and validly licensed to practice 
nursing in the Commonwealth" The nurse shall have 
experience in the needs and care of technology assisted 
persons and the needs of children if the individual being 
admitted to waiver services is a child. 

o. The sesial worker shall Rave a ffiaster's degree in 
social werl<. The seeial worker shall have m<J30rionoe 
in IRe Reeds and sare of tesAAele§y assisterJ r>ersens 
aRt:l IRe As eEls ef shilt:lren" 

4 3. Other specialists who are currently and validly 
licensed, registered or certified to practice their 
specialities within the Commonwealth may participate in 
the assessment and care planning process. These other 
specialists shall have experience in the needs and care 
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of technology assisted persons and the needs of children 
if the person being admitted to waiver services is a child. 

&. 4. The health care coordinator is shall be responsible 
for _en~uring that the assessment, care planning, 
momtonng, and review activities required by DMAS are 
accomplished and documented consistent with DMAS' 
requirements. Ti'le FlealtA CaFS Ceerdinater si'lall 9e 
either a nt:Jrse or a sosial worl<er R4eeting tl=le 
FOEfl:Jirements of sttBEiivicion 8 or s al3ovo. 

:2-, B. Referral for waiver so !Vices and assessment. 

a, I. For individuals under age 21, a service referral may 
originate from either the clinical staff in the hospital 
where the individual is located or from toe elinieal staff a 
health care professional in the community where the 
individual is receiving non-Medicaid funded home and 
community-based services. For individuals over age 21, 
the referral may originate from the discharge planning 
staff in the nursing facility where the individual resides or 
from persons in the community who are aware of the 
needs of the individual. 

& 2. The health care coordinator shall meet witR ti'le 
family and FSpFSsentati"SS ef tAe elinieal patient ears 
team to f3FOiiminarily assess tAo inEiivi8blal's nae8s. first 
determine that Medicaid would be the source of payment 
for the individual's institutional care if waiver services are 
not available. An individual for whom third party 
payment is available for the alternative institutional care 
is not eligible for the waiver service nor is an individual 
whose insurance has been voluntarily dropped in 
anticipation of waiver application and an assessment for 
waiver services is not to be completed. 

&.- 3. Upon receiving parental or §l::lardian consent from 
the adult individual (or a parent or guardian in the case 
of a child) to explore the possibility of home care, the 
health care coordinator shall arrange for the assessment 
process for waiver services. The initial assessment and 
development of the plan of care for a potential waiver 
participant will shall be conducted by the health care 
ooordination A=ll::lltidissiplinaF)' to am coordinator. 

4 4. At the time of assessment, certification from the 
attending physician that the individual would otherwise 
require_ continued acute care or skilled nursing facility 
care will shall be necessary to continue the assessment 
process. 

e. If toe pi'lysisian eeFtifies toe need fer ears and if tAe 
family ~esires eemm"nity based ears, toe FlealtR Care 
Coordinator sl=tall sontinl::le tho assessment presses. 
Toe FlealtR Care CeerEiinater si'lall peflerm a i'leme 
visit to ensl:lro SI:Jitability of tl=te homo onvimnment for 
toe indiviEI"al's plaeement. Cene"rrently, tAe FlealtA 
Cam Coer9inator or sesial wor\wr of tho 
ml:llti9issiplinary team sRall sonEf~::~st a faFRily 
aSSOSSFFIORt tO ORSI::lFO tho family's williR§AOSS and 
aeility te paFtieipate in i'leme eare. CensiEieratien si'lall 
also 9e given te toe m<teAt ef family and eemm"nity 
s"ppeFt available te meet toe ears neeos ef ti'le 
teei'lnelegy assisted individ"al. 
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5. Upon the completion of the assessment process the 
health care coordinator shall make a determination of the 
need for substantial and ongoing skilled nursing care. 
This determination will be made using ar. objective tool 
approved by DMAS. For admission to or continuation in 
the technology assisted waiver program, the recipient will 
be required to meet a score of 50 or more on the 
Objective Scoring Criteria form. 

3., C. Development of the plan of care. 

a, 1. Upon completion of the medisal'n~:~rsingtft:Jnstional 
assossFAent anEf the family and Rome assessment, 
required assessments and a determination that the 
individual needs substantial and ongoing skilled nursing 
care, the plan of care is developed by the health care 
coordinator. 

& 2. At minimum, the plan of care shall include: 

0-) a. A statement of the appropriateness of the home 
in which the individual is to be placed. 

f2t b. Identification of the type, frequency, and amount 
of nursing care and personal assistance needed. This 
shall include the name of the provider agency, whether 
the nurse is an RN or an LPN, and verification that the 
nurse is licensed to practice in the Commonwealth and 
the professional qualifications of the personnel 
required to provide personal assistance. This shall 
also contain documentation that the health care 
coordinator has verified that the provider agency is an 
enrolled provider with DMAS to provide sl<illed n~rsing 
the appropriate waiver services for tflis pep"latien the 
individual. 

· tal c. Identification of all other services that are 
needed for the individual to be maintained in the 
home. The statement shall include, as appropriate, 
speech therapy, occupational therapy, physical 
therapy, transportation, physician services, the 
frequency and amount of service needed, the provider 
of the service, and the payment source. 

{4) d. A complete list of equipment and supply needs, 
and identification of the provider and source of 
payment. 

tal e. Identification of the type, frequency, and amount 
of care that the family or other informal care givers 
shall provide. 

(6) ldentifieatien ef the antisipaled "tilizatien sf 
respite ears duriAg toe 12 mentA peried alter 
admission to tho waiver servisos. 

f7) f. Other referrals for assessment for services (as 
needed and appropriate) to include but not be limited 
to the school system; Women, Infants, and Children 
Program (WIG); child development clinic services; and 
Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 
Treatment Program (EPSDT) services. 

t8) g. Identification of the primary care physician in 
the community who has agreed to Mlew manage the 
medical care of the individual in the community. 
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~ h. The appropriateness of the medical care, 
Including a statement from lAe- m~ltlaissl~liRar;· team 
as wall as the individual's primary care physician, to be 
signed by the legally responsible adult, attesting that 
the medical care the Individual Is to receive in the 
home is agreed to by the legally responsible adult 8M 
Is a~~·e~Fiate iR t~e a~iRieR ef all iAvelveel ~aflies and 
all others involved In the assessment process referred 
to in this section. 

4, D. Cost effectiveness computations. 

a. nasa 1. Cost effectiveness computations shall be 
completed by the health care coordinator upon 
completion of the plan of care for any individual entering 
the waiver. 

a, 2. For individuals over 21, the health care coordinator 
shall be required to document the anticipated cost to 
DMAS for the individual's waiver services for a .:j.g one­
month period. The health care coordinator shall then 
compare WAS DMAS' costs for the waiver to 
aAtlsi~ate~ the average costs to DMAS for seRtiR~ea 

. l1espitali2atieR ef specialized nursing facility care for the 
Individual. 

3. For individuals under 21, the health care coordinator 
shall be required to document the anticipated cost to 
DMAS for the Individual's waiver services for a one­
month period. The health care coordinator shall then 
compare DMAS' costs for the waiver to the average 
costs to DMAS for continued hospitalization of the 
individual. 

&, E. Patient selection of waiver services. 

a, 1. When the determination that the individual's needs 
can appropriately and cost-effectively be met in the 
community with these waiver services, the health care 
coordinator shall give the le§ally respeRsillle paFty aAd 
IRe pFimaPJ sara §iver, if separate pe•saRs, adult 
individual or the parent or guardian of a child the choice 
of waiver services or 11espilalizatieA institutionalization. 

a, 2. If waiver services are chosen, the applicant or his 
legally responsible paf!J' aREi the pFimaf)' sara §il'er, if 
separate parseRs, adult will also be given the opportunity 
to choose the providers of service, if more than one 
provider is available to render the services. If more than 
one waiver recipient will reside in the home, one waiver 
provider shall be chosen to provide all private duty 
nursing services for all waiver recipients in the home. 
Only one nurse will be authorized to care for each two 
waiver recipients in a home, except in the instance when 
adult waiver participants share a home, where nursing 
ratios will be determined by the health care coordinator 
based on the needs of all the recipients living together. 

&, F. DMAS shall review and approve the assessment, 
plan of care, cost effectiveness, and choice of providers prior 
to the individual's admission to community waiver services, 
and prior to Medicaid payment for any services related to the 
waiver seFVieec plan of care. 

'1-. 12 VAC 30·120·115. Reevaluation requirements and 
utilization review. 

a, A. The need for reevaluations shall be determined by 
the health care coordinator. Reevaluations shall be 
conducted by the health care coordinator ai least over,' 20 
E\ays eYriR§ t~e fiFst three meRths af~amissieR te waiver 
OOFYieee as required by the individual's needs and situation 
and at any time when a change in the individual's condition 
Indicates the need for reevaluation. /\Iter the first t~ 
men!hs, the 11ealth eal'e~ater st.all senel~et a~ 
visit eAse ever;' tl1ree mentos and me•e eften if neseseaPJ. 

a, B. DMAS is responsible for performing utilization review 
at least semi ann~ally evel)l six months and for the 
maintenance of supporting documentation. DMAS shall alee 
maintain a copy of the plan of care, the initial evaluation, and 
each reevaluation for a the minimum period of five years 
required by federal and state law. 

"' C. The health care coordinator shall review the plan of 
care for appropriateness of the level, amount, type, and 
quality of services provided as well as for monitoring the cost 
effectiveness of the individual's care in the community. 

4 D. Medical necessity of waiver services shall be 
reviewed by the health care coordinator. 

e, T~e Floalth Care CeerdiAater sl1all submit t~is 
IAfermatiee to 9MAS. 

f. 9~rin§ t~e semi annual oeview period, a 9MAS 
~tilizatieA review analyst s~all review toe reserd aea 
ooAEI~et a heme visit. The fJUfposos el t~is reeeFa 
review and heme •Jisil are te aoto•miRe teo oerroetness 
ef IRe level of sara; ta oRsure teat the amount, 
d~ratieR, amJ seapo el ti<o se•visos are apwopFiats; to 
oes~re tRat IRe iReividual's f1aalth aRd wslfar-e-afS 
poetested; aea te eesure tleat soot of!estiveAess is 
FAaiAtainod. 

12 VAC 30·120·120. Appeal of denied coverage. 

A. DMAS shall provide the opportunity for a lair hearing 
under 42 CFR Part 431, Subpart E, to individuals who are not 
given the choice of home and community-based services as 
an alternative to remainiR~ iR tl1e receiving hospital or 
enteriR§ nursing facility services or who are denied the 
amount or type of service of their choice or the provider of 
their choice. 

B. The individual shall be advised in writing of the denial 
and of his right to appeal consistent with DMAS client 
appeals (12 VAG 30-110-10 through 12 VAG 30-110·600). 

12 VAC 30·120·130. DoeumentalioR FO<JuiremeRis. 
(Repealed.) 

Tl1e FleaiiA Care Coerdina~er soall ""smit toe lollowiRg 
aos~montatioR Ia 9MAS 13ofeoe IRe iRdivia"al's admissioR to 
waiver services: 

1. All ef tRs reEft~ireS assessment anGI dest~mentatieR. 

2. CertifisatioR ef level at oare. 

a. Plan el eare. 
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4. Cast effeetiveness oempwtatlen. 

a. Agreement of legally res~ansiele ~aFiy ana tile 
p!'lmBRt' care gi,•e, if separale persons, with IRe plan of 
8-

&,..--GI1eioe al homo ana semmwnity eases sara er 
hospital sara. 

7. Chaise of waiver servise provieers, if waiver sorvioes 
are ehoson. 

LIST OF COVIOI'lliiiD DUI'lAilbe MEDICAL EQUIPMeNT 

Mealoal i:i~wipment aRE! Swpplios CeveFes Uneler State 
Pla!'h 

1. Ventilator and nosossary altashmeR!. 

2. Basi< wp pel'laelo ventilator aRS attaehments. 

3. i>ws!ion mashino, statiOROF)'. 

4. Sustion maseine, peFtaelo. 

e. Ambw sag. 
a. Patient lift. 

7. Oversea table. 

8. ComnnoElo, soower si1alr, or stretsher. 

9. einvironnnental control wnit. 

1 Q. Alternative sommbiAieatieR Seviees. 

11. Trasheoetenny lYses. 

12. Trasheestenny sare kits or inEiiviEiwal sw~~lios 
nornnally fownEI in tho l<il. 

1 a. Gastrostonny, er OIASF fooEiin§, tweos. 

14. FeoElin§ pYnnps. 

Hi. <;wstion sati1eters. 

1 6. Sterile water. 

17. Sterile saline. 

1 B. Spesial nneEiieal mattresses. 

1 9. O><ygon anEI Sl<ygen e~wipnnent. 

20. l"eley satheleFs. 

21. Elsa pans. 

22. Antiseplie solwtien fer sleaning sf ventilator anEI 
l'OSflirateF)' swpplies. 

23. Whoolshair, nnanwal or pewor, lnelwEiing aEia~tivo 
seating Elevises te (3Fevont sentrast~:~ros and skin 
breal<down. 

24. Hospital 9eEI. 

26. Adaptive mel3ility transportation Eleviso (Mwli'lollana 
sha4 
26. Phrenie paeer (implant, transmitter BO*, antenna ana 
battef)'). 
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27. Pi'larnnaooleglsal preparation noeassar,· for lifo 
swstainin§ nY!ritional mana§emant legenel Elrwg enly). 

28. Pwlse Ol<innalor. 

MoEiisal e~wipmant ana Swpj>lies Not Co•Jera<l blnEiar Slate 
Pla!'h 

1. /\~naa minlter. 

FORMS 

Mealsal Slalws Conlinwoa 9MAS 1 30, WPPSHBC #Iii eO. 

Fwnstional Statws DMAS 1 aG, WPPSMiiiiC #!lSO. 

~h;rs;,n§IProfessienal SeF'Iioes DMMil 1 aG, WPPSMilC #silO. 

Pre Disshar§o ;:emily Assessment DMAS 121, WPPSM8C 
#6+8, 

PFO 9isoharge !ole nne evalwatioR DM/\S 122, WPPSMBC 
#6+8, 

Tesi1Aelegy De~enEieRt SeFIIises l"laA of CaFe DMAS 133, 
WPPPSM!lC #§73. 

Mealth Care CeorEiination l'loassossnnoAt QM,<\S 136, 
WPPSM!lC #§81. 

Objective Scoring Criteria, 1996 
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OBJECTIVE SCORING CRITERIA 

l~rlividual's Name Principal Dia9nosis 

HCC _____ 
0 

__ 
0 

______ A<imit Date OAT£ 

TECHNOLOGY 

Vent Dependent total 

intermittent 
Tra>:h 
~-PAP. BIPAP 
Oxygen, continuous 

02. continuous, unstacle 
G-tube connnuous 

G-tube. cont. with reflux 
NG tube commuous 

bolus 
IV therapy wmmuous 

SUBTOTAL TECHNOlOGY 

NURSING IJHDS 

Suctioning >qlk 

ql-4tus 

q4hrs+ 

NGJGT feeds continuous 
Q2hrs 
q3hr. 

cylhrs 

Medication simole 
moderate 

comol.x 
lntermitlent cath. q4hrs 

QBhrs 

q12hrs 
qdor PRN 

D"sszngs Q Eh""' less 

>oBilrs 
Tracn than'f• •nacare 
IVJHvp•ral continuous 

R-15hrs 

''dhrs 
<4ilr< 

Soe"al TX 0!0 
TID 

Bm 
cc 

Soec,almd roor.ttor J:D 

> 3 hoso.m 1"1 yrvr 3 mo. cor-1 
Ot\e~ 

SUBTOTAl r;URSir<G 

TOTAL POir,·rs 

DA:L'I NU;lSI'.G fiOUMS 

?DINTS 
;, 

-"' 
43 

~ 
" "' ,; 
J; 

4" 
~ 
'" 

"~""""'l'""""""l""qlotm• _____ _ 

·I 

i ! 
-~ 

' 

'"'----

DEFINITIONS 

Oxygen, continuous- Individual must require oxygen a minimum of 12 hours out of24. 

Oxygen, unstable,- Dependent on oxygen 24 hours per day plus any 2 of the following: 
Diuretics 
Albuterol treatments at least q4hrs around the clock 
Weight is below 15th percentile for age and gain does not follow nonnal curve for height 
>3 hospitalizations in last 6 months for respiratory problems 
Daily desaturation below doctor ordered parameters and desaturation requires nursing 

intervention 
Physician ordered restricted fluid intake 

G-tube with reflux- Individual has continuous G-tube feeds plus one of the following 
swallow study within the last 6 months that demonstrated reflux 
aspiration pneumonia within the last 12 months 
need for suctioning due to reflux (not oral secretions) on a daily basis 

Simple medication- One or two medications not requiring dosage adjustment 

Moderate medication -More than two meds that required close monitoring of dosage, side effects etc. 

Complex medication - Six or more meds on different frequency schedules OR 
Four or more meds requiring close monitoring of dosage and side effects 

Dressings- Sterile dressings only. Trach dressings are not included in this category 

Special Treatments - Other treatments that are considered skilled e.g nebulizer. ROM is not a 
special treatment. 

Specialized I/0 monitoring- Monitoring that includes judgment of fluid replacement needs 

-u ..... 
0 

"'0 
0 
(/) 
<D 
Q. 

JJ 
<D 

(Q 
c 
0> -0 
::J 
(/) 



BOARD OF M!!OICIN! 

Title of Regulation; 18 VAC 85·100·10 eleeq. C!!rllllcallon 
of Radiological T11chnology i>raetlllcmt~re (RI!i>I!AI.ING). 

Statutpry Authority; §§ 54. 1·2400, 54. 1·2956.8: 1 and 54. 1· 
2956.8:2 of the Code of VIrginia. 

pub!!o Hearing Pate: August 9, 1996 • 8 a.m. 
Public comments may be submitted until October 4, 
1996. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional Information) 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 803 of the 1994 Acts of the 
Assembly, the Board of Medicine proposes to repeal its 
regulations governing the certification of radiologic 
technologists practitioners and promulgate new 
regulations for licensure of radiologic technologists and 
radiologic technologists-limited. Amendments to §§ 
54. 1·2956.8:1 and 54, 1·2956.8:2 mandated licensure for 
certain radiological practitioners by January 1, 1997, 
therefore, board regulations for certification would no 
longer be necessary. 

VA. A. Doc. No. R96·498; Flied July 17, 1996, 12:03 p.m. 

******** 

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 85·101-10 el seq, Regulations 
Governing the Licensure of Radiologic Technologists 
and Radiologic Technologlsls-Limiled, 

§§ 54. 1·2400, 54. 1·2956.8: 1 and 54. 1· 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Data: August 9, 1996 · 8 a.m. 
Public comments may be submitted until October 4, 
1996. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Basis: Chapter 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) and Chapter 29 (§ 
54.1-2900 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia 
provide the basis for these regulations. Chapter 24 
establishes the general powers and duties of health 
regulatory boards including the power to establish 
qualifications for licensure and responsibility to promulgate 
regulations. Chapter 29 establishes the Board of Medicine 
and authorizes the board to regulate the practice of radiologic 
technologists consistent with public health and safely. 
Sections 54.1·2956.8:1 and 54.1-2956.8:2 (effective January 
1, 1997) require the board to license radiologic technologist 
and radiologic technologist-limited and to prescribe 
education, experience, and examination requirements. 

Puroose: The purpose of the proposed regulations is to 
repeal current regulations for the certification of radiological 
technology practitioners and promulgate new regulations 
governing licensure as mandated by Chapter 803 of the 1994 
General Assembly. The board proposes minimal education, 
experience, and examination requirements consistent with its 
statutory responsibility to protect public health and safety. 

Volume 12, Issue 23 

Proposed Regulations 

§ubs!ange: Part I. General Provisions: 16 VAC 85·101·10 
Definitions: Several nsw definitions are proposed to clarify 
terminology, to explain acronyms, or to provide the regulatory 
framework for terms used In regulation. 

16 VAC 85·101-20 Public Participation Guidelines: The 
proposed regulation establishes the applicable regulation for 
public participation In the development of these regulations. 

Part 11. Licensure Requirements • Radiologic Technologist 
18 VAC 85·101-30 establishes !he educational requirements 
lor radiologic technologists. Graduates of en approved 
program, which Is one that qualifies the graduate to sit for the 
American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) 
certification examination, are required to submit documented 
evidence of graduation. 

18 VAC 85·1 01·40 establishes the examination required for 
licensure as a radiologic technologist as the ARRT 
certification examination and requires that applicants follow 
policies and procedures of the ARRT lor administration and 
passage. 

18 VAC 85-101·50 establishes a trainaeship for an 
unlicensed graduate awaiting the results of the licensure 
examination and licensure by the board. 

Part Ill. Licensure Requirements • Radiologic Technologist­
Limited. 18 VAC 85-1 01·60 establishes the requirements for 
submission of an application and lee and completion of a 
specified course of training for licensure as a radiologic 
technologist-limited. 

18 VAC 85·101·70 establishes the educational requirements 
for radiologic technologist-limited with a minimum number of 
hours in certain procedures or completion of a ACRRT 
approved program. 

Part IV. Licensure by Endorsement 18 VAC 85-101·80 
establishes the criteria lor endorsement as a radiologic 
technologist A person applying for endorsement must meet 
credentialing qualifications of these regulations and have 
been licensed in another jurisdiction. Until January 1, 1999, 
a person may be licensed by endorsement by submitting 
evidence of satisfactory practice in Virginia for five or more 
years. 

18 VAC 85·1 01·90 establishes the criteria for endorsement 
as a radiologic technologist-limited. Until January 1, 1999, a 
person may apply for licensure by endorsement by submitting 
evidence of satisfactory practice lor the past two years. 

Part V. Practice of Radiologic Technologists. 18 VAC 85· 
1 01-1 00 establishes the general requirement for services 
rendered to be periormed upon the direction of a licensed 
doctor. 

18 VAC 85·1 01-110 establishes the responsibilities of a 
radiologic technologist to the patient and the delegating 
practitioner. 

18 VAC 85-1 01-120 establishes the supervisory 
responsibilities of a radiologic technologist for the actions of 

. persons performing radiologic functions under his direction 
and establishes that he may supervise no more than four 
radiologic technologists-limited or three trainees at any one 
time. 
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Part VI. Practice of Radiologic Technologist-Limited. 18 
VAC 85-101-130 establishes the general requirements for a 
radiologic technologist-limited to perform functions within his 
capabilities and anatomical limits of training. 

18 VAC 85-101-140 establishes the individual responsibilities 
of a radiologic technologist-limited to patients and to his 
supervising radiologic technologist or doctor. 

Part VII. Renewal of Licensure. 18 VAC 85-101-150 
establishes a biennial renewal of licenses, the requirement 
that a radiologist technologist maintain current ARRT 
certification or complete 24 hours of continuing education, 
and provisions for failure to renew or fees for late renewal. 

Part VIII. Fees. 18 VAC 85-101-160 establishes the fees 
required for an application for licensure, registration of a 
traineeship, renewal or reinstatement of licensure, or 
verification of licensure to another state. 

Issues: The 1993 General Assembly addressed the issue of 
licensure for radiologic technologists in the passage of HJR 
665 which created a joint subcommittee to study the potential 
risk of harm to the public of unregulated performance of 
radiological services, the level of training and expertise 
needed, and the effect that licensure of such practitioners 
would have on costs and delivery of services. The study was 
subsequently continued by General Assembly resolutions in 
1994 and 1995 and resulted in the passage of legislation to 
amend Chapter 29 of Title 54.1 to require licensure and the 
development of regulations for implementation by January 1, 
1997. A report of the work and conclusions of the Joint 
Subcommittee to Study the Public Health Implications of 
Licensing Radiologic Technology Practitioners may be found 
in House Document No. 3 of the 1996 General Assembly. 

Since the amended statute mandates the licensure of 
radiologic technologists and radiologic technologists-limited, 
the level of regulation was not an issue in the board's 
decision to repeal current regulations which establish 
certification and to propose a new set of regulations which 
establish criteria for licensure. The statute also granted the 
board authority to promulgate regulations which establish 
"requirements for approved education programs, experience, 
examinations, and periodic review for continuing 
competency." 

Therefore, the board did have discretion in the development 
of minimal standards for licensure and had to address issues 
that were raised during public hearings, meetings of the 
legislative committee, meetings of the Ad Hoc Advisory 
Committee and in written comment from the public. 

ISSUE 1: 
requirement. 

Exceptions or exemptions from licensure 

A comment from the Virginia Hospital Association (VHA) 
opposed regulation of radiologic technologists arguing that 
within hospitals, the risk of harm to the public was not 
evident, safeguards for the provision of quality care currently 
exist, and evidence of inadequate training does not involve 
hospitals. 

Comments received during a public hearing from specialty 
practitioners (such as family practice) and from the 
chiropractic association requested board consideration of 

exemptions in regulations for radiological services in those 
settings. 

Alternatives considered. The board responded to the issue 
raised by the VHA by noting that § 54.1-2956.8:1 specifically 
excludes employees of a hospital licensed under Title 32.1 
from the provisions of the act. Therefore, no other 
alternatives to regulations were considered in response to the 
comment. 

The board responded to requests for other exemptions by 
noting that§ 54.1-2958.8:1 specifically requires licensure for 
the practice of radiologic technology. Therefore, the board 
may not exempt certain practitioners from the requirements of 
the statute. The board has discretion in the adoption of 
qualifications for licensure and has attempted to provide 
minimal, entry-level standards for licensure for the radiologic 
technologists-limited who work under the direct supervision of 
a licensed radiologic technologist, a physician, chiropractor, 
or podiatrist. 

In addition, the statute specifically excludes from the 
requirements of licensure doctors of medicine, osteopathy, 
podiatry, or chiropractic or dentists in the performance of 
radiological functions. 

Advantages and Disadvantages. Since the statute is specific 
in its requirements for licensure, there were no alternatives. 
The board sought to deal with the issue of economic impact 
and accessibility by adopting rules which set minimal 
standards and permit endorsement of the qualifications at 
currently practicing radiologic technologists and radiological 
technologists-limited. 

ISSUE 2: Standards for approval of education and 
examination for Radiologic Technologists 

Since the board is authorized by statute to establish 
"requirements for approved education programs, experience, 
[and] examinations", the issue considered during public 
meetings and in the development of regulations was the level 
of competency required for approval. 

Alternatives considered. Alternatives considered by the 
board included: 

1) Adoption of standards for board approval of all 
educational programs in radiologic technology. 
Regulations (similar to those of the Board of Nursing) for 
faculty, institutional resources, curriculum, clinical 
experience, and site reviews would be necessary. The 
board did not recommend Alternative #i as too 
burdensome, intrusive, and costly. While board approval 
of radiologic education programs in Virginia would be 
feasible, it would be difficult to evaluate programs in 
other states. 

2) Adoption of a nationally recognized accrediting body 
for approval of educational programs. Alternative #2 was 
recommended as more reasonable and less costly for 
the board and its licensees. In the process of drafting 
proposed regulations, the board-appointed Ad Hoc 
Advisory Committee with approval of the legislative Joint 
Committee considered accreditation standards from the 
30 other states that regulate radiologic technology. The 
American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) 
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and the American Chiropractic Registry of Radiologic 
Technologists (ACRRT) were the only nationally 
recognized accrediting bodies identified and were 
therefore recommended by the board. 

3) Adoption of regulations which would accept 
satisfactory work experience in lieu of minimal standards 
for educational training and passage of an examination. 
The board determined that Alternative #3 was 
reasonable to permit radiologic technologists currently 
practicing in Virginia who are qualified by their 
experience but not by education and examination to be 
licensed under by endorsement lor a period of two years 
following the effective date of the regulations. 

4) Adoption of a nationally recognized and accepted 
examination instead of development of a Board of 
Medicine licensure examination. The board proposes 
Alternative #4 to provide accessibility to the examination 
to applicants for licensure as radiologic technologists in 
all parts of the country and mobility of practitioners 
across jurisdictions. The board is in the process of 
eliminating all board-developed, administered 
examinations for other professions and contracting for 
accreditation examination with private agencies. The 
examination offered by the ARRT was identified as the 
national standard for the profession and recommended 
by the board. In the 1994 draft regulations, the board 
considered establishing rules for a passing score and 
retesting and for additional training after failure. 
Proposed regulations are less cumbersome and require 
the applicant to follow the procedures of the testing 
service. 

Advantages and Disadvantages. Advantages of the 
acceptance of national accreditation bodies such as the 
ARRT and the ACRRT for approval of educational programs 
and for administration of the licensure examination are: 1) 
Standards for entry as a licensed radiologic technologist in 
Virginia are identical to those in other states and will, 
therefore, facilitate professional mobility and applications 
from outside the state: 2) The responsibility for program 
approval will fall to the professional accrediting body with the 
resources and expertise to evaluate and monitor educational 
quality; and 3) The utilization of a national accreditation 
examination provides a more credible and less costly 
standard for applicants and the board. 

The advantage of a provision for "grandfathering" qualified 
radiologic technologists currently practicing in Virginia is that 
it alleviates concerns about availability of radiologic 
technologists in private practices and about restrictive 
regulations which current practitioners would be unable to 
meet. In addition, legislation requiring licensure was passed 
and draft regulations developed in 1994 with an effective date 
of January 1, 1997, in order to give persons providing 
radiological services time to meet the educational and 
examination qualification. 

Possible disadvantages of these alternatives are: 1) 
acceptance of national standards for approval of education 
and for the examination precludes the board from setting 
different criteria or measuring professional knowledge by a 
different standard; and 2) acceptance of work experience in 
place of an ARRT education and examination for current 
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radiologic technologists provides no assurance of their 
minimal qualification to practice. In both cases, the board 
has determined that the advantages of these alternatives 
outweigh the disadvantages in providing regulations which 
are the least restrictive and most reasonable. 

ISSUE 3: Standards for education and examination for 
Radiologic Technologists-Limited 

Concerns were expressed that licensure requirements in the 
1994 draft regulations may be too restrictive for the majority 
of persons currently performing radiological services for 
specific diagnostics in a doctor's office or other practice 
setting. The necessity of hiring only licensed radiologic 
technologists-limited who had completed a ARRT approved 
course and had passed a ARRT licensure examination would 
limit accessibility and increase costs. 

Alternatives considered. The board considered the 
comments and proposed two alternatives to address the 
issues of restrictive regulations which would limit access to 
radiological services. Draft regulations were changed to: 

1) Permit currently practicing radiological personnel to 
be "grandfathered" depending on their level of 
qualification, practice responsibilities, and two 
consecutive years in practice. Such endorsement for 
licensure would only be in effect lor two years, until 
January 1, 1999. 

2) Permit a licensed radiologic technologist-limited to 
complete the required training for specific diagnostic 
functions within the practice setting (on-the-job), from 
courses sponsored by the Virginia Society of Radiologic 
Technologists, or from an ACRRT approved program. 
Proposed educational requirements delineate the areas 
of knowledge and number of hours needed for minimal 
proficiency in equipment operation, radiation protection, 
and procedures in the specific anatomical areas of 
practice. 

Advantages and disadvantages. The advantages of the 
alternatives considered and adopted are: 1) radiologic 
personnel who have been engaged in practice for two or 
more years will be able to become licensed until 1999 without 
meeting educational and examination requirements of 
proposed regulations. With grandfather clauses inserted in 
regulation, there should be no interruption in services or limit 
to access to radiography in doctors' offices; and 2) applicants 
for licensure as Radiologic Technologist-Limited will not have 
to complete an ARRT approved program or pass a licensure 
examination to be qualified. 

The possible disadvantage of proposed regulations would be 
the lack of a measurable standard, such as an examination to 
determine minimal competency. By permitting training for 
specific radiological functions and safety by the supervising 
practitioner, requiring practice only under direct supervision, 
and restricting the instillation of contrast media by those with 
the limited license, the board believes that entry requirements 
lor radiologic technologists-limited are sullicient to protect the 
public from inappropriate or unsafe use of radiography. 

ISSUE 4: Certification of Radiologic Technologists-Limited 
for certain anatomical areas 
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Pursuant to comments from persons in the profession and 
from a study of licensure policies in other states, the board 
considered the possibility of an anatomical-specific license. 

Alternatives considered. A two-tiered licensure system was 
recommended by the report of the Joint Subcommittee and 
mandated by the statute. However, the board also 
considered but did not propose additional sub-groups with 
different requirements lor credentialing. In some states, the 
basic radiologic technologist-limited license is supplemented 
by additional hours of study in order to receive an 
endorsement for a specific areas of the body (skull or 
abdominal). The board did not choose to license specialty 
areas but did propose practice standards that specify medical 
direction and delegation and performance of functions within 
the limits of capabilities and training. 

Advantages and disadvantages. The advantages of the 
board's proposal are: 1) the licensee may acquire additional 
areas of expertise without the necessity of additional licenses 
or endorsements; 2) the public is protected by requirements 
for direction and supervision; and 3) the board hae the ability 
to discipline a licensee who acts outside of his training and 
capability. 

The only possible disadvantages is that the board is unable 
to ensure that a practitioner has the specific training 
necessary to perform specific tasks. However, other 
safeguards established in regulation provide reasonable 
assurance of competency and safety. 

ISSUE 5: Need for evidence of continuing competency for 
renewal of licensure 

The joint subcommittee recommended (House Document No. 
3, 1996) that "continuing education be required to maintain 
assurance of competency." Section 54.1-2956.8:1 provides 
that the board may prescribe in regulation for periodic review 
for continued competency. 

The board determined that such requirements were essential 
for radiologic technologists who practice under the direction 
of a licensed doctor but who are not required to have direct 
supervision and may supervise the practice of limited 
licensees. Evidence presented in the course of the study 
indicated that the field of radiography has changed 
dramatically in the past decade and is expected to continue 
advancement Therefore, the board determined that it was 
necessary for continued public assurance for practitioners 
who exercise more independent judgment should continue 
their education in order to maintain current knowledge and 
expertise. 

Alternatives considered. The board considered the following 
alternatives: 1) a minimum number of hours of active 
practice in each biennium; 2) a report of professional 
activities during each biennium; 3) a i 60-hour traineeship for 
a person whose license has been inactive for a period of 
more than two years; 4) maintenance of ARRT certification; 

. or 5) completion of 24 hours of continuing education in each 
biennium. 

The board determined that the least complicated and most 
reasonable alternatives were #4 and #5, the maintenance of 
ARRT certification or completion of hours of CE. For those 
licensed radiologic technologists who have been 

"grandfathered" and therefore do not hold ARRT certification, 
renewal requirements may be met by completion of 24 hours 
of continuing education requirement is 24 hours for each 
biennium, 12 hours of which must be ASRT approved. 

Advantages and disadvantages. The advantages of 
alternatives proposed are: 1) the public has more assurance 
that radiological services will be provided by licensees who 
have current knowledge and technique; 2) radiologic 
technologists-limited are not required to have continuing 
education; and 3) licensees who may become inactive or only 
work part-time may retain active licensure by maintenance of 
their ARRT certification. The disadvantage is that licensed 
radiologic technologist will have to attest to continuing 
education for renewal, and a small percentage will be 
disciplined by the board for failure to do so. 

Advantages and Disadvantages to the Public. Citizen input in 
development of regulation: In the development of 
regulations, the board made every effort to include citizen 
input from those engaged in the practice of radiologic 
technology in the community, from those who work in 
educational settings, from associations affiliated with the 
practice, and from doctors who employ radiological personnel 
in their practice. Groups represented at a public hearing held 
during consideration of regulations included the Virginia 
Academy of Family Physicians, the Virginia Orthopedic 
Association, the Medical Society of Virginia, the Virginia 
Society of Internal Medicine, the American College of 
Radiology, Virginia Chapter, the Virginia Urological Society, 
and the Virginia Society of Radiologic Technologists. 

In addition, the issues surrounding licensure and draft 
regulations were discussed at public meetings of the Joint 
Subcommittee to Study the Public Health Implications of 
Licensing Radiologic Technology Practitioners from 1994 to 
1996. Consequently, the board drafted regulations with a 
consideration lor any fiscal impact on licensees, especially 
small businesses, and does not anticipate a negative impact 
on the entities affected by regulation or on the public. 

The advantage of licensure lor the public is a higher standard 
for performance of radiology which may result in a reduction 
in the significant risks from overexposure or unnecessary 
procedures. The disadvantage may be that licensed 
professionals may command higher salaries and thereby 
increase the cost of health care. While there is no direct 
evidence of that occurrence, concern has been expressed. 

Fiscal Impact Prepared by the Agencv: 

Number of entities affected by this regulation: There are 
currently 18 certified radiologic technologists in Virginia. It is 
estimated that 1000 persons may seek licensure as 
radiologic technologists and 500 as radiologic technologists­
limited. 

Projected costs to the affected entities: The 1994 draft 
regulations suggested the lee lor licensure should be $150; 
the regulations proposed by the board set the fee at $100 for 
radiologic technologists and $50 lor radiologic technologists­
limited. If an applicant wishes to work in a traineeship prior to 
licensure, a fee of $25 is proposed. 

Biennial renewal of licensure was originally proposed to be 
$100 but has been reduced to $75 for radiologic 
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technologists and $25 for radiologic technologists-limited. 
Additional charges will only apply to a licensee who is late 
with renewals, needs verification of licensure to another state, 
or must get his license reinstated. 

Costs for taking the licensure examination are established by 
the ARRT and are currently set at $50. Costs for renewal of 
ARRT certification are $12 plus approximately $60 to $1 00 to 
complete the required hours of continuing education. 

Projected cost to the agency: The agency will incur an 
approximate costs of $1 ,000 for mailing notices and final 
regulations to the Public Participation Guidelines mailing list 
and for conducting a public hearing during the promulgation 
of these regulations. However, every effort will be made to 
incorporate those into anticipated mailings and board 
meetings already scheduled. 

Since the agency already certifies radiologic technologists, it 
is not anticipated that the licensure program will have any 
impact on employment levels or direct costs to the board. 

Localities affected: There are no localities particularly 
affected by these regulations in the Commonwealth. Since 
licensure of radiologic personnel in community hospitals is 
not required, they are not affected. 

Affect on small businesses: There are no direct costs to 
medical practices operating as small businesses. 
Radiological personnel will individually bear the costs of 
applying and maintaining licensure. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) 
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13 
(94). Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply; the identity of any localities and types 
of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or 
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the 
impact on the use and value of private property. The analysis 
presented below represents DPB's best estimate of these 
economic affects. 

Summary of the Proposed Regulation. The proposed 
regulation is promulgated in response to Chapter 803 of the 
1994 Acts of the Assembly which added § 54.1-2956.8:1 to 
the Code of Virginia. Section 54.1-2956.8:1 makes it 
unlawful to practice radiological technology without a license 
after January 1, 1997, and further requires the Board of 
Medicine to develop regulations specifying the appropriate 
qualifications for such licensure. 

Pursuant to§ 54.1-2956.8:1, the proposed regulation: 

• Adopts the educational and examination standards set 
forth by the American Registry of Radiologic 
Technologists (ARRT) for the licensure of radiological 
technologists; 

• Adopts the educational and examination standards set 
forth by the American Chiropractic Registry of Radiologic 
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Technologists (ACRRT) for the licensure of radiological 
technologists-limited; 

• Provides for licensure by endorsement of radiologic 
technologists who hold licenses from otner jurisdictions 
that have similar licensing requirements to those 
contained in the proposed regulation; 

• Provides for licensure by endorsement through January 
1, 1999 of radiologic technologists and radiologic 
technologists-limited based on prior work experience in 
Virginia; 

• Sets forth general requirements for the practice of 
radiologic technologists and radiologic technologists­
limited; 

• Establishes continuing education requirements for 
radiologic technologists; and 

• Fixes various application and licensing fees. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed regulation is 
anticipated to have two economic effects: 1) it will likely 
ensure the quality of radiologic technologist services in 
Virginia by guaranteeing that the individuals performing those 
services have met minimum professional standards for 
education and competency; and 2) it will increase the entry 
costs associated with becoming a radiologic technologist in 
Virginia. 

Quality of Radiologic Technologist Services. As outlined in 
House Document No. 3 of the 1996 General Assembly, there 
are two well known public health risks associated with the 
improper use of x-ray equipment --- over exposure to harmful 
radiation, and mistaken diagnosis caused by poor quality x­
ray films. Although under Virginia law, dental and veterinary 
technicians are required to meet minimum training and 
competency standards, prior to the enactment of § 54.1-
2956.8:1, radiologic technicians employed outside of licensed 
hospitals were not. The primary benefit of the proposed 
regulation is the protection it offers to Virginia residents from 
radiologic services provided by unqualified individuals. It 
would be cost prohibitive for DPB to quantify the exact 
magnitude of this benefit however. 

Increased Entry Costs. The other economic effect of the 
proposed regulation is that it will increase the minimum costs 
associated with becoming a radiologic technologist in 
Virginia. In the wake of the proposed requirements, the costs 
of entry into this profession must at least include the 
expenses necessary to meet the educational and 
examination standards of the ARRT or the ACRRT, 
continuing education requirements, and the licensing and 
other fees established by DHP. Currently in Virginia, the cost 
of becoming a radiologic technician could presumably be 
zero, although it is likely that employer preferences toward 
hiring the most qualified applicants induce most radiologic 
technicians to invest in professional education anyway, even 
in the absence of the proposed regulation. 

One auxiliary economic effect of these increased entry costs 
could presumably be an increase in the wages commanded 

· by licensed radiologic technologists. In the short-run, such a 
wage increase could be driven by a reduction in the number 
of available radiologic technicians if a significant number of 
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individuals currently working in that professional capacity 
failed to qualify for licensure. Provisions in the proposed 
regulation that allow currently practicing radiologic 
technologists to be temporarily licensed by endorsement 
should effectively preclude such a situation however. 

In the long-run though, some upward pressure on wages Is 
likely to occur as radiologic technologists rationally attempt to 
offset the increased costs of entry occasioned by the 
proposed licensing requirements. Whether these increased 
wages actually translate into increased medical costs, 
however, will depend on the relative magnitude of the wage 
increase compared to the likely efficiency gains engendered 
by additional professional education. 

Businesses and Entities Pac"oularly Affected. The proposed 
regulation particularly affects the estimated 1 ,000 persons 
who would apply lor licensure as radiologic technologists, the 
approximately 500 persons who would apply for licensure as 
radiologic technologists-limited, and their employers. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities are particularly 
affected by the proposed regulation 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 
is not anticipated to have a significant effect on employment. 

Affects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed regulation is not anticipated to have a significant 
effect on the use and value of private property. 

Summary of Analysis. The proposed regulation establishes 
licensing requirements for radiologic technologists and 
radiologic technologists-limited. These licensing 
requirements are expected to: 1) enhance the quality of 
radiologic technologist services in Virginia by guaranteeing 
that the individuals performing those services have inet 
m1mmum professional standards for education and 
competency; and 2) increase the entry costs associated with 
becoming a radiologic technologist in Virginia. 

Agency Response to Department of Planning and Budget's 
Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs with the 
economic impact analysis from the Department of Planning 
and Budget. 

Summarv: 

Pursuant to Chapter 803 of the 1994 Acts of the 
Assembly, the Board of Medicine proposes regulations 
governing the licensure of radiologic technologists. 
Amendments to §§ 54. 1-2956.8:1 and 54. 1-2956.8:2 
mandated licensure for certain practitioners by January 
1, 1997, and required the board to develop standards tor 
education, examination, and experience as requisite 
qualifications. 

The board sought to develop minimal regulations which 
would assure the delivery of safe, cost-effective 
radiological services in the Commonwealth by 
establishing standards for training and competent 
practice. To ensure that regulations would not have a 
negative impact on the availability of services, the board 
has provided tor licensure of radiologic technologists· 
limited who are trained in certain procedures and who 
work under supervision. Regulations a/so provide tor 
licensure by endorsement for persons who have 

practiced satisfactorily in Virginia for five or more years 
but who would not qualify for licensure by education and 
credentialing. 

CHAPTER 101. 
REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE LICENSURE OF 
RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGISTS AND RADIOLOGIC 

TECHNOLOGISTS-LIM/TED. 

PART/. 
GENERAL PROVISIONS. 

18 VAG 85-101-10. Definitions. 

In addition to definitions in § 54. 1-2900 of the Code of 
Virginia, the following words and terms, when used in this 
chapter, shall have the following meanings, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

''ARRT" means the American Registry of Radiologic 
Technologists. 

''ACRRT" means the American Chiropractic Registry of 
Radiologic Technologists. 

"ASRT" means the American Society of Radiologic 
Technologists. 

"Direct supervision" means that a licensed radiologic 
technologist, doctor of medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic or 
podiatry is present and is fully responsible for the activities 
performed by radiologic personnel. 

"Direction" means the delegation of radiologic functions to 
be performed upon a patient from a licensed doctor of 
medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, or podiatry, to a licensed 
radiologic technologist or a radiologic technologist-limited for 
a specific purpose and confined to a specific anatomical 
area, that will be performed under the direction of and in 
continuing communication with the delegating practitioner. 

"Traineeship" means a period of activity during which an 
unlicensed radiologic technologist, who is seeking licensure, 
works under the direct supervision of a practitioner approved 
by the board. 

18 VAG 85-101-20. Public Participation Guidelines. 

18 VAG 85-10·10 et seq., Regulations Governing Public 
Participation Guidelines, provide for Involvement of the public 
in the development of all regulations of the Virginia Board of 
Medicine. 

PART II. 
LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS · RADIOLOGIC 

TECHNOLOGIST. 

18 VAG 85·101·30. Educational requirements for radiologic 
technologists. 

An applicant tor licensure as a radiologic technologist shall 
be a graduate of an educational program acceptable to the 
ARRT for the purpose of sitting lor the ARRT certification 
examination and shall submit, with the required application 
and fee, documented evidence of his graduation from such a 
program. 
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18 VAG 85-101-40. Examination requirements. 

A. An applicant for board licensure by examination shall: 

1. Meet the educational requirements specified in 18 
VAC85-101-30. 

2. Submit the required application, fee, and credentials 
to the board no less than 30 days prior to the date of 
examination or traineeship. 

B. The licensure examination for the radiologic 
technologist shall be the ARRT certification examination with 
minimum passing score determined by the ARRT. 

C. An applicant who fails the examination shall follow the 
policies and procedures of the ARRT tor successive 
attempts. 

18 VAG 85-101-50. Traineeship for unlicensed graduate. 

A. An unlicensed graduate of an approved program may 
be employed as a trainee under the direct supervision of a 
licensed radiologic technologist, doctor of medicine, 
osteopathy, chiropractic, or podiatry. 

B. The graduate shall submit an application tor a 
traineeship to the board for review and approval by the 
Chairman of the Radiologic Technology Advisory Committee 
or his designee. 

C. The traineeship shall terminate upon receipt by the 
candidate of the licensure examination results. The 
unlicensed graduate may reapply for a new traineeship while 
awaiting to take the next examination. 

D. An unlicensed graduate may serve in a traineeship for 
a period not to exceed two years or through three 
unsuccessful attempts of the licensure examination, 
whichever comes first. After such time, the graduate shall 
apply to the Radiologic Technology Advisory Committee for 
approval to continue in practice as a trainee. 

PART Ill. 
LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS- RADIOLOGIC 

TECHNOLOGIST-LIMITED. 

18 VAG 85-101-60. Application forlicensure. 

An applicant for licensure as a radiologic technologist­
limited shall submit the required application and tee as 
prescribed by the board and evidence of completion of 
training as required in 18 VAG 85-101-70. 

18 VAG 85-101-70. Educational requirements for radiologic 
technologists-limited. 

An applicant for licensure as a radiologic technologist­
limited shall be trained by one of the following: 

1. Successful completion of a program with a minimum 
of the following coursework: 

a. Image Production/Equipment Operation - 25 clock 
hours 

b. Radiation Protection - 15 clock hours 
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c. Radiographic procedures in the anatomical area of 
the radiologic technologist-limited's practice - 10 clock 
hours 

2. An ACRRT approved program. 

PART IV. 
LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT. 

18 VAG 85-101-80. Endorsement requirements for radiologic 
technologist. 

A. A radiologic technologist who has an unrestricted 
license in the United States, its territories, the District of 
Columbia, or Canada by an examination equivalent to that 
required in Virginia at the time of licensure and who has met 
all other requirements of the board may, upon 
recommendation of the Radiologic Technology Advisory 
Committee, be licensed by endorsement. Such a person 
shall submit to the board along with a completed application 
and required fee: 

1. Verification of a current, unrestricted license in 
another jurisdiction. 

2. Verification of current certification from the ARRT. 

B. A radiologic technologist who has practiced 
satisfactorily in Virginia for five or more years may, upon 
recommendation of the Radiologic Technology Advisory 
Committee, be licensed by endorsement. Such a person 
shall submit to the board, along with a completed application 
and required fee, evidence of his scope of practice as 
documented by a supervising radiologist and a supervising 
radiologic technologist. A radiologic technologist may be 
initially licensed by endorsement under this subsection until 
January 1, 1999. 

18 VAG 85-101-90. Endorsement of previous practice for 
radiologic technologists-limited. 

A radiologic technologist-limited applicant who has 
practiced satisfactorily in Virginia for the past two consecutive 
years as a radiologic technologist-limited and who submits 
evidence from a licensed doctor of medicine, osteopathy, 
chiropractic, or podiatry attesting to such practice shall be 
licensed by endorsement. A radiologic technologist-limited 
may be initially licensed by endorsement under this section 
until January 1, 1999. 

PARTV. 
PRACTICE OF RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGISTS. 

18 VAG 85-101-100. General requirements. 

All services rendered by a radiologic technologist shall be 
performed only upon direction of a licensed doctor of 
medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, or podiatry. 

18 VAG 85-101-110. Individual responsibilities to patients 
and to licensed doctor of medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, 
or podiatry. 

A. The radiologic technologist's responsibilities are to 
·administer and document procedures within the limit of his 
professional knowledge, judgment and skills. 
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B. A radiologic technologist shall maintain continwng 
communication with the delegating practitioner. 

18 VAG 85-101-120. Supervisory responsibilities. 

A. A radiologic technologist shall supervise no more than 
four radiologic technologists-limited or three trainees at any 
one time. 

B. A radiologic technologist shall be responsible for any 
action of persons performing radiologic functions under the 
radiologic technologist's supervision or direction. 

C. A radiologic technologist may not delegate radiologic 
procedures to any unlicensed personnel except those 
activities that are available without prescription in the public 
domain to include but not limited to preparing the patient tor 
radiologic procedures and post radiologic procedures. Such 
nonlicensed personnel shall not perform those patient care 
functions that require professional judgment or discretion. 

PART VI. 
PRACTICE OF RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGIST-LIM/TED. 

18 VAG 85-101-130. General requirements. 

A radiologic technologist-limited is permitted to perform 
radiologic functions within his capabilities and the anatomical 
limits of his training. A radiologic technologist-limited shall 
not instill contrast media during radiologic examinations. The 
radiologic technologist-limited is responsible to a licensed 
radiologic technologist, doctor of medicine, osteopathy, 
chiropractic, or podiatry. 

18 VAG 85-101-140. Individual responsibilities to patients 
and licensed radiologic technologist, doctor of medicine, 
osteopathy, chiropractic, or podiatry. 

A. The initial patient visit shall be made by a licensed 
radiologic technologist, doctor of med1Cine, osteopathy, 
chiropractic, or podiatry. 

B. The radiologic technologist-limited's first procedure with 
the patient shall only be made after verbal or written 
communication, or both, with the licensed radiologic 
technologist, doctor of medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, or 
podiatry. 

C. The radiologic technologist-limited's procedures shall 
be made under direct supervision. 

D. A rad1ologic technologist-limited, acting within the 
scope of his practice, may delegate nonradiologic procedures 
to an unlicensed person, including but not limited to preparing 
the patient tor radiologic procedures and post radiologic 
procedures. Such nonlicensed personnel shall not perform 
those patient care functions that require professional 
judgment or discretion. 

PART VII. 
RENEWAL OF LICENSURE. 

18 VAG 85-101-150. Biennial renewal of license. 

A. A radiologic technologist or radiologic technologist­
limited who intends to continue practice shall renew his 
license biennially during his birth month in each odd 

numbered year and pay to the board the prescribed renewal 
fee. 

B. On the renewal application, a radiologic technologist 
shall verily that his ARRT certification is current or that during 
the biennium, he has completed 24 hours of continuing 
education, 12 of which shall be ASRT approved. 

C. A license which has not been renewed by the first day 
of the month following the month in which renewal is required 
shall be expired. 

D. An additional fee to cover administrative costs for 
processing a late application shall be imposed by the board. 

PART VIII. 
FEES. 

18 VAG 85-101-160. Fees required by the board. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section 
shall not be refundable. 

B. Application or examination. 

1. The application fee for radiologic technologist 
licensure shall be $100. 

2. The application fee for the radiologic technologist­
limited licensure shall be $50. 

3. The fees for taking all required examinations shall be 
paid directly to the examination services. 

4. Upon written request from an applicant to withdraw 
his application for licensure by examination, a fee of $25 
shall be retained by the Board of Medicine as a 
processing fee. 

C. Licensure renewal and reinStatement. 

1. The tee for license renewal for a radiologic 
technologist shall be $75 and for a radiologic 
techno/og1:St-l!fnited shall be $25. 

2. An additional fee of $25 to cover administrative costs 
for processing a late renewal application shall be 
imposed by the board. 

3. The fee for reinstatement of a lapsed license which 
has expired for a period of two years or more shall be 
$50 and the respective licensure fee and shall be 
submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement. 

4. The fee for reinstatement of a revoked license shall 
be $500. 

D. Other fees. 

1. The application fee for a traineeship shall be $25. 

2. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 
another state for licensure shall be $10. 
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"~ COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 
Board of Medicine 

Application fo~ a license 
to Practice ~a 
Radiologic Technologist 

To the Board of Medicine of VIrginia:. 

I hereby make appllcation lor a license to pr:actica _a.s a 
Radiologic Technologist in ttl& Commonwealth 
of Vlrgin1a and submit the fol!owmg statements; 

1. Name in Full (Please Print or Type) 

""" l"m 
Street I c•• 

DateoiBirth-- --1 Place of Birth 

-"o Day y, 

(61l4) liG2-

SECURELY PASTE A 
PASSPORT-TYPE 
PHOTOGRAPH IN 

THIS SPACE: 

PLEASE SIGN PHOTO 

Mlddle/Mat<len 

,~. 

~ZIP Code-

I Sooal Securrty NumOor 

Gradu:n Data- -- I Prot School Oagr..., l School. City, Stale 

I 'M _D•v Yr 

Please subm•t addrBS!I cnang"" in wntrng immediately. 
Please attach cnoock or money order. Aopticatrons woll nm b<> processed Without the aporopnate lee. 
Do not submit lee wothout an appl\cation. 11 will be returned. 

APPLICANTS DO NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS UNE- FOR OFF!CE USE ONLY 

APPROVEDSY __________________________________________________________ -coCo,O,-----

CLA.SS \ LICENSE NUMBER SUFRX I SCHOOL CODE I FEE '<CW REG. 3ASE STATE I 

L:CENSE NUM8EA E\PIFIATICN DATE .:AiE iSSUED 

ADDRESS CHANGE 

f imEET-- 1 C:TY STATE · ::JP CODE . 

I, I I J 

Paga2 

2. List in cl1ronolcgical order ail professional practices since graduation, Including Mosp•tai aitiHalions <!11d allsences from work_ Also list 
all penods ot non-professtonaJ actwny or employment lor more than t11ree montl1s. Please ac=unt for all time. 

'rom To Loc:nion and Complete Address P<>sition Held 

'"'0 ..... 
0 

"0 
0 
(j) 
(!) 
C!.. 

:D 
(!) 

(.Q 
c 

el: 
0 
::l 
(/) 
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e~ COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

Board of Medicine 

Application: fOFa License 
to Ptactice as a 
Radiologic Technofogist-limited 

To the 803J'd..o1 Medlcinacof"\llrginia:: 

I hereby make app!ic::tticrr fer a license- Ia or.actice _as a. 
Radiologic: TechnclogisH:l~ in ti"la-Commonweattn 
otVirgmta and submit: the fotlowing statemerrts:. 

1_ Nama in-Full (P'easa PmttorTypa) 

""" I"= 
,_ I c'~ 

O:at8irtll-- --1 Pl3Caot6irtll 

"" ~.. Y; 

SECURB.Y PASTE A 
PASSPORT-TYPE 
PHOTOGRAPH !N 

THIS SPACE 

PLEASE SIGN PHOTO 

Middle/Mal<lan 

"'"' I 0? coo. 

r Soclal Securny NUmb...-

G::on~- --1 ?rot.Sc~ootOsgrn<~ 
'-'0 Day Y< 

~ Sctmat. c:ty, Stare 

Plaasa suomlt addmss cnanqe:o tn wmtng tmmooirue.y. 
Please Hll>lcn ched: or-money ordoc AppHcations Will nar be process<l'd ....mou!IM approonrua lee. 
Do not submit loowrthout 311 appti=on. It Wlil ba rotumed. 

APPUCANTS 00 NOT USE SPACES BEI...OW THIS UNE- FOR OFACE USE ONLY 

APPROV8J8Y ____________________________________________________________ CO;-----

- Dato 

L.XENSE ,'JU,VIBER I SUFRX SCHOOL CCOE r'E riOW REG. SASE 3TATE 

~(P!RAllCN DATE ~ATE ,ssuEO 

ADDRESS CHANGE 

f STREET ~c~ I ~"E I ::tP CCDE 

I I 

Page<: 

2. List in cnronologlcaJ order aH professional pr:u:oces s•nce gradmllion, inducting hcsprtaJ arlilialions <>nd aosan= tmm ·NOli<,_ .Also list 
aJl psncds at non·proiess•onal acnv•ty or emoloymem for more tllan d1ree months. Pl..ase acccurrt for all 1lme.. 

'rom To Lo=t!on and C<Jrnplete Address Posit!.,., H<t!d 

-o 
'""' 0 
"0 
0 
(/) 
<D 
a.. 
JJ 
<D 

(.Q 
c 
!ll -0 
:::::1 
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BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Chapters 152 and 158 of the 1996 
Acts of Assembly transferred the authority for the certification 
of optometrists to administer therapeutic pharmaceutical 
agents for the treatment of certain diseases and abnormal 
conditions of the eye and its adnexa from the Board of 
Medicine to the Board of Optometry. The Board of 
Optometry, by the following proposed action, is amending the 
Board of Medic'ine regulations for TPA-certified optometrists. 
These regulations were continued in effect by Chapters 152 
and 158 of the 1996 Acts until the Board of Optometry adopts 
regulations pursuant to§ 54.1-3223 of the Code of Virginia. 

The Board of Optometry is exempt from the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 9-6.14:4.1 A 
18 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts the Board of 
Optometry when specifying therapeutic pharmaceutical 
agents, treatment guidelines, and diseases and abnormal 
conditions of the human eye and its adnexa for TPA­
certification of optometrists pursuant to Article 5 (§ 54.1-3222 
et seq.) of Chapter 32 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 105-30-10 ei seq. Regulations 
on Cerliiicalion of Oplomelrisls to Use Therapeutic 
Pharmaceutical Agents. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-3223 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date: September 6, 1996- 9 a.m. 
Public comments may be submitted until September 4, 
1996. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Summary: 

Section 54. 1-3223 of the Code of Virginia requires the 
Board of Optometry to promulgate regulations governing 
the treatment of certain diseases and abnormal 
conditions of the human eye and its adnexa with certain 
therapeutic pharmaceutical agents (TPA) by TPA­
certified optometrists as are reasonable and necessary 
to ensure an appropriate standard of medical care for 
patients, including, but not limited to, determinations of 
the diseases and abnormal conditions of the human eye 
and its adnexa which may be treated by TPA-certified 
optometrists, treatment guidelines, and the drugs 
specified on the TPA-Formulary. As such, the Board of 
Optometry proposes the following amendments to Part 
IV, Scope of Practice for an Optometrist to Use 
Therapeutic Drugs. 

Under the former 18 VAG 85-90-60, Diseases and 
Conditions which may be Treated by an Optometrist, the 
specific diseases Hordeolum, conjunctivitis, blepharitis, 
chalazion, and dry eye have been deleted. Further, the 
noninvasive treatment for superficial foreign bodies of 
the eye and its adnexa and treatment of superiicial 
epithelial damage secondary to contact lens wear with 
no corneal opacity present has been deleted. The new 
language reflects the appropriate use of board approved 
therapeutic pharmaceutical agents for diseases and 
abnormal conditions of the following structures of the eye 
and its adnexa: lids and adnexa, lacrimal system, 
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cornea, conjunctiva, and episclera. Also, the board 
deemed the following specific conditions within the 
purview of TPA~certified optometrists: glaucoma, under 
appropriate consultation; ocular-related post-operative 
care, in cooperation with the patient's surgeon; ocular 
trauma to these tissues and those structures just fisted, 
anterior uveitis, and anaphylactic shock. 

Under the former 18 VAG 85-90-70, Therapeutic 
Pharmaceutical Agents, all the specific drugs listed have 
been deleted and replaced with drug categories. 
Schedule VI topical anti-allergy, anti-glaucoma, anti­
infective, anti-inflammatory, cycloplegic and mydriatic, 
decongestant drugs and their medically appropriate 
combinations are approved including over~the~counter 

medications appropriate to eye treatment. Also, oral 
pharmaceutical agents have been added to the formulan; 
and include narcotic and nonnarcotic analgesics which 
are limited to Schedule Ill and VI and over-the·counter 
oral medications appropriate to eye treatment Lastly, 
contact lenses may be prescribed and dispensed lor 
therapeutic purposes. 

CHAPTER W 30. 
GERTIFICATiml FOR OPTOMETRISTS TO PRESCRIIilE 

FOR MlD TREAT CERnl~l DISEASES, INClUDING 
A!l~IORM/\L CmiDITimiS, OF TFIE HUMMI li:YE MID ITS 

ADNEXA WITH CERTAIN THERAPEUTIC 
PHARMACEUTICAL /\GEmS. REGULA T/ONS 01\1 

CERTIFICA T/ON OF OPTOMETRISTS TO USE 
THERAPEUTIC PHARMACEUTICAL AGENTS. 

PART I. 
GENERAL PROVISIONS. 

18 VAG 88 gg 10. 18 VAG 105-30-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otheiWise: 

"Approved school" means those optometric and medical 
schools, colleges, departments of universities or colleges or 
schools of optometry or medicine currently accredited by the 
Council on Postsecondary Accreditation or by the United 
States Department of Education. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Me- Optomet;y. 

"Certification" means the Virginia Board of MetliBioo 
Optometry certifying an optometrist to prescribe for and treat 
certain diseases, including abnormal conditions, of the 
human eye and its adnexa and administer certain therapeutic 
pharmaceutical agents. 

"Certified optometrist" means an optometrist who holds a 
current license to practice optometry in the Commonvvea1th of 
Virginia, is certified to use diagnostic pharmaceutical agents 
by the Virginia Board of Optometry, and has met all of the 
requirements established by the Virginia Board of Modisino 
Optometry to treat certain diseases, including abnormal 
conditions, of the human eye and its adnexa with certain 

.therapeutic pharmaceutical agents. 

"Examination" means an examination approved by the 
Board of ModieiRs Optometry for certification of an 
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optometrist to prescribe for and treat certain diseases, 
including abnormal conditions, of the human eye and its 
adnexa with certain therapeutic pharmaceutical agents. 

"Invasive modaliti1 means any procedure in which human 
tissue is cut, altered, or otherwise infiltrated by mechanical or 
other means. Invasive modalities include surgery, lasers, 
ionizing radiation, therapeutic ultrasound, medication 
administered by injection, and the removal of foreign bodies 
from within the tissues of the eye. For purposes of this 
chapter, the administration of a topical agent specified in -1-S 
VAG Sa 90 70 ef t~is sea~ter 18 VAG 105-30-70 is not 
considered an invasive modality. 

"Postgraduate clinical training" means a postgraduate 
program approved by the board to be eligible for certification. 

"Protocol" means a prescribed course of action developed 
by the certified optometrist which defines the procedures lor 
responding to any patient's adverse reaction or emergency. 

18 VAG Se 90 20. 18 VAG 105-30-20. Public Participation 
Guidelines. 

A separate board regulation, 18 VAG Se 10 1Q et seq. 18 
VAG 105-10-10 et seq., which provides for involvement of the 
public in the development of all regulations of the Virginia 
Board of Me<lisiee Optometry, is incorporated by reference in 
this chapter. 

PART II. 
APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION EXAMINATION. 

1 8 VAG Sa 90 30. 18 VAG 105-30-30. Application for 
certification by examination. 

An applicant lor certification by examination shall be made 
on forms provided by the board. Such application shall 
include the following information and documents: 

1. A complete application form; 

2. The fee specified in 1 8 VAG B§ 9G 120 of !his shapter 
18 VAG 105-30-110 to be paid at the time of filing the 
application; 

3. Additional documents required to be filed with the 
application are: 

a. A letter from the Virginia Board of Optometry 
certifying that: 

(1) The applicant holds a current license to practice 
optometry in Virginia, and 

(2) The applicant is certified to use diagnostic 
pharmaceutical agents; 

b. Documented evidence of satisfactory completion of 
the postgraduate optometric training approved and 
prescribed by the board or documentation of graduate 
optometric training equivalent to the postgraduate 
optometric training required by the board; 

c. Verification of licensure status in other states from 
the Board of Examiners in Optometry or appropriate 
regulatory board or agency. 

PART Ill. 
EXAMINATION. 

18 VAG 8e 90 40. 18 VAG 105-3D-40. Examination for 
certification. 

The following general provisions shall apply to optometrists 
who apply to take the board's examination for certification to 
prescribe lor and treat certain diseases, including abnormal 
conditions, of the human eye and its adnexa with certain 
therapeutic pharmaceutical agents. 

A. The certification examination for an optometrist to 
prescribe for and treat certain diseases, including abnormal 
conditions, of the human eye and its adnexa with certain 
therapeutic pharmaceutical agents shall be in one part. 

B. A candidate for certification by the board who fails the 
examination following three attempts shall take additional 
postgraduate training approved by the board to be eligible to 
take further examinations, as required in 18 V.4G 8§ 90 11 0 
18 VAG 105-30-110. 

PART IV. 
SCOPE OF PRACTICE FOR AN OPTOMETRIST 

CERTIFIED TO USE THERAPEUTIC DRUGS. 

18 VliC 8§ 90 60. 18 VAG 105-30-50. Certification. 

An optometrist, currently licensed by the Board of 
Optometry, who has completed didactic and clinical training 
to ensure an appropriate standard of medical care for the 
patient and has met all other requirements and has passed 
an examination administered by the board, shall be certified 
to administer and prescribe certain therapeutic 
pharmaceutical agents in the treatment of certain diseases, 
including abnormal conditions, of the human eye and its 
adnexa. 

18 'JAG 89 90 60. giseases aRa eeRaitieRs weise may be 
treated by aR e~terl'letrisl. 18 VAG 105-30-60. Treatment 
guidelines. 

Diseases aRe eeRaitieRs weis~ may be treatea by aR 
optometrist eertifiea by teo bears are: 

1. Fieraeel"m, GSRjWRG!ivi\is, ble~earitiS, sealazieR, aRa 
dry eye. 

2. S"~erfisial ferei§R boaios of tee eye aRa its aaReJ<a 
whise saA be treatea by RORiRvasive meaalities. 

3. S"perfieial epiteelial aaffiage seseAaary te seRtast 
leAs wear ~reviaea that Re seFReal e~asity is ~resoRt. 

A. TPA certified optometrists may treat diseases and 
abnormal conditions of the following structures of the human 
eye and its adnexa which may be appropriately treated with 
pharmaceutical agents as defined in 18 VAG 105-30-70: 

1. Lids and adnexa; 

2. Lacrimal system; 

3. Cornea; 

4. Conjunctiva; and 

5. Episclera. 
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B. In addition, the following may be treated: 

1. Glaucoma (with prior consultation with the patient's 
physician or other appropriate physician and excluding 
the treatment of congenital and infantile glaucoma). 
Treatment of angle closure shall be limited to the 
initiation of immediate emergency care with 
pharmaceutical agents as defined in 18 VAG 105-30-70. 

2. Ocular-related post-operative care in cooperation with 
patienfs surgeon. 

3. Ocular trauma to the above tissues as in subsection A 
of this section. 

4. Uveitis, anterior. 

5. Anaphylactic shock {limited to the administration of 
intramuscular epinephrine. 

18 VAG 86 gg 70. 18 VAG 105-30-70. 
pharmaceutical agents. 

Therapeutic 

TRera~e"tie ~Rarmaee"tieal B§ents woieo a eertifieo 
e~temetriet may aEiminister anEI ~reserise are all te~ieal ano 
are as fellows: 

1. Tetraeysline 

2. Er:ythromysiR 

g. Baeitraein 

4. PelyFAy"in 8,18aeitraein 

e. Golertetraeyeline 

6. SeEii"m S"lfaeetamiEie 1()% 

7. SeEii"m S"lfaeelaFAioe aG% 

8. S"lfisexazele 4 .Q% 

9. S"lfaeetaFAiEie 16%/Pi1enyle~l1rine Q.12a% 

1G. Gremelyn Seei"m 4.0% 

11. Na~oazeline HG1 0.1% 

12. PRenyle~Rrine HG1 Q.12e%/PReniramine Maleate 
~ 

1 g. PRenyle~Rrine HG1 Q.12%iPyrilamine Maleate 
0.1°/...!AAtiJ')yr\Ae 0.1% 

14. ~la~l1azeline HG1 0.02e'CIPI1eniramine Maleate 
(),;).% 

1 e. Na~i1azeline HG1 0.06'(/Pntazeline Phespi1ate 
~ 

16. HyarSJ<y~re~yl Gell"lese G~RtRaiFAis Insert 

17. Pelytrim O~RIRalmie Sel"tien 

1 8. NeeFAysin 

19. beveeasasline 

A A certified optometrist may administer and prescribe the 
following topically applied pharmaceutical agents (Schedule 
VI) or any therapeutically appropriate combination thereof: 

1. Anti-allergy; 
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2. Anti-glaucoma; 

3. Anti-infective; 

4. Anti-inflammatory; 

5. Cycloplegic and Mydriatic; 

6. Decongestant; and 

7. Over-the-counter medications appropriate to the 
treatment of the eye. 

B. A certified optometrist may prescribe the following oral 
pharmaceutical agents: 

1. Narcotic and nonnarcotic analgesics limited to 
Schedule Ill and VI; and 

2. Over-the-counter medications appropriate to the 
treatment of the eye. 

C. A certified optometrist may prescribe and dispense 
contact lenses for therapeutic purposes. 

18 VAG 86 90 80. StanEiarEis ef ~raetiee. 18 VAG 105-30-80. 
(Reserved.) 

A. A seFtifieEI o(3temetrist after Bia§JnesiA§J aneJ treatiR§ a 
13atient wAe !=las a disease or senEfitien as defined in 1 g VAG 
86 9Q eO, WRiSR Elisease er senEiitien failed le improve 
appropriately, "sually witlolin 72 lo\eurs, sRal'. refer IRe patient 
te an e~RtRaiFAele§ist. A patient witl1 a ""~erlieial semeal 
asrasien wRisR Elees net im~reve si§nifisantly wi!Rin 24 eeurs 
sl1all se referred te an e~RIRalmele§isl. 

B. Ti1e sertW,ee eptemeW.st si'lall estatllisl1 a wri>len 
prelesel fer IRe mana§eFAent ef ~alieni eFAergensies anEI 
referrals te ~Rysieians. 

G. TRe lie! in 18 VAG 8§ 90 70 E!ees net preslude 
epteFAelrisls treatiA§ emer§SAG)' eases ef anapl'lylastie el1esl< 
witR intra mussular e~ine~Rrine, s"sR as estainea lrem a 
seestin§ l<it. 

D. TRe treatFAent ef eertain diseases, insi"EiiR§ abnormal 
eenEiiliens, ef IRe l'l"man eye anEI its aEinexa will1 tfle 
aoFAinislratien el sertain IRera~e"tie pRarmaee"lieal agents 
sy sertilieEI eptemetrists is ~reRibitee in sRiiEiren live years el 
age er ye"nger. 

PARTV. 
RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATION. 

18 WG 8€i 90 90. 18 VAG 105-30-90. 
certification. 

Renewal of 

Every optometrist certified by the board shall renew his 
certification biennially on or before July 1 and pay the 
prescribed fee in 18 VAG 89 9Q 120 18 VAG 105-30-120 in 
each odd number year. 

18 VAG 86 9Q 100. 18 VAG 105-30-100. Expiration of 
certification. 

An optometrist who allows his certification to expire shall 
.be considered not certified by the board. An optometrist who 
proposes to resume the treatment of certain diseases, 
including abnormal conditions, of the human eye and its 
adnexa and administer certain therapeutic pharmaceutical 
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agents shall make a new application tor certification and pay 
a tee prescribed in 18 VAG Be QQ 12Q 18 VAG 105-30-120. 

PART VI. 
POSTGRADUATE TRAINING. 

18 VAG Be 90 11Q. 18 VAG 105-30-110. Postgraduate 
training required. 

Every applicant applying for certification to prescribe for 
and treat certain diseases, including abnormal conditions, of 
the human eye and its adnexa with certain therapeutic 
pharmaceutical agents shall be required to complete a full­
time approved postgraduate optometric training program 
prescribed by the board or to document that his graduate 
optometric program contained equivalent elements to the 
postgraduate optometric program approved by the board. 

A. The approved postgraduate program shall be the 
Ocular Therapy for the Optometric Practitioner #750B 
conducted by the Pennsylvania College of Optometry or any 
other postgraduate optometric program approved by the 
board. 

B. Upon completing the required postgraduate optometric 
training program, the applicant may apply to sit for the 
certification examination administered by the board. 

C. The certification examination shall be a one-part 
comprehensive examination in accordance with 18 \q,c sa 
90 40 ef this shapter 18 VAG 105-30-40. 

PART VII. 
FEES. 

18 VAG Be 90 120. 18 VAG 105-30-120. Fees required by 
the board. 

A. Application fee for the examination to be certified to 
prescribe for and treat certain diseases, including abnormal 
conditions, of the human eye and its adnexa with certain 
therapeutic pharmaceutical agents shall be $300. The 
examination fee is nonrefundable. An applicant may, upon 
written request 21 days prior to the scheduled examination 
and payment of a $100 fee, be rescheduled for the next 
administration of the examination. 

B. The fee for biennial renewal of certification shall be 
$125. 

C. The fee for reinstating an expired certification shall be 
$150. 

D. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification to 
another state for a license shall be $10. 

E. The fee for reinstatement of a revoked certificate shall 
be $750. 
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OHP·OJ5.070 
AEV_ 3194 

Application to 
Practice as a 
Certified Optometrist 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 
Board of Optometry 

Department of Heal!h Professions 
6606 West Broad Street, 4th Floor 
Rlchmom:l. Virgjnoa 23230-1717 (11<14) 562-7664 

To !he Board of Optometry of VIrginia: 

I hereby make applfcat1on 10r a Cert1ficate 
to practice as a Cert1fied Optometnst 1n the 
Commonwealth of Virginia and submit the 
following statements: 

SECURELY PASTE A 
PASSPORT-TYPE 
PHOTOGRAPH IN 

T'H!S SPACE 

PLEASE SIGN PHOTO 

1. Name in FtJII (Please Pnnt or Type) 

"'" I""' 
I MiddleiMa.den 

Street I c;cy \State \ZlPCode 

0::•<1~- --1 PlaceoiBirt~ 
Mo Oav vr 

l Soc•al Se.;unty 1jumber 

G::an =~ -- JProf. School Degree 

Mo Day Y< 

_I. School, City, Slate 

Please submtt address changes '"writing tmmB<J•ately. 
Please anach check or money order. Appllca11ons w•ll nat be processed wo1!10ullhe appropnate fee 
Do not submit tee without ail appl•cat.on. It w•ll be relurne<J. 

APPLICANTS 00 NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS LINE- FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 

APPROVED BY 
Date c I cmn"w"cMece HOW REG. BASE STATE 

I CERTIFICATE NUMBER DATE ISSUED 

ADDRESS CHANGE 

I sTREET 1 ctTY I STATE 1 ZIP cooE \ 

Page2 

2.. Ust in chronological order all professional activities since graduation (a.g. hospital deoanment. outoa11en: centers. etc.). Alw list all 
periods of absences from work and non·professional activity or employment lor more tnan !hres monms. Please account tor 211 time. 
If engaged ;n pnvate prnctice. list all hosp11a1 or other proless•onal practtce. 

'rom To Location ~nd Complete Address Position Held 

-o -. 
0 

""0 
0 
(/) 
CD 
0.. 

::rJ 
CD 
(Q 
c 
a 
0 
:::J 
(/) 
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Optometry 

DHP-061 
REV. 71~3 

~-· 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 
Board of Optometry 

Department of Health Pmfes:.ions 
6608 West Broad Stree!, 4th Fl<>a~ 
Richmond, Vlf9inla 23230-t71T (804) 662-7E64-

Please complete top portion and forward one fonn to each State Board where you hold or have held an optometry 
license. Extra copies may be xeroxed if needed. 

NOTE: Some states require a lee, paid in advanr::e, 'tor providing c:Jearanca information. To expedite, you may wish 
to contact the applicable strte(s). 

CLEARANCE FROM OTHER STATE BOARDS 

I was granted llcerise/certificate # on-----~-

by tne state of Thet Virginia Board ot OptometrY requests 

that 1 submit evidence thai my license/certification in the state of =:=cc:ccc:--=;;;::cc,-c-cc-c-:c:-:c-,-c 
is in good standing. You are herebv authorized to releasa any information in your files, favorable, or othe!Wise. 
directly to the Virginia Board of Optomlllly, 6606 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23230-1717. 
Your earliest attention is apprec•ated. 

Si9nature Pnnt or Type Nam& 

EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF STATE BOARD: 

Please complete and return this form to the Virginia Board of Optcmlllly at the above address. 

State crt Name ot Licensee-------------

License/Certiftcate !I Date issued---------------

Licensed/Certified through (check one) 

National Examination---------- State Board Examinatton ----------

Reciprocity/Endorsement from----------------------'-----­

License/Certificate is Current------ lapsed------

------- Diagnostic Pharmaceutical Agents 

Has applicant's license/certificate ever been suspended or revoked? 0 Yes 

Therapeutic Pharmaceutical OrtJgs 

0"' 

II yes, for what reason?-------~-----------~----------

Derogatory information, it any-----~----------------------

Signature-----------~-- Title-----------------

Date------- State Board--------------

BOARD SEAL 

Optometry 

OHP-601 
REV. 7/92 

~-· 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 
Board of Optometry -·---

CERTIFICATE OF TRAINING 

Every applicant applying ktrcertlffcatlon to prescribe lor and treat certain diseases, Including abnormal conditions, 
of the human eye and its adnexa with certain ther.~peutic pharmaceutical agents shall provide evidence at having 
completed a lull-time approved postgr.~duate optometric training progr.~m, or a lull-time approved graduate 
optometric training program to the Board. 

I hereby autltorlze the director of the postgraduate or graduate training program to release to the Vl'9inia Board at 
Optc~etry_ the information listed below in connectlon with the processing of my appUcatlon. 

Sl~n.ture ol Appll<:ant 

It is hereby certified that completed 

the program lor ----------,co,,.;,;;;,-,,~;;;,0~,;;;,,~.,;;.o";o,,;;~;;.;;.,;, 00,;;,;;;m;; •• o;,;;,;;m,;;;;;~;;;----------

from {MoiDsyiVr) to ----;'"OoOoii:,c,;;;,o,, ---· 
School of Optometry _____________ ~----------------

Address=:=:=:=:=----------~------------=:=:=:=:=:=:=:=:=:~ 
City,S!ate,Zif> Code------------------------------

SCHOOL SEAL 

Program Olrftctcr 

Please retum to: Depllrtment of Health Professions 
Board of Optometry 
6606 West Broad Street, 4th Floor 
Richmond, VA 2J230-t717 
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FINAL REGULATIONS 
For Information concerning Final Regulations, see Information Page. 

Symbol Key 
Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Italic type indicates new text. Language which has been stricken indicates 

text to be deleted. [Bracketed language] indicates a substantial change from the proposed text of the regulation. 

VIRGINIA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

NOTICE: The Virginia Housing Development Authority is 
exempt from the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia}; however, under the provisions 
of § 9-6.14:22, it is required to publish all proposed and final 
regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 13 VAC 10-10-10 el seq. Rules and 
Regulations - General Provisions lor Programs of the 
Virginia Housing Development Authority (amending 13 
VAC 10-10-80). 

Statutory Authority: § 36-55.30:3 of !he Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 1996. 

Summary: 

The amendments, in accordance with legislation enacted 
in the 1996 Session of the General Assembly, delete or 
modify certain requirements in the case of the purchase 
by the authority of mortgage loans held, insured or 
assisted by the federal government or any agency or 
instrumentality thereof. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from J. Judson McKellar, Jr., General Counsel, Virginia 
Housing Development Authority, 601 South Belvidere Street, 
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804} 782-1986. 

13 VAC 10-10-80. Purchase ol mortgage loans. 

A. The authority may from time to time, pursuant and 
subject to its rules and regulations, purchase mortgage loans 
from mortgage lenders. In furtherance thereof, the executive 
director may request mortgage lenders to submit oflers to sell 
mortgage loans to the authority in such manner, within such 
time period and subject to such terms and conditions as he 
shall specify in such request. The executive director may 
take such action as he shall deem necessary or appropriate 
to solicit offers to sell mortgage loans, including mailing of the 
request to mortgage lenders, advertising in newspapers or 
other publications and any other methods of public 
announcement which he may select as appropriate under the 
circumstances. The executive director may also consider 
and accept offers for sale of individual mortgage loans 
submitted from time to time to the authority without any 
solicitation therefor by the authority. 

B. The authority shall require as a condition of lhe 
purchase of any mortgage loans frorn a mortgage lender 
pursuant to this section that such mortgage lender within i 80 
days from the receipt of proceeds of such purchase shall 
enter into written commitments to make, and shall thereafter 
proceed as promptly as practical to make and disburse from 
such proceeds, residential mortgage loans in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia having a stated maturity of not 
less than 20 years from the date thereof in an aggregate 

principal amount equal to the amount of such proceeds. The 
foregoing requirement in this subsection B shaii not apply to 
the purchase by the authority of a mortgage loan held, 
insured or assisted by the federal government or any agency 
or instrumentality thereof. 

C. At or before the purchase of any mortgage loan 
pursuant to this section, the mortgage lender shall ce1tify to 
the authority that the mortgage loan would in all respects be a 
prudent investment and that the proceeds of the purchase of 
the mortgage loan shall be invested as provided in 
subsection B of this section or invested in short-term 
obligations pending such investment; provided, however, that 
such certification shall not be required in the case of the 
purchase by the authority of a mortgage loan held, insured or 
assisted by the federal government or any agency or 
instrumentality thereof. 

D. The purchase price for any mortgage loan to be 
purchased by the authority pursuant to this section shall be 
established or determined in accordance with ~ 
subsection B of § 36-55.35 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R96-489; Filed July 17, 1996,9:01 a.m. 

******** 

Title of Regulation: 13 VAC Hl-160-HJ el seq. Rules and 
Regulations lor Administration of Elderly and Disabled 
Low-Income Housing Tax Creclils (amending 13 VAC 10-
160-10, 13 VAC 10-160-20, 13 VAC 10-160-30, 13 VAC 10-
160-60 through 13 VAC 10-160-90; adding 13 VAC 10-160· 
120; and repealing 13 VAC Hl-160-40 and 13 VAC 10-160-
50). 

Statutory Authority: § 36-55.30:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Eftecti'··e Date: Juiy 17, 1996. 

Summarv: 

In accordance with legislation enacted in the 1996 
Session of the General Assembly, the amendments for 
the administration of elderly and disabled low-income 
housing tax credits delete or modify certain provisions to 
allow for the phasing out of this program subsequent to 
June 30, 1996. The amendments also authorize the 
executive director to increase allocations of tax credits 
as necessary to enable the owner to comply with the 
statutory requirement that the rent be at least 15% less 
than the market rent. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from J. Judson McKellar, Jr., General Counsel, Virginia 
Housing Development Authority, 601 South Belvidere Street, 
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 782-1986. 
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CHAPTER 160. 
RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR AbbOCATiml 

ADMINISTRATION OF ELDERLY AND DISABLED LOW­
INCOME HOUSING TAX CREDITS. 

13 VAC 10-160-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meaning, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Authority" means the Virginia Housing Development 
Authority. 

"Board" means the Board of Commissioners of the 
authority. 

"Disability" means (i) a physical or mental impairment 
which substantially limits one or more of the major life 

. activities of such individual and includes any physiological 
disorder or condition, cosmetic disfigurement or anatomical 
loss affecting one or more of the following body systems: 
neurological; musculoskeletal; special sense organs; 
respiratory, including speech organs; cardiovascular; 
reproductive; digestive; genito-urinary; hemic and lymphatic; 
skin; and endocrine; or any mental or psychological disorder 
such as mental retardation, organic brain syndrome, 
emotional or mental illness and specific learning disabilities 
(the term "physical or mental impairment" includes, but is not 
limited to, such diseases and conditions as orthopedic, 
visual, speech and hearing impairments, cerebral palsy, 
autism, epilepsy, muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, 
cancer, heart disease, diabetes, Human Immunodeficiency 
Virus (HIV) infection, mental retardation, emotional illness, 
drug addiction (other than addiction caused by current, illegal 
use of a controlled substance, and alcoholism) or (ii) a record 
of such an impairment; or being regarded as having such an 
impairment which includes a history of or being misclassified 
as having a mental or physical impairment that substantially 
limits one or more major life activities; or a physical or mental 
impairment that does not substantially limit one or more 
major life activities but that is treated by another person as 
constituting such a limitation; or a physical or mental 
impairment that substantially limits one or more major life 
activities only as a result of the attitudes of others toward 
such impairment; or none of the impairments defined above 
but the individual is treated by another person as having such 
an impairment; provided, however, that any physical or 
mental impairment described in (i) or (ii) shall be expected to 
result in death or shall have lasted continuously during the 
immediately preceding 12-month period or shall be expected 
to last continuously during the next succeeding 12-month 
period. 

"Elderly person" means a person who exceeds, by any 
period of time, 62 years of age. 

"Elderly tenant" means (i) an elderly person or (ii) a 
household in which any member is an elderly person. 

"Eligible owner" means any person meeting the criteria for 
an eligible owner as set forth in the state code and these 
rules and regulations. 
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"Eligible tenant" means an elderly tenant or tenant with a 
disability whose income does not exceed the limit described 
in these rules and regulations. 

"Executive director" means the executive director of the 
authority or any other officer or employee of the authority who 
is authorized to act on his behalf or on behalf of the authority 
pursuant to a resolution of the board. 

"HUD fair market rent" means the rent published by the 
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development for the 
Section 8 Rental Certificate Program. 

"Income" means gross income (including but not limited to 
all salary, wages, bonuses, commissions, income from self­
employment, interest, dividends, alimony, rental income, 
pensions, business income, annuities, social security 
payments, cash public assistance, support payments, 
retirement income and any other sources of cash income) 
which is be"1ng received by the elderly tenant or tenant with a 
disability or is regularly paid to or on behalf of such tenant by 
a third party as of the application date. The income of any 
person who is living with an elderly person or person with a 
disability for the primary purpose of providing care to such 
person shall be excluded. All such income, provided it is not 
temporary, shall be computed on an annual basis to 
determine income for the purpose of program eligibility. 

"Market rent" means the amount of rent, as determined by 
the authority pursuant to these rules and regulations, charged 
to other tenants for comparable units (other than tax credit 
units) in the same property or, if there are no such 
comparable units in the same property, for comparable units 
in the same market area. 

"Owner" means aA 8f3f3lisaRt fer ta>( sroEfits I:IREier those 
r"les aAEi F9§"1a!i9AS aAEI, "~SA aAEi S"llse~"eAt te aA 
allesatieR ef SbiGA sre9its, meaRs the owner of the tax credit 
unit to whom the tax credits are allocated. 

"Person with a disability" means a person having a 
disability as defined in these rules and regulations. 

"Program" means the elderly and disabled low-income 
housing tax credit program described in these rules and 
regulations. 

"State code" means Article 3 (§ 58.1-331 et seq.) of 
Chapter 3 of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Tax credit rent" means the reduced amount of rent 
charged for the tax credit unit to the eligible tenant. As 
provided in 13 VAC 10-160-30, the tax credit rent shall be at 
least 15% less than the market rent. 

"Tax credits" means the tax credits as described in § 58.1-
339 of the Code of Virginia; 

"Tax credit unit" means a unH occupied er te 13o eoGI:lf3ieEI 
by eligible tenants at reduced rents in order for the owner to 
be entitled to receive tax credits hereunder. 

"Tenant" means a person or household who is a~flyiR§ fer 
pool:lj:)aAoy ef, or is occupying, a tax credit unit. 

"Tenant with a disability" means (i) a person with a 
disability or (ii) a household in which any member is a person 
with a disability. 

Monday, August 5, 1996 
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13 VAC 10-160-20. Purpose and applicability. 

The following rules and regulations will govern the 
alleeatien 13y tee a"therity administration of tax credits by the 
authority pursuant to the state code. 

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein, acting at 
the request or with the consent of the owner, the executive 
director is authorized to waive or modify any provision herein 
where deemed appropriate by him for good cause, to the 
extent not inconsistent with the state code. 

The rules and regulations set forth herein are intended to 
provide a general description of the authority's preeessin§ 
administration requirements and are not intended to include 
all actions involved or required in the pmsessiA§ ana 
administration of the tax credits. These rules and regulations 
are subject to change at any time by the authority and may 
be supplemented by policies, rules and regulations adopted 
by the authority from time to time. 

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein, all 
procedures and requirements in the state code must be 
complied with and satisfied. 

13 VAC 10-160-30. General description. 

The state code has I:Jeen was amended by adding a 
section numbered 58.1-339 relating to a tax credit for owners 
providing rent reduction for eligible tenants. 

Be§iAAiA§ For taxable years beginning on or after January 
1, 1991, through December 31, -W93 1999, any individual or 
corporation receiving an allocation of tax credits pursuant to 
1 a VAG 1 G 1 SG 7G § 58. 1-339 of the Code of Virginia shall, 
subject to the provisions of the state code and these rules 
and regulations, be entitled to a credit against the tax levied 
pursuant to § 58.1-320 or § 58.1-400 of the Code of Virginia, 
provided that the following requirements are satisfied: 

1. The individual or corporation is engaged in the 
business of the rental of dwelling units (as hereinafter 
specified) and is subject to the Virginia Residential 
Landlord and Tenant Act, § 55-248.2 et seq. of the Code 
of Virginia, either by virtue of the provisions thereof or by 
virtue of the owner's providing for the applicability thereof 
pursuant to § 55-248.5 B of the Code of Virginia; 

2. The owner provides a reduced rent to eligible tenants; 
arul 

3. The rent charged to the eligible tenants is at least 
15% less than the market rent.; and 

4. To claim a credit for reduction of rents charged to a 
tenant on or after July 1, 1996, a credit for rental 
reductions must have been validly claimed on the tax 
credit unit for all or part of the month of June 1996 and 
such tenant must have been an occupant of such tax 
credit unit on June 30, 1996. 

The allowable tax credit amount shall be 50% of the total 
rent reductions allowed during the taxable year to the eligible 
tenants occupying the tax credit units. The amount of the 
rent reduction shall be equal to the market rent minus the tax 
credit rent. For this purpose, the tax credit rent shall include 

any rental subsidy payable on behalf of the eligible tenant 
under any governmental or private program. 

If there are comparable units (other than tax credit units) in 
the same property, the market rent shall be determined by 
the authority to be the rent charged to other tenants for such 
comparable units. For the purpose of determining the 
amount of rent charged to other tenants for comparable units 
in the same property, the authority shall assume that the 
other tenants commenced and, if applicable, renewed their 
leases as of the same dale or dates, and for the sarne term 
or terms as the eligible tenants and at the rents in effect on 
such date or dates. 

If there are no other such comparable units in the same 
property, then the market rent shall be determined by the 
authority to be the rent charged for comparable units in the 
same market area. Such rent shall be (i) the rent most 
recently charged for the tax credit unit to a person (who may 
be the eligible tenant to be assisted) unrelated to the owner 
within the one-year period prior to the date of filing of the 
application, plus a rental increase in an amount determined 
by the authority to reflect increases in rents in the market 
area of such tax credit unit since the date such rent was last 
charged, or (ii) if no rental history as described in (i) exists, 
the HUD fair market rent allowed for a comparable unit in the 
same market area (as reduced, to the extent determined by 
the authority, for any utilities which are rrot to be included in 
the tax credit rent under the terms of the lease); provided, 
however, that the owner may demonstrate to the authority 
that the rent for a comparable unit in the sarne market area is 
higher than (i) or (ii) above, as applicable, and to the extent 
so demonstrated to the satisfaction of the authority, such 
higher rent shall be used. 

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein, the market 
rent shall in no event exceed 150% of the HUD fair market 
rent allowed for comparable units in the same market area 
(as reduced, to the extent determined by the authority, for 
any utilities which are not to be included in the tax credit rent 
under the terms of the lease). 

If the tax credit unit is subsidized or assisted under any 
governmental or private program, the comparable units in the 
same property or market area, as applicable, shall include 
only those units similarly subsidized or assisted. 

Because the intent of the state code is to provide tax 
credits for the rental of dwelling units only, tax credits may oot 
ee allesate(j ey tee a"tROFity shall not be claimed for the 
leasing of land only, including without limitation mobile home 
lots. Tax credits may be allosated claimed for the leasing of 
both a mobile home lot and the mobile home located thereon. 

To be eligible for the program. a dwelling unit rnust contain 
separate and complete facilities for living, sleeping, eating, 
cooking and sanitation. Such accommodations may be 
served by centrally located equipment such as air 
conditioning or heating. Thus, for example, an apartment 
containing a living area, a sleeping area, bathing and 
sanitation facilities and cooking facilities equipped with a 
cooking range, refrigerator and sink, all of which are separate 
and distinct from other apartments, would constitute a unit. 

In order to satisfy the requirement in § 58.1,339 of the 
state code that the owner be an individual or corporation 
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engaged in the business of the rental of dwelling units, the 
owner must iRtBOO have intended at the time of application 
and must intend at all times thereafter to report, for federal 
income tax purposes, all rental and other income and any 
related expenses of the tax credit unit with respect to each 
tax year for which the tax credits are to be claimed for such 
tax credit unit. 

The amount of credit for each individual or corporation for 
each taxable year shall not exceed $10,000 or the total 
amount of tax imposed by Chapter 3 (§ 58.1-300 et seq.) of 
Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia, whichever is less. If the 
amount of such credit exceeds the taxpayer's tax liability for 
such taxable year, the amount which exceeds the tax liability 
may be carried over for credit aga'1nst income taxes of such 
individual or corporation in the next five taxable years until 
the total amount of the tax credit has been taken. 

Credits granted to a partnership or an electing small 
business corporation (S corporation) shall be passed through 
to the individual partners or shareholders in proportion to 
their ownership or interest in the partnership or S corporation. 

The total amount of tax credits which may be approved by 
the authority in any fiscal year prior to fiscal year 1996-1997 
shall not exceed $1 ,000,000. Commencing in fiscal year 
1996-1997, the total amount of tax credits which may be 
approved by the authority in any fiscal year shall not exceed 
$250,000. In the case of tax credits to be claimed for any 
period after June 30, 1996, no tax credits will be approved for a 
unit unless a tax credit was validly claimed for such unit for all 
or part of the month of June 1996. No tax credits may be 
claimed for taxable years after December 31, 1999. 

The authority may charge to each owner fees in such 
amount as the executive director shall determine to be 
necessary to cover the administrative costs to the authority. 
Such fees shall be payable at such time or times as the 
executive director shall require. 

13 VAC 10-160-40. 
(Repealed.) 

SelisitalieRs ef applisatieRs. 

Tee m<esutive sirester may frem time te tiffie tal<e s"sl1 
astieA as Ae may Eieem AesessaFJ er J3TBfler in er9er ta selisit 
applisatieRs fer tax sresits. """" astieAs may iRsl"ee 
atWOrtisiR§ iR RSWSpapers aRd StRer me<Jia, mailiR§ ef 
jr,fermatieR te prespestive applisaRts aR8 etl1er memsers ef 
tee p"slis, aRe aRy etl1er A'1etl1ees ef P"blis aRRe"RsemeRt 
1A'hioh the mmo1:1tive Elirester may seleet as 313f'lFSpriate l:lRt!er 
the siro~FRstanses. TAo exoot:Jtivo Elimoter FRay iFRFJOGO 
FOEjl:liroFRents, limitations anEI semlitiens witl=l resJ3est to tAe 
submiss'1en of 3flf3lisations and the selestion thereof as Ae 
shall sonsidor nesessary or apj3ro101riate. 

13 VAC 10-160-50. Applisatien. (Repealed.) 

Applisatien fer an allesatieR ef tax sredits s11all be 
serRmensee by IiiiA§ witl1 tee a"tl1erity an applisatieR eR s"sh 
forrn or forms as tAo exooutivo diroster may from tiFRe to tiFRO 
pressribe er appreve, tegetl1er witf\ s~sR ees~meAis and 
adsitieRal iRfermatieR as may be req"estee by tee a"tl1ority in 
ereer te sem~ly witl1 tee state seee aR8 te maim tee 
a!losation of the ta)( sredits in aooordaFlGD with those r~:~los 

ane regulatieRs. 
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TAo oxoo~:~tivo dirootor may estal31ish sritoria ana 
ass"mptieRs te be "sea by tee ewRer iA tee sals"latien ef 
affie"nts iR tee ap~lisatien, aRd aAy susl1 sriteria aRe 
assumpt'.ens sl1all be insisated en tee OflfllisatieR form er 
instr1::1stions. 

TAo exee1::1tive Girostor may pressfi'ee s~:~sA dea81inos fer 
s1::113R=tiscien of 3f3J3lisations for allesation of tm( sre9itc for any 
saleRsar year as 11e sl1all deem nesessary er 8esiral31e to 
allew s"lfisieRt presessiR§ tiffie fer tee a"tl1erity te maim sush 
allesatiens. 

Tee tal< sreeit "Ail fer wl1isl1 aA af!plisatieA is s"smittee 
may be, b"t SRall ROt be req"iree te S8, fiAaRS9S B\' tee 
aulf\er'.ty. ',1 any susl1 Ia>< sree',t ~nit is to be fiAaAsee 13y teo 
autl1erity, tee af!plisatieR fer s"sl1 fiRaAsiA§ s11all lao 
s"bmittee te aR8 re"iewes lay tee autl1erity iR asserEianso 
wit11 its applisalale r"los aRe reg"latieRs. 

Tee a"tl1erity may seRsider aRe apprevo, in assersaRse 
11orewitl1, tee allesatieR ef tax sresits for tax sreeit ""its whiffi 
tee a"tl1erity may ewR er may iRtene te asq"ire, seRstr"st er 
rel1abililate. 

13 VAC 10-160-60. Eligibility of tenants and verification. 

The occupancy of units entitled to tax credits is limited to 
elderly tenants or tenants with disabilities whose incomes, as 
of initial occupancy of the tax credit unit by such tenants (or, if 
any such tax credit unit is was occupied by such a tenant on 
January 1 of the first calendar year for which the tax credits 
are to be were claimed for such tax credit unit, as of such 
January 1 ), oo did not exceed 80% of the median income for 
the area. Preference in occupancy of tax credit units will-Be 
must have been given to eligible tenants whose incomes are 
were less than or equal to 50% of the median income for the 
area. The United States Department of Housing and Urban 
Development income limits for subsidized programs, as 
adjusted by family size, will-9e must have been used in 
determining such 80% and 50% of median income for the 
area. 

In the case of tax credits to be claimed for any period after 
June 30, 1996, in order to be eligible the tenant must have 
been an occupant of the tax credit unit on June 30, 1996. 

Owners sl1all se required te ebtaiR must have obtained 
written income verification for eligible tenants who occupy Bf 

are e><peste8 te ess~py a tax credit unit. The verification of 
income must Be have been sent by the owner to each 
employer or the agency providing benefits along with a 
stamped, self-addressed return envelope. Such verification 
sRookl must have then be retained by the owner and a copy 
submitted to the authority (together with an executed 
confirmation of resident eligibility form and the verification of 
age or disability) at the time that the eligible tenant is was 
determined by the owner to be income eligible. Verification of 
income must J3.e have been current as of a date no earlier 
than 90 days prior to the date set feftR iA tee preseeiAg 
paragrapl1 (see first paragraph in this section) as of which the 
income of the eligible tenant is was determined for eligibility 

.purposes. 

With respect to tax credits claimed for rental of tax credit 
units to tenants with disabilities, owners st:lall 13o req~:~iro8 to 
e9taffi must have obtained a written verification of disability. 
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Verification of said disability 
obtained from a physician, 
rehabilitation service center 
Administration. 

ffiay Be must have been 
diagnostic or vocational 
or the Social Security 

With respect to tax credits claimed for rental of tax credit 
units to elderly tenants, owners must """">' have verified the 
age of all persons claiming to exceed 62 years of age. 
Verification of Social Security benefits paid on the person's 
behalf wiU-I>e 1s acceptable if a birth certificate saAAet ee 
could not have been obtained; provided, however, that any 
person receiving suiVivor Social Security benefits who <lees 
did not exceed 62 years of age or <lees did not have a 
disability is not eligible for occupancy of a tax credit unit. 

The initial lease term for all eligible tenants occupying a tax 
credit unit may-fl<ll...be must not have been less than a 12-
month period. 

13 VAC 10-160-70. Re••iew an<l selection of application; 
Administration of allocation of tax credits. 

Pursuant te the state se~e. the state is ~ivies~ lAte the 
fellewin§ lew inseme heusin§ Ia>< sreeit allesatien areas, 
easF! ef whiso shall eo allesated the ~ereent share ef tax 
sreeits set ferth llelew and iA toe state sees: 

AllesatieA Area 1 

Persent Share of Ta>c Credits: 10.79 

Plannin§ Distris!: b!;NOWISCO 

JurisE!istieAs: ~Jerten City, bee Ceunty, Ssott Ceunty, Wise 
Gewily 

Plannin§ Distrist: CunnberlaAEl Plateau 

duriseistions: Bushanan Ceunty, Disl<ensen Ceunty, Ryssell 
Ceunty, Tazewell Ceunty 

Plannin§ Distrisl: Meunt Re§ers 

dmiseistiens: Bristel City, Galax City, Slana Ceunty, Carrell 
Ceunty, Grayson Ceunty, Snn~·th Ceunty, Washin§tSA 
Ceunty, Wythe Ceunty 

PlanAiR§ Distris!: New Ri>Jer Valley 

duriseistiees: Raafera City, Floyd Ceunty, Giles CouAty, 
Ment§enne,,· Ceunty, Pulaski Ceunty 

AllesatieA Area 2 

Persent Si1are ef Tal< Credits: 12.()9 

Plannin§ Distrist: l"ifth 

duriseislieAs: Clifton l"er§e City, CoviR§ten City, Reanel<e 
~alem City, Allegl1any Ceunl)', Beteteurt Count)', Craig 
County, Reanel<e Ceuety 

Plaenin§ Distrist: Central Vir§inia 

duriseietiees: Beafera City, bynehburg City, .~mherst County, 
Appemattex CeuRt)', 8edlere Ce•mty, Cann~bell County 

Planning Distrist: VJ/est PieEJment 

durisaistiees: Danville City, Martinsville City, l"ranl<lin County, 
Hemy Ceunty, Patrisk Ceunty, Pittsylvania County 

A.'leoatieA i\roa d 

Persent Share ef Tax Credits: ll.7Q 

Planning Distriet: Central Shenandoah 

J~:~ris8isUens: Qyena Vista City, F=larrisenbl:H§ City, Le>~iRgton 
City, Staunton City, Waynesbere City, AH§usta Ceunty, Bath 
Ceunty, HighlamJ Ceunty, Resl<bri~ge County, Reekinghann 
Gewily 

Planning Distrist: bera l"airfal< 

Jurisaistiens: WiAshester Cit)•, Clarke County, l"rederisl< 
Ceunty, Page Ceunty, Shenanaeah Ceuety, Warree County 

Allocation Area 4 

Pereent Share ef Tal< Credits: 2Q.98 

Planning! Qistrist: ~Jorthern Virginia 

duriseistiens: Ale><aneria City, l"airfa>< City, l"alls Chureh Cit)', 
Manassas City, Manassas Pari< City, Arlin§ten Ceunty, 
Fairla>< Ceunty, beudeun Ceunty, Prinse William County 

Allocation Area 9 

Pereent Share ef Tax Credits: 4.70 

Planning Distriet: Rappahannesl< Ra~iaan 

Jurisaistiens: Culpeper Ceunty, l"au~uier Ceunty, Madison 
County, Oran§e CeuRVJ', Rap~ahannesl< Ceunty 

Plannin§ Dis\rist: Thennas Jefferson 

durisaisliens: Cl1arlettesville City, AII:Jemarle County, 
f'lu'lanna County, Greene County, beuisa County, Nelsen 
Gewily 

Allesatien AFea e 
Pereent Share ef Tax Credits: ii.22 

PlanniAg Distrist: Southside 

Jurisaisliens: Seuth l'lesten Cit)', Brunswisl< Ceunty, Halifm< 
Ceunty, Mesl<lenbur§ County 

Planning Distrist: Piedmont 

Juris<listiens: P melia County, Busl<ing11ann Ceunl)', Charlotte 
County, Cumberland Ceurty, bunenbur§ Ceuety, ~letteway 
Ceunty, Prinse eawara County 

Planning Distrist:-Gfatef 

JYris<listiens: Celenial Hei§hls Cit)', ennperia City, Hopewell 
City, Petersbur§ City, Dinwiddie Ceunty, Greensville Ceuety, 
Prineo Geerge Ge~:~nty, Sblrrt Cef:lnty, St:~ssen Ger.1nty 

,O,.'Iesatien Ama 7 

Persent Share efTa>< Credits: 12.@8 

Planning Dis\rist: Risi1nnen<l Regional 

durisdistiens: Rishmena City, Charles City Ceunty, 
Chesterfield Ceunty, Geeshlan<l Ceunty, Hanever Ceuety, 
Henrise County, New Kent County, Pewi1ataA County 

Virginia Register of Regulations 

3148 



AHesatieA Area 8 

Persent Sham efTa" Cmaits: 9.19 

PlanniR§ Distrist: RADCO 

durisaist;,ens: l'reaeriskseur§ Ci\y, Caroline Ceun\y, Kin§ 
Geer§e County, Spotsylvania Ceunty, Staffera County 

PlanniR§ Distrist: Nerthem ~I eel< 

durisaistiens: bansaster County, NerthumeerlanEI Ceun\y, 
RishFRon9 Ge~:~nty, Westmorelan9 Co~::~nty 

PlanniR§ Distrist: MiEiale Peninsula (net insluaiR§ Gleusester) 

durisaistiens: eSS8l< County, KiR§ ana Queen County, KiR§ 
VVilliam Ceunty, Mathews County, Miaalese" County 

PlanAiR§ Distrist: Assomasl< ~lerthampten 

durisaistiens: Assemasl< County, ~lorthampten County 

Allosatien Area 9 

Persen! Share ef Tal< CreEii!s: 21.69 

Plannin€J Distrist: Sellt~eastern ViF§inia 

durisaistiens: Chesapeal<e City, l"ranldin City, Nerfell< City, 
PertsFReuth City, Suffell< City, Vir§inia Sease City, Isle ef 
Wi§RI County, SeuthaFRpteR Ceunty 

P',anniR§ Distr\st PeniRsula 

durisaistiens: FlaFRpten City, Newport News City, Pe~uesen 
City, WilliaFRseur§ City, daFRes City County, Yerl< County 

PlanniR§ Distrist: Miaale Peninsula 

dl:lricEiistianc: Glousestor Ce~:~nty 

TRe Sl<Ssutive airester FRay further sul:lallesate these 
allosation areas inta allaaatien Sl;lbpoals 13ase9 upen one or 
FRere ef the fellewiA§ tasters: §ee§raphisal areas; types er 
oharasteristiss ef Rol:lsin§, sonstr~:~stian, finansin§, owners, or 
essupants; er any ether tasters aeemea apprepriate ey hiFR te 
eest FReet the heusiR§ needs ef the CeFRFRenwealth. 

Tax sreaits shall ee allesatea te eli§i91e owners en a "first 
seFRe, first serves" oasis. lA the event that the aFReunt ef tal< 
sredits available within an allosation area er Sldbpeel is 
suffisient fer seFRe eut net all ef eli§i91e applisatiens reseivea 
13y the alllflerity en the same eay, then the authority shall 
selest ene er FRere ef sush applisatiens 9y let. 

Tho e>msutive direstor FRay mwlude and ElisregmEI any 
applisatien whish he aeterFRines is net su9FRittee in §Sea 
faith., 

The aFReunt ef Ia>< sreaits whish may 13e allesatee fer tax 
sre8it units in any sin§le eevelepFRent shall net e><eeea 
$1G,GGG; previaee, however, that the exesutive airester may 
freFR time !e time terminate er suspend sush $1 G,GGG limit fer 
Sl:lGh alleeation mea er areas and fer s~:~sh period of time as 
he shall eeom appropriate te assure full utilization ana prepor 
aistril:lutioR of the Ia>< ereaits. l"er the purpose ef GSFRplianse 
with sush $1 G,OOG limit, IRe exesuUve <:liresler may aetermine 
that developments in one or more applications senstitt:Jte a 
sin§le aevelepment eases upen sueR lasters as he FRay 
deem relevant, includin§ "Jithet:Jt limitation tho ownership, 
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preJ<iFRity, age, managemeAt, Hnano;,n§ ana ~P.ysioal 
characteristics of tho developments. 

Tho eneoutive 9irecter shall allsoate ta)( credits, in the 
manner descriBed al3ovo, to oli§ible owners within each 
a'.leoa\;,en area er suh~eel, ;,f a~plioa91e, until either all lfll< 
sreaits therein are allesatee er all eli§i91e ewnors therein 
have reseivod allocations. The amot:Jnt allocated to each 
sush oligiele ewner shall eo o~ual te the lesser ef (i) the 
aFHeunt re~uestee in the a~plioatien er (ii) the amount, 
aeterFRinea ey the exesutive aireeter, te whish the oli§il:lle 
owner is entitled ~;.~nder the state code and those rt:Jies ana 
re§ulatiens as sf the eate ef applisatien; previEioa, however, 
that in ne event shall the aFHeunt ef ta>< sreaits se allesatea 
eJ<Geee the ameunl sf tm< sreeits availaele in the alleoalien 
area er suepeel freFR whish sush tax oreeits are te ee 
allesatee. 

Amet:mts in any allocation area net alloeateEf to any eli§ible 
~.vners may not Be reallocated to any other allocation areas. 
Any amounts in any allesatien suepeels net allesatea te 
eligiele owners shall ee reallesatee amen§ the ether 
suepeels (within the saFRe allesatien area) in whish eli§i91e 
ewnors shall not have reseivea alleeatiens in the full amount 
permissible t:mder those rules and rog~:~lations. S1:1sh 
reallesatien shall t>o FRase pre rata eased en the aFReunt 
eri§inally alleeatea te all sush sue~eols with e><sess 
applisatiens aivieed t>y the tetal amount eri§inally allesatea te 
all susf1 sue~eels witR e>mess applisatiens. Sush 
reallesatiens shall sentinue te ee FRaas until either all sf the 
ta>< sroeits within the allesation area are allesatoa to eli§i91e 
owners in tho manner described above or all a13plisations in 
tho alloeation area have received allocations. 

The o><esutive airoster determines whether the ewnor ana 
the ta>< sreait units are entitloe te ta>< srosits under the stale 
sede ane these rules ana regulations. If the o><esutive 
Eiirostor determines tAat the O"tRDF or tAo tax sreElit units aFe 

net se entitlee te tax sreaits, the ewnor shall 9e se infermee 
ane his applisatien shall eo torFRinateEI. If tho autherity 
Efoterminos that tho owner anEf the tax credit ~;.~nits are so 
entitles te ta>< sroeits, then tho exosutive Elirester shall issue 
te the ewner, en t>ehalf ef tho autherity, a seFRFRitFRent fer 
allesatien ef taJ< ereaits with respesl le the applisaele taJ< 
sroait units. The allesatien shall ile suejost le the ap~reval er 
ratifieatien thereof 13y the authority's eeard as aesoriilea 
Belew, 

The eeare shall review and sensiaor the analysis ana 
reoommonEfation of tt:le e>mot:Jtive Elireotor for the allocation of 
tm( credits, and, if it oonst:Jrs witt:l suot:l rocommenEfation, it 
sAal'. By rese',~o~ti,eR apfHGve or fatffy tAo allosa\\on by the 
exesutive airester ef the ta" ereaits te the eli§ii31e ewner, 
s1:1bject to si:Ict:l toFA=Js and conditions as tt:lo Board or tt:le 
mcecuti"e director st:lall deeFA necessary or approwiato to 
assure seFRplianse with the slate sese and these '"les ana 
regulations. If the saara aetorFHines net te approve or ratify 
an alloeation of ta>< credits, tt:lo exect:Jtivo Elirector st:lall so 
notify tl=le owner. 

UpoA compliance witt:l tt:lo state soda and tt:leso r1::1les and. 
·· ro§t:Jiatiens, tAo ewnor to wt:lom an allocation is made 
horei:Indor st:lall be entitled te tax cmdits annually, in sust:l 
amount as is Eletorminod by the autt:lority p~;.~rsuant to tt:lose 
rules and FD§Uiations, for each year beginning in tho year for 
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WRiSR S~SR allesatieR is Ff\9~8 GA~ SRdiRg 08S8Ff1B9r 31, 
1993, YAiess termiAa!eEI er red~se€1 pYrsuaAt to toeso rules 
aRe reg~latieRs. 

Except as provided in 13 VAG 1 0·160·120, tax credits shall 
not be allocated by the authority after June 30, 1996. 
Allocations of tax credits made by the authority prior to June 
30, 1996, shall remain in effect, subject to the provisions of 
these rules and regulations. 

The amount of tax credits claimed by an owner in any 
taxable year for tax credit units shall not exceed the amount of 
tax credits allocated to such owner for such tax credit units. 
The executive director may require that owners to whom tax 
credits have been allocated shall submit from time to time or 
at such specified times as he shall require, written 
confirmation and documentation as to the status of the each 
tax credit unit and its compliance with the application and 
these rules and regulations. If on the basis of such written 
confirmation and documentation and other available 
information the executive director determines that lf'.e any tax 
credit unit does not er will Ret qualify or will not continue to 
qualify for such tax credits, then the executive director may 
terminate or reduce the allocation of such tax credits. 
1Nitoeut limitiRg the leregeiAg, the owAer shall lease the tax 
sreeit uAits te eligilale tenants at redused reAts suel1 that tl1e 
aggregate ef sueR reA! redustiens si1all be Ae less tiotaA toe 
aggregate ef ti1e rent reduslieRs set ferti1 iA the applisatieA. 
lA lee eveet that toe ewAer slo1all fail te se lease the ta>< sreeit 
"Ails, tlo1e a"toerity may, "P"" its determieatien that tee 
ewAer is uAa~le er YAWilliAg te utilize fully its allesatieR ef the 
tax sreaits, termieate er red8se s~sl'1 allesatien, as it sl'1all 
deem appropriate. 

The authority shall have the right to inspect the tax credit 
units and related property and improvements from time to 
time, and the tax credit units and related property and 
improvements shall be in a state of repair and condition 
satisfactory to the authority. The authority may require the 
owner to make necessary repairs or improvements, in a 
manner acceptable to the authority, as a condition for 
reseivieg er qualifying fer aA allesatieR ef ta" sreeits er for 
certification to the Department of Taxation as described 
hereinbelow. 

Toe e><esutive airester FHay establish s~sh eeaelines fer 
llle ewner to qYalify fer the ta" sredits aea to semply with tlo1e 
applisatieR ana these r8les aAd reg"latieRs as he shall eeeFfl 
neeessary er Elesira81e to alle'\' tl=le a~;~tl=lerity s~:~f:fisient time, in 
the event of a roEfHstieA or terFRiAatien of tAo O'lmer's 
allesatieR, te allesate s"sA ta>< sredils te etlo1er eligiille 
0'.\'AOFS. 

Any material changes to the condition, use or occupancy of 
the tax credit unit or in any other representations, facts or 
information, as contained or proposed in the application, 
occurring subsequent to the submission of the application for 
the tax credits therefor shall be subject to the prior written 
approval of the executive director. As a condition to any such 
approval, the executive director may, as necessary to comply 
with these rules and regulations and the state code, reduce 
the amount of tax credits allocated or impose additional terms 
and conditions with respect thereto. If such changes are 
made without the prior written approval of the executive 
directcir, he may terminate or reduce the allocation of such 

tax credits or impose additional terms and conditions with 
respect thereto. 

lA IRS event teat any allesatien ef ta>< sredits is termiRated 
er ree~see sy ti1e e><esutive direeter under this sestien, he 
may allesale s"s" ta>< sredits (in the ameYRt ef sush 
tefminatieR Of Fedustien) te eligiille owners (ether tl'1an !Ae 
ewAeFS wRese ta1c smdit a!JeGflt.iM--was-so terFRinatod or 
red~sed) in tee first seFfle fimt sef\lee manner dessribed 
aileve er in sYsh ether manner as Re soall determiRe 
seRsisten\ with tlo1e re~uireFflsnts ef the state seas. 

If sYilsequent te reseipt ef an allesatien el tal< sFeEiits an 
owner shall transfer any of the tax credit units to a transferee 
which is eligible for such tax credits under the state code and 
these rules and regulations, such transferee shall thereupon 
be entitled to the allocation of tax credits for such tax credit 
units and shall, for the purposes of these rules and 
regulations, be thereafter deemed the owner for such tax 
credits. 

13 V AC 1 0·160·80. Tax credit period. 

Each period for which an owner may claim tax credits for 
any tax credit unit shall commence upon the date that the tax 
credit unit is occupied by an eligible tenant pursuant to a 
lease providing for a 1 2-month term and for the payment of 
rent in the amount of the tax credit rent. Such period shall 
not commence prior to the allocation of the tax credits by the 
authority to the owner, except that if the tax credit unit is so 
occupied from the first day of the month in which the 
allocation of tax credits is made, such period shall commence 
on such first day of the month. Such period shall continue 
until termination of occupancy as described in 13 VAG 1 0· 
160-90 or until December 31, 1999, whichever occurs first. 
However, in no event shall any such period commence and 
continue unless the tax credit unit is and remains in a state of 
repair and condition satisfactory to the authority, all 
documentation required by 13 VAG 1 0-160-60 has been and 
is submitted to the authority in accordance herewith, and all 
other applicable requirements of the state code and these 
rules and regulations have been and are satisfied. If the 
owner shall be entitled to claim tax credits on any tax credit 
unit lor a portion of a month during such period, the rent 
reduction shall be calculated pro rata based upon the number 
of days in such month that the owner is so entitled to claim 
tax credits or, with respect to the termination of occupancy, 
shall be calculated as provided in 13 VAG 1 0-160-90. 

13 VAC 10·160-90. Maintenance of records; submission 
requirements; termination of occupancy. 

Owners shall be responsible for obtaining and maintaining 
all documentation required by the authority to evidence that 
the tax credit units qualify for tax credits under the program. 
Owners will be responsible for providing this documentation 
to the authority for review within 30 days following the end of 
each calendar year; provided, however, that the documents 
listed in subdivisions 2 a, b, c and g of this section shall ~e 
must have been submitted at the time required by 13 VAC 
10·160-60. The tax credit unit will not qualify for tax credits if 
all required documents, in the form required by the authority, 
are not so provided. Required documentation to be 
submitted to the authority includes, but is not limited to, the 
following: · 
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1. A listing (including dates of occupancy) of all tenants 
s"rroA!Iy oee"pyiA§, or who provio"sly oee"piod, who 
occupied a tax credit unit entitled to a tax credit for that 
year. 

2. A complete certification package for each eligible 
tenant receiving the reduced rent. The certification must 
include: 

a. A completed and executed confirmation of resident 
eligibility form. 

b. Verification of income. 

c. Verification of age or disability. 

d. A certification from the tenant verifying: 

(1) What unit type/size was occupied, 

(2) Number of months said unit was occupied, 

(3) The amount of rent paid, aA4 

(4) How many months that amount of rent was pai<h, 
and 

(5) In the case of the tax credits claimed for any 
period after June 30, 1996, occupancy of the tax 
credit unit by the tenant on June 30, 1996. 

e. A certification of the owner that prior to July 1, 
1996, preference in occupancy of the tax credit units 
was given to eligible tenants whose incomes are were 
less than or equal to 50% of the median income for the 
area (the waiting list for tax credit units during the 
calendar year identifying the persons applying for such 
units and their incomes shall be maintained by the 
owner and shall be available for inspection by the 
authority). 

f. Rent rolls for the comparable units in the same 
property as the tax credit units setting forth the rents 
charged to other tenants, if rents for such comparable 
units are to be used to determine the amount of the 
rent reduction pursuant to 13 VAC 1 0-160-30. 

g. Copies of leases for each tax credit unit. 

h. In the case of the tax credits claimed for any period 
after June 30, 1996, a certification of the owner that a 
tax credit for rental reductions was validly claimed on 
the tax credit unit for all or part of the month of June 
1996, and that the tenant receiving such rental 
reductions was an occupant of such tax credit unit on 
June 30, 1996. 

In the event of termination of occupancy, the rent reduction 
shall be calculated pro rata based upon the number of days 
determined in the following manner. In the event of death of 
the only elderly person or person wtth a disability occupying a 
tax credit unit, the owner must obtain a copy of the death 
certificate or must provide other acceptable documentation of 
death; and the number of days for which an owner is entitled 
to tax credits on such deceased person's tax credit unit shall 
be determined by the date of death. If the eligible tenant 
abandons the tax credit unit, the earliest of the date the 
owner discovers the tax credit unit is vacant, the date any 
utility company terminates service on the tax credit unit, or 
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the date 30 days after abandonment will be used to 
determine the number of days for which the tax credit unit is 
entitled to the tax credit. If the tax credit unit shall not be so 
abandoned but the eligible tenant shall not occupy the tax 
credit unit for a period of 30 days (or such longer period of 
time as the executive director may approve), the end of such 
period shall be used to determine the number of days f or 
which the tax credit unit is entitled to the tax credit. If the 
lease is terminated for any reason other than those set forth 
above in this paragraph, the effective date of termination 
shall be used to determine the number of days for which the 
tax credit unit is entitled to the tax credit. 

13 VAC 10-160-120. Authority to increase allocation of 
credits. 

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein, the 
executive director may, in his discretion and without 
ratification or approval by the board, increase the amount of 
credits allocated to a tax credit unit for the purpose of 
allowing the owner to continue to comply with the require­
ment in the state code and these rules and regulations that 
the rent charged to the eligible tenant be at least 15% less 
than the market rent. Any request for such increase shall 
include such information, opinions, certifications and 
documentation as the executive director may require. 

VA. A. Doc. No. R96·490; Filed May 22, 1996, July 17, 1996, 9:02a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES (STATE 
BOARD OF) 

Title of Regulation: [ VR 615 gg 01. 22 VAC 40-10-10 et 
seq.] Public Participation Guidelines (REPEALED). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 9-6.14:7.1 and 63.1-25 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 4, 1996. 

Summary: 

This regulation describes the way the State Board of 
Social Services obtains public input when developing, 
revising or repealing a regulation. This regulation has 
been repealed and superseded by 22 VAG 40-11-10 et 
seq. 

Summarv of Public Comment and Agency Response: No 
public comment was received by the promulgating agency. 

Agency Contact L. Richard Martin, Jr., Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Social Services, 730 East Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219-1849, telephone (804) 692-
1825. 

VA.R. Doc. No. A96-477; Filed July 10, 1996, 1:12 p.m. 

******** 

Title of Regulation: [ VR eis gg 91:1. 22 VAC 40-11-10 et 
seq.] Public Participation Guidelines. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 9-6.14:7.1 and 63.1-25 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
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Final Regulations 

Effact!ye Date: September 4, 1996. 

Summary: 

This regulation describes the way the State Board of 
Social SeiViaes obtains public Input when developing, 
revising or repealing a regulation. The regulation covers 
the following topics: petitions from interested parties, 
solicitation of Input, public hearings, and withdrawal of 
regulations. 

Summary of public Comment and Agency Response: No 
public comment was received by the promulgating agency. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from L. Richard Martin, Jr., Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Social Services, 730 East Broad Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219·1849, telephone (804) 692·1825. 

[ CHAPTER 11. 
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES.] 

PART!. 
GENERAL PROVISIONS. 

[ §-1-,4, 22 VAC 40-11·10.] Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in [ #leGe 
regwfa#eRs this chapter], shall have the following meanings, 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act (APA)" means Chapter 1.1:1 
(§ 9-6. 14:1 et seq.) of Title 9 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Approving authority" means State Board of Social 
Services. 

"Board" means State Board of Social Services. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 
Department of Social Services or his designee. 

"Department" means Department of Social Services. 

"Division" means organizational entity within the 
department, designated by the commissioner, which 
develops regulations subject to the Administrative Process 
Act. 

"Governor's Executive Order" means any policy or 
procedure issued by the Governor under § 2. 1·41. 1 or § 9-
6. 14:9. 1 A of the Code of Virginia establishing the 
administrative policy and procedures for gubernatorial review 
and regulatory actions governed by the Administrative 
Process Act. 

"Person" means an individual, a corporation, a partnership, 
an association, a governmental body, a municipal 
corporation, or other legal entity. 

[ -§-+.2-. 22 VAC 40-11-20.] Application. 

These guidelines apply to all regulations [ ariepterl 
promulgated] by the board. 

PART fl. 
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION. 

[ §-B,+. 22 VAC 40·11·30.] General. 

A. The procedures In [ § :u; ef ltlis FegliialiliHI 22 VAC 40· 
11·70 ] shalf be used for soliciting the Input of Interested 
persons in the Initial formation and development, amendment 
or repeal of regulations In accordance with the Administrative 
Process Act. This [ o'eff!JiatieR chapter ] does not apply to 
regulations exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6. 14:4. 1 [ of the Code of 
Virginia ] ). 

B. The department shalf follow the policies and procedures 
established by the Administrative Process Act and the 
Governor's Executive Order In developing emergency, 
proposed and final adoption, amendment or repeal of 
regulations. 

C. At the discretion of the approving authority or the 
department, the public participation procedures in [ ~ 22 
VAC 40·11-70] may be supplemented to provide additional 
public participation in the regulation adoption process or as 
necessary to meet federal requirements. 

D. The failure of any person to receive any notice or 
copies of any documents provided under these guidelines 
shalf not affect the validity of any regulations otherwise 
adopted in accordance with this [ reg>JiatieR chapter]. 

[ §-2.,2, 22 VAC 40·11·40.] Petitions from interested parties. 

Any person may petition the agency to develop a new 
regulation or to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation. The 
petition, at a minimum, shalf contain the following information: 

1. Name of petitioner; 

2. Petitioner's mailing address and telephone number; 

3. Petitioner's interest in the proposed action; 

4. Recommended new regulation or addition, deletion, 
or amendment to a specific regulation or regulations; 

5. Statement of need and justification for the proposed 
action; 

6. Statement of impact on the petitioner and other 
affected persons; and 

7. Supporting documents, as applicable. 

The department shalf provide a written response to such 
petition. 

[ ~ 22 VAC 40-11-50.] Solicitation of input. 

A. Each division of the department shalf establish and 
maintain a list or lists consisting of persons expressing an 
interest in the adoption, amendment or repeal of regulations 
under its administration, management or supe!Vision. 
Persons may request the addition of their name and address 
to the list at any time. The fists wilf be updated as additional 
interested parties are identified. Deletions will be made when 
lack of interest is determined by the division as a result of 
periodic contact initiated by the division. 
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B. The department may form an ad hoc advisory group or 
utilize a standing advisory committee to assist in the drafting, 
formation or review of a proposal when expertise is 
necessary to address a specific regulatory interest or issue, 
or when persons register an interest in the subject of the 
regulation and in working with the department. 

C. Whenever a division identifies a need for the adoption, 
amendment or repeal of regulations under its administration, 
management or supervision, it may commence the regulation 
adoption process according to these procedures. 

D. The department shall issue a Notice of Intended 
Regulatory Action (NOIRA) which describes the subject 
matter and intent of the planned regulation for all regulatory 
proposals in accordance with the Administrative Process Act. 
The NOIRA shall state whether the agency intends to hold a 
public hearing. 

E. The commissioner shall disseminate the NOIRA to the 
public by: 

1. Distribution to the Registrar of Regulations for 
publication in The Virginia Register, and 

2. Distribution by mail to parties on the list established 
under subsection A of this section. 

F. The agency shall consider public comment in drafting 
proposed regulations. 

G. Upon approval by the board of the proposed 
regulations prepared by the department, the department shall 
solicit public comment through: 

1. Distribution to the Registrar of Regulations for 
publication in The Virginia Register, 

2. Publication of a Notice of Comment Period in a 
newspaper of general circulation published at the state 
capital and such other newspapers as the department 
may deem appropriate, and 

3. Distribution of a notice of comment by mail to persons 
on the lists established under subsection A of this 
section. 

I §-24 22 VAG 40-11-60. I Public hearings. 

A. The board shall permit public comment concerning the 
adoption, amendment, or repeal of a regulation submitted for 
its promulgation during the board's regularly scheduled public 
comment period of its authorized meetings in conformity with 
the established rules of the board. The board may allow 
public comment about a proposed regulation at a committee 
meeting when the proposed regulation is under consideration 
by the committee. 

B. When the NOIRA states that the department does not 
plan to hold a hearing on the proposed regulation, the 
department shalf schedule a hearing when it determines that 
there is sufficient public interest in a proposed regulation 
through receipt of requests for a hearing from 25 people or 
more. The hearing may be held at any time during the public 
comment period and at such times and locations as the 
department decides will best facilitate input from interested 
persons. 

Volume 12, Issue 23 
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1 §-2-£ 22 VAG 40-11-70. 1 Withdrawal of regulations. 

If the department determines that the process to adopt, 
amend or repeal any regulation should be terminated after 
promulgation of the proposed regulation by the approving 
authority, the department shall present a recommendation 
and rationale for the withdrawal of the proposed regulation to 
the approving authority. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R96-478 Filed July 10, 1996, 1:11 p.m. 
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EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: Stale Plan for Medical Assistance 
Relating to Diagnosis Related Groupings. 
12 VAC 30·70·200 et seq. Methods and Standards for 
Establishing Payment Rates--Inpatient Hospital Care. 
12 VAC 30·80-10 el seq. Methods and Standards lor 
Establishing Payment Rates··Other Types of Care 
(repealing 12 VAC 30·80-140). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1·325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Elfective Dates: July 9, 1996 through July 8, 1997. 

Summary: 

1. REQUEST: The Governor is hereby requested to approve 
this agency's adoption of the emergency regulation entitled 
"Inpatient Hospital Payment System." 

2. RECOMMENDATION; Recommend approval of the 
Department's request to take an emergency adoption action 
regarding "Inpatient Hospital Payment System." The 
Department intends to initiate the public notice and comment 
requirements contained in the Code of Virginia§ 9·6.14:7.1. 

/s/ Joseph M. Teefey 
Deputy Director 
Date: June 13, 1996 

3. CONCURRENCES: 

/s/ Robert W. Lauterberg 
Director, Department of Planning and Budget 
Date: June 26, 1996 

lsi Robert C. Metcalf 
Secretary of Health and Human Resources 
Date: June 27, 1996 

APPROVE: 

Is/ George Allen 
Governor 
Date: July 3, 1996 

FILED WITH: 

Jane D. Chalfin 
Deputy Registrar of Regulations 
Date: July 9, 1996 

DISCUSSION 

6. BACKGROUND: The section of the State Plan affected 
by this action is the Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates--Inpatient Hospital Care, Attachment 4.19-A 
{VR 460·02·4.1910 or 12 VAG 30, chapter 70). 

In December 1990, the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services (DMAS) and the Virginia Hospital and Healthcare 
Association {VHHA) (formerly the Virginia Hospital 
Association) signed a settlement agreement, putting an end 
to a multi-year litigation brought under the provisions of the 
federal Boren Amendment (lor a discussion of the Boren 
Amendment, refer to the Supplement at the end of this 
Decision Brief). This agreement prescribed a reimbursement 

methodology for hospitals, to be in effect during state fiscal 
years 1992 through 1996. It also required that starting 
January 1995, DMAS and the VHHA would form a Joint Task 
Force and develop a reimbursement methodology lor the 
time period following June 30, 1996, on which date the 
agreement would lapse. 

DMAS and the VHHA did form the Joint Task Force. The 
deliberations of the Task Force produced a reimbursement 
system design that is the basis of these regulations. In 
support of the need to implement the system timely, the 1996 
General Assembly authorized implementation of a new 
reimbursement system based on DRGs and required that it 
be effective July 1, 1996. 

The current reimbursement system pays for inpatient 
hospital services by means of prospectively determined per 
diem rates. Hospitals are paid their per diem rate times the 
number of days of care provided. The new system will base 
payment on the "case" rather than the day. Each case will be 
paid according to the diagnosis and procedure or procedures 
that are specific to the case. The greater the complexity of 
the case, the higher the payment. This methodology, 
referred to as Diagnosis Related Groupings (DRGs), allows 
fully prospective pricing of inpatient services while 
recognizing that not all patients cost the same to treat. On 
the other hand, payment is not greater simply because the 
patient remains in the hospital longer. It is expected that the 
transition to DRGs will increase fairness in the distribution of 
payments to hospitals and will increase the incentive to 
control costs. It is not anticipated that the new system will 
increase the required appropriation for inpatient hospital 
services to the agency. 

Additional payments to hospitals with a "disproportionate 
share" of Medicaid patients will continue under these 
regulations but will be targeted to a smaller group of hospitals 
that have a very high proportion of Medicaid and low income 
patients. 

Medical education and capital costs will, during the two· 
year transition period, at least, continue to be paid as they 
have been in the past ·· that is, based on reasonable cost 
incurred. 

Psychiatric and rehabilitation cases will continue to be paid 
on a per diem basis into the foreseeable future. 

State teaching hospitals will continue to be treated as a 
separate peer group in this methodology. 

The change to DRGs will not occur all at once. There will 
be two years when final reimbursement will be based partly 
on DRGs and partly on the current methodology of per diem 
rates. This will allow time lor hospitals to adjust to the new 
system. 

7. AUTHORITY TO ACT: The Code of Virginia (1950) as 
amended, § 32.1·324, grants to the Director of the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) the 
authority to administer and amend the Plan for Medical 
Assistance in lieu of Board action pursuant to the Board's 
requirements. The Code also provides. in the Administrative 
Process Act (APA) § 9·6.14:4.1 (C)(5), lor an agency's 
adoption of emergency regulations subject to the Governor'-s 

Virginia Register of Regulations 

3154 



prior approval. Subsequent to the emergency adoption 
action and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, this agency 
intends to initiate the public notice and comment process 
contained in Article 2 of the APA. 

This regulation will carry out the directive of the t 996 
General Assembly (Chapter 9t2, Item 322. J.) to 
" ... implement a fully prospective reimbursement system for 
hospital inpatient services ... ", using a " ... Diagnosis Related 
Groups (DRGs) methodology." This regulation also fulfills the 
final terms of the "VHA (Virginia Hospital Association)!Wilder' 
settlement agreement. This agreement, signed in t 990, 
settled litigation under the federal Boren Amendment, but 
lapses on June 30, t 996. Among other things, the 
agreement required that DMAS and the VHA (now the VHHA) 
jointly develop a reimbursement methodology to replace the 
one that operated under the terms of the settlement 
agreement. This regulation implements the methodology that 
has been developed jointly by DMAS and the VHHA, and, 
therefore, fulfills this one remaining term of the settlement 
agreement. 

Without an emergency regulation, this amendment to the 
State Plan cannot become effective until the publication and 
concurrent comment and review period requirements of the 
APA's Article 2 are met. Therefore, an emergency regulation 
is needed to meet the July 1, 1996, effective date established 
by the General Assembly. 

8. NEED FOR EMERGENCY ACTION: The Code § 9-
6.14:4.1 (C)(S) provides for regulations which an agency finds 
are necessitated by an emergency situation. To enable the 
Director, in lieu of the Board of Medical Assistance Services, 
to comply with this Assembly mandate, he must take this 
emergency adoption action. This issue qualifies as an 
emergency regulation as provided for in § 9-6.14:4.1 (C)(S)(ii), 
because Chapter 912 of the 1996 Virginia Acts of Assembly, 
Item 322.J. requires this regulation be effective on July 1, 
1996. This Chapter became effective on April 17, 1996. The 
July 1st effective date is less than 280 days from enactment 
of this law. As such, this regulation may be adopted without 
public comment with the prior approval of the Governor. 
Since this emergency regulation will be effective for no more 
than 12 months and the Director wishes to continue 
regulating the subject entities, the Department is initiating the 
Administrative Process Act Article 2. 

9. FISCAUBUDGETARY IMPACT: All hospitals that provide 
services to Medicaid recipients, except for some long-term 
and government operated hospitals, are affected by this 
regulation. For FY '97, DMAS has allocated $484,971,000 for 
inpatient hospital services. No budget impact is forecast. 
Hospitals have been consulted, and the VHHA is in support 
of the methodology that these regulations will implement. 
There are no localities which are uniquely affected by these 
regulations as they apply statewide. 

10. RECOMMENDATION: Recommend approval of this 
request to adopt this emergency regulation to become 
effective July 1, 1996. From its effective date, this regulation 
is to remain in force for one full year or until superseded by 
final regulations. Without an effective emergency regulation, 
the Department would lack the authority to implement the 
new reimbursement system. This would mean failure to 
comply with the above cited provision of the 1996 
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Appropriations Act and with the final terms of the settlement 
agreement. 

11. APPROVAL SOUGHT FOR VR 460-02-4.1910:1 (12 
VAC 30-70-200 et seq.), VR 460-03-4.1930 (12 VAC 30-70-
10 through 12 VAC 30-70-150); VR 460-02-4.1920 (12 VAC 
30-80-140). 

Approval of the Governor is sought for an emergency 
modification of the Medicaid State Plan in accordance with 
the Code of Virginia § 9-6.14:4.1 (C)(S) to adopt the following 
regulations: 

BOREN SUPPLEMENT 

Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social Security Act is 
implemented by Title 42 of the Code of_Federal Regulations 
Part 447 Subpart C. This section of the Act "requires that the 
State Plan provide for payment for hospital and long-term 
care facility services through the use of rates that the state 
finds, and makes assurances satisfactory to the Secretary, 
are reasonable and adequate to meet the costs that must be 
incurred by efficiently and economically operated facilities to 
provide services in conformity with state and federal laws, 
regulations and quality and safety standards and assure that 
individuals eligible for medical assistance have reasonable 
access (taking into account geographic location and 
reasonable travel time) to ... [care] ... of adequate quality." 

The referenced lawsuit was brought under the authority of 
this language by the Virginia Hospital Association (VHA) in 
March 1986 in response to a prospective payment system 
methodology that DMAS had implemented in 1982. The VHA 
alleged in its suit that Medicaid's inpatient hospital payments 
were inadequate and its member hospitals would suffer 
losses in excess of $50 million. This suit was finally settled 
out-of-court in December 1990. The settlement agreement 
left the Medicaid inpatient hospital payment methodology 
substantially intact while adding Payment Adjustment Fund 
feature. This feature provided for the payment to hospitals of 
an additional $5 Million in General Funds, plus the 
accompanying Federal Financial Participation. In addition, 
the VHA with DMAS were required, in this agreement, to 
cooperatively develop a new payment system to be effective 
July 1, 1996. 

Attachment 4.19-A 

12 VAC 30-70-200. 

The state agency will pay for inpatient hospital services under 
the methodologies and during the time periods specified 
below. During State fiscal years (SFY) 1997 and 1998, the 
state agency's methodology for inpatient hospital services in 
general acute care hospitals will transition from a per diem 
methodology to a DRG-based methodology. Section I 
describes the special rules that apply during the transition 
period. Section If describes the DRG methodology that will 
apply (at a specified transition percentage) during the 
transition period and that will remain after the transition is 
over. Section Ill describes the revised per diem methodology 
that will apply in part during the transition, but that will cease 

. to apply after the transition is over. 

For inpatient hospital services in general acute care hospitals 
and rehabilitation hospitals, occurring before July 1, 1996, 
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reimbursement shall be based on the methodology described 
in Supplement 3, which language, until the effective date of 
this regulation, was Attachment 4. 19·A of the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance Services. The provisions contained in 
Supplement 3 shall not be effective after June 30, 1996, 
except as otherwise provided In this Attachment. 

For Inpatient hospital services that are psychiatric or 
rehabilitation services, and that are provided In general acute 
care hospitals, distinct part units of general acute care 
hospitals, freestanding psychiatric facilities licensed as 
hospitals, or rehabilitation hospitals, on and after July 1, 
1996, reimbursement shall be based on a methodology, 
described In I, II, and Ill below. This methodology 
Implements a transition from revised per diem rates taken 
from the previous methodology (Supplement 3) to different 
per diem rates that will be used in the context of the DRG 
methodology. These services shall not be reimbursed by 
means of DRG per case rates. For freestanding psychiatric 
facilities licensed as hospitals there shall be no transition 
period, but the new per diem rates are to be implemented 
effective July 1, 1996. Also effective for those services 
renr;Jered on or after July 1, 1996, the professional 
component for the care rendered in such freestanding 
psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals may be billed 
separately by the attending professional who Is enrolled in 
Medicaid. Inpatient hospital services that are provided in 
long stay hospitals and state-owned rehabilitation hospitals 
shall be subject to the provisions of Supplement 3, which until 
the effective date of this regulation was Attachment 4. 19·A of 
the State Plan for Medical Assistance Services. 

Transplant services shall not be subject to the provisions of 
this Attachment. They shall continue to be subject to §1.1. of 
Supplement 1 to Attachment 3. 1·A&B. 

I. Transition Period Reimbursement Rules. Effective July 1, 
1996, the state agency's reimbursement methodology for 
inpatient hospital services shall begin a transition from a 
prospective per diem to a prospective DRG methodology. 
During the transition period, reimbursement of operating 
costs shall be a blend of a prospective DRG methodology 
(described in II below) and a revised prospective per diem 
methodology (described in Ill below). The transition period 
shall be SFY1997 and 1998, after which a DRG methodology 
alone shall be used. 

A. Tentative Payment During the Transition Period. 
During the transition period claims will be tentatively paid on 
the basis of the revised per diem methodology only. 
Payment of claims based on DRG rates shall begin July 1, 
1998. 

B. Final Operating Reimbursement During the Transition 
Period. During the transition period settlement of each 
hospital fiscal year will be carried out as provided in IX below. 
Each hospital's final reimbursement, for services that accrue 
to each state fiscal year of the transition, shall be based on a 
blend of the prospective DRG methodology and the revised 
per diem methodology. For services to patients admitted and 
discharged in SFY1997 the blend shall be 1/3 DRG and 2/3 
revised per diem. For services to patients admitted after 
June 30, 1996, and discharged during SFY1998 the blend 
shall be 213 DRG and 1/3 revised per diem. Settlements 

shall be completed according to hospital fiscal years, but 
after June 30, 1996, changes in rates and In the percent of 
reimbursement that is based on DRGis vs. per diem rates, 
shall be according to .~tate fiscal year. Services In 
freestanding psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals shall 
not be subject to the transition period phase·in of new rates, 
or to settlement at year end; the new system rates for these 
providers shall be fully effective on July 1, 1996. In hospital 
fiscal years that straddle the implementation date (years 
starting before and ending alter July 1, 1996) operating costs 
must be settled partly under the old and partly under the new 
methodology: 

1. Days related to discharges occurring before July 1, 
1996, shall be settled under the previous reimbursement 
methodology (see Supplement 3). 

2. Stays with admission date before July 1, 1996, and 
discharge date after June 30, 1996, shalf be settled in 
two parts, with days before July 1, 1996, settled on the 
basis of the previous reimbursement methodology (see 
Supplement 3), and days after June 30, 1996, settled at 
100% of the hospital's revised per diem rate, as 
described In /11, below. The DRG reimbursement 
methodology shall not be used in the settlement of any 
days related to a stay with an admission date before July 
1, 1996. 

3. Stays with admission dates on and after July 1, 1996, 
shall be settled under the transition methodology. All 
cases admitted from July 1, 1996, onward shall be 
settled based on the rates and transition rules in effect in 
the state fiscal year in which the discharge falls. The 
only exception shall be claims for rehabilitation cases 
with length of stay sufficient that one or more interim 
claims are submitted. Such claims for rehabilitation 
cases shall be settled based on rates and rules in effect 
at the time of the end date {'1hrough" date) of the claim, 
whether or not it is the final or discharge claim. 

C. Capital Cost Reimbursement. During the transition 
period capital cost shall be reimbursed as a pass-through as 
described in Supplement 3, except that paid days and 
charges used to determine Medicaid allowable cost in a fiscal 
period for purposes of capital cost reimbursement shall be 
the same as those accrued to the fiscal period for operating 
cost reimbursement. Effective July 1, 1998, capital cost shall 
be reimbursed as described in II below. Until capital costs 
are fully included in prospective rates the provisions of 
Supplement 3 § VII, regarding recapture of depreciation shall 
remain in effect. Reimbursement of capital cost for 
freestanding psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals shall 
be included in their per diem rates, as provided in II below. 
and shall not be treated as a pass-through during the 
transition period or aftefWard. 

D. Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) Payments 
During the Transition. Effective July 1, 1996, DSH payments 
shall be fully prospective amounts determined in advance of 
the state fiscal year to which they apply, and shall not be 
subject to settlement or revision based on changes in 
uWizatton during the year to whtch they apply. Payments 
prospectively determined for each state fiscal year shall be 
considered payment for that year, and not for the year from 
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which data used in the calculation was taken. Payment of 
DSH amounts determined under this methodology shall be 
made on a quarterly basis. 

For patient days occurring before July 1, 1996, DSH 
reimbursement shall be determined under the previous 
methodology and settled accordingly (Supplement 3). 
Effective for days occurring July 1, 1996, and after, DSH 
reimbursement made through prospective lump sum 
amounts, as described in this section, shall be final and not 
subject to settlement except when necessary due to the limit 
in 2.e. below. After July 1, 1998, DSH reimbursement shall 
be as provided in II below. 

1. Definition. A disproportionate share hospital shall be 
a hospital that meets the following criteria: 

a. A Medicaid utilization rate in excess of 15%, or a 
low-income patient utilization rate exceeding 25% (as 
defined in the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 
1987 and as amended by the Medicare Catastrophic 
Coverage Act of 1988); and 

b. At least two obstetricians with staff privileges at the 
hospital who have agreed to provide obstetric services 
to individuals entitled to such services under a State 
Medicaid plan. In the case of a hospital located in a 
rural area (that is, an area outside of a Metropolitan 
Statistical Area, as defined by the Executive Office of 
Management and Budget), the term "obstetrician" 
includes any physician with staff privileges at the 
hospital to perform non-emergency obstetric 
procedures. 

c. Subsection 1.b. does not apply to a hospital: 

1) At which the inpatients are predominantly 
individuals under 18 years of age; or 

2) Which does not offer non-emergency obstetric 
services as of December 21, 1987. 

2. Payment Adjustment. 

a. A disproportionate share hospital's additional 
payment shall be based on the type of hospital and on 
the hospital's Medicaid utilization percentage. There 
shall be two types of hospitals: (1) Type One, 
consisting of hospitals that were state-owned teaching 
hospitals on January 1, 1996, and (2) Type Two, 
consisting of all other hospitals. The Medicaid 
utilization percentage is equal to the hospital's total 
Medicaid inpatient days divided by the hospital's total 
inpatient days. Each eligible hospital with a Medicaid 
utilization percentage above 15% shall receive a 
disproportionate share payment. 

b. For Type One hospitals, the disproportionate share 
payment shall be equal to the sum of.· (1) the hospital's 
Medicaid utilization percentage in excess of 15%, 
times 11, times the hospital's Medicaid operating 
reimbursement, times 1.3186 in SFY1997, and 1.3782 
in SFY1998, and (2) the hospital's Medicaid utilization 
percentage in excess of 30%, times 11, times the 
hospital's Medicaid operating reimbursement, times 
1.3186 in SFY1997, and 1.3782 in SFY1998. 

Emergency Regulations 

c. For Type Two hospitals, the disproportionate share 
payment shall be equal to the sum of.· (1) the hospital's 
Medicaid utilization percentage in excess of 15%, 
times the hospital's Medicaid operating 
reimbursement, times 1.0964 in SFY1997, and 1.1476 
in SFY1998, and (2) the hospital's Medicaid utilization 
percentage in excess of 30%, times the hospital's 
Medicaid operating reimbursement, times 1.0964 in 
SFY1997, and 1.1476 in SFY1998. 

d. For hospitals which do not qualify under the 15% 
inpatient Medicaid utilization rate, but do qualify under 
the /ow~income patient utilization rate, exceeding 25% 
in I.a. above, the disproportionate share payment 
amount for Type One hospitals shall be equal to the 
product of the hospital's /ow~income utilization in 
excess of 25%, times eleven, times the hospital's 
Medicaid operating reimbursement. For Type Two 
hospitals, the disproportionate share payment 
adjustment shall be equal to the product of the 
hospital's /ow-income utilization in excess of 25%, 
times the hospital's Medicaid operating 
reimbursement. 

e. OBRA 1993 §13621 Disproportionate Share 
Adjustment Limit: 

(1) Limit on amount of payment. No payments made 
under I.D.2. above shall exceed any applicable 
limitations upon such payments established by 
federal law or regulations and OBRA 1993 § 13621. 
A payment adjustment during a fiscal year shall not 
exceed the sum of.· 

(a} Medicaid allowable costs incurred during the 
year less Medicaid payments, net of 
disproportionate share payment adjustments, for 
services provided during the year, and 

(b) Costs incurred in serving persons who have 
no insurance less payments received from those 
patients or from a third party on behalf of those 
patients. Payments made by any unit of the 
Commonwealth or local government to a hospital 
for services provided to indigent patients shall not 
be considered to be a source of third party 
payment. 

(2) During state fiscal year 1995, the limit in this 
section shall apply only to hospitals which are 
owned or operated by a state or an instrumentality 
or unit of government within the state. During this 
year such a hospital, if it is one whose Medicaid 
inpatient utilization rate is at least one standard 
deviation above the mean inpatient utilization rate in 
the state or if it has the largest number of Medicaid 
days of any such hospital in the Commonwealth for 
the previous State fiscal year, shall be allowed a 
limit that is 200% of the limit described above which 
the Governor certifies to the Secretary of the U. S. 
Department of Health and Human Services that 
such amount (the amount by which the hospilal's 
payment exceeds the limit described above) shall be 
used for health services during the year, 
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3. Source Data for Calculation of Eligibility and Payment 
Adjustment. Each hospital's eligibility for DSH payment, 
and the amount of the DSH payment in state fiscal year 
1997, shall be based upon Medicaid utilization in hospital 
fiscal years ending in calendar year 1994, and on 
projected operating reimbursement in state fiscal year 
1997, estimated on the basis of 1994 utilization. After 
state fiscal year 1997, each new year's DSH payments 
shall be calculated using the most recent reliable 
utilization and projection data available. For the purpose 
of calculating DSH payments, each hospital with a 
Medicaid-recognized Neonatal Intensive Care Unit 
(NICU) (a unit having had a unique NICU operating cost 
limit under Supplement 3, V.(6}), shall have its DSH 
payment calculated separately for the NICU and for the 
remainder of the hospital, as if the two were separate 
and distinct providers. 

For freestanding psychiatric facilities licensed as 
hospitals, DSH payment shall be based on the most 
recent filed Medicare cost report available before the 
beginning of the state fiscal year for which a payment is 
being calculated. 

E. Direct Medical Education (DMedEd). During the 
transition period (July 1996 through June 1998), DMedEd 
costs shalf be reimbursed in the same way as under the 
previous methodology (see Supplement 3). This 
methodology does not and shall not include the DME 
reimbursement limitation enacted for the Medicare program 
effective July 1, 1985. Reimbursement of DMedEd shall 
include an amount to reflect DMedEd associated with 
services to Medicaid patients provided in hospitals but 
reimbursed by capitated managed care providers. This 
amount shall be estimated based on the number of days of 
care provided by the hospital that are reimbursed by 
capitated managed care providers. Direct Medical Education 
shall not be a reimbursable cost in freestanding psychiatric 
facilities licensed as hospitals. DMedEd wtl/ be paid in 
estimated quarterly lump sum amounts and settled at the 
hospital's fiscal year end settlement. 

F. Final "Payment Adjustment Fund" {PAF) Payment for 
Certain Hospitals. Hospitals receiving payments for Medicaid 
patients from managed care providers enrolled in "Medallion 
II" shall be paid a separate lump sum amount, based on the 
continuation of capitation rates during July 1, 1996, through 
December 31, 1996, that do not reflect adjustments made to 
hospital per diem and DRG payments on July 1, 1996. Each 
of these hospitals shall be paid a final PAF amount. It shall 
be equal to a hospital specific PAF per diem times the 
number of Medallion II days that occur in the hospital in July 
1, 1996, through December 31. 1996. The PAF per diem 
shall be based on a revision of the PAF calculation that was 
carried out for the SFY1996 PAF payment that was made in 
August 1995. The revision shall be the hospital ceiling, DSH 
per diem, and cost report data used in the calculation shall be 
from the cost reports that would be used under the PAF 
methodologyif a SFY/997 PAF calculation were to be done. 
The "paid days" data used in this calculation shall be the 
same as that used in the SFY1996 calculation. Pending the 
calculation of the final PAF payment in the settlement of the 
relevant time period for the affected hospitals, an interim 

payment shall be made. The interim payment shall be equal 
to 112 the PAF payment made to the same hospitals for 
SFY1996. 

G. Adjusting DRG Rates for Length of Stay (LOS) 
Reductions from 1995 Appropriations Act. If it is 
demonstrated that there are savings directly attributable to 
LOS reductions resulting from utilization initiatives directed by 
the 1995 Appropriations Act, as agreed to and evaluated by 
the Medicaid Hospital Payment Policy Advisory Council, 
these savings, up to a maximum of $16.9 million in SFY1997, 
shall be applied as a reduction to SFY/997 and 1998 DRG 
rates used for settlement purposes. 

H. Service Limits During the Transition Period. The limit of 
coverage for adults of 21 days in a 60-day period for the 
same or similar diagnosis shall continue to apply in the 
processing of claims and in the per diem portion of settlement 
during the transition period. This limit shall not apply in the 
DRG portion of reimbursement, except for covered 
psychiatric cases. Psychiatric cases are cases with a 
principal diagnosis that is a mental disorder as specified in 
the ICD-9-CM. Not all mental disorders are covered. For 
coverage information, see the Amount, Duration, and Scope 
of Services, Supplement 1 to Attachment 3. 1 A&B. 

12 VAC 30-70-210. 

II. Diagnosis Related Groups (DRG) Reimbursement 
Methodology. Reimbursement of operating costs for cases 
which are subject to DRG rates shall be equal to the relative 
weight of the DRG in which the patient falls, times the 
hospital specific operating rate per case. Reimbursement of 
outliers, transfer cases, cases still subject to per diem 
reimbursement, capital costs, and medical education costs 
shall be as provided below. 

A. DRG Grouper to be Used. The All Patient Diagnosis 
Related Groups (AP-DRG) Grouper shall be used in the DRG 
reimbursement methodology. Effective July 1, 1996, and 
until notification of a change is given, Version 12 of this 
Grouper shall be used. DMAS shall notify hospitals by 
means of a Medicaid Memo when updating the system to 
later grouper versions. 

B. Calculation of DRG Weights and Hospital Case Mix 
Indices. The relative weight measures the cost, and 
therefore, the reimbursement level of each DRG relative to all 
other DRGs. The hospital case mix index measures the 
hospital's average case mix complexity (costliness) relative to 
all other hospitals. 

The relative weight for each DRG was determined by 
calculating the average standardized cost for cases assigned 
to that DRG, divided by the average standardized cost for 
cases assigned to all DRGs. For the purpose of calculating 
relative weights, groupable cases (cases having coding data 
of sufficient quality to support DRG assignment) and transfer 
cases (groupable cases where the patient was transferred to 
another hospital) were used. Ungroupable cases and 
rehabilitation, psychiatric, and transplant cases were not 
used. DMAS' hospital computerized claims history file, for 
discharges in hospital fiscal years ending in calendar year 
1993, was used. All available data from all enrolled, cost­
reporting general acute care hospitals were used, including 
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data from state-owned teaching hospitals. Cost Report data 
from hospital fiscal years ending in calendar year 1993, was 
also used 

Before relative weights were calculated for each DRG, 
each hospital's total charges were disaggregated into 
operating charges and capital charges, based on the ratio of 
operating and capital cost to total cost. Operating charges 
and capital charges were standardized for regional variation, 
and then both operating charges and capital charges were 
reduced to costs using ratios of costs-to-charges (RCCs) 
obtained from the Medicaid cost report database. Direct 
medical education costs were eliminated from the relative 
weight calculations since such costs will be addressed 
outside the DRG rates. These steps, detailed below, were 
completed on a case-by-case basis using the data elements 
identified in the following table. 

Data Elements For Relative Weight And Case Mix Index 
Calculations 

Data Elements Source 
Total charges for each Claims Database 
aroupable case 
Total charges for each transfer Claims Database 
case 
Ratio of operating costs to total Medicaid Cost Report 
costs for each hospital Database 
Ratio of capital costs to total Medicaid Cost Report 
costs for each hospital Database 
Ratio of DME costs to total Medicaid Cost Report 
costs for each hospital Database 
Statewide average labor Virginia Health Service 
portion of operating costs Cost Review Council 

(VHSCRC) 
Medicare wage index for each Federal Register 
hospital 
Medicare Geographic Adj. Federal Register 
Factor (GAF) for each hospital 
RCC tor each hospital Medicaid Cost Report 

Database 

Steps in Calculation of Relative Weights. 

1. The total charges for each case were split into 
operating charges, capital charges, and DME charges 
usmg t 'II It' bt df th t 10Sp1 a ~speC/IC ra lOS 0 a me rom e cos 
report database. 

2. The operating charges obtained in Step 1 were 
standardized for regional variations in wages. This 
involved three substeps. 

a. The operating charges were multiplied by 59.77 
percent yielding the labor portion of operating charges. 

bo The labor portion of operating charges was divided 
by the hospital-specific Medicare wage index yielding 
the standardized labor portion of operating charges. 

C. The standardized labor portion of operating charges 
was added to the non-labor portion of operating 
charges (40.23 percent) yielding standardized 
operating charges. 
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3. The standardized operating charges were multiplied 
by the hospital-specific RCC yielding standardized 
operating costs. 

4. The capital charges obtained in Step 1 were divided 
by the hospital-specific Medicare geographic adjustment 
factor (GAF) yielding standardized capital charges. 

5. The standardized capital charges were multiplied by 
the hospital-specific cost-to-charge ratio yielding 
standardized capital costs. 

These five steps were repeated for all groupabfe cases 
and transfer cases. Once this was done, the cases were 
sorted by ORG category resulting in the total cases and 
the total standardized cost of each DRG. Total cost 
divided by total cases yielded the average standardized 
cost of each DRG The average standardized cost of 
each DRG was divided by the average standardized cost 
across all DRGs yielding the relative weight for each 
DRG. To address the unavailability of charge data 
related to adult hospital days beyond 21 days, an 
adjustment was estimated for cerlain DRGs and added 
to the weights as calculated above. This adjustment far 
adult days over 21 is necessary only until the first 
recalibration of weights becomes effective in July 1998 
(see 110, below), 

The relative weights were then used to calcufafe a case­
mix index for each hospital. The case~mix index for a 
hospital was determined by summing tor ali DRGs the 
product of the number of groupable cases and transfer 
cases in each DRG and the relative weight tor each 
DRG. This sum was then divided by the total number of 
cases yielding the case-mix index. This process was 
repeated on a hospilai-by-hospital basis. 

C. Calculation of Standardized Costs Per Case. 
Standardized costs per case were calculated using all DRG 
cases (groupable, ungroupab/e, and transfer cases). Cases 
entirely subject to per diem rather than DRG reimbursement 
and cases from stateoowned teaching hospitals were not 
used Using the data elements identified in the following 
table, the seven *ps outlined below were completed on a 
case~by~case basis. 

Daia Elements For Standardized Costs Per Case 
Calculations 

Data Elements Source 
Total charges for each Claims Database 
qroueable case 
T alai charges lor each Claims Database 
unqroupable cas_e 
T otai charges for each transfer Claims Database 
case 
Ratio of operating costs to totif- Medicaid Cost Report 
costs for each hospital Database 
Ratio of capital costs to total Medicaid Cost Report 
costs for each hospital Database 
Ratio of DME costs to total Medicaid Cost Report-
~for each hospital Database 

Statewide average labor VHSCRC 
portion of operatinq costs - ~0 

__ , 
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Medicare wage index for each Federal Register 
hosoital 
Medicare GAF for each Federal Register 
hosoital 
RCC for each hospital Medicaid Cost Report 

Database 
Case~mix index for each Calculated 
hospital 
Total number of groupable Claims Database 
cases 
Total number of ungroupable Clatms Database 
cases 
Total number of transfer cases Claims Database 

Steps in Calculation of Standardized Cost Per Case. 

1. The total charges for each case were split rhto 
operating charges, capital charges, and DME charges 
using hospital-specific ratios obtained from the cost 
report database. 

2. The operating charges obtained in Step 1 were 
standardized for regional variations in wages. This 
involved three substeps. 

a. The operating charges were multiplied by 59.77 
percent yielding the labor portion of operating charges. 

b. The labor portion of operating charges was divided 
by the hospital-specific Medicare wage index yielding 
the standardized labor portion of operating charges. 

c. The standardized labor portion of operating charges 
was added to the non-labor portion of operating 
charges (40.23 percent) yielding standardized 
operating charges. 

3. The standardized operating charges were multiplied 
by the hospital-specific RCC yielding standardized 
operatthg costs. 

4. The capital charges obtained in Step 1 were divided 
by the hospital-specific Medicare geographic adjustment 
factor (GAF) yielding standardized capital charges. 

5. The standardized capital charges were multiplied by 
the hospital-specific cost-to-charge ratio yielding 
standardized capital costs. 

6. The standardized operating costs obtained in Step 3 
were divided by the hospital-specific case-mix index 
yielding caseamix neutral standardized operating costs. 

7. The standardized capital costs obtained in Step 5 
were divided by the hospital-specific case-mix index 
yielding case-mix neutral standardtzed capital costs. 

These seven steps were repeated for all DRG cases. 
Once this was done, the case-mix neutral standardized 
operating costs for all DRG cases were summed and an 
average .was calculated. This yielded what is referred to 
as standardized operating costs per case. A similar 
average was computed for capital yielding standardized 
capital costs per case. 

D. Calculation of Statewide Operating Rate Per Case for 
SFY1997. The statewide operating rate per case that shall 

be used to calculate the ORG portion of operating 
reimbursement for cases admitted and discharged in state 
fiscal year 1997, is equal to the standardized operating cost 
per case, updated to the midpoint of SFY1997 and multiplied 
by an additional factor. The update shall be done by 
multiplying the standardized operating cost per case by the 
DR/- Virginia moving average value as compiled and 
published by DRI/McGraw-Hi/1 under contract with DMAS. 
The additional factor is equal to 0.6247. This factor is the 
ratio of two numbers: 

1. The numerator of the factor is the aggregate amount 
of operating reimbursement, for hospitals included in the 
data base used for the calculations described above, 
that DMAS and the Virginia Hospital and Healthcare 
Association (VHHA) jointly determrned would be made 
by Medicaid in state fiscal year 1997 if the rate 
methodology in effect on June 30, 1996, were to 
continue. This amount was further adjusted by 
agreement between DMAS and the VHHA to carry out 
specific policy agreements with respect to various 
elements of reimbursement. 

2. The denominator of the factor is the estimated 
aggregate operating amount for the same hospitals as in 
1. above, calculated using the standardized operating 
cost per case and standardrzed operating cost per day 
as calculated in 1/C and IlK, and adjusted lor inflation as 
in 1. above. 

E. Calculation of Statewide Capital Rate Per Case. 
(RESERVED) 

F. Hospital Specific Operating Rate Per Case. Each 
hospital specific operating rate per case shall be the labor 
portion of the statewide operating rate per case multiplied by 
the Medicare wage index applicable to the hospital's 
geographic location plus the nonlabor portion of the statewide 
operating rate per case. The Medicare wage index shall be 
the one in effect for Medicare in the base period used in the 
calculation of the standardized costs per case (1993 for the 
calculation of 1997 rates). 

G. Hospital Speciftc Capital Rate Per Case (Geographic 
Adjustment). (RESERVED) 

H. Outliers. 

1. Definition. An outlier case shall be one whose 
estimated cost exceeds the applicable DRG payment 
plus the applicable fixed loss threshold. 

2. Methodology. Total payment for an outlier case shall 
be calculated according to the following methodology (an 
example of the application of this methodology is found 
in Supplement 4): 

a. The operating cost for the case shall be estimated. 
Operating cost for the case shall be the charges for 
the case times the hospital's operating cost-to-charge 
ratio based on the hospital's cost report data in the 
base period used to establish the rates in effect in the 
period for which outlier payment is being calculated. 

b. The hospital specific operating cost amount for the 
DRG shall be calculated. This shall be equal to the 
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sum of the labor portion of the standardized operating 
cost per case times the Medicare wage index, and the 
nonfabor portion of the standardized operating cost per 
case, multiplied by the relative weight applicable to the 
case. 

c. The hospital specific operating cost outlier 
threshold is calculated as follows: 

(1) An outlier fixed foss threshold times the 
statewide average labor portion of operating cost 
times the Medicare wage index for the hospital, plus 

(2) The nonfabor portion of the fixed foss threshold 
plus 

(3) The DRG operating cost amount for the case (b 
above). 

d. The case specific excess over the hospital specific 
operating outlier threshold is calculated. This shalf be 
equal to the difference between the estimated 
operating cost for the case (a. above) and the hospital­
specific operating cost outlier threshold (c. above), 
multiplied by the cost adjustment factor for outliers. 

e. The total payment for the case is calculated. This 
shalf be equal to the sum of the DRG operating cost 
amount for the case (b above) and the case specific 
excess over the hospital specific operating threshold 
(d. above), multiplied by the factor that is used to 
adjust the standardized operating cost per case in D 
above. 

3. Data element definitions. Factors and variables used 
in the above calculation and not already defined are 
defined as follows: 

a. Outlier fixed foss threshold: This is a fixed dollar 
amount in SFY1997, applicable to all hospitals, that 
shalf be adjusted each year. It shalf be calculated 
each year, based on the most recent available 
estimates so as to result in a total operating 
expenditure for outliers equal to 5. 1% of total 
operating expenditures, including outliers. In 
SFY1997, this amount shalf be $15,483.00. If in any 
year revised estimates are unavailable the previous 
year's value shall be used updated for inflation using 
the same factor applied to hospital rates. 

b. Statewide average labor proportion of operating 
cost. This is a fixed percentage, equal to .5977. This 
figure may be updated with revised data when rates 
are rebased/recalibrated. 

c. Adjustment factor for outliers. This is a fixed factor, 
published by Medicare in the Federal Register, and 
equal to 0.80. This figure shalf be updated based on 
changes to the Medicare factor, upon the next 
rebasing of the system described in this Attachment. 

d. Medicare wage index applicable to the hospital. 
This is as published by the Health Care Financing 
Administration in the year used as the base period. 
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I. Transfers and readmissions. 

1. Transfer cases shalf be defined as: 

a. Patients transferred from one general acute care 
hospital to another, and 

b. Patients discharged from one general acute care 
hospital and admitted to another for the same or 
similar diagnosis (similar diagnoses shalf be defined 
as ones with the first three digits the same) within five 
days of that discharge. 

2. Readmissions shalf be defined as cases readmitted to 
the same hospital for the same or similar diagnosis 
within five days of discharge. Such cases shall be 
considered a continuation of the same stay, and shall not 
be treated as a new admission or case (a separate DRG 
payment shalf not be made). 

3. Exceptions. 

a. Cases falling into DRGs 456, 639, or 640 shalf not 
be treated as transfer cases, but the full DRG rate 
shalf be paid to the transferring hospital. These DRGs 
are designed to be populated entirely with transfer 
patients. 

b. Cases transferred to or from a distinct part 
psychiatric or rehabilitation units of a general acute 
care hospital shalf not be treated as transfer cases. 

4. Transfer Methodology. When two general acute care 
hospitals provide inpatient services to a patient defined 
as a transfer case: 

a. The transferring hospital shalf receive the lesser of 
(1) a per diem payment equal to the DRG payment for 
the transferring hospital, divided by the arithmetic 
mean length of stay for the DRG in all hospitals for 
which data are available, times the patient's length of 
stay at the transferring hospital, and (2) the full DRG 
payment for the transferring hospital. The transferring 
hospital shall be eligible for outlier payments if the 
applicable criteria are met. 

b. The receiving hospital, if it is the final discharging 
hospital, shalf receive DRG payment. A receiving 
hospital that later transfers the patient to another 
hospital, including the first transferring hospital, shalf 
be reimbursed as a transferring hospital. Only the 
final discharging hospital shalf receive DRG payment. 
The receiving hospital shalf be eligible for outlier 
payments if the applicable criteria are met. 

J. Per Diem Reimbursement in the DRG Methodology. 
Cases that will continue to be reimbursed on a per diem basis 
are: (1) covered psychiatric cases in general acute care 
hospitals and psychiatric units of general acute care 
hospitals, (2) covered psychiatric cases in freestanding 
psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals, and (3) 
rehabilitation cases in both acute and rehabilitation hospitals. 
Psychiatric cases are cases with a principal diagnosis that is 

··a mental disorder as specified in the ICD-9-CM. Not all 
mental disorders are covered. For coverage information, see 
the Amount, Duration, and Scope of Services, Supplement 1 
to Attachment 3. 1A&B. 
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K. Calculation of Standardized Costs Per Day. 
Standardized operating costs per day and standardized 
capital costs per day were calculated separately, but using 
the same calculation methodology, for psychiatric cases in 
general acute care hospitals, psychiatric acute care in 
freestanding psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals, and 
rehabilitation cases ("per diem cases"). Using the data 
elements identified in the following table, the first five steps 
outlined below were completed on a case-by-case basis. 

Data Elements For Calculating Total Costs for Per Diem 
Cases 

Data Elements Source 
Total charges for each acute Claims Database 
care Psvchiatric case 
Total charges for each Claims Database 
freestanding acute care 
psJ12hiatric case 
Total charges for each Claims Database 
rehabilitation cases 
Ratio of operating costs to total Medicaid Cost Report 
costs for each hosoital Database 
Ratio of capital costs to total Medicaid Cost Report 
costs for each hosoital Database 
Ratio of DME costs to total Medicaid Cost Report 
costs for each hospital Database 
Statewide average labor VHSCRC 
portion of operatina costs 
Medicare wage index for each Federal Register 
hospital 
Medicare GAF for each Federal Register 
hospital 
RCC for psychiatric distinct· Medicare Cost Report 
part unit for each hospital 
RCC for each hospital Medicaid Cost Report 

Database 
Number of acute care Clalins Database 
psychiatric days at each 
hospital 
Number of freestanding acute 
care psychiatric days at each Claims Database 
freestanding psychiatric 
facilities licensed as a hospital 
Number of rehabilitation days 
at each acute care hospital Claims Database 
and freestanding rehabilitation 
hospital 

Steps in Calculation of Standardized Cost Per Day. 

1. The total charges for the case were split into 
operating charges, capital charges, and DME charges 
using hospital-specific ratios obtained from the cost 
report database. 

2. The operating charges obtained in Step 1 were 
standardized for regional variations in wages. This 
involved three substeps. 

a. The operating charges were multiplied by 59.77 
percent yielding the labor portion of operating charges. 

b. The labor portion of operating charges was divided 
by the hospital specific Medicare wage index yielding 
the standardized labor portion of operating charges. 

c. The standardized labor portion of operating charges 
was added to the non-labor portion of operating 
charges (40.23 percent) yielding standardized 
operating charges. 

3. The standardized operating charges were multiplied 
by the hospital-specific RCCs yielding standardized 
operating costs. 

4. The capital charges obtained in Step 1 were divided 
by the hospital-specific Medicare geographic adjustment 
factor (GAF) yielding standardized capital charges. 

5. The standardized capital charges were multiplied by 
the hospital-specific RCCs yielding standardized capital 
costs. 

These five steps were repeated for all per diem cases. 
The standardized operating costs for per diem cases 
were then summed and divided by the total number of 
per diem days yielding the standardized operating costs 
per day for per diem cases. Similarly, the standardized 
capital costs for per diem cases were summed and 
divided by the total number of per diem days yielding the 
standardized capital costs per day for per diem cases. 
These two calculations were done separately for 
psychiatric cases in freestanding psychiatric facilities 
licensed as hospitals, for psychiatric cases in general 
acute care hospitals (including distinct part units) and for 
rehabilitation cases. 

Where general acute care hospitals had psychiatric 
distinct-part units (OPUs) reported on their cost reports, 
separate RCCs were calculated for the OPUs and used 
in lieu of the hospital-specific RCCs. Since DPU-specific 
RCCs are generally higher than hospital-specific RCCs, 
this had the effect of increasing the estimated costs of 
acute care psychiatric cases. Overall hospital RCCs 
were used for freestanding acute care psychiatric cases 
and rehabilitation cases, as well as for psychiatric cases 
at general acute care hospitals without a psychiatric 
DPU. 

L. Calculation of Statewide Operating Rate Per Day. The 
statewide hospital operating rate per day that shall be used to 
calculate the DRG system portion of operating 
reimbursement for psychiatric and rehabilitation cases 
admitted and discharged in SFY1997, is equal to the 
standardized operating cost per day updated to the midpoint 
of SFY/997 and multiplied by an additional factor. The 
update shall be done by multiplying the standardized 
operating cost per day by the DR/· Virgima moving average 
value as compiled and published by DRIIMcGraw·Hill under 
contract with DMAS. The additional factor for per diem cases 
in general acute care hospitals and rehabilitation hospitals is 
equal to 0.6290, and 0.6690 for freestanding psychiatric 
facilities licensed as a hospitals. These factors were 
calculated so that per diem cases will be reimbursed the 
same percentage of cost as DRG cases based on the data 
used for rate calculation. 
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Per diem rates used for acute care hospitals during the 
transition shall be operating rates only and capital shall be 
reimbursed on a pass-through basis. Per diem rates used for 
freestanding psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals shall 
be inclusive of capital. The capital~inclusive statewide per 
diem rate for freestanding psychiatric facilities licensed as 
hospitals shall be the standardized cost per day calculated 
for such hospitals adjusted for the wage index and the 
geographic adjustment factor (GAF) and multiplied by the 
factor above. 

M. Calculation of Hospital-Specific Operating Rate Per 
Day Each hospital-specific operating rate per day shall be 
the tabor portion of the statewide operating rate per day 
multiplied by the Medicare wage index applicable to the 
hospital's geographic location plus the nonfabor portion of the 
statewide operating rate per day The Medicare wage index 
shalf be the one in effect for Medicare in the base period 
used in the calculation of the standardized costs per case 
(1993 for the calculation of 1997 rates). 

The hospital-specific rate per day for freestanding 
psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals shall be inclusive of 
capital cost, and shall have a capital portion which shall be 
adjusted by the GAF and added to the labor and non/abor 
operating elements calculated as described above. The 
Geographic Adjustment Factor shall be taken from the same 
time period as the Medicare wage index. 

N. Prospective Per Case Reimbursement of Capital after 
Transition Period (1998). (RESERVED) 

0. Indirect Medical Education (/ME). Hospitals with 
programs in graduate medical education shalf receive a rate 
adjustment for associated indirect costs. This reimbursement 
for IME costs recognizes the increased use of ancillary 
services associated with the educational process and the 
higher case-mix intensity of teaching hospitals. The /ME 
adjustment shall employ the equation shown below. 

/ME Percentage= 1.89 x ((1 + r) 0405
- 1) 

In this equation, r is the ratio of interns and residents to 
staffed beds. The /ME adjustment shall be the /ME 
percentage, times 0.4043, times operating reimbursement for 
DRG cases and per diem cases. 

P. Updating Rates for Inflation. DRG system rates in 
SFY1997 shall be as provided in /IF. and liM. above. Rates 
for state fiscal years after SFY1997 shall be updated for 
inflation as follows: 

1. The statewide operating rate per case as calculated 
in liD above, and the statewide rates per day as 
calculated in IlL shall be converted to a price level at the 
midpoint of state fiscal year 1993, using the same 
inflation values as were used to establish the amounts 
used in IID1. The resulting rates are the base period 
operating rates per case and the base period rates per 
day 

2. Rates shall be updated each July first by increasing 
the 1993 base period rates to the midpoint of the 
upcoming state fiscal year using the DR/- Virginia moving 
average value as compiled and published by 
DR//McGraw-Hi/1 under contract with DMAS. The most 
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current table available prior to the effective date of the 
new rates shalf be used. By means of this method, each 
year, corrections made by DR//McGraw-Hi/1 in the 
moving averages that were used to update rates for 
previous years shall automatically be incorporated as 
adjustments to the update calculation used for the 
upcoming year. For each new year's rate calculation 
that uses a base year prior to 1997, the inflation values 
shalf be the DRI/McGraw-Hi/1 values plus two percentage 
points for each year through SFY1997. 

Q. Recalibration!Rebasing Policy. DMAS recognizes that 
claims experience during the transition period and/or 
modifications in federal policies may require adjustment to 
the DRG system policies provided in these rules. The state 
agency shalf recalibrate (evaluate and adjust the weights 
assigned to cases), and rebase (review and update as 
appropriate the cost basis on which the rate is developed) the 
DRG system at /east evety other year. The first such 
recalibration and rebasing shalf be done prior to full 
implementation of the DRG methodology in SFY1999. 
Recalibration and rebasing shalf be done in consultation with 
the Medicaid Hospital Payment Policy Advisoty Council noted 
below. 

R. Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) Payments after 
Transition Period (1998). (RESERVED) 

12 VAC 30-70-220. 

Ill. Revised Per Diem Methodology. Determination of Per 
Diem Rates. Each hospital's revised per diem rate(s) to be 
used during the transition period shalf be based on the 
hospital's previous peer group ceiling or ceilings that were 
established under the provisions of Supplement 3, with the 
following adjustments: 

A. All operating ceilings will be increased by the same 
proportion to effect an aggregate increase in reimbursement 
of $40 million in SFY1997. This adjustment incorporates in 
per diem rates the system-wide aggregate value of payment 
that otherwise would be made through the "Payment 
Adjustment Fund." This adjustment will be calculated using 
estimated 1997 rates and 1994 days. 

B. Starting July 1, 1996, operating ceilings will be 
increased for inflation to the midpoint of the state fiscal year, 
not the hospital fiscal year. Inflation shalf be based on the 
DR/-Virginia moving average value as compiled and 
published by DR//McGraw-Hi/1 under contract with DMAS, 
increased by two percentage points per year. The most 
current table available prior to the effective date of the new 
rates shalf be used. 

For services to be paid at SFY1998 rates, per diem rates 
shalf be adjusted consistent with the methodology for 
updating rates under the DRG methodology (liP above). 

C. There will be no Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) 
per diem. 

D. To pay capital cost through claims, a hospital specific 
· adjustment to the per diem rate will be made. At settlement 
of each hospital fiscal year, this per diem adjustment will be 
eliminated and capital shalf be paid as a pass-through. 
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IV. State University Teaching Hospitals. For hospitals that 
were state owned teaching hospitals on January 1, 1996, all 
the calcu/ab'ons which support the determination of hospital· 
specific rate per case and rate per day amounts under the 
DRG reimbursement methodology shall be carried out 
separately from other hospitals, using cost data taken only 
from state university teaching hospitals. Rates to be used 
effective July 1, 1996, shall be determined on the basis of 
cost report and other applicable data pertaining to the facility 
fiscal year ending June 30, 1993. For these hospitals the 
factors used to establish rates shall be as listed below 
according to the section above where corresponding factors 
for other hospitals are set forth: (see 12 VAC 30-70·210) 

II.D. 0.8432 

1/.L. 0.8470 

V. Reimbursement of non-enrolled general acute care 
hospital providers. During the transition period, non-enrolled 
general acute care hospitals (general acute care hospitals 
that are not required to file cost reports) shall be reimbursed 
according to the previous methodology for such hospitals 
(Supplement 3, XI/A). Effective with discharges after June 
30, 1998, these hospitals shall be paid based on DRG rates 
unadjusted for geographic variation. General acute care 
hospitals shall not file cost reports if they have less than 1000 
days per year (in the most recent provider fiscal year) of 
inpatient utilization by Virginia Medicaid recipients, inclusive 
of patients in managed care capitation programs. 

Prior approval must be received from DMAS when a referral 
has been made for treatment to be received from a non­
enrolled acute care facility (in-state or out-of-state), except in 
the case of an emergency or because medical resources or 
supplementary resources are more readily available in 
another state. 

VI. Medicare Upper Limit. For participating and 
nonparticipating facilities, the State agency will pay no more 
in the aggregate for inpatient hospital services than the 
amount it is estimated would be paid for the services under 
the Medicare principles of reimbursement, as set forth in 42 
CFR 447.253(b)(2) and/or the lesser of reasonable cost or 
customary charges in 42 CFR 447.250. 

VII. Determination of Reasonable and Adequate Rates. In 
accordance with Title 42 of the Code of Federal Regulations 
§§447.250 through 447.272 which implements 
§1902(a)(t3)(A) of the Social Security Act, the state agency 
establishes payment rates for services that are reasonable 
and adequate to meet the costs that must be incurred by 
efficiently and economically operated facilities to provide 
services in conformity with state and federal laws, 
regulations, and quality and safety standards. To establish 
these rates Virginia uses the Medicare principles of cost 
reimbursement in determining the allowable costs for 
Virginia's reimbursement system. Allowable costs will be 
determined from the filing of a uniform cost report by 
participating providers. 

VIII. Cost Reporting Requirements. Except for non-enrolled 
general acute care hospitals and freestanding psychtatnc 
facilities licensed as hospitals, all hospitals shall submit cost 
reports. All cost reports shall be submitted on uniform 

reporting forms provided by the state agency and by 
Medicare. Such cost reports shall cover a 12-month period. 
Any exceptions must be approved by the state agency. The 
cost reports are due not later than 150 days after the 
provider's fiscal year end. All fiscal year end changes must 
be approved 90 days prior to the beginning of a new fiscal 
year. It a complete cost report is not received within 150 
days after the end of the provider's fiscal year, the Program 
shall take action in accordance with Its policies to assure that 
an overpayment is not being made. When cost reports are 
delinquent, the provider's Interim rate shall be reduced to 
zero. The reductions shall start on the first day of the 
following month when the cost report is due. After the 
delinquent cost report is received, desk reviewed, and a new 
prospective rate established, the amounts withheld shall be 
computed and paid. It the provider fails to submit a complete 
cost report within 180 days after the fiscal year end, a penalty 
in the amount of 10 percent of the balance withheld shall be 
forfeited to the state agency. The cost report will be judged 
complete when the state agency has all of the following: 

A. Completed cost reporting form or forms provided by 
DMAS, with signed certification or certifications; 

B. The provider's trial balance showing adjusting journal 
entries; 

C. The provider's financial statements including, but not 
limited to, a balance sheet, a statement of income and 
expenses, a statement of retained earnings (or fund 
balance), a statement of charges In financial position, and 
footnotes to the financial statements. Multi-level facilities 
shall be governed by V/15; 

D. Schedules which reconcile financial statements and 
trial balance to expenses claimed in the cost report; 

E. Hospitals which are part of a chain organization must 
also file: 

1. Home office cost report; 

2. Audited consolidated financial statements of the chain 
organization including: the auditor's report in which he 
expresses his opinion or, if circumstances require, 
disclaims an opinion based on generally accepted 
auditing standards, the management report, and 
footnotes to the financial statements; 

3. The hospital's financial statements including, but not 
limited to, a balance sheet, a statement of income and 
expenses, a statement of retained earnings (or fund 
balance), and a statement of cash flows; 

4. Schedule of restricted cash funds that identify the 
purpose of each fund and the amount; 

5. Schedule of investments by type (stock, bond, etc.), 
amount, and current market value. 

F. Such other analytical information or supporting 
documents requested by the state agency when the cost 
reporting forms are sent to the provider. 

IX Hospital Settlement. During the transition period claims 
will be processed and tentative payment made using per 
diem rates. Settlements will be carried out to assure that tHe 
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correct blend of DRG· and per diem-based payment is 
received by each hospital and to settle reimbursement of 
pass-through costs. There shall be no settlement of 
freestanding psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals except 
with respect to Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) 
payment, if necessary (see 103). 

A. The transition bland percentages which determine the 
share of DI'IG system and of revised per diem system 
reimbursement that Is applicable In a given period shall 
change with the change of the state fiscal year, not the 
hospital fiscal year. 

B. II a hospital's fiscal year does not end June 30th, its 
first year ending after June 30, 1996, contains one or more 
months under the previous methodology, a "split" settlement 
shall be done of that hospital's fiscal year. Services rendered 
through June 30, 1996, shall be reimbursed under the 
previous reimbursement methodology and services rendered 
after June 30, 1996, will be reimbursed as described in VI/IF. 

C. For cases subject to settlement under the blend of DRG 
and per diem methodologies (cases with an admission date 
alter June 30, 1996), the date of discharge determines the 
year in which any Inpatient service or claim related to the 
case shall be settled. This shall be true for both the DRG 
and the per diem portions of settlement. Interim claims 
tentatively paid In one hospital fiscal year that relate to a 
discharge In a later hospital fiscal year, shall be voided and 
reprocessed in the latter year so that the interim claim shall 
not be Included in the settlement of the first year, but in the 
settlement of the year of discharge. An exception to this shall 
be rehabilitation cases; the claims for which shell be settled 
In the year of the 'through" date of the claim. 

D. A single group of cases, with discharges In the 
appropriate time period shall be the basis of both the DRG 
and the per diem portion of settlement. These cases shall be 
based on claims submitted and/or corrected by 120 days 
after the providers FYE Cases which are based on claims 
that lack sufficient information to support grouping to a DRG 
category, and which the hospital cannot correct, shall be 
settled lor purposes of the DRG portion of settlement based 
on the lowest of the DRG weights. 

E Reimbursement lor services in freestanding psychiatric 
facilities licensed as hospitals shall not be subject to 
settlement. 

F. During the transition period settlements shall be carried 
out according to the following formulas. 

1. Settlement of a hospital's first fiscal year ending after 
July 1, 1996: 

a. Operating reimbursement shall be equal to the sum 
of the following: 

(1) Paid days occurring in the hospital's FY before 
July 1, 1996, times the per diem in effect before July 
1, 1996. 

(2) Paid days occurring after June 30, 1996, but in 
the hospital fiscal year, that are related to 
admissions that occurred before July 1, 1996, times 
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the revised system per diem that Is effective on July 
1, 1996. 

(3) DI'IG system payment lor DRG and psychiatric 
cases admitted alter June 30, 1996, and discharged 
within the hospital FY times 113. 

(4) DI'IG system payment for rehabilitation claims 
having a 'Yrom" date of July 1, 1996, or later and a 
'~hrough" date within the hospital FY times 1/3. 

(5) Paid days from the cases and claims In 1 a{3) 
and 1 a(4), times the revised system per diem that Is 
effective on July 1, 1996, times 2/3. 

b. DSH reimbursement shall be equal to paid days 
from the start of the hospital FY through June 30, 
1996, times the DSH per diem effective before July 1, 
1996, There shall be no settlement of DSH alter July 
1, 1996, as the lump sum amount shall be final. 

c. Pass·throughs shall be settled as previously based 
on allowable cost related to days paid In 1 a(1 ), 1 a(2), 
and 1a(5). 

2. Settlement of a hospital's second fiscal year ending 
alter July 1, 1996: 

a. Operating reimbursement shall be equal to the sum 
of the following: 

(1) Days occurring In the hospital FY related to 
admissions that occurred before July 1, 1996, times 
the revised system per diem that Is effective at the 
time. 

(2) DI'IG system payment lor DI'IG and psychiatric 
cases discharged in the hospital FY, but before 
7/1/97, times 1/3. 

(3) DRG system payment for rehabilitation claims 
having a "through" date within the hospital FY but 
before 7/1/97, times 1/3. 

(4) Covered days from the cases and claims and in 
b and c, times the revised system per diem that Is 
ef/ectlve on July 1, 1996, times 2/3. 

(5) DRG system payment tor DRG and psychiatric 
cases discharged from 7/1/97 through the end of the 
hospital FY, times 2/3. 

(6) DRG system payment for rehabilitation claims 
having a 'through" date from 711/97 through the end 
of the hospital FY, times 213. 

(7) Covered days from the cases and claims and in 
2a(5) and 2a(6), times the revised system per diem 
that is effective on 711/97, times 1/3. 

b. DSH reimbursement shall be the predetermined 
lump sum amount. 

c. Pass-throughs shall be settled as previously, based 
on allowable cost related to days paid In 2a(1), 2a(4), 
and 2a(7). 

X. Underpayments. When the settlement of a provider fiscal 
year indicates that an underpayment has occurred, the state 
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agency shall pay the additional amount to the hospital within 
60 days of completion of the settlement. 

XI. Refund of overpayments. 

A. Lump sum payment. When the settlement of a provider 
fiscal year indicates that an overpayment has occurred, full 
refund shall be remitted with the cost report. In cases where 
the state agency discovers an overpayment during desk 
review, field audit, or final settlement, the state agency shall 
promptly send the first demand letter requesting a lump sum 
refund. Recovery shall be undertaken unless the provider 
disputes the state agency's determination of the 
overpayment. If the provider disputes the state agency's 
determination, recovery, if any, shall be undertaken after the 
issue date of any administrative decision issued by the state 
agency after an informal fact finding conference. 

B. Offset. If the provider has been overpaid for a 
particular fiscal year and has been underpaid for another 
fiscal year, the underpayment shall be offset against the 
overpayment. So long as the provider has an overpayment 
balance, any underpayments discovered by subsequent 
revi~w or audit shall also be used to reduce the remaining 
amount of the overpayment. 

C. Payment schedule. If the provider cannot refund the 
total amount of the overpayment (1) at the time it files a cost 
report indicating that an overpayment has occurred, the 
provider shall request an extended repayment schedule at 
the time of filing, or (2) within 30 days after receiving the 
DMAS demand letter, the provider shall promptly request an 
extended repayment schedule. 

DMAS may establish a repayment schedule of up to 12 
months to recover all or part of an overpayment or, if a 
provider demonstrates that repayment within a 12-month 
period would create severe financial hardship, the Director of 
the Department of Medical Assistance Services (the 
"director') may approve a repayment schedule of up to 36 
months. 

A provider shall have no more than one extended 
repayment schedule in place at one time. If an audit later 
uncovers an additional overpayment, the full amount shall be 
repaid within 30 days unless the provider submits further 
documentation supporting a modification to the existing 
extended repayment schedule to include the additional 
amount. 

If, during the time an extended repayment schedule is in 
effect, the provider withdraws from the Program or fails to file 
a cost report in a timely manner, the outstanding balance 
shall become immediately due and payable. 

When a repayment schedule is used to recover only part of 
an overpayment, the remaining amount shall be recovered by 
the reduction of interim payments to the provider or by lump 
sum payments. 

D. Extensipn request documentation. In the request for an 
extended repayment schedule, the provider shall document 
the need for an extended (beyond 30 days) repayment and 
submit a written proposal scheduling the dates and amounts 
of repayments. If DMAS approves the schedule, DMAS shall 
send the provider written notification of the approved 

repayment schedule, which shall be effective retroactive to 
the date the provider submitted the proposal. 

E. Interest charge on extended repayment. 

Interest charges on the unpaid balance of any 
overpayment shall accrue pursuant to§ 32.1-313 of the Code 
of Virginia from the date the director's determination becomes 
final. 

The director's determination shall be deemed to be final on 
(1) the due date of any cost report filed by the provider 
indicating that an overpayment has occurred, or (2) the issue 
date of any notice of overpayment, issued by DMAS, if the 
provider does not file an appeal, or (3) the issue date of any 
administrative decision issued by DMAS after an informal fact 
finding conference, regardless of whether the provider files a 
further appeal. In any event, interest shall be waived if the 
overpayment is completely liquidated within 30 days of the 
date of the final determination. In cases in which a 
determination of overpayment has been judicially reversed, 
the provider shall be reimbursed that portion of the payment 
to which it is entitled, plus any applicable interest which the 
provider paid to DMAS. 

XII. Medicaid Hospital Payment Policy Advisory Council. In 
order to ensure the ongoing relevance and fairness of the 
prospective payment system for hospital services, the 
Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
shall appoint a Medicaid Hospital Payment Policy Advisory 
Council. The Council shall be composed of four hospital or 
health system representatives nominated by the Virginia 
Hospital and Healthcare Association, two senior department 
staff and one representative each from the Department of 
Planning and Budget and the Joint Commission on 
Healthcare. This Council will be charged with evaluating and 
developing recommendations on payment policy changes in 
areas that include, but are not limited to, the following: (1) 
utilization reductions directly attributable to the 1995 
Appropriations Act utilization initiative and any necessary 
adjustments to SFY1997 and 1998 DRG rates: (2) the update 
and inflation factors to apply to the various components of the 
delivery system; (3) the treatment of capital and medical 
education costs; (4) the mechanisms and budget implications 
of recalibration and rebasing approaches; (5) the 
disproportionate share payment fund and allocation 
mechanisms; and (6) the timing and final design of an 
outpatient payment methodology. 

Supplement 1. (same as before) 

Supplement 2. (same as before) 

Supplement 3. (Previous 4. 19-A) 
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Supplement 4. Outlier Methodology //lust ration 

SUPPLEMENT 4 to Attachment 4. 19-a 

OUTLIER METHODOLOGY ILLUSTRATION 
{dollar amounts and other values are for illustration purposes 
only) 

Step 
1 

Step 
2 

Step 
3 

Assume the Following: 
Medicare: Fixed Loss Cost 
Outlier Threshold tor Fiscal Year 
1996 
Medicare: Marginal Cost Factor 
for Cost Outliers for Fiscal Year 
1996 
Hospital X Operating Cost-to­
Charge Ratio 
Hospital X Capital Cost-to­
Charge Ratio 
Medicare Wage Index for 
Hospital X 
Statewide Average Labor Portion 
of Operating Costs 
Hospital X Billed Charges for 
CaseY 
Total Adjusted Costs per Case 
for Hospital X 
Relative Weight for Case Y 
Adjustment Factor tor DRG 
Cases 

Calculate Hospital X Operating 
Costs for Case Y: 
Hospital X Billed Charges for 
CaseY 
Hospital X Operating Cost-to­
Charge Ratio 
Hospital X Operating Costs for 
CaseY 

Calculate Hospital X DRG 
Operating Amount for Case Y: 
Total Adjusted Operating Costs 
per Case for Hospital X 
Relative Weight for Case Y 
Hospital X DRG Operating 
Amount for Case Y 

Calculate Hospital X Cost 
Outlier Threshold for Case Y: 
Fixed Loss Cost Outlier 
Threshold 
Statewide Average Labor Portion 
of Operating Costs 
Labor Portion of Fixed Loss Cost 
Outlier Threshold 
Wage Index for Hospital X 
Wage Adjusted Labor Portion of 
Fixed Loss Cost Outlier 
Threshold 
Non-Labor Portion of Fixed Loss 
Cost Outlier Threshold 
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$15,150.00 

0.8000 

0.7200 

0.0600 

0.9413 

0.5977 

$100,000.00 

$3,115.00 

3.1790 
0.6197 

$100,000.00 

X .7200 

$72,000 

$3,115.00 

X 3.1790 
$9,902.59 

$15,150.00 

X 0.5977 

$9,055.16 

X 0.9413 
$8,523.62 

+ $6,094.85 

Step 
4 

Step 
5 

Eme'rgeti'ty Regulations 

Wage Adjusted Fixed Loss'('jost $14,618.46 
Outlier Threshold · ' 
Hospital X DRG Operating + $9,902.59 
Amount for Case Y 
Hospital X Cost Outlier $24,521.05 
Threshold for Case Y 

Calculate Hospital X Operating 
Outlier Amount for Case Y: 
Hospital X Operating Costs for $72,000.00 
CaseY 
Hospital X Cost Outlier $24,521.05 
Threshold for Case Y 
Hospital X Operating Outlier $47,478.95 
Costs for Case Y 
Marginal Cost Factor tor Cost x 0.8000 
Outliers 
Hospital X Operating Outlier $37,983.16 
Amount for Case Y 

Calculate Hospital X Total 
Payment for Case Y: 
Hospital X DRG Operating $9,902.59 
Amountfor Case Y 
Hospital X Operating Outlier + $37,983.16 
Amount for Case Y 
Hospital X Total Amount for $47,885.75 
CaseY 
Adjustment Factor for DRG 
Cases 
Hospital X Total Payment for 
CaseY 

X 0.6197 

$29,674.80 

12 VAC 30 80 140. 

CeAsisteAt witA ti'le OmAibus Su~§et ReseAsiliatieA Ast ef 
1989 § 6~03, reimbursemeAt sl'lall be Jlreviele~ fer seFvises 
res~:~ltin§J from early and J3Drio8is ssroonin~, Etia§nostis, and 
treatment seFVises. ReimbuFSemeAt sAall be JlFevi~e~ fer 
Sl:lGA ett:ler meamuos 8essril3od in Sosial Ses1:1rity 1\st § 
190!i(a) m~uim~ te seFFest eF ameliorate ~efests aR~ 
JlRysisal aR~ meAtal iiiResses aR~ seA~itieRs ~issevere~ by 
Uw csreoniA§ servises, wl=lether or not Sl:JGI:l servises are 
se\'GFG~ UR~er tRe State PlaR. 

A. Payments to foe for sep,·ise f3FoviElers shall So in 
asser~aRse witR § e. ef MtashmeAt ~.19 8 tl'le lower ef (i) 
State a§GAsy fee ssAe~ule er (ii) astual shaF§G (shar§e te the 
§GReraiJlublis). 

8. PaymeRts te eutJlatieRt sest base~ JlTS'Ii~ers ~ .1 9(~) 
shall be iA asser~aAse with § (d) iR 4.19 R 

C. PsysRiatris servises delivereo iR a Jlsyshiatris RGSJlital 
fer iRdivi~uals YREler a§e 21 sRall be reimburseEI at a uAiferm 
all i,ns',~:~sive !3DF £ii,em fee ana sl=la',l a\')ply to a'.\ cerlise 
JlFGVi~ers. Tl'le fee sl'lall be all iRslusive te iAslu~e JlRysisiaR 
aA~ JlRarmasy seFVises. Tl'le metRedele§y te be use~ te 
~etermiAe ti'le Jler ~iem fee sRall be as fellows. ne base 
[3Dried ldAiform per tJiom foe fer psycRiatric services FOSI:lltiR§ 

. freFR aA EPSDT ssreeAiA~ sRall be IRe me~iaA (wei§Rte~ by 
sRil~reA's a~FRissieRs iR State operated psysRiatris RSSJlitals) 
variable per ~ay sest ef State GJlerated JlSYSRiatris R8SJlitals 
iA IRe fissal year eAEliA§ J""" ao, 1990. TRe base JlGTie~ Jler 
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diem fee st:lall Be uradateEI eaaA year . waing tl!le Aee,:~ital 
marhet ~ael<et taster utlllil!eEI In tt:te raiMBWFIBMBRt af aEMe 
sare l=lasj3ltal$ iA tRe CeMManweaiUt 

VA.R. Doc. No. R96·476; Filed July9, 1996,3:09 p.m. 
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STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

BUREAU OF INSURANCE 

July10, 1996 

Administrative Letter 1 996-1 1 

To: All Insurers Licensed to Write Life Insurance or 
Accident and Sickness Insurance, Health 
Maintenance Organizations and Health Service 
Plans Operating in Virginia 

Re: 14 VAC 5·180·10 (Formerly Insurance Regulation 
No. 34) • Rules Governing Underwriting Practices 
and Coverage Limitations and Exclusions for 
Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS) 

14 VAC 5-180-50.C.6 (formerly section 6.C.6. of 
Regulation No. 34) of the cited regulation provides the 
minimum test protocol that must be followed before an 
adverse underwriting decision may be made on the basis of 
positive HIV-related test results. This test protocol consists 
of: (i) two positive enzyme - linked immunosorbent assay 
(ELISA) tests, followed by (ii) one Western Blot. 

The Bureau of Insurance has recently become aware that 
the Food and Drug Administration has approved an oral fluid 
test for professional use in confirming the presence of HIV 
antibodies. The test protocol for the recently approved test is 
the same as that provided in 14 VAC 5-180-50.C.6. 

The purpose of this letter is to inform you that the oral fluid 
test may be used to comply with 14 VAC 5-180-50.C.6. so 
long as the test protocol set forth in the regulation is followed. 
Blood tests that follow the test protocol may continue to be 
used. 

Questions concerning any of the above should be directed 
to: 

Robert L. Wright 
Principal Insurance Analyst 
Virginia State Corporation Commission 
Bureau of Insurance 
Post Office Box 1157 
Richmond, VA 23218 
(804) 371-9586 

Is/ Alfred W. Gross 
Acting Commissioner of Insurance 

VA. A. Doc. No. R96-495; Filed July 17, 1996, 9:45a.m. 

******** 

July 10, 1996 

ADMINISTRATIVE LETTER 1996-12 

To: All Insurers, Health Services Plans and Health 
Maintenance Organizations Licensed to Write 
Accident and Sickness Insurance in Virginia 

Re: House Bill 1026 
Section 38.2-3514.2 of the Code of Virginia 

Under the provisions of 1996 House Bill 1026, Sections 
38.2-4214 and 38.2-4319 of the Code of Virginia will be 
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amended and reenacted, and a new section, numbered 38.2-
3514.2 will be added. This new section specifies those 
conditions under which an insurer, health services plan or 
health maintenance organization will be permitted to refuse to 
renew those individual policies, subscription contracts or 
plans to which this new law applies. The purpose of this 
letter is to provide guidance in anticipation of a number of 
questions carriers will likely have concerning the 
requirements of§ 38.2-3514.2, and to clarify Bureau position 
with respect to compliance with these requirements. 

All contracts marketed on and after July 1, 1996 must 
contain renewability provisions in compliance with § 38.2-
3514.2. Non-renewal will not be permitted for reasons other 
than those stated in § 38.2-3514.2.A. Policies with 
"noncancellable" or "guaranteed renewable" provisions must 
comply with 14 VAC 5-140 and 14 VAC 5-130, (formerly 
Regulations 19 and 22, respectively) as well. Policies with 
"conditionally renewable" provisions may be non-renewed 
only for one or more of the reasons stated in§ 38.2-3S14.2.A, 
as are applicable. "Conditionally renewable" policies to which 
this statute applies, and in force on July 1, 1996 must be 
amended on their renewal date so that their renewal 
provisions comply with the statutory requirement as well as 
any other applicable statutory requirements in place as of the 
policy renewal date. Policies with "optionally renewable" 
provisions to which this statute applies may not be marketed 
on or after July 1, 1996. "Optionally renewable" policies in 
force on July 1, 1996 must be amended on their renewal date 
to conform to§ 38.2-3514.2 and will from that time forward be 
considered "conditionally renewable" contracts. 

Questions concerning any of the above should be directed, 
in writing to: 

Jacqueline K. Cunningham 
Supervisor 
Life and Health Forms and Rates Section 
Virginia State Corporation Commission 
Bureau of Insurance 
P.O. Box 1157 
Richmond, Virginia 23218 

Is/ Alfred W. Gross 
Acting Commissioner of Insurance 

VA.R. Doc. No. R96-496; Filed July 17, 1996, 9:45a.m. 
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STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

DIRECTOR'S ORDER NUMBER FOURTEEN (96) 

"PICK 3 RACE TRIP CONTEST"; FINAL RULES FOR GAME 
OPERATION. 

In accordance with the authority granted by Sections 9-
6.14:4.1 B (15) and 58.1-4006 A of the Code of Virginia, I 
hereby promulgate the "Pick 3 Race Trip Contest" game rules 
for the Virginia Lottery Pick 3 promotional program to be 
conducted from Monday, May 6, 1996 through Saturday, 
June 8, 1996. These rules amplify and conform to the duly 
adopted State Lottery Board regulations for the conduct of 
instant game lotteries. 

The rules are available for inspection and copying during 
normal business hours at the State Lottery Department 
headquarters, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, and 
at each of the State Lottery Department regional offices. A 
copy may be requested by mail by writing to: Public Affairs 
Division, State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order becomes effective on the date of its 
signing and shall remain in full force and effect unless 
amended or rescinded by further Director's Order. 

is/ Penelope W. Kyle 
Director 
Date: May 6, 1996 

VA.R. Doc. No. A96-484; Filed July 16,1996,11:51 a.m. 

DIRECTOR'S ORDER NUMBER FIFTEEN (96) 

VIRGINIA'S FIFTY-NINTH INSTANT GAME LOTIERY; 
"VIRGINIA'S RICHES," FINAL RULES FOR GAME 
OPERATION. 

In accordance with the authority granted by Sections 9-
6.14:4.1 B (15) and 58.1-4006 A of the Code of Virginia, I 
hereby promulgate the final rules for game operation in 
Virginia's fifty-ninth instant game lottery, "Virginia's Riches." 
These rules amplify and conform to the duly adopted State 
Lottery Board regulations for the conduct of instant game 
lotteries. 

The rules are available for inspection and copying during 
normal business hours at the State Lottery Department 
headquarters, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, and 
at each of the State Lottery Department regional offices. A 
copy may be requested by mail by writing to: Public Affairs 
Division, State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order becomes effective on the date of its 
signing and shall remain in full force and effect unless 
amended or rescinded by further Director's Order. 

lsi Penelope W. Kyle 
Director 
Date: May 20, 1996 

VA.R. Doc. No. R96-485; Filed July 16, 1996, 11:51 a.m. 

DIRECTOR'S ORDER NUMBER SIXTEEN (96\ 

VIRGINIA'S FIFTY-EIGHTH INSTANT GAME LOTTERY; 
"$25,000 DERBY," FINAL RULES FOR GAME OPERATION. 

In accordance with the authority granted by Sections 9-
6.14:4.1 B (15) and 58.1-4006 A of the Code of Virginia, I 
hereby promulgate the final rules for game operation in 
Virginia's fifty-eighth instant game lottery, "$25,000 Derby." 
These rules amplify and conform to the duly adopted State 
Lottery Board regulations for the conduct of instant game 
lotteries. 

The rules are available for inspection and copying during 
normal business hours at the State Lottery Department 
headquarters, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, and 
at each of the State Lottery Department regional offices. A 
copy may be requested by mail by writing to: Public Affairs 
Division, State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order becomes effective on the date of its 
signing and shall remain in full force and effect unless 
amended or rescinded by further Director's Order. 

lsi Penelope W. Kyle 
Director 
Date: June 7, 1996 

VA.R. Doc. No. R96-486; Filed July 16, 1996, 11:51 a.m. 

DIRECTOR'S ORDER NUMBER EIGHTEEN (96) 

VIRGINIA'S FORTY-EIGHTH INSTANT GAME LOTIERY, 
"HIGH STAKES"; FORTY-NINTH INSTANT GAME 
LOTTERY, "HIGH ROLLER"; INSTANT GAME 303, "BONUS 
BINGO"; AND INSTANT GAME 402, "FULL HOUSE"; END 
OF GAME; REVISED. 

In accordance with the authority granted by Sections 58.1-
4006 A and 9-6.14:4.1 B (15) of the Code of Virginia, I hereby 
give notice that Virginia's Forty-Eighth Instant Game, "High 
Stakes," Forty-Ninth Instant Game, "High Roller," Instant 
Game 303, "Bonus Bingo," and Instant Game 402, "Full 
House," will officially end at midnight on Thursday, July 4, 
1996. The last day for lottery retailers to return for credit 
unsold tickets from "High Stakes," "High Roller," "Bonus 
Bingo," or "Full House" will be Thursday, August 8, 1996. 
The last day to redeem winning tickets for "High Stakes," 
"High Roller," "Bonus Bingo" or "Full House" will be Friday, 
December 31, 1996, 180 days from the declared official end 
of the game. Claims for winning tickets from "High Stakes," 
"High Roller," "Bonus Bingo" and "Full House" will not be 
accepted after that date. Claims which are mailed and 
received in an envelope bearing a United States Postal 
Service postmark of December 31, 1996, will be deemed to 
have been received on time. This notice amplifies and 
conforms to the duly adopted State Lottery Board regulations 
for the conduct of instant game lotteries. 

This order is available for inspection and copying during 
normal business hours at the State Lottery Department 
headquarters, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia; and 
at each of the State Lottery Department regional offices. A 
copy may be requested by mail by writing to: Public Affairs 
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Office, State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order supersedes Director's Order Number 
Seventeen (96), issued June 24, t 996. This Order becomes 
effective on the date of its signing and shall remain In full 
force and effect unless amended or rescinded by further 
Director's Order. 

Is/ Penelope W. Kyle 
Director 
Date: June 28, 1996 

VA. A. Doc. No. A96·487; Filed July 16, 1996, 11:52 a.m. 

DIRECTOR'S ORDER NUMBER NINETEEN (96) 

VIRGINIA'S FORTY-FOURTH INSTANT GAME LOTTERY, 
"MONEY BAGS"; FORTY-SIXTH INSTANT GAME LOTTERY, 
"ONE-EYED JACK"; FIFTY-THIRD INSTANT GAME 
LOTTERY, "FOOTBALL FEVER"; AND FIFTY-FOURTH 
INSTANT GAME LOTTERY, "WINNER TAKE ALL"; END OF 
GAME. 

In accordance with the authority granted by Sections 58. 1· 
4006 A and 9·6. 14:4.1 B (15) of the Code of Virginia, I hereby 
give notice that Virginia's Forty-Fourth Instant Game, "Money 
Bags," Forty-Sixth Instant Game, "One-Eyed Jack," Fifty· 
Third Instant Game, "Football Fever,'' and Fifty-Fourth Instant 
Game, "Winner Take All,'' will officially end at midnight on 
Thursday, July 18, 1996. The last day for lottery retailers to 
return for credit unsold tickets from "Money Bags," "One-Eyed 
Jack,'' "Football Fever,'' or "Winner Take All" will be Thursday, 
August 22, 1996. The last day to redeem winning tickets for 
"Money Bags," "One~Eyed Jack," "Football Fever'' or "Winner 
Take All" will be Tuesday, January 14, 1997, 180 days from 
the declared official end of the game. Claims for winning 
tickets from "Money Bags,'' "One-Eyed Jack,'' "Football Fever" 
and "Winner Take All" will not be accepted after that date. 
Claims which are mailed and received in an envelope bearing 
a United States Postal Service postmark of January 14, 1997, 
will be deemed to have been received on time. This notice 
amplifies and conforms to the duly adopted State Lottery 
Board regulations for the conduct of instant game lotteries. 

This order is available for inspection and copying during 
normal business hours at the State Lottery Department 
headquarters, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia; and 
at each of the State Lottery Department regional offices. A 
copy may be requested by mail by writing to: Public Affairs 
Office, State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order becomes effective on the date of its 
signing and shall remain in full force and effect unless 
amended or rescinded by further Director's Order. 

Is/ Penelope W. Kyle 
Director 
Date: July 3, 1996 

VA.R Doc. No. R96-488; Filed July 16, 1996, 11:52 a.m. 
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FORMS 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 9 VAC 25-20· 10 et seq. Fees for 
Permits and Certificates. 

The following form has been filed by the Department of 
Environmental Quality to use in administering 9 VAC 25-20· 
10 et seq. 

Water Division Permit Application Fee Form, issued July 
1996. 

Copies of this form may be obtained from Cindy Berndt, 
Department of Environmental Quality, P. 0. Box 10009, 
Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4000 or toll free 
1-800-592-5482. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
WATER DIVISION 

PERMIT APPLICATION FEE 

INSTRUCTIONS 
Applicants for individual Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System IVPOES), Virginia 
Pollution Abatement IVPA), Virginia Water Protection (VWPL Surface Water Withdrawal 
(SWW), and Ground Water Withdrawal (GWW) Permits are required to pay permit application 
fees except farming operations engaged in production for market. Felt!! are also requir11d for 
registration for coverage under General Permits except for the general permits for sewage 
treatment systems with discharges of 1,000 gallons per day (GPO) or less and for Corrective 
Action Plans for leaking underground storage tanks. Except for VWP permits, fees must be 
paid when applications for permit issuance, reissuance or modification are submitted. 
Applicants for VWP permits will be notified by the DEQ of the fee due. Applications will be 
considered incomplete if the proper fee is not paid and will not be processed until the fee is 

received. 

The permit fee schedule can be found on the back of this form. Fees for parmit issuance or 
reissuance and for pl:!rmit modification are included. Once you have determined the fee for the 
type of application you are submitting. complete this form. Th11 white and yellow copies of the 
form and your check or money order pay,able to "Commonwealth of Virginia··DEQ- should be 
mailed to the Department of Environmental Quality, Receipts Control, P.O. S.ox 10150, 
Richmond, VA 23240. The pink copy of the form and a copy of your check or money order 
should accompany the permit application. The gold copy is for your records. PfeB!Ie direct any 
questions regarding this form or fee payment to the OEQ Office to which you ere submitting 
your application. 

APPLICANT NAME:'------------- SSN/FlN: _________ _ 

ADDRESS: ______________ DAYTIME PHONE:-7=-;o::±:------
Are" Code 

FACILITY/ACTIVITY NAME: _______________________ _ 

LOCATION:'------------------------------

TYPE OF PERMIT APPLIED FOR 
(from Fee Schedule!: _________________________ _ 

TYPE OF ACTION: New Issuance Reissu!lnce Modification 

AMOUNT OF FEE SUBMITTED 
(from Fee Schedule!: _________________________ _ 

EXISTING PERMIT NUMBER (if applicable): __________________ _ 

DEQ OFFICE TO WHICH APPliCATION SUBMITTED I check one) 

I~ Abon~~oniSWRO 

I I A;chmondiPRO 

FOR OEQ USE ONn 

L; Bt1dgowotor1VAO 
'~ Aichmond,Koodquo"•" 

Ki!morMci<•KO 
RnonokoiWCRO 

Pr;nco WintamiNAO 
· v .. qimo 6eoch1TRO 

Dato: -------

Wh;to ond YoUow Cop<o•. DEO AccoYnrino Oltico 
Pink Copy • OEO Ao.,.on"' "' Pormn Prog••m Oltico 

Gold Copy - Apphcont 

OC N: 
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fEE SCHEDULE··AI'I'UCATIOMS FOR INDIVIDUAL PERMITS 
£XCEPT FOil VIRGINIA WATER PROTECTION PERMITS 

IDUE WITH SUIIMISSION OF APPliCATlONI 

TYPE OF PEAMIT 

VPDES lnduotriol MIO)or 

VP0£1 Munlcll* Moja< 

VPOES Municlp8! SI<Hm Widet 

VI'DES lndllotriol MI...,.., No Stondot~ Umlu 

VPDES ln~trill 51""" W-

VP0£5 Municlpol Minor, 100.000 GPO 01 Muro 

VPOES Municipol Minor. M""' 111m 10,000 GPO but Leu U..n 
100,000 GPO 

VPDES M ...... lpol MI.-, M"'o thm 1,000 GPO but lO,IJOO GPO 
DfL .. o 

VPOES Munlc!JHol MI....,., 1,000 GPO or Lou 

VPA lndllotriol Wut.woter Oporolion 

VPA tnduolrtll 51udp o...,n.., 

SWW Permit lor o flow or E•p..,d.d Wltfldtawlll 

ISSUANCE/ 
REISSUANCE 

$8,000 

$7,100 

$3,401} 

u.zoo 

$2,400 

u.ooo 

Jl,BOO 

$1,400 

$3,500 

n.soo 

$4,500 

$2,500 

$ 400 

$2,000 

$3,000 

MODIFICATION 

$4,000 

$3,550 

$3,550 

$1_700 

$1,100 

$1.200 

$1.250 

$1.000 

' 900 

$ 700 

$1.750 

$1,250 

$2,250 

$1,250 

' 200 

$1,000 

$1.000 

$1.500 

FEE SCHEDULE-AI'PLICATIONS fDA INDIVIDUAL VIRGINIA WATER PROTECTION PERMITS 
(.O.PPLICANT WILL BE NOTifiED Of FEE DUE BY DEDI 

ISSUANCE/ 
TYPE OF PERMIT REISSUANCE MODIFICATION 

VWP Cologory I ProjO'Ct $3,000 $1,500 

VWP ColoOOf¥ tl l'fojocl $2,100 $1,050 

VWP Cotogory Ill Prajoco I SOD ' 400 

VWP WoiYol I lOO ' "' 
fH SCHEOUlE·-RE01$TRAT10N FOR GENERAL PER'IIIT COVERAGE 

Tho ,. .. ;mum loo l01 rogiolto~"" 101 qo~o•ol po..,it caYorogo io UOO. Tho •.-:•~e omou~t at lho 1 .. dopondo on 
tho omaunl ol tlmo tho von.,,. pormit wiU '*"'"'" '" olfo~1. Ploooo contoc! tho DEO Office Ia which •egootronon 
molonolo oto to bo oubminod lor onio!aneo '" dOiotmonong 1M ""'"""' ot 1ho I*" duo. 
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Forms 

******** 

Title of Regulation: 9 VAC 25-31-10 el seq. Virginia 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 
Regulation. 

The permit application forms to be used by applicants for 
Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permits have 
been filed by the Department of Environmental Quality. The 
forms will be used in administering 9 VAC 25-31-10 et seq. 
The regulation became effective July 24. 1996, and a 
summary was published in 12:20 VAR. 2651-2652 June 24, 
1996. Due to the number of pages. copies of these forms are 
not being printed in the Virginia Register; however, a listing of 
the forms is printed below. 

Application Form 1 - General Information, Consolidated 
Permits Program, EPA Form 3510-1, June 1980. 

National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
Application for Permit to Discharge Wastewater, 
Standard Form A -Municipal, EPA Form 7550-22 (7-73). 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(VPOES) Application for a Permit to Discharge 
Wastewater, Short Form A, EPA Form 7550-6 (1-73). 

Virginia State Water Control Board Fish Farm 
Questionnaire, July 1996. 

Application Form 2C Wastewater 
Information, Consolidated Permits Program, 
3510-2C, revised February 1985. 

Discharge 
EPA Form 

Application Form 2D - New Sources and New 
Dischargers: Application for Permit to Discharge 
Process Wastewater, EPA Form 3510-2D, September 
1986. 

Application Form 2E - Facilities Which Do Not Discharge 
Process Wastewater, EPA Form 3510-2E, September 
1986. 

Form 2F NPDES, Application for Permit to Discharge 
Stormwater, Discharges Associated with Industrial 
Activity, EPA Form 3510-2F, November 1990. 

Copies of these forms may be obtained from Cindy Berndt, 
Department of Environmental Quality, P. 0. Box 10009, 
Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4000 or toll free 
1-800-592-5482. 

******** 

Title of Regulation: 9 VAC 25-32-10 et seq. Virginia 
Pollulanl Abatement (VPA) Permit Regulation. 

The Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application General 
Instructions for use by applicants for Virginia Pollution 
Abatement permits have been filed by the Department of 
Environmental Quality. The forms will be used in 
administering 9 VAC 25-32-10 et seq. The final regulation 
was published in 12:20 VA.R. 2652-2667 June 24, 1996, and 
it became effective July 24, 1996. Due to the number of 
pages, copies of these forms are not being printed in the 

Virginia Register; however, a listing of the forms is printed 
below: 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, General 
Instructions, revised 10/95. 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form A, 
All Applicants, revised 10/95. 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form 8, 
Animal Waste, revised 10/95. 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form C, 
Industrial Waste, revised 10195. 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form D, 
Municipal Waste, revised 10/95. 

Copies of these forms may be obtained from Cindy Berndt, 
Department of Environmental Quality, P. 0. Box 10009, 
Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4000 or toll free 
1-800-592-5482. 
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GOVERNOR 
-------------------------------

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SIXTY-FIVE (96) 

DECLARATION OF A STATE OF EMERGENCY 
THROUGHOUT THE COMMONWEALTH ARISING 

FROM HURRICANE BERTHA 

Recent meteorological forecasts concerning Hurricane 
Bertha predict that the storm could cause storm surge, heavy 
rains, flooding, and high winds in the Commonwealth. The 
potentia! also exists for tornadoes which could be spawned 
as a collateral effect of the hurricane. Should the hurricane 
make landfall in those cities and counties which lie generally 
east of Interstate Highway 95 in ''Tidewater Virginia," as 
defined in§ 10.1-2101 of the Code of Virginia, flash flooding, 
storm surge damage, and wind damage are anticipated in 
those areas. Inland areas of the state could also be 
impacted by the residual destructive power of Hurricane 
Bertha. 

The health and general welfare of the citizens of the 
localities which may be affected require that state action be 
taken to help prepare for, and should this destructive storm 
impact the Commonwealth, to alleviate the conditions which 
may result from this situation. I also find that these potential 
hurricane effects may constitute a natural disaster wherein 
human life and public and private property are imperiled, as 
described in§ 44-146.16 of the Code of Virginia. 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by § 44-
146.17 of the Code of Virginia, as Governor and as Director 
of Emergency Services, and by virtue of the authority vested 
in me by Article V, Section 7 of the Constitution of Virginia 
and by § 44-75.1 of the Code of Virginia, as Governor and 
Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces of the 
Commonwealth, and subject always to my continuing and 
ultimate authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I 
hereby declare that a state of emergency exists in the 
Commonwealth and direct that appropriate assistance be 
rendered by agencies of both state and local governments to 
prepare for and alleviate any conditions resulting from this 
hurricane, and to implement recovery and mitigation 
operations so as to return impacted areas to pre-event 
conditions in so far as possible. 

Pursuant to§§ 44-75.1 (3) and (4) of the Code of Virginia, I 
also direct that the Virginia National Guard and the Virginia 
Defense Force be called forth to state duty to assist in 
providing such aid. This shall include Virginia National Guard 
assistance to the Virginia State Police to direct traffic, prevent 
looting, and perform such other law enforcement functions as 
the Superintendent of State Police, in consultation with the 
Coordinator of Emergency Services and with the approval of 
the Secretary of Public Safety, may find necessary. 

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 
preparedness, response and recovery measures to meet this 
potential threat and recovery from its effects, and in 
accordance with my authority contained in§ 44-146.17 of the 
Emergency Services and Disaster Laws, I hereby order the 
following protective and restoration measures: 

1. The full implementation by agencies of the state and 
local governments of Volume II, Virginia Emergency 
Operations Plan (COVEOP) for Peacetime Disasters, 
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September 1988, as amended, along with its attendant 
Annex I-FF, Virginia Hurricane Emergency Response 
Plan, and other appropriate state agency plans. 

2. Full activation of the Virginia Emergency Operations 
Center (VEOC) and State Emergency Response Team 
(SERT), which is a multi-agency working group, to 
coordinate implementation of the COVEOP and to 
coordinate receipt and evaluation of information related 
to the effects of this storm. Furthermore, I am directing 
that the VEOC and SERT coordinate state operations in 
support of affected localities and the Commonwealth, to 
include issuing mission assignments to agencies 
designated in the COVEOP and others that may be 
identified by the Coordinator of Emergency Services, in 
consultation with the Secretary of Public Safety, which 
are needed to provide for the preservation of life, 
protection of property and implementation of recovery 
activities. The Coordinator of Emergency Services will 
work closely with involved agencies to identify sources of 
funding to cover costs related to the execution of mission 
assignments. 

3. The authorization to assume control over the 
Commonwealth's telecommunications systems, as 
required by the State Coordinator of Emergency 
Services, in coordination with the Department of 
Information Technology and with the prior consent of the 
Secretary of Public Safety, rnaking all systems assets 
available for use in providlilg adequate communications, 
intelligence and warning capabilities for the impending 
event, pursuant to § 44-146.18 of the Code of Virginia. 

4. The preparation for and if necessary, U1e evacuation 
by low-lying localities, particularly in the coastal counties 
and the Eastern Shore, of citizens subject to the potential 
effects of this storm. Although I have the power to direct 
evacuation as authorized in § 44-146.17 (1) of the 
Emergency Services and Disaster laws, I will defer to 
the authorities of the governing bodies of local 
jurisdictions as to exactly when and to what extent 
mandatory evacuation of their localities is implemented. 
I will retain the authority to implement mandatory 
evacuation, if warranted. The authority to issue local 
preventive evacuation orders ls dependent upon the 
following procedures: (a) the declaration by the 
governing body of a local emergency as outlined in § 44-
146.21 of the Emergency Services and Disaster Laws; 
(b) the judicious and timely use of the manual Decision 
Arc process, or any automated decision aids, device or 
process, as described in Annex I~FF, Virginia Hurricane 
Emergency Response Plan, to determine specific local 
evacuation start times; and (c) prior consultation and 
close coordination with the Virginia Emergency 
Operations Center (VEOC) in Richmond. Violations of 
any order to citizens to evacuate shall constitute a 
violation of this Executive Order and are punishable as a 
Class I misdemeanor. 

5. The cessation of toll collection on evacuation routes. 
Coordination and timing of the application of this 
measure will be accomplished by the Virginia 
Department of Transportation, in conjunction with the toll 
road administrations, local jurisdictions, and the 
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Governor 

Department of State Police. The general public will be 
informed of this action by the best means available. 

6. The hosting of evacuees from affected localities by 
inland jurisdictions in their public shelters is authorized 
and encouraged. To assist host jurisdictions in this 
regard, the use of the Sum Sufficient, as defined in § 44-
146.28 (a) of the Emergency Services and Disaster 
Laws, to defray authorized and justified expenses 
incurred by the host jurisdictions in opening and 
operating their public shelters is herewith authorized. 
Invoices and payments will be subject to such approvals 
and procedures as may be prescribed by the State 
Coordinator of Emergency Services in consultation with 
the State Comptroller. 

7. The activation, implementation and coordination of 
appropriate mutual aid agreements and compacts, 
including the Emergency Management Assistance 
Compact, and the authorization of the State Coordinator 
of Emergency SeiVices to enter into any other 
supplemental agreements, pursuant to §§ 44-146.17 (5) 
and 44-146.28:1, to provide for the evacuation and 
reception of injured and other persons and the exchange 
of medical, fire, police, National Guard personnel and 
equipment, public utility, reconnaissance, welfare, 
transportation and communications personnel, and 
equipment and supplies. The State Coordinator of 
Emergency Services is hereby designated as Virginia's 
authorized representative within the meaning of the 
Emergency Management Assistance Compact, § 44-
146.28:1, Code of Virginia. 

8. The authorization of the Departments of State Police, 
Transportation and Motor Vehicles to grant temporary 
overweight/registration/license exemptions to carriers 
transporting essential emergency relief supplies into and 
within the Commonwealth in order to support the disaster 
response and recovery, particularly as regards donation 
management. 

The axle and gross weights shown below are the 
maximum allowed, unless otherwise posted. 

Any One Axle 24,000 Pounds 
Tandem Axles (more than 40 inches 

but not more than 96 inches 
spacing between axle centers) 44,000 Pounds 

Single Unit (2 Axles) 44,000 Pounds 
Single Unit (3 Axles) 54,500 Pounds 
Tractor-Semitrailer (4 Axles) 64,500 Pounds 
Tractor-Semitrailer (5 or more Axles) 90,000 Pounds 
Tractor-Twin Trailers (5 or more Axles) 90,000 Pounds 
Other Combinations (5 or more Axles) 90,000 Pounds 
Per Inch of Tire Width in Contact 

with Road Surface 850 Pounds 

In addition to described overweight transportation 
privileges, carriers are also exempt from registration with 
DMV. This includes the vehicles enroute and returning 
to their home base. The above cited agencies shall 
communicate this information to all staff responsible for 
permit issuance and truck legalization enforcement. 

This authorization shall apply to hours worked by any 
carrier when transporting passengers, property, 

equipment, food, fuel, construction materials and other 
critical supplies to or from any portion of the 
Commonwealth for purpose of providing relief or 
assistance as a result of this disaster, pursuant to § 52-
8.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

The foregoing overweight transportation privileges and 
the regulatory exemption provided by § 52.8.4.A of the 
Code of Virginia, and implemented in § 2.3.B of VR 545-
01-1, "Motor Carrier Safety Regulations," shall remain in 
effect for sixty (60) days from the onset of the disaster, or 
until emergency relief is no longer necessary, as 
determined by the Secretary of Public Safety in 
consultation with the Secretary of Transportation, 
whichever is earlier. 

9. The discontinuance of provisions authorized in 
paragraphs 5 and 8 may be implemented and 
disseminated by publication of administrative notice to all 
affected and interested parties by the authority I herewith 
delegate to the Secretary of Public Safety, after 
consultation with other affected Cabinet-level 
Secretaries. 

10. If deemed necessary, the designation of a State 
Recovery Task Force under the leadership of the 
Secretary of Commerce and Trade to promote public, 
private and industrial redevelopment projects and help 
sustain long-term community economic vitality in the 
aftermath of the disaster. This task force will also assist 
in the restoration of critical public health and safety 
systems and will do so in close coordination with the 
Coordinator of Emergency Services as the individual 
responsible for ensuring implementation of short-term 
recovery programs. 

11. The authorization of appropriate oversight boards, 
commissions and agencies to ease building code 
restrictions, and to permit emergency demolition, 
hazardous waste disposal, debris removal, emergency 
landfill siting and operations and other activities 
necessary to address immediate health and safety 
needs. This state of emergency constitutes a major 
medical emergency under the Rules and Regulations of 
the Board of Health Governing Emergency Medical 
Services, pursuant to Article 3.01 (§ 32.1-111.1 et seq.) 
of Chapter 4 of Title 32.1, Statewide Emergency Medical 
Services System and Services, and exemptions 
specified in the Rules and Regulations regarding patient 
transport and provider certification in disasters apply. 

12. The costs incurred by state agencies and other 
agents of the Commonwealth as defined herein and in § 
44-146.17, except as defined in paragraph 20, page 9, in 
performing these missions shall be paid out of the sum 
sufficient appropriation for Disaster Planning and 
Operations contained in Item 42 of Chapter 912 of the 
1996 Acts of Assembly. 

13. The implementation by public agencies under my 
supervision and control of their emergency assignments 
as directed in the COVEOP without regard to normal 
procedures pertaining to performances of public work, 
entering into contracts, incurring of obligations, or other 
logistical and support measures, as delineated in § 44-
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146.28 (b) of the Emergency Services and Disaster 
Laws. § 44-146.24 also applies to the disaster activities 
of state agencies. 

14. The immunity provisions of§ 44-146.23 (a) apply to 
volunteer, auxiliary and reserve groups including search 
and rescue team members (SAR), Virginia Association of 
Volunteer Rescue Squad (VAVRS) personnel, Civil Air 
Patrol (CAP), member organizations of the Voluntary 
Organizations Active in Disasters (VOAD), Radio 
Amateur Civil Emergency Services (RACES), volunteer 
fire fighters and others when designated as agents of the 
Commonwealth for specific disaster-related mission 
assignments and identified by the Coordinator of 
Emergency Services. 

The following conditions apply to the deployment of the 
Virginia National Guard and the Virginia Defense Force: 

1. The Adjutant General of Virginia, after consultation 
with the State Coordinator of Emergency Services, shall 
make available on state active duty such units and 
members of the Virginia National Guard and Virginia 
Defense Force and such equipment as may be desirable 
to assist in pre-storm preparation and in alleviating the 
human suffering and damage to property as a result of 
Hurricane Bertha. 

2. Pursuant to § 52·6 of the Code of Virginia, I authorize 
and direct the Superintendent of State Police to appoint 
any and all such Virginia Army and Air National Guard 
personnel called to state active duty as additional police 
officers. These police officers shall have the same 
powers and perform the same duties as the regular State 
Police officers appointed by the Superintendent. 
However, they shall nevertheless remain members of the 
Virginia National Guard, subject to military command as 
members of the State Militia. Any bonds and/or 
insurance required by§ 52-7 of the Code of Virginia shall 
be provided for them at the expense of the 
Commonwealth. 

3. In all instances, members of the Virginia Army 
National Guard and Virginia Defense Force shall remain 
subject to military command as prescribed by § 44-78.1 
of the Code of Virginia and not subject to the civilian 
authorities of the state or local governments. This shall 
not be deemed to prohibit working in close cooperation 
with members of the Virginia Departments of State 
Police or Emergency Services or local law enforcement 
or emergency management authorities or receiving 
guidance from them in the performance of their duties. 

4. Should service under this Executive Order result in 
the injury or death of any member of the Virginia National 
Guard, the following will be provided to the member and 
the member's dependents or survivors: 

(a) Workers' Compensation benefits provided to 
members of the National Guard by the Virginia 
Workers' Compensation Act subject to the 
requirements and limitations thereof; and, in addition, 

(b) The same benefits, or their equivalent, for injury, 
disability and/or death, as would be provided by the 
federal government if the member were serving on 

Volume 12, Issue 23 

Governor 

federal active duty at the time of the injury or death. 
Any such federal-type benefits due to a member and 
his or her dependents or survivors during any calendar 
month shall be reduced by any payments due under 
the Virginia Workers' Compensation Act during the 
same month. If and when the time period for payment 
of Workers' Compensation benefits has elapsed, the 
member and his or her dependents or survivors shall 
thereafter receive full federal-type benefits for as long 
as they would have received such benefits if the 
member had been serving on federal active duty at the 
time of injury or death. Any federal-type benefits due 
shall be computed on the basis of military pay grade 
E-5 or the member's military grade at the time of injury 
or death, whichever produces the greater benefit 
amount. Pursuant to § 44-14 of the Code of Virginia, 
and subject to the concurrence of the Board of Military 
Affairs, and subject to the availability of future 
appropriations which may be lawfully applied to this 
purpose, I now approve of future expenditures out of 
appropriations to the Department of Military Affairs for 
such federal-type benefits as being manifestly for the 
benefit of the military service. 

5. The following conditions apply to service by the 
Virginia Defense Force: 

(a) Compensation shall be at a daily rate that is 
equivalent of base pay only for a National Guard Unit 
Training Assembly, commensurate with the grade and 
years of service of the member, not to exceed 20 
years of service; 

(b) Lodging and meals shall be provided by the 
Adjutant General or reimbursed at standard state per 
diem rates; 

(c) All privately owned equipment, including, but not 
limited to, vehicles, boats, and aircraft, will be 
reimbursed for expense of fuel. Damage or loss of 
said equipment will be reimbursed, minus 
reimbursement from personal insurance, if said 
equipment was authorized for use by the Adjutant 
General in accordance with § 44-54.12 of the Code of 
Virginia; and 

(d) In the event of death or injury, benefits shall be 
provided in accordance with the Virginia Workers' 
Compensation Act, subject to the requirements and 
limitations thereof. 

6. The costs incurred by the Department of Military 
Affairs and Virginia Defense Force in performing these 
missions shall be paid out of the sum sufficient 
appropriation for Disaster Planning and Operations 
contained in Item 493 of Chapter 912 of the 1996 Acts of 
Assembly. 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing, 
and shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 1997, 
unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive 
order. That portion providing for benefits for members of the 

· National Guard and other agents of the Commonwealth 
herein provided for in the event of injury or death shall 
continue to remain in effect after termination of this Executive 
Order as a whole. 
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Governor 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, this 11th day of July, 1996. 

Is/ George Allen 
Governor 

VA.R. Doc. No. R96-491: Filed July 17, 1996, 9:29a.m. 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

Symbol Key 
t Indicates entries since last publication of the VIrginia Register 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Mailing Address: Our mailing address is: Virginia Code 
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219. You may FAX in your 
notice; however, we ask that you FAX two copies and do not 
follow up with a mailed copy. Our FAX number is: (804) 692· 
0625. 

Forms for Filing Material on Dates for Publication in 
The Virginia Register of Regulations 

All agencies are required to use the appropriate forms when 
furnishing material and dates for publication in The Virginia 
Register of Regulations. The forms are supplied by the office 
of the Registrar of Regulations. If you do not have any forms 
or you need additional forms, please contact: Virginia Code 
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3591. 

FORMS: 
NOTICE of INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION· RR01 
NOTICE of COMMENT PERIOD· RR02 
PROPOSED (Transmittal Sheet) · RR03 
FINAL (Transmittal Sheet) · RR04 
EMERGENCY (Transmittal Sheet)· RR05 
NOTICE of MEETING · RR06 
AGENCY RESPONSE TO LEGISLATIVE OBJECTIONS· 
RR08 

ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Title: Administrative Letter 1996·7. Change of Zip Code 

Publication: 12:20 VA.R. 2697 June 24, 1996. 

Correction to Administrative Letter: 

Page 2697, Administrative Letter 1996·7, second 
paragraph, last sentence, change "This change should 
not be filed" to "It is not necessary to file such changes to 
policies, forms, endorsements, or notices to 
policyholders" 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 110-20-10 et seq. Regulations 
of the Board of Pharmacy. 

Publication: 12:21 VA.R. 2787-2799 July 8, 1996. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2799, column 1, strike form entitled "Application for 
Re-examination (eff.S/93)," do not strike forms entitled 
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"Renewal Notice and Application," "Application for 
Registration as a Pharmacy Interne for Graduates of a 
Foreign College of Pharmacy," and "Instructions for 
Graduates of Foreign Schools of Pharmacy" 

Monday, August 5, 1996 



CALENDAR OF EVENTS 
Symbol Key 

t Indicates entries since last publication of the Virginia Register 
~ Location accessible to handicapped 

'ii' Telecommunications Device for Deaf (TDD)Noice Designation 

NOTICE 

Only those meetings which are filed with the Registrar of Regulations by the filing deadline noted at the beginning of this 
publication are listed. Since some meetings are called on short notice, please be aware that this listing of meetings may be 
incomplete. Also, all meetings are subject to cancellation and the Virginia Register deadline may preclude a notice of such 
cancellation. 

For additional information on open meetings and public hearings held by the Standing Committees of the Legislature during 
the interim, please call Legislative Information at (804) 786-6530. 

EXECUTIVE 

VIRGINIA AGRICULTURAL COUNCIL 

t August 26, 1996 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
t Augusl27, 1996- 9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Best Western Motel, 1467 Carrsville Highway, Franklin, 
Virginia. 

The annual meeting of the Virginia Agricultural Council. 
The agenda will consist of an annual review of finances, 
progress reports on approved projects, and general 
business matters. The council will allot 30 minutes at the 
conclusion of all other business for the public to appear 
before the council. Any person who needs any 
accommodations in order to participate at the meeting 
should contact Thomas R. Yates at least 10 days before 
the meeting date so that suitable arrangements can be 
made. 

Contact: Thomas R. Yates, Assistant Secretary, Virginia 
Agricultural Council, 1100 Bank St., Suite 515, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-6060. 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Virginia Stale Apple Board 

t August27, 1996-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Harrisonburg Animal Health Lab, 116 Reservoir Street, 
Harrisonburg, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to (i) review tax collections and revenues for 
1995 crop; (ii) discuss crop estimates for 1996; and (iii) 
review and approve the budget. The board will entertain 
public comment at the conclusion of all other business 
for a period not to exceed 30 minutes. Any person who 
needs ariy accommodations in order to participate at the 
meeting should contact Nancy L. Israel at least five days 
before the meeting date so that suitable arrangements 
can be made. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Contact: Nancy L. Israel, Program Director, Virginia State 
Apple Board, Washington Bldg., 1100 Bank St., Suite 1008, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371·6104 or FAX 
(804) 371-7786. 

Virginia Aquaculture Advisory Board 

Augusl15, 1996-10:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Washington Building, 1100 Bank Street, 2nd Floor Board 
Room, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

The board will meet in regular session to discuss issues 
related to the Virginia aquaculture industry. The board 
will entertain public comment at the conclusion of all 
other business for a period not to exceed 30 minutes. 
Any person who needs any accommodations in order to 
participate at the meeting should contact T. Robins Buck 
at least five days before the meeting date so that suitable 
arrangements can be made. 

Contact: T. Robins Buck, Secretary, Virginia Aquaculture 
Advisory Board, P.O. Box 1163, Suite 211, Richmond, VA 
23209, telephone (804) 371-6094. 

Virginia Horse Industry Board 

Augusl20, 1996-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Virginia Cooperative Extension, Charlottesville-Albemarle 
Unit, 168 Spotnap Road, Lower Level Meeting Room, 
Charlottesville, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to review the budget for the 1995-1996 fiscal 
year and to discuss recently awarded grants and the 
1997 proposed educational seminar. The board will also 
discuss additional avenues to market the economic 
impact study of the industry. The board will entertain 
public comment at the conclusion of all other business 
for a period not to exceed 30 minutes. Any person who 
needs any accommodations in order to participate at the 
meeting should contact Andrea S. Heid at least five days 
before the meeting date so that suitable arrangements 
can be made. 

Contact: Andrea S. Heid, Equine Marketing Specialist. 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 1100 
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Bank St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-5842 or 
(804) 371·6344/TDDI!' 

Virginia Irish Potato Board 

t September 5, 1996 • 8 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Eastern Shore Agricultural Research and Extension Center, 
33446 Research Drive, Painter, Virginia.!!~ 

A meeting to discuss programs (promotion, research and 
education), the annual budget, and other business that 
may come before the board. The board will entertain 
public comment at the conclusion of all other business 
for a period not to exceed 30 minutes. Any person who 
needs any accommodations in order to participate at the 
meeting should contact J. William Mapp at least five 
days before the meeting date so that suitable 
arrangements can be made. 

Conlacl: J. William Mapp, Program Director, P.O. Box 26, 
Onley, VA 23418, telephone (804) 787-5867. 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Augusl7, 1996-7:30 p.m.-· Public Hearing 
Northern Virginia Community College, 8333 Little River 
Turnpike, Route 236, Forum Room, Annandale, Virginia. 

August II, 1996 - 10:30 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
Loudoun County Government Center, 1 Harrison Street, 
Board Room, Leesburg, Virginia. 

August 8, 1996 - 7:30 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Stafford County Administration Center, 1300 Courthouse 
Road, Board Room, Stafford, Virginia. 

September 9, 1996 -- Public comments may be submitted 
until 4:30p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution Control 
Board intends to repeal regulations entitled: 9 VAC 5-
90-10 el seq., Regulations lor the Control of Motor 
Vehicle Emissions, 9 VAC 5-100-10 et seq., 
Regulations lor Vehicle Emissions Control Program 
Analyzer Systems, and 9 VAC 5-110-10 et seq., 
Regulations lor !he Control of Motor Vehicles 
Emissions; and adopt regulations entitled: 9 VAC 9-91-
10 el seq., Regulations lor the Control of Motor 
Vehicle Emissions in the Northern Virginia Area. The 
purpose of the regulation is to require that motor vehicles 
undergo periodic emissions inspection and be maintained 
in compliance with emission standards in order to reduce 
harmful emissions of hydrocarbons, carbon monoxide and 
oxides of nitrogen. The regulation is being promulgated in 
response to state and federal laws requiring the emissions 
inspection program. The regulation applies to vehicles 
that have actual gross weights of 10,000 pounds or less 
and are registered in the Counties of Arlington, Fairfax, 
loudoun, Prince William, Stafford, and Fauquier and the 
Cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and 
Manassas Park. It requires biennial emissions inspections 
in order to register the motor vehicle in the area described 
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above. The regulation also describes requirements for 
inspection stations, inspectors, repair facilities and repair 
technicians. 

It is further proposed that the board authorize for public 
comment the repeal of existing regulations to be replaced by 
9 VAC 5-91-10 et seq. Specifically, the proposal is to repeal: 

9 VAC 5-90-10 et seq. Regulation for the Control of 
Motor Vehicle Emissions (present program) 

9 VAC 5· 100-10 et seq. Regulation for Vehicle Emission 
Control Program Analyzer Systems (present program) 

9 VAC 5-110-10 et seq. Regulation tor the Enhanced 
Motor Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program in the 
Northern Virginia Area (test-only regulations) 

Request for Comments: The purpose of this notice is to 
provide the public with the opportunity to comment on the 
proposed regulation and the costs and benefits of the 
proposal. 

Localities Affected: The following localities will bear a 
disproportionate material air quality impact due to the 
proposed regulation which would not be experienced by other 
localities. 

The Counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, Prince William, 
Stafford, and Fauquier and the Cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, 
Falls Church, Manassas, and Manassas Park. 

Location of Proposal: The proposal, an analysis conducted 
by the department (including: a statement of purpose, a 
statement of estimated impact and benefits of the proposed 
regulation, an explanation of need for the proposed 
regulation, an estimate of the impact of the proposed 
regulation upon small businesses, identification of and 
comparison with federal requirements, and a discussion of 
alternative approaches) and any other supporting documents 
may be examined by the public at the Department's Office of 
Nonattainment and Mobile Sources Planning (Eighth Floor), 
629 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia and the 
Department's regional offices (listed below) between 8:30 
a.m. and 4:30p.m. of each business day until the close of the 
public comment period. 

Fredericksburg Satellite Office 
Department of Environmental Quality 
300 Central Road, Suite B 
Fredericksburg, Virginia 22401 
Ph: (540) 899-4600 

Springfield Satellite Office 
Department of Environmental Quality 
Springfield Corporate Center, Suite 310 
6225 Brandon Avenue 
Springfield, Virginia 22150 
Ph: (703) 644-0311 

Lorton Mobile Sources Operations 
Department of Environmental Quality 
7240-D Telegraph Square Drive 

. Lorton, Virginia 22079 

Statutory Authority: §§ 46.2-1178.1, 46.2-1 179, 46.2-1 180 
and 46.2-1187.2 of the Code of Virginia. 
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Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m. on 
Monday, September 9, 1996, to the Director, Office of 
Nonattainment and Mobile Sources Planning, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, Eighth Floor, 
P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240. 

Contact: David J. Kinsey, Policy Analyst, Office of 
Nonattainment and Mobile Sources, Air Division, Department 
of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 
23240, telephone (804) 698-4432 or (FAX) (804) 698-4510. 

******** 

August 9, 1996 -- Public comments may be submitted until 
4:30p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution Control 
Board intends to amend regulations entitled: 9 VAC 5-
20-10 el seq., General Provisions and 9 VAC 5-80-10 
et seq., Permits lor New and Modified Sources. The 
amendments concern provisions covering prevention of 
significant deterioration and include: (i) revision of the 
maximum allowable increases for particulate matter from 
being based on total suspended particulate to being based 
on particulate with an aerodynamic diameter of less than 
or equal to 10 micrometers; (ii) revision of the "Guideline 
on Air Quality Models"; (iii) exclusion of certain pollutants 
when determining whether an emissions increase is 
considered significant; and (iv) updating the notification 
process to comply with the Code of Virginia and changing 
the regulation's internal numbering system to reflect 
requirements of the Registrar of Regulations. 

Request for Comments: The purpose of this notice is to 
provide the public with the opportunity to comment on the 
proposed regulation and the costs and benefits of the 
proposal. 

Localities Affected: There is no locality which will bear any 
identified disproportionate material air quality impact due to 
the proposed regulation which would not be experienced by 
other localities. 

Location of Proposal: The proposal, an analysis conducted 
by the department (including a statement of purpose, a 
statement of estimated impact and benefits of the proposed 
regulation, an explanation of need for the proposed 
regulation, an estimate of the impact of the proposed 
regulation upon small businesses, identification of and 
comparison with federal requirements, and a discussion of 
alternative approaches) and any other supporting documents 
may be examined by the public at the Department's Office of 
Air Program Development (Eighth Floor), 629 East Main 
Street, Richmond, Virginia, and the department's regional 
offices (listed below) between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of 
each business day until the close of the public comment 
period. 

Southwest Regional Office 
Department of Environmental Quality 
355 Deadmore Street 
Abingdon, Virginia 
Ph: (540) 676-4800 

West Central Regional Office 
Department of Environmental Quality 
Executive Office Park, Suite D 
5338 Peters Creek Road 
Roanoke, Virginia 
Ph: (540) 561-7000 

Lynchburg Satellite Office 
Department of Environmental Quality 
7701-03 Timberlake Road 
Lynchburg, Virginia 
Ph: (804) 582-5120 

Valley Regional Office 
Department of Environmental Quality 
116 North Main Street 
Bridgewater, Virginia 22812 
Ph: (540) 828-2595 

Fredericksburg Satellite Office 
Department of Environmental Quality 
300 Central Road, Suite B 
Fredericksburg, Virginia 
Ph: (540) 899-4600 

Piedmont Regional Office 
Department of Environmental Quality 
4949-A Cox Road 
lnnsbrook Corporate Center 
Glen Allen, Virginia 
Ph: (804) 527-5020 

Tidewater Regional Office 
Department of Environmental Quality 
Old Greenbrier Village, Suite A 
201 0 Old Greenbrier Road 
Chesapeake, Virginia 
Ph: (804) 424-6707 

Springfield Satellite Office 
Department of Environmental Quality 
Springfield Corporate Center, Suite 310 
6225 Brandon Avenue 
Springfield, Virginia 
Ph: (703) 644-0311 

Statutory Authority: § 1 0.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m. August 9, 
1996, to the Director, Office of Air Program Development, 
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, 
Richmond, Virginia 23240. 

Contact: Karen Sabasteanski, Policy Analyst, Office of Air 
Program Development, Department of Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-
4426. 

August 13, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, House 
Room C, Richmond, Virginia. 

A regular meeting of the board. 

Contact: Cindy M. Berndt, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box i 0009, Richmond, VA 23240. telephone 
(804) 698-4378. 
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ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

Augusl12, 1996 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
August 26, 1996 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage 
Road, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to receive and discuss reports from and 
activities of staff members. Other matters have not yet 
been determined. 

Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn, Secretary to the Board, 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage 
Rd., P.O. Box 27491, Richmond, VA 23261, telephone (804) 
367-0712 or FAX (804) 367-1802. 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS AND LANDSCAPE 

ARCHITECTS 

Board lor Architects 

August 30, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to conduct board business. Persons desiring 
to participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact 
the board at least 1 0 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The board fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8514 or (804) 
367 -9753!fDD i! 

VIRGINIA AVIATION BOARD 

August 21, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Augusl23, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Hotel Roanoke and Conference Center, 110 Shenandoah 
Avenue, Roanoke, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A regular bi-monthly meeting of the board. Applications 
for stale funding will be presented to the board, funding 
allocations will be announced, and other matters of 
interest to the Virginia aviation community will be 
discussed. This meeting is being held in conjunction 
with the 23rd Annual Virginia Aviation Conference. For 
further information on the conference being held at the 
Hotel Roanoke and Conference Center on August 21-23, 
1996, contact Betty Wilson at (804) 225-3783. 
Individuals with disabilities should contact Cindy Waddell 
10 days prior to the meeting if assistance is needed. 

Contact: Cindy Waddell, Department of Aviation, 5702 
Gulfstream Rd., Sandston, VA 23150, telephone (804) 236-
3630, FAX (804) 236-3625. or (804) 236-3624!fDD W 
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BOARD FOR BARBERS 

August 5, 1996 - 10 a.m. •· Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A general business meeting. Persons desiring to 
participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or Interpreter services should contact 
the department at least two weeks prior to the meeting 
so that suitable arrangements can be made. The 
department fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Karen W. O'Neal, Assistant Director, Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-0500, FAX 
(804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753!fDD ill 

BOARD FOR BRANCH PILOTS 

August 6, 1996 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Port Authority, 600 World Trade Center, Norfolk, 
Virginia.~ 

A meeting to conduct board business. Persons desiring 
to participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact 
the board at least 1 0 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The department 
fully complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514 or 
(804) 367-9753!fDD ill 

CHESAPEAKE BAY LOCAL ASSISTANCE BOARD 

Northern Area Review Committee 

Augusl13, 1996 ·2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Department, 805 East 
Broad Street, Suite 701, Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for 
the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to review Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area 
programs for the Northern Area. Persons interested in 
observing should call the Chesapeake Bay Local 
Assistance Department to verify meeting time, location 
and schedule. No comments from the public will be 
entertained at the committee meeting; however, written 
comments are welcome. 

Contact: Florence E. J. Dickerson, Program Support 
Technician, Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Department, 
805 E. Broad St., Suite 701, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 225-3440, FAX (804) 225·3447 or toll-free 1-800-243-

.7229!fDD W 
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Southern Area Review Committee 

August 13, 1996-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Department, 805 East 
Broad Street, Suite 701, Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for 
the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to review Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area 
programs for the Southern Area. Persons interested in 
observing should call the Chesapeake Bay Local 
Assistance Department to verify meeting time, location 
and schedule. No comments from the public will be 
entertained at the committee meeting; however, written 
comments are welcome. 

Contact: Florence E. J. Dickerson, Program Support 
Technician, Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Department, 
805 E. Broad St., Suite 701, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 225-3440, FAX (804) 225-3447 or toll-free 1-800-243-
7229!TDD ~ 

CHILD DAY-CARE COUNCIL 

August 8, 1996 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Social Services, Theater Row Building, 730 
East Broad Street, Lower Level Conference Room, Room 1, 
Richmond, Virginia.ri'! (Interpreter tor the deaf provided upon 
request) 

The council will meet to discuss issues and concerns 
that impact child day centers, camps, school-age 
programs, and preschool/nursery schools. Public 
comment period will be at noon. Please call ahead of 
time for possible changes in meeting time. 

Contact: Rhonda Harrell, Division of Licensing Programs, 
Department of Social Services, 730 E. Broad St., 7th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-1775. 

July 23, 1996- 9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Social Services, Theater Row Building, 730 
East Broad Street, Lower Level Conference Room, Room 1, 
Richmond, Virginia.ri'! (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

The council will meet to discuss committees' work. 

Contact: Rhonda Harrell, Division of Licensing Programs, 
Department of Social Services, 730 E. Broad St., 7th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-1775. 

COMPENSATION BOARD 

August 29, 1996 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Ninth Street Office Building, 202 North Ninth Street, 9th Floor, 
Room 913/913A, Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the 
deaf provided upon request) 

A routine. business meeting. 

Contact: Bruce W. Haynes, Executive Secretary, P.O. Box 
710, Richmond, VA 23218-0710, telephone (804) 786-0786, 
FAX (804) 371-0235, or (804) 786-0786!TDD ~ 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Board of Conservation and Recreation 

t August 16, 1996-10:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 Governor 
Street, Room 200, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

The Stormwater Management Committee of the Board of 
Conservation and Recreation will meet with Department 
of Conservation and Recreation officials to discuss and 
comment on proposed amendments to the Virginia 
Stormwater Management Regulations (4 VAC 3-20-10 et 
seq.). 

Contact: Leon E. App, Agency Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 Governor 
St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
4570, FAX (804) 786-6141, or (804) 786-2121!TDD ~ 

Chickahominy Scenic River Advisory Board 

t August15, 1996 -7:30p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Eastern Henrico Government Center, 3820 Nine Mile Road, 
Community Room, Richmond, Virginia. 

A meeting to discuss river issues. 

Contact: Richard G. Gibbons, Environmental Program 
Manager, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
Division of Planning and Recreation Resources, 203 
Governor St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
4132, FAX (804) 371-7899 or (804) 786-2121!TDD ~ 

Nottoway Scenic River Advisory Board 

AugustS, 1996 -7 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Southampton County Office Building, Courtland, Virginia. 

A meeting to discuss river related issues. 

Contact: Richard G. Gibbons, Environmental Program 
Manager, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
Division of Planning and Recreation Resources, 203 
Governor St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
4132, FAX (804) 371-7899 or (804) 786-2121!TDD ~ 

Board on Conservation and Development of Public 
Beaches 

t August26, 1996 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 
Meeting Room, Newport News, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to discuss proposals from localities requesting 
matching grant funds from the board. 

Contact: Carlton Lee Hill, Engineer, Department of 
Conservation and Recreation, Division of Soil and Water 
Conservation, 203 Governor St., Suite 206, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-3998. 
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BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Recovery Fund Committee 

September 10, 1996 - 9 a.m. ·· Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.llll! 

A meeting to consider claims against the Virginia 
Contractor Transaction Recovery Fund. This meeting 
will be open to the public; however, a portion of the 
discussion may be conducted in Executive Session. 
Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and 
requiring special accommodations or interpreter services 
should contact Holly Erickson at least two weeks prior to 
the meeting so that suitable arrangements can be made. 
The board fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Holly Erickson, Assistant Administrator, Board for 
Contractors, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367·8561. 

DEPARTMENT FOR THE DEAF AND HARD-OF­
HEARING 

Advisory Board 

August 7, 1996 - 10 a.m ... Open Meeting 
Department for the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing, Washington 
Building, 11 00 Bank Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A quarterly business meeting of the advisory board. 
Public comment will be received with advance notice. 

Contact: Gloria Cathcart, Human Services Program 
Specialist, Department for the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing, 
Washington Bldg., 1100 Bank St., 11th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371·7892 (VffiY), toll-free 1·800· 
552·7917(VfrTY), FAX (804) 552-7882 or (804) 225· 
2570frDD .... 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

t August 16, 1996-8 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Courtyard by Marriott-Fair Oaks, 112200 Lee Jackson 
Highway, Fairfax, Virginia.llll! (Interpreter for the deaf provided 
upon request) 

A meeting to conduct formal hearings on dental licensure 
by endorsement applications. This is a public meeting; 
however, no public comment will be taken. 

Contact: Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, 6606 W. Broad 
St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230·1717, telephone (804) 
662-9906 or (804) 662-7197frDD""' 
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t August 27, 1996-9 a.m ... Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.llll! (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting of the informal conference committee to hear 
disciplinary cases. This is a public meeting; however, no 
public comment will be taken. 

Contact: Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, 6606 W. Broad 
St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 
662-9906 or (804) 662-7197frDD""' 

BOARD OF EDUCATION 

t August12, 1996-7 p.m.-- Public Hearing 
Central Middle School, Charlotte Court House, Virginia.llll! 

t August 13, 1996 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
John Marshall Hig_h School, 4225 Old Brook Road, 
Richmond, Virginia.l\!!1 

t August 14, 1996 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Frank W. Cox Hjgh School, 2425 Shorehaven Drive, Virginia 
Beach, Virginia.l\!!1 

t August 15, 1996 -7:30p.m.-- Public Heari~ 
Carroll County High School, Hillsville, Virginia"~ 

t August 19, 1996-7 p.m.-- Public Hearing 
Nandua High School, Onley, Virginia.llll! 

t August 20, 1996 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Osbourn Park High School, 8909 Euclid Avenue, Manassas, 
Virginia"llll! 

t August 21, 1996- 7 p.m.·- Public Hearing 
Harrisonburg High School, 395 South High Street, 
Harrisonburg, Virginia.llll! 

Public hearings to solicit public input on the current 
Regulations Establishing Standards for Accrediting 
Public Schools in Virginia. 

Contact: Lin Carbin-Howerton, Policy Director, Department 
of Education, Division of Policy and Public Affairs, P.O" Box 
2120, Richmond, VA 23218-2120, telephone (804) 225-2543, 
FAX 1-800-225-2053, or toll-free 1·800·292·3820. 

LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE -
ARLINGTON COUNTY/CITY OF FALLS 

CHURCH/WASHINGTON NATIONAL AIRPORT 

t August 13, 1996-5:30 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Arlington County Emergency Communications Center, 1400 
North Uhle Street, 5th Floor, Arlington, Virginia.llll! (Interpreter 
for the deaf provided upon request) 

A regular meeting of the planning committee to conduct 
general business. For more information contact Captain 
Michael Kilby. 

Contact: Captain Michael Kilby, Arlington County Hazardous 
Materials Coordinator, 1020 N. Hudson St, Arlington, VA 

Monday, August 5, 1996 

3185 



Calendar of Events 

22201, telephone (703) 358-4652, (703) 358-4644 or (703) 
358-461 orrDo 'iir 

LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE • 
CHESTERFIELD COUNTY 

t September 5, 1996 ·5:30p.m.-- Open Meeting 
t October 3, 1996-5:30 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
6610 Public Safety Way, Chesterfield, Virginia. 

A regular meeting. 

Contact: Lynda G. Furr, Assistant Emergency Services 
Coordinator, Chestertield Fire Department, P.O. Box 40, 
Chestertield, VA 23832, telephone (804) 748-1236. 

VIRGINIA EMPLOYMENT COMMISSION 

State Advisory Board 

t August 12, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Employment Commission, 502 Viking Drive, Virginia 
Beach, Virginia. (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

A regular meeting of the board to receive reports from 
staff and to discuss matters that may be presented. 

Contact: Nancy L. Munnikhuysen, Director, Employer 
Relations and Customer Service, Virginia Employment 
Commission, 703 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-6406 or (804) 371-8050fTDD 'iir 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

t August 12, 1996-7 p.m.-- Public Hearing 
Patrick County Administration Building, Rucker Street, 2nd 
Floor, Stuart, Virginia. 

A public hearing to receive input on the application from 
Vaughan Furniture Company, Inc., to construct a 
furniture manufacturing facility in the Rich Creek 
Corporate Park, Stuart, Virginia. 

Contact: Allen Armistead, Department of Environmental 
Quality, Lynchburg Satellite Office, 7701-7703 Timberlake 
Road, Lynchburg, VA 24502, telephone (804) 582-5120. 

Technical Advisory Committee for Solid Waste 
Management Regulations 

September 13, 1996 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 
First Floor Training Room, Richmond, Virginia.r.ll 

The Board of Waste Management and the Department of 
Environmental Quality are considering the amendment of 
the Solid Waste Management Regulations, 9 VAG 20-80-
10 et seq., and have formed a technical committee to 
advise them on the contents of the proposed 

amendment. This committee will reconvene to continue 
their work on this project 

Contact: Wladimir Gulevich, Director of the Office of 
Technical Services, Department of Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240-0009, telephone (804) 
698-4218, FAX (804) 698-4327, (804) 698-4021fTDD 'iir, or 
e-mail at wgulevich@deq.state.va.us. 

VIRGINIA FIRE SERVICES BOARD 

t August 22, 1996 -7 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Holiday Inn of Culpeper, U.S. 29 South, Culpeper, Virginia. 

A planning session of the board and a meeting to 
discuss fire training and policies. The meeting is open to 
the public for comments and input 

Contact: Bobby L. Stanley, Jr., Executive Director, 
Department of Fire Programs, 2807 N. Parham Rd., Suite 
200, Richmond, VA 23294, telephone (804) 527-4236. 

t August 23, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Holiday Inn of Culpeper, U.S. 29 South, Culpeper, Virginia. 

A business meeting to discuss fire training and policies. 
The meeting is open to the public for comments and 
input 

Contact: Bobby L Stanley, Jr., Executive Director, 
Department of Fire Programs, 2807 N. Parham Rd., Suite 
200, Richmond, VA 23294, telephone (804) 527-4236. 

Fire/EMS Education and Training Committee 

t August 22, 1996 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Holiday Inn of Culpeper, U.S. 29 South, Culpeper, Virginia. 

A meeting to discuss fire training and policies. The 
meeting is open to the public for comments and input 

Contact: Bobby L. Stanley, Jr., Executive Director, 
Department of Fire Programs, 2807 N. Parham Rd., Suite 
200, Richmond, VA 23294, telephone (804) 527-4236. 

Fire Prevention and Control Committee 

t August 22, 1996 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Holiday Inn of Culpeper, U.S. 29 South, Culpeper, Virginia. 

A meeting to discuss fire training and policies. The 
meeting is open to the public for comments and input 

Contact: Bobby L. Stanley, Jr., Executive Director, 
Department of Fire Programs, 2807 N. Parham Rd., Suite 
200, Richmond, VA 23294, telephone (804) 527-4236. 

Legislative/Liaison Committee 

t August 22, 1996 • 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Holiday Inn of Culpeper, U.S. 29 South, Culpeper, Virginia. 

A meeting to discuss fire training and policies. Th~ 

meeting is open to the public for comments and input. 
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Contact: Bobby L. Stanley, Jr., Executive Director, 
Department of Fire Programs, 2807 N. Parham Rd., Suite 
200, Richmond, VA 23294, telephone (804) 527-4236. 

Residential Sprinkler Committee 

t August21, 1996- 1 p.m ... Open Meeting 
Holiday Inn of Culpeper, U.S. 29 South, Culpeper, Virginia. 

A meeting to discuss fire training and policies. The 
meeting is open to the public for comments and input. 

Contact: Bobby L. Stanley, Jr., Executive Director, 
Department of Fire Programs, 2807 N. Parham Rd., Suite 
200, Richmond, VA 23294, telephone (804) 527-4236. 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

t Augusl15, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.!~~ 

A meeting to conduct informal conferences. No public 
comment will be taken. 

Contact: Elizabeth Young Kirksey, Executive Director, Board 
of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9907, 
FAX (804) 662-9493 or (804) 662-7197fTDD liir 

DEPARTMENT OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 
(BOARD OF) 

t August 6, 1996 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, Virginia.!~~ (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting to receive public comments regarding season 
lengths and bag limits for the 1996-1997 hunting 
seasons for waterfowl (ducks, geese, and swan). 
Wildlife Division staff will present recommendations for 
seasons based on frameworks provided by the U. S. 
Fish and Wildlife Service. The public's comments will be 
solicited. A summary of the results of this public meeting 
will be presented to the Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries Board of Directors at its scheduled August 22-
23, 1996 meeting, at which the board will adopt 1996-
1997 waterfowl hunting seasons and bag limits. 

Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Department of Game 
and Inland Fisheries, 4010 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 
23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or FAX (804) 367-2427. 

t August 22, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
t August 23, 1996 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 401 0 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, Virginia.!~~ (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request} 
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The board intends to adopt regulations governing the 
1996-1997 migratory waterfowl seasons, based on the 
framework provided by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service. The board also intends to propose changes in 
fish, nongame wildlife, and watercraft regulations, and to 
select meeting dates for 1997 board meetings. The 
board will solicit comments from the public during the 
public hearing portion of the meeting at which time any 
interested citizen present shall be heard. 

In addition, general and administrative issues may be 
discussed by the board. The board may hold an 
executive session beginning at 9 a.m. on August 22, 
1996. If the board completes its entire agenda on 
August 22, it may not convene on August 23, the second 
of the scheduled two days of the meeting. 

Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst Senior, Department of 
Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 W. Broad St., Richmond, 
VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or FAX (804) 367-2427. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

August 21, 1996 - 10 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
3600 Centre, 3600 West Broad Street, 3rd Floor Conference 
Room, Richmond, Virginia. 

September 20, 1996 -- Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health 
intends to repeal regulations entitled: 12 VAC 5-370-10 
et seq., Rules and Regulations for the Licensure ol 
Nursing Homes, and adopt regulations entitled: 12 
VAC 5-371-10 et seq., Regulations lor the Licensure 
of Nursing Homes. The proposed regulations 
constitute a comprehensive revision of the 
Commonwealth's existing regulations addressing nursing 
homes, which were adopted in 1980. This area of the 
health care field has changed dramatically since then 
and the proposed regulations are intended to address 
current conditions, while assuring safe, adequate, and 
efficient nursing home operations and promoting health 
safety and adequate care of nursing home residents. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Contact: Nancy R. Hofheimer, Director, Office of Health 
Facilities Regulations, Department of Health, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Suite 216, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-
2102 or FAX (804) 367-2149. 

BOARD OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

August 23, 1996 -- Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Health Professions 
intends to adopt regulations entitled: Regulations 
Governing Standards for Dielilians and Nutritionists. 
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The regulation establishes minimal standards for the use 
of the titles of dietitian or nutritionist in accordance with 
provisions of§ 54.1-2731 of the Code of Virginia. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2731 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Senior Regulatory Analyst, 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9918. 

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS 

September 9, 1996- 8:30a.m. --Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Conference Room 2, Richmond, 
Virginia.!!!! 

A general board meeting. 

Ccmlacl: David E. Dick, Assistant Director, Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8507, FAX 
(804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753/TDD ~if 

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

t August 6, 1996 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Stale Council of Higher Education for Virginia, Monroe 
Building, 1 01 North 14th Street, 9th Floor, Conference Room, 
Richmond, Virginia.!!!! (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

A meeting of the Executive Committee. 

Ccmlact: Michael McDowell, Public Information Director, 
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia, 101 N. 14th 
St., 9th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-
2637, 

VIRGINIA HIGHER EDUCATION TUITION TRUST 
FUND 

Augusl22, 1996 -1 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 3rd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia.!!!! 

A regular meeting. 

Contact: Diana F. Cantor, Executive Director, Virginia 
Higher Education Tuition Trust Fund, James Monroe 
Building, 101 N. 14th St., 3rd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 746-3634. 

HOPEWELL INDUSTRIAL SAFETY COUNCIL 

Augusts, 1996- 9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 

September 3, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Hopewell Communi!Y Center, Second and City Point Road, 
Hopewell, Virginia. M'! (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

Local Emergency Preparedness Committee Meeting on 
emergency preparedness as required by SARA Title Ill. 

Contact: Robert Brown, Emergency Services Coordinator, 
300 N. Main St., Hopewell, VA 23860, telephone (804) 541-
2298, 

VIRGINIA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

t August 20, 1996- 11 a.m. --Open Meeting 
Virginia Housing Development Authority, 601 South Belvidere 
Street, Richmond, Virginia.!!!! 

A regular meeting of the Board of Commissioners to (i) 
review and, if appropriate, approve the minutes from the 
prior monthly meeting; (ii) consider for approval and 
ratification mortgage loan commitments under its various 
programs; (iii) review the authority's operations for the 
prior month; and (iv) consider such other matters and 
take such other actions as it may deem appropriate. 
Various committees of the Board of Commissioners may 
also meet before or after the regular meeting and 
consider matters within their purview. The planned 
agenda of the meeting will be available at the offices of 
the authority one week prior to the date of the meeting. 

Contact: J. Judson McKellar, Jr., General Counsel, Virginia 
Housing Development Authority, 601 S. Belvidere Street, 
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 782-1986. 

STATEWIDE INDEPENDENT LIVING COUNCIL 

t August 7, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Drive, Richmond, Virginia. 

A meeting to conduct regular business. 

Contact: Jim Rothrock, Statewide Independent Living 
Council Staff, 1802 Marroit Rd., Richmond, VA 23229, 
telephone (804) 673-0119, toll-free 1-800-552-5019/TDD and 
Voice, or (804) 662-9040/TDD ~if 

ADVISORY COMMISSION ON 
INTERGOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS 

t September 9, 1996 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Riverfront Plaza, West Tower, 901 East Byrd Street, Suite 
900, Richmond, Virginia. 

A regular meeting to discuss such matters as may be 
presented. 
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Contact: Adele MacLean, Secretary, 702 Eighth Street 
Office Bldg., Richmond, VA 23219-1924, telephone (804) 
786-6508, FAX (804) 371-7999, or (804) 786-1860!TDD ~ 

STATE LAND EVALUATION ADVISORY COUNCIL 

t August13, 1996 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Taxation, 2220 West Broad Street, Richmond, 
Virginia.gt! 

A meeting to adopt suggested ranges of values for 
agricultural, horticultural, forest and open-space land use 
and the use-value assessment program. 

Contact: H. Keith Mawyer, Property Tax Manager, 
Department of Taxation, Office of Customer Services, 
Property Tax Unit, 2220 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23220, 

·telephone (804) 367-8020. 

LIBRARY BOARD 

t August 5, 1996 ·10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, 3rd 
Floor, Supreme Court Room, Richmond, Virginia.gt! 

An organizational meeting to provide an orientation to 
board members with a brief overview of library programs. 

Contact: Jean H. Taylor, Secretary to the State Librarian, 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2332. 

COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

t September 16, 1996 • 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Richmond area; site to be determined. 

A regular meeting of the commission to consider such 
matters as may be presented. Persons desiring to 
participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact 
the commission. 

Contact: Barbara Bingham, Administrative Assistant, 
Commission on Local Government, 702 Eighth Street Office 
Bldg., Richmond, VA 23219-1924, telephone (804) 786-6508, 
FAX (804) 371-7999 or (804) 786-1860!TDD ~ 

BOARD OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

t August 20, 1996 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.gt! 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to discuss medical assistance service and to 
take action on issues pertinent to the board. 

Contact: Cynthia Klisz, Board Liaison, Department of 
Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, 

Volume 12, Issue 23 

Calendar of Events 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-8099, FAX (804) 
371-4981, or toll-free 1-800-343-0634!TDD ~ 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

August 9, 1996 -- Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

3189 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services intends to amend regulations 
entitled: 12 VAC 30·50·95 through 12 VAC 30-80-310. 
Amount, Duration and Scope of Services, and 12 
VAC 30-80-10 et seq. Methods and Standards for 
Establishing Payment Rates--Other Types ol Care. 
The purpose of this proposal is to promulgate regulations 
which would allow DMAS to require the use of 
prescription orders for certain over-the-counter (OTC) 
therapeutic products as a first approach to drug therapy 
where these products may be used in place of a more 
expensive legend-only drug. Payment for the more 
expensive legend drug would be denied, except in a few 
specified conditions, unless initial treatment was initiated 
using these less costly OTC drugs and the results of the 
OTC therapy were found to be unsatisfactory. 

DMAS must implement cost-saving measures in its 
covered pharmacy services. Among these, 
enhancements to the Point-of-Service (POS) automated 
system related to the Prospective Drug Utilization 
Review (ProDUR) program have been identified as a 
priority. Additionally, DMAS must develop a Prior 
Authorization (PA) program. The two initiatives, in 
tandem, are well suited to implementation in the interest 
of economy and patient safety. This OTC program will 
enable the partial fulfillment of the required budget 
reduction. 

Historically, the Joint Legislative Audit and Review 
Commission recommended, in 1993, that Medicaid cover 
OTC drugs. Also, in 1994, the American Medical 
Association adopted a policy which recommended to 
physicians that they adopt the practice of prescribing 
OTC medications to their patients. 

As a result of the increased movement of drug products 
from prescription only (legend) to OTC status during 
recent years, a large number of effective drug products 
are available to the public in dosage forms/strengths 
previously obtainable only on prescription. These have 
been reviewed extensively by expert panels at the U.S. 
Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and deemed safe 
and effective. The increased efficacy and cost savings 
of using these products justifies the initiation of a 
program to enhance the pharmacy services by providing 
certain OTC drugs as therapeutic alternatives to costly 
legend products. 

DMAS expects this proposed policy to have a positive 
impact on families because it recommends the 
expansion of covered pharmacy services to include 
certain OTC drugs which, at least for the 
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noninstitutionalized population, have heretofore not been 
covered. This will alleviate some of this financial burden 
which has been borne by families. 

These savings are a part of the savings which are 
required in Chapter 853, Item (E)(8), the 1995 
Appropriations Act. This initiative should produce cost 
saving in individual patient care in the proposed 
categories. The extent will vary with the product 
category. Overall, the initiative should result in cost 
savings. While individual patient costs may decrease, 
the population served is composed of those having high 
utilization problems, such as ulcer patients and patients 
suffering with inflammatory diseases such as arthritis. 
Therefore, early intervention with these products in a 
larger population may result in a smaller decrease in 
expenditures than might otherwise be anticipated. 
However, cost savings in the program as a whole may be 
significant if this early intervention results in fewer 
serious complications and hospitalizations. 

The numbers of prescribers and pharmacy providers 
should not be affected. The program will be 
implemented statewide and no negative impact is 
anticipated to providers. Recipients who may have been 
taking OTC products in the past with good success, will 
be allowed under this initiative to obtain those products 
by doctor's orders. This will result in a savings to the 
patient, who will now pay only the co-pay instead of full 
OTC price. Patient compliance should improve as a 
result, thereby decreasing the potential for additional, 
more costly therapies. The overall effect is expected to 
be cost savings to the public in the Medicaid program. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 9, 1996, to 
David Shepherd, Pharmacy Services, Division of Program 
Operations, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 
East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219. 

Contact: Victoria Simmons or Roberta Jonas, Regulatory 
Coordinators, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-8850. 

******** 

August 23, 1996 -- Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services intends to amend regulations 
entitled: 12 VAC 30-10-10 et seq. State Plan for 
Medical Assistance Services: General Provisions 
and adopt regulations entitled: 12 VAC 30-120-360 el 
seq. Pari VI, Medallion II. The proposed regulations 
govern mandatory HMO enrollment in accordance with 
the 1995 Appropriations Act. Several technical changes 
are also being made. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 23, 1996, to 
Susan Prince, Program Delivery Systems, Department of 
Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 
1300, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Contact: Victoria P. Simmons or Roberta J. Jonas, 
Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Medical Assistance 
Services, 600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-8850. 

t Augusl19, 1996 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
t Augusi19, 1996- 3 p.m.-- Public Hearing 
t Augusl29, 1996- 9:30a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Fairfax Government Center, 12000 Government Center 
Parkway, Fairfax, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf provided 
upon request) 

A meeting of the workgroup to develop alternative patient 
focused models for the inclusion of the mentally disabled 
population in a mandatory managed care environment 
for residents of Northern Virginia on Virginia Medicaid. 

Contact: Nell Skinner, Executive Secretary, Department of 
Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-4218, FAX (804) 
225-4512, or toll-free 1-800-343-0634ffDD Iii 

Drug Utilization Review Board 

August 22, 1996-2 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to conduct routine business. 

Contact: Marianne R. Rollings, Pharmacist Coordinator, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad 
St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
3820 or FAX (804) 786-0414. 

Virginia Medicaid Pharmacy Prior Authorization 
Committee 

August 12, 1996 -1 p.m.-- Public Hearing 
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, House 
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A public hearing to receive comments on pharmaceutical 
products that will be recommended for prior authorization 
to the Board of Medical Assistance Services. 

Contact: David Shepherd, Pharmacy Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad 
St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
3820 or FAX (804) 786-0414. 

Pharmacy liaison Commi!lee 

August?, 1996- 1 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to conduct routine business. 
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Contact: Marianne R. Rollings, Pharmacist Coordinator, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad 
St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
3820 or FAX (804) 786-0414. 

Prior AuthorizationNirginia Health Outcomes 
Partnership Advisory Commi!lee 

August 8, 1996 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.l!ll! 

A meeting to conduct routine business of the committee, 
including a discussion of implementation of a prior 
authorization program for Virginia Medicaid. 

Contact: David Shepherd, Pharmacist Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad 
St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
3820 or FAX (804) 786-0414. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Informal Conference Committee 

t Augusl9, 1996-2:30 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

t August 15, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Sheraton Inn, 2801 Flank Road, Fredericksburg, Virginia. 

Augusl15, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

August 23, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Fort Magruder Inn, Route 60, Conference Center, 
Williamsburg, Virginia. 

t Augusl27, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Sheraton Inn, 2801 Flank Road, Fredericksburg, Virginia. 

t September 4, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Roanoke Marriott Hotel, 2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, 
Virginia. 

t September 13,1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Fort Magruder Inn and Conference Center, Route 60, 
Williamsburg, Virginia. 

t September 17, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Sheraton Inn, 2801 Flank Road, Fredericksburg, Virginia. 

The Informal Conference Committee, composed of three 
members of the board, will inquire into allegations that 
certain practitioners may have violated laws and 
regulations governing the practice of medicine and other 
healing arts in Virginia. The committee will meet in open 
and closed sessions pursuant to§ 2.1-344 A 7 and A 15 
of the Code of Virginia. Public comment will not be 
received. 
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Contact: Karen W. Perrine, Deputy Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-7693, FAX (804) 662-
9943 or (804) 662-7197fTDD 'iii! 

Credentials Commiltee 

t August 10, 1996 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Rooms 3 and 4, Richmond, Virginia.l!ll! 

The committee .will meet in open and closed se_ssion to 
conduct general business, interview and review medical 
credentials of applicants applying for licensure' in 
Virginia, and to discuss any other items which may come 
before the board. THe committee will receive public 
comments of those persons appearing on behalf of 
candidates. 

Contact: Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director, 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St, 4th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9908, 
FAX (804) 662-9943 or (804) 662-71.97fTDD ill 

Exo;!cutive Committee 

t Augusl9, 1996-8 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 660(> West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Rooms 2 and 3, Richmond, Virginia.l!ll! 

The committee will meet in open and closed session to: 
(i) review disciplinary files requiring administrative action; 
(ii) adopt amendments for approval of promulgation of 
regulations as presented; and (iii) act on ,other issues 
that come before the board. The chairman will entertain 
public comments on agenda items for 10 minutes 
following adoption of the agenda. 

Contact: Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director, 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9960, 
FAX (804) 662-9943 or (804) 662-7197fTDD 'iii! 

DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL 
RETARDATION AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE 

SERVICES 

Augusl23, 1996 • 9 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services, James Madison Building, 109 
Governor Street, 5th Floor Conference Room, Richmond, 
Virginia.l!ll! (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A public. hearing to receive. public. comments on the 
Virginia Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment and 
Community Mental Health Services Block Grant 
Applications for Federal Fiscal Year 1997. Copies of this 
application are available for rev·,ew at the Office of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services, James Madison Building, 12th Floor, and each 
community services board office. Comments may be 
made at the hearing or in writing by no later than August 
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23, 1996, to the Office ol the Commissioner, Department 
ol Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance 
Abuse Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 23218. 
Any person wishing to make a presentation at the 
hearing may call Sterling Deal, Ph.D., Office of Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services, at (804) 371-2148 or (804) 371-8977Noice 
and TDD. Copies of oral statements should be filed at 
the time of the hearing. Translators for the deaf are 
available on request. 

Contact: Sterling Deal, Ph.D., Resource Analyst, 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 371-2148, FAX (804) 371-0091, or 
(804) 371-8977Noice and TDP a 

Secretary of Health and Human Resources System 
Reform Task Force 

August 8, 1996-1:30 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Avenue, 
Auditorium, Richmond, Virginia. 

A meeting to review comments on the proposed system 
reform pilot projects proposed by the Department of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services/Community Services Board Technical Work 
Group. Final proposals will be presented to the joint 
subcommittee established by House Joint Resolution No. 
240 to study the publicly funded mental health system. 

Contact: Cheryl Crawford, Administrative Assistant, 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 
23236, telephone (804) 371-5682 or FAX (804) 371-0091. 

VIRGINIA MILITARY INSTITUTE 

Board of Visitors 

September 21, 1996 • 8:30 a.m. •· Open Meeting 
Virginia Military Institute, Smith Hall, Lexington, Virginia.r.ll! 

A regular meeting. There will be an opportunity for 
public comment at approximately 9 a.m. immediately 
after the Superintendent's comments. 

Contact: Colonel Edwin L. Dooley, Jr., Secretary, Board of 
Visitors, Virginia Military Institute, Superintendent's Office, 
Lexington, VA 24450, telephone (540) 464·7206. 

VIRGINIA MUSEUM OF NATURAL HISTORY 

Board of Trustees 

August 10, 1996 • 7 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
English Inn, 2000 Morton Drive, Charlottesville, Virginia.r.ll! 

A meeting of the Research and Collections Committee to 
discuss (i) appointment of research associates; (ii) 
appointment of senior fellow; and (iii) revisions to 
collections policy. 

Contact: Rhonda J. Knighton, Administrative Staff Assistant, 
Virginia Museum of Natural History, 1001 Douglas Ave., 
Martinsville, VA 24112, telephone (540) 666·8616 or (540) 
666-8638/TDD a 
August 10, 1996 ·7:45a.m.-- Open Meeting 
English Inn, 2000 Morton Drive, Charlottesville, Virginia.r.ll! 

A meeting of the Development Committee to discuss 
development issues related to "Dinosaurs!" exhibit. 

Contact: Rhonda J. Knighton, Administrative Staff Assistant, 
Virginia Museum of Natural History, 1001 Douglas Ave., 
Martinsville, VA 24112, telephone (540) 666-8616 or (540) 
666-8638/TDD a 

BOARD OF NURSING 

t August 13, 1996 • 9 a.m. -· Open Meeting 
t August 19, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
t August 21, 1996 - 9 a.m. •· Open Meeting 
t August 27, 1996-9 a.m.·· Open Meeting 
t August 28, 1996 • 9 a.m. ·· Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
Fifth Floor, Richmond, Virginia. r.ll! (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A Special Conference Committee will conduct informal 
conferences with licensees and certificate holders to 
determine what, if any, action should be recommended 
to the Board of Nursing. Public comment will not be 
received. 

Contact: Nancy K. Durrett, R.N., Executive Director, Board 
of Nursing, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9909, FAX (804) 662·9943 
or (804) 662·7197/TDD a 

BOARD FOR OPTICIANS 

t September 13, 1996-10 a.m.·· Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. r.ll! 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

An open meeting to discuss regulatory review and other 
matters requiring board action. In addition, discussion of 
examination, election of officers, monthly budget 
statements enforcement cases and apprenticeship 
program will be discussed. A public comment period will 
be held at the beginning of the meeting. Persons 
desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring 
special accommodations or interpretive services should 
contact the board at least 1 0 days prior to the meeting so 
that suitable arrangements can be made for appropriate 
accommodations. The department fully complies with 
the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Virginia Register of Regulations 

3192 



Contact: Nancy Taylor Feldman, Assistant Director, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone 
(804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-2474 or (804) 367-
9753fTDD'if 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

t September 6, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
Fifth Floor, Conference Room 3, Richmond, Virginia. ~ 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A public hearing on proposed amendments to 18 VAG 
105-30-10 et seq., Regulations on Certification of 
Optometrists to use therapeutic pharmaceutical agents. 
Amendments to the regulations on diseases and 
conditions which may be treated and the listing of 
therapeutic pharmaceutical agents are being 
promulgated as provided for in §§ 54.1-3223 and 9-
6.14:4.1 A 18. The board may consider other items of 
business as may be necessary. 

Contact: Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive Director, 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-99t0 
or (804) 662-7197fTDD 'if 

t September 18, 1996 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
Fifth Floor, Conference Room 3, Richmond, Virginia. ~ 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A board meeting to adopt amendments to 18 VAG 105-
30-10 et seq., Regulations on Certification of 
Optometrists to use therapeutic pharmaceutical agents. 
Amendments to the regulations on diseases and 
conditions which may be treated and the listing of 
therapeutic pharmaceutical agents are being 
promulgated as provided for in §§ 54.1-3223 and 9-
6.14:4.1 A 18. The board may consider other items of 
business as may be necessary. 

Contact: Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive Director, 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th 
Floor. Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9910 
or (804) 662-7197fTDD 'if 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

August 5, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
August 6, 1996 - 9 a.m. (if needed) -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia. 

A formal hearing before a panel of the board. Public 
comments will not be received. 

Contact: Scotti Russell, Executive Director, Board of 
Pharmacy, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230, telephone (804) 662-9911. 

Volume 12, Issue 23 

Calendar of Events 

August 8, 1996- 2 p.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia. 

August12, 1996 - 4 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Cavalier Hotel, Oceanfront and 42nd Streets, Coral Reef 
Room, Virginia Beach, Virginia. 

August 21, 1996 - 11 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
Northern Virginia Community College, 8333 Little River 
Turnpike, Seminar Rooms B, C, and D, Annandale, Virginia. 

August27, 1996 -1 p.m.-- Public Hearing 
Roanoke Airport Marriott, 2801 Hershberger Road, N.W., 
Salon D, Roanoke, Virginia. 

A public hearing to receive information concerning the 
impact of workload and workplace conditions on a 
pharmacist's ability to provide safe and effective 
pharmacy services to the public. 

Contact: Scotti Russell, Executive Director, Board of 
Pharmacy, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230, telephone (804) 662-9911. 

t August 20, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia. 

A board meeting and formal hearing. This is a public 
meeting and there will be a 15-minute public comment 
period beginning at 9:15a.m. 

Contact: Scotti Russell, Executive Director, Board of 
Pharmacy, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230, telephone (804) 662-9911. 

BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND 
MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS 

August 23, 1996 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Professional 
Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists intends 
to amend regulations entitled: 18 VAC 115-20-10 el 
seq. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Professional Counseling. The purpose of the 
proposed amendments is to reduce fees for application 
processing, registration of supervision, and renewal of 
license. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-113, 54.1-2400, and 54.1-3503 
of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Janet Delorme, Deputy Executive Director, 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9575, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, or (804) 662-7197fTDD Iii' 
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******** 

August 23, 1996 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Professional 
Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists intends 
to amend regulations entitled: 18 VAC 115-30-10 et 
seq. Regulations Governing the Certification ol 
Substance Abuse Counselors. The purpose of the 
proposed amendments is to reduce fees for application 
processing, registration of supervision, and renewal of 
certificate. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3503 of the Code 
gf Virginia. 

Contacl: Janet Delorme, Deputy Executive Director, 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9575, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, or (804) 662-7197rrDD li 

t August 22, 1996 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

An informal conference will be held pursuant§ 9-6.14:11 
of the Code of Virginia. Public comment will not be 
heard. 

Conlacl: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, Board of 
Professional Counselors and Marriage and Family 
Therapists, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230, telephone (804) 662-9967. 

NOTE: CHANGE IN MEETING TIME AND MEETING 
DESCRIPTION 
t Augusl23, 1996-8 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

An Executive Committee meeting to review credentials, 
beginning at 8 a.m. Public comment will not be heard. 
At 8:30 a.m. there will be an informal conference held 
pursuant to § 9-6.14:11 of the Code of Virginia to 
consider credentials. Public comment will not be heard. 
At 10 a.m. there will be regular meeting to conduct 
general board business; consider committee reports, 
correspondence, and any other matters under the 
jurisdiction of the board; conduct regulatory review; 
consider proposed regulations for marriage and family 
therapists; and consider amendments for proposed 
regulation for certified rehabilitation providers. There will 
be a 30-minute general public comment period, 
beginning at 10:15 a.m. 

Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, or Joyce D. 
Williams, Administrative Assistant, Board of Professional 
Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists, 6606 W. 
Broad St., 4th. Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 
662-9912. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

t August 6, 1996-9:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 1, Richmond, Virginia.~ 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A regular meeting of the board. Public comments will be 
received beginning at 9:45a.m. 

Contact: M. LaDonna Duncan, Administrative Assistant, 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9913, 
FAX (804) 662-9943, or (804) 662-7197{fDD li 

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

August 27, 1996 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A general business meeting. Persons desiring to 
participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact 
the department at least two weeks prior to the meeting 
so that suitable arrangements can be made. The 
department fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Karen W. O'Neal, Assistant Director, Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-0500, FAX 
(804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753{fDD li 

REAL ESTATE BOARD 

August 8, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to conduct regulatory review. Persons desiring 
to participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact 
the board at least two weeks prior to the meeting. The 
department fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Karen W. O'Neal, Assistant Director, Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX 
(804) 367-2475, or (804) 367-9753{fDD li 

August 22, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A general business meeting. Persons desiring to 
participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact 
the board at least two weeks prior to the meeting. The 
department fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 
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Contact: Karen W. O'Neal, Assistant Director, Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX 
(804) 367-2475, or (804) 367-9753/TDD 'oil 

August 22, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board, 501 Montgomery Street, 
Alexandria, Virginia.!!!! 

A meeting to conduct a formal hearing pursuant to the 
Administrative Process Act in regard to the Real Estate 
Board v. Paulette Heins, File Number 93-01863. 

Contact: Stacie Camden, Legal Assistant, Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-2393, FAX 
(804) 367-2475, or (804) 367-9753/TDD 'oil 

VIRGINIA RECYCLING MARKETS DEVELOPMENT 
COUNCIL 

Goals Subcommittee 

t Augusl19, 1996-2:30 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, 4th Floor, 
West Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia. 

A meeting of the Goals Subcommittee to decide whether 
to change or maintain the state goal of 25% recycling. 
Please contact Richard Lerner at (804) 237-6666 for 
details. 

Contact: Paddy Katzen, Special Assistant to the Secretary 
of Natural Resources, Department of Environmental Quality, 
629 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-
4488. 

VIRGINIA RESOURCES AUTHORITY 

t August 13, 1996-9:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
The Mutual Building, 909 East Main Street, Suite 607, Board 
Room, Richmond, Virginia. 

The board will meet to approve minutes of the meeting of 
the prior month and to consider other matters and take 
other actions as it may deem appropriate. The planned 
agenda of the meeting will be available at the offices of 
the authority one week prior to the date of the meeting. 
Public comments will be received at the beginning of the 
meeting. 

Contact: Shockley D. Gardner, Jr., Executive Director, 
Virginia Resources Authority, P. 0. Box 1300, Mutual 
Building, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 644-3100 or 
FAX (804) 644-3109. 
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RICHMOND HOSPITAL AUTHORITY 

Board of Commissioners 

t August 22, 1996 - 5 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Richmond Nursing Home, 1900 Cool Lane, 2nd Floor, 
Classroom, Richmond, Virginia.!!!! 

A monthly board meeting to discuss nursing home 
operations and related matters. 

Contact: Marilyn H. West, Chairman, Richmond Hospital 
Authority, P.O. Box 548, 700 E. Main St., Suite 904, 
Richmond, VA 23219-0548, telephone (804) 782-1938. 

DEPARTMENT FOR RIGHTS OF VIRGINIANS WITH 
DISABILITIES 

Protection and Advocacy for Individuals with 
Mental Illness Advisory Council 

Augusl15, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Drive, Koger Center, Richmond, Virginia.!!!! (Interpreter for 
the deaf provided upon request) 

A regularly scheduled bi-monthly meeting of the council. 
There will be an opportunity for public comment 
beginning at 11 a.m. 

Contact: Jim Hobgood, Program Coordinator, Department 
for Rights of Virginians with Disabilities, Ninth Street Office 
Building, 202 N. 9th St., 9th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2042, FAX (804) 225-3221, or toll-free 
1-800-552-3962. 

SEWAGE HANDLING AND DISPOSAL APPEALS 
REVIEW BOARD 

Augusl21, 1996-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Henrico County Government Center, Administrative Board 
Room, Parham and Hungary Springs Roads, Richmond, 
Virginia.!!!! 

t September 25, 1996 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Ramada Inn, 1130 Motel Drive, Allegheny Room, Woodstock, 
Virginia.!!!! 

The board will hear all administrative appeals of denials 
of onsite sewage disposal systems permits pursuant to 
§§ 32.1-166.1 et seq. and 9-6.14:12 of the Code of 
Virginia and 12 VAC 5-610-10, Sewage Handling and 
Disposal Regulations. 

Contact: Robert Hicks, Secretary to the Board, Sewage 
Handling and Disposal Appeals Review Board, 1500 E. Main 
St., Suite 11, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, 

·telephone (804) 786-1750. 
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VIRGINIA SMALL BUSINESS FINANCING 
AUTHORITY 

loan Commillee 

t August 27, 1996 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
t September 24, I 996 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Business Assistance, 901 East Byrd Street, 
19th Floor, Main Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.~ 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to review applications for loans submitted to 
the authority tor approvaL 

Contact: Cathleen Surface, Executive Director, Virginia 
Small Business Financing Authority, 901 E. Byrd St., 19th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-8256, FAX 
(804) 225-3384, or (804) 371-0327fTDD 'lii' 

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Division of Benefit Programs 

t Augusl14, 1996- 10 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Social Services, 730 East Broad Street, Lower 
Level, Conference Room 1, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A public hearing will be held to receive comments on the 
proposed use of funds for the 1996-1997 Virginia Energy 
Assistance Program. 

Contact: Cathy N. Olivis, Program Specialist, Department of 
Social Services, 730 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 692-1750. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

t August 9, 1996- 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A regular meeting. Public comment will be received at 
9:15a.m. 

Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, Board of 
Social Work, 6606 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-1717, 
telephone (804) 662-9914, FAX (804) 662-9943, or (804) 
662-7197fTDD Iii: 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Augusl14, 1996 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

A work session of the board and the Department of 
Transportation staff. 

Contact: Robert E. Martinez, Secretary of Transportation, 
1401 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-8032. 

August 15, 1996 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

A monthly meeting of the board to vote on proposals 
presented regarding bids, permits, additions and 
deletions to the highway system, and any other matters 
requiring board approval. Public comment will be 
received at the outset of the meeting on items on the 
meeting agenda for which the opportunity for public 
comment has not been afforded the public in another 
forum. Remarks will be limited to five minutes. Large 
groups are asked to select one individual to speak for 
the group. The board reserves the right to amend these 
conditions. Separate committee meetings may be held 
on call of the chairman. Contact Department of 
Transportation Public Affairs at (804) 786-2715 for 
schedule. 

Contact: Robert E. Martinez, Secretary of Transportation, 
1401 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-8032. 

TREASURY BOARD 

August 21, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, Treasury 
Board Room, 3rd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A regular meeting. 

Contact: Gloria Hatchel, Administrative Assistant, 
Department of the Treasury, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 
14th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6011. 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

August 10, 1996 -- Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Veterinary 
Medicine intends to amend regulations entitled: 18 VAC 
150-20-10 et seq. Regulations Governing the 
Practice of Veterinary Medicine. The purpose of the 
proposed amendments is to establish approved 
providers of continuing education requirements for 
retention of documents and conditions for waivers. This 
action will replace emergency regulations which became 
effective February 6, 1996. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3805.2 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Veterinary Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-7691, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, or (804) 662-7197fTDD W . 
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t August 13, 1996-8:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia. ~ 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to conduct regulatory review and general 
board business. 

Contact: Terri H. Behr, Administrative Assistant, Board of 
Veterinary Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9915 or 
(804) 662-7197/TDD fir 

t August 14, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. ~ (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting to conduct informal conferences. 

Contact: Terri H. Behr, Administrative Assistant, Board of 
Veterinary Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9915 or 
(804) 662-7197/TDD fir 

VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION 

t Augusl21, 1996-9:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Tyler Building, 1300 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A regular meeting to include a report from Colonial 
Downs. 

Conlaci: William H. Anderson, Policy Analyst, Virginia 
Racing Commission, P.O. Box 1123, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 371-7363, FAX (804) 371-6127 or (804) 371-
6169/TDD fir 

DEPARTMENT FOR THE VISUALLY HANDICAPPED 

Vocational Rehabilitation Advisory Council 

September 21,1996-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department for the Visually Handicapped, Administrative 
Headquarters, 397 Azalea Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.~ 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

The council meets quarterly to advise the Department for 
the Visually Handicapped on matters related to 
vocational rehabilitation services for blind and visually 
impaired citizens of the Commonwealth. 

Contact: James G. Taylor, Vocational Rehabilitation 
Program Director, Department for the Visually Handicapped, 
397 Azalea Ave., Richmond, VA 23227, telephone (804) 371-
3140, toll-free 1-800-622-2155, or (804) 371-3140/TDD fir 

VIRGINIA COUNCIL ON VOCATIONAL EDUCATION 

t August12, 1996- 2:30p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Patrick Henry Hotel, Jefferson Street, Roanoke, Virginia. 
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A council business session. 

Contact: Jerry M. Hicks, Executive Director, Virginia Council 
on Vocational Education, 7420-A Whitepine Rd., Richmond, 
VA 23237, telephone (804) 275-6218. 

VIRGINIA VOLUNTARY FORMULARY BOARD 

t September 11,1996-10 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
Washington Building, 11 00 Bank Street, 2nd Floor, Board 
Room, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A public hearing to consider the proposed adoption and 
issuance of revisions to the Virginia Voluntary Formulary. 
The proposed revisions to the formulary add and delete 
drugs and drug products to the formulary that became 
effective on January 15, 1996, and its most recent 
supplement. Copies of the proposed revisions to the 
formulary are available for inspection at the Virginia 
Department of Health, Bureau of Pharmacy Services, 
101 North 14th Street, Room S-45, P.O. Box 2448, 
Richmond, VA 23218. Written comments sent to the 
above address and received prior to 5 p.m. on 
September 11, 1996, will be made a part of the hearing 
record. 

Contact: James K. Thomson, Director, Bureau of Pharmacy 
Services, Virginia Voluntary Formulary, James Monroe Bldg., 
101 N. 14th St., Room S-45, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-4325. 

t October 24, 1996- 10:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Washington Building, 11 00 Bank Street, 2nd Floor, Board 
Room, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to consider public hearing comments and 
review new product data for drug products pertaining to 
the Virginia Voluntary Formulary. 

Contact: James K. Thomson, Director, Bureau of Pharmacy 
Services, Virginia Voluntary Formulary, James Monroe Bldg., 
101 N. 14th St., Room S-45, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-4326. 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

August 23, 1996 -- Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on this date. 
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Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Virginia Waste Management 
Board intends to repeal regulations entitled: 9 VAC 20· 
100-10 el seq., Yard Waste Composling Facility 
Regulations and adopt regulations entitled: 9 VAC 20-
101-10 et seq., Vegetative Waste Management and 
Yard Waste Composling Regulations. 9 VAG 20-100-
10 et seq. is being simultaneously incorporated into the 
Vegetative Waste Management and Yard Waste 
Composting Regulations and are therefore redundant 
and unnecessary. 9 VAC 20-101-10 et seq. compiles, 
establishes, and provides requirements for certain 
facilities that may be exempted from some or all of the 
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Solid Waste Management Regulations or subject to 
simplified procedures. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1402 and 10.1-1408.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Robert G. Wickline, P.E., 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, 
23240-0009, telephone (804) 698-4213. 

INDEPENDENT 

Department of 
Richmond, VA 

STATE lOTTERY BOARD 

Augusl28, 1996-9:30 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Lottery Board intends 
to amend regulations entitled: 11 VAC 5-20-10 el seq. 
Administration Regulations. The purpose of the 
proposed amendments is to clarify procurement 
exemptions and restrictions, clarify board meeting 
requirements, remove sections that are duplicative of 
Code of Virginia provisions when practical, and 
incorporate housekeeping changes. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-4007 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Barbara L. Robertson, Legislative, Regulatory and 
Board Administrator, State Lottery Department, 900 E. Main 
St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-7774. 

******** 

August 28, 1996 - 9:30 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Lottery Board intends 
to amend regulations entitled: 11 VAC 5-30-10 et seq. 
Instant Game Regulations. The purpose of the 
proposed amendments is to clarify revocation or 
suspension of a lottery retailer's license, authorize 
casl1ing at lottery headquarters, eliminate claim form 
requirements, delete sections that are unnecessary or 
duplicative, and make housekeeping changes. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-4007 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Barbara L Robertson, Legislative, Regulatory and 
Board Administrator, State Lottery Department, 900 E. Main 
St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-7774. 

******** 

Augusl28, 1996-9:30 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Lottery Board intends 
to amend regulations entitled: 11 VAC 5-40-10 et seq. 
On-line Game Regulations. The purpose of the 
proposed amendments is to clarify revocation or 
suspension of a lottery retailer's license, authorize 
cashing at lottery headquarters, eliminate claim form 
requirements, revise subscription plan, and make 
housekeeping changes. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-4007 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Barbara L. Robertson, Legislative, Regulatory and 
Board Administrator, State Lottery Department, 900 E. Main 
St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-7774. 

lEGISlATIVE 

COMMISSION ON YOUTH 

August 5, 1996 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, House 
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.jg! (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting to discuss youth gangs in Virginia. 

Contact: Joyce Huey, General Assembly Bldg., 910 Capitol 
St., Suite 517B, Richmond, VA 23219-0406, telephone (804) 
371-2481. 

September 24, 1996 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, House 
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.jg! (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting to discuss status offenders. 

Contact: Joyce Huey, General Assembly Bldg., 910 Capitol 
Square, Suite 517B, Richmond, VA 23219-0406, telephone 
(804) 371-2481. 

CHRONOlOGICAl liST 

OPEN MEETINGS 

AugustS 
Barbers, Board for 
t Library Board 
Pharmacy, Board of 
Youth, Commission on 

August 6 
Branch Pilots, Board for 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 

- Nottoway Scenic River Advisory Board 
t Game and Inland Fisheries, Department of 
t Higher Education for Virginia, State Council of 
Hopewell Industrial Safety Council 
Pharmacy, Board of 
t Psychology, Board of 
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Augusl7 
Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing, Department for the 

- Advisory Board 
t Independent Living Council, Statewide 
Medical Assistance Services, Department of 

- Pharmacy Liaison Committee 

August 8 
Child Day-Care Council 
Medical Assistance Services, Department of 

Prior AuthorizationNirginia Health Outcomes 
Partnership (PANHOP) Advisory Committee 

Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services, Department of 

- Secretary of Health and Human Resources System 
Reform Task Force 

Real Estate Board 

Augusl9 
t Medicine, Board of 

· Executive Committee 
t Social Work, Board of 

Augusl10 
t Medicine, Board of 

-Credentials Committee 
Museum of Natural History, Virginia 

- Board of Trustees 

Augusl12 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 
t Employment Commission, Virginia 

- State Advisory Board 
t Vocational Education, Virginia Council on 

August 13 
Air Pollution Control Board, State 
Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Board 

- Northern Area Review Committee 
· Southern Area Review Committee 

t Emergency Planning Committee - Local, Arlington 
County/City of Falls Church/Washington National Airport 
t Land Evaluation Advisory Council, State 
t Nursing, Board of 
t Resources Authority, Virginia 

Augusl14 
Transportation Board, Commonwealth 
t Veterinary Medicine, Board of 

Augusl15 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of 

- Virginia Aquaculture Advisory Board 
t Conservation and Recreation, Department of 

- Chickahominy Scenic River Advisory Board 
t Funeral Directors and Embalmers, Board of 
Medicine, Board of 
Rights of Virginians with Disabilities, Department for 

- Protection and Advocacy for Individuals with Mental 
Illness Advisory Council 

Transportation Board, Commonwealth 

Augusl16 
t Conservation and Recreation, Board of 
t Dentistry, Board of 
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August 19 
t Medical Assistance Services, Department of 
t Nursing, Board of 
t Recycling Markets Development Council, Virginia 

August20 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of 

. Virginia Horse Industry Board 
t Housing Development Authority, Virginia 
t Medical Assistance Services, Board of 
t Pharmacy, Board of 

Augusl21 
Aviation Board, Virginia 
t Fire Services Board, Virginia 
t Nursing, Board of 
Sewage Handling and Disposal Appeals Review Board 
Treasury Board 
t Virginia Racing Commission 

August22 
t Fire Services Board, Virginia 

- Fire/EMS Education and Training Committee 
- Fire Prevention and Control Committee 
- Legislative/Liaison Committee 

t Game and Inland Fisheries, Board of 
Higher Education Tuition Trust Fund, Virginia 
Medical Assistance Services, Department of 

- Drug Utilization Review Board 
t Professional Counselors and Marriage and Family 
Therapists, Department of 
Real Estate Board 
t Richmond Hospital Authority 

- Board of Commissioners 

August 23 
Aviation Board, Virginia 
t Fire Services Board, Virginia 
t Game and Inland Fisheries, Board of 
Medicine, Board of 
t Professional Counselors and Marriage and Family 
Therapists, Department of 
t Veterinary Medicine, Board of 

August26 
t Agricultural Council, Virginia 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 
t Conservation and Recreation, Department of 

- Board on Conservation and Development of Public 
Beaches 

August27 
t Agricultural Council, Virginia 
t Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of 

-Virginia State Apple Board 
t Dentistry, Board of 
t Medicine, Board of 
t Nursing, Board of 
Real Estate Appraiser Board 
t Small Business Financing Authority, Virginia 

~ Loan Committee 

Augusl28 
t Nursing, Board of 
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Augusl29 
Compensation Board 
t Medical Assistance Services, Department of 

August30 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors and 
Landscape Architects, Board for 

- Board for Architects 

September 3 
Hopewell Industrial Safety Council 

September4 
t Medicine, Board of 

September 5 
t Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of 

-Virginia Irish Potato Board 
t Emergency Planning Committee - Local, Chesterfield 
County 

September 9 
Hearing Aid Specialists, Board for 
t Intergovernmental Relations, Advisory Committee on 

September 10 
Contractors, Board for 

September 13 
Environmental Quality, Department of 

- Technical Advisory Committee for Solid Waste 
Management Regulations 

t Medicine, Board of 
t Opticians, Board for 

September 16 
t Local Government, Commission on 

September 17 
t Medicine, Board of 

September 18 
t Optometry, Board of 

September 21 
Military Institute, Virginia 

- Board of Visitors 
Visually Handicapped, Department for the 

-Vocational Rehabilitation Advisory Council 

September 24 
t Small Business Financing Authority, Virginia 

- Loan Committee 
Youth, Commission on 

September 25 
t Sewage Handling and Disposal Appeals Review Board 

October3 
t Emergency Planning Committee - Local, Chesterfield 
County 

October24 
t Voluntary Formulary Board, Virginia 

PUBLIC HEARINGS 

Augusl7 
State Air Pollution Control Board 

AugustS 
State Air Pollution Control Board 
Pharmacy, Board of 

August12 
t Education, Board of 
t Environmental Quality, Department of 
Medical Assistance Services, Department of 

- Virginia Medicaid Pharmacy Prior Authorization 
Committee 

Pharmacy, Board of 

Augusl13 
t Education, Board of 

August14 
t Education, Board of 
t Social Services, Department of 

- Division of Benefit Programs 

August 15 
t Education, Board of 

August19 
t Education, Board of 
t Medical Assistance Services, Department of 

August20 
t Education, Board of 

August21 
t Education, Board of 
Health, Department of 
Pharmacy, Board of 

August 23 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services, Department of 

August27 
Pharmacy, Board of 

August28 
Lottery Board, State 

SeptemberS 
t Optometry, Board of 

September 11 
t Voluntary Formulary Board, Virginia 

September 18 
t Optometry, Board of 
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