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THE VIRGINIA REGISTER is an official state publication issued
every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published quarterly,
and the last index of the year is cumulative. THE VIRGINIA REGISTER
has several functions. The new and amended sections of regulations,
both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law to be
published in THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS. In
addition, THE VIRGINIA REGISTER is a source of other information
about state government, including all emergency regulations and
executive orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public
hearings and open meetings of state agencies.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF
REGULATIONS

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text
of the proposed regulation.

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor's
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation.

The appropriate standing committee of each branch of the General
Assembly may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process
and file an objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency.
The objection will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days
after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file
a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative committee, and
the Governor.

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon
final publication in the Virginia Register.

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if
he objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate standing
committees and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension
of the regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the
Virginia Register.

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or
inconsequential impact.

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day extension

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation,
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided
for additional public comment; (ii) the Governor and the General
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation,
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period.

Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final.

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS

If an agency demonstrates that (i) there is an immediate threat to the
public’'s health or safety; or (ii) Virginia statutory law, the appropriation
act, federal law, or federal regulation requires a regulation to take effect
no later than (a) 280 days from the enactment in the case of Virginia or
federal law or the appropriation act, or (b) 280 days from the effective
date of a federal regulation, it then requests the Governor's approval to
adopt an emergency regulation. The emergency regulation becomes
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations,
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to
addressing specifically defined situations and may not exceed 12 months
in duration. Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in
the Register.

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency
regulation; and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when
the prescribed time limit expires.

STATEMENT

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures
to be followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that
Article 2 (§ 9-6.14:7.1 et seq.) of Chapter 1.1:1 of the Code of Virginia be
examined carefully.

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and
date. 12:8 VA.R. 1096-1106 January 8, 1996, refers to Volume 12,
Issue 8, pages 1096 through 1106 of the Virginia Register issued on
January 8, 1996.

"THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS" (USPS-001831) is
published bi-weekly, with quarterly cumulative indices published in
January, April, July and October, for $100 per year by the Virginia Code
Commission, General Assembly Building, Capitol Square, Richmond,
Virginia 23219. Telephone (804) 786-3591. Periodical Postage Rates
Paid at Richmond, Virginia. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to
THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, 910 CAPITOL
STREET, 2ND FLOOR, RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23219.

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 7
(8 9-6.14:22 et seq.) of Chapter 1.1:1 of Title 9 of the Code of Virginia.
Individual copies, if available, may be purchased for $4.00 each from the
Registrar of Regulations.

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: Joseph V. Gartlan, Jr.,
Chairman; W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr., Vice Chairman; Robert L.
Calhoun; Russell M. Carneal; Bernard S. Cohen; Jay W. DeBoer;
Frank S. Ferguson; E. M. Miller, Jr.; Jackson E. Reasor, Jr.; James
B. Wilkinson.

Staff of the Virginia Register: E. M. Miller, Jr., Acting Registrar of
Regulations; Jane D. Chaffin, Deputy Registrar of Regulations.




PUBLICATION DEADLINES AND SCHEDULES

This schedule is available on the Register's Internet home page (http:/legis.state.va.us/codecomm/register/regindex.htm).

June 1998 through March 1999

Material Submitted

Volume:lssue By Noon* Will Be Published On
14:20 June 3, 1998 June 22, 1998

INDEX 3 - Volume 14 July 1998

14:21 June 17, 1998 July 6, 1998

14:22 July 1, 1998 July 20, 1998

14:23 July 15, 1998 August 3, 1998

14:24 July 29, 1998 August 17, 1998
14:25 August 12, 1998 August 31, 1998
14:26 August 26, 1998 September 14, 1998

FINAL INDEX - Volume 14

October 1998

15:1 September 9, 1998 September 28, 1998
15:2 September 23, 1998 October 12, 1998
15:3 October 7, 1998 October 26, 1998
15:4 October 21, 1998 November 9, 1998
15:5 November 4, 1998 November 23, 1998
15:6 November 17, 1998 (Tuesday) December 7, 1998
15:7 December 2, 1998 December 21, 1998

INDEX 1 - Volume 15

January 1999

15:8 December 15, 1998 (Tuesday) January 4, 1999
15:9 December 29, 1998 (Tuesday) January 18, 1999
15:10 January 13, 1999 February 1, 1999
15:11 January 27, 1999 February 15, 1999
15:12 February 10, 1999 March 1, 1999
15:13 February 24, 1999 March 15, 1999
15:14 March 10, 1999 March 29, 1999

INDEX 2 - Volume 15

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified.

April 1999
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CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE
SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED

The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended,
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the
Spring 1998 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 10 dated
February 2, 1998). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation “emer,” and errata pertaining to
final regulations are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and
shows action taken, the volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section.

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE
Title 2. Agriculture
2 VAC 5-180-10 Amended 14:19 VA.R. 2666 718198
2 VAC 5-180-20 Amended 14:19 VA.R. 2667 718198
2 VAC 5-180-30 Amended 14:19 VA.R. 2668 718198
2 VAC 5-180-50 Amended 14:19 VA.R. 2668 718198
2 VAC 5-180-60 Amended 14:19 VA.R. 2668 718198
2 VAC 5-180-80 Amended 14:19 VA.R. 2668 718198
2 VAC 5-180-90 Amended 14:19 VA.R. 2669 718/98
2 VAC 5-180-120 Amended 14:19 VA.R. 2669 718/98
2 VAC 5-205-10 through Added 14:19 VA.R. 2670 7/8/98
2 VAC 5-205-110
2 VAC 5-390-180 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2136 3/1/98
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources
4 VAC 15-290-140 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2357 7/1/98
4 VAC 20-260-20 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2231 3/13/98
4 VAC 20-280-10 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2357 3/31/98
4 VAC 20-345-10 Added 14:15 VA.R. 2236 3/1/98
4 VAC 20-345-20 Added 14:15 VA.R. 2236 3/1/98
4 VAC 20-345-20 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2513 5/4/98
4 VAC 20-345-30 Added 14:15 VA.R. 2236 3/1/98
4 VAC 20-345-40 Added 14:15 VA.R. 2237 3/1/98
4 VAC 20-345-40 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2513 5/4/98
4 VAC 20-380-30 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2357 3/31/98
4 VAC 20-380-60 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2358 3/31/98
4 VAC 20-500-40 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2137 3/1/98
4 VAC 20-560-10 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2514 5/1/98
4 VAC 20-560-20 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2514 5/1/98
4 VAC 20-560-40 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2515 5/1/98
4 VAC 20-560-50 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2516 5/1/98
4 VAC 20-620-50 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2358 4/1/98
4 VAC 20-620-60 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2358 4/1/98
4 VAC 20-880-40 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2137 3/1/98
4 VAC 20-880-40 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2516 5/1/98
4 VAC 20-880-50 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2138 3/1/98
4 VAC 20-880-50 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2517 5/1/98
4 VAC 20-910-45 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1915 1/30/98
4 VAC 20-950-30 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2358 4/1/98
4 VAC 20-950-45 Added 14:12 VA.R. 1915 1/30/98
4 VAC 20-950-45 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2359 4/1/98
4 VAC 20-960-30 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2359 4/1/98
4 VAC 20-960-45 Added 14:16 VA.R. 2359 4/1/98
4 VAC 20-1000-10 Added 14:12 VA.R. 1916 1/30/98
4 VAC 20-1000-20 Added 14:12 VA.R. 1916 1/30/98
4 VAC 20-1000-30 Added 14:12 VA.R. 1916 1/30/98
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Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE
4 VAC 20-1000-40 Added 14:12 VA.R. 1916 1/30/98
4 VAC 25-40-10 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2428 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-20 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2430 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-25 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2430 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-30 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2430 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-40 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2430 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-50 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2430 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-60 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2431 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-70 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2431 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-80 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2431 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-90 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2431 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-100 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2431 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-110 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-120 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-130 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-140 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-145 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-180 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-200 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-210 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-220 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-250 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-270 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-300 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-310 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-320 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-350 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-385 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2433 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-388 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2433 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-390 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-400 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-440 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-450 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-460 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-490 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-500 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-510 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-520 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-530 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-540 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-550 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-590 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-630 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-660 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-670 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2435 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-690 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2435 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-710 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2435 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-720 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2435 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-730 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2435 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-750 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2435 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-770 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2435 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-780 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2435 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-790 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2436 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-800 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2436 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-810 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2437 7/1/98
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Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE
4 VAC 25-40-820 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2437 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-830 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2438 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-870 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2438 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-880 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2438 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-890 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2438 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-895 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2438 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-900 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2438 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-910 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2438 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-920 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2439 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-930 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2439 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-940 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2439 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-960 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2439 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-970 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2439 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1030 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2439 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1100 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2439 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1130 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1140 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1180 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1210 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1220 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1250 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1260 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1280 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1300 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1310 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1320 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1340 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1370 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1490 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1540 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1550 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1560 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2441 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1580 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2441 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1590 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2441 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1670 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2441 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1685 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2441 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1690 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2441 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1740 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2441 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1780 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2441 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1785 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1810 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1880 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1940 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2010 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2015 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2040 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2080 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2100 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2140 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2170 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2180 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2210 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2220 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2250 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2260 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
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4 VAC 25-40-2270 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2280 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2300 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2340 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2390 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2400 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2410 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2420 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2440 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2450 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2480 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2490 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2500 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2510 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2530 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2540 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2550 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2590 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2610 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2650 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2660 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2680 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2700 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2720 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2750 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2760 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2770 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2790 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2800 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2810 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2820 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2850 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2870 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2880 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2910 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2915 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2920 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2930 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2980 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3000 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3030 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2446 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3050 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2446 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3070 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2446 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3080 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2446 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3110 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2446 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3120 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2446 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3160 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3170 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3220 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3230 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3240 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3280 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3290 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3300 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3310 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
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4 VAC 25-40-3320 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3325 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3328 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3330 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3340 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3350 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3420 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3430 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3450 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3460 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3475 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3478 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3595 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3620 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3660 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3690 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3700 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3710 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3720 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3830 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3840 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2449 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3855 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2449 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3890 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2449 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3930 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2449 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3955 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2449 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3958 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2450 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3980 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2450 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3990 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2450 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4060 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2450 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4090 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2450 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4100 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2450 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4110 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2451 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4140 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2451 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4160 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2451 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4220 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2451 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4230 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2451 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4260 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2451 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4280 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2451 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4290 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4320 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4330 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4350 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4430 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4440 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4460 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4540 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4590 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4650 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4750 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4770 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4910 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4920 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4970 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4980 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5040 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
Volume 14, Issue 20 Monday, June 22, 1998

2711



Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE
4 VAC 25-40-5050 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2453 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5060 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2453 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5070 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2453 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5120 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2453 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5170 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2453 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5180 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2453 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5200 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2453 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5210 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2453 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5230 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5290 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5310 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5320 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5330 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5340 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5370 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5400 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5450 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5470 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5550 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5580 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5590 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2455 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5630 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2455 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5660 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2455 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5670 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2455 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5680 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2455 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5690 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2455 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5710 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2455 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5720 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2455 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5730 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2455 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5740 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2456 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5750 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2456 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5760 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2456 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5770 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2457 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5780 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2457 7/1/98
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections

6 VAC 15-60-10 through Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2457 9/1/98
6 VAC 15-60-100

6 VAC 15-61-10 through Added 14:17 VA.R. 2457 9/1/98

6 VAC 15-61-300
Title 9. Environment

9 VAC 5-20-203 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1804 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-20-204 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1804 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-20-205 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1805 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-20-220 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1812 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-20-230 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1812 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-50-400 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1807 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-60-60 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1807 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-60-90 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1807 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-60-100 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1808 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-40 Repealed 14:11 VA.R. 1813 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-800 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1820 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-810 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1820 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-820 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1822 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-830 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1823 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-840 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1823 4/1/98
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9 VAC 5-80-850 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1823 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-860 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1825 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-870 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1825 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-880 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1825 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-890 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1826 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-900 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1826 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-910 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1826 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-920 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1826 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-930 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1826 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-940 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1826 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-950 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1826 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-960 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1826 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-970 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1827 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-980 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1827 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-990 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1828 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-1000 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1828 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-1010 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1828 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-1020 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1829 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-1030 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1830 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-1040 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1831 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-190-80 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-31-800 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-31-800 Erratum 14:17 VA.R. 2477 --
9 VAC 25-31-840 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-31-900 Erratum 14:17 VA.R. 2477 --
9 VAC 25-31-920 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2360 5/27/98
9 VAC 25-90-10 through Repealed 14:18 VA.R. 2517 6/24/98
9 VAC 25-90-70

9 VAC 25-91-10 through Added 14:18 VA.R. 2518 6/24/98
9 VAC 25-91-220

9 VAC 25-100-10 through Repealed 14:18 VA.R. 2547 6/24/98
9 VAC 25-100-70

9 VAC 25-101-10 through Added 14:18 VA.R. 2547 6/24/98
9 VAC 25-101-70

9 VAC 25-130-10 through Repealed 14:18 VA.R. 2517 6/24/98
9 VAC 25-130-100

9 VAC 25-140-10 through Repealed 14:18 VA.R. 2518 6/24/98
9 VAC 25-140-110

9 VAC 25-196-50 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-196-70 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-260-20 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-260-110 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-260-140 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-260-350 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-260-370 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-260-390 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-260-400 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-260-450 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-260-540 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
Title 10. Finance and Financial Institutions

10 VAC 5-60-40 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2139 3/10/98
10 VAC 5-60-50 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2139 3/10/98
10 VAC 5-70-20 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2140 3/10/98
10 VAC 5-70-30 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2140 3/10/98
10 VAC 5-70-50 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2140 3/10/98
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Title 11. Gaming

11 VAC 10-70-20 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1831 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-70-30 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1831 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-70-40 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1831 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-70-50 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1831 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-70-60 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1832 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-70-70 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1832 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-70-80 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1833 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-70-110 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1833 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-70-170 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1833 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-70-180 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1833 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-90-10 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1835 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-90-20 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1835 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-90-30 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1835 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-90-40 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1835 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-90-50 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1835 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-90-60 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1836 3/19/98
Title 12. Health

12 VAC 5-210-10 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2237 6/1/98
12 VAC 5-210-20 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2243 6/1/98
12 VAC 5-220-10 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1917 4/2/98
12 VAC 5-220-105 Added 14:12 VA.R. 1920 4/2/98
12 VAC 5-220-150 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1920 4/2/98
12 VAC 5-220-180 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1920 4/2/98
12 VAC 5-220-200 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1921 4/2/98
12 VAC 5-220-230 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1923 4/2/98
12 VAC 5-220-280 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1924 4/2/98
12 VAC 5-220-290 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1925 4/2/98
12 VAC 5-220-385 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1925 4/2/98
12 VAC 5-220-500 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1926 4/2/98
12 VAC 30-50-30 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2568 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-70 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2568 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-100 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2571 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-105 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2573 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-140 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1926 4/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-140 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2574 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-150 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1927 4/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-160 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2564 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-200 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2579 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-220 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2569 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-229.1 Added 14:18 VA.R. 2581 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-540 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2575 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-550 Added 14:18 VA.R. 2576 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-560 Added 14:18 VA.R. 2577 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-570 Added 14:18 VA.R. 2578 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-60-40 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1928 4/1/98
12 VAC 30-60-90 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2465 6/10/98
12 VAC 30-60-120 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1929 4/1/98
12 VAC 30-70-440 Repealed 14:15 VA.R. 2248 6/1/98
12 VAC 30-70-441 Added 14:15 VA.R. 2248 6/1/98
12 VAC 30-80-30 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1933 4/1/98
12 VAC 30-80-30 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2582 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-100-120 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2583 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-120-360 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2584 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-120-370 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2585 7/1/98
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12 VAC 30-120-385 Added 14:18 VA.R. 2587 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-120-410 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2587 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-120-420 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2587 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-120-490 through Added 14:18 VA.R. 2590 7/1/98

12 VAC 30-120-550
Title 13. Housing

13 VAC 5-51-135 emer Added 14:18 VA.R. 2605 4/27/98 - 4/26/99
13 VAC 5-61-440 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2600 7/1/98
13 VAC 10-10-20 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2466 5/1/98
13 VAC 10-20-20 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2467 5/1/98
13 VAC 10-40-100 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1838 1/28/98
13 VAC 10-40-110 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1839 1/28/98
13 VAC 10-40-120 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1839 1/28/98
13 VAC 10-40-130 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1839 1/28/98
13 VAC 10-40-140 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1841 1/28/98
13 VAC 10-40-190 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1842 1/28/98
13 VAC 10-40-210 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1843 1/28/98
13 VAC 10-40-230 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1843 1/28/98
13 VAC 10-130-30 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2468 5/1/98
13 VAC 10-140-20 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2469 5/1/98
13 VAC 10-180-50 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2141 3/4/98
13 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2142 3/4/98
Title 16. Labor and Employment
16 VAC 25-90-1910.94 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.111 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.134 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.139 Added 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.156 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.252 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.261 Erratum 14:17 VA.R. 2477 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1001 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1003 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1017 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1018 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1025 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1027 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1028 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1029 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1043 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1044 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1045 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1047 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1048 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1050 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1051 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1052 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2151 5/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1052 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing
18 VAC 25-21-70 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1845 4/1/98
18 VAC 30-20-10 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2155 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-20 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2156 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-30 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2156 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-40 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2156 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-45 Added 14:14 VA.R. 2156 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-50 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2156 4/29/98
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE
18 VAC 30-20-60 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2156 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-70 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2156 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-80 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-90 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-100 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-110 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-120 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-130 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-140 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-150 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-160 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-170 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-180 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2159 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-190 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2159 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-200 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2159 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-210 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2159 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-220 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2159 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-240 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2159 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-250 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2160 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-260 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2160 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-270 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2160 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-280 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2160 4/29/98
18 VAC 60-20-105 Added 14:18 VA.R. 2602 6/24/98
18 VAC 76-10-10 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1845 1/22/98
18 VAC 110-20-210 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2253 5/13/98
18 VAC 120-30-100 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1846 4/1/98
18 VAC 125-20-30 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1851 4/1/98
Title 19. Public Safety

19 VAC 30-20-10 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1853 3/18/98
19 VAC 30-20-70 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1853 3/18/98
19 VAC 30-20-80 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1854 3/18/98
19 VAC 30-20-140 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1854 3/18/98
19 VAC 30-20-150 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1854 3/18/98
19 VAC 30-20-160 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1854 3/18/98
Title 20. Public Utilities and Telecommunications

20 VAC 5-310-10 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2253 3/24/98
Title 21. Securities and Retail Franchising

21 VAC 5-85-10 Amended 14:13 VA.R. 1976 2/17/98
21 VAC 5-85-10 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2259 3/24/98
Title 24. Transportation

24 VAC 30-71-160 Erratum 14:13 VA.R. 2011 --
24 VAC 30-71-170 Erratum 14:13 VA.R. 2028 --
24 VAC 30-170-10 Amended 14:13 VA.R. 1992 4/15/98
24 VAC 30-380-10 Amended 14:13 VA.R. 1992 2/24/98
24 VAC 30-390-10 Amended 14:13 VA.R. 1992 2/24/98
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PUBLIC COMMENT PERIODS - PROPOSED REGULATIONS

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIODS REGARDING STATE AGENCY REGULATIONS

This section gives notice of public comment periods and public hearings to be held on
proposed regulations. The notice will be published once at the same time the proposed
regulation is published in the Proposed Regulations section of the Virginia Register. The notice
will continue to be carried in the Calendar of Events section of the Virginia Register until the
public comment period and public hearing date have passed.

Notice is given in compliance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the Code of Virginia that the following public
hearings and public comment periods regarding proposed state agency regulations are set to
afford the public an opportunity to express their views.

TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE

August 21, 1998 — Public comments may be submitted
through this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Department of State
Police intends to amend regulations entitled: 19 VAC
30-70-1 et seq. Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection
Rules and Regulations. The purpose of the proposed
action is to amend existing administrative regulations
governing vehicle inspections to comply with mandates
of the amended sections of the Code of Federal
Regulations and the Code of Virginia.

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-1165 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact: Captain W. Steven Flaherty, Safety Officer,
Department of State Police, P.O. Box 27472, Richmond, VA
23261, telephone (804) 378-3479, FAX (804) 378-3487 or
toll-free 1-800-553-3144.
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PROPOSED REGULATIONS

For information concerning Proposed Regulations, see Information Page.

Symbol Key
Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Italic type indicates proposed new text.
Language which has been stricken indicates proposed text for deletion.

TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 5. 19 VAC 30-70-70 is amended by deleting the

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE

Title of Requlation: 19 VAC 30-70-1 et seq. Motor Vehicle
Safety Inspection Rules and Regulations (amending
19 VAC 30-70-5, 19 VAC 30-70-7, 19 VAC 30-70-10,
19 VAC 30-70-50, 19 VAC 30-70-70, 19 VAC 30-70-80,
19 VAC 30-70-90, 19 VAC 30-70-100, 19 VAC 30-70-140,
19 VAC 30-70-160, 19 VAC 30-70-180, 19 VAC 30-70-200,
19 VAC 30-70-440, 19 VAC 30-70-450, 19 VAC 30-70-460,
19 VAC 30-70-470, 19 VAC 30-70-480, 19 VAC 30-70-490,
19 VAC 30-70-500, 19 VAC 30-70-550, 19 VAC 30-70-570,
19 VAC 30-70-580 and 19 VAC 30-70-680).

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-1165 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  N/A--Public comments may be
submitted until August 21, 1998.

(See Calendar of Events section

for additional information)

Basis: Section 46.2-1165 of the Code of Virginia requires
the Superintendent of State Police to promulgate regulations
for the inspection of motor vehicles.

Purpose: The purpose of the amendments is to comply with
the mandates of the amended sections of the Code of
Federal Regulations and the Code of Virginia. The Virginia
Official Inspection Manual has been in place for over 60
years since the inception of the Inspection Program. Due to
concerns for highway safety, the legislature determined that
automobiles should be inspected annually to detect
mechanical failures before they contribute to the cause of
traffic crashes. This program has a significant impact upon
the citizenry of the Commonwealth and is beneficial for their
health, safety and welfare.

Substance: The proposed changes make minor
modifications to portions of the language already in the
Inspection Manual to comply with current federal and state
law.

1. 19 VAC 30-70-5 seeks to revise an error in the last
publication;

2. 19VAC 30-70-7 adds a sentence to clarify the
reinstatement process for a suspended inspector;

3. 19 VAC 30-70-10 T is revised to add the supervisory
rank of sergeant to the list of state police supervisors
who have authority to suspend a station or inspector;

4. 19 VAC 30-70-50 requires requests for supplies to be
picked up at Safety Division headquarters to be made at
least 24 hours in advance, and receipts and decals be
placed in numerical order;

reference to the back page of the Inventory Report
(Form SP221);

6. 19 VAC 30-70-80 eliminates the reference to the
decelerometer or brake machine and clarifies the
condition requiring rejection following the remachining of
brake drums or brake disks;

7. 19 VAC 30-70-90 adds a subsection to provide for a
procedure for checking the holding brake (consistent
with the CFR);

8. 19 VAC 30-70-100 deletes a section relating to
decelerometers and renumbers some subsections;

9. 19 VAC 30-70-140 is amended to delete mechanical
aimers;

10. 19 VAC 30-70-160 is amended to clarify which fog
lamps and driving lamps require aiming;

11. 19 VAC 30-70-180 is amended to show the
minimum height for reflector placement as 15 inches;

12. 19 VAC 30-70-200 eliminates reference to magneto
or acetylene light and front fender jewels, and
renumbers some subdivisions;

13. 19 VAC 30-70-440 is amended to reflect changes to
service brakes, numerous subdivisions amended
(consistent with the CFR);

14. 19 VAC 30-70-450 reflects changes to emergency,
parking or holding brakes (consistent with changes to
the CFR);

15. 19 VAC 30-70-460 is amended by adding reference
to 19 VAC 30-70-450 dealing with emergency, parking
or holding brakes (consistent with the CFR);

16. 19 VAC 30-70-470 is amended in numerous
subdivisions reflecting changes to steering (consistent
with the CFR);

17. 19 VAC 30-70-480 is amended reflecting changes
to the suspension (consistent with the CFR);

18. 19 VAC 30-70-490 is amended to show changes to
the frame, engine mounts, and coupling devices
(consistent with the CFR);

19. 19 VAC 30-70-500 is amended to show changes to
tires, wheels and rims (consistent with the CFR);

20. 19 VAC 30-70-550 is amended to show the
minimum height for reflector placement (consistent with
the CFR and § 46.2-1017 of the Code of Virginia);
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21. 19 VAC 30-70-570 is amended to eliminate
references to magneto or acetylene lighting, and
subdivisions are renumbered;

22. 19 VAC 30-70-580 is amended to reflect changes in
glazing (consistent with the CFR);

23. 19 VAC 30-70-680 is amended to reflect changes to
the fuel system (consistent with the CFR).

Issues: The advantages of the changes in the proposed
regulations are the enhancement to public safety and
ensuring Virginia’s compliance with the criteria as set forth in
federal law, as noted above. There are no foreseeable
disadvantages to the program, as each inspection station is
already familiar with the inspection process and these
changes would not impose a burden upon them.

There are no tangible advantages or disadvantages to the
agency as a result of these modifications.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with §9-6.14:7.1 G of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13
(94). Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property. The
analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation. The Virginia Official
Inspection Manual provides guidelines for the annual
inspection of all automobiles in the Commonwealth of
Virginia. The proposed modifications are being made to
comply with federal and state legislative changes. The
opportunity is also being used to make several clarifications
and eliminate references to obsolete terms.

Estimated economic impact. The Virginia Official Inspection
Manual has been in effect for over 60 years. The proposed
modifications are intended to insure Virginia’'s compliance
with current federal and state legislation. Since each
inspection station is already familiar with the inspection
process, these changes impose no additional regulatory
burden. According to the Virginia State Police (VSP), the
proposed changes will not affect the length of an average
inspection, currently 27 minutes, nor increase the number of
vehicles rejected by more than a full percentage point. The
number of vehicles currently rejected is between 10 and 11
percent.

The benefits resulting from clearer regulatory language and
the enhancement of public safety will most likely outweigh
any increases in consumer compliance costs. Although it
would be difficult to measure the exact value of the benefits

and costs it can be expected that the proposed modifications
will result in a relatively small, net economic gain.

Businesses and entities affected. These proposed
modifications will affect all state inspection stations and
owners of private and commercial vehicles. Since each
inspection station is already familiar with the inspection
process, these changes impose no additional regulatory
burden. Automobile owners likewise are not expected to
suffer any increased compliance costs. All citizens of
Virginia will benefit from this enhancement of public safety.

Localities particularly affected. No locality will be particularly
affected by the proposed changes to this regulation.

Projected impact on employment. The proposed changes to
this regulation are not expected to have any impact on
employment in Virginia.

Effects on the use and value of private property. The
proposed changes to this regulation are not expected to have
any effects on the use and value of private property.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of
State Police is in agreement with the economic impact
analysis. The safety inspection process has occurred for
over 60 years and no additional regulatory burden will be
borne by the safety inspection stations, nor the general
public.

Summary:

The Virginia Official Inspection Manual provides
guidelines for the annual inspection of all automobiles in
the Commonwealth of Virginia. The proposed
amendments are being made to comply with federal and
state legislative changes. The opportunity is also being
used to make several clarifications and eliminate
references to obsolete terms.

19 VAC 30-70-5. Class lll offenses.

Class Il offenses shall be violations of those sections of
the Annual Motor Vehicle Inspection Manual considered
most critical from a safety viewpoint. They would consist of
the omission of checking or improper approval of an item so
critical to the safe operation of a motor vehicle as to have the
potential of being the imminent cause or factor of a motor
vehicle crash. A violation of the following sections of the
Annual Motor Vehicle Inspection Manual shall constitute a
Class Il offense unless designated otherwise:

19 VAC 30-70-10J

19 VAC 30-70-10 P, P1, P2

19 VAC 30-70-80 in its entirety (except subdivision B 3)
19 VAC 30-70-90 in its entirety

19 VAC 30-70-100 in its entirety

19 VAC 30-70-110 in its entirety

19 VAC 30-70-120 in its entirety

19 VAC 30-70-130 in its entirety
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19 VAC 30-70-140 in its entirety

19 VAC 30-70-160 1 10 hand 11 f

19 VAC 30-70-160 1 10 g and 11 g (2)
19 VAC 30-70-190 in its entirety

19 VAC 30-70-220 in its entirety

19 VAC 30-70-340 in its entirety

19 VAC 30-70-350 in its entirety

19 VAC 30-70-360 A and B

19 VAC 30-70-360 D 15 through D 22
19 VAC 30-70-370 in its entirety

19 VAC 30-70-400 in its entirety

19 VAC 30-70-440 in its entirety (except subsection
subdivision B 2)

19 VAC 30-70-450 in its entirety
19 VAC 30-70-460 in its entirety
19 VAC 30-70-470 in its entirety
19 VAC 30-70-480 in its entirety
19 VAC 30-70-490 in its entirety
19 VAC 30-70-500 in its entirety
19 VAC 30-70-510 in its entirety
19 VAC 30-70-530 H 10 i and 11 g (2)
19 VAC 30-70-560 in its entirety
19 VAC 30-70-590 in its entirety
Disciplinary action for a Class Il offense shall be:

1st offense - Written reprimand from the Safety Officer
or his designee.

2nd offense - Suspension for not less than 45 nor more
than 90 days.

Offenses are cumulative in nature and will remain active
for a period of 24 months from date of offense.

A Class Ill offense in combination with two Class Il
offenses or three Class | offenses shall be grounds for no
less than a 60-day nor more than 90-day suspension.

19 VAC 30-70-7. General information.

Any violation under any class of offenses requiring a third
suspension within a 24-month period shall be grounds for a
revocation. The suspension or revocation period for a
subsequent violation requiring suspension or revocation
under any class of offenses within a 24-month period shall
be twice that of a previous suspension or revocation.

For suspension periods of less than six months, inspection
stations and safety inspectors will not be required to file
application for reinstatement.

For suspension periods of six months or more, inspection
stations and safety inspectors must complete the process as
set forth for original appointment. Reapplications may be
made 60 days prior to the suspension expiration.
Suspended inspectors shall contact the nearest safety office
or supervising trooper to request reinstatement.

Inspection stations and safety inspectors who have their
privilege to perform inspections revoked, must complete the
application process as set forth for original appointments
after the expiration of the period of revocation.

19 VAC 30-70-10. Official inspection  station
requirements.
A. Official inspection stations, except private

appointments, shall be open at least eight hours of each
normal business day, and shall be able to perform
inspections 12 months throughout the year, except during
illness of limited duration or normal vacation.

1. Normal business hours are defined as an eight-hour
period of time between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m.

2. Stations are not prohibited from performing
inspections at times other than during normal business
hours.

3. A station which advertises inspections beyond
normal business hours shall be able to perform such
inspections.

4. If a station desires to maintain business hours which
are different from those defined in this section, written
permission must be obtained from the safety officer and
a sign setting forth the inspection hours must be posted
conspicuously at the station where it can be observed by
a person desiring to have a vehicle inspected.

B. At least one safety inspector to perform inspections
and one inspection lane, meeting the minimum
requirements, shall be available for inspection at all times
during the normal business day. All inspections must be
made only at the locations and in the inspection lane
approved by the Department of State Police.

The designated inspection areas, including any location
where customers are permitted to enter when submitting
vehicles for inspection, must be kept clean, free from
excessive dirt, grease, and loose materials.

C. Inspection station faciliies must be properly
maintained and must present a businesslike appearance to
the general public. Property adjacent to the inspection
station which is owned or controlled by the station must be
free of debiris, litter, used parts and junk vehicles. Vehicles
properly contained within fenced storage areas shall be
deemed to comply with this requirement.

D. Inspections shall be performed on a first come, first
serve basis. Motorists shall not be required to make an
appointment to obtain an inspection, except that
appointments required by paragraph 12 of the Governor's
Proclamation, which appears at the end of this chapter, shall
be made. Businesses that take in motorists' vehicles for
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inspection at the beginning of the work day shall not be
required to stop the work already taken in to provide an
inspection for a drive-in motorist, provided inspections are
actually being performed at the time and will continue
through the day.

E. Safety inspectors, managers who supervise inspection
activities and business owners through participation in the
inspection program are representatives of the Department of
State Police and should conduct themselves in a manner to
avoid controversy in dealing with customers presenting
vehicles for inspection. The use of profanity or verbal abuse
directed at customers presenting their vehicles for inspection
will be grounds for suspension from participation in the
inspection program and will be considered a Class IV offense
as set forth in 19 VAC 30-70-6 of the Guidelines for
Administration of Virginia's Annual Motor Vehicle Inspection
Program.

Controversy that cannot be calmly resolved by the safety
inspector, managers, and owners should be referred to the
supervising trooper for handling.

F. The "Certificate of Appointment” must be framed under
glass and posted at or near the point of inspection where it
can be observed and read by a person submitting a vehicle
for inspection.

G. The required "Official Inspection Procedure" sheet
furnished each station must be framed under glass and
posted conspicuously where it can be observed and read by
a person submitting a vehicle for inspection.

H. The poster designating the station as an official
inspection station shall be posted in a prominent location,
outside or visible outside the station to alert passersby that
inspection services are available. Private inspection stations
need not comply with this section.

I. Each official inspection station shall display a list with
the name(s) and license expiration date of all employees
licensed to inspect at that station adjacent to the
appointment certificate, where it can be observed by a
person submitting a vehicle for inspection.

The official inspection manual will be kept at or near the
point of inspection for ready reference.

J. Important - Any change in name, ownership or location
of any official inspection station cancels the appointment of
that station and the Department of State Police must be
notified immediately. The department shall be notified when
an official inspection station discontinues operation.

K. All inspection supplies, inspection binders and manual,
unused stickers, duplicates of certificates issued, bulletins,
and other forms are the property of the Department of State
Police and must be safeguarded against loss.

L. Inspection supplies issued to an inspection station can
be used only by that station and are not to be loaned or
reissued to any other station with the exception of inserts.

1. Stations must maintain a sufficient supply of
approval stickers, T/M decals and rejection stickers.

2. Inspection stations that exhaust their supply of
approval stickers, rejection stickers or T/M decals, shall
immediately stop performing new inspections and
contact their supervising trooper or the nearest Safety
Division office.

M. All losses of stickers must be reported orally at once to
the nearest State Police area safety office or supervising
inspection trooper.

N. Every precaution against the loss of stickers must be
taken. If the loss occurs through carelessness or neglect, a
suspension of the station may result.

O. Manuals, bulletins, other regulations and lists of
approved equipment must be available at all times for
reference. Revisions to the inspection manual must be
inserted in the manual at the proper location promptly after
being received by the inspection station. Bulletins of
temporary interest and pages of bulletins containing the
synopsis of manual revisions will be retained in the front of
each station's inspection manual for two years. Each safety
inspector shall review the material contained in each
inspection bulletin and manual revision within 15 days of its
receipt. The safety inspector shall certify that the revisions
have been reviewed by signing his/her name and placing the
date reviewed by the signature on the bottom or reverse side
of the bulletin or manual revision cover sheet. Station
management shall be responsible to see that each safety
inspector is familiar with all bulletins and manual revisions
and shall be required to furnish evidence to the department
that all bulletins and manual revisions have been reviewed
by each licensed inspector.

A copy of the diagram drawn by the investigating trooper,
showing the approved inspection lane or lanes will be
inserted in a plastic page protector and inserted as the last
page of the official inspection manual at each official
inspection station. The name of the station and the date will
be inserted in the top right corner.

P. Private appointment may be made of company stations
or government stations who own and operate a minimum of
20 vehicles and they may inspect only company-owned or
government-owned vehicles respectively. When authorized
by the department, they may inspect vehicles of a wholly
owned subsidiary or leased vehicles.

1. A private station may perform inspections during
each month of the year or may elect to inspect only
during certain designated months.

2. A private station not electing to inspect vehicles
every month of the year which finds it necessary to
inspect a vehicle during a month other than those
selected for inspection may issue a sticker to the vehicle
from the nearest past inspection month.

Q. Al official inspection station owners, operators and
certified safety inspectors shall comply with the Virginia
inspection laws and the inspection rules and regulations.
Reports of violations will be investigated and if found to be
valid may result in the suspension of the station, suspension
of the mechanic, possible court action or other appropriate
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action. Repeated violations or serious violations may result
in a revocation of the station appointment by the
Superintendent.

R. The arrest of any person associated with the inspection
program for a criminal offense of a nature which would tend
to immediately reflect upon the integrity and reputation of the
Department of State Police shall be grounds for an
immediate suspension and the conviction for such an
offense may result in a revocation of the station
appointment.

S. When a station has been suspended or revoked, it
must release to a member of the Department of State Police
all inspection supplies, posters, and papers including the
certificate of appointment. Failure to do so is a violation of
§ 46.2-1172 of the Code of Virginia.

T. The authority of the Superintendent to suspend the
designation or appointment of an official inspection station
as provided in § 46.2-1163 of the Code of Virginia, or to
suspend the certification of a mechanic designated to
perform inspections at an official inspection station in
keeping with the provisions of § 46.2-1166 of the Code of
Virginia, is hereby delegated to any of the following
supervisory ranks of the Department of State Police:
"Lieutenant Colonel, Major, Captain, Lieutenant ard, First
Sergeant and Sergeant."

19 VAC 30-70-50. Approval stickers and decals.

A. If the vehicle meets all inspection requirements, the
inspection sticker receipt shall be legibly filled out with a ball
point pen in its entirety and signed by the authorized
mechanic making the inspection. The inspection fee, the
cost of the repairs relating to the inspection and the
identification number must be included.

B. Approval stickers and decals shall be issued according
to the following schedule:

ANNUAL PROGRAM

Vehicles inspected in
January

issued stickers bearing the
Number "1"

Vehicles inspected in
February

issued stickers bearing the
Number "2"

Vehicles inspected in March  issued stickers bearing the

Number "3"

Vehicles inspected in April issued stickers bearing the

Number "4"

Vehicles inspected in May issued stickers bearing the

Number "5"

Vehicles inspected in June issued stickers bearing the

Number "6"

Vehicles inspected in July issued stickers bearing the

Number "7"

Vehicles inspected in August issued stickers bearing the

Number "8"

Vehicles inspected in
September

issued stickers bearing the
Number "9"

Vehicles inspected in
October

issued stickers bearing the
Number "10"

Vehicles inspected in
November

issued stickers bearing the
Number "11"

Vehicles inspected in
December

issued stickers bearing the
Number "12"

All  February annual inspection stickers and
trailer/motorcycle decals (#2) due to expire at midnight,
February 28 automatically will be valid through midnight
February 29 each leap year.

C. The numeral decal indicating the month of expiration
shall be inserted in the box identified as month and the
numeral decal indicating the year of expiration shall be
inserted in the box identified as year of the approval sticker
and the trailer/cycle decal. Extreme care should be used by
inspectors in applying these inserts. On all windshields,
except school buses, the sticker is to be placed at the bottom
of the windshield so that the inside or left edge of the sticker
is one inch to the right of the vertical center of the windshield
when looking through the windshield from inside the vehicle.
(If the vehicle is normally operated from the right side, the
sticker must be placed one inch to the left of the vertical
center of the windshield.) On passenger vehicles not
equipped with a windshield, the sticker shall be placed on or
under the dash and protected in some manner from the
weather.

The approval sticker on official yellow school buses is to
be placed at the bottom and in the right corner of the
windshield when looking through the windshield from inside
the vehicle.

EXCEPTION: The approval sticker shall be placed one
inch to the right of the vertical center of the windshield when
looking through the windshield from the inside on all new
flat-face cowl yellow school buses.

Stickers or decals used by counties, cities and towns in
lieu of license plates affixed adjacent to the old approval
sticker and which are affixed in the location where the new
approval sticker is required to be placed will not be removed.
In these cases, the approval sticker will be placed as close to
one inch to the right of the vertical center of the windshield
as it can be placed without removing or overlapping the
county, city or town decal.

D. The Virginia statutes require that the inspection sticker
be displayed on the windshield or at other designated places
at all times. The inspection sticker cannot be transferred
from one vehicle to another.
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EXCEPTION: If the windshield in a vehicle is replaced, a
valid sticker may be removed from the old windshield and
placed on the new windshield.

E. The decal issued to a motorcycle shall be affixed to the
front left side of the cycle on a flat surface or left front shock
where it will be visible after mounting.

F. Trailer decals will be issued to all trailers and
semitrailers required to be inspected. (No boat, utility, or
travel trailer which is not equipped with brakes shall be
required to be inspected.)

G. All trailers must display a trailer decal on that
particular vehicle. These decals are to be placed on the left
side of the trailer near the front corner. The decal must be
affixed to the trailer body or frame. In those instances where
a metal back container with a removable transparent cover
has been permanently affixed to the trailer body, the decal
may be glued to it. The container must be permanently
mounted in such a manner that the decal must be destroyed
to remove it.

H. In all other cases involving unusually designed trailers
such as pole trailers, the inspecting mechanic is to exercise
his own good judgment in placing the decal at a point where
it will be as prominent as possible and visible for
examination.

I. Decals shall be punched to indicate whether issued to a
motorcycle or trailer. (The type vehicle being inspected shall
be punched.)

The receipts are completed in the same manner as other
inspection receipts.

J.  Appointed stations will keep sufficient inspection
supplies on hand to meet their needs. Requests for
additional supplies are to be made to the Safety Division by
telephone or in writing. Requests for supplies that are to be
picked up at the Safety Division headquarters must be made
at least 24 hours prior to pick up.

1. Do not make requests for stickers on inventory forms
or slips of paper enclosed with returned supplies.

2. Packing slips mailed with inspection supplies will be
kept on file at the station for at least 24 months.

K. All unused center inserts used to indicate the month
that a sticker or decal expires, in possession of the
inspection station at the end of each month shall be retained
by the inspection station, properly safeguarded, and used in
the inspection of vehicles for the particular month in the
following year or be disposed of as directed by the
Department of State Police.

All inspection supplies that are voided, damaged,
disfigured or become unserviceable in any manner, will be
returned to the Safety Division, Department of State Police
and replacement supplies will be furnished the station.
Expired stickers will be picked up by the station's supervising
trooper.

L. The white receipts shall be left in completely used
books of approval stickers and decals. Used white receipts

shall be removed from all partly used books of approval
stickers and decals at the end of each month and placed in
numerical order. All receipts will be forwarded to the Safety
Division by the fifth of the month following the month of
inspection. All voided approval stickers and decals shall be
marked void and returned with the white receipts.

M. The pink receipt copies of the approval stickers and
decals shall be given to the owner or operator of the vehicle.

N. All yellow receipt copies of approval stickers and
decals shall be kept on file at the station for at least 24
months. They may be inspected by any law-enforcement
officer during normal business hours.

O. Safety Division troopers may replace inspection
stickers that have separated from the windshield of motor
vehicles and become lost or damaged without conducting an
inspection of the safety components of the vehicle. Such
replacement of inspection stickers shall be made only in
accordance with the following provisions:

1. A vehicle owner or operator complaining of the loss
or damage to the inspection sticker on the windshield of
their vehicle due to separation of the sticker from the
windshield shall be directed to the nearest Safety
Division office or Safety Division trooper.

2. Safety Division troopers, upon receipt of a complaint
from a vehicle owner or operator that their inspection
sticker has been stolen, lost or become damaged due to
separation from the windshield will make arrangements
to meet the person to effect the replacement of the
sticker. A vehicle owner or operator alleging theft of the
inspection sticker will furnish proof to the Safety Division
trooper that such theft has been reported to proper
law-enforcement authority.

3. The vehicle owner or operator must produce the
original pink inspection receipt indicating a valid
approval inspection sticker was issued to the vehicle
within the past 11 months. (The vehicle must be
reinspected if the expiration of the original inspection
sticker is in the month the request is being made.)

4. The Safety Division trooper will verify by the
inspection receipt that the vehicle was issued an
approval inspection sticker within the past 11 months
and issue a replacement inspection sticker to the
vehicle.

5. The Safety Division trooper will complete the
inspection sticker receipt for the approval sticker from
information contained on the original receipt. The date
the replacement sticker is issued will be used in the date
space. In the space for "Inspection Related Charges,"
the trooper will insert the word "REPLACEMENT" and
the sticker number from the original pink inspection
receipt.

6. The Safety Division trooper will sign the receipt

vertically in the O.K. column in the "Equipment
Inspected” blocks. These blocks will not otherwise be
completed.
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7. The Safety Division trooper shall place month and
year inserts on the inspection sticker to reflect the
expiration as shown on the original approval inspection
sticker and place the inspection sticker on the windshield
in accordance with the requirements of subsection C of
this section.

8. The Safety Division trooper will staple the original
pink inspection receipt to the new white receipt. At the
end of each week, the Safety Division trooper will
forward all inspection receipts for replacement stickers
issued by him to the Safety Division. The yellow
receipts will be submitted to the area office and
maintained on file for 24 months.

19 VAC 30-70-70. Inventory.

A. Each inspection station at the end of each quarter,
shall fill in the applicable portion of an inspection sticker
inventory report (Form SP-221) in duplicate on stickers,
trailer/motorcycle decals and rejection stickers used. This
report shall be completed by the fifth of April, July, October
and January for the preceding quarter and shall be kept on
file at the station.

1. Atthe end of the calendar quarter the monthly totals
will be combined into a quarterly total reflecting total
number of stickers, trailer/motorcycle decals, rejection
stickers and voided stickers used during the quarter. All
approval stickers, trailer/motorcycle decals and rejection
stickers unused and on hand at the end of the quarter
shall be listed in the space provided on the-back-ef the
inventory report (Form SP-221-).

2. The inventory report after its completion shall be
retained at the inspection station until it is reviewed and
picked up by the station's supervising trooper during his
supervisory visit. The other copy of the inventory report
shall be retained by the station for at least 24 months.

B. The calendar quarterly inventory reports shall be
completed according to the following schedule:

Quarter of Year Months of
1st January, February, March
2nd April, May, June
3rd July, August, September
4th October, November, December

19 VAC 30-70-80. Service brakes.

A. The inspector, as a minimum, must drive all vehicles
into the inspection lane and test both service and parking
brakes.

B. A minimum of two wheels or two wheels and drums,
one front and one rear, must be removed from each
passenger and multi-purpose vehicle with a gross vehicle
weight rating of 10,000 pounds or less at the time of
inspection, except those listed in subdivisions 1, 2 and 3
below. Two front wheels or two front wheels and drums
must be removed from vehicles listed in subdivision 3 below.

1. Motorcycles.

2. A new model vehicle, is defined as a vehicle that has
not been titled or leased and is less than one year old,
measured from October 1 as of each year; or if such
motor vehicle does not have a model year, such
measurement shall be made from the date of
manufacture.

3. Trucks with floating axles that require seal
replacement upon removal of rear wheels. The
inspection receipt (approval and rejection) shall be
marked to reflect which wheels were pulled.

Warning: Lug nuts must be torqued to the manufacturer's
specifications to prevent damage to disc rotors. The use of
an impact wrench may exceed the manufacturer's
specifications and damage disc rotors.

C. If any braking problem is detected, the inspector may
test drive or require a test drive of the vehicle and-use-the
decelerometer-as—necessary—H-the decelerometeris—used

| clo o | - ards £
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D. Inspect for and reject if:

1. Vehicle is not equipped with brakes, or any brake has
been disconnected, rendered inoperative, or improperly
installed. Trailers having an actual gross weight of less
than 3,000 pounds are not required to be equipped with
brakes; however, if brakes are installed, these vehicles
must be inspected.

Brake System Failure Indicator Lamp

2. Passenger vehicles manufactured after January 1,
1968, are not equipped with a brake failure warning
lamp or warning lamp does not light with parking brake
applied when ignition key is turned to the start position,
except for anti-lock system. With engine running and
parking brake released, the lamp should go off, except
for vehicles equipped with anti-lock system. Apply
service brake for 10 seconds. If the brake warning lamp
lights again, the warning light does not come on when
there is a leak, or the light is not functioning properly,
the system is defective. NOTE: This paragraph does
not apply to vehicles registered as street rods.

Brake Linings and Disc Pads

3. Riveted linings or disc pads are worn to less than
2/32 of an inch over the rivet head(s).

4. Bonded or molded linings or disc pads are worn to
less than 2/32 of an inch in thickness or are worn
beyond manufacturer's specifications.

5. Wire in wire-backed lining is visible in friction
surface.

6. Snap-on brake linings are loose.

7. Any lining is broken or cracked so that lining or parts
of lining are not firmly attached to the shoe or has
cracks on the friction surface extending to the open
edge.
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8. Grease or other contamination cannot be
satisfactorily removed from the lining, drums, or rotors.

9. Rivets in riveted linings are loose or missing.

10. Any lining or pad is misaligned or does not make
full contact with the drum or rotor.

Brake Drums and Discs

11. Brake drums or brake discs (rotors) are worn or
scored to the extent that their remachining would exceed
result in a failure to meet manufacturer's specifications.

12. Brake drums or discs have any external crack or
cracks more than one half the width of the friction
surface of the drum or disc. NOTE: Do not confuse
short hairline heat cracks with flexural cracks.

Mechanical Linkage
13. Cables are frayed or frozen.

14. Mechanical parts missing, broken, badly worn, or
misaligned.

E. Hydraulic.

NOTE: Some motor vehicles, beginning with 1976
models, have a hydraulic power system that serves both the
power assisted brakes and power assisted steering system.
Some vehicles, beginning with 1985 models, have an
integrated hydraulic actuation and anti-lock brake unit using
only brake fluid.

1. Brake hydraulic system. Inspector should check the
brake hydraulic system in the following manner: test
vehicle in a standing position; apply moderate pressure
to the brake pedal for 10 seconds. Brake pedal height
must be maintained. On vehicles equipped with power
assisted systems, the engine should be running.

2. Hydraulic system operation. Stop engine, then
depress brake pedal several times to eliminate all
pressure. Depress pedal with a light foot-force (30
pounds). While maintaining this force on the pedal,
start engine and observe if pedal moves slightly when
engine starts.

Reject vehicle if pedal does not move slightly as engine
is started while force is on brake pedal.

MASTER CYLINDER

HYDRAULIC BOOSTER

TYPICAL HYDRAULIC BOOSTER ASSEMBLY

3. Condition of hydraulic booster power brake system.
Inspect system for fluid level and leaks.

Reject vehicle if there is insufficient fluid in the reservoir;
if there are broken, kinked or restricted fluid lines or
hoses; if there is any leakage of fluid at the pump,
steering gear or brake booster, or any of the lines or
hoses in the system; or if belts are frayed, cracked or
excessively worn.

4. Integrated hydraulic booster/anti-lock system
operation. With the ignition key in the off position,
depress brake pedal a minimum of 25 times to deplete
all residual stored pressure in the accumulator. Depress
pedal with a light foot-force (25 pounds). Place ignition
key in the on position and allow 60 seconds for the
brake warning light to go out and the electric pump to
shut off.

Reject vehicle if the brake pedal does not move down
slightly as the pump builds pressure or if the brake and
anti-lock warning lights remain on longer than 60
seconds.

MINIMUM FLUID LEVEL
WITH FULLY CHARGED

ACCUMULATOR

&/

ACCUMULATOR

- )
ELECTRIC
PUMP MOTOR
HYDRAULIC
MASTER CYLINDER BOOSTER

TYPICAL INTEGRATED HYDRAULIC BOOSTER
ANTI-LOC SYSTEM

5. Condition of integrated hydraulic booster/anti-lock
system with electronic pump. With the system fully
charged, inspect system for fluid level and leaks.

Reject vehicle if there is insufficient fluid in the reservoir;
if there are broken, kinked or restricted fluid lines or
hoses; or if there is any leakage of fluid at the pump or
brake booster, or any of the lines or hoses in the
system.

6. Vacuum system operation. Stop engine then
depress brake pedal several times to eliminate all
vacuum in the system. Depress pedal with a light
foot-force (25 pounds). While maintaining this force on
the pedal, start engine and observe if pedal moves down
slightly when engine starts.

Reject vehicle if pedal does not move down slightly as
engine is started while force is on the brake pedal. In full
vacuum-equipped vehicles, there is insufficient vacuum
reserve for one full service brake application after engine
is stopped.
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BOOSTER ASSEMBLY

MASTER CYLINDER

TYPICAL VACUUM BOOSTER ASSEMBLY

7. Condition of vacuum booster power brake system.
Reject vehicle if there are collapsed, cracked, broken,
badly chafed or improperly supported hoses and tubes,
loose or broken hose clamps.

F. Inspect for and reject if:
General Specifications - Hydraulic Brakes

1. There is any leakage in the master cylinder, wheel
cylinders, or brake calipers. (Do not disturb the dust
boot when checking for leaking wheel cylinders.)

2. Fluid level in master cylinder is below the proper level
for the particular vehicle.

3. There is any evidence of a caliper sticking or binding.
Electric Brake System

4. Trailers show an amperage value more than 20%
above or 30% below the brake manufacturer's maximum
current rating for each brake.

5. Ammeter shows no reading or indicator is not steady
on application and release of brake controller.

6. Any terminal connections are loose or dirty; wires are
broken, frayed, or unsupported; any single conductor or
nonstranded wire or wires below size recommended by
brake manufacturers are installed.

7. Electrical trailer brakes do not apply automatically
when breakaway safety switch is operated.

General Specifications

8. There is any leakage in any hydraulic, air, or vacuum
lines; hoses have any cracks, crimps, restrictions, or are
abraded exposing fabric; tubing or connections leak, are
crimped, restricted, cracked or broken; any valves leak
or are inoperative.

Reject the vehicle if the brake hoses or lines are
stretched or extended and do not allow for suspension
movement.

9. Brakes are not equalized so as to stop the vehicle on
a straight line.

10. There is less than 1/5 reserve in actuator travel of
the service brake when fully applied on all hydraulic,
mechanical, or power-assisted hydraulic braking
systems.

11. When tested on dry, hard, approximately level road
free from loose material, at a speed of 20 miles per hour
without leaving a 12-foot wide lane—a-brake-machine-or

ing results in excess of the following
distances is obtained: (When in doubt about a vehicle's
stopping ability, the inspector shall conduct a road test.)

a. Any motor vehicle (except motorcycles, trucks, and
tractor-trucks with semitrailers attached) four wheel
brakes—25 feet.

b. Any motor vehicle (except motorcycles, trucks, and
tractor-trucks with semitrailers attached) two wheel
brakes—45 feet.

c. All combinations of vehicles—40 feet.

19 VAC 30-70-90.
holding.

Brakes: emergency, parking, or

Some vehicles are equipped with an actual emergency
brake, while others have only a parking or holding brake.
Some types may be actuated by a foot or hand lever, while
others may incorporate a switch or valve to actuate the
brake. Air and vacuum brake systems may employ spring
activating parking brakes.

Inspect for and reject if:

1. Vehicle or combination of vehicles is not equipped
with a parking, holding, or emergency brake in good
working order of the type installed as original standard
factory equipment for the vehicle on which it is installed.

2. The parking brake actuating mechanism does not
fully release when the control is operated to the off
position.

3. Any mechanical parts are missing, broken, badly
worn, or are inoperative.

4. Cables are stretched, worn, or frayed or not
operating freely.

5. Parking brake will not hold the vehicle stationary with
the engine running at slightly accelerated speed with
shift lever in drive position for automatic transmission or
shift lever in low gear with clutch engaged for standard
shift transmission.

6. Holding brake will not disengage when engine is
started and vehicle is placed in drive. Holding brake will
not hold vehicle stationary with foot on holding brake and
vehicle in drive.

7. On vehicles equipped with automatic transmissions,
the vehicle will start in any gear other than (P) park and
(N) neutral.

7% 8. Passenger vehicles manufactured after January 1,
1968, are not equipped with a brake failure warning
lamp or warning lamp does not light with parking brake
applied when ignition key is turned to the start position,
except for anti-lock system. With engine running and
parking brake released, the lamp should go off, except
for vehicles equipped with anti-lock system. Apply
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service brake for 10 seconds. If the brake warning lamp
lights again, the warning light does not come on when
there is a leak, or the light is not functioning properly,
the system is defective. NOTE: This paragraph does
not apply to vehicles registered as street rods.

19 VAC 30-70-100. Brakes: trailer (GVWR less than
10,000 pounds).

Inspect for and reject if:

1. Trailer brakes do not comply with 19 VAC 30-70-80
and 19 VAC 30-70-90.

2. Operator does not have full control over brakes.

_ Combinati m redi
30-70-80-F11¢:

4. 3. All trailers, manufactured or assembled after
January 1, 1964, registered for an actual gross weight of
3,000 pounds or more are not equipped with emergency
breakaway brakes designed to:

a. Apply automatically upon breakaway from towing
vehicle.

b. Remain fully applied for at least 15 minutes.

c. Apply and release by operation of the manual
emergency control.

5. 4. A minimum of one wheel must be removed from
each axle equipped with brakes to inspect the brake
components.

NOTE: Trailers registered for an actual gross weight of
3,000 pounds or more, but with a manufacturer's gross
weight rating of less than 10,000 pounds need not be
equipped with brakes on all wheels.

a. Exception: Wheels on trailers equipped with open
brake mechanisms are not required to be removed.

b. The inspection receipt approval and rejection shall
be marked to reflect on which side the wheel or
wheels were pulled.

19 VAC 30-70-140. Headlamps; except motorcycles.

A. Inspect for and reject if:

1. Any motor vehicle is not equipped with headlamps of
an approved type.

2. Headlights are not of the same approved type except
sealed beam headlamps. At least two headlamps are
required.

3. In any headlamp the lens is cracked, broken,
discolored, or rotated away from the proper position, or
the reflector is not clean and bright.

4. Moisture or water buildup in headlamp is such that it
affects the aimable pattern.

5. Lens is other than clear.

6. Bulbs are not of an approved type or are over 32
candlepower. (Sealed beam lamps including the ones
which permit the use of a replacement halogen bulb are
the only lamps approved with over 32 candlepower.)
Ordinary lenses and reflectors were not designed for
over 32 candlepower bulbs.

7. Any filament or bulb in headlamps fails to burn
properly or headlamps are not at the same location or
configuration as designed by manufacturer. (Location
and type of headlamps can be found in subsection E of
this section.)

8. Wiring is dangling or connections are loose, or if
proper filaments do not burn at different switch
positions, or if switches-including foot or hand
dimmer-do not function properly, and are not convenient
to the driver.

9. Foreign material is placed on or in front of the
headlamp lens or interferes with the beam from the
lamp. No glazing may be placed over or in front of the
headlamps unless it is a part of an approved headlamp
assembly.

a. Reject if vehicle has wire, unapproved plastic
covers, any other materials which are not original
equipment or any colored material placed on or in
front of the headlamps.

b. Vehicles registered as street rods may have clear,
rigid plastic or glass headlamp lens covers in front of
sealed beam units to replace original manufacturer's
equipment.

10. Lamps can be moved easily by hand due to a
broken fender or loose support, or if a good ground is
not made by the mounting.

11. A headlamp visor is over two inches long unless
part of the original body design.

12. The high beam indicator in the driver's compartment
does not burn when the high or "country" beam is on or
does not go off when the low beam is on. (Vehicles not
originally equipped with an indicator are not required to
comply unless sealed beam headlamps have been
installed.)

B. Aiming the headlamps.

1. Headlamps shall be checked for proper aim by using
either an optical or a mechanical headlamp aimer on
every motor vehicle inspected, except vehicles with
on-board aimers.

Headlamp aim on vehicles with on-board aimers shall
be checked by visually examining the leveling device
mounted either on or adjacent to the headlamp. Reject
the vehicle if the leveling device shows the headlamp
adjustment to exceed indicated specifications.

NOTE: Driving lamp and fog lamps must be aimed
using the optical er—mechanical aimer, according to
instructions in 19 VAC 30-70-160 1 10 i and 11 g (2).
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2. Headlamps are not aimed within the following
tolerances using the optical aimer.

a. The center of the hot spot of all single element
high beam lamps is set more than four inches up or
down from the horizontal centerline or more than four
inches to the left or right from the vertical centerline.

b. The left edge of the lamp pattern of any low beam
lamp or any combination or multi-element lamp is
more than four inches to the left or right of the vertical
centerline or the top edge of the lamp pattern is more
than four inches above or below the horizontal
centerline when checked on low beam.

C. Ogptical aimer.

1. Approved optical headlamp machines may be used
to properly aim any of the headlamps. Optical aimers
must be properly calibrated and used in the manner
recommended by the manufacturer.

The optical headlamp machine must be aligned to the
vehicle in accordance with the manufacturer's
specifications.

2. When aiming headlamps, first look for the type of
lamp, which will be found embossed on the lens. The
type determines which aiming requirements must be
followed for the optical aimer.

3. All low beam or combination/multi-element
headlamps must be set by aiming the lamp pattern with
the lamps set on low beam.

4. Pattern should be aimed so that the left edge does
not extend to the left or right of straight ahead, and the
top of the pattern should be even with the horizontal.

Pattern "A" represents the light pattern as it should
appear on the view screen of the approved aimer.

Vertical 9 Horizontal
Centerline Centerline

Lamp Pattern Hot
Spot cannot be
Located - Consider
whole pattern

PATTERN A - COMBINATION MULTI-ELEMENT
OR LOW BEAM LAMP

5. All single element high beam headlamps shall be set
by aiming the center of the hot spot with the lamps set
on high beam.

6. Aim straight ahead-center of the hot spot should be
centered with the vertical and horizontal centerlines.

Pattern "B" represents the light pattern as it should
appear on the view screen of the approved aimers.

Vertical ) Horizontal
Centerline Centerline

Center of Hot:
Spot

PATTERNB - SINGLE ELEMENT HIGH BEAM LAMP

7. When lamp pairs are mounted horizontally, the low
beam lamp must be on the outer side and when
mounted vertically, the low beam lamp must be at the
higher position in the pair.

8. The four headlamp system must be wired so that
only the lower beam lamp will burn when the light
beams are depressed. When switched to high beams,
both high beam and low beam may burn.

The "F" type halogen headlamp 1986 (LF-UF) of the four
headlamp system will function in the following manner:
system must be used so the low beam does not burn
with the high beam.

D. Mechanical aimers.

1. Mechanical aimers can be used to aim only those
headlamps that have "aiming" pads molded into the
lens.

2. Mechanical aimers must be properly calibrated and
used with the proper adapter recommended by the
manufacturer. (The adapter setting will be embossed on
the face of some lamps.)

3. Turn on headlamps and check all filaments-both high
and low beam. Turn off headlamps before checking for
adjustments. Do not turn on headlamps while
mechanical aimers are attached to the headlamp.

4. All headlamps that are found not to be within the
four-inch tolerance shall be adjusted to zero inches up or
down and zero inches to the right or left.

E. Headlamps on vehicles used for snow removal.
Approved auxiliary headlamps may be mounted above the
conventional headlamps. (These lamps must be in
compliance with this section in its entirety, subdivision 7 of
19 VAC 30-70-150, and subdivision 1 of 19 VAC 30-70-170.)

Inspect for and reject if:
1. Lamps are not approved type headlamps.

2. Lamps are not mounted in a manner which will
permit proper aiming.
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3. Lamps are mounted so as to obstruct the driver's
vision.

4. The auxiliary headlamp circuit does not contain a
switch which will deactivate the primary headlamp
system when the auxiliary headlamps are in use.

5. Auxiliary headlamps are not aimed in accordance
with the provisions of subdivision B 2 of this section.

6. Headlamps are not wired in accordance with the
provisions of subdivision C 8 of this section.

2D1 2D1

11
\

201 21
1C1

2E1 2R1

1Al

241 2Al
1A1

2EL 2E1

LF

9004 9004
Replaceahle
Bulh

Bulh

Locatons of Type 1, Type2, LF/UF,
and Replaceable Bulb Headlamps

NOTE: Always inspect the following sealed beam and
replaceable bulb, and integral beam headlamps on LOW
BEAM only;

*5%, inch, marked 2, 2C, or 2C1
*7 inch, marked 2, 2D, or 2D1

*100 x 165mm rectangular, marked 2A, 2A1, or 2E1,
2G1 or 2H1

+200 x 142mm rectangular, marked 2B or 2B1

*Replaceable bulb headlamp, marked LF with 9004
(HB1)

*92 x 160mm rectangular, marked LF

*Replaceable bulb headlamps with 9006 (HB4) alone
or in combination with 9005 (HB3)

55 x 135mm rectangular, marked L

eIntegral beam headlamp when high and low beam
reflectors move together.

19 VAC 30-70-160. Auxiliary lamps: backup; cornering;
driving; fog; spot and warning.

A. Auxiliary lamps on a vehicle consist of seven general
types: backup lamps, cornering lamps, driving lamps, fog
lamps with an amber or clear lens, spot lamps and warning
lamps, and daytime running lamps.

B. School buses may be equipped with an eight-lamp
warning system of two red and two amber warning lamps of
an approved type on the front and rear of such vehicle.

1. School buses may also be equipped with roof
mounted flashing white or amber warning lamps of an
approved type.

2. In addition to required warning lamps, school buses
may be equipped with a stop signal arm consisting of an
octagonal sign which meets FMVSS specifications
(Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, 49 CFR 571 et
seq.). The stop signal arm shall be reflectorized or be
equipped with two red warning lamps of an approved

type.

C. There is no limit on the number of backup lamps that a
vehicle may have so long as they are of an approved type.

D. No more than four lamps, including two headlamps,
may be lighted at any time to provide general illumination
ahead of the vehicle.

E. Approved type blue or blue and red lights are permitted
on any law-enforcement vehicle. Approved type red warning
lights or red and white lights showing to the front are
permitted on fire department vehicles, including publicly
owned state forest warden vehicles, ambulances, any rescue
vehicle used for emergency calls, animal warden vehicles,
school buses and vehicles used by security personnel at the
Newport News Shipbuilding and Drydock Company,
Bassett-Walker, Incorporated, or the Tultex Corporation. No
more than two flashing or steady-burning red lights or red
and white combination lights of an approved type may be
installed on one vehicle owned by any member of a fire
company, volunteer fire company or volunteer rescue squad.

F. Vehicles mentioned in subsection E of this section
permitted to be equipped with flashing, blinking or alternating
red, red and white, blue, or blue and red emergency lights
(except vehicles owned by any member of a fire company,
volunteer fire company, volunteer rescue squad or any
ambulance driver employed by a privately owned ambulance
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service) may be equipped with the means to flash their
headlamps when their emergency warning lamps are
activated provided:

1. The headlamps are wired to allow either the upper
beam or lower beam to flash but not both; and

2. The headlamp system includes a switch or device
which prevents flashing of headlamps when headlamps
are required to be lighted pursuant to current statute.

G. Any fire vehicle used exclusively for fire fighting, any
ambulance or rescue or lifesaving vehicle used for the
principal purpose of emergency relief or any wrecker used for
the principal purpose of towing disabled vehicles may be
equipped with clear auxiliary lamps which shall be used
exclusively for lighting emergency scenes. Such lamps shall
be of a type permitted by the superintendent.  Any
government-owned police vehicle may be equipped with
clear auxiliary lamps of a type approved by the
superintendent.

H. Approved type amber flashing, blinking or alternating
lights are permitted on vehicles used for the principal
purpose of towing or servicing disabled vehicles or in
constructing, maintaining and repairing highways or utilities
on or along public highways and vehicles used for the
principal purpose of removing hazardous or polluting
substances from the state waters or drainage areas on or
along public highways. Such lamps are permitted on
vehicles used for servicing automatic teller machines, refuse
collection vehicles, hi-rail vehicles and on vehicles used for
towing or escorting over-dimensional materials, equipment,
boats, or manufactured housing units by authority of
highway hauling permit.

1. Approved type amber flashing, blinking or alternating
lights are permitted on fire apparatus, ambulances, and
rescue and life-saving vehicles, provided the amber
lights are mounted or installed on the rear of the
vehicles.

2. Approved type amber flashing, blinking or alternating
lights are permitted on vehicles owned and used by
businesses providing security services and vehicles
used to collect and deliver the United States mail,
vehicles used by law enforcement personnel in the
enforcement of laws governing motor vehicle parking,
government owned law enforcement vehicles provided
the lights are used for giving directional warning and
vehicles used to provide escort for funeral processions.

3. An approved type amber flashing, blinking or
alternating light may be mounted on the rear of any
vehicle used to transport petroleum products. The light
must be wired through the reverse gear circuit and
activate in conjunction with the back-up lights and
audible alarm.

. Inspect for and reject if:

1. Vehicle has an auxiliary lamp being used for a
purpose other than for which it was approved;

EXCEPTION: Any lighting device meunted-abeve-the
level-of-theregularheadlamps which is both covered
and not illuminated, other than lamps required, shall not
be considered for inspection. Fog and driving lamps
mounted below the level of the regular headlamps must
be checked for aim as outlined in subdivisions | 10 i and
11 g of this section if not covered.

2. A vehicle has installed on it a warning lamp that is
not of an approved type or has been altered.

Reject if the vehicle has wire, unapproved plastic covers,
any other materials which are not original equipment or
any colored material placed on or in front of any
auxiliary lamps: backup, cornering, driving, fog, spot, or
warning lamps.

3. Vehicle is equipped with a combination of auxiliary
lamps which include more than two fog lamps, or more
than two spot lamps, or more than two driving lamps.
Reject a vehicle equipped with a headlamp mounted or
used as an auxiliary lamp.

NOTE: Vehicles equipped, from the factory, with two
driving lamps should not be rejected.

4. Vehicle is equipped with an auxiliary lamp that does
not function properly. (If an auxiliary lamp has been
modified by removing the wiring, bulb and socket, the
unit will be considered an ornament and not a lamp and
will not be considered in inspection.)

5. Vehicle is equipped with a lighted advertising sign.
Except commercial motor vehicles, buses operated as
public carriers, taxicabs, and privately-owned passenger
cars used for home delivery of commercially prepared
food. Commercial motor vehicles, buses operated as
public carriers, and taxicabs may be equipped with
vacant and destination signs and one steady burning
white light for illumination of external advertising.
Privately-owned passenger cars used for home delivery
of commercially prepared food may be equipped with
one steady burning white light for the nighttime
illumination of a sign identifying the business delivering
the food. Do not reject approved identification lights.

6. Any lamp is not of an approved type or if lamps to be
burned together as a pair do not emit the same color
light.

7. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may
have one or more cracks provided an off-color light does
not project through the crack or cracks.

8. Backup lamps are not required. However, if installed
they must operate and be inspected.

Inspect for and reject if:

a. Lamps are not of an approved type or a lamp has
been altered:;

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective;
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c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may
have one or more cracks provided in off-color light
does not project through the crack or cracks;

11. Fog lamps are not required. However, if installed
they must operate and be inspected.

Inspect for and reject if:

9.

d. Lens is other than clear;

e. Lamps are not wired into the reverse gear or an
independent circuit;

Cornering lamps are not required. However, if

installed they must operate and be inspected.

Inspect for and reject if:

10. Driving lamps are not required.

a. Lamps are not of an approved type or a lamp has
been altered;

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective;

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may
have one or more cracks provided an off-color light
does not project through the crack or cracks;

d. The color of the light is other than clear or amber;

e. The lamps do not burn in conjunction with the turn
signals;

However, if

installed they must operate and be inspected.

Inspect for and reject if:

a. Driving lamps are installed on vehicles equipped
with the four headlamp system, except the "F" type
headlamp system;

b. A vehicle is equipped with more than two driving
lamps;

c. Driving lamps are not of an approved type or have
been altered;

d. The color of the lamp is other than white;

e. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated
away from its proper position. The lens may have one
or more cracks provided an off-color light does not
project through the crack or crack;

a. A vehicle is equipped with more than two fog
lamps;

b. Lamps are not of an approved type or a lamp has
been altered;

c. The lens is other than clear or amber. Fog lamps
may have black-end bulbs or small metal caps over
the end of the bulb;

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated
away from its proper position. The lens may have one
or more cracks provided an off-color light does not
project through the crack or crack;

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective;

f. Any fog lamp is mounted above the level of the
regular headlamps, or is not mounted firmly;

g. Lamps are not wired and aimed according to the
following instructions:

(1) Fog lamps are general illumination lamps as
covered in subsection D of this section. They must
burn through the tail light circuit even if on a
separate switch. If installed on a vehicle with a
four-headlamp system, or a vehicle equipped with
driving lamps, they must be wired into the low beam
circuit.

(2) Fog lamps must be aimed so that the top edge
of the high intensity zone is set at the horizontal
centerline and the left edge of the high intensity
zone is set at the vertical centerline. (Same as low
beam headlights.)

NOTE: Fog lamps must be aimed using the optical
headlight aimer.

(3) A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is allowed in
both the horizontal and the vertical adjustment.

12. Spot lamps are not required. However, if installed

f. Wiring or electrical connections are defective; ¢
they must operate and be inspected.

g. Any driving lamp is mounted above the level of the o
Inspect for and reject if:

regular headlamps, or is not mounted firmly to
prevent excessive vibration;

h. Driving lamps are not wired so that they will burn
only when the high beams of the regular headlamps
are activated;

i. Driving lamps are not aimed so that the center of
the hot spot drops three inches in 25 feet so that the
hot spot is directly ahead of the lamp;

NOTE: Driving lamps must be aimed using the
optical headlight aimer.

j- A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is allowed in
both the horizontal and the vertical adjustment;

a. Vehicle is equipped with more than two spot
lamps;

b. Lamps are not of an approved type or a lamp has
been altered;

c. The lens in any spot lamp is other than clear;

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated
away from its proper position. The lens may have one
or more cracks provided an off-color light does not
project through the crack or crack;

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective;

Volume 14, Issue 20

Monday, June 22, 1998

2731



Proposed Regulations

13. Daytime Running Lamps (DRLs) are not required.
However, if installed they must operate and be
inspected. DRLs must be installed in pairs.

NOTE: DRLs may or may not be wired into the tail light
circuit.

Inspect for and reject if:

a. Any lamp, except headlamps, used as DRLs is not
marked "DRL;"

b. Fog lamps or parking lamps are used as DRLs;

c. More than one pair of lamps are used and or
designated as DRLs;

d. A DRL is mounted higher than 34 inches measured
to the center of the lamp;

e. The color is other than white to amber;

f. DRLs do not deactivate when the headlamps are in
any "on" position.

Any DRL optically combined with a turn signal or
hazard lamp must deactivate when the turn signal or
hazard lamp is activated and then reactivate when the
turn signal or hazard lamp deactivates.

19 VAC 30-70-180. Clearance lamps and reflectors.

Inspect for and reject if:

1. Any motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer or other vehicle
is not equipped with clearance lamps if the vehicle is
over 7 feet wide or if any portion extends 4 inches or
more outside the front fender line.

NOTE: See 19 VAC 30-70-550 for vehicles exceeding
10,000 GVWR.

When a motor vehicle with a trailer attached is
presented, the combination may be considered as one
unit in meeting this requirement. If presented
separately, the individual unit must meet these
requirements.

2. Lamps and reflectors are not of an approved type or
a lamp has been altered.

If the lamps or reflectors have unapproved plastic
covers, any other materials which are not original
equipment or any colored material placed on or in front
of lamps or reflectors.

3. Lenses on lamps on the front are not yellow or amber
and lenses on lamps on the rear are not red or if a lens
has a piece broken from it. A lens may have one or
more cracks provided an off-color light does not project
through the crack or cracks.

4. Wiring or electrical connections are defective, all
filaments do not burn.

5. Two amber lamps are not mounted on the front and
two red lamps on the rear, so as to indicate the extreme
width of the body, and as high on the permanent body
as practical, except that approved 180 degree lamps

with yellow or amber lens may be mounted on the side
of the vehicle at or as near the front as possible, or if the
front is not the widest portion, the lamps may be
installed on the side and as near that point as possible.
And with the further exception that 180 degree lamps
with red lens may be mounted on the side of the vehicle
at or as near the rear as possible or if the rear is not the
widest portion of the vehicle, the lamps may be installed
on the side as near that point as possible.

6. Any vehicle equipped with three red identification
lamps with the lamp centers spaced not less than six
inches or more than 12 inches apart and installed as
close as practicable to the top of the vehicle and as
close as practicable to the vertical centerline of the
vehicle may have the rear dimension or marker lamps
required by subdivision 5, mounted at any height but
indicate as nearly as practicable the extreme width of
the vehicle.

7. Other specially constructed vehicles may be
equipped with the required clearance lamps not
mounted on the extreme rear, provided such red lamps
are clearly visible from the rear and provided further that
two red reflectors of an approved type are mounted on
the extreme rear. In unusual cases the rear lamp may
be mounted on the cab and another red reflex reflector
placed on the extreme rear.

8. In addition to the required clearance lamps showing
to the front and to the rear, a vehicle may be equipped
with clearance lamps on the side of the vehicle. When
such an installation is used, all of the clearance lamps
on the side except the one at or near the rear must have
an amber lens. The clearance lamps on the side at or
near the rear must have a red lens.

9. Any vehicle covered by subdivision 1, except school
buses, is not equipped with amber reflectors on the
sides as near the front as practical, and red reflectors on
the rear. The reflectors must be at least 24 15 inches
and not more than 60 inches from the ground. No
reflector can have a piece broken from its reflective
surface, but may have one or more cracks.

10. Any combination of vehicles whose actual length
exceeds 35 feet if the vehicles are not wide enough to
have clearance lights, if the vehicle is not equipped with
reflex reflectors of a type approved by the
superintendent and mounted on the widest part of the
towed vehicle so as to be visible from the front and sides
of the vehicle. No reflector can have a piece broken
from its reflective surface, but may have one or more
cracks.

11. Any passenger vehicle is equipped with clearance
lamps, unless such lamps are used to mark the extreme
width of the vehicle or used as taxicab identification, or
used as supplemental turn signals. (See 19 VAC
30-70-190;-subsection B.)

12. Vehicles so constructed as to make compliance
with  the requirements of 19VAC 30-70-180,
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19 VAC 30-70-200. Permissible lighting equipment.
A. Any vehicle may be equipped with:

L—Magneio-oracetylene lighting, i original-equipment
and—i—otherwise —in—conion '5; with—these—rules—and

2- 1. Running board or courtesy lamps, of not over six
candlepower;

3- 2. Vacant or destination signs, if a taxicab or bus;
4 3. ldentification lamps of approved type;
6- 4. Interior lights, not more than 15 candlepower;

Exception: This does not apply to alternating, blinking
or flashing colored emergency lights mounted inside law
enforcement vehicles or flashing shielded red or red and
white lights, mounted inside vehicles owned by
members of volunteer fire companies, volunteer rescue
squads or owned or used by professional firefighters.

% 5. Hood ornament light if of a type approved or
permitted by the superintendent;

8- 6. Any approved lamp in good working order when
used for the purpose for which it was approved;

B. Side Marker Lamps-Side marker lamps are not
required. If installed they must operate and be inspected. If
the bulb, socket and wiring are removed from an individual
lamp unit, the unit will not be considered during inspection.

C. Inspect for and reject if:

1. Lamps are not of an approved type, or do not comply
with subdivision 1 of this section;

2. Lamps are not installed on the permanent structure
of the vehicle with one as far to the rear and one as far
forward as practicable and at a location which is not less
than 15 inches above the road surface when measured
from the center of the lamp;

3. Lamps installed on the side to the rear do not project
a red light and lamps installed on the front do not project
an amber light;

4. Lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have
one or more cracks provided no off-color light projects
through the crack or cracks;

5. Any vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic covers,
any other materials which are not original equipment or
any colored material placed on or in front of permissible
lighting equipment;

6. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or
filaments do not burn.

19 VAC 30-70-440. Service brakes.

A. The inspector, as a minimum must drive all vehicles
into the inspection lane and test both service and parking
brakes, except vehicles the inspector is not qualified to drive.
In these cases, the inspector will ride in the vehicle and
observe the application of the brakes.

B. A minimum of one wheel or one wheel and drum or
dust cover must be removed from each vehicle at the time of
inspection except:

1. Vehicles having open brake mechanisms which will
permit the inspection of the brake lining, or discs and
disc pads, without removing the wheel and rim.

WARNING: Failure to properly torque lug nuts may
cause severe damage to the wheel.

2. The inspection receipt (approval and rejection) shall
be marked to reflect which wheel and drum or dust
cover was removed or inspected.

C. If any braking problem is detected, the inspector may
test drive or require a test drive of the vehicle and-use-the
decelerometer-as—necessary—H-the decelerometeris—used

| clo o | - ards f
. i ’ I . hF. .
should-berejected.
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D. Inspect for and reject if:

1. Vehicles equipped with air brakes: when the air brake
adjustment on vehicles is equal to or exceeds Table #1
for cam brakes or brake shoe travel is greater than 1/16"
on wedge brakes when measured according to
lllustrations #1 and #2. (See Procedure in addition to
illustrations.)

TABLE 1
MINIMUM CRITERIA FOR BRAKE ADJUSTMENT

Brake adjustment shall not exceed those specifications
contained in the following tables relating to maximum stroke
at which brakes should be re-adjusted.

(Dimensions in Inches)

WEDGE BRAKE DATA

Movement of the scribe mark on the lining shall not exceed 1/16 inch;
and failure of the brake shoes to move shall constitute a violation.

AIR DISC BRAKES - PUSH ROD LIMITS
BRAKE ADJUSTMENT RECOMMENDATIONS

Chamber Stroke (In Inches) at Maximum
Size Initial Adjustment Stroke (In
Inches)
Before
Readjustment
12 1% 1%
16 1% 1%
20 1% 2
24 1% 2%
30 1% 2Ys
BENDIX WESTINGHOUSE
DD2 2
DD3 2

Effective Outside Maximum Maximum Maximum
Area (Sq. Diameter Stroke Stroke With Stroke at
In.) Brakes Which Brakes
Adjusted Should be
Readjusted
BOLT TYPE BRAKE CHAMBER DATA
12 6 15/16 1% Should be 1%
24 9 3/16 2Ys as 1%
16 81/16 2Ya short as 1%
6 5% 1% possible 1Y
9 6 3/15 1% without 1%
36 11 3 brakes 2Ya
30 9% 2Y4 dragging 2
ROTOCHAMBER DATA
9 49/32 2 Should be 1%
12 413/16 2 as 1%
16 513/32 2% short as 1%
20 5 15/16 2% possible 1%
24 6 13/32 2% without 1%
30 71/16 3 brakes 2Ya
36 7% 3% dragging 2%
50 8% 4 3
CLAMP TYPE BRAKE CHAMBER DATA
6 4%, 1% Should be 1%
9 5% 1% as 1%
12 511/16 1% short as 1%
16 6% 2Y4 possible 1%
20 6 25/32 2Ys without 1%
24 77/32 2Ya brakes 1%
30 8 3/32 2V, dragging 2
36 9 3 2Ys

Dimensions listed do not include capscrew head projections
for rotochambers and bolt clamp projections for clamp-type
brake chambers.

PROCEDURE FOR MEASURING CAM AND WEDGE
BRAKES

 On vehicles equipped with Cam brakes, mark each brake
chamber push rod at the face of the brake chamber with the
brakes released. Apply the air brakes fully, minimum air
pressure of 90 to 100 psi, and measure the distance the
push rod travels from the face of the chamber to the mark
previously made when the brakes were released. This
measurement is the push-rod stroke (see Table).

» On vehicles equipped with wedge brakes, remove the
inspection hole cover at each dust shield and with the brakes
released, scribe a line on the edge of the brake lining. Apply
the air brakes fully and measure the distance the brake lining
travels.
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MARK PUSH-ROD
HERE TO MEASURE STROKE

RELEASED POSITION

AFPPLIED

I/ POSITION
\

MEASURING THE CAM BRAKE ADJUSTMENT

BRAEKE SHOE
TAELE

BRAKE LINING

FEELER. GUAGE WITH

LINING SCRIB MARK SCRIBED LINES

DUSTSHIELD DUST SHIELD SLOT

O |

MEASURING THE WEDGE ERAKE ADJUSTMENT

2. Brake hose and tubing. There is any leakage in any
hydraulic, air or vacuum lines; hoses have any cracks,
crimps, restrictions, or are abraded exposing fabric into
second ply of fabric; tubing or connections leak, are
crimped, restricted, cracked, or broken;—any-—valvesleak

a. Hose with any damage extending through the
reinforcement ply. Rubber impregnated fabric cover is
not a reinforcement ply. Thermoplastic nylon may
have braid reinforcement or color difference between
cover and inner tube. Exposure of second color is
cause for rejection.

b. Bulge or swelling when air pressure is applied.

c. Two hoses improperly joined (such as a splice
made by sliding the hose ends over a piece of tubing
and clamping the hose to the tube).

3. Service brakes. There is less than 1/5 reserve in
pedal travel of the service brake when fully applied on all
hydraulic, mechanical, or power-assisted hydraulic
braking systems.

4. When tested on dry, hard, approximately level road
free from loose material, at a speed of 20 miles per hour
without leaving a 12-foot wide lane, a brake-machine-or

decelerometer—reading distance in excess of the

following stopping distance is obtained: {Ahen-in-doubt
ol ) bility. ) |

conduct-or-observe-aroad-test)

Any bus, truck or tractor—40 feet;

All combinations of vehicles—A40 feet.

5. Every motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer which is not
equipped with operational brakes on all wheels (except

as shown in a, below), or any brake has been
disconnected or rendered inoperative or improperly
installed.

a. Road tractors, tractor trucks, or trucks if
manufactured prior to July 25, 1980, having three or
more axles are not required to have brakes on the
steering axle; however, if installed must be inspected
and meet all requirements of this section.

b. Missing, bent or broken mechanical components
including: shoes, lining pads, spring, anchor pin,
spiders, cam rollers, push rods and air chamber
mounting bolts, air reservoirs not securely mounted or
leaks.

c. Absence of braking action on any axle required to
have brakes, upon application of the service brakes
(such as missing brakes or brake shoes, failing to
move upon application of a wedge, S-cam or disc
brake).

d. Loose brake components including air chambers,
spiders and cam shaft support brackets.

e. Audible air leak at brake chamber (example:
ruptured diaphragm, loose chamber clamp, etc.)

6. Linings or pads are broken or cracked so that brake
pad is not firmly attached to the shoe or improperly
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installed or, cracks on the friction surface extends to the
open edge.

a. Rivets or bolts are loose or missing

8- b. Lining or pad friction surface is saturated with
oil, grease or brake fluid.

 Thicl ¢ bonded lini . | :

7. Nonsteering axles. Lining with a thickness less than
% inch at the shoe center for air drum brakes. 1/16 inch
or less at the shoe center for hydraulic and electric drum
brakes and less than % inch for air disc brakes, lining
with a thickness less than 3/16 inch for a shoe with a
continuous strip of lining or to wear indicators if so
equipped.

a. Steering axles. Lining with thickness less than Y4
inch at the shoe center from drum brakes, less than &
inch for air disc brakes and 1/16 inch or less for
hydraulic disc and electric brakes, lining with a
thickness less than 3/16 inch for a shoe with a
continuous strip of lining or to wear indicators if so
equipped.

b. Mismatch across any power unit steering axle of:
(1) Air chamber sizes.
(2) Slack adjuster length.

2- 8. Thickness of riveted or bolted lining is less than
2/32 of an inch above the rivet or bolt head(s).

3- 9. Any lining or pad is misaligned or does not make
full contact with the drum or rotor.

Brake Drums and Discs:

4-10. Brake drums or brake discs (rotors) are worn or
scored to the extent that their remachining would exceed
result in a failure to meet manufacturer's specifications.

5. 11. Brake drums or discs with any external crack or
cracks moere-than4-the-width-of thefriction—surface—of
the-drum-er-dise that open upon brake application.

NOTE: Do not confuse short hairline heat cracks with
flexural cracks.

Mechanical Linkage:

6—Cables-arefrayed-orfrozen:
12. Any portion of the drum or rotor missing or in danger
of falling away.

Hydraulic:

NOTE: Some motor vehicles, beginning with 1976
models, have a hydraulic power system that serves both the
power assisted brakes and power assisted steering system.
Some vehicles, beginning with 1985 models, have an
integrated hydraulic actuation and anti-lock brake unit using
only brake fluid.

Hydraulic System Operation:

8- 13. Stop engine, then depress brake pedal several
times to eliminate all pressure. Depress pedal with a
light foot-force (30 pounds). While maintaining this
force on the pedal, start engine and observe if pedal
moves slightly when engine starts.

Reject vehicle if pedal does not move slightly as engine
is started while force is on brake pedal.

MASTER CYLINDER

HYDRAULIC BOOSTER

TYPICAL HYDRAULIC BOOSTER ASSEMBLY

Condition of Hydraulic Booster Power Brake System:

9. 14. Inspect system for fluid level and leaks. Reject
vehicle if there is insufficient fluid in the power steering
pump reservoir; if there are broken, kinked or restricted
fluid lines or hoses; if there is any leakage of fluid at the
pump, steering gear or brake booster, or any of the lines
or hoses in the system; or if belts are frayed, cracked or
excessively worn.

Integrated Hydraulic Booster/Anti-Lock System Operation:
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10. 15. With the ignition key in the off position, depress
brake pedal a minimum of 25 times to deplete all
residual stored pressure in the accumulator. Depress
pedal with a light foot- force (25 Ibs.). Place ignition key
in the on position and allow 60 seconds for the brake
warning light to go out and the electric pump to shut off.

Reject vehicle if the brake pedal does not move down
slightly as the pump builds pressure or if the brake and
anti-lock warning lights remain on longer than 60

seconds.
ACCUMULATOR 75
MINIMUM FLUID LEVEL ‘
WITH FULLY CHARGED N
ACCUMULATOR L~

HYDRAULIC
BOOSTER

MASTER CYLINDER

TYPICAL INTEGRATED HYDRAULIC BROOSTER
ANTI-LOC SYSTER

Condition of Integrated Hydraulic Booster/Anti-Lock
System with Electronic Pump:

41 16. With the system fully charged, inspect system
for fluid level and leaks.

Reject vehicle if there is insufficient fluid in the reservoir;
if there are broken, kinked or restricted fluid lines or
hoses; or if there is any leakage of fluid at the pump or
brake booster, or any of the lines or hoses in the
system.

Vacuum System Operation:

12. 17. Stop engine then depress brake pedal several
times to eliminate all vacuum in the system. Depress
pedal with a light foot-force (25 Ibs.). While maintaining
this force on the pedal, start engine and observe if pedal
moves down slightly when engine starts.

Reject vehicle if pedal does not move down slightly as
engine is started while force is on the brake pedal. In full
vacuum-equipped vehicles, there is insufficient vacuum
reserve for one full service brake application after engine
is stopped.

a. Has insufficient vacuum reserve to permit one full
brake application after engine is shut off.

b. Lacks an operative low-vacuum warning device as
required.

BOOSTER ASSEMBLY

MASTER CYLINDER

TYPICAL VACUUM BOOSTER ASSEMBLY

Condition of Vacuum Booster Power Brake System:

43. 18. Visual inspection. Reject vehicle if there are
collapsed, cracked, broken, badly chafed or improperly
supported hoses and tubes, loose or broken hose
clamps.

34. 19. There is any leakage in the hydraulic system.
(Do not disturb the dust boot when checking for leaking
wheel cylinders.)

45: 20. Fluid level in master cylinder is below the proper
level for the particular vehicle.

16. 21. There is any evidence of a caliper sticking or
binding.

Vaecuum-System-and Air Brake-System Brakes:

22. Motor vehicle is equipped with air brakes and does
not have an operating air pressure gauge.

23.  Any bus, truck, road tractor and tractor truck
manufactured after February2821975 March 15, 1975,
must have a visible low air warning device. Those
manufactured on or before February-28,1975 March 15,
1975, may have either an audible or visible low air
warning device.
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a. Low pressure warning device missing, inoperative
or does not operate at 55 psi and below or % the
governor cut out pressure whichever is less.

cut-out—pressure—higher—than—125—PSH—unless—other
25: 24. Compressed air reserve is not sufficient to make
one full service brake application after engine is
stopped, or with system fully charged, the reservoir
pressure is lowered more than 20 30% by one full brake
application.

a. Brake chamber push rods do not follow application
of service brake pedal, or do not reach full released
position (example: defective return spring).

34. 25. Any bus, truck, road tractor, or tractor truck
manufactured after February 28, 1975, if equipped with
a manually operated device to reduce or remove the
braking effort upon its front wheels.

Electric Brake-System Brakes:

35: 26. Trailers show an amperage value more than
20% above or 30% below the brake manufacturer's
maximum current rating for each brake.

36- 27. Ammeter shows no reading or indicator is not
steady on application and release of brake controller.

3% 28. Any terminal connections are loose or dirty;
wires are broken, frayed or unsupported; any single
conductor or nonstranded wire or wires below size
recommended by brake manufacturers are installed.

38. 29. Electrical trailer brakes do not apply
automatically when breakaway safety switch is
operated.

30. Absence of braking action on any wheel required to
have brakes.

31. Missing or inoperative breakaway braking device(s).
Air Compressor:

32. Compressor drive belts in condition of impending or
probable failure.

33. Loose compressor mounting bolts or compressor
leaks.

34. Cracked, broken or loose pulley.

35. Tractor protection valve(s) is defective or
inoperative.

36. Air safety relief valve is defective or inoperative.
19 VAC 30-70-450. Brakes.

A. Some vehicles are equipped with an actual emergency
brake, while others have only a parking or holding brake.
Some types may be actuated by a foot or hand lever, while
others may incorporate a switch or valve to actuate the
brake. Air and vacuum brake systems may employ spring
activating parking brakes.

B. Inspect for and reject if:

1. Vehicle or combination of vehicles is not equipped
with a parking, holding, or emergency brake in good
working order of the type installed as original standard
factory equipment for the vehicle on which it is installed.

2. The parking brake actuating mechanism does not
fully release when the control is operated to the off
position.

3. Any mechanical parts are missing, broken, badly
worn, or are inoperative.

4. Cables are stretched, worn, or frayed or not
operating freely.

5. Parking brake will not hold the vehicle stationary with
the engine running at slightly accelerated speed with
shift lever in drive position for automatic transmission or
shift lever in low gear with clutch engaged for standard
shift transmission.
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6. On vehicles equipped with automatic transmissions,
the vehicle will start in any gear other than (P) park or
(N) neutral.

7. Any nonmanufactured hole(s) in the spring brake
housing section of a parking brake.

8. All commercial motor vehicles manufactured after
March 7, 1990, shall be equipped with a parking brake
system adequate to hold the vehicle or combination
under any condition of loading except agricultural
commodity trailers, converter dollies, heavy haulers and
pulpwood trailers.

19 VAC 30-70-460. Brakes: trailer (GVWR 10,000
pounds or more).

A. All trailers and semitrailers registered for or having an
actual gross weight of 10,000 pounds or more shall be
equipped with operational brakes acting on all wheels.

B. Inspect for and reject if:

1. Trailer brakes do not comply with provisions of
19 VAC 30-70-430 and 19 VAC 30-70-440 and 19 VAC
30-70-450.

2. Operator does not have full control over brakes.

3. Combination will not stop as required in 19-VAC
30-70-436 19 VAC 30-70-440 D 4.

4. Al Trailers—manufactured—or—assembled—after
January—1—1964 are not equipped with emergency

breakaway brakes designed to:

a. Apply automatically upon breakaway from towing
vehicle.

b. Remain fully applied for at least 15 minutes.

c. Apply and release by operation of the manual
emergency control.

d. Apply automatically when the pressure in the
towing vehicle reservoir is reduced to a point between
45 and 20 PSI by a series of foot applications, when
equipped with air brakes.

5. A minimum of one wheel must be removed from each
axle equipped with brakes to inspect the brake
components.

Exceptions:

a. Wheels on trailers equipped with open brake
mechanisms are not required to be removed.

b. The inspection receipt shall be marked to reflect on
which side the wheel or wheels were pulled or
inspected.

19 VAC 30-70-470. Steering.

A. This system requires moving components to be
checked for steering wheel lash, loose parts or binding. To
properly inspect the power steering components, the engine
must be running.

B.

Inspect for and reject if:

1. Play at any point in the steering mechanism is
excessive. The steering mechanism is unusually tight
and binding when turning the steering wheel completely
to the right and left. The steering mechanism will not
turn in both directions, stop to stop, or steering stops
have been removed. On certain model passenger
buses, it may be necessary to open the inspection
access door to allow visual inspection of the steering
shaft universal joints.

2. Power steering is defective and affects adequate
steering of the vehicle or fluid level in reservoir is below
operating level. Belts do not have sufficient tension or
are worn, frayed, or missing. Damage to hoses or leaks
in hoses or fittings.

3. Any maodification has been made to any part of the
steering system that affects proper steering. A repair kit
or preventive maintenance kit has been installed on a tie
rod end, idler arm, ball joint, or any other part of the
vehicle's steering gear.

NOTE: The repair kit or preventive maintenance kit
usually consists of a small spring and a plastic cap
which is placed over the bolt stud of the component and
held in place by a retaining nut. There is nothing in this
paragraph which prohibits the replacement of parts or
components of a motor vehicle's steering gear in order
to correct deficiencies in the steering gear.

4. Steering Lash/Travel-Trucks.

a. Before inspection the vehicle must be placed on a
smooth, dry, level surface. For vehicles equipped with
power steering, the engine must be running and the
fluid level, belt tension and condition must be
adequate before testing.

b. With road wheels in straight ahead position, turn
steering wheel until motion can be detected at the
front road wheels. Align a reference mark on steering
wheel with a mark on a ruler and slowly turn steering
wheel in the opposite direction until motion can be
detected at the front road wheel. Measure lash at
steering wheel. Special lash-checking instruments are
also available, measuring free play in inches or
degrees. Such instruments should always be
mounted and used according to the manufacturer's
instructions.  With vehicle raised, visually inspect
steering linkage, ball studs, tie rod end socket
assemblies and all pivot points.

NOTE: On vehicles with power steering, engine must
be running.

C. Reject vehicle if steering wheel movement
exceeds:
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Steering Wheel Size and Lash

Power Steering

Manual Steering

16in.or -4%in.(11.5cm) 16in.or -2in.(5.1cm)
less less

18 in. - 4%, in.(12.0cm) 18 in. - 2% in.(5.4cm)
20 in. - 5% in.(13.5cm) 20 in. - 2% in.(6.4cm)
22 in. - 5% in.(14.5cm) 22 in. - 2% in.(7.0cm)

d. Reject vehicle if visual inspection reveals excessive
wear and/or looseness in any ball stud, end assembly,
pivot point or mechanical linkage.

STEERING LASH

5. Any maodification or replacement has been made to
the steering wheel which affects proper steering. It shall
be rejected if it is of a smaller size than the original
factory equipment.

6. Steering column has any missing or loose bolts or
positioning parts, resulting in motion of the steering
column from its normal position. Steering shaft
universal joints are loose or exhibit any abnormal
movement when shaft is rotated. Any welded repairs
are made to the steering system, steering column,
steering gear box, pitman arm or universal joints.

a. Any movement of a steering nut under steering
load.

7. Any missing or loose bolts or other parts resulting in
motion of the steering gear box at the point of
attachment to the vehicle's frame.

8. Any looseness er—up—and—dewn—movement of the

pitman arm e+ on the steering gear box, output shaft or
gear box.

9. Any control arm bushing is missing.

10. Any vehicle equipped with an idler arm shows
excessive looseness.

11. Any motion, other than rotational, between any
linkage member and its attachment point of more than Y&
inch measured with hand pressure only.

12. Loose clamps, clamp bolts on tie rod ends or drag
links.

13. Any looseness in any threaded joint.

14. Loose or missing nut on tie rods, pitman arm, drag
ink, steering arm or tie rod ends.

10: 15. Wheel Bearings/Steering Linkage.

a. With the front end of vehicle lifted properly, push
pads away from rotor on disc brakes, and grab front
tire at top and bottom, rock vigorously in and out and
record movement. Wheel bearing looseness is
detected by the relative movement between the brake
drum or disc and the backing plate or splash shield.

(1) Reject vehicle if relative movement between
drum and backing plate (disc and splash shield) is
more than % inch measured at the outer
circumference of the tire for vehicles more than
10,000 pounds GVWR.

(2) Reject vehicle if any wheel bearing is
excessively worn or not properly adjusted; any
cotter key or other locking device is missing or
inoperative.

b. Steering Linkage Play. First eliminate all wheel
bearing movement by applying service brake. With
vehicle lifted as shown below and wheels in straight
ahead position, grasp front and rear of tire and
attempt to move assembly right and left without
moving the steering gear.

Reject vehicle if measured movement at front or rear
of tire is greater than:

Wheel size: 16 inches or less - % inch
17 to 18 inches - % inch

over 18 inches - % inch

e
REAR FRONT
TPPER ARM CONTROL
STEFRING
LINKAGE FRAME
STEERING LINEAGE PLAY - TOP VIEW

c. Kingpin Play. If vehicle is equipped with kingpins,
first eliminate all wheel bearing movement by applying
service brake. With front end lifted as illustrated for
inspecting wheel bearings, (Figure C) grasp the tire at
the top and bottom and attempt to move in and out to
detect looseness. Measure the movement at the top
or bottom of the tire at the outer circumference.
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Reject vehicle if measured movement at top or bottom

of tire is greater than:
Wheel size: 16 inches or less - ¥4 inch
17 to 18 inches - % inch
over 18 inches - ¥z inch

-

TORSION
BAR

FIGURE

HORIZONTAL MOVEMENT VERTICAL MOVEMENT
SFRING ON UPPER CONTROL ARM
FIGURE 1

MAX.
TOL.

HORIZONTAL MOVEMENT
MACPHERSON STRUT
FIGURE 2

KNG }:’
N
FRONT \
AXLE
d
)
FIGURE
C

excessive-looseness:

12. 16. Ball Joint Wear: There is a trend among U.S.
automobile  manufacturers toward the use of
"wear-indicating" ball joints on light trucks. Many
vehicles on the road, however, do not have
wear-indicating ball joints. The inspection of both types
will be discussed.

Figures 1, 2, 3 and 4 below illustrate the proper hoisting
for checking ball joints.

VERTICAL MOVEMENT
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TOL.
HORIZONTAL MOVEMENT

FIGURE 3

a. NOTE: To check ball joint wear on vehicles when
the spring is supported on the upper control arm or
when the spring is a part of a MacPherson strut or
wear in any other type suspension not using ball joints
when the front wheels are suspended on a solid axle,
the vehicle must be hoisted as shown in Figure 1 or 2.

VERTICAL MOYEMENT
SPFRING OR TORSION BAR ON LOWER CONTROL ARM
RAISING POSITIONS FOR SUSPENSION SYSTEMS

FIGURE 4

b. Reject vehicle if there is lateral movement in either
front wheel in excess of % inch measured at the
outside of the tire up to and including a 16-inch wheel;
or in excess of % inch when the wheel is over 16
inches. This check must be made by grasping the tire
at the extreme top and bottom and moving the wheel

laterally across the surface. If play is noted, accurate
measurement must be made by using the block test
or with an accurate measuring device. No rejection
should be made unless the specified tolerances are
exceeded.

34, 18. Ball Joints With Wear Indicators (Trucks):
Support vehicle with ball joints loaded (in normal driving
attitude). Wipe grease fitting and checking surface free
of dirt and grease. Determine if checking surface
extends beyond the surface of the ball joint cover.

b. NOTE: Upper control arm must be stabilized in
normal load carrying position by means of an upper
control or other support tool to insure ball joint is in
unloaded position.

c. NOTE: To check ball joint wear on vehicles not
listed in above referred to section and diagram or
tables when the spring is supported on the lower
control arm; and to check the kingpin wear in any
other type suspension not previously described when
the wheels are independently suspended, the vehicle
must be hoisted as shown in Figure 3 or 4.

a. Reject vehicle if checking surface is flush with or
inside the cover surface.

13- 17. Vehicles Without Wear Indicator Ball Joint.

a. Reject vehicle if there is noticeable play in the
lower ball joint when hoisted as in Figures 1 or 2, or in
the upper ball joint when hoisted as in Figures 3 or 4.

NEW WORN
Fa COVER SURFACE
]
[
B " BALL STUD
HOUSING -
SOCEET
A k
r‘ \ BALL JOINT WEAR INDICATOR
Y ¥ Wear is indicated hy the protusion of the 1/2" diameter hoss,
(exaggerated for illustration) into which the grease fitting is
N
k_ _‘ threaded for greasable ball joints. This same boss exists and
'- should be used to indicate wear in non-greasable ball joints.
= ™ g This round hoss prajects 050" beyond the surface of the hall
— - joint cover on a new, unworn joint.
= To inspect for wear, support vehicle by wheels so that the
lower hall joints are in a loaded condition. Wipe the grease
RUBBER SURFACES fitting or hoss free of dirt and grease. Observe or scrape a

INDICATOR ~ PRESSURE scale, screwdriver or fingernail across the cover. If the grease
RING

fitting hoss is flush or nside the cover surface, reject vehicle.
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15. 19. Any vehicle inspected in accordance with the
recommendation of the manufacturer of such vehicle
and found to be within the specification contained in the
attached chart in subdivision 12 shall be deemed to
meet inspection regulations.

TABLE 1 MANUFACTURER'S TOLERANCE FOR BALL
JOINT WEAR WITH SPRING OR TORSION BAR ON
LOWER ARM

Model Year Vertical Horizontal
Movement | Movement

system or leaks.
CAUTION: Underneath inspection of a vehicle equipped

with air suspension with excessive leakdown could result
in serious personal injury.

6. Any suspension system defect or any condition of
loading that permits the body or frame to come in
contact with a tire or any part of the wheel assemblies.

NOTE: "All thread rod" material shall not be used as U-
bolts in the suspension system.

CHEVROLET 7. Sliding trailer tandem or multi-axle assemblies do not
10, 20, 30 60-84 094" 250" lock in place or have broken or missing parts.
S-Series 82-84 | Wear Ind. @) 8. Any coil spring is broken.
GMC _ _ 9. Vehicles with composite trailer springs if a crack,
1500, 2500, 3500 60-84 094 .250 regardless of length, is visible on either side, top or
S-Series 82-84 Wear Ind. {a) .250" bottom.
DODGE NOTE: A crack is a separation in any axis which passes
B1, B2, B3, D1, D2, 71-84 .020"(b) (a) completely through the spring.
D3, D15, D25, D35, . .
W2, W3, W15, W25, 19 \(AC 30-70-490. Frame., engine mounts, coupling
W35, RD2, WM3, devices and emergency chains.
MB3, CB3, AD1, Inspect for and reject if:
AW1, Ramcharger N _ .
Rampage 82-84 000 000 1. Frame eorunitized-body—of any-metorvehicletrailer
itrailer_is. brol Ked ion.
PLYMOUTH including—any-welded-joint-and/or-is—rusted-or corroded
PB1, PB2, PB3, PD1 74-84 .020"(b) (a) to—the—point-the—frame—is—weakened of any bus, truck,
PW1, Trail Duster truck tractor is cracked, loose or sagging.
INTERNATIONAL a. Frame of any trailer or semi-trailer has any broken
100, 150, 200 74-80 .095" (@) or cracked top or bottom frame rails or frame is

(@ Do not test ball joints by Horizontal
Movement.

(b) Preloaded by rubber or springs.
19 VAC 30-70-480. Suspension.
Inspect for and reject if:

1. Any positioning parts are cracked, broken, loose, or
missing resulting in shifting of an axle from its normal
position.

2. Any part of the torsion bar assembly or torque arm or
any part used for attaching the same to the vehicle
frame or axle which is cracked, broken or missing.

NOTE: This does not apply to loose bushing(s) in torque
or track arms.

3. Vehicles designed for shock absorbers or cross
stabilizer links, if any are missing, disconnected, broken,
bent, loose or do not function properly.

4. Any leaf spring is broken, sagging, misaligned, or if
shaekles spring hangar(s) are worn or loose.

5. Any deflated air suspension leaking-that-affects-the
| funet : . . .

cracked or broken.

2. Engine or transmission mounts are broken or
missing.

3. Trailer hitch or pintle hook is not securely attached.

Reject if the pintle eye or trailer drawbar has any cracks
or if any welding repairs have been made to the pintle
eye.

4. Chains, cables, etc., used to attach a towed vehicle
are not securely attached, or are broken, worn or
abraded.

5. Fifth wheel does not lock in position or have a locking
mechanism that is in proper working order.

NOTE: Reject if horizontal movement exceeds % inch
between upper and lower fifth wheel halves.

6. Fifth wheel assembly system has any leak of fluid or
air.

7. Fifth wheel has any broken, missing, or damaged
parts; or is not securely attached to the frame. This
includes fore and aft stops.
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8. Trailer kingpin is not secure, or is broken, or worn so
as to prevent secure fit in fifth wheel. The upper coupler
device is not securely attached.

9. Any cracks, breaks or damaged parts in the stress or
load bearing areas of a coupling device.

10. Trailer is not equipped with an emergency chain or
chains.

NOTE: Fifth wheel assembly does not require
emergency chains. A fifth wheel is defined as a device
which interfaces with and couples to the upper coupler
assembly of a semitrailer. The upper coupler assembly
is a structure consisting of an upper coupler plate,
kingpin and supporting framework which interfaces with
and couples to a fifth wheel. Ball and socket
connections also referred to as hitch and coupling
connections are not fifth wheel assemblies and do
require safety chains.

11. Reject if sliding trailer tandem or multi-axle
assemblies do not lock in place or have worn, broken or
missing parts.

exceeding 40 miles, measured one way, on the same
day between their place of abode and their place of
work, shopping areas, or schools, is equipped with a tire
which has a tread depth measuring less than 2/32 of an
inch when measured as follows: NOTE: The
exemptions provided in clauses (i) and (ii) of this
paragraph do not apply to buses owned or operated by
any public school district, private school or contract
operator of buses.

8. Measure in two adjacent tread grooves where tread is
thinnest. If either of the grooves measure 2/32 of an
inch or more, no further measurements are necessary
and tread depth is satisfactory. Do not measure on
tread wear indicators.

If both adjacent grooves measure less than 2/32 of an
inch, the tire tread depth must be measured again at two
additional equally spaced intervals around the
circumference of the tire in a like manner as the first
measurement. If the tread depth is less than 2/32 of an
inch in two adjacent tread grooves at each of the equally
spaced intervals, the tire must be rejected.

NOTE: Refer to Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4 in this section for

19 VAC 30-70-500. Tires, wheels, rims. ! ) '
illustrations of how to measure tire tread.

Inspect for and reject if:

1. Any tire is marked specifically for use other than on

the highway, such as "For Farm Use Only," or "For MEASURE WHERE THE
Off-Highway Use Only," or any tire marked "Not for TREAD IS THINNEST IN
Steering Axle.” TWO ADJACENT TREAD
GROOVES
2. A radial tire is mismatched on the same axle with a
bias ply tire or a bias belted tire.
FIGURE 1

3. Bias ply or bias belted tires are used on the rear axle
when radial ply tires are used on the front axle. Except:

a. On a two-axle vehicle equipped with truck tires with
20-inch rim diameter and larger, bias or radial tires
may be used on either axle if the vehicle has dual rear
wheels, or is equipped with wide-base single tires.

IF THE DEPTH IS LESS
THAN 2/32-INCH IN
BOTH GROOVES
MEASURE AT TWO
ADDITIONAL EQUALLY

b. Either bias or radial tires may be used on the
SPACED INTERVALS

steering axle of vehicles with three or more axles.

4, Bias tires and radial tires are mixed in a

tandem-drive axle combination on a vehicle equipped
with truck tires with 20-inch rim diameter and larger.

5. Any tire on the front wheel of a bus, truck or any

9. A tire equipped with tread wear indicators if found to
have such indicators in contact with the pavement in any
two adjacent grooves at three equally spaced intervals

. around the circumference of the tire. Refer to Figure 2.
tractor truck has a tread groove pattern of 4/32 inch or 9

less when measured at any point on a major tread
groove.

6. Any bus has regrooved, recapped or retreaded tires
on the front wheels.

7. Any motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer, except the
dual wheels installed on motor vehicles having seats for
more than seven passengers: (i) operated wholly within
a municipality, or (ii) operated by urban and suburban
bus lines, which are defined as bus lines operating over
regularly scheduled routes and the majority of whose
passengers use the buses for traveling a distance of not
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word "Regroovable” molded on or into the tire on both
sidewalls in raised or recessed letters.

REJECT IF THE TREAD
WEAR INDICATORS
ARE IN CONTACT WITH
THE PAVEMENT IN ANY

TWO ADJACENT position,—except—the—wheels—on—vehicles—which—are
GROOVES AT THREE reversed-to-perform-apart-of a-dualwheel-combination:
ESCL:JQ_II::_JNSSPACED 14. Any tire is flat or has an audible air leak.
15. Any tire so mounted or inflated that it comes into
contact with its mate or any parts of the vehicle.
FIGURE 2

16. Rims, or lock rings or wheels are bent, cracked or
damaged so as to affect safe operation of the vehicle.
Reject if lug nut holes are elongated (out of round).

. . il hat i .
GGmaeFWﬁh—m}ate—eF&ﬂy—p&FtS—ef—the—Vemele—. j j O

17. Any fasteners (both spoke and disc wheels) are
loose, broken, cracked, stripped, missing or damaged or
otherwise ineffective fasteners.

20— Commercial-motor—vehicles—with—a—gross—vehicle

10. Any tire has a cut inrte-the-fabrie to the extent a ply
or belt material is exposed.

11. Any tire is worn so that the fabric or steel cord is
visible.

12. Any tire has knots or bulges in its sidewalls or if
there is evidence of a broken belt under the tread, or if

the tread is separating from the fabric.

13. Any tire which has been recut or regrooved except
commercial tires so designed and constructed to provide
for acceptable and safe recutting and regrooving. Each

weight-6f 26,001 pounds-er-more-have 18. Any welded

repair on aluminum wheel(s) on a steering axle or any
welded repair (other than disc to rim attachment) on
steel drive wheel(s) mounted on the steering axle.

tire that has been regrooved must be labeled with the
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FIGURE 3
ATTACHED TO BWCS NOTICE DATED 8/21/69

Whea measuring tread depth, a gauge
calibrated in 32ads of an inch should be
used.

The gauge should be piaced at the
point in one of the treads indicated by an
arrow. Depth reading should pot be taken
in treads marked with a circle, since these
are classified as "minor" treads.

Persons taking measurements will have
to use discretion in messuring tread
depths not pictured here, however,
measurements should not be made in
treads which are obviously of a “minor”
aature.

This guide merely depicts a number of
the most common treads.

<>

/

187 g2

}
D3y

-
a

7-0.('
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o

X

-

MAJOR TREAD GROOVE o
Grooves in the tread design k’*
molded through the complete G
thickness of the tread rubber A

ruaning around and/or
across the tire surface

MINOR TREAD GROOYE
o Remaining tire tread design
other than major tread groves.

@ TIE-BAR

Molded rubber located in major
tread groves for the purpose of
connecting and supportiog the
tire treads.
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FIGURE 4
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19 VAC 30-70-550. Clearance lamps and reflectors.

Inspect for and reject if:

1. Any motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer or other vehicle
is not equipped with clearance lamps if the vehicle is
over seven feet wide or if any portion extends four
inches or more outside the front fender line.

When a motor vehicle with a trailer attached is
presented, the combination may be considered as one
unit in meeting this requirement. If presented
separately, the individual unit must meet these
requirements except that any tractor-truck need not be
equipped with rear red dimension or marker lamps.

2. Lamps and reflectors are not of an approved type or
a lamp has been altered.

Reject if the lamps or reflectors have unapproved plastic
covers, any other materials which are not original
equipment or any colored material placed on or in front
of lamps or reflectors.

3. Lenses on lamps on the front are not yellow or amber
and lenses on lamps on the rear are not red or if a lens
has a piece broken from it. A lens may have one or
more cracks provided an off-color light does not project
through the crack or cracks.

4. Wiring or electrical connections are defective, all
filaments do not burn.

5. Two amber lamps are not mounted on the front and
two red lamps on the rear, so as to indicate the extreme
width of the body, and as high on the permanent body
as practical, except that approved 180 degree lamps
with yellow or amber lens may be mounted on the side
of the vehicle at or as near the front as possible, or if the
front is not the widest portion, the lamps may be
installed on the side and as near that point as possible.
And with the further exception that 180 degree lamps
with red lens may be mounted on the side of the vehicle
at or as near the rear as possible or if the rear is not the
widest portion of the vehicle, the lamps may be installed
on the side as near that point as possible.

6. Any vehicle equipped with three red identification
lamps with the lamp centers spaced not less than six
inches or more than 12 inches apart and installed as
close as practicable to the top of the vehicle and as
close as practicable to the vertical centerline of the
vehicle may have the rear dimension or marker lamps
required by paragraph 5 above mounted at any height
but indicate as nearly as practicable the extreme width
of the vehicle.

7. Dump trucks with a high lift body, concrete mixer
trucks and other specially constructed vehicles may be
equipped with the required clearance lamps not
mounted on the extreme rear, provided such red lamps
are clearly visible from the rear and provided further that
two red reflectors of an approved type are mounted on
the extreme rear. In unusual cases the rear lamp may

be mounted on the cab and another red reflex reflector
placed on the extreme rear.

8. In addition to the required clearance lamps showing
to the front and to the rear, a vehicle may be equipped
with clearance lamps on the side of the vehicle. When
such an installation is used, all of the clearance lamps
on the side except the one at or near the rear must have
an amber lens. The clearance lamps on the side at or
near the rear must have a red lens.

9. Any vehicle covered by subdivision 1 of this section,
except school buses, is not equipped with amber
reflectors on the sides as near the front as practical, and
red reflectors on the rear. The reflectors must be at
least 24 15 inches and not more than 60 inches from the
ground. No reflector can have a piece broken from its
reflective surface, but may have one or more cracks.

10. Any combination of vehicles whose actual length
exceeds 35 feet if the vehicles are not wide enough to
have clearance lights, if the vehicle is not equipped with
reflex reflectors of a type approved by the
superintendent and mounted on the widest part of the
towed vehicle so as to be visible from the front and sides
of the vehicle. No reflector can have a piece broken
from its reflective surface, but may have one or more
cracks.

11. Any passenger vehicle is equipped with clearance
lamps, unless such lamps are used to mark the extreme
width of the vehicle or used as taxicab identification, or
used as supplemental turn signals. (See 19 VAC

30-70-190;paragraph B.)

12. Vehicles so constructed as to make compliance
with the requirements of paragraphs subdivisions 1, 5, 7,
9 and 10 of this section impractical will be equipped with
clearance lamps and reflectors at the most practical
location to provide maximum visibility.

Amber Clearance
Lamps
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RED CLEARANCE

RED
I_ AMBER _I
L 3 h 3
| [

180 DEGREE LAMPS PERMITTED IF
INSTALLED AS SHOWN IN THE
COLORS INDICATED - RED ON
REAR AND AMBER. ON FRONT.

If equipped
with three red
identification
lamps,

the required
clearance
lamps may be
mounted at any
height so long
as they
indicate, as
nearly as
practicable, the
extreme width
of the vehicle.

ILLUSTRATIONS FOR PROPER INSTALLATION
OF REFLECTORS

Amber
Reflector

At least 24 15 inches and not more than
60 inches from the ground

Red Reflectors --
At least 24 15
inches and not
more than 60
inches from the
ground

19 VAC 30-70-570. Permissible lighting equipment.
A. Any vehicle may be equipped with:

2- 1. Running board or courtesy lamps, of not over six
candlepower.

3- 2. Vacant or destination signs, if a taxicab or bus.
4 3. Identification lamps of approved type.
6- 4. Interior lights. (Not more than 15 candlepower.)

Exception: This does not apply to alternating, blinking
or flashing colored emergency lights mounted inside
law-enforcement vehicles or flashing, shielded red or red
and white lights, mounted inside vehicles owned by
members of volunteer fire companies, volunteer rescue
squads or owned or used by professional firefighters.

8- 5. A motor vehicle having a GVWR of 26:60% 10,001
pounds or more may be equipped with an illuminated
bumper guide attached to each end of the front bumper,
provided:

a. The light thereon is amber in color and less than 6
candle-power.

b. The light is wired to burn only in conjunction with
the marker or clearance lamps on the vehicle.

9. 6. Any approved lamp in good working order when
used for the purpose for which it was approved.

B. Side—Marker—Lamps: Side marker lamps are not

required if the vehicle(s) is over 30 feet in length. If installed
they must operate and be inspected. If the bulb, socket and
wiring are removed from an individual lamp unit, the unit will
not be considered during inspection.

Inspect for and reject if:
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1. Lamps are not of an approved type, or do not comply
with subsection A of this section.

2. Lamps are not installed on the permanent structure
of the vehicle with one as far to the rear and one as far
forward as practicable and at a location which is not less
than 15 inches above the road surface when measured
from the center of the lamp.

3. Lamps installed on the side to the rear do not project
a red light and lamps installed on the front do not project
an amber light.

4. Lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have
one or more cracks provided no off-color light projects
through the crack or cracks.

5. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or
filaments do not burn.

6. Any vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic covers,
any other materials which are not original equipment or
any colored material placed on or in front of permissible
lighting equipment.

19 VAC 30-70-580. Glazing.

A. Motor vehicles may be inspected without windshields,
side glasses, or any kind of glazing except that any motor
vehicle other than a motorcycle which was manufactured,
assembled, or reconstructed after July 1, 1970, must be
equipped with a windshield. If glass or other glazing is
installed, it must be inspected. If no windshield is installed,
see 19 VAC 30-70-50,—subsesction C, for location of the
sticker.

B. Inspect for and reject if:

1. Any motor vehicle manufactured or assembled after
January 1, 1936, or any bus or school bus manufactured
or assembled after January 1, 1935, is not equipped
throughout with safety glass, or other safety glazing
material. (This requirement includes slide-in campers
used on pickups or trucks, caps, or covers used on
pickup trucks, motor homes, and vans.)

2. Any safety glass or glazing used in a motor vehicle is
not of an approved type and properly identified.
(Replacement safety glass installed in any part of a
vehicle other than the windshield need not bear a
trademark or name, provided the glass consists of two
or more sheets of glass separated by a glazing material,
and provided the glass is cut from a piece of approved
safety glass, and provided the edge of the glass can be
observed.)

3. Any glass at any location where glass is used is
cracked or broken so that it is likely to cut or injure a
person in the vehicle.

4. Windshield has any cloudiness more than three
inches above the bottom, one inch inward from the outer
borders, one inch down from the top, or one inch inward
from the center strip. The bottom of the windshield shall
be defined as the point where the top of the dash
contacts the windshield.

5. Any distortion or obstruction that interferes with a
driver's vision.

a. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle
manufactured for 1990 or earlier model year cannot
exceed 2Y% inches high at its highest point measured
from the junction of the dashboard and the windshield.

b. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle
manufactured for the year 1991 or subsequent model
year cannot exceed 1% inches high at its highest point
measured from the junction of the dashboard and the
windshield.

6. Windshield glass, on the driver's side, has any
scratch more than % inch in width and six inches long
within the area covered by the windshield wiper blade,
excluding the three inches above the bottom of the
windshield.

EXCEPTION: Do not reject safety grooves designed to
clean wiper blades if the grooves do not extend upward
from the bottom of the windshield more than six inches
at the highest point.

7. There is a pit, chip, or star crack larger than 1%
irehes ¥ inch in diameter at any location in the
windshield above the three—inch—line—at—the bettom
topmost portion of the steering wheel except the two-
inch border at the top and the one-inch border at each
side.

8. At any location in-the-windshield-above-the-three-inch
: . ; ﬁ I
same-point I at.east © |e.el the-crasks-is-more-than 116

eResH length-—There S—aRy-erack that “e.alee s-the
W dslneld S.e t Fatl ohe-piece 'a? be-moved III relation
the—windshield—shall-be—rejected) above the topmost
portion of the steering wheel excluding a two-inch border
at the top and one-inch border at the sides there is:

a. Any crack over ¥ inch in width.

b. Any crack ¥4 inch or less in width intersected by
another crack.

c. Any damage area % inch or less in diameter if
within three inches of any other damage area.

9. Any sticker is on the windshield other than an official
one required by law, or permitted by the Superintendent.
Authorization is hereby granted to stickers measuring
not more than 2% inches in width and four inches in
length to be placed in the blind spot behind the rear view
mirror. Any sticker required by law must be placed
adjacent to the official inspection sticker and must not
extend upward more than three inches from the bottom
of the windshield; except, on vehicles operating in
interstate commerce, under rules and regulations of
ICC, stickers required by law must not extend upward
more than 4%z inches from the bottom of the windshield.
A valid Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance or motor
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carrier  inspection  sticker issued by certified
law-enforcement agencies not exceeding three inches in
height and two inches in width may be placed at the
lower right corner of the windshield on trucks and
tractor-trucks having a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or
more.

Any sticker required by the laws of any other state or
District of Columbia and displayed upon the windshield
of a vehicle submitted for inspection in this state is
permitted by the superintendent, provided the vehicle is
currently registered in that jurisdiction, the sticker is
displayed in a manner designated by the issuing
authority and has not expired. This includes vehicles
with dual registration, i.e., Virginia and the District of
Columbia.

10. Stickers or decals used by counties, cities and
towns in lieu of license plates may be placed on the
windshield without further authority. Except on privately
owned yellow school buses, the sticker or decal shall be
placed on the windshield adjacent to the right side of the
official inspection sticker. The top edge of the sticker or
decal shall not extend upwards more than three inches
from the bottom of the windshield. The left side edge
adjacent to the official inspection sticker shall not be
more than ¥ inch from the right edge of the official
inspection sticker when looking through the windshield
from inside the vehicle. However, at the option of the
motor vehicle owner, the sticker or decal may be affixed
to the upper edge of the center of the windshield. (Any
expired sticker or decal present on the windshield at the
time of inspection shall be removed, excluding a
rejection sticker.) On privately owned yellow school
buses, the sticker or decal shall be placed on the
windshield adjacent to the left side of the official
inspection sticker, and not more than % inch from the
official inspection sticker when looking through the
windshield from inside the vehicle. The top edge of the
sticker shall not extend upward more than three inches
from the bottom of the windshield.

11. Sunshading Any material attached to the windshield

ofthe-windshield, unless authorized by a medical waiver
certificate, or replacement of the sunshield in the
uppermost area as installed by the manufacturer of the
vehicle.

NOTE: Sunshading Any material on windshield
displaying words, lettering, numbers or pictures is not
approved and is not permitted.

12. Any sunscreening material is scratched, distorted,
wrinkled or obscures or distorts clear vision through the
glazing.

13. Front side windows have cloudiness above three
inches from the bottom of the glass, or other defects
that affect the driver's vision or one or more cracks
which permit one part of the glass to be moved in
relation to another part. Wind silencers, breezes or

other ventilator adaptors are not made of clear
transparent material.

14. Glass in the left front door cannot be raised or
lowered easily so a hand signal can be given. (This
does not apply to vehicle equipped with approved turn
signals which were not designed and/or manufactured
for left front glass to be lowered.) If either front door has
the glass removed and material inserted in place of the
glass which could obstruct the driver's vision.

Exception: Sunscreening material is permissible if the
vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side.

15. Any sticker or other obstruction is on either front
side window, rear side windows, or rear windows. (The
price label, fuel economy label and the buyer's guide
required by federal statute and regulations to be affixed
to new/used vehicles by the manufacturer shall normally
be affixed to one of the rear side windows.) If a vehicle
only has two door windows, the labels may be affixed to
one of these windows. If a vehicle does not have any
door or side windows the labels may be temporarily
affixed to the right side of the windshield until the vehicle
is sold to the first purchaser.

NOTE: A single sticker no larger than 20 square inches
in area, if such sticker is totally contained within the
lower five inches of the glass in the rear window or a
single sticker or decal no larger than 10 square inches
located in an area not more than three inches above the
bottom and not more than eight inches from the
rearmost edge of either front side window, is permissible
and should not be rejected.

Do not reject a tractor truck having a gross vehicle
weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more equipped with
one optically grooved clear plastic wide angle lens
affixed to the right front side window. Such wide angle
lens shall not extend upward from the bottom of the
window opening more than six inches or backward from
the front of the window opening more than eight inches.

16. Rear window is clouded or distorted so that the
driver does not have a view 200 feet to the rear.

EXCEPTIONS: The following are permissible if the
vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side:

a. There is attached to one rear window of such
motor vehicle one optically grooved clear plastic right
angle rear view lens, not exceeding 18 inches in
diameter in the case of a circular lens or not
exceeding 11 inches by 14 inches in the case of a
rectangular lens, which enables the operator of the
motor vehicle to view below the line of sight as viewed
through the rear window.

b. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear
window or windows of such motor vehicle any sticker
or stickers, regardless of size.

c. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear
window or windows of such motor vehicle a single
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layer of any—appreved sunshading material,~VAF-1;
VAT-2-and-VAT-3.

d. Rear side windows, rear window or windows is
clouded or distorted.

19 VAC 30-70-680. Fuel system.
Inspect for and reject if:
1. Any part of the fuel system is not securely fastened.

2. There is fuel leakage at any point in the any fuel
system.

3. Fhe Any fuel tank filler cap is missing.

4. Fhe Any fuel tank crossover lines are not protected if
they extend more than two inches below the bottom of
the tank or sump.

5. Any part of the fuel system comes in contact with the
exhaust system.

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-51; Filed June 3, 1998, 11:55 a.m.

Volume 14, Issue 20 Monday, June 22, 1998

2753



FINAL REGULATIONS

For information concerning Final Regulations, see Information Page.

Symbol Key
Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Italic type indicates new text. Language which has been stricken indicates
text to be deleted. [Bracketed language] indicates a change from the proposed text of the regulation.

TITLE 8. EDUCATION

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: During its January 8, 1998
meeting, the State Board of Education approved final
regulations entitled “Licensure Regulations for School
Personnel” (8 VAC 20-21-10 et seq.), except for 8 VAC 200-
21-430, Special education: mild-moderate disabilities K-12
and 8 VAC 20-21-440, Special education: moderate-severe
disabilities K-12, which were proposed in 13:25 VA.R. 3323-
3325 September 1, 1997. The board deferred action on the
two sections listed above because, during the comment
period, concerns were expressed relative to discontinuing the
endorsement in special education-learning disabilities. On
February 26, 1998, the Board of Education approved a
substitute proposal in the endorsement areas of special
education-learning disabilities K-12, special education-
mental retardation K-12, special education-emotionally
disturbed K-12 which were proposed in 14:14 VA.R. 2061-
2065 March 30, 1998. The agency solicited comments on
the reproposed regulations until April 30, 1998. On May 26,
1998, the State Board of Education approved the sections as
proposed with one exception in 8 VAC 20-21-425.

Title of Regulation: 8 VAC 20-20-10 et seq. Regulations
Governing the Licensure of School Personnel (repealing
8 VAC 20-20-750, 8 VAC 20-20-770, 8 VAC 20-20-780 and
8 VAC 20-20-790).

Title of Regulation: 8 VAC 20-21-10 et seq. Licensure
Regulations for School Personnel (adding 8 VAC 20-21-
425, 8 VAC 20-21-430, 8 VAC 20-21-435, 8 VAC 20-21-440,
and 8 VAC 20-21-445).

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-298 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: July 22, 1998.

Summary:

The special education core competencies and the
requirements for emotional disturbance, learning
disabilities, mental retardation, and severe disabilities are
aligned with the Standards of Learning. The
requirements  also include competencies and
endorsement requirements for each teaching area;
therefore, these requirements are compatible with the
other teaching areas in the new Licensure Regulations
for School Personnel. These requirements will be
incorporated into the new licensure regulations.

Currently, Virginia offers categorical endorsements in
special education. The proposal will continue the
separate endorsements in emotional disturbance,

learning disabilities, mental retardation, and severe
disabilities. Core competencies are required for each of
these special education endorsements in addition to the
competencies in the specific area of disability.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response: A
summary of comments made by the public and the agency’s
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Dr. Thomas A. Elliott, Assistant Superintendent for
Compliance, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120,
Richmond, VA 23218-2120, telephone (804) 371-2522.

8 VAC 20-21-425. Core competencies for special
education: emotional disturbance K-12, learning
disabilities K-12, mental retardation K-12, and severe
disabilities K-12.

The program in special education is designed to ensure
through course work and field experiences in a variety of
settings that the candidate has demonstrated the following
core competencies to prepare children and youth for
participation in the general education curriculum and within
the community to the maximum extent possible. The
candidate must also complete the competencies in at least
one endorsement area of special education and those
required under professional studies, including reading and
language acquisition.

1. Knowledge of the foundation for educating students
with disabilities, including:

a. Historical perspectives, models, theories,
philosophies, and trends that provide the basis for
special education practice;

b. Characteristics of children and youth with disabilities
relative to age, varying levels of severity, and
developmental differences manifested in cognitive,
linguistic, physical, psychomotor, social, or emotional
functioning;

c. Normal patterns of development (i.e., physical,
psychomotor, cognitive, linguistic, social, emotional
development and their relationship to the various
disabilities);

d. Medical aspects of disabilities;

e. The dynamic influence of the family system and
cultural/environmental milieu and related issues
pertinent to the education of students with disabilities;

f. Educational implications of the various disabilities;
and
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g. Understanding of ethical issues and the practice of
accepted standards of professional behavior.

2. An understanding and application of the legal aspects
and regulatory  requirements  associated  with
identification, education, and evaluation of students with
disabilities, including:

a. Legislative and judicial mandates related to
education and special education (e.g., the Individuals
with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), § 504 of the
Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and the Americans with
Disabilities Act);

b. Current regulations governing special education
(e.g., individualized education program (IEP)
development; disciplinary practices, policies, and
procedures; and alternative placements/programs in
schools); and

c. "Rights and responsibilities" of parents, students,
teachers, and schools as they relate to individuals with
disabilities and disability issues.

3. An understanding and application of the foundation of
assessment and evaluation related to best special
education practice, including:

a. Ethical issues and responsibilities in the assessment
of individuals with disabilities;

b. Procedures for screening, prereferral, referral, and
eligibility determinations;

c. Factors that may influence assessment findings
such as cultural, behavioral, and learning diversity;

d. Administration, scoring, and interpretation of
commonly used individual and group instruments,
including norm-referenced, criterion-referenced, and
curriculum-based measures as well as task analysis,
observation, portfolio, and environmental
assessments; and

e. Synthesis and interpretation of assessment findings
for eligibility, program planning, and program
evaluation decisions.

4. An understanding and application of service delivery,
curriculum, and instruction of students with disabilities
including:
a. Classroom organization and  curriculum
development;

b. Scope and sequence of the general education
curriculum;

c. Complex nature of language acquisition and reading
(see reading competencies in 8 VAC 20-21-170 4 b,
Professional studies requirements);

d. Alternative ways to teach content material including
curriculum adaptation and curriculum modifications;

e. Procedures to develop, provide, and evaluate
instruction consistent with students' individual needs;

f. Strategies to promote successful integration of
students with disabilities with their nondisabled peers;

g. Use of technology to promote student learning; and

h. Structure and organization of general education
classrooms and other instructional settings
representing the continuum of special education
services (to include field experiences).

5. An understanding and application of classroom
management techniques and individual interventions,
including techniques which:

a. Promote emotional well-being and teach and
maintain behavioral conduct and skills consistent with
norms, standards, and rules of the educational
environment;

b. Address diverse approaches based upon
behavioral, cognitive, affective, social and ecological
theory and practice;

c. Provide positive behavioral supports; and

d. Are based on functional [ analysis assessment ] of
behavior.

6. The ability to prepare students and work with families
to promote successful student transitions throughout the
educational experience to include post-secondary
training, employment, and independent living which
addresses an understanding of long-term planning,
career development, life skills, community experiences
and resources, self-advocacy and self-determination,
guardianship, and legal considerations.

7. Skills in consultation, case management, and
collaboration, including:

a. Coordination of service delivery with related service
providers, general educators, and other professions in
collaborative work environments;

b. Preparing, managing, and monitoring
paraprofessionals;

c. Involvement of families in the education of their
children with disabilities; and

d. Cooperating with community agencies and other
resource providers.

8 VAC 20-21-430. Special education: emotional
disturbance K-12.

A. The program in emotional disturbance K-12 will ensure
through course work and field experiences in a variety of
settings that the candidate seeking endorsement in emotional
disturbance has demonstrated the special education core
competencies specified in 8 VAC 20-21-425 and the specific
competency requirements for emotional disturbance specified
in this section.
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The candidate must demonstrate the following

competencies:

1. Knowledge and understanding of the characteristics
and needs of individuals with emotional disturbance.
The characteristics should be considered in light of
specific age-span/developmental issues and definitions
related to cognitive functioning, multicultural influences,
emotional adjustment, social development (e.g., the
definitons in IDEA and the National Mental
Health/Special Education Coalition definition).

2. Use of assessment, evaluation and other information
to develop and implement individual educational
programs and group instruction for individuals with
emotional disturbance to facilitate integration of these
students into the continuum of services, including the
ability to:

a. Integrate academic instruction, affective education,
and behavior management for individual students or
groups of students to prevent inappropriate behavior;

b. Write and implement individualized education plans
(IEP) to include positive behavioral interventions plans;

c. Delineate and apply the goals and intervention
strategies and procedures related to a variety of
theoretical approaches, including social learning
theory;

d. Use a variety of positive strategies for the purpose
of controlling targeted behaviors;

e. Develop and implement systematic behavior
management plans for students using a variety of
behavioral principles, including the ability to use
appropriate and effective nonabusive, nonphysical,
nonviolent punishment procedures in the context of a
predominantly positive program;

f. Define and use skills in problem solving and conflict
resolution to manage student behavior and social
interaction skills;

g. lIdentify and apply instructional and remedial
methodologies; and

h. Use self-protective strategies.

3. Completion of supervised classroom experiences with
students with emotional disturbance K-12.

B. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must:

1. Have graduated from an approved program in special
education: emotional disturbance;

2. Have completed a major in special education:
emotional disturbance K-12 or 27 semester hours in the
education of students with emotional disturbance with
course work in the following: foundations/legal/ethical
aspects of special education, psychoeducational
assessment, reading/language acquisition, structure and
organization of the continuum of services including the

general education classroom, scope and sequence of
the general education curriculum, behavior management,
transition, consultation, characteristics of individuals with
emotional disturbance, instructional programming and
methods for students with emotional disturbance
consistent with the above competencies. In addition the
candidate must have completed supervised classroom
experience with students with emotional disturbance.
One year of successful, full-time teaching experience
with students with emotional disturbance in an accredited
public or nonpublic school may be accepted in lieu of
student teaching; or

3. Possess a valid Virginia teaching license with an
endorsement in at least one area of special education
and complete course work and field experiences in a
variety of settings, demonstrating the specific
competency requirements in  special education:
emotional disturbance K-12. One year of successful,
full-time teaching experience with students with
emotional disturbance in an accredited public or
nonpublic school may be accepted in lieu of student
teaching.

8 VAC 20-21-435. Special education: learning disabilities
K-12.

A. The program in learning disabilities K-12 will ensure
through course work and field experiences in a variety of
settings that the candidate seeking endorsement in learning
disabilities has demonstrated the special education core
competencies specified in 8 VAC 20-21-425 and the specific
competency requirements for learning disabilities specified in
this section.

The candidate must demonstrate the following
competencies:

1. Knowledge and understanding of the theories,
characteristics, etiology and needs of students with
specific learning disabilities. These include:

a. Related disabilities, such as attention deficit
disorders;

b. Specific age-span/developmental issues;

c. Cognitive functioning, including intelligence,
perception, neurobiology, linguistics, memory and
thinking;

d. Levels of severity;
e. Multicultural influences;

f.  Sociallemotional  aspects, including social
imperceptiveness, juvenile delinquency, and personal
control attributes; and

g. Medical aspects, including medication, nutrition,
genetics, and neurology.

2. Knowledge of a wide range of assessment
procedures for students with learning disabilities to assist
in instruction and life planning. These include:
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a. Use of assessment procedures to identify individual
instructional needs in areas including reading,
receptive and expressive language, written language
and mathematics; and

b. Ability to interpret educational assessment results to
parents, students, and other professionals.

3. Use of assessment, evaluation, and other information
to develop and implement individualized educational
programs (IEP) and group instruction for individuals with
learning disabilities within the continuum of services.
This includes the ability to:

a. Teach and remediate skills in reading, receptive and
expressive language, pragmatic language, written
language, social skills, and mathematics;

b. Provide explicit instruction of reading and spelling in
a systematic and cumulative manner based upon
understanding the structure and development of the
English language at the sound, syllable, word and
sentence levels; and understanding the relationship
between spoken and written language, including the
understanding and the application of phonology,
phonological awareness, sound-symbol association,
syllable patterns, morphology English orthography,
and grammatical structures and the relationship
between teaching written expression and reading
comprehension;

c. Apply developmental and remedial methodologies,
including  systematic instruction,  multisensory
approaches, cognitive learning strategies, study skills,
accommodations for diverse learning styles, and
technology; and

d. Design alternative ways to teach content material to
students with learning disabilities, including adapting
and modifying the curriculum, and the selection of
specialized instructional materials appropriate to the
needs of the student with learning disabilities.

4. Completion of supervised classroom experiences with
students with learning disabilities in grades K-12.

B. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must:

1. Have graduated from an approved teacher
preparation program in special education: learning
disabilities;

2. Have completed a major in special education:
learning disabilities or 27 semester hours in the
education of students with learning disabilities with
course work in each of the following:
foundations/legal/ethical aspects of special education,
psychoeducational assessment, reading/language
acquisition, structure and organization of the continuum
of special education services including the general
education classroom, scope and sequence of the
general education curriculum, behavior management,
transition, consultation, characteristics of individuals with
learning disabilities, and instructional and remedial

programs and methods for learning disabilities consistent
with the above competencies. In addition a candidate
must have completed a supervised classroom
experience with students with learning disabilities. One
year of successful, full-time teaching experience with
students with learning disabilities in an accredited public
or nonpublic school may be accepted in lieu of student
teaching; or

3. Possess a valid Virginia teaching license with an
endorsement in at least one area of special education
and complete course work and field experiences in a
variety of settings, demonstrating the specific
competency requirements in learning disabilities K-12.
One year of successful, full-time teaching experience
with students with learning disabilities in an accredited
public or nonpublic school may be accepted in lieu of
student teaching.

8 VAC 20-21-440. Special education: mental retardation
K-12.

A. The program in mental retardation K-12 will ensure
through course work and field experiences in a variety of
settings that the candidate seeking endorsement in mental
retardation has the special education core competencies
specified in 8 VAC 20-21-425 and the specific competency
requirements for mental retardation specified in this section.

The candidate must demonstrate the following
competencies:

1. Knowledge and understanding of the definition,
characteristics and needs of students with mental
retardation. These include:

a. Cognitive functioning;

b. Multicultural influences;
c. Emotional adjustment;
d. Social development;

e. Language development;
f. Adaptive behavior; and
g. Medical/health issues.

2. Use of alternative assessment, evaluation, and other
information to develop and implement individual
educational programs and group instruction for
individuals with mental retardation to facilitate integration
of these students into the continuum of services. This
includes:

a. Proficiency in adapting age-appropriate curriculum
to facilitate instruction within the general education
setting, to include partial participation of students in
tasks;

b. Ability to teach skills in academic areas including
reading, receptive and expressive language, and
mathematics and to facilitate the transfer and
generalization to functional context;
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c. Ability to utilize research-supported instructional competency requirements for severe disabilities K-12
strategies and practices, including functional specified in this section.

embedded  skills approach, = community-based
instruction, task analysis, multisensory, study skills,
diverse learning styles, and concrete/manipulative
techniques;

d. Ability to teach culturally responsive functional skills
relevant to independence in the community, personal
living, employment, self-advocacy and self
determination; and

e. Ability to evaluate and use assistive technology for
communication, independent living, and the
assessment of student needs.

3. Completion of supervised classroom experiences with
students with mental retardation K-12.

B. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must:

1. Have graduated from an approved program in special
education: mental retardation;

2. Have completed a major in special education: mental
retardation K-12 or 27 semester hours in the education
of students with mental retardation with course work in
the following: foundations/legal/ethical aspects of special
education, psychoeducational assessment,
reading/language acquisition, structure and organization
of the continuum of services including the general
education classroom, scope and sequence of the
general education curriculum, behavior management,
transition, consultation, characteristics of individuals with
mental retardation, instructional programming and
methods for students with mental retardation consistent
with the above competencies. In addition the candidate
must have completed a supervised classroom
experience with students with mental retardation. One
year of successful, full-time teaching experience with
students with mental retardation in an accredited public
or nonpublic school may be accepted in lieu of student
teaching; or

3. Possess a valid Virginia teaching license with an
endorsement in at least one area of special education
and complete course work and field experiences in a
variety of settings, demonstrating the specific
competency requirements in special education: mental
retardation K-12. One year of successful, full-time
teaching experience with students with mental
retardation in an accredited public or nonpublic school
may be accepted in lieu of student teaching.

8 VAC 20-21-445. Special education: severe disabilities
K-12.

A. The program in severe disabilities K-12 will ensure
through course work and field experience in a variety of
settings that the candidate seeking endorsement in severe
disabilities has demonstrated the special education core
competencies specified in 8 VAC 20-21-425 and the specific

The candidate must demonstrate the following
competencies:

1. Knowledge and understanding of the characteristics
and needs of individuals with severe disabilities. This
includes the emotional, social, neurobiological, linguistic,
medical and educational aspects of severe disabilities
based upon current research, best practice and legal
considerations.

2. The use of alternative assessment, evaluation and
other information to develop and implement individual
educational programs and group instruction for
individuals with severe disabilities, including:

a. The ability to develop, plan, and teach a functional
and age-appropriate curriculum including skills in self-
care, independent living, leisure/recreation, school and
community use, functional academics, and vocational
planning;

b. Knowledge and proficiency in implementing direct
and systematic instruction;

c. Knowledge of unique physical needs, including
positioning and handling, medical considerations,
seizures, etc.;

d. Proficiency in adapting age-appropriate curriculum
to facilitate instruction within the general education
setting, to include partial participation of students in
tasks and skills facilitating collaboration and support
from peers with and without disabilities;

e. The ability to select and use augmentative and
alternative communication methods and systems;

f. The ability to select and use assistive technology to
facilitate learning and independent living; and

g. An understanding of the impact of speech-language
development on behavior and social interactions.

3. The abilty to implement and evaluate group
management techniques and individual interventions that
maintain emotional, behavioral, and social skills
consistent with the norms, standards, and rules of the
educational environment. These techniques and
interventions include:

a. Identifying the origin and function of the behavior;

o

. Identifying and teaching alternative behaviors;

. Developing positive behavior support plans;

o O

. Developing schedules and routines;

(0]

. Applying behavioral research; and

bl

Providing positive behavioral support.

4. Complete supervised classroom experience with
students with severe disabilities K-12.
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B. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must:

1. Have graduated from an approved program in special
education: severe disabilities;

2. Have completed a major in special education: severe
disabilities K-12 or 27 semester hours in the education of
students with severe disabilities with course work in the
following: foundations/legal/ethical aspects of special
education, psychoeducational assessment,
reading/language acquisition, structure and organization
of the continuum of special education services including
the general education classroom, scope and sequence
of the general education curriculum, behavior
management, transition, consultation, characteristics of
individuals with  severe disabilities, instructional
programming and methods for severe disabilities
consistent with the above competencies. In addition the
candidate must have completed a supervised classroom
experience with students with severe disabilities. One
year of successful, full-time teaching experience with
students with severe disabilities in an accredited public or
nonpublic school may be accepted in lieu of student
teaching; or

3. Possess a valid Virginia teaching license with an
endorsement in at least one area of special education
and complete course work and field experiences in a
variety of settings, demonstrating the specific
requirements in severe disabilities K-12. One year of
successful, full-time teaching experience with students
with severe disabilities in an accredited public or
nonpublic school may be accepted in lieu of student
teaching.

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-729; Filed June 3, 1998, 12:27 p.m.

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT

GOVERNOR’S EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING
DEPARTMENT

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The following regulation filed by
the Governor's Employment and Training Department is
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance
with § 9-6.14:4.1 B 4 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts
regulations relating to grants of state or federal funds or

property.

Title of Regulation: 16 VAC 10-20-10 et seq. JTPA (Job
Training Partnership Act) Requirements (amending
16 VAC 10-20-10, 16 VAC 10-20-20, 16 VAC 10-20-30,
16 VAC 10-20-40, 16 VAC 10-20-80, 16 VAC 10-20-110,
16 VAC 10-20-140, 16 VAC 10-20-150, 16 VAC 10-20-160,
16 VAC 10-20-170, 16 VAC 10-20-190, 16 VAC 10-20-200,
16 VAC 10-20-240, 16 VAC 10-20-280, 16 VAC 10-20-300;
adding 16 VAC 10-20-275; repealing 16 VAC 10-20-50,
16 VAC 10-20-60, 16 VAC 10-20-70, 16 VAC 10-20-90,

16 VAC 10-20-100, 16 VAC 10-20-180, 16 VAC 10-20-210,
16 VAC 10-20-220, 16 VAC 10-20-230, 16 VAC 10-20-250,
16 VAC 10-20-260, 16 VAC 10-20-270, 16 VAC 10-20-290,
and 16 VAC 10-20-310 through 16 VAC 10-20-460).

Statutory Authority: § 2.1-708 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: July 1, 1998.

Summary:

The amendments to this regulation (i) incorporate
language relating to area agencies on aging, (ii) provide
for consistency and clarity in the use of terms, and (iii)
eliminate language which places requirements on SDA
contractors and subcontractors and places
responsibilities for the management and oversight on
SDAs and area agencies on aging. Requirements that
merely restated federal regulations or contractual
obligations were deleted.

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Louise Armstrong, Regulatory Coordinator, Governor’s
Employment and Training Department, Theater Row
Building, 730 East Broad Street, 9th Floor, Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 786-2508.

16 VAC 10-20-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter,
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

“AAA” means Area Agency on Aging that administers the
Older Worker Program authorized under § 204(d) of JTPA.

"DOL" means the United States Department of Labor.

amends Fitle H-of ITRPA:

"GETD" means the Governor's Employment and Training
Department.

"GITCC" . | - finati
Couneik:

"JTPA" means the Job Training Partnership Act, Public
Law 97-300, 29 USCS 88 1501 et seq., as amended.

"SDA" means the administrative entity;—the-grantrecipient;
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administers-theTitleHH-program selected to administer the
JTPA Title Il program by the Private Industry Council and the

local elected officials in the geographic service delivery area
that was designated by the Governor pursuant to § 101 (a)
(4) of the JTPA. As used in this chapter, the term also
includes the substate grantee that administers the JTPA Title
Il program in the service delivery area.

16 VAC 10-20-20. Purpose and authority.

These regulations are promulgated by the Governor's
Employment and Training Department pursuant to the
authority granted by § 2.1-708 of the Code of Virginia. These
regulations supplement the requirements of the Job Training

Partnership Act {(RL—97-300)—as—amended—by—theJob
L
aining-ReformAme i Iel ts-0t 1992 (I' L162-367) & d-the

Aet (PL 97-300, as amended) and the implementing
regulations (20 CFR Parts 626 through 631) issued by the
United States Department of Labor. Therefore, these
regulations must be read in concert with the Job Training
Partnership Act—as-amended-the-EconomicDislocationand
Worker—Adjustment-Assistance—Act—as—amended and the
regulations (20 CFR Parts 626 through 631) of the United
States Department of Labor.

16 VAC 10-20-30. Evaluation of regulations.

A. The GETD will evaluate the effectiveness of these
regulations on an on-going basis. Interested parties are
invited to submit comments and recommendations

concerning the regulations to the Research,—Policy—and
Evaluation-Unit-ef the GETD.

B. Every two years following the adoption of these
regulations, the GETD will provide for and announce a
procedure to review, evaluate, and, as necessary, amend
these regulations. The procedure will include a process by
which the public will be invited to recommend, in writing,
revisions to the regulations and will be afforded an
opportunity to review and comment on any proposed
revisions.

16 VAC 10-20-40. Conflicts and severability.

Any provision contained in these regulations whieh that is
found to be unlawful or is superseded by action of DOL shall
be severable from the remaining provisions.

16 VAC 10-20-50. identification—of - SBA—reguirements:
(Repealed.)

16 VAC 10-20-60. Apphcabilityof state laws- (Repealed.)

3. Virginia Worker's Compensation Act as contained in
Title 65.2 of the Code of Virginia.

16 VAC 10-20-70. Clarification—of JTRA—andrelated
regutations: (Repealed.)

A. In order to demonstrate compliance with requirements
in § 141 (c) of JTPA that prohibit use of funds to support
business relocation, SDAs and AAAs shall conduct a pre-
award review prior to funding programs and activities for new
or expanding business.

B. The review shall, at a minimum, address the following:

1. The names under which the establishment does
business, including successors-in-interest;

2. The name, title, and address of the company official
certifying the information;

3. The name and address of the facility in the other
geographic location which is being closed or from which
business is being transferred,;
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4. A statement from the employer about job losses at
that location;

5. The nature of the products or business being
transferred;

6. The date the facility will commence or expand
operations; and

7. Whether JTPA assistance is sought in connection
with past or impending job losses at other facilities.

C. A written record of the review shall be maintained to
support any decision to fund any programs and activities that
benefit new or expanding businesses.

D. If the- GETB-determines it is determined that a violation
of the provisions in § 141 (c) has occurred , the GETD shall
require the SDA or AAA that has violated the provisions to:

1. Repay to the GETD an amount equal to the amount
expended in violation of the prohibition; and

2. Pay to the GETD an additional amount equal to the
amount required to be repaid under subdivision 1 of this
section, unless the SDA demonstrates that it neither
knew nor reasonably could have known (after an inquiry
undertaken with due diligence) that it provided funds in
violation of the prohibition.

16 VAC 10-20-90. Bisplacement: (Repealed.)
.I e, .SE D—will—pro |p.tly eview—a d—take—app ep’ ate
action—ine udlng e s.ultatlen “'H; al d-refer 2o Dok ".““

ool ﬁ : . oid off
workers:

16 VAC 10-20-100. Nepotism- (Repealed.)
o, | followi inas:

wages-ora-salany

ell that —person's ."Fedalte Ay S. engaged—in—an

16 VAC 10-20-110. Responsibilities for
incidents of fraud and abuse.

reporting

A. Any known or suspected incidents of fraud, waste,
malfeasance, misapplication of funds, gross
mismanagement, or other criminal acts in programs and
activities which are funded, in whole or in part, by JTPA shall
be immediately and directly reported to the DOL Office of
Inspector General and the Executive Director of the GETD.

B. Any act, information or complaint which raises
questions concerning possible illegal expenditures, or other
unlawful activities shall be immediately and directly reported
to the DOL Office of Inspector General and the Executive
Director of the GETD.

16 VAC 10-20-140. Sanctions.

A. If, as a result of financial and compliance audits or
failure to meet performance standards, the GETD
determines that there is a substantial violation of a specific
provision of JTPA, the DOL regulations or the GETD
regulations, and that corrective action has not been taken,
the SDA or AAA shall be subject to sanctions.

B. Sanctions against SDAs may include:

1. Issuance of a notice of intent to revoke approval of all
or part of the plan affected;

2. Imposition of a reorganization plan; or

3. Any other such changes as are determined necessary
to secure compliance or attainment of performance
standards.

C. Sanctions against AAAs may include:

1. Issuance of a notice of intent to revoke approval of all
or part of the agency’s contract; or

2. Any other such changes as are determined necessary
to secure compliance or attainment of performance
standards.

16 VAC 10-20-150. Liability for JTPA funds.

A. The GETD shall hold SBAs the administrative entity
and the grant recipient of the service delivery area
responsible for JTPA funds received through—grants—and
eontracts from the GETD, and may ultimately hold the units
of local government whieh that constitute the service delivery
area responsible for such funds.

B. The GETD shall hold AAAs responsible for JTPA funds
received from the GETD and may ultimately hold the
governing board of the planning and service area responsible
for such funds.

16 VAC 10-20-160.
accounting standards.

Financial management and
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A. Each SDA and AAA shall maintain written fiscal and
accounting procedures that will present fairly and with full
disclosure its financial position and the results of its financial
operation. The procedures shall be in conformity with
generally accepted accounting principles and shall enable
the users of financial reports to determine compliance with

legaland-—contractual provisions of JTPA and applicable

regulations.

B. SDAs-and-theircontractors—shall-develop-a-system—of

: " | i ol
guidance—Such Accounting procedures shall, at a minimum,
include the following:

1. Effective internal controls to safeguard assets and
assure their proper use;

2. Methods to produce information pertaining to
subgrant and contract awards, obligations, unobligated
balances, assets, expenditures, and income;

3. Methods to compare actual expenditures with
budgeted amounts for each subgrant and contract;

4. Requirements to maintain source documentation
which support accounting records;

5. Methods to ensure proper charging of costs and cost
allocation; and

6. If appropriate, methods to demonstrate compliance
with the matching requirements.

C. At a minimum, standards of internal control must
assure the following:

1. Competent key personnel;

2. Qualified supervision with clear line of responsibility
and accountability;

3. Properly recorded and executed transactions;

4. Clear documentation of and accountability for
resources and financial transactions;

5. Proper segregation of duties; and
6. Limitation in access to resources.
16 VAC 10-20-170. Administrative requirements.

A. Annually, each SDA and AAA shall notify the GETD of
the identity of the efficers-er-officials individuals authorized to

bind-that SBA-to-agreements-with-the GETD-or sign binding

agreements and to request funds pursuant—to—such—an
agreement from the GETD. This natification shall be made in

accordance with instructions issued by the GETD.

B. Each SDA and AAA shall identify an individual to be
principal contact for the accounting and fiscal operations.
The name, title, and telephone number of this individual shall
be provided to the GETD fiscal unit.

C. SDAs and AAAs shall ensure that their contractors
adhere to all applicable federal and state laws and
regulations, and to state and SDA procedures for the

operation of JTPA programs. SDAs and AAAs shall ensure
that each eentractor of their contractors has timely access to
materials bearing on the administration of and performance
under the contract.

16 VAC 10-20-180. Bendinrg- (Repealed.)

16 VAC 10-20-190. Liability fer—damages—losses—and
elatms and indemnification.

A. The GETD assumes no liability with respect to bodily
injury, illness, or any other damage or losses, or with respect
to any claims arising out of any activity under a JTPA
contract or agreement whether concerning persons or
property in the SDA's, AAA’s, state agency's, contractor's, or
any other subrecipient's organization or any third party.

B. The SDAs and AAAs agree to indemnify, defend and
hold harmless the Commonwealth of Virginia, its officers,
agents and employees from any claims, damages and
actions of any kind or nature, whether at law or in equity,
arising from or caused by the use of materials, goods, or
equipment of any kind or nature furnished by the SDAs and
AAAs, or any services of any kind or nature furnished by the
SDAs or AAAs, provided that such liability is not attributed to
the sole negligence of the using agency or to the failure of
the using agency to use the materials, goods or equipment in
the manner already and permanently described by the SDAs
and AAAs on the materials, goods or services delivered.

16 VAC 10-20-200. Procurement standards.

A. SDAs which and AAAs that do not operate within the
control of a unit of local government or a consortium of local
governments shall establish and maintain a written
procurement system and attendant procedures which are in
compliance with the provisions of the Virginia Public
Procurement Act (§ 11-35 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) as

1. For the purpose of this provision, the Private Industry
Council shall be the governing body as the terms are
used in the Virginia Public Procurement Act.

2. For the purpose of this provision, the service delivery
area administrative entity, if separate from the Private
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Industry Council, shall be the public body as the terms 3—A—satisfactory—record—of past-performance—{injob

are used in the Virginia Public Procurement Act. ining; i i ARG, pvities);

B. SDAs which and AAAs that operate within the control of drop-out rates from-past-programs:the-ability to-provide

a unit of local government or a consortium of local or—arrange—for—appropriate—s |p’pe=t'ue sendices—as
governments shall adhere to local government procurement specified_in—the IndividualService—Strategy,—including
policies and procedures. eMld—eare—Fe%ermen—m—empleyFnent—and—eaﬁung—Fa%es—ef

C. All procurement activity shall comply with written policy
and procedures that ensure accountability and prevent
waste, fraud and abuse.

E- D. SDAs and AAAs shall monitor all procurement

activities on an annual basis and-—+repertthis-informationteo
the-GETD-aspart-of-their monitoring—funection. The GETD

shall monitor the SDA and AAA procurement process to
ensure compliance.

16 VAC 10-20-210. Standards—for—selection—of-service
providers: (Repealed.)

) ) 16 VAC 10-20-220. Standards—for——0OJT
A—SDAs—to—the—extentpracticable,—shall_seleetservice {On-the-Jeb-Trairing)contracts: (Repealed.)

tems-listed-in-subsection-C-of this-section- :
. L ORg-term-employment (at-least Shx—moRt S.). as—ega
BF SPAS—S |.al con plete .dete FAIRALORS 0 de'ﬁ onst ated’ proy | and 9 9
. - . > T | : y
C--Awards are-to Be-made to-organizations-pessessing the
demonst E.“?d ability-to-perlorm-successiully-under t'e. teFmS by-the-OJT—participant-werenot at’ the-samelevel-as
al d co d toRs gl Ell P e.pese.ell Subg'? i QI, CoRtract SEEI,' P1ey ) )
H 1 .
assess-whether-the-organization-has: Pio)
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16 VAC 10-20-230. Costprinciptes: (Repealed.)

16 VAC 10-20-240. Allowable cost.
A. The following prevides-direction-on are allowable costs.

Since this list is not all inclusive, GETD fiscal staff should be
consulted if there is any question concerning the allowability
of a specific cost item.

1. Accounting costs for establishing and maintaining
accounting and other information systems required for
the management of the JTPA program including the
costs of identifiable services incurred by central service
agencies when used for JTPA purposes;

2. Advertising costs to include newspapers, radio and
television programs, direct mail, and trade papers. The
advertising costs which are allowable are those which
are solely for the recruitment of personnel required for
the grant program, solicitation of bids for the
procurement of goods and services required, disposal of
surplus materials acquired in the performance of the
grant agreement, and the outreach and recruitment of
participants;

3. Audit services necessary for the administration and
management of functions related to the JTPA program
including costs of the required annual single audit;

4. Bonding costs for premiums on bonds covering
employees who handle subreeipient JTPA funds;

5. Budgeting costs incurred for the development,
preparation, presentation, and execution of budgets.
Costs for services of a central budget office are
generally not allowable since these are costs of general
government. However, where employees of the central
budget office actively participate in the subrecipients
JTPA budget process, the cost of the identifiable
services is allowable;

6. Building space costs including rent and repairs in
privately or publicly owned buildings used for the benefit
of the JTPA program. The total cost of space, whether in
a privately or publicly owned building, may not exceed
the rental cost of comparable space and facilities in the
same locality. Maintenance and operation costs
including utilities, insurance, security, janitorial services,
elevator services, upkeep of grounds, and normal
repairs to the extent that they are not otherwise included
in rental or other charges for space are allowable;

7. Communication costs incurred for telephone calls or
service, teletype service, wide area telephone service,
centrex, telpak, telefax, postage, messenger service,
and similar expenses when used in support of JTPA
activities;

8. Compensation in the form of depreciation and use
allowances for the use of buildings, other capital
improvements, and equipment on hand. Use allowances
are the means of providing compensation in lieu of
depreciation. The computation of use allowances or
depreciation or both must comply with the guidelines
contained in the appropriate OMB circular (OMB
Circular A-87 for State and Local Governments 58 FR
44212, A-122 for Private Nonprofit Organizations (Office
of Management and Budget, July 1980), and A-21 for
Educational Institutions 51 FR 43487) regarding the
allowability of such costs;

9. Fees or profits which are determined through
procurement to be reasonable and not excessive;

10. Insurance costs for coverage of injuries suffered by
participants who are not covered by existing workers'
compensation, personal liability insurance for PIC
members, and other required insurance coverage to the
degree that the types and extent and cost of coverage is
in accordance with general local policy and general
business practice;

212. 11. Legal expenses required in the administration of
the JTPA program, such as expenses incurred by the
JTPA system in the establishment and maintenance of a
grievance system, including hearings and appeals, and
related expenses such as lawyers' fees. Expenses for
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services furnished by the chief legal officer of a state or
local government or staff solely for the purpose of
discharging general responsibilities as a legal officer are
not allowable. Legal expenses for the prosecution of
claims against the federal government, including
appeals to an Administrative Law Judge, are also
unallowable;

143. 12. Memberships, subscriptions, and professional

activities, including staff training, which support and
enhance the management and operation of JTPA
activities;

34. 13. Participant support services including

needs-based payments determined in accordance with

locally developed formula and—feryeuth-enrolled-in-TFitle
H-Cpregrams; cash incentives and bonuses;

15: 14. Payments to OJT employers, training institutions
and other vendors incurred for training and employment
services to eligible JTPA participants;

16. 15. Personal services compensation, including
wages, salaries, supplementary compensation and
fringe benefits for staff engaged in activities supporting
JTPA,

17 16. Preagreement costs incurred prior to the
effective date of a subgrant or contract when specifically
provided for in the subgrant or contract;

18- 17. Printing and reproduction services necessary for
grant administration including but not limited to forms,
reports, manuals, and informational literature;

19. 18. Costs incurred by private industry councils which
are established pursuant to the JTPA regulations and
other advisory councils established to facilitate the
provision of job training and related services;

20 19. Professional services rendered by individuals or
organizations not a part of the SDA or AAA, including
organizational management studies conducted by
outside individuals or firms;

2% 20. Supplies, equipment and materials for use by
participants while on the job and for the use in the
training of participants;

22. 21. Taxes or payments in lieu of taxes which that the

JFPA-—subrecipient SDA or AAA is legally required to
pay;

23. 22. Travel costs for expenses for transportation,
lodging, subsistence, and related items incurred by
employees who are in travel status on official business
incident to the JTPA program; and

24- 23. Transportation costs incurred for freight, cartage,
express, postage and other transportation costs relating
to either goods purchased, delivered, or moved from one
location to another.

B. The following costs are allowable with prior written
approval from the GETD Division of Administration and
Finance:

1. Alterations, building reconstruction and remodeling of
facilities required specifically for the JTPA program;

2. Acquisition of capital assets;
3. Fund raising costs; and

4. Purchase or disposal of property having ar
acquisition-cost-6f$1.000 a value of $5,000 or more per
unit-necluding-property-acquired-through-lease/purchase
agreements—and—lease—agreements—with—aggregate

C. In addition to the costs specified in § 20 CFR
627.435(e) of-the-DOLregulations, the following costs are

not allowable:

1. Interest incurred on borrowed working capital or on
the use of an organization's own funds, and

2. International travel.

16 VAC 10-20-250. Costeategories- (Repealed.)

Volume 14, Issue 20

Monday, June 22, 1998

2765



Final Regulations

16 VAC 10-20-275. Property.

A. The purchase and disposal of property having an
acquisition cost of $5,000 or more per unit, including property
acquired through lease/purchase agreements and lease
agreements with aggregate payments exceeding $5,000,
must be approved in advance by the GETD.

B. Property purchased with JTPA funds that has an
acquisition cost between $300 to $4,999 shall be the property
of the SDA or AAA. If no longer needed in the JTPA
programs, the property shall be used in other federally
funded programs. If no need exists, the property may be
disposed through competitive sale. All proceeds from the
sale shall revert to JTPA.

C. Property purchased with JTPA funds with an
acquisition cost of less than $300 shall become the property
of the purchasing agency. Disposal of this property shall be
at the discretion of the SDA or AAA. Any proceeds from the
disposition shall revert to JTPA.

16 VAC 10-20-280. Maintenance and retention of records.

A. Except as provided in this section, SDAs and AAAs
shall retain JTPA records, including financial, statistical and
participant information, and supporting documentation for a
period of three years. The retention period shall begin on the
date of submission of the final expenditure report for the
particular grant or program.

1. If, prior to the expiration of the retention period, any
litigation or audit is begun or a claim is instituted
involving the grant covered by the records, the SDA
shall retain the records beyond the three-year period
until the litigation, audit finds or claim has been finally
resolved.

2. All records for nonexpendable property shall be
retained for three years after the final disposition.

B. In the event of the termination of an agreement or
contract, SDAs and AAAs shall be responsible for ensuring
that appropriate arrangements are made for the retention of
records.

C. Upon written request by the GETD, SDAs and AAAs
shall transfer JTPA records to GETD custody. The request
will be made when the GETD determines that sueh records
possess long-term retention value or are needed for audit or
compliance purposes or both.

16 VAC 10-20-290. Access-to-records- (Repealed.)

16 VAC 10-20-300. Participant records.

A- The GETD shall maintain an automated system for
collection of data on applicants for and participants in JTPA
programs and activities. SDAs not using the GETD system
must utilize an automated system which is compatible with
the system maintained by the GETD. The GETD retains the
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right to approve automated participant record systems
utilized by SDAs.

16 VAC 10-20-310. -Freguency-ofaudits: (Repealed.)
Il " .bal E.lHd tsﬁ v .be EES |d|u|etﬁed Ilaased oR a"a'.ab' * ﬁe
i, ; il : | ot
j O
bwo-years-as directed b? E'el SEIEI. FI e SEIEI eﬁseneést €
16 VAC 10-20-320. Auditmethod- (Repealed.)

16 VAC 10-20-330. Auditresponsibilities: (Repealed.)
LT S.E’ o el.st’a.te age |e’es esponsiblefo E.*Edts FRESt
F“ |ee||.ate|5 'GEI 5I A-WHtAG EF'E CEFD eﬁ Pess b. .e acts—o

| B—¥he "'I gt a’F‘Hd'te' o Hbll.e"eeeu_'ts shail-determine

16 VAC 10-20-340. Auditresolution- (Repealed.)

A-—Fhe GETD-fiscal section | efg junction-witl Eé'e GEIDl

16 VAC 10-20-350. Bisallowed-costs— (Repealed.)

Any costs disal 9“99_ shall-be-the-soleresponsibility of the
SI.E’ y oF Stateagency. —in—the—ovel E’ tHis—dete Hlledl tlat
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made—by-the SDA—orstate—agency—upon—reguest-by—the
GETD,outof nonfederal funds-

16 VAC 10-20-360. Appeat—offinaldetermination:
(Repealed.)

16 VAC 10-20-370. Federal-egual-opportunitytaws—and
regutations: (Repealed.)

16 VAC 10-20-380. Otherfederal-taws— (Repealed.)
. .
;tl e el deral-laws-that F paetl E,'e operatio ISI' el. SEEI“EIEHI d

16 VAC 10-20-390.
(Repealed.)
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16 VAC 10-20-410.
(Repealed.)

16 VAC
(Repealed.)

10-20-430.
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16 VAC 10-20-460.
(Repealed.)

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-249; Filed June 3, 1998, 10:16 a.m.

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

REAL ESTATE BOARD

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 135-20-10 et seq. Virginia
Real Estate Board Licensing Regulations (amending
18 VAC 135-20-10, 18 VAC 135-20-20, 18 VAC 135-20-30,
18 VAC 135-20-40, 18 VAC 135-20-50, 18 VAC 135-20-60,
18 VAC 135-20-80, 18 VAC 135-20-90, 18 VAC 135-20-100,
[ 18 VAC 135-20-110, | 18 VAC 135-20-120, [ 18 VAC 135-
20-150, ] 18 VAC 135-20-160, 18 VAC 135-20-170, 18 VAC
135-20-180, [ 18 VAC 135-20-190, 18 VAC 135-20-200, ]
18 VAC 135-20-210, 18 VAC 135-20-220, 18 VAC 135-20-
240, [ 18 VAC 135-20-250, ] 18 VAC 135-20-260, 18 VAC
135-20-270, 18 VAC 135-20-280, 18 VAC 135-20-290,
18 VAC 135-20-300, 18 VAC 135-20-310, [ 18 VAC 135-20-
320, ] 18 VAC 135-20-350, 18 VAC 135-20-360, 18 VAC
135-20-370, 18 VAC 135-20-380, 18 VAC 135-20-390, [
18 VAC 135-20-400 ] and 18 VAC 135-20-410; adding
18 VAC 135-20-45; repealing 18 VAC 135-20-420, 18 VAC
135-20-430, and 18 VAC 135-20-440).

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: September 1, 1998.

Summary:

The amendments to the regulations governing real
estate agents (i) add language consistent with 8§ 54.1-
2130 through 54.1-2144 of the Code of Virginia which
became effective October 1, 1995; (i) clarify
requirements for firm licenses; (iii) require reciprocal
applicants for licensure to pass the Virginia law and
regulation portion of the licensing examination; (iv) delete
the requirement that applicants for a broker’s license by
reciprocity meet broker educational requirements
equivalent to those required in Virginia; (v) amend the
qualification for renewal and continuing education
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requirements; (vij amend the maintenance and
management of escrow accounts and financial records;
(vii) clarify advertising practices by licensees; and (viii)
add application and renewal fees for certified instructors.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response: A
summary of comments made by the public and the agency’s
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact: Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Karen W. O'Neal, Assistant Director, Real Estate
Board, 3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230,
telephone (804) 367-8537.

18 VAC 135-20-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter,
unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required
by the context, shall have the following meanings:

"Actively engaged" means active licensed employment by
or affiliation as an independent contractor with a licensed
real estate firm or sole proprietorship in performing those
activities as defined in 88 54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the
Code of Virginia for an average of at least 20 40 hours per
week.

"Associate broker" means any individual licensee of the
board holding a broker's license other than one who has
been designated as the principal broker.

"Client" means a person who has entered into a brokerage
relationship with a licensee as defined by § 54.1-2130 of the
Code of Virginia.

"Firm" means any sole proprietorship (nonbroker owner),
partnership, association, limited liability company, or
corporation, other than a sole proprietorship (principal broker
owner), which is required by 18 VAC 135-20-20 B—ef-this
chapter [ € B ] to obtain a separate brokerage firm license.

"Inactive status" refers to any broker or salesperson who is
not under the supervision of a principal broker or supervising
broker, who is not affiliated with a firm or sole proprietorship
and who is not performing any of the activities defined in
88 54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the Code of Virginia.

"Independent contractor" means a licensee who acts for or
represents a client other than as a standard agent and
whose duties and obligations are governed by a written
contract between the licensee and the client.

"Licensee” means any person, partnership, association,
limited liability company, or corporation holding a license
issued by the Real Estate Board to act as a real estate
broker or real estate salesperson, as defined, respectively, in
88 54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the Code of Virginia.

broker—to—perform—real-estate—purchases,—sales—oer—rental
s o Iationshin,

"Principal broker" means the individual broker who shall be
designated by each firm to assure compliance with Fitle

54.1; Chapter 21 (8§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the
Code of Virginia, and this chapter, and to receive
communications and notices from the board which may
affect the firm or any licensee employed by or affiliated with
the firm. In the case of a sole proprietorship, the licensed
broker who is the sole proprietor shall have the
responsibilities of the principal broker. The principal broker
shall have responsibility for the activities of the firm and all
its licensees.

"Principal to a transaction” means a party to a real estate
transaction in the capacity of a seller, buyer, lessee or
lessor.

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation,
who is trading under the individual's name, or under an
assumed or fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of

§ Chapter 5 (8 59.1-69 through-59-1-76 et seq.) of Title 59.1
of the Code of Virginia.

"Standard agent" means a licensee who acts for or
represents a client in an agency relationship. A standard
agent shall have the obligations as provided in Article 3
(8 54.1-2130 et seq.) of [ Chapter 21 of ] Title 54.1 of the
Code of Virginia.

"Supervising broker" means the individual associate broker
who shall be designated by the firm to supervise the
activities of any one of its offices.

18 VAC 135-20-20. Necessity for license [ erregistration
(Refer to ] §54-2-2166 [ § 54.1-2106.1 of the Code of
Virginia) ].

[A " - .
o Heﬁ.pa EI.'e ship—association-—of eellpe ation Sﬁlﬁ.'a" beﬁ

who-holds—alicense—as—areal-estate-broker-may—act-as—a
salespersen-foranotherrealestate-broker—]

[ A. ] Sole proprietor (principal broker owner). A real
estate broker's license shall not be issued to an individual
trading under an assumed or fictitious name, that is, a name
other than the individual's full name, until the individual signs
and acknowledges a certificate provided by the board, setting
forth the name under which the business is to be organized
and conducted, the address of the individual's residence, and
the address of the individual's place of business. Each
certificate must be attested by the Clerk of Court of the
county or jurisdiction wherein the business is to be
conducted. The attention of all applicants and licensees is
directed to 88 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of the Code of
Virginia.

[ B. ] Sole proprietor (nonbroker owner), partnership,
association, limited liability company, or corporation. Every
sole proprietor (nonbroker owner), partnership, association,
limited liability company, or corporation must secure a real
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estate license for its brokerage firm before transacting real
estate business. Application for such license shall disclose,
and the license shall be issued to, the name under which the
applicant intends to do or does business and holds itself out
to the public. This license is separate and distinct from the
individual broker license required of each partner, associate,
manager of a limited liability company, and officer of a
corporation who is active in the brokerage business.

1. Sole proprietor (nonbroker owner). Each sole
proprietor (nonbroker owner) acting as a real estate
broker shall file with the board a certificate on a form
provided by the board, which shall include the following
information: the name, business address, and
residential address of the owner; the name and style of
the firm; and the address of the office of the real estate
entity. Each change in the information contained on the
certificate filed with the board must be evidenced by
filing a new certificate with the board within 30 days after
the change is effective.

2. Partnership. Each partnership acting as a real estate
broker shall file with the board a certificate on a form
provided by the board, which shall include the following
information: the name, business address, and
residential address of each person composing the
partnership; the name and style of the firm; the address
of the Virginia office of the firm; and the length of time
for which it is to continue. Every change in the
partnership must be evidenced by filing a new certificate
with the board within 30 days after the change is
effective.

3. Association. Each association acting as a real estate
broker shall file with the board a certificate on a form
provided by the board, which shall include the following
information: the name, business address, and
residential address of each person composing the
association; the name and style of the firm; the address
of the Virginia office of the firm; and the length of time
for which it is to continue. Every change in the
association must be evidenced by filing a new certificate
with the board within 30 days after the change is
effective.

4. Corporation. Each corporation acting as a real
estate broker shall file with the board a certificate on a
form provided by the board, which shall include the
following information: the name, business address, and
residential address of each officer of the corporation;
[ the name of each licensed shareholder; ] the name and
style of the corporation; the address of the Virginia office
of the firm; and the corporation's place of business.

a. Every change of officers must be evidenced by
filing a new certificate with the board within 30 days
after the change is effective.

b. The board will not consider the application of any
corporation or its officers, employees, or associates
until the corporation is authorized to do business in
Virginia.

5. Limited liability company. Each limited liability
company acting as a real estate broker shall file with the
board a certificate on a form provided by the board,
which shall include the following information: the name,
business address, and residential address of each
[ licensed ] manager [ or member ] of the company; the
name and style of the company; and the address of the
Virginia office of the company.

a. Every change of officers must be evidenced by
filing a new certificate with the board within 30 days
after the change is effective.

b. The board will not consider the application of any
limited liability company or its officers, employees, or
associates until the limited liability company is
authorized to do business in Virginia.

[ C. ] Branch office license. If a real estate broker
maintains more than one place of business within the state,
a branch office license shall be issued for each branch office
maintained. Application for the license shall be made on
forms provided by the board and shall reveal the name of the
firm, the location of the branch office, and the name of the
supervising broker for that branch office. ©nly The branch
office license shall be maintained at the branch office
location.

18 VAC 135-20-30. Qualifications for licensure.

Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for a an individual
salesperson's or broker's license shall have the following
qualifications:

1. The applicant shall have a good reputation for
honesty, truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be
competent to transact the business of a real estate
broker or a real estate salesperson in such a manner as
to safeguard the interests of the public.

2. The applicant shall meet the current educational
requirements by achieving a passing grade in all
required courses of § 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia
prior to the time the applicant sits for the licensing
examination and applies for licensure.

3. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed
real estate broker or salesperson in every jurisdiction
where licensed and the applicant shall not have had a
license as a real estate broker or real estate salesperson
which was suspended, revoked or surrendered in
connection with a disciplinary action or which has been
the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction prior to
applying for licensure in Virginia.

4. The applicant shall not have been convicted or found
guilty regardless of adjudication in any jurisdiction of the
United States of a misdemeanor involving moral
turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical
injury, or any felony, there being no appeal pending
therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. Neither
shall the applicant have been found to have violated the
fair housing laws of any jurisdiction. Any plea of nolo
contendere shall be considered a conviction for
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purposes of this paragraph subdivision. The record of a
conviction authenticated in such form as to be
admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction
where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie
evidence of such conviction or guilt.

5. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.

6. The applicant, within 12 months prior to making
application for a license, shall have passed a written
examination provided by the board or by a testing
service acting on behalf of the board. Complete
applications must be received within the 12-month
period.

7. The applicant shall follow all rules established by the
board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such
rules shall include any written instructions
communicated prior to the examination date and any
instructions communicated at the site, either written or
oral, on the date of the examination. Failure to comply
with all rules established by the board with regard to
conduct at the examination shall be grounds for denial
of application.

8. Applicants for licensure who do not meet the
requirements set forth in subdivisions 3 and 4 of this
section may be approved for licensure following
consideration by the board [ in accordance with § 54.1-
204 of the Code of Virginia ].

18 VAC 135-20-40. Additional qualifications for brokers.

An applicant for a an individual license as a real estate
broker shall meet the following requirements in addition to
those set forth in 18 VAC 135-20-30 ef-this-chapter:

1. The applicant shall meet the current educational
requirements of § 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia.

2. The applicant shall have been actively engaged as
defined in 18 VAC 135-20-10 of-this—<chapter as a real
estate salesperson for a period of 36 of the 48 months
immediately preceding application.

18 VAC 135-20-45. Additional qualifications for
salesperson’s or associate broker’s license as a business
entity.

An applicant for a salesperson’s license as a business
entity shall meet the following requirements in addition to
those set forth in 18 VAC 135-20-30:

1. Every owner or officer who actively participates in the
real estate business shall hold a license as a
salesperson or associate broker.

2. The name of the business entity shall include the full
legal name of every owner or officer.

3. Partnership. Each partnership shall file with the
board a certificate on a form provided by the board,
which shall include the following information: the name,
business address, and residential address of each
person composing the partnership; the name and style
of the firm; the address of the Virginia office of the firm;

and the length of time for which it is to continue. Every
change in the partnership must be evidenced by filing a
new certificate with the board within 30 days after the
change is effective.

4. Association. Each association shall file with the board
a certificate on a form provided by the board, which shall
include the following information: the name, business
address, and residential address of each person
composing the association; the name and style of the
firm; the address of the Virginia office of the firm; and the
length of time for which it is to continue. Every change in
the association must be evidenced by fiing a new
certificate with the board within 30 days after the change
is effective.

5. Corporation. Each corporation shall file with the
board a certificate on a form provided by the board,
which shall include the following information: the name,
business address, and residential address of each officer
of the corporation; [ the name of each licensed
shareholder; ] the name and style of the corporation; the
address of the Virginia office of the firm; and the
corporation's place of business.

a. Every change of officers must be evidenced by
filing a new certificate with the board within 30 days
after the change is effective.

b. The board will not consider the application of any
corporation or its officers, employees, or associates
until the corporation is authorized to do business in
Virginia.
6. Limited liability company. Each limited liability
company shall file with the board a certificate on a form
provided by the board, which shall include the following
information: the name, business address, and
residential address of each [ licensed ] manager [ or
member ] of the company; the name and style of the
company; and the address of the Virginia office of the
company.

a. Every change of officers must be evidenced by
filing a new certificate with the board within 30 days
after the change is effective.

b. The board will not consider the application of any
limited liability company or its officers, employees, or
associates until the limited liability company is
authorized to do business in Virginia.

18 VAC 135-20-50. Concurrent licenses.

Concurrent licenses shall be issued by the board to
brokers active in more than one separate legal entity upon
receipt of a concurrent license form and written affidavits
stating that written notice of the applicant's concurrent
licensure status has been provided to the principal broker of
each firm with which the applicant is and will be associated.
Payment is required for each license. A concurrent license
will not be issued to an individual applying to be associated
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with a firm if that individual has an expired license associated
with the same firm and the expired license may be reinstated.

18 VAC 135-20-60.
reciprocity.

Qualifications for licensure by

A. Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for a license
by reciprocity shall have the fellewing qualifications provided
in subsection B of this section, except that $8-/AC-135-20-50
A-5 subdivision B 6 of this section shall only be applicable for
salesperson applicants:.

A- B. An individual who is currently licensed as a real
estate salesperson or broker in another jurisdiction may
obtain a Virginia real estate license [

without—taking—the
Virginia—written—licensing—examination | by meeting the

following requirements:
1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years of age.

2. The applicant shall have received the salesperson or
broker's license by virtue of having passed in the
jurisdiction of licensure a written examination deemed to
be substantially equivalent to the Virginia examination.

3. The applicant, within 12 months prior to making

application for a license, shall sigh—as—part—of the

lication, tricloi i I .
read—and—understands—the have passed a written

examination provided by the board or a testing service
acting on behalf of the board covering Virginia real
estate license law and the regulations of the Real Estate
Board. Complete applications must be received within
the 12-month period.

4. The applicant shall follow all rules established by the
board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such
rules shall include any written instructions communicated
prior to the examination date and any instructions
communicated at the site, either written or oral, on the
date of the examination. Failure to comply with all rules
established by the board with regard to conduct at the
examination shall be grounds for denial of application.

4. 5. The applicant shall be in good standing as a
licensed real estate broker or salesperson in every
jurisdiction where licensed and the applicant shall not
have had a license as a real estate broker or real estate
salesperson which was suspended, revoked, or
surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action or
which has been the subject of discipline in any
jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure in Virginia.

5. 6. At the time of application for a salesperson's
license, the applicant must have been actively engaged
in real estate for 12 of the preceding 36 months or have
met educational requirements that are substantially
equivalent to those required in Virginia.

6. 7. The applicant shall have a good reputation for
honesty, truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be
competent to transact the business of a real estate
salesperson or broker in such a manner as to safeguard
the interests of the public.

% 8. The applicant shall not have been convicted or
found guilty regardless of adjudication in any jurisdiction
of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, sexual
offense, drug distribution or physical injury, or any felony
there being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for
appeal having elapsed. Neither shall the applicant have
been found to have violated the fair housing laws of any
jurisdiction.  Any plea of nolo contendere shall be
considered a conviction for purposes of this paragraph
subdivision. The record of a conviction authenticated in
such form as to be admissible in evidence under the
laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be
admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction or
guilt.

9. Applicants for licensure who do not meet the
requirements set forth in subdivisions 5 and 8 of this
subsection may be approved for licensure following
consideration by the board [ in accordance with § 54.1-
204 of the Code of Virginia ].

B- C. Additional qualifications for reciprocal licensure as a
broker. An individual who is currently licensed as a real
estate broker in another jurisdiction may obtain a Virginia

real estate broker's license without—taking—a—written
examinatien by meeting the following—regquirements
requirement set out in subsection D of this section in addition
to those set forth in 18- VVAC-135-20-60-A-1through-A-4-A6
ang-A-7 subdivisions B 1 through B 5 and B 7 through B 9 of
this section.

4. D. The applicant shall have been licensed as a real
estate broker and actively engaged as a real estate broker or
salesperson for at least 36 of the 48 months immediately
prior to making application in Virginia. (See 18 VAC 135-20-

10 ofthis-chapter for the definition of "actively engaged.")

2—¥he a.ppll cantmeets broker educationalrequires _e s

18 VAC 135-20-80. Application fees.

A. All application fees for licenses are nonrefundable and
the date of receipt by the board or its agent is the date which
will be used to determine whether it is on time.

B. Application fees fer-eriginablicenses are as follows:

Salesperson by education and examination $ 90
Salesperson by reciprocity $75
Individual license - business entity [$260$90]
Broker by education and examination $ 100
Broker by reciprocity $ 100
Broker concurrent license $ 90
Firm license $ 145
Branch office license $75
Transfer application $35
Activate application $35
Bad check penalty $25
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C. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to
contracted charges to the board by an outside vendor.
These contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained
for in compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act
(8 11-35 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be
adjusted and charged to the candidate in accordance with
these contracts. The fee shall not exceed $90 per candidate.

18 VAC 135-20-90. Renewal required.

Licenses issued under this chapter for salespersons,
brokers, and firms shall expire two years from the last day of
the month in which they were issued, as indicated on the
license, except concurrent broker licenses which shall expire
on the same date as the original broker license.

18 VAC 135-20-100. Qualification for renewal,
continuing education requirements.

A. Continuing-educationreguirements: As a condition of
renewal, and pursuant to §54.1-2105 of the Code of
Virginia, all active brokers and salespersons, resident or
nonresident, except those called to active duty in the Armed
Forces of the United States, shall be required to satisfactorily
complete a course or courses of not less than a total of eight
classroom, correspondence, or other distance learning
instruction hours during each licensing term.  Active
licensees called to active duty in the Armed Forces of the
United States may complete [ this—course these courses ]
within six months of their release from active duty. Inactive
brokers and salespersons are not required to complete the
continuing education course as a condition of renewal (see
18 VAC 135-20-70, Activation of license).

1. Scheools-and-instructors Providers shall be those as

required-under-§-54-1-2105 of the Code-of \lirginia—and
18- VVAC-135-20-380-of this—chapter defined in 18 VAC
135-20-350.

2. [ Prior to January 1, 1999, ] three of the eight required

hours shall [ eeverthe-subjeets-of include training in ] fair
housing laws and [ recent-developments—in | state real

estate laws and regulations. [ After January 1, 1999, four
of the eight required hours shall include training in fair
housing laws, state real estate laws and regulations, and
ethics and standards of conduct. ] If the licensee

submits a notarized affidavit to the board which certifies
that he does not practice residential real estate and shall
not do so during the licensing term, training in fair
housing shall not be required; instead such licensee shall
receive training in other applicable federal and state
discrimination laws and regulations. The remaining
[ five-] hours shall be on subjects from the following list:

. Property rights;

o o

. Contracts;

. Deeds;

o O

. Mortgages and deeds of trust;

(0]

. Types of mortgages;
f. Leases;

. Liens;

= (]

. Real property and title insurance;

Investment;

j- Taxes in real estate;

k. Real estate financing;

I. Brokerage and agency contract responsibilities;
m. Real property management;

n. Search, examination and registration of title;
0. Title closing;

p. Appraisal of real property;

g. Planning subdivision developments and
condominiums;

r. Regulatory statutes;

s. Housing legislation;

—

Fair housing;

c

Real Estate Board regulations;
v. Land use;

w. Business law;

X. Real estate economics;

y. Real estate investments;

N

. Federal real estate law;

aa. Commercial real estate;

bb. Americans With Disabilities Act;

cc. Environmental issues impacting real estate;
dd. Building codes and design;

ee. Local laws and zoning;

ff. Escrow requirements; and

gg. [ Ethics and ] standards of conduct.
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3. [ Prior to January 1, 1999, ] licensees holding licenses
in other jurisdictions must complete [ a-three-houreourse
covering three hours which shall include ] fair housing
laws and [ recent-developments-infederal; | state [ and
loeal | real estate [ faw laws and regulations ] and may
substitute education completed in their jurisdiction for the
remaining [ five ] hours required by subdivision 2 of this
subsection. [ After January 1, 1999, licensees holding
licenses in other jurisdictions must complete four hours
which shall include fair housing laws, state real estate
laws and regulations and ethics and standards of
conduct and may substitute education completed in their
jurisdiction for the remaining hours required by
subdivision 2 of this subsection. ]

4. The board may approve additional subjects at its
discretion and in accordance with § 54.1-2105 of the
Code of Virginia.

3- 5. Credit for continuing education course completion

is given enly-forattendance-in-its-entirety for each class
hour/clock hour as defined in 18 VAC 135-20-350.

s 6.
Licensees are responsible for retaining for three years
and prowdmg proof of continuing education eceurse

Proof of course completion
shall be made on a form prescribed by the board.

Failure to provide course completion certification as
directed by the board will result in the license not being
renewed and/or disciplinary action pursuant to this
chapter.

5. 7. Instructors who are also licensees of the board
may earn continuing education credit for teaching
continuing education courses. Merification-of-instructor
comphiance—with—the—continding—education—eourse
" I g | ; :
schoolatwhich-the-course-was-taught:
B. Applicants for renewal of a license shall meet the
standards for entry as set forth in 18 VAC 135-20-30 1, 3,
and 4 ef-this-chapter.

C. The board may deny renewal of a license if the
applicant has not [ met the terms of an agreement for
licensure or not ] fully paid monetary penalties, satisfied
sanctions and paid costs imposed by the board, plus any
accrued interest.

[ 18 VAC 135-20-110. Procedures for renewal.

A. The board will mail a renewal application form to the
licensee erregistrant at the last known home address. The
board will mail a firm renewal notice to the business address
of the firm. These notices shall outline the procedures for
renewal. The board will notify the firm 30 days after the
expiration of the licenses of salespersons and brokers
associated with the firm. Failure to receive these notices
does not relieve the licensee of the obligation to renew.

B. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license, each
licensee desiring to renew the license shall return to the

board the renewal application forms and the appropriate fee
as outlined in 18 VAC 135-20-120 ef-this-chapter. |

18 VAC 135-20-120. Fees for renewal.

A. All fees for renewals are nonrefundable, and the date of
receipt by the board or its agent is the date which will be
used to determine whether erhet it is on time—and.

B. Renewal fees are as follows:

Salesperson $ 46
Individual license - business entity [$-1060$46]
Broker $ 50
Concurrent broker $ 50
Firm $75
Branch office $ 45

[ 18 VAC 135-20-150. Board discretion
reinstatement.

to deny

A. The board may deny reinstatement of a license if the
applicant has not met the terms of an agreement for
licensure or not fully paid monetary penalties, satisfied
sanctions and paid costs imposed by the board, plus any
accrued interest.

B. The board may deny reinstatement of a license for the
same reasons as it may refuse initial licensure or discipline a
current licensee. |

18 VAC 135-20-160. Place of business.

A. Within the meaning and intent of § 54.1-2110 of the
Code of Virginia, a place of business shall be an office
where:

1. The principal broker, either through his own efforts or
through the efforts of his employees or associates,
regularly transacts the business of a real estate broker
as defined in 8§ 54.1-2100 of the Code of Virginia; and

2. The principal broker and his employees or associates
can receive business calls and direct business calls to
be made.

B. No place of business shall be in a residence unless it is
separate and distinct from the living quarters of the
residence and is accessible by the public.

C. Each place of business and each branch office shall be
supervised and personally managed by an on-premises real
estate broker who shall supervise only that office.

D. Every individual, partnership, association, limited
liability company, or corporation acting as a real estate broker
may display signage on the outside of each place of
business maintained in the Commonwealth for the purpose
of transacting business as a real estate broker. If displayed,
the sign shall state the name of such individual, partnership,
association, limited liability company, or corporation, as set
forth in the license issued by the board, and contain the
words "real estate," "realty" or other words or phrases
designating a member of a generally recognized association
or organization of real estate brokers, whichever is
applicable.
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E. Every principal broker shall have readily available in
the main place of business the firm license, the principal
broker license and the license of every salesperson and
broker associated with or employed by the entity or firm.
The licenses shall be displayed together, not individually, in
such a manner that the public can readily determine the
names of the licensees. The branch office license and a
roster of every salesperson and broker assigned to the
branch office shall be displayed in the branch office location.

F. Notice in writing, accompanied by all the current
licenses, shall be given to the board in the event of any
change of business name or location. Such notice shall be
mailed to the board within 10 calendar days of the change of
name or location, whereupon the board shall reissue the
licenses for the unexpired period.

18 VAC 135-20-170. Maintenance of licenses.

A. Salespersons and individual brokers shall at all times
keep the board informed of their current home address and
changes of address must be reported to the board in writing
with [ 28 30 ] calendar days of such change. The board shall
not be responsible for the licensee's failure to receive
notices, communications and correspondence caused by the
licensee's failure to promptly notify the board of any change
of address. A licensee shall notify the board in a written
form acceptable to the board within [ 28 30 ] calendar days
of any change in the licensee's legal name. A licensee may
use a professional name other than a legal name if that
professional name is filed with the board prior to its use.

B. Salespersons and brokers shall only be issued a
license to the place of business of the sole proprietorship or
firm with which the salesperson or broker is affiliated or at
which such licensee is employed. The license shall be
issued after the sole proprietor or principal broker files a
written request on a form supplied by the board.

C. Salespersons and brokers on inactive status shall
receive written acknowledgment of payment from the board
at the time they renew their license, but no license shall be
issued since they are not affiliated with a sole proprietorship
or firm.

D. When any salesperson or broker is discharged or in
any way terminates his employment or affiliation or changes
status as a principal or associate broker with a sole
proprietorship or firm, it shall be the duty of the sole
proprietor or principal broker to return the license by certified
mail to the board so that it is received within 10 calendar
days of the date of termination or status change. The sole
proprietor or principal broker shall indicate on the license the
date of termination, and shall sign the license before
returning it.

E. The board, upon receipt of a transfer application or
request for placement of a license on inactive status from a
salesperson or associate broker, will notify the former
principal broker of the licensee's change of affiliation or
status at the firm's address of record. If the license has not
been received by the board by the date on which above
notification is issued, then it shall be the duty of the former

principal broker to return the license by certified mail to the
board so that it is received within 10 calendar days of the
date of the above notification.

F. All certificates of licensure in any form are the property
of the Real Estate Board. Upon termination of a licensee,
closing of a firm, death of a licensee, change of license
status, change of licensee name or address or both, such
licenses must be returned with proper instruction to the
board within 10 calendar days.

18 VAC 135-20-180. Maintenance and management of
escrow accounts and financial records.

A. Maintenance of escrow accounts.

1. If money is to be held in escrow, each firm or sole
proprietorship shall maintain in the name by which it is
licensed one or more federally insured separate escrow
accounts in a federally insured depository in Virginia into
which all down payments, earnest money deposits,
money received upon final settlement, rental payments,
rental security deposits, money advanced by a buyer or
seller for the payment of expenses in connection with the
closing of real estate transactions, money advanced by
the broker's prineipal client or expended on behalf of the
prineipal client, or other escrow funds received by him or
his associates on behalf of his prireipal client or any
other person shall be deposited unless all principals to
the transaction have agreed otherwise in writing. The
principal broker shall be held responsible for these
accounts. The supervising broker and any other
licensee with escrow account authority may be held
responsible for these accounts. All such accounts,
checks and bank statements shall be labeled "escrow"
and the account(s) shall be designated as "escrow"
accounts with the financial institution where such
accounts are established.

2. Funds to be deposited in the escrow account will
necessarily include moneys which shall ultimately
belong to the licensee, but such moneys shall be
separately identified in the escrow account records and
shall be paid to the firm by a check drawn on the escrow
account when the funds become due to the licensee.
The fact that an escrow account contains money which
may ultimately belong to the licensee does not constitute
"commingling of funds" as set forth by [ subdivision 5 of ]
18 VAC 135-20-320 [ 5 ] ef-this—chapter, provided that
there are periodic withdrawals of said funds at intervals
of not more than six months, and that the licensee can
at all times accurately identify the total funds in that
account which belong to the licensee and the firm.

3. If escrow funds are used to purchase a certificate of
deposit, the pledging or hypothecation of such
certificate, or the absence of the original certificate from
the direct control of the principal or supervising broker,
shall constitute commingling as prohibited by 18 VAC
135-20-320 5 ofthischapter.

B. Disbursement of funds from escrow accounts.
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1. a. Purchase transactions. Upon [ acceptance the
ratification ] of a contract [ {ratification) ], earnest
money deposits and down payments received by the
principal [ broker ] or supervising broker or his
associates [ shall must ] be placed in an escrow
account [ by the end of the fifth business banking day
following ratification ] and shall remain in that account
until the transaction has been consummated or
terminated. In the event the transaction is not
consummated, the principal [ broker ] or supervising
broker shall hold such funds in escrow until (i) all
principals to the transaction have agreed in writing as
to their disposition, or (i) a court of competent
jurisdiction orders such disbursement of the funds, or
(iii) the broker can pay the funds to the principal to the
transaction who is entitled to receive them in
accordance with the clear and explicit terms of the
contract which established the deposit. In the latter
event, prior to disbursement, the broker shall give
written notice to each principal to the transaction by
either (i) hand delivery receipted for by the addressee,
or (ii) by regular and certified mail, that this payment
will be made unless a written protest from that
principal to the transaction is received by the broker
within 30 days of the delivery or mailing, as
appropriate, of that notice. A broker who has carried
out the above procedure shall be construed to have
fulfilled the requirements of this chapter.

b. Lease transactions: security deposits. Any
security deposit held by a [ breker firm or sole
proprietorship ] shall be placed in an escrow account
[ by the end of the fifth business banking day following
receipt ]. Each such security deposit shall be treated

in accordance with the previsions—ef§55-248-11of
I  Virginia, lh | o

i security deposit
provisions of the Virginia Residential Landlord and
Tenant Act, Chapter 13.2 (§ 55-248.2 et seq.) of Title
55 of the Code of Virginia, unless exempted
therefrom, in which case the terms of the lease or
other applicable law shall control. [ Notwithstanding
anything in this section to the contrary, unless the
landlord has otherwise become entitled to receive the
security deposit or a portion thereof, the security
deposit shall not be removed from an escrow account
required by the lease without the written consent of
the tenant. ]

c. Lease transactions: rents [ ard or ] escrow fund
advances. Unless otherwise agreed in writing by all
principals to the transaction, all rents and other
money paid to the licensee in connection with the
lease shall be placed in an escrow account [ by the
end of the fifth business banking day following receipt ]
and remain in that account until paid in accordance
with the terms of the lease and the property
management agreement, as applicable.

2. a. Purchase transactions. Unless otherwise agreed
in writing by all principals to the transaction, a

licensee shall not be entitled to any part of the earnest
money deposit or to any other money paid to the
licensee in connection with any real estate transaction
as part of the licensee's commission until the
transaction has been consummated.

b. Lease transactions. Unless otherwise agreed in
writing by the principals to the lease [ and or ]
property management agreement, as applicable, a
licensee shall not be entitled to any part of the security
deposit or to any other money paid to the licensee in
connection with any real estate lease as part of the
licensee's commission [ wrtit except in accordance
with ] the terms of the lease [ have-been—met or the
property management agreement, as applicable.
Notwithstanding anything in this section to the
contrary, unless the landlord has otherwise become
entitled to receive the security deposit or a portion
thereof, the security deposit shall not be removed from
an escrow account required by the lease without the
written consent of the tenant. ]

3. On funds placed in an account bearing interest,
written disclosure in the contract of sale or lease at the
time of contract or lease writing shall be made to the
principals invelved—in to the transaction regarding the
disbursement of interest.

4. A licensee shall not disburse or cause to be
disbursed moneys from an escrow or property
management escrow account unless sufficient money is
on deposit in that account to the credit of the individual
client or property involved.

5. Unless otherwise agreed in writing by all principals to
the transaction, expenses incidental to closing a
transaction, e.g., fees for appraisal, insurance, credit
report, etc., shall not be deducted from a deposit or
down payment.

C. Maintenance of financial records.

1. A complete record of financial transactions
conducted under authority of the principal broker's
Virginia license shall be maintained in the principal
broker's place of business, or in a designated branch
office. When the principal broker's office is located
outside of Virginia and the firm has a branch office in
Virginia, these records shall be maintained in the
Virginia office. These records shall show, in addition to
any other requirements of the regulations, the following
information: from whom money was received; the date
of receipt; the place of deposit; the date of deposit; and,
after the transaction has been completed, the final
disposition of the funds.

2. The principal broker shall maintain a bookkeeping
system which shall accurately and clearly disclose full
compliance with the requirements outlined in this
section. Accounting records which are in sufficient
detail to provide necessary information to determine
such compliance shall be maintained.

[ 18 VAC 135-20-190. Advertising by licensees.
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A. The name under which the broker does business and
the manner in which the broker advertises shall not imply
that the property listed or marketed by the broker for others
s "for sale by owner." A broker shall not advertise in any
newspaper, periodical, or sign to sell, buy, exchange, rent, or
lease property in a manner indicating that the offer to sell,
buy, exchange, rent, or lease such property is being made by
a person not licensed as a real estate broker. No
advertisement shall be inserted in any publication where only
a post office box number, telephone number, or street
address appears. Every broker, when advertising real estate
in any newspaper or periodical, shall affirmatively and
unmistakably indicate that the party advertising is a real
estate broker.

A- B. Definitions. The following definitions apply unless a
different meaning is plainly required by the context:

"Advertising" means any communication, whether oral or
written, between a licensee or an entity acting on behalf of
one or more licensees and any other person or business
entity. It shall include, but is not limited to, telephonic
communications, insignias, business cards, advertisements,
telephone directory, listing agreements, contracts of sale,
billboards, signs, letterheads, as well as radio, television,
magazine, ard newspaper, and internet advertisements.

"Institutional advertising” means advertising in which
neither the licensed name nor any other identification of any
licensed individual is disclosed, no real property is identified,
and a service mark is identified.

"Service mark" means the trade name or logo, whether or
not registered under any federal or state law, which is owned
by an entity other than the licensee and which the licensee
has obtained permission to use through agreement, license,
franchise, or otherwise.

exchange—rent—orlease—any realproperty: C. Llcensed

brokers are responsible for all activities of all licensees in the
real estate firm. In order to ensure the public is aware of that
responsibility, this subsection is promulgated. All advertising
and marketing must be under the direct supervision of the
principal broker or supervising broker and in the name of the
firm. Every licensee is prohibited from advertising and
marketing under the licensee’s own name, except for sole
proprietors trading under the principal broker’s own name, or
in any manner offering on behalf of others to buy, sell,
exchange, rent, or lease any real property. The firm's
licensed name must be clearly and legibly displayed on all
display signs and other types of advertising and marketing.
Effective January 1, 1999, the individual licensee’s name may
not be larger than the firm’s name.

[ & D.] If alicensee advertises property which he owns or
in which he has any ownership interest without using the
services of a licensed real estate entity, the licensee shall
advertise with the notice that the owner is a real estate
licensee, but such advertisement must not indicate or imply

that the licensee is operating a real estate brokerage
business.

[ B- E. ] Service marks and institutional advertising.

1. All institutional advertising shall state that the service
being advertised is real estate brokerage, and shall state
affirmatively that each licensed firm or sole
proprietorship displaying or using the service mark is an
independently owned and operated business.

2. Any service mark constituting a part of written
noninstitutional advertising shall conspicuously disclose
that the licensed brokerage firm or sole proprietorship is
independently owned and operated. Disclosure that the
licensed brokerage firm or sole proprietorship is
independently owned and operated shall not be required
in the following categories of written noninstitutional

advertising: of-specificproperty-forsale-orlease;

a. "For sale" and "for lease" signs located on the
premises of specific property for sale or lease;

b. Advertising by a licensed firm or sole
proprietorship in newspapers, magazines, or other
publications of a single specific property for sale or
lease when the advertisement occupies no more than
28 of the standard classified advertising lines of the
newspaper, magazine, or other publications in which
the advertisement is published;

c. Telephone directory advertisements disclosing that
the licensed brokerage firm or sole proprietorship is
independently owned and operated is required in
"display” advertisements and in "in column
informational" or "business card" size advertisements,

or their equivalent, appearing in telephone directories.

3. In oral, noninstitutional advertising, the speaker shall
disclose affirmatively the licensee's name, and except in
the case of telephone communication, shall disclose that
the licensed firm or sole proprietorship is independently
owned and operated. ]

[ 18 VAC 135-20-200. Grounds for disciplinary action.

The board has the power to fine any licensee or registrant,
and to suspend or revoke any license issued under the
provisions of Fitle 54-1; Chapter 21 ( § 54.1-2100 et seq.) of
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and the regulations of the
board, where the licensee has been found to have violated or
cooperated with others in violating any provision of Fitle
541, Chapter 21 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia,
Chapter 1.3 (8 6.1-2.19 et seq.) of Title 6.1 of the Code of
Virginia or any regulation of the board. ]

18 VAC 135-20-210. Disclosure of interest.

A. If a licensee knows or should have known that he, any
member of his family, his firm, any member of his firm, or
any entity in which he has an ownership interest, is acquiring
or attempting to acquire real property through purchase or
lease and the licensee is a party to the transaction, the
licensee must disclose that information to the owner in
writing in the offer to purchase or lease.
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B. A licensee selling or leasing property in which he has
any ownership interest must disclose that he is a real estate
licensee and he has an interest in the property to any
purchaser or lessee in the written offer to purchase, the
application, the offer to lease, or the lease, whichever occurs
first.

18 VAC 135-20-220. Disclosure of [ ageney brokerage ]
relationships.

A. Before-the licensee-has—substantive-discussiens—abeut
i ; i incinal . e

Purchase transactions.

1. Unless disclosure has been previously made by a
licensee, a licensee shall disclose to an actual or
prospective buyer or seller who is not the client of the
licensee and who is not represented by another licensee
and with whom the licensee has substantive discussions
about a specific property or properties, the person whom
the licensee represents in a brokerage relationship, as
that term is defined in §54.1-2130 of the Code of
Virginia.

2. Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 3 of this
subsection, such disclosure shall be made in writing at
the earliest practical time, but in no event later than the
time specific real estate assistance is first provided. Any
disclosure complying with the provisions of § 54.1-2138
A of the Code of Virginia shall be deemed in compliance
with this disclosure requirement.

3. A licensee acting as a dual or designated
representative shall obtain the written consent of all
clients to the transaction at the earliest practical time.
Such consent shall be presumed to have been given by
a client who signs a disclosure complying with the
provisions of § 54.1-2139 of the Code of Virginia. Such
disclosure shall be given to, and consent obtained from,
(i) the buyer [ etenant ] not later than the time an offer
to purchase [ erto-lease ] is presented to the licensee
and (ii) the seller [ ertandlord ] not later than the time the
offer to purchase [ erte-lease ] is presented to the seller
[ ertandlord .

4. Any disclosure required by this subsection may be

given in combination with other disclosures or
information, but, if so, the disclosure must be
conspicuous, printed in bold lettering, all capitals,

underlined, or within a separate box.

5. Any such disclosure shall advise a prospective buyer,
seller, landlord, or tenant, who is not the client of the
licensee of the duties of real estate brokers and
salespersons under Virginia law and that there may be

other relevant information concerning the transaction
which may be obtained from other sources.

oceursfirst. Lease transactions.

1. Unless disclosure has been previously made by a
licensee, a licensee shall disclose to an actual or
prospective landlord or tenant who is not the client of the
licensee and who is not represented by another licensee,
that the licensee has a brokerage relationship with
another party or parties to the transaction. Such
disclosure shall be in writing and included in the
application for lease or the lease itself, whichever occurs
first. If the terms of the lease do not provide for such
disclosure, the disclosure shall be made in writing not
later than the signing of the lease.

Fhe 2. This disclosure requirement shall not apply to
lessors and or lessees in single or multi-family
residential units enleases for lease terms of less than
[ two three ] months.

18 VAC 135-20-240. Provision of records to the board.

A licensee of the Real Estate Board shall upon reguest
demand produce to the board or any of its agents any
document, book, or record concerning any real estate
transaction in which the licensee was involved, or for which
the licensee is required to maintain records for inspection
and copying by the board or its agents.

[ 18 VAC 135-20-250. Response to any inquiry of the
board.

A licensee must respond to an inquiry by the board or its
agents within 45 21 days. ]

18 VAC 135-20-260. Unworthiness and incompetence.

Actions constituting unworthy and incompetent conduct
include:

1. Obtaining a fraudulent

representation;

license by false or

2. Holding more than one license as a real estate broker
or salesperson in Virginia except as provided in this
chapter;

3. As a currently licensed real estate salesperson,
sitting for the licensing examination for a salesperson's
license;

4. As a currently licensed real estate broker, sitting for a
real estate licensing examination;

5. Having been convicted or found guilty regardless of
adjudication in any jurisdiction of the United States of a
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, sexual offense,
drug distribution or physical injury, [ or ] any felony [ ~e¢
any—fair—heousing—violatien ], there being no appeal

pending therefrom or the time for appeal having
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elapsed. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be
considered a conviction for the purposes of this
paragraph subdivision. The record of a conviction
certified or authenticated in such form as to be
admissible in evidence of the laws of the jurisdiction
where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie
evidence of such guilt;

6. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days
of pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted
or found guilty regardless of adjudication of any felony
or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, sexual
offense, drug distribution or physical injury;

7. Having been found in a court or an administrative
body of competent jurisdiction to have violated the
Virginia Fair Housing Act, the Fair Housing Laws of any
jurisdiction of the United States including without
limitation Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (82
Stat. 73), or the Civil Rights Act of 1866 (14 Stat. 27),
there being no appeal therefrom or the time for appeal
having elapsed; and

8. Failing to act as a real estate broker or salesperson
in such a manner as to safeguard the interests of the
public-eretheraise; and

9. Engaging in improper, fraudulent, or dishonest
conduct.

18 VAC 135-20-270. Conflict of interest.

Actions constituting a conflict of interest include:

1. Being employed by, affiliated with or receiving
compensation from a real estate broker other than the
licensee's principal broker, without the written consent of
the principal broker;

2. Acting for more than one pa#ty client in a transaction
without first obtaining the written consent of all prineipals
forwheom-the licensee-acts clients as provided by § 54.1-
2139 of the Code of Virginia;

3. Acting as an—agentforany-principabin-a-real-estate
transaction a standard agent or independent contractor

for any client outside the licensee's brokerage firm(s) or
sole proprietorship(s).

18 VAC 135-20-280. Improper brokerage commission.

Actions resulting in an improper brokerage commission

include:

1. Offering to pay or paying a commission or other
valuable consideration to any person for acts or services
performed in violation of Fitle-54-1; Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-
2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or this
chapter; provided, however, that referral fees and shared
commissions may be paid to any real estate entity
licensed in this or another jurisdiction, or to any referral
entity in the United States, the members of which are
brokers licensed in this or another jurisdiction and which
only disburses commissions or referral fees to its
licensed member brokers;

2. Accepting a commission or other valuable
consideration, as a real estate salesperson or associate
broker, for the performance of any of the acts specified
in Fitle-54-1; Chapter 21 (8 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title
54.1 of the Code of Virginia or the regulations of the
board, from any person except the licensee's principal
broker at the time of the transaction;

3. Receiving a fee or portion thereof including a referral
fee or a commission or other valuable consideration for
services required by the terms of the real estate contract
when such costs are to be paid by either one or both
principals to the transaction unless such fact is revealed
in writing to the principal(s) prior to the time of ordering
or contracting for the services;

4. Offering or paying any money or other valuable
consideration for services required by the terms of the
real estate contract to any party other than the principals
to a transaction which results in a fee being paid to the
licensee; without such fact being revealed in writing to
the principal(s) prior to the time of ordering or
contracting for the services;

5. Making a listing contract or lease which provides for
a "net" return to the seller/lessor, leaving the licensee
free to sell or lease the property at any price he can
obtain in excess of the "net" price named by the
seller/lessor; and

6. Charging money or other valuable consideration to or
accepting or receiving money or other valuable
consideration from any person or entity other than the
licensee's prineipal client for expenditures made on
behalf of that prireipal client without the written consent

of the principal client.

18 VAC 135-20-290. Improper dealing.

Actions constituting improper dealing include:

1 . lusi lusi
right-to-sellcontract—which—doees—not-have Entering a
brokerage relationship that does not specify a definite
termination date;

2. Offering real property for sale or for lease without the
knowledge and consent of the owner or the owner's
authorized agent representative, or on any terms other
than those authorized by the owner or the owner's
authorized agent representative;

3. Placing a sign on any property without the consent of
the owner of the property or the owner's authorized
[ agent representative ]; [ and ]

4. Causing any advertisement for sale, rent, or lease to
appear in any newspaper, periodical, or sign without
including in the advertisement the name of the firm or
sole proprietorship [ --and . |

[ 5—Acting-int it of .
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transactions: |

18 VAC 135-20-300. Misrepresentation/omission.

Actions constituting misrepresentation or omission, or

both, include:

1. Using "bait and switch" tactics by advertising or
offering real property for sale or rent with the intent not
to sell or rent at the price or terms advertised, unless the
advertisement or offer clearly states that the property
advertised is limited in specific quantity and the licensee
er—registrant did in fact have at least that quantity for
sale or rent;

4. 6. Failing to include the complete terms and
conditions of the real estate transaction in any lease or
offer to purchase;

5. 7. Failing to include in any application, lease, or offer
to purchase identification of all those holding any
deposits;

6- 8. Knowingly making any false statement or report,
or willfully misstating the value of any land, property, or
security for the purpose of influencing in any way the
action of any lender upon:

a. Applications, advance discounts, purchase
agreements, repurchase agreements, commitments or
loans;

b. Changes in terms or extensions of time for any of
the items listed in this subdivision & 8 whether by
renewal, deferment of action, or other means without
the prior written consent of the principals to the
transaction;

c. Acceptance, release, or substitution of security for
any of the items listed in subdivision 6 8 a of this
section without the prior written consent of the
principals to the transaction.

% 9. Making any misrepresentation; and

8- 10. Making a false promise through agents,
salespersons, advertising, or other means.

18 VAC 135-20-310. Delivery of instruments.

Actions constituting improper delivery of instruments
2. Failure by a licensee representing a seller or landlord ~ include:

as a standard agent to disclose in a timely manner to a
prospective purchaser or tenant all material adverse
facts pertaining to the physical condition of the property
which are actually known by the licensee;

3. Failing as a licensee to tender promptly to the buyer
and seller every written offer, every written counteroffer,
and every written rejection to purchase, option or lease
obtained on the property involved;

4. Failure by a licensee acting as a standard agent to
disclose in a timely manner to the licensee's client all
material facts related to the property or concerning the
transaction [ which—are—reasonably—available—to—the
licensee when the failure to so disclose would constitute
failure by the licensee to exercise ordinary care as
defined in the brokerage agreement J;

5. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 4 of this
section, a licensee acting as a dual representative shall
not disclose to one client represented in the dual
representation confidential information relating to the
transaction obtained during the representation of another
client in the same dual representation unless otherwise
provided by law;

1. Failing to make prompt delivery to each principal to a
transaction, complete and legible copies of any written
disclosures required by 88 54.1-2138 and 54.1-2139 of
the Code of Virginia, listings, lease, offers to purchase,
counteroffers, addenda and ratified agreements, and
other documentation required by the agreement;

2. Failing to provide in a timely manner to all principals
to the transaction written notice of any material changes
to the transaction;

3. Failing to deliver to the seller and buyer, at the time a
real estate transaction is completed, a complete and
accurate statement of receipts and disbursements of
moneys received by the licensee, duly signed and
certified by the principal or supervising broker or his
authorized agent; provided, however, if the transaction is
closed by a settlement agent other than the licensee or
his broker, and if the disbursement of moneys received
by the licensee is disclosed on the applicable settlement
statement, the licensee shall not be required to provide
the separate statement of receipts and disbursements;
and

4. Refusing or failing without just cause to surrender to
the rightful owner, upon demand, any document or
instrument which the licensee possesses.
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[ 18 VAC 135-20-320. Recordkeeping and escrow funds.

Actions  constituting  improper
maintenance of escrow funds include:

recordkeeping and

1. Failing, as a principal or supervising broker, to retain
for a period of three years from the date of the closing or
ratification, if the transaction fails to close, a complete
and legible copy of each disclosure of a brokerage
relationship and each executed contract, agreement,
and closing statement related to a real estate
transaction—and—all-otherdocuments—material to—that
transaction in the broker’s control or possession;

2. Having received moneys on behalf of others and
failed to maintain a complete and accurate record of
such receipts and their disbursements for a period of
three years from the date of the closing or termination of
a lease or conclusion of the licensee's involvement in the
lease;

3. Failing, within a reasonable time, to account for or to
remit any moneys coming into a licensee's possession
which belong to others;

4. Accepting any note, nonnegotiable instrument, or
anything of value not readily negotiable, as a deposit on
a contract, offer to purchase, or lease, without
acknowledging its acceptance in the agreement;

5. Commingling the funds of any person by a principal
or supervising broker or his employees or associates or
any licensee with his own funds, or those of his
corporation, firm, or association; and

6. Failure to deposit escrow funds in an account or
accounts designated to receive only such funds as
required by this chapter (see 18 VAC 135-20-180 A 1). ]

18 VAC 135-20-350. Definitions.

in_thi , Gt L
plainly—required—by—the—eontext: The following words and
terms, when used in this part, unless a different meaning is
provided or is plainly required by the context, shall have the
following meanings:

"Accredited eelleges—universities—and university, college,

community eolleges; college, or other school or educational
institution," as used in § 54.1-2105 2 B 1 a of the Code of
Virginia, means those accredited institutions of higher
learning approved by the Virginia Council of Higher
Education or listed in the Transfer Credit Practices of
Designated Educational Institutions, published by the
American Association of Collegiate Registrars and
Admissions Officers.

"Classroom Class hour/clock hour" means 50 minutes.

"Equivalent course" means any course encompassing the
basic educational curriculum of Virginia courses and
approved by the board.

"Proprietary school" means (i) a privately owned school, (ii)
a real estate professional association, or (iii) a related entity,
which is not under the authority of the Department of

Education, but approved by the Real Estate Board to teach
real estate courses.

"Provider" means an accredited university, college,
community college [ ; or ] high school offering adult
distributive education courses, or a proprietary school.

18 VAC 135-20-360. Proprietary school standards:
educational—envirenment;, instructor qualifications;
courses and course requirements.

A. Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for a
proprietary school certificate shall meet the standards
provided in this-seetion § 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia.

standards:

C. B. Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for
approval as an instructor shall have one of the following
qualifications:

[ +—Baccalaureate-degree-inreal-estate—or-in-business
. e | | Iated

field: ]

[ 2 1. ] Baccalaureate degree, a Virginia real estate

[ broker’s] license, and two years of discipline-free active

real estate experience within the past five years;

[ 3= 2. ] Seven Five years of discipline-free active
experience acquired in the real estate field in the past 10
seven years and an active Virginia broker's license; or

[ 4- 3.] Qualified experts in a specific field of real estate
who will teach only in the area of their expertise. For
example, a licensed real estate appraiser, with at least
five years of active appraisal experience in Virginia, may
be approved to teach Real Estate Appraisals. Such
applicants will be required to furnish proof of their
expertise including, but not limited to, educational
transcripts, professional certificates and letters of
reference which will verify the applicant's expertise.

D—All real estate C. Prelicense courses must be
acceptable to the board and are required to have a
monitored, final written examination.

2- Those schools which propose to offer prelicensing
correspondence courses (Principles and Practices of Real
Estate, Real Estate Brokerage, Real Estate Finance, Real
Estate Law or Real Estate Appraisal, etc.) must submit a
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request, in writing, to the board prior to offering the course(s)
and supply the following information:

a 1. Course content. All Principles and Practices of
Real Estate courses must include the 25 topic areas
specified in 18 VAC 135-20-400. All requests to offer
broker courses must include a cemparable course
syllabus from—an—acecredited—university,—college—or

community-college-to-establish-equivaleney- acceptable
to the board;

b- 2. Name of the course's text and any research
materials used for study assignmentss;

& 3. Description of any research assignmentss;
&- 4. Copies of test or quizzes-;

e: 5. Information explaining how the "Principles" course
will require 60 hours of study, or how each broker
related course will require 45 hours of study, in
compliance with 8§ 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia;
and

£ 6. Information about recordkeeping for this the type of
course delivery.

the—seheel—s—mal-ﬂ—ef—bﬁﬂeh—sﬁe—' j 3 y j g

D. Providers of continuing education courses shall submit
all subjects to the board for approval prior to initially offering
the course. Correspondence and other distance learning
courses offered by an approved provider must include
appropriate testing procedures to verify completion of the
course. [ The board shall approve courses and the number of
hours approved for each course based on the relevance of
the subject to the performance of the duties set forth in 88
54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the Code of Virginia. ]

E. All schools must establish and maintain a record for
each student. The record shall include: the student's name
and address, the course name and clock hours attended, the
course syllabus or outline, the name or names of the
instructor, [ ard ] the date of successful completion [ , and
the board’'s course code ]. Records shall be available for
inspection during normal business hours by authorized
representatives of the board. Schools must maintain all
student and class records for a minimum of five years.

F. All schools must provide each student with a certificate
of course completion or other document that the student may
use as proof of course completion. The certificate or other
document shall contain the hours of credit completed.

18 VAC 135-20-370. Fees.

A. The application fee for original certificate for a
proprietary school shall be $90.

B. The renewal fee for proprietary school certificates
expiring annualy biennially on June 30 shall be $45.

C. If the requirements for renewal of a proprietary school
certificate, including receipt of the fee of by the board, are not

completed within 30 days of the expiration date noted on the
certificate, a reinstatement fee of $250 is required. A
certificate may be reinstated for up to one year following the
expiration date with payment of the reinstatement fee. After
one year, the certificate may not be reinstated under any
circumstances and the applicant must meet all requirements
and apply as a new applicant.

D. The application for original instructor certificate shall be
[ $315 $100 ].

E. The renewal fee for an instructor certificate expiring
biennially on June 30 shall be [ $115 $50 ].

F. If the requirements for renewal of an instructor
certificate, including receipt of the fee by the board, are not
completed within 30 days of the expiration date on the
certificate, a reinstatement fee of $250 is required. A
certificate may be reinstated for up to one year following the
expiration date with payment of the reinstatement fee. After
one year, the certificate may not be reinstated under any
circumstances and the applicant must meet all requirements
and apply as a new applicant.

G- G. The board in its discretion may deny renewal of a
certificate. Upon such denial, the certificate holder may
request that a hearing be held.

18 VAC 135-20-380. Posting school certificate of
approval and registration instructor certificates.

[ Copies of ] school certificates of approval and
Feg+strat+en— and |nstructor certificates [ , if applicable, ] must
be [ Lo
conspicdous—place—readilyaccessible-to-thepublic available

at the location a course is taught ].
18 VAC 135-20-390. Withdrawal of approval.

The board may withdraw approval of any school or
instructor for the following reasons:

1. The school, instructors, er courses, or subjects no
longer meet the standards established by the board.

2. The school or instructor solicits information from any
person for the purpose of discovering past examination
questions or questions which may be used in future
examinations.

3. The school or instructor distributes to any person
copies of examination questions, or otherwise
communicates to any person examination questions,
without receiving the prior written approval of the
copyright owner to distribute or communicate those
questions.

4. The school, through an agent or otherwise,
advertises its services in a fraudulent, deceptive or
misrepresentative manner.

5. Officials, instructors or designees of the school sit for
a real estate licensing examination for any purpose other
than to obtain a license as a broker or salesperson.
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[ 18 VAC 135-20-400. Course content of real estate
principles and practices.

The following shall be included in the four-semester-hour
or six-quarter-hour course which shall not have less than 60
elassroem class hours:

. Economy and social impact of real estate
. Real estate market and analysis

. Property rights

. Contracts

. Deeds

. Mortgages and deeds of trust

. Types of mortgages

. Leases

© 00 N O o~ W N P

. Liens

=
o

. Home ownership

[
[N

. Real property and title insurance

[EnY
N

. Investment

[EnY
w

. Taxes in real estate

=
N

. Real estate financing

[EnY
o1

. Brokerage and agency contract responsibilities

=
(o]

. Real estate marketing

[EnY
~

. Real property management

[EnY
[ee]

. Search, examination, and registration of title

[EnY
©

. Title closing

20. Appraisal of residential and income producing
property

21. Planning subdivision developments and
condominiums

22. Regulatory statutes
23. Housing legislation
24. Fair housing statutes
25. Real Estate Board regulations ]
18 VAC 135-20-410. Related-subjeets Broker courses.

A. Brokerage shall be a required specific course with three
semester hours or six quarter hours [, but not less than 45
class hours, ] constituting a complete course.

B. "Related subjects," as referred to in § 54.1-2105 of the
Code of Virginia, shall be real estate related and shall
include, but are not limited to, courses in property
management, land planning and land use, business law, real
estate economics, and real estate investments.

C. No more than [ three-semesterhours-orfourquarter 45

class ] hours of broker-related courses shall be accepted in
lieu of specific broker courses.

D. Schools intending to offer equivalent broker courses
must submit to the board for approval a copy of the syllabus
of the particular course with a cover letter requesting
approval.

18 VAC 135-20-420.
(Repealed.)

& eke'agl o-shall-be-a-required-specific-course-wil tlee

course:

18 VAC 135-20-430. Creditfor broker-relatedcourses-
(Repealed.)

No-more-than-three-semester-hours—or-four-guarter-hours

 brol bl i : "
brokercourses:

18 VAC 135-20-440.
precedure: (Repealed.)

Schools-intending-to-offer-equivalent-brokercoursesmust

Broker-related—course—approval

NOTICE: The forms used in administering 18 VAC 135-20-
10 et seq., Virginia Real Estate Board Licensing Regulations,
are not being published due to the large number; however,
the name of each form is listed below. The forms are
available for public inspection at the Real Estate Board,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia, telephone
(804) 367-8552 or at the office of the Registrar of
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor,
Richmond, Virginia.

FORMS
Real Estate Application, VREB/Fm 2 (12/93).

Real Estate Salesperson Application.

Concurrent Broker Acknowledgment Form (6/97).
Experience Verification Form (5/97).
Activate/Transfer/Concurrent Application (6/97).
Salesperson License by Reciprocity Application (3/97).
Broker License by Reciprocity Application (3/97).
Branch Office License Application (2/97).
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Supervising Broker Appointment/Change Form (3/97).
Firm Principal Broker/Officer Change Form (3/97).
Firm Name/Address Change Form (3/97).

Firm License Application (3/97).

VA.R. Doc. No. R96-373; Filed June 2, 1998, 11:57 a.m.

Virginia Register of Regulations

2786



FORMS

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND
ENERGY

EDITOR'S NOTICE: The following forms have been
amended or repealed by the Department of Mines, Minerals
and Energy. The forms are available for public inspection at
the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Ninth Street
Office Building, 202 North 9th Street, Richmond, VA 23219.
Copies of the forms may be obtained from Cheryl Cashman,
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Ninth Street
Office Building, 202 North 9th Street, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 692-3213.

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 25-130-10 et seq. Coal Surface
Mining Reclamation Regulations.

DMLR-AML-122, Consent for Right of Entry—Exploratory,
Rev. 12/85 3/98.

DMLR-AML-123, Consent for Right of Entry—Construction—
Lien, Rev. 12/85 3/98.

, : . : .
DMLR-AML-177, Consent for Right of Entry—
Ingress/Egress, Rev. 3/88 3/98.

DMLR-PT-255, Irrevocable Standby Letter of Credit, Rev.
8/97 7/98.
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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

D%‘e(irginia DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY
e Par"f,me'ﬁ_ Igf DIVISION OF MINED LAND RECLAMATION
W ines Minera P. 0. DRAWER 900; BIG STONE GAP, VA 24219
and Energy

TELEPHONE: (540) 523-8206

CONSENT FOR RIGHT OF ENTRY - Exploratory
(Abandoned Mine Land Program)

|  Project | | Grant |
Owner of Record Acreage |
County Map No. | Parcel No. | Property Interest* |
City/County | Deed Book | | Page(s) |

As the legal and rightful Owner of record (or authorized agent acting on behalf thereof) of the
Property, identified in the aforementioned records, | (we) do hereby grant (and commit such heirs,
successors, and assigns herefrom) to the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of Mined
Land Reclamation (hereinafter referred to as “Division”) and to the U. S. Department of the Interior, Office
of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement (hereinafter referred to as “Office”), their agents,
employees, or contractors, the right to enter upon the Property at the Division’s and Office's own risk, cost
and expense, for the purpose of determining the existence of adverse effects of past coal mining practices,
and to determine the feasibility of restoration, reclamation, abatement, control, or prevention of such adverse
effects.

Entry and reclamation and abatement work, if any, performed by the Division or Office, their
agents, employees, or contractors, is pursuant to the authority granted in the Virginia Coal Surface Mining
Control and Reclamation Act of 1979 (Act: 845.1-260 et seqg. of the Code of Virginia), as anended and
the regulations promulgated thereunder (Subchapter VR, Part 4 VAC 25-130-874 and Part 4 VAC 25-130-
877 et seq.), and Title IV of the Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act of 1977 (Federal Act: 30
U.S.C. 1231 et seq.).

| (we) give this right of entry consent to enter the Property for the length of time necessary to
complete the exploratory work described in the aforesaid grant between the Office and the Division, to
accomplish the reclamation project located on the Property, subject to the Owner’ s continued ownership and
use of the property.

In granting consent to this entry, the Owner does not waive any rights conferred upon it by virtue of
the language contained in the Act, as amended and the regulations promulgated thereunder. The Division or
Office does not waive its rights or responsihilities conferred by the Act and Title IV of the Federal Act.

Nothing contained herein will be deemed to be an expressed or implied waiver of the sovereign
immunity of the Commonwealth or its duly authorized representatives, agents and/or employees.

As consideration for the granting of this consent to enter upon said Property, the Division and
Office agree that the following provisions are to be a part of the Consent for Right of Entry:

1 All Activity conducted and authorized by the Division and Office on the Property will be at the
expense of the Division and Office.

* Property Interest: Surface only, Mineral Only, Lessee, or Fee

DMLR-AML-122
Rev. 3/98 Page 1
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Division of Mined Land Reclamation
Consent for Right of Entry - Exploratory (AML Program)

2. The entry upon the Property by the Division and Office, their agents, employees and contractors is
for the convenience and purposes of the Division and Office and is not upon any business with or
for the Owner.

3. The Division acknowledges that while the exploration activity is being conducted on the Property,

the Owner will not be excluded from carrying on normal activities, including the movement of
machinery and equipment.

4. The Division agrees that they will require their contractors, subcontractors, or both, who enter upon
the Property to perform the exploration activity, to maintain insurance coverage to protect the
Owner and the Division from liability for negligent acts or omissions on the part of said contractor,
subcontractor, or both, as is required under the Division’s contract for the exploration activity, and
upon request by the Owner, the Division will furnish evidence of such insurance to the Owner.

5. The Division agrees to provide without cost, if requested by the Owner, a copy of the fina study
results and reports as submitted to the Division by the Division’s contractor(s).

6. This Agreement shall be binding upon and shall inure to the benefit of the heirs, successors, and
assigns of the parties.

7. Additional Conditions:
a
b.
C.
d
WITNESS the following signatures on this day of , 19
By: Witness:

Owner /Authorized Agent

By: Date:
Abandoned Mine Land M anager
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy
Division of Mined Land Reclamation

DMLR-AML-122
Rev. 3/98 Page 2
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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

DM Virginia DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY
Department of DIVISION OF MINED LAND RECLAMATION
W m"Ees Minerals P. 0. DRAWER 900; BIG STONE GAP, VA 24219

a nergy TELEPHONE: (540) 523-8206

CONSENT FOR RIGHT OF ENTRY - Construction
(Abandoned Mine Land Program)

|  Project | | Grant |
Owner of Record Acreage |
County Map No. | Parcel No. | Property Interest *
City/County Property Status
Deed Book Page(s)

As the legal and rightful Owner of record (or authorized agent acting on behalf thereof) of the
Property, identified in the aforementioned records, | (we) do hereby grant (and commit such heirs,
successors, and assigns herefrom) to the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of Mined
Land Reclamation (hereinafter referred to as “Division”) and to the U. S. Department of the Interior, Office
of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement (hereinafter referred to as “Office”), their agents,
employees, or contractors, the right to enter upon the Property at the Division’s and Office’s own risk, cost
and expense, to restore, reclaim, abate, control, or prevent the adverse effects of coal mining practices, and
to do all things necessary or expedient to protect the public health, safety, or general welfare.

Entry and reclamation and abatement work, if any, performed by the Division or Office, their
agents, employees, or contractors, is pursuant to the authority granted in the Virginia Coal Surface Mining
Control and Reclamation Act of 1979 (Act: 845.1-260 et seqg. of the Code of Virginia), as anended and
the regulations promulgated thereunder (Subchapter VR, Part 4 VAC 25-130-874 and Part 4 VAC 25-130-
877 et seq.), and Title IV of the Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act of 1977 (Federal Act: 30
U.S.C. 1231 et seq.).

| (we) give this right of entry consent to enter the Property for the length of time necessary to
complete the construction work described in the aforesaid grant between the Office and the Division, to
accomplish the reclamation project located on the property, subject to the Owner’s continued ownership and
use of the property.

In granting consent to this entry, the Owner does not waive any rights conferred upon it by virtue of
the language contained in the Act, as amended and the regulations promulgated thereunder. The Division or
Office does not waive its rights or responsibilities conferred by the Act and Title IV of the Federal Act.

PROPERTY/LIEN STATUS - (Check the applicable clause.)

O | Exempt from lien.

| understand that a lien may be placed against the property if the reclamation work performed
O | resultsin asignificant increase in the market value of the property. The lien, if appropriate, will be
determined and filed in accordance with Virginia Regulations Part 4 VAC 25-130-882.13 et seq.,
and § 408 of the Federal Act.

Any lien that may be imposed in accordance with Virginia Regulations Part 4 VAC 25-130-882.13
L] | et seq., and § 408 of the Federal Act has been waived by the Division, as provided under the Act.

Y Property Interest: Surface only, Mineral Only, Lessee, Fee; or Borrow/Disposal area.

2property Status: N = Not lienable; L = subject to lien; W = lien waived; and A = awaiting appraisal.

DMLR-AML-123
Rev. 3/98 Page 1
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Division of Mined Land Reclamation
Consent for Right of Entry - Construction (AML Program)

Nothing contained herein will be deemed to be an expressed or implied waiver of the sovereign

immunity of the Commonwealth or its duly authorized representatives, agents and/or employees.

As consideration for the granting of this consent to enter upon said Property, the Division and

Office agree that the following provisions are to be a part of the Consent for Right of Entry:

1

2.

All activity conducted and authorized by the Division and Office on the Property will be at the
expense of the Division and Office.

The entry upon the Property by the Division and Office, their agents, employees and contractors is
for the convenience and purposes of the Division and Office and is not upon any business with or
for the Owner.

The Division acknowledges that while the construction activity is being conducted on the Property,
the Owner will not be excluded from carrying on normal activities, including the movement of
machinery and equipment.

The Division agrees that they will require their contractors, subcontractors, or both, who enter upon
the Property to perform the construction activity, to maintain insurance coverage to protect the
Owner and the Division from liability for negligent acts or omissions on the part of said contractor,
subcontractor, or both, as is required under the Division’s contract for the construction activity, and
upon request by the Owner, the Division will furnish evidence of such insurance to the Owner.

The Division accepts all of said premises and property and the structures, machinery, equipment,
and facilities therein and thereon in the condition they now are and from time to time hereafter may
be. Provided that this paragraph does not affect enforcement jurisdiction of the Division or Office
under the Act and Title V of the Federal Act for any active mining operations occurring on such
premises.

This Agreement shall be binding upon and shall inure to the benefit of the heirs, successors and
assigns of the parties.

Additional Conditions:

a
b.
C.
d
WITNESS the following signatures on this day of , 19
Witness:
Owner/Authorized Agent
Date:

Abandoned Mine Land M anager
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy
Division of Mined Land Reclamation

DMLR-AML-123
Rev. 3/98 Page 2
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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

Dﬂple(irginia DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY
Mingsarlltd'ineml‘s’f DIVISION OF MINED LAND RECLAMATION
WE:—: " Energy‘ 1era P. 0. DRAWER 900; BIG STONE GAP, VA 24219

TELEPHONE: (540) 523-8206

CONSENT FOR RIGHT OF ENTRY - Ingress/Egress
(Abandoned Mine Land Program)

|  Project | | Grant |
Owner of Record Acreage |
County Map No. | Parcel No. | Property Interest* |
City/County | Deed Book | Page(s) |

As the legal and rightful Owner of record (or authorized agent acting on behalf thereof) of the
Property, identified in the aforementioned records, | (we) do hereby grant (and commit such heirs,
successors, and assigns herefrom) to the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of Mined
Land Reclamation (hereinafter referred to as “Division”) and to the U. S. Department of the Interior, Office
of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement (hereinafter referred to as “Office”), their agents,
employees, or contractors, the right of ingress and egress on the Property at the Division's and Office’s own
risk, cost and expense, to restore, reclaim, abate, control, or prevent the adverse effects of coa mining
practices, and to do all things necessary or expedient to protect the public health, safety, or general welfare.

Entry and reclamation and abatement work, if any, performed by the Division or Office, their
agents, employees, or contractors, is pursuant to the authority granted in the Virginia Coal Surface Mining
Control and Reclamation Act of 1979 (Act: 845.1-260 et seg. of the Code of Virginia), as anended and
the regulations promulgated thereunder (Subchapter VR, Part 4 VAC 25-130-874 and Part 4 VAC 25-130-
877 et seq.), and Title IV of the Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act of 1977 (Federal Act: 30
U.S.C. 1231 et seq.).

| (we) give this right of entry consent to enter the Property for the length of time necessary to
complete the construction work described in the aforesaid grant between the Office and the Division, to
accomplish the reclamation project located on the Property, subject to the Owner’s continued ownership and
use of the property.

In granting consent to this entry, the Owner does not waive any rights conferred upon it by virtue of
the language contained in the Act, as amended and the regulations promulgated thereunder. The Division or
Office does not waive its rights or responsibilities conferred by the Act and Title IV of the Federal Act.

Nothing contained herein will be deemed to be an expressed or implied waiver of the sovereign
immunity of the Commonwealth or its duly authorized representatives, agents and/or employees.

As consideration for the granting of this consent to enter upon said Property, the Division and
Office agree that the following provisions are to be a part of the Consent for Right of Entry:

1 All Activity conducted and authorized by the Division and Office on the Property will be at the
expense of the Division and Office.

2. The entry upon the Property by the Division and Office, their agents, employees and contractors is
for the convenience and purposes of the Division and Office and is not upon any business with or
for the Owner.

* Property Interest: Surface only, Mineral Only, Lessee, or Fee

DMLR-AML-177
Rev. 3/98 Page 1
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Division of Mined Land Reclamation
Consent for Right of Entry - Ingress’Egress (AML Program)

3. The Division acknowledges that while the construction activity is being conducted on the Property,
the Owner will not be excluded from carrying on normal activities, including the movement of
machinery and equipment.

4. The Division agrees that they will require their contractors, subcontractors, or both, who enter upon
the Property to perform the construction activity, to maintain insurance coverage to protect the
Owner and the Division from liability for negligent acts or omissions on the part of said contractor,
subcontractor, or both, as is required under the Division’s contract for the construction activity, and
upon request by the Owner, the Division will furnish evidence of such insurance to the Owner.

5. The Division will, at its expense, substantially restore the Property to its condition prior to changes
made by the Division, its agents, contractors or representatives unless the Division and the Owner
agree otherwise.

6. This Agreement shall be binding upon and shall inure to the benefit of the heirs, successors and
assigns of the parties.
7. Additional Conditions:
a
b.
C.
d.
WITNESS the following signatures on this day of , 19
By: Witness:

Owner /Authorized Agent

By: Date:
Abandoned Mine Land M anager
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy
Division of Mined Land Reclamation

DMLR-AML-177
Rev. 3/98 Page 2
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IRREVOCABLE STANDBY LETTER OF CREDIT

Irrevocable Standby Letter of Credit Date:

Number:

Commonwealth of Virginia (Name

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy Address

Division of Mined Land Reclamation &

Post Office Drawer 900 Telephone

Big Stone Gap, Virginia 24219 Number)
Gentlemen:

In accordance with Section 45.1-241(C) of the Code of Virginia, we hereby issue our Irrevocable
Letter of Credit (on certain designated funds) in your favor for the account of (must state the exact name that

appears on the permit) , Permit Number for the

sum or sums not to exceed atotal of U.S. Dollars ($ USD )

available by your draft(s) on us at sight.

This Letter of Credit will expire at our counters on

It is a condition of this Letter of Credit that it will be automatically extended for additional periods of
one (1) year from the present or each future expiration date unless we have notified you in writing, not less
than thirty (30) days before the annual expiration date, that we elect not to renew this Letter of Credit. The
Notice of such election shall be sent by registered mail, return receipt requested, and received by the Director
of the Division of Mined Land Reclamation (hereafter referred to as “DMLR”), Post Office Drawer 900; Big
Stone Gap, Virginia 24219 (or any change of address provided by the DMLR heresfter to us): or we may hand
deliver the written Notice to, and obtain a written, dated receipt from the Director of DMLR at the DMLR’'s
Big Stone Gap office.

This credit is subject to the Uniform Customs and Practice for Documentary Credits (1993
Revision) International Chamber of Commerce (Publication No. 500).

We further agree that unless expressly stated otherwise herein, the terms and obligations represented
by this credit shall be governed by the Uniform Commercial Code of the Commonwesalth of Virginia and/or
any other pertinent Virginia law. We agree that the proper forum for trial of any dispute involving our
liability to the Commonwealth of Virginia, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of Mined
Land Reclamation, on this Letter of Credit shall lie in the Wise County Circuit Court, Wise, Virginia pursuant
to our intent hereby to do business in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Attached hereto is a certified copy of the Corporation’s Resolution authorizing the undersigned to

execute this Letter of Credit on behalf of (name of Bank).
All drafts drawn under this credit shall state that they are, “Drawn under L etter
of Credit Number , dated for Permit No.

We hereby agree that drafts drawn under and in compliance with the terms of the Irrevocable Letter of
Credit will be duly honored on due presentation to the Drawee.

By:
Title:
DMLR-PT-255
Rev. 7/98
Page 1
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GOVERNOR

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER NINE (98)

CREATING THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF
TECHNOLOGY AND ESTABLISHING A BLUE RIBBON
COMMISSION, THE GOVERNOR’S COMMISSION ON

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under
Article V of the Constitution of Virginia, and under the laws of
the Commonwealth including but not limited to Section 2.1-
51.27 and Section 2.1-51.36 of the Code of Virginia, and
subject to my continuing and ultimate authority and
responsibility to act in such matters, | hereby create the
Cabinet level position of Secretary of Technology and create
the Governor's Commission on Information Technology.

Preamble

Never in history has a single industry brought about more
change in less time than has the information technology
industry. It is affecting everyone, everywhere, every day,
and it complements the growth of other advanced technology
industries. Within this context, Virginia is rapidly emerging
as a world technology leader. Already home to perhaps the
greatest concentration of Internet businesses in the world, as
well as a broad and expanding information and advanced
technology base, Virginia government needs to ensure that
its policies, education infrastructure, and use of technology
encourage continued growth of the Commonwealth’s
technology base. Focused attention to these areas offers the
best assurance that all parts of the Commonwealth
participate in Virginia's emergence as a world technology
center.

With Virginia’s technology sector growing at a rate of more
than three times the rate of the Commonwealth’s overall
economy, it is essential that we establish a single point of
responsibility and accountability for information technology
through the appointment of a Secretary of Technology.

Part 1: Office of the Secretary of Technology

In order to ensure the coordinated planning and effective
development of information technology resources in the
Commonwealth, | hereby establish the position of the
Secretary of Technology, who shall serve as the Chief
Information Officer of the Commonwealth. The Secretary of
Technology will report directly to the Governor and hold
Cabinet rank.

The Secretary of Technology will be a top official
committed to the technology sector who will encourage both
the use of efficient technology by state government and
appropriate initiatives to ensure a technology-friendly
business climate across the Commonwealth. It shall be the
responsibility of the Secretary of Technology to:

Direct and coordinate development of a statewide
information infrastructure to facilitate more efficient
communication and operation of government and
education systems and processes.

Develop and promote a strategy to train, educate, and
support a technology workforce, with particular
emphasis on the Commonwealth’s college and
university system.

Develop and promote policy recommendations for
creating a business environment that encourages the
location and expansion of information and advanced
technology businesses.

Develop and promote a business strategy to encourage
statewide investment in information and advanced
technology businesses, with particular emphasis on
regions where employment and economic development
require more focused attention.

Coordinate the activities of the Department of
Information Technology (DIT) and the Council on
Information Management (CIM).

Work closely with the Century Date Change Initiative
Project Office to ensure the Commonwealth is in
compliance with the upcoming date change.

Work with the Department of General Services to ensure
the facilitation of new, business driven procurement
solutions.

Part 2. The Governor’'s Commission on Information
Technology

| hereby create the Governor's Commission on Information
Technology. The Commission is classified as a
gubernatorial advisory commission in accordance with
Sections 2.1-51.35 and 9-6.25 of the Code of Virginia.

The Commission shall advise the Governor on the
implementation of a statewide information technology
initiative.  This initiative shall include critical issues of
workforce training and education, business environment, and
statewide technology investment strategy.

The specific duties of the Commission shall include the
following:

The Commission shall advise the Governor as to how to
establish the most comprehensive long-term policies
and planning to ensure cooperation between state
government and the information technology industry.
Any recommendations involving tax and regulatory
policy shall be made to the Governor through the
Secretary of Finance.

The Commission shall advise the Governor on
development of the state’s information technology
infrastructure to facilitate state-of-the-art
communications capabilities by and among state and
local governments, libraries, and universities.

The Commission shall assist the Governor's Blue
Ribbon Commission on Higher Education in advising the
Governor on all matters involving workforce training to
ensure that the Commonwealth’s colleges and her
business community recognize the singular mission of
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Governor

meeting the workforce needs in the 21st Century to
produce a well-educated, well-informed, and involved
citizenry.

The Commission shall be composed of no more than 30
members, appointed by the Governor and serving at his

pleasure. The Commission shall include a broad
representation of business leaders from across the
Commonwealth. It shall also include bipartisan
representation from the Virginia General Assembly.

Membership on the Commission shall consist of the
Secretary of Technology, the Secretary of Education, the
Secretary of Commerce and Trade, 21 business leaders, and
six members of the General Assembly.

The Secretary of Technology shall serve as Chairman of
the Commission and shall direct the work of the
Commission. The Governor shall appoint a Vice Chairman
from the private sector to work directly with the Chairman.

Members of the Commission shall serve without
compensation but shall receive reimbursement for expenses
incurred in the discharge of their official duties only upon
approval by the Secretary of Technology.

Such staff support as is necessary for the Commission’s
work during the term of its existence shall be furnished by
the Office of the Governor, the Offices of the Governor's
Secretaries, the Department of Information Technology, the
Council on Information Management, and other such
executive department agencies as the Governor may
designate.

An estimated 5,000 hours of staff time will be required to
support the work of the Commission. Funding necessary to
support the Commission’s work shall be provided from
sources, including both private contributions and state funds
appropriated for purposes related to the work of the
Commission, as authorized by Section 2.1-51.37 of the Code
of Virginia. Direct expenditures for the Commission’s work
are estimated to be $103,000.

The Commission shall complete its work and issue a final
report to the Governor no later than December 1, 1999,
unless the Governor shall direct otherwise, subject to
issuance of an appropriate continuation order pursuant to
Section 2.1-51.37 of the Code of Virginia. The Commission
shall issue interim reports and make recommendations at
such times as it deems appropriate, or upon the Governor’s
request.

Part 3: Supervision of agencies by the Governor’s
secretaries

The Department of Information Technology (DIT) and the
Council on Information management (CIM), now reporting to
the Secretary of Administration, are hereby reassigned to the
Secretary of Technology pursuant to my authority under
Section 2.1-51.27 of the Code of Virginia. The Governor will
request introduction of legislation to the 1999 session of the
General Assembly to codify this action.

Part 3 of this Executive Order amends Executive Order
Thirty-One (94), Authority and Responsibility of the

Governor's Secretaries and Other Senior Executive Branch
Officials, issued by Governor Allen on October 25, 1994.

This Executive Order amends Executive Order Nineteen
(94), Exempting Certain Staff positions from the Personnel
Act, issued by Governor Allen on June 30, 1994, to include
all positions in the Office of the Secretary of Technology.

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing
and shall remain in force and effect until June 30, 2001,
unless amended or rescinded by further executive order.

Given under my hand and the seal of the Commonwealth
of Virginia this 21st day of May, 1998.

/sl James S. Gilmore, I
Governor

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-248; Filed May 27, 1998, 10:47 a.m.
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SCHEDULES FOR COMPREHENSIVE REVIEW OF REGULATIONS

Governor George Allen issued and made effective Executive Order Number Fifteen (94) on June 21, 1994. This Executive
Order was published in The Virginia Register of Regulations on July 11, 1994 (10:21 VA.R. 5457-5461 July 11, 1994). The
Executive Order directs state agencies to conduct a comprehensive review of all existing regulations to be completed by
January 1, 1997, and requires a schedule for the review of regulations to be developed by the agency and published in The
Virginia Register of Regulations. This section of the Virginia Register has been reserved for the publication of agencies'

review schedules. Agencies will receive public comment on the following regulations listed for review.

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Pursuant to Executive Order Number Fifteen (94), the
Department of Social Services is currently reviewing the
below listed regulation to determine if it should be
terminated, amended, or retained in its current form. The
review will be guided by the principles listed in Executive
Order Number Fifteen (94) and in the department’s Plan for
Review of Existing Agency Regulations.

The department seeks public comment regarding the
regulation’s interference in private enterprise and life,
essential need of the regulation, less burdensome and
intrusive alternatives to the regulation, specific and
measurable goals that the regulation is intended to achieve,
and whether the regulation is clearly written and easily
understandable.

The regulation is:

22 VAC 40-890-10 et seq., Human Subject Research
Regulations. Contact: Sue Murdock; Management Lead
Analyst; Research, Evaluation and Legislation Services Unit;
telephone (804) 692-1885 or FAX (804) 692-1808.

Written comments may be submitted until July 22, 1998, in
care of the above listed contact at 730 East Broad Street,
Richmond, Virginia 23219-1849, or by facsimile to the above
listed number.
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION
AT RICHMOND, MAY 27, 1998
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
At the relation of the
STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION
CASE NO. PUC980056

Ex Parte: In the matter of
revising the telephone relay
service surcharge pursuant to
Article 5, Chapter 15, Title 56
of the Code of Virginia

ORDER

The 1998 Session of the Virginia General Assembly
reauthorized the continuation of the  Virginia
Telecommunications Relay Center to furnish telephone relay
service ("TRS"). In the Joint Conference Committee Report
on House Bill No. 30, 1998 Session March 17, 1998, at p.48,
the General Assembly specifically instructed the Department
of Information Technology to require, in developing a request
for proposals, that (1) the relay center be located in Norton,
Virginia; (2) a minimum employment level of 104 full-time
communications assistants be maintained; and (3) the
contract be renewable for up to five years. These criteria
effectively limit the bidding for the contract to furnish relay
service to a single vendor.

By Order of October 5, 1990, in Case No. PUC900029, the
Commission established the assessment, collection and
disbursement of rate surcharges authorized by § 56-484.6 of
the Code of Virginia in order to fund the relay center.
Pursuant to that section and the directives of the General
Assembly, it is the Commission's duty to assure adequate
revenues to fund operation of the relay center in accordance
with the conditions described above. The Department of
Information Technology and AT&T Communications have
reached an agreement that conforms to the General
Assembly directives and substantially increases the per-
minute charges for AT&T to operate the relay center under
the conditions imposed. Based upon those charges, the
Commission has determined that the ten cents surcharge
established by our order of October5, 1990, must be
increased to sixteen cents in order to produce sufficient
revenues to fund the operation of the relay center for the
fiscal year commencing July 1, 1998. Accordingly,

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT:

(1) This matter is hereby docketed and assigned Case
No. PUC980056.

(2) Commencing with telephone service rendered on and
after September 1, 1998, each Virginia local exchange
company ("LEC") shall impose a $.16 per month surcharge
on each access line or equivalent Centrex access line and
shall continue such surcharge monthly until further order of
the Commission. LECs shall notify their customers of the
increased surcharge. LECs shall continue to identify the

surcharge on each customer bill as a line item named
"Virginia Relay Center surcharge" or a suitable abbreviation
of that phrase.

(3) Each Virginia LEC, on October 1, 1998, and monthly
thereafter, shall, pursuant to instructions from the Director of
the Division of Public Service Taxation, pay over to the
Commission's Division of Public Service Taxation the funds
collected from the surcharge, less a 2% commission as
authorized by § 56-484.6B of the Code of Virginia.

(4) All Virginia LECs shall continue to comply with the
Commission's Order of October5, 1990, in Case
No. PUC900029. In addition, all LECs shall (1) apply a total
service uncollectible allowance, and (2) determine Centrex
access line equivalents in the manner described in the Staff
Report on Telecommunications Relay Services Remittances
for the Three Years Ending June 30, 1996, produced by the
Division of Public Utility Accounting.  All reports or
information required by this Order, by that previous order, or
as needed by the Commission's Divisions of Public Service
Taxation, Public Utility Accounting, Economics and Finance,
or Communications concerning the Virginia Relay Center
shall be submitted to those divisions.

(5) This matter is continued generally and this docket shall
remain open to address any additional matters that may
arise concerning funding of the Virginia Relay Center.

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of
the Commission to: Virginia's local exchange companies as
set out in Appendix A attached hereto; the Virginia
Department for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, Washington
Building, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219-3460;
the Department of Information Technology, P.O. Box 1199,
Richmond, Virginia 23209; the Division of Consumer
Counsel, Office of the Attorney General, 900 East Main
Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219; the Commission's Office
of General Counsel; and to the Commission's Divisions of
Communications, Public Utility Accounting, Economics and
Finance, and Public Service Taxation.

VA.R. Doc. No. C98-1386; Filed June 2, 1998, 11:48 a.m.

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION

Notice to Subscribers

Beginning with Volume 14, Issue 1 of the Virginia Register
(14:1 VA.R. September 29, 1997), the format of the Register
changed slightly. Regulations and other information
previously published in the State Corporation Commission,
Marine Resources Commission, State Lottery Department,
and Tax Bulletin sections have been merged into the
Proposed Regulations, Final Regulations, Emergency
Regulations, or General Notices sections as appropriate. In
addition, regulations appear in order by Virginia
Administrative Code (VAC) title order to correspond with the
VAC.
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General Notices/Errata

Notice to State Agencies

Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA
23219. You may FAX in your notice; however, we ask that
you FAX two copies and do not follow up with a mailed copy.
Our FAX number is: (804) 692-0625.

Forms for Filing Material for Publication in The
Virginia Register of Regulations

All agencies are required to use the appropriate forms when
furnishing material for publication in The Virginia Register of
Regulations. The forms may be obtained from: Virginia
Code Commission, 910 Capitol Street, General Assembly
Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
786-3591.

Internet: Forms and other Virginia Register resources may
be printed or downloaded from the Virginia Register web
page:
http://legis.state.va.us/codecomm/register/regindex.htm

FORMS:
NOTICE of INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION - RR0O1
NOTICE of COMMENT PERIOD - RR02
PROPOSED (Transmittal Sheet) - RR03
FINAL (Transmittal Sheet) - RR04
EMERGENCY (Transmittal Sheet) - RR05
NOTICE of MEETING - RR06
AGENCY RESPONSE TO LEGISLATIVE OBJECTIONS
- RRO8
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CALENDAR OF EVENTS

Symbol Key
T Indicates entries since last publication of the Virginia Register
Location accessible to handicapped
@& Telecommunications Device for Deaf (TDD)/Voice Designation

cancellation.

(http://legl.state.va.us/lis.htm) and select "Meetings."

NOTICE

Only those meetings which are filed with the Registrar of Regulations by the filing deadline noted at the beginning of this
publication are listed. Since some meetings are called on short notice, please be aware that this listing of meetings may be
incomplete. Also, all meetings are subject to cancellation and the Virginia Register deadline may preclude a notice of such

For additional information on open meetings and public hearings held by the standing committees of the legislature during
the interim, please call Legislative Information at (804) 698-1500 or Senate Information and Constituent Services at (804)
698-7410 or (804) 698-7419/TDD@&, or visit the General Assembly web site's Legislative Information System

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION

EXECUTIVE

BOARD FOR ACCOUNTANCY

July 20, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting

July 21, 1998 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

An open meeting to discuss regulatory review,
committee reports, disciplinary cases and other matters
requiring board action. Call the board office to confirm
date and time of meeting. A public comment period will
be held at the beginning of the meeting. Persons
desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring
special accommodations or interpreter services should
contact the department at least 10 days prior to the
meeting so that suitable arrangements can be made.
The department fully complies with the Americans with
Disabilities Act.

Contact: Nancy Taylor Feldman, Assistant Director,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone
(804) 367-8590 or (804) 367-9753/TDD @

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER
SERVICES

T July 21, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Eastern Shore Virginia Chamber of Commerce, U. S. Route
13, Melfa, Virginia.

A regular meeting to discuss Virginia agriculture and
consumer protection. The board will entertain public
comment at the conclusion of all other business for a
period not to exceed 30 minutes. Any person who needs
any accommodation in order to participate at the
meeting should contact Roy E. Seward at least five days
before the meeting date so that suitable arrangements
can be made.

Contact: Roy E. Seward, Secretary to the Board,
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box
1163, Room 211, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804)
786-3538 or FAX (804) 371-7679.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND
CONSUMER SERVICES

Virginia Horse Industry Board

July 9, 1998 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting

VPI & SU, Donaldson Brown Continuing Education Center
and Alumni Hall, Conference Room C, Blacksburg,
Virginia. &

A meeting to review reports on grants previously
awarded and discuss updates on recent marketing
projects. Budget items will also be reviewed as well as
future marketing projects. The board will entertain
public comments at the conclusion of all other business
for a period not to exceed 30 minutes. Any person who
needs any accommodations in order to participate at the
meeting should contact Andrea S. Heid at least five days
before the meeting date so that suitable arrangements
can be made.

Contact: Andrea S. Heid, Equine Marketing
Specialist/Program Manager, Virginia Horse Industry Board,
1100 Bank St., Suite 1004, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone
(804) 786-5842 or FAX (804) 371-7786.

Virginia Sheep Industry Board

July 10, 1998 - 3:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Ryan's Steak House, 2580 North Franklin
Christiansburg, Virginia.l

Street,

The board will (i) hear reports on previously funded
projects, (ii) make plans for serving lamb at the Virginia
Food Festival, (iii) continue plans for a Virginia Sheep
Industry Directory, and (iv) consider a policy for
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Calendar of Events

accepting funding requests. The board will entertain
public comments at the conclusion of all other business
for a period not to exceed 30 minutes. Any person who
needs any accommodation in order to participate at the
meeting should contact Mike Carpenter at least five days
before the meeting date so that suitable arrangements
can be made.

Contact: Mike Carpenter, Program Director, Livestock
Marketing Services, Department of Agriculture and
Consumer Services, 116 Reservoir St., Harrisonburg, VA
22801, telephone (540) 434-0779 or FAX (540) 434-5607.

Virginia Small Grains Board

July 28, 1998 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Richmond Airport Hilton, 5501 Eubank Road, Sandston,
Virginia. &

A meeting to (i) hear FY 1997-98 project reports, (ii)
receive FY 1998-99 project proposals, and (iii) allocate
funding for FY 1998-99 projects. Additionally, action will
be taken on any other new business that comes before
the board. The board will entertain public comment at
the conclusion of all other business for a period not to
exceed 30 minutes. Any person who needs any
accommodation in order to participate at the meeting
should contact Philip T. Hickman at least five days
before the meeting date so that suitable arrangements
can be made.

Contact: Philip T. Hickman, Program Director, Virginia
Small Grains Board, Washington Bldg., 1100 Bank St.,
Room 1005, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-
6157 or FAX (804) 371-7786.

Virginia Soybean Board

August 6, 1998 - 2:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Colonial Acres Farm, 7031 South Laburnum Avenue,
Richmond, Virginia.&

A meeting to discuss checkoff revenues and the
financial status of the board following the end of the
fiscal year ending June 30, 1998. The Virginia 1998
Corn and Soybean Conference financial report will be
discussed along with the Ag-Expo plans for the
upcoming event, as well as reports from the Chairman
of the United Soybean Board representatives, and from
other committees. The board will entertain public
comment at the conclusion of all other business for a
period not to exceed 30 minutes. Any person who needs
any accommodation in order to participate at the
meeting should contact Phil Hickman at least five days
before the meeting date so that suitable arrangements
can be made.

Contact: Philip T. Hickman, Program Director, Virginia
Soybean Board, 1100 Bank St., Suite 1005, Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 371-6157 or FAX (804) 371-7786.

Virginia Winegrowers Advisory Board

T July 21, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
State Capitol, Capitol Square, House Room 1, Richmond,
Virginia.&

A regular meeting to elect officers for the upcoming
year, including a new chairman, and to conduct regular
business including discussion of committee reports.
The board will entertain public comment at the
conclusion of all other business for a period not to
exceed 30 minutes. Any person who needs any
accommodations in order to participate at the meeting
should contact Mary E. Davis-Barton at least five days
before the meeting date so that suitable arrangements
can be made.

Contact: Mary E. Davis-Barton, Secretary, Virginia
Winegrowers Advisory Board, Department of Agriculture and
Consumer Services, 1100 Bank St., Room 1010, Richmond,
VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7685 or FAX (804) 786-
3122.

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD

June 29, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage
Road, Richmond, Virginia.l&

A meeting to receive reports from and discuss activities
of staff members, and to discuss other matters not yet
determined.

Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn, Secretary to the Board,
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage
Rd., P.O. Box 27491, Richmond, VA 23261, telephone (804)
213-4409 or FAX (804) 213-4442.

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS AND LEAD

August 25, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Conference Room 5 West,
Richmond, Virginia.&

A meeting to conduct routine business. A public
comment period will be held at the beginning of the
meeting. Persons desiring to participate in the meeting
and requiring special accommodations or interpreter
services should contact the board at least 10 days prior
to the meeting so that suitable arrangements can be
made. The board fully complies with the Americans with
Disabilities Act.

Contact: David E. Dick, Assistant Director, Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8595,
FAX (804) 367-2475, (804) 367-9753/TDD &, or e-mail
asbestos@dpor.state.va.us.
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Calendar of Events

COMPREHENSIVE SERVICES FOR AT-RISK
YOUTH AND THEIR FAMILIES

State Management Team

T July 2, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting

St. Joseph’'s Villa, 8000 Brook Road, Board Room,
Richmond, Virginia.B (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A meeting to discuss recommendations for policies and
procedures to the State Executive Council on the
Comprehensive Services Act.

Contact: Elisabeth Hutton, Secretary, Department of
Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone
(804) 371-4099.

AUCTIONEERS BOARD

T July 14, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to conduct general board business. Persons
desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring
special accommodations or interpreter services should
contact the department at least 10 days prior to the
meeting so that suitable arrangements can be made.
The department fully complies with the Americans with
Disabilities Act.

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514 or
(804) 367-9753/TDD &

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE
PATHOLOGY

T June 25, 1998 - 9 a.m. — Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.&

A meeting of the Joint Task Force Committee of the
Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology
and the Board for Hearing Aid Specialists to discuss the
drafting of legislation that would combine the two
boards. Public comment will be heard for 15 minutes
prior to the beginning of the meeting.

Contact: Senita Booker, Senior Program Support
Technician, Department of Health Professions, 6606 W.
Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone
(804) 662-7390, FAX (804) 662-9523 or (804) 662-7197/TDD
=

BOARD FOR BRANCH PILOTS

T July 27, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting

T July 30, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Virginia Port Authority, 600 World Trade Center, Norfolk,
Virginia.&

A meeting to conduct board business. Persons desiring
to participate in the meeting and requiring special
accommodations or interpreter services should contact
the board at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that
suitable arrangements can be made. The board fully
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514 or
(804) 367-9753/TDD &

STATE BOARD FOR COMMUNITY COLLEGES

T July 8, 1998 - Time to be announced -- Open Meeting
Virginia Community College System, James Monroe
Building, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

Meetings of board committees will be held throughout
the day with times and meeting rooms to be announced.

Contact: Dr. Joy S. Graham, Assistant Chancellor, Public
Affairs, Virginia Community College System, James Monroe
Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 15th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 225-2126, FAX (804) 371-0085, or (804)
371-8504/TDD &

T July 9, 1998 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Virginia Community College System, James Monroe
Building, 101 North 14th Street, Godwin-Hamel Board
Room, 15th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. (Interpreter for the
deaf provided upon request)

A regular board meeting.

Contact: Dr. Joy S. Graham, Assistant Chancellor, Public
Affairs, Virginia Community College System, James Monroe
Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 15th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 225-2126, FAX (804) 371-0085, or (804)
371-8504/TDD &

COMPENSATION BOARD

June 25, 1998 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Ninth Street Office Building, 202 North Ninth Street, 10th
Floor Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.@ (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

A monthly board meeting.

Contact: Cindy Waddell, Administrative Assistant,
Compensation Board, 202 N. 9th St., 10th Floor, Richmond,
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0786 or FAX (804) 371-
0235.
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DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND
RECREATION

July 7, 1998 - Noon -- Open Meeting

First Landing/Seashore State Park, Visitor's Center, 2500
Shore Drive, Virginia Beach, Virginia@ (Interpreter for the
deaf provided upon request)

A meeting of the State Park Master Plan Team to revise
the park master plan.

Contact: Derral Jones, Environmental Program Manager,
Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 Governor
St., Suite 326, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
9042 or FAX (804) 371-7899.

July 15, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting

August 20, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting

James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, Conference
Room B, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting for development of model ordinance and
educational materials regarding wetlands, riparian
buffers and environment erosion control structures.
Public comments will be received at the end of the
meeting.

Contact: Leon E. App, Agency Regulatory Coordinator, 203
Governor Street, Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone
(804) 786-4570 or FAX (804) 786-6141.

June 30, 1998 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Pocahontas State Park, 10301 State
Chesterfield, Virginia.

Park Road,

A regular business meeting. Public comments will be
received at the end of the meeting.

Contact: Leon E. App, Agency Regulatory Coordinator, 203
Governor Street, Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone
(804) 786-4570 or FAX (804) 786-6141.

Board on Conservation and Development of Public
Beaches

June 29, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Marine Resources Commission, Meeting Room, Newport
News, Virginia (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A meeting to (i) discuss proposals from localities
requesting matching grant funds; (ii) review projects
approved for the 1996-98 biennium; (iii) review the
budget for the 1998-00 biennium and; (iv) receive public
comments about public beaches or the activities of the
board.

Contact: Carlton Lee Hill, Staff Advisor, Department of
Conservation and Recreation, 203 Governor St., Suite 206,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3998 or FAX
(804) 786-1798.

Falls of the James Scenic River Advisory Board

July 9, 1998 - Noon -- Open Meeting

City Hall, 900 East Broad Street, Planning Commission
Conference  Room, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to review river issues. A public comment
period will follow the business meeting.

Contact: Richard G. Gibbons, Environmental Program
Manager, Department of Conservation and Recreation,
Division of Planning and Recreation Resources, 203
Governor St., Suite 326, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone
(804) 786-4132 or FAX (804) 371-7899.

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS

June 24, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Conference Room 4 W, Richmond,
Virginia. &

A quarterly meeting of the Tradesman Certification
Committee to consider items of interest relating to the
tradesmen section of the Board for Contractors.

Contact: Jan McMahon, Administrative Assistant,
Tradesman  Certification  Program, Department  of
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-6166.

BOARD OF CORRECTIONS

July 14, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting

August 11, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Drive, Board
Room, Richmond, Virginia.l&

A meeting of the Correctional Services Committee to
discuss correctional services matters which may be
presented to the board.

Contact: Barbara Fellows, Secretary to the Board,
Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Dr., Richmond, VA
23225, telephone (804) 674-3235 or FAX (804) 674-3130.

July 15, 1998 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting

August 12, 1998 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Drive, Richmond,
Virginia. &

A meeting of the Administration Committee to discuss
administrative matters which may be presented to the
full board.

Contact: Barbara Fellows, Secretary to the Board,
Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Dr., Richmond, VA
23225, telephone (804) 674-3235 or FAX (804) 674-3130.
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July 15, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting

August 12, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Drive, Richmond,
Virginia. &

A meeting of the full board to discuss matters which
may be presented.

Contact: Barbara Fellows, Secretary to the Board,
Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Dr., Richmond, VA
23225, telephone (804) 674-3235 or FAX (804) 674-3130.

BOARD FOR COSMETOLOGY

T July 13, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Conference Room 5 West,
Richmond, Virginia.&

The board and invited subject matter experts will meet to
conduct an exam workshop. A public comment period
will be held at the beginning of the workshop. After the
public comment period, the workshop will be conducted
in closed executive session under the authority of § 2.1-
344 A 11 of the Code of Virginia due to the confidential
nature of the examination. The public will not be
admitted to the closed executive session.

Contact: Sharon M. Sweet, Examination Director,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone
(804) 367-8572 or (804) 367-9753/TDD @

BOARD OF DENTISTRY

July 10, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting

July 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting

July 24, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

The Special Conference Committee will meet to hear
disciplinary cases. This is a public meeting; however,
no public comment will be taken.

Contact: Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9906 or (804) 662-
7197/TDD @

July 10, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

The Legislative/Regulatory Committee will meet to
discuss proposing emergency regulations pursuant to §
54.1-2712.1, restricted volunteer license for certain
dentists and § 54.1-2726.1, restricted volunteer license
for certain dental hygienists. Public comment will be
received at the beginning of the meeting.

Contact: Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9906 or (804) 662-
7197/TDD @

T July 10, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A panel of the board will conduct formal hearings to hear
disciplinary cases. This is a public meeting; however,
no public comment will be taken.

Contact: Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9906 or (804) 662-
7197/TDD @

DISABILITY SERVICES COUNCIL

July 29, 1998 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms
Drive, Richmond, Virginia. (Interpreter for the deaf will be
provided)

A meeting to review the FY 1999 Rehabilitative Services
Incentive Fund (RSIF) Competitive Proposals for
approval.

Contact: LaDonna Rogers, Administrative Staff Assistant,
Disability Services Council, 8004 Franklin Farms Dr.,
Richmond, VA 23288, telephone (804) 662-7154/Voice/TTY,
toll-free 1-800-552-5019 or 1-800-464-9950/TDD @

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Virginia Ground Water Protection Steering
Committee

July 21, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street,
First Floor, Training Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A regularly scheduled meeting. Anyone interested in
ground water protection issues is encouraged to attend.
To obtain a meeting agenda contact Mary Ann Massie at
(804) 698-4042.

Contact: Mary Ann Massie, Environmental Program
Planner, Department of Environmental Quality, P. O. Box
10009, Richmond, VA 23240-0009, telephone (804) 698-
4042 or FAX (804) 698-4032.
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DEPARTMENT OF FORESTRY

Reforestation of Timberlands Board

June 24, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Department of Forestry, Fontaine Research Park, 900
Natural Resources Drive, Charlottesville, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to review preliminary information addressing
the study of the Reforestation of Timberlands Program.

Contact: Phil T. Grimm, Staff Forester, Department of
Forestry, P.O. Box 3758, Charlottesville, VA 22903,
telephone (804) 977-6555 or FAX (804) 296-2369.

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND
EMBALMERS

June 29, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting

The Hotel Roanoke and Conference Center, Roanoke,
Virginia.&
A meeting to conduct a formal hearing. Public

comments will not be received.

Contact: Cheri Emma-Leigh, Administrative Staff Assistant,
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6606 W. Broad
St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804)
662-9907 or FAX (804) 662-9523.

July 1, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
The Hotel Roanoke and Conference Center,
Virginia.&

Roanoke,

A general board meeting. Public comments will be
received for 15 minutes at the beginning of the meeting.

Contact: Cheri Emma-Leigh, Administrative Staff Assistant,
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6606 W. Broad
St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804)
662-9907 or FAX (804) 662-9523.

Tt August 12, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.l&

A meeting of the Regulatory and Bylaws Committee to
discuss crematory regulations. Public comments will be
received for 15 minutes at the beginning of the meeting.

Contact: Cheri Emma-Leigh, Administrative Staff Assistant,
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6606 W. Broad
St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804)
662-9907 or FAX (804) 662-9523.

DEPARTMENT OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES

T June 29, 1998 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad
Street, Richmond, Virginia@ (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A public hearing to receive comments regarding: (i) a
DGIF regulation amendment proposed by the Board of
Game and Inland Fisheries at its April 2, 1998, meeting
which would allow any nontoxic shot approved by the
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service for use in waterfowl
hunting to be approved for such use in Virginia by the
Director of the Department of Game and Inland
Fisheries and (ii) season lengths and bag limits for the
1998-1999 hunting seasons for webless migratory game
birds (dove, rails, snipe, and woodcock) and for
September Canada goose season. Wildlife Division
staff will present frameworks provided by the U.S. Fish
and Wildlife Service for these species. The public's
comments will be solicited in the public hearing portion
of the meeting.

A summary of the results of this public hearing will be
presented to the Board of Game and Inland Fisheries at
its scheduled July 16-17, 1998, meeting. At the July 16-
17 meeting the board will hold another public hearing,
after which it intends to adopt final regulation
amendments and 1998-1999 hunting seasons and bag
limits for webless migratory game birds and the
September Canada goose season.

For more information, call the Virginia Department of
Game and Inland Fisheries at (804) 367-1000.

Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Department of Game
and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad St., Richmond, VA
23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or FAX (804) 367-2311.

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES

Design-Build/Construction Management Review
Board

July 20, 1998 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting

August 17, 1998 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting

The Library of Virginia, 800 East Broad Street, Richmond,
Virginia.®B (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to review requests submitted by localities for
the use of the design-build or construction management
type of contract. Public comments will be taken. The
chairman may cancel the meeting if there is not
business for the board’s consideration. Please contact
the Division of Engineering and Buildings to confirm
meeting date and time.

Contact: Sandra H. Williams, Board Clerk, Division of
Engineering and Buildings, Department of General Services,
805 E. Broad St., Room 101, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 786-3263 or (804) 786-6152/TDD &
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

Biosolids Use Information Committee

T July 9, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
UVA Richmond Center, 7740 Shrader Road, Suite E,
Richmond, Virginia.&

A meeting immediately following the 10 a.m.
Regulations Advisory Committee meeting to evaluate
specific concerns relating to the land application and
agricultural use of biosolids, including the final Biosolids
Use Regulations and the land application, marketing or
distribution of biosolids.

Contact: C. M. Sawyer, Director, Division of Wastewater
Engineering, Department of Health, Office of Water
Programs, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone
(804) 786-1755 or FAX (804) 371-2891.

Biosolids Use Regulations Advisory Committee

T July 9, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
UVA Richmond Center, 7740 Shrader Road, Suite E,
Richmond, Virginia.&

A meeting to discuss issues concerning the
implementation of the Biosolids Use Regulations
involving land application, distribution or marketing of
biosolids.

Contact: C. M. Sawyer, Director, Division of Wastewater
Engineering, Department of Health, Office of Water
Programs, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone
(804) 786-1755 or FAX (804) 371-2891.

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS

June 25, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 3, Richmond, Virginia.

Representatives from the Board for Hearing Aid
Specialists shall meet with representatives from the
Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology. A
public comment period will be held at the beginning of
the meeting. Persons desiring to participate in the
meeting and requiring special accommodations or
interpreter services should contact the department at
least 10 days prior to the meeting so that suitable
arrangements can be made. The department fully
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Contact: David E. Dick, Assistant Director, Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX
(804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753/TDD®&, e-mall
hearingaidspec@dpor.state.va.us.

VIRGINIA HISTORIC PRESERVATION
FOUNDATION

June 22, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Department of Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Avenue,
2nd Floor, Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting of the trustees of the foundation to consider
proposals to preserve significant threatened historic
properties through acquisition and resale with
appropriate protective covenants.

Contact: Robert A. Carter, Director, Community Services,
Department of Historic Resources, 10 Courthouse Ave.,
Petersburg, VA 23803, telephone (804) 863-1626, FAX (804)
863-1627 or (804) 367-2386/TDD &

HOPEWELL INDUSTRIAL SAFETY COUNCIL

July 7, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Hopewell Community Center, Second and City Point Road,
Hopewell, Virginia.B (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

Local Emergency Preparedness Committee meeting on
emergency preparedness as required by SARA Title IlI.

Contact: Robert Brown, Emergency Services Coordinator,
300 N. Main St., Hopewell, VA 23860, telephone (804) 541-
2298.

STATEWIDE INDEPENDENT LIVING COUNCIL

June 23, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms
Drive, Richmond, Virginia® (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A special planning meeting to finalize the State Plan for
Independent Living for Virginia.

Contact: Jim Rothrock, Statewide Independent Living
Council Staff, 1802 Marroit Rd., Richmond, VA 23229,
telephone (804) 673-0119, FAX (804) 282-7112, or e-mail
jarothrock@aol.com.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY

Apprenticeship Council

t August 5, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor Building,
13th South 13th Street, Richmond, Virginia.l (Interpreter for
the deaf provided upon request)

A regular meeting of the subcommittee of the council.

Contact: Bev Donati, Assistant Program Director,
Apprenticeship Program, Department of Labor and Industry,
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Powers-Taylor Bldg., 13 S. 13th St., Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 786-2382, FAX (804) 786-8418, or (804)
786-2376/TDD &

STATE LAND EVALUATION ADVISORY COUNCIL

August 11, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Department of Taxation, 2220 West Broad Street,
Richmond, Virginia.&

A meeting to adopt suggested ranges of values for
agricultural, horticultural, forest and open-space land
use and the use-value assessment program.

Contact: H. Keith Mawyer, Property Tax Manager,
Department of Taxation, Office of customer Services,
Property Tax Unit, 2220 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23220,
telephone (804) 367-8020.

COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT

July 20, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Commission on Local Government, Eighth Street Office
Building, 805 East Broad Street, Room 702, Richmond,
Virginia.® (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A regular meeting to consider such matters as may be
presented. Persons desiring to participate in the
meeting and requiring special accommodations or
interpreter services should contact the commission.

Contact: Barbara Bingham, Administrative Assistant,
Commission on Local Government, Eighth Street Office
Bldg., 805 E. Broad St., Room 702, Richmond, VA 23219-
1924, telephone (804) 786-6508, FAX (804) 371-7999 or
(804) 786-1860/TDD &

VIRGINIA MANUFACTURED HOUSING BOARD

July 28, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting

Ramada Plaza Resort Hotel, Oceanfront at 57th Street,
Virginia Beach, Virginia.® (Interpreter for the deaf provided
upon request)

A regular monthly meeting held in conjunction with the
Virginia Manufactured Housing Association’s Annual
Conference.

Contact: Curtis L. Mclver, Associate Director, Department
of Housing and Community Development, Manufactured
Housing Office, The Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St.,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7160 or (804)
371-7089/TDD &

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION

June 30, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting

T July 28, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting

t August 25, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting

t September 22, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue,
Room 403, Newport News, Virginia. (Interpreter for the
deaf provided upon request)

The commission will hear and decide the following
marine environmental matters at 9 a.m.: permit
applications for projects in wetlands, bottom lands,
coastal primary sand dunes and beaches; appeals of
local wetland board decisions; policy and regulatory
issues. The commission will hear and decide the
following fishery management items at approximately
noon: regulatory proposals, fishery management plans;
fishery conservation issues; licensing; shellfish leasing.
Meetings are open to the public. Testimony will be
taken under oath from parties addressing agenda items
on permits and licensing. Public comments will be
taken on resource matters, regulatory issues and items
scheduled for public hearing. The commission is
empowered to promulgate regulations in the areas of
marine environmental management and marine fishery
management.

Contact: LaVerne Lewis, Secretary to the Commission,
Marine Resources Commission, P.O. Box 756, Newport
News, VA 23607-0756, telephone (757) 247-2261, toll-free 1-
800-541-4646 or (757) 247-2292/TDD&

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES

June 26, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical
Assistance Services intends to adopt regulations
entitled: 12 VAC 30-100-10 et seq. Health Insurance
Program for Working Uninsured Individuals. These
regulations establish the Health Insurance Program for
Working Uninsured Individuals. The regulations define,
in a fair and equitable manner, who is eligible to receive
premium subsidies, how beneficiaries will be enrolled
and disenrolled, and what appeal rights they have. The
regulations outline the rights and responsibilities of the
providers and describe how the Department of Medical
Assistance Services monitors the services provided by
the managed care plans. The regulations also outline
the administrative structure and reimbursement
methodology and provide information on the benefit
package or covered services.

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until June 26, 1998, to
John Kenyon, Department of Medical Assistance Services,
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219.

Contact: Victoria Simmons or Roberta Jonas, Regulatory
Coordinators, Department of Medical Assistance Services,
600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 371-8854 or FAX (804) 371-4981.
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BOARD OF MEDICINE

Informal Conference Committee

June 24, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Sheraton Inn, 2801 Plank Road, Fredericksburg, Virginia.

June 26, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting

T July 24, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Williamsburg Marriott, 50 Kingsmill Road, Williamsburg,

Virginia.

July 2, 1998 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting

t September 3, 1998 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Roanoke Airport Marriott, 2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke,

Virginia.

August 6, 1998 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Patrick Henry Hotel, 617 South Jefferson Street, Roanoke,

Virginia.
A meeting to inquire into allegations that certain
practitioners may have violated laws and regulations
governing the practice of medicine and other healing
arts in Virginia. The committee will meet in open and
closed sessions pursuant to § 2.1-344 A 7 and A 15 of

the Code of Virginia. Public comment will not be
received.

Contact: Karen W. Perrine, Deputy Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond,
VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-7332, FAX (804) 662-
9517 or (804) 662-7197/TDD &

VIRGINIA MILITARY INSTITUTE

Board of Visitors

T August 29, 1998 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Military Institute, Preston Library, Turman Room,
Lexington, Virginia.&

A meeting to elect a president, vice presidents and
secretary, and to hear committee reports. The Board of
Visitors will provide an opportunity for public comment
immediately after the superintendent's comments,
beginning at approximately 9 a.m.

Contact: Colonel Edwin L. Dooley, Jr., Secretary to the
Board, Virginia Military Institute, Superintendent's Office,
Lexington, VA 24450, telephone (540) 464-7206 or (540)
464-7660/TDD @

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BOARD

June 23, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Public Hearing

Northern Virginia Community College, Manassas Campus,
6901 Sudley Road, Colgan Hall, Room MC226, Manassas,
Virginia.

June 27, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Motor Vehicle Dealer
Board intends to amend regulations entitled: 24 VAC 22-
30-10 et seq. Motor Vehicle Dealer Advertising
Practices and Enforcement Regulations. The
purpose of the proposed amendments is to expand the
definition of advertisement to include all types of media,
including electronic media, and clarify the definition of
the terms “free” and “dealer rebates” when used in
advertisements.

Statutory Authority: 88 46.2-1506 and 46.2-1582 of the

Code of Virginia.

Contact: Bruce Gould, Executive Director, Motor Vehicle
Dealer Board, 2201 W. Broad St., Suite 104, Richmond, VA
23220, telephone (804) 367-1100, FAX (804) 367-1053 or
toll-free 1-800-272-9268/TDD &

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES

July 8, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street,
Richmond, Virginia.&

A regular business meeting of the Medical Advisory
Board.

Contact: Phyllis A. Dardenne, Management Analyst,
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 W. Broad St.,
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-2581.

COMMONWEALTH NEUROTRAUMA INITIATIVE
ADVISORY BOARD

July 23, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms
Drive, Richmond, Virginia® (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A quarterly board meeting.

Contact: Charlotte Neal, Board Administrator, Department
of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Dr.,
Richmond, VA 23288-0300, telephone (804) 662-7082, toll-
free 1-800-552-5019 or 1-800-464-9950/TDD &

BOARD OF NURSING

June 22, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting

June 23, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.® (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A Special Conference Committee, comprised of two or
three members of the Board of Nursing, will conduct
informal conferences with licensees and certificate
holders. Public comment will not be received.
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Contact: Nancy K. Durrett, R.N., Executive Director, Board
of Nursing, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9909, FAX (804) 662-9943
or (804) 662-7197/TDD &

BOARD OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

July 8, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.&

A regular meeting. Public comments will be received for
15 minutes prior to the meeting. A formal hearing will
be held following the meeting. No public comments will
be heard at that time.

Contact: Senita Booker, Administrative Staff Assistant,
Board of Nursing Home Administrators, 6606 W. Broad St.,
4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-
9111, FAX (804) 662-9523 or (804) 662-7197/TDD &

VIRGINIA OUTDOORS FOUNDATION

T June 30, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
State Capitol, Capitol Square, Richmond, Virginia.

A regularly scheduled meeting of the Board of Trustees
to discuss foundation business and accept conservation
easements. Public input will be accepted after the
regular business meeting.

Contact: Tamara Vance, Executive Director, Virginia
Outdoors Foundation, 203 Governor St., Room 317,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2147 or FAX
(804) 371-4810.

BOARD OF PHARMACY

T July 14, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 3, Richmond, Virginia.

A special conference committee to hear informal
conferences. Public comments will not be received.

Contact: Elizabeth Scott Russell, Executive Director, Board
of Pharmacy, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230, telephone (804) 662-9911 or FAX (804) 662-9313.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE

August 21, 1998 — Public comments may be submitted
through this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Department of State
Police intends to amend regulations entitled: 19 VAC
30-70-1 et seq. Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection
Rules and Regulations. The purpose of the proposed
action is to amend existing administrative regulations

governing vehicle inspections to comply with mandates
of the amended sections of the Code of Federal
Regulations and the Code of Virginia.

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-1165 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact: Captain W. Steven Flaherty, Safety Officer,
Department of State Police, P.O. Box 27472, Richmond, VA
23261, telephone (804) 378-3479, FAX (804) 378-3487 or
toll-free 1-800-553-3144.

BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL

COUNSELORS, MARRIAGE AND FAMILY

THERAPISTS AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE
TREATMENT PROFESSIONALS

T June 24, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.

Formal administrative hearings will be held pursuant to
§ 9-6.14:12 of the Code of Virginia. Public comment will
not be received.

Contact: Evelyn Brown, Executive Director, Board of
Licensed Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family
Therapists and Substance Abuse Treatment Professionals,
6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230,
telephone (804) 662-9967 or FAX (804) 662-9943.

T June 25, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.

The Regulatory Committee of the board will meet to (i)
consider requirements for licensure of substance abuse
treatment practitioners and (ii) discuss a work plan for
review of regulations for substance abuse counselor
certification. Public comment will be received at the
beginning of the meeting.

Contact: Janet Delorme, Deputy Executive Director, Board
of Licensed Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family
Therapists and Substance Abuse Treatment Professionals,
6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230,
telephone (804) 662-9575, FAX (804) 662-9943 or (804)
662-7197/TDD &

VIRGINIA PUBLIC SCHOOL AUTHORITY

June 29, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 3rd Floor,
Richmond, Virginia.&

A meeting to consider certain board administrative
matters including election of officers, contract review,
and other business as necessary.

Contact: Richard A. Davis, Debt Manager, Department of
the Treasury, Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., Richmond, VA
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23219, telephone (804)
richard.davis@trs.state.va.us.

225-4928 or e-mail

VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION

July 15, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Colonial Downs, Administrative Building, 12007 Courthouse
Circle, New Kent, Virginia.l&

A regular monthly meeting including a report from
Colonial Downs regarding preparations for the full
thoroughbred race meeting and a public participation
segment.

Contact: William H. Anderson, Policy Analyst, Virginia
Racing Commission, 10700 Horsemen’s Rd., New Kent, VA
23124, telephone (804) 966-4200 or FAX (804) 966-8906.

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD

T July 21, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.

A general business meeting. Persons desiring to
participate in the meeting and requiring special
accommodations or interpreter services should contact
the board at least 10 days prior to the meeting. The
department fully complies with the Americans with
Disabilities Act.

Contact: Karen W. O’Neal, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-0500, FAX
(804) 367-2475, or (804) 367-9753/TDD &

REAL ESTATE BOARD

June 25, 1998 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.

General business meetings of the Education Committee
and the Fair Housing Committee. Persons desiring to
participate in the meetings and requiring special
accommodations or interpreter services should contact
the board at least two weeks prior to the meetings. The
department fully complies with the Americans with
Disabilities Act.

Contact: Karen W. O’Neal, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8526, FAX
(804) 367-2475, or (804) 367-9753/TDD &

June 25, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.

A general business meeting. Persons desiring to
participate in the meeting and requiring special
accommodations or interpreter services should contact

the board at least two weeks prior to the meeting. The
department fully complies with the Americans with
Disabilities Act.

Contact: Karen W. O’Neal, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8526, FAX
(804) 367-2475, or (804) 367-9753/TDD &

Common Interest Community Management
Information Fund Advisory Committee

June 24, 1998 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond .l

A meeting to develop a recommendation for the Real
Estate Board on uses of moneys collected pursuant to
the Common Interest Community Management Fund for
the benefit of common interest communities and their
members.

Contact: Emily O. Wingfield, Property Registration
Administrator, Department of Professional and Occupational
Regulation, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230,
telephone (804) 367-8510 or (804) 367-9753/TDD &

VIRGINIA RESOURCES AUTHORITY

July 14, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Resources Authority, Mutual Building, 909 East Main
Street, Suite 700, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to approve minutes of the prior meeting, to
review the authority’s operations for the prior month, and
to consider other matters and take other actions as the
authority may deem appropriate. The planned agenda
of the meeting will be available at the offices of the
authority one week prior to the date of the meeting.
Public comments will be received at the beginning of the
meeting.

Contact: Shockley D. Gardner, Jr., Executive Director,
Virginia Resources Authority, P.O. Box 1300, Richmond, VA
23218, telephone (804) 644-3100 or FAX (804) 644-3109.

VIRGINIA RETIREMENT SYSTEM

August 20, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Retirement System, 1200 East
Richmond, Virginia.&

Main Street,

A regular meeting. No public comment will be received.

Contact: Darla Kestner, Administrative Staff Assistant,
Virginia Retirement System, P.O. Box 2500, Richmond, VA
23218-2500, telephone (804) 649-8059, FAX (804) 371-
0613, toll-free 1-888-827-3847, or (804) 649-5089/&

September 10, 1998 - Noon -- Open Meeting
Virginia Retirement System, 1200 East
Richmond, Virginia.&

Main Street,
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A regular meeting of the Investment Advisory
Committee. There may be in attendance at any time
during the meeting three or more members of the Board
of Trustees, or any of their subcommittees. No public
comment will be received.

Contact: Darla Kestner, Administrative Staff Assistant,
Virginia Retirement System, P.O. Box 2500, Richmond, VA
23218-2500, telephone (804) 649-8059, FAX (804) 371-
0613, toll-free 1-888-827-3847, or (804) 649-5089/&

RICHMOND HOSPITAL AUTHORITY

Board of Commissioners

T June 25, 1998 - 5 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Richmond Nursing Home, 1900 Cool Lane, 2nd Floor
Classroom, Richmond, Virginia.

A monthly board meeting to discuss nursing home
operations and related matters.

Contact: Marilyn H. West, Chairman, Richmond Hospital
Authority, P.O. Box 548, 700 E. Main St., Suite 904,
Richmond, VA 23219-0548, telephone (804) 782-1938.

SCIENCE MUSEUM OF VIRGINIA

T June 25, 1998 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting

4009 Fitzhugh Avenue, 1st Floor Conference Room,
Richmond, Virginia.B (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A quarterly meeting.

Contact: Karen Spencer, Administrative Assistant, Science
Museum of Virginia, 2500 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA
23220, telephone (804) 367-6799, FAX (804) 367-9348, toll-
free 1-800-659-1727 or (804) 367-6552/TDD &

VIRGINIA SMALL BUSINESS FINANCING
AUTHORITY

Loan Committee

June 23, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Business Assistance, 707 East Main Street,
3rd Floor, Main Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to review applications for loans submitted to
the authority for approval. The time is subject to being
moved to 8:30 a.m. in the event the VSBFA Board of
Directors decides to combine meeting dates with the
VSBFA Loan Committee.

Contact: Cathleen M. Surface, Executive Director, Virginia
Small Business Financing Authority, 707 E. Main St., 3rd
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-8254 or
FAX (804) 225-3384.

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES

August 7, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social
Services intends to amend regulations entitled: 22 VAC
40-35-5 et seq. Virginia Independence Program. The
purpose of the proposed amendment is to amend the
Virginia Independence Program by adding the Targeted
Jobs Grant Program. This program provides employers
with grants of up to $1,000 per employee when they hire
and retain individuals who have been receiving
Temporary Assistance to Needy Families.

Statutory Authority: 88 63.1-25 and 63.1-25.3 of the Code of
Virginia

Contact: David E. Olds, Employment Services Program
Manager, Department of Social Services, 730 E. Broad St.,

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-2251 or FAX
(804) 692-1709.

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

T July 8, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Social Services, 730 East Broad Street, 7th
Floor, Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A public hearing to receive comments on the proposed
plan for implementation of the 1998-99 Energy
Assistance Program.

Contact: Richard Martin, Regulatory Coordinator,
Department of Social Services, 730 E. Broad St., Richmond,
VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-1825.

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD

T July 15, 1998 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting

Ramada Plaza Resort, 57th and Atlantic Avenue, Virginia
Beach, Virginia® (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A work session of the board and the Department of
Transportation staff.

Contact: Shirley J. Ybarra, Secretary of Transportation,
1401 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
786-6675.

T July 16, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting

Ramada Plaza Resort, 57th and Atlantic Avenue, Virginia
Beach, Virginia@ (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A monthly meeting of the board to vote on proposals
presented regarding bids, permits, additions and
deletions to the highway system, and any other matters
requiring board approval. Public comments will be
received at the outset of the meeting on items on the
meeting agenda for which the opportunity for public
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comments has not been afforded the public in another
forum. Remarks will be limited to five minutes. Large
groups are asked to select one individual to speak for
the group. The board reserves the right to amend these
conditions. Separate committee meetings may be held
on call of the chairman. Contact Department of
Transportation Public Affairs at (804) 786-2715 for
schedule.

Contact: Shirley J. Ybarra, Secretary of Transportation,
1401 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
786-6675.

TREASURY BOARD

July 15, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting

August 19, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting

James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, Treasury
Board Room, 3rd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

A regular business meeting.

Contact: Gloria J. Hatchel, Administrative Assistant,
Department of the Treasury, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N.
14th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6011.

BOARD FOR THE VISUALLY HANDICAPPED

July 21, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting

Department for the Visually Handicapped, Administrative
Headquarters, 397 Azalea Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

The board is responsible for advising the Governor, the
Secretary of Health and Human Resources, the
Commissioner, and the General Assembly on the
delivery of public services to the blind and the protection
of their rights. The board also reviews and comments
on policies, budgets and requests for appropriations for
the department. At this regular quarterly meeting, the
board members will receive information regarding
department  activiies and  operations,  review
expenditures from the board’s institutional fund, and
discuss other issues raised by board members.

Contact: Katherine C. Proffitt, Executive Secretary Senior,
Department for the Visually Handicapped, 397 Azalea Ave.,
Richmond, VA 23227, telephone (804) 371-3140, toll-free 1-
800-622-2155, or (804) 371-3140/TDD &

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD

NOTE: EXTENSION OF COMMENT PERIOD
June 22, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Virginia Waste
Management Board intends to amend regulations
entitted: 9 VAC 20-80-10 et seq. Solid Waste

Management Regulations. Proposed Amendment 2
consists of 513 changes developed as a result of the
regulatory review process and in response to a petition
for rulemaking. The major changes are proposed in the
ground water monitoring program, permit-by-rule for
captive industrial landfills, addition of presumptive
remedies in corrective action and changes in analytical
requirements for contaminated soils.

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact: WIladimir Gulevich, Assistant Division Director,
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009,
Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4218, FAX (804)
698-4266, toll-free 1-800-592-5482 or (804) 698-4021/TDD
=

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

June 26, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control
Board intends to amend regulations entitled: 9 VAC 25-
590-10 et seq. Petroleum Underground Storage
Tank Financial Responsibility Requirements. The
proposed amendments serve four purposes: (i) to make the
regulation conform to amendments in the State Water
Control Law (8§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia)
and to federal financial responsibility requirements; (i) to
permit local government underground storage tank owners
to use additional financial responsibility demonstration
mechanisms; (iii) to provide liability relief for lenders in
accordance with federal and state law; and (iv) to correct
typographical errors and omissions.

Request for Comments: The purpose of this notice is to
provide the public with the opportunity to comment on the
proposed amendments and the costs and benefits of the
proposal.

Localities Affected: There is no locality which will bear any
identified disproportionate material water quality impact due
to the proposed regulation which would not be experienced
by other localities.

Location of Proposal: The proposal, an analysis conducted
by the department (including a statement of purpose, a
statement of estimated impact and benefits of the proposed
amendments, an explanation of need for the proposed
amendments, an estimate of the impact of the proposed
amendments upon small businesses, identification of and
comparison with federal requirements, and a discussion of
alternative approaches) and any other supporting documents
may be examined by the public at the department's Office of
Spill Response and Remediation, 629 East Main Street, 7th
Floor, Richmond, Virginia, and the department's regional
offices (listed below) between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of
each business day until the close of the public comment
period.
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Southwest Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
355 Deadmore Street

Abingdon, Virginia

Phone: (540) 676-4800

West Central Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
3019 Peters Creek Road

Roanoke, Virginia

Phone: (540) 562-6700

Lynchburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
7705 Timberlake Road

Lynchburg, Virginia

Phone: (804) 582-5120

Valley Regional Office

Department of Environmental Quality
4411 Early Road

Harrisonburg, Virginia

Phone: (540) 574-7800

Fredericksburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
300 Central Road, Suite B
Fredericksburg, Virginia

Phone: (540) 899-4600

Piedmont Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4949-A Cox Road

Glen Allen, Virginia

Phone: (804) 527-5020

Tidewater Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
5636 Southern Boulevard

Virginia Beach, Virginia

Phone: (757) 518-2000

Northern Regional Office

Department of Environmental Quality

13901 Crown Court

Woodbridge, Virginia

Phone: (703) 583-3800

Statutory Authority: 88 62.1-44.34:9 and 62.1-44.34:12 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m. June 26,
1998.

Contact: Mary-Ellen Kendall, Financial Programs Manager,
Office of Spill Response and Remediation, Department of
Environmental Quality, P. O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA
23240-0009, telephone (804) 698-4298, FAX (804) 698-
4266, toll-free 1-800-592-5482 or (804) 698-4021/TDD &

INDEPENDENT

STATE LOTTERY BOARD

June 24, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, Richmond,
Virginia.B (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A regular business meeting of the board. Public
comment will be received at the beginning of the
meeting.

Contact: David L. Norton, Esq., Director, Legislative and
Regulatory Affairs, State Lottery Department, 900 E. Main
St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-7109 or FAX
(804) 692-7775.

LEGISLATIVE

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION

July 8, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting

September 16, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting

General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Street, Speaker’s
Conference  Room, 6th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to continue with the recodification of Titles 2.1
and 9 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact: Jane Chaffin, Deputy Registrar, General Assembly
Bldg., 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 786-3591, FAX (804) 692-0625 or e-mail
jchaffin@leg.state.va.us.

COMMISSION ON COORDINATION OF SERVICES
TO FACILITATE SELF-SUFFICIENCY AND
SUPPORT OF PERSONS WITH PHYSICAL AND
SENSORY DISABILITIES (HIR 274)

July 22,1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting

September 15, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting

General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, House
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.® (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting. Questions regarding the meeting
should be addressed to Brian Parsons or Barbara Ettner
at the Virginia Board for People with Disabilities, (804)
786-0016. Individuals requiring interpreter services or
other special assistance should contact the Committee
Operations Office at least 10 working days prior to the
meeting.

Contact: Barbara Regen, House Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
1540 or (804) 786-2369/TDD @
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JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE STUDYING POTENTIAL
CHANGES IN RESTRUCTURING THE ELECTRICAL
UTILITIES INDUSTRY IN THE COMMONWEALTH
(SJR 91, 1998)

T June 30, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting

General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, Senate
Room B, Richmond, Virginial@ (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting of the Task Force on Stranded Costs and
Related Issues. Individuals requiring interpreter services
or other accommodations should call or write Thomas
C. Gilman seven working days before the meeting.

Contact: Thomas C. Gilman, Senate Committee
Operations, P.O. Box 396, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone
(804) 698-7450 or (804) 698-7419/TDD @

July 9, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting

August 18, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting

General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, Senate
Room B, Richmond, Virginial@ (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting. Individuals requiring interpreter
services or other accommodations should call or write
Thomas C. Gilman seven working days before the
meeting.

Contact: Thomas C. Gilman, Senate Committee
Operations, P.O. Box 396, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone
(804) 698-7450 or (804) 698-7419/TDD @&

SPECIAL AGRICULTURE SUBCOMMITTEE
STUDYING THE IMPACT OF INDUSTRIAL SWINE
PRODUCTION IN VIRGINIA (HJR 573, 1997)

T July 15, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, House
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.l&

A regular subcommittee meeting.  Any questions
concerning the agenda should be addressed to Nicole
Beyer, Staff Attorney, Division of Legislative Services,
(804) 786-3591. Individuals requiring interpreter
services or other special assistance should contact
Committee Operations at least 10 days prior to the
meeting.

Contact: Kathleen Myers, Committee Operations, House of
Delegates, State Capitol, P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA
23218, telephone (804) 698-1540 or (804) 786-2369/TDD &

JOINT LEGISLATIVE AUDIT AND REVIEW
COMMISSION

T July 13, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, Senate
Room A, Richmond, Virginia.&

Staff briefings on the status of ADAPT and on the
Department of Health’s monitoring of HMO’s VRS
oversight.

Contact: Phillip A. Leone, Director, Joint Legislative Audit
and Review Commission, General Assembly Building, 910
Capitol St., Suite 1100, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone
(804) 786-1258.

CHRONOLOGICAL LIST

OPEN MEETINGS

June 22
Historic Preservation Foundation, Virginia
Nursing, Board of

June 23
Independent Living Council, Statewide
Nursing, Board of
Small Business Financing Authority, Virginia
- Loan Committee

June 24

Contractors, Board for

Forestry, Department of
- Reforestation of Timberlands Board

Lottery Board, State

Medicine, Board of
- Informal Conference Committee

t Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family
Therapists and Substance Abuse Treatment
Professionals, Board of Licensed

Real Estate Board
- Common Interest Community Management

Information Fund Advisory Committee

June 25

t Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, Board of

Compensation Board

Hearing Aid Specialists, Board for

t Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family
Therapists and Substance Abuse Treatment
Professionals, Board of Licensed

Real Estate Board
- Education Committee
- Fair Housing Committee

T Richmond Hospital Authority
- Board of Commissioners

t Science Museum of Virginia

June 26
Medicine, Board of
- Informal Conference Committee

June 29
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board
Conservation and Recreation, Department of
- Board on Conservation and Development of Public
Beaches
Funeral Directors and Embalmers, Board of
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Public School Authority, Virginia

June 30
Conservation and Recreation, Department of
T Electrical Utilities Industry in the Commonwealth, Joint
Subcommittee Studying Potential Changes in
Restructuring the
Marine Resources Commission
T Outdoors Foundation, Virginia

July 1
Funeral Directors and Embalmers, Board of

July 2
T At-Risk Youth and Their Families, Comprehensive
Services for
- State Management Team
Medicine, Board of
- Informal Conference Committee

July 7
Conservation and Recreation, Department of
Hopewell Industrial Safety Council

July 8
Code Commission, Virginia
t Community Colleges, State Board for
Motor Vehicles, Department of
- Medical Advisory Board
Nursing Home Administrators, Board of

July 9
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of
- Virginia Horse Industry Board
t Community Colleges, State Board for
Conservation and Recreation, Department of
- Falls of the James Scenic River Advisory Board
Electrical Utilities Industry in the Commonwealth, Joint
Subcommittee Studying Potential Changes in
Restructuring the
t Health, Department of
- Biosolids Use Information Committee
- Biosolids Use Regulations Advisory Committee

July 10
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of
- Virginia Sheep Industry Board
t Dentistry, Board of

July 13
t Cosmetology, Board for
T Legislative Audit and Review Commission, Joint

July 14
T Auctioneers Board, Virginia
Corrections, Board of
- Correctional Services Committee
t Pharmacy, Board of
Resources Authority, Virginia

July 15
Conservation and Recreation, Department of
Corrections, Board of
- Administration Committee

t Industrial Swine Production in Virginia, Special
Agriculture Subcommittee Studying the Impact of

Racing Commission, Virginia

T Transportation Board, Commonwealth

Treasury Board

July 16
T Transportation Board, Commonwealth

July 17
Dentistry, Board of

July 20
Accountancy, Board for
General Services, Department of
- Design-Build/Construction Management Review
Board
Local Government, Commission on

July 21

Accountancy, Board for

T Agriculture and Consumer Services, Board of

t Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of
- Virginia Winegrowers Advisory Board

Environmental Quality, Department of
- Virginia Ground Water Protection Steering

Committee
t Real Estate Appraiser Board
Visually Handicapped, Board for the

July 22
Disabilities, Commission on Coordination of Services to
Facilitate Self-Sufficiency and Support of Persons with
Physical and Sensory

July 23
Neurotrauma Initiative Advisory Board, Commonwealth

July 24
Dentistry, Board of
t Medicine, Board of
- Informal Conference Committee

July 27
1 Branch Pilots, Board for

July 28
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of
- Virginia Small Grains Board
Manufactured Housing Board, Virginia
t Marine Resources Commission

July 29
Disability Services Council

July 30
1 Branch Pilots, Board for

August 5
t Labor and Industry, Department of
- Apprenticeship Council

August 6
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of
- Virginia Soybean Board
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Medicine, Board of July 8
- Informal Conference Committee T Social Services, Department of
August 11

Corrections, Board of
- Correctional Services Committee
Land Evaluation Advisory Council, State

August 12
Corrections, Board of
- Administration Committee
T Funeral Directors and Embalmers, Board of

August 17
General Services, Department of
- Design-Build/Construction Management Review
Board

August 18
Electrical Utilities Industry in the Commonwealth, Joint
Subcommittee Studying Potential Changes in
Restructuring the

August 19
Treasury Board

August 20
Conservation and Recreation, Department of
Retirement System, Virginia

August 25
Asbestos and Lead, Virginia Board for
T Marine Resources Commission

August 29
T Military Institute, Virginia
- Board of Visitors

September 3
T Medicine, Board of
- Informal Conference Committee

September 10
Retirement System, Virginia
- Investment Advisory Committee

September 15
Disabilities, Commission on Coordination of Services to
Facilitate Self-Sufficiency and Support of Persons with
Physical and Sensory

September 16
Code Commission, Virginia

September 22
T Marine Resources Commission

PUBLIC HEARINGS

June 23
Motor Vehicle Dealer Board

June 29
T Game and Inland Fisheries, Department of
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