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THE VIRGINIA REGISTER is an official state publication 
issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and the last index of the year is cumulative. 
THE VIRGINIA REGISTER has several functions. The new and 
amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and as finally 
adopted, are required by law to be published in THE VIRGINIA 
REGISTER OF REGULATIONS. In addition, THE VIRGINIA 
REGISTER is a source of other information about state 
government, including all emergency regulations and executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must 
first publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory 
action; a basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an 
economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning 
and Budget; the agency's response to the economic impact analysis; 
a summary; a notice giving the public an opportunity to comment on 
the proposal; and the text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it 
is necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it 
is clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses 
to comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be 
transmitted to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days 
following the completion of the 60-day public comment period. The 
Governor's comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia 
Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the SO­
day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed 
regulation. 

The appropriate standing committee of each branch of the General 
Assembly may meet during the promulgation or final adoption 
process and file an objection with the Registrar and the promulgating 
agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia Register. 
Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 
the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting 
legislative committee, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of 
the regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the 
proposed regulation and explaining any substantial changes made 
since publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period 
begins upon final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, 
if he objects, fotvJard his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the 
end of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a 
directive signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate 
standing committees and the Governor. The Governor's objection or 
suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia 
Register. If the Governor finds that changes made to the proposed 
regulation have substantial impact, he may require the agency to 
provide an additional 30aday public comment period on the changes. 
Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 
Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when 
it receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional 
public comment, unless the agency determines that the changes 
have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the 
promulgating agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, 
in which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on 
the date specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21~day 
extension period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require 
the agency to provide for additional public comment, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which 

. the Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the 

Governor and the General Assembly exercise their authority to 
suspend the effective date of a regulation until the end of the next 
regular legislative session; or (iv) the agency suspends the regulatory 
process, in which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes 
effective on the date specified, which shall be after the expiration of 
the 30-day public comment period. 

Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

If an agency demonstrates that (i) there is an immediate threat to 
the public's health or safety; or (ii) Virginia statutory law, the 
appropriation act, federal law, or federal regulation requires a 
regulation to take effect no later than (a) 280 days from the 
enactment in the case of Virginia or federal law or the appropriation 
act, or (b) 280 days from the effective date of a federal regulation, it 
then requests the Governor's approval to adopt an emergency 
regulation. The emergency regulation becomes operative upon its 
adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, unless a later 
date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to addressing 
specifically defined situations and may not exceed 12 months in 
duration. Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in 
the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) deliver the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action to 
the Registrar in time to be published within 60 days of the effective 
date of the emergency regulation; and (ii) deliver the proposed 
regulation to the Registrar in time to be published within 180 days of 
the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency chooses 
not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the 
procedures to be followed. For specific statutory language, it is 
suggested that Article 2 (§ 9-6.14:7.1 et seq.) of Chapter 1.1:1 of 
the Code of Virginia be examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, 
and date. 12:8 VA.R. 1096-1106 January 8, 1996, refers to 
Volume 12, Issue 8, pages 1096 through 1106 of the Virginia 
Register issued on January 8, 1996. 

"THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS" (USPS-
001831) is published bi-weekly, with quarterly cumulative indices 
published in January, April, July and October, for $100 per year 
by the Virginia Code Commission, General Assembly Building, 
Capitol Square, Richmond, Virginia 23219. Telephone (804) 786-
3591. Periodical Postage Rates Paid at Richmond, Virginia. 
POSTMASTER: Send address changes to THE VIRGINIA 
REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, 910 CAPITOL STREET, 2ND 
FLOOR, RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23219. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to 
Article 7 (§ 9-6.14:22 et seq.) of Chapter 1.1:1 of the Code of 
Virginia. Individual copies, if available, may be purchased for 
$4.00 each from the Registrar of Regulations. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: Joseph V. Gartlan, 
Jr., Chairman; W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr., Vice Chairman; Robert L. 
Calhoun; Russell M. Carneal; Bernard S. Cohen; Jay W. 
DeBoer; Frank S. Ferguson; E. M. Miller, Jr.; Jackson E. 
Reasor, Jr.; James B. Wilkinson. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: E. M. Miller, Jr., Acting Registrar of 
Regulations; Jane D. Chaffin, Deputy Registrar of Regulations. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

Symbol Key 
t Indicates entries since last publication of the Virginia Register 

DEPARTMENT OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Criminal Justice 
Services intends to consider amending regulations entitled: 6 
VAC 20-160-10 et seq. Rules Relating to the Court­
Appointed Special Advocate Program (CASA). The 
purpose of the proposed action is to amend the current 
regulations related to CASA Programs to ensure that they are 
in support of and consistent with the mission and growth of 
the program. The agency intends to hold a public hearing on 
the proposed regulation after publication. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 9-173.6, 9-173.7, and 9-173.8 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until November 28, 1996. 

Contact: Dawn Colapietro, CASA Program Coordinator, 
Department of Criminal Justice Services, 805 E. Broad St., 
1oth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6428, 
or FAX (804) 371-8981. 

VAR. Doc. No. R97-62; Flied October 9, 1996, 10:25 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION (STATE BOARD OF) 

t Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Education intends to 
consider promulgating regulations entitled: 8 VAC 20-630-10 
et seq. Technology Standards for Instructional 
Personnel. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
promulgate technology standards that will set forth those 
competencies required of instructional personnel in Virginia 
schools. The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed regulation after publication. 

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until December 26, 1996. 

Contact: Thomas A Elliott, Division Chief for Compliance, 
Department of Education, P. 0. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 
23218-2120, telephone (804) 371-2522 or FAX (804) 225-
2381. 

VAR. Doc. No. R97-413; Filed NovemberS, 1996, 11:26 a.m. 
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH (STATE BOARD OF) 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled: 12 VAC 5-220-10 et 
seq. Virginia Medical Care Facilities Certificate of Public 
Need Rules and Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to implement changes to the COPN law, effective 
July 1, 1996, which (i) eliminated the requirement for a COPN 
to replace major medical equipment, (ii) raised the capital 
expenditure threshold triggering COPN requirements, and (iii) 
established a minimal COPN application fee of $1,000 and 
raised the maximum application fee from $10,000 to $20,000. 
The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed regulation after publication. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-102.2 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until November 29, 1996 
at 5 p.m. to Nancy R. Hofheimer, Director, Office of Health 
Facilities Regulation, Department of Health, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Suite 216, Richmond, VA 23230. 

Contact: Paul E. Parker, Director, Division of Resources 
Development, Office of Health Facilities Regulation, 
Department of Health, 3600 W. Broad St., Suite 216, 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-2127, or FAX 
(804) 367-2149. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-56; Filed October 9, 1996, 9:51 a.m. 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Nursing intends to consider 
promulgating regulations entitled: 18 VAC 90-50-10 et seq. 
Regulations Governing the Certification of Massage 
Therapists. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
establish qualifications for licensure, sufficient fees, and 
standards of professional conduct for massage therapists. 
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
regulation after publication. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-3005 and 54.1-3029 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until December 11, 1996. 

Contact: Nancy Durrett, R.N., Executive Director, Board of 
Nursing, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-
1717, telephone (804) 662-9909, FAX (804) 662-9943, or 
(804) 662-7197fTDD 'iiil 

Monday, November 25, 1996 



N_otices of Intended Regulatory Action 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-84; Filed October 17, 1996, 1 p.m. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Psychology intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled: 18 VAC 125-20-10 
et seq. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Psychology. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
replace emergency regulations which became effective on 
September 13, 1996, and which amended regulations in 
conformity with Chapters 937 and 980 of the 1996 Acts of the 
Assembly amending Chapter 36 of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. Changes to the Code of Virginia consolidated the 
licensure of clinical psychologists under the Board of 
Psychology and added a category of applied psychologists. 
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
regulation after publication. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3600 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until November 27, 1996. 

Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, Board of 
Psychology, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9913, FAX (804) 662-9943, 
or (804) 662-7197/TDDir. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-63; Filed October9, 1996, 10:37 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES (STATE 
BOARD OF) 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 
intends to consider promulgating regulations entitled: 22 
VAC 40-705-10 et seq. Child Protective Services. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to satisfy the need to 
provide direction for how best to protect children from child 
abuse and neglect balanced with the right of parents and 
family integrity. These regulations will clarify and effect 
certain fundamental changes in how children are protected in 
the Commonwealth of Virginia with regard to the categories 
of reporting, investigations, appeals, training, and 
accountability. The agency intends to hold a public hearing 
on the proposed regulation after publication. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.1-25 and 63.1-248.2 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until November 27, 1996. 

Contact: · Jesslyn Cobb, Human Services Program 
Consultant, Child Protective Services Unit, Department of 
Social Services, 730 E. Broad St., Theater Row Building, 
Richmond, VA 23219-1849, telephone (804) 692-1255, FAX 
(804) 692-2215, or (800) 828-1120/TDDir. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97~4B; Filed October 3 1996, 2:11 p.m. 

VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION 

t Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Virginia Racing Commission intends 
to consider amending regulations entitled: 11 VAC 10-130-
10 et seq., Virginia Breeders Fund. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to establish more efficient procedures for 
the registration of racehorses and payment of awards from 
the fund. The agency intends to hold a public hear'1ng on the 
proposed regulation after publication. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 59.1-369 and 59.1-372 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until December 26, 1996. 

Contact: William H. Anderson, Policy Analyst, Virginia 
Racing Commission, P.O. Box 1123, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 371-7363 or FAX (804) 371-6127. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-124; Filed NovemberS, 1996,2:07 p.m. 
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PUBLIC COMMENT PERIODS - PROPOSED REGULATIONS 

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIODS REGARDING STATE AGENCY REGULATIONS 

Effective July 1, 1995, publication of notices of public comment periods in a newspaper of 
general circulation in the state capital is no longer required by the Administrative Process Act (§ 
9-6.14:1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Chapter 717 of the 1995 Acts of Assembly eliminated 
the newspaper publication requirement from the Administrative Process Act. In The Virginia 
Register of Regulations, the Registrar of Regulations has developed this section entitled "Public 
Comment Periods- Proposed Regulations" to give notice of public comment periods and public 
hearings to be held on proposed regulations. The notice will be published once at the same 
time the proposed regulation is published in the Proposed Regulations section of the Virginia 
Register. The notice will continue to be carried in the Calendar of Events section of the Virginia 
Regtster until the public comment period and public hearing date have passed. 

Notice is given in compliance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the Code of Virginia that the following public hearings and public comment 
periods regarding proposed state agency regulations are set to afford the public an opportunity to express their views. 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

January 7, 1997-5 p.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Conference Room 4, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

January 30, 1997 --Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board for Contractors 
intends to adopt regulations entitled: 1 B VAC 50-30-10 
et seq., Tradesman Certification Program 
Regulations. The purpose of the proposed regulation is 
to provide for the certification of tradesmen by 
establishing fees, entry requirements, standards of 
practice and conduct, and other administrative 
procedures. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54. 1-1102 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Contact: Steven L. Arthur, Assistant Director, Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-2945. 

BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND 
MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS 

December 17, 1996 • 9 a.m.·· Public Hearing 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 3, Richmond, Virginia. 

January 24, 1997 -- Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Professional 
Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists 
intends to amend regulations entitled: 18 VAC 115· 
40-10 et seq., Regulations Governing the 
Certification of Rehabilitation· Providers. The 
purpose of the proposed amendment is to establish 
educational and experience requirements for 
certification. 
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Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Contact: Janet Delorme, Deputy Executive Director, 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9575 or 
FAX (804) 662-9943. 

Monday, November 25, 1996 



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 
For information concerning Proposed Regulations, see Information Page. 

Symbol Key 
Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Italic type indicates proposed new text. 

Language which has been stricken indicates proposed text for deletion. 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 50-30-10 et seq. Tradesman 
Certification Program Regulations. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date: January 7, 1997- 5 p.m. 
Public comments may be submitted until January 30, 
1997. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
board with the authority to amend its regulations in 
accordance with the Administrative Process Act(§ 9-6.14:1 et 
seq.) necessary to effectively administer the regulatory 
system administered by the board. The board is proposing 
the increased fees to ensure that the variance between 
revenues and expenditures does not exceed 10% in any 
biennium as required by§ 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: Pursuant to§§ 54.1-310, 54.1-311 and 54.1-1100 
of the Code of Virginia, specifically § 54.1-1129, the Board for 
Contractors is proposing to promulgate regulations for the 
certification of tradesmen. Tradesmen, if unregulated, would 
pose a hazard to the public health, safety, or welfare. 

Substance: The proposed regulations will establish the rules 
and regulations for the certification of the trades of electrical, 
plumbing, and heating, ventilation and air conditioning. 

Issues: The regulations define key terms, establish entry 
requirements, set the renewal and reinstatement procedures, 
and delineate the standards of practice for the trades. The 
advantage to the regulations is the protection of the public by 
implementing a system of regulation. There are no known 
disadvantages. 

Estimated Impact: These regulations apply to approximately 
40,000 licensees. The economic and regulatory impact of 
the proposed regulations on the regulants is minimal, since 
the proposed regulations are essentially the same as the 
emergency regulations effective July 1, 1995. No localities 
have been identified as being particularly impacted by this 
proposal. Costs for implementation of the amended 
regulations are estimated to be limited to the costs of printing 
and mailing of the proposed and final regulations to those on 
the board's Public Participation Guidelines list. Regulants will 
be adv'1sed of the availability of the proposed and final 
regulations at the board office. Estimated cost is $6,000. 
There will be no additional costs to the regulated population 
to implement this program. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) 
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13 

(94). Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and types 
of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or 
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the 
impact on the use and value of private property. The analys'1s 
presented below represents DPB's best estimate of these 
economic affects. 

Summary of the Proposed Regulation. In general, the 
purpose of the regulation is to establish criter'1a for board 
certification of electrical, plumbing, heating, ventilation, and 
air-conditioning tradesmen. This regulation was transferred 
by statute from the Department of Housing and Community 
Development to DPOR as of July 1, 1995. The current 
proposed regulation replaces an emergency regulation that 
became effective on that date. 

These regulations contain two changes that are likely to have 
economic consequences: 

~a new fee, and 

a provision allowing greater flexibility in the 
prerequisites for the journeyman's level certification 
examination. 

Estimated Economic Impact 

Fee increase. The proposed regulation establishes a 
schedule of fees for the issuance of duplicate tradesman 
certification cards. These fees are $10 for the first request, 
$20 for the second request, and $40 for any subsequent 
request. Although these fees will almost certainly increase 
the total regulatory compliance costs imposed by this 
program, the increase is likely to be of negligible magnitude. 

Prerequisites for examination. The proposed regulation 
allows individuals with ten years of practical experience to sit 
for the journeyman's level certification examination. The 
primary effect of this change will be to reduce compliance 
costs by allowing individuals to substitute practical 
experience for formal training as a prerequisite for taking the 
examination. 

Businesses and Entities Particularly Affected 

The proposed regulation particularly affects the 
approximately 40,000 licensees participating in the 
Tradesman Certification Program, and anyone who may 
apply for such licensure in the future. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities are particularly 
affected by this proposed regulation. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 
is not anticipated to have a significant effect on employment. 
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed regulation is not anticipated to have a significant 
effect on the use and value of private property. 

Summary of Analysis: The proposed regulation is expected 
to have two primary economic consequences: 1) a modest 
increase in regulatory compliance costs attributable to the 
imposition of new fees for the issuance of duplicate 
tradesman certification cards; and 2) a modest decrease in 
regulatory compliance costs attributable to greater flexibility in 
the prerequisites necessary for the journeyman's level 
certification examination. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The board agrees with 
the analysis performed by the Department of Planning and 
Budget, October 28, 1996, as reported to the Governor's 
office and endorsed by the Secretary of Commerce. 

SummaiY: 

This regulation establishes criteria for board certification 
of electrical, plumbing, heating, ventilation, and air­
conditioning tradesmen. This regulatory authority was 
transferred by statute from the Department of Housing 
and Community Development to the Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation as of July 1, 
1995. The current proposed regulation replaces an 
emergency regulation that became effective on that date. 

CHAPTER30. 
TRADESMAN CERT/F/CA TION PROGRAM REGULA T/ONS. 

PART/. 
GENERAL. 

18 VAG 50-30-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Affidavit" means a written statement of facts, made 
voluntarily, and confirmed by the oath or affirmation of the 
party making it, taken before a notary or other person having 
the authority to administer such oath or affirmation. 

"Apprentice" means a person who assists tradesmen while 
gaining knowledge of the trade through on-the-job training 
and related instruction in accordance with the Voluntary 
Apprenticeship Act (§ 40.1-117 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

"Approved" means approved by the Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation. 

"Board" means the Board for Contractors. 

"Building official/inspector" is an employee of the state, a 
local building department or other political subdivision who 
enforces the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code. 

"Certified tradesman" means an individual who meets the 
requirements for certification that relate to the trade which he 
practices. 

"Department" means the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation. 
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"Division" means a limited certification subcategory within 
any of the trades, as approved by the department. 

"Electrical work" consists of, but is not limited to the 
following: (i) planning and layout of details for installation or 
modifications of electrical apparatus and controls including 
preparation of sketches showing location of wiring and 
equipment; (ii) measuring, cutting, bending, threading, 
assembling and installing electrical conduits; (Hi) performing 
maintenance on electrical systems and apparatus; (iv) 
observation of installed systems or apparatus to detect 
hazards and need tor adjustments, relocation or replacement; 
and (v) repairing faulty systems or apparatus. 

"Electrician" means a tradesman who does electrical work 
including the construction, repair, maintenance, alteration or 
removal of electrical systems under the National Electrical 
Code and the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code. 

"Formal vocational training" means courses 1n the trade 
administered at an accredited educational facility; or formal 
training, approved by the department, conducted by trade 
associations, businesses, military, correspondence schools 
or other similar training organizations. 

"Gasfitter" means a tradesman who does gasfitting related 
work in accordance with the Virginia Uniform Statewide 
Building Code. This work includes the installation, repair, 
improvement or removal of gas piping, propane tanks, and 
appliances (excluding hot water systems and central heating 
systems which require an HVAC heating, ventilation, and air 
conditioning or plumbing certification) annexed to real 
property. 

"Helper'' or "laborer'' means a person who assists a 
tradesman certified according to this chapter. 

"HVAC tradesman" means an individual whose work 
includes the installation, alteration, repair or maintenance of 
heating systems, ventilating systems, cooling systems, steam 
and hot water heating systems, boilers, process piping, and 
mechanical refrigeration systems, including tanks, incidental 
to the system. 

"Journeyman" means a person who possesses the 
necessary ability, proficiency and qualification to install, 
repair and maintain specific types of maten'a/s and 
equipment, utilizing a working knowledge sufficient to comply 
with the pert1nent provisions of the Virginia Uniform Statewide 
Building Code and according to plans and specifications. 

"Master" means a person who possesses the necessary 
ability, proficiency and qualifications to plan and lay out the 
details for installation and supervise the work of installing, 
repairing and maintaining specific types of maten'als and 
equipment utilizing a working knowledge sufficient to comply 
with the pertinent provisions of the Virginia Uniform Statewide 
Building Code. 

"Nonparticipating localities" means those cities, towns and 
counties in Virginia that did not participate in the Department 
of Housing and Community Development's Tradesman 
Certification Program prior to July 1, 1995. 

"Participating localities" means those cities, towns and 
counties in Virginia that participated in the Department of 
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Housing and Community Development's Tradesman 
Certification Program prior to July 1, 1995, by reviewing 
applications, examining candidates, and issuing journeyman 
and master cards to qualified tradesmen. 

"Plumber'' means a tradesman who does plumbing work in 
accordance with the Virginia Unifonn Statewide Building 
Code. 

"Plumbing work" means work that includes the installation, 
maintenance, extension, or alteration or removal of piping, 
fixtures, appliances, and appurtenances in connection with 
any of the following: 

1. Backflow prevention devices; 

2. Boilers; 

3. Domestic sprinklers; 

4. Hot water baseboard heating systems; 

5. Water heaters; 

6. Hydropic heating systems; 

7. Process piping; 

8. Public/private water supply systems within or adjacent 
to any building, structure or conveyance; 

9. Sanitary or stonn drainage facilities; 

10. Steam heating systems; 

11. Storage tanks incidental to the installation of related 
systems; or 

12. Venting systems. 

These plumbing tradesmen may also install, maintain, 
extend or alter the following: 

1. Liquid waste systems; 

2. Sewerage systems; 

3. Stann water systems; and 

4. Water supply systems. 

"Reinstatement" means having a tradesman certification 
card restored to effectiveness after the expiration date has 
passed. 

"Regulant" means tradesman certification card holder. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a 
tradesman certification card for another period of time. 

"Supervisor" means the ceriified master or journeyman 
tradesman who has the responsibility to ensure that the final 
installation is in accordance with the applicable provisions of 
the Virginia Unifonn Statewide Building Code. 

"Testing organization" means an independent testing 
organization . whose main function is to develop and 
administer examinations. 

"Trade" means any of the following: plumbing; heating, 
ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC); or electrical work, 
and divisions within them. 

"Tradesman" means a person who engages in or offers to 
engage in, for the general public for compensation, any of the 
trades covered by this chapter. 

PART II. 
ENTRY. 

18 VAC 50-30-20. Requirements for certification as a 
journeyman or master tradesman engaging in the trades of 
plumbing, HVAC (heating, ventilation and air conditioning), 
gas-fitting, or electrical. 

Each tradesman who engages in, or offers to engage in, 
electrical, plumbing, or HVAC work for the general public for 
compensation shall complete an application furnished by the 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation and 
shall meet or exceed the requirements set forth below prior to 
issuance of the certification card. The application shall 
contain the applicant's name, home address, place of 
employment, and business address; infonnation on the 
knowledge, skills, abilities and education or training of the 
applicant; and an affidavit stating that the infonnation on the 
application is correct. 

If the application is satisfactory to the board, the applicant 
shall be required to take an oral or written examination to 
detennine the general knowledge of the trade in which he 
desires certification. If the applicant successfully completes 
the examination, a tradesman certification card shall be 
issued. 

18 VAC 50-30-30. General qualifications for certification. 

Every applicant to the Board for Contractors for certification 
as a tradesman shall meet the requirements and have the 
qualifications provided in this section. 

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old. 

2. Unless otherwise exempted, the applicant shall meet 
the current educational requirements by passing all 
required courses prior to the time the applicant sits for 
the examination and applies for certification. 

3. Unless exempted, the applicant, within 12 months of 
making application for certification, shall have passed a 
written examination provided by the board or by a testing 
service acting on behalf of the board. Complete 
applications must be received within the 12-month 
period. 

4. The applicant shall meet the experience requirements 
as set forth in 18 VAC 50-30-40 and 18 VAC 50-30-50. 

5. In those instances where the applicant is required to 
take the certification examination, the applicant shall 
follow all rules established by the board with regard to 
conduct at the examination. Such rules shalf include any 
written instructions communicated prior to the 
examination date and any instructions communicated at 
the site, either written or oral, on the date of the 
examination. Failure to comply with all rules established 
by the board and the testing service with regard to 
conduct at the examination shall be grounds for denial of 
application. 
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6. The applicant shall disclose his physical home 
address; a post office box alone is not acceptable. 

7. Each nonresident applicant for a tradesman 
certification card shall file and maintain with the 
department an irrevocable consent for the department to 
serve as service agent for all actions filed in any court in 
this Commonwealth; in those instances where service is 
required, the director of the department will mail the court 
document to the individual at the address filed by them 
on their cerlification. 

8. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, an 
affidavit certifying that the applicant has read and 
understands the Virginia Tradesman Certification law (§ 
5. 1-1128 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and the 
regulations of the board. 

9. The board may make further inquiries and 
investigations with respect to the qualifications of the 
applicant or require a personal interview with the 
applicant. Failure of an applicant to comply with a 
wn'tten request from the board for additional evidence or 
information within 60 days of receiving such notice, 
except 1n such instances where the board has 
detennined ineligibility for a clearly specified period of 
time, may be sufficient and just cause for disapproving 
the application. 

10. The applicant shall not have been convicted in any 
jurisdiction of a misdemeanor involving lying, cheating, 
stealing, sexual offense, drug distribution, physical injury, 
or relating to the practice of the profession, or any felony, 
regardless of the adjudication. Any pleas of nolo 
contendere shall be considered a conviction for 
purposes of this paragraph. The record of a conviction 
authenticated in such fonn as to be admissible in 
evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where 
convicted shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of 
such conviction. 

11. The applicant shall be in good standing as a 
tradesman in every jurisdiction where certified; the 
applicant may not have had a certificate or a certification 
card which was suspended, revoked or surrendered in 
connection with a disciplinary action or which has been 
the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction prior to 
applying for certification in Virginia. 

12. Applicants for certification who do not meet the 
requirements set forth in subdivisions 10 and 11 of this 
section may be approved for certification following 
consideration of their application by the board. 

18 VAG 50-30-40. Evidence of ability and proficiency. 

A Applicants for examination to be certified as a 
journeyman shall furnish evidence that one of the following 
experience and education standards has been attained: 

1. Four years of practical experience 1n the trade, and 
240 hours of fonnal vocational training in the trade; 
however, expen'ence in excess of four years may be 
substituted for formal vocational training at a ratio of one 
year of experience for 80 hours of fonna/ training, but not 
to exceed 200 hours; 
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2. A bachelor degree received from an accredited 
college or university in an engineering curriculum related 
to the trade for which certification is desired and one 
year of practical experience in the trade for which 
certification is desired; or 

3. On or after July 1, 1995, an applicant with 10 years of 
practical experience in the trade as verified by a swam 
statement from a local building official attesting to the 
applicant's wonk in the trade, may be granted pennission 
to sit for the journeyman's /eve/ examination without 
having to meet the educational requirements. 

B. Applicants for examination to be certified as a ma.ster 
shall furnish evidence that one of the following experience 
standards has been attained: 

1. Applicants for examination to be certified as a master 
shall furnish evidence that they have one year of 
experience as a cerlified journeyman; or 

2. On or after July 1, 1995, an applicant with 10 years of 
practical experience in the trade, as verified by a swam 
statement from a building official attesting to the 
applicant's wonk in the trade, may be granted pennission 
to sit for the masters /eve/ examination without having to 
meet the educational requirements. 

C. Individuals who have successfully passed the Class A 
contractors trade examination prior to January 1, 1991, 
administered by the Virginia Board for Contractors in a 
certified trade shall be deemed qualified as a master in that 
trade in accordance with this chapter. 

18 VAG 50-30-50. Exemptions from examination. 

A An individual certified or licensed by any one of the 
following agencies shall not be required to fulfill the 
examination requirement: 

1. The Department of Housing and Community 
Development prior to July 1, 1995; or 

2. Any local governing body prior to July 1, 1978. 

B. Other methods of exemption from examination are as 
follows: 

1. Successful completion of an apprenticeship program 
which is approved by the Virginia Apprenticeship Council 
as evidenced by providing a certificate of completion or 
other official document. 

2. Any tradesman who has had a Class B registration in 
the trade prior to January 1, 1991. Candidates for this 
exemption must submit documentation from the Board 
for Contractors or a local building official who can 
provide an affidavit which attests to the candidate's 
perfonnance of the trade or trades prior to January 1, 
1991. 

3. Individuals residing in nonparticipating localities 
applying for masters tradesman certification between 
July 1, 1995, and July 1, 1998, shall be deemed to have 
fulfilled the examination requirement if they are able to 
demonstrate 10 years of discipline-free experience as 
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set forth in this chapter. Those individuals shall provide 
the following information with their application: 

a. An affidavit from a building official attesting to the 
required number of years of experience and 
competency in the trade, on a form provided by the 
department; and 

b. Three reference letters of experience from any of 
the following: building officials, current or former 
employers, contractors, engineers, architects or 
current or past clients, on a form provided by the 
department. 

4. Individuals residing in nonparticipating localities 
applying for journeyman tradesman certification between 
July 1, 1995, and July 1, 1998, shall be deemed to have 
fulfilled the examination requirement if they are able to 
demonstrate six years of discipline-free experience as 
set forth in this chapter. Those individuals shall provide 
the fallowing information with their application: 

a. An affidavit from a building official attesting to the 
required number of years of experience and 
competency in the trade, on a form provided by the 
department; and 

b. Three reference letters of experience from any of 
the following: building officials, current or former 
employers, contractors, engineers, architects or 
current or past clients, on a form provided by the 
department. 

5. Individuals residing in nonparticipating localities 
applying for masters tradesman certification between 
July 1, 1995, and July 1, 1998, who are currently 
employed by a Class A orB contractor as the "Qualified 
Individual" {QI) in the licensed classification held by the 
firm, shall qualify for certification as a master without 
having to sit for the examination. Upon the Ql's leaving 
the employment of that firm, the contractor shall name 
another full-time Ql in accordance with the then current 
Board for Contractor regulations (18 VAG 15-22-10 et 
seq.). 

6. Individuals applying for masters or journeyman 
tradesman certification between July 1, 1995, and July 1, 
1998, who were certified prior to July 1, 1995, by any 
locality as a "gas-fitter" only, shall qualify for certification 
without having to sit for the examination. 

C. Exemptions from certification are as follows: 

1. Helpers or laborers who assist certified tradesmen 
are not required to have journeyman or master 
certification. 

2. Any person who performs plumbing, HVAC, gas­
fitting, or electrical work not for the general public for 
compensation. 

3. Any person who installs television or telephone 
cables, or lightning arrestor systems. 

4. Installers of wood stove equipment, masonry 
chimneys or prefabricated fireplaces shall be exempt 
from certification as a HVAC tradesman. 

18 VAG 50-30-60. Application and issuance of tradesman 
certification cards. 

A. All applicants for certification as a tradesman must 
make application with the department to obtain the required 
tradesman certification card. 

B. Unless otherwise exempted, an applicant must 
successfully complete an examination to be issued a 
tradesman card and deemed certified. 

C. The board shall receive and review applications and 
forward approved applications to the national testing 
organizations designated by the board. At its discretion, the 
board may delegate the application receipt and review 
process to the testing organization. 

D. The applicant shall present to the beard evidence of 
successful completion of a board approved examination. 

18 VAG 50-30-70. Other recognized programs. 

Individuals certified as journeyman or master by governing 
bodies located outside the Commonwealth of Virginia shall be 
considered to be in compliance with this chapter if the board 
or its designee has determined the certifying system to be 
substantially equivalent to the Virginia system. These 
individuals must meet the following requirements: 

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years of age. 

2. The applicant shall have received the tradesman 
certification by virtue of having passed in the jurisdiction 
of original certification a written or oral examination 
deemed to be substantially equivalent to the Virginia 
examination. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, an 
affidavit certifying that the applicant has read and 
understands the Virginia Tradesman Certification laws (§ 
54.1-1127 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and the Board 
for Contractors' Tradesman Certification Program 
Regulations (18 VAG 50-30-10 et seq.). 

4. The applicant shall be in good standing as a certified 
tradesman in every jurisdiction where certified and the 
applicant shall not have had a certificate as a tradesman 
which was suspended, revoked, or surrendered in 
connection with a disciplinary action or which has been 
the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction prior to 
applying for certification in Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall not have been convicted in any 
jurisdiction of a misdemeanor involving lying, cheating, 
stealing, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical 
injury, or any felony. Any plea of nolo contendere shall 
be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
paragraph. The record of a conviction authenticated in 
such form as to be admissible in evidence under the 
laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 
admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction. 

6. Applicants for certification who do not meet the 
requirements set forth in subdivisions 4 and 5 of this 
subsection may be approved for certification following 
consideration by the board. 
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18 VAG 50-30-80. Revocation of certification. 

A. Certification may be revoked for misrepresentation or a 
fraudulent application, or for incompetence as demonstrated 
by an egregious or repeated violation of the Virginia Unifonn 
Statewide Building Code. 

B. Any building official who finds that an individual is 
practicing as a tradesman without a tradesman certification 
as required by state law shall file a report to such effect with 
the Board for Contractors, 3600 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23230. 

C. Any building official who has reason to believe that a 
tradesman is perfonntng incompetently as demonstrated by 
an egregious or repeated violation of the Virginia Unifonn 
Statewide Building Code shall file a report to such effect with 
the board. 

D. The department shall have the power to require 
remedial education and to suspend, revoke or deny renewal 
of the tradesman certification of any individual who is found 
to be in violation of the statutes or regulations governing the 
practice of certified tradesmen in the Commonwealth. 

18 VAG 50-30-90. Fees for certification and examination. 

A. Each check or money order shall be made payable to 
the Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 
nonrefundable and the date of receipt by the board or its 
agent is the date which will be used to detennine whether or 
not it is on time. In the event that a check, money draft or 
similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 
regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 
named, the applicant or regu/ant shall be required to remtt 
fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus the additional 
processing charge of $25. 

B. Tradesman certification - original certificate fee -
certification by examination. The fee for an initial tradesman 
certification card shall be $65. 

C. Tradesman certification - original certificate fee -
without examination, through successful completion of an 
appropriate apprenticeship program offered through the 
Virginia Voluntary Apprenticeship Act. The fee for an initial 
tradesman certification card shall be $65. 

D. Tradesman certification - original certification fee -
through the "grandfather" clause of§ 54.-1-1131 of the Code 
of Virginia. The fee for an initial Tradesman Certification card 
shall be $65. 

E. Commencing July 1, 1995, the Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation will institute a 
program of issuing tradesmen's cards. Those tradesmen 
who hold valid tradesmen cards issued by local governing 
bodies prior to July 1, 1978, or by the Department of Housing 
and Community Development prior to July 1, 1995, must 
replace the old cards with new cards issued by the Board for 
Contractors. 

In order to obtain the tradesman card issued by the Board 
for Contractors, the individual must use the current 
application fonn provided by the Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation. The fee for card exchange 
application and processing is $10. The tenn of the initial 
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certification period shall be detennined by the board. The 
tniYa/ tenn of the license certification will be for a period of at 
least 12 months, but not to exceed 24 months. As a matler of 
administrative necessity, the department will assign 
expiration dates in a manner that will stagger renewals for 
these applicants. Once this initial certification period ends, all 
certification renewals will be for a period of 24 months. 

18 VAG 50-30-100. Fees for examinations. 

The examination fee shall consist of the administration 
expenses of the department resulting from the board's 
examination procedures and contract charges. Exam service 
contracts shall be established through competitive 
negotiation, in compliance with the Virginia Public 
Procurement Act (§ 11-35 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 
The current examination shall not exceed a cost of $100 for 
the journeyman exam and $125 for the master exam for any 
of the trades. 

18 VAG 50-30-110. Fees for duplicate cards. 

The fee for a duplicate card shall be as follows: 

First request $10 

Second request $20 

Third request $40 and a report sent to the 
Enforcement Section. 

Any request for the issuance of such a card must be in 
writing to the board. 

PART Ill. 
RENEWAL AND REINSTATEMENT. 

18 VAG 50-30-120. Renewal. 

A. Tradesman certification cards issued under this chapter 
shall expire two years from the last day of the month in which 
they were issued as indicated on the tradesman certification 
card. 

B. The application fee for renewal of a tradesman 
certification is $50. All fees required by the board are 
nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. 

The board Will mail a renewal notice to the tradesman 
certification card holder outlining procedures for renewal. 
Failure to receive this notice, however, shall not relieve the 
tradesman certification card holder(!{the obligauon to renew. 
If the tradesman certification card holder fails to receive the 
renewal notice, a photocopy of the tradesman certification 
card may be submitled with the required fee as an application 
for renewal within 30 days of the expiration date of the 
tradesman certification card. 

The date on which the renewal fee is received by the 
department or its agent will detennine whether the tradesman 
certification card holder is eligible for renewal or required to 
apply for reinstatement. 

The board may deny renewal of a tradesman certification 
card for the same reasons as it may refuse initial certification 
or discipline a regulant. The regu/ant has a right to appeal 
any such action by the board under . the Virginia 
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Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6. 14:4. 1 et seq. of the Code 
of Virginia). 

Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, reimbursement 
of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order or final order 
shall result in delaying or withholding services provided by 
the department such as, but not limited to, renewal, 
reinstatement, processing of a new application, or exam 
administration. 

18 VAG 50-30-130. Reinstatement. 

A. Should the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation fail to receive a tradesman 
certification card holder's renewal application or fees within 
30 days of the tradesman certification card expiration date, 
the tradesman certification card holder will be required to 
reinstate the tradesman certification card. 

B. The application fee for reinstatement of a tradesman 
certification card (all designations) is $65 (this is in addition to 
the $50 renewal fee which makes the total fee for 
reinstatement $115). All fees required by the board are 
nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. 

Applicants for reinstatement shall meet the requirements of 
18 VAG 50-30-120. 

The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by the 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or 
its agent will detennine whether the tradesman certification 
card is reinstated or a new application for certification is 
required. 

In order to ensure that tradesman certification card holders 
are qualified to practice as tradesmen, no reinstatement will 
be pennitted once one year from the expiration date of the 
tradesman certification card has passed. After that date the 
applicant must apply for a new tradesman certification card 
and meet the then current entry requirements. 

Any tradesman activity conducted subsequent to the 
expiration of the certification card may constitute unlicensed 
activity and may be subject to prosecution under Title 54. 1 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

C. The board may deny reinstatement of a tradesman 
certification card for the same reasons as it may refuse initial 
certification or discipline a tradesman cerlification card 
holder. The tradesman certification card holder has a right to 
appeal any such action by the board under the Virginia 
Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6. 14:4. 1 et seq. of the Code 
of Virginia). 

Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, reimbursement 
of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order or final order 
shall result in delaying or withholding services provided by 
the department, such as, but not limited to, renewal, 
reinstatement, processing of a new application, or exam 
administration. 

18 VAG 50-30-140. Status of tradesman certification card 
holder during the period prior to reinstatement. 

A. When a tradesman certification card is reinstated, the 
tradesman certification card holder shall continue to have the 
same tradesman certification card number and shall be 

assigned an expiration date two years from ·he previous 
expiration date of the tradesman certification care;. 

B. A tradesman certification card holder who reinstates his 
tradesman certification card shall be regarded as having 
been continuously certified without interruption. Therefore, 
the tradesman certification card holder shall remain under the 
disciplinary authority of the board during this entire period 
and may be held accountable for his activities during this 
period. Nothing in these regulations shall divest the board of 
its authority to discipline a tradesman certification card holder 
for a violation of the law or regulations during the period of 
certification. 

PART IV. 
STANDARDS OF PRACTICE. 

18 VAG 50-30-150. Changes, additions, or deletions to trade 
designations of tradesman certificate holders. 

A tradesman certification card holder may change a 
designation or obtain additional designations by 
demonstrating, on a fonn provided by the board, acceptable 
evidence of experience, and examination if appropriate, in 
the designation sought. The experience, and successful 
completion of examinations, must be demonstrated by 
meeting the requirements found in Part II (18 VAG 50-30-20 
et seq.) of this chapter. 

The fee for each change or addition is $25. All fees 
required by the board are nonrefundable. 

While a tradesman may have multiple trade designations 
on his certification card, the renewal date for the tradesman 
card will be based upon the date the card was originally 
issued to the individual by the board, not the date of the most 
recent trade designation addition to the certification card. 

If a tradesman certification card holder is seeking to delete 
a designation, then the individual must provide a signed 
statement listing the designation to be deleted. There is no 
fee for the deletion of a designation. (If the tradesman 
certification card holder only has one trade or level 
designation, the deletion of that designation will result in the 
tennination of the tradesman certification card.) 

18 VAG 50-30-160. Change of address. 

Any change of address shall be reported in writing to the 
board within 30 days of the change. The board shall not be 
responsible for the tradesman certification card holder's 
failure to receive notices or correspondence due to the 
tradesman certification card holder's failure to report a 
change of address. A post office address alone is not 
acceptable. 

18 VAG 50-30-170. Transfer of tradesman certification card 
prohibited. 

No tradesman certification card issued by the board shall 
be assigned or othe!Wise transferred. 
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PARTV. 
STANDARDS OF CONDUCT. 

18 VAG 50-30-180. Filing of complaints. 

All complaints against tradesmen may be filed with the 
Deparlment of Professional and Occupational Regulation at 
any time during business hours, pursuant to § 54. 1-1114 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

18 VAG 50-30-190. Prohibited acts. 

The following are cause for disciplinary action: 

1. Failure in any material way to comply with provisions 
of Chapter 1 or Chapter 11 of Title 54. 1 of the Code of 
Virginia or the regulations of the board; 

2. Furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete 
infonnation to the board in obtaining, renewing, 
reinstating, or maintaining a tradesman certification card; 

3. Where the tradesman has failed to report to the 
board, in writing, the suspension or revocation of a 
tradesman certificate or card by another state or their 
conviction in a court of competent jurisdiction of a 
building code violation; 

4. Gross negligence in the practice of a trade; 

5. Misconduct in the practice of a trade; 

6. A finding of improper or dishonest conduct in the 
practice of the trade by a court of competent jurisdiction; 

7. For certified tradesmen perfonntng jobs under $1,000, 
abandonment, or the intentional and unjustified failure to 
complete work contracted for, or the retention or 
misapplication of funds paid, for which work is either not 
perfonned or perfonned only in part (unjustified 
cessation of work under the contract for a period of 30 
days or more shall be considered evidence of 
abandonment); 

8. Making any misrepresentation or making a false 
promise of a character likely to influence, persuade, or 
induce; 

9. Aiding or abetting an uncerlifiedlunlicensed contractor 
to violate any provision of Chapter 1 or Chapter 11 of 
Title 54. 1 of the Code of Virginia, or these regulations; or 
combining or conspiring with or acting as agent, partner, 
or associate for an unlicensed/uncertified contractor; or 
allowing one's certification to be used by an uncertified 
individual; 

10. Where the tradesman has offered, given or 
promised anything of value or benefit to any federal, 
state, or local government employee for the purpose of 
influencing that employee to circumvent, in the 
perfonnance of his duties, any federal, state, or local law, 
regulation, or ordinance governing the construction 
industry; 

11. Where the tradesman has been convicted or found 
guilty, after initial licensure, regardless of adjudication, in 
any jurisdiction of any felony or of a misdemeanor 
involving lying, cheating or stealing, sexual offense, drug 

Proposed Regulations 

distribution, physical injury, or relating to the practice of 
the profession, there being no appeal pending therefrom 
or the time of appeal having elapsed. Any pleas of guilty 
or nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for 
the purposes of this subdivision. The record of a 
conviction certified or authenticated in such fonn as to be 
admissible in evidence under the Jaws of the jurisdiction 
where convicted sha/J be admissible as prima facie 
evidence of such guilt; 

12. Having failed to infonn the board in writing, within 30 
days, that the tradesman has pleaded guilty or nolo 
contendere or was convicted and found guilty of any 
felony or a misdemeanor involving lying, cheating, 
stealing, sexual offense, drug distribution, physical injury, 
or relating to the practice of the profession; 

13. Having been disciplined by any county, city, town, or 
any state or federal governing body for actions relating to 
the practice of any trade, which action sha/J be reviewed 
by the board before it takes any disciplinary action of its 
own; 

14. Failure to comply with the Virginia Unifonn 
Statewide Building Code, as amended; and 

15. Practicing in a classification or specialty service for 
which the tradesman is not certified. 

PART VI. 
SCHOOLS/PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION. 

18 VAG 50-30-200. Professional education. 

Pursuant to § 54.1-1130 of the Code of Virginia, unless 
certified through exemption, candidates for certification as 
journeymen are required to complete 240 hours classroom 
hours of tradesman educational courses in their specialty and 
four years of practical experience in the trade for which 
cerlification is desired to qualify to sit for the licensing 
examination, or have a bachelor degree received from an 
accredited college or university in an engineering curriculum 
related to the trade for which certification is desired, and one 
year of practical experience in the trade for which certification 
is desired (see Part 1/, 18 VAG 50-30-20 et seq., of this 
chapter). 

Tradesman certification courses must be completed 
through accredited colleges, universities, junior and 
community colleges, adult distributive, marketing and 
vocational technical programs, Virginia Apprenticeship 
Council programs and proprietary schools approved by the 
Virginia Deparlment of [ clucation. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-121; Filed November 6, 1996, 11:59 a.m. 

BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND 
MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS 

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 115-40-10 et seq. Regulations 
Governing the Certification of Rehabilitation Providers 
(amending 18 VAC 115-40-10, 18 VAC 115-40-20, and 18 
VAC 115-40-50; adding 18 VAC 115-40-22, 18 VAC 115-40-
25, 18 VAC 115-40-28, 18 VAC 115-40-35, and 18 VAC 115-
40-38; repealing 18 VAC 115-40-60) . 
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Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date: December 17, 1996- 9 a.m. 
Public comments may be submitted until January 24, 
1997. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Basis: Chapters 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) and 35 (§ 54.1-
3500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia provide the 
basis for these regulations. 

Chapter 24 establishes the general powers and duties of the 
health regulatory boards including the power to assess fees, 
establish qualifications for licensure and the responsibility to 
promulgate regulations. 

Chapter 35 establishes the Board of Professional Counselors 
and Marriage and Family Therapists and authorizes that 
board to administer the certification of rehabilitation 
providers. 

Purpose: The purposes for the amendments to the regulation 
are as follows: 

1. To establish a process in regulation by which 
individuals who meet the board's requirements can 
become certified as rehabilitation providers. 

2. To comply with statutory requirements that the board 
establish qualifications for certification as necessary to 
ensure competence and integrity of certified individuals, 
and to ensure the health, safety and welfare of the 
citizens of the Commonwealth. 

3. To establish an examination requirement ·for 
certification. 

4. To establish criteria for endorsement for applicants 
certified in other states or by nationally recognized 
certifying agencies, boards, associations and 
commissions. 

5. To establish a process for renewal of expired 
certificates. 

6. To establish reasonable fees to cover the expenses 
that the proposed amendments will entail in compliance 
with statutory requirements. 

Substance: The key provisions of each amended regulation 
are summarized as follows: 

1. 18 VAC 115-40-10 includes definitions pertaining to 
proposed language in the regulation. 

2. 18 VAC 115-40-20 establishes penalty fees for late 
renewal and returned checks, and fees for duplicate 
certificates. 

3. 18 VAC 115-40-22 sets forth the prerequisites for 
certification and provides for certification by 
endorse.ment. 

4. 18 VAC 115-40-25 establishes the documentation 
required for application. 

5. 18 VAC 115-40-28 establishes an examination 
requirement. 

6. 18 VAC 115-40-34 sets forth a procedure for 
reinstatement of a certificate that has expired. 

7. 18 VAC 115-40-50 is amended to include unsafe 
practice resulting for physical or emotional illness as 
grounds for disciplinary action, along with some 
formatting changes to existing language. 

8. 18 VAC 115-40-60 is repealed, as the terms for 
reinstatement following disciplinary action are contained 
in the board's consent order. 

Issues: 

A. Definitions. A few of the terms used in the regulation are 
not common usage terms and have specific meanings 
peculiar to the regulation. In order to prevent confusion for 
applicants, definitions of these terms are included in the 
regulation. 

Advantages: The definitions in the proposed regulation 
provide meanings to terms as used in the context of the 
regulation. Definitions are also valuable enforcement tools 
when scope of practice issues arise. 

Disadvantages: Definitions in the proposed regulation 
present no disadvantages to the general public, applicants, 
licensees, the board or the agency. 

B. Fees. Presently, there are no penalty fees for late 
renewals and returned checks, or fees to provide for 
replacement certificates. The board considered fees 
assessed for these incidental items by other boards in the 
agency, and assessed the minimum fees to cover 
administrative costs as determined by the agency's finance 
office. 

Advantages: Penalty fees for late renewals and returned 
checks allow for recovery of administrative costs in 
processing these items, and discourage individuals from 
practicing with a lapsed certificate. Only those individuals 
who renew late or send checks with insufficient funds will be 
affected by these fees. 

Other fees will allow certified individuals to replace lost 
certificates. 

Disadvantages: Individuals who renew late or submit checks 
with insufficient funds will be required to pay a penalty fee. 

C. Education and Experience Requirements. Studies by the 
Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission, the Board of 
Commerce, and the Board of Health Professions determined 
that there is risk of harm to the public from the unregulated 
provis'1on of rehabilitation services, and concluded that 
rehabilitation practice requires specialized education and 
training, and the need to assure the public of initial and 
continuing occupational competence. The 1994 General 
Assembly agreed with these assessments by enacting 
legislation which established mandatory certification for 
individuals providing these services who are not otherwise 
licensed. This legislation included a "grandfathering" 
provision for anyone who was providing rehabilitation 
services on January 1, 1994. 

In response to public 
required certification, 
Rehabilitation Providers 

confusion about which services 
the National Association of 

in the Private Sector lobbied the 
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1995 General Assembly to amend the definition of 
rehabilitation provider in § 54.1-3510 to those individuals 
providing discretionary services requiring the exercise of 
professional judgment to workers compensation claimants. 
The board proposed criteria for certification based on the 
types of rehabilitation services that require professional 
judgment. These criteria were rejected by the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) on the basis that they exceeded 
the mandate of § 65.2-603, which does not restrict the 
requirement for certification to services involving professional 
judgment. The board reconsidered its proposed education 
and experience requirements based on DPB's analysis and 
the services included in the mandate for certification in § 
65.2-603. 

Advantages: The advantage to the public is inherent in the 
action of the General Assembly to mandate certification. 
Studies and public comment leading up to the mandate 
established the need to properly train, educate and regulate 
individuals who provide rehabilitation services to a very 
vulnerable population with special needs. 

The public will also benefit from increased availability of 
services from qualified practitioners once certification is 
established through regulation. Virginia workers' 
compensation claimants who have relocated to other states 
are presently unable to obtain services from certified 
providers as required under § 65.2-603. Within the 
Commonwealth, the availability of services is presently 
limited to those individuals who obtained certification under 
the "grandfathering" provision. More than 600 individuals 
who are on a waiting list to apply for this certification will be 
able to seek employment in the rehabilitation profession once 
a process is in place to allow them to apply or to register 
supervision. 

Government agencies and private businesses that offer 
services to workers' compensation claimants will also benefit 
from the establishment of a certification process. Several 
employers have contacted the agency with concerns that 
they are unable to comply with the mandate that only certified 
individuals can provide vocational rehabilitation services to 
workers' compensation claimants. 

Disadvantages: Certain individuals who wish to obtain this 
certification may not have the minimum education, training or 
experience to become certified. However, the experience is 
not restricted to work with workers' compensation claimants, 
so it is possible for anyone to meet the requirement within 
one year of full-time employment. Those who have the 
requisite education will not have to document any experience. 

There will be no disadvantage to private rehabilitation 
services, as their hiring requirements exceed the 
qualifications required in the proposed regulations. 
Employers are eager to have a larger pool of certified 
providers to select employees from. 

It is not anticipated that the proposed regulations will present 
a disadvantage to public sector service providers, as anyone 
with one year of experience can become certified to provide 
services to workers' compensation claimants. 

There will be no disadvantage to the consuming public. 
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D. Examinations. Presently, there is no examination 
requirement set forth in regulation. Attainment of any 
professional license or certification is generally contingent 
upon passing an examination which tests applied knowledge 
and skills in that profession. The examination is an essential 
tool for evaluating the competency of an individual to practice 
in a profession, and to test understanding of the standards of 
ethics that govern the profession. 

The board considered whether or not an examination should 
be required for certification, and concluded that at a 
minimum, a broad-based examination covering ethical and 
legal issues in rehabilitation should be required. The board 
proposes waiver of the examination requirement for 
individuals who hold certification as rehabilitation providers in 
other states or by nationally recognized agencies, boards, 
associations and commissions. 

Advantages: An examination requirement will help the board 
to ensure that the practitioners under its governance 
understand the ethical and legal issues involved in the 
rehabilitation of injured workers. 

The public will benefit from having certified providers 
available whose knowledge of these issues were assessed 
through examination. 

Certified providers will benefit from the knowledge of laws 
and regulations governing their profession and may avoid 
disciplinary action through this awareness. 

Disadvantages: There will be no disadvantage to individuals 
who were certified under the "grandfathering" provision as 
they will not be required to take the examination. 

Applicants who do not qualify for endorsement will be 
required to pay a fee directly to the examination service to sit 
for the examination. It is expected that the examination fee 
assessed by the chosen vendor will range from $75 to $125. 

Employers in the public and private sector may incur costs if 
they choose to reimburse employees for expenses involved 
in the certification process. 

Reinstatement of a lapsed license. At issue is the 
responsibility of the board under statutory mandate to ensure 
the continued competency of those individuals it grants 
certification to. The board would be failing in this regard if it 
allowed individuals to renew certificates that had lapsed 
indefinitely. The board is proposing a reapplication 
requirement for individuals whose certificates have lapsed 
more than four years. 

Advantages: A reapplication requirement will allow the board 
to ensure that individuals who have not been providing 
rehabilitation services for a length of time are knowledgeable 
of the current laws and regulations governing their practice, 
and have not been disciplined for misconduct under another 
license or certificate. The public will benefit from this 
insurance of the continued competency and integrity of their 
providers. 

Disadvantages: Individuals who allow their certificates to 
lapse more than four years will have to reapply under the 
board's current regulation and take the current examination. 
Persons who have moved out-of-state may be eligible for 
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certification by endorsement ·,r they hold a national 
certification, or a current certificate in another state. 

Estimated Fiscal Impact: 

A. Projected number of persons affected and their cost of 
compliance: It ·,s estimated that 600 individuals will apply for 
certification soon after the effective date of the regulations. 
After the initial certification period, it is estimated that the 
number of applicants will average 100 per year. Those 
applying will pay a $100 application fee to the board, and an 
examination fee of approximately $125 to an outside vendor. 
Fees for duplicate certificates and penalty fees for late 
renewals and returned checks will each affect approximately 
1 0 individuals per year. 

B. Costs to the agency for implementation: Establishment of 
the certification program will result in increased expenditures 
for data processing, contractual services (production and 
mailing of application packages, notices and amended 
regulations), personal services (board credentials reviews 
and hearings, discipline hearings, regulatory review), and 
enforcement with associated administrative proceedings. 

The following updated projected expenditure impact was 
prepared by the Department of Health Professions' Finance 
Office: 

FY97 FY98 FY99 FYOO 

Data Processing 9,000 9,000 9,000 9,000 
Admin & Finance 6,000 6,000 6,000 6,000 
Human Resources 1,000 1,000 1,000 1,000 
Enforcement 13,000 13,500 13,500 13,500 
Admin Proceedings 4,000 4,500 4,500 4,500 
Attorney General 1,500 1,500 1,500 1,500 
Board of Health 1,000 1,000 1,000 1,000 

Professions 
Personal Services 22,000 22,000 22,000 22,000 
Contractual 29,500 29,500 29,500 29,500 

Services 
Supplies 800 800 800 800 
Continuous Charges 1,000 1,000 1,000 1,000 
Equipment 500 500 500 500 

TOTAL 89,300 90,300 90,300 90,300 

All costs to the agency are derived from fees paid by certified 
rehabilitation providers. 

C. Cost to local governments: The impact of these 
regulations on local governments should be negligible. 
Inquiries directed to this agency from managers of local 
community services boards indicate that worker's 
compensation cases are rarely referred to them, and that 
they generally have one l'lcensed or certified individual on 
staff to whom such cases can be delegated. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) 
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13 
(94). Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and types 

of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or 
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the 
impact on the use and value of private property. The analysis 
presented below represents DPB's best estimate of these 
economic effects. 

Summary of the Proposed Regulation. The proposed 
regulation sets forth requirements for the certification of 
rehabilitation providers by the Board of Professional 
Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists. The 
primary amendments contained in the proposed regulation 
are as follows: 

• fees are established for duplicate certificates, late 
renewal, and returned checks; 

• establishes criteria for eligibility; 

·establishes requirements for the application process; 

• establishes requirements for the examination process; 
and 

• details provisions for reinstatement of individuals whose 
certificates have expired. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed regulation is 
anticipated to have two economic effects: 1) it will likely 
enhance the quality of rehabilitation provider services in 
Virginia by guaranteeing that individuals presenting 
themselves to the public as rehabilitation providers have met 
minimum standards of professional education and 
experience; and 2) it will likely increase the entry costs 
associated with becoming a rehabilitation provider in Virginia. 

Quality of Rehabilitation Provider Services. The primary 
benefit of the proposed regulation is that it establishes the 
board as a third party guarantor of the professional 
credentials of rehabilitation providers, thereby reducing the 
uncertainty and risk consumers confront when purchasing 
rehabilitation provider services. It would be cost prohibitive 
for DPB to quantify the exact magnitude of this benefit 
however. 

Increased Entry Costs. The other economic effect of the 
proposed regulation is that it will increase the minimum costs 
associated with entry into the rehabilitation provider 
profession in Virginia. In the wake of the proposed 
requirements, entry costs must at least include the resources 
necessary to obtain: 1) 2,000 hours of relevant training or 
experience, or a degree in an education or health and human 
services field; and 2) a passing score on a board approved 
examination. For a Virginia resident, graduating from a major 
Virginia university in 1995, the tuition expenses associated 
with a baccalaureate degree would have been approximately 
$16,716. 1 DHP estimates that the examination fee, which will 
be paid directly to the examination service, will be 
approximately $125. 

1 This figure is derived by summing the average in-stale tuition reported for 
major Virginia Universities for the four-year period ending in school year 1994-95 
{in constant 1995 dollars: 1991-92, $3,654; 1992-93 $4, 115; 1993-94, $4,467; 
and 1994-95, $4,480) 

Virginia Register of Regulations 

516 



Businesses and Entities Particularly Affected. The proposed 
regulation will particularly affect all rehabilitation providers 
working in Virginia, and those members of the general public 
who make use of their se!Vices. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities are particularly 
affected by the proposed regulation. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 
is not anticipated to have a significant effect on employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed regulation is not anticipated to have a significant 
effect on the use and value of private property. 

Summary of Analysis. The proposed regulation establishes 
minimum standards for individuals presenting themselves as 
rehabilitation providers. These minimum standards are 
expected to: 1) enhance the quality of rehabilitation provider 
services in Virginia by guaranteeing that individuals 
presenting themselves to the public as rehabilitation 
providers have met minimum standards of professional 
education and experience; and 2) increase the cost of entry 
into the rehabilitation provider profession in Virginia. 

Agency's Response to Department of Planning and Budget's 
Economic Impact Analysis: The agency concurs with the 
report of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Amendments to the regulations governing the 
certification of rehabilitation providers are proposed by 
the Board of Professional Counselors and Marriage and 
Family Therapists to comply with statutory requirements 
to establish qualifications for certification and fees to 
cover administrative expenses, and to establish 
requirements and processes for application, 
endorsement, renewal and reinstatement of expired 
certificates. 

PART I. 
GENERAL PROVISIONS. 

18 VAC 115-40-10. Definitions. 

A. The terms "board," "rehabilitation provider," and 
"rehabilitation services," when used in this chapter, shall have 
the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

B. The following words and terms, when used in this 
chapter, shall have the following meanings unless the context 
indicates otherwise: 

"Bea,'fi" A'1eaes tRe Beard ef Prefessieeal Ce"Rselers aed 
Marriage aed l'aRRily Thera~ists as established by Cha~ter ~§ 
(§ §4.1 ~§QQ et se~.) efTitle §4.1 efthe Cede efVirgieia. 

"Competency area" means an area in which a person 
possesses knowledge and skills and the ability to apply them 
in the rehabilitation setting. 

"Health care practitioner'' means any individual certified or 
licensed by any of the health regulatory boards within the 
Department of Health Professions, except individuals 
regulated by the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers 
or the Board of Veterinary Medicine. 
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"Regionally accredited" means an institution accredited by 
one of the regional accreditation agencies recognized by the 
United States Secretary of Education as responsible for 
accrediting senior post secondary institutions and training 
programs. 

"Rehabilitation client" or "client" means an individual 
receiving rehabilitation services whose benefits are regulated 
by the Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission. 

18 VAC 115-40-20. Fees required by the board. 

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 
to the certification of rehabilitation providers: 

Application processing $100 

Certification renewal $50 

Duplicate certificate $15 

Late renewal $50 

Returned check $15 

B. Fees shall be made by check or money order payable 
to the Treasurer of Virginia and forwarded to the board ef 
Prefessieeal Ce"eselers aRd Marriage aed l'affiily 
Thera~ists. All fees are nonrefundable. 

Examination fees shall be made payable to the examination 
service and mailed directly to the examination service. 

PART II. 
RaiEVVAl AND REINSTATEMENT. 

REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFICATION. 

18 VAC 115-40-22. Criteria for eligibility. 

A. Education or experience requirements for certification 
are as follows: 

1. Graduation from a regionally accredited college or 
university with a degree in an education, health or 
human services field; or 

2. Documentation of 2,000 hours of training or 
experience in performing those services that will be 
offered to a workers' compensation claimant under § 
65.2-603 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. A passing score on a board-approved examination shall 
be required. 

C. The board may grant certification without examination 
to applicants certified as rehabilitation providers in other 
states or by nationally recognized certifying agencies, 
boards, associations and commissions by standards 
substantially equivalent to those set forth in the board's 
current regulation. 

18 VAC 115-40-25. Application process. 

The applicant shall submit to the executive director of the 
board, at least 90 days prior to the date of the written 
examination: 

1. A completed application form; 

2. Documentation of one of the following: 
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a. Official transcript or transcripts in the original 
sealed envelope submitted from the appropriate 
institutions of higher education directly to the 
applicant, 

b. Employment verification form or forms signed by 
the employer or his authorized representative or by a 
licensed health care practitioner who has direct 
knowledge of the applicant's work in provision of 
rehabilitation seNices, or 

c. Certificates or official documentation of training in 
the area in which services will be provided to workers' 
compensation claimants; and 

3. Documentation of the applicant's national or out-of­
state license or certificate in good standing where 
applicable. 

PART Ill. 
EXAM INA T/ONS. 

18 VAC 115-40-28. General examination requirements. 

A. Every applicant for certification as a rehabilitation 
provider shall take a written examination approved by the 
board and achieve a passing score as determined by the 
board. 

B. The written examination will be given at least once each 
year. The board may schedule such additional examinations 
as it deems necessary. 

PART IV. 
RENEWAL AND REINSTATEMENT. 

18 VAC 115-40-35. Reinstatement. 

A. A person whose cerlificate has expired may renew it 
within four years after its expiration date by paying the 
renewal fee and the penalty fee prescribed in 18 VAG 115-
40-20. 

B. A person who fails to renew a certificate for four years 
or more shall reapply according to the requirements of the 
regulations in effect at that time. 

18 VAC 115-40-38. Change of address. 

A certified rehabilitation provider whose mailing address 
has changed shall submit the new address in writing to the 
board within 30 days of such change. 

PART +lh V. 
STANDARDS OF PRACTICE; DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS; 

REINSTATEMENT. 

18 VAC 115-40-50. Grounds for revocation, suspension, 
probation, reprimand, censure, denial of renewal of 
certificate; petition for rehearing. 

Action by the board to revoke, suspend, decline to issue a 
certificate, place such a certificate on probation or censure, 
reprimand or fine a certified rehabilitation provider may be 
taken in accord with the following: 

1. 'liela\ien of \he stam!ar<ls of ~FaGiiee in 1 g VAG 11 a 
4G-4(), 

2o 1. Procuring of sertifisation a license, certificate or 
registration by fraud or misrepresentation. 

;>, 2. Violation of or aid to another in violating any 
provision of Title 64.1 ef tee Geae of VicgiRia any statute 
applicable to the provision of rehabilitation services, or 
any part or portion of this chapter. 

4-:- 3. The denial, revocation, suspension or restriction of 
a license or certificate to practice in another state, or a 
United States possession or territory or the surrender of 
any such license or certificate while an active 
administrative investigation is pending. 

&.- 4. Conviction of a felony or misdemeanor involving 
moral turpitude. 

5. Providing rehabilitation services without reasonable 
skill and safety to clients by virtue of physical or 
emotional illness or substance abuse. 

18 VAC 115-40-60. Reinstatement fellewiRg <lissi~liRary 
aGtiefh (Repealed.) 

IR oraer te ~e eligi~le foF minstatement, aRy ~erson wF1ese 
serti~sate eas been s"s~enaea, Fe'lel<ea er deniea by the 
boaFO "naeFtee ~FovisieAs of 1 B VAG 11a 4Q §Q seall, at the 
conslblsien of tRe term ef st:~spension or two years 
s"bse~"eRt te aenial or revesatieR of sertifisatien, (i) ""emit a 
new a~~lieation to the ~oara, (ii) ~ay tee a~~FO~Fiate 
reinstatement fee, aRa (iii) s"bmit aRy ether sceaentials as 
~ressribea by tee eeara. Alter a hearing, IRe beara may, at 
its <liseretieA grant tF1e reinstatement if tee ~rovi<ffif 
aemeRslrates teat he is able te res"me ~ro•1iaing serviees in 
a manner wi1isi1 aoes Aet enaanger toe ~"~lis. 
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COJIJJO:\'JVEALTH OF VIRG[;\'!A 

BOARD Of PROFESSIO:'<AL COC::'<SELORS 
_..1,._,"<D 

i\oiARRlAGE A:"'D FA:'I-liL Y THERAPISTS 

Department of Health Professions 
6606 West Broad Street, -lth Floor 
Richmond, Virginia 23230-1717 

(80-1) 662-9912 

APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION AS A 
REHABILITATION PROVIDER 

1 hereby make ::lpplic.:llion for cenir1C:J.tion to practice as a Rehabilitation Provider in1.he 
Commonwealth of Virginia. The following evidence of my qualifications is submitted with a check 
or money order in IDe amount of S I OO.DO made p:r:,-able to IDe T re:JSurer of Virginia. The 
~ic:nion fee is non-refund:lble. 

!NSTR.t;CTIONS PLEASE TY1'E OR PRI:'<T CSE SLACK li'iK 

\. Applicants must compte:e all S<Oettons. 
2. Completed application should be :mtled to :h~ abo,•e :lddress. 
3. Application and supponing docume:Jts mull be rece!Verl no less th;:n 90 days pnor to the da:e of the wrir.en e.t:.minarion. 

L GE:'-IERAL !:-iFOR:\1.->. TIO:"< 

Narn• (L:l.St; Fir:st. M.l., Suffix. :'Ylaid:n ~:.mel 

I 
Social Se<:umy Number Oat~ of Birth 

1 Mailing Address (Street ~nd.ior Box ~~mber. City, St:ue, ZIP Code) Home T:le~hone ~umber 

BU5iness .'iame O!ld Address Iii diffec:nt li"orr. abo,e: Business Te:eohone :-;-umber 

II. EDt.: C.-\ T!ON 

State the narm:. illld location of:he coiie"e or unJverstr,- where a degree in ~ntducanon. holth ~~human services ~-Leld has been 
gr:ml'd. Applicants must l<>bmtt o{fic:ai trans~nptS 1n se:>led. stgned ennlopes wtth this ~ppltc:>tion. 

CJliC~lltr~tton Recetved C~n:·erred 
Educational lnstirution ~laJor :md or I Oegr~ Da'e De'P"= 

I i 
HI. TRAI:"<L'iG 

Include copt~s elf cemticatcs·dmiorr:as for ~n:. tramtn~ ~ott ~ave recetved m the ~reas in "htc~ ~.-uu tmen~ to prch '-.ie ;~r-1c~s :o 
!I wmi;~,s compcnsauon ciJtmnms 

Ill. EXPEIU£:-.'C£ 

;:a~m :~~~~~~:~~·l~~:~~; tf~~;:,~,~~~~; InOd':,';~~~~~~~;'~o;~~~:'~~.'~ 1~ ',"uJ~~~~e~~~~!~::~~~t'~;~o':P~"'"•~; , ,~n.l><>r~ ~era;; :~~ 

II " 

LJCENSURE./CERTlF!CA TION- Lisr all th~ stotel.in whic~ you now hold"''" have ever held iUI occupational lic~ns~ or 
certificnte to prov1de rehab1litanon services 10 order or an?-tnme~t. Subm11 Fo'""" .'\..:; if your hc"'>S<: or cemficote w05 nor 
issued by one of1he Boards m the Vir~inia Department ot He~lth Profoss•ons.. 

STATE L!CE~SE.'CERTIFICA It ;-.;c,vtot::<.. I ·-~· ·~ 
'"~ut:DATE 

I 
V. A;"o/SWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIOJ\"S: 

Have ~ou ever been denied the privilege of taking an ocrupationallicensure 
or certification examination? lfyes. smte what type of occu~ational e~amination 
and where: 

HL!ve ;-uu eVer had ""Y disciplinary aaion taken against a.n ocrupa.'_ionallicense. 
regiStration ~~ certifkation to pracnce or are ""Y such aruons penomg? 
If yes, explam m detail (US~ extra paper if necessary): 

3. Have you ever been convicted of a violation of or pled nolo mntendere ro a.~y 
federal. state, or local ~t~rute. regulation or ordinO!lce or eme~ inm any plea 
bargaining re.l:>ting to a felony or misdem=or! (Excluding traffic violanons, 
except for dnvtng und.o:r the mtluence.) If yes_ explatn m Jetatl: 

4. Have yoll ever been terminated or asked to withdr:>.w from "llY health care 
facility, ogency. or pr.~c:tc~? If yes. plc35e explain. 

TYPE OF UC2;SE.CERTrFICA E 

m NO 

[I [I 

[I [I 

[I [I 

[I [I 

The tOllowmg Sl'ltement mu~r b<: executd b; a ;o..·otary Public.. Th1~ rimn _is nN •a lid =t.es.~ properly not~nzd . 

.... ffiDAVTT 
(To be comploted before a n013ry pulrto"'=) 

State otf_" _:: _ _:_ __ .:_ ___________ _ C~uoty.Ci.;yof'-----------

N:>me . b<:m;> dul;o· <wom. sa;.s lint he:sfle "theomon "ho :s 
refer:-ed to m thetore'-l;Otn~ ~oplicauon t'or c~ntticanon to oracuco 35 a re~~bLltmton ;!T"'v1der m the Comrr.cn"eaith oi v:r~~"'"' :~"' 
the statementS herem Com:im"ed are <ruem ev<ry respect. that~· she has compl•e~ with '"I rqu;reme~ts o(:ne l.1w; and thai he :>he~::.., 
rc:~d .1nd understands this at:ldaviL 

St~arure at· Appilc.lnt 

Subs,nbed !O;and s"om to ~efore m~ thtl Ja~. ol . 1~'----

il :--ty commLSSton exptres on _____________ _ 

SE.-\L S•gnarure of No!ary Publtc 

""0 
0 

"'0 
0 en 
CD 
c.. 
::0 
CD 

<0 
c 
Dl = 0 
::J 
en 
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VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE AND STATE 
UNIVERSITY 

EDITOR'S NOTICE: The following regulations filed by 
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University are exempt 
from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 9-
6.14:4.1 A 6 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts 
educational institutions operated by the Commonwealth. 

Title of Regulation: 8 VAG 105-10-10 et seq. Traffic and 
Parking Regulations (amending 8 VAG 105-10-10, 8 VAG 
105-10-20, 8 VAG 105-10-40 through 8 VAG 105-10·70, 8 
VAG 105-10-85, 8 VAG 105-10-90, 8 VAG 105-10-110 
through 8 VAG 105-10-130, 8 VAG 105-10-145 through 8 
VAG 105-10-180, 8 VAG 105-10-190, 8 VAG 105-10-200, 8 
VAG 105-1 0-210, 8 VAG 105-10-230, 8 VAG 105-10-240, 8 
VAG 105-10-260, 8 VAG 105-10-280, 8 VAG 105-10-290, 8 
VAG 105-10-310, 8 VAG 105-10-320, 8 VAG 105-10-330, 8 
VAG 1 05-10-370, 8 VAG 105-10-390 through 8 VAG 1 05-1 0· 
430, 8 VAG 105-10-450, 8 VAG 105-10-490, 8 VAG 105-10-
520; adding 8 VAG 105-10-325 and 8 VAG 105-10-345; 
repealing 8 VAG 105-10-560 through 8 VAG 105-10-600). 

Statutorv Authority: § 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Summary: 

These regulations are established to promote safety and 
control student, employee and visitor vehicle registration, 
parking and operation on the campus of Virginia 
Polytechnic Institute and State University. 

8 VAG 105-10-10. Students, faculty, staff, visitors. 

A. The mission of the Parking Services Office is to provide 
safe, and convenient, amJ sest:Jre parking areas and to 
facilitate travel to, from, and within the campus for members 
of the university community and guests. 

B. The university president has appointed an advisory 
committee so that memeers of individuals in the university 
community can comment on parking and transportation 
problems and make suggestions as to their solution. The 
Parking and Transportation Advisory Board makes 
recommendations on general policies relating to traffic and 
parking matters on campus. Students, faculty members, and 
staff members are represented on this committee. 

8 VAG 105-10-20. General information. 

A. Traffic and parking regulations, as published by the 
university and in the Virginia Register of Regulations, will be 
administered by the Parking Services Office and the 
University Police Department. These regulations, pursuant to 
authority granted by Virginia state statute to the board of 
visitors, are enforceable as laws of the Commonwealth. 

B. Regulations are needed to aid in safety and orderly 
conduct of university business, as well as to provide parking 
facilities within the limits of available space. Students are to 
obey these regulations as a condition of attendance and 
faculty and staff members are to obey them as a condition of 
employment. 
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C. Changes in these regulations and notices about parking 
regulations for special events are official when published in 
the Spectrum and Collegiate Times and when listed on the 
university's administrative display system on the mainframe 
computer (PROFS or CMS information screens). 

D. If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions, 
please call the Parking Services Office at (540) 231-3200 or 
visit the Visitor Information Center on Southgate Drive. 

E. The university shall have no responsibility for loss or 
damage to any vehicle, or its contents, operated or parked on 
the Virginia Tech campus. 

8 VAG 105-10-40. Who must register. 

A. All vehicles, motorcycles, and motor scooters on 
campus requiring state license plates are required to be 
registered with the Parking Services Office. Vehicles 
operated by the faculty, staff, and students in connection with 
their employment or attendance at Virginia Tech are required 
to display a parking permit before parking on campus or on 
specified university-leased property. For more infonnation 
call Parking Services at (540) 231-3200. 

B. Visitors, vendors, contractors, and university employees 
who are employed at university remote sites (greater than 25 
miles from the main campus) and visiting the university on a 
short-term basis (30-day maximum) should register for a 
complimentary visitor permit. 

C. Vehicle registration is valid until the registrant is no 
longer affiliated with the university as a student, faculty, or 
staff member, or until the permit expires. All parking permits 
are the property of the university and must be surrendered to 
Parking Services when university affiliation either changes or 
ceases. 

8 VAG 105-10-50. How to register. 

A. General. 

1. An individual may register more than one vehicle since 
the eliR§Iag hangtag style permit can be moved from one 
vehicle to another. Individuals having two vehicles 
parked on campus at the same time must have each 
vehicle registered and displaying a permit. 

2. A vehicle can be registered to only one person. Only 
one permit type per vehicle is allowed. Sharing of 
permits and other unauthorized use may result in a $100 
fine. If a vehicle is shared by two persons needing 
different permit types, the Parking Services Office needs 
to be notified before the vehicle can be registered. 

B. Student registration. 

1. Bring your vehicle information from the Department of 
Motor Vehicles and Virginia Tech ID to the Visitor 
Information Center on Southgate Drive to purchase a 
parking permit. The vehicle must be owned by the 
student or an immediate family member. 

2. Vehicles are to be registered no later than the end of 
the first week of the semester. Students must be parked 
in designated student areas at all times. This applies 
wAell whenever the university is open for business, 
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including when classes are not in session and during 
semester breaks. 

C. Faculty/staff registration. 

1. §<lployees m~st she·..,. Faculty and salaried 
employees are required to submit a Faculty/Staff ID card 
obtained from the Hokie Passport Office to purchase a 
permit. Wage employees ~ are required to 
submit an ID card obtained from the Personnel Office at 
Southgate Center to purchase a permit. 

2. Ve~isles are te be registerea ee later than the 
expiration sate ef l~e permit. Employees must register 
their vehicle(s) before parking on campus. Employees 
reregistering their vehicle(s) must do so no later than the 
expiration date on the previous year's permit. 

3. Full-time salaried employees are eligible to purchase 
a lull-year faculty/staff permit through payroll deduction. 
Wage employees are not eligible for payroll deduction at 
this time. 

8 VAG 105-10-60. How to display. 

A. The registration procedure is not complete until the 
permit is properly displayed on the vehicle (e.g., insiee the 
vohis!El on lower fu~;~r inshes ef bacl< window, EJriver's siEJe on 
the rearview mirror facing the windshield). The permit must 
be displayed so that it is readable through the window by 
enforcement officers. 

B. Motorcycle permits are to be displayed on the front fork. 

C. Bumper stickers are also available for vehicles that 
cannot be locked where the permit cannot be secured inside 
(e.g., convertibles and soft-tops such as Jeep CJ, SuZuki 
Samurai, etc.) and are to be affixed to the driver's side rear 
bumper. 

Gc D. A vehicle displaying two different types of permits 
(e.g., displaying a faculty/staff permit and a commuter 
student permit at the same time) may be sited receive a $100 
unauthorized use fine. 

3 VAC 105-10-70. New vehicles. 

Original permits (other than bumper style) can be 
transferred to a new vehicle if by notifying Parking Services is 
RB!ifiW of the new vehicle information. If the permit is 
bumper style, the original permit must be returned to the 
Parking Services Office to receive a free replacement permit 
for the new vehicle. 

8 VAC 105-10-85. Return check policy. 

II a check for a parking permit is returned for insufficient 
funds, the parking permit will be considered null and void. 
Parking citations will be written each time Yffi1f the vehicle is 
parked on campus. Parking Services roserwd reserves tho 
right to tow the vehicle when three or more unpaid citations 
have accumulated. The Office of the University Bursar will 
assess a return check fee on each returned check. 

8 VAG 105-10-90. Refunds policy. 

As a general rule, refunds for parking permits and citations 
are not granted. UnGer speoial circumstances however, 

PBrl<iftg--SefViees may u.se-l!s-Eiissretion in wanting certain 
refunes. 

To be considered for a refund, the permit or permits must 
be returned and a refund application form must be 
completed. Applications for a full refund must be submitted 
within five working days of the permit purchase date or by the 
end of the first week of fall semester classes. 

Applications for semester refunds must be submitted by 
the end of the first week of classes of the semester. 

8 VAC 105-10-110. Resident (on campus). 

The resident (on campus) permit allows parking only on the 
right side of the Resident /-Lot (fenced lot at west end of 
Washington Street), the west end of~ the Stadium 0-
Lot, (between Lane Stadium and Southgate Drive), and the 
overflow lot beyond the golf course. Parking is not permitted 
in Lot D (Staaium Lot) the Stadium D-Lot from 11 p.m. the 
night before any home football game until the game has 
eru:lee started as noted in 8 VAC 105-10-390. 

8 VAC 105-10-120. Commuter (off earn pus). 

A. The commuter (off campus) permit allows parking in the 
Commuter bel section of B-Lot (between Perry Street and 
Prices Fork Road); the left side of the Resident /-Lot (nearest 
the Vet-Med School on Duel< PanEl Drive at the west end of 
Washington Street); the commuter section of !1\e C-Lot 
(Wallace/Litton Reeves) bel; and the overflow lot beyond the 
golf course at toe ene of the D~ck PanEl. , and the Caldwell 
House Lot (off Tumor Street). Commuter permit holders may 
also park in designated portions of the Coliseum Parking Lot 
and along Stadium Road (in marked parking spaces), except 
at s~eciliG times as noted in 8 VAC 1 05-1 0-390. 

B. Parking in commuter lots is prohibited from 2 a.m. to 6 
a.m. unless prior arrangements have been made with the 
Parking Services Office (7:30a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through 
Friday) or the University Police Department all other times. 
Students cannot use campus parking as residence or 
nonuniversity business parking or both. 

8 VAC 105-10-125. Graduate. 

A. The graduate permit allows parking in all areas listed 
above in the commuter section. In addition to this, graduate 
students who qualify for a Teaching Assistant (TA) permit 
(see the Graduate School at 202 Sandy Hall for details) are 
allowed to park in theTA spaces designated by signs in the 
B-lot and the lot between Wallasellitton Reaves ana "lillcrest 
C-Lot. 

B. Students please note: If student status changes to 
faculty/staff status before the expiration date on the permit, 
the student permit must be exchanged for a faculty/staff 
permit within five working days. Students with wage jobs at 
Virginia Tech over the summer are not eligible to purchase a 
faculty/staff permit. 

8 VAC 105-10-130. Faculty/staff permit. 

A. The faculty/staff permit allows parking in any legal 
parking area on campus not restricted by signs (e.g., visilefs 
visitor spaces, service vehicles vehicle areas, admission's 
areas, the right side of the Donaldson Brown Hotel (DBH) 
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Lot, G€b-; teaching assistants assistant spaces, etc.). New 
employees, see 8 VAG 105-10-150. 

B. Faculty/staff permits are issued to salaried (full or part­
time) and wage employees of the university. Graduate 
teaching assistants, graduate research assistants, and part­
time salaried or wage employees who are students (taking 
more than six hours during fall or spring semesters) are not 
authorized to purchase a faculty/staff permit. Students 
enrolled in summer classes or returning fall semester with 
wage jobs at Virginia Tech over the summer are not eligible 
to purchase a faculty/staff permit. 

C. If faculty/staff status changes to student status before 
the expiration date on the permit, the faculty/staff permit must 
be exchanged for a student permit within five working days. 
Failure to do so will result in a $100 unauthorized-use fine. 

D. Parking in faculty/staff lots is prohibited from 2 a.m. to 6 
a.m. unless prior arrangements have been made with the 
Parking Services Office (7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through 
Fn'day) or the University Police Deparlment all other times. 
Faculty, staff, and students cannot use campus parking as 
residence or nonuniversity business parking or both. 

E. Employees with 30 years of service are eligible for a 
free faculty/staff permit. Contact the Personnel Services 
Office for details. 

8 VAC 105-10-145. Clingtag Hangtag permits. 

Clin§tB§ hangtag permits are available for the majority of 
vehicles on campus and can be purchased for the full year or 
the semester. 

8 VAC 105-10-147. Bumper permits. 

Bumper permits are available for motorcycles and vehicles 
that sannet se leskee where the permit cannot be secured 
inside (e.g., converlib/es and soft-tops such as Jeep CJ, 
Suzuki, Samurai, etc.). These permits can be purchased for 
the full year or the semester. Only one complimentary permit 
will be given out with the purchase of a regular permit at-tile 
FS§I:llar price. 

8 VAC 105-10-150. New employee (temporary) parking 
permits. 

A. All first-time new WB§8 employees of the university can 
receive a temporary parking permit. The new employee 
temporary permit will be valid for not more than 30 calendar 
days, beginning with the first day of paid employment. 

B. The new employee must bring an employment validation 
form from the hiring department to the Parking Services 
Office. 

C. It is recommended that this process be completed the 
first day of employment. Unauthorized use of these permits 
carries a $100 fine to the person displaying such a permit. 

D. Full-time Virginia Tech students (taking more than six 
hours during fall or spring semesters) who are employed by 
the university are not eligible for teFAferary em~leyment 
~erfflits. a new employee permit. Students enrolled in 
summer classes or returning fall semester with wage jobs at 
Virginia Tech over the summer are not eligible for new 
employee permits. 
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E. Vit=§inia ToeA st~c~EieRts taking classes are net eligi9,1e for 
teffl~erary effl~leyfflent ~ermils. 

8 VAC 105-10-160. Visitor permits. 

A. Visitors (nonstudents or nonfaculty/staff) may park in 
any faculty, staff, visitor, or student parking space if they have 
a valid visitor parking permit and if space is not restricted by 
signs. Some areas restricted by signs include the Owens 
and Dietrick Dining Hall Lots, service vehicle areas, 
admissions areas, the right side (as you enter the lot) of the 
Donaldson Brown Lot, and teaching assistant spaces. Visitor 
parking permits are available through the Visitor Information 
Center en off Southgate Drive (7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday 
through Friday) or at the University Police Department in the 
Maintenance Complex on Southgate Drive all other times. 
Visitor permits must be signed and dated by an authorized 
parking services or police official and displayed 7 a.m. to 5 
p.m., Monday through Friday, unless otherwise signed. 

B. University employees who are employed at university 
remote sites (greater than 25 miles from the main campus) 
and are visiting the university on a short-term basis (30-day 
maximum) may register for a visitor permit. 

C. Metered parking spaces are also available for short­
term visitors on campus. Visitors with parking permits may 
not park free at parking meters. 

D. Visitors may a/so park in the faculty/staff section (as 
you enter the lot, left side) of the Donaldson Brown Hotel and 
Conference Center (DBH) i"afkiA§ Lot at the corner of 
College Avenue and Otey Street across from the DBH witlHl 
'laliEI visiter ~ermit. DBH guests may park on the right side of 
the lot (as you enter the lot) and must display a special 
parktng permit issued by the Donaldson Brown Hotel. 

8 VAC 105-10-170. Vendors and contractors. 

A. Vendors, contractors, and others who visit the campus 
frequently can apply for a long-term •Jisiters ~ass permit if 
they present a letter from their company ef, supervisor or 
organization. These letters should include the name, social 
security number, and license plate number of each person 
who needs a J>B&S permit, as well as a contact person and 
contact phone number. 

B. Students are not eligible for vendor ef, contractor, or 
long-term visitor permits. Students must park in designated 
student areas 7 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. 

C. These permits are only valid when used by visitors 
(nonstudent or nonfacultylstaff). If the holder of the permit 
becomes a Virginia Tech employee or student, then the 
permit must be returned to Parking Services at the time of the 
status change. 

8 VAC 105-10-180. Turf permits. 

Turf permits are available for lneiviEI~als neeEiin§ te fark 
state vehicles or contractor vehicles requiring temporary 
parking on the grass. This permit does not allow parking on 
sidewalks. These fSrmits are iss"ee sy the ParkiRg Services 
Gffi-. 
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8 VAC 105"10-190. Special assistance. 

Netei If an individual requires special assistance, the 
j:>af-kffi§-fllaMjje< Parking Se!Vices Manager should be 
notified at (540) 231 ·3200 for special arrangements. 

8 VAC 105-10-200. Handicap parking. 

A. Handicap parking spaces on campus are exclusively for 
those persons displaying state-authorized DMV handicap 
license plates or permits. These permits are available to any 
individual who has a disability of six weeks or longer duration. 
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles office nearest 
Virginia Tech is located at Route 114 (Peppers Ferry Road) 
and Walters Drive in Christiansburg (telephone (540) 382~ 
5000). Only state DMV handicap permits allow parking in 
handicap spaces. State DMV handicap permits also allow 
free parking at metered spaces. 

B. Faculty members, staff members, and students with 
handicap passes or plates are required to obtain a Virginia 
Tech parking permit to park on campus. 

C. Unauthorized vehicles parked in handicap spaces will 
be ticketed and towed at the owner's expense. See Paf!-)(1 8 
VAG 105··10-450 on towing for details on recovering a car. 

D. Handicapped individuals may also use the Blacksburg 
Transit Para-Transit system, which has lift~equipped vehicles 
for on~ and off·campus transportation needs. Call (540) 961· 
1803 for more information. 

8 VAC 105-10-210. Temporary medical disability permits 
(TMD). 

A. A Virginia Tech temporary medical disability permit 
(TMD) is available for students having mobility impairments 
lasting six weeks or less. If the disability qualifies for a 
handicap permit, it should be obtained from the Virginia 
Department of Motor Vehicles. Besause ef Virginia state 
laws, prohibit the use of TMD permits aFe Aal •Jali<l at 
handicap spaces at any time. 

B. TMD permits allow students to park in faculty/staff area, 
and are valid only with a Virginia Tech commuter, graduate or 
resident parking permit. Persons w·rth TMD passes may park 
in metered spaces as long as the meter is kept current with 
the proper amount of coins. 

C. A temporary medical disability permit can be obtained at 
the office of Parking Services by presenting a request slip 
from the Student Health Services or a doctor's statement. 
This documentation must include how long the disability 
requires special parking. 

D. Unauthorized use of a TMD permit carries a $100 fine to 
the person displaying such a permit. 

8 VAC 105··10-230. Loading/unloading. 

A. Long~term parking is prohibited at loading docks and 
other areas used for loading. Thirty minutes is the maximum 
time allowed. for loading and unloading. A current Virginia 
Tech parking permit and prior authorization are required from 
7 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays to use this service. Authorization 
can be obtained by calling Parking Services 7:30 a.m. to 5 
p.m. Monday through Friday, or the University Police 
Depariment all other times. Please have available your 

license plate number and permit number. After the vehicle 
has been loaded or unloaded, it should be moved to a legal 
parking space. Vehicles in violation of this policy will be 
ticketed or towed at the owner's expense or both. The policy 
is enforced 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 

B. To leas vehisles for the weel<end, only Resident permit 
holders may park in most faculty/staff areas near residence 
halls after 2:30p.m. on Fridays. You are aiiGWe<l A maximum 
of 30 minutes is allowed and a call to the Parking Services 
Office is not necessary. However, Owens and Dietrick Dining 
Hall lots are reserved exclusively for faculty and staff parking 
6 a.m. to 4 p.m., seven days a week. 

8 VAG 105·10-240. Disabled vehicles. 

A. The Parking Services Office and the University Police 
Department should be notified immediately if an automobile 
is disabled. Emergency fiashers or signs on the windshield 
indicating the vehicle is disabled are not sufficient. Any 
disabled vehicle in a roadway, blocking traffrc, creating a 
hazard, or illegally parked in a handicap space will be towed 
immediately at the owner's expense. If the disabled vehicle 
is parked in a legal parking space, a eisa91e9 vehiele it is to 
be removed within 24 hours. 

B. The parking lots are not designed or intended for 
automobile repairs. If repairs become necessary, permission 
must be secured from the Parking Services Office or the 
University Police Department. Permission will be granted 
only for minor repairs and never for more than 24 hours. 

8 VAG 105-10-260. Residence hall move-in/move-out. 

A. Special parking arrangements are in effect for these 
periods. One hour is the maximum time allowed for move­
in/move~out. Unless otherwise directed, there will be no 
parking on the grass or on sidewalks. Call the Parking 
SeiVices Office for more information. 

B. Faculty/staff areas affected by move-in and move~out 
are Washington Street, Kent Street, Owens Dining Hall Lot, 
Shultz Dining Hall Lot, and the south side of the Drillfield 
(War Memorial Gym area). Faculty/staff are asked to find 
alternative parking in C~Lot (Wallace/Litton Reaves), Stanger 
Lot, B-Lot (behind Whittemore and Derring) and the gravel 
overflow lot beyond the golf course at the end of the Duck 
Pond. Faculty/staff should watch for additional information 
on signs posted in parking lots and in campus publications. 

8 VAG 105-10-280. Expired meter. 

A. Virginia Tech has parking meters available to meet 
short~term parking needs of visitors, faculty, staff, and 
students. Most meters take nickels, dimes, and quarters. 
The 10 meters nearest the War Memorial Gym are reserved 
for faculty, staff and v·rsitors only. Parking permits (including 
visitor permits) never allow free parking at meters wilflool 
payin§ \he meter. <ila\e OM'! handieap permits 8o allow lree 
packing at meters. 

B. Any parking meter covered with a white cover indicates 
"general parking," a yellow cover indicates "no parking," and 
a red cover indicates "reserved parking only." A parking 
space that has a post with no meter head may be used by 
anyone authorized to park in that area. 
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C. Meters are enforced from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday 
through Friday, with the exception of the meters in the 
Bookstore lot which are enforced from 7 a.m. to+ 5:30p.m., 
seven days a week. Vehicles parking at meters for an 
excessive amount of time can be ticketed more than once. 

D. Please notify the Parking Services Office before moving 
a vehicle from a defective meter so that the meter may be 
checked immediately. Additionally, failure to completely turn 
the handle on a meter after inserting coins also constitutes an 
expired meter violation. 

8 VAC 105-10-290. Parking in an unauthorized area. 

A. Resident, commuter, and graduate student permit 
parking is prohibited on campus streets and in faculty/staff 
parking areas (except where signs designate otherwise) from 
7 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. Parking at other 
times may also be prohibited as announced and/or posted in 
all parking areas. 

B. Overnight parking (2 a.m. to 6 a.m.) cornrn"teFI§rao"ate 
st"oent ~arl<ing on campus is prohibited unless prior 
arrangements have been made with Parking Services (7:30 
a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday) or the University 
Police Department all other times. Faculty, staff and students 
cannot use campus parking as residence or nonuniversity 
business parking. 

8. To loa£1 ve~icles fer toe weekeno, only resioent ~errnit 
~oloers rnay ~arl< in most fac"lty/stalf areas near resioence 
Ralls alter 2::JO ~-"'· en ~rioays fer a rna"i"'""' of :JO rnin"tes. 
19ewever, Owens ano Dietrick Dinin§ 19all lets are reserves 
eJ<GI"sively fer fac"lty ano stall ~arkiA§ !rem e a.rn. to 4 ~.fl1., 
se1•en days a week. C. The policy for loading and unloading 
vehicles is outlined in 8 VAG 105-10-230. 

G., D. The parking lot across from the Donaldson Brown 
Hotel and Conference Center (DBH) and in front of Squires 
Student Center is divided into two sections. The left side 
(closest to Squires) is reserved for faculty/staff from 7 a.m. to 
5 p.m., Monday through Friday. Students may park on this 
side after hours and on weekends, unless otherwise signed. 
The right side of the DBH lot is reserved for visitefs DBH 
guests (nonstudents or nonfaculty/staff) 24 hours a day, 
seven days a week. Only visitors and DBH guests 
(nonstudents or nonfaculty/staff) are allowed to park in this 
half of the lot and must display a visiloF-Gf DBH parking jl8&S 
pennit. 

G, E. Persons receiving registered with Parking Services 
who receive an "Unauthorized Area" citation l31:lt wRose 
veoicle is registereo with the ParkiRg Services Office because 
of not disp/aytng a hangtag and parked in an authorized area 
may request that their citation be voided. To make this 
request you "'"st coffijO!ete a void form must be completed 
within 10 calendar days of citation issuance. Forms are 
available at the Parking Services Office and are to be filled 
out in person. These forms are necessary to comply with 
audit procedures. This request may be made a maximum of 
three times within an academic year. 

F. Parking in designated service vehicle spaces (between 
white-painted control lines) is allowed after hours (5 p.m. to 7 
a.m.) and on weekends unless signed otherwise. 8efvise 
orives at tfle ~iei<J 19euse, Cocorane, Arn~ler JohRsten, Miles, 
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Pritcoaro, etc. Some service vehicle areas are no parking 
zones 24 hours a day, seven days a week. These include 
the Field House, Cochrane, Ambler, Johnston, Miles, 
Prichard, Litton Reaves, and Saunders. Service drives and 
loading docks are also restricted 24 hours a day, seven days 
a week. 

€, G. Note: If you forget your hangtag on any given day, 
stop by the Parking Services Office to verify your registration 
and obtain a temporary one-day permit before parking on 
campus. There is no charge for this permit. 

JC, H. Vehicles not registered with Parking Services prior to 
parking on campus will receive an "Unauthorized Area" 
citation. 

8 VAC 105-10-310. Parking in a no parking zone. 

Parking is permitted in authorized, clearly identified parking 
spaces only. Parking is not allowed in or on lawns, grass, 
loading zones, ~"s sto~s. pedestrian crosswalks, handicap 
spaces, handicap access ramps, yellow lines or curbs, 
service drives, service vehicle spaces, and unmarked areas, 
ano fire lanes without specific authorization. Parking on any 
sidewalk is prohibited at all times. Bagged or covered signs 
indicate special purpose or no parking. 

8 VAC 105-10-320. Other (miscellaneous no parking 
situations). 

A Vehicles are not permitted to occupy multiple spaces 
(double parking), park facing in the wrong direction, etc. This 
violation may also include any of the no parking zones 
mentioned in 8 VAC 105-10-315. 

B. Motorcycles are allowed to park in designated 
motorcycle areas denoted by 11 P" signs ("P" means "any 
university parking permit"). If parked in a regular vehicle 
space, the motorcycle must display the permit type required 
in that le§ lot (e.g., a faculty/staff permit is necessary in any 
non-motorcycle space within a faculty/staff lot). Vehicles are 
not to be parked in areas designated for motorcycles. 

8 VAC 105-10-325. Emergency snow route policy. 

When there is an accumulation of three or more inches of 
snow, emergency snow routes (Washington Street, Kent 
Street, Drillfield, and most other campus streets) and parking 
lots will have to be cleared of parked vehicles for the process 
of snow removal. Parking on emergency snow routes and 
most other areas of campus will be prohibited until the snow 
has been removed. Any vehicle parked so that it obstructs or 
interferes with the process of snow removal may be ticketed 
and towed at the vehicle owner's expense. During time of 
inclement weather, please call (540) 231-3200 for specific 
infonnation on available campus parking. 

8 VAC 105-10-330. Overtime parking. 

Timed parking areas (e.g., in front of Burruss, drop"off 
spaces by the library, ATM spaces at the bookstore, etc.) are 
strictly enforced to provide limited, short-term parking for the 
purposes of brief business in certain areas by faculty, staff 
and students. Vehicles parked in excess of time restrictions 
indicated on courtesy pennits will also be in violation of 
overtime parking. 
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IJ V.AC 105·10·345. Parking in a fire lane, bus lane or air 
intake. 

Vehicles parked in fire fanes (usually designated by yellow 
curbs, striping or signs), bus fanes (designated by BT signs), 
or air intake areas (behind Pamplin, Southgate, by the Power 
House, or as designated by signs) will be ticketed or towed, 
or both, at the owner's expense. 

8 VAG 1 05-1 0-370. Bicycles. 

See Part XIV, Bicycle Information (8 VAC 105-10-500 et 
seq.). 

8 VAG 105-10-390. Football and basketball parking 
restrictioms. 

Parking in the Coliseum Lot, C-Lot (Wallace/Litton 
Reaves), Cochrane/Engle Lot and along Spring and Stadium 
Roads is strictly forbidden when posted by signs at the 
following times: 

1. After ~ 7 p.m. on the day before a home varsity 
football game or weekend home varsity basketball game 
until the game has started. 

2. After 5:15p.m. on the day of a weekday home varsity 
men's basketball game until the game has started. 

3. The Lane Stadium lot is also restricted from parking 
after 11 p.m. the night before all home football games 
until the game has started. 

4. Parking in the lots mentioned above is restricted 
during any other special event when prior notice is given 
by the posting of signs the morning of the event. Failure 
to comply with these restrictions will result in the vehicle 
being ticketed and/or towed at the owner's expense. 

3 VAG 105-10-400. Special Purpose and Graduate 
Housing parking. 

A. ParkiR§ at t~e gpeeial P61Fpose MousiA§ eomple>( is 
limitml an<l only availa!Jie to resiElents witl1 s~eoial ~ermits. 
Resieents of the S~eoial PYr~ose HoYsing som~lm< are 
re~Yirea to register their vel1ioles witl1 tee Parking Servises 
Offise as well. Visitors ·.vho wish to pari< iA tAese areas 
&R<>lM" 

1. Park iR--lfle gravel ~arl<ing lot aEljasent to the Desk 
Pond en Oal< Lane. 

2. RiEls the "Heathwoo<J" IH tlss from sam~ss anEl get 
ell-at-the Spesial Psr~ose Hessing sto~ at toe Anaerotle 
baB-en Prices f'ork Roa<l. Parking is availatlle in tl1e 
Goomwter "8" lot aEljasent to the s"s step en West 
~61*-!>e~.veen 2 a.m. anEl e a.m.). 

~ot and rise the l'lT shstlle tlss previEleo. 
G<mlaet-tl1e Olfise of Residential ano Dining Programs or 
tfle-l::llacl<sbsrg Transit Offise for a scl1eElsle. 

&--&pecial P8rpose Hossin§ parking is net ~ermitteEl-at-#le 
Anaerei:Je Las on Prises f'erk Read at any time. 
t!+'\ail~Aer.j;,e<l vel1ielos in toe latl parkin§ let may tle towed at 

~"'"'' 
G., A. All residents of Special Purpose Housing, Hillcrest 

Graduate Housing, and Main Campbell Graduate Housing 

qualify for commuter or graduate parking permits. Special 
passes permits are required to be used in conjunction with 
lAeif the Virginia Tech commuter/ or graduate parking 
permits. These permits will be issued to students designated 
by the Housing Office. 

4. B. Residents of Special Purpose Housing are only 
allowed lo park overnight in the Special Purpose Housing Lot. 
They must display both a stH<Ieflt Virginia Tech parking 
permit and the fe<J white Special Purpose Housing permit 
issued by the Housing Office. Visitors to the complex should 
park in the gravel overflow lot adjacent to the Duck Pond on 
Oak Lane. 

~ C. Residents of Main Campbell and Hillcrest are only 
allowed to park overnight in the Litton Reaves/Wallace Lot 
(C-Lot). They must display both a student parking permit and 
the wRite blue RPGP permit issued by the Housing Office. 

8 VAC 105-10-410. Golf Course, Tennis, and Rec Field 
Parking. 

A. Individuals may park in the specially designated parking 
areas at the Golf Course anel Tennis Pavilion only while 
registered to engage in eitl1er astivity at the clubhouse and 
playing goff. In addition to toe atleve restristion, A Virginia 
Tech parking permit is required to park in 111ese areas this 
area. f'afkiRg fer partici~ants at the Tennis Pavilion, Ree 
l'ielo, anEl l'ielo Hesse is availatlle in toe General Parl<ing Let 
tlelew Lane Staai""'· Parking bel1in<l the F''.e'.El He"se ',s only 
~ermitteEl fer 11anEliea~ parking anEl servise vel1isles 21 11osrs 
a Bay, se"en Says a week. l9anEiisa13 ami SOFvice Vehicle 
passes are reqsireEl to ~ark tl1ere. 

B. While playing tennis, players must be registered at the 
Tennis Pavilion . .A Virginia Tech parking permit is required to 
park in the area adjacent to the pavilion. 

C. Parking behind the Field House is only permitted for 
handicapped patrons and service vehicles 24 hours a day, 
seven days a week. Handicap and service vehicle permits 
are required to park there. 

D. Additional parking for participants at the Tennis Pavilion, 
Rec Field, and Field House is available in the general parking 
lot below Lane Stadium. A Virginia Tech parking permit is 
required to park in this lot. 

8 VAC 105-10-420. Escort service. 

The University Police Department provides a dusk-to-dawn 
escort service fer inEliviEl"als woe nee<l to wall< at nigl1t from 
tl1eir Elerm or effise te their vehisle. Please call (540) 231-
SAFE (231-7233) for details. 

8 VAC 105-10-430. Fines and violations. 

A. All citations need to be paid or appealed within 10 
calendar days. Failure to fonmally appeal or pay a citation 
negates any right to further address the violation. 

B. Fines for parking violations are as follows: 

1. Most parking anEl tlisyele violations are $10 each. 

2. Unal:lthorize8 J33FI<in§ in a 9esi(3nate8 hamfioa13 spare 
is a $50 vielaliefh 
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2. Expired meter and bicycle violations are $10. 

3. Parking in a handicap space, handicap access, fire 
lane, bus Jane or air intake area is a $50 violation. 

;h 4. Unauthorized or fraudulent use of a Virginia Tech 
parking permit is a $100 violation. 

g., C. Parking fines not received at the Office of the 
University Bursar within 10 days from the date of citation 
issuance, or postmarked within seven days of issuance shall 
result in an additional $10 late fee unless the citation is under 
appeal. Payments sent through campus mail must be 
received by the 10th day of citation issuance. Lost, stolen, or 
misplaced citations do not excuse the late fee. 

All student accounts with citations 30 days past due will be 
blocked regardless of amount. All accounts that are over 
$100 will be blocked immediately. Accounts must be paid in 
full for block to be removed. 

Go D. Fines may be handled as a payroll deduction as an 
offset against Commonwealth of Virginia Vendor Debt Setoff 
Program or assessed against any other FRSAeys money due 
from the university, or both. Nonpayment of fines may result 
in blocked class registration and/or withheld grade 
transcripts. Outstanding fines may also be given to a 
collection agency. Accounts sent to collections will be 
assessed an additional collection cost. 

D. All ~a.~<iAg tiRes will ee assessed against either the 
~erssA whs ~~rshases the ~arkiAg ~erFRit er the registeres 
DMV ewAer sf the vehisle. E. When a vehicle is found to be 
in violation, fines are assessed to: 

1. The person who purchased the university penni! 
displayed on the vehicle. 

2. (If no parking penni! has been issued for the vehicle) 
the person, company, cotporation, or firm in whose name 
the vehicle is registered with the Virginia Department of 
Motor Vehicles the corresponding agency of another 
state or nation; 

3. The son, daughter, spouse, or ward of the registered 
owner enrolled in or employed at Vir,ginia Tech. 

8 VAC 1 05-1 0-450. Vehicle towing. 

A. Vehicles may be ticketed, immobilized or towed, or any 
combination of these at the owner's expense under the 
following circumstances: 

1. For vehicles displaying lost, stolen, or fraudulent 
Virginia Tech parking permits. 

2. When a vehicle is illegally parked in a handicap R>AS 

area, handicap access, or fire lane (such towing is 
required by state law). 

3. When a vehicle is illegally parked, restricting traffic, or 
creating a traffic hazard. 

4. When three or more unpaid citations have 
accumulated. Please note: any individual who 
accumulates 10 or more unpaid citations in an academic 
year is considered to be abusing parking privileges and 
may lose parking privileges on campus for the remainder 
of that period. Parking Services reserves the right to 
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confiscate the parking pennit attached to such a vehicle 
and there will be no refund to the owner of that pennit. 

5. When vehicles are parked on designated snow routes. 
Mest streets aAs reass eA saFR~~s are ssAsiseres sAsw 
~ (Washington Street, Kent Street, Drillfield and 
most campus streets and parking lots. For more details 
see 8 VAG 105-10-325.) 

6. When vehicles are parked in violation of football and 
basketball game restrictions. 

7. If notified by the Parking Services Office or the 
University Police Department to move a vehicle, and the 
owner or user does not accomplish this move within the 
specified time. 

8. When a vehicle is parked illegally at a loading dock, 
air intake, or bus lane. 

B. According to state law, if the tow truck is called· and the 
vehicle owner arrives on the scene to move the vehicle, the 
tow order may be canceled. If the tow truck has already left 
the towing company premises, the person responsible for the 
vehicle may still be required to pay towing costs before being 
pennitted to move the vehicle. A citation for illegal parking 
will also be issued. 

C. If the lew tr~sl< is already eR rs~te, the ~erseR 
res~eRsiele fur the vehisle may still ee re~"ires te ~ay tswiAg 
sests eefure tleiAg permittee te me1•e IRe vehisle. A sitatieA 
fur illegal ~arkiAg will alss ee iss~ea. 

fh C. The Parking Services Office and University Police 
Department are not responsible for damage resulting from 
towing or immobilization of vehicles. 

8 VAC 105-10-490. Appealing a violation. 

A. The appeals hearing officer for the university will review 
all written appeals involving nonmoving traffic violations. 
Traffic citations for moving violations are issued by the 
University Police Department on campus and referred to the 
local courts for a decision. 

B. Citations received for parking in fire lanes, on a yellow 
line or curb, in roadways, handicap R>AS area, handicap 
access, bus lanes, air intake areas, or metered space will not 
be viewed favorably in the appeals process except in genuine 
emergency situations as determined by the appeals hearing 
officer. 

C. If a person wishes to appeal a parking or bicycle 
citation, the procedure below should be followed: 

1. All appeals must be filed within 10 calendar days of 
issuance of the citation. All rights to appeal a citation 
are waived after this 1 0-day period. Failure to formally 
appeal or pay a citation negates any right to further 
address the violation. 

2. The appeal must be written on an official appeals form 
available in the Parking Services Office. This is 
necessary to ensure the Parking Services Office has all 
the necessary information to process the appeal and 
satisfy audit procedures. 
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3. Please make sure the address and phone numbers 
~ listed are complete, accurate, and legible. The 
Parking Services Office cannot be responsible If ye" fail 
for failure to receive 'fOOf an appeal notice under these 
circumstances. Remember to notify the Parking 
Services Office of any address changes. 

4. The issue on appeal is whether or not the cited rule 
was violated. It is no defense to "not mean" to violate a 
rule, to "see others" violate it, to 11 not realize" it was 
violated, or to have "violated it in the past without 
penalty." 

5. All appeals should be finalized by the last day of 
classes. 

6. The decision of the appeals hearing officer is final. 

8 VAG 105-10-520. Parking enforcement. 

A. Bicycles may be parked only at bicycle racks, except 
when permission has been granted to keep a bicycle inside a 
campus building. (Ho"siA§ m"st a~~rove l<ee~iR§ a 13il<e iR a 
eormitory room, (Bicycles may tJe l<e~t iR a resieeRee oaU 
rootR with the agree tReAt of toe reernmate. Bicycles R'lay Rot 
l>e-l<e~t in OR\' ether areas ef a resieeRce hall. A department 
head must grant permission to keep a bike in a faculty office.) 

B. Mopeds may be parked only at bicycle parking racks. 

C. No person is allowed to park a bicycle or moped as 
follows: 

1. On a sidewalk, at a tree or post, on a lawn, next to a 
building, in a roadway, at a utility pole, light post, 
banister, parking meter, or other available structure. 
Always use a bicycle rack. 

2. So that it blocks or obstructs any entrance, exit, ramp 
or breezeway. 

3. In any campus building (except as permitted in 
dormitory rooms and faculty offices). 

4. In a parking area designated for motor vehicles. 

5. In other than an upright position. 

D. Bicycles or mopeds found parked and/or locked in areas 
other than those allowed may be impounded or immobilized 
by the Parking Services Office or the University Police 
Department. The person responsible for the bike will receive 
a bicycle parking citation. 

E. Motorcycles may not be parked in bicycle racks. 
Students' motorcycles are to be parked in designated student 
motorcycle areas. 

PART XV. 
AVOIDING PARKI~IG CITATimiS AND TOWI~JG 

CHARGE£. 

8 VAG 105-10-560. How to a"ei<l l'•rl<iA!! sitatiens an<l 
-~""!!'*" (Repealed.) 

A--J:lf0j:l9fly-<Jisl'lay a Virginia Teco ~arking ~ermit freR1 7 
a.m. to 5 fH!l,...Momtay thre"gh frieay. ReR'lemser that tile 
parkin§ rules ana reg"laijoRs are iR effect wheRever the 

~;o~niversity is Gf30n for business, incltd-€1-ing vvhon classes are 
net iR sesslen anEI Ei~:~riAg semester l3Feal<s. 

B. Pari< iR a slearly ideRtifiea parking space ap~rewiate lor 
yeur ~ermit. 

C. Do Ret~erffii\ le ethers. Shares perR1its may 
fe£\J#-in a $100 "Una"thorized Use ef Permit" citation 
assessed against the ~ermit""""""' 

D. ljave visitiRg fami!y aRa lrieRds el3taiR a visiter ~arl<ing 
permit sefere ~ark;,R§ OR eam~US. 

E. Osserve s~ecial ~arkiRg restrictioRs such as: 

1. Parl<iAg lets at toe Owens DiRiRg ljall, aRs DietriGk 
DiRiR§ Hall are reservee lor faculty aRa staff memsers 
freR1 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., seven days a weelc The light side 
ef.-llle DonalasoR Brown Hotel ana Cenference CoRter 
(DBH) is reserves -fer visitors (nenstuaeRts or 
nenfasultylstall') 24 heurs a say, seveR <la)•s a week. 
The Beekstore Lot parl<ing meters are enlercee !rern 7 
a.rn. to 7 ~.rn., seveR aa)'S a v•eek. 

2. All aining hall leaaing aecks prehisit ~arl<iRg at all 
~ 

~- Parl<ing is ~rehil3itea in the Celise"m Lot ana along 
StaEii"rn aRo S~ring Reaas after §:1§ ~-"'· en the say 
13elere a heme varsity leetsall game er weekeRd heme 
varsity 13asl<etl3all game, er alter §:1§ ~.m. SR the aay ef 
a weel«lay hoR1e varsity R1en's 13asketl3all §aR1e ""til the 
game has startea. 

4. Parl<ing is ~rehibitea iR the ~arl<ing let 13elew Lane 
Staai""' from 11 p.m. the night 13elere any hoR1e feetsall 
gaR1es "ntil the game oas started. 

§.Other s~ecial restrictions, as pestea. 

8 VAG 105-10-570. Tisket payment. (Repealed.) 

AvoiEI a $10 late lee ~er citatieR 13y R1aking sure ~aymeRt is 
maee to the Office ef the University Bursar in B"rruss Hall 
withiR 10 calenoar eays ef sitation issuaRce; if payR1eRt is 
mailea, the payR1ent eR'Jelope must 13e ~estrnarke8 withffi 
seven days ef sitatioA issuance. PayA=~ents sent threu§h 
sam~us mail R1Ust 13e reseivea by the 10\o aay of citatioR 
iss"aRce. Do Ael sene sash throu§A the mail or ee~osit sash 
in the J3ayment 13eJE at the Visitor lnformatien Center. Checks 
sRe6ll9 13c R=~ade payable to Treasmer, Virginia Tech. 

PART XVI. 
~ 

8 VAG 105-10-580. ~asutlylstaff ~··- (Repealed.) 

The followiRg fees a~~ly lor faculty/stall permits: 

2. Semester 

8 VAC 105-10-590. Stu<leRt permits. (Repealed.) 

The following lees a~~ly for student permits. 

$2§ 
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1. f~ll year 

2. Semester 

8 VAC 105-10-600. CitatieR fiReS. (Repealed.) 

Tee fellewiR~ lees a~~ly fer sitatieRs. 

1. E>'f!iree Meter 

2. Parl~in§J in an ldnmJtAsrized Area 

a. Parl<iR~ 8R Yellew liRe er c~re 

4. ParkiA§ iA a Ne ParkiA§ ZaAe 

a. Parl<iR§ iR a Reaeway 

7. O·<ertime ParkiA~ 

8. Parl<iR~ iR a 1-iaReisa~ ZeRe 

9. URa~teerizee Use el Permit 

1Q. Bieysle 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-112; Filed November4, 1996, 10:53a.m. 
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FINAL REGULATIONS 

For information concerning Final Regulations, see Information Page. 

Symbol Key 
Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Italic type indicates new text. Language which has been stricken indicates 

text to be deleted. [Bracketed language] indicates a substantial change from the proposed text of the regulation. 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES (BOARD OF) 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulation is 
exempted from the Administrative Process Act pursuant to § 
9-6.14:4.1 A 28 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts the 
Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services in adopting, 
amending or repealing regulations pursuant to clause A (ii) of 
§ 59.1-156 B. 

Title of Regulation: 2 VAC 5-480-10 et seq. Regulation 
Governing the Oxygenation of Gasoline (amending 2 VAC 
5-480-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-156 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 1996. 

Preamble: 

This final regulation will continue authority contained in 
an emergency regulation (to expire November 12, 1996) 
governing the oxygenation of gasoline. 

On August 11, 1996, a public hearing notice was 
published in The Washington Times. This public 
comment period and hearing were conducted to satisfy 
the public participation requirements of federal 
regulations (40 CFR 51.102) and not any provision of 
state law. This regulation is exempt from the public 
participation requirements of the state law as provided in 
§ 9-6.14.4.1 A 28, § 59.1-156 (A) ii, and§ 59.1-156 (B) 
of the Code of Virginia. The public hearing notice 
infonned the public of the hearing date and provided for 
the acceptance of written comments through October 1, 
1996. The board did not receive any written comments 
concerning the proposed amendments. 

During the public hearing the board heard oral comments 
from two persons on the amendments to the regulation. 
Mr. Mike Ward, Director of the Virginia Petroleum 
Council supported the amendments, pointing out to the 
board that the amendments convert an emergency 
regulation adopted one year ago into a pennanent 
regulation. Mr. James E. Syndor, Director of Air Quality 
Planning for the Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality also supported the amendments. A record of the 
hearing may be obtained from the contact person listed 
below. 

The regulation is for the purpose of complying in this 
Commonwealth with any oxygenation requirements 
specified by the federal Clean Air Act or any other 
federal environmental requirement pertaining to motor 
fuels. The 1990 amendments to the federal Clean Air 
Act require states with carbon monoxide nonattainment 
areas to implement an oxygenated gasoline program in 
areas designated as nonattainment. The oxygen content 

requirement applies during the portion of the year in 
which the nonattainment areas are prone to high ambient 
concentrations of carbon monoxide. The Environmental 
Protection Agency has established this period, which is a 
specified four months out of twelve. In Virginia this 
control period begins on November 1 of one year and 
continues through the end of February of the following 
year. 

Under the amendments the oxygenated fuels regulation 
is being restructured as a contingency measure in the 
State Implementation Plan. The Commonwealth of 
Virginia has submitted and the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency has approved a plan to reduce and 
maintain carbon monoxide emissions in the Metropolitan 
Washington Carbon Monoxide Nonattainment Area 
through the year 2007 such that they do not exceed the 
1990 base year level. By maintaining carbon monoxide 
emissions at or below this level, the area will continue to 
meet the national air quality standard for carbon 
monoxide. 

The maintenance plan contains the oxygenated fuels 
regulation as contingency measure to be implemented 
only if any air quality monitoring station in the area 
records fvvo exceedances of the carbon monoxide air 
quality standard in any calendar year. Now with 
approval of the plan, the sale of oxygenated fuels in the 
Northern Virginia area is not required as long as the area 
continues to meet carbon monoxide air quality standard. 

Summarv: 

The amendment provides that the oxygenated gasoline 
regulation shall apply only after the Director of the 
Department of Environmental Quality infonns the 
Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer SeNices 
that the air quality standard for carbon monoxide has 
been exceeded tvvice in a calendar year in the 
metropolitan Washington, D.C. area. The period during 
which the regulation is enforced will end when the 
director infonns the commissioner that enforcement is no 
longer required under the region's air quality 
maintenance plan. The beginning and end of the 
enforcement period will be published in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from J. Alan Rogers, Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Room 402, Richmond, 
VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-2476. 

2 VAG 5-480-20. e>me~tien fur airGFalt Applicability. 

A This chapter shall: 

1. Be enforced only at the commencement of the control 
period that begins at least 180 days after notice by the 
Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
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(commissioner) appears in The Virginia Register of 
Regulations, which notice shalf state that the Director of 
the Department of Environmental Quality (director) has 
informed the commissioner that (because the air quality 
standard for carbon monoxide has been exceeded two or 
more times in a calendar year at any one of the air 
quality monitoring stations in the Metropolitan 
Washington, D. C.-Virginia-Maryland Statistical Area) the 
maintenance plan for the Norlhem Virginia area requires 
the enforcement of this chapter; and 

2. Cease to be enforced when the conditions of 
subdivision A 1 of this section have occurred and the 
commissioner receives written notice from the director 
that enforcement of this chapter is no longer required to 
satisfy the ma1ntenance plan. The commissioner shalf 
publish this written notice in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

B. Nothing in this chapter shall apply to any person who 
sells or transfers any batch of gasoline for use in aircraft. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

ASTM D 4814-95c, Standard Specification for Automotive 
Spark-Ignition Engine Fuel, published February 1996. 

ASTM D 4815-94a, Standard Test Method for Determination 
of MTBE, ETBE, TAME, DIPE, tertiary-Amyl Alcohol and C, to 
c, Alcohols by Gas Chromatography, published September 
1994. 

VAR. Doc. No. R97-109; Filed October 25, 1996, 10:03 a.m. 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 9 VAC 5-20-10 et seq. General 
Provisions (amending 9 VAC 5-20-21). 
9 VAC 5-80-10 et seq. Permits for New and Modified 
Sources (adding Article 8 consisting of 9 VAC 5-80-1700 
through 9 VAC 5-80-1970; and repealing 9 VAC 5-80-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 1997. 

Summarv: 

The regulation amendments concern provisions covering 
prevention of significant deten'oration and Include (i) 
revision of the maximum allowable increases for 
particulate matter from being based on total suspended 
particulate to being based on particulate with an 
aerodynamic diameter of less than or equal to 10 
micrometers; (1i) revision of the "Guideline on Air Quality 
Models"; (iii) exclusion of certain pollutants when 
determining whether an emiSSions increase is 
considered significant; and (iv) updating the notification 
process to comply with the Code of Virginia and 
chang1ng the regulation's intemal numbering system to 
reflect requirements of the Registrar of Regulations. 

Summarv of Public Comment and Agencv Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 
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Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from Alma Jenkins, Office of Air Program Development, 
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, 
Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4070. 

9 VAC 5-20-21. Documents incorporated by reference. 

A. The Administrative Process Act and Virginia Register 
Act provide that state regulations may incorporate documents 
by reference. Throughout these regulations, documents of 
the types specified below have been incorporated by 
reference. 

1. United States Code. 

2. Code of Virginia. 

3. Code of Federal Regulations. 

4. Federal Register. 

5. Technical and scientific reference documents. 

Additional information on key federal regulations and non­
statutory documents incorporated by reference and their 
availability may be found in subsection E of this section. 

B. Any reference in these regulations to any provision of 
the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) shall be considered 
as the adoption by reference of that provision. The specific 
version of the provision adopted by reference shall be that 
contained in the CFR (1995) in effect July 1, 1995. In 
making reference to the Code of Federal Regulations, 40 
CFR Part 35 means Part 35 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal 
Regulations; 40 CFR 35.20 means § 35.20 in Part 35 of Title 
40 of the Code of Federal Regulations. 

C. Failure to include in this section any document 
referenced in the regulations shall not invalidate the 
applicability of the referenced document. 

D. Copies of materials incorporated by reference in this 
section may be examined by the public at the headquarters 
office of the Department of Environmental Quality, Eighth 
Floor, 629 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, between 
8:30a.m. and 4:30p.m. of each business day. 

E. Information on federal regulations and nonstatutory 
documents incorporated by reference and their availability 
may be found below in this subsection. 

1. Code of Federal Regulations. 

a. The provisions specified below from the Code of 
Federal Regulations (CFR) in effect as of July 1, 1995, 
are incorporated herein by reference. 

(1) 40 CFR Part 50 - National Primary and 
Secondary Ambient Air Quality Standards. 

(a) Appendix A - Reference Method for the 
Determination of Sulfur Dioxide in the Atmosphere 
(Pararosaniline Method). 

(b) Appendix B - Reference Method for the 
Determination of Suspended Particulate Matter in 
the Atmosphere (High-Volume Method). 

(c) Appendix C - Measurement Principle and 
Calibration Procedure for the Continuous 
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Measurement 
Atmosphere 
Photometry). 

of Carbon Monoxide in the 
(Non-Dispersive Infrared 

{d) Appendix D - Measurement Principle and 
Calibration Procedure for the Measurement of 
Ozone in the Atmosphere. 

(e) Appendix E - Reference Method for 
Determination of Hydrocarbons Corrected for 
Methane. 

(f) Appendix F - Measurement Principle and 
Calibration Procedure for the Measurement of 
Nitrogen Dioxide in the Atmosphere (Gas Phase 
Chemiluminescence). 

(g) Appendix G - Reference Method for the 
Determination of Lead in Suspended Particulate 
Matter Collected from Ambient Air. 

{h) Appendix H - Interpretation of the National 
Ambient Air Quality Standards for Ozone. 

(i) Appendix I -Reserved. 

(j) Appendix J - Reference Method for the 
Determination of Particulate Matter as PM10 in the 
Atmosphere. 

(k) Appendix K - Interpretation of the National 
Ambient Air Quality Standards for Particulate 
Matter. 

(2) 40 CFR Part 51 - Requirements for Preparation, 
Adoption, and Submittal of Implementation Plans. 

Appendix W - Guideline on Air Quality Models 
(Revised). 

f;!) (3) 40 CFR Part 58 - Ambient Air Quality 
Surveillance. 

Appendix B - Quality Assurance Requirements for 
Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) Air 
Monitoring. 

(J) (4) 40 CFR Part 60 - Standards of Performance 
for New Stationary Sources. 

The specific provisions of 40 CFR Part 60 
incorporated by reference are found in Article 5 (9 
VAG 5-50-400 et seq.) of Part II of Chapter 50, Rule 
5-5, Environmental Protection Agency Standards of 
Performance for New Stationary Sources. 

t41 (5) 40 CFR Part 61 - National Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants. 

The specific provisions of 40 CFR Part 61 
incorporated by reference are found in Article 1 (9 
VAC 5-60-60 et seq.) of Part II of Chapter 60, Rule 
6-1, Environmental Protection Agency National 
Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants. 

«') (6) 40 CFR Part 63 - National Emission 
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source 
Categories. 

Final Regulations 

The specific provisions of 40 CFR Part 63 
incorporated by reference are found in Article 2 (9 
VAG 5-60-90 et seq.) of Part II of Chapter 60, Rule 
6-2, Environmental Protection Agency National 
Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for 
Source Categories. 

b. Copies may be obtained from: Superintendent of 
Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office, 
Washington, D.C. 20402; phone (202) 783-3238. 

2. U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

a. The easYmen\s s~eeilied laelaw following document 
from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency is 
incorporated herein by reference: 

(1) Guideline en Air Quality Mo<lels (re•lisetJ), EPA 
48012 027R, OAQPS ~Jo. 1.2 080, July 1086, as 
amenses by Su~~lement A, P8881S0058, July 
4lJll.h 

f;!) Reich Test, Atmospheric Emissions from Sulfuric 
Acid Manufacturing Processes, Public Health 
Service Publication No. PB82250721, 1980. 

b. Copies may be obtained from: U.S. Department of 
Commerce, National Technical Information Service, 
5285 Port Royal Road, Springfield, Virginia 22161; 
phone (703) 487-4650. 

3. U.S. government. 

a. The following document from the U.S. government 
is incorporated herein by reference: Standard 
Industrial Classification Manual, 1987 (U.S. 
Government Printing Office stock number 041-001-00-
314-2). 

b. Copies may be obtained from: Superintendent of 
Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office, 
Washington, D.C. 20402; phone (202) 78J J2J8 512-
1800. 

4. American Society for Testing and Materials {ASTM). 

a. The documents specified below from the American 
Society for Testing and Materials are incorporated 
herein by reference. 

(1) D323-82, "Test Method for Vapor Pressure of 
Petroleum Products (Reid Method)" from Section 5, 
Volume 05.01 of the 1985 Annual Book of ASTM 
Standards. 

(2) D97-87, "Test Method for Pour Point of 
Petroleum Oils" from Section 5, Volume 05.01 of the 
1989 Annual Book of ASTM Standards. 

(3) D129-91, "Standard Test Method for Sulfur in 
Petroleum Products (General Bomb Method)," 
1991. 

(4) D388-95, "Standard Classification of Coals by 
Rank," 1995. 

(5) D396-92, "Standard Specification for Fuel Oils," 
1992. 
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(6) D975-94, "Standard Specification for Diesel Fuel 
Oils," 1994. 

(7) D1 072-90, "Standard Test Method for Total 
Sulfur in Fuel Gases," 1990, reapproved 1994. 

(8) D1265-92, "Standard Practice for Sampling 
Liquefied Petroleum (LP) Gases (Manual Method)," 
1992. 

(9) D2622-94, "Standard Test Method for Sulfur in 
Petroleum Products by X-Ray Spectrometry," 1994. 

(1 0) D4057-88, "Standard Practice for Manual 
Sampling of Petroleum and Petroleum Products," 
1988. 

(11) D4294-90, "Standard Test Method for Sulfur in 
Petroleum Products by Energy-Dispersive X-Ray 
Fluorescence Spectroscopy," 1990. 

b. Copies may be obtained from: American Society 
for Testing Materials, 1916 Race Street, Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania 19103; phone (219) 299 9400 (610) 
832-9585. 

5. American Petroleum Institute (API). 

a. The following document from the American 
Petroleum Institute is incorporated herein by 
reference: API Publication 2517, Evaporation Loss 
from External Floating Roof Tanks, Third Edition, 
1989. 

b. Copies may be obtained from: American Petroleum 
Institute, 2101 L Street, Northwest, Washington, D.C. 
20037; phone (202) 682-8000. 

6. American Conference of Governmental Industrial 
Hygienists (ACGIH). 

a. The following document from the ACGIH is 
incorporated herein by reference: Threshold Limit 
Values for Chemical Substances 1991-1992 and 
Physical Agents and Biological Exposure Indices 
(ACGIH Handbook). 

b. Copies may be obtained from: ACGIH, 6500 
Glenway Avenue, Building D-7, Cincinnati, Ohio 
45211-4438; phone (513) @@1 7881 742-2020. 

7. National Fire Prevention Association (NFPA). 

a. The documents specified below from the National 
Fire Prevention Association are incorporated herein by 
reference. 

(1) NFPA 385, Standard for Tank Vehicles for 
Flammable and Combustible Liquids, 1985 Edition. 

(2) NFPA 30, Flammable and Combustible Liquids 
Code, 1987 Edition. 

(3) NFPA 30A, Automotive and Marine Service 
Station Code, 1987 Edition. 

b. Copies may be obtained from the National Fire 
Prevention Association, Batterymarch Park, Quincy, 
Massachusetts 02269; phone (617) 770-3000. 
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PART VIII 

Article 8. 
Permits for Major Stationary Sources and Major Modifications 

Locating in Prevention of Significant Deterioration Areas. 

9 VAG a 80 20. Permits majer statiaAary saurees aAo 
R'lajSF maai~eatiaAS leeatiAg iA weveAtiaA sf sigAifiGaAt 
detoriorotieA ar:eas. 

A. 9 VAC 5-80-1700. Applicability. 

4., A. The provisions of this sestieR article apply to the 
construction of any major stationary source or major 
modification. 

2. B. The provisions of this sestieR article apply in 
prevention of significant deterioration areas designated in 9 
>,(II,C e 10 20, A~~eAai>< l. 9 VAC 5-20-205. 

;>. C. Where a source is constructed or modified in 
contemporaneous increments which individually are not 
subject to approval under this sestieR article and which are 
not part of a program of construction or modification in 
planned incremental phases approved by the board, all such 
increments shall be added together for determining the 
applicability of this sestieR article. An incremental change is 
contemporaneous with the particular change only if it occurs 
between the date five years before construction on the 
particular change commences and the date that the increase 
from the particular change occurs. 

+. D. Unless specified othe!Wise, the provisions of this 
sestieR article are applicable to various sources as follows: 

a:- 1. Provisions referring to "sources," "new or modified 
sources" or "stationary sources" are applicable to the 
construction of all major stationary sources and major 
modifications. 

&, 2. Any emissions units not subject to the provisions of 
this sestieR article may be subject to the provisions of 9 
VAC 5-80-10 or 9 VAC 5-80-30. 

E. For the purposes of this article, pollutants subject to 
regulation under the federal Clean Air Act shall not include 
any pollutant listed under§ 112(b) of the federal Clean Air 
Act or any additions made to the list pursuant to regulations 
promulgated by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

a, F. Unless othe!Wise approved by the board or 
prescribed in these regulations, when this sestieR article is 
amended, the previous provisions of this seGlioo article shall 
remain in effect for all applications that are deemed complete 
under the provisions of subaivisieA R 1 sf this seetieA 
subsection A of9 VAG 5-80-1870 prior to the effective date of 
the amended seGlioo article. Any permit applications that 
have not beGn determined to be complete as of the effective 
date of the amendments shall be subject to the new 
provisions. 

& 9 VAC 5-80-1710. Definitions. 

4., A. As used in this seGlioo article, all words or terms not 
defined l1efe herein shall have the meaning given them in 9 
VAG 5-10-10 et seq., unless othe!Wise required by context. 
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b B. For the purpose of this seslieR article, 9 VAC 5-50-
280 and any related use, the words or terms shall have the 
meaning given them in s"s<livisieA B :l subsection C of this 
section: 

:lo C. Terms defined. 

"Actual emissions": 

fB a. Means the actual rate of emissions of a pollutant 
from an emissions unit, as determined in accordance 
with subdivisions :J a (2) threu§h :J a (4) ef \h'1s 
sussestioo b through d of this definition. 

t2) b. In general, actual emissions as of a particular date 
shall equal the average rate, in tons per year, at which 
the unit actually emitted the pollutant during a two-year 
period which precedes the particular date and which is 
representative of normal source operation. The board 
shall allow the use of a different time period upon a 
determination that it is more representative of normal 
source operation. Actual emissions shall be calculated 
using the unit's actual operating hours, production rates, 
and types of materials processed, stored, or combusted 
during the selected time period. 

t2) c. The board may presume that source-specific 
allowable emissions for the unit are equivalent to the 
actual emissions of the unit. 

t4) d. For any emissions unit which has not begun 
normal operations on the particular date, actual 
emissions shall equal the potential to emit of the unit on 
that date. 

'l'tdministrator'' means the administrator of the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) or an authorized 
representative. 

'l'tdverse impact on visibility" means visibility impairment 
which interferes with the management, protection, 
preservation or enjoyment of the visitor's visual experience of 
the federal class I area. This determination must be made on 
a case-by-case basis taking into account the geographic 
extent, intensity, duration, frequency and time of visibility 
impairment, and how these factors correlate with (i) times of 
visitor use of the federal Class I areas, and (ii) the frequency 
and timing of natural conditions that reduce visibility. 

"Allowable emissions" means the emissions rate of a 
stationary source calculated using the maximum rated 
capacity of the source (unless the source is subject to 
federally and state enforceable limits which restrict the 
operating rate, or hours of operation, or both) and the most 
stringent of the following: 

fB a. The applicable standards as set forth in 40 CFR 
Paris 60 and 61; 

t2) b. The applicable State implementation plan 
emissions limitation including those with a future 
compliance date; or 

t2) c. The emissions rate specified as a federally or 
state enforceable permit condition, including those with a 
future compliance date. 

Final Regulations 

"Baseline area": 

fB a. Means any intrastate area (and every part of that) 
designated as attainment or unclassifiable under § 
107(d)(1)(C) of the federal Clean Air Act in which the 
major source or major modification establishing the 
minor source baseline date would construct or would 
have an air quality impact equal to or greater than 1 
,uglm3 (annual average) of the pollutant for which the 
minor source baseline date is established. 

t2) b. Area redesignations under § 1 07(d)(3) of the 
federal Clean Air Act cannot intersect or be smaller than 
the area of impact of any major stationary source or 
major modification which: 

W (1) Establishes a minor source baseline date; or 

~ (2) Is subject to this seslieR article or 40 CFR 52.21 
and would be constructed in the same state as the 
state proposing the redesignation. 

c. Any baseline area established originally for the TSP 
increments shall remain in effect and shall apply for 
purposes of determining the amount of available PM10 
increments, except that such baseline shall not remain in 
effect if the board rescinds the corresponding minor 
source baseline date in accordance with subdivision d of 
the definition of "baseline date." 

''Baseline concentration": 

fB a. Means that ambient concentration level which 
exists in the baseline area at the time of the applicable 
minor source baseline date. A baseline concentration is 
determined for each pollutant for which a minor source 
baseline date is established and shall include: 

W (1) The actual emissions representative of sources 
in existence on the applicable minor source baseline 
date, except as provided in subdivision t2) b of this 
definition; 

~ (2) The allowable emissions of major stationary 
sources which commenced construction before the 
major source baseline date, but were not in operation 
by the applicable minor source baseline date. 

t2) b. The following will not be included in the baseline 
concentration and will affect the applicable maximum 
allowable increases: 

W (1) Actual emissions from any major stationary 
source on which construction commenced after the 
major source baseline date; and 

(b) (2) Actual emissions increases and decreases at 
any stationary source occurring after the minor source 
baseline date. 

"Baseline date": 

fB a. "Major source baseline date" means: 

W (1) In the case of particulate matter and sulfur 
dioxide, January 6, 1975, and 
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tll1 {2) In the case of nitrogen dioxide, February 8, 
1988. 

t2) b. "Minor source baseline date" means the earliest 
date after the trigger date on which a major stationary 
source or a major modification subject to this seelioo 
article submits a complete application under this seelioo 
article. The trigger date is: 

(at (1) In the case of particulate matter and sulfur 
dioxide, August 7, 1977, and 

t91 {2) In the case of nitrogen dioxide, February 8, 
1988. 

t2) c. The baseline date is established for each pollutant 
for which increments or other equivalent measures have 
been established if: 

(at (1) The area in which the proposed source or 
modification would construct is designated as 
attainment or unclassifiable under § 107(d)(1)(C) of 
the federal Clean Air Act for the pollutant on the date 
of its complete application under this seelioo article or 
40 CFR 52.21; and 

t91 {2) In the case of a major stationary source, the 
pollutant would be emitted in significant amounts, or, 
in the case of a major modification, there would be a 
significant net emissions increase of the pollutant. 

d. Any minor source baseline date established originally 
for the TSP increments shall remain in effect and shall 
apply for purposes of detennining the amount of 
available PMw increments, except that the board may 
rescind any such minor source baseline date where it 
can be shown, to the satisfaction of the board, that the 
emissions increase from the major stationary source, or 
the net emissions increase from the major modification, 
responsible for triggering that date did not result in a 
significant amount of PM10 emissions. 

"Begin actual construction" means, in general, initiation of 
physical on-site construction activities on an emissions unit 
which are of a permanent nature. Such activities include, but 
are not limited to, installation of building supports and 
foundations, laying of underground pipework, and 
construction of permanent storage structures. With respect 
to a change in method of operation, this term refers to those 
on-site activities other than preparatory activities which mark 
the initiation of the change. 

"Best available control technology" means an emissions 
limitation (including a visible emissions standard) based on 
the maximum degree of reduction for each pollutant subject 
to regulation under the federal Clean Air Act which would be 
emitted tram any proposed major stationary source or major 
modification which the board, on a case-by-case basis, taking 
into account energy, environmental, and economic impacts 
and other costs, determines is achievable for such source or 
modification through application of production processes or 
available methods, systems, and techniques, including fuel 
cleaning or treatment or innovative fuel combustion 
techniques for control of such pollutant. In no event shall 
application of best available control technology result in 
emissions of any pollutant which would exceed the emissions 

Volume 13, Issue 5 

535 

allowed by any applicable standard under 40 CFR Parts 60 
and 61. If the board determines that technological or 
economic limitations on the application of measurement 
methodology to a particular emissions unit would make the 
imposition of an emissions standard Infeasible, a design, 
equipment, work practice, operational standard, or 
combination of them, may be prescribed instead to satisfy the 
requirement for the application of best available control 
technology. Such standard shall, to the degree possible, set 
forth the emissions reduction achievable by implementation 
of such design, equipment, work practice or operation, and 
shall provide for compliance by means which achieve 
equivalent results. 

"Building, structure, facility or installation" means all of the 
pollutant-emitting activities which belong to the same 
industrial grouping, are located on one or more contiguous or 
adjacent properties, and are under the control of the same 
person (or persons under common control) except the 
activities of any vessel. Pollutant-emitting activities shall be 
considered as part of the same industrial grouping if they 
belong to the same "major group" (i.e., which have the same 
first two-digit code) as described in the Standard Industrial 
Classification Manual, as amended by the supplement (see 9 
VAG § Hl 20, l\ppeAEii>< M 9 VAG 5-20-21). 

"Commence," as applied to construction of a major 
stationary source or major modification, means that the 
owner has all necessary preconstruction approvals or permits 
and either has: 

f41 a. Begun, or caused to begin, a continuous program 
of actual on-site construction of the source, to be 
completed within a reasonable time; or 

t2) b. Entered into binding agreements or contractual 
obligations, which cannot be canceled or modified 
without substantial loss to the owner, to undertake a 
program of actual construction of the source, to be 
completed within a reasonable time. 

"Complete" means, in reference to an application for a 
permit, that the application contains all of the information 
necessary for processing the application. Designating an 
application complete for the purposes of permit processing 
does not preclude the board from requesting or accepting 
any additional information. 

"Construction" means any physical change or change in 
the method of operation (including fabrication, erection, 
installation, demolition, or modification of an emissions unit) 
which would result in a change in actual emissions. 

"Emissions unit" means any part of a stationary source 
which emits or would have the potential to emit any pollutant 
subject to regulation under the federal Clean Air Act. 

''Federal/and manager'' means, with respect to any lands 
in the United States, the secretary of the department with 
authority over such lands. 

"Federally enforceable" means all limitations and 
conditions which are enforceable by the administrator, 
including those requirements developed pursuant to 40 CFR 
Parts 60 and 61, requirements within · the Stale 
lm)llemeAialieA PlaA implementation plan, and any permit 
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requirements established pursuant to 40 CFR 52.21 or 9-VAG 
a SG 1G et seq. this chapter, including operating permits 
issued under an EPA-approved program that is incorporated 
into the State lm~lemeetatieA PlaA implementation plan and 
expressly requires adherence to any permit issued under 
such program. 

"Fugitive emissions" means those emissions which could 
not reasonably pass through a stack, chimney, vent, or other 
functionally equivalent opening. 

"High terrain" means any area hav'rng an elevation 900 feet 
or more above the base of the stack of a source. 

"Indian governing body" means the governing body of any 
tribe, band, or group of Indians subject to the jurisdiction of 
the United States and recognized by the United States as 
possessing power of self~government. 

"Indian reservation" means any federally recognized 
reservation established by treaty, agreement, executive 
order, or act of Congress. 

"Innovative control technology'' means any system of air 
pollution control that has not been adequately demonstrated 
in practice, but would have substantial likelihood of achieving 
greater continuous emissions reduction than any control 
system in current practice or of achieving at least comparable 
reductions at lower cost in terms of energy, economics, or 
nonair quality environmental impacts. 

"Locality particularly affected" means any locality which 
bears any identified disproportionate material air quality 
impact which would not be experienced by other localities. 

"Low terrain" means any area other than high terrain. 

"Major modification" meaRS: 

fB a. Means any physical change in or change in the 
method of operation of a major stationary source that 
would result in a significant net emissions increase of 
any pollutant subject to regulation under the federal 
Clean Air Act. 

~ b. Any net emissions increase that is significant for 
volatile organic compounds shall be considered 
significant for ozone. 

f3) c. A physical change or change in the method of 
operation shall not include: 

W (1) Routine maintenance, repair and replacement; 

{-131 (2) Use of an alternative fuel or raw material by a 
stationary source which: 

+. (a) The source was capable of accommodating 
before January 6, 1975, unless such change would 
be prohibited under any federally and state 
enforceable permit condition which was established 
after January 6, 1975, pursuant to 40 CFR 52.21 or 
9 V-AG § 80 1 0 e~ this chapter, or 

~ (b) The source is approved to use under any 
permit issued under 40 CFR 52.21 or 9 V-AG a 80 10 
et-&e<r. this chapter, 
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W (3) An increase in the hours of operation or in the 
production rate, unless such change is prohibited 
under any federally and state enforceable permit 
condition which was established after January 6, 1975, 
pursuant to 40 CFR 52.21 or 9 V-AG 8 80 10 et se~. 
this chapter. 

"Major stationary source": 

fB a. Means: 

W (1) Any of the following stationary sources of air 
pollutants which emits, or has the potential to emit 100 
tons per year or more of any pollutant subject to 
regulation under the federal Clean Air Act: 

+. (a) Fossil fuel-fired steam electric plants of more 
than 250 million British thermal units per hour heat 
input. 

~(b) Coal cleaning plants (with thermal dryers). 

;>,(c) Kraft pulp mills. 

4 (d) Portland cement plants. 

ih (e) Primary zinc smelters. 

e., (f) Iron and steel mill plants. 

'h (g) Primary aluminum ore reduction plants. 

&, (h) Primary copper smelters. 

So (i) Municipal incinerators capable of charging 
more than 250 tons of refuse per day. 

4{h (j) Hydrofluoric acid plants. 

-'\+. (k) Sulfuric acid plants. 

4;1., (I) Nitric acid plants. 

~ (m) Petroleum refineries. 

44. (n) Lime plants. 

~ (o) Phosphate rock processing plants. 

41>, (p) Coke oven batteries. 

-1+. (q) Sulfur recovery plants. 

-tlh (r) Carbon black plants (furnace process). 

4{h (s) Primary lead smelters. 

2,0., (I) Fuel conversion plants. 

2+. (u) Sintering plants. 

a:h (v) Secondary metal production plants. 

26, (w) Chemical process plants. 

;<4, (x) Fossil fuel boilers (or combinations of them) 
totaling more than 250 million British thermal units 
per hour heat input. 

2ih (y) Petroleum storage and transfer units with a 
total storage capacity exceeding 300,000 barrels. 

2<>. (z) Taconite ore processing plants. 
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2:1-. (aa) Glass fiber processing plants. 

28-, (bb) Charcoal production plants. 

fb1 (2} Notwithstanding the stationary source size 
specified in subdivision ~ a (1) of this definition, 
stationary source which emits, or has the potential to 
emit, 250 tons per year or more of any air pollutant 
subject to regulation under the federal Clean Air Act; 
or 

\G) (3) Any physical change that would occur at a 
stationary source not otherwise qualifying under 
subdivision ~ a (1) or (41tb1 a (2) of this definition 
as a major stationary source, if the change would 
constitute a major stationary source by itself. 

~ b. A major stationary source that is major for volatile 
organic compounds shall be considered major for ozone. 

~ c. The fugitive emissions of a stationary source shall 
not be included in determining for any of the purposes of 
this se<J!km arb'c/e whether it is a major stationary 
source, unless the source belongs to one of the following 
categories of stationary sources: 

{a) (1) Coal cleaning plants (with thermal dryers). 

fb1 (2) .Kraft pulp mills. 

\G) (3) Portland cement plants. 

W (4} Primary zinc smelters. 

{e) (5) Iron and steel mills. 

W (6) Primary aluminum ore reduction plants. 

ffi) (7) Primary copper smelters. 

W (8) Municipal incinerators capable of charging more 
than 250 tons of refuse per day. 

til {9) Hydrofluoric, sulfuric, or nitric acid plants. 

Bj (10) Petroleum refineries. 

fl<) (11) Lime plants. 

{I) (12) Phosphate rock processing plants. 

*m1 (13) Coke oven batteries. 

W (14) Sulfur recovery plants. 

{a) (15) Carbon black plants (furnace process). 

Wl (16) Primary lead smelters. 

t<f1 (17) Fuel conversion plants. 

fF) (18) Sintering plants. 

\G) (19) Secondary metal production plants. 

{I) (20) Chemical process plants. 

M (21) Fossil-fuel boilers (or combination of them) 
totaling more than 250 million British thermal units per 
hour heat input. 

{v) (22) Petroleum storage and transfer units with a 
total storage capacity exceeding 300,000 barrels. 
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i;N1 (23) Taconite ore processing plants. 

W (24) Glass fiber processing plants. 

M (25) Charcoal production plants. 

W (26) Fossil fuel-fired steam electric plants of more 
that 250 million British thermal units per hour heat 
input. 

~ (27) Any other stationary source category which, 
as of August 7, 1980, is being regulated under &Giioo 
§ 111 or § 112 of the federal Clean Air Act. 

"Necessary preconstruction approvals or pennits" means 
those permits or approvals required under federal air quality 
control laws and regulations, and those air quality control 
laws and regulations which are part of the applicable Slale 
lm~lemeAtatieA Pia A implementation plan. 

"Net emissions increase" meaRS: 

fB a. Means the amount by which the sum of the 
following exceeds zero: 

{a) (1) Any increase in actual emissions from a 
particular physical change or change in the method of 
operation at a stationary source; and 

fb1 (2) Any other increases and decreases in actual 
emissions at the source that are contemporaneous 
with the particular change and are otherwise 
creditable. 

~ b. An increase or decrease in actual emissions is 
contemporaneous with the increase from the particular 
change only if it occurs between: 

{a) (1) The date five years before construction on the 
particular change commences; and 

fb1 (2) The date that the increase from the particular 
change occurs. 

fd1 c. An increase or decrease in actual emissions is 
creditable only if the board has not relied on it in issuing 
a permit for the source under this seGlien article (or the 
administrator under 40 CFR 52.21), which permit is in 
effect when the increase in actual emissions from the 
particular change occurs. 

W d. An increase or decrease in actual emissions of 
sulfur dioxide, particulate matter, or nitrogen oxides 
which occurs before the applicable minor source 
baseline date is creditable only if it is required to be 
considered in calculating the amount of maximum 
allowable increases remaining available. With respect to 
particulate matter, only PM10 emissions can be used to 
evaluate the net emissions increase for PM10. 

~ e. An increase in actual emissions is creditable only 
to the extent that the new level of actual emissions 
exceeds the old level. 

(6) f. A decrease in actual emissions is creditable only to 
the extent that: 
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(a) (1) The old level of actual emissions or the old level 
of allowable emissions, whichever is lower, exceeds 
the new level of actual emissions; 

{Ill (2) It is federally and state enforceable at and after 
the time that actual construction on the particular 
change begins; and 

(a) (3) It has approximately the same qualitative 
significance for public health and welfare as that 
attributed to the increase from the particular change. 

f71 g. An increase that results from a physical change at 
a source occurs when the emissions unit on which 
construction occurred becomes operational and begins 
Ia emit a particular pollutant. Any replacement unit that 
requires shakedown becomes operational only after a 
reasonable shakedown period, not to exceed 180 days. 

"Potential to emit" means the maximum capacity of a 
stationary source to emit a pollutant under its physical and 
operational design. Any physical or operational limitation on 
the capacity of the source to emit a pollutant, including air 
pollution control equipment, and restrictions on hours of 
operation or on the type or amount of material combusted, 
stored, or processed, shall be treated as part of its design if 
the limitation or the effect it would have on emissions is 
federally and state enforceable. Secondary emissions do not 
count in determining the potential to emit of a stationary 
source. 

"Secondary emissions" means emissions which would 
occur as a result of the construction or operation of a major 
stationary source or major modification, but do not come from 
the major stationary source or major modification itself. For 
the purpose of this se<>li<m article, secondary emissions must 
be specific, well defined, quantifiable, and impacl the same 
general area as the stationary source or modification which 
causes the secondary emissions. Secondary emissions 
include emissions from any offsite support facility which 
would not be constructed or increase its emissions except as 
a result of the construction or operation of the major 
stationary source or major modification. Secondary emissions 
do not include any emissions which come directly from a 
mobile source, such as emissions from the tailpipe of a motor 
vehicle, from a train, or from a vessel. 

"Significant": 

f4 a. Means, in reference to a net emissions increase or 
the potential of a source to emit any of the following 
pollutants, a rate of emissions that would equal or 
exceed any of the following rates: 

Pollutant 

Carbon Dioxide 

Nitrogen Oxides 

Sulfur Dioxide 

Particulate Matter (TSP) 

PM10 

Ozone 

Emissions Rate 

1 00 tons per year (tpy) 

40tpy 

40tpy 

25tpy 

15 tpy 

40 tpy of volatile 
organic compounds 

Lead 

Asl3estos 

gerylliurn 

Mercury 

Vinyl Celeride 

Fluorides 

Sulfuric Acid Mist 

Hydrogen Sulfide (H,S) 

Total Reduced Sulfur 
(including H,S) 

Reduced Sulfur Compounds 
(including H2S) 

Municipal waste combustor 
Organics (measured as total 
tetra- through acta-chlorinated 
dibenzo-p-dioxins and 
dibenzofurans) 

Municipal waste combustor 
metals (measured as 
particulate matter) 

Municipal waste combustor 
acid gases (measured as the 
sum of S02 and HC1) 
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0.6 tpy 

0.007 tpy 

0.0004 tpy 

0.1 tpy 

1 tpy 

3 tpy 

7 tpy 

10 tpy 

10 tpy 

10 tpy 

3.5 X 10"' tpy 

15 tpy 

40tpy 

f21 b. Means, in reference to a net emissions increase or 
the potential of a source to emit a pollutant subject to 
regulation under the federal Clean Air Act that 
subdivision 01 a of this definition does not list, any 
emissions rate. 

fJ) c. Notwithstanding subdivision 01 a of this definition, 
means any emissions rate or any net emissions increase 
associated with a major stationary source or major 
modification, which would construct within 10 kilometers 
of a Class I area, and have an impact on such area 
equal to or greater than 1~tglm3 (24-hour average). 

"Stationary source" means any building, structure, facility, 
or installation which emits or may emit any air pollutant 
subject to regulation under the federal Clean Air Act. 

G, 9 VAC 5-80-1720. General. 

-1-o A. No owner or other person shall begin actual 
construction of any major stationary source or major 
modification without first obtaining from the board a permit to 
construct and operate such source. 

.&. B. No owner or other person shall relocate any 
emissions unit subject to the provisions of 9 VAC 5-20-160 
without first obtaining a permit from the board to relocate the 
unit. 

J.c C. Prior to the decision of the board, all permit 
applications will be subject to a public comment period; a 
public hearing will be held as provided in s"9sestien R ef this 
se<>1i<m 9 VAG 5-80-1870. 
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4-, D. The board may combine the requirements of and the 
permits for emissions units within a stationary source subject 
to 9 VAG 5-80-10, Q VAG 6 8Q 2Q, aml 9 VAG 5-80-30, and 
this article into one permit. Likewise the board may require 
that applications for permits for emissions units within a 
stationary source required by 9 VAG 5-80-10, Q V-1\C 6 8Q 2Q, 
aA<I 9 VAG 5-80-30, and this article be combined into one 
application. 

~ 9 VAC 5-80-1730. Ambient air increments. 

In areas designated as class I, II or Ill, increases in 
pollutant concentration over the baseline concentration shall 
be limited to the following: 

MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE INCREASE 
(micrograms per cubic meter) 

Class I 

Particulate matter: 

TSP, aRR"al §eOFHetris FHean 

1Q 

PM1o, annual arithmetic mean --------------------------- 4 

PM10, 24-hour maximum------------------------------------ 8 

Sulfur dioxide: 

Annual arithmetic mean ------------------------------------ 2 

24-hour maximum ------------------------------------------- 5 

Three-hour maximum '------------------------------------- 25 

Nitrogen dioxide: 

Annual arithmetic mean ------------------------------------ 2.5 

Class II 

Particulate matter: 

TSP, aRR"al §eoFHetris FHean 19 

:l7 

PM1o, annual arithmetic mean --------------------------- 17 

PM1o, 24-hour maximum----------------------------------- 30 

Sulfur dioxide: 

Annual arithmetic mean ----------------------------------- 20 

24-hour maximum ------------------------------------------ 91 

Three-hour maximum ------------------------------------ 512 

Nitrogen dioxide: 

Annual arithmetic mean ----------------------------------- 25 

Class Ill 

Particulate matter: 

TSP, aAAI:lal €JOSFRetFiG maaR 37 

7§ 

PM1o, annual geometric mean --------------------------- 34 
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PM1o, 24-hour maximum--------------------------------- 60 

Sulfur dioxide: 

Annual arithmetic mean ---------------------------------- 40 

24-hour maximum ---------------------------------------- 182 

Three-hour maximum ----------------------------------- 700 

Nitrogen dioxide: 

Annual arithmetic mean ---------------------------------- 50 

For any period other than an annual period, the applicable 
maximum allowable increase may be exceeded during one 
such period per year at any one location. 

€.. 9 VAC 5-80-1740. Ambient air ceilings. 

No concentration of a pollutant shall exceed: 

1. The concentration permitted under the national 
secondary ambient air quality standard, or 

2. The concentration permitted under the national 
primary ambient air quality standard, whichever 
concentration is lowest for the pollutant for a period of 
exposure. 

f., 9 VAC 5-80-1750. Applications. 

+. A. A single application is required identifying at a 
minimum each emissions point within the emissions unit 
subject to this se6lioo article. The application shall be 
submitted according to procedures approved by the board. 
However, where several emissions units are included in one 
project, a single application covering all units in the project 
may be submitted. A separate application is required for 
each location. 

;;?, B. For projects with phased development, a single 
application may be submitted covering the entire project. 

;;?, C. Any application form, report, or compliance 
certification submitted to the board shall be signed by a 
responsible official. A responsible official is defined as 
follows: 

a, 1. For a business entity, such as a corporation, 
association or cooperative, a responsible official is 
either: 

~ a. The president, secretary, treasurer, or a vice­
president of the business entity in charge of a principal 
business function, or any other person who performs 
similar policy or decision-making functions for the 
business entity; or 

~ b. A duly authorized representative of such 
business entity if the representative is responsible for 
the overall operation of one or more manufacturing, 
production, or operating facilities applying for or 
subject to a permit and either (i) the facilities employ 
more than 250 persons or have gross annual sales or 
expenditures exceeding $25 million (in second quarter 
1980 dollars), or (ii) the authority to sign documents 
has been assigned or delegated to such 
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representative in accordance with procedures of the 
business entity. 

b. 2. For a partnership or sole proprietorship, a 
responsible official is a general partner or the proprietor, 
respectively. 

c, 3. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 
agency, a responsible official is either a principal 
executive officer or ranking elected official. A principal 
executive officer of a federal agency includes the chief 
executive olflcer having responsibility for the overall 
operations of a principal geographic unit e! of the 
agency. 

4, 0. Any person signing a document under subdivisieR F 
;H;Seve subsection G of this section shall make the following 
certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to 
assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

. evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 
of the person or persons who manage the system, or 
those persons directly responsible for gathering and 
evaluating the information, the information submitted is, 
to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, 
and complete. I am aware that there are significant 
penalties for submitting false information, including the 
possibility of fine and imprisonment for knowing 
violations." 

E. Subsection D of this section shall be interpreted to 
mean that the signer must have some form of direction· or 
supeiVision over the persons gathering the data and 
preparing the document (the preparers), although the signer 
need not personally nor directly supervise these activities. 
The signer need not be in the same [ oorpoFate ] line of 
authotity as the preparers, nor do the persons gathering the 
data and preparing the fonn need to be [ GO!IlfJaRJ' ] 
employees (e.g., outside contractors can be used). It is 
sufficient that the signer has authority to assure that the 
necessary actions are taken to prepare a complete and 
accurate document. 

IJ,--A£-f"'fuiFe<J F. Unless waived under§ 10.1-1321.1 of 
the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law, applications shall not 
be deemed complete unless the applicant has provided a 
notice from the locality in which the source is located or is to 
be located that the site and operation of the source are 
consistent with all local ordinances adopted pursuant to 
Chapter 11 (§ 15.1-427 et seq.) of Title 15.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

G, 9 VAC 5-80-1760. Compliance with local zoning 
requirements. 

The owner shall comply in all respects with any existing 
zoning ordinances and regulations in the locality in which the 
source is lo'caied or proposes to be located; provided, 
however, that such compliance does not relieve the board of 
its duty under 9 VAC 5-20-140 ef tl1ese re§ulaV.ens and § 
10.1-1307 E of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law to 
independently consider relevant facts and circumstances. 
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J.h 9 VAC 5-80-1770. Compliance determination and 
verification by performance testing. 

-'h A. For stationary sources other than those specified in 
s"l>ei•<isieA II 2 subsection 8 of this section, compliance with 
standards of performance shall be determined in accordance 
with the provisions of 9 VAG 5-50-20 and shall be verified by 
performance tests in accordance with the provisions of 9 VAG 
5-50-30. 

2. B. For stationary sources of hazardous air pollutants, 
compliance with emission standards shall be determined in 
accordance with the provisions of 9 VAG 5-60-20 and shall 
be verified by emission tests in accordance with the 
provisions of 9 VAG 5-60-30. 

3. C. Testing required by wb<!ivisieRs ~ 1 aRd 2 
subsections A and 8 of this section shall be conducted within 
60 days by the owner after achieving the maximum 
production rate at which the new or modified source will be 
operated, but not later than 180 days after initial startup of 
the source; and 60 days thereafter the board shall be 
provided by the owner with two or, upon request, more copies 
of a written report of the results of the tests. 

4, D. For sources subject to the provisions of Rule 5-5 (9 
VAG 5-50-400 et seq.) or 6-1 (9 VAG 5-60-60 et seq.), the 
requirements of s"l:>divisiens ~ 1 !oreu§h ;J subsections A 
through G of this section shall be met in all cases. 

a, E. For sources other than those specified in wB<JjvisffiR 
1+-4 subsection D of this section, the requirements of 
SlffidivisieRs ~ 1 threU§A 3 subsections A through G of this 
section shall be met unless the board: 

a- 1. Specifies or approves, in specific cases, the use of 
a reference method with minor changes in methodology; 

& 2. Approves the use of an equivalent method; 

&. 3. Approves the use of an alternative method, the 
results of which the board has determined to be 
adequate for indicating whether a specific source is in 
compliance; 

4 4. Waives the requirement for testing because, based 
upon a technical evaluation of the past performance of 
similar source types, using similar control methods, the 
board reasonably expects the new or modified source to 
perform in compliance with applicable standards; or 

a, 5. Waives the requirement for testing because the 
owner of the source has demonstrated by other means 
to the board's satisfaction that the source is in 
compliance with the applicable standard. 

&.. F. The provisions for the granting of waivers under 
s"bdivisieR ~ 5 subsection E of this section are intended for 
use in determining the initial compliance status of a source, 
and the granting of a waiver does not obligate the board to do 
so for determining compliance once the source has been in 
operation for more than one year beyond the initial startup 
date. 

h 9 VAG 5-80-1780. Stack heights. 

The provisions of 9 VAG 5-50-20 H apply. 
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.h 9 VAC 5-80-1790. Review of major stationary sources 
and major modifications source applicability and 
exemptions. 

4. A No stationary source or modification to which the 
requirements of s"llsestiens K !hro"gh S ef IRis sestieA 9 
VAG 5-80-1800 through 9 VAG 5-80-1880 apply shall begin 
actual construction without a permit which states that the 
stationary source or modification would meet those 
requirements. The board has authority to issue any such 
permit. 

2cc B. The requirements of s"eses!ieAS K IAF9"§A S ef !his 
seGlieA 9 VAG 5-80-1800 through 9 VAG 5-80-1880 shall 
apply to any major stationary source and any major 
modification with respect to each pollutant subject to 
regulation under the federal Clean Air Act that it would emit, 
except as this seGlieA article otherwise provides. 

3. C. The requirements of s"!Jses!ieAs K !hFe"§A S ef this 
seGlieA 9 VAG 5-80-1800 through 9 VAG 5-80-1880 apply 
only to any major stationary source or major modification that 
would be constructed in an area designated as attainment or 
unclassifiable under§ 107 (d) (1) (C) of the federal Clean Air 
Act. 

4. D. The requirements of s"llsestiens K lhFe"gh S ef this 
seslioo 9 VAG 5-80-1800 through 9 VAG 5-80-1880 shall not 
apply to a particular major stationary source or major 
modification if: 

&. 1. The source or modification would be a nonprofit 
health or nonprofit educational institution, or a major 
modification would occur at such an institution; or 

l>c 2. The source or modification would be a major 
stationary source or major modification only if fugitive 
emissions, to the extent quantifiable, are considered in 
calculating the potential to emit of the stationary source 
or modification and the source does not belong to any of 
the following categories: 

fl1 a. Coal cleaning plants (with thermal dryers). 

t;l) b. Kraft pulp mills. 

f'1 c. Portland cement plants. 

01 d. Primary zinc smelters. 

tat e. Iron and steel mills. 

~ f. Primary aluminum ore reduction plants. 

f7t g. Primary copper smelters. 

fll1 h. Municipal incinerators capable of charging more 
than 250 tons of refuse per day. 

tQ) i. Hydrofluoric acid plants. 

fW) j. Sulfuric acid plants. 

f-1-41 k. Nitric acid plants. 

f'h<) I. Petroleum refineries. 

~ m. Lime plants. 

fMl n. Phosphate rock processing plants. 
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~ a. Coke oven batteries . 

M p. Sulfur recovery plants. 

f-1-7) q. Carbon black plants (furnace process). 

f'l1l1 r. Primary lead smelters. 

ftll1 s. Fuel conversion plants. 

~ t. Sintering plants. 

\241 u. Secondary metal production plants. 

~ v. Chemical process plants. 

~ w. Fossil-fuel boilers (or combination of them) 
totaling more than 250 million British thermal units per 
hour heat input. 

(:!41 x. Petroleum storage and transfer units with a 
total storage capacity exceeding 300,000 barrels. 

~ y. Taconite ore processing plants. 

~ z. Glass fiber processing plants. 

~ aa. Charcoal production plants. 

~ bb. Fossil fuel-fired steam electric plants of more 
than 250 million British thermal units per hour heat 
input. 

~ cc. Any other stationary source category which, 
as of August 7, 1980, is being regulated under SeGlioo 
§ 111 or § 112 of the federal Clean Air Act; or 

<n 3. The source or modification is a portable stationary 
source which has previously received a permit under this 
seGlieA article: 

fl1 a. The owner proposes to relocate the source and 
emissions of the source at the new location would be 
temporary; 

t;l) b. The emissions from the source would not 
exceed its allowable emissions; 

f>1 c. The emissions from the source would impact no 
class I area and no area where an applicable 
increment is known to be violated; and 

01 d. Reasonable notice is given to the board prior to 
the relocation identifying the proposed new location 
and the probable duration of operation at the new 
location. Such notice shall be given to the board not 
less than 10 days in advance of the proposed 
relocation unless a different time duration is previously 
approved by the board. 

lh E. The requirements of s"llses!ieAs K thre"§h S ef tl1is 
seGlieA 9 VAC 5-80-1800 through 9 VAG 5-80-1880 shall not 
apply to a major stationary source or major modification with 
respect to a particular pollutant if the owner demonstrates 
that, as to that pollutant, the source or modification is located 
in an area designated as nonattainment under Seetioo § 107 
of the federal Clean Air Act. 

€h F. The requirements of s"bsestieAs b, ~~ aAa P of this 
seGlieA 9 VAG 5-80-1810, 9 VAG 5-80-1830, and 9 VAC 5-
80-1850 shall not apply to a major stationary source or major 
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modification witt1 respect to a particular pollutant, if the 
allowable emissions of that pollutant from the source, or the 
net emissions increase of that pollutant from the modification: 

a, 1. Would impact no class I area and no area where 
an applicable increment is known to be violated, and 

1>. 2. Would be temporary. 

f. G. The requirements of stlllsections b, ~I and P of this 
seG!ioo 9 VAG 5-80-1810, 9 VAG 5-80-1830, and 9 VAG 5-
80-1850 as they relate to any maximum allowable increase 
for a class II area shall not apply to a major modification at a 
stationary source that was in existence on March 1, 1978, if 
the net increase in allowable emissions of each pollutant 
subject to regulation under the federal Clean Air Act from the 
modification alter the application of best available control 
technology would be less than 50 tons per year. 

& H. The board may exempt a stationary source or 
modification from the requirements of s"sseotien N ef t~is 
seslioo 9 VAG 5-80-1830 with respect to monitoring for a 
particular pollutant if: 

a, 1. The emissions increase of the pollutant from the 
new source or the net emissions increase of the pollutant 
from the modification would cause, in any area, air 
quality impacts less than the following amounts: 

Carbon monoxide- 575J1glm3
, 8-hour average 

Nitrogen dioxide- 14Jiglm3
, annual average 

+HoOJt:aaf-1 ~""'"""'IP><O>FR><dl€eKldf-lplialfrt!l<i ""'""laatl€e>---'1l10J-..c;tlt§'§•lfR' m', 2 ~ ~ e s r 
ffi<efa!je 

P.M"" 19 ;tglm', 24 ~ssr average 

Parliculate matter- 13 f1glm3 of PM to, 24-hour average 

Sulfur dioxide- 13J1glm3
, 24-hour average 

Ozone4 

Lead·· 0.1,uglm3
, 3-month average 

Mercury 0.25 ttglm3
, 24 hesr average 

~"' 0.001 tt§lm', 24 ~esr average 

Fluorides· 0.25,uglm3
, 24-hour average 

Vinyl s~IOOeo 1al'glm3
, 24 ~""'average 

Total reduced sulfur- 10 ,uglm3
, 1-hour average 

Hydrogen sulfide- 0.2,uglm3
, 1-hour average 

Reduced sulfur compounds - 10 !'91m3
, 1-hour 

average; or 

&. 2. The concentrations of the pollutant in the area that 
the source or modification would affect are less than the 
concentrations listed in subdivision [ J-8.-.a ] 1 of this 

1 No de minimis air quality level is provided for ozone. However, any net 
'Increase of 100 tons per year or more of volatile organic compounds subject to 
this s-estieA article would be required to perform an ambient impact analysis 
including the gathering of ambient air quality data. 
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seelioo subsection, or the pollutant is not listed in 
subdivision [ J-<l..a] 1 of this ses!iafl subsection. 

I. The permitting requirements [ eq~ivaleRt to these 
eoAtaiReri iA of] subsection B of 9 VAG 5-80-1810 shall not 
apply to a stationary source or modification with respect to 
any maximum allowable increase for PM to if: 

1. The owner of the source or modification submitted an 
application for a permit under 9 VAG 5-80-10, 9 VAG 5-
80-30, or this article before [ (lee olfeotive fiats ef ti>is 
ar#Gief June 3, 1994 ], and 

2. The board subsequently determined that the 
application as submitted before that date was complete. 
Instead, the applicable requirements [ eqEJivalent to of] 
subsection B of 9 VAG 5-80-1810 shall apply with 
respect to the maximum allowable increases for TSP as 
in effect on the date the application was submitted. 

!>;, 9 VAC 5-80-1800, Control technology review. 

4.. A. A major stationary source or major modification shall 
meet each applicable emissions limitation under the Stale 
lm~lemeetatioR PlaR implementation plan and each 
applicable emissions standard and standard of performance 
under 40 CFR Paris 60 and 61. 

;;>, B. A new major stationary source shall apply best 
available control technology for each pollutant subject to 
regulation under the federal Clean Air Act that it would have 
the potential to emit in significant amounts. 

~ C. A major modification shall apply best available 
control technology for each pollutant subject to regulation 
under the federal Clean Air Act for which it would result in a 
significant net emissions increase at the source. This 
requirement applies to each proposed emissions unit at 
which a net emissions increase in the pollutant would occur 
as a result of a physical change or change in the method of 
operation in the unit. 

4. D. For phased construction projects, the determination 
of best available control technology shall be reviewed and 
modified as appropriate at the latest reasonable time which 
occurs no later than 18 months prior to commencement of 
construction of each independent phase of the project. At 
such time, the owner of the applicable stationary source may 
be required to demonstrate the adequacy of any previous 
determination of best available control technology for the 
source. 

L. 9 VAC 5-80-1810. Source impact analysis. 

The owner of the proposed source or modification shall 
demonstrate that allowable emission increases from the 
proposed source or modification, in conjunction with all other 
applicable emissions increases or reductions (including 
secondary emissions), would not cause or contribute to air 
pollution in violation of: 

1. Any national ambient air quality standard in any air 
quality control region; or 

2. Any applicable maximum allowable increase over the 
baseline concentration in any area. 
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M, 9 VAC 5-80-1820. Air quality models. 

-1-, A. All estiA'!ales ef aA'!sient sensentmtiens Fe~uiFea 
Hfl<leF applications of air quality modeling involved in this 
5eGlloo article shall be based on the applicable air quality 
models, data bases, and other requirements specified in IRe 
U.S. EnviFenmental PFelestien A§ensy Guiaeline, <;PA 4§012 
78 027R, Guiaeline en .'\iF Quality Meaels (see B VAG § 10 
20, /\~~enai>< M) Appendix W to 40 CFR Part 51. 

:h B. Where an air quality impact model specified in IRe 
Guiaeline en AiF Quality Meaels Appendix W to 40 CFR Part 
51 is inappropriate, the model may be modified or another 
model substituted. Such a modification or substitution of a 
model may be made on a case-by-case basis, or, where 
appropriate, on a generic basis for a specific state program. 
Written approval of the administrator must be obtained for 
any modification or substitution. In addition, use of a 
modified or substituted model must be subject to notice and 
opportunity for public comment under procedures developed 
in accordance with sussestien R ef this sestien 9 VAG 5-80-
1870. 

N. 9 VAC 5-80-1830. Air quality analysis. 

-1-, A. Preapplication analysis. 

a. 1. Any application for a permit under this seGtioo 
article shall contain an analysis of ambient air quality in 
the area that the major stationary source or major 
modification would affect for each of the following 
pollutants: 

fB a. For the source, each pollutant that it would have 
the potential to emil in a significant amount; 

~ b. For the modification, each pollutant for which it 
would result in a significant net emissions increase. 

bo 2. With respect to any such pollutant for which no 
national ambient air quality standard exists, the analysis 
shall contain such air quality monitoring data as the 
board determines is necessary to assess ambient air 
quality for that pollutant in any area that the emissions of 
that pollutant would affect. 

s, 3. With respect to any such pollutant (other than 
nonmethane hydrocarbons) for which such a standard 
does exist, the analysis shall contain continuous air 
quality monitoring data gathered for purposes of 
determining whether emissions of that pollutant would 
cause or contribute to a violation of the standard or any 
maximum allowable increase. 

4 4. In general, the continuous air quality monitoring 
data that is required shall have been gathered over a 
period of at least one year and shall represent at least 
the year preceding receipt of the application, except that, 
if the board determines that a complete and adequate 
analysis can be accomplished with monitoring data 
gathered over a period shorter than one year (but not to 
be less than four months), the data that is required shall 
have been gathered over at least that shorter period. 

e. 5. The owner of a proposed stationary source or 
modification of volatile organic compounds who satisfies 
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all conditions of Section IV of Appendix S to 40 CFR Part 
51 may provide post-approval monitoring data for ozone 
in lieu of providing preconstruction data as required 
under susaivisien N 1 subsection A of this section. 

:h B. Post-construction monitoring. The owner of a major 
stationary source or major modification shall, after 
construction of the stationary source or modification, conduct 
such ambient monitoring as the board determines is 
necessary to determine the effect emissions from the 
stationary source or modification may have, or are having, on 
air quality in any area. 

~ C. Operation of monitoring stations. The owner of a 
major stationary source or major modification shall meet the 
requirements of Appendix 8 to 40 CFR Part 58 during the 
operation of monitoring stations for purposes of satisfying 
subsestien ~I ef this section. 

G. 9 VAC 5-80-1840. Source information. 

The owner of a proposed source or modification shall 
submit all information necessary to perform any analysis or 
make any determination required under this seGtioo article. 

1. With respect to a source or modification to which 
subsestiens K, b, N ana P ef this sestien 9 VAG 5-80-1800, 9 
VAG 5-80-1810, 9 VAG 5-80-1830, and 9 VAG 5-80-1850 
apply, such information shall include: 

a. A description of the nature, location, design capacity, 
and typical operating schedule of the source or 
modification, including specifications and drawings 
showing its design and plant layout; 

b. A detailed schedule for construction of the source or 
modification; 

c. A detailed description as to what system of 
continuous emission reduction is planned for the source 
or modification, emission estimates, and any other 
information necessary to determine that best available 
control technology would be applied. 

2. Upon request of the board, the owner shall also provide 
information on: 

a. The air quality impact of the source or modification, 
including meteorological and topographical data 
necessary to estimate such impact; and 

b. The air quality impacts, and the nature and extent of 
any or all general commercial, residential, industrial, and 
other growth which has occurred since the baseline date 
in the area the source or modification would affect. 

P. 9 VAC 5-80-1850. Additional impact analyses. 

-1-, A. The owner shall provide an analysis of the 
impairment to visibility, soils and vegetation that would occur 
as a result of the source or modification and general 
commercial, residential, industrial and other growth 
associated with the source or modification. The owner need 
not provide an analysis of the impact on vegetation having no 
significant commercial or recreational value. 

:h B. The owner shall provide an analysis of the air quality 
impact projected for the area as a result of general 
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commercial, residential, industrial and other growth 
associated with the source or modification. 

~ C. The board may require monitoring of visibility in any 
federal class I area near the proposed new stationary source 
or major modification for such purposes and by such means 
as the board deems necessary and appropriate. 

Q.c 9 VAC 5-80-1860. Sources impacting federal class I 
areas -additional requirements. 

~A Notice to administrator. The board shall transm'it to 
the administrator a copy of each permit application relating to 
a major stationary source or major modification and provide 
notice to the administrator of the following actions related to 
the consideration of such permit: 

;r. 1. Notification of the permit application status as 
provided in wi:>division R 1 of tllis sestion subsection A 
of 9 VAG 5-80-1870. 

lh 2. Notification of the public comment period on the 
application as provided in s"llEiivisioR R e e of tllis 
&eslioo subdivision F 5 of 9 VAG 5-80-1870. 

s- 3. Notification of the final determination on the 
application and issuance of the permit as provided in 
subdivisien R 6 i efli>is seGlion subdivision F 9 of 9 VAG 
5-80-1870. 

4 4. Notification of any other action deemed appropriate 
by the board. 

b B. Notice to federal land managers. The board shall 
provide written notice of any permit application for a proposed 
major stationary source or major modification, the emissions 
from which may affect a class I area, to the federal land 
manager and the federal official charged with direct 
responsibility for management of any lands within any such 
area. Such notification shall include a copy of all information 
relevant to the permit application and shall be given within 30 
days of receipt and at least 60 days prior to any public 
hearing on the application for a permit to construct. Such 
notification shall include an analysis of the proposed source's 
anticipated impacts on visibility in the federal class I area. 
The board shall also provide the federal land manager and 
such federal officials with a copy of the preliminary 
determination required under si:Ji3seotion R of this section 9 
VAG 5-80-1870, and shall make available to them any 
materials used in making that determination, promptly after 
the board makes such determination. Finally, the board shall 
also notify all affected federal land managers within 30 days 
of receipt of any advance notification of any such permit 
application. 

~ C. Federal land manager. The federal land manager 
and the federal official charged with direct responsibility for 
management of such lands have an affirmative responsibility 
to protect the air quality related values (including visibility) of 
such lands and to consider, in consultation with the board, 
whether a proposed source or modification will have an 
adverse impact on such values. 

4., D. Visibility analysis. The board shall consider any 
analysis performed by the federal land manager, provided 
within 30 days of the notification required by s"IJEiivisien Q 2 
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subsection B of this section, that shows that a proposed new 
major stationary source or major modification may have an 
adverse impact on visibility in any federal class I area. 
Where the board finds that such an analysis does not 
demonstrate to the satisfaction of the board that an adverse 
impact on visibility will result in the federal class I area, the 
board must, in the notice of public hearing on the permit 
application, either explain this decision or give notice as to 
where the explanation can be obtained. 

;;., E. Denial - impact on air quality related values. The 
federal land manager of any such lands may demonstrate to 
the board that the emissions from a proposed source or 
modification would have an adverse impact on the air qual"ity­
related values (including visibility) of those lands, 
notwithstanding that the change in air quality resulting from 
emissions from such source or modification would not cause 
or contribute to concentrations which would exceed the 
maximum allowable increases for a class I area. If the board 
concurs with such demonstration, then it shall not issue the 
permit. 

&.. F. Class I variances. The owner of a proposed source 
or modification may demonstrate to the federal land manager 
that the emissions from such source or modification would 
have no adverse impact on the air quality related values of 
any such lands (including visibility), notwithstanding that the 
change in air quality resulting from emissions from such 
source or modification would cause or contribute to 
concentrations which would exceed the maximum allowable 
increases for a class I area. If the federal land manager 
concurs with such demonstration and so certifies, the board 
may, provided that the applicable requirements of this &eslioo 
article are otherwise met, issue the permit with such emission 
limitations as may be necessary to assure that emissions of 
sulfur dioxide particulate matter, and nitrogen oxides would 
not exceed the following maximum allowable increases over 
minor source baseline concentration for such pollutants: 

MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE INCREASE 
(micrograms per cubic meter) 

Particulate matter: 

TSP, ann"al geernetrie mean 19 

37 

PM10, annual geometric mean ----------------------------- 17 

PM,,, 24-hour maximum ------------------------------------ 30 

Sulfur dioxide: 

Annual arithmetic mean ------------------------------------- 20 

24-hou r maximum --------------------------------------------- 91 

Three-hour maximum -------------------------------------- 325 

Nitrogen dioxide: 

Annual arithmetic mean ------------------------------------- 25 

+, G. Sulfur dioxide variance by governor with federal land 
manager's concurrence. The owner of a proposed source or 
modification which cannot be approved under suiJEiivision Q e 
subsection F of this section may demonstrate to the governor 

Virginia Register of Regulations 

544 



Final Regulations 

that the source cannot be constructed by reason of any 
maximum allowable increase for sulfur dioxide for a period of 
24 hours or less applicable to any class I area and, in the 
case of federal mandatory class I areas, that a variance 
under this clause would not adversely affect the air quality 
related values of the area (including visibility). The governor, 
after consideration of the federal land manager's 
recommendation (if any) and subject to the federal land 
manager's concurrence, may, after notice and public hearing, 
grant a variance from such maximum allowable increase. If 
such variance is granted, the board shall issue a permit to 
such source or modification pursuant to the requirements of 
s~llai•<'isieR Q 9 subsection I of this section, provided that the 
applicable requirements of this seslieR article are otherwise 
met. 

lh H. Variance by the governor with the president's 
concurrence. In any case whether the governor recommends 
a variance in which the federal land manager does not 
concur, the recommendations of the governor and the federal 
land manager shall be transmitted to the president. The 
president may approve the governor's recommendation if he 
finds that the variance is in the national interest. If the 
variance is approved, the board shall issue a permit pursuant 
to the requirements of s~saivisieA Q 9 subsection I of this 
section, provided that the applicable requirements of this 
seslioo article are otherwise met. 

9. I. Emission limitations for presidential or gubernatorial 
variance. In the case of a permit issued pursuant to 
suiJ<livisieA Q 7 er 8 subsection G or H of this section the 
source or modification shall comply with such emission 
limitations as may be necessary to assure that emissions of 
sulfur dioxide from the source or modification would not 
(during any day on which the otherwise applicable maximum 
allowable increases are exceeded) cause or contribute to 
concentrations which would exceed the following maximum 
allowable increases over the baseline concentration and to 
assure that such emissions would not cause or contribute to 
concentrations which exceed the otherwise applicable 
maximum allowable increases for periods of exposure of 24 
hours or less for more than 18 days, not necessarily 
consecutive, during any annual period: 

MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE INCREASE 
(micrograms per cubic meter) 

Period of exposure 

24whour maximum 
3-hour maximum 

Low terrain 
areas 

36 
130 

R, 9 VAC 5-80-1870. Public participation. 

High terrain 
areas 

62 
221 

-'k A. Within 30 days after receipt of an application the 
board shall notify the applicant of the status of the 
application. The notification of the initial determination with 
regard to the status of the application shall be provided by 
the board in writing and shall include (i) a determination as to 
which provisions of 9 VAG a BG 1 G et se~. this chapter are 
applicable, (ii) the identification of any deficiencies, and (iii) a 
determination as to whether the application contains 
sufficient information to begin application review. The 
determination that the application has sufficient information to 
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begin review is not necessarily a determination that it is 
complete. Within 30 days after receipt of any additional 
information, the board shall notify the applicant of any 
deficiencies in such information. The date of receipt of a 
complete application shall be, for the purpose of this seslieR 
article, the date on which the board received all required 
information. 

:!, B. No later than 30 days after receiving the initial 
determination notification required under ""edivisiee R 1 
subsection A of this section, the applicant shall notify the 
public about the proposed source as required in sueai•.•isioA 
~ subsection C of this section. The applicant shall also 
provide an informational briefing about the proposed source 
for the public as required in suedivisieA R 4 subsection 0 of 
this section. 

3, C. The public notice required under .OOEiivisiee R 2 
subsection B of this section shall be placed by the applicant 
in at least one newspaper of general circulation in the 
affected air quality control region. The notice shall be 
approved by the board and shall include, but not be limited 
to, the name, location, and type of the source, and the time 
and place of the information briefing. 

+.D. The informational briefing shall be held in the locality 
where the source is or will be located and at least 30 days, 
but no later than 60 days, following the day of the publication 
of the public notice in the newspaper. The applicant shall 
inform the public about the operation and potential air quality 
impact of the source and answer any questions concerning 
air quality about the proposed source from those in 
attendance at the briefing. At a minimum, the applicant shall 
provide information on and answer questions about (i) 
specific pollutants and the total quantity of each which the 
applicant estimates will be emitted and (ii) the control 
technology proposed to be used at the time of the 
informational briefing. Representatives from the board shall 
attend and provide information and answer questions on the 
permit application review process. 

~E. Upon a determination by the board that it will achieve 
the desired results in an equally effective manner, an 
applicant for a permit may implement an alternative plan for 
notifying the public as required in s"eEiivisioe R 3 subsection 
C of this section and for providing the informational briefing 
as required in sullaivisiee R 4 subsection 0 of this section. 

lh F. Within one year after receipt of a complete 
application, the board shall make a final determination on the 
application. This involves performing the following actions in 
a timely manner: 

& 1. Make a preliminary determination whether 
construction should be approved, approved with 
conditions, or disapproved. 

Jr. 2. Make available in at least one location in each air 
quality control region in which the proposed source or 
modification would be constructed a copy of all materials 
the applicant submitted, a copy of the preliminary 
determination and a copy or summary of other materials, 
if any, considered in making the preliminary 
determination. 
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& 3. If appropriate, hold a public briefing on the 
preliminary determination prior to the public comment 
period but no later than the day before the beginning of 
the public comment period. The board shall notify the 
public of the time and place of the briefing, by 
advertisement in a newspaper of general circulation in 
the air quality control region in which the proposed 
source or modification would be constructed. The 
notification shall be published at least 30 days prior to 
the day of the briefing. 

<h 4. Notify the public, by advertisement in a newspaper 
of general circulation in each region in which the 
proposed source or modification would be constructed, 
of the application, the preliminary determination, the 
degree of increment consumption that is expected from 
the source or modification, and the opportunity for 
comment at a public hearing as well as written public 
comment. The notification shall contain a statement of the 
estimated local impact of the proposed source or 
modification, which at a minimum shall provide infonnation 
regarding specific pollutants and the total quantity of each 
which may be emitted, and shall list the type and quantity 
of any fuels to be used. The notification shall be 
published at least 30 days prior to the day of the hearing. 
Written comments shalf be accepted by the board for at 
least 15 days after any hearing, unless the board votes to 
shorten the period. 

eo 5. Send a copy of the notice of public comment to the 
applicant, the administrator and to officials and agencies 
having cognizance over the location where the proposed 
construction would occur as follows: local air pollution 
control agencies, the chief exemttives elected official and 
chief administrative officer of the city and county where 
the source or modification would be located and any 
other locality particularly affected, any G81fl~reeensive 
ffi§ieflal lane use plannin§ a§enoy the planning district 
commission and any state, federal land manager, or 
Indian governing body whose lands may be affected by 
emissions from the source or modification. 

f, 6. Provide opportunity for a public hearing for 
interested persons to appear and submit written or oral 
comments on the air quality impact of the source or 
modification, alternatives to the source or modification, 
the control technology required, and other appropriate 
considerations. 

g., 7. Consider all written comments submitted within a 
time specified in the notice of public comment and all 
comments received at any public hearings in making a 
final decision on the approvability of the application. No 
later than 10 days after the close of the public comment 
period, the applicant may submit a written response to 
any comments submitted by the public. The board shall 
consider the applicant's response in making a final 
decision. The board shall make all comments available 
for public inspection in the same locations where the 
board made available preconstruction information 
relating to the proposed source or modification. 
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fl., 8. Make a final determination whether construction 
should be approved, approved with conditions, or 
disapproved pursuant to this seeliefl article. 

h 9. Notify the applicant in writing of the final 
determination and make such notification available for 
public inspection at the same location where the board 
made available preconstruction information and public 
comments relating to the source or modification. 

So 9 VAC 5-80-1880. Source obligation. 

4-:- A. Any owner who constructs or operates a source or 
modification not in accordance (i) with the application 
submitted pursuant to this seGlioo article or (ii) with the terms 
and conditions of any permit to construct or operate, or any 
owner of a source or modification subject to this seGlioo 
article who commences construction or operation after the 
effective date of these regulations without applying for and 
receiving a permit hereunder, shall be subject to appropriate 
enforcement action including, but not limited to, any specified 
in sueseotieR Z ofti'lis seotien 9 VAG 5-80-1950. 

,;, B. Approval to construct shall become invalid if 
construction is not commenced within 18 months after receipt 
of such approval, if construction is discontinued for a period 
of 18 months or more, or if construction is not completed 
within a reasonable time. The board may extend the 18-
month period upon a satisfactory showing that an extension 
is justified. This provision does not apply to the time period 
between construction of the approved phases of a phased 
construction project; each phase must commence 
construction within 18 months of the projected and approved 
commencement date. 

~ C. Approval to construct shall not relieve any owner of 
the responsibility to comply fully with applicable provisions of 
the State llflrlementatien PlaR implementation plan and any 
other requirements under local, state or federal law. 

4 0. At such time that a particular source or modification 
becomes a major stationary source or major modification 
solely by virtue of a relaxation in any enforceable limitation 
which was established after August 7, 1980, on the capacity 
of the source or modification otherwise to emit a pollutant, 
such as a restriction on hours of operation, then the 
requirements of sueseotiens K ti'lre"gh S ef this seotien 9 
VAG 5-80-1800 through 9 VAG 5-80-1880 shall apply to the 
source or modification as though construction had not yet 
commenced on the source or modification. 

'h 9 VAC 5-80-1890. Environmental impact statements. 

Whenever any proposed source or modification is subject 
to action by a federal agency which might necessitate 
preparation of an environmental impact statement pursuant 
to the National Environmental Policy Act (42 USC § 4321), 
review conducted pursuant to this seGlioo article shall be 
coordinated by the administrator with the broad 
environmental reviews under that Act and under Se6Hoo § 
309 of the federal Clean Air Act to the maximum extent 
feasible and reasonable. 
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~ 9 VAC 5-80-1900. Disputed permits. 

If a permit is proposed to be issued for any major 
stationary source or major modification proposed for 
construction in any state which the governor of an affected 
state or Indian governing body of an affected tribe determines 
will cause or contribute to a cumulative change in air quality 
in excess of that allowed in this part within the affected state 
or Indian reservation, the governor or indian governing body 
may request the administrator to enter into negotiations with 
the persons involved to resolve such dispute. If requested by 
any state or Indian governing body involved, the administrator 
shall make a recommendation to resolve the dispute and 
protect the air quality related values of the lands involved. If 
the persons involved do not reach agreement, the 
administrator shall resolve the dispute. The administrator's 
determination, or the results of agreements reached through 
other means, shall become part of the applicable Slate 
lmplemeelatioA Plae implementation plan and shall be 
enforceable as part of such plan. 

¥-, 9 VAC 5-80-1910. Interstate pollution abatement. 

-1-o A. The owner of each source or modification, which may 
significantly contribute to levels of air pollution in excess of an 
ambient air quality standard in any air quality control region 
outside the Commonwealth, shall provide written notice to all 
nearby states of the air pollution levels which may be affected 
by such source at least 60 days prior to the date of 
commencement of construction. 

b B. Any state or political subdivision may petition the 
administrator for a finding that any source or modification 
emits or would emit any air pollutant in amounts which will 
prevent attainment or maintenance of any ambient air quality 
standard or interfere with measures for the prevention of 
significant deterioration or the protection of visibility in the 
Stale lmplemenlatieR-PiaA implementation plan for such 
state. Within 60 days after receipt of such petition and after a 
public hearing, the administrator will make such a finding or 
deny the petition. 

;k C. Notwithstanding any permit granted pursuant to this 
-sesHet1 arlic/e, no owner or other person shall commence 
construction or modification or begin operation of a source to 
which a finding has been made under the provisions of 
suBdivision V 2 subsection B of this section. 

W-o 9 VAC 5-80-1920. Innovative control technology. 

-1-o A. Prior to the close of the public comment period under 
s"esection I'< 9 VAG 5-80-1870, an owner of a proposed 
major stationary source or major modification may request, in 
writing, that the board approve a system of innovative control 
technology. 

b B. The board, with the consent of the governors of 
affected states, shall determine that the source or 
modification may employ a system of innovative control 
technology, if: 

ao 1. The proposed control system would not cause or 
contribute to an unreasonable risk to public health, 
welfare, or safety in its operation or function; 
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b. 2. The owner agrees to achieve a level of continuous 
emissions reduction equivalent to that which would have 
been required under s"eaivisiee K 2 of IRis seotiee 9 
VAG 5-80-1800 B by a date specified by the board. 
Such date shall not be later than four years from the time 
of startup or seven years from permit issuance; 

&. 3. The source or modification would meet the 
requirements of subsections K aml b of IRis section 9 
VAG 5-80-1800 and 9 VAG 5-80-1810 based on the 
emissions rate that the stationary source employing the 
system of innovative control technology would be 
required to meet on the date specified by the board; 

4 4. The source or modification would not, before the 
date specified by the board: 

{-11 (a) Cause or contribute to a violation of an 
applicable national ambient air quality standard; or 

~ (b) Impact any area where an applicable increment 
is known to be violated; 

"" 5. All other applicable requirements including those 
for public participation have been met; and 

I, 6. The provisions of subsection Q of this sectieA 9 
VAG 5-80-1860 (relating to class I areas) have been 
satisfied with respect to all periods during the life of the 
source or modification. 

;k C. The board shall withdraw any approval to employ a 
system of innovative control technology made under this 
seslioo article, if: 

ao 1. The proposed system fails by the specified date to 
achieve the required continuous emissions reduction 
rate; or 

lh 2. The proposed system fails before the specified 
date so as to contribute to an unreasonable risk to public 
health, welfare, or safety; or 

&. 3. The board decides at any time that the proposed 
system is unlikely to achieve the required level of control 
or to protect the public health, welfare, or safety. 

4, D. If a source or modification fails to meet the 
requirement level of continuous emission reduction within the 
specified time period or the approval is withdrawn in 
accordance with S<lilaivisiee W a subsection C of this 
section, the board may allow the source or modification up to 
an additional three years to meet the requirement for the 
application of best available control technology through use 
of a demonstrated system of control. 

~ 9 VAC 5-80-1930. 
shutdown. 

Reactivation and permanent 

+. A. The reactivation of a stationary source is not subject 
to provisions of this seslioo article unless a decision 
concerning shutdown has been made pursuant to the 
provisions of s"eaivisioes X 2 IRFe"~R X 4 subsections B 
through D of this section or 9 VAG 5-80-40 P 5. 

b B. Upon a final decision by the board that a stationary 
source is shut down permanently, the board shall revoke the 
permit by written notification to the owner and remove the 
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source from the emission inventory or consider its emissions 
to be zero in any air quality analysis conducted; and the 
source shall not commence operation without a permit being 
issued under the applicable provisions of 9 V,A,G a 80 1 0 et 
se9 this chapter. 

a. C. The final decision shall be rendered as follows: 

& 1. Upon a determination that the source has not 
operated for a year or more, the board shall provide 
written notification to the owner (i) of its tentative 
decision that the source is considered to be shut down 
permanently; (ii) that the decision shall become final if 
the owner fails to provide, within three months of the 
notice, written response to the board that the shutdown 
is not to be considered permanent; and (iii) that the 
owner has a right to a formal hearing on this issue before 
the board makes a final decision. The response from the 
owner shall include the basis for the assertion that the 
shutdown is not to be considered permanent and a 
projected date for restart-up of the source and shall 
include a request for a formal hearing if the owner 
wishes to exercise that right. 

llo 2. If the board should find that the basis for the 
assertion is not sound or the projected restart-up date 
allows for an unreasonably long period of inoperation, 
the board shall (i) hold a formal hearing on the issue, if 
one is requested; or (ii) render a final decision to 
consider the shutdown permanent, if no hearing is 
requested. 

4, D. Nothing in these regulations shall be construed to 
prevent the board and the owner from making a mutual 
determination that a source is shut down permanently prior to 
any final decision rendered under s~::~9divisloR X 3 subsection 
C of this section. 

¥o 9 VAC 5-80-1940. Transfer of permits. 

4c A. No person shall transfer a permit from one location to 
another, or from one piece of equipment to another. 

2c B. In the case of a transfer of ownership of a stationary 
source, the new owner shall abide by any current permit 
issued to the previous owner. The new owner shall notify the 
board of the change in ownership within 30 days of the 
transfer. 

a. C. In the case of a name change of a stationary source, 
the owner shall abide by any current permit issued under the 
previous source name. The owner shall notify the board of 
the change in source name within 30 days of the name 
change. 

4:- D. The provisions of this Sldbsection section concerning 
the transfer of a permit from one location to another should 
not apply to the relocation of portable facilities that are 
exempt from the provisions of su9sectiens K throt~gh S ef this 
sestiBA 9 VAG 5-80-1800 through 9 VAG 5-80-1880 by 
~ o olthic section 9 VAG 5-80-1790D 3. 
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b 9 VAG 5-80-1950. Permit invalidation, revocation, and 
enforcement. 

4c A. Permits issued under this &eGiieR article shall be 
subject to such terms and conditions set forth in the permit as 
the board may deem necessary to ensure compliance with all 
applicable requirements of the regulations. 

2c B. The board may revoke any permit if the permittee: 

a., 1. Knowingly makes material misstatements in the 
permit application or any amendments to it; 

Jr. 2. Fails to comply with the terms or conditions of the 
permit; 

&. 3. Fails to comply with any emission standards 
applicable to an emissions unit included in the permit; 

€k 4. Causes emissions from the stationary source which 
result in violations of, or interfere with the attainment and 
maintenance of, any ambient air quality standard; or fails 
to operate in conformance with any applicable control 
strategy, including any emission standards or eFAision 
emission limitations, in the State IFR~Iementation Plan 
implementation plan in effect at the time that an 
application is submitted; or 

e, 5. Fails to comply with the applicable provisions of 
this &eGiieR article. 

a. C. The board may suspend, under such conditions and 
for such period of time as the board may prescribe, any 
permit for any of the grounds for revocation contained in 
subdivision Z 2 subsection B of this section or for any other 
violations of these regulations. 

4-, D. Violation of these regulations shall be grounds for 
revocation of permits issued under this seGtfeR article and are 
subject to the civil charges, penalties and all other relief 
contained in 9 VAG 5-20-10 et seq. and the Virginia Air 
Pollution Control Law. 

<h E. The board shall notify the applicant in writing of its 
decision, with its reasons, to change, suspend or revoke a 
permit, or to render a permit invalid. 

AA 9 VAG 5-80-1960. Circumvention. 

Regardless of the exemptions provided in this &eGiieR 
article, no owner or other person shall circumvent the 
requirements of this section by causing or allowing a pattern 
of ownership or development over a geographic area of a 
source which, except for the pattern of ownership or 
development, would otherwise require a permit. 

[ 9 VAC 5-80-1970. Review and confirmation of this 
chapter by board. 

A. Prior to January 1, 2000, the department shalf perfonn 
an analysis of this article and provide the board with a report 
on the results. The analysis shalf include (i) the purpose and 
need for the article; (ii) alternatives which would achieve the 
stated purpose of this arlic/e in a less burdensome and less 
intrusive manner; (iii) an assessment of the effectiveness of 
this article; (iv) the results of a review of current stale and 
federal statutory and regulatory requirements, including 
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identification and justification of requirements of this article 
which are more stringent than federal requirements; and (v) 
the results of a review as to whether this article is c/eariy 
wn'lten and eas1Jy understandable by affected enWes. 

B. Upon review of the department's analysis, the board 
shall confirm the need to (i) continue this article without 
amendment; (ii) repeal this article; or (iii) amend this article. 
If the board's decision is to repeal or amend this article, the 
board shall authorize the department to initiate the applicable 
regulatory process to carry out the decision of the board. ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-109; Filed October 29, 1996, 2:01 p.m. 

******** 

EDITOR'S NOTICE: At the State Air Pollution Control 
Board's October 9, 1996, meeting, the board adopted Parts I 
through VIII and Parts X through XIV of 9 VAG 5-91-10 et 
seq. Action on Part IX (9 VAG 5-91-590 through 9 VAG 5-
91-630) was deferred. This action was taken in order to allow 
the Office of the Attorney General to reexamine issues 
surrounding permit revocation authority. Reconsideration of 
Part IX by the board is expected to occur at the board's 
January 1997 meeting. 

Title of Regulation: 9 VAC 5-110-10 et seq. Regulations 
for the Enhanced Motor Vehicle Emissions Inspection 
Program in the Northern Virginia Area (REPEALED). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R96-437; Filed June 19, 1996, 11:50 a.m. 

Title of Regulation: 9 VAC 5-91-10 et seq. Regulations for 
the Control of Motor Vehicle Emissions in the Northern 
Virginia Area. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 46.2-1178.1, 46.2-1179, 46.2-1180, 
and 46.2-1187.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 24, 1997 

Summarv: 

The regulation concerns provisions covering motor 
vehicles emissions inspections. The regulation applies 
to gasoline-powered vehicles that have actual gross 
weights of 10,000 pounds or less, are of model years 
1968 and newer, and are registered in (i) the Counties of 
Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, Prince William, Stafford, and 
Fauquier and the Cities of Alexandn·a, Fairfax, Falls 
Church, Manassas, and Manassas Parle It requires 
biennial emissions inspections in order to register the 
motor vehicle in the area described above. The 
regulation also describes requirements for inspection 
stations, licensing inspectors, and certifying repair 
facilities and repair technicians. 

Most amendments are technical in nature and result from 
the development of the technical specifications of the 
test equipment. These specifications were not complete 
at the time the board authorized the public hearings. 
The development of the specifications was the 
responsibility of the Environmental Protection Agency but 
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that process was hampered by federal budget changes 
and the workload for those working on the enhanced liM 
issue, including regulatory changes. In fact, Virginia had 
to assist the development of the specifications along with 
several other states planning test-and-repair programs. 
There were also a number of changes made for 
grammatical reasons, for clarity, or to eliminate 
redundancy. Substantive changes for other reasons 
include: 

1. In Pari//, 9 VAG 5-91-30, language was included to 
prohibit manufacturers or distributors of emissions 
inspection equipment from owning or operating 
emissions inspection stations. Although this pari of the 
taw related to the originally proposed centralized, test­
only program, the taw requires the regulation to contain 
the prohibition. 

2. In Pari /1, 9 VAG 5-91-40, language was added to 
cause a review of the regulation and need for the 
regulation after three years, as required by law. 

3. In Pari II/, 9 VAG 5-91-190, language was added to 
clarify that Installation of aftermarket paris acceptable to 
the EPA and the California Air Resources Board is not 
considered tampering. 

4. In Pari Ill and Pari VI, the phase-in schedule for the 
various individual test standards and test components 
was changed or added. A graphic illustration of the 
proposed schedule (without potential delays) is attached. 

5. In Pari IV, 9 VAG 5-91-260, language was added to 
comply with a provision in the statute that the regulation 
address motorist convenience. The language will allow 
the department to issue special permits if it is determined 
that a geographic area has little or no testing capacity. 
These permits may be for mobile testing equipment or 
some other temporary testing means. 

6. In Pari VI, 9 VAG 5-91-420 G, changes were made to 
the start date and vehicle applicability of the On-Board 
Diagnostic (OBD) testing in order to comply with the final 
August 1996 federal regulation on this topic. This aspect 
testing only affects 1996 and new vehicles so equipped 
and does not begin to fail vehicles due to malfunctions 
detected by this system until January of 2000. 

7. In Pari VI, 9 VAG 5-91-420 N, the phase-in of the 
waiver repair cost was changed based on comments that 
a longer phase-in of this cost was needed. A change in 
the federal regulation a/lows this. The waiver cost is now 
proposed to be $250 through June of 1998, $350 for the 
following SIX months and $450 after July 1998. Each 
figure is proposed to be adjusted by the CPI in order to 
allow motonsts to become familiar with the concept. 

8. In Pari XII, language was added at the end to make 
clear that any civil charge that m1ght be applied should 
be calculated based on an average of the remote 
sensing readings exceeding the standard, rather than 
the smallest or largest exceedance. 

9. In Pari XIII, 9 VAG 5-91-780, language was added to 
ensure that, as directed by statute, the federal facility 
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administrator was also responsible for remitting the 
administrative fee to the department for vehicle that 
miglrt be tested in order to comply with the law but are 
not registered in the program area. Additional language 
provides for a Notice of Violation to be issued to the 
facility administrator for noncompliance. 

SumnJlll' ... of Public. Comment and Agency Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from David J. Kinsey, Office of Nonattainment and Mobile 
Source Planning, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. 
Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4432. 

CHAPTER91. 
REGULATIONS FOR THE CONTROL OF MOTOR VEHICLE 

EMISSIONS IN THE NORTHERN VIRGINIA AREA. 

PART/. 
DEFINITIONS. 

9 VAG 5-91-10. General. 

A. For the purpose of this chapter and subsequent 
amendments or any orders issued by the board, the words or 
terms shall have the meanings given them in 9 VAG 5-91-20. 

B. Unless specifically defined in the Virginia Motor Vehicle 
Emissions Control Law (§ 46.2-1176 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) or in this chapter, terms used shall have the 
meanings commonly ascribed to them. 

9 VAG 5-91-20. Terms defined. 

·~ccess code" means the security phrase or number which 
allows emissions inspectors, the deparlment, and analyzer 
service technicians to perform specific assigned tuncUons 
using the certified analyzer system, as determined by the 
department. 

"Actual gross weight" means the weight of a motor vehicle 
as registered with the Department of Motor Vehicles and 
which may encompass the empty weight (EW), motorist­
declared gross weight (GW), or gross vehicle weight rating 
(GVWR). For the purpose of determining applicability of 
emissions test procedures and standards, the GVWR shall 
be used, if available. IF GVWR is unavailable, the GW shall 
be used. If neither is available, the EW shall be used. 

''Adminislrdfive Process Act" means Chapter 1.1:1 (§ 9-
6. 14:1 et seq.) of Title 9 of the Code of Virginia. 

''Administrator" means the administrator of the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) or an authorized 
representative. 

''Affected motor vehicle" means any motor vehicle which: 

1. Was manufactured for the 1968 model year or a more 
recent model year including the most recent model year,· 

2. Is designed for the transportation of persons or 
property; 

3. Is powered by an internal combustion engine; and 
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4. For the Northern Virginia Emissions Inspection 
Program, has an actual gross weight of 10,000 pounds 
or less. 

The term "affected motor vehicle" does not mean any: 

1. Vehicle powered by a clean special fuel as defined in 
§ 58.1-210'1 of the Code of Virginia, provided the federal 
Clean Air Act (42 USC § 4701 et seq.) permits such 
exemptions for vehicles powered by clean special fuels; 

2. Motorcycle; 

3. Vehicle which, at the lime of its manufacture, was not 
designed to meet emissions standards set or approved 
by the federal government; 

4. Any antique motor vehicle as defined in§ 46.2-100 of 
the Code of Virginia and licensed pursuant to§ 46.2-730 
of the Code of Virginia; [ eF 

5. Fire fighting equipment, rescue vehicle, or ambulance; 
or] 

[ a., 6. ] Vehicle for which no testing standards have 
been adopted by the board. 

"Air intake systems" means those systems which allow for 
the induction of ambient air (to include preheated air) into the 
engine combustion chamber for the purpose of mixing with a 
fuel for combustion. 

"Air pollution" means the presence in the outdoor 
atmosphere of one or more substances which are or may be 
harmful or injurious to human health, welfare or safely; to 
animal or plant life; or to property; or which unreasonably 
interfere with the enjoyment by the people of life or property. 

''Air Pollution Control Law" means Chapter 13 (§ 10.1-1300 
et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Air system" means a system for providing supplementary 
air into a vehicle's exhaust system to promote furlher 
oxidation of hydrocarbons and carbon monoxide gases and 
to assist catalytic reaction. 

"Alternative fuel" means an internal combustion engine fuel 
other than (i) gasoline, (ii) diesel, or (iii) fuel mixtures 
containing more than 15% volume of gasoline. 

''Aitemative evaporative system purge and pressure test" 
means a method and equipment, as approved by the 
administrator or the department, which performs evaporative 
system purge testing and evaporative system pressure 
testing by pressurizing and testing the evaporative system by 
means of introducing gases to the system at the fuel filler 
inlet, and detecting pressure integrity and exhaust gas 
concentrations, and by testing the integrity of the fuel filler 
cap. 

"ASM" means Acceleration Simulation Mode testing which 
is a dynamometer-based emissions test perfonned in one or 
more, discreet, simulated road speed and engine load 
modes, and equipment which can be used to perform any 
such test. 

"Basic engine systems" means those parts or assemblies 
which provide for the efficient conversion of a compressed air 
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and fuel charge into useful power to include but not limited to 
valve train mechanisms, cylinder head to block integrity, 
piston-ring-cylinder sealing integrity and post-combustion 
emissions control device integrity. 

"Bi-fuel" means any motor vehicle capable of operating on 
one of two different fuels, usually gasoline and an alternative 
fuel, but not a mixture of the fuels. That is, only one fuel at a 
time. 

"Board" means the State Air Pollution Control Board or its 
designated representative. 

"Calibration" means establishing or verifying the total 
response curve of a measurement device using several 
different measurements having precisely known quantities. 

"Calibration gases" means gases of precisely known 
concentrations which are used as references for establishing 
or verifying the calibration curve of a measurement device. 

"Canister" means a mechanical device capable of 
adsorbing and retaining hydrocarbon vapors. 

"Catalytic converter" means a post combustion device 
which oxidizes hydrocarbons, carbon monoxide gases, and 
may also reduce oxides of nitrogen. 

"Certified enhanced analyzer system" or "analyzer system" 
means the complete system which samples and reads 
concentrations of hydrocarbon, carbon dioxide, nitrogen 
oxides and carbon monoxide gases and which is approved 
by the department for use in the Enhanced Emissions 
Inspection Program in accordance with Part X (9 VAG 5-91-
640 et seq.). The system tncludes the exhaust gas handltng 
system, the exhaust gas analyzer, evaporative system 
pressure and purge test eqUipment, associated automation 
hardware and software, data media, the analyzer system 
cabinet, the dynamometer and appurtenant devices, vehicle 
identification equipment, and associated cooling and exhaust 
fans and gas cylinders. 

"Certificate of emissions inspection 11 means a document, 
device, or symbol, whether recorded in written or electronic 
fonn, as prescnbed by the dtrector and issued pursuant to 
this chapter, which indicates that (i) an affected motor vehicle 
has satisfactorily complied with the emissions standards and 
passed the emissions inspection provided for in this chapter; 
(H) the requirement of compliance with the emissions 
standards has been waived; or (iii) the affected motor vehicle 
has failed the emissions inspection. 

"Chargeable inspection" means an initial inspection, or a 
reinspect/on that occurs 15 days or later afier the initial 
inspection, on an affected motor vehicle, for which the station 
owner is entitled to collect an inspection fee. No fee shall be 
paid for (i) inspections for which a vehicle emissions 
inspection report has not been issued, (ii) inspections that are 
conducted by the department for referee purposes, (iii) 
inspections which were ordered due to on-road test failures 
but which do not result in a failure at an inspection station, or 
(iv) the first reinspection done at the same station that 
perfonned the tnitial inspection within 14 days. 

"Confidential infonnation" means secret fonnu/ae, secret 
processes, secret methods or other trade secrets which are 
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proprietary infonnation certified by the signature of the 
responsible person for the owner to meet the following 
criteria: (i) infonnation for which the owner has been taking 
and will continue to take measures to protect confidentiality; 
(ii) infonnation that has not been and is not presently 
reasonably obtainable without the owner's consent by private 
citizens or other finns through legitimate means other than 
discovery based on a showing of special need in a judicial or 
quasi-judicial proceeding; (iii) infonnation which is not publicly 
available from sources other than the owner; and (iv) 
infonnation the disclosure of which would cause substantial 
harm to the owner. 

"Consent order" means a mutual agreement between the 
department and any owner, operator, emissions inspector, or 
emissions repair technician that such owner or other person 
will perfonn specific actions for the purpose of diminishing or 
abating the causes of air pollution or for the purpose of 
coming 1nto compliance with this chapter. A consent order 
may include agreed upon civil charges. Such orders may be 
issued without a [ fonnal] hearing. 

"Curb idle" means vehicle operation whereby the 
transmission is disengaged and the engine is operated with 
the throttle in the closed or idle stop position with the 
resultant engine speed between 300 and 1,100 revolutions 
per minute (rpm), or at another idle speed if so specified by 
the manufacturer. 

"Data handling system" means all the computer hardware, 
software and peripheral equipment used to conduct 
emissions inspections and manage the enhanced emissions 
inspection program. 

"Data medium" or "data media" means the medium 
contained in the certified analyzer system and used to 
electronically record test data. 

"Day" means a 24-hour period beginning at midnight. 

"Dedicated-fuel vehicle" means a vehicle which was 
designed and manufactured to operate and operates on one 
specific fuel. 

"Department" means any employee or other representative 
of the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, as 
designated by the director. 

"Director" means the director of the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality or a designated representative. 

"Dual fuel" means a vehicle which operates on a 
combination of fuels, usually gasoline or diesel and an 
alternative fuel, at the same time. That is, the mixed fuels are 
introduced into the combustion chamber of the engine. 

"Emissions control systems" means those parts, 
assemblies or systems originally installed by the 
manufacturer in or on a vehicle for the sole purpose of 
reducing emissions. 

"Emissions inspection" means an emissions inspection of a 
motor vehicle perfonned by an emissions inspector employed 
by or working at an emissions inspection station or fleet 
emissions inspection station, using the tests, procedures, and 
provisions set forth in this chapter. 
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"Emissions inspection station" means a facility or portion of 
a facility which has obtained an emissions inspection station 
permit from the director authorizing the facility to perform 
emissions inspections in accordance with the provisions of 
this chapter. 

"Emissions inspector" means a person licensed by the 
department to perform inspections of vehicles required under 
the Virginia Motor Vehicle Emissions Control Law and is 
qualified in accordance with this chapter. 

"Emissions repair facility" means a facility, or portion of a 
facility, which has obtained a certification in accordance with 
Part VII (9 VAC 5-91-500 et seq.) to perform emissions 
related repairs on motor vehicles. 

"Emissions repair technician" or "emissions repair 
mechanic" means a person who has obtained a cerlification 
in accordance with Part VIII (9 VAC 5-91-550 et seq.) to 
petfonn emissions related repairs on motor vehicles. 

"Emissions standard" means any provision of Part Ill (9 
VAC 5-9·1-160 et seq.) or Part XIV (9 VAC 5-91-790 et seq.) 
which prescribes an emission limitation, or other emission 
control requirements for motor vehicle air pollution. 

"Empty weight (EW)" means that weight stated as the EW 
on a Virginia motor vehicle registration or derived from the 
motor vehicle title or manufacturers certificate of origin. The 
EW may be used to detennine emissions inspection 
standards. 

"Enhanced emissions inspection program" means a motor 
vehicle emissions inspection including procedures, emissions 
standards, and equipment required by 40 CFR Part 51, 
Subpart S or equivalent and consistent with applicable 
requirements of the federal Clean Air Act. The director shall 
administer the enhanced emissions inspection program. 
Such program shall require biennial inspections at official 
emissions inspection stations, which may be test and repair 
facilities, in accordance with this chapter. Nothing in this 
program shall bar enhanced emissions inspection stations or 
facilities from also performing vehicle repairs. 

"Equivalent test weight (ETW)" means the weight of a 
motor vehicle as automatically determined by the emissions 
analyzer system based on vehicle make, model, body, style, 
model year, engine size, permanently installed equipment, 
and other manufacturer and aftermarket supplied information, 
and used for the purpose of assigning dynamometer 
resistance and exhaust emissions standards for the conduct 
of an exhaust emissions inspection. 

"Evaporative system pressure test" or "pressure test" 
means a physical test of the evaporative emission control 
system on a motor vehicle to determine whether the 
evaporative system vents emissions of volatile organic 
compounds from the fuel tank and fuel system to an on-board 
emission control device, and prevents their release to the 
ambient air under nom1al vehicle operating conditions. 

"Evaporative system purge test" or "purge test" means a 
test which measures the instantaneous purge flow in 
standard liters per minute from the canister to the motor 
intake manifold, based upon computation of the total volume 
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of the flow in standard liters over a prescribed driving cycle, 
or an equivalent procedure approved by the department. 

"Exhaust gas analyzer" means an instrument which is 
capable of measuring the concentrations of certain air 
pollutants in the exhaust gas from a motor vehicle. 

"Facility" means something that is built, installed or 
established to serve a particular purpose; includes, but is not 
limited to, buildings, installations, public works, businesses, 
r;J,nmercial and industrial plant&, shops and stores, 
apparatus, processes, operations, struc:tures, and equipment 
of all types. 

"Federal Clean Air Act" means 42 USC § 7 401 et seq. 

"Federal employee" means civilian or military personnel 
employed or stationed at a federal facility, including 
contractor personnel, for more than 60 days in a calendar 
year. 

"Federal facility" means a facility or complex that is owned, 
leased, or operated by a United States government agency, 
including parking areas provided to federal employees at the 
facility. 

"Fleet" means 20 or more motor vehicles which are owned, 
operated, leased or rented for use by a common owner. 

"Fleet emissions inspection station" means any inspection 
facility operated under a permit issued to a qualified fleet 
owner or lessee as determined by the director. 

"Flexible-fuel vehicle" means any motor vehicle having a 
single fuel tank and capable of operating on two or more 
fuels, either one at a time or any mixture of two or more 
different fuels. 

"Formal hearing" means [ aclmiAis~<alive ('reeeeriiAfJS eiAer 
#JaR tl:lese ir#erma#eRal er fast{;Jal iRtfi:Jiries ef aR iRfermal 
Aalure f're'iic!ec! iA §§ 9 §.14:7.1 aRc! 9 §.14:11 ef IAe 
AcimiAiskali"e Preeess Aet aRc! iAG!uc!es eAly (0 BfJf'BFiuAily 
fer fJFivate fJBFties te S(;Jf:Jmit faet{;Jaf fJmefs iR termal 
weeeeriings as f'revic!ec! iA § 9 6.14:8 ef IAe AcimiAis~cali•ie 
,Rreeess Aet iR eeRReetieR '/At/=1 #le mal-GRfJ ef reg{;JlatieRs or 
(ii) a similar Fight ef f'R'>'ale f'Bifies er rerruiremeAt ef f'UI:iiie 
ageReies a board or department process which provides for 
the right of private parties to submit factual proofs ] as 
provided in § 9-6.14:12 of the Administrative Process Act in 
connection with case decisions. [ Formal hearings do not 
include the factual inquiries of an informal nature provided in 
§ 9-6. 14:11 of the Administrative Process Act. ] 

"Fuel control systems" means those mechanical, electro­
mechanical, galvanic or electronic paris or assemblies which 
regulate the air-to-fuel ratio in an engine for the purpose of 
providing a combustible charge. 

"Fuel filler cap pressure test" or "fuel filler cap test" or "gas 
cap test" means a test of the ability of the fuel filler cap to 
prevent the release of fuel vapors from the fuel tank under 
normal operating conditions. 

"Gas span" means the adjustment of an exhaust gas 
analyzer to correspond with known concentrations of gases. 
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"Gas span check" means a procedure using known 
concentrations of gases to verify the gas span adjustment of 
an analyzer. 

"Gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR)" means the 
maximum recommended combined weight of the motor 
vehicle and its load as prescribed by the manufacturer and is 
(i) expressed on a permanent identification label affixed to 
the motor vehicle; (ii) stated on the manufacturer's certificate 
of ongin; or (Ji'l) coded in the vehicle identification number. 

"Gross weight (GW)" means the weight stated as GW on a 
Virginia motor vehicle registration and has been declared by 
the customer at the time of registration, based on the empty 
weight and the maximum weight the vehicle may legally carry 
under such registration. 

"Heavy duty vehicle" means any affected motor vehicle (i) 
which is rated at more than 8,500 pounds GVWR or (ii) which 
has a loaded vehicle weight or GVWR of more than 6, 000 
pounds and has a basic frontal area in excess of 45 square 
feet. 

"Idle mode" means a condition where the vehicle engine is 
warm and running at the rate specified by the manufacturer's 
curb idle, where the engine is not propelling the vehicle, and 
where the throttle Is in the closed oridle stop position. 

"Ignition systems" means those parts or assemblies which 
are designed to cause and time the ignition of a compressed 
air and fuel charge. 

[ "Informal fact ftnding" means an informal conference or 
consultation proceeding used to ascertain the fact basis for 
case decisions as provided in § 9-6.14:11 of the 
Admtnistrative Process Act. 1 

"Inspection area" means the area that is occupied by the 
certified analyzer system and the vehicle being inspected. 

"Inspector access code" means the security phrase or 
number issued by the department to an emissions inspector. 

"Inspection fee" means the amount of money that the 
station owner may collect from the motor vehicle owner for 
each chargeable inspection. 

"Inspector number" means the alpha or numeric identifier 
issued by the department to every emissions inspector at the 
time of licensing. 

"Light duty truck" means any affected motor vehicle [ 
rogistererJ vdfil file Depaflment ef Meter 'lehisles as a tru(},~ 
and 1 which (i) has a loaded vehicle weight or GVWR of 6,000 
pounds or less and meets any one of the criteria below; or (ii) 
is rated at more than 6,000 pounds GVWR but less than 
8,500 pounds GVWR and has a basic vehicle frontal area of 
45 square feet or less; and meets one of the following 
criteria: 

1, Designed primarily for purposes of transportation of 
property or is a derivation of such a vehicle. 

2. Designed primarily for transportation of persons and 
has a capacity of more than 12 persons. 
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3. Equipped with special features enabling off-street or 
off-highway operation and use. 

"Light duty truck 1" or "LDT1" means any affected motor 
vehicle which meets the criteria above and is rated at 6, 000 
pounds GVWR or less. LDT1 is a subset of light duty trucks. 

"Light duty truck 2" or "LDT2" means any affected motor 
vehicle which meets the criteria above and is rated at greater 
than 6,000 pounds GVWR. LDT2 is a subset of light duty 
trucks. 

"Light duty vehicle" means an affected motor vehicle that is 
a passenger car or passenger car derivative capable of 
seating 12 passengers or less. 

"Loaded vehicle weight (LVW)" or "curb weight" means the 
weight of a vehicle and its standard equipment; i.e., the 
empty weight as recorded on the vehicle's registration or the 
base shipping weight as recorded in the vehicle identification 
number, whichever is greater; plus the weight of any 
permanent attachments, the weight of a nominally filled fuel 
tank, plus 300 pounds. 

"Locality" means a city, town, or county created by or 
pursuant to state law. 

"Mobile fleet emissions inspection station" means a facility 
or entity which provides emissions inspection equipment or 
services to a fleet emissions inspection station on a 
temporary basis. Such equipment is not permanently 
installed at the fleet facility but is temporarily located at the 
fleet facility for the sole purpose of testing vehicles owned, 
operated, leased or rented for use by a common owner. 

"Model year'' means, except as may be otherwise defined 
in this chapter, the motor vehicle manufacturer's annual 
production period which includes the time period from 
January 1 of the calendar year prior to the stated model year 
to December 31 of the calendar year of the stated model 
year,· provided that, if the manufacturer has no annual 
production period, the term "model year" shall mean the 
calendar year of manufacture. For the purpose of this 
definition, model year is applied to the vehicle chassis, 
irrespective of the year of manufacture of the vehicle engine. 

"Motor vehicle" means any motor vehicle as defined in § 
46.2-100 of the Code of Virginia as a motor vehicle and 
which: 

1. Was manufactured for the 1968 model year or more 
recent model year,· 

2. Is designed for the transportation of persons or 
property; and 

3. Is powered by an internal combustion engine. 

"Motor vehicle dealer" means a person who is licensed by 
the Department of Motor Vehicles in accordance with 
§§ 46.2-1500 and 46.2-1508 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Motor vehicle inspection report" or "vehicle inspection 
report" means a report of the results of an emissions 
inspection, indicating whether the motor vehicle has (i) 
passed, (ii) failed, (iii) been rejected, or (iv) .obtained an 
emissions inspection waiver. The reporl shall accurately 
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identify the motor vehicle and shalf include inspection results, 
recall information, warranty and repair information, and a 
unique identification number. 

"Motor vehicle owner" means any person who owns, 
leases, operates, or controls a motor vehicle or fleet of motor 
vehicles. 

"Normal business hours" for emissions inspection stations, 
means a daily eight-hour period Monday through Friday, 
between the hours of 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., with the exception of 
national holidays, temporary closures noticed to the 
department and closures due to the inability to meet the 
requirements of this chapter Nothing in this chapter shalf 
prevent stations from performing inspections at other times in 
addition to the "normal business hours." 

"Northern Virginia emissions inspection program" means 
the emissions inspection program required by this chapter [ 
ie-ee-impiemeRted] in the Northern Virginia program area. 

"Norlhem Virginia program area" or ''program area" means 
the territorial area encompassed by the boundaries of the 
following localities: the counties of Arlington, Fairfax, 
Fauquier, Loudoun, Prince William, and Stafford; and the 
cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and 
Manassas Park. 

"On-road testing" means tests of motor vehicle emissions 
or emissions control devices by means of roadside pullovers 
or remote sensing devices. 

"Operated primarily" means [, for meter 1'8hisies ref}istered 
by tile \4ffjinia DepaFtmeRt ef Meter 'lehie/es ami f}araf}efi 
etli&ic!e ef tile f"FBf}ram area, ] the area within which the 
affected motor vehicle is primarily driven. A vehicle is 
primarily driven in the program area if the vehicle is operated 
in the program area for an amount of annual mileage equal to 
or greater than (i) 50% of its annual mileage or (ii) 6, 000 
miles, whichever is greater, or routinely driven into or within 
the program area as detennined by recordation of travel in 
the program area more than three times in a two-week period 
by remote sensing or on-road testing. 

"Order'' means any decision or directive of the board or the 
director, including orders, consent orders, and orders of all 
types rendered for the purpose of diminishing or abating the 
causes of air pollution or enforcement of this chapter. Unless 
specified otherwise in this chapter, orders shall only be 
issued after the appropriate administrative proceeding. 

"Original condition" means the condition of the vehicle, 
paris, and components as installed by the manufacturer but 
not necessarily to the original/eve/ of effectiveness. 

"Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) dedicated fuel 
vehicle" means a vehicle which was configured by the vehicle 
manufacturer to operate only on one specific fuel other than 
(i) gasoline, (ii) diesel, or (iii) fuel mixtures containing more 
than 15% by volume of gasoline. 

"Owner'' means any person who owns, leases, operates, 
controls or supervises a facility or motor vehicle. 

"Party" means any person who actively participates in the 
administrative proceeding or offers comments through the 
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public participation process and is named in the 
administrative record The term "pariy" also means the 
department. 

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, a governmental body, a municipal corporation, or 
any other legal entity 

"Pollutant" means any substance the presence of which in 
the outdoor atmosphere is or may be harmful or injurious to 
human health, welfare or safety, to animal or plant life, or to 
properly, or which unreasonably interferes with the enjoyment 
by the people of life or property 

"Public hearing" means unless indicated otherwise an 
informal proceeding, similar to that provided for in § 9-
6.14:7.1 of the Administrative Process Act, held to afford 
persons an opportunity to submit views and data relative to a 
matter on which a decision of the board is pending. 

"Referee station" means those facilities operated or used 
by the department to (i) determine program effectiveness, (ii) 
resolve emissions inspection conflicts between motor vehicle 
owners and emissions inspection stations, and (iii) provide 
such other technical suppori and information, as appropriate, 
to emissions inspection stations and motor vehicle owners. 

"Reinspection" means a type of inspection selected by the 
department or the emissions inspector when a request for an 
inspection is accompanied by a completed motor vehicle 
inspection report indicating a previous failure. 

"Remote sensing" means the observation, measurement, 
and recordation of motor vehicle exhaust emissions from 
motor vehicles while travelling on roadways or in specified 
areas by equipment which is not connected to the vehicle. 
Such equipment may use light sensing and electronic stimuli 
in conjunction with devices, including videographic and 
digitized images, to detect and record vehicle identification 
infonnation, such as registration or other identification 
numbers. 

"Span gas" means gases of known concentration used as 
references to adjust or verify the accuracy of an exhaust gas 
analyzer that are approved by the depariment and are so 
labeled. 

"Standard conditions" means a temperature of 20°C (68°F) 
and a pressure of 760 mm of Hg (29.92 in. of Hg). 

"Standardized instruments" means laboratory instruments 
calibrated with precision gases traceable to the National 
Institute of Standards and Technology and accepted by the 
depariment as the standards to be used for comparison 
purposes. All candidate instruments are compared in 
perfonnance to the standardized instruments. 

"Slate Implementation Plan" means the plan, including any 
revision thereof, which has been submitted by the 
Commonwealth and approved in Subpart VV of 40 CFR Pari 
52 by the administrator under § 110 of the federal Clean Air 
Act, or promulgated in Subpart VV of 40 CFR Pari 52 by the 
administrator under§ 110(c) of the federal Clean Air Act, or 
promulgated or approved by the administrator pursuant to 
regulations promulgated under§ 301(d) of the federal Clean 
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Air Act and which implements the relevant requirements of 
the federal Clean Air Act. 

"Tactical military vehicle" means any motor vehicle 
designed to military specifications or a commercially 
designed motor vehicle modifi'ed to military specifications to 
meet direct transportation support of combat, tactical, or 
military relief operations, or training of personnel for such 
operations. 

"Tampering" means to alter, remove or otherwise disable 
or reduce the effectiveness of emissions control equipment 
on a motor vehicle. 

"Test" means an emissions inspection of a vehicle, or any 
portion thereof, performed by an emissions inspector at an 
emissions inspection station, using the procedures and 
provisions set forth in this chapter. 

"Test and repair" means motor vehicle emissions 
inspection stations which perform emissions inspections and 
may also perform vehicle repairs. No provision of this 
chapter shall bar emissions inspection stations from also 
performing vehicle repairs. 

"Thermometer, certified" means a laboratory grade ambient 
temperature measuring device with a range of at least 20°F 
through 120°F, and an attested accuracy of at least ± 1 oF 
with increments of 1 °, with protective shielding. 

''Thermostatic air cleaner" means a system that supplies 
warm air to the air intake during cold engine operation and is 
active during cold engine warm-up only. 

"Tier 1" means new gaseous and particulate tail pipe 
emission standards for use in certifying new light duty 
vehicles and light duty trucks which began to be phased in 
with the 1994 model year and are completely phased-in 
during the 1996 model year, as promulgated by the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency at 40 CFR Part 86, as 
amended in the Federal Register, Volume 56, Number 108, 
page 25724, on June 5, 1991. 

"True concentration" means the concentration of the gases 
of interest as measured by a standardized instrument which 
has been calibrated with 1.0% precision gases traceable to 
the National Bureau of Standards. 

"Two speed idle test" means a vehicle exhaust emissions 
test, performed in accordance with paragraph {II) of 40 CFR 
Part 51, Appendix B to Subpart S, which measures the 
concentrations of pollutants in the exhaust gases of an 
engine (i) while the motor vehicle transmission is not 
propelling the vehicle and (ii) while the engine is operated at 
both curb idle and at a nominal engine speed of 2, 500 rpm. 

'Variance" means the temporary exemption of an owner or 
other person from specific provisions of this chapter, or a 
temporary change in this chapter as it applies to an owner or 
other person. 

"Virginia Motor Vehicle Emissions Control Program" means 
the program for the inspection and control of motor vehicle 
emissions established by Virginia Motor Vehicle Emissions 
Control Law. 
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"Virginia Register Act" means Chapter 1.2 (§ 9-6.15 et 
seq.) of Title 9 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Virginia Motor Vehicle Emissions Control Law" means 
Article 22 (§ 46.2-1176 et seq.) of Chapter 10 of Title 46.2 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

"Zero gas" means a gas, usually air or nitrogen, which is 
used as a reference for establishing or verifying the zero 
point of an exhaust gas analyzer. 

PART II. 
GENERAL PROVISIONS. 

9 VAG 5-91-30. Applicability and authority of the department. 

A. The provisions of this chapter, unless specified 
otherwise, apply to the following: 

1. Any owner of an affected motor vehicle, including new 
motor vehicles, specified in subsection B of this section 
(i) on [ er after July 1 October 9 ], 1997, or (ii) later upon 
written notification of the emissions inspection 
requirement by the Department of Environmental Quality 
or the Department of Motor Vehicles. 

2. Any owner of an emissions inspection station or fleet 
emissions inspection station under the auspices of the 
enhanced emissions inspection program. 

3. Any person who conducts an emissions inspection 
under the auspices of the enhanced emissions 
inspection program. 

4. Any owner of an emissions repair facility performing 
emissions repairs on motor vehicles affected by this 
chapter. 

5. Any emissions repair technician performing emissions 
repairs on motor vehicles affected by this chapter. 

B. The provisions of this chapter, unless specified 
otherwise, apply to the following affected motor vehicles: 

1. Any affected motor vehicle, including new motor 
vehicles, registered by the Virginia Department of Motor 
Vehicles and garaged within the Northern Virginia 
program area. 

2. Any affected motor vehicle, including new motor 
vehicles, registered by the Virginia Department of Motor 
Vehicles and garaged outside of the Northern Virginia 
program area but operated primarily in the Northern 
Virginia program area. 

3. Any affected motor vehicle, including new motor 
vehicles, (I) owned or operated by a United States 
government agency located within the Northern Virginia 
program area, (II) operated on or commuting to a federal 
facility within the Northern Virginia program area, or (iii) 
owned or operated by a United States government 
agency located outside the Northern Virginia program 
area but operated primarily in the Northern Virginia 
program area. 

4. Any affected motor vehicle, including new motor 
vehicles, (I) owned or operated by a slate or local 
government agency located within the Northern Virginia 
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program area, (ii) operated on or commuting to a state or 
local government facility within the Northern Virginia 
program area, or (iii) owned or operated by a state or 
local government agency located outside the Northern 
Virginia program area but operated primarily in the 
Northern Virginia program area. 

Motor vehicles having obtained a valid enhanced 
emissions inspection pass or waiver from another program 
area or another state within the most recent 12 months may 
be determined by the director to have complied with the 
enhanced emissions inspection required by this chapter for 
initial registration in Virginia. The valid period for such 
emissions inspection shall be determined by the director, not 
to exceed one year. The subject motor vehicle and proof of 
emissions inspection results from an enhanced emissions 
inspection program shall be presented to the department in 
such cases. Such vehicles are subject to all other provisions 
of this chapter. 

The director may temporarily defer the emissions 
inspection requirement for motor vehicles registered in but 
temporarily located outside the program area at the time of 
such requirement based on information including, but not 
limited to, the location of the vehicle, the reason for and 
length of its temporary location, and demonstration that it is 
not practical or reasonable to return the vehicle to the 
program area for inspection. All such information shall be 
provided by the registered owner and is subject to verification 
by the department. 

C. Motor vehicles being titled for the first lime shall be 
considered to have an enhanced emissions inspection valid 
for two years. Such vehicles are not exempt from the 
emissions inspection program and are subject to all other 
provisions of this chapter. 

D. Pursuant to § 46.2-1180 B of the Motor Vehicle 
Emissions Control Law, motor vehicles of the current model 
year and the four immediately preceding model years, held 
for sale in a licensed motor vehicle dealer's inventory, may be 
registered for one year upon sale without obtaining an 
emissions inspection in accordance with conditions 
enumerated below. 

1. The vehicle must be registered in the program area. 

2. The vehicle has not failed its most recent emissions 
inspection. 

3. The vehicle has not previously been registered under 
the provisions of this subsection. 

4. The motor vehicle dealer guarantees in writing to the 
customer and to the department that the emissions 
equipment on the motor vehicle is operating in 
compliance with the warranty of the manufacturer or 
distributor, or both if applicable, at the time of sale. 

a. The document supplied must describe the method 
by whiCh this compliance was determined and provide 
a copy of any emissions readings obtained from the 
vehicle for the purpose of making this showing. 

b. The document must state in prominent or bold print 
that the certification in no way warrants or guarantees 
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that the vehicle complied with the emission standards 
used in the Virginia enhanced emissions inspection 
program, or similar language approved by the 
department and that the customer has a right to 
request an emissions inspection, which may be at the 
expense of the customer, in lieu of such extension. 

5. A written request, including the documentation cited 
above, must be presented to the department not more 
than 30 days prior to the date of sale so that the 
department can record such temporary emissions 
validation period and furnish it to the Department of 
Motor Vehicles. 

6. Such temporary validation period shall not be granted 
more than once for any motor vehicle. 

7. For the purposes of subsection D of this section, any 
used motor vehicle will be considered to be one model 
year old on the first day of October of the next calendar 
year after the model year described on the vehicle title or 
registration, and shall increase in age by one year on the 
first day of each October thereafter. 

E. [ Manufacturers and distributors of emissions testing 
equipment are prohibited from directly or indirectly owning or 
operating any emissions testing facility or having any direct or 
indirect financial interest in any such facility other than the 
leasing of or providing financing for equipment related to 
emissions testing. 

F. ] The provisions of this chapter, unless specified 
otherwise, apply only to those pollutants for which emission 
standards are set forth in Part Ill (9 VAC 5-91-160 et seq.). 

[ G. Applicants for inspection station permits and 
emissions repair facility certificates shall have a Virginia 
business license and the application shall only be for a facility 
in Virginia. ] 

[ F'c H. ] By the adoption of this chapter, the board confers 
upon the department the administrative, enforcement and 
decision making authority enumerated herein. 

9 VAC 5-91-40. Establishment of regulations. 

A. This chapter is established to implement the provisions 
of the Virginia Motor Vehicle Emissions Control Law and the 
federal Clean Air Act. 

B. This chapter shall be adopted, amended or repealed in 
accordance with the provisions of the Air Pollution Control 
Law, Virginia Motor Vehicle Emissions Control Law, Articles 1 
and 2 of the Administrative Process Act, and the Public 
Participation Procedures in Appendix E of 9 VAC 5-10-10. 

C. Regulations, amendments and repeals shall become 
effective as provided in § 9-6.14:9.3 of the Administrative 
Process Act, except in no case shall the effective date be 
less than 60 days after adoption by the board. 

D. If necessary in an emergency situation, the board may 
adopt, amend or stay a regulation under § 9-6. 14:4. 1 of the 
Administrative Process Act, but such regulation or stay of 
regulation shall remain effective no longer than one year 
unless readopted following the requirements of subsection B 
of this section. 
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[ E. Within three years after the effective date of this 
chapter (January 24, 1997), the department shall perfonn an 
analysis on this chapter and provide the board with a report 
on the results. The analysis shall include (i) the purpose and 
need for the chapter; (li) alternatives which would achieve the 
stated purpose of this chapter in a less burdensome and less 
intrusive manner,· (iii) an assessment of the effectiveness of 
this chapter; (iv) the results of a review of current state and 
federal statutory and regulatory requirements, including the 
identification and justification of requirements of this chapter 
which are more stringent than federal requirements; and (v) 
the results of a review as to whether this chapter is clearly 
written and easily understandable by affected entities. 

F. Upon review of the department's analysis, the board 
shall confinn the need to (i) continue this chapter without 
amendment; (ii) repeal this chapter; or (iii) amend this 
chapter. If the board's decision is to repeal or amend this 
chapter, the board shall authorize the department to initiate 
the applicable regulatory process to cany out the decision of 
the board.] 

9 VAG 5-91-50. Documents incorporated by reference. 

A. The Administrative Process Act and Virginia· Register 
Act provide that state regulations may incorporate documents 
by reference. Throughout this chapter, documents of the 
types specified below have been incorporated by reference. 

1. United States Code. 

2. Code of Virginia. 

3. Code of Federal Regulations. 

4. Federal Register. 

5. Technical and scientific reference documents. 

Additional 1nfonnation on key federal regulations and 
nonstatutory documents incorporated by reference and their 
availability may be found 1n subsections E and F of this 
section. 

B. Any reference in this chapter to any provision of the 
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) shall be considered as 
the adoption by reference of that provision. The specific 
version of the provision adopted by reference shall be that 
contained in the latest revision to the CFR in effect on July 1, 
[ W% 1996 ]. In making reference to the Code of Federal 
Regulations, 40 CFR Part 35 means Part 35 of Title 40 of the 
Code of Federal Regulations; 40 CFR 35.20 means § 35.20 
in Part 35 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations. 

C. Failure to include in this part any document referenced 
in the regulation shall not invalidate the applicability of the 
referenced document. 

D. Copies of materials incorporated by reference in this 
part may be examined by the public at the headquarters 
office of the Department of Environmental Quality, Air 
Division, Eighth Floor, 629 East Main Street, Richmond, 
Virginia, between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business 
day. 

E. Code of Federal Regulations. 
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1. The provisions specified below from the Code of 
Federal Regulations (CFR) are incorporated herein by 
reference: 

a. 40 CFR Part 51 - Requirements for Preparation, 
Adoption and Submittal of Implementation Plans, 
specifically Subpart S (Inspection and Maintenance 
Program Requirements). 

b. 40 CFR Part 85 - Control of Air Pollution from Motor 
Vehicles and Motor Vehicle Engines, specifically 
Subpart W (Emission Control System Perfonnance 
Warranty Short Tests). 

2. Copies may be obtained from: Superintendent of 
Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office, 
Washington, D. C. 20402; phone (202) 783-3238. 

F. Environmental Protection Agency, Motor Vehicle 
Emissions Laboratory. 

1. The following document from the Environmental 
Protection Agency is Incorporated herein by reference: 
Environmental Protection Agency technical report, "EPA 
Recommended Practice for Naming liM Calibration Gas," 
EPA-AA-TSS-83-8-B, September 1983. 

[ 2. The following document from the Environmental 
Protection Agency is incorporated herein by reference: 
Environmental Protection Agency technical guidance, 
Acceleration Simulation Mode Test Procedures, 
Emission Standards, Quality Control Requirements, and 
Equipment Specifications," EPA-AA-RSPD-IM-96-2, July 
1996. l 
[ ;!., 3. ] Copies may be obtained from: Environmental 
Protection Agency, Motor Vehicle Emissions Laboratory, 
2565 Plymouth Road, Ann Arbor, Ml 48105. 

G. California Bureau of Automotive Repair. 

1. The following document from the California Bureau of 
Automotive Repair is incorporated herein by reference: 
BAR [ 00 97 ], Test Analyzer System Specifications, [ 
Osteeer 19911996]. 

2. Copies may be obtained from: Department of 
Consumer Affairs, Bureau of Automotive Repair, 
California Vehicle Inspection Program, 3116 Bradshaw 
Road, Sacramento, California 95827. 

9 VAG 5-91-60. Hearings and proceedings. 

A. The primary hearings and proceedings associated with 
the promulgation and enforcement of statutory and regulatory 
provisions are as follows: 

1. For public hearing and infonnational proceeding 
required before considering regulations, authorized 
under § 46.2-1180 of the Virginia Motor Vehicle 
Emissions Control Law, the procedure for public 
hearings or 1nfonnational proceedings shall confonn to (i) 
§ 9-6. 14:7.1 of the Administrative Process Act and (ii) the 
Public Parbdpation Procedures in Appendix E of 9 VAG 
5-10-10. 
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2. For the public hearing required before considering 
variances and amendments to and revocation of 
variances, the procedure for a public hearing shall 
confonn to the provisions of 9 VAC 5-91-80. 

3. For the infonnal fact finding used to make case 
decisions, the procedure for an infonnal fact finding shall 
confonn to§ 9-6.14:11 of the Administrative Process Act. 

4. For the fonnal hearing for the enforcement or review 
of orders, licenses, permits and certifications and for the 
enforcement of regulations, the procedure for a fonnal 
hearing shall confonn to § 9-6.14:12 of the 
Administrative Process Act and§ [ HJ.11G37 10.1-1307 
] D and F of the Air Pollution Control Law. 

B. The director may adopt policies and procedures to 
supplement the statutory procedural requirements for the 
van·aus proceedings cited in subsection A of this section. 

C. Records of hearings and proceedings may be kept in 
one of the following fonns: 

1. Oral statements or testimony at any public hearing or 
· infonnational proceeding will be stenographically or 
electronically recorded, and may be transcribed to 
written form. 

2. Oral statements or testimony at any infonnal [ 
fHOOeefi!Rg fact finding ] will be stenographically or 
electronically recorded, and may be transcribed to 
written fonn. 

3. Fonnal hearings will be recorded by a court reporter, 
or electronically recorded for transcription to written fom1. 

D. Availability of records of hearings and proceedings 
shall be as follows: 

1. A copy of the transcript of a public hearing or 
infonnational proceeding, if transcribed, will be provided 
within a reasonable time to any person upon receipt of a 
written request and payment of the cost; if not 
transcribed, the additional cost of preparation will be paid 
by the person making the request. 

2. A copy of the transcript of an infonnal fact finding, if 
transcribed, will be provided within a reasonable time to 
any person upon receipt of a written request and 
payment of cost; if not transcribed, the additional cost of 
preparation will be paid by the person making the 
request. 

3. Any person desiring a copy of the transcript of a 
fonnal hearing recorded by a court reporter may 
purchase the copy directly from the court reporter,· if not 
transcribed, the additional cost of preparation will be paid 
by the person making the request. 

9 VAC 5-91-70. Appeal of case decisions. 

A. Any owner, emissions inspector, emissions repair 
technician, or other party significantly affected by any action 
of the director or the department taken without a fonnal 
hearing may request a formal hearing in accordance with 
§ 9-6.14:12 of the Administrative Process Act, provided a 
formal hearing has not been waived and a petition requesting 
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such [ fonnal] hearing is filed with the director within 30 days 
after notice of the action is mailed or delivered to such owner, 
emissions inspector, emissions repair technician, or party 
requesting notification of such action. 

B. In cases where the director or the department fails to 
make a case decision within the time frame specified by§§ 9-
6.14:11 and 9-6.14:12, the owner, emissions inspector, 
emissions repair technician, or other party significantly 
affected, may provide written notice to the director that a 
decision is due in accordance with § 9-6. 14:11 or§ 9-6. 14:12 
of the Administrative Process Act. Appeals thereafter shall 
be in accordance with the Administrative Process Act. 

C. Prior to any fonnal hearing, an infonnal fact finding 
shall be held pursuant to § 9-6.14:11 of the Administrative 
Process Act, unless the named party and the director 
consent to waive the informal fact finding and go directly to a 
fonnal hearing. 

D. Any decision of the director resulting from a fonnal 
hearing or from an infonnal fact finding wherein the parties 
have agreed to waive a fonnal hearing shall constitute the 
final decision appealable to court. 

E. Judicial review of any final decision shall /)e afforded in 
accordance with § 9-6.14:16 of the Administrative Process 
Act. 

F. Nothing in this section shall prevent disposition of any 
case by consent. · 

G. Any petition for a fonnal hearing Qr any notice or 
petition for an appeal by itself shall not constitute a stay of 
decision or action. 

9 VAC 5-91-80. Variances. 

A. The board may in its discretion grant variances to any 
provision of this chapter after an investigation and public 
hearing. If a variance is appropriate, the board shall issue an 
order to this effect. Such order shall be subject to 
amendment or revocation at any tim~ for reasons specified in 
the order. 

B. The board shall adopt variances and amend or revoke 
variances if warranted only after conducting a public hearing 
pursuant to public advertisement in at least one major 
newspaper of general circulation in the Northern Virginia 
program area of the subject, date, time and place of the 
public hearing at least 30 days prior to the scheduled 
hearing. The [public] hearing shall be conducted to give the 
public an opportunity to comment on the variance and the [ 
public] hearing record shall remain open for a minimum of 15 
days after the hearing for the purpose of receiving additional 
public comment. 

9 VAC5-91-90. Rightofentry. 

Whenever it is necessary for the purposes of this chapter, 
the department may enter, at reasonable times, any 
establishment or upon any property, public or private, for the 
purpose of obtaining information or conducting suNeys, 
audits or investigations as authorized by§ 46.2-1187.1 ofthe 
Virginia Motor Vehicle Emissions Control Law. 
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9 VAG 5-91-100. Conditions on approvals. 

A. The director may impose conditions upon permits, 
licenses, certifications and other approvals issued pursuant 
to this chapter, (i) which may be necessary to carry out the 
Virginia Motor Vehicle Emissions Control Law and (ii) which 
are consistent with this chapter. Except as specified herein, 
nothing in this chapter shall be understood to limit the power 
of the department in this regard. 

B. A license, permit, or certification applicant may consider 
any condition imposed by the director as a denial of the 
requested permit, license, certifi"cation or other approval, 
which shall entitle the applicant to appeal the decision 
pursuant to 9 VAG 5-91-70. 

C. The existence of a permit, license or certification under 
this chapter shall not constitute a defense to a violation of the 
Virginia Air Pollution Control Law, the Virginia Motor Vehicle 
Emissions Control Law or this chapter and shall not relieve 
any owner of the responsibility to comply with any applicable 
regulations, laws, ordinances and orders of any 
governmental entities having jurisdiction. 

9 VAG 5-91-110. Procedural information and guidance. 

A. The department may adopt detailed policies and 
procedures which: 

1. Request data and information 1n addiUon to and in 
amplification of the provisions of this chapter; 

2. Specify the methods and means to determine 
compliance with applicable provisions of this chapter,· 

3. Set forth the format by which all data and information 
should be submitted; and 

4. Set forth how the regulatory programs should be 
implemented. 

B. In cases where this chapter specifies that procedures or 
methods shall be approved by, acceptable to or determined 
by the director or the department; the owner, emissions 
inspector, emissions repair technician, or any other affected 
person may request information and guidance concerning the 
proper procedures and methods and the board or the 
department shall furnish in writing such information on a 
case-by-case basis. 

9 VAG 5-91-120. Export and import of motor vehicles. 

A. A person may remove the catalyst and fuel filler inlet 
restrictor from used motor vehicles scheduled for shipment to 
or from a foreign country provided that: 

1. The export or import of the motor vehicle meets the 
provisions of subsection B of this section; and 

2. The removal of the emissions control equipment does 
not take place prior to 10 days before the vehicle is 
fumed over to the port authorities and the reinstallation 
of the emissions control equipment takes place within 10 
days after receipt of the vehicle by the motor vehicle 
owner from the port authorities in the United States if 
such equipment is required for the vehicle configuration. 
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B. To be exempted under the provisions of subsection A of 
this section, the motor vehicle must: 

1. Be exported or imported under a U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency approved catalyst control program; 

2. Be exported or imported under a Department of 
Defense privately owned vehicle import control program; 
or 

3. Be entered through U.S. Customs under cash bond 
and formal entry procedures, (19 CFR Part 12 - Special 
classes of merchandise) and be modified to bring it into 
conformity with applicable federal motor vehicle emission 
standards (40 CFR Part 86 - Control of air pollution from 
new motor vehicle engines: Certification and lest 
procedures). 

9 VAG 5-91-130. Relationship of state regulations to federal 
regulations. 

A. In order for the Commonwealth to fulfill its obligations 
under the federal Clean Air Act, some provisions of this 
chapter are required to be approved by the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency and when approved those 
provisions become federally enforceable. 

B. In cases where this chapter specifies that procedures or 
methods shall be approved by, acceptable to or determined 
by the director or the department or specifically provides for 
decisions to be made by the director or the department, it 
may be necessary to have such actions (approvals, 
detenninations, exemptions, exclusions, or decisions) 
reviewed and confirmed as acceptable or approved by the 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency in order to make them 
federally enforceable. Determination of which state actions 
require federal confirmation or approval and the 
administrative mechanism for making associated confirmation 
or approval decisions shall be made on a case-by-case basis 
in accordance with U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 
regulations and policy. 

9 VAG 5-91-140. Delegation of authority. 

In accordance with the Motor Vehicle Emissions Control 
Law, the director, or a designee acting for him, may perform 
any act provided under this chapter. 

9 VAG 5-91-150. Availability ofinformation. 

A. Emissions data in the possession of the department 
shall be available to the public without exception. 

B. Any other records, reports or information in the 
possession of the department shall be available to the public 
with the following exception: 

The department shall consider such records, reports or 
information, or particular part thereof, confidential in 
accordance with the Virginia Uniform Trade Secrets Act, 
§ 59. 1-336 et seq. of the Code of Virginia, upon a showing 
satisfactory to the department by any station owner that such 
records, reports or information, or particular part thereof, 
meet the criteria in subsection C of this section and the 
station owner provides a certification to that effect signed by 
a responsible person for such owner. Such records, reports 
or information, or particular part thereof, may be disclosed, 
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however, to other officers, employees or authorized 
representatives of the Commonwealth of Virginia and the 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency concerned with 
canying out the provisions of the Motor Vehicle Emissions 
Control Law and the federal Clean Air Act. 

C. In order to be exempt from disclosure to the public 
under subsection 8 of this section, the information must 
satisfy the following criteria: 

1. Information for which the station owner has been 
taking and will continue to take measures to protect 
confidentiality; 

2. Information that has not been and is not presently 
reasonably obtainable without the consent of the station 
owner or motor vehicle owner by private citizens or other 
firms through legitimate means other than discovery 
based on a showing of special need in a judicial or 
quasi-judicial proceeding; 

3. Information which is not publicly available from 
sources other than the station owner; and 

4. Information the disclosure of which would cause 
substantial harm to the station owner. 

PART Ill. 
EMISSION STANDARDS FOR MOTOR VEHICLE AIR 

POLLUTION. 

9 VAG 5-91-160. Exhaust emission standards for two-speed 
idle testing in enhanced emissions inspection programs. 

A. No motor vehicle subject to the two-speed idle test shall 
discharge carbon monoxide (CO), or hydrocarbons (HC) in its 
exhaust emissions in excess of standards set forth in Table 
Iff-A when measured with a certified analyzer system and in 
accordance with the two-speed idle inspection procedures 
prescribed in Part VI (9 VAG 5-91-410 et seq.). 

B. The measured concentration of CO plus C02 shall be 
greater than or equal to 6. 0%. 

C. The standards in Table Iff-A may be adjusted by no 
more than one percentage point for CO and 100 ppm for HC 
in order to meet the requirements of the Environmental 
Protection Agency or the federal Clean Air Act. 

[ D. During a transitional period, not to exceed 90 days 
prior to the date described in 9 VAG 5-91-30 A 1, the 
emissions standards in Table Ill A, the analyzer system 
operations in this chapter, and appropriate test procedures as 
determined by the director, may be applied to all motor 
vehicles subject to 9 VAG 5-90-10 et seq. (repealed) in lieu of 
the standards and procedures contained therein, and the 
analyzer system operations contained in 9 VAG 5-100-10 et 
seq.] 

TABLE 111-A. 
EXHAUST EMISSION STANDARDS FOR TWO-SPEED 

IDLE EMISSIONS INSPECTIONS. 

Model Year HC (ppm) co(%) 

For idle test and 2500 RPM test for 
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vehicles up to 8500 pounds GVWR: 
1994 & later Tier 1 220 1.2 
1981 & later 220 1.2 
1980 220 2.0 
1975-79 400 4.0 
1970-74 600 6.0 
1968-69 800 8.0 

For vehicles from 8501 to 10000 
pounds GVWR: 

1994 & later Tier 1 220 1.2 
1981 & later 220 1.2 
1980 220 2.0 
1975-79 400 4.0 
1970-74 BOO 6.5 
1968-69 1000 8.0 

9 VAG 5-91-170. Exhaust emission standards for ASM 
testing in enhanced emissions inspection programs. 

A. No motor vehicle shall discharge carbon monoxide 
(CO), hydrocarbons (HC), or oxides of nitrogen (NO,) in its 
exhaust emissions in excess of standards set forth in tables 
in Part XIV (9 VAG 5-91-790 et seq.) when measured with a 
certified analyzer system and in accordance with the ASM 
inspection procedures prescribed in Part VI (9 VAG 5-91-410 
et seq.). 

B. The director may determine, based on results of 
emissions inspections verified by the department and in 
consultation with vehicle manufacturers, that emissions 
standards for [ affected or ] specific vehicle models, model 
years, or weight classifications shall remain at the phase-in 
/eve/ as specified in 9 VAG 5-91-790 rather than being 
adjusted automatically to the final standards specified in 9 
VAG 5-91-800. 

9 VAG 5-91-180. Exhaust emissions standards for on-road [ 
fie1qse measuremeRis testing through remote sensing]. 

A. No motor vehicle shall exceed the emissions standard 
for carbon monoxide (CO) set forth in Table 1//-8 when 
measured with a [ sertifierJ eR rearJ tesURfJ SJ'Siem remote 
sensing device ] and in accordance with the inspection 
procedures prescribed in Part XII (9 VAG 5-91-740 et seq.). 

B. Any motor vehicle determined to have exceeded any 
emissions standards in Table 111-B [ at least] twice within 90 
days when measured by [ aR eR rearJ tesURfJ a remote 
sensing ] device in accordance with the procedures of Part 
XII (9 VAG 5-91-740 et seq.) may be subject to an emissions 
inspection at an emissions inspection station in accordance 
with Part XII. 

C. The department may adjust the standards in Table 1/1-B 
by no more than two percentage points if it is determined that 
the standard is causing a false failure rate in excess of 20% 
or less than 5. 0% as measured by the results of emissions 
inspections at emissions inspection stations. [ Such 
adjustments may be for specific model years within each 
model year group based on manufacturer's emissions control 
technology. ] 
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TABLE 111-B. 
EXHAUST EMISSION STANDARDS FOR [ ON ROAD 

TESTING MeASUREJAENTS REMOTE SENSING]. 

Model Year co (o/o) 
1968-7 4, 4 cyl. engines and fewer 6.30 
1968-74, more than 4 cy/. 5.90 
1975-78, 6000 lb. and less [ J,.8Q 4.80 l 
1975-78, more than 6000 lb. 5.10 
1979 and newer, 8500 lb. and less [ J,.8Q 4.80 l 
1979 and newer, more than 8500 lb. 5.10 
1996 and newer, 6000 lb. and less 3.80 
1996 and newer, more than 6000 lb. 5.10 

D. For any [ sinfJie meniR 30-day period], up to 5.0% of 
the [ number of 1 vehicles [ measured three times ] which 
have been detected as having the cleanest measurements, 
based on an average of three measurements using on-road 
testing equipment within [ an)' ~g flay the 1 period, may, at the 
discretion of the director, be recorded as having passed an 
emissions inspection and such result shall be entered into the 
emissions inspection record for that vehicle. 

[ 1. On FGari lesliRfJ E. Remote sensing 1 measurements 
used for such purposes shall be from at least two different 
on-road testing locations. 

[ 2. On reari testing F. Remote sensing ] measurements 
obtained while a vehicle is decelerating shall not be used for 
the purpose described in this [ sui:Jseetien section ]. 

9 VAG 5-91-190. Emissions control systems standards. 

A. In accordance with§ 46.2-1048 of the Code of Virginia 
and 9 VAG 5-40-5670, no motor vehicle manufactured for the 
model year 1973 or for subsequent model years shall be 
operated on the highways of the Commonwealth unless it is 
equipped with an emissions control system or device, or 
combination of such systems or devices, such as a 
crankcase emissions control system or device, exhaust 
emissions control system or device, fuel evaporative 
emissions control system or dBvice, or other emissions 
control system or device which has been installed in 
accordance with federal laws and regulations. 

B. In accordance with 9 VAG 5-40-5670, Applicability of 
and Compliance with Air Quality Standards, no motor vehicle 
or engine shall be operated if any motor vehicle emissions 
control system or device has been defeated or replaced by 
installing any part or component which is not (i) a standard 
factory replacement part or component or factory equivalent 
and (ii) a part or component certified by the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency to comply with the Federal 
Motor Vehicle Control Program requirements. 

[ C. In accordance with 40 CFR 51.357 (b)(2), the 
installation of any aftennarket parts approved by the 
Environmental Protection Agency or by the California Air 
Resources Board for installation as a part of a vehicle's 
emissions control equipment shall not be considered 
tampering. 1 
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[ G, D. 1 In accordance with 9 VAG 5-40-5670, no motor 
vehicle or engine shall be operated with the motor vehicle 
emissions control system or device removed or otherwise 
rendered inoperable. 

[ I* E. ] The provisions of this section shall not prohibit or 
prevent shop adjustments or replacement, or both, of 
equipment for maintenance or repair, or the conversion of 
engines to low polluting fuels such as, but not limited to, 
natural gas or propane. 

9 VAG 5-91-200. Evaporative emissions [ systems ] 
standards. 

A. Standards for evaporative emissions inspections shall 
be those described in 9 VAG 5-91-450 and 9 VAG 5-91-460 
for applicable motor vehicles. 

B. Evaporative system fuel filler cap (gas cap) [ 8flfi 
pFGss~re lest] standards shall apply [ !JfJOR impfementalien ef 
IRe enhansefi emissiens ins.peelien prowam beginning 
January 5, 1998]. 

C. [ Evaporative system pressure test standards shall 
apply beginning July 1, 1998. 

D. 1 Evaporative system purge testing [ shah' /JeffiR ami 1 
standards shall apply [ /we years after imp!ementatieA ef the 
enhansefi emissions ins.peetien prowam anfi !JfJeR a 
suseess.'JJI January 4, 1999, unless a ] demonstration, based 
on the results of voluntary testing perfonned by the 
department or emissions inspection stations, [ shows 1 that 
such testing is applicable to and can be accurately perfonned 
on [ less than ] a majority of the vehicles subject to the 
enhanced emissions inspection program. The director shall 
determine whether such demonstration warrants the [ 
imp!ementalien delay ] of evaporative system purge test 
standards, and shall notify all pennittees, licensee, and 
certificate holders [ of the decision to delay implementation 1 
no later than [ six menlhs prier le the impiemeRtalien ef s~eh 
stanfiarcis July 1, 1998]. 

9 VAG 5-91-210. Visible emissions standards. 

In accordance with 9 VAG 5-40-5670, no motor vehicle 
shall discharge visible air pollutants for longer than five 
consecutive seconds after the engine has been brought up to 
operating temperature. 

PART IV. 
PERMITTING AND OPERATION OF EMISSIONS 

INSPECTION STATIONS. 

9 VAG 5-91-220. General provisions. 

A. The director shall issue, suspend, revoke or deny 
pennits and establish procedures and other instructions for 
the operation of emissions inspection stations. 

B. An emissions inspection station pennit is valid only for 
the facility and owner identified on the penni! and is not 
transferable to any other owner or facility. No facility shall be 
represented as an emissions inspection station unless the 
owner holds a valid pennit issued by the director. 

C. The emissions inspection station pennit holder shall 
inform the department of any transfer or sale of the busJness 
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or change in the name of the station, ownership, partnership, 
or name of lea see or operator within 10 days of such change. 

D. All documents, permits, data media and other 
inspection related materials shall revert to the ownership of 
the department if the emissions inspection staUon is 
abandoned or if the emissions inspection business is 
discontinued by the permit holder. 

[ E. Emissions inspection stations shall inspect all subject 
vehicles, which they are required by permit to inspect, in a 
timely manner and without prior repair or adjustment except 
to remedy rejection conditions. 

F. All emissions inspections, including retests, shall be 
conducted in their entirety according to the phase-in 
schedules for emission standards and fest components 
contained in Parts Ill (9 VAG 5-91-60 et seq.) and VI (9 VAG 
5-91-410 et seq.) ofthe this chapter.] 

9 VAG 5-91-230. Applications. 

A. Applications for permits shall be made to, and in 
accordance with procedures approved by, the department. 

B. Applications for permits shall be signed by the 
corporate president or by another duly authorized agent of 
the corporation; or by an equivalently responsible officer in 
the case of organizations other than corporations; or in other 
cases, by the owner; or in the case of govemmental entities, 
by the highest executive official of such entities or his 
designee. A person is a duly authorized agent only if the 
authorization is made in writing by the corporate president or 
by an equivalently responsible officer in the case . of 
organizations other than corporations. Such signature shall 
constitute personal affirmation that the statements made in 
the application are true and complete to the best of the 
knowledge and belief of the signer. 

C. An application for permit shall identify the facility for 
which application is made to become an emissions inspection 
station. A separate application is required for each facility 
and each facility requires a separate permit. 

1. More than one inspection lane may be included in a 
single pennit but, in such case, any enforcement action 
taken in regard to that permit shall apply to all lanes 
contained in the permit. 

2. In the case of mobile fleet emissions inspection 
station permits, the application shall identify the fleet that 
will be tested as well as the planned dates and times or 
operations. 

D. Applications for permits shall include such information 
as may be required by the department to determine 
compliance with applicable requirements of this chapter. The 
information required shall include, but is not limited to, the 
following: 

1. The name of the applicant. 

2. The street and mailing address of the facility or the 
permittee, or both, as determined by the department, and 
number of inspections lanes planned. 
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3. Demonstration that the analyzer system used by each 
facility for which a permit is requested complies with the 
provisions of Part X (9 VAG 5-91-640 et seq.). 

4. Proof of business ownership, articles of incorporation, 
partnership agreements, and lease agreements and 
proof of confonnity with focal zoning, use, or business 
licensing taws, ordinances or regulations. 

E. The applicant shall provide any other information that 
the department deems necessary to determine conformity 
with this chapter. 

F. The applicant shall provide any subsequent changes to 
the information required under subsection 8 of this section 
within 30 days of such change. 

[ G. Application for a permit to test fleet vehicles using 
mobile testing equipment shall be made at least 30 days prior 
the commencement of any testing and must be signed by 
appropriate responsible persons of each party. ] 

9 VAG 5-91-240. Standards and conditions for permits. 

A. No permit for an emissions inspection station or fleet 
emissions inspection station shall be issued unless the 
director determines that: 

1. The station owner has obtained and properly installed 
an analyzer system certified by the department, tools 
and electronic data processing and other equipment to 
adequately conduct the required emissions inspection in 
the manner prescribed by this chapter; 

2. The station owner has employed properly trained and 
licensed personnel to perform the necessary emissions 
inspections; 

3. For mobile fleet emissions inspection stations, a fleet 
emissions inspection permit has been issued for the fleet 
that will be tested; and 

4. The station owner has complied with all other 
requirements of this chapter which pertain to emissions 
inspection stations. 

B. No permit shall be issued to a facility which has a 
permit currently under suspension by the director until such 
suspension period has elapsed. 

C. No permit shall be issued pursuant to this section 
unless it is shown to the satisfaction of the director that the 
emissions inspection station shall operate without causing a 
violation of the applicable provisions of this chapter and the 
Virginia Motor Vehicle Emissions Control Law. 

D. Any permit applicant whose permit has been revoked 
shall make a showing to the director that the condition 
causing the revocation has been corrected to the satisfaction 
of the director [and in accordance with 9 VAG 5-91-610 ]. 

E. Pennits issued under this section shall contain, but not 
be limited to, the following elements: 

1. The street address of the facility or the permittee, or 
both; 

2. The name of the permittee or permittees; 
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3. The expiration date of the permit; and 

4. Other requirements as may be necessary to ensure 
compliance with this chapter. 

9 VAG 5-91-250. Action on permit application. 

A. After receipt of an applicah'on or any addih'onal 
information, the department shall advise the applicant of any 
deficiency In such application or information. 

B. Processing time for a permit is normally 90 days 
following receipt of a complete application. The department 
may extend this time period if additional information is 
required. Processing steps may include, but not be limited 
to: 

1. Completion of a preliminary review and a preliminary 
decision of the director,· 

2. Inspection or audit of the facility; and 

3. Completion of the final review and the final decision of 
the director. 

C. The director normally will take action on all applications 
after completion of the review, unless more information is 
needed. The director shall issue the permit or notify the 
applicant in writing of the decision, with the reasons, not to 
issue the permit. 

9 VAG 5-91-260. Emissions inspection station permits, 
categories. 

A. A permit shall be issued to a qualified applicant in the 
following categories, as determined by the department. 

1. Emissions inspection station. 

2. Fleet emissions inspection station meeting the 
requirements of 9 VAG 5-91-370. 

[ 3. In accordance with§ 46.2-1180 A 5 of the Code of 
Virginia, the director may issue special permits for the 
operation of emissions inspections facilities in 
geographic areas which have been determined by the 
department, based on the number of available emissions 
inspection facilities or lanes relative to vehicle population 
density, to be inadequately provided for. Such stations 
may have special permit conditions which restrict their 
operational hours, geographic location, data connection, 
quality control or other processes in order to effectively 
address the need and the intent of the Virginia Motor 
Vehicle Emissions Control Law. ] 

B. A permit shall be valid only for the emissions inspection 
station and operator, owner or leasee to which it is issued 
and shall not be valid for any other emissions inspection 
station nor any other operator, owner or lea see. 

C. A permit shall be valid for time periods determined by 
the department, not to exceed three years. 

D. Upon expiration of the permit, the emissions inspection 
station shall no longer be authorized to perform inspections. 

E. A per.mit shall expire whenever the owner voluntarily 
discontinues the operation of an emissions inspection station. 
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Remalmng emissions inspection materials shall be returned 
to the department immediately. 

F. A per.mit shall expire and documents or data media 
related to emissions inspections, reinspections, waivers and 
audits shall become the property of the department when the 
owner of record abandons the place of business and cannot 
be located. 

9 VAG 5-91-270. Per.mit renewals. 

A. Renewals of per.mits shall be subject to the same 
provisions of this chapter as are original per.mits. 

B. It is the responsibility of the emissions Inspection 
station to have a current valid per.mit. The department will 
endeavor to notify emissions inspection stations prior to the 
expiration of their per.mit. 

C. When supported by justification which the department 
deems adequate, the director may, upon request by a station 
owner, extend the expiration date of a permit by a period not 
to exceed 90 days for the purpose of allowing sufficient time 
for a station owner to cor.rect such deficiencies in the 
application as have been identified by the department and to 
allow completion of the application review by the department. 

D. It is the responsibility of the emissions inspection 
station to notify the department of the expiration of a 
suspension period. 

9 VAG 5-91-280. Per.mit revocation, surrender of materials. 

Upon notice of revocation, emissions inspection stations 
shall surrender to the department all per.mits, for.ms, data 
media and documents issued by or purchased from the 
department. 

9 VAG 5-91-290. Emissions inspection station operations. 

A. Emissions inspection station operations shall be 
conducted in accordance with applicable statutes and this 
chapter. 

B. Emissions inspection stations shall cooperate with the 
department during the conduct of audits, investigations and 
complaint resolutions. 

C. Emissions inspection stations, except fleet emissions 
inspection stations permitted under 9 VAG 5-91-370, shall 
conduct emissions inspections dun'ng nonnal business hours 
and shall inspect every vehicle presented for inspection 
within a reasonable time period. 

D. Emissions inspection stations which have performed a 
chargeable inspection that resulted in a test failure shall 
provide one free reinspect/on upon request within 14 
calendar days of the first test failure. 

E. Emissions inspection stations finding it necessary to 
suspend inspections due to analyzer system malfunction or 
any other reason shall refund any inspection fee collected 
when a station cannot accommodate a customer's request for 
a free reinspect/on in accordance with 9 VAG 5-91-420 M. 

F. Emissions inspection stations shall notify the 
department when they are unable to perform emission 
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inspections and shall notify the department when they are 
able to resume inspections. 

G. Emissions inspection stations shall: 

1. Employ at feast one emissions inspector. 

2. Have an emissions inspector on duty during posted 
emissions inspection hours, if applicable. 

3. Only allow licensed emissions inspectors to conduct 
inspections. 

H. Emissions inspection stations shall provide to 
emissions inspection customers any information which has 
been provided to the emissions inspection station by the 
department and which is intended to be provided to the 
customer. 

I. Emissions inspection stations shall allow emissions 
inspection customers to have viewing access to the 
inspection process. 

9 VAG 5-91-300. Emissions inspection station records. 

A Emissions inspection stations shall have records 
available at the station for inspection by the department any 
time during normal business hours. 

B. Test, waiver, and repair records, as appropriate, shall 
be maintained by the pennittee for 12 months or until 
transferred to the department. 

C. Cerlificates of vehicle emissions inspection and motor 
vehicle inspection reports shall be issued only by emissions 
inspection stations holding valid pennits issued by the 
department. 

D. Documents and data pertaining to emissions 
inspections and waivers shalf be kept in a secure location 
and only be available to emissions inspectors or authorized 
personnel, as approved by the department. 

E. Missing or stolen emissions inspection data or other 
official documents shall be reported to the department within 
24 hours. 

F. Emissions inspection stations shall be accountable for 
all documents and media issued to them by the department. 
Emissions inspection stations shalf be subject to quality 
assurance and control procedures as defined in 40 CFR 
51.363. 

G. Emissions inspection stations shall maintain a file of the 
name, address, and inspector number of all currently 
employed emissions inspectors authorized by the penni/tee 
to petfonn emissions inspections at that emissions inspection 
station and shalf notify the department of any changes. The 
emissions inspection station shall provide the file to the 
department upon request. 

9 VAG 5-91-310. Sign and penni! posting. 

A. Emissions inspection stations shall post a sign, 
approved or provided by the department, which confonns to 
local ordinances or codes, designating the location as a 
Virginia Motor Vehicle Emissions Control Program Inspection 
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Station in a conspicuous location on the permitted premises, 
within view of the public. 

B. Emissions inspection station pennits shall be posted in 
a frame, in a conspicuous place on the permitted premises, 
within view of the public and approved by the department. 

C. Emissions inspection stations shalf post the following in 
a conspicuous location on the permitted premises, within 
view of the public, and in a manner approved by the 
department: 

1. Notice of availability of the applicable exhaust 
emissions standards prescribed in Part /If (9 VAG 5-91-
160 et seq.) and Part XIV (9 VAG 5-91-790 et seq.); 

2. The fees charged for emissions inspections; and 

3. The hours of operation for emissions inspections; 

D. Emissions inspection stations shall post all signs 
required by this chapter in a location approved by the 
department and in a manner that does not violate focal sign 
ordinances or codes. 

E. Fleet emissions inspection stations and mobile fleet 
emissions inspection stations pennitted under 9 VAG 5-91-
370 shall be exempt from the sign posting requirements in 
subsections A and C of this section. 

9 VAG 5-91-320. Equipment and facility requirements. 

A. Emissions inspection stations shall have adequate 
facilities to perfonn all elements of the emissions inspection. 

B. Emissions inspection stations shall be equipped in 
accordance with this chapter and applicable statutes. 

C. Emissions inspection stations which no longer meet the 
requirements of this part shall cease inspection operations 
and may be subject to enforcement actions in accordance 
with Part IX (9 VAG 5-91-590 et seq.). 

D. Emissions inspection stations shalf be equipped with 
the following equipment, tools and reference materials at all 
times. Fleet and mobile fleet emissions inspection stations 
shall be so equipped during inspection periods reported to 
the department. 

1. A certified analyzer system in accordance with Part X 
(9 VAG 5-91-640 et seq.). 

2. Span gases approved by the department and 
equipment for performing gas span checks. 

3. Hand tools and equipment for the proper perfonnance 
of inspections as approved by the department. 

4. Suitable nonreactive exhaust hoses. 

5. A current emissions control systems application guide 
which contains a quick reference for emissions control 
systems and their uses on specific make, model, and 
model year vehicles. This may be in an electronic form. 

6. Analyzer manufacturer's maintenance and calibration 
manual. 

7. Certified thennometer. 
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8. A ventilation system which confonns to the Building 
Officials and Code Administrators (BOCA) mechanical 
code for automotive service stations and for facilities in 
which vehicle engines are operated in excess of 10 
continuous seconds and which confonns to the 
applicable local building or safety code, zoning 
ordinance, or OSHA requirement. 

a. The ventilation system shall discharge the vehicle 
exhaust outside the building. 

b. The flow of the exhaust collection system shall not 
cause dilution of the exhaust at the sample point in the 
probe. 

9. A cooling fan, used to ventilate the engine 
compartment, which is capable of generating at least 
3, 000 standard cubic feet per minute of air flow directed 
at the vehicle's cooling system at a distance of 12 
Inches. 

10. This regulation (9 VAG 5-91-10 et seq.). 

11. T e/ephone. 

12. Dedicated phone line for use by the analyzer system 
in emissions inspection stations except fleet emissions 
inspection stations which have been authorized by the 
director to use a nondedicated phone line pursuant to an 
agreement between the director and the fleet emissions 
inspection station, based on vehicle maintenance or 
registration cycles. 

13. Department approved paper for use in the analyzer 
system printer. 

E. Emissions inspection stations shall maintain equipment, 
tools, and reference materials in proper working order and 
available at the emissions inspection station at all times. 

F. It is the responsibility of the pennit holder to maintain a 
safe and healthy working environment for the conduct of 
emissions inspections. 

9 VAG 5-91-330. Analyzer system operation. 

A Emissions inspection stations shall maintain the 
analyzer in such a manner that will pennit the proper 
operation in accordance with the requirements of the 
manufacturer, this chapter, applicable statutes, and any 
procedures developed by the depariment. 

B. The analyzer shall be gas spanned and leak checked 
according to 40 CFR Part 51, Appendix A to Subpari S or 
other procedure as approved by the department. 

C. No additions or modifications shall be made to the 
analyzer unless approved by the analyzer manufacturer and 
the department. 

1. All repairs to the analyzer system must be perfonned 
by an authorized manufacturer representative. 

2. No analyzer replacement parts shall be used that are 
not original equipment replacement, or equivalent, as 
approved by the department. 
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D. No person shall tamper or circumvent any system or 
function of the analyzer. 

E. Emissions inspection stations shall be responsible for 
preventing any tampering or unauthorized use of the analyzer 
or its functions. 

F. Analyzer lockout conditions shall be removed only by 
authorized service or department personnel. 

G. The analyzer system shall be capable of electronically 
transmitting to and receiving data from the department 
computer network related to the administration of the Virginia 
Vehicle Emissions Control Program. 

9 VAG 5-91-340. Motor vehicle inspection report; certificate 
of emissions inspection. 

A Emission inspection stations and emissions inspectors 
shall be responsible for ensuring that all motor vehicle 
inspection reports are legible, and properly completed and 
printed with all lnfonnation appearing in the correct location 
on the fonn. 

B. Emissions inspectors and emissions inspection stations 
shall be responsible for ensuring that all emissions inspection 
results are properly communicated to the department. 

C. Certificates of vehicle emissions inspection shall be 
used only for documentation of official test results and 
registration of vehicles as appropriate. 

D. Certificates of emission inspections and motor vehicle 
inspection reports shall be issued only by licensed emissions 
inspectors employed by pennitted emissions inspection 
stations. 

9 VAG 5-91-350. Data media. 

Data media used for the collection of official test data shall 
become property of the department. 

9 VAG 5-91-360. Inspector number and access code usage. 

A The department shall assign each emissions inspector 
a unique number and numerical code known as an access 
code to gain access to the analyzer at the inspector's place of 
employment. 

B. Access codes and inspector numbers shall be added 
and deleted only by department personnel. 

C. An access code shall be used only by the inspector to 
whom it was assigned. 

D. An inspector's name printed on a motor vehicle 
inspection report shall be an endorsement that the entire test 
was perfonned by the inspector whose name appears on the 
vehicle inspection report. Each inspector must sign his full 
name on [ 8R)' the ] vehicle inspection report for each 
emission inspection conducted. 

E. Emissions inspection stations and emissions inspectors 
shall report any unauthorized use of an access code to the 
department within 24 hours of the discovery of unauthorized 
use. 
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F. Emissions inspection stations and inspectors shall be 
responsible for any violation or fraudulent inspection which 
occurs using inspector numbers or access codes. 

G. Emissions inspection stations shalf be responsible for 
all certificates of vehicle emissions inspection and motor 
vehicle inspection reports issued by that emissions inspection 
station. 

9 VAC 5-91-370. Fleet emissions inspection stations; mobile 
fleet emissions inspection stations. 

A. A person by whom there are 20 or more vehicles 
commonly owned, operated, leased or rented may be 
pennitted as a fleet emissions inspection station and may 
conduct inspections of that fleet or contract to have such 
inspections conducted. As a fleet inspection station, 
inspections shalf be conducted only on vehicles commonly 
owned, operated, leased, or rented by that person or political 
subdivision and not for employees or the general public. A 
fleet emissions inspection station shalf comply with all 
applicable requirements for emissions inspection stations 
except those from which they are specifically exempted. 

B. Fleet emissions inspections stations may, upon 
application and granted penni!, have fleet vehicles inspected 
through the use of mobile emissions inspection stations 
which have obtained a penni/ from the director to conduct 
inspections of that fleet. 

C. Fleet emissions inspection stations using mobile fleet 
emissions inspections equipment shalf notify the department 
of the planned dates, times and location of intended 
inspections not later than two weeks prior to testing and, 
upon request by the department, shalf provide a fist of 
vehicles to be inspected. 

D. Each fleet emissions inspection station is responsible 
for all vehicle emissions inspection records and data for 
vehicles inspected in that facility. 

E. Fleets and fleet emissions inspection stations shalf 
provide a fist, updated annually, of vehicles not registered in 
the program area but otherwise subject to this chapter. 

PARTV. 
EMISSIONS INSPECTOR TESTING AND LICENSING. 

9 VAC 5-91-380. Emissions inspector licenses and renewals. 

A. The director shalf issue, suspend, revoke or deny 
licenses, and establish procedures and other instructions for 
emissions inspectors. 

B. Applicants shalf qualify under 9 VAC 5-91-390 and shalf 
demonstrate to the department proof of identification and the 
ability to properly conduct vehicle emissions inspections 
according to this chapter prior to being issued an emissions 
inspector license. 

C. Application for licenses shalf be made to, and in 
accordance with procedures approved by, the department. 

D. Licenses are valid for time periods detennined by the 
department, not to exceed three years. 
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1. Upon expiration of the license, the emissions 
inspector shalf no longer be authorized to perfonn 
emissions inspections. 

2. Upon expiration of the license, the applicant shalf be 
required to pass the testing requirements in 9 VAC 5-91-
390 before being re/icensed. 

E. When supported by justification which the department 
deems adequate, the director may, upon written request by 
an emissions inspector, extend the expiration date of a 
license by a period not to exceed 90 days for the purpose of 
allowing sufficient time for an inspector to correct such 
deficiencies in the application, such as completion of the 
required instruction, as have been identified by the 
department and to allow completion of the application review 
by the department. Such application for license extension 
may require demonstration of the applicant's ability to 
perform an emissions inspection at an emissions inspection 
or referee facility to the satisfaction of the department. 

F. No person shall represent themselves as an emissions 
inspector without holding a valid license issued by the 
director. 

1. Licenses shalf be made available to department 
personnel upon request. 

2. It is the responsibility of th<J emissions inspector to 
have a current valid license. The department will 
endeavor to notify inspectors prior to the expiration of 
their license. 

3. Licenses are valid only for the person to whom they 
are issued. 

4. Emissions inspector access codes are valid only for 
the person to whom they are issued. Emissions 
inspectors shall not provide access codes to anyone. 

G. Upon notification of revocation, the inspector shalf 
surrender to the department all licenses issued by the 
director. It is the responsibility of the emissions inspector to 
notify the department of the tennination of a suspension 
period. 

H. Emissions inspectors shalf keep their current mailing 
address and place of employment on fife with the department 
and must notify the department of any changes in 
employment or mailing address. 

I. Emissions inspactors may petform emissions 
inspections at more than one permitted emission inspection 
station after notification to the department and with the 
authorization of the emissions inspection station owners. 

J. The provisions of this part apply to both initial licenses 
and any renewals of licenses. 

9 VAC 5-91-390. Qualification requirements for emissions 
inspector licenses. 

A. Applications to qualify for emissions inspector licenses 
shall be filed with the department and the issuance of the 
licenses shalf be administered by the department. 
Applications for such licenses shall be completed on fonns 
provided by the department. Before an applicant may be 

Virginia Register of Regulations 

566 



Final Regulations 

given a license, he must comply with the requirements of this 
section. The department will notify applicants of the 
evaluation requirements prior to testing. 

B. An applicant shall demonstrate the ability to operate the 
certified analyzer systems properly and perform testing as 
required by this chapter. 

C. No emissions inspector license shall be issued unless it 
is shown to the satisfaction of the director that the emissions 
inspector has the ability and resources to perform emissions 
inspections without causing a violation of the applicable 
provisions of this chapter and the Virginia Motor Vehicle 
Emissions Control Law. 

D. Any applicant whose license has been revoked shall 
make a showing to the director that the condition causing the 
revocation has been corrected to the satisfaction of the 
director. 

E. An applicant shall bear a valid motor vehicle driver's or 
operator's license and shall present proof of such license to 
the department at the time of application. 

F. An applicant shall demonstrate knowledge, skill, and 
competence concerning the conduct of emissions 
inspections. Such knowledge, skill and competence shall be 
demonstrated by completing training courses approved by 
the department and by passing a qualification test (scoring 
80% or higher) which may include, but not be limited to, 
knowledge of the following; 

1. Operation and purpose of emissions control systems. 

2. General relationship of hydrocarbon, oxides of 
nitrogen (NO,), and carbon monoxide emissions to timing 
and air-to-fuel ratio control. 

3. General information regarding adjustment and repair 
based on manufacturers' specifications. 

4. This regulation (9 VAG 5-91-10 et seq.). 

5. General information regarding contemporary 
diagnostic and engine tune-up procedures. 

6. The provisions of the Emissions Control Systems 
Performance Warranty pursuant to § 207(b) of the 
federal Clean Air Act as it applies to this chapter. 

7. Visual inspection of the required emissions control 
equipment for 1973 and newer vehicles. 

8. Operation of and proper use, care, maintenance, and 
gas span checking of certified analyzer systems. 

9. Proper use of and distribution of motor vehicle 
inspection reporls, cerlificates of emissions inspection, 
and supplemental documents. 

10. Inspections for visible smoke emissions. 

11. Functional testing of the evaporative emiSSIOns 
control system as required in the enhanced emissions 
inspection program. 

12. Safety and public health as it applies to the Vifginia 
Vehicle Emissions Control Program. 
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13. Public relations as it applies to the Virginia Vehicle 
Emissions Control Program. 

9 VAG 5-91-400. Conduct of emissions inspectors. 

Emissions inspectors shall be truthful and cooperate with 
the department during the conduct of audits, investigations 
and complaint resolution [ and all official matters ]. 

PART VI. 
INSPECTION PROCEDURES. 

9 VAG 5-91-410. General. 

A. The key steps in the emissions inspection procedure 
are as follows: 

1. Preliminary inspection of the vehicle to determine 
whether to accept the vehicle for testing or reject it, as 
approved by the department and according to 9 VAG 5-
91-420 C, based on safety and health concerns as 
related to the safe performance of an emissions 
inspection. The results of such preliminary inspection 
shall be provided to the customer. 

2. Advise the customer of the ability of the emissions 
inspection station to perform emissions related repairs 
including the availability of certified emissions repair 
technicians and necessary equipment, [ If the vehicle 
failed the test, inform the customer of their right to seek 
repairs elsewhere. ] 

3. An agreement between the customer and the 
emissions inspection station, oral or written, that an 
emissions inspection will be performed and the requisite 
fee paid. 

4. Determination of the type of exhaust [ aRalysis test 
required], either ASM or two-speed idle. 

5. The inspection of emissions control equipment. 

6. The test of exhaust emissions levels using a certified 
analyzer system. 

7. The evaporative system pressure test, pressure test 
of the fuel filler cap, and evaporative system purge test 
as applicable and according to the procedure determined 
automatically by the analyzer system. 

8. The distribution of documents and emissions 
inspection results. 

9. Advise customers of emissions inspection results, 
options for waiver if applicable, and the obligation of the 
station to perform a free retest within 14 days for failed 
vehicles and the conditions placed on the motorist in 
regard to free retests. 

10. Conduct free retest, if necessary, within 14 days of 
original test. 

B. The emissions inspection station may charge a fee not 
to exceed the amount specified in§ 46.2-1182 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
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9 VAG 5-91-420. Inspection procedure; rejection, pass, fail, 
waiver. 

A. All aspects of the inspection shall be perfonned by an 
emissions inspector, using the instructions programmed in 
the certified analyzer system and procedures approved by 
the department, within the designated inspection area, and 
on the pennitted premises. 

B. The emissions inspection station shall notify the 
customer prior to initiating an emissions inspection that the 
emissions inspection station is either able or unable to 
pertonn the emission related repairs required by 9 VAG 5-91-
480 for that particular vehicle should that vehicle fail the 
inspection. The emissions inspector shall not conduct an 
inspection on a motor vehicle unless the customer gives 
approval after being so notified. 

C. The emissions inspector shall not conduct an 
inspection on a motor vehicle if the vehicle is in an unsafe 
condition for testing according to the following conditions. 
The customer shall be infonned of any such condition. 

1. The vehicle shall not have holes or detectable leaks 
in the exhaust system. The inspector may check the 
system for leaks by listening for such leaks or by 
measuring carbon dioxide. The presence of leaks shall 
cause the vehicle to be rejected from testing. 

2. The motor vehicle shall be evaluated for the presence 
of visible smoke emissions. Those vehicles exhibiting 
any smoke emissions from the engine crankcase or 
exhaust system or both, shall be rejected from testing. 

3. The vehicle shall not have any mechanical problems, 
such as engine, brake, or transmission problems or 
engine, radiator, or transmission fluid leaks which would 
create a safety hazard for the applicable test, or bias test 
results. Such conditions shall cause the vehicle to be 
rejected from testing. 

4. For vehicles receiving a test while operating on a 
dynamometer, the vehicle shall be rejected from testing if 
[ drive wheel] tread wear indicators, tire cords, bubbles, 
cuts, or other damage are visible. Such vehicles shall be 
rejected from testing if space-saver spare tires are being 
used on a drive axle or if they do not have reasonably 
sized tires on the drive axle or axles based on 
dynamometer manufacturer safety criteria or if the set of 
tires is a mixture of radial and bias ply. Vehicles may be 
rejected if they have different sized tires on the drive axle 
or axles. Drive wheel tires shall be checked with a 
gauge for appropriate tire pressure and adjusted as 
necessary as recommended by the tire or vehicle 
manufacturer. 

5. The vehicle shall be rejected from testing if the fuel 
filler cap (gas cap) is missing. 

6. The vehicle shall be rejected from testing if a known, 
emissions-related, manufacturers recall has not been 
satisfied according to Part XI (9 VAG 5-91-720 et seq.). 

7. Vehicles which are overheated shall be rejected from 
testing. 
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D. The emissions inspection procedure shall be pertonned 
under the following conditions: 

1. The entire vehicle shall be in nonnal operating 
condition as indicated by a temperature gauge or touch 
test on the radiator hose. If ASM testing is perfonned, a 
cooling fan shall be directed at the engine cooling 
system if the ambient temperature exceeds 72'F. 

2. The inspection shall be perfonned with the 
transmission in park or neutral for two-speed idle testing, 
or in drive (if automatic), second or third gear (if manual), 
as appropriate, for ASM testing; and with all accessories 
off. 

3. [ All electronic and mechanical testing equipment 
shall be properly attached according to vehicle and 
analyzer manufacturer requirements and instructions. 

4. For the purpose of conducting the evaporative system 
pressure test and gas cap test, the vehicle shall be 
turned off unless the vehicle manufacturer has instructed 
otherwise. 

5. ] The analyzer probe shall be properly inserted into 
the exhaust system. 

a. The analyzer probe shall be inserted into the 
tailpipe as recommended by the analyzer 
manufacturer for a quality sample, or at least 10 
inches if not specified by the manufacturer. 

b. If a baffle or screen prevents probe insertion to an 
adequate depth, a suitable probe adapter or extension 
boot which effectively lengthens the tail pipe must be 
used. 

c. If the vehicle is equipped with multiple exhaust 
outlets, a suitable analyzer manufacturer 
recommended adapter or other apparatus shall be 
used in order to provide a single supply of the sample 
exhaust to the analyzer. 

d. Vehicle exhaust shall be vented safely out of the 
inspection area and facility. 

[ +. 6. ] If the vehicle stops running or the engine stalls 
during the test it shall be started as soon as possible and 
shall be running for at least 30 seconds prior to the 
restart of the test. 

[ a, 7. ] The exhaust test shall be tenninated upon 
reaching the overall maximum test time for the applicable 
test, or if CO plus C02 concentration falls below 6.0% as 
detennined by the analyzer system. 

E. In consideration of maintaining inspection integrity: 

1. The temperature of the inspection area shall be 
between 41'F and 110'F during the inspection. 
Inspection area temperatures shall be accurately 
measured in a well-ventilated location away from vehicle 
engine and exhaust heat sources and out of direct 
sunlight. The analyzer shall not be operated when the 
temperature of the inspection area is not within the range 
stated above. 
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2. The analyzer system shalf be kept in a stable 
environment which affords adequate protection from the 
weather and focal sources of hydrocarbons or other 
pollutants that may interfere with analyzer perfonnance 
or accuracy of test results, or both. 

3. The electrical supply to the analyzer system shall be 
able to meet the manufacturer's requirements for voltage 
and frequency stability. 

4. The inspection location shalf meet all applicable 
zoning requirements. 

5. The analyzer system shalf be operated according to 
quality assurance procedures and other procedures 
approved by the department. 

F. The emissions inspector shalf accurately identify and 
enter vehicle and owner infonnation as required for vehicle 
emissions inspection records. The data entered into the 
analyzer and recorded on the certificate of vehicle emissions 
inspection shalf be the data from the vehicle being inspected 
and must be obtained from that vehicle. 

G. For 1973 and newer model year vehicles, the 
emissions inspector shall perfonn an inspection of the 
emissions control systems. The inspecb'on shalf include: 

1. Examination of the emissions control information 
decaf (sticker) under the hood, reference manual, and 
applications guide to detennine if the vehicle, as 
manufactured or certified for safe or use within the 
United States, should be equipped with a catalytic 
converter system, air injection system, fuel evaporative 
emissions control system, positive crankcase ventilation 
system, exhaust gas recirculation valve, on-board 
diagnostic system, or thennostatic air cleaner system, as 
appropriate. 

2. Visual inspection for the presence and operability of 
the air injection system, catalytic converter system, fuel 
evaporative emiSSIOns control system, positive 
crankcase ventilation system, exhaust gas recirculation 
valve, and thennostatic air cleaner system based on 
detenninations made in 9 VAG 5-91-420 G 1. If any of 
these parts or systems are inoperable, or have been 
removed or damaged, or rendered inoperable, the 
vehicle will not qualify for a certificate of emissions 
inspection approval or waiver. If systems are missing 
which the reference manual or applications guide 
indicates should be present, the motor vehicle 
manufacturers emissions control infonnation provided 
for that vehicle shalf apply. 

3. For [ 1996 and newer ] vehicles so equipped, 
electronic inspection of the applicable on-board 
diagnostic (OBO) system [ , p~ase I er phase II, ] 
according to manufacturer specifications. 

[ a. l'imissiena related resulis ef sensinf! ef OBD 
p~ase I S}'stems shaN !Je reeerfied in IRe inspeelien 
reeerri and repeFied le IRe euslemer. 

ir. a. ] Beginning January [ 1, 1998 4, 1999 ], 
emissions-related results of sensing of OBO phase II 
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systems shalf be recorded in the inspection record and 
reported to the customer. 

[ s-, b. ] Beginning January [ 4 3 ] , 2000, emissions­
related failure codes provided by OBO phase II 
systems [ of vehicle model years 1996 and newer ] 
shall cause the vehicle to fail the emissions inspection. 

H. For vehicles otherwise subject to ASM testing based on 
model year and weight classification, the department may 
detennine, due to complications identified in consultation with 
vehicle manufacturers, that certain vehicle makes or models 
shalf be tested using the two-speed idle test in lieu of the 
ASM test or using a mixture of test modes such as an ASM 
2525 coupled with an idle test. 

I. For 1981 model year and newer vehicles with a GVWR 
up to and including 8, 500 pounds, the exhaust emissions 
inspection procedure shall be an ASM, two-mode (ASM 5015 
plus ASM 2525), loaded test, perfonned while the vehicle is 
operating on the analyzer system dynamometer. The test 
shalf be preceded by a 30- [ M! 90 ] second preconditioning 
period, as detennined by the department, using the ASM 
2525 load simulation. 

J. The exhaust emissions inspection procedure shalf be a 
two-speed idle lest as specified in paragraph (II) of Appendix 
B of 40 GFR Part 51, SubpartS, and 9 VAG 5-91-440 for the 
following vehicles: 

1. Vehicles with a GVWR greater than 8, 500 pounds 
and up to and including 10,000 pounds, 

2. Vehicles of model years 1968 through 1980, 

3. Vehicles which employ full-time four wheel dn've 
systems, 

4. Vehicles which have traction control or anti-lock brake 
systems which have been detennined by the 
manufacturer, to pennanentfy interfere with proper [ ASM 
] testing; or 

5. Vehicles which have some other configuration which 
has been detennined by the department to pennanentfy 
interfere with proper [ ASM] testing. 

K. The vehicle's evaporative emissions control system 
shall be checked by perfonning (i) an evaporative system 
pressure test, (if) a fuel filler cap pressure lest, (ii1) an 
evaporative system purge lest, or (iv) any combination 
thereof, as applicable and according to the phase-in of [ 
stamiarris testing] specified in 9 VAG 5-91-200. 

1. [Beginning January 5, 1998, ] the evaporative system 
pressure test shall be perfonned on vehicles of model 
year 1973 and newer [ and the results recorded in the 
inspection record and reported to the customer. 
Beginning July 1, 1998, a failure of the evaporative 
system pressure test shalf cause the vehicle to fail the 
inspection ]. 

2. A separate fuel filler cap pressure lest shalf be 
perfonned on vehicles of model year 1973 and newer 
unless the evaporative system pressure test [ will be 
perfonned and the ] method employed includes a test of 
the fuel filler cap. 
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3. [ Beginning July 1, 1998, unless detennined to the 
contrary by the director by March 1, 1998, ] the 
evaporative system purge test shall be perfonned on 
vehicles of model year 1981 and newer which receive 
ASM exhaust emissions testing, according to the phase­
in standards in Part Ill (9 VAG 5-91-160 et seq.) [and the 
test results recorded in the record and reported to the 
customer. Beginning January 4, 1999, a failure of the 
evaporative system purge test shall cause the vehicle to 
fail the emissions inspection]. 

L. In order to obtain a vehicle registration from the 
Department of Motor Vehicles, a certificate shall be issued by 
an emissions inspector or the department indicating that the 
vehicle has either passed the emissions inspection or has 
received a waiver as specified below. A motor vehicle shall 
pass the emissions inspection and a certificate of vehicle 
emissions inspection and a motor vehicle inspection report 
indicating the vehicle has passed shall be issued if· 

1. The motor vehicle meets the applicable emissions 
control systems inspection requirements; 

2. The vehicle emissions levels are the same as or less 
than the applicable exhaust emission standards in Part 
Ill (9 VAG 5-91-160 et seq.) and Appendix A. as 
applicable; 

3. There are no smoke emissions visible from the 
vehicle engine crankcase or tail pipe, or both; and 

4. The vehicle passes the evaporative system pressure 
and purge tests or fuel filler cap pressure test as 
applicable. 

M. If the vehicle fails the initial emissions inspection, a 
certificate of emissions inspection and a motor vehicle 
inspection report shall be issued indicating a failure, and the 
owner shall have 14 days in which to have repairs or 
adjustments made and return the vehicle to the emissions 
inspection station which performed the initial inspection for 
one free reinspection. 

N. A certificate of vehicle emissions inspection waiver may 
be issued if all of the following conditions are met: 

1. The vehicle passes the emissions control systems 
inspection (1973 and newer model year vehicles only) 
described by subsection G of this section. 

2. There are no smoke emissions visible from the 
vehicle engine crankcase or exhaust system, or both. 

3. The vehicle continues to exceed applicable emissions 
standards after emissions related repairs required by 9 
VAG 5-91-480 have been perfonned. 

4. An amount equal to or greater than the adjusted 
waiver cost for enhanced emissions inspection 
programs, listed below, has been spent on emissions 
related repairs as specified in 9 VAG 5-91-480 and 
according to 40 CFR 51.360 (a) (1} (as amended in 60 
Federal Register 20934, April 28, 1995) provided that (i) 
proof that appropriate repairs have been accomplished 
and costs for that specific vehicle have been provided to 
the emissions inspection station in the form of an 
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itemized bill, invoice, paid work order, or statement in 
which emissions related parts or repairs, or both, are 
specifically identified, (ii) the emissions inspector has 
confinned that the repair work was perfonned or 
approved by a certified emissions repair technician at a 
certified emissions repair facility, and (iii) the repair work 
was perfonned no earlier than 60 days prior to the initial 
inspection. 
5. The repair cost requirements for waiver eligibility for 
the enhanced emissions inspection program shall be 
adjusted annually to reflect the increase in the Consumer 
Price Index (CP/), as described at 40 CFR 51.360(a)(7), 
and shall be phased-in as follows [ 7 unless delayed by 
an action of the director. The director may delay each 
phase-in by up to 12 months if it is detennined that such 
a delay will not cause the waiver rate to exceed 3.0% of 
failed vehicles.] 

a. Through [ Desemi:Je• 31, 1997 January 4, 1998], 
the amount shall be $250 multiplied by the CPI as 
provided by the Environmental Protection Agency 
(EPA) according to the Clean Air Act. 

b. From January [ 4 5], 1998, through June 30, 1998, 
the amount shall be $350 multiplied by the CP/ as 
described above. 

c. From July 1, 1998, and henceforward, the amount 
shall be $450 multiplied annually by the CPI as 
described above. 

6. A waiver shall not be issued for a vehicle which is 
eligible for the emissions control systems perfonnance 
warranty, under the provisions of§ 207(b} of the federal 
Clean Air Act. In accordance with the provisions of § 
207(b) of the federal Clean Air Act, the repair costs 
necessary for complil;mce with emissions standards 
specified in Part Ill (9 VAG 5-91-160 et seq.) will be 
borne by the vehicle manufacturer or authorized dealer 
representative. 

0. The analyzer system shall generate an electronic 
record of the certificate of emissions inspection and transmit 
the appropriate data to the department and the emissions 
inspector shall make distribution of the vehicle inspection 
report to the customer. 

P. The emissions inspector shall advise the customer as 
specified below upon completion or tennination of the 
inspection procedure. 

1. If the test is tenninated prior to completion, explain 
reasons for failure of vehicle or equipment and advise of 
free retest and time limit, if applicable. 

2. If the vehicle passes or receives a waiver, provide a 
motor vehicle inspection report and advise motorist of 
registration requirement and process, including the 
process to be used in case of interruption of the 
electronic data transfer system. 

3. If the vehicle fails: 

a. Give vehicle inspection report of failure to 
customer; 
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b. Advise of type of failure; 

c. Advise of free retest and time limit; 

d. Advise of repair facility infonnation as provided by 
the department; and 

e. Advise of waiver requirements. 

Q. In cases of complaints or disputes between the 
emissions inspector or emissions inspection station and the 
customer, the customer shall be advised of the location and 
phone number of a department representative to be 
contacted to obtain assistance in resolving disputes. 

9 VAG 5-91-430. ASM test procedure. 

A. The ASM equipment shall be in proper operating 
condition according to manufacturers instructions prior to 
initiating a test. 

1. The vehicle shall be maneuvered onto the 
dynamometer with the drive wheels positioned on the 
dynamometer rolls. Prior to test initiation, the rolls shall 
be rotated until the vehicle laterally stabilizes on the 
dynamometer. Vehicles that cannot be stabilized on the 
dynamometer shall be rejected from testing. Drive wheel 
tires shall be dried if necessary to prevent slippage. 

2. Prior to initiating the ASM exhaust test procedure [, : 
1 

[ a. 1 Vehicles which are required to receive [ OBO or 1 
evaporative emissions testing shall be connected to 
the [ waperalil<e emissieRs appropriate 1 test 
equipment according to [ 9 VAG 8 91 41l9 9 VAG 5-91-
450 and vehicle and analyzer manufacturer 
instructions]. 

[ b. 1 The [ 080 test 1 evaporative emissions pressure 
test and fuel filler cap test, including second chance 
fuel filler cap test if required, shall be pertonned prior 
to the ASM test. 

[ c. The evaporative emissions pressure test and fuel 
filler cap test shall only be perfonned while the vehicle 
is not running unless the vehicle manufacturer has 
instructed otherwise. 

d. Vehicles which are required to receive the 
evaporative system purge test shall be connected to 
the appropriate test equipment according to 9 VAG 5-
91-460 and vehicle and analyzer manufacturer 
instructions. 1 

3. When ambient temperatures exceed 72°F, testing 
shall not begin until the cooling fan is positioned and 
activated. The cooling fan shall be positioned to direct 
air to the vehicle cooling system, but shall not be 
directed at the catalytic converter. 

4. Testing shall not begin until the vehicle is restralf1ed 
according to the instructions provided by the analyzer 
equipment manufacturer. In addition, the parking brake 
shall be set for front wheel drive vehicles prior to the 
start of the test, unless parking brake functions on front 
axle or if is automatically disengaged when in gear. 
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5. Testing shall not begin until the exhaust ventilation 
system is properly functioning and attached or positioned 
as necessary. 

6. To ensure that the motor vehicle and the 
dynamometer are in a wanned-up condition prior to 
official testing, a 30- [ 60 90 1 second preconditioning, as 
detennined by the department, shall be perfonned using 
the ASM 2525 load simulation. 

7. Pn'or to each test or mode of a test, the system shall 
automatically select the load setting of the dynamometer 
[ frtlm a sfJ(313lied leek 1Jf3 tab.'e 1. 
8. Engine speed shall be monitored by means of an 
RPM sensor and recorded in the test record. 

B. The test sequence shall consist of both ASM modes 
described in th1s section. Vehicles that fail the first chance 
test as described [ within 150% of the standard 1 shall receive 
a second chance test. The second chance test shall consist 
of a repetition of the mode or modes that were failed in the 
first chance test. 

[ 4.. C. 1 The ASM [ Mm> 2525 1 mode timer shall start 
when the dynamometer speed (and corresponding power) 
are maintained at [ ~ 25 1 ± 1.0 miles per hour for five 
continuous seconds. If the acceleration simulation exceeds 
the tolerance specified by the analyzer equipment 
manufacturer for more than five consecutive seconds after 
the mode timer is started, the test mode timer shall be reset. 
Should this happen a second time, the test shall be aborted 
and another started. The dynamometer shall apply the 
required torque load for [ ~ 25.0 1 mph at any testing 
speed within the tolerance of [ ~ 251 ± 1.0 miles per hour 
(i.e., constant torque load over speed range). The torque 
tolerance shall be ± 5.0% of the correct torque at [ ~ 25 1 
mph. 

[ ~ 1. 1 The analyzer shall automatically select the 
proper load setting for the dynamometer and test 
standards, based on the Equivalent Test Weight (ETW) 
and the look-up table in Part XIV (9 VAG 5-91-790 et 
seq.), using vehicle identification infonnation. Vehicles 
for which a load setting is not automatically selected, and 
for which a test weight is not available shall be tested 
using the following default settings: 

[ DEFAidLTASM a91a DYNAMOMETER HORSEPOWER 
SETTINGS FOR 8. 6" ROLLERS BASED ON NUMBER OF 

ENGI/IlE CYLilWJERS 

V-EHiGL.e 3-G¥k 4-G¥k a & 6 CYL 8-GYh ~ 
+YPe 

SH)AN MJ #A 4YJ 4&4 ~ 

&+A+UJ/ll 
~·W',GON M 44;1 4YJ 4&4 4&4 

A4UV! VAN 4<b1 4+.4 4$,8 4-M! 4&2 

PIGK!JP !M; 43c4 4&4 W,2 ~ 
+RlJCK 

SPGR+I 4(M 4YI 4e,.§ 4-fM ~ 
4J+IId+¥ 
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DEFAULTASM §Q1fj DYNAMOMETER HORSEPOWER 
SETTiNGS FOR 2Q" ROLLERS BASED ON NUMBER OF 

El1iGll\lE CYUl\lDE-RS 

V-€F/IGbE 
+¥f'li J-G.¥h 4-G¥!:, a & "G\'C. E-G¥h ~ 

SHlAN &4 4+8 4+d 46c9 .uu; 

St;~~IGl\.1 ~ 42cl 44',! .uu; .uu; 
~li,~4GG,II,.I 

MlllJ-,1 l.~4l'+l W4 44c& 4fuJ 44/; 4&7 

P!{;KIJP fMi ~ ~ ~ 24,:7 
+RUG!'. 

&PGR+I 4fh.a ~ 4ac9 4!MJ 24,:7 
Y+lb!+¥ 

r;;;_l:)bb. !.~tJ,N 4!MJ 444 4&2 ;!(g! 2+4] 

[DEFAULT ASM 2525 DYNAMOMETER HORSEPOWER 
SETTINGS FOR 8.6" ROLLERS BASED ON NUMBER OF 

ENGINE CYLINDERS 

VEHICLE 
TYPE 3 CYL. 4 CYL. 5 & 6 CYL. 8 CYL. >8 CYL. 

SEDAN 6.9 9.5 11.5 13.7 13.3 

STATION 6.8 9.7 11.5 13.4 13.3 
WAGON 

MINI-VAN 8.8 11.7 13.2 14.9 15.3 

PICKUP 8.0 10.9 13.6 16.0 17.8 
TRUCK 

SPORT/ 8.8 11.2 12.9 16.1 17.8 
UTILITY 

FULL VAN 9.0 11.6 14.7 16.3 17.2 

DEFAULT ASM 2525 DYNAMOMETER HORSEPOWER 
SETTINGS FOR 20" ROLLERS BASED ON NUMBER OF 

ENGINE CYLINDERS 

VEHICLE 
TYPE 3 CYL. 4 CYL. 5 & 6 CYL. 8 CYL. >8 CYL. 

SEDAN 6.9 10.1 12.3 14.5 14.3 

STATION 7.0 10.4 12.2 14.2 14.4 
WAGON 

MINI-VAN 8.9 12.5 14.0 15.9 16.3 

PICKUP 8.1 11.4 14.4 16.9 18.8 
TRUCK 

SPORT/ 8.9 11.8 13.6 17.1 18.8 
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II UTILITY 

FULL VAN 9.1 12.5 15.5 17.3 18.3] 

[ 3-. 2.] If the dynamometer speed or torque falls outside 
the speed or torque tolerance for more than two 
consecutive seconds, or for more than five seconds total, 
the test mode time shall reset to zero and resume timing. 
The minimum mode length shall be 45 seconds. The 
maximum mode length shall be 90 seconds elapsed 
time. 

[ + 3. ] During the 10 second period used for the 
pass/fail decision, dynamometer speed shall not fall 
more than 0.5 mph (absolute drop, not cumulative). If 
the speed at the end of the 10 second period is more 
than 0.5 mph less than the speed at the statt of the 10 
second period, testing shall continue until the speed 
stabilizes enough to meet this criterion. 

[ l>, 4. ] The pass/fail analysis shall begin after an 
elapsed time of 30 seconds. A pass or fail detennination 
shall be made for the vehicle and the mode shall be 
tenninated as follows: 

a. The vehicle shall pass the ASM [ WM 2525] mode 
and the mode shall be immediately tenninated if, at 
any point between an elapsed time of 30 seconds and 
90 seconds, the 10 second running average measured 
values for each pollutant are simultaneously less than 
or equal to the applicable test standards described in 
Patt XIV (9 VAC 5-91-790 et seq.). 

b. The vehicle shall fall the ASM [ WM 2525] mode 
and the mode shall be tenninated if subdivision [ ~ C 
4] a of this section is not satisfied by an elapsed time 
of 90 seconds. 

[ ~ 5. ] Upon tennination of the ASM [ WM 2525 ] 
mode, the vehicle [ and dynamometer] shall immediately 
begin [ asseleratinf} a transition ] to the speed required 
for the ASM [ ~ 5015 ] mode. The dynamometer 
torque shall smoothly transition during the [ asseleratien 
transition ] period and shall automatically reset to the 
load required for the ASM [ ~ 5015 ] mode as 
specified in subdivision [ B-8 D 1 ] of this subsection. 

[ 'h D. ] The ASM [ ~ 5015 ] mode timer shall statt 
when the dynamometer speed (and corresponding power) 
are maintained within [ ;y; 15] ± 1.0 miles per hour for five 
continuous seconds. If the acceleration simulation exceeds 
the tolerance specified by the analyzer system manufacturer 
for more than five consecutive seconds after the mode timer 
is slatted, the test mode timer shall be reset. Should this 
happen a second time, the test shall be aborted and another 
slatted. The dynamometer shall apply the required torque for 
[ ~ 15.0 ] mph at any testing speed within the tolerance of 
[ ;y; 15] ± 1.0 miles per hour (i.e., constant torque load over 
speed range). The torque tolerance shall be ± 5.0% of the 
correct torque at [ ;y; 15] mph. 

[ ~ 1. ] The analyzer shall automatically select the 
proper load setting for the dynamometer and test 
standards, based on the ETW and the look-up table in 
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Part XIV (9 VAG 5-91-790 et seq.), using vehicle 
identification information. Vehicles for which a load 
setting is not automatically selected, and for which a test 
weight is not available shall be tested using the following 
default settings: 

[ DEFAULTAI>M 2§2§ DYNAMO.'i/liiTER HORSEPOWER 
SETTING$ FOR 8.6" ROLLERS BASED ON NUMBER OF 

El\lGlfliE CVUl\'DERS 

~'EF-filGb.E 

+¥Piii J-G.¥!c 4-G¥k • & e G¥b. fJ-G¥k >E-G¥h 

~"'"" M IMi 44,.1; .J.&+· ~ 

ShtJI+J.GN u '*' 44,.1; 4&4 ~ 
V"#.GGllJ 

M.lt'V.I VAN u -#;7 4&-2 -U9 #;! 

f'iGKjJp M 4iMl 4&6 4MJ 4'hE 
+IWGK 

= M ~ 4-Y! #c1 4'hE 
Y+lbl+¥ 

,r;;_(Jb.l: l/,tJ,.f\1 !W 4-hfj 4+.+ 4fuJ 4+.2 

OEFAUL TA$M 2§2§ OYA'AMOMEiTER HOR8EiPOWER 
SETTING$ FOR 2Q" RO!-!-ER$ 13A SED ON NUM/3ER OF 

ENGU>.lfi CYUNDER$ 

vg,hiGLE 
+¥Piii J-G.¥!c 4-G¥k • & e G¥b. fJ-G¥k >E-G¥h 

SWAN M 4/M +2,J 44,.1; #J 

S"JlJ.'T,IQflJ YJ 41!4 ~ 44c2 44,4 
~~'~.~li,GQ,~ 

M,INI V.Al'>J M 42'/j .u.fJ 4§c!J 4fuJ 

f'iGKjJp &4 4+.4 44,4 4MJ ~ 
+IWGK 

= M 4-hfj 4&6 47,4 ~ 
Y+lbl+¥ 

R,'b.b. ~~4,/'>1 !!4 42'/j #.(; 4+.2 4fuJ J 

[DEFAULT ASM 5015 DYNAMOMETER HORSEPOWER 
SETTINGS FOR 8.6" ROLLERS BASED ON NUMBER OF 

ENGINE CYLINDERS 

VEHICLE 3 CYL. 4 CYL. 5 & 6 CYL. 8 CYL. >8 CYL. 
TYPE 

SEDAN 7.9 11.4 13.8 16.4 16.0 

STATION 
WAGON 8.1 11.7 13.8 16.1 16.1 

MINI-VAN 10.2 14.1 15.8 17.9 18.2 

PICKUP 9.6 13.1 16.4 19.2 21.1 
TRUCK 
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SPORT! 10.1 13.4 15.5 19.4 21.1 
UTILITY 

FULL VAN 10.3 13.9 17.7 19.6 20.5 

DEFAULT ASM 5015 DYNAMOMETER HORSEPOWER 
SETTINGS FOR 20" ROLLERS BASED ON NUMBER OF 

ENGINE CYLINDERS 

VEHICLE 
TYPE 3 CYL. 4 CYL. 5 & 6 CYL. 8CYL. >8 CYL. 

SEDAN 8.1 11.8 14.3 16.9 16.6 

STATION 8.3 12.1 14.2 16.6 16.6 
WAGON 

MINI-VAN 10.4 14.5 16.3 18.5 18.7 

PICKUP 9.8 13.4 16.8 19.8 21.7 
TRUCK 

SPORT! 10.5 13.8 15.9 19.9 21.7 
UTILITY 

FULL VAN 10.8 14.4 18.2 20.2 21.1] 

[ <J.c 2. 1 If the dynamometer speed or torque falls outside 
the speed or torque tolerance for more than two 
consecutive seconds, or for more than five seconds total, 
the mode timer shall reset to zero and resume timing. 
The minimum mode length shall be 40 seconds. The 
maximum mode length shall be 90 seconds elapsed 
time. 

[ *. 3. 1 During the 10 second period used for the 
pass/fail decision, dynamometer speed shall not fall 
more than 0.5 mph (absolute drop, not cumulative). If 
the speed at the end of the 10 second period is more 
than 0.5 mph less than the speed at the start of the 10 
second period, testing shall continue until the speed 
stabilizes enough to meet this criterion. 

[ #. 4. 1 The pass/fail analysis shall begin after an 
elapsed time of 30 seconds. A pass or fail determination 
shall be made for the vehicle and the mode shall be 
terminated as follows: 

a. The vehicle shall pass the ASM [ 262§ 50151 mode 
if, at any point between an elapsed lime of 30 seconds 
and 90 seconds, the 1 0-second running average 
measured values for each pollutant are simultaneously 
less than or equal to the applicable test standards 
descn'bed In [ Af'(>eRiiiX A Part XIV (9 VAG 5-91-790 et 
seq.) 1. If the vehicle passed the ASM [ §QM 2525 1 
mode, the ASM [ 262§ 5015 1 mode shall be 
terminated upon obtaining passing scores for all three 
pollutants. 

b. The vehicle shall fail the [ iRitial first chance 1 ASM [ 
262§ 5015 1 mode if subdivision [ fJ-44 D 4 1 a of this 
section is not satisfied by an elapsed time of 90 
seconds. 
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[ n. E. ] The inspector shall perform a second chance test 
on vehicles which fail either mode of the previous test 
sequence as follows: 

[ a-, 1. ] If the vehicle fails the first-chance test, the test 
timer shall reset to zero and a second-chance test shall 
be performed, except as noted below. The second­
chance test shall have an overall maximum test time of 
145 seconds if one mode is repeated, an overall 
maximum time of 290 seconds if two modes are 
repeated. 

[ ~ 2. ] If the vehicle failed only the ASM [ M!#i 2525] 
mode of the first chance test, then that mode shalf be 
repeated upon completion of the [ first chance ] ASM [ 
~ 5015 ] mode. The repeated mode shall be 
performed as described in this section except that the 
provisions of subdivision B [ ~ 5] of this section shalf be 
omitted. 

[a-, 3. ] If the vehicle [fails failed] only the ASM [ ~ 
5015 ] mode of the first chance test, then the [ first 
chance] ASM [ ~ 5015] mode shalf not end at 90 
seconds but shalf continue for up to 180 seconds. 

[ fi, 4. ] If the vehicle failed both ASM 5015 and ASM 
2525 modes of the first chance test, then the vehicle 
shalf receive a second-chance test for the ASM 2525 
mode [immediately following the first chance ASM 5015 
mode ] . If the vehicle fails the second-chance ASM 
2525 mode, then the vehicle shalf fail the test, otherwise 
the vehicle shall also receive a second-chance ASM 
5015 mode test. 

9 VAC 5-91-440. Two-speed idle test procedure. 

A. The emissions inspection procedure shall be a two­
speed idle test as specified in paragraph (If) of Appendix B of 
40 CFR Part 51, SubpartS. 

1. The two-speed idle lest shalf consist of a test of the 
vehicle's exhaust emissions at idle and at 2500 rpm 
while the vehicle's gear selector is in neutral or park. 

2. The idle test shalf be administered prior to the 2500 
rpm test. The tests shalf be run consecutively. 

3. The complete test shalf consist of a first chance idle 
mode test; followed by a first chance 2500 RPM mode 
test; followed by a second chance 2500 RPM mode test 
if the first one was failed; followed by a second chance 
idle mode if the first one was failed and if the [ SOOfHlfl 
GiJaRGe ] 2500 RPM mode test was passed. 

4. If the vehicle fails the first chance test, the second 
chance test shall be omitted if no exhaust hydrocarbon 
concentration less than 1800 ppm is detected within an 
elapsed time of 30 seconds. 

5. Motor vehicle manufacturers and the Environmental 
Protection Agency may issue special test instructions for 
specific vehicle models which shall be followed in lieu of 
the test procedures specified in this section if such 
instructions are provided through the administrator. 
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6. In order to pass the two-speed idle test, the vehicle's 
exhaust shall not exceed the standards listed in 9 VAC 
5-91-160. 

[ 7. Prior to initiating the two-speed idle exhaust test 
procedure: 

a. Vehicles which are required to receive OBD or 
evaporative emissions testing shall be connected to 
the appropriate test equipment according to 9 VAC 5-
91-450 and vehicle and analyzer manufacturer 
instructions. 

b. The OBD test, evaporative emissions pressure test 
and fuel filler cap test, including second chance fuel 
filler cap lest if required, shalf be performed prior to the 
two-speed idle test. 

c. The evaporative emissions pressure test and fuel 
filler cap test shall only be performed while the vehicle 
is not running unless the vehicle manufacturer has 
instructed otherwise. ] 

B. The idle test mode shalf be performed as follows: 

1. The vehicle transmission shalf be in neutral or park 
and the parking brake applied; the engine shalf be 
operating at curb idle according to manufacturer 
specifications, and there shalf not be any manipulation of 
the engine throttle mechanism. 

2. The engine speed (RPM) shalf be obtained and shalf 
be between 350 and 1100 RPM for the duration of the 
test mode. 

3. The pass/fail analysis shalf begin after an elapsed 
lime of 10 seconds. 

4. The minimum idle mode elapsed time shalf be 30 
seconds and the maximum idle mode elapsed lime shalf 
be 90 seconds. 

5. The exhaust concentrations shalf be measured as 
percent carbon monoxide and parts per million 
hydrocarbons after stabilized readings are obtained or at 
the end of 30 seconds, whichever occurs first. 

C. The 2500 RPM mode shalf be performed as follows: 

1. The vehicle transmission shalf be in neutral or park. 

2. The vehicle engine speed shalf be increased from idle 
to between 2200 and 2800 RPM and maintained at that 
level. 

3. If the engine speed varies outside the parameters of 
2200 to 2800 RPM for more than two seconds during a 
sampling period, the value shalf be invalid and the test 
duration extended to allow another sampling. If the 
engine speed varies outside such parameters more for 
than 10 seconds, the 2500 RPM test mode shalf be 
invalid and another initiated. 

4. The pass/fail analysis shalf begin after an elapsed 
time of 10 seconds. 

5. The minimum 2500 RPM mode elapsed time shalf be 
30 seconds [ , unless the vehicle failed the first chance 
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idle mode, ] and the maximum [ iRilial first chance ] 2500 
RPM mode elapsed time shall not exceed 90 seconds. [ 
If the vehicle failed the first chance idle mode the 2500 
RPM mode shall continue for 90 seconds. ] 

6. If a second chance 2500 RPM mode is conducted 
immediately thereafter, the maximum total 2500 RPM 
mode elapsed t1me shall not exceed 180 seconds. 

7. The exhaust concentrations shall be measured as 
percent carbon monoxide and parts per million 
hydrocarbons after stabilized readings are obtained or at 
the end of 30 seconds, whichever occurs first. 

9 VAG 5-91-450. Fuel system evaporative pressure test and 
gas cap pressure test procedure. 

A. The evaporative pressure test and fuel filler cap test 
shall be perfonned according to the requirements of 40 CFR 
51.357 (a) (10) and (b) (3), or according to a/female 
procedures approved by the Environmental Protection 
Agency and approved by the department as part of a certified 
analyzer system. 

B. If the certified analyzer system uses the procedures in 
40 CFR 51.357 (a) (10), the test shall be perfonned as 
follows: 

1. The gas cap shall be removed and the appropriate 
adapter connected to the fuel fiJ/er inlet. 

2. The gas cap shall be connected to an appropriate 
adapter, either as part of the adapter connected to the 
fuel filler inlet or as part of a separate gas cap test rig. 

3. The vapor hose or line in the fuel system connecting 
the evaporative canister to the fuel tank shall be clamped 
as close as possible to the canister. If the vapor line 
cannot be clamped to prevent vapor passage, it shall be 
disconnected from the canister and plugged to prevent 
vapor passage. 

4. The fuel tank shall be pressurized with ambient air, or 
a suitable, equivalent gas, to a pressure of 14 inches, ± 
0.5 inches, of water. 

5. The flow shall be turned off and the decay of pressure 
monitored for up to two minutes. 

6. If at any time during the two minutes the fuel tank 
vapor system is being monitored the pressure drops from 
the starting pressure by more than six inches of water, 
the test shall be tenninated and the vehicle shall be 
detennined to fail the evaporative pressure test. 

7. After two minutes, the clamp shall be removed from 
the vapor line or the line shall be unplugged and the 
system monitored for a drop in pressure. If a pressure 
drop is detected, and the fuel tank vapor system did not 
fail the conditions in step 6 above, the vehicle shall pass 
the fuel tank portion of the evaporative pressure test. If 
the gas cap is also connected to the fuel filler neck 
adapter during the fuel tank evaporative pressure test 
then the gas cap shall also pass and the vehicle shall 
pass the evaporative system pressure test. 
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8. If no pressure drop was detected after unclamping or 
unplugging the vapor line, the fuel tank, and cap if 
attached to the fuel inlet adapter, shall be pressurized to 
a pressure of 28 inches, ± 1.0 inches, of water, and 
steps 5, 6, and 7 above repeated. 

9. If the gas cap was connected to an adapter on a 
separate gas cap test rig, the gas cap shall be 
pressurized to a pressure of 28 inches, ± 1.0 inches, of 
water. 

10. The flow shall be turned off and the decay of 
pressure monitored for up to two minutes. 

11. If at any time during the two minutes the gas cap 
test rig is being monitored the pressure drops from the 
starting pressure by more than six inches of water, the 
test shall be tenninated and the vehicle shall be 
detennined to fail the evaporative pressure test; 
otherwise the vehicle shall pass the gas cap test. 

12. If both the fuel tank and gas cap pressures tests are 
passed, the vehicle shall pass the evaporative system 
pressure test. 

13. At the tennination of the test, the vapor hose and 
gas cap shall be reinstalled. 

C. If the vehicle fails the evaporative system pressure test 
solely because of the failure of the gas cap test, a new gas 
cap may be installed and a second chance gas cap test 
perfonned. Any failure and subsequent pass under this 
second chance testing must be recorded as part of the 
emissions inspection and reported to the customer. 

9 VAG 5-91-460. Fuel system evaporative purge test 
procedure. 

A. The evaporab've purge test shall be conducted only on 
vehicles receiving the ASM exhaust emissions test and shall 
be conducted in conjuncb'on with that test. 

B. The evaporative purge test shall be perfonned 
according to the requirements of 40 CFR 51.357 (a) (9) and 
(b) (3), or according to alternate procedures approved by the 
Environmental Protection Agency and approved by the 
department as part of a certified analyzer system. 

C. If the certified analyzer system uses the procedures in 
40 CFR 51.357 (a) (9), the test shall be perfonned as follows: 

1. Prior to initiating the ASM exhaust emissions test, the 
vapor hose or line between the evaporative canister and 
the engine shall be disconnected at one end and the 
purge flow meter installed, reconnecting the system. 

2. The vehicle shall undergo the ASM test and the 
evaporative purge flow shall be monitored. 

3. If the purge flow meter indicates a total flow volume of 
over one liter at any time over the course of the ASM 
exhaust emissions test, the vehicle shall pass the 
evaporative purge test. 

4. If the ASM exhaust emissions test ends prior to a 
purge of one liter, and the vehicle did not receive a 
second chance ASM test, the vehicle shall be operated 
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up to an additional 90 seconds in the ASM 2525 mode in 
order to detect a purge exceeding one liter. Otherwise, 
the vehicle shall be delennined to have failed the 
evaporative purge lest. 

5. AI the tennination of the test the flow meter shall be 
disconnected and the vapor hose reconnected. 

D. If the evaporative purge test is conducted by 
introducing an inert gas to the evaporative system and 
detennining its presence in the exhaust. the lest shall be 
conducted as follows: 

1. Prior to initialing the ASM exhaust emissions lest, the 
gas cap shall be removed and an appropriate fuel filler 
inlet adapter installed. 

2. Helium or a suitable inert gas shall be introduced into 
the fuel tank according to the specifications of the 
analyzer system manufacturer. 

3. The exhaust shall be monitored for the flow of [ 
OOiitJm the gas used]. 

4. At the end of ASM exhaust emissions test, if the 
helium concentration has at no time exceeded 25 ppm, 
the vehicle shall be detennined to have failed the 
evaporative purge test; except that if the vehicle passed 
or failed the ASM exhaust emissions test without 
requiring a second chance test in either mode, the 
vehicle shall be operated the additional lime periods 
allowed for whichever second-chance test modes have 
not been perfonned in order to obtain a passing 
concentration of 25 ppm. Otherwise, the vehicle shall fail 
the evaporative purge lest. 

5. At the tenninalion of the lest, the gas cap shall be 
properly reinstalled. 

9 VAG 5-91-470. Short test standards for warranty eligibility. 

A. For 1981 and newer model year light-duty vehicles for 
which any of the lest procedures described in 9 VAG 5-91-
420 are utilized to establish Emissions Perfonnance Warranty 
eligibility, (i.e., 1981 and newer model year light-duty vehicles 
at low altitude and 1982 and newer model year vehicles at 
high altitude certification standards of 1. 5 grams per mile HC 
and 15 grams per mile CO or less) short test emissions for all 
tests and test modes for HC shall not exceed 220 parts per 
million as hexane and 1.2% CO. 

B. For 1981 and newer model year light-duly trucks for 
which any of the test procedures described in 9 VAG 5-91-
420 are utilized to establish Emissions Perfonnance Warranty 
eligibility, (i.e., 1981 and newer model year light-duly trucks 
at low altitude and 1982 and newer model year trucks at high 
altitude certification standards of 2.0 grams per mile HC and 
26 grams per mile CO or less) short test emissions for all 
tests and test modes for HC shall not exceed 220 parts per 
million as hexane and 1.2% CO. 

9 VAG 5-91-480. Emissions related repairs. 

A. Emissions related repairs generally include only those 
adjustments to and maintenance and repair of the motor 
vehicle components and systems which are directly related to 
the reduction of exhaust and evaporative emissions 
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necessary to comply with the applicable emissions 
standards. The expenditure for emissions related repairs 
does not include the inspection fee as specified in 
§ 46.2-1182 of the Virginia Motor Vehicle Emissions Control 
Law, the expense of emissions related adjustments, repairs 
or replacements required by subdivision G 2 of 9 VAG 5-91-
420 or the expenses associated with the adjustments to and 
maintenance, replacement, and repair of emissions control 
equipment on the vehicle if the need for such adjustment, 
maintenance, or repair is due to obvious disconnection of, 
tampering with, or abuse to such emissions control 
equipment. Emissions control equipment means any part, 
assembly or system originally installed by the manufacturer 
for the sole or primary purpose of reducing emissions. 

B. Repairs and maintenance including but not limited to 
the following systems may qualify as emissions related 
repairs insofar as the purpose is to reduce exhaust or 
evaporative emissions: 

1. Air intake systems. 

2. Ignition systems. 

3. Electrical systems. 

4. Fuel control systems. 

5. Emissions control systems. 

6. Basic engine systems. 

7. Engine cooling systems for microprocessor based air 
and fuel control systems. 

8. On-board diagnostic systems. 

9 VAG 5-91-490. Engine and fuel changes. 

A. For those vehicles in which the original engine has 
been replaced, the following conditions shall apply: 

1. The emissions standards and applicable emissions 
control equipment for the year and model of the vehicle 
body or chassis, or the engine, whichever is newer, 
according to the registration or title, shall apply. 

2. For those diesel powered vehicles which have been 
converted to operate on fuels other than diesel, the 
emissions standards and applicable emissions control 
equipment for the year, make and model of the gasoline 
equivalent for the vehicle chassis, according to the 
registration, shall apply. 

3. Exceptions and final detenninations regarding this 
section may be granted by the department provided 
infonnation is verifiable by inspection of the vehicle 
engine and emissions control equipment by the 
department. 

B. For those vehicles tilled or registered as model year 
1973 and newer, that were assembled by other than a 
licensed manufacturer, such as kit cars, the applicable 
emissions control equipment and emissions standards shall 
be based upon a detenninalion of the year of the vehicle 
engine. The year of the engine shall be presumed to be that 
slated by the vehicle owner unless it is delennined by the 
department, after physical inspection of the vehicle engine, 
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that the year of the engine is other than stated by the owner. 
The emissions standards for a vehicle of this classification 
shall be detennined by the year of manufacture of the engine. 

C. For those vehicles which have the capability or are 
equipped to operate on either gasoline or an alternative fuel, 
and are subject to emissions inspections, the vehicle shall be 
tested while operating on gasoline. 

D. In order to provide for the accurate inspection and 
registration coordination of motor vehicles in which the 
original engine has been replaced, questions shall be 
referred to the department for resolution. 

PART VII. 
VEHICLE EMISSIONS REPAIR FACILITY CERTIFICATION. 

9 VAG 5-91-500. Applicability and authority. 

A. The director shall issue, deny, suspend or revoke 
certification and establish procedures and other instructions 
for the operation of vehicle emissions repair facilities where 
vehicle emissions related repairs will apply toward a vehicle 
emissions inspection waiver. 

B. The provisions of this part apply to initial certifications, 
renewals of certification, reinstatements and requalifications. 

C. The director shall issue a certification for any emissions 
repair facility qualified or requalified under 9 VAG 5-91-510 
except facilities whose suspension period has not expired. 

9 VAG 5-91-510. Certification qualifications. 

A. Application for certification shall be made to the 
department in accordance with procedures approved by the 
department. 

B. Applicants shall demonstrate to the department the 
ability to confonn to this chapter. 

C. Certifications shall be valid only to the emissions repair 
facility, owner, or lea see for which it is issued and may not be 
transferred or used at any other emissions repair facility nor 
by any other owner. 

D. Transfer or sale of business, or changes in name or 
location will require notification to the department and may 
require new cerlification. 

E. The department may require proof of business 
ownership, articles of incorporation, partnership agreements 
and lease agreements prior to certification of an emissions 
repair facility. 

F. All emissions repair facility certification documentation 
shall be posted 1n a conspicuous place on the certified 
premises, within view of the public and approved by the 
department. 

G. Certification is valid for time periods detennined by the 
department, not to exceed three years. [ The director may 
extend such certification once, for up to 180 days, if shown 
that the availability of training or equipment prevent 
recertification prior to expiration. 1 

H. Equipment, tools, and reference materials, including but 
not limited to the following list, are required to be available in 
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certified emissions repair facilities contingent on commercial 
availability. 

1. For vehicles subject to the Northern Virginia 
emissions inspection program and serviced by that 
emissions repair facility, current reference material, 
either in manual or electronic fonn, to include: 

a. Emissions control systems and application guides. 

b. Emissions related repair guides. 

2. Necessary toots and equipment, either as 
components or as a complete system, for emissions 
related repairs as listed below: 

a. [ AR A four-gas 1 exhaust emissions analyzer 
capable of analyzing exhaust emissions from vehicles 
on which emissions repairs are being perfonned. 

b. Oscilloscope or other automotive analyzer capable 
of displaying ignition patterns, cylinder power 
contributions, and square wave and injection patterns 
of vehicles. 

c. Ammeter, DC. 

d. Ohmmeter. 

e. Voltmeter, ACIDC. 

f. Tachometer, RPM meter. 

g, Fuel pressure gauge capable of fuel injection 
diagnosis. 

h. Cam-angle dwell meter. 

I. Ignition timing light with timing advance meter and 
adjustment. 

j. Compression test gauge and cylinder leak-down 
tester. 

k. Vacuum pump with gauge for applying simulated 
manifold vacuum to emissions control devices. 

/. Temperature gauge (32" to 300"F) for measuring 
engine coolant temperature. 

m. Scan tools, supplemental analyzer provisions, or 
detailed reference materials sufficient to allow the 
extraction and Interpretation of computer fault codes 
from any vehicle being repaired that is equipped with 
an exhaust gas oxygen sensor and malfunction 
indicator light. 

9 VAG 5-91-520. Expiration, reinstatement, renewal, and 
requalification. 

A. Upon expiration, suspension, or revocation of 
certification, vehicle emissions related repairs henceforth 
performed by the emissions repair facility shall no longer be 
applicable toward a vehicle emissions inspection waiver as 
described in 9 VAG 5-91-420 N. 

B. A new application is required after revocation or 
expiration of the certification. 
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C. The director shall reinstate an emissions repair facility 
certification at the end of a suspension period upon 
notification by the facility that the suspension period has 
ended. 

D. Requalification may be required at any time by the 
department based on the results of monitoring of emissions 
repair facility perfonnance or changes in applicable vehicle 
emissions control or repair technology. 

E. If an emissions repair facility fails to become requalified 
within 90 days after notice of requalification requirement by 
the department, the certification shall expire. 

F. The department will endeavor to notify facilities prior to 
the expiration of certification. However, if is the responsibility 
of the emissions repair facility to have a current valid 
certification. 

G. Expiration of certification or revocation of certification 
shall require reapplication. 

H. Upon expiration or notification of revocation, the 
emissions repair facility shall surrender to the department all 
certification documents issued by the department. 

I. Any applicant whose certification has been revoked shall 
make a showing to the director that the condition causing the 
revocation has been corrected to the satisfaction of the 
director. 

9 VAG 5-91-530. Emissions repair facility operations. 

A. Emissions repair facilities shall maintain applicable 
repair and cerlification related records available for inspection 
and audit by the department any time during nonnal business 
hours for 12 months. 

B. Emissions repair facilities shall employ at least one 
certified emissions repair technician during posted emissions 
repair station hours. 

C. Emissions repair facilities operations shall be 
conducted in accordance with applicable statutes and this 
chapter. 

D. Emissions repair facilities shall provide emissions repair 
data and other such infonnation related to repair 
effectiveness as required by the department in accordance 
with 9 VAG 5-91-530 A for the purposes of emissions related 
repair perfonnance monitoring. 

E. No facility shall be represented as a certified emissions 
repair facility unless a valid certification has been issued for 
that facility by the director. 

F. Emissions repair facilities shall cooperate with the 
department during the conduct of audits, investigations and 
complaint resolutions. 

G. Equipment, tools, and reference materials must be 
maintained in proper working order. 

H. Emissions repair facilities shall maintain a file of the 
name, address, and identification number of all currently 
employed certified emissions technicians and shalf provide 
such infonnation to the department upon request. 
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9 VAG 5-91-540. Sign posting. 

A. Emissions repair facilities performing emissions related 
repairs for the public shall post a sign approved or provided 
by the department designating the location as a certified 
vehicle emissions repair facility in a conspicuous location on 
the premises, in view of the public and approved by the 
department. 

B. Emissions repair facilities performing emissions related 
repairs for the public shall post the applicable waiver [ GOOffi 
lim# cost requirement J in a conspicuous location on the 
premises, in view of the public, and approved by the 
department. 

PART VIII. 
EMISSIONS REPAIR TECHNICIAN CERTIFICA T/ON AND 

RESPONSIBILITIES. 

9 VAG 5-91-550. Applicability and authority. 

A. The director shall issue, deny, suspend or revoke 
certifications to perfonn adjustments and repairs which are 
intended to apply towards a vehicle emissions inspection 
waiver. 

B. The provisions of this part apply to initial certifications, 
renewals, requafifications and any reinstatement of 
certification. 

C. The director shall issue a certification to any person 
qualified or requalified under 9 VAG 5-91-560 except persons 
whose suspension period has not expired. 

9 VAG 5-91-560. Certification qualifications for emissions 
repair technicians. 

A. Application for certification under this part shall be 
made to the department and in accordance with procedures 
approved by the department. 

B. Applicants shall demonstrate to the department the 
ability to confonn with applicable motor vehicle laws and this 
chapter. 

C. Certification is valid only for the person to whom it is 
issued. 

D. Emissions repair technicians may be certified to 
perform emissions related repairs at more than one certified 
station. 

E. Certification is valid for a time period detennined by the 
department, not to exceed three years. [ The director may 
extend such certification once, for up to 180 days, if shown 
that the availability of training or equipment prevent 
recertification prior to expiration. ] 

F. The requirements for emissions repair technician 
certification are as follows: 

1. The certification process shall be administered by the 
department or its agent according to procedures of the 
department. Before applicants are certified, they must 
comply with the requirements of this section. The 
department will notify applicants of the certification 
requirements pn'or to testing. 

Virginia Register of Regulations 

578 



Final Regulations 

2. An applicant shall demonstrate knowledge, skill, and 
competence concerning the adjustment and repair of 
vehicle emissions control systems. Such knowledge, 
skill and competence shall be demonstrated by passing 
a qualification test and cerlification process, which may 
include training, as approved by the deparlment. Such 
demonstration may include knowledge of the following: 

a. Operation and purpose of emissions control 
systems. 

b. Relationship of hydrocarbon, oxides of nitrogen and 
carbon monoxide emissions to timing and air-to-fuel 
ratio control and vehicle load as applicable to the 
emissions inspection required. 

c. Adjustment and repair to manufacturers' 
specifications. 

d. Contemporary diagnostic and engine tune-up 
procedures. 

e. Emissions related adjustment and repair 
requirements for all vehicles failing an emissions 
inspection [ , in parlicular, the adjustment and repair of 
those systems described tn 9 VAG 5-91-480 ]. 

f. Other such relevant emissions related repair 
criteria, as detennined by the deparlment. 

g. Other provisions of this chapter applicable to 
emissions related repair. 

G. Any [ serlifisalien ] applicant whose cerlification has 
been revoked shall make a showing to the director that the 
condition causing the revocation has been corrected to the 
satisfaction of the director. 

9 VAG 5-91-570. Expiration, reinstatement, renewal and 
requalification. 

A. Upon expiration, suspension, or revocation of the 
certification, the emissions repair technician shall no longer 
be authorized to perfotm emissions related repairs and have 
them apply toward emissions inspection waivers as 
described in 9 VAG 5-91-420 N. 

B. Certification of an emissions repair technician is 
required as a result of revocation or expiration of the 
certification. 

C. The director shall reinstate cerlification of an emissions 
repair technician at the end of a suspension period upon 
notification by the emissions repair technician that the 
suspension period has ended. 

D. Requalification may be required at any time by the 
deparlment based on the results of monitonng of the 
perfonnance of the emissions repair technician or based on 
changes in applicable vehicle emissions control or repair 
technology. Failure to requalify within 90 days shall result in 
expiration of the emissions repair technician certification. 

E. The deparlment will endeavor to notify technicians prior 
to the expiration of their cerlification. However, it is the 
responsibility of the emissions repair technician to maintain a 
current certification. 
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F. Upon expiration or notification of revocation or 
suspension, the technician shall surrender to the deparlment 
all cerlification documents issued by the deparlment. 

G. Requalification requirements for all emissions repair 
technicians. 

1. When necessary to update the technical qualifications 
of emissions repair technicians, or when technician 
perfotmance monitoring indicates a need for additional 
training or other action, holders of emissions repair 
technician cerlifications shall be required to requalify. 

2. Emissions repair technicians shall be required to 
requalify within 90 days from the date of wn"lten 
notification by the deparlment. Notice of this 
requirement shall be mailed to the address of record as 
maintained by the deparlment. The notice shall infotm 
the person of the necessity of requalification and the 
nature of such skills, systems, and procedures requiring 
the training for the continued perfotmance as an 
emissions repair technician. The notice shall give the 
name and location of training sources approved or 
accredited for purposes of retraining, the necessity of 
requalification by a cerlain date, and the nature and 
evidence of documentation to be filed with the 
deparlment evidencing such requalification. 

9 VAG 5-91-580. Cerlified emissions repair technician 
responsibilities. 

A. No person shall claim to be a cerlified emissions repair 
technician without holding a valid cerlification issued by the 
director. 

B. Cerlification documents shall be available on the 
premises where the emissions repair technician is perfonning 
emissions related repairs and available to deparlment 
personnel upon request. 

C. Emissions repair technicians shall keep their current 
mailing address and place of employment on file with the 
deparlment. 

D. Cerlified emissions repair technicians shall properly 
complete and sign fonns, including but not limited to the 
repair section of the vehicle emissions inspection reporl, 
indicating the diagnosis or reason for failure of the emissions 
inspection, the type of emissions related repair work 
perfotmed, the itemized and total cost of such repairs, and 
provide other data the deparlment requires for consideration 
of emissions inspection waiver requests. 

E. All emissions repair technicians shall cooperate with the 
deparlment during the conduct of audits, investigations and 
complaint resolution. 

PART IX. 
[ Reserved. ] 

[ 9 VAG 5-91-590 through 9 VAG 5-91-630. Reserved.] 
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PART X. 
ANALYZER SYSTEM CERTIFICATION AND 

SPEC/FICA T/ONS FOR ENHANCED EMISSIONS 
INSPECTION PROGRAMS. 

9 VAC 5-91-640. Applicability. 

A. The provisions of this chapter apply to any [ insiRJment 
er e~"·Y,ment system ] used for measuring exhaust gases 
and evaporative emissions from motor vehicles in the Virginia 
Motor Vehicle Emissions Control Program. 

B. No owner or other person shall conduct emissions 
inspections required by the Virginia Vehicle Emissions 
Control Program pursuant to this chapter unless the analyzer 
system used to perfonn such inspections is certified by the 
department and such other required equipment meets the 
provision of this chapter. 

9 VAC 5-91-650. Design goals. 

A. The analyzer system shalf be designed for maximum 
operational simplicity with a minimum number of operational 
decisions required by the emissions inspector in the 
perfonnance of a complete [ e!fha"&t ] emissions analysis 
including [ exhaust tests, ] evaporative emissions [ fe8fs.. ] or 
fuel filler cap [ le&l tests, other emissions-related electronic or 
mechanical tests, ] or a combination of such tests. 

B. The analyzer system shall be unaffected by ambient 
conditions in a typical emissions inspection station 
environment and its use shall be primarily for compliance 
inspection purposes. It shall be capable of providing 
emissions characteristics, independent of the inspection 
function, which can be used for vehicle diagnostic work as 
well. 

C. The analyzer system shall be of a design which can 
perfonn ASM testing using a BAR 90 analyzer with the 
addition of (i) a dynamometer, (ii) a NOx analyzer, (iii) 
evaporative emissions control system pressure test 
equipment, (iv) fuel filler cap test equipment, [ and] (v) [ oo­
i>oard riia[IAD&tis (080) SORRestiDR e~"'Y,meRf for 
man"fasl~rer pfla&e /, aRri (114 ] a two-dimensional bar code 
reader and laser printer. 

D. The analyzer shall be readily upgradable, without 
replacing the existing central processing unit, to incorporate 
on-board diagnostic (OBD) p/Jase II testing equipment, 
evaporative system purge test equipment, and additional 
electronic vehicle identification equipment such as video and 
audio processes. 

9 VAC 5-91-660. Warranty; service contract. 

A. A certified emissions analyzer system shall include, at a 
minimum, a warranty, including parts and labor, which shall 
begin on the day of the enhanced emissions inspection 
program implementation and continue in force for one year. 
The disk drive system in the central processing unit shall be 
warranted for two years. 

B. Emissions analyzer system manufacturers or vendors 
shall offer, at a price to be stated at the time such system is 
offered for sale, an extended warranty for an additional five 
years beyond the initial one-year warranty. 
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C. Emissions analyzer system manufacturers or vendors 
shall offer, at a price to be stated at the time such system is 
offered for sale, a maintenance service contract for the period 
of time remaining from the startup date to a date six years 
afterward. 

9 VAC 5-91-670. Owner provided services. 

A. The owner of an emissions inspection station shall 
enter into an agreement with a manufacturer or its authorized 
representative to provide the following services to the 
emissions inspection station at an initial fixed cost per 
analyzer system to be agreed upon by both parties. 

1. Delivery, installation, calibration, and verification of 
the proper operating condition of an analyzer system 
which has been certified in writing by the department. 

2. Training of all inspectors employed by the emissions 
inspection station at the time of installation in (i) the 
proper use, maintenance, and operation of the exhaust 
analyzer system, (ii) the step-by-step procedure for 
perfonning an emissions inspection and any evaporative 
emissions control system test or fuel filler cap test 
required, and (iii) proper safety precautions for 
dynamometer use and exhaust and calibration gas 
venmation procedures. 

3. Annual updates [ , except those to be perfonned by 
department personnel, ] of the preexisting internal 
computer software of the analyzer as specified by the 
department including, but not limited to: 

a. Changes to the emissions standards; 

b. Changes to the listed vehicle codes; 

c. Changes to the items in the printing system to 
correspond to changes in other requirements; and 

d. Additions or changes to the [ laRlf!eFiR[I emissions 
control equipment] list. 

B. Emissions inspection stations shall maintain their 
analyzer systems in good working condition such that they 
continue to meet certification requirements. Any further 
arrangements regarding service or maintenance are at the 
discretion of the emissions inspection station and the 
manufacturer or equipment vendor. 

C. Repair or replacement of analyzer system components, 
other than for nann a/ maintenance, must be perfonned by the 
analyzer system manufacturer or authorized agent. 

9 VAC 5-91-680. Certification of analyzer systems. 

A. No analyzer system may be installed, sold or 
represented as a certified enhanced analyzer system without 
prior written certification by the department. 

B. [ IR er<!er kJ ,.,seivo depa '#ReAl seltifisation, ] The 
analyzer system must have a certificate from the 
manufacturer that it meets the specifications of 40 CFR 
Part 85, Subpart W. This certification is necessary so that 
inspections perfonned using that analyzer will qualify 
applicable vehicles for warranty repair coverage according to 
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the provisions of t/1e Emissions Control System Perfonnance 
Warranty(§ 207(b) of the federal Clean Air Act). 

C. A [ maRulaBiflror person 1 requesting the [ awra·~al 
certification 1 of an [ instrument fer IRe meas!lrament ef 
e!fha!lsf gases emissions analyzer system 1 for use in the 
Virginia Motor Vehicle Emissions Control Program shall make 
application to the department using procedures approved by 
the department. 

[ D. The analyzer system, in order to become certified for 
use and be used for emissions inspections, shall confonn to 
the equipment specifications and quality control requirements 
of EPA Technical Guidance document EPA-AA-RSPD-/M-96-
2 unless requirements contained therein are excluded or 
superseded by requirements of this chapter as enumerated 
below. 

1. Vehicles powered by a fuel other than gasoline are 
not covered by this program and references to emissions 
standards and correction factors to test such vehicles do 
not currently apply to this program. (Ref. EPA-AA­
RPSD-/M-92-2 § 85.1(b)(1)(iv)). 

2. The emissions inspection equipment is not required to 
Incorporate vehicle brake sensing. (Ref. EPA-AA-RPSD­
/M-92-2 § 85.2(a)(5)). 

3. The preconditioning period for all vehicles undergoing 
an ASM test shall be 90 seconds. System prompts 
regarding queuing ffme are unnecessary. (Ref. EPA-AA­
RPSD-IM-92-2 § 8521(b)(10)(i) and (ii)(C)). 

4. All vehicles of model year 1996 and newer equipped 
with the SAE standardized OBD connection shall have 
engine RPM and emissions-related infonnation read 
through the OBD connection beginning January 4, 1999. 
Emissions inspection equipment shall have the 
necessary equipment to perfonn such testing by this 
date. (Ref. EPA-AA-RPSD-/M-92-2 § 85.1(c)(9) and § 
85.3 (c)(5)). 

5. Vehicles subject to ASM testing shall receive the 
ASM 2525 and ASM 5015 modes in that sequence, 
followed by any second chance testing for which the 
vehicle is eligible in the same sequence. Second 
chance tests shall only be perfonned on vehicles which 
failed the first chance test within 150% of all applicable 
standards. (Ref. EPA-AA-RPSD-/M-92-2 § 85.2 (d) and 
(e)). 

6. Dynamometers shall be calibrated through a coast­
down procedure every 72 hours. (Ref. EPA-AA-RPSD­
IM-92-2 § 85.4(b)(1)). 

7. The allowable tolerances for the /ow-range audit gas 
in § 85.4(d)(2)(iii)(B) shall be: ± 10 ppm HC, ± 0.025% 
CO, ± 0.36% C02, and ± 28 ppm NO. For the time 
period in which phase-in exhaust emissions standards 
are in use, analyzers shall not lock out unless the low­
range gas audit has been out of tolerance for more than 
72 hours. However, for any reading out of tolerance with 
the /ow-range audit, the system shall prompt the 
inspector to have the analyzer serviced. 
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8. Analyzer calibration gas bottles shall be bar-coded or 
have bar-coded labels providing the specifications of the 
gas contained within and the analyzer system shall 
require a reading of these specifications, through the 
system bar code reader, whenever the bottles are 
changed. The calibration gases, therefore, may have up 
to a 5.0% blend tolerance. (Ref. EPA-AA-RPSD-IM-92-2 
§ 85.4(d)(2)(iv)). 

9. The analyzer shall prompt for gas audits to be 
perfonned ·quarterly. (Ref. EPA-AA-RPSD-/M-92-2 § 
85.4( d)(3)(i)). 

10. Analyzer audit gas bottles shall be bar-coded or 
have bar-coded labels providing the specifications of the 
gas contained within and the analyzer system shall 
require a read1ng of these specifications, through the 
system bar code reader, whenever the audit is 
conducted. The calibration gases, therefore, may have 
up to a 5.0% blend tolerance. (Ref. EPA-AA-RPSD-/M-
92-2 § 85.4(d)(3)(iv)). 1 

9 VAG 5-91-690. 
purposes. 

Span gases; gases for calibration 

A. The gases used in the emissions inspection shall be 
approved by the department and shall comply with the 
"Virginia Approved Span Gas Verification Program" 
requirements as established by the department. 

1. Gases shall be manufactured in accordance with U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency technical report, "EPA 
Recommended Practice for Naming liM Calibration Gas." 

2. The station owner shall maintain a comprehensive, 
up-to-date list [ provided by the department 1. including [ 
witll 1 addresses and phone numbers, of gas blenders 
approved by the department. 

B. The gas concentrations [ S!lPf'lied Ia the , requirements, 
and tolerances of gases used by 1 emissions inspection 
stations shall confonn to the specifications contained in [ this 
56G#en EPA-AA-RSPD-/M-96-2 and each container shall 
bear a bar-coded label containing concentration and 
tolerance infonnation as required for calibration and audit 
purposes]. [ Assflmsy ef lhe yas blends shall he se!#fiecJ hy 
the gas h.leRder Ia he witRiR :1: 2. G% ef IRe taeeled 
eonoentration and sJ:Ja!l Be t.'=aeeaJ:Jie to the NatirmaJ institute 
ef Stamlan:ls and Teshne/ef!Y. 

1. The sarrier yas shall he nitreyen; the hydreeareeR 
gas shall he prepaRe. Three G""'fleRBRI lfwdresareen, 
earben meRexide, sareeR rliexide aRE! earrier) gases 
shat! be pre•liaed. 

2. The G9RGeRira#ens ef IRe gas eien<l shafl be within 
lim/Is eslahlishea hy the depaflmenl Ia previde .'or 
oo.'feFFR e><ha!isl gas analyzer spanniRg. 1 

C. Gases shall be supplied in containers which meet all 
the provisions of the Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration as specified in 36 Federal Register 105, dated 
May 29, 1971. 

D. Each [ analyzer 1 instrument shall be pennanently 
labeled with its optical correction factor (also referred to as 
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"C" factor, propane equivalency factor, or propane to hexane 
conversion factor), carried to at least two decimal places 
(within the gas accuracy limits), e.g., (0.52). Factor 
confinnation shall be made on each assembled analyzer by 
measuring both N-hexane and propane on assembly line 
quality checks. 

9 VAG 5-91-700. Calibration of exhaust gas analyzers. 

The department shall use, and require for use, gases and 
containers meeting the following parameters, blends, and 
specifications in the calibration of exhaust gas analyzers: 

1. The calibration gases for standardizing instruments 
shall confonn to the provisions outlined in [ 4G CFR 
B6.114 79, er etller speeifie guiecmee from tile 
E-AviFSAmeAffil,OretestieR AfleRSj' ferA$ll.4 Bf:IT:JipmeRt, fer 
afJtometive WEJ:ia1:1st eFRissions testiAg. Those gases 
stJaU ee et,reeisieR ~ua#ty, eerti#ee te be vdlllin;, 1.Q% 
of f.Re la13efed GORGORtra#oR, aRri trasea/3/e te the 
Naiienallnslilute ef £taneartis ami Teelmo!o!H EPA-AA­
RSPD-IM-96-2]. 

2. Analyzers shall automatically [ Fef/tJiFe perfonn ] and [ 
sueeessfuUy ] pass a three-point gas calibration for HC, 
CO, and co, and a two-point calibration for NO, within 
72 hours before each test. 

3. Analyzers shall [ aYtematieaUy ] require and [ 
sueeessfuUy ] pass a five-point gas audit for HC, CO, 
CO,, and NO [ at least ] every [ 00 180 ] days and each 
time an analyzer emissions measurement system, 
sensor, or other electronic components are repaired or 
replaced. 

9 VAG 5-91-710. Upgrade of analyzer system. 

A. Any requirement to upgrade a certified emissions [ 
inBf'eelien ] analyzer system [ as beyond the specifications 
and requirements ] described in this chapter [ and EPA-AA­
RSPD-IM-96-2 ] shall apply to all such systems certified 
under this chapter and shall require an amendment to this 
chapter. 

B. Such upgrade may include, but not be limited to, [ 
enhanced ] on-board diagnostic (OBD) [ phase .'.' ] testing 
equipment, any evaporative emissions control system 
pressure test or purge test equipment not already in use, and 
electronic vehicle identification systems such as video and 
audio processes. 

PART X/. 
MANUFACTURER RECALL. 

9 VAG 5-91-720. Vehicle manufacturer recall. 

A. Motor vehicles subject to the enhanced emissions 
inspection program shall have any known emissions-related, 
vehicle manufacturer recall requirement satisfied prior to 
testing. 

B. Manufacturers' emissions-related recall requirements 
may be pursuant to either a "Voluntary Emissions Recall" as 
defined at 40 CFR 85.1902(d) or to a remedial plan 
determination made pursuant to 42 USC§ 7541(c). 
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C. The motor vehicle owner shall provide proof of 
compliance with such recall requirement to the emissions 
inspector or to the department. 

1. Such proof shall consist of dated receipts from a 
motor vehicle dealer or repair facility authorized by the 
vehicle manufacturer to perform such repair or 
adjustment required by the recall. 

2. The motor vehicle owner is responsible for obtaining 
satisfactory resolution of any such recall requirement 
and retaining all pertinent records and data. 

D. Notification by mail to the motor vehicle owner of an 
emissions-related manufacturer recall at least 60 days prior 
to the requirement for an emissions inspection shall 
constitute adequate notice. Such notice may be provided 
through motor vehicle registration renewal notification, motor 
vehicle dealer notification, notification by the department, or 
other means. 

9 VAG 5-91-730. Exemptions; temporary extensions. 

A. An exemption to the requirement to comply with 
emissions-related manufacturer recall may be granted by the 
director upon a showing, documented by corroborating 
infonnation from the vehicle manufacturer or dealer, that such 
recall is no longer valid or can no longer be complied with 
due to technical reasons. 

B. An extension of the vehicle emissions inspection valid 
period may be granted by the department for the purpose of 
compliance with emissions-related manufacturer recall upon 
a showing, documented by corroborating infonnation from the 
vehicle manufacturer or dealer, that required parts, tools or 
required technological infonnation is unavailable. Such 
extension shall be for a period which reflects the 
demonstrated need, not to exceed two years. 

PART XII. 
ON-ROAD TESTING. 

9 VAG 5-91-740. General requirements. 

A. The on-road testing program shall confonn, at a 
minimum, to the requirements of 40 CFR 51.371 and§ 46.2-
1178. 1 of the Code of Virginia applicable to the program area 
in which it is employed. 

B. The emissions standards for the on-road [ ie8iiAf1 
remote sensing] program are those contained in Table 111-8 
in [ 9 VAG e 91 17Q 9 VAG 5-91-180 ]. 

C. The [ remete seRsiRg on-road testing ] program and the 
emissions standards applicable thereto shall apply to all 
motor vehicles registered in the program area and [ a!J these 
any] vehicles operated [ l'rimari/y] in the program area. 

9 VAG 5-91-750. 
standards. 

Operating procedures; violation of 

A. Remote sensing equipment shall be operated in 
accordance with the remote sensing equipment 
manufacturers operating instructions and any contract or 
agreement between the department and the equipment 
operator. 
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B. Motor vehicles determined by remote sensing 
equipment to have exceeded the applicable emissions 
standard in Table 111-B in 9 VAG 5-91-170 twice within 90 
days shall be considered to have violated such emissions 
standards. 

1. Owners of such motor vehicles shall be issued a 
notice of violation and shall be subject to the civil 
charges in 9 VAG 5-91-760 unless waived pursuant to 
this section. 

2. [ If Upon a determination by the department that ] a 
violation has occurred, motorists shall be informed by the 
department or its representative of the failure to comply 
with emissions standards and of the dates, times, and 
places such remote sensing occurred. 

C. Civil charges assessed pursuant to this part shall be 
waived if, within 90 days of the date of the notice of the 
violation, the motor vehicle owner provides proof [ to the 
department] that [ {if ] since the date of the violation, [ (i) ] 
the vehicle has passed a vehicle emissions inspection, (ii) the 
vehicle has received an emissions inspection [ aRfl ql:la!ifios 
feF-a ] waiver, or (iii) the vehicle has qualified for a waiver 
within the 12 months prior to the violation. 

D. The requirement for an emissions inspection, based on 
a remote sensing failure, may be waived by the department if 
the motor vehicle in question is, by virtue of its registration 
date, required to have an emissions inspection within 90 days 
of the date of the notice of violation. 

9 VAG 5-91-760. Schedule of civil charges. 

A. No charge shall exceed an adjusted maximum charge 
of $450 adjusted annually by using 1990 as the base year 
and applying the consumer price index. 

B. For violations measured in accordance with 9 VAG 5-
91-750 B to be up to 120% of the applicable standard, the 
charge shall not exceed 20% of the adjusted maximum 
charge in subsection A of this section. 

C. For violations measured in accordance with 9 VAG 5-
91-750 B to be [ <!p-Ie more than 120% but not exceeding ] 
140% of the applicable standard, the charge shall not exceed 
40% of the adjusted maximum charge in subsection A of this 
section. 

D. For violations measured in accordance with 9 VAG 5-
91-750 B to be [<!p-Ie more than 140% but not exceeding] 
160% of the applicable standard, the charge shall not exceed 
60% of the adjusted maximum charge in subsection A of this 
section. 

E. For violations measured in accordance with 9 VAG 5-
91-750 B to be [<!p-Ie more than 160% but not exceeding] 
180% of the applicable standard, the charge shall not exceed 
80% of the adjusted maximum charge in subsection A of this 
section. 

F. For violations measured in accordance with 9 VAG 5-
91-750 B to be [ tJf' te 200% er mere over 180% ] of the 
applicable standard, the charge shall not exceed the adjusted 
maximum charge in subsection A of this section. 
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G. Civil charges assessed pursuant to this part shall be 
paid into the state treasury according to§ 46.2-1178.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

[ H. For the purpose of applying a civil charge as 
prescribed in this section, the degree of violation shall be 
determined by averaging the readings which exceed the 
standard.] 

PART XIII. 
FEDERAL FACILITIES. 

9 VAG 5-91-770. General requirements. 

A. Federal facilities located within the Northern Virginia 
program area shall be subject to the Northern Virginia Vehicle 
Emissions Control Program, and [ administrators of such 
facilities ] shall ensure compliance with [ #le all applicable ] 
program [ requirements ], according to § 118 of the federal 
Clean Air Act. 

B. The program applies to affected motor vehicles {i) 
operated on or commuting to the federal facility regardless of 
where the vehicles are registered, and {ii) affected motor 
vehicles owned, leased, or operated by the federal 
government or federal employees. 

C. This requirement shall not apply to vehicles which 
operate on or commute to federal facilities less than 60 
calendar days per year. 

9 VAG 5-91-780. Proof of compliance. 

A. Each federal facility administrator or his designee shall 
provide the department with proof of compliance with this 
chapter by March 31 of each year, covering the preceding 
calendar year. 

B. Such proof shall consist of a report, in a format 
approved by the department, which identifies, at a minimum: 

1. A listing of each affected motor vehicle that has 
complied with all requirements of this chapter, its date of 
compliance, and the means of compliance as described 
in subsection C of this section; 

2. A listing of each affected motor vehicle that has not 
complied with all requirements of this chapter and the 
reasons therefor,· and 

3. A plan for action necessary to ensure that vehicles in 
noncompliance with this part are brought into compliance 
within 90 days. 

C. The federal facility administrator shall use one of the 
following means to establish proof of compliance: 

1. Presentation of a valid vehicle inspection report 
showing compliance with any enhanced emissions 
inspection program; 

2. Presentation of proof of [ ve/JiGie Department of Motor 
Vehicles ] registration identifying a garaged address 
within the Northern Virginia program area; or 

3. Any other means approved by the department. 

[ D. Each federal factlity administrator or his destgnee shall 
collect and remit to the department a fee of $2.00 per vehicle 
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per year of registration, as required by§ 46.6-1182.1 of the 
Code of Virginia for vehicles commuting to and operated on 
the facility as described in this part and operated primarily in 
but not registered in the program area. Such remittance shall 
occur annually by March 31 of each year, covering the 
preceding calendar year. 

E. Failure to comply with this part shall cause a notice of 
violation to be issued to the facility administrator. ] 

PART XIV. 
ASM EXHAUST EMISSION STANDARDS. 

9 VAG 5-91-790. ASM start-up standards. 

[ $/art up The following ] standards shall [ l>e usee! c!uring 
tho first lest 6)'£/e apply upon implementation ] of the 
emissions inspection program. The exhaust emissions 
standards for the following model years are cross-referenced 
by using the number in the column in Table 14.1 to locate the 
column that lists the appropriate standards in the tables in 9 
VAG 5-91-810. Each column reference below corresponds to 
two columns, one for the ASM 5015 and one for the ASM 
2525, in Table 14.3. The test standards are then listed in the 
appropriate column according to the Equivalent Test Weight. 

TABLE 14.1 
Light Duty Vehicles. 

Model Years Hydrocarbons 
Table 14.3 A 

1994+ Tier 1 1 
1991-1995 2 
1983-1990 4 
1981-1982 4 
1980 4 
1977-1979 11 
1975-1976 11 
1973-1974 13 
1968-1972 13 

Carbon Monoxide Oxides of Nitrogen 
Table 14.3 B Table 14.3 C 

21 
22 
23 
26 
26 
30 
30 
34 
34 

41 
42 
43 
43 
48 
48 
50 
50 
51 

Light Duty Trucks 1 (less than 6000 pounds GVWR). 

Model Years Hydrocarbons Carbon Monoxide Oxides of Nitrogen 
Table 14.3 A Table 14.3 B Table 14.3 C 

1994+ Tier 1 
(<3750 LVI!V) 1 
(>3750 L VIii/) 2 

1991-1995 5 
1988-1990 7 
1984-1987 7 
1979-1983 11 
1975-1978 12 
1973-1974 13 
1968-1972 13 

21 
22 
26 
29 
29 
31 
32 
34 
34 

41 
42 
43 
44 
49 
49 
50 
50 
51 

Light Duty Trucks 2 (greater than 6000 pounds GVWR). 

Model Years Hydrocarbons Carbon Monoxide Oxides of Nitrogen 
Table 14.3 A Table 14.3 B Table 14.3 C 

1994+ Tier 1 
(<5750 L VIii/) 2 
(>5750 LVI!V) 5 

1991-1995 5 

22 
26 
26 

42 
45 
46 
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1988-1990 7 29 47 
1984-1987 7 29 49 
1979-1983 11 31 49 
1975-1978 12 32 50 
1973-1974 13 34 50 
1968-1972 13 34 51 

9 VAG 5-91-800. ASM final standards. 

[ RRaJ The following ] standards shall [ he usee! c!uring the 
seseRd ami su9se€fiJBRf test eyetes sf the emissisRs 
iRSfleslien fJffi[Jl'am apply beginning one year after program 
implementation ] unless specifically determined according to 
9 VAG 5-91-170 [ to apply at a later date ]. The exhaust 
emissions standards for the following model years are cross­
referenced by using the number in the column in Table 14.2 
to locate the column that lists the appropriate standards in 
the tables in 9 VAG 5-91-810. Each column reference below 
corresponds to two columns, one for the ASM 5015 and one 
for the ASM 2525, in Table 14.3. The test standards are then 
listed in the appropriate column according to the equivalent 
test weight. 

TABLE 14.2 
Light Duty Vehicles. 

Model Years Hydrocarbons Carbon Monoxide Oxides of Nitrogen 
Table 14.3 A Table 14.3 B Table 14.3 C 

1994+ Tier 1 
1983-1995 
1981-1982 
1980 
1977-1979 
1975-1976 
1973-1974 
1968-1972 

1 
1 
1 
1 
6 
6 

10 
10 

21 
21 
23 
23 
27 
27 
32 
32 

41 
41 
41 
45 
45 
48 
48 
49 

Light Duty Trucks 1 (less than 6000 pounds GVWR). 

Model Years Hydrocarbons Carbon Monoxide Oxides of Nitrogen 
Table 14.3 A Table 14.3 B Table 14.3 C 

1994+ Tier 1 
(<3750 LVI!V) 1 
(>3750 LVI!V) 1 

1988-1995 3 
1984-1987 3 
1979-1983 8 
1975-1978 9 
1973-1974 10 
1968-1972 10 

21 
21 
24 
24 
28 
29 
32 
32 

41 
41 
42 
46 
46 
48 
48 
49 

Light Duty Trucks 2 (greater than 6000 pounds GVWR). 

Model Years Hydrocarbons Carbon Monoxide Oxides of Nitrogen 
Table 14.3 A Table 14.3 B Table 14.3 C 

1994+ Tier 1 
(<5750 LVI!V) 1 
(>5750 L VIii/) 1 

1988-1995 3 
1984-1987 3 
1979-1983 8 
1975-1978 9 
1973-1974 10 
1968-1972 10 

21 
21 
24 
24 
28 
29 
32 
32 

41 
41 
44 
46 
46 
48 
48 
49 
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9 VAG 5-91-810. ASM 2525 and 5015 Concentration Tables. 

A. ASM 2525 and ASM 5015 Hydrocarbon Table (ppm C6) 

Column 1 1 2 2 3 3 4 4 
ETW 5015 2525 5015 2525 5015 2525 5015 2525 

1750 142 136 224 216 257 249 291 282 
1875 134 129 212 205 243 236 275 266 

2000 127 123 201 194 230 223 260 252 

2125 121 116 191 184 219 212 246 239 

2250 115 111 182 175 208 201 234 227 
2375 109 106 173 167 198 192 223 216 
2500 105 101 166 160 189 183 212 206 
2625 100 97 159 153 181 175 203 197 
2750 96 93 152 147 173 168 194 189 
2875 92 89 146 141 167 161 187 181 
3000 89 86 141 136 160 155 180 174 
3125 86 83 136 132 155 150 173 168 
3250 83 80 132 127 149 145 167 162 
3375 81 78 128 123 145 140 162 157 
3500 78 76 124 120 140 136 157 152 
3625 76 74 120 117 136 132 152 148 
3750 74 72 117 114 133 129 148 144 
3875 72 70 114 111 129 125 144 140 
4000 71 68 112 108 126 122 140 137 
4125 69 67 109 106 123 119 137 133 
4250 67 65 107 103 120 117 134 130 
4375 66 64 104 101 118 114 131 127 
4500 65 63 102 99 115 112 128 124 
4625 63 61 100 97 113 109 125 122 
4750 62 60 98 95 110 107 122 119 
4875 61 59 96 93 108 105 120 117 
5000 60 58 94 92 106 103 117 114 
5125 58 57 93 90 104 101 115 112 
5250 57 56 91 88 102 99 112 110 
5375 56 55 89 86 100 97 110 107 
5500 55 54 87 85 98 95 108 105 
5625 54 53 86 83 96 93 106 103 
5750 53 52 84 82 94 91 104 101 
5875 52 51 83 80 92 90 102 99 
6000 51 50 81 79 90 88 100 97 
6125 50 49 80 78 89 86 98 95 
6250 50 48 79 76 87 85 96 94 
6375 49 48 77 75 86 84 95 92 
6500 48 47 76 74 85 83 93 91 
6625 48 46 76 74 84 82 92 90 
6750 47 46 75 73 83 81 91 89 
6875 47 46 75 73 83 81 91 89 
7000 47 46 74 72 83 80 91 88 
7125 47 46 74 72 82 80 90 88 
7250 47 46 74 72 82 80 90 88 
7375 47 46 74 72 82 80 90 88 
7500 47 46 74 72 82 80 90 88 
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Column 5 5 6 6 7 7 8 8 
ETW 5015 2525 5015 2525 5015 2525 5015 2525 
1750 324 315 374 364 390 381 407 397 
1875 306 297 353 344 368 359 384 375 
2000 289 281 333 325 348 339 363 354 
2125 274 267 316 308 329 321 343 335 
2250 260 253 299 292 312 305 325 318 
2375 247 241 284 277 297 290 309 302 
2500 236 230 271 264 283 276 294 288 
2625 225 219 259 252 270 263 281 274 
2750 216 210 247 241 258 252 269 262 
2875 207 201 237 231 247 241 257 251 
3000 199 194 228 222 237 232 247 241 
3125 191 186 219 214 228 223 238 232 
3250 185 180 211 206 220 215 229 224 
3375 179 174 204 199 213 208 221 216 
3500 173 169 198 193 206 201 214 209 
3625 168 164 192 187 200 195 207 203 
3750 163 159 186 182 194 189 201 197 
3875 159 155 181 1.77 188 184 196 191 
4000 155 151 176 172 183 179 191 186 
4125 151 147 172 168 179 175 186 181 
4250 147 143 167 164 174 170 181 177 
4375 144 140 164 160 170 166 177 173 
4500 141 137 160 156 166 162 172 169 
4625 137 134 156 152 162 159 169 165 
4750 134 131 153 149 159 155 165 161 
4875 132 128 149 146 155 152 161 157 
5000 129 126 146 143 152 148 157 154 
5125 126 123 143 . 139 148 145 154 150 
5250 123 120 140 136 145 142 150 147 
5375 121 118 137 . 133 142 139 147 144 
5500 118 115 134 130 139 136 144 141 
5625 116 113 131 128 136 133 141 138 
5750 113 111 128 125 133 130 138 135 
5875 111 108 125 122 130 127 135 132 
6000 109 106 123 120 127 124 132 129 
6125 107 104 120 118 125 122 129 126 
6250 105 102 118 115 123 120 127 124 
6375 103 101 116 113 120 118 125 122 
6500 102 99 114 112 119 116 123 120 
6625 101 98 113 110 117 114 121 119 
6750 100 97 112 109 116 113 120 117 
6875 99 97 111 109 115 113 119 117 
7000 99 96 111 108 115 112 119 116 
7125 98 96 111 108 115 112 119 116 
7250 98 96 111 108 115 112 119 116 
7375 98 96 111 108 115 112 119 116 
7500 98 96 111 108 115 112 119 116 
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Column 9 9 10 10 11 11 12 12 
ETW 5015 2525 5015 2525 5015 2525 5015 2525 
1750 457 447 706 694 774 761 843 828 
1875 431 421 665 653 729 717 794 780 
2000 407 398 627 616 688 676 749 736 
2125 385 376 592 582 650 638 707 695 
2250 365 357 560 551 615 604 669 658 
2375 346 339 531 522 583 573 635 624 
2500 329 322 505 496 554 544 603 593 
2625 314 307 481 472 528 518 574 564 
2750 300 294 459 451 503 495 548 539 
2875 287 281 439 431 481 473 524 515 
3000 276 270 420 413 461 453 502 493 
3125 265 260 404 397 443 435 482 474 
3250 256 250 388 382 426 419 464 456 
3375 247 241 374 368 411 404 447 440 
3500 239 234 362 355 397 390 432 424 
3625 231 226 350 344 384 377 418 411 
3750 224 220 339 333 372 365 405 398 
3875 218 213 329 323 361 355 393 386 
4000 212 208 320 314 351 345 382 375 
4125 206 202 311 305 341 335 371 365 
4250 201 197 303 297 332 326 361 355 
4375 196 192 295 290 323 318 352 346 
4500 192 188 287 282 315 310 343 337 
4625 187 183 280 275 308 302 335 329 
4750 183 179 273 269 300 295 327 321 
4875 179 175 267 262 293 288 319 313 
5000 175 171 260 256 286 281 311 305 
5125 171 167 254 250 279 274 304 298 
5250 167 163 248 244 272 267 296 291 
5375 163 159 242 238 266 261 289 284 
5500 159 156 236 232 259 255 282 277 
5625 156 152 231 226 253 248 276 271 
5750 152 149 225 221 247 243 269 264 
5875 149 146 220 216 241 237 263 258 
6000 146 143 215 211 236 232 257 252 
6125 143 140 210 206 231 227 251 247 
6250 140 137 206 202 226 222 246 242 
6375 138 135 202 198 222 218 242 237 
6500 136 133 199 195 218 214 238 233 
6625 134 131 196 192 215 211 234 230 
6750 132 129 194 190 213 209 232 227 
6875 132 129 193 189 211 207 230 225 
7000 131 128 192 188 211 207 229 225 
7125 131 128 192 188 211 206 229 225 
7250 131 128 192 188 211 206 229 225 
7375 131 128 192 188 211 206 229 225 
7500 131 128 192 188 211 206 229 225 
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Column 13 13 Column 13 13 
ETW 5015 2525 ETW 5015 2525 
1750 1118 1098 4625 444 436 
1875 1052 1034 4750 433 425 
2000 992 975 4875 423 415 
2125 938 921 5000 412 405 
2250 887 872 5125 402 395 
2375 841 827 5250 393 386 
2500 800 786 5375 383 376 
2625 761 748 5500 374 367 
2750 726 714 5625 365 359 
2875 695 683 5750 357 350 
3000 666 654 5875 348 342 
3125 639 628 6000 341 334 
3250 615 604 6125 333 327 
3375 593 583 6250 326 320 
3500 573 563 6375 320 314 
3625 554 544 6500 315 309 
3750 537 527 6625 310 304 
3875 521 512 6750 307 301 
4000 506 497 6875 305 299 
4125 492 484 7000 304 298 
4250 479 471 7125 304 298 
4375 467 459 7250 304 298 
4500 455 447 7375 304 298 

7500 304 298 
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B. ASM 2525 and ASM 5015 Carbon Monoxide Table (% CO) 

Column 21 21 22 22 23 23 24 24 
ETW 5015 2525 5015 2525 5015 2525 5015 2525 

1750 0.80 0.77 1.26 1.22 1.64 1.83 2.02 2.43 
1875 0.75 0.73 1.19 1.16 1.55 1.72 1.91 2.29 
2000 0.71 0.69 1.13 1.09 1.47 1.63 1.81 2.17 
2125 0.68 0.66 1.07 1.04 1.39 1.54 1.71 2.05 
2250 0.64 0.62 1.02 0.99 1.32 1.47 1.62 1.94 
2375 0.61 0.59 0.97 0.94 1.26 1.39 1.54 1.85 
2500 0.59 0.57 0.93 0.90 1.20 1.33 1.47 1.76 
2625 0.56 0.54 0.89 0.86 1.15 1.27 1.41 1.68 
2750 0.54 0.52 0.85 0.82 1.10 1.21 1.34 1.60 
2875 0.52 0.50 0.82 0.79 1.05 1.16 1.29 1.54 
3000 0.50 0.48 0.79 0.76 1.01 1.12 1.24 1.48 
3125 0.48 0.46 0.76 0.73 0.98 1.08 1.19 1.42 
3250 0.46 0.45 0.73 0.71 0.94 1.04 1.15 1.37 
3375 0.45 0.43 0. 71 0.69 0.91 1.00 1.11 1.32 
3500 0.44 0.42 0.69 0.67 0.88 0.97 1.08 1.28 
3625 0.42 0.41 0.67 0.65 0.86 0.94 1.05 1.24 
3750 0.41 0.40 0.65 0.63 0.83 0.92 1.02 1.20 
3875 0.40 0.39 0.63 0.61 0.81 0.89 0.99 1.17 
4000 0.39 0.38 0.62 0.60 0.79 0.87 0.96 1.14 
4125 0.38 0.37 0.60 0.58 0.77 0.85 0.94 1.11 
4250 0.37 0.36 0.59 0.57 0.75 0.83 0.92 1.08 
4375 0.36 0.35 0.58 0.56 0.74 0.81 0.89 1.06 
4500 0.36 0.35 0.57 0.55 0.72 0.79 0.87 1.03 
4625 0.35 0.34 0.55 0.54 0.70 0.77 0.85 1.01 
4750 0.34 0.33 0.54 0.53 0.69 0.76 0.84 0.99 
4875 0.34 0.33 0.53 0.52 0.67 0.74 0.82 0.97 
5000 0.33 0.32 0.52 0.51 0.66 0.73 0.80 0.95 
5125 0.32 0.31 0.51 0.50 0.65 0.71 0.78 0.92 
5250 0.32 0.31 0.50 0.49 0.63 0.70 0.77 0.90 
5375 0.31 0.30 0.49 0.48 0.62 0.68 0.75 0.89 
5500 0.30 0.30 0.48 0.47 0.61 0.67 0.73 0.87 
5625 0.30 0.29 0.47 0.46 0.59 0.65 0.72 0.85 
5750 0.29 0.29 0.46 0.45 0.58 0.64 0.70 0.83 
5875 0.29 0.28 0.45 0.44 0.57 0.63 0.69 0.81 
6000 0.28 0.28 0.44 0.44 0.56 0.62 0.67 0.80 
6125 0.28 0.27 0.44 0.43 0.55 0.61 0.66 0.78 
6250 0.27 0.27 0.43 0.42 0.54 0.60 0.65 0.77 
6375 0.27 0.26 0.42 0.42 0.53 0.59 0.64 0.76 
6500 0.26 0.26 0.42 0.41 0.52 0.58 0.63 0.74 
6625 0.26 0.26 0.41 0.41 0.52 0.57 0.62 0.73 
6750 0.26 0.26 0.41 0.41 0.51 0.57 0.61 0.73 
6875 0.26 0.25 0.40 0.40 0.51 0.56 0.61 0.72 
7000 0.25 0.25 0.40 0.40 0.51 0.56 0.61 0.72 
7125 0.25 0.25 0.40 0.40 0.51 0.56 0.61 0.72 
7250 0.25 0.25 0.40 0.40 0.50 0.56 0.61 0.72 
7375 0.25 0.25 0.40 0.40 0.50 0.56 0.61 0.72 
7500 0.25 0.25 0.40 0.40 0.50 0.56 0.61 0.72 
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Column 25 25 26 26 27 27 28 28 
ETW 5015 2525 5015 2525 5015 2525 5015 2525 
1750 2.21 2.73 2.78 3.64 2.97 3.94 3.16 4.24 
1875 2.09 2.58 2.63 3.43 2.81 3.71 2.98 4.00 
2000 1.97 2.43 2.48 3.24 2.65 3.51 2.82 3.77 
2125 1.87 2.30 2.35 3.06 2.51 3.32 2.67 3.57 
2250 1.77 2.18 2.23 2.90 2.38 3.14 2.53 3.38 
2375 1.69 2.07 2.12 2.76 2.26 2.98 2.40 3.21 
2500 1.61 1.97 2.02 2.62 2.15 2.84 2.29 3.05 
2625 1.53 1.88 1.92 2.50 2.05 2.70 2.18 2.91 
2750 1.47 1.80 1.84 2.39 1.96 2.58 2.09 2.78 
2875 1.41 1.72 1. 76 2.29 1.88 2.47 2.00 2.66 
3000 1.35 1.66 1.69 2.19 1.80 2.37 1.92 2.55 
3125 1.30 1.59 1.63 2.11 1. 74 2.28 1.84 2.45 
3250 1.26 1.53 1.57 2.03 1.67 2.20 1.78 2.36 
3375 1.21 1.48 1.52 1.96 1.62 2.12 1.72 2.28 
3500 1.17 1.43 1.47 1.89 1.56 2.05 1.66 2.20 
3625 1.14 1.39 1.42 1.84 1.52 1.98 1.61 2.13 
3750 1.11 1.35 1.38 1. 78 1.47 1.92 1.56 2.07 
3875 1.08 1.31 1.34 1.73 1.43 1.87 1.52 2.01 
4000 1.05 1.28 1.31 1.68 1.39 1.82 1.48 1.95 
4125 1.02 1.24 1.27 1.64 1.36 1.77 1.44 1.90 
4250 1.00 1.21 1.24 1.60 1.32 1. 72 1.40 1.85 
4375 0.97 1.18 1.21 1.56 1.29 1.68 1.37 1.81 
4500 0.95 1.16 1.18 1.52 1.26 1.64 1.34 1.76 
4625 0.93 1.13 1.15 1.48 1.23 1.60 1.30 1.72 
4750 0.91 1.10 1.13 1.45 1.20 1.57 1.28 1.68 
4875 0.89 1.08 1.10 1.42 1.17 1.53 1.25 1.64 
5000 0.87 1.05 1.08 1.38 1.15 1.49 1.22 1.60 
5125 0.85 1.03 1.05 1.35 1.12 1.46 1.19 1.57 
5250 0.83 1.01 1.03 1.32 1.10 1.43 1.16 1.53 
5375 0.81 0.99 1.01 1.29 1.07 1.39 1.14 1.50 
5500 0.80 0.97 0.99 1.26 1.05 1.36 1.11 1.46 
5625 0.78 0.94 0.97 1.24 1.03 1.33 1.09 1.43 
5750 0.76 0.92 0.94 1.21 1.01 1.30 1.07 1.40 
5875 0.75 0.91 0.92 1.18 0.98 1.27 1.04 1.37 
6000 0.73 0.89 0.91 1.16 0.96 1.25 1.02 1.34 
6125 0.72 0.87 0.89 1.13 0.94 1.22 1.00 1.31 
6250 0.71 0.85 0.87 1.11 0.93 1.20 0.98 1.28 
6375 0.69 0.84 0.86 1.09 0.91 1.18 0.96 1.26 
6500 0.68 0.83 0.84 1.08 0.90 1.16 0.95 1.24 
6625 0.67 0.82 0.83 1.06 0.88 1.14 0.94 1.23 
6750 0.67 0.81 0.82 1.05 0.88 1.13 0.93 1.21 
6875 0.66 0.80 0.82 1.04 0.87 1.12 0.92 1.20 
7000 0.66 0.80 0.82 1.04 0.87 1.12 0.92 1.20 
7125 0.66 0.80 0.81 1.04 0.87 1.12 0.92 1.20 
7250 0.66 0.80 0.81 1.04 0.86 1.12 0.92 1.20 
7375 0.66 0.80 0.81 1.04 0.86 1.12 0.92 1.20 
7500 0.66 0.80 0.81 1.04 0.86 1.12 0.92 1.20 
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Column 29 29 30 30 31 31 32 32 
ETW 5015 2525 5015 2525 5015 2525 5015 2525 

1750 3.54 4.85 3.92 5.45 4.31 6.06 5.07 7.26 

1875 3.34 4.57 3.70 5.14 4.06 5.70 4.78 6.84 

2000 3.16 4.31 3.49 4.85 3.83 5.38 4.51 6.45 

2125 2.99 4.08 3.31 4.58 3.63 5.09 4.26 6.10 
2250 2.83 3.86 3.13 4.34 3.44 4.82 4.04 5.78 

2375 2.69 3.66 2.98 4.12 3.26 4.57 3.83 5.48 

2500 2.56 3.48 2.83 3.91 3.10 4.35 3.65 5.21 

2625 2.44 3.32 2.70 3.73 2.96 4.14 3.48 4.96 
2750 2.33 3.17 2.58 3.56 2.83 3.95 3.32 4.73 
2875 2.23 3.03 2.47 3.41 2.71 3.78 3.18 4.53 
3000 2.14 2.91 2.37 3.27 2.60 3.62 3.05 4.34 

3125 2.06 2.79 2.28 3.14 2.50 3.48 2.93 4.17 

3250 1.99 2.69 2.20 3.02 2.40 3.35 2.82 4.01 

3375 1.92 2.60 2.12 2.91 2.32 3.23 2.72 3.87 

3500 1.86 2.51 2.05 2.82 2.24 3.12 2.63 3.74 

3625 1.80 2.43 1.99 2.73 2.17 3.02 2.55 3.62 
3750 1.74 2.36 1.93 2.64 2.11 2.93 2.47 3.51 
3875 1.69 2.29 1.87 2.57 2.05 2.85 2.40 3.40 

4000 1.65 2.22 1.82 2.49 1.99 2.77 2.33 3.31 

4125 1.61 2.16 1.77 2.43 1.94 2.69 2.27 3.22 

4250 1.56 2.11 1.73 2.36 1.89 2.62 2.21 3.13 

4375 1.53 2.06 1.68 2.31 1.84 2.55 2.16 3.05 
4500 1.49 2.01 1.64 2.25 1.80 2.49 2.11 2.98 
4625 1.46 1.96 1.61 2.19 1.76 2.43 2.06 2.90 

4750 1.42 1.91 1.57 2.14 1. 72 2.37 2.01 2.83 
4875 1.39 1.87 1.53 2.09 1.68 2.32 1.96 2.77 
5000 1.36 1.82 1.50 2.04 1.64 2.26 1.92 2.70 
5125 1.33 1.78 1.46 2.00 1.60 2.21 1.87 2.64 
5250 1.30 1.74 1.43 1.95 1.56 2.16 1.83 2.58 

5375 1.27 1.70 1.40 1.90 1.53 2.11 1.79 2.51 

5500 1.24 1.66 1.37 1.86 1.49 2.06 1.75 2.46 

5625 1.21 1.62 1.34 1.82 1.46 2.01 1. 71 2.40 

5750 1.19 1.59 1.31 1.78 1.43 1.96 1.67 2.34 
5875 1.16 1.55 1.28 1.74 1.40 1.92 1.63 2.29 
6000 1.14 1.52 1.25 1.70 1.37 1.88 1.60 2.24 
6125 1.11 1.49 1.23 1.66 1.34 1.84 1.57 2.19 
6250 1.09 1.46 1.20 1.63 1.31 1.80 1.54 2.15 
6375 1.07 1.43 1.18 1.60 1.29 1.77 1.51 2.11 
6500 1.06 1.41 1.16 1.57 1.27 1. 74 1.48 2.07 
6625 1.04 1.39 1.15 1.55 1.25 1.72 1.46 2.04 
6750 1.03 1.37 1.14 1.54 1.24 1.70 1.45 2.02 
6875 1.02 1.36 1.13 1.52 1.23 1.68 1.44 2.00 
7000 1.02 1.36 1.12 1.52 1.23 1.68 1.43 2.00 
7125 1.02 1.36 1.12 1.52 1.22 1.68 1.43 2.00 
7250 1.02 1.36 1.12 1.52 1.22 1.68 1.43 2.00 
7375 1.02 1.36 1.12 1.52 1.22 1.68 1.43 2.00 
7500 1.02 1.36 1.12 1.52 1.22 1.68 1.43 2.00 
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Column 33 33 34 34 
ETW 5015 2525 5015 2525 
1750 5.26 7.44 8.02 9.90 
1875 4.96 7.05 7.56 9.90 
2000 4.68 6.68 7.14 9.90 
2125 4.43 6.34 6.75 9.66 
2250 4.20 6.00 6.40 9.14 
2375 3.98 5.69 6.07 8.67 
2500 3.79 5.41 5.78 8.25 
2625 3.61 5.15 5.51 7.85 
2750 3.45 4.92 5.26 7.50 
2875 3.30 4.70 5.03 7.17 
3000 3.17 4.51 4.83 6.87 
3125 3.04 4.33 4.64 6.60 
3250 2.93 4.17 4.47 6.35 
3375 2.83 4.02 4.31 6.13 
3500 2.73 3.88 4.17 5.92 
3625 2.65 3.76 4.04 5.73 
3750 2.57 3.64 3.91 5.55 
3875 2.49 3.54 3.80 5.39 
4000 2.43 3.44 3.70 5.24 
4125 2.36 3.34 3.60 5.09 
4250 2.30 3.25 3.51 4.96 
4375 2.24 3.17 3.42 4.83 
4500 2.19 3.09 3.34 4.71 
4625 2.14 3.02 3.26 4.60 
4750 2.09 2.95 3.18 4.49 
4875 2.04 2.87 3.11 4.38 
5000 1.99 2.81 3.03 4.28 
5125 1.95 2.74 2.97 4.18 
5250 1.90 2.68 2.90 4.08 
5375 1.86 2.61 2.83 3.98 
5500 1.82 2.55 2.77 3.89 
5625 1.77 2.49 2.70 3.80 
5750 1.74 2.43 2.64 3. 71 
5875 1.70 2.38 2.59 3.62 
6000 1.66 2.33 2.53 3.54 
6125 1.63 2.28 2.48 3.47 
6250 1.60 2.23 2.43 3.40 
6375 1.57 2.19 2.39 3.34 
6500 1.54 2.15 2.35 3.28 
6625 1.52 2.12 2.32 3.23 
6750 1.50 2.10 2.29 3.20 
6875 1.49 2.08 2.28 3.17 
7000 1.49 2.08 2.27 3.17 
7125 1.49 2.08 2.27 3.17 
7250 1.49 2.08 2.27 3.17 
7375 1.49 2.08 2.27 3.17 
7500 1.49 2.08 2.27 3.17 
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C. ASM 2525 and ASM 5015 Nitric Oxide Table(% NO) 

Column 41 41 42 42 43 43 44 44 
ETW 5015 2525 5015 2525 5015 2525 5015 2525 
1750 1212 1095 1819 1642 2272 2114 2725 2587 
1875 1142 1031 1713 1547 2181 1991 2649 2435 
2000 1077 973 1616 1460 2058 1877 2499 2295 
2125 1018 920 1527 1380 1944 1774 2360 2167 
2250 964 871 1446 1307 1839 1678 2232 2050 
2375 915 827 1372 1240 1744 1592 2115 1943 
2500 869 786 1304 1179 1657 1512 2009 1845 
2625 828 749 1242 1123 1577 1440 1912 1756 
2750 791 715 1186 1072 1504 1374 1823 1675 
2875 756 684 1134 1026 1438 1313 1742 1601 
3000 725 656 1088 984 1378 1258 1668 1533 
3125 696 630 1045 945 1323 1208 1601 1471 
3250 670 607 1006 910 1273 1163 1539 1415 
3375 647 585 970 878 1227 1121 1483 1363 
3500 625 566 937 848 1184 1082 1432 1316 
3625 605 547 907 821 1146 1047 1384 1273 
3750 586 531 879 796 1110 1014 1340 1233 
3875 569 515 853 773 1077 984 1300 1195 
4000 553 501 829 751 1046 956 1262 1161 
4125 538 487 807 731 1017 930 1227 1128 
4250 524 475 786 712 990 905 1194 1098 
4375 510 463 766 694 964 882 1162 1069 
4500 498 451 747 677 939 859 1132 1042 
4625 486 440 728 661 916 838 1104 1015 
4750 474 430 711 645 893 818 1076 990 
4875 463 420 694 630 872 798 1049 966 
5000 452 410 677 615 850 778 1023 942 
5125 441 400 661 600 830 760 998 919 
5250 431 391 646 586 810 741 974 896 
5375 420 382 631 573 790 723 950 874 
5500 410 373 616 559 771 706 926 853 
5625 401 364 601 546 752 689 904 832 
5750 391 356 587 534 734 673 882 812 
5875 383 348 574 522 717 657 860 793 
6000 374 340 561 510 701 642 840 774 
6125 366 333 549 499 685 628 822 757 
6250 359 326 538 489 671 615 804 741 
6375 352 320 528 480 658 604 788 727 
6500 346 315 519 473 647 593 775 714 
6625 341 311 512 466 638 585 763 704 
6750 338 307 507 461 631 578 755 696 
6875 335 305 503 458 626 574 749 691 
7000 335 305 502 457 624 573 747 689 
7125 335 305 502 457 625 573 747 689 
7250 335 305 502 457 625 573 747 689 
7375 335 305 502 457 625 573 747 689 
7500 335 305 502 457 625 573 747 689 
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Column 45 45 46 46 47 47 48 48 
ETW 5015 2525 5015 2525 5015 2525 5015 2525 
1750 3178 3060 3631 3532 4084 4005 4990 4950 
1875 3117 2879 3586 3323 4054 3767 4990 4655 
2000 2941 2713 3383 3131 3824 3548 4707 4384 
2125 2776 2561 3192 2955 3609 3348 4441 4136 
2250 2625 2422 3018 2794 3411 3165 4197 3909 
2375 2487 2295 2859 2646 3231 2998 3974 3701 
2500 2361 2179 2714 2512 3066 2845 3771 3512 
2625 2246 2073 2581 2389 2916 2706 3585 3339 
2750 2142 1976 2460 2277 2779 2579 3416 3181 
2875 2046 1888 2350 2175 2654 2463 3261 3037 
3000 1959 1808 2249 2082 2539 2357 3120 2906 
3125 1879 1734 2157 1997 2435 2260 2992 2787 
3250 1806 1667 2073 1920 2340 2172 2874 2677 
3375 1740 1606 1997 1849 2253 2092 2767 2577 
3500 1679 1550 1926 1784 2174 2018 2668 2486 
3625 1623 1498 1862 1724 2100 1950 2578 2401 
3750 1571 1451 1802 1669 2033 1887 2494 2323 
3875 1523 1407 1747 1618 1970 1829 2417 2251 
4000 1479 1365 1695 1570 1912 1775 2345 2184 
4125 1437 1327 1647 1526 1857 1724 2277 2122 
4250 1398 1291 1602 1484 1806 1677 2214 2063 
4375 1360 1257 1559 1444 1757 1632 2154 2007 
4500 1325 1224 1518 1406 1711 1589 2096 1953 
4625 1291 1193 1479 1370 1666 1548 2042 1903 
4750 1259 1163 1441 1336 1624 1508 1989 1854 
4875 1227 1134 1405 1302 1583 1470 1938 1806 
5000 1196 1106 1369 1269 1542 1433 1889 1760 
5125 1167 1078 1335 1237 1503 1397 1840 1715 
5250 1138 1051 1301 1206 1465 1362 1793 1672 
5375 1109 1025 1269 1176 1428 1327 1747 1629 
5500 1082 1000 1237 1147 1392 1294 1703 1587 
5625 1055 975 1206 1118 1357 1261 1659 1547 
5750 1029 951 1176 1090 1323 1230 1617 1508 
5875 1004 928 1147 1064 1290 1199 1577 1471 
6000 980 906 1120 1039 1259 1171 1539 1435 
6125 958 886 1094 1015 1230 1144 1503 1401 
6250 937 867 1070 993 1203 1119 1469 1371 
6375 919 850 1049 973 1179 1096 1439 1343 
6500 902 835 1030 956 1158 1077 1413 1318 
6625 889 823 1014 941 1140 1060 1391 1298 
6750 879 813 1003 931 1127 1048 1374 1283 
6875 872 807 995 924 1118 1040 1364 1273 
7000 870 805 992 921 1115 1037 1360 1269 
7125 870 805 992 921 1115 1037 1360 1269 
7250 870 805 992 921 1115 1037 1360 1269 
7375 870 805 992 921 1115 1037 1360 1269 
7500 870 805 992 921 1115 1037 1360 1269 
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Column 49 49 50 50 51 51 
ETW 5015 2525 5015 2525 5015 2525 
1750 4990 4960 4990 4980 4990 4990 
1875 4990 4738 4990 4906 4990 4990 
2000 4778 4535 4919 4838 4990 4990 
2125 4578 4349 4853 4776 4990 4990 
2250 4395 4179 4792 4720 4990 4990 
2375 4228 4024 4736 4668 4990 4990 
2500 4076 3881 4685 4620 4990 4990 
2625 3936 3752 4639 4577 4990 4990 
2750 3809 3579 4596 4374 4990 4772 
2875 3669 3417 4484 4176 4892 4556 
3000 3510 3270 4290 3996 4680 4359 
3125 3366 3135 4114 3832 4488 4180 
3250 3234 3012 3952 3681 4311 4016 
3375 3113 2899 3804 3544 4150 3866 
3500 3002 2796 3669 3418 4002 3728 
3625 2900 2701 3544 3302 3867 3602 
3750 2806 2614 3429 3195 3741 3485 
3875 2719 2533 3323 3096 3625 3377 
4000 2638 2457 3224 3003 3517 3276 
4125 2562 2387 3131 2917 3416 3182 
4250 2490 2320 3044 2836 3321 3094 
4375 2423 2258 2961 2759 3230 3010 
4500 2359 2198 2883 2686 3145 2930 
4625 2297 2140 2807 2616 3063 2854 
4750 2238 2085 2735 2549 2983 2780 
4875 2180 2032 2665 2483 2907 2709 
5000 2125 1980 2597 2420 2833 2640 
5125 2070 1930 2530 2359 2760 2573 
5250 2017 1881 2466 2298 2690 2507 
5375 1966 1833 2403 2240 2621 2443 
5500 1916 1786 2341 2183 2554 2381 
5625 1867 1740 2282 2127 2489 2321 
5750 1820 1697 2224 2074 2426 2262 
5875 1774 1654 2168 2022 2366 2206 
6000 1731 1614 2116 1973 2308 2152 
6125 1690 1577 2066 1927 2254 2102 
6250 1653 1542 2020 1884 2204 2056 
6375 1619 1510 1979 1846 2159 2014 
6500 1590 1483 1943 1813 2119 . 1977 
6625 1565 1460 1913 1785 2087 1947 
6750 1546 1443 1890 1764 2062 1924 
6875 1534 1432 1875 1750 2046 1909 
7000 1530 1428 1870 1745 2040 1904 
7125 1531 1428 1874 1745 2045 1904 
7250 1531 1428 1874 1745 2045 1904 
7375 1531 1428 1874 1745 2045 1904 
7500 1531 1428 1874 1745 2045 1904 
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Documents Incorporated By Reference 

EPA Recommended Practice for Naming 1/M Calibration Gas, 
EPA-AA-TSS-83-8-B, Environmental Protection Agency, 
September 1983. 

Acceleration Simulation Mode Test Procedures, Emission 
Standards, Quality Control Requirements and Equipment 
Specifications, EPA-AA-RSPD-IM-96-2, Environmental 
Protection Agency, July 1996. 

California Bureau of Automotive Repair, BAR-97, Emissions 
Inspection System Specifications, May 1996. 

Building Officials and Code Administrators (BOCA) 
Mechanical Code. 

Virginia Approved Span Gas Verification Requirements, 
Department of Environmental Quality. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-120; Filed November 6, 1996, 11:31 a.m. 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE· The following fee reductions filed 
by the Board of Contractors are exempt from Article 2 of the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with§ 9-6.14:4.1 
C 9 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations of the 
regulatory boards served by the Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 which are 
limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and applicants. 

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 50-22-10 et seq. Board for 
Contractors Regulations (amending 18 VAC 50-22-100,.18 
VAC 50-22-140, 18 VAC 50-22-170, and 18 VAC 50-22-250). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201,54.1-1106,54.1-1108, and 
54.1-1108.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 1997. 

Summarv: 

The amendments reduce the fees charged to applicants 
for licensure and licensure renewal. This includes the 
fees for initial licensure, licensure renewal, license 
reinstatement, specialty addition, change/declaration of 
designated employee, and change of qualified individual. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from Dana L. Butler, Board for Contractors, 3600 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-
2785. 

18 VAC 50-22-100. Fees. 

Each check or money order shall be made payable to the 
Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 
nonrefundable. In the event that a check, money draft, or 
similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 
regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 
named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 
fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus the additional 
processing charge specified below: 
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Fee Type 

Class c Initial 
Certificate 

Class B 
Initial License 

Class A 
Initial License 

Declaration of 
Designated Employee 

When Due 

with certificate 
application 

with license 
application 

with license 
application 

with license 
application 

Class B Exam Fee with exam 
application 

Amount Due 

$00$70 

$400$90 

~$110 

$-4e $25 

($20 per section) $40 

Class A Exam Fee with exam 
application 
($20 per section) $60 

Water Well Exam with exam 
application 

Dishonored Check Fee with replacement 

$40 

check $25 

Note: A $25 Recovery Fund assessment is also required with 
each initial license application. If the applicant does not meet 
all requirements and does not become licensed, this 
assessment will be refunded. The fees for examinations 
approved by the board but administered by another 
governmental agency or organization shall be determined by 
that agency or organization. 
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18 VAC 50-22-140. Renewal fees. 

Each check or money order should be made payable to the 
Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 
nonrefundable. 

In the event that a check, money draft, or similar 
instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 
regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 
named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 
fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus the additional 
processing charge specified below: 

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C Renewal with renewal 
application $W$55 

Class B Renewal with renewal 
application $400$75 

Class A Renewal with renewal 
application W{)$95 

Dishonored Check Fee with replacement 
check $25 

The date on which the renewal fee is received by the 
department or its agent shall determine whether the 
licensee/certificate holder is eligible for renewal or must apply 
for reinstatement. If the renewal application and fee are not 
received within 30 days of the expiration date of the license, 
the licensee/certificate holder will be required to reinstate the 
license/certificate. 
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8 VAC 50-22-170. Reinstatement fees. 

Each check or money order should be made payable to the 
Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 
nonrefundable. In the event that a check, money draft, or 
similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 
regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 
named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 
fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus the additional 
processing charge specified below: 

Fee type When Due Amount Due 

Class C Reinstatement with reinstatement 
application $90• 

Class B Reinstatement with reinstatement 
application ~ $100• 

Class A Reinstatement with reinstatement 
application ~ $1oo• 

Dishonored Check Fee with replacement 
check $25 

• In addition to renewal fee listed in 18 VAC 50-22-140 ef 
these re~ulatiens. 

The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by the 
department or its agent shall determine whether the licensee 
is eligible for reinstatement or must apply for a new 
license/certificate and meet the entry requirements in place at 
the time of that application. In order to ensure that 
licensees/certificate holders are qualified to practice as 
contractors, no reinstatement will be permitted once six 
months from the expiration date of the license/certificate has 
passed. 

18 VAC 50-22-250. Fees. 

Each check or money order should be made payable to the 
Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 
nonrefundable. In the event that a check, money draft, or 
similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 
regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 
named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 
fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus the additional 
processing charge specified below: 

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Change of Designated 
Employee with change form $4a $25 

Change of Qualified 
Individual with change form $4a $25 

Addition of 
Classification 
or Specialty 

Certification of 
Licensure/Certificate 

with addition 
application 

with written 
request 

Dishonored Check Fee with replacement 

$4a $25 

$25 

check $25 
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Commonwealth of VirOinia 
Dept. of ProfeSSIOflal ana Occupational RegulatJOfl 
3600 West Broad Street 
Post Office Box 11066 
Richmond, Vlramia 23230-1066 
(804) 367-8511 

Board for Contractors 
LICENSE APPLICATION 

Please make checks or money orders payable to the "Treasurer of Virginia". 
Credit Card Payment Inserts must be completed for credit payments ar1d ma1ied w1th the application package. 

ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE. 

CMCK tne one IICE'IlSE' Oi CE'IliTICalE' YOU ~It' '"'\IU<:'~III10 

Type of License Fee •I 
Class A License 5160.00 I 
Class 8 license $140.00 I 
Class C Cert•~cate 

- ~~s.ooU 

FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS 

Class A Applicants 

Class 8 Applicants· 

Does your firm meet or exceed a net worth of $45,000? 

Yes 0 
No D If no, your tirm is~ for a Class A Contractor License 

Does your firm rneet a net wo111l of 515_000 and do you understand that a Class 6 license limits a 
contca~:or lo contracts wnrcll are less that S70,COO p~r 10b:'~ro1ect and !ess than ~500.000 in contracts 
d~nng any 12·r.lonm penod oitrme 

Yes 0 
tJa 0 If no. your firm is not elrillll]g for a Class B Contractor License . 

i\.11 Class A & Class S (Q.~~) l.Jcense aoo~rcants are reaurred to declare a Des,qnaled Emplovee who (l)rs a fu:l·lrme employee or 
one of llle tusrness Resoans.c;e Mono:;ers isee ?on I cf t.he Boord for Ccntractors Ru!es J,od Requlat,ons): t2) is at !east tB vears of 
age. and (31 has succesolullv cc'"cle:eo ;he O'a'Mnne~ lr::ensure examrnatron_ If r.o one at your lirm ~as 03osed the licensure e•am. 

contact t.he Nauonal Assessmentlns·,•.u·,~ {NAil at 3313 G~s<rns Road. R1chmond. VA 23233. n Vrrgrnra en a Maryland, tel~ phone ta•llree 
l-C00-350-3381: culs,de Vrrsrnra. te·epnone t8G4) 747-3297: or f<lCSLmrle (604) 7~T-5483 

Designated Emo:oyee's Name 

Social Secunty Numter• -------- Brrth date ----- Exam dJte 

All APPLICANTS MUST CmiPLETE THE REMAINDER OF THE APPLICATION. 

1. Busrness/Sole ?rcpnetor's Narr.e 

2 Tradeor"F:ctr:~ous·Na:ne 

Federal Err.~!oyer ldent:~:atron Number 

Sole Propr:etor's Scc:JI Sec·Jrrty ~Jumter ·---------­

Street Address IP 0 2G~ r,:_: Jcce~:eo) 

Crty. sw:e. Z:p ecce 
Uarltng Address 

Cty, Sl.lte. Z ~ C~je 

I ··''•'"-'"'" i( 
-~·a ,- ""''' "-·.,ej'c«-- · ···~.L-.·o·,--E ,oo· ,.,. 

6. Telephone & Facsimile Numbers 
Telephone Facstmrle 

7. Does your business hold anolhercurrent or expired Virginia contractors license? 

-No 0 

aeeper, Cellular. etc 

Yes 0 Ucense Number Expiration Date --------

8. Type of business (check only QOg) 

Sole Proprietorship 0 
General Partnership 0 

limited Partnership+ 
Assoctation 

0 
0 

Limited Liability Com parry• 0 
Corporatron• 0 

+If your business IS a Limile<J Partnership, Limited Liab<lity Company or Corooralion. your husinessllr<lde name(sl must tle re.;<slered W<lll 
tile Vrrgmta State Corpora~on Commtssron_ For addt~onal •nformanon, contact !he sec at(B04) 371·9733_ 

S. license classification(s} for which your business is applying (check~ lhal apply) 

Bunding (BLD) 0 
Highway/Heavy (HiH) 0 
Electrical (ELE) * 0 
Plumbing (PLB ) * 0 
HVAC (HVA) * 0 
Specialty 0 Circle ill! !he specialty services for which you are applying in the followmg list 

ALS Alarm/Security Systems FIC Farm Improvement MCC Marine Fac.ltty 
ASB* Asb~stos FAS FireAJarmSysterns MSC Miscellaneous 
SSC BrllboardiSign SPR Fire Spnn~ter MBC Moc!ularl~tobrleiManufactYred Buildtng 
SEC* BlasVE~plostve FSP Fire Suppression PEC Passtve energy 
CIC Commeraallmpmvemenl GFC* Gas F1t!mg RMC* Radon M<lroanon 
ESC E!eciTomcJCommunicalion Service HIC Home Improvement RFC Recreanonat Fool<l)o 
EEC Eieva!or/Escalator ISC Landscape Jmga!J:m REF fl_e!rige,aoon 
EMW Enwonmental Mom loring Well LSC Landsc:me Servtce SDS Sewage D.soosol Svstems • 
EMC EquipmenUMachinery LAC* Lead Abatement VCC Vessel Construc~on 

iVWP* Walerweitti'ump 

*Indicates a cl~ssllication or soeCialtydesignotion wi!h actctmonatticenStng reqmremenls (see !he TCilde-Relaled Exammarions and 
Ouaiiiica/Ions Information Sheet and i'~rt I of llle Boa~d forCon~actors Rules ano Regwauons)_ 

i\.11 apphcants are 1equired to declare one Qualified lndiiliduat fore_acb dass•licatmn andlor sneoaltv ~es<ananon who (I) is a fuU·bme 
employee·or a Responsrble Manager of the bustness; (2) IS at least 16 years of age. (3) possesses !he mrn<mum number of years of 
expenence fe<1Utred for the type of l<cense betng re<1uested (•.e .. 2 years lor Class C Cernficabon. 3 years for Class 8 Ucensure, arJd 

5 years for Class A l.Jcensure); and (4) when req!Jif€{}. has oassea a Board-aaoroved trade exam<nauon 
See §§2. 1.8, 2.2.C and §2.3.C of the Board for Contract= Rules aM R~ulouoos. 

10 Ouali~ed lndividual(s) for each license classrfication (e~cludinq any soecialtv des1onationl checke\1 m :g 

License 
Classrf:c~uon 

8•J<idrng 

H'ghwov/Heavy 

Elec~rcal* 

P'~mbrng• 

Last Name First Name ~.1.1. I YeJrs 

s~c'<ll 
Secuntv 
~lw,.cer • 

(,faoo'<c~u:e) 

VA Tracesm~n 
Ce,..Jf.~;aMn No 

1 211o-

2710-

HV~<C• l I I \ 2710-

'"" Da~e 

* Uuar,tred lncrvrcuars tor me eJectncol. "'urcc·rrl. M'>Al:_ ~"d r.Js r.:: nq C.JSSII<CJ:;:;ns .,,;~t r~ J a c~i:~nl ~.'_,;:d i. .~~sm~n (;-,rL: ;;J;,cn 
CJrd rssued by the V<rgtniJ Board ror C~n:ro~~crs Trccesman C~rt-:-cJl.On FrCGIJm 

11 Qualr~ed lndrvidualfsl for each 5oeciJ!ty desrQnalron cr.~-~~ed rn =9 

3-Letter 
Caje,n ~g 

f'e';L:r, jlt~>;] 

L-o~l Name -~'SI Nvme •_:I 

1 

'"" I ":_~~·.;fiiY 
•· .. -:~r· ~ ., I 
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12 Fer each Qua.rfied lndrvidual identif<ed in ;;:10 and :::11, provide a detarled descnotion !including dates) of the 
ex~ene1ce tr.ey nave in their !:c2nse classlficatronls) and/or speCialty Ces;gnanon(s)_ If your bus1r.ess ern:o1oys more 
than or.e C~a11~ed IndiVIdual, please attach an Additional Qualified Individual Experience Reference Form for each 
additional Ouairfied IndiVidual. 

13. Three references who will attest to the Qualified Individual's sat~sfactory completion of co~tractlng work in their license 
classrr1cation(s) and/or specialty designatlon(s). I~ your busrness em~toys rr.cre than one Qualr,'ied lndtvtdual. please 

14. 

15 

~"~"" 0 
dditional Qualified Individual Exoerience Reference Form lcr each add1::cnal 0 "o""~u ,.,u,.•uu~• 

iciepncne 
I Name ,l.ddress Num~er 

I 
Jl 

Business' Responsible Management (sole proprietor. partner:; of a general oartnershio. managrng partner of a limited 
partnershio. officersidrrector:; of an associat:on. manacers ol a trmrted lrab•.rtv comoany. or a :Ticer:;_ of a comcratronl 

'I 

Last Name 
1 I I 1 Scc1at Securrry 1 

First Name Ml Ti:te ~<umber • S'rth Da:e j 

Has your Designated Employee, Ouali~ed lndividual(s) or Responsrble Management teen a Responsible Manager in 
ancihercontracti~g bUSiness which holds a current or exp1red Vtrg1n1a contractors lrcense? 

No 0 

Yes 0 I! yes. complete the folloWing table. 

11 

Individual's Full Leo at Name T:le 8us:r.~ss Name Vtr;e~;~.,~~rs b~,~~~on !I 

I 

tl arlf of the Q.,·a,tfied lndl'llduats cr bws·r.esses tiS:ed rn ~\5 ~ave far led Ia oro~e1ly m.11ntatn a current V•"llnra contractors hcense or r.ad 
~ V1rgrnra cont;ac:ars l1cense wn<CII exo:red l~ss :nan Sl< monins ago. lne l'censes must ~e rel•;rned wrrn lhts appl1ca:1on 

16. Does your bUSiness hold a current or ex~rred contractors license, cer:1~catron or registration in <mother s•.ate? 

"' 0 
Yes 0 

c~:,ucr,:'1o1 

If yes. comcle~e the foiiO\'Itng table. 

E•rs·r.~ss~IJme Stc,:e I L~~c~~~isY;-;': 1~~~~,~n ~'~~~~on ·[ 
I 

j_ I 

l I 'I 

~--,oll,.f•''"'-"'"'·111 '"ICf' <P.>i•r>F"J 

17. Does yo~r Cesrgnated Employee, Qualified _lndividual(s) or Responsrble Manager-.ent hol:j a current or ex~ ired 
contractor's lrcense, cert1ficanon or regrstranon rn another state? 

No 0 
Yes 0 If yes. complete the fallowing table. 

tncivtduat's Full Leaal Name Eus:ness N~e I I t::<::1r3trcn ·\ 
State Care 

l 
I I 
i I 

18. During tile past five year:;, has your business. Designated Employee, Qualified lr.d,vidual(s) or Responsible 
Management been subject to disciplinary act•on imposed by ;my rocal, state or nanona1 reg•.rlatory bcdy that resulted in 
their Contidctor:; license, cerllfication, or reglstra!Jon be1ng sus;;ended, revoked, or surrendered or a mor.etary penalty 
or fine being imposed? 

19 

20. 

No 0 
Yes 0 If yes, list the name at the individual or business. t~e ju~sdLc:1on in which !he disciclinary action teak 

place, tile license number, and an explanation of e'/ents inc:ud:ng a descnpt:on oi tt'e crscr~!mary 
proceeding and the ty;;e of sar.ctions that were tmpcsed [1.e .. sus;:Jensmn, revocanon. fine, etc.). If 
necessary, please attach a separate sneet of paper, and co pres ot any ccrresoondence or 
documentation related to this matter. 

A. Has your b•Jsiness, Designated Employee, Ouaii~ed lndividual(s), or Respor.~Jble Management been conv1c~ed in 
any junsdlct:on of any felony? Please note: any plea of nolo cor:!endere sh«il be cons,a'ereo a conwctJOfl lor 
PWPOses of this app!icalion. · 

No 0 

Yes 0 If yes, provide the information requested below 

B. Has your business, Designated Employee, Oual:fied lnClvidual(sl, or Responsrble Management been convicted of 
any misdemeanor w:thm the last three years? Please note: any p:ea or ncia canter:dere snail be considered a 
conviCtion for purposes of thiS app!Jcatwn 

No 0 
Yes 0 If yes, pruvide the information requested below. 

If you answered yes to either of the questions in #19. list the name of ~he busrness anc.-'or indfvrdual, and the teiony 
and/or misdemeanor convtcllon(s). Attach a copy of all aeoltcat~e cnrn:nal con~;ctron and court records: a cooy of 
the state ooiLce record: informatiOn on tne current status ot tnerr mi:arceratran. p:orole. probation. etc.: and any 
other rnformat1on you w1sn to ha'le cons~dered w:th lhls applrcatlon 1.1 e_, reference letters, documentat:on of 
rehabtlitation, etc.). If necessary, please attach a se?arate sneet oi ~Jper. 

C·.rring tr.e past five years, has you~ busrness. DesignJ:ed Employee_ CuJir~ed lnd1~!dua11:s1, or Resoc~srble 
~tanagernent had any outstandrng/past-Oue deots or JUDgmEnts: o·.rtstanj;ng tax octrgatrons: or defJults or. bands? 

No 0 
Yes 0 If yes, prowle an explanation of tr.e s•tualion, includ1ng the beqtnnmg balance, curr~nt bJIJnce and 

payment arrangements. 

CS'ILIC 1'~'"',1 5oaol1o' C.oo:-odors.U(Ef.~~ APP•. ;(~O'CN 
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22. 

[){)es your Responsible Managerrent understand that all Class A. Class B. or Class C Contractors must comply witll 
the localllcensmg requ1remems oi all count1es, c1Ues and towns 111 which work IS performed? 

Yes 0 
No 0 IF NO THIS APPLICATION CANNOT BE PROCESSED 

If you are not a Virginia resident, or move outside of Virginia wlltle you hold a Virginia Contractors_ License, do you 
understand that this application serves as a wn~en power of attorney, whereby you apoo1nt the Director of the 
Deparrment of Professronal and OccupatJonal Regulal1on, and h1siher successors in office. to be your true and laW:ul 
agency and attomey-_ln-fact, 111 your stead, upon whom ail legal process agamst and nm1ce to you may be served and 
who is hereby authonzed to enter an appearance 111 your behalf many case or proceect1ngs ans1ng out of the trade or 
profession practiced; and that by submitting this application. you hereby agree that any lawful process aga1nst you which 
is duly served on said agent and attomey~n-fact shall be of the same legal force and vaiidity as 1f served upon you? 

Yes 0 
No 0 IF NO THIS APPLICATION CANNOT BE PROCESSED. 

23_ Affidavit 

The undersigned. certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true: 1/we understand and have complied with 
all the laws of Virginia affectmg Contractors under the prov1sions oi Tit:e 54.1. Chapter 11 of the Code oi Virg1n1a. and 
the Board for Contractors Rules and Regulations: and 1/we understand th1s affidavit 

A Responsible Management (include the signatures of ill) the individuals listed 111 #14) 

Signature---------­

Signature----------

Signature----------

B. Designated Employee 

Signature----------

nue ____ ~----

Title ---------

Title--------

Date ___ _ 

Date 

Date 

Date 

C. Qualifled lndividual(s) (include the signatures of ill) the individuals l1sted in #10 and #11). If necessary, piease 
attach a sepa~ate sheet of paper. 

Signature----------

Signature~--------­

Signature-----'-----­

Notar"lzation 

Date ___ _ 

Date ___ _ 

Dato ---

In the State of , City/County of , subscribed and sworn before me, 

the undersig~ed NotarY Public in and for the City/County aforeSaid this ___ , day of ------- 19_. 

1;1y commission expires the ___ , do:y of 

Affix offcjat seal here 

S.gnalure ol Notary PubliC 

• lr.d,vldual Soc1ol Secunly Numters are no! requ~red on v~plrcJI;~ns lor !,censure. ~Dwever. lhe mclusron oi lhrS mlorma:,on wdl be helpful 
wnen prccess;ng luture ChJnses IO your '.'rrg;n;a contrJc:crs lrc~nse 

CC"UCJ,C.~'il 
0 Gf 5 

3oo'"' tor Con"=-"·""'"l'C~rJS:' ~PPl'CATIC~ 

Commonwealth of Virginia 
Dept_ of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
3600 West Broad Street 
Post O:'fice Box 11 c-56 
Richmond, Virg1nia 23230-1066 
(804) 367·8511 

~il2li.~J ")~ 
nu•~T~~'Jvt·;;:';~~' 

Board for Contractors 
CHANGE OF QUALIFIED INDIVIDUAL APPLiCATION 

Fee 525.00 

Please make checks or money orders payable to the ''Treasurer of Virginia". 
Credit Card Payment Inserts must be completed for credit payments and mailed with the application package. 

All FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE. 

All applicants arE required to declare one Qualified lndl'lidual fer eacn lice~se c:ass-~:~~ ::;~ ar.~ cr ~=ec,a::v des,:na~::n·:.:-:o 
(1) is a lull-l1me employee or a Responsible Manager of tne b~s1ness_ 121 rs a; ~~s: :5 !"ars c: <:~a. 13' ~ossasses ;~e 

min1mum number of years of expenence reqUifed for tile t\i~a of !:cense te:r·; reces:ed '' e . 2 tears for C:ess C 
Certification, J years for Class 8 licensure, and 5 years fer Class ;r.. Ucensure). a~.d \-\i"M~en reo:;o,:ed. r.as ~asseo a 3CG'tl· 

approved trade exam1na"on. 

VA Contractors License Number 

2. Busrness/Sole PropMelor"s Name 

3. Trade or "Fictitious' Name 

4. Federal Employer Identification Number 

Sole Propnelor's Social Secunty Number• 

5. Street Address [P.O. Bo~ DQ! accepted) 

City. Stale, Zip Code 

Mailing Address 

City, State: z,p Code 

Telephone & Facsim1le Numbers 
e e~none "".:s-:tc .. a 3~ecer. C~;~u;ar etc. 

8. License class1fica!1on or spec:a!ty desrgna11on to be assrgned to me new CJa:,~ed lr.div:dual (oniy@ per a::1:ca:c:-:) 

QUALIFIED !NOIVIDUALS IN THE EL~CTR:CAL PLU~.E'/G f''.'~C 3L.O..ST"EX."~c::··. E ::~s f,j"';"" \3 R_.o..:;:•J '.'ITIG.:..T:2'l ~·.J 
'/;ATER '1\"~LL CIJ.,SSIFICA71CNS ".':JST P;..SS;.. <rt~CE-;,;;,_~~~0 ;:-,_~'.'.~:A T.;:• •. o~~ -~a It~;;.;,~ n1 E>"JmmJ:.~ns a-; 

C~J.I!iCd/ on; /.-::~tll"'iliJOn ~~eell 

9. NewOua"oJned lnd•viduars Full Legal Name 

10 Quaf,f•ed lndl~ldual"s Scc:al Secunly r.;umter' 

11. Qualified IndiVIduals Oa:e of &'>111 

12 Oual>fied IndiVIdual's VA Tradesman Cer!1fica:1on Nurr:ter(1l a:::.cab!e >«- ____________ _ 

* Coa:,ired lndl"llduals lor the eleclncJI c ~-t-no. h':~C. atd cas f.::.r.~ .::Jss ·~c~·~~s ~_s:·:; a ..• ,.' ~o·~r i -,~~srn3~ ;:,-: ;3::1 
Cora ;ssueo by :re '"'"'"'"' Ccard f~; C:.c:-.,~:~rs ~-J:;srl'ill ::~ 

1] Provide a deta,lea descr:~t;on vclud;ny da:esi cr tne e\:anence t~e c~.: .- i'J .~: ·• :~3, ~;~ :- ed ,~ =9 ~2s .. 1 :-e _.. 
l;cense class1i1canon or spec!a.tY ~e>~:;nJ:.on 

I ,., I 
iL'_ 
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14 Three refe'ences who wrll a::est to tt"_e Gualrfied lndwidual's sa:rsfactCrf co~ule~ron cf con:rac:.ng work rn tnew license 
class:~ca:ron or sDec:ol!tv desiona:rcn 

~: ! <''C'OC I Ncme I OCcceec i Nemcec I 

15. 

16. 

I I 

Has :he Gualified Individual identified in ;.9 been a Respor,s:b~e Manager rn ar.otner ccnlractir.g tusinesswr.rch holds a 
current or ex_oi:ed Virginra contractors license? 

No D 

Yes 0 If yes, complete the fa! lowing table. 

,I Buoiness Name Tlt'e j ', 2,;~~~~a~-~rs 

;l I 
If the Cuar,fred tnarv·clia, or bus,nesses .~steo 1n NC15 r.ave Tor,ea to prcpeny .':lam:a.~ a curre,,r Vtrr.rn'a ccn:ractors trcense or had 

a Virgtnl<l contro~:ors license w~•cn exprred less than SIX monl~s ago, tr.e lr:enses mustoe reiumej Wt:h th1s o~pl,cabon 

Does the Oualifted lndivtduai identtfied in #9 hold a current or expired contractor's License. certification cr reg1stra!Jon in 
another state? 

No 0 
'Yes 0 If yes, complete the following table 

Business N~me I L,cer.se. Ce~-Cca:~en 1 ~~"'ra~on 
S~le . cr Cl.~c1stra~on f>J I Date ---T 

l 
17. During 1:1e past five years. has the Oual1fied lndivid~al ident1fied in ;g teen sub!eCt to disC:pi1r,ary actton imposed by 

;my local, state or na:1onal regulatory boay that resutted 1n the1r Contrac:ors 11ce~se. certn;canon or registration heing 
suspen~ed, re•1oked, or surrencered or a monetary pena,ty or tine be.ng 1n-;posed? 

No 0 
Yes 0 If yes, list tr.e jurtsdiction in which tile disc;piinal'f act: on toe~ clace, the r:cense number. and an 

explanaticm of events 1nclud1ng a descr.:tion of tr.e d1sc:~:1na:y ~rvceec1n:1 and tr.e tyee of sar.cttcms 
that were Imposed lt.e .. SJS;Jcnslon, r;:,voca:1on. fine. etc)_ If necessary. c:case Gtlac.1 a separa:e 
sheet of paper. and cop1es of any correspor.dence or documenta::on retated to this matter. 

18 A Has lhe Gual1fied lrdw1dual i~ent1ried in :;g been con.,.lcted 1rt any tuns~1c::c1 o'any f~ionyJ P.'''-'"~ ncte· anv 
plea of nolo contendere shall be consraered J ccn•:,ctJOn lor purpcses or r-~-5 Jop,',u;.un 

>~0 0 
Yes 0 If yes. pro•~tde the infarr;1at1on requested tn ;;t8 C 

B. Has tr.e I}Jal<l:ed lnCI'J1dual1dent1~~d 1n =8 t~en con"IIC~ed of anv ~11sCemearor w1:~,n :~e IJst :~ree vears i 
F!ease no to Jny ploa oi nolo ccntonoere sna.'l be cor.s;oered a co~·. ctwn tJr ;Jur;;~scs or l':'s Jp~.JCJI!on. 

~lo 0 
Yes 0 II yes, prov1de the 1nformat1on requested 1n #t8.C. 

r.r.~:::H'JII~C-"61 5o.el for Coo:hiC:O"-'CH>rJG~ GF •:I 'Al:F ~U ,,Q,'.':CLAl :.F?'-'CA ;-::rJ 

18. C If you answered yes to either question in #18A or#18.8., list the name of the business a1C.:o~ ~~dtvidual. and t~e 

19. 

20. 

felony andlor misdemeanor conviction(s). Attach a copy of all apolicable cnrr,ma, ~c1v1c::on an~ coT-: records: a 
copy of t.1e state pollee record: intormation on the current status of the!r 1nGarcera!1on. oaro:e. ~rota:·o~. et: : and 
any other information you wish to have considered w1tll this a;;;;.icalion {i.e., re:erence lette:o. doc~.;rrenta:ion cf 
rehab:litation, e(c.)_ If r.ecessal'f, please attach a separate sheet of paper. 

During the past five years, has the Qualified Individual identified in #9 had any outstar.ding;past-due deb:s or 
judgments: outstanding tax obligations; or defaults on bonds? 

No 0 
Yes 0 11 yes, provide an explanation ofthe situation, including the beginning balance. c~rrent balance and 

payment arrangements. 

Affidavit 

The undersigned, certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true: 1/we understand and have complied with 
all the laws of Virginia affecting Contractors underthe provisions oiTitle 54.1, Chapter 11 of the Code cf Virninia, and 
the Board for Contractors Rules and Regulations; and 1/we understand th1s affidav1t 

A. Responsible Mahager {to b-e signed by the business" sole proprietor. partner. director, ma~ager, or officer) 

Signature----------

8. Qualified Individual 

Title---------- Date ___ _ 

Signature----'-------­

Notarization · 

Date ___ _ 

In the State of , City/Cour.ty of , subKribed and swam before me, 

the under.;igned Notal)' Public in and for the City/County aforesaid this ___ , day of , 19 _ . 

Mycommissionexpiresthe __ ._, day of -------

Affix official seal here 

S'gnature or Notary Public 

•tndividu~l Social Secunty Numbers sre not 'required on applications ror licensure: ~Owever, the inclusion or lt\IS information will be helpful 
when processing future changes 10 your 1/i1g:ma contractors acense 
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Commonwealth of Virginia 

~il?.i ""~-Dept. of Profess'tonal and Occupational Regulation 
3600 West Broad Street nn.<RT\IE~T Of PHLlfb'l•" \L \\0 Gc'CLP\Tin~,l REGlllfH,J_" 
Post Office Box 11066 ~.:.:L~....L~-
Richmond, Vtrginia 23230-1066 
(804)36H511 

Board for Contractors 
CHANGE OF DESIGNATED EMPLOYEE APPLICATION 

Fee S25.00 

Please make checks or money orders payable to the "Treasurer of VirginiaH. 
Credit Card Payment Inserts must be completed for credit payments and mailed with the application package. 

ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE. 

CLASS A & CLASS B LICENSEES ONLY 

All Class A & Closs B L1cense appltcants are requtred to declare a DesignJted Emo;ovee wno f1't •s ~ ru:l-tme empluyee nr one of the 
business Respcns1ble Managers {see P3:1 I of the Soard for Contractors R"'~s and R~::" a:·c."s': t2t ''a~ 10351 18 years ot a~e: and r3i ~as 

successfully corrptered the oral/wr1tten "censure exammat1on. if no cne at your firm h3S casse:J :ce :1censure e<am. c~cta;;t :he Nat c~aJ 
~sessment Institute (NAI) at 3813 Gas kens Road. ?1cnmcna. VA 23233: In <,jr.-:nla a~-J .'iJr-.ta~a :e't~ncne Iori free 1·800·306-3381: 

outside V1r"g1n1a. te:epnone (804) H7·3297: or racs1m~:e :.024) ~~~ -5~&:! 

1. 

2. 

3. 
4. 

5. 

6. 

7. 

8. 

9 

10. 

II 

12. 

VA Contractors License Number 

6usinessJSole Proprietor's Name 

T~<Jde or "Fictitious· Name 

Federal Employer Identification Number 

Sole Proprietor":; Social Secunty Number· 

Street Address {P.O Box !lQJ accepted) 

C"1ty, State, Ztp Code 

MailinQ Address 

City. Stale, Zip Code 

Tele~hone & Facs1m1le Numbers 
Teiepnone 

New Oes'1gnated Employee's Full Legal Name 

Des1gna:ed Err:ployee's Soc:al Secunty Number• 

Ces1gnated Employee·s Dale ol8rrtll 

License Examtnat10n Date 

[_____i 
F3;;o,ll".•.e ~ee~er, Ce,:":ar. etc 

Has the Designated Emdoyee 1den11~ed 1n ::8 been a "esponsrC:e l,!arager m a~c:~er wn:~Jc:;~g tus1ress wt-11ch 
holds a current or exp1red v.rg1.11a contractors l;cense? 

No 0 
Yes 0 If yes. comoiete me lotlow1ng taC'e 

·• ·; o ·~ ·' Cl 
3os:ness !'-;J.-e 

I 
II :he tui.nesses si~O ·~:; i;: "J·,~ r,-, ec :o ~-r~cc• \' rr1' l.'.n J cc "eni ·• r: .010 c~~:-.' ·;:s -oe~ = --~:.,:1 ~~c :-:;-;_";5 ~~.ose 

.-.c:cn e•~·rea ,e;s__:U'] s•x ""Cn:ns ,;-~o :.-~liCenses rr"~l te !C"'-' ~:J .-. ':'.s .- :;:~n 

_,.,,-,,, ,q,,"oi< "''"' 

-~·::~=~:I: "·iJ _, ; '·"a lor Coc.trJ,-o,;. c-•N :.~ (~ co.- .... , :cJ '"-"" ~~ ,col c•: :·r 

13. Does the Designated Employee identified in !;8 hold a current or exptred contractor's license. cernfica'ocn or registra~on 
in another state? 

No 0 
Yes 0 If yes, complete the following table 

sus1ness Name State L~~e~!~;sTr!~~I~~~" J ~~~~on 

14 · During the past five years, has the Designated Employee identified in ;'8 been subject to disciohnary acnon imp!Jsed by 
-'!QYIOC<JI, state or nattonal regulatory body that resulted 111 therr Contractors l'cense. cernfiC<JtJon or reg :stratton berng 
suspended, revoked, or surrendered or a monetary penalty or fine be1ng 1mpcsed' 

15. 

16 

No 0 
Yes 0 If yes. list the jurisdiction in which the disciplinary action took place. the license number. and an 

explanation of events inclurfrng a descnptiOn of the dlsc•pnnary proceed1no and tne tr;;e oi sanctmns 
that were imposed (Le., suspens1on, revocatron. fine. etc.). tf necessary. C·ease attacn a separate 
sheet ol paper, and coptes of any corr€spondence or documentat•on rela:ed to th:s maner. 

A. Has the Designated Employee identified in #8 been convicted in any JUnSdJcUOn of any felony? Please note: any 
plea of nolo contendere shall be cons1dered a COMIC/ron for pwposes of !his applrcaoon. 

No 0 
¥es 0 If yes, provide the information requested in ;',!15.C 

Has the Designated Employee. identified in ;:a been convicted of any misdemeanor wrthin (he last tllree years? 
Please note: any plea of nolo contendere shall be consrdered a conVIctron for purposes of thiS appliCa!Jon 

No 0 
Yes 0 II yes, provide the 'rnforrnation requested ·,n #19.C 

C. If you answered yes tc e1lher question ;:15 A or ::115 S .. l1sl the name of the bUSiness am:!.;or if'l.:ll'l;dual. and the 
felony and/or mrsdemeanor conv1ct10n(s). Anach a copy of all a;:,;Jt1cabte cr.mtnal c~n·1•Cll0n ar.o coun records: a 
copy of the state police record: 1nformat10n on t~e current_status of the1r rncarcerat:on ~JrLt:e_ p!Ctai:on. etc.: and 
any other rnformatron you WISh to have cons1de1ed W1lh th1s ao~I1Cat10n 11 e . reterence i.;ner:s. Cocumentauon of 
rehabrl1tat1on, etc.). If necessary, please attach a separate sheet of paper. 

Dunng the past five years_ h;;~s tne Des,gnated Em~loyee •denni1ed 1n ;:8 had any outstano:r.~ past-du~ aeo~s or 
judgments: outstandmg tax obtrgatJons: or defaults on bcnd.s? 

:'Jo 0 
Yes 0 If yes. provtde an explanation of the SltUatton. including the begtnr.:ng CJ'Jnce. curre~t tJ:Jnce 

and payment arrangements 

12';C~D~(10~5) , -r ;·oot~ lor Con!r.>C,OtS.CHA~GE CF C~S'G'" ;-oJ •:;>~ "'~ . r~c:~~; ,("I 
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Final Regulations 

17. Affidavit 

The undersigned, certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true; 1/we understand and have complied with 
all the laws of Virginia affecting Contractors under the provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 11 of the Code of VIrginia, and 
the Board for Contractors Rules and Regulations; and 1/we understand this affidavit. 

A. Responsible Manager (to be signed by the business' sole proprietor, partner, director, manager, or officer) 

Signature------------

8. Designated Employee 

Signature.----------­

Notarization 

Title---------- Date ___ _ 

Date ___ _ 

In the State of -------- , City!County of-------- , subscribed and sworn before me, 

the undersigned Notary Public in and for the City/County aforesaid this ____ , day of _____ ,19_ 

My commission expires the ___ , day of 

Affix official seal here 

Signature of Notary Public 

* lndillidual Social Security Numbers are not required on applications for licensure; howe11er, the inclusion of this information will be helpful 
when processing future changes to your Virginia contractors license. 
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Commonwealth of Virginia 
Dept. of Professronal and Occupational Regula!ion 
3600 West Broad Street 

__ i/i:d_"'-~-
Post Office Box 11066 

(P,,R'n1E~T OF PROH5,1Ll~ \L \,,D ULCLPHIQ"L OfGlLHI0~'1 

Richmond, Virgmia 23230-1066 
~_11._~_11._--........-

(804) 367-8511 
Board for Contractors 

ADDITION Of LICENSE CLASSIFICATION AND SPECIALTY DESIGNATION APPLICATION 
Fee S25.00 per UcenserSpecialty Classification 

Please make checks or money orders payable to the "Treasurer of Virginia". 
Credii Card P.·yment Inserts must be completed for credit payments and mailed with the application padage. 

ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE. 

All applicants are requrred to declare one Qualified Individual for each l1cense class'ficatron and or specia'ly desianationwho 
(1) 1s a full-lime employee or a Respons•ble Manager of the busmess: 12) 1s at least ; 3 vears_ of age: !31 eossesses me 

mrnrmum number of years of expe~ence required for the type of i1cense Ce1ng recuested i:.e .. 2 years !or C:ass C 
Certification, 3 years lor Class B Licensure, and 5 years for Class A L1censure1: and (-'.J-.vilen re:j!!J;ed. nas pcssed a Board­

approved trade exam1nauon. 

VA Contractors License Number 

Business/Sole Proprietor's Name 

Trade or "Fictitious' Name 

4. Federal Employer ldentJncat~n Number 

Sole Proprie(Or"s Social Security Number• 

5. Street Address (P.O. Box QQlaccepted) 

City, State, Zip Code 

Mailing Address 

City, State. Zip Code 

7. Telephooe & Facsimile Numbers 

B. License class1ftcation(s) to be added 
Build1no 1BLO) 0 
Highwa"y•Heavy (H/H) 0 
Electnca1 {ELE) * 0 
P!umb1nq iPLB) * 0 

Telephone F~cs:r.-.r:e aee~er. Ce.lutar. e:c. 

HVAC lc-IVA) * 0 
Specially 0 Circle ;ill the specraJty serv1ces for w~1ch you are a~~iy:rg m tne following liSt 

ALS A:arm .. Securrty Systems FIC Farm ,mprovemenl !XC !.~Jr:ne r.'c: IV 
;.SS* Asbest~s F,l,S F1re ~I arm Svs:ems ~.tSC '.~1sce ·.;-ecus 
BSC B''ooard1S1gn SPR F•re Spnm;.~r !.'3C I."~C"',o; '."Jt··~,\ianu!a~:creo 2L.:~~.ng 
EEC* 51Js:.:::•clcs,v~ FSP F•ce Sc~PresSIOn >':::·.:: 
CIC Cc-mmerc:a' improvement GFC* Gos F1:::n~ .~.·.:;:;* 
ESC E ec:rcn:c.·c~m.'nur •. c.;t.on s~r,ce ]-,JC f-'o':'e •mcrovemenl ?.FC 
E::C E'e·tator,EscJ.ator :~c O.:CF 
E!.'W Enwo.orr.eolatl:on,tor:~g \'ietl LSC SCS 
E'.iC "-~"'omen~l.lach,nery L-'-:::* L~ad ;,t,t:cment '. CC ·. ~~"~' :,",;:rc~: en 

·,•;:."*' ",",';:er.·.e .o~m~ 

*indiCJies il c'Jss,O,cJt:on or sceCIJIIV -j~SI~nJ:·o~ "''., :!CC::.c~~l kens:ro r~~u·reme,:s '""" ih~ 1·.1 :~-.'l:>•arca E<Jn: . .J:•~os rd 
QcJ,•I.co/.~nS lnform.Jton ·j,cel JnO i'.1rt I~:·-~~ ::c.Jra :or C~c.".:JL'.~rs :::c ES oc J ;.,. ;-_,:,~nsl 

I '''" I ., I " I •-··""" i ···"'•'" i ·-·"" ,, 
I " i I ' I 

CC.'O.OCLII~.%1 8o•ra Jo, Co"""'''"'"'DC1T.C" 2F Cl).SS FJCA TIC'J ;;'"L"C~ 7 :~ 
1 ol4 

9. Qualified l~dividual(s) for each license classification (excluding anv specialtv c~JSsiflcation\ c~ecked in ='.S 
1 Soas• -~ -0 ~cc11ca~·er 

License _ 1 Secunty VA Tracesfl'an 
Closs•f!Callnn \ L~st Name I First Name I M I I Years I ~lumt~r. c~r._Oo~.cc. o\0 

Elir:h I 
c:~:e 

Elurldinq I [ 
Hiohwo IHea i I 
Eiectnc.;l* I 2710 

Plumbing* I 2710-

HVAC* I 2710-

*Qualified-indiVIduals for t11e electncal. plliiiibmg:-HVAc. and gas fitnng cJass;ficanons mu.>'; nc ~a C"~rre~t l.ia>.erlra~e~man ;:.~nca:-.on 
Card issued by the Virg1n'a Board for Cnn!ractors Tradesman Cert,f;ca~cn Prc~r;;m 

10. Oualifred-lndividual(s) for each specialty desiqnation checked in ::!8 

3-LeOe< I I I I I Code in ;;t8 Last Name First Name M I Years I 

c.:~c,al 
S€a:nty 
·.~cr:~e,• 

i'T a~m:ca~.e) I 
VA Tradesman S.rth 
Ccrt"caMn No_ I Ca:e 

11. 

12. 

I 
I -, 
I 

For each Qualified Individual identified in #9 and #10. provide a detarle!J descno~on (including dates I of the expenence 
they have in their license classJficatJon(sl and.' or soecmlty desrgnatron(sl- If your bus:ness IS r~que_snng the addaion of 
more than one classtfTcahor. wh1ch reqUireS addJ!Jonal Oual1fied lndrvrduals. please attach anAdd1ttonal Qualified 
Individual Experience Refererice Form for each Oual1fie!J Individual. 

Three references who wdl a~est to the Oual1fied lndr11dual"s sattsfactory complet:on of cowact1ng wor~ tn !h~Jr l1cense 
classrficaMn(s) and; or spec:aity des•gnatiOn{sl. II your b~smess IS rec;uesnng tt".e ad~H,c:n ol n'cre tr.an o~e 
classificatiOn wh1ch requ11es aod;llonal Oual,f;ed l~diV•duals. please allacn an AddJtior.al Qualified Individual 
Exp~>nPnre Rl>f~>rPnce Form ior eacn Oual1fred lrd:v;dual I '"me I cjccm •• ::~:;' 

COIIADCL (10."901 Ooa«< lcr Con!r.Kttl"-'A!)QlTICN CF (l).SS.F~CA T"C~ PPL •CA 7 N 
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Final Regulations 

DEPARTMENT OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Game and 
Inland Fisheries is exempt from the Administrative Process 
Act pursuant to subdivision A 3 of§ 9-6.14:4.1 of the Code of 
Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 
management of wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 15-20-10 et seq. Definitions and 
Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4 VAC 15-20-160). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 1997. 

Summary: 

The amendment adds mute swan (Cygnus o/or), an 
exotic species to Virginia which has established feral 
wild populations in the Commonwealth, to the list of bird 
species designated by the board as nuisance species. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from Phil Smith, Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 
4010 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 
(804) 367-8341. 

4 VAC 15-20-160. Nuisance species designated. 

A. The board hereby designates the following species as 
nuisance species pursuant to § 29.1-100 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

1. Mammals. 

a. House mouse (Mus musculus); 

b. Norway rat (Rattus norvegicus); 

c. Black rat (Rattus rattus); and 

d. Coyote (Canis latrans). 

2. Birds. 

a. European starling (Sturnus vulgaris); 

b. English (house) sparrow (Passer domesticus); aA<l 

c. Pigeon (Rock Dove) (Columba Iivia),; and 

d. Mute swan (Cygnus olor). 

B. It shall be unlawful to take, possess, transport, or sell all 
other wildlife species not classified as game, furbearer or 
nuisance, or otherwise specifically permitted by law or 
regulation. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-115; Filed November 6, 1996, 11:09 a.m. 

******** 

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 15-30-10 et seq. Definitions and 
Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, Etc., of 
Animals (amending 4 VAC 15-30-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 1997. 

Summarv: 

The amendment prohibits the importation, possession, or 
sale of the nonnative exotic aquatic species, the 
tubenose goby (Proterothinus mannoratus) and the 
round goby (Neogobius melanostomus). 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from Phil Smith, Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 
4010 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 
(804) 367-8341. 

4 VAC 15-30-40. Importation requirements, possession 
and sale of nonnative (exotic) animals. 

A. Permit required. A special permit is required and may 
be issued by the department, if consistent with the 
department's fish and wildlife management program, to 
import, possess, or sell those nonnative (exotic) animals 
listed below that the board finds and declares to be predatory 
or undesirable within the meaning and intent of§ 29.1-542 of 
the Code of Virginia, in that their introduction into the 
Commonwealth will be detrimental to the native fish and 
wildlife resources of Virginia·. 

AMPHIBIANS· 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Anura Buforidae Bufo marin us 
Giant or 
marine toad* 

Pipidae Xenopus spp. Tongueless or 
African clawed 
frog 

Caudata Ambystomatidae Ambystoma Barred tiger 
tigrium mavortium salamander 

A. t. diaboli Gray tiger 
salamander 

A.t. Blotched tiger 
melanostictum salamander 

BIRDS· 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Psittaciformes Psittacidae 
Myiopsitta 

Monk monachus 
parakeet* 

FISH· 

Order Family Genus/Species Common 
Name 

lctiobus Smallmouth 
Cypriniformes Catostomidae bubalus buffalo* 

I. cyprinellus 
Big mouth 
buffalo* 

I. niqer Black buffalo* 

Virginia Register of Regulations 
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Characidae, Pygopristis spp. Piranhas 

Pygocentrus 
spp. 

Rooseveltiella 
spp. 

Serrasalmo 
spp. 

Serrasalmus 
spp. 

Taddvella spp. 

Cyprinidae 
Aristichyhys 
nobilis Bighead carp• 

Ctenopharyngo- Grass carp or 
don idella white amur 
Cyprinella 

Red shiner lutrensis 
Hypophthai-
michthys Silver carp* 

' molitrix 
Mylopharyngo-

Black carp dam piceus 
Scardinius Rudd 
erythro-

_phthaimus 

Tinea tinea Tench• 

Gobiesociformes Gobiidae Proterorhinus Tubenose 
marmoratus aobv 

Neogobius Raundgoby 
melanostomus 

Perciformes Cichlida:e Tilaoia SPP. Tilaoia 
Gymnocepha-
Ius cernUuirl Ruffe* 

Silurifor~es Clariidae 
Air-breathing 

. All Species catfish 

MAMMALS· 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Artiodactyla Suidae All Species Pigs or Hogs* 

Cervidae All Species Deer* 

Carnivora . Canidae All Species 
Wild Dogs•, 
Wolves, 
Coyotes or 
Coyote hybrids, 
Jackals 
and Foxes 

Ursidae Ali Species Bears* 

Procyonidae All Species 
Raccoons and* 
Relatives 

Mus teiidae All Species 
Weasels, 
Badgers,• 
Skunks and 
Otters 

(except Mustela 
putorius furo) 

Ferret 

Viverridae .·· All Species 
Civets, 
Genets,• 
Linqsanqs, 
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Mongooses, 
and Fossas 

Herpestidae All Species Mongooses* 

Hyaenidae All Species Hyenas* 

Protelidae 
Proteles 

Aardwolr cristatus 

Felidae All Species Cats* 

Chiroptera All Species Bats* 
Lepus 

Lagomorpha Lepridae europeaeous European hare 

Oryctolagus 
European rabbit cuniculus 

MOLLUSKS: 

Order Family Genus/~cies Common Name 
Dreissena 

Veneroida Dreissenidae polymorph a Zebra Mussel 

. REPTILES: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Squamata Alligatoridae All Species 
Alligators, 
Caimans* 

Colubridae Boiga irregularis 
Brown tree 
snake* 

Crocodyiidae All Species Crocodiles* 

Gavialidae All Species Gavials* 

B. Temporary possession permit for certain animals. 
Notwithstanding the permitting requirements of subsection A, 
a person, company or corporation possessing any nonnative 
(exotic) animal, designated with an asterisk (*) in subsection 
A, prior to July 1, 1992, must declare such possession in 
writing to the department by January 1, 1993. This written 
declaration shall seove as a permit for possession only, is not 
transfers le and must be renewed eve five b ' ry y ears. This 
written declaration must include species name, common 
name, number of individuals, date or dates acquired, sex (if 
possible), estimated age, height or length, and other 
characteristics such as bands and band numbers, tattoos, 
registration numbers, coloration, and specific markings. 
Possession transfer will require a new permit according to the 
requirements of this subsection. 

C. Exception for certain monk parakeets. A permit is not 
required for monk parakeets (quakers) that have been 
captive bred and are closed-banded. 

D. Exception for parts or products. A permit is not required 
for parts or products of those nonnative (exotic) animals listed 
in subsection A that may be used in the manufacture of 
products or used in scientific research, provided that such 
parts or products be packaged outside the Commonwealth by 
any person, company, or corporation duly licensed by the 
state in which the parts originate. Such packages may be 
transported into the Commonwealth, consistent with other 
state laws and regulations, so long as the original package 
remains unbroken, unopened and intact until its point of 
destination is reached. Documentation concerning the type 
and cost of the animal parts ordered, the purpose and date of 
the order, point and date of shipping, and date of receiving 
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shall be kept by the person, business or institution ordering 
such nonnative (exotic) animal parts. Such. documentation 
shall be open to inspection by a representative of the 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries. 

E. Exception for certain mammals. Nonnative (exotic) ' 
mammals listed in subsection A that are imported or 
possessed by dealers, exhibitors, transporters, and 
researchers who are licensed or registered . by the United ' 
States Department of Agriculture under the Animal Welfare , 
Act (7 USC§§ 2131 et seq.) will be deemed \O be. permitted· 
pursuant to this section, provided that ,those individuals 
wanting to import such animals notify the department 24 
hours prior to importation with a list of animals to be 
imported, a schedule of dates and locations where those· 
animals will be housed while in the Commonwealth, and a 
copy of the current license or licenses or registration or 
registrations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture, ancj 
further provided that such animals shall not be liberated 
within the Commonwealth. 

F, All other nonnative (exotic) animals. All oth,f?r nonnative 
(exotic) animals, not listed in subsection A may be possessed 
and sold; provided, that such animals shall be subject to ali' 
applicable local, state, and federal laws and regulations •. 
including those that apply to threatened/endangered species,' 
and further provided, that such animals shall not be liberated 
within the Commonwealth. 

VA.R Doc. No. R97-116; Filed November 6, 1996, 11:09 a.m. 

***'***** 
' ' ' ' 

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 15-320-10 et seq. Fish: Fishing 
Generally (amending 4 VAC 15-320-10 through 4 VAC 15-
320-40, 4 VAC 15-320-90, and 4 VAC 15-320-120). , 
4 VAC 15-330-10 et seq. Fish: Trout Fishing (amending 4 
VAC 15-330-110, 4 VAC 15-330-120, 4 VAC 15-330-150, 
and 4 VAC 15-330-160; repealing 4 VAC 15-330-170). 
4 VAC 15-340-10 et seq. Fish: Seines and ·Nets 
(amending 4 VAC 15-340-40 and 4VAC 15-340-60). 
4 VAC 15-350-10 et seq. Fish: Gigs, Grab Hooks,· 
Trotlines, Snares, Etc. (amending 4 VAC 15:350-60 and 4 
VAC 15-350-70). 
4 VAC 15-360-10 et seq. Fish: Aquatic Invertebrates, 
Amphibians, Reptiles and Nongame Fish (ar\'u!nding 4 
VAC 15-360-1 0). 

StatutorvAuthority: §§ 29.1-501 arid 29.1-502 of the ¢ode of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 1997. 

Summarv: 

4 VAG 15-320-10 et seq. Fish: Fishing Generally. . The 
amendments (i) change the open season for 
anadromous (coastal) striped bass above the fall line in 
coastal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay to that set by the 
Virginia Marine Resources Commission; (ii) establish an 
aggregate daily creel limit of five rock ba~s {redeye) and 
Roanoke bass in the Meherrin and Nottoway rivers and 
their tributaries and changf] the creel· limit 
(noncommercial) for anadromous (coastal) striped bass 

above the fall line in coastal rivers of the Cheseapeake 
Bay to the possession limit set by the Virginia Marine 
Resources Commission for recreational fishing in tidal 
waters; (iii) establish the size limits on anadromous 
(coastal) striped bass above the fall line in coastal rivers 
of the Chesapeake Bay as that set by the Virginia Marine 
Resources Commission, remove the 12-inch minimum 
size limit on largemouth bass in Chickahominy Reservoir, 
and establish an eight-inch minimum size limit on rock 
bass (redeye) in the Nottoway and Meherrin rivers and 
their tributaries; (iv) clarify under what conditions game 
fish and catfish may be sold in the Commonwealth; (v) 
add North Fork of Pound Reservoir to the waters 
exempted from the National Forest permit to fish; and (vi) 
establish a short (five-day) closed season to allow 
preparation for the annual opening of the three fee 
fishing areas, extend the fee fishing season in the fall at 
all three areas, allow the establishment of "children only" 
areas at all three areas, and allow unpermitted children 
to fish in the Douthat Fee Fishing Area as long as they 
are accompanied by a permitted adult and the combined 
creel limit of the adult and children does not exceed the 
adult's /ega/limit. 

4 VAG 1q-330-10 et seq. Fish: Trout Fishing. The 
amendments (i) remove the Hidden Valley section of 
Jackson River in Bath County froni the list of special 
regulation 12-inch minimum. size limit, six trout per day 
creel limit special regulation trout streams; (ii) add the 
Hidden Valley section of Jackson River in Bath County to 
the list of 16-inch minimum size limit, two trout per day 
creel limit special regulation trout streams; (iii) clarify the 
boundaries of the South Fork Holston River catch and 
release section and add Jackson River from Gathright 
Dam downstream to the Westvaco Dam at Covington to 
the list of catch and release, artificial lures only trout 
streams; (iv) add Accotink Creek (Fairfax County), 
Passage Creek (Warren County), and North Fork of 
Pound and Pound rivers (Wise County) to the list of 
delayed harvest regulation trout streams; and (v) repeal 
4 VAG 15-330-170 so the Jackson River from Gathright 
Dam downstream to the Westvaco Dam at Covington 
can be added to the list of catch and release, artificial 
lures only trout streams. 

4 VAG 15-340-10 et seq. Fish: Seines and Nets. The 
amendments (i) clarify that dip netting for shad, herring, 
mullet and suckers requires either a valid fishing license 
or a dip net permit; and (ii) add Hungry Mother Creek 
above Hu11gry Mother Lake (Smyth County) to the list of 
streams where the use of nets, seines and traps is 
prohibited in the Commonwealth; provided, however, this 
shall not apply to hand landing nets for landing legally 
hooked fish. 

4 VAG 15-350-10 et seq. Fish: Gigs, Grab Hooks, 
Trotlines, Snares, Etc. The amendments (i) change the 
requirement for the use of nonferrous metal tags to 
identify the owners of trotlines, juglines and set poles to 
that which allows for the permanent marking of the 
equipment by any means, and add the requirement of 
including a telephone number along with owners name 
and address; and (ii) establish a continuous open 
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season for bow fishing for carp and gar instead of just 
during daylight hours. 

4 VAG 15-360-10 et seq. Fish: Aquatic Invertebrates, 
Amphibians, Reptiles and Nongame Fish. The 
amendment adds an exception to eliminate a conflict 
between 4 VAG 15-360-10 and subdivision 8 of 4 VAG 
15-320-20 regarding possession limits for anadrcmous 
(coastal) shad and herring. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from Phil Smith, Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 
4010 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 
(804) 367-8341. 

4 VAG 15-320-10. Continuous open season for all species 
except anadromous (coastal) striped bass above the fall 
line in coastal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay. 

Except as otherwise specifically provided by sections 
appearing in this chapter, there shall be a continuous open 
season for fishing to take all species of fish except 
anadromous (coastal) striped bass above the fall line in 
coastal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay, where the open 
season shall be that set by the Virgtnia Manne Resources 
Commission for tidal waters. 

4 VAG 15-320-20. Greellimits. 

The creel limits (including live possession) for the various 
species of fish shall be as follows: 

1. Largemouth, smallmouth and spotted bass, five a day 
in the aggregate. 

2. Landlocked striped bass and landlocked striped bass 
X white bass hybrids, in the aggregate, four a day; 
except, that in Smith Mountain Reservoir and its 
tributaries, including the Roanoke River upstream to 
Niagara Dam, the limit shall be two a day in the 
aggregate. For anadromous (coastal) striped bass 
above the fall line in all coastal rivers [ of the 
Chesapea.ke Bay], the limit [(noncommercial)] shall be [ 
zere (sa!sh amJ release only) the possession limit set by 
the Virginia Marine Resources Commission for 
recreational fishing in tidal waters ]. The creel limit on 
striped bass in the Meherrin, Nottoway, Blackwater 
(Chowari Drainage), North Landing and Northwest Rivers 
and their tributaries plus Back Bay shall be four per day. 

3 .. White bass, 25 per day, except that in New River and 
Clay1or Lake from the Buck Dam on New River in Carroll 
County downstream to the Clay1or Lake Dam, the limit 
shall be five per day. 

4. Walleye or yellow pike perch and chain pickerel or 
jackfish, eight a day of each; except, that in Gaston 
Reservoir and Buggs Island (Kerr) Reservoir there shall 
be no daily limit for chain pickerel or jackfish. 

5. Northern pike and muskellunge, two a day. 

6. Sau.ger, eight per day. 

7. Bluegill (bream) and other sunfish, excluding crappie 
(silver perch), rock bass (redeye) and Roanoke bass, 50 
a day in the aggregate; crappie (silver perch) and rock 
bass (redeye), 25 a day of each species; rock bass 
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(redeye) and Roanoke bass, 5 a day in the aggregate, 
on the Nottoway and Meherrin rivers and their tributaries. 
There shall be no limit on any of the species included in 
this subdivision 7 in Gaston and Buggs Island (Kerr) 
Reservoirs and that portion of the New River from the 
Virginia-North Carolina state line downstream to the 
confluence of the New and Little Rivers in Grayson 
County. 

8. American shad and hickory shad, in the James River 
above the fall line (14th Street Bridge), in the Meherrin 
River above Emporia Dam, in the Chickahorniny River 
above Walkers Dam, in the Appomattox River above 
Harvell Dam, in the Mattaponi River and Pamunkey River 
above the Route 360 bridge, and in the Rappahannock 
River above the Route 1 bridge, zero (catch and release 
only). Alewife and blueback herring in the James River 
above Boshers Dam, in the Meherrin River above 
Emporia Dam, in the Chickahominy River above Walkers 
Dam, in the Appomattox River above Harvell Dam, in 
the South Anna River above the U.S. Route 1 bridge, 
and in the Rappahannock River above Embrey Dam, 
zero (catch and release only). 

4 VAG 15-320-30. Size [ limit]. 

Except as provided in this chapter, 4 VAG 15-330-50, and 
4 VAG 15-330-110 through 4 VAG 15-330-140, there shall be 
no size limit on any species of fish. 

1. There shall be a 30-inch minimum size limit on 
muskellunge, and a 20-inch minimum size limit on 
northern pike, landlocked striped bass (rockfish) and 
landlocked striped bass X white bass hybrids. For 
anadromous (coastal) striped bass above the fall line in 
coastal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay, the size limit shall 
be that set by the Virginia Marine Resources 
Commission tor tidal waters. 

2. There shall be a 14-inch minimum size limit on 
largemouth, smallmouth and spotted bass in Occoquan 
Reservoir from the reservoir dam upstream to the Lake 
Jackson Dam on Occoquan Creek and upstream to the 
Yates Ford Bridge (Route 612) on Bull Run Creek. It 
shall be unlawful to have any such bass less than 14 
inches in length in one's possession on the above 
described waters of this reservoir. 

3. There shall be a 12-inch minimum size limit on 
largemouth, smallmouth and spotted bass in the 
Coiskaheminy, Clay1or, Philpott and Flannagan 
Reservoirs, and in Lake Moomaw (Gathright Project). It 
shall be unlawful to have any largemouth, smallmouth or 
spotted bass less than 12 inches in length in one's 
possession while on any of the waters mentioned in the 
preceding sentence. 

4. There shall be a 14-inch minimum size limit on 
largemouth, smallmouth and spotted bass on the 
Roanoke (Staunton) and Dan Rivers and their tributaries 
and impoundments (Gaston, John Kerr, Leesville and 
Smith Mountain Reservoirs) downstream from Niagara 
Dam on the Roanoke River and the Brantly Steam Plant 
Dam on the Dan River; except, that as many as two of 
such bass of a lesser size caught in such Waters may be 
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retained in !he creel, but no more than two such bass 
may be in possession on such waters that are less than 
14 inches in length. 

5. It shall be unlawful to have any largemouth, 
smallmoulh or spotted bass from 12 to 15 inches in 
length, both inclusive, in one's possession on North 
Anna Reservoir and its tributaries, on Briery Creek Lake 
(Prince Edward County), on Chesdin Reservoir or the 
Appomattox River from the Brasfield (Chesdin) Dam to 
Bevel's Bridge on Chesterfield County Route 602, on 
Beaverdam Reservoir (Loudoun County) and on the 
waters of Quantico Marine Reservation. 

6. It shall be unlawful to have any smallmouth, 
largemouth or spotted bass from 11 to 14 inches in 
length, both inclusive, in one's possession on the 
Shenandoah River, including the North and South Forks 
downstream from the Route 42 bridge on the North Fork 
and from the confluence of the North and South Rivers 
on the South Fork below Port Republic; on the New 
River from Claylor Dam to the West Virginia boundary 
line; on the James River from the confluence of the 

· Jackson and Cowpasture rivers downstream to the 
Interstate 95 bridge at Richmond; on North Fork Pound 
Reservoir; or on the Clinch River within the boundaries of 
Scott, Wise, Russell or Tazewell Counties. 

7. It shall be unlawful to have any largemouth, 
smallmouth or spotted bass less than 15 inches in length 
from March 1 through June 15, both inclusive, in the 
Virginia tidal tributaries of the Potomac River upstream of 
the Route 301 Bridge. There shall be no size limit for 
largemouth, smallmouth or spotted bass from June 16 
through the last day of February in those tributaries. · 

B. It shall be unlawful to have any rock bass (redeye) or 
Roanoke bass less than eight inches in length in one's 
possession on the Nottoway and Meherrin rivers and 
their tributaries. 

4 VAC 15-320-40. Sale of fresi'lwater mell~sss, mussels, 
game fish.,. and catfish flreRil>ited. 

lt-slm11-lle unlawful ta se'.l, e!fer ler sale er euy any s~esies 
of IFeshwater melluss aF mussel, §aFRo lise er satfisl1, 
l'fffili<Jeo teat tills shall net ap~ly to §ame !ish sole ali•'e lor 
~re~agatien ~urpeses, or satlish artifisially raisee, by a Reider 
el a Permit to Pre~a§ate and Sell Certain Wildlife or Permit to 
Held ami Sell Certain '!Vildlile, or sold pursuant to 1 Vf'.C 1 a 
J;JQ 180 aRe 1 VAG 1§ :l:JO 190, or to aAy GatfisR taken lreFR 
tidewater. Game fish and catfish raised in a privately owned 
facility by the holder of a Permit to Propagate and Self 
Certain Wildlife or Permit to Hold and Sell Certain Wildlife 
may be sold as follows: (i) game fish for stocking private 
waters; (ii) game fish for stocking public waters only with 
approval from the department pursuant to 4 VAG 15-320-60; 
(iii) trout pursuant to 4 VAG 15-330-180 and 4 VAG 15-330-
190; and (iv) catfish for stocking private waters, public waters 
pursuant to 4 VAG 15-330-60, or for human consumption. 
Catfish taken from tidewater may also be sold in accordance 
with Virginia Marine Resources Commission regulations. 

4 VAG 15-320-90. Exception !o requirement of national 
forest permit. 

A national forest permit, as provided for in§ 29.1-408 of 
the Code of Virginia shall not be required to fish from national 
forest lands in the North and South forks of the Shenandoah 
River, in Skidmore Lake in Rockingham County, in Lake 
Moomaw (Gathright Project), in the Jackson River below 
Gathright Dam, in North Fork Pound Reservoir, and in Wilson 
Creek downstream of Douthat Lake in Alleghany and Bath 
Counties. 

4 VAC 15-320-120. Department-owned or controlled 
lakes, ponds or streams; special daily permit for fishing 
in Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area, Douthat 
State Park Lake and Crooked and Wilson creeks. 

It shall be unlawful to fish in the Clinch Mountain Wildlife 
Management Area (except in Little Tumbling Creek), in 
Douthat State Park Lake and in Wilson Creek both above the 
lake to the park boundary and downstream to the lower USFS 
boundary, and in the Crooked Creek fee fishing area in 
Carroll County without having first paid to the department for 
such privilege a daily use fee. Such daily use fee shall be in 
addition to all other license fees provided by law. Upon 
payment of the daily use fee the department shall issue a 
special permit which shall be signed and carried by the 
person fishing. This fee will be required from the lRifG 
Satureay iA Marsh l~re"§R ba!Jer Day first Saturday in April 
through September 30 at Clinch Mountain Wildlife 
Management Area (except Little Tumbling Creek) and at 
Crooked Creek fee fishing area in Carroll County, and from 
the lRifG first Saturday in MafGfl April through September JO [ 
.JIJfle 1§ aRd freFR Septem!Jer 1§ tllre~!:JA OstetJer :>0 October 
31 ] at Douthat State Park Lake and Wilson Creek, except 
that the director may temporarily suspend fee requirements if 
conditions cause suspension of trout stocking. During the 
remainder of the year, these waters will revert to designated 
stocked trout waters and a trout license will be required 
except as provided in 4 VAG 15-20-190. No fishing is 
permitted in these waters for five days preceding the opening 
day. blpoR 'A<ritteA req"est frem Do"t~at State Park ana 
sutlseq"eRt appro•tal ffom tAo <lepartmeAt, The department 
may recognize clearly marked "children only" fishing areas 
within &et!that State Pari< any department fee fishing area. 
Within these "children only" areas, children 12 years old or 
less may fish without the daily use fee if accompanied by a 
fully licensed adult who has purchased a valid daily permit. 
No person over 12 years of age may fish in these children­
only areas. Also, children 12 years and under can fish 
without a permit in the entire Douthat Fee Fishing Area if 
under the direct supervision of a permitted adult. However, 
the combined daily creel limit for both adult and child/children 
in such a patty shall not exceed six trout. During the fee 
fishing season these waters will be subject to 4 VAG 15-330-
60, 4 VAG 15-330-80, and 4 VAG 15-330-90, as it relates to 
designated stocked trout waters. 

4 VAC 15-330-110. Special provisions applicable to 
certain portions of Green Cove Creek, JackseA River, 
Smith Creek, Snake Creek and Whitetop Laurel Creek. 

It shall be lawful to fish using only artificial lures with single 
hooks in that portion of Green Cove Creek in Washington 
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County from Route 859 downstream to its mouth, JaoksoR 
Ri·Jer iR 8ath Co~At)' kom the swiA§iA§ srid§e looated j~st 
"~stFeam from the mo"th of M"ddy R""· "~stream :J.Q miles 
te tl1e last ford OA FS 481 D, in that portion of Smith Creek in 
Alleghany County from the Clifton Forge Reservoir Dam 
downstream to a sign at the Forest Service boundary above 
the C & 0 Dam, on Snake Creek in Carroll County upstream 
from its mouth to Hall's Fork on Big Snake Fork and to the 
junction of Routes 922 and 674 on Little Snake Fork, and in 
Whitetop Laurel Creek in Washington County upstream from 
the first railroad trestle above Taylor Valley to the mouth of 
Green Cove Creek at Creek Junction. All trout caught in 
these waters under 12 inches in length shall be immediately 
returned to the water unharmed. It shall be unlawful for any 
person to have in his possession any bait or any trout under 
12 inches in length in these areas. 

4 VAC 15-330-120. Special provisions applicable to 
certain portions of Buffalo Creek, Dan River, Jackson 
River, Sinking Creek, Smith Creek, Smith River, and 
South Fork Holston River. 

A. It shall be lawful year around to fish using only artificial 
lures with single hooks in that portion of Buffalo Creek in 
Rockbridge County from the confluence of Colliers Creek 
upstream 2.9 miles to the confluence of North and South 
Buffalo Creeks, in that portion of Smith River in Henry County 
from signs below the east bank of Towne Creek for a 
distance of approximately three miles downstream, in that 
portion of the Dan River in Patrick County from Talbott Dam 
approximately six miles downstream to a sign posted just 
upstream from the confluence of Dan River and Townes 
Reservoir af\9, in that portion of the South Fork Holston River 
in Smyth County from a sign posted at the Jefferson National 
Forest boundary downstream from the confluence of the 
South Fork and Comers Creek upstream for approximately 
two miles to a sign posted at the upper Jefferson National 
Forest boundary, and in that portion of Jackson River in Bath 
County from the swinging bridge located just upstream from 
the mouth of Muddy Run, upstream three miles to the last 
ford on FS 481D. 

B. It shall be lawful year around to fish using only artificial 
flies with single hooks in that portion of Sinking Creek in Giles 
County from a cable and department sign 0.4 miles below the 
State Route 703 low-water bridge upstream 1.8 miles to a 
cable and department sign 0.1 miles above the Reynolds 
Farm covered bridge, in that portion of Sinking Creek in Craig 
County from a cable and department sign 1.0 mile below the 
State Route 642 Bridge upstream to a cable and department 
sign 0.5 miles above the State Route 642 Bridge, and in that 
portion of Smith Creek in Rockingham County from a sign 
posted 1.0 miles below the confluence of Lacy Spring to a 
sign posted 0.4 miles above Lacy Spring. 

C. The daily creel limit in these waters shall be two trout a 
day year around and the size limit shall be 16 inches or more 
in length. All trout caught in these waters under 16 inches in 
length shall be immediately returned to the water unharmed. 
It shall be unlawful for any person to have in his possession 
any bait or any trout under 16 inches in length in these areas. 

4 VAC 15-330-150. Special provision applicable to 
Stewarts Creek Trout Management Area; certain portions 
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of Dan, Jackson, Rapidan, South Fork Holston and 
Staunton rivers, the East Fork of Chestnut Creek, 
Roaring Fork, and their tributaries. 

It shall be lawful year around to fish for trout using only 
artificial lures with single hooks within the Stewarts Creek 
Trout Management Area in Carroll County, in the Rapidan 
and Staunton rivers and their tributaries upstream from a sign 
at the Lower Shenandoah National Park boundary in Madison 
County, in the Dan River and its tributaries between the 
Townes Dam and the Pinnacles Hydroelectric Project 
powerhouse in Patrick County and, in the Jackson River from 
Gathright Dam downstream to the Westvaco Dam at 
Covington in Alleghany County, in the East Fork of Chestnut 
Creek (Farmer's Creek) and its tributaries upstream from the 
Blue Ridge Parkway in Grayson and Carroll counties, and in 
Roaring Fork and its tributaries upstream from the southwest 
boundary of Beartown Wilderness Area in Tazewell County 
and in that section of the South Fork Holston River and its 
tributaries witl1iA tee IJe"ndaries from the concrete dam at 
Buller Fish Culture Station downstream to the lower boundary 
of the Buller Fish Culture Station in Smyth County. All trout 
caught in these waters must be immediately returned to the 
water. No trout may be in possession at any time in these 
areas. 

4 VAC 15-330-160. Special provisions applicable to 
certain portions of Accotink Creek, Back Creek, North 
River, Passage Creek, North Fork of Pound and Pound 
rivers, and South River. 

It shall be lawful to fish from October 1 through May 31, 
both dates inclusive, using only artificial lures with single 
hooks in Accotink Creek (Fairfax County) from Route 236 
(Little River Turnpike) downstream 1.9 miles to Route 620 
(Braddock Road), in Back Creek (Bath County) from the 
Route 600 bridge just below the Virginia Power Back Creek 
Dam downstream 1.5 miles to the Route 600 bridge at the 
lower boundary of the Virginia Power Recreational Area, in 
the North River (Augusta County) from the base of Elkhorn 
Dam downstream 1.5 miles to a sign posted at the head of 
Staunton City Reservoir, in Passage Creek ( [ SheRaRr:leah 
Warren ] County) from the /ower boundary of the Front Royal 
State Hatchery upstream 0.9 miles to the 
Shenandoah/INarren County line, in North Fork of Pound and 
Pound rivers from the base of North Fork of Pound Dam 
downstream to the confluence with Indian Creek, and in the 
South River from the Second Street Bridge upstream 2.4 
miles to the base of Rife Loth Dam in the city of Waynesboro. 
From October 1 through May 31, all trout caught in these 
waters must be immediately returned to the water unharmed, 
and it shall be unlawful for any person to have in possession 
any bait or trout. During the period of June 1 through 
September 30, the above restrictions will not apply. 

4 VAC 15-330-170. S~esial pFO\'isiens a~plisaiJie to 
sertaiR pertieR ef Jasl<seA Ri\'er. (Repealed.) 

It seall IJe "nlawf"l te sreel er ~essess tre"t en teat ~ortieA 
ef the Jasksen River from Gateri§ht Dam <lewnstFCam te tl1e 
\'Vestvase Darn at CeviA€Jlen. S~.Jsl=l slestJre sl=lall eREi wl=len 
s~esial re§"latiens ~ertainin§ to tre"t fiseing en s"se ~ertien 
ef tee Jasksen Ri•1er a Fe enaote<l 13y tee !leaffi. ef Game an<l 
IAian<l Fiseeries. 

Monday, November 25, 1996 



Final Regulations 

4 VAC 15-340-40. Dip nets; generally. 

A. Authorization to take fish with dip nets. A county dip net 
permit shall authorize the holder to take shad, herring, mullet 
and suckers, in the county named on the face of the permit 
with a dip net in inland waters, except where otherwise 
prohibited by local legislation or by the sections appearing in 
this chapter. 

B. Persons required to have permit; inspection by game 
wardens. A dip net permit, or valid fishing license, shall be 
required for all persons using or assisting in the use of a dip 
net and permits, or licenses, shall be carried at all times while 
using such nets and shall be subject to inspection by game 
wardens. 

C. Release of certain fish netted. All fish, except shad, 
herring, mullet, suckers and carp, when taken with a d'rp net 
shall be returned to the water alive with as little injury as 
possible. 

D. Special provisions applicable only to suckers. The 
following special provisions shall apply only to the taking of 
suckers, with a dip net: 

1. Not more than 20 may be taken by any person in one 
day; 

2. The open season for taking same with a dip net shall 
be from February 15 through May 15, both dates 
inclusive; and 

3. Dip nets for taking such fish shall not be more than six 
feet square. 

4 VAC 15-340-60. Seines, traps and nets prohibited in 
certain areas. 

A. It shall be unlawful to use seines and nets of any kind 
for the taking of fish from the public waters of the Roanoke 
(Staunton) and Dan Rivers in Campbell, Charlotte, Halifax 
and Pittsylvania counties, and in the City of Danville; 
provided, however, this section shall not be construed to 
prohibit the use of hand-landing nets for the landing of fish 
legally hooked or the taking of fish bait from these waters 
pursuant to the provisions of 4 VAG 15-360·1 0 et seq. 

B. In Lick Creek in Smyth and Bland counties, and in Bear 
Creek and Hungry Mother Creek above Hungry Mother Lake 
in Smyth County, it shall be unlawful to use seines, nets or 
traps; provided, however, this section shall not be construed 
to prohibit the use of hand-landing nets for the landing of fish 
legally hooked. 

4 VAC 15-350-60. Trotlines, juglines or set poles. 

A. Generally. Except '* as otherwise provided by local 
legislation and by subsection B of this section, and except on 
waters stocked with trout and within 600 feet of any darn, it 
shall be lawful to use trotlines, juglines or set poles for the 
purpose of taking nongame fish and turtles, provided that no 
live bait is used. Notwithstanding the provisions of this 
section, live bait other than game fish rnay be used on 
trotlines to take catfish in the Clinch River in the Counties of 
Russell, Scott and Wise. Any person setting or in possession 
of a trotline, jugline or set pole shall have it clearly marked by 
pennanent means et-a nenlerro"s metal tag searing with his 

narne a<lf!, address and telephone number, and is required to 
check all lines at least once each day and remove all fish and 
animals caught. This requirement shall not apply to 
landowners on private ponds, nor to a bona fide tenant or 
lessee on private ponds within the bounds of land rented or 
leased by him, nor to anyone transporting any such device 
from its place of purchase. 

B. Quantico Marine Reservation. It shall be unlawful to fish 
with trotlines in any waters within the confines of Quantico 
Marine Reservation. 

4 VAC 15-350-70. Taking carp and gar with bow and 
arrow. 

A. Season. Except as otherwise provided by local 
legislation or as posted, it shall be lawful to take carp and gar 
from the public inland waters of the Commonwealth, except 
waters stocked with trout, by means of bow and arrow <lwffijj 
t~e <layligl1t ee"rs only. 

8. Crossbows, poison arrows or explosive-head arrows 
prohibited. It shall be unlawful to use a crossbow, poison 
arrows or arrows with explosive heads at any time for the 
purpose of taking carp or gar in the public inland waters of 
the Commonwealth. 

C. Fishing license required. All persons taking fish in the 
manner mentioned in this section shall be required to have a 
regular fishing license. 

4 VAC 15-360-10. Taking aquatic invertebrates, 
amphibians, reptiles, and nongame fish for private use. 

A. Possession limits. Except as otherwise provided for in § 
29.1-418 of the Code of Virginia, 4 VAG 15-20-130, 
subdivision 8 of 4 VAG 15-320-40 and the sections of this 
chapter, it shall be lawful to capture and possess live for 
private use and not for sale no more than five individuals of 
any single native or naturalized (as defined in 4 VAG 15-20· 
50) species of amphibian and reptile and 20 individuals of 
any single native or naturalized (as defined in 4 VAG 15-20· 
50) species of aquatic invertebrate and nongarne fish unless 
specifically listed below: 

1. The following species may be taken in unlimited 
numbers from inland waters statewide: carp, bowtn, 
longnose gar, mullet, bullhead catfish, suckers, gizzard 
shad, blueback herring, white perch, yellow perch, 
alewife, stoneroller (hornyhead), fathead minnow, golden 
shiner, and goldfish. 

2. The following species may be taken in unlimited 
numbers from inland waters below the fall line: channel 
catfish, white catfish and blue catfish. 

3. For the purpose of this chapter, "fish bait" shall be 
defined as native or naturalized species of minnows and 
chubs (Cyprinidae), salamanders, crayfish, and 
hellgrammites. The possession limit for taking "fish bait" 
shall be 50 individuals in aggregate, unless said person 
has purchased "fish bait" and has a receipt specifying 
the number of individuals purchased by species, except 
salamanders which cannot be sold pursuant to the 
provisions of 4 VAG 15-360-60. However, stonerollers 
(hornyheads), fathead minnows, golden shiners, and 
goldfish may be taken and possessed in unlimited 
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numbers as provided for in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection. 

4. The daily limit for bullfrogs and snapping turtles shall 
be 15 and bullfrogs and snapping turtles may not be 
taken from the banks or waters of designated stocked 
trout waters. 

B. Methods of taking species in subsection A Except as 
otherwise provided for in the Code of Virginia, 4 VAG 15-20-
130, other regulations of the board, and except in any waters 
where the use of nets is prohibited, the species listed in 
subsection A may only be taken by hand, hook and line, with 
a seine not exceeding four feet in depth by 10 feet in length, 
an umbrella type net not exceeding five by five feet square, 
small minnow traps with throat openings no larger than one 
inch in diameter, cast nets not to exceed six feet in radius 
and hand-held bow nets with diameter not to exceed 20 
inches and handle length not to exceed eight feet (such cast 
net and hand-held bow nets when so used shall not be 
deemed dip nets under the provisions of § 29.1-416 of the 
Code of Virginia). Bullfrogs may also be taken by gigging or 
bow and arrow and, from private waters, by firearms no larger 
than .22 caliber rimfire. 

C. Areas restricted from taking mollusks. Except as 
provided for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of 
Virginia, it shall be unlawful to take mussels and the spiny 
riversnail (lo fluvialis) in the Tennessee drainage in Virginia 
(Clinch, Powell and the North, South and Middle Forks of the 
Holston Rivers and tributaries), and it shall be unlawful to 
take mussels in the James River and tributaries west of U.S. 
Route 29 and in the entire North Fork of the Shenandoah 
River. 

D. Areas restricted from taking salamanders. Except as 
provided for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of 
Virginia, it shall be unlawful to take salamanders in Grayson 
Highlands State Park and on National Forest lands in the 
Jefferson National Forest in those portions of Grayson, 
Smyth and Washington counties bounded on the east by 
State Route 16, on the north by State Route 603 and on the 
south and west by U.S. Route 58. 
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CO::.JDITIO.r-.-s OF PERL\HT 
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C EXCEPTIONS A.'iD RESTRJCTtONS; 

rro species listed as threatened or endangered (:mached lisr) shall be possessed or sold (4 VAC 15-20-
lJOC). 

;nUtimum shell oize for Sn:lpping turtles shall be 9 inches. 

mapping rclr:1es rmy not he collce<ed for commercial purposes from Occot>er I lhrou~h />lay .i 1. 

·r siull be unbwfulw use sei<J~. nets or traps in Lick Creek in Smyth and Bbr:J coumi<''. anJ in Bear 
Creek md Hungry ;.[other Creek ~bove ~lungr:· ,'¥!other Lake m SmyL.'l C,•umy Tim s:1:tll nN t;e 
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ci01. 
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E. PERSllT HOLDER TO BE PRESENT \VHEN COLLECTfXG; PERSONS ASSISTING: 

Tr:oo holder of a permit rc collect fillS( be preoe!ll J.t all ~imes ._.·hen collecting. Persoru assisting in me 
o~eration u.:ed nm ob!ain permits. 

i= SET POLES: 

Set ~oles may be used 10 take omles provided dley :u-e not baited w1th live bait (worms are penn;ssible) e..:cept 
on; -,.,--aters stockl':d wiLh u-out anii within 600 feet of :my d:.m. Any person setting or pos.;es:Smg J ser pole s!Uu 
have it clearly marked by permanent rnems with his or her name. address. and telephone flumber. and is 
reqt.:ired to check ill lines and remove all fish J.nd mimili caught e~ch day (-l- VAC 15-350--60). 

G. FEDERP-.L. STATE. OR LOCAL LAWS: 

Tnis pe:mit does not absolve the permittee of any respoll5ibiliries or conditions of any other Federal. 
State. or Local lav.-s and regulations. including UJose that apply to ThreatenediEnd.•nger~d Species. 
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Final Regulations 

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

ANNUAL REPORTING I'ORI\1 FOR COLLECTION AND SALE OF SNAPPING TURTLES, CRAYFISH AND HEU.GRA:'VIMITES 
H<'port J)uc Jly Octohcr 15th 

NAME: ---------~------VDGIF PEIU\1IT # ________ P.AGE __ OP __ _ 

ADDRESS· TELEPHONE II 
_:_ 

DATE SPECIES RT#/NEAREST NAME OP WATER COLLECTED METHOD OF IF SOLD TO COMMERCIAL 
COI.LECTED COLLECTED BRlDGE AND COUNTY Number I Pounds COLLECTION DEALER, LlS'f NAME 

. 

' 
. 

SIGNATURE: _______________ DATR _________ _ 

!UiTURN TO; Pel-mils Section, Dept. of Game and Inland Fisheries, P. 0. Box 11104, Riclunond, VA 23230-1104 

·: 

J 

J 
!? 
u 
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HAUL SEINE PERMIT TO CATCH MINNOWS AND CHUBS FOR SALE 

CONDITIONS OF PERMIT 

A. "Haul seine" defined. "Haul seine," when used in the inland waters of the Corrunonwealth above where the 
tide ebbs md flows. shall me:m a haul seine not exceeding four feet in depth by 15 feet in Jengrh. :md when used 
in the public inland waters below where the ride ebbs and flows, shall mean a haul seine not exceeding four feet 
in depth by 100 feet in length. This definition shall also include umbrella type nets of any and all sizes and 
small minnow rraps with throat openings no larger than one (!)inch in_ diameter. 

B. It shall be Jawfulw take minno-ws and chubs {Cyprinidae) for sale from the inland wata:s of the 
Commonwealth with a valid permit. No threatened or endangered species of fish may be taken. (See anached 

!isL) 

C. It shall be unlawful to use seines. nets or traps in Lick Creek in Smyth and Bland counties, and in Bear 
Creek and Hungry Mother Creek above Hungry Mother Lake in Smyth County. Tbis shall not be construed to 
prohibit the u.se of hand landing nets for the landing offish legally hooked (4 VAC !5-340-60). 

D. The holder of a permit to seine for minnows and chubs (Cyprinidae) must be present at all times when the 
seine is being operated.to catch rr:iinnows and chubs (Cyprinidae). Persons assisting in the operation of the haul 

seine need not obtain permits. 

E. The holder of ;:!permit to take minnows and chubs (Cyprinidae) f01 sale shal.! keep a record of the 
approximate n~c~IDtier of minnows and chubs (Cyprinidae) taken or collected by location (name of water body 
and the county iri which it is locared) and the number sold. together with the amount received therefor. The 
repon must be sub mined no later than ten days after the end of the fiscal year. July I 0. 

REPORT THE NUiHBER TAKEN ON THE A IT ACHED FORM. 

F. Commercial bait operations must have a Permit to Hold and Sell Cenain Wildlife or a Permit to Propagate 
and Sell CerLJ.in \Vildlife. With the exception of threatened and endangered species, rhese operations may 
possess md sell unlimited quantities of minnows and chubs (Cyprinidae), when possession is accompanied by a 
valid invoice or bill of sale frOm an individual pennirted under subsection 8 of this section or from a prop.:!rly 

permitted aquaculrure facility in Virginia or out-of-srate . 

Q_ It shall be unla"•fi.d in the inland waters of the Commonwealth to take game fish in a seinr::, net pot or trap, 
and all game fish caught in such seines, nets. pots or traps shall immediately be returned wirhout injury to lhe 

waters from which to.ken. (-I- VAC 15-360-40) 

H. This permit does not absolve the penni nee of any responsibilities or conditions of my other FederaL $LJ.te or 
Local laws :md regulations, incluJing those that apply to Threatened,. Endangered Species. 

No,.,mb~r 5. 19% 
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REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 9-6.14:4.1 C 3 of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that consist only of 
changes in style or form or corrections of technical errors. 
The Board of Game and Inland Fisheries will receive, 
consider and respond to petitions by any interested person at 
any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 4 VAG 15-370-10 et seq. Watercraft: 
In General (amending 4 VAG 15-370-1 0). 

Statutorv Authority: §§ 29.1-501, 29.1-502, 29.1-701 and 
29.1-802 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 1997. 

Summarv: 

The amendment effectuates the most current versions of 
previously adopted federal rules and regulations 
regarding safe boabng operation and boating safety 
equipment in the waters of the Commonwealth, updating 
Virginia's adoption of those federal rules and regulations 
from the versions of prior years. The amendment also 
incorporates a section of federal regulation which had 
previously been excepted from the Virginia regulation, 
pertaining to personal flotation device requirements on 
boats less than 16 feet long, and to the new Type V 
(hybrid inflatable) personal flotation devices. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from Phil Smith, Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 
4010 West Broad Street. Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 
(804) 367-8341. 

4 VAG 15-370-10. Adoption of federal regulations and 
statutes concerning boating safety equipment and lights 
to apply to vessels in Virginia. 

A The following federal rules and regulations are hereby 
adopted by the board as its regulations. These rules and 
regulations shall apply by their own terms to all vessels within 
the Commonwealth. As used in 33 CFR 175.3, the word 
"engaged" shall mean "hired for use." 

1. 33 USC §§ 2001, 2002, 2003, 2020 through 2030 
(1976 ana supplement 1985) [ (1986 and supplement 
1996)]. 

2. 33 CFR 175 (1985), except 33 CFR 175.17 [ (1995) ]. 

3. 46 CFR, Subparts 25.25, 25.30, 25.35, 25.40-1tat-<>00 
(b) (1985) [ (1995)]. 

B. These regulations are adopted under the authority of § 
29.1-735 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-118; Filed November 6, 1996, 11:09 a.m. 
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BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Housing and 
Community Development has claimed an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 9-6.14:4.1 C 
4 (a) of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 
are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 
where no agency discretion is involved. The Board of 
Housing and Community Development will receive, consider 
and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 
with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 13 VAG 5-50-10 et seq., Virginia 
Statewide Fire Prevention Gode/1993 (amending 13 VAG 
5-50-70 and adding 13 VAG 5-50-80). 

Statutory Authority:§ 27-97 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 26, 1996. 

Summary: 

Chapter 44 of the 1995 Virginia Acts of Assembly 
repealed Chapter 7 (§§ 27-86 through 27-90) of Title 27 
of the Code of Virginia which authotized the board to 
promulgate the Virginia Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
Regulations. Because of this repeal the regulations 
within the Statewide Fire Prevention Code which relate 
to or reference the already repealed regulation entitled 
Virginia Liquefied Petroleum Gas Regulations are being 
repealed. 

13 VAC 5-50-70. Unsafe conditions. 

F-1 06.1. General. The fire official shall order the following 
dangerous or hazardous conditions or materials to be 
removed or remedied in accordance with the SFPC: 

1. Dangerous conditions which are liable to cause or 
contribute to the spread of fire in or on said premises, 
building or structure or endanger the occupants thereof. 

2. Conditions which would interfere with the efficiency 
and use of any fire protection equipment. 

3. Obstructions to or on fire escapes, stairs, 
passageways, doors or windows, liable to interfere wilh 
the egress of occupants or the operation of the fire 
department in case of fire. 

4. Accumulations of dust or waste material in air 
conditioning or ventilating systems or grease in kitchen 
or other exhaust ducts. 

5. Accumulations of grease on kitchen cooking 
equipment, or oil, grease or dirt upon, under or around 
any mechanical equipment. 

6. Accumulations of rubbish, waste, paper, boxes, 
shavings, or other combustible materials, or excessive 
storage of any combustible material. 

7. Hazardous conditions arising from defective or 
improperly used or installed electrical wiring, equipment 
or appliances. 
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8. Hazardous conditions arising from defective or 
improperly used or installed equipment for handling or 
using combustible, explosive or otherwise hazardous 
materials. 

9. Dangerous or unlawful amounts of combustible, 
explosive or otherwise hazardous materials. 

10. All equipment, materials, processes or operations 
which are in violation of the provisions and intent of this 
code. 

F-106.2. Maintenance. The owner shall be responsible for 
the safe and proper maintenance of any building, structure, 
premises or lot. In all new and existing buildings and 
structures, the fire protection equipment, means of egress, 
alarms, devices and safeguards required by the USBC shall 
be maintained in a safe and proper operating condition. 

Note: Also see Sections F-504.4 and F-504.4.1 of this code 
for further information. 

F-106.3. Occupant responsibility. If an occupant of a building 
creates conditions in violation of this code, by virtue of 
storage, handling and use of substances, materials, devices 
and appliances, the occupant shall be held responsible for 
the abatement of said hazardous conditions. 

F-106.4. Unsafe buildings. All buildings and structures that 
are or shall hereafter become unsafe or deficient in adequate 
exit facilities or which constitute a fire hazard, or are 
otherwise dangerous to human life or the public welfare, or by 
reason of illegal or improper use, occupancy or maintenance 
or which have sustained structural damage by reason of fire, 
explosion, or natural disaster shall be deemed unsafe 
buildings or structures. A vacant building, or portion of a 
building, unguarded or open at door or window shall be 
deemed a frre hazard and unsafe within the meaning of this 
code. Unsafe buildings shall be reported to the building or 
maintenance code official who shall take appropriate action 
under the provisions of the USBC, Volume I - New 
Construction Code or Volume II - Building Maintenance 
Code, to secure abatement by repair and rehabilitation or by 
demolition. 

F-106.5. Evacuation. When, in the opinion of the fire official, 
there is actual and potential danger to the occupants or those 
in the proximity of any building, structure or premises 
because of unsafe structural conditions or inadequacy of any 
means of egress, the presence of explosives, explosive 
fumes or vapors, or the presence of toxic fumes, gases or 
materials, the fire official may order the immediate evacuation 
of the building, structure or premises. All notified occupants 
shall immediately leave the building, structure or premises, 
and no person shall enter until authorized to do so by the fire 
official. 

F-106.6. Unlawful continuance. It is deemed a violation of 
the SFPC for any person to refuse to leave, interfere with the 
evacuation of the other occupants or continue any operation 
after t1aving' been given an evacuation order except such 
work as that person is directed to perform to remove a 
violation or unsafe condition. 

F-106.7. Notice of violation. Whenever the fire official 
observes a violation of this code or ordinance under the fire 

official's jurisdiction, the fire official shall prepare a written 
notice of the violation describing the condition deemed 
unsafe, citing the applicable code section and specifying time 
limits for the required repairs or improvements to be made to 
render the building, structure or premises safe and secure. 
The written notice of violation of this code shall be served 
upon the owner, a duly authorized agent or upon the 
occupant or other person responsible for the conditions under 
violation. Such notice of violation shall be served either by 
delivering a copy of same to such persons by mail to the last 
known post office address, by delivering it in person, by 
delivering it to and leaving it in the possession of any person 
in charge of the premises, or, in case such person is not 
found upon the premises, by affixing a copy thereof in a 
conspicuous place at the entrance door or avenue of access; 
such procedure shall be deemed the equivalent of personal 
notice. 

F-1 06.8. Failure to correct violations. If the notice of violation 
is not complied w·rth in the time specified by the fire official, 
the fire official shall request the legal counsel of the 
jurisdiction to institute the appropriate legal proceedings to 
restrain, correct or abate any notice of violation which is not 
complied with in the specified time or require removal or 
termination of the unlawful use of the building or structure. 
The local law enforcement agency of the jurisdiction shall be 
requested by the fire official to make arrests for any offense 
against this code or orders of the fire official affecting the 
immediate safety of the public when the fire official is not 
certified in accordance with § 27-34.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

F-1 06.9. Issuing summons for violation. If certified in 
accordance with § 27-34.2 of the Code of Virginia, the fire 
official may issue a summons in lieu of the notice of violation. 

F-106.10. Penalty for violation. Violations are a Class 1 
misdemeanor in accordance with § 27-100 of the Code of 
Virginia. Each day that a violation continues, after a service 
of notice as provided for in this code, shall be deemed a 
separate offense. 

F-106.11. Abatement of violation. Conviction of a violation of 
the SFPC shall not preclude the institution of appropriate 
legal action to require correction or abatement of the violation 
or to prevent other violations or recurring violations of the 
SFPC relating to use of the building or premises. 

13 VAC 5-50-80. Amendments to the BOCA National Fire 
Prevention Code/1993 Edition. 

A. Change Section F-201.3 to read: 

F-201.3. Terms defined in the other codes. Where terms are 
not defined in this code and are defined in the USBC, they 
shall have the meanings defined by the USBC. 

B. Change the following definitions in Section F-202.0, 
General Definitions, to read: 

"Blasting agent" means any explosive material that has 
been tested and approved in accordance with the provisions 
of DOT 49 CFR which includes that the finished product, as 
mixed for use and shipment, cannot be detonated by a No. 8 
test blasting cap when unconfined. 

Virginia Register of Regulations 

618 



"Building code official" means the designated authority 
charged with the administration and enforcement of the 
USBC, Volume 1- New Construction Code. 

"Code official" means the designated authority charged 
with the administration and enforcement of the USBC, 
Volume II - Building Maintenance Code. 

Note: When "code official" appears in the BOCA National 
Fire Prevention Code, it shall mean "fire official." 

"Explos;ve" means any chemical compound, mixture or 
device, the primary or common purpose of which is to 
function by explosion. The term "explosive" includes all 
materials classified as Class A, Class B, or Class C 
explosives by DOT regulations and includes, but is not 
limited to, dynamite, black powder, pellet powders, 
smokeless powder, initiating explosives, blasting caps, 
electric blasting caps, safety fuse, fuse igniters, fuse lighters, 
squibs, cordeau detonate fuse, instantaneous fuse, igniter 
cord and igniters. 

"Fireworks" means any item known as firecracker, torpedo, 
skyrocket, or other substance or thing, of whatever form or 
construction, that contains any explosive or inflammable 
compound or substance, and is intended, or commonly 
known, as fireworks and which explodes, rises into the air or 
travels laterally, or fires projectiles into the air. The term 
"fireworks" does not include auto flares, caps for pistols, 
pinwheels, sparklers, fountains or Pharaoh's Serpents 
provided, however, these permissible items may only be 
used, ignited or exploded on private property with the consent 
of the owner of such property. 

"Structure" means an assembly of materials forming a 
construction for use including stadiums, gospel and circus 
tents, reviewing stands, platforms, stagings, observation 
towers, radio towers, water tanks, trestles, piers, wharves, 
swimming pools, amusement devices, storage bins, and 
other structures of this general nature. The word structure 
shall be construed as though followed by the words "or part 
or parts thereof' unless the context clearly requires a different 
meaning. 

C. Add these new definitions to Section F-202.0, General 
Definitions: 

"Agricultural blasting" means any blasting operation which 
is conducted on no less than five acres of real estate devoted 
to agricultural or horticultural use as defined in § 58.1-3230 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

"Artificial barricade" means an artificial mound or revetted 
wall of earth of a minimum thickness of three feet. 

"Barricaded" means the effective screening of a building 
containing explosive materials from the magazine or other 
building, railway, or highway by a natural or an artificial 
barrier. A straight line from the top of any sidewall of the 
building containing explosive materials to the eave line of any 
magazine or other building or to a point 12 feet above the 
center of a railway or highway shall pass through such 
barrier. 

"Blaster" or "shot firer" means that qualified person in 
charge of, and responsible for, the loading and firing of an 
explosive or blasting agent. 
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"Building Code" means the building code in effect at the 
time of construction. 

"Detonator" means any device containing any initiating or 
primary explosive that is used for initiating detonation. A 
detonator may not contain more than 10 grams of total 
explosives by weight, excluding ignition or delay charges. 
The term includes, but is not limited to, electric blasting caps 
of instantaneous and delay types, blasting caps for use with 
safety fuses, detonating cord delay connectors, and 
nonelectric instantaneous and delay blasting caps which use 
detonating cord, shock tube, or any other replacement for 
electric leg wires. All types of detonators in strengths through 
No. 8 cap should be rated at 1 112 lbs. of explosives per 
1,000 caps. For strengths higher than No. 8 cap, consult the 
manufacturer. 

"Explosive materials" means explosives, blasting agents 
and detonators. 

"Fire official" means the designated authority charged with 
the administration and enforcement of the SFPC. 

"Highway" means any public street, public alley, or public 
road. "Public Highways Class A to D" are highways with 
average traffic volume of 3,000 or less vehicles per day as 
specified in "American Civil Engineering Practice" (Abbett, 
Vol. 1, Table 46, Sec. 3-74, 1956 Edition, John Wiley and 
Sons). 

"Inhabited building" means a building regularly occupied in 
whole or part as a habitation for human beings, or any 
church, schoolhouse, railroad station, store, or other structure 
where people are accustomed to assemble, except any 
building or structure occupied in connection with the 
manufacture, transportation, storage or use of explosive 
materials. 

"Magazine" means any building, structure, or container, 
other than an explosives manufacturing building, approved 
for the storage of explosive materials. 

"Natural barricade" means natural features of the ground, 
such as hills, or timber of sufficient density that the 
surrounding exposures which require protection cannot be 
seen from the magazine when the trees are bare of leaves. 

"Peak parlic/e velocity" means the maximum component of 
the three mutually perpendicular components of motion at a 
given point. 

"Propellant-actuated power device" means any tool or 
special mechanized device or gas generator system which is 
actuated by a propellant or which releases and directs work 
through a propellant charge. (See special industrial explosive 
device.) 

"Railway" means any steam, electric, or other railroad or 
railway which carries passengers for hire. 

"Semitrailer" means every vehicle of the trailer type so 
designed and used in conjunction with a motor vehicle that 
some part of its own weight (and that of its own load) rests 
upon or is carried by another vehicle. 

"Tractor truck" means every motor vehicle designed and 
used primarily for drawing other vehicles · and not so 
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constructed as to carry a load other than a part of the load 
and weight of the vehicle attached thereto. 

"Transport" or "transportation" means any movement of 
property by any mode, and any packing, loading, unloading, 
identification, marking, placarding, or storage incidental 
thereto. 

~ delinitiens from Seetien F 202.0, 
General Deliniliens: 

li~"efied pelrole"m gas (bP gas or LPG) 

liq"elies petroleum gas eq"ipment 

CHAPTER 4. 
OPEN FLAMES OR BURNING. 

Change Section F-403.1 to read: 

F-403.1. General. Open burning shall be allowed in 
accordance with the laws and regulations set forth by the 
State Air Pollution Control Board, the Department of Forestry, 
and as regulated by the locality. 

CHAPTER 5. 
FIRE PROTECTION SYSTEMS. 

Add new Section F-519.0, Smoke Detectors for the Deaf and 
Hearing-impaired, to read: 

SECTION F-519.0. SMOKE DETECTORS FOR THE DEAF 
AND HEARING-IMPAIRED. 

F-519.1. Audible and visual alarms. Audible and visual 
alarms, meeting the requirements of UL Standard 1638, and 
installed in accordance with NFPAIANSI 72G, shall be 
provided in occupancies housing the hard of hearing, as 
required by § 36-99.5 of the Code of Virginia; however, all 
visual alarms shall provide a minimum intensity of 100 
candela. Portable alarms meeting these requirements shall 
be acceptable. 

CHAPTER 7. 
EMERGENCY PLANNING AND PREPAREDNESS. 

Add new Section F-707.4, Fire Exit Drills, to read: 

F-707.4. Fire exit drills. Fire exit drills shall be conducted 
annually by building staff personnel or the owner of the 
building in accordance with the fire safety plan and shall not 
affect other current occupants. 

CHAPTER 18. 
OIL AND GAS PRODUCTION. 

Delete Chapter 18, Oil and Gas Production, as it is covered 
by the Virginia Gas and Oil Act, Chapter 22.1 (§ 45.1-361.1 et 
seq.) of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

CHAPTER 30. 
EXPLOSIVES, AMMUNITION AND BLASTING AGENTS. 

Chapter 30, Explosives, Ammunition and Blasting Agents, is 
deleted in its entirety and replaced with Chapter 30 of the 
SFPC, as follows: 

SECTION F-3001.0. GENERAL. 

F-3001.1. Scope. The equipment, processes and operations 
involving the manufacture, possession, storage, sale, 

transportation and use of explosives and blasting agents 
shall comply with the applicable requirements of this code 
and the provisions of this article and shall be maintained in 
accordance with NFiPA 495, NFiPA 498, and DOT 49CFR 
listed in Appendix A except as herein specifically exempted 
or where provisions of this article do not specifically cover 
conditions and operations, and with the Institute of Makers of 
Explosives (IME) Safety Library Publications, with 
Regulations Governing the Transportation of Hazardous 
Materials as promulgated by the Virginia Waste Management 
Board, and with the Virginia Motor Carrier Regulations. 

F-3001.2. Exceptions. Nothing in this article shall be 
construed as applying to the following explosive uses: 

1. The Armed Forces of the United States or of a state. 

2. Explosives in forms prescribed by the official United 
States Pharmacopoe'1a. 

3. The sale or use of fireworks which are regulated by 
Chapter 31. 

4. Laboratories engaged in testing explosive materials. 

5. The possession, storage and use of not more than five 
pounds (2.27 kg) of smokeless powder, black powder, 
and 1000 small arms primers for hand loading of small 
arms ammunition for personal use. 

6. The manufacture, possession, storage and use of not 
more than five pounds (2.27 kg) of explosives or blasting 
agents in educational, governmental or industrial 
laboratories for instructional or research purposes when 
under the direct supervision of experienced, competent 
persons. 

7. The transportation and use of explosives or blasting 
agents by any federal agency, the Virginia Department of 
State Police, or fire and law-enforcement officials acting 
in their official capacity in the discharge of their duties; 
nor to the storage, handling, or use of explosives or 
blasting agents pursuant to the provisions of Title 45.1 of 
the Code of Virginia (Department of Mines, Minerals and 
Energy). 

F-3001.3. Permit required. A permit shall be obtained from 
the code official for any of the following conditions or 
operations: 

1. To possess, store, or otherwise dispose of explosives 
or blasting agents. 

2. To use explosives or blasting agents: 

a. A permit shall be issued for each project. 

b. The permit shall specify the type of blasting and any 
special conditions. To the extent that blasting will 
occur within any waters of the Commonwealth or in 
any of the waters under its jurisdiction, evidence of a 
valid Marine Resources Commission permit, or "no 
permit necessary" authorization, will be required. 

3. To operate a terminal for handling explosives or 
blasting agents. 

4. To manufacture explosives or blasting agents, 
providing the following conditions are met: 
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a. Registration with the Department of Housing and 
Community Development; 

b. Valid license from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco 
and Firearms; and 

c. Valid license to do business in the Commonwealth 
of Virginia. 

5. To sell explosives and blasting agents, providing the 
following conditions are met: 

a. Registration with the Department of Housing and 
Community Development; 

b. Valid license from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco 
and Firearms; and 

c. Valid license to do business in the Commonwealth 
of Virginia. 

Exception: Annual permits for the use of explosives 
shall be issued to any state regulated public utility. 

F-3001.3.1. Prohibited permits. Permits as required above 
shall not be issued for: 

1. Liquid nitroglycerin and nitrate esters. 

2. Dynamite (except gelatin dynamite) containing over 
60% of liquid explosive ingredient. 

3. Leaking, damaged, or defective packages or 
containers of high explosives. 

4. Nitrocellulose in a dry and uncompressed condition to 
be shipped or transported. 

5. Fulminate of mercury in a dry condition and fulminate 
of all other metals in any condition. 

Exception. Fulminate of metals which is a component of 
manufactured articles not otherwise forbidden. 

6. Explosive compositions that ignite spontaneously or 
undergo marked decomposition, rendering the products 
or their use more hazardous, when subjected for 48 
consecutive hours or less to a temperature of 167'F 
(75'C). 

7. New explosives until approved by DOT 49CFR listed 
in Appendix A, except for permits issued to educational, 
governmental or industrial laboratories for instructional or 
research purposes. 

8. Explosives forbidden by DOT 49CFR listed in 
Appendix A. 

9. Explosives not packed or marked in accordance with 
the requirements of DOT 49CFR listed in Appendix A. 

1 0. Explosives containing an ammonium salt and a 
chlorate. 

F-3001.4. Certification required. The use of explosive 
materials shall be conducted or supervised on-site by 
blasters certified in accordance with the Virginia Certification 
Standards (13 VAG 5-20-10 et seq.). The blaster shall carry 
proof of certification during the loading or firing of explosive 
materials. 
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Exception: Individuals conducting agricultural blasting 
operations on their own property. 

F-3001.4.1. Certification fee. The Department of Housing 
and Community Development shall charge a $20 fee to 
applicants for restricted blaster certification or unrestricted 
blaster certification. 

F-3001.5. Liability insurance. The company or individual 
applying for a permit to blast, manufacture, or sell explosives 
shall provide proof of insurance in an amount determined by 
the fire official but in no case less than $500,000. 

Exception: Liability insurance shall not be required with an 
agricultural blasting permit when the blast is conducted on 
the applicant's personal property. 

SECTION F-3002.0. GENERAL REQUIREMENTS. 

F-3002.1. Storage. The storage of explosives and blasting 
agents is prohibited within the legal geographic boundaries of 
any district where such storage is prohibited by the authority 
having jurisdiction. 

Exception: Temporary storage for use in connection with 
approved blasting operations; provided, however, this 
prohibition shall not apply to wholesale and retail stocks of 
small arms ammunition, explosive bolts, explosive rivets or 
cartridges for explosive actuated power tools in quantities 
involving less than 500 pounds (227 kg) of explosive material. 

F-3002.2. Sale and display. Explosives shall not be sold, 
given, delivered, or transferred to any person or company not 
in possession of a valid permit. A person shall not sell or 
display explosives or blasting agents on highways, sidewalks, 
public property or in places of public assembly or education. 

SECTION F-3003.0. STORAGE OF EXPLOSIVE 
MATERIALS. 

F-3003.1. General. Explosives, including special industrial 
high explosive materials, shall be stored in magazines which 
meet the requirements of this article. This shall not be 
construed as applying to wholesale and retail stocks of small 
arms ammunition, explosive bolts, explosive rivets or 
cartridges for explosive-actuated power tools in quantities 
involving less than 500 pounds (227 kg) of explosive material. 
Magazines shall be in the custody of a competent person at 
all times who shall be at least 21 years of age, and who shall 
be held responsible for compliance with all safety 
precautions. 

F-3003.2. Control in wholesale and retail stores. Explosive 
materials shall not be stored within wholesale or retail stores. 
The storage of explosives for wholesale and retail sales shall 
be in approved outdoor magazines except that not more than 
50 pounds of black or smokeless powder may be stored in a 
Type 4 indoor magazine. 

F-3003.3. Magazine clearances. Magazines shall be located 
away from inhabited buildings, passenger railways, public 
highways and other magazines in conformance with Table F-
3003, except as provided in Section F-3003.2. 

F-3003.4. Magazine construction. Magazines shall be 
constructed and maintained in accordance with IME 
publication No. 1. 
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F-3003.4.1. Magazine heat and light. Magazines shall not 
be provided with artificial heat or light, except that if artificial 
light is necessary, an approved electric safety flashlight or 
safety lantern shall be used. 

F-3003.5. Safety precautions. Smoking, matches, open 
flames, spark producing devices and firearms shall be 
prohibited inside or within 50 feet (15.24m) of magazines. 
Combustible materials shall not be stored within 50 feet 
(15.24m) of magazines. 

F-3003.5. 1. Surrounding terrain. The land surrounding 
magazines shall be kept clear of brush, dried grass, leaves, 
trash and debris for a distance of at least 25 feet (7.62 m). 

F-3003.5.2. Locking security. Magazines shall be kept 
locked except when being inspected or when explosives are 
being placed therein or being removed therefrom. 

F-3003.5.3. Magazine housekeeping. Magazines shall be 
kept clean, dry and tree of grit, paper, empty packages or 
rubbish. 

F-3003.5.4. Separation of detonators and explosives: 
Blasting caps, electric blasting caps, detonating primers and 
primed cartridges shall not be stored in the same magazine 
with other explosives. 

Table F-3003 (3) 
TABLE OF DISTANCES FOR STORAGE OF 

QUANTITY OF 
EXPLOSIVE Inhabited Public Highways 
MATERIALS Sui ldi ngs Class A to D 

Pounds Pounds Barri- Unbarr- Barri- Unbarr-
Over Not caded icaded caded icaded 

Over 
0 5 70 140 30 60 
5 10 90 180 35 70 
10 20 11 0 220 45 90 
20 30 125 250 50 100 
30 40 140 280 55 1 1 0 

EXPLOSIVES (2) 
DISTANCES 

P a s s e n g e r 
Railways-Public 
Highways with 
Traffic Volllne 
of more than 
3,000 
Vehcls/Da 

Barri- Unbarr-
caded icaded 

51 102 
64 128 
81 162 
93 186 
103 206 
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Separation of 
Magazines(1) 

Barri- Unbarr-
caded icaded 

6 12 
8 16 
10 20 
1 1 22 
12 24 
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40 50 150 300 60 120 110 220 14 28 
50 75 170 340 70 140 127 254 15 30 
75 100 190 380 75 150 139 278 16 32 
100 125 zoo 400 80 160 150 300 18 36 
125 150 215 430 85 170 159 318 19 38 
150 200 235 470 95 190 175 350 21 42 
200 250 255 510 105 210 189 378 23 46 
250 300 270 540 110 220 201 402 24 48 
300 400 295 590 120 240 221 442 27 54 
400 500 320 640 130 260 238 476 29 58 
500 600 340 680 135 270 253 506 31 62 
600 700 355 710 145 290 266 532 32 64 
700 800 375 750 150 300 278 556 33 66 
800 900 390 780 155 310 289 578 35 70 
900 1,000 400 800 160 320 300 600 36 72 

1,000 1,200 425 850 165 330 318 . 636 39 78 
1,200 1,400 450 900 170 340 336 672 41 82 
1,400 1,600 470 940 175 350 351 702 43 86 
1,600 1,800 490 980 180 360 366 732 44 90 
1,800 2,000 505 1,010 185 370 378 756 45 90 
2,000 2,500 545 1,090 190 380 408 816 49 98 
2,500 3,000 580 1,160 195 390 432 864 52 104 
3,000 4,000 635 1,270 210 420 474 948 58 116 
4,000 5,000 685 1,370 225 450 513 1,026 61 122 
5,000 6,000 730 1,460 235 470 546 1,092 65 130 
6,000 7,000 770 1,540 245 490 573 1,146 68 136 
7,000 8,000 800 1,600 250 500 600 1,200 72 144 
8,000 9,000 835 1,670 255 510 624 1,248 75 150 
9,000 10,000 865 1, 730 260 520 645 1,290 78 156 

10,000 12,000 875 1, 750 270 540 687 1,374 82 164 
12,000 14,000 885 1, 770 275 550 723 1,446 87 174 
14,000 16,000 900 1,800 280 560 756 1,512 90 180 
16,000 18,000 940 1,800 285 570 786 1,572 94 188 
18,000 20,000 975 1,950 290 580 813 1,626 98 196 
20,000 25,000 1,055 2,000 315 630 876 1, 752 105 210 
25,000 30,000 1,130 2,000 340 680 933 1,866 112 224 
30,000 35,000 1,205 2,000 360 720 981 1,962 119 238 
35,000 . 40,000 1,275 2,000 380 760 1,026 2,000 124 248 
40,000 45,000 1,340 2,000 400 800 1,068 2,000 129 258 
45,000 50,000 1,400 2,000 420 840 1,104 2,000 135 270 
50,000 55,000 1,460 2,000 440 880 1,140 2,000 140 280 
55,000 60,000 1,515 2,000 455 910 1,173 2,000 145 290 
60,000 65,000 1,565 2,000 470 940 1,206 2,000 150 300 
65,000 70,000. 1,610 2,000 485 970 1,236 2,000 155 310 
70,000 75,000 1,655 2,000 500 1,000 1,263 2,000 160 320 
75,000 80,000 1,695 2,000 510 1,020 1,293 2,000 165 330 
80,000 85,000 1, 730 2,000 520 1,040 1,317 2,000 170 340 
85,000 90,000 11760 2,000 530 1,060 1,344 2,000 175 350 
90,000 95,000 1,790 2,000 540 1,080 1,368 2,000 180 360 
95,000 100,000 1,815 2,000 545 1,090 1,392 2~000 185 370 

100,000 110,000 1,835 2,000 550 1,100 1,437 2,000 195 390 
110,000 120,000 1,855 2,000 555 1,110 1,479 2,000 205 410 
120,000 130,000 1,675 2,000 560 11120 1, 521 2,000 215 430 
130,000 140,000 1,890 2,000 565 1,130 1,557 2,000 225 450 
140,000 150,000 1,900 2,000 570 1,140 1,593 2,000 235 470 
150,000 160,000 1,935 2,000 580 1,160 1,629 2,000 245 490 
160,000 170,000 1,965 2,000 590 1,180 1,662 2,000 255 510 
170,000 180,000 1,990 2,000 600 1,200 1,695 2,000 265 530 
180,000 190,000 2,010 2,000 605 1, 210 1, 725 2,000 275 550 
190,000 200,000 2,030 2,000 610 1,220 1, 755 2,000 285 570 
200,000 210,000 2,055 2,000 620 1,240 1,782 2,000 295 590 
210,000 230,000 2,100 2,100 635 1,270 1,836. 2,000 315 630 
230,000 250,000 2,155 2,155 650 1,300 1,890 2,000 335 670 
250,000 275,000 2,215 2,215 670 1,340 1,950 2,000 360 720 
275,000 300,000 2,275 2,275 690 1,380 2,000 2,000 385 770 
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Numbers in () refer to explanatory notes 

NOTE 1 When two or more storage magazines are located on the 
same property, each magazine must comply with the minimum 
distances specified from inhabited buildings, railways, and highways, 
and, in addition, they should be separated from each other by not 
less than the distances shown for "Separation of Magazines," except 
that the quantity of explosive materials contained in detonator 
magazines shall govern in regard to the spacing of said detonator 
magazines from magazines containing other explosive materials. If 
any two or more magazines are separated from each other by less 
than the specified "Separation of Magazines" distances, then such 
two or more magazines, as a group, must be considered as one 
magazine, and the total quantity of explosive materials stored in such 
group must be treated as if stored in a single magazine located on 
the site of any magazine of the group and must comply with the 
minimum of distances specified from other magazines, inhabited 
buildings, railways, and highways. 

NOTE 2 Storage in excess of 300,000 lbs. of explosive materials, in 
one magazine is generally not required for commercial enterprises. 

NOTE 3 This table applies only to the manufacture and permanent 
storage of commercial explosive materials. It is not applicable to 
transportation of explosives or any handling or temporary storage 
necessary or incident thereto. It is not intended to apply to bombs, 
projectiles, or other heavily encased explosives. 

F-3003.5.5. Explosive unpacking. Metal or wooden 
packages of explosives shall not be unpacked or repacked in 
a magazine nor within 50 feet (15.24m) of a magazine. 

F-3003.5.6. Magazine contents. Magazines shall not be 
used for the storage of any metal tools or of any commodity 
except explosives, but this restriction shall not apply to the 
storage of blasting agents, blasting supplies and oxidizers 
used in compound blasting agents. · 

F-3003.6. Unstable explosives. When an explosive has 
deteriorated to an extent that it is in an unstable or dangerous 
condition, or if liquid leaks from any explosive, then the 
person in possession of such explosive shall immediately 
report that fact to the code official and upon his approval shall 
proceed to destroy such explosives and clean fioors stained 
with nitroglycerin or other such liquids in accordance with the 
instructions of the manufacturer. Only qualified, experienced 
persons shall do the work of destroying explosives. 

Note: Disposal of explosives as "waste" should be in 
accordance with the Department of Waste Management 
regulations. 

F-3003.7. Magazine warnings. Property upon which Type I 
magazines and outdoor magazines of Types 2, 4 and 5 are 
located shall be posted with signs stating "Explosives - Keep 
Off." The signs shall be located such that the possibility of a 
bullet shot at the sign and hitting the magazine is minimized. 

SECTION F-3004.0. TRANSPORTATION OF EXPLOSIVES. 

F-3004.1. General. The transportation of explosive materials 
shall comply with applicable provisions of the Regulations 
Governing the Transportation of Hazardous Materials as 
promulgated by the Virginia Waste Management Board. 

F-3004.2. Enforcement. The Department of State Police, 
together with all law enforcement and peace officers of the 
Commonwealth who have satisfactorily completed the course 
in Hazardous Materials Compliance and Enforcement as 

prescribed by the U.S. Department of Transportation, 
Research and Special Programs, and Office of Hazardous 
Materials Transportations, in federal safety regulations and 
safety inspections procedures pertaining to the transportation 
of hazardous materials, shall enforce the provisions of this 
section. Those officers shall annually receive in-service 
training in current federal safety standards and safety 
inspection procedures pertaining to the transportation of 
hazardous materials. 

SECTION F-3005.0. STORAGE OF BLASTING AGENTS 
AND SUPPLIES. 

F-3005.1. General. Blasting agents or oxidizers, when 
stored in conjunction with explosives, shall be stored in the 
manner set forth in Section F-3003.0 for explosives. The 
quantity of blasting agents and one half the quantity of 
oxidizers shall be included when computing the total quantity 
of explosives for determining distance requirements. 

F-3005.2. Storage location. Buildings used for storage of 
blasting agents separate from explosives shall be located 
away from inhabited buildings, passenger railways and 
public highways in accordance with Table F-3003. 

F-3005.3. Storage housekeeping. The interior of buildings 
used for the storage of blasting agents shall be kept clean 
and free from debris and empty containers. Spilled materials 
shall be cleaned up promptly and safely removed. 
Combustible materials, .flammable liquids, corrosive acids, 
chlorates, nitrates other than ammonium nitrate or similar 
materials shall not be stored in any building containing 
blasting agents unless separated therefrom by construction 
having a fire-resistance rating of not less than one hour. The 
provisions of this section shall not prohibit the storage of 
blasting agents together with nonexplosive blasting supplies. 

F-3005.4. Trailer storage requirements. Semitrailers or full 
trailers used for temporarily storing blasting agents shall be 
located away from inhabited buildings, passenger railways 
and public highways, in accordance with Table F-3003. 
Trailers shall be provided with substantial means for locking 
and trailer doors shall be kept locked except during the time 
of placement or removal of blasting agents. 

F-3005.5. Oxidizers and fuels. Piles of oxidizers and 
buildings containing oxidizers shall be adequately separated 
from readily combustible fuels. 

F-3005.6. Oxidizer handling. Caked oxidizer, either in bags 
or in bulk, shall not be loosened by blasting. 

SECTION F-3006.0. HANDLING OF EXPLOSIVES. 

F-3006.1. Mixing blasting agents. Buildings or other facilities 
used for mixing blasting agents shall be located away from 
inhabited buildings, passenger railways and public highways, 
in accordance with Table F-3003. 

F-3006.2. Quantity of mixing agents. Not more than one 
day's production of blasting agents or the limit determined by 
Table F-3003, whichever is less, shall be permitted in or near 
the building or other facility used for mixed blasting agents. 
Larger quantities shall be stored in separate buildings or 
magazines. 
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F-3006.3. Compounding standards. Compounding and 
mixing of recognized formulations of blasting agents shall be 
conducted in accordance with NFiPA 495 and DOT 49CFR 
listed in Chapter 44. 

F-3006.4. Ignition protection. Smoking or open names shall 
not be permitted within 50 feet (15.24m) of any building or 
facility used for the mixing of blasting agents. 

F-3006.4.1. Unpacking tools. Tools used for opening 
packages of explosives shall be constructed of nonsparking 
materials. 

Exception. Metal slitters may be used for opening paper and 
fiberboard containers. 

F-3006.5. Waste disposal. Empty oxidizer bags shall be 
disposed of daily by burning in a safe manner (in an open 
area and at a safe distance from buildings or combustible 
materials). 

F-3006.5.1. Packing material disposal. Empty boxes and 
paper and fiber packing materials which have previously 
contained high explosives shall not be used again for any 
purpose, but shall be destroyed by burning at an approved, 
isolated location out-of-doors, and any person shall not be 
closet than 100 feet (30.48 m) during the course of said 
burning. 

F-3006.6. Control. Explosives shall not be abandoned. 

SECTION F-3007.0. BLASTING. 

F-3007.1. Time. Blasting operations shall be conducted 
during daylight hours except when otherwise approved. 

F-3007 .2. Personnel. The handling and firing of explosives 
shall be performed by the person certified as a blaster under 
Section F-3001.4 of this code or by employees under that 
person's direct on-site supervision who are at least 21 years 
old. 

1. A person shall not handle explosives while under the 
influence of intoxicants or narcotics. 

2. A person shall not smoke or carry matches while 
handling explosives or while in the vicinity thereof. 

3. An open flame light shall not be used in the vicinity of 
explosives. 

F-3007 .3. Clearance at site. At the site of blasting 
operations, Class II magazines shall be located as far away 
as practicable from neighboring inhabited buildings, railways, 
highways, and other magazines. 

F-3007.4. Notice. Whenever blasting is being conducted 
within 200 feet of gas, electric, water, fire, alarm, telephone, 
telegraph or steam utilities, the blaster shall notify the 
appropriate representatives of such utilities at least 24 hours 
in advance of blasting, specifying the location and intended 
time of such blasting. Verbal notice shall be confirmed with 
written notice. This time limit shall not be waived except in an 
emergency as determined by the code official. 

F-3007.5. Responsibility. Before a blast is fired, the person 
in charge shall make certain that all surplus explosives are in 
a sate place, all persons and vehicles are at a safe distance 
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or under sufficient cover, and a warning signal has been 
sounded. 

F-3007.6. Precautions. Due precautions shall be taken 4o 
prevent accidental discharge of electric blasting caps from 
current induced by radio or radar transmitters, lightning, 
adjacent power lines, dust storms or other sources of 
extraneous electricity. These precautions shall include: 

1. The suspension of all blasting operations and removal 
of persons from the blasting area during the approach 
and progress of an electrical storm; 

2. The posting of signs warning against the use of 
mobile radio transmitters on all roads within 350 feet 
(106.75m) of the blasting operations; and 

3. Compliance with NFiPA 495 listed in Appendix A when 
blasting within 1-1/2 miles (2.41 km) of broadcast or 
high power short wave radio transmitters. 

4. Misfires shall be handled as directed by equipment 
manufacturers with no one entering the blasting site, 
except the blaster, until the loaded charges have been 
made to function or have been removed. 

F-3007.7. Congested areas. As required by the fire official, 
when blasting is done in congested areas or in close 
proximity to a building, structure, railway, highway or any 
other installation susceptible to damage, the blast shall be 
covered before firing, with a mat or earth, or both, so that it is 
capable of preventing rock from being thrown into the air out 
of the blast area. 

F-3007.8. Blast records. A record of each blast shall be kept 
and retained for at least three years and shall be available for 
inspection by the fire official. These records shall contain the 
following minimum data: 

1. Name of contractor. 

2. Location and time of blast. 

3. Name of certified blaster in charge. 

4. Type of material blasted. 

5. Number of holes bored and spacing. 

6. Diameter and depth of holes. 

7. Type and amount of explosives. 

'8. Amount of explosives per delay of eight milliseconds 
or greater. 

9. Method of firing and type of circuit. 

10. Direction and distance in feet to nearest dwelling, 
public building, school, church, commercial or 
institutional building. 

11. Weather conditions. 

12. Whether or not mats or other precautions were used. 

'13. Type of detonators and delay periods. 

14. Type and height of stemming. 

15. Seismograph records where indicated. · 
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• Subdivisions 8 and 13 of this section are not applicable 
to restricted blasters. 

SECTION F-3008.0. STANDARDS FOR CONTROL OF 
AIRBLAST AND GROUND VIBRATION. 

F-3008.1. Airblast. This section shall apply to airblast effects 
as recorded at the location of any private dwelling, public 
building, school, church, and community or institutional 
building not owned or leased by the person conducting or 
contracting for the blasting operation. If requested by a 
property owner registering a complaint and deemed 
necessary by the fire official, measurements of three 
consecutive blasts, using approved instrumentation, shall be 
made near the structure in question. 

F-3008.1.1. Maximum airblast. The maximum airblast at any 
inhabited building, resulting from blasting operations, shall 
not exceed 130 decibels peak, or 140 decibels peak at any 
uninhabited building, when measured by an instrument 
having a flat frequency response (+3 decibels) over a range 
of at least six to 200 Hertz. 

F-3008.2. Ground vibration. This section shall provide for 
limiting ground vibrations at structures that are neither owned 
nor leased by the person conducting or contracting for the 
blasting operation. Engineered structures may safely 
withstand higher vibration levels based on an approved 
engineering study upon which the fire official may then allow 
higher levels for such engineered structures. 

Note: Each Table, F-3008A to F-3008C, has an increasing 
degree of sophistication and each can be implemented 
either by the fire official as a result of complaints or by the 
contractor to determine site specific vibration limits. The 
criteria in Tables F-3008 A, B, and C and Section F-3008.3 
are intended to protect low-rise structures including dwellings. 

Table F-3008 A• CHARGE WEIGHT PER DELAY DEPENDENT ON DISTANCE 
Distance to Weight of Explos- Distance to Weight of Explo- Distance to 
a Building sive per Delay a Building sive perDelay a Building 
Feet Feet not Pounds Feet Feet not Pounds Fe<:t Feet not 
over over over over over over 

0 5 1/4 160 170 23 1/4 400 450 
5 10 112 170 180 25 450 SOD 
10 15 3/4 180 190 28 500 550 
15 60 Note b 190 200 30 1/2 550 600 
60 70 6 200 220 34 600 650 
70 80 71/4 220. 240 39 650 700 
80 90 9 240 250 42 700 750 
90 100 10 1/2 250 260 45 750 800 

!00 110 12 260 280 49 800 850 
110 120 13 3/4 280 300 55 850 900 
120 130 15 112 300 325 61 900 950 
130 140 17 1/2 325 350 69 950 lOOO 
140 !50 19 112 350 375 79 1000 1100 
!50 160 21 1/2 375 400 85 1100 1200 

1200 1300 
Note a. Over 60 feet this table is based upon the fomuala; w = d 1.5/90. 
Note b. One tenth of a pound of explosive per foot of distance to a building. 
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Pounds 

98 
115 
135 
!55 
175 
195 
220 
240 
263 
288 
313 
340 
375 
435 
493 
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Table F-3008 B PEAK PARTICLE VELOCITY DEPENDENT ON DISTANCE 

Distance 

Feet over Feet not over 
0 100 

100 500 
500 1000 
over 1000 

Peak. Particle Velocity 

or Any One Component 

Inches per second 

2.00 
1.50 
1.00 
0,75 

Note a. The instrument's transducer shall be finnly coupled to the ground 

Table F-3008 C PARTICLE vELOCITY CRITERIA DEPENDENT ON FREQUENCY CONTENT 

10.0 I 
I 
I 2 in/sec 

2.0 I· 
I ·I 

1.5 I· I 
I I 

Maximum 1.0 I· 
Allowable 0.9 I· 
Particle I .75 in/sec 
Velocity 0.7 I· 
In/sec 0.6 I· 

0.5 I· 
0.4 I· 

I 
0.3 I· 

o:2 
I . IJl 
I· 
I 
I 
I 

0.1 I 

4 10 20 30 100 
Blast Vibration Frequency, Hz 
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F-3008.2.1. Blasting witt10ut instrumentation. Where no 
seismograph is used to record vibration effects, the explosive 
charge weight per delay (eight milliseconds or greater) shall 
not exceed the limits shown in Table F-3008A. When charge 
weights per delay on any single delay period exceed 520 lbs., 
then ground vibration limits for structures shall comply with 
Tables F-30088, F-3008C, or Section F-3008.3. 

F-3008.2.2. Monitoring with instrumentation. Where a 
blaster determines that the charge weights per delay given in 
Table F-3008A are too conservative, he may choone to 
monitor (at the closest conventional structure) each blast 
with an approved seismograph and conform to the limits set 
by Tables F-30088, F-3008C, or Section F-3008.3. 

Note: From this point on, the explosive charge weight per 
delay may be increased, but the vibration levels deta'1led in 
Tables F-30088, F-3008C, or Section F-3008.3 shall not be 
exceeded. 

F-3008.3. Response spectra. A relative velocity of 1.5 
inches per second or less, within the 4 to 12 Hertz range of 
natural frequencies for low rise structures, shall be recorded 
as determined from an approved response spectra. 

F-3008.4. Instrumentation. A direct velocity recording 
seismograph capable of recording the continuous wave form 
of the three mutually perpendicular components of motion, in 
terms of particle velocity, shall be used and shall have the 
following characteristics: 

1. Each seismograph shall have a frequency response 
from two to 150 Hertz or greater and a velocity range 
from 0.0 to 2.0 inches per second or greater. and shall 
adhere to design criteria for portable seismographs 
outlined in U.S. Bureau of Mines Rl 5708, Rl 6487, and 
Rl8506. 

2. All field seismographs shall be capable of internal 
dynamic calibration and shall be calibrated according to 
the manufacturers' specifications at least once per year. 

3. All seismographs shall be operated by competent 
people trained in their correct use and seismographs 
records shall be analyzed and interpreted as may be 
required by the fire official. 

F-3008.5. Seismographic records. A record of each blast 
shall be kept. All records, including seismograph reports, 
shall be retained for at least three years and shall be 
available for inspection. Records shall include the following 
information; 

1. Name of company or contractor. 

2. Location, date and time of blast. 

3. Name, signature and social security number of blaster 
in charge. 

4. Type of material blasted. 

5. Number of holes bored and spacing. 

6. Diameter and depth of holes. 

7. Type of explosives used. 

8. Total amount of explosives used. 

9. Maximum amount of explosives per delay period of 
eight milliseconds or greater. 

10. Method of firing and type of circuit. 

11. Direction and distance in feet to nearest dwelling 
house, public building, 'school, church, commercial or 
institutional building neither owned nor leased by the 
person conducting the blasting. 

12. Weather conditions including such factors as wind 
direct'1on, etc. 

13. Height or length of stemming. 

14. Type of protection, such as mats, that were used to 
prevent flyrock. 

15. Type of detonators used and delay period used. 

16. The exact location of the seismograph and the 
distance of the seismograph from the blast. 

17. Seismograph readings, where required, shall contain: 

a. Name and signature of person operating the 
seismograph. . ''("'' f"' '.·, 

b. Name of person analyzing 
records. 

c. Seismograph re~ding. 

the seismograph 

18. The maximum number of holes per delay period of 
eight milliseconds or greater. 

SECTION F-3009.0. THEFT, DISAPPEARANCE, INJURIES 
OR PROPERTY DAMAGE. 

F-3009.1. Reports of stolen explosives. Pursuant to § 27-
97.1 of the Code of Virginia, any person holding a permit for 
the manufacture, storage, handling, use or sale of explosives 
issued in accordance with this code shall report to the State 
Police and the local law-enforcement agency any theft or 
other disappearance of any explosives or blasting devices 
from their inventory. In addition, notification shall be made to 
the fire official having issued the permit. 

F-3009.2. Reports of injuries or property damage. The fire 
official shall be immediately notified of injuries to any person 
or damage to any property as a result of the functioning of the 
explosive. 

I 

F-3009.3. Relationship of local fire official and State Fire 
Marshal. The local fire official shall relay information obtained 
from reports required by Sections F-3009.1 and F-3009.2 to 
the Office of the State Fire Marshal. 

CHAPTER 31. 
FIREWORKS. 

A. Change Section F-3101.1 to read: 

F-3101.1. Scope. The manufacture, transportation, display, 
sale or discharge of firewor~s .. ,·shall ·comply with the 
requirements of Chapter 11 of Title 59 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Delete Section F-3102.0, Definitions. 

C. Delete Section F-3103.1, General. 

D. Delete Section F-3103.2, Violations. 
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E. Delete Section F-3103.3, Display, and renumber 
subsection F-3103.3. 1 to F-3103.3. 

F. Delete Section F-31 03.5, Sale of fireworks. 

CHAPTER 32. 
FLAMMABLE AND COMBUSTIBLE LIQUIDS. 

A. Change Section F-3205.5 to read as follows: 

F-3205.5. Fuel dispensing outside the building. Fuel 
dispensers outside the building shall be located a minimum of 
10 feet (3048 mm) from the lot line and five feet (1524 mm) 
from any building opening. Where fuel is dispensed to motor 
vehicles, the motor vehicle being served shall be located on 
the premises. 

B. Change Section F-3205.8, Attendant, to read as follows: 

F-3205.8. Attendant. Each service station open to the public 
shall have an attendant on duty who is familiar with the 
location of pump controls and operation of safety equipment. 

Exception: Service stations in compliance with National Fire 
Protection Association (NFiPA) 30A Standard listed in 
Chapter 44 shall not be required to have an attendant on 
duty. 

Note: NFiPA 30A Standard may be obtained from: 

National Fire Protection Association 
Batterymarch Park 
Quincy, MA 02269 

CHAPTER 29. 
LIQUEFIED Pt:TROUoUM GASO:S. 

ChaA!Je Seslien F 3601.1 as lellews an~ ~elele the 
remain~er ef Cha~ler 36: 

F 3601.1. Sse~e. The e~ui~ment, ~resesses amf e~eralien 
fer stera!Je, hanelin!J, trans~ertiA!J ~y tank trusk er tank 
trailer, ana utiliziA!J LP !Jases fur fuel ~ur~eses, an~ lor 
e~erizalien ef LP !Jases shall sem~ly with the Vir!JiAia 
Li~uefle~ Petroleum Gas Re!JYia!iens iA effes! at the lime ef 
seAstrustieA as ~re•.'iaee fsr in Cha~ler 7 of Tille 27 of the 
CeEte ef VirgiAia. 

VAR. Doc. No. R97-110; Flied October 30, 1996, 12:34 p.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 12. VAG 30-10-1 0 et seq. State Plan for 
Medical Assistance Services: General Provisions 
(amending 12 VAG 30-10-60 and 12 VAG 30-1 0-530). 
12 VAG 30-120-360 et seq. Part VI: Medallion II. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 1997. 

Summarv: 

The 1995 Appropriation Act required that the Department 
of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) seek a 1915 
waiver from the Health Care Financing Administration to 
begin phasing in the Medallion If program effective 
January 1, 1996. The department was directed to 
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initially contract with managed care organizations on a 
capitation basis in the Tidewater area. 

The Medallion If initiative is designed to improve health 
outcomes, build on the success of current programs, and 
restrain Medicaid costs. HMOs are paid a fee per 
Medallion If client each month and are responsible for 
providing the client's health care, regardless of how 
much care is needed. HMOs have an incentive to 
provide preventive care and patient education to improve 
health status and avoid the need for expensive inpatient 
and emergency care. 

DMAS has sought input for program specifics from client 
and provider groups. The major health care associations 
in the Commonwealth have been supportive of this effort. 
DMAS has planned and implemented numerous 
infonnation programs for providers and clients on 
program details to smooth the transition to Medallion fl. 

Several technical changes are being included in this 
package to reflect changes that have occurred 
previously in the program. Several changes are also 
being made based on recent changes to state and 
federal law. 

Chapter 318 of the 1996 Virginia Acts of Assembly 
requires HMOs under contract to DMAS to prepare all 
program documents furnished to recipients in a 
nontechnical, readily understandable manner and to 
submit such documents to DMAS for approval prior to 
use. Chapter 912 of the 1996 Virginia Acts of Assembly, 
Item 322.L. 7, mandates that emergency care provided to 
a Medallion If client by a provider who is not participating 
in the client's HMO network be reimbursed according to 
the Medicaid fee schedule. Chapter 912 also requires, in 
Item 322. 0, the use of an independent Medicaid 
Managed Care Health Benefits Manager to handle all 
marketing and enrollment for the Medallion If program. 
Likewise, 42 CFR 434.67 has recently been amended to 
include the language discussing sanctions when HMOs 
fail to comply with federal regulations regarding 
physician incentive plans. 

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from Victoria P. Simmons or Roberta J. Jonas, Regulatory 
Coordinators, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 E. Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-8850. 

12 VAG 30-10-60. Application; determination of eligibility 
and furnishing Medicaid. 

A. The Medicaid agency meets all requirements of 42 CFR 
Part 435, Subpart J for processing applications, determining 
eligibility and furnishing Medicaid. 

B. 1. Except as provided in items subdivisions 2 and 3 
l>elew of this subsection, individuals are entitled to 
Medicaid services under the plan during the three 
months preceding the month of application, if they were, 
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or on application would have been, eligible. The 
effective date of prospective and retroactive eligibility is 
specified in 12 VAG 30-40-10. 

2. For individuals who are eligible for Medicaid cost 
sharing expenses as qualified Medicare beneficiaries 
under § 1902(a)(10)(E)(i) of the Act, coverage is 
available for services furnished after the end of the 
month in which the individual is first determined to be a 
qualified Medicare beneficiary. 12 VAG 30-40-10 
specifies the requirements for determination of eligibility 
for this group. 

3. Pregnant women are not entitled to ambulatory 
prenatal care under the plan during a presumptive 
eligibility in accordance with § 1920 of th~ Act:. 12 VAG 
30-40-10 specifies the requirements for determination of 
e1"1gibility of this group. 

C. The Medicaid agency elects to enter into a risk contract 
with an HMO that is qualified under Tille XIII of the Public 
Health Service Act or is provisionally qualified as an HMO 
pursuant to§ 1903(m)(3) of the Social Security Act (42 USC 
§ 1396(m)). 

The Medicaid agency elects to enter into a risk contract 
with an HMO that is not federally qualified, but meets the 
requirements of 42 CFR 434.20(c) and .is defined in 12 VAG 
30-20-60. 

D. The Medicaid agency has procedures to take 
applications, assist applicants, and perform initial processing 
of applications from those low income pregnant women, 
infants, and children under age 19, described in § 
1 902(a)(1 O)(A)(i)(IV), (a)(1 O)(A)(i)(VI), (a)(1 O)(A)(i)(VII), and 
(a)(1 O)(A)(ii)(IX) at locations other th<ln those used by the 
Title IV-A program including FQHCs and disproportionate 
share hospitals. Such application forms do not include the 
ADFC form except as permitted by HCFA instructions. 

12 VAC 30-10-530. Utilization and quality control. 

A. A Statewide program of surveillance and utilization 
control has been implemented that safeguards against 
unnecessary or inappropriate use of Medicaid services 
available under this plan and against excess payments, and 
that assesses the quality of services. The requirements of 42 
CFR [Part] 456 are met directly. 

Quality review requirements described in§ 1902(a)(30)(C) 
of the Act relating to services furnished by HMO's under 
contract are undertaken through contract with the PRO 
designated under 42 CFR Part 462. 

8. The Medicaid agency meets the requirements of 42 
CFR Part 456, Subpart C, for control of the utilization of 
inpatient hospital services. 

No waivers have been granted. 

C. The Medicaid agency meets the requirements of 42 
CFR Part 456, Subpart D, for control of utilization of inpatient 
services in mental hospitals. 

No waivers have been granted. 

D. The Medicaid agency meets the requirements of 42 
CFR Pari 456, Subpart E, for the control of utilization of 
skilled nursing facility services. 

No waivers have been granted. 

TAe ~Fe§ram will allew a ma><imYm ef leA asmiRistralive 
says fer ~laoemeAI aAs lraAsfer fer SNF Is ICF iA erser Is 
mal<e aA erserly lraAsfer er ~laeemeAI ~essi~le ·uiiASYI 
~eteAiial Aarm sr lraYma Is IRe ~alieAI iA assersaAee wiiA 42 
CFR 486.4. 

E. The Medicaid agency meets the requirements of 42 
CFR Part 456, Subpart F, for control of the utilization of 
intermediate care facility services as provided through: 

1. Direct review by personnel of the medical assistance 
unit of the state agency. 

2. Personnel under contract to the medical assistance 
unit of the state agency. 

The program will allow a maximum of [ ler! 10 ] 
administrative days for placement and transfer from lGf' NF 
to community in order to make an orderly transfer or 
placement possible without potential harm or trauma to the 
patient in accordance with 42 CFR 456.4. 

One of the semiannual utilization reviews required by 42 
CFR 456.434(b)(1) for iAtermesiale eare ICFIMR recipients 
will be conducted by the Virginia Department of Health as 
part of the inspection of care visit. The second utilization 
review will be conducted by personnel of the Medical 
Assistance unit of the state agency. 

F. The Medicaid agency meets the requirements of § 
1902(a)(30) of the Act for control of the assurance of quality 
furnished by each health maintenance organization under 
contract with the Medicaid agency. [ Independent, external 
quality reviews are performed annually by a Utilization and 
Qualify Control Peer Review Organization designated under 
42 CFR Part 462 that has a contract with the agency to 
perform those reviews. ] 

PART VI. 
MEDALLION II. 

12 VAC 30-120-360. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this part, 
shall have the following meaning, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

'1'1BD" means aged, blind and disabled recipients as 
defined in 12 VAG 30-30-10. 

'1'1FDC" means Aid to Families with Dependent Children 
which is a public assistance program, administered by the 
Department of Social Services, providing financial assistance 
to needy citizens. 

"AFDC-re/aled" means those clients who are eligible for 
medical assistance under rules related to the AFDC program, 
such as pregnant women and indigent children under specific 
ages. II shall not include foster care, subsidized adoption, or 
spend-down medically needy clients. 
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[ "Appeal' means any written communication from a client 
or his representative which clearly expresses that he wants to 
present his case to a reviewing authority. ] 

''Area of record" means the recipient's address in the 
Medicaid eligibility file. 

"Capitation payment" means the payment issued to an 
HMO contractor by DMAS on behalf of a client, in return for 
which the HMO accepts responsibility for the services to be 
provided under a contract. 

"Client," [ "elleRfs" "clients," "recipient" ] or "enrollee" 
means an individual or individuals having current Medicaid 
eligibility who shall be authorized by OMAS to be a member 
or members of Medallion II. 

[ "CMP" means a competitive medical plan with current 
Medicare contracts. ] 

"Covered services" means Medicaid services as defined in 
the State Plan for Medical Assistance. 

[ "Disenrollment" means a change in enrollment from one 
Medallion II HMO plan to another. 1 

"OMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services. 

"Eligible person" means any person detennined by DMAS 
as eligible to receive services and benefits under file State 
Plan for Medical Assistance in the categories of AFDC, 
AFDC-related, and ABO. 

"Emergency services" means services provided in a 
hospital, clinic, office, or other facility that Is equipped to 
furnish the required care, after the sudden onset of a medical 
condition manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient 
severity (including severe pain) that the absence of 
immediate medical attention could reasonably be expected to 
result in: 

1. Placing the client's health in serious jeopardy; 

2. Serious impairment to bodily functions; or 

3. Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part. 

"Foster care" means a child who received either foster care 
assistance under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act or state 
and local foster care assistance. 

[ "Grievance" means any request by a client to an l-IMO to 
resolve a dispute. 1 

1'Health care plan" means any arrangement in which any 
health maintenance organization undertakes to provide, 
arrange for, pay for, or reimburse any part of the cost of any 
health care services. 

"HMO" means a health maintenance organization, as 
licensed by the State Corporation Commission's Bureau of 
Insurance, which undertakes to provide or arrange for one or 
more health care plans. 

"Network" means doctors, hospitals or other health cam 
providers who participate or contract with an l-IMO and as a 
result, agree to accept a mutually-agreed upon sum or fee 
schedule as payment in full for covered services. 
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[ "Nonparticipatlilg provider" means a facility not in the 
HMO's network or a provider not in the HMO's network 
practicing at a facility not in the HMO 's network. ] 

"Spend-down" means the process of reducing countable 
income by deducting incurred medical expenses for medically 
needy individuals, as determined in the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance. 

"Subsidized adoption" means any child for whom an 
adoption assistance agreement is in effect. 

12 VAG 30~ 120 370. Medallion II enrollees. 

A. DMAS shall detem1ine enrollment in Medallion II. 
Enrollment in Medallion II is not a guarantee of continwilg 
eligibility for seiVices and benefits under the Virginia Medical 
Assistance Program. 

B. The following individuals shall be excluded from 
participating in Medallion II. Individuals not meeting the 
exclusion criteria must participate in the Medallion II program. 

1. Individuals who are inpatients in state mental 
hospitals; 

2. Individuals who are approved by DMAS as Inpatients 
in long-stay hospitals, nursing facilities, or intermediate 
care facilities for the mentally retarded; 

.3. Individuals who are placed on spend-down; 

4. Individuals who are [ elifjihle--!Br participating in 1 
federal waiver programs for home-based and 
community-based Medicaid coverage; 

5. Individuals who are participating in foster care or 
subsidized adoption programs; 

6. Individuals who are in the third trimester of pregnancy 
upon initial assignment to Medallion II and who request 
exemption; 

[ 7. Individuals who are in their ninth month of 
pregnancy, when they are or will be automaucallv 
assigned or reassigned, and were not in the Medir:aid 
HMO to which they were assigned or reassigned within 
the last seven months, if they are seeking care from a 
provider (physician or hospital or both) not affiliated with 
the HMO /o which they were previously ass(qned. 
Disenrollment requests may be made by the 1--/MO, a 
provider, or the recipient; ] 

[ .'1-c 8. j Individuals who reside [ in heallh, me-~ 
~esial-rohe~Jiii#Jiie-A--prof!Films-Rel--.ftmfle4-~lfy-f!wir 
14JI/IG-IIlel-1ill'fl 1 outside [ ef ] their area of record for 
gmater than 60 days [ f--"J'l£1 except those individuals 
placed there for medically necessary services funded by 
the HMO;] 

[ & 9. 1 Individuals who enter into a Medicaid approved 
hospice program in accordance with DMAS criteria [, ; j 

[ 10. Individuals with any other comprehensive group or 
individual health insurance coverage; 

11. Individuals who have been preassigned to an HMO 
but have not yet been enrolled, who am inpatients in 
hospitals other than those listed in subdivisions 1 and 2 
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of this subsection, until the first day of the month 
following discharge; 

12. Individuals who have been preassigned to an HMO 
but have not yet been enrolled, who are scheduled for 
surgery which is scheduled to be within 30 days of initial 
preassignment into the HMO, which requires an inpatient 
hospital stay, until the first day of the month following 
discharge; and 

13. Individuals who have been preassigned to an HMO 
but have not yet been enrolled, who have been 
diagnosed with a tenninal condition and who have a life 
expectancy of six months or less, if they request 
exclusion. The client's physician must ceriify the life 
expectancy. 

C. Medallion II managed care plans shall be marketed to 
recipients, and recipients shall be enrolled in those plans, 
exclusively through an independent marketing broker under 
contract to DMAS. ] 

[ ~ D. ] Clients shall be enrolled as follows: 

1. All [ Meriieaifi] eligible [ iRc!i•,\;riuals persons ] , except 
those meeting one of the exclusions of subsection B of 
this section, shall be enrolled in Medallion II. 

[ 2. Newly eNfji9/e iR'!i'dfiua/s anfi inc!i•,1cfuals whe lese 
then ref}ain elifjiMity unrier the ',4Ffjinia Mefiieal 
Assist-anse .Rt=egram sRa!l net J3BFfisipate in Medal#en II 
t~R#J.-.eemplotien ef tt1e Meda.Won U enFe#ment pr:esess. ] 

[ 3-c 2. ] Clients shall receive [ all interim a ] Medicaid 
card from DMAS [ during the interim period ] , and shall 
be provided authorized medical care in accordance with 
DMAS' procedures, after eligibility [ reCJuirements are met 
has been detennined to exist] . 

[ +. 3. ] Once individuals are enrolled in Medicaid, they 
will receive a letter indicating that they may select one of 
the contracted HMOs. These letters shall indicate a 
preassigned HMO, detennined as provided in subsection 
[ f! E of this section] , in which the client will be enrolled 
if [ ~e he does ] not make a selection [ within a 
period specified by DMAS of not less than 45 days] . 

[ 4. The effective date of coverage in the Medallion II 
program for newly eligible individuals under the Virginia 
Medical Assistance Program (except for those specified 
under subdivision 6 of this subsection) and individuals 
who move from the area of their Medallion II HMO shall 
be assigned to an HMO as described in subdivision 3 of 
this subsection. 

5. A child bam to a woman enrolled with an HMO will be 
enrolled with the HMO from birth until the last day of the 
third month including the month of birth, unless otherwise 
specified by the Medicaid Managed Care Health Benefits 
Manager. For instance, a child bam during the month of 
February will be automatically enrolled until April 30. By 
the end of that third month, the child will be disenrolled 
unless the Medicaid Managed Care Health Benefits 
Manager specifies continued enrollment. If the child 
remains an inpatient in a hospital at the end of that third 

month, the child shall automatically remain enrolled until 
the last day of the month of discharge. 

6. Individuals who lose then regain eligibility for 
Medallion II within 60 days will be reenrolled into their 
previous HMO without going through preassignment and 
selection. ] 

[ D. /',ssigRmeAts sRa!l ee matle for #lese slieRts ROt 
se!eeUny E. Clients who do not select ] an HMO as 
described in subdivision [ G-4 D 3 ] of this section [ ~ 
assiynment proeess ] shall be [ assigned to an HMO ] as 
follows: 

1. MEDALLION primary care physicians will be asked to 
select the HMO in which their MEDALLION clients will be 
enrolled. 

2. Clients currently enrolled in "Options" shall be 
assigned to the HMO in which they [ pallieif!ale 
participated ] under "Options" if that HMO contracts with 
DMAS for Medallion II. 

[ 3. Clients already reeeil'infJ ether insuranee threufJh a 
Mer:Ja.WeR !.' H-MO shah' alse Be assigRed to that same 
HMO fer Mec!ieaifi pllrpeses. This 1<1W el'fJFFifie any 
default assigRment pursuant te sul>c!il1sien 1 er 2 ef this 
sul>see#en. ] 

[ +. 3. ] Clients not assigned pursuant to subdivision 1, 2, 
or 3 shall be assigned to the HMO of [a another] family [ 
ease number member] , if applicable. 

[ ~ 4. 1 A// other clients shall be assigned to an HMO [ on 
a basis of approximately equal number by HMO in each 
locality] . 

[ &. F. ] HMO enrolled recipients shall be pennitted to 
change HMOs, upon request to [ their new HMO the Medicaid 
Managed Care Health Benefits Manager ] , within 60 days of 
the request. 

Clients in State Plan defined HMOs which are also [ 
competitive mediea.' plaRS vAtR eur:reRt !VIedleare eeRft=asts 
CMPs 1 or are federally qualified HMOs will be pennitted to 
change HMOs upon request to [ their new HMO the Medicaid 
Managed Care Health Benefits Manager] only: 

1. During [ DAMS sr>eeified DMAS-specified ] open 
enrollment periods; 

2. During the first month of the six-month enrollment 
period [ witheut eause ] ; 

[ J. During the remainder ef the six menth enrellment 
peried if the 6/Hrent HMO permits it and the ehange is 
permitted by the eurrent ."'.MO's Meria.Wen II eentraet; 

4. Duriny the remaincler ef the she menth emallment 
peried, if fieterminefi te f>e aevanfaf}eeHS fe the 6'/HI'fJRf 

HMO, the rG'fuesteri HMO, and DMAS; er 

a. Jf aU ef the fo!lewiRfl rettHiremeRts are met: 

a. The enreNee re'fuests in wriilng te DMAS and to the 
eurrent I=IMO fer yeed eause; 

1>. The •'fi'fUest eites the FBasens fer the 'iisenrellment; 
ami 
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e. DMA&. determines that goe~e-fM 
disem=oUmeAt exists. 

3. If a combination of complex .medical factors of the 
client, in the sole discretion of DMAS, would be better 
served under another contracted HMO; or 

4. Upon detennination by DMAS that good cause exists 
as determined under subsection H of this section. 

Clients who are inpatients in hospitals other than those 
specified as exclusions in subsection A of -this section; or 
clients who are scheduled for surgery within 30 days which 
requires an inpatient hospital stay, ate · restricted from 
disenrollment until the first day of the month following 
discharge. ] 

[ F. G. ] DMAS will inform those HMOs which are [, 
eempeti/MJ meclieal p/aRs wi!IJ s11rreRI Medieare scin!nwis 
CMPs 1 , or are federally qualified HMOs, of open enrollment 
periods. Open enrollment periods wtll occur at a mtnimum of 
twice per calendar year and will [ be ] held no more than six 
months apart. [ CMPs and federally qualified HMOs will notify 
their enrolled recipients of open enrollment periods no less 
than .30 days before . 'the start of each new period of 
enrollment and at least twice each year. 1 

[ G, H. Disenrollment for good cause may be requested at 
any time. The request must be made in writing. ] Good cause 
for disenrollment shalltnclude the following: 

1. A recipient's desire to seek services from a federally 
. qualified health center [ which is] not under contract [ le 
with] the [ current] HMO [!hal but] is under contract to 
another HMO available to the recipient,' or 

[ 2. AR IJRflSIJa! eemeiRailen ef tasters which GaiJses the 
recipient's aooess le needsd seP,1ees te ee fJFel'erJ/ed ey 
eentinued eF>rel/ment in ·the HMO. . (l,leJhing in . this 
siJedi•,<isien shall elie11se the HMO fre!fl ha•'ing. aR 
adeq11ale nel\vefk te {Jrell1rie fer ffem f'FGI'ifiing thro~g.~ 
GIJf ef ROf?.'o'GF#( arr:aRf}OFROAfs-) a!,( SOPiiSOS- roqf:lired by 

. thiB {Jar/. 1 
[ 3. 2. 1 Performance or nonperfonnance of service to the 
recipient by an HMO or one or more of its. providers 
which is deemed by the department's external quality 
review [ ergani2a#en organizations 1 to be below the 
generally accepted community. practice of health care [ 
as f!eleFminerJ BJ' the depa#menl's external .. q11ality 
Rwiew ergam~alien 1 . 

[ Geed Gai:J6e ler EifseRreNm&Rt sRa.tl Be doieFFRiRed at #w 
sale dise.'IJtieR ef OMA& and slw# be f!etem!im3rJ i-rfieienJ 
lime te ensiJ,'IJ that, if apfJrel<ed, reoi{Jienls "'"' fJ?Frflitted-te 
ehaRge HMOs within &Q days ef the req11est. DMAS shall 
determine whether good cause exists for disenrollmenl. 

Good cause for disenrollment shall be deemed to extst and 
the disenro/fment shall be granted if DMAS fails to take final 
action on a valid request prior to the first day of the second 
month after the request. 

The DMAS determination concerning ] good cause for 
disenrollment may be appealed by the c/ien.t in accordance 
with the department's [client] appeals process [at 12 .VAG 
30-110-10 through 12 VAG 30-110-380] . 
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The current HMO shalf provide, within lwo working days of 
[ Jhe a] request ['from· DMAS], informa'tion [ ~&d--lfy 
f)fl,<IAS] necessary to detemtine good cause. 

[ U--Gempelitive'-Rle<Jis1iJ--t>l8ns vAIIJ ourrent Me4eare 
ooAifa~dsraUy qf18lifierJ · HMGs will neli.Fy-JheiF 
AAmlkfi-.ffisi{Jiooi-&-Bf--ep~e-IB&s-!harJ 
:5()-dsys-/JekJFe-f.'*!-ata# of eaoh nilw-{JB+iM ef enrol/meni-aflfJ 
8~-!eml~--twiGS-WG!J:-J'f';y, 1 
12 VAG 30-120~380. Medallion II proVider responsibilities. 

A. [ ~~spensihie--fer-lhe fJIB'Asien-am! 
maR&gamaAt of eaoiHfiknl's !Jealth sere. regarfi/ess ef hew 
m~eh care is Reot:JerJ·br the eest ef sHah sore. The HMO shall 
provide, at_ a minimum, all. medically necessary covered 
services provided ' under the . State · Plim for Medical 
Assistance and further defined by wtilten DMAS regulations, 
policies and instructions; 'except ~s otherwise modified or 
excluded in this part. · · · · 

Nonemergency services provided· bY' hospital emergency 
departments shall be covered by HMOs in accordance with 
rates negotiated between the HMOs, and the emergency 
departments. ] 

B. Services ·that shall ·be provided· outside the HMO 
network [ , and reimbursed by DMAS, T are school-based 
services . and community inent;il health services 
(rehabilitative, targeted case mal)agement and waiver 
services). Clients may also seek emergency [ services] and 
family planning services from a provider outside the HMO . 
The HMOs shalf pay for emergency services and family 
planning services whether they are [ l<J.-I>e] provided inside or 
outside the HMO network, 

The HMOs shall pay for services furnished .in [anei!Jer 
elaJs-le--#le-aa~l-ihey-w&~--f&Hlef'Vices vAI!Jin 
Jheif-rletwefks: 

. i ' 

1. Facilities or 'by practitioners out:3ide the l-IMOs' 
networks l if services are needed because of a medical 
emergency; 

[ 2. Areas outside the 1-JMQs' service areas if] medical 
· services are needed and'the. recipient's health would be 

endangered if he were required fo t\ave( to. his place of 
residence; [ er . . . ' ' 

3. Another state if it is general practice for recipients in 
that area to. receive medical services in another state; 
and · · ·' '· · ·I • 

4. Factlities or· by practib'oners outside the HMOs' 
networks· if] the·needed medical setvices or neCI-)ssary 
supplementary resources· are [ mere-+'ea~le-fA 
800#1£>F-elalenot availabl~ in the HMOs' networks] . 

C. Immunizations shalf hot be included in the fee that 
DMAS pays the HMOs. The· HMO may choose to offer 
immunizations under the regular Medicaid immunization 
reimbursement methodology or may refer the patient to a 
local health qepartment. ; · 

D. The HMOs shall report encounter data to DMAS under 
the contract requirements, wltich may include. data reports 
based on the 1-lealth Plan Employer Data and lnf'onnation Set 
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(HEDIS}, report cards for clients, and ad hoc quality studies 
performed by third parties. 

E. The HMO shall mainWn such records as may be 
required by federal and state law and regulation and by 
DMAS policy. The HMO shell furnish such required 
information to DMAS, the Attorney General of Virginia or his 
authorized representatives, qr the State Medicaid Fraud 
Control Unit on request and in !he form requested. 

F. The HMO shall ensure thai the health care provided to 
its clients meets all applicabll:! if!deral and state mandates, 
community standards for quality, and standards developed 
pursuant to the DMAS managed care quality program. 

[ G. Effective January 1, 1997, each HMO shall test the 
readability of its program infof1"/lation documents by use of 
the Flesch Readability FormiJ/a, as set forth in Rudolf 
Flesch, The Art of Readable Writing (1949, as revised 1974), 
and no program information document shall be used unless it 
achieves a Flesch total readability score of 40 or better. This 
requirement shalf not apply to language that is mandated by 
federal or stale laws, regulations or agencies. 

All program information documents within the scope of this 
section, and all amendments thereto, shalf be filed with 
DMAS in advance of their use and distribution, accompanied 
by certificates setting forth the Flesch scores and certifying 
compliance with the requirements of this section. Any 
program information document to which this does not apply 
shalf be accompanied by a documentation of the federal or 
state laws, regulation or agency mandate that authorizes the 
exemption. 

The term "program information documents" means all 
forms, brochures, handbooks or other documentation (i) 
provided to recipients covered under Medicaid managed care 
programs and (ii) describing the programs' medical care 
coverages and the rights and responsibilities of recipients 
covered. The term "recipient" shalf include potential 
recipients and recipients. 

H. The HMOs shalf promptly provide or arrange for the 
provision of all required services. Initial face-to-face medical 
evaluations shall be available within 48 hours for urgent care 
and within 15 business days for routine care. On-call 
clinicians shalf be available 24 hqurs per day, seven days per 
week. 

f. The HMOs must meet standards specified by DMAS for 
sufficiency of provider networks. The HMOs shalf include in 
their network a sufficient number of Part H Early Intervention 
program providers of each type of therapy service (i.e., 
speech, occupational, physical) to ensure adequate access. 

J. Preauthorization and concurrent review decisions must 
be supervised by qualified medical professionals and 
completed within two business days after receipt of all 
necessary information. 

K. When the need is identified, the HMOs shalf designate 
a single case manaf}er, who shalf function as an exceptional 
needs care coordinator within the HMO, for all persons with 
complex health care needs. 

L. The HMOs shalf not charge copayments to any 
categorically needy enrollees. ] 

12 VAG 30-120-390. Payment rate for Medallion If HMOs. 

The payment rate to HMOs shall be based on contract 
negotiations. 

[ 12 VAG 30-120-395. Payment rate for emergency care out­
of-network providers. 

The HMOs shall pay for emergency services when they are 
provided outside the HMO network. Emergency care 
provided to a Medallion If client by a provider or facility not 
participating in the client's network will be reimbursed 
according to the current Medicaid fee schedule. This 
reimbursement shall be considered payment in full to the 
provider or facilffy of emergency care. ] 

12 VAG 30-120-400. Quality Control and Utilization Review [ 
f/JR1] . 

A. DMAS shall rigorously monitor the quality of care 
provided by the HMOs. DMAS may contract with [fiR one or 
more ] external quality review [ erfjanizatien organizations ] to 
perform focused studies on the quality of care provided by 
the HMOs. Specifically, DMAS shalf monitor to determine if 
the HMO: 

1. Fails substantially to provide the medically necessary 
items and services required under law or under the 
contract to be provided to an enrolled recipient and the 
failure has adversely affected (or has substantial 
likelihood of adversely affecting) the individual. This 
shall be monitored through the review of encounter data 
on a routine basis and other methods determined by 
DMAS. 

2. Imposes on clients premium amounts in excess of 
premiums permitted. This shalf be monitored through 
surveying a sample of clients at feast annually and other 
methods determined by DMAS. 

3. Engages in any practice that discriminates among 
individuals on the basis of their health status or 
requirements for health care services, including 
expulsion or refusal to reenroll an individual, or any 
practice that could reasonably be expected to have the 
effect of denying or discouraging enrollment (except as 
permitted by § 1903(m) of the Social Security Act (42 
USC§ 1396b(m)}} by eligible individuals whose medical 
conditions or histories indicate a need for substantial 
future medical services. This shalf be monitored through 
surveying a sample of clients at feast annually and other 
methods determined by DMAS. 

4. Misrepresents or falsifies information that it furnishes, 
under§ 1903(m} of the Social Security Act (42 USC § 
1396b(m)) to HCFA, DMAS, an individual, or any other 
entity. This shall be monitored through surveying a 
sample of clients at feast annually and other methods 
determined by DMAS. 

[ 5. Fails to comply with the requirements of 42 CFR 
417.479(d) through (g) relating to physician incentive 
plans, or fails to submit to DMAS its physician incentive 
plans as required or requested in 42 CFR 434. 70. ] 
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B. DMAS shalf ensure that data on performance and 
patient results is collected. Specifically, DMAS shalf review, 
which may include on-site reviews, encounter data submitted 
by the HMOs as defined in the contracts. This review shalf 
include, but not be limited to: 

1. [ Eiixsessive or iAawrepriate servises Whether 
services were properly authorized or excluded 1 , 
2. [ UAa!lllwrizefi or e*Gfflflefl seriiees The adequacy 
and appropriateness of services provided or denied 1 , 
and 

3. Analysis of possible trends in increases or reductions 
of services. 

C. DMAS shall ensure that quality outcomes information is 
provided to [ prastitioAeFO HMOs 1 . DMAS shalf ensure that 
changes which are determined to be needed as a result of 
quality control or utilization review are made. 

12 VAG 30-120-410. Sanctions. 

A. If DMAS determines that an HMO is not in compliance 
with state or federal taws, regulations [ (including but not 
limited to the requirements of or pursuant to 12 VAG 30-120-
380 F) 1 , or their Medalllon If contract, DMAS may impose 
sanctions on the HMO. The sanctions may include but are 
not limited to: 

1. Limiting enrollments in the HMO by freezing voluntary 
recipient enrollments, 

2. Freezing DMAS assignment of recipients to the HMO, 

3. [ bimit Limiting 1 HMO enrollment to specific areas, 

4. Denying, withholding, or retracting payments to the 
HMO, 

5. Terminating the HMO's Medallion If contract, and 

6. [ DrafliAg Developing 1 procedures with which the 
HMO must comply to eliminate specific sanctions. 

B. In the event DMAS determines that the HMO poses a 
threat to the fife or safety of a recipient, that Medallion If 
provider may be terminated from participation in the Virginia 
Medicaid program without prior notice. In accordance with 
the terms of the contract, HMOs shalf have the right to appeal 
any adverse action taken by DMAS. For appeal procedures 
not addressed by the contract, the HMO shalf proceed in 
accordance with the appeals provisions of the Virginia Public 
Procurement Act, § 11-35 et seq. of the Code of Virginia [, 
aAfi tho pre,4sioAs iA DMAS' appUsae/o reguta#oA or poUsy 
forpre•.1fier appealo . Pursuantto §§ 11-70 and 11-71 of the 
Code of Virginia, DMAS establishes an administrative 
appeals procedure, which the HMO may elect to appeal 
decisions on disputes arising dunng the performance of its 
contract. Pursuant to§ 11-71 of the Code of Virginia, such 
appeal shalf be heard by a hearing officer; however, in no 
event shalf the hearing officer be an employee of DMAS. In 
conducting the administrative appeal, the hearing officer shall 
follow the hearing procedure used in§ 9-6.14:12 of the Code 
of Virginia 1 . 
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C. When DMAS determines that an HMO committed one 
of the violations specified in 12 VAG 30-120-400 A. DMAS 
shalf implement the provisions of 42 CFR 434.67. 

1. Any sanction imposed pursuant to this subsection 
shalf be binding upon the HMO. 

2. The HMO shalf have the appeals rights for any 
sanction imposed pursuant to this subsection as 
specified in 42 CFR 434.67. 

12 VAG 30-120-420: Client grievances. 

[ A. The HMOs shalf, whenever a client's request for 
covered services is reduced, denied, or terminated, provide a 
written notice in accordance with the notice provisions 
specified in 12 VAG 30-110-70 through 12 VAG 30-110-100, 
federal requirements at 42 CFR 431.211, 431.213 and 
431.214, and any other statutory or regulatory requirements.] 

[ A. B. 1 Disputes between the HMO and the client 
concerning [ any aspect of service delivery, Including ] 
medical necessity [ and specialist referral, ] shalf be resolved 
through a [ verbal informal or written formal ] grievance 
process operated by the HMO [ or th/nugh the DMAS appeals 
process]. 

[ 1. ·A written request for a grievance or appeal shalf be 
filed within 30 days of the client's receipt of the notice of 
adverse action, in accordance with the time limit for 
requests for appeal specified in 12 VAG 30-110-160 and 
12 VAG 30-110-170. Any written communication from a 
client or his representative which clearly expresses that 
he wants to present his case to a reviewing authority 
shalf constitute an appeal request. 

2. In compliance with 14 VAG 5-210-70 H 4, pending 
resolution of a written grievance filed by a client, 
coverage shalf not be terminated for the client for any 
reason which is the subject of the written complaint. In 
addition, .the HMO shalf not terminate or reduce services 
as specified in 12 VAG 30-110-100.] 

[ 8, C. 1 The HMO shalf develop written materials 
describing the informal and formal grievance system and its 
procedures and operation. 

[ Gc D. 1 The HMO shall designate a person or persons to 
be responsible for the receipt and timely processing of client 
grievances. [ The HMO must maintain a grievance Jog 
summarizing each grievance. The grievance log shall 
capture the dates of receipt and decision and the nature of 
the decision. The Jog sl)all distinguish between Medicaid 
clients and commercial clients unless the HMO maintains a 
separate system for Medicaid clients. 1 

[ {). E. ] AI the time of enrollment [ and at the time of any 
adverse actions ] , the HMO shall notify the client, in writing, 
that: 

1. Medical necessity [ , specialist referral or other 
service delivery ] issues may be resolved through a 
system of informal and formal grievances, [ and lila! I!Je 
GlieAt is eA!Wefi to. appeal within ] the [ FIMO's actioR 
fiireo#j• to HMO or through the ] OMAS [ client appeals 
process 1 , [ami] 
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2. Clients have the right to appeal directly to DMAS [,if 
theJ' eeNeve that the HMO is lntetfefinfl with their Fifjht te 
freeoom ef eiJeiee for a family seNiees wevifler. , and 1 
[ 3. The HMO shall prompt/)! provide grievance forms 
and written procedures to clients who wish to register 
written grievances. 

F. The HMO shall, within two days of receipt of any written 
request for a grievance, provide DMAS with a copy of the 
request. 1 

[ fi-e G. 1 The HMO shall issue informal grievance decisions 
within seven days from the date of initial receipt of the 
grievance. The infonnal decision is not required to be in 
writing. 

[ The HMO must maintain a ytievanee /efl summari>inf! 
eaeR yFievaRee. J:Re gRev-aRee leg shaN eapffJFB the Gates of 
reeei{JI anfi dt!eisien anfi the nature ef the fieeisien. The /eff 
sRaU GJistiRfJI:JlsR l:Jef:J.•leeR Medieaid s!ieRf.s aRfi eemmereia.' 
elieRts I:JR.'ess #=le I=IMO malRtaiRS a BefJBfate sy-stem fer 
Mefiieaifi eNents. 1 

[ f'., H. 1 The HMO shall issue formal grievance decisions 
within 14 days from the date of initial receipt [ of the formal 
grievance 1 . The formal decision shall be required to be in 
writing [, and shall include but is not limited to: 

1. The decision reached by the HMO, 

2. The reasons for the decision, 

3. The policies or procedures which provide the basis 
for the decision, and 

4. A clear explanation of further appeal rights. 

/. The HMO shall provide DMAS with a copy of its formal 
grievance decision concurrently with the provision of the 
decision to the client. 

J. An expedited grievance decision shall be issued within 
48 hours in case of medical emergencies, in which delay 
could result in death or serious injury to a client. Written 
confirmation of the decision shall promptly follow the verbal 
notice of the expedited decision. 1 

[ G, K. 1 Any [ fe~ma! afJ{Jea! grievance 1 decision by the 
HMO may be appealed by the client to DMAS in accordance 
with the department's Client Appeals regulations [ f at 1 12 
VAG 30-110-10 [ et seq.) through 12 VAG 30-110-380 1 . 
DMAS shall conduct an evidentiary hearing [ anfi FeSeNes 
the Fight te affitm, meriify, er rejeet in accordance with the 
Client Appeals regulations at 12 VAG 30-110-10 through 12 
VAG 30-110-380 and shall not base any appealed decision 
on the record established by 1 any [ fe~ma! a(Jpea/ grievance 1 
decision of the HMO. The HMO shall ( ee resf!ensiele fer 
aetiens requirefi GJ' a comply with the 1 DMAS appeal 
decision. The DMAS decision in these malters shall be final 
and shall not be subject to appeal by the HMO. 

[ #, L. 1 A client may [ , in lieu ef uWi>inf} tile HMO's afJ{Jea/ 
preeess, 1 appeal directly to DMAS in accordance with the 
department's [ client 1 appeal process. DMAS shall conduct 
an evidentiary hearing [ aA<i reserves the Fifjht te affi~m, 
meriify, er rejeet in accordance with the Client Appeals 

regulations at 12 VAG 30-110-10 through 12 VAG 30-110-
380 and shall not base any appealed decision on the record 
established by 1 any decision of the HMO. The HMO shall [ 
be res{Jensie/e fer ae#ens required IJy a comply with the 1 
DMAS appeal decision. The DMAS decision in these matters 
shall be final and shall not be subject to appeal by the HMO. 

( M. The HMO shall provide information necessary for any 
DMAS appeal within timeframes established by DMAS. 1 
[ 12 \ 1AC 3Q 12Q 43Q. Mecia.\'ien II {Jhase ill. 

Tf:le MedaUleR n P.rOf}fflm ~·.~w Go tmplemeAteEI iR pf:Jases. 
DMAS wiU, in tile fiFSt ~IJase, imf!lement tFie flregram fer all 
s!ieRf.s iR a spesifis ar:ea ef the Cemmem'/eaf.#t &xeefJl these 
reeei1<inf! Medieare insuranse se·.<erage. DAM$ wiN nelify 
these MeEiisare elients anri slients in ether areas ef the state 
(!tier te the iiRfl/emenlatien dates fer suhseeyuenl f!ilases. 
Pro·,r:'Gers v:iN at-sa he giveR ati'>'BRGe Re#tisa#eR of 
imf!lementa#en fer s"eseeyuent flAases. DAM$ has the U. $. 
Hea/lh Care F'inaneing Adminisi"atien's (HCFA} awreva/ fer 
imp!emeR~iRg MeEf.a.WoA !.' iR phases. Tf:le first phase wi# Be 
iFA(Jiementea Jae"aF)' 1, 1996. 1 

Document Incorporated by Reference 

The Art of Readable Writing, Rudolf Flesh, Ph.D., revised 
197 4, Collier Books. 
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COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA 
E.M. MILLER. JR 910 CAPITOL STREET 

ACTING REGISTRAR OF REGUlATIONS 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

General Assembly Building 
RICHMOND. VIRGINIA 23219 

JANE 0. CHAFFIN 
DEPUTY REGIS1RAR 

~004)786·3591 

FAX (804) 692-0625 

Volume 13, Issue 5 

November 14, 1996 

Joseph M. Teefey, Director 
Department of Medical Assistance Services 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300 
Richmond, Virginia 23219 

Dear Mr. Teefey: 

This letter acknowledges ·receipt of the Medallion II Regulations filed by the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services. 

As required by§ 9-6.14:4.1 C 4(c) of the Code of Virginia, I have determined that 
subdivision A 5 of 12 'I AC 30-120-400 does not differ materially from regulations 
required by federalla•.v and is, therefore, exempt from the operation of Article 2 of the 
Administrative Process Act. 

Sincerely, 

E. M. Miller, Jr. 
Acting R~gistrar of Regulations 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97·114; Filed Novembers, 1996, 11:05 a.m. 

Monday, November 25, 1996 
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BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 85-20-10 et seq. Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathy, 
Podiatry, Chiropractic, Clinical Psychology and 
Acupuncture (amending 18 VAC 85-20-90). 

Statutory Authorjk §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2900 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 25, 1996. 

Summary: 

The current regulation prohibits the use of Schedule Ill 
and IV amphetamine-/ike drugs in the treatment of 
obesity, except "as a short term adjunct to a therapeutic 
regimen of weight reduction." The adopted amendment 
modifies this language to permit the use of such drugs 
for long-term treatment of obesity, contingent on certain 
conditions. These conditions include: (i) an initial 

. physical examination and interpreted EKG; (ii) a multi­
modal treatment regimen that includes diet and exercise; 
(iii) monthly evaluation with appropriate tests for adverse 
reactions; (iv) restriction on the supply of drugs that can 
be prescribed at any one time; and (v) continued 
progress toward achieving or maintaining a target 
weight. 

Summarv of Public Comment and Agency Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Board of Medicine, 6606 West 
Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, 
telephone (804) 662-7423. 

18 VAC 85-20-90. Pharmacotherapy for weight Joss. 

A. It shall be unprofessional conduct for a physician to 
prescribe amphetamine, Schedule II, for the purpose of 
weight reduction or control. 

B. It shall a1se be unprofessional conduct for a physician 
to prescribe [ amphelaR'liAe like anorectic] drugs, Schedules 
Ill [ am:I-W through VI] , for the purpose of weight reduction 
or control in the treatment of obesity, e><eept as a short term 
adjunet te a therapeutio regimen ef weight resuetion. unless 
the following conditions are met: 

1. A comprehensive history [ami, ] physical examination 
[ ifl, and interpreted electrocardiogram are ] performed 
and reconded at the time of initiation of treatment for 
obesity by the prescribing physician; 

2. A diet and exercise program for weight loss is 
prescribed and reconded; 

3. The patient is weighed at least once a month, at 
which time a recording shall be made of blood pressure, 
pulse, and f the result of a GB!tliae pu!-moRary evaf~a#oA 
any other tests as may be necessary for monitoring 
potential adverse effects of drug therapy] ; 

4. No more than a 30-day supply of such drugs shall be 
prescribed or dispensed at any one time; 

5. No such drugs st1all be prescdbed or dispensed for 
more than 90 days unless the patient: 

a. Has a recorded weight loss of at least 12 pounds in 
the first 90 days [of therapy]; 

b. Has continued progress towand [ achieving or 
maintaining] a target weight; and 

c. Has no [ significant ] adverse effects from the 
prescribed program. 

C. It shall be unprofessional conduct for a physician to 
prescribe amphetamine-like substances for use as an 
anorectic agent in children under 12 years of age. 

VAR. Doc. No. R97-125; Filed November 6, 1996, 1:05 p.m. 

******** 

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 85-100-10 et seq. Certification 
of Radiological Technology Practitioners (REPEALED). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-2956.8:1 and 54.1-
2956.8:2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 25, 1996. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 803 of the 1994 Acts of the 
Assembly, the Board of Medicine has repealed its 
regulations governing the certification of radiologic 
technologists practitioners. Amendments to §§ 54.1-
2956.8:1 and 54.1-2956.8:2 of the Code of Virginia 
repealed the statutory authority for certification and 
enacted a statutory mandate for licensure effective 
January 1, 1997. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-126; Filed November 6, 1996, 1:04 p.m. 

******** 

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 85-101-10 et seq. Regulations 
Governing the Licensure of Radiologic Technologists 
and Radiologic Technologists-Limited. 

Statutory Authonty §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-2956.8:1 and 54.1-
2956.8:2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 25, 1996. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 803 of the 1994 Acts of the 
Assembly, the Board of Medicine has adopted 
regulations governing the licensure of radiologic 
technologists. Amendments to §§ 54.1-2956.8:1 and 
54.1-2956.8:2 mandated licensure for certain 
practitioners by January 1, 1997. 

The final regulations set forth qualifications and fees for 
licensure by education and examination or by 
endorsement for radiologic technologists and by 
education or endorsement for radiologic t?chnologists-
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limited. Regulations also establish renewal requirements 
and criteria for practice by licensees and for supervision 
of the limited licensees. 

In response to comments received from the public and 
the Governor's Office, the board amended the proposed 
regulation to delete the requirement for current ARRT 
certification for licensure by endorsement from another 
state and delete the requirements for continuing 
education as a requirement for renewal of licensure for a 
radiologic technologist. 

The regulation for submission of the application, fee and 
credentials no less than 30 days prior to the date of the 
examination was amended to eliminate the "30-day" 
requirement, as it was unnecessary and misleading. 

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained 
from Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Board of Medicine, 6606 West 
Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, 
telephone (804) 662-7423. 

CHAPTER 101. 
REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE LICENSURE OF 
RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGISTS ANO RADIOLOGIC 

TECHNOLOGISTS-LIMITED. 

PART I. 
GENERAL PROVISIONS. 

18 VAG 85-101-10. Definitions. 

In addition to definitions in § 54.1-2900 of the Code of 
Virginia, the following words and terms, when used in this 
chapter, shall have the following meanings, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

[ "ARRT" meaRs the AmerieaR Registry ef Ra<iielegie 
Teelmeleflisls. 1 

"ACRRT" means the American Chiropractic Registry of 
Radiologic Technologists. 

[ "ARRT" means the American Registry of Radiologic 
Technologists. 1 

"ASRT" means the American Society of Radiologic 
Technologists. 

"Direct supervision" means that a licensed radiologic 
technologist, doctor of medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic or 
podiatry is present and is fully responsible for the activities 
performed by radiologic personnel. 

"Direction" means the delegation of radiologic functions to 
be performed upon a patient from a licensed doctor of 
medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, or podiatry, to a licensed 
radiologic technologist or a radiologic technologist-limited for 
a specific purpose and confined to a specific anatomical 
area, that will be performed under the direction of and in 
continuing communication with the delegating practitioner. 
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"Traineeship" means a period of activity during which an 
unlicensed radiologic technologist, who is seeking licensure, 
works under the direct supervision of a practitioner approved 
by the board. 

18 VAG 85-101-20. Public Participation Guidelines. 

18 VAG 85-10-10 et seq., Regulations Governing Public 
Participation Guidelines, provide for involvement of the public 
in the development of all regulations of the Virginia Board of 
Medicine. 

PART II. 
LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS - RADIOLOGIC 

TECHNOLOGIST. 

18 VAC 85-101-30. Educational requirements for radiologic 
technologists. 

An applicant for licensure as a radiologic technologist shall 
be a graduate of an educational program acceptable to the 
ARRT for the purpose of sitting for the ARRT certification 
examination and shall submit, with the required application 
and fee, documented evidence of his graduation from such a 
program. 

18 VAG 85-101-40. Examination requirements. 

A. An applicant for board licensure by examination shall: 

1. Meet the educational requirements specified in 18 
VAG 85-101-30. 

2. Submit the required application, fee, and credentials 
to the board [ Re less thaR 3Q fia;'B prier te the flate ef 
examiRa#eR er traiReeship 1 . 

B. The licensure examination for the radiologic 
technologist shall be the ARRT certification examination with 
minimum passing score determined by the ARRT. 

C. An applicant who fails the examination shall follow the 
policies and procedures of the ARRT for successive 
attempts. 

18 VAC 85-101-50. Traineeship for unlicensed graduate. 

A. An unlicensed graduate of an approved program may 
be employed as a trainee under the direct supervision of a 
licensed radiologic technologist, doctor of medicine, 
osteopathy, chiropractic, or podiatry. 

B. The graduate shall submit an application for a 
traineeship to the board for review and approval by the 
Chairman of the Radiologic Technology Advisory Committee 
or his designee. 

C. The traineeship shall terminate upon receipt by the 
candidate of the licensure examination results. The 
unlicensed graduate may reapply for a new trainee ship while 
awaittng to take the next examination. 

D. An unlicensed graduate may serve in a traineeship for 
a period not to exceed two years or through three 
unsuccessful attempts of the licensure examination, 
whichever comes first. After such time, the graduate shall 
apply to the Radiologic Technology Advisory Committee for 
approval to continue in practice as a trainee. 

Monday, November 25, 1996 
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PART Ill. 
LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS- RADIOLOGIC 

TECHNOLOGIST-LIM/TED. 

18 VAC 85-101-60. Application for licensure. 

An applicant for licensure as a radiologic technologist­
limited shall submit the required application and fee as 
prescribed by the board and evidence of completion of 
training as required in 18 VAG 85-101-70. 

18 VAG 85-101-70. Educational requirements for radiologic 
technologists-limited. 

An applicant for licensure as a radiologic technologist­
limited shall be trained by one of the following: 

1. Successful completion of a program with a minimum 
of the following course work: 

a. Image Production/Equipment Operation - 25 clock 
hours 

b. Radiation Protection - 15 clock hours 

c. Radiographic procedures in the anatomical area of 
the radiologic technologist-limited's practice - 10 clock 
hours 

2. An ACRRT approved program. 

PART IV. 
LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT. 

18 VAG 85-101-80. Endorsement requirements for radiologic 
technologist. 

A. A radiologic technologist who has an unrestricted 
license in the United States, its territories, the District of 
Columbia, or Canada by an examination equivalent to that 
required in Virginia at the time of licensure and who has met 
all other requirements of the board may, upon 
recommendation of the Radiologic Technology Advisory 
Committee, be licensed by endorsement. Such a person 
shall submit to the board, along with a completed application 
and required fee, [ 7-4, ] verification of a current, unrestricted 
license in another jurisdiction. 

[ 2. 'leFifisatioA sf GNrrer>t eert'liealieR frem tile ARRT. ] 

B. A radiologic technologist who has practiced 
satisfactorily in Virginia for five or more years may, upon 
recommendation of the Radiologic Technology Advisory 
Committee, be licensed by endorsement. Such a person 
shall submit to the board, along with a completed application 
and required fee, evidence of his scope of practice as 
documented by a supervising radiologist and a supervising 
radiologic technologist. A radiologic technologist may be 
initially Hcensed by endorsement under this subsection until 
January 1, 1999. 

18 VAC 85-101-90. Endorsement of previous practice for 
radiologic technologists-limited. 

A radiologic technologist-limited applicant who has 
practiced satisfactorily in Virginia for the past two consecutive 
years as a radiologic technologist-limited and who submits 
evidence from a licensed doctor of medicine, osteopathy, 
chiropractic, or podiatry attesting to such practice shall be 

licensed by endorsement. A radiologic technologist-limited 
may be initially licensed by endorsement under this section 
until January 1, 1999. 

PARTV. 
PRACTICE OF RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGISTS. 

18 VAG 85-101-100. General requirements. 

All services rendered by a radiologic technologist shall be 
perfonned only upon direction of a licensed doctor of 
medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, or podiatry. 

18 VAC 85-101-110. Individual responsibilities to patients 
and to licensed doctor of medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, 
or podiatry. 

A. The radiologic technologist's responsibilities are to 
administer and document procedures within the limit of his 
professional knowledge, judgment and skills. 

B. A radiologic technologist shall maintain continuing 
communication with the delegating practitioner. 

18 VAG 85-101-120. Supervisory responsibilities. 

A. A radiologic technologist shall supervise no more than 
four radiologic technologists-limited or three trainees at any 
one time. 

B. A radiologic technologist shall be responsible for any 
action of persons perfonning radiologic functions under the 
radiologic technologist's supervision or direction. 

C. A radiologic technologist may not delegate radiologic 
procedures to any unlicensed personnel except those 
activities that are available without prescription in the public 
domain to include but not limited to preparing the patient for 
radiologic procedures and post radiologic procedures. Such 
nonlicensed personnel shall not perfonn those patient care 
functions that require professional judgment or discretion. 

PART VI. 
PRACTICE OF RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGIST-LIMITED. 

18 VAG 85-101-130. General requirements. 

A radiologic technologist-limited is pennitted to perfonn 
radiologic functions within his capabilities and the anatomical 
limits of his training. A radiologic technologist-limited shall 
not instill contrast media during radiologic examinations. The 
radiologic technologist-limited is responsible to a licensed 
radiologic technologist, doctor of medicine, osteopathy, 
chiropractic, or podiatry. 

18 VAG 85-101-140. Individual responsibilities to patients 
and licensed radiologic technologist, doctor of medicine, 
osteopathy, chiropractic, or podiatry. 

A. The initial patient visit shall be made by a licensed 
radiologic technologist, doctor of medicine, osteopathy, 
chiropractic, or podiatry. 

B. The radiologic technologist-limited's first procedure with 
the patient shall only be made after verbal or written 
communication, or both, with the licensed radiologic 
technologist, doctor of medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, or 
podiatry. 
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C. The radiologic technologist-limited's procedures shall 
be made under direct supervision. 

D. A radiologic technologist-ltmited, acffng within the 
scope of his practice, may delegate nonradiologic procedures 
to an unlicensed person, including but not limited to preparing 
the patient for radiologic procedures and post radiologic 
procedures. Such nonlicensed personnel shall not perform 
those patient care functions that require professional 
judgment or discretion. 

PART VII. 
RENEWAL OF LICENSURE. 

18 VAC 85-101-150. Biennial renewal of license. 

A. A radiologic technologist or radiologic technologist­
limited who intends to continue practice shall renew his 
license biennially during his birth month In each odd 
numbered year and pay to the board the prescribed renewal 
fee. 

[ B. On the l'enewa.' appHeaUen, a rafliele[lie leelme/egist 
shaN vet#)' that his ARRT eeriHieatien is eurrent er that riurinfJ 
the hienniflm, he has eemplf!teri 24 heflrs ef eenlinfliRfJ 
erifJea#en, 12 ef'lil>ieh shaN !Je ASRT apfHB'leri. ] 

[ G.- B. ] A license which has not been renewed by the first 
day of the month following the month in which renewal is 
required shall be expired. 

[ 9, C. ] An additional fee to cover administrative costs for 
processing a late applicau·on shall be imposed by the board. 

PART VIII. 
FEES. 

18 VAC 85-101-160. Fees required by the board. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section 
shall not be refundable. 

B. Application or examination. 

1. The application fee for radiologic technologist 
licensure shall be $100. 

2. The application fee for the radiologic technologist­
limited licensure shall be $50. 

3. The fees for taking all required examinations shall be 
paid directly to the examination services. 

4. Upon written request from an applicant to withdraw 
his application for licensure by examination, a fee of $25 
shall be retained by the Board of Medicine as a 
processing fee. 

C. Licensure renewal and reinstatement. 

1. The fee for license renewal for a radiologic 
technologist shall be $75 and for a radiologic 
technologist-limited shall be $25. 

2. An additional fee of $25 to cover administrative costs 
for processing a late renewal application shall be 
imposed by the board. 

3. The fee for reinstatement of a lapsed license which 
has expired for a period of two years or more shall be 
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$50 and the respective licensure fee and shall be 
submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement. 

4. The fee for reinstatement of a revoked license shall 
be $500. 

D. Other fees. 

1. The application fee for a traineeship shall be $25. 

2. The fee for a Jetter of good standing or verification to 
another state for licensure shall be $10. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering 18 VAG 85-101-
10 et seq., Regulations Governing the Licensure of 
Radiologic Technologists and Radiologic Technologists­
Limited, are not being published due to the large number; 
however, the name of each form is listed below. The forms 
are available for public inspection at the Board of Medicine, 
6606 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia, or at 
the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly 
Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

Instructions for Completing an Application for Licensure as a 
Radiologic Technologist Practitioner By Examination (11/96). 

Application for a License as a Radiologic Technologist (DHP-
030-081, Rev.11/96). 

Traineeship Application- Statement of Authorization (11/96). 

Instructions for Completing an Application for Licensure as a 
Radiologic Technologist Practitioner By Endorsement 
(11/96). 

Instructions for Completing an Application for Licensure as a 
Radiologic Technologist-Limited (11/96). 

Application for a License as a Radiologic Technologist­
Limited (Rev. 11/96). 

VA.R Doc. No. R97-127; Filed November 6, 1996, 1:04 p.m. 
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STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

AT RICHMOND, OCTOBER 24, 1996 

APPLICATION OF 

COMMONWEALTH CHESAPEAKE CORPORATION 

For approval of expenditures 
for new generation facilities 
pursuant to Va. Code§ 56-234.3 
and for a ceriificate of public 
convenience and necessity 
pursuant to Va. Code§ 56-265.2 

CASE NO. PUE960224 

ORDER FOR NOTICE AND HEARING 

On September 16, 1996, Commonwealth Chesapeake 
Corporation ("Commonwealth Chesapeake" or "the 
Company") filed an application with supporting testimony and 
exhibits requesting the State Corporation Commission to 
approve, under Virginia Code § 56-234.3, the Company's 
proposed expenditures for construction of a generating facility 
("Proposed Facility") consisting of three combustion turbines 
with an aggregated nominal rating of approximately 
300 megawatts ("MW"), to be located in Accomack County, 
Virginia, and to grant a certificate of convenience and 
necessity for the facility under Virginia Code§ 56-265.2. 

Commonwealth Chesapeake is currently organized under the 
laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia as a general business 
corporation. Counsel for Commonwealth Chesapeake has 
represented to Commission Staff that the Company intends 
to become a public service corporaf1on or limited partnership 
prior to certification. The owners of the Company are 
R. Peter Lalor and William C. Daley. The Company 
anticipates that one or more additional shareholders or 
partners will purchase an interest in the Proposed Facility 
prior to financing of the project. 

In its filing, the Company states that it has responded to a 
March 29, 1996, solicitation from Old Dominion Electric 
Cooperative for power supply beginning in 1998, and that it 
intends to respond to an August 23, 1996, solicitation from 
Delmarva Power & Light Company for capacity and energy, 
capacity only, or load reduction beginning in 1997. 

Commonwealth Chesapeake asserts that its application, 
direci testimony, and exhibits demonstrate that good cause 
exists for a waiver of the Commission's 15-month approval 
and waiting period required prior to construction of new 
generating facilities of 100 MW or more. The Company also 
notes that in order to be prepared to serve the need for 
additional generation on the Delmarva Peninsula in a timely 
manner, it must be in a position to issue to the contractor for 
the Proposed Facility an unconditional notice to proceed by 
December ·15, 1996. 

Commonwealth Chesapeake raises several issues with 
regard to the Commission's jurisdiction over the Company. 
Commonwealth Chesapeake seeks a determination that it is 
not subject to this Commission's jurisdiction under the 
following provisions of Title 56 of the Virginia Code: 
Chapter 1 --Article 5, Chapter 3, Chapter 4, and Chapter 10-
- Articles 1.1, 2, 2.1, 3, and 4. The Company also seeks 
determinations that any entity which lends money, credit, or 

services to the Company is not by virtue thereof a public 
service utility, an electric utility, a public service company or a 
public service corporation under Virginia Code §§ 13.1-
620(D) and (E) and 56-1, and that the granting of a lien or 
security interest in the Company's assets does not require 
Commission approval. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the 
application, is of the opinion and hereby finds that: 

(1) Public notice of the application should be given and 
that a public hearing should be scheduled to receive 
Commonwealth Chesapeake's application; and 

(2) Members of the Commission's Staff should investigate 
Commonwealth Chesapeake's proposal and present their 
findings to the Commission. Accordingly, 

IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The certificate application for the three combustion 
turbine units to be constructed in Accomack County, Virginia 
be assigned Case No. PUE960224. 

(2) A public hearing for the purpose of receiving evidence 
relevant to the application is scheduled for January 23, 1997, 
at 10:00 a.m. in the Commission's Second Floor Courtroom. 

(3) On or before November 27, 1996, any person desiring 
to participate as a Protestant, as defined in SCC Rule 4:6, 
shall file an original and twenty (20) copies of a notice of 
protest as provided by SCC Rule 5:16(a) with the Clerk of the 
State Corporation Commission, c/o Document Control 
Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218, and serve 
a copy upon the Company's counsel, Edward L. Flippen, 
Esquire, and Kodwo Ghartey-Tagoe, Esquire, Mays & 
Valentine, P.O. Box 1122, Richmond, Virginia 23208-1122, 
and upon all Protestants. 

(4) Within five (5) days of receipt of any notice of protest, 
Commonwealth Chesapeake shall serve upon each 
Protestant a copy of all material now or hereinafter filed with 
the Commission and also provide each Protestant a copy of 
this Order. 

(5) Any person who expects to submit evidence, cross­
examine witnesses, or otherwise participate in the proceeding 
as a Protestant, pursuant to SCC Rule 4:6 shall file, on or 
before December 19, 1996, an original and twenty (20) 
copies of a protest with the Clerk of the State Corporation 
Commission, c/o Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, 
Richmond, Virginia 23218, referring to Case No. PUE960224, 
and shall simultaneously serve a copy thereof upon the 
Company's counsel, Edward L. Flippen, Esquire, and Kodwo 
Ghartey-Tagoe, Esquire, at the counsels' address set forth 
above, and upon all Protestants. The Protest shall set forth 
(i) a precise statement of the interest of the Protestant in the 
proceeding; (ii) a full and clear statement of the facts which 
the Protestant is prepared to prove by competent evidence; 
and (iii) a statement of the specific relief sought and the legal 
basis therefor. Any corporate entity that wishes to submit 
evidence, cross-examine witnesses, or otherwise participate 
as a Protestant must be represented by legal counsel in 
accordance with the requirement of Rule 4:8 of the 
Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure. 
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(6) Any person desiring to comment in writing on the 

application may do so by directing such comments on or 
before December 19, 1996, to the Clerk of the Commission to 
the address noted above and by serving a copy upon 
Commonwealth Chesapeake's counsel and upon all 
Protestants. Any person desiring to make a statement at the 
public hearing either for or against the application, need only 
appear in the Commission's Courtroom at 9:45a.m. on the 
day of the hearing and identify himself or herself to the Bailiff 
as a public witness. 

(7) On or before December 19, 1996, each Protestant 
shall file with the Commission an original and twenty (20) 
copies of the prepared testimony and exhibits the Protestant 
intends to present at the January 23, 1997 hearing and shall 
simultaneously serve a copy upon the Company's counsel 
and upon all Protestants. 

(8) On or before January 9, 1997, the Commission Staff 
shall file an original and twenty (20) copies of the prepared 
testimony and exhibits Staff intends to present at the public 
hearing and serve one (1) copy upon the Company and upon 
all Protestants. 

(9) On or before January 16, 1997, Commonwealth 
Chesapeake shall file an original and twenty (20) copies of all 
testimony it expects to introduce in rebuttal to all direct 
prefiled testimony and exhibits; additional rebuttal evidence 
may be presented without prefiling, provided it is in response 
to evidence which was not prefiled but elicited at the time of 
hearing and, provided further the need for additional rebuttal 
evidence is timely addressed by motion during the hearing 
and leave to present said evidence is granted by the 
Commission. A copy of the prefiled rebuttal evidence shall 
be served upon all Protestants on or before January 16, 
1997. 

(10) Commonwealth Chesapeake respond to written 
interrogatories with five (5) working days after receipt of 
same. Protestants shall respond to the written interrogatories 
of Commonwealth Chesapeake, other Protestants, and Staff 
within five (5) working days after receipt of same. Protestants 
shall provide to Commonwealth Chesapeake, other 
Protestants, and Staff any work papers or document used in 
preparation of their filed testimony promptly upon request. 
Except as modified above, discovery shall be in accordance 
with Part VI of the sec Rules. 

(11) Commonwealth Chesapeake make a copy of its 
application available for public inspection during regular 
business hours, at the Island Library, Main Street, 
Chincoteague, Virginia 23336. 

(12) On or before November 20, 1996, Commonwealth 
Chesapeake shall cause the following public notice to be 
published as display advertising (not classified) once a week 
for two (2) consecutive weeks in newspapers of general 
circulation throughout the eastern shore of Virginia: 

NOTICE TO THE PUBLIC OF AN 
APPLICATION TO CONSTRUCT NEW 

ELECTRIC GENERATION FACILITIES BY 
COMMONWEALTH CHESAPEAKE CORPORATION 

On September 16, 1996, 
Chesapeake Corporation 
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Chesapeake" or "the Company") filed an application 
with supporting testimony and exhibits requesting 
the State Corporation Commission to approve, 
under Virginia Code § 56-234.3, the Company's 
proposed expenditures tor construction of a 
generating facility ("Proposed Facility") consisting of 
three combustion turbines with an aggregated 
nominal rating of approximately 300 megawatts 
("MW''), to be located in Accomack County, Virginia, 
and to grant a certificate of convenience and 
necessity for the facility under Virginia Code § 56-
265.2. 

Commonwealth Chesapeake is currently 
organized under the laws of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia as a general business corporation. Counsel 
for Commonwealth Chesapeake has represented to 
Commission Staff that the Company intends to 
become a public service corporation or limited 
partnership prior to certification. The owners of the 
Company are R. Peter Lalor and William C. Daley. 
The Company anticipates that one or more 
additional shareholders or partners will purchase an 
interest in the Proposed Facility prior to financing of 
the p raj ect. 

In its application, Commonwealth Chesapeake 
seeks determinations relative to the Commission's 
jurisdiction under the Virginia Code over the 
Company. 

The Commission has scheduled a public hearing 
to commence at 10:00 a.m. on January 23, 1997, in 
the Commission's Second Floor Courtroom, Tyler 
Building, 1300 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 
for the purpose of receiving evidence related to 
Commonwealth Chesapeake's application. 

Individuals with disabilities who require an 
accommodation to participate in the hearing may 
contact the Commission at 1-800-552-7945 (voice) 
or 1-804-371-9206 (TDD). Individuals requesting 
accommodations should contact the Commission at 
either of these numbers at least seven days before 
the scheduled hearing date. 

A copy of Commonwealth Chesapeake's 
application is available for public inspection during 
regular business hours at its the Island Library, Main 
Street, Chincoteague, Virginia 23336, and at the 
SCC Document Control Center, First Floor, Tyler 
Building, 1300 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia. 

Any person desiring to comment in writing on the 
application may do so by directing such comments 
on or before December 19, 1996, to the Clerk of the 
Stale Corporation Commission, c/o Document 
Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 
23218, referring to Case No. PUE960224, and 
serving a copy upon the Company's counsel, 
Edward L. Flippen, Esquire, and Kodwo Ghartey­
Tagoe, Esquire, Mays & Valentine, P.O. Box 1122, 
Richmond, Virginia 23208-1122, and upon all 
Protestants. Any person desiring to make a 
statement at the public hearing, either for or against 
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the application need only appear in the 
Commission's Courtroom at 9:45a.m. on the day of 
the hearing and identify himself or herself to the 
Bailiff as a public witness. 

On or before November 27, 1996, any person 
desiring to participate as a Protestant, as defined in 
SCC Rule 4:6, shall file an original and twenty (20) 
copies of a notice of protest as provided by sec 
Rule 5:16(a), and serve a copy upon 
Commonwealth Chesapeake's counsel at the 
address set forth above, and upon all Protestants. 

Any person who expects to submit evidence, 
cross-examine witnesses or otherwise participate in 
the proceeding as a Protestant, pursuant to SCC 
Rule 4:6, shall file, on or before December 19, 1996, 
an original and twenty (20) copies of a protest with 
the Clerk of the State Corporation Commission, c/o 
Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, 
Richmond, Virginia 23218, referring to Case 
No. PUE960224, and shall simultaneously serve a 
copy thereof upon Commonwealth Chesapeake's 
counsel at the address set forth above, and upon all 
Protestants. The Protest shall set forth (i) a precise 
statement of the interest of the Protestant in the 
proceeding; (ii) a full and clear statement of the facts 
which the Protestant is prepared to prove by 
competent evidence; and (iii) a statement of the 
specific relief sought and the legal basis therefor. 
Any corporate entity that wishes to submit evidence, 
cross-examine witnesses, or otherwise participate 
as a Protestant must be represented by legal 
counsel in accordance with the requirement ·of 
Rule 4:8 of the Commission's Rules of Practice and 
Procedure. 

On or before December 19, 1996, each Protestant 
shall file with the Commission an original and twenty 
(20) copies of the prepared testimony and exhibits 
the Protestant intends to present at the January 23, 
1997 hearing and shall simultaneously serve a copy 
upon the Company's counsel and upon all 
Protestants. 

AU written communications to the Commission 
regarding this case should refiect Case 
No. PUE960224 and should be directed to 
William J. Bridge, Clerk, State Corporation 
Commission, c/o Document Control Center, P.O. 
Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218 and should be 
filed on or before December 19, 1996. 

COMMONWEALTH CHESAPEAKE CORPORATION 

(13) The public notice contained in ordering 
paragraph (12) above shall be transmitted for publication in 
the Virginia Register. 

(14) On or before November 13, 1996, Commonwealth 
Chesapeake shall serve a copy of its application and this 
Order upon all Virginia investor owned and cooperative 
electric utilities; The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop, 
Secretary of Natural Resources, P.O. Box 1475, Richmond, 
Virginia 23212; and Mr. Thomas L. Hopkins, Director, Air 

Division, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. 
Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240-0009. 

(15) At the commencement of the hearing scheduled 
herein, Commonwealth Chesapeake shall provide the 
Commission proof of publication and notice as directed by 
paragraphs 12 and 14 of this Order. 

AN A TIESTED COPY hereof shall be sent to the 
Company's counsel, Edward L. Flippen, Esquire, and Kodwo 
Ghartey-Tagoe, Esquire, Mays & Valentine, P.O. Box 1122, 
Richmond, Virginia 23208-1122; Edward L. Petrini, Senior 
Assistant Attorney General, Division of Consumer Counsel, 
900 East Main Street, Second Floor, Richmond, Virginia 
23219; and to the Commission's Divisions of Energy 
Regulation, Public Utility Accounting, and Economics and 
Finance. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-111; Filed October 30, 1996, 4:20p.m. 
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FORMS 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

EDITOR'S NOTICE: The following form has been issued by 
the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy. Copies of 
the form may be obtained from Stephen A. Walz, Department 
of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Ninth Street Office Building, 
202 North 9th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
692-3200. 

Tille of Regulation: 4 VAC 25-20-10 et seq. Board of 
Examiners Certification Requirements. 

Advanced First Aid Practical Stations & CPR (Written & 
Practical), DM-BCME-5 (Issued 1 0124196). 

Advanced First Aid 

"Board of CoalUlinine £)UI.Jl).in~T1 
P.O. Draw~r 900 

Bi~ Stone Gap, VA 24219 
. (540)523-814~ 

Practical Stations & CPR (Written & Practical) 

INSTRUCTOR: This fonn mu~t be typed or printed in iuk and submitted to thf.". c.ertilic.ation section prior 
to issua11ce of certifiCRtion. 

F11re- Lower Spinel Cl'R Cl'R 
Name SS# ~ L•• Board Written Practka 

-

-

. 

. 

--
Pass,. P Fail ""f *CPR Written must meet AHA/.-\RC passing score 

1 hereby certify that the training provided meets the requirements of the Board of Coal :\tin in~ E:.:::1mine.n 
~nd that the applicant has satisfactorily demoustl";~.ted the required knowledge of Advanced First ,\id 
Pr~ctic~s and CPR·Obstructed Ain.-ay!. 

Name print~d & signed 
Ccnified First Aid Instructor Certirica.tion ·:-·fumner 

Name printed & signed 
CPR Insuuctor/Ccrut)ring Agent Expiration D,1te 

T\'f Pr'"'.fl'31l«u~,-l 1!11'1 ii<J,;) 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

Symbol Key 
t Indicates entries since last publication of the Virginia Register 

DEPARTMENT OF HEAlTH 

Drinking Water Funding 

Following enactment of the Safe Drinking Water Act 
Amendments of 1996, Congress authorized $1.275 billion in 
capitalization grants to states for 1997. The Virginia 
Department of Health (VDH) expects to receive a portion of 
these funds. In addition to awarding funds for construction 
improvements, VDH may set aside a portion of the funds for 
technical assistance and related activities. Set-aside funds 
will help waterworks owners prepare for future drinking water 
challenges and assure the sustainability of safe drinking 
water. 

Private and public owners of community and nonprofit 
noncommunity waterworks are eligible to apply to VDH for 
loans. VDH will make selections based on conditions such 
as existing public health problems, readiness to proceed, 
funding need, and the availability of matching funds. 
Disadvantaged communities may receive additional 
assistance. 

Interested persons may suggest uses for various set-aside 
funds. Set-asides include small system technical assistance, 
source water protection, viability enhancements, operator 
programs, and general technical assistance. 

The Act also provides for a demonstration project in 
Southwest Virginia in Planning Districts 1 and 2. This will 
allow VDH to loan a portion of the construction funds to a 
regional endowment fund. 

After receiving loan requests and set-aside suggestions, VDH 
will develop a draft Intended Use Plan for public review and 
comment. A public meeting is planned from 2 - 4 p.m. on 
January 7, 1997, in Richmond at the Virginia War Memorial; 
written comments are due by 3 p.m. on January 14. These 
actions will help expedite release of federal funds as soon as 
possible. 

Loan requests and set-aside suggestions are requested by 5 
p.m. on December 11, 1996. Information is available by 
writing, calling, or faxing: 

Thomas B. Gray, P. E. 
Virginia Department of Health 
P.O. Box 2448 
Richmond, Virginia 23218 
Voice: (804) 786-5566 
Fax: (804) 786-5567 

Safe Drinking Water Act Capitalization Grant Set-asides and 
Special Considerations 

From the amounts allotted to states, the following elements 
are available: 

1. Administration of construction revolving loan fund and 
technical assistance 4% 

2. Small system technical assistance 2% 

3. Assistance to state programs 10% 
(with equal match of expenditure at least half of which 
must be additional to that expended in federal FY93) 

a. for the public water system supervision programs 

b. provide technical assistance through source water 
protection programs 

c. develop and implement a capacity development 
strategy under section 1420(c) 

d. for the operator program of section 1419 

4. Combination of the following (with no more than 10% 
in any one area) 15% 

a. loans for acquire land or a conservation easement 
to protect source water 

b. loans for community water systems to implement 
voluntary source water protection measures 

c. loans to implement source water protection 
partnership program 

d. technical and financial assistance to a water system 
as part of the capacity development strategy in section 
1420(c) 

e. make expenditures from grants available in FY 96 
and 97 to delineate and assess source water 
protection areas as mentioned in section 1453 

f. make expenditures to establish and implement 
wellhead protection programs 

5. Of the amounts in the construction revolving loan 
account: 

a. loans to water systems serving fewer than 10,000 
persons 15% 

b. loan subsidies (including forgiveness of principal) to 
disadvantaged communities 30% 

c. loan to a regional endowment in Southwest Virginia 
Planning Districts 1 and 2 not specified 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

t Public Notice of Changes in Statewide Methods 
and Standards for Setting Payment Rates 

In accordance with the public notice requirements of 42 CFR 
447.205, the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
hereby gives notice of an upcoming change in the 
methodology for establishing reimbursement rates for 
specialized care services. 
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Chapter 916 of the 1996 Virginia Acts of Assembly, in Item 
332(D)(2), requires DMAS to conduct a study of the 
Specialized Care program and develop rates for specialized 
care services. Upon conclusion of the study, DMAS is 
directed to implement the rates as determined in the study. 
The General Assembly adjusted DMAS' appropriations for the 
1996-1998 biennium to account for the savings anticipated 
from the implementation of the new rate methodology. 

The report presents DMAS' recommendations for a collection 
of changes in the Specialized Care program. These 
recommendations include changes in specialized care 
categories and payment methodologies, and clarifications 
and changes in specialized care resident and provider 
criteria. These emergency regulations only address the 
recommendations for changes in specialized care categories 
and payment methodologies. Recommendations for changes 
in specialized care resident and provider criteria will be 
proposed through a separate policy and regulatory package. 

Two recommended changes in the Specialized Care program 
are addressed by these emergency regulations. 

First, DMAS recommends the elimination of the AIDS Care 
category. During site visits with specialized care providers, 
administrators and staff noted that their facilities serve very 
few people with AIDS (PWAs). The small number of PWAs 
who are served by specialized care providers typically qualify 
for the Complex Health Care category rather than for the 
AIDS Care category. In all of Virginia's nursing facilities that 
provide specialized care services, less than one percent of 
specialized care stays for both Fiscal Years 1995 and 1996 
were for the AIDS Care category. In accordance with this 
recommendation, PWAs that qualify will be served within the 
Complex Health Care Category. 

Second, DMAS recommends the elimination of the current 
fixed per diem rate reimbursement structure for all categories 
of specialized care. The existing structure will be replaced by 
a prospective reimbursement system with final cost 
settlement. This methodology is similar to that applied to 
regular nursing facility services under the current nursing 
home payment system. The new reimbursement system will 
determine a specific rate for each specialized care provider. 
Prospective ceilings will be the weighted average (weighted 
by days) of specialized care rates presently in effect, net of a 
statewide average amount based on audited 1994 cost data 
for capital and ancillary costs that have been adjusted for 
inflation. A separate ceiling and separate rates would be 
used for qualifying distinct part pediatric units. 

The proposed payment methodology will have the following 
major differences from the current Nursing Home Payment 
System (NHPS) for regular nursing facility services. First, 
ancillary costs will be paid on a pass-through basis. Second, 
the operating ceiling will be adjusted by nine geographical 
areas, instead of the three areas used in the current NHPS. 
Third, the nursing cost component will be adjusted using the 
Resource Utilization Groups, Version Ill (RUGS-Ill) nursing­
only index score, instead of the existing Patient Intensity 
Rating System (PIRS) scoring system. 

During FY 1996, specialized care services were provided by 
41 nursing facilities to 579 Medicaid recipients, and 
accounted for approximately $21.6 million in expenditures. 

Volume 13, Issue 5 

General Notices/Errata 

Most recipients are served under the Complex Health Care 
category, wh.ich accounted for 67% of all specialized care 
stays during FY 1996. The program demonstrated sharp 
growth in recipient utilization, provider participation, and 
expenditures betweeri Fiscal Years 1993 and 1995, although 
the rateJ>f growth slowed considerably in FY 1996. 

. Expencjitures for the program are unevenly distributed among 
the participating ·facilities. For FY 1996, three of the 41 

· "participating facilities accounted for one-third of the program 
expenditures. Specialized care also represents one of the 
most expensive services provided by Medicaid on a per­
individual basis. Residents with continuous specialized care 

'st"ays account for annual expenditures of nearly $150,000 per 
resident. 

It is e1stimated that implementation of the reimbursement 
cllanges will result in $5 to $6 million (total funds) savings in 
calendar year j 997 (the first full year of implementation). 

, This estimate is very approximate because the case mix and 
service volume data nec.essary for an accurate estimate is 

. not yet available. Changes in provider billing practices that 
are necessary to bring the program into compliance with 
federal requirements were implemented August 1, 1996. It is 
estimated that these changes may yield another $2 to $3 
million (total funds) savings per year. Therefore, the 
combined estimated savings, based on data . currently 
available, is $7 to $9 million per year (total funds). This 
estimate is very tentative and will be verified before January 
1997. 

Copies of the emergency regulation may be obtained from 
Victoria P. Simmons or Roberta J. Jonas at the Department 
of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad Street, Suite 
1300., Richmond, Virginia 23219, telephone (804) 371-8850. 
Public comments regarding this notice may be submitted to 
George Stukenborg. No public hearings are planned at this 
time, 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

t Enforcement Action 
Proposed Special Consent Order Amendment 

.·: South Central Wastewater Authority 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a Consent 
Special Order Amendment to the South Central Wastewater 
Authority located in Petersburg, Virginia. The proposed 
amendment addresses the completion of the upgrade and 

·· expansion -of the wastewater treatment plant. The order 
provides for the schedule for completion of the upgrade and 
expansion to be extended from September 1, 1996, to 
December 31, 1996, due to contract delays. 

On behalf of the State Water Control Board, the Department 
of Environmental Quality will receive written comments until 
December 26, 1996, relating to the proposed Consent 
Special Order Amendment. Comments should be addressed 
to Cynthia Akers, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 
Virginia 23060-6295. A copy of the Order may be obtained 
in person or by mail from the above office. 
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VIRGINIA CODE cOMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Mailing Address: Our mailihg address is: Virginia Code 
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219. You may FAX in your 
notice; however, we ask that you FAX two copies and de;> not 
follow up with a mailed copy. Out FAX number is: (804) 692-
0625. 

Forms for Filing Material on Dates for Publication in 
The Virginia Register of Regulations 

All agencies are required to use the appropriate forms when 
furnishing material and dates for publication in The Virginia 
Register of Regulations. The forms are supplied by the office 
of the Registrar of Regulations. If you do not have any forms 
or you need additional forms, please contact: Virginia Code 
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3591 .. 

FORMS: 
NOTICE of INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION· RR01 
NOTICE of COMMENT PERIOD· RR02 
PROPOSED (Transmittal Sheet) • RR03 
FINAL (Transmittal Sheet) • RR04 
EMERGENCY (Transmittal Sheet) • RR05 
NOTICE of MEETING· RR06 
AGENCY RESPONSE TO LEGISLATIVE OBJECTIONS 
• RR08 

ERRATA 

STATE LOTTERY BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 11 VAC 5-20-10 et seq. Administration 
Regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 11 VAC 5-30-10 et seq. Instant Game 
Regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 11 VAC 5-40-10 et seq. On-Line Game 
Regulations. 

Publication: 13:3 VA.R. 245-280 October 28, 1996. 

Change to Agency Contact: 

Change address for agency contact to 900 East Main 
Street 

Virginia Register of Regulations 

648 



CALENDAR OF EVENTS 
Symbol Key 

t Indicates entries since last publication of the Virginia Register 
rl Location accessible to handicapped 

if Telecommunications Device for Deaf (TDD)Noice Designation 

NOTICE 

Only those meetings which are filed with the Registrar of Regulations by the filing deadline noted at the beginning of this 
publication are listed. Since some meetings are called on short notice, please be aware that this listing of meetings may be 
incomplete. Also, all meetings are subject to cancellation and the Virginia Register deadline may preclude a notice of such 
cancellation. 

For additional information on open meetings and public hearings held by the Standing Committees of the Legislature during 
the interim, please call Legislative Information at (804) 786-6530. 

EXECUTIVE 

BOARD FOR ACCOUNTANCY 

December 12, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.~ 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A work session of the three-member Regulatory Review 
Committee to conduct regulatory review. No other 
business will be discussed at this meeting. All meetings 
are subject to cancellation. Call the board office 24 
hours in advance of the scheduled meeting. Persons 
desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring 
special accommodations or interpreter services shoUld 
contact the board at least 1 0 days prior to the meeting so 
that suitable arrangements can be made. The 
department fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Nancy Taylor Feldman, Assistant Director, Board 
for Accountancy, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-
4917, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-2474 or 
(804) 367-9753fTDD 'ii' 

t January 6, 1997 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Germanna Community College, 2130 Germanna Highway, 
Room 100, Locust Grove, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting of the board's Executive Committee to discuss 
(i) RFP Specifications (Executive Session); (ii) 
Regulatory Review Committee report; (iii) 1997 
legislation preparation; and (iv) other business needing 
action by the committee. This is a work session for the 
committee which consists of two board members and 
staff. All meetings are subject to cancellation. Call the 
board office 24 hours in advance of the scheduled 
meeting. Persons desiring to participate in the meeting 
and requiring special accommodations or interpreter 
services should contact the board at least 10 days prior 
to the meeting so that suitable arrangements can be 
made. The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 
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Contact: Nancy Taylor Feldman, Assistant Director, Board 
for Accountancy, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-
4917, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-2474 or 
(804) 367-9753fTDD 'ii' 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

t December 11,1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 
Washington Building, 1100 Bank Street, 2nd Floor Board 
Room, Richmond, Virginia. 

A regular meeting to discuss issues related to Virginia 
agriculture. The board will entertain public comment at 
the conclusion of all other business for a period not to 
exceed 30 minutes. Any person who needs any 
accommodations in order to participate at the meeting 
should contact Roy Seward at least five days before the 
meeting date so that suitable arrangements can be 
made. 

Contact: Roy Seward, Secretary, Board of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Suite 211, 
Richmond, VA 23218; telephone (804) 786-3535. 

Virginia Corn Board 

December 11, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Sheraton Inn, 4700 South Laburnum Avenue, Richmond, 
Virginia.~ 

The board will conduct business in the areas of research, 
education and promotion of the Virginia corn industries. 
The board will entertain public comment at the 
conclusion of all other business for a period not to 
exceed 30 minutes. Any person who needs any 
accommodations in order to participate at the meeting 
should contact Phil Hickman at least five days before the 
meeting date so that suitable arrangements can be 
made. 

Contact: Phil Hickman, Program Director, Virginia Corn 
Board, 1100 Bank St., Room 1005, Richmond, VA 23231, 
telephone (804) 371-6157 or FAX (804) 371-7786. 
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Virginia Irish Potato Board 

t December 9, 1996 -1 p.m.·· Open Meeting 
Captain's Deck Restaurant, 7120 Lankford Highway, 
Nassawadox, Virginia .. ~ 

A meeting to discuss programs (promotion, research and 
education), the annual budget, and other business that 
may come before the board. The board will entertain 
public comment at the conclusion of all other business 
for a period not to exceed 30 minutes. Any person who 
needs any accommodations in order to participate at the 
meeting should contact J. William Mapp at least five 
days before the meeting date so that suitable 
arrangements can be made. 

Contact: J. William Mapp, Program Director, P.O. Box 26, 
Onley, VA 23418, telephone (804) 787-5867 or FAX (804) 
787-1041. 

Virginia Seed Potato Board 

t December 3, 1996 ·7:30p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Eastern Shore Agricultural Research and Extension Center, 
Research Drive, Painter, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to review regulations and to plan for the 1997 
seed season. The board will entertain public comment at 
the conclusion of all other business for a period not to 
exceed 30 minutes. Any person who needs any 
accommodations in order to participate at the meeting 
should contact J. William Mapp at least five days before 
the meeting date so that suitable arrangements can be 
made. 

Contact: J. William Mapp, Program Director, P.O. Box 26, 
Onley, VA 23418, telephone (804) 787-5867 or FAX (804) 
787-1041. 

Virginia Sheep Board 

t December 2,1996 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Ingleside Hotel, 1410 Commerce Road, Staunton, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to develop a strategic plan to prioritize 
funding. A request for funding will be heard from USDA 
Animal Damage Control officials. The board will entertain 
public comment at the conclusion of all other business 
for a period not to exceed 30 minutes. Any person who 
needs any accommodations in order to participate at the 
meeting should contact Mike Carpenter at least five days 
before the meeting date so that suitable arrangements 
can be made. 

Contact: Mike Carpenter, Program Director, 116 Reservoir 
Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone (540) 434-2728. 

Virginia Soybean Board 

December 9, 1996-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Hotel Colonial America, 6483 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, 
Virginia. 

A meeting to discuss the progress of the board's 
research, education and promotion projects. The board 
will review nominations for both internal and external 
positions. The board will entertain public comment at the 
conclusion of all other business for a period not to 
exceed 30 minutes. Any person who needs any 
accommodations in order to participate at the meeting 
should contact Phil Hickman at least five days before the 
meeting date so that suitable arrangements can be 
made. 

Contact: Phil Hickman, Program Director, Virginia Soybean 
Board, 1100 Bank St., Suite 1005, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-6157 or FAX (804) 371-7786. 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

December 2, 1996-10 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 
Training Room, First Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

December 31, 1996 -- Public comments may be submitted 
until 4:30 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution Control 
Board intends to amend regulations entitled: 9 VAC 5-
20-10 et seq. Regulations for the Control and 
Abatement of Air Pollution: General Provisions. 9 
VAC 5-20-21 lists documents that are incorporated by 
reference into the Regulations for the Control and 
Abatement of Air Pollution. In addition to federal 
documents (which include portions of the Code of Federal 
Regulations as listed in Rules 5-5 and 6-1), a number of 
technical documents are listed. These documents include 
materials from the American Society for Testing and 
Materials, the American Petroleum Institute, and the 
National Fire Prevention Association. The regulation 
amendments update the documents to include the most 
current version available. 

Request for Comments: The purpose of this notice is to 
provide the public with the opportunity to comment on the 
proposed regulation and the costs and benefits of the 
proposal. 

Localities Affected: There is no locality which will bear any 
identified disproportionate material air quality impact due to 
the proposed regulation which would not be experienced by 
other localities. 

Location of Proposal: The proposal, an analysis conducted 
by the department (including a statement of purpose, a 
statement of estimated impact and benefits of the proposed 
regulation, an explanation of need for the proposed 
regulation, an estimate of the impact of the proposed 
regulation upon small businesses, identification of and 
comparison with federal requirements, and a discussion of 
alternative approaches) and any other supporting documents 
may be examined by the public at the department's Office of 
Air Program Development (Eighth Floor), 629 East Main 
Street, Richmond, Virginia, and the department's regional 
offices (listed below) between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of 
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each business day until the close of the public comment 
period. 

Southwest Regional Office 
Department of Environmental Quality 
355 Deadmore Street 
Abingdon, Virginia 
Ph: (540) 676-4800 

West Central Regional Office 
Department of Environmental Quality 
Executive Office Park 
3019 Peters Creek Road 
Roanoke, Virginia 
Ph: (540) 562-6700 

Lynchburg Satellite Office 
Department of Environmental Quality 
7705 Timberlake Road 
Lynchburg, Virginia 
Ph: (804) 582-5120 

Valley Regional Office 
Department of Environmental Quality 
116 North Main Street 
Bridgewater, Virginia 22812 
Ph: (540) 828-2595 

Fredericksburg Satellite Office 
Department of Environmental Quality 
300 Central Road, Suite B 
Fredericksburg, Virginia 
Ph: (540) 899-4600 

Piedmont Regional Office 
Department of Environmental Quality 
4949-A Cox Road 
lnnsbrook Corporate Center 
Glen Allen, Virginia 
Ph: (804) 527-5020 

Tidewater Regional Office 
Department of Environmental Quality 
5636 Southern Boulevard 
Virginia Beach, Virginia 
Ph: (757) 518-2000 

Springfield Satellite Office 
Department of Environmental Quality 
Springfield Corporate Center, Suite 310 
6225 Brandon Avenue 
Springfield, Virginia 
Ph: (703) 644-0311 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m. December 
31, 1996, to the Director, Office of Air Program Development, 
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, 
Richmond, Virginia 23240. 

Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Policy Analyst, Office of 
Air Program Development, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone 
(804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 698-4510, (804) 698-
4021/TDD'Iir, or toll-free 1-800-592-5482. 
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t December 5, 1996 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 
Training Room, Richmond, Virginia. 

A regular meeting. 

Contact: Kathy Frahm, Senior Policy Analyst, Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 
23240..0009, telephone (804) 698-4376. 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS AND LANDSCAPE 

ARCHITECTS 

t December 20, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to conduct board business. Persons desiring 
to participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact 
the board at least 1 0 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The board fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8514 or (804) 
367-9753/TDD 'lir 

Board for Architects 

t December 4, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to conduct board business. Persons desiring 
to participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact 
the board at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The board fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8514 or (804) 
367 -9753/TDD 'lir 

Board for Branch Pilots 

t December 10, 1996-9:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Virginia Port Authority, 600 World Trade Center, Norfolk, 
Virginia.~ 

A meeting to conduct board business. Persons desiring 
to participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact 
the board at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The board fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Monday, November 25, 1996 
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Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8514 or (804) 
367 -9753{fDD ~ 

Board for Interior Designers 

t December 13, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to conduct board business. Persons desiring 
to participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact 
the board at least 1 0 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The board fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8514 or (804) 
367-9753{fDD ~ 

Board for Landscape Architects 

t December 12, 1996 - 9 a.m. --Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to conduct board business. Persons desiring 
to participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact 
the board a! least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The board fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8514 or (804) 
367 -9753rrDD ~ 

Board for Land Surveyors 

t December 5, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to conduct board business. Persons desiring 
to participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact 
the board at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The board fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8514 or (804) 
367-9753{fDD ~ 

Board for Professional Engineers 

t December 5, 1996-1 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to conduct board business. Persons desiring 
to participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact 
the board at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The board fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8514 or (804) 
367 -9753rrDD if 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS LICENSING AND 
LEAD CERTIFICATION 

t December 11, 1996-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Conference Room 3, 
Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to (i) consider amending current language 
contained in the Virginia Lead-Based Paint Activities 
Regulations and adopting a set of proposed changes to 
these regulations, and (ii) conduct other general 
business as needed. Public comment will be heard at 
the beginning of the meeting. 

Contact: David E. Dick, Assistant Director, Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-
8507, FAX (804) 367-2475, or (804) 367-9753rrDD ~ 

VIRGINIA AVIATION BOARD 

t December 18, 1996 - 9 a.m. --Open Meeting 
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

A regular bi-monthly meeting of the board. Applications 
for state funding will be presented to the board, and 
other matters of interest to the Virginia aviation 
community will be discussed. Persons requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact 
Cindy Waddell 10 days prior to the meeting if assistance 
is needed. 

Contact: Cindy Waddell, Department of Aviation, 5702 
Gulfstream Rd., Sandston, VA 23150, telephone (804) 236-
3630, FAX (804) 236-3625, or (804) 236-3624rrDD ~ 
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BOARD FOR BARBERS 

December 2, 1996 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational ·Retgulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A general business meeting. Persons ,pesiring to 
participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact 
the department at least two weeks prior to the meeting 
so that suitable arrangements can. be made, The 
department fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Karen W. O'Neal, Assistant Director. Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX 
(804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753/TDD 'il 

CHESAPEAKE BAY LOCAL ASSISTANCE BOARD 

Regulation Advisory Committee 

November 26, 1996- 10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Social Services. 730 East Broad Street,. Lower 
Level, Richmond. Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf provided 
upon request) · 

A work session of the committee' composed of '' 
stakeholders to discuss amendments to the Chesapeake 
Bay Preservation Area Designation and Management 
Regulations (9 VAG 10-20-10 et seq.). 

Contact: Scott Crafton, Regulatory C'oordinator, 
Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Department. 805 E. Broad 
St., Suite 701, Richmond, VA 23219-1924, telephone (804) 
225-3440, FAX (804) 225-3447 or toll-free 1-800-243-
7229/TDD 'il 

CHILD DAY-CARE COUNCIL 

December 12, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Theater Row Building, 730 East Broad Street. Lower Level, 
Conference Room 1, Richmond. Virginia.~ (Interpreter for 
the deaf provided upon request) 

The council will meet to discuss issues and concerns 
that impact child day centers, camps, . school . age 
programs, and preschool/nursery scnools. Public 
comment will be received at noon. Please call ahead of 
time for possible changes in meeting time. 

Contact: Rhonda Harrell, Division of Licensing Programs, , 
Department of Social Services, 730 E.' Broad St., Richmond, 
VA 23219. telephone (804) 692-1775. · 
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DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION (BOARD OF) 

•. Ap~omattox Scenic River Advisory Board 

t January 14, 1997 -7 p:m. "·Open Meeting 
1801 Ramblewood Road, Petersburg, Virginia. 

A nle'etlr\g to· discJSs: ri~e'r issues~ 
Contact: Richard G. Gibbons, Environmental Program 
Manager, Departlneht of Conservation. and Recre.ation, 
DiVision of ·Planning and Recreation Resources, 203 
Governor St.. Suite 326, Richmond. VA 23219, .telephone 
(804) 786-4132, FAX (804) 371-7899 or (804) 786-2121/TDD 
'il . . 

Boa.rd of Conservation and Recreation .. 

t December 17,"t996 -10a.m. --Open Meeting 
Department of Conservation and Recreation~ 203 Governor 
Street, Suite 302, Richmond, Virginia. · 

A regular bu~iness m~eting of the board. 

Contact: Leon E. App, Agency Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Conservation •and Recreation, 203 Governor 

·St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
4570 or FAX (804) 786,6141. 

Board of Conservation and Recreation and 
Chesapeake Ba~ Local Assistance Board 

. t O~cember 3, 1996- 1 p.m. --Open Meeting 
Department of Coriservation,and R~creation, 203 Governor 
Street, Room 20Q,Ric~mond, Virginia.~ 

The Stormwater Management Subcommittee of the 
Board. of Conservation and Recreation will meetwith the 
Regulations Committee of the Chesapeake Bay Local 
Assistance Board, staff from the Department of 
Conservation and . , Recreation, and staff from the 
Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Department to 
discuss and comment on proposed. amendments to the 
Virginia Stormwater Management Regulations. Public 
comment will be received at the. end of all regular 

··busineSs. · · · · 

Contact: , Leon E. App, Agency Regulatory. Coordinator, 
Department- of Conservation and Recreation, 203 Governor 
St., Suite 302, Richm9n<t VA 23219, telephone (804) 786· 
4570, FAX mQ4) 786-6141, or (B04) 786-2121/TDD 'iii!' 

Catoctin Creek Scenic River Advisory Board 
' t December 5, 1996-4 p.m.-- Open Meeting 

The Corner Store, 2nd and Main Street, 2nd Floor, Waterford, 
Virginia. 

A meeting to discuss river issues. Public comment will 
be held at the end of regular business. 

Monday, November 25, 1996 
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Contact: Richard G. Gibboh$: Environmental Program 
Manager, Department of Cbfiservation and Recreation, 
Division of Planning and Recreation Resources, 203 
Governor St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804} 786-
4132, FAX (804} 371-7899 or (804) 786-2121fTDD ir 

Board on Conservation anti Development of Public 
Beaches 

November 26, 1996 - 10 a.m. ,. Open Meeting 
Virginia Institute of Marine Science, Director's Conference 
Room, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to discuss proposals from localities requesting 
matching grant funds from the board. A public comment 
period will be held at the end of regular business. 

Contact: Carlton Lee Hill, Public Beach Advisor, Department 
of Conservation and Recreation, 203 Governor St., Suite 206, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804} 786-3998 or FAX 
(804} 786-1798. 

Virginia State Parks Foundation 

t December 4, 1996 - 10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 Governor 
Street, Suite 302, Richmond, Virginia. 

A regular business meeting to include (i} election of 
officers; (ii} a status report on the Virginia Outdoors Plan, 
and (iii} an ethics briefing and briefing on the Freedom of 
Information Act. Public comment will follow the meeting. 

Contact: Leon E. App, Regulatory Coordinator, Department 
of Conservation and Recreation, 203 Governor St., Suite 302, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804} 786-4570. 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

t January 7, 1997-5 p.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Conference Room 4, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

t January 30, 1997 -- Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board for contractors 
intends to adopt regulations entitled: 18 VAG 50-30-10 
et seq. Tradesman Certification Program 
Regulations. The purpose of the proposed regulation is 
to provide for the certification of tradesmen by 
establishing fees, entry requirements, standards of 
practice and conduct, and other administrative 
procedures. 

Statutory Auihority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Contact: Steven L. Arthur, Assistant Director, Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804} 367-2945. 

Recovery Fund Committee 

December 4, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.!!!l! 

A meeting to consider claims against the Virginia 
Contractor Transaction Recovery Fund. This meeting 
will be open to the public; however, a portion of the 
discussion may be conducted in executive session. 
Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and 
requiring special accommodations or interpreter SeiVices 
should contact Holly Erickson at least 2 weeks prior to 
the meeting so that suitable arrangements can be made. 
The board fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Holly Erickson, Assistant Administrator, Board for 
Contractors, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804} 367-8561. 

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONAL EDUCATION 

t December 20,1996-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
t January 17,1997 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Correctional Education, James Monroe 
Building, 101 North 14th Street, 7th Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the de'!f provided upon request} 

A monthly meeting to discuss general business. 

Contact: Patty Ennis, Board Clerk, Department of 
Correctional Education, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th 
St., 7th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3678, telephone (804} 
225-3314. 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

t December 13,1996-8 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.~!!!~ (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request} 

A meeting of a panel of the board to conduct formal 
hearings to hear disciplinary cases. This is a public 
meeting; however, no public comment will be taken. 

Contact: Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9906 or (804) 662-
7197fTDD ir 

t December 13, 1996-1:30 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.~!!!~ (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request} 

A meeting of the informal conference committee to hear 
disciplinary cases. This is a public meeting; however, no 
public comment will be taken. 

Contact: Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
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23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9906 or (804) 662-
7197fTDD W 

Advertising Committee 

t December 13, 1996-2:30 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.r.!ll (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting to discuss disciplinary actions and forming an 
advertising task force. This is a public meeting; 
however, no public comment will be taken. 

Contact: Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9906 ·or (804) 662-
7197fTDD W 

VIRGINIA ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 
PARTNERSHIP 

Board of Directors 

t December 3, 1996-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Riverfront Plaza, West Tower, 901 East Byrd Street, 19th 
Floor, Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.r.!ll (Interpreter for the 
deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to discuss matters related to the Virginia 
Economic Development Partnership. 

Contact: Julie Gibbons, Executive Assistant, Virginia 
Economic Development Partnership, 901 E. Byrd St., 19th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-8106, FAX 
(804) 371-8112, or (804) 371-0327W 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

November 25, 1996 -11 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
State C!!!Jitol, Capitol Square, House Room 4, 
Virginia.MI 

Richmond, 

A meeting to certify election results of the November 5, 
1996, general election. 

Contact: M. Bruce Meadows, Secretary, State Board of 
Elections, 200 N. 9th St., Room 101, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-6551, FAX (804) 371-0194, toll-free 1-
800-552-97 45 or 1-800-260-3466fTDD 'iil 

LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE -
ARLINGTON COUNTY/CITY OF FALLS 

CHURCH/WASHINGTON NATIONAL AIRPORT 

t December 10, 1996- 5:30p.m.-- Open Meeting 
WashinQ!9n National Airport, Fire Station, Arlington, 
Virginia.MI (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 
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A regular meeting of the planning committee to conduct 
general business. For more information contact Captain 
Michael Kilby. · 

Contact: Captain Michael Kilby, Arlington County Hazardous 
Materials Coordinator, 1020 N. Hudson St., Arlington, VA 
22201, telephone (703) 358-4652, (703) 358-4644 or (703) 
358-4610fTDD W 

LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE -
CHESTERFIELD COUNTY 

December 5, 1996- 5:30p.m.-- Open Meeting 
6610 Public Safety Way, Chesterfield, Virginia. 

A regular meeting. 

Contact: Lynda G. Furr, Assistant Emergency Services 
Coordinator, Chesterfield Fire Department, P.O. Box 40, 
Chesterfield, VA 23832, telephone (804) 748-1236. 

LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE -
WINCHESTER 

t December 4, 1996- 3 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Shawnee Fire Company, 2333 Roosevelt Boulevard, 
Winchester, Virginia. 

A regular meeting. 

Contact: L. A. Miller, Fire Chief, Winchester Fire and 
Rescue Department, 126 N. Cameron St., Winchester, VA 
22601, telephone (540) 662-2298 or (540) 665-5645fTDD 'iii' 

VIRGINIA EMPLOYMENT COMMISSION 

State Advisory Board 

t December 3, 1996-9:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Virginia Employment Commission, 703 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia. (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request.) 

A regular meeting of the board to receive reports from 
staff and to discuss matters that may be presented. 

Contact: Nancy L. Munnikhuysen, Director, Employer 
Relations and Customer Service, Virginia Employment 
Commission, 703. E. Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-6406 or (804) 371-8050fTDD !ill 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

t December 9, 1996 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 
First Floor Training Room, Richmond, Virginia.r.!ll 

The Technical Advisory Committee for the development 
of the proposed Vegetative Waste Management and 
Yard Waste Composting Regulations (9 VAC 20-101-10 

Monday, November 25, 1996 



Calendar of Events 

et seq.), will convene to discuss the suggested changes 
from the public received during the public hearings and 
public comment period on the proposed regulations. 

Contact: Robert G. Wickline, P.E., OTA, Waste Division, 
Department of Environmental Qi.Jality, P.O. Box 10009, 
Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4213, FAX (804) 
698-4327, toll-free 1-800-592-5482, or (804) 698-4021fTDD 
lii' 

Virginia Coastal Resources Management Program 

December 11,1996-7 p.m.-- Public Hearing 
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, Senate 
Room A, Richmond, Virginia.l\11! 

A public hearing to discuss the intent to incorporate the 
Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act into the Virginia 
Coastal Program. The Department of Environmental 
Quality will be requesting federal approval of this 
program amendment from the National Oceanic and 
Atmospheric Administration's Office of Ocean and 
Coastal Resource Management. For copies of the 
proposed amendment to the Virginia Coastal Program or 
to submit written comments (no later than December 11, 
1996), please write or call Laura McKay. Copies of the 
proposed amendment are also available from Scott 
Kudlas, Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Department, 
805 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 371-7500. 

Contact: Laura McKay, Virginia Coastal Program Manager, 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 E. Main St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-4323 or FAX 
(804) 698-4319. 

VIRGINIA FIRE SERVICES BOARD 

December 5, 1996- 7 p.m.-- Public Hearing 
Holiday Inn 1776, 725 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, Virginia. 

A public hearing to discuss f1re training and policies. The 
hearing is open to the public for comments and input. 

Contact: Bobby L. Stanley, Jr., Executive Director, 
Department of Fire Programs, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 
14th St., 18th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
527-4236. 

December 6, 1996- 9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Holiday Inn 1776, 725 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, Virginia. 

A business meeting to discuss fire training and policies. 
The meeting is open to the public for comments and 
input. 

Contact: Bobby L. Stanley, Jr., Executive Director, 
Department of Fire Programs, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 
14th St., 18th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
527-4236. . 

Fire/EMS Education and Training Committee 

December 5, 1996 - I 0:30 a.rn. -- Open Meeting 
Holiday Inn 1776, 725 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, Virginia. 

A meeting to discuss fire training and policies. The 
meeting is open to the public for comments and input. 

Contact: Bobby L. Stanley, Jr., Executive Director, 
Department of Fire Programs, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 
14th St., 18th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
527-4236. 

Fire Prevention and Control Committee 

December 5, 1996 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Holiday Inn 1776, 725 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, Virginia. 

A meeting to discuss fire training and policies. The 
meeting is open to the public for comments and input. 

Contact: Bobby L. Stanley, Jr., Executive Director, 
Department of Fire Programs, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 
14th St., 18th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
527-4236. 

Legislative/Liaison Committee 

December 5, 1996- 2 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Holiday Inn 1776, 725 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, Virginia. 

A meeting to discuss fire training and policies. The 
meeting is open to the public for comments and input. 

Contact: Bobby L. Stanley, Jr., Executive Director, 
Department of Fire Programs, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 
14th St., 18th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
527-4236. 

Residential Sprinkler Committee 

December 4, 1996- 1 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Holiday Inn 1776, 725 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, Virginia. 

A meeting to discuss fire training and policies. The 
meeting is open to the public for comments and input. 

Contact: Bobby L. Stanley, Jr., Executive Director, 
Department of Fire Programs, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 
14th St., 18th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
527-4236. 

BOARD OF FORESTRY 

November 25, 1996- 8:30a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Potomac Supply Corporation, Highway 203 North, Kinsale, 
Virginia.~'.'!~ (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to conduct general bus'1ness. Please notify 
the department with requests for interpreter services five 
working days prior to the meeting. 
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Contact: Barbara A. Worrell, Administrative Staff Specialist, 
Department of Forestry, P.O. Box 3758, Charlottesville, VA 
(804) 977-6555 or (804) 977-6555/TDD 'lil 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

t December 3, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to conduct informal conferences. No public 
comment will be taken. 

Contact: Elizabeth Young Kirksey, Executive Director, Board 
of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9907, 
FAX (804) 662-9493 or (804) 662-7197/TDD 'lil 

DEPARTMENT OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

Finance Planning Committee 

t December 13, 1996-8 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting to receive staffs presentation of the agency's 
projected long-range fish hatchery needs. The 
committee will conduct a mid-year review of the agency 
budget and may take any actions deemed appropriate. 
Other additional items, including general and 
administrative matters, may be discussed. 

Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst Senior, Department of 
Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 W. Broad St., Richmond, 
VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or FAX (804) 367-2427. 

CHARITABLE GAMING COMMISSION 

t December 5, 1996 -10:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, House 
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A regular meeting of the commission. 

Contact: Kari Walter, Policy Analyst, Charitable Gaming 
Commission, 200 N. 9th St., Room 1030, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-0238 or FAX (804) 786-1079. 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Design/Build Construction Management Review 
Board 

t December 20, 1996 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
t January 17, 1997 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
t February 21, 1997 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
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Department of General Services, 805 East Broad Street, 
Room 116, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting of the board to conduct general business and 
review any submissions by local governing bodies for 
proposed use of design/build construction management 
for specific construction projects. The board meets the 
third Friday of each month. 

Contact: Nathan I. Broocke, Director, Division of 
Engineering and Buildings, Department of General Services, 
805 E. Broad St., Room 101, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-3263 or (804) 786-6152/TDD 'lil 

BOARD OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Regulatory Research Committee 

November 26, 1996- 9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.~ 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to discuss study on counseling related 
professions and conduct other business as needed. 
Oral public comment will not be received. 

Contact: Robert A. Nebiker, Executive Director, Department 
of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9919 or 
(804) 662-7197/TDD H 

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS 

January 13, 1997- 8:30a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Conference Room 3, Richmond, 
Virginia.~ 

A routine business meeting. A public comment period 
will be held at the beginning of the meeting. Persons 
desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring 
special accommodations or interpreter services should 
contact David Dick at least 10 days prior to the meeting 
so that suitable arrangements can be made. The 
department fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 

Contact: David E. Dick, Assistant Director, Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8507, FAX 
(804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753/TDD 'iii' 

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

December 16, 1996-8 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
College of William and Mary, Williamsburg, Virginia. 

The council's executive, planning, outreach, and 
resources committees will meet consecutively between 8 

Monday, November 25, 1996 



Calendar of Events 

a.m. and noon. Please call the council for the order of 
the committee meetings and meeting agenda. A general 
business meeting of the council will begin at 1 p.m. 

Contact: Michael McDowell, Public Information Director, 
State Council of Higher Education, James Monroe Bldg., 101 
N. 14th St., 9th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
225-2637 or FAX (804) 786-0572. 

DEPARTMENT Of HISTORIC RESOURCES 

Historic Resources Board and State Review Board 

t December4,1996 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Trinity Church, 500 Court Street, Parish Hall, Portsmouth, 
Virginia.r.li! 

A meeting to (i) accept easement donations, (ii) approve 
highway marker text; and (iii) place the following 
properties on the Virginia Landmarks Register and the 
National Register of Historic Places: 

1. Confederate Monument, City of Portsmouth 
2. Commodore Theatre, City of Portsmouth 
3. Versailles, Northumberland County 
4. Burgandine House, Town of Culpeper 
5. Greenway Historic District Boundary Increase, Clarke 
County 
6. Aaron Hilton Site, Charles City County 
7. Hupp House, Shenandoah County 
8. Little Post Office, City of Martinsville 
9. George C. Marshall House, Town of Leesburg 
10. Rich Bottom Farm, Loudoun County 
11. St. Paul's Vestry House, City of Lynchburg 
12. Scuffle Hill, City of Martinsville 
13. Skyline Drive Historic District, Shenandoah National 
Park 
14. Virginia High School, City of Bristol 

Contact: M. Catherine Slusser, Director, Resource 
Information Division, Department of Historic Resources, 221 
Governor St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225· 
3556, FAX (804) 786-4885, or (804) 786-1934fTDD ii' 

HOPEWELl INDUSTRIAl SAFETY COUNCil 

December 3, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
January 7, 1997-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Hopewell Community Center, Second and City Point Road, 
Hopewell, Virginia.l\!!! (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

Local Emergency Preparedness Committee Meeting on 
emergency preparedness as required by SARA Title Ill. 

Contact: Robert Brown, Emergency Services Coordinator, 
300 N. Main·St., Hopewell, VA 23860, telephone (804) 541-
2298. 

BOARD Of HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVElOPMENT 

December 9, 1996-9 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 North 2nd Street, Richmond, Virginia. 

January 10, 1997 --Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to repeal regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-20-10 et seq., Virginia Certification 
Standards/1993 and adopt regulations entitled: 13 VAC 
5-21-10 et seq. Virginia Certification Standards. The 
purpose of this proposal is (i) to delete the tradesmen 
certification requirements since regulatory authority for 
tradesmen certification was transferred to the 
Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation, and (ii) to transfer the blaster certification 
requirements from this regulation to the Virginia 
Statewide Fire Prevention Code. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 36-98.3 and 36-137 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Contact: Norman R. Crumpton, Associate Director, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-7170 or FAX (804) 371-7092. 

******** 

December 9, 1996- 9 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 North 2nd Street, Richmond, Virginia. 

January 10, 1997 --Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to repeal regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-30-10 el seq., Virginia Amusement 
Device Regulations/1993 and adopt regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-31-10 el seq. Virginia Amusement 
Device Regulations. The Virginia Amusement Device 
Regulations provide statewide standards for the 
construction, maintenance, inspection And operation of 
amusement devices. The proposed changes update this 
regulation to reflect current nationally approved 
standards. 

Statutory Authority: § 36-98.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Norman R. Crumpton, Associate Director, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-7170 or FAX (804) 371-7092. 
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December 9, 1996-9 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 North 2nd Street, Richmond, Virginia. 

January 10, 1997 --Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to repeal regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-50-10 et seq., Virginia Statewide 
Fire Prevention Code/1993 and adopt regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-51-10 et seq. Virginia Statewide 
Fire Prevention Code. The proposed regulation sets 
forth performance requirements for the use of 
explosives, and the maintenance and use of structures 
with regard to fire safety. The proposed regulation has 
been updated to reflect current nationally approved 
safety standards. blaster certification requirements have 
been deleted from the Virginia Certification Standards 
and incorporated into this regulation, and the format of 
the regulation has been changed to make it more 
understandable to the regulated community 

Statutory Authority: § 27-97 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Norman R. Crumpton, Associate Director, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-7170 or FAX (804) 371-7092. 

December 9, 1996-9 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 North 2nd Street, Richmond, Virginia. 

January 10, 1997 -- Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to repeal regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-60-10 et seq., Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code, Volume I New 
Construction Code/1993, and 13 VAC 5-70-10 et seq., 
Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code, Volume II 
- New Construction Code/1993, and adopt regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-61-10 et seq., Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code. The Building Code 
prescribes standards for construction, maintenance and 
use of buildings and structures and their equipment. 
This proposal consolidates Volumes I and II of the USBC 
into a single regulation and updates the latest 
construction and maintenance model codes and 
standards. 

Statutory Authority: § 36-98 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Norman R. Crumpton, Associate Director, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
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Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-7170 or FAX (804) 371-7092. 

******** 

December 9, 1996-9 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 North 2nd Street, Richmond, Virginia. 

January 10, 1997 -- Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to repeal regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-90-10 et seq., Virginia 
Industrialized Building and Manufactured Home and 
Safety Regulations/1993, and adopt regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-91-10 et seq., Virginia 
Industrialized Building Safety Regulations. The 
proposed amendments update documents incorporated 
by reference to reflect current nationally approved safety 
standards and transfer requirements regarding 
manufactured home safety standards from this regulation 
to the Virginia Manufactured Home Safety Regulations 
(13 VAC 5-95-10 et seq.). 

Statutory Authority: § 36-73 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Norman R. Crumpton, Associate Director, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-7170 or FAX (804) 371-7092. 

December 9, 1996 - 9 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 North 2nd Street, Richmond, Virginia. 

January 10, 1997 -- Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to adopt regulations 
entitled: 13 VAC 5-95-10 et seq., Virginia 
Manufactured Home Safety Regulations. The Virginia 
Manufactured Home Safety Regulations provide for the 
administration and enforcement of uniform, statewide, 
and safety standards for manufactured homes, wherever 
produced. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 36-85.7 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Norman R. Crumpton, Associate Director, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-7170 or FAX (804) 371-7092. 
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NOTE: CHANGE IN MEETING DATE 
December 9, 1996 - 9 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 North 2nd Street, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A public hearing to receive comments on the following 
proposed regulations: Certification Standards (13 VAC 
5-21-10 through 13 VAC 5-21-60); Statewide Fire 
Prevention Code (13 VAG 5-51-10 through 13 VAG 5-51-
180); Amusement Device Regulations (13 VAG 5-31-10 
through 5-31-170); Uniform Statewide Building Code (13 
VAG 5-61-10 through 13 VAC 5-61-410); Industrialized 
Building Safety Regulations (13 VAG 5-91-10 through 13 
VAG 5-91-400); and Manufactured Housing Safety 
Regulations (13 VAG 5-95-10 through 13 VAC 5-95-250). 

Contact: Norman R. Crumpton, Associate Director, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, 501 N. 
2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219-1321, telephone (804) 371-
7170 or (804) 371-7089frDD 'li 

t December 9, 1996 - 9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
The Jackson Center, 501 North 2nd Street, First Floor Board 
Room, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A regular business meeting of the board. Public 
comment will be received. 

Contact: Stephen W. Calhoun, CPA, Manager, Department 
of Housing and Community Development, 501 N. 2nd St., 
Richmond, VA 23219-1321, telephone (804) 371-7015, FAX 
(804) 371-7092, or (804) 371-7089!TDD 'li 

COUNCIL ON INFORMATION MANAGEMENT 

November 25, 1996- 10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Council on Information Management, 1100 Bank Street, 9th 
Floor Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

The first meeting of the Virginia Information Providers 
Network Authority Board of Directors. 

Contact: Linda Hening, Administrative Assistant, Council on 
Information Management, 1100 Bank St., Suite 901, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-3622 or (800) 
828-1120!TDD 'li 

VIRGINIA INTERAGENCY COORDINATING 
COUNCIL 

December 11, 1996 -9:30a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Henrico Area Mental Health and Mental Retardation Services, 
10299 Woodman Road, Glen Allen, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for 
the deaf provided upon request) 

A quarterly meeting to advise and assist the Department 
of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance 
Abuse Services as lead agency for Part H (of IDEA), 
Early Intervention for Infants and Toddlers with 
Disabilities and their families. Discussion focuses on 

issues related to Virginia's implementation of the Part H 
program. A public comment period will begin at 11 a.m. 

Contact: Richard B. Corbett, Part H Program Support, 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 786-3710 or FAX (804) 371-7959. 

STATE BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

December 11, 1996-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Fredericksburg City Hall, 715 Princess Anne Street, Council 
Chambers, Fredericksburg, Virginia. 

A meeting to receive public comments regarding the 
promulgation of (i) consolidated standards for juvenile 
residential facilities; (ii) new standards for nonresidential 
services available to the juvenile and domestic relations 
district court; and (iii) the concurrent termination of 
existing regulations governing juvenile detention 
facilities, juvenile correctional centers, family group 
homes, pre- and post-dispositional group homes, post­
dispositional detention, court service units and 
holdovers. 

Contact: Donald R. Carignan, Policy Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 1110, Richmond, 
VA 23218-1110, telephone (804) 371-0743 or FAX (804) 371-
0773. 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Virginia Apprenticeship Council 

December 5, 1996-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Danville Community College, 1008 South Main Street, 
Danville, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

A quarterly meeting of the council. 

Contact: Fred T. Yontz, Program Manager, Department of 
Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor Bldg., 13 S. 13th St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-0295, FAX (804) 
786-9877 or (804) 786-2376!TDD 'li 

Migrant and Seasonal Farmworkers Board 

t December 4, 1996 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Hall of the States Building, 444 North Capitol Street, N.W., 
Room 231, Washington, DC.~ (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A regular meeting of the board. 

Contact: Patti C. Bell, Staff Coordinator, Department of 
Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor Bldg., 13 S. 13th St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-3083, FAX (804) 
371-6524 or (804) 786-2376!TDD V 
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LIBRARY BOARD 

t January 6, 1997 -10:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, 3rd 
Floor, Supreme Court Room, Richmond, Virginia.rl! 

A meeting to discuss matters related to the Library of 
Virginia and its board. 

Contact: Jean H. Taylor, Secretary to the State Librarian, 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2332. 

Automation and Networking Committee 

t January 6, 1997-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, Office 
of the Division Director, Richmond, Virginia.ri!! 

A meeting to discuss automation and networking 
matters. 

Contact: Jean H. Taylor, Secretary to the State Librarian, 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2332. 

Facilities Committee 

t January 5, 1997-5 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Omni Richmond Hotel, 100 South 12th Street, Richmond, 
Virginia.ri!! 

A meeting to discuss matters pertaining to the new 
Library of Virginia building, the status of the Records 
Center, and the current Library of Virginia facilities. 

Contact: Jean H. Taylor, Secretary to the State Librarian, 
The Library of Virginia. 11th Street at Capitol Square, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2332. 

Legislative and Finance Committee 

t January 5, 1997 - 4 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Omni Richmond Hotel, 100 South 12th Street, Richmond, 
Virginia.ri!! 

A meeting to discuss legislative and financial matters. 

Contact: Jean H. Taylor, Secretary to the State Librarian, 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2332. 

Publications and Cultural Affairs Committee 

t January 6, 1997- 8 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, Office 
of the Division Director. Richmond, Virginia.ri!! 

A meeting to discuss matters related to the Publications 
and Cultural Affairs Division and The Library of Virginia. 

Contact: Jean H. Taylor, Secretary to the State Librarian, 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2332. 
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Public Library Development Committee 

t January 5, 1997-5 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Omni Richmond Hotel, 100 South 12th Street, Richmond, 
Virginia.ri!! 

A meeting to discuss matters pertaining to public library 
development and The Library of Virginia. 

Contact: Jean H. Taylor, Secretary to the State Librarian, 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2332. 

Records Management Committee 

t January 6, 1997-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, 
Conference Room B, Richmond, Virginia.rl 

A meeting to discuss matters pertaining to records 
management. 

Contact: Jean H. Taylor, Secretary to the State Librarian, 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square. 
Richmond, VA 23219. telephone (804) 786-2332. 

Research and Information Services Committee 

t January 6, 1997-8 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
The Library of Virginia. 11th Street at Capitol Square, 
Conference Room B, Richmond, Virginia.ri!! 

A meeting to discuss research and information services. 

Contact: Jean H. Taylor, Secretary to the State Librarian, 
The Library of Virginia, 11th Street at Capitol Square, 
Richmond. VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2332. 

COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

November 25, 1996- 10:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Washington County Administrative Building, 205 Academy 
Drive, Board of Supervisors Meeting Room, Abingdon, 
Virginia. 

Oral presentations regarding the City of Bristol and 
Washington County Voluntary Settlement Agreement. 
Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and 
requiring special accommodations or interpreter services 
should contact the commission. 

Contact: Barbara Bingham, Administrative Assistant, 
Commission on Local Government. 702 8th Street Office 
Bldg., Richmond, VA 23219-1924, telephone (804) 786-6508, 
FAX (804) 371-7999 or (804) 786-1860ffDD 'iii' 

November 25, 1996 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Bristol City Hall, 497 Cumberland Street, City Council 
Chambers, 2nd Floor, Bristol, Virginia. 

A public hearing regarding the City of Bristol and 
Washington County Voluntary Settlement Agreement. 
Persons desiring to participate in the proceedings and 
requiring special accommodations or interpreter services 
should contact the commission. 
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Contact: Barbara Bingham, Administrative Assistant, 
Commission on Local Government, 702 8th Street Office 
Bldg., Richmond, VA 23219-1924, telephone (804) 786-6508, 
FAX (804) 371-7999 or (804) 786-1860ffDD 'Iii 

November 26, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Abingdon Town Council Chambers, 133 West Main Street, 
Abingdon, Virginia. 

A regular meeting to consider such matters as may be 
presented. Persons desiring to participate in the 
meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpreter services should contact the commission. 

Contact: Barbara Bingham, Administrative Assistant, 
Commission on Local Government, 702 8th Street Office 
Bldg., Richmond, VA 23219-1924, telephone (804) 786-6508, 
FAX (804) 371-7999 or (804) 786-1860ffDD 'Iii 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

November 26, 1996-9:30 am.-- Open Meeting 
December 17, 1996-9:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 
4th Floor, Newport News, Virginia. Ill! (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

The commiSSion will hear and decide marine 
environmental matters at 9:30 a.m.; permit applications 
lor projects in wetlands, bottom lands, coastal primary 
sand dunes and beaches; appeals of local wetland board 
decisions; policy and regulatory issues. The commission 
will hear and decide fishery management items at 
approximately noon. Items to be heard are as follows: 
regulatory proposals, fishery management plans; fishery 
conservation issues; licensing; shellfish leasing. 
Meetings are open to the public. Testimony will be taken 
under oath from parties addressing agenda items on 
permits and licensing. Public comments will be taken on 
resource matters, regulatory issues and items scheduled 
for public hearing. The commission is empowered to 
promulgate regulations in the areas of marine 
environmental management and marine fishery 
management. 

Contact: LaVerne Lewis, Secretary to the Commission, 
Marine Resources Commission, P.O. Box 756, Newport 
News, VA 23607-0756, telephone (757) 247-2261, toll-free 1-
800-54'1-4646 or (757) 247-2292ffDD'Iil 

MATERNAL AND CHILD HEALTH COUNCIL 

School Health Subcommittee 

December 17, 1996-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Virginia PTA Building, 3810 Augusta Avenue, Richmond, 
Virginia.~ (hiterpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to focus on improving the health of the 
Commonwealth's children and adolescents by 
promoting and improving programs and service delivery 
systems related to school health programs. 

Contact: Nancy Ford, School Health Nurse Consultant, 
Department of Health, Division of Child and Adolescent 
Health, 1500 E. Main St., Suite 137, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-7367. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

December 17, 1996 -10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.~!~! 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

An open meeting to discuss medical assistance service 
and take action on issues pertinent to the board. 

Contact: Cynthia Klisz, Board Liaison, Department of 
Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-8099. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

t December 13, 1996- 1 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

A panel of the board will convene, pursuant to §§ 54.1-
2400 and 9-6.14:12 of the Code of Virginia, to inquire 
into allegations that a practitioner may have violated laws 
governing the practice of medicine. The panel will meet 
in open and closed sessions pursuant to § 2.1-344 A 7 
and A 15 of the Code of Virginia. Public comment will 
not be received. 

Contact: Lorraine McGehee, Acting Deputy Executive 
Director, Board of Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-7693, FAX 
(804) 662-9943 or (804) 662-7197ffDD 'Iii 

Informal Conference Committee 

t December 4, 1996 -10:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Roanoke Airport Marriott, 2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, 
Virginia. 

December 6, 1996-8:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Fort Magruder Inn and Conference Center, Route 60, 
Williamsburg, Virginia. 

December 10, 1996-8:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Sheraton Inn, 2801 Flank Road, Fredericksburg, Virginia. 

December 19, 1996-8:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Fort Magruder Inn and Conference Center, Route 60, 
Williamsburg, Virginia. 

The Informal Conference Committee, composed of three 
members of the board, will inquire into allegations that 
certain practitioners may have violated laws and 
regulations governing the practice of medicine and other 
healing arts in Virginia. The committee will meet in open 
and closed sessions pursuant to § 2.1-344 A 7 and A 15 
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of the Code of Virginia. Public comment will not be 
received. 

Contact: Lorraine McGehee, Acting Deputy Executive 
Director, Board of Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-7693, FAX 
(804) 662-9943 or (804) 662-7197ffDD 'il 

Credentials Committee 

December 14, 1996-8 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Rooms 3 and 4, Richmond, Virginia.~ 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

The committee will meet in open and closed session to 
conduct general business, interview and review medical 
credentials of applicants applying for licensure in 
Virginia, and to discuss any other items which may come 
before the committee. The committee will receive public 
comments of those persons appearing on behalf of 
candidates. 

Contact: Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director, 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX 
(804) 662-9943 or (804) 662-7197rTDD a 

Executive Committee 

December 13, 1996-8 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Rooms 2 and 3, Richmond, Virginia.~ 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

The committee will meet in open and closed session to 
(i) review disciplinary files requiring administrative action; 
(ii) adopt amendments for approval of promulgation of 
regulations as presented; and (iii) act on other issues 
that come before the board. The chairman will not 
entertain public comments. 

Contact: Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director, 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX 
(804) 662-9943 or (804) 662-7197ffDD a 

DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL 
RETARDATION AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE 

SERVICES 

Project Leadership Team 

December 13, 1996- 10:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Location to be announced. 

A meeting to continue the development of plans for 
mental health, mental retardation and substance abuse 
system reform pilot projects. The team will hear the 
reports of the Priority Populations/Case Rate Funding 
Subcommittee; the Consumer and Family Involvement 
Subcommittee; and the POMS Subcommittee. 
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Contact: Marion Greenfield, Policy Analyst, P.O. Box 1797, 
Richmond, VA 23214, telephone (804) 786-6431 or FAX 
(804) 786-0092. 

VIRGINIA MILITARY INSTITUTE 

Board of Visitors 

December 7, 1996 -8:30a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Military Institute, Smith Hall Board Room, Lexington, 
Virginia.~ 

A regular meeting to hear committee reports. The Board 
of Visitors does not provide an opportunity for public 
comment at this meeting. Public comment is received at 
the first meeting of the academic year, normally in 
August or September. 

Contact: Colonel Edwin L. Dooley, Jr., Secretary to the 
Board, Virginia Military Institute, Superintendent's Office, 
Lexington, VA 24450, telephone (540) 464-7206 or FAX (540) 
464-7600. 

VIRGINIA MUSEUM OF FINE ARTS 

December 17, 1996-11 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Avenue, 
Auditorium, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to consider gifts, purchases and loans of 
works of art. Public comment will not be received at the 
meeting. 

Contact: Emily C. Robertson, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Ave., Richmond, 
VA 23221-2466, telephone (804) 367-0553. 

Executive Committee 

December 19, 1996- Noon-- Open Meeting 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Avenue, 
Auditorium, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to receive committee and staff reports and to 
consider art acquisitions recommended by the 
Collections Committee. Public comment will not be 
received. 

Contact: Emily C. Robertson, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Ave., Richmond, 
VA 23221-2466, telephone (804) 367-0553. 

Nominating Committee 

December 19, 1996-11 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Avenue, 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A meeting to consider candidates for next year's Board 
of Trustees. Public comment will not be received. 

Monday, November 25, 1996 
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Contact: Emily C. Robertson, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Ave., Richmond, 
VA 23221-2466, telephone (804) 367-0553. 

Board of Trustees 

NOTE: CHANGE IN MEETING DATE 
t December 10, 1996 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Avenue, 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.~ 

A monthly briefing of museum officers with the Director 
and Deputy Director for Administration. Public comment 
will not be received. 

Contact: Emily C. Robertson, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Ave., Richmond, 
VA 23221-2466, telephone (804) 367-0553. 

BOARD OF NURSING 

t December 5, 1996-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Northern Virginia Community College, 6901 Sudley North, 
Provost Conference Room, Manassas, Virginia. (Interpreter 
for the deaf provided upon request) 

A panel of the Board of Nursing will conduct a formal 
hearing with licensee. Public comment will not be 
received. 

Contact: Nancy K. Durrett, R.N., Executive Director, Board 
of Nursing, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9909, FAX (804) 662-9943 
or (804) 662-7197fTDD 

Special Conference Committee 

t December 2, 1996- 9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
t December 5, 1996- 9 a.m. --Open Meeting 
t December 9, 1996- 9 a.m. --Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.~ (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A Special Conference Committee will conduct informal 
conferences with licensees and certificate holders to 
determine what, if any, action should be recommended 
to the Board of Nursing. Public comment will not be 
received. 

Contact: Nancy K. Durrett, R.N., Executive Director, Board 
of Nursing, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9909, FAX (804) 662-9943 
or (804) 662-7197fTDD '!if 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

December 4, 1996 - 9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia. 

A meeting to conduct formal hearings before a panel of 
the board. Public comments will not be received. 

Contact: Elizabeth Scott Russell, Executive Director, Board 
of Pharmacy, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230, telephone (804) 662-9911 or FAX (804) 662-9313. 

POLYGRAPH EXAMINERS ADVISORY BOARD 

December 17, 1996-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia. ~ (Interpreter 
for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to discuss regulatory review and other matters 
requiring board action. In addition, the Polygraph 
Examiners Licensing Examination will be administered to 
eligible polygraph examiner interns. A public comment 
period will be held at the beginning of the meeting. 
Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and 
requiring special accommodations or interpreter services 
should contact the board at least 1 0 days prior to the 
meeting so that suitable arrangements can be made for 
appropriate accommodations. The department fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 
Please call the board 24 hours in advance to confirm that 
the meeting will take place. 

Contact: Nancy Taylor Feldman, Assistant Director, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone 
(804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-2474 or (804) 367-
9753fTDD'iif 

BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND 
MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS 

t December 17,1996-9 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 3, Richmond, Virginia. 

t January 24, 1997 -- Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Professional 
Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists 
intends to amend regulations entitled: 18 VAC 115-
40-10 et seq. Regulations Governing the 
Certification of Rehabilitation Providers. The 
purpose of the proposed amendment is to establish 
educational and experience requirements for 
certification. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Contact: Janet Delorme, Deputy Executive Director, 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9575 or 
FAX (804) 662-9943. 
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BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

November 26, 1996 • 9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.r.!l! 

A meeting to conduct informal conferences pursuant to § 
9-6.14:11 of the Code of Virginia. Public comment will 
not be heard. 

Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, Board of 
Psychology, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230, telephone (804) 662-9967. 

December 10, 1996 • 10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 3, Richmond, Virginia.r.!l! 

A meeting to conduct general board business. Public 
comment will be received. 

Contact: LaDonna Duncan, Administrative Assistant, Board 
of Psychology, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230, telephone (804) 662-9913 or FAX (804) 662-9943. 

Discipline Committee 

November 26, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 1, Richmond, Virginia.r.!l! 

A meeting to conduct an informal disciplinary hearing. 
Public comment will not be received. 

Contact: LaDonna Duncan, Administrative Assistant, Board 
of Psychology, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230, telephone (804) 662-9913 or FAX (804) 662-9943. 

STATE REHABILITATION ADVISORY COUNCIL 

November 25, 1996-11 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Drive, Richmond, Virginia.r.!l! (Interpreter for the deaf provided 
upon request) 

A regular business meeting. 

Contact: Kathy Hayfeld, SRAC Staff, Department of 
Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Dr., Richmond, 
VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-7134, toll-free 1-800-552-
501 9!TDD and Voice, or (804) 662-9040fTDD '2 

DEPARTMENT OF REHABILITATIVE SERVICES 
(BOARD OF) 

December 27, 1996 -- Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Rehabilitative 
Services intends to amend regulations entitled: 22 VAC 
30-10-10 et seq. Public Participation Guidelines. The 
purpose of the proposed amendment is to make the 
department's regulations more representative of public 
needs and views through greater public participation in 
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the regulatory process and make changes mandated by 
1 993 amendments to the Administrative Process Act. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 9-6.14:7.1 and 51.5-14 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Contact: Mary C. Lutkenhaus, Policy Analyst, Department of 
Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Dr., Richmond, 
VA 23288-0300, telephone (804) 662-7610, FAX (804) 662-
7696, toll-free 1-800-552-5019, or toll-free 1-800-464-
9950!TDD W 

Assistive Technology Loan Fund Authority Board 

December 12, 1996-1 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Social Services, 730 East Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.r.!l! (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

A business meeting of the board. 

Contact: Michael Scione, ATLFA Staff, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Dr., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-7606, toll-free 
1-800-552-501 9!TDD and Voice, or (804) 662-9040!TDD W 

RICHMOND HOSPITAL AUTHORITY 

Board of Commissioners 

December 5, 1996 • 5 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Richmond Nursing Home, 1900 Cool Lane, 2nd Floor, 
Classroom, Richmond, Virginia. r.!l! 

A monthly board meeting to discuss nursing home 
operations and related matters. 

Contact: Marilyn H. West, Chairman, Richmond Hospital 
Authority, P.O. Box 548, 700 E. Main St., Suite 904, 
Richmond, VA 23219-0548, telephone (804) 782-1938. 

VIRGINIA RESOURCES AUTHORITY 

December 10, 1996 ·9:30a.m.-- Open Meeting 
January 14, 1997-9:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
The Mutual Building, 909 East Main Street, Suite 607, Board 
Room, Richmond, Virginia. 

The board will meet to approve minutes of the meeting of 
the prior month, to review the authority's operations for 
the prior months, and to consider other matters and take 
other actions as it may deem appropriate. The planned 
agenda of the meeting will be available at the offices of 
the authority one week prior to the date of the meeting. 
Public comments will be received at the beginning of the 
meeting. 

Contact: Shockley D. Gardner, Jr., Virginia Resources 
Authority, 909 E. Main St., Suite 607, Mutual Building, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 644-3100 or FAX 
(804) 644-3109. 

Monday, November 25, 1996 
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STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

December 3, 1996 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Holiday Inn-Select, 1021 Koger Center Boulevard, Koger 
South, Richmond, Virginia.r.ll! 

A work session and formal business meeting of the 
board. 

Contact: Pat Rengnerth, State Board of Social Services, 730 
E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-
1906, FAX (804) 692-1949, toll-free 1-800-552-7096 or 1-
800-552-3431!TDD :if 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

November 29, 1996 ·- Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Social Work 
intends to amend regulations entitled: 18 VAC 140-20-10 
et seq. Regulations Governing the Practice of Social 
Work. The purpose of the proposed amendment is to 
reduce licensure renewal fees and eliminate the initial 
licensure fee tor new licensees. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-113, 54.1-2400, and 54.1-3700 
et seq. 

Contact: Janet Delorme, Deputy Executive Director, Board 
of Social Work, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230, telephone (804) 662-9575, FAX (804) 662-9943, or 
(804) 662-7197!TDD :if 

t December 12, 1996-10:30 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Family Resource Center, 1701 Wiii-0-Wisp Drive, Virginia 
Beach, Virginia.r.ll! 

The Ad Hoc Committee on Bylaws will meet to develop 
bylaws for the board. Public comment will be received at 
10:45 a.m. 

Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, Board of 
Social Work, 6606 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-1717, 
telephone (804) 662-9914, FAX (804) 662-9943, or (804) 
662-7197!TDD :if 

VIRGINIA SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION 
BOARD 

t December 10, 1996-3 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Roanoke Airport Marriott, 2801 Hershberger Road, N.W., 
Roanoke, Virginia. 

A joint meeting with the Virginia Association of Soil and 
Water Conservation Districts and a regular bimonthly 
business meeting of the Virginia Soil and Water 
Conservation Board. 

Contact: Linda J. Cox, Administrative Staff Assistant, 
Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board, 203 Governor 
St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
2123 or FAX (804) 786-6141. 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

November 25, 1996- 9:30a.m.-- Public Hearing 
George Mason University, 4400 University Drive, Mason Hall, 
Fairfax, Virginia. 

November 26, 1996-9:30 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
Chesapeake Central Library, Chesapeake Civic Center 
Complex, 298 Cedar Road, Room 1, Chesapeake, Virginia. 

November 26, 1996-12:20 p.m.·- Public Hearing 
Hampton Public Library, Main Branch, 4207 Victoria 
Boulevard, Room A, Hampton, Virginia. 

November 27, 1996-9 a.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Taxation, Richmond District Office, 1708 
Commonwealth Avenue, Richmond, Virginia. 

December 4, 1996- 10:30 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
Roanoke County Administration Center, 5204 Bernard Drive, 
Roanoke, Virginia. 

Public hearings to hear comments on changes to the 
Guidelines for the Business, Professional, Occupational 
License (BPOL) Tax as amended by the Virginia 
legislature in 1996. The department, with input from 
localities and interested parties from the business 
community, has developed proposed draft guidelines to 
implement changes required by the 1996 BPOL 
legislation. The draft includes explanations and 
discussions on, among other things, the new thresholds, 
rules relating to "situs" of gross receipts, definition of 
"professional," and the new BPOL appeals process. 

Contact: Robert L. Megna, Assistant Commissioner, 
Department of Taxation, Office of Tax Policy, P.O. Box 1880, 
Richmond, VA 23218·1880, telephone (804) 367-8010 or 
FAX (804) 367-0045. 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

t December 18, 1996-2 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.r.ll! (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

A work session of the board and the Department of 
Transportation staff. 

Contact: Robert E. Martinez, Secretary of Transportation, 
1401 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-8032. 

t December 19, 1996- 10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.r.ll! (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

A monthly meeting of the board to vote on proposals 
presented regarding bids, permits, additions and 
deletions to the highway system, and any other matters 
requiring board approval. Public comment will be 
received at the outset of the meeting on items on the 
meeting agenda for which the opportunity for public 
comment has not been afforded the public in another 
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forum. Remarks will be limited to five minutes. Large 
groups are asked to select one individual to speak for 
the group. The board reserves the right to amend these 
conditions. Separate committee meetings may be held 
on call of the chairman. Contact Department of 
Transportation Public Affairs at (804) 786-2715 for 
schedule. 

Contact: Robert E. Martinez, Secretary of Transportation, 
1401 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-8032. 

******** 

December 10, 1996 -7 p.m.-- Public Hearing 
Department of Transportation, 1221 East Broad Street, Main 
Auditorium, Richmond, Virginia. 

December 27, 1996 -- Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with§ 9-6.14:7.1 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Commonwealth 
Transportation Board intends to repeal regulations 
entitled: 24 VAC 30-70-10 et seq. Minimum 
Standards of Entrances to State Highways; and adopt 
regulations entitled: 24 VAC 30-71-10 et seq. 
Minimum Standards of Entrances to State Highways. 
The purpose of the proposed action is to repeal the 
existing regulation and promulgate a new regulation 
concerning state highway entrances. The proposal is 
intended to make the regulation less restrictive to all 
users. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 33.1-12, 33.1-197, and 33.1-198 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Steve Edwards, Transportation Engineer, 
Department of Transportation, 1401 E. Broad St., Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0121 or Virginia Relay 
Center 1-800-828-1120fTDD 

TREASURY BOARD 

December 18, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, Treasury 
Board Room, 3rd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.!l'l 

A regular meeting. 

Contact: Gloria Hatchel, Administrative Assistant, 
Department of the Treasury, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 
14th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6011. 

BOARD ON VETERANS' AFFAIRS 

t December 5, 1996 -1:30 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
General District Courtroom, 16441 Court Street, Amelia, 
Virginia.!l'l 

A meeting to discuss the state veterans' cemetery now 
under construction in Amelia, Virginia. 
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Contact: Beth Tonn, Secretary for the Board, Department of 
Veterans' Affairs, 270 Franklin Rd., S.W., Room 1012, 
Roanoke, VA 24011-2215, telephone (540) 857-7104. 

DEPARTMENT FOR THE VISUALLY HANDICAPPED 
(BOARD OF) 

t January 22, 1997 -1:30 p.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department for the Visually Handicapped, Administrative 
Headquarters, 397 Azalea Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.!l'l 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

The board is responsible for advising the Governor, the 
Secretary of Health and Human Resources, the 
Commissioner, and the General Assembly on the 
delivery of public services to the blind and the protection 
of their rights. The board also reviews and comments on 
policies, budgets and requests for appropriations for the 
department. At this regular quarterly meeting, the board 
members will receive information regarding department 
activities and operations, review expenditures from the 
board's institutional fund, and discuss other issues 
raised by board members. 

Contact: Katherine C. Proffitt, Executive Secretary Senior, 
Department for the Visually Handicapped, 397 Azalea Ave., 
Richmond, VA 23227, telephone (804) 371-3140, toll-free 1-
800-622-2155, or (804) 371-3140fTDD 'oil 

Vocational Rehabilitation Advisory Council 

December 14, 1996- 10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
Department for the Visually Handicapped, Administrative 
Headquarters, 397 Azalea Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.!l'l 
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

The council meets quarterly to advise the Department for 
the Visually Handicapped on matters related to 
vocational rehabilitation services for blind and visually 
impaired citizens of the Commonwealth. 

Contact: James G. Taylor, Vocational Rehabilitation 
Program Director, Department for the Visually Handicapped, 
397 Azalea Ave., Richmond, VA 23227, telephone (804) 371-
3140, toll-free 1-800-622-2155, or (804) 371-3140fTDD 'oil 

VIRGINIA VOLUNTARY FORMULARY BOARD 

December 12, 1996-2 p.m.-- Public Hearing 
Washington Building, 1100 Bank Street, 2nd Floor, Board 
Room, Richmond, Virginia.!l'l 

A public hearing to consider the proposed adoption and 
issuance of revisions to the Virginia Voluntary Formulary. 
The proposed revisions to the formulary add and delete 
drugs and drug products to the formulary that became 
effective on January 15, 1996, and its most recent 
supplement. Copies of the proposed revisions to the 
formulary are available for inspection at the Virginia 
Department of Health, Bureau of Pharmacy Services, 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, RoomS-

Monday, November 25, 1996 
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45, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218. Written 
comments sent to the above address and received prior 
to 5 p.m. on December 12, 1996, will be made a part of 
the hearing record. 

Contact: James K. Thomson, Director, Bureau of Pharmacy 
Services, Virginia Voluntary Formulary, James Monroe Bldg., 
101 N. 14th St., Room S-45, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-4325. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

December 12, 1996-9 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
State Capitol, Capitol Square, House Room 4, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

A regular meeting. 

Contact: Cindy M. Berndt, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone 
(804) 698-4378. 

COLLEGE OF WILLIAM AND MARY 

Board of Visitors 

December 6, 1996 -9 a.m. --Open Meeting 
Richard Bland College, 11301 Johnson Road, Petersburg, 
Virginia.~!!!~ (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A regularly scheduled meeting of the Board of Visitors to 
receive reports from several committees of the board, 
and to act on those resolutions that are presented by the 
administrations of the College of William and Mary and 
Richard Bland College. An informational release will be 
available four days prior to the board meeting for those 
individuals and organizations who request it. 

Contact: William T. Walker, Jr., Director, Office of University 
Relations, College of William and Mary, 312 Jamestown Rd., 
P.O. Box 8795, Williamsburg, VA 23187-8795, telephone 
(804) 221-2624. 

LEGISLATIVE 

VIRGINIA HOUSING STUDY COMMISSION 

December 5, 1996- 1 p.m.-- Public Hearing 
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, House 
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.~!!!~ 

A meeting relating to HB 625 (Board of Housing and 
Community Development/Membership), HB 1251 
(Dissolution of Local Redevelopment and Housing 
Authorities), HB 1322 (Cable Service), HB 1513 (Water 
and Sewer Fees), HJR 8 (Regulation of Property 
Owners' Associations), HJR 161 (Preservation of 
Affordable Housing); HJR 181 (Homeless Children), SB 
520 (Common Interest Community Management 
Information Fund), state regulations governing 
unlicensed home improvement contractors, and state 

regulations governing air conditioning in multifamily 
rental housing. 

Contact: Nancy D. Blanchard, Virginia Housing Study 
Commission, 601 South Belvidere St., Richmond, VA 23220, 
telephone (804) 782-1986, ext. 5565. 

JOINT LEGISLATIVE AUDIT AND REVIEW 
COMMISSION 

t December 9, 1996 - 9:30 a.m. --Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, Senate 
Room A, Richmond, Virginia.~!!!~ 

Staff briefings on review of the Department of 
Environmental Quality. 

Contact: Philip A. Leone, Director, Joint Legislative Audit 
and Review Commission, General Assembly Building, 910 
Capitol St., Suite 1100, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-1258. 

t December 18, 1996 - 9:30 a.m. --Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, Senate 
Room A, Richmond, Virginia.~!!!~ 

Staff briefings on review of inmate telephone system and 
recordation of land records titles. 

Contact: Philip A. Leone, Director, Joint Legislative Audit 
and Review Commission, General Assembly Building, 910 
Capitol St., Suite 1100, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-1258. 

VIRGINIA COMMISSION ON YOUTH 

t DecemberS, 1996-10 a.m.-- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, House 
Room C, Richmond, Virginia. 

A meeting to review the 1997 legislative package. 

Contact: Joyce Huey, Virginia Commission on Youth, 
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, Suite 517 B, 
Richmond, VA 23219-0406, telephone (804) 371-2481. 

CHRONOLOGICAL LIST 

OPEN MEETINGS 

November 25 
Elections, State Board of 
Forestry, Board of 
Information Management, Council on 
t Local Government, Commission on 
Rehabilitative Advisory Council, State 

November 26 
Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Board 

- Regulation Advisory Committee 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 

- Board on Conservation and Development of Public 
Beaches 
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Health Professions, Board of 
- Regulatory Research Committee 

Local Government, Commission on 
Marine Resources Commission 
Psychology, Board of 

- Discipline Committee 

December 2 
t Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of 

- Virginia Sheep Board 
Barbers, Board for 
t Nursing, Board of 

December 3 
t Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of 

- Virginia Seed Potato Board 
t Conservation and Recreation, Department of 

- Board of Conservation and Recreation and 
Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Board 

t Economic Development Partnership, Virginia 
- Board of Directors 

t Employment Commission, Virginia 
- State Advisory Board 

t Funeral Directors and Embalmers, Board of 
Hopewell Industrial Safety Council 
Social Services, State Board of 

December 4 
t Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors 
and Landscape Architects, Board for 

- Board for Architects 
t Conservation and Recreation, Department of 

-Virginia State Parks Foundation 
Contractors, Board for 

- Recovery Fund Committee 
t Emergency Planning Committee, Local- Winchester 
Fire Services Board, Virginia 

- Sprinkler Committee 
t Historic Resources, Department of 

- Historic Resources Board and State Review Board 
t Labor and Industry, Department of 

-Migrant and Seasonal Farmworkers Board 
t Medicine, Board of 
Pharmacy, Board of 

December 5 
t Air Pollution, State Advisory Board on 
t Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors 
and Landscape Architects, Board for 

- Board for Land Surveyors 
- Board for Professional Engineers 

t Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
- Catoctin Creek Scenic River Advisory Board 

Emergency Planning Committee, Local - County of 
Chesterfield 
Fire Services Board, Virginia 

- Fire/EMS Education and Training Committee 
-Fire Prevention and Control Committee 
- Legislative/Liaison Committee 

t Gaming Commission, Charitable 
Housing Study Commission, Virginia 
Labor and Industry, Department of 

-Apprenticeship Council 
t Nursing, Board of 
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Calendar of Events 

Richmond Hospital Authority 
- Board of Commissioners 

t Veterans Affairs, Virginia Board on 

December 6 
Fire Services Board, Virginia 
Medicine, Board of 
William and Mary, College of 

- Board of Visitors 

December 7 
Military Institute, Virginia 

- Board of Visitors 

DecemberS 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of 

-Virginia Irish Potato Board 
- Virginia Soybean Board 

t Environmental Quality, Department of 
t Housing and Community Development, Board of 
t Legislative Audit and Review Commission, Joint 
t Nursing, Board of 
t Youth, Virginia Commission on 

December 10 
t Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors 
and Landscape Architects, Board for 

- Board for Branch Pilots 
t Emergency Planning Committee, Local - Arlington 
County/City of Falls Church/Washington National Airport 
Medicine, Board of 
t Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 
Psychology, Board of 
Resources Authority, Virginia 
t Soil and Water Conservation Board, Virginia 

December 11 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of 

- Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
- Virginia Corn Board 

t Asbestos and Licensing and Lead Certification, Board 
for 
Interagency Coordinating Council, Virginia 
Juvenile Justice, State Board of 

December 12 
Accountancy, Board for 
t Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors 
and Landscape Architects, Board for 

- Board for Landscape Architects 
Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Board 

- Regulatory Committee and Regulation Advisory 
Committee 

Child Day-Care Council 
Rehabilitative Services, Department of 

- Assistive Technology Loan Fund Authority Board 
t Social Work, Board of 
Water Control Board, State 

December 13 
t Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors 
and Landscape Architects, Board for 

- Board for Interior Designers 
t Dentistry, Board of 
t Game and Inland Fisheries, Department of 
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Calendar of Events 

-Finance and Planning Committee 
Medicine, Board of 

- Executive Committee 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services, Department of 

- Project Leadership Team 

December 14 
Medicine, Board of 

- Credentials Committee 
Visually Handicapped, Department for the 

- Vocational Rehabilitation Council 

December 16 
Higher Education for Virginia, State Council of 

December 17 
t Conservation and Recreation, Board of 
Marine Resources Commission 
Maternal and Child Health Council 

-School Health Subcommittee 
Medical Assistance Services, Board of 
Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 

- Collections Committee 
Polygraph Examiners Advisory Board 

December 18 
t Aviation Board, Virginia 
t Legislation and Audit Review Commission, Joint 
t Transportation Board, Commonwealth 
Treasury Board 

December 19 
Medicine, Board of 
Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 

- Executive Committee 
- Nominating Committee 

t Transportation Board, Commonwealth 

December 20 
t Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors 
and Landscape Architects, Board for 
t Correctional Education, Board of 
t General Services, Department of 

-- Design-Build/ Construction Management Review 
Board 

January 5, 1997 
t Library Board 

- Facilities Committee 
- Legislative and Finance Committee 
-Public Library Development Committee 

January 6 
t Accountancy, Board for 
t Library Board 

- Automation and Networking Committee 
- Publications and Cultural Affairs Committee 
-Records Management Committee 
- Res~arch and Information Services Committee 

January 7 
Hopewell Industrial Safety Council 

January 13 
Hearing Aid Specialists, Board for 

January 14 
t Conservation and Recreation, Department of 

- Appomattox Scenic River Advisory Board 
Resources Authority, Virginia 

January 17 
t Correctional Education, Board of 
t General Services, Department of 

Design-Build/Construction Management Review 
Board 

January 22 
t Visually Handicapped, Board for the 

February 21 
t General Services, Department of 

Design-Build/Construction Management Review 
Board 

PUBLIC HEARINGS 

November 25 
Local Government, Commission on 
Taxation, Department of 

November 26 
Taxation, Department of 

November 27 
Taxation, Department of 

December 2 
Air Pollution Control Board, State 

December4 
Taxation, Department of 

December 5 
Fire Services Board, Virginia 

December 9 
Housing and Community Development, Board of 

December 10 
Transportation Board, Commonwealth 

December 11 
Environmental Quality, Department of 

-Virginia Coastal Resources Management Program 

December 12 
Voluntary Formulary Board, Virginia 

December 17 
t Professional Counselors and Marriage and Family 
Therapists, Board of 

January 7, 1997 
t Contractors, Board for 
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