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THE VIRGINIA REGISTER is an official state publication issued every
other week throughout the year.  Indexes are published quarterly, and the
last index of the year is cumulative.  THE VIRGINIA REGISTER has
several functions.  The new and amended sections of regulations, both
as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law to be published
in THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS.  In addition, THE
VIRGINIA REGISTER is a source of other information about state
government, including all emergency regulations and executive orders
issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued periodically by
the Department of Taxation, and notices of public hearings and open
meetings of state agencies.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF
REGULATIONS

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text
of the proposed regulation.

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60
days.  The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is
clearly written and easily understandable.  If the Governor chooses to
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the
completion of the 60-day public comment period.  The Governor’s
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register.  Not less
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation.

The appropriate standing committee of each branch of the General
Assembly may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process
and file an objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency.
The objection will be published in the Virginia Register.  Within 21 days
after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file
a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative committee, and
the Governor.

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since
publication of the proposal.  A 30-day final adoption period begins upon
final publication in the Virginia Register.

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if
he objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency.  In
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate standing
committees and the Governor.  The Governor’s objection or suspension
of the regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register.  If the
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional
30-day public comment period on the changes.  Notice of the additional
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the
Virginia Register.

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or
inconsequential impact.

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day extension

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation,
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation,
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period.

Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final.

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS
If an agency demonstrates that (i) there is an immediate threat to the

public’s health or safety; or (ii) Virginia statutory law, the appropriation
act, federal law, or federal regulation requires a regulation to take effect
no later than (a) 280 days from the enactment in the case of Virginia or
federal law or the appropriation act, or (b) 280 days from the effective
date of a federal regulation, it then requests the Governor’s approval to
adopt an emergency regulation.  The emergency regulation becomes
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations,
unless a later date is specified.  Emergency regulations are limited to
addressing specifically defined situations and may not exceed 12 months
in duration. Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in
the Register.

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual
procedures.  To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency
regulation; and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation.  If the agency
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when
the prescribed time limit expires.

STATEMENT
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures

to be followed.  For specific statutory language, it is suggested that
Article 2 (§ 9-6.14:7.1 et seq.) of Chapter 1.1:1 of the Code of Virginia be
examined carefully.

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and

date.  12:8 VA.R. 1096-1106 January 8, 1996, refers to Volume 12,
Issue 8, pages 1096 through 1106 of the Virginia Register issued on
January 8, 1996.

"THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS" (USPS-001831) is
published bi-weekly, with quarterly cumulative indices published in
January, April, July and October, for $100 per year by the Virginia Code
Commission, General Assembly Building, Capitol Square, Richmond,
Virginia 23219.  Telephone (804) 786-3591.  Periodical Postage Rates
Paid at Richmond, Virginia.  POSTMASTER:  Send address changes to
THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, 910 CAPITOL
STREET, 2ND FLOOR, RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23219.

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 7
(§ 9-6.14:22 et seq.) of Chapter 1.1:1 of Title 9 of the Code of Virginia.
Individual copies, if available, may be purchased for $4.00 each from the
Registrar of Regulations.
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added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the
Spring 1998 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 10 dated
February 2, 1998).  Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation “emer,” and errata pertaining to
final regulations are listed.  Proposed regulations are not listed here.  The table lists the sections in numerical order and
shows action taken, the volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section.
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE

Title 2.  Agriculture
2 VAC 5-180-10 Amended 14:19 VA.R. 2666 7/8/98
2 VAC 5-180-20 Amended 14:19 VA.R. 2667 7/8/98
2 VAC 5-180-30 Amended 14:19 VA.R. 2668 7/8/98
2 VAC 5-180-50 Amended 14:19 VA.R. 2668 7/8/98
2 VAC 5-180-60 Amended 14:19 VA.R. 2668 7/8/98
2 VAC 5-180-80 Amended 14:19 VA.R. 2668 7/8/98
2 VAC 5-180-90 Amended 14:19 VA.R. 2669 7/8/98
2 VAC 5-180-120 Amended 14:19 VA.R. 2669 7/8/98
2 VAC 5-205-10 through
2 VAC 5-205-110

Added 14:19 VA.R. 2670 7/8/98

2 VAC 5-390-180 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2136 3/1/98
Title 4.  Conservation and Natural Resources
4 VAC 15-290-140 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2357 7/1/98
4 VAC 20-260-20 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2231 3/13/98
4 VAC 20-280-10 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2357 3/31/98
4 VAC 20-345-10 Added 14:15 VA.R. 2236 3/1/98
4 VAC 20-345-20 Added 14:15 VA.R. 2236 3/1/98
4 VAC 20-345-20 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2513 5/4/98
4 VAC 20-345-30 Added 14:15 VA.R. 2236 3/1/98
4 VAC 20-345-40 Added 14:15 VA.R. 2237 3/1/98
4 VAC 20-345-40 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2513 5/4/98
4 VAC 20-380-30 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2357 3/31/98
4 VAC 20-380-60 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2358 3/31/98
4 VAC 20-395-10 through
4 VAC 20-395-40

Added 14:22 VA.R.
3205-3206

7/1/98

4 VAC 20-500-40 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2137 3/1/98
4 VAC 20-560-10 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2514 5/1/98
4 VAC 20-560-20 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2514 5/1/98
4 VAC 20-560-40 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2515 5/1/98
4 VAC 20-560-50 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2516 5/1/98
4 VAC 20-620-50 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2358 4/1/98
4 VAC 20-620-60 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2358 4/1/98
4 VAC 20-880-40 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2137 3/1/98
4 VAC 20-880-40 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2516 5/1/98
4 VAC 20-880-50 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2138 3/1/98
4 VAC 20-880-50 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2517 5/1/98
4 VAC 20-910-45 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1915 1/30/98
4 VAC 20-950-30 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2358 4/1/98
4 VAC 20-950-45 Added 14:12 VA.R. 1915 1/30/98
4 VAC 20-950-45 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2359 4/1/98
4 VAC 20-960-30 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2359 4/1/98
4 VAC 20-960-45 Added 14:16 VA.R. 2359 4/1/98
4 VAC 20-1000-10 Added 14:12 VA.R. 1916 1/30/98
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4 VAC 20-1000-20 Added 14:12 VA.R. 1916 1/30/98
4 VAC 20-1000-30 Added 14:12 VA.R. 1916 1/30/98
4 VAC 20-1000-40 Added 14:12 VA.R. 1916 1/30/98
4 VAC 25-40-10 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2428 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-20 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2430 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-25 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2430 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-30 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2430 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-40 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2430 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-50 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2430 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-60 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2431 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-70 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2431 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-80 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2431 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-90 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2431 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-100 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2431 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-110 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-120 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-130 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-140 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-145 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-180 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-200 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-210 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-220 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-250 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-270 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-300 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-310 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-320 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-350 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2432 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-385 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2433 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-388 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2433 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-390 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-400 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-440 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-450 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-460 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-490 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-500 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-510 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-520 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-530 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-540 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-550 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-590 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-630 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-660 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2434 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-670 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2435 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-690 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2435 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-710 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2435 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-720 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2435 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-730 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2435 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-750 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2435 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-770 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2435 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-780 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2435 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-790 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2436 7/1/98
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4 VAC 25-40-800 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2436 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-810 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2437 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-820 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2437 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-830 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2438 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-870 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2438 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-880 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2438 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-890 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2438 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-895 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2438 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-900 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2438 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-910 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2438 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-920 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2439 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-930 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2439 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-940 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2439 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-960 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2439 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-970 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2439 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1030 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2439 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1060 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2439 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1070 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2439 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1090 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2439 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1100 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2439 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1130 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1140 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1180 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1200 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1210 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1220 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1250 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1260 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1280 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1300 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1310 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1320 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1340 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1350 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1370 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1490 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1540 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1550 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2440 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1560 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2441 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1580 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2441 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1590 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2441 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1670 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2441 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1685 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2441 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1690 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2441 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1740 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2441 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1780 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2441 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1785 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1810 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1880 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-1940 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2010 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2015 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2040 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2080 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2100 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
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4 VAC 25-40-2140 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2170 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2180 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2210 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2220 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2250 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2442 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2260 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2270 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2280 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2300 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2340 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2390 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2400 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2410 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2420 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2440 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2450 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2480 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2490 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2500 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2510 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2530 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2540 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2550 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2443 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2590 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2610 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2650 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2660 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2680 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2700 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2720 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2750 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2760 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2770 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2790 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2444 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2800 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2810 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2820 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2850 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2870 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2880 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2910 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2915 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2920 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2930 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-2980 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3000 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2445 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3030 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2446 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3050 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2446 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3070 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2446 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3080 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2446 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3110 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2446 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3120 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2446 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3160 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3170 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
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4 VAC 25-40-3220 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3230 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3240 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3280 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3290 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3300 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3310 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3320 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3325 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3328 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3330 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3340 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3350 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3420 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2447 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3430 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3450 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3460 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3475 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3478 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3590 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3595 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3620 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3660 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3680 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3690 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3700 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3710 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3720 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3830 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2448 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3840 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2449 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3855 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2449 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3890 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2449 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3930 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2449 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3955 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2449 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3958 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2450 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3980 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2450 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-3990 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2450 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4060 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2450 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4090 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2450 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4100 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2450 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4110 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2451 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4140 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2451 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4160 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2451 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4220 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2451 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4230 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2451 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4260 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2451 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4280 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2451 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4290 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4320 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4330 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4350 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4430 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4440 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4460 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4540 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
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4 VAC 25-40-4590 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4650 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4750 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4770 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4910 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4920 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4970 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-4980 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5040 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2452 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5050 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2453 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5060 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2453 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5070 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2453 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5120 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2453 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5170 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2453 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5180 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2453 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5200 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2453 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5210 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2453 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5230 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5290 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5310 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5320 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5330 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5340 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5370 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5400 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5450 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5470 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5550 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5580 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2454 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5590 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2455 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5630 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2455 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5660 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2455 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5670 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2455 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5680 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2455 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5690 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2455 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5710 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2455 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5720 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2455 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5730 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2455 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5740 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2456 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5750 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2456 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5760 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2456 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5770 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2457 7/1/98
4 VAC 25-40-5780 Added 14:17 VA.R. 2457 7/1/98
Title 6.  Criminal Justice and Corrections
6 VAC 15-60-10 through
6 VAC 15-60-100

Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2457 9/1/98

6 VAC 15-61-10 through
6 VAC 15-61-300

Added 14:17 VA.R. 2457 9/1/98

Title 8.  Education
8 VAC 20-20-750 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2754 7/22/98
8 VAC 20-20-770 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2754 7/22/98
8 VAC 20-20-780 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2754 7/22/98
8 VAC 20-20-790 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2754 7/22/98
8 VAC 20-21-425 Added 14:20 VA.R. 2754 7/22/98
8 VAC 20-21-430 Added 14:20 VA.R. 2755 7/22/98
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8 VAC 20-21-435 Added 14:20 VA.R. 2756 7/22/98
8 VAC 20-21-440 Added 14:20 VA.R. 2757 7/22/98
8 VAC 20-21-445 Added 14:20 VA.R. 2758 7/22/98
Title 9.  Environment
9 VAC 5-20-203 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1804 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-20-204 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1804 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-20-205 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1805 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-20-220 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1812 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-20-230 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1812 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-50-400 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1807 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-60-60 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1807 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-60-90 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1807 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-60-100 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1808 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-40 Repealed 14:11 VA.R. 1813 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-800 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1820 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-810 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1820 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-820 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1822 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-830 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1823 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-840 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1823 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-850 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1823 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-860 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1825 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-870 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1825 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-880 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1825 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-890 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1826 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-900 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1826 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-910 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1826 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-920 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1826 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-930 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1826 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-940 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1826 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-950 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1826 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-960 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1826 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-970 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1827 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-980 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1827 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-990 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1828 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-1000 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1828 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-1010 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1828 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-1020 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1829 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-1030 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1830 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-80-1040 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1831 4/1/98
9 VAC 5-190-80 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-31-800 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-31-800 Erratum 14:17 VA.R. 2477 --
9 VAC 25-31-840 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-31-900 Erratum 14:17 VA.R. 2477 --
9 VAC 25-31-920 Amended 14:16 VA.R. 2360 5/27/98
9 VAC 25-90-10 through
9 VAC 25-90-70

Repealed 14:18 VA.R. 2517 6/24/98

9 VAC 25-91-10 through
9 VAC 25-91-220

Added 14:18 VA.R. 2518 6/24/98

9 VAC 25-100-10 through
9 VAC 25-100-70

Repealed 14:18 VA.R. 2547 6/24/98

9 VAC 25-101-10 through
9 VAC 25-101-70

Added 14:18 VA.R. 2547 6/24/98

9 VAC 25-130-10 through
9 VAC 25-130-100

Repealed 14:18 VA.R. 2517 6/24/98
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9 VAC 25-140-10 through
9 VAC 25-140-110

Repealed 14:18 VA.R. 2518 6/24/98

9 VAC 25-196-50 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-196-70 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-260-20 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-260-110 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-260-140 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-260-350 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-260-370 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-260-390 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-260-400 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-260-450 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
9 VAC 25-260-540 Erratum 14:12 VA.R. 1937 --
Title 10.  Finance and Financial Institutions
10 VAC 5-60-40 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2139 3/10/98
10 VAC 5-60-50 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2139 3/10/98
10 VAC 5-70-20 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2140 3/10/98
10 VAC 5-70-30 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2140 3/10/98
10 VAC 5-70-50 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2140 3/10/98
Title 11.  Gaming
11 VAC 10-70-20 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1831 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-70-30 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1831 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-70-40 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1831 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-70-50 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1831 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-70-60 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1832 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-70-70 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1832 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-70-80 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1833 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-70-110 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1833 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-70-170 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1833 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-70-180 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1833 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-90-10 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1835 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-90-20 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1835 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-90-30 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1835 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-90-40 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1835 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-90-50 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1835 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-90-60 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1836 3/19/98
11 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3207 8/20/98
11 VAC 10-180-20 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3207 8/20/98
11 VAC 10-180-30 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3208 8/20/98
11 VAC 10-180-50 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3209 8/20/98
11 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3211 8/20/98
11 VAC 10-180-70 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3212 8/20/98
11 VAC 10-180-80 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3213 8/20/98
11 VAC 10-180-90 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3213 8/20/98
Title 12.  Health
12 VAC 5-210-10 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2237 6/1/98
12 VAC 5-210-20 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2243 6/1/98
12 VAC 5-220-10 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1917 4/2/98
12 VAC 5-220-105 Added 14:12 VA.R. 1920 4/2/98
12 VAC 5-220-150 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1920 4/2/98
12 VAC 5-220-180 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1920 4/2/98
12 VAC 5-220-200 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1921 4/2/98
12 VAC 5-220-230 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1923 4/2/98
12 VAC 5-220-280 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1924 4/2/98
12 VAC 5-220-290 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1925 4/2/98
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12 VAC 5-220-385 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1925 4/2/98
12 VAC 5-220-500 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1926 4/2/98
12 VAC 30-20-170 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2889 8/5/98
12 VAC 30-50-30 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2568 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-70 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2568 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-100 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2571 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-100 emer Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3270 7/1/98 - 6/30/99
12 VAC 30-50-105 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2573 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-105 emer Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3272 7/1/98 - 6/30/99
12 VAC 30-50-140 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1926 4/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-140 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2574 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-150 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1927 4/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-160 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2564 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-160 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2890 8/5/98
12 VAC 30-50-200 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2579 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-220 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2569 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-229.1 Added 14:18 VA.R. 2581 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-540 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2575 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-550 Added 14:18 VA.R. 2576 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-560 Added 14:18 VA.R. 2577 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-50-570 Added 14:18 VA.R. 2578 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-60-20 emer Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3273 7/1/98 - 6/30/99
12 VAC 30-60-25 emer Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3274 7/1/98 - 6/30/99
12 VAC 30-60-40 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1928 4/1/98
12 VAC 30-60-40 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2892 8/5/98
12 VAC 30-60-90 Repealed 14:17 VA.R. 2465 6/10/98
12 VAC 30-60-120 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1929 4/1/98
12 VAC 30-60-320 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2894 8/5/98
12 VAC 30-60-340 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2897 8/5/98
12 VAC 30-70-200 through 12
VAC 30-70-500 emer

Amended 14:22 VA.R.
3275-3297

7/1/98 - 6/30/99

12 VAC 30-70-440 Repealed 14:15 VA.R. 2248 6/1/98
12 VAC 30-70-441 Added 14:15 VA.R. 2248 6/1/98
12 VAC 30-80-30 Amended 14:12 VA.R. 1933 4/1/98
12 VAC 30-80-30 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2582 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-80-170 emer Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3299 7/1/98 - 6/30/99
12 VAC 30-90-52 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3220 8/19/98
12 VAC 30-90-264 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2899 8/5/98
12 VAC 30-90-266 Added 14:22 VA.R. 3220 8/19/98
12 VAC 30-90-290 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2902 8/5/98
12 VAC 30-90-330 Added 14:22 VA.R. 3221 8/19/98
12 VAC 30-100-120 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2583 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-120-360 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2584 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-120-360 emer Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3300 7/1/98 - 6/30/99
12 VAC 30-120-370 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2585 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-120-370 emer Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3301 7/1/98 - 6/30/99
12 VAC 30-120-385 Added 14:18 VA.R. 2587 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-120-410 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2587 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-120-420 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2587 7/1/98
12 VAC 30-120-490 through
12 VAC 30-120-550

Added 14:18 VA.R. 2590 7/1/98

Title 13.  Housing
13 VAC 5-51-135 emer Added 14:18 VA.R. 2605 4/27/98 - 4/26/99
13 VAC 5-61-440 Amended 14:18 VA.R. 2600 7/1/98
13 VAC 10-10-20 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2466 5/1/98
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13 VAC 10-20-20 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2467 5/1/98
13 VAC 10-40-100 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1838 1/28/98
13 VAC 10-40-110 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1839 1/28/98
13 VAC 10-40-120 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1839 1/28/98
13 VAC 10-40-130 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1839 1/28/98
13 VAC 10-40-140 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1841 1/28/98
13 VAC 10-40-190 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1842 1/28/98
13 VAC 10-40-210 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1843 1/28/98
13 VAC 10-40-230 Added 14:11 VA.R. 1843 1/28/98
13 VAC 10-130-30 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2468 5/1/98
13 VAC 10-140-20 Amended 14:17 VA.R. 2469 5/1/98
13 VAC 10-180-50 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2141 3/4/98
13 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2142 3/4/98
Title 16.  Labor and Employment
16 VAC 10-20-10 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2759 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-20 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2760 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-30 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2760 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-40 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2760 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-50 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2760 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-60 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2760 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-70 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2760 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-80 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2760 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-90 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2761 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-100 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2761 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-110 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2761 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-140 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2761 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-150 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2761 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-160 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2761 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-170 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2762 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-180 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2762 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-190 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2762 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-200 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2762 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-210 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2763 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-220 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2763 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-230 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2764 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-240 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2764 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-250 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2765 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-260 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2765 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-270 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2766 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-275 Added 14:20 VA.R. 2766 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-280 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2766 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-290 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2766 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-300 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2766 7/1/98
16 VAC 10-20-310 through
16 VAC 10-20-460

Repealed 14:20 VA.R.
2767-2770

7/1/98

16 VAC 25-90-1910.94 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.111 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.134 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.134 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3222 9/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.139 Added 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.156 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.252 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.261 Erratum 14:17 VA.R. 2477 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1001 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1003 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
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16 VAC 25-90-1910.1003 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3222 9/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1017 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1018 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1025 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1025 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3222 9/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1027 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1028 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1028 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3222 9/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1029 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1043 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1044 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1045 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1045 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3222 9/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1047 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1048 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1048 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3222 9/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1050 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1050 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3222 9/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1051 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1052 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2151 5/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1052 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2250 6/1/98
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1052 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3222 9/1/98
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1101 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3222 9/1/98
Title 18.  Professional and Occupational Licensing
18 VAC 25-21-70 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1845 4/1/98
18 VAC 30-20-10 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2155 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-20 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2156 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-30 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2156 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-40 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2156 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-45 Added 14:14 VA.R. 2156 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-50 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2156 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-60 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2156 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-70 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2156 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-80 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-90 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-100 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-110 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-120 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-130 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-140 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-150 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-160 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-170 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2157 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-180 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2159 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-190 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2159 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-200 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2159 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-210 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2159 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-220 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2159 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-240 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2159 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-250 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2160 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-260 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2160 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-270 Repealed 14:14 VA.R. 2160 4/29/98
18 VAC 30-20-280 Amended 14:14 VA.R. 2160 4/29/98
18 VAC 60-20-105 Added 14:18 VA.R. 2602 6/24/98
18 VAC 76-10-10 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1845 1/22/98
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18 VAC 85-20-10 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2904 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-20 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2904 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-21 Added 14:21 VA.R. 2904 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-22 Added 14:21 VA.R. 2904 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-30 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2905 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-60 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2905 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-70 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2905 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-105 Added 14:21 VA.R. 2905 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-110 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2905 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-120 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2905 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-121 Added 14:21 VA.R. 2906 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-122 Added 14:21 VA.R. 2906 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-131 Added 14:21 VA.R. 2908 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-140 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2908 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-150 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2909 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-160 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2909 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-170 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2910 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-180 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2910 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-190 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2911 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-200 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2911 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-210 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2912 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-230 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2912 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-240 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2912 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-250 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2912 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-260 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2913 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-20-270 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2913 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-40-10 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2915 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-40-20 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2915 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-40-40 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2915 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-40-50 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2916 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-40-60 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2916 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-40-70 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2916 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-40-80 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2916 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-50-10 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2923 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-50-50 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2924 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-50-55 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2924 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-50-57 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2924 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-50-101 Added 14:21 VA.R. 2924 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-50-115 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2925 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-50-116 Added 14:21 VA.R. 2925 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-50-170 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2925 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-80-10 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2934 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-80-40 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2934 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-80-50 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2934 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-80-60 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2935 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-80-70 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2935 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-80-80 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2935 8/5/98
18 VAC 85-80-120 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2935 8/5/98
18 VAC 110-20-210 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2253 5/13/98
18 VAC 120-30-100 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1846 4/1/98
18 VAC 125-20-30 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1851 4/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-10 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2771 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-20 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2771 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-30 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2772 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-40 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2773 9/1/98
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18 VAC 135-20-45 Added 14:20 VA.R. 2773 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-50 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2773 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-60 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2774 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-80 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2774 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-90 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2775 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-100 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2775 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-110 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2776 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-120 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2776 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-150 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2776 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-160 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2776 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-170 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2777 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-180 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2777 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-190 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2778 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-200 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2779 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-210 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2779 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-220 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2780 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-240 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2780 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-250 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2780 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-260 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2780 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-270 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2781 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-280 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2781 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-290 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2781 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-300 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2782 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-310 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2782 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-320 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2783 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-350 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2783 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-360 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2783 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-370 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2784 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-380 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2784 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-390 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2784 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-400 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2785 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-410 Amended 14:20 VA.R. 2785 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-420 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2785 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-430 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2785 9/1/98
18 VAC 135-20-440 Repealed 14:20 VA.R. 2785 9/1/98
Title 19.  Public Safety
19 VAC 30-20-10 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1853 3/18/98
19 VAC 30-20-70 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1853 3/18/98
19 VAC 30-20-80 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1854 3/18/98
19 VAC 30-20-140 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1854 3/18/98
19 VAC 30-20-150 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1854 3/18/98
19 VAC 30-20-160 Amended 14:11 VA.R. 1854 3/18/98
19 VAC 30-170-05 Added 14:22 VA.R. 3225 7/1/98
19 VAC 30-170-10 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3225 7/1/98
19 VAC 30-170-20 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3225 7/1/98
19 VAC 30-170-30 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3226 7/1/98
19 VAC 30-170-40 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3227 7/1/98
19 VAC 30-170-50 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3228 7/1/98
19 VAC 30-170-60 Added 14:22 VA.R. 3228 7/1/98
Title 20.  Public Utilities and Telecommunications
20 VAC 5-310-10 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2253 3/24/98
Title 21.  Securities and Retail Franchising
21 VAC 5-10-40 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3240 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-20-10 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3240 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-20-70 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3241 7/1/98
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21 VAC 5-20-80 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3241 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-20-230 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3243 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-20-290 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3243 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-20-300 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3243 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-30-20 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3244 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-30-50 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3244 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-30-60 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3244 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-30-70 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3244 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-30-80 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3245 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-40-20 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3245 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-40-30 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3246 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-40-100 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3247 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-40-120 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3249 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-80-10 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3249 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-80-40 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3250 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-80-140 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3250 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-80-160 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3251 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-80-170 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3253 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-80-210 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3253 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-80-220 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3254 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-80-250 Added 14:22 VA.R. 3255 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-85-10 Amended 14:13 VA.R. 1976 2/17/98
21 VAC 5-85-10 Amended 14:15 VA.R. 2259 3/24/98
21 VAC 5-85-10 Amended 14:22 VA.R. 3256 7/1/98
21 VAC 5-120-10 through
21 VAC 5-120-110

Added 14:22 VA.R.
3261-3264

7/1/98

Title 22.  Social Services
22 VAC 15-30-10 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2942 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-20 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2946 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-30 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2946 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-40 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2946 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-50 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2946 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-60 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2947 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-70 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2948 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-80 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2948 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-90 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2948 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-100 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2949 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-110 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2949 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-120 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2949 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-130 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2950 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-140 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2950 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-150 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2950 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-160 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2950 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-170 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2951 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-180 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2951 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-190 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2952 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-200 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2952 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-210 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2952 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-220 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2952 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-230 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2953 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-240 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2953 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-250 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2954 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-260 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2954 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-270 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2955 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-280 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2955 9/1/98
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22 VAC 15-30-290 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2955 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-300 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2955 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-310 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2955 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-320 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2956 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-330 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2957 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-340 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2958 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-350 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2958 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-360 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2959 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-370 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2959 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-380 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2959 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-390 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2960 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-400 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2960 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-410 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2961 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-420 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2961 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-430 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2961 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-440 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2962 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-450 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2963 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-451 Added 14:21 VA.R. 2965 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-460 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2963 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-461 Added 14:21 VA.R. 2965 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-470 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2964 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-471 Added 14:21 VA.R. 2966 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-480 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2964 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-481 Added 14:21 VA.R. 2966 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-484 Added 14:21 VA.R. 2966 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-487 Added 14:21 VA.R. 2966 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-490 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2966 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-500 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2967 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-510 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2968 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-520 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2968 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-530 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2969 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-540 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2969 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-550 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2969 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-560 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2970 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-570 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2970 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-575 Added 14:21 VA.R. 2970 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-580 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2971 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-590 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2971 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-600 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2972 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-610 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2972 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-620 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2973 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-630 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2973 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-640 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2974 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-650 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2975 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-660 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2975 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-670 Amended 14:21 VA.R. 2975 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-680 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2976 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-690 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2976 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-700 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2977 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-710 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2977 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-720 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2978 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-30-730 Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2978 9/1/98
22 VAC 15-40-10 through
22 VAC 15-40-730

Repealed 14:21 VA.R. 2990 9/1/98
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Title 24.  Transportation
24 VAC 30-71-160 Erratum 14:13 VA.R. 2011 --
24 VAC 30-71-170 Erratum 14:13 VA.R. 2028 --
24 VAC 30-170-10 Amended 14:13 VA.R. 1992 4/15/98
24 VAC 30-380-10 Amended 14:13 VA.R. 1992 2/24/98
24 VAC 30-390-10 Amended 14:13 VA.R. 1992 2/24/98
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION

TITLE 8.  EDUCATION

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education intends to
consider amending regulations entitled:  8 VAC 20-80-10 et
seq.  Regulations Governing Special Education
Programs for Children With Disabilities in Virginia.  The
purpose of the proposed action is to revise the special
education regulations in accordance with the 1997
amendments to the federal Individuals with Disabilities
Education Act and incorporate the Special Education
Program Standards, 8 VAC 20-570-10 et seq., into these
regulations.  The agency intends to hold a public hearing on
the proposed regulations after publication.

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until August 20, 1998, to
Cathy Pomfrey, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120,
Richmond, VA 23218-2120, telephone (804) 225-2402, FAX
(804) 371-8796, toll-free 1-800-292-3820 or 1-800-422-1098
or 371-2822/TTY (

Contact:  H. Douglas Cox, Director, Office of Special
Education and Student Services, Department of Education,
P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218-2120, telephone (804)
225-2402, FAX (804) 371-8796, toll-free 1-800-292-3820 or
1-800-422-1098 or 371-2822/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-276; Filed June 30, 1998, 12:01 p.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education intends to
consider amending regulations entitled:  8 VAC 20-350-10 et
seq.  Regulations Governing the Operation of
Proprietary Schools and Issuing of Agent Permits.  The
purpose of the proposed action is to (i) reorganize and
simplify the regulations, (ii) respond to changes made in the
Code of Virginia, and (iii) address conformity and
compliance with current standards impacting the schools for
children with disabilities.  The agency intends to hold a
public hearing on the proposed regulations after publication.

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-321 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until August 21, 1998.

Contact:  Carol Buchanan, Specialist, Department of
Education, Proprietary Schools Unit, P.O. Box 2120,
Richmond, VA 23218-2120, telephone (804) 225-2100, FAX

(804) 786-0809, toll-free 1-800-422-2083 or 1-800-422-
1098/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-277; Filed June 30, 1998, 12:01 p.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education intends to
consider repealing regulations entitled:  8 VAC 20-570-10 et
seq. Special Education Program Standards.  The purpose
of the proposed action is to repeal the current program
standards and incorporate them, in revised form, into the
Regulations Governing Special Education Programs for
Children with Disabilities in Virginia, 8 VAC 20-80-10 et seq.
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
regulations after publication.

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until August 20, 1998, to
Cathy Pomfrey, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120,
Richmond, VA 23218-2120, telephone (804) 225-2402, FAX
(804) 371-8796, toll-free 1-800-292-3820 or 1-800-422-1098
or 371-2822/TTY (

Contact:  H. Douglas Cox, Director, Office of Special
Education and Student Services, Department of Education,
P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218-2120, telephone (804)
225-2402, FAX (804) 371-8796, toll-free 1-800-292-3820 or
1-800-422-1098 or 371-2822/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-275; Filed June 30, 1998, 12:01 p.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 9.  ENVIRONMENT

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution Control Board
intends to consider repealing regulations entitled:  9 VAC 5-
150-10 et seq.  Regulation for Transportation Conformity
and promulgating regulations entitled:  9 VAC 5-151-10 et
seq. (Rev. U97) Regulation for Transportation
Conformity.  The purpose of the proposed action is to
develop a new regulation (9 VAC 5 Chapter 151) which will
streamline criteria and procedures for the transportation
planning organization to determine whether federally-funded
transportation plans, programs, and projects are in
conformance with state plans for attaining and maintaining
national ambient air quality standards in maintenance and
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nonattainment areas.  These areas include Northern Virginia,
Richmond, and Hampton Roads.  The previous regulation
(9 VAC 5 Chapter 150) concerning this matter is proposed
for repeal.

Public Meeting:  A public meeting will be held by the
department in the Training Room, Department of
Environmental Quality Central Office, 629 East Main Street,
Richmond, Virginia, at 10 a.m. on Thursday, August 20,
1998, to discuss the intended action.  Unlike a public
hearing, which is intended only to receive testimony, this
meeting is being held to discuss and exchange ideas and
information relative to regulation development.

Ad Hoc Advisory Group:  The department is soliciting
comments on the advisability of forming an ad hoc advisory
group, utilizing a standing advisory committee or consulting
with groups or individuals registering interest in working with
the department to assist in the drafting and formation of any
proposal.  The primary function of any group, committee or
individuals that may be utilized is to develop recommended
regulation amendments for department consideration
through the collaborative approach of regulatory negotiation
and consensus.  Any comments relative to this issue may be
submitted until 4:30 p.m., Friday, August 21, 1998, to the
Director, Office of Program Development, Department of
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia
23240.

Public Hearing Plans:  After publication in the Virginia
Register of Regulations, the department will hold at least one
public hearing to provide opportunity for public comment on
any regulation amendments drafted pursuant to this notice.

Need:  The contemplated regulation is essential (i) to protect
the health, safety or welfare of citizens or (ii) for the efficient
and economical performance of an important governmental
function.  The reasoning for this conclusion is set forth
below.

One of the primary goals of the federal Clean Air Act (Act) is
the attainment and maintenance of the National Ambient Air
Quality Standards (NAAQS).  These standards, designed to
protect public health and welfare, apply to six pollutants,
including ozone.  Ozone is formed when volatile organic
compounds and nitrogen oxides in the air react together in
the presence of sunlight.  The National Ambient Air Quality
Standard for ozone was established by the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to protect the health
of the general public with an adequate margin of safety.
When concentrations of ozone in the ambient air exceed the
federal standard, the area is considered to be out of
compliance and is classified as "nonattainment."  Numerous
counties and cities within the Northern Virginia, Richmond,
and Hampton Roads areas were initially identified as ozone
nonattainment areas but since then localities in the
Richmond and Hampton Roads areas have been reassigned
as maintenance areas.

Virginia is required by the Act to develop a State
Implementation Plan (SIP) to ensure that nonattainment
areas will come into compliance with the federal ozone
standard.  Failure to develop adequate programs to meet the

ozone standard (i) will result in continued violations of the
standard; (ii) may result in assumption of the program by
EPA, at which time the Commonwealth would lose authority
over matters affecting its citizens; and (iii) may result in the
imposition of sanctions by EPA, such as more restrictive
requirements on new major industrial facilities and loss of
federal funds for highway construction.  Furthermore, if a
particular area fails to attain the federal standard by the
legislatively mandated attainment date, EPA is required to
reassign it to the next higher classification level (denoting a
worse air quality problem), thus subjecting the area to more
stringent air pollution control requirements.

Section 176(c) of the Act states, "No department, agency, or
instrumentality of the Federal Government shall engage in,
support in any way or provide financial assistance for,
license or permit, or approve, any activity which does not
conform to a [State Implementation Plan]."  This requires
metropolitan planning organizations (MPOs) and the United
States Department of Transportation (DOT) to make
determinations that federally funded transportation plans,
programs, and projects conform with Virginia's SIP.
"Conformity" means that the activity conforms to the SIP's
purpose of eliminating or reducing the severity and number
of violations of the NAAQS and achieving expeditious
attainment of such standards, and will not (i) cause or
contribute to any new violation of any standard in any area,
(ii) increase the frequency or severity of any existing violation
of any standard in any area, or (iii) delay timely attainment of
any standard or any required interim emission reductions or
other milestones in any area.

The Act ties conformity to attainment and maintenance of the
NAAQS.  Thus, a transportation activity must not adversely
affect implementation of the SIP or the timely attainment and
maintenance of the NAAQS.  The Act emphasizes
reconciling the emissions from transportation activities with
the SIP rather than simply providing for the implementation
of SIP measures.  This integration of transportation activities
and air quality planning is intended to protect the integrity of
the SIP by helping to ensure that SIP emissions growth
projections are not exceeded, emissions reduction targets
are met, and maintenance efforts are not undermined.

EPA promulgated a rule (58 FR 62188, November 24, 1993)
which established the criteria and procedures governing the
determination of conformity for all federally funded
transportation plans, programs, and projects in
nonattainment areas.  In response to this promulgation, the
board adopted 9 VAC 5 Chapter 150 on August 13, 1996.
On August 15, 1997, (62 FR 43779) EPA promulgated a new
version of its transportation conformity rule which
significantly restructures the program.  This new rule
requires Virginia to submit to EPA, by August 15, 1998, a
revision to the SIP that establishes conformity criteria and
procedures consistent with the new transportation conformity
rule promulgated by EPA.  The new EPA rule provides more
clarity and flexibility to the existing transportation conformity
program.

The transportation conformity rule requires MPOs and DOT
to make conformity determinations on metropolitan
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transportation plans and transportation improvement
programs (TIPs) before they are adopted, approved, or
accepted.  In addition, highway or transit projects which are
funded or approved by the Federal Highway Administration
(FHWA) or the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) must be
found to conform before they are approved or funded by
DOT or an MPO.

Alternatives:  Alternatives to the proposed regulation are
being considered by the department.  The department has
tentatively determined that the first alternative is appropriate,
as it is the least burdensome and least intrusive alternative
that fully meets the purpose of the regulatory action.  The
alternatives being considered by the department are
discussed below.

1.  Adopt a new regulation to satisfy the provisions of
the law and associated regulations and policies.  This
option is being selected because it meets the stated
purpose of the regulatory action: to provide clarity and
additional flexibility to the existing transportation
conformity program.

2.  Make alternative regulatory requirements to those
required by the provisions of the law and associated
regulations and policies.  This option is not being
selected because it would not provide for the additional
flexibility and clarification of the existing program.

3.  Take no action to adopt the new regulation and
continue to process transportation conformity analysis
according to the existing rule.  This option is not being
selected because it would not give states and local
governments more authority in selecting the
performance measures used as tests of conformity and
more discretion when a transportation plan does not
conform to a SIP.

Costs and Benefits:  The department is soliciting comments
on the costs and benefits of the alternatives stated above or
other alternatives.

Applicable Statutory Requirements:  The contemplated
regulation is mandated by federal law or regulation.  A
succinct statement of the source (including legal citation)
and scope of the mandate may be found below.

Section 176 of the federal Clean Air Act requires that
transportation plans, programs and projects which are
funded or approved under Title 23 USC or the Federal
Transit Act conform with state or federal air quality
implementation plans.

Section 176(c)(1) of the Act states, "No department, agency,
or instrumentality of the Federal Government shall engage
in, support in any way or provide financial assistance for,
license or permit, or approve, any activity which does not
conform to a [State Implementation Plan]."  This requires
metropolitan planning organizations (MPOs) and the United
States Department of Transportation (DOT) to make
determinations that federally funded transportation plans,
programs, and projects conform with Virginia's SIP.
"Conformity" means that the activity conforms to the SIP's
purpose of eliminating or reducing the severity and number

of violations of the NAAQS and achieving expeditious
attainment of such standards, and will not (i) cause or
contribute to any new violation of any standard in any area,
(ii) increase the frequency or severity of any existing violation
of any standard in any area, or (iii) delay timely attainment of
any standard or any required interim emission reductions or
other milestones in any area.

The Act ties conformity to attainment and maintenance of the
NAAQS.  Section 176(c)(2) requires that a transportation
activity must not adversely affect implementation of the SIP
or the timely attainment and maintenance of the NAAQS.
The Act emphasizes reconciling the emissions from
transportation activities with the SIP rather than simply
providing for the implementation of SIP measures.  This
integration of transportation activities and air quality planning
is intended to protect the integrity of the SIP by helping to
ensure that SIP emissions growth projections are not
exceeded, emissions reduction targets are met, and
maintenance efforts are not undermined.

Sections 176(c)(4)(A) and (B) require EPA to promulgate
criteria and procedures for demonstrating and assuring
conformity of federal actions to a SIP.  Section 176(c)(4)(C)
then requires states to submit a SIP revision containing the
criteria and procedures.

40 CFR Part 51 subpart T of the Code of Federal
Regulations establishes the criteria and procedures
governing the determination of conformity for all federally
funded transportation plans, programs, and projects in
nonattainment areas.  Virginia is required to submit to EPA a
revision to the SIP that establishes conformity criteria and
procedures consistent with the transportation conformity rule
promulgated by EPA.  DOT and MPOs are required to make
conformity determinations on metropolitan transportation
plans and transportation improvement programs (TIPs)
before they are adopted, approved, or accepted.  In addition,
highway or transit projects which are funded or approved by
the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) or the Federal
Transit Administration (FTA) must be found to conform
before they are approved or funded by DOT or an MPO.

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m., Friday,
August 21, 1998, to the Director, Office of Program
Development, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O.
Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240.

Contact:  Mary E. Major, Environmental Program Manager,
Office of Program Development, Department of
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA
23240, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, toll-
free 1-800-592-5482 or (804) 698-4021/TDD (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-268; Filed June 30, 1998, 9:27 a.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution Control Board
intends to consider amending regulations entitled:  9 VAC 5-
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170-10 et seq.  Regulation for General Administration.
The purpose of the proposed action is to establish
requirements to govern the use of mediation and alternative
dispute resolution in regulation development and permit
issuance.

Public Meeting:  A public meeting will be held by the
department in the first floor training room, Department of
Environmental Quality, 629 E. Main Street, Richmond,
Virginia, at 9 a.m. on Monday, August 10, 1998, to discuss
the intended action.  Unlike a public hearing, which is
intended only to receive testimony, this meeting is being held
to discuss and exchange ideas and information relative to
regulation development.

Ad Hoc Advisory Group:  The department is soliciting
comments on the advisability of forming an ad hoc advisory
group, utilizing a standing advisory committee, or consulting
with groups or individuals registering interest in working with
the department to assist in the drafting and formation of any
proposal.  The primary function of any group, committee, or
individuals that may be utilized is to develop recommended
regulation amendments for department consideration
through the collaborative approach of regulatory negotiation
and consensus.  Any comments relative to this issue may be
submitted until 4:30 p.m., Tuesday, August 11, 1998, to the
Director, Office of Program Development, Department of
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia
23240.

Public Hearing Plans:  After publication in the Virginia
Register of Regulations, the department will hold at least one
public hearing to provide opportunity for public comment on
any regulation amendments drafted pursuant to this notice.

Need:  Beginning in the early 1970s, federal, state, and local
governments have increasingly used mediation and other
consensus-building tools as an alternative to more traditional
means of resolving disputes.  These consensus-building
tools are intended to supplement, not replace, conventional
legislative, judicial, administrative, or regulatory
mechanisms.  The benefits of alternative dispute resolution
(ADR) are many:

1.  ADR achieves results satisfactory to all parties.
Since each party learns to search for common ground
and to recognize similar interests in the other parties,
the traditional "hero vs. villain" illusion of adversarial
disputes is avoided.  Because the eventual solution is
beneficial to all parties rather than to only one, the
process produces mutual satisfaction in all parties,
rather than winners and losers.  Studies by the
American Arbitration Association show that 80% of
participants were satisfied with their ADR programs
regardless of process or outcome.

2.  ADR saves money.  For instance, a single mediation
undertaken by the New Jersey Center for Public Dispute
Resolution to settle a dispute with the federal
government over the state's emergency transport
system avoided a potential loss of $20 million in federal
funds.

3.  ADR accelerates the decision-making process.
Because the concerned parties have a vested interest in
achieving a speedy settlement, resolutions are generally
reached in much less time through ADR than is required
for resolutions to be reached through more traditional
means.

4.  ADR decreases the load on the court system.  For
instance, Cincinnati's Institute of Justice Private
Complaint Program has reduced the municipal court's
caseload by a third every year since 1974, with nearly
half of the referred cases settled out of court and others
being referred to noncourt agencies.  Government
decision-makers sometimes perceive litigation as a
politically safer option than ADR since the court can be
blamed for any undesirable outcome.  These decision-
makers, however, have much more control over the
outcome through ADR than through litigation.
Furthermore, they can still exercise their right to a court
settlement if ADR fails.

5.  ADR is politically advantageous to the involved
parties by enhancing their reputation for consensus
building and problem solving.  Because ADR has
developed only over the course of the past two decades,
some local government officials and other small-group
representatives are unaware of its existence or question
its legitimacy as a problem-solving tool appropriate to
the inherently conservative atmosphere of government.
But ADR is not the same as binding arbitration:  its use
is neither an admission of failure nor an abdication of
authority, but a demonstration that the involved parties
are sufficiently dedicated to the public good to be willing
to compromise in order to reach a solution.

A large number of the issues settled through ADR are
environmental ones.  Dispute resolution centers in New
Jersey, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, New Mexico,
Georgia, Florida, and many other states have initiated
important discussions and facilitated agreements involving
complex and controversial issues like the establishment of
regional sewage treatment facilities, the siting of solid waste
disposal facilities, the disposal of hazardous waste, the
cleanup of a Superfund site, the spraying of herbicides, the
adoption of environmental standards, and the siting of
underground storage tanks.  A well-known example of the
successful use of mediation to address an environmental
problem is the decade-long public battle over the
development of Hawaii's first state water code, which pitted
developers against environmentalists, large landowners
against small ones, and the counties against the state.  This
battle produced one legislative stalemate after another to the
frustration of all parties but was finally resolved through
mediation conducted by Hawaii's Program on Alternative
Dispute Resolution.

An example of what happens without ADR is the case of the
Hampton-Roads refinery in Virginia.  The refinery was
proposed in 1970, discussed for over a decade, but never
built.  Contributing to the failure of the project were badly
timed changes in the permitting process, understaffing of the
State Air Pollution Control Board, statutory vagueness, siting
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disagreements, lack of communication within the Army
Corps of Engineers, angry citizens, gubernatorial
dissatisfaction with the progress of the project, the
involvement of the federal government through both the
Department of the Interior and the military, and the expiration
of the initially issued permits.  At the end of the failed project,
the company's expenses were over $6 million, with about
half of that in legal fees.  The Army Corps of Engineers' bill
for legal fees was at least that amount.  This case is a good
example of the many such environmental disputes which die
of exhaustion rather than being settled fairly and thoughtfully.
Millions of dollars and thousands of labor years were
squandered without an equitable settlement.

One way for Virginia to avoid this situation in the future is to
adopt regulations that enable it to implement § 10.1-1186.3
of the Code of Virginia.

Alternatives:  Alternatives to the proposed regulation
amendments being considered by the department are
discussed below.

1.  Amend the regulations to satisfy the provisions of the
law.  This option is being considered because it meets
the stated purpose of the regulatory action:  to comply
with the mandate of § 10.1-1186.3 of the Code of
Virginia that requires the adoption of regulations for the
use of mediation or alternative dispute resolution in the
development of a regulation or in the issuance of a
permit.

2.  Make alternative regulatory changes to those
required by the provisions of the law and associated
regulations and policies.  This option is not being
considered because it does not meet the stated purpose
of the regulatory action.

3.  Take no action to amend the regulations.  This option
is not being considered because it does not meet the
stated purpose of the regulatory action.

Costs and Benefits:  The department is soliciting comments
on the costs and benefits of the alternatives stated above or
other alternatives.

Applicable Statutory Requirements:  Section 10.1-1186.3 A
of the Code of Virginia allows the State Air Pollution Control
Board to use mediation and alternative dispute resolution to
resolve underlying issues, to reach a consensus, or to
compromise on contested issues related to the development
of a regulation or to the issuance of a permit.  Section 10.1-
1186.3 D of the Code of Virginia specifies that the board
shall adopt regulations in accordance with the Administrative
Process Act for the implementation of § 10.1-1186.3.  These
regulations are to include (i) standards and procedures for
the conduct of mediation and dispute resolution, (ii) the
appointment and function of a neutral; and (iii) procedures to
protect the confidentiality of papers, work product, or other
materials.

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1186.3 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m.,
Tuesday, August 11, 1998, to the Director, Office of Program

Development, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O.
Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240.

Contact:  Dr. Kathleen Sands, Policy Analyst, Office of
Program Development, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone
(804) 698-4413, FAX (804) 698-4510, toll-free 1-800-592-
5482 or (804) 698-4021/TDD (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-254; Filed June 15, 1998, 2:26 p.m.

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Virginia Waste Management Board
intends to consider promulgating regulations entitled:  9 VAC
20-15-10 et seq. Mediation and Alternative Dispute
Resolution.  The purpose of the proposed action is to
establish requirements to govern the use of mediation and
alternative dispute resolution in regulation development and
permit issuance.

Public Meeting:  A public meeting will be held by the
department in the first floor training room, Department of
Environmental Quality, 629 E. Main Street, Richmond,
Virginia, at 9 a.m. on Monday, August 10, 1998, to discuss
the intended action.  Unlike a public hearing, which is
intended only to receive testimony, this meeting is being held
to discuss and exchange ideas and information relative to
regulation development.

Ad Hoc Advisory Group:  The department is soliciting
comments on the advisability of forming an ad hoc advisory
group, utilizing a standing advisory committee, or consulting
with groups or individuals registering interest in working with
the department to assist in the drafting and formation of any
proposal.  The primary function of any group, committee, or
individuals that may be utilized is to develop recommended
regulation amendments for department consideration
through the collaborative approach of regulatory negotiation
and consensus.  Any comments relative to this issue may be
submitted until 4:30 p.m., Tuesday, August 11, 1998, to the
Director, Office of Program Development, Department of
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia
23240.

Public Hearing Plans:  After publication in the Virginia
Register of Regulations, the department will hold at least one
public hearing to provide opportunity for public comment on
any regulation amendments drafted pursuant to this notice.

Need:  Beginning in the early 1970s, federal, state, and local
governments have increasingly used mediation and other
consensus-building tools as an alternative to more traditional
means of resolving disputes.  These consensus-building
tools are intended to supplement, not replace, conventional
legislative, judicial, administrative, or regulatory
mechanisms.  The benefits of alternative dispute resolution
(ADR) are many:
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1.  ADR achieves results satisfactory to all parties.
Since each party learns to search for common ground
and to recognize similar interests in the other parties,
the traditional "hero vs. villain" illusion of adversarial
disputes is avoided.  Because the eventual solution is
beneficial to all parties rather than to only one, the
process produces mutual satisfaction in all parties,
rather than winners and losers.  Studies by the
American Arbitration Association show that 80% of
participants were satisfied with their ADR programs
regardless of process or outcome.

2.  ADR saves money.  For instance, a single mediation
undertaken by the New Jersey Center for Public Dispute
Resolution to settle a dispute with the federal
government over the state's emergency transport
system avoided a potential loss of $20 million in federal
funds.

3.  ADR accelerates the decision-making process.
Because the concerned parties have a vested interest in
achieving a speedy settlement, resolutions are generally
reached in much less time through ADR than is required
for resolutions to be reached through more traditional
means.

4.  ADR decreases the load on the court system.  For
instance, Cincinnati's Institute of Justice Private
Complaint Program has reduced the municipal court's
caseload by a third every year since 1974, with nearly
half of the referred cases settled out of court and others
being referred to noncourt agencies.  Government
decision-makers sometimes perceive litigation as a
politically safer option than ADR since the court can be
blamed for any undesirable outcome.  These decision-
makers, however, have much more control over the
outcome through ADR than through litigation.
Furthermore, they can still exercise their right to a court
settlement if ADR fails.

5.  ADR is politically advantageous to the involved
parties by enhancing their reputation for consensus
building and problem solving.  Because ADR has
developed only over the course of the past two decades,
some local government officials and other small-group
representatives are unaware of its existence or question
its legitimacy as a problem-solving tool appropriate to
the inherently conservative atmosphere of government.
But ADR is not the same as binding arbitration:  its use
is neither an admission of failure nor an abdication of
authority, but a demonstration that the involved parties
are sufficiently dedicated to the public good to be willing
to compromise in order to reach a solution.

A large number of the issues settled through ADR are
environmental ones.  Dispute resolution centers in New
Jersey, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, New Mexico,
Georgia, Florida, and many other states have initiated
important discussions and facilitated agreements involving
complex and controversial issues like the establishment of
regional sewage treatment facilities, the siting of solid waste
disposal facilities, the disposal of hazardous waste, the
clean-up of a Superfund site, the spraying of herbicides, the

adoption of environmental standards, and the siting of
underground storage tanks.  A well-known example of the
successful use of mediation to address an environmental
problem is the decade-long public battle over the
development of Hawaii's first state water code, which pitted
developers against environmentalists, large landowners
against small ones, and the counties against the state.  This
battle produced one legislative stalemate after another to the
frustration of all parties but was finally resolved through
mediation conducted by Hawaii's Program on Alternative
Dispute Resolution.

An example of what happens without ADR is the case of the
Hampton-Roads refinery in Virginia.  The refinery was
proposed in 1970, discussed for over a decade, but never
built.  Contributing to the failure of the project were badly
timed changes in the permitting process, understaffing of the
State Air Pollution Control Board, statutory vagueness, siting
disagreements, lack of communication within the Army
Corps of Engineers, angry citizens, gubernatorial
dissatisfaction with the progress of the project, the
involvement of the federal government through both the
Department of the Interior and the military, and the expiration
of the initially issued permits.  At the end of the failed project,
the company's expenses were over $6 million, with about
half of that in legal fees.  The Army Corps of Engineers' bill
for legal fees was at least that amount.  This case is a good
example of the many such environmental disputes which die
of exhaustion rather than being settled fairly and thoughtfully.
Millions of dollars and thousands of labor years were
squandered without an equitable settlement.

One way for Virginia to avoid this situation in the future is to
adopt regulations that enable it to implement § 10.1-1186.3
of the Code of Virginia.

Alternatives:  Alternatives to the proposed regulation
amendments being considered by the department are
discussed below.

1.  Amend the regulations to satisfy the provisions of the
law.  This option is being considered because it meets
the stated purpose of the regulatory action:  to comply
with the mandate of § 10.1-1186.3 of the Code of
Virginia that requires the adoption of regulations for the
use of mediation or alternative dispute resolution in the
development of a regulation or in the issuance of a
permit.

2.  Make alternative regulatory changes to those
required by the provisions of the law and associated
regulations and policies.  This option is not being
considered because it does not meet the stated purpose
of the regulatory action.

3.  Take no action to amend the regulations.  This option
is not being considered because it does not meet the
stated purpose of the regulatory action.

Costs and Benefits:  The department is soliciting comments
on the costs and benefits of the alternatives stated above or
other alternatives.
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Applicable Statutory Requirements:  Section 10.1-1186.3 A
of the Code of Virginia allows the State Air Pollution Control
Board to use mediation and alternative dispute resolution to
resolve underlying issues, to reach a consensus, or to
compromise on contested issues related to the development
of a regulation or to the issuance of a permit.  Section 10.1-
1186.3 D of the Code of Virginia specifies that the board
shall adopt regulations in accordance with the Administrative
Process Act for the implementation of § 10.1-1186.3.  These
regulations are to include (i) standards and procedures for
the conduct of mediation and dispute resolution, (ii) the
appointment and function of a neutral; and (iii) procedures to
protect the confidentiality of papers, work product, or other
materials.

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1186.3 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m.,
Tuesday, August 11, 1998, to the Director, Office of Program
Development, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O.
Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240.

Contact:  Dr. Kathleen Sands, Policy Analyst, Office of
Program Development, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone
(804) 698-4413, FAX (804) 698-4510, toll-free 1-800-592-
5482 or (804) 698-4021/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-253; Filed June 15, 1998, 2:26 p.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Virginia Waste Management Board
intends to consider promulgating regulations entitled:  9 VAC
20-170-10 et seq.  Transportation of Solid and Medical
Wastes on State Waters. The purpose of the proposed
action is to satisfy the provisions of § 10.1-1454.1 of the
Code of Virginia.  The cited provision is an amendment to
the statutes as a result of House Bill No. 816 passed by the
1998 General Assembly.

Public Meeting:  A public meeting will be held by the
department in the first floor training room, Department of
Environmental Quality, 629 E. Main Street, Richmond,
Virginia, at 10 a.m. on August 11, 1998, to discuss the
intended action.  Unlike a public hearing, which is intended
only to receive testimony, this meeting is being held to
discuss and exchange ideas and information relative to
regulation development.

Ad Hoc Advisory Group:  The department will form an ad hoc
advisory group to assist in the development of the regulation.
If you desire to be in the group, notify the agency contact in
writing by 4:30 p.m. on August 14, 1998, and provide your
name, address, phone number and the organization you
represent (if any).  Notification of the composition of the ad
hoc advisory group will be sent to all applicants.  If you wish
to be in the group, you are encouraged to attend the public
meeting mentioned above.  The primary function of the
group is to develop the proposed regulation for department
consideration through the collaborative approach of
regulatory negotiation and consensus.

Public Hearing Plans: After publication in the Virginia
Register of Regulations, the department will hold at least one
public hearing to provide opportunity for public comment on
the proposed regulation.

Need: The proposed regulation will establish a permits by
rule requirement for facilities receiving nonhazardous solid
wastes and regulated medical waste from a ship, barge or
other vessel.  It will also establish specific requirements
governing the commercial transport of nonhazardous solid
wastes and regulated medical waste upon the navigable
waters of the Commonwealth and the loading and off-loading
of ships, barges and other vessels transporting such wastes.
Ships, barges or vessels, and the containers holding wastes
have to be designed, constructed, loaded, operated and
maintained so as to prevent the escape of liquids, waste and
odors and to prevent the loss or spillage of waste in the
event of accident.

Therefore, the proposed regulatory action is essential to
protect the health, safety and welfare of the citizens of the
Commonwealth.  It is also essential to protect the
Commonwealth's environment and natural resources from
pollution, impairment or destruction.

Alternatives: The following alternatives to the proposed
regulation are being considered by the department:

1.  Adopt the proposed regulation.  This option is being
selected because it will satisfy the statutory mandates.

2.  Take no action to adopt the regulation.
Consequently, in the absence of the permitting program
as required by the law, it could prohibit any solid waste
management facilities from receiving nonhazardous
solid wastes or regulated medical waste from a ship,
barge and other vessel transporting such wastes upon
the navigable waters of the Commonwealth.  Further, in
the absence of any specific requirements as mandated
by the statutes, it could prohibit the commercial
transport of nonhazardous solid wastes and regulated
medical waste upon the navigable waters of the
Commonwealth.  This option is not being selected
because it would not be constitutional and the statutory
mandates would not be fulfilled.

Costs and Benefits: The department is soliciting comments
on the costs and benefits of the alternatives stated above or
other alternatives.

Applicable Statutory Requirements: The contemplated
regulation is mandated by state law.  Specifically, § 10.1-
1454.1 of the Code of Virginia charges the Virginia Waste
Management Board to develop regulations governing the
commercial transport, loading and off-loading of
nonhazardous solid wastes (except scrap metal, dredged
material and source-separated recyclables) and regulated
medical waste by ship, barge or other vessel upon navigable
waters of the Commonwealth.  The statutes also require the
regulation to include the following provisions: (i) to establish
a permits by rule requirement for the receiving facilities; (ii)
to establish specific requirements for ships, barges or other
vessels, and containers to prevent the escape of wastes,
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liquids, and odors, and to prevent spillage in the event of an
accident; (iii) to establish a fee, payable by the owner or
operator of any ship, barge or other vessel, to recover the
administrative and enforcement costs, and to assess a
permit fee for the owner or operator of a receiving facility;
and (iv) to require the owners and operators of ships, barges,
and other vessels to demonstrate financial responsibility as a
condition of operation.

Statutory Authority § 10.1-1454.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m. on
August 14, 1998.

Contact:  Lily Choi, Environmental Engineer Senior,
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009,
Richmond, VA 23240-0009, telephone (804) 698-4054 or
FAX (804) 698-4032.

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-255; Filed June 15, 1998, 2:26 p.m.

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends
to consider promulgating regulations entitled:  9 VAC 25-15-
10 et seq. Mediation and Alternative Dispute Resolution.
The purpose of the proposed action is to establish
requirements to govern the use of mediation and alternative
dispute resolution in regulation development and permit
issuance.

Public Meeting:  A public meeting will be held by the
department in the first floor training room, Department of
Environmental Quality, 629 E. Main Street, Richmond,
Virginia, at 9 a.m. on Monday, August 10, 1998, to discuss
the intended action.  Unlike a public hearing, which is
intended only to receive testimony, this meeting is being held
to discuss and exchange ideas and information relative to
regulation development.

Ad Hoc Advisory Group:  The department is soliciting
comments on the advisability of forming an ad hoc advisory
group, utilizing a standing advisory committee, or consulting
with groups or individuals registering interest in working with
the department to assist in the drafting and formation of any
proposal.  The primary function of any group, committee, or
individuals that may be utilized is to develop recommended
regulation amendments for department consideration
through the collaborative approach of regulatory negotiation
and consensus.  Any comments relative to this issue may be
submitted until 4:30 p.m., Tuesday, August 11, 1998, to the
Director, Office of Program Development, Department of
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia
23240.

Public Hearing Plans:  After publication in the Virginia
Register of Regulations, the department will hold at least one
public hearing to provide opportunity for public comment on
any regulation amendments drafted pursuant to this notice.

Need:  Beginning in the early 1970s, federal, state, and local
governments have increasingly used mediation and other
consensus-building tools as an alternative to more traditional
means of resolving disputes.  These consensus-building
tools are intended to supplement, not replace, conventional
legislative, judicial, administrative, or regulatory
mechanisms.  The benefits of alternative dispute resolution
(ADR) are many:

1.  ADR achieves results satisfactory to all parties.
Since each party learns to search for common ground
and to recognize similar interests in the other parties,
the traditional "hero vs. villain" illusion of adversarial
disputes is avoided.  Because the eventual solution is
beneficial to all parties rather than to only one, the
process produces mutual satisfaction in all parties,
rather than winners and losers.  Studies by the
American Arbitration Association show that 80% of
participants were satisfied with their ADR programs
regardless of process or outcome.

2.  ADR saves money.  For instance, a single mediation
undertaken by the New Jersey Center for Public Dispute
Resolution to settle a dispute with the federal
government over the state's emergency transport
system avoided a potential loss of $20 million in federal
funds.

3.  ADR accelerates the decision-making process.
Because the concerned parties have a vested interest in
achieving a speedy settlement, resolutions are generally
reached in much less time through ADR than is required
for resolutions to be reached through more traditional
means.

4.  ADR decreases the load on the court system.  For
instance, Cincinnati's Institute of Justice Private
Complaint Program has reduced the municipal court's
caseload by a third every year since 1974, with nearly
half of the referred cases settled out of court and others
being referred to noncourt agencies.  Government
decision-makers sometimes perceive litigation as a
politically safer option than ADR since the court can be
blamed for any undesirable outcome.  These decision-
makers, however, have much more control over the
outcome through ADR than through litigation.
Furthermore, they can still exercise their right to a court
settlement if ADR fails.

5.  ADR is politically advantageous to the involved
parties by enhancing their reputation for consensus
building and problem solving.  Because ADR has
developed only over the course of the past two decades,
some local government officials and other small-group
representatives are unaware of its existence or question
its legitimacy as a problem-solving tool appropriate to
the inherently conservative atmosphere of government.
But ADR is not the same as binding arbitration:  its use
is neither an admission of failure nor an abdication of
authority, but a demonstration that the involved parties
are sufficiently dedicated to the public good to be willing
to compromise in order to reach a solution.
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A large number of the issues settled through ADR are
environmental ones.  Dispute resolution centers in New
Jersey, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, New Mexico,
Georgia, Florida, and many other states have initiated
important discussions and facilitated agreements involving
complex and controversial issues like the establishment of
regional sewage treatment facilities, the siting of solid waste
disposal facilities, the disposal of hazardous waste, the
clean-up of a Superfund site, the spraying of herbicides, the
adoption of environmental standards, and the siting of
underground storage tanks.  A well-known example of the
successful use of mediation to address an environmental
problem is the decade-long public battle over the
development of Hawaii's first state water code, which pitted
developers against environmentalists, large landowners
against small ones, and the counties against the state.  This
battle produced one legislative stalemate after another to the
frustration of all parties but was finally resolved through
mediation conducted by Hawaii's Program on Alternative
Dispute Resolution.

An example of what happens without ADR is the case of the
Hampton-Roads refinery in Virginia.  The refinery was
proposed in 1970, discussed for over a decade, but never
built.  Contributing to the failure of the project were badly
timed changes in the permitting process, understaffing of the
State Air Pollution Control Board, statutory vagueness, siting
disagreements, lack of communication within the Army
Corps of Engineers, angry citizens, gubernatorial
dissatisfaction with the progress of the project, the
involvement of the federal government through both the
Department of the Interior and the military, and the expiration
of the initially issued permits.  At the end of the failed project,
the company's expenses were over $6 million, with about
half of that in legal fees.  The Army Corps of Engineers' bill
for legal fees was at least that amount.  This case is a good
example of the many such environmental disputes which die
of exhaustion rather than being settled fairly and thoughtfully.
Millions of dollars and thousands of labor years were
squandered without an equitable settlement.

One way for Virginia to avoid this situation in the future is to
adopt regulations that enable it to implement § 10.1-1186.3
of the Code of Virginia.

Alternatives:  Alternatives to the proposed regulation
amendments being considered by the department are
discussed below.

1.  Amend the regulations to satisfy the provisions of the
law.  This option is being considered because it meets
the stated purpose of the regulatory action:  to comply
with the mandate of § 10.1-1186.3 of the Code of
Virginia that requires the adoption of regulations for the
use of mediation or alternative dispute resolution in the
development of a regulation or in the issuance of a
permit.

2.  Make alternative regulatory changes to those
required by the provisions of the law and associated
regulations and policies.  This option is not being
considered because it does not meet the stated purpose
of the regulatory action.

3.  Take no action to amend the regulations.  This option
is not being considered because it does not meet the
stated purpose of the regulatory action.

Costs and Benefits:  The department is soliciting comments
on the costs and benefits of the alternatives stated above or
other alternatives.

Applicable Statutory Requirements:  Section 10.1-1186.3 A
of the Code of Virginia allows the State Air Pollution Control
Board to use mediation and alternative dispute resolution to
resolve underlying issues, to reach a consensus, or to
compromise on contested issues related to the development
of a regulation or to the issuance of a permit.  Section 10.1-
1186.3 D of the Code of Virginia specifies that the board
shall adopt regulations in accordance with the Administrative
Process Act for the implementation of § 10.1-1186.3.  These
regulations are to include (i) standards and procedures for
the conduct of mediation and dispute resolution, (ii) the
appointment and function of a neutral; and (iii) procedures to
protect the confidentiality of papers, work product, or other
materials.

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1186.3 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m.,
Tuesday, August 11, 1998, to the Director, Office of Program
Development, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O.
Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240.

Contact:  Dr. Kathleen Sands, Policy Analyst, Office of
Program Development, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone
(804) 698-4413, FAX (804) 698-4510, toll-free 1-800-592-
5482 or (804) 698-4021/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-259; Filed June 15, 1998, 2:26 p.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends
to consider amending regulations entitled:  9 VAC 25-260-10
et seq.  Water Quality Standards.   The purpose of the
proposed action is to receive comments from the public on
whether the board should (i) propose amendments to the
numerical criteria for metals to include the Environmental
Protection Agency's dissolved conversion factors for metals
(9 VAC 25-260-140 B); (ii) propose amendments to the
mixing zone section (9 VAC 25-260-20 B) of the regulation to
provide specific protection to endangered and threatened
species; (iii) propose updates to the listing of endangered
species (9 VAC 25-260-110); and (iv) consider whether the
requirements of the antidegradation policy (9 VAC 25-260-
30) should apply to all state activities, including nonpoint
source activities.

Intent:  These issues may have a significant impact on
activities in the Commonwealth and DEQ intends to provide
the public every avenue of public participation, beginning
with this Notice of Intended Regulatory Action, in order to
ensure the amendments are necessary to protect aquatic life
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and provide for the maintenance of water quality in the
Commonwealth of Virginia.

Public Hearing Plans:  After publication in the Virginia
Register of Regulations, the department will hold at least one
public hearing to provide opportunity for public comment on
any regulation amendments drafted pursuant to this notice.

Need:  The Environmental Protection Agency submitted
comments to the Department of Environmental Quality
stating that recent amendments to the Water Quality
Standards would not meet federal approval unless the
subject matters listed above were addressed.  At its meeting
on September 25, 1997, the State Water Control Board
directed the staff to publish this Notice of Intended
Regulatory Action so that the issues could be presented to
the public.

Alternatives:  DEQ could allow the Environmental Protection
Agency to promulgate amendments to Virginia's water
quality standards to address the four issues.  This is the
least favorable alternative since it is preferable to promulgate
regulations that are tailored to meet Virginia's needs.  EPA
has never had to promulgate water quality regulations for
Virginia in the past.

There may be various alternatives to address the
Environmental Protection Agency's concerns regarding
endangered species.  For example, smaller mixing zones
(rather than no mixing zones) could be specified for
endangered and threatened species waters or the regulation
could "grandfather" existing mixing zones and only apply the
new protection requirements for endangered species to new
discharges.  Regarding the listing of endangered and
threatened species, the list could contain only federal
species or both federal and state listed species.  DEQ has
technical concerns regarding the dissolved metals
conversion factors.  Therefore, one alternative to address
this need would be for DEQ to do the necessary research to
resolve these concerns before adopting the conversion
factors.

Request for Comments:  Comments are requested on the
intended regulatory action, to include any ideas to assist the
agency in the development of the proposal.  Comments are
requested on the costs and benefits of the stated alternatives
or other alternatives.  DEQ also requests comments as to
whether the agency should use the participatory approach to
assist the agency in the development of the proposal.  The
participatory approach is defined as a method for the use of
(i) standing advisory committees, (ii) ad hoc advisory groups
or panels, (iii) consultation with groups or individuals
registering interest in working with the agency, or (iv) any
combination thereof.

Public Meetings:  Public meetings will be held on
Wednesday, September 9, 1998, at 7 p.m. and Thursday,
September 10, 1998, at 2 p.m. at the Virginia War Memorial,
621 South Belvidere Street, Richmond, Virginia 23220.

Statutory Authority:  § 62.1-44.15 (3a) of the Code of
Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until September 18,
1998, to Dr. Alan J. Anthony, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240.

Contact:  Elleanore Daub, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone
(804) 698-4111.

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-266; Filed June 30, 1998, 9:27 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 12.  HEALTH

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to
consider promulgating regulations entitled:  12 VAC 5-212-
10 et seq.  Procedures and Policies for Administering
the Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund.
The purpose of the proposed action is to carry out a 1997
legislative directive (Chapter 567 of the 1997 Acts of
Assembly) by developing regulations that establish
procedures and policies for soliciting and receiving
applications for moneys in the Commonwealth Neurotrauma
Initiative (CNI) Trust Fund, and criteria for reviewing and
ranking such applications.  The purpose of the CNI Trust
Fund is to prevent traumatic spinal cord and brain injuries
and to improve the treatment and care of Virginians with
such injuries.  The agency does not intend to hold a public
hearing on the proposed regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-73.4 of the Code of
Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until August 20, 1998.

Contact:  Douglas R. Harris, Administrative Law Advisor,
Department of Health, Office of the Commissioner, 1500 E.
Main St., Suite 214, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
786-3561, FAX (804) 786-4616 or toll-free 1-800-828-
1120/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-263; Filed June 25, 1998, 12:11 p.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
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TITLE 13.  HOUSING

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY
DEVELOPMENT

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and Community
Development intends to consider amending regulations
entitled:  13 VAC 5-21-10 et seq.  Virginia Certification
Standards.  The purpose of the proposed action is to review
the regulations and amend provisions that are found to be no
longer necessary or overly restrictive and to amend the
regulations as required by General Assembly action and to
put before the public for comment suggested changes
submitted to the Board of Housing and Community
Development.  Those provisions may include, but are not
limited to, amending the regulation regarding certificates of
competence and training requirements for code officials and
assistants.  The agency intends to hold a public hearing on
the proposed regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 36-137 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until August 21, 1998.

Contact:  Norman R. Crumpton, Associate Director,
Department of Housing and Community Development, 501
N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7170,
FAX (804) 371-7092 or (804) 371-7089/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-273; Filed July 1, 1998, 12:10 p.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and Community
Development intends to consider amending regulations
entitled:  13 VAC 5-31-10 et seq.  Virginia Amusement
Device Regulations.  The purpose of the proposed action is
to review the regulations and amend provisions that are
found to be no longer necessary or overly restrictive and as
required by General Assembly action and to put before the
public for comment suggested changes submitted to the
Board of Housing and Community Development.  The
proposed amendments may include, but are not limited to,
amending the regulation by updating to more recent
standards of the American National Standards Institute
(ANSI) and the American Society for Testing and Materials
(ASTM) relating to amusement devices.  The agency intends
to hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation after
publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 36-98.3 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until August 21, 1998.

Contact:  Norman R. Crumpton, Associate Director,
Department of Housing and Community Development, 501

N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7170,
FAX (804) 371-7092 or (804) 371-7089/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-271; Filed July 1, 1998, 12:11 p.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and Community
Development intends to consider amending regulations
entitled:  13 VAC 5-51-10 et seq.  Virginia Statewide Fire
Prevention Code.  The purpose of the proposed action is to
review the regulations and amend provisions that are found
to be no longer necessary or overly restrictive and as
required by General Assembly action and to put before the
public for comment suggested changes submitted to the
Board of Housing and Community Development.  The
proposed amendments may include, but are not limited to: (i)
amending the regulation to clarify the appointment
procedures of local assistant (deputy) fire marshals as set
fourth in legislation, (ii) considering requiring the code official
to enforce maintenance provisions of the code regarding
replacement of smoke detectors in R-2 buildings, (iii)
considering amending the time allowed to become certified
by the board following appointment as a code official, and
(iv) considering amending the regulation to address a
potential safety problem with an already installed fire
sprinkler device which may not function properly during a fire
situation.  The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the
proposed regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 27-97 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until August 21, 1998.

Contact:  Norman R. Crumpton, Associate Director,
Department of Housing and Community Development, 501
N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7170,
FAX (804) 371-7092 or (804) 371-7089/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-270; Filed July 1, 1998, 12:12 p.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and Community
Development intends to consider amending regulations
entitled:  13 VAC 5-61-10 et seq.  Virginia Uniform
Statewide Building Code.  The purpose of the proposed
action is to review the regulations and amend provisions that
are found to be no longer necessary or overly restrictive and
as required by General Assembly action and to put before
the public for comment suggested changes submitted to the
Board of Housing and Community Development.  The
proposed amendments may include, but are not limited to: (i)
requiring an additional sign for handicap parking stating the
penalty as required by statute, (ii) amending and adding
definitions to comport with legislation regarding farm
structures and buildings, (iii) codifying the recommendations
in the board’s 1998 report to the Governor and the General
Assembly (House Document No. 29) regarding exterior
insulation and finish systems (EIFS), (iv) considering
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amending the building code regarding accessibility standards
for renovation projects, (v) implementing expedited plan
review as recommended by the board’s ad hoc committee,
(vi) considering requiring certain smoke detectors be
replaced in R-2 buildings, (vii) considering adoption of the
radon gas provisions in the CABO 1 & 2 Family Dwelling
Code, and (viii) considering amending the time allowed to
become certified by the board following appointment as a
code official.  The agency intends to hold a public hearing on
the proposed regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 36-98 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until August 21, 1998.

Contact:  Norman R. Crumpton, Associate Director,
Department of Housing and Community Development, 501
N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7170,
FAX (804) 371-7092 or (804) 371-7089/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-274; Filed July 1, 1998, 12:12 p.m.

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and
Community Development intends to consider amending
regulations entitled:  13 VAC 5-91-10 et seq.  Virginia
Industrialized Building Safety Regulations.  The purpose
of the proposed action is to delete or amend provisions that
are found to be no longer necessary or overly restrictive, to
amend the regulations as required by General Assembly
action, and to put before the public for comment suggested
changes submitted to the Board of Housing and Community
Development.  Those provisions may include but are not
limited to (i) deleting the section regarding the requirement
for "warning signs" on unregistered industrialized buildings
offered for sale by dealers in Virginia and (ii) deleting the
section regarding the requirement for the building
manufacturer to include the name and model numbers of
appliances in industrialized buildings.  The agency intends to
hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation after
publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 36-137 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until September 3,
1998.

Contact:  Norman R. Crumpton, Associate Director,
Department of Housing and Community Development, 501
N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7170,
FAX (804) 371-7092 or (804) 371-7089/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-297; Filed July 14, 1998, 12:02 p.m.

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and Community
Development intends to consider amending regulations
entitled:  13 VAC 5-111-10 et seq.  Enterprise Zone
Program Regulations.  The purpose of the proposed action

is to provide clearer guidance regarding the state enterprise
zone program incentives that stimulate new job creation and
private investment in designated distressed enterprise zones.
Amendments will give clearer guidelines for businesses in
qualifying for the use of these incentives.

In 1995, the General Assembly made significant legislative
changes to the enterprise zone program.  Since that time, it
has been discovered that more guidance is needed to ensure
that the program is operating as efficiently and fairly as
possible.  These proposed regulations are to provide this
guidance to the localities and businesses that benefit from
the enterprise zone program.

The proposed regulations are needed to enable the
enterprise zone program to operate efficiently and
economically.  Three of the four state incentives provided in
the program are structured as tax credits.  In addition, there
are fiscal limits placed on the amount of credits that can be
authorized.  It has come to the board’s attention that there is
a considerable amount of confusion concerning the
requirements and operation of the program.  Many of the
program clients have indiciated that the current regulations
do not clearly address the many issues surrounding program
qualification and have requested clarification.  There have
been several questions concerning what types of businesses
are eligible for this program and how these businesses can
qualify.  It is the board’s desire to ensure that the regulations
provide clear and understandable guidelines by addressing
all issues concerning the performance of the program.  The
agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 59.1-273 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until September 4,
1998.

Contact:  M. Shea Hollifield, Associate Director, Department
of Housing and Community Development, 501 N. 2nd St.,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7030 or FAX
(804) 371-7093.

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-298; Filed July 14, 1998, 12:02 p.m.

MANUFACTURED HOUSING BOARD

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Manufactured Housing Board
intends to consider amending regulations entitled:  13 VAC
6-20-10 et seq.  Manufactured Housing Licensing and
Transaction Recovery Fund Regulations.  The purpose of
the proposed action is to review the regulations and amend
provisions that are found to be no longer necessary or overly
restrictive.  The proposed amendments may include, but are
not limited to: (i) amending the regulations to allow the
Manufactured Housing Board to require tests/examinations
for licensure as dealers, brokers, or salespersons; (ii) adding
a provision which would allow a licensed regulant to obtain a
temporary location license if needed; (iii) in 13 VAC 6-20-
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180, Penalties; notice to regulant, changing "Transaction
Recovery Fund assessment" to "monetary penalty"; (iv)
deleting unnecessary requirements from 13 VAC 6-20-210
and 13 VAC 6-20-220 concerning dealer/manufacturer sales
agreements; and (v) reviewing 13 VAC 6-20-250 for possible
deletion as restriction of trade.  The agency intends to hold a
public hearing on the proposed regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 36-85.18 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until August 21, 1998.

Contact:  Curtis L. McIver, Associate Director, Department
of Housing and Community Development, 501 N. 2nd St.,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7160, FAX (804)
371-7092 or (804) 371-7089/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-272; Filed July 1, 1998, 12:10 p.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 18.  PROFESSIONAL AND

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

CEMETERY BOARD

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Cemetery Board intends to consider
promulgating regulations entitled:  18 VAC 47-10-10 et seq.
Public Participation Guidelines.  The purpose of the
proposed action is to promulgate public participation
guidelines for soliciting input of interested parties in the
formation and development of the Cemetery Board’s
regulations.  The agency does not intend to hold a public
hearing on the proposed regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 9-6.14:7.1 and 54.1-2313 of the
Code of Virginia (Chapter 721 of the 1998 Acts of
Assembly).

Public comments may be submitted until August 6, 1998.

Contact:  Karen O’Neal, Assistant Director, Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-0500 or
(804) 367-8548/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-250; Filed June 15, 1998, 2:55 p.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Cemetery Board intends to consider
promulgating regulations entitled:  18 VAC 47-20-10 et seq.
Cemetery Board Regulations.  The purpose of the
proposed action is to implement the provisions of Chapter
23.1 (§ 54.1-2310 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of
Virginia (Cemetery Operators, Perpetual Care Trust Funds
and Preneed Burial Contracts) enacted by the 1998 General

Assembly. The agency intends to hold a public hearing on
the proposed regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2313 of the Code of Virginia
(Chapter 721 of the 1998 Acts of Assembly).

Public comments may be submitted until August 6, 1998.

Contact:  Karen O’Neal, Assistant Director, Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-0500 or
(804) 367-8548/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-260; Filed June 9, 1998, 11:23 a.m.

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Department of Professional and
Occupational Regulation intends to consider amending
regulations entitled:  18 VAC 120-10-10 et seq. Public
Participation Guidelines.  The purpose of the proposed
action is to amend the regulation by removing the terms
“employment counselors” and “polygraph examiner” to
enable the regulation to apply to all regulatory programs
administered by the Director of the Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation, including the
Professional Boxing and Wrestling Events program
mandated by Senate Bill 157 (Chapter 895 of the 1998 Acts
of Assembly).  The agency intends to hold a public hearing
on the proposed regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 9-6.14:7.1 and 54.1-831 of the Code
of Virginia (Chapter 895 of the 1998 Acts of Assembly).

Public comments may be submitted until August 6, 1998.

Contact:  David E. Dick, Assistant Director, Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8507, FAX
(804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-251; Filed June 15, 1998, 2:29 p.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Department of Professional and
Occupational Regulation intends to consider promulgating
regulations entitled:  18 VAC 120-40-10 et seq.  Virginia
Professional Boxing and Wrestling Events Regulations.
The purpose of the proposed action is to promulgate
regulations for the newly created boxing and wrestling events
regulatory program mandated by Senate Bill 157 (1998).
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-831 of the Code of Virginia
(Chapter 895 of the 1998 Acts of Assembly).
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Public comments may be submitted until August 6, 1998.

Contact:  David E. Dick, Assistant Director, Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8507, FAX
(804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-252; Filed June 15, 1998, 1:32 p.m.

BOARD FOR WASTE MANAGEMENT FACILITY
OPERATORS

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Board for Waste Management
Facility Operators intends to consider amending regulations
entitled:   18 VAC 155-10-10 et seq.  Public Participation
Guidelines.  The purpose of the proposed action is to
determine from public comment the effectiveness and
continued need for the existing regulations.  The agency
intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation
after publication.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 9-6.14:7.1 and 54.1-201 of the Code
of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until September 3,
1998.

Contact:  David E. Dick, Assistant Director, Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8507, FAX
(804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-279; Filed July 8, 1998, 10:42 a.m.

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Board for Waste Management
Facility Operators intends to consider amending regulations
entitled:   18 VAC 155-20-10 et seq.  Waste Management
Facility Operators Regulations.  The purpose of the
proposed action is to determine from public comment the
effectiveness and continued need for the existing regulations.
The board will solicit public comment, with specific emphasis
on the the following subjects:

1.  Should the CPE requirement be either eliminated
or amended?

2.  Which state agency should decide when a
licensed operator is required -- the boards
administered by the Department of Environmental
Quality or the Board for Waste Management Facility
Operators administered by the Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation?

3.  What is considered a “substantial change” to a
training course in 18 VAC 155-20-230 E?

4.  Should the seven-year experience requirement to
qualify for licensure in lieu of facility specific training
be modified or eliminated?

5.  Should the sections dealing with reciprocity and
reinstatement be amended?

6.  Elimination of all references to “Interim
Certification” since this is no longer applicable.

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 54. 1-2211 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until September 3,
1998.

Contact:  David E. Dick, Assistant Director, Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8507, FAX
(804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-278; Filed July 8, 1998, 10:42 a.m.
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PUBLIC COMMENT PERIODS - PROPOSED REGULATIONS

TITLE 9.  ENVIRONMENT

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD

September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. – Public Hearing
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street,
Training Room, Richmond, Virginia.

October 6, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
4:30 p.m. on this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution
Control Board intends to amend regulations entitled:
9 VAC 5-30-10 et seq.  and 9 VAC 5-70-10 et seq.
Regulations for the Control and Abatement of Air
Pollution (Rev. A97).  The regulation amendments
concern provisions covering total suspended particulate
(TSP) ambient air quality standards.  The proposed
action is to remove references to TSP from 9 VAC 5
Chapter 30, Ambient Air Quality Standards, and from 9
VAC 5 Chapter 70, Air Pollution Episodes.

Request for Comments:  The purpose of this notice is to
provide the public with the opportunity to comment on the
proposed regulation and the costs and benefits of the
proposal.

Localities Affected:  There is no locality which will bear any
identified disproportionate material air quality impact due to
the proposed regulation which would not be experienced by
other localities.

Location of Proposal:  The proposal, an analysis conducted
by the department (including: a statement of purpose, a
statement of estimated impact and benefits of the proposed
regulation, an explanation of need for the proposed
regulation, an estimate of the impact of the proposed
regulation upon small businesses, identification of and
comparison with federal requirements, and a discussion of
alternative approaches) and any other supporting documents
may be examined by the public at the department's Office of
Air Regulatory Development (Eighth Floor), 629 East Main
Street, Richmond, Virginia and the department's regional
offices (listed below) between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of
each business day until the close of the public comment
period.

Southwest Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
355 Deadmore Street
Abingdon, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 676-4800

West Central Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
3019 Peters Creek Road
Roanoke, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 562-6700

Lynchburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
7705 Timberlake Road
Lynchburg, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 582-5120

Valley Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4411 Early Road
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22801
Ph:  (540) 574-7800

Fredericksburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
300 Central Road, Suite B
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 899-4600

Northern Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
13901 Crown Court
Woodbridge, Virginia
Ph: (703) 583-3800

Piedmont Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4949-A Cox Road
Glen Allen, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 527-5020

Tidewater Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
5636 Southern Boulevard
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Ph:  (757) 518-2000

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.
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Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m., October
6, 1998, to the Director, Office of Air Regulatory
Development, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O.
Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240.

Contact:  Karen G. Sabasteanski, Environmental Program
Planner, Office of Program Development, Department of
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA
23240, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 698-4510, toll-
free 1-800-592-5482 or (804) 698-4021/TTY (

* * * * * * * *

September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. – Public Hearing
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street,
Training Room, Richmond, Virginia.

October 6, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
4:30 p.m. on this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution
Control Board intends to amend regulations entitled: 9
VAC 5-40-10 et seq.  Regulations for the Control and
Abatement of Air Pollution (Rev. B97) (repealing
Article 38, 9 VAC 5-40-5350 through 9 VAC 5-40-
5480.  Emission Standards for Dry Cleaning
Systems (Rule 4-38)).  The amendments concern
provisions covering perchloroethylene dry cleaning
source emissions.  The proposed action is to repeal the
existing regulation.

Request for Comments:  The purpose of this notice is to
provide the public with the opportunity to comment on the
proposed regulation and the costs and benefits of the
proposal.

Localities Affected:  There is no locality which will bear any
identified disproportionate material air quality impact due to
the proposed regulation which would not be experienced by
other localities.

Location of Proposal:  The proposal, an analysis conducted
by the department (including: a statement of purpose, a
statement of estimated impact and benefits of the proposed
regulation, an explanation of need for the proposed
regulation, an estimate of the impact of the proposed
regulation upon small businesses, identification of and
comparison with federal requirements, and a discussion of
alternative approaches) and any other supporting documents
may be examined by the public at the department's Office of
Air Regulatory Development (Eighth Floor), 629 East Main
Street, Richmond, Virginia and the department's regional
offices (listed below) between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of
each business day until the close of the public comment
period.

Southwest Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
355 Deadmore Street
Abingdon, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 676-4800

West Central Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
3019 Peters Creek Road
Roanoke, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 562-6700

Lynchburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
7705 Timberlake Road
Lynchburg, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 582-5120

Valley Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4411 Early Road
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22801
Ph:  (540) 574-7800

Fredericksburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
300 Central Road, Suite B
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 899-4600

Northern Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
13901 Crown Court
Woodbridge, Virginia
Ph: (703) 583-3800

Piedmont Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4949-A Cox Road
Glen Allen, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 527-5020

Tidewater Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
5636 Southern Boulevard
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Ph:  (757) 518-2000

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m., October
6, 1998, to the Director, Office of Air Regulatory
Development, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O.
Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240.

Contact:  Mary E. Major, Environmental Program Manager,
Office of Program Development, Department of
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA
23240, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, toll-
free 1-800-592-5482 or (804) 698-4021/TTY (

* * * * * * * *

September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. – Public Hearing
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street,
Training Room, Richmond, Virginia.

October 6, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
4:30 p.m. on this date.
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Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution
Control Board intends to amend regulations entitled: 9
VAC 5-40-10 et seq.  Regulations for the Control and
Abatement of Air Pollution (Rev. E97).  The regulation
amendments concern provisions covering fuel burning
equipment.  The regulation has been revised in order to
clarify the fact that internal combustion engines
(stationary combustion turbines) are considered to be
fuel burning equipment, and that stationary internal
combustion engines have been specifically exempted
from this rule.

Request for Comments:  The purpose of this notice is to
provide the public with the opportunity to comment on the
proposed regulation and the costs and benefits of the
proposal.

Localities Affected:  There is no locality which will bear any
identified disproportionate material air quality impact due to
the proposed regulation which would not be experienced by
other localities.

Location of Proposal:  The proposal, an analysis conducted
by the department (including: a statement of purpose, a
statement of estimated impact and benefits of the proposed
regulation, an explanation of need for the proposed
regulation, an estimate of the impact of the proposed
regulation upon small businesses, identification of and
comparison with federal requirements, and a discussion of
alternative approaches) and any other supporting documents
may be examined by the public at the department's Office of
Air Regulatory Development (Eighth Floor), 629 East Main
Street, Richmond, Virginia and the department's regional
offices (listed below) between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of
each business day until the close of the public comment
period.

Southwest Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
355 Deadmore Street
Abingdon, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 676-4800

West Central Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
3019 Peters Creek Road
Roanoke, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 562-6700

Lynchburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
7705 Timberlake Road
Lynchburg, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 582-5120

Valley Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4411 Early Road
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22801
Ph:  (540) 574-7800

Fredericksburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
300 Central Road, Suite B
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 899-4600

Northern Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
13901 Crown Court
Woodbridge, Virginia
Ph: (703) 583-3800

Piedmont Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4949-A Cox Road
Glen Allen, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 527-5020

Tidewater Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
5636 Southern Boulevard
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Ph:  (757) 518-2000

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m., October
6, 1998, to the Director, Office of Air Regulatory
Development, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O.
Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240.

Contact:  Karen G. Sabasteanski, Environmental Program
Planner, Office of Program Development, Department of
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA
23240, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 698-4510, toll-
free 1-800-592-5482 or (804) 698-4021/TTY (

* * * * * * * *

September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. – Public Hearing
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street,
Training Room, Richmond, Virginia.

October 6, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
4:30 p.m. on this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution
Control Board intends to amend regulations entitled: 9
VAC 5-40-10 et seq.  Regulations for the Control and
Abatement of Air Pollution (Rev. L97).  The
amendments concern provisions covering pulp and
paper mills.  The regulation has been revised to clarify
the rule’s applicability.

Request for Comments:  The purpose of this notice is to
provide the public with the opportunity to comment on the
proposed regulation and the costs and benefits of the
proposal.

Localities Affected:  There is no locality which will bear any
identified disproportionate material air quality impact due to
the proposed regulation which would not be experienced by
other localities.
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Location of Proposal:  The proposal, an analysis conducted
by the department (including: a statement of purpose, a
statement of estimated impact and benefits of the proposed
regulation, an explanation of need for the proposed
regulation, an estimate of the impact of the proposed
regulation upon small businesses, identification of and
comparison with federal requirements, and a discussion of
alternative approaches) and any other supporting documents
may be examined by the public at the department's Office of
Air Regulatory Development (Eighth Floor), 629 East Main
Street, Richmond, Virginia and the department's regional
offices (listed below) between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of
each business day until the close of the public comment
period.

Southwest Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
355 Deadmore Street
Abingdon, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 676-4800

West Central Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
3019 Peters Creek Road
Roanoke, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 562-6700

Lynchburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
7705 Timberlake Road
Lynchburg, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 582-5120

Valley Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4411 Early Road
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22801
Ph:  (540) 574-7800

Fredericksburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
300 Central Road, Suite B
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 899-4600

Northern Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
13901 Crown Court
Woodbridge, Virginia
Ph: (703) 583-3800

Piedmont Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4949-A Cox Road
Glen Allen, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 527-5020

Tidewater Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
5636 Southern Boulevard
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Ph:  (757) 518-2000

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m., October
6, 1998, to the Director, Office of Air Regulatory
Development, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O.
Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240.

Contact:  Mary E. Major, Environmental Program Manager,
Office of Program Development, Department of
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA
23240, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, toll-
free 1-800-592-5482 or (804) 698-4021/TTY (

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w

TITLE 12.  HEALTH

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical
Assistance Services intends to amend regulations
entitled:  Home Infusion Therapy/Bundling Services
and Supplies: 12 VAC 30-50-10 et seq.  Amount,
Duration and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care
and Service and 12 VAC 30-80-10 et seq.  Methods
and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates;
Other Types of Care. The purpose of this proposal is to
simplify the billing procedures of durable medical
equipment providers and pharmacy providers when they
are providing home infusion therapy services/bundling
services and supplies (intravenous therapy, respiratory
therapy and service agreements on equipment).  This
simplification will make providers’ initial billing process
easier and quicker but will also make it easier for DMAS
to conduct postpayment reviews of providers’ records.

Statutory Authority:  § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until the close of
business on October 2, 1998, to Lynda Hamm, R.N.,
Division of Provider Operations, Department of Medical
Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.

Contact:  Victoria P. Simmons, Regulatory Coordinator,
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad
St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
7959 or FAX (804) 786-3146.

STATE MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL RETARDATION
AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE SERVICES BOARD

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
5 p.m. on this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Mental Health,
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Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services
Board intends to repeal regulations entitled:  12 VAC 35-
140-10 et seq.  Mandatory Standards for Community
Mental Health Program. The Department of Mental
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse
Services proposes to repeal this regulation, which
established administrative and clinical standards for
community mental health programs.  This regulation
was superseded by 12 VAC 35-102-10 et seq., Rules
and Regulations for the Licensure of Facilities and
Providers of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and
Substance Abuse Services, which became effective
January 13, 1995.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 37.1-10, 37.1-179.1 and 37.1-199 of
the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Marion Greenfield, Policy Analyst, Department of
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse
Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797,
telephone (804) 786-6431.

* * * * * * * *

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
5 p.m. on this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Mental Health,
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services
Board intends to repeal regulations entitled:  12 VAC 35-
150-10 et seq.  Mandatory Standards for Community
Mental Retardation Programs. The Department of
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse
Services proposes to repeal this regulation, which
established administrative and clinical standards for
community mental retardation programs.  This
regulation was superseded by 12 VAC 35-102-10 et
seq., Rules and Regulations for the Licensure of
Facilities and Providers of Mental Health, Mental
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, which
became effective January 13, 1995.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 37.1-10, 37.1-179.1 and 37.1-199 of
the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Marion Greenfield, Policy Analyst, Department of
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse
Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797,
telephone (804) 786-6431.

* * * * * * * *

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
5 p.m. on this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Mental Health,
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services
Board intends to repeal regulations entitled:  12 VAC 35-
160-10 et seq.  Mandatory Standards for Community
Substance Abuse Programs. The Department of

Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse
Services proposes to repeal this regulation, which
established administrative and clinical standards for
community substance abuse programs.  This regulation
was superseded by 12 VAC 35-102-10 et seq., Rules
and Regulations for the Licensure of Facilities and
Providers of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and
Substance Abuse Services, which became effective
January 13, 1995.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 37.1-10, 37.1-179.1 and 37.1-199 of
the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Marion Greenfield, Policy Analyst, Department of
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse
Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797,
telephone (804) 786-6431.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w

TITLE 16.  LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY

Safety and Health Codes Board

August 31, 1998 - 7 p.m. – Public Hearing
City Hall, 9027 Center Street, Council Chambers, Manassas,
Virginia.

September 1, 1998 - 7 p.m. – Public Hearing
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, House
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.

September 2, 1998 - 7 p.m. – Public Hearing
Roanoke County Administration Center, 6204 Bernard Drive,
Board of Supervisors’ Meeting Room, Roanoke, Virginia.

September 3, 1998 - 7 p.m. – Public Hearing
City Hall, 810 Union Street, City Council Chambers, Norfolk,
Virginia.

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Safety and Health Codes
Board intends to amend regulations entitled:  16 VAC
25-50-10 et seq.  Boiler and Pressure Vessel Rules
and Regulations.  The proposed amendments
incorporate the transfer of authority for setting various
fee amounts from statute to regulation, and adopt
several changes recommended individually or jointly by
the regulated community, the National Board of Boiler
and Pressure Vessel Inspectors, or the Chief Boiler and
Pressure Vessel Inspector of the Commonwealth.

The proposed amendments also direct commonwealth
inspectors to inspect uninsured boilers and pressure
vessels in those geographic areas or limited time
periods within which commercial services would not be
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available, set out the chief inspector’s criteria for
determining unavailability, and establish rates for
certification inspections conducted by commonwealth
inspectors.  These changes eliminate a criticism of the
current privatized inspection system and are directed by
Chapter 212, 1997 Acts of Assembly.

Also included in these proposed amendments are
changes suggested by the department’s regulatory
review and a request by the department to require the
national board “R” and “VR” stamp certification for
organizations performing repairs and alterations to
boilers and pressure vessels, and the repair and
resetting of safety valves.  Current regulation requires
that all boilers and pressure vessels be designed,
constructed and installed in accordance with the ASME
Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code.  However, the ASME
code does not establish standards for repair or alteration
of these objects once they have been code stamped and
installed.

Statutory Authority:  § 40.1-51.6 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until October 2, 1998, to
Bonnie R. Hopkins, Regulatory Coordinator, Department of
Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor Building, 13 South 13th
Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219.

Contact:  Fred P. Barton, Boiler Chief Inspector, Department
of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor Bldg., 13 S. 13th St.,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3262, FAX (804)
371-6524 or (804) 786-2376/TTY (

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w

TITLE 18.  PROFESSIONAL AND
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS

August 18, 1998 - 7 p.m. – Public Hearing
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Conference Room 4W, Richmond,
Virginia.

August 20, 1998 - 7 p.m. – Public Hearing
Roanoke County Board of Supervisors, 5204 Bernard Drive,
Supervisor’s Meeting Room, Roanoke, Virginia.

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted
through this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board for Contractors
intends to amend regulations entitled:  18 VAC 50-30-10
et seq.  Board for Contractors Tradesman Rules and
Regulations.  The proposed amendments add backflow
prevention device workers to the trades regulated by the
Tradesman Program.  The voluntary, statewide
certification program for backflow prevention device
workers mandated by the General Assembly will enable

such workers to practice in different areas of the
Commonwealth without having to apply for certification
in each jurisdiction separately.  Except for fees for the
new program, there are no changes in the current fee
structure of the Tradesman Program.  Some editorial
changes are also made.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-201, 54.1-1102 and Article 3 (§
54.1-1128 et seq.) of Chapter 11 of Title 54.1 of the Code of
Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until October 2, 1998, to
George O. Bridewell, Administrator, Board for Contractors,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia 23230.

Contact:  Geralde W. Morgan, Assistant Director,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804)
367-6166 or FAX (804) 367-2474.

BOARD OF DENTISTRY

September 18, 1998 - 1 p.m. – Public Hearing
The Williamsburg Lodge, 310 South England Street,
Williamsburg, Virginia.

October 2, 1998 -  Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Dentistry
intends to amend regulations entitled:  18 VAC 60-20-10
et seq.  Virginia Board of Dentistry Regulations.
Amendments are proposed pursuant to Executive Order
15 (94), which called for clarification, simplification, and
where possible, a reduction in the regulatory burden.
The proposed amendments allow dentists to delegate
acts which are not specifically reserved for
dentists/dental hygienists and which are consistent with
the training and experience of the assistant.

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 27 (§ 54.1-
2700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9906 or FAX (804) 662-
9943.

* * * * * * * *

September 18, 1998 - 1 p.m. – Public Hearing
The Williamsburg Lodge, 310 South England Street,
Williamsburg, Virginia.

October 2, 1998 -  Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Dentistry
intends to amend regulations entitled:  18 VAC 60-20-10
et seq.  Virginia Board of Dentistry Regulations.
Amendments are proposed to increase fees for



Public Comment Periods - Proposed Regulations

Virginia Register of Regulations

3388

licensees of the Board of Dentistry in order to comply
with a statutory mandate for the agency to raise
revenues sufficient to meet expenses.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-113 and 54.1-2400 of the Code
of Virginia.

Contact:  Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9906 or FAX (804) 662-
9943.

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND
EMBALMERS

September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. – Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalmers intends to amend regulations
entitled:  18 VAC 65-20-10 et seq.  Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalmers Regulations and 18 VAC
65-40-10 et seq.  Resident Trainee Program for
Funeral Service.  Amendments are proposed to
increase fees for licensees of the Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalmers in order to comply with a
statutory mandate for the agency to raise revenues
sufficient to meet expenses.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-113 of the Code
of Virginia.

Contact:  Elizabeth Young-Tisdale, Executive Director,
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6606 W. Broad
St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804)
662-9907 or FAX (804) 662-9943.

* * * * * * * *

September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. – Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalmers intends to amend regulations
entitled:  18 VAC 65-20-10 et seq.  Regulations of the
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers.
Amendments are proposed pursuant to Executive Order
15 (94), which called for clarification, simplification and,
where possible, a reduction in the regulatory burden.
Regulations which are duplicative of provisions of the
Code of Virginia or the Funeral Industry Rule of the
Federal Trade Commission are eliminated.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400 and Chapter 28 (§ 54.1-
2800 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Elizabeth Young-Tisdale, Executive Director,
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6606 W. Broad
St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804)
662-9907 or FAX (804) 662-9943.

* * * * * * * *

September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. – Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalmers intends to amend regulations
entitled:  18 VAC 65-30-10 et seq.  Regulations for
Preneed Funeral Planning.  Amendments are
proposed pursuant to Executive Order 15 (94) in order to
make regulations clearer, simpler, and less
burdensome.  The proposed amendments will eliminate
the requirement for prior approval by the board of any
preneed contract and disclosure statements.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-2803 and 54.1-2820
of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Elizabeth Young-Tisdale, Executive Director,
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6606 W. Broad
St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804)
662-9907 or FAX (804) 662-9943.

* * * * * * * *

September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. – Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalmers intends to amend regulations
entitled:  18 VAC 65-40-10 et seq.  Resident Trainee
Program for Funeral Service.  Amendments are
proposed pursuant to Executive Order 15 (94) in order to
make regulations clearer, simpler, and less
burdensome.  Amendments will eliminate duplicative
regulations and requirements such as a certain number
of funerals and embalmings in one calendar year in one
funeral establishment.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400 and Chapter 28 (§ 54.1-
2800 et seq. ) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Elizabeth Young-Tisdale, Executive Director,
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6606 W. Broad
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St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804)
662-9907 or FAX (804) 662-9943.

BOARD OF PHARMACY

August 18, 1998 - 9 a.m. – Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy
intends to amend regulations entitled:  18 VAC 110-20-
10 et seq.  Virginia Board of Pharmacy Regulations.
Amendments are proposed pursuant to Executive Order
15 (94) to clarify and simplify the regulations and to
conform them to current pharmacy practice.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-3307 and 54.1-3312
of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Elizabeth Scott Russell, Executive Director, Board
of Pharmacy, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9911 or FAX (804) 662-
9943.

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK

September 11, 1998 - 10 a.m. – Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 3, Richmond, Virginia.

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted
through this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Social Work
intends to amend regulations entitled:  18 VAC 140-20-
10 et seq.  Regulations Governing the Practice of
Social Work.  The purpose of the proposed amendment
is to clarify and reformat the regulations and include an
endorsement provision to expedite licensure of
applicants with lengthy experience licensed in other
jurisdictions and to comply with a statutory mandate
enacted by the 1994 General Assembly by endorsing
regulations promulgated by the Board of Psychology for
voluntary certification of licensees as sex offender
treatment providers.

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 37 (§ 54.1-
3700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Janet Delorme, Deputy Executive Director, Board
of Licensed Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family
Therapists and Substance Abuse Treatment Professionals,
6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230,
telephone (804) 662-9575, FAX (804) 662-9943 or (804)
662-7197/TTY (

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE

September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. – Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Veterinary
Medicine intends to amend regulations entitled:  18 VAC
150-20-10 et seq.  Regulations Governing the
Practice of Veterinary Medicine.  Amendments are
proposed pursuant to Executive Order 15 (94) in order to
make regulations clearer, simpler, and less
burdensome.  The proposed amendments will
streamline requirements for veterinary facilities, clarify
the practice of surgery, allow continuing education
through journals or information networks, and specify
that continuing education must pertain to clinical areas
of practice.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400 and Chapter 38 (§ 54.1-
3800 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Elizabeth Carter, Ph.D., Executive Director, Board
of Veterinary Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor,
Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9915 or
FAX (804) 662-9943.
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PROPOSED REGULATIONS

TITLE 9.  ENVIRONMENT

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD

Title of Regulation:  Regulations for the Control and
Abatement of Air Pollution (Rev. A97).
9 VAC 5-30-10 et seq.  Ambient Air Quality Standards
(repealing 9 VAC 5-30-20).
9 VAC 5-70-10 et seq.  Air Pollution Episode Prevention
(amending 9 VAC 5-70-40).

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m.
Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m. on
October 6, 1998

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  Section 10.1-1308 of the Virginia Air Pollution Control
Law authorizes the State Air Pollution Control Board to
promulgate regulations abating, controlling and prohibiting
air pollution in order to protect public health and welfare.

Purpose:  The purpose of the regulation is to limit particulate
matter in the ambient air to a specified level necessary to
protect public health, safety, and welfare.  The repeal of TSP
portions of the regulations is being proposed because the
TSP requirements have been determined to be no longer
required by federal mandate and no longer essential to
protect the health, safety or welfare of citizens.  This
determination was made pursuant to the review of existing
regulations mandated by Executive Order 15 (94).

Substance:  The major provisions of the proposal are
summarized below:

1.  References to TSP are removed from 9 VAC 5
Chapter 30, Ambient Air Quality Standards.

2.  References to TSP are removed from 9 VAC 5
Chapter 70, Air Pollution Episodes.

Issues:  The primary advantages and disadvantages of
implementation and compliance with the regulation by the
public and the department are discussed below.

1.  Public:  The public will benefit from cost savings and
more efficient use of resources.  Because PM10 analysis
is more comprehensive than TSP analysis, more
complete and accurate information will be maintained.
New sources will not have to perform unnecessary
analyses; sources currently controlling TSP have the
option of remodeling for PM10 if they wish.  Further,
PM10 control is more protective of public health and
welfare than TSP control.  There are no disadvantages
associated with this action to the public.

2.  Department:  The department will benefit from more
comprehensive and useful analyses of particulate
matter; additional labor associated with implementation
of out-of-date standards will be saved.  There are no
disadvantages associated with this action to the
department.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13
(94).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property.  The
analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  The Department of
Environmental Quality (DEQ) has concluded that the total
suspended particulate (TSP) standard is no longer mandated
by state or federal law and is not essential to protect the
health, safety, and welfare of citizens or for the efficient and
economical performance of some governmental function.
Thus, the agency proposes repealing the standard.

Estimated economic impact.  Starting in 1972, TSP was
regulated as a criteria pollutant under federal law.  In 1987,
the TSP standard was replaced by regulations limiting
ambient concentrations of small particulate matter known as
PM10.  Small particulate matter is primarily responsible for
the health and safety effects of particulate emissions.  Larger
particles are of concern more for their impact on visibility.
The regulation of PM10 was implemented in a way that
ensured that the focus on PM10 would not serve to increase
emissions of larger particulates.

Since these regulations are still effective, a number of
sources must continue testing their air emissions for TSP in
addition to the requirement that they test for PM10.  Newer
sources or sources that have been modified since the PM10
standards were implemented do not have to test for TSP.
Thus, only older sources operating under old permits will be
affected by this change.  DEQ does not have an estimate of
the number of sources affected nor of the annual cost to
these sources of the TSP sampling.

The replacement of the TSP standard with the PM10 standard
does not imply an increase in emissions of larger
particulates.  Thus, the elimination of the TSP standard is



Proposed Regulations

Volume 14, Issue 23 Monday, August 3, 1998

3391

not expected to have any negative impact on air quality.
Since there are no costs imposed by eliminating the
standard, the savings in sampling costs constitute a net
economic benefit for Virginia.  The magnitude of this benefit
cannot readily be estimated at this time.

Businesses and entities affected.  Theoretically, this change
could affect all large, stationary sources of particulate
emissions.  However, in practice, only older sources that
have not had significant permit revisions since the PM10 rule
was promulgated will be affected by this change.  The
number of sources in this category is not known at this time.

Localities particularly affected.  It is not expected that any
localities will be disproportionately affected by this change.

Projected impact on employment.  The proposed change will
not have any impact on employment in Virginia.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  This
change will result in a small reduction in compliance costs
for a few large, stationary sources of particulate emissions.
Whenever compliance costs are reduced, there is a chance
that business profits will increase and, hence, that owners of
the business will realize an increase in the value of their
ownership share.  The extent of this change depends on
elasticities of demand and supply in the industry.  Not
enough is known about the sources affected to know whether
source owners will experience any gain.  In any event, the
impact will be far too small to measure.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Department of
Environmental Quality takes no issue with the economic
impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and
Budget.

Summary:

The regulation amendments concern provisions covering
total suspended particulate (TSP) ambient air quality
standards.  The proposed action is to remove references
to TSP from 9 VAC 5 Chapter 30, Ambient Air Quality
Standards, and from 9 VAC 5 Chapter 70, Air Pollution
Episodes.

9 VAC 5-30-20.  Particulate matter (TSP). (Repealed.)

A.  The primary ambient air quality standards are as
follows:

1.  75 micrograms per cubic meter - annual geometric
mean.

2.  260 micrograms per cubic meter - maximum 24-hour
concentration not to be exceeded more than once per
year.

B.  The secondary ambient air quality standards are as
follows:

1.  60 micrograms per cubic meter - annual geometric
mean, as a guide to be used in assessing achievement
of the 24-hour standard in subsection B 2 of this section.

2.  150 micrograms per cubic meter - maximum 24-hour
concentration not to be exceeded more than once per
year.

C.  Particulate matter shall be measured by the reference
method described in Appendix B of 40 CFR 50, or other
method designated as such, or by an equivalent method.

PART I.
AIR POLLUTION EPISODES.

9 VAC 5-70-40.  Episode determination.

A.  A condition justifying the proclamation of a watch,
alert, warning or emergency stage shall be deemed to exist
whenever the board determines that the accumulation of one
or more air pollutants in any place, locality, county or other
area in the state may attain, is attaining or has attained
levels which could, if such levels are sustained or exceeded,
lead to a threat to the public health.  In making this
determination the conditions specified in subsections B, C
and D of this section shall be used as guidance.

B.  Episode criteria.

1.  Watch stage.  An internal administrative watch shall
be declared by the board whenever the national, local or
department meteorologist issues a forecast indicating an
atmosphere stagnation will cover any substantial portion
of the state for an extended period.  Such a weather
forecast will indicate meteorological conditions which
are expected to inhibit pollutant dispersion.  The watch
shall be in effect for those areas of the state covered by
the weather forecast and it shall continue throughout the
atmospheric stagnation period.  Such weather forecasts
indicating atmospheric stagnation will take the form of:

a.  A regional air stagnation advisory, including any
substantial part of the state, issued by the National
Weather Service; and

b.  A forecast by the department meteorologist
indicating local meteorological conditions which inhibit
dispersion for an extended period of time.

2.  An alert stage shall be declared by the board when
any one of the following pollutant levels is reached at
any monitoring site concurrent with:

a.  Consultation with the national, local or department
meteorologist which indicates that an atmospheric
stagnation exists; or

b.  A determination by the board that the pollutant
level is representative of air quality in an air quality
control region and the concentrations of pollutants can
be expected to remain at the following indicated levels
for 12 or more hours or increase, or in the case of
ozone, the situation is likely to recur within the next 24
hours unless control actions are taken.  Consultation
with the air pollution control agencies of the affected
jurisdictions will be accomplished to help evaluate
local situations.
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POLLUTANT AVERAGE µg/m3 ppm

SO2 24 hour 800 .3

PM10 24 hour 350 N/A

Particulates (TSP) 24 hour 375 (3.0 COH)

Product of SO2 x
Particulates (TSP)

24 hour 65,000 (.2 COH-ppm
product)

CO 8 hour 17,000 15.0

Ozone 1 hour 400 .2

NO2 1 hour 1,130 .6

24 hour 282 .15

3.  A warning stage shall be declared by the board when
any one of the following pollutant levels is reached at
any monitoring site concurrent with:

a.  Consultation with the national, local or department
meteorologist which indicates that an atmospheric
stagnation exists; or

b.  A determination by the board that the pollutant
level is representative of air quality in an air quality
control region and the concentrations of pollutants can
be expected to remain at the following indicated levels
for 12 or more hours or increase, or in the case of
ozone, the situation is likely to recur within the next 24
hours unless control actions are taken.  Consultation
with the air pollution control agencies of the affected
jurisdictions will be accomplished to help evaluate
local situations.

POLLUTANT AVERAGE µg/m3 ppm

SO2 24 hour 1,600 .6

PM10 24 hour 420 N/A

Particulates (TSP) 24 hour 625 (5.0 COH)

Product of SO2 x
Particulates (TSP)

24 hour 261,00
0

(.8 COH-ppm
product)

CO 8 hour 34,000 30.0

Ozone 1 hour 800 .4

NO2 1 hour 2,260 1.2

24 hour 565 .30

4.  An emergency stage shall be declared by the
governor of the Commonwealth of Virginia when any of
the following pollutant levels is reached at any
monitoring site concurrent with:

a.  Consultation with the national, local or department
meteorologist which indicates that an atmospheric
stagnation exists; or

b.  A determination by the board that the pollutant
level is representative of air quality in an air quality
control region and the concentrations of pollutants can
be expected to remain at the following indicated levels
for 12 or more hours or increase, or in the case of
ozone, the situation is likely to recur within the next 24

hours unless control actions are taken.  Consultation
with the air pollution control agencies of the affected
jurisdictions will be accomplished to help evaluate
local situations.

POLLUTANT AVERAGE µg/m3 ppm

SO2 24 hour 2,100 .8

PM10 24 hour 500 N/A

Particulates (TSP) 24 hour 875 (7.0 COH)

Product of SO2 x
Particulates (TSP)

24 hour 393,00
0

(1.2 COH-ppm
product)

CO 8 hour 46,000 40.0

Ozone 1 hour 1,000 .5

NO2 1 hour 3,000 1.6

24 hour 750 .4

5.  Termination of any existent stage of air pollution
episode shall be declared by the governor of the
Commonwealth of Virginia or the board based on:

a.  Consultation with the national, local or department
meteorologist which indicates that the atmospheric
conditions justify termination; or

b.  Appropriate reduction in pollutant levels.  As the
criteria for a given stage are no longer being met, the
lowest appropriate stage will be assumed.

C.  When the board determines that a specified criteria
level is being approached and may be reached at one or
more monitoring sites solely because of emissions from a
limited number of sources, it may act to prevent the
attainment of the episode level by notifying such sources that
the preplanned abatement strategies of Table VII-A, B or C
or the standby plans are required, insofar as it applies to
such sources, and shall be put into effect until a satisfactory
reduction in the ambient pollution concentration has been
achieved.

D.  The alert, warning and emergency stages may be
activated on the basis of deteriorating air quality alone (i.e.,
an air stagnation advisory need not be in effect) subject to
the determination specified in subsections B 2 b, B 3 b and B
4 b of this section.

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-393; Filed July 15, 1998, 11:23 a.m.

* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  Regulations for the Control and
Abatement of Air Pollution (Rev. E97).
9 VAC 5-40-10 et seq.  Existing Stationary Sources
(amending 9 VAC 5-40-880, 9 VAC 5-40-890, 9 VAC 5-40-
900, 9 VAC 5-40-940, and 9 VAC 5-40-1040).

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m.
Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m. on
October 6, 1998.
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(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  Section 10.1-1308 of the Virginia Air Pollution Control
Law authorizes the State Air Pollution Control Board to
promulgate regulations abating, controlling and prohibiting
air pollution in order to protect public health and welfare.

Purpose:  The purpose of the regulation is to require the
owner of a fuel burning equipment installation to control
particulate matter emissions, such that the resultant
particulate matter concentrations in the ambient air may be
reduced to levels which are necessary for the protection of
public health and welfare.  The regulation amendments are
being proposed to address problems concerning the clarity of
the regulation identified pursuant to the review of existing
regulations mandated by Executive Order 15 (94).

Substance:  The major provisions of the proposal are
summarized below:

1.  The definition of fuel burning equipment has been
revised to make it clear that, for the purposes of this
rule, internal combustion engines (stationary
combustion turbines) are considered to be fuel burning
equipment.

2.  A definition of stationary combustion turbines has
been added in order to further clarify the rule's
applicability.

3.  Stationary internal combustion engines have been
specifically exempted from the rule.

Issues:  The primary advantages and disadvantages of
implementation and compliance with the regulation by the
public and the department are discussed below.

1.  Public:  The public will benefit from improved
understanding of which sources to which the regulation
applies.  There are no disadvantages to the public of
implementation and compliance with the regulation.

2.  Department:  The department will benefit because a
clearer understanding of the regulation's applicability will
contribute to the department's ability to administer the
regulation.  There are no disadvantages to the
department of implementation and compliance with the
regulation.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13
(94).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property.  The

analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  The proposed
changes to this regulation are being proposed pursuant to
review of existing regulations mandated by Executive Order
15 (94).  The proposed changes are clarificatory and do not
change the substance of the regulation.

Estimated economic impact.  The changes seek to further
clarify that the regulations do not apply to stationary internal
combustion engines but do apply to stationary combustion
turbines.  Since the change is a simple clarification, it may
be expected to have a minimal economic impact.  There
certainly may be some economic advantage to clear and
specific regulatory language.  However, this benefit is rather
small and somewhat diffuse.  Consequently it would not be
possible to measure the magnitude of any gains from these
changes.

Businesses and entities affected.  This regulation applies to
facilities that operate fuel-burning equipment for the primary
purpose of producing heat for indirect heat transfer or
indirect production of power.  DEQ indicates that no count of
the number of entities affected exists.  The agency estimates
that more than 200 facilities are covered by these provisions.
These changes are not likely to have any significant financial
impact on the covered facilities.

Localities particularly affected.  These changes should not
have a significant or disproportionate impact on any
particular localities.  It will not have any fiscal impact on any
local governments.

Projected impact on employment.  The proposal will not
have any impact on employment in Virginia.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  There will
be no impact on the use and value of private property.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Department of
Environmental Quality takes no issue with the economic
impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and
Budget.

Summary:

The regulation amendments concern provisions covering
fuel burning equipment.  The regulation has been revised
in order to clarify the fact that internal combustion
engines (stationary combustion turbines) are considered
to be fuel burning equipment, and that stationary internal
combustion engines have been specifically exempted
from this rule.  The type of activity for which a permit
may be required is classified as well.

9 VAC 5-40-880.  Applicability and designation of
affected facility.

A.  Except as provided in subsections C and, D, and E of
this section, the affected facility to which provisions of this
article apply is fuel burning equipment.
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B.  The provisions of this article apply throughout the
Commonwealth of Virginia.

C.  Exempted from the provisions of this article are the
following:

1.  Any fuel burning equipment unit using solid fuel with
a maximum heat input of less than 350,000 Btu per
hour.

2.  Any fuel burning equipment unit using liquid fuel
(exclusive of coal slurry mixtures) with a maximum input
of less than 1,000,000 Btu per hour.

3.  Any fuel burning equipment unit using gaseous fuel
with a maximum heat input of less than 10,000,000 Btu
per hour.

D.  The provisions of this article do not apply to fuel
burning equipment units that power mobile sources but are
removed for maintenance or repair and testing.

E.  The provisions of this article do not apply to stationary
internal combustion engines.

9 VAC 5-40-890.  Definitions.

A.  For the purpose of these regulations and subsequent
amendments or any orders issued by the board, the words or
terms shall have the meanings given them in subsection C of
this section.

B.  As used in this article, all terms not defined here shall
have the meanings given them in 9 VAC 5 Chapter 10 (9
VAC 5-10-10 et seq.), unless otherwise required by context.

C.  Terms defined.

"Capacity factor" means the ratio of the average load on a
machine or equipment for the period of time considered to
the capacity rating of the machine or equipment.

"Fossil fuel" means natural gas, petroleum, coal and any
form of solid, liquid or gaseous fuel derived from such
materials for the purpose of creating useful heat.

"Fossil-fuel fired steam generator" means furnace or boiler,
or both, used in the process of burning fossil fuel for the
primary purpose of providing steam by heat transfer.

"Fuel burning equipment" means any furnace, with fuel
burning equipment appurtenances thereto, used in the
process of burning fuel for the primary purpose of producing
heat to be utilized by indirect heat transfer, or producing by
indirect production of power.  This includes facilities that are
designed as boilers to produce steam or heated water and
are designed to burn either fossil fuel or refuse derived fuel.
It does not include such facilities if designed primarily to burn
raw refuse.  This includes fuel burning equipment units (both
permanently installed units and portable units) used to
replace the power used by mobile sources.  For the purposes
of this article, stationary combustion turbines are considered
to be fuel burning equipment.

"Fuel burning equipment installation" means all fuel burning
equipment units within a stationary source in operation prior
to October 5, 1979.

"Heat input" means the total gross calorific value of all
fuels burned.

"Rated capacity" means the capacity as stipulated in the
purchase contract for the condition of 100% load, or such
other capacities as mutually agreed to by the board and
owner using good engineering judgment.

"Refuse derived fuel (RDF)" means fuel produced from
solid or liquid waste (includes materials customarily referred
to as refuse and other discarded materials), or both, which
has been segregated and classified, with the useable
portions being put through a size reduction and classification
process which results in a relatively homogeneous mixture.

"Stationary combustion turbine" means any air-breathing
internal combustion engine consisting of an air compressor,
combustion chamber, and a turbine wheel.

"Stationary internal combustion engine" means an engine
in which fuel is burned within a machine in which energy is
converted directly into mechanical motion or work.  The
energy is used directly for the production of power,
locomotion or work.  Internal combustion engines include, but
are not limited to, diesel engines, gasoline engines, and
diesel pumps.  For the purposes of this article, stationary
combustion turbines are not considered to be stationary
internal combustion engines.

"Total capacity" means with reference to a fuel burning
equipment installation, the sum of the rated capacities
(expressed as heat input) of all units of the installation which
must be operated simultaneously under conditions of 100%
use load.

9 VAC 5-40-900.  Standard for particulate matter.

A.  Fuel burning equipment installations.

No owner or other person shall cause or permit to be
discharged into the atmosphere from any fuel burning
equipment installation any gaseous products of combustion
containing particulate emissions in excess of the following
limits.

1.  In AQCR 1 through 6.

a.  For fuel burning equipment installations with total
capacity less than 10 million (10 X 106) Btu per hour,
the maximum allowable emission ratio shall be 0.6
pounds of particulate per million Btu input.

b.  For fuel burning equipment installations with total
capacity between 10 million (10 X 106 and 10 billion
(10,000 X 106) Btu per hour, the maximum allowable
emission ration, E, in pounds of particulate per million
Btu input, shall be determined by the following
equation: E = 1.0906H-0.2594, where H is the total
capacity in millions of Btu per hour.

c.  For fuel burning equipment installations with total
capacity in excess of 10 billion (10,000 X 106) Btu per
hour, the maximum allowable emission ratio shall be
0.1 pounds of particulate per million Btu input.
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d.  Figure 4-8A illustrates the above emission limit.

2.  In AQCR 7.

a.  For fuel burning equipment installations with total
capacity less than 100 million (100 X 106) Btu per
hour, the maximum allowable emission ratio shall be
0.3 pounds of particulate per million Btu input.

b.  For fuel burning equipment installations with total
capacity between 100 million (100 X 106) and 10
billion (10,000 X 106) Btu per hour, the maximum
allowable emission ratio, E, in pounds of particulate
per million Btu input, shall be determined by the
following equation: E = .9000H-0.2386, where H is the
total capacity in millions of Btu per hour.

c.  For fuel burning equipment installations with total
capacity in excess of 10 billion (10,000 X 106) Btu per
hour, the maximum allowable emission ratio shall be
0.1 pounds of particulate per million Btu input.

d.  Figure 4-8B illustrates the above emission limit.

B.  Fuel burning equipment units.

1.  The maximum allowable particulate emissions for
each fuel burning equipment unit shall be the product of
the rated capacity and the emission ratio (determined in
accordance with subsection A of this section).

2.  The allowable particulate emissions for each fuel
burning equipment unit when operating at less than
rated capacity shall be the product of the emission ratio,
actual heat input and efficiency factor for the collection
equipment. The efficiency factor for the collection
equipment of each unit shall be determined using
procedures set forth in 9 VAC 5-40-920.

3.  For fuel burning equipment installations consisting of
multiple fuel burning equipment units, except where all
of the units burn liquid or gaseous fuels, or both,
exclusively, the maximum allowable particulate
emissions for each unit may be determined as provided
in 9 VAC 5-40-910.

9 VAC 5-40-940.  Standard for visible emissions.

A.  The provisions of Article 1 (9 VAC 5-40-60 et seq.) of
this chapter (Emission Standards for Visible Emissions and
Fugitive Dust/Emissions, Rule 4-1) apply except that the
provisions in subsection B of this section apply instead of
9 VAC 5-40-80 A.

B.  No owner or other person shall cause or permit to be
discharged into the atmosphere from any fuel burning
equipment unit any visible emissions which exhibit greater
than 20% opacity, except for one six minute, six-minute
period in any one hour of not more than 60% opacity.
Failure to meet the requirements of this section because of
the presence of water vapor shall not be a violation of this
section.

9 VAC 5-40-1040.  Permits.

A permit may, under certain conditions, be required prior
to beginning any of the activities specified below and if the
provisions of 9 VAC 5 Chapter 50 (9 VAC 5-50-10 et seq.)
and 9 VAC 5 Chapter 80 (9 VAC 5-80-10 et seq.) may apply.
Owners contemplating such action should review those
provisions and contact the appropriate regional office for
guidance on whether those provisions apply.

1.  Construction of a facility.

2.  Reconstruction (replacement of more than half) of a
facility.

3.  Modification (any physical change to equipment) of a
facility.

4.  Relocation of a facility.

5.  Reactivation (restart-up) of a facility.

6.  Operation of a facility.

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-411; Filed July 15, 1998, 11:24 a.m.

* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  Regulations for the Control and
Abatement of Air Pollution (Rev. L97).
9 VAC 5-40-10 et seq.  Existing Stationary Sources
(amending 9 VAC 5-40-1660, 9 VAC 5-40-1670, 9 VAC 5-
40-1690, 9 VAC 5-40-1750, 9 VAC 5-40-1770, and 9 VAC 5-
40-1810).

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m.
Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m. on
October 6, 1998.

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  Section 10.1-1308 of the Virginia Air Pollution Control
Law authorizes the State Air Pollution Control Board to
promulgate regulations abating, controlling and prohibiting
air pollution in order to protect public health and welfare.

Purpose:  The purpose of the regulation is to require the
owner of a pulp and paper mill to control particulate matter
emissions, opacity, and for kraft pulp mills, Total Reduced
Sulfur (TRS), such that the concentrations of such pollutants
in the ambient air are reduced to levels which are necessary
for the protection of public health and welfare.  The proposed
amendments are being made to clearly identify which
sources are subject to the regulation as identified pursuant to
the review of existing regulations mandated by Executive
Order 15 (94).

Substance:  The major provisions of the proposal are
summarized below:

1.  The regulation has been revised to include semi-
chemical pulp and paper mills.  Therefore, the
definitions for "neutral sulfite semichemical pulping
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operation" and "semichemical pulping process" have
been added.

2.  The definition of "pulp and paper mill" has been
expanded to include facilities that use a process other
than neutral sulfite which is used by kraft mills.

3.  Only kraft mills will be required to control Total
Reduced Sulfur emissions.

Issues  The primary advantages and disadvantages of
implementation and compliance with the regulation by the
public and the department are discussed below.

1.  Public:  The public will benefit from improved
understanding of which sources the regulation applies.
There are no disadvantages to the public of
implementation and compliance with the regulation.

2.  Department:  The department will benefit because a
clearer understanding of the regulation's applicability will
contribute to the department's ability to administer the
regulation.  There are no disadvantages to the
department of implementation and compliance with the
regulation.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13
(94).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property.  The
analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  A review of the
regulation governing the emission standards for pulp and
paper mills found that some confusion existed over whether
this regulation applied to semi-chemical mills.  The proposed
changes are intended to clarify this issue and clearly identify
which sources are subject to this regulation.  The proposed
changes include the following:

1.  Rewording the regulation to clearly include semi-
chemical pulp and paper mills (i.e., replacing “kraft pulp
mills” with “pulp and paper mills”).

2.  Expanding the definition of “pulp and paper mills” to
include facilities that use a process other than neutral
sulfite which is used by kraft mills.

3.  Adding definitions for “neutral sulfite semi-chemical
pulping operation” and “semi-chemical pulping process.”

4.  Requiring only kraft mills to control Total Reduced
Sulfur (TRS) emissions (Reduced Sulfur emissions are
not generated by semi-chemical pulp mills).

Estimated economic impact.  Prior to 1985, semi-chemical
pulp and paper mills were regulated under the air quality
standards that are currently contained in this regulation,
9 VAC 5-40 §§ 1660-1810 (Rule 4-13).1  This proposal is
intended to correct a drafting error in the rules promulgated
in 1985 which subjected semi-chemical pulp and paper mills
to 9 VAC 5-40 §§ 240-420 (Rule 4-4).

The nature and technology of the processes used by semi-
chemical mills are not what Rule 4-4 was intended to cover
and consequently, DEQ has granted compliance deferrals for
the semi-chemical mill in the Commonwealth that was
unable to meet the requirements of Rule 4-4.  Though the
requirements of Rule 4-13 are less stringent than those of
Rule 4-4, the changes will not have any significant economic
impact on the semi-chemical mills since DEQ has been
holding the mills to the Rule 4-13 standards.

While the clearer language may be beneficial for the facilities
regulated, this proposal will not change the behavior of those
facilities and therefore will not have any economic impact.

Businesses and entities affected.  These proposed changes
would affect the two semi-chemical pulp mills currently
located in Virginia.

Localities particularly affected.  The proposed changes are
not expected to disproportionately affect any particular
localities.

Projected impact on employment.  The proposed changes
are not expected to have any significant impact on
employment.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  The
proposed changes are not expected to have any significant
effect on the use and value of private property.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Department of
Environmental Quality takes no issue with the economic
impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and
Budget.

Summary:

The regulation amendments concern provisions covering
pulp and paper mills.  The regulation has been revised to
clarify the rule's applicability to include semi-chemical
pulp and paper mills.  Certain definition changes are
made.  The applicability of a requirement to control total
reduced sulfur is classified.

                                                       
1 These regulations were contained in a different section of the Administrative
Code at that time.
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Article 13.
Emission Standards for Kraft Pulp and Paper Mills (Rule

4-13).

9 VAC 5-40-1660.  Applicability and designation of
affected facilities.

A.  The affected facilities in kraft pulp and paper mills to
which the provisions of this article apply are:  each recovery
furnace, each smelt dissolving tank, each lime kiln, each
slaker tank, and each kraft wood pulping operation.  For the
purpose of this article, a kraft wood pulping operation is
comprised only of any combination of the following units:
recovery furnaces, lime kilns, digester systems,
multiple-effect evaporator systems, condensate stripper
systems and smelt dissolving tanks.

B.  The provisions of this article apply throughout the
Commonwealth of Virginia.

C.  The provisions of this article do not apply to affected
facilities subject to Article 5 (9 VAC 5-50-400 et seq.) of
9 VAC 5 Chapter 50, except to the extent such pollutants are
emitted which are not subject to standards of performance in
Article 5 (9 VAC 5-50-400 et seq.) of 9 VAC 5 Chapter 50.

9 VAC 5-40-1670.  Definitions.

A.  For the purpose of these regulations and subsequent
amendments or any orders issued by the board, the words or
terms shall have the meanings given them in subsection C of
this section.

B.  As used in this article, all terms not defined here shall
have the meanings given them in 9 VAC 5 Chapter 10
(9 VAC 5-10-10 et seq.), unless otherwise required by
context.

C.  Terms defined.

"Agreement" means any legally enforceable instrument
executed by the owner and the executive director to bring the
owner into compliance with a regulatory requirement or other
requirements necessary to meet the provisions of this article.
Such agreements shall not be considered an enforcement
action but shall be enforceable as an order of the board
under the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law.

"Black liquor solids" means the dry weight of the solids
which enter the recovery furnace in the black liquor.

"Condensate stripper system" means a column, and
associated condensers, used to strip, with air or steam, total
reduced sulfur compounds from condensate streams from
various processes within a kraft pulp mill.

"Cross recovery furnace" means a furnace used to recover
chemicals consisting primarily of sodium and sulfur
compounds by burning black liquor which on a quarterly
basis contains more than 7.0% by weight of the total pulp
solids from the neutral sulfite or other semichemical process
and has a green liquor sulfidity of more than 28%.

"Digester system" means each continuous digester or each
batch digester used for the cooking of wood in white liquor,

and associated flash tanks, below tanks, chip steamers, and
condensers.

"Green liquor sulfidity" means the sulfidity of the liquor
which leaves the smelt dissolving tank.

"Kraft pulp mill" means any facility which produces pulp
from wood by cooking (digesting) wood chips in a water
solution of sodium hydroxide and sodium sulfide (white
liquor) at high temperature and pressure.  Regeneration of
the cooking chemicals through a recovery process is also
considered part of the kraft pulp mill.

"Lime kiln" means a unit used to calcine lime mud, which
consists primarily of calcium carbonate, into quicklime,
which is calcium oxide.

"Multiple-effect evaporator system" means the
multiple-effect evaporators and associated condensers and
hotwells used to concentrate the spent cooking liquid that is
separated from the pulp (black liquor).

"Neutral sulfite semichemical pulping operation" means any
operation in which pulp is produced from wood by cooking
(digesting) wood chips in a solution of sodium sulfite and
sodium bicarbonate, followed by mechanical defibrating
(grinding).

"New design recovery furnace" means a straight kraft
recovery furnace that has both membrane wall or welded wall
construction and emission control designed air systems.

"Old design recovery furnace" means a straight kraft
recovery furnace that does not have membrane wall or
welded wall construction or emission control designed air
systems.

"New design recovery furnace" means a straight kraft
recovery furnace that has both membrane wall or welded
wall construction and emission control designed air systems.

"Pulp and paper mill" means any kraft pulp mill or any
paper mill using a semichemical pulping process.

"Recovery furnace" means either a straight kraft recovery
furnace or a cross recovery furnace, and includes the
direct-contact evaporator for a direct-contact furnace.

"Semichemical pulping process" means any pulp
manufacturing process in which the active chemicals of the
liquor used in cooking (digesting) wood chips to their
component parts in a pressurized vessel (digester) are
primarily a liquor of sodium hydroxide and sodium carbonate.
The major difference between all semichemical techniques
and those of kraft and acid sulfite processes is that only a
portion of the lignin is removed during the cooking (digesting),
after which the pulp is further reduced by mechanical
disintegration.

"Smelt dissolving tank" means a vessel used for dissolving
the smelt collected from the recovery furnace.

"Straight kraft recovery furnace" means a furnace used to
recover chemicals consisting primarily of sodium and sulfur
compounds by burning black liquor which on a quarterly



Proposed Regulations

Virginia Register of Regulations

3398

basis contains 7.0% by weight or less of the total pulp solids
from the neutral sulfite or other semichemicals process or
has green liquor sulfidity of 28% or less.

"Total reduced sulfur" or "TRS" means the sum of the
following sulfur compounds (hydrogen sulfide, methyl
mercaptan, dimethyl sulfide and dimethyl disulfide, reported
as hydrogen sulfide) that are released during any kraft wood
pulping operation.

"Twenty-four hour average" means the average of data
over a 24-hour period beginning at midnight.

9 VAC 5-40-1690.  Standard for total reduced sulfur.

A.  Except as provided in subsection B of this section, No
owner or other person shall cause or permit to be discharged
into the atmosphere from any kraft wood pulping operation
unit specified below any total reduced sulfur emissions in
excess of the following limits:

1.  Recovery furnaces.

a.  Old design furnaces - 20 ppm by volume on a dry
basis, corrected to 8.0% oxygen.

b.  New design furnaces - 5 ppm by volume on a dry
basis, corrected to 8.0% oxygen.

c.  Cross recovery furnaces - 25 ppm by volume on a
dry basis, corrected to 8.0% oxygen.

2.  Digester systems - 5 ppm by volume on a dry basis,
corrected to 10% oxygen.

3.  Multiple-effect evaporator systems - 5 ppm by
volume on a dry basis, corrected to 10% oxygen.

4.  Lime kilns - 20 ppm by volume on a dry basis,
corrected to 10% oxygen.

5.  Condensate stripper systems - 5 ppm by volume on
a dry basis, corrected to 10% oxygen.

6.  Smelt dissolving tanks - 0.033 pounds per ton black
liquor solids as H2S.

B.  Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection A of this
section, no owner or other person shall cause or permit to be
discharged into the atmosphere from any kraft wood pulping
operation unit any total reduced sulfur emissions in excess of
the limits prescribed in any agreement approved by the
executive director.

C. B.  Achievement of the emission standards in this
section by use of methods in 9 VAC 5-40-1700 will be
acceptable to the board.

D.  Any kraft wood pulping operation unit for which an
agreement has not been approved pursuant to subsection B
of this section by October 1, 1989, shall be subject to
subsection A of this section. Any agreement established
pursuant to subsection B of this section may be terminated
once the affected facility is in compliance with subsection A
of this section.

9 VAC 5-40-1750.  Compliance.

A.  The provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-20 (Compliance) apply.

B.  Each owner of a facility for which an emission standard
is prescribed in 9 VAC 5-40-1690 B shall submit to the board
by July 1, 1990, a control program to achieve compliance
with the emission standards in 9 VAC 5-40-1690 A as
expeditiously as possible.

C.  For any kraft pulp mill that does not have a condensate
stripper system on October 1, 1989, the control program
required by subsection B of this section shall contain a
commitment to install, maintain, and operate such a system
if determined to be reasonably available control technology.

D.  Authority to approve any control program submitted
pursuant to subsection B of this section that contains a
commitment to bring a particular kraft wood pulping
operation unit into compliance with the emissions standards
in 9 VAC 5-40-1690 A by October 1, 1994, is delegated to
the executive director.

9 VAC 5-40-1770.  Monitoring.

A.  The provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-40 (Monitoring) apply,
with any addition or modification deemed appropriate to
meet the needs of subsection B of this section.

B.  The owner of a kraft pulp mill shall by October 1, 1990:

1.  Install, certify, maintain and operate continuous
monitoring equipment to monitor and record the
concentration of TRS emissions on a dry basis and the
percentage of oxygen by volume on a dry basis in the
gases discharged into the atmosphere from any lime kiln
or recovery furnace. The location of each monitoring
system must be approved by the board.

2.  Install, calibrate, maintain, and operate a monitoring
device which measures the combustion temperature at
the point of incineration of effluent gases which are
emitted from any lime kiln, recovery furnace, digester
system, multiple-effect evaporator system, or
condensate stripper system. The monitoring device is to
be certified by the manufacturer to be accurate within
1.0% of the temperature being measured.

C.  The minimum data capture and validity requirements
shall be as follows:

1.  Valid TRS and oxygen data shall be obtained for no
less than 75% of the operating hours of each quarter.
Section 4 of Procedure 1 of Appendix F of 40 CFR Part
60 shall be used to determine valid data.

2.  For TRS or oxygen concentrations, a valid data hour
shall have at least 50% valid readings.

3.  A 24-hour average TRS or oxygen concentration
shall be considered valid if at least 50% of the operating
hours in the 24-hour period are valid data hours.

4.  Valid temperature data shall be obtained for no less
than 90% of the operating time of each quarter.
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9 VAC 5-40-1810.  Permits.

A permit may be required prior to beginning any of the
activities specified below and if the provisions of 9 VAC 5
Chapter 50 (9 VAC 5-50-10 et seq.) and 9 VAC 5 Chapter 80
(9 VAC 5-80-10 et seq.) may apply.  Owners contemplating
such action should review those provisions and contact the
appropriate regional office for guidance on whether those
provisions apply.

1.  Construction of a facility.

2.  Reconstruction (replacement of more than half) of a
facility.

3.  Modification (any physical change to equipment) of a
facility.

4.  Relocation of a facility.

5.  Reactivation (restart-up) of a facility.

6.  Operation of a facility.

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-739; Filed July 15, 1998, 11:24 a.m.

* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  Regulations for the Control and
Abatement of Air Pollution (Rev. B97).
9 VAC 5-40-10 et seq.  Existing Stationary Sources (Rev.
B97) (repealing 9 VAC 5-40-5350 through 9 VAC 5-40-
5480).

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m.
Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m. on
October 6, 1998

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  Section 10.1-1308 of the Virginia Air Pollution Control
Law authorizes the State Air Pollution Control Board to
promulgate regulations abating, controlling and prohibiting
air pollution in order to protect public health and welfare.

Purpose:  The purpose of the regulation is to require the
owners and operators of perchloroethylene dry cleaning
systems to limit air emissions to a specified level necessary
to protect public health, safety, and welfare.  The repeal is
being proposed because the regulation has been determined
to be no longer required by federal mandate and no longer
essential to protect the health, safety or welfare of citizens.
This determination was made pursuant to the review of
existing regulations mandated by Executive Order 15 (94).

Substance:  The proposed action is to repeal the existing
regulation.

Issues:  The primary advantages and disadvantages of
implementation and compliance with the regulation by the
public and the department are discussed below.

1.  Public:  The advantage to the public is that repeal of
the regulation will eliminate an unnecessary regulatory

burden and its attendant costs to owners and operators
of perchloroethylene dry cleaning systems and
taxpayers.  There are no disadvantages to the public.

2.  Department:  The advantage to the Department of
Environmental Quality is that it will no longer be required
to implement a regulation which now exceeds its original
mandate.  The department will no longer be charged
with enforcing a regulation whose provisions are either
unnecessary or duplicative.  There are no disadvantages
to the department.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13
(94).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property.  The
analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  This proposal calls for
the repeal of certain regulations governing perchloroethylene
(perc) dry cleaning systems.  The Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA) has determined perc does not contribute
significantly to ozone formation and so will not be regulated
as a volatile organic compound (VOC).  Perc remains
regulated as a hazardous air pollutant.

Estimated economic impact.  Perchloroethylene is a cleaning
solvent commonly used in dry cleaning.  On February 7,
1996, the EPA finalized the addition of perc to the list of
compounds excluded from the definition of a VOC on the
basis that it has negligible photochemical reactivity and
therefore has an insignificant impact on ozone formation.1

This regulation has not been enforced since that date.

Although perc is no longer regulated as an ozone precursor
due to its low photochemical reactivity there are still
concerns about the toxicity of the compound.  Acute and
chronic inhalation exposure to perc results in central nervous
system effects and the Scientific Advisory Board of the EPA
has advised the agency that perc should be classified as a
carcinogen.  These concerns led to the addition of perc to the
list of hazardous air pollutants (HAPs) under section 112(b)
of the Clean Air Act.  The EPA subsequently issued national
emission standards for hazardous air pollutants (NESHAP)
for the dry cleaning industry.

The control requirements for most sources are considerably
more stringent under the recent NESHAP than under the

                                                       
1
 For details of the investigation see, “Photochemical Reactivity of

Perchloroethylene,” EPA-600/3-83-001, January 1983.
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VOC control techniques guidelines, therefore, the repeal of
this regulation is not likely to have any significant impact on
the compliance behavior of dry cleaning establishments.
The one exception may be small existing dry cleaning
sources in the Northern Virginia non-attainment area, which
were regulated under the VOC provisions but are exempt
under the current NESHAP.  These sources are not subject
to the NESHAP so long as they do not use more than 140
gallons of perchloroethylene per year.  Consequently, any
potential increases in perc emissions will be very small.

Although the EPA indicates it does not expect any
substantial increases in perc consumption (and associated
emissions), they plan, with the assistance of industry
associations, to monitor perc consumption.  Should the EPA
become aware of any significant increases in perc emissions
or in public exposure from such sources, they may be
required to impose additional restrictions.  Even if such
restrictions are warranted, the perc emissions will be
regulated under the HAP provisions of the Clean Air Act
rather than under these VOC provisions, which DEQ is
proposing to repeal.

Given the implementation of the current NESHAP for the dry
cleaning industry, the repeal of this regulation may allow
some small increase in perc emissions from small dry
cleaning sources in Northern Virginia and some reduction in
compliance costs for those facilities.  There is not enough
information available to assess the magnitude of any
potential increase in perc emissions, the health impacts of
any exposure resulting from those emissions, or any
potential cost savings to small dry cleaners.  While it is not
possible to measure the net economic effect at this time, it is
expected to be relatively small due to the small number of
sources affected and the small expected change in
emissions.

Businesses and entities affected.  The repeal of this
regulation will affect the approximately 750 dry cleaning
establishments that use perchloroethylene in Virginia.  Some
cost savings may be expected on the part of a few, very
small dry cleaning establishments in Northern Virginia.

Localities particularly affected.  The only economic effects
from this repeal will occur in Northern Virginia.  However, for
reasons already discussed, the magnitude of the impact will
likely be very small.

Projected impact on employment.  The repeal of the
regulation is not expected to have any significant impact on
employment.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  The repeal
of the regulation is not expected to have any significant effect
on the use and value of private property.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Department of
Environmental Quality takes no issue with the economic
impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and
Budget.

Summary:

The amendments concern provisions covering
perchloroethylene dry cleaning source emissions.  The
proposed action is to repeal the existing regulation.

Article 38.
Emission Standards for Dry Cleaning Systems (Rule 4-38).

9 VAC 5-40-5350. Applicability and designation of
affected facility. (Repealed.)

A. The affected facility to which the provisions of this
article apply is each perchloroethylene dry cleaning system.

B. The provisions of this article apply only to sources of
volatile organic compounds in volatile organic compound
emissions control areas designated in 9 VAC 5-20-206.

9 VAC 5-40-5360. Definitions. (Repealed.)

A. For the purpose of these regulations and subsequent
amendments or any orders issued by the board, the words or
terms shall have the meanings given them in subsection C of
this section.

B. As used in this article, all terms not defined here shall
have the meanings given them in 9 VAC 5 Chapter 10 (9
VAC 5-10-10 et seq.), unless otherwise required by context.

C. Terms defined.

"Dry cleaning system" means a system for the cleaning
of fabrics in an essentially nonaqueous solvent by
means of one or more washes in solvent, extraction of
excess solvent by spinning, and drying by tumbling in an
airstream.  The system includes, but is not limited to,
the washer, dryer, filter and purification systems, waste
disposal systems, holding tanks, pumps and attending
piping and valves.

9 VAC 5-40-5370. Standard for volatile organic
compounds. (Repealed.)

A. No owner or other person shall use or permit the use of
any perchloroethylene dry cleaning system unless such
system meets the following requirements:

1. There shall be no liquid leakage of solvent from the
system;

2. The entire dryer exhaust shall be vented through a
carbon adsorber or equally effective control device such
that the maximum solvent concentration in the vent from
the dryer control device shall not exceed 100 ppm before
dilution; and

3. Filter and distillation wastes.

a. The residue from the diatomaceous earth filter shall
be cooked or treated so that wastes shall not contain
more than 55 pounds of solvent per 220 pounds of
wet waste material.

b. The residue from a solvent still shall not contain
more than 132 pounds of solvent per 220 pounds of
wet waste material.
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c. Filtration cartridges shall be drained in the filter
housing for at least 24 hours before being discarded.
The drained cartridges should be dried in the dryer
tumbler after draining if at all possible.

d. Any other filtration or distillation system may be
used if equivalency to these guidelines is
demonstrated. For purposes of equivalency
demonstration, any system reducing waste losses
below 2.2 pounds solvent per 220 pounds clothes
cleaned will be considered equivalent.

B. Subsection A 2 of this section shall not be applicable to
plants where an adsorber cannot be accommodated because
of inadequate space or to plants where no or insufficient
steam capacity is available to desorb adsorbers. The board
may exclude other plants from the provisions of subsection A
2 of this section if it appears that other hardships justify such
an exclusion.

9 VAC 5-40-5380. Standard for visible emissions.
(Repealed.)

The provisions of Article 1 (9 VAC 5-40-60 et seq.) of this
chapter (Emission Standards for Visible Emissions and
Fugitive Dust/Emissions, Rule 4-1) apply.

9 VAC 5-40-5390. Standard for fugitive dust/emissions.
(Repealed.)

The provisions of Article 1 (9 VAC 5-40-60 et seq.) of this
chapter (Emission Standards for Visible Emissions and
Fugitive Dust/Emissions, Rule 4-1) apply.

9 VAC 5-40-5400. Standard for odor. (Repealed.)

The provisions of Article 2 (9 VAC 5-40-130 et seq.) of this
chapter (Emission Standards for Odor, Rule 4-2) apply.

9 VAC 5-40-5410. Standard for toxic pollutants.
(Repealed.)

The provisions of Article 3 (9 VAC 5-40-160 et seq.) of this
chapter (Emission Standards for Toxic Pollutants, Rule 4-3)
apply.

9 VAC 5-40-5420. Compliance. (Repealed.)

The provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-20 (Compliance) apply.

9 VAC 5-40-5430. Test methods and procedures.
(Repealed.)

The provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-30 (Emission Testing)
apply.

9 VAC 5-40-5440. Monitoring. (Repealed.)

The provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-40 (Monitoring) apply.

9 VAC 5-40-5450. Notification, records and reporting.
(Repealed.)

The provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-50 (Notification, Records
and Reporting) apply.

9 VAC 5-40-5460. Registration. (Repealed.)

The provisions of 9 VAC 5-20-160 (Registration) apply.

9 VAC 5-40-5470. Facility and control equipment
maintenance or malfunction. (Repealed.)

The provisions of 9 VAC 5-20-180 (Facility and Control
Equipment Maintenance or Malfunction) apply.

9 VAC 5-40-5480. Permits. (Repealed.)

A permit may be required prior to beginning any of the
activities specified below and the provisions of 9 VAC 5
Chapter 50 (9 VAC 5-50-10 et seq.) and 9 VAC 5 Chapter 80
(9 VAC 5-80-10 et seq.) may apply. Owners contemplating
such action should contact the appropriate regional office for
guidance.

1. Construction of a facility.

2. Reconstruction (replacement of more than half) of a
facility.

3. Modification (any physical change to equipment) of a
facility.

4. Relocation of a facility.

5. Reactivation (restart-up) of a facility.

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-533; Filed July 15, 1998, 11:22 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 12.  HEALTH

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES

Title of Regulation:  Home Infusion Therapy/Bundling
Services and Supplies.
12 VAC 30-50-10 et seq.  Amount, Duration, and Scope
of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending
12 VAC 30-50-160 and 12 VAC 30-50-210).
12 VAC 30-80-10 et seq.  Methods and Standards for
Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care
(amending 12 VAC 30-80-30 and 12 VAC 30-80-40).

Statutory Authority:  § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:   N/A – Public comments may be
submitted until October 2, 1998.

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis: Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia grants to the
Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services
(DMAS) the authority to administer and amend the Plan for
Medical Assistance in lieu of board action pursuant to the
board's requirements.

Purpose:  The purpose of this proposal is to simplify the
billing procedures of durable medical equipment providers
and pharmacy providers when they are providing home
infusion therapy services/bundling services and supplies
(intravenous therapy, respiratory therapy and service
agreements on equipment).  This simplification will make
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providers’ initial billing process easier and quicker but will
also make it easier for DMAS to conduct postpayment
reviews of providers’ records.

Substance and Analysis:  Currently, the department
reimburses providers of durable medical equipment and
supplies (DME) for intravenous (I.V.) therapy by required
individual components.  The administration of I.V. therapy
requires many supplies each day with frequent changes in
these supplies if the therapy or site of administration
changes.  This current method of reimbursement requires an
exceptional level of detail in the ordering and billing of DME.
This exceptional level of detail needlessly complicates
providers’ billing activities and unnecessarily complicates
DMAS’ ability to perform reviews of patients’ records for
medical necessity and appropriate utilization.

DMAS, after being specifically approached by affected
providers, established a special task force to collaboratively
develop this proposed policy alternative.  The enclosed
policy resulted from the I.V. Task Force’s work.

By bundling the basic components of DME for specific
therapies, such as I.V. therapy and respiratory therapy, or for
specific services, such as service maintenance agreements,
the time needed for ordering and billing of durable medical
equipment will be reduced.  This reduction in time not only
benefits providers of this equipment but also reduces the
time required by the department to periodically review
medical records for medical necessity and program
compliance.

The key provisions of this policy are the bundling of basic
components of DME and pharmacy services under a service
day rate of reimbursement.  The procedures utilizing these
DME and pharmacy services are highly standardized and
uniform in the scope of services and supplies required and
are, therefore, amenable to this bundling policy.  Basic DME
components/supplies (I.V. tubing, adaptors, alcohol swabs,
etc.) will be bundled under a HCPCS code and billed by
providers on the HCFA-1500 form.  Basic pharmacy
accessories, such as the vehicle (diluent) and container (bag
or cassette) will be bundled under a HCPCS code and billed
on the HCFA-1500 form.  The active pharmaceutical
products (such as the antibiotic or chemotherapy) will
continue to be billed, on the pharmacy invoice, separately
using the same procedures currently in place.

Issues:  The primary advantage of the policy will be to
reduce the detail and providers’ time involved in the
calculation of daily supplies needed for certain therapies.
This time reduction will be evident in the ordering and billing
for these supplies.  Providers will receive a daily rate of
reimbursement for certain therapies and may provide any
and all items required by the recipient and ordered by the
physician without listing these items and quantities on either
the Certificate of Medical Necessity or the HCFA-1500.  In
addition, this policy will allow the department to recover
rebates on drugs administered.  This policy reduces the time
required by department staff to periodically review I.V.
therapy providers and the associated medical records for
therapies provided.  Therefore, the agency projects no

negative issues involved in implementing this proposed
change.

Maintenance agreements are secured for many kinds of
DME on, for example, apnea monitors, CPAP/BiPAP
ventilators, 24 hours-per-day ventilators.  Maintenance
agreements permit DMAS to purchase durable medical
equipment, oftentimes less expensive than rental
arrangements, and maintain currency of manufacturers’
warranties.  Such maintenance agreements permit the
ongoing, long term maintenance of highly technical,
sophisticated equipment (which is usually life-sustaining for
the user) thereby decreasing replacement and/or repair
costs.

DMAS received comments and questions from one provider
about its Notice of Intended Regulatory Action (NOIRA).
Advanced Health-Care Services, Inc., asked numerous
technical, specific questions about the NOIRA.  DMAS has
replied directly to this provider with specific policy and
reimbursement rate information.  DMAS also received
comments from, and has responded to, the Virginia
Association of Chain Drug Stores and Virginia Association
for Home Care.

Fiscal/Budget Impact:  Providers affected by this policy will
be DME providers, I.V. companies that provide both
DME/pharmacy services, home health agencies who provide
DME/pharmacy services, and pharmacies.  There should be
no adverse impact on recipients.

However, because this policy simplifies the delivery of
certain therapies for the providers, it is possible that more
providers may begin to offer these services.  It is not
possible at this early date, however, to predict how many
more providers would be expected to participate.  Therefore,
at this point, DMAS expects this policy to be budget neutral.
There are no localities which are uniquely affected by these
regulations as they apply statewide.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13
(94).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property.  The
analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  The proposed
regulation establishes a per diem reimbursement
methodology for durable medial equipment (DME) when it is
coupled with home infusion therapy services (i.e.,
intravenous therapy, respiratory therapy).  The proposal also
adds language to the regulation describing the current
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practice of purchasing service agreements on certain types
of DME to satisfy a requirement by the Health Care
Financing Administration (HCFA).

Estimated economic impact.

Bundling of home infusion therapy supplies.  The
administration of home infusion therapy requires many
supplies each day with frequent changes in these supplies if
the therapy or the site of administration changes.  Currently,
the Department of Medical Assistance Services' (DMAS)
reimbursement procedures require that DME providers
individually specify all supplies used (e.g., I.V. tubing,
pumps, needles, bags, alcohol swabs) on the billing invoice.
The exceptional level of detail in the ordering and billing of
DME required by the current method of reimbursement is
extremely time-consuming.  It also creates a disincentive for
DME providers, especially in rural areas where competition
for business is not as great, to service Medicaid patients.

The procedures utilizing these DME and pharmacy services
are highly standardized and uniform in the services and
supplies required and are, therefore, amenable to a bundling
policy.  At the request of providers, DMAS proposes to
bundle basic components of DME for specific therapies
(such as I.V. therapy and respiratory therapy) under specific
codes that may be used by providers for billing purposes.
Basic pharmacy accessories, such as the vehicle (diluent)
and container (bag or cassette) will be bundled under
another specific code.  Under the proposal, providers would
receive a daily rate of reimbursement for certain therapies
and may provide any and all the items required and ordered
by the physician without listing these items and quantities on
the billing invoice.  The active pharmaceutical products (such
as the antibiotic or chemotherapy) would continue to be
individually billed using the same procedures that are
currently in place.

By separating and individually coding the active
pharmaceutical ingredients, DMAS would be able to collect
more specific information on the drugs administered.  This
information would allow DMAS to collect rebates on those
drugs, although there is not enough information available at
this time to estimate the extent of the rebates.  DMAS also
expects the coding of specific drugs to increase their ability
to monitor inappropriate drug combinations administered to
a patient, although again there is not information available at
this time to estimate the potential increase in safety and
quality of life.

The proposed billing procedures are expected to benefit both
DME providers and DMAS by reducing the complexity and
time required to comply with the procedures.  DME providers
are expected to benefit from the reduction in the amount of
time required to order and bill DME.  The change is expected
to benefit DMAS by reducing the time required to periodically
review medical records for medical necessity and program
compliance.

With the current billing system, providers have an incentive
to use as much material and equipment as DMAS will allow,
assuming the provider earns a marginal profit on all sales.
Under the proposed billing structure, the cost of any wasted

or excess material would fall on the provider rather than on
DMAS.  For example, if a therapy requires 10 feet of I.V.
tubing and a mistake is made and the tubing must be rerun,
currently the provider would be reimbursed for 20 feet of
tubing.  By reimbursing DME providers at a daily rate for
bundled services, rather than by individual items, DMAS will
create an incentive for providers to economize on equipment.

On the other hand, the bundling codes will also create an
incentive for providers to cut corners or skimp on supplies in
order to increase profit.  Given that nurses or home health
aides are administering the treatments, and other outside
participants are involved in the process, the possibility that
DME providers would be able to cut corners to the detriment
of the patient is quite small.  If providers are able to discover
means of using less supplies without sacrificing the quality of
service provided to the patient, then that represents an
increase in efficiency and is an additional benefit.

The proposed bundling of home infusion therapy supplies
can be expected to result in a net economic benefit.  DME
providers and DMAS are expected to benefit from the
reduction in time required to comply with and review the
billing orders.  The separation of the active pharmaceutical
ingredients will allow DMAS to more effectively monitor
potential harmful drug interactions and collect rebates on
drugs administered.  The simplification of billing procedures
may potentially increase the number of providers willing to
service Medicaid patients.  The proposed billing structure is
also expected to create incentives for providers to economize
on equipment and increase efficiency.  There are some costs
associated with this proposal, specifically the potential for
providers to skimp on equipment and materials to the
detriment of the patient, but as discussed this potential is
quite small and it is not expected to outweigh the likely
benefits.

Maintenance agreements.  DMAS currently secures
agreements for routine maintenance on many kinds of DME
(e.g., apnea monitors, ventilators). These maintenance
agreements allow DMAS to purchase DME, which is often
less expensive than rental arrangements, and decreases
replacement and/or repair costs.  By providing equipment at
the same level of patient care as rental or leased equipment,
this practice provides cost-savings to the Medicaid program.

This proposed change to the regulation will not result in any
change in actual practices, rather, it is intended to comply
with HCFA requirements that these current practices be
included in the State Medicaid plan.  Since the addition of
this language will not result in any change in services or
administration, it is not expected to have any economic
effect.

Businesses and entities affected.  The proposed changes will
affect DME providers, home health agencies who provide
DME/pharmacy services, and pharmacies.  There are
currently 2,378 enrolled DME providers in Virginia, 969 of
which actively provide services.  There are 234 enrolled
home health agencies who provide DME/pharmacy services,
and 1,719 enrolled pharmacies.
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Localities particularly affected.  As discussed, this proposal
could potentially increase the number of DME providers in
rural areas, allowing those areas to benefit
disproportionately.

Projected impact on employment.  This proposal is not
expected to have any significant effect on employment.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  This
proposal is not expected to have any significant effect on the
use and value of private property.

Agency’s Response to the Department of Planning an
Budget’s Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency concurs
with the economic impact analysis prepared by the
Department of Planning and Budget.

Summary:

The proposed amendment permits providers of home
infusion therapy services to bundle standard services
together on their billing claim forms and to be reimbursed
a per diem fee.  Such bundling of billing charges will
simplify providers’ billing processes and also will simplify
DMAS’ administration.

12 VAC 30-50-160.  Home health services.

A. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or
performed within the scope of a license of a practitioner of
the healing arts.  Home health services shall be provided in
accordance with guidelines found in the Virginia Medicaid
Home Health Manual.

B. Nursing services provided by a home health agency.

1. Intermittent or part-time nursing service provided by a
home health agency or by a registered nurse when no
home health agency exists in the area.

2. Patients may receive up to 32 visits by a licensed
nurse annually.  Limits are per recipient, regardless of
the number of providers rendering services.  Annually
shall be defined as July 1 through June 30 for each
recipient.  If services beyond these limitations are
determined by the physician to be required, then the
provider shall request prior authorization from DMAS for
additional services.  Payment shall not be made for
additional service unless authorized by DMAS.

C. Home health aide services provided by a home health
agency.

1. Home health aides must function under the
supervision of a registered nurse.

2. Home health aides must meet the certification
requirements specified in 42 CFR 484.36.

3. For home health aide services, patients may receive
up to 32 visits annually.  Limits shall be per recipient,
regardless of the number of providers rendering
services.  Annually shall be defined as July 1 through
June 30 for each recipient.

D. Durable medical equipment (DME) and supplies
suitable for use in the home.

1. General requirements and conditions.

a. All medically necessary supplies and equipment
shall be covered.  Unusual amounts, types, and
duration of usage must be authorized by DMAS in
accordance with published policies and procedures.
When determined to be cost effective by DMAS,
payment may be made for rental of the equipment in
lieu of purchase.

b. DME providers shall adhere to all applicable DMAS
policies, laws, and regulations for durable medical
equipment and supplies.  DME providers shall also
comply with all other applicable Virginia laws and
regulations requiring licensing, registration, or
permitting.  Failure to comply with such laws and
regulations shall result in denial of coverage for
durable medical equipment or supplies which are
regulated by such licensing agency or agencies.

c. DME and supplies must be furnished pursuant to a
Certificate of Medical Necessity (CMN) (DMAS-352).

d. A CMN shall contain a physician's diagnosis of a
recipient's medical condition and an order for the
durable medical equipment and supplies that are
medically necessary to treat the diagnosed condition
and the recipient's functional limitation.  The order for
DME or supplies must be justified in the written
documentation either on the CMN or attached thereto.
The CMN shall be valid for a maximum period of six
months for Medicaid recipients 21 years of age and
younger.  The maximum valid time period for
Medicaid recipients older than 21 years of age is 12
months.  The validity of the CMN shall terminate when
the recipient's medical need for the prescribed DME or
supplies ends.

e. DME must be furnished exactly as ordered by the
attending physician on the CMN.  The CMN and any
supporting verifiable documentation must be complete
(signed and dated by the physician) and in the
provider's possession within 60 days from the time the
ordered DME and supplies are initially furnished by
the DME provider.  Each component of the DME must
be specifically ordered on the CMN by the physician.
For example, the order must specify IV pole, pump,
and tubing.  A general order for IV supplies shall not
be acceptable.

f. The CMN shall not be changed, altered, or amended
after the attending physician has signed it.  If changes
are necessary, as indicated by the recipient's
condition, in the ordered DME or supplies, the DME
provider must obtain a new CMN.  New CMNs must
be signed and dated by the attending physician within
60 days from the time the ordered supplies are
furnished by the DME provider.

g. DMAS shall have the authority to determine a
different (from those specified above) length of time a
CMN may be valid based on medical documentation
submitted on the CMN.  The CMN may be completed



Proposed Regulations

Volume 14, Issue 23 Monday, August 3, 1998

3405

by the DME provider or other health care
professionals, but it must be signed and dated by the
attending physician.  Supporting documentation may
be attached to the CMN but the attending physician's
entire order must be on the CMN.

h. The DME provider shall retain a copy of the CMN
and all supporting verifiable documentation on file for
DMAS' post payment audit review purposes.  DME
providers shall not create nor revise CMNs or
supporting documentation for this service after the
initiation of the post payment review audit process.
Attending physicians shall not complete, nor sign and
date, CMNs once the post payment audit review has
begun.

2. Preauthorization is required for incontinence supplies
provided in quantities greater than two cases per month.

3. Supplies, equipment, or appliances that are not
covered include, but are not limited to, the following:

a. Space conditioning equipment, such as room
humidifiers, air cleaners, and air conditioners;

b. Durable medical equipment and supplies for any
hospital or nursing facility resident, except ventilators
and associated supplies or specialty beds for the
treatment of wounds consistent with DME criteria for
nursing facility residents that have been approved by
DMAS central office;

c. Furniture or appliances not defined as medical
equipment (such as blenders, bedside tables,
mattresses other than for a hospital bed, pillows,
blankets or other bedding, special reading lamps,
chairs with special lift seats, hand-held shower
devices, exercise bicycles, and bathroom scales);

d. Items that are only for the recipient's comfort and
convenience or for the convenience of those caring for
the recipient (e.g., a hospital bed or mattress because
the recipient does not have a decent bed; wheelchair
trays used as a desk surface); mobility items used in
addition to primary assistive mobility aide for
caregiver's or recipient's convenience (e.g., electric
wheelchair plus a manual chair); cleansing wipes;

e. Prosthesis, except for artificial arms, legs, and their
supportive devices which must be preauthorized by
the DMAS central office (effective July 1, 1989);

f. Items and services which are not reasonable and
necessary for the diagnosis or treatment of illness or
injury or to improve the functioning of a malformed
body member (e.g., dentifrices; toilet articles;
shampoos which do not require a physician's
prescription; dental adhesives; electric toothbrushes;
cosmetic items, soaps, and lotions which do not
require a physician's prescription; sugar and salt
substitutes; and support stockings);

g. Orthotics, including braces, splints, and supports;

h. Home or vehicle modifications;

i. Items not suitable for or not used primarily in the
home setting (i.e., car seats, equipment to be used
while at school, etc.); and

j. Equipment  for which  the primary function is
vocationally or educationally related (i.e., computers,
environmental control devices, speech devices, etc.).

4. For coverage of blood glucose meters for pregnant
women, refer to 12 VAC 30-50-500.

5. Reserved. Coverage of home infusion therapy.  Home
infusion therapy shall be defined as the intravenous
administration of fluids, drugs, chemical agents, or
nutritional substances to recipients in the home setting.
DMAS shall reimburse for these services, supplies, and
drugs on a service day rate methodology established in
12 VAC 30-80-30.  The therapies to be covered under
this policy shall be:  hydration therapy, chemotherapy,
pain management therapy, drug therapy, and total
parenteral nutrition (TPN).  All the therapies which meet
criteria will be covered for three months.  If any therapy
service is required for longer than the original three
months, prior authorization shall be required for its
continuation.  The established service day rate shall
reimburse for all services delivered in a single day.
There shall be no additional reimbursement for special or
extraordinary services.  In the event of incompatible drug
administration, a separate HCPCS code shall be used to
allow for rental of a second infusion pump and purchase
of an extra administration tubing.  When applicable, this
code may be billed in addition to the other service day
rate codes.  There must be documentation to support
the use of this code on the I.V. Implementation Form.
Proper documentation shall include the need for pump
administration of the medications ordered, frequency of
administration to support that they are ordered
simultaneously, and indication of incompatibility.  The
service day rate payment methodology  shall be
mandatory for reimbursement of all I.V. therapy services
except for the recipient who is enrolled in the Technology
Assisted waiver program.  The following limitations shall
apply to this service:

a.  This service must be medically necessary to treat a
recipient's medical condition.  The service must be
ordered and provided in accordance with accepted
medical practice.  The service must not be desired
solely for the convenience of the recipient or the
recipient's caregiver.

b.  In order for Medicaid to reimburse for this service,
the recipient must:

(1)  Reside in either a private home or a domiciliary
care facility, such as an adult care residence.
Because the reimbursement for DME is already
provided under institutional reimbursement,
recipients in hospitals, nursing facilities, rehabilitation
centers, and other institutional settings shall not be
covered for this service.
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(2)  Be under the care of a physician who prescribes
the home infusion therapy and monitors the
progress of the therapy.

(3)  Have body sites available for peripheral
intravenous catheter or needle placement or have a
central venous access; and

(4)  Be capable of either self-administering such
therapy or have a caregiver who can be adequately
trained, is capable of administering the therapy, and
is willing to safely and efficiently  administer and
monitor the home infusion therapy.  The caregiver
must be willing to and be capable of following
appropriate teaching and adequate monitoring.  In
those cases where the recipient is incapable of
administering or monitoring the prescribed therapy
and there is no adequate or trained caregiver, it may
be appropriate for a home health agency to
administer the therapy.

6. The medical equipment and supply vendor must
provide the equipment and supplies as prescribed by the
physician on the certificate of medical necessity.  Orders
shall not be changed unless the vendor obtains a new
certificate of medical necessity prior to ordering or
providing the equipment or supplies to the patient.

7. Medicaid shall not provide reimbursement to the
medical equipment and supply vendor for services
provided prior to the date prescribed by the physician or
prior to the date of the delivery or when services are not
provided in accordance with published policies and
procedures.  If reimbursement is denied for one of these
reasons, the medical equipment and supply vendor may
not bill the Medicaid recipient for the service that was
provided.

8. The following criteria must be satisfied through the
submission of adequate and verifiable documentation
satisfactory to the department.  Medically necessary
DME and supplies shall be:

a. Ordered by the physician on the CMN;

b. A reasonable and necessary part of the recipient's
treatment plan;

c. Consistent with the recipient's diagnosis and
medical condition particularly the functional limitations
and symptoms exhibited by the recipient;

d. Not furnished solely for the convenience, safety, or
restraint of the recipient, the family, attending
physician, or other practitioner or supplier;

e. Consistent with generally accepted professional
medical standards (i.e., not experimental or
investigational); and

f. Furnished at a safe, effective, and cost-effective
level suitable for use in the recipient's home
environment.

9. Coverage of enteral nutrition (EN) which does not
include a legend drug shall be limited to when the
nutritional supplement is the sole source form of
nutrition, is administered orally or through a nasogastric
or gastrostomy tube, and is necessary to treat a medical
condition.  Coverage of EN shall not include the
provision of routine infant  formula.  A nutritional
assessment shall be required for all recipients receiving
nutritional supplements.

E. Physical therapy, occupational therapy, or
speech/language pathology services and audiology services
provided by a home health agency or physical rehabilitation
facility.

1. Service covered only as part of a physician's plan of
care.

2. Patients may receive up to 24 visits for each
rehabilitative therapy service ordered annually without
authorization.  Limits shall apply per recipient regardless
of the number of providers rendering services.  Annually
shall be defined as July 1 through June 30 for each
recipient.  If services beyond these limitations are
determined by the physician to be required, then the
provider shall request prior authorization from DMAS for
additional services.

F. The following services are not covered under the home
health services program:

1. Medical social services;

2. Services or items which would not be paid for if
provided to an inpatient of a hospital, such as private-
duty nursing services, or items of comfort which have no
medical necessity, such as television;

3. Community food service delivery arrangements;

4. Domestic or housekeeping services which are
unrelated to patient care and which materially increase
the time spent on a visit;

5. Custodial care which is patient care that primarily
requires protective services rather than definitive
medical and skilled nursing care; and

6. Services related to cosmetic surgery.

12 VAC 30-50-210. Prescribed drugs, dentures, and
prosthetic devices; and eyeglasses prescribed by a
physician skilled in diseases of the eye or by an
optometrist.

A. Prescribed drugs.

1. Drugs for which Federal Financial Participation is not
available, pursuant to the requirements of § 1927 of the
Social Security Act (OBRA '90 § 4401), shall not be
covered.

2. Nonlegend drugs shall be covered by Medicaid in the
following situations:

a. Insulin, syringes, and needles for diabetic patients;
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b. Diabetic test strips for Medicaid recipients under 21
years of age;

c. Family planning supplies;

d. Designated categories of nonlegend drugs for
Medicaid recipients in nursing homes;

e. Designated drugs prescribed by a licensed
prescriber to be used as less expensive therapeutic
alternatives to covered legend drugs.

3. Legend drugs are covered with the exception of
anorexiant drugs prescribed for weight loss and the
drugs or classes of drugs identified in 12 VAC
30-50-520. Anorexiant drugs, when preauthorized, will
be covered for recipients who meet the strict disability
standards for obesity established by the Social Security
Administration, and whose condition is certified as life
threatening, consistent with Department of Medical
Assistance Services' medical necessity requirements, by
the treating physician.

4. Notwithstanding the provisions of § 32.1-87 of the
Code of Virginia, and in compliance with the provision of
§ 4401 of the Omnibus Reconciliation Act of 1990,
§ 1927(e) of the Social Security Act as amended by
OBRA 90, and pursuant to the authority provided for
under § 32.1-325 A of the Code of Virginia, prescriptions
for Medicaid recipients for multiple source drugs subject
to 42 CFR 447.332 shall be filled with generic drug
products unless the physician or other practitioners so
licensed and certified to prescribe drugs certifies in his
own handwriting "brand necessary" for the prescription
to be dispensed as written.

5.  New drugs shall be covered pursuant to the Social
Security Act § 1927 (d) (OBRA ’90 § 4401).

6. The number of refills shall be limited pursuant to
§ 54.1-3411 of the Drug Control Act.

7. Drug prior authorization.

a. Definitions. The following words and terms used in
these regulations shall have the following meaning,
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Board" means the Board for Medical Assistance
Services.

"Committee" means the Medicaid Prior Authorization
Advisory Committee.

"Department" means the Department of Medical
Assistance Services.

"Director" means the Director of Medical Assistance
Services.

"Drug" shall have the same meaning, unless the
context otherwise dictates or the board otherwise
provides by regulation, as provided in the Drug
Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of
Virginia).

b. Medicaid Prior Authorization Advisory Committee;
membership. The Medicaid Prior Authorization
Committee shall consist of 11 members to be
appointed by the board. Five members shall be
physicians, at least three of whom shall care for a
significant number of Medicaid patients; four shall be
pharmacists, two of whom shall be community
pharmacists; one member shall be a consumer of
mental health services; and one shall be a Medicaid
recipient.

(1) A quorum for action of the committee shall
consist of six members.

(2) The members shall serve at the pleasure of the
board; vacancies shall be filled in the same manner
as the original appointment.

(3) The board shall consider nominations made by
the Medical Society of Virginia, the Old Dominion
Medical Society, the Psychiatric Society of Virginia,
the Virginia Pharmaceutical Association, the
Virginia Alliance for the Mentally Ill, and the Virginia
Mental Health Consumers Association when making
appointments to the committee.

(4) The committee shall elect its own officers,
establish its own procedural rules, and meet as
needed or as called by the board, the director, or
any two members of the committee. The
department shall provide appropriate staffing to the
committee.

c. Duties of the committee.

(1) The committee shall make recommendations to
the board regarding drugs or categories of drugs to
be subject to prior authorization, prior authorization
requirements for prescription drug coverage and
any subsequent amendments to or revisions of the
prior authorization requirements. The board may
accept or reject the recommendations in whole or in
part, and may amend or add to the
recommendations, except that the board may not
add to the recommendation of drugs and categories
of drugs to be subject to prior authorization.

(2) In formulating its recommendations to the
board, the committee shall not be deemed to be
formulating regulations for the purposes of the
Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 et seq.). The
committee shall, however, conduct public hearings
prior to making recommendations to the board. The
committee shall give 30 days written notice by mail
of the time and place of its hearings and meetings
to any manufacturer whose product is being
reviewed by the committee and to those
manufacturers who request of the committee in
writing that they be informed of such hearings and
meetings. These persons shall be afforded a
reasonable opportunity to be heard and present
information. The committee shall give 30 days
notice of such public hearings to the public by
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publishing its intention to conduct hearings and
meetings in the Calendar of Events of The Virginia
Register of Regulations and a newspaper of general
circulation located in Richmond.

(3) In acting on the recommendations of the
committee, the board shall conduct further
proceedings under the Administrative Process Act.

d. Prior authorization of prescription drug products,
coverage.

(1) The committee shall review prescription drug
products to recommend prior authorization under
the state plan. This review may be initiated by the
director, the committee itself, or by written request
of the board. The committee shall complete its
recommendations to the board within no more than
six months from receipt of any such request.

(2) Coverage for any drug requiring prior
authorization shall not be approved unless a
prescribing physician obtains prior approval of the
use in accordance with regulations promulgated by
the board and procedures established by the
department.

(3) In formulating its recommendations to the
board, the committee shall consider the potential
impact on patient care and the potential fiscal
impact of prior authorization on pharmacy,
physician, hospitalization and outpatient costs. Any
proposed regulation making a drug or category of
drugs subject to prior authorization shall be
accompanied by a statement of the estimated
impact of this action on pharmacy, physician,
hospitalization and outpatient costs.

(4) The committee shall not review any drug for
which it has recommended or the board has
required prior authorization within the previous 12
months, unless new or previously unavailable
relevant and objective information is presented.

(5) Confidential proprietary information identified as
such by a manufacturer or supplier in writing in
advance and furnished to the committee or the
board according to this subsection shall not be
subject to the disclosure requirements of the
Virginia Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.1-340 et
seq. of the Code of Virginia). The board shall
establish by regulation the means by which such
confidential proprietary information shall be
protected.

e. Immunity. The members of the committee and the
board and the staff of the department shall be
immune, individually and jointly, from civil liability for
any act, decision, or omission done or made in
performance of their duties pursuant to this
subsection while serving as a member of such board,
committee, or staff provided that such act, decision,
or omission is not done or made in bad faith or with
malicious intent.

f. Annual report to joint commission. The committee
shall report annually to the Joint Commission on
Health Care regarding its recommendations for prior
authorization of drug products.

8.  Coverage of home infusion therapy.  This service
shall be covered consistent with the limits and
requirements set out within home health services
(12 VAC 30-50-160).  Multiple applications of the same
therapy (e.g., two antibiotics on the same day) shall be
covered under a full per diem methodology as provided
in pharmacy services reimbursement.

B. Dentures. Dentures are provided only as a result of
EPSDT and subject to medical necessity and
preauthorization requirements specified under Dental
Services.

C. Prosthetic devices.

1. Prosthetics services shall mean the replacement of
missing arms and legs. Nothing in this regulation shall
be construed to refer to orthotic services or devices.

2. Prosthetic devices (artificial arms and legs, and their
necessary supportive attachments) are provided when
prescribed by a physician or other licensed practitioner
of the healing arts within the scope of their professional
licenses as defined by state law. This service, when
provided by an authorized vendor, must be medically
necessary, and preauthorized for the minimum
applicable component necessary for the activities of
daily living.

D. Eyeglasses. Eyeglasses shall be reimbursed for all
recipients younger than 21 years of age according to medical
necessity when provided by practitioners as licensed under
the Code of Virginia.

12 VAC 30-80-30.  Fee-for-service providers.

A. Payment for the following services, except for physician
services, shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule
(12 VAC 30-80-190 has information about the state agency
fee schedule) or actual charge (charge to the general public):

1. Physicians' services (12 VAC 30-80-160 has
obstetric/pediatric fees).  Payment for physician services
shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule or
actual charge (charge to the general public), except that
reimbursement rates for designated physician services
when performed in hospital outpatient settings shall be
50% of the reimbursement rate established for those
services when performed in a physician's office.  The
following limitations shall apply to emergency physician
services.

a. Definitions.  The following words and terms, when
used in this subdivision 1, shall have the following
meanings when applied to emergency services unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"All-inclusive" means all emergency service and
ancillary service charges claimed in association with
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the emergency department visit, with the exception of
laboratory services.

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance
Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et
seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia.

"Emergency physician services" means services that
are necessary to prevent the death or serious
impairment of the health of the recipient.  The threat
to the life or health of the recipient necessitates the
use of the most accessible hospital available that is
equipped to furnish the services.

"Recent injury" means an injury which has occurred
less than 72 hours prior to the emergency department
visit.

b. Scope.  DMAS shall differentiate, as determined by
the attending physician's diagnosis, the kinds of care
routinely rendered in emergency departments and
reimburse physicians for nonemergency care
rendered in emergency departments at a reduced
rate.

(1) DMAS shall reimburse at a reduced and
all-inclusive reimbursement rate for all physician
services, including those obstetric and pediatric
procedures contained in 12 VAC 30-80-160,
rendered in emergency departments which DMAS
determines are nonemergency care.

(2) Services determined by the attending physician
to be emergencies shall be reimbursed under the
existing methodologies and at the existing rates.

(3) Services determined by the attending physician
which may be emergencies shall be manually
reviewed.  If such services meet certain criteria,
they shall be paid under the methodology  in
subdivision 1 b (2) of this subsection.  Services not
meeting certain criteria shall be paid under the
methodology  in subdivision 1 b (1) of this
subsection.  Such criteria shall include, but not be
limited to:

(a) The initial treatment following a recent
obvious injury.

(b) Treatment related to an injury sustained more
than 72 hours prior to the visit with the
deterioration of the symptoms to the point of
requiring medical treatment for stabilization.

(c) The initial treatment for medical emergencies
including indications of severe chest pain,
dyspnea, gastrointestinal hemorrhage,
spontaneous abortion, loss of consciousness,
status epilepticus, or other conditions considered
life threatening.

(d) A visit in which the recipient's condition
requires immediate hospital admission or the
transfer to another facility for further treatment or
a visit in which the recipient dies.

(e) Services provided for acute vital sign changes
as specified in the provider manual.

(f) Services provided for severe pain when
combined with one or more of the other
guidelines.

(4) Payment shall be determined based on
ICD-9-CM diagnosis codes and necessary
supporting documentation.

(5) DMAS shall review on an ongoing basis the
effectiveness of this program in achieving its
objectives and for its effect on recipients,
physicians, and hospitals.  Program components
may be revised subject to achieving program intent
objectives, the accuracy and effectiveness of the
ICD-9-CM code designations, and the impact on
recipients and providers.

2. Dentists' services.

3. Mental health services including:  (i) community
mental health services; (ii) services of a licensed clinical
psychologist; or (iii) mental health services provided by
a physician.

a.  Services provided by licensed clinical
psychologists shall be reimbursed at 90% of the
reimbursement rate for  psychiatrists.

b.  Services provided by  independently enrolled
licensed clinical social workers and licensed
professional counselors shall be reimbursed at 75% of
the reimbursement rate for licensed clinical
psychologists.

4. Podiatry.

5. Nurse-midwife services.

6. Durable medical equipment (DME).

a. The rate paid for all items of durable medical
equipment except nutritional supplements shall be the
lower of the state agency fee schedule that existed
prior to July 1, 1996, less 4.5%, or the actual charge.

b. The rate paid for nutritional supplements shall be
the lower of the state agency fee schedule or the
actual charge.

c. Certain durable medical equipment used for
intravenous therapy and oxygen therapy shall be
bundled under specified procedure codes and
reimbursed as determined by the agency.  Certain
services/durable medical equipment such as service
maintenance agreements shall be bundled under
specified procedure codes and reimbursed as
determined by the agency.

(1) Intravenous therapies.  The DME for a single
therapy, administered in one day, shall be
reimbursed at the established service day rate for
the bundled durable medical equipment and the
standard pharmacy payment, consistent with the
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ingredient cost as described in 12 VAC 30-80-40,
plus the pharmacy service day and dispensing fee.
Multiple applications of the same therapy shall be
included in one service day rate of reimbursement.
Multiple applications of different therapies
administered in one day shall be reimbursed for the
bundled durable medical equipment service day rate
as follows:  the most expensive therapy shall be
reimbursed at 100% of cost; the second and all
subsequent most expensive therapies shall be
reimbursed at 50% of cost.  Multiple therapies
administered in one day shall be reimbursed at the
pharmacy service day rate plus 100% of every
active therapeutic ingredient in the compound (at
the lowest ingredient cost methodology) plus the
appropriate pharmacy dispensing fee.

(2) Respiratory therapies.  The DME for oxygen
therapy shall have supplies or components bundled
under a service day rate based on oxygen liter flow
rate or blood gas levels.  Equipment associated with
respiratory therapy may have ancillary components
bundled with the main component for
reimbursement.  The reimbursement shall be a
service day per diem rate for rental of equipment or
a total amount of purchase for the purchase of
equipment.  Such respiratory equipment shall
include, but not be limited to, oxygen tanks and
tubing, ventilators, noncontinuous ventilators, and
suction machines.  Ventilators, noncontinuous
ventilators, and suction machines may be purchased
based on the individual patient's medical necessity
and length of need.

(3) Service maintenance agreements.  Provision
shall be made for a combination of services, routine
maintenance, and supplies, to be known as
agreements, under a single reimbursement code
only for equipment which is recipient owned.  Such
bundled agreements shall be reimbursed either
monthly or in units per year based on the individual
agreement between the DME provider and DMAS.
Such bundled agreements may apply to, but not
necessarily be limited to, either respiratory
equipment or apnea monitors.

7. Local health services, including services paid to local
school districts.

8. Laboratory services (other than inpatient hospital).

9. Payments to physicians who handle laboratory
specimens, but do not perform laboratory analysis
(limited to payment for handling).

10. X-Ray services.

11. Optometry services.

12. Medical supplies and equipment.

13. Home health services.  Effective June 30, 1991, cost
reimbursement for home health services is eliminated.

A rate per visit by discipline shall be established as set
forth by 12 VAC 30-80-180.

14. Physical therapy; occupational therapy; and speech,
hearing, language disorders services when rendered to
noninstitutionalized recipients.

15.  Clinic services, as defined under 42 CFR 440.90.

B. Hospice services payments must be no lower than the
amounts using the same methodology used under Part A of
Title XVIII, and adjusted to disregard offsets attributable to
Medicare coinsurance amounts.

12 VAC 30-80-40. Fee-for-service providers: pharmacy.

Payment for pharmacy services shall be the lowest of
items 1 through 5 (except that items 1 and 2 will not apply
when prescriptions are certified as brand necessary by the
prescribing physician in accordance with the procedures set
forth in 42 CFR 447.331 (c) if the brand cost is greater than
the HCFA upper limit of VMAC cost) subject to the
conditions, where applicable, set forth in items subdivisions 6
and 7 below of this section:

1. The upper limit established by the Health Care
Financing Administration (HCFA) for multiple source
drugs pursuant to 42 CFR 447.331 and 447.332, as
determined by the HCFA Upper Limit List plus a
dispensing fee. If the agency provides payment for any
drugs on the HCFA Upper Limit List, the payment shall
be subject to the aggregate upper limit payment test.

2. The Virginia Maximum Allowable Cost (VMAC)
established by the agency plus a dispensing fee for
multiple source drugs listed on the VVF.

3. The Estimated Acquisition Cost (EAC) which shall be
based on the published Average Wholesale Price (AWP)
minus a percentage discount established by the
methodology set out in a through c below.

a. Percentage discount shall be determined by a
statewide survey of providers' acquisition cost.

b. The survey shall reflect statistical analysis of actual
provider purchase invoices.

c. The agency will conduct surveys at intervals
deemed necessary by DMAS.

4. (Reserved).

5. The provider's usual and customary charge to the
public, as identified by the claim charge.

6. Payment for pharmacy services will be as described
above; however, payment for drugs will include the
allowed cost of the drug plus only one dispensing fee
per month for each specific drug. Exceptions to the
monthly dispensing fees shall be allowed for drugs
determined by the department to have unique
dispensing requirements.

7. The Program pays additional reimbursement for the
24-hour unit dose delivery system of dispensing drugs.
This service is paid only for patients residing in nursing
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facilities. Reimbursements are based on the allowed
payments described above plus the unit dose add-on fee
and an allowance for the cost of unit dose packaging
established by the state agency. The maximum allowed
drug cost for specific multiple source drugs will be the
lesser of: either the VMAC based on the 60th percentile
cost level identified by the state agency or HCFA's upper
limits. All other drugs will be reimbursed at drug costs
not to exceed the estimated acquisition cost determined
by the state agency.

8. Determination of EAC was the result of an analysis of
FY'89 paid claims data of ingredient cost used to
develop a matrix of cost using 0 to 10% reductions from
AWP as well as discussions with pharmacy providers.
As a result of this analysis, AWP minus 9.0% was
determined to represent prices currently paid by
providers effective October 1, 1990.

The same methodology used to determine AWP minus
9.0% was utilized to determine a dispensing fee of $4.40
per prescription as of October 1, 1990. A periodic review
of dispensing fee using Employment Cost Index - wages
and salaries, professional and technical workers will be
done with changes made in dispensing fee when
appropriate. As of July 1, 1995, the Estimated
Acquisition Cost will be AWP minus 9.0% and
dispensing fee will be $4.25.

9.  Home infusion therapy.

a.  The following therapy categories shall have
pharmacy service day rate payment allowable:
hydration therapy, chemotherapy, pain management
therapy, drug therapy, total parenteral nutrition (TPN).
The service day rate payment for the pharmacy
component shall apply to the basic components and
services intrinsic to the therapy category.  Submission
of claims for the per diem rate shall be accomplished
by use of the HCFA 1500 claim form.

b.  The cost of the active ingredient or ingredients for
chemotherapy, pain management and drug therapies
shall be submitted as a separate claim through the
pharmacy program, using standard pharmacy format.
Payment for this component shall be consistent with
the current reimbursement for pharmacy services.
Multiple applications of the same therapy shall be
reimbursed one service day rate for the pharmacy
services.  Multiple applications of different therapies
shall be reimbursed at 100% of standard pharmacy
reimbursement for each active ingredient.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 12 VAC 30-50-10
et seq., Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical and
Remedial Care Services, are listed below.  Any amended or
added forms are reflected in the listing and are published
following the listing.

FORMS

Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument, UAI, Virginia Long-
Term Care Council, 1994.

I.V. Therapy Implementation Form, DMAS-354, eff. 6/1/98.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 12 VAC 30-80-10
et seq., Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment
Rates; Other Types of Care, are listed below.  Any amended
or added forms are reflected in the listing and are published
following the listing.

FORMS

Pharmacy Claim Form (3/96).

Compound Prescription Pharmacy Claim Form (3/96).

I.V. Therapy Implementation Form, DMAS-354, eff. 6/1/98.
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STATE MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL RETARDATION
AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE SERVICES BOARD

Title of Regulation:  12 VAC 35-140-10 et seq.  Mandatory
Standards for Community Mental Health Programs
(REPEALING).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 37.1-10, 37.1-179.1 and 37.1-199 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  N/A - Public comments may be
submitted until October 2, 1998.

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  This regulation was promulgated pursuant to § 37.1-
10 of the Code of Virginia which grants the State Mental
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services
Board the authority to make, adopt, and promulgate such
rules and regulations as may be necessary to carry out the
provision of Title 37.1 and other laws of the Commonwealth.
Section 37.1-199 grants the department the authority to
withdraw funds from any community services board
program, which is not being administered in accordance with
the approved plan and budget of the community services
board or which is not in compliance with the standards for
such a program as promulgated by the State Mental Health,
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services Board.

Purpose:  The purpose of this action is to repeal a regulation,
which was designed to provide assurance to families that
minimum standards are in effect to ensure the health and
safety of clients in community services board programs.  The
regulation, as written, is overly prescriptive yet fails to
establish clear standards for the protection of clients.
Currently, all community providers, including community
services boards are required to comply with 12 VAC 35-102-
10 et seq., Rules and Regulations for the Licensure of
Facilities and Providers of Mental Health, Mental Retardation
and Substance Abuse Services, which became effective
January 13, 1995. This regulation is, therefore, no longer
necessary and should be repealed.

Substance:  The regulation establishes administrative, fiscal,
safety, and programmatic standards for mental health
programs with which community services boards are
required to comply to receive departmental grants of state
general and federal block grant funds.

Issues:  There are several reasons for repealing this
regulation. First, the regulation applies only to community
services boards, which are already governed by the policies
of the State Mental Health, Mental Retardation and
Substance Abuse Services Board as set forth in § 37.1-10 of
the Code of Virginia.  Second, many of the regulation’s
fiscal, personnel, and service standards are elements of the
department’s contract with community services boards for
services supported through departmental grants of state
general and federal block grant funds.  Finally, the
department monitors the operations of community services
boards and compliance with the performance contract
through routine performance reports and reviews.  There are

no known disadvantages to the agency or the public as a
result of repealing this regulation.

Department of Planning and Budget’s Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13
(94).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property.  The
analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  This proposal would
repeal the standards for community mental health programs.
The enforcement of minimum standards in community
services board programs in now provided through other,
more effective mechanisms.  These sections have been
rendered anachronistic.

Estimated economic impact.  These rules have been
replaced by 12 VAC 35-102-10 et seq., Rules and
Regulations for the Licensure of Facilities and Providers of
Mental Health, Mental Retardation, and Substance Abuse
Services.  Removing these anachronistic sections from the
administrative code will eliminate extraneous material from
the law books.  This change will not affect costs or the level
of care of clients in these programs.  Thus the economic
impact of the change is limited to the benefits of having a
concise and current administrative code.  While positive, the
economic value of this change is very modest.

Businesses and entities affected.  No businesses are
substantially affected by this action.

Localities particularly affected.  No localities are particularly
affected by this change.

Projected impact on employment.  This change will have no
impact on employment.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  This
change will not have any effects on the use and value of
private property.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget’s Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency concurs
with the economic impact analysis prepared by the
Department of Planning and Budget regarding the
regulations concerning Mandatory Standards for Community
Mental Health Programs.

Summary:

The board proposes to repeal this regulation, which
established standards for community mental health
programs in the areas of program planning and
evaluation, administration, clinical management and
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service delivery, and service components.  Currently, all
community providers, including community services
boards, are required to comply with 12 VAC 35-102-10
et seq., Rules and Regulations for the Licensure of
Facilities and Providers of Mental Health, Mental
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, which
became effective January 13, 1995, and superseded this
regulation.  Therefore, 12 VAC 35-140-10 et seq.,
Mandatory Standards for Community Mental Health
Programs is no longer necessary and is being proposed
for repeal.

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-38; Filed July 15, 1998, 11:04 a.m.

* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  12 VAC 35-150-10 et seq.  Mandatory
Standards for Community Mental Retardation Programs
(REPEALING).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 37.1-10, 37.1-179.1 and 37.1-199 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  N/A - Public comments may be
submitted until October 2, 1998.

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  This regulation was promulgated pursuant to § 37.1-
10 of the Code of Virginia which grants the State Mental
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services
Board the authority to make, adopt, and promulgate such
rules and regulations as may be necessary to carry out the
provision of Title 37.1 and other laws of the Commonwealth.
Section 37.1-199 grants the department the authority to
withdraw funds from any community services board
program, which is not being administered in accordance with
the approved plan and budget of the community services
board or which is not in compliance with the standards for
such a program as promulgated by the State Mental Health,
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services Board.

Purpose:  The purpose of this action is to repeal a regulation,
which was designed to provide assurance to families that
minimum standards are in effect to ensure the health and
safety of clients in community services board programs.  The
regulation, as written, is overly prescriptive yet fails to
establish clear standards for the protection of clients.
Currently, all community providers, including community
services boards are required to comply with 12 VAC 35-102-
10 et seq., Rules and Regulations for the Licensure of
Facilities and Providers of Mental Health, Mental Retardation
and Substance Abuse Services, which became effective
January 13, 1995.  This regulation, 12 VAC 35-150-10 et
seq., Mandatory Standards for Community Mental
Retardation Programs is, therefore, no longer necessary and
should be repealed.

Substance:  The regulation establishes administrative, fiscal,
safety, and programmatic standards for mental retardation
programs with which community services boards are

required to comply to receive departmental grants of state
general and federal block grant funds.

Issues: There are several reasons for repealing this
regulation.  First, the regulation applies only to community
services boards, which are already governed by the policies
of the State Mental Health, Mental Retardation and
Substance Abuse Services Board as set forth in § 37.1-10 of
the Code of Virginia. Second, many of the regulation’s fiscal,
personnel, and service standards are elements of the
department’s contract with community services boards for
services supported through departmental grants of state
general and federal block grant funds. Finally, the
department monitors the operations of community services
boards and compliance with the performance contract
through routine performance reports and reviews.  There are
no known disadvantages to the agency or the public as a
result of repealing this regulation.

Agency’s Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget’s Economic Impact Analysis:  The Department of
Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic
impact of this proposed regulation in accordance with § 9-
6.14:7.1 G of the Administrative Process Act and Executive
Order Number 13 (94).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that
such economic impact analyses include, but need not be
limited to, the projected number of businesses or other
entities to whom the regulation would apply, the identity of
any localities and types of businesses or other entities
particularly affected, the projected number of persons and
employment positions to be affected, the projected costs to
affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with
the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of
private property.  The analysis presented below represents
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  This proposal would
repeal the standards for community mental retardation
programs.  The enforcement of minimum standards in
community services board programs in now provided
through other, more effective mechanisms.  These sections
have been rendered anachronistic.

Estimated economic impact.  These rules have been
replaced by 12 VAC 35-102-10 et seq., Rules and
Regulations for the Licensure of Facilities and Providers of
Mental Health, Mental Retardation, and Substance Abuse
Services.  Removing these anachronistic sections from the
administrative code will eliminate extraneous material from
the law books.  This change will not affect costs or the level
of care of clients in these programs.  Thus the economic
impact of the change is limited to the benefits of having a
concise and current administrative code.  While positive, the
economic value of this change is very modest.

Businesses and entities affected.  No businesses are
substantially affected by this action.

Localities particularly affected.  No localities are particularly
affected by this change.

Projected impact on employment.  This change will have no
impact on employment.
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Effects on the use and value of private property.  This
change will not have any effects on the use and value of
private property.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget’s Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency concurs
with the economic impact analysis prepared by the
Department of Planning and Budget regarding the
regulations concerning Mandatory Standards for Community
Mental Retardation Programs.

Summary:

The board proposes to repeal this regulation, which
established standards for community mental retardation
programs in the areas of program planning and
evaluation, administration, clinical management and
service delivery, and service components.  Currently, all
community providers, including community services
boards, are required to comply with 12 VAC 35-102-10
et seq., Rules and Regulations for the Licensure of
Facilities and Providers of Mental Health, Mental
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, which
became effective January 13, 1995, and superseded this
regulation.  Therefore, 12 VAC 35-150-10 et seq.,
Mandatory Standards for Community Mental Retardation
Programs is no longer necessary and is being proposed
for repeal.

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-43; Filed July 15, 1998, 11:05 a.m.

* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  12 VAC 35-160-10 et seq. Mandatory
Standards for Community Substance Abuse Programs
(REPEALING).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 37.1-10, 37.1-179.1, and 37.1-199 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be
submitted until October 2, 1998.

(See Calendar of Events section
 for additional information)

Basis:  This regulation was promulgated pursuant to § 37.1-
10 of the Code of Virginia which grants the State Mental
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services
Board the authority to make, adopt, and promulgate such
rules and regulations as may be necessary to carry out the
provision of Title 37.1 and other laws of the Commonwealth.
Section 37.1-199 grants the department the authority to
withdraw funds from any community services board program
which is not being administered in accordance with the
approved plan and budget of the community services board
or which is not in compliance with the standards for such a
program as promulgated by the State Mental Health, Mental
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services Board.

Purpose:  The purpose of this action is to repeal a regulation
that was designed to provide assurance to families that
minimum standards are in effect to ensure the health and
safety of clients in community services board programs.  The

regulation, as written, is overly prescriptive yet fails to
establish clear standards for the protection of clients.
Currently, all community providers, including community
services boards are required to comply with 12 VAC 35-102-
10 et seq., Rules and Regulations for the Licensure of
Facilities and Providers of Mental Health, Mental Retardation
and Substance Abuse Services, which became effective
January 13, 1995.  This regulation, 12 VAC 35-160-10 et
seq., Mandatory Standards for Community Mental Health
Programs is, therefore, no longer necessary and should be
repealed.

Substance:  The regulation establishes administrative, fiscal,
safety, and programmatic standards for substance abuse
programs with which community services boards are
required to comply to receive departmental grants of state
general and federal block grant funds.

Issues:  There are several reasons for repealing this
regulation.  First, the regulation applies only to community
services boards, which are already governed by the policies
of the State Mental Health, Mental Retardation and
Substance Abuse Services Board as set forth in § 37.1-10 of
the Code of Virginia.  Second, many of the regulation’s
fiscal, personnel, and service standards are elements of the
department’s contract with community services boards for
services supported through departmental grants of state
general and federal block grant funds.  Finally, the
department monitors the operations of community services
boards and compliance with the performance contract
through routine performance reports and reviews.  There are
no known disadvantages to the agency or the public as a
result of repealing this regulation.

Department of Planning and Budget’s Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13
(94).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property.  The
analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  This proposal would
repeal the standards for community substance abuse
programs.  The enforcement of minimum standards in
community services board programs in now provided
through other, more effective mechanisms.  These sections
have been rendered anachronistic.

Estimated economic impact.  These rules have been
replaced by 12 VAC 35-102-10 et seq., Rules and
Regulations for the Licensure of Facilities and Providers of
Mental Health, Mental Retardation, and Substance Abuse
Services.  Removing these anachronistic sections from the
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administrative code will eliminate extraneous material from
the law books.  This change will not affect costs or the level
of care of clients in these programs.  Thus the economic
impact of the change is limited to the benefits of having a
concise and current administrative code.  While positive, the
economic value of this change is very modest.

Businesses and entities affected.  No businesses are
substantially affected by this action.

Localities particularly affected.  No localities are particularly
affected by this change.

Projected impact on employment.  This change will have no
impact on employment.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  This
change will not have any effects on the use and value of
private property.

Agency’s Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget’s Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency concurs
with the economic impact analysis prepared by the
Department of Planning and Budget regarding the
regulations concerning Mandatory Standards for Community
Substance Abuse Programs.

Summary:

The board proposes to repeal this regulation, which
established standards for community substance abuse
programs in the areas of program planning and
evaluation, administration, clinical management and
service delivery, and service components.  Currently, all
community providers, including community services
boards, are required to comply with 12 VAC 35-102-10
et seq., Rules and Regulations for the Licensure of
Facilities and Providers of Mental Health, Mental
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, which
became effective January 13, 1995, and superseded this
regulation.  Therefore, 12 VAC 35-140-10 et seq.,
Mandatory Standards for Community Substance Abuse
Programs is no longer necessary and is being proposed
for repeal.

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-42; Filed July 15, 1998, 11:06 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 14.  INSURANCE

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION

Bureau of Insurance

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE:  The State Corporation
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act
in accordance with § 9-6.14:4.1 A 2 of the Code of Virginia,
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court,
and any agency which by the Constitution is expressly
granted any of the powers of a court of record.

Title of Regulation:  14 VAC 5-395-10 et seq.  Rules
Governing Settlement Agents (amending 14 VAC 5-395-
10, 14 VAC 5-395-30, and 14 VAC 5-395-50).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 6.1-2.25 and 12.1-13 of the Code of
Virginia.

AT RICHMOND, JULY 6, 1998

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION

CASE NO. INS980124

Ex Parte, in re:  In the matter
of adopting an amended regulation
applicable to settlement agents

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE

WHEREAS, § 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia provides
that the Commission shall have the power to promulgate
rules and regulations in the enforcement and administration
of all laws within its jurisdiction, and § 6.1-2.25 of the Code
of Virginia provides that the Commission may issue rules,
regulations and orders consistent with and necessary to
carry out the provisions of the Consumer Real Estate
Settlement Protection Act (§ 6.1-2.19 et seq. of the Code of
Virginia);

WHEREAS, the Bureau of Insurance has submitted to the
Commission a proposed revised regulation entitled "Rules
Governing Settlement Agents"; and

WHEREAS, the Commission is of the opinion that the
proposed revised regulation should be adopted;

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED THAT:

(1)  All interested persons TAKE NOTICE that the
Commission shall enter an order subsequent to August 6,
1998, adopting the revised regulation proposed by the
Bureau of Insurance unless on or before August 6, 1998, any
person objecting to the adoption of such revised regulation
files a request for a hearing, and in such request specifies in
detail their objection to the adoption of the proposed revised
regulation, with the Clerk of the Commission, Document
Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218;

(2)  An attested copy hereof, together with a copy of the
proposed revised regulation, be sent by the Clerk of the
Commission to the Virginia State Bar, the Virginia Real
Estate Board, and the Bureau of Insurance in care of Deputy
Commissioner Mary M. Bannister who shall forthwith give
further notice of the proposed adoption of the revised
regulation by mailing a copy of this order, together with a
complete draft of the proposed revised regulation to all title
insurance companies, title insurance agents, and title
insurance agencies licensed in the Commonwealth of
Virginia; and

(3)  The Bureau of Insurance shall file with the Clerk of the
Commission an affidavit of compliance with the notice
requirements of paragraph (2) above.
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14 VAC 5-395-10.  Purpose.

A.  The purpose of this chapter is to implement the
Consumer Real Estate Settlement Protection Act (§ 6.1-2.19
et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

B.  This chapter applies to all title insurance agents, title
insurance agencies and title insurance companies providing
escrow, closing or settlement services involving the purchase
of or financing lending on the security of real estate
containing not more than four residential dwelling units in the
Commonwealth of Virginia.

C.  The Bureau of Insurance shall issue the necessary
forms to carry out the provisions of the Act and this chapter.

14 VAC 5-395-30.  Registration.

Every title insurance agent, title insurance agency and title
insurance company providing that (i) provides escrow,
closing or settlement services involving the purchase of or
financing lending on the security of real estate containing not
more than four residential dwelling units in the
Commonwealth of Virginia and (ii) is listed as the settlement
agent on the settlement statement for such transaction shall
register be required to be registered as a settlement agent
with the Virginia State Bar in accordance with the provisions
of § 6.1-2.26 of the Code of Virginia.

14 VAC 5-395-50.  Audits.

A.  Every title insurance agent, title insurance agency, and
title insurance company that acts as a settlement agent in
the Commonwealth of Virginia shall, at its expense, have an
annual audit of its escrow accounts conducted by an
independent certified public accountant on a calendar year
basis by not later than six months after the close of the
previous calendar year at least once each consecutive 12-
month period.  Such annual audit shall conform with the
standards established by the American Institute of Certified
Public Accountants, Statement on Auditing Standards,
Special Reports, and shall be filed by the settlement agent
with the bureau annually on or before July 1 no later than 60
days after the date on which the audit is completed.

B.  Every title insurance agent or title insurance agency
acting as a settlement agent shall file a copy of its annual
audit report with each title insurance company it represents.

C.  In lieu of an audit conducted by a certified public
accountant, a title insurance agent or title insurance agency
acting as a settlement agent shall allow each title insurance
company for which it has an appointment to conduct an
annual audit analysis of its escrow accounts on a calendar
year basis by not later than six months after the close of the
previous calendar year at least once each consecutive 12-
month period.  The form of such annual audit analysis shall
be prescribed by the bureau.  The title insurance company
shall submit a copy of its audit report analysis to the bureau
annually on or before July 1 no later than 60 days after the
date on which the analysis is completed.  With the consent of
the title insurance agent, a title insurance company may
share the results of its audit analysis with other title

insurance companies that will accept the same in lieu of
conducting a separate audit analysis.

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-299; Filed July 14, 1998, 11:27 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 16.  LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY

Safety and Health Codes Board

Title of Regulation:  16 VAC 25-50-10 et seq.  Boiler and
Pressure Vessel Rules and Regulations (amending
16 VAC 25-50-10, 16 VAC 25-50-20, 16 VAC 25-50-70,
16 VAC 25-50-80, 16 VAC 25-50-90, 16 VAC 25-50-120,
16 VAC 25-50-150, 16 VAC 25-50-190, 16 VAC 25-50-240,
16 VAC 25-50-250, 16 VAC 25-50-270, 16 VAC 25-50-290,
16 VAC 25-50-350, 16 VAC 25-50-360, 16 VAC 25-50-370,
16 VAC 25-50-380, 16 VAC 25-50-390, 16 VAC 25-50-430,
16 VAC 25-50-440 and 16 VAC 25-50-480).

Statutory Authority:  § 40.1-51.6 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Dates:
August 31, 1998 - 7 p.m. (Manassas)
September 1, 1998 - 7 p.m. (Richmond)
September 2, 1998 - 7 p.m. (Roanoke)
September 3, 1998 - 7 p.m. (Norfolk)

Public comments may be submitted until October 2,
1998.

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  The basis for the proposed amendments is to comply
with required changes in the Code of Virginia under Chapter
212, 1997 Acts of Assembly, to incorporate updated
technical standards incorporated into the National Board
Inspection Code, and to fulfill the statutory charge of the
board under § 40.1-51.6 of the Code of Virginia, authorizing
the board to “...formulate definitions, rules, regulations and
standards, which shall be designed for the protection of
human life and property from the unsafe or dangerous
construction, installation, inspection, operation,
maintenance, and repair of boilers and pressure vessels in
Virginia.”

Purpose:  The purpose of these amendments was initially to
accomplish the statutory directive of Chapter 212, 1997 Acts
of Assembly, requiring that former statutory provisions be
promulgated as regulations (as adopted by emergency
regulation on January 1, 1998), no later than the expiration
of the emergency regulation.  These amendments also
ensure that the citizens of the Commonwealth are protected
by the most recent updates to national consensus standards
concerning operation and maintenance requirements for
boilers and pressure vessels, including clarifying the
regulations’ applicability, defining qualifications for inspecting
boilers and pressure vessels in the Commonwealth, and
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exempting from regulation and inspection certain hobby
boilers of minimal size and capacity.

Substance:  The major provisions of the proposed
amendments to the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Rules and
Regulations are summarized below:

1.  Accomplishes transfer of provisions setting
certification and testing fees, from statute to regulation,
as authorized by 1997 Acts of Assembly;

2.  Exempts hobby boilers equipped with pertinent safety
devices from inspection and specific operational
requirements;

3.  Incorporates a National Board Inspection Code
provision permitting registration for objects designed
and constructed to a standard deemed equivalent to the
ASME Code;

4.  Adopts the National Board Code requirement of
stamps for object and valve repairs;

5.  Incorporates by reference recent changes to national
consensus standards;

6.  Establishes additional credential requirements for
inspectors who conduct repairs;

7.  Eliminates redundant and obsolete language or
procedures;

8.  Authorizes a pilot program permitting certain
inspectors to issue certificates and collect fees;

9.  Makes textual and grammatical corrections; and

10.  Makes administrative changes to requirements for
Owner/User Inspection Agencies.

Issues:  The primary advantages and disadvantages of
implementation of and compliance with the regulation by the
public and the department are discussed below.

Setting fee amounts by regulation rather than by statute will
allow an easier adjustment of the moneys collected from
fees, to coincide with, and accurately reflect the Boiler Safety
Compliance Programs’s allocated expenses.

The requirement of a National Board “R” stamp certification
will aid the department in its efforts to reduce the number of
unreported boiler and pressure vessel repairs as well as to
help eliminate the potentially catastrophic problem of
incorrect repair.  The holding of an “R” stamp certification
attests that the repair organization had demonstrated an
acceptable level of skill and competence regarding matters
such as: stress analysis, welding, metallurgy and quality
control as well as their unique applications to boilers and
pressure vessels, current regulation already requires that all
welded repairs be done in accordance with the NBIC.

Current regulation requires that an object in need of repair be
previewed by an inspector who must then authorize a welded
repair.  The repair must subsequently be inspected and pass
the approval of the inspector.  The repair organization must
also complete a repair report, Virginia Form NB:  R-1 and
forward it to the chief inspector.  In practice, this procedure is

not always followed.  In such cases, an improper,
unauthorized and unsafe repair may exist unreported and
unknown for months, until an inspector happens to find it
during the regular annual or biennial certificate inspection.

Requiring that all repair organizations invest in an “R” stamp
certification will provide an economic incentive in the industry
to follow proper regulatory procedure in order to safeguard
that investment and provide a level field of competition within
Virginia and surrounding jurisdictions.

The proposal to include the “VR” certification for all repair
organizations who repair or reset safety valves is to provide
greater and more uniform quality control of this critical
operation.  The present rules and regulations require that the
safety valve and safety relief valves be repaired and adjusted
by the original valve manufacturer or his authorized
representative.  The implementation of “VR” certification will
reduce requests to the department for variances and related
processing time thus making staff available for other
activities.

The department believes that requiring the use of this
nationally recognized qualification system is needed to
assure a high level of compliance with the National Board
Inspection Code standards for boiler and pressure vessel
repair which are currently required in regulation.  The
requirement of national board stamp certification will reduce
the number of unreported and/or incorrect valve and welded
repairs to boilers and pressure vessels.  This will facilitate
better oversight and control by the department as repair
reporting is currently required by regulation.

Authorizing certain inspectors to issue certificates and collect
fees will also dramatically shorten the process for
owner/users to obtain inspection certificates, while saving
department resources otherwise expended towards that
process.  This provides the boiler owner the option of either
paying the $20 fee directly to the department or being
charged $17 by a designated inspector who is allowed to
charge the owner up to an additional three dollars for each
certificate fee collected, reflecting costs incurred in collecting
and forwarding the fees to the chief inspector.

The amendments further protect the health of the citizens of
the Commonwealth, by adopting the improvements
previously accepted in the consensus-based National Board
Code.  Employees and the general public, where exposed,
will benefit from a safer work environment through a reduced
exposure to unsafe equipment.  The amendment also
reduces the overall probability of boiler or pressure vessel
explosions in the Commonwealth.  Owners and operators of
boilers and pressure vessels may benefit especially:  from
exemptions from regulation for small hobby boilers; from a
pilot program simplifying the certificate process; and from
administrative changes to the requirements for maintaining
an owner/inspection agency.

Finally, by applying current provisions of a national
consensus standard, the Commonwealth of Virginia will
benefit and encourage interstate commerce in providing and
purchasing boiler-related services and products.
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Advantages and disadvantages to the general public:  The
advantages these proposed amendments give to the general
public are an increased level of public safety, a safer work
environment, and a reduced risk of boiler explosions, due to
the higher standards for construction, operation and repair of
regulated boilers. The sole disadvantage to the general
public would be the possibility of a slight increase in the
costs of goods and services provided by the owner or user of
a boiler or pressure vessel due to the incrementally higher
cost for boiler repairs resulting from the stricter repair
certification standard.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13
(94).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property.  The
analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic effects.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  The proposed
regulation would amend current regulations governing the
construction, installation, inspection, operation,
maintenance, and repair of boilers and pressure vessels in
Virginia.  The primary proposed amendments are as follows:

1.  Minimum construction standards would be amended
to incorporate alternative international standards “which
are acceptable to the Chief Inspector;”

2.  Certain replica or model boilers of historical nature,
not intended for commercial use, would be exempt from
the minimum construction standards;

3.  The processing fee for requests for certificates of
competency, identification cards, and endorsements
would be increased from $10 to $20;

4.  Requirements regarding owner-user inspection
agencies would be amended to allow inspection and
maintenance of unfired pressure vessels according to
the American Petroleum Institute Code where
applicable;

5.  Provisions would be added allowing payment of the
$20 boiler inspection certificate fee directly to a special
inspector;

6.  Provisions would be added allowing inspection of
boilers and pressure vessels by a commonwealth
inspector in cases where the chief inspector has
determined that no contract fee inspectors are available,
and establishing a $135 fee for such inspections of
power boilers, $70 for heating boilers, and $50 for
pressure vessels;

7.  Fees for reviews and emergency inspections would
be set at $100 plus expenses for one half day and $200
for a full day;

8.  Requirements for repairs and renewals of boiler
fittings and appliances would be amended to permit the
use of National Board Inspection Code standards;

9.  Requirements for existing installations of power
boilers would be amended to stipulate that each
automatically fired boiler or system of commonly
connected boilers have a device that will shut off the fuel
supply if steam pressure reaches a maximum level and
to require that individual automatically fired boilers have
a device that will prevent generation of steam pressure
in excess of the maximum allowable working pressure;

10.  Standards for hydrostatic pressure tests of
installations would be amended to stipulate that
pressure shall be the greater of 80% of maximum
allowable working pressure or operating pressure;

11.  Standards for automatic low-water fuel cutoffs
would be amended to require two automatic low-water
fuel cutoffs on power boilers; and

12.  New requirements would be added specifying that
repairs may only be made by holders of a National
Board Inspection Code “R” or “VR” Certificate of
Authorization.

Estimated economic impact.  For purposes of evaluating
economic effects, the proposed amendments detailed above
can be grouped into three general categories:  those that
would increase regulatory flexibility, those that would revise
the regulation to reflect current national standards, and those
that affect fees.

Increased Regulatory Flexibility:

The proposed amendments that would revise the standards
for minimum construction, inspection and maintenance of
unfired pressure vessels, and hydrostatic pressure tests all
increase the flexibility afforded to regulants by allowing the
use of alternative standards.  This increased regulatory
flexibility will reduce regulatory compliance costs by
permitting regulants to select the compliance standard with
which they are most familiar or that best fits their individual
situations.

Current National Standards:

Several of the proposed amendments simply update the
regulation to reflect current standards of the American
Society of Mechanical Engineers or the American National
Standards Institute.  This applies specifically to the new
requirements for fuel shut-off and steam pressure generation
regulating devices in power boilers, and the requirement that
boiler repairs may only be made by holders of a National
Board Inspection Code “R” or “VR” Certificate of
Authorization.  In all cases, these proposed amendments will
add to compliance costs.  The most significant increase
would occur as a result of the “R” or “VR” Certificate of
Authorization requirement.  Information provided by DLI
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indicates that the cost of acquiring these certifications is
between $3,000 and $4,000.

Because many regulants are already in compliance with the
revised national standards, however, the actual increase in
compliance costs may be small.  For example, DLI estimates
that all but approximately 10 or 20 of the authorized boiler
repair providers in Virginia already possess the “R” or “VR”
Certificates of Authorization.  Moreover, these additional
costs must be balanced against the improvement in public
health, safety, and welfare that is associated with adherence
to nationally recognized engineering standards.

Fees:

Four of the proposed amendments would affect fees.  The
amendment that would allow payment of the $20 boiler
inspection certificate fee directly to the special inspector only
provides greater flexibility in the way the fee must be paid
and does not involve any change in the fee itself.  Similarly,
the amendment stipulating that fees for reviews and
emergency inspections would be set at $100 plus expenses
for one half day and $200 for a full day only transfers those
provisions from statute to regulation, as authorized by the
1997 Acts of Assembly, and also does not involve a change
in the fees themselves.

The amendment establishing fees for the inspection of
boilers and pressure vessels by a Commonwealth Inspector
in cases where the chief inspector has determined that no
contract fee inspectors are available does create new fees.
Because these inspections would have otherwise still been
performed and fees charged, however, these new fees do not
entail an increase in compliance costs.  Rather, by providing
alternative timely inspection services, this amendment is
likely to prove a convenience to regulants, thereby reducing
overall compliance costs.

In contrast, the amendment that increases from $10 to $20
the processing fee for requests for certificates of
competency, identification cards, and endorsements does
involve an increase in regulatory compliance costs.
According to information provided by DLI, approximately 150
of these requests are processed each year.  This means that
the proposed fee increase would entail a $1,500 per year
increase in overall regulatory compliance costs.

Businesses and entities particularly affected.  The proposed
regulation particularly affects the approximately 10,000
owners and operators of boilers and pressure vessels in
Virginia, 90 boiler and pressure vessel repair companies, 20
boiler and pressure vessel inspection companies, and the
general public.

Localities particularly affected.  No localities are particularly
affected by the proposed regulation.

Projected impact on employment.  The proposed regulation
is not anticipated to have a significant effect on employment.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  Proposed
amendments contained in the regulation do establish
additional standards for boilers and pressure vessels.  These
standards could necessitate upgrading or retiring current

equipment, thereby affecting the use and value of private
property.

Summary of analysis.  The proposed regulation would
amend current regulations governing boilers and pressure
vessels in Virginia.  The primary economic consequences of
the proposed amendments will be to:  (i) enhance public
health and safety by updating the regulation to reflect current
standards of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers
or the American National Standards Institute and (ii)
generate a modest increase in regulatory compliance costs.

Agency’s Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Department of
Labor and Industry concurs with the economic impact
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and
Budget.

Summary:

The proposed amendments incorporate the transfer of
authority for setting various fee amounts from statute to
regulation and adopt several changes recommended
individually or jointly by the regulated community, the
National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors,
or the Chief Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspector of the
Commonwealth.

The proposed amendments also direct commonwealth
inspectors to inspect uninsured boilers and pressure
vessels in those geographic areas or limited time periods
within which commercial services would not be available,
set out the chief inspector’s criteria for determining
unavailability, and establish rates for certification
inspections conducted by commonwealth inspectors.
These changes eliminate a criticism of the current
privatized inspection system and are directed by the
General Assembly.

Also included in these proposed amendments are
changes suggested by the department’s regulatory
review and a request by the department to require the
national board “R” and “VR” stamp certification for
organizations performing repairs and alterations to
boilers and pressure vessels, and the repair and
resetting of safety valves.  Current regulation requires
that all boilers and pressure vessels be designed,
constructed and installed in accordance with the ASME
Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code.  However, the ASME
code does not establish standards for repair or alteration
of these objects once they have been code stamped and
installed.

In 1977, the national board, in conjunction with the chief
inspectors of the 43 member states and three member
cities, established standards for object repair in order to
address the problem that ASME code integrity of
pressurized equipment was being violated by improper
repairs and alterations.  The national board published a
standard for controlling such repair and alteration as a
chapter to the National Board Inspection Code and
developed the “R” stamp certification program.  The “R”
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Stamp program has been adopted by 32 of the 46
members.

16 VAC 25-50-10.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter,
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Act" means the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Safety Act,
Chapter 3.1 (§ 40.1-51.5 through 40.1-51.19 et seq.) of Title
40.1 of the Code of Virginia.

"Alteration" means any change in the item described on
the original Manufacturers' Data Report which affects the
pressure containing capability of the boiler or pressure
vessel.  Non-physical changes, such as an increase in the
maximum allowable working pressure (internal or external)
or design temperature of a boiler or pressure vessel, shall be
considered an alteration.  A reduction in minimum
temperature such that additional mechanical tests are
required shall also be considered an alteration.

"Approved" means acceptable to the board, commissioner
or chief inspector as applicable.

"ASME Code" means the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code
of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers with such
revisions, amendments, and interpretations of them as are
made, approved and adopted by governing council of such
society and approved and adopted by the board.  Copies of
the code may be obtained from the Society at 345 East 47th
Street, New York, NY 10017.

"Authorized Inspection Agency" means one of the
following:

a.  A department or division established by a state,
commonwealth or municipality of the United States, or a
province of Canada which has adopted one or more
sections of the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code of the
ASME and whose inspectors hold valid commissions
with the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel
Inspectors; or equivalent qualifications as defined and
set forth in Part II, 16 VAC 25-50-50, and Part II, 16
VAC 25-50-70;

b.  An inspection agency of an insurance company
which is authorized (licensed) to write boiler and
pressure vessel insurance in those jurisdictions which
have examined the agency's inspectors to represent
such jurisdictions as is evident by the issuance of a valid
certificate of competency to the inspector;

c.  An owner-user inspection agency as defined in this
chapter section; or

d.  A contract fee inspector.

"Board" means the Virginia Safety and Health Codes
Board.

"Boiler" means a closed vessel in which water is heated,
steam is generated, steam is superheated, or any
combination of them, under pressure or vacuum for use
externally to itself by the direct application of heat.  The term

"boiler" shall include fired units for heating or vaporizing
liquids other than water where these units are separate from
processing systems and are complete within themselves.

"Certificate of competency" means a certificate issued by
the commissioner to a person who has passed the
prescribed examination as provided in Part II, 16 VAC
25-50-50.  See §§ 40.1-51.9 and § 40.1-51:9:1 of the Act.

"Certificate inspection" means an inspection, the report of
which is used by the chief inspector to decide whether or not
a certificate, as provided for in § 40.1-51.10 of the Act may
be issued.  This certificate inspection shall be an internal
inspection when required; otherwise, it shall be as complete
an inspection as possible.

"Chief inspector" means the chief boiler and pressure
vessel inspector of the Commonwealth.

"Commission, National Board" means the commission
issued by the National Board to a holder of a Certificate of
Competency for the purpose of conducting inspections in
accordance with the National Board Bylaws and this chapter.
The employer must submit the inspector's application to the
National Board for a commission.

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the
Department of Labor and Industry.

"Commonwealth inspector" means any agent appointed by
the commissioner under the provisions of § 40.1-51.9 of the
Act.

"Condemned boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or
pressure vessel that has been inspected and declared unsafe
for use or disqualified by legal requirements and to which a
stamping or marking designating its condemnation has been
applied by the chief or deputy commonwealth inspector.

"Department" means the Department of Labor and
Industry.

"Division" means the Boiler Safety Enforcement Division of
the Department of Labor and Industry.

"Electric boiler" means a boiler in which the source of heat
is electricity.

"Examining board" means persons appointed by the chief
inspector to monitor examinations of inspectors.

"Existing installation" means and includes any boiler or
pressure vessel constructed, installed, placed in operation or
contracted for before July 1, 1974.

"External inspection" means an inspection of the exterior of
the boiler or pressure vessel and its appliances when the
item is in operation.

"Heating boiler" means a steam or vapor boiler operating
at pressures not exceeding 15 psig, or a hot-water boiler
operating at pressures not exceeding 160 psig or
temperature not exceeding 250°F at or near the boiler outlet.

"High-pressure, high-temperature water boiler" means a
water boiler operating at pressures exceeding 160 psig or
temperatures exceeding 250°F at or near the boiler outlet.
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"Hobby boiler" means a steam boiler which serves no
commercial purpose and is used solely for hobby or display
and operated solely for the enjoyment of the owner.

"Hot-water supply boiler" means a boiler furnishing hot
water to be used externally to itself at pressures not
exceeding 160 psig or temperatures not exceeding 250°F at
or near the boiler outlet, with the exception of boilers which
are directly fired by oil, gas or electricity where none of the
following limitations are exceeded:

a.  Heat input of 200,000 BTU per hour;

b.  Water temperature of 210°F; or

c.  Nominal water containing capacity of 120 gallons.

"Hot-water supply storage tanks" means those heated by
steam or any other indirect means where any one of the
following limitations are exceeded:

a.  Heat input of 200,000 BTU per hour;

b.  Water temperature of 210°F; or

c.  Nominal water containing capacity of 120 gallons.

"Inspection certificate" means a certificate issued by the
chief inspector for the operation of a boiler or pressure
vessel.

"Inspector" means the chief inspector, commonwealth
inspector or special inspector.

"Internal inspection" means a complete examination of the
internal and external surfaces of a boiler or pressure vessel
and its appliances while it is shut down and manhole plates,
handhole plates or other inspection openings removed.

"Lap seam crack" means a failure in a lap joint extending
parallel to the longitudinal joint and located either between or
adjacent to rivet holes.

"Miniature boiler" means any boiler which does not exceed
any one of the following limits:

a.  16 inches inside diameter of shell;

b.  20 square feet heating surface;

c.  5 cubic feet gross volume, exclusive of casing and
insulation; or

d.  100 psig maximum allowable working pressure.

"National Board" means the National Board of Boiler and
Pressure Vessel Inspectors, 1055 Crupper Avenue,
Columbus, OH 43229, whose membership is composed of
the chief inspectors of government jurisdictions who are
charged with the enforcement of the provisions of the ASME
Code.

"National Board Inspection Code" means the manual for
boiler and pressure vessel inspectors published by the
National Board.  Copies of this code may be obtained from
the National Board.

"New boiler or pressure vessel installation" means all
boilers or pressure vessels constructed, installed, placed in
operation or contracted for after July 1, 1974.

"NFPA" means the National Fire Protection Association.

"Nonstandard boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or
pressure vessel that does not bear the stamp of
Commonwealth of Virginia, the ASME stamp or the National
Board stamp when applicable.

"Owner or user" means any person, partnership, firm or
corporation who is legally responsible for the safe operation
of a boiler or pressure vessel within the Commonwealth.

"Owner-user inspection agency" means any person,
partnership, firm or corporation registered with the chief
inspector and approved by the board as being legally
responsible for inspecting pressure vessels which they
operate in this Commonwealth.

"Portable boiler" means an internally fired boiler which is
primarily intended for temporary location and whose
construction and usage permit it to be readily moved from
one location to another.

"Power boiler" means a boiler in which steam or other
vapor is generated at a pressure of more than 15 psig.

"Pressure vessel" means a vessel in which the pressure is
obtained from an external source, or by the application of
heat from an indirect source, or from a direct source, other
than those boilers defined in Part I (16 VAC 25-50-10 et
seq.) of this chapter.

"PSIG" means pounds per square inch gauge.

"Reinstalled boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or
pressure vessel removed from its original setting and
reinstalled at the same location or at a new location.

"Repair" means work necessary to return a boiler or
pressure vessel to a safe and satisfactory operating
condition, provided there is no deviation from the original
design.

"Secondhand boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or
pressure vessel which has changed both location and
ownership since the last certificate inspection.

"Special inspector" means an inspector holding a Virginia
Certificate of Competency, and who is regularly employed by
an insurance company authorized (licensed) to write boiler
and pressure vessel insurance in this Commonwealth, an
inspector continuously employed by any company operating
pressure vessels in this Commonwealth used or to be used
by the company, or a contract fee inspector.

"Standard boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or
pressure vessel which bears the stamp of the
Commonwealth of Virginia, the ASME stamp and the
National Board stamp when applicable.

"Underwriters' Laboratories" means Underwriters'
Laboratories, Inc., 333 Pfingsten Road, Northbrook, Illinois
60062, which is a nonprofit, independent organization testing
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for public safety.  It maintains and operates laboratories for
the examination and testing of devices, systems, and
materials to determine their relation to life, fire, casualty
hazards and crime prevention.

"Water heater" means a vessel used to supply:  (i) potable
hot water; or (ii) both space heat and potable water in
combination which is directly heated by the combustion of
fuels, electricity, or any other source and withdrawn for use
external to the system at pressures not to exceed 160 psi or
temperatures of 210°F.  This term also includes fired storage
water heaters defined by the Virginia Uniform Statewide
Building Code as a "water heater."

16 VAC 25-50-20.  Minimum construction standards for
boilers and pressure vessels.

A.  Boilers and pressure vessels to be installed for
operation in this Commonwealth shall be designed,
constructed, inspected, stamped and installed in accordance
with the applicable ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code
and the addenda to it, other international construction
standards which are acceptable to the chief inspector, and
this chapter.

B.  Boilers and pressure vessels shall bear the National
Board stamping, except cast iron boilers and UM vessels.  A
copy of the Manufacturers' Data Report, signed by the
manufacturer's representative and the National Board
commissioned inspector, shall be filed by the owner or user
with the chief inspector prior to its operation in the
Commonwealth.

C.  Pressure piping - (including welded piping) - Piping
external to power boilers extending from the boiler extending
to the first stop valve of a single boiler, and to the second
stop valve in a battery of two or more boilers is subject to the
requirements of ASME Power Boiler Code, Section I, and the
design, fabrication, installation and testing of the valves and
piping shall be in conformity with the applicable paragraphs
of ASME code.  Applicable ASME data report forms for this
piping shall be furnished by the owner to the chief inspector.
Construction rules for materials, design, fabrication,
installation and testing both for the boiler external piping and
the power piping beyond the valve or valves required by
ASME Power Boiler Code, Section I, are referenced in ANSI
B31.1, Power piping, and the code.

D.  Boilers and pressure vessels brought into the
Commonwealth and not meeting code requirements shall not
be operated unless the owner/user is granted a variance in
accordance with § 40.1-51.19 of the Act.

The request for variance shall include all documentation
related to the boiler or pressure vessel that will provide
evidence of equivalent fabrication standards, i.e., design
specification, calculations, material specifications, detailed
construction drawings, fabrication and inspection procedures
and qualification records, examination, inspection and test
records, and any available manufacturers' data report.

In order to facilitate such a variance approval, the
submission of documentation, in the English language and in
current U.S. standard units of measure would be helpful.

The following list of documents, while not all inclusive, would
be useful in providing evidence of safety equivalent to ASME
Code construction:

1.  List of materials used for each pressure part;

2.  The design calculations to determine the maximum
allowable working pressure in accordance with the
ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, applicable
section, edition and addenda;

3.  The design code used and the source of stress
values for the materials used in the design calculations;

4.  The welding procedures used and the qualification
records for each procedure;

5.  The material identification for each type of welding
material used;

6.  The performance qualification records for each
welder or welding operator used in the construction of
the boiler or pressure vessel;

7.  The extent of any nondestructive examination (NDE)
performed and the qualification records of NDE
operators;

8.  Record of final pressure test signed by a third party
inspector;

9.  Name and organization of the third party inspection
agency;

10.  A certification from a licensed professional engineer
stating that the boiler or pressure vessel has been
constructed to a standard providing equivalent safety to
that of the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code.  A
signature, date and seal of the certifying engineer is
required;

11.  Where applicable, a matrix of differences between
the actual construction of the boiler or pressure vessel
for which a variance is requested and a similar boiler or
pressure vessel that is code stamped; and

12.  Where applicable, a letter from an insurance
company stating that it will insure the boiler or pressure
vessel.

After notification of a violation of these rules and
regulations an owner/user desiring a variance shall submit a
request for variance within 30 days.

The chief inspector shall respond to any request for a
variance within 30 days of receipt of all required
documentation, and shall submit a recommendation to the
commissioner, who will make the decision on the variance.

E.  Commonwealth of Virginia Special - If a boiler or
pressure vessel is of a special design or one that does not
conform to ASME and National Board requirements, the
following information shall be submitted to the chief
inspector prior to construction or installation for approval by
the commissioner for "Commonwealth of Virginia Special"
status; detailed construction drawings; materials
specifications; design calculations; welding details and
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procedures, and procedure and performance qualification
tests; and a detailed quality control program used to control
all phases of construction.

NOTE:  All documents submitted shall be in the English
language, and all dimensions, pressures, temperatures,
materials specifications, etc. shall be in the same units as
used in the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code.

F. E.  Before secondhand equipment is installed,
application for permission to install shall be filed by the
owner or user with the chief inspector and approval obtained.

G. F.  Electric boilers, subject to the requirements of the
Act and this chapter, shall bear the Underwriters'
Laboratories label on the completed unit or assembly by the
manufacturer.  This label shall be in addition to the code
symbol stamping requirements of the ASME and the
National Board.

G.  Replica or model boilers of historical nature; preserved,
restored or maintained for hobby use; not intended for
commercial use; and having an inside diameter less than or
equal to 10 inches and a grate area less than or equal to 1½
square feet and equipped with a safety valve of adequate
size, a water level indicator and a pressure gauge are
exempt.

16 VAC 25-50-70.  Certificate of competency and
identification card.

A.  Upon request and subject to subsection B of this
section, a certificate of competency and an identification
card shall be issued by the commissioner to:

1.  An inspector who is employed full-time full time by a
governmental authority having an authorized inspection
agency as defined in Part I (16 VAC 25-50-10 et seq.).

2.  An inspector who is employed by an insurance
company which is authorized (licensed) to write boiler
and pressure vessel insurance in this Commonwealth.

3.  An inspector who is employed by a company which
operates unfired pressure vessels in Virginia and has a
valid owner-user inspection agency agreement as
provided in Part II, 16 VAC 25-50-120.

4.  A contract fee inspector.

B.  The applicant must pass the examination as set forth
in Part II, 16 VAC 25-50-50, and pay the application fee of
$50; or hold a valid commission or certificate of competency
from a state that has a standard of examination substantially
equal to that of Virginia, and a valid commission and
identification card issued by the National Board.

C.  Requests for a certificate of competency and,
identification card and endorsements shall be completed on
forms provided by the chief inspector and shall be
accompanied by, when applicable, a facsimile of the
applicant's commission, certificate of competency and
identification cards, named above, and a processing fee of
$10 $20 payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  An
endorsement of the Virginia identification card is required for

inspecting repairs or alterations.  Inspectors holding a valid
“A” or “B” national qualification or passing a written
examination given by the department shall apply on forms
provided by the chief inspector.

D.  The Virginia valid identification card shall be returned
to the chief inspector when the certificate holder is no longer
employed by the organization employing him at the time that
the certificate was issued or, in the case of a self-employed
contract fee inspector, has ceased inspection activities.

E.  Each person holding a valid Virginia certificate of
competency and who conducts inspections as provided by
the Act shall apply to the chief inspector on forms provided
by the chief inspector and obtain an identification card
biennially, not later than June 30 of the year in which the
card is due for renewal.  A processing fee of $10 $20 for
each card, payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, shall
accompany the application.

F.  An inspector's certificate of competency may be
suspended by the chief inspector after due investigation and
recommendation by the commissioner, for incompetence or
untrustworthiness of the holder of the certificate, or for willful
falsification of any matter or statement contained in his
application, or in a report of any inspection made by him.
Written notice of any suspension shall be given by the chief
inspector to the inspector and his employer.  Persons whose
certificate of competency has been suspended shall be
entitled to an appeal to the board as provided for in the act
and to be present in person or to be represented by counsel
at the hearing of the appeal.

16 VAC 25-50-80.  Inspectors to have no other interests.

Inspectors shall not engage in the sale of any article or
device relating to boilers, pressure vessels or their
appurtenances.  Neither contract fee inspectors nor their
employers shall have a commercial interest in repair work or
any other work on boilers, pressure vessels, or their
appurtenances which they inspect.

16 VAC 25-50-90.  Inspection reports to be submitted by
special inspectors.

A.  Special inspectors shall submit first inspection reports
to the chief inspector on Form NB-5 of the National Board
Inspection Code BPV-5 for each boiler and pressure vessel
subject to registration and inspection in this Commonwealth.
Complete data shall be submitted on Form NB-5 for each
nonstandard boiler or pressure vessel.

B.  Except as provided in subsection E of this section,
subsequent inspections of both standard and nonstandard
boilers and pressure vessels shall be reported on Forms
NB-6 and NB-7 of the National Board Inspection Code or
Commonwealth Form BPV 6-7.

C.  Inspection reports, as required in subsections A and B
of this section, shall be submitted within 30 days from date
of inspection.

D.  When hazardous conditions are found in a boiler or
pressure vessel which would present an immediate threat to
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life or property, the owner or user shall immediately take
action to correct the hazardous conditions or remove the
object from service.  The inspector shall notify the office of
the chief inspector immediately by telephone followed by a
written report.  A complete and thorough inspection shall be
conducted to evaluate the hazardous conditions and to make
recommendations for necessary corrective measures.  The
boiler or pressure vessel shall not be returned to service until
it has been restored to a safe operating condition under the
requirements of this chapter.

E.  Owner Owner-user inspection agencies may report
subsequent inspections of both standard and nonstandard
pressure vessels on Form NB-7 or at their option, upon
forms approved by the board.  The report shall be filed as
provided in Part II, 16 VAC 25-50-120.

16 VAC 25-50-120.  Owner-user inspection agency.

A.  Any person, firm, partnership or corporation operating
pressure vessels in this Commonwealth may seek approval
and registration as an owner-user inspection agency by filing
an application with the chief inspector on forms prescribed
and available from the department, and request approval by
the board.  Each application shall be accompanied by a fee
of $25 and a bond in the penal sum of $5,000 which shall
continue to be valid during the time the approval and
registration of the company as an owner-user inspection
agency is in effect.

B.  The application and registration shall show the name of
the agency and its principal address in this Commonwealth,
and the name and address of the person or persons having
supervision over inspections made by the agency.  Changes
in supervisory personnel shall be reported to the chief
inspector within 30 days after any change.

C.  Each owner-user inspection agency as required by the
provisions of the Act and this chapter shall:

1.  Maintain its own inspection group under the
supervision of one or more individuals who have
qualified as an inspector under the provisions of the
National Board Inspection Code independent authority to
effect resolution of technical problems or procedures;

2.  Conduct inspections of boilers or unfired pressure
vessels, not exempt by the Act, utilizing only qualified
inspection personnel, certified pursuant to Part II,
16 VAC 25-50-50, 16 VAC 25-50-60 and 16 VAC
25-50-70; in the case of unfired pressure vessels which
are covered by the American Petroleum Institute code
API-510, and are in use in the petroleum or chemical
process industries, the owner-user inspection agency
may, at its option, inspect and maintain such vessels by
the API-510 code;

3.  Retain on file at the location where the equipment is
inspected a true record or copy of the report of the latest
of each inspection signed by the inspector who made
the inspection;

4.  Execute and deliver to the owner or user
(management) a true report of each inspection together

with appropriate requirements or recommendations that
result from the inspections;

5.  Promptly notify the chief inspector of any boiler or
unfired pressure vessel which does not meet the
requirements of safe operating conditions;

6.  Maintain inspection records which will include a list of
each boiler or unfired pressure vessel covered by the
Act, showing a serial number and an abbreviated
description as may be necessary for identification; the
date of last inspection of each unit and approximate date
for the next inspection, arrived at by applying the
appropriate rules to all data available at the time the
inspection record is compiled (re:  frequency and type of
inspection, see Part II, 16 VAC 25-50-30).  This
inspection record shall be readily available for
examination by the chief inspector or his authorized
representative during normal business hours; and

7.  File a statement annually, on a date mutually agreed
upon, with the chief inspector.  This statement shall be
signed by the individual having supervision over the
inspections made during the period covered.  The
statement shall include the number of vessels, covered
by the Act, inspected during the year and certifying that
each inspection was conducted pursuant to the
inspection requirements provided for by the Act and in a
format acceptable to the chief inspector.  The annual
statement shall be accompanied by a filing fee in
accordance with the schedule in § 40.1-51.11:1 of the
Act as follows:

a.  For statements covering not more than 25 vessels
- $7 per vessel;

b.  For statements covering more than 25 vessels but
less than 101 vessels - $200;

c.  For statements covering more than 100 but less
than 501 vessels - $400; and

d.  For statements covering more than 500 vessels -
$800.

16 VAC 25-50-150.  Inspection certificate and inspection
fees.

A.  Upon the inspection and determination that a boiler or
pressure vessel is suitable and conforms to this chapter, the
owner or user shall remit the sum of $20 to the
commissioner payment for an inspection certificate in one of
the following forms and amounts for each item required to be
inspected under the Act.  A certificate of inspection shall not
be issued to the owner or user until receipt of funds by the
department.  Checks and money orders for payment of
inspection certificate fees should be made payable to the
Treasurer of Virginia.

1.  Payment of $20 may be mailed from the owner or
user to the chief inspector by check or money order.
Payment of inspection certificate fees should be made
payable to the Treasurer of Virginia; or
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2.  Payment may be presented to a special inspector,
where the inspector is authorized to collect and forward
such fees on the department’s behalf.  The
commissioner may authorize special inspectors to collect
and forward to the chief inspector $17 for each
inspection certificate.  Pursuant to § 40.1-51.10:1 of the
Code of Virginia, special inspectors may charge owners
or users a fee not exceeding $3.00 for collecting and
forwarding inspection certificate fees.

An inspection certificate will not be issued to the owner
or user until payment is received by either the
department or, if previously authorized, by a special
inspector.

B.  The chief inspector may extend an inspection
certificate for up to three additional months beyond a two
month grace period following the expiration of a certificate.
Such extension is subject to a satisfactory external
inspection of the boiler or pressure vessel and receipt of a
fee of $20 for each month of extension.

C.  When inspected by the department, an additional fee
for the inspection service shall be paid before the inspection
certificate is issued. the chief inspector determines that no
contract fee inspectors are available to inspect a regulated
uninsured boiler or pressure vessel in a timely manner, a
commonwealth inspector may be directed to conduct a
certification inspection.  Contract fee inspection service shall
be determined unavailable where (i) at least two contract fee
inspectors contacted will not agree to provide inspection
services to the owner or user within at least 21 days from the
request and (ii) the owner’s or user’s inspection certificate will
expire within that same period.

The following rates per inspected object, in addition to
inspection certificate fees, shall apply for certification
inspections conducted by a commonwealth inspector:

1.  Power boilers and high pressure, high temperature
water boilers $135

2.  Heating boilers $70

3.  Pressure vessels $50

D.  The review of a manufacturer's or repair organization's
facility for the purpose of national accreditation will be
performed by the chief inspector or his qualified designee for
an additional fee of $800 per review or survey.

E.  The owner or user who causes a boiler or pressure
vessel to be operated without a valid certificate shall be
subject to the penalty as provided for in § 40.1-51.12 of the
Act.

F.  Inspection certificates are not required for unfired
pressure vessels inspected by an authorized owner-user
inspection agency.  However, the agency shall keep on file in
its office in the establishment where the equipment is located
a true record or copy of the report of the latest of each
inspection signed by the inspector who made the inspection.

16 VAC 25-50-190.  Condemned boilers and pressure
vessels.

A.  Any boiler or pressure vessel having been inspected
and declared unsafe by the chief inspector or deputy
commonwealth inspector shall be stamped by the inspector
with the letters "XXX" on both sides of the postal
abbreviation of this Commonwealth, as shown by the
following facsimile, which will designate a condemned boiler
or pressure vessel:

XXX VA XXX

B.  Any person, firm, partnership, or corporation using or
offering for sale a condemned boiler or pressure vessel for
operation within this Commonwealth shall be subject to the
penalties provided by the Act.

16 VAC 25-50-240.  Factor of safety for existing
installations.

Any inspector may increase the factor of safety on any
existing installation if the condition of the boiler or pressure
vessel warrants it.  If the owner or user does not concur with
the inspector's decision, the owner or user may appeal to the
commissioner who may request a joint inspection by the
chief inspector and or the commonwealth inspector or and
the special inspector.  Each The chief inspector shall make
his a report to the commissioner and the commissioner shall
make the final decision, based upon the data contained in
the inspector's reports.  The decision of the commissioner
may be appealed to the board pursuant to § 40.1-51.16 of
the Code of Virginia.

16 VAC 25-50-250.  Repairs or alterations.

When repairs or alterations are to be made, permission
shall be obtained from an inspector with an appropriate
endorsement, and the repairs shall be done in accordance
with the National Board Inspection Code and this chapter.

16 VAC 25-50-270.  Review fees.

The fees to be charged by the Chief Inspector or
Commonwealth Inspectors for a review or inspection other
than a certificate inspection, of a boiler or pressure vessel
shall be in accordance with § 40.1-51.15 of the Act; and may
include but not be limited to consultation, data review,
engineering evaluation, or quality control review.

Reviews and emergency inspections other than certificate
inspections conducted by the chief inspector or
commonwealth inspectors, including but not limited to
consultations, data reviews, engineering evaluations, or
quality control reviews, shall be billed at the following rates:

1.  For one-half day of
four hours

$100 plus expenses, including
travel and lodging

2.  For one full day of
eight hours

$200 plus expenses, including
travel and lodging
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16 VAC 25-50-290.  Application of Commonwealth serial
numbers.

A.  Upon completion of the installation of a new boiler or
pressure vessel or at the time of the initial certificate
inspection of an existing installation each boiler or pressure
vessel shall be stamped by the inspector with a serial
number of the Commonwealth, consisting of the postal
abbreviation for the Commonwealth and a unique series of
numbers not less than 5/16 3/16-inch in height and arranged
as follows:

VA 0000

B.  All cast iron, low-pressure heating boilers shall have
securely attached to the front of the boiler a metal metallic
tag of not less than one inch in height, which shall have the
serial number of the Commonwealth stamped on it.

C.  All pressure vessels constructed of cast iron, or of a
material of such thickness or type that it should not be
stamped, shall have securely attached a metal metallic tag
not less than one inch in height, which shall have the serial
number of the Commonwealth stamped on it.

16 VAC 25-50-350.  Repairs and renewals of boiler
fittings and appliances.

Whenever repairs are made to fittings or appliances or it
becomes necessary to replace them, the repairs or
replacements shall comply with the requirements of the
ASME Code or the National Board Inspection Code.

16 VAC 25-50-360.  Power and high-pressure,
high-temperature water boilers.

A.  Age limit of existing boilers.

1.  The age limit of any boiler of nonstandard
construction, installed before July 1, 1974, other than
one having a riveted, longitudinal lap joint, shall be 30
years, however, any boiler passing a thorough internal
and external inspection, and not displaying any leakage
or distress under a hydrostatic pressure test of 1½ times
the allowable working pressure held for at least 30
minutes, may be continued in operation without
reduction in working pressure.  The age limit of any
boiler having riveted, longitudinal, lap joints and
operating at a pressure in excess of 50 psig shall be 20
years.  This type of boiler, when removed from an
existing setting, shall not be reinstalled for a pressure in
excess of 15 psig.  A reasonable time for replacement,
not to exceed one year, may be given at the discretion of
the chief inspector.

2.  The shell or drum of a boiler in which a typical lap
seam crack is discovered along a longitudinal riveted
joint for either butt or lap joints shall be permanently
removed from service.

3.  The age limit of boilers of standard construction,
installed before July 1, 1974, shall be determined from
the results of a thorough internal and external inspection
by an authorized inspector and the application of an
appropriate pressure test.  Hydrostatic test pressure

shall be 1½ times the allowable working pressure and
maintained for 30 minutes.  The boiler may be continued
in service at the same working pressure provided there
is no evidence of leakage or distress under these test
conditions.

4.  The minimum temperature of the water used for the
hydrostatic test of low-pressure boilers and pressure
vessels shall be 60°F.  The minimum temperature of the
water used for the hydrostatic test of power boilers shall
be 70°F or ambient whichever is greater.

B.  The maximum allowable working pressure for standard
boilers shall be determined in accordance with the applicable
provisions of the edition of the ASME Code under which they
were constructed and stamped.

C.1.  The maximum allowable working pressure on the
shell of a nonstandard boiler shall be determined by the
strength of the weakest section of the structure,
computed from the thickness of the plate, the tensile
strength of the plate, the efficiency of the longitudinal
joint or tube ligaments, the inside diameter of the
weakest course and the factor of safety allowed by this
chapter.

TStE
RFS = maximum allowable working pressure, psig psi

where:

TS = ultimate tensile strength of shell plates, psig, psi

t = minimum thickness of shell plate, in weakest
course, inches

E = efficiency of longitudinal joint:

For tube ligaments, E shall be determined by the
rules in Section I of the ASME Code for Power
Boilers.  For riveted joints, E shall be determined by
the rules in the applicable edition of the ASME
Code.  For seamless construction, E shall be
considered 100%.

R = inside radius of the weakest course of the shell, in
inches,

FS = factor of safety permitted.

2.  Tensile strength.  When the tensile strength of steel
or wrought iron shell plates is not known, it shall be
taken as 55,000 psig psi.

3.  Crushing strength of mild steel.  The resistance to
crushing of mild steel shall be taken at 95,000 psig psi
of cross-sectional area.

4.  Strength of rivets in shear.  When computing the
ultimate strength of rivets in shear, the following values,
in pounds per square inch, of the cross-sectional area of
the rivet shank shall be used.

PSIG PSI

Iron rivets in single shear 38,000
Iron rivets in double shear 76,000



Proposed Regulations

Virginia Register of Regulations

3428

Steel rivets in single shear 44,000
Steel rivets in double shear 88,000

When the diameter of the rivet holes in the longitudinal
joints of a boiler is not known, the diameter and
cross-sectional area of rivets, after driving, may be
selected from Table 1, or as ascertained by cutting out
one rivet in the body of the joint.

TABLE 1
SIZES OF RIVETS BASED ON PLATE THICKNESS

(in inches)

Plate of Thickness Rivet Diameter after Driving

1/4 11/16
9/32 11/16
5/16 3/4
11/32 3/4
3/8 13/16
13/32 13/16
7/16 15/16
15/32 15/16
1/2 15/16
9/16 1-1/16
5/8 1-1/16

5.  Factors of safety.  The following factors of safety
shall be increased by the inspector if the condition and
safety of the boiler demand it:

a.  The lowest factor of safety permissible on existing
installations shall be 4.5, except for.
Horizontal-return-tubular boilers having continuous
longitudinal lap seams more than 12 feet in length,
when the shall have a factor of safety shall be of eight.
When this type of boiler is removed from its existing
setting, it shall not be reinstalled for pressures in
excess of 15 psig.

b.  Reinstalled or secondhand boilers shall have a
minimum factor of safety of six when the longitudinal
seams are of lap-riveted construction, and a minimum
factor of safety of five when the longitudinal seams
are of butt-strap and double-strap construction.

D.  Cast-iron headers and mud drums.  The maximum
allowable working pressure on a water tube boiler, the tubes
of which are secured to cast iron or malleable-iron headers,
or which have cast iron mud drums, shall not exceed 160
psig.

E.  Pressure on cast iron boilers.  The maximum allowable
working pressure for any cast iron boiler, except hot water
boilers, shall be 15 psig.

F.  Safety valves.

1.  The use of weighted-lever safety valves, or safety
valves having either the seat or disk of cast iron, shall
be prohibited.  Valves of this type shall be replaced by
direct, spring-loaded, pop-type valves that conform to
the requirements of the ASME Code, Section I.

2.  Each boiler shall have at least one safety valve, and
if it has more than 500 square feet of water-heating
surface, or an electric power input of more than 500
kilowatts, it shall have two or more safety valves.

3.  The valve or valves shall be connected to the boiler,
independent of any other steam connection, and
attached as close as possible to the boiler, without
unnecessary intervening pipe or fittings.  Where
alteration is required to conform to this requirement, the
chief inspector shall allow the owner or user reasonable
time in which to complete the work.

4.  No valves of any description shall be placed between
the safety valve and the boiler nor on the escape pipe, if
used, between the safety valve and the atmosphere,
except as provided by applicable sections of the ASME
Code.  When an escape pipe is used, it shall be at least
full size of the safety-valve discharge and fitted with an
open drain to prevent water lodging in the upper part of
the safety valve or escape pipe.  When an elbow is
placed on a safety valve escape pipe, it shall be located
close to the safety-valve outlet or the escape pipe shall
be anchored and supported securely.  All safety valve
discharges shall be located or piped as not to endanger
persons working in the area.

5.  The safety-valve capacity of each boiler shall be so
that the safety valve or valves will discharge all the
steam that can be generated by the boiler without
allowing the pressure to rise more than 6.0% above the
highest pressure to which any valve is set, and in no
case to more than 6.0% above the maximum allowable
working pressure.

6.  One or more safety valves on every boiler shall be
set at or below the maximum allowable working
pressure.  The remaining valves may be set within a
range of 3.0% above the maximum allowable working
pressure, but the range of setting of all the safety valves
on a boiler shall not exceed 10% of the highest pressure
to which any valve is set.

7.  When two or more boilers, operating at different
pressures and safety valve settings, are interconnected,
the lower pressure boilers or interconnected piping shall
be equipped with safety valves of sufficient capacity to
prevent overpressure, considering the maximum
generating capacity of all boilers.

8.  In those cases where the boiler is supplied with
feedwater directly from water mains without the use of
feeding apparatus (not to include return traps), no safety
valve shall be set at a pressure higher than 94% of the
lowest pressure obtained in the supply main feeding the
boiler.

9.  The relieving capacity of the safety valves on any
boiler shall be checked by one of the three following
methods and, if found to be insufficient, additional
valves shall be provided:

a.  By making an accumulation test, which consists of
shutting off all other steam-discharge outlets from the
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boiler and forcing the fires to the maximum.  The
safety-valve capacity shall be sufficient to prevent a
rise of pressure in excess of 6.0% of the maximum
allowable working pressure.  This method shall not be
used on a boiler with a superheater or reheater.

b.  By measuring the maximum amount of fuel that
can be burned and computing the corresponding
evaporative capacity (steam-generating capacity)
upon the basis of the heating value of this fuel.  These
computations shall be made as outlined in the
appendix of the ASME Code, Section I;

c.  By measuring the maximum amount of feedwater
that can be evaporated.

When either of the methods (b or c) outlined in this
section, is employed the sum of the safety-valve
capacities shall be equal to or greater than the
maximum evaporative capacity (maximum
steam-generating capacity) of the boiler.

10.  The relieving capacity of safety valves for
forced-flow steam generators shall be in accordance
with the requirements of Section I of the ASME Boiler
Code.

11.  Safety valves and safety relief valves requiring
repair shall be replaced with a new valve or repaired by
the original manufacturer, or his its authorized
representative or the holder of a “VR” Stamp.

G.  Boiler feeding.

1.  Each boiler shall have a feed supply which will permit
it to be fed at any time while under pressure.

2.  A boiler having more than 500 square feet of
water-heating surface shall have at least two means of
feeding, one of which shall be an approved feed pump,
or injector.  A source of feed directly from water mains
at a pressure 6.0% greater than the set pressure of the
safety valve with the highest setting may be considered
one of the means.  As provided in the ASME Power
Boiler Code, Section I, boilers fired by gaseous, liquid or
solid fuel in suspension may be equipped with a single
means of feeding water provided means are furnished
for the immediate shutoff of heat input if the water feed
is interrupted.

3.  The feedwater shall be introduced into the boiler in a
manner so that it will not be discharged close to riveted
joints of shell or furnace sheets, or directly against
surfaces exposed to products of combustion, or to direct
radiation from the fire.

4.  The feed piping to the boiler shall be provided with a
check valve near the boiler and a valve or cock between
the check valve and the boiler.  When two or more
boilers are fed from a common source, there shall also
be a valve on the branch to each boiler between the
check valve and source of supply.  Whenever a globe
valve is used on feed piping, the inlet shall be under the
disk of the valve.

5.  In all cases where returns are fed back to the boiler
by gravity, there shall be a check valve and stop valve in
each return line, the stop valve to be placed between the
boiler and the check valve, and both shall be located as
close to the boiler as is practicable.  No stop valves shall
be placed in the supply and return pipe connections of a
single boiler installation.

6.  Where deaerating heaters are not employed, the
temperature of the feedwater shall not be less than
120°F to avoid the possibility of setting up localized
stress.  Where deaerating heaters are employed, the
minimum feedwater temperature shall not be less than
215°F so that dissolved gases may be thoroughly
released.

H.  Water level indicators.

1.  Each boiler shall have at least one water gauge glass
installed and located so that the lowest visible part of the
water glass shall be at least two inches above the lowest
permissible water level, at which level there will be no
danger of overheating any part of the boiler when in
operation at that level; except as provided by the ASME
Code.

2.  No outlet connections (except for damper regulator,
feedwater regulator, low-water fuel cutout, drain, steam
gauges, or such apparatus that does not permit the
escape of an appreciable amount of steam or water
from it) shall be placed on the piping that connects the
water column to the boiler.  The water column shall be
provided with a valved drain of at least ¾ inch pipe size;
the drain is to be piped to a safe location.

3.  Except as provided in the ASME code, each boiler
shall have three or more gauge cocks located within the
visible length of the water glass, except when the boiler
has two water glasses located on the same horizontal
lines.  Boilers not over 36 inches in diameter, in which
the heating surface does not exceed 100 square feet,
need have but two gauge cocks.

4. 3.  When the direct reading of gauge glass water level
is not readily visible to the operator in his working area
dependable indirect indications shall be provided
utilizing remote level indicators or equipment to transmit
the gauge glass image.  When remote level indication is
provided for the operator instead of the gauge glass, the
same minimum level reference shall be clearly marked.

I.  Steam gauges.

1.  Each steam boiler shall have a steam gauge, with
dial range not less than 1½ times the maximum
allowable working pressure, connected to the steam
space or to the steam connection to the water column.
The steam gauge shall be connected to a siphon or
equivalent device of sufficient capacity to keep the
gauge tube filled with water and so arranged so that the
gauge cannot be shut off from the boiler except by a
cock placed near the gauge and provided with a tee or
lever handle arranged to with a tee or lever handle
placed in the pipe near the gauge.  The handle of the
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cock shall be parallel to the pipe in which it is located
when the cock is open.

2.  When a steam gauge connection longer than eight
feet becomes necessary, a shutoff valve may be used
near the boiler provided the valve is of the
outside-screw-and-yoke type and is locked open.  The
line shall be of ample size with provision for free
blowing.

3.  Each boiler shall be provided with a test gauge
connection and suitable valving which connects to the
steam space of each boiler for the exclusive purpose of
attaching a test gauge when the boiler is in service so
that the accuracy of the boiler steam gauge may be
ascertained while the boiler is in operation.

J.  Stop valves.

1.  Except for a single-boiler, prime-mover installation,
each steam outlet from a boiler (except safety valve and
water column connections) shall be fitted with a stop
valve located as close as practicable to the boiler.

2.  In a single-boiler, prime-mover installation the steam
stop valve may be omitted provided the prime-mover
throttle valve is equipped with an indicator to show
whether the valve is open or closed and is designed to
withstand the required hydrostatic pressure test of the
boiler.

3.  When a stop valve is so located that water can
accumulate, ample drains shall be provided.  The
drainage shall be piped to a safe location and shall not
be discharged on the top of the boiler or its setting.

4.  When boilers provided with manholes are connected
to a common steam main, the steam connection from
each boiler shall be fitted with two stop valves having an
ample free-blow drain between them.  The discharge of
the drain shall be visible to the operator and shall be
piped clear of the boiler setting.  The stop valves shall
consist preferably of one automatic nonreturn valve (set
next to the boiler) and a second valve of the
outside-screw-and-yoke type.

K.  Blowoff connection.

1.  The construction of the setting around each blowoff
pipe shall permit free expansion and contraction.
Careful attention shall be given to the problem of sealing
these setting openings without restricting the movement
of the blowoff piping.

2.  All blowoff piping, when exposed to furnace heat,
shall be protected by firebrick or other heat-resisting
material constructed so that the piping may be inspected
readily.

3.  Each boiler shall have a blowoff pipe, fitted with a
valve or cock, in direct connection with the lowest water
space.  Cocks shall be of the gland or guard type and
suitable for the pressure allowed.  The use of globe
valves shall not be permitted.  Where the maximum
allowable working pressure exceeds 100 psig, each

blowoff pipe shall be provided with two valves or a valve
and cock; however only one valve need be provided for
forced-flow steam generators with no fixed steam and
waterline; high-temperature water boilers and those
used for traction or portable purposes with less than 100
gallons normal water content.

4.  Blowoff piping shall comply with the requirements of
the ASME Code, Section I, and ANSI B31.1, from the
boiler to the valve or valves, and shall be run full size
without use of reducers or bushings.  All piping shall be
steel;.  Galvanized steel pipe and fittings shall not be
used for blowoff piping.

5.  All fittings between the boiler and blowoff valve shall
be of steel.  In case of renewal of blowoff pipe or fittings,
they shall be installed in accordance with this chapter for
new installations of the ASME Code.

L.  Repairs and renewals of boiler fittings and appliances.
Whenever repairs are made to fittings or appliances or it
becomes necessary to replace them, such repairs or
replacements shall comply with the requirements of the
ASME code for new installations.

M.  Each automatically fired steam boiler or system of
commonly connected steam boilers shall have at least one
steam pressure control device that will shut off the fuel
supply to each boiler or system of commonly connected
boilers when the steam pressure reaches a preset maximum
operating pressure. In addition, each individual automatically
fired steam boiler shall have a high steam pressure limit
control that will prevent generation of steam pressure in
excess of the maximum allowable working pressure.

M. N.  Conditions not covered by this chapter.  All cases
not specifically covered by this chapter shall be treated as
new installations pursuant to Part II, 16 VAC 25-50-280 of
this chapter or may be referred to the chief inspector for
instructions concerning the requirements.

16 VAC 25-50-370.  Heating boilers.

A.  Standard boilers.  The maximum allowable working
pressure of standard boilers shall in no case exceed the
pressure indicated by the manufacturer's identification
stamped or cast on the boiler or on a plate secured to it.

B.  Nonstandard riveted boilers.  The maximum allowable
working pressure on the shell of a nonstandard riveted
heating boiler shall be determined in accordance with Part
III, 16 VAC 25-50-360, subsection C covering existing
installations, power boilers, except that in no case shall the
maximum allowable working pressure of a steam heating
boiler exceed 15 psig, or a hot water boiler exceed 160 psig
or 250°F temperature.

C.  Nonstandard welded boilers.  The maximum allowable
working pressure of a nonstandard steel or wrought iron
heating boiler of welded construction shall not exceed 15
psig for steam.  For other than steam service, the maximum
allowable working pressure shall be calculated in accordance
with Section IV of the ASME Code.
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D.  Nonstandard cast iron boilers.

1.  The maximum allowable working pressure of a
nonstandard boiler composed principally of cast iron
shall not exceed 15 psig for steam service or 30 psig for
hot-water service.

2.  The maximum allowable working pressure of a
nonstandard boiler having cast iron shell or heads and
steel or wrought iron tubes shall not exceed 15 psig for
steam service or 30 psig for hot water service.

E.  Safety valves.

1.  Each steam boiler must have one or more officially
rated (ASME stamped and National Board rated) safety
valves of the spring pop type adjusted to discharge at a
pressure not to exceed 15 psig.  Seals may shall be
attached in a manner to prevent the valve from being
taken apart without breaking the seal.  The safety valves
shall be arranged so that they cannot be reset to relieve
at a higher pressure than the maximum allowable
working pressure of the boiler.  A body drain connection
below seat level shall be provided by the manufacturer
and this drain shall not be plugged during or after field
installation.  For valves exceeding two inch pipe size, the
drain hole or holes shall be tapped not less than d inch
pipe size.  For valves less than two inches, the drain
hole shall not be less than ¼ inch in diameter.

2.  No safety valve for a steam boiler shall be smaller
than ¾ inch unless the boiler and radiating surfaces
consist of a self-contained unit.  No safety valve shall be
larger than 4½ inches.  The inlet opening shall have an
inside diameter equal to, or greater than, the seat
diameter.

3.  The minimum relieving capacity of the valve or
valves shall be governed by the capacity marking on the
boiler.

4.  The minimum valve capacity in pounds per hour
shall be the greater of that determined by dividing the
maximum BTU output at the boiler nozzle obtained by
the firing of any fuel for which the unit is installed by
1,000; or shall be determined on the basis of the pounds
of steam generated per hour per square foot of boiler
heating surface as given in Table 2.  When operating
conditions require a greater relieving capacity shall be
provided.  In every case, the requirements of subsection
E subdivision 5 of this section subsection shall be met.

TABLE 2
Minimum Pounds of Steam Per Hour Per Square Foot of

Heating Surface

Fire Tube
Boilers

Water Tube
Boilers

Boiler Heating Surface:

Hand fired 5 6
Stoker fired 7 8
Oil, gas, or pulverized fuel
fired

8 10

Waterwall heating surface:

Hand fired 8 8
Stoker fired 10 12
Oil, gas, or pulverized fuel
fired

14 16

NOTES:

When a boiler is fired only by a gas giving a heat
value of not in excess of 200 BTU per cubic foot, the
minimum safety valve or safety relief valve relieving
capacity may be based on the value given for
handfired boilers above.

The minimum safety valve or safety relief valve
relieving capacity for electric boilers shall be 3½
pounds per hour per kilowatt input.

For heating surface determination see ASME Code,
Section IV.

5.  The safety valve capacity for each steam boiler shall
be so such that with the fuel burning equipment
operating at maximum capacity, the pressure cannot
rise more than five psig above the maximum allowable
working pressure.

6.  When operating conditions are changed, or
additional boiler surface is installed, the valve capacity
shall be increased, if necessary, to meet the new
conditions and be in accordance with subsection E,
subdivisions 4 and 5 of this section subsection.  The
When additional valves are required, on account of
changed conditions, they may be installed on the outlet
piping provided there is no intervening valve.

7.  If there is any doubt as to the capacity of the safety
valve, an accumulation test shall be run (see ASME
Code, Section VI, Care of Heating Boilers).

8.  No valve of any description shall be placed between
the safety valve and the boiler, nor on the discharge pipe
between the safety valve and the atmosphere.  The
discharge pipe shall be at least full size and be fitted
with an open drain to prevent water lodging in the upper
part of the safety valve or in the discharge pipe.  When
an elbow is placed on the safety valve discharge pipe, it
shall be located close to the safety valve outlet or the
discharge pipe shall be securely anchored and
supported.  All safety valve discharges shall be so
located or piped as not to endanger persons working in
the area.

F.  Safety relief valve requirements for hot water boilers.

1.  Each hot water boiler shall have one or more
officially rated (ASME stamped and National Board
rated) safety relief valves set to relieve at or below the
maximum allowable working pressure of the boiler.
Safety relief valves officially rated as to capacity shall
have pop action when tested by steam.  When more
than one safety relief valve is used on hot water boilers,
the additional valve or valves shall be officially rated and
shall be set within a range not to exceed six psig above
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the maximum allowable working pressure of the boiler
up to and including 60 psig and 5.0% for those having a
maximum allowable working pressure exceeding 60
psig.  Safety relief valves shall be spring loaded.  Safety
relief valves shall be so arranged that they cannot be
reset at a higher pressure than the maximum permitted
by this paragraph.

2.  No materials liable to fail due to deterioration or
vulcanization when subject to saturated steam
temperature corresponding to capacity test pressure
shall be used for any part.

3.  No safety relief valve shall be smaller than ¾ inch
nor larger than 4½ inches standard pipe size, except
that boilers having a heat input not greater than 15,000
BTU per hour may be equipped with a rated safety relief
valve of ½ inch standard pipe size.  The inlet opening
shall have an inside diameter approximately equal to, or
greater than, the seat diameter.  In no case shall the
minimum opening through any part of the valve be less
than ½ inch diameter or its equivalent area.

4.  The required steam relieving capacity, in pounds per
hour, of the pressure relieving device or devices on a
boiler shall be the greater of that determined by dividing
the maximum output in BTU at the boiler outlet obtained
by the firing of any fuel for which the unit is installed by
1,000, or on the basis of pounds of steam generated per
hour per square foot of boiler heating surface as given in
Table 2.  When necessary a greater relieving capacity of
valves shall be provided.  In every case, the
requirements of subsection F 6 of this section shall be
met.

5.  When operating conditions are changed, or
additional boiler heating surface is installed, the valve
capacity shall be increased, if necessary, to meet the
new conditions and shall be in accordance with
subsection F 6 of this section.  The additional valves
required, on account of changed conditions, may be
installed on the outlet piping provided there is no
intervening valve.

6.  Safety relief valve capacity for each boiler shall be so
that, with the fuel burning equipment installed and
operated at maximum capacity the pressure cannot rise
more than 6 psig above the maximum allowable working
pressure for pressure up to and including 60 psig and
5.0% of maximum allowable working pressures over 60
psig.

7.  If there is any doubt as to the capacity of the safety
relief valve, an accumulation test shall be run (see
ASME Code, Section VI, Care of Heating Boilers).

8.  No valve of any description shall be placed between
the safety relief valve and the boiler, nor on the
discharge pipe between the safety relief valve and the
atmosphere.  The discharge pipe shall be at least full
size and fitted with an open drain to prevent water
lodging in the upper part of the safety relief valve or in
the discharge pipe.  When an elbow is placed on the

safety relief valve discharge pipe, it shall be located
close to the safety relief valve outlet or the discharge
pipe shall be securely anchored and supported.  All
safety relief valve discharges shall be so located or
piped as not to endanger persons working in the area.

G.  Valve replacement and repair.  Safety valves and
safety relief valves requiring repair shall be replaced with a
new valve or repaired by the original manufacturer, or his its
authorized representative, or the holder of a ”VR” Stamp.

H.  Pressure relieving devices.  Boilers and fired storage
water heaters except those exempted by the Act shall be
equipped with pressure relieving devices in accordance with
the requirements of Section IV of the ASME Boiler and
Pressure Vessel Code.

I.  Instruments, fittings and control requirements.
Instruments, fittings and controls for each boiler installation
shall comply with the requirements of the ASME Heating
Boiler Code, Section IV.

J.  Low water fuel cutoff.

1.  Each automatically fired hot water heating boiler with
heat input greater than 400,000 BTU's per hour shall
have an automatic low water fuel cutoff which has been
designed for hot water service, located so as to stop the
fuel supply automatically when the surface of the water
falls to the level established in subsection J subdivision 2
of this section subsection (also see ASME Heating Boiler
Code, Section IV).

2.  As there is no normal waterline to be maintained in a
hot water heating boiler, any location of the low water
fuel cutoff above the lowest safe permissible water level
established by the boiler manufacturer is satisfactory.

3.  A coil type boiler or a water tube boiler with heat
input greater than 400,000 BTU's per hour requiring
forced circulation, to prevent overheating of the coils or
tubes, shall have a flow sensing device installed in the
outlet piping, instead of the low water fuel cutoff required
in subsection J subdivision 1 of this section subsection
to stop the fuel supply automatically when the circulating
flow is interrupted.

K.  Steam gauges.

1.  Each steam boiler shall have a steam gauge
connected to its steam space, its water column, or its
steam connection, by means of a siphon or equivalent
device exterior to the boiler.  The siphon shall be of
sufficient capacity to keep the gauge tube filled with
water and arranged so that the gauge cannot be shut off
from the boiler except by a cock with a tee or lever
handle placed in the pipe near the gauge.  The handle of
the cock shall be parallel to the pipe in which it is
located when the cock is open.

2.  The range of the scale on the dial of a steam boiler
pressure gauge shall be not less than 30 psig nor more
than 60 psig.  The gauge shall be provided with effective
stops for the indicating pointer at the zero point and at
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the maximum pressure point.  The travel of the pointer
from 0 to full scale 30 psig shall be at least three inches.

L.  Pressure or altitude gauges.

1.  Each hot water boiler shall have a pressure or
altitude gauge connected to it or to its flow connection in
a manner so that it cannot be shut off from the boiler
except by a cock with tee or lever handle placed on the
pipe near the gauge.  The handle of the cock shall be
parallel to the pipe in which it is located when the cock is
open.

2.  The range of the scale on the dial of the pressure or
altitude gauge shall be not less than 1½ times nor more
than three times the maximum allowable working
pressure.  The gauge shall be provided with effective
stops for the indicating pointer at the 0 point and at the
maximum pressure point.

3.  Piping or tubing for pressure or altitude gauge
connections shall be of nonferrous metal when smaller
than one inch pipe size.

M.  Thermometers.  Each hot water boiler shall have a
thermometer located and connected so that it shall be easily
readable when observing the water pressure or altitude
gauge.  The thermometer shall be located so that it will at all
times indicate the temperature in degrees Fahrenheit of the
water in the boiler at or near the outlet.

N.  Water gauge glasses.

1.  Each steam boiler shall have one or more water
gauge glasses attached to the water column or boiler by
means of valved fittings.  The lower fitting shall be
provided with a drain valve of the straightaway type with
opening not less than ¼ inch diameter to facilitate
cleaning.  Gauge glass replacement shall be possible
while the boiler is under pressure.

2.  Transparent material, other than glass, may be used
for the water gauge provided that the material has
proved suitable for the pressure, temperature and
corrosive conditions encountered in service.

O.  Stop valves and check valves.

1.  If a boiler can be closed off from the heating system
by closing a steam stop valve, there shall be a check
valve in the condensate return line between the boiler
and the system.

2.  If any part of a heating system can be closed off from
the remainder of the system by closing a steam stop
valve, there shall be a check valve in the condensate
return pipe from that part of the system.

P.  Feedwater connections.

1.  Feedwater, make-up water, or water treatment shall
be introduced into a boiler through the return piping
system or through an independent feedwater connection
which does not discharge against parts of the boiler
exposed to direct radiant heat from the fire.  Feedwater,
make-up, or water treatment shall not be introduced

through openings or connections provided for inspection
or cleaning, safety valve, safety relief valve, surface
blowoff, water column, water gauge glass, pressure
gauge or temperature gauge.

2.  Feedwater piping shall be provided with a check
valve near the boiler and a stop valve or cock between
the check valve and the boiler or return pipe system.

Q.  Return pump.  Each boiler equipped with a condensate
return pump, where practicable, shall be provided with a
water level control arranged to maintain the water level in the
boiler automatically within the range of the gauge glass.

R.  Repairs and renewals of boiler fittings and appliances.
Whenever repairs are made to fittings or appliances, or it
becomes necessary to replace them, the repairs or
replacements shall comply with Section IV of the ASME code
for new construction the requirements for new installations.

S.  Conditions not covered by this chapter.  Any case not
specifically covered by this chapter shall be treated as a new
boiler or pressure vessel installation pursuant to Part II,
16 VAC 25-50-280 of this chapter or may be referred to the
chief inspector for instructions concerning the requirements.

16 VAC 25-50-380.  Pressure vessels.

A.  Maximum allowable working pressure for standard
pressure vessels.  The maximum allowable working pressure
for standard pressure vessels shall be determined in
accordance with the applicable provisions of the edition of
the ASME or API-ASME code under which they were
constructed and stamped.  The maximum allowable working
pressure shall not be increased to a greater pressure than
shown on the manufacturers nameplate stamping and data
report.

B.  Maximum allowable working pressure for nonstandard
pressure vessels

1.  For internal pressure.  The maximum allowable
working pressure on the shell of a nonstandard pressure
vessel shall be determined by the strength of the
weakest course computed from the thickness of the
plate, the tensile strength of the plate, the efficiency of
the longitudinal joint, the inside diameter of the weakest
course and the factor set by this chapter.

TStE
RFS = maximum allowable working pressure, psig psi

where:

TS = ultimate tensile strength of shell plate, psig psi.
When the tensile strength of the steel plate is not
known, it shall be taken as 55,000 psig psi for
temperatures not exceeding 700°F.

t = minimum thickness of shell plate of weakest
course, inches,

E = efficiency of longitudinal joint depending upon
construction.  Use the following values:

For riveted joints - calculated riveted efficiency;
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For fusion-welded joints:

PERCENT

Single lap weld 40%
Double lap weld 50%
Single butt weld 60%
Double butt weld 70%
Forge weld 70%
Brazed steel 80%

R = inside radius of weakest course of shell, inches,
provided the thickness does not exceed 10% of the
radius.  If the thickness is over 10% of the radius, the
outer radius shall be used.

FS = factor of safety allowed by this chapter.

2.  For external pressure.  The maximum allowable
working pressure for cylindrical nonstandard pressure
vessels subjected to external or collapsing pressure
shall be determined by the rules in Section VIII, Division
1, of the ASME Code.

3.  Factors of safety.  The minimum factor of safety shall
in no case be less than four for existing installations.
The factor of safety may be increased when deemed
necessary by the inspector to insure the operation of the
vessel within safe limits.  The condition of the vessel
and the particular service of which it is subject will be
the determining factors.

4.  The maximum allowable working pressure permitted
for formed heads under pressure shall be determined by
using the appropriate formulas from Section VIII,
Division 1, ASME Code and the tensile strength and
factors of safety given in this section, subsection B,
subdivisions 1 and 3 of this subsection.

C.  Inspection of inaccessible parts.  Where in the opinion
of the inspector, as the result of conditions disclosed at the
time of inspection, it is advisable to remove the interior or
exterior lining, covering, or brickwork to expose certain parts
of the vessel not normally visible, the owner or user shall
remove the materials to permit proper inspection and to
establish construction details.  Metal thickness shall be
determined utilizing appropriate equipment including drilling
if necessary.

D.  Pressure relief devices.  Pressure relief devices for
each pressure vessel installation, not exempt by the Act,
shall comply with the requirements of ASME Pressure Vessel
Code, Section VIII.

E.  Safety appliances.

1.  Each pressure vessel shall be protected by safety
and relief valves and indicating and controlling devices
which will insure its safe operation.  These valves and
devices shall be constructed, located and installed so
that they cannot readily be rendered inoperative.  The
relieving capacity of the safety valves shall prevent a
rise of pressure in the vessel of more than 10% above
the maximum allowable working pressure, taking into
account the effect of static head.  Safety valve

discharges shall be located or piped so as not to
endanger persons working in the area.

2.  Safety valves and safety relief valves requiring repair
shall be replaced with a new valve or repairs shall be
performed in accordance with the National Board
Inspection Code by the original manufacturer, or his its
authorized representative, or the holder of a “VR” stamp.

F.  Repairs and renewals of fittings and appliances.
Whenever repairs are made to fittings or appliances, or it
becomes necessary to replace them, the repairs or
replacements shall comply with the ASME code
requirements for new installations.

G.  Conditions not covered by this chapter.  All cases not
specifically covered by this chapter shall be treated as new
installations or may be referred to the chief inspector for
instructions concerning the requirements.

16 VAC 25-50-390.  Inspection of boilers and pressure
vessels.

All boilers and pressure vessels, not exempt by the Act,
shall be inspected internally and externally, as provided by
this chapter, by an authorized a special inspector.  The
owner or user shall prepare each boiler or pressure vessel
for the inspection and for appropriate pressure tests,
whenever necessary.  To prepare equipment for an internal
inspection the following actions shall be taken as applicable:

1.  Boilers

a.  Cool the boiler, furnace and setting sufficiently to
prevent damage to any part;

b.  Drain and wash thoroughly internal parts to be
inspected and adequately ventilate all interior
surfaces;

c.  Remove manhole and handhole plates, wash out
openings, drains and inspection plugs;

d.  Remove a sufficient number of grates of internally
fired boilers, as required by the inspector;

e.  Remove brickwork, refractory and insulation, as
required by the inspector, to determine condition of
boiler, headers, tubes, furnace, structural supports,
and other parts;

f.  Prevent leakage of water, steam or vapors into
boiler interiors that would endanger personnel;

g.  Before opening the manhole or handhole covers
and entering any parts of the steam-generating unit
connected to a common header with other boilers, the
nonreturn and steam stop valves must be closed,
locked out and drain valves or cocks between the two
valves opened.  The feed and check valves must be
closed, locked out and drain valves or cocks located
between the two valves opened.  After draining the
boiler, the blowoff valves shall be closed and locked
out.  Blowoff lines, where practicable, shall be
disconnected between pressure parts and valves.  All
drains and vent lines shall be opened; and
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h.  Prepare the pressure gauge for testing; and

i.  Comply with confined space rules.

2.  Pressure vessels

a.  Remove manhole and handhole plates, cleaning
and inspection plugs;

b.  Clean internal surfaces and adequately ventilate all
interior spaces;

c.  Isolate the unit to the extent that internal
temperature, pressure and environment are not
injurious to personnel and are under strict control
during complete inspection;

d.  Remove linings or coverings, as required by the
inspector, to determine true physical condition of the
vessel and its components;

e.  Make protective and regulating controls readily
accessible for inspection; and

f.  Prepare the pressure gauges for testing; and

g.  Comply with confined space rules.

16 VAC 25-50-430.  Hydrostatic pressure tests.

A.  A hydrostatic pressure test, when applied to boilers or
pressure vessels, shall not exceed 1½ times the maximum
allowable working pressure, except as provided by the ASME
Code.  The pressure shall be under proper control so that in
no case shall the required test pressure be exceeded by
more than 2.0%.

B.  See Part III, 16 VAC 25-50-360 A 4, for temperature
limitations on particular power boiler installations.

C.  When a hydrostatic test is to be applied to existing
installations, the pressure shall be as follows:

1.  For all cases involving the question of tightness, the
pressure shall be equal to the working 80% of the
maximum allowable working pressure or operating
pressure, whichever is greater.

2.  For all cases involving the question of safety, the
pressure shall be equal to 1½ times the maximum
allowable working pressure for temperature.  During
such test the safety valve or valves shall be removed or
each valve disk shall be held to its seat by means of a
testing clamp and not by screwing down the
compression screw upon the spring.

16 VAC 25-50-440.  Automatic low-water fuel cutoff
and/or water-feeding device.

A.  Each automatically fired and unattended steam or
vapor system boiler shall be equipped with an at least one
automatic low-water fuel cutoff located so as to cut off the
fuel or energy supply automatically when the surface of the
water falls to the lowest safe water line.  Power boilers,
except miniature boilers, shall have two automatic low-water
fuel cutoffs.  If a water-feeding device is installed, it shall be
constructed so that the water inlet valves cannot feed water

into the boiler through the float chamber and located so as to
supply requisite feedwater.  The lowest safe water line
should be not lower than the lowest visible part of the water
glass.

B.  The fuel cutoff or water feeding device shall be
attached directly to a boiler or in the tapped openings
available for attaching a water glass directly to a boiler,
provided the connections are made to the boiler with
nonferrous tees or Y's not less than ½-inch pipe size
between the boiler and the water glass so that the water
glass is attached directly and as close as possible to the
boiler; the run of the tee or Y shall take the water glass
fittings, and the side outlet or branch of the tee or Y shall
take the fuel cutoff or water feeding device.  The ends of all
nipples shall be reamed to full-size diameter.

C.  Fuel cutoffs and water feeding devices embodying a
separate chamber shall have a vertical drain pipe and a
blowoff valve not less than ¾-inch pipe size, located at the
lowest point in the water equalizing pipe connections so that
the chamber and the equalizing pipe can be flushed and the
device tested.

D.  A forced circulation coil or water tube type boiler, with
a heat input greater than 400,000 BTU's per hour shall have
a flow sensing device installed to cut off the fuel supply at a
minimum water circulation flow rate in the boiler.  The boiler
manufacturer's specifications for the safe minimum flow rate,
setting, and location of the flow sensing device shall be
utilized.

16 VAC 25-50-480.  Repairs and alterations.

A.  Prior to any repair, the owner or user shall notify the
Chief Boiler Inspector or a special inspector with the
appropriate endorsement for direction or advice, or both,
regarding the method and extent of repair.

B.  Repairs to boilers and pressure vessels shall be done
in accordance with the National Board Inspection Code by
holders of an “R” Certificate of Authorization.  The completed
repairs shall be reviewed by and found acceptable to the
inspector or the same inspection agency who authorized the
repair.

C.  Alterations to boilers and pressure vessels shall be
performed by an organization holding an appropriate ASME
or "R" Certificate of Authorization and shall be in accordance
with the National Board Inspection Code.

D.  All repairs and alterations shall be reported on Form
R-1, Report of Welded Repair or Alteration.  The completed
form including proper certification shall be forwarded to the
chief inspector by the organization performing the repair or
alteration.

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE

1992 1995 Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, ASME Code,
American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

National Board Bylaws, National Board of Boiler and
Pressure Vessel Inspectors, 1989 August 8, 1996.
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ANSI/NB 23, 1995 National Board Inspection Code, with
addenda dated 3/13/96, 1/16/97, and 4/27/98, National
Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors, 1992.

POWER BOILER CODE, American Society of Mechanical
Engineers.

ANSI ASME B31.1, ASME Code for Pressure Piping,
American National Standards Institute, 1992 1995.

ASME B31.1a-1995, Power Piping, American National
Standards Institute, issued 4/8/96.

Heating Boiler Code, ASME.

NFPA 85C, Standards for the Prevention of Furnace
Explosions/Implosions in Multiple Burner Boiler-Furnaces,
1991 Edition, National Fire Protection Association No. 85,
1991.

American Gas Association, Underwriters Laboratories,
ANSI/ASME CSD-1, Controls and Safety Devices for
Automatically Fired Boilers, 1992, American Society of
Mechanical Engineers.

"Boiler Blowoff Equipment," National Board of Boiler and
Pressure Vessel Inspectors, Rules and Recommendations
for the Design and Construction of Boiler Blowoff Systems,
1991.

API-ASME Code API510, Pressure Vessel Inspection Code,
Maintenance Inspection, Rating, Repair and Alteration, Sixth
Edition, June, 1989, American Petroleum Institute.

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-232; Filed July 14, 1998, 2:53 p.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 18.  PROFESSIONAL AND

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 50-30-10 et seq.  Tradesman
Rules and Regulations (amending 18 VAC 50-30-10,
18 VAC 50-30-20, 18 VAC 50-30-30, 18 VAC 50-30-40,
18 VAC 50-30-50, 18 VAC 50-30-60, 18 VAC 50-30-70,
18 VAC 50-30-80, 18 VAC 50-30-90, 18 VAC 50-30-100,
18 VAC 50-30-120, 18 VAC 50-30-130, 18 VAC 50-30-140,
18 VAC 50-30-150, 18 VAC 50-30-170, 18 VAC 50-30-190
and 18 VAC 50-30-200).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 and Article 3
(§ 54.1-1128 et seq.) of Chapter 11 of Title 54.1 of the Code
of Virginia.

Public Hearing Dates:
August 18, 1998 - 7 p.m. (Richmond)
August 20, 1998 - 7 p.m. (Roanoke)

Public comments may be submitted through
(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia provides the
Board for Contractors with the authority to amend its
regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process
Act (§ 9-6.14:1 et seq.) to effectively administer the
regulatory programs delegated to the board.

Section 54.1-1102 requires the board to promulgate
regulations for the certification and recertification of backflow
prevention device workers.

Purpose:  The purpose of this revision is to include in the
Board for Contractors Tradesman Regulations provisions for
the statewide voluntary certification of backflow prevention
device workers.  Amendments adding this certification to
§§ 54.1-1128 through 54.1-1135 of the Code of Virginia in
the 1996 and 1997 General Assembly sessions became
effective on July 1, 1998.  Protection of water quality for the
safety and health of the citizens of the Commonwealth has
been mandated for the Virginia Department of Health since
1916.  Health department regulations and the Virginia
Uniform Statewide Building Code require the installation of a
backflow prevention device at the connection point of any
public water system with a nonpotable water supply.  Local
regulations require the inspection of all backflow prevention
devices on a periodic basis, usually annually.  The
responsibility for the certification of the inspectors will be
shared by the Health Department, the localities and the
Board for Contractors.

Substance:  The proposed revisions add the new category of
backflow prevention device worker to the tradesman program
as a voluntary certification.  The current certifying programs
by the water purveyors of the Virginia cities, counties and
towns will remain in effect, and the cards issued by those
jurisdictions may be exchanged for a new statewide card.
The fee for this exchange will be very low and this will make
it less expensive for the firms who work in more than one
area of the state.

Issues:  The proposed changes to the existing regulations
define key terms, establish entry requirements, set the
renewal and reinstatement procedures, and delineate the
standards of practice for backflow prevention device workers.
The advantages of a voluntary statewide program are that
the workers will not have to pay for testing and renewal in
each jurisdiction, smaller jurisdictions will not have to incur
the expense of establishing training programs of their own,
and citizens will benefit from the workers receiving uniform
training.  There are no known disadvantages to the agency
or to the public.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13
(94).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
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entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property.  The
analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic effects.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  The proposed
regulation amends current regulations governing licensure of
tradesman in Virginia to incorporate language providing for a
voluntary, statewide certification program for backflow
prevention device workers.

Estimated economic impact.  This proposal to initiate a
voluntary, statewide certification program for backflow
prevention device workers is permissive and, as such,
imposes no costs on the tradesmen who have the option of
not applying for statewide certification.  Those tradesmen
wishing statewide certification as a supplement or
replacement for a local certification may choose to satisfy
the requirements of this regulation and receive the voluntary
certification of professional qualifications.  It is reasonable to
presume that anyone applying for statewide certification
would believe that the benefits of certification would outweigh
the costs.  Since the program is supported by fees, no costs
are imposed on the taxpayer or any other parties.

The benefits from this proposed change arise from
tradesmen being able to practice in different areas without
applying for certification in each jurisdiction separately.
Since certification is voluntary, it is expected that this
program will result in a net economic benefit to Virginia.  The
magnitude of this benefit is small but may be of significant
value to many of the approximately 2,500 tradesmen who
may seek certification.

Businesses and entities particularly affected.  The proposed
regulation particularly affects the approximately 2,500
backflow prevention device worker certification holders, and
the general public.

Localities particularly affected.  No localities are particularly
affected by this proposed regulation.

Projected impact on employment.  It is possible that there
could be a small increase in the number of people qualified
to work on backflow prevention devices, but any such
change should be quite small.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  The
proposed regulation is not anticipated to have a significant
effect on the use and value of private property.

Summary of analysis.  The proposed regulation amends
current regulations governing licensure of tradesman in
Virginia to incorporate language providing for a voluntary,
statewide certification program for backflow prevention
device workers.  The primary economic consequence of this
proposed program would be to enable such workers to
practice in different areas of the Commonwealth without
having to apply for certification in each jurisdiction
separately, thereby resulting in a small net economic benefit
to Virginia.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Department of

Professional and Occupational Regulation has reviewed the
economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of
Planning and Budget and has no objections.

Summary:

The proposed amendments add backflow prevention
device workers to the trades regulated by the
Tradesman Program.  The voluntary, statewide
certification program for backflow prevention device
workers mandated by the General Assembly will enable
such workers to practice in different areas of the
Commonwealth without having to apply for certification in
each jurisdiction separately.  Except for fees for the new
program, there are no changes in the current fee
structure of the Tradesman Program.  Some editorial
changes are also made.

18 VAC 50-30-10.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter,
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Affidavit" means a written statement of facts, made
voluntarily, and confirmed by the oath or affirmation of the
party making it, taken before a notary or other person having
the authority to administer such oath or affirmation.

"Apprentice" means a person who assists tradesmen while
gaining knowledge of the trade through on-the-job training
and related instruction in accordance with the Virginia
Voluntary Apprenticeship Act (§ 40.1-117 et seq.  of the
Code of Virginia).

"Approved" means approved by the Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation.

“Backflow prevention device testing” means performing
functional procedures to ascertain that the device is still
providing the necessary backflow protection in accordance
with the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code.

“Backflow prevention device work” consists of and is limited
to the following:  (i) maintenance; (ii) repair; (iii) testing; or (iv)
periodic inspection of cross connection control devices,
including but not limited to reduced pressure principle
backflow preventors, double check-valve assemblies, double-
detector check-valve assemblies, pressure type vacuum
breaker assemblies, and other such devices designed,
installed, and maintained in such a manner so as to prevent
the contamination of the potable water supply by the
introduction of nonpotable liquids, solids, or gases, thus
ensuring that the potable water supply remains unaltered and
free from impurities, odor, discoloration, bacteria, and other
contaminants which would make the potable water supply
unfit or unsafe for consumption and use.

“Backflow prevention device worker” means any individual
who engages in, or offers to engage in, the maintenance,
repair, testing or periodic inspection of cross connection
control devices.

"Board" means the Board for Contractors.
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"Building official/inspector" is an employee of the state, a
local building department or other political subdivision who
enforces the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code.

"Department" means the Department of Professional and
Occupational Regulation.

"Division" means a limited subcategory within any of the
trades, as approved by the department.

"Electrical work" consists of, but is not limited to the
following:  (i) planning and layout of details for installation or
modifications of electrical apparatus and controls including
preparation of sketches showing location of wiring and
equipment; (ii) measuring, cutting, bending, threading,
assembling and installing electrical conduits; (iii) performing
maintenance on electrical systems and apparatus; (iv)
observation of installed systems or apparatus to detect
hazards and need for adjustments, relocation or
replacement; and (v) repairing faulty systems or apparatus.

"Electrician" means a tradesman who does electrical work
including the construction, repair, maintenance, alteration or
removal of electrical systems in accordance with the
National Electrical Code and the Virginia Uniform Statewide
Building Code.

"Formal vocational training" means courses in the trade
administered at an accredited educational facility; or formal
training, approved by the department, conducted by trade
associations, businesses, military, correspondence schools
or other similar training organizations.

"Gasfitter" means a tradesman who does gasfitting related
work usually as a division within the HVAC or plumbing
trades in accordance with the Virginia Uniform Statewide
Building Code.  This work includes the installation, repair,
improvement or removal of gas piping, propane tanks, and
appliances annexed to real property.

"Helper" or "laborer" means a person who assists a
licensed tradesman.

"HVAC tradesman" means an individual whose work
includes the installation, alteration, repair or maintenance of
heating systems, ventilating systems, cooling systems,
steam and hot water heating systems, boilers, process
piping, and mechanical refrigeration systems, including
tanks, incidental to the system.

"Journeyman" means a person who possesses the
necessary ability, proficiency and qualification to install,
repair and maintain specific types of materials and
equipment, utilizing a working knowledge sufficient to comply
with the pertinent provisions of the Virginia Uniform
Statewide Building Code and according to plans and
specifications.

"Licensed tradesman" means an individual who meets the
requirements for licensure that relate to the trade which he
practices.

“Maintenance” means the reconstruction or renewal of any
part of a backflow device for the purpose of maintaining its

proper operation.  This does not include the actions of
removing, replacing or installing, except for winterization.

"Master" means a person who possesses the necessary
ability, proficiency and qualifications to plan and lay out the
details for installation and supervise the work of installing,
repairing and maintaining specific types of materials and
equipment utilizing a working knowledge sufficient to comply
with the pertinent provisions of the Virginia Uniform
Statewide Building Code.

"Nonparticipating localities" means those cities, towns and
counties in Virginia that did not participate in the Department
of Housing and Community Development's Tradesman
Certification Program prior to July 1, 1995.

"Participating localities" means those cities, towns and
counties in Virginia that participated in the Department of
Housing and Community Development's Tradesman
Certification Program prior to July 1, 1995, by reviewing
applications, examining candidates, and issuing journeyman
and master cards to qualified tradesmen.

“Periodic inspection” means to examine a cross connection
control device in accordance with the requirements of the
locality to be sure that the device is in place and functioning
in accordance with the standards of the Virginia Uniform
Statewide Building Code.

"Plumber" means a tradesman who does plumbing work in
accordance with the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building
Code.

"Plumbing work" means work that includes the installation,
maintenance, extension, or alteration or removal of piping,
fixtures, appliances, and appurtenances in connection with
any of the following:

1.  Backflow prevention devices;

2.  Boilers;

3.  Domestic sprinklers;

4.  Hot water baseboard heating systems;

5.  Hydronic heating systems;

6.  Process piping;

7.  Public/private water supply systems within or
adjacent to any building, structure or conveyance;

8.  Sanitary or storm drainage facilities;

9.  Steam heating systems;

10.  Storage tanks incidental to the installation of related
systems;

11.  Venting systems; or

12.  Water heaters.

These plumbing tradesmen may also install, maintain,
extend or alter the following:

1.  Liquid waste systems;
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2.  Sewerage systems;

3.  Storm water systems; and

4.  Water supply systems.

"Reinstatement" means having a tradesman license or
backflow prevention device worker certification card restored
to effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.

"Regulant" means tradesman license or backflow
prevention device certification card holder.

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a
tradesman license or a backflow prevention device worker
certification card for another period of time.

“Repair” means the reconstruction or renewal of any part
of a backflow prevention device for the purpose of returning
to service a currently installed device.  This does not include
the removal or replacement of a defective device by the
installation of a rebuilt or new device.

"Supervisor" means the licensed master or journeyman
tradesman who has the responsibility to ensure that the final
installation is in accordance with the applicable provisions of
the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code, one of whom
must be on the job site at all times during installation.

"Testing organization" means an independent testing
organization whose main function is to develop and
administer examinations.

"Trade" means any of the following:  plumbing; heating,
ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC); or electrical work,
and divisions within them.

"Tradesman" means a person who engages in or offers to
engage in, for the general public for compensation, any of
the trades covered by this chapter.

"Water distribution systems" include fire sprinkler systems,
highway/heavy, HVAC, lawn irrigation systems, plumbing, or
water purveyor work.

18 VAC 50-30-20.  Requirements for licensure as a
journeyman or master tradesman engaging in the trades
of plumbing, plumbing gas-fitting HVAC (heating,
ventilation and air conditioning), HVAC gas-fitting, or
electrical or certification as a backflow prevention device
worker.

Each tradesman individual who engages in, or offers to
engage in, electrical, plumbing, or HVAC or backflow
prevention device work for the general public for
compensation shall complete an application furnished by the
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
and shall meet or exceed the requirements set forth below in
this section prior to issuance of the license or certification
card.  The application shall contain the applicant's name,
home address, place of employment, and business address;
information on the knowledge, skills, abilities and education
or training of the applicant; and an affidavit stating that the
information on the application is correct.

The applicant shall be required to take an oral or written
examination to determine his general knowledge of the trade
in which he desires licensure or certification.  If the applicant
successfully completes the examination, a tradesman an
application furnished by the department shall be completed.
The application shall contain the applicant's name, home
address, place of employment, and business address;
information on the knowledge, skills, abilities and education or
training of the applicant; and an affidavit stating that the
information on the application is correct.  If the application is
satisfactory to the board, a tradesman license or certification
card shall be issued.

18 VAC 50-30-30.  General qualifications for licensure or
certification.

Every applicant to the Board for Contractors for licensure
as a tradesman or certification as a backflow prevention
device worker shall meet the requirements and have the
qualifications provided in this section.

1.  The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.

2.  Unless otherwise exempted, the applicant shall meet
the current educational requirements by passing all
required courses prior to the time the applicant sits for
the examination and applies for licensure or certification.

3.  Unless exempted, the applicant shall have passed
the applicable written examination provided by the board
or by a testing service acting on behalf of the board.

4.  The applicant shall meet the experience requirements
as set forth in 18 VAC 50-30-40 or 18 VAC 50-30-50.

5.  In those instances where the applicant is required to
take the license or certification examination, the
applicant shall follow all rules established by the board
with regard to conduct at the examination.  Such rules
shall include any written instructions communicated
prior to the examination date and any instructions
communicated at the site, either written or oral, on the
date of the examination.  Failure to comply with all rules
established by the board and the testing service with
regard to conduct at the examination shall be grounds
for denial of application.

6.  The applicant shall disclose his physical home
address; a post office box alone is not acceptable.

7.  Each nonresident applicant for a tradesman license
or certification card shall file and maintain with the
department an irrevocable consent for the department to
serve as service agent for all actions filed in any court in
this Commonwealth.  In those instances where service
is required, the director of the department will mail the
court document to the individual at the address of
record.

8.  The applicant shall sign, as part of the application,
an affidavit certifying that the applicant has read and
understands the Virginia Tradesman tradesmen law ,
Article 3 (§ 5.1-1128 et seq.  54.1-1128 et seq.) of
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Chapter 11 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia) and the
regulations of the board.

9.  The board may make further inquiries and
investigations with respect to the qualifications of the
applicant or require a personal interview with the
applicant.  Failure of an applicant to comply with a
written request from the board for additional evidence or
information within 60 days of receiving such notice,
except in such instances where the board has
determined ineligibility for a clearly specified period of
time, may be sufficient and just cause for disapproving
the application.

10.  In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of
Virginia, each applicant shall disclose a conviction, in
any jurisdiction, of any misdemeanor or felony.  Any
plea of "nolo contendere" shall be considered a
conviction for the purpose of this subdivision.  The
record of conviction received from a court shall be
accepted as "prima facie" evidence of a conviction or
finding of guilt.  The board, at is discretion, may deny
licensure or certification to any applicant in accordance
with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia.

11.  The applicant shall report any suspensions,
revocations, or surrendering of certificate/license in
connection with a disciplinary action or which has been
the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction prior to
applying for licensure or certification in Virginia.  The
board, at its discretion, may deny licensure or
certification to any applicant based on prior suspensions,
revocations, or surrender of certifications/licenses based
on disciplinary action by any jurisdiction.

18 VAC 50-30-40.  Evidence of ability and proficiency.

A.  Applicants for examination to be licensed as a
journeyman shall furnish evidence that one of the following
experience and education standards has been attained:

1.  Four years of practical experience in the trade, and
240 hours of formal vocational training in the trade;
however,.  Experience in excess of four years may be
substituted for formal vocational training at a ratio of
one year of experience for 80 hours of formal training,
but not to exceed 200 hours;

2.  An associate degree or a certificate of completion
from at least a two-year program in a tradesman related
field from an accredited community college or technical
school as evidenced by a transcript from the educational
institution and two years of practical experience in the
trade for which licensure is desired;

3.  A bachelor degree received from an accredited
college or university in an engineering curriculum related
to the trade and one year of practical experience in the
trade for which licensure is desired; or

4.  On or after July 1, 1995, an applicant with 10 years
of practical experience in the trade as verified by
reference letters of experience from any of the following:
building officials, building inspectors, current or former

employers, contractors, engineers, architects or current
or past clients attesting to the applicant's work in the
trade, may be granted permission to sit for the
journeyman's level examination without having to meet
the educational requirements.

B.  Applicants for examination to be licensed as a master
shall furnish evidence that one of the following experience
standards has been attained:

1.  Evidence that they have one year of experience as a
certified licensed journeyman; or

2.  On or after July 1, 1995, an applicant with 10 years
of practical experience in the trade, as verified by
reference letters of experience from any of the following:
building officials, building inspectors, current or former
employees, contractors, engineers, architects or current
or past clients, attesting to the applicant's work in the
trade, may be granted permission to sit for the master's
level examination without having to meet the educational
requirements.

C.  Individuals who have successfully passed the Class A
contractors trade examination prior to January 1, 1991,
administered by the Virginia Board for Contractors in a
certified trade shall be deemed qualified as a master in that
trade in accordance with this chapter.

D.  Applicants for examination to be certified as a backflow
prevention device worker shall furnish evidence that the
following experience and education standards have been
attained:

1.  Four years of practical experience in water
distribution systems and 40 hours of formal vocational
training in a school approved by the board; or

2. Applicants with seven or more years of experience
may qualify with 16 hours of formal vocational training in
an approved school.

The board accepts the American Society of Sanitary
Engineers' (ASSE) standards for testing procedures.  Other
programs could be approved after board review.  The board
requires all training to include instruction in a wet lab.

18 VAC 50-30-50.  Exemptions from examination.

A.  An individual certified or licensed by any one of the
following agencies shall not be required to fulfill the
examination requirement:

1.  The Department of Housing and Community
Development prior to July 1, 1995; or

2.  Any local governing body prior to July 1, 1978; or

3.  Any Virginia locality backflow prevention device
worker certification issued prior to July 1, 1998.

B.  Other methods of exemption from examination are as
follows:

1.  Successful completion of an apprenticeship program
which is approved by the Virginia Apprenticeship
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Council as evidenced by providing a certificate of
completion or other official document.

2.  Any tradesman who had a Class B registration in the
trade prior to January 1, 1991, and has been
continuously licensed as a Class B contractor.
Candidates for this exemption must submit
documentation from the Board for Contractors.

3.  Individuals residing in nonparticipating localities
applying for masters tradesman licenses between July
1, 1995, and July 1, 1998, shall be deemed to have
fulfilled the examination requirement if they are able to
demonstrate 10 years of discipline-free experience as
set forth in this chapter.  Those individuals shall provide
the following information with their application:

a.  An affidavit from a building official or building
inspector attesting to the required number of years of
experience and competency in the trade, on a form
provided by the department; and

b.  Three reference letters of experience from any of
the following:  building officials, building inspectors,
current or former employers, contractors, engineers,
architects or current or past clients, on a form
provided by the department.

4.  Individuals residing in nonparticipating localities
applying for journeyman tradesman licensure between
July 1, 1995, and July 1, 1998, shall be deemed to have
fulfilled the examination requirement if they are able to
demonstrate six years of discipline-free experience as
set forth in this chapter.  Those individuals shall provide
the following information with their application:

a.  An affidavit from a building official or building
inspector attesting to the required number of years of
experience and competency in the trade, on a form
provided by the department; and

b.  Three reference letters of experience from any of
the following:  building officials, building inspectors,
current or former employers, contractors, engineers,
architects or current or past clients, on a form
provided by the department.

5.  Individuals residing in nonparticipating localities
applying for masters tradesman license between July 1,
1995, and July 1, 1998, who are currently employed by
a Class A or B contractor as the "Qualified Individual"
(QI) in the licensed classification held by the firm, shall
qualify for licensure as a master without having to sit for
the examination.  Upon the QI's leaving the employment
of that firm, the contractor shall name another full-time
QI in accordance with the then current Board for
Contractor regulations (18 VAC 15-22-10 et seq.).

6.  Individuals applying for masters or journeyman
tradesman license between July 1, 1995, and July 1,
1998, who were certified prior to July 1, 1995, by any
locality as a "gas-fitter" only, shall qualify for licensure
without having to sit for the examination.

3.  Individuals applying for certification as backflow
prevention device workers between July 1, 1998, and
July 1, 1999, shall be deemed to have fulfilled the
examination requirements if they are able to
demonstrate the required years of discipline-free
experience and education or training set forth in 18 VAC
50-30-40 D.  These individuals shall provide the following
with their application:

a.  An affidavit from a building official, building
inspector or Virginia water purveyor attesting to at
least seven years of experience and competency in
the field on a form provided by the department; and

b.  A certificate or other documentation that an
appropriate course of instruction at an approved
school has been successfully completed.

C.  Exemptions from licensure are as follows:

1.  Helpers or laborers who assist licensed tradesmen;

2.  Any person who performs plumbing, plumbing
gas-fitting, HVAC, HVAC gas-fitting, or electrical work
not for the general public for compensation;

3.  Any person who installs television or telephone
cables, lightning arrestor systems, or wiring or
equipment operating at less than 50 volts;

4.  Installers of wood stove equipment, masonry
chimneys or prefabricated fireplaces shall be exempt
from certification as a HVAC tradesman; and

5.  Any person who is performing work on any ship,
boat, barge or other floating vessel.

18 VAC 50-30-60.  Application and issuance of
tradesman licenses or backflow prevention device
worker certifications.

A.  All applicants for licensure as a tradesman or
certification as a backflow prevention device worker must
make application with the department to obtain the required
tradesman license or backflow prevention device worker
certification.

B.  Unless otherwise exempted, an applicant must
successfully complete an examination to be issued a
tradesman license or backflow prevention device worker
certification and deemed qualified.

C.  The board shall receive and review applications and
forward approved applications to the national testing
organizations designated by the board.  At its discretion, the
board may delegate the application receipt and review
process to the testing organization.

D.  The applicant shall present to the board evidence of
successful completion of a board approved board-approved
examination.

18 VAC 50-30-70.  Other recognized programs.

Individuals certified or licensed as journeyman or master
by governing bodies located outside the Commonwealth of
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Virginia shall be considered to be in compliance with this
chapter if the board or its designee has determined the
certifying system to be substantially equivalent to the Virginia
system.  These individuals must meet the following
requirements:

1.  The applicant shall be at least 18 years of age.

2.  The applicant shall have received the tradesman
certification or license by virtue of having passed in the
jurisdiction of original certification or licensing a written
or oral examination deemed to be substantially
equivalent to the Virginia examination.

3.  The applicant shall sign, as part of the application,
an affidavit certifying that the applicant has read and
understands the Virginia Tradesman tradesmen laws
(§ 54.1-1127 54.1-1128 et seq. ) of Chapter 11 of Title
54.1 of the Code of Virginia) and the Board for
Contractors' Tradesman Regulations (18 VAC 50-30-10
et seq.) this chapter.

4.  The applicant shall be in good standing as a certified
or licensed tradesman in every jurisdiction where
certified or licensed, and the applicant shall not have
had a certificate as a tradesman which was suspended,
revoked, or surrendered in connection with a disciplinary
action or which has been the subject of discipline in any
jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure in Virginia.

5.  The applicant shall not have been convicted in any
jurisdiction of a misdemeanor involving lying, cheating,
stealing, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical
injury, or any felony.  Any plea of nolo contendere shall
be considered a conviction for purposes of this
paragraph subdivision.  The record of a conviction
authenticated in such form as to be admissible in
evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where
convicted shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of
such conviction.

6.  Applicants for licensure who do not meet the
requirements set forth in subdivisions 4 and 5 of this
subsection section may be approved for licensure
following consideration by the board.

7.  Individuals certified or licensed by governing bodies
other than the Commonwealth of Virginia may sit for the
same level of tradesman examination by completing the
required application and providing a copy of a currently
valid journeyman or master license or certification.

8.  Individuals certified or licensed as backflow
prevention device workers by governing bodies located
outside the Commonwealth of Virginia may sit for the
Virginia backflow prevention device worker examination
upon presentation of a currently valid certificate or card
from such jurisdictions with their completed examination
application and fee.  Upon successful completion of this
examination, the applicant will be provided with the
proper application for certification as a backflow
prevention device worker in the Commonwealth of
Virginia.

18 VAC 50-30-80.  Revocation of licensure or
certification.

A.  Licensure or certification may be revoked for
misrepresentation or a fraudulent application, or for
incompetence as demonstrated by an egregious or repeated
violation of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code.

B.  Any building official or, building inspector or water
purveyor who finds that an individual is practicing as a
tradesman without a tradesman license as required by state
law or as a backflow prevention device worker without a
backflow prevention device certification card if such a card is
required by the locality shall file a report on a form provided
by the board to such effect with the Board for Contractors,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia 23230.

C.  Any building official or, building inspector or water
purveyor who has reason to believe that a tradesman or a
backflow prevention device worker is performing
incompetently as demonstrated by an egregious or repeated
violation of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code
shall file a report on a form provided by the board to such
effect with the board.

D.  The department shall have the power to require
remedial education and to suspend, revoke or deny renewal
of the tradesman license or the backflow prevention device
worker certification card of any individual who is found to be
in violation of the statutes or regulations governing the
practice of licensed tradesmen in the Commonwealth.

18 VAC 50-30-90.  Fees for licensure, certification and
examination.

A.  Each check or money order shall be made payable to
the Treasurer of Virginia.  All fees required by the board are
nonrefundable and the date of receipt by the department or
its agent is the date which will be used to determine whether
or not it is on time.  Fees remain active for a period of one
year from the date of receipt and all applications must be
completed within that time frame.

B.  In the event that a check, money draft or similar
instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or
regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution
named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit
fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus the additional
processing charge of $25.

B. C.  Tradesman license - original fee - by examination.
The fee for an initial tradesman license shall be $45.

C. D.  Tradesman license - original fee - without an
examination, through successful completion of an
appropriate apprenticeship program offered through the
Virginia Voluntary Apprenticeship Act.  The fee for an initial
tradesman license shall be $45.

D.  Tradesman license - original fee - through the
"grandfather" clause of § 54.1-1131 of the Code of Virginia.
The fee for an initial tradesman license shall be $50.

E.  Commencing July 1, 1995, the Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation will institute a
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program of issuing tradesmen's cards.  Those tradesmen
who hold valid tradesmen cards issued by local governing
bodies prior to July 1, 1978, or by the Department of
Housing and Community Development prior to July 1, 1995,
must replace the old cards with new cards issued by the
Board for Contractors.

In order to obtain the tradesman card issued by the Board
for Contractors, the individual must use the current
application form provided by the Department of Professional
and Occupational Regulation.  The fee for card exchange
application and processing is $10.  As a matter of
administrative necessity, the department will assign
expiration dates in a manner that will stagger renewals for
these applicants.  Once the initial period ends, all renewals
will be for a period of 24 months.

F.  Commencing (insert effective date), the Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation will institute a
voluntary program of issuing backflow prevention device
worker certification cards.  Those individuals who hold valid
backflow prevention device worker certifications issued by
local governing bodies or the Virginia Department of Health
prior to that date may replace those cards with new cards
issued by the board.

In order to obtain the backflow prevention device worker
certification card issued by the board, the individual must use
the current application form provided by the department.  The
fee for the card exchange application and processing is $10.
The term of certification will be for a period of 24 months.

G.  Backflow prevention device worker certification through
the "grandfather" clause of § 54.1-1131 B 2 of the Code of
Virginia.  The fee for an initial certification shall be $45.

18 VAC 50-30-100.  Fees for examinations.

The examination fee shall consist of the administration
expenses of the department resulting from the board's
examination procedures and contract charges.  Exam service
contracts shall be established through competitive
negotiation, in compliance with the Virginia Public
Procurement Act (§ 11-35 et seq.  of the Code of Virginia).
The current examination shall not exceed a cost of $100 for
the journeyman exam and, $125 for the master exam for any
of the trades, or $100 for the backflow prevention device
worker exam.

18 VAC 50-30-120.  Renewal.

A.  A Tradesman license licenses or backflow prevention
device worker certification cards issued under this chapter
shall expire two years from the last day of the month in
which it was they were issued as indicated on the tradesman
license or the backflow prevention device worker certification
card.

B.  The application fee for renewal of a tradesman license
is $25.  The fee for renewal of a backflow prevention device
worker certification card is $25.  All fees required by the
board are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated.

The board will mail a renewal notice to the regulant
outlining procedures for renewal.  Failure to receive this
notice, however, shall not relieve the regulant of the
obligation to renew.  If the regulant fails to receive the
renewal notice, a photocopy of the tradesman license or
backflow prevention device worker certification card may be
submitted with the required fee as an application for renewal
within 30 days of the expiration date.

The date on which the renewal fee is received by the
department or its agent will determine whether the regulant is
eligible for renewal or required to apply for reinstatement.

The board may deny renewal of a tradesman license or a
backflow prevention device worker certification card for the
same reasons as it may refuse initial issuance or to
discipline a regulant.  The regulant has a right to appeal any
such action by the board under the Virginia Administrative
Process Act (§ 9-6.14:4.1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty,
reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent
order or final order shall result in delaying or withholding
services provided by the department such as, but not limited
to, renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application,
or exam administration.

18 VAC 50-30-130.  Reinstatement.

A.  Should the Department of Professional and
Occupational Regulation fail to receive the renewal
application or fees within 30 days of the expiration date, the
regulant will be required to reinstate apply for reinstatement
of the tradesman license or backflow prevention device
worker certification card.

B.  The application fee for reinstatement of a tradesman
license (all designations) is $50 (this is in addition to the $25
renewal fee which makes the total fee for reinstatement $75).
The reinstatement fee for a backflow prevention device
worker certification card is $50 (this is in addition to the $25
renewal fee which makes the total reinstatement fee $75).
All fees required by the board are nonrefundable and shall
not be prorated.

Applicants for reinstatement shall meet the requirements
of 18 VAC 50-30-30.

The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by the
department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or
its agent will determine whether the license or certification
card is reinstated or a new application is required.

In order to ensure that tradesman license or certification
card holders are qualified to practice as tradesmen or
backflow prevention device workers, no reinstatement will be
permitted once one year from the expiration date has
passed.  After that date the applicant must apply for a new
tradesman license or backflow prevention device worker
certification card and meet the then current entry
requirements.

Any tradesman or backflow prevention device worker
activity conducted subsequent to the expiration of the license
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or the certification card may constitute unlicensed activity
and may be subject to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the
Code of Virginia.

C.  The board may deny reinstatement of a tradesman
license or a backflow prevention device worker certification
card for the same reasons as it may refuse initial issuance or
to discipline a regulant.  The regulant has a right to appeal
any such action by the board under the Virginia
Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:4.1 et seq.  of the Code
of Virginia).

Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty,
reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent
order or final order shall result in delaying or withholding
services provided by the department, such as, but not limited
to, renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application,
or exam administration.

18 VAC 50-30-140.  Status of regulant during the period
prior to reinstatement.

A.  When a regulant is reinstated, the individual shall
continue to have the same number and shall be assigned an
expiration date two years from the previous expiration date.

B.  A regulant who reinstates his tradesman license or
backflow prevention device worker certification card shall be
regarded as having been continuously licensed or certified
without interruption.  Therefore, the regulant shall remain
under the disciplinary authority of the board during this entire
period and may be held accountable for his activities during
this period.  Nothing in these regulations this chapter shall
divest the board of its authority to discipline a regulant for a
violation of the law or regulations during the period of
licensure or certification.

18 VAC 50-30-150.  Changes, additions, or deletions to
trade designations of tradesman license holders.

A regulant may change a designation or obtain additional
designations by demonstrating, on a form provided by the
board, acceptable evidence of experience, and examination if
appropriate, in the designation sought.  The experience, and
successful completion of examinations, must be
demonstrated by meeting the requirements found in Part II
(18 VAC 50-30-20 et seq.) of this chapter.

The fee for each change or addition is $25.  All fees
required by the board are nonrefundable.

While a tradesman regulant may have multiple trade
designations on his license, the renewal date will be based
upon the date the card was originally issued to the individual
by the board, not the date of the most recent trade
designation addition.

If a regulant is seeking to delete a designation, then the
individual must provide a signed statement listing the
designation to be deleted.  There is no fee for the deletion of
a designation.  (If the regulant only has one trade or level
designation, the deletion of that designation will result in the
termination of the license.)

18 VAC 50-30-170.  Transfer of tradesman license or
certification card prohibited.

No tradesman license or certification card issued by the
board shall be assigned or otherwise transferred.

18 VAC 50-30-190.  Prohibited acts.

Any of the following are cause for disciplinary action:

1.  Failure in any material way to comply with provisions
of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-
1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or the
regulations of the board;

2.  Furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete
information to the board in obtaining, renewing,
reinstating, or maintaining a tradesman license or
backflow prevention device worker certification card;

3.  Where the regulant has failed to report to the board,
in writing, the suspension or revocation of a tradesman
license, certificate or card , or backflow prevention
device worker certification card by another state or their
a conviction in a court of competent jurisdiction of a
building code violation;

4.  Gross negligence in the practice of a trade or
backflow prevention device work;

5.  Misconduct in the practice of a trade or backflow
prevention device work;

6.  A finding of improper or dishonest conduct in the
practice of the trade or backflow prevention device work
by a court of competent jurisdiction;

7.  For licensed tradesmen performing jobs under
$1,000, or backflow prevention device workers
performing jobs of any amount, abandonment, or the
intentional and unjustified failure to complete work
contracted for, or the retention or misapplication of
funds paid, for which work is either not performed or
performed only in part (unjustified cessation of work
under the contract for a period of 30 days or more shall
be considered evidence of abandonment);

8.  Making any misrepresentation or making a false
promise of a character likely to influence, persuade, or
induce;

9.  Aiding or abetting an unlicensed contractor to violate
any provision of Chapter 1 or Chapter 11 of Title 54.1 of
the Code of Virginia, or these regulations; or combining
or conspiring with or acting as agent, partner, or
associate for an unlicensed contractor; or allowing one's
license or certification to be used by an unlicensed or
uncertified individual;

10.  Where the regulant has offered, given or promised
anything of value or benefit to any federal, state, or local
government employee for the purpose of influencing that
employee to circumvent, in the performance of his
duties, any federal, state, or local law, regulation, or
ordinance governing the construction industry;
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11.  Where the regulant has been convicted or found
guilty, after initial licensure or certification, regardless of
adjudication, in any jurisdiction of any felony or of a
misdemeanor involving lying, cheating or stealing,
sexual offense, drug distribution, physical injury, or
relating to the practice of the profession, there being no
appeal pending therefrom or the time of appeal having
elapsed.  Any pleas of guilty or nolo contendere shall be
considered a conviction for the purposes of this
subdivision.  The record of a conviction certified or
authenticated in such form as to be admissible in
evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where
convicted shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of
such guilt;

12.  Having failed to inform the board in writing, within
30 days, that the tradesman regulant has pleaded guilty
or nolo contendere or was convicted and found guilty of
any felony or a misdemeanor involving lying, cheating,
stealing, sexual offense, drug distribution, physical
injury, or relating to the practice of the profession;

13.  Having been disciplined by any county, city, town,
or any state or federal governing body for actions
relating to the practice of any trade or backflow
prevention device work, which action shall be reviewed
by the board before it takes any disciplinary action of its
own;

14.  Failure to comply with the Virginia Uniform
Statewide Building Code, as amended; and

15.  Practicing in a classification or specialty service for
which the tradesman is not licensed or certified.

18 VAC 50-30-200.  Professional education.

A.  Pursuant to § 54.1-1130 of the Code of Virginia, unless
certified through exemption, candidates for licensure as
journeymen are required to (i) complete 240 hours
classroom hours of tradesman educational courses in their
specialty and four years of practical experience in the trade
for which licensure is desired to qualify to sit for the licensing
examination, (ii) have an associate degree or a certificate of
completion from at least a two-year program in a tradesman
related trade-related field from an accredited community
college or technical school as evidenced by a transcript from
the educational institution and two years of practical
experience in the trade for which licensure is desired, or (iii)
have a bachelor degree received from an accredited college
or university in an engineering curriculum related to the trade
and one year of practical experience in the trade for which
licensure is desired (see Part II, 18 VAC 50-30-20 et seq., of
this chapter).

Tradesman courses must be completed through
accredited colleges, universities, junior and community
colleges, adult distributive, marketing and vocational
technical programs, Virginia Apprenticeship Council
programs or proprietary schools approved by the Virginia
Department of Education.

B.  Backflow prevention device worker courses must be
completed through schools approved by the board.  The

board accepts the American Society of Sanitary Engineers
(ASSE) standards for testing procedures.  Other programs
could be approved after board review.  The board requires all
training to include instruction in a wet lab.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 50-30-10
et seq., Tradesman Rules and Regulations, are listed below.
Any amended or added forms are reflected in the listing and
are published following the listing.

FORMS

Tradesman License Application, 2710LIC (6/98).

Backflow Prevention Device Worker Certification Application,
2710BPD (6/98).

Backflow Prevention Device Worker Certification Experience
Reference Form, 2710BEXP (6/98).

Complaint Form, (rev. 7/98).
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BOARD OF DENTISTRY

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 60-20-10 et seq.  Virginia
Board of Dentistry Regulations (amending 18 VAC 60-20-
10, 18 VAC 60-20-20, 18 VAC 60-20-30, 18 VAC 60-20-50,
18 VAC 60-20-60, 18 VAC 60-20-70, 18 VAC 60-20-80,
18 VAC 60-20-90, 18 VAC 60-20-110, 18 VAC 60-20-120,
18 VAC 60-20-130, 18 VAC 60-20-140, 18 VAC 60-20-170,
18 VAC 60-20-180, 18 VAC 60-20-190, 18 VAC 60-20-220,
18 VAC 60-20-230, and 18 VAC 60-20-240; adding 18 VAC
60-20-15, 18 VAC 60-20-16, and 18 VAC 60-20-195;
repealing 18 VAC 60-20-150 and 18 VAC 60-20-160).

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 27 (§ 54.1-
2700 et seq.) of title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  September 18, 1998 - 1 p.m.
Public comments may be submitted until October 2,
1998.

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  Chapter 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) and Chapter 27
(§ 54.1-2700 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia provide the
basis for this regulation.

Chapter 24 establishes the general powers and duties of the
health regulatory boards including the power to establish
qualifications for licensure and the responsibility to
promulgate regulations.

Chapter 27 establishes the authority for the Board of
Dentistry to promulgate regulations governing the
qualifications for licensure of dentists and dental hygienists
and the requirements of continuing education for renewal of
licensure.  It further prescribes violations which may subject
the licensee to sanctions by the board, practices which are
permissible in dentistry, and prohibitions against practicing
in a commercial or mercantile establishment or under an
assumed name.

Purpose:  The purpose for the proposed amendments is to
provide greater clarity and understanding of requirements for
dentistry and dental hygiene.  The board also recommends
amending some regulations on practice standards for the
purpose of providing more flexibility in the use of auxiliary
personnel and better protecting the public health and safety.

Substance:

18 VAC 60-20-10.  Proposed amendments eliminate
definitions such as dental hygiene student and dental student
which are no longer necessary and those definitions such as
“examination of patient” which are not used in regulation.

18 VAC 60-20-15.  Requirements for recordkeeping which
are currently in 18 VAC 60-20-150 are simplified and
incorporated in Part I.  An amendment would reduce the
length of time that records must be kept from five to three
years.

18 VAC 60-20-16.  Requirements for notification to the board
of a current address which are currently in 18 VAC 60-20-
150 are simplified and incorporated in Part I.

18 VAC 60-20-20 and 18 VAC 60-20-30.  Amendments are
proposed to simplify and clarify the regulation.

18 VAC 60-20-50.  Proposed amendments allow a licensee
to carry over up to 15 hours of continuing education to the
next year, add the American Dental Assisting Association to
the listing of approved providers, eliminate the mandatory
$1,000 fine per violation for failure to obtain CE, and state
that such failure may subject the licensee to disciplinary
action by the board.

18 VAC 60-20-60.  An amendment is proposed to delete
specification of the accrediting body for educational
programs since it is included in definitions.

18 VAC 60-20-70.  Amendments proposed are clarifying in
nature.

18 VAC 60-20-80.  Amendments are proposed to simplify the
regulation or to delete requirements already stated in the
Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 60-20-110 and 18 VAC 60-20-120.  Amendments
are proposed to clarify the guidelines for control of pain and
anxiety in dentistry are those of the ADA as incorporated by
reference.

18 VAC 60-20-140.  Amendments are proposed to add local
anesthesia and to clarify the requirements for a report of an
adverse reaction.

18 VAC 60-20-150 and 18 VAC 60-20-160 are repealed;
requirements in 18 VAC 60-20-160 are unnecessary and
other requirements are included elsewhere in regulation.

18 VAC 60-20-180.  Amendments are proposed to eliminate
the specific listings of routine dental service and dental
specialties which may be advertised, as they are the
procedures and specialties which are set forth in a listing by
the ADA.

18 VAC 60-20-190.  Proposed amendments update and
clarify the section on duties which may not be delegated.
Duties which are proposed as nondelegable are those
currently performed only by dentists.

18 VAC 60-20-195.  A new section on radiation certification
is a restatement of the current requirement in 18 VAC 60-20-
190 (11).

18 VAC 60-20-220.   Amendments are proposed to clarify
those duties which may be delegated only to a hygienist and
to make it clearly understood that the dentist may delegate
those duties as are appropriate to the training and
experience of the hygienist provided the duties have not been
listed as nondelegable in 18 VAC 60-20-190.

18 VAC 60-20-230.  The specific listing of duties which may
be delegated to dental assistants is eliminated and replaced
by a requirement that an assistant may be delegated those
duties as are appropriate to the training and experience of
the assistant provided the duties have not been listed as
nondelegable in 18 VAC 60-20-190 or restricted to a
hygienist as listed in 18 VAC 60-20-220.

Issues:
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Issue 1:  Simplification and consolidation of regulation.

In compliance with the intention of Executive Order 15 (94),
the board thoroughly reviewed each regulation promulgated
under 18 VAC 60-20-10 et seq. to determine if it was
necessary, clearly stated and effective.  Those regulations
which the board proposes to eliminate or amend are either
redundant, already stated in the Code of Virginia, or are not
necessary to protect the public and comply with statutory
language.  The specific listings of routine dental services and
dental specialties which may be advertised are eliminated
and replaced with a reference to the guidelines of the
American Dental Association.  In some cases, the board
considered reliance on the statutory language but
determined that a regulation was necessary to provide a
clear understanding of the requirements.

Advantages or disadvantages to the licensees:  Licensees of
the board are better served by having regulations which are
more concise and clearly stated.  Replacing the specific
listings in the section on advertising with a reference to the
ADA Code on Dental Procedures and Nomenclature or the
guidelines for specialties approved by the Commission on
Dental Accreditation will facilitate inclusion of new
terminology and updating of current usage without having to
amend regulations.  Regulations such as those setting forth
acts constituting unprofessional conduct and prescribing
requirements for advertising assist the dentist in
understanding the statutory prohibitions.  The board does not
believe there are any disadvantages to the clarifications or
elimination of regulation being proposed.

Advantages or disadvantages to the public:  The public is
better protected by clear requirements for dentists and dental
hygienists, especially in the area of unprofessional conduct
and advertising of dental services, fees and specialties.

Issue 2:  Delegation of duties in the practice of dentistry.

Prior to and throughout the review process, the board has
received numerous questions for clarification and requests
for amendments to its regulations on delegable duties.
Citing the increasing financial pressures of reduced
payments from dental plans and the regulatory environment
in other states, dentists in Virginia have sought further
expansion of the duties of auxiliaries in dental practices.

Consequently, the board has been working on revisions that
would specify the required direction of and responsibility for
auxiliary personnel by licensed dentists, the duties which
may not be delegated, and the duties which may be
delegated only to hygienists.  By clarifying that it is the
responsibility of the dentist to ensure all aspects of the
treatment of the patient and to determine the duties that will
be delegated based on the qualifications of personnel in
accordance with laws and regulations, the board proposes to
make its regulations less burdensome.

Rather than add to regulation by enumerating those duties
which may be delegated to a hygienist or an assistant, the
board recommends listing those duties that are nondelegable
and those which may be delegated only to a hygienist.
Delegation of other duties may then be determined by the

licensed dentist based on the assumption of his ultimate
responsibility for the patient and on the training of auxiliary
personnel.

Advantages or disadvantages to the licensees:  The
elimination of the long listing of duties which may be
delegated to the dental assistant will assist in the use of
auxiliary personnel.  With the exception of those duties
restricted only to dentists and those which may only be
delegated to dental hygienists, duties may be delegated as
determined by the supervising dentist who must determine
the assistant’s level of training and expertise in assuming
certain tasks.

Advantages or disadvantages to the public:  While the board
has sought to be responsive to requests for more expanded
duties for auxiliary personnel, it has a responsibility to ensure
that the public is protected by requiring that procedures are
performed by qualified persons.  As the board developed
proposed amendments to its regulations, it considered the
specific lists and recommendations of dentists who have
commented on regulations.  In recommending amendments
to regulations on delegable duties, public safety took priority
over accessibility and affordability.

Estimated Impact:

Projected number of persons affected and their cost of
compliance:

Dentists 5,186
Dental hygienists 3,028
Dental teacher 7
Dental hygienist teacher 5
Dental faculty 12

There will be no cost for compliance by regulated entities or
their employers, since the requirements are being clarified
rather than changed.  There are no amendments proposed to
fees charged to licensees.

With the reduction from five to three in the number of years
records must be maintained, dentists may experience a very
modest savings in the cost of storing and retaining records in
their offices.  The elimination of the specified listing of duties
which may be performed by a dental assistant may provide
some additional flexibility for dentists in the delegation of
responsibilities and may result in increased use of dental
assistants.

Cost to the agency for implementation:  The board will
incur approximately $1,500 in cost for printing and mailing
final amended regulations to licensees and other interested
parties.  There will be no additional cost for conducting a
public hearing, which will be held in conjunction with
scheduled committee or board meetings.

Cost to local governments:  There will be no impact of
these regulations on local government.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13
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(94).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property.  The
analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  This proposal amends
current regulations that govern the practice of dentistry and
dental hygiene pursuant to Executive Order Fifteen (94),
which called for a comprehensive review of all existing
regulations.  The majority of the proposed changes are
intended to achieve greater clarity and simplification.  The
proposal includes the following:

1.  The deletion of specific listings of duties which may
be delegated to unlicensed dental assistants.  The
proposal now specifies only nondelegable duties and
duties which may only be delegated to dental hygienists,
allowing other acts to be delegated under the direction
and responsibility of the dentist to dental assistants
according to their level of training and experience.

2.  The reduction of number of years that records must
be retained from five to three years.

3.  The elimination of specific listings of routine dental
services and dental specialties which may be advertised,
replacing those with a reference to the guidelines of the
American Dental Association.

4.  A provision that allows licensees to carry over up to
15 hours of continuing education to the next year.

Estimated economic impact.  By listing only nondelegable
duties and duties which may only be delegated to dental
hygienists, the proposed regulation allows greater flexibility
in the use of auxiliary personnel.  While this increased
flexibility is theoretically beneficial, information from
practitioners and other industry personnel suggest that this
change will have very little, if any, impact on actual dental
office operations or the dental assistant profession.

The proposal would require no additional compliance costs
since the requirements are being clarified rather than
fundamentally changed.  On the other hand, dentists may
experience modest savings in the cost of maintaining and
storing records as the number of years records must be
retained is reduced from five to three years.  Replacing
specific advertising guidelines with a reference to the
guidelines of the American Dental Association allows for
continuous updating and better protects customers from
deceptive advertising practices.  Allowing continuing
education hours to be carried over encourages licensees to
seek more in-depth courses which enhance their knowledge
and skills and will allow them to provide higher quality care
to their patients.  While these proposed changes can be

expected to result in a small economic gain, the exact
magnitude would be difficult to measure at this time.

Businesses and entities affected.  There are 5,186 dentists,
3,028 dental hygienists, 24 dental teachers and faculty, and
approximately 5,000 dental assistants who will be directly
affected by the proposed changes to this regulation.

Localities particularly affected.  No localities will be
particularly affected by the proposed changes to this
regulation.

Projected impact on employment.  According to information
from practitioners and industry personnel, the proposed
changes are not expected to have any significant impact on
employment.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  The
proposed regulation is not expected to have any significant
effect on the use and value of private property.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency concurs
with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget.

Summary:

The proposed amendments provide greater clarity and
understanding of requirements for dentistry and dental
hygiene pursuant to recommendations from the
comprehensive review conducted in compliance with
Executive Order 15 (94).  The board recommends
amending the regulations to:  (i) reduce the number of
years records must be retained from five to three years;
(ii) eliminate the specific listings of routine dental service
and dental specialties which may be advertised and
reference those procedures and specialties as set forth
in listings approved by the American Dental Association
to provide for continuous updating and current usage;
and (iii) specify and clarify those duties which are not
delegable to a nondentist and those which may only be
delegated to a dental hygienist.  The amendments
provide that other acts may be delegated under the
direction and responsibility of the dentist to dental
assistants according to their level of training and
experience.

PART I.
GENERAL PROVISIONS.

18 VAC 60-20-10.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter,
shall have the following meanings, unless the content clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Advertising" means a representation or other notice given
to the public or members thereof, directly or indirectly, by a
dentist on behalf of himself, his facility, his partner or
associate, or any dentist affiliated with the dentist or his
facility by any means or method for the purpose of inducing
purchase, sale or use of dental methods, services,
treatments, operations, procedures or products, or to
promote continued or increased use of such dental methods,
treatments, operations, procedures or products.
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"Analgesia" means the diminution or elimination of pain in
the conscious patient.

"Approved schools" means those dental schools, colleges,
departments of universities or colleges, or schools of dental
hygiene currently accredited by the Commission on Dental
Accreditation of the American Dental Association, which is
hereby incorporated by reference.

"Competent instructor" means any person appointed to the
faculty of a dental school, college or department or a
university or a college who holds a license or teacher's
license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in the
Commonwealth.

"Conscious sedation" means a minimally depressed level
of consciousness that retains the patient's ability to
independently and continuously maintain an airway and
respond appropriately to physical stimulation and verbal
commands, produced by a pharmacologic or
nonpharmacologic method, or a combination thereof.

"Dental assistant" means any unlicensed person under the
supervision of a dentist who renders assistance for services
provided to the patient as authorized under this chapter but
shall not include an individual serving in purely a secretarial
or clerical capacity.

"Dental hygiene student" means any person currently
enrolled and attending an approved school or program of
dental hygiene.  No person shall be deemed to be a dental
hygiene student who has not begun the first year of
enrollment in the school; nor a person who is not attending
the regularly scheduled sessions of the school in which he is
enrolled.

"Dental student" means any person currently enrolled and
attending an approved school of dentistry but shall not
include persons enrolled in schools or programs of dental
hygiene.  No person shall be deemed to be a dental student
who has not begun the first year of enrollment in school; nor
a person who is not attending the regularly scheduled
sessions of the school in which he is enrolled.

"Diagnosis" means an opinion of findings in an
examination.

"Direction" means the presence of the dentist for the
evaluation, observation, advice, and control over the
performance of dental services.

"Examination of patient" means a study of all the structures
of the oral cavity, including the recording of the conditions of
all such structures and an appropriate history thereof.  As a
minimum, such study shall include charting of caries,
identification of periodontal disease, occlusal discrepancies,
and the detection of oral lesions.

"General anesthesia" means a controlled state of
unconsciousness accompanied by partial or complete loss of
protective reflexes, including inability to independently
maintain an airway and respond purposefully to physical
stimulation or verbal command, produced by a

pharmacologic or nonpharmacologic method, or combination
thereof.

"Local anesthesia" means the loss of sensation or pain in
the oral cavity or its contiguous structures generally
produced by a topically applied agent or injected agent
without causing the loss of consciousness.

"Monitoring general anesthesia and conscious sedation"
includes the following:  recording and reporting of blood
pressure, pulse, respiration, and other vital signs to the
attending dentist during the conduct of these procedures and
after the dentist has induced a patient and established a
maintenance level.

"Monitoring nitrous oxide oxygen inhalation analgesia"
means making the proper adjustments of nitrous oxide
machines at the request of the dentist during the
administration of the sedation, and observing the patient's
vital signs.

"Nitrous oxide oxygen inhalation analgesia" means the
utilization of nitrous oxide and oxygen to produce a state of
reduced sensibility to pain designating particularly the relief
of pain without the loss of consciousness.

"Radiographs" means intraoral and extraoral x-rays of the
hard and soft oral structures to be used for purposes of
diagnosis.

"Recognized governmental clinic" means any clinic
operated or funded by any agency of state or local
government which provides dental services to the public, the
dental services of which shall be provided by a licensed
dentist or by persons who may be authorized herein to
provide dental services under the direction of a dentist.

18 VAC 60-20-15.  Recordkeeping.

A dentist shall maintain patient records for not less than
three years from the most recent date of service for
purposes of review by the board to include the following:

1.  Patient's name and date of treatment;

2.  Updated health history;

3.  Diagnosis and treatment rendered;

4.  List of drugs prescribed, administered, dispensed and
the quantity;

5.  Radiographs;

6.  Patient financial records;

7.  Name of dentist and dental hygienist providing
service; and

8.  Laboratory work orders which meet the requirements
of § 54.1-2719 of the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 60-20-16.  Address of record.

At all times, each licensed dentist shall provide the board
with a current, primary business address, and each dental
hygienist shall provide a current resident address.  No post
office box numbers are accepted.  All required notices mailed



Proposed Regulations

Volume 14, Issue 23 Monday, August 3, 1998

3455

by the board to any such licensee shall be validly given when
mailed to the latest address given by the licensee.  All
changes of address shall be furnished to the board in writing
within 30 days of such changes.

PART II.
LICENSURE RENEWAL AND FEES.

18 VAC 60-20-20.  License renewal and reinstatement.

The board shall forward a renewal notice to each licensee
at the address of record (18 VAC 60-20-160 B) prior to the
expiration of the license.  Failure to receive such notice shall
not relieve the licensee of the responsibility to renew the
license.

A.  Dental Renewal fees.  Every person licensed to
practice holding an active or inactive license, a teacher’s
license, full-time faculty license or a temporary permit to
practice dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before March
31, renew their his license to practice dentistry and pay an
annual renewal fee of $65 except as otherwise provided in
18 VAC 60-20-30 for dentists and $25 for dental hygienists.

B.  Dental hygiene renewal fees.  Every person licensed to
practice dental hygiene by this board shall, on or before
March 31, renew their license to practice dental hygiene and
pay an annual renewal fee of $25 except as otherwise
provided in 18 VAC 60-20-30.

C. B.  Penalty fees.  Any person who does not return the
completed form and fee by March 31 shall be required to pay
an additional $35 penalty fee.  The board shall renew a
license when if the renewal form is, renewal fee, and penalty
fee are received by the following April 30, along with the
completed form, the annual registration fee, and the penalty
fee.

D. C.  Reinstatement fees and procedures.  The license of
any person who does not return the completed renewal form
and fees by April 30 shall automatically expire and become
invalid and their practice of dentistry/dental hygiene shall be
illegal.  Upon such expiration, the board shall immediately
notify the affected person of the expiration and the
reinstatement procedures.  Any person whose license has
expired who wishes to reinstate such license shall submit to
the board a reinstatement form, the application and fee, the
penalty fee, renewal fee and an assessment of $50 per
month for each month or part of a month the individual has
practiced in Virginia without a valid license.  The executive
director shall reinstate such expired license provided that the
applicant can demonstrate continuing competence, that no
grounds exist pursuant to § 54.1-2706 of the Code of Virginia
and 18 VAC 60-20-170 to deny said reinstatement, and that
the applicant has paid all unpaid renewal fees and
assessments.

E. D.  Reinstatement of a license previously revoked or
indefinitely suspended.  Any person whose license has been
revoked shall submit to the board for its approval a
reinstatement form and an application and fee of $750.  Any
person whose license has been indefinitely suspended shall

submit to the board for its approval a reinstatement form and
an application and fee of $300.

18 VAC 60-20-30.  Other fees.

A.  Dental licensure application fees.  The application fee
for a dental license, a license to teach dentistry, or a
temporary permit as a dentist shall be accompanied by a
check or money order for $220, which includes a $155
application fee and a $65 initial licensure fee.

B.  Dental hygiene licensure application fees.  The
application fee for a dental hygiene license, a license to
teach dental hygiene, or a temporary permit as a dental
hygienist shall be accompanied by a check or money order
for $155, which includes a $130 application fee and a $25
initial licensure fee.

C.  Duplicate wall certificate.  Licensees desiring a
duplicate wall certificate shall submit a request in writing
stating the necessity for such duplicate wall certificate,
accompanied by a fee of $15.  A duplicate certificate may be
issued for any of the following reasons:  replacing certificate
that has been lost, stolen, misplaced, destroyed, or is
otherwise irretrievable; recording the new name of a
registrant whose name has been changed by court order or
by marriage; or for multiple offices.

D.  Duplicate license.  Licensees desiring duplicate license
shall submit a request in writing stating the necessity for
such duplicate license, accompanied by a fee of $10.  A
duplicate license may be issued for any of the following
reasons:  maintaining more than one office (notarized
photocopy may be used); replacing license that has been
lost, stolen, misplaced, destroyed, or is otherwise
irretrievable; and recording the new name of a licensee
whose name has been changed by court order or by
marriage.  If a licensee maintains more than one office, a
notarized photocopy of a license may be used.

E.  Licensure certification.  Licensees requesting
endorsement or certification by this board shall pay a fee of
$25 for each endorsement or certification.

F.  Restricted license.  Restricted license issued in
accordance with § 54.1-2714 of the Code of Virginia shall be
at a fee of $100.

G.  Teacher's license.  License to teach dentistry and
dental hygiene issued in accordance with §§ 54.1-2713 and
54.1-2725 of the Code of Virginia shall be at a fee of $220
and $155, respectively.  The renewal fee shall be $65 and
$25, respectively.

H.  Temporary permit.  Temporary permit for dentists and
dental hygienists issued in accordance with §§ 54.1-2715
and 54.1-2726 of the Code of Virginia shall be at a fee of
$220 and $155, respectively.  The renewal fee shall be $65
and $25, respectively.

I.  Radiology safety G.  Examination.  Each examination
administered in accordance with subdivision 11 of 18 VAC
60-20-190 by the board shall be at a fee of $25.
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J.  Jurisprudence examination.  Each examination
administered by the board outside the scheduled clinical
examination site in accordance with 18 VAC 60-20-70 shall
be at a fee of $25.

K.  Full-time faculty license.  Full-time faculty license for
dentists issued in accordance with § 54.1-2714.1 of the Code
of Virginia, shall be at a fee of $220.  The renewal fee shall
be $65.

L. H.  Endorsement license.  License by endorsement
issued in accordance with 18 VAC 60-20-80 for dental
hygienists shall be at a fee of $200 ($175 application and
$25 initial licensure fee).  The renewal fee shall be $25.

18 VAC 60-20-50.  Requirements for continuing
education (CE).

A.  After April 1, 1995, a dentist or a dental hygienist shall
be required to have completed a minimum of 15 hours and a
dental hygienist shall be required to have completed a
minimum of 15 hours of approved continuing education in a
program for each annual renewal of licensure.  Continuing
education hours in excess of the number required for renewal
may not be transferred or credited to another year for a total
of not more than 15 hours.

B.  An approved continuing dental education program shall
be relevant to the treatment and care of patients and shall
be:

1.  Clinical courses in dentistry and dental hygiene; or

2.  Nonclinical subjects that relate to the skills necessary
to provide dental or dental hygiene services and are
supportive of clinical services (i.e., patient management,
legal and ethical responsibilities, stress management).
Courses not acceptable for the purpose of this
subsection include, but are not limited to, estate
planning, financial planning, investments, and personal
health.

C.  Continuing education credit may be earned for
verifiable attendance at or participation in any courses, to
include audio and video presentations, which meet the
requirements in subdivision B 1 of this section and which are
given by one of the following sponsors:

1.  American Dental Association and National Dental
Association, their constituent and component/branch
associations;

2.  American Dental Hygienists Association and National
Dental Hygienists Association, their constituent and
component/branch associations;

3.  American Dental Assisting Association, its constituent
and component/branch associations;

3. 4. American Dental Association specialty
organizations, their constituent and component/branch
associations;

4. 5.  American Medical Association and National
Medical Association, their specialty organizations,
constituent, and component/branch associations;

5. 6.  Academy of General Dentistry, its constituent and
component/branch associations;

6. 7.  Community colleges with an accredited dental
hygiene program if offered under the auspices of the
dental hygienist program;

7. 8.  A college, university, or hospital service which is
accredited by an accrediting agency approved by the
U.S.  Office of Education;

8. 9.  The American Heart Association, the American
Red Cross and the American Cancer Society;

9. 10.  A medical school which is accredited by the
American Medical Association's Liaison Committee for
Medical Education;

10. 11.  State or federal government agencies (i.e.,
military dental division, Veteran's Administration, etc.);
or

11. 12.  Any other board approved programs.

D.  A licensee is exempt from completing continuing
education requirements and considered in compliance on the
first renewal date following his initial licensure.

E.  The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the
continuing education requirements due to circumstances
beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary
disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared
disasters.

F.  A licensee is required to provide information on
compliance with continuing education requirements in his
annual license renewal.  Following the renewal period, the
board may conduct an audit of licensees to verify
compliance.  Licensees selected for audit must provide
original documents certifying that they have fulfilled their
continuing education requirements by the deadline date as
specified by the board.

G.  All licensees are required to maintain original
documents verifying the date and subject of the program or
activity.  Documentation must be maintained for a period of
four years following renewal.

H.  A licensee who has allowed his license to lapse, or
who has had his license suspended or revoked, must submit
evidence of completion of continuing education equal to the
requirements for the number of years in which his license
has not been active.

I.  Continuing education hours required by disciplinary
order shall not be used to satisfy the continuing education
requirement for license renewal.

J.  Penalty for noncompliance of continuing education for
dentists and dental hygienists is $1,000 per violation.  Failure
to comply with continuing education requirements may
subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board
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PART II III.
ENTRY AND LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS.

18 VAC 60-20-60.  Education.

A.  Dental licensure.  An applicant for dental licensure
shall be a graduate and a holder of a diploma from an
accredited or approved dental school recognized by the
Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental
Association, be of good moral character, and provide proof
that the individual has not committed any act which would
constitute a violation of § 54.1-2706 of the Code of Virginia.

B.  Dental hygiene licensure.  An applicant for dental
hygiene licensure shall have graduated from or be issued a
certificate by an accredited approved school or program of
dental hygiene recognized by the Commission on Dental
Accreditation of the American Dental Association, be of good
moral character, and provide proof that the individual has not
committed any act which would constitute a violation of
§ 54.1-2728 of the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 60-20-70.  Licensure examinations.

A.  Dental examinations.

1.  All applicants shall have successfully completed Part
I and Part II of the examinations of the Joint
Commission on National Dental Examinations prior to
making application to this board.

2.  For the purpose of § 54.1-2709 of the Code of
Virginia, all persons desiring All applicants to practice
dentistry in the Commonwealth of Virginia will be
required to shall satisfactorily pass the complete
board-approved examinations in dentistry as a
precondition for licensure.  Applicants who successfully
completed the board-approved examinations five or
more years prior to the date of receipt of their
applications for licensure by this board may be required
to retake the examinations unless they demonstrate that
they have maintained continuous clinical, ethical and
legal practice since passing the board-approved
examinations.

B.  Dental hygiene examinations.

1.  All applicants are required to successfully complete
the dental hygiene examination of the Joint Commission
on National Dental Examinations prior to making
application to this board for licensure.

2.  For the purpose of § 54.1-2722 of the Code of
Virginia, all persons desiring All applicants to practice
dental hygiene in the Commonwealth of Virginia shall be
required to successfully complete the board-approved
examinations in dental hygiene as a precondition for
licensure, except those persons eligible for licensure
pursuant to § 54.1-103 of the Code of Virginia and
18 VAC 60-20-80.

C.  Applicants who successfully complete the
board-approved examinations five or more years prior to the
date of receipt of their applications for licensure by this board
may be required to retake the board-approved examinations

unless they demonstrate that they have maintained
continuous clinical, ethical, and legal practice since passing
the board-approved examinations.

C. D.  All applicants for dental or dental hygiene licensure
by examination shall be required to pass an examination on
the applicable Virginia dental and dental hygiene laws and
the regulations of this board.

18 VAC 60-20-80.  Licensure by endorsement for dental
hygienists.

An applicant for dental hygiene endorsement licensure
shall:

1.  Be a graduate or be issued a certificate from an
accredited dental hygiene school/program of dental
hygiene recognized by the Commission on Dental
Accreditation of the American Dental Association;

2.  Be currently licensed to practice dental hygiene in
another state, territory, District of Columbia, or
possession of the United States, and have continuous
clinical, ethical, and legal practice for two out of the past
four years immediately preceding application for
licensure.  Active patient care in armed forces dental
corps, state or federal agency, and intern or residency
programs, may substitute for required clinical practice;

3.  Be certified to be in good standing from each state in
which he is currently licensed or has ever held a license;

4.  Have successfully completed a clinical licensing
examination substantially equivalent to that required by
Virginia;

5.  Not have failed the clinical examination accepted by
the board, pursuant to § 54.1-2722 of the Code of
Virginia, within the last five years;

6.  Be of good moral character;

7.  Provide proof of not having Not have committed any
act which would constitute a violation of § 54.1-2706 of
the Code of Virginia;

8.  Successfully complete the dental hygiene
examination of the Joint Commission on National Dental
Examinations prior to making application to this board;
and

9.  Pass an examination on the laws and the regulations
governing the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene in
Virginia.

18 VAC 60-20-90.  Temporary permit, teacher's license,
and full-time faculty license.

A.  A temporary permit shall be issued only for the
purpose of allowing dental and dental hygiene practice as
limited by §§ 54.1-2715 and 54.1-2726 of the Code of
Virginia until the release of grades of the next licensure
examination given in this Commonwealth, after the issuance
of the temporary permit.

B.  A temporary permit will not be renewed unless the
permittee shows that extraordinary circumstances prevented
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the permittee from taking the first examination given
immediately after the issuance of the permit.  Such permit
reissuance shall expire seven days after the release of
grades of the next examination given.

C.  A full-time faculty license shall be issued to any dentist
who meets the entry requirements of § 54.1-2713 of the
Code of Virginia, who is certified by the dean of a dental
school in the Commonwealth and who is serving full time on
the faculty of a dental school or its affiliated clinics
intramurally in the Commonwealth.  A full-time faculty
license shall remain valid only while the license holder is
serving full time on the faculty of a dental school in the
Commonwealth.  When any such license holder ceases to
continue serving full time on the faculty of the dental school
for which the license was issued, the licensee shall surrender
the license, which shall be null and void upon termination of
full-time employment.  The dean of the dental school shall
notify the board within five working days of such termination
of full-time employment.

D.  A temporary permit issued pursuant to § 54.1-2715, a
teacher's license issued pursuant to §§ 54.1-2713, 54.1-2714
and 54.1-2725 and full-time faculty license issued pursuant
to § 54.1-2714.1 of the Code of Virginia may be revoked for
any grounds for which the license of a regularly licensed
dentist or dental hygienist may be revoked and for any act,
acts, or actions indicating the inability of the permittee or
licensee to practice dentistry that is consistent with the
protection of the public health and safety as determined by
the generally accepted standards of dental practice in
Virginia.

E.  Applicants for a full-time faculty license or temporary
permit shall be required to pass an examination on the laws
and the regulations governing the practice of dentistry in
Virginia.

PART III IV.
GENERAL ANESTHESIA AND CONSCIOUS SEDATION.

18 VAC 60-20-110.  Requirements to administer general
anesthesia.

A.  Educational requirements.  A dentist may employ or
use general anesthesia on an outpatient basis by meeting
one of the following educational criteria and by posting the
educational certificate, in plain view of the patient, which
verifies completion of the advanced training as required in
subdivision 1 or 2 of this subsection.  The foregoing shall not
apply nor interfere with requirements for obtaining hospital
staff privileges.

1.  Has completed a minimum of one calendar year of
advanced training in anesthesiology and related
academic subjects beyond the undergraduate dental
school level in a training program in conformity with Part
II of the "Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive
Control of Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry" as currently
published guidelines by the American Dental Association
(Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of
Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry, effective July 1993), which
are incorporated by reference in this chapter; or

2.  Completion of an American Dental Association
approved residency in any dental specialty which
incorporates into its curriculum the standards of
teaching comparable to those set forth in Part II of the
"Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of
Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry" as currently published
guidelines by the American Dental Association
(Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of
Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry, effective July 1993), which
are incorporated by reference in this chapter.

B.  Exemptions.  A dentist who has not meet the
requirements specified in subsection A of this section may
treat patients under general anesthesia in his practice if a
qualified anesthesiologist, or a dentist who fulfills the
requirements specified in subsection A of this section is
present and is responsible for the administration of the
anesthetic.  If a dentist fulfills requirements himself to use
general anesthesia and conscious sedation, he may employ
the services of a certified nurse anesthetist.

18 VAC 60-20-120.  Conscious sedation; intravenous and
intramuscular.

A.  Automatic qualification.  Dentists qualified to
administer general anesthesia may administer conscious
sedation.

B.  Educational requirements.  A dentist may administer
conscious sedation upon completion of training in conformity
with requirements for this treatment modality as according to
guidelines published by the American Dental Association in
the " (Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of
Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry, effective July 1993)," and
incorporated by reference in this chapter, while enrolled at an
approved dental school or while enrolled in a post-doctoral
university or teaching hospital program.

18 VAC 60-20-130.  General information.

A.  Emergency equipment and techniques.  A dentist who
administers general anesthesia and conscious sedation
(excluding nitrous oxide) shall be proficient in handling
emergencies and complications related to pain control
procedures, including the maintenance of respiration and
circulation, immediate establishment of an airway and
cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and shall maintain the
following emergency airway equipment in the dental facility:

1.  Full face mask for children or adults, or both;

2.  Oral and nasopharyngeal airways;

3.  Endotracheal tubes for children or adults, or both,
with appropriate connectors;

4.  A laryngoscope with reserve batteries and bulbs and
appropriately sized laryngoscope blades for children or
adults, or both;

5.  Source of delivery of oxygen under controlled
pressure; and

6.  Mechanical (hand) respiratory bag.
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B.  Posting requirements.  Any dentist who utilizes general
anesthesia or conscious sedation shall post in each facility
the certificate of education required under 18 VAC 60-20-110
A and 18 VAC 60-20-120 B or the self-certification a
certificate issued by the board.

C.  Other.

1.  The team for general anesthesia shall consist of the
operating dentist, a second person to monitor and
observe the patient, and a third person to assist the
operating dentist.

2.  The person in charge of the anesthesia must remain
on the premises of the dental facility until the patient has
regained consciousness and is discharged.

D.  Scope of regulation.  Part III IV (18 VAC 60-20-110 et
seq.) of this chapter shall not apply to administration of
general anesthesia and conscious sedation in hospitals and
surgi-centers.

18 VAC 60-20-140.  Report of adverse reactions.

A written report shall be submitted to the board by the
treating dentist within 30 days following any mortality or
morbidity that occurs in the facility or during the first 24
hours immediately following the patient's departure from the
facility following and which directly resulting results from the
administration of local anesthesia, general anesthesia,
conscious sedation, or nitrous oxide oxygen inhalation
analgesia and which occurs in the facility or during the first
24 hours immediately following the patient's departure from
the facility.

PART IV V.
RECORD KEEPING AND REPORTING UNPROFESSIONAL

CONDUCT.

18 VAC 60-20-150.  Records. (Repealed.)

A.  Laboratory work orders.  Written work order forms and
subwork order forms to employ or engage the services of
any person, firm, or corporation to construct, reproduce, or
repair, extraorally, prosthetic dentures, bridges or other
replacements for a part of a tooth or teeth as required by
§ 54.1-2719 of the Code of Virginia shall include as a
minimum the following information:

1.  Patient name or case number, and date; and

2.  The signature, license number and address of the
dentist.

B.  Patient records.  A dentist shall maintain patient
records for not less than five years from the most recent date
of service for purposes or review by the board to include the
following:

1.  Patient's name and date of treatment;

2.  Updated health history;

3.  Diagnosis and treatment rendered;

4.  List of drugs prescribed, administered, dispensed
and the quantity;

5.  Radiographs;

6.  Patient financial records; and

7.  Name of dentist and dental hygienist providing
service.

18 VAC 60-20-160.  Reporting. (Repealed.)

A.  Dental students as hygienists.  Prior to utilizing the
services of a senior dental student as a dental hygienist as
provided in § 54.1-2712 of the Code of Virginia a dentist
shall supply the board with the name and address of the
student, the school in which the senior student is enrolled,
the hours during which the student is expected to be
employed as a hygienist, the expected period of employment
(June and July, only) and verification that the employing
dentist holds faculty appointment.

B.  Current business addresses.  Each licensee shall
furnish the board at all times with his current primary Virginia
business address (no P.O. Box accepted).  If not practicing
in Virginia, the primary out-of-state business address must
be furnished (no P.O. Box accepted).  Each dental hygienist
shall furnish current resident address (no P.O. Box
accepted).  All notices required by law or by this chapter to
be mailed by the board to any such licensee shall be validly
given when mailed to the latest address given by the
licensee.  All changes of address shall be furnished to the
board in writing within 30 days of such changes.

18 VAC 60-20-170.  Acts constituting unprofessional
conduct.

The following practices shall constitute unprofessional
conduct within the meaning of § 54.1-2706 of the Code of
Virginia:

1.  Fraudulently obtaining, attempting to obtain or
cooperating with others in obtaining payment for
services;

2.  Performing services for a patient under terms or
conditions which are unconscionable.  The board shall
not consider terms unconscionable where there has
been a full and fair disclosure of all terms and where the
patient entered the agreement without fraud or duress;

3.  Misrepresenting to a patient and the public the
materials or methods and techniques the licensee uses
or intends to use;

4.  Committing any act in violation of the Code of
Virginia reasonably related to the practice of dentistry
and dental hygiene;

5.  Delegating any service or operation which requires
the professional competence of a dentist or dental
hygienist to any person who is not a dentist or dental
hygienist except as otherwise authorized by this chapter;

6.  Certifying completion of a dental procedure that has
not actually been completed;

7.  Knowingly or negligently violating any applicable
statute or regulation governing ionizing radiation in the
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Commonwealth of Virginia, including, but not limited to,
current regulations promulgated by the Virginia
Department of Health; and

8.  Permitting or condoning the placement or exposure
of dental x-ray film by an unlicensed person, except
where the unlicensed person has complied with
subdivision 11 of 18 VAC 60-20-190 18 VAC 60-20-195.

18 VAC 60-20-180.  Advertising.

A.  Practice limitation.  A general dentist who limits his
practice shall state in conjunction with his name that he is a
general dentist providing only certain services, i.e.,
orthodontic services.

B.  Fee disclosures.  Any statement specifying a fee for a
dental service which does not include the cost of all related
procedures, services, and products which, to a substantial
likelihood will be necessary for the completion of the
advertised services as it would be understood by an
ordinarily prudent person, shall be deemed to be deceptive
or misleading.  Where reasonable disclosure of all relevant
variables and considerations is made, a statement of a range
of fees for specifically described dental services shall not be
deemed to be deceptive or misleading.

C.  Discounts.  Discount offers for a dental service are
permissible for advertising only when the nondiscounted or
full fee and the final discounted fee are also disclosed in the
advertisement.  The dentist shall maintain documented
evidence to substantiate the discounted fee.

D.  Retention of broadcast advertising.  A prerecorded
copy of all advertisements on radio or television shall be
retained for a six-month period following the final
appearance of the advertisement.  The advertising dentist is
responsible for making prerecorded copies of the
advertisement available to the board within five days
following a request by the board.

E.  Routine dental services.  The purpose of this
subsection is to delineate those routine dental services which
may be advertised pursuant to § 54.1-2706(7) of the Code of
Virginia and subsection F of this section.  The definitions as
set out in 18 VAC 60-20-10 are intended to set forth a
minimum standard as to what constitutes such services for
advertising purposes in order to allow the public to
accurately compare the fees charged for a given service and
to preclude potentially misleading advertisement of fees for a
given service which may be delivered on a superficial or
minimum basis.  Advertising of fees pursuant to subdivision
F 3 of this section is limited to the following routine dental
services:

1.  "Examination." A study of all the structures of the oral
cavity, including the recording of the conditions of all
such structures and an appropriate history thereof.  As a
minimum, such study shall include charting of caries,
identification of periodontal disease, occlusal
discrepancies, and the detection of oral lesions.

2.  "Diagnosis." An opinion of findings in an
examination.

3.  "Treatment planning." A written statement of
treatment recommendations following an examination
and diagnosis.  This statement shall include a written
itemized treatment recommendation and written
itemized fee statement.

4.  "Radiographs." Shall document type and quantity.
(See definitions).

5.  "Complete or partial dentures and crowns." Any
advertisement shall include full disclosure of all related
fees and procedures.

6.  "Prophylaxis." The removal of calculus, accretions,
and stains from exposed surfaces of the teeth and from
the gingival sulcus.

7.  "Simple extractions." A service for the removal of
nonimpacted teeth, including a full disclosure of all
related fees and procedures.

8.  Other procedures which are determined by the board to
be routine dental services are those services as set forth in
the American Dental Association's "Code on Dental
Procedures and Nomenclature," as published in the Journal
of the American Dental Association (JADA), as amended
Current Dental Terminology (Second Edition, 1995-2000),
which is hereby adopted and incorporated by reference.

F.  The following practices shall constitute false, deceptive,
or misleading advertising within the meaning of
§ 54.1-2706(7) of the Code of Virginia:

1.  Publishing an advertisement which contains a
material misrepresentation or omission of facts;

2.  Publishing an advertisement which contains a
representation or implication that is likely to cause an
ordinarily prudent person to misunderstand or be
deceived, or that fails to contain reasonable warnings or
disclaimers necessary to make a representation or
implication not deceptive;

3.  Publishing an advertisement which fails to include
the information and disclaimers required by this section;

4.  Publishing an advertisement which contains a claim
of professional superiority, claims to be a specialist, or
uses any of the terms to designate a dental specialty
such as:  (I) endodontist; (ii) oral or maxillofacial
surgeon; (iii) oral pathologist; (iv) orthodontist; (v)
pediatric dentist; (vi) periodontist; (vii) prosthodontist;
(viii) public health or any derivation of these specialties
unless he is entitled to such specialty designation under
the guidelines or requirements for specialties approved
by the Commission on Dental Accreditation and the
Council on Dental Education of the American Dental
Association in effect on January 1, 1988 (Requirements
for Recognition of Dental Specialties and National
Certifying Boards for Dental Specialists, October 1995),
or such guidelines or requirements as subsequently
amended and approved by the dental disciplinary board,
or other such organization recognized by the board; and
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5.  A dentist not currently entitled to such specialty
designation shall not represent that his practice is
limited to providing services in a specialty area without
clearly disclosing in the representation that he is a
general dentist.  A specialist who represents services in
areas other than his specialty is considered to be
practicing general dentistry.

G.  Signage.  Advertisements, including but not limited to
signage, containing descriptions of the type of dentistry
practiced or a specific geographic locator are permissible so
long as the requirements of §§ 54.1-2718 and 54.1-2720 of
the Code of Virginia are complied with.

PART VI.
DIRECTION AND DELEGATION OF DUTIES.

18 VAC 60-20-190.  Nondelegable duties; dentists.

Nondentists.  The following duties shall not be delegated
to a nondentist Only licensed dentists shall perform the
following duties:

1.  Final diagnosis and treatment planning;

2.  Performing surgical or cutting procedures on hard or
soft tissue;

3.  Prescribing drugs, medicaments and work
authorizations or parenterally administering drugs or
medicaments;

4.  Adjusting fixed or removable appliances or
restorations in the oral cavity Authorization of work
orders for any appliance or prosthetic device or
restoration to be inserted into a patient’s mouth;

5.  Making occlusal adjustments in the oral cavity
Operation of high speed rotary instruments in the mouth;

6.  Performing pulp capping and pulpotomy procedures;

7.  Administering and monitoring local or general
anesthetics, and conscious sedation and administering
nitrous oxide oxygen inhalation analgesia, except as
provided for in § 54.1-2701 of the Code of Virginia and
subdivision 17 of 18 VAC 60-20-230. ;

8.  Administering nitrous oxide or oxygen inhalation
analgesia;

8. 9.  Condensing and carving amalgam restorations,
contouring or adjusting any final, fixed or removable
prosthodontic appliance or restoration in the mouth;

9. 10. Placing and contouring silicate cement and
composite resin restorations Final positioning and
attachment of orthodontic bonds and bands;

10.  Placement and fitting of orthodontic arch wires;

11.  No person, not otherwise licensed by the board,
shall place or expose dental x-ray film unless he has (i)
satisfactorily completed a course or examination
recognized by the Commission on Dental Accreditation
of the American Dental Association, or (ii) been certified
by the American Society of Radiological Technicians,

(iii) satisfactorily completed a course and passed an
examination in compliance with guidelines provided by
the board, or (iv) passed the board's examination in
radiation safety and hygiene followed by on-the-job
training.  Any individual not able to successfully
complete the board's examination after two attempts
may be certified only by completing clause (i), (ii) or (iii)
of this provision.  Any certificate issued pursuant to
satisfying the requirements of this section shall be
posted in plain view of the patient; and

12. 11.  Taking impressions for any working model
except as provided in subdivision 2 of 18 VAC
60-20-220. master casts to be used for prosthetic
restoration of teeth or oral structures;

12.  Final cementation of crowns and bridges; and

13.  Placement of retraction cord.

18 VAC 60-20-195.  Radiation certification.

No person not otherwise licensed by this board shall place
or expose dental x-ray film unless he has (i) satisfactorily
completed a course or examination recognized by the
Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental
Association, (ii) been certified by the American Registry of
Radiologic Technologists, (iii) satisfactorily completed a
course and passed an examination in compliance with
guidelines provided by the board, or (iv) passed the board's
examination in radiation safety and hygiene followed by on-
the-job training. Any individual not able to successfully
complete the board's examination after two attempts may be
certified only by completing (i), (ii) or (iii) of this provision.
Any certificate issued pursuant to satisfying the requirements
of this section shall be posted in plain view of the patient.

PART V.
DIRECTION AND UTILIZATION OF DENTAL HYGIENISTS

AND DENTAL ASSISTANTS.

18 VAC 60-20-220.  Dental hygienists.

The following duties may shall only be delegated to dental
hygienists under direction:

1.  Scaling, and root planing and polishing of natural
and restored teeth using hand instruments, rotary
instruments, prophy-jets and ultrasonic devices.

2.  Taking of working impressions for construction of
athletic and fluoride guards Polishing of natural and
restored teeth using prophy-jets.

3.  Performing an original or clinical examination of teeth
and surrounding tissues including the charting of carious
lesions, periodontal pockets or other abnormal
conditions for assisting the dentist in the diagnosis.

4.  Subgingival irrigation or subgingival application of
Schedule VI medicinal agents in accordance with
§ 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia.

5.  Duties appropriate to the training and experience of
the dental hygienist and the practice of the supervising
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dentist, with the exception of those listed as
nondelegable in 18 VAC 60-20-190.

18 VAC 60-20-230.  Dental hygienists and Delegation to
dental assistants.

Only the following duties may be delegated to dental
hygienists and dental assistants under direction:

1.  Application of Schedule VI topical medicinal agents,
including topical fluoride, or desensitizing agents
(aerosol topical anesthesia excluded);

2.  Acid etching in those instances where the procedure
is reversible;

3.  Application of sealants;

4.  Serving as a chairside assistant aiding the dentist's
treatment by concurrently performing supportive
procedures for the dentist, including drawing up and
compounding medications for administration by the
dentist.  The foregoing shall not prohibit the dentist from
delegating to another licensed health care professional
duties within the scope of their respective practice;

5.  Placing and removing matrixes for restorations;

6.  Placing and removing rubber dam;

7.  Placing and removing periodontal packs;

8.  Polishing natural and restored teeth by means of a
rotary rubber cup or brush and appropriate polishing
agent;

9.  Holding and removing impression material for
working models after placement in the patient's mouth
by the dentist;

10.  Taking nonworking impressions for diagnostic study
models;

11.  Placing of amalgam in prepared cavities with the
carrier to be condensed and carved by the dentist;

12.  Placing and removing elastic orthodontic
separators;

13.  Checking for loose orthodontic bands;

14.  Removing arch wires and ligature ties;

15.  Placing ligatures to tie in orthodontic arch wire that
has been fitted and placed by the dentist;

16.  Selecting and prefitting of orthodontic bands for
cementation by the dentist;

17.  Monitoring of nitrous oxide oxygen inhalation
analgesia;

18.  Placing and exposing dental x-ray film.  (No person
who is not otherwise licensed by the board shall place or
expose dental x-ray film unless the requirements of
subdivision 11 of 18 VAC 60-20-190 have been
fulfilled.);

19.  Removing socket dressings;

20.  Instructing patients in placement and removal of
retainers and appliances after they have been
completely fitted and adjusted in the patient's mouth by
the dentist;

21.  Removing sutures; and

22.  Removing supragingival cement on crowns, bands,
and restorations.

Any procedure not listed above is prohibited.

Duties appropriate to the training and experience of the
dental assistant and the practice of the supervising dentist
may be delegated to a dental assistant under the supervision
and direction required in 18 VAC 60-20-210, with the
exception of those listed as nondelegable in 18 VAC 60-20-
190 and those which may only be delegated to dental
hygienists as listed in 18 VAC 60-20-220.

18 VAC 60-20-240.  What does not constitute practice.

The following are not considered the practice of dental
hygiene and dentistry:

A. 1.  Oral health education and preliminary dental
screenings in any setting are not considered the practice
of dental hygiene and dentistry.

B. 2.  Recording a patient's pulse, blood pressure,
temperature, and medical history.

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE

Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of Pain
and Anxiety in Dentistry (1993), American Dental
Association.

1995 Current Dental Terminology, Second Edition, 1995-
2000, Code on Dental Procedures and Nomenclature,
American Dental Association.

Requirements for Recognition of Dental Specialties and
National Certifying Boards for Dental Specialists, October
1995, American Dental Association.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 60-20-10
et seq., Virginia Board of Dentistry Regulations, are not
being published due to the large number; however, the name
of each form is listed below.  The forms are available for
public inspection at the Board of Dentistry, 6606 West Broad
Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor,
Richmond, Virginia.

FORMS

Training Guidelines:  Part I.  Topical Anesthetics.

Training Guidelines:  Part I.  Professionally Applied Topical
Fluorides.

Training Guidelines:  Part III. Application of Desensitizing
Agents.

Application for Certification to Administer Schedule VI
Topical Medicinal Agents for Dental Assistants.
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Training Form for Administration of Schedule VI Topical
Medicinal Agents for Dental Assistants.

Application for licensure for Dentists, Dental Hygiene by
Examination, Dental Hygiene by Endorsement, Full-Time
Faculty, Temporary Permit, and Teacher’s License.

Outline and Explanation of Documentation Required for
Dental Licensure by Exam, Teacher’s License, Restricted
License, Full Time Faculty License, and Temporary Permit
(rev. 7/98).

Application for Licensure to Practice Dentistry (rev. 3/98).

Form A, Certification of Dental/Dental Hygiene School (rev.
3/98).

Form B, Chronology (rev. 3/98).

Form C, Certification of Dental/Dental Hygiene Boards (rev.
3/98).

Outline and Explanation of Documentation Required for
Dental Hygiene Licensure by Exam, Teacher’s License,
Dental Hygiene by Endorsement, and Dental Hygiene
Temporary Permit (rev. 7/98).

Application for Licensure to Practice Dental Hygiene (rev.
3/98).

Reinstatement Application for Dental/Dental Hygiene (rev.
3/98).

Expiration letter to licensee (rev. 7/98).

Radiology Information for Dental Assistants (rev. 7/97).

Application for Radiology Exam for Dental Assistants (rev.
7/97).

Renewal Notice and Application (rev. 7/97).

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-615; Filed July 15, 1998, 11:11 a.m.

* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 60-20-10 et seq.  Virginia
Board of Dentistry Regulations (amending 18 VAC 60-20-
20 and 18 VAC 60-20-30).

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 27 (§ 54.1-
2700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  September 18, 1998 - 1 p.m.
Public comments may be submitted until October 2,
1998.

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  Chapter 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the
Code of Virginia establishes the general powers and duties
of the health regulatory boards including the power to levy
fees and the responsibility to promulgate regulations.

Section 54.1-113 establishes the mandate for the board to
perform a fiscal analysis and to adjust its fees when the
differential between expenditures and revenue exceeds 10%.

Purpose:  The purpose of these proposed amendments is to
carry out the statutory responsibility of the board "to levy and
collect fees for application processing, examination,
registration, certification or licensure and renewal that are
sufficient to cover all expenses for the administration and
operation of the Department of Health Professions, the
Board of Health Professions and the health regulatory
boards" (§ 54.1-2400 (5) of the Code of Virginia).  If fees are
insufficient to support the operations of the board, it will be
unable to investigate complaints of misconduct and to initiate
disciplinary proceedings against licensees as necessary to
protect the public health, safety and welfare.

Substance:

18 VAC 60-20-20.  Proposed amendments increase fees for
licensees as follows:

Renewal of licensure for dentists are increased from $65 to
$100 and for dental hygienists from $25 to $40.  Fees for
renewal of inactive licenses do not change.

The penalty fee for failure to pay the renewal fee increases
from $35 to $50 for dentists; it remains $35 for dental
hygienists.

An amendment in subsection C is proposed to limit the
amount of penalty fee a licensee would have to pay and to
specify that practice with an expired license may subject the
licensee to disciplinary action and additional fines by the
board.

The fee for reinstatement of a revoked license for a dental
hygienist decreases from $750 to $500.  The reinstatement
fee for a person whose license had been suspended
increases from $300 to $350 for dentists and decreases from
$300 to $250 for dental hygienists.

18 VAC 60-20-30.  The application fee for a dental license
increases from $220 to $225.  The fee for dental hygiene
licensure increases from $155 to $160.  Licensure by
endorsement for dental hygienists increases from $200 to
$225.

Issues:  There is no alternative to compliance with the
requirements of § 54.1-113, which mandates that the board
revise its fee schedule following any biennium in which
projected expenditures exceed revenues by more than 10%.
The deficit for 1996-98 is projected to be $182,864; with
current fees, the projected deficit for 1998-2000 would be
$459,099.  Failure to increase fees would be a violation of
the board’s statutory responsibility.  It would require an
unlawful and an inequitable transfer of funds from other
boards (and other licensees) within the department.

The board has reviewed every aspect of its budget to
determine if reductions in expenditures are possible.  Thus
far, it has determined that further reductions are not possible
due to fixed expenditures resulting from their disciplinary
caseload, which is the major board activity.  Further
reductions would result in an inability to investigate
complaints of misconduct or fraud against the consumer and
would necessitate discontinuation of inspections of dental
practices.
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During the promulgation of regulations, the board considered
which fees should be increased and by what amount.  The
financial staff of the department developed three proposals;
only two of which would produce the required additional
revenue.  Based on those projections, the board determined
the most reasonable and equitable fee increase was
Proposal #3, which will produce a very modest surplus for
the 1998-2000 biennium of $3,456.

The board has not increased fees for licensees since 1988 at
which time the current renewal fees of $65 and $25 were
established. In its consideration of proposed fees, the board
has accounted for the disparity in income and authority in
practice of dentists and dental hygienists.  It has attempted
to make increases proportional and in some cases, the fee
for the dental hygienist has actually been decreased.

Advantages or disadvantages to the licensees and to the
public:  Over the years, the board and the Department of
Health Professions have taken steps to reduce personnel
and other costs to avoid an increase in fees.  Renewal fees
for dentists and dental hygienists have not increased for 10
years.  Therefore, the board does not believe that the
proposed increase of $35 for dentists and $15 for dental
hygienists will have a significant effect on the availability of
dental services or on the dental practitioners of the
Commonwealth.

For applicants seeking licensure in Virginia, there is only a
$5.00 increase in application fees.  That amount is
insignificant in relation to the costs of education and
examinations; it should have no effect on entry into the
profession or on mobility of licensed persons into Virginia.

For persons who have requested inactive licensure, there is
no effect since the proposal would retain their current
renewal fees.

Estimated Impact:

Projected number of persons affected and their cost of
compliance:

The approximate number of licensees affected by these
regulations are as follows:

Dentists 5,186
Dental hygienists 3,028
Dental teachers 7
Dental hygienist, teacher 5
Dental faculty 12

The cost for compliance will be an additional $35 per year for
dentists and $15 per year for dental hygienists.  For
applicants, there will be an increase of $5.00.

Cost to the agency for implementation:  The board will
incur approximately $1,500 in cost for printing and mailing
Notices of Comment and final amended regulations to
licensees and other interested parties.  There will be no
additional cost for conducting a public hearing, which will be
held in conjunction with a scheduled board meeting.  The
board does not anticipate any additional costs for
investigations or administrative proceedings against
licensees for violations of these regulations.

Cost to local governments:  There will be no impact of
these regulations on local government.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13
(94).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property.  The
analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  The proposed
regulation increases various fees paid by dentists and dental
hygienists to the Board of Dentistry.  The purpose of these
fee increases is to bring the board into compliance with the
board’s interpretation of § 54.1-113, Code of Virginia.
Section 54.1-113 requires all regulatory boards under the
Department of Health Professions to revise their fee
schedules if, after the close of any biennium, there is more
than a 10% difference between revenues and expenses.

The proposed regulation makes the following fee changes:

1.  Renewal of licensure for dentists would increase from
$65 to $100 and for dental hygienists from $25 to $40.
Fees for renewal of inactive licenses would not change.

2.  The penalty fee for failure to pay the renewal fee
would increase from $35 to $50 for dentists.

3.  The reinstatement fee for a revoked license would
decrease from $750 to $500 for dental hygienists.  The
reinstatement fee for suspended licenses would increase
from $300 to $350 for dentists and decrease from $300
to $250 for dental hygienists.

4.  The application fee for a dental license would
increase from $220 to $225.  The fee for a dental
hygiene license would increase from $155 to $160.
Licensure by endorsement for dental hygienists would
increase from $200 to $225.

Estimated economic impact.  The primary effect of the
proposed fee increases will be to increase the regulatory
compliance costs borne by the regulated community by
$462,555 biannually.  Under the current fee structure, the
board projects a $459,099 deficit for the 1998-2000
biennium.  The proposed fee increases would generate a
projected surplus of $3,456 during the 1998-2000 biennium,
thereby bringing the board into compliance with the Code.

According to the board, two major areas of activity within the
Department of Health Professions (DHP) have contributed to
the increasing deficits projected for 1998 and beyond.  DHP
is required to replace the mainframe computer system they
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now purchase from the Department of Information
Technology.  The expected cost of this project will be
allocated to each board based on numbers of regulated
entities.  In addition, DHP has been authorized to establish
an Intervention Program for Impaired Practitioners.  Costs
for that program will also be allocated to each board based
on expected usage by its licensees.  Further analysis by DPB
shows that these costs have not yet been incurred or
included in their budget, though they are expected to be
absorbed within the proposed fee increase.

It is very important to note, however, that approximately 40%
($182,864) of the projected 1998-2000 biennium deficit of
$459,099 is a carryover deficit from the 1996-1998 biennium.
Raising fees by a sufficient amount to offset both projected
deficits during the single 1988-2000 biennium will result in a
surplus during the 2000-2002 biennium.  This surplus will be
approximately equal to $182,864, the amount of the
carryover deficit.  It is very likely that the board will then
again be in violation of the Code and be required to reduce
fees if costs remain relatively constant.

Businesses and entities affected.  This proposed regulation
will affect the 5,186 dentists, 3,028 dental hygienists, and 24
dental teachers and faculty currently licensed in Virginia and
anyone who may apply for such licensure in the future.

Localities particularly affected.  No localities will be
particularly affected by this proposed regulation.

Projected impact on employment.  This proposed regulation
is not expected to have any impact on employment in
Virginia.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  This
proposed regulation is not expected to have any significant
effect on the use and value of private property.

Summary of Analysis.  The proposed regulation would
increase various fees paid by dentists and dental hygienists
to the Board of Dentistry.  The primary effect will be to
increase the regulatory compliance costs borne by the
regulated community by $462,555, approximately 38%.  In
addition, the proposed fee increase will likely generate a
$182,864 surplus for the board during the 2000-2002
biennium, possibly necessitating a subsequent fee decrease.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency concurs
with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget.

Summary:

The proposed amendments increase fees in compliance
with § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia which mandates
health regulatory boards to raise revenues sufficient to
meet expenses.  Renewal fees would be increased from
$65 to $100 annually for dentists and from $25 to $40 for
dental hygienists.  Inactive license fees would remain
unchanged.  The application fee for licensure as a
dentist would be increased from $200 to $225 and for
dental hygienists from $155 to $160.

PART II.
LICENSURE RENEWAL AND FEES.

18 VAC 60-20-20.  License renewal and reinstatement.

The board shall forward a renewal notice to each licensee
at the address of record (18 VAC 60-20-160 B) prior to the
expiration of the license.  Failure to receive such notice shall
not relieve the licensee of the responsibility to renew the
license.

A.  Dental Renewal fees.  Every person licensed to
practice holding an active or inactive license, a teacher’s
license, full-time faculty license or a temporary permit to
practice dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before March
31, renew their license to practice dentistry and pay an
annual renewal fee of $65 except as otherwise provided in
18 VAC 60-20-30.

1.  The fee for renewal of an active license shall be $100
for dentists and $40 for dental hygienists.

2.  The fee for renewal of an inactive license shall be $65
for dentists and $25 for dental hygienists.

B.  Dental hygiene renewal fees.  Every person licensed to
practice dental hygiene by this board shall, on or before
March 31, renew their license to practice dental hygiene and
pay an annual renewal fee of $25 except as otherwise
provided in 18 VAC 60-20-30.

C. B.  Penalty fees.  Any person who does not return the
completed form and fee by March 31 shall be required to pay
an additional $35 penalty fee of $50 for dentists and $35 for
dental hygienists.  The board shall renew a license when if
the renewal form is, renewal fee, and penalty fee are
received by the following April 30, along with the completed
form, the annual registration fee, and the penalty fee.

D. C.  Reinstatement fees and procedures.  The license of
any person who does not return the completed renewal form
and fees by April 30 shall automatically expire and become
invalid and their practice of dentistry/dental hygiene shall be
illegal.  Upon such expiration, the board shall immediately
notify the affected person of the expiration and the
reinstatement procedures.

1.  Any person whose license has expired who wishes to
reinstate such license shall submit to the board a
reinstatement form, the application fee, the penalty fee,
renewal fee and an assessment the penalty fee of $50
for dentists and $35 for dental hygienists per month for
each month or part of a month the individual has
practiced in Virginia without a valid license has been
expired for a maximum amount of $600 for dentists and
$420 for dental hygienists.

2.  Practicing in Virginia with an expired license may
subject the licensee to disciplinary action and additional
fines by the board.

3.  The executive director shall reinstate such expired
license provided that the applicant can demonstrate
continuing competence, that no grounds exist pursuant
to § 54.1-2706 of the Code of Virginia and 18 VAC
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60-20-170 to deny said reinstatement, and that the
applicant has paid all unpaid renewal fees and
assessments.

E. D.  Reinstatement of a license previously revoked or
indefinitely suspended.  Any person whose license has been
revoked shall submit to the board for its approval a
reinstatement form and an application and fee of $750 for
dentists and $500 for dental hygienists.  Any person whose
license has been indefinitely suspended shall submit to the
board for its approval a reinstatement form and an
application and fee of $300 $350 for dentists and $250 for
dental hygienists.

18 VAC 60-20-30.  Other fees.

A.  Dental licensure application fees.  The application fee
for a dental license, a license to teach dentistry, or a
temporary permit as a dentist shall be accompanied by a
check or money order for $220, which includes a $155
application fee and a $65 initial licensure fee $225.

B.  Dental hygiene licensure application fees.  The
application fee for a dental hygiene license, a license to
teach dental hygiene, or a temporary permit as a dental
hygienist shall be accompanied by a check or money order
for $155, which includes a $130 application fee and a $25
initial licensure fee $160.

C.  Duplicate wall certificate.  Licensees desiring a
duplicate wall certificate shall submit a request in writing
stating the necessity for such duplicate wall certificate,
accompanied by a fee of $15.  A duplicate certificate may be
issued for any of the following reasons:  replacing certificate
that has been lost, stolen, misplaced, destroyed, or is
otherwise irretrievable; recording the new name of a
registrant whose name has been changed by court order or
by marriage; or for multiple offices.

D.  Duplicate license.  Licensees desiring duplicate license
shall submit a request in writing stating the necessity for
such duplicate license, accompanied by a fee of $10.  A
duplicate license may be issued for any of the following
reasons:  maintaining more than one office (notarized
photocopy may be used); replacing license that has been
lost, stolen, misplaced, destroyed, or is otherwise
irretrievable; and recording the new name of a licensee
whose name has been changed by court order or by
marriage.  If a licensee maintains more than one office, a
notarized photocopy of a license may be used.

E.  Licensure certification.  Licensees requesting
endorsement or certification by this board shall pay a fee of
$25 for each endorsement or certification.

F.  Restricted license.  Restricted license issued in
accordance with § 54.1-2714 of the Code of Virginia shall be
at a fee of $100.

G.  Teacher's license.  License to teach dentistry and
dental hygiene issued in accordance with §§ 54.1-2713 and
54.1-2725 of the Code of Virginia shall be at a fee of $220
and $155, respectively.  The renewal fee shall be $65 and
$25, respectively.

H.  Temporary permit.  Temporary permit for dentists and
dental hygienists issued in accordance with §§ 54.1-2715
and 54.1-2726 of the Code of Virginia shall be at a fee of
$220 and $155, respectively.  The renewal fee shall be $65
and $25, respectively.

I.  Radiology safety F.  Examination.  Each examination
administered in accordance with subdivision 11 of 18 VAC
60-20-190 by the board shall be at a fee of $25.

J.  Jurisprudence examination.  Each examination
administered by the board outside the scheduled clinical
examination site in accordance with 18 VAC 60-20-70 shall
be at a fee of $25.

K.  Full-time faculty license.  Full-time faculty license for
dentists issued in accordance with § 54.1-2714.1 of the Code
of Virginia, shall be at a fee of $220.  The renewal fee shall
be $65.

L. G.  Endorsement license.  License by endorsement
issued in accordance with 18 VAC 60-20-80 for dental
hygienists shall be at a fee of $200 ($175 application and
$25 initial licensure fee).  The renewal fee shall be $25 $225.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 60-20-10
et seq., Virginia Board of Dentistry Regulations, are not
being published due to the large number; however, the name
of each form is listed below.  The forms are available for
public inspection at the Board of Dentistry, 6606 West Broad
Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor,
Richmond, Virginia.

FORMS

Training Guidelines:  Part I.  Topical Anesthetics.

Training Guidelines:  Part I.  Professionally Applied Topical
Fluorides.

Training Guidelines:  Part III. Application of Desensitizing
Agents.

Application for Certification to Administer Schedule VI
Topical Medicinal Agents for Dental Assistants.

Training Form for Administration of Schedule VI Topical
Medicinal Agents for Dental Assistants.

Application for licensure for Dentists, Dental Hygiene by
Examination, Dental Hygiene by Endorsement, Full-Time
Faculty, Temporary Permit, and Teacher’s License.

Outline and Explanation of Documentation Required for
Dental Licensure by Exam, Teacher’s License, Restricted
License, Full Time Faculty License, and Temporary Permit
(rev. 7/98).

Application for Licensure to Practice Dentistry (rev. 3/98).

Form A, Certification of Dental/Dental Hygiene School (rev.
3/98).

Form B, Chronology (rev. 3/98).
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Form C, Certification of Dental/Dental Hygiene Boards (rev.
3/98).

Outline and Explanation of Documentation Required for
Dental Hygiene Licensure by Exam, Teacher’s License,
Dental Hygiene by Endorsement, and Dental Hygiene
Temporary Permit (rev. 7/98).

Application for Licensure to Practice Dental Hygiene (rev.
3/98).

Reinstatement Application for Dental/Dental Hygiene (rev.
3/98).

Expiration letter to licensee (rev. 7/98).

Radiology Information for Dental Assistants (rev. 7/97).

Application for Radiology Exam for Dental Assistants (rev.
7/97).

Renewal Notice and Application (rev. 7/97).

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-100; Filed July 15, 1998, 11:07 a.m.

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND
EMBALMERS

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 65-20-10 et seq.  Regulations
of the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers
(amending 18 VAC 65-20-70; repealing 18 VAC 65-20-80,
18 VAC 65-20-90 and 18 VAC 65-20-100).
18 VAC 65-40-10 et seq.  Resident Trainee Program for
Funeral Service (amending 18 VAC 65-40-40; repealing
18 VAC 65-40-60, 18 VAC 65-40-70 and 18 VAC 65-40-80).

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m.
Public comments may be submitted until October 2,
1998.

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  Chapter 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the
Code of Virginia establishes the general powers and duties
of the health regulatory boards including the power to levy
fees and the responsibility to promulgate regulations.

Section 54.1-113 establishes the mandate for the board to
perform a fiscal analysis and to adjust its fees when the
differential between expenditures and revenue exceeds 10%.

Purpose:  The purpose of these proposed regulations is to
carry out the statutory responsibility of the board “to levy and
collect fees for application processing, examination,
registration, certification or licensure and renewal that are
sufficient to cover all expenses for the administration and
operation of the Department of Health Professions, the
Board of Health Professions and the health regulatory
boards” (§ 54.1-2400 (5) of the Code of Virginia).  If fees are
insufficient to support the operations of the board, it will be
unable to investigate complaints of misconduct and to initiate
disciplinary proceedings against licensees and registrants as
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare.

Substance:

18 VAC 65-20-70.  All fees for licensees of the board and for
funeral establishments are placed in this section of the
regulation.  Proposed regulations would increase fees as
follows:

Initial licensure and renewal of licensure for licensees in
funeral services, funeral directors or embalmers would be
increased from $100 to $150.

Increases for initial registration or renewal of registration for
funeral establishments would be from $150 to $225, for
surface transportation and removal service companies from
$200 to $250, for courtesy card holders from $50 to $100.

Other fees which would be increased are:  a) reinstatement
for each year of licensure expiration would be increased from
$25 to $50; b) change of manager or establishment name
would be increased from $15 to $50; and c) verification of
license, registration or courtesy card would be increased
from $25 to $50.

18 VAC 65-40-40.  Fees for resident trainees would be
increased as follows:

Registration, reinstatement or renewal of a funeral service
resident trainee would be increased from $25 to $75.  The
late fee for renewal of registration after 30 days of expiration
would be increased from $15 to $25.  The fee to get a
duplicate copy of trainee registration would be increased
from $15 to $25.

Issues:  There is no alternative to compliance with the
requirements of § 54.1-113, which mandates that the board
revise its fee schedule following any biennium in which
projected expenditures exceed revenues by more than 10%.
The deficit for 1996-98 is projected to be $177,636; with
current fees, the projected deficit for 1998-2000 would be
$337,081.  Failure to increase fees would be a violation of
the board’s statutory responsibility.  It would require an
unlawful and an inequitable transfer of funds from other
boards (and other licensees) within the department.

The board has reviewed every aspect of its budget to
determine if reductions in expenditures are possible.  Thus
far, it has determined that further reductions are not possible
due to fixed expenditures resulting from their disciplinary
caseload, which is the major board activity.   Further
reductions would result in an inability to investigate
complaints of misconduct or fraud against the consumer and
would necessitate discontinuation of routine inspections of
funeral establishments.

In addition, it has examined the allocation of expenses for
the operation of the Board of Funeral Directors and
Embalmers to determine if any operating costs could be
equitably shifted to the other two boards housed in one office
under one Executive Director.  After an examination of those
costs, especially the time of the Executive Director and the
P-14 employee in the office, there was a reallocation of those
positions.  They had been allocated to cost codes as follows:
80% to Funeral; 10% to Audiology and Speech-Language
Pathology; and 10% to Nursing Home Administrators.  The
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new allocation is 50% to Funeral; 25% to Audiology and
Speech-Language Pathology; and 25% to Nursing Home
Administrators.  The new allocation is justified because the
other two boards have become more active with legislative
and regulatory work.  However, since the other two boards
which share the Executive Director and some office staff with
the Funeral board have almost no disciplinary cases, the
expenses for the office have to be weighted toward the
funeral cost code and cannot be divided equally.

During the promulgation of regulations, the board considered
which fees should be increased and by what amount.  The
financial staff of the department developed two proposals
which would produce the required additional revenue.  Based
on those projections as attached to this submission, the
board determined the most reasonable and equitable fee
increase was Proposal #1, which will produce a very modest
surplus for the 1998-2000 biennium of $3,419, representing
less than .005 of the total budget.

The board has not increased fees for funeral establishments
and funeral service licensees since 1987 at which time the
current renewal fees of $150 and $100, respectively, were
changed from a biennial to an annual basis.

Advantages or disadvantages to the licensees and to the
public:

Over the years, the board and the Department of Health
Professions have taken steps to reduce personnel and other
costs to avoid an increase in fees.  Renewal fees for funeral
establishments and funeral service licensee have not
increased for over 10 years.  Therefore, the board does not
believe that the proposal will have a significant affect on
funeral service providers and establishments.

Even for the smaller establishments (25 funerals per year),
the increase in cost for renewal of the establishment license
would result in an increase of $3.00 per funeral.  If an
establishment has fewer than 35 funerals per year, it is now
permitted to seek a waiver of the requirement for a full-time
establishment manager who is a licensed funeral service
provider.  Therefore, the increased cost for the funeral
director who manages such an establishment would be
shared by two establishments, resulting in a cost of $25 per
establishment each year or another additional $1.00 per
year.

Considering the proposed increased fees for all entities
licensed or permitted by the board, it is estimated that the
overall cost per funeral should be less than $5.00.

Estimated Impact:

A.  Projected number of persons affected and their cost of
compliance:  The approximate number of licensees or permit
holders affected by these regulations are as follows:

Funeral establishments 495
Funeral service providers 1,370
Funeral directors 208
Funeral embalmers 9
Funeral trainees 211
Courtesy card holders 113

Surface transportation and removal services 37

For the smaller establishments (25 funerals per year), the
increase in cost for renewal of the establishment license
would result in an increase of $3.00 per funeral.  If an
establishment has fewer than 35 funerals per year, it is now
permitted to seek a waiver of the requirement for a full-time
establishment manager who is a licensed funeral service
provider.  Therefore, the increased cost for the funeral
director who manages such an establishment would be
shared by two establishments, resulting in a cost of $25 per
establishment each year or another additional $1.00 per
year.

For the funeral service trainees, the cost of their education
will increase by $50 per year, which is not significant since
the trainee serves as an employee of the funeral
establishment and is receiving an income during his training.

The board does not have figures on the number of removals
or number of times a permitted company transports a body;
the increase in fees of $50 would result in an estimated cost
of less than $1 per funeral.

Courtesy card holders are out-of-state licensees who are
permitted to come into Virginia to perform certain services
relating to the funeral industry.  The increase of $50 per
holder would have little effect on Virginia residents.

In all, the board estimates that the potential increase in costs
for a funeral in Virginia based on proposed fee increases
would be less than $5.00.

B.  Cost to the agency for implementation:  The board will
incur approximately $1,500 in cost for printing and mailing
Notices of Comment and final amended regulations to
licensees and other interested parties.  There will be no
additional cost for conducting a public hearing, which will be
held in conjunction with a scheduled board meeting.  The
board does not anticipate any additional costs for
investigations or administrative proceedings against
licensees for violations of these regulations.

C.  Cost to local governments:  There will be no impact of
these regulations on local government.

Department of Planning and Budget’s Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13
(94).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property.  The
analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic effects.
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Summary of the proposed regulation.  The proposed
regulation would increase various licensure and registration
fees paid by funeral directors and embalmers to the Board of
Funeral Directors and Embalmers.  The purpose of these fee
increases is to bring the board into compliance with the
board’s interpretation of § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia.
Section 54.1-113 requires all regulatory boards under the
Department of Health Professions to revise their fee
schedules if, after the close of any biennium, there is a more
than 10% difference between revenues and expenses.

The proposed regulation makes the following fee changes:

1. The current $100 fee for license to practice funeral
services as a funeral director or embalmer would be
increased to $150;

2. The current $150 fee for funeral service
establishment license would be increased to $225;

3. The current $200 fee for surface transportation and
removal service registration would be increased to $250;

4. The current $50 fee for courtesy cards would be
increased to $100;

5. The current $25 reinstatement fee per year for each
year of license expiration would be increased to $50;

6. The current $15 fee for change of manager or
establishment name would be increased to $50;

7. The current $25 fee for verification of license or
registration to another state would be increased to $50;

8. The current $25 fee for funeral service resident
trainee registration, reinstatement, or renewal would be
increased to $75;

9. The current $15 late fee for renewal of trainee
registration would be increased to $25; and

10. The current $15 fee for duplicate copy of trainee
registration would be increased to $25.

Estimated economic impact.  The primary effect of the
proposed fee increases will be to increase the regulatory
compliance costs borne by the regulated community.  Under
the current fee structure, the board projects a $337,081
deficit for the 1998-2000 biennium.  This deficit is equal to
44% of operating costs.  The proposed fee increases would
generate a projected surplus of $3,419 during the 1998-2000
biennium.  According to the board, this action will bring them
into compliance with § 54.1-113 of the Code.  The fee
increases proposed by the board will entail a $340,500, or
56%, increase in regulatory compliance costs however.

It is important to note that $177,636, or roughly half, of the
projected $337,081 deficit in the 1998-2000 biennium is a
carryover from the 1996-1998 biennium.  The board asserts
that it must raise fees by a sufficient amount to offset both
biennial deficits during the single 1998-2000 biennium to
achieve compliance with § 54.1-113 of the Code.  Raising
fees by this amount guarantees that the board will
experience a surplus during the 2000-2002 biennium that
roughly approximates the $177,636 deficit carried over from

the 1996-1998 biennium.  As a result, sometime near the
close of the 2000-2002 biennium the board will likely have to
reduce fees to come into compliance with § 54.1-113 of the
Code.  This subsequent fee reduction should amount to
about half of the current proposed increase.

Businesses and entities particularly affected.  The proposed
regulation particularly affects the 495 funeral establishments,
1,370 funeral service providers, 208 funeral directors, and
nine embalmers currently licensed in Virginia, anyone who
may apply for such licensure in the future, and their clientele.

Localities particularly affected.  No localities are particularly
affected by this proposed regulation.

Projected impact on employment.  The proposed regulation
is not anticipated to have a significant effect on employment.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  The
proposed regulation is not anticipated to have a significant
effect on the use and value of private property.

Summary of analysis.  The proposed regulation would
increase various licensure and registration fees paid by
funeral directors and embalmers to the Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalmers.  The purpose of these fee
increases is to bring the board into compliance with § 54.1-
113 of the Code of Virginia which requires all regulatory
boards under the Department of Health Professions to revise
their fee schedules if, after the close of any biennium, there
is a more than 10% difference between revenues and
expenses.  The primary effect of the proposed fee increases
will be to increase the regulatory compliance costs borne by
the regulated community by $340,500 (or 56%).

Agency’s Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget’s Economic Impact Analysis:  The board concurs
with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget.

Summary:

The board is proposing amendments to 18 VAC 65-20-
70 through 18 VAC 65-20-100 to consolidate all fees into
18 VAC 65-20-70 and to increase certain fees charged
to licensees, certificate holders, and registrants. The
board is also proposing amendments to 18 VAC 65-40-
40 through 18 VAC 65-40-80 to consolidate all fees into
18 VAC 65-40-40 and to increase certain fees charged
to resident trainees.  The increased fees are necessary
to fund functions, such as investigation of complaints,
inspections of facilities, and initiation of disciplinary
procedures which are essential for  protection of the
public health, safety and welfare.  The amendments are
also necessary for compliance with § 54.1-2400 of the
Code of Virginia, which requires the agency to collect
fees sufficient to cover all expenses for the
administration and operation of the board.

18 VAC 65-20-70. Initial Required fees.

The following fees shall be paid as applicable for initial
licensure or registration. For resident trainee fees see the
board's regulations entitled Resident Trainee Program for
Funeral Service (18 VAC 65-40-10 et seq.).
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A.  The following fees shall apply for initial licensure or
registration and for renewal of licensure or registration:

1.  Examination $100;

2. 1.  License to practice funeral service
or as a funeral director or an embalmer

$100; $150

3. 2.  Funeral service establishment
license

150; $225

4. 3.  Surface transportation and
removal service registration

$200; $250

5. 4.  Courtesy card $50; $100

B.  Other fees.

1.  Reinstatement fee for each year of
licensure expiration

$50 per year

6. 2.  Change of ownership, manager, or
establishment name

$15; $50

7. 3.  Verification of license when
applying for licensure in or registration to
another state

$50;

8.  Verification of license when applying
for courtesy card in another state

$5;

9.  Resumption of traineeship after
interruption

$10.

4.  Duplicate license, registration,
courtesy card

$25

5.  Duplicate wall certificates $50

6.  Change of ownership $100

7.  Reinspection for change of location
or ownership

$100

18 VAC 65-20-80. Renewal fees. (Repealed.)

The following annual fees shall be paid as applicable for
license renewal. For resident trainee renewal fees see the
board's regulations entitled Resident Trainee Program for
Funeral Service (18 VAC 65-40-10 et seq.).

1.  Funeral service license payable by March
31

$100;

2.  Funeral director license payable by March
31

$100;

3.  Embalmer license payable by March 31 $100;

4.  Funeral service establishment license
payable by January 31

$150;

5.  Surface transportation and removal service
registration payable by January 31

$200;

6.  Courtesy cards payable by December 31 $50.

18 VAC 65-20-90. Reinstatement fees. (Repealed.)

The following reinstatement fees shall be paid in addition
to annual renewal fees for reinstatement of license or

registration up to three years following expiration. For
resident trainee reinstatement fees see the board's
regulations entitled Resident Trainee Program for Funeral
Service (18 VAC 65-40-10 et seq.).

1.  Funeral service, director, or embalmer
reinstatement

$25;

2.  Establishment reinstatement $25;

3.  Transportation and removal service
reinstatement

$25.

18 VAC 65-20-100. Other fees. (Repealed.)

Duplicate trainee registrations, surface transportation and
removal registrations, licenses, establishment licenses, or
courtesy cards shall be issued by the board at the
individual's request.

1.  Duplicate license, registration, courtesy card $25;

2.  Duplicate wall certificates $50.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 65-20-10
et seq., Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers
Regulations, are listed below.  Any amended or added forms
are reflected in the listing and are published following the
listing.

FORMS

Application for Funeral Service Licensure (rev. 7/1/98).

Application for Establishment Licensure/Change of Licensure
Address (rev. 7/1/98).

Application for Waiver of Full-Time Manager Requirements
(rev. 7/1/98).

Application for Surface Transportation and Removal Service
Registration (rev. 7/1/98).

Application for Courtesy Card (rev. 7/1/98).

Application for Individual Licensure.

Licensure Verification Form.

Renewal Notice and Application, C-46454 (rev. 7/1/97).

Appendix I:  General Price List.

Appendix II:  Casket Price List; Outer Burial Container Price
List.

Appendix III:  Itemized Statement of Funeral Goods and
Services Selected.
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18 VAC 65-40-40. Initial Fees.

A.  The following fees shall be paid as applicable for
registration:

1.  Funeral service resident trainee registration,
reinstatement or renewal, $25 $75

2.  Resumption of traineeship after interruption,         $10

2.  Late fee for renewal up to 30 days after expiration
$25

3.  Duplicate copy of trainee registration $25

4.  Returned check $25

5.  Change of supervisor $15

B.  Fees shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia
and shall not be refundable once submitted.

18 VAC 65-40-50. Renewal fee. (Repealed.)

The following annual fee shall be paid for registration
renewal:

Resident trainee registration renewal,                        $25

18 VAC 65-40-60. Reinstatement fee. (Repealed.)

The following reinstatement fee shall be paid in addition to
annual renewal fees for reinstatement of an expired
registration up to three years following expiration:

Resident trainee registration reinstatement,               $10

18 VAC 65-40-70.  Duplicates. (Repealed.)

Duplicate trainee registration                                     $25

18 VAC 65-40-80.  Addition fee information. (Repealed.)

A.  There shall be a fee of $25 for returned check.

B.  Fees shall not be refunded once submitted.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 65-40-10
et seq., Resident Trainee Program for Funeral Service, are
listed below.  Any amended or added forms are reflected in
the listing and are published following the listing.

FORMS

Application for Apprenticeship Resident Trainee Program
(rev. 7/1/98).

Application for Apprenticeship Resident Trainee Program
Supervisor (rev. 7/1/98).

General Information for All Trainees, DHP (revised 11/93).

Resident Trainee Report, DHP-14-004 (revised 11/93).

Certification of Embalmings, DHP-14-005 (revised 11/93).

Certification of Funerals, DHP-14-006 (revised 11/93).

Training Program -Funeral Service Supervisor's
Responsibilities.

Training Program -Trainee Responsibilities.

Renewal Notice and Application, C-46454 (rev. 7/1/97).
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* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 65-20-10 et seq.  Regulations
of the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers
(amending 18 VAC 65-20-10, 18 VAC 65-20-50, 18 VAC
65-20-60, 18 VAC 65-20-70, 18 VAC 65-20-110 through
18 VAC 65-20-150, 18 VAC 65-20-170, 18 VAC 65-20-240,
18 VAC 65-20-350, 18 VAC 65-20-400, 18 VAC 65-20-440,
18 VAC 65-20-500, 18 VAC 65-20-510, 18 VAC 65-20-530,
18 VAC 65-20-540, 18 VAC 65-20-550, 18 VAC 65-20-560,
18 VAC 65-20-580, 18 VAC 65-20-590, 18 VAC 65-20-630,
and 18 VAC 65-20-700; adding 18 VAC 65-20-235;
repealing 18 VAC 65-20-20, 18 VAC 65-20-30, 18 VAC 65-
20-40, 18 VAC 65-20-80, 18 VAC 65-20-90, 18 VAC 65-20-
100, 18 VAC 65-20-160, 18 VAC 65-20-180 through
18 VAC 65-20-230, 18 VAC 65-20-250 through 18 VAC 65-
20-340, 18 VAC 65-20-360 through 18 VAC 65-20-390,
18 VAC 65-20-410, 18 VAC 65-20-430, 18 VAC 65-20-450
through 18 VAC 65-20-490, 18 VAC 65-20-520, 18 VAC 65-
20-600, 18 VAC 65-20-610, 18 VAC 65-20-620, and 18 VAC
65-20-640 through 18 VAC 65-20-690).

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 28 (§ 54.1-
2800 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m.
Public comments may be submitted until October 2,
1998.

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  Chapters 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) and 28 (§ 54.1-
2800 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia provide the
basis for this regulation.

Chapter 24 establishes the general powers and duties of the
health regulatory boards including the power to establish
qualifications for licensure and the responsibility to
promulgate regulations.

Chapter 28 establishes the powers and duties of the Board of
Funeral Directors and Embalmers and the mandate for
licensure.  It further establishes standards for funeral
practice and mandates the board to set requirements for
competency.

Purpose:  The purpose of these regulations is to protect the
public health, safety, and welfare by establishing
educational, experiential, and examination requirements for
those seeking licensure and by setting standards of
professional conduct for practice.  Amendments are
proposed to implement the recommendations of the Board of
Funeral Directors and Embalmers in its report pursuant to
Executive Order 15 (94), which were to simplify, clarify, and
eliminate redundancy and unnecessary requirements.

Substance:

18 VAC 65-20-10.  Amendments are proposed to eliminate
definitions which are redundant or unnecessary since the
terms are already defined in the Code of Virginia or in the
federal rule regarding Funeral Industry Practices of the
Federal Trade Commission.  Amendments to terms such as

“establishment manager” are proposed for clarification in
usage.

18 VAC 65-20-20, 18 VAC 65-20-30, and 18 VAC 65-20-40.
These sections are repealed because they are unnecessary.

18 VAC 65-20-50.  Amendments are proposed to clarify the
posting requirements and to eliminate the rule that a licensee
be able to produce his wallet license upon request.

18 VAC 65-20-60.  An amendment is proposed to require
notification of a change of address or name within 30 days
rather than the current requirement of five days.

18 VAC 65-20-70.  All fees of the board are placed in this
section.  A reduction from $50 to $25 is proposed in the fee
charged for verification of licensure to another state.

18 VAC 65-20-80, 18 VAC 65-20-90, and 18 VAC 65-20-100.
These sections are repealed and incorporated in other
sections.

18 VAC 65-20-110.  An amendment is proposed to specify
that all examination fees are to be paid directly to the
examination service contracted by the board for its
administration.

18 VAC 65-20-120 and 18 VAC 65-20-130. Amendments are
proposed to simplify and include requirements and dates for
renewal of licensure.  Also, an amendment is proposed to
specify that continued practice on an expired license may
subject the licensee to disciplinary action.

18 VAC 65-20-140 and 18 VAC 65-20-150.  Amendments
are editorial only.

18 VAC 65-20-160.  This section is repealed as the
requirements are already stated in the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 65-20-170.  Amendments are proposed to
incorporate requirements for an establishment license which
are currently scattered in other sections of this chapter.  The
requirement for notification to the board 45 days prior to
opening an establishment has been amended, and the
requirement for a full-time manager has been amended to
conform to changes in § 54.1-2810 of the Code of Virginia. A
requirement for a reinspection of an establishment following
a change of ownership is proposed.

18 VAC 65-20-180 through 18 VAC 65-20-230.  These
sections are repealed.  The requirements are either
incorporated into other sections or eliminated as
unnecessary.

18 VAC 65-20-235.  This new section sets forth the
educational requirement for licensure which is currently
placed in another part of this chapter.

18 VAC 65-20-240.  This section sets forth qualifications for
licensure by examination and establishes the application
process; requirements now found in many other sections
have been consolidated into one section.

18 VAC 65-20-250 through 18 VAC 65-20-340.  These
sections are repealed as the requirements are now in other
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sections or are unnecessary because the board is
contracting with an examination service for administration.

18 VAC 65-20-350.  The proposed amendment establishes
the regulations for applying for licensure by endorsement
and incorporates the current requirement for passage of a
state examination.

18 VAC 65-20-360 through 18 VAC 65-20-390.  These
sections are repealed.  The resident trainee regulations are
established in 18 VAC 65-40-10 et seq.

18 VAC 65-20-400.  Amendments are editorial and clarifying.

18 VAC 65-20-410 and 18 VAC 65-20-430.  These sections
are repealed because they are repetitive.

18 VAC 65-20-440.  Amendments are proposed to include
parts of other sections.

18 VAC 65-20-450 through 18 VAC 65-20-490.  These
sections are repealed because the requirements are included
in other sections or in the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 65-20-500.  Amendments are proposed for
grammatical consistency and to eliminate redundancy.  An
amendment is also proposed which will not require the name
of the establishment manager to appear on any
advertisement.

18 VAC 65-20-510 through 18 VAC 65-20-560.
Amendments are proposed to consolidate requirements
which are already established in the embalming report in
Appendix IV or in other sections of this chapter.  Included in
that revision is the repeal of 18 VAC 65-20-550.

18 VAC 65-20-580.  Amendments are editorial or made to
include requirements from other sections.

18 VAC 65-20-590.  The amendment proposed specifies that
disposal of waste materials must be done in conformity with
local, state, and federal law.

18 VAC 65-20-600, 18 VAC 65-20-610 and 18 VAC 65-20-
620 are being repealed.

18 VAC 65-20-630.  Amendments are proposed to specify
that disclosures and price lists must be provided pursuant to
the rules of the FTC and in compliance with information
contained in Appendices I, II, and III.

18 VAC 65-20-640 through 18 VAC 95-20-690.  Since the
information in these sections is provided in the appendices,
these sections are repealed.

 18 VAC 65-20-700.  Amendments are proposed to reduce
the state requirement of three years for keeping records to
the FTC requirement of one year.

Issues:

Issue 1:  Reduction in the number and complexity of
regulations.

In compliance with Executive Order 15 (94), the board has
examined every regulation for necessity and clarity and has
determined that 46 sections of this chapter could be repealed
and a number of others simplified.  Many of the regulations

repeat requirements stated in the Code of Virginia or in the
federal rule regarding Funeral Industry Practices by the
Federal Trade Commission.  Other regulations repeated
information required on price lists which is also contained in
the appendices and attached to these regulations.  The
board has eliminated that repetition and referenced the
appendices and FTC for required information and
disclosures.

Advantages to the licensees:  By repealing unnecessary
sections, consolidating and simplifying requirements, and
reorganizing for clarity, these regulations should be more
easily understood. Since the regulations will be reduced and
simplified, compliance should also be easier and there may
be fewer questions addressed to the board staff.

Disadvantages to the licensees:  There should be no
disadvantages to the licensees.

Advantages or disadvantage to the public:  There should be
no advantages or disadvantages to the public since no
requirements for pricing, standards of conduct, or disclosure
of information have been changed.

Issue 2:  Reduction in recordkeeping and reporting
requirements.

The board has looked for ways to reduce the recordkeeping
and reporting requirements for licensees.  The current
requirement is five days for notification of a change of name
or address; it is amended to require notice within 30 days.
The current requirement for maintenance of all records is
three years; the board is proposing to amend the regulation
to a one-year requirement, which is consistent with FTC
rules.  The current requirement for securing a facility permit
is for notification to be given to the board 45 days prior to
opening; the amended regulation would simply require notice
“prior” to the opening of a facility which will allow sufficient
time for an inspection.

Advantages or disadvantages to the licensees:  The
reduction in regulation should not result in a major change in
the burden of conducting funeral services according to
statutes and regulations.  It should make certain changes in
the practice of the licensee easier, including the
recordkeeping.  By reducing the requirements from three
years to one year, the licensee will no longer be confused
with inconsistent federal and state requirements.

Advantages or disadvantage to the public:  There are no
advantages or disadvantages to the public.

Issue 3:  Reduction in the advertising requirements.

The proposed amended regulations would eliminate the
requirement for publication of the name of an establishment
manager with every advertisement.  Licensees have found
the requirement to be inconvenient and unnecessary.

Advantages or disadvantages to the licensees:   The change
would eliminate one rule which the licensee and the
establishment must now follow in providing and advertising
its services to the public.



Proposed Regulations

Volume 14, Issue 23 Monday, August 3, 1998

3481

Advantages or disadvantage to the public:  Since the
establishment manager is often someone different from the
funeral service licensee who deals with a family in a preneed
or at-need situation, providing the name in an advertisement
is unnecessary for full disclosure.  The licensees of all
funeral service providers must be displayed at the
establishment, and the name of the manager is available to
anyone who inquires.

Issue 4:  Requirement for a reinspection with a change of
ownership.

In a current study pursuant to HJR 553 of the 1997 General
Assembly, it became apparent that the board was often not
fully informed about ownership of an establishment.  The
board became concerned that a change of ownership does in
fact create a new establishment and as such should
necessitate a new inspection.  Other facilities licensed or
permitted by the Department of Health Professions, such as
pharmacies and veterinary hospitals, currently have such a
requirement.

Advantages or disadvantages to the licensees:  For the
licensed establishment that changes its location or its owner,
the proposed amendment would necessitate an increase in
$100 in cost for an inspection.

Advantages or disadvantage to the public:  The board does
not believe that a new inspection is an unreasonable
requirement and should in no way increase the costs of
funeral services.  The required inspection should provide
increased protection for persons working in the facility and
for the public who utilizes its services.

Estimated Impact:

Projected number of persons affected and their cost of
compliance:

The approximate number of licensees affected by these
regulations are as follows:

Funeral establishments 490
Funeral service providers 1,309
Funeral directors 206
Funeral embalmers 9
Courtesy card holders 96
Surface transportation and removal
services

31

There will be no cost for compliance by regulated entities or
their employers. Renewal fees for licenses and registrations
are not being changed; and there are no additional
requirements which would add to the cost of providing
funeral services.  The fee for verification of licensure to
another state is being reduced from $50 to $25.  For
establishments that have a change of location or change of
ownership, the proposed regulations would require a
reinspection of the facility at a cost of $100.  For licensees
who allow their license to lapse for more than one year, there
would be an additional late fee of $25 a year for up to three
years for reinstatement.

Cost to the agency for implementation:  The board will incur
approximately $1,500 in cost for printing and mailing Notices

of Comment and final amended regulations to licensees and
other interested parties.  There will be no additional cost for
conducting a public hearing, which will be held in conjunction
with a scheduled board meeting.  The board does not
anticipate any additional costs for investigations or
administrative proceedings against licensees for violations of
these regulations.

Cost to local governments:  There will be no impact of these
regulations on local government.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13
(94).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property.  The
analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  The proposed
changes to the regulations governing funeral directors and
embalmers are pursuant to review under Executive Order 15
(94).  Most are intended to simplify and clarify these
regulations and do not make any significant changes in the
substantive requirements of the regulations.  A few of the
changes are substantive although none are of major
consequence:

1.  A fee reduction is proposed for verification of
licensure in another state.

2.  A requirement is added for the reinspection of an
establishment following a change in ownership.

3.  The proposal requires that those applying for
licensure by endorsement take the Virginia State Board
Examination.

4.  Required record retention time is reduced to one year
from three years.

Estimated economic impact.  The fee reduction is consistent
with the statutory mandate that fee revenues be set at a level
that covers costs but does not produce any significant net
revenues.  Having fees cover the costs of professional
licensing programs is generally consistent with economic
efficiency.

The quality of service offered at funeral establishments is
probably as dependent on the management and personnel
as it is on the facilities in which the establishment operates.
Thus, a change in management and ownership could have a
large impact on service quality.  Given that the cost of
inspection is small, there is good reason to expect that there
will be a net economic benefit from this change.



Proposed Regulations

Virginia Register of Regulations

3482

Requiring those requesting licensure by endorsement to take
the state board exam is a relatively low cost way of ensuring
that all candidates meet the minimum level of knowledge
required by the regulations.  The alternative is to monitor the
licensing programs in other states to make sure that none of
these have standards that fall below those required in
Virginia.  The approach chosen in this proposal appears to
be the lower cost method of ensuring the minimum level of
skills while still allowing relatively easy access to funeral
practice in Virginia.

Record retention rules are often necessary adjuncts to efforts
to enforce regulatory requirements.  However, retention
periods should be the shortest time period consistent with
effective enforcement of the regulations.  The reduction in
retention times from three years to one year will reduce
compliance costs slightly while not having a significant
impact on enforcement activity.

Businesses and entities affected.  This regulation will have a
small positive impact on those with licenses to offer funeral
services in Virginia.  Currently, that includes 490 funeral
establishments, 1,309 service providers, 206 funeral
directors, 9 funeral embalmers, 96 courtesy card holders,
and 31 surface transportation and remover service providers.
Since the changes do not reduce the level of protection that
consumers receive, there are no significant affects on the
consumers of funeral services, although it is conceivable that
some of the reduced compliance costs could be passed
along to consumers in slightly lower prices.

Localities particularly affected.  The proposed changes will
not have a disproportionate impact on any localities in
Virginia.

Projected impact on employment.  Any projected reductions
in compliance costs are probably too small to have any
measurable or significant impact on employment.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  Lower
compliance costs may raise the value of a license to practice
in this field and may raise the value of owning a funeral
establishment.  However, the change in costs is small and
any impact on the value of these licenses and
establishments will be too small to measure.

Summary of analysis.  The reductions in compliance costs
that will result from these proposed changes represents a net
economic gain to Virginia.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The board concurs
with the fiscal analysis prepared by the Department of
Planning and Budget.

Summary:

In response to the comprehensive review conducted
pursuant to Executive Order 15 (94), the proposed
amendments repeal unnecessary or duplicative
regulations (such as those which restate provisions of
the Code of Virginia or the Funeral Industry Practices
rules of the Federal Trade Commission), simplify current
requirements (such as rules for funeral establishment),

and reduce certain regulatory burdens (such as the
requirements for notification of a change of address or
for the name of the establishment manager to appear on
every advertisement).

PART I.
GENERAL PROVISIONS.

Article 1.
Definitions, Legal Base, Purpose, Applicability.

18 VAC 65-20-10.  Definitions.

Words and terms used in this chapter shall have the
definitions ascribed in § 54.1-2800 of the Code of Virginia or
in 16 CFR Part 453, Funeral Industry Practices of the Federal
Trade Commission, which is incorporated by reference in this
chapter.  In addition, the following words and terms, when
used in this chapter, shall have the following meanings,
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Advertisement" means any information disseminated or
placed before the public.

"Alternate care" means the preparation of a dead human
body, exclusive of embalming, to include bathing and surface
disinfection.

"Alternative container" means a nonmetal receptacle or
enclosure, without ornamentation or a fixed interior lining,
which is designed for the encasement of human remains and
which is made of fiberboard, pressed-wood, composition
materials (with or without an outside covering), or like
materials.

"Applicant" means a person applying for examination
licensure traineeship, or registration, by the board.

"At need" means when death has occurred.

"Board" means the Board of Funeral Directors and
Embalmers.

"Burial garment" means clothing designed specifically for
use on dead human remains.

"Cash advance item" means any item of service or
merchandise described to a purchaser as a cash advance,
accommodation, cash disbursement, or similar term.  A cash
advance item is also any item obtained from a third party
and paid for by the funeral provider on the purchaser's
behalf.  Cash advance items may include, but are not limited
to, cemetery or crematory services, pallbearers, public
transportation, clergy honoraria, flowers, musicians or
singers, nurses, obituary notices, gratuities, and death
certificates.

"Casket" means a rigid container which is designed for the
encasement of human remains and which is usually
constructed of wood, metal, fiberglass, plastic or like
material, and ornamented and lined with fabric.

"Conduct" means to carry out and perform.

"Courtesy card" means the card issued by the board which
grants limited and restricted funeral service privileges in the
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Commonwealth to out-of-state funeral service licensees,
funeral directors, and embalmers.

"Cremation" means a heating process which incinerates
human remains.

"Cremation urn" means a wood, metal, stone, plastic, or
composition container or a container of other material, which
is designed for encasing cremated ashes.

"Cremation vault" or "cremation outer burial container"
means any container which is designed for encasement of
an inner container or urn containing cremated ashes.  Also
known as a cremation box.

"Crematory" means any person, partnership, or
corporation that performs cremation.

"Department" means the Department of Health
Professions.

"Direct cremation" means a disposition of human remains
by cremation, without formal viewing, visitation, or ceremony
with the body present.

"Embalmer" means any person engaged in the practice of
embalming.

"Embalming" means the preservation and disinfection of
the human dead by external or internal application of
chemicals.

"Establishment manager" means a funeral service licensee
or licensed funeral director licensed by the board, designated
as the manager of record who is responsible for the direct
supervision and management of a funeral service
establishment or branch facility.

"Executive director" means the board administrator for the
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers.

"Full-time employment" means employment at the
establishment for 40 hours per week.

"Funeral ceremony" means a service commemorating the
deceased with the body present.

"Funeral directing" means the for-profit profession of
directing or supervising funerals, or preparing human dead
for burial by means other than embalming.

"Funeral director" means any person engaged in the
practice of funeral service.

"Funeral goods" means the goods which are sold or
offered for sale directly to the public for use in connection
with funeral services.  Also known as funeral merchandise.

"Funeral provider" means any person, partnership, or
corporation that sells or offers to sell funeral goods and
funeral services to the public.

"Funeral service" means any service which may be used to
(i) care for and prepare the deceased human bodies for
burial, cremation, or other final disposition; and (ii) arrange,
supervise, or conduct the funeral ceremony or the final
disposition of deceased human bodies.

"Funeral service establishment" means any main
establishment, branch, or chapel where any part of the
profession of funeral directing or the act of embalming is
performed.

"Funeral service licensee" means a person who is licensed
in the practice of funeral service.

"Immediate burial" means a disposition of human remains
by burial, without formal viewing, visitation or ceremony with
the body present, except for a graveside service.

"Outer burial container" means any container which is
designed for placement in the grave around the casket
including, but not limited to, containers commonly known as
burial vaults, grave boxes, and grave liners.

"Person" means any individual, partnership, corporation,
association, government, or governmental subdivision or
agency or other entity.

"Practice of funeral services" means engaging in the care
and disposition of the human dead, the preparation of the
human dead for the funeral service, burial, or cremation, the
making of arrangements for the funeral service or for the
financing of the funeral service and the selling or making of
financial arrangements for the sale of funeral supplies to the
public.

"Preneed" means any time other than at-need.

"Preneed funeral financing" means the arranging of
funding for funeral services prior to death.

"Preneed funeral planning" means the making of funeral
arrangements or selecting of funeral merchandise prior to
death.

"Registration" means the process of applying to the board
to seek approval to serve as a trainee, trainer, or to operate
a surface transportation and removal service.

"Resident trainee" means a person who is preparing to be
licensed for the practice of funeral services under the direct
supervision of a practitioner licensed by the board.

"Services of funeral director and staff" means the basic
services that are furnished by a funeral provider in arranging
any funeral, such as conducting the arrangements
conference, planning the funeral, obtaining necessary
permits, and placing obituary notices.

"Solicitation" means initiating contact with consumers with
the intent of influencing their selection of a funeral plan or a
funeral service provider.

"Surface transportation and removal service" means any
person, private business, or funeral service establishment,
except a common carrier engaged in interstate commerce,
the Commonwealth and its agencies, engaged in the
business of surface transportation or removal of dead human
bodies in the Commonwealth.

“FTC” means the Federal Trade Commission.
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18 VAC 65-20-20.  Legal base. (Repealed.)

The following legal base describes the responsibility of the
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers regulations
governing funeral service in the Commonwealth:

Title 54.1, Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.);

Title 54.1, Chapter 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.);

Title 54.1, Chapter 25 (§ 54.1-2500 et seq.);

Title 54.1, Chapter 28 (§ 54.1-2800 et seq.);

Title 32.1, Chapter 7, Article 4 (§ 32.1-263 et seq.);

Title 32.1, Chapter 7, § 32.1-274;

Title 32.1, Chapter 8 (§ 32.1-277 et seq.); and

Title 11, Chapter 5 (§§ 11-24 et seq.) of the Code of
Virginia; and § 453.1 (b)-(d), (f), (g)-(j), (k), (m)-(p)
through § 453.9 of the Federal Trade Commission's
Funeral Industry Rule.

18 VAC 65-20-30.  Purpose. (Repealed.)

This chapter establish the standards for qualifications,
training, examination, licensure, and practice of persons as
funeral service licensees; funeral directors; embalmers;
funeral establishments; funeral service trainees; and surface
transportation and removal services operating in the
Commonwealth.

18 VAC 65-20-40.  Applicability. (Repealed.)

Individuals and establishments subject to this chapter are
(i) funeral directors, (ii) embalmers, (iii) funeral service
licensees, (iv) funeral establishments, (v) transportation and
removal services, and (vi) resident trainees.

EXEMPTIONS:  The provisions of this chapter shall not
apply to any officer of local or state institutions or to the
burial of the bodies of inmates of state institutions when
buried at the expense of the Commonwealth or any of its
political subdivisions.

Any person holding a license as a funeral director or
embalmer or an equivalent in another state, having
substantially similar requirements as the board, may apply to
the board for courtesy card privileges to remove bodies from
and to arrange funerals or embalm bodies in this
Commonwealth.  However, these privileges shall not include
the right to establish or engage generally in the business of
funeral directing and embalming in Virginia.

PART II.
OPERATIONAL RESPONSIBILITIES.

Article 1.
Posting of License.

18 VAC 65-20-50.  Posting of license.

A.  Each licensee shall post his an original or photocopy of
his license, photocopy of his original license, or a duplicate
license obtained from the board in a main entrance or place

conspicuous to the public in each establishment or branch
where he is employed.

B.  The establishment license shall be posted in a main
entrance of the establishment or place conspicuous to the
public.

C.  Each licensee shall be able to produce his wallet
license upon request.

Article 2.
Records.

18 VAC 65-20-60.  Accuracy of information.

A.  All changes of mailing address, name, place of
employment, or change in establishment ownership,
manager, or name shall be furnished to the board within five
30 days after the change occurs.

B.  All notices required by law and by this chapter to be
mailed by the board to any registrant or licensee shall be
validly given when mailed to the latest address on file with
the board and shall not relieve the licensee, trainee,
establishment, or firm of obligation to comply.

PART III.
FEES.

18 VAC 65-20-70.  Initial Required fees.

A.  The following fees shall be paid as applicable for initial
licensure or registration.  For resident trainee fees see the
board's regulations entitled Resident Trainee Program for
Funeral Service (18 VAC 65-40-10 et seq.). apply for initial
licensure or registration and for renewal of licensure or
registration:

1.  Examination                                                       $100;

2. 1.  License to practice funeral service or as a funeral
director or an embalmer $100;

3. 2.  Funeral service establishment license $150;

4. 3.  Surface transportation and removal service
registration $200;

5. 4.  Courtesy card $50;

B.  Other fees.

1.  Reinstatement fee per year for each year of licensure
expiration $25

6. 2.  Change of ownership, manager, or establishment
name $15;

7. 3.  Verification of license when applying for licensure
in or registration to another state

$50; 25

8.  Verification of license when applying for courtesy
card in another state                                                   $5;

9.  Resumption of traineeship after interruption         $10.

4.  Duplicate license, registration, courtesy card $25
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5.  Duplicate wall certificates $50

6.  Change of ownership $100

7.  Reinspection for change of location or ownership$100

18 VAC 65-20-80.  Renewal fees. (Repealed.)

The following annual fees shall be paid as applicable for
license renewal.  For resident trainee renewal fees see the
board's regulations entitled Resident Trainee Program for
Funeral Service (18 VAC 65-40-10 et seq.).

1.  Funeral service license payable by March 31      $100;

2.  Funeral director license payable by March 31     $100;

3.  Embalmer license payable by March 31             $100;

4.  Funeral service establishment license payable by
January 31                                                             $150;

5.  Surface transportation and removal service
registration payable by January 31                          $200;

6.  Courtesy cards payable by December 31             $50.

18 VAC 65-20-90.  Reinstatement fees. (Repealed.)

The following reinstatement fees shall be paid in addition
to annual renewal fees for reinstatement of license or
registration up to three years following expiration.  For
resident trainee reinstatement fees see the board's
regulations entitled Resident Trainee Program for Funeral
Service (18 VAC 65-40-10 et seq.).

1.  Funeral service, director, or embalmer reinstatement
                                                                                $25;

2.  Establishment reinstatement                                $25;

3.  Transportation and removal service reinstatement
                                                                                $25.

18 VAC 65-20-100.  Other fees. (Repealed.)

Duplicate trainee registrations, surface transportation and
removal registrations, licenses, establishment licenses, or
courtesy cards shall be issued by the board at the
individual's request.

1.  Duplicate license, registration, courtesy card        $25;

2.  Duplicate wall certificates                                     $50.

18 VAC 65-20-110.  Additional fee information.

A.  There shall be a fee of $25 for returned checks.

B.  Fees shall not be refunded once submitted.

C.  The fee for the Virginia State Board Examination shall
be paid directly to the examination service contracted by the
board for its administration.

PART IV II.
RENEWALS AND REINSTATEMENT.

18 VAC 65-20-120.  Expiration dates.

A.  For resident trainee expiration dates see regulations
entitled Resident Trainee Program for Funeral Service
(18 VAC 65-40-10 et seq.).

B.  The following  A.  A funeral service establishment
license or surface transportation and removal service
registration shall expire on January 31 of each calendar year:

1.  Funeral service establishment license; and

2.  Surface transportation and removal service
registration.

C. B.  The following funeral service license, funeral director
license, or embalmer license shall expire on March 31 of
each calendar year:

1.  Funeral service license;

2.  Funeral director license; and

3.  Embalmer license.

D. C.  Courtesy cards expire on December 31 of each
calendar year.

E.  A person who or establishment which fails to renew a
license, registraton, or courtesy card by the expiration dates
prescribed in this section shall be deemed to have an invalid
license, registration, or courtesy card.

18 VAC 65-20-130.  Renewal of license; registration.

A.  A person, establishment, or surface transportation and
removal service who desires to renew his license or
registration for the next year shall, not later than the
expiration date shall: , submit the renewal application and
applicable fee.

1.  Return the renewal notice;

2.  Submit the applicable fee prescribed in 18 VAC
65-20-80; and

3.  Notify the board of any changes in name, address,
employment, managers, or ownership.

B.  A person who or establishment which fails to renew a
license, registration, or courtesy card by the expiration dates
prescribed in 18 VAC 65-20-120 shall be deemed to have an
invalid license, registration, or courtesy card and continued
practice may subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the
board.

18 VAC 65-20-140.  Reinstatement of expired license or
registration.

The board may consider reinstatement of an expired
license or registration for up to three years following
expiration.  A written application request for reinstatement
shall be submitted to the board and shall include payment of
all applicable delinquent renewal fees prescribed in 18 VAC
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65-20-80 plus and the additional reinstatement fee
prescribed in 18 VAC 65-20-90 18 VAC 65-20-70.

18 VAC 65-20-150.  Reapplication of license.

When a license is not reinstated within three years of its
expiration date, an applicant for licensure shall: reapply for
licensure and pass the state examination.

1.  Reapply for licensure; and

2.  Reapply for state examination.

PART V III.
REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE.

Article 1.
Establishments:  General Qualifications.

18 VAC 65-20-160.  General qualifications of
establishments. (Repealed.)

All places of business in the Commonwealth, including
main establishments, branches or chapels, where any part of
the profession or business of funeral directing or any act of
embalming, either or both, is carried on, conducted, or
performed, is permitted to be carried on, conducted, or
performed, and where preneed funeral arrangements are
conducted, shall be:

1.  Subject to regulation and inspection by the board;

2.  Operated in accordance with law; and

3.  Maintained in compliance with this chapter.

18 VAC 65-20-170.  Requirements for an establishment
license required.

A.  No person shall maintain, manage, or operate a funeral
service establishment in the Commonwealth, unless such
establishment holds a license issued by the board in the
name of the funeral service licensee or licensed funeral
director designated by the ownership to be manager of the
establishment.

B.  Except as provided in § 54.1-2810 of the Code of
Virginia, every funeral service establishment and every
branch or chapel of such establishment, regardless of how
owned, shall have a separate establishment manager who is
employed full time by the establishment for at least 40 hours
a week.

C.  Prior to opening an establishment, an owner or
licensed manager seeking an establishment license shall
submit simultaneously a completed application, any additional
documentation as may be required by the board to determine
eligibility, and the applicable fee. An incomplete package will
be returned to the licensee.  A license shall not be issued
until an inspection of the establishment has been completed
and approved.

D.  Within 30 days following a change of ownership, the
owner or licensed manager shall notify the board, request a
reinspection of the establishment, submit an application for a

new establishment license, and pay the licensure and
reinspection fees as required by 18 VAC 65-20-70.

18 VAC 65-20-180.  Current license requirements.
(Repealed.)

The license shall be:

1.  For the current calendar year; and

2.  In the name of the funeral service licensee or
licensed funeral director designated by the ownership to
be manager of the establishment.

18 VAC 65-20-190.  Manager-of-record required.
(Repealed.)

Every funeral service establishment and every branch or
chapel of such establishment in the Commonwealth,
regardless of how owned, shall have a separate funeral
service licensee or funeral director licensed by the board who
is employed full time at the establishment and is designated
as manager of the establishment.

18 VAC 65-20-200.  Expiration of establishment licenses.
(Repealed.)

Establishment licenses shall expire January 31 of each
calendar year (see subsections B and E of 18 VAC
65-20-120 and 18 VAC 65-20-130 through 18 VAC
65-20-150 for renewal information).

Article 2.

Funeral Service, Funeral Directors, and Embalmers:
General Qualifications.

18 VAC 65-20-210.  License required; exception.
(Repealed.)

No person shall engage in the practice of funeral service,
or practice as a funeral director or embalmer in the
Commonwealth without having the required license issued
by the board.

EXCEPTION:  A registered trainee may perform such acts
only in strict conformity with the provisions of this chapter
and the chapter entitled Resident Trainee Program for
Funeral Service (18 VAC 65-40-10 et seq.).

18 VAC 65-20-220.  Expiration of licenses. (Repealed.)

With the exception of trainees, licenses shall expire on
March 31 of each calendar year (see subsections C and E of
18 VAC 65-20-120 and 18 VAC 65-20-130 through 18 VAC
65-20-150 for renewal information).  (See chapter entitled
Resident Trainee Program for Funeral Service, 18 VAC
65-40-10 et seq.)

18 VAC 65-20-230.  Requirement for license. (Repealed.)

To be licensed for the practice of funeral service, a person
shall:

1.  Be at least 18 years of age;

2.  Be a graduate of a high school or the equivalent;
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3.  Have completed traineeship and be a graduate from
a school of mortuary science or funeral service
approved by the board;

4.  Pass the required state and national examinations;
and

5.  Not have been convicted of a felony.  The board, in
its discretion, may license an individual convicted of a
felony if he has been pardoned or has had his civil rights
restored.

Article 3.
Application Process.

18 VAC 65-20-235.  Approval of educational programs.

All applicants for funeral service licensure are required to
have graduated from a funeral service program offered by a
school of mortuary science or funeral service accredited by
the American Board of Funeral Service Education,
Incorporated.

18 VAC 65-20-240.  Requirements for funeral service
applicants licensure by examination.

An individual seeking licensure for funeral service or
seeking examination/reexamination shall submit
simultaneously:

1.  Completed and signed application;

2.  Additional documentation as may be required by the
board to determine eligibility of the applicant; and

3.  The applicable fee of fees prescribed in subdivision 1
of 18 VAC 65-20-70.

A.  Application requirements.

1.  With the exception of school transcripts and national
examination board scores, all parts of an application
package, including the required fee and any additional
documentation as may be required to determine
eligibility, shall be submitted simultaneously.

2.  An individual applying for the state examination shall
submit the application package within six months and not
less than 45 days prior to an examination date. The
board may, for good cause shown by the applicant,
waive the time for the filing of any application.

B.  National examination requirements.  Prior to applying
for licensure by examination, every applicant shall pass the
National Board Examination of the Conference of Funeral
Service Examining Boards of the United States, Inc.,
administered in accredited schools of embalming or mortuary
science.

C.  State examination requirements.  All applicants shall
pass the Virginia State Board Examination.

18 VAC 65-20-250.  Application package; exception.
(Repealed.)

All required parts of the application package shall be
submitted at the same time.  An incomplete package will be
returned to the licensee.

EXCEPTION:  Some schools require that certified
transcripts be sent directly to the licensing authority.  That
policy is acceptable to the board.  National examination
scores will also be accepted from the examining authority.

18 VAC 65-20-260.  Date of submission of application
package. (Repealed.)

An individual applying for examination shall submit the
application package within six months and not less than 45
days prior to an examination date.

18 VAC 65-20-270.  Establishment applicants.
(Repealed.)

Not less than 45 days prior to opening of an
establishment, an owner or licensed manager seeking an
establishment license shall submit simultaneously:

1.  Completed and signed application;

2.  Additional documentation as may be required by the
board to determine eligibility for licensure; and

3.  The applicable fee prescribed in subdivision 3 of
18 VAC 65-20-70.

18 VAC 65-20-280.  Incomplete application package.
(Repealed.)

All required parts of the application package shall be
submitted at the same time.  An incomplete package will be
returned to the licensee.

18 VAC 65-20-290.  Waiver of time limits. (Repealed.)

The board may for good cause, waive the time
requirement in 18 VAC 65-20-260 and 18 VAC 65-20-270 for
the filing of any application.  The burden of proof which
demonstrates good cause rests with the applicant.

Article 4.
General Examination Requirements.

18 VAC 65-20-300.  National Board examination required.
(Repealed.)

Prior to applying for state examination for licensure, every
applicant for initial licensure by the board shall pass the
National Board Examination of the Conference of Funeral
Service Examining Boards of the United States, Inc.,
administered in accredited schools of embalming or
mortuary science.

18 VAC 65-20-310.  Virginia State Board examination.
(Repealed.)

All applicants shall pass the Virginia State Board
Examination.
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18 VAC 65-20-320.  Failure to appear. (Repealed.)

The applicant shall forfeit the Virginia State Board
Examination fee if he is unable to sit for the examination for
any reason.

18 VAC 65-20-330.  Reexamination. (Repealed.)

Any person failing the Virginia State Board Examination
shall reapply for a subsequent examination, and shall pay
the examination fee prescribed in subdivision 1 of 18 VAC
65-20-70 for each application filed.

18 VAC 65-20-340.  Scheduling examinations.
(Repealed.)

A.  An applicant may request to take the scheduled
Virginia State Board Examination most closely preceding the
expected completion of the mortuary school, if traineeship
has also been completed, or traineeship, if mortuary school
has been completed.  Successful completion of all
requirements shall mean that the applicant can provide
documentation of completion of the qualifications within the
month following the examination date.  Examination scores
shall not be released until documentation of successful
completion is received in the board office.  Failure to submit
documentation of successful completion within the month
following the examination date for any reason shall require
that the applicant retake the examination and resubmit the
examination fee.  The previous examination shall be
considered void.

B.  All such requests to take the scheduled Virginia State
Board Examination early shall be in writing and the written
request shall be accompanied by the complete application
package (18 VAC 65-20-240 through 18 VAC 65-20-250)
and shall comply with the deadline requirement in 18 VAC
65-20-260.

Article 5.
Licensure of Out-of-State Applicants.

18 VAC 65-20-350.  Out-of-state applicants Requirements
for licensure by reciprocity or endorsement.

A.  Licenses for the practice of funeral service or its
equivalent issued by other states, territories, or the District of
Columbia may be recognized by the board and the holder of
such license or licenses may be granted a license to practice
funeral service within the Commonwealth, as follows:

1.  Reciprocity.  Licenses may be granted by reciprocity
provided that the same privileges are granted by the
other jurisdiction to Virginia funeral service licensees by
the establishment of substantially similar licensure
requirements and reciprocity agreements between the
two jurisdictions; or

2.  Endorsement.  Licenses may be granted to
applicants by the board on a case-by-case basis, if the
applicant holds a valid license for the practice of funeral
service or its equivalent in another state, territory, or the
District of Columbia and possesses credentials which
are substantially similar to, or more stringent than
required by the Commonwealth for initial licensure and

the examinations and passing grades received by the
applicant are equivalent to those required by the board.

B.  An applicant for licensure by reciprocity or endorsement
shall pass the Virginia State Board Examination.

18 VAC 65-20-360.  State examination required.
(Repealed.)

An out-of-state applicant for board licensure shall pass the
Virginia State Board Examination (See 18 VAC 65-20-310).

PART VI.
TRAINEE PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS.

18 VAC 65-20-370.  Resident trainee requirements and
application. (Repealed.)

To be approved for registration as a resident trainee, a
person shall comply with the board's regulations entitled
Resident Trainee Program for Funeral Service (18 VAC
65-40-10 et seq.).

18 VAC 65-20-380.  Apprenticeship training, training
sites, and supervision. (Repealed.)

Applicants, training sites, and training supervisors shall
comply with the board's regulations entitled Resident Trainee
Program for Funeral Service (18 VAC 65-40-10 et seq.).

18 VAC 65-20-390.  Curriculum compliance. (Repealed.)

An approved supervisor and resident trainee shall comply
with the training program developed by the board for the
traineeship and shall provide supervision and training as
prescribed by the regulations of the board entitled Resident
Trainee Program for Funeral Services (18 VAC 65-40-10 et
seq.).

PART VII IV.
REGISTRATION.

Article 1.
Surface Transportation and Removal Services.

18 VAC 65-20-400.  Registration of surface
transportation and removal services.

A.  Every surface transportation and removal service not
licensed under an establishment license issued by the board
shall be registered with the board.

B.  All persons proposing applying to own or operate and
each owner of a surface transportation and removal service,
according to requirements of § 54.1-2819 of the Code of
Virginia, shall submit an application package for registration
which shall include:

1.  Completed and signed application;

2.  Fee prescribed in subdivision 4 3 of 18 VAC
65-20-70; and

3.  Additional documentation as may be required by the
board to determine eligibility of the applicant.
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18 VAC 65-20-410.  Exclusion from jurisdiction.
(Repealed.)

The following shall not be within the jurisdiction of surface
transportation and removal services:

1.  Arranging or conducting funerals;

2.  Offering to or providing for the care or preparation,
including embalming, of dead human bodies; and

3.  Selling or providing funeral related goods and
services.

18 VAC 65-20-430.  Expiration of registration. (Repealed.)

The registration shall expire on January 31 of each
calendar year (see subsections B and E of 18 VAC
65-20-120 and 18 VAC 65-20-130 through 18 VAC
65-20-150 for renewal information).

PART VIII V.
ISSUANCE OF COURTESY CARDS.

18 VAC 65-20-440.  Courtesy cards.

A.  An out-of-state person applying for a courtesy card
pursuant to § 54.1-2801 B of the Code of Virginia shall hold a
valid license for funeral service, funeral directing, or
embalming in another state, territory, or the District of
Columbia.

B.  The other state shall have requirements for licensure
substantially similar to those existing in the Commonwealth
of Virginia.

B.  An applicant for a courtesy card shall submit:

1.  A completed application and prescribed fee; and

2.  Verification of a current license in good standing from
the applicant’s licensing authority.

18 VAC 65-20-450.  Application for courtesy card.
(Repealed.)

An application to this board for a courtesy card shall be:

1.  Submitted for approval to the licensing authority
having jurisdiction at the applicant's place of
employment; and

2.  Forwarded by the designated official of such
authority, to the board.  The certificate of approval and
the fee prescribed in subdivision 5 of 18 VAC 65-20-70
shall be included.

18 VAC 65-20-460.  Courtesy card privileges. (Repealed.)

A courtesy card permits the holder to:

1.  Remove bodies from Virginia;

2.  Arrange funerals in Virginia; and

3.  Embalm bodies in Virginia.

18 VAC 65-20-470.  Exceptions to privileges. (Repealed.)

The privileges of a courtesy card do not include:

1.  The right to establish or engage generally in the
business of funeral directing and embalming in the
Commonwealth; and

2.  The right of the recipient to be continuously
employed professionally by a funeral establishment in
the Commonwealth.

18 VAC 65-20-480.  Expiration of courtesy card.
(Repealed.)

A courtesy card shall expire on December 31 of the year of
issuance.

PART IX.
SCHOOLS OF EMBALMING AND MORTUARY SCIENCE.

18 VAC 65-20-490.  Approval. (Repealed.)

The board hereby adopts as its approved school list those
mortuary science or funeral service schools which are
accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service
Education, Incorporated.  All applicants for licensure are
required to have graduated from a funeral service program
offered by an approved school of mortuary science or funeral
service.

PART X VI.
REFUSAL, SUSPENSION, REVOCATION, AND

DISCIPLINARY ACTION.

18 VAC 65-20-500.  Disciplinary action.

The board may refuse to admit a candidate to any exam;
refuse to issue or renew a license, registration, or approval to
any applicant; and may suspend for a stated period of time
or indefinitely, or revoke any license or approval, or
reprimand any person, or place his license on probation with
such terms and conditions and for such time as it may
designate, or impose a monetary penalty for any of the
following causes In accordance with the provisions of § 54.1-
2806 of the Code of Virginia, the following practices are
considered unprofessional conduct and may subject the
licensee to disciplinary action by the board:

1.  Breach of confidence.  Licensees and registrants are
necessarily brought within the privacy of those whom
they serve and are often placed in positions where they
receive confidences and learn intimate details of
domestic life and family secrets.  The unnecessary or
unwarranted disclosure of such confidences by the
funeral licensee in the course of practice shall be
determined to be an act of unprofessional conduct.

2.  Unfair competition.

a.  Interference by a funeral service licensee, funeral
director, or registered surface transportation and
removal service shall not interfere when another has
been called to take charge of a dead human body and
the caller or agent of the caller has the legal right to
the body's disposition.

b.  Consent by a funeral service licensee or funeral
director shall not consent to take charge of a body
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unless authorized by the person or his agent having
the legal right to disposition.

3.  False advertising.

a.  No licensee or registrant shall make, publish,
disseminate, circulate or place before the public, or
cause directly or indirectly to be made, an
advertisement of any sort regarding services or
anything so offered to the public which contains any
promise, assertion, representation, or statement of
fact which is untrue, deceptive, or misleading.

b.  The following practices, both written and verbal,
shall constitute false, deceptive, or misleading
advertisement within the meaning of subdivision 4 of
§ 54.1-2806.4 of the Code of Virginia:

(1) Advertising containing inaccurate statements;
and

(2) Aired or published advertisements which do not
disclose the name of the establishment manager or
licensed owner when the owner is a licensee; and

(3) (2) Advertisement which gives a false
impression as to ability, care, and cost of
conducting a funeral, or that creates an impression
of things not likely to be true.

c.  The following practices are among those which
shall constitute an untrue, deceptive, and misleading
representation or statement of fact:

(1) Representing that funeral goods or services will
delay the natural decomposition of human remains
for a long term or indefinite time; and

(2) Representing that funeral goods have protective
features or will protect the body from gravesite
substances over or beyond that offered by the
written warranty of the manufacturer.

4.  Inappropriate handling of dead human bodies.

a.  At all times human bodies are to be handled with
proper dignity and respect in conformity with the
customs of the community being served.

b.  During the removal of a dead human body, proper
care shall be given to prevent the spread of infectious
and contagious diseases.

c.  All dead human bodies shall be properly wrapped
and placed on a cot or stretcher which is
self-contained and covered so that no part of the
human body is visible to the public.

d.  Transportation and removal vehicles shall be of such
nature as to eliminate exposure of the deceased to the
public during transportation.

e.  During the transporting of a human body,
consideration shall be taken to avoid unnecessary
delays or stops during travel.

5.  Obtaining a license or registration by fraud, either in
the application for the license or in passing the
examination.

6.  Conviction of a felony.

7.  Failure to comply with any regulations of the board.

8.  Failure to comply with federal, state, or local laws
and regulations governing the operation of a funeral
establishment.

5.  Failure to furnish price information disclosing the cost
to the purchaser for each of the specific funeral goods
and funeral services used in connection with the
disposition of deceased human bodies.

9. 6.  Conducting the practice of funeral services in such
a manner as to constitute a danger to the health, safety,
and well-being of the staff or the public.

10. 7.  Inability to practice with skill or safety because of
physical, mental, or emotional illness, or substance
abuse.

11.  Unprofessional conduct.

PART XI VII.
STANDARDS FOR EMBALMING.

Article 1.
General.

18 VAC 65-20-510.  Embalming report.

Every funeral establishment shall record and maintain a
separate, identifiable report on a form as prescribed in
Appendix IV for each embalming procedure conducted (see
18 VAC 65-20-700 and Appendix IV).

18 VAC 65-20-520.  Contents of embalming report.
(Repealed.)

The report shall contain the following (see example in
Appendix IV):

1.  Name of deceased;

2.  Date of death;

3.  Date of embalming;

4.  Name of embalmer and license number;

5.  Autopsy information where applicable;

6.  Preembalming condition of body;

7.  Description of preembalming preparation;

8.  Description of fluids used;

9.  Type and point of injection;

10.  Quality of fluid distribution;

11.  Type and amount of cavity fluid;

12.  Body cavity treatment;

13.  Restoration techniques; and
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14.  Other conditions and treatments.

18 VAC 65-20-530.  Documentation of embalming.

A licensee who proceeds with an embalming without prior
approval from a family member or other person shall: 1.
document the reasons for proceeding in writing; 2.
Document the reasons for the proceeding, the efforts made
to contact the family or authorized person; 3.  Document and
the licensee authorizing the embalming; and 4. Obtain
subsequent.  Subsequently, approval for the embalming shall
be obtained from a family member or other authorized
person.

Article 2.
Preparation Room.

18 VAC 65-20-540.  Preparation room required
requirements.

A.  Every funeral service establishment at which
embalming of dead human bodies is performed shall have at
least one room used exclusively for embalming or
preparation of the body.

18 VAC 65-20-550.  Size of preparation room.

The preparation room shall be of a size to accommodate
the average number of embalmings being performed
simultaneously at the facility.

18 VAC 65-20-560.  Preparation room requirements.

B.  The following are required of the preparation room or
rooms:

1.  The walls shall extend floor to ceiling;

2. 1.  The floor and wall surfaces shall be of a material
or covered by a material impervious to water; and

3. 2.  The material shall extend from wall to wall with all
joints tight and sanitary; and.

4.  No other room shall be used for the performance of any
function C.  All functions connected with embalming shall be
performed within the preparation room.

Article 3.
Equipment.

18 VAC 65-20-580.  Preparation room equipment.

A.  The preparation room or rooms shall be equipped with:

1.  A ventilation system which operates and is
appropriate to the size and function of the room;

2.  Running hot and cold water;

3.  Flush or slop sink connected with public sewer or
with septic tank where no public sewer is available;

4.  Metal or porcelain morgue table;

5.  Covered waste container;

6.  Instruments and apparatus for the embalming
process;

7.  A means or method for the sterilization of reusable
instruments by: a. chemical bath or soak; b. autoclave
(steam); or c. ultraviolet light.;

8.  Disinfectants and antiseptic solutions;

9.  Clean gowns or aprons, preferably impervious to
water;

10.  Rubber gloves for each embalmer or trainee using
the room;

11.  A hydroaspirator or hydroaspirators equipped with a
vacuum breaker; and

12.  An eye wash station; and

13.  A standard first aid kit which is immediately
accessible.

Article 4.
Prevention of Spread of Disease.

18 VAC 65-20-590.  Disposal of waste materials.

At the completion of each embalming operation all used
cotton, bandages, and other Disposal of all waste materials
shall be disposed of properly in conformity with local, state,
and federal law to avoid contagion and the possible spread
of disease.

18 VAC 65-20-600.  Separate restroom facility required.
(Repealed.)

Every funeral service establishment or branch facility shall
be equipped with a sanitary restroom facility which operates
and is separate from the preparation room.

18 VAC 65-20-610.  First aid kit required. (Repealed.)

A standard first aid kit shall be immediately accessible
outside the door to the preparation room.

PART XII VIII.
PRICING STANDARDS AND FORMS.

Article 1.
General.

18 VAC 65-20-620.  Disclosure of price of funeral goods
and services. (Repealed.)

In selling or offering to sell funeral goods or funeral
services to the public, it is an unfair or deceptive act or
practice for a funeral provider to fail to furnish price
information disclosing the cost to the purchaser for each of
the specific funeral goods and funeral services used in
connection with the disposition of deceased human bodies.

18 VAC 65-20-630.  Disclosures.

Funeral providers must shall make all required disclosures
in a clear and conspicuous manner as follows: and provide
accurate information from price lists pursuant to the rules of
the Federal Trade Commission.  Price lists shall comply with
requirements of FTC and shall contain the information
included in Appendices I, II, and III.
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1.  Telephone price disclosures.  Persons who ask by
telephone about the funeral provider's offerings and
prices shall be given accurate information over the
telephone from the price lists (described in Articles 2
and 3 of this part) which reasonably answers the
questions and which is readily available.

2.  In person price disclosures.

a.  General price list.

(1) Persons who inquire in person about funeral
arrangements or the prices of funeral goods or
funeral services shall be given a printed or
typewritten general price list to retain if they choose.

(2) The funeral provider shall offer a typewritten or
printed general price list upon beginning discussion
either of funeral goods and services, the overall type
of funeral goods and services, or specific funeral
goods and services.

b.  Itemized statement.

(1) Licensees shall furnish to each person who
arranges a funeral or other disposition of human
remains, a copy of a typewritten or printed itemized
written statement of the funeral goods and services
selected by that person and the prices to be paid for
each item.

(2) The itemized statement of funeral goods and
services shall be given no later than the conclusion
of the arrangement discussion.

c.  Casket price list and outer burial container price
lists.

(1) A typewritten or printed casket price list and an
outer burial container price list shall be shown to
consumers who inquire in person about the
offerings or prices of caskets and outer burial
containers.

EXCEPTION:  If the complete casket price list and
outer burial container price list are a part of the
general price list, a separate casket price list and
outer burial container price list do not have to be
available.

(2) The casket price list and outer burial container
price list shall be offered or shown upon beginning
the discussion of caskets and outer burial
containers and before showing the containers to the
consumer.

Article 2.
General Price List.

18 VAC 65-20-640.  Identifying information. (Repealed.)

The general price list shall contain at least the following:

1.  The name, address, and telephone number of the
funeral provider's place of business;

2.  A caption describing the list as a "general price list";
and

3.  The effective date for the price list.

18 VAC 65-20-650.  Prices. (Repealed.)

A.  Funeral service establishments shall include on the
general price list, in any order, the retail prices, expressed
either as the flat fee, or as the price per hour, mile, or other
unit of computation, for all services and supplies offered for
sale.

B.  A funeral service establishment shall charge fees only
for services of funeral director and staff, other funeral goods
and services selected by the purchaser and other funeral
goods and services required to be purchased by law or by a
cemetery or crematory.

C.  The following 16 items are required to be on the
general price list with a charge if the funeral home offers
these particular funeral goods and services:

1.  Basic professional services of funeral director and
staff;

2.  Use of facilities and staff for viewing and visitation;

3.  Use of facilities and staff for funeral ceremony;

4.  Staff and facilities for memorial service;

5.  Equipment and staff for graveside services;

6.  Embalming;

7.  Transfer of remains to funeral home;

8.  Forwarding of remains to another funeral home;

9.  Receiving of remains from another funeral home;

10.  Direct cremation;

11.  Immediate burial;

12.  Hearse;

13.  Limousine;

14.  Other automotive equipment;

15.  Casket price range; and

16.  Outer burial container price range.

D.  If a funeral service establishment offers funeral goods
and services in addition to the 16 required items, each shall
be listed with a charge on the general price list.

E.  Casket, outer burial container, cremation urn, and
cremation vault handling fees shall not be charged to the
consumer who provides a container.

F.  A funeral service establishment shall not condition the
furnishing of any funeral merchandise or service to a person
arranging a funeral upon the purchase of any other item of
service or merchandise.
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18 VAC 65-20-660.  Disclosures. (Repealed.)

The following general disclosures shall be placed on the
first page of the general price list.  Note:  subdivision 2 of
this section is optional.

1.  "The goods and services shown below are those we
can provide to our customers.  You may choose only the
items you desire.  However, any funeral arrangements
you select will include a charge for our basic services
and overhead.  If legal or other requirements mean you
must buy any items you did not specifically ask for, we
will explain the reason in writing on the statement we
provide describing the funeral goods and services you
selected."

2.  OPTIONAL:  "This list does not include prices for
certain items that you may ask us to buy for you such as
cemetery or crematory services, flowers, and newspaper
notices.  The prices for these items will be shown on
your bill or the statement describing the funeral goods
and services you selected."

18 VAC 65-20-670.  Required items. (Repealed.)

The required items in subsection C of 18 VAC 65-20-650
shall be itemized with appropriate disclosures as follows if
the funeral service establishment offers these items to the
public:

1.  Basic professional services of funeral director and
staff.

a.  Basic services of funeral director and staff is the
only item on the general price list which may be a
nondeclinable charge to the consumer.  This fee shall
be listed as a separate fee or may be included in the
cost of caskets or disbursed throughout the other
items on the general price list.

b.  Basic services of funeral director and staff shall
include, but not be limited to, basic overhead,
administrative fees, and use of basic facilities.

c.  A complete description of the funeral goods and
services included under basic services of funeral
director and staff shall be listed.

d.  Disclosures.  If the charges above are mandatory
and cannot be declined by the purchaser, one of the
following statements shall be included on the price
list:

(1) "This fee for our basic services and overhead
will be added to the total cost of the funeral
arrangements you select.  This fee is already
included in our charges for direct cremations,
immediate burials, and forwarding or receiving
remains;" or

(2) "Please note that a fee of $  for the use of our
basic services and overhead is included in the price
of our caskets.  This same fee shall be added to the
total cost of your funeral arrangements if you
provide the casket.  Our services include:  .  .  .  .  "

2.  Funeral home facilities.

a.  Facilities and staff for visitation and viewing.

b.  Facilities and staff for funeral ceremony.

c.  Facilities and staff for memorial service.

d.  If the funeral service establishment has a separate
charge for manhours for viewing/visitation at a church
or home, the charge shall be added as a separate line
item.

e.  If the funeral service establishment has a fee for
extra staff over and above the usual number for a
viewing/visitation or service, the charge shall be
added as a separate line item.

3.  Embalming services.

a.  Separate prices shall be listed for embalming
normal remains versus autopsied remains if the
charges are different.

b.  Disclosures.  The following disclosures shall be
placed in immediate conjunction with the embalming
section on the general price list:

"Embalming is not required by law.  Embalming
may be necessary, however, if you select certain
funeral arrangements, such as a funeral with
viewing.  If you do not want embalming, you usually
have the right to choose an arrangement which
does not require you to pay for it, such as direct
cremation or immediate burial."

4.  Immediate burials.

a.  A price range shall be listed for immediate burial.

b.  A complete description of the funeral goods and
services offered under this category shall be listed.

c.  A list of the following immediate burial services
shall be placed on the general price list:

(1) Immediate burial with container provided by the
purchaser; and

(2) Immediate burial with alternative container.

5.  Direct cremations.

a.  A price range shall be listed for direct cremation.

b.  A complete description of the funeral goods and
services offered under this category shall be listed.

c.  A list of the following direct cremation services
shall be placed on the general price list:

(1) Direct cremation with container provided by
purchaser; and

(2) Direct cremation with alternative container.

d.  Disclosures.  The following disclosure shall be
placed on the general price list in immediate
conjunction with the direct cremation category:  "State
and local laws do not require a casket for direct
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cremation.  If you want to arrange a direct cremation,
you can use an alternative container.  Alternative
containers encase the body and can be made of
materials like fiberboard or composition materials
(with or without an outside covering).  The containers
we provide are (blank) containers."

Note:  The funeral services establishment shall fill in
the blank with the specific types of alternative
containers offered.

6.  Transfer of remains to funeral home.  A complete
description of the funeral goods and services offered
under this category shall be listed.

7.  Forwarding remains to another funeral
establishment.  A complete description of the funeral
goods and services offered under this category shall be
listed.

8.  Receiving remains from another funeral home.  A
complete description of the funeral goods and services
offered under this category shall be listed.

9.  Automotive services.

a.  A list of the following automotive services shall be
placed on the general price list if owned by the facility:

(1) Hearse;

(2) Limousine; and

(3) Other automotive equipment.

b.  Any of these items that are obtained through a
third party shall be shown under cash advance items
on the itemized statement of goods and services.

10.  Funeral merchandise.

a.  Casket with a price range.

b.  Outer burial containers with a price range.

c.  Disclosures.  The following disclosure shall be
placed on the general price list under caskets and
outer burial containers:

"A complete price list will be provided at the funeral
home."

Article 3.
Outer Burial Container and Casket Price List.

18 VAC 65-20-680.  Containers; exceptions. (Repealed.)

A.  Funeral providers who sell or offer to sell caskets,
alternative containers, or outer burial containers must have
available an outer burial container and casket price list.

EXCEPTION:  If the complete outer burial container and
casket price list or lists are a part of the general price list,
separate outer burial container and casket prices list or lists
do not have to be available.

B.  The casket and outer burial container price lists shall
disclose at least the following information:

1.  The name, address, and telephone number of the
funeral provider's place of business;

2.  A caption describing the list or lists as a casket or
outer burial container price list;

3.  The retail prices of all caskets, alternative containers,
and outer burial containers which do not require special
ordering;

4.  The effective date or dates of the price list or lists;
and

5.  Sufficient information to identify the units available
for sale.

C.  When other formats, such as notebooks, brochures, or
charts, are used they shall contain the same information as
prescribed in subsection D of this section and shall be
displayed in a clear and conspicuous manner.

D.  A funeral establishment which has a casket selection
room shall have available a means for indicating the price of
each casket within the room.

E.  If a licensee arranges direct cremations, he shall make
an alternative container available and shall list the alternative
container on the casket price list.

F.  The following disclosure shall be placed on the outer
burial container price list:

"In most areas of the country, state or local law does not
require that you buy a container to surround the casket
in the grave.  However, many cemeteries require that
you have such a container so that the grave will not sink
in.  Either a grave liner or a burial vault will satisfy these
requirements."

Article 4.
Itemized Statement of Funeral Goods and Services.

18 VAC 65-20-690.  Itemized statements of funeral goods
and services. (Repealed.)

A.  Itemized statements shall be completed:

1.  At the time such arrangements are made if the party
is present; or

2.  If the party is not present, not later than the time of
the final disposition of the body.

B.  The itemized statement shall be signed by the funeral
service licensee or funeral director and the party contracting
for the funeral arrangements.

C.  The itemized statement shall include:

1.  A list of all funeral goods and services that are
offered on the general price list;

2.  Space to describe the casket and outer burial
container purchased;

3.  Space to describe any legal, cemetery, or crematory
requirements that may be necessary;
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4.  If package pricing is offered, the package shall be
listed on the itemized statement of funeral goods and
services and shall list each individual item included in
the package.  The individual items do not have to be
priced separately.  One price shall be listed for the total
package;

5.  A space to explain why the funeral service
establishment proceeded with embalming without
authorization or approval;

6.  Any and all anticipated or actual cash advances and
expenditures requested by the party contracting for the
funeral arrangements;

7.  The total costs of the funeral goods and funeral
services selected; and

8.  Disclosures.  The following disclosures shall be on
the itemized statement of goods and services:

a.  "Charges are only for those items that you selected
or that are required.  If we are required by law or by a
cemetery or crematory to use any items, we will
explain the reasons in writing below."

b.  "The only warranty on the casket or outer burial
container, or both, sold in connection with this service
is the express written warranty, if any, granted by the
manufacturer.  This funeral home makes no warranty,
express or implied, with respect to the casket or outer
burial container, or both."

c.  "If you selected a funeral that may require
embalming, such as a funeral with viewing, you may
have to pay for embalming.  You do not have to pay
for embalming that you did not approve if you
selected arrangements, such as a direct cremation, or
immediate burial.  If we charged for embalming we
will explain why below."

d.  If the funeral home charges for its services in
arranging cash advance items, the following
disclosure shall be placed on the itemized statement
of goods and services:  "We charge you for our
services in obtaining ________________." The
funeral home shall specify in the blank space which
cash advance items the funeral home makes a charge
upon or receives and retains a rebate, commission or
trade, or volume discount.

PART XIII.
RETENTION OF DOCUMENTS.

18 VAC 65-20-700.  Retention of documents.

The following shall apply to retention of embalming
reports, price lists, and itemized statements:

1.  Price lists shall be retained for three years one year
after the effective date;

2.  Itemized statements shall be retained for three years
one year from the date on which the arrangements were
made;

3.  Embalming reports shall be retained for three years
one year after the date of the embalming;

4.  Documents shall be maintained on the premises of
the funeral establishment and made available for
inspection; and

5.  In instances where the funeral establishment is sold,
documents shall be transferred to the new owner, unless
the existing firm is relocating to a new facility.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 65-20-10
et seq., Regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and
Embalmers, are listed below.  Any amended or added forms
are reflected in the listing and are published following the
listing.

FORMS

Application for Establishment Licensure/Change of
Licensure.

Application for Surface Transportation and Removal Service
Registration.

Application for Courtesy Card.

Application for Individual Licensure.

Licensure Verification Form.

Appendix I:  General Price List.

Appendix II:  Casket Price List; Outer Burial Container Price
List.

Appendix III:  Itemized Statement of Funeral Goods and
Services Selected.

Application for Funeral Service Licensure (rev. 7/97).

Application for Courtesy Card (rev. 7/97).

Application for Establishment Licensure/Change of Address
(rev. 7/97).

Application for Waiver of Full-time Manager Requirements
(rev. 7/97).

Renewal Application for Waiver of Full-time Manager
Requirements (rev. 7/97).

Licensure Verification Form (rev. 7/97).

Application for Surface Transportation and Removal Service
Registration (rev. 7/97).

Renewal Notice and Application (rev. 7/97).
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* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 65-30-10 et seq.  Regulations
for Preneed Funeral Planning (amending 18 VAC 65-30-
10, 18 VAC 65-30-50, 18 VAC 65-30-60, 18 VAC 65-30-70,
18 VAC 65-30-80, 18 VAC 65-30-90, 18 VAC 65-30-110,
18 VAC 65-30-140, 18 VAC 65-30-170, 18 VAC 65-30-180,
and 18 VAC 65-30-200; adding 18 VAC 65-30-220 and
18 VAC 65-30-230; repealing 18 VAC 65-30-20, 18 VAC
65-30-30, 18 VAC 65-30-40, 18 VAC 65-30-150, 18 VAC 65-
30-160, 18 VAC 65-30-190, and 18 VAC 65-30-210).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-2803 and 54.1-2820
of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m.
Public comments may be submitted until October 2,
1998.

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  Chapters 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) and 28 (§ 54.1-
2800 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia provide the
basis for this regulation.

Chapter 24 establishes the general powers and duties of the
health regulatory boards including the power to establish
qualifications for licensure and the responsibility to
promulgate regulations.

Chapter 28 establishes the powers and duties of the Board of
Funeral Directors and Embalmers and establishes
requirements for the preneed sale of funeral services.

Purpose:  The purpose of these regulations is to protect the
public welfare by establishing safeguards and standards for
preneed funeral planning.  Regulations set forth
requirements for the sale and recordkeeping of such
arrangements and for the contracting and funding of preneed
agreements.  Amendments are proposed to implement the
recommendations of the Board of Funeral Directors and
Embalmers in its report pursuant to Executive Order 15 (94),
which were to simplify, clarify, and eliminate redundancy and
unnecessary requirements.

Substance:

18 VAC 65-30-10.  Amendments are proposed to eliminate
duplication in definitions and to eliminate those which are
redundant or unnecessary since the terms are already
defined in the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 65-30-20, 18 VAC 65-30-30, and 18 VAC 65-30-40.
These unnecessary sections are repealed.

18 VAC 65-30-50.  Amendments are proposed to reference
an applicable code section and to eliminate repetitive
regulations.

18 VAC 65-30-60.  Amendments are proposed to consolidate
and eliminate verbiage.

18 VAC 65-30-70.  An amendment is proposed to clarify the
requirement for listings of preneed contracts.

18 VAC 65-30-80.  This section is amended to eliminate
regulations which repeat requirements of law and to specify
that information contained in Appendix I and Appendix II is
required in preneed arrangements.  The proposed language
in this section also contains all necessary requirements for
the content of the contract, some of which is currently found
in other sections.

18 VAC 65-30-90.  Amendments are proposed for
simplification and clarity.

18 VAC 65-30-110.  Amendments are proposed to simplify
and clarify the condition under which the contract buyer may
not be eligible for a refund.

18 VAC 65-30-140.  Amendments are proposed for
simplication and clarity.

18 VAC 65-30-150 and 18 VAC 65-30-160.  These sections
are repealed as the requirements are already stated in the
code or elsewhere in regulation.

18 VAC 65-30-170 and 18 VAC 65-30-180.  Amendments
are proposed to eliminate regulations which repeat
requirements of law (code sections are specifically
referenced) and to specify the information required to be
disclosed for a trust account or for life insurance or annuity
as the funding instrument for preneed contracts.

18 VAC 65-30-190.  This section is repealed because
bonding is not available for preneed funding.

18 VAC 65-30-200.  An amendment is editorial only.

18 VAC 65-20-210.  Requirements for a designee agreement
are proposed under 18 VAC 65-30-80 and, therefore, this
section is repealed.

Issues:

Issue 1:  Board approval of preneed contracts.

During the regulatory review pursuant to Executive Order 15
(94), the board recommended that the requirement for board
approval of preneed contracts be eliminated.  The board
determined that its responsibility was to ensure that
licensees comply with statutory law and federal rules and
that its regulations should provide a guide for development of
contract. It has been the intent of the board to place the
responsibility of compliance on the licensee.

During the comment period on the Notice of Intended
Regulatory Action, there was one comment expressing
concern about the ability of an establishment to ensure
compliance without prior board approval of its forms.
However, the Assistant Attorney General has advised the
board that it should not bear the legal responsibility of
approving individual preneed contracts.  Therefore the board
proposes to amend its regulations to eliminate prior approval
by the board of contracts and disclosures and to reference
the applicable statutes.  As a guide for the information on
pricing and disclosure which are required by Virginia law and
Federal Trade Commission rules, the regulations refer to a
sample contract  and disclosure questions found in the
appendices.
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Advantages to the licensees:  By repealing the requirement
for board approval of preneed contracts, the funeral
establishments will no longer have the burden of having to
submit their forms and contracts whenever a change is
made.

Disadvantages to the licensees:  While there was one
comment of concern from an attorney who represents a
preneed insurance product about the lack of board approval,
there should be no disadvantages to the licensees. As long
as the required information and disclosures are contained,
the licensee may revise contracts without the delay of waiting
for board review and approval.  The attached Appendix
clearly sets out the format and disclosures which are
required by law and federal regulation.

Advantages or disadvantage to the public:  There should be
no advantages or disadvantages to the public, since no
requirements for pricing, standards of conduct, or disclosure
of information have been changed.

Issue 2:  Reduction in the number and complexity of
regulations.

In compliance with Executive Order 15 (94), the board has
examined every regulation for necessity and clarity and has
determined that a number of sections of this chapter could
be repealed and a number of others simplified.  Many of the
regulations repeat requirements stated in the Code of
Virginia or in the federal Rule of Funeral Industry Practices
by the Federal Trade Commission.  The board has
eliminated the repetition of requirements and referenced the
code sections or the appendix for required information and
disclosures.

Advantages or disadvantage to the licensees:  By repealing
unnecessary sections, consolidating and simplifying
requirements, and reorganizing for clarity, these regulations
should be more easily understood.  Since the regulations will
be reduced and simplified, compliance should also be easier
and there may be fewer questions addressed to the board
staff.  There should be no disadvantages to the licensees.

Advantages or disadvantage to the public.  There should be
no advantages or disadvantages to the public, since no
requirements for disclosure of information have been
changed.

Estimated Impact:

Projected number of persons affected and their cost of
compliance:  The approximate number of licensees affected
by these regulations are as follows:

Funeral establishments 490
Funeral service providers 1,309
Funeral directors 206
Funeral embalmers 9

There will be no cost for compliance by regulated entities or
their employers, as there are no new requirements for
funding of preneed contracts.  There are no fees established
in these regulations.

Cost to the agency for implementation:  The board will incur
approximately $1,500 in cost for printing and mailing Notices
of Comment and final amended regulations to licensees and
other interested parties.  There will be no additional cost for
conducting a public hearing, which will be held in conjunction
with a scheduled board meeting.  The board does not
anticipate any additional costs for investigations or
administrative proceedings against licensees for violations of
these regulations.

Cost to local governments:  There will be no impact of these
regulations on local government.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13
(94).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property.  The
analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  The proposed
changes to the preneed funeral planning regulations are
pursuant to review under Executive Order 15 (94) and are
intended to simplify and clarify these regulations.  They do
not make any changes in the substantive requirements for
disclosure of information found in the existing version of the
regulations.

Estimated economic impact.  This proposal does not change
the substantive requirements of disclosure for those
providing preneed funeral planning services.  The
amendments to the regulations reorganize and clarify the
regulatory requirements.  These changes can be expected to
reduce somewhat the costs of complying with the
regulations.  Since there are no changes in the protections
afforded consumers, the savings in compliance costs,
although small, most likely represent a net economic benefit
to Virginia.

Businesses and entities affected.  These changes will only
affect approximetely 2,014 establishments, service providers,
funeral directors, and funeral embalmers who sell preneed
funeral services.  These changes will make compliance with
the regulations somewhat easier due to improved clarity and
consistency of the regulations.  The economic value of this
change will be small, but it will almost certainly be positive.
Since there are no substantive changes to the requirements
of this regulation, it is unlikely that there will be any impact
on the purchasers of these services.  Any reduction in prices
due to lower compliance costs would most likely be too small
to observe.
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Localities particularly affected.  No localities will share
disproportionately in the costs or benefits from this proposal.

Projected impact on employment.  These changes will not
have any direct impact on employment in Virginia.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  While the
value of owning and operating businesses selling preneed
funeral services may increase by a small amount, this
impact would be too small to measure.

Summary of analysis.  This change in the preneed funeral
services regulations will, in all probability, have a small
positive impact on the Virginia economy.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency concurs in
the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget.

Summary:

In response to the comprehensive review conducted
pursuant to Executive Order 15 (94), the proposed
amendments repeal unnecessary or duplicative
regulations, simplify current requirements, and eliminate
the requirement for prior approval by the board of any
preneed contract and disclosure statements.

18 VAC 65-30-10.  Definitions.

In addition to those defined in § 54.1-2800 of the Code of
Virginia, the following words and terms, when used in this
chapter shall have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"At-need" means at the time of death or while death is
imminent.

"Board" means the Board of Funeral Directors and
Embalmers.

"Capper," "steerer," or "shill" means a person who serves
as a lure or decoy to entice another to purchase a product or
to direct the course of action and choice of the buyer in a
preneed funeral contract sale.  A shill.

"Cash advance item" means any item of service or
merchandise described to a purchaser as a "cash advance,"
"accommodation," "cash disbursement," or similar term.  A
cash advance item is also any item obtained from a third
party and paid for by the funeral provider on the behalf of the
contract buyer.  Cash advance items may include, but are
not limited to, cemetery or crematory services, pallbearers,
public transportation, clergy honoraria, flowers, musicians or
singers, nurses, obituary notices, gratuities, and death
certificates.

"Consideration," "contract price," or "funds" means money,
property, or any other thing of value provided to be
compensation to a contract seller or contract provider for the
funeral services and funeral goods to be performed or
furnished under a preneed funeral contract.  Consideration
does not include late payment penalties and payments
required to be made to a governmental agency at the time
the contract is entered into.

"Contract" means a written, preneed funeral contract, and
all documents pertinent to the terms of the contract under
which, for consideration paid to a contract seller or a
contract provider by or on behalf of a contract buyer prior to
the death of the contract beneficiary, a person promises to
furnish, make available, or provide funeral services or funeral
goods after the death of a contract beneficiary.

"Contract beneficiary" means the individual for whom the
funeral services and supplies are being arranged.

"Contract buyer" means the purchaser of the preneed
contract.

"Contract provider" means the funeral establishment
designated by the contract buyer and contracting with the
contract buyer to provide for funeral services and supplies in
the preneed funeral contract.

"Contract seller" means the funeral service licensee who
makes the preneed arrangements with the contract buyer for
the funeral service and who makes the financial
arrangements for the service and the goods and supplies to
be provided.

"Contract price" means the same as consideration.

"Department" means the Department of Health
Professions.

"Designee" means the individual selected by the contract
beneficiary to arrange a preneed funeral plan on behalf of the
contract beneficiary.

"Executive director" means the administrator of the Board
of Funeral Directors and Embalmers.

"Funding source" means the trust agreement, insurance
policy, annuity, personal property, or real estate used to fund
the preneed plan.

"Funds" means the same as "consideration."

"Funeral supplies and services" means the items of
merchandise sold or offered for sale or lease to consumers
which will be used in connection with a funeral or an
alternative to a funeral or final disposition of human remains
including caskets, combination units, and catafalques.
Funeral goods does not mean land or interests in land,
crypts, lawn crypts, mausoleum crypts, or niches that are
sold by a cemetery which complies with § 57-35.11 et seq. of
the Code of Virginia.  In addition, "funeral supplies and
services" does not mean cemetery burial vaults or other
outside containers, markers, monuments, urns, and
merchandise items used for the purpose of memorializing a
decedent and placed on or in proximity to a place of
interment or entombment of a casket, catafalque, or vault or
to a place of inurnment which are sold by a cemetery
operating in accordance with § 57-35.11 et seq. of the Code
of Virginia.

"Funeral service establishment" means any main
establishment, branch, or chapel where any part of the
profession of funeral directing or the act of embalming is
performed.
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"General advertising" means advertisement directed to a
mass market including, but not limited to, direct mailings;
advertisements in magazines, flyers, trade journals,
newspapers; advertisements on television and radio; bulk
mailings; and direct mailing to a mass population.

"Guaranteed contract price" means (i) the amount paid by
the contract buyer on a preneed funeral contract, and income
derived from that amount, or (ii) the amount paid by a
contract buyer for a life insurance policy or annuity as the
funding source and its increasing death benefit.  These
amounts shall be accepted as payment in full for the
preselected funeral goods and services.

"Income" means the amount of gain received in a period of
time from investment of consideration paid for a preneed
contract.

"In-person communication" means face-to-face
communication and telephonic communication.

"Nonguaranteed contract price" means the costs of items
on a preneed funeral contract that are not fixed for the
specified funeral goods or funeral services selected and
nonguaranteed costs may increase from the date of the
contract to the death of the contract beneficiary and the
family or estate will be responsible for paying at the time of
need for the services and supplies that were nonguaranteed.
Cash advance items are not guaranteed.

"Preneed" means at any time other than at-need.

"Preneed funeral contract" means any agreement where
payment is made by the contract buyer prior to the receipt of
services or supplies contracted for, which evidences
arrangements prior to death for:  (i) the providing of funeral
services or (ii) the sale of funeral supplies.

"Preneed funeral planning" means the making of
arrangements prior to death for:  (i) the providing of funeral
services; or (ii) the sale of funeral supplies.

"Solicitation" means initiating contact with consumers with
the intent of influencing their selection of a funeral plan or a
funeral service provider.

"Steerer" means an individual used to direct the course of
action and choice of the buyer in a preneed funeral contract
sale.

18 VAC 65-30-20.  Purpose. (Repealed.)

This chapter establishes the standards to regulate preneed
funeral contracts and preneed funeral trust accounts as
prescribed in Chapter 28 (§ 54.1-2800 et seq.) of Title 54.1
of the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 65-30-30.  Applicability. (Repealed.)

Subject to this chapter are (i) funeral service licensees, (ii)
funeral establishments, and (iii) resident trainees assisting
the licensee in the preneed arrangement.  All of the above
shall be operating in the Commonwealth of Virginia in order
to qualify to sell preneed.

EXEMPTIONS:  This chapter does not apply to the
preneed sale of cemetery services or supplies regulated
under Article 3.2 (§ 57-35.11 et seq.) of Chapter 3 of Title 57
of the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 65-30-40.  Qualifications of seller. (Repealed.)

A.  A person shall not engage in or hold himself out as
engaging in the business of preneed funeral planning unless
he is licensed for funeral service by the Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalmers.

B.  All individuals selling preneed funeral plans shall
comply also with the Regulations of the Funeral Directors
and Embalmers (18 VAC 65-20-10 et seq.) promulgated by
the board.

18 VAC 65-30-50.  Solicitation.

A.  In accordance with provisions of § 54.1-2806 of the
Code of Virginia, a licensee shall not initiate any preneed
solicitation using in-person communication by the licensee,
his agents, assistants, or employees.

Exception:  General advertising and solicitation other than
in-person communication is acceptable.

B.  After a request to discuss preneed planning is initiated
by the contract buyer or interested consumer, any contact
and in-person communication shall take place only with a
funeral service licensee.

C.  A licensee shall not employ persons known as
"cappers" or "steerers," or "solicitors," or other such persons
to participate in preneed sales.

D.  A licensee shall not employ directly or indirectly any
agent, employee, or other person, part or full time, or on a
commission, for the purpose of calling upon individuals to
influence, secure, or otherwise promote preneed sales.

E.  Direct or indirect payment or offer of payment of a
commission to others by the licensee, his agents, or
employees for the purpose of securing preneed sales is
prohibited.

F. C.  No licensee engaged in the business of preneed
funeral planning or any of his agents shall advertise
discounts; accept, advertise, or offer enticements, bonuses,
or rebates, discounts, restrictions to, ; or otherwise interfere
with the freedom of choice of the general public in making
preneed funeral plans.

18 VAC 65-30-60.  Records; general.

A.  A licensee shall keep accurate accounts, books, and
records of all transactions required by this chapter.

B.  Preneed contracts and reporting documents shall be
retained on the premises of the establishment for three years
one year after the death of the contract beneficiary.

C.  Required preneed reporting documents shall be
retained on the premises of the establishment for three
years.  (See subsection A of 18 VAC 65-30-70 and
subsection D of 18 VAC 65-30-190.)
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D. C.  A funeral home shall keep on file a written
verification from the insurance company that the insurance
or annuity contract complies with § 54.1-2820 B of the Code
of Virginia.  (See subdivision 6 of 18 VAC 65-30-180.)

E. D.  All preneed records shall be available for inspection
by the Department of Health Professions.

18 VAC 65-30-70.  Record reporting.

A.  A contract provider shall keep a chronological listing of
all preneed contracts.  The listing shall include the following:

1.  Name of contract buyer;

2.  Date of contract;

3.  How contract was funded; and

4.  If funeral goods and supplies are stored for the
contract buyer, it shall be stated whether up to 10% of
funds are retained by the contract provider for contracts
funded through trust; and .

5.  Whether funeral goods and supplies are stored for
the contract buyer.

B.  A contract provider who discontinues its business
operations shall notify the board and each existing contract
buyer in writing.

18 VAC 65-30-80.  Content and format.

A.  A person residing or doing business within the
Commonwealth shall not make, either directly or indirectly by
any means, a preneed contract unless the contract: is made
in writing on forms containing all information and disclosures
required by law and regulation as prescribed in 18 VAC
65-30-220 and 18 VAC 65-30-230.

1.  Is made on forms prescribed by the board (see
Appendix I); or

2.  Is made on forms approved by the board prior to use
(see subsection B of this section).

B.  Prior to use, contracts or disclosures which are not
identical in format, wording, and content to that prescribed in
Appendices I and II shall be approved by the board.

C.  Contracts and disclosure forms prescribed in
Appendices I and II shall be received in the board office no
later than 10 days prior to a regularly scheduled meeting of
the board to be considered for approval by the board at that
meeting.

D.  All preneed contracts shall be in writing.

E.  All information on a preneed contract and disclosure
statement shall be printed in a clear and easy-to-read type,
style, and in a type size not smaller than 10 points.

F.  Preneed contracts and disclosure statements shall be
written in clear, understandable language.

G.  B.  In addition to requirements of § 54.1-2820 of the
Code of Virginia, the contract shall identify contain the
following:

1.  The contract seller;

2.  Funeral license number of the contract seller;

3.  The contract buyer;

4.  The contract beneficiary;

5.  The date of the contract;

6.  The contract number;

7.  A complete description of the supplies or services
purchased;

8.  Whether the price of the supplies and services
purchased is guaranteed;

9.  Whether the price of the supplies and services
purchased is not guaranteed;

10.  Any penalties or restrictions:

a.  Geographic restrictions including maximum
number of miles traveled without charging an extra
fee;

b.  Geographic restrictions including maximum
number of miles the establishment is willing to travel;
and

c.  The inability of the provider to perform the request
of the buyer on merchandise, services, or
prearrangement guarantees.

11.  All disclosure requirements imposed by the board
(see Appendix II); and

12.  The designee agreement when applicable.

H.  The contract or the disclosure statement as a part of
the contract shall contain the name, address, and telephone
number of the board and list the board as the regulatory
agency which handles consumer complaints.

I.  All preneed contracts shall be signed by the contract
seller and the contract buyer.

1.  The date and number of the contract;

2.  Whether or not the price of the supplies and services
purchased is guaranteed;

3.  The designee agreement when applicable; and

4.  Signatures of the contract seller and the contract
buyer.

C.  The contract buyer shall have the right to change the
contract provider and the trustee at any time prior to the
furnishing of the services or supplies contracted for under the
preneed contract.

D.  If a designee agreement has been signed, it shall be
attached to the preneed contract as a valid part of the
contract.  At need, the next of kin shall have the final
authority regarding contract beneficiary, final disposition and
arrangements.
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18 VAC 65-30-90.  Disclosures.

A.  At the time of the inquiry, licensees shall furnish to
each person inquiring about preneed arrangements a copy of
the: 1. general price list; and 2. preneed disclosure questions
and answers.

The licensee shall furnish such information at the time of
the inquiry.

B.  Immediately upon concluding the arrangement
conference, licensees shall furnish to each person who
makes a preneed arrangement a copy of the: 1. preneed
contract; and 2. funding contract.

The licensee shall furnish such documents immediately
upon concluding the arrangement conference.

C.  An itemized statement of funeral goods and services
shall be given at the time of need even if the arrangements
were made through a preneed contract.

18 VAC 65-30-110.  Cancellation of contract.

A.  Any person who makes payment under this contract
may terminate the agreement at any time prior to the time for
which the services or supplies are furnished.

B.  If the contract buyer terminates the contract within 30
days of the execution of the contract, the contract buyer shall
be refunded: 1. all consideration paid or delivered; and 2.
any interest or income accrued on it.

C.  If the purchaser uses a revocable trust as the funding
source other than an insurance or annuity policy and
terminates the contract after 30 days of the execution of the
contract, the contract buyer shall be refunded:

1.  All consideration paid or delivered on nonguaranteed
items;

2.  At least 90% of all consideration paid for guaranteed
items; and

3.  All interest or income accrued on it.

D.  If the purchaser uses an irrevocable trust as the
funding source and terminates the contract after 30 days of
its execution, the contract buyer may not be eligible for a
refund.

18 VAC 65-30-140.  Personal property.

When the consideration consists in whole or in part of any
personal property, the following shall occur:

1.  Personal property shall be transferred by:

a.  Actual delivery of the personal property; or

b.  Transfer of the title to the personal property.

2.  Within 30 days of receiving the personal property or
the title to the personal property, the licensee or person
delivering the property shall:

a.  Execute a written declaration of trust setting forth
the terms, conditions, and considerations upon which
the personal property is delivered; and

b.  Record the trust agreement in the clerk's office of
the circuit court of the locality in which the person
delivering the property is living; or

c.  Record the preneed contract in the clerk's office of
the circuit court of the locality in which the person
delivering the property or trust agreement is living
provided that the preneed contract sets forth the
terms, conditions, and considerations in subdivision 2
of 18 VAC 65-30-130 are included in the preneed
contract of the trust.

18 VAC 65-30-150.  Right to change contract provider.
(Repealed.)

The contract buyer shall have the right to change the
contract provider and the trustee at any time prior to the
furnishing of the services or supplies contracted for under the
preneed contract.

18 VAC 65-30-160.  Exemption from levy, garnishment,
or distress. (Repealed.)

Any money, personal property, or real estate paid,
delivered, or conveyed subject to §§ 54.1-2822 through
54.1-2823 shall be exempt from levy, garnishment, or
distress.

18 VAC 65-30-170.  Trust accounts.

A.  If funds are to be trusted, the trust account is to be
established according to provisions of §§ 54.1-2822 and
54.1-2824 of the Code of Virginia and the following
information shall be disclosed in writing to the contract
buyer:

1.  The amount to be trusted;

2.  The name of the trustee;

3.  The disposition of the interest;

4.  The fees, expenses, and taxes which may be
deducted from the interest;

5.  Whether up to 10% is retained by the contract
provider; and

6.  A statement of the contract buyer's responsibility for
taxes owed on the interest.

B.  If the contract buyer chooses a trust account as the
funding source, within 30 days following the date of the
receipt of any money paid for a trust-funded preneed
contract or interest or income accrued (see 18 VAC
65-30-120), the licensee shall transfer the money from the
escrow account and deposit the following amount in a trust
account in a bank or saving institution doing business in
Virginia:

1.  Nonguaranteed prices.  All consideration shall be
deposited for a preneed funeral contract in which prices
of supplies and services are not guaranteed.

2.  Guaranteed prices.  At least 90% of all consideration
shall be deposited for a preneed contract in which the
prices of goods and services are guaranteed.
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C.  The trust funds shall be deposited in separate,
identifiable accounts setting forth:

1.  Name of depositor;

2.  Contract beneficiary;

3.  Trustee for contract beneficiary; and

4.  Name of establishment which will provide the goods
and services.

18 VAC 65-30-180.  Life insurance or annuity.

If a life insurance or annuity policy is used to fund the
preneed funeral contract, the contract shall be in compliance
with provisions of § 54.1-2820 B of the Code of Virginia and
shall contain the following shall be disclosed in writing
information:

1.  The fact that a life insurance policy or annuity
contract is involved or is being used to fund the preneed
contract;

2.  The following information:

a.  Name of the contract provider;

b.  Name of contract seller;

c.  Funeral license number of contract seller;

d.  Place of employment of contract seller;

e.  Name of insurance agent;

f.  Identification as to whether the insurance agent is a
funeral service licensee, and if so, license number;

g.  Insurance agent's insurance license number;

h.  Insurance agent's employer; and

i.  Insurance company represented by insurance
agent.

3.  The relationship of the life insurance policy or annuity
contract to the funding of the preneed contract;

4.  The nature and existence of any guarantees relating
to the preneed contract from the policy or annuity;

5.  The impact on the preneed contract of:

a.  Any changes in the life insurance policy or annuity
contract including changes in the assignment,
contract provider, or use of the proceeds;

b.  Any penalties to be incurred by the policy holder as
a result of failure to make premium payments;

c.  Any penalties to be incurred or moneys to be
received as a result of cancellation or surrender of the
life insurance policy or annuity contract; and

d.  All relevant information concerning what occurs
and whether any entitlements or obligations arise if
there is a difference between the proceeds of the life
insurance policy or annuity contract and the amount
actually needed to fund the preneed contract.

6.  The fact that the life insurance or annuity contract
complies with § 54.1-2820 B of the Code of Virginia
which states that the life insurance or annuity contract
shall provide that either:

a.  The face value thereof shall be adjusted annually
by a factor equal to the Consumer Price Index as
published by the Office of Management and Budget of
the United States; or

b.  A benefit payable at death under such contract that
will equal or exceed the sum of all premiums paid for
such contract plus interest on it at the annual rate of
at least 5.0% compounded annually.

1.  Name of the contract provider;

2.  Name  and funeral license number of contract seller;

3.  Place of employment of contract seller;

4.  Name of insurance agent and agent's insurance
license number;

5.  Insurance agent's employer and insurance company
represented by insurance agent; and

6.  Identification as to whether the insurance agent is a
funeral service licensee and, if so, funeral service license
number.

PART VII.
BONDING.

18 VAC 65-30-190.  Bonding. (Repealed.)

A.  A performance bond shall be required on the following:

1.  The contract provider which retains up to 10% of the
consideration invested in a trust account; or

2.  The retail price of funeral goods and supplies which
are stored by the contract provider for the contract
beneficiary prior to the death of the contract beneficiary.

B.  The establishments described in subsection A of this
section shall arrange for their own bonding.

C.  The amount of bond required shall be based upon the
risk of loss determined by the bonding company.

D.  The following information concerning the bond shall be
maintained at the funeral establishment:  (See subsections
A, C, and D of 18 VAC 65-30-60.)

1.  Amount of the bond;

2.  Company holding the bond;

3.  Documentation that company holding the bond is
duly authorized to issue such bond in the
Commonwealth; and

4.  Renewal requirements of the bond.
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PART VIII VII.
SUPPLIES AND SERVICES.

18 VAC 65-30-200.  Supplies and services.

A.  If the contract seller will not be responsible for
furnishing the supplies and services to the contract buyer,
the contract seller shall attach to the preneed funeral
contract a copy of the contract seller's agreement with the
contract provider.

B.  If any funeral supplies are sold and delivered prior to
the death of the contract beneficiary, and the contract seller,
contract provider, or any legal entity in which the contract
provider or a member of his family has an interest thereafter
stores these supplies, the risk of loss or damage shall be
upon the contract seller or contract provider during such
period of storage.

C.  If the particular supplies and services specified in the
contract are unavailable at the time of delivery, the contract
provider shall be required to furnish supplies and services
similar in style and at least equal in quality of material and
workmanship. D.  The representative of the deceased shall
have the right to choose the supplies or services to be
substituted in subsection C of this section.

PART IX.
DESIGNEE AGREEMENT REQUIRED CONTENT OF

CONTRACTS AND DISCLOSURES.

18 VAC 65-30-210.  Designee. (Repealed.)

A.  A designee agreement shall be used only when the
contract beneficiary is mentally alert and capable of
appointing his own designee.

B.  Any person may designate through the use of the
designee agreement a designee who shall make
arrangements for the contract beneficiary's burial or the
disposition of his body for burial.

C.  The designee agreement shall be:

1.  In writing;

2.  Accepted in writing by designee and the designee's
signature notarized; and

3.  Attached to the preneed contract as a valid part of
the contract.

Appendix I.
Preneed Funeral Contract Prescribed by the Board.

18 VAC 65-30-220.  Content of preneed contracts as
prescribed by the board.

The following information shall be contained in any contract
for preneed funeral planning.

Date:  ________________________________

Contract:  __________________________

PRENEED FUNERAL CONTRACT

for

(Name of Recipient of Services)

______________________________

_________________ (Zip)________

I.  SUPPLIES AND SERVICES PURCHASED

The prices of goods and services below MAY BE
GUARANTEED provided the total is paid in full and all
interest earned is allowed to accumulate in your account.  If
any of the prices are guaranteed, no additional cost will incur
for your family or estate even though the actual prices of
goods and services may increase between the date of this
contract and the time of need.  (Please see the disclosure
document).

Charges are only for those items that you selected or that
are required.  If we are required by law or by a cemetery or
crematory to use an item, we will explain the reasons in
writing below.  If you selected a funeral that may require
embalming, such as a funeral with a viewing, you may have
to pay for embalming.  You do not have to pay for embalming
you did not select if you select arrangements such as a direct
cremation or immediate burial.

Guaranteed Services Purchased

I.  BASIC SERVICES OF FUNERAL DIRECTOR AND
STAFF ________

II.  FUNERAL HOME FACILITIES

A.  Facilities and Staff for visitation/viewing ________

B.  Facilities and Staff for funeral ceremony ________

C.  Facilities and Staff for memorial service ________

D.  Equipment and Staff for graveside service ________

(NOTE TO FUNERAL HOME:  If you have additional
charges such as facilities and staff for home/church viewing,
or a charge for additional staff person or through calculation
of manhours, etc., add here as extra items.  If you have a
charge for equipment for interment, add here.)

III.  EMBALMING

A.  Normal remains ________

B.  Autopsy remains ________

IV.  OTHER PREPARATION OF THE BODY

(NOTE:  List all items that you placed under Other
Preparation on your General Price List.)

V.  IMMEDIATE BURIAL ________

VI.  DIRECT CREMATION ________
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VII.  TRANSFER OF REMAINS TO FUNERAL
ESTABLISHMENT ________

VIII.  FORWARDING REMAINS TO ANOTHER FUNERAL
HOME ________

IX.  RECEIVING REMAINS FROM ANOTHER FUNERAL
HOME ________

X.  AUTOMOTIVE EQUIPMENT

A.  Hearse ________

B.  Limousine ________

(NOTE:  List all others that you placed on General Price
List.)

XI.  FUNERAL MERCHANDISE

A.  Casket (*describe)
__________________________________________
__________________________________________

B.  Outer Burial Container (*describe)
__________________________________________
__________________________________________

C.  List any others
__________________________________________

Supplies Purchased

Clothing $________

Temporary marker $________

Acknowledgment cards $________

Register/attendance books $________

Memorial folders $________

Other $________

SUB-TOTAL COSTS OF (GUARANTEED) SUPPLIES
PURCHASED: _________

XII.  PACKAGE PRICES

(Note:  List all package prices by name)

SUBTOTAL COST OF (GUARANTEED) SUPPLIES
PURCHASED: _________

Nonguaranteed Goods and Services Purchased

The actual prices of goods and services below are NOT
GUARANTEED.  These items may include, but not be limited
to, obituary notices, death certificates, cemetery fees,
flowers, sales tax, etc.  The prices are estimated and the
estimates will be included in the Grand Total Contract Price.
The differences between the estimated prices below and the
actual cost will be settled with your family or estate at the
time of need:

$________

$________

$________

$________

SUBTOTAL ESTIMATED COST OF NONGUARANTEED
ITEMS _________

GRAND TOTAL FOR PRENEED ARRANGEMENTS

1.  Total cost of (Guaranteed) Services Purchased
$________

2.  Total cost of (Guaranteed) Supplies Purchased
$________

3.  Total Estimated cost of nonguaranteed Items
$________

GRAND TOTAL $________

The only warranties, express or implied, granted in
connection with the goods sold in this preneed funeral
contract, are the express written warranties, if any, extended
by the manufacturers thereof.  No other warranties and no
warranties of MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR A
PARTICULAR PURPOSE are extended by the (funeral
home) ____________________ .

II.  GENERAL INFORMATION

In order that the Buyer may understand the relationship of all
parties involved in this preneed arrangement and contract,
the following is provided:

A.  Buyer:

B.  Funeral Home Providing Services:

C.  Preneed Arranger:

Employed by:  (Funeral Home)

Licensed Funeral Director in Virginia:  ___yes  ___no

Funeral Director License Number:

Method of Funding

A.  Insurance

B.  Trust

1.  Amount to be trusted:

2.  Name of trustee:

3.  Disposition of Interest:

4.  Fees, expenses, taxes deducted from earned interest:

5.  Buyer's responsibility for taxes owned on interest:

The following information will be given if an insurance policy
or annuity contract is used to fund this agreement:

A.  Buyer:

B.  Insurance Company:

C.  Insurance Agent:

Employed by:  (Insurance Company)

Licensed Funeral Director in Virginia:  ___yes  ___no
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Funeral Director License Number
(If Applicable):

Employed by Funeral Home (If Applicable):
(Funeral Home) __________

D.  The life insurance or annuity contract provides either
that:

_____ The face value thereof shall be adjusted annually
by a factor equal to the Consumer Price Index as
published by the Office of Management and Budget of
the United States; or

_____ A benefit payable at death under such contract
that will be equal or exceed the sum of all premiums
paid for such contract plus thereon at the annual rate of
at least 5.0%, compounded annually.

III.  CONSUMER INFORMATION

The Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers is
authorized by § 54.1-2800 et seq. of the Code of Virginia to
regulate the practice of preneed funeral planning.  Consumer
complaints should be directed to:

The Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers
6606 West Broad Street, 4th Floor
Richmond, Virginia 23230-1717
Telephone Number 804-662-9907
Toll Free Number 1-800-533-1560

IV.  DISCLOSURES

The disclosure statements will be available for your review.
The General Price List shall be furnished to you by the
preneed arranger.  These contain information that you must
receive by law and/or the authority of the Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalmers.  You are entitled to receive all
information in clear and simple language including the
language of the funding agreement for this preneed
arrangement.

If any law, cemetery, or crematory requires the purchase of
any of those items listed in Part I, the requirements will be
explained in writing.

By signing this contract, buyer acknowledges availability of
and opportunity to read a copy of all of the required
documents.

V.  TERMINATION OF CONTRACT

This person who funds this contract through a trust
agreement may terminate this preneed contract at any time
prior to the furnishing of the services or supplies contracted
for:

Within 30 days

If you terminate this preneed contract within 30 days of the
date of this contract, you will be refunded all payments of
whatever type you have made, plus any interest or income
you may have earned.

More than 30 days

If you terminate this preneed contract more than 30 days
after the date on this contract, you will be refunded whatever
amount was required to be placed in a revocable trust fund,
plus any interest or income it has earned.

Any person who funds this contract through a trust fund
which is irrevocable or through an insurance/annuity policy
or through the transfer of real estate/personal property may
not be eligible for a refund.

VI.  STATEMENT OF GUARANTEE

By signing this contract, (Funeral Home) __________ agrees
to the statement checked below (check one):

______ Prefinancing guarantees that no additional
payment will be required from the family or estate for
guaranteed services and supplies provided the Grand
Total of these arrangements is paid in full and the
interest is allowed to accumulate in your account (see
page 4 for Grand Total amount).  Payment of the
difference will be required for the nonguaranteed
estimated items if they increase in price.

______ The prices for items under supplies and services
are not guaranteed.

VII.  AGREEMENT

In witness whereof, the Buyer and the Funeral Home have
executed this contract, intending its terms to be in
accordance with the Code of Virginia and any regulations
implementing the Code.  By signing this contract you
acknowledge that you have been provided access to and the
opportunity to read the Disclosure Statements.

______________________
(Designee of Funeral Home)

_____________________
(Buyer)

______________________
(Funeral Home)

_____________________
(Contract Date)

VIII.  PENALTIES OR RESTRICTIONS

The (funeral home) __________, has the following penalties
or restrictions on the provisions of this contract.

1.  (Insert geographic restrictions);

2.  (Insert an explanation of the Funeral Home's inability
to perform the request(s) of the Buyer);

3.  (Insert a description of any other circumstances
which apply);

4.  (Insert information that if particular goods and
services specified in the contract are unavailable at the
time of need):

A.  The funeral home shall be required to furnish
supplies and services similar in style and at least
equal in quality of material and workmanship; and

B.  The representative of the deceased shall have the
right to choose the supplies or services to be
substituted.
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Addendum to Preneed Contract

DESIGNEE AGREEMENT

I designate ____________________ of (address) to assist
with the preneed arrangements in my behalf.  This individual
is also authorized to work with the funeral home after my
death to ensure that these arrangements are fulfilled.  The
relationship of my designee to me is
____________________ .

Buyer:  ____________________  Date:  __________

I accept the request of (buyer) ____________________ to
assist with his/her preneed arrangements and to work with
the funeral home after his/her death to ensure that these
arrangements are fulfilled.

Designee:  _________________________  Date:  _______

The foregoing was acknowledged before me this
__________ day of __________, 19____

Notary:  ____________________________

Date Commission Expires:  __________

APPENDIX II.
DISCLOSURE STATEMENTS PRESCRIBED BY THE

BOARD.

DISCLOSURES

18 VAC 65-30-230.  Content of disclosure statements
prescribed by the board.

The following disclosure statements shall be provided as a
part of any contract used for preneed funeral planning:

We are required by law and/or the Virginia Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalmers to provide access to and the
opportunity for you to read the following information to assist
you in preplanning.  A question and answer format is used
for clarity and includes the most commonly asked questions.

PRENEED CONTRACTS

-- Is there more than one type of preneed agreement?

Yes.  Guaranteed contracts mean that the costs of certain
individual items or the cost of the total package will never be
more to your family or estate.  Nonguaranteed means just
the opposite.  (See the section entitled "General Funding
Information" for more information on guaranteed and
nonguaranteed costs.)

Contracts may be funded by insurance/annuity policies,
trusts, or transfer of real estate/personal property.

-- What are my protections?

You should take your completed preneed contract home
before you sign it and review it with your family or your legal
advisor.  You have a right to this review before you sign the
contract or pay any money.

You should also read carefully the information in this
disclosure statement.  If you have any questions, contact the
seller for more information or contact your legal advisor.

CANCELLATION

-- Can I cancel my preneed agreement if I change my mind?
Will I get my money back?

You may cancel payment for supplies or services within 30
days after signing the agreement.  If you funded your
preneed arrangement through a trust, the preneed arranger
will refund all the money you have paid plus any interest or
income you have earned.

If you funded your preneed arrangement through a revocable
trust and you cancel the preneed contract AFTER the 30 day
deadline, you will be refunded all of your money on the items
that are not guaranteed and 90% of all your money on the
items that are guaranteed.  You will also receive any interest
or income on that amount.  A revocable trust is a trust that
you can cancel.

There may be a penalty to withdraw money from a revocable
trust account which has already been established in your
name.  If there is, your contract will give you this information.
(See the first question under the section entitled "Payment"
below.)

If you have funded your preneed arrangement through an
irrevocable trust you will not be able to cancel the trust
agreement or receive a refund.  An irrevocable trust is one
that cannot be cancelled.

If you funded your preneed arrangement through an
insurance policy/annuity contract which will be used at the
time of your death to purchase the supplies and services you
have selected, you will need to pay careful attention to the
cancellation terms and conditions of the policy.  You may not
be eligible for a refund.

PAYMENT

-- What happens to my money after the contract is signed?

Your money will be handled in one of several ways.  It may
be deposited in a separate trust account in your name.  The
trust account will list a trustee who will be responsible for
handling your account.  The funeral home you have selected
as your beneficiary will also be listed.  You have the right to
change the funeral home and the trustee of your account
prior to receiving the supplies and services under the
preneed contract.

Your money may be used to purchase a preneed life
insurance policy which may be used to pay for your
arrangements upon your death.  The proceeds of the policy
will be assigned to the funeral home of your choice.  You
may change the funeral home assignment at any time prior
to receiving the supplies and services under the preneed
contract.

You may decide to choose a life insurance policy or a trust
account that requires regular premium payments and not
have to make an up-front, lump sum payment.

-- May I pay for goods and services with real estate or
personal property?
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Yes.  When you pay for these supplies and services in whole
or in part with any real estate you may own, the preneed
contract that you sign will be attached to the deed on the real
estate and the deed will be recorded in the clerk's office of
the circuit court in the city or county where the real estate is
located.

If you pay for goods and services with personal property
other than cash or real estate, the preneed arranger, will
declare in writing that the property will be placed in a trust
until the time of your death and will give you written
information on all the terms, conditions, and considerations
surrounding the trust.  The preneed arranger will confirm in
writing that he has received property.

You may decide not to transfer the title of the personal
property to the preneed arranger of your preneed contract.
In this situation, you will have to submit information to the
preneed arranger in writing that you are giving him the
property without a title, and describe the property and where
it will be kept until the time of your death.

In either case, the written statements will be recorded in the
clerk's office of the circuit court of the city or county in which
you live.  The written statement does not have to be separate
document.

GENERAL FUNDING INFORMATION

-- If the prices of the goods and services are affected by
inflation between now and my death, will the funding I
choose be adjusted accordingly?

There is a possibility that the funding may fail to keep up
with inflation.  This could mean that the funding you choose
could have insufficient value to cover all expenses.

-- What happens if my funding is not enough to cover the full
cost of these arrangements?

If the entire funeral or specific items in the agreement are
guaranteed by the preneed arranger, your family or estate
will not have to pay any more for those items provided that
you have paid the grand total in full and all interest earned is
allowed to accumulate in your account.  However, if you
have not paid the account in full and have not allowed the
interest to accumulate in the account and any items increase
in price, your family or estate would be responsible for the
extra amount if the funds are not sufficient.  In some
situations where you pay toward your funding with regular
premiums rather than in one lump sum, your account may
not be enough at the time of your death to cover everything.

-- What happens to the extra money if my funding is more
than what is needed to pay for these arrangements?

Sometimes, as explained in the answer above, your funding
account may not have had the time to grow sufficiently
before your death to cover items which are guaranteed in
price to you, yet have increased in price for the funeral
home.

After funeral expenses are paid, there may be money left
over.  Because of the on-going risk that a funeral home takes

in guaranteeing prices for you, the funeral home may not be
required to return this excess money.

Some funding agreements and funeral homes, however,
require that extra money be returned to the estate or family.
Others do not.  You should obtain information concerning
this in writing before signing the preneed contract.

The answers to the following questions will depend upon the
terms and conditions of the individual's funding and preneed
agreements.

Please review your preneed contract and/or funding
agreement for answers to these questions.

-- What happens to my preneed contract if I change my
assignment from one funeral home to another?

(Funeral home shall place answer here)

-- What happens to my preneed contract if I change the
beneficiary of my funding or the use of my proceeds from the
funding.

If you make such changes, it could void your contract.  You
should request specific information from the preneed
arranger and the funding arrangement.

-- What will happen to my preneed contract if I fail to make
agreed to premium payments to my funding source?

(Funeral home shall place answer here)

-- Do I get any money back if I surrender or cancel my
funding arrangements?

(Funeral home shall place answer here)

TRUST ACCOUNT

-- If my money goes into a trust account, what information
will I receive about that account?

If you want your money to go into a trust fund, the trust
agreement must furnish you with information about the
amount to be deposited into the account, the name of the
trustee, information about what happens to the interest your
trust account will earn, and information about your
responsibility to file and pay taxes on that interest.

If there are filing expenses connected with your trust
account, you will be notified what the expenses are and
whether you or the preneed arranger is the responsible party
for paying those.

-- What happens to the interest earned by the trust?

The interest earned by the trust may be handled in different
ways by different trust arrangements.  The interest may have
to go back into your account if items on your contract are
guaranteed.  You may be responsible for reporting that
interest to the Internal Revenue Service and paying taxes on
it.  You will be responsible to pay any taxes on the interest
earned even if you cancel your trust account.

Some trust accounts cannot be cancelled.

There may be special fees deducted from your interest.
However, you may still be responsible for paying taxes on
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the entire amount of interest earned before the fees were
deducted.  Please ask your preneed arranger for a written list
of any fees so you will have a clear understanding about
them before you sign the contract.

-- If I pay my trust in premium payments, what happens if I
die before the grand total of the funeral has been placed in
trust?

(Funeral home shall place answer here)

CLAIMS AGAINST THIS CONTRACT

-- Can someone to whom I owe money make a claim against
the money, personal property, or real estate that I have used
to pay for this contract?

No.  This money or property cannot be used to settle a debt,
a bankruptcy, or resolve a claim.  These funds cannot be
garnished.

-- Can the money or property be taxed?

No.  Currently, interest earned on the money you deposit in a
trust, savings account, or the value of the property you used
for payment can be taxed but not the original amount which
you invested.  Interest earned on annuities is generally
deferred until withdrawal.

GENERAL GOODS AND SERVICES

-- If I choose goods and services that might not be available
at the time of my death, what is the provider required to do?

The funeral home which you select is required to furnish
supplies and services that are similar in style and equal in
value and quality if what you choose is no longer made or is
not available at the time of your death.

Your representative or next-of-kin will have the right to
choose the supplies or services to be substituted.  However,
if the substitute is more expensive than the item originally
selected by you, your designee or next-of-kin would be
responsible for paying the difference.  Under no
circumstances will the funeral establishment be allowed to
substitute lesser goods and services than the ones you
chose.

If, before your death, the funeral home goes out of business
or is otherwise unable to fulfill their obligation to you under
the preneed contract, you have the right to use the proceeds
at the funeral home of your choice.

If the inability to provide services does not become apparent
until the time of your death, the individual that you named as
your designee could use the funds for services at another
funeral home.

-- May I choose the exact item I want now and have the
funeral home store it until my death?

If the funeral home or supplier has a storage policy you may
ask for this service.  If the funeral home or preneed arranger
agrees to store these items, the risk of loss or damage shall
be upon the funeral home during the storage period.

For example, what would happen if you select a casket which
is in-stock at the time you make these arrangements and the
funeral home or supplier agrees to store it for you in their
warehouse and:  (i) damage occurs, (ii) the funeral home or
supplier goes out of business (iii) the funeral home or
supplier is sold, etc.? You need to be assured in writing of
protection in these types of situations.

-- What happens if I choose to have a unique service that is
not customary or routine in my community? Must the funeral
home comply with my wishes?

The funeral home which you have chosen to conduct your
service may be able to only provide certain types of services.
They may not be able to fulfill your request.  If there is a
restriction on what they can provide, you will be notified in
writing before you sign the preneed contract.

If the funeral home agrees in writing before you sign the
contract to perform such services, the funeral home shall
provide you a written, itemized statement of fees which you
will be charged.

-- Will the funeral home agree to transport my body to
another area for burial?

Again, the funeral home may have restrictions on the
distance they are willing to travel to conduct a burial.  If
restrictions apply, you will be notified in writing.

If the funeral home agrees in writing before you sign the
contract to honor your wishes, the funeral home shall provide
you a written, itemized statement of any penalties (fees)
which you will be charged.

-- I may die and be buried in a city other than one where the
funeral home that I select for my goods and services is
located.  Will the funeral home that I select under this
contract deliver my merchandise to the city where I die and
am to be buried?

This is entirely up to the funeral home to decide.  If the
funeral home has restrictions on this, they will notify you in
writing.  If they agree to ship merchandise to another area for
your funeral, you will be notified before signing this contract
of the fees involved if they can be determined and
guaranteed at this time.

However, the preneed contract arrangements and funding is
considered portable.  This means that they are available for
transfer from one locality to another.  It is unusual for actual
goods and merchandise to be transferred.

PRICING

-- How will I know that the prices of items which I select are
the same for everyone?

The funeral home maintains a general price list and a casket
and outer burial container price list.  Your preneed arranger
will give this to you before you begin talking about
arrangements.  After your discussion is finished, you will be
given a copy of your preneed contract on which charges will
be listed.  Charges will only be made for the items you
select.  If there are any legal or other requirements that
mandate that you must buy any items you did not
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specifically ask for, the preneed arranger will explain the
reason for the charges to you in writing.

You may ask a funeral home to purchase certain items or
make special arrangements for you.  If the funeral home
charges you for these services, you will receive an
explanation in writing.  The charges to you for these services
may be higher than if you or your family purchased them
directly.

At the time of your death, your family or estate will be given
an itemized statement which will list all of the specific
charges.  This is a requirement of the Federal Trade
Commission.  Although not required to do so, some funeral
homes may also choose to give you an itemized statement
when you make these arrangements.

-- What is meant by guaranteed and nonguaranteed prices?

Some preneed arrangers may agree that certain prices are
guaranteed.  Some may guarantee the price of the total
package.  Other funeral homes may not guarantee any
prices.

Guaranteed prices are those that will not increase for your
family or estate at the time of your death.  Basically, this
means that your funeral arrangement for those items will be
covered by and will not exceed your funding and the interest
it earns.  Nonguaranteed prices are those which might
increase or decrease.  The nonguaranteed prices may be
written in at the time of this contract with you understanding
that the price is an estimate only and may increase or
decrease.  A settlement to that effect may have to be made
with your family or representative after your death.

-- Can the preneed arranger and I negotiate a projected
charge for the nonguaranteed items based on the rate of
inflation?

It is entirely up to the preneed arranger to inform you of the
funeral home policy in that regard.

CASKETS AND CONTAINERS

-- Do I have to buy a vault or a container to surround the
casket in the grave?

In most areas of the country, state and local laws do not
require that you buy a container to surround the casket in the
grave.  However, many cemeteries ask that you have such a
container to support the earth above the grave.  Either a
burial vault or a grave liner will satisfy if such requirements
exist.

-- Is a casket required?

A casket is not required for direct cremation.  If you want to
arrange a direct cremation, you may use an unfinished wood
box or an alternative container made of heavy cardboard or
composition materials.  You may choose a canvas pouch.

-- Do certain cemeteries and crematoriums have special
requirements?

Particular cemeteries and crematoriums may have policies
requiring that certain goods and services be purchased.  If

you decide not to purchase goods and services required by a
particular cemetery or crematorium, you have the right to
select another location that has no such policy.

EMBALMING

-- Is embalming always required?

Except in certain special cases, embalming is not required
by law.  Embalming may be necessary, however, if you
select certain funeral arrangements such as viewing or
visitation with an open casket.  You do not have to pay for
embalming you did not approve if you select arrangements
such as a direct cremation or immediate burial.  If the funeral
home must charge to conduct an embalming, your designee
will be notified of the reasons in writing.

ASSISTANCE

-- This is all very confusing to me.  May I pick someone
close to me to help with all of this? May this person also
work with the funeral home to ensure that my wishes as
written in the preneed contract are carried out?

You may designate in writing a person of your choice to work
with the funeral home and preneed arranger either before or
after your death to ensure that your wishes are fulfilled.  You
must sign the statement and have it notarized.  The person
that you designate must agree to this in writing.  Under the
laws governing preneed contracts, the individual whom you
designate has final authority at the time of your death.

-- Where can I complain if I have a problem concerning my
preneed contract, the preneed arranger, or the funeral
home?

You may direct your complaints or concerns to:

The Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers
Department of Health Professions
6606 West Broad Street, 4th Floor
Richmond, Virginia 23230-1717
Telephone Number (804) 662-9907
Toll Free Number 1-800-533-1560
Fax:  (804) 662-9943

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-355; Filed July 15, 1998, 11:15 a.m.

* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 65-40-10 et seq.  Resident
Trainee Program for Funeral Service (amending 18 VAC
65-40-10, 18 VAC 65-40-40, 18 VAC 65-40-90, 18 VAC 65-
40-110, 18 VAC 65-40-130, 18 VAC 65-40-160, 18 VAC 65-
40-180, 18 VAC 65-40-200, 18 VAC 65-40-210, 18 VAC 65-
40-220, 18 VAC 65-40-250, 18 VAC 65-40-280, 18 VAC 65-
40-300, 18 VAC 65-40-320, 18 VAC 65-40-330, and 18 VAC
65-40-340; adding 18 VAC 65-40-170, 18 VAC 65-40-201;
repealing 18 VAC 65-40-20, 18 VAC 65-40-30, 18 VAC 65-
40-50, 18 VAC 65-40-60, 18 VAC 65-40-70, 18 VAC 65-40-
80, 18 VAC 65-40-100, 18 VAC 65-40-120, 18 VAC 65-40-
140, 18 VAC 65-40-150, 18 VAC 65-40-170, 18 VAC 65-40-
190, 18 VAC 65-40-200, 18 VAC 65-40-230, 18 VAC 65-40-
240, 18 VAC 65-40-260, 18 VAC 65-40-270, 18 VAC 65-40-
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290, 18 VAC 65-40-310, and 18 VAC 65-40-350 through
18 VAC 65-40-630).

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 28 (§ 54.1-
2800 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m.
Public comments may be submitted until October 2,
1998.

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  Chapters 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) and 28 (§ 54.1-
2800 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia provide the
basis for this regulation.

Chapter 24 establishes the general powers and duties of the
health regulatory boards including the power to establish
qualifications for licensure and the responsibility to
promulgate regulations.

Chapter 28 establishes the powers and duties of the Board of
Funeral Directors and Embalmers and establishes
requirements for the resident trainee program in funeral
services.

Purpose:  The purpose of these regulations is to protect the
public health, safety and welfare by establishing
requirements for the education and training of resident
trainees in funeral services.  Amendments are proposed to
implement the recommendations of the Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalmers in its report pursuant to Executive
Order 15 (94), which were to simplify, clarify, and eliminate
redundancy and unnecessary requirements.

Substance:

18 VAC 65-40-10.  Amendments are proposed to eliminate
unnecessary definitions and to eliminate those which are
redundant since the terms are already defined in the Code of
Virginia.

18 VAC 65-40-20 and 18 VAC 65-40-30.  Repealed because
they are unnecessary.

18 VAC 65-40-50.  Amendments are proposed to consolidate
all applicable fees into one section and to specify that fees
are not refundable.

18 VAC 65-40-50 through 18 VAC 65-40-80.  The sections
are to be repealed because the regulations are included in
the section on fees.

18 VAC 65-40-90.  Amendments are proposed to consolidate
renewal and notification requirements into one section.

18 VAC 65-40-100.  Amended to eliminate regulations found
in another section.

18 VAC 65-40-110.  Amendments are proposed to simplify
and to include a rule found elsewhere pertaining to
reinstatement.

18 VAC 65-40-120.  Repealed.

18 VAC 65-40-140 and 18 VAC 65-40-150.  Repealed
because the requirements are already stated in the Code of
Virginia or elsewhere in regulation.

18 VAC 65-40-160.  An amendment is proposed to specify
that 40 hours a week is considered “full-time.”

18 VAC 65-40-170.  Repealed because the requirements are
already in the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 65-40-180.  Amendments are clarifying and intended
to consolidate wording contained elsewhere in this chapter.

18 VAC 65-40-190.  Repealed because it is unnecessary.

18 VAC 65-40-210.  Amendments are proposed to simplify
the language and include applicable requirements in this
section.

18 VAC 65-40-220.  Amendments are proposed to clarify
that the required minimum number of funerals and
embalmings may be counted over a 12-month period rather
than one calendar year and to allow a trainee to seek
additional sites for training if an establishment cannot
provide a sufficient number.

18 VAC 65-40-230 and 18 VAC 65-40-240.  These sections
are repealed because they are unnecessary.

18 VAC 65-40-250.  Amendments are proposed to include
current requirements for supervision in this section.

18 VAC 65-40-260 and 18 VAC 65-40-270.  Repealed
because the requirements are in 18 VAC 65-40-250.

18 VAC 65-20-280.  Amendments are proposed to specify
and clarify that the application for supervision is to be signed
by the establishment manager and each licensee who will be
providing supervision.  It is not necessary for a different
application to be submitted by each of those persons.

18 VAC 65-40-290 and 18 VAC 65-40-310.  Repealed
because they are unnecessary.

18 VAC 65-40-300.  Amendments are proposed for this
section to require that a new application be submitted if the
trainee program is interrupted and a new supervisor is
required.  The regulation also specifies that only training
under direct supervision (as currently defined) is recognized
in this program.

18 VAC 65-40-320.  Amendments are proposed to clarify
that a late report may result in additional time in a
traineeship. (Current regulation states that it shall result in
additional time but permits the board to waive the
requirement.)  Proposed amendments also delete the
checklist showing a chronological history of training.  Other
amendments are editorial.

18 VAC 65-40-330.  Amendments are editorial and clarifying.

18 VAC 65-40-340.  Amendments are proposed to eliminate
the specific listings of information which must be provided to
the trainee, and specifies that the supervisors in funeral
services and in embalming are responsible for providing
instruction in the use of forms and lists and for training in all
aspects of practice.
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18 VAC 65-40-350 through 18 VAC 65-40-630.  Repealed
because they are unnecessary.

Issues:

Issue 1.  Specificity in the regulation of curriculum of a
resident trainee program.

Current regulations detail in 18 VAC 65-40-340 through
18 VAC 65-40-630 the specific topics and information to be
addressed in the course of providing training to a resident
trainee.  In its review of these regulations, the board
determined that requirements could be generally stated to
allow more flexibility for the establishment, the supervisor
and the trainee.

To ensure that the trainee and the supervisor are aware of
the subject areas which must be covered in order to prepare
the trainee for a licensure examination, the board office
provides a detailed checklist of information, procedures,
ethical issues, and policies.  The interim and final reports
given to the board provide further assurance that the trainee
has met the requirements of law (25 funerals and 25
embalmings) and regulation.

In keeping with the goal of eliminating unnecessary
regulation, the board proposes to repeal most of the
regulation in the sections referenced above.

Advantages to the licensees:  With the detailed listing of
information and procedures taken out of regulation, the
licensee will have more flexibility to tailor the training to the
experience level of the trainee and to the specific needs of
the establishment and the community it serves.  In addition,
the board and staff will provide a checklist of areas of
training to be covered that may be revised as issues and
problems arise.  Such flexibility will permit the board to be
more responsive to the trainees and to the needs of the
public utilizing funeral services.

Disadvantages to the licensees:  Without the detailed listing
of information and procedures in regulation, there may be
some unease and uncertainty among trainees and
supervisors about the required curriculum.  The board
believes that the checklist of specifics which meet the
general requirements of law and regulation will be sufficient
to provide guidance.

Advantages or disadvantage to the public:   There are no
advantages or disadvantages to the public.

Issue 2.  Reduction in the number and complexity of
regulations.

In compliance with Executive Order 15 (94), the board has
examined every regulation for necessity and clarity and has
determined that 298 sections of this chapter could be
repealed and a number of others simplified.  Many of the
regulations repeat requirements stated elsewhere in statute
or regulation or were found to be unnecessary.

Advantages or disadvantage to the licensees:  By repealing
unnecessary sections, consolidating and simplifying
requirements, and reorganizing for clarity, these regulations
should be more easily understood. Since the regulations will

be reduced and simplified, compliance should also be easier
for trainees and their supervisors.  There should be no
disadvantages to the licensees.

Advantages or disadvantage to the public:  There should be
no advantages or disadvantages to the public, since
requirements for training have not been changed and the
need for “direct supervision” has been clarified.

Estimated Impact:

Projected number of persons affected and their cost of
compliance:  The approximate number of funeral service
trainees affected by these regulations is 180.

There will be little cost for compliance by regulated entities or
their employers, as there are no new requirements in
proposed regulations.  Persons who have their traineeship
interrupted and must be reinstated now pay a $10 fee for
reinstatement; the proposed regulations would require a new
application with a fee of $25.  Approximately 50 trainees per
year will have an increase in costs of $15 for resumption or
reinstatement of a traineeship.

Cost to the agency for implementation:  The board will incur
approximately $1,500 in cost for printing and mailing Notices
of Comment and final amended regulations to licensees and
other interested parties.  There will be no additional cost for
conducting a public hearing, which will be held in conjunction
with a scheduled board meeting.  The board does not
anticipate any additional costs for investigations or
administrative proceedings against licensees for violations of
these regulations.

Cost to local governments:  There will be no impact of these
regulations on local government.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13
(94).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property.  The
analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  The proposed
changes to the  regulations on the education and training of
resident trainees in funeral services are pursuant to review
under Executive Order 15 (94) and are intended to simplify
and clarify these regulations.  They do not make any
significant changes in the substantive requirements of the
regulations.

Estimated economic impact.  The amendments to the
regulations reorganize and clarify the regulatory



Proposed Regulations

Volume 14, Issue 23 Monday, August 3, 1998

3519

requirements.  These changes can be expected to reduce
somewhat the costs of complying with the regulations.  Since
there are no changes in the protections afforded consumers,
the savings in compliance costs, although small, most likely
represent a net economic benefit to Virginia.

Businesses and entities affected.  These changes will only
affect the 180 individuals who are in training in order to
qualify to offer funeral services.  These changes will make
compliance with the regulations somewhat easier due to
improved clarity and consistency of the regulations.  The
economic value of this change will be small, but it will almost
certainly be positive.  Since there are no substantive
changes to the requirements of this regulation, it is unlikely
that there will be any impact on the purchasers of these
services.  Any reduction in prices due to lower compliance
costs would most likely be too small to observe.

Localities particularly affected.  No localities will share
disproportionately in the costs or benefits from this proposal.

Projected impact on employment.  These changes will not
have any direct impact on employment in Virginia.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  While the
value of a license to offer funeral services may increase by a
small amount, this impact will be too small to measure.

Summary of analysis.  This change in the funeral services
training regulations will, in all probability, have a small,
positive impact on the Virginia economy.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The board concurs
with the economic impact analysis prepared by the
Department of Planning and Budget.

Summary:

In response to the comprehensive review conducted
pursuant to Executive Order 15 (94), the proposed
amendments repeal unnecessary or duplicative
regulations (such as those which restate provisions of
the Code of Virginia), simplify current requirements (such
as requirements for the application for supervision), and
reduce certain regulatory burdens (such as the
requirement for a certain number of funerals and
embalmings in one calendar year in one funeral
establishment).

PART I.
GENERAL PROVISIONS.

Article 1.
Definitions, Purpose, Applicability.

18 VAC 65-40-10.  Definitions.

In addition to words and terms defined in § 54.1-2800 of
the Code of Virginia, the following words and terms, when
used in this chapter, shall have the following meanings,
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Applicant" means a person applying for registration by the
board.

"Board" means the Board of Funeral Directors and
Embalmers.

"Conduct" means to carry out and perform.

"Direct supervision" means that a licensed funeral service
professional is present and on the premises of the facility
with the trainee.

"Full-time school attendance" means that the individual
attending mortuary science school is enrolled in 12 or more
semester hours of coursework per semester.

"Full-time work schedule" means that the resident trainee
works at least 40 hours per week.

"Part-time school attendance" means that the individual
attending mortuary science school is enrolled in 11 or fewer
semester hours of coursework per semester.

"Registration" means the process of applying to the board
to seek approval to serve as a trainee or supervisor.

"Resident trainee" means a person who is preparing to be
licensed for the practice of funeral services under the direct
supervision of a practitioner licensed by the board.

"Supervisor" means a licensed employee of the
establishment which is at the training site.  The employee is
licensed as an embalmer, funeral director, or funeral service
licensee and has agreed to supervise the training program of
the resident trainee and who has been approved by the
board to provide supervision for the resident trainee.

"Training site" means the licensed funeral establishment
which has agreed to serve as the location for resident
training and has been approved by the board for the training.

18 VAC 65-40-20.  Purpose. (Repealed.)

This chapter establishes the standards for qualifications,
training and practice of persons as resident trainees; sites of
training; and supervisors of training in the Commonwealth of
Virginia.

18 VAC 65-40-30.  Applicability. (Repealed.)

Individuals and establishments subject to this chapter are
(i) funeral service resident trainees; (ii) licensed funeral
homes serving as training sites; and (iii) funeral service
licensees, funeral directors, and embalmers serving as
training supervisors.

Article 2.
Fees.

18 VAC 65-40-40.  Initial fees.

A.  The following fees shall be paid as applicable for
registration:

1.  Funeral service resident trainee
registration, reinstatement, or renewal

$25

2.  Resumption of traineeship after
interruption,

$10

2.  Late fee for renewal up to 30 days after $15
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expiration

3.  Duplicate copy of trainee registration $15

4.  Returned check $25

5.  Change of supervisor $15

B.  Fees shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia
and shall not be refundable once submitted.

18 VAC 65-40-50.  Renewal fee. (Repealed.)

The following annual fee shall be paid for registration
renewal:

Resident trainee registration renewal, $25

18 VAC 65-40-60.  Reinstatement fee. (Repealed.)

The following reinstatement fee shall be paid in addition to
annual renewal fees for reinstatement of an expired
registration up to three years following expiration:

Resident trainee registration reinstatement, $10

Article 3.
Other Fees.

18 VAC 65-40-70.  Duplicates. (Repealed.)

Duplicate trainee registration, $25

18 VAC 65-40-80.  Additional fee information. (Repealed.)

A.  There shall be a fee of $25 for returned checks.

B.  Fees shall not be refunded once submitted.

Article 4.
Renewals.

18 VAC 65-40-90.  Expiration date Renewal of
registration.

A.  The resident trainee registration shall expire on
January 31 of each calendar year and may be renewed by
submission of the renewal notice and prescribed fee.

B.  A person who fails to renew a registration by the
expiration date shall be deemed to have an invalid
registration.  C.  No credit will be allowed for a traineeship
period served under an expired registration.

C.  The resident trainee is responsible for notifying the
board of any changes in name, address, employment, or
supervisor.  Any notices shall be validly given when mailed to
the address on record with the board.

18 VAC 65-40-100.  Renewal of registration. (Repealed.)

A person who desires to renew his registration for the next
year shall, not later than the expiration date:

1.  Return the renewal notice:

2.  Submit the applicable fee; and

3.  Notify the board of any changes in name, address,
employment, or supervisor.

18 VAC 65-40-110.  Reinstatement of expired
registration.

A.  The board may consider reinstatement of an expired
registration for up to three years following expiration.  A
written application request for reinstatement shall be
submitted to the board and shall include payment of all
applicable delinquent renewal fees prescribed in 18 VAC
65-40-50 plus the additional reinstatement fee prescribed in
18 VAC 65-40-60.

B.  When a registration is not reinstated within three years
of its expiration date, a new application for registration shall
be filed and a new training program begun.

18 VAC 65-40-120.  Reapplication for registration.
(Repealed.)

When a registration is not reinstated within three years of
its expiration date, an applicant for registration shall restart
the training program and reapply for traineeship.

PART II.
TRAINEE PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS.

Article 1.
Training Program:  General.

18 VAC 65-40-130.  Resident training.

A.  The trainee program shall consist of at least 18 months
of resident training.

B.  An individual may hold an active traineeship
registration for a maximum of 48 months from the date of
initial registration for the traineeship program.  The board, in
its discretion, may grant an extension of the traineeship
registration.

C.  A resident trainee shall not attend school full time while
serving his traineeship (see 18 VAC 65-40-10).

18 VAC 65-40-140.  Number of trainees limited.
(Repealed.)

When more than two trainees are requested by a licensed
funeral establishment, not more than two trainees will be
registered per licensed supervisor at any time.

18 VAC 65-40-150.  Approval of funeral training.
(Repealed.)

The approval shall apply to and be valid only to:

1.  The resident trainee;

2.  The licensed person or persons under whom the
training is to be given; and

3.  The funeral service establishment or establishments
named in the approval statement.

18 VAC 65-40-160.  Trainee work schedule.

Every resident trainee shall be assigned a full-time work
schedule of at least 40 hours each week in order to obtain
credit for such training.  The trainee shall be required to
receive training in all areas of funeral service.  Additional and
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further hours may be at the discretion of the supervisor or
may be a requirement of the facility.

Article 2.
Resident Trainees:  Requirements and Application Process

for Registration.

18 VAC 65-40-170.  Resident trainee requirements.
(Repealed.)

To be approved for registration as a resident trainee, a
person shall:

1.  Be a graduate of an accredited high school or the
equivalent;

2.  Obtain a supervisor approved by the board to provide
training;

3.  Have not been convicted of a felony.  The board, in
its discretion, may approve an individual convicted of a
felony if he has been pardoned or has had his civil rights
restored.

18 VAC 65-40-180.  Trainee application package.

Every qualified A.  Any person seeking who meets the
qualifications of § 54.1-2817 of the Code of Virginia may seek
registration with the board as a trainee under the Program
for Training of Resident Trainees shall submit by submission
of an application package, which shall include:
documentation of the qualifications and signatures of any
supervising licensees.

B.  With the exception of school transcripts, all parts of an
application package, including the required fee and any
additional documentation as may be required to determine
eligibility, shall be submitted simultaneously.

1.  Completed and signed application;

2.  Fee prescribed in 18 VAC 65-40-40;

3.  Additional documentation as may be required by the
board to determine eligibility of the applicant.

18 VAC 65-40-190.  Submission of incomplete
application package; exception. (Repealed.)

All required parts of the application package shall be
submitted at the same time.  An incomplete package will be
returned to the applicant.

Exception:  Some schools require that certified transcripts
be sent directly to the licensing authority.  That policy is
acceptable to the board.  National examination scores where
applicable will also be accepted from the examining
authority.

18 VAC 65-40-200.  Resumption-of-traineeship
application. (Repealed.)

When a traineeship is interrupted, the trainee shall submit
a resumption-of-traineeship application to the board prior to
resuming his traineeship.

18 VAC 65-40-201.  Failure to register.

If the resident traineeship is not approved by the board
prior to initiation of training, no credit shall be allowed for the
length of time served.

Article 3.
Establishment Application Requirements.

18 VAC 65-40-210.  Training sites.

A.  Funeral training shall be given at the main office of the
licensed funeral service establishment approved for training
or at any branch of such establishment that complies with
the provisions of this chapter and is approved by the board
as a training site.

B.  An individual, firm, or corporation owning or operating
any funeral service establishment shall apply to and be
approved by the board prior to permitting funeral training to
be given or conducted in the establishment.

18 VAC 65-40-220.  Qualifications of training site.

The board shall approve only an establishment or two
combined establishments to serve as the training site or sites
which:

1.  Have a full and unrestricted Virginia license;

2.  Have complied in all respects with the provisions of
the regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and
Embalmers; and

3.  Have 35 or more funerals and 35 or more bodies for
embalming per calendar year over a 12-month period for
each person to be trained.  This total must be
maintained throughout the period of training.  If the
establishment does not meet the required number of
funerals or embalmings, the resident trainee may seek
approval for an additional training site.

18 VAC 65-40-230.  Approval of training site. (Repealed.)

An individual, firm, or corporation owning or operating any
funeral service establishment shall apply to and be approved
by the board prior to permitting funeral training to be given or
conducted in the establishment.

18 VAC 65-40-240.  Establishment application package.
(Repealed.)

Every qualified establishment or combined establishments
seeking approval as a training site or sites shall submit an
application package which shall include:

1.  Completed and signed application; and

2.  Additional documentation as may be required by the
board to determine eligibility of the establishment.
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Article 4.
Supervisor Application Requirements.

18 VAC 65-40-250.  Training Requirements for
supervision.

A.  Training shall be conducted under the direct
supervision of a licensee or licensees approved by the board.

18 VAC 65-40-260.  Qualifications of supervisor.

B.  The board shall approve only funeral service licensees,
licensed funeral directors, or licensed embalmers to give
funeral training who: 1. have a full and unrestricted Virginia
funeral license; 2.  Have complied in all respects with the
provisions of the regulations of the Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalmers; and 3. are employed full time in
the establishment where training occurs.

C.  A supervisor licensed as an embalmer or a funeral
director shall provide supervision only in the areas of funeral
practice for which he is licensed.

D.  Failure to register as a supervisor may subject the
licensee to disciplinary action by the board.

18 VAC 65-40-270.  Supervisor approval. (Repealed.)

An individual shall apply to and be approved by the board
prior to serving as a supervisor.

18 VAC 65-40-280.  Supervisor application package.

Every qualified person seeking approval of the board as a
supervisor shall submit an application package which shall
include:

1.  Completed and signed application; and

2.  Additional documentation as may be required by the
board to determine eligibility of the applicant.

A.  A licensee seeking approval by the board as a
supervisor shall submit a completed application and any
additional documentation as may be required to determine
eligibility.

B.  The application for supervision of a resident trainee
shall be signed by the establishment manager and by the
persons who will be providing supervision for embalming and
for the funeral services.

18 VAC 65-40-290.  Curriculum compliance. (Repealed.)

An approved supervisor shall comply with and shall
provide supervision and training as prescribed by this
chapter.

Article 5.
Program Requirements.

18 VAC 65-40-300.  Selection of new supervisor
Interruption and reinstatement.

A.  If the program is interrupted, the trainee shall obtain a
new supervisor and submit a new application for approval.

18 VAC 65-40-310.  Resumption of training.

B.  Credit shall only be allowed for training under direct
supervision.  Credit for training shall resume when a new
supervisor is approved by the board and the applicant has
been reinstated.

Article 6.
Reporting Requirements.

18 VAC 65-40-320.  Report to the board:  six-month
report; partial report; final report.

A.  The trainee, the supervisor or supervisors, and the
establishment shall submit a written report to the board at
the end of every six months of training.  The report shall:

1.  Verify that the trainee has actually served in the
required capacity during the preceding six months; and

2.  Be received in the board office no later than 10 days
following the end of the six-month period.  A late report
automatically will have credit deducted in two week
increments from the completed training time.  Late
reports may result in additional time being added to the
traineeship.

B.  If the training program is terminated or interrupted prior
to completion of a six-month period, the trainee and the
supervisor shall submit a partial report to the board with a
written explanation of the cause of program termination or
interruption.

1.  The partial report shall provide the amount of time
served and the dates since the last reporting period.
Credit for partial reports shall be given in increments of
one month.

Written explanation of the causes of program termination
or interruption shall be provided by the trainee and the
supervisor.

2.  Partial reports shall be received in the board office no
later than 10 days after the interruption or termination of
the trainee program.  Credit may be deducted for late
reports.

C.  The trainee, the supervisor or supervisors and the
establishment manager shall submit written final reports to
the board at the end of the apprenticeship period resident
traineeship as follows:

1.  A Final Trainee Report, which certifies that the
trainee has conducted 25 funerals and 25 embalmings,
shall be submitted.

2.  A trainee, his supervisor and the establishment
manager shall submit a notarized affidavit to the board
at the end of the trainee program that full compliance
has been met with the trainee curriculum the trainee has
fully complied with requirements of the trainee program.

3.  A trainee shall submit a completed checklist showing
a chronological history of training to the board at the end
of the trainee program.
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All final reports shall be received in the board office no
later than 10 days after the completion of the traineeship.
Late reports may result in additional time being added to the
traineeship.

18 VAC 65-40-330.  Failure to submit training report.

If the trainee, supervisor, or establishment manager fails
to submit the reports required in 18 VAC 65-40-320, the
trainee shall may forfeit all credit for training or disciplinary
action may be taken against the trainee, supervisor and
establishment manager.  The board may waive such
forfeiture.

PART III.
TRAINING PROGRAM:  FUNERAL SUPERVISORS'

RESPONSIBILITIES.

Article 1.
Regulations and Forms.

18 VAC 65-40-340.  Regulations Supervisors'
responsibilities.

A.  The supervisor shall provide the trainee with all
applicable laws and regulations or sections of regulations
relating to the funeral industry as follows:.

1.  Regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and
Embalmers;

2.  Preneed regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors
and Embalmers;

3.  Virginia Department of Health regulations governing:

a.  Vital statistics reporting;

b.  Responsibilities of the medical examiner;

c.  Cremations and burial at sea;

d.  Disinterments and reinterments;

e.  Shipping bodies to another country;

f.  Shipping bodies by public transport; and

g.  Filing of death certificates;

4.  Occupational Safety and Health Administration
(OSHA) regulations;

5.  Regulations governing the filing of Veteran's
Administration and Social Security claims;

6.  Federal Trade Commission's Funeral Rule on funeral
industry practices.

B.  The supervisor shall provide the trainee with copies of
and instruction in the use of all forms and price lists employed
by the funeral establishment.

C.  The supervisor shall provide the trainee with instruction
in all aspects of funeral services and shall allow the trainee
under direct supervision to conduct all necessary
arrangements for a minimum of 25 funerals.

D.  The embalming supervisor shall provide instruction on
all necessary precautions, embalming functions, and
reporting forms and shall allow the trainee under direct
supervision to perform a minimum of 25 embalmings.

18 VAC 65-40-350.  Forms. (Repealed.)

The supervisor shall provide the trainee with copies of and
explanations for the use of:

1.  General price list;

2.  Itemized statement of funeral goods and services;

3.  Casket price list;

4.  Outer burial container price list; and

5.  Preneed contract.

18 VAC 65-40-360.  Forms completion. (Repealed.)

The supervisor shall instruct the trainee in how to
complete, and allow the trainee to complete, final forms for
business as follows:

1.  Itemized statements of funeral goods and services;

2.  Preneed contracts;

3.  Death certificates;

4.  Veteran and Social Security Administration forms;

5.  Cremation forms; and

6.  Vital statistic reports.

18 VAC 65-40-370.  Preneed funding forms. (Repealed.)

The supervisor shall instruct the trainee on the
requirements and use of forms used by funding companies
for the investment of preneed funds.

Article 2.
Knowledge of the Community and Others.

18 VAC 65-40-380.  Community resources. (Repealed.)

The supervisor shall provide the trainee with a contact at
each of the following:

1.  Area hospitals;

2.  Area nursing homes;

3.  Regional medical examiner;

4.  City or county morgue;

5.  Police department;

6.  Cemeteries and crematoriums; and

7.  Churches, mosques, synagogues.

18 VAC 65-40-390.  Community funeral customs.
(Repealed.)

The supervisor shall instruct the trainee on the funeral
customs of the following:

1.  Nationalities served by the funeral home;
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2.  Religious rites;

3.  Fraternal rites; and

4.  Military rites.

Article 3.
Merchandising.

18 VAC 65-40-400.  Merchandising. (Repealed.)

The supervisor shall instruct the trainee on:

1.  The features and prices of merchandise offered by
the establishment, both special order and in-stock
merchandise;

2.  How to display merchandise and stock the selection
room;

3.  How to complete information cards to be displayed
on caskets; and

4.  How to order merchandise.

Article 4.
Initial Arrangements and Meeting with the Family.

18 VAC 65-40-410.  Initial contact. (Repealed.)

The supervisor shall allow the trainee to observe and then
conduct the following:

1.  Taking a death call;

2.  Removing a body and transporting it to the funeral
home;

3.  Placing the body in the preparation or holding room;

4.  Obtaining permission for embalming;

5.  Documenting verbal permission for embalming; and

6.  Documenting the reason for proceeding with an
embalming when the next-of-kin cannot be contacted.

18 VAC 65-40-420.  Confidentiality and dignity.
(Repealed.)

The supervisor shall instruct the trainee in the meaning of,
and ensure that the trainee adheres to, the funeral home
policy for:

1.  Honoring the confidentiality of every family and
family member; and

2.  Honoring the dignity of the dead and the families of
the dead at all times.

18 VAC 65-40-430.  Initial arrangements. (Repealed.)

The supervisor shall allow the trainee to observe and then
to practice with the supervisor the following:

1.  Giving prices over the telephone;

2.  The required time to offer the general price list,
casket price list, outer burial container price list, and
presenting the itemized statement of funeral goods and
services to the family;

3.  Meeting with the family and discussing prices and
disclosures;

4.  Taking vital statistics information;

5.  Taking information for obituary notices and filing the
notices with the newspaper;

6.  Showing the family the merchandise in the selection
room;

7.  Making cash advance arrangements with a third
party; and

8.  Arranging with and completing the paperwork for
cremations and cemetery burials.

18 VAC 65-40-440.  Meeting with the family. (Repealed.)

With the supervisor present and in the same room, the
supervisor shall allow the trainee to:

1.  Meet with families to discuss prices, disclosures, and
making arrangements for at need services;

2.  Complete itemized statements of funeral goods and
services for presentation to the families;

3.  Complete preneed arrangements with families;

4.  Explain the features and prices of merchandise to
families; and

5.  Assist families in choosing at need substitute
merchandise when merchandise that is chosen during a
preneed arrangement is not available at need.

Article 5.
The Service.

18 VAC 65-40-450.  Disposition. (Repealed.)

The supervisor shall allow the trainee to observe and then
conduct the following arrangement for disposition of the
body.

1.  Making cemetery and crematory arrangements;

2.  Taking a body to the crematorium; and

3.  Disposing of cremains as requested by the family.

18 VAC 65-40-460.  Services. (Repealed.)

The supervisor shall allow the trainee to observe and then
conduct with the supervisor present, the following
arrangements:

1.  Visitation or viewing or both;

2.  Chapel, church, and graveside services;

3.  Services for disposition of cremains;

4.  Funeral processions;

5.  Multiple services taking place simultaneously;

6.  Direct cremations;

7.  Immediate burials;
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8.  Receiving bodies from another funeral home;

9.  Shipping bodies to another funeral home; and

10.  Preparing information sheet on services for
receptionist to use in answering questions from the
public.

PART IV.
RESPONSIBILITIES OF EMBALMING SUPERVISOR.

Article 1.
Preparation Room.

18 VAC 65-40-470.  Preparation room. (Repealed.)

The supervisor shall instruct the trainee on the following:

1.  Stocking the preparation room to meet compliance
with regulations;

2.  Purpose and use of protective clothing and gear
during the preparation of a body;

3.  Cleanliness, disinfection, and sanitation requirements
for the preparation room;

4.  Hazardous and infectious waste management; and

5.  Cleaning and sterilizing reusable instruments.

Article 2.
The Embalming.

18 VAC 65-40-480.  Embalming:  general. (Repealed.)

The supervisor shall instruct the trainee on the following:

1.  Use and purpose of the embalming instruments;

2.  Use and purpose of the embalming fluids; and

3.  Use and purpose of the embalming report.

18 VAC 65-40-490.  Embalming. (Repealed.)

The supervisor shall allow the trainee to observe, and then
conduct with the supervisor present and in the same room,
the following:

1.  External disinfection of bodies;

2.  Cleaning bodies after the embalming;

3.  Using precautions in an embalming of bodies
harboring an infectious disease;

4.  Preparing bodies with tissue gas;

5.  Setting the features on bodies;

6.  Using restorative techniques on damaged bodies;

7.  Using cosmetology on bodies;

8.  Clothing bodies;

9.  Casketing bodies; and

10.  Embalming bodies.

18 VAC 65-40-500.  Embalming reports. (Repealed.)

The supervisor shall have the trainee observe and then
complete embalming reports.

PART V.
THE TRAINEE'S RESPONSIBILITIES.

Article 1.
Regulations and Forms.

18 VAC 65-40-510.  Regulatory agencies. (Repealed.)

The trainee shall be able to list the state and federal
agencies that regulate the funeral industry and be able to
describe the roles and functions of each agency as it relates
to the funeral industry.

18 VAC 65-40-520.  Regulations. (Repealed.)

The trainee shall be knowledgeable of the contents of the
regulations prescribed in 18 VAC 65-40-340 and be able to
explain to the supervisor and the board those regulations and
how they apply to the funeral industry.

18 VAC 65-40-530.  Forms. (Repealed.)

The trainee shall complete the forms prescribed in 18 VAC
65-40-360 and be able to explain to the supervisor and the
board the use and content requirements of the forms.

18 VAC 65-40-540.  Preneed. (Repealed.)

The trainee shall be able to explain to the supervisor and
the board preneed funding requirements.

Article 2.
Knowledge of the Community and Others.

18 VAC 65-40-550.  Community resources. (Repealed.)

The trainee shall contact at a time of need the funeral
home's resource person at each of the facilities prescribed in
18 VAC 65-40-380 and make arrangements as pertinent for
transporting, removing, services, or disposition of the dead.

18 VAC 65-40-560.  Funeral customs. (Repealed.)

The trainee shall be knowledgeable of and be able to
explain to the supervisor and the board the funeral customs
prescribed in 18 VAC 65-40-390.

Article 3.
Merchandising.

18 VAC 65-40-570.  Merchandising. (Repealed.)

The trainee shall:

1.  Display merchandise and learn to stock the selection
room;

2.  Prepare pricing and information cards to be
displayed on the caskets;

3.  Be able to explain to the supervisor the features and
prices of merchandise; and

4.  Place an order for merchandise.



Proposed Regulations

Virginia Register of Regulations

3526

Article 4.
Initial Arrangements and Meeting with the Family.

18 VAC 65-40-580.  Initial contact. (Repealed.)

The trainee shall conduct the activities prescribed in
18 VAC 65-40-410 under the supervision of the supervisor.

18 VAC 65-40-590.  Meeting with the family. (Repealed.)

The trainee shall conduct arrangements with families in
the presence of and in the same room with the supervisor as
prescribed in 18 VAC 65-40-430 and 18 VAC 65-40-440.

Article 5.
The Service.

18 VAC 65-40-600.  Disposition and services. (Repealed.)

The trainee shall plan and conduct 25 funerals during the
traineeship as prescribed in 18 VAC 65-40-450 and 18 VAC
65-40-460.

Article 6.
Embalming.

18 VAC 65-40-610.  Embalming. (Repealed.)

The trainee shall conduct 25 embalmings in the room with
and under the supervision of the embalming supervisor.  The
trainee will conduct all procedures prescribed in 18 VAC
65-40-490.

18 VAC 65-40-620.  Embalming preparation. (Repealed.)

The trainee shall have a knowledge of and be able to
explain to the supervisor and the board the purpose and
procedures as prescribed in 18 VAC 65-40-470 and 18 VAC
65-40-480.

18 VAC 65-40-630.  Embalming reports. (Repealed.)

The trainee shall complete embalming reports on the 25
embalmings the trainee conducts.

PART VI IV.
REFUSAL, SUSPENSION, REVOCATION, AND

DISCIPLINARY ACTION.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 65-40-10
et seq., Resident Trainee Program for Funeral Service, are
listed below.  Any amended or added forms are reflected in
the listing and are published following the listing.

FORMS

Application for Apprenticeship.

Application for Apprenticeship Supervisor.

General Information for All Trainees, DHP (revised 11/93).

Resident Trainee Report, DHP-14-004 (revised 11/93).

Certification of Embalmings, DHP-14-005 (revised 11/93).

Certification of Funerals, DHP-14-006 (revised 11/93).

Training Program -Funeral Service Supervisor's
Responsibilities.

Training Program -Trainee Responsibilities.

Application for Resident Trainee Program (rev. 7/97).

Application for Resident Trainee Program Supervisor (rev.
7/97).

Renewal Notice and Application of Licensure (rev. 7/97).
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BOARD OF PHARMACY

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 110-20-10 et seq.  Virginia
Board of Pharmacy Regulations (amending 18 VAC 110-
20-10, 18 VAC 110-20-20, 18 VAC 110-20-30, 18 VAC 110-
20-40, 18 VAC 110-20-50, 18 VAC 110-20-60, 18 VAC 110-
20-70, 18 VAC 110-20-90, 18 VAC 110-20-140, 18 VAC
110-20-150, 18 VAC 110-20-170, 18 VAC 110-20-190,
18 VAC 110-20-200, 18 VAC 110-20-210, 18 VAC 110-20-
220, 18 VAC 110-20-230, 18 VAC 110-20-240, 18 VAC 110-
20-270, 18 VAC 110-20-280, 18 VAC 110-20-290, 18 VAC
110-20-330, 18 VAC 110-20-350, 18 VAC 110-20-360,
18 VAC 110-20-390, 18 VAC 110-20-400, 18 VAC 110-20-
420, 18 VAC 110-20-470, 18 VAC 110-20-500, 18 VAC 110-
20-540, 18 VAC 110-20-550, 18 VAC 110-20-570, 18 VAC
110-20-580, 18 VAC 110-20-590, 18 VAC 110-20-620,
18 VAC 110-20-640, and 18 VAC 110-20-680; adding
18 VAC 110-20-355, 18 VAC 110-20-395, 18 VAC 110-20-
555, 18 VAC 110-20-621, and 18 VAC 110-20-622;
repealing 18 VAC 110-20-260 and 18 VAC 110-20-650).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-3307, and 54.1-
3312 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  August 18, 1998 - 9 a.m.
Public comments may be submitted until October 2,
1998.

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  Chapters 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.), 33 (§ 54.1-3300 et
seq.), and 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code
of Virginia provide the basis for these regulations.

Chapter 24 establishes the general powers and duties of
health regulatory boards including the power to establish
qualifications for licensure and responsibility to promulgate
regulations.

Chapter 33 establishes the Board of Pharmacy and
authorizes the board to regulate the practice of pharmacy
consistent with public health and safety.

Chapter 34 establishes the Drug Control Act and authorizes
the board to ensure the safety of the drugs prescribed and
administered in the Commonwealth.

Purpose:  The purpose of the proposed amendments is to
clarify regulations pursuant to recommendations of Executive
Order 15 (1994).  Proposed amendments also address
issues related to the changes in pharmacy practices and are
intended to provide protection for the health, safety and
welfare of the public consistent with the board’s statutory
mandate in Chapter 33 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Substance:

18 VAC 110-20-10.  Several new definitions are proposed to
clarify terminology which has been used in regulation and
which has not been clearly understood by licensees.  New
definitions are proposed for “beyond use date,” “change of
ownership,” “floor stock,” and “practice location.”  A term
newly used in proposed regulations, “PTCB,” is also defined
as the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board.

18 VAC 110-20-20.  Amendments are proposed to add a fee
of $15 for a returned check, to reorganize the section, and to
delete the fee for approval of continuing education providers.

18 VAC 110-20-30.  Amendments are proposed to require at
least 1,500 hours (current requirement is 1,000 hours) of
practical experience, of which 300 hours must be outside the
school’s practical experience program.  Subsection A is
amended to require that at least 300 of those hours must be
in prescription compounding and dispensing.

18 VAC 110-20-40.  Amendments proposed eliminate the
distinction between pharmacy interns and externs and allow
students to gain practical experience at times concurrent with
the school year.

18 VAC 110-20-60.  Amendments clarify that the applicant
must have met all other requirements and be eligible for
licensure prior to sitting for the examination.

18 VAC 110-20-90.  The board proposes to eliminate
subsections which are already stated in the Code of Virginia
and are therefore unnecessary.

18 VAC 110-20-100.  Amendments proposed delete the
provisions for board approval of continuing education
sponsors.  The board will continue to approve individual CE
courses prior to their being given.

18 VAC 110-20-110.  An amendment establishes grounds for
disciplinary action against the pharmacy permit if decisions
are being made which override control of the pharmacy by
persons other than pharmacists.

18 VAC 110-20-130.  Proposed amendments provide
clarification of the rules regarding pharmacies which are
going out of business, closing or changing ownership.  In
addition to information on the drug stock, the board requires
information on the disposition or transfer of all types of
records and requires that the records be provided in a format
so as to provide continuity of pharmacy services to the
public.

18 VAC 110-20-140.  An amendment is proposed to
establish that any current waiver of facility regulations shall
expire 90 days following a change in ownership of an existing
pharmacy.

18 VAC 110-20-150.  A proposed amendment establishes a
standard for lighting levels in pharmacies.

18 VAC 110-20-170.  Amendments eliminate from the list a
laminar hood (required only for sterile compounding) and
permit an electronic scale rather than weights.

18 VAC 110-20-190.  A proposed amendment establishes a
minimum standard for the door to the enclosed area within
the prescription department.

18 VAC 110-20-200.  An amendment provides for a policy to
be established under which a prescription could be delivered
when the pharmacist is not on duty but the counseling
requirement could still be met.

18 VAC 110-20-210.  Proposed amendments clarify the
current requirements for destruction or disposal in
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compliance with guidelines established by applicable local,
state, and federal laws and eliminate the specific information
which must be contained on the destruction form from DEA.

18 VAC 110-20-230.  An amendment recognizes a person as
a nuclear pharmacist who meets the requirements of this
chapter or who have NRC approval as a nuclear pharmacist
or certification as a nuclear pharmacist by the American
Pharmaceutical Association Board of Pharmaceutical
Specialties.

18 VAC 110-20-240.  An amendment to the requirements for
prescription records on an automated data processing
system is proposed for consistency with recent changes in
the federal rule.

18 VAC 110-20-260.  This section is repealed and restated in
another part of this chapter.

18 VAC 110-20-270.  Amendments are proposed to the
subsection on acts restricted to pharmacists to include:  (i)
the evaluation of a prescription for its completeness, validity,
safety and appropriateness of drug therapy and (ii) the
determination of whether a prescription may in good faith be
dispensed with a listing in regulation of factors to be
considered in making that determination.  An amendment is
also proposed to permit the pharmacists to have up to three
unlicensed persons assisting in the prescription department
provided those persons have been certified by the PTCB.

18 VAC 110-20-280.  Changes proposed for this section
include:  (i) deletion of the requirement for the prescriber’s
signature; (ii) an exception for Schedule II controlled
substance prescriptions from certified hospices; and (iii) a
provision to allow authorizations for refills to be faxed with
certain required information.

18 VAC 110-20-290.  An amendment is proposed to relax
the requirement from 72 hours to 7 days for a written
prescription to be provided following an emergency oral
prescription of a Schedule II drug.

18 VAC 110-20-330.  Amendments conform the regulation to
changes in the law on labeling and add a requirement that
for a drug possessing a single active ingredient, the generic
name of the drug is to be included in addition to any brand
name.

18 VAC 110-20-350.  An amendment requires a signed
release if nonspecial packaging is requested and provided.

18 VAC 110-20-355.  Amendments establish requirements
for repackaging of bulk drugs to ensure that the repackaged
drugs are appropriately identified and labeled and are not out
of date.

18 VAC 110-20-360.  Subsection A is amended to provide
for transfer of prescriptions in accordance with federal laws
and regulations and provided the drug can be refilled and the
patient has given permission for the transfer.

18 VAC 110-20-390.  Amendments replace the outdated
language about kickbacks and provides for full disclosure to
the patient, the prescriber, or a third party payor of any

program involving rebates or other considerations with
respect to prescription orders.

18 VAC 110-20-500.  Amendments modify the proceedings
and requirements for drug orders given to and administered
by a technician in an emergency for consistency with current
situations.  An amendment also stipulates that records of
such administration must be maintained for two years.

18 VAC 110-20-555.  New regulations allow for the use of
automated dispensing devices in long-term care facilities
provided certain requirements for security, loading, checking,
dispensing, and recordkeeping are met.

18 VAC 110-20-580.  Amendments provide further guidance
to veterinarians who supervise the administration of drugs
for euthanasia.

18 VAC 110-20-590.  An amendment allows for random
audits of drug administration records rather than a
requirement for review of each record.

Part XIX.  Amendments conform board regulations to recent
changes in federal rules.

18 VAC 110-20-640.  Amendments require installation of a
device for detection of breaking subject to certain conditions.

18 VAC 110-20-650.  The section is repealed in compliance
with a 1996 change in law for the board to no longer regulate
manufacturing of cosmetics.

18 VAC 110-20-680.  Amendments provide for additional
security and sanitary conditions for drugs and devices
stored.

Issues:

Issue 1:  Need for additional definitions.

Several terms currently used in regulation have not been
clearly defined, and the lack of clarity has generated
numerous questions about their meaning and implications
for pharmacists attempting to comply with law and
regulation.  The board has been requested to consider new
definitions for "floor stock," “practice location” and "beyond
use date." In determining whether such definitions are
necessary, the board looked at model regulations by the
National Association of Boards of Pharmacy and USP
guidelines and considered their usage in the context of the
regulation.

The board also considered a definition of “change of
ownership” to clarify the nature of the transaction which
would be considered as a change of ownership and thereby
would subject the pharmacy to laws and regulations
pertaining thereto.  In its deliberation, the board considered
recent disciplinary cases involving change of ownership and
comment from interested parties to develop a more concise
definition for a better understanding of the requirements and
ease of compliance.

A definition for “PTCB” is proposed to provide the meaning
for the organization which certifies pharmacy technicians and
on which the board proposes to rely for some minimal
standard of training of persons working with the pharmacist
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in the prescription department by a greater than one to two
ratio of pharmacist to technicians.  The term “beyond use
date” is used in regulations on sterile compounding and
other sections.

In addition to changes in definitions, the board proposes to
amend regulations for consistency in the use of the term
“schools of pharmacy” rather than colleges of pharmacy as
is used in some places.

Advantages and disadvantages:  The advantages of new
definitions for the public and for the licensees are:  (i) the
removal of ambiguity about requirements of statutes and
regulations; (ii) the clarification of terms used in the
employment of new technologies permissible by current and
proposed regulation; (iii) the expansion of practice by
technicians who assist the pharmacist by inclusion of a
certifying body in the definitions.

There are no disadvantages for the public which remains
protected in their use of pharmacy services.  A more explicit
definition of “change of ownership” will help to protect the
public from transactions which effectively shut down access
by the public to prescription records.  Other new definitions
will provide clearer guidance to pharmacists and others
attempting to practice safely.

Issue 2:  Requirements for practical experience as a
prerequisite for licensure.

The board considered its specific requirements for practical
experience and determined that its regulations were not only
necessary but were below the minimal standard.  To adopt a
less restrictive requirement would be a barrier to Virginia
pharmacists and pharmacy students in licensure mobility,
and in fact, the current requirements do not meet the criteria
of most other states.  Virginia is only one of four states that
require only 1,000 hours of practical experience for licensure
in pharmacy.  Consequently, it is problematic for our
licensees to reciprocate to another state with higher
standards.

The requirement for licensure in at least 40 states is 1,500
hours of practical experience (some require even more
hours).  The academic community has also examined
practical experience requirements as a part of their
curriculum and determined that more hours of practical
experience are essential for graduation.  The board proposes
to amend its regulation to be consistent with the national
norm and with the minimal requirement for pharmacy
education.  Also, at least 30 other states limit the amount
credit given for practical experience gained in an academic
setting.

No change is proposed for the 50-hour per week maximum
which will be granted for as credit toward that requirement.
However, the board considered and has proposed to
eliminate the requirement that hours of practical experience
outside the school curriculum be gained during school
vacations.  Proposed regulations would allow the student to
get some of those hours by working part time during the
school year.

Current regulations require practical experience in
"compounding and dispensing,” but pharmacy practice is
today much broader than that.  The board proposes to
amend the regulation so practical experience is to be gained
in the “practice of pharmacy,” which may include counseling
and other experiences.  To ensure that each new licensee
does have some experience in compounding and dispensing,
the proposed regulation would stipulate that at least 300
hours has to be in that area.

Likewise, the current regulations distinguish between the
"pharmacy interne" and the "student externe."  The board
proposes to simplify regulations by eliminating the two
categories and referring only to “pharmacy interns,”
regardless of whether the practical experience is gained
within or outside the school curriculum.

Advantages and disadvantages:  The advantages of the
proposed regulations for applicants for licensure are
additional flexibility in the times they can work to obtain
practical experience, less confusion about terminology,
requirements which are more consistent with other states for
ease of endorsement or reciprocity, and an expansion of the
requirement for practical experience to include aspects of
pharmacy other than compounding and dispensing.

There are no disadvantages of proposed regulations to
applicants or licensees.  Persons who enrolled in a
pharmacy program before the effective date of these
regulations will be required to meet the current requirement
of 1,000 hours of practical experience.  Currently, schools
such as MCV School of Pharmacy require a six-year
curriculum for a degree, during which time it would be
expected for a student to have a minimum of 1,500 hours of
practical experience.

The advantage of proposed changes to the public is that
there will be assurance of additional experience in the
practice of pharmacy, including a specified number of hours
in the practice of compounding and dispensing.  The board is
concerned that every licensee have the ability to practice in
the prescription area dispensing drugs to the consuming
public.

Issue 3:  Approval of providers of continuing education.

During regulatory review, the board recommended
elimination of the approved provider status for continuing
education, as the board is not able to provide continued
assurance that CE programs offered by such a provider are
of a quality and content to meet board standards.  To do so,
the board would have to have additional personnel and
resources to attend a random sampling of each CE course
provided by the provider and to continually review
documentation on those courses.  Although there would be
no overall approval of providers, they would continue to be
able to seek board approval for individual CE programs by
submission of an application with information on speakers,
program content, and other requirements.

Advantages and disadvantages:  There are no advantages or
disadvantages to the licensees since only one entity has ever
applied for approval and the programs offered by that
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provider are Category I CME and as such automatically
approved by the board as approved pharmacy CE.  The
proposed amendment will in no way reduce the availability of
continuing education to pharmacy licensees.  There are no
advantages or disadvantages to the public or to the agency.

Issue 4:  Changes in ownership or closings of existing
pharmacies.

There have been recent disciplinary cases which have
demonstrated the need for clarification of requirements when
a pharmacy closes or changes ownership in order to provide
for continuity of pharmacy services to affected patients.  The
changes will clarify existing requirements for closing of a
pharmacy consistent with statute, and clearly set forth
requirements and responsibility for appropriate transfer of
records if ownership of a pharmacy changes.  The changes
attempt to ensure continuity of pharmacy services at a same
or similar level.

Advantages and disadvantages:  The advantages to
licensees are that the requirements will be clearly set forth in
regulation, rather than extrapolated from several different
laws and regulations.  The advantages to the public will be
that there will be clear requirements for accessibility to
pharmacy records in the case of closing or transfer of
ownership.  The advantage to the agency is that there will
now be a clear requirement more easily communicated and
enforced.

Issue 5:  Requirements for the prescription department.

The changes require that prescription departments have a
minimum lighting level of 100 foot candles and clarifies
requirements for the gate to the prescription department.
The lighting level was added as a result of a study which
showed a direct correlation between low lighting and
increased prescriptions errors.  Because of confusion about
how large a gap could exist between the bottom of a
prescription department gate/door, the board specified that
the gap not be more than six inches.

Advantages and disadvantages:  The advantage to the
regulated entity in specifying lighting levels and clarification
about the gate is that there is now a precise measurable
standard and evaluation of compliance is not left to the
individual discretion of the inspector.  The disadvantage is
that for pharmacies with less than 100 foot candles lighting,
there will be a cost associated with improving lighting to
meet the new requirement.  There will be no disadvantage to
existing pharmacies with the gate requirement, as existing
pharmacies are grandfathered.  The advantage to the public
is improvement of working conditions for pharmacists which
should reduce prescription dispensing errors.  The
advantage to the agency for both the lighting level and gate
is a now measurable standard which inspectors and board
members can use in determining compliance.  Additionally, if
there are less dispensing errors, this may correlate with less
disciplinary cases which the agency will have to investigate
and adjudicate.

Issue 6:  Amendment to acts restricted to a pharmacist;
determination of whether a prescription may be dispensed in
good faith.

Because of a need demonstrated in a recent disciplinary
case, the new language sets forth the factors which should
be considered by a pharmacist when determining if a
prescription can be filled in good faith.

Advantages and disadvantages:  The advantage and
disadvantage to pharmacists is a clear directive to consider
certain things such as geographical distance from the patient
to prescriber to pharmacy when making the determination of
validity of a prescription.  The directive is not meant to be
exclusive of other things, but to include major factors.  While
clear direction is usually good, it can also be a problem for a
pharmacist who does not consider the specific factors listed
in the regulations when making a determination to fill a
prescription if a prescription is later found to be invalid.

The only advantage to the public may be that less drugs get
into illegal channels because of increased responsibility for
scrutiny on the part of the pharmacist.  The disadvantage
may be increased reluctance on the part of a pharmacist to
fill prescriptions which appear questionable.  The advantage
to the agency is more clarity in regulation when handling
disciplinary cases.

Issue 7:  Increase in the ratio of technicians to pharmacy
under certain restrictions.

The board has been asked to consider increasing the ratio of
pharmacists to technicians (unlicensed persons assisting the
pharmacist in certain dispensing functions).  The board has
been reluctant to do this in the past because there are
currently no minimum competencies for these persons.
There is now a national organization which has developed a
training curriculum and examination for voluntary
certification of pharmacy technicians.  The new language
allows for an increase in the ratio of pharmacists to
unlicensed assistants from the current 1:1 to 1:3 provided
the assistants have passed the examination and hold the
voluntary certification of this national organization.

Advantages and disadvantages:  The advantages to the
regulated entities may be some reduction in cost of doing
business by allowing increased use of technicians per
pharmacist.  Disadvantages may be that technicians holding
certification may demand increased pay over other
unlicensed assistants not holding certification as a pharmacy
technician.

The advantages to the public may be better trained ancillary
assistance to the pharmacist.  The disadvantage of the
change may be that pharmacy owners will try to increase
volume of prescription dispensing by using more pharmacy
technicians which may actually increase rather than
decrease the pharmacist's workload.  There are no known
advantages or disadvantages to the agency.

Issue 8:  Compliance with changes in federal rules.

There were several changes in federal regulations by the
Drug Enforcement Administration to allow increased
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flexibility in recordkeeping and dispensing.  Changes include
allowing faxing of Schedule II prescriptions for hospice
patients, increasing time requirement from 72 hours to 7
days for a physician to mail a written prescription covering
emergency oral authorization for a Schedule II drug, and
discarding the requirement for pharmacists to stamp a red
"C" on Schedule III - V prescriptions if they use an
automated data processing system.  The board regulation
changes conform to the new federal regulations.

Advantages and disadvantages:  The advantages include
increased flexibility for pharmacists and prescribers and
uniformity between federal and state law.  The advantage to
the public is with a prescriber being able to fax a Schedule II
prescription for hospice patients which may save a caregiver
a trip to the physicians' office just to pick up a prescription.
There are no known disadvantages to either the regulated
entity or the public and no known advantages or
disadvantages to the agency.

Issue 9:  Amendments to labeling requirements; repackaging
of drugs.

The board was petitioned to allow relaxed repackaging
requirements for placement of bulk drugs into automated
counting and dispensing devices such as Baker cells.  The
changes do allow pharmacies to use Baker cells and similar
devices without maintaining repackaging records, provided
all necessary information (or a copy of original
manufacturer's labeling) including lot and expiration dates
are placed on the actual cell containing the drug.  The
changes do prohibit mixing of lot numbers and require
emptying of a cell before reloading, because each load would
have a potentially different beyond use date.

Advantages and disadvantages:  The advantage to
pharmacies is doing away with the repackaging record
requirement for this type of repackaging.  The disadvantage
may be that because regulations do not currently address
specifically this type of operation, there may be pharmacies
who are not properly labeling the bins or cells holding the
bulk drug, and also pharmacies may currently mix lot
numbers.  The new language may mean that cells have to be
refilled at inconvenient times as they are emptied.  The
advantage to the public is that drugs will not be held in these
machines longer than an appropriate beyond use date.
There are no known disadvantages to the public.  There are
no known advantages or disadvantages to the agency.

Issue 10:  Requirement for label to always show generic
name of drug if a single entity product.

Changes were made to the regulations related to labeling of
dispensed prescriptions to comply with a 1997 statute
change and to also always require that the generic name of a
drug product which has only one active ingredient be on the
label.  This change was made upon petition of a medical
practitioner who has had two patients who overdosed
because they had two prescription vials at home, each
containing the same drug, but labeled with two different
brand names.  The patients did not realize the two vials
contained the same drug and double dosed.  The generic

name, being common to both, if required to be on the label
would have prevented this.

Advantages and disadvantages:  There are no known
advantages to pharmacies.  The disadvantages are that
there will be a software change cost to comply with this
requirement and that there is not always enough room on a
relatively small label to put all required information.  The
advantage to the public is that double dosing may be
avoided by reading the label.  Patients will be able to easily
determine if two different products are actually the same
drug, just made by a different manufacturer.  With all the
different generic manufacturers of drug products, product
identification is becoming more of a problem with
consumers.  The possible disadvantage to the public is that
in order to put all required information on a small label, a
pharmacist may have to use a smaller font which is more
difficult to read.  There is no known advantage or
disadvantage to the agency.

Issue 11:  Requirements for pharmacies to only purchase
controlled substances from a distributor authorized by the
board.

Any wholesale distributor who distributes prescription drugs
in Virginia, whether residing in Virginia or another state,
must be licensed with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy.  This
proposed change would require pharmacies to ensure that
any company from which they purchase drugs is
appropriately licensed.

Advantages and disadvantages:  The advantage to
pharmacies is that by ensuring proper licensure of the
wholesale distributors, pharmacies may reasonably expect
that the drugs they receive have been properly obtained from
legitimate sources and stored under proper conditions.  A
disadvantage is that pharmacies will assume responsibility
for having to check on licensure prior to ordering from a
company.  This will not be overly burdensome since most
pharmacies only use one or two wholesale distributors and
this information is readily available from the board.  The
advantage to consumers is assurance of quality drug
products and decreased opportunity for fraud or diversion.
The advantage to the board is better control and information
about companies shipping drugs into Virginia.  There are no
known disadvantages either to consumers or the agency.

Issue 12:  Requirements for drug kit exchange for an
emergency medical services agency.

The changes to this section of the regulation allow some
flexibility to EMS agencies in getting an order to the
pharmacy for drugs used out of an emergency kit.  Current
regulations require that the ER physician write an order to
cover any drugs used in transit to the hospital.  EMS
technicians are having increasing difficulty with this
requirement because patients are not always transmitted to a
hospital and in some cases the ER physician does not agree
with the drugs given in transit which were in fact ordered via
verbal order from an on-line medical facility or protocol of the
agency's operational medical director.
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Advantages and disadvantages:  The advantages to the EMS
agencies are that there is now more than one way to obtain
an order covering the drugs used on a call.  There are no
known disadvantages.  There are no known advantages or
disadvantages to pharmacies.  There are no known
advantages or disadvantages to either consumers or the
agency.

Issue 13:  Requirements for use of automated dispensing
devices in long-term care facilities.

Currently the use of automated dispensing devices in long-
term care facilities is prohibited.  The changes would allow
the use of such devices in lieu of the emergency drug kits or
"stat" boxes currently in use.

Advantages and disadvantages:  The advantages to
pharmacies serving long-term care facilities would be that
one device could replace numerous tackle boxes which are
now handled on a rotating exchange basis.  The
disadvantage is cost of the device.  There are no known
advantages or disadvantages to consumers or the agency.

Estimated Impact:

A.  Projected number of entities affected by this regulation:

Licensed pharmacists 7,560
Pharmacies 1,563
Medical equipment suppliers 154
Restricted manufacturers 70
Nonrestricted manufacturers 24
Humane societies 89
Nonresident pharmacies 201
Wholesale distributors 128
Warehousers 14
Nonresident wholesale distributors 194
Business controlled substance registration 234
Continuing education providers 1

B.  Projected cost to the agency.  The agency will incur
some costs (less than $3,000) for mailings to the Public
Participation Guidelines Mailing List, conducting a public
hearing, and sending copies of final regulations to regulated
entities.  However, every effort will be made to incorporate
those into anticipated mailings and board meetings already
scheduled.

C.  Projected costs to the affected entities.  There may be
a cost to pharmacies who need to make changes to software
in order to comply with the change in labeling requirement.
It is difficult to predict the cost of this change, but on average
it may cost approximately $200 to $300 per pharmacy.
Some pharmacies have software maintenance contracts and
this change will not create any additional cost.  Some
pharmacies have already made software changes to
accommodate a recent statutory change for pharmacy
labels.

There will be no cost associated with the change authorizing
the use of automated dispensing devices in long-term care
facilities unless the pharmacy wishes to use this technology.
The ability to use manual kits is still available.

There may be an increased personnel cost if pharmacies
wish to take advantage of the change which allows the use of
three unlicensed assistants per pharmacist provided these
assistants hold certification as a pharmacy technician.
There has been concern expressed during past reviews that
certification will push up salaries.  However, there is still no
requirement for certification if pharmacies still wish to retain
the one-to-one ratio.

There may be some increased cost to pharmacies who have
to make changes to lighting to meet the new minimum
lighting level requirement.  However, it is estimated that most
pharmacies already meet this requirement.  It may cost a
pharmacy which does not already have this level of lighting
an average of $500 to upgrade.

D.  Citizen input in development of regulation.  In the
development of regulations, the board made every effort to
include citizen input from those engaged in the practice of
pharmacy in the communities, in hospitals or other settings,
from associations affiliated with the practice, and from
businesses providing technology for pharmacies and
practitioners.  Consequently, the board drafted regulations
with a consideration for any fiscal impact on licensees,
especially small businesses, and does not anticipate a
negative impact on the entities affected by regulation or on
the public.

E.  Localities affected.  There are no localities affected by
these regulations in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13
(94).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property.  The
analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic effects.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  The proposed
regulation amends current regulations governing the practice
of pharmacy to implement recommendations from the
board’s Executive Order 15 (94) review and update the
regulation to reflect changes in pharmacy practice.  The
primary amendments are as follows:

1.  Fees would be amended to add a $15 returned check
fee and delete the $300 application and renewal fees for
approved continuing education (CE) providers (pursuant
to additional amendments detailed below, the board
would only approve individual CE courses, not CE
providers);
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2.  License requirements for pharmacists would be
amended to increase from 1,000 to 1,500 the hours or
practical experience required, with at least 300 hours “in
the area of prescription compounding and dispensing”
and at least 300 hours “gained outside of a school of
pharmacy practical experience program";

3.  Procedures for gaining practical experience would be
amended to remove the requirement that “practical
experience of the student externe shall be gained at
times nonconcurrent with the school year with the
exception of school vacations";

4.  Requirements for approval of CE programs would be
revised to delete all provisions regarding approval of CE
sponsors;

5.  Provisions regarding pharmacy closings and change
of ownership would be amended to require that a
pharmacy provide the board information on the
proposed disposition of “prescription dispensing records,
patient information records, and other required records”
14 days prior to closing, require board approval of any
exceptions to that requirement, require that a pharmacy
notify the board 14 days before a change of ownership,
and require a pharmacy changing ownership to provide
new owners with “prescription dispensing records for the
two years immediately preceding the date of change of
ownership";

6.  Requirements for new pharmacies would be
amended to specify that waivers of facility regulations
granted to a pharmacy expire 90 days after a change in
ownership;

7.  Physical standards would be amended to require that
“lighting levels in the prescription department shall be a
minimum of 100 foot candles";

8.  Qualifications for nuclear pharmacists would be
amended to allow certification by the American
Pharmaceutical Association Board of Pharmaceutical
Specialties as well as Nuclear Regulatory Commission;

9.  Standards for maintenance of Schedule III through V
drug records would be revised to waive certain
requirements applicable to printed files in instances
where a pharmacy “employs an automated data
processing system";

10.  Requirements regarding dispensing of prescriptions
would be amended to specify that pharmacists must
evaluate prescriptions for “completeness, validity, safety
and appropriateness of drug therapy,” and to allow
pharmacies “using persons who hold current certification
from the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board” to
have three assistants present in the prescription
department for each pharmacist present, as opposed to
the current requirement of one assistant for each
pharmacist;

11.  Provisions for transmission of prescriptions by fax
would be amended to allow an authorized agent to sign

the prescription in lieu of the prescriber,1 provide an
exception to the prohibition against faxed prescriptions
of Schedule II drugs in the case of certified hospices,
and stipulate that authorizations for refills may be faxed
provided the authorization contains certain specified
information;

12.  Requirements regarding dispensing Schedule II
drugs would be amended to increase from three to
seven days the amount of time prescribers have after
authorizing an emergency oral prescription to provide a
written prescription to the pharmacist;

13.  Requirements for prescription labeling would be
amended to specify that “[f]or any drug product
possessing a single active ingredient, the generic name
of the drug shall be included on the label in addition to
any other brand name” and that generic drug labels
“contain the generic’s brand name or the manufacturer
or distributor of the drug produced";

14.  Provisions regarding rebates or other
considerations would be revised to require a pharmacist
to disclose to prescribers, in addition to patients and
third party payors as is currently required, any rebates,
special charges, or other considerations received with
respect to a prescription;

15.  A new provision would be added that requires
pharmacists to purchase Schedule II through IV drugs
only “from a wholesale distributor licensed or registered
by the board," except in instances of emergency
purchase from another pharmacy;

16.  Pharmacy services to hospitals standards would be
amended to allow standing orders for administration of
drugs by licensed emergency medical services agencies
and to require that records of such administration be
maintained by the pharmacy for at least two years;

17.  New provisions would be added that would allow the
use of automatic dispensing devices in long-term care
facilities in lieu of stat boxes or emergency drug kits
provided certain requirements are met;

18.  Requirements regarding drugs in correctional
institutions would be amended to specify that provider
pharmacies “shall conduct random audits of returned
drug administration records";

19.  Language regarding exempted stimulant or
depressant drugs would be amended to bring it into
conformity with recent changes in the federal Drug
Control Act;

20.  Provisions regarding safeguards against diversion
of drugs would be amended to require manufacturers,

                                                       
1 According to § 54.1-3408, “an authorized agent of the prescriber shall be an
employee of the prescriber who is under his immediate and personal
supervision, or if not an employee, an individual who holds a valid license
allowing the administration or dispensing of drugs and who is specifically
directed by the prescriber.”
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wholesale distributors, and wharehousers of prescription
drugs to install “a device for the detection of breaking";

21.  All provisions regarding the manufacturer of
cosmetics would be deleted from the regulation; and

22.  Standards for medical equipment suppliers would
be amended to require that a supplier’s location “be
inspected by the board prior to engaging in business …
be of suitable size and construction, …have adequate
lighting and ventilation, …be clean and sanitary, ...have
a system of temperature control for the storage of any
Schedule VI drug or device,” and that hypodermic
needles, syringes and Schedule VI drugs not be placed
in areas where patrons would have access to them.

Estimated economic impact.  Those proposed amendments
likely to have economic consequences can be divided into
six broad categories, those affecting:  fees, personnel,
physical and equipment standards, procedural requirements,
reporting requirements, and training requirements.

Fees.  The proposed addition of a $15 returned check fee is
unlikely to have a significant effect on compliance costs.
The proposed deletion of the $300 application and renewal
fees for approval of CE providers may have an effect in that
providers would no longer be able to pay these fees to
receive blanket approval for their CE courses.  Instead, they
would have to seek approval for each course they offer and
pay a $100 fee for each course approval.  Absent data on the
number of course offerings per provider, it is not possible to
determine whether this change implies an increase or
decrease in regulatory compliance costs.  On the benefit
side, however, it is likely that the change will enable the
board to more closely monitor CE course offerings, thereby
providing enhanced insurance of their quality.

Personnel.  The proposed amendment allowing pharmacies
“using persons who hold current certification from the
Pharmacy Technician Certification Board” to have three
assistants present in the prescription department for each
pharmacist present, rather than the current requirement of
one assistant per pharmacist, would significantly increase
the flexibility that pharmacies have in meeting regulatory
staffing requirements.  This enhanced flexibility should
increase efficiency and reduce compliance costs.
Pharmacies that find it profitable to adhere to the proposed
ratio of three certified assistants to one pharmacist, as
opposed to one uncertified assistant to one pharmacist, will
do so and those that do not find it profitable will not.  Such a
change cannot increase compliance costs and is likely to
reduce them.  Additionally, it seems probable that relaxing
the ratio to take into account the use of better trained
personnel would have no effect on health and safety.

Physical and equipment standards.  Several of the proposed
amendments would revise current physical and equipment
standards.  These amendments can be grouped into those
that are likely to increase and those that are likely to
decrease regulatory compliance costs.

Two of the proposed physical and equipment standards
amendments would involve relatively straightforward

increases in compliance costs.  First, compliance with the
suggested requirement that “lighting levels in the prescription
department shall be a minimum of 100 foot candles” would
entail, according to estimates provided by DHP,
approximately $500 in upgrade costs for pharmacies not
already meeting the requirement.  DHP cites as justification
for this new requirement an unpublished 1994 study which
found a correlation between low lighting levels and
dispensing errors.2 Second, the proposed amendment
requiring manufacturers, wholesale distributors, and
warehousers of prescription drugs to install “a device for the
detection of breaking” will also impose additional compliance
costs on the regulated community.  DHP indicates, however,
that with the possible exception of a small number of nitrous
oxide repackagers, the existing burglar alarm systems of
almost all other facilities will meet this standard.  On the
benefit side, DHP indicates that nitrous oxide is a Schedule
VI controlled substance, often abused by teens.  Requiring
nitrous oxide repackagers to install burglar alarm systems
should decrease the incidence of theft and abuse.

Two other proposed amendments to physical and equipment
standards will probably also increase compliance costs, but
in less obvious ways.  Suggested new language specifying
that waivers of facility regulations expire 90 days after
change of ownership represents an increase in regulatory
stringency that could significantly increase compliance costs,
particularly in instances where revocation of a waiver would
require expensive renovations (e.g., a waiver of minimum
floor space requirements) and the new owners were unaware
of the existence of the waiver at the time of purchase.
Moreover, it is unclear what public benefit is derived from
revoking a waiver granted for circumstances that presumably
were judged not to be a threat to public health and welfare,
simply because of a change in ownership.  The second
proposed amendment likely to have a less than
straightforward effect on compliance costs are new
requirements specifying that medical equipment suppliers
“shall be inspected by the board prior to engaging in
business … shall be of suitable size and construction, shall
have adequate lighting and ventilation, shall be clean and
sanitary, and shall have a system of temperature control for
the storage of any Schedule VI drug or device.” Although
apparently reasonable, these proposed requirements are
sufficiently general that they will offer little guidance to the
regulated community as to what constitutes compliance.
The uncertainty created by undefined terms such as
“suitable” and “adequate” will tend to drive up compliance
costs because regulants will be unsure of the level of
investment necessary to insure compliance.

Alternatively, the proposal to allow the use of automatic
dispensing devices in long-term care facilities in lieu of stat
boxes or emergency drug kits will permit facilities that find
such devices efficiency enhancing to use them, thereby
decreasing compliance costs and improving the delivery of
patient services.

                                                       
2
 Allan, Elizabeth L., Relationships Among Facility Design Variables and

Medication Errors in a Pharmacy, Auburn University, June 1994.
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Procedural requirements.  Other proposed amendments
would affect various procedural requirements.  These
proposed amendments can also be divided into those that
will likely increase and those that will likely decrease
regulatory compliance costs.  Specifically, the suggested
change mandating notification of prescribers in instances
where a pharmacy receives rebates or other considerations
regarding a prescription will cause some increase in
compliance costs, pharmacists would be required to notify a
party they are not required to notify currently.  At the same
time, however, such notification entails a potentially
significant health and safety benefit as it may deter instances
of “drug switching,” where pharmacists, in response to
incentives offered by drug companies or distributors, fill a
prescription with a different drug than that which was
specifically prescribed.

A second proposed amendment likely to increase
compliance costs is the requirement that pharmacists only
purchase Schedule II through IV drugs from wholesale
distributors licensed or registered by the board.  Currently,
any wholesaler distributing drugs in Virginia, whether located
in Virginia or out of state, must be licensed with the board.
The primary economic consequence of the proposed
amendment would be to shift part of the responsibility, and
most of the cost, of enforcing this licensing requirement from
the board to the pharmacies.  From an economic
perspective, such a shift may be warranted in that the overall
costs of enforcement would likely be reduced.  This reduction
in enforcement costs is attributable in the main to the fact
that it is much easier for pharmacies to identify the
distributors they deal with than it is for the board to do so.

In contrast, the proposed amendment that pharmacies
providing drugs to correctional facilities “shall conduct
random audits of returned drug administration records”
should reduce compliance costs.  Currently, these
pharmacies are required to “review the returned drug
administration records for accountability of all dosage units
dispensed.” This effectively requires the pharmacy to audit
every returned record.  Random audits, while still providing
insurance against diversion and abuse, will be less costly for
the pharmacies to conduct, thereby decreasing compliance
costs.

Additionally, the proposed amendment allowing an
authorized agent to sign a faxed prescription in lieu of the
prescriber will increase the convenience and flexibility
afforded to regulants, thereby decreasing regulatory
compliance costs.  Similarly, the proposed amendment
allowing the use of standing orders for the administration of
drugs by licensed emergency medical services agencies also
increases the convenience and flexibility afforded to
regulants, and also would decrease regulatory compliance
costs.

Reporting requirements.  Several of the proposed
amendments either increase or decrease the stringency of
various reporting requirements, thereby increasing or
decreasing regulatory compliance costs.  In this regard, the
proposals to require closing pharmacies to provide the board
information on the proposed disposition of “prescription

dispensing records, patient information records, and other
required records” 14 days prior to closing, and to require
pharmacies changing ownership to notify the board 14 days
before the change and provide the new owners with
“prescription dispensing records for the two years
immediately preceding the date of change of ownership,”
both represent a significant increase over current reporting
requirements and are likely to entail a significant increase in
regulatory compliance costs.  DHP indicates that these
revisions are necessary to address problems that have
occurred, where pharmacy records were not properly
transferred from prior to new owners, thereby denying
pharmacy customers appropriate access to their
prescriptions and causing disruptions in pharmacy services.
Given such experience, it is likely that the additional
compliance costs imposed by these new requirements are
outweighed by the benefits of insuring continuity of
pharmacy services.

Another proposed amendment that is likely to drive up
compliance costs is the requirement that “[f]or any drug
product possessing a single active ingredient, the generic
name of the drug shall be included on the label in addition to
any other brand name” and that generic drug labels “contain
the generic’s brand name or the manufacturer or distributor
of the drug produced.” This change will compel most
pharmacies to update their labeling software.  DHP
estimates that the cost of these software updates will run
between $200 and $300 per pharmacy, or between $313,000
and $469,000 statewide.  The benefit associated with this
change is that it will decrease the possibility that patients will
overdose by taking two prescriptions, each containing the
same drug, but labeled with two different brand names.
Information provided by DHP indicates that the risk of such
overdoses is not merely hypothetical, as they have actually
occurred.  However, at this time DPB does not have data on
the number or severity of such occurrences.  As a result, it is
not possible to quantify the reduction in risk that might be
attributable to this proposed change in labeling
requirements.

In the alternative, two of the proposed changes in reporting
requirements are likely to reduce compliance costs.  The
proposed change that would revise standards for
maintenance of Schedule III through V drug records to waive
certain requirements applicable to printed files in instances
where a pharmacy uses an automated data system, will
update the regulation to reflect current technologies and
remove outdated, unnecessarily burdensome requirements.
Similarly, amending the requirements for dispensing
Schedule II drugs to increase from two to seven days the
amount of time that prescribers have after authorizing an
emergency oral prescription to provide written confirmation
to the pharmacist will enhance convenience and regulatory
flexibility.

Training requirements.  On its face, the propose amendment
increasing from 1,000 to 1,500 the hours or practical
experience required, with at least 300 hours “in the area of
prescription compounding and dispensing” and at least 300
hours “gained outside of a school of pharmacy practical
experience program,” would appear to significantly increase
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compliance costs.  This is unlikely to be true however.
Current licensure requirements stipulate that practical
experience must be obtained though a pharmacy school
accredited by the American Council of Pharmaceutical
Education (ACPE).  Students enrolled in ACPE accredited
pharmacy schools are required to have a minimum of 1,500
hours of practical experience upon graduation.  This means
that increasing the experience requirement from 1,000 to
1,500 hours only updates the regulation to reflect current
industry standards and should have no effect on compliance
cost for U.S.  accredited applicants.  It may have an effect on
non-U.S.  accredited applicants, in instances where
experience is obtained from schools that do not meet current
U.S.  accreditation standards.

Two other proposed amendments to training requirements
are likely to reduce regulatory compliance costs.  The
proposal to delete language requiring practical experience to
be gained at times “nonconcurrent with the current school
year” will enhance the scheduling flexibility afforded to
students and remove an apparently paternalistic regulatory
requirement.  In addition, the proposal to amend
qualifications for nuclear pharmacists to allow certification by
the American Pharmaceutical Association Board of
Pharmaceutical Specialties as well as Nuclear Regulatory
Commission will also enhance regulatory flexibility.

Businesses and entities particularly affected.  The proposed
regulation will particularly affect the approximately 7,560
pharmacists, 1,563 pharmacies, 154 medical equipment
suppliers, 94 manufacturers, and other drug related entities
licensed to operate in Virginia as well as their customers and
the general public.

Localities particularly affected.  No localities are particularly
affected by the proposed regulation.

Projected impact on employment.  The proposed regulation
is not anticipated to have a significant effect on employment.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  Because
the proposed regulation entails amendments that affect
physical and equipment standards, it will have an effect on
the use and value of private property.  The precise nature of
this effect is detailed above, in the section on estimated
economic impact.

Summary of analysis.  The proposed regulation amends
current regulations governing the practice of pharmacy to
implement recommendations from the board’s Executive
Order 15 (94) review and update the regulation to reflect
changes in pharmacy practice.  Those amendments likely to
have economic consequences can be divided into six broad
categories, those affecting:  fees, personnel, physical and
equipment standards, procedural requirements, reporting
requirements, and training requirements.

Proposed changes to the fee schedule are relatively minor
and unlikely to have significant economic consequences.
With respect to personnel requirements, an amendment is
proposed that will increase pharmacy staffing flexibility,
thereby, likely inducing some reduction in regulatory
compliance costs.

Several amendments have been proposed regarding
physical and equipment standards.  In some cases these
amendments will require the modification of physical
structures or the purchase of new equipment, thereby
imposing relatively straightforward increases in compliance
costs.  These increases do not, however, appear out of line
with the likely increase in public health and safety benefits
that would also be attributable to the amendments.

Two of the proposed amendments to physical and equipment
standards are likely to cause less straightforward increases
in regulatory compliance costs however.  Specifically, the
proposal to specify that waivers of facility regulations expire
90 days after change of ownership could significantly
increase compliance costs.  Moreover, it is unclear what
public benefit is derived from revoking a waiver granted for
circumstances that presumably were judged not to be a
threat to public health and welfare, simply because of a
change in ownership.  The second proposed amendment
relates to new standards for board inspection of medical
equipment suppliers.  In this case, as written the new
standards are sufficiently general that they offer little
guidance to regulants regarding what would constitute
adequate compliance.  This uncertainty will cause an
increase in compliance costs with no corresponding benefit.

The proposed changes to procedural, reporting, and training
requirements in some cases impose new standards that will
necessitate an increase in the compliance costs borne by the
regulated community.  In all cases, however, these additional
costs do not appear out of line with the concomitant increase
in public health and safety benefits that is likely accrue from
the proposed changes.  In other cases, amendments are
proposed that will increase regulatory flexibility and, thereby
tend to reduce the compliance costs borne by the regulated
community.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency concurs
with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget.

Summary:

Amendments are proposed to provide greater clarity and
understanding of requirements for the practice of
pharmacy pursuant to recommendations from the
comprehensive review conducted in compliance with
Executive Order 15 (94).  The board recommends
amending regulations to revise and update definitions
and educational requirements, eliminate redundant or
unnecessary regulations, and delete board approval of
continuing education programs.

Proposed amendments establish grounds for disciplinary
action against a pharmacy permit if decisions are being
made to override the control of the pharmacy by the
pharmacist.  Proposed amendments provide clarification
of the rules regarding pharmacies which are going out of
business, closing or changing ownership and would
permit the waiver of facility regulations to expire 90 days
after a change of ownership.
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The board also proposes to establish a minimum
standard for lighting and for the door to the enclosed
area of the pharmacy, allow electronic scales, clarify the
drug destruction rules, and set a policy for a prescription
to be delivered to the customer when the pharmacist is
not on duty.

Regulations are proposed to clarify those acts which are
restricted to the pharmacist, update the rules on
transmission of a prescription order by facsimile
machine, relax the requirement for a written prescription
following an emergency dispensing of Schedule II drugs,
and allow the pharmacist to supervise an additional
technician provided the technicians are certified by the
Pharmacy Technician Certification Board.

Amendments to regulations on labeling are proposed to
conform to recent changes in the law, to require a
signed release for nonspecial packaging, establish
requirements for repackaging of bulk drugs, and clarify
the language on rebates and other considerations.
Regulations for pharmacy services in institutions and
other facilities are modified to provide more flexibility or to
protect from diversion of drugs and ensure sanitary
conditions.

18 VAC 110-20-10.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter,
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"ACPE" means the American Council on Pharmaceutical
Education.

"Aseptic processing" means the technique involving
procedures designed to preclude contamination of drugs,
packaging, equipment, or supplies by microorganisms during
processing.

"Beyond-use date" means the date beyond which the
integrity of a compounded, repackaged, or dispensed drug
can no longer be assured and as such is deemed to be
adulterated or misbranded as defined in §§ 54.1-3461 and
54.1-3462 of the Code of Virginia.

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Pharmacy.

"CE" means continuing education as required for renewal
of licensure by the Board of Pharmacy.

"CEU" means a continuing education unit awarded for
credit as the equivalent of 10 contact hours.

"Change of ownership" for any facility holding a permit,
registration, or license with the Board of Pharmacy means
any acquisition of an existing facility, or of any corporation
under which the facility is either directly or indirectly
organized, by another person or entity.

"Class 100 environment" means an atmospheric
environment which contains less than 100 particles, 0.5
microns in diameter, per cubic foot of air.

"Closed system transfer" means the movement of sterile
products from one container to another in which the
container-closure system and transfer devices remain intact
throughout the entire transfer process, compromised only by
the penetration of a sterile, pyrogen-free needle or cannula
through a designated stopper or port to effect transfer,
withdrawal, or delivery, to include the withdrawal of a sterile
solution from an ampul in a class 100 environment.

"Compliance packaging" means packaging for dispensed
drugs which is comprised of a series of containers for solid
oral dosage forms and which is designed to assist the user in
administering or self-administering the drugs in accordance
with directions for use.

"Contact hour" means the amount of credit awarded for 60
minutes of participation in and successful completion of a
continuing education program.

"Cytotoxic drug" means a drug which has the capability of
killing living cells.

"Electronic transmission prescription" is any prescription,
other than an oral or written prescription or a prescription
transmitted by facsimile machine, that is electronically
transmitted from a practitioner authorized to prescribe
directly to a pharmacy without interception or intervention
from a third party, or from one pharmacy to another
pharmacy.

"Expiration date" means that date placed on a drug
package by the manufacturer or repacker beyond which the
product may not be dispensed or used.

"Facsimile (FAX) prescription" means a written prescription
or order which is transmitted by an electronic device over
telephone lines which sends the exact image to the receiver
(pharmacy) in a hard copy form.

"Floor stock" means a supply of drugs which have been
distributed or dispensed, not for a specific patient pursuant to
a valid prescription, but for the purpose of general
administration by a prescriber or other authorized person
pursuant to a valid order of a prescriber.

"Foreign college school of pharmacy" means a school
outside the United States and its territories offering a course
of study in basic sciences, pharmacology, and pharmacy of
at least four years in duration resulting in a degree that
qualifies a person to practice pharmacy in that country.

"Generic drug name" means the nonproprietary name
listed in the United States Pharmacopeia-National Formulary
(USP-NF) or in the USAN and the USP Dictionary of Drug
Names.

"Hermetic container" means a container that is impervious
to air or any other gas under the ordinary or customary
conditions of handling, shipment, storage, and distribution.

"Home infusion pharmacy" means a pharmacy which
compounds solutions for direct parenteral administration to a
patient in a private residence, long-term care facility or
hospice setting .



Proposed Regulations

Virginia Register of Regulations

3540

"Hospital" or "nursing home" means those facilities as
defined in Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia or as defined in
regulations by the Virginia Department of Health.

"Inactive license" means a license which is registered with
the Commonwealth but does not entitle the licensee to
practice, the holder of which is not required to submit
documentation of CE necessary to hold an active license.

"Light resistant container" means a container that protects
the contents from the effects of light by virtue of the specific
properties of the material of which it is composed, including
any coating applied to it.  Alternatively, a clear and colorless
or a translucent container may be made light-resistant by
means of an opaque covering, in which case the label of the
container bears a statement that the opaque covering is
needed until the contents have been used.  Where a
monograph directs protection from light, storage in a
light-resistant container is intended.

"Long-term care facility" means a nursing home, retirement
care, mental care or other facility or institution which
provides extended health care to resident patients.

"Nuclear pharmacy" means a pharmacy providing
radiopharmaceutical services.

"Open-system transfer" means the combining of products
in a nonsealed reservoir before filling or when a solution
passes through the atmosphere during a transfer operation.

"Permitted physician" means a physician who is licensed
pursuant to § 54.1-3304 of the Code of Virginia to dispense
drugs to persons to whom or for whom pharmacy services
are not reasonably available.

"Personal supervision" means the pharmacist must be
physically present and render direct, personal control over
the entire service being rendered or act being performed.
Neither prior nor future instructions shall be sufficient nor,
shall supervision rendered by telephone, written instructions,
or by any mechanical or electronic methods be sufficient.

"Practice location" means any location in which a
prescriber evaluates or treats a patient.

"Prescription department" means any contiguous or
noncontiguous areas used for the compounding, dispensing
and storage of all Schedule II through VI drugs and devices
and any Schedule I investigational drugs.

"PTCB" means the Pharmacy Technician Certification
Board, co-founded by the American Pharmaceutical
Association and the American Society of Health System
Pharmacists, as the national organization for voluntary
examination and certification of pharmacy technicians.

"Radiopharmaceutical" means any article that exhibits
spontaneous decay or disintegration of any unstable atomic
nucleus, usually accompanied by the emission of ionizing
radiation and any nonradioactive reagent kit or nuclide
generator which is intended to be used in the preparation of
any such article.

"Repackaged drug" means any drug removed from the
manufacturer's original package and placed in different
packaging.

"Safety closure container" means a container which meets
the requirements of the federal Poison Prevention Packaging
Act of 1970 (15 USC §§ 1471-1476), i.e., in testing such
containers, that 85% of a test group of 200 children of ages
41-52 months are unable to open the container in a
five-minute period and that 80% fail in another five minutes
after a demonstration of how to open it and that 90% of a
test group of 100 adults must be able to open and close the
container.

"Satellite pharmacy" means a pharmacy which is
noncontiguous to the centrally permitted pharmacy of a
hospital but at the location designated on the pharmacy
permit.

"Special packaging" means packaging that is designed or
constructed to be significantly difficult for children under five
years of age to open to obtain a toxic or harmful amount of
the drug contained therein within a reasonable time and not
difficult for normal adults to use properly, but does not mean
packaging which all such children cannot open or obtain a
toxic or harmful amount within a reasonable time.

"Special use permit" means a permit issued to conduct a
pharmacy of a special scope of service that varies in any
way from the provisions of any board regulation.

"Sterile pharmaceutical product" means a dosage form free
from living microorganisms.

"Storage temperature" means those specific directions
stated in some monographs with respect to the temperatures
at which pharmaceutical articles shall be stored, where it is
considered that storage at a lower or higher temperature
may produce undesirable results.  The conditions are defined
by the following terms:

1.  "Cold" means any temperature not exceeding 8°C
(46°F).  A refrigerator is a cold place in which
temperature is maintained thermostatically between 2°
and 8°C (36° and 46°F).  A freezer is a cold place in
which the temperature is maintained thermostatically
between -20° and -10°C (-4° and 14°F).

2.  "Room temperature" means the temperature
prevailing in a working area.

3.  "Controlled room temperature" is a temperature
maintained thermostatically that encompasses the usual
and customary working environment of 20° to 25°C (68°
to 77°F); that results in a mean kinetic temperature
calculated to be not more than 25°C; and that allows for
excursions between 15° and 30°C (59° and 86°F) that
are experienced in pharmacies, hospitals, and
warehouses.

4.  "Warm" means any temperature between 30° and
40°C (86° and 104°F).

5.  "Excessive heat" means any temperature above 40°C
(104°F).
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6.  "Protection from freezing" means where, in addition
to the risk of breakage of the container, freezing subjects
a product to loss of strength or potency, or to the
destructive alteration of its characteristics, the container
label bears an appropriate instruction to protect the
product from freezing.

7.  "Cool" means any temperature between 8° and 15°C
(46° and 59°F).

"Terminally ill" means a patient with a terminal condition as
defined in § 54.1-2982 of the Code of Virginia.

"Tight container" means a container that protects the
contents from contamination by extraneous liquids, solids, or
vapors, from loss of the drug, and from efflorescence,
deliquescence, or evaporation under the ordinary or
customary conditions of handling, shipment, storage, and
distribution, and is capable of tight reclosure.  Where a tight
container is specified, it may be replaced by a hermetic
container for a single dose of a drug and physical tests to
determine whether standards are met shall be as currently
specified in United States Pharmacopoeia-National
Formulary.

"Unit dose container" means a container that is a
single-unit container, as defined in United States
Pharmacopoeia-National Formulary, for articles intended for
administration by other than the parenteral route as a single
dose, direct from the container.

"Unit dose package" means a container that contains a
particular dose ordered for a patient.

"Unit dose system" means a system in which multiple
drugs in unit dose packaging are dispensed in a single
container, such as a medication drawer or bin, labeled only
with patient name and location.  Directions for administration
are not provided by the pharmacy on the drug packaging or
container but are obtained by the person administering
directly from a physician's prescriber's order or medication
administration record.

"U.S.P.-N.F." means the United States
Pharmacopeia-National Formulary.

"Well-closed container" means a container that protects
the contents from extraneous solids and from loss of the
drug under the ordinary or customary conditions of handling,
shipment, storage, and distribution.

18 VAC 110-20-20.  Fees.

A.  Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section
shall not be refundable.

B.  Fee for initial pharmacist licensure.

1.  The application fee for a pharmacist license shall be
$50.

2.  The fees for taking all required examinations shall be
paid directly to the examination service as specified by
the board.

3.  The application fee for a person whose license has
been revoked or suspended indefinitely shall be $300.

C.  Renewal of pharmacist license.

1.  The annual fee for renewal of a pharmacist license
shall be $50.

2.  The annual fee for renewal of an inactive pharmacist
license shall be $35.

3.  If a pharmacist fails to renew his license within the
Commonwealth by the renewal date, he must pay the
back renewal fee and a $25 late fee within 60 days of
expiration.

4.  Failure to renew a pharmacist license within 60 days
following expiration shall cause the license to lapse and
shall require the submission of a reinstatement
application, payment of all unpaid renewal fees, and a
delinquent fee of $50.

D.  Other licenses or permits.

1.  The annual permit fee to conduct a resident or
nonresident pharmacy shall be $200.

2.  The annual license fee for a permitted physician to
dispense drugs shall be $200.

3.  An application for a change of the
pharmacist-in-charge shall be accompanied by a fee of
$25.

4.  An application for a change of location or a
remodeling which requires an inspection shall be
accompanied by a fee of $100.

5.  A nonrestricted manufacturing permit shall be $200
annually.

6.  A restricted manufacturing permit shall be $150
annually.

7.  A wholesale distributor license shall be $200
annually.

8.  A warehouser permit shall be $200 annually.

9.  A permit for a medical equipment supplier shall be
$150 annually.

10.  A permit for a licensed humane society shall be $10
annually.

1.  The following fees shall be required upon submission
of a new facility application, change of ownership of an
existing facility, or annual renewal:

a.  Pharmacy permit $200

b.  Permitted physician to dispense drugs $200

c.  Nonrestricted manufacturing permit $200

d.   Restricted manufacturing permit $150

e.   Wholesale distributor license $200

f.   Warehouser permit $200
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g.  Medical equipment supplier permit $150

h.  Licensed humane society permit $10

2.  The following fees shall be required for facility
changes:

a.  Application for a change of the pharmacist-in-
charge $25

b.  Application for a change of location or a remodeling
which requires an inspection $100

3.  The following fees shall be required for late renewals
or reinstatement.

11. a.  If a licensee fails to renew a required license or
permit prior to the expiration date, a $25 late fee shall
be assessed.

12. b.  If a required license or permit is not renewed
within 60 days after its expiration, the license or
permit shall lapse, and continued practice or operation
of business with a lapsed license or permit shall be
illegal.  Thereafter, reinstatement shall be at the
discretion of the board upon submission of an
application accompanied by all unpaid renewal fees
and a delinquent fee of $50.

E.  Controlled substances registration.

1.  The annual fee for a controlled substances
registration as required by § 54.1-3422 of the Code of
Virginia shall be $20.

2.  If a registration is not renewed within 60 days of the
expiration date, the back renewal fee and a $10 late fee
shall be paid prior to renewal.

3.  If a controlled substance registration has been
allowed to lapse for more than 60 days, all back renewal
fees and a $25 delinquent fee must be paid before a
current registration will be issued.  Engaging in activities
requiring a controlled substance registration without
holding a current registration is illegal and may subject
the registrant to disciplinary action by the board.
Reinstatement of a lapsed registration is at the
discretion of the board and may be granted by the
executive director of the board upon completion of an
application and payment of all fees.

F.  Other fees.

1.  A request for a duplicate wall certificate shall be
accompanied by a fee of $25.

2.  A request for certification of grades to another board
shall be accompanied by a fee of $25.

2.  The fee for a returned check shall be $15.

G. 3.  The fee for board approval of continuing
education programs and providers. 1.  The application
fee for approval of an individual CE program is $100.

2.  The application fee for approval of provider status is
$300.

3.  Renewal of approved provider status is $300 paid
biennially.

18 VAC 110-20-30.  Requirements for practical
experience.

A.  Each applicant for licensure by examination shall have
gained practical experience in the practice of pharmacy, to
include no less than 300 hours in the area of prescription
compounding and dispensing within a pharmacy for a period
of not less than six months.

B.  During the six months of practical experience required,
the An applicant shall accumulate a minimum of 1,000 1,500
hours of practical experience, of which at least 300 hours
shall be gained outside of a school of pharmacy practical
experience program.  For purposes of this chapter, credit will
not be given for more than 50 hours in any one week.
Students enrolled in a school of pharmacy prior to January 1,
1999, are required to have a minimum of 1,000 hours.

C.  All practical experience credit required shall only be
gained after completion of the first professional year in an
approved school of pharmacy.

D.  Practical experience gained in a college school of
pharmacy which has a program designed to provide the
applicant with practical experience in all phases of pharmacy
practice and which program is approved by the American
Council on Pharmaceutical Education will be accepted by the
board for the time period during which the student is actually
enrolled.  The applicant will be required to gain any
additional experience outside the school program as needed
toward fulfilling the six months and 1,000 hours of
experience required to meet the requirements of subsections
A and B of this section.

E.  An applicant shall not be admitted to the examination
unless all of the practical experience has been gained.

18 VAC 110-20-40.  Procedure for gaining practical
experience outside of an accredited college clerkship
program.

A.  Each pharmacy student or graduate of an approved
school of pharmacy who desires to gain practical experience
in a pharmacy within the Commonwealth shall register with
the board on a form provided by the board prior to becoming
so engaged as a pharmacy intern.  This requirement shall
also apply to students gaining practical experience within the
Commonwealth for licensure in another state.  The student
shall be called a "student externe."

B.  Graduates of an approved school of pharmacy who
wish to gain practical experience within the Commonwealth
shall register with the board prior to being so engaged.  Such
graduates shall be called "pharmacy interne."

C. B.  The applicant shall be supervised by a pharmacist
who holds an unrestricted license and assumes full
responsibility for the training, supervision and conduct of the
externe or the interne intern.  The supervising pharmacist
shall not supervise more than one interne or externe
pharmacy intern during the same time period.
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D.  The practical experience of the student externe shall be
gained at times nonconcurrent with the school year with the
exception of school vacations.

E. C.  The intern registration of a pharmacy student
externe shall be valid only while the student is enrolled in a
school of pharmacy.  The registration card issued by the
board shall be returned to the board upon failure to be
enrolled.

F. D.  Practical experience gained within any state must be
registered with and certified by the board of that state in
order to be accepted or certified by this board.

G. E.  All practical experience of the student externe or
pharmacy interne intern shall be evidenced by an affidavit
which shall be filed prior to or with the application for
examination for licensure.

H. F.  An applicant for examination shall file affidavits or
certificates of experience on a form prescribed by the board
no less than 30 days prior to the date of the examination.

18 VAC 110-20-50.  Curriculum and approved colleges
schools of pharmacy.

A.  The following minimum educational requirements for
licensure for the specified periods shall be recognized by the
board for the purpose of licensure.

1.  On and after June 1, 1928, but before June 1, 1936,
the applicant for licensure shall have been graduated
from a three-year course of study with a pharmacy
graduate or pharmacy college degree in pharmacy
awarded.

2.  On and after June 1, 1936, but before June 1, 1964,
the applicant for licensure shall have been graduated
from a four-year course of study with a Bachelor of
Science degree in pharmacy awarded.

3.  On and after June 1, 1964, the applicant for licensure
shall have been graduated from at least a five-year
course of study with a Bachelor of Science degree in
pharmacy or a Doctorate of Pharmacy degree awarded.

B.  In order to be licensed as a pharmacist within this
Commonwealth, the applicant shall have been granted the
first professional degree from a program of a college school
of pharmacy which meets the requirements of § 54.1-3312 of
the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 110-20-60.  Content of the examination and
grades required; limitation on admittance to
examination.

A.  Prior to admission to any examination required for
licensure, the applicant shall have met all other requirements,
but in no case shall the applicant be admitted if grounds exist
to deny licensure under § 54.1-3316 of the Code of Virginia.

A. B.  The applicant shall achieve a passing score as
determined by the board on the licensure examination for
licensure as a pharmacist which is approved by the board
and which shall consist of an integrated examination of

pharmacy practice, pharmacology, pharmacy mathematics,
and such other subjects as are necessary to assure that the
candidate possesses the necessary knowledge and skills to
practice pharmacy.  The board will additionally examine the
candidates' knowledge of federal and state laws related to
pharmacy practice.

B. C.  The passing grade on the integrated pharmacy
examination shall be not less than 75.  The passing grade on
any law examination shall be not less than 75 applicant shall
also achieve a passing score as determined by the board on
an examination which tests the candidate's knowledge of
federal and state laws related to pharmacy practice.

C.D.  When an applicant for licensure by examination fails
to meet the passing requirements of subsection B of this
section the board-approved integrated pharmacy
examination on three occasions, he shall not be readmitted
to the examinations examination until he has completed an
additional six months of practical experience as a pharmacy
interne intern as set forth in 18 VAC 110-20-40.

18 VAC 110-20-70.  Requirements for foreign-trained
applicants.

Applicants for licensure who were trained in foreign
colleges schools of pharmacy shall meet the following
requirements:

1.  Obtain from the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate
Examination Committee (FPGEC) of the National
Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) verification
of the following:

a.  That the applicant is a graduate of a foreign
college school of pharmacy.

b.  That the applicant has received a score acceptable
to the board on the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate
Equivalency Examination (FPGEE).

c.  That the applicant has received a score acceptable
to the board on the Test of English as a Foreign
Language (TOEFL).

2.  Complete the Test of Spoken English (TSE) as given
by the Educational Testing Service with a score
acceptable to the board.

3.  Fulfill the requirements for practical experience as
prescribed in 18 VAC 110-20-30 A and B and all of
18 VAC 110-20-40.

4.  Fulfill the requirements for the examination and
passing grade as prescribed in 18 VAC 110-20-60.

18 VAC 110-20-90.  Requirements for continuing
education.

A.  On and after December 31, 1993, a licensee shall be
required to have completed a minimum of 1.5 CEU's or 15
contact hours of continuing pharmacy education in an
approved program for each annual renewal of licensure.
CEU's or hours in excess of the number required for renewal
may not be transferred or credited to another year.
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B.  An A pharmacy education program approved for
continuing pharmacy education program is:

1.  One that is approved by the American Council on
Pharmaceutical Education and carries the provider logo
and number of the (ACPE);

2.  One that is approved as a Category I Continuing
Medical Education (CME) course, the primary focus of
which is pharmacy, pharmacology or drug therapy; or

3.  One that is approved by the board.

C.  A licensee is exempt from completing CE requirements
and considered in compliance on the first renewal date
following his initial licensure.

D. C.  The board may grant an extension of up to one year
for the completion of CE requirements upon a written request
from the licensee prior to the renewal date pursuant to
§ 54.1-3314 E of the Code of Virginia.  Any subsequent
extension shall be granted only for good cause shown.  Such
an extension shall not relieve the licensee of the requirement
for CEU's or hours.

E.  The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the
CE requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of
the pharmacist, such as temporary disability, mandatory
military service, or officially declared disasters.

F. D.  Licensees are required to attest to compliance with
CE requirements on their annual license renewal.  Following
the renewal period, the board may conduct an audit of
licensees to verify compliance.  Licensees selected for audit
must provide original documents certifying that they have
fulfilled their CE requirements by the deadline date as
specified by the board.

G. E.  All licensees are required to maintain original
documents verifying the date and subject of the program or
activity, the CEU's or contact hours, and certification from an
approved provider.  Documentation shall be maintained for a
period of two years following renewal in a file available to
inspectors at the pharmacist's principal place of practice or,
if there is no principal place of practice, at the pharmacist's
address of record.

H. F.  A pharmacist who holds an inactive license, who
has allowed his license to lapse or who has had his license
suspended or revoked must submit evidence of completion
of CEU's or hours equal to the requirements for the number
of years in which his license has not been active.

I.  Pharmacists who are licensed by other states and who
have obtained a minimum of 1.5 CEU's or 15 contact hours
of approved CE programs of such other states need not
obtain additional hours.

18 VAC 110-20-100.  Approval of continuing education
programs and providers.

A.  The board will approve without application or further
review any program offered by a ACPE-approved provider
and will accept for credit certificates bearing the official
ACPE logo and program number.

B.  The board may approve an individual CE program or
may grant approved provider status under the following
provisions:

1.  Approval of an individual CE program.

a. 1.  An approved individual program is a course,
activity, or lecture which includes subject matter related
to the competency of the practice of pharmacy and
which has been approved for CE credit by the board.

b. 2.  In order to receive approval for an individual
program, the sponsor or provider must make application
prior to the program offering on a form provided by the
board.  The information which must be provided shall
include but not be limited to:  name of provider, location,
date and time of program, charges to participants,
description of program content and objectives,
credentials of speaker or author, method of delivery,
evaluation procedure, evidence of a pre and post test,
credits requested, mechanism for record-keeping, and
any such information as the board deems necessary to
assure quality and compliance.

c. 3.  The sponsor making application for board approval
of an individual program must pay a fee as required in
18 VAC 110-20-20 G of this chapter.

d. 4.  The board shall notify the provider or sponsor
within 60 days following the receipt of a completed
application of approval or disapproval of a program and
the number of credits which may be awarded.

2.  Approval of CE provider status.

a.  An approved provider is any person, corporation,
school, association, or other entity who has
demonstrated an ability to provide qualified CE
programs and has met the requirements of the board
for approved provider status.

b.  An applicant for approved provider status must
have sponsored at least three individually board
approved programs for a minimum period of two
years immediately preceding the submission of
application for approved status.

c.  The application for approved provider status shall
include but not be limited to:  information on the entity
making application, a listing of approved CE
programs offered during the last two years,
accreditation, methods of promotion and delivery of
programs, assessment process, maintenance of
records, policy on grievances and tuition, standards
for selection of speakers, program goals and
objectives, and a description of facilities adequate to
meet those objectives.

d.  The application for approved provider status shall
be accompanied by a fee as required in 18 VAC
110-20-20 G.

e.  An applicant who has been granted approved
provider status is permitted to offer CE programs by
submitting to the board information on that offering at
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least 10 days prior to the program.  The approved
provider is not required to submit application for
approval of each individual program nor to pay the fee
for such approval.

f.  An approved provider must have that status
renewed every two years, must pay the renewal fee,
and must provide information on program offerings to
the board for review.

g.  The board may revoke or suspend an approval of a
provider or refuse to renew such approval if the
provider fails to maintain the necessary standards and
requirements.

3.  Certificate of completion. 5.  The provider of an
approved program shall provide to each participant who
completes the required hours and passes the post test a
certification with the name of the provider, name of the
participant, description of course and method of
delivery, number of hours credited, date of completion,
and program identification number.

4.  Maintenance of records. 6.  The provider of an
approved program shall maintain all records on that
program, its participants, and hours awarded for a
period of three years and shall make those records
available to the board upon request.

5.  Monitoring of programs. 7.  The board shall
periodically review and monitor programs.  The provider
of a CE program shall waive registration fees for a
representative of the board for that purpose.

6.  Changes in programs or providers. 8.  Any changes
in the information previously provided about an
approved program or provider must be submitted or the
board may withdraw its approval.

18 VAC 110-20-110.  Pharmacy permits generally.

A.  A pharmacy permit shall not be issued to a pharmacist
to be simultaneously in charge of more than one pharmacy.

B.  The pharmacist-in-charge or the pharmacist on duty
shall control all aspects of the practice of pharmacy.  Any
decision overriding such control of the pharmacist-in-charge
or other pharmacist on duty by nonpharmacist personnel
shall be deemed the practice of pharmacy and may be
grounds for disciplinary action against the pharmacy permit.

C.  When the pharmacist-in-charge ceases practice at a
pharmacy or no longer wishes to be designated as
pharmacist-in-charge, he shall take a complete and accurate
inventory of all Schedule II through V controlled substances
on hand and shall immediately return the pharmacy permit to
the board.

D.  An application for a permit designating the new
pharmacist-in-charge shall be filed with the required fee
within 14 days on a form provided by the board.  It shall be
unlawful for a pharmacy to operate without a new permit
past the 14-day deadline.

18 VAC 110-20-130.  Pharmacies Pharmacy closings,
going out of business, and change of ownership.

A.  At least 14 days prior to the closing date a pharmacy
closes in accordance with § 54.1-3434.01 of the Code of
Virginia or goes out of business, the owner shall notify the
board shall be notified by the pharmacist-in-charge or owner.
The proposed disposition of all Schedule II through VI drugs,
prescription dispensing records, patient information records,
and other required records shall be reported to the board.  If
the pharmacy drug stock is and records are to be transferred
to another licensee, the pharmacist-in-charge or owner shall
inform the board of the name and address of the licensee to
whom the drugs and records are being transferred and the
date of transfer.

B.  Exceptions to the public notice as required in
§ 54.1-3434.01 of the Code of Virginia and the notice
required in subsection A of this section shall be approved by
the board and may include sudden closing due to fire,
destruction, natural disaster, death, property seizure,
eviction, bankruptcy, or other emergency circumstances as
approved by the board.

C.  In the event of an exception to the notice as required in
§ 54.1-3434.01 of the Code of Virginia and in subsection A of
this section, the pharmacist-in-charge or owner shall provide
notice as far in advance of closing as allowed by the
circumstances.

D.  At least 14 days prior to any change in ownership of an
existing pharmacy, the owner shall notify the board of the
pending change.  Upon any change in ownership of an
existing pharmacy, the prescription dispensing records for the
two years immediately preceding the date of change of
ownership and other required patient information shall be
provided to the new owners on the date of change of
ownership in substantially the same format as previously
used immediately prior to the transfer to provide continuity of
pharmacy services.  The previous owner shall be held
responsible for the proper transfer of records on the date of
the transfer.  The format of the prescription dispensing
records must also comply with the requirements of Chapter
34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia,
and this chapter.  Failure to comply with this chapter during a
change in ownership shall be deemed to be a closing of the
existing pharmacy for which the existing pharmacy owner
shall be required to provide notice to the board and public in
accordance with § 54.1-3434.01 of the Code of Virginia and
subsection A of this section.

18 VAC 110-20-140.  New pharmacies and changes to
existing pharmacies.

A.  Any person wishing to open a new pharmacy, change
ownership of an existing pharmacy, change the location of an
existing pharmacy, or move the location or make structural
changes to an existing prescription department shall file an
application with the board.
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B.  Any waiver of facility regulations granted to a pharmacy
shall expire 90 days following a change in ownership of an
existing pharmacy.

B. C.  The proposed location or structural changes shall be
inspected by an authorized agent of the board prior to
issuance of a permit.

1.  Pharmacy permit applications which indicate a
requested inspection date, or requests which are
received after the application is filed, shall be honored
provided a 14-day notice is allowed prior to the
requested inspection date.

2.  Requested inspection dates which do not allow a
14-day notice to the board may be adjusted by the board
to provide 14 days for the scheduling of the inspection.

3.  At the time of the inspection, the dispensing area
shall comply with 18 VAC 110-20-150, 18 VAC
110-20-160, 18 VAC 110-20-170, 18 VAC 110-20-180,
and through 18 VAC 110-20-190 of this chapter.

C. D.  Upon completion of the inspection, the executive
director of the board shall review the findings of the
inspection.  Drugs shall not be stocked within the proposed
pharmacy or moved to a new location until approval is
granted or the permit is issued by the executive director of
the board or his designee.

18 VAC 110-20-150.  Physical standards for all
pharmacies.

A.  The prescription department shall not be less than 240
square feet.  The patient waiting area or the area used for
devices, cosmetics, and proprietary medicines shall not be
considered a part of the minimum 240 square feet.  The total
area shall be consistent with the size and scope of the
services provided.

B.  Access to stock rooms, rest rooms, and other areas
other than an office that is exclusively used by the
pharmacist shall not be through the prescription department.
A rest room in the prescription department, used exclusively
by pharmacists and personnel assisting with dispensing
functions, may be allowed provided there is another rest
room outside the prescription department available to other
employees and the public.  This subsection shall not apply to
prescription departments in existence prior to the effective
date of this chapter.

C.  The pharmacy shall be constructed of permanent and
secure materials.  Trailers or other moveable facilities or
temporary construction shall not be permitted.

D.  The entire area of the location of the pharmacy
practice, including all areas where drugs are stored shall be
well-lighted and well-ventilated; lighting levels in the
prescription department shall be a minimum of 100 foot
candles; the proper storage temperature shall be maintained
to meet U.S.P.-N.F.  specifications for drug storage.

E.  The prescription department counter work space shall
be used only for the compounding and dispensing of drugs
and necessary record keeping.

F.  A sink with hot and cold running water shall be within
the prescription department.

G.  Adequate refrigeration facilities equipped with a
monitoring thermometer for the storage of drugs requiring
cold storage temperature shall be maintained within the
prescription department, if the pharmacy stocks such drugs.

18 VAC 110-20-170.  Required minimum equipment.

The pharmacist-in-charge shall be responsible for
maintaining the following equipment:

1.  A current copy of the United States Pharmacopeia
Dispensing Information Reference Book.

2.  A set of Prescription Balances, sensitive to 15
milligrams, and weights or an electronic scale.

3.  A copy of the current Virginia Drug Control Act and
board regulations.

4.  A current copy of the Virginia Voluntary Formulary.

5.  A laminar flow hood for pharmacies engaging in the
compounding of sterile product(s).

6. 5.  Other equipment, supplies, and references
consistent with the pharmacy's scope of practice and
with the public safety.

18 VAC 110-20-190.  Prescription department
enclosures.

A.  The prescription departments of each pharmacy shall
be provided with enclosures subject to the following
conditions:

1.  The enclosure shall be constructed in such a manner
that it protects the controlled drug stock from
unauthorized entry and from pilferage at all times
whether or not a pharmacist is on duty.

2.  The enclosure shall be of sufficient height as to
prevent anyone from reaching over to gain access to the
drugs.

3.  Entrances to the enclosed area must have a door
which extends with no more than a six-inch gap from the
floor and which is at least as high as the adjacent
counters or adjoining partitions structure.  The
requirement for a maximum six-inch gap shall not apply
to those pharmacies in existence prior to [insert
effective date], with the exception of any pharmacy
which experiences a related diversion or theft.

4.  Doors to the area must have locking devices which
will prevent unauthorized entry in the absence of the
pharmacist.

B.  The door keys and alarm access code to the
dispensing areas shall be subject to the following
requirements:

1.  Only pharmacists practicing at the pharmacy and
authorized by the pharmacist-in-charge shall be in
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possession of any keys to the locking device on the door
to such enclosure.

2.  The pharmacist may place a key or the access code
in a sealed envelope or other container with the
pharmacist's signature across the seal in a safe or vault
within the pharmacy or other secured place.  This key or
code shall only be used to allow entrance to the
prescription department by other pharmacists.

C.  The prescription department is restricted to
pharmacists, externes, and internes interns who are
practicing at the pharmacy.  Clerical assistants and other
persons designated by the pharmacist may be allowed
access by the pharmacist but only during the hours the
pharmacist is on duty.

18 VAC 110-20-200.  Storage of drugs, devices, and
controlled paraphernalia.

A.  Prescriptions awaiting delivery.  Prescriptions prepared
for delivery to the patient may be placed in a secure place
outside of the prescription department and access to the
prescriptions restricted by the pharmacist to designated
clerical assistants.  With the permission of the pharmacist,
the prepared prescriptions may be transferred to the patient
at a time when the pharmacist is not on duty.  If a
prescription is delivered at a time when the pharmacist is not
on duty, written procedures shall be established and followed
by the pharmacy which detail a method of compliance with
counseling requirements of § 54.1-3319 of the Code of
Virginia.

B.  Dispersion of Schedule II drugs.  Schedule II drugs
shall either be dispersed with other schedules of drugs or
shall be maintained within a locked cabinet, drawer, or safe.

C.  Safeguards for controlled paraphernalia.  Controlled
paraphernalia shall not be placed on open display or in an
area completely removed from the prescription department
whereby patrons will have free access to such items or
where the pharmacist cannot exercise reasonable
supervision and control.

D.  Expired drugs; security.  Any drug which has exceeded
the expiration date shall not be dispensed or sold; it shall be
separated from the stock used for dispensing.  Expired
prescription drugs shall be maintained in a designated area
within the prescription department until proper disposal.

18 VAC 110-20-210.  Disposal of Schedule II through V
drugs by pharmacies.

If a pharmacist-in-charge wishes to dispose of unwanted
Schedule II through V drugs, he shall use one of the
following procedures:

1.  Transfer the drugs to another person or entity
authorized to possess Schedule II through V or provide
for proper disposal of such drugs; or

2.  Destroy the drugs according to by burning in an
incinerator in compliance with all applicable local, state,
and federal laws and regulations.  If Schedule II through

V drugs are to be destroyed, the following procedures
shall apply:

a.  At least 14 days prior to the destruction date, the
pharmacist-in-charge shall provide a written notice to
the board office; the notice shall state the following:

(1) Date, time, manner, and place of destruction.

(2) The names of the pharmacists who will witness
the destruction process.

b.  If the destruction date is to be changed or the
destruction does not occur, a new notice shall be
provided to the board office as set forth above in this
subsection subdivision 2 of this section.

c.  The actual destruction shall be witnessed by the
pharmacist-in-charge and another pharmacist not
employed by the pharmacy.

d.  The drugs shall be destroyed in accordance with
all applicable local, state and federal laws and
regulations by burning in an incinerator or by other
methods approved in advance by the board.

e. d.  The DEA drug destruction form shall be fully
completed and used to make a as the record of all
drugs to be destroyed.  A copy of the destruction form
shall be retained at the pharmacy with other inventory
records.

f.  Each form shall show the following information:

(1) Legible signatures and license numbers of the
pharmacist-in-charge and the witnessing
pharmacist;

(2) The method of destruction; and

(3) The date of the destruction.

g.  At the conclusion of the destruction of the drug
stock:

(1) A copy of the completed destruction form shall
be sent to Drug Enforcement Administration,
Washington Field Division, Tech World Plaza, 800
K Street, N.W., St. 500, Washington, D.C. 20001,
Attn:  Diversion Control Group.

(2) A copy of the completed destruction form shall
be sent to the office of the board.

(3) A copy of the completed destruction form shall
be retained with the pharmacy inventory records.

18 VAC 110-20-220.  General requirements for
pharmacies providing radiopharmaceutical services.

A.  A permit to operate a pharmacy providing
radiopharmaceutical services shall be issued only to a
qualified nuclear pharmacist as defined in 18 VAC 110-20-
230.  In emergency situations, in the pharmacist's absence
of the nuclear pharmacist, he may designate one or more
other qualified pharmacists to have access to the licensed
area.  These individuals may obtain single doses of
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radiopharmaceuticals for the immediate emergency and
shall document such withdrawals in the control system.

B.  Pharmacies providing ordinary pharmacy services in
addition to radiopharmaceutical services shall comply with
all regulations applicable to pharmacies in general.
Pharmacies providing only radiopharmaceutical services
shall comply with all regulations related to physical
standards, sanitary conditions and security.

C.  The nuclear pharmacy area shall be separate from the
pharmacy areas for nonradioactive drugs and shall be
secured from unauthorized personnel.  All pharmacies
handling radiopharmaceuticals shall provide a radioactive
storage and product decay area, occupying at least 25
square feet of space, separate from and exclusive of the hot
laboratory, compounding, dispensing, quality assurance and
office area.

D.  A prescription order for a radiopharmaceutical shall be
dispensed in a unit-dose package.  A pharmacy may furnish
the radiopharmaceuticals for office use only to practitioners
for an individual patient except for the occasional transfer to
a pharmacist.

E.  In addition to any labeling requirements of the board
for nonradioactive drugs, the immediate outside container of
a radioactive drug to be dispensed shall also be labeled with:
(i) the standard radiation symbol; (ii) the words
"Caution--Radioactive Material"; (iii) the name of the
radionuclide; (iv) the chemical form; (v) the amount of
radioactive material contained, in millicuries or microcuries;
(vi) if a liquid, the volume in milliliters; (vii) the requested
calibration time for the amount of radioactivity contained;
and (viii) the practitioner's name and the assigned lot
number.

F.  The immediate inner container shall be labeled with:  (i)
the standard radiation symbol; (ii) the words
"Caution--Radioactive Material"; and (iii) the prescription
number.

G.  The amount of radioactivity shall be determined by
radiometric methods for each individual dose immediately
prior to dispensing.

H.  Nuclear pharmacies may redistribute approved
radioactive drugs if the pharmacy does not process the
radioactive drugs in any manner nor violate the product
packaging.

18 VAC 110-20-230.  Qualification as a nuclear
pharmacist.

In order to practice as a nuclear pharmacist, a pharmacist
shall possess the following qualifications:

1.  Meet Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)
standards of training for medically used or radioactive
by-product material.

2.  Have received a minimum of 200 contact hours of
didactic instruction in nuclear pharmacy.

3.  Attain a minimum of 500 hours of clinical nuclear
pharmacy training under the supervision of a qualified
nuclear pharmacist in a nuclear pharmacy providing
nuclear pharmacy services, or in a structured clinical
nuclear pharmacy training program in an approved
college school of pharmacy.

4.  Submit to the board an affidavit of experience and
training to the board meeting the requirements of
subdivisions 1, 2 and 3 of this section; documentation of
NRC approval as an authorized nuclear pharmacist; or
documentation of certification as a nuclear pharmacist by
the American Pharmaceutical Association Board of
Pharmaceutical Specialties.

18 VAC 110-20-240.  Manner of maintaining records,
prescriptions, inventory records.

A.  Each pharmacy shall maintain the inventories and
records of drugs as follows:

1.  Inventories and records of all drugs listed in
Schedules I and II shall be maintained separately from
all other records of the pharmacy.

2.  Inventories and records of drugs listed in Schedules
III, IV, and V may be maintained separately or with
records of Schedule VI drugs but shall not be
maintained with other records of the pharmacy.

3.  All records of Schedule II through V drugs shall be
maintained at the same location as the stock of drugs to
which the records pertain except that records maintained
in an off-site database shall be retrieved and made
available for inspection or audit within 48 hours of a
request by the board or an authorized agent.

4.  In the event that an inventory is taken as the result of
a theft of drugs pursuant to § 54.1-3404 of the Drug
Control Act, the inventory shall be used as the opening
inventory within the current biennial period.  Such an
inventory does not preclude the taking of the required
inventory on the required biennial inventory date.

5.  All inventories required by § 54.1-3404 of the Code of
Virginia shall be signed and dated by the person taking
the inventory and shall indicate whether the inventory
was taken prior to the opening of business or after close
of business.  A 24-hour pharmacy with no opening or
closing of business shall clearly document whether the
receipt or distribution of drugs on the inventory date
occurred before or after the inventory was taken.

6.  All records required by this section shall be filed
chronologically.

B.  Prescriptions.

1.  A hard copy prescription shall be placed on file for
every initial prescription dispensed and be maintained
for two years from the date of last refill.  All prescriptions
shall be filed chronologically by date of initial
dispensing.
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2.  Schedule II drugs.  Prescriptions for Schedule II
drugs shall be maintained in a separate prescription file.

3.  Schedule III through V drugs.  Prescriptions for
Schedule III through V drugs shall be maintained either
in a separate prescription file for drugs listed in
Schedules III, IV, and V only or in such form that they
are readily retrievable from the other prescriptions of the
pharmacy.  Prescriptions will be deemed readily
retrievable if, at the time they are initially filed, the face
of the prescription is stamped in red ink in the lower
right corner with the letter "C" no less than one inch high
and filed in the prescription file for drugs listed in the
usual consecutively numbered prescription file for
Schedule VI drugs.  However, if a pharmacy employs an
automated data processing system or other electronic
recordkeeping system for prescriptions which permits
identification by prescription number and retrieval of
original documents by prescriber’s name, patient’s name,
drug dispensed, and date filled, then the requirement to
mark the hard copy prescription with a red “C” is waived.

18 VAC 110-20-260.  Pharmacy repackaging of drug;
records required; labeling requirements. (Repealed.)

A.  Pharmacies in which bulk reconstitution of injectables,
bulk compounding or the prepackaging of drugs is performed
shall maintain adequate control records for a period of one
year or until the expiration, whichever is greater.  The
records shall show the name of the drug(s) used, strength, if
any, date repackaged, quantity prepared, initials of the
pharmacist supervising the process, the assigned control
number, the manufacturer's or distributor's name and control
number, and an expiration date.

B.  The drug name, strength, if any, the assigned control
number, or the manufacturer's or distributor's name and
control number, and an appropriate expiration date shall
appear on any subsequently repackaged or reconstituted
units as follows:

1.  If U.S.P.-N.F.  Class B or better packaging material
is used for oral unit dose packages, an expiration date
not to exceed six months or the expiration date shown
on the original manufacturing bulk container, whichever
is less, shall appear on the repackaged or reconstituted
units.

2.  If it can be documented that the repackaged unit has
a stability greater than six months, an appropriate
expiration date may be assigned.

3.  If U.S.P.-N.F.  Class C or less packaging material is
used for oral, solid medication, an expiration date not to
exceed 30 days shall appear on the repackaged or
reconstituted units.

18 VAC 110-20-270.  Dispensing of prescriptions; acts
restricted to pharmacists; certification of completed
prescription.

A.  The following acts shall be performed by a pharmacist,
or by a student externe or pharmacy interne intern, provided

a method for direct monitoring by the pharmacist of such
acts of the externe or interne is provided:

1.  The evaluation of a prescription for its completeness,
validity, safety and appropriateness of drug therapy in
conformity with provisions of §§ 54.1-3303, 54.1-3319,
54.1-3408, 54.1-3408.1, and 54.1-3410 of the Code of
Virginia and to current practices in pharmacy.

1. 2.  The accepting receiving of an oral prescription
from a practitioner or his authorized agent and the
reducing transcribing of such oral or electronically
transmitted prescription to writing hard copy or directly
into a data processing system.

2. 3.  The personal supervision of the compounding of
extemporaneous preparations.

3. 4.  The conducting of a prospective drug review as
required by § 54.1-3319 of the Code of Virginia prior to
the dispensing or refilling of any prescription.

4. 5.  The providing of drug information to the public or
to a practitioner.

5. 6.  The communication with the practitioner regarding
any changes in a prescription, substitution of the drug
prescribed, refill authorizations, drug therapy, or patient
information.

6. 7.  The direct supervision of those persons assisting
the pharmacist in the prescription department under the
following conditions:

a.  Only one person who is not a pharmacist may be
present in the prescription department at any given
time with each pharmacist for the purpose of assisting
the pharmacist in preparing and packaging of
prescriptions or for the purpose of requesting or
receiving refill authorization provided there is no
change from the original prescription.  If the pharmacy
is using persons who hold current certification from
PTCB, the ratio may be one pharmacist to three
assistants.

b.  In addition to the person or persons authorized in
subdivision 6 7 a of this subsection, personnel
authorized by the pharmacist may be present in the
prescription department for the purpose of performing
clerical functions, to include data entry of prescription
and patient information into a computer system or a
manual patient profile system.

B.  After the prescription has been prepared and prior to
the delivery of the order, the pharmacist shall inspect the
prescription product to verify its accuracy in all respects, and
place his initials on the record of dispensing as a certification
of the accuracy of, and the responsibility for, the entire
transaction.

C.  If a pharmacist declines to fill a prescription for any
reason other than the unavailability of the drug prescribed,
he shall record on the back of the prescription the word
"declined"; the name, address, and telephone number of the
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pharmacy; the date filling of the prescription was declined;
and the signature of the pharmacist.

18 VAC 110-20-280.  Transmission of a prescription
order by facsimile machine.

A.  Prescription orders for Schedule III through VI drugs
may be transmitted to pharmacies by facsimile device (FAX)
upon the following conditions:

1.  The transmission shall occur only with permission of
the patient.

2.  A valid faxed prescription must shall contain all
required information for a written prescription, including
the prescriber's signature.  An authorized agent, as
defined in § 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia, may
transmit an oral prescription by facsimile and may sign
the prescription in lieu of the prescriber.

3.  A faxed prescription shall be valid only if faxed from
the prescriber's practice location and only if the following
additional information is recorded on the prescription
prior to faxing:

a.  Documentation that the prescription has been
faxed;

b.  The date that the prescription was faxed;

c.  The printed name, address, phone number, and
fax number of the authorized prescriber and the
pharmacy to which the prescription was faxed; and

d.  The institution, if applicable, from which the
prescription was faxed, including address, phone
number and fax number.

B.  Prescription orders for Schedule II drugs may only be
faxed for information purposes and may not serve as the
original written prescription authorizing dispensing, except
for orders to be administered to nursing home and home
infusion patients in accordance with § 54.1-3408 of the Code
of Virginia and except for prescriptions written for a Schedule
II narcotic substance for patients residing in a hospice
certified by Medicare under Title XVIII or licensed by the
state.  The prescriber shall note on the prescription if the
patient is a hospice patient, and the prescription shall meet all
requirements for a written prescription including the
prescriber’s signature.

C.  If the faxed prescription is of such quality that the print
will fade and not remain legible for the required retention
period, the receiving pharmacist shall copy or transcribe the
faxed prescription on paper of permanent quality.

D.  Authorizations for refills may be faxed by the prescriber
to the pharmacy provided the authorization includes patient
name, address, drug name and strength, quantity, directions
for use, prescriber’s name, prescriber’s signature or agent’s
name, and date of authorization.

18 VAC 110-20-290.  Dispensing of Schedule II drugs.

A.  A prescription for a Schedule II drug shall be dispensed
in good faith but in no case shall it be dispensed more than

six months after the date on which the prescription was
issued.

B.  A prescription for a Schedule II drug shall not be
refilled except as authorized under the conditions for partial
dispensing as set forth in 18 VAC 110-20-310.

C.  In case of an emergency situation, a pharmacist may
dispense a drug listed in Schedule II upon receiving oral
authorization of a prescribing practitioner, provided that:

1.  The quantity prescribed and dispensed is limited to
the amount adequate to treat the patient during the
emergency period;

2.  The prescription shall be immediately reduced to
writing by the pharmacist and shall contain all
information required in § 54.1-3410 of the Drug Control
Act, except for the signature of the prescribing
practitioner;

3.  If the pharmacist does not know the practitioner, he
shall make a reasonable effort to determine that the oral
authorization came from a practitioner using his phone
number as listed in the telephone directory or other
good-faith efforts to ensure his identity; and

4.  Within 72 hours seven days after authorizing an
emergency oral prescription, the prescribing practitioner
shall cause a written prescription for the emergency
quantity prescribed to be delivered to the dispensing
pharmacist.  In addition to conforming to the
requirements of § 54.1-3410 of the Drug Control Act, the
prescription shall have written on its face "Authorization
for Emergency Dispensing" and the date of the oral
order.  The written prescription may be delivered to the
pharmacist in person or by mail, but if delivered by mail,
it must be postmarked within the 72-hour seven-day
period.  Upon receipt, the dispensing pharmacist shall
attach this prescription to the oral emergency
prescription which had earlier been reduced to writing.
The pharmacist shall notify the nearest office of the
Drug Enforcement Administration and the board if the
prescribing practitioner fails to deliver a written
prescription to him.  Failure of the pharmacist to do so
shall void the authority conferred by this paragraph to
dispense without a written prescription of a prescribing
practitioner.

18 VAC 110-20-330.  Labeling of prescription as to
content and quantity.

Unless otherwise directed by the prescribing practitioner,
any drug dispensed pursuant to a prescription shall bear on
the label of the container, in addition to other requirements of
§§ 54.1-3410 and 54.1-3463 of the Code of Virginia, the
following information:

1.  The drug name and strength, when strength is
applicable:

a.  If a trade name drug is dispensed, the trade name
of the drug or the generic name of the drug. For any
drug product possessing a single active ingredient, the
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generic name of the drug shall be included on the label
in addition to any other brand name.

b.  If a generic drug is dispensed in place of a trade
when a prescription is written for a brand name drug,
in addition to the requirements of § 32.1-87 A of the
Code of Virginia, one of the following methods shall
be used:

(1) The generic name,

(2) A name for the product dispensed which
appears on the generic manufacturer's label, or

(3) the label shall contain the generic name followed
by the words "generic for" followed by the trade brand
name of the drug for which the generic drug is
substituted prescribed, and in accordance with § 32.1-
87 A of the Code of Virginia, the label shall also
contain the generic’s brand name or the manufacturer
or distributor of the drug dispensed.

2.  The number of dosage units, or, if liquid, the number
of milliliters dispensed.

18 VAC 110-20-350.  Special packaging.

A.  Each drug dispensed to a person in a household shall
be dispensed in special packaging except when otherwise
directed in a prescription by a practitioner, when otherwise
requested by the purchaser, or when such drug is exempted
from 16 CFR § 1702.1 et seq. promulgated pursuant to the
Poison Prevention Packaging Act of 1970 (15 USC
§§ 1471-1476).

B.  Each pharmacy may have a sign posted near the
prescription department advising the patients that nonspecial
packaging may be requested.

C.  If nonspecial packaging is requested, documentation a
signed release of such request shall be obtained pursuant to
§ 54.1-3427 of the Code of Virginia and maintained for two
years from the date of dispensing.

18 VAC 110-20-355.  Pharmacy repackaging of drug;
records required; labeling requirements.

A.  Pharmacies in which bulk reconstitution of injectable,
bulk compounding or the prepackaging of drugs is performed
shall maintain adequate control records for a period of one
year or until the expiration, whichever is greater.  The
records shall show the name of the drug(s) used; strength, if
any; date repackaged; quantity prepared; initials of the
pharmacist supervising the process; the assigned control
number; the manufacturer's or distributor's name and control
number; and an expiration date.

B.  The drug name; strength, if any; the assigned control
number or the manufacturer's or distributor's name and
control number; and an appropriate expiration date shall
appear on any subsequently repackaged or reconstituted
units as follows:

1.  If U.S.P.-N.F. Class B or better packaging material is
used for oral unit dose packages, an expiration date not

to exceed six months or the expiration date shown on
the original manufacturing bulk container, whichever is
less, shall appear on the repackaged or reconstituted
units.

2.  If it can be documented that the repackaged unit has
a stability greater than six months, an appropriate
expiration date may be assigned.

3.  If U.S.P.-N.F. Class C or less packaging material is
used for oral, solid medication, an expiration date not to
exceed 30 days shall appear on the repackaged or
reconstituted units.

C.  Pharmacies using automated counting devices or
dispensers in which drugs are removed from manufacturer’s
original packaging and placed in bulk bins shall label the bin
with the drug name; strength, if any; the name of the
manufacturer or distributor; control or lot number; and an
expiration date which does not exceed six months from the
date of repackaging and which also does not exceed the
manufacturer’s expiration date.  No two separate lot numbers
shall be mixed in the same bin; bins shall be emptied prior to
being refilled.

18 VAC 110-20-360.  Issuing a copy of a prescription that
can be refilled.

A.  Consistent with federal laws and regulations, a copy of
a prescription for a drug which shall be given upon request to
another pharmacist provided the drug can be refilled
pursuant to § 54.1-3411 of the Code of Virginia, can be
refilled at the time the copy is issued shall be given upon
request to another pharmacist and provided the patient has
given permission for the transfer.

B.  The transfer of original prescription information for a
drug listed in Schedules III through VI for the purpose of refill
dispensing is permissible between pharmacies if the transfer
is communicated directly between two pharmacists either
orally, by facsimile machine or by electronic transmission,
and the transferring pharmacist records the following
information:

1.  Records the word "VOID" on the face of the
invalidated prescription;

2.  Records on the reverse of the invalidated prescription
the name, address, and the Drug Enforcement
Administration (DEA), registry number of the pharmacy
to which it was transferred, except for a prescription for
a Schedule VI drug, and the name of the pharmacist
receiving the prescription information; and

3.  Records the date of the transfer and the name of the
pharmacist transferring the information, or in the case of
an electronic transmission, the name of the pharmacist
releasing the information.

C.  The pharmacist receiving the transferred prescription
information shall reduce to writing the following:

1.  Write the word "TRANSFER" on the face of the
transferred prescription.
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2.  Provide all information required to be on a
prescription and include:

a.  Date of issuance of original prescription;

b.  Original number of refills authorized on the original
prescription;

c.  Date of original dispensing;

d.  Number of valid refills remaining and date of last
refill;

e.  Pharmacy name, address, DEA registry number
except for Schedule VI prescriptions, and original
prescription number from which the prescription
information was transferred; and

f.  Name of transferring pharmacist.

3.  Both the original and transferred prescription shall be
maintained for a period of two years from the date of
last refill.

D.  Nothing in this chapter shall prevent the giving of a
prescription marked "For Information Only" to a patient.

E.  Pharmacists may use computer systems in lieu of
recording on the hard copy prescription provided that the
system used clearly meets all requirements of subsections B
and C of this section while retaining all previous dispensing
information.

F.  For prescriptions transferred between pharmacies
using a common database, the pharmacy receiving the
prescription shall not be required to maintain a hard copy
pursuant to 18 VAC 110-20-240 B provided that the system
used is capable of generating a hard copy of the transferred
prescription upon request or except as required by federal
law.

18 VAC 110-20-390.  Kickbacks, fee-splitting, Rebates or
other considerations; interference with supplier.

A.  A pharmacist shall not solicit or foster prescription
practice with a prescriber of drugs or any other person
providing for participate in any program involving or accept
from any payor rebates, "kickbacks," fee-splitting, or special
charges in exchange for or other considerations with respect
to a prescription orders unless fully disclosed in writing to the
patient, the prescriber, and any third party payor.

B.  A pharmacist shall not interfere with the patient's right
to choose his supplier of medication or cooperate with any
person or persons in denying a patient the opportunity to
select his supplier of prescribed medications.

18 VAC 110-20-395.  Purchase of drugs.

Except for an emergency purchase from another
pharmacy, a pharmacist may only purchase Schedule II
through VI drugs from a wholesale distributor licensed or
registered by the board.

18 VAC 110-20-400.  Returning of drugs and devices.

Drugs or devices shall not may be accepted for return or
exchange by any pharmacist or pharmacy for resale after
such drugs and devices have been taken from the premises
where sold, distributed, or dispensed unless provided such
drug or devices are in the manufacturer's original sealed
containers or in unit-dose container which meets the
U.S.P.-N.F. Class A or Class B container requirement and
provided such return or exchange is consistent with federal
law and regulation.

18 VAC 110-20-420.  Unit dose dispensing system.

A.  A unit dose drug dispensing system may be utilized for
the dispensing of drugs to patients in a hospital or long-term
care facility.  The following requirements shall apply
regardless of whether licensed or unlicensed persons
administer medications:

1.  Any equipment outside the pharmacy used to house
drugs to be administered in a unit dose system shall be
fitted with a locking mechanism and be locked at all
times when unattended.

2.  A signed order by the prescribing practitioner shall
accompany the requests for a Schedule II drug, except
that a verbal order for a hospital patient for a Schedule II
controlled substance may be transmitted to a licensed
nurse or pharmacist employed by the hospital who will
promptly reduce the order to writing in the patient's
chart.  Such an order shall be signed by the prescriber
within 72 hours.

3.  Properly trained personnel may transcribe the
physician's prescriber's drug orders to a patient profile
card, fill the medication carts, and perform other such
duties related to a unit dose distribution system provided
these are done under the personal supervision of a
pharmacist.

4.  All dosages and drugs shall be labeled with the drug
name, strength, lot number and expiration date when
indicated.

5.  The patient's individual drug drawer or tray shall be
labeled with the patient's name and location.

6.  All unit dose drugs intended for internal use shall be
maintained in the patient's individual drawer or tray
unless special storage conditions are necessary.

7.  A back-up dose of a drug of not more than one dose
unit may be maintained in the patient's drawer, tray, or
special storage area provided that the dose is
maintained in the patient's drawer, tray, or special
storage area with the other drugs for that patient.

8.  A record shall be made and maintained within the
pharmacy for a period of one year showing:

a.  The date of filling of the drug cart;

b.  The location of the drug cart;

c.  The initials of person who filled the drug cart; and
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d.  The initials of the pharmacist checking and
certifying the contents of the drug cart in accordance
with the provisions in 18 VAC 110-20-270 B.

9.  A patient profile record or medication card will be
accepted as the dispensing record of the pharmacy for
unit dose dispensing systems only, subject to the
following conditions:

a.  The record of dispensing must be entered on the
patient profile record or medication card at the time
the drug drawer or tray is filled.

b.  In the case of Schedule II through V drugs, after
the patient profile record or medication card has been
completed, the card must be maintained for two
years.

c.  In the case of the computer-based distribution
system, a uniformly maintained "fill list" or other
document containing substantially the same
information may be accepted as the dispensing record
for Schedule II through VI drugs.  Records of
disposition/administration for floor stock drugs as
provided in 18 VAC 110-20-460 B will be accepted for
drugs distributed as floor stock.

B.  In providing unit dose systems to hospitals or
long-term care facilities where only those persons licensed to
administer are administering drugs, the pharmacy shall
dispense not more than a seven-day supply of a drug in a
solid, oral dosage form at any one given time.

C.  In addition to the requirements listed in subsection A of
this section, the following requirements apply to those
long-term care facilities in which unlicensed persons
administer drugs:

1.  The pharmacy providing medications to such facility
shall dispense no more than a 72-hour supply of drugs
in a solid, oral dosage form at any one given time.

2.  The pharmacy shall provide to persons administering
medications training specific to the particular unit dose
system being used.

3.  The pharmacy shall provide a medication
administration record to the facility listing each drug to
be administered with full dosage directions to include no
abbreviations.

4.  The drugs in a unit dose system shall be placed in
slots within a drawer labeled or coded to indicate time of
administration.

18 VAC 110-20-470.  Emergency room.

All drugs in the emergency department shall be under the
control and supervision of the pharmacist-in-charge and
shall be subject to the following additional requirements:

1.  All drugs kept in the emergency room shall be in a
secure place from which unauthorized personnel and the
general public are excluded.

2.  Oral orders for medications shall be reduced to
writing and shall be signed by the practitioner.

3.  A medical practitioner may dispense drugs to his
patients if in a bona fide medical emergency or when
pharmaceutical services are not readily available and if
permitted to do so by the hospital; the drug container
and the labeling shall comply with the requirements of
this chapter and the Drug Control Act.

4.  A record shall be maintained of all drugs
administered in the emergency room.

5.  A separate record shall be maintained on all drugs,
including drug samples, dispensed in the emergency
room.  The records shall be maintained for a period of
two years showing:

a.  Date and time dispensed;

b.  Patient's name;

c.  Physician's Prescriber's name;

d.  Name of drug dispensed, strength, dosage form,
quantity dispensed, and dose.

18 VAC 110-20-500.  Certified Licensed emergency
medical technician service agencies program.

The pharmacy may prepare a drug kit for a Certified
licensed emergency medical Technician Program services
agency provided:

1.  The pharmacist-in-charge of the hospital pharmacy
shall be responsible for all controlled drugs contained in
this drug kit.

2.  The drug kit is sealed in such a manner that it will
preclude any possibility of loss of drugs.

3.  Drugs may be administered by a technician upon an
oral order or written standing order of an authorized
medical practitioner in accordance with § 54.1-3408 of
the Code of Virginia.  The Oral order orders shall be
reduced to writing by the technician and shall be signed
by the physician a medical practitioner.  Written standing
orders shall be signed by the operational medical director
for the emergency medical services agency.  The
technician shall make a record of all drugs administered
to a patient.  This administration record shall be signed
by the medical practitioner who assumes responsibility
for the patient at the hospital.  If the patient is not
transported to the hospital or if the attending medical
practitioner at the hospital refuses to sign the record, a
copy of this record shall be signed and placed in delivery
to the hospital pharmacy who was responsible for that kit
exchange by the agency's operational medical director
within seven days of the administration.

4.  When the drug kit has been opened, the kit shall be
returned to the pharmacy and exchanged for an
unopened kit.  A The record signed by the physician for
of the drugs administered shall accompany the opened
kit when exchanged.  An accurate record shall be
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maintained by the pharmacy on the exchange of the
drug kit for a period of one year.

5.  The record of the drugs administered shall be
maintained as a part of the pharmacy records pursuant
to state and federal regulations for a period of not less
than two years.

18 VAC 110-20-540.  Emergency drug kit.

The pharmacist providing services may prepare an
emergency kit for a facility in which only those persons
licensed to administer are administering drugs under the
following conditions:

1.  The contents of the emergency kit shall be of such a
nature that the absence of the drugs would threaten the
survival of the patients.

2.  The contents of the kit shall be determined by the
provider pharmacist in consultation with the medical and
nursing staff of the institutions and shall be limited to
drugs for administration by injection or inhalation only,
except that Nitroglycerin SL may be included.

3.  The kit is sealed in such a manner that it will
preclude any possible loss of the drug.

4.  The opened kit is maintained under secure conditions
and returned to the pharmacy within 72 hours for
replenishing.

5.  Any drug used from the kit shall be covered by a
prescription, signed by the physician prescriber, when
legally required, within 72 hours.

18 VAC 110-20-550.  Stat-drug box.

An additional drug box called a stat-drug box may be
prepared by a pharmacy to provide for initiating therapy prior
to the receipt of ordered drugs from the pharmacy.  A
stat-drug box shall be provided to those facilities in which
only those persons licensed to administer are administering
drugs and shall be subject to the following conditions:

1.  The box is sealed in such a manner that will preclude
the loss of drugs.

2.  When the stat-drug box has been opened, it is
returned to the pharmacy.

3.  Any drug used from the box shall be covered by a
drug order signed by the practitioner prescriber, when
legally required, within 72 hours.

4.  There shall be a listing of the contents of the box
maintained in the pharmacy and also attached to the
box in the facility.  This same listing shall become a part
of the policy and procedure manual of the facility served
by the pharmacy.

5.  The drug listing on the box shall bear an expiration
date for the box.  The expiration date shall be the day on
which the first drug in the box will expire.

6.  The contents of the box shall be limited to those
drugs in which a delay in initiating therapy may result in
harm to the patient.

a.  The listing of drugs contained in the stat-drug box
shall be determined by the provider pharmacist in
consultation with the medical and nursing staff of the
long-term care facility.

b.  The stat-drug box shall contain no Schedule II
drugs.

c.  The stat-drug box shall contain no more than one
Schedule III through V drug in each therapeutic class
and no more than five doses of each.

18 VAC 110-20-555.  Use of automated dispensing
devices.

A.  An automated dispensing device may be used in place
of  stat drug boxes or emergency drug kits provided the
conditions of subdivisions 1, 2, and 5 of 18 VAC 110-20-540
and subdivisions 3 and 6 of 18 VAC 110-20-550 have been
met.  In addition to these provisions, the drugs placed in
these devices shall be limited to the drugs which would have
been stocked in the stat drug boxes and emergency kits, and
the quantity of any one drug shall not exceed the total
quantity which would have been stored at one facility in all
stat boxes and emergency kits combined.  No more than a
48-hour supply per each 50 residents per drug may be
stocked in the device.

B.  The use of such devices is limited to those long-term
care facilities where only persons holding a license to
administer drugs are actually administering.  Use of
automated dispensing devices in long-term care facilities shall
be in compliance with the following:

1.  Drugs placed in automated dispensing devices shall
be in the manufacturer's sealed original packaging or in
repackaged containers in compliance with the
requirements of 18 VAC 110-20-260 relating to
repackaging, labeling, and records.

2.  Prior to the removal of drugs from the pharmacy, a
delivery record shall be generated for all drugs to be
placed in an automated dispensing device which shall
include the date; drug name, dosage form, and strength;
quantity; nursing home; and a unique identifier for the
specific device receiving drugs; and initials of the
pharmacist checking the order of drugs to be removed
from the pharmacy and the records of distribution.

3.  Drugs may be loaded in the device by a pharmacist
or by a person licensed to administer drugs working at
the long-term care facility.

4.  At the time of loading, the delivery record for all
Schedule II through V drugs shall be signed by a nurse
or other person authorized to administer drugs from that
specific device, and the record returned to the pharmacy
and maintained in chronological order for a period of two
years from date of delivery.
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5.  At the time of loading any Schedule II through V drug,
the person loading will verify that the count of that drug
in the automated dispensing device is correct.  Any
discrepancy noted shall be recorded on the delivery
record and immediately reported to the pharmacist in
charge, who shall be responsible for reconciliation of the
discrepancy or properly reporting of a loss.

6.  The provider pharmacy shall have the capability of
on-line communication with any automated dispensing
devices in a long-term care facility.  The pharmacy shall
be capable of producing a hard copy record of
administration from the device which shall show patient
name, drug name and strength, dose administered, date
and time of administration, and identity of person
administering the drug.  Except for emergency or urgent
administration during times when a pharmacist is not
available, the pharmacist shall review and approve a
new order prior to a dose being removed for
administration to a patient.

7.  A pharmacist shall conduct at least a weekly audit
and review of all distribution and administration of
Schedule II through V drugs from each automated
dispensing device.  The audit shall reconcile the
quantities loaded into the device and still on hand with
the quantities removed from the device for
administration.  This audit shall also check for
compliance with written procedures for security and use
of the automated dispensing devices, accuracy of
administration from the device, and proper
recordkeeping. A check by the pharmacy shall be made
to ensure that a valid order exists for each dose
administered from the automated dispensing device.
The hard copy administration records printed out and
reviewed in the audit shall be initialed and dated by the
pharmacist conducting the audit and maintained in the
pharmacy for a period of two years.

8.  Automated dispensing devices shall be inspected
monthly by pharmacy personnel to verify proper storage,
proper location of drugs within the device, expiration
dates, the security of drugs and validity of access codes.

9.  Personnel allowed access to an automated
dispensing device shall have a specific access code
which records the identity of the person accessing the
device.

10.  Proper use of the automated dispensing devices
and means of compliance with requirements shall be set
forth in the pharmacy's policy and procedure manual.

18 VAC 110-20-570.  Drugs in infirmaries/first aid rooms.

A.  Controlled drugs purchased by an institution, agency,
or business within the Commonwealth, having been
purchased in the name of a practitioner licensed by the
Commonwealth of Virginia and who is employed by an
institution, agency, or business which does not hold a
pharmacy permit, shall be used only for administering to
those persons at that institution, agency, or business.

B.  All controlled drugs shall be maintained and secured in
a suitable locked storage area, the key to which will be in the
possession of the practitioner or nurse who is under the
direction and supervision of the practitioner.

C.  Such institution, agency, or business shall adopt a
specific protocol for the administration of prescription drugs,
listing the inventory of such drugs maintained, and
authorizing the administering of such drugs in the absence of
a practitioner in an emergency situation when the timely prior
verbal or written order of a physician prescriber is not
possible.  Administering of such drugs shall be followed by
written orders.

1.  For the purpose of this chapter, emergency shall be
defined as a circumstance requiring administration of
controlled drugs necessary to preserve life or to prevent
significant or permanent injury or disability.

2.  The protocol shall be maintained for inspection and
documentation purposes.

D.  A nurse may, in the absence of a practitioner,
administer and provide nonprescription drugs in unit dose
containers in quantities which in the professional judgment of
the nurse will maintain the person at an optimal comfort level
until the person's personal practitioner can be consulted.
The administering and providing of such medication must be
in accordance with explicit instructions of a specific protocol
promulgated by the practitioner in charge of the institution,
agency, or business.

18 VAC 110-20-580.  Humane societies and animal
shelters.

A humane society or animal shelter, after having obtained
the proper permits pursuant to state and federal laws, may
purchase, possess and administer any drug approved by the
State Veterinarian to euthanize injured, sick, homeless and
unwanted domestic pets and animals provided that these
procedures are followed:

1.  A veterinarian shall provide general supervision for
the facility and appropriate shall provide and certify
training in accordance with guidelines set forth by the
State Veterinarian to the person(s) responsible for
administration of the drugs.

2.  The person in charge of administration of drugs for
euthanasia for the facility shall obtain the required
permit and controlled substance substances registration
from the board and shall be responsible for maintaining
proper security and required records of all controlled
substances obtained and administered.

a.  If that person ceases employment with the facility
or relinquishes his position, he shall immediately
return the permit to the board and shall take a
complete and accurate inventory of all drugs in stock.

b.  An application for a new permit shall be filed with
the required fee within 14 days on a form provided by
the board.  At that time, the new responsible person in
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charge of the facility shall take a complete and
accurate inventory of all drugs in stock.

3.  Drugs shall be stored in a secure, locked place and
only the person(s) responsible for administering may
have access to the drugs.

4.  Any drug used shall be obtained and administered in
the injectable form only.

5.  All invoices and order forms shall be maintained for a
period of two years.

6.  Complete and accurate records shall be maintained
for two years on the administration of the drug; the
record shall show the name and strength of the drug,
date of administration, the species of the animal, the
weight of animal, the amount of drug administered and
signature of the person administering the drug.

18 VAC 110-20-590.  Drugs in correctional institutions.

All prescription drugs at any correctional unit shall be
obtained only on an individual prescription basis from a
pharmacy and subject to the following conditions:

1.  All prepared drugs shall be maintained in a suitable
locked storage area with only the person responsible for
administering the drugs having access.

2.  Complete and accurate records shall be maintained
of all drugs received, administered and discontinued.
The administration record shall show the:

a.  Prescription number;

b.  Drug name and strength;

c.  Number of dosage units received;

d.  Physician's Prescriber's name; and

e.  Date, time and signature of person administering
the individual dose of drug.

3.  All unused or discontinued drugs shall be sealed and
the amount in the container at the time of the sealing
shall be recorded on the drug administration record.
Such drugs shall be returned to the provider pharmacy
along with the drug administration record within seven
days.

a.  The provider pharmacy shall review the conduct
random audits of returned drug administration records
for accountability of all dosage units dispensed.

b.  The drug administration records shall be filed in
chronological order by the provider pharmacy and
maintained for a period of one year or, at the option of
the facility, the records may be returned by the
provider pharmacy to the facility.

c.  Drugs may be returned to the provider pharmacy
stock in compliance with the provisions of 18 VAC
110-20-400.

d.  Other drugs shall be disposed of or destroyed by
the provider pharmacy in accordance with local, state,
and federal regulations.

4.  Emergency and stat-drug box.  An emergency box
and a stat-drug box may be prepared for the facility
served by the pharmacy pursuant to 18 VAC 110-20-540
and 18 VAC 110-20-550 of this chapter provided that the
facility employs one or more full-time physicians,
registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, physician
assistants or correctional health assistants.

18 VAC 110-20-620.  Excepted compounds Exempted
prescription products.

The list of excepted compounds exempt prescription
products set forth in 21 CFR § 1308.32 is adopted pursuant
to the authority set forth in §§ 54.1-3443, 54.1-3450 and
54.1-3452 of the Drug Control Act; the excepted compounds
exempted prescription products are drugs which are subject
to the provisions of § 54.1-3455 of the Drug Control Act.

18 VAC 110-20-621.  Exempted anabolic steroid products.

The list of exempt anabolic steroid products set forth in 21
CFR 1308.34 is adopted pursuant to the authority set forth in
§§ 54.1-3443, 54.1-3450 and 54.1-3452 of the Drug Control
Act; the exempted anabolic steroid products are drugs which
are subject to the provisions of § 54.1-3455 of the Drug
Control Act.

18 VAC 110-20-622.  Excluded veterinary anabolic steroid
implant products.

The list of excluded veterinary anabolic steroid implant
products set forth in 21 CFR 1308.26 is adopted only for
legitimate veterinary use pursuant to the authority set forth in
§§ 54.1-3443, 54.1-3450 and 54.1-3452 of the Drug Control
Act; the exempted anabolic steroid products are drugs which
are subject to the provisions of § 54.1-3455 of the Drug
Control Act when used for implant to cattle or other
nonhuman species.  These products are not excluded from
Schedule III if prescribed, administered, dispensed, or
otherwise distributed for human use.

18 VAC 110-20-640.  Safeguards against diversion of
drugs.

The following requirements shall apply to manufacturers,
wholesale distributors, or warehousers of prescription drugs:

1.  The holder of the permit shall restrict all areas in
which prescription drugs are manufactured, stored, or
kept for sale, to only designated and necessary persons.

2.  The holder of the permit shall provide reasonable
security measures for all drugs in the restricted area.

3.  The holder of the permit, except for those
manufacturers or distributors of only medical gases other
than nitrous oxide, shall install a device for the detection
of breaking subject to the following conditions:
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a.  The device shall be a sound, microwave,
photoelectric, ultrasonic, or any other generally
accepted and suitable device.

b.  The installation shall be hard wired and both the
installation and device shall be based on accepted
burglar alarm industry standards.

c.  The device shall be maintained in operating order
and shall have an auxiliary source of power.

d.  The device shall fully protect all areas where
prescription drugs are stored and shall be capable of
detecting breaking by any means when activated.

e.  Access to the alarm system shall be restricted to
only designated and necessary persons, and the
system shall be activated whenever the drug storage
areas are closed for business.

3. 4.  The holder of the permit shall not deliver any drug
to a licensed business at which there is no one in
attendance at the time of the delivery nor to any person
who may not legally possess such drugs.

4.  The holder of the permit shall comply with the
security requirements set forth in 18 VAC 110-20-180.

5.  This chapter shall not apply to the holder of a permit
to manufacture or distribute only medical gases.

18 VAC 110-20-650.  Manufacturing of cosmetics.
(Repealed.)

The building in which cosmetics are manufactured,
processed, packaged and labeled, or held shall be
maintained in a clean and orderly manner and shall be of
suitable size, construction and location in relation to
surroundings to facilitate maintenance and operation for their
intended purpose.  The building shall:

1.  Provide adequate space for the orderly placement of
equipment and materials used.

2.  Provide adequate lighting and ventilation.

3.  Provide adequate washing, cleaning, and toilet
facilities.

18 VAC 110-20-680.  Medical equipment suppliers.

A.  A medical equipment supplier may dispense to the
ultimate consumer the following:  prescription devices,
medicinal oxygen, Schedule VI drugs which have no
medicinal properties and are used in the operation and
cleaning of medical devices, and hypodermic needles and
syringes as authorized by § 54.1-3435.3 of the Drug Control
Act supplier’s location shall be inspected by the board prior to
engaging in business.  The location shall be of suitable size
and construction, shall have adequate lighting and ventilation,
shall be clean and sanitary, and shall have a system of
temperature control to provide for specified storage
conditions for any Schedule VI drug or device.

B.  Hypodermic needles and syringes and Schedule VI
drugs shall not be placed on open display or in an open area

where patrons will have access to such items.  No Schedule
VI devices shall be placed in an area where responsible
parties cannot exercise reasonable supervision and control.

B. C.  A medical equipment supplier shall receive a valid
order from a practitioner prior to dispensing and shall
maintain this order on file on the premises for a period of two
years from date of last dispensing.

C. D.  Medical equipment suppliers shall make a record at
the time of dispensing.  This record shall be maintained on
the premises for two years from date of dispensing and shall
include:

1.  Name and address of patient;

2.  Name and address of physician ordering;

3. 2.  Item dispensed and quantity, if applicable; and

4. 3.  Date of dispensing.

DOCUMENT INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE

The United States Pharmacopoeia - National Formulary
USP23-NF18, January 1, 1995, United States
Pharmacopoeia Convention.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 110-20-
10 et seq., Virginia Board of Pharmacy Regulations, are not
being published due to the large number; however, the name
of each form is listed below.  The forms are available for
public inspection at the Board of Pharmacy, 6606 West
Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd
Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

FORMS

Application for Registration as an Externe/Interne (eff. 5/93).

Application for Licensure as a Pharmacist by Examination
(Revised 1/96 rev. 6/97).

Application for Pharmacist License to be Reactivated (rev.
8/95).

Application for Approval of a Continuing Education Program
(rev. 6/97).

Application for License to Dispense Drugs (eff. 5/93 rev.
6/97).

Application for a Pharmacy Permit (rev. 4/98).

Application for a Non-Resident Pharmacy Registration (rev.
6/97).

Application for a Permit as a Medical Equipment Supplier
(rev. 6/97).

Application for a Restricted Manufacturer's Permit (rev.
6/97).

Application for a Non-Restricted Manufacturer's Permit (rev.
6/97).
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Application for a Permit as a Warehouser (eff. 5/93 rev.
6/97).

Application for a License as a Wholesale Distributor (rev.
6/97).

Application for a Non-Resident Wholesale Distributor
Registration (Revised 1996 rev. 6/97).

Application for a Controlled Substances Registration.

Application for Reinstatement of Controlled Substance
Registration (rev. 6/97).

Renewal Notice and Application (rev. 7/97).

Application for Controlled Substances Registration
Certificate for Nonpractitioners (1996 rev. 6/97).

Application for Reinstatement of License (rev. 6/97).

Application for Continuing Education Provider (Revised
1996)

Application for Reinstatement of Permit (rev. 6/97).

Application for Permit as a Humane Society (Revised 1996
rev. 6/97).

Application for Registration as an Interne for Graduates of a
Foreign College of Pharmacy (rev. 6/97).

Instructions for Graduates of Foreign Schools of Pharmacy
(rev. 6/97).

Destruction of Controlled Substances Schedule II through V
Drugs (rev. 6/97).

Registrants Inventory of Drugs Surrendered, DEA Form 41
(June 1986).

Closing of Pharmacy (rev. 6/97).

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-310; Filed July 15, 1998, 11:08 a.m.

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 140-20-10 et seq.  Regulations
Governing the Practice of Social Work (amending 18
VAC 140-20-10, 18 VAC 140-20-30, 18 VAC 140-20-40,
18 VAC 140-20-50, 18 VAC 140-20-60, 18 VAC 140-20-70,
18 VAC 140-20-110, 18 VAC 140-20-150; adding 18 VAC
140-20-35, 18 VAC 140-20-37 and 18 VAC 140-20-45;
repealing 18 VAC 140-20-80 and 18 VAC 140-20-90).

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 37 (§ 54.1-
3700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  September 11, 1998 - 10 a.m.
Public comments may be submitted until October 2,
1998.

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:   Chapter 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) and Chapter 37 (§
54.1-3700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia
provide the basis for these regulations.

Chapter 24 establishes the general powers and duties of the
health regulatory boards including the power to assess fees,
establish qualifications for licensure and the responsibility to
promulgate regulations.

Chapter 37 establishes the Board of Social Work and
authorizes that board to administer the licensure of social
workers and clinical social workers, and to establish
requirements for the voluntary certification of its licensees as
sex offender treatment providers.

In addition, § 54.1-103 authorizes the board to promulgate
regulations specifying additional training or conditions for
individuals seeking licensure by reciprocity or endorsement.

Purpose:  In response to Governor Allen’s Executive Order
15 (94), the board conducted a comprehensive review of its
regulations to ensure that the only regulations that remain in
effect are those that are essential to protect the health, safety
and welfare of the public.

One of the mandates of that Executive Order was that the
regulations be clearly written and are easily understandable.
In compliance with this mandate, the board is proposing
reformatting its regulations, eliminating obsolete and
unnecessary language, and including new language where
needed to clarify requirements.

The Executive Order also mandated that no regulation
should remain in effect if there are less burdensome or
intrusive alternatives available to achieve the purpose of the
regulations. To reduce the burden of its regulation on
applicants,  the board is proposing an endorsement provision
to expedite licensure of applicants with lengthy experience
licensed in other jurisdictions.

To comply with a statutory mandate enacted by the 1994
General Assembly for the board to promulgate regulations
for the voluntary certification of its licensees as sex offender
treatment providers, the board is proposing a new regulation
to direct its licensees to the Board of Psychology which has
promulgated regulations for this certification.

Substance:  The key provisions of each amended regulation
are summarized as follows:

18 VAC 140-20-10.  Terms used in the regulations that are
defined in statute are referenced by Code of Virginia citation
to avoid duplication.  Terms that are common usage terms
whose meanings are not altered in the context of the
regulations are deleted.  A definition for “clinical social work
services” which is used in the regulation but not defined in
either regulation or statute is proposed.  The definition of
“clinical course of study” is amended to reinforce the
requirement for advanced clinical course work which differs
from course work offered in the recently developed social
work administrative track.

18 VAC 140-20-30. The proposed amendment eliminates
fees that are obsolete.  No changes to current fees are
proposed.

18 VAC 140-20-35.  The board proposes including a new
section to endorse the Regulations Governing the
Certification of Sex Offender Treatment Providers for its
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licensees who seek voluntary certification as sex offender
treatment providers.

18 VAC 140-20-37.  The board proposes a new section to
clarify for the public the statutory restriction that only
licensed clinical social workers may practice at the
autonomous level.

18 VAC 140-20-40.  The board proposes a new title for this
section to parallel the following new section which sets forth
requirements for licensure by endorsement.  Elimination of
language which duplicates statute is also proposed.
Language appended to subdivision A 2 b has been moved
from 18 VAC 140-20-50 D to reorganize the regulations in a
more concise format.

18 VAC 140-20-45. A new section is proposed to simplify the
application process for experienced social work practitioners
licensed in other jurisdictions who are moving to Virginia.

18 VAC 140-20-50.  The majority of changes proposed for
this section represent reorganization and simplification of the
language to reduce the number of subdivisions and
consolidate requirements into subject categories.  No change
in the actual requirements for licensure is being proposed.
Deletion of language with specific reference to full-time or
part-time experience is proposed since the total and
supervised hour requirements are identical, regardless of the
number of hours worked per week.  Language is added to
reinforce the existing requirement that supervision must be
registered for board approval prior to its onset.  Language is
added to ensure that supervisors close to bordering states
understand that they must be licensed in the jurisdiction
where the trainee is providing social work services.

18 VAC 140-20-60.  Proposed amendments parallel those
for the previous section to reorganize and simplify the
language with no changes to the actual requirements.  The
board proposes deletion of the words “diagnostic” and
“treatment” from subdivision C 2 b since these terms
designate clinical services which are not within the scope of
practice of licensed social workers.

18 VAC 140-20-70. Deletion of the provision for examination
waiver in subsection A is proposed as it duplicates the new
endorsement procedure set forth in proposed 18 VAC 140-
20-45.  Deletion of subsection C is also proposed because
examination frequency and notification of candidates are
established in the contract with the examination vendor.

18 VAC 140-20-80.  The board proposes relocation of
subsection B to 18 VAC 140-20-70, deletion of subsection A
which does not constitute a rule, and repeal of this section.

18 VAC 140-20-90.  Repeal of this section is proposed
because the board no longer administers oral examinations,
which are now prohibited by law.

18 VAC 140-20-110.  The board proposes amending
subsection B to refer reinstatement applicants to the
application procedures set forth in previous sections.

18 VAC 140-20-150.  The board proposes minor word
changes to make the regulation more definitive.

Issues.

Issue 1:  Definitions.

Several definitions in the regulations are unnecessary
because they are either commonly used terms or already
defined in statute. A practice definition for “social work”
appears in statute, but no practice definition for “clinical
social work” exists in current statute or in regulation.  The
board proposes to delete unnecessary definitions, cite Code
of Virginia sections where possible and include a new
definition for “clinical social work services.”

Advantages:  Referencing definitions in the Code of Virginia
and removing unnecessary definitions streamlines the
regulations and eliminates duplication.  Additionally, the
regulations will remain in conformance with statute in the
event statutory definitions are amended.  The definition of
“clinical social work services” defines a phrase used in the
regulations and clarifies the scope of practice in which
clinical social work licensure applicants must receive their
training before becoming licensed to perform clinical social
work independently.

Disadvantages:  The proposed changes present no
disadvantages to the general public, applicants, licensees,
the board or the agency.

Issue 2:  Fees.

Fees that became obsolete on June 30, 1997, are listed in
the current regulation and deleted in these amendments.

Advantages:  Deletion of obsolete fees will prevent
misreading of the regulation and possible submission of
incorrect fees.

Disadvantages:  There are no disadvantages to the proposed
changes.

Issue 3:  Sex offender treatment provider certification.

Section 54.1-3505 of the Code of Virginia mandates that the
board promulgate regulations for the voluntary certification of
its licensees as sex offender treatment providers and
consider the standards recommended by the Advisory
Committee on Certified Practices pursuant to § 54.1-3610.
The board has considered those standards, which are now
the Board of Psychology’s Regulations Governing the
Certification of Sex Offender Treatment Providers, and has
determined that those standards are acceptable for the
voluntary certification of its licensees.  Following the advise
of the Attorney General’s Office, the board is proposing
inclusion of this section to direct its licensees seeking
certification to the Board of Psychology.

Advantages:  Promulgation of a separate set of regulations
that are either incongruous with or a duplication of the Board
of Psychology’s regulations would be a poor use of the
board’s time and budget, and confusing to the public.
Endorsement of the existing regulations allows for one set of
requirements and practice standards for all certificate
holders.

Disadvantages:  There is no disadvantage to the proposed
change.
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Issue 4:  Practice setting.

Although § 57.1-3700 specifies that clinical social workers
are qualified to function at the autonomous level, it is not
clear that individuals licensed as social workers may not
function autonomously.  Historically, social workers have
been employed exclusively in government services or
nonprofit settings which offer special services to individuals
who require public services to improve their social condition.
These settings are inherently more structured than private
settings, with appropriate on-site supervision, and meet the
conditions of exemption from the requirements for licensure
in § 54.1-3701.  Therefore, the social work license has been
a voluntary license, authorizing holders working in settings in
which licensure is not mandated by law to use the title
“licensed social worker.”  With recent changes in the private
health care services engendered by managed care, the
board office is receiving inquiries about the kinds of services
social workers may provide in private, for-profit settings.
The board developed minimal licensure requirements for
social workers with the understanding that these individuals
would not be engaging in independent, unsupervised practice
in private settings.  In light of the changing health care
environment, the board proposes inclusion of this section to
provide clarification that licensed social workers may not
practice autonomously.

Advantages:  Inclusion of this language may help prevent
inappropriate service provision under the social work license
in private, for-profit settings.  Applicants, licensees,
supervisors, employers and consumers who may be unclear
about the restrictions of this license will benefit from the
clarification.

Disadvantages:  The proposed change presents no
disadvantage to the general public, applicants, licensees, the
board or the agency.

Issue 5:  Requirements for licensure examination.

Subsections A through C of 18 VAC 140-20-40 contain
language that duplicates statute or is unnecessary.  The
board proposes deletion of these subsections.

In 1995, the board amended this section to simplify the
application process; however, applicants who are unable to
contact past supervisors need an alternative mechanism to
document supervision.  The proposed language provides
specific instructions to these individuals.

Advantages:  Applicants who are unable to contact former
supervisors will have clear guidelines to follow for
documentation of their supervised training.

Disadvantages:  There are no disadvantages to the
applicants or the board, because the language formalizes a
process currently used by the board for applicants who
cannot contact former supervisors.

Issue 6:  Endorsement provision.

At issue is the unnecessary impediment of documenting past
supervision for individuals who relocate to Virginia after
lengthy practice under equivalent licensure in other
jurisdictions.  As mentioned above, documentation of

supervised training can be very difficult for individuals who
completed their training many years ago.  The board is
proposing an endorsement provision to facilitate the
application process for individuals licensed in other
jurisdictions with lengthy practice experience.

Advantages:  The endorsement provision will expedite
licensure for experienced practitioners, therefore preventing
delays in obtaining employment.

Disadvantages:  The licensure verification form for
endorsement applicants will require additional information
from the issuing jurisdiction.  However, if the issuing
jurisdiction is unwilling to provide this information, the board
will accept a certified copy of the applicant’s original
application package which explains the supervision received.

Issue 7:  Education and experience requirements.

The experience requirements for social work and clinical
social work licensure are excessively lengthy and contain
some duplication.  Language pertaining to part-time
experience is unnecessary since there is no difference in the
hour requirements for full-time vs. part-time work.  The board
proposes reorganizing the text to streamline the regulations
and regroup the subject matter by category.

Although the current regulations require that trainees in
nonexempt settings register supervision prior to the onset of
training, it is not uncommon for applicants to express
frustration when the board rejects supervision hours that
were not registered.  In private, for-profit settings in which
licensure is required for provision of services, registration is
necessary to provide licensure exemption to trainees under
Virginia law and to put trainees under the board’s
jurisdiction.  The board proposes language to emphasize this
registration requirement and prevent misunderstandings.

Another point of confusion for applicants and supervisors
practicing close to bordering states is the licensure
jurisdiction of the supervisor.  In some cases, a trainee may
provide services in a variety of settings which are located in
different jurisdictions.  Supervising a social work trainee is
considered an aspect of practicing social work which
requires a license in accordance with the laws and
regulations of the jurisdiction in question.  The board has
interpreted the jurisdiction of supervision to be the one in
which the trainee is providing services.  The supervisor is
responsible for the professional activities of the trainee,
which must be in compliance with the laws and regulations
of that jurisdiction.  The board proposes language to make
this requirement clear to applicants and supervisors.

Advantages:  The proposed changes will streamline the
regulation and put the requirements in a more logical order,
making them easier to follow.  Clarification of supervision
requirements will help trainees and supervisors follow the
appropriate procedures for the jurisdiction in question.

Disadvantages:  The proposed change presents no
disadvantage to the general public, applicants, licensees, the
board or the agency.

Issue 8:  Examinations.
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With the inclusion of the proposed endorsement provision,
the statement of examination waiver in subsection A of 18
VAC 140-20-70 is no longer necessary.  The board
determined that the language in subsection C of this section
and in 18 VAC 140-20-80 is not essential to the regulation.
Since Virginia law prohibits administration of oral
examinations, 18 VAC 140-20-90 is obsolete.  The board is
proposing deletion of subsections A and C of 18 VAC 140-
20-70, and repeal of 18 VAC 140-20-80 and 18 VAC 140-20-
90.

Advantages:  Removal of obsolete and unnecessary
language will streamline the regulations.

Disadvantages:  The proposed change presents no
disadvantage to the general public, applicants, licensees, the
board or the agency.

Issue 9:  Renewal of expired license.

When the board changed its renewal fees and schedule from
an annual to biennial schedule effective March 5, 1997, the
existing rule that individuals must pay renewal fees for the
expired and current renewal period was omitted.  The board
proposes a clarification of this reinstatement requirement.

The current instruction for reapplication for a licensed lapsed
more than four years includes a vague requirement for
submission of evidence of competency to resume practice.
The board proposes simply referencing the application
processes set forth in previous sections.

Advantages:  The proposed changes provide clearer
instructions to reinstatement applicants on required fees and
the process for reapplication.

Disadvantages:  The proposed change presents no
disadvantage to the general public, applicants, licensees, the
board or the agency.

Estimated Fiscal Impact of the Regulation:

Projected number of persons affected and their cost of
compliance:

The number of licensees affected by these regulations are as
follows (as of December 1997):

Licensed Clinical Social Workers 3,320
Licensed Social Workers 277
Registered Social Workers 125
Associate Social Workers 9

No fee changes are being proposed.  The endorsement
provision should expedite processing of applicants who have
been licensed in other states by about four months. These
applicants constitute approximately 25% of the 300
individuals that become licensed in Virginia each year.
Assuming earnings of $2,000 to $3,000 per month, the
potential earnings that might otherwise be lost could be
$8,000 to $12,000.  More significantly, endorsement
applicants will be less likely to miss employment
opportunities if issuance of the license is expedited.

Costs to the agency for implementation:  Approximately
$2,000 will be incurred for printing and mailing public notices
and amended regulations.

Endorsing regulations of the Board of Psychology for
voluntary certification of social work licensees, rather than
developing separate regulations will save the board
approximately $5,000 in meeting and mailing fees.

All costs to the agency are derived from fees paid by
licensees, and no fee increases are necessary.

Costs to local governments:  The proposed amendments will
not fiscally impact local governments.

Department of Planning and Budget’s Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13
(94).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property.  The
analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic effects.

1.  Language would be added clarifying that sex offender
treatment providers are certified by the Board of
Psychology;

2.  Language would be added reiterating the statutory
restriction that only licensed clinical social workers may
practice at the autonomous level;

3.  Provisions would be added permitting licensure by
endorsement;

4.  Language would be added specifying that
supervisors must be licensed “in the jurisdiction in which
the clinical services are being rendered”;

5.  Language regarding board scheduling and
notification of written examinations would be deleted, as
written exams are now administered by contract vendor;

6.  Language regarding administration of oral exams by
the board would be deleted, as board provision of oral
exams is not prohibited by statute.

Estimated economic impact.  The majority of the proposed
amendments are simple clarifications.  Although these
clarifications will make the regulation easier to understand
and more useful for the regulated community, they do not
imply a change in current practices and will not have
significant economic consequences.  The proposal to permit
licensure by endorsement will allow practitioners relocating
from other states, who have obtained equivalent licensure in
those jurisdictions, to obtain licensure in Virginia without
having to provide documentation of past supervision.  The
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primary economic consequence of this proposed change
would be to remove a seemingly unnecessary impediment to
licensure and, thereby, reduce regulatory compliance costs.

Businesses and entities particularly affected.  The proposed
regulation will particularly affect the approximately 3,320
licensed clinical social worker, 277 licensed social workers,
125 registered social workers, 9 associate social workers
currently licensed by the Board of Social Work, all those
seeking licensure in the future and the general public.

Localities particularly affected.  No localities are particularly
affected by the proposed regulation.

Projected impact on employment.  The proposed regulation
is not anticipated to have a significant effect on employment.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  The
proposed regulation is not anticipated to have a significant
effect on the use and value of private property.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget’s Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency concurs
with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget.

Summary:

The proposed amendments clarify the regulations by
reformatting them, eliminating obsolete and unnecessary
language, and including new language where needed to
clarify requirements.

The proposed amendments also include an endorsement
provision to expedite licensure of applicants with lengthy
experience licensed in other jurisdictions.

To comply with a statutory mandate enacted by the 1994
General Assembly for the board to promulgate
regulations for the voluntary certification of its licensees
as sex offender treatment providers, the amendments
direct licensees to the Board of Psychology which has
promulgated regulations for this certification.

18 VAC 140-20-10.  Definitions.

A.  The following words and terms when used in this
chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-
3700 of the Code of Virginia:

Board

Casework

Casework management and supportive services

Clinical social worker

Practice of social work

Social worker

In addition to those defined in § 54.1-3700 of the Code of
Virginia, B.  The following words and terms, when used in
this chapter, shall have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Accredited school of social work" means a school of
social work accredited by the Council on Social Work
Education.

"Applicant" means a person who has submitted a
completed application for licensure as a social worker with
the appropriate fees.

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Social Work.

"Candidate for licensure" means a person who has
satisfactorily completed all educational and experience
requirements for licensure and has been deemed eligible by
the board to sit for the required examinations.

"Clinical course of study" means graduate course work
which includes specialized advanced courses in human
behavior and social environment, social policy, research,
clinical practice with individuals, families, groups and a
clinical practicum which focuses on diagnostic, prevention
and treatment services.

“Clinical social work services” include the application of
social work principles and methods in performing
assessments and diagnoses based on a recognized manual
of mental and emotional disorders or recognized system of
problem definition, preventive and early intervention services
and treatment services, including but not limited to
psychotherapy and counseling for mental disorders,
substance abuse, marriage and family dysfunction, and
problems caused by social and psychological stress or health
impairment.

"Exempt practice" is that which meets the conditions of
exemption from the requirements of licensure as defined in §
54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia.

"Nonexempt practice" is that which does not meet the
conditions of exemption from the requirements of licensure
as defined in § 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia.

"Supervision" means the relationship between a supervisor
and supervisee which is designed to promote the
development of responsibility and skill in the provision of
social work services.  Supervision is the inspection, critical
evaluation, and direction over the services of the supervisee.
Supervision shall include, without being limited to, the review
of case presentations, audio tapes, video tapes, and direct
observation.

18 VAC 140-20-30.  Fees.

A.  The board has established fees for the following:

After
12/31/96

After
6/30/97

1.  Registration of supervision $ 25 $ 25

2.  Application processing $100 $100

3.  Biennial license renewal

a.  Registered social worker $ 25 $ 35

b.  Associate social worker $ 25 $ 35
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c.  Licensed social worker $ 75 $110

d.  Licensed clinical social
worker

$100 $125

4.  Penalty for late renewal $ 10 $ 10

5.  Verification of license to
another jurisdiction

$ 10 $ 10

6.  Additional or replacement
licenses

$ 10 $ 10

7.  Additional or replacement
wall certificates

$ 15 $ 15

8.  Returned check $ 15 $ 15

9.  Reinstatement following
disciplinary action

$200 $200

B.  Fees shall be paid by check or money order made
payable to the Treasurer of Virginia and forwarded to the
board.  All fees are nonrefundable.

C.  Examination fees shall be paid directly to the
examination service according to its requirements.

18 VAC 140-20-35.  Sex offender treatment provider
certification.

Anyone licensed by the board who is seeking certification
as a sex offender treatment provider shall obtain certification
under the Board of Psychology and adhere to the board’s
Regulations Governing the Certification of Sex Offender
Treatment Providers, 18 VAC 125-30-10 et seq.

18 VAC 140-20-37.  Licensure; general.

Licensed social workers may practice in exempt practice
settings under appropriate supervision.  Only licensed clinical
social workers may practice at the autonomous level.

18 VAC 140-20-40.  General Requirements for licensure
by examination.

A.  No person shall practice as a social worker or clinical
social worker in the Commonwealth of Virginia except as
provided for in the Code of Virginia and this chapter.

B.  The individual obtaining the two years of required
experience shall not call himself a licensed clinical social
worker, solicit clients, bill for his services, or in any way
represent himself as a licensed clinical social worker until
such time that a license has been issued.

C.  Licensure by this board to practice as a social worker
or clinical social worker shall be determined by examination.

D.  Every applicant for examination for licensure by the
board shall:

1.  Meet the education and experience requirements
prescribed in 18 VAC 140-20-50 or 18 VAC 140-20-60 of
this chapter for the category of practice in which
licensure is sought.

2.  Submit in one package to the board office, not less
than 90 days prior to the date of the written examination:

a.  A completed notarized application;

b.  Documentation, on the appropriate forms, of the
successful completion of the supervised experience
requirements of 18 VAC 140-20-50 or 18 VAC
140-20-60 along with documentation of the
supervisor's out-of-state license where applicable.
Applicants whose former supervisor is deceased, or
whose whereabouts is unknown, shall submit to the
board a notarized affidavit from the present chief
executive officer of the agency, corporation or
partnership in which the applicant was supervised.
The affidavit shall specify dates of employment, job
responsibilities, supervisor’s name and last known
address, and the total number of hours spent by the
applicant with the supervisor in face-to-face
supervision; and

c.  The application fee prescribed in 18 VAC
140-20-30;

d.  Official transcript or transcripts in the original
sealed envelope submitted from the appropriate
institutions of higher education directly to the
applicant; and

e.  Documentation of applicant's out-of-state licensure
where applicable.

18 VAC 140-20-45.  Requirements for licensure by
endorsement.

Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall submit
in one package:

1.  A completed application and the application fee
prescribed in 18 VAC 140-20-30.

2.  Documentation of social work licensure in good
standing obtained by standards substantially equivalent
to those outlined in 18 VAC 140-20-50 and 18 VAC 140-
20-60 as verified by the out-of-state licensing agency on
a board approved form.

3.  Verification of a passing score as established by the
board on a board approved national exam.

4.  Official transcript or transcripts in the school’s original
sealed envelope.

5.  Verification of active practice in another jurisdiction for
36 out of the past 60 months.

6.  Certification that the applicant is not the respondent in
any pending or unresolved board action in another
jurisdiction or in a malpractice claim.

18 VAC 140-20-50.  Education and experience
requirements for licensed clinical social worker.

A.  Education.  The applicant shall hold a minimum of a
master's degree from an accredited school of social work.
Graduates of foreign institutions must shall establish the
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equivalency of their education to this requirement through
the Foreign Equivalency Determination Service of the
Council of Social Work Education.

1.  The degree program shall have included a graduate
clinical course of study; or

2.  The applicant shall provide documentation of having
completed specialized experience, course work or
training acceptable to the board as equivalent to a
clinical course of study.

B.  Supervised experience.  Supervised experience
obtained prior to [insert effective date of this chapter] may
be accepted towards licensure if this supervision met the
requirements of the board which were in effect at the time
the supervision was rendered.  Supervised experience
obtained in nonexempt settings in Virginia without prior
written board approval will not be accepted toward licensure.

1.  Registration.  An individual who proposes to obtain
supervised post-master’s degree experience in Virginia
shall, prior to the onset of such supervision:

a.  Register on a form provided by the board and
completed by the supervisor and the supervised
individual; and

b.  Pay the registration of supervision fee set forth in
18 VAC 140-20-30.

2.  Hours.  The applicant shall have had two years of
full-time completed a minimum of 3,000 hours of
supervised post-master's degree experience in the
delivery of clinical social work services or the equivalent
in part-time experience.  The post-master's degree
experience, whether full-time or part-time, shall be under
supervision satisfactory to the board as prescribed in
this chapter. A minimum of one hour of individual face-to-
face supervision shall be provided each week for a total
of at least 100 hours.

1.  Full-time experience in the delivery of clinical
services is defined as a minimum of 3,000 hours of
work a.  Experience shall be acquired in no less than
two nor more than four years.

a.  Of these 3,000 hours, trainees b.  Supervisees
shall average no less than 15 hours per week in
face-to-face client contact, for a minimum of 1,380
hours in the two-year period. b. The remaining hours
may be spent in ancillary duties and activities
supporting the delivery of clinical services.

2.  Part-time equivalent experience in the delivery of
clinical services for a total of 3,000 hours of work
experience.

a.  Of the 3,000 hours, 1,380 hours shall be spent in
face-to-face client contact.

b.  The remaining hours may be spent in ancillary
duties and activities supporting the delivery of clinical
services.

3.  Supervision and experience obtained prior to the
effective date of these regulations may be accepted
towards licensure if this supervision met the
requirements of the board which were in effect at the
time the supervision was rendered.

4. 3.  An individual who does not become a candidate
for licensure after four years of supervised training in a
nonexempt practice experience shall submit evidence to
the board showing why the training should be allowed to
continue.

C.  Supervision requirements for applicants in nonexempt
practices Requirements for supervisors.

1.  An individual who proposes to obtain supervised
post-graduate experience in a nonexempt practice in
Virginia shall, prior to the onset of such supervision:

a.  Be registered on a form provided by the board and
completed by the supervisor and the supervised
individual; and

b.  Pay the registration-of-supervision fee prescribed
by the board.

2. 1.  The supervisor providing supervision under
subdivision 1 of this subsection shall: a.  be a licensed
clinical social worker in the jurisdiction in which the
clinical services are being rendered with at least five
years post-Master of Social Work clinical experience, or
an individual who the board finds is qualified to
supervise after a finding that the requirement for a
supervisor who is a licensed clinical social worker with
at least five years post-MSW clinical experience
constitutes an undue burden on the applicant.  Undue
burden shall include issues such as geography or
disability which limits supervisee's access to licensed
clinical social worker supervision; and The board may
consider supervisors with commensurate qualifications if
the applicant can demonstrate an undue burden due to
geography or disability.

2.  The supervisor shall:

b. a.  Be responsible for the casework activities of the
prospective applicant as set forth in subdivision 2 c
and 2 d of this subsection once the supervisory
arrangement is accepted.

c. b.  Review and approve the diagnostic assessment
and treatment plan of a representative sample of the
clients assigned to the applicant during the course of
supervision.  The sample should be representative of
the variables of gender, age, diagnosis, length of
treatment and treatment method within the client
population seen by the applicant. It is the applicant's
responsibility to assure the representativeness of the
sample that is presented to the supervisor.  The
supervisor shall be available to the applicant on a
regularly scheduled basis for supervision.  The
supervisor will maintain documentation, for five years
post supervision, of which clients were the subject of
supervision;
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d. c.  Provide supervision only for those casework
activities for which the supervisor has determined the
applicant is competent to provide to clients;

e. d.  Provide supervision only for those activities for
which the supervisor is qualified.

f.  The supervisor shall e.  Evaluate the supervisee's
knowledge and document minimal competencies in the
areas of an identified theory base, application of a
differential diagnosis, establishing and monitoring a
treatment plan, development and appropriate use of
the professional relationship, assessing the client for
risk of imminent danger, and implementing a
professional and ethical relationship with clients.

g.  Provide documentation, at the time of application
for licensure, on forms provided by the board, that the
supervisee is at least minimally competent in the
areas listed in subdivision 4 2 f of this subsection
before the supervisee will be eligible to take the
written examination.

3.  The experience shall include at least 100 hours of
face-to-face supervision during the period of
supervision.  A minimum of one hour of individual
face-to-face supervision per week shall be provided for
the period of supervision.

4. 3.  Supervision between members of the immediate
family (to include spouses, parents, and siblings) will not
be approved.

D.  Documentation of supervised experience.  At the time
of application for licensure, applicants shall provide to the
board documentation of the supervised experience from all
supervisors or, if a supervisor is unavailable, shall provide a
satisfactory explanation of such circumstances to the board.

1.  Applicants for licensure who have worked full time for
a minimum of two years in the delivery of clinical social
work services need document only their full-time
employment provided the experience requirement has
been met.

2.  Applicants for licensure who have worked part time in
the delivery of clinical services will need to document the
experience as prescribed in subdivision B 2 of this
section.

3.  Applicants whose former supervisor is deceased, or
whose whereabouts is unknown, shall submit to the
board a notarized affidavit from the present chief
executive officer of the agency, corporation or
partnership in which the applicant was supervised.

4.  The affidavit shall specify dates of employment, job
responsibilities, supervisor's name and last known
address, and the total number of hours spent by the
applicant with the supervisor in face-to-face supervision.

E. D.  Supervision requirements for applicants in exempt
practices.  Individuals may obtain the required supervision
and experience without registration of supervision provided
such experience:

1.  Is obtained in an exempt practice.

2.  Meets all other requirements of the board for
supervised experience as set forth in this chapter.

18 VAC 140-20-60.  Education and experience
requirements for licensed social worker.

A.  Education.  The applicant shall hold a bachelor's or a
master's degree from an accredited school of social work.
Graduates of foreign institutions must establish the
equivalency of their education to this requirement through
the Foreign Equivalency Determination Service of the
Council on Social Work Education.

B.  Supervised experience-master's degree applicants.
Master's degree applicants are not required to have
professional experience in the field.  Supervised experience
obtained prior to [insert the effective date of this chapter]
may be accepted towards licensure if this supervision met the
requirements of the board which were in effect at the time
the supervision was rendered.  Supervised experience
obtained in nonexempt settings in Virginia without prior
written board approval will not be accepted toward licensure.

1.  Registration.  An individual who proposes to obtain
supervised post-master’s degree experience in Virginia
shall, prior to the onset of such supervision, register a
supervision contract with the board as set forth in 18
VAC 140-20-50 B.

2.  Hours.

C.  Experience- a.  Bachelor's degree applicants. shall
have had two years completed a minimum of 3,000
hours of full-time post-bachelor's degree experience or
the equivalent in part-time experience in casework
management and supportive services under
supervision satisfactory to the board.  A minimum of
one hour of face-to-face supervision shall be provided
each week for the period of supervision for a total of at
least 100 hours.

1.  Full-time experience in casework management and
supportive services is defined as a minimum of 3,000
hours of work b.  Experience shall be acquired in no
less than two nor more than four years.

2.  Part-time equivalent experience in casework
management and supportive services is defined as at
least 3,000 hours of work experience acquired in no less
than four years.

D.  Supervision requirement for bachelor's degree
applicant in nonexempt practices.

1.  An individual who proposes to obtain supervised
post-bachelor's degree experience in Virginia shall, prior
to the onset of such supervision:

a.  Be registered on a form provided by the board and
completed by the supervisor and supervised
individual; and
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b.  Pay the registration-of-supervision fee as
prescribed by the board.

C.  Requirements for supervisors.

2. 1.  The supervisor providing supervision shall:  a. be a
licensed social worker with a master's degree, or a
licensed clinical social worker, or an individual who the
board finds is qualified to supervise after a finding that
the requirement for a supervisor who is a licensed social
worker with a master's degree or a licensed clinical
social worker constitutes an undue burden on the
applicant.  Undue burden shall include issues such as
geography or disability which limits supervisee's access
to supervision listed above; in the jurisdiction in which
the social work services are being rendered.  If this
requirement places an undue burden on the applicant
due to geography or disability, the board may consider
individuals with comparable qualifications.

2.  The supervisor shall:

b. a.  Be responsible for the social work practice of the
prospective applicant once the supervisory
arrangement is accepted by the board;

c. b.  Review and approve the diagnostic assessment
and treatment service plan of a representative sample
of cases assigned to the applicant during the course
of supervision.  The sample should be representative
of the variables of gender, age, diagnosis
assessment, length of treatment service and
treatment casework method within the client
population seen by the applicant. It is the applicant's
responsibility to assure the representativeness of the
sample that is presented to the supervisor.  The
supervisor shall be available to the applicant on a
regularly scheduled basis for supervision.  The
supervisor will maintain documentation, for five years
post supervision, of which clients were the subject of
supervision;

d. c.  Provide supervision only for those casework
management and support services activities for which
the supervisor has determined the applicant is
competent to provide clients;

e. d.  Provide supervision only for those activities for
which the supervisor is qualified; and

f. e.  The supervisor shall evaluate the supervisee in
the areas of professional ethics and professional
competency.

3.  Supervision and experience obtained prior to the
implementation of these regulations may be accepted
towards licensure if this supervision met the
requirements of the board which were in effect at the
time the supervision was rendered.

4.  The supervised experience shall include at least 100
hours of weekly face-to-face supervision during the
two-year period.

5. 3.  Supervision between members of the immediate
family (to include spouses, parents, and siblings) will not
be approved.

E.  Documentation of supervised experience.

1.  At the time of application, applicants shall provide to
the board documentation of the supervised experience
from all supervisors or, if a supervisor is unavailable,
shall provide a satisfactory explanation of such
circumstances to the board.

2.  Applicants whose former supervisor is deceased or
whose whereabouts is unknown, shall submit to the
board a notarized affidavit from the present chief
executive office of the agency, corporation, or
partnership in which the applicant was supervised.

3.  The affidavit shall specify dates of employment, job
responsibilities, the supervisor's name and last known
address, and the total number of hours spent by the
applicant with the supervisor in face-to-face supervision.

F. D.  Supervision requirements for applicant in exempt
practice.  Individuals may obtain the required supervised
experience without registration of supervision provided such
experience:

1.  Is obtained in an exempt practice.

2.  Meets all other requirements of the board for
supervised experience as set forth in this chapter.

18 VAC 140-20-70.  General examination requirements
requirement.

A.  The board may waive the written examination if the
applicant has been certified or licensed in another jurisdiction
by standards and procedures equivalent to those of the
board.

B. A.  An applicant for licensure by the board as a social
worker or clinical social worker shall pass a written
examination at times prescribed by the board.

B.  The board shall establish passing scores on the written
examination.

C.  A written examination shall be administered at least
twice each year.  The board may schedule such additional
examinations as it deems necessary.

1.  The executive director of the board shall notify all
candidates in writing of the time and place of the
examinations for which they have been approved to sit,
and of the fees for these examinations.

2.  The candidate shall submit the applicable fees
following the instructions under 18 VAC 140-20-30 B.

18 VAC 140-20-80.  Written examination. (Repealed.)

A.  The written examination comprises an examination
consisting of standardized multiple-choice questions.  These
questions may cover all or some of the following areas:
human growth and development; social work practice with
individuals, families, couples and groups; supervision; social
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policy; administration; social work research; community
organization and planning; and ethical principles of social
work practice in addition to other areas deemed relevant to
the board.

B.  The board will establish passing scores on the written
examination.

PART IV.
ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTATION OF COMPETENCE.

18 VAC 140-20-90.  Candidates who took and failed an
oral examination. (Repealed.)

Candidates who have previously taken and failed an oral
examination administered by the Board of Social Work shall
reapply and submit the appropriate form from their
supervisor stating that the candidate meets the minimum
competency levels in the six skill areas as follows:

1.  Skill in the application of an identified theory base.

2.  Skill in the application of a differential diagnosis.

3.  Skill in establishing and monitoring a treatment
plan.

4.  Skill in the development and appropriate use of the
professional relationship.

5.  Skill in assessing the client for risk of imminent
danger and taking appropriate and necessary action
to protect the safety of the client, the public, and the
social worker when necessary.

6.  Skill in implementing a professional and ethical
relationship with clients.

PART V IV.
LICENSURE RENEWAL; REINSTATEMENT.

18 VAC 140-20-110.  Renewal of expired license.

A.  A social worker or clinical social worker whose license
has expired may renew that license within four years after its
expiration date by:

1.  Providing evidence of having met all applicable
requirements.

2.  Paying the penalty for late renewal and the biennial
license fee for each biennium as prescribed in 18 VAC
140-20-30.

B.  A social worker or clinical social worker who fails to
renew the license for four years or more and who wishes to
resume practice shall reapply on forms provided by the
board, submit evidence satisfactory to the board that he is
prepared to resume practice in a competent manner, and
pay fees prescribed in 18 VAC 140-20-30 according to the
requirements of 18 VAC 140-20-40 or 18 VAC 140-20-45.

PART VI V.
COMMITTEES.

PART VII VI.
STANDARDS OF PRACTICE.

18 VAC 140-20-150.  Professional conduct.

Persons whose activities are regulated by the board
licensed as social workers and clinical social workers shall:

1.  Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the
public and does not endanger the public health, safety,
or welfare.

2.  Be able to justify all service rendered to clients as
necessary for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes.

3.  Practice only within the competency areas for which
they are qualified by education or experience, or both.

4.  Report to the board known or suspected violations of
the laws and regulations governing the practice of social
work.

5.  Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or
other forms of remuneration for referral of clients for
professional services.

6.  Ensure that clients are aware of fees and billing
arrangements before rendering services.

7.  Keep confidential their counseling therapeutic
relationships with clients and disclose client records to
others only with written consent of the client, with the
following exceptions:  (i) when the client is a danger to
self or others; or (ii) as required by law.

8.  When advertising their services to the public, ensure
that such advertising is neither fraudulent nor
misleading.

9.  Not engage in dual relationships with clients, former
clients, supervisees, and supervisors that might
compromise the client's, former client's, or supervisee's
well-being, impair the social worker's or supervisor's
objectivity and professional judgment or increase the
risk of exploitation.  This includes, but is not limited to,
such activities as counseling close friends, sexual
partners, employees or relatives, and engaging in
business relationships with clients.  Engaging in sexual
intimacies with current clients or supervisees is
prohibited.

10.  Maintain clinical records on each client.  The record
shall include identifying information to substantiate
diagnosis and treatment plan, client progress, and
termination.  The clinical record shall be preserved for at
least five years post termination.

11.  Ensure that clients have provided informed consent
to treatment.
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NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 140-20-
10 et seq., Regulations Governing the Practice of Social
Work, are listed below.  Any amended or added forms are
reflected in the listing and are published following the listing.

FORMS

Registration Of Supervision Post-Graduate Degree
Supervised Experience.

Verification Of Clinical Supervision Form.

Clinical Social Worker License Application, rev. 9/96.

Licensure Verification Of Applicant.

Verification Of Casework Management And Supportive
Services.

Social Worker License Application, rev. 9/96.

Renewal Notice And Application, 9/96.

Social Worker Licensure Application (rev. 12/97).

Clinical Social Worker Licensure Application (rev. 12/97).

Registration of Supervision (rev. 12/97).

Verification of Clinical Supervision (rev. 12/97).

Verification of Casework Management and Supportive
Services (rev. 12/97).

Out-of-State Licensure Verification.

Renewal Notice and Application (rev. 7/97).



Proposed Regulations

Volume 14, Issue 23 Monday, August 3, 1998

3569



Proposed Regulations

Virginia Register of Regulations

3570



Proposed Regulations

Volume 14, Issue 23 Monday, August 3, 1998

3571



Proposed Regulations

Virginia Register of Regulations

3572



Proposed Regulations

Volume 14, Issue 23 Monday, August 3, 1998

3573



Proposed Regulations

Virginia Register of Regulations

3574



Proposed Regulations

Volume 14, Issue 23 Monday, August 3, 1998

3575



Proposed Regulations

Virginia Register of Regulations

3576

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-614; Filed July 15, 1998, 11:18 a.m.



Proposed Regulations

Volume 14, Issue 23 Monday, August 3, 1998

3577

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 150-20-10 et seq.  Regulations
Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine
(amending 18 VAC 150-20-10, 18 VAC 150-20-30, 18 VAC
150-20-70, 18 VAC 150-20-100, 18 VAC 150-20-110,
18 VAC 150-20-120, 18 VAC 150-20-130, 18 VAC 150-20-
140, 18 VAC 150-20-180, 18 VAC 150-20-190, 18 VAC 150-
20-200 and 18 VAC 150-20-210; adding 18 VAC 150-20-75,
18 VAC 150-20-115, 18 VAC 150-20-185, 18 VAC 150-20-
195 and 18 VAC 150-20-205; repealing 18 VAC 150-20-40,
18 VAC 150-20-50, 18 VAC 150-20-60, 18 VAC 150-20-80,
18 VAC 150-20-90, 18 VAC 150-20-150, 18 VAC 150-20-
160 and 18 VAC 150-20-170).

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 38 (§ 54.1-
3800 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m.
Public comments may be submitted until October 2,
1998.

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  Chapters 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) and 38 (§ 54.1-
3800 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia provide the basis for
this regulation.

Chapter 24 establishes the general powers and duties of the
health regulatory boards including the power to establish
qualifications for licensure and the responsibility to
promulgate regulations.

Chapter 38 establishes the Board of Veterinary Medicine and
the mandate for licensure of veterinarians and veterinary
technicians.  It further requires that all animal facilities be
licensed and that the board set standards for those facilities.

Purpose:  The purpose of these regulations is to protect the
public health, safety, and welfare by establishing
requirements for those seeking licensure as veterinarians or
veterinary technicians and by setting standards for
equipment and practice in animal facilities.  Amendments
are proposed to implement the recommendations of the
board in its report pursuant to Executive Order 15 (94),
which were to simplify, clarify, and eliminate redundancy and
unnecessary requirements.

Substance:

18 VAC 150-20-10.  Amendments are proposed to eliminate
definitions which are redundant or unnecessary.  The term
“surgery” is amended to clarify those procedures which may
only be performed by a licensed veterinarian.  A new
definition of “restricted service facility” is proposed to
correlate to amended regulations and to the terminology
actually used by the board in issuing animal facility permits.

18 VAC 150-20-30.  The amendment eliminates outdated
requirements for a register book to be maintained.  A current
requirement for posting of licenses and permits has been
inserted in this section, and the title is amended to reflect the
subject of the remaining text.

18 VAC 150-20-40, 18 VAC 150-20-50, and 18 VAC 150-20-
60. It is proposed that these sections be repealed as the
requirements are now unnecessary.

18 VAC 150-20-70.  Amendments are proposed to:  (i)
eliminate unnecessary language and clarify the renewal
process; (ii) specify that approved continuing education must
be clinical courses; (iii) update the listing of approved
sponsors of continuing education to reflect current
terminology and broaden those which may provide education
through information networks or journals; (iv) clarify what is
required of an inactive licensee who wishes to resume active
practice; and (v) repeal requirements for facility permits,
which are to be included in another section.

18 VAC 150-20-75.  A new section is proposed to set forth
current requirements on lapsed licenses and reinstatement.

18 VAC 150-20-80 and 18 VAC 150-20-90.  These sections
are repealed because the requirement for posting is now
found in another section and the second section is
unnecessary.

18 VAC 150-20-100.  Amendments are proposed to specify
that all applicable fees are to be paid to the Treasurer of
Virginia and to eliminate fees which were in effect in years
prior to 1997. Reinstatement fees for veterinarians and
veterinarian technicians are added as well as those fees
which necessitate an inspection (animal facility permit
registration, change of location, and reinspection  have been
raised from $100 to $150).

18 VAC 150-20-110.  Amendments are proposed to
eliminate the requirements which are considered
unnecessary, such as submission of a passport photograph
with an application.  The board also proposes to eliminate its
jurisprudence examination and require a signed statement
that the applicant has read and understands the statutes and
regulations.  Requirements for reexamination have also been
eliminated since the licensure examination is no longer
administered by the board.

18 VAC 150-20-111.  Current requirements for licensure by
examination of veterinary technicians are placed in a new
section.  The board also proposes changes similar to those
made in the requirements for licensure in 18 VAC 150-20-
110.

18 VAC 150-20-120.  Requirements for licensure by
endorsement for veterinarians and veterinary technicians
have been consolidated into one section.  The board
proposes to reduce the current requirement for five years of
clinical practice in another state to two of the past four years.
In addition, a proposed amendment would allow foreign-
trained veterinarians with specialty recognition by the AVMA
to be exempt from the requirements of ECFVG.

18 VAC 150-20-130.  Amendments are proposed to permit
veterinary technicians to be able to have preceptorships and
to clarify that services provided must be under “on-premises”
supervision. (Current regulation requires “immediate and
direct on-premises.”)  An amendment is proposed to conform
regulations to a change in the statute which requires written
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approval from the client if the preceptee is to perform
surgery.

18 VAC 150-20-140.  Amendments to the section on
unprofessional conduct are proposed to clarify current rules
or to eliminate unnecessary regulations.  Regulations have
been repealed because they are duplicative of other
regulations or statutes.

18 VAC 150-20-150, 18 VAC 150-20-160 and 18 VAC 150-
20-170.  Requirements are repealed and incorporated in
other sections.

18 VAC 150-20-180.  Amendments to the requirements for a
registered facility are proposed to reflect the designation of a
full-service or a restricted service facility and to allow for
exceptions in emergency situations or specialized practices.
The required 60-day notice for opening or making a change
in a permit is amended to a 45-day notice.

18 VAC 150-20-181.  A new section is added for renewal of
animal facility permits.  The requirements are currently
stated in another section of this chapter.

18 VAC 150-20-190.  An amendment is proposed to cite the
applicable federal laws for drug storage, dispensing,
destruction and recordkeeping.  Specific requirements for
drug destruction are replaced with a requirement for
destruction to occur in compliance with the U.S. Drug
Enforcement Administration.  Temperature requirements,
now included in definitions, are specified in this section.

18 VAC 150-20-191.  A new section is proposed to include
all requirements for recordkeeping in animal facilities.
Current requirements specify a daily written record; the
proposed regulation deletes the word “written,” allowing for
records to be maintained in a data system.

18 VAC 150-20-200.  Amendments are proposed to simplify
and clarify current rules for full-service facilities.  Rather than
listing all requirements for equipment and services, the
proposed amendment lists those requirements of a full-
service facility which do not apply to the particular restricted
practice.

18 VAC 150-20-201.  A new section is proposed to conform
regulations to changes in statute which allow for specialty
practices in limited settings.

18 VAC 150-20-210.  Amendments are clarifying only.

Issues:

Issue 1:  Simplification of requirements for facilities.

Current regulations register facilities as full service or
restricted with four designations or categories: large animal,
ambulatory practice; small animal, house call practice; small
animal, outpatient practice, and special use permit.  In
addition, a facility may be registered as a combination
practice.  Regulations list the standards which must be met
for each type of practice with a great deal of repetition and
micromanagement of necessary conditions and equipment.

The board proposes to simplify the complexity and reduce
the number of regulations, requiring the facility and the

veterinarian-in-charge to be responsible for practices and
conditions consistent with the medical well-being of the
patient.  Specifically, the board recommended that all
regulations on restricted facilities be streamlined by
referencing those requirements of full service facilities which
are not applicable and eliminating repetition of regulation.

Advantages or disadvantages to the licensees:

First, some of the specific requirements which micromanage
animal facilities have been modified to permit a more
common sense approach while preserving those
requirements which are essential to protect the patient.
Second, the elimination of repetition in regulation will
simplify requirements for licensees.

There are no disadvantages to facilities since there are no
new requirements imposed by these proposed regulations.

Advantages or disadvantages to the public:  The public
continues to be protected by minimal requirements for the
appropriate types of practice.  For example, a large animal
ambulatory practice is permitted to perform surgery, but
there is no requirement for a surgery suite which would be
impractical and unnecessary.  Some amendments are
proposed specifically in response to comment and in the
interest of consumer protection, such as a provision that a
radiograph may be transferred to another facility or released
to the client.  Labeling of radiographs is also amended to
require that they reflect anatomic specificity.

Issue 2:  Practice of veterinary technicians and unlicensed
assistants.

Comments offering concern and caution on the expanding
role of veterinary assistants were discussed. The board
proposes new language in the section on unprofessional
conduct about permitting an unlicensed person to perform
any act which might be considered the practice of veterinary
medicine or veterinary technology, including any invasive
procedures.  While the scope of practice for veterinary
technicians is set forth in §§ 54.1-3800 and 54.1-3806 of the
Code of Virginia, there was also consideration of more
specificity in definition or in a section in regulation.  The
board determined that it was not necessary to further define
their practice but did decide to add a definition of “surgery” to
clarify one of the acts which may be performed only by a
veterinarian.

Advantages or disadvantages to the licensees:  The board
has received numerous inquiries from licensees about what
an unlicensed assistant can do.  It considered developing a
listing of those acts which may be performed to clarify the
situation.  However, the Code is specific about the practice of
veterinary medicine in § 54.1-3800.  It also sets out in
§ 54.1-3806 those specific acts of veterinary medicine which
may not be performed by a licensed technician.  Therefore,
the board determined that it was clear that an unlicensed
person could perform acts not statutorily prohibited.   To
specify the violation in the section on unprofessional conduct
should reinforce the statutory limitation on unlicensed
practice and discourage practices which have resulted in
disciplinary actions by the board.
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Likewise, the definition of “surgery” should clarify for
preceptors and other licensees the type of practice which
constitutes surgery and is therefore restricted.

Advantages or disadvantages to the public:  The public is
better protected if veterinarians and veterinary technicians
have a clear understanding of their appropriate scopes of
practice.  They are also well served by a more definitive
statement in regulation on the unprofessional utilization of
unlicensed assistive personnel in animal facilities.  While the
board recognizes their value in veterinary practices, it is
concerned about a growing number of complaints about
unlicensed persons performing acts restricted to
veterinarians or veterinary technicians.

Issue 3:  Clarification of renewal and reinstatement.

Current regulations on renewal and reinstatement allow a
licensee to renew for up to one year past his renewal date
with a vague stipulation that the person has not "intentionally
engaged in practice."  The board discussed the need for
some requirement to ensure that a person who has allowed
his license to lapse has maintained competency to practice
veterinary medicine.  In consideration of alternatives to
address the problem in these regulations, the board
examined the rules of other boards on renewal and lapsed
licenses and has recommended a 30-day grace period after
which a licensee must apply for reinstatement.  The board
also considered what documentation was necessary to
ensure current clinical competency.  The board
recommended a specific regulation to stipulate that practice
with a lapsed license may subject the licensee to disciplinary
action or to prosecution for unlicensed practice.

Advantages or disadvantages to the licensees:  Persons who
have allowed their license to lapse will still have the ability to
reinstate but will have to indicate by some means that they
remain clinically competent.  That may be done by
continuing to take educational courses or by continued
practice in another state, so it should not be overly
burdensome to applicants.

Advantages or disadvantages to the public:  The public is
better protected by specific regulations stating that practice
on a lapsed license may subject the licensee to disciplinary
action and that there must be some proof on competency
prior to reinstatement of a lapsed license.

Issue 4:  Continuing education.

Since the continuing education requirements only became
effective in 1996, the board has recommended few
alternatives.  Required hours are specified in the statute, but
several amendments are proposed to clarify the
organizations or sources offering continuing education which
is approved by the board.  An amendment to recognize
journals or veterinary information networks will make
continuing education more available and more accessible
through new technology.  The board also determined that
courses should be clinically-based and related to the
diagnosis and treatment of patients; therefore, courses in
facility management would no longer be acceptable under
proposed regulations.  Such a requirement is consistent with

continuing education for other professions and for veterinary
licensees in other states.

Advantages or disadvantages to the licensees:  Since all
licensees have a statutory requirement for continuing
education, the proposed amendments will be less
burdensome by stating some of  the approved sponsors in
more general terms.  Continuing education through newer
technology will now be available to licensees at a less
burdensome cost and setting.

Advantages or disadvantages to the public:  The public is
better protected by specific regulations on continuing
competency for all licensees.

Issue 5:  Changes in the fee structure.

Regulations on fees were amended to substantially reduce
some fees for renewal years 1996 and 1997 with most fees
returning to 1995 levels thereafter.  The board considered
several issues related to fees:  (i) whether to establish a fee
for temporary licenses; (ii) whether to reduce the renewal
and initial licensure fee from $125 to $100; (iii) whether to
eliminate the proration of the initial licensure fees; (iv)
whether to eliminate all fees for examinations; and (v)
whether to amend fees based on actual costs to the board
(may actually necessitate the addition of a fee for a duplicate
wall certificate and for a returned check and an increase in
some fees such as inspections).

The board did not find it necessary to establish a fee for a
temporary license; with the proposed elimination of the state
examination, there should not be a gap in time from receipt
of a completed application and the act of licensure.
Temporary licensure should not be necessary.

The board was unable to propose a reduction in the licensure
and renewal fee.  Due to drastic reductions for ‘96 and ’97,
the surplus in funds was greatly reduced.  Therefore, it is
projected by the finance office of the department that a
reduction in renewal fees would result in a significant deficit
for the board.  On the other hand, the board does
recommend the elimination of proration of the licensure fee,
which is confusing to applicants and time-consuming for
staff.  To alleviate the burden of a recent licensee having to
renew his license within a short time, the staff will
automatically post a license to the next renewal date if it falls
within a few months of renewal.

Costs for inspections, which range from $135 to $225 are
charged directly to the board; the current fee ($100) does not
cover those costs which must then be borne by veterinarians
and veterinary technicians through their fees.  The board
determined that an increase in the fee for any process which
requires an inspection of a facility was necessary.  It
considered raising the fee to $200 but concluded that $150 is
more reasonable and would not significantly impact the cost
of doing business for owners of animal facilities.

In addition, it is proposed that costs associated with
processing a returned check ($25) and with ordering,
verifying a license to another state ($10), and producing a
new wall certificate ($25) would be charged to the licensee
requiring the service and not absorbed by all licensees.
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Advantages or disadvantages to the licensees:  For the great
majority of licensees who renew biennially, there will no
change in fees.  For those licensees who request verification
to another state (approximately 200 per year), there will be
an additional $10 charge for that service.  For those who
send a check with insufficient fund to pay fees
(approximately 10-15 per renewal), there will be a charge of
$25.  For those who want to replace their wall certificate
(approximately five per year) due to damage or a name
change, there will be a charge of $25.  The late fee for
renewal of a veterinary technician license is being reduced
from $25 to $15 and will benefit approximately 5-10
licensees a year.

Owners of animal facilities that require an inspection to open
a new hospital or a reinspection after a change of location or
deficiencies cited during a routine inspection will pay an
additional $50.  Even with the increase in inspection fee, the
amount charged to the board for that activity will be greater
on average ($160-$170).  Since the board must generate all
revenue from fees charged to its licensees and permit
holders, that unreimbursed cost is subsidized by licensure
fees for veterinarians and veterinary technicians.

Advantages or disadvantages to the public:  There are no
advantages or disadvantages to the public of these proposed
regulations; increased costs for inspections should have a
negligible effect on the cost of veterinary care.

Estimated Impact:

Projected number of persons affected and their cost of
compliance:

The approximate number of licensees affected by these
regulations are as follows:

Veterinarians 2,755
Veterinary Technicians 695
Animal Hospitals 718

Costs for inspections, which range from $135 to $225 are
charged directly to the board; the current fee ($100) does not
cover those costs which must then be borne by veterinarians
and veterinary technicians through their fees.  The board
determined that an increase in the fee for any process which
requires an inspection of a facility was necessary.  It
considered raising the fee from $100 to $200 for certain
types of inspections but concluded that $150 is more
reasonable and would not significantly impact the cost of
doing business for owners of animal facilities.

In addition, it is proposed that costs associated with
processing a returned check ($25), with verifying a license to
another state ($10), and producing a new wall certificate
($25) would be charged to the licensee requiring the service
and not absorbed by all licensees.

The board also recommends the elimination of proration of
the licensure fee, which is confusing to applicants and time
consuming for staff.  To alleviate the burden of a recent
licensee having to renew his license within a short time, the
staff will automatically post a license to the next renewal date
if it falls within 90 days of the next renewal.

Advantages or disadvantages to the licensees:  For the great
majority of licensees who renew biennially, there will be no
change in fees.  For those licensees who request verification
to another state (approximately 200 per year), there will be
an additional $10 charge for that service.  For those who
send a check with insufficient fund to pay fees
(approximately 10-15 per renewal), there will be a charge of
$25.  For those who want to replace their wall certificate
(approximately five per year) due to damage or a name
change,  there will be a charge of $25.   The late fee for
renewal of a veterinary technician license is being reduced
from $25 to $15 and will benefit approximately 25 licensees
a year.

Owners of animal facilities that require an inspection to open
a new hospital or a reinspection after a change of location or
deficiencies cited during a routine inspection will pay an
additional $50.  Even with the increase in inspection fee, the
amount charged to the board for that activity will be sufficient
to cover all costs.  Since the board must generate all
revenue from fees charged to its licensees and permit
holders, that unreimbursed cost is subsidized by licensure
fees for veterinarians and veterinary technicians.

Advantages or disadvantages to the public:  There are no
disadvantages to the public of reducing these regulations;
increased costs for inspections should have a negligible
effect on the cost of veterinary care.

Cost to the agency for implementation:  The board will incur
approximately $1,500 in cost for printing and mailing Notices
of Comment and final amended regulations to licensees and
other interested parties.  There will be no additional cost for
conducting a public hearing, which will be held in conjunction
with a scheduled board meeting.  The board does not
anticipate any additional costs for investigations or
administrative proceedings against licensees for violations of
these regulations.

Cost to local governments:  There will be no impact of these
regulations on local government.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 13
(94).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property.  The
analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic effects.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  Pursuant to § 54.1-
3804.1 and the recommendations of the Executive Order 15
(94) report, DHP proposes to amend the current Regulations
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Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine.  The primary
amendments proposed by DHP are as follows:

1.  Many sections would be edited to clarify existing
language and remove unnecessary language;

2.  Requirements regarding continuing education (CE)
would be changed to specify that approved CE credits
must be for clinical courses, update the list of approved
CE course sponsors, and clarify CE requirements in
cases of license reactivation;

3.  Requirements regarding reinstatement of license
would be changed to reduce from one year to 30 days
the period in which an individual can reinstate their
license by simply paying a late fee in addition to the
renewal fee;

4.  Required fees would be changed to eliminate
examination fees (these are paid directly to the
examining authority), institute a reinstatement of expired
license fee of $175 for veterinarians and $50 for
veterinarian technicians, reduce the veterinary
technician late renewal fee from $25 to $15, increase the
veterinary technician reinstatement after disciplinary
action fee from $50 to $75, increase the initial animal
facility permit registration fee from $100 to $150,
increase the animal facility reinspection fee from $100 to
$150, increase the animal facility change of location fee
from $100 to $150, reduce the duplicate license fee from
$20 to $10, institute a duplicate wall certificate fee of
$25, institute a returned check fee of $25, and institute a
licensure verification for another district fee of $10;

5.  Requirements for licensure by examination would be
amended to delete overly burdensome requirements,
such as submitting a passport photo with the
application, and reduce the stringency of other
requirements, such as replacing the jurisprudence
examination with a signed statement stipulating that the
applicant has read and understands the relevant
statutes and regulations;

6.  Requirements for licensure by endorsement would be
amended to reduce the requirement for clinical practice
in another state from five years to two of the last four
years, and allow foreign trained veterinarians with
specialty recognition from the American Veterinary
Medical Association (AVMA) to be exempt from the
requirements of the Educational Commission of Foreign
Veterinary Graduates;

7.  Requirements for practical training in preceptorship
would be amended to specify that a preceptee may only
practice veterinary medicine under the on-premises
supervision of a licensed veterinarian, and to incorporate
a statutory change requiring preceptees to have written
approval from the client before performing surgery;

8.  Requirements for registration as an animal facility
would be amended to reduce the minimum time for filing
permit applications with the board from 60 days prior to
opening or changing location to 45 days prior to opening

or changing location, and to delineate between full
service and restricted service facilities;

9.  Requirements for drug handling would be amended
to cite applicable federal laws, to replace current
detailed requirements regarding the destruction of
Schedule II-V drugs with a requirement that destruction
must comply with U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration
guidelines, and to include requirements regarding the
temperature at which drugs must be stored;

10.  Recordkeeping requirements would be modernized
to remove the stipulation that records must be “written,”
thereby allowing computer storage of records;

11.  Requirements regarding facility standards would be
amended to remove overly prescriptive language
regarding temperature, ventilation, and lighting, and to
require that the walls of surgery rooms must be
constructed on nonporous material from floor to ceiling;
and

12.  New statutory changes would be added to the
regulation that permit specialty practices in certain
limited settings such as animal shows and horse races.

Estimated economic impact.  The proposed regulation is
anticipated to have two economic effects:  (i) it will alter the
regulatory compliance costs faced by veterinary
practitioners; and (ii) it will enhance the information available
to the consumers of veterinary services.

Compliance costs:  Many of the proposed amendments will
have some effect on the regulatory compliance costs faced
by veterinary practitioners.  These proposed amendments
can be divided into those that are likely to increase
regulatory compliance costs and those that are likely to
reduce regulatory compliance costs.

Those proposed amendments likely to increase regulatory
compliance costs are:  (i) changes in the fee structure; and
(ii) the requirement that preceptees must have written
approval from the client before performing surgery.

The proposal to reduce from one year to 30 days the period
in which an individual can reinstate their license by simply
paying a late fee in addition to the renewal fee will
substantially increase the cost of reinstatement.  Currently, a
veterinarian or veterinarian technician can reinstate his or
her license within one year of expiration by simply paying a
late fee of $25 in addition to the license renewal fee.  Under
the new provision, licenses expired for more than 30 days
would require payment of a $175 fee for veterinarians and
$50 for veterinarian technicians in addition to the license
renewal fee.  According to information provided by DHP,
assuming no change in renewal rates, these new provisions
will increase compliance costs during the fiscal 1999-2000
biennium by approximately $11,000 statewide.  Perhaps
more importantly, the proposed amendment would require
that licenses that have been expired for more than 30 days
can only be reinstated at the discretion of the board.
Currently, only licenses that have been expired for more than
one year are reinstated at the discretion of the board.
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Other changes in the fee structure (e.g., creation of the $10
license verification fee and the increase from $100 to $150
for initial animal facility permits fees, animal facility
inspection fees, and animal facility change of location fees)
will also cause an increase in compliance costs.  Overall,
these other proposed fee changes are anticipated to increase
compliance costs during the fiscal 1999-2000 biennium by
approximately $13,700 statewide.

Finally, the proposed requirement that preceptees must have
written approval from the client before performing surgery
will significantly increase the costs to veterinarians of
employing preceptees in this capacity.  As will be more fully
discussed later, however, these increased costs must be
balanced against the benefits derived by consumers from
being fully informed about the training and qualifications of
those individuals actually performing surgical procedures on
their pets and livestock.

Those proposed amendments likely to decrease regulatory
compliance costs are:  (i) changes to the requirements for
licensure by examination; (ii) changes to the requirements
for licensure by endorsement; and (iii) changes to the
requirements for animal facility registration.  Replacing the
jurisprudence examination with a signed statement
stipulating that the applicant has read and understands the
relevant statutes and regulations, and eliminating the
requirement that applicants for licensure submit a passport
photo, will substantially reduce the direct (e.g., out-of-pocket
costs) and indirect (e.g., time) costs associated with
licensure by examination.  Similarly, amending the criteria
for licensure by endorsement to reduce the requirement for
clinical practice in another state from five years to two of the
last four years, and allowing foreign-trained veterinarians
with specialty recognition from the American Veterinary
Medical Association (AVMA) to be exempt from the
requirements of the Educational Commission of Foreign
Veterinary Graduates, will also tend to reduce the direct and
indirect costs associated with licensure by endorsement.
Finally, reducing the minimum time for filing applications for
registration as an animal facility with the board from 60 days
prior to opening or changing location to 45 days increases
the flexibility afforded to the regulated community and,
thereby, also reduces compliance costs.

On net, it appears that the likely effects of these two groups
of proposed amendments, those that increase and those that
decrease compliance costs, are roughly comparable and that
the overall effect will be negligible.

Information available to consumers:  As discussed briefly
above, the proposed amendment requiring preceptees to
have written approval from a client before performing surgery
will ensure that consumers are being fully informed about the
training and qualifications of those individuals actually
performing surgical procedures on their pets and livestock.
One of the more commonly accepted rationales for
government regulation is to overcome informational
asymmetries between buyers and sellers and insure that
consumers have accurate information on which to base their
choices.  This proposed amendment accomplishes that end
by making certain that consumer are aware of, and have

consented to, situations where a preceptee and not the
licensed veterinarian will be performing surgery on their pets
or livestock.

Businesses and entities particularly affected.  The proposed
regulation particularly affects the estimated 2,755
veterinarians, 695 veterinary technicians, and 718 animal
hospitals currently licensed in Virginia, individuals and
businesses seeking licensure in the future, and the
consumers of veterinary services.

Localities particularly affected.  No localities are particularly
affected by the proposed regulation.

Projected impact on employment.  The proposed regulation
is not anticipated to have a significant effect on employment.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  The
proposed regulation is not anticipated to have a significant
effect on the use and value of private property.

Summary of analysis.  DPB anticipates that the proposed
regulation governing the practice of veterinary medicine will
have two primary economic effects:  (i) a negligible impact
on regulatory compliance costs; and (iii) an enhancement of
the information available to consumers regarding the training
and qualifications of veterinary personnel performing surgical
procedures.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The board concurs
with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget.

Summary:

These amendments implement the recommendations of
the board in its report pursuant to Executive Order 15
(94), which called on agencies to simplify, clarify, and
eliminate redundancy and unnecessary requirements.
Specifically, the proposed amendments streamline the
requirements for veterinary facilities, clarify the practice
of surgery, allow continuing education through journals
or information networks, and specify that continuing
education must pertain to clinical areas of practice.

18 VAC 150-20-10.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter,
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Animal facility" or "veterinary facility" means any fixed or
mobile establishment, veterinary hospital, animal hospital or
premises wherein or whereon or out of which veterinary
medicine is practiced.

“AVMA” means the American Veterinary Medical
Association.

"Automatic emergency lighting" is lighting which is powered
by battery, generator, or alternate power source other than
electrical power, is activated automatically by electrical
power failure, and provides sufficient light to complete
surgery or to stabilize the animal until surgery can be
continued or the animal moved to another facility.
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"Board" means the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine.

"Controlled substance" means a drug, substance, or
immediate precursor in Schedules I through VI of Article 5
(§ 54.1-3443 et seq.) of Chapter 34 of Title 54.1 of the Code
of Virginia, which includes legend drugs that bear the
warning "Caution, Federal Law restricts this drug to use by or
on the order of a licensed veterinarian."

"Full service Full-service facility" means a stationary facility
which shall provide surgery and encompass all aspects of
health care for small or large animals, or both.

"Inactive practitioner" means a veterinarian currently
licensed by the board but not engaged in the practice of
veterinary medicine in the Commonwealth.

"Large animal ambulatory facility" means a mobile practice
in which health care of large animals, including surgery, is
performed at the location of the animal.

"Practitioner" means a veterinarian currently licensed by
the board.

"Preceptorship" or "clerkship" means a formal arrangement
between a college of veterinary medicine approved by the
board and a veterinarian licensed by the board, in which a
veterinary medical student in his final year, enrolled in such
college, obtains practical training in the practice of veterinary
medicine under the immediate and direct on-premises
supervision of the veterinarian.

"Professional judgment" includes any decision or conduct
in the practice of veterinary medicine, as defined by
§ 54.1-3800 of the Code of Virginia.

“Restricted service facility” means a stationary or
ambulatory facility which does not meet the requirements of a
full-service facility.

"Schools or colleges accredited by the AVMA" means
schools accredited by the American Veterinary Medical
Association.

"Small animal house call facility" means a mobile practice
in which health care of small animals is performed at the
residence of the owner of the small animal.

"Small animal outpatient facility" means a stationary facility
where health care of small animals is performed and may
include surgery under certain conditions.  Overnight
hospitalization shall not be required.

"Surgery" means any invasive or manipulative procedure
that requires anesthesia, sedation, or other restraint
treatment through revision, destruction, incision or other
structural alteration of animal tissue.

"Surgical lighting" is lighting which is designed to give off a
concentrated light source, not give off harmful heat, is
movable over the entire surface of the surgical table, and is
shielded to prevent glass shatter.

"Veterinarian in charge" means the licensed a veterinarian
at each registered animal facility licensed in Virginia who is
responsible for maintaining the a licensed facility within the

standards for facilities set by the regulations this chapter, for
complying with federal and state drug laws, and for notifying
the board of the facility's closure.

"Veterinary technician" means a licensed animal technician
as defined in § 54.1-3806 of the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 150-20-30.  Register of practitioners, veterinary
technicians and animal facilities Posting of licenses;
accuracy of address.

A.  Register of practitioners and veterinary technicians.
The executive director as directed by the board shall record
in a book to be kept for such purposes, the names of all
practitioners of veterinary medicine and holders of
certificates as veterinary technicians to whom licenses or
certificates are issued as provided by law.  The book shall be
styled and recognized as the register of practitioners of
veterinary medicine and holders of certificates as veterinary
technicians in Virginia and it shall be admissible in evidence
as a regularly kept record of the board.  Such register shall
be available for inspection during business hours in the
board office.  The board shall insert in the register any
alteration in the name of any licensed or certified person as it
receives proof satisfactory to the board.  A separate record
shall be maintained of all addresses.

B.  Register of animal facilities.  The executive director of
the board shall record in a book to be kept for such purposes
the names of all animal facilities.  Such book shall list the
name and permit number of the animal facility and shall be
admissible in evidence as a regularly kept record of the
board.

A.  All licenses and permits issued by the board shall be
posted in a place conspicuous to the public at the facility
where veterinary services are being provided.

C.  Accuracy of address. B.  It shall be the duty and
responsibility of each licensee and holder of a registration
permit to operate an animal facility to keep the board
apprised at all times of his current address.  All notices
required by law or by this chapter to be mailed to any
veterinarian, certified veterinary technician, or holder of a
permit to operate an animal facility, shall be validly given
when mailed to the address furnished to the board pursuant
to this regulation.  All address changes shall be furnished to
the board within 30 days of such change.

18 VAC 150-20-40.  Filing date. (Repealed.)

Completed applications for certification and licensure shall
be filed with the board office at least 45 days prior to the
announced date of the examination.

18 VAC 150-20-50.  Records. (Repealed.)

All completed applications and supporting papers
submitted to the board with the application become a part of
the applicant's examination records and become the property
of the board.
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18 VAC 150-20-60.  Issuance of licenses. (Repealed.)

The board shall issue to each applicant who fulfills the
requirements for licensure as a veterinarian or a veterinary
technician a license as appropriate.  Each license shall be
subscribed by the president and secretary of the board and
shall have affixed to it the seal of the board.

18 VAC 150-20-70.  Licensure renewal requirements.

A.  Every person authorized licensed by the board to
practice veterinary medicine shall, before March 1 of every
year, submit to the board a completed renewal application
and pay to the board a renewal fee as prescribed in 18 VAC
150-20-100 and every holder of a license of veterinary
technology shall, in a like manner, pay a renewal fee as
prescribed in 18 VAC 150-20-100.

1.  The board shall mail to each licensed person a notice
to renew his license prior to the expiration of the license.

2.  It shall be the responsibility of each person so licensed
to return the renewal application with the prescribed fee so
that it will be received by the board prior to the expiration
date of his license.  Failure to renew shall cause the license
to lapse and become invalid.

3.  A veterinarian's or veterinary technician's license
may be renewed up to one year after the expiration date,
provided a late fee as prescribed in 18 VAC 150-20-100
is paid in addition to the required renewal fee and further
provided that the veterinarian or veterinary technician
has not intentionally engaged in practice in Virginia after
the expiration date of the license.

4.  Reinstatement of licenses expired for one year or
more shall be at the discretion of the board.  The board
shall require documentation of clinical competency and
professional activities, and may require examination in
addition to the prescribed reinstatement fee and the
current renewal fee as conditions for reinstatement of a
license.

B.  In accordance with § 54.1-3805.2 of the Code of
Virginia, On and after March 1, 1997, veterinarians shall be
required to have completed a minimum of 15 hours, and
veterinary technicians shall be required to have completed a
minimum of six hours, of approved continuing education for
each annual renewal of licensure.  Continuing education
credits or hours may not be transferred or credited to another
year.

1.  Approved continuing education credit shall only be
given for courses or programs related to the treatment
and care of patients or the operation of a veterinary
hospital and shall be either clinical courses in veterinary
medicine or veterinary technology or related nonclinical
courses.

2.  An approved continuing education course or program
shall be sponsored by one of the following:

a.  American Veterinary Medical Association ( The
AVMA) or its constituent and component/branch
associations, specialty organizations, and board

certified specialists in good standing within their
specialty board;

b.  Colleges of veterinary medicine approved by the
AVMA Council on Education;

c.  National or regional conferences of veterinary
medicine;

d. c.  Academies or species specific interest groups of
veterinary medicine;

e.  National Association of Licensed Veterinary
Technicians (NALVT) or its constituent and
component/branch d.  State associations of veterinary
technicians;

f. e.  North American Veterinary Technicians
Association;

g. f.  Community colleges with an approved program
in veterinary technology;

h. g.  State or federal government agencies;

i.  Veterinary Hospital Managers Association or its
constituent and component/branch associations;

j. h.  American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA) or
its constituent and component/branch associations;

k.  The Compendium on Continuing Education for the
Practice of Veterinary Medicine or the Compendium
on Continuing Education for the Practice of Veterinary
Technology i.  Journals or veterinary information
networks recognized by the board as providing
education in veterinary medicine or veterinary
technology; or

l. j.  A sponsor approved by the Virginia Board of
Veterinary Medicine provided the sponsor has
submitted satisfactory documentation on forms
provided by the board at least 60 days prior to the
program offering.

3.  A licensee is exempt from completing continuing
education requirements and considered in compliance
on the first renewal date following his initial licensure.

4.  The board may grant an exemption for all or part of
the continuing education requirements due to
circumstances beyond the control of the licensee, such
as temporary disability, mandatory military service, or
officially declared disasters.

5.  The board may grant an extension for good cause of
up to one year for the completion of continuing
education requirements upon written request from the
licensee prior to the renewal date.  Such an extension
shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing education
requirement.

6.  Licensees are required to attest to compliance with
continuing education requirements on their annual
license renewal and are required to maintain original
documents verifying the date and subject of the program
or course, the number of continuing education hours or
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credits, and certification from an approved sponsor.
Original documents must be maintained at the location
where the original license is posted for a period of two
years following renewal.

7.  Continuing education hours required by disciplinary
order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements.

7.  In order to reactivate his license, C.  A licensee who
has requested that his license be placed on inactive status,
has allowed his license to lapse, or has had his license
suspended or revoked shall submit evidence of completion of
continuing education hours equal to the requirements for the
number of years in which his license has not been active, but
not to exceed two years is not authorized to perform acts
which are considered the practice of veterinary medicine or
veterinary technology and, therefore, shall not be required to
have continuing education for annual renewal.  To reactivate
a license, the licensee is required to submit evidence of
completion of continuing education hours as required by
§ 54.1-3805.2 of the Code of Virginia equal to the number of
years in which the  license has not been active for a
maximum of two years.

8.  Continuing education hours required by disciplinary
order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements.

9.  Failure to comply with the requirements of this
subsection shall constitute unprofessional conduct.

C.  A new facility shall apply for registration with the board
at least 60 days prior to opening for practice and pay to the
board a registration fee as prescribed in 18 VAC 150-20-100
at the time of application.

1.  Every such animal facility so registered shall be
required to renew the registration permit annually and
pay to the board a registration fee as prescribed in
18 VAC 150-20-100.

2.  Failure to renew the facility permit by March 1 of
each year shall cause the permit to expire and become
invalid.  The permit may be reinstated without
reinspection, within 60 days of expiration, provided the
board receives a properly executed renewal application
and a late fee as prescribed in 18 VAC 150-20-100 in
addition to the required renewal fee.  Reinstatement of
an expired permit after 60 days shall be at the discretion
of the board and contingent upon a reinspection and
payment of the late fee, the reinspection fee, the renewal
fee and the facility reinstatement fee.

3.  Every new animal facility or an animal facility which
changes location shall be inspected, approved and
registered by the board prior to opening for the practice
of veterinary medicine.  Applications are to be made at
least 60 days prior to the proposed opening date of the
animal facility.  If more than one inspection is required
for approval, the reinspection fee shall be imposed for
each additional inspection.

18 VAC 150-20-75.  Expired license; reinstatement;
practice with an expired or lapsed license not permitted.

A.  A license may be renewed up to 30 days after the
expiration date, provided a late fee as prescribed in 18 VAC
150-20-100 is paid in addition to the required renewal fee.

B.  Reinstatement of licenses expired for more than 30
days shall be at the discretion of the board.  The board may
require documentation of clinical competency and
professional activities and payment of the reinstatement fee
as prescribed in 18 VAC 150-20-100.

18 VAC 150-20-80.  Licenses and registrations to be
displayed. (Repealed.)

A.  Veterinarians.

1.  Each licensed veterinarian shall publicly post his
current Virginia license to practice veterinary medicine in
the facility where he practices.

2.  Each licensed veterinarian administering, prescribing
or dispensing Scheduled II-V drugs shall obtain and
maintain on the premises a controlled substances
registration certificate from the Virginia Board of
Pharmacy as required by § 54.1-3422 of the Code of
Virginia.

B.  Veterinary technicians.  Each licensed veterinary
technician shall publicly post his current Virginia license as a
veterinary technician at the facility of the employing
veterinarian.

C.  Animal facilities.  Each animal facility shall publicly
post the current Virginia registration permit to operate such a
facility.

18 VAC 150-20-90.  Reinstatement. (Repealed.)

Any person who has had his license or permit suspended
or revoked as provided here may, at any time, apply to the
board for relicensure or reregistration.  Accordingly, such
person may petition the board for a hearing, and the
provisions of the Administrative Process Act shall apply.

18 VAC 150-20-100.  Fees.

Fiscal Year: 1995 1996 1997 Thereafter

Veterinary state board
examination fee

$125 25 25 25

Veterinary initial
license or renewal fee
(active)

125 25 60 $125

Initial veterinary
license fee for October
exam (active)

65 25 25 65

Veterinary license
renewal fee (inactive)

50 10 20 $50

Veterinary
reinstatement of
expired license

$175
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Veterinary license
renewal late fee
renewal

25 25 25 $25

Veterinarian
reinstatement fee after
disciplinary action

250 200 200 $200

Veterinary technician
national board
examination fee

75 75 75 75

Veterinary technician
state board
examination fee

25 25 25 25

Veterinary technician
initial license or
renewal fee

25 5 10 $25

Veterinary technician
license renewal late
fee renewal

25 25 25 25 $15

Veterinary technician
reinstatement of
expired license

$50

Veterinary technician
reinstatement fee after
disciplinary action

50 50 50 50 $75

Initial animal facility
permit registration fee

100 100 100 100 $150

Animal facility renewal
fee

50 25 35 $50

Animal facility late
renewal late fee

25 25 25 $25

Animal facility
reinstatement fee

100 100 100 $100

Animal facility
reinspection fee

100 100 100 100 $150

Animal facility--change
of location fee

100 100 100 100 $150

Animal facility--change
of
veterinarian-in-charge
fee

20 20 20 $20

Duplicate certificate
fee license

20 20 20 20 $10

Duplicate wall
certificate

$25

Returned check $25

Licensure verification
to another jurisdiction

$10

PART II.
LICENSURE FOR VETERINARIANS AND VETERINARY

TECHNICIANS.

18 VAC 150-20-110.  Requirements for licensure by
examination as a veterinarian.

A.  The applicant, in order to be licensed by the board to
practice veterinary medicine, shall:

1.  Have received a degree in veterinary medicine from a
college or school of veterinary medicine approved by the
board; accredited by the AVMA or have fulfilled the
requirements of the Educational Commission of Foreign
Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) of the American
Veterinary Medical Association AVMA;

2.  File the following documents with the board at least
45 days prior to the announced date of examination:

a.  A complete and notarized application on a form
obtained from the board;

b.  An official copy, indicating veterinary degree, of the
applicant's college or school transcript;

c.  One passport photograph of reasonable likeness of
the applicant taken within six months of the date of
the application;

d.  Certified check, cashier's check, or money order,
payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, as prescribed in
18 VAC 150-20-100 for the examination fee and the
applicable licensing fee; and

e. c.  Certification of good standing a full and
unrestricted license to practice veterinary medicine by
each board from which the applicant holds a license
to practice veterinary medicine.

3.  Pass the following examinations National Board
Examination and the Clinical Competency Test approved
by the American Association of Veterinary State Boards
with a score on each determined acceptable by to the
board:.

a.  The national board examination;

b.  The national clinical competency test; and

c.  A written examination administered by the board
which shall embrace such subjects as the board shall
from time to time prescribe.

4.  Sign a statement attesting that the applicant has
read, understands, and will abide by the statutes and
regulations governing veterinary practice in Virginia.

4. 5.  Have committed no acts which would constitute a
violation of § 54.1-3807 of the Code of Virginia.

B.  Reexamination.

1.  The national board examination, national clinical
competency test scores, and the transcripts required
pursuant to this chapter shall be acceptable as part of
the application for reexamination for a period of two
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years following the date of the original examination.  The
board-administered written examination scores shall be
acceptable for a period of one year.

2.  All requests for reexamination shall be filed with the
board at least 45 days prior to the date of examination
which the applicant wishes to take.  Such requests shall
be accompanied by an updated application, one
passport photograph of the applicant taken within six
months of the date of the application, and a fee in the
amount prescribed in 18 VAC 150-20-100.

B.  If the application for licensure has not been successfully
completed within two years from the date of initial
submission, a new application and fee shall be required.

18 VAC 150-20-115.  Requirements for licensure by
examination as veterinary technician.

A.  The applicant, in order to be licensed by the board as a
veterinary technician, shall:

1.  Have received a degree in veterinary technology from
a college or school accredited  by the AVMA.

2.  Have filed with the board the following documents:

a.  A complete and notarized application on a form
obtained from the board;

b.  An official copy, indicating a veterinary technology
degree, of the applicant's college or school transcript;
and

c.  Certification that the applicant is in good standing
by each board from which the applicant holds a
license, certification or registration to practice
veterinary technology.

3.  Pass a board-approved, national board examination
for veterinary technology with a score acceptable to the
board.

4.  Sign a statement attesting that the applicant has
read, understands, and will abide by the statutes and
regulations governing veterinary practice in Virginia.

B.  The application for licensure shall be valid for a period
of two years after the date of initial submission.

18 VAC 150-20-120.  Requirements for licensure by
endorsement as a veterinarian or veterinary technician.

A.  The board may, in its discretion, grant a license by
endorsement to an applicant who is licensed to practice
veterinary medicine or who is licensed, certified or registered
to practice as a veterinary technician in another state, the
District of Columbia or possessions or territories of the
United States, and who has been continuously engaged in
clinical practice for five years or more prior to the date of
application provided that:

1.  The applicant passes the written examination
administered by the board;

1.  All licenses, certificates or registrations are in good
standing;

2.  The applicant has been regularly engaged in clinical
practice for at least two of the past four years; and

2. 3.  The applicant has met all of the other applicable
requirements of 18 VAC 150-20-110, or 18 VAC 150-20-
115, except foreign-trained veterinarians who have
attained specialty recognition by a board recognized by
the AVMA are exempt from the requirements of ECFVG.

B.  Provided however that the applicant has met the
requirement of subsection A, the board may, in its discretion,
waive the requirement that the applicant pass the national
board exam or the clinical competency test, or both, if the
applicant has been continuously engaged in clinical practice
during the immediately preceding five years.

18 VAC 150-20-130.  Requirements for practical training
in a preceptorship.

A.  The practical training and employment of qualified
students of veterinary medicine by licensed veterinarians
shall be governed and controlled as follows:

1.  No student shall be qualified to receive practical
training by a licensed veterinarian or veterinary
technician nor shall a licensed veterinarian or veterinary
technician give practical training to any student unless
such student shall be duly enrolled and in good standing
in a veterinary college or school or veterinary technology
program, and shall be engaged in a preceptorship as
defined by the board and authorized by his college or
school.

2.  No student receiving practical training from a
licensed veterinarian shall at any time discharge or
perform any function or act pertaining to the practice of
veterinary medicine, except under the immediate and
direct on-premises supervision of a veterinarian licensed
by the board. A veterinary preceptee may perform duties
that constitute the practice of veterinary medicine under
the on-premises supervision of a licensed veterinarian.

3.  A veterinary technician preceptee may perform duties
that constitute the practice of veterinary technology
under the on-premises supervision of a licensed
veterinarian or licensed veterinary technician.

B.  Prior to allowing a preceptee in veterinary medicine to
perform surgery on a patient, a licensed veterinarian shall
receive written approval from the client.

PART III.
UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT.

18 VAC 150-20-140.  Unprofessional conduct.

Unprofessional conduct as referenced in § 54.1-3807(5) of
the Code of Virginia, shall include the following:

1.  Representing conflicting interests except by express
consent of all concerned given after a full disclosure of
the facts.  Acceptance of a fee from both the buyer and
the seller is prima facie evidence of a conflict of interest.
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2.  Practicing veterinary medicine where an unlicensed
person has the authority to control the professional
judgment of the licensed veterinarian.

3.  Issuing a certificate of health unless he shall know of
his own knowledge by actual inspection and appropriate
tests of the animals that the animals meet the
requirements for the issuance of such certificate on the
day issued.

4.  Violating the confidential relationship between
himself and his clients Revealing confidences gained in
the course of providing veterinary services to a client.

5.  Advertising in a manner which is false, deceptive, or
misleading or which makes subjective claims of
superiority.

6.  Failing to maintain an animal facility as set forth by
this chapter.

7.  Practicing veterinary medicine in an animal facility
that is not currently registered.  This shall not apply to
emergency situations.

8. 6.  Violating any state law, federal law, or board
regulation pertaining to the dispensing or recordkeeping
requirement, or both, for controlled substances or
pertaining to the practice of veterinary medicine.

9.  Dispensing or prescribing controlled substances not
in the course of professional practice or when a bona
fide veterinarian/client/patient relationship has not been
established.

10.  Permitting a person other than a licensed
veterinarian, certified veterinary technician, or person
otherwise duly certified in x-ray technology to operate
diagnostic radiographic equipment.

11.  Permitting a person other than a licensed
veterinarian or a certified veterinary technician to induce
anesthesia.

12. 7.  Practicing veterinary medicine in such a manner
as to endanger the health and welfare of his patients or
the public;, or being unable to practice veterinary
medicine with reasonable skill and safety by reason of
illness, drunkenness, excessive use of drugs, narcotics,
chemicals or any other type of material or as a result of
any mental or physical condition.

13. 8.  Performing surgery on small animals in an
unlicensed facility or a facility not equipped with a
surgery suite and adequate recovery area or performing
surgery on large animals not in accordance in
accordance with the facility permit or with accepted
standards of practice.

14.  Failing to pay any required fees.

15.  Failing to pay board-imposed fines.

16. 9.  Refusing the board or its agent the right to
inspect a facility at reasonable hours.

17.  Prescribing or dispensing, or both, controlled
substances, including anabolic steroids for human use.

18.  Allowing a preceptee to diagnose, prescribe, or
perform surgery unless under the direct, on-premises
supervision of a licensed veterinarian.

19.  Practicing veterinary medicine in the
Commonwealth while license is on inactive status.

10.  Allowing unlicensed persons to perform acts
restricted to the practice of veterinary medicine or
veterinary technology including any invasive procedure
on a patient.

PART III.
LICENSED VETERINARY TECHNICIANS.

18 VAC 150-20-150.  Requirements for licensure as
veterinary technician. (Repealed.)

A.  The applicant, in order to be licensed by the board as a
veterinary technician, shall:

1.  Have received a degree in veterinary technology from
a college or school approved by the American Veterinary
Medical Association;

2.  File the following documents with the board at least
45 days prior to the announced date of examination:

a.  A complete and notarized application on a form
obtained from the board;

b.  An official copy, indicating a veterinary technology
degree, of the applicant's college or school transcript;

c.  One passport photograph of reasonable likeness of
the applicant taken within six months of the date of
the application;

d.  Certified check, cashier's check, or money order,
payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, as prescribed in
18 VAC 150-20-100, for the examination fee and the
applicable licensure fee; and

e.  Certification that the applicant is in good standing
by each board from which the applicant holds a
license/certificate/registration to practice animal
technology.

3.  Pass the following examinations with a score on each
determined acceptable by the board:

a.  The national board examination for veterinary
technicians; and

b.  A written examination administered by the board.
The board shall administer this examination at least
once annually.  The board shall determine the subject
matters included on this examination.

B.  Reexamination.

1.  The national board scores and transcript required
pursuant to this chapter shall be acceptable as part of
the application for reexamination for a period of two
years following the date of the original examination.  The



Proposed Regulations

Volume 14, Issue 23 Monday, August 3, 1998

3589

board-administered written examination shall be
acceptable for a period of one year.

2.  Any veterinary technician applicant failing to pass
either part of the examination shall be reexamined at his
request, at the next scheduled examination administered
by the board on the part of the examination failed.  If the
applicant fails to pass this reexamination, he will be
required to pass a subsequent examination in its
entirety.

3.  All requests for reexamination shall be filed with the
board at least 45 days prior to the date of examination
which the applicant wishes to take.  Such requests shall
be accompanied by an updated application, one
passport photograph of the applicant taken within six
months of the date of this application, and a fee in the
amount prescribed in 18 VAC 150-20-100.

18 VAC 150-20-160.  Requirements for licensure by
endorsement. (Repealed.)

A.  The board, at its discretion, may also grant a license
by endorsement to a technician licensed, certified or
registered in another state, the District of Columbia or
possessions or territories of the United States based on a
written examination administered by the board to an
applicant who has not taken the national board examination,
provided that:

1.  The applicant has met all of the other requirements
of 18 VAC 150-20-150; and

2.  The applicant has been issued a certificate as a
veterinary technician in another state whose
requirements are at least equal to those of Virginia.

18 VAC 150-20-170.  Unprofessional conduct. (Repealed.)

Unprofessional conduct as referenced in § 54.1-3807(5) of
the Code of Virginia, shall include the following:

1.  Compromising the confidentiality of the doctor/client
relationship.

2.  Practicing veterinary technology in an animal facility
that is not currently registered.  This shall not apply to
emergency situations.

3.  Violating any state law, federal law, or board
regulation pertaining to the use of controlled substances
or any provisions pertaining to the practice of veterinary
medicine.

4.  Diagnosing, performing surgery, or prescribing
drugs.

18 VAC 150-20-180.  Requirements to be registered as an
animal facility.

A.  Every animal facility must shall possess an appropriate
a permit as a full-service or restricted service facility and shall
have a veterinarian-in-charge registered with the board in
order to operate.

1.  Veterinary medicine may only be practiced out of a
registered facility except in emergency situations or in

limited specialized practices as provided in 18 VAC 150-
20-205.

2.  Applications for permits must be made to the board
60 45 days in advance of opening or changing the
location or designating a veterinarian in charge of the
facility or requesting a change in category to a full-
service facility.

B.  An animal facility will be registered by the board when:

1.  It is inspected by the board and is found to meet the
standards set forth by 18 VAC 150-20-190 and 18 VAC
150-20-200 where applicable.  If, during a new or routine
facility inspection, violations or deficiencies are found
necessitating a reinspection, the prescribed reinspection
fee will be levied.  Failure to pay the fee shall be deemed
unprofessional conduct and, until paid, the facility shall
be deemed to be unregistered.

2.  A veterinarian currently licensed by and in good
standing with the board is registered with the board in
writing as veterinarian-in-charge and has paid the facility
registration fee.

a.  The veterinarian-in-charge is responsible for:

(1) Maintaining the facility within the standards set
forth by 18 VAC 150-20-190 and 18 VAC
150-20-200;

(2) Performing the biennial controlled substance
inventory and ensuring compliance at the facility
with any federal or state law relating to controlled
substances as defined in § 54.1-3404 of the Code of
Virginia;

(3) Notifying the board in writing of the closure of
the permitted facility 10 days prior to closure.

b.  Upon any change in veterinarian-in-charge, these
procedures shall be followed:

(1) An application for a new permit, naming the new
veterinarian-in-charge, shall be made 10 days prior
to the change of the veterinarian-in-charge.  This
application shall be accompanied by a certified
check, cashier's check or money order, payable to
the Treasurer of Virginia, as prescribed by 18 VAC
150-20-100.

(2) The previous facility permit is void on the date of
the change of veterinarian-in-charge and shall be
returned by the former veterinarian-in-charge to the
board 10 days following the date of change.

(3) Prior to the opening of the business, on the date
of the change of veterinarian-in-charge, the new
veterinarian-in-charge shall take a complete
inventory of all Schedule II-V drugs on-hand.  He
shall date and sign the inventory and maintain it
on-premises for two years.  Unless the change of
the veterinarian-in-charge is in conjunction with a
change of ownership, this would not change the
official biennial controlled substance inventory date.
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18 VAC 150-20-185.  Renewal of animal facility permits.

A.  Every animal facility shall be required to renew the
registration permit by March 1 of each year and pay to the
board a registration fee as prescribed in 18 VAC 150-20-100.

B.  Failure to renew the facility permit by March 1 of each
year shall cause the permit to expire and become invalid.
The permit may be reinstated without reinspection within 30
days of expiration provided the board receives a properly
executed renewal application, renewal fee, and a late fee as
prescribed in 18 VAC 150-20-100.

C.  Reinstatement of an expired permit after 30 days shall
be at the discretion of the board and contingent upon a
reinspection and payment of the late fee, the reinspection
fee, the renewal fee and the facility reinstatement fee.

18 VAC 150-20-190.  Requirements for drug storage,
dispensing, destruction, and records for all facilities, full
service and restricted.

A.  All drugs shall be maintained, administered, dispensed,
prescribed and destroyed in compliance with state and
federal laws, which include applicable parts of the federal
Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Control Act (21 USC § 301 et
seq.), the Prescription Drug Marketing Act (21 USC § 301 et
seq.), and the Controlled Substances Act (21 USC § 801 et
seq.), as well as applicable portions of Title 21 of the Code of
Federal Regulations.

B.  All repackaged tablets and capsules dispensed for
companion animals shall be in approved safety closure
containers, except safety caps shall not be required when
any person who requests that the medication not have a
safety cap, or in such cases in which the medication is of
such form or size that it cannot be reasonably dispensed in
such containers (e.g., topical medications, ophthalmic, or
otic).

C.  All drugs dispensed for companion animals shall be
labeled with the following:

1.  Name and address of the facility;

2.  Name of client;

3.  Animal identification;

4.  Date dispensed;

5.  Directions for use;

6.  Name, strength (if more than one dosage form
exists), and quantity of the drug; and

7.  Name of the prescribing veterinarian.

D.  All drugs shall be maintained in a secured manner with
precaution taken to prevent diversion.

1.  All Schedule II drugs shall be maintained under lock
at all times, with access to the veterinarian only,
provided, however, that a working stock of Schedule II
drugs under separate lock may be accessible to the
licensed veterinary technician.

2.  Whenever a veterinarian discovers a theft or any
unusual loss of Schedule II, III, IV, or V drugs, he shall
immediately report such theft or loss to the Board of
Veterinary Medicine, to the Virginia Board of Pharmacy
and to the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration.

E.  Schedule II, III, IV and V drugs may be destroyed by
an investigator of the Virginia Department of Health
Professions, the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration or, if
a veterinarian-in-charge wishes to destroy unwanted
Schedule II through V drugs kept for dispensing in lieu of any
disposal method provided by regulations promulgated by the
U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration, he shall use the
following procedures: following the instructions contained in
the drug destruction packet available from the board office
which provides the latest U.S. Drug Enforcement
Administration approved drug destruction guidelines.

1.  At least 14 days prior to the destruction date, the
veterinarian-in-charge shall provide a written notice to
the Board of Veterinary Medicine.  The notice shall state
the following:

a.  Date, time, manner and place of destruction;

b.  The names of the veterinarians who will witness
the destruction process.

2.  If the destruction date is changed or the destruction
does not occur, a new notice shall be provided to the
board as set forth in subdivision 1 of this subsection;

3.  Drug Destruction Form No. 41 from the U.S. Drug
Enforcement Administration shall be used to record all
drugs destroyed;

4.  The drugs shall be destroyed by burning in an
incinerator or flushing if permitted by the municipality;
and

5.  The actual destruction shall be witnessed by the
veterinarian-in-charge and by another veterinarian
neither associated with nor employed by the
veterinarian-in-charge.

6.  Each destruction form shall show the following
information:

a.  Legible signatures of the veterinarian-in-charge
and the other veterinarian witnessing the destruction;

b.  The Board of Veterinary Medicine license numbers
of the veterinarian-in-charge and the other witnessing
veterinarian;

c.  The date of the destruction;

d.  Name and quantity of the drugs destroyed; and

e.  Manner of destruction.

7.  At the conclusion of the destruction of the drug stock,
copies of the completed Drug Destruction Form No. 41
shall be distributed as follows:
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a.  The original and one copy shall be sent to the U.S.
Drug Enforcement Administration at one of the
following addresses:

(1) Facilities with zip codes beginning with the
numbers 230 through 249 inclusive should mail
their forms to the U.S. Drug Enforcement
Administration, 8600 Staples Mill Road, Suite B,
Richmond, Virginia 23228;

(2) Facilities with zip codes beginning with any
numbers other than those listed above should mail
their forms to the U.S. Drug Enforcement
Administration, Washington Field Division, 400
Sixth Street SW, Room 2558, Washington, DC
20024.

b.  One copy shall be sent to the Board of Veterinary
Medicine; and

c.  One copy shall be retained with the animal facility's
records of Schedule II-V drugs.

F.  The drug storage area shall have appropriate provision
for temperature control for all drugs and biologics, including
a refrigerator with the interior thermometer maintained
between 36°F and 46°F.  Drugs stored at room temperature
shall be maintained between 59°F and 86°F.  The stock of
drugs shall be reviewed frequently and removed from the
working stock of drugs at the expiration date.

G.  A distribution record shall be maintained in addition to
the patient's record, in chronological order, for the
administration and dispensing of all Schedule II-V drugs.

This record is to be maintained for a period of two years
from the date of transaction.  This record shall include the
following:

1.  Date of transaction;

2.  Drug name, strength, and the amount dispensed,
administered and wasted;

3.  Client and animal identification; and

4.  Identification of the veterinarian authorizing the
administration or dispensing of the drug.

H.  Invoices for all Schedule II, III, IV and V drugs received
shall be maintained in chronological order on the premises
where the stock of drugs is held.  Invoices for Schedule II
drugs shall be maintained separately from other records.  All
drug records shall be maintained for a period of two years
from the date of transaction.

I.  A complete and accurate inventory of all Schedule II, III,
IV and V drugs shall be taken, dated, and signed on the
same day every two years.  Drug strength must be specified.
This inventory shall indicate if it was made at the opening or
closing of business and shall be maintained on the premises
where the drugs are held for two years from the date of
taking the inventory.

18 VAC 150-20-195.  Recordkeeping.

A.  A daily record of each patient treated shall be
maintained by the veterinarian and shall include pertinent
medical data such as drugs administered, dispensed or
prescribed, and all relevant medical and surgical procedures
performed.

B.  Individual records shall be maintained on each patient,
except that records for economic animals may be maintained
on a per client basis.  Client records shall be kept for a period
of three years following the last office visit or discharge of
such animal from a veterinary facility.

C.  An animal identification system must be used by the
facility.

18 VAC 150-20-200.  Standards for facilities.

A.  Full-service facilities.  A full-service facility is a
stationary facility which shall provide surgery and
encompass all aspects of health care for small or large
animals, or both.  All full-service facilities shall meet the
requirements set forth below:

1.  Buildings and grounds must be maintained to provide
sanitary facilities for the care and medical well being of
patients.

a.  Temperature.  The facility shall be equipped so as
to maintain temperatures between 59°F and 86°F
consistent with the medical well-being of the patients,
ventilation, and lighting must be consistent with the
medical well-being of the patients.

b.  Ventilation.  The facility shall be equipped with the
capacity to ventilate consistent with the medical
well-being of the animals.

c.  Lighting.  The facility shall be equipped with
lighting commensurate with the procedures
performed.

d. b.  Water and waste.  There shall be on-premises:

(1) Hot and cold running water of drinking quality,
as defined by the Virginia Department of Health;

(2) Sanitary toilet and lavatory for the personnel and
for the clients;

(3) (2) An acceptable method of disposal of
deceased animals; and

(4) (3) Refrigeration exclusively for carcasses of
companion animals that require storage for 24
hours or more.

c.  Sanitary toilet and lavatory shall be available for
personnel and clients;

2.  Areas within building.  The areas within the facility
shall include the following:

a.  A reception area separate from other designated
rooms;

b.  Examination room(s) room or rooms;
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c.  Surgery room.  Surgery shall be performed in
There shall be a room which is reserved only for
surgery and used for no other purpose.  Surgery shall
not serve as a corridor.  The walls of the surgery room
must be constructed of nonporous material and
extend from the floor to the ceiling.  In order that
surgery can be performed in a manner compatible
with current veterinary medical practice with regard to
anesthesia, asepsis, life support, and monitoring
procedures, the surgery room shall:

(1) Be of a size adequate to accommodate a
surgical table, anesthesia support equipment,
surgical supplies, the veterinarian, an assistant, and
the patient; and

(2) Be kept so that storage in the surgery room shall
be limited to items and equipment normally related
to surgery and surgical procedures.

d.  Laboratory.  The animal facility shall have, as a
minimum, proof of use of either in-house laboratory
service or consultant outside laboratory services for
performing the following lab tests, consistent with
appropriate professional care for the species treated:

(1) Urinalysis, including microscopic examination of
sediment;

(2) Complete blood count, including differential;

(3) Flotation test for ova of internal parasites;

(4) Skin scrapings for diagnosing external parasites;

(5) Examinations for circulating blood microfilaria;

(6) Blood chemistries;

(7) Cultures and sensitivities;

(8) Biopsy;

(9) Complete necropses, including histopathology;
and

(10) Serology.

e.  Animal housing areas.  These shall be provided
with:

(1) Separate compartments constructed in such a
way as to prevent residential contamination;

(2) Accommodations allowing for the effective
separation of contagious and noncontagious
patients; and

(3) Exercise runs which provide and allow effective
separation of animals or walking the animals at
medically appropriate intervals.

3.  Radiology.  An animal facility shall:

a.  Have proof of use of either in-house or consultant
outside services for obtaining diagnostic-quality
radiographs.

b.  If radiology is in-house:

(1) Each radiograph shall be permanently imprinted
with the identity of the facility or veterinarian, patient
and the date of exposure.  Each radiograph shall
also distinguish left from right, when appropriate be
clearly labeled by permanent imprinting to reflect
anatomic specificity.

(2) Document that radiographic equipment complies
with all requirements of 12 VAC 5-480-8520,
Veterinary Medicine Radiographic Installations, of
the Virginia Department of Health document,
"Ionizing Radiation Rules and Regulations" (1988),
which requirements are adopted by this board and
incorporated herewith by reference in this chapter.

c.  Maintain radiographs with and as a part of the
patient's record.  If a radiograph is transferred to
another facility or released to the client, a record of
this transfer must be maintained on or with the
patient's records.

4.  Equipment; minimum requirements.

a.  Examination room. (1) containing a table with
nonporous surface;.

(2) Waste receptacle; and

(3) Sanitizing solution.

b.  Surgery suite.

(1) Surgical table with nonporous surface;

(2) Surgical supplies, instruments and equipment
commensurate with the kind of surgical services
provided;

(3) All new small animal facilities that perform
surgeries and all existing facilities that change their
veterinarian-in-charge will shall be required to have
a circle gas anesthesia machine.

(4) Automatic emergency lighting;

(5) Surgical lighting;

(6) Instrument table, stand, or tray; and

(7) Waste receptacle.

c.  Radiology (if in-house).

(1) Lead aprons and gloves;

(2) Lead gloves;

(3) (2) Radiation exposure badges; and

(4) (3) X-ray machine.

d.  Drug storage area.

(1) Refrigerator, with interior thermometer
maintained between 36°F and 46°F;

(2) Locked storage for Schedule II drugs;

(3) Drugs stored at room temperature shall be
maintained between 59°F and 86°F.
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e. d.  General equipment.

(1) Steam pressure sterilizer or an appropriate
method of sterilizing instruments;

(2) Internal and external sterilization monitors, if
steam pressure sterilizers are used;

(3) Stethoscope;

(4) Thermometer;

(5) Ophthalmoscope;

(6) Otoscope;

(7) Equipment for delivery of assisted ventilation,
including but not necessarily limited to:

(a) A resuscitation bag; and

(b) Endotracheal tubes.

(8) Scales; and

(9) Storage for records.

5.  Recordkeeping.  Every veterinarian shall keep a
written daily record of the animals he treats.  This record
shall include pertinent medical data such as drugs
administered, dispensed or prescribed, and all relevant
medical and surgical procedures performed.

a.  Client records shall be kept for a period of three
years following the last office visit or discharge of
such animal from a veterinary facility.

b.  Individual records shall be maintained on each
patient, except that records for economic animals may
be maintained on a per client basis.

c.  An animal identification system must be used by
the facility.

6.  Disclosure of staffing hours.  Every animal facility
shall conspicuously post a sign which indicates the
hours that the facility is staffed.

B.  Restricted facilities.  When the scope of practice is less
than full service, a specifically restricted facility permit shall
be required.  Upon submission of a completed application,
satisfactory inspection and payment of the permit fee, a
restricted facility permit will may be issued.  Such restricted
facilities shall have posted in a conspicuous manner the
specific limitations on the scope of practice on a form
acceptable to provided by the board.

1.  Large animal facility, ambulatory practice.  A large
animal ambulatory facility is a mobile practice in which
health care of large animals is performed at the location
of the animal.  Surgery on large animals may be
performed as part of a large animal ambulatory practice
provided the facility has surgical supplies, instruments
and equipment commensurate with the kind of surgical
services provided.  All large animal ambulatory facilities
shall meet the requirements of a full-service facility in
subsection A of this section with the exception of those
set forth below:

a.  Laboratory.  At a minimum, proof of use of either
in-house laboratory service or consultant laboratory
services for performing the following lab tests,
consistent with appropriate professional care for the
species treated:

(1) Urinalysis, including microscopic examination of
sediment;

(2) Complete blood count, including differential;

(3) Flotation test for ova of internal parasites;

(4) Skin scrapings for diagnosing external parasites;

(5) Blood chemistries;

(6) Cultures and sensitivities;

(7) Biopsy;

(8) Complete necropses, including histopathology;
and

(9) Serology.

b.  Radiology.  A large animal ambulatory facility shall
have the following:

(1) Proof of use of either in-house or consultant
services for obtaining diagnostic-quality
radiographs.

(2) If radiology is in-house.

(a) Each radiograph shall be permanently
imprinted with the identity of the facility or
veterinarian, the patient and the date of exposure.
Each radiograph shall also distinguish left from
right, when appropriate, by permanent imprinting.

(b) Document that radiographic equipment
complies with all requirements of 12 VAC
5-480-8520, Veterinary Medicine Radiographic
Installations, of the Virginia Department of Health
document, "Ionizing Radiation Rules and
Regulations" (1988), which requirements are
adopted by this board and incorporated herewith
by reference in this chapter.

(3) Maintain radiographs with and as a part of the
patient's record.  If the radiograph is transferred to
another facility, documentation of this transfer shall
be maintained on or with the client's record.

c.  Equipment; minimum requirements.

(1) Surgical supplies, instruments and equipment
commensurate with the kind of surgical services
provided;

(2) Radiology (if in-house):

(a) Lead aprons;

(b) Lead gloves;

(c) Radiation exposure badges;

(d) X-ray machine.
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(3) Drug storage area.

(a) Refrigerator, with interior thermometer
maintained between 36°F and 46°F;

(b) Locked storage for Schedule II drugs;

(c) Drugs stored at room temperature should be
maintained between 59°F and 86°F.

(4) General equipment.

(a) Steam pressure sterilizer;

(b) Internal and external sterilization monitors;

(c) Stethoscope;

(d) Ophthalmoscope;

(e) Thermometer;

(f) Storage for records.

d.  Recordkeeping.  The veterinarian shall keep a
written record of treatment to include pertinent
medical data.

(1) Individual records shall be maintained on each
patient except that records for economic animals
and equine may be maintained on a per client
basis; and

(2) Client records shall be kept for a period of three
years from the date of the last visit.

a.  All requirements for buildings and grounds.

b.  All requirements for an examination room and
surgery suite.

c.  Laboratory examinations for circulating blood
microfilaria.

d.  Equipment for assisted ventilation.

e.  Scales.

2.  Small animal facility house call practice.  A small
animal house call facility is a mobile practice in which
health care of small animals is performed at the
residence of the owner of the small animal.  Surgery
may be performed only in a permitted, surgical facility.
Small animal house call facilities shall meet the
requirements of a full-service facility in subsection A of
this section with the exception of those set forth below:

a.  Laboratory.  At a minimum, proof of use of either
in-house laboratory service or consultant laboratory
services for performing the following lab tests,
consistent with appropriate professional care for the
species treated:

(1) Urinalysis, including microscopic examination of
sediment;

(2) Complete blood count, including differential;

(3) Flotation test for ova of internal parasites;

(4) Skin scrapings for diagnosing external parasites;

(5) Examinations for circulating blood microfilaria;

(6) Blood chemistries;

(7) Cultures and sensitivities;

(8) Biopsy;

(9) Complete necropses, including histopathology;
and

(10) Serology.

b.  Radiology.  A small animal house call facility shall:

(1) Have proof of services for obtaining
diagnostic-quality radiographs.

(2) Maintain radiographs with and as a part of the
patient's record.  If a radiograph is transferred to
another facility, documentation of the transfer must
be maintained on or with the patient's record.

c.  Equipment, minimum requirements.

(1) Drug storage area.

(a) Refrigerator, with interior thermometer
maintained between 36°F and 46°F;

(b) Locked storage for Schedule II drugs;

(c) Drugs stored at room temperature should be
maintained between 59°F and 86°F.

(2) General equipment.

(a) Stethoscope;

(b) Thermometer;

(c) Ophthalmoscope;

(d) Otoscope;

(e) Resuscitation bag and endotracheal tubes;

(f) Storage for records.

d.  Recordkeeping.  Every veterinarian shall keep a
written daily record of the animals he treats.  This
record shall include pertinent medical data such as
drugs administered, dispensed or prescribed, and all
relevant medical and surgical procedures performed.

(1) Client records shall be kept for a period of three
years following the last visit.

(2) Individual records shall be maintained on each
patient, except that records for economic animals
may be maintained on a per-client basis.

a.  All requirements for buildings and grounds.

b.  All requirements for an examination room or
surgery suite.

c.  Steam pressure sterilizer.

d.  Internal or external sterilization monitor.
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3.  Small animal facility, outpatient practice.  A small
animal outpatient facility is a stationary facility where
health care of small animals is performed.  This practice
may include surgery, provided the facility is equipped
with a surgery suite as required by subdivision A 2 b of
this section and an adequate recovery area as required
by subdivision A 2 c of this section.  Overnight
hospitalization shall not be required.  All other
requirements of a full-service facility shall be met.

a.  Buildings and grounds must be maintained to
provide sanitary facilities for the care and medical
well-being of patients.

(1) Temperature.  The facility shall be equipped so
as to maintain temperatures between 59°F and
86°F consistent with the medical well-being of the
patients.

(2) Ventilation.  The facility shall be equipped with
the capacity to ventilate consistent with the medical
well-being of the animals.

(3) Lighting.  The facility shall be equipped with
lighting commensurate with the procedures
performed.

(4) Water and waste.  There shall be on-premises:

(a) Hot and cold running water of drinking quality,
as defined by the Virginia Department of Health;

(b) Sanitary toilet and lavatory for the personnel
and for the clients;

(c) An acceptable method of disposal of
deceased animals; and

(d) Refrigeration exclusively for carcasses of
companion animals that require storage for 24
hours or more.

b.  Areas within building.  The areas within the facility
shall include the following:

(1) A reception area separate from other designated
rooms;

(2) Examination room(s).

c.  Laboratory.  At a minimum, proof of use of either
in-house laboratory service or consultant laboratory
services for performing the following lab tests,
consistent with appropriate professional care for the
species treated:

(1) Urinalysis, including microscopic examination of
sediment;

(2) Complete blood count, including differential;

(3) Flotation test for ova of internal parasites;

(4) Skin scrapings for diagnosing external parasites;

(5) Examinations for circulating blood microfilaria;

(6) Blood chemistries;

(7) Cultures and sensitivities;

(8) Biopsy;

(9) Complete necropses, including histopathology;
and

(10) Serology.

d.  Radiology.  A small animal outpatient facility shall
have the following:

(1) Proof of use of either in-house or consultant
services for obtaining diagnostic-quality
radiographs.

(2) If radiology is in-house:

(a) Each radiograph shall be permanently
imprinted with the identity of the facility or
veterinarian, the patient and the date of exposure.
Each radiograph shall also distinguish left from
right, when appropriate, by permanent imprinting.

(b) Document that radiographic equipment
complies with all requirements of 12 VAC
5-480-8520, Veterinary Medicine Radiographic
Installations, of the Virginia Department of Health
document, "Ionizing Radiation Rules and
Regulations" (1988), which requirements are
adopted by this board and incorporated herewith
by reference in this chapter.

(c) Maintain radiographs with and as a part of the
patient's record.  If a radiograph is transferred to
another facility, documentation of the transfer
must be maintained on or with the patient's
record.

e.  Equipment, minimum requirements.

(1) Examination room.

(a) Table with nonporous surface;

(b) Waste receptacle; and

(c) Sanitizing solution.

(2) Radiology (if in-house).

(a) Lead aprons;

(b) Lead gloves;

(c) Radiation exposure badges;

(d) X-ray machine.

(3) Drug storage area.

(a) Refrigerator, with interior thermometer
maintained between 36°F and 46°F;

(b) Locked storage for Schedule II drugs; and

(c) Drugs stored at room temperature should be
maintained between 59°F and 86°F.

(4) General equipment.
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(a) Steam pressure sterilizer;

(b) Internal and external sterilization monitors;

(c) Stethoscope;

(d) Thermometer;

(e) Ophthalmoscope;

(f) Otoscope;

(g) Resuscitation bag and endotracheal tubes;

(h) Scales;

(i) Storage for records.

f.  Recordkeeping.  Every veterinarian shall keep a
written daily record of the animals he treats.  This
record shall include pertinent medical data such as
drugs administered, dispensed or prescribed, and all
relevant medical and surgical procedures performed.

(1) Client records shall be kept for a period of three
years following the last office visit or discharge of
such animal from a veterinary facility.

(2) Individual records shall be maintained on each
patient, except that records for economic animals
may be maintained on a per client basis.

(3) An animal identification system must be used by
the facility if animals are kept for the day.

4.  Special-use permit.  If a practice does not conform to
one of the above-listed types of facilities, a veterinarian
may apply for a special-use permit.  A protocol, detailing
the type of practice, must be submitted to the board with
the application.  The board will review the protocol and
approve or deny the application on a case-by-case
basis.  If the board approves the application, limitations
of practice and standards specific for the approved
practice will be set.

5.  Disclosure of staffing hours.  Every animal facility
shall conspicuously post a sign which indicates the
hours that the facility is staffed.

The protocol must be resubmitted annually with the
renewal application for board review and approval.

C.  Combination practices.  A combination practice may
exist under a single facility permit.  The practice may
encompass two or more types of facilities as defined in
subsections A and B of this section.  The application for the
permit must specify the types of facilities to be included
within the combination practice.  The types of facilities
included must also be posted with the facility permit.

All standards listed under each type of facility included in
the combination practice must be met.

18 VAC 150-20-205.  Specialty practice in a limited
setting.

No regulation of the board shall prohibit any licensed
veterinarian from conducting drug testing at animal shows
and events or from examining any animal and expressing a

professional judgment as to its health at (i) genetic screening
clinics where animals are examined for cardiac, ophthalmic
and auditory diseases; (ii) agricultural fairs; (iii) 4-H or other
youth organization competitions; (iv) livestock auctions; (v)
horse races; (vi) fox hunts; (vii) pet adoption events; or (viii)
animal shows including but not limited to dog, cat, and horse
shows.

18 VAC 150-20-210.  Revocation or suspension of
registration certificate.

A.  The board may revoke or suspend the registration
permit of an animal facility if it finds the facility to be in
violation of any provisions of this chapter or may declare it as
not meeting the standards set forth in 18 VAC 150-20-190
and 18 VAC 150-20-200 this chapter if:

1.  The board finds the facility to be in violation of
18 VAC 150-20-70;

2.  The board finds the facility to be in violation of
18 VAC 150-20-190 or 18 VAC 150-20-200;

3. 1.  The board or its agents are denied access to the
facility to conduct an inspection;

4. 2.  The licensee does not pay any and all prescribed
fees;

5. 3.  The facility is performing procedures beyond the
scope of a restricted facility permit; or

6. 4.  The facility has no veterinarian-in-charge
registered at the facility.

B.  The Administrative Process Act, Chapter 1.1:1
(9-6.14:1 et seq.) of Title 9 of the Code of Virginia, shall
apply to any determination under this section.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 150-20-
10 et seq., Regulations Governing the Practice of Veterinary
Medicine, are listed below.  Any amended or added forms
are reflected in the listing and are published following the
listing.

FORMS

Renewal Notice and Application (rev. 7/97).

Instructions to Applicants for Licensure to Practice Veterinary
Medicine (rev. 7/97).

Application for a License to Practice Veterinary Medicine
(rev. 7/97).

Application for National Board Examination in Veterinary
Technology.

Instructions to Applicants for Licensure to Practice Veterinary
Technology (rev. 7/97).

Application for a License to Practice Veterinary Technology
(rev. 7/97).

Application for an Animal Facility Permit (rev. 7/97).

Application for National Board Examination and Clinical
Competency Test in Veterinary Medicine.
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Application for Reinstatement of License to Practice
Veterinary Medicine (rev. 7/97).

Application for Reinstatement of License to Practice
Veterinary Technician License Technology (rev. 7/97).

Drug Destruction Form No. 41, Registrants Inventory of
Drugs Surrendered, No. 1117-0007 (June 1986).

Continuing Education Requirement Letter.

Letter Acknowledging Receipt of Request for Approval of
Continuing Education Courses.

Application for Approval of a Continuing Education Course.
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FINAL REGULATIONS

TITLE 9.  ENVIRONMENT

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

Title of Regulation:  9 VAC 25-590-10 et seq.  Petroleum
Underground Storage Tank Financial Responsibility
Requirements (amending 9 VAC 25-590-10 through
9 VAC 25-590-230, and Appendices I, II, and V through X;
adding 9 VAC 25-590-240, 9 VAC 25-590-250, 9 VAC 25-
590-260, and Appendix XI).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 62.1-44.34:9 and 62.1-44.34:12 of
the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  September 2, 1998.

Summary:

The regulation concerns financial responsibility
demonstration requirements for owners/operators of
regulated underground storage tanks.  The amendments
(i) conform the regulation with amendments to the State
Water Control Law enacted after November 1993; (ii)
add mechanisms for demonstrating financial
responsibility which are designed specifically for local
government owners/operators; (iii) incorporate federal
lender liability regulations; and (iv) correct typographical
errors and omissions in the existing regulation.

Only one change affecting the substance of the
regulation was made as a result of public comments.
Specifically, the proposed amendment to include
aboveground storage tank and tank vessel financial
assurance requirements in the underground storage
tank self-insurance tests was eliminated because it was
burdensome to the regulated community and not
required by statute.

Summary of Public Comments Received and Agency’s
Response:  A summary of comments made by the public
and the agency’s response may be obtained from the
promulgating agency or viewed at the office of the Registrar
of Regulations.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Mary-Ellen Kendall, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240-0009,
telephone (804) 698-4298.

9 VAC 25-590-10.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter,
shall have the following meaning meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Accidental release" means any sudden or nonsudden
release of petroleum from an underground storage tank that

results in a need for corrective action or compensation, or
both, for bodily injury or property damage neither expected
nor intended by the tank owner or operator or petroleum
storage tank vendor.

"Annual aggregate" means the maximum financial
responsibility requirement that an owner or operator is
required to demonstrate annually.

"Board" means the State Water Control Board.

"Bodily injury" means the death or injury of any person
incident to an accidental release from a petroleum
underground storage tank; but not including any death,
disablement, or injuries covered by worker's workers'
compensation, disability benefits or unemployment
compensation law or other similar law.  Bodily injury may
include payment of medical, hospital, surgical, and funeral
expenses arising out of the death or injury of any person.
This term shall not include those liabilities which, consistent
with standard insurance industry practices, are excluded
from coverage in liability insurance policies for bodily injury.

"Controlling interest" means direct ownership of at least
50% of the voting stock of another entity.

"Corrective action" means all actions necessary to abate,
contain and clean up cleanup a release from an underground
storage tank, to mitigate the public health or environmental
threat from such releases and to rehabilitate state waters in
accordance with Parts V (9 VAC 25-580-190 et seq.) and VI
(9 VAC 25-580-230 et seq.) of 9 VAC 25-580-190 through 9
VAC 25-580-220 and 9 VAC 25-580-230 through 9 VAC 25-
580-300 ( 9 VAC 25 Chapter 580, Underground Storage
Tanks;: Technical Standards and Corrective Action
Requirements regulation).  The term does not include those
actions normally associated with closure or change in
service as set out in Part VII (9 VAC 25-580-320 et seq.) of 9
VAC 25-580-310 through 9 VAC 25-580-350 9 VAC 25
Chapter 580 or the replacement of an underground storage
tank.

"Department of Waste Management" means the Virginia
Department of Waste Management which has jurisdiction
over the proper handling and disposal of solid and hazardous
wastes in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

"Financial reporting year" means the latest consecutive 12-
month period for which any of the following reports used to
support a financial test is prepared:  (i) a 10 K report
submitted to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
(SEC); (ii) an annual report of tangible net worth submitted
to Dun and Bradstreet; (iii) annual reports submitted to the
Energy Information Administration or the Rural Electrification
Administration; or (iv) a year-end financial statement
authorized under 9 VAC 25-590-60 B or C of this chapter.
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"Financial reporting year" may thus comprise a fiscal or
calendar year period.

"Gallons of petroleum pumped" means either the amount
pumped into or the amount pumped out of a petroleum
underground storage tank.

"Legal defense cost" is any expense that an owner or
operator, or petroleum storage tank vendor, or provider of
financial assurance incurs in defending against claims or
actions brought (i) by the federal government or the board to
require corrective action or to recover the costs of corrective
action, or to collect civil penalties under federal or state law
or to assert any claim on behalf of the Virginia Underground
Petroleum Storage Tank Fund; (ii) by or on behalf of a third
party for bodily injury or property damage caused by an
accidental release; or (iii) by any person to enforce the terms
of a financial assurance mechanism.

"Local government entity" means a municipality, county,
town, commission, separately chartered and operated
special district, school boards or board, political subdivision
of a state, or other special purpose government which
provides essential services.

"Occurrence" means an accident, including continuous or
repeated exposure to conditions, which results in a release
from an underground storage tank.

NOTE:  This definition is intended to assist in the
understanding of this chapter and is not intended either to
limit the meaning of "occurrence" in a way that conflicts with
standard insurance usage or to prevent the use of other
standard insurance terms in place of "occurrence."

"Operator" means any person in control of, or having
responsibility for, the daily operation of the UST system.

"Owner" means:

1.  In the case of an UST system in use on November 8,
1984, or brought into use after that date, any person
who owns an UST system used for storage, use, or
dispensing of regulated substances; and

2.  In the case of any UST system in use before
November 8, 1984, but no longer in use on that date,
any person who owned such UST immediately before
the discontinuation of its use.

The term "owner" shall not include any person, who,
without participating in the management of an underground
storage tank or being otherwise engaged in petroleum
production, refining, and marketing, holds indicia of
ownership primarily to protect the holder's security interest in
the tank.

"Owner" or "operator," when the owner or operator are
separate parties, refers to the party that person who is
obtaining or has obtained financial assurances.

"Person" means an individual, trust, firm, joint stock
company, corporation, including a government corporation,
partnership, association, any state or agency thereof,
municipality, county, town, commission, political subdivision

of a state, any interstate body, consortium, joint venture,
commercial entity, the government of the United States or
any unit or agency thereof.

"Petroleum" means petroleum, including crude oil or any
fraction thereof, that is liquid at standard conditions of
temperature and pressure (60°F and 14.7 pounds per square
inch absolute).

"Petroleum marketing facilities" include all facilities at
which petroleum is produced or refined and all facilities from
which petroleum is sold or transferred to other petroleum
marketers or to the public.

"Petroleum marketing firms" means all firms owning
petroleum marketing facilities.  Firms owning other types of
facilities with USTs as well as petroleum marketing facilities
are considered to be petroleum marketing firms.

"Petroleum storage tank vendor" means a person who
manufactures, sells, installs, or services an underground
petroleum storage tank, its connective piping and associated
equipment.

"Property damage" means the loss or destruction of, or
damage to, the property of any third party including any loss,
damage or expense incident to an accidental release from a
petroleum underground storage tank.  This term shall not
include those liabilities which, consistent with standard
insurance industry practices, are excluded from coverage in
liability insurance policies for property damage.  However,
such exclusions for property damage shall not include
corrective action associated with releases from tanks which
are covered by the policy.

"Provider of financial assurance" means an entity a person
that provides financial assurance to an owner, or operator or
petroleum storage tank vendor of an underground storage
tank through one of the mechanisms listed in 9 VAC 25-590-
60 through 9 VAC 25-590-120 and 9 VAC 25-590-250,
including a guarantor, insurer, group self-insurance pool,
surety, or issuer of a letter of credit.

"Release" means any spilling, leaking, emitting,
discharging, escaping, leaching or disposing from an UST
into ground water, surface water, or upon lands, subsurface
soils or storm drain systems.

"Responsible person" means any person who is an owner
or operator of an underground storage tank at the time the
release is reported to the board.

"Substantial business relationship" means the extent of a
business relationship necessary under Virginia law to make a
guarantee contract issued incident to that relationship valid
and enforceable.  A guarantee contract is issued "incident to
that relationship" if it arises from and depends on existing
economic transactions between the guarantor and the owner
or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor.

"Tangible net worth" means the tangible assets that
remain after deducting liabilities; such assets do not include
intangibles such as goodwill and rights to patents or
royalties.  For purposes of this definition, "assets" means all
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existing and all probable future economic benefits obtained
or controlled by a particular entity as a result of past
transactions.

"Termination" under Appendix III and Appendix IV means
only those changes that could result in a gap in coverage as
where the insured has not obtained substitute coverage or
has obtained substitute coverage with a different retroactive
date than the retroactive date of the original policy.

"Underground storage tank" or "UST" means any one or
combination of tanks (including underground pipes
connected thereto) that is used to contain an accumulation of
regulated substances, and the volume of which (including the
volume of underground pipes connected thereto) is 10% or
more beneath the surface of the ground.  This term does not
include any:

1.  Farm or residential tank of 1,100 gallons or less
capacity used for storing motor fuel for noncommercial
purposes;

2.  Tank used for storing heating oil for consumption on
the premises where stored, except for tanks having a
capacity of more than 5,000 gallons and used for storing
heating oil;

3.  Septic tank;

4.  Pipeline facility (including gathering lines) regulated
under:

a.  The Natural Gas Pipeline Safety Act of 1968 (49
USC App. 1671, et seq.);,

b.  The Hazardous Liquid Pipeline Safety Act of 1979
(49 USC App. 2001, et seq.);, or

c.  Which is an intrastate pipeline facility regulated
under state laws comparable to the provisions of the
law referred to in subdivision 4 a or 4 b of this
definition;

5.  Surface impoundment, pit, pond, or lagoon;

6.  Stormwater or wastewater collection system;

7.  Flow-through process tank;

8.  Liquid trap or associated gathering lines directly
related to oil or gas production and gathering
operations; or

9.  Storage tank situated in an underground area (such
as a basement, cellar, mineworking, drift, shaft, or
tunnel) if the storage tank is situated upon or above the
surface of the floor.

The term "underground storage tank" or "UST" does not
include any pipes connected to any tank which is described
in subdivisions 1 through 9 of this definition.

"UST system" or "tank system" means an underground
storage tank, connected underground piping, underground
ancillary equipment, and containment system, if any.

"9 VAC 25-580-10 et seq." means the Underground
Storage Tanks:  Technical Standards and Corrective Action
Requirements regulation promulgated by the board.

9 VAC 25-590-20.  Applicability.

A.  This chapter applies to owners and operators of all
petroleum underground storage tank (UST) systems
regulated under 9 VAC 25-580-10 et seq. (Underground
storage tanks; Technical standards and Corrective action
requirements regulation) and petroleum storage tank
vendors, except as otherwise provided in this section.

B.  Owners and operators of petroleum UST systems and
petroleum storage tank vendors are subject to these
requirements if they are in operation on or after the date for
compliance established in 9 VAC 25-590-30.

C.  State and federal government entities whose debts and
liabilities are the debts and liabilities of the Commonwealth
of Virginia or the United States have the requisite financial
strength and stability to fulfill their financial assurance
requirements and are relieved of the requirements to further
demonstrate an ability to provide financial responsibility
under this chapter.

D.  The requirements of this chapter do not apply to
owners and operators of any UST system described in 9
VAC 25-580-20 B or C.

E.  If the owner and operator of a petroleum underground
storage tank are separate persons, only one person is
required to demonstrate financial responsibility; however,
both parties are liable in event of noncompliance.
Regardless of which party complies, the date set for
compliance at a particular facility is determined by the
characteristics of the owner as set forth in 9 VAC 25-590-30.

9 VAC 25-590-30.  Compliance dates.

Owners of petroleum underground storage tanks and
petroleum storage tank vendors are required to comply with
the requirements of this chapter in accordance with the
compliance dates established in federal regulations by the
United States Environmental Protection Agency. by the
following dates:

1.  All petroleum marketing firms owning 1,000 or more
USTs and all other UST owners that report a tangible net
worth of $20 million or more to the U.S. Securities and
Exchange Commission (SEC), Dun and Bradstreet, the
Energy Information Administration, or the Rural
Electrification Administration: January 24, 1989; except
that compliance for owners and operators using the
mechanisms specified in 9 VAC 25-590-70 or 9 VAC 25-
590-90 is required by July 24, 1989.

2.  All petroleum marketing firms owning 100-999 USTs:
October 26, 1989;

3.  All petroleum marketing firms owning 13-99 USTs at
more than one facility:  April 26, 1991;
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4.  All petroleum UST owners not described in
subdivision 1, 2, or 3 of this section, excluding local
government entities:  December 31, 1993;

5.  All local government entities (including Indian tribes)
not included in subdivision 6 of this section:  February
18, 1994; or

6.  Indian tribes that own USTs on Indian lands which
meet the applicable technical requirements of 9 VAC 25-
580-10 et seq.:  December 31, 1998.

9 VAC 25-590-40.  Amount and scope of required
financial responsibility requirement.

A.  Owners or operators of petroleum underground storage
tanks and petroleum storage tank vendors must shall
demonstrate financial responsibility for taking corrective
action and for compensating third parties for bodily injury
and property damage caused by accidental releases arising
from the operation of petroleum underground storage tanks
in the following per-occurrence and annual aggregate
amounts:

1.  Owners and operators with 600,000 gallons or less of
petroleum pumped on an annual basis into all
underground storage tanks owned or operated, $5,000
per occurrence for taking corrective action and $15,000
per occurrence for compensating third parties, with an
annual aggregate of $20,000;

2.  Owners and operators with between 600,001 to
1,200,000 gallons of petroleum pumped on an annual
basis into all underground storage tanks owned or
operated, $10,000 per occurrence for taking corrective
action and $30,000 per occurrence for compensating
third parties, with an annual aggregate of $40,000;

3.  Owners and operators with between 1,200,001 to
1,800,000 gallons of petroleum pumped on an annual
basis into all underground storage tanks owned or
operated, $20,000 per occurrence for taking corrective
action and $60,000 per occurrence for compensating
third parties, with an annual aggregate of $80,000;

4.  Owners and operators with between 1,800,001 to
2,400,000 gallons of petroleum pumped on an annual
basis into all underground storage tanks owned or
operated, $30,000 per occurrence for taking corrective
action and $120,000 per occurrence for compensating
third parties, with an annual aggregate of $150,000;

5.  Owners and operators with in excess of 2,400,000
gallons of petroleum pumped on an annual basis into all
underground storage tanks owned or operated, $50,000
per occurrence for taking corrective action and $150,000
per occurrence for compensating third parties, with an
annual aggregate of $200,000;

6.  Petroleum storage tank vendors and other owners
and operators, $50,000 per occurrence for taking
corrective action and $150,000 per occurrence for
compensating third parties, with an annual aggregate of
$200,000.

1.  For owners or operators of petroleum underground
storage tanks that are located at petroleum marketing
facilities, or that handle an average of more than 10,000
gallons of petroleum per month based on annual
throughput for the previous calendar year; $1 million.

2.  For all other owners or operators of petroleum
underground storage tanks; $500,000.

B.  Owners and operators of petroleum underground
storage tanks shall demonstrate financial responsibility for
taking corrective action and for compensating third parties for
bodily injury and property damage caused by accidental
releases arising from the operation of petroleum underground
storage tanks in at least the following annual aggregate
amounts:

1.  For owners and operators of 1 to 100 petroleum
underground storage tanks, $1 million; and

2.  For owners and operators of 101 or more petroleum
underground storage tanks, $2 million.

C.  Owners and operators who demonstrate financial
responsibility shall maintain copies of those records on which
the determination is based.  The following documents may be
used for purposes of demonstrating financial responsibility by
owners or operators to support a financial responsibility
requirement determination:

1.  Copies of invoices from petroleum suppliers which
indicate the gallons of petroleum pumped into all
underground storage tanks on an annual basis.

2.  Copies of disposal or recycling receipts which indicate
the gallons of petroleum pumped out of all underground
storage tanks on an annual basis.

3.  Letters from petroleum suppliers or disposal or
recycling firms on the supplier's, disposer's or recycler's
letterhead, which are signed by the appropriate financial
officer and which indicate the gallons of petroleum
pumped into or out of all of the owner's or operator's
underground storage tanks on an annual basis.

4.  Any other form of documentation which the board
may deem to be acceptable evidence to support the
financial responsibility requirement determination.

B. D.  For the purposes of subsections A and E only this
section, "a petroleum underground storage tank" means a
single containment unit and does not mean combinations of
single containment units.

C.  Except as provided in subsection D, E.  If the owner or
operator or petroleum storage tank vendor uses separate
mechanisms or separate combinations of mechanisms to
demonstrate financial responsibility for: 1. (i) taking
corrective action; 2. (ii) compensating third parties for bodily
injury and property damage caused by sudden accidental
releases; or 3. (iii) compensating third parties for bodily injury
and property damage caused by nonsudden accidental
releases, the amount of assurance provided by each
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mechanism or combination of mechanisms must shall be in
the full amount specified in subsection A of this section.

D. F.  If an owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor uses separate mechanisms or separate combinations
of mechanisms to demonstrate financial responsibility for
different petroleum underground storage tanks, the annual
aggregate required for each mechanism shall be $200,000
the amount specified in subsection B.

E. G.  If assurance is being demonstrated by a
combination of mechanisms, the owner or operator or
petroleum storage tank vendor shall demonstrate financial
responsibility in the appropriate amount specified in 9 VAC
25-590-40 A of annual aggregate assurance specified in
subsection B of this section, by the first-occurring effective
date anniversary of any one of the mechanisms combined
(other than a financial test or guarantee) to provide
assurance.

F. H.  The amounts of assurance required under this
section exclude legal defense costs.

G. I.  The required per-occurrence and annual aggregate
coverage amounts do not in any way limit the liability of the
owner or operator and petroleum storage tank vendor.

9 VAC 25-590-50.  Allowable mechanisms and
combinations of mechanisms.

A.  Subject to the limitations of subsection B of this
section, an owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor may use any one or combination of the mechanisms
listed in 9 VAC 25-590-60 through 9 VAC 25-590-120 to
demonstrate financial responsibility under this chapter for
one or more underground storage tanks.  A local government
owner or operator may use any one or combination of the
mechanisms listed in 9 VAC 25-590-60 through 9 VAC 25-
590-110 and 9 VAC 25-590-250 to demonstrate financial
responsibility under this chapter for one or more underground
storage tanks.

B.  An owner or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor
may use self-insurance in combination with a guarantee only
if, for the purpose of meeting the requirements of the
financial test under this chapter, the financial statements of
the owner or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor are
not consolidated with the financial statements of the
guarantor.

9 VAC 25-590-60.  Financial test of self-insurance.

A.  An owner or operator, petroleum storage tank vendor,
and/or guarantor, may satisfy the requirements of 9 VAC 25-
590-40 by passing a financial test as specified in this
section.  To pass the financial test of self-insurance, the
owner or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor, and/or
guarantor must shall meet the requirements of subsections B
or C, and D of this section based on year-end financial
statements for the latest completed fiscal financial reporting
year.

B. 1.  The owner or operator, petroleum storage tank
vendor, and/or guarantor must shall have a tangible net

worth at least equal to the total of the applicable
aggregate amount required by 9 VAC 25-590-40 A B for
which a financial test is used to demonstrate financial
responsibility, except as provided in 9 VAC 25-590-210.

[ 2.  In addition to the requirement set forth in subdivision
1 of this subsection, the owner or operator and/or
guarantor shall also have a tangible net worth at least
equal to 10 times the total applicable aggregate amount
required for demonstration of financial responsibility for
operators of facilities and vessels in accordance with
§ 62.1-44.34:16 of the Code of Virginia for which a
financial test for self-insurance is used. ]

[ 2. 3. ]  In addition to the requirements set forth in
[ subdivisions subdivision ] 1 [ and 2 ] of this subsection,
the owner or operator, petroleum storage tank vendor,
and/or guarantor must shall also have a tangible net
worth of at least 10 times:

a.  The sum of the corrective action cost estimates,
the current closure and postclosure care cost
estimates, and amount of liability coverage for which
a financial test for self-insurance is used in each state
of business operations to demonstrate financial
responsibility to the EPA under 40 CFR
§§ 264.101(b), 264.143, 264.145, 265.143, 265.145,
264.147, and 265.147 (1997), to another state
implementing agency under a state program
authorized by EPA under 40 CFR Part 271 (1997) or
the Department of Waste Management Virginia Waste
Management Board under 9 VAC 20-60-590 C, 9 VAC
20-60-590 E, 9 VAC 20-60-590 G, 9 VAC 20-60-790
L, 9 VAC 20-60-810 C, 9 VAC 20-60-810 E, 9 VAC
20-60-810 G ( of the Virginia Hazardous Waste
Management Regulations); and

b.  The sum of current plugging and abandonment
cost estimates for which a financial test for self-
insurance is used in each state of business operations
to demonstrate financial responsibility to EPA under
40 CFR 144.63 (1997) or to a state implementing
agency under a state program authorized by EPA
under 40 CFR Part 145 (1997).

[ 3. 4. ] The owner and operator, petroleum storage tank
vendor and/or guarantor must shall comply with either
subdivision a or b below:

a. (1) The fiscal financial reporting year-end financial
statements of the owner or operator, petroleum
storage tank vendor, and/or guarantor must shall be
examined by an independent certified public
accountant and be accompanied by the
accountant's report of the examination; and

(2) The firms financial reporting year-end financial
statements of the owner or operator and/or
guarantor cannot include an adverse auditor's
opinion, a disclaimer of opinion, or a "going
concern" qualification.
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b. (1) (a) File financial statements annually with the
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, the
Energy Information Administration, or the Rural
Electrification Administration; or

(b) Report annually the firms tangible net worth of
the owner or operator and/or guarantor to Dun
and Bradstreet, and Dun and Bradstreet must
shall have assigned the firm a financial strength
rating of at least BB ($200,000 to $299,999)
which at least equals the amount of financial
responsibility required by the owner or operator
under subdivisions 1 [ , and ] 2 [ , and 3 ] of this
subsection.  Relevant Dun and Bradstreet ratings
are as follows (current Dun and Bradstreet ratings
will be used for demonstration requirements which
exceed the annual aggregate amounts listed
below):

Annual Aggregate
Requirement

Dun and Bradstreet
Rating

$20,000 EE ($20,000 to $34,999)
$40,000 DC ($50,000 to $74,999)
$80,000 CB ($125,000 to

$199,999)
$150,000 BB ($200,000 to

$299,999)
$200,000 BB ($200,000 to

$299,999); and

(2) The firm's financial reporting year-end financial
statements of the owner or operator and/or
guarantor, if, independently audited, cannot include
an adverse auditor's opinion, a disclaimer of
opinion, or a "going concern" qualification.

[ 4. 5. ]  The owner or operator or petroleum storage
tank vendor and/or guarantor must shall have a letter
signed by the chief financial officer worded identically as
specified in Appendix I/Alternative I or Appendix XI.

C. 1.  The owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor, and/or guarantor must shall have a tangible net
worth at least equal to the total of the applicable
aggregate amount required by 9 VAC 25-590-40 A B for
which a financial test is used to demonstrate financial
responsibility, except as provided in 9 VAC 25-590-210.

[ 2.  In addition to the requirement set forth in subdivision
1 of this subsection, the owner or operator and/or
guarantor shall also have a tangible net worth at least
equal to six times the total applicable aggregate amount
required for demonstration of financial responsibility for
operators of facilities and vessels in accordance with
§ 62.1-44.34:16 of the Code of Virginia for which a
financial test for self-insurance is used. ]

[ 2. 3. ]  In addition to the requirements set forth in
[ subdivisions subdivision ] 1 [ and 2 ] of this subsection,
the owner or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor,
and/or guarantor must shall also have a tangible net
worth of at least six times:

a.  Meet The financial test requirements for self
insurance of the corrective action cost estimates, the
current closure and post-closure care cost estimates,
and amount of liability coverage in each state of
business operations to the EPA under 40 CFR
§§ 264.101(b), 264.143, 264.145, 265.143, 265.145,
264.147, and 265.147 (1997), to another state
implementing agency under a state program
authorized by EPA under 40 CFR Part 271 (1997) or
the Department of Waste Management Virginia Waste
Management Board under 9 VAC 20-60-590 C, 9 VAC
20-60-590 E, 9 VAC 20-60-590 G, 9 VAC 20-60-790
L, 9 VAC 20-60-810 C, 9 VAC 20-60-810 E, 9 VAC
20-60-810 G ( of the Virginia Hazardous Waste
Management Regulations); and

b.  Meet The financial test requirements for self-
insurance of current plugging and abandonment cost
estimates in each state of business operations to EPA
under 40 CFR § 144.63 (1997) or to a state
implementing agency under a state program
authorized by EPA under 40 CFR Part 145 (1997).

[ 3. 4. ]  The fiscal financial reporting year-end financial
statements of the owner or operator or petroleum
storage tank vendor, and/or guarantor, must shall be
examined by an independent certified public accountant
and be accompanied by the accountant's report of the
examination.

[ 4. 5. ]  The firms financial reporting year-end financial
statements of the owner or operator and/or guarantor
cannot include an adverse auditor's opinion, a
disclaimer of opinion, or a "going concern" qualification.

[ 5. 6. ]  If the financial statements of the owner or
operator or petroleum storage tank vendor, and/or
guarantor are not submitted annually to the U.S.
Securities and Exchange Commission, the Energy
Information Administration or the Rural Electrification
Administration, the owner or operator or petroleum
storage tank vendor, and/or guarantor, must shall obtain
a special report by an independent certified public
accountant stating that:

a.  He The accountant has compared the data that the
letter from the chief financial officer specified as
having been derived from the latest financial reporting
year-end financial statements of the owner or operator
or petroleum storage tank vendor, and/or guarantor,
with the amounts in such financial statements; and

b.  In connection with that comparison, no matters
came to his the accountant's attention which caused
him to believe that the specified data should be
adjusted.

[ 6. 7. ]  The owner or operator or petroleum storage
tank vendor, and/or guarantor, must shall have a letter
signed by the chief financial officer, worded identically
as specified in Appendix I/Alternative II.
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D.  To demonstrate that it meets meet the financial
demonstration test under subsections B or C of this section,
the chief financial officer of the owner or operator, petroleum
storage tank vendor, and/or guarantor must shall sign, within
120 days of the close of each financial reporting year, as
defined by the 12-month period for which financial
statements used to support the financial test are prepared, a
letter worded identically as specified in Appendix I with the
appropriate alternative I or II or Appendix XI, except that the
instructions in brackets are to be replaced by the relevant
information and the brackets deleted.

E.  If an owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor using the test to provide financial assurance finds
that he no longer meets the requirements of the financial test
based on the financial reporting year-end financial
statements, the owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor must shall obtain alternative coverage within 150
days of the end of the year for which financial statements
have been prepared.

F.  The board may require reports of financial condition at
any time from the owner or operator, petroleum storage tank
vendor, and/or guarantor.  If the board finds, on the basis of
such reports or other information, that the owner or operator,
petroleum storage tank vendor, and/or guarantor no longer
meets the financial test requirements of subsection B or C
and D of this section, the owner or operator or petroleum
storage tank vendor must shall obtain alternate coverage
within 30 days after notification of such a finding.

G.  If the owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor fails to obtain alternate assurance within 150 days of
finding that he no longer meets the requirements of the
financial test based on the financial reporting year-end
financial statements, or within 30 days of notification by the
board that he or she no longer meets the requirements of the
financial test, the owner or operator or petroleum storage
tank vendor must shall notify the board of such failure within
10 days.

9 VAC 25-590-70.  Guarantee.

A.  An owner or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor
may satisfy the requirements of 9 VAC 25-590-40 by
obtaining a guarantee that conforms to the requirements of
this section.  The guarantor must shall be:

1.  A firm that:

a.  Possesses a controlling interest in the owner or
operator or petroleum storage tank vendor;

b.  Possesses a controlling interest in a firm described
under subdivision A 1 a of this section; or

c.  Is controlled through stock ownership by a
common parent firm that possesses a controlling
interest in the owner or operator or petroleum storage
tank vendor; or

2.  A firm engaged in a substantial business relationship
with the owner or operator or petroleum storage tank

vendor and issuing the guarantee as an act incident to
that business relationship.

B.  Within 120 days of the close of each financial reporting
year, the guarantor must shall demonstrate that it meets the
financial test criteria of 9 VAC 25-590-60 B or C and D based
on year-end financial statements for the latest completed
financial reporting year by completing the letter from the
chief financial officer described in Appendix I or Appendix XI
and must shall deliver the letter to the owner or operator or
petroleum storage tank vendor.  If the guarantor fails to meet
the requirements of the financial test at the end of any
financial reporting year, within 120 days of the end of that
financial reporting year, the guarantor shall send by certified
mail, before cancellation or nonrenewal of the guarantee,
notice to the owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor.  If the board notifies the guarantor that he no longer
meets the requirements of the financial test of 9 VAC 25-
590-60 B or C and D, the guarantor must shall notify the
owner or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor within
10 days of receiving such notification from the board.  In
both cases, the guarantee will terminate no less than 120
days after the date the owner or operator or petroleum
storage tank vendor receives the notification, as evidenced
by the return receipt.  The owner or operator or petroleum
storage tank vendor must shall obtain alternate coverage as
specified in 9 VAC 25-590-190 C.

C.  The guarantee must shall be worded identically as
specified in Appendix II, except that instructions in brackets
are to be replaced with the relevant information and the
brackets deleted.

D.  An owner or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor
who uses a guarantee to satisfy the requirements of 9 VAC
25-590-40 must shall establish a standby trust fund when the
guarantee is obtained.  Under the terms of the guarantee, all
amounts paid by the guarantor under the guarantee will be
deposited directly into the standby trust fund in accordance
with instructions from the board under 9 VAC 25-590-170.
This standby trust fund must shall meet the requirements
specified in 9 VAC 25-590-120.

9 VAC 25-590-80.  Insurance and group self-insurance
pool coverage.

A. 1.  An owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor may satisfy the requirements of 9 VAC 25-590-
40 by obtaining liability insurance that conforms to the
requirements of this section from a qualified insurer or
group self-insurance pool.

2.  Such insurance may be in the form of a separate
insurance policy or an endorsement to an existing
insurance policy.

3.  Group self-insurance pools must shall comply with
§ 62.1-44.34:12 of the Code of Virginia and the State
Corporation Commission Bureau of Insurance
Regulation No. 33 (14 VAC 5-380-10 et seq.).

B.  Each insurance policy must shall be amended by an
endorsement worded in no respect less favorable than the
coverage as specified in Appendix III, or evidenced by a
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certificate of insurance worded identically as specified in
Appendix IV, except that instructions in brackets must shall
be replaced with the relevant information and the brackets
deleted.

C.  Each insurance policy must shall be issued by an
insurer or a group self-insurance pool that, at a minimum, is
licensed to transact the business of insurance or eligible to
provide insurance as an excess or approved surplus lines
insurer in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

D.  Each insurance policy shall provide first dollar
coverage.  The insurer or group self-insurance pool shall be
liable for the payment of all amounts within any deductible
applicable to the policy to the provider of corrective action or
damaged third party, as provided in this chapter, with a right
of reimbursement by the insured for any such payment made
by the insurer or group.  This provision does not apply with
respect to that amount of any deductible for which coverage
is demonstrated under another mechanism or combination of
mechanisms as specified in 9 VAC 25-590-60 through 9
VAC 25-590-110 and 9 VAC 25-590-250.

9 VAC 25-590-90.  Surety bond.

A.  An owner or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor
may satisfy the requirements of 9 VAC 25-590-40 by
obtaining a surety bond that conforms to the requirements of
this section.  The surety company issuing the bond must
shall be licensed to operate as a surety in the
Commonwealth of Virginia and be among those listed as
acceptable sureties on federal bonds in the latest Circular
570 of the U.S. Department of the Treasury.

B.  The surety bond must shall be worded identically as
specified in Appendix V, except that instructions in brackets
must shall be replaced with the relevant information and the
brackets deleted.

C.  Under the terms of the bond, the surety will become
liable on the bond obligation when the owner or operator or
petroleum storage tank vendor fails to perform as
guaranteed by the bond.  In all cases, the surety's liability is
limited to the per-occurrence and annual aggregate penal
sums.

D.  The owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor who uses a surety bond to satisfy the requirements of
9 VAC 25-590-40 must shall establish a standby trust fund
when the surety bond is acquired.  Under the terms of the
bond, all amounts paid by the surety under the bond will be
deposited directly into the standby trust fund in accordance
with instructions from the board under 9 VAC 25-590-170.
This standby trust fund must shall meet the requirements
specified in 9 VAC 25-590-120.

9 VAC 25-590-100.  Letter of credit.

A.  An owner or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor
may satisfy the requirements of 9 VAC 25-590-40 by
obtaining an irrevocable standby letter of credit that
conforms to the requirements of this section.  The issuing
institution must shall be an entity that has the authority to
issue letters of credit in the Commonwealth of Virginia and

whose letter-of-credit operations are regulated and examined
by a federal agency or the State Corporation Commission.

B.  The letter of credit must shall be worded identically as
specified in Appendix VI, except that instructions in brackets
are to be replaced with the relevant information and the
brackets deleted.

C.  An owner or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor
who uses a letter of credit to satisfy the requirements of 9
VAC 25-590-40 must shall also establish a standby trust
fund when the letter of credit is acquired.  Under the terms of
the letter of credit, all amounts paid pursuant to a draft by
the board will be deposited by the issuing institution directly
into the standby trust fund in accordance with instructions
from the board under 9 VAC 25-590-170.  This standby trust
fund must shall meet the requirements specified in 9 VAC
25-590-120.

D.  The letter of credit must shall be irrevocable with a
term specified by the issuing institution.  The letter of credit
must shall provide that credit will be automatically renewed
for the same term as the original term, unless, at least 120
days before the current expiration date, the issuing institution
notifies the owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor by certified mail of its decision not to renew the letter
of credit.  Under the terms of the letter of credit, the 120 days
will begin on the date when the owner or operator or
petroleum storage tank vendor receives the notice, as
evidenced by the return receipt.

9 VAC 25-590-110.  Trust fund.

A.  An owner or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor
may satisfy the requirements of 9 VAC 25-590-40 by
establishing an irrevocable trust fund that conforms to the
requirements of this section.  The trustee must shall be an
entity that has the authority to act as a trustee and whose
trust operations are regulated and examined by a federal
agency or the State Corporation Commission.

B.  The trust fund shall be irrevocable and shall continue
until terminated at the written direction of the grantor and the
trustee, or by the trustee and the State Water Control Board,
if the grantor ceases to exist.  Upon termination of the trust,
all remaining trust property, less final trust administration
expenses, shall be delivered to the owner or operator or
petroleum storage tank vendor.  The wording of the trust
agreement must shall be identical to the wording specified in
Appendix VII, and must shall be accompanied by a formal
certification of acknowledgment as specified in Appendix
VIII.

C.  The irrevocable trust fund, when established, must
shall be funded for the full required amount of coverage, or
funded for part of the required amount of coverage and used
in combination with other mechanism or mechanisms that
provide the remaining required coverage.

D.  If the value of the trust fund is greater than the required
amount of coverage, the owner or operator or petroleum
storage tank vendor may submit a written request to the
board for release of the excess.
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E.  If other financial assurance as specified in this chapter
is substituted for all or part of the trust fund, the owner or
operator or petroleum storage tank vendor may submit a
written request to the board for release of the excess.

F.  Within 60 days after receiving a request from the owner
or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor for release of
funds as specified in subsection D or E of this section, the
board will instruct the trustee to release to the owner or
operator or petroleum storage tank vendor such funds as the
board specifies in writing.

9 VAC 25-590-120.  Standby trust fund.

A.  An owner or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor
using any one of the mechanisms authorized by 9 VAC 25-
590-70, 9 VAC 25-590-90 and 9 VAC 25-590-100 must shall
establish a standby trust fund when the mechanism is
acquired.  The trustee of the standby trust fund must shall be
an entity that has the authority to act as a trustee and whose
trust operations are regulated and examined by a federal
agency or the State Corporation Commission.

B.  The standby trust agreement or trust agreement must
shall be worded identically as specified in Appendix VII,
except that instructions in brackets are to be replaced with
the relevant information and the brackets deleted, and
accompanied by a formal certification of acknowledgment as
specified in Appendix VIII.

C.  The board will instruct the trustee to refund the balance
of the standby trust fund to the provider of financial
assurance if the board determines that no additional
corrective action costs or third party liability claims will occur
as a result of a release covered by the financial assurance
mechanism for which the standby trust fund was established.

D.  An owner or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor
may establish one trust fund as the depository mechanism
for all funds assured in compliance with this rule.

9 VAC 25-590-130.  Substitution of financial assurance
mechanisms by owner or operator or petroleum storage
tank vendor.

A.  An owner or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor
may substitute any alternate financial assurance
mechanisms as specified in this chapter, provided that at all
times he maintains an effective financial assurance
mechanism or combination of mechanisms that satisfies the
requirements of 9 VAC 25-590-40.

B.  After obtaining alternate financial assurance as
specified in this chapter, an owner or operator or petroleum
storage tank vendor may cancel a financial assurance
mechanism by providing notice to the provider of financial
assurance.

9 VAC 25-590-140.  Cancellation or nonrenewal by a
provider of financial assurance.

A.  Except as otherwise provided, a provider of financial
assurance may cancel or fail to renew an assurance
mechanism by sending a notice of termination by certified

mail to the owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor.

1.  Termination of a local government guarantee, a
guarantee, a surety bond, or a letter of credit may not
occur until 120 days after the date on which the owner
or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor receives
the notice of termination, as evidenced by the return
receipt.

2.  Termination of insurance or group self-insurance
pool coverage, except for nonpayment or
misrepresentation by the insured, may not occur until 60
days after the date on which the owner or operator or
petroleum storage tank vendor receives the notice of
termination, as evidenced by the return receipt.
Termination for nonpayment of premium or
misrepresentation by the insured may not occur until a
minimum of 15 days after the date on which the owner
or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor receives
the notice of termination, as evidenced by the return
receipt.

B.  If a provider of financial responsibility cancels or fails
to renew for reasons other than incapacity of the provider as
specified in 9 VAC 25-590-150 9 VAC 25-590-190, the owner
or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor must shall
obtain alternate coverage as specified in this section within
60 days after receipt of the notice of termination.  If the
owner or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor fails to
obtain alternate coverage within 60 days after receipt of the
notice of termination, the owner or operator or petroleum
storage tank vendor must shall immediately notify the board
of such failure and submit:

1.  The name and address of the provider of financial
assurance;

2.  The effective date of termination; and

3.  The evidence of the financial assurance mechanism
subject to the termination maintained in accordance with
9 VAC 25-590-160 B.

9 VAC 25-590-150.  Reporting by owner or operator or
petroleum storage tank vendor.

A.  An owner or operator must shall submit the appropriate
original forms listed in 9 VAC 25-590-160 B documenting
current evidence of financial responsibility to the board within
30 days after the owner or operator identifies or confirms a
release from an underground storage tank required to be
reported under 9 VAC 25-580-220 or 9 VAC 25-580-240.
For all subsequent releases within the same period of time
for which the documents submitted according to this
subsection are still effective, the owner or operator shall
submit a letter which identifies the owner's or operator's
name and address and the underground storage tanks'
location by site name, street address, board incident
designation number and a statement that the financial
responsibility documentation previously provided to the board
is currently in force.
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B.  An owner or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor
must shall submit the appropriate forms listed in 9 VAC 25-
590-160 B documenting current evidence of financial
responsibility to the board if the owner or operator or
petroleum storage tank vendor fails to obtain alternate
coverage as required by this chapter within 30 days after the
owner or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor receives
notice of:

1.  Commencement of a voluntary or involuntary
proceeding under Title 11 (Bankruptcy), U.S. Code,
naming a provider of financial assurance as a debtor;

2.  Suspension or revocation of the authority of a
provider of financial assurance to issue a financial
assurance mechanism;

3.  Failure of a guarantor to meet the requirements of
the financial test; or

4.  Other incapacity of a provider of financial assurance.

C.  An owner or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor
must shall submit the appropriate forms listed in 9 VAC 25-
590-160 B documenting current evidence of financial
responsibility to the board as required by 9 VAC 25-590-60
G and 9 VAC 25-590-140 B.

D.  An owner or operator must shall certify compliance
with the financial responsibility requirements of this chapter
as specified in the new tank notification form when notifying
the board of the installation of a new underground storage
tank under 9 VAC 25-580-70.

E.  The board may require an owner or operator or
petroleum storage tank vendor to submit evidence of
financial assurance as described in 9 VAC 25-590-160 B or
other information relevant to compliance with this chapter at
any time.

9 VAC 25-590-160.  Recordkeeping.

A.  Owners or operators and petroleum storage tank
vendors must shall maintain evidence of all financial
assurance mechanisms used to demonstrate financial
responsibility under this chapter for an underground storage
tank until released from the requirements of this chapter
under 9 VAC 25-590-180.  An owner or operator and
petroleum storage tank vendor must shall maintain such
evidence at the underground storage tank site or the owner's
or operator's and petroleum storage tank vendor's place of
business work in this Commonwealth.  Records maintained
off-site must shall be made available upon request of the
board.

B.  Owners or operators and petroleum storage tank
vendors must shall maintain the following types of evidence
of financial responsibility:

1.  An owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor using an assurance mechanism specified in 9
VAC 25-590-60 through 9 VAC 25-590-110 must and 9
VAC 25-590-250 shall maintain a copy of the instrument
worded as specified.

2.  An owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor using a financial test or guarantee must, or a
local government financial test or a local government
guarantee supported by the local government financial
test, shall maintain a copy of the chief financial officer's
letter based on year-end financial statements for the
most recent completed financial reporting year.  Such
evidence must shall be on file no later than 120 days
after the close of the financial reporting year.

3.  An owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor using a guarantee, surety bond, or letter of credit
must shall maintain a copy of the signed standby trust
fund agreement and copies of any amendments to the
agreement.

4.  A local government owner or operator using a local
government guarantee with standby trust under 9 VAC
25-590-250 shall maintain a copy of the signed standby
trust fund agreement and copies of any amendments to
the agreement.

5.  A local government owner or operator using the local
government bond rating test under 9 VAC 25-590-250
shall maintain a copy of its bond rating published within
the last 12 months by Moody's or Standard & Poor's.

6.  A local government owner or operator using the local
government guarantee under 9 VAC 25-590-250, where
the guarantor's demonstration of financial responsibility
relies on the bond rating test under 9 VAC 25-590-250
shall maintain a copy of the guarantor's bond rating
published within the last 12 months by Moody's or
Standard & Poor's.

4. 7.  An owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor using an insurance policy or group self-insurance
pool coverage must shall maintain a copy of the signed
insurance policy or group self-insurance pool coverage
policy, with the endorsement or certificate of insurance
and any amendments to the agreements.

8.  An owner or operator using a local government fund
under 9 VAC 25-590-250 shall maintain the following
documents:

a.  A copy of the state constitutional provision or local
government statute, charter, ordinance or order
dedicating the fund; and

b.  Year-end financial statements for the most recent
completed financial reporting year showing the amount
in the fund.  If the fund is established under 40 CFR
280.107(a)(3) (1997) (as incorporated by reference in
9 VAC 25-590-250) using incremental funding backed
by bonding authority, the financial statements shall
show the previous year's balance, the amount of
funding during the year, and the closing balance in the
fund.

c.  If the fund is established under 40 CFR
280.107(a)(3) (1997) (as incorporated by reference in
9 VAC 25-590-250) using incremental funding backed
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by bonding authority, the owner or operator shall also
maintain documentation of the required bonding
authority, including either the results of a voter
referendum (under 40 CFR 280.107(a)(3)(i) (1997))
(as incorporated by reference in 9 VAC 25-590-250),
or attestation by the Virginia Attorney General as
specified under 40 CFR 280.107(a)(3)(ii) (1997) (as
incorporated by reference in 9 VAC 25-590-250).

9.  A local government owner or operator using the local
government guarantee supported by the local
government fund shall maintain a copy of the guarantor's
year-end financial statements for the most recent
completed financial reporting year showing the amount
of the fund.

5. 10. a.  An owner or operator or petroleum storage
tank vendor using an assurance mechanism specified
in 9 VAC 25-590-60 through 9 VAC 25-590-110 must
or 9 VAC 25-590-250 shall maintain an updated copy
of a certification of financial responsibility worded
identically as specified in Appendix IX, except that
instructions in brackets are to be replaced with the
relevant information and the brackets deleted.

b.  The owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor must shall update this certification whenever
the financial assurance mechanism or mechanisms
used to demonstrate financial responsibility changes.

9 VAC 25-590-170.  Drawing on financial assurance
mechanism.

A.  Except as specified in subsection D of this section, the
board shall require the guarantor, surety, or institution
issuing a letter of credit to place the amount of funds
stipulated by the board, up to the limit of funds provided by
the financial assurance mechanism, into the standby trust if:

1. a.  The owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor fails to establish alternate financial assurance
within 60 days after receiving notice of cancellation of
the guarantee, surety bond, letter of credit; and

b.  The board determines or suspects that a release
from an underground storage tank covered by the
mechanism has occurred and so notifies the owner or
operator, or petroleum storage tank vendor, or the
owner or operator has notified the board pursuant to
Parts V (9 VAC 25-580-190 et seq.) and VI, 9 VAC
25-580-190 through 9 VAC 25-580-220 and 9 VAC
25-580-230 through 9 VAC 580-300 (9 VAC 25-580-
230 et seq.) of 9 VAC 25 Chapter 580 of a release
from an underground storage tank covered by the
mechanism; or

2.  The conditions of subdivision B 1 or B 2 a or B 2 b
subsection B of this section are satisfied.

B.  The board may draw on a standby trust fund when:

1.  The board makes a final determination that a release
has occurred and immediate or long-term corrective
action for the release is needed, and the owner or

operator, after appropriate notice and opportunity to
comply, has not conducted corrective action as required
under Part VI, (9 VAC 25-580-230 through 9 VAC 25-
580-300 et seq.); or

2.  The board has received either:

a.  Certification from the owner or operator or
petroleum storage tank vendor and the third party
liability claimant or claimants and from attorneys
representing the owner or operator and the third party
liability claimant or claimants that a third party liability
claim should be paid.  The certification must shall be
worded identically as specified in Appendix X, except
that instructions in brackets are to be replaced with
the relevant information and the brackets deleted; or

b.  A valid final court order establishing a judgment
against the owner or operator or petroleum storage
tank vendor for bodily injury or property damage
caused by an accidental release from an underground
storage tank covered by financial assurance under
this chapter and the board determines that the owner
or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor has not
satisfied the judgment.

C.  If the board determines that the amount of corrective
action costs and third party liability claims eligible for
payment under subsection B of this section may exceed the
balance of the standby trust fund and the obligation of the
provider of financial assurance, the first priority for payment
shall be corrective action costs necessary to protect human
health and the environment.  The board shall direct payment
from the standby trust fund for third party liability claims in
the order in which the board receives certifications under
subdivision B 2 a of this section and valid court orders under
subdivision B 2 b of this section.

D.  A local government acting as guarantor under 40 CFR
280.106(e) (1997) (as incorporated by reference in 9 VAC
25-590-250), the local government guarantee without
standby trust, shall make payments as directed by the
director under the circumstances described in subsection A,
B or C of this section.

9 VAC 25-590-180.  Release from the requirements.

An owner or operator is no longer required to maintain
financial responsibility under this chapter for an underground
storage tank after the tank has been properly closed or a
change-in-service properly completed or, if corrective action
is required, after corrective action has been completed and
the tank has been properly closed as required by Part VII, 9
VAC 25-580-310 through 9 VAC 25-580-350 (9 VAC 25-580-
320 et seq.) of 9 VAC 25 Chapter 580.

9 VAC 25-590-190.  Bankruptcy or other incapacity of
owner, operator, petroleum storage tank vendor or
provider of financial assurance.

A.  Within 10 days after commencement of a voluntary or
involuntary proceeding under Title 11 (Bankruptcy), U.S.
Code, naming an owner or operator or petroleum storage
tank vendor as debtor, the owner or operator or petroleum
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storage tank vendor must shall notify the board by certified
mail of such commencement and submit the appropriate
forms listed in 9 VAC 25-590-160 B documenting current
financial responsibility.

B.  Within 10 days after commencement of a voluntary or
involuntary proceeding under Title 11 (Bankruptcy), U.S.
Code, naming a guarantor providing financial assurance as
debtor, such guarantor must shall notify the owner or
operator or petroleum storage tank vendor by certified mail
of such commencement as required under the terms of the
guarantee specified in 9 VAC 25-590-70.

C.  Within 10 days after commencement of a voluntary or
involuntary proceeding under Title 11 (Bankruptcy), U.S.
Code, naming a local government owner or operator as
debtor, the local government owner or operator shall notify
the director by certified mail of such commencement and
submit the appropriate forms listed in 9 VAC 25-590-160 B
documenting current financial responsibility.

D.  Within 10 days after commencement of a voluntary or
involuntary proceeding under Title 11 (Bankruptcy), U.S.
Code, naming a guarantor providing a local government
financial assurance as debtor, such guarantor shall notify the
local government owner or operator by certified mail of such
commencement as required under the terms of the
guarantee specified in 40 CFR 280.106 (1997) (as
incorporated by reference in 9 VAC 25-590-250).

C. E.  An owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor who obtains financial assurance by a mechanism
other than the financial test of self-insurance will be deemed
to be without the required financial assurance in the event of
a bankruptcy or incapacity of its provider of financial
assurance, or a suspension or revocation of the authority of
the provider of financial assurance to issue a guarantee,
insurance policy, group self-insurance pool coverage policy,
surety bond, or letter of credit.  The owner or operator or
petroleum storage tank vendor must shall obtain alternate
financial assurance as specified in this regulation within 30
days after receiving notice of such an event.  If the owner or
operator or petroleum storage tank vendor does not obtain
alternate coverage within 30 days after such notification, he
must shall immediately notify the board in writing.

D. F.  Within 30 days after receipt of written notification
that the Virginia Underground Petroleum Storage Tank Fund
has become incapable of covering [ costs in excess of those
specified in 9 VAC 25-590-40 up to $1 million, for paying
for ] assured corrective action or third party compensation
costs, the owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor must shall obtain alternate financial assurance in
accordance with [ Subpart H of 40 CFR Part 280 (1997) 9
VAC 25-590-40 ].

9 VAC 25-590-200.  Replenishment of guarantees, letters
of credit or surety bonds.

A.  If at any time after a standby trust is funded upon the
instruction of the board with funds drawn from a guarantee,
letter of credit, or surety bond, and the amount in the
standby trust is reduced below the full amount of coverage

required, the owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor shall by the anniversary date of the financial
mechanism from which the funds were drawn:

1.  Replenish the value of financial assurance to equal
the full amount of coverage required; or

2.  Acquire another financial assurance mechanism for
the amount by which funds in the standby trust have
been reduced.

B.  For purposes of this section, the full amount of
coverage required is the amount of coverage to be provided
by 9 VAC 25-590-40.  If a combination of mechanisms was
used to provide the assurance funds which were drawn upon,
replenishment shall occur by the earliest anniversary date
among the mechanisms.

9 VAC 25-590-210.  Virginia Underground Petroleum
Storage Tank Fund (Fund).

A.  The Virginia Petroleum Storage Tank Fund will be used
for costs in excess of the financial responsibility
requirements specified under 9 VAC 25-590-40 A subsection
B of this section up to $1 million per occurrence for both
taking corrective action and compensating third parties for
bodily injury and property damage caused by accidental
releases from petroleum underground storage tanks in
accordance with the following:

1.  Corrective action disbursements for accidental
releases with no associated third party disbursements
from the fund shall not exceed:

a.  $995,000 for the $5,000 corrective action
requirement;

b.  $990,000 for the $10,000 corrective action
requirement;

c.  $980,000 for the $20,000 corrective action
requirement;

d.  $970,000 for the $30,000 corrective action
requirement;

e.  $950,000 for the $50,000 corrective action
requirement.

Third party disbursements for accidental releases with
no corrective action disbursements from the fund shall
not exceed:

a.  $985,000 for the $15,000 third party requirement;

b.  $970,000 for the $30,000 third party requirement;

c.  $940,000 for the $60,000 third party requirement;

d.  $880,000 for the $120,000 third party requirement;

e.  $850,000 for the $150,000 third party requirement.

Combined corrective action and third party
disbursements from the fund shall not exceed:

a.  $980,000 for the $20,000 combined requirement;

b.  $960,000 for the $40,000 combined requirement;
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c.  $920,000 for the $80,000 combined requirement;

d.  $850,000 for the $150,000 combined requirement;

e.  $800,000 for the $200,000 combined requirement.

The first priority for disbursements from the fund shall
be for corrective action costs necessary to protect
human health and the environment.

2.  Compensation for bodily injury and property damage
shall be paid to third-party liability claims against the
Fund shall parties only be paid (i) in accordance with
final court orders in cases which have been tried to final
judgment no longer subject to appeal, (ii) in accordance
with final arbitration awards not subject to appeal, or (iii)
where the board has been represented or in cases of an
agreed settlement between the third-party and the board
approved the settlement of claim between the owner or
operator and the third party prior to execution by the
parties.

The Commonwealth has not waived its sovereign
immunity and does not believe that it is a necessary
party to a private action against an owner or operator for
third party bodily injury and property damage.

2. 3.  Owner or operator managed cleanups.  An owner
or operator responding to a release and conducting a
board approved corrective action plan in accordance
with Parts V and VI, (9 VAC 25-580-190 through 9 VAC
25-580-300 9 VAC 25-580-310) may proceed to pay for
all costs incurred for such activities.  An accounting
submitted to the board of all costs incurred will be
reviewed and those costs in excess of the financial
responsibility requirements up to $1 million which are
reasonable and have been approved by the board will be
reimbursed from the fund.

3.  Joint owner or operator and board managed
cleanups.  An owner or operator responding to a release
and conducting a board approved corrective action plan
in accordance with Parts V and VI, 9 VAC 25-580-190
through 9 VAC 25-580-300 may proceed to pay for
those costs up to the amount of required financial
responsibility specified in 9 VAC 25-590-40 A.  An
accounting of all costs incurred shall be submitted to the
board and those costs which are reasonable and
approved by the board will be applied to the owner or
operator financial responsibility requirement.  After the
owner or operator meets the financial responsibility
requirement the site will become a state managed
cleanup.  In order to have an orderly transition from the
owner or operator managed cleanup to a board
managed cleanup, the owner or operator shall only
initiate activities associated with Part VI, 9 VAC 25-580-
260 through 9 VAC 25-580-300 which can be completed
within the owner or operator financial responsibility
requirement.

Owners or operators who cannot complete a corrective
action activity within the financial responsibility
requirement, shall make available upon demand by the
board the unexpended financial requirement moneys for

the board's use in continuing a state managed cleanup
at the site.  The foregoing does not relieve owners or
operators of their responsibility to conduct activities
associated with Part VI, 9 VAC 25-580-230 through 9
VAC 25-580-250.

4.  Owners or operators shall pay the financial
responsibility requirement specified in this section for
each occurrence.

4. 5.  No person shall receive reimbursement from the
fund for any costs or damages incurred:

a.  Where the person, his employee or agent, or
anyone within the privity or knowledge of that person,
has violated substantive environmental regulations
under 9 VAC 25-580-10 et seq. or this chapter; or

b.  Where the release occurrence is caused, in whole
or in part, by the willful misconduct or negligence of
the person, his employee or agent, or anyone within
the privity or knowledge of that person; or

c.  Where the person, his employee or agent, or
anyone within the privity or knowledge of that person,
has (i) failed to carry out the instructions of the board,
committed willful misconduct or been negligent in
carrying out or conducting actions under Part V or VI
(9 VAC 25-580-190 through 9 VAC 25-580-300 9 VAC
25-580-310) or (ii) has violated applicable federal or
state safety, construction or operating laws or
regulations in carrying out or conducting actions
under Parts V or VI (9 VAC 25-580-190 through 9
VAC 25-580-300 9 VAC 25-580-310); or

d.  Where the claim has been reimbursed or is
reimbursable, by an insurance policy, self-insurance
program or other financial mechanism.;

e.  Where the costs or damages were incurred
pursuant to Article 4.1 (§ 10.1-1429.1 et seq.) of
Chapter 14 of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia and
the regulations promulgated thereunder;

f.  For corrective action taken prior to December 22,
1989, by an owner or operator of an underground
storage tank, or an owner of an underground storage
tank exempted in subdivisions 1 and 2 of the definition
of an underground storage tank in 9 VAC 25-590-10,
or an owner of an aboveground storage tank with a
capacity of 5,000 gallons or less used for storing
heating oil for consumption on the premises where
stored; or

g.  Prior to January 1, 1992, by an operator of a facility
for containment and cleanup of a release from a
facility of a product subject to § 62.1-44.34:13 of the
Code of Virginia.

5. 6.  No person shall receive reimbursement from the
fund for third party bodily injury or property damage
claims:

a.  Where the release, occurrence, injury or property
damage is caused, in whole or in part, by the willful
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misconduct or negligence of the claimant owner or
operator, his employee or agent, or anyone within his
privity or knowledge; or

b.  Where the claim cost has been reimbursed or is
reimbursable, by an insurance policy, self-insurance
program or other financial mechanism.;

c.  Where the costs or damages were incurred
pursuant to Article 4.1 (§ 10.1-1429.1 et seq.) of
Chapter 14 of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia and
the regulations promulgated thereunder;

d.  Where the release was reported before December
22, 1989; or

e.  Where the owner or operator does not
demonstrate the reasonableness and necessity of the
claim costs.

B. 1.  The fund will be used to demonstrate financial
responsibility requirements for owners or operators in
excess of the amounts specified under 9 VAC 25-590-40
A in this subdivision up to the $1 million or $2 million
annual aggregate, as applicable, required by 40 CFR
280, Subpart H per occurrence and annual aggregate
requirements specified in 9 VAC 25-590-40 for both
taking corrective action and compensating third parties
for bodily injury and property damage caused by
accidental releases from petroleum underground storage
tanks.

a.  Owners and operators with 600,000 gallons or less
of petroleum pumped on an annual basis into all
underground storage tanks owned or operated,
$5,000 per occurrence for taking corrective action and
$15,000 per occurrence for compensating third
parties, with an annual aggregate of $20,000.

b.  Owners and operators with between 600,001 to
1,200,000 gallons of petroleum pumped on an annual
basis into all underground storage tanks owned or
operated, $10,000 per occurrence for taking corrective
action and $30,000 per occurrence for compensating
third parties, with an annual aggregate of $40,000.

c.  Owners and operators with between 1,200,001 to
1,800,000 gallons of petroleum pumped on an annual
basis into all underground  storage tanks owned or
operated, $20,000 per occurrence for taking corrective
action and $60,000 per occurrence for compensating
third parties, with an annual aggregate of $80,000.

d.  Owners and operators with between 1,800,001 to
2,400,000 gallons of petroleum pumped on an annual
basis into all underground storage tanks owned or
operated, $30,000 per occurrence for taking corrective
action and $120,000 per occurrence for compensating
third parties, with an annual aggregate of $150,000.

e.  Owners and operators with in excess of 2,400,000
gallons of petroleum pumped on an annual basis into
all underground storage tanks owned or operated,
$50,000 per occurrence for taking corrective action

and $150,000 per occurrence for compensating third
parties, with an annual aggregate of $200,000.

2.  The fund may be used to satisfy only the portion of
an owner or operator's financial responsibility
requirement specified in subdivision 1 of this subsection
and, therefore, shall be used in combination with one or
more of the mechanisms specified in 9 VAC 25-590-60
through 9 VAC 25-590-110 and 9 VAC 25-590-250.

3.  The requirements of 9 VAC 25-590-40 B apply solely
to financial responsibility demonstration requirements
under this section, and shall not affect reimbursements
paid under this section.

C.  This fund may also be used for the following:

1.  Costs incurred by the board for taking immediate
corrective action to contain or mitigate the effects of any
release of petroleum into the environment from an
underground storage tank if such action is necessary, in
the judgment of the board to protect human health and
the environment.

2.  Costs incurred by the board for taking both corrective
action and compensating third party liability claims
parties up to $1 million for any release of petroleum into
the environment from an underground storage tank:

a.  Whose owner or operator cannot be determined by
the board within 90 days; or

b.  Whose owner or operator is incapable, in the
judgment of the board, of carrying out such corrective
action properly and paying for third party liability
claims.

3.  Costs incurred by the board for taking corrective
action for any release of petroleum into the environment
from tanks which are otherwise specifically listed in 9
VAC 25-580-10 9 VAC 25-590-10 as exemptions in the
definition of an underground storage tank.

4.  All other uses authorized by § 62.1-44.34:11 of the
Code of Virginia.

D.  The board shall seek recovery of fund moneys
expended for corrective action in accordance with § 62.1-
44.34:11 of the Code of Virginia where the owner or operator
has violated substantive environmental regulations under
9 VAC 25-580-10 et seq. or this chapter.

E.  The board shall have the right of subrogation for
moneys expended from the fund as compensation for bodily
injury, death, or property damage against any person who is
liable for such injury, death or damage.

F.  No funds shall be paid for reimbursement of moneys
expended costs incurred by an owner or operator for
corrective action and for compensating third parties for
bodily injury and property damage prior to December 22,
1989.

G.  No disbursements shall be made from the fund for
owners or operators who are federal government entities or
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whose debts and liabilities are the debts and liabilities of the
United States.

H. The fund will be managed to provide for cleanup of each
occurrence to an acceptable level of risk.

9 VAC 25-590-220.  Notices to the State Water Control
Board.

All requirements of this regulation for notification to the
State Water Control Board shall be addressed as follows:

Director
Department of Environmental Quality
629 E. Main Street
P.O. Box 10009
Richmond, Virginia 23240-0009

9 VAC 25-590-230.  Delegation of authority.

The Director of the Department of Environmental Quality,
or in his absence a designee acting for him, may perform
any act of the board provided under this chapter, except as
limited by § 62.1-44.14 of the Code of Virginia.

9 VAC 25-590-240.  Lender liability.

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency regulations on
lender liability contained in the Technical Standards and
Corrective Action Requirements for Owners and Operators of
Underground Storage Tanks (UST) (40 CFR 280.200
through 280.230 (1997)) are incorporated by reference into
this chapter as amended by the word or phrase substitutions
given in 9 VAC 25-590-260.

9 VAC 25-590-250.  Local government financial
responsibility demonstration.

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency regulations on
local government financial responsibility demonstration
contained in the Technical Standards and Corrective Action
Requirements for Owners and Operators of Underground
Storage Tanks (UST) (40 CFR 280.104 through 280.107
(1997)) are incorporated by reference into this chapter as
amended by the word or phrase substitutions given in 9 VAC
25-590-260.

9 VAC 25-590-260.  Word or phrase substitutions.

In 9 VAC 25-590-240 and 9 VAC 25-590-250, the following
substitutions apply:

1.  All terms which are defined in 9 VAC 25-590-10 shall
be given the definition contained in 9 VAC 25-590-10;

2. a.  Director of the Department of Environmental
Quality for director of the implementing agency;

b.  Department of Environmental Quality for the
implementing agency;

c.  UST preventative and operating requirements
under 9 VAC 25-580-10 et seq. for UST technical
standards;

d.  9 VAC 25-580-10 et seq. and 9 VAC 25-590-10 et
seq. for 40 CFR Part 280 (1997);

e.  9 VAC 25-580-230 through 9 VAC 25-580-300 for
40 CFR Part 280, Subpart F (1997);

f.  9 VAC 25-590-10 et seq. for 40 CFR Part 280,
Subpart H (1997);

g.  9 VAC 25-580-50 for 40 CFR 280.20;

h.  9 VAC 25-580-60 for 40 CFR 280.21;

i.  9 VAC 25-580-70 for 40 CFR 280.22 (1997);

j.  9 VAC 25-580-90 for 40 CFR 280.31;

k.  9 VAC 25-580-200 through 9 VAC 25-580-300 for
40 CFR 280.51 through 280.67;

l.  9 VAC 25-580-310 for 40 CFR 280.70;

m.  9 VAC 25-580-320 through 9 VAC 25-580-350 for
40 CFR 280.71 through 280.74;

n.  9 VAC 25-580-330 for 40 CFR 280.72;

o.  9 VAC 25-590-20 through 9 VAC 25-590-160 for
40 CFR 280.90 through 280.111;

p.  9 VAC 25-590-40 for 40 CFR 280.93;

q.  9 VAC 25-590-170 for 40 CFR 280.112 (1997);
and

r.  9 VAC 25-590-190 for 40 CFR 280.114.

APPENDIX I.
LETTER FROM CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER.

NOTE:  The instructions in brackets are to be replaced by
the relevant information and the brackets deleted.

I am the chief financial officer of [insert name and address
of the owner or operator<*> or guarantor].  This letter is in
support of the use of [insert "the financial test of self-
insurance," and/or "Guarantee"] to demonstrate financial
responsibility for [insert:  "taking corrective action" and/or
"compensating third parties for bodily injury and property
damage"] caused by [insert "sudden accidental releases"
and/or "nonsudden accidental releases"] in the amount of at
least [insert dollar amount] per occurrence and [insert dollar
amount] annual aggregate arising from operating (an)
underground storage tank(s).

Underground storage tanks at the following facilities are
assured by this financial test by this [insert "owner or
operator," and/or "guarantor"]:  [List for each facility the
name and address of the facility where tanks assured by this
financial test are located, and whether tanks are assured by
this financial test.  If separate mechanisms or combinations
of mechanisms are being used to assure any of the tanks at
this facility, list each tank assured by this financial test by the
tank identification number provided in the notification
submitted pursuant to 9 VAC 25-580-70 (Underground
Storage Tanks; Technical Standards and Corrective Action
Requirements)].

A [insert "financial test," and/or "guarantee"] is also used
by this [insert "owner or operator" or "guarantor"] to
demonstrate evidence of financial responsibility in the
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following amounts under other EPA regulations or state
programs authorized by EPA under 40 CFR Parts 271 and
145 (1997):

EPA Regulation for each state of business operations
(specify state):

Amount

Closure (Sections 264.143 and 265.143) $___

Post-Closure Care (Sections 264.145 and 265.145)
$___

Liability Coverage (Sections 264.147 and 265.147) $___

Corrective Action (Sections Section 264.101(b)) $___

Plugging and Abandonment (Section 144.63) $___

Other State Programs (specify state):

Closure $___

Post-Closure Care $___

Liability Coverage $___

Corrective Action $___

Plugging and Abandonment $___

Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations:

Closure (9 VAC 20-60-810 C and 9 VAC 20-60-590 C)
$___

Post-Closure Care (9 VAC 20-60-810 E and 9 VAC 20-
60-590 E) $___

Liability Coverage (9 VAC 20-60-810 G and 9 VAC 20-
60-590 G) $___

Corrective Action (9 VAC 20-60-790 L 2) $___

Plugging and Abandonment (40 CFR Section 144.63)
(1997) $___

[ A [insert: "financial test" and/or "guarantee"] is also used
by this [insert: "owner or operator" or "guarantor"] to
demonstrate evidence of financial responsibility in the
following amounts for the operation of facilities and/or tank
vessels in accordance with § 62.1-44.34:16 of the Code of
Virginia.

The amount of annual aggregate coverage for
facility(ies)                                                                $___

The amount of annual aggregate coverage for tank
vessels                                                                  $___ ]

TOTAL $___

This [insert "owner or operator," or "guarantor"] has not
received an adverse opinion, a disclaimer of opinion, or a
"going concern" qualification from an independent auditor on
his financial statements for the latest completed fiscal year.

[Fill in the information for Alternative I if the criteria of § 6
9 VAC 25-590-60 B are being used to demonstrate
compliance with the financial test requirements.  Fill in the

information for Alternative II if the criteria of § 6 9 VAC 25-
590-60 C are being used to demonstrate compliance with the
financial test requirements.]

ALTERNATIVE I

1.  Amount of annual UST aggregate coverage being
assured by a financial test, and/or
guarantee.......................$____

2.  Amount of corrective action, closure and post-closure
care costs, liability coverage, [ and ] plugging and
abandonment costs [ and annual aggregate coverage
for facilities and/or tank vessels ] covered by a financial
test, and/or guarantee.........$____

3.  Sum of lines 1 and 2........................................$____

4.  Total tangible assets.......................................$____

5.  Total liabilities [if any of the amount reported on line
3 is included in total liabilities, you may deduct that
amount from this line or add that amount to line
6].........$____

6.  Tangible net worth [subtract line 5 from line
4]............$____

7.  Is line 6 at least equal to line 1 above?  Yes....
No.....

8.  Is line 6 at least equal to the sum of line 1 plus 10
times line 2? Yes....  No....

9.  Have financial statements for the latest fiscal
financial reporting year been filed with the Securities and
Exchange Commission?  Yes....  No....

10.  Have financial statements for the latest fiscal
financial reporting year been filed with the Energy
Information Administration?  Yes....  No....

11.  Have financial statements for the latest fiscal
financial reporting year been filed with the Rural
Electrification Administration?  Yes....  No....

12.  Has financial information been provided to Dun and
Bradstreet, and has Dun and Bradstreet provided a
financial strength rating of at least [ BB ] ($200,000 to
299,999) equal to the amount of annual UST aggregate
coverage being assured according to the table below?

Annual Aggregate
Requirement

Dun and Bradstreet Rating

$20,000 EE ($20,000 to $34,999)
$40,000 DC ($50,000 to $74,999)
$80,000 CB ($125,000 to $199,999)
$150,000 BB ($200,000 to $299,999)
$200,000 BB ($200,000 to $299,999)

[Answer "Yes" only if both criteria have been met.]
Yes....  No....

13.  If you did not answer yes to one of lines 9 through
12, please attach a report from a certified public
accountant certifying that there are no material
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differences between the data reported in line lines 4
through 8 above and the financial statements for the
latest fiscal financial reporting year.

ALTERNATIVE II

1.  Amount of annual UST aggregate coverage being
assured by a financial test, and/or guarantee

2.  Amount of corrective action closure and post-closure
care costs, liability coverage, [ and ] plugging and
abandonment costs [ and annual aggregate coverage
for facilities and/or tank vessels ] covered by a financial
test, and/or guarantee............................$___

3.  Sum of lines 1 and 2..........................................$___

4.  Total tangible assets.........................................$___

5.  Total liabilities [if any of the amount reported on line
3 is included in total liabilities, you may deduct that
amount from this line or add that amount to line
6].......................$___

6.  Tangible net worth [subtract line 5 from line
4]..............$___

7.  Total assets in the U.S. [required only if less than
90% of assets are located in the
U.S.]......................................$___

8.  Is line 6 at least equal to line 1 above?  Yes___
No___

9.  Is line 6 at least equal to the sum of line 1 plus 6
times the sum of line 2?  Yes___  No___

10.  Are at least 90% of assets located in the U.S.? [If
"No,'' complete line 11.]  Yes___  No___

11.  Is line 7 at least equal to the sum of line 1 plus 6
times the sum of line 2?  Yes___  No___

[Fill in either lines 12-15 or lines 16-18:]

12.  Current assets................................................$___

13.  Current liabilities...........................................$___

14.  Net working capital subtract line 13 from line
12.............$___

15.  Is line 14 at least equal to the sum of line 1 plus 6
times the sum of line 2?  Yes___  No___

16.  Current bond rating of most recent bond issue?
Yes___  No___ -------

17.  Name of rating service  Yes___  No___ -------
__________

18.  Date of maturity of bond  Yes___  No___ -------
__________

19.  Have financial statements for the latest fiscal
financial reporting year been filed with the SEC, the
Energy Information Administration, or the Rural
Electrification Administration?  Yes___  No___

[If "no,'' please attach a report from an independent
certified public accountant certifying that there are no
material differences between the data reported in lines 4-18
above and the financial statements for the latest fiscal
financial reporting year.]

[For Alternatives I and II complete the certification with this
statement.]

I hereby certify that the wording of this letter is identical to
the wording specified in Appendix I of this chapter as such
regulations were constituted on the date shown immediately
below.

[Signature]

[Name]

[Title]

[Date]

*NOTE:  Where this document is to be utilized by a
petroleum storage tank vendor, then the words "petroleum
storage tank vendor" shall be substituted for "owner or
operator" where appropriate.

APPENDIX II.
GUARANTEE.

[NOTE:  The instructions in brackets are to be replaced by
the relevant information and the brackets deleted.]

Guarantee made this [date] by [name of guaranteeing
entity], a business entity organized under the laws of the
state of [insert name of state], herein referred to as
guarantor, to the State Water Control Board of the
Commonwealth of Virginia and to any and all third parties,
and obligees, on behalf of [owner or operator*] of [business
address].

* NOTE:  Where this document is to be utilized by a
petroleum storage tank vendor, then the words "petroleum
storage tank vendor" shall be substituted for "owner or
operator" where appropriate.

Recitals.

(1) Guarantor meets or exceeds the financial test criteria
of 9 VAC 25-590-60 B or C and D of the Virginia
Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Financial
Responsibility Requirements Regulation, 9 VAC 25-590-
10 et seq., and agrees to comply with the requirements
for guarantors as specified in 9 VAC 25-590-70 B.

(2) [Owner or operator] owns or operates the following
underground storage tank(s) covered by this guarantee:
[List the number of tanks at each facility and the
name(s) and address(es) of the facility(ies) where the
tanks are located.  If more than one instrument is used
to assure different tanks at any one facility, for each tank
covered by this instrument, list the tank identification
number provided in the notification submitted pursuant
to 9 VAC 25-580-70 [ . ]  (Underground Storage Tanks [
; : ] Technical Standards and Corrective Action
Requirements), and the name and address of the
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facility].  This guarantee satisfies this chapter's
requirements for assuring funding for [insert:  "taking
corrective action" and/or "compensating third parties for
bodily injury and property damage caused by" either
"sudden accidental releases" or "nonsudden accidental
releases" or "accidental releases"] if coverage is different
for different tanks or locations, indicate the type of
coverage applicable to each tank or location!] arising
from operating the above-identified underground storage
tank(s) in the amount of [insert dollar amount] per
occurrence and [insert dollar amount] annual aggregate.

(3) [Insert appropriate phrase:  "On behalf of our
subsidiary" (if guarantor is corporate parent of the owner
or operator); "On behalf of our affiliate" (if guarantor is a
related firm of the owner or operator); or "Incident to our
business relationship with" (if guarantor is providing the
guarantee as an incident to a substantial business
relationship with owner or operator)] [owner or operator],
guarantor guarantees to the State Water Control Board
and to any and all third parties that:

In the event that [owner or operator] fails to provide
alternate coverage within 60 days after receipt of a
notice of cancellation of this guarantee and the State
Water Control Board has determined or suspects that a
release has occurred at an underground storage tank
covered by this guarantee, the guarantor, upon
instructions from the State Water Control Board, shall
fund a standby trust fund in accordance with the
provisions of 9 VAC 25-590-170, in an amount not to
exceed the coverage limits specified above.

In the event that the State Water Control Board
determines that [owner or operator] has failed to perform
corrective action for releases arising out of the operation
of the above-identified tank(s) in accordance with 9 VAC
25-580-230 through 9 VAC 25-580-300 (Underground
Storage Tanks [ ; : ] Technical Standards and Corrective
Action Requirements), the guarantor upon written
instructions from the State Water Control Board shall
fund a standby trust in accordance with the provisions of
9 VAC 25-590-170, in an amount not to exceed the
coverage limits specified above.

If [owner or operator] fails to satisfy a judgment or
award based on a determination of liability for bodily
injury or property damage to third parties caused by
["sudden" and/or "nonsudden"] accidental releases
arising from the operation of the above-identified
tank(s), or fails to pay an amount agreed to in
settlement of a claim arising from or alleged to arise
from such injury or damage, the guarantor, upon written
instructions from the State Water Control Board, shall
fund a standby trust in accordance with the provisions of
9 VAC 25-590-170 to satisfy such judgment(s),
award(s), or settlement agreement(s) up to the limits of
coverage specified above.

(4) Guarantor agrees that if, at the end of any fiscal year
before cancellation of this guarantee, the guarantor fails
to meet the financial test criteria of 9 VAC 25-590-60 B
or C and D, guarantor shall send within 120 days of

such failure, by certified mail, notice to [owner or
operator].  The guarantee will terminate 120 days from
the date of receipt of the notice by [owner or operator],
as evidenced by the return receipt.

(5) Guarantor agrees to notify [owner or operator] by
certified mail of a voluntary or involuntary proceeding
under Title 11 (Bankruptcy), U.S. Code, naming
guarantor as debtor, within 10 days after
commencement of the proceeding.

(6) Guarantor agrees to remain bound under this
guarantee notwithstanding any modification or alteration
of any obligation of [owner or operator] pursuant to 9
VAC 25-580-10 et seq. and 9 VAC 25-590-10 et seq.

(7) Guarantor agrees to remain bound under this
guarantee for so long as [owner or operator] must shall
comply with the applicable financial responsibility
requirements of 9 VAC 25-590-10 et seq. for the above-
identified tank(s), except that guarantor may cancel this
guarantee by sending notice by certified mail to [owner
or operator], such cancellation to become effective no
earlier than 120 days after receipt of such notice by
[owner or operator], as evidenced by the return receipt.

(8) The guarantor's obligation does not apply to any of
the following:

(a) Any obligation of [insert owner or operator] under a
workers compensation, disability benefits, or
unemployment compensation law or other similar law;

(b) Bodily injury to an employee of [insert owner or
operator] arising from, and in the course of,
employment by [insert owner or operator];

(c) Bodily injury or property damage arising from the
ownership, maintenance, use, or entrustment to
others of any aircraft, motor vehicle, or watercraft;

(d) Property damage to any property owned, rented,
loaned to, in the care, custody, or control of, or
occupied by [insert owner or operator] that is not the
direct result of a release from a petroleum
underground storage tank; or

(e) Bodily damage or property damage for which
[insert owner or operator] is obligated to pay damages
by reason of the assumption of liability in a contract or
agreement other than a contract or agreement entered
into to meet the requirements of 9 VAC 25-590-40.

(9) Guarantor expressly waives notice of acceptance of
this guarantee by the State Water Control Board, by any
or all third parties, or by [owner or operator].

I hereby certify that the wording of this guarantee is
identical to the wording specified in Appendix II of 9
VAC 25-590-10 et seq. as such regulations were
constituted on the effective date shown immediately
below.

Effective date:

[Name of guarantor]
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[Authorized signature for guarantor]

[Name of person signing]

[Title of person signing]

Signature of witness or notary:

APPENDIX V.
PERFORMANCE BOND.

[NOTE:  The instructions in brackets are to be replaced by
the relevant information and the brackets deleted.]

Date bond executed:

Period of coverage:

Principal:  [legal name and business address of owner or
operator.]<*>

Type of organization:  [insert "individual" "joint venture,"
"partnership," or "corporation"]

State of incorporation (if applicable):

Surety(ies):  [name(s) and business address(es)]

Scope of coverage:  [List the number of tanks at each
facility and the name(s) and address(es) of the
facility(ies) where the tanks are located.  If more than
one instrument is used to assure different tanks at any
one facility, for each tank covered by this instrument, list
the tank identification number provided in the notification
submitted pursuant to 9 VAC 25-580-70 (Underground
Storage Tanks [ ; : ] Technical Standards and Corrective
Action Requirements), and the name and address of the
facility.  List the coverage guaranteed by the bond:
"taking corrective action" and/or "compensating third
parties for bodily injury and property damage caused by"
either "sudden accidental releases" or "nonsudden
accidental releases" or "accidental releases" "arising
from operating the underground storage tank"].

Penal sums of bond:

Corrective Action (per occurrence) $.....

Third Party Liability (per occurrence) $.....

Annual aggregate $.....

Surety's bond number:

Know all Persons by These Presents, that we, the
principal and Surety(ies), hereto are firmly bound to the
State Water Control Board of the Commonwealth of
Virginia, in the above penal sums for the payment of
which we bind ourselves, our heirs, executors,
administrators, successors, and assigns jointly and
severally; provided that, where the Surety(ies) are
corporations acting as co-sureties, we, the Sureties,
bind ourselves in such sums jointly and severally only
for the purpose of allowing a joint action or actions
against any or all of us, and for all other purposes each
surety binds itself, jointly and severally with the
Principal, for the payment of such sums only as is set
forth opposite the name of such Surety, but if no limit of

liability is indicated, the limit of liability shall be the full
amount of the penal sums.

Whereas said Principal is required under §§ 62.1-
44.34:8 through § 62.1-44.34:12 of the Code of Virginia,
Subtitle I of the Resource Conservation and Recovery
Act (RCRA), as amended, and under the Virginia
Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Financial
Requirements Regulation (9 VAC 25-590-10 et seq.), to
provide financial assurance for [insert:  "taking corrective
action" and/or "compensating third parties for bodily
injury and property damage caused by" either "sudden
accidental releases" or "nonsudden accidental releases"
or "accidental releases"; if coverage is different for
different tanks or locations, indicate the type of coverage
applicable to each tank or location] arising from
operating the underground storage tanks identified
above, and

Whereas said Principal shall establish a standby trust
fund as is required when a surety bond is used to
provide such financial assurance;

Now, therefore, the conditions of the obligation are such
that if the Principal shall faithfully ["take corrective
action, in accordance with Part VI of 9 VAC 25-580-230
through 25-580-300.  (Underground Storage Tanks [ ; : ]
Technical Standards and Corrective Action
Requirements) and the State Water Control Board's
instructions for," and/or "compensate injured third
parties for bodily injury and property damage caused by"
either "sudden" or "nonsudden" or "sudden and
nonsudden"] accidental releases arising from operating
the tank(s) identified above, or if the Principal shall
provide alternate financial assurance, as specified in 9
VAC 25-590-10 et seq., within 120 days after the date
the notice of cancellation is received by the Principal
from the Surety(ies), then this obligation shall be null
and void; otherwise it is to remain in full force and effect.

Such obligation does not apply to any of the following:

(a) Any obligation of [insert owner or operator*] under
a workers compensation, disability benefits, or
unemployment compensation law or other similar law;

(b) Bodily injury to an employee of [insert owner or
operator] arising from, and in the course of,
employment by [insert owner or operator];

(c) Bodily injury or property damage arising from the
ownership, maintenance, use, or entrustment to
others of any aircraft, motor vehicle, or watercraft;

(d) Property damage to any property owned, rented,
loaned to, in the care, custody, or control of, or
occupied by [insert owner or operator] that is not the
direct result of a release from a petroleum
underground storage tank;

(e) Bodily injury or property damage for which [insert
owner or operator] is obligated to pay damages by
reason of the assumption of liability in a contract or
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agreement other than a contract or agreement entered
into to meet the requirements of 9 VAC 25-590-40.

The Surety(ies) shall become liable on this bond
obligation only when the Principal has failed to fulfill the
conditions described above.

Upon notification by the State Water Control Board that
the Principal has failed to ["take corrective action, in
accordance with Part VI of 9 VAC 25-580-230 through
25-580-300 and the State Water Control Board's
instructions," and/or "compensate injured third parties"]
as guaranteed by this bond, the Surety(ies) shall either
perform ["corrective action in, accordance with 9 VAC
25-580-10 et seq. and the board's instructions," and/or
"third party liability compensation"] or place funds in an
amount up to the annual aggregate penal sum into the
standby trust fund as directed by the State Water
Control Board under 9 VAC 25-590-170.

Upon notification by the State Water Control Board that
the Principal has failed to provide alternate financial
assurance within 60 days after the date the notice of
cancellation is received by the Principal from the
Surety(ies) and that the State Water Control Board has
determined or suspects that a release has occurred, the
Surety(ies) shall place funds in an amount not exceeding
the annual aggregate penal sum into the standby trust
fund as directed by the State Water Control Board under
9 VAC 25-590-170.

The Surety(ies) hereby waive(s) notification of
amendments to applicable laws, statutes, rules, and
regulations and agrees that no such amendment shall in
any way alleviate its (their) obligation on this bond.

The liability of the Surety(ies) shall not be discharged by
any payment or succession of payments hereunder,
unless and until such payment or payments shall
amount in the annual aggregate to the penal sum shown
on the face of the bond, but in no event shall the
obligation of the Surety(ies) hereunder exceed the
amount of said annual aggregate penal sum.

The Surety(ies) may cancel the bond by sending notice
of cancellation by certified mail to the principal,
provided, however, that cancellation shall not occur
during the 120 days beginning on the date of receipt of
the notice of cancellation by the principal, as evidenced
by the return receipt.

The Principal may terminate this bond by sending
written notice to the Surety(ies).

In Witness Thereof, the Principal and Surety(ies) have
executed this Bond and have affixed their seals on the
date set forth above.

The persons whose signatures appear below hereby
certify that they are authorized to execute this surety
bond on behalf of the Principal and Surety(ies) and that
the wording of this surety bond is identical to the
wording specified in Appendix V of 9 VAC 25-590-10 et

seq. as such regulations were constituted on the date
this bond was executed.

PRINCIPAL

[Signature(s)]

[Name(s)]

[Title(s)]

[Corporate seal]

CORPORATE SURETY(IES)

[Name and address]

State of Incorporation:

Liability limit........................................$ .  .  .

[Signature(s)]

[Name(s) and title(s)]

[Corporate seal]

[For every co-surety, provide signature(s), corporate seal,
and other information in the same manner as for surety
above.]

Bond premium:..........................................$ .  .  .

*Note:  Where this document is to be utilized by a petroleum
storage tank vendor, then the words "petroleum storage tank
vendor" shall be substituted for "owner or operator" where
appropriate.

APPENDIX VI.
IRREVOCABLE STANDBY LETTER OF CREDIT.

[NOTE:  The instructions in brackets are to be replaced by
the relevant information and the brackets deleted.]

[Name and address of issuing institution]

[Name and address of the Executive Director of the State
Water Control Board of the Commonwealth of Virginia and
Director(s) of other state implementing agency(ies)]

Dear Sir or Madam:  We hereby establish our Irrevocable
Standby Letter of Credit No .  .  .  .  in your favor, at the
request and for the account of [owner or operator<*> name]
of [address] up to the aggregate amount of [in words] U.S.
dollars ($[insert dollar amount]), available upon presentation
[insert, if more than one director of a state implementing
agency is a beneficiary, "by any one of you"] of

(1) your sight draft, bearing reference to this letter of
credit, No.  .  .  and

(2) your signed statement reading as follows:  "I certify
that the amount of the draft is payable pursuant to
regulations issued under authority of §§ 62.1-44.34:8
through 62.1-44.34:12 of the Code of Virginia and Subtitle I
of the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976, as
amended."

This letter of credit may be drawn on to cover [insert:
"taking corrective action" and/or "compensating third parties
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for bodily injury and property damage caused by" either
"sudden accidental releases" or "nonsudden accidental
releases" or "accidental releases"] arising from operating the
underground storage tank(s) identified below in the amount
of [in words] $ [insert dollar amount] per occurrence and [in
words] $ [insert dollar amount] annual aggregate:

[List the number of tanks at each facility and the name(s)
and address(es) of the facility(ies) where the tanks are
located.  If more than one instrument is used to assure
different tanks at any one facility, for each tank covered by
this instrument, list the tank identification number provided in
the notification submitted pursuant to 9 VAC 25-580-70
(Underground Storage Tanks [ ; : ] Technical Standards and
Corrective Action Requirements), and the name and address
of the facility.]

The letter of credit may not be drawn on to cover any of
the following:

(a) Any obligation, of [insert owner or operator] under a
workers compensation, disability benefits, or
unemployment compensation law or other similar law;

(b) Bodily injury to an employee of [insert owner or
operator] arising from, and in the course of, employment
by [insert owner or operator];

(c) Bodily injury or property damage arising from the
ownership, maintenance, use, or entrustment to others
of any aircraft, motor vehicle, or watercraft;

(d) Property damage to any property owned, rented,
loaned to, in the care, custody, or control of, or occupied
by [insert owner or operator] that is not the direct result
of a release from a petroleum underground storage tank;

(e) Bodily injury or property damage for which [insert
owner or operator] is obligated to pay damages by
reason of the assumption of liability in a contract or
agreement other than a contract or agreement entered
into to meet the requirements of 9 VAC 25-590-40
(Virginia Petroleum Underground Storage Tank
Financial Responsibility Requirements Regulation).

This letter of credit is effective as of [date] and shall expire
on [date], but such expiration date shall be automatically
extended for a period of [at least the length of the original
term] on [expiration date] and on each successive expiration
date, unless, at least 120 days before the current expiration
date, we notify [owner or operator] by certified mail that we
have decided not to extend this letter of credit beyond the
current expiration date.  In the event that [owner or operator]
is so notified, any unused portion of the credit shall be
available upon presentation of your sight draft for 120 days
after the date of receipt by [owner or operator], as shown on
the signed return receipt.

Whenever this letter of credit is drawn on under and in
compliance with the terms of this credit, we shall duly honor
such draft upon presentation to us, and we shall deposit the
amount of the draft directly into the standby trust fund of
[owner or operator] in accordance with your instructions.

We certify that the wording of this letter of credit is
identical to the wording specified in Appendix VI of 9 VAC
25-590-10 et seq. as such regulations were constituted on
the date shown immediately below.

[Signature(s) and title(s) of official(s) of issuing institution]

[Date]

This credit is subject to [insert "the most recent edition of
the Uniform Customs and Practice for Documentary Credits,
published and copyrighted by the International Chamber of
Commerce," or "the Uniform Commercial Code"].

*Note:  Where this document is to be utilized by a petroleum
storage tank vendor, then the words "petroleum storage tank
vendor" shall be substituted for "owner or operator" where
appropriate.

APPENDIX VII.
TRUST AGREEMENT.

[NOTE:  The instructions in brackets are to be replaced by
the relevant information and the brackets deleted.]

Trust agreement, the "Agreement," entered into as of
[date] by and between [name of the owner or operator<*> ], a
[name of state] [insert "corporation," "partnership,"
"association," or "proprietorship"], the "Grantor," and [name
of corporate trustee], [insert "Incorporated in the state of .  .
.  .  .  " or "a national bank"], the "Trustee."

Whereas, the State Water Control Board of the
Commonwealth of Virginia has established certain
regulations applicable to the Grantor, requiring that an owner
or operator of an underground storage tank shall provide
assurance that funds will be available when needed for
corrective action and third party compensation for bodily
injury and property damage caused by sudden and
nonsudden accidental releases arising from the operation of
the underground storage tank.  The attached Schedule A
lists the number of tanks at each facility and the name(s)
and address(es) of the facility(ies) where the tanks are
located that are covered by the standby trust agreement.

Whereas, the Grantor has elected to establish [insert
either "a guarantee," "surety bond," or "letter of credit"] to
provide all or part of such financial assurance for the
underground storage tanks identified herein and is required
to establish a standby trust fund able to accept payments
from the instrument (This paragraph is only applicable to the
standby trust agreement.);

Whereas, the Grantor, acting through its duly authorized
officers, has selected the Trustee to be the trustee under this
agreement, and the Trustee is willing to act as trustee;

Now, therefore, the Grantor and the Trustee agree as
follows:

Section 1.  Definitions.  As used in this Agreement:

(a) The term "Grantor" means the owner or operator who
enters into this Agreement and any successors or
assigns of the Grantor.
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(b) The term "Trustee" means the Trustee who enters
into this Agreement and any successor Trustee.

(c) "9 VAC 25-590-10 et seq." is the Petroleum
Underground Storage Tank Financial Requirements
Regulation promulgated by the State Water Control
Board for the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Section 2.  Identification of the Financial Assurance
Mechanism.

This Agreement pertains to the [identify the financial
assurance mechanism, either a guarantee, surety bond, or
letter of credit, from which the standby trust fund is
established to receive payments (This paragraph is only
applicable to the standby trust agreement.)].

Section 3.  Establishment of Fund.

The Grantor and the Trustee hereby establish a trust fund,
the "Fund," for the benefit of the State Water Control Board
of the Commonwealth of Virginia.  The Grantor and the
Trustee intend that no third party have access to the Fund
except as herein provided.  [The Fund is established initially
as a standby to receive payments and shall not consist of
any property.] Payments made by the provider of financial
assurance pursuant to the State Water Control Board's
instruction are transferred to the Trustee and are referred to
as the Fund, together with all earnings and profits thereon,
less any payments or distributions made by the Trustee
pursuant to this Agreement.  The Fund shall be held by the
Trustee, IN TRUST, as hereinafter provided.  The Trustee
shall not be responsible nor shall it undertake any
responsibility for the amount or adequacy of, nor any duty to
collect from the Grantor as provider of financial assurance,
any payments necessary to discharge any liability of the
Grantor established by the State Water Control Board.

Section 4.  Payment for ["Corrective Action" and/or "Third
Party Liability Claims"].

The Trustee shall make payments from the Fund as the
State Water Control Board shall direct, in writing, to provide
for the payment of the costs of [insert:  "taking corrective
action" and/or "compensating third parties for bodily injury
and property damage caused by" either "sudden accidental
releases" or "nonsudden accidental releases" or "accidental
releases"] arising from operating the tanks covered by the
financial assurance mechanism identified in this Agreement.

The Fund may not be drawn upon to cover any of the
following:

(a) Any obligation of [insert owner or operator] under a
workers compensation, disability benefits, or
unemployment compensation law or other similar law;

(b) Bodily injury to an employee of [insert owner or
operator] arising from, and in the course of, employment
by [insert owner or operator];

(c) Bodily injury or property damage arising from the
ownership, maintenance, use, or entrustment to others
of any aircraft, motor vehicle, or watercraft;

(d) Property damage to any property owned, rented,
loaned to, in the care, custody, or control of, or occupied
by [insert owner or operator] that is not the direct result
of a release from a petroleum underground storage tank;

(e) Bodily injury or property damage for which [insert
owner or operator] is obligated to pay damages by
reason of the assumption of liability in a contract or
agreement other than a contract or agreement entered
into to meet the requirements of 9 VAC 25-590-40.

The Trustee shall reimburse the Grantor, or other persons
as specified by the State Water Control Board, from the
Fund for corrective action expenditures and/or third party
liability claims in such amounts as the State Water Control
Board shall direct in writing.  In addition, the Trustee shall
refund to the Grantor such amounts as the State Water
Control Board specifies in writing.  Upon refund, such funds
shall no longer constitute part of the Fund as defined here.

Section 5.  Payments Comprising the Fund.

Payments made to the Trustee for the Fund shall consist
of cash and securities acceptable to the Trustee.

Section 6.  Trustee Management.

The Trustee shall invest and reinvest the principal and
income of the Fund and keep the Fund invested as a single
fund, without distinction between principal and income, in
accordance with general investment policies and guidelines
which the Grantor may communicate in writing to the
Trustee from time to time, subject, however, to the
provisions of this section.  In investing, reinvesting,
exchanging, selling, and managing the Fund, the Trustee
shall discharge his duties with respect to the trust fund solely
in the interest of the beneficiaries and with the care, skill,
prudence, and diligence under the circumstances then
prevailing which persons of prudence, acting in a like
capacity and familiar with such matters, would use in the
conduct of an enterprise of a like character and with like
aims, except that:

(a i) Securities or other obligations of the Grantor, or any
other owner or operator of the tanks, or any of their
affiliates as defined in the Investment Company Act of
1940, as amended, 15 USC § 80a-2(a), shall not be
acquired or held, unless they are securities or other
obligations of the federal or a state government;

(b ii) The Trustee is authorized to invest the Fund in time
or demand deposits of the Trustee, to the extent insured
by an agency of the federal or state government; and

(c iii) The Trustee is authorized to hold cash awaiting
investment or distribution uninvested for a reasonable
time and without liability for the payment of interest
thereon.

Section 7.  Commingling and Investment.

The Trustee is expressly authorized in its discretion:

(a) To transfer from time to time any or all of the assets
of the Fund to any common, commingled, or collective
trust fund created by the Trustee in which the Fund is
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eligible to participate, subject to all of the provisions
thereof, to be commingled with the assets of other trusts
participating therein; and

(b) To purchase shares in any investment company
registered under the Investment Company Act of 1940,
15 USC § 80a-1 et seq., including one which may be
created, managed, underwritten, or to which investment
advice is rendered or the shares of which are sold by the
Trustee.  The Trustee may vote such shares in its
discretion.

Section 8.  Express Powers of Trustee.

Without in any way limiting the powers and discretions
conferred upon the Trustee by the other provisions of this
Agreement or by law, the Trustee is expressly authorized and
empowered:

(a) To sell, exchange, convey, transfer, or otherwise
dispose of any property held by it, by public or private
sale.  No person dealing with the Trustee shall be bound
to see to the application of the purchase money or to
inquire into the validity or expediency of any such sale or
other disposition;

(b) To make, execute, acknowledge, and deliver any and
all documents of transfer and conveyance and any and
all other instruments that may be necessary or
appropriate to carry out the powers herein granted;

(c) To register any securities held in the Fund in its own
name or in the name of a nominee and to hold any
security in bearer form or in book entry, or to combine
certificates representing such securities with certificates
of the same issue held by the Trustee in other fiduciary
capacities, or to deposit or arrange for the deposit of
such securities in a qualified central depository even
though, when so deposited, such securities may be
merged and held in bulk in the name of the nominee of
such depository with other securities deposited therein
by another person, or to deposit or arrange for the
deposit of any securities issued by the United States
Government, or any agency or instrumentality thereof,
with a Federal Reserve bank, but the books and records
of the Trustee shall at all times show that all such
securities are part of the Fund;

(d) To deposit any cash in the Fund in interest-bearing
accounts maintained or savings certificates issued by
the Trustee, in its separate corporate capacity, or in any
other banking institution affiliated with the Trustee, to the
extent insured by an agency of the federal or state
government; and

(e) To compromise or otherwise adjust all claims in
favor of or against the Fund.

Section 9.  Taxes and Expenses.

All taxes of any kind that may be assessed or levied
against or in respect of the Fund and all brokerage
commissions incurred by the Fund shall be paid from the
Fund.  All other expenses incurred by the Trustee in
connection with the administration of this Trust, including

fees for legal services rendered to the Trustee, the
compensation of the Trustee to the extent not paid directly by
the Grantor, and all other proper charges and disbursements
of the Trustee shall be paid from the Fund.

Section 10.  Advice of Counsel.

The Trustee may from time to time consult with counsel,
who may be counsel to the Grantor, with respect to any
questions arising as to the construction of this Agreement or
any action to be taken hereunder.  The Trustee shall be fully
protected, to the extent permitted by law, in acting upon the
advice of counsel.

Section 11.  Trustee Compensation.

The Trustee shall be entitled to reasonable compensation
for its services as agreed upon in writing from time to time
with the Grantor.

Section 12.  Successor Trustee.

The Trustee may resign or the Grantor may replace the
Trustee, but such resignation or replacement shall not be
effective until the Grantor has appointed a successor trustee
and this successor accepts the appointment.  The successor
trustee shall have the same powers and duties as those
conferred upon the Trustee hereunder.  Upon the successor
trustee's acceptance of the appointment, the Trustee shall
assign, transfer, and pay over to the successor trustee the
funds and properties then constituting the Fund.  If for any
reason the Grantor cannot or does not act in the event of the
resignation of the Trustee, the Trustee may apply to a court
of competent jurisdiction for the appointment of a successor
trustee or for instructions.  The successor trustee shall
specify the date on which it assumes administration of the
trust in writing sent to the Grantor and the present Trustee by
certified mail 10 days before such change becomes effective.
Any expenses incurred by the Trustee as a result of any of
the acts contemplated by this Section shall be paid as
provided in Section 9.

Section 13.  Instructions to the Trustee.

All orders, requests, and instructions by the Grantor to the
Trustee shall be in writing, signed by such persons as are
designated in the attached Schedule B or such other
designees as the Grantor may designate by amendment to
Schedule B.  The trustee shall be fully protected in acting
without inquiry in accordance with the Grantor's orders,
requests, and instructions.  All orders, requests and
instructions by the State Water Control Board to the Trustee
shall be in writing, signed by the Executive Director of the
State Water Control Board, and the Trustee shall act and
shall be fully protected in acting in accordance with such
orders, requests, and instructions.  The Trustee shall have
the right to assume, in the absence of written notice to the
contrary, that no event constituting a change or a termination
of the authority of any person to act on behalf of the Grantor
or the State Water Control Board hereunder has occurred.
The Trustee shall have no duty to act in the absence of such
orders, requests, and instructions from the Grantor and/or
the State Water Control Board, except as provided for
herein.
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Section 14.  Amendment of Agreement.

This Agreement may be amended by an instrument in
writing executed by the Grantor and the Trustee, or by the
Trustee and the State Water Control Board if the Grantor
ceases to exist.

Section 15.  Irrevocability and Termination.

Subject to the right of the parties to amend this Agreement
as provided in Section 14, this Trust shall be irrevocable and
shall continue until terminated at the written direction of the
Grantor and the Trustee, or by the Trustee and the State
Water Control Board, if the Grantor ceases to exist.  Upon
termination of the Trust, all remaining trust property, less
final trust administration expenses, shall be delivered to the
Grantor.

Section 16.  Immunity and Indemnification.

The Trustee shall not incur personal liability of any nature
in connection with any act or omission, made in good faith,
in the administration of this Trust, or in carrying out any
directions by the Grantor or the State Water Control Board
issued in accordance with this Agreement.  The Trustee shall
be indemnified and saved harmless by the Grantor, from and
against any personal liability to which the Trustee may be
subjected by reason of any act or conduct in its official
capacity, including all expenses reasonably incurred in its
defense in the event the Grantor fails to provide such
defense.

Section 17.  Choice of Law.

This Agreement shall be administered, construed, and
enforced according to the laws of the Commonwealth of
Virginia, or the Comptroller of the Currency in the case of
National Association banks.

Section 18.  Interpretation.

As used in this Agreement, words in the singular include
the plural and words in the plural include the singular.  The
descriptive headings for each section of this Agreement shall
not affect the interpretation or the legal efficacy of this
Agreement.

In Witness whereof the parties have caused this
Agreement to be executed by their respective officers duly
authorized and their corporate seals (if applicable) to be
hereunto affixed and attested as of the date first above
written.  The parties below certify that the wording of this
Agreement is identical to the wording specified in Appendix
VII of 9 VAC 25-590-10 et seq. as such regulations were
constituted on the date written above.

[Signature of Grantor]

[Name of the Grantor]

[Title]

Attest:

[Signature of Trustee]

[Name of the Trustee]

[Title]

[Seal]

[Signature of Witness]

[Name of Witness]

[Title]

[Seal]

*Note:  Where this document is to be utilized by a petroleum
storage tank vendor, then the words "petroleum storage tank
vendor" shall be substituted for "owner or operator" where
appropriate.

APPENDIX VIII.
CERTIFICATION OF ACKNOWLEDGMENT.

[Note:  The instructions in brackets are to be replaced by
the relevant information and the brackets deleted.]

State of .  .  .  .

County of .  .  .  .

On this [date], before me personally came [owner or
operator<*>] to me known, who, being by me duly sworn, did
depose and say that she/he resides at [address], that she/he
is [title] of [corporation], the corporation described in and
which executed the above instrument; that she/he knows the
seal of said corporation; that the seal affixed to such
instrument is such corporate seal; that it was so affixed by
order of the Board of Directors of said corporation; and that
she/he signed her/his name thereto by like order.

[Signature of Notary Public]

[Name of Notary Public]

My Commission expires:

*Note:  Where this document is to be utilized by a petroleum
storage tank vendor, then the words "petroleum storage tank
vendor" shall be substituted for "owner or operator" where
appropriate.

APPENDIX IX.
CERTIFICATION OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY.

[Note:  The instructions in brackets are to be replaced by the
relevant information and the brackets deleted.]

[Owner or operator or petroleum storage tank vendor]
hereby certifies that it is in compliance with the requirements
of 9 VAC 25-590-10 et seq. (Petroleum Underground
Storage Tank Financial Requirements Regulation).

The financial assurance mechanism[s] used to
demonstrate financial responsibility under 9 VAC 25-590-10
et seq. is [are] as follows:

[For each mechanism, list the type of mechanism, name
of issuer, mechanism number (if applicable), amount of
coverage, effective period of coverage and whether the
mechanism covers "taking corrective action" and/or
"compensating third parties for bodily injury and property
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damage caused by" either "sudden accidental releases" or
"non-sudden accidental releases" or "accidental releases."]

Indicate type of Mechanism (Note:  the Fund may not be
used as the sole mechanism):

____  Virginia Petroleum Storage Tank Fund ("the
Fund")

____  Letter from Chief Financial Officer

____  Guarantee

____  Insurance Endorsement or Certificate

____  Letter of Credit

____  Surety Bond

____  Trust Fund

Name of Issuer (for mechanism other than the Fund):
_______________________________________________

Mechanism Number (if applicable):_____________________

Amount of coverage for mechanism other than the Fund:

$______________ corrective action per occurrence

$______________ third party liability per occurrence

$______________ annual aggregate

Amount of coverage under Virginia Petroleum Storage Tank
Fund:

$_____________ per occurrence and $______________
annual aggregate

Effective period of coverage: _______________ to
_______________

Do(es) mechanism(s) cover(s):  taking corrective action
and/or compensating third parties for bodily injury and
property damage caused by either sudden accidental
releases or nonsudden accidental releases or accidental
releases?  ____ Yes  ____ No

If "No," specify in the following space the items the
mechanism covers:

[Signature of owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor]

[Name of owner or operator or petroleum storage tank
vendor] [Title] [Date]

[Signature of notary]

[Name of notary] [Date] My Commission expires:

APPENDIX X.
CERTIFICATION OF VALID CLAIM.

[Note:  The instructions in brackets are to be replaced by
the relevant information and the brackets deleted.]

The undersigned, as principals and as legal
representatives of [insert owner or operator<*>] and [insert
name and address of third party claimant], hereby certify that

the claim of bodily injury [and/or] property damage caused
by an accidental release arising from operating [owner's or
operator's] underground storage tank should be paid in the
amount of $[.  .  .  .  ].

[Signatures] [Signature(s)]

Owner or Operator Claimant(s)

Attorney for Attorney(s) for

Owner or Operator Claimant(s)

(Notary) Date (Notary) Date

*Note:  Where this document is to be utilized by a petroleum
storage tank vendor, then the words "petroleum storage tank
vendor" shall be substituted for "owner or operator" where
appropriate.

APPENDIX XI.
LETTER FROM CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER (SHORT

FORM).

[Note:  This Appendix may only be used by owners [ , or ]
operators [ or petroleum storage tank vendors ] who do not
own or operate hazardous waste facilities, [ or ] underground
injection control wells [ , aboveground storage tank facilities
or tank vessels ].

[Note:  The instructions in brackets are to be replaced by the
relevant information and the brackets deleted.]

I am the chief financial officer of [insert:  name and address
of the owner or operator or guarantor].  This letter is in
support of the use of [insert "the financial test of
self-insurance," and/or "Guarantee"] to demonstrate financial
responsibility for [insert: "taking corrective action" and/or
"compensating third parties for bodily injury and property
damage"] caused by [insert "sudden accidental releases"
and/or "nonsudden accidental releases"] in the amount of at
least [insert dollar amount] per occurrence and [insert dollar
amount] annual aggregate arising from operating (an)
underground storage tank(s).

Underground storage tanks at the following facilities are
assured by this financial test by this [insert "owner or
operator," and/or "guarantor"]: [List for each facility the name
and address of the facility where tanks assured by this
financial test are located, and whether tanks are assured by
this financial test.  If separate mechanisms or combinations of
mechanisms are being used to assure any of the tanks at
this facility, list each tank assured by this financial test by the
tank identification number provided in the notification
submitted pursuant to 9 VAC 25-580-70 (Underground
Storage Tanks [ ; : ] Technical Standards and Corrective
Action Requirements)].

I am not required to demonstrate evidence of financial
responsibility for any other EPA regulation or state programs
authorized by EPA [ or for operation of facilities and/or tank
vessels in accordance with § 62.1-44.34:16 of the Code of
Virginia ].
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This [insert "owner or operator," or "guarantor"] has not
received an adverse opinion, a disclaimer of opinion, or a
"going concern" qualification from an independent auditor on
the financial statements for the latest completed financial
reporting year.

[Fill in the information below to demonstrate compliance
with the financial test requirements.]

1.  Amount of annual UST aggregate coverage being
assured by a financial test, and/or
guarantee........................ $---

2.  Total tangible assets.................................$---

3.  Total liabilities [if any of the amount reported on line 1
is included in total liabilities, you may deduct that amount
from this line or add that amount to line 4].............$---

4.  Tangible net worth [subtract line 3 from line 2]......$---

5.  Is line 4 at least equal to line 1 above?    Yes...  No...

6.  Have financial statements for the latest financial
reporting year been filed with the Securities and
Exchange Commission?                       Yes...  No...

7.  Have financial statements for the latest financial
reporting year been filed with the Energy Information
Administration?                 Yes...  No...

8.  Have financial statements for the latest financial
reporting year been filed with the Rural Electrification
Administration?              Yes...  No...

9.  Has financial information been provided to Dun and
Bradstreet, and has Dun and Bradstreet provided a
financial strength rating at least equal to the [ xamount
amount ] of annual UST aggregate coverage being
assured according to the table below?

Annual Aggregate
Requirement

Dun and Bradstreet Rating

$20,000 EE ($20,000 to $34,999)
$40,000 DC ($50,000 to $74,999)
$80,000 CB ($125,000 to $199,999)
$150,000 BB ($200,000 to $299,999)
$200,000 BB ($200,000 to $299,999)

[Answer "Yes" only if BOTH criteria have been met.]
Yes...  No...

10.  If you did not answer yes to one of lines 6 through
9, please attach a report from a certified public
accountant certifying that there are no material
differences between the data reported in lines 2 through
5 above and the financial statements for the latest
financial reporting year.

I hereby certify that the wording of this letter is identical to
the wording specified in Appendix XI of this chapter as such
regulations were constituted on the date shown immediately
below.

[Signature]

[Name]

[Title]

[Date]

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 9 VAC 25-590-10
et seq., Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Financial
Responsibility Requirements, are not being published due to
the large number; however, the name of each form is listed
below.  The forms are available for public inspection at the
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street,
Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor,
Richmond, Virginia.

FORMS

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality [ Water
Division ] Corporate Ability [ to ] Pay [ Claim Application
(7/98) ].

Individual Ability to Pay Claim [ (7/98) ].

[ Partnership Ability to Pay Application (7/98).

Insurance Certification (7/98).

Ability to Pay Application Instructions (5/98).

Ability to Pay Bankruptcy Affidavit (7/98). ]

[ Appendix I-Letter from Chief Financial Officer.

Appendix II-Guarantee.

Appendix III-Endorsement.

Appendix IV-Certificate of Insurance.

Appendix V-Performance Bond.

Appendix VI-Irrevocable Standby Letter of Credit.

Appendix VII-Trust Agreement.

Appendix VIII-Certification of Acknowledgment.

Appendix IX-Certification of Financial Responsibility.

Appendix X-Certification of Valid Claim.

Appendix XI-Letter from Chief Financial Officer (Short
Form). ]

Notice of Intent to Seek Reconsideration [ (1/1/98) ].

[ Form 1-Virginia Underground Petroleum Storage Tank
Fund Cost Justification and Application for Reimbursement
of Corrective Action Costs, VWCB USTRF-10, (eff. 7/91).

Form 2-VUPSTF Summary of All Costs, Cost Detail
Worksheets A-E, USTRF-20, (eff. 7/91).

Form 3-CPA Affidavit, USTRF-30, (eff. 7/91).

Form 4-Corrective Action Activity Regional Office Review,
USTRF-40, (eff. 7/91).

Form 5-Owner Identification and Assignment Certification,
USTRF-50, (eff. 7/91).
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Form 6-Agent Assignment Certification, USTRF-60, (eff.
7/91).

Form 7-Assignment of VUPSTF Proceeds to Financial
Institutions, USTRF-70, (eff. 7/91).

Reconsideration Claim Form (1/1/98).

Form 1 - Virginia Petroleum Storage Tank Fund
Reimbursement Application (1/1/98).

Form 2 - Virginia Petroleum Storage Tank Fund Payment
Assignment Form (1/1/98).

Form 3 - Virginia Petroleum Storage Tank Fund Multiple
Owners Payment Assignment Form (1/1/98).

AAF Cost Worksheet (1/1/98).

Bid Cost Worksheet (1/1/97).

Activity Authorization Form for 198 UCRs (1/1/98).

Activity Authorization Form for 395 UCRs (1/1/98).

Activity Authorization Form for 1289 UCRs (1/1/98).

Bid Summary Form (1/1/98).

Bid Comparison Form (1/1/98).

Bid Work Progress Form (1/1/98).

Site Information Form (7/98). ]

Certification of AST Facility Storage Capacity for Access to
the Virginia Petroleum Storage Tank Fund [ (7/98) ].

Certification of Annual Gallonage [ (7/98) ].

Estate Ability to Pay Application [ Instructions (7/98) ].

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-209; Filed July 15, 1998, 11:26 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 24.  TRANSPORTATION AND

MOTOR VEHICLES

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE:  The following regulatory action
filed by the Commonwealth Transportation Board is exempt
from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in
accordance with § 9-6.14:4.1 C 3, which excludes
regulations that consist only of changes in style or form or
corrections of technical errors.  The Commonwealth
Transportation Board will receive, consider and respond to
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to
reconsideration or revision.

Title of Regulation:  24 VAC 30-71-10 et seq.  Minimum
Standards of Entrances to State Highways (amending 24
VAC 30-71-10, 24 VAC 30-71-80 and 24 VAC 30-71-130).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 33.1-12, 33.1-197, and 33.1-198 of
the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  September 3, 1998.

Summary:

The amendments are metric measurement changes to
speed and distance in 24 VAC 30-71-10 and 24 VAC 30-
71-80 and the elimination of the metric unit from Table 1
in 24 VAC 30-71-130.  The amendments are technical
changes which do not affect the substance of the
regulation.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from S. D. Edwards, Traffic Engineering Division,
Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0121.

24 VAC 30-71-10.  Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings unless the content clearly
indicates otherwise:

“Accessible route” means a continuous unobstructed,
stable, firm and slip-resistant path connecting all accessible
elements of a facility (may include parking access aisles,
curb ramps, crosswalks at vehicular ways, walks, ramps and
lifts) that can be approached, entered and used by persons
with mobility impairments.  An accessible route shall, to the
maximum extent feasible, coincide with the route for the
general public and shall be a minimum of three feet (0.91 0.9
meter) wide.

“Board” means the Commonwealth Transportation Board,
Commonwealth of Virginia.

“Central office” means the office in downtown Richmond
that contains the administrative functions, including
preconstruction activities, and executes command
responsibility and control over all Virginia Department of
Transportation activities.

“Clear zone” means the unobstructed, relatively flat area
provided beyond the edge of the traveled way for the
recovery of errant vehicles.  The width of the clear zone is
influenced by the type of facility, traffic volume, speed,
horizontal alignment and embankment and is detailed in the
department's Road Design Manual,  English (revised
October 1996) or metric (revised September 1996)
measurement versions.

“Commercial entrance” means an entrance serving all
entities other than an individual private residence.  (See
private entrance.)

“Commissioner” means the Commonwealth Transportation
Commissioner, who is also Vice-Chairman of the
Commonwealth Transportation Board.

“Commonwealth” means the Commonwealth of Virginia.

“Department” means the Virginia Department of
Transportation (VDOT).

“Design speed” means the maximum safe speed that can
be maintained over a specified section of highway when
conditions are so favorable that the design features of the
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highway govern, as defined in the American Association of
State Highway Transportation Officials' 1994 edition of A
Policy on Geometric Design of Highways and Streets.

“District office” means the office in each of the nine
construction districts located throughout the state that
implements the construction and maintenance operations of
the Virginia Department of Transportation.

“Engineer” means the engineer representing the Virginia
Department of Transportation.

“Operating speed” means the highest overall speed at
which a driver can travel on a given highway under favorable
weather conditions and under prevailing traffic conditions
without at any time exceeding the safe speed as determined
by the design speed on a section-by-section basis, as
defined in the American Association of State Highway
Transportation Officials' 1994 edition of A Policy on
Geometric Design of Highways and Streets.

“Private entrance” means an entrance serving an
individual private residence and used for the exclusive
benefit of the occupant.

“Private subdivision road or street” means a road or street
that serves more than one individual property, is privately
owned and maintained, and requires a commercial entrance
permit.

“Right-of-way” means that property within the entire area
of every way or place of whatever nature within the system of
state highways under the ownership, control or jurisdiction of
the board, which is open or which is to be open within the
future for the use of the public for purposes of travel in the
Commonwealth.  The area set out above includes not only
the traveled portion but the entire area inside and outside the
traveled portion, from boundary line to boundary line, and
also parking and recreation areas which are under the
ownership, control or jurisdiction of the board.

“Sight distance” means, for crossovers and commercial
entrances, the distance measured between the height of the
driver’s eye ( 3.5 feet)  (1.07 meter)  and the height of a
4.25-foot  (1.30 meter) object without horizontal or vertical
obstruction to the line of sight.

“System of state highways” means all highways and roads
under the ownership, control, or jurisdiction of the board
including, but not limited to, the primary, secondary, and
interstate systems.

24 VAC 30-71-80.  Construction.

The type and depth of pavement shall be clearly indicated
on the permit application.  The pavement of entrances, turn
lanes, and tapers shall be of stable material which is at least
comparable to the pavement of the adjacent roadway.

On-site parking shall be designed so as not to interfere
with sight distance and to prevent vehicular overhang on
state right-of-way.  Interior curbing should be set a minimum
of two feet  (0.61 meter) outside or beyond  the right-of-way
line and should extend the entire length of the parking area.
When parking areas abut curbing sections with sidewalk,

parked vehicles shall be kept a sufficient distance from the
curbing by the use of parking bumpers, or other means, to
prevent vehicle overhang over the sidewalk.  The engineer
shall determine the need for additional curbing along the
right-of-way to the adjacent property line.

Mountable curb (standard CG-3 or CG-7 in the  English
(revised April 1995) or metric (revised September 1997)
measurement versions of the  Road and Bridge Standards,
Volumes I and II) is required when constructed within the
clear zone of a road posted for a speed limit greater than 40
miles per hour (64 60 kilometers per hour)  in rural areas and
45 miles per hour (72 70 kilometers per hour) in urban and
suburban areas.  However, mountable curb is not
recommended adjacent to sidewalks.

All curbing and entrance gutters used to construct
commercial entrances shall be installed in accordance with
the Virginia Department of Transportation's Road and Bridge
Standards,  English (revised April 1995) or metric (revised
September 1997) measurement versions,  and all material
shall meet the department's certification.

The property owner or developer of commercial or
industrial entrances or subdivision road entrances shall be
responsible for the entire construction of the entrance in
accordance with the provisions of the required permit.

24 VAC 30-71-130.  Sight distances.

The following shall be utilized to evaluate sight distance.
Vertical sight distance shall be determined from a target
mounted 4.25 feet (1.30 meters)  above the grade of the
vehicle path simulating a vehicle entering or exiting the
entrance.  The sight distance shall be measured from an eye
height of 3.5 feet (1.07 meters) to the target.  Horizontal
sight distance shall be determined from an eye height of 3.5
feet (1.07 meters) with the object being 4.25 feet (1.30
meters).  For more information on sight distance, see the
1994 edition of A Policy on Geometric Design of Highways
and Streets published by the American Association of State
Highway Transportation Officials.

On a typical two lane road with a horizontal curve,
numerous objects restrict sight distance.  These include, but
are not limited to, cut slopes, buildings, vegetation, and
vehicles.  Landscaping in these areas shall conform to the
VDOT Environmental Division's Planting Guidelines Manual,
effective 1990.  It is possible to have sight distance in the
winter and not in the spring or summer due to the growth of
vegetation.  These obstructions should be considered when
reviewing a commercial entrance permit.  A divided highway
may have similar problems.  It is important to obtain the
desirable commercial entrance sight distance from the
entrance as well as the left turn position into the entrance.
Any waiver of the required sight distance may only be
granted by the chief engineer or the assistant commissioner
for operations after a traffic engineering investigation has
been conducted.
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Table 1 shows specific information about sight distances and speeds along major roads:

Table 1
Sight Distances Along Major Roads at Intersections with Minor Road and Crossovers and Commercial Entrances

Height of Eye (3.5 ft.)
(1.07 m.)

Height of Object (4.25 ft.) (1.30 m.)

Speed Limit*

Miles per hour (mph) 25 mph 30 mph 35 mph 40 mph 45 mph 50 mph 55 mph
Kilometers per hour
(kph)

40 kph 48 kph 56 kph 64 kph 72 kph 80 kph 89 kph

Two and Three Lane
Road or Four Lane
Divided Highways not at
Crossovers

250 ft.
76 m.

300 ft.
91 m.

350 ft.
107 m.

400 ft.
122 m.

450 ft.
137 m.

500 ft.
152 m.

550 ft.
168 m.

Four Lane** 300 ft. 350 ft. 425 ft. 475 ft. 525 ft. 600 ft. 650 ft.
Undivided and Four
Lane Divided Highways
at Crossovers

91 m. 107 m. 130 m. 145 m. 160 m. 183 m. 198 m.

* Where the operating speed on the respective segment of highway is determined to be lower than the legal speed limit, and, in the judgment of the
engineers, the operating speed shall not create hazards for either a driver at a connection or on the major roadway and the legal speed limit cannot
and, in all probability, shall not be obtained in the foreseeable future as a result of improvement or reconstruction, the sight distance requirements for
the operating speed may then be applied.  The operating speed shall be determined by a traffic engineering study at the location in question.  In all
cases when the operating speed is used in lieu of the speed limit, full documentation of its determination shall be attached to the permit assembly.

** For median widths greater than 60 feet (18 meters), each roadway can be considered as a separate two, three, or four lane roadway.  (See the 1994
edition of A Policy on Geometric Design of Highways and Streets.)

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-296; Filed July 9, 1998, 2:53 p.m.

* * * * * * * *

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE:  The following regulation was filed
by description with the Registrar of Regulations in
accordance with § 2.3 of the Virginia Code Commission
Regulations implementing the Virginia Register Act.  Section
2.3 of the Virginia Code Commission Regulations allows the
Registrar to authorize the filing of a regulatory document by
description in lieu of filing the entire text pursuant to criteria
identified in that section.

Title of Regulation:  24 VAC 30-350-10.  Administrative
Manual/Procurement and Surplus Property Manual.

Statutory Authority:  § 33.1-12 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  July 14, 1998.

Exemptions Claimed:

This regulation is exempt from the Administrative
Process Act pursuant to § 9-6.14:4.1 B 2 of the Code of
Virginia, which exempts agency action involving the
award or denial of state contracts, as well as decisions
regarding compliance therewith.  Subdivision 2 f of § 2.3
of the Virginia Code Commission Regulations allows
regulations concerning public contracts to be filed by

description subject to the authorization of the Registrar
of Regulations.

Summary:

The Agency Procurement and Surplus Property Manual
sets forth policies and procedures to be followed by state
agencies in fulfilling procurement responsibilities within
their delegated limits. In addition, the Division of
Purchases and Supply of the Department of General
Services may from time to time issue directives or
memoranda which are effective until included in a
revision to the manual or rescinded. This edition of the
manual applies to procurements initiated after
September 1, 1995.  The revisions to the 1995 edition
concern increased general authority to procure goods
and printing services delegated by the Department of
General Services.

The Administrative Services Division Manual generally
outlines the procedures and policies for procuring
nonprofessional services and for purchasing, storing and
issuing material, equipment and supplies. It also includes
policies and procedures relative to administration of the
following general services by the Administrative Services
Division: Capital Outlay Expenditures; Central Filing and
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Record Retention Services; Distribution and Collection of
Mail; Maintenance of Central Office Buildings;
Information Desk; Insurance and Claims Services; and
Fixed Asset Accounting and Control System.

The documents are available to businesses and citizens for
public review and are available for inspection at the following
location:

Virginia Department of Transportation
Administrative Services Division
Memorial Hospital Building, 1st Floor
1201 E. Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23219

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-300; Filed July 14, 1998, 10:51 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
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FORMS

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY

EDITOR'S NOTICE:  The following form has been amended
by the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy.  The form
is available for public inspection at the Department of Mines,
Minerals and Energy, Ninth Street Office Building, 202 North
9th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, or at the department's
Charlottesville office.  Copies of the forms may be obtained
from Cheryl Cashman, Department of Mines, Minerals and
Energy, Ninth Street Office Building, 202 North 9th Street,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-3213.

Title of Regulation:  4 VAC 25-30-10 et seq.  Minerals
Other Than Coal Surface Mining Regulations.

Title of Regulation:  4 VAC 25-40-10 et seq.  Safety and
Health Regulations for Mineral Mining.

Surety Bond, DMM-107 (Rev. 8/87 4/98).
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GOVERNOR

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER ELEVEN (98)

GOVERNOR'S ADVISORY BOARD OF ECONOMISTS

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under
Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and under the laws of
the Commonwealth, including but not limited to Chapter 5 of
Title 2.1 and § 2.1-393 of the Code of Virginia, and subject
always to my continuing and ultimate authority and
responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby continue the
Governor's Advisory Board of Economists.

The general responsibility of the Board shall be to review
and evaluate revenue estimates to be used in the formulation
of the Governor's Budget and amendments thereto.  The
Board shall review and make recommendations regarding:

1.  Economic assumptions and technical econometric
methodology used to prepare the Governor's annual six-
year estimates of anticipated general and nongeneral
fund revenues;

2.  Assumptions and methodologies used to project
general fund and nongeneral fund revenues for the
current and future biennia;

3.  Current and projected economic outlook for the
Commonwealth and the nation; and

4.  Other related issues, at the request of the Governor.

The Board shall be comprised of members appointed by
the Governor and shall serve at his pleasure.  The Secretary
of Finance shall serve as chairman of the Board.  Other
members of the Board shall be economists selected from
both the public and private sectors.

This Executive Order rescinds Executive Order Number
Twenty-Two (94), Governor's Advisory Board of Economists,
issued by Governor George Allen on June 30, 1994.

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing
and shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2002,
unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive
order.

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the
Commonwealth of Virginia this 29th day of June, 1998.

/s/ James S. Gilmore, III
Governor

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-280; Filed July 8, 1998, 8:20 a.m.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER TWELVE (98)

ASSIGNING RESPONSIBILITY FOR PARTICIPATION IN
FEDERAL "SUPERFUND" PROGRAM

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under
Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and under the laws of
the Commonwealth, including but not limited to § 2.1-39.1 of
the Code of Virginia, and subject to my continuing and
ultimate authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I
hereby assign responsibilities for the administration and

coordination of state response actions under the federal
Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation
and Liability Act of 1980 ("Superfund" Program), as
amended, to the following executive branch agencies and
officials:

1.  The Secretary of Public Safety or the Secretary's
designee shall be responsible for entering into
cooperative agreements with the United States
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) regarding the
immediate response to the release of, or substantial
threat of a release of, hazardous substances that
threaten the public health, welfare, and environment.

2.  The State Coordinator of the Department of
Emergency Services, under the direction of the
Secretary of Public Safety, shall be responsible for
developing the Virginia Oil and Hazardous Materials
Emergency Response Plan and other requisite
documents.

3.  The Director of the Department of Environmental
Quality, under the direction of the Secretary of Natural
Resources, shall be responsible for entering into
cooperative agreements and other agreements and
contracts with EPA, the United States Department of
Defense (DOD), and other federal agencies for the
Superfund Site Assessment, Removal and Remedial
Programs.  Such agreements and contracts shall
provide for the investigation and assessment of releases
of hazardous substances into the environment, and for
remedial actions providing permanent resolution of the
release of hazardous substances into the environment,
except removals that involve immediate response to the
release of hazardous substances that threaten the public
health, welfare, and environment.  Before signing any
cooperative agreement, the Director of the Department
of Environmental Quality shall assure the adherence to
any applicable requirements of the General Provisions
of the current Appropriation Act.

4.  The Director of the Department of Environmental
Quality is authorized to sign, on behalf of the
Commonwealth, the hazardous waste capacity
assurance plan mandated by the Superfund
Amendments and Reauthorization Act and any
amendments thereto.

5.  The Secretary of Natural Resources shall act on
behalf of the public as trustee for natural resources.  The
Secretary of Natural Resources shall assess damage to
natural resources in the case of injury to, destruction of,
or loss of natural resources.  Funds recovered by the
Secretary of Natural Resources as trustee shall be
available only to restore, rehabilitate, or acquire the
equivalent of such natural resources.

6.  The Secretary of Natural Resources and the
Secretary of Public Safety are authorized to develop
memoranda of understanding which set forth the
working relationships between and among state
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agencies with responsibilities under the Executive Order
and applicable statutes.

This Executive Order rescinds Executive Order Number
Twenty-Five (94), Assigning Responsibility to State Officials
and State Agencies for Participation in the Federal
Comprehensive Environmental Response Compensation and
Liability Act of 1980 ("Superfund" Program), issued by
Governor George Allen on June 30, 1994.

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing
and shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2002,
unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive
order.

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the
Commonwealth of Virginia this 29th day of June, 1998.

/s/ James S. Gilmore, III
Governor

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-281; Filed July 8, 1998, 8:20 a.m.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER THIRTEEN (98)

STATE EMPLOYEE FRAUD, WASTE, AND ABUSE
HOTLINE

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under
Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and under the laws of
the Commonwealth, including but not limited to Chapter 5 of
Title 2.1 of the Code of Virginia, and subject to my continuing
and ultimate authority and responsibility to act in such
matters, I hereby direct the Department of the State Internal
Auditor to continue the statewide toll-free telephone "hotline"
to encourage state employees to report situations where
fraud, waste, and abuse may occur in Virginia state agencies
and institutions.

There continues to exist within Virginia's government, as in
every other state in the nation, an ongoing and continuing
possibility of fraud, waste, and abuse in the conduct of
government business.  Despite the Commonwealth's historic
reputation for honesty and integrity in the management of its
affairs, we cannot be complacent.  We must be diligent in
ensuring that Virginia's state government is ethical and
fiscally responsible.

State employees should continue to have the opportunity
to report possible instances of fraud, waste, or abuse
anonymously by using the toll-free telephone hotline.  The
Department of the State Internal Auditor (DSIA) shall remain
responsible for administering the hotline.  This arrangement
coincides with the responsibilities that executive branch
agency heads have for maintaining appropriate internal
controls to protect against fraud, waste, and abuse.

DSIA, through its network of internal auditing programs,
shall ensure that investigation and resolution activities are
undertaken in response to reports received on the hotline.
DSIA shall determine the authenticity of allegations and
ensure that appropriate corrective actions are taken to rectify
any fraud, waste, and abuse.

DSIA shall undertake its investigation and resolution
activities in the most cost-effective manner available.
Accordingly, DSIA should assign responsibility for
investigation and resolution to other investigative staffs
where such responsibility is prescribed by law and where
appropriate to avoid duplicating or replacing existing
investigation and resolution functions.

State employees shall continue to be reminded of the
hotline through such measures as the Commonwealth
Currents, payroll stubs, and Virginia's statewide government
telephone directory.

All executive branch agencies of the Commonwealth shall
cooperate with, and provide assistance to, DSIA to the fullest
extent allowed by law.

This Executive Order rescinds Executive Order Number
Twenty-One (94), Hotline for State Employees to Report
Fraud, Waste or Abuse, issued by Governor George Allen on
June 30, 1994.

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing
and shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2002,
unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive
order.

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the
Commonwealth of Virginia this 29th day of June, 1998.

/s/ James S. Gilmore, III
Governor

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-282; Filed July 8, 1998, 8:20 a.m.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER FOURTEEN (98)

DESIGNATION OF HOUSING CREDIT AGENCY UNDER
FEDERAL TAX REFORM ACT OF 1986

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under
Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and under the laws of
the Commonwealth, including but not limited to Chapter 5 of
Title 2.1 of the Code of Virginia, and under 26 CFR 1.42-
1T(c)(1), and subject always to my continuing and ultimate
authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby
direct that all of the State Housing Credit Ceiling for the
Commonwealth, as determined in accordance with the Tax
Reform Act of 1986, shall be allocated for the period of July
1, 1998, through June 30, 2002, to the Virginia Housing
Development Authority (VHDA), as the Housing Credit
Agency for the Commonwealth.

The Tax Reform Act of 1986 ("the Act"), adopted by the
United States Congress and signed by the President,
authorizes tax credits that may be claimed by owners of
residential rental projects that provide housing for low-
income residents.  The Act imposes a ceiling, called the
"State Housing Credit Ceiling," on the aggregate amount of
tax credits that may be allocated during each calendar year
to qualified housing projects within each state.  The Act also
provides for an allocation of the State Housing Credit Ceiling
to the "Housing Credit Agency" of each state, but permits
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each state's governor to establish a different formula for
allocating the State Housing Credit Ceiling.

As the Commonwealth's Housing Credit Agency for the
low-income housing tax credits program authorized by the
Act, VHDA is hereby directed to consult with the Department
of Housing and Community Development, housing
development industry and nonprofit providers, municipal and
county government officials, housing authorities, and other
interested parties, and to hold at least one public hearing to
obtain public comments on the proposed rules for the
program.

This Executive Order rescinds Executive Order Number
Forty-Three (95):  Designation of Housing Credit Agency
Under Federal Tax Reform Act of 1986, issued by Governor
George Allen on March 9, 1995.

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing
and shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2002,
unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive
order.

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the
Commonwealth of Virginia this 29th day of June, 1998.

/s/ James S. Gilmore, III
Governor

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-283; Filed July 8, 1998, 8:20 a.m.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER FIFTEEN (98)

CREATING THE NEW PARTNERSHIP COMMISSION

Drug use, gang-related activities and violence in our
schools present a clear and growing danger to our children,
our families, and our communities.  In recent years the
Commonwealth has had tremendous success in reducing
levels of violent crime.  However, school violence as well as
drug use, particularly among children and young adults,
have continued to climb.  The threat of drugs, gangs and
violence remains a reality in far too many of our schools.  In
order to succeed in the fight against drugs, gangs, and
school violence, we must rely, not only on a strong response
from law enforcement, but must include core institutions of
society - our families, schools, churches, and
neighborhoods.  We can accomplish these objectives
through a new partnership between state and local
government, community and business leaders, educators
and law enforcement.  Together, we can get drug peddlers
and gangs off the streets, keep drugs and violence out of our
schools, and give our children greater hope and opportunity
to fulfill their dreams.

Accordingly, by virtue of the authority vested in me as
Governor under Article V of the Constitution of Virginia, and
including but not limited to § 2.1-51.36 of the Code of
Virginia, and subject to my continuing and ultimate authority
and responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby create the
Governor's New Partnership Commission.

The Commission is classified as a gubernatorial advisory
commission in accordance with §§ 2.1-51.35 and 9-6.25 of
the Code of Virginia.

The Commission shall have the responsibility to advise the
Governor as to how to make Virginia’s schools and
neighborhoods safer places to live, work and raise families.
The specific duties of the Commission shall include the
following:

• The Commission shall advise the Governor on the
role of drugs and gangs in communities and the
ways in which the Commonwealth can rid Virginia’s
neighborhoods and communities of drugs and
gangs.  Such advice shall include consideration of
programs designed to educate children about the
harmful consequences of drugs and gangs.

• The Commission shall advise the Governor as to
ways in which the Commonwealth can implement
new laws and initiatives to promote community
safety, particularly youth and family safety.  Such
advice shall include consideration of programs
designed to address school violence.

• The Commission shall advise the Governor as to
how technology can best be used to promote
community safety.

• The Commission shall explore the role of the
corporate community in public safety issues.

The Commission shall be comprised of no more than 35
members appointed by the Governor and serving at his
pleasure.  The Governor shall designate two Co-Chairs of
the Commission.

Members of the Commission shall serve without
compensation but shall receive reimbursement for expenses
incurred in the discharge of their official duties only upon the
approval of the Secretary of Public Safety.

Such staff support as is necessary for the conduct of the
Commission's work during the term of its existence shall be
furnished by the Office of the Governor, the Offices of the
Governor's Secretaries, and such other executive branch
agencies as the Governor may designate.  Staff support over
the term of the Commission is expected to total 2,400 hours.

Funding necessary to support the Commission’s work
shall be provided from sources, including both private
contributions and state funds appropriated for purposes
related to the work of the Commission, as authorized by
§ 2.1-51.37(2) of the Code of Virginia.  Direct expenditures
for the Commission's work are estimated to be $75,000,
exclusive of costs related to personnel.

The Commission shall complete its work and report to the
Governor no later than June 16, 1999, unless otherwise
directed by the Governor, subject to the issuance of an
appropriate continuation order pursuant to § 2.1-51.37 of the
Code of Virginia.  It may issue interim reports and make
recommendations at any time it deems necessary or upon
the Governor’s request.
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This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing
and shall remain in full force and effect until June 16, 1999,
unless amended or rescinded by further executive order.

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the
Commonwealth of Virginia this 17th day of June, 1998.

/s/ James S. Gilmore, III
Governor

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-284; Filed July 8, 1998, 8:20 a.m.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SIXTEEN (98)

CONTINUING CERTAIN EMERGENCY DECLARATIONS
DUE TO NATURAL DISASTERS IN THE

COMMONWEALTH

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under
Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and under the laws of
the Commonwealth, including but not limited to § 44-146.17
of the Code of Virginia, and subject always to my continuing
and ultimate authority and responsibility to act in such
matters, and to reserve powers, I hereby continue the states
of emergency declared in the following executive orders:

Executive Order Number Six (94), Declaration of a State
of Emergency Arising From a Severe Winter Storm
Which Impacted the Commonwealth during the period of
February 10 through 12, 1994; as continued by
Executive Orders Eighteen (94), Fifty-one (95), Sixty-
eight (96), and Seventy-seven (97);

Executive Order Number Seven (94), Declaration of a
State of Emergency Arising From Heavy Snowfall,
Torrential Rains, and Icy Conditions Throughout the
Commonwealth during the period March 1 through 3,
1994; as continued by Executive Orders Eighteen (94);
Fifty-one (95), Sixty-eight (96) and Seventy-seven (97);

Executive Order Number Fifty-four (95), Declaration of a
State of Emergency Arising From Heavy Rains, Flash
Floods and Mud Slides in Portions of the
Commonwealth of Virginia, during the period of June 23
through 26, 1995, as continued by Executive Orders
Sixty-eight (96) and Seventy-seven (97);

Executive Order Number Sixty (96), Declaration of a
State of Emergency Throughout the Commonwealth of
Virginia Arising From Massive Snow Storm With
Blizzard Conditions, during the period of January 6
through 10, 1996, which resulted in melting snow,
associated run-off, and severe flooding in portions of the
Commonwealth during the period of January 18 through
19, 1996, as continued by Executive Orders Sixty-eight
(96) and Seventy-seven (97);

Executive Order Number Sixty-six (96), Declaration of a
State of Emergency Throughout the Commonwealth of
Virginia Arising From Hurricane Fran which resulted in
widespread devastation and property losses due to
heavy rains, flooding, and high winds during the period
of September 5 through 7, 1996, as continued by
Executive Order Number Seventy-seven (97); and

Executive Order Number Four (98), Declaration of a
State of Emergency Throughout the Commonwealth of
Virginia Arising From Severe Weather With Heavy
Snowfall in the Western Portion of the State and Inland
and Coastal Flooding during the period of January 28
through February 6, 1998.

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing
and shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 1999,
unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive
order.

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the
Commonwealth of Virginia this 29th day of June, 1998.

/s/ James S. Gilmore, III
Governor

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-285; Filed July 8, 1998, 8:21 a.m.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SEVENTEEN (98)

PURCHASE, ASSIGNMENT, AND USE OF STATE-
OWNED VEHICLES

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under
Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and under the laws of
the Commonwealth, including but not limited to §§ 2.1-47,
2.1-48 and Chapter 12 of Title 33.1 of the Code of Virginia,
and subject to my continuing and ultimate authority and
responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby establish
policies and procedures for the purchase, assignment, and
use of state-owned motor vehicles.

Preamble

The people of Virginia have a right to expect use of state-
owned vehicles to be strictly limited to the necessary
performance of official business.  Motor vehicles are not to
be purchased by agencies or permanently assigned to
agencies from the "centralized fleet" (as defined in Chapter
12 of Title 33.1 of the Code of Virginia) for reasons of
convenience or perquisite.  The purchase, assignment, and
use of such vehicles is to be determined solely according to
whether it will promote efficiency and economy in state
government.

To eliminate unnecessary expense associated with
excessive use of state-owned motor vehicles and to set an
example of frugality, I am hereby establishing policies and
procedures to govern the purchase, assignment, and use of
state-owned passenger-type motor vehicles in the future.

Specific Directives

1.  The head of each agency or institution of the
Commonwealth shall limit authorization of commuting in
state-owned vehicles to those employees whose job
travel requirements make commuting the only cost-
effective or practical alternative.  The Commissioner of
Transportation shall ensure that regulations applicable
to commuting are uniformly applied and meet the
criteria stated herein.  For the purpose of this Executive
Order and as used in § 33.1-406 of the Code of Virginia,
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"commuting" shall mean driving between home and
office where such driving is not connected to a departure
for, or return from, a trip on official state business.

2.  Notwithstanding the foregoing paragraph, no
appointee serving at the pleasure of the Governor shall
use a state-owned vehicle for the purpose of
commuting.  Such appointees may use a state-owned
vehicle for driving between home and office only when
connected to a departure for, or return from, a trip on
official state business.  The limitation of this paragraph
shall not apply to the Secretary of Public Safety, the
Superintendent of State Police, nor to those appointees
who, in the judgment of the Secretary of Public Safety,
need access to state-owned vehicles for the purpose of
responding to job-related emergency situations from
their homes.

3.  The head of each agency or institution of the
Commonwealth shall be directly responsible for ensuring
compliance with this Executive Order and all applicable
statutes and regulations governing the use of state-
owned vehicles, including the requirement that such
vehicles be used strictly for official business only.  Each
agency head shall ensure that due consideration is given
to the economy of reimbursing employees for mileage in
their personal vehicles in lieu of use of state-owned
vehicles, and shall assist the Commissioner of
Transportation in eliminating the use of state-owned
vehicles where such use does not advance the goals of
efficient and economical operation of state government.

4.  The criteria governing the assignment of centralized
fleet vehicles (see Rules and Regulations Governing the
Use, Operation and Maintenance of State-Owned Fleet
Vehicles, published by the Department of
Transportation) shall apply to all passenger-type
vehicles owned by the Commonwealth, subject to such
exceptions as the Commissioner of Transportation shall
make.  The authority of the Commissioner of
Transportation under § 33.1-407 to promulgate
regulations governing the centralized fleet shall extend
to all passenger-type vehicles owned by the
Commonwealth.

5.  The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles shall assess
the use of blind tags on state-owned vehicles, and shall
restrict such use to law enforcement vehicles and to
such other vehicles as he determines are regularly used
in the course of official business, the effective
performance of which makes blind tags essential.

This Executive Order rescinds Executive Order Number
Seventeen (94), issued by Governor George Allen on June
27, 1994.

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing
and shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2002,
unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive
order.

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the
Commonwealth of Virginia this 29th day of June, 1998.

/s/ James S. Gilmore, III
Governor

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-286; Filed July 8, 1998, 8:21 a.m.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER EIGHTEEN (98)

DESIGNATION OF EXECUTIVE BRANCH OFFICERS AND
EMPLOYEES REQUIRED TO FILE FINANCIAL

DISCLOSURE STATEMENTS

The State and Local Government Conflict of Interest Act
reflects the Commonwealth's continuing commitment that
the judgment of public officers and employees will not be
compromised or affected by inappropriate conflicts between
the personal economic interests and the official duties of
Virginia's public servants.

In furtherance of the purposes of the State and Local
Government Conflict of Interests Act, § 2.1-639.1 et seq. of
the Code of Virginia (hereinafter, "the Act"), and by virtue of
the authority vested in me as Governor under Article V of the
Constitution of Virginia and under the laws of the
Commonwealth, including but not limited to §§ 2.1-41.2, 2.1-
42, and 2.1-639.13 of the Code of Virginia, and subject to my
continuing and ultimate authority and responsibility to act in
such matters, I hereby establish the following policies and
procedures to implement the Act in executive branch
agencies, institutions, boards, and commissions:

1.  In order that all appropriate executive branch officers
and employees may be designated to file the annual
statement of economic interests set out in the Act, each
of the Governor's Secretaries shall submit to me by
October 1, 1998, a report identifying:

(a)  Each position within the Secretary's jurisdiction,
whether classified or non-classified, which involves
substantive responsibility for inspection, investigation,
licensure, or other regulation of the activities of private
firms, organizations, or professions; and

(b)  Each position within the Secretary's jurisdiction,
whether classified or non-classified, which involves
substantive responsibility for procurement, audit,
investment, or other activities that could be subject to
abuse or improper influence as a result of the
personal economic interests of the officeholder or
employee.

2.  In order that members of appropriate boards and
commissions within the executive branch may be
designated to file the annual statement of personal
interests required by the Act, the Secretary of the
Commonwealth shall submit to me by October 1, 1998,
a report identifying those boards and commissions
bearing substantial responsibility for inspection,
investigation, licensure, or other regulation of the
activities of private firms, organizations, and
professions.  The report also shall identify those boards
and commissions bearing substantial responsibility for
procurement, audit, investigation, or other activities that



Governor

Virginia Register of Regulations

3644

could be subject to abuse or improper influence as a
result of the personal economic interests of members.

3.  Subject to my approval, the Secretary of the
Commonwealth shall prepare from the reports submitted
pursuant to paragraphs 1 and 2 above, a comprehensive
list of officers, employees, and members of boards and
commissions within the executive branch who shall be
required to file the statement of economic interests set
out in the Act.  The Secretary of the Commonwealth,
with the assistance and cooperation of the Governor's
Secretaries, shall maintain this list, shall review and
revise it annually to reflect the creation and abolition of
offices and positions, and shall annually inform each
officer, employee, or board or commission member
listed of his or her obligation to file the statement of
economic interests in accordance with § 2.1-639.13 of
the Code of Virginia.

4.  The head of each agency, institution, board and
commission within the executive branch shall assist the
Governor's Secretaries and the Secretary of the
Commonwealth in compiling the information required by
this Executive Order, in ensuring that appropriate
additions to and deletions from the list of those
designated to file the statement of economic interests
are recommended in a timely fashion, and in ensuring
that designated officers and employees file their
statements of economic interests in accordance with
§ 2.1-639.13 of the Code of Virginia.

5.  The head of each agency, institution, board and
commission within the executive branch shall
communicate to the officers, employees, and members
within his or her jurisdiction the importance and
necessity of maintaining the highest standards of
conduct, and avoiding even the appearance of
impropriety arising out of personal economic interests
and the conduct of the business of the Commonwealth.

This Executive Order rescinds Executive Order Number
Twenty (94), issued by Governor George Allen on June 30,
1994.

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing
and shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2002,
unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive
order.

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the
Commonwealth of Virginia this 29th day of June, 1998.

/s/ James S. Gilmore, III
Governor

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-287; Filed July 8, 1998, 8:21 a.m.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER NINETEEN (98)

ESTABLISHING THE GOVERNOR’S COMMISSION ON
PHYSICAL FITNESS AND SPORTS

By virtue of the authority vested in me under Article V of
the Constitution of Virginia and under the laws of the

Commonwealth, including but not limited to Sections
2.1-41.1, 2.1-51.36, and 2.1-387 of the Code of Virginia, and
subject always to my continuing and ultimate authority to act
in such matters, I hereby create the Governor's Commission
on Physical Fitness and Sports.

The Commission is classified as a gubernatorial advisory
commission in accordance with Sections 2.1-51.35 and 9-
6.25 of the Code of Virginia.

The Commission shall have the responsibility to advise the
Governor on all matters related to sports, health, and
physical fitness in the Commonwealth.  The Commission's
work may include, without limitation, the following activities:

1.  To advise the Governor on all matters relating to
sports, competition, health and nutrition education,
exercise, and physical fitness;

2.  To advise the Governor concerning ways to increase
appreciation for and public knowledge of the importance
of physical fitness for all of Virginia's families;

3.  To advise the Governor concerning enhancement of
the Commonwealth's efforts to educate our youth,
adults, and senior citizens about physical fitness as it
relates to health, a productive life style, and a better
standard of living;

4.  At the Governor’s request, to represent the Governor
and his commitment to the importance of good physical
fitness at functions relating to better health and fitness
for Virginians;

5.  To advise the Governor concerning coordination and
facilitation of the Commonwealth's participation in
programs currently existing through the President's
Council on Physical Fitness and Sports and to develop
similar projects, where appropriate, for Virginia;

6.  To advise on projects and events to benefit
employees of state agencies for the promotion of
physical fitness, health and nutrition education, sports,
and competition.

This Commission shall further be authorized to become a
member of the National Association of Governor's Councils
on Physical Fitness and Sports.

The Commission shall be comprised of not more than 30
members to be appointed by the Governor and serving at his
pleasure.  The Governor shall designate a Chairman and
Vice Chairman to serve at his pleasure.

Members of the Commission shall serve without
compensation but may receive reimbursement for expenses
incurred in the discharge of their official duties upon approval
of the Secretary of Administration.

The Commission will meet as necessary and may appoint
an executive committee to meet on a more timely basis.

Such staff support as is necessary for the Commission's
work during the term of its existence shall be furnished by
the Virginia Department of Health, Department for the Aging,
Department of Education, Virginia Tourism Corporation, and
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other such agencies with closely and definitely related
purposes as the Governor may designate.  An estimated
3,000 hours of staff support may be required to support the
Commission.  Funding necessary to support the
Commission's work shall be provided by the agencies listed
in this paragraph, from funds authorized for such use by
Section 2.1-51.37 of the Code of Virginia.  Direct
expenditures for the Commission's work are estimated at
$10,000.

The Commission shall issue a report to the Governor on
its accomplishments no later than December 1, 1998.  The
Commission shall issue other reports and recommendations
at such times as it deems appropriate, or upon request of the
Governor.

This executive order shall be retroactively effective to May
28, 1998, upon its signing, and shall remain in full force and
effect until May 29, 1999, unless amended or rescinded by
further executive order.

Given under my hand and under the seal of the
Commonwealth of Virginia this 29th day of June 1998.

/s/ James S. Gilmore, III
Governor

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-288; Filed July 8, 1998, 8:21 a.m.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER TWENTY (98)

EXEMPTING CERTAIN STAFF POSITIONS FROM THE
PERSONNEL ACT

By the authority vested in me as Governor under the
Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and under the laws of
the Commonwealth, including but not limited to Chapter 5 of
Title 2.1 and Section 2.1-113 of the Code of Virginia, all
positions in the Governor’s Office and the offices of the
several Secretaries (including the Secretary of the
Commonwealth, Secretary of Technology and the Virginia
Liaison Office) are hereby exempt from the provisions of the
Virginia Personnel Act (§ 2.1-110 et seq.).

This Executive Order rescinds Executive Order Number
Nineteen (94), Exempting Certain Staff Positions from the
Personnel Act, issued by Governor George Allen on June 30,
1994.

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing
and shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2002,
unless amended or rescinded by further executive order.

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the
Commonwealth of Virginia, this 29th day of June, 1998.

/s/ James S. Gilmore, III
Governor

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-289; Filed July 8, 1998, 8:21 a.m.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER TWENTY-ONE (98)

CONTINUING THE GOVERNOR'S INITIATIVE AGAINST
NARCOTICS TRAFFICKING (GIANT)

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under
Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and Chapter 5 of Title
2.1 of the Code of Virginia, and subject to my continuing
authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby
continue the Governor's Initiative Against Narcotics
Trafficking (GIANT).

There exists within the Commonwealth of Virginia, as in
every other state, a continuing traffic in illicit drugs.  While
valiant efforts have been made, and continue to be made, by
federal, state, and local law enforcement agencies to
overcome this pernicious trade and usage, the effort has not
been fully coordinated, and breakdowns in communications
and duplication of efforts can hamper progress.  By
continuing GIANT, I take action to prevent these problems
and to continue a leadership team that will make the
Commonwealth's efforts against illicit drugs second to none.

The following agencies and individuals shall comprise the
steering committee for this effort:

Agency Individual

Department of State
Police

Superintendent (Chair of
GIANT)

Department of Military
Affairs

Plans, Operations, and
Military Support Officer

Department of Alcoholic
Beverage Control

Director, Bureau of Law
Enforcement Operations

Department of Aviation Director
Marine Resources

Commission
Commissioner

Virginia Port Authority Chief
Department of Forestry State Forester
Department of Game and

Inland Fisheries
Director

In order to carry out the mission of GIANT, the
Department of State Police shall participate on a full-time
basis, and shall assign personnel and equipment as
determined by the Superintendent.  All other listed agencies
shall participate on a part-time basis, making personnel and
equipment available as needed.

The steering committee of GIANT shall establish
procedures to facilitate and assure coordination and
cooperation among the various agencies.  Such procedures
shall be directed toward:

1.  The development of intelligence pertaining to
domestically grown marijuana, both indoor and outdoor,
with the eradication of this marijuana and successful
prosecution of the growers as a primary goal of GIANT;

2.  The development of intelligence concerning air
smuggling into Virginia by the use of contacts to monitor
suspicious activities at all known airports in the
Commonwealth, and by locating clandestine airstrips
and identifying users;
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3.  Reduction of the supply of illegal drugs entering and
being transported within the Commonwealth by
interdicting drug shipments via land, air, and waterway;

4.  Development of procedures that eliminate duplication
of activities and breakdowns in communication among
the various state agencies and law-enforcement
authorities; and

5.  Utilization of the resources of county and city law-
enforcement agencies to the maximum extent possible.

The GIANT steering committee shall meet at the call of the
Chair.  Regular meetings may be established for the purpose
of ensuring that any operational difficulties may be remedied
on an ongoing basis.

All other agencies of the Commonwealth not specifically
named herein shall cooperate with and provide assistance to
GIANT to the fullest extent allowed by law and consistent
with their various missions.

This Executive Order rescinds Executive Order Number
Fifty-five (95), issued by Governor George Allen on August
31, 1995.

This Executive Order shall become effective upon its
signing and shall remain in full force and effect until June 30,
2001, unless amended or rescinded by further executive
order.

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the
Commonwealth of Virginia this 29th day of June 1998.

/s/ James S. Gilmore, III
Governor

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-290; Filed July 8, 1998, 8:21 a.m.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER TWENTY-TWO (98)

DELEGATION OF AUTHORITY CONFERRED BY
CHAPTERS 781, 789, 849, 892, 894, AND 896, 1992 ACTS
OF ASSEMBLY; CHAPTER 5, 1994 ACTS OF ASSEMBLY,
SPECIAL SESSION 1; AND CHAPTER 464, 1998 ACTS OF
ASSEMBLY, AS AMENDED BY CHAPTER 1, 1998 ACTS

OF ASSEMBLY, SPECIAL SESSION 1

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under
Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and under the laws of
the Commonwealth, including but not limited to Section 2.1-
39.1 of the Code of Virginia, and subject to my continuing
and ultimate authority and responsibility to act in such
matters and to reserve powers, I hereby delegate the several
powers and duties conferred upon me by Chapters 781, 789,
849, 892, 894, and 896, 1992 Acts of Assembly (General
Obligation Bond Acts); Chapter 5 of the 1994 Acts of
Assembly, Special Session (Taxation of Retirement Income);
and Chapter 464, 1998 Acts of Assembly, as amended by
Chapter 1, 1998 Acts of Assembly, Special Session 1 (1998
Appropriation Act), as provided below.

The authority conferred upon me by Chapters 781, 789,
849, 892, 894 and 896, 1992 Acts of Assembly, and Chapter
5, 1994 Acts of Assembly, is hereby delegated in accordance

with the terms of Executive Order Number Seventy-two (97),
which is incorporated by this reference for the purposes
stated.

Such authority as was conferred upon the Governor by
Chapter 912, 1996 Acts of Assembly, and thereafter
delegated by Executive Order Number Seventy-two (97),
shall, to the extent the corresponding authority is conferred
by Chapter 464, 1998 Acts of Assembly, continue to be
delegated according to Executive Order Number Seventy-
two.  Any noncorresponding authority shall be retained by
me.

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing
and shall remain in full force and effect until October 31,
1998, unless amended or rescinded by further executive
order.

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the
Commonwealth of Virginia, this 29th day of June, 1998.

/s/ James S. Gilmore, III
Governor

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-291; Filed July 8, 1998, 8:21 a.m.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER TWENTY-THREE
(98)

CONTINUATION OF VIRGINIA COASTAL RESOURCES
MANAGEMENT PROGRAM

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under
Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and under the laws of
the Commonwealth, including but not limited to Sections 2.1-
39.1 and 2.1-41.1 of the Code of Virginia, and subject to my
continuing and ultimate authority and responsibility to act in
such matters, I hereby continue the Virginia Coastal
Resources Management Program and direct all state
agencies to carry out their legally established duties
consistent with this Program and in a manner that promotes
coordination among agencies in achieving the Program’s
goals and objectives.

I.  POLICY GOALS AND OBJECTIVES

State agencies having responsibility for the
Commonwealth’s coastal resources shall promote the
Coastal Resources Management Program (the Program)
consistent with the following goals and objectives:

Prevention of Environmental Pollution and Protection of
Public Health

1.  To maintain, protect, and improve the quality of
coastal waters suitable for the propagation of aquatic life
and recreation involving body contact;

2.  To reduce nonpoint pollution, caused by
inappropriate land uses and inadequate land
management practices, in tidal streams, estuaries,
embayments, and coastal waters;

3.  To reduce the potential for damage to coastal
resources from toxic and other hazardous materials
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through effective point source water pollution
management, site selection and planning, and improved
containment and cleanup programs;

4.  To prevent significant deterioration of air quality;

5.  To protect the public health from contaminated
seafood.

Prevention of Damage to Natural Resource Base

6.  To protect ecologically significant tidal marshes from
despoliation or destruction;

7.  To minimize damage to the productivity and diversity
of the marine environment resulting from alteration of
subaqueous lands and aquatic vegetation;

8.  To minimize damage to the productivity and diversity
of the marine environment resulting from the disruption
of finfish and shellfish population balances;

9.  To reduce the adverse effects of sedimentation on
productive marine systems;

10.  To preserve and maintain wildlife and wildlife
habitat areas and to facilitate preservation and
restoration of endangered and threatened flora and
fauna.

Protection of Public and Private Investment

11.  To conserve coastal sand dune systems;

12.  To reduce or prevent losses of property, tax base,
and public facilities caused by shorefront erosion;

13.  To minimize dangers to life and property caused by
coastal flooding and storms.

Promotion of Resources Development

14.  To promote the wise use of coastal resources for
the economic benefit and employment of the citizens of
the Commonwealth;

15.  To protect and maintain existing uses of estuarine
waters for shellfish propagation and marketing;

16.  To encourage provision of commercial and
industrial access to coastal waters where essential to
desired economic activities;

17.  To coordinate the Commonwealth’s planning
processes for major projects to facilitate consideration of
alternative locations for such facilities within the context
of long-term development patterns and their
implications;

18.  To maintain or improve productive fisheries;

19.  To encourage exploration and production of outer
continental shelf energy reserves;

20.  To provide for the extraction of mineral resources in
a manner consistent with proper environmental
practices.

Promotion of Public Recreation Opportunities

21.  To provide and increase public recreational access
to coastal waters and shorefront lands.

Promotion of Efficient Government Operation

22.  To provide a shoreline permitting procedure,
administered at the local level wherever possible, which
assures adequate review and mitigation of probable
impacts as well as timely response to applicants.

Provision of Technical Assistance and Information

23.  To provide state and local governing officials and
private citizens with technical advice necessary to make
wise decisions regarding uses of and impacts on coastal
resources;

24.  To conduct continuing educational programs in
coastal resources management for local and state
officials;

25.  To maintain and improve data bases, maps and
photoimagery to support decision-makers’ needs.

II.  ENFORCEMENT

The following agencies shall have primary responsibility
for implementing the eight core enforceable policies of
Virginia’s Coastal Program which were approved by the
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration in 1986:

Responsible Agency and Enforceable Policies

Department of Environmental Quality
1.  Point source water pollution management and
nontidal wetlands management
2.  Air pollution

Department of Conservation and Recreation
Nonpoint source pollution management

Marine Resources Commission
1.  Primary sand dunes management
2.  Tidal wetlands management
3.  Subaqueous lands management
4.  Fisheries management (shared with DGIF)

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries
Fisheries management (shared with VMRC)

Department of Health
Shoreline sanitation

The following other agencies also have responsibility for
assisting with implementation of the Program:

Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Department
Department of Historic Resources
Department of Forestry
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Virginia Institute of Marine Science

In addition, other agencies that conduct activities which
may affect coastal resources shall conduct such activities in
a manner consistent with and supportive of Virginia’s
Coastal Resources Management Program.  For purposes of
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this Program, the coastal area shall mean Tidewater Virginia
as defined in Section 28.2-100 of the Code of Virginia.

The Director of the Department of Environmental Quality
(DEQ) shall monitor all state actions that affect coastal
resources.  When, in the judgment of the DEQ Director, a
state agency, regulatory board, or commission is ready to
act in a manner that appears to be inconsistent with the
Program or has established a pattern of actions that appears
to be inconsistent with the Program, the Director shall
discuss the situation with the head of such agency, board or
commission to determine if a consistency problem in fact
exists.

If after discussion, the head of such agency, board or
commission and the Director of DEQ are in disagreement
about the existence of a consistency problem, the Director
will inform the Secretary of Natural Resources of the
disagreement.  The Secretary shall then determine if a state
consistency problem exists.

If the head of such agency, board, or commission and the
Director of DEQ agree that a consistency problem exists,
they shall attempt to resolve the problem.  If they cannot
resolve the problem, the Director shall advise the Secretary
that an unresolved state consistency problem exists.

Upon notification of the existence of an unresolved
consistency problem, the Secretary shall review the problem,
determine how it should best be resolved, and effect such
resolution within the Secretariat of Natural Resources or
consult with other Cabinet Secretaries to resolve a
consistency problem with agencies, boards or commissions
not within the Secretariat of Natural Resources.  If unable to
resolve the problem, the Secretary shall report to the
Governor and recommend appropriate action.

Any person having authority to resolve consistency
problems under the terms of this Executive Order shall
resolve those problems in a manner that furthers the goals
and objectives of the Program as set forth above and in
accordance with existing state law, regulations, and
administrative procedures.

This Executive Order rescinds Executive Order Number
Twenty-four (94), Continuation of Virginia Coastal Resources
Management Program, issued by Governor George Allen on
June 30, 1994.

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing
and shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2002,
unless amended or rescinded by further executive order.

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the
Commonwealth of Virginia on this 29th day of June, 1998.

/s/ James S. Gilmore, III
Governor

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-292; Filed July 8, 1998, 8:22 a.m.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER TWENTY-FOUR (98)

REVIEW OF EMERGENCY REGULATIONS PROPOSED
BY STATE AGENCIES

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under
Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and under the laws of
the Commonwealth, including but not limited to Section 9-
6.14:9.1 of the Code of Virginia, and subject to my
continuing and ultimate authority and responsibility to act in
such matters, I hereby establish policies and procedures for
review of all emergency regulations proposed by agencies of
the Commonwealth.

1.  Preparation of Regulatory Review Package

In accordance with Section 9-6.1.14:4.1 C 5 of the
Administrative Process Act (APA) and this Executive Order,
an agency desiring to propose an emergency regulation shall
prepare a regulatory review package that shall consist of:

a.  A copy of the proposed emergency regulation;

b.  A statement identifying the source(s) of the state
and/or federal legal authority to promulgate the
contemplated regulation, including a description of the
scope of the authority provided and the extent to which
the authorized rulemaking provisions are mandatory or
discretionary, together with an attached copy of all cited
legal provisions;

c.  A statement from the Attorney General that the
agency has the statutory authority to promulgate the
proposed emergency regulation, and that the proposed
emergency regulation comports with the applicable state
and/or federal law;

d.  A statement that the emergency regulation is
necessary because of  (i) a situation involving an
imminent threat to public health or safety or (ii) a
situation in which Virginia statutory law or the
appropriation act or federal law requires that a
regulation shall be effective in 280 days or less from
enactment of the law or the appropriation act, and the
regulation is not exempt under the provisions of
subdivision C 4 of Section 9-6.14:4.1.  This statement
shall set forth in detail the nature of the emergency and
the necessity for such action;

e.  A statement detailing any changes, other than strictly
editorial changes, that the proposed regulation will
implement, along with citations to the appropriate
sections of the regulation, including cross-referenced
citations when the proposed regulation is intended to
replace an existing regulation;

f.  A statement setting forth the reasoning by which the
agency has concluded that the contemplated regulation
is essential to protect the health, safety or welfare of
citizens or for the efficient and economical performance
of an important governmental function; and

g.  A statement describing the process by which the
agency has considered less burdensome and less
intrusive alternatives for achieving the essential purpose
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of the regulation, the alternatives considered, and the
reasoning by which the agency has rejected any of the
alternatives considered, along with a description of any
additional alternatives which the agency wishes to
consider for the development of a permanent
replacement regulation.

2.  Preliminary Approval by the Secretary and DPB

The agency shall submit the regulatory review package
simultaneously to the Secretary and to the Department of
Planning and Budget (DPB).  With advice from the Attorney
General, the Secretary shall make a determination as to
whether the proposed regulation is legally authorized and
necessary based upon the criteria outlined in Section 1
above.  DPB shall also make a determination of necessity
and communicate its determination to the Secretary and the
Governor.

If the Secretary approves the proposed regulation, the
Secretary shall communicate that approval to the Governor
by forwarding the regulatory review package with a cover
memorandum setting forth the approval and the reasons
therefor.  If DPB’s recommendation conflicts with the
Secretary’s, that shall be noted in the cover memorandum.

3.  Approval by the Governor

The Governor, or the Governor’s Policy Office acting as his
designee, shall review the regulatory review package and the
memoranda from the Secretary and DPB and determine
whether the proposed regulation should be approved.  The
Governor’s decision shall be promptly communicated to the
agency, which shall act accordingly.

4.  Publication of the Notice of Intended Regulatory
Action (NOIRA) for the Replacement Regulation

Should the agency desire to promulgate a permanent
regulation to replace an emergency regulation, this intent
shall be noted in the regulatory review package for the
emergency regulation.  Upon approval of the emergency
regulation, the agency may also be authorized to submit the
NOIRA to the Registrar for publication.  When approval is
given for publication of the NOIRA, the agency shall submit
the required information for publication on the
Commonwealth Regulatory Web Site as specified in
Executive Order Number Twenty-five (98).

To ensure the replacement of emergency regulations within
an appropriate period of time, the agency shall submit the
regulatory review package replacing an emergency
regulation to the secretary and DPB no later than 60 days
following the close of the NOIRA comment period.

Any failure to comply with the requirements set forth
herein shall in no way affect the validity of a regulation, or
create any cause of action or provide standing for any
person under Section 9-6.14:15 et seq. of the Code of
Virginia or otherwise to challenge the actions of a
government entity responsible for adopting or reviewing
regulations.

This Executive Order shall become effective upon its
signing and shall remain in full force and effect until June 30,

2002, unless sooner amended or rescinded by further
executive order.

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the
Commonwealth of Virginia this 30th day of June, 1998.

/s/ James S. Gilmore, III
Governor

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-293; Filed July 8, 1998, 8:22 a.m.

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER TWENTY-FIVE (98)

DEVELOPMENT AND REVIEW OF REGULATIONS
PROPOSED BY STATE AGENCIES

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under
Article V of the Constitution of the Commonwealth of Virginia
and under the laws of the Commonwealth, including but not
limited to Sections 9-6.14:9.1 and 9-6.14:25 of the Code of
Virginia, and subject to my continuing and ultimate authority
and responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby establish
policies and procedures for review of all new, revised and
existing regulations proposed by agencies of the
Commonwealth.  Nothing in this Executive Order shall be
construed to limit my authority under Section 9-6.14:9.1 to
require an additional 30-day final adoption period, or to
exercise any other rights and prerogatives existing under
Virginia law.

General Policy

The Executive Branch agencies of the Commonwealth
must consider, review and promulgate scores of regulations
each year.  While regulations are intended to protect the
health, safety, and welfare of Virginians or to further the
efficient and economical performance of important
government functions, the hundreds of regulations enforced
by state government can sometimes pose significant
burdens for citizens.  Therefore, all significant effects,
burdens and consequences of regulations should be carefully
considered by the agency of the Commonwealth
promulgating the regulation before a regulation becomes
effective.  There must always be a presumption in favor of
the very least burdensome and intrusive regulation.

All state employees who draft or provide policy analysis or
review for proposed regulations shall carefully consider all of
the significant effects of the proposed regulations during the
regulatory review process outlined and required by this
Executive Order.  Even in those cases when government
regulation is warranted and required, this process is
designed to ensure that all aspects of the proposed
regulation are carefully analyzed so that unintended
consequences and unnecessary burdens on citizens are
avoided.  Before the rule making process commences, a
specific need for governmental intervention must be clearly
identified and precisely defined.  Moreover, even when
government intervention is warranted, the regulation
promulgated must represent the least burdensome and
intrusive solution for the identified need.

When regulations are used judiciously and designed
carefully they can generate important public benefits, such
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as reducing risks to public safety, making it easier for
consumers to obtain the information they need to make
informed choices, and controlling the negative consequences
that certain actions may have on public resources such as
the environment.  However, like direct taxation, regulations
can impose substantial costs on businesses and individuals.
These costs often take the form of mandated expenditures,
delays, forgone opportunities, and disincentives to
innovation.  As a result, like the allocation of citizen
resources in the Commonwealth’s fiscal budget,
expenditures required by state regulations should be given
the utmost review and consideration.

The following principles shall guide agencies in carrying
out this Executive Order as they follow the regulatory review
process contained herein.  To ensure that the people of
Virginia are not burdened by unnecessary and excessive
regulation, it shall be the policy of the Commonwealth that:

A.  Regulatory activities of agencies are to be
undertaken with the least possible interference in private
sector enterprise and in the lives of Virginia's citizens.
Unless otherwise mandated by statute, only regulations
that are essential to protect the health, safety and
welfare of citizens or for the efficient and economical
performance of an important governmental function will
be promulgated.

B.  No regulation will be promulgated if there are less
burdensome or less intrusive alternatives available that
will satisfy any applicable state or federal legal
requirements and achieve the essential purpose for
which the regulatory action is undertaken.

C.  Since circumstances, conditions and technologies
change, regulations should not be considered perpetual
and will be subjected to periodic re-evaluation through
the inclusion of a future review date in the regulatory
review package.  At such date, each regulation will be
reviewed to determine if it should be continued in its
existing form, amended or terminated.  Each regulatory
review package will set forth a list of the specific and
measurable goals that the regulation is intended to
achieve.  Progress toward those goals will be evaluated
during the review process.

D.  Regulations will be clearly written and easily
understandable by the individuals and entities affected.

E.  All legal requirements related to public participation
and all public participation guidelines will be strictly
followed to ensure that citizens have reasonable access
and opportunity to present their comments and
concerns.  As regulations are being promulgated,
citizens must have the opportunity to participate fully in
the regulatory process.  In order to assure this
opportunity, agencies must establish procedures that
provide for a timely written response to all comments
and the inclusion of changes suggested by reasonable,
cogent, and persuasive comments.

F.  While regulations must be carefully designed using
the best available information in accordance with the

principles set out in this Executive Order, citizens
participating in the regulatory process can reasonably
expect that the development process will take place over
an appropriately circumscribed timeframe.  Therefore,
agencies as well as reviewing entities should endeavor
to perform their tasks in the regulatory process as
expeditiously as the regulatory subject matter will allow.

G.  Each agency head will be held directly accountable
for ensuring that the principles and objectives specified
in this Executive Order are put into effect.

Applicability

This Executive Order applies to rulemaking initiated by
agencies and departments of the Commonwealth of Virginia
in accordance with Article 2 of the Administrative Process
Act (APA) on or after the effective date of this Executive
Order.  In addition, the requirements governing the periodic
review of existing regulations shall be applicable to all
regulations promulgated by Executive Branch agencies.

A Cabinet Secretary may request in writing that an agency
comply with all or part of the requirements of this Executive
Order for regulations exempt from Article 2 of the APA.
Copies of any such request shall be forwarded to the
Governor and the Department of Planning and Budget
(DPB).

These procedures shall apply in addition to those already
specified in the APA, the agencies’ public participation
guidelines, and the agencies’ basic authorizing statutes.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

1.  Preparation of the Preliminary Determination
Package (Pre-NOIRA)

Prior to providing the Registrar of Regulations a
proposed Notice of Intended Regulatory Action (NOIRA)
pursuant to Section 9-6.14:7.1 of the APA, the agency
head must submit to the appropriate Governor's
Secretary and to the Department of Planning and
Budget (DPB) a proposal outlining the reasons the
agency wishes to promulgate a new or revised
regulation.  This submission shall include the following:

a.  A statement identifying and describing the
source(s) of the state and/or federal legal authority to
promulgate the contemplated regulation, the scope of
the authority provided, and the extent to which the
authorized rulemaking is mandatory or discretionary,
together with an attached copy of all cited legal
provisions;

b.  A statement delineating the potential issues to be
addressed in the proposed regulation, with any
preliminary regulatory language that has been
developed attached;

c.  A statement setting forth the reasoning by which
the agency has concluded that the contemplated
regulation is essential to protect the health, safety or
welfare of citizens or for the efficient and economical
performance of an important governmental function,
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including a discussion of the problems the regulation’s
provisions are intended to solve; and

d.  A statement describing the process by which the
agency has considered, or will consider, less
burdensome and less intrusive alternatives for
achieving the essential purpose (identified in 1 c
above), the alternatives considered or to be
considered (to the extent known), and the reasoning
by which the agency has rejected any of the
alternatives considered.

2.  Review of the Pre-NOIRA Package by DPB and the
Secretary

DPB shall review the submission to determine whether it
complies with all requirements of this Executive Order
and applicable statutes and whether the contemplated
regulatory action comports with the policy of the
Commonwealth as set forth herein.  Within 14 days of
receiving a complete pre-NOIRA review package from
the agency, the Director of DPB shall advise the
Secretary and the Governor of its determination.

The Secretary shall then make a determination whether
to authorize the agency to provide the NOIRA to the
Registrar pursuant to Virginia Code Section
9-6.14:7.1 B, as follows:

a.  If the Secretary determines that the agency has the
legal authority to promulgate the contemplated
regulation and that the contemplated regulation
comports with the policy of the Commonwealth as set
forth herein, the Secretary shall authorize the agency
to provide the NOIRA to the Registrar.

b.  If the Secretary determines that the contemplated
regulation does not comport with the policy of the
Commonwealth as set forth herein but that the
contemplated regulation is necessary to rectify the
minimum requirements of state or federal law, the
Secretary shall authorize the agency to provide the
NOIRA to the Registrar.

c.  If the Secretary determines that the agency's
submission is inadequate to satisfy the requirements
of this Executive Order, the Secretary shall inform the
agency of the nature of the inadequacy.  The
Secretary shall not authorize the agency to provide
the NOIRA to the Registrar until the agency has fully
complied with the requirements of this Executive
Order.

d.  If the Secretary determines that the contemplated
regulation is not mandated by state or federal law and
that it does not comport with the policy of the
Commonwealth as set forth herein, the Secretary shall
apprise the agency of the determination and shall not
authorize the agency to provide the NOIRA to the
Registrar.

e.  At least seven days before communicating the
determination to the agency, the Secretary shall
advise the Governor of this determination by

forwarding the pre-NOIRA submission from the
agency with a cover memorandum outlining the
Secretary’s determination and reasons therefor.  If,
however, the Secretary's determination is contrary to
the determination by DPB, the Secretary shall so
notify the Governor and shall not communicate the
determination to the agency without the approval of
the Governor.

3.  Publication of the NOIRA

Upon receiving approval from the Cabinet Secretary, the
agency shall submit the NOIRA to the Virginia Register
for publication as soon as practical, but in no case
should the package be submitted later than 14 days
after receiving approval from the Cabinet Secretary.

In order to provide additional information to interested
citizens and to enhance public participation during the
NOIRA comment period, the agency shall electronically
submit to the Commonwealth Regulatory Web Site the
following information:  (a) the four statements required
in the Pre-NOIRA review package; (b) the beginning and
ending dates for the NOIRA comment period; (c) the
location and time of any scheduled public meetings
where the regulation will be addressed; and (d) the
name, address, phone number, and e-mail address of
the agency contact for the regulation.

Regulatory Review Package

1.  Preparation of the Regulatory Review Package

Following the initial public comment period required by
Va. Code Section 9-6.14:7.1 B, and taking into account
the comments received, the agency head shall prepare a
regulatory review package.

Agencies should complete the proposed regulation after
the close of the NOIRA comment period as expeditiously
as the subject matter will allow.  However, the agency
must submit the package to the Secretary and DPB
within 180 days from the close of the NOIRA comment
period.  This requirement will apply to all regulatory
review packages six months from the effective date of
this Executive Order.

The package shall include the following components:

a.  A copy of the proposed new regulation or revision
to existing regulation;

b.  A copy of the proposed regulation submission
package required by Virginia Code Section 9-6.14:7.1
H;

c.  A statement identifying the source(s) of the state
and/or federal legal authority to promulgate the
contemplated regulation, including a description of the
scope of the authority provided and the extent to
which the authorized rulemaking provisions are
mandatory or discretionary, together with an attached
copy of all cited legal provisions;

d.  A statement from the Attorney General indicating
that the agency possesses statutory authority to
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promulgate the proposed regulation, and that the
proposed regulation comports with the applicable
state and/or federal law;

e.  A summary of public comment received, along
with any agency discussion;

f.  A statement detailing any changes, other than
strictly editorial changes, that the proposed regulation
will implement, along with citations to the appropriate
sections of the regulation, including cross-referenced
citations when the proposed regulation is intended to
replace an existing regulation;

g.  A specific rather than conclusory statement setting
forth the reasoning by which the agency has
determined that the proposed regulation is essential to
protect the health, safety or welfare of citizens or for
the efficient and economical performance of an
important governmental function, including a
discussion of the problems the regulation’s provisions
are intended to solve;

h.  A specific rather than conclusory statement
describing the process by which the agency has
considered less burdensome and less intrusive
alternatives for achieving the essential purpose, the
alternatives considered, and the reasoning by which
the agency has rejected such alternatives;

i.  A statement indicating that the agency, through
examination of the regulation and relevant public
comments, has determined that the regulation is
clearly written and easily understandable by the
individuals and entities affected;

j.  A schedule setting forth when, no later than three
years after the proposed regulation is effective, the
agency will initiate a review and re-evaluation of the
regulation to determine if it should be continued,
amended, or terminated, and the specific and
measurable goals the proposed regulation is intended
to achieve; and

k.  A statement identifying anticipated regulatory
impacts that includes (a) the projected cost to the
state to implement and enforce the proposed
regulation, including (i) fund source/fund detail, (ii)
budget activity with a cross-reference to program and
subprogram, and (iii) a delineation of one-time versus
ongoing expenditures; (b) the projected cost of the
regulation on localities; (c) a description of the
individuals, businesses or other entities that are likely
to be affected by the regulation; and (d) the agency’s
best estimate of the number of such entities that will
be affected.

A proposed regulation shall not address new issues that
were not disclosed to the public in the statement of
issues during the NOIRA comment period.  Exceptions
to this policy will be rare and will only be provided where
there is sufficient justification included in the regulatory
review package.

2.  Review of the Regulatory Review Package by DPB
and Secretary

After the regulatory review package is forwarded to the
Secretary and DPB, DPB shall review the package to
determine whether it complies with all requirements of
this Executive Order and applicable statutes and
whether the proposed regulation comports with the
policy of the Commonwealth as set forth herein.  DPB
shall complete its review and the Economic Impact
Analysis required under Section 9-6.14:7.1 of the Code
of Virginia within 45 days of receiving a complete
regulatory review package from the agency.  To prepare
a useful Economic Impact Analysis, DPB may need
information and data collected by the promulgating
agency.  To ensure an efficient process, the
promulgating agency shall work with DPB and endeavor
to provide DPB with the information and data requested
in as timely a manner as practicable.  The Director of
DPB shall advise the Secretary and the Governor of its
determination.

The Secretary shall then make a determination whether
to authorize the agency to deliver the proposed
regulation submission package to the Registrar of
Regulations, as follows:

a.  If the Secretary determines that the agency has the
legal authority to promulgate the proposed regulation
and that the proposed regulation comports with the
policy of the Commonwealth as set forth herein, the
Secretary shall authorize the agency to deliver the
proposed regulation submission package to the
Registrar.

b.  If the Secretary determines that the proposed
regulation does not comport with the policy of the
Commonwealth as set forth herein but that the
proposed regulation is necessary to satisfy the
minimum requirements of state or federal law, the
Secretary shall authorize the agency to deliver the
proposed regulation submission package to the
Registrar.

c.  If the Secretary determines that the agency’s
regulatory review package is inadequate to satisfy the
requirements of the APA or this Executive Order, the
Secretary shall inform the agency of the nature of the
inadequacy.  The Secretary shall not authorize the
agency to deliver the regulation submission package
to the Registrar until the agency has fully complied
with the requirements of the APA and this Executive
Order.

d.  If the Secretary determines that the proposed
regulation does not comport with the policy of the
Commonwealth as set forth herein and that the
proposed regulation is not mandated by, or exceeds
the mandate of, state and federal law, the Secretary
shall inform the agency of the deficiencies found in
the proposed regulation and the changes necessary to
bring the proposed regulation into compliance with the
policy set forth in this Executive Order.
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At least seven days before communicating this
determination to the agency, the Secretary shall advise
the Governor of this determination by forwarding the
regulatory review package from the agency with a cover
memorandum outlining the Secretary’s determination
and reasons therefor.  If, however, the Secretary’s
determination is contrary to the determination by DPB,
the Secretary shall so notify the Governor and shall not
communicate the determination to the agency without
the approval of the Governor.

A central aspect of the Secretary’s determination will be
the consideration of less burdensome and less intrusive
alternatives for satisfying any applicable state and
federal mandates and for achieving the essential
purpose for which the regulatory action has been
initiated.  When the Secretary discerns the availability of
such alternatives, he or she shall provide specific
guidance concerning such alternatives to the agency
and shall forward a copy of such information to the
Governor.

3.  Publication of the Proposed Regulation

Upon receiving approval from the Cabinet Secretary, the
agency shall submit the proposed regulation to the
Virginia Register for publication as soon as practical, but
in no case should the package be submitted later than
14 days after receiving approval from the Cabinet
Secretary.

In order to provide additional information to interested
citizens and to enhance public participation during the
proposed regulation comment period, the agency shall
electronically submit to the Commonwealth Regulatory
Web Site the following information:  (a) the items
required in the regulatory review package excluding the
Attorney General’s memorandum; (b) the agency’s
response to the economic impact statement required by
the APA; (c) the beginning and ending dates for the
proposed regulation comment period; (d) the location
and time of any scheduled public meetings where the
regulation will be addressed; and (e) the name, address,
phone number, and e-mail address of the agency
contact for the regulation.

Final Regulation Package

1.  Preparation of the Final Proposed Regulation

After the agency has reviewed the comments received
during the public comment period following publication
of the proposed regulation and has revised the proposed
regulation as the agency deems necessary and proper,
the agency will prepare the proposed final regulation.
This package must include:

a.  A copy of the proposed final regulation;

b.  A summary of public comments received, along
with any agency comments; and

c.  A statement detailing any changes, other than
strictly editorial changes, made since the publication

of the proposed regulation, along with citations to the
appropriate sections of the regulation.

2.  Submission of the Final Proposed Regulation

The agency shall submit the final regulatory review
package to the Secretary, DPB, and the Governor at the
same time that it submits a copy of the proposed final
regulation to the Registrar pursuant to Va. Code Section
9-6.14:9.1 B.

Agencies shall complete the final regulation after the
close of the proposed regulation comment period as
expeditiously as the subject matter will allow.  However,
in no case should the submission of the final regulation
for publication take place more than 120 days from the
close of the public comment period.  This requirement
will apply to all final regulations four months from the
effective date of this Executive Order.

The information provided in the final regulatory package
shall be submitted to the Commonwealth Regulatory
Web Site prior to the commencement of the final
adoption period.

Periodic Review of Existing Regulations

1.  Assignment of Review Dates and Measurable Goals

Each existing regulation in the state is to be reviewed at
least once every three years.  To achieve this end,
agencies shall specify a review date for each regulation,
and a list of specific and measurable goals by which the
performance of the regulation is to be judged.  Agencies
shall assign goals that seek to capture the specific
public health, safety, and welfare goals that a particular
regulation is intended to achieve.  In addition, each
regulation shall have as a goal the protection of the
public’s health, safety, and welfare with the least
possible cost and intrusiveness to the citizens and
businesses of the Commonwealth.

By November 1, 1998, agencies shall have electronically
submitted to the Commonwealth Regulatory Web Site
for each of their regulations:  (a) the VAC number of the
regulation; (b) the title of the regulation; (c) citations for
the federal/state authority for the regulation; (d) the
review date; (e) a list of specific and measurable goals;
(f) the contact person along with mailing address,
telephone, and e-mail address.  Agencies shall be
responsible for maintaining the accuracy of this
information.

When a regulation has undergone a comprehensive
review as part of an amendment process and when the
agency has solicited public comments on all the
essential issues contained in a regulation, the agency
may establish a new periodic review date for any date
within three years of the effective date of the amended
regulation.

2.  Process for the Periodic Review

Prior to the commencement date of the periodic review
for a regulation, an agency shall have published in the
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Virginia Register a notice of the periodic review.  The
agency shall provide for a minimum of 20 days of public
comment commencing on the published date for the
review.

At any time prior to the scheduled review, the agency
may, but is not required to, submit a list of critical issues
to the Commonwealth Regulatory Web Site for purposes
of soliciting comment on particular areas of concern in a
regulation.  An agency may establish at any time an
informal advisory group for purposes of assisting in the
periodic review.

The review shall be conducted consistent with the
principles specified in this Executive Order.

3.  Periodic Review Report

No later than 90 days after the commencement of the
review, the agency shall complete a periodic review
report containing the following information:

a.  A statement detailing the federal and/or state
authority for the regulation including, whether the
authority is mandatory or permissive, the scope of the
mandate, and, as applicable, the extent to which the
regulation exceeds the minimum requirements of the
state or federal mandate;

b.  A summary of public comment received along with
any agency comments;

c.  A statement of the effectiveness of the regulation in
achieving its specific and measurable goals;

d.  A specific rather than conclusory statement setting
forth the reasoning by which the agency has
determined that the proposed regulation is essential to
protect the health, safety or welfare of citizens or for
the efficient and economical performance of an
important governmental function;

e.  A specific rather than conclusory statement
describing the process by which the agency has
considered less burdensome and less intrusive
alternatives for achieving the essential purpose, the
alternatives considered, and the reasoning by which
the agency has rejected such alternatives;

f.  A statement indicating whether the regulation is
clearly written and easily understandable by the
individuals and entities affected; and

g.  A statement summarizing the agency’s
recommendation to retain, amend, or terminate the
regulation and the reasons therefor, and, for
regulations being amended, a statement delineating
the specific areas to be amended.

The agency shall forward this report to the Secretary
and DPB within the specified timeframe.  The Secretary
and DPB shall be responsible for ensuring that periodic
review reports meet the requirements of this Executive
Order.  DPB shall be responsible for coordinating this
review.  Completed periodic review reports shall be

made available on the Commonwealth Regulatory Web
Site.

For regulations subject to Article 2 of the APA that are
being recommended for amendment or termination, the
report shall be reviewed under the procedures specified
for pre-NOIRA submissions, so that needed changes
can be implemented as soon as practical.  When
approval is given for publication of the NOIRA, the
agency shall submit the information required for
publication on the Commonwealth Regulatory Web Site.

Petitions for Rulemaking

Within 180 days of receiving a Petition for Rulemaking
pursuant to Section 9-6.14:7.1 A of the Code of Virginia,
the agency shall submit such Petition along with the
agency response for inclusion on the Commonwealth
Regulatory Web Site.

Responsibilities of Heads of Agencies

The head of each agency shall have the following
responsibilities:

1.  The head of each agency shall be responsible for
ensuring that all requirements applicable to agencies
outlined in this Executive Order and the APA are met.

2.  The head of each agency shall provide to DPB any
information deemed necessary for completion of the
economic impact statement required under Va. Code
Section 9-6.14:7.1 G of the APA.

Responsibilities of the Governor's Secretaries

The Governor's Secretaries shall have the following
responsibilities:

1.  The Secretaries shall ensure that no Notice of
Intended Regulatory Action (NOIRA) is forwarded to
the Registrar of Regulations unless all requirements of
this Executive Order pertaining thereto have been met
and unless the contemplated regulatory action
comports with the policy of the Commonwealth as set
forth herein;

2.  The Secretaries shall ensure that the regulatory
review package contains all of the components
required under this Executive Order and by law, and
that it comports with the policy of the Commonwealth
as set forth herein or in applicable law. In particular,
the Secretaries shall review proposed regulations
closely to determine whether they represent the least
burdensome or intrusive alternative available.

3.  The Secretaries shall notify the Governor of the
foregoing determinations in the manner described
above.  Where DPB reaches a contrary determination,
the Secretary shall advise the Governor and shall take
no further action without the approval of the Governor.

4.  If a proposed regulation represents a major
programmatic or substantive change from existing
policy or a potential conflict with stated objectives of
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the Governor, the Secretaries shall notify the
Governor before taking any action.

5.  The Secretaries shall make recommendations to
the Governor as to comments the Governor should
submit on proposed regulations.

6.  The Secretaries shall review all final proposed
regulations upon adoption by the agencies and shall
notify the Governor if substantial revisions have been
made to the proposed regulation since it was
published initially.  The Secretary shall also review the
public comments received and notify the Governor
whether the agency appears to have responded in a
reasonable manner to the public comment.

7.  The Secretaries shall review all periodic regulatory
review reports to ensure that they comply with the
requirements of this Executive Order.

Responsibilities of the Department of Planning and
Budget (DPB)

DPB shall have the following responsibilities:

1.  DPB shall prepare the economic impact statement
in coordination with the agencies as required by Va.
Code Section 9-6.14:7.1 G of the APA.

2.  DPB shall review pre-NOIRA and proposed
regulatory packages and make recommendations to
the Secretaries and the Governor in accordance with
the principles and procedures outlined in this
Executive Order.

3.  DPB shall make recommendations to the Governor
as to comments the Governor should submit on
proposed regulations.

4.  DPB shall review the final regulation upon adoption
by the agency and shall notify the Governor if
substantial revisions have been made to the
regulation since it was initially published and the
effect, if any, that the proposed changes will have on
the economic and fiscal impact of the proposed
regulation.

5.  DPB shall review all periodic regulatory review
reports to ensure that they comply with the
requirements of this Executive Order.

6.  DPB shall coordinate the implementation of the
Commonwealth Regulatory Web Site, including the
establishment of an appropriate schedule for
implementing the provisions of this Executive Order
pertaining to the Commonwealth Regulatory Web
Site.

Responsibilities of the Counselor to the Governor

The Counselor to the Governor shall have the following
responsibilities:

1.  The Counselor shall review the pre-NOIRA
submission and Secretary's preliminary determination
and evaluate them according to the criteria detailed

above in "Procedures for Review of Regulations."  The
Counselor shall report his finding, together with any
appropriate recommendations, to the Governor.

2.  The Counselor shall review the regulatory review
package to determine whether the proposed
regulation is clearly written, easily understandable,
necessary to protect the public's health, safety or
welfare, essential for the efficient and economical
performance of an important governmental function,
minimally burdensome and intrusive for citizens, and
grounded in proper legal authority.  The Counselor
shall report his finding, together with any appropriate
recommendations, to the Governor.

3.  The Counselor shall review final proposed
regulations to determine whether substantial revisions
have been made to the proposed regulation published
initially.  The Counselor shall also review the public
comments received by the agency and determine
whether the final proposed regulation adopted by the
agency reflects a fair consideration of reasonable
public comments.  The Counselor shall review the
final proposed regulation to determine whether the
agency has responded appropriately to comments
and recommendations delivered to the agency from
the Governor.  The Counselor shall report his finding,
together with any appropriate recommendations, to
the Governor.

4.  The Counselor shall have the authority to extend
the time frame limitations for regulatory promulgation
set forth herein, if such an extension is absolutely
necessary under the particular circumstances to
achieve an essential regulatory objective.

Any failure to comply with the requirements set forth
herein shall in no way affect the validity of a regulation, or
create any cause of action or provide standing for any
person under Section 9-6.14:15 et seq. of the Code of
Virginia or otherwise to challenge the actions of a
government entity responsible for adopting or reviewing
regulations.

This Executive Order shall become effective upon its
signing and shall remain in full force and effect until June 30,
2002, unless amended or rescinded by further executive
order.  This Executive Order rescinds Executive Order
Number Thirteen (94) and Executive Order Number Fifteen
(94).

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the
Commonwealth of Virginia on this 30th day of June 1998.

/s/ James S. Gilmore, III
Governor

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-294; Filed July 8, 1998, 8:22 a.m.
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EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER TWENTY-SIX (98)

MAINTAINING A LEAN, EFFICIENT AND EFFECTIVE
GOVERNMENT WORK FORCE

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under
Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and under the laws of
the Commonwealth, including but not limited to Sections 2.1-
41.1, 2.1-51.8:1, 2.1-51.14, 2.1-51.17, 2.1-51.20, 2.1-51.26,
2.1-51.33, 2.1-51.39, 2.1-51.42, 2.1-113, 2.1-114.2, and 2.1-
114.7 of the Code of Virginia, Section 4-7.01 c of Chapter 1
of the Special Session I of the 1998 Virginia Acts of
Assembly, Executive Order Number Nine (98), and subject
always to my continuing and ultimate authority and
responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby direct all
Secretaries and agency heads of the Commonwealth of
Virginia with helping me maintain the best possible
government work force for our citizens.

Our state employees are among Virginia’s most valuable
assets.  The need to unleash the potential of a productive
people and productivity requires an atmosphere of high
morale.  At the same time, all who serve the public share a
responsibility to ensure that government services are
provided at the lowest cost by a work force that is lean,
courteous and efficient.

The Governor, in Section 4-7.01 c 1, Chapter 1, Special
Session I of the 1998 Virginia Acts of Assembly, is provided
with the authority to implement policies and procedures to
ensure that the human resources of the Executive
Department, excluding institutions of higher education and
the State Council of Higher Education, are properly deployed
to fill current and projected needs; to give effect to the
Governor’s policies and priorities; to ensure efficient
distribution of workload between senior and more junior
employees; and to ensure employment levels are neither
greater nor less than the number required for the efficient
operation of those programs approved by the General
Assembly.  In order to ensure that the necessary human and
fiscal resources, as approved by the General Assembly, are
available to maintain the services necessary for the citizens
of the Commonwealth in the most efficient and effective
manner, I hereby establish the following procedures for all
Secretaries and agency heads in the Executive Department,
excluding institutions of higher education and the State
Council of Higher Education:

1.  Prior to agencies advertising vacant positions or
using the Department of Personnel and Training system
of recruitment, each agency head shall provide a
summary report to the respective Secretary listing the
following information that is currently available for each
type of position:

For permanent, temporary, or seasonal positions:

a.  the position job classification plan number, if
available, and title;

b.  the number of funded positions for the agency in
the classification or title;

c.  the number of such positions filled in the agency;

d.  the number of positions to be advertised; and

e.  why the position(s) need to be filled.

For positions that qualify for continuous recruitment, the
agency shall submit a one-time report with similar
information as requested for other positions.

2.  Each Secretary shall review the agency summary
report, and may, within five working days sign the report
and provide the respective agency head with a copy.

If the Secretary disagrees with the number of positions
to be filled, the Secretary shall recommend changes in
the summary report and provide the respective agency
head with a signed copy.

3.  Upon receipt of the summary report, or the passage
of five business days, the agency head may advertise
the vacant positions.

I hereby direct the Department of Planning and Budget to
prepare a sample summary report for the use of the
agencies and Secretaries.

Nothing in this executive order shall be construed to be in
conflict with Chapter 1, Special Session I, 1998 Virginia Acts
of Assembly, Section 4-6.05, Selection of Applicants for
Classified Positions, and Section 4-7.01, Manpower Control
Program, or Title 2.1, Chapter 10, Code of Virginia (the
Personnel Act).  The information in the required reports does
not address specific job applicants or a previous
administratively imposed hiring freeze and is intended to
solely ensure that human and fiscal resources are available
to maintain the most efficient and effective government work
force and to provide the services necessary for the citizens of
the Commonwealth within such resources.

This Executive Order rescinds Executive Orders Number
Thirty-eight (94), Workforce Reduction, issued on December
1, 1994, and Number Forty-five (95), Workforce Reduction,
issued on March 15, 1995.

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing,
and shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 2002,
unless amended or rescinded by further executive order.

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the
Commonwealth of Virginia, this 30th day of June, 1998.

/s/ James S. Gilmore, III
Governor

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-295; Filed July 8, 1998, 8:22 a.m.
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SCHEDULES FOR COMPREHENSIVE REVIEW OF REGULATIONS

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Pursuant to Executive Order Number Twenty-five (98), the
Department of Social Services is currently reviewing the
below listed regulations to determine if they should be
terminated, amended, or retained in their current form.  The
review will be guided by the principles listed in Executive
Order Number Twenty-five (98) and in the department’s Plan
for Review of Existing Agency Regulations.

The department seeks public comment regarding the
regulations’ interference in private enterprise and life,
essential need of the regulations, less burdensome and
intrusive alternatives to the regulations, specific and
measurable goals that the regulations are intended to
achieve, and whether the regulations are clearly written and
easily understandable.

The regulations are:

22 VAC 40-370-10 et seq., Job Training Partnership Act
(JTPA) Income Disregards in the Aid to Families with
Dependent Children (AFDC) Program.

22 VAC 40-430-10 et seq., Treatment of Casual and
Inconsequential Income in the Aid to Families with
Dependent Children (AFDC) Program.

22 VAC 40-460-10 et seq., Deeming of Stepparent Income in
the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC)
Program.

22 VAC 40-590-10 et seq., Aid to Families with Dependent
Children - Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) Disregard.

22 VAC 40-380-10 et seq., Disregard of Certain Income
Received by Indian Tribes in the Aid to Families with
Dependent Children (AFDC) Program.

22 VAC 40-360-10 et seq., Definition of a Home in the Aid to
Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) and General
Relief (GR) Programs.

22 VAC 40-490-10 et seq., Aid to Families with Dependent
Children (AFDC) Program - Deprivation Due to the
Incapacity of a Parent.

22 VAC 40-530-10 et seq., Aid to Families with Dependent
Children (AFDC) Program - Deprivation Due to Continued
Absence.

22 VAC 40-310-10 et seq., Maximum Resource Limit in the
Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) Program.

22 VAC 40-300-10 et seq., Lump Sum Ineligibility Period in
the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC)
Program.

22 VAC 40-450-10 et seq., Lump Sum Payments in the Aid
to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) Program.

22 VAC 40-350-10 et seq., Real Property Disposition Period
in the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC)
Program.

22 VAC 40-330-10 et seq., Collection of Overpayments in
the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) and
Refugee Other Assistance Programs.

22 VAC 40-340-10 et seq., Protective Payments in the Aid to
Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) and Refugee
Other Assistance Programs.

22 VAC 40-390-10 et seq., Persons and Income Required to
be Considered When Evaluating Eligibility for Assistance in
the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC)
Program.

22 VAC 40-032-10 et seq., Aid to Families with Dependent
Children (AFDC) Program - Determining AFDC Eligibility
When Only Dependent Child Receives Foster Care Benefits.

22 VAC 40-500-10 et seq., Work Related Child Care
Expense Disregard in the Aid to Families with Dependent
Children (AFDC) Program.

22 VAC 40-290-10 et seq., Earned Income
Disregards/Student Earnings in the Aid to Families with
Dependent Children (AFDC) Program.

22 VAC 40-470-10 et seq., Exemptions Applicable to Public
Assistance Programs.

22 VAC 40-760-10 et seq., Employment Services Program
Policy.

22 VAC 40-580-10 et seq., Aid to Families with Dependent
Children (AFDC) Program - Elimination of Monthly
Reporting.

22 VAC 40-440-10 et seq., Aid to Families with Dependent
Children (AFDC) Program - Allocation of Income.

Written comments may be submitted until September 2,
1998, in care of Mark L. Golden, Human Services Program
Consultant, Division of Temporary Assistance, 730 East
Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219-1849, telephone (804)
692-1735 or by facsimile to (804) 692-1704.
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION

Bureau of Insurance

July 1, 1998

Administrative Letter 1998-3

TO: All Insurers Licensed to Write Life Insurance and
Accident and Sickness Insurance, Health
Maintenance Organizations and Health Service
Plans Operating in Virginia.

RE: 14 VAC 5-180-10 (formerly Regulation Number 34)
Rules Governing Underwriting Practices and
Coverage Limitations and Exclusions for Acquired
Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS)

14 VAC 5-180-50 C 6 (formerly section 6 C 6 of
Regulation Number 34) of the cited regulation provides the
minimum test protocol that must be followed before an
adverse underwriting decision may be made on the basis of
positive HIV-related test results.  This test protocol consists
of:  (i) two positive enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay
(ELISA) tests, followed by (ii) one Western Blot.  In
Administrative Letter 1996-11, the Bureau added the oral
fluid test as an acceptable test to comply with 14 VAC 5-180-
50 C 6.

The Bureau of Insurance has recently become aware that
the Food and Drug Administration has approved Urine
Antibody Testing for professional use in confirming the
presence of HIV antibodies.  The test protocol for the
recently approved test is the same as that provided in
14 VAC 5-180-50 C 6.

The purpose of this letter is to inform you that the urine
test may be used to comply with 14 VAC 5-180-50 C 6 so
long as the test protocol set forth in the regulation is
followed.  Blood and oral fluid tests that follow the test
protocol may continue to be used.

Questions concerning any of the above should be directed
to:

Mr. Robert L. Wright, III, Principal Insurance Analyst
State Corporation Commission
Commonwealth of Virginia
Bureau of Insurance
Post Office Box 1157
Richmond, VA 23218
804-371-9074

/s/ Alfred W. Gross
Commissioner of Insurance

VA.R. Doc. No. C98-1655; Filed July 2, 1998, 7:11 a.m.

* * * * * * * *

June 30, 1998

Administrative Letter 1998 - 5

TO: All Insurers, Health Services Plans, Health
Maintenance Organizations (HMOs) and Other
Interested Parties

RE: Legislation Enacted by the 1998 Virginia General
Assembly

We have attached for your reference Bureau staff
summaries of certain statutes enacted or amended and re-
enacted during the 1998 Session of the Virginia General
Assembly.  The effective date of these statutes is July 1,
1998, except as otherwise indicated in this letter.  Each
organization to which this letter is being sent should review
the attachments carefully and see that notice of these laws is
directed to the proper persons, including appointed
representatives, to ensure that appropriate action is taken
to effect compliance with these new legal requirements.
Please note that this document is a summary of legislation.
It is neither a legal review and interpretation nor a full
description of the legislative amendments made to
insurance-related laws during the 1998 Session.  Each
organization is responsible for legal review of the statutes
pertinent to its operations.

/s/ Alfred W. Gross
Commissioner of Insurance

NOTE:  EXCEPT WHERE OTHERWISE INDICATED,
ALL BILLS ARE EFFECTIVE 7/1/98

COMPANY TAXATION BILLS

Chapter 15 (Senate Bill 40)

This bill amends § 38.2-407 in Chapter 4 (Assessment for
Administration of Insurance Laws) of Title 38.2 so that any
insurer subject to paying the maintenance assessment of the
Bureau of Insurance pursuant to § 38.2-400 shall file a
quarterly declaration of estimated assessment report for the
assessable year as provided in Chapter 4 of Title 38.2 if the
assessment imposed by § 38.2-400 can reasonably be
expected to exceed $3,000.

Chapter 60 (Senate Bill 247)

This bill amends § 38.2-1026 in Chapter 10 (Organization,
Admission and Licensing of Insurers) of Title 38.2 relating to
retaliatory tax payments and reports.  This bill adds
language to specify the penalties for failure to pay retaliatory
taxes in a timely manner.  Any foreign or alien insurer
subject to § 38.2-1026 shall annually, on or before March 1,
file a report with the State Corporation Commission which
compares the regulatory costs imposed on such insurer by
this Commonwealth during the preceding calendar year to
the regulatory costs that would have been imposed on a
similar insurer domiciled in this Commonwealth by the
insurer’s state of domicile during the preceding calendar
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year.  This report shall be filed on a form and in such detail
as prescribed by the Commission.  Amounts owed due to the
equalization of the regulatory costs imposed on the insurer
by this Commonwealth and the regulatory costs of the
insurer’s state of domicile shall be remitted to the
Commission on or before March 1 of each year.  Failure of
the insurer to pay the amounts required under this section
before March 1 shall result in a penalty of 10% of the amount
due, and interest shall be charged at a rate established
pursuant to § 58.1-15 for the period between the due date
the date of full payment.

Chapter 365 (House Bill 80)

This bill amends § 58.1-2500 and adds § 58.1-2510 in Title
58.1 (Taxation) relating to tax credits for retaliatory costs
paid by certain insurance companies.  For license years
beginning on or after July 1, 1998, every qualified company
shall be allowed a credit against the tax imposed by § 58.1-
2501 in an amount equal to the retaliatory costs incurred
during the corresponding taxable year as a result of the
difference between other states’ lower premium tax rates and
other costs and the tax rates and costs imposed by the
Commonwealth.

“Qualified company” is defined as a domestic insurance
company that (i) has made a qualified investment in this
Commonwealth and (ii) for license years beginning on or
after July 1, 1998, maintained the employment level required
for a qualified investment, such level to be measured as of
December 31 of the corresponding taxable year.  A “qualified
investment” is an investment in this Commonwealth by a
domestic insurance company or any one or more members
of an “affiliated insurance group” that results in (i) an
increase as of December 31, 1997, of at least 325 qualified
full-time employees above the company’s or group’s total
combined employment level in this Commonwealth on
December 31, 1996, or (ii) during any taxable year beginning
on or after January 1, 2001, such company or group having
more than 100 qualified full-time employees in this
Commonwealth during that entire taxable year.

The bill outlines in subsections C and D of § 58.1-2510 how
a qualified company may apply for a credit, and how and
under what circumstances unused credits will be refunded to
the qualified company.  Subsection E of § 58.1-2510
specifies that if two or more domestic insurance companies
paying retaliatory costs in any year are members of an
affiliated insurance group, the total of the retaliatory costs
paid may be combined and apportioned among the members
of the affiliated insurance group as the members may agree.

COMPANY LICENSING BILLS

Chapter 16 (Senate Bill 41)

This bill amends the current provisions of Chapter 3.1
(Automobile Clubs) of Title 13.1 and Chapter 18 (Insurance
Agents) of Title 38.2 dealing with automobile clubs to apply
the same licensing and renewal processes to automobile
clubs and agents that are applicable to all other entities
licensed by the Bureau of Insurance.  As a result of this
legislation:

1. Applicants for automobile club agent licenses will
pay a one-time $15 license fee and will be issued a
perpetual restricted license as is the case for all
other restricted licenses.

2. The automobile clubs will pay a $12 annual
appointment fee per agent instead of the current
$2.00 annual renewal fee.

3. The automobile clubs will pay a $200 certificate of
authority renewal fee instead of the current $100
renewal fee.

4. The State Corporation Commission will be given
express authority to suspend, non-renew or revoke
the license of a noncomplying automobile club or
automobile club agent.

5. Agents holding a property & casualty agent license
(Type 30) need not obtain a separate automobile
club agent license.

NOTE:  The State Corporation Commission has always had
the authority to suspend, non-renew or revoke the license of
a licensed property & casualty agent who was also an
automobile club agent.  But, before Senate Bill 41, if the
automobile club agent was not also licensed as a property &
casualty agent, the Commission had no authority to
discipline the automobile club agent simply on the basis of
his automobile club license.

INSURANCE AGENTS AND CONTINUING EDUCATION
BILLS

Chapter 12 (House Bill 675)

This bill amends § 38.2-512 in Chapter 5 (Unfair Trade
Practices) of Title 38.2 by modifying subsection A and
enacting new subsections B and C to place additional
consumer protections in Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia so
that insurance agents and others are prohibited from
engaging in certain activities.  The bill:

1. Extends the prohibition against misrepresentation
on an insurance application to ANY insurance-
related document so that no person can make false
or fraudulent statements or representations with
respect to any document relating to the business of
insurance;

2. Prohibits agents and others from forging the
signatures of proposed insureds, applicants, etc.;
and

3. Prohibits agents and others from obtaining the
signature of the proposed insured, applicant, etc.,
and then using that signature to accomplish
insurance-related changes to documents when such
changes were not authorized by the individual who
provided the signature.

Examples of some of the practices that have been engaged
in by insurance agents in the past, without the knowledge of
or consent by the applicant/insured, and which will be
prohibited under this bill are:
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1. Signing a policy delivery receipt without actually
delivering the policy;

2. Applying for and signing a policy loan form in the
client’s name;

3. Signing and depositing a policy loan check;

4. Signing and depositing a claim check;

5. Changing the mode of payment to draft a client’s
account;

6. Signing a replacement notice in the client’s name;

7. Falsifying a client’s financial disclosure statement;
and

8. Falsifying an Internal Revenue Service 1035
exchange form.

Chapter 46 (Senate Bill 422)

Effective March 11, 1998

This bill makes both major and technical revisions to
§§ 38.2-1866, 38.2-1868.1, 38.2-1869 and 38.2-1872 in the
Continuing Education article of the Insurance Agents
chapter, as follows:

1. The bill clarifies that the term “agent” includes those
holding insurance consultant licenses.

2. The bill clarifies that the prohibition against using
courses given by insurance companies or insurance
agencies to account for more than 75% of the total
credit hours required for an agent in any one
biennium is not limited only to the company(ies) or
agency with which the agent is affiliated.  The
Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Board
(Board) may require course providers to disclose
whether or not their offerings fall within the 75%
limitation.

3. The bill reiterates that requirements must be
completed during the 24 months of the biennium,
and that no extensions of time can or will be
granted.

4. The time provided for agents to submit proof of
compliance is being extended to a full two months,
in order to provide agents with more time to
complete the submission process.

5. In addition, agents are being given a third month to
file proof of compliance, subject to payment of a
$250 late filing fee.

6. Section 38.2-1869 is amended to place a 60-day
limitation on an individual’s right to appeal a license
termination where termination is based upon
noncompliance with continuing education
requirements.

7. The bill allows agents to begin completing the study
course and examination requirements immediately
after the end of a biennium, instead of being
required to wait until after license termination, if

they know they will lose their license because of
noncompliance.  This will afford agents a “head
start” on meeting the re-licensing requirement.

8. An alternative to the current 90-day waiting period
subsequent to license termination and before which
the agent may not apply for relicensing has been
added.  Under this new provision, the agent may
avoid waiting 90 days and may in lieu thereof pay
an administrative penalty of $1,000.  Whether under
the 90-day waiting period or the $1,000 penalty, the
agent must satisfactorily complete any prelicensing
study course requirement and pass the prelicensing
examination before re-applying for licensure.

The bill contained an emergency enactment, and it therefore
took effect on the date signed by the Governor, March 11,
1998.  All changes will apply to the current (1997-1998)
biennium.

Chapter 47 (Senate Bill 423)

This bill amends Chapter 18 (Insurance Agents) of Title 38.2
and adds a new section numbered § 38.2-514.2. The bill
establishes a new type of limited license under §§ 38.2-1814
and 38.2-1815 for “motor vehicle rental contract insurance
agents,” and it amends § 38.2-1824 by adding the term
“motor vehicle rental contract insurance” to the kinds of
agents’ licenses and appointments the State Corporation
Commission may issue.  The bill defines “motor vehicle
rental contract insurance agent” in § 38.2-1800 and requires
that a written disclosure be given by the agent to the
prospective renter which summarizes the coverage being
offered, advises the renter that he may be purchasing
duplicate coverage, and states that the coverage is not
required to be purchased in order to rent the vehicle.

NOTE:  Because “motor vehicle rental contract insurance”
may include both life and health and property and casualty
lines, those agents holding appropriate general authority (life
and health agent and/or property and casualty agent) need
not obtain a separate motor vehicle rental contract insurance
agent license.

Chapter 129 (Senate Bill 224)

This bill repeals Chapter 53 of Title 38.2, thereby removing
responsibility for certification of private review agents from
the Bureau of Insurance and enacts provisions in Title 32.1
which instead place that responsibility with the Department
of Health.  The Department of Health is to consult with the
appropriate health regulatory board in the Department of
Health Professions if there is a question concerning
compliance with standards of practice governing a health
care profession.

A third enactment clause provides that regulations previously
promulgated by the Commission regarding private review
agents shall continue in effect and be deemed regulations of
the Department of Health until either (i) the effective date of
Department of Health regulations or (ii) January 1, 2000.
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Records necessary for administering this bill must be
transferred by the Commission to the Department of Health
on or before the effective date of the bill.

Chapter 164 (House Bill 1281)

This bill amends §§ 38.2-1800, 38.2-1814, and 38.2-1824 in
the Insurance Agents chapter by establishing a new limited
license type for agents selling “pet accident, sickness, and
hospitalization insurance.” These agents will be able to sell
pet accident, sickness, and hospitalization insurance without
being licensed as full property and casualty agents, and they
will not have to take the prelicensing study course, written
exam, or comply with the continuing education requirements.

NOTE:  Agents holding a full property and casualty agent
license need not obtain a separate pet accident, sickness,
and hospitalization Insurance license.

LIFE AND HEALTH BILLS

NOTE:  More than one of the following bills creates a new
§ 38.2-3418.3.  The Virginia Code Commission will assign
actual section numbers to each after it meets.  Therefore, the
sections cited in these bills may differ when the actual Code
updates are printed.

Chapter 11 (House Bill 567)

This bill amends §§ 38.2-5701 and 38.2-5702 in the Viatical
Settlements Act to add language to § 38.2-5701 A (1) and
(2) and § 38.2-5702 A (1) and (2) setting forth how the
application and renewal fees received from viatical
settlement providers and brokers will be handled.

Section 38.2-5701 F is revised to require that nonresident
viatical settlement providers appoint a resident of the
Commonwealth as agent for service of process, and that in
the event the viatical settlement provider fails to appoint or
maintain a resident agent, or that such agent can not be
located, then the Clerk of the Commission shall act as agent
for service of process.

Section 38.2-5702 D (iii) and (iv), setting forth the reasons
that the Commission may deny, suspend or revoke a viatical
settlement broker license, is amended to replace language
relating to viatical settlement providers found in § 38.2-5701
G (iii) and (iv).  Section 38.2-5702 D (iii) and (iv) are
amended to read:

(iii) been subject to a final administrative action or has
otherwise been shown to be untrustworthy or
incompetent to act as a viatical settlement broker; (iv)
placed or attempted to place a viatical settlement with a
viatical settlement provider not licensed in this
Commonwealth;

Chapter 17 (Senate Bill 58)

This bill amends § 38.2-316 in the Provisions Relating to
Insurance Policies and Contracts chapter pertaining to policy
forms filed with the State Corporation Commission.  The
amendment adds the term “enrollment form” to § 38.2-316 B
thereby providing that no individual certificate or “enrollment
form” may be used in connection with any group life
insurance policy, group accident and sickness insurance

policy, group annuity contract, or group variable annuity
contract unless such form has been filed with the
Commission.

The term “enrollment form” is also added to § 38.2-316 C 1
thereby requiring that enrollment forms used in connection
with policies, contracts, and certificates must be approved by
the Commission prior to being delivered or issued for
delivery in this Commonwealth.

In § 38.2-316 D, “enrollment form” is added to a list of
documents that the Commission may disapprove or
withdraw approval of for the reasons stated in this
subsection.

Chapter 24 (House Bill 781)

This bill contains technical corrections to the legislation
passed last year to implement the requirements imposed by
the federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability
Act. The bill amends §§ 38.2-3430.2, 38.2-3430.4, 38.2-
3430.6 38.2-3431, 38.2-34321, 38.2-3432.2, 38.2-3432.3,
and 38.2-3435 in the Provisions Relating to Accident and
Sickness Insurance chapter, and §§ 38.2-3514.2 and 38.2-
3531 in the Accident and Sickness Insurance Policies
chapter.

The bill clarifies that for purposes of determining the
aggregate periods of creditable coverage under § 38.2-
3430.2 B 1 (i), a period of creditable coverage is not counted
if there was a 63-day period during all of which the individual
was not covered under any creditable coverage or was not
serving a waiting period under a group health plan or group
health coverage or in an affiliation period.

Section 38.2-3430.4 1 is amended to clarify that the limit
applies to eligible individuals who live, reside or work in the
service area.

A citation in § 38.2-3430.6 is corrected from § 38.2-3427 to
§ 38.2-3430.3.

Amendments are made in § 38.2-3431 to correct a reference
to the Social Security Act, reference “federal” regulations for
a public health plan, delete the definition of “established
geographic services area,” delete unnecessary language in
the definition of “medical care,” add a definition of “service
area” and add clarifying language to the definition of “waiting
period.”

Section 38.2-3431 C is amended to clarify that the essential
and standard health benefit plans must be offered subject to
the provisions of § 38.2-3432.2.

Section 38.2-3432.1 A 11 is amended to change a cross
reference to subdivision 10.

Section 38.2-3432.2 is revised to clarify that if coverage is
offered in the small employer market, it must be offered to all
eligible employees of every small employer that applies and
their dependents, including late enrollees. No eligible
employees or their dependents can be excluded or charged
additional premiums because of their health status. The
language clarifies that all products approved for sale in the
small group market that a health issuer is actively marketing
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must be offered to all small employers, and every employer
that applies must be accepted.

Section 38.2-3432.2 J is revised to delete the phrase “as a
late enrollee for coverage.”

Section 38.2-3432.2 K and L are revised to correct cross
references.

Subsection N is added to § 38.2-3432.3 to include provisions
for late enrollees.  The language clarifies that a late enrollee
may be excluded for up to 18 months or may have a pre-
existing limitation for 12 months, but in no case can a late
enrollee be restricted from some or all coverage for more
than 18 months.  Individuals are not to be considered late
enrollees if they meet certain conditions listed in the
subsection. Individuals may be considered late enrollees for
benefit riders or enhanced coverage levels not covered under
their previous plan.

Section 38.2-3435 is revised to delete the exclusion of the
article to nonfederal governmental plans.

Section 38.2-3514.2 is revised to add individual health
coverage to the list of policies to which the renewability
section does not apply.

Section 38.2-3531, that includes additional exclusions and
limitations, is revised to clarify that the section does not
apply to group accident and sickness policies providing
hospital, medical and surgical or major medical coverage on
an expense incurred basis to employees and dependents.

Chapter 25 (House Bill 782)

Effective March 9, 1998

This bill addresses a “loophole” that was created during the
implementation of HIPAA last year.  It amends the HIPAA
implementation article by adding § 38.2-3430.3:1, applicable
to individuals that qualified to meet the definition of “eligible
individual” in § 38.2-3430.2 between April 29, 1997, and
January 1, 1998.  The bill provides that such individuals, if
not currently eligible for or enrolled in a group health plan
that would provide coverage for pre-existing conditions or
Part A or Part B of Title XVIII of the Social Security Act, must
be offered a choice of all individual health coverages being
offered by health insurance issuers. The coverage selected
must be issued regardless of whether individual coverage
was obtained during the above time period if the existing
coverage is replaced with new coverage.

The coverage required by this bill must not impose any pre-
existing condition exclusion. Health insurance issuers are
also prohibited from limiting or excluding coverage for
named conditions.

This bill included an emergency clause, and thus took effect
immediately upon enactment on March 9, 1998.  The bill
also included a “sunset” provision pursuant to which its
provisions will expire on January 1, 1999.

Chapter 26 (House Bill 854)

This bill amends §§ 38.2-3431 and 38.2-3433 in the
Provisions Relating to the Accident and Sickness chapter to

delete the definition of “primary small employer” and the use
of the term. The bill provides that the rating provisions in
§ 38.2-3433 that formerly applied only to primary small
employers will now apply to all employer groups with up to
50 employees.  The rating provisions apply to the essential
and standard plans.

Chapter 49 (Senate Bill 553)

This bill amends § 38.2-3407.3 in the Provisions Relating to
Accident and Sickness Insurance chapter relating to the
calculation of cost-sharing by adding a provision addressing
out-of-state services.

The amendment to § 38.2-3407.3 A provides that when an
insured, subscriber or enrollee receives covered services
outside of the insurer’s, health services plan’s or health
maintenance organization’s (health plan) provider network
through another health plan’s provider network located
outside of this Commonwealth, then the health plan may
calculate the cost-sharing of such insured, subscriber or
enrollee by using the cost of covered services as reported by
the out-of-state health plan.

Chapter 56 (Senate Bill 679)

This bill adds § 38.2-3418.3 in the Provisions Relating to
Accident and Sickness Insurance chapter and amends
§ 38.2-4319 in the Health Maintenance Organization chapter.
The bill requires health carriers to provide coverage for
reconstructive breast surgery.  The requirement applies to all
insurers proposing to issue individual or group accident and
sickness insurance policies providing hospital, medical and
surgical, or major medical coverage on an expense-incurred
basis; each corporation providing individual or group
accident and sickness subscription contracts; and each
health maintenance organization providing a health care plan
for health care services.  The bill applies to any insurance
policies, contracts or plans delivered, issued for delivery, or
renewed on or after July 1, 1998.

The bill defines “reconstructive breast surgery” as surgery
performed on and after July 1, 1998, (i) coincident with a
mastectomy performed for breast cancer or (ii) following a
mastectomy performed for breast cancer to reestablish
symmetry between the two breasts.  “Mastectomy” is defined
as the surgical removal of all or part of the breast on or after
July 1, 1998, as a result of breast cancer.  The
reimbursement for reconstructive breast surgery shall be
determined according to the same formula by which charges
are developed for other medical and surgical procedures.
The coverage shall have durational limits, dollar limits,
deductibles and coinsurance factors that are no less
favorable than for physical illness generally.

The provisions of this section do not apply to short-term
travel, accident only, limited or specified disease policies
(except policies issued for cancer); policies or contracts
designed for issuance to persons eligible for coverage under
Title XVIII of the Social Security Act, known as Medicare;
any other similar coverage under state or federal
governmental plans; or short-term nonrenewable policies of
not more than six months' duration.
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Chapter 120 (House Bill 673/Senate Bill 251)

This bill amends the Mandated Benefits article of Chapter 34
(Provisions Relating to Accident and Sickness Insurance)
and amends § 38.2-4319 in the Health Maintenance
Organization chapter to require coverage for hemophilia and
congenital bleeding disorders.  The bill adds § 38.2-3418.3
to require that each insurer issuing individual or group
accident and sickness policies providing hospital, medical
and surgical, or major medical coverage on an expense-
incurred basis; each corporation providing individual or
group subscription contracts; and each health maintenance
organization providing a health care plan to provide coverage
for hemophilia and congenital bleeding disorders.  The
requirement applies to policies, contracts or plans delivered,
issued for delivery or renewed on and after July 1, 1998.

The bill defines the terms “blood infusion equipment,” “blood
product,” “hemophilia,” “home treatment program,” and
“state-approved hemophilia treatment center.”

The bill also requires that benefits be provided for expenses
incurred in connection with the treatment of routine bleeding
episodes associated with hemophilia and other congenital
bleeding disorders.  The benefits are to include coverage for
the purchase of blood products and blood infusion
equipment required for home treatment of routine bleeding
episodes associated with hemophilia and other congenital
bleeding disorders when the home treatment program is
under the supervision of the state-approved hemophilia
treatment center.

The bill does not apply to short-term travel, accident only,
limited or specified disease policies or to short-term
nonrenewable policies of not more than six months’ duration.
The amended bill does not apply to policies or contracts
designed for issuance to persons eligible for coverage under
Title XVIII of the Social Security Act, known as Medicare, or
to any other similar coverage under state or federal
governmental plans.

Chapter 146 (House Bill 1234)

This bill amends § 38.2-3408 in the Provisions Relating to
Accident and Sickness Insurance chapter and § 38.2-4221 in
the Health Services Plan chapter by adding “licensed
acupuncturist” to the list of providers that are mandated to
receive direct reimbursement.

Chapter 148 (Senate Bill 462)

This bill amends § 38.2-3407.4:1 in the Provisions Relating
to Accident and Sickness Insurance chapter to require the
State Corporation Commission to adopt a uniform referral
form for use by any health care entity defined as a “utilization
management organization” by the Health Care Financing
Administration (HCFA) for its Electronic Data Interchange
(EDI).  In developing the uniform referral form, the
Commission is required to incorporate only the data
elements adopted by HCFA for its EDI standards.  Because
of the reliance upon adoption of standards by HCFA, the
Commission is not expected to take any action on this bill
until after HCFA standards are made final.

Once adopted by the Commission, all such entities that
require their insureds or enrollees to obtain a written referral
must use the uniform referral form as the only instrument for
referrals and are prohibited from imposing, as a condition of
coverage, any requirement to modify the uniform referral
form or submit additional referral forms.

Chapter 154 (House Bill 855)

This bill revises §§ 38.2-3323, 38.2-3324, 38.2-3331, 38.2-
3525, 38.2-3526, 38.2-3533, 38.2-3543.1, 38.2-4214 and
38.2-4319; adds §§ 38.2-3318.1 through 38.2-3322.2,
§§ 38.2-3521.1 through 38.2-3523.4, and § 38.2-3543.2; and
repeals §§ 38.2-3318 through 38.2-3322 and §§ 38.2-3521
through 38.2-3524, relating to group life and group accident
and sickness insurance policies and delivery requirements.

This bill adds § 38.2-3318.1 which sets forth the
requirements for delivery of certain group life insurance
policies in Virginia.  The following is a list of the groups
identified:

§ 38.2-3318.1 A - employee groups

§ 38.2-3318.1 B - credit groups

§ 38.2-3318.1 C - labor unions

§ 38.2-3318.1 D - multiple employer welfare
arrangements and trusts

§ 38.2-3318.1 E - associations

§ 38.2-3318.1 F - credit unions

§ 38.2-3318.1 G - incorporated associations (burial
societies) with a primary purpose of financial planning
for funerals and burials

This bill adds § 38.2-3319.1 which sets forth the limits of
offering group life insurance to a resident of Virginia for
groups that do not fall under § 38.2-3318.1.  Section 38.2-
3319.1 A requires that group life insurance policies delivered
in Virginia must not be contrary to Virginia’s public policy;
that such policies result in economies of acquisition or
administration; and that the benefits provided by these
policies are reasonable in relation to the premiums charged.
Section 38.2-3319.1 B requires that the group life insurance
policy be approved by the Commission or a state having
substantially similar requirements, and that the insurer
offering the group coverage provide certification and
documentation stating that such coverage is in compliance
with § 38.2-3318.1.  Premium must be paid from
policyholder funds or funds from covered persons or both.
Insurer may exclude person if not insurable.

This bill adds § 38.2-3319.2 to authorize the Commission to
review the records of any insurer issuing group life insurance
policies to determine that the policies issued are in
compliance.

This bill adds § 38.2-3320.1 which provides that group life
insurance policies issued outside of Virginia which provide
coverage to residents of Virginia that do not qualify under
§ 38.2-3318.1 or do not comply with § 38.2-3319.1 shall be



General Notices/Errata

Virginia Register of Regulations

3664

subject to the statutory requirements of Title 38.2 and insurer
is subject to penalties under Title 38.2.

This bill adds § 38.2-3321.1 which sets forth the requirement
that individuals marketing group life insurance policies that
do not qualify under § 38.2-3318.1 must hold a valid life and
health insurance agent license as required by Chapter 18
(§ 38.2-1800 et seq.) of Title 38.2.

This bill adds § 38.2-3322.1 which provides the Commission
with the authority to issue regulations.

This bill also adds § 38.2-3322.2 which requires that group
life insurance policies shall cover at least two people.

This bill amends § 38.2-3323 relating to group life insurance
coverages for spouses, minor dependent children and
dependent handicapped children.  The term “group credit life
insurance” is replaced with § 38.2-3318.1 B as an exception
to group policies that may be extended to insure spouses or
children.

This bill amends § 38.2-3324 relating to exceptions to the
standard provisions prescribed.  The term “group credit life
insurance” is replaced with § 38.2-3318.1 B as an exception
to group policies that fall under §§ 38.2-3330 A, 38.2-3331,
and 38.2-3332 through 38.2-3334.

This bill amends § 38.2-3331 relating to individual
certificates.  The term “group credit life insurance” is
replaced with § 38.2-3318.1 B, which requires that when a
debtor pays any part of a credit insurance premium, the
insurer shall provide the policyholder with a form to be
delivered to the debtor stating that any death benefit paid
under the policy will go toward paying the debt.

This bill adds § 38.2-3521.1 which sets forth the
requirements for delivery of certain group accident and
sickness insurance policies in Virginia.  The following is a list
of the groups identified:

§ 38.2-3521.1 A - employee groups

§ 38.2-3521.1 B - credit groups

§ 38.2-3521.1 C - labor unions

§ 38.2-3521.1 D - multiple employer welfare
arrangements and trusts

§ 38.2-3521.1 E - associations

§ 38.2-3521.1 F - credit unions

§ 38.2-3521.1 G - health maintenance organizations

This bill adds § 38.2-3522.1 which sets forth the limits of
offering group accident and sickness insurance to a resident
of Virginia for groups that do not fall under § 38.2-3521.1.
Section 38.2-3522.1 A requires that group accident and
sickness insurance policies delivered in Virginia must not be
contrary to Virginia’s public policy, would result in economies
of acquisition or administration, and that the benefits are
reasonable in relation to the premiums charged.  Section
38.2-3522.1 B requires that the group accident and sickness
insurance policy must be approved by the Commission or a
state having substantially similar requirements, and that

certification from the insurer offering the group coverage
state that such coverage is in compliance with § 38.2-
3521.1.  Attached to the certification must be documentation
from such state evidencing the determination that such
requirements have been met.  Insurers offering group
accident and sickness insurance that are unable to meet the
requirements of § 38.2-3522.1 B shall be required to file
policy forms with the Commission for approval pursuant to
§ 38.2-316.  Premiums must be paid by policyholder’s funds
or covered person's funds or both.  An insurer may exclude
or limit coverage for those considered not insurable.

This bill adds § 38.2-3523.1 authorizes the Commission to
review the records of any insurer issuing group accident and
sickness insurance policies to determine that the policies
issued are in compliance.  Insurers not complying with
§§ 38.2-3521.1 and 38.2-3522.1 will be deemed to have
committed a knowing and willing violation subject to § 38.2-
218.

This bill adds § 38.2-3523.2 which provides that group
accident and sickness insurance policies issued outside of
Virginia which provide coverage to residents of Virginia that
do not qualify under § 38.2-3521.1 or § 38.2-3522.1 shall be
subject to the statutory requirements of Title 38.2, and the
insurer is subject to penalties under Title 38.2.

This bill adds § 38.2-3523.3 which sets forth the requirement
that individuals marketing group accident and sickness
insurance policies that do not qualify under § 38.2-3521.1 or
§ 38.2-3522.1 must hold a valid life and health insurance
agent or health agent license as required by Chapter 18
(§ 38.2-1800 et seq.) of Title 38.2.

This bill adds § 38.2-3523.4 which requires that at least two
people be covered under group accident and sickness
insurance policies.

This bill amends § 38.2-3525 relating to group accident and
sickness insurance coverages of spouses and dependent
children.  The term “group credit accident and sickness
insurance policy” is replaced with § 38.2-3521.1 B as an
exception to group policies that may be extended to insure
spouses or children.

This bill amends § 38.2-3526 relating to exceptions to the
standard provisions required.  The term “group credit
accident and sickness insurance” is replaced with § 38.2-
3522 B as an exception to group policies that fall under
§§ 38.2-3531 A, 38.2-3533 and 38.2-3538.

This bill amends § 38.2-3533 relating to individual
certificates.  The term “credit accident and sickness” is
replaced with § 38.2-3522.1 B, which requires that when a
debtor pays any part of a credit insurance premium, the
insurer shall provide the policyholder with a form to be
delivered to the debtor stating that any benefit paid under the
policy will go toward paying the debt.

This bill revises § 38.2-3543.1, which provides the
Commission with the authority to establish rules and
regulations for coordination of benefits, adds language
allowing the Commission to establish standards to be met in
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connection with the marketing and contracting for group
accident and sickness insurance.

This bill also adds § 38.2-3543.2 which provides that in the
event of any conflict between the provisions of this article
and other provisions of Title 38.2, the provisions of this
article shall be controlling.

This bill amends § 38.2-4214, which provides that no
provision of Title 38.2 except for Chapter 42 and certain
sections listed shall apply to the operation of a plan, to
include §§ 38.2-3522.1 through 38.2-3523.4 and 38.2-
3543.2.

Section 38.2-4319, which provides that no provision of Title
38.2 except for Chapter 43 and certain sections listed shall
apply to any health maintenance organization granted a
license under this chapter, is amended to include §§ 38.2-
3522.1 through 38.2-3523.4 and 38.2-3543.2.

Chapter 356 (Senate Bill 372)

This bill repeals the “sunset clause” from the genetic
information privacy provisions in § 38.2-508.4 of the Unfair
Trade Practices chapter.  This means that the genetic
information privacy provisions will continue indefinitely
instead of expiring on July 1.

Chapter 625 (House Bill 1413)

This bill amends the Mandated Benefits article of Chapter 34
(Provisions Relating to Accident and Sickness Insurance)
and amends § 38.2-4319 in the Health Maintenance
Organizations chapter to require health carriers to provide
coverage for early intervention services.  The bill adds
§ 38.2-3418.3 and requires each insurer issuing individual or
group accident and sickness policies providing hospital,
medical and surgical or major medical coverage on an
expense-incurred basis; each corporation providing
individual or group subscription contracts; and each health
maintenance organization providing a health care plan to
provide coverage for medically necessary early intervention
services.  The requirement applies to policies, contracts or
plans delivered, issued for delivery or renewed on and after
July 1, 1998.

The amended bill limits benefits to $5,000 per insured or
member per policy or calendar year and, except as set forth
in subsection C, shall be subject to such dollar limits,
deductibles and coinsurance factors as are no less favorable
than for physical illness generally.

The bill defines “early intervention services,” “financial costs”
and “medically necessary early intervention services for the
population certified by the Department of Mental Health,
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services.”  The bill
also prohibits the cost of early intervention services from
being applied to any contractual provision limiting the total
amount of coverage paid by the insurer, corporation or
health maintenance organization to or on behalf of the
insured or member during the insured’s or member’s lifetime.

The bill does not apply to short-term travel, accident only,
limited or specified disease policies, or to short-term
nonrenewable policies of not more than six months’ duration;

nor does it apply to policies or contracts designed for
issuance to persons eligible for coverage under Title XVIII of
the Social Security Act, known as Medicare, or any other
similar coverage under state or governmental plans.

Chapter 631 (House Bill 542)

This bill adds § 38.2-3418.3 to the Provisions Relating to
Accident and Sickness chapter and amends § 38.2-4319 in
the Health Maintenance Organization chapter, § 2.1-20.1 in
the Commonwealth Employee Health Plan chapter and
§ 32.1-325 in the Medicaid chapter.  The bill requires
coverage for a minimum hospital stay following mastectomy
surgery.  It affects the state employee health insurance plan,
Medicaid, and all insurers proposing to issue individual and
group accident and sickness insurance policies providing
hospital, medical and surgical or major medical coverage on
an expense-incurred basis; each corporation providing
individual or group accident and sickness subscription
contracts; and each health maintenance organization
providing a health care plan for health care services.  The bill
applies to any insurance policies, contracts or plans
delivered, issued for delivery, reissued, or renewed on or
after July 1, 1998.

Chapter 709 (House Bill 915/Senate Bill 705)

This bill adds § 38.2-3418.3 to the Provisions Relating to
Accident and Sickness Insurance chapter.  The bill also
amends § 38.2-4319 in the Health Maintenance Organization
chapter, § 2.1-20.1 in the Commonwealth Employee Health
Plan chapter and § 32.1-325 in the Medicaid chapter.  The
bill requires the state employee health insurance plan,
Medicaid, and all insurers proposing to issue individual or
group accident and sickness insurance policies providing
hospital, medical and surgical, or major medical coverage on
an expense-incurred basis; each corporation providing
individual or group accident and sickness subscription
contracts; and each health maintenance organization
providing a health care plan for health care services to
provide coverage for one prostate-specific antigen (PSA) test
in a 12-month period and digital rectal examinations in
accordance with the ACS’s guidelines to:  (i) persons age 50
and over and (ii) persons age 40 and over who are at high
risk for prostate cancer according to the most recent
published guidelines of the American Cancer Society (ACS).
The bill applies to any insurance policies, contracts or plans
delivered, issued for delivery, reissued, or renewed on or
after July 1, 1998.

The bill defines “PSA testing” as the analysis of a blood
sample to determine the level of prostate-specific antigen.

The provisions of this section do not apply to (i) short-term
travel, accident only, limited or specified disease policies
other than cancer policies; (ii) short-term nonrenewable
policies of not more than six months' duration; or (iii) policies
or contracts for issuance to persons eligible for coverage
under Title XVIII of the Social Security Act, known as
Medicare, or any other similar coverage under state or
federal governmental plans.
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Chapter 891 (Senate Bill 712)

This bill revises §§ 38.2-511, 38.2-4214, 38.2-4301, 38.2-
4302, 38.2-4307, 38.2-4312, 38.2-4316, 38.2-4319 and 38.2-
4509.  It repeals §§ 38.2-4308 and 38.2-4311.  It also
repeals Chapter 54 (§§ 38.2-5400 through 38.2-5409) of Title
38.2 and reconstitutes similar utilization review provisions in
Chapter 5 of Title 32.1 in a new Article 1.2 (§ 32.1-137.7 et
seq.).  In addition, the bill adds a new Chapter 58 (§ 38.2-
5800 et seq.) in Title 38.2 and a new Article 1.1 (§ 32.1-
137.1 et seq.) in Chapter 5 of Title 32.1 to address
“managed care health insurance plans” (MCHIPs).  The bill
also revises § 32.1-5 and amends subsection B of § 2.1-342
of Virginia’s Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.1-340 et seq.).

Amendments in Title 32.1 are the regulatory responsibility of
the Virginia Department of Health and the State Health
Commissioner.  Amendments in Title 38.2 are the regulatory
responsibility of the State Corporation Commission when
acting through the Bureau of Insurance in the regulation of
health insurers, health services and hospital services plans,
health maintenance organizations, and dental and
optometric services plans.  The following describe primarily
the amendments in Title 38.2.

Amendments to § 38.2-511 revise the record retention
requirements of Virginia’s Unfair Trade Practices Act for
Insurers to ensure that a health carrier’s records of
complaints are retained for no less than five years.  This
time-frame acknowledges that examinations under § 38.2-
1317 shall be conducted at least once every five years.

Amendments to § 38.2-4214 sweep in Chapter 58 (MCHIPs)
thereby applying managed care provisions to the operations
of any health services or hospital services plan that meets
the definition of a managed care health insurance plan.

In § 38.2-4301, the requirements that licensing applications
include descriptions of service areas, complaint systems and
procedures assuring availability and accessibility and
assessing quality of health care services have been
removed.  Other provisions in the bill replicate these
requirements in Title 32.1 as required filings when applying
for quality assurance certification.  Related provisions in the
new § 32.1-137.2 describe more fully the expectations for
complaint resolution and access, adequacy and continuity,
including considerations for networks, service areas and
geographical areas.  The provision requiring HMOs to file a
material change notice within 30 days after there is a change
in information disclosed in a licensing application has been
deleted also; however, a similar requirement has been added
in § 38.2-5802.

New language in § 38.2-4302 adds specific reference to the
new Chapter 58 thereby acknowledging that provisions
pertinent to the operation of managed care health insurance
plans are conditions of licensure.

Technical revisions to § 38.2-4307 delete direct reference to
the State Health Commissioner and add specific reference to
the new Chapter 58.

Amendments to § 38.2-4312 strike provisions appearing in
subsections C and G and replicate them in Chapter 58 for
application to all MCHIPs pursuant to § 38.2-5806.

Amendments to § 38.2-4316 delete provisions that are
replicated in the new § 38.2-5809 authorizing suspension or
revocation of an HMO’s license if it is determined that the
HMO or other responsible health carrier is unable to furnish
quality assurance or has failed to implement the complaint
system required of MCHIPs.

Amendments to § 38.2-4319 sweep out Chapter 54
(utilization review) and sweep in Chapter 58 (MCHIPs).

Amendments to § 38.2-4509 sweep in Chapter 58 to
recognize that the dental and optometric services plans
regulated under Chapter 45 will be subject also to provisions
in Chapter 58 if the plans fit the definition of managed care
health insurance plan.  A new provision notes that the
utilization review provisions in Title 32.1 shall not apply to
dental and optometric services plans.

A new § 38.2-5800 defines the key terms used in Chapter
58, including “MCHIP” or “managed care health insurance
plan,” “health carrier,” and “covered person.”

The new § 38.2-5801 contains general provisions which
prohibit the operation of an MCHIP in this Commonwealth
unless a health carrier that directly or indirectly manages,
owns, contracts with, or employs the providers for the plan is
licensed in accordance with Virginia’s insurance statutes
(Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia) and subject to regulation
as a health carrier responsible for compliance with
provisions in the new Chapter 58.  The provisions require the
health carrier for an MCHIP to request a certificate of quality
assurance from the Department of Health in accordance with
provisions in § 32.1-137.2.

Section 38.2-5802 sets forth provisions for the establishment
of a managed care health insurance plan (MCHIP).  Effective
July 1, 1998, health carriers will be required to file, with their
license applications and requests for renewal, information
describing the nature of their MCHIP operations.  Lists of
providers and forms of contracts with providers may be
required also; however, individual contracts and contracts
with persons outside Virginia shall not be filed unless
specifically requested and needed.  The new provisions
anticipate interaction with the Department of Health and
require the health carrier to give notice to the State Health
Commissioner each time an MCHIP filing is made with the
State Corporation Commission under this section.

Section 38.2-5803 requires that covered persons be advised
concerning the complaint systems, the service areas, the
names and locations of providers, and the regulatory
oversight that is provided by the State Corporation
Commission Bureau of Insurance and the Virginia
Department of Health.  Additional disclosure requirements
are set forth for MCHIPs that require a covered person to
select a primary care physician with respect to the offer of
basic health care services.

Provisions in § 38.2-5804 require health carriers for all
MCHIPs to establish complaint systems which have been
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approved by the State Health Commissioner and the State
Corporation Commission Bureau of Insurance.

Section 38.2-5805 replicates, with technical modifications,
provisions being deleted from § 38.2-4311.  These provisions
require MCHIPs to maintain lists of providers and written
contracts which in some instances shall contain statutory
“hold-harmless” provisions.

Section 38.2-5806 prohibits cancellations and refusals to
renew due to the health status of an enrollee and,
additionally, puts the health carriers for MCHIPs on notice as
to arbitration agreements and procedures which may be
required pursuant to provisions in Title 32.1 or regulations
promulgated thereunder.  Such provisions would prohibit
restraints against, or imposition of, arbitration except on
claims less than $250 while preserving the covered person’s
right to agree to arbitration.

Section 38.2-5807 identifies “access to care” as a quality
assurance issue to be assessed by the Department of Health
in accordance with provisions in Title 32.1.

Section 38.2-5808 concerns the examination of MCHIP
operations.  It authorizes examination coordination and
acknowledges the quality assurance and complaint system
responsibilities of the State Health Commissioner.

Section 38.2-5809 sets forth provisions which require the
State Corporation Commission to suspend or revoke the
license of a health carrier upon notice that a certificate of
quality assurance has been revoked.

Section 38.2-5810 addresses statutory construction and
relationship to other laws.

Section 38.2-5811 states that the Commission shall have no
jurisdiction to adjudicate controversies between an MCHIP
and its covered persons.

NOTE:  These provisions in Title 38.2 should be read in
conjunction with the new provisions in Articles 1.1 (§ 32.1-
137.1 et seq.) and 1.2 (§ 32.1-137.7 et seq.) of Chapter 5 of
Title 32.1.

Chapter 908 (House Bill 1075)

This bill amends §§ 38.2-4214 and 38.2-4319 and adds
§ 38.2-3407.12 to require that every health care plan offered
by an HMO shall provide or include, or the HMO shall
arrange for or contract with another carrier to provide or
include, a point-of-service (POS) benefit as an additional
benefit for the enrollee (i.e., the employee) at the enrollee's
option. The HMO must make the POS benefit available to a
group contract holder unless the HMO determines in good
faith that another health carrier is already offering the group
contract holder's enrollees a plan that provides a POS
benefit.

The new statute defines significant terms; describes required
disclosures; prescribes certain aspects of rating,
underwriting, coinsurance and premium determination; and
requires also that any premium differential and any group
specific administrative costs charged to enrollees must be

actuarially sound and supported by sworn certificates of an
officer.

The new provisions apply to all group health benefit plans
issued or renewed by carriers on or after July 1, 1998.  Plans
which are self-funded or self-insured are not affected by the
statute.

PROPERTY AND CASUALTY BILLS

Chapter 69 (Senate Bill 554)

This bill amends Chapter 1.3 of Title 6.1 known as the
Consumer Real Estate Settlement Protection Act (CRESPA).
Section 6.1-2.19 is amended to state that a real estate agent
or such agent’s employees or independent contractors may
perform settlement services without complying with CRESPA
as long as that person is not listed as the settlement agent
on the settlement statement and is not otherwise prohibited
from performing such services.  The definition of settlement
agent in § 6.1-2.20 is amended to say that a settlement
agent is the person listed on the settlement statement.  The
term “settlement statement” is also defined. In § 6.1-2.21,
the requirement that an annual audit be performed has been
changed to require that an audit be conducted at least once
each consecutive 12-month period and reported to the
licensing authority no later than 60 days after the audit is
completed.  Also, in § 6.1-2.21 E 2 the word “audit” has been
changed to “analysis,” and the language now states that a
title insurance company’s analysis of its title insurance
agents’ escrow accounts must be done in accordance with
the regulations promulgated by the State Corporation
Commission or the guidelines issued by the Bureau of
Insurance.  Section 6.1-2.23 has been amended to require
that all settlement statements identify the name and address
of the settlement agent.

Chapter 141 (House Bill 883)

This bill amends § 38.2-2212 in the Liability Insurance
Policies chapter by making two clarifications.  The first
change deletes reference to the obsolete term “medical
payments coverage” in subdivision C 1 o since medical
payments coverage is no longer available.  It was combined
with medical expense coverage under House Bill No. 727 in
1991. The second change deletes reference to the policy’s
anniversary date in subdivision D 1 in order to make it clear
that the 90-day underwriting period precedes the last
effective date of the policy, not the policy’s anniversary date.
The current language in the Code of Virginia contemplates
policies written for 12 months while most policies today are
written for six months.

Chapter 142 (House Bill 884)

This bill amends §§ 38.2-231 (commercial auto and
commercial liability termination provisions), 38.2-2114
(homeowners termination provisions), and 38.2-2212
(private passenger auto termination provisions) by clarifying
that the insured does not need to make a termination request
in writing if the insurer does not require it to be in writing.
With the amended language, the Code of Virginia will reflect
the fact that the company has the option of either requiring
or not requiring the insured’s request to be given in writing.
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Companies that allow insureds to make termination requests
orally, rather than in writing, must have the appropriate
forms on file with the Bureau.

Chapter 162 and Chapter 736 (House Bill 1265 and Senate
Bill 281)

These bills amend § 6.1-2.19 of the Consumer Real Estate
Settlement Protection Act (CRESPA) by stating that a real
estate agent or such agent’s employees or independent
contractors may perform settlement services without
complying with CRESPA as long as that person is not listed
as the settlement agent on the settlement statement and is
not otherwise prohibited from performing such services.

Chapter 404 (House Bill 327)

This bill amends §§ 46.2-706 and 46.2-708 of the Motor
Vehicles title by increasing the uninsured motorist fee.  The
fee will go from $400 to $500.

Chapter 590 (Senate Bill 421)

Effective January 1, 1999, and Expires January 1, 2003

This bill amends Titles 38.2 and 58.1 and adds a new
chapter to Title 52 to create a fraud unit within the
Department of State Police.  The Insurance Fraud
Investigation Unit will initiate independent inquiries and
conduct independent investigations into fraudulent acts
involving property and casualty insurance transactions.  The
definition of insurance fraud is limited to property and
casualty lines of insurance.  The fraud unit will be funded by
premium assessments on all property and casualty
insurance companies writing policies in Virginia.  The bill
also requires all insurance applications and all claim forms
to contain a statement, permanently affixed to, or included
as a part of the application or claim form, that states in
substance the following:  “It is a crime to knowingly provide
false, incomplete or misleading information to an insurance
company for the purpose of defrauding the company.
Penalties include imprisonment, fines and denial of insurance
benefits.”  Any applications for insurance that attach to
and form a part of the policy must be submitted to the
Bureau of Insurance for approval.  An application that is
not a part of the policy should not be submitted for
approval.

Chapter 598 (Senate Bill 684)

This bill amends § 6.1-2.20 of the Consumer Real Estate
Settlement Protection Act (CRESPA) by expanding the
definition of “party to the real estate transaction” to include
any entity which is a subsidiary of or under common
ownership with a corporate purchaser in a real estate
transaction.  A party to the real estate transaction is exempt
under CRESPA from being licensed as a settlement agent.

Chapter 726 (House Bill 1353)

This bill adds a new section numbered § 38.2-2232 in the
Liability Insurance Policies chapter which requires insurers
issuing new or renewal policies covering the liability of
private pleasure watercraft to offer uninsured private
pleasure watercraft coverage.  The insurer must offer, in

writing, to the named insured the option of purchasing
coverage undertaking to pay all sums the insured is legally
entitled to recover as damages from the owner or operator of
an uninsured private pleasure watercraft arising out of the
ownership, maintenance, or use of such uninsured
watercraft.  Insurers issuing excess or umbrella policies are
not required to offer this coverage.  In addition, insurers
issuing policies which provide liability coverage incidental to
a policy and not related to a specifically insured private
pleasure watercraft (i.e., homeowner's policies) are not
required to offer this coverage.  Also, the bill defines an
uninsured private pleasure watercraft as one for which there
is no liability insurance.

FINANCIAL REGULATION BILLS

Chapter 42 (Senate Bill 248)

This bill amends various sections of the Code of Virginia
dealing with the financial regulation of certain insurers.
Section 38.2-203 is amended to extend to health
maintenance organizations, legal services plans, dental and
optometric services plans and premium finance companies
the requirement that the management and exclusive agency
contracts be filed with and receive prior approval from the
State Corporation Commission.  Related amendments
conform sweep in provisions in §§ 38.2-4319 and 38.2-4509.

Amendments to § 38.2-1322 define “insurer” for purposes of
applying the insurance holding company statutes to both
insurance companies and health maintenance organizations.
This amendment means that health maintenance
organizations will now be subject to the holding company
statutes contained in Chapter 13 and the related rules
appearing in the Commission’s Rules Governing Insurance
Holding Companies, 14 VAC 5-260-10 et seq.

Section 38.2-4309 is amended to broaden the investment
authority of health maintenance organizations and to make
the investments of entities licensed under Chapter 43 (Health
Maintenance Organizations) of Title 38.2 subject to
regulation pursuant to Chapter 14 (Investments) of Title
38.2.

Section 38.2-1401 is amended to include Chapter 43’s health
maintenance organizations in the definitions of “insurer” and
“minimum capital and surplus” contained in Chapter 14.

Section 38.2-4302 is amended by adding a new subdivision
A 3 f specifying net worth requirements and a new
subsection B applying minimum net worth requirements to
all health maintenance organizations.  A health maintenance
organization seeking to be licensed under Chapter 43 shall
have and maintain a minimum net worth in an amount at
least equal to the sum of uncovered expenses, but not less
than $600,000, up to a maximum of $4 million; uncovered
expenses shall be amounts determined for the most recently
ended calendar quarter pursuant to regulations promulgated
by the Commission.

If the Commission finds an impairment of the minimum net
worth of a domestic health maintenance organization, the
Commission shall issue an order requiring the health
maintenance organization to eliminate the impairment within
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a 90-day period.  If the Commission finds an impairment of
the minimum net worth of a foreign health maintenance
organization, the Commission may order the health
maintenance organization to eliminate the impairment and
restore the minimum net worth to the amount required by
this section.  If the health maintenance organization fails to
comply with the Commission’s order, the Commission may
suspend or revoke the license of the health maintenance
organization as provided in § 38.2-4316.

Prior to December 31, 1999, a health maintenance
organization with less than the minimum net worth which is
licensed on and after June 30, 1998, may continue to
operate as a licensed health maintenance organization with a
finding of impairment if the licensee has net worth:

1. On June 30, 1998, and up to December 31, 1998, in
an amount at least equal to the sum of uncovered
expenses, but not less than $300,000, up to a
maximum of $2 million;

2. On December 31, 1998, and up to June 30, 1999, in
an amount at least equal to the sum of uncovered
expenses, but not less than $400,000, up to a
maximum of $2.5 million; and

3. On June 30, 1999, and up to December 31, 1999, in
an amount at least equal to the sum of uncovered
expenses, but not less than $500,000, up to a
maximum of $3 million.

Chapter 48 (Senate Bill 447)

This bill amends § 6.1-58.2 of the Banking and Finance title
relating to controlled subsidiaries and the transaction of
insurance business.  In addition to the types of businesses
authorized in § 6.1-58.2, a controlled subsidiary corporation
may be formed to underwrite reinsurance of mortgage
guaranty insurance on loans secured by real estate made or
purchased by such controlled reinsurance subsidiary’s
affiliates or by a bank or banks owning such controlled
subsidiary, provided that such controlled subsidiary
corporations transact only the insurance business
specifically permitted by this section.  Such controlled
subsidiary shall be subject to the further provisions of Title
38.2 otherwise applicable to insurance companies
transacting a comparable business.

For purposes of this section, a controlled subsidiary
corporation may be a domestic or foreign corporation, and
the majority of its voting stock may be owned directly or
indirectly by (i) a bank or banks organized under the laws of
the United States; (ii) a bank or banks organized under the
laws of this Commonwealth; (iii) a bank or banks organized
under the laws of one of the other states of the United
States; or (iv) a “bank holding company” owning a bank or
banks in this Commonwealth or in another state.

Chapter 230 (Senate Bill 64)

This bill amends various sections of Chapter 16 (Virginia
Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Association) of
Title 38.2 for the purpose of enabling the Virginia Property
and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Association (Guaranty

Association) to respond more effectively in the event of a
natural catastrophe.

The bill amends § 38.2-1601 9 to clarify that guaranty fund
coverage does not extend to insurance written by risk
retention groups.  This amendment is conforming with the
federal Risk Retention Act and § 38.2-5106.

The bill amends § 38.2-1603 to clarify the definition of
“account” so that the use of “account” in Article 1 of Chapter
16 is distinguished from the use of “account” in Article 2.
The definition of “member insurer” is also amended to clarify
that the term “member insurer” does not include persons
listed in § 38.2-1601 9.  Conforming amendments appear in
§§ 38.2-1604 and 38.2-1606.

The bill amends § 38.2-1606 B to authorize the Guaranty
Association to obtain commitments or lines of credit and, in
the event of a natural disaster, to secure the indebtedness
with a pledge of future assessments.  The new provisions
define natural catastrophe, condition the borrowing and
pledge on approval of the Commission, tie use of funds to
provisions in § 38.2-1622, and place limits on the amount of
moneys to be borrowed.

The bill amends § 38.2-1618 to recognize that Article 2
addresses the secured borrowings described in the new
provisions in § 38.2-1606 in addition to funds already
recognized by the Code of Virginia.

Chapter 318 (Senate Bill 626)

This bill amends § 32.1-330.3 and adds § 38.2-226.2 relating
to the oversight of certain long-term care prepaid health
plans established in accordance with federal statutes
authorizing special funding for certain programs for all-
inclusive care for the elderly commonly known as PACE and
pre-PACE plans.  It amends provisions in Title 32.1 that
authorize oversight by the Department of Medical Assistance
Services and adds conforming provisions in Title 38.2 that
exempt the covered plans from regulation pursuant to Title
38.2.  This bill provides for consistent oversight by the
Department of Medical Assistance Services, with common
requirements for both pre-PACE and PACE plans.  It also re-
establishes for pre-PACE plans the exemption from
regulation by the Bureau of Insurance pursuant to Title 38.2,
that expired on July 1, 1997, and extends the exemption to
PACE plans.

Chapter 388 (Senate Bill 16)

Effective April 12, 1998

This bill amends § 65.2-1201 of the Virginia Workers’
Compensation Act to increase the maximum amount of
Uninsured Employer's Fund tax that may be assessed
against an uninsured or self-insured employer for the
purpose of paying workers’ compensation benefits from 1/4
of 1% to 1/2 of 1% of gross workers’ compensation
premiums.  This bill was effective from passage on April
12, 1998, but the fourth enactment clause to this bill
states that the provisions of this act expire on July 1,
1999.
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The bill also requires the Virginia Workers’ Compensation
Commission to prepare a report by December 1, 1998,
addressing various issues involving the Uninsured
Employer’s Fund (Fund), including revenue needs of the
Fund, administration of claims against the Fund and
oversight of self-insured employers.  The Bureau of
Insurance, major workers’ compensation insurance carriers,
self-insured employers, third party administrators of workers’
compensation insurance and other interested parties are to
provide evaluation and comments on the various issues,
including the methodology for determining both the
aggregate sum and the projected cash flow needs of the
Fund.

Chapter 414 (House Bill 565)

This bill amends and reenacts provisions of Chapter 14 in
Title 38.2 concerning the investments of insurance
companies.  In each instance the amendments recognize
additional investment authority for insurers.

The bill amends § 38.2-1403 to increase the size of the
insurer’s Category 2 “basket,” thereby increasing the dollar
amount of essentially unrestricted investments.  Currently
most insurers may invest up to 50% of their surplus to
policyholders, less the statutorily required minimum
policyholder surplus of $4 million, without regard to statutory
provisions which are aimed at encouraging diversity and
liquidity in an insurer’s investment portfolio.  The
amendments enlarge the basket by raising the percentage
from 50% to 75%.

The bill amends § 38.2-1413 A 6 to recognize additional
Category 1 investment authority for investments in
obligations of certain United States agencies and
instrumentalities, including securities issued or guaranteed
by Fanny Mae (FNMA) and Freddie Mac (FHLMC).  The
amendment doubles authority by raising the per issuer/per
obligor limitation from 5% to 10% of the insurer’s admitted
assets.

The bill amends § 38.2-1415 D to increase Category 1
authority for investing in the direct, general obligations of the
various states.  Authority for investment in obligations of any
one political subdivision is increased from 2% to 5% of
admitted assets; and overall authority is increased from 20%
to 30% of admitted assets.

The bill amends §§ 38.2-1421 and 38.2-1414 A 6  to create
authority for investing up to 2% of admitted assets as
Category 1 investments in business entity obligations which
have received a lower grade rating of “four.”  In all cases the
rating is to be based on valuation by the Securities Valuation
Office of the National Association of Insurance
Commissioners or another national rating agency recognized
by the State Corporation Commission.

The bill amends § 38.2-1423 to simplify the quality tests for
preferred stocks, thereby making it easier for insurers to
make Category 1 investments in preferred stocks.

The bill amends §§ 38.2-1433 and 38.2-1414 A 13 to
recognize new authority for making Category 1 investments
in the securities of or issued in a foreign country.  Such

investments are recognized as Category 1 investments in
amounts up to 10% of admitted assets, subject to a per
jurisdiction limitation of 3% and provisions that the
investment be rated medium grade or higher grade.  A
conforming amendment appears in § 38.2-1413.

VA.R. Doc. No. C98-1656; Filed July 8, 1998, 10:41 a.m.

* * * * * * * *

June 30, 1998

Administrative Letter 1998-6

TO: All Domestic Companies Subject to the
Investment Provisions in Chapter 14 of Title
38.2 of the Code of Virginia

RE: Analysis of Excess Capital and Surplus
Investments

Chapter 14 (§ 38.2-1400 et seq.) of Title 38.2 of the Code
of Virginia contains provisions regulating the manner in
which domestic insurers and others invest their admitted
assets. Several of these provisions were amended during the
1998 Session of the Virginia General Assembly.  The
amendments become effective July 1, 1998.

In an attempt to assist companies in complying with the
amended investment provisions of the Code, the Bureau of
Insurance has revised its Form SCCBOI-4, the Analysis of
Excess Capital and Surplus Investments report (the
investments report).  A copy of the revised form is attached.

All domestic insurers and health maintenance
organizations (HMOs) shall be required to file the revised
investments report annually commencing with the annual
statement filing due March 1, 1999, for the period ended
December 31, 1998.

Additionally, in the absence of specific requests or
direction by the Commission, any insurer or HMO filing
quarterly statements also shall prepare and file an
investments report at the end of each quarter.  For those
companies already filing quarterly statements with the
Commission, the initial filing of the revised investments
report shall be due November 15, 1998, for the period ended
September 30, 1998.

It should be noted that HMOs will now be subject to the
investment limitations imposed by Chapter 14 of Title 38.2
as a result of amendments to § 38.2-1401 and in Chapter 43
(§ 38.2-4300 et seq.) of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia.
The Bureau believes its staff and regulatory materials, such
as the attached investments report, can help HMOs
understand and comply with the provisions of Chapter 14.

Questions concerning this Administrative Letter or the
attached form may be directed to:

Edward J. Buyalos, Jr.,
Domestic Financial Analysis Supervisor
Financial Regulation Division, Bureau of Insurance
State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1157
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Richmond, VA  23218
(804) 371-9637

/s/ Alfred W. Gross
Commissioner of Insurance
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* * * * * * * *

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE:  The attachments, Article 5 (§ 38.2-
1322 et seq.) of Chapter 13 of Title 38.2 of the Code of
Virginia, Insurance Holding Companies, and 14 VAC 5-260-
10 et seq., Rules Governing Insurance Holding Companies,
which are referenced in the following administrative letter are
not being published because they are documents generally
available to the public.

June 30, 1998

Administrative Letter 1998-7

TO: All Health Maintenance Organizations Licensed
Pursuant to Chapter 43 of Title 38.2 of the Code of
Virginia

RE: Holding Company Registration - Form B Filings
Due July 15, 1998

During its 1998 Session, the General Assembly of Virginia
enacted Senate Bill No. 248, which amended multiple
sections of the Code of Virginia, including §§ 38.2-1322 and
38.2-4319 in Title 38.2.  These amendments expand the
definition of “insurer” for purposes of applying the holding
company statutes that comprise Article 5 of Chapter 13 of
Title 38.2 (the Act) and sweep the Act into the specific listing
of statutes which shall be applicable to any health
maintenance organization (HMO) granted a license under
Chapter 43 of Title 38.2.  The amendments become effective
July 1, 1998.

On and after July 1, 1998, HMOs which are members of
an “insurance holding company” shall be subject to the Act
and the Commission’s rules concerning insurance holding
companies at 14 VAC 5-260-10 et seq. (the rules).
Generally, compliance requires timely disclosure or prior
approval of transactions between the HMO and an affiliate.
Specifically, the Act requires, among other things, that
HMOs, which are licensed to do business in Virginia and are
members of an insurance holding company system, register
with the Commission within 15 days after becoming subject
to registration.  In accordance with this provision at § 38.2-
1329, currently licensed HMOs which are members of
holding company systems will be expected to register with
the Commission in the form and manner prescribed by
regulation on or before July 15, 1998.

The purpose of this administrative letter is to provide
guidance to those HMOs that will be required to file their
initial registration statement with the Commission on or
before July 15, 1998.

Attached is a copy of the Act, as amended.  Attached also
are the rules, including the instructions and filing forms for
Forms A through F, which instructions and forms are a part
of and published with the rules immediately following
14 VAC 5-260-100. For purposes of this letter, attention is
directed particularly to § 38.2-1329 of the Act, the rules at
14 VAC 5-210-60 and 14 VAC 5-210-70 concerning

registration, and the instructions and forms specific to the
Form B registration statement.

Section 38.2-1329 A reads:

Each insurer licensed to do business in this
Commonwealth that is a member of an insurance
holding company system shall register with the
Commission.  Any insurer subject to registration under
this section shall register within fifteen days after it
becomes subject to registration, unless the Commission
extends the time for registration for good cause shown.

14 VAC 5-260-60 reads in part:

An insurer required to file a registration statement
pursuant to § 38.2-1329 of the Act shall furnish the
required information in the format designated on Form B
of this regulation.

Pertinent definitions are:

“Insurer” means, as used in the Act,  an insurance company
as defined in § 38.2-100 and means also a health
maintenance organization licensed under Chapter 43
(§ 38.2-4300 et seq.) of Title 38.2.

"Insurance holding company system" means two or more
affiliated persons, one or more of which is a person licensed
pursuant to Title 38.2.

"Affiliate" of a specific person or a person "affiliated" with a
specific person means a person that directly or indirectly
through one or more intermediaries, controls, is controlled by
or is under common control with the person specified.

"Control," including the terms "controlling," "controlled by"
and "under common control with," means direct or indirect
possession of the power to direct or cause the direction of
the management and policies of a person, through (i) the
ownership of voting securities, (ii) by contract other than a
commercial contract for goods or nonmanagement services,
or (iii) otherwise, unless the power is the result of an official
position with or corporate office held by the person.  Control
shall be presumed to exist if any person directly or indirectly
owns, controls, holds with the power to vote, or holds proxies
representing collectively ten percent or more of the voting
securities of any other person.  This presumption may be
rebutted by a showing made in the manner provided by
subsection I of § 38.2-1329 that control does not exist.  After
giving all interested persons notice and opportunity to be
heard and making specific findings to support its
determination, the Commission may determine that control
exists, notwithstanding the absence of a presumption to that
effect.

Significant provisions.  HMOs filing their initial
registration statements are asked to pay particular attention
to the following:

1. An HMO shall file a Form B with the Commission on or
before July 15, 1998, if on and after July 1, 1998, the
HMO is licensed in this Commonwealth and a member
of an insurance holding company. Instructions published
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with the holding company regulations prescribe the
place and manner of filing.

2. Required information shall be reported for year ended
December 31, 1997.  Subsequently occurring
transactions which are “material” as defined by the Act
or the rules and accompanying instructions shall be
reported also.

3. Pursuant to § 38.2-1329, the Commission may extend
the time for registration for good cause shown.  The
Commission does not anticipate that it will extend the
initial filing date for registration statements due on July
15, 1998, because information regarding transactions as
of December 31, 1997, should be readily available to the
company.  Similarly, a company should know whether
such information may have materially changed.

4. The Form B instructions published with the rules provide
that information and documents required by any item of
the registration statement may be incorporated by
reference.  Material incorporated by reference shall be
clearly identified in the reference.  Documents
incorporated by reference must be currently on file with
the Commission and need not be resubmitted if they
were filed within three years of the Form B filing unless
the Commission specifically requests otherwise.  The
incorporation of documents by reference may enable
many HMOs to reduce the size of their initial registration
filings.  Relevant documents may have already been
filed with the Commission pursuant to the requirements
of §§ 38.2-4301, 38.2-4302 or § 38.2-4307.

5. Pursuant to 14 VAC 5-260-60 D, an insurer which is
authorized to do business in this Commonwealth may
file a registration statement on behalf of any affiliated
company which is required to register under § 38.2-1329
of the Act.  HMOs which are affiliated with one or more
licensed insurers may be able to use or incorporate by
reference materials gathered by an affiliates in
connection with an earlier holding company filing.  An
HMO, which files as its registration statement the Form
B filed by an affiliate, may need to file a Form C
summary of registration also.

6. Pursuant to the Act and 14 VAC 5-260-60 D 6, a foreign
company subject to disclosure requirements and
standards adopted by statute or regulation in the
jurisdiction of its domicile that are substantially similar
to those contained in § 38.2-1329 of the Act shall be
exempted and excepted from registration in this
Commonwealth; however, if requested by the
Commission, such company shall furnish to the
Commission a copy of the registration statement or
other information filed in its state of domicile.  An HMO
which is a member of an insurance holding company
system and licensed in Virginia but domiciled elsewhere
shall be required to file with the Commission notice of its
membership in an insurance holding company.  For
HMOs licensed on July 1, 1998, such notice shall be due
on or before July 15, 1998.  Notice shall be
accompanied by (i) an organizational chart showing
affiliates and the ultimate controlling party and (ii) a

statement describing the nature of holding company
regulation in the state of domicile or, alternatively, copy
of the registration statement filed with the domiciliary
regulator;  exhibits and source documents for such
registration statements do not have to be submitted.

7. All domestic insurers are subject to § 38.2-1323
concerning the acquisition of control of insurers.
Pursuant to 14 VAC 5-260-40, applications for approval
of acquisition or other change of control shall be filed in
the format of Form A.  A Form E filing may be
appropriate also.

8. All domestic insurers subject to registration under
§ 38.2-1329 shall be subject also to provisions in the Act
and holding company rules pertaining to the filing of
Forms D and F concerning material transactions and
dividends.

Questions concerning this administrative letter and the
holding company requirements as they apply to HMOs
should be directed to:

Andy R. Delbridge, CFE, CIE, FLMI
Supervisor
Company Licensing and Regulatory Compliance
Financial Regulation Division
SCC Bureau of Insurance
P. O. Box 1157
Richmond, VA  23218
(804) 371-9637

/s/ Alfred W. Gross
Commissioner

VA.R. Doc. No. C98-1659; Filed July 14, 1998, 11:28 a.m.

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

One Year Delay of Clean Fuel Fleet Program
Requirements

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is hereby
announcing a one-year delay of implementation of the Clean
Fuel Fleet Program required by § 241 of the federal Clean Air
Act and by regulation of the State Air Pollution Control
Board, 9 VAC 5 Chapter 120, pursuant to authority provided
by Article 3 of Chapter 6 of Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia.
The implementation delay is from the 1999 vehicle model
year to the 2000 vehicle model year.

The regulation requires fleets of 10 or more vehicles that are
centrally fueled, or capable of being centrally fueled, to
include in their fleet vehicle purchases a certain percentage
of vehicles meeting specific cleaner exhaust emissions
standards.  The program was scheduled to begin in
September 1997 with the introduction of the 1998 model year
vehicles.  The program is now scheduled to begin in
September 1999 with the introduction of the 2000 model year
vehicles unless an equivalent substitute program is adopted
in Virginia and approved by the Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA).
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The regulation states, at 9 VAC 5-120-140 B and 9 VAC 5-
120-150 C, that, "If vehicles meeting the emission standards
set forth ... are not offered for sale in the State of California
and sold or otherwise available commercially in the
Commonwealth of Virginia as of model year 1998, then the
beginning of the purchase requirements set forth ... shall be
delayed until the first model year in which such vehicles are
offered for sale in the State of California and sold or
otherwise available commercially in the Commonwealth of
Virginia."

The offer for sale of vehicles meeting these emission
standards is solely at the discretion of motor vehicle
manufacturers.  Further, the vehicles must be certified by the
manufacturer to operate, and be operated exclusively, on a
specific motor fuel.  The Environmental Protection Agency
(EPA) made a determination last year that such vehicles
would not be certified by manufacturers in 1998 in numbers
sufficient to ensure a smooth, cost-effective implementation
of the program and has therefore authorized the delay in a
May 22, 1997, memorandum from Margo T. Oge, Director,
EPA Office of Mobile Sources.  The Department of
Environmental Quality has studied the availability of qualified
vehicles this year and finds availability to be very poor.
Manufacturers have expressed concern about the cost of
building and certifying vehicles to meet cleaner exhaust
emission standards for the small number of geographic
areas intending to implement the program.  Thus far, only a
limited number of vehicles available outside California
operating exclusively on compressed natural gas (CNG) or
on electricity have been certified by manufacturers to meet
the standards.  The cost of these vehicles is not competitive
with vehicles operating on gasoline fuels due, in part, to the
small number of certified vehicles.

In the 1998 General Assembly Session, the statutory
authority for the Clean Fuel Fleet program was amended to
delete any geographic area not designated by EPA as a
serious nonattainment area or areas that were formerly in
that status.  This amendment effectively eliminated the
Richmond and Hampton Roads areas from the program
regardless of vehicle availability.  The amendment also
allows Virginia to substitute another equivalent program for
the CFF program if the State Air Pollution Control Board
(SAPCB) adopts one and EPA approves such a program.

Fleets having made or planned purchases in order to
conform to the regulation requirements will accrue credits
toward program requirements according to guidelines to be
developed later this year by DEQ if the substitution plan is
not successful.  If that is the case, further announcements
regarding program implementation and credit guidelines will
appear in the Virginia Register at a later date.

Questions and comments regarding the program and the
delay may be directed to David J. Kinsey, Environmental
Program Manager, Department of Environmental Quality,
Division of Environmental Science, 629 East Main Street,
Richmond, Virginia, 23219; telephone (804) 698-4432,
facsimile (804)698-4510, or by e-mail to
djkinsey@deq.state.va.us.

VIRGINIA INFORMATION PROVIDERS NETWORK

Commonwealth Calendar Available on the Internet

Anyone with Internet access may now search for and view
public meeting notices posted by Virginia state government
entities on a new Internet service called the Commonwealth
Calendar.  The Virginia Information Providers Network
(VIPNet) furnishes the Commonwealth Calendar service
through its Web site at www.vipnet.org.  The General
Assembly created VIPNet in order to make it easier for
Commonwealth citizens and businesses to access
government information and services through the Internet.

Authorized representatives of state government entities may
post public meeting announcements on the Commonwealth
Calendar, as well as make changes and deletions to those
announcements.  To protect the integrity of information
placed on the calendar, only those individuals that the state
entity authorizes are able to post meeting notices for that
organization.  State entities may request calendar entry
authorization by preparing a letter on the organization’s
letterhead that lists the individual(s) approved to post
meeting announcements on behalf of the organization and
submitting that letter to VIPNet via facsimile at (804) 786-
6227 or to the following address:

Virginia Information Providers Network
1111 East Main Street
Suite 601
Richmond, VA 23219

VIPNet is working with the office of the Virginia Register of
Regulations to coordinate the announcement of public
meetings on the Commonwealth Calendar and publication of
those meetings in the Virginia Register as required by the
Virginia Administrative Process Act.  In order to avoid
“double data entry,” users posting public meetings on the
Commonwealth Calendar may request that the network
automatically submit the required copies of the Notice of
Meeting, Form RR06, to the Virginia Register via facsimile.
That automatic submittal feature includes the option to
request that the Virginia Register return a receipted copy of
the Notice of Meeting to the user, and prohibits the user from
filing with the Virginia Register a notice that would be
received too late for publication.

If you have any questions regarding the Commonwealth
Calendar or any other VIPNet service or feature, please call
(804) 786-4718 or e-mail VIPNet’s Webmaster at
webmaster@vipnet.org.

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION

Notice to Subscribers

Beginning with Volume 14, Issue 18 of the Virginia Register
(14:18 VA.R. May 25, 1998), a new section was added to the
Register.  The new section entitled, “Cumulative Table of
Virginia Administrative Code Sections Adopted, Amended, or
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Repealed” lists regulation sections, by Virginia
Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended,
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in
VAC (the Spring 1998 VAC Supplement includes final
regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 14,
Issue 10 dated February 2, 1998).  Emergency regulations, if
any, are listed, followed by the designation “emer,” and
errata pertaining to final regulations are listed.  Proposed
regulations are not listed here.  The table lists the sections in
numerical order and shows action taken, the volume, issue
and page number where the section appeared, and the
effective date of the section.

Notice to State Agencies

Mailing Address:  Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA
23219.  You may FAX in your notice; however, we ask that
you FAX two copies and do not follow up with a mailed copy.
Our FAX number is:  (804) 692-0625.

Forms for Filing Material for Publication in The
Virginia Register of Regulations

All agencies are required to use the appropriate forms when
furnishing material for publication in The Virginia Register of
Regulations.  The forms may be obtained from:  Virginia
Code Commission, 910 Capitol Street, General Assembly
Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
786-3591.

Internet:  Forms and other Virginia Register resources may
be printed or downloaded from the Virginia Register web
page:
http://legis.state.va.us/codecomm/register/regindex.htm

FORMS:
NOTICE of INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION - RR01
NOTICE of COMMENT PERIOD - RR02
PROPOSED (Transmittal Sheet) - RR03
FINAL (Transmittal Sheet) - RR04
EMERGENCY (Transmittal Sheet) - RR05
NOTICE of MEETING - RR06
AGENCY RESPONSE TO LEGISLATIVE OBJECTIONS
- RR08

ERRATA

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

Title of Regulation:  9 VAC 25-91-10 et seq.  Facility and
Aboveground Storage Tank (AST) Regulation.

Publication:  14:18 VA.R. 2517-2546 May 25, 1998.

Corrections to Final Regulation:

Page 2520, column 1, 9 VAC 25-91-20 B 3, line 1,
delete “et seq.”

Page 2520, column 1, 9 VAC 25-91-20 B 4, beginning
on line 2, change the name of Part V to “Groundwater
characterization study (GCS) and GCS well monitoring
requirements”

Page 2525, in column 1, 9 VAC 25-91-120 C 3, line 1,
after “An assessment of the AST site” add “shall be”

Page 2527, column 1, 9 VAC 25-91-130 A 5 b, line 8,
after “the” add “maximum”

Page 2529, column 1, 9 VAC 25-91-130 A 8 a (3), line
1, delete "Initial"

Page 2530, column 2, 9 VAC 25-91-130 B 3 b, line 7,
after “40 CFR Part 112” add “(1997)”

Page 2532, column 1, 9 VAC 25-91-130 B 6 a (2), line
2, after “facility personnel” add “as applicable”

Page 2532, column 2, 9 VAC 25-91-130 B 6 a (4), line
1, change “retrain” to “train”

Page 2532, column 2, 9 VAC 25-91-130 B 7, line 3, after
“groundwater” add “(i.e., a method of leak detection)”

Page 2537, column 1, 9 VAC 25-91-170 A 18, beginning
on line 7, delete “by the operator”

Page 2538, column 2, 9 VAC 25-91-180 A, line 14, after
“Contingency Plan” add “(ODCP)”

Page 2540, column 2, 9 VAC 25-91-220 A 4, line 2,
change “0285-1995 (1995)” to “0285-95 (1995)”

Title of Regulation:  9 VAC 25-101-10 et seq.  Tank Vessel
Oil Discharge Contingency Plan and Financial
Responsibility Regulation.

Publication:  14:18 VA.R. 2547-2563 May 25, 1998.

Corrections to Final Regulation:

Page 2550, column 2, 9 VAC 25-101-40 J, line 6, after
“33 CFR Part 155” add “(1997)”

Page 2550, column 2, 9 VAC 25-101-40 K 2, line 3, and
page 2553 9 VAC 25-101-50 L 2, line 3, delete “,
Commonwealth”

Page 2552, column 2, 9 VAC 25-101-50 G 1, beginning
on line 8, delete “from the department”
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CALENDAR OF EVENTS

EXECUTIVE

VIRGINIA AGRICULTURAL COUNCIL

† August 24, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
† August 25, 1998 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Omni Hotel, 235 West Main Street, Charlottesville,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

The annual meeting of the council to include an annual
review of finances, progress reports on approved
projects, and general business matters.  The council will
entertain public comment at the conclusion of all other
business for a period not to exceed 30 minutes.  Any
person who needs special accommodations in order to
participate at the meeting should contact Thomas R.
Yates at least five days before the meeting so that
suitable arrangements can be made.

Contact:  Thomas R. Yates, Assistant Secretary, Virginia
Agricultural Council, Washington Bldg., 1100 Bank St.,
Room 509, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6060
or toll-free 1-800-828-1120/TTY (

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND
CONSUMER SERVICES

Virginia Aquaculture Advisory Board

August 11, 1998 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services,
Washington Building, 1100 Bank Street, 2nd Floor Board
Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A regular meeting to discuss issues related to Virginia
aquaculture.  The board will entertain public comment at
the conclusion of all other business for a period not to
exceed 30 minutes.  Any person who needs any
accommodation in order to participate in the meeting
should contact the secretary to the board at least five

days before the meeting date so that suitable
arrangements can be made for appropriate
accommodation.

Contact:  T. Robins Buck, Secretary, Virginia Aquaculture
Advisory Board, Department of Agriculture and Consumer
Services, Washington Bldg., 1100 Bank St., Suite 211,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6094 or FAX
(804) 371-7679.

Virginia Egg Board

† August 12, 1998 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services,
Washington Building, 1100 Bank Street, 2nd Floor Board
Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting to review the financial statements and
approve funding for the proposed projects for FY 1998-
1999.  Minutes of the past meetings will be approved.
The board will review the FY 1997-98 promotional and
educational program.  The Egg Council will present an
overview of the approved and adopted Quality
Assurance Program.  The board will entertain public
comment at the conclusion of all other business for a
period not to exceed 30 minutes.  Any person who needs
any accommodations in order to participate at the
meeting should contact Cecilia Glembocki at least five
days before the meeting date so that suitable
arrangements can be made.

Contact:  Cecilia Glembocki, Secretary, Virginia Egg Board,
911 Saddleback Court, McLean, VA 22102-1317, telephone
(703) 790-1984, toll-free 1-800-779-7759, FAX (703) 821-
6748, or e-mail virginiaeggcouncil@erols.com.

Virginia Soybean Board

August 6, 1998 - 2:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Colonial Acres Farm, 7031 South Laburnum Avenue,
Richmond, Virginia.
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A meeting to discuss checkoff revenues and the
financial status of the board following the end of the
fiscal year ending June 30, 1998.  The Virginia 1998
Corn and Soybean Conference financial report will be
discussed along with the Ag-Expo plans for the
upcoming event, as well as reports from the Chairman
of the United Soybean Board representatives, and from
other committees.  The board will entertain public
comment at the conclusion of all other business for a
period not to exceed 30 minutes.  Any person who needs
any accommodation in order to participate at the
meeting should contact Phil Hickman at least five days
before the meeting date so that suitable arrangements
can be made.

Contact:  Philip T. Hickman, Program Director, Virginia
Soybean Board, Washington Bldg., 1100 Bank St., Suite
1005, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6157 or
FAX (804) 371-7786.

Virginia Winegrowers Advisory Board

† August 19, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
State Capitol, House Room 1, Capitol Square, Richmond,
Virginia.

A meeting to elect new officers including a new
chairman for the upcoming year and to conduct regular
business including committee reports.  The board will
entertain public comment at the conclusion of all other
business for a period not to exceed 30 minutes.  Any
person who needs any accommodations in order to
participate at the meeting should contact Mary E. Davis-
Barton at least 10 days before the meeting date so that
suitable arrangements can be made.

Contact:  Mary E. Davis-Barton, Secretary, Virginia
Winegrowers Advisory Board, Department of Agriculture and
Consumer Services, 1100 Bank St., Room 1010, Richmond,
VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7685 or FAX (804) 786-
3122.

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD

August 10, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street,
Training Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to discuss the proposed establishment of
requirements to govern the use of mediation and
alternative dispute resolution in regulation development
and permit issuance.

Contact:  Dr. Kathleen Sands, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone
(804) 698-4413.

* * * * * * * *

September 10, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street,
Training Room, 1st Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

September 28, 1998 -- Public comments may be submitted
until 4:30 p.m. on this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution
Control Board intends to amend regulations entitled:
Regulations for the Control and Abatement of Air
Pollution Control (Rev. ZZ); 9 VAC 5-20-10 et seq.
General Provisions; 9 VAC 5-40-10 et seq.  Existing
Stationary Sources; 9 VAC 5-50-10 et seq.  New and
Modified Stationary Sources. The regulation
amendments concern provisions covering municipal
solid waste (MSW) landfills and are summarized below.

Facilities to which the rule applies are MSW landfills
which commenced construction, reconstruction, or
modification before May 30, 1991.  In the Northern
Virginia VOC Control Area, the design capacity
applicability criteria is 1.0 million megagrams (Mg) or
more; the emission rate applicability criteria is emissions
of nonmethane organic compounds (NMOCs) greater
than or equal to 23 Mg per year.  In the remainder of the
Commonwealth, the design capacity applicability criteria
and the emissions rate applicability criteria are 2.5
million Mg in capacity and 50 Mg per year or more in
emissions, respectively.

Landfills with a design capacity equal to or greater than
the design capacity applicability criteria must determine
their NMOC emissions.  If the NMOC emission rate is
less than the emission rate applicability criteria, the
landfill must submit an emission report, and recalculate
the NMOC emission rate until it is equal to or greater
than the emission rate applicability criteria or the landfill
is closed.  If the calculated NMOC emission rate is equal
to or greater than the emission rate applicability criteria,
a collection and control system design plan must be
submitted, followed by the installation of a collection and
control system.

Active collection systems must be designed to handle
the maximum expected gas flow rate at a sufficient
extraction rate and be designed to minimize off-site gas
migration.  Passive collection systems must be installed
with liners, then either destroy the collected gas or treat
it for sale or use.  Operational standards direct how
landfills must operate collection systems in order to
minimize emissions and operate safely.  Test methods
and procedures are provided in order for sources to
calculate the NMOC emission rate.  Once the NMOC
emission rate is established, the landfill is classified as
Tier 1, 2, or 3 depending on whether the NMOC
emission rate is less than or greater than the emission
rate applicability criteria; if the NMOC concentration is
determined using a specific sampling procedure; or if
the NMOC mass emission rate is determined using
specific equations.
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Compliance is determined through specific methods.
Monitoring of operations is achieved through the
installation of various sampling ports and devices.
Reporting and recordkeeping requirements are
delineated.  Finally, installation of emission collection
and control equipment capable of meeting the standards
must be accomplished by 30 months after the rule's
effective date.

Request for Comments:  The purpose of this notice is to
provide the public with the opportunity to comment on the
proposed regulation and the costs and benefits of the
proposal.

Localities Affected:  Facilities located in the Northern Virginia
VOC Control Area (Arlington County, Fairfax County,
Loudoun County, Prince William Country, Stafford County,
City of Alexandria, City of Fairfax, City of Falls Church, City
of Manassas, City of Manassas Park) must meet more
restrictive design capacity applicability criteria and emission
rate applicability criteria.  These special criteria are required
in order to meet emission reduction requirements for serious
nonattainment areas (as required by Part D of the federal
Clean Air Act), rather than to meet requirements for
designated pollutants (§ 111(d) of the federal Clean Air Act)
and have been in place since 1996.

Location of Proposal:  The proposal, an analysis conducted
by the department (including a statement of purpose, a
statement of estimated impact and benefits of the proposed
regulation, an explanation of need for the proposed
regulation, an estimate of the impact of the proposed
regulation upon small businesses, identification of and
comparison with federal requirements, and a discussion of
alternative approaches), and any other supporting
documents may be examined by the public at the
Department's Office of Program Development (Eighth Floor),
629 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia and the
department's regional offices (listed below) between 8:30
a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business day until the close of
the public comment period.

Southwest Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
355 Deadmore Street
Abingdon, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 676-4800

West Central Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
3019 Peters Creek Road
Roanoke, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 562-6700

Lynchburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
7705 Timberlake Road
Lynchburg, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 582-5120

Valley Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4411 Early Road

Harrisonburg, Virginia 22801
Ph:  (540) 574-7800

Fredericksburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
300 Central Road, Suite B
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 899-4600

Northern Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
13901 Crown Court
Woodbridge, Virginia
Ph: (703) 583-3800

Piedmont Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4949-A Cox Road
Glen Allen, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 527-5020

Tidewater Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
5636 Southern Boulevard
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Ph:  (757) 518-2000

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m.,
September 28, 1998, to the Director, Office of Program
Development, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O.
Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240.

Contact:  Karen G. Sabasteanski, Policy Analyst, Office of
Air Program Development, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone
(804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 698-4510, toll-free 1-800-592-
5482 or (804) 698-4021/TTY (

* * * * * * * *

† September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street,
Training Room, Richmond, Virginia.

October 6, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
4:30 p.m. on this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution
Control Board intends to amend regulations entitled:
9 VAC 5-30-10 et seq.  and 9 VAC 5-70-10 et seq.
Regulations for the Control and Abatement of Air
Pollution (Rev. A97).  The regulation amendments
concern provisions covering total suspended particulate
(TSP) ambient air quality standards.  The proposed
action is to remove references to TSP from 9 VAC 5
Chapter 30, Ambient Air Quality Standards, and from 9
VAC 5 Chapter 70, Air Pollution Episodes.

Request for Comments:  The purpose of this notice is to
provide the public with the opportunity to comment on the
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proposed regulation and the costs and benefits of the
proposal.

Localities Affected:  There is no locality which will bear any
identified disproportionate material air quality impact due to
the proposed regulation which would not be experienced by
other localities.

Location of Proposal:  The proposal, an analysis conducted
by the department (including: a statement of purpose, a
statement of estimated impact and benefits of the proposed
regulation, an explanation of need for the proposed
regulation, an estimate of the impact of the proposed
regulation upon small businesses, identification of and
comparison with federal requirements, and a discussion of
alternative approaches) and any other supporting documents
may be examined by the public at the department's Office of
Air Regulatory Development (Eighth Floor), 629 East Main
Street, Richmond, Virginia and the department's regional
offices (listed below) between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of
each business day until the close of the public comment
period.

Southwest Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
355 Deadmore Street
Abingdon, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 676-4800

West Central Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
3019 Peters Creek Road
Roanoke, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 562-6700

Lynchburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
7705 Timberlake Road
Lynchburg, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 582-5120

Valley Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4411 Early Road
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22801
Ph:  (540) 574-7800

Fredericksburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
300 Central Road, Suite B
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 899-4600

Northern Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
13901 Crown Court
Woodbridge, Virginia
Ph: (703) 583-3800

Piedmont Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4949-A Cox Road
Glen Allen, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 527-5020

Tidewater Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
5636 Southern Boulevard
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Ph:  (757) 518-2000

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m., October
6, 1998, to the Director, Office of Air Regulatory
Development, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O.
Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240.

Contact:  Karen G. Sabasteanski, Environmental Program
Planner, Office of Program Development, Department of
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA
23240, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 698-4510, toll-
free 1-800-592-5482 or (804) 698-4021/TTY (

* * * * * * * *

† September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street,
Training Room, Richmond, Virginia.

October 6, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
4:30 p.m. on this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution
Control Board intends to amend regulations entitled: 9
VAC 5-40-10 et seq.  Regulations for the Control and
Abatement of Air Pollution (Rev. B97) (repealing
Article 38, 9 VAC 5-40-5350 through 9 VAC 5-40-
5480.  Emission Standards for Dry Cleaning
Systems (Rule 4-38)).  The amendments concern
provisions covering perchloroethylene dry cleaning
source emissions.  The proposed action is to repeal the
existing regulation.

Request for Comments:  The purpose of this notice is to
provide the public with the opportunity to comment on the
proposed regulation and the costs and benefits of the
proposal.

Localities Affected:  There is no locality which will bear any
identified disproportionate material air quality impact due to
the proposed regulation which would not be experienced by
other localities.

Location of Proposal:  The proposal, an analysis conducted
by the department (including: a statement of purpose, a
statement of estimated impact and benefits of the proposed
regulation, an explanation of need for the proposed
regulation, an estimate of the impact of the proposed
regulation upon small businesses, identification of and
comparison with federal requirements, and a discussion of
alternative approaches) and any other supporting documents
may be examined by the public at the department's Office of
Air Regulatory Development (Eighth Floor), 629 East Main
Street, Richmond, Virginia and the department's regional
offices (listed below) between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of
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each business day until the close of the public comment
period.

Southwest Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
355 Deadmore Street
Abingdon, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 676-4800

West Central Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
3019 Peters Creek Road
Roanoke, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 562-6700

Lynchburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
7705 Timberlake Road
Lynchburg, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 582-5120

Valley Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4411 Early Road
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22801
Ph:  (540) 574-7800

Fredericksburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
300 Central Road, Suite B
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 899-4600

Northern Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
13901 Crown Court
Woodbridge, Virginia
Ph: (703) 583-3800

Piedmont Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4949-A Cox Road
Glen Allen, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 527-5020

Tidewater Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
5636 Southern Boulevard
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Ph:  (757) 518-2000

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m., October
6, 1998, to the Director, Office of Air Regulatory
Development, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O.
Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240.

Contact:  Mary E. Major, Environmental Program Manager,
Office of Program Development, Department of
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA
23240, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, toll-
free 1-800-592-5482 or (804) 698-4021/TTY (

* * * * * * * *

† September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street,
Training Room, Richmond, Virginia.

October 6, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
4:30 p.m. on this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution
Control Board intends to amend regulations entitled:
9 VAC 5-40-10 et seq.  Regulations for the Control
and Abatement of Air Pollution (Rev. E97).  The
regulation amendments concern provisions covering fuel
burning equipment.  The regulation has been revised in
order to clarify the fact that internal combustion engines
(stationary combustion turbines) are considered to be
fuel burning equipment, and that stationary internal
combustion engines have been specifically exempted
from this rule.

Request for Comments:  The purpose of this notice is to
provide the public with the opportunity to comment on the
proposed regulation and the costs and benefits of the
proposal.

Localities Affected:  There is no locality which will bear any
identified disproportionate material air quality impact due to
the proposed regulation which would not be experienced by
other localities.

Location of Proposal:  The proposal, an analysis conducted
by the department (including: a statement of purpose, a
statement of estimated impact and benefits of the proposed
regulation, an explanation of need for the proposed
regulation, an estimate of the impact of the proposed
regulation upon small businesses, identification of and
comparison with federal requirements, and a discussion of
alternative approaches) and any other supporting documents
may be examined by the public at the department's Office of
Air Regulatory Development (Eighth Floor), 629 East Main
Street, Richmond, Virginia and the department's regional
offices (listed below) between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of
each business day until the close of the public comment
period.

Southwest Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
355 Deadmore Street
Abingdon, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 676-4800

West Central Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
3019 Peters Creek Road
Roanoke, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 562-6700

Lynchburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
7705 Timberlake Road
Lynchburg, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 582-5120
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Valley Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4411 Early Road
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22801
Ph:  (540) 574-7800

Fredericksburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
300 Central Road, Suite B
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 899-4600

Northern Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
13901 Crown Court
Woodbridge, Virginia
Ph: (703) 583-3800

Piedmont Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4949-A Cox Road
Glen Allen, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 527-5020

Tidewater Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
5636 Southern Boulevard
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Ph:  (757) 518-2000

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m., October
6, 1998, to the Director, Office of Air Regulatory
Development, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O.
Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240.

Contact:  Karen G. Sabasteanski, Environmental Program
Planner, Office of Program Development, Department of
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA
23240, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 698-4510, toll-
free 1-800-592-5482 or (804) 698-4021/TTY (

* * * * * * * *

† September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street,
Training Room, Richmond, Virginia.

October 6, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
4:30 p.m. on this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution
Control Board intends to amend regulations entitled:
9 VAC 5-40-10 et seq.  Regulations for the Control
and Abatement of Air Pollution (Rev. L97).  The
amendments concern provisions covering pulp and
paper mills.  The regulation has been revised to clarify
the rule’s applicability.

Request for Comments:  The purpose of this notice is to
provide the public with the opportunity to comment on the

proposed regulation and the costs and benefits of the
proposal.

Localities Affected:  There is no locality which will bear any
identified disproportionate material air quality impact due to
the proposed regulation which would not be experienced by
other localities.

Location of Proposal:  The proposal, an analysis conducted
by the department (including: a statement of purpose, a
statement of estimated impact and benefits of the proposed
regulation, an explanation of need for the proposed
regulation, an estimate of the impact of the proposed
regulation upon small businesses, identification of and
comparison with federal requirements, and a discussion of
alternative approaches) and any other supporting documents
may be examined by the public at the department's Office of
Air Regulatory Development (Eighth Floor), 629 East Main
Street, Richmond, Virginia and the department's regional
offices (listed below) between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of
each business day until the close of the public comment
period.

Southwest Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
355 Deadmore Street
Abingdon, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 676-4800

West Central Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
3019 Peters Creek Road
Roanoke, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 562-6700

Lynchburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
7705 Timberlake Road
Lynchburg, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 582-5120

Valley Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4411 Early Road
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22801
Ph:  (540) 574-7800

Fredericksburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
300 Central Road, Suite B
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 899-4600

Northern Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
13901 Crown Court
Woodbridge, Virginia
Ph: (703) 583-3800

Piedmont Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4949-A Cox Road
Glen Allen, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 527-5020
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Tidewater Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
5636 Southern Boulevard
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Ph:  (757) 518-2000

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m., October
6, 1998, to the Director, Office of Air Regulatory
Development, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O.
Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240.

Contact:  Mary E. Major, Environmental Program Manager,
Office of Program Development, Department of
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA
23240, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, toll-
free 1-800-592-5482 or (804) 698-4021/TTY (

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE
ARCHITECTS

Architect Section

August 5, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to conduct general business. Persons
desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring
special accommodations or interpreter services should
contact the department at least 10 days prior to the
meeting so that suitable arrangements can be made.
The department fully complies with the Americans with
Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514,
or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

Land Surveyor Section

August 26, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to conduct general business. Persons
desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring
special accommodations or interpreter services should
contact the department at least 10 days prior to the
meeting so that suitable arrangements can be made.
The department fully complies with the Americans with
Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514,
or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

Professional Engineer Section

August 20, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to conduct general business. Persons
desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring
special accommodations or interpreter services should
contact the department at least 10 days prior to the
meeting so that suitable arrangements can be made.
The department fully complies with the Americans with
Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514,
or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS AND LEAD

August 25, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Conference Room 5 West,
Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to conduct routine business.  A public
comment period will be held at the beginning of the
meeting.  Persons desiring to participate in the meeting
and requiring special accommodations or interpreter
services should contact the board at least 10 days prior
to the meeting so that suitable arrangements can be
made. The board fully complies with the Americans with
Disabilities Act.

Contact:  David E. Dick, Assistant Director, Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8595,
FAX (804) 367-2475, (804) 367-9753/TTY ( , or e-mail
asbestos@dpor.state.va.us.

VIRGINIA COUNCIL ON ASSISTIVE TECHNOLOGY

September 2, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms
Drive, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular business meeting.

Contact:  VCAT Staff, 8004 Franklin Farms Dr., Richmond,
VA 23288, telephone (804) 662-9990, toll-free 1-800-552-
5019 or 1-800-464-9950/TTY (
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COMPREHENSIVE SERVICES FOR AT-RISK
YOUTH AND THEIR FAMILIES

State Management Team

† August 6 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
St. Joseph’s Villa, 8000 Brook Road, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to discuss recommendations for policies and
procedures regarding the Comprehensive Services Act.

Contact:  Elisabeth Hutton, Secretary, Comprehensive
Services for At-Risk Youth and Their Families, Department
of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone
(804) 371-4099.

COAL SURFACE MINING RECLAMATION FUND
ADVISORY BOARD

† August 20, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Buchanan-Smith
Building, Route 23, Big Stone Gap, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to review and discuss the current status and
administration of the Reclamation Fund.

Contact:  Danny R. Brown, Division Director, Division of
Mined Land Reclamation, Department of Mines, Minerals
and Energy, P.O. Drawer 900, Big Stone Gap, VA 24219,
telephone (540) 523-8152 or FAX (540) 523-8163.

COMPENSATION BOARD

† August 27, 1998 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Ninth Street Office Building, 202 North Ninth Street, 10th
Floor Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

A monthly board meeting.

Contact:  Cindy Waddell, Administrative Assistant,
Compensation Board, 202 N. 9th St., 10th Floor, Richmond,
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0786 or FAX (804) 371-
0235.

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND
RECREATION

August 20, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, Conference
Room B, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting for development of model ordinance and
educational materials regarding wetlands, riparian
buffers and environment erosion control structures.
Public comments will be received at the end of the
meeting.

Contact:  Leon E. App, Agency Regulatory Coordinator, 203
Governor Street, Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone
(804) 786-4570 or FAX (804) 786-6141.

Board on Conservation and Development of Public
Beaches

† August 4, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Hampton City Hall, Hampton City Council Chambers,
Hampton, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A meeting to (i) discuss proposed projects by localities
requesting matching grant funds, (ii) review the budget
for the 98-00 biennium, and (iii) receive public
comments about public beaches or the activities of the
board.

Contact:  Carlton Lee Hill, Staff Advisor, Department of
Conservation and Recreation, 203 Governor St., Suite 206,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3998 or FAX
(804) 786-1798.

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS

† August 4, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting of the Disciplinary Board to receive board
member reports and summaries from informal fact-
finding conferences held pursuant to the Administrative
Process Act, and to review consent order offers in lieu of
further disciplinary proceedings.  Persons desiring to
participate in the meeting and requiring special
accommodations or interpreter services should contact
the department at least two weeks prior to the meeting
so that suitable arrangements can be made. The board
fully complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Geralde W. Morgan, Assistant Director, Board for
Contractors, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917,
telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 367-2474 or (804)
367-9753/TTY (

* * * * * * * *

† August 18, 1998 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Conference Room 4W, Richmond,
Virginia.

† August 20, 1998 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing
Roanoke County Board of Supervisors, 5204 Bernard Drive,
Supervisor’s Meeting Room, Roanoke, Virginia.

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted
through this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board for Contractors
intends to amend regulations entitled:  18 VAC 50-30-10
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et seq.  Board for Contractors Tradesman Rules and
Regulations.  The proposed amendments add backflow
prevention device workers to the trades regulated by the
Tradesman Program.  The voluntary, statewide
certification program for backflow prevention device
workers mandated by the General Assembly will enable
such workers to practice in different areas of the
Commonwealth without having to apply for certification
in each jurisdiction separately.  Except for fees for the
new program, there are no changes in the current fee
structure of the Tradesman Program.  Some editorial
changes are also made.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-201, 54.1-1102 and Article 3 (§
54.1-1128 et seq.) of Chapter 11 of Title 54.1 of the Code of
Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until October 2, 1998, to
George O. Bridewell, Administrator, Board for Contractors,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia 23230.

Contact:  Geralde W. Morgan, Assistant Director,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804)
367-6166 or FAX (804) 367-2474.

BOARD OF CORRECTIONS

August 11, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Drive, Board
Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting of the Correctional Services Committee to
discuss correctional services matters which may be
presented to the board.

Contact:  Barbara Fellows, Secretary to the Board,
Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Dr., Richmond, VA
23225, telephone (804) 674-3235 or FAX (804) 674-3130.

August 12, 1998 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Drive, Richmond,
Virginia.

A meeting of the Administration Committee to discuss
administrative matters which may be presented to the
full board.

Contact:  Barbara Fellows, Secretary to the Board,
Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Dr., Richmond, VA
23225, telephone (804) 674-3235 or FAX (804) 674-3130.

August 12, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Drive, Richmond,
Virginia.

A meeting of the full board to discuss matters which
may be presented.

Contact:  Barbara Fellows, Secretary to the Board,
Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Dr., Richmond, VA
23225, telephone (804) 674-3235 or FAX (804) 674-3130.

BOARD FOR COSMETOLOGY

† September 14, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

An open meeting to discuss regulatory review and other
matters requiring board action, including disciplinary
cases.  All meetings are subject to cancellation.  Time of
the meeting is subject to change.  Call the board office
at least 24 hours in advance.  Persons desiring to
participate in the meeting and requiring special
accommodations or interpreter services should contact
Nancy Taylor Feldman.  The department fully complies
with the Americans with Disabilities Act.  Please notify
the department of your request at least 10 days in
advance.

Contact:  Nancy Taylor Feldman, Assistant Director,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone
(804) 367-8590 or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD AND
COMMITTEE ON TRAINING

† September 23, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting of both groups to conduct general business.
The Criminal Justice Services Board will also consider
various grant applications.

Contact:  George B. Gotchalk, Regulatory Review
Coordinator, Committee on Training, and Christine Y.
Wiedemer, Administrative Staff Assistant, Criminal Justice
Services Board, Department of Criminal Justice Services,
805 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
786-8001.

DEPARTMENT FOR THE DEAF AND HARD-OF-
HEARING

August 5, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department for the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing, Koger Center,
1602 Rolling Hills Drive, Suite 203, Richmond, Virginia.

A quarterly meeting of the Advisory Board for the
Department for the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing.  Public
comment will be received with advance notice.

Contact:  Beverly Chamberlain, Executive Secretary,
Department for the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing, Ratcliffe
Bldg., 1602 Rolling Hills Dr., Suite 203, Richmond, VA
23229, telephone (804) 662-9705/Voice/TTY ( , FAX 1-800-
552-7917 or toll-free 1-800-552-7917/Voice/TTY (
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BOARD OF DENTISTRY

† August 14, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

The Continuing Education Committee will discuss action
on licensees who have not fulfilled the continuing
education requirement for license renewal.  Public
comment will be received at the beginning of the
meeting.

Contact:  Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX (804) 662-9943
or (804) 662-7197/TTY (

† August 14, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

The Exam Committee will review a draft Request for
Proposal to outsource the jurisprudence exam for
dentists and dental hygienists and the radiology safety
exam for unlicensed persons such as dental
assistants/chairside personnel.  Public comment will be
received at the beginning of the meeting.

Contact:  Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX (804) 662-9943
or (804) 662-7197/TTY (

† August 14, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

The Special Conference Committee will hear disciplinary
cases.  This is a public meeting; however, no public
comment will be taken.

Contact:  Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX (804) 662-9943
or (804) 662-7197/TTY (

* * * * * * * *

† September 18, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Public Hearing
The Williamsburg Lodge, 310 South England Street,
Williamsburg, Virginia.

October 2, 1998 -  Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Dentistry
intends to amend regulations entitled:  18 VAC 60-20-10
et seq.  Virginia Board of Dentistry Regulations.
Amendments are proposed pursuant to Executive Order
15 (94), which called for clarification, simplification, and

where possible, a reduction in the regulatory burden.
The proposed amendments allow dentists to delegate
acts which are not specifically reserved for
dentists/dental hygienists and which are consistent with
the training and experience of the assistant.

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 27 (§ 54.1-
2700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9906 or FAX (804) 662-
9943.

* * * * * * * *

† September 18, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Public Hearing
The Williamsburg Lodge, 310 South England Street,
Williamsburg, Virginia.

October 2, 1998 -  Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Dentistry
intends to amend regulations entitled:  18 VAC 60-20-10
et seq.  Virginia Board of Dentistry Regulations.
Amendments are proposed to increase fees for
licensees of the Board of Dentistry in order to comply
with a statutory mandate for the agency to raise
revenues sufficient to meet expenses.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-113 and 54.1-2400 of the Code
of Virginia.

Contact:  Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9906 or FAX (804) 662-
9943.

VIRGINIA ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
PARTNERSHIP

† August 4, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Economic Development Partnership, 901 East Byrd
Street, Riverfront Plaza, Green Conference Room,
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A meeting of the Motion Picture Development
Committee of the Virginia Tourism Corporation Board to
discuss a production incentive plan in Virginia.  Public
comment will be taken at the beginning of the meeting.
Agenda available.

Contact:  Judy Bulls, Assistant to the President and CEO,
Virginia Tourism Corporation, Riverfront Plaza, 901 E. Byrd
St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-8174 or
(804) 786-1919.
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August 4, 1998 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Economic Development Partnership, 901 East Byrd
Street, Riverfront Plaza, West Tower, 19th Floor, Board
Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting of the Personnel Committee to review
personnel policies and compensation for the Virginia
Economic Development Partnership.

Contact:  Pandy Brazeau, Administrative Assistant, Virginia
Economic Development Partnership, P.O. Box 798,
Richmond, VA 23218-0798, telephone (804) 371-8106 or
FAX (804) 371-8112.

LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE -
CHESTERFIELD COUNTY

September 3, 1998 - 5:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting
6610 Public Safety Way, Chesterfield, Virginia.

A regular meeting.

Contact:  Lynda G. Furr, Emergency Services Coordinator,
Chesterfield Fire Department, P.O. Box 40, Chesterfield, VA
23832, telephone (804) 748-1236.

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

August 11, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street,
Training Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to discuss and exchange ideas and
information concerning the proposed regulation, 9 VAC
20-170-10 et seq., Transportation of Solid and Medical
Wastes on State Waters, including the costs and
benefits of the proposed action.

Contact:  Lily Choi, Environmental Engineer Senior,
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009,
Richmond, VA 23240-0009, telephone (804) 698-4054 or
FAX (804) 698-4032.

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND
EMBALMERS

August 12, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting of the Regulatory and Bylaws Committee to
discuss crematory regulations.  Public comments will be
received for 15 minutes at the beginning of the meeting.

Contact:  Cheri Emma-Leigh, Administrative Staff Assistant,
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6606 W. Broad
St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804)
662-9907 or FAX (804) 662-9523.

* * * * * * * *

† September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalmers intends to amend regulations
entitled:  18 VAC 65-20-10 et seq.  Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalmers Regulations and 18 VAC
65-40-10 et seq.  Resident Trainee Program for
Funeral Service.  Amendments are proposed to
increase fees for licensees of the Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalmers in order to comply with a
statutory mandate for the agency to raise revenues
sufficient to meet expenses.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-113 of the Code
of Virginia.

Contact:  Elizabeth Young-Tisdale, Executive Director,
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6606 W. Broad
St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804)
662-9907 or FAX (804) 662-9943.

* * * * * * * *

† September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalmers intends to amend regulations
entitled:  18 VAC 65-20-10 et seq.  Regulations of the
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers.
Amendments are proposed pursuant to Executive Order
15 (94), which called for clarification, simplification and,
where possible, a reduction in the regulatory burden.
Regulations which are duplicative of provisions of the
Code of Virginia or the Funeral Industry Rule of the
Federal Trade Commission are eliminated.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400 and Chapter 28 (§ 54.1-
2800 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Elizabeth Young-Tisdale, Executive Director,
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6606 W. Broad
St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804)
662-9907 or FAX (804) 662-9943.

* * * * * * * *

† September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.
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October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalmers intends to amend regulations
entitled:  18 VAC 65-30-10 et seq.  Regulations for
Preneed Funeral Planning.  Amendments are
proposed pursuant to Executive Order 15 (94) in order to
make regulations clearer, simpler, and less
burdensome.  The proposed amendments will eliminate
the requirement for prior approval by the board of any
preneed contract and disclosure statements.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-2803 and 54.1-2820
of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Elizabeth Young-Tisdale, Executive Director,
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6606 W. Broad
St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804)
662-9907 or FAX (804) 662-9943.

* * * * * * * *

† September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalmers intends to amend regulations
entitled:  18 VAC 65-40-10 et seq.  Resident Trainee
Program for Funeral Service.  Amendments are
proposed pursuant to Executive Order 15 (94) in order to
make regulations clearer, simpler, and less
burdensome.  Amendments will eliminate duplicative
regulations and requirements such as a certain number
of funerals and embalmings in one calendar year in one
funeral establishment.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400 and Chapter 28 (§ 54.1-
2800 et seq. ) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Elizabeth Young-Tisdale, Executive Director,
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6606 W. Broad
St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804)
662-9907 or FAX (804) 662-9943.

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES

August 20, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
August 21, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad
Street, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

The board will meet and adopt 1998-1999 hunting
seasons and bag limits for migratory waterfowl (ducks
and coots, geese and brant, swan, gallinules and
moorhens) and falconry, based on frameworks provided

by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.  The board may
also review possible proposals for legislation for the
1999 Session of the General Assembly, will select
meeting dates for 1999 board meetings, and may
discuss other general and administrative issues.  The
board may hold an executive session before the public
session begins on August 20.  If the board completes its
entire agenda on August 20, it may not convene on
August 21.

Contact:  Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Department of Game
and Inland Fisheries, 4010 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA
23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or FAX (804) 367-2311.

DEPARTMENT OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES

† August 10, 1998 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad
Street, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

The department will hold an open meeting for the
purpose of receiving public comments regarding season
lengths and bag limits for the 1998-1999 hunting
seasons for waterfowl (ducks, geese, and swan).  DGIF
Wildlife Division staff will present season frameworks
provided by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service for these
species, and the public's comments will be solicited in
the public hearing portion of the meeting.  A summary of
the comments received on August 10 will be presented
to the DGIF Board of Directors at its scheduled August
20-21, 1998, meeting.  At the August 20-21 meeting, the
board will hold an additional public hearing after which it
intends to adopt 1998-1999 hunting seasons and bag
limits for waterfowl.

Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Department of Game
and Inland Fisheries, 4010 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA
23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or FAX (804) 367-2311.

September 14, 1998 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing
Jefferson Forest High School, Perrowville Road, Forest,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

September 15, 1998 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing
Fort Defiance High School, State Route 616, Fort Defiance,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

September 16, 1998 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing
Wytheville Community College, 1000 East Main Street,
Wytheville, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

September 17, 1998 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing
James City-Williamsburg Community Center, 5301 Longhill
Road, Williamsburg, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

September 17, 1998 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing
Lee Hill Community Center, 1 Hugh Cosner Drive,
Fredericksburg, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided
upon request)
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The Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries
(DGIF) is hosting five public meetings in September to
receive suggestions from hunters, trappers, and all other
interested parties for changes to the state hunting and
trapping regulations.  Interested individuals are invited to
join the DGIF staff to discuss these regulations and
department programs.  The suggestions received will be
considered by department staff as they develop
recommendations for presentation to the Board of Game
and Inland Fisheries in the spring of 1999.

Contact:  Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Department of Game
and Inland Fisheries, 4010 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA
23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or FAX (804) 367-2311.

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES

Design-Build/Construction Management Review
Board

August 17, 1998 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting
The Library of Virginia, 800 East Broad Street, Richmond,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to review requests submitted by localities for
the use of the design-build or construction management
type of contract.  Public comments will be taken.  The
chairman may cancel the meeting if there is not
business for the board’s consideration.  Please contact
the Division of Engineering and Buildings to confirm
meeting date and time.

Contact:  Sandra H. Williams, Board Clerk, Division of
Engineering and Buildings, Department of General Services,
805 E. Broad St., Room 101, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 786-3263 or (804) 786-6152/TTY (

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH

August 6, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Eastern Virginia Medical School, 825 Fairfax Avenue,
Hofheimer Hall, 7th Floor, President’s Board Room, Norfolk,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A work session of the board.

Contact:  Paul W. Matthias, State Board of Health, P.O. Box
2448, Suite 214, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-
2909 or FAX (804) 786-4616.

August 7, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Eastern Virginia Medical School, 825 Fairfax Avenue,
Hofheimer Hall, 7th Floor, President’s Board Room, Norfolk,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A regular business meeting.

Contact:  Paul W. Matthias, State Board of Health, P.O. Box
2448, Suite 214, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-
2909 or FAX (804) 786-4616.

* * * * * * * *

September 21, 1998 -- Public comments may be submitted
until this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health
intends to amend regulations entitled:  12 VAC 5-90-10
et seq.  Regulations for Disease Reporting and
Control.  The proposed amendments include additions
to and deletions from the reportable disease list,
changes to the list of conditions and laboratory tests
reportable by directors of laboratories, and other
changes to enhance disease surveillance and control in
the Commonwealth.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-35 of the Code of
Virginia.

Contact:  Diane Woolard, Ph.D., M.P.H., Director,
Surveillance and Investigation, Department of Health, Office
of Epidemiology, P.O. Box 2448, Room 113, Richmond, VA
23218, telephone (804) 786-6261, FAX (804) 371-4050 or
toll-free 1-800-828-1120/TTY (

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS

August 14, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting of the Health Practitioners’ Intervention
Program Committee to meet with the committee’s
contractor and representatives to review reports, policies
and procedures for the Health Practitioners’ Intervention
Program.  The committee will meet in open session for
general discussion of the program.  The committee may
meet in executive session for the purpose of
consideration of specific requests from applicants or
participants in the program.

Contact:  John W. Hasty, Director, Department of Health
Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9424, FAX (804) 662-9114
or (804) 662-7197/TTY (

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR
VIRGINIA

† August 17, 1997 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia, James
Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, Council Conference
Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A general business meeting to elect officers.  The
meeting may be telecommunicated at the council’s
office and McGuire, Woods, Battle and Boothe in
Norfolk and Richmond.

Contact:  Pamela H. Landrum, Administrative Staff
Assistant, State Council of Higher Education, James Monroe
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Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 9th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 225-2600 or FAX (804) 371-7911.

VIRGINIA HISTORIC PRESERVATION
FOUNDATION

† August 11, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Historical Society, 2801 Kensington Avenue, 2nd
Floor, Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting of the trustees of the foundation to consider
proposals to preserve significant threatened historic
properties through acquisition and resale with
appropriate protective covenants.

Contact:  Robert A. Carter, Director, Community Services,
Department of Historic Resources, 10 Courthouse Ave.,
Petersburg, VA 23803, telephone (804) 863-1626, FAX (804)
863-1627 or (804) 367-2386/TTY (

HOPEWELL INDUSTRIAL SAFETY COUNCIL

August 4, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
September 1, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Hopewell Community Center, Second and City Point Road,
Hopewell, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

Local Emergency Preparedness Committee meeting on
emergency preparedness as required by SARA Title III.

Contact:  Robert Brown, Emergency Services Coordinator,
300 N. Main St., Hopewell, VA 23860, telephone (804) 541-
2298.

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY
DEVELOPMENT

State Building Code Technical Review Board

† August 21, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
The Jackson Center, 501 North 2nd Street, 1st Floor
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the
deaf provided upon request)

The board will hear administrative appeals concerning
building and fire codes and other regulations of the
department.  The board issues interpretations and
formalizes recommendations to the Board of Housing
and Community Development concerning future
changes to the regulations.

Contact:  Vernon W. Hodge, Building Code Supervisor,
State Building Code Office, Department of Housing and
Community Development, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA
23219-1321, telephone (804) 371-7170 or (804) 371-
7089/TTY (

VIRGINIA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

† August 18, 1998 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Housing Development Authority, 601 South
Belvidere Street, Richmond, Virginia.

A regular meeting of the Board of Commissioners to (i)
review and, if appropriate, approve the minutes from the
prior monthly meeting; (ii) consider for approval and
ratification mortgage loan commitments under its
various programs; (iii) review the authority’s operations
for the prior month; and (iv) consider such other matters
and take such other actions as it may deem appropriate.
Various committees of the board may also meet before
or after the regular meeting and consider matters within
their purview.  The planned agenda of the meeting will
be available at the offices of the authority one week prior
to the date of the meeting.

Contact:  J. Judson McKellar, Jr., General Counsel, Virginia
Housing Development Authority, 601 S. Belvidere Street,
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 782-1986.

COUNCIL ON INFORMATION MANAGEMENT

August 11, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Virginia.

A regularly scheduled meeting of the Land Records
Management Task Force.

Contact:  Bill Shinar, Virginia Geographic Information
Network Coordinator, Washington Bldg., 1100 Bank St.,
Suite 901, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-3622,
FAX (804) 371-7952 or toll-free 1-800-828-1120/TTY (

August 14, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Council on Information Management, Washington Building,
1100 Bank Street, 9th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

A regular meeting of Virginia Geographic Information
Network Advisory Board.

Contact:  Bill Shinar, Virginia Geographic Information
Network Coordinator, Washington Bldg., 1100 Bank St.,
Suite 901, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-3622,
FAX (804) 371-7952 or toll-free 1-800-828-1120/TTY (

VIRGINIA INTERAGENCY COORDINATING
COUNCIL

† September 9, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Housing Development Authority, 601 South
Belvidere Street, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the
deaf provided upon request)

The council meets quarterly to advise and assist the
Virginia Department of Mental Health, Mental
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services as lead
agency for Part H (of IDEA), early intervention for infants
and toddlers with disabilities and their families.
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Discussion will focus on issues related to Virginia's
implementation of the Part H program.

Contact:  Nicole Corey, Part H Office Services Specialist,
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and
Substance Abuse Services, Early Intervention, 10th Floor,
P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804)
786-3710 or FAX (804) 371-7959.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY

† August 31, 1998 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing
City Hall, 9027 Center Street, Council Chambers, Manassas,
Virginia.

† September 1, 1998 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, House
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.

† September 2, 1998 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing
Roanoke County Administration Center, 6204 Bernard Drive,
Board of Supervisors’ Meeting Room, Roanoke, Virginia.

† 4September 3, 1998 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing
City Hall, 810 Union Street, City Council Chambers, Norfolk,
Virginia.

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Safety and Health Codes
Board intends to amend regulations entitled:  16 VAC
25-50-10 et seq.  Boiler and Pressure Vessel Rules
and Regulations.  The proposed amendments
incorporate the transfer of authority for setting various
fee amounts from statute to regulation, and adopt
several changes recommended individually or jointly by
the regulated community, the National Board of Boiler
and Pressure Vessel Inspectors, or the Chief Boiler and
Pressure Vessel Inspector of the Commonwealth.

The proposed amendments also direct commonwealth
inspectors to inspect uninsured boilers and pressure
vessels in those geographic areas or limited time
periods within which commercial services would not be
available, set out the chief inspector’s criteria for
determining unavailability, and establish rates for
certification inspections conducted by commonwealth
inspectors.  These changes eliminate a criticism of the
current privatized inspection system and are directed by
Chapter 212, 1997 Acts of Assembly.

Also included in these proposed amendments are
changes suggested by the department’s regulatory
review and a request by the department to require the
national board “R” and “VR” stamp certification for
organizations performing repairs and alterations to
boilers and pressure vessels, and the repair and
resetting of safety valves.  Current regulation requires
that all boilers and pressure vessels be designed,
constructed and installed in accordance with the ASME

Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code.  However, the ASME
code does not establish standards for repair or alteration
of these objects once they have been code stamped and
installed.

Statutory Authority:  § 40.1-51.6 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until October 2, 1998, to
Bonnie R. Hopkins, Regulatory Coordinator, Department of
Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor Building, 13 South 13th
Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219.

Contact:  Fred P. Barton, Boiler Chief Inspector, Department
of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor Bldg., 13 S. 13th St.,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3262, FAX (804)
371-6524 or (804) 786-2376/TTY (

Apprenticeship Council

August 5, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor Building,
13th South 13th Street, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for
the deaf provided upon request)

A regular meeting of the subcommittee of the
Apprenticeship Council.

Contact:  Bev Donati, Assistant Program Director,
Apprenticeship Program, Department of Labor and Industry,
Powers-Taylor Bldg., 13 S. 13th St., Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 786-2382, FAX (804) 786-8418, or (804)
786-2376/TTY (

September 17, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Centreville Adult and Community Education Center, 5757
Spindle Court, Centreville, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting of the Apprenticeship Council.

Contact:  Bev Donati, Assistant Program Director,
Apprenticeship Program, Department of Labor and Industry,
Powers-Taylor Bldg., 13 S. 13th St., Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 786-2382, FAX (804) 786-8418, or (804)
786-2376/TTY (

STATE LAND EVALUATION ADVISORY COUNCIL

August 11, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
September 22, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Department of Taxation, 2220 West Broad Street,
Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to adopt suggested ranges of values for
agricultural, horticultural, forest and open-space land
use and the use-value assessment program.

Contact:  H. Keith Mawyer, Property Tax Manager,
Department of Taxation, Office of Customer Services,
Property Tax Unit, 2220 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23220,
telephone (804) 367-8020.
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COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT

August 28, 1998 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Franklin area; site to be determined.

A regular meeting to receive oral presentations
regarding the City of Franklin-Southampton County
Voluntary Settlement Agreement.  Persons desiring to
participate in the meeting and requiring special
accommodations or interpreter services should contact
the commission.

Contact:  Barbara Bingham, Administrative Assistant,
Commission on Local Government, Eighth Street Office
Bldg., 805 E. Broad St., Room 702, Richmond, VA 23219-
1924, telephone (804) 786-6508, FAX (804) 371-7999 or
(804) 786-1860/TTY (

August 28, 1998 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing
Franklin area; site to be determined.

A public hearing regarding the City of Franklin-
Southampton County Voluntary Settlement Agreement.
Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and
requiring special accommodations or interpreter services
should contact the commission.

Contact:  Barbara Bingham, Administrative Assistant,
Commission on Local Government, Eighth Street Office
Bldg., 805 E. Broad St., Room 702, Richmond, VA 23219-
1924, telephone (804) 786-6508, FAX (804) 371-7999 or
(804) 786-1860/TTY (

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION

August 25, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
September 22, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue,
Room 403, Newport News, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the
deaf provided upon request)

The commission will hear and decide the following
marine environmental matters at 9 a.m.: permit
applications for projects in wetlands, bottom lands,
coastal primary sand dunes and beaches; appeals of
local wetland board decisions; policy and regulatory
issues.  The commission will hear and decide the
following fishery management items at approximately
noon: regulatory proposals, fishery management plans;
fishery conservation issues; licensing; shellfish leasing.
Meetings are open to the public.  Testimony will be
taken under oath from parties addressing agenda items
on permits and licensing.  Public comments will be
taken on resource matters, regulatory issues and items
scheduled for public hearing.  The commission is
empowered to promulgate regulations in the areas of
marine environmental management and marine fishery
management.

Contact:  LaVerne Lewis, Secretary to the Commission,
Marine Resources Commission, P.O. Box 756, Newport

News, VA 23607-0756, telephone (757) 247-2261, toll-free 1-
800-541-4646 or (757) 247-2292/TTY(

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES

September 4, 1998 -- Public comments may be submitted
until this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical
Assistance Services intends to amend regulations
entitled: 12 VAC 30-50-10 et seq.  Amount, Duration,
and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care and
Services; 12 VAC 30-60-10 et seq.  Standards
Established and Methods Used to Assure High
Quality Care; and 12 VAC 30-80-10 et seq.  Methods
and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates--
Other Types of Care.  The purpose of the proposed
amendments is to allow clinical nurse specialists-
psychiatric to be directly enrolled and reimbursed for
Medicaid services rendered.

Statutory Authority:  § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until September 4,
1998, to Sally Rice, Department of Medical Assistance
Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA
23219.

Contact:  Victoria P. Simmons or Roberta J. Jonas,
Regulatory Coordinators, Department of Medical Assistance
Services, 600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 371-8854 or FAX (804) 371-4981.

* * * * * * * *

September 18, 1998 -- Public comments may be submitted
until this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical
Assistance Services intends to amend regulations
entitled:  12 VAC 30-50-10 et seq.  Amount, Duration,
and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care and
Services.  The proposed regulations clarify DMAS’
coverage of breast reconstructive procedures and
prostheses and establish parameters for the coverage of
outpatient observation beds.

Statutory Authority:  § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until September 18,
1998, to Bonnie Winn, R.N., Manager, Division of Program
Operations, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600
East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219.

Contact:  Victoria P. Simmons or Roberta J. Jonas,
Regulatory Coordinators, Department of Medical Assistance
Services, 600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 371-8854 or FAX (804) 371-4981.
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* * * * * * * *

† October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted
until this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical Assistance
Services intends to amend regulations entitled:  Home
Infusion Therapy/Bundling Services and Supplies:
12 VAC 30-50-10 et seq.  Amount, Duration and Scope of
Medical and Remedial Care and Service and 12 VAC 30-
80-10 et seq.  Methods and Standards for Establishing
Payment Rates; Other Types of Care. The purpose of this
proposal is to simplify the billing procedures of durable
medical equipment providers and pharmacy providers when
they are providing home infusion therapy services/bundling
services and supplies (intravenous therapy, respiratory
therapy and service agreements on equipment).  This
simplification will make providers’ initial billing process
easier and quicker but will also make it easier for DMAS to
conduct postpayment reviews of providers’ records.

Statutory Authority:  § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until the close of
business on October 2, 1998, to Lynda Hamm, R.N.,
Division of Provider Operations, Department of Medical
Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.

Contact:  Victoria P. Simmons, Regulatory Coordinator,
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad
St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
7959 or FAX (804) 786-3146.

Pharmacy Liaison Committee

August 3, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad
Street, 13th Floor, Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A regular meeting.

Contact:  Marianne Rollings, Pharmacy Services, Client
Services, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E.
Broad St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
225-4268.

BOARD OF MEDICINE

August 7, 1998 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

The Executive Committee will meet in open and closed
session to (i) review disciplinary files requiring
administrative action, (ii) adopt amendments for
approval of promulgation of regulations as presented,
(iii) interview applicants, and (iv) act on other issues that
come before the board.  The chairman will entertain

public comments on agenda items for 15 minutes
following adoption of the agenda.

Contact:  Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, Department of Health Professions, 6606
W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804)
662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9943 or (804) 662-7197/TTY (

August 8, 1998 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Board Rooms 3 and 4, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

The Credentials Committee will meet in open and closed
session to (i) conduct general business, (ii) interview
and review medical credentials of applicants applying for
licensure in Virginia, and (iii) act on other issues that
come before the committee.  The committee will receive
public comments of those persons appearing on behalf
of candidates.

Contact:  Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, Department of Health Professions, 6606
W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9943 or (804)
662-7197/TTY (

* * * * * * * *

September 9, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.

September 18, 1998 -- Public comments may be submitted
until this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine
intends to amend regulations entitled: 18 VAC 85-110-
10 et seq.  Regulations Governing the Practice of
Licensed Acupuncturists.  Amendments are proposed
pursuant to Executive Order 15 (94) which called for
agencies to simplify, clarify and reduce the burden of
regulations.  Proposed amendments would reduce the
application fee from $200 to $150, eliminate the
undergraduate education requirements, eliminate the
requirement for an applicant from another state to have
an approved tutorial, and specify that an applicant
whose acupuncture education was in English is not
required to take the Test of English as a Foreign
Language.  Another amendment changes the required
time for examination by the referring doctor from six
months to three months prior to referral.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2956.9 of the
Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond,
VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9908.
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† September 9, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

The Advisory Committee on Acupuncturists will meet to
discuss regulatory review of 18 VAC 85-110-10 et seq.,
Licensed Acupuncturists, and such other issues which
may be presented.  The committee will entertain public
comments during the first 15 minutes on agenda items.

Contact:  Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, Department of Health Professions, 6606
W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9943 or (804)
662-7197/TTY (

† September 9, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

The Advisory Committee on Radiologic Technologists
will meet to review public comments and make
recommendations to the board regarding 18 VAC 85-
101-10 et seq., Regulations Governing the Licensure of
Radiologic Technologists and Radiologic Technologists-
Limited, and such other issues which may be presented.
The advisory committee will entertain public comments
during the first 15 minutes on agenda items.

Contact:  Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, Department of Health Professions, 6606
W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9943 or (804)
662-7197/TTY (

† September 10, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

The Advisory Board on Occupational Therapy will meet
to review public comments and make recommendations
to the board regarding the regulatory review of 18 VAC
85-80-10 et seq., Regulations for Certification of
Occupational Therapists, and such other issues which
may be presented.  The advisory board will entertain
public comments during the first 15 minutes on agenda
items.

Contact:  Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, Department of Health Professions, 6606
W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9943 or (804)
662-7197/TTY (

† September 10, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A panel of the board will convene, pursuant to §§ 54.1-
2400 and 9-6.14:12 of the Code of Virginia to inquire

into allegations that a practitioner may have violated
laws governing the practice of medicine.  The panel will
meet in open and closed sessions pursuant to § 2.1-344
A 7 and A 15 of the Code of Virginia.  Public comment
will not be received.

Contact:  Karen W. Perrine, Deputy Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond,
VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-7693, FAX (804) 662-
9943 or (804) 662-7197/TTY (

† September 10, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

The Advisory Board on Respiratory Therapy will meet to
review public comments and make recommendations to
the board regarding the regulatory review of 18 VAC 85-
40-10 et seq., Regulations Governing the Practice of
Respiratory Therapy Practitioners, and such other
issues which may be presented.  The advisory board will
entertain public comments during the first 15 minutes on
agenda items.

Contact:  Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, Department of Health Professions, 6606
W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9943 or (804)
662-7197/TTY (

† September 11, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

The Advisory Board on Physical Therapy will meet to
review public comments and make recommendations to
the board regarding the regulatory review of 18 VAC 85-
31-10 et seq., Regulations Governing the Practice of
Physical Therapy, and such other issues which may be
presented.  The advisory board will entertain public
comments during the first 15 minutes on agenda items.

Contact:  Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, Department of Health Professions, 6606
W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9943 or (804)
662-7197/TTY (

† September 11, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

The Advisory Committee on Physician Assistants will
meet to review public comments and make
recommendations to the board regarding the regulatory
review of 18 VAC 85-50-10 et seq., Regulations
Governing the Practice of Physician Assistants, and
such other issues which may be presented.  The
committee will entertain public comments during the first
15 minutes on agenda items.
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Contact:  Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, Department of Health Professions, 6606
W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9943 or (804)
662-7197/TTY (

Informal Conference Committee

August 6, 1998 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Patrick Henry Hotel, 617 South Jefferson Street, Roanoke,
Virginia.

August 19, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Sheraton Inn, 2801 Plank Road, Fredericksburg, Virginia.

† August 21, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Fort Magruder Inn Conference Center, Route 60,
Williamsburg, Virginia.

September 3, 1998 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Roanoke Airport Marriott, 2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke,
Virginia.

A meeting to inquire into allegations that certain
practitioners may have violated laws and regulations
governing the practice of medicine and other healing
arts in Virginia.  The committee will meet in open and
closed sessions pursuant to § 2.1-344 A 7 and A 15 of
the Code of Virginia.  Public comment will not be
received.

Contact:  Karen W. Perrine, Deputy Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond,
VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-7693, FAX (804) 662-
9517 or (804) 662-7197/TTY (

DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL
RETARDATION AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE

SERVICES

August 25, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Public Hearing
James Madison Building, 109 Governor Street, 5th Floor
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the
deaf provided upon request)

A public hearing to receive comments on the Virginia
Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment and
Community Mental Health Services Block Grant
Applications for Federal Fiscal Year 1999.  Copies of
these applications are available for review at the Office
of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services, on the
12th Floor of the James Madison Building, and at each
community services board office.  Comments may be
made at the hearing or in writing no later than August
25, 1998, to the Office of the Commissioner,
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and
Substance Abuse Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond,
VA 23218.  Any person wishing to make a presentation
at the hearing may call Sterling Deal.  Copies of oral
presentations should be filed at the time of the hearing.

Contact:  Sterling G. Deal, Ph.D., Resource Analyst,
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and
Substance Abuse Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA
23218, telephone (804) 371-2148, FAX (804) 371-0091 or
(804) 371-8977/TTY (

STATE MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL RETARDATION
AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE SERVICES BOARD

† October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted
until  5 p.m. on this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Mental Health,
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services
Board intends to repeal regulations entitled:  12 VAC 35-
140-10 et seq.  Mandatory Standards for Community
Mental Health Program. The Department of Mental
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse
Services proposes to repeal this regulation, which
established administrative and clinical standards for
community mental health programs.  This regulation
was superseded by 12 VAC 35-102-10 et seq., Rules
and Regulations for the Licensure of Facilities and
Providers of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and
Substance Abuse Services, which became effective
January 13, 1995.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 37.1-10, 37.1-179.1 and 37.1-199 of
the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Marion Greenfield, Policy Analyst, Department of
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse
Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797,
telephone (804) 786-6431.

* * * * * * * *

† October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted
until 5 p.m. on this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Mental Health,
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services
Board intends to repeal regulations entitled:  12 VAC 35-
150-10 et seq.  Mandatory Standards for Community
Mental Retardation Programs. The Department of
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse
Services proposes to repeal this regulation, which
established administrative and clinical standards for
community mental retardation programs.  This
regulation was superseded by 12 VAC 35-102-10 et
seq., Rules and Regulations for the Licensure of
Facilities and Providers of Mental Health, Mental
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, which
became effective January 13, 1995.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 37.1-10, 37.1-179.1 and 37.1-199 of
the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Marion Greenfield, Policy Analyst, Department of
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse
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Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797,
telephone (804) 786-6431.

* * * * * * * *

† October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted
until 5 p.m. on this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Mental Health,
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services
Board intends to repeal regulations entitled:  12 VAC 35-
160-10 et seq.  Mandatory Standards for Community
Substance Abuse Programs. The Department of
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse
Services proposes to repeal this regulation, which
established administrative and clinical standards for
community substance abuse programs.  This regulation
was superseded by 12 VAC 35-102-10 et seq., Rules
and Regulations for the Licensure of Facilities and
Providers of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and
Substance Abuse Services, which became effective
January 13, 1995.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 37.1-10, 37.1-179.1 and 37.1-199 of
the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Marion Greenfield, Policy Analyst, Department of
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse
Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797,
telephone (804) 786-6431.

VIRGINIA MILITARY INSTITUTE

August 29, 1998 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Military Institute, Preston Library, Turman Room,
Lexington, Virginia.

A meeting of the Board of Visitors to elect a president,
vice presidents and secretary, and to hear committee
reports.  The board will provide an opportunity for public
comment immediately after the superintendent’s
comments, beginning at approximately 9 a.m.

Contact: Colonel Edwin L. Dooley, Jr., Secretary to the
Board, Virginia Military Institute, Superintendent’s Office,
Lexington, VA 24450, telephone (540) 464-7206 or (540)
464-7660/TTY (

STATE MILK COMMISSION

† September 23, 1998 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Forestry, Natural Resources Drive, 2nd Floor
Board Room, Charlottesville, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the
deaf provided upon request)

A regular meeting to discuss industry issues, distributor
licensing, Virginia base transfers, Virginia baseholding
license amendments, regulations, and fiscal matters and
to review reports from the staff of the Milk Commission.
The commission may consider other matters pertaining

to its responsibilities.  Any persons who require
accommodations in order to participate in the meeting
should contact Edward C. Wilson, Jr., at least five days
prior to the meeting date so that suitable arrangements
can be made.

Contact:  Edward C. Wilson, Jr., Deputy Administrator,
State Milk Commission, 200 N. 9th St., Suite 915,
Richmond, VA 23219-3414, telephone (804) 786-2013 or
(804) 786-2013/TTY (

VIRGINIA MUSEUM OF NATURAL HISTORY

August 8, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Sheraton Four Points Hotel, 900 Prices Fork Road,
Blacksburg, Virginia.

A meeting of the Board of Trustees to include reports
from the development, executive, finance, legislative,
marketing, nominating, outreach, personnel, planning
and facilities, and research and collections committees.
Public comment will be received following approval of
the minutes of the April meeting.

Contact:  Rhonda J. Knighton, Executive Assistant, Virginia
Museum of Natural History, 1001 Douglas Ave., Martinsville,
VA 24112, telephone (540) 666-8600 or (540) 666-0360, or
(540) 666-8638/TTY (

BOARD OF NURSING

† August 10, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
† August 11, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
† August 13, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
† August 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
† August 18, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A Special Conference Committee, comprised of two or
three members of the Board of Nursing, will conduct
informal conferences with licensees and certificate
holders.  Public comment will not be received.

Contact:  Nancy K. Durrett, R.N., Executive Director, Board
of Nursing, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9909, FAX (804) 662-9943
or (804) 662-7197/TTY (

* * * * * * * *

August 12, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.

September 18, 1998 -- Public comments may be submitted
until this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Nursing intends
to amend regulations entitled: 18 VAC 90-20-10 et seq.
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Regulations of the Board of Nursing.  Amendments
are proposed pursuant to Executive Order 15 (94),
which called for agencies to simplify and clarify
regulations and eliminate unnecessary requirements.
Amendments also include: (i) requirements for nurses to
wear identification indicating their name and type of
licensure; (ii) establishment of a standard protocol for
persons with prescriptive authority to operate adult
vaccine clinics; and (iii) an increase in the renewal fee
for certified nurse aides in order to operate the
investigative and disciplinary functions related to that
program.

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-
3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Nancy K. Durrett, R.N., Executive Director, Board
of Nursing, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9909 or FAX (804) 662-
9943.

BOARDS OF NURSING AND MEDICINE

September 9, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 1, Richmond, Virginia.

September 18, 1998 -- Public comments may be submitted
until this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Boards of Nursing and
Medicine intend to amend regulations entitled: 18 VAC
90-30-10 et seq.  Regulations Governing the
Licensure of Nurse Practitioners.  The proposed
amendments are the board’s response to the review of
regulations pursuant to Executive Order 15 (94).  The
proposed amendments clarify several definitions, add a
requirement for guidelines on “availability” in the
protocol between the nurse practitioner and supervising
physician, and eliminate the process for board approval
of a nurse practitioner education program.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957 of the
Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Nancy K. Durrett, R.N., Executive Director, Board
of Nursing, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9909 or FAX (804) 662-
9943.

BOARD OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

August 5, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 1, Richmond, Virginia.

September 18, 1998 -- Public comments may be submitted
until this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Nursing Home

Administrators intends to amend regulations entitled:
18 VAC 95-20-10 et seq.  Regulations of the Board of
Nursing Home Administrators. Pursuant to Executive
Order 15 (94) to clarify, simplify and reduce the number
of regulations, less restrictive requirements are
proposed for the definition of “full-time employment,” for
notification of a change of address, and for continuing
education.  Amendments also clarify application,
licensure, and preceptorship requirements.

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 31 (§ 54.1-
3100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Elizabeth Young Tisdale, Executive Director,
Board of Nursing Home Administrators, 6606 W. Broad St.,
4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-
9111 or FAX (804) 662-9943.

BOARD FOR OPTICIANS

August 14, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

An open meeting to discuss regulatory review,
disciplinary cases and other matters requiring board
action.  All meetings are subject to cancellation or
change.  Call the board office 24 hours in advance of the
meeting to confirm date and time.  A public comment
period will be held at the beginning of the meeting.
Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and
requiring special accommodations or interpretive
services should contact the board at least 10 days prior
to the meeting so that suitable arrangements can be
made for an appropriate accommodation.  The
department fully complies with the Americans with
Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Nancy Taylor Feldman, Assistant Director,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804)
367-8590, FAX (804) 367-2474 or (804) 367-9753/TTY(

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY

September 16, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 3, Richmond, Virginia.

September 18, 1998 -- Public comments may be submitted
until this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Optometry
intends to amend regulations entitled: 18 VAC 105-20-
10 et seq.  Regulations of the Virginia Board of
Optometry.  Amendments are proposed pursuant to
Executive Order 15 (94), which called agencies to
simplify and clarify regulations and eliminate
unnecessary requirements.  Proposed amendments
provide for a listing of approved providers of continuing
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education courses and eliminate the burden and
expense of submitting for board approval all of the
materials for each course offered.

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 32 (§ 54.1-
3200 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Elizabeth Carter, Executive Director, Board of
Optometry, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9910 or FAX (804) 662-
9943.

BOARD OF PHARMACY

† August 18, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy
intends to amend regulations entitled:  18 VAC 110-20-
10 et seq.  Virginia Board of Pharmacy Regulations.
Amendments are proposed pursuant to Executive Order
15 (94) to clarify and simplify the regulations and to
conform them to current pharmacy practice.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-3307 and 54.1-3312
of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Elizabeth Scott Russell, Executive Director, Board
of Pharmacy, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9911 or FAX (804) 662-
9943.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE

August 21, 1998 -- Public comments may be submitted
through this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Department of State
Police intends to amend regulations entitled:  19 VAC
30-70-1 et seq.  Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection
Rules and Regulations.  The purpose of the proposed
action is to amend existing administrative regulations
governing vehicle inspections to comply with mandates
of the amended sections of the Code of Federal
Regulations and the Code of Virginia.

Statutory Authority:  § 46.2-1165 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Captain W. Steven Flaherty, Safety Officer,
Department of State Police, P.O. Box 27472, Richmond, VA
23261, telephone (804) 378-3479, FAX (804) 378-3487 or
toll-free 1-800-553-3144.

BOARD FOR PROFESSIONAL AND
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION

August 3, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Fairfax County Government Center, 12000 Government
Center Parkway, Conference Rooms 4 and 5, Fairfax,
Virginia.

A public hearing in connection with the board’s study of
the need to regulate electrologists.  The study is the
result of House Joint Resolution 204 and Senate Joint
Resolution 128 of the 1998 Session of the Virginia
General Assembly. Persons desiring to participate in the
meeting and requiring special accommodations or
interpretive services should contact the board at least 10
days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements
can be made for an appropriate accommodation.  The
department fully complies with the Americans with
Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Debra L. Vought, Agency Management Analyst,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804)
367-8519 or (804) 367-9753/TTY(

August 3, 1998 - 1:30 p.m. -- Public Hearing
Fairfax County Government Center, 12000 Government
Center Parkway, Conference Rooms 4 and 5, Fairfax,
Virginia.

A public hearing in connection with the board’s study of
the need to regulate cemeteries.  The study is the result
of House Bill 1077 and Senate Bill 700 of the 1998
Session of the Virginia General Assembly. Persons
desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring
special accommodations or interpretive services should
contact the board at least 10 days prior to the meeting
so that suitable arrangements can be made for an
appropriate accommodation.  The department fully
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Debra L. Vought, Agency Management Analyst,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804)
367-8519 or (804) 367-9753/TTY(

September 14, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.

A general business meeting.

Contact:  Debra S. Vought, Agency Analyst, Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8519 or
(804) 367-9753/TTY (
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BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL
COUNSELORS, MARRIAGE AND FAMILY
THERAPISTS AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE

TREATMENT PROFESSIONALS

† August 3, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
James City County Library, 7770 Croaker Road, Meeting
Room 1, Williamsburg, Virginia.

A meeting to adopt final regulations to replace the
current emergency regulations governing the
certification of rehabilitation providers. Text being
adopted is identical to the existing emergency
regulations.

Contact:  Janet Delorme, Deputy Executive Director, Board
of Licensed Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family
Therapists and Substance Abuse Treatment Professionals,
6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230,
telephone (804) 662-9575, FAX (804) 662-9943 or (804)
662-7197/TTY (

August 14, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 1, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to (i) conduct general board business, (ii)
consider committee reports, (iii) discuss correspondence
and any other matters under the jurisdiction of the
board, including regulatory review.

Contact:  Evelyn Brown, Executive Director, or Joyce
Williams, Administrative Assistant, Board of Licensed
Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists
and Substance Abuse Treatment Professionals, 6606 W.
Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804)
662-9912 or FAX (804) 662-9943.

VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION

August 19, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Administrative Building, 12007 Courthouse Circle, New Kent,
Virginia.

A monthly meeting to include a report from Colonial
Downs concerning the forthcoming thoroughbred race
meeting.

Contact:  William H. Anderson, Policy Analyst, Virginia
Racing Commission, 10700 Horsemen’s Dr., New Kent, VA
23124, telephone (804) 966-4200 or FAX (804) 966-8906.

REAL ESTATE BOARD

August 13, 1998 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

A general business meeting of the Real Estate
Education Committee.  Persons desiring to participate in
the meeting and requiring special accommodations or

interpreter services should contact the board at least two
weeks prior to the meeting.  The department fully
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Karen W. O’Neal, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX
(804) 367-2475, or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

August 13, 1998 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

A general business meeting of the Fair Housing
Committee.  Persons desiring to participate in the
meeting and requiring special accommodations or
interpreter services should contact the board at least two
weeks prior to the meeting.  The department fully
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Karen W. O’Neal, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX
(804) 367-2475, or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

August 13, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.

A general business meeting. Persons desiring to
participate in the meeting and requiring special
accommodations or interpreter services should contact
the board at least two weeks prior to the meeting.  The
department fully complies with the Americans with
Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Karen W. O’Neal, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8526, FAX
(804) 367-2475, or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

Common Interest Community Management
Information Fund Advisory Committee

† August 14, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to develop recommendations for the Real
Estate Board on uses of moneys collected pursuant to
the Common Interest Community Management
Information Fund for the benefit of common interest
communities and their members.

Contact:  Emily O. Wingfield, Property Registration
Administrator, Department of Professional and Occupational
Regulation, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230,
telephone (804) 367-8510 or (804) 367-9753/TTY (
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RECYCLING MARKETS DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL

August 11, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Central Virginia Waste Management Authority, 2104 West
Laburnum Avenue, Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A brainstorming session.  Call Paddy Katzen for details.

Contact:  Paddy Katzen, Special Assistant to the Secretary
of Natural Resources, Department of Environmental Quality,
629 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-
4488, FAX (804) 698-4453 or e-mail
pmkatzen@deq.state.va.us

STATE REHABILITATION ADVISORY COUNCIL

August 10, 1998 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms
Drive, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular business meeting.

Contact:  Kay Magill, SRAC Liaison, Department of
Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Dr., Richmond,
VA 23288, telephone (804) 662-7527, FAX (804) 662-7696,
toll-free 1-800-552-5019/TTY (  and Voice, or (804) 464-
9950/TTY (

VIRGINIA RESOURCES AUTHORITY

August 11, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
The Martha Washington Inn, 150 West Main Street,
Abingdon, Virginia.

A meeting to approve minutes of the prior meeting, to
review the authority’s operations for the prior month, and
to consider other matters and take other actions as the
authority may deem appropriate.  The planned agenda
of the meeting will be available at the offices of the
authority one week prior to the date of the meeting.
Public comments will be received at the beginning of the
meeting.

Contact:  Shockley D. Gardner, Jr., Executive Director,
Virginia Resources Authority, P.O. Box 1300, Richmond, VA
23218, telephone (804) 644-3100 or FAX (804) 644-3109.

VIRGINIA RETIREMENT SYSTEM

August 20, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Retirement System, 1200 East Main Street,
Richmond, Virginia.

A regular meeting.  No public comment will be received.

Contact:  Darla Kestner, Administrative Staff Assistant,
Virginia Retirement System, P.O. Box 2500, Richmond, VA
23218-2500, telephone (804) 649-8059, FAX (804) 371-
0613, toll-free 1-888-827-3847, or (804) 649-5089/TTY (

September 10, 1998 - Noon -- Open Meeting
Virginia Retirement System, 1200 East Main Street,
Richmond, Virginia.

A regular meeting of the Investment Advisory
Committee.  There may be in attendance at any time
during the meeting three or more members of the Board
of Trustees, or any of their subcommittees.  No public
comment will be received.

Contact:  Darla Kestner, Administrative Staff Assistant,
Virginia Retirement System, P.O. Box 2500, Richmond, VA
23218-2500, telephone (804) 649-8059, FAX (804) 371-
0613, toll-free 1-888-827-3847, or (804) 649-5089/TTY (

SEWAGE COLLECTION AND TREATMENT
REGULATIONS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

† August 18, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Henrico County Government Complex, 8600 Dixon Powers
Drive, Human Services Building, Board Room, Richmond,
Virginia.

A meeting to discuss possible modifications to proposed
SCAT regulations including technical evaluation and
permitting of nonpoint source sewage treatment systems
and subsurface disposal systems.

Contact:  Asif K. Malik, Chief of Technical Services,
Department of Health, 1500 E. Main St., Room 109,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1752 or FAX
(804) 786-5567.

SEWAGE HANDLING AND DISPOSAL APPEAL
REVIEW BOARD

† August 19, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate
Room A, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to hear appeals of health department denials
of septic tank permits.

Contact:  Gary L. Hagy, Acting Secretary, Sewage Handling
and Disposal Appeal Review Board, Department of Health,
P.O. Box 2448, Room 115, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone
(804) 225-4022 or FAX (804) 225-4003.

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES

August 7, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social
Services intends to amend regulations entitled: 22 VAC
40-35-5 et seq.  Virginia Independence Program.  The
purpose of the proposed amendment is to amend the
Virginia Independence Program by adding the Targeted
Jobs Grant Program.  This program provides employers
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with grants of up to $1,000 per employee when they hire
and retain individuals who have been receiving
Temporary Assistance to Needy Families.

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.1-25 and 63.1-25.3 of the Code of
Virginia

Contact:  David E. Olds, Employment Services Program
Manager, Department of Social Services, 730 E. Broad St.,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-2251 or FAX
(804) 692-1709.

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK

† September 11, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 3, Richmond, Virginia.

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted
through this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Social Work
intends to amend regulations entitled:  18 VAC 140-20-
10 et seq.  Regulations Governing the Practice of
Social Work.  The purpose of the proposed amendment
is to clarify and reformat the regulations and include an
endorsement provision to expedite licensure of
applicants with lengthy experience licensed in other
jurisdictions and to comply with a statutory mandate
enacted by the 1994 General Assembly by endorsing
regulations promulgated by the Board of Psychology for
voluntary certification of licensees as sex offender
treatment providers.

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 37 (§ 54.1-
3700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Janet Delorme, Deputy Executive Director, Board
of Licensed Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family
Therapists and Substance Abuse Treatment Professionals,
6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230,
telephone (804) 662-9575, FAX (804) 662-9943 or (804)
662-7197/TTY (

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD

August 19, 1998 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street,
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A work session of the board and the Department of
Transportation staff.

Contact: Shirley J. Ybarra, Secretary of Transportation,
1401 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
786-6675.

August 20, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street,
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A monthly meeting of the board to vote on proposals
presented regarding bids, permits, additions and
deletions to the highway system, and any other matters
requiring board approval.  Public comment will be
received at the outset of the meeting on items on the
meeting agenda for which the opportunity for public
comment has not been afforded the public in another
forum.  Remarks will be limited to five minutes.  Large
groups are asked to select one individual to speak for
the group.  The board reserves the right to amend these
conditions.  Separate committee meetings may be held
on call of the chairman.  Contact Department of
Transportation Public Affairs at (804) 786-2715 for
schedule.

Contact: Shirley J. Ybarra, Secretary of Transportation,
1401 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
786-6675.

TRANSPORTATION SAFETY BOARD

September 9, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street,
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A meeting to review highway safety issues and federal
funding.

Contact:  Angelisa C. Jennings, Senior Management
Analyst, Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 W. Broad St.,
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-2026 or FAX
(804) 367-6031.

TREASURY BOARD

NOTE:  CHANGE IN MEETING DATE
August 26, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, Treasury
Board Room, 3rd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

A regular business meeting.

Contact:  Gloria J. Hatchel, Administrative Assistant,
Department of the Treasury, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N.
14th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6011.

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE

† August 11, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to consider ratification of consent orders,
consider requests for reinstatements and waivers of the



Calendar of Events

Virginia Register of Regulations

3708

national board examination and clinical competency
test, discuss correspondence received and general
board business, and conduct formal hearings.  Brief
public comments will be received at the beginning of the
meeting.

Contact:  Terri H. Behr, Administrative Assistant,
Department of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9915
or (804) 662-7197/TTY (

† August 12, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 3, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to conduct informal conferences.  Public
comment will not be received.

Contact:  Terri H. Behr, Administrative Assistant,
Department of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9915
or (804) 662-7197/TTY

* * * * * * * *

† September 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.

October 2, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Veterinary
Medicine intends to amend regulations entitled:  18 VAC
150-20-10 et seq.  Regulations Governing the
Practice of Veterinary Medicine.  Amendments are
proposed pursuant to Executive Order 15 (94) in order to
make regulations clearer, simpler, and less
burdensome.  The proposed amendments will
streamline requirements for veterinary facilities, clarify
the practice of surgery, allow continuing education
through journals or information networks, and specify
that continuing education must pertain to clinical areas
of practice.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400 and Chapter 38 (§ 54.1-
3800 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Elizabeth Carter, Ph.D., Executive Director, Board
of Veterinary Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor,
Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9915 or
FAX (804) 662-9943.

DEPARTMENT FOR THE VISUALLY HANDICAPPED

Vocational Rehabilitation Advisory Council

† September 26, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department for the Visually Handicapped, Administrative
Headquarters, 397 Azalea Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A quarterly meeting of the council to advise the
Department for the Visually Handicapped on matters
related to vocational rehabilitation services for the blind
and visually impaired citizens of the Commonwealth.

Contact:  James G. Taylor, Vocational Rehabilitation
Program Director, Department for the Visually Handicapped,
397 Azalea Ave., Richmond, VA 23227, telephone (804) 371-
3111, toll-free 1-800-622-2155, or (804) 371-3140/TTY (

VIRGINIA VOLUNTARY FORMULARY BOARD

† September 11, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Washington Building, 1100 Bank Street, 2nd Floor, Board
Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A public hearing to consider the proposed adoption and
issuance of revisions to the Virginia Voluntary
Formulary.  The proposed revisions to the formulary add
drugs and drug products to the formulary that became
effective January 15, 1996, and its most recent
supplement.  Copies of the proposed revisions to the
formulary are available for inspection at the Department
of Health, Bureau of Pharmacy Services, Monroe
Building, 101 North 14th Street, Room S-45, Richmond,
VA 23218.  Written comments sent to the above
address and received prior to 5 p.m. on September 11,
1998, will be made a part of the hearing record.

Contact:  James K. Thomson, Director, Bureau of Pharmacy
Services, Virginia Voluntary Formulary, James Monroe
Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., Room S-45, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 786-4326 or FAX (804) 371-0236.

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD

August 10, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street,
Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to discuss the proposed establishment of
requirements to govern the use of mediation and
alternative dispute resolution in regulation development
and permit issuance.

Contact:  Dr. Kathleen Sands, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone
(804) 698-4413.
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BOARD FOR WASTE MANAGEMENT FACILITY
OPERATORS

† August 25, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Conference Room 5 East,
Richmond, Virginia.

† August 26, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Conference Room 4 East,
Richmond, Virginia.

The board and invited subject matter experts will meet to
conduct an exam workshop.  A public comment period
will be held at the beginning of the workshop.  After the
public comment period, the workshop will be conducted
in closed executive session under authority of § 2.1-344
A 11 of the Code of Virginia due to the confidential
nature of the examination.

Contact:  Sharon M. Sweet, Examination Director,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone
(804) 367-8572, FAX (804) 367-2474 or (804) 367-9753/TTY
(

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

August 5, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Public Hearing
Town Hall, 510 7th Street, Council Chambers, Altavista,
Virginia.

September 4, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted
until this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control
Board intends to amend regulations entitled:  9 VAC 25-
430-10 et seq.  Roanoke River Basin Water Quality
Management Plan.  The purpose of the proposed
action is to amend the plan to change the wasteload
allocations for selected VPDES permitted discharges.

The Department of Environmental Quality invites
comments on this intended amendment to the Roanoke
River Basin Water Quality Management Plan, including
any alternatives. Copies of the draft proposed regulation
may be obtained by contacting the Department of
Environmental Quality.  To obtain a copy and for further
information, please contact Jon van Soestbergen at the
address and telephone number below.

The Department of Environmental Quality invites
comments on costs and benefits of this intended
amendment to the Roanoke River Basin Water Quality
Management Plan.  Comments may be submitted to Jon
van Soestbergen at the address below.

The proposed regulatory amendments will affect the
following communities:  Town of Clarksville, Town of
Boydton, Mecklenburg County.

The Department of Environmental Quality analyzed
different alternatives in preparing this proposed
regulatory amendment.  Additional information regarding
these analyses is available from Jon van Soestbergen at
the address below.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 62.1-44.15 (10) and 62.1-44.15 (13)
of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Jon van Soestbergen, P.E., Department of
Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A
Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060-6296, telephone (804) 527-
5043.

* * * * * * * *

August 5, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Public Hearing
Town Hall, 510 7th Street, Council Chambers, Altavista,
Virginia.

September 4, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted
until this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control
Board intends to amend regulations entitled:  9 VAC 25-
440-10 et seq.  Upper Roanoke River Subarea Water
Quality Management Plan.  The purpose of the
proposed action is to change the wasteload allocation
for two segments of the Roanoke River.

The Department of Environmental Quality invites
comments on this intended amendment to the Upper
Roanoke River Subarea Water Quality Management
Plan, including any alternatives. Copies of the draft
proposed regulation may be obtained by contacting
Dr. Michael J. Scanlan at the address and telephone
number below.

The Department of Environmental Quality invites
comments on costs and benefits of this intended
amendment to the Upper Roanoke River Subarea Water
Quality Management Plan.  Comments may be
submitted to Dr. Michael J. Scanlan at the address
below.

The proposed regulatory amendments will affect the
communities of Altavista, in Campbell County and
communities served by the Roanoke Regional Water
Pollution Control Plan in Roanoke, Virginia (Botetourt
County, Roanoke County, Town of Vinton and the cities
of Roanoke and Salem).

The Department of Environmental Quality analyzed
different alternatives in preparing this proposed
regulatory amendment.  Additional information regarding
these analyses is available from Dr. Michael J. Scanlan
at the address below.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 62.1-44.15 (10) and 62.1-44.15 (13)
of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Dr. Michael J. Scanlan, Department of
Environmental Quality, West Central Regional Office, 3019
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Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, VA 24019, telephone (540)
562-6723.

August 10, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street,
Training Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to discuss the proposed establishment of
requirements to govern the use of mediation and
alternative dispute resolution in regulation development
and permit issuance.

Contact:  Dr. Kathleen Sands, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone
(804) 698-4413.

September 9, 1998 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting
September 10, 1998 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia War Memorial, 621 South Belvidere Street,
Auditorium, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to receive comments from the public on
whether the board should propose amendments
regarding the numerical criteria for metals, mixing zones
to provide specific protection to endangered and
threatened species, the listing of endangered species
and application of the antidegradation policy to all state
activities.

Contact:  Elleanore Daub, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone
(804) 698-4111.

LEGISLATIVE

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW ADVISORY COMMITTEE

† August 5, 1997 - Noon -- Open Meeting
State Capitol, Capitol Square, House Room 2, Richmond,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to review ongoing work to develop a reference
manual for hearing officers and administrative law
judges.

Contact: Lyn Hammond Coughlin, Program Coordinator,
Administrative Law Advisory Committee, General Assembly
Bldg., 910 Capitol Square, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone
(804) 786-3591 or FAX (804) 692-0625.

† August 13, 1997 - Noon -- Open Meeting
State Capitol, Capitol Square, House Room 1, Richmond,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting of the Value Workgroup of the Regulatory
Process Subcommittee to review work and to discuss an
upcoming public hearing.

Contact: Lyn Hammond Coughlin, Program Coordinator,
Administrative Law Advisory Committee, General Assembly
Bldg., 910 Capitol Square, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone
(804) 786-3591 or FAX (804) 692-0625.

JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE STUDYING A
MANDATORY BOATING SAFETY EDUCATION

COURSE IN VIRGINIA (HJR 174, 1998)

† August 13, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, 4th Floor
West Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

A regular meeting.  Questions regarding the meeting
should be addressed to Martin Farber, Division of
Legislative Services, (804) 786-3591.  Individuals
requiring interpreter services or other special assistance
should contact the Committee Operations Office at least
10 working days prior to the meeting.

Contact:  Kathleen Myers, House Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
1547 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

COMMISSION ON THE CONDITION AND FUTURE
OF VIRGINIA’S CITIES (HJR 432, 1998)

† September 16, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, 777 Waterside Drive,
Norfolk, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

† October 6, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Roanoke Conference Center, 110 Shenandoah Avenue,
Roanoke, Virginia.

† October 13, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Omni Hotel, Charlottesville, Virginia.

A regular meeting.  Questions regarding the meeting
should be addressed to Jeff Sharp or Nikki Beyer,
Division of Legislative Services, (804) 786-3591.
Individuals requiring interpreter services or other special
assistance should contact the Committee Operations
Office at least 10 working days prior to the meeting.

Contact:  Barbara Regen, House Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION

September 16, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Street, Speaker’s
Conference Room, 6th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to continue with the recodification of Titles 2.1
and 9 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Jane Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations, General
Assembly Bldg., 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond,
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3591, FAX (804) 692-0625
or e-mail jchaffin@leg.state.va.us.
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COMMISSION ON COORDINATION OF SERVICES
TO FACILITATE SELF-SUFFICIENCY AND

SUPPORT OF PERSONS WITH PHYSICAL AND
SENSORY DISABILITIES (HJR 274)

September 15, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, House
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting.  Questions regarding the meeting
should be addressed to Brian Parsons or Barbara Ettner
at the Virginia Board for People with Disabilities, (804)
786-0016.  Individuals requiring interpreter services or
other special assistance should contact the Committee
Operations Office at least 10 working days prior to the
meeting.

Contact:  Barbara Regen, House Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

HOUSE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION AND
SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION AND

HEALTH

August 24, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
August 25, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Graves Mountain Lodge, Syria, Virginia.

The House Committee on Education, the Senate
Committee on Education and Health, and the State
Board of Education will meet jointly in a retreat setting.
The agenda will center around dialogue between the
participating groups and presentations of the latest
developments in education-related computer software by
technology providers. Questions regarding the meeting
should be addressed to Kathy Harris or Brenda
Edwards, Division of Legislative Services, (804) 786-
3591.  Individuals requiring interpreter services or other
special assistance should contact Committee
Operations at least 10 working days prior to the
meeting.

Contact:  Barbara Regen, House Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

EDUCATION AND HEALTH SUBCOMMITTEE
STUDING ALTERNATIVE CONTINUING

CONTRACTS FOR TEACHERS AND
ADMINISTRATORS (SB 122, 1998)

† September 15, 1998 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate
Room B, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting.  Questions regarding the meeting
should be addressed to Norma Szakal, Division of
Legislative Services, (804) 786-3591.  Individuals

requiring interpreter services or other accommodations
should call or write Senate Committee Operations at
least 10 working days prior to the meeting.

Contact:  Patricia J. Lung, Senate Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 396, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
7450 or (804) 698-7419/TTY (

JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE EXAMINING ELECTRIC
UTILITY RESTRUCTURING IN THE
COMMONWEALTH (SJR 91, 1998)

† August 12, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
State Capitol, Capitol Square, House Room 4, Richmond,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting of the Task Force on Structure and
Transition.

Contact:  Thomas C. Gilman, Senate Committee
Operations, P.O. Box 396, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone
(804) 698-7450 or (804) 698-7419/TTY (

August 18, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, Senate
Room B, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting.  Questions regarding the meeting
should be addressed to Arlen K. Bolstad or Rob
Omberg, Division of Legislative Services, (804) 786-
3591.  Individuals requiring interpreter services or other
accommodations should call or write Thomas C. Gilman
seven working days before the meeting.

Contact:  Thomas C. Gilman, Senate Committee
Operations, P.O. Box 396, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone
(804) 698-7450 or (804) 698-7419/TTY (

† August 18, 1998 -  2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate
Room B, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting of the Task Force on Consumer Environment
and Education Issues.  Questions regarding the meeting
should be addressed to Arlen K. Bolstad or Rob
Omberg, Division of Legislative Services, (804) 786-
3591.  Individuals requiring interpreter services or other
accommodations should call or write Thomas C. Gilman
seven working days before the meeting.

Contact:  Thomas C. Gilman, Senate Committee
Operations, P.O. Box 396, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone
(804) 698-7450 or (804) 698-7419/TTY (

HOUSE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE - SPECIAL
SUBCOMMITTEE ON SALES TAX EXEMPTIONS

† August 6, 1998 - 2:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, 4th Floor
West Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)
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A regular meeting.  Please call Joan Putney or
Stephanie L. Hamlett, Division of Legislative Services,
(804) 786-3591, with any questions regarding the
agenda. Individuals requiring interpreter services or
special assistance should contact Lois Johnson at least
10 working days before the meeting.

Contact:  Lois V. Johnson, Committee Operations, House of
Delegates, State Capitol, P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA
23218, telephone (804) 698-1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

HOUSE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE - SPECIAL
SUBCOMMITTEE EXAMINING THE SALES TAX ON

FOOD

† August 6, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, 4th Floor
West Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

A regular meeting.  Please call Stephanie L. Hamlett or
Joan Putney Division of Legislative Services, (804) 786-
3591, with any questions regarding the agenda.
Individuals requiring interpreter services or special
assistance should contact Lois Johnson at least 10
working days before the meeting.

Contact:  Lois V. Johnson, Committee Operations, House of
Delegates, State Capitol, P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA
23218, telephone (804) 698-1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

COMMISSION ON ACCESS AND DIVERSITY IN
HIGHER EDUCATION IN VIRGINIA (HJR 226, 1998)

August 28, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Square, House
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting.  Please call Brenda Edwards,
Division of Legislative Services, (804) 786-3591, with
any questions regarding the agenda. Individuals
requiring interpreter services or special assistance
should contact Dawn Smith.

Contact:  Dawn B. Smith, Committee Operations, House of
Delegates, State Capitol, P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA
23218, telephone (804) 698-1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

INTERSTATE ROUTE 73 COMMUNICATIONS
COMMITTEE (HJR 153, 1998)

October 8, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Henry County Administration Building, Kings Mountain Road,
Board Room, Martinsville, Virginia.

A regular meeting. Questions regarding the meeting
should be addressed to Alan Wambold, Division of
Legislative Services, (804) 786-3591.  Individuals
requiring interpreter services or other special assistance

should contact the Committee Operations at least 10
working days prior to the meeting.

Contact:  Barbara Regen, House Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

CHRONOLOGICAL LIST

OPEN MEETINGS

August 3
† Medical Assistance Services, Department of

- Pharmacy Liaison Committee
† Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family

Therapists and Substance Abuse Treatment
Professionals, Board of Licensed

August 4
† Conservation and Recreation, Department of

- Board on Conservation and Development of Public
Beaches

† Contractors, Board for
- Disciplinary Board

† Economic Development Partnership, Virginia
- Motion Picture Development Committee
- Personnel Committee

Hopewell Industrial Safety Council

August 5
† Administrative Law Advisory Committee
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors,

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects,
Board for
- Architect Section

Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing, Virginia Department for the
Labor and Industry, Department of

- Apprenticeship Council

August 6
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of

- Virginia Soybean Board
† At-Risk Youth and Their Families, Comprehensive

Services for
- State Management Team

Health, State Board of
Medicine, Board of

- Informal Conference Committee
† Sales Tax Exemptions, House Committee on Finance

Special Subcommittee on
† Sales Tax on Food, House Committee on Finance

Special Subcommittee Examining the

August 7
Health, State Board of
Medicine, Board of

- Executive Committee

August 8
Medicine, Board of

- Credentials Committee
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Museum of Natural History, Virginia
- Board of Trustees

August 10
Air Pollution Control Board, State
† Game and Inland Fisheries, Department of
† Nursing, Board of
Rehabilitation Advisory Council, State
Waste Management Board, Virginia
Water Control Board, State

August 11
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of

- Virginia Aquaculture Advisory Board
Corrections, Board of

- Correctional Services Committee
Environmental Quality, Department of
† Historic Preservation Foundation, Virginia
Information Management, Council on

- Land Records Management Task Force
Land Evaluation Advisory Council, State
† Nursing, Board of
Recycling Markets Development Council
Resources Authority, Virginia
† Veterinary Medicine, Board of

August 12
† Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of

- Virginia Egg Board
Corrections, Board of

- Administration Committee
† Electric Utility Restructuring in the Commonwealth,

Joint Subcommittee Examining
Funeral Directors and Embalmers, Board of
† Veterinary Medicine, Board of

August 13
† Administrative Law Advisory Committee
† Boating Safety Education Course in Virginia, Joint

Subcommittee Studying a Mandatory
† Nursing, Board of
Real Estate Board

- Fair Housing Committee
- Real Estate Education Committee

August 14
† Dentistry, Board of
Health Professions, Department of

- Health Practitioners’ Intervention Program
Committee

Information Management, Council on
- Geographic Information Network Advisory Board,
Virginia

Opticians, Board for
Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family

Therapists and Substance Abuse Treatment
Professionals, Board of Licensed

† Real Estate Board
- Common Interest Community Management
Information Fund Advisory Committee

August 17
General Services, Department of

- Design-Build/Construction Management Review
Board

† Higher Education in Virginia, State Council of
† Nursing, Board of

August 18
Electric Utility Industry Restructuring Within Virginia,

Joint Subcommittee Examining the Potential for
† Housing Development Authority, Virginia
† Nursing, Board of
† Sewage Collection and Treatment Regulations

Advisory Committee

August 19
† Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of

- Virginia Winegrowers Advisory Board
Medicine, Board of

- Informal Conference Committee
Racing Commission, Virginia
† Sewage Handling and Disposal Appeal Review Board
Transportation Board, Commonwealth

August 20
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors,

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects,
Board for
- Professional Engineer Section

† Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Fund Advisory
Board

Conservation and Recreation, Department of
† Contractors, Board for

- Tradesman Program
Game and Inland Fisheries, Board of
Retirement System, Virginia
Transportation Board, Commonwealth

August 21
Game and Inland Fisheries, Board of
† Housing and Community Development, Department of

- State Building Code Technical Review Board
† Medicine, Board of

- Informal Conference Committee

August 24
† Agricultural Council, Virginia
Education, House Committee on

August 25
† Agricultural Council, Virginia
Asbestos and Lead, Virginia Board for
Education, House Committee on
Marine Resources Commission
† Waste Management Facility Operators, Board for

August 26
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors,

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects,
Board for
- Land Surveyor Section

Treasury Board
† Waste Management Facility Operators, Board for

August 27
† Compensation Board
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August 28
Higher Education in Virginia, Commission on Access

and Diversity in
Local Government, Commission on

August 29
Military Institute, Virginia

- Board of Visitors

September 1
Hopewell Industrial Safety Council

September 2
Assistive Technology, Virginia Council on

September 3
Emergency Planning Committee, Local - Chesterfield

County
Medicine, Board of

- Informal Conference Committee

September 9
† Interagency Coordinating Council, Virginia
† Medicine, Board of

- Advisory Committee on Acupuncturists
- Advisory Committee on Radiologic Technologists

Transportation Safety Board
Water Control Board, State

September 10
† Medicine, Board of

- Advisory Board on Occupational Therapy
- Advisory Board on Respiratory Therapy

Retirement System, Virginia
- Investment Advisory Committee

Water Control Board, State

September 11
† Medicine, Board of

- Advisory Board on Physical Therapy
- Advisory Committee on Physician Assistants

September 14
† Cosmetology, Board for
Professional and Occupational Regulation, Board for

September 15
Disabilities, Commission on Coordination of Services to

Facilitate Self-Sufficiency and Support of Persons with
Physical and Sensory

† Education and Health Subcommittee Studying
Alternative Continuing Contracts for Teachers and
Administrators

September 16
† Cities, Commission on the Condition and Future of

Virginia’s
Code Commission, Virginia

September 17
Labor and Industry, Department of

- Apprenticeship Council

September 22
Land Evaluation Advisory Council, State

Marine Resources Commission

September 23
† Criminal Justice Services Board and Committee on

Training
† Milk Commission, State

September 26
† Visually Handicapped, Department for the

- Vocational Rehabilitation Advisory Council

October 6
† Cities, Commission on the Condition and Future of

Virginia’s

October 8
Interstate Route 73 Communications Committee

October 13
† Cities, Commission on the Condition and Future of

Virginia’s

PUBLIC HEARINGS

August 3
Professional and Occupational Regulation, Board for

August 5
Nursing Home Administrators, Board of
Water Control Board, State

August 12
Nursing, Board of

August 18
† Contractors, Board for
† Pharmacy, Board of

August 20
† Contractors, Board for

August 25
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse

Services, Department of

August 28
Local Government, Commission on

August 31
† Labor and Industry, Department of

September 1
† Labor and Industry, Department of

September 2
† Labor and Industry, Department of

September 3
† Labor and Industry, Department of

September 9
Medicine, Board of
Nursing and Medicine, Boards of

September 10
Air Pollution Control Board, State
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September 11
† Social Work, Board of
† Voluntary Formulary Board, Virginia

September 14
Game and Inland Fisheries, Department of

September 15
Game and Inland Fisheries, Department of

September 16
Game and Inland Fisheries, Department of
Optometry, Board of

September 17
† Air Pollution Control Board, State
† Funeral Directors and Embalmers, Board of
Game and Inland Fisheries, Department of
† Veterinary Medicine, Board of

September 18
† Dentistry, Board of
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