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THE VIRGINIA REGISTER is an official state publication issued
every other week throughout the year.  Indexes are published quarterly,
and the last index of the year is cumulative.  THE VIRGINIA REGISTER
has several functions.  The new and amended sections of regulations,
both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law to be
published in THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS.  In
addition, THE VIRGINIA REGISTER is a source of other information
about state government, including all emergency regulations and
executive orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public
hearings and open meetings of state agencies.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF
REGULATIONS

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text
of the proposed regulation.

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60
days.  The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is
clearly written and easily understandable.  If the Governor chooses to
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the
completion of the 60-day public comment period.  The Governor’s
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register.  Not less
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation.

The appropriate standing committee of each branch of the General
Assembly may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process
and file an objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency.
The objection will be published in the Virginia Register.  Within 21 days
after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file
a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative committee, and
the Governor.

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since
publication of the proposal.  A 30-day final adoption period begins upon
final publication in the Virginia Register.

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if
he objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency.  In
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate standing
committees and the Governor.  The Governor’s objection or suspension
of the regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register.  If the
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional
30-day public comment period on the changes.  Notice of the additional
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the
Virginia Register.

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or
inconsequential impact.

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day extension

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation,
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation,
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period.

Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final.

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS
If an agency demonstrates that (i) there is an immediate threat to the

public’s health or safety; or (ii) Virginia statutory law, the appropriation
act, federal law, or federal regulation requires a regulation to take effect
no later than (a) 280 days from the enactment in the case of Virginia or
federal law or the appropriation act, or (b) 280 days from the effective
date of a federal regulation, it then requests the Governor’s approval to
adopt an emergency regulation.  The emergency regulation becomes
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations,
unless a later date is specified.  Emergency regulations are limited to
addressing specifically defined situations and may not exceed 12 months
in duration. Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in
the Register.

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual
procedures.  To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency
regulation; and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation.  If the agency
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when
the prescribed time limit expires.

STATEMENT
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures

to be followed.  For specific statutory language, it is suggested that
Article 2 (§ 9-6.14:7.1 et seq.) of Chapter 1.1:1 of the Code of Virginia be
examined carefully.

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and

date.  12:8 VA.R. 1096-1106 January 8, 1996, refers to Volume 12,
Issue 8, pages 1096 through 1106 of the Virginia Register issued on
January 8, 1996.

"THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS" (USPS-001831) is
published bi-weekly, with quarterly cumulative indices published in
January, April, July and October, for $100 per year by the Virginia Code
Commission, General Assembly Building, Capitol Square, Richmond,
Virginia 23219.  Telephone (804) 786-3591.  Periodical Postage Rates
Paid at Richmond, Virginia.  POSTMASTER:  Send address changes to
THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, 910 CAPITOL
STREET, 2ND FLOOR, RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23219.

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 7
(§ 9-6.14:22 et seq.) of Chapter 1.1:1 of Title 9 of the Code of Virginia.
Individual copies, if available, may be purchased for $4.00 each from the
Registrar of Regulations.

Members of the Virginia Code Commission:  Joseph V. Gartlan, Jr.,
Chairman; W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr., Vice Chairman; Robert L.
Calhoun; Bernard S. Cohen; Jay W. DeBoer; Frank S. Ferguson;
James E. Kulp; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Jackson E. Reasor, Jr.; James B.
Wilkinson.

Staff of the Virginia Register:  Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations.



PUBLICATION DEADLINES AND SCHEDULES
This schedule is available on the Register's Internet home page (http://legis.state.va.us/codecomm/register/regindex.htm).

Virginia Register of Regulations

November 1998 through September 1999

Volume:Issue
Material Submitted
By Noon* Will Be Published On

15:5 November 4, 1998 November 23, 1998

15:6 November 17, 1998 (Tuesday) December 7, 1998

15:7 December 2, 1998 December 21, 1998

INDEX 1 - Volume 15 January 1999

15:8 December 15, 1998 (Tuesday) January 4, 1999

15:9 December 29, 1998 (Tuesday) January 18, 1999

15:10 January 13, 1999 February 1, 1999

15:11 January 27, 1999 February 15, 1999

15:12 February 10, 1999 March 1, 1999

15:13 February 24, 1999 March 15, 1999

15:14 March 10, 1999 March 29, 1999

INDEX 2 - Volume 15 April 1999

15:15 March 24, 1999 April 12, 1999

15:16 April 7, 1999 April 26, 1999

15:17 April 21, 1999 May 10, 1999

15:18 May 5, 1999 May 24, 1999

15:19 May 19, 1999 June 7, 1999

15:20 June 2, 1999 June 21, 1999

INDEX 3 - Volume 15 July 1999

15:21 June 16, 1999 July 5, 1999

15:22 June 30, 1999 July 19, 1999

15:23 July 14, 1999 August 2, 1999

15:24 July 28, 1999 August 16, 1999

15:25 August 11, 1999 August 30, 1999

15:26 August 25, 1999 September 13, 1999

FINAL INDEX - Volume 15 October 1999

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified.
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The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended,
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the
Fall 1998 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 25, dated August
31, 1998).  Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation “emer,” and errata pertaining to final
regulations are listed.  Proposed regulations are not listed here.  The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows
action taken, the volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section.

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE

Title 1.  Administration
1 VAC 30-130-10 Amended 15:1 VA.R. 44

(4390)
9/15/98

Title 4.  Conservation and Natural Resources
4 VAC 20-260-30 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 320 10/1/98
4 VAC 20-260-40 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 320 10/1/98
4 VAC 20-720-40 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 321 10/1/98
4 VAC 20-720-50 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 321 10/1/98
4 VAC 20-720-60 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 321 10/1/98
4 VAC 20-720-70 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 322 10/1/98
4 VAC 20-720-80 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 322 10/1/98
4 VAC 20-720-90 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 322 10/1/98
4 VAC 25-35 (Forms) Amended 15:1 VA.R. 46

(4392)
--

4 VAC 25-150-10 Amended 15:2 VA.R. 135 11/11/98
4 VAC 25-150-50 Amended 15:2 VA.R. 138 11/11/98
4 VAC 25-150-60 Amended 15:2 VA.R. 138 11/11/98
4 VAC 25-150-70 Repealed 15:2 VA.R. 139 11/11/98
4 VAC 25-150-80 through
4 VAC 25-150-130

Amended 15:2 VA.R. 139-
143

11/11/98

4 VAC 25-150-135 Added 15:2 VA.R. 143 11/11/98
4 VAC 25-150-160 through
4 VAC 25-150-360

Amended 15:2 VA.R. 143-
156

11/11/98

4 VAC 25-150-380 through
4 VAC 25-150-430

Amended 15:2 VA.R. 156-
159

11/11/98

4 VAC 25-150-435 Added 15:2 VA.R. 159 11/11/98
4 VAC 25-150-440 through
4 VAC 25-150-460

Amended 15:2 VA.R. 161-
162

11/11/98

4 VAC 25-150-500 through
4 VAC 25-150-530

Amended 15:2 VA.R. 162-
163

11/11/98

4 VAC 25-150-540 Repealed 15:2 VA.R. 165 11/11/98
4 VAC 25-150-560 Amended 15:2 VA.R. 167 11/11/98
4 VAC 25-150-570 Repealed 15:2 VA.R. 167 11/11/98
4 VAC 25-150-580 through
4 VAC 25-150-610

Amended 15:2 VA.R. 168-
169

11/11/98

4 VAC 25-150-640 Repealed 15:2 VA.R. 171 11/11/98
4 VAC 25-150-650 through
4 VAC 25-150-700

Amended 15:2 VA.R. 171-
172

11/11/98

4 VAC 25-150-710 Repealed 15:2 VA.R. 172 11/11/98
4 VAC 25-150-711 Added 15:2 VA.R. 172 11/11/98
4 VAC 25-150-720 through
4 VAC 25-150-740

Amended 15:2 VA.R. 173 11/11/98

Title 9.  Environment
9 VAC 5-20-204 Amended 15:2 VA.R. 174 1/1/99
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE
9 VAC 5-20-205 Amended 15:2 VA.R. 175 1/1/99
9 VAC 25-192 (Forms) Added 15:3 VA.R. 331 --
9 VAC 25-192-40 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 323 12/1/98
9 VAC 25-192-50 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 323 12/1/98
9 VAC 25-192-60 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 323 12/1/98
9 VAC 25-192-70 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 324 12/1/98
9 VAC 25-193-70 Erratum 15:2 VA.R. 241 --
Title 12.  Health
12 VAC 5-90-230 Added 14:26 VA.R. 4250 10/14/98
12 VAC 5-90-240 Added 14:26 VA.R. 4250 10/14/98
12 VAC 5-90-250 Added 14:26 VA.R. 4251 10/14/98
12 VAC 5-90-260 Added 14:26 VA.R. 4251 10/14/98
12 VAC 5-90-270 Added 14:26 VA.R. 4251 10/14/98
12 VAC 30-20-170 Amended 14:26 VA.R. 4252 1/1/99
12 VAC 30-50-160 Amended 14:26 VA.R. 4252 1/1/99
12 VAC 30-60-40 Amended 14:26 VA.R. 4254 1/1/99
12 VAC 30-60-320 Amended 14:26 VA.R. 4257 1/1/99
12 VAC 30-60-340 Amended 14:26 VA.R. 4259 1/1/99
12 VAC 30-90-264 Amended 14:26 VA.R. 4261 1/1/99
12 VAC 30-90-290 Amended 14:26 VA.R. 4264 1/1/99
12 VAC 30-140-10 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 478 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-140-20 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 479 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-140-30 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 479 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-140-40 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 479 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-140-50 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 480 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-150-10 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 481 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-150-20 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 483 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-00 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 483 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-10 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 483 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-20 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 483 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-30 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 483 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-40 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 483 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-50 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 483 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-60 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 484 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-60 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 484 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-70 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 484 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-80 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 484 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-90 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 484 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-100 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 484 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-110 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 484 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-120 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 484 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-130 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 484 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-140 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 485 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-150 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 485 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-160 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 485 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-170 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 485 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-180 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 485 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-190 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 485 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-200 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 485 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-210 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 485 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-220 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 486 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-230 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 486 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-240 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 486 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-160-241 through
12 VAC 30-160-298 emer

Added 15:4 VA.R. 486 10/23/98-10/22/99
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE
12 VAC 30-160-299 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 486 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-170-10 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 487 10/23/98-10/22/99
12 VAC 30-170-20 emer Added 15:4 VA.R. 487 10/23/98-10/22/99
Title 13.  Housing
13 VAC 10-40-230 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 424 10/21/98
Title 14.  Insurance
14 VAC 5-395-10 Amended 14:26 VA.R. 4266 8/20/98
14 VAC 5-395-30 Amended 14:26 VA.R. 4266 8/20/98
14 VAC 5-395-50 Amended 14:26 VA.R. 4267 8/20/98
Title 18.  Professional and Occupational Licensing
18 VAC 65-20-70 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 426 12/9/98
18 VAC 65-20-80 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 426 12/9/98
18 VAC 65-20-90 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 427 12/9/98
18 VAC 65-20-100 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 427 12/9/98
18 VAC 65-40-40 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 433 12/9/98
18 VAC 65-40-50 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 433 12/9/98
18 VAC 65-40-60 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 433 12/9/98
18 VAC 65-40-70 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 433 12/9/98
18 VAC 65-40-80 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 433 12/9/98
18 VAC 85-110-10 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 436 12/9/98
18 VAC 85-110-20 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 437 12/9/98
18 VAC 85-110-30 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 437 12/9/98
18 VAC 85-110-35 Added 15:4 VA.R. 437 12/9/98
18 VAC 85-110-40 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 438 12/9/98
18 VAC 85-110-50 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 438 12/9/98
18 VAC 85-110-60 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 438 12/9/98
18 VAC 85-110-70 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 439 12/9/98
18 VAC 85-110-80 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 439 12/9/98
18 VAC 85-110-90 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 439 12/9/98
18 VAC 85-110-100 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 439 12/9/98
18 VAC 85-110-120 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 439 12/9/98
18 VAC 85-110-150 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 439 12/9/98
18 VAC 85-110-160 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 439 12/9/98
18 VAC 85-110-170 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 440 12/9/98
18 VAC 90-20-10 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 333 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-20 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 334 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-35 Added 15:3 VA.R. 334 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-40 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 334 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-50 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 335 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-60 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 335 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-70 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 335 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-80 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 335 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-90 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 336 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-95 Added 15:3 VA.R. 337 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-100 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 337 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-110 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 337 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-120 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 338 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-130 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 338 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-140 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 339 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-150 Repealed 15:3 VA.R. 339 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-160 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 339 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-170 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 339 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-180 Repealed 15:3 VA.R. 340 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-190 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 340 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-210 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 341 12/3/98
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18 VAC 90-20-250 Repealed 15:3 VA.R. 341 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-260 Repealed 15:3 VA.R. 341 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-275 Added 15:3 VA.R. 341 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-280 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 341 12/3/98
18 VAC 18-90-290 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 342 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-300 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 342 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-310 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 342 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-330 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 342 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-340 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 346 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-350 Amended 15:3 VA.R. 346 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-400 Added 15:3 VA.R. 347 12/3/98
18 VAC 90-20-410 Added 15:3 VA.R. 347 12/3/98
18 VAC 95-20-10 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 452 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-20 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 453 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-30 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 453 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-40 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 453 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-50 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 453 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-70 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 454 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-80 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 454 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-90 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 454 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-100 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 454 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-110 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 454 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-120 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 454 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-130 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 454 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-140 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 455 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-150 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 455 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-160 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 455 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-170 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 455 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-175 Added 15:4 VA.R. 455 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-180 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 455 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-190 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 456 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-200 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 456 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-210 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 456 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-220 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 456 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-225 Added 15:4 VA.R. 457 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-230 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 457 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-240 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 457 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-250 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 457 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-260 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 457 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-270 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 458 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-280 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 458 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-290 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 458 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-300 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 458 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-310 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 458 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-320 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 458 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-330 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 459 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-340 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 459 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-350 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 459 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-360 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 459 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-370 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 459 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-380 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 459 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-390 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 459 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-400 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 459 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-410 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 460 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-420 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 460 12/9/98



Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed

Volume 15, Issue 5 Monday, November 23, 1998

527

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE
18 VAC 95-20-430 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 460 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-440 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 460 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-450 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 460 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-460 Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 460 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-470 Amended 15:4 VA.R. 460 12/9/98
18 VAC 95-20-480 through
18 VAC 95-20-740

Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 460-
463

12/9/98

Appendices I, II and III Repealed 15:4 VA.R. 463-
464

12/9/98

Title 19.  Public Safety
19 VAC 30-70-5 Amended 15:2 VA.R. 177 11/11/98
19 VAC 30-70-7 Amended 15:2 VA.R. 178 11/11/98
19 VAC 30-70-10 Amended 15:2 VA.R. 178 11/11/98
19 VAC 30-70-50 Amended 15:2 VA.R. 180 11/11/98
19 VAC 30-70-70 through
19 VAC 30-70-100

Amended 15:2 VA.R. 181-
184

11/11/98

19 VAC 30-70-140 Amended 15:2 VA.R. 185 11/11/98
19 VAC 30-70-160 Amended 15:2 VA.R. 187 11/11/98
19 VAC 30-70-180 Amended 15:2 VA.R. 190 11/11/98
19 VAC 30-70-200 Amended 15:2 VA.R. 192 11/11/98
19 VAC 30-70-440 through
19 VAC 30-70-500

Amended 15:2 VA.R. 192-
203

11/11/98

19 VAC 30-70-550 Amended 15:2 VA.R. 207 11/11/98
19 VAC 30-70-570 Amended 15:2 VA.R. 208 11/11/98
19 VAC 30-70-580 Amended 15:2 VA.R. 209 11/11/98
19 VAC 30-70-680 Amended 15:2 VA.R. 211 11/11/98
Title 24.  Transportation and Motor Vehicles
24 VAC 30-200-10 Amended 14:26 VA.R. 4267 10/14/98
24 VAC 30-200-10 Erratum 15:1 VA.R. 50

(4396)
--

24 VAC 30-200-20 Amended 14:26 VA.R. 4268 10/14/98
24 VAC 30-200-30 Amended 14:26 VA.R. 4269 10/14/98
24 VAC 30-200-40 Added 14:26 VA.R. 4270 10/14/98
24 VAC 30-200-40 Erratum 15:1 VA.R. 50 --
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION

TITLE 8.  EDUCATION

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education intends to
consider repealing regulations entitled:  8 VAC 20-540-10 et
seq.  Regulations Governing Approved Programs for
Virginia Institutions of Higher Education, and
promulgating regulations entitled:  8 VAC 20-541-10 et
seq.  Regulations Governing Approved Programs for
Virginia Institutions of Higher Education.  The purpose of
the proposed action is to ensure that prospective teachers
and other instructional personnel are provided the
background necessary for quality instruction in the public
schools and a level of quality in the professional education
sequence that fosters competent practice.  The agency
intends to hold a public hearing on these regulatory actions
after publication.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 22.1-16, 22.1-298, and 22.1-316 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until December 9, 1998.

Contact:  Dr. Thomas A. Elliott, Assistant Superintendent for
Teacher Education and Licensure, Department of Education,
P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218-2120, telephone (804)
371-2522 or FAX (804) 225-2831.

VA.R. Doc. Nos. R99-41 and R99-39; Filed October 21, 1998, 11:19 a.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education intends to
consider promulgating regulations entitled:  8 VAC 20-630-
10 et seq.  Regulations Governing Substitute Teachers.
The purpose of the proposed action is to ensure that
substitute teachers meet basic requirements before teaching
in Virginia classrooms.  House Bill 2853, passed by the 1997
Session of the General Assembly, requires the Board of
Education to promulgate regulations for temporarily
employed teachers.  The agency intends to hold a public
hearing on the proposed regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-302 of the Code of
Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until December 9, 1998.

Contact:  Dr. Thomas A. Elliott, Assistant Superintendent for
Teacher Education and Licensure, Department of Education,

P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218-2120, telephone (804)
371-2522 or FAX (804) 225-2831.

VA.R. Doc. No. R99-40; Filed October 21, 1998, 11:20 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 9.  ENVIRONMENT

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD

† Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory
Action

Notice is hereby given that the State Air Pollution Control
Board has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory
Action for 9 VAC 5-40-10 et seq. (VR 120-50-04),
Emissions Trading and Banking (Revision TT), which was
published in 11:7  VA.R. 965-968 December 26, 1994.

Contact:  Cindy M. Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator,
Department of Environmental Quality,  P. O. Box 10009,
Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4378, FAX (804)
698-4500 or (804) 698-4021 TTY.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution Control Board
intends to consider amending regulations entitled:  9 VAC 5-
40-10 et seq.  Regulations for the Control and Abatement
of Air Pollution:  Existing Stationary Sources.  The
purpose of the proposed action is to develop a regulation for
existing hospital/medical/infectious waste incinerators
(HMIWI) that meets the requirements of the federal Clean Air
Act and 40 CFR Part 63 Subpart Ce of federal regulations.

Ad Hoc Advisory Group:  The department is soliciting
comments on the advisability of forming an ad hoc advisory
group, utilizing a standing advisory committee or consulting
with groups or individuals registering interest in working with
the department to assist in the drafting and formation of any
proposal.  The primary function of any group, committee or
individuals that may be utilized is to develop recommended
regulation amendments for department consideration
through the collaborative approach of regulatory negotiation
and consensus.  Any comments relative to this issue may be
submitted until 4:30 p.m., Wednesday, November 25, 1998,
to the Director, Office of Air Regulatory Development,
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009,
Richmond, Virginia 23240.

Public Hearing Plans:  After publication in the Virginia
Register of Regulations, the department will hold at least one
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public hearing to provide opportunity for public comment on
any regulation amendments drafted pursuant to this notice.

Need:  The contemplated regulation is essential (i) to protect
the health, safety or welfare of citizens and (ii) for the
efficient and economical performance of an important
governmental function.  The reasoning for this conclusion is
set forth below.

HMIWI emissions are known to cause, or suspected of
causing, cancer, nervous system damage, developmental
abnormalities, reproductive impairment, immune
suppression, liver dysfunction, hormone imbalance, and
other serious health effects.  Control of such emissions will
reduce and prevent such serious health effects.

Failure to develop an adequate regulation will also result in
imposition of a federal program.  Meeting the basic
requirements of the law and its associated regulations will
ensure that Virginia retains its rights to govern Virginia
sources.

Alternatives:  Alternatives being considered by the
department are discussed below.

1. Amend the regulations to satisfy the provisions of the
law and associated regulations and policies.  This option
is being selected because it meets the stated purpose of
the regulatory action:  to comply with the requirements
of the federal Clean Air Act.

2. Make alternative regulatory changes to those required
by the provisions of the law and associated regulations
and policies.  This option is not being selected because
it will not ensure consistency with federal requirements.

3. Take no action to amend the regulations.  This option
is not being selected because it will result in the
imposition of a federal program.

Costs and Benefits:  The department is soliciting comments
on the costs and benefits of the alternatives stated above or
other alternatives.

Applicable Statutory Requirements:  The contemplated
regulation amendments are mandated by federal law or
regulation.  A succinct statement of the source (including
legal citation) and scope of the mandate may be found
below.

Hospital/medical/infectious waste incinerator emissions are a
"designated" pollutant under § 111(d) of the Clean Air Act.
Designated pollutants are pollutants which are not included
on a list published under § 108(a) of the Act ("criteria"
pollutants) or § 112(b)(1)(A) ("hazardous" pollutants), but for
which standards of performance for new sources have been
established under § 111(b).  When the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency (EPA) establishes a new source
performance standard, states are required to develop
standards for existing facilities based on EPA emission
guidelines.  Designated pollutant controls are critical for two
reasons.  First, only a limited number of air pollutants
potentially harmful to human health are regulated at the
federal level.  Second, health risks from small exposures to

designated air pollutants can be high, depending on the
substances involved.

The EPA has determined that HMIWI facilities should be
regulated under § 111 (New Source Performance Standards)
of the Clean Air Act because:

1. HMIWI emissions may be reasonably anticipated to
contribute to the endangerment of public health and
welfare.

2. The range of health and welfare effects and the range
and uncertainties of estimated cancer risks do not
warrant listing HMIWI emissions as a hazardous
pollutant under § 112 of the Act.

3. Section 112 of the Act could not be used to address
particular constituents or subgroups of emissions (such
as hydrogen chloride).

4. Section 111(d) of the Act would permit a more
thorough evaluation of existing HMIWIs at the state level
than would be feasible in a general rulemaking at the
federal level.

The 1990 Clean Air Act Amendments added a new § 129 to
the Act that applies to solid waste incinerators, including
municipal waste combustors, HMIWIs, and industrial waste
incinerators.  Section 129 of the Act and its associated
standards were promulgated because EPA determined that
incinerator emissions cause or contribute significantly to air
pollution which may reasonably be expected to endanger
public health and welfare.  The intended effect of the
standards and guidelines is to form a basis for state action to
develop state regulations controlling HMIWI emissions to the
level achievable by the best demonstrated system of
continuous emission reduction, considering costs, non-air
quality health and environmental impacts, and energy
requirements.

Section 129 of the Act directs that the standards and
guidelines for HMIWIs be broadened and provides the
schedule for this activity.  Regulating HMIWI emissions for
new sources under § 111(b) of the Act (New Source
Performance Standards) establishes HMIWI emissions as a
designated pollutant, and requires the EPA to promulgate
guidelines under § 111(d) for states to use in developing
regulations to control pollutants from existing HMIWIs.
Emissions guidelines for existing HMIWIs that began
construction on or before December 20, 1989, have been
promulgated under §§ 111(d) and 129 of the Act.  In order
for §§ 111 and 129 to be effected, the specific guidelines are
promulgated in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
(subpart Ce of 40 CFR 63).  State regulations must be at
least as stringent as the guidelines.

The final rule published by the EPA in the Federal Register of
September 15, 1997 (62 FR 48348), applies to existing
HMIWIs built on or before June 20, 1996.

Public Meeting:  A public meeting will be held by the
department in the Training Room, Department of
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, Richmond,
Virginia, at 9 a.m., Wednesday, November 25, 1998, to
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discuss the intended action.  Unlike a public hearing, which
is intended only to receive testimony, this meeting is being
held to discuss and exchange ideas and information relative
to regulation development.

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m.,
Wednesday, November 25, 1998, to the Director, Office of
Air Regulatory Development, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240.

Contact:  Karen G. Sabasteanski, Policy Analyst, Office of
Air Regulatory Development, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone
(804) 698-4426, toll-free 1-800-592-5482, FAX (804) 698-
4510 or (804) 698-4021/TTY (.

VA.R. Doc. No. R99-35; Filed October 6, 1998, 1:58 p.m.

† Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory
Action

Notice is hereby given that the State Air Pollution Control
Board has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory
Action for VR 120-99-04, Regulations for the Control of
Motor Vehicle Emissions in the Richmond Area, which
was published in 10:15 VA.R. 3847-3849 April 18, 1994.

Contact:  Cindy M. Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator,
Department of Environmental Quality,  P. O. Box 10009,
Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4378, FAX (804)
698-4500 or (804) 698-4021 TTY.

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

† Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory
Action

Notice is hereby given that the Department of Environmental
Quality has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory
Action for  VR 680-16-02.02.  Smith-Dan Subarea Water
Quality Management Plan,  which was published in 9:24
VA.R. 4426-4427 August 23, 1993.

Contact:  Cindy M. Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator,
Department of Environmental Quality,  P. O. Box 10009,
Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4378, FAX (804)
698-4500 or (804) 698-4021 TTY.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w

TITLE 12.  HEALTH

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to
consider promulgating regulations entitled:  12 VAC 5-80-10
et seq.  Virginia Hearing Impairment Identification and
Monitoring System.  The purpose of the proposed action is
to review and amend the regulations to provide consistent
guidance for the implementation and administration of a
system designed to ensure that infants with hearing loss are
identified and receive appropriate intervention at the earliest
possible age after birth, in accordance with recent legislative
directives.  Resulting amendments may (i) establish
standards by which all hospitals and birthing centers shall
identify infants at risk for hearing loss and perform a hearing
screening test on all newborns prior to discharge after birth;
(ii) establish procedures for reporting; (iii) establish
appropriate mechanisms for follow-up care; (iv) establish
standards for the diagnostic audiological evaluation of
infants and young children, including the approval of test
sites; (v) clarify the relationships between the identification
and monitoring system and other state agency programs and
activities; and (vi) establish review and evaluation
mechanisms.  Resulting amendments may also address
other issues relating to the regulations that the public,
regulated persons, and the health planning community deem
appropriate to raise following this notice.  The agency does
not intend to hold a public hearing on the proposed
regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 32.1-64.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until November 27,
1998.

Contact:  Pat T. Dewey, Speech and Hearing Services
Administrator, Division of Child and Adolescent Health,
Department of Health, Room 105, P.O. Box 2448,
Richmond, VA 23218-2448, telephone (804) 786-1964, FAX
(804) 786-6776 or toll-free 1-800-828-1120/TTY (.

VA.R. Doc. No. R99-25; Filed September 23, 1998, 11:26 a.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to
consider repealing regulations entitled:  12 VAC 5-190-10 et
seq.  State Plan for the Provision of Children’s Specialty
Services.  The purpose of the proposed action is to
terminate the state plan as a regulation and to allow the state
plan to exist as an agency guidance and reference
document.  The department has completed its regulations
review in accordance with Executive Order 15 (94) and is
implementing this action based on an Executive Order 15
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(94) recommendation.  The agency does not intend to hold a
public hearing on the proposed repeal after publication.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-77 of the Code of
Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on
December 11, 1998.

Contact:  Nancy R. Bullock, Children with Special Health
Care Needs Program Director, Division of Child and
Adolescent Health, Department of Health, 1500 E. Main St.,
P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-
3693, FAX (804) 225-3307, toll-free 1-800-523-4019 or 1-
800-828-1120/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R99-38; Filed October 20, 1998, 4:27 p.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to
consider amending regulations entitled:  12 VAC 5-530-10 et
seq.  Regulations Governing the Virginia Medical
Scholarship Program.  The purpose of the proposed action
is to review and amend the regulations to improve operation
of the Virginia Medical Scholarship Program and to reflect
recent statutory changes.  Resulting amendments may (i)
encourage applications from students attending the School
of Osteopathic Medicine at Pikeville College, especially bona
fide residents of Virginia and, specifically, residents of
Southwest Virginia, in accordance with § 32.1-122.5:1 of the
Code of Virginia and the 1998 Appropriations Act (Chapter
464, 1998 Acts of Assembly); (ii) allow unexpended and
repaid medical scholarship money to revert to the Physician
Loan Repayment Program, as defined in § 32.1-122.6:1 of
the Code of Virginia; (iii) allow for a combination residency
program of two primary care specialties (e.g. internal
medicine/pediatrics and internal medicine/family practice) for
an allowance variance of one additional year to the
maximum three year residency limitation; and (iv) clarify the
intent of the program and reduce redundancy.  Resulting
amendments may address other issues relating to the
regulations that the public, regulated persons, and the health
planning community deem appropriate to raise following this
notice.  The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing
on the proposed regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-122.6 of the Code
of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until December 10,
1998.

Contact:  Bernadette D. Nettemeyer, Program Coordinator,
Department of Health, Center for Primary Care Resource
Development, 1500 E. Main St., Room 227, Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 786-4891, FAX (804) 371-0116 or
toll-free 1-800-828-1120/TTY (.

VA.R. Doc. No. R99-23; Filed September 21, 1998, 11:51 a.m.

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical Assistance
Services intends to consider amending regulations entitled:
12 VAC 30-50-10 et seq.  Amount, Duration, and Scope
of Medical and Remedial Care Services:  Clinic Services.
The purpose of the proposed action is to establish criteria
that the staff of mental health clinics must meet in order to
be reimbursed by DMAS for therapy services which they
provide.  The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing
on the proposed regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until December 23,
1998, to Dr. Marlene Eisenberg, Policy and Research,
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219.

Contact:  Victoria P. Simmons, Regulatory Coordinator,
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad
St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-
8850 or FAX (804) 371-4981.

VA.R. Doc. No. R99-52; Filed November 2, 1998, 12:45 p.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 18.  PROFESSIONAL AND

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Board for Contractors intends to
consider amending regulations entitled:  18 VAC 50-30-10 et
seq.  Tradesman Rules and Regulations.  The purpose of
the proposed action is to amend the current regulations to
include the liquefied petroleum gas fitter as a stand-alone
category in the trades regulated by this program as required
by Chapter 403 of the Acts of the 1997 Session of the
General Assembly.  The agency intends to hold a public
hearing on the proposed regulation after publication.

There are no changes proposed in the current fee structure.

In addition, any review usually uncovers awkward sentence
construction and/or errors in the existing regulations.  Any
such discovery will be amended in keeping with the purposes
of the program.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code
of Virginia.
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Public comments may be submitted until December 23,
1998.

Contact:  George O. Bridewell, Administrator, Board for
Contractors, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917,
telephone (804) 367-2785 or FAX (804) 367-2474.

VA.R. Doc. No. R99-48; Filed October 27, 1998, 11:02 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 19.  PUBLIC SAFETY

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE

† Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory
Action

Notice is hereby given that the Department of State Police
has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action
for 19 VAC 30-170-10 et seq., Regulations Governing the
Operation and Maintenance of the Sex Offender and
Crimes against Minors Registry, which was published in
14:4 VA.R. 557 November 10, 1997.  The regulation is
exempt from the Administrative Process Act pursuant to § 9-
6.14:4.1 B 6 of the Code of Virginia.  In conformance with
the Virginia Register Act, the regulation was published in
14:22 VA.R. 3225-3238 July 20, 1998, and became effective
July 1, 1998.

Contact:  Jerry S. Conner, Major Deputy Director, Bureau of
Administrative and Support Services, Department of State
Police, P. O. Box 27472, Richmond, VA 23261-7472,
telephone (804) 674-2000.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
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PUBLIC COMMENT PERIODS REGARDING STATE AGENCY REGULATIONS

This section gives notice of public comment periods and public hearings to be held on
proposed regulations.  The notice will be published once at the same time the proposed
regulation is published in the Proposed Regulations section of the Virginia Register.  The notice
will continue to be carried in the Calendar of Events section of the Virginia Register until the
public comment period and public hearing date have passed.

Notice is given in compliance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the Code of Virginia that the following public
hearings and public comment periods regarding proposed state agency regulations are set to
afford the public an opportunity to express their views.
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PUBLIC COMMENT PERIODS - PROPOSED REGULATIONS

TITLE 9.  ENVIRONMENT

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

January 8, 1999 - 10 a.m. – Public Hearing
Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional
Office Training Room, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen,
Virginia.

January 25, 1999 – Public comments may be submitted
until this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control
Board intends to amend regulations entitled:  9 VAC 25-
190-10 et seq.  Virginia Pollutant Discharge
Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit
Regulation  for Nonmetallic Mineral Mining.  The
purpose of the proposed amendment is to reissue a
general VPDES permit for nonmetallic mineral mining
for another five-year period.  The current general permit
expires on June 30, 1999.  Minor modifications to the
general permit have also been made.

Statutory Authority:  § 62.1-44.15 (10) of the Code of
Virginia.

Contact:  Michael B. Gregory, Environmental Engineer
Senior, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box
10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4065 or
FAX (804) 698-4032.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 12.  HEALTH

BOARD OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS

January 6, 1999 - 10 a.m. – Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 1, Richmond, Virginia.

January 22, 1999 – Public comments may be submitted
until this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Health
Professions intends to consider amending regulations
entitled:  18 VAC 75-20-10 et seq.  Regulations
Governing Practitioner Self-Referral.  The purpose of
the proposed amendments is to simplify the process for
administration of the Practitioner Self-Referral Act (§
54.1-2410 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and to
eliminate a standing committee of the board to consider
applications for advisory opinions or exceptions to the
Act.

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2412 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Robert A. Nebiker, Executive Director, Board of
Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor,
Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9910 or
FAX (804) 662-9943.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
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PROPOSED REGULATIONS

TITLE 9.  ENVIRONMENT

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE:  The State Water Control Board is
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act
for the following regulatory action.  Section 9-6.14:4.1 C 12
of the Code of Virginia excludes from Article 2 of the
Administrative Process Act general permits issued by the
State Water Control Board pursuant to the State Water
Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.), Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et
seq.), and Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the
Code of Virginia if the board proceeds under the following
conditions:  (i) provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory
Action (NOIRA) in conformance with the provisions of § 9-
6.14:7.1 B; (ii) forms a technical advisory committee
composed of relevant stakeholders, including potentially
affected citizens groups, to assist in the development of the
general permit; (iii) provides notice and receives oral and
written comment as provided in § 9-6.14:7.1 F; and (iv)
conducts at least one public hearing on the proposed general
permit.  The State Water Control Board will receive, consider
and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time
with respect to reconsideration or revision.

Title of Regulation:  9 VAC 25-190-10 et seq.  Virginia
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES)
General Permit Regulation for Nonmetallic Mineral
Mining (amending 9 VAC 25-190-10, 9 VAC 25-190-20,
9 VAC 25-190-50, 9 VAC 25-190-60, and 9 VAC 25-190-70;
repealing 9 VAC 25-190-30 and 9 VAC 25-190-40).

Statutory Authority:  § 62.1-44.15(10) of the Code of Virginia.

Summary:

The State Water Control Board proposes to amend a
general permit regulation in order to continue
authorization of the discharge of wastewater and storm
water from nonmetallic mineral mining facilities.  The
board currently has a general permit for nonmetallic
mineral mining in effect that will expire on June 30, 1999.
This regulatory action is proposed in order to reissue the
general permit for an additional five years.  Owners
covered under the expiring general permit who wish to
continue to discharge under a general permit must
register for coverage under the new general permit.
Coverage under the general permit will not be allowed
where regulations require the issuance of an individual
permit or where discharges are to waters specifically
named in other board regulations or policies which
prohibit such discharges.

The proposed regulation amendment continues to set
forth guidelines for the permitting of discharges from
nonmetallic mineral mining operations.  Under the
proposed amendment, facilities classified under
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes 1411,
1422, 1423, 1429, 1442, 1455, 1459 and 1499 will be
covered and SIC Code 1446 is deleted.  Special
materials are added to those excluded from coverage.
The proposed general permit reissuance consists of
limitations and/or quarterly monitoring requirements on
discharges of commingled storm water, mine pit
dewatering and process wastewater to surface waters.
There are also yearly monitoring requirements on
discharges of storm waters that do not combine with
other wastewaters.  These conditions are the same as in
the current regulation with the exception of Total
Petroleum Hydrocarbon monitoring.  The requirements
for storm water pollution prevention through storm water
management and the development of a storm water
pollution prevention plan are carried over with some
modifications.  Minimum information requirements for all
requests for coverage under the general permit are
included in the proposed regulation.  Revisions to the
current regulation/permit consist mainly of refinement of
the description of covered mining operations and co-
located facilities, addition of Total Petroleum
Hydrocarbon monitoring, an increase in the frequency of
reporting, and updated regulatory language in the storm
water management and standard conditions sections.

9 VAC 25-190-10.  Definitions.

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the
meanings defined in the State Water Control Law
(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), and 9 VAC
25-30-10 ( the Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination
System (VPDES) Permit Regulation (9 VAC 25-31-10 et
seq.) unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, except
that.  Additionally, for the purposes of this chapter:

"Co-located facility" means an industrial activity other than
mineral mining operating on a site where the primary
industrial activity is mineral mining.  Such an activity must
have wastewater characteristics similar to those of the
mineral mine and be located within the permitted mining area.
The term refers to activities that are commonly found at
mining sites such as manufacturing of ready-mix concrete
(SIC Code 3273), concrete block and pipe (SIC Codes 3271
and 3272), and asphalt paving materials (SIC Code 2951).  It
does not include asphalt emulsion manufacturing or any other
activity specifically excluded from this permit.

"Department" means the Virginia Department of
Environmental Quality.
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"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of
Environmental Quality, or his designee an authorized
representative.

"Industrial activity" means the facilities where the primary
purpose is classified as under Standard Industrial
Classification (SIC) Code Codes 1411, 1422, 1423, 1429,
1442, 1446, 1455, 1459, and 1499 (Office of Management
and Budget (OMB) SIC Manual, 1987). including active or
inactive mining operations that discharge storm water that
has come into contact with any overburden, raw material,
intermediate products, finished products, by-products or
waste products located on the site of such operations.
(Inactive mining operations are mining sites that are not being
actively mined, but which have an identifiable owner/operator;
inactive mining sites do not include sites where mining claims
are being maintained prior to disturbances associated with
the extraction, benefication, or processing of mined materials,
nor sites where minimal activities are undertaken for the sole
purpose of maintaining a mining claim.)  Industrial activity
also includes facilities classified under other SIC codes that
may be colocated within the mineral mine permit area,
unless they are expressly excluded by this general permit.

"Permittee" means the owner of a nonmetallic mineral
mine covered under this general permit.

"Process wastewater" means water used in the process of
washing stone, noncontact cooling water, and miscellaneous
plant cleanup wastewaters.

"Run-off coefficient" means the fraction of total rainfall that
will appear at the conveyance as run-off.

"Significant materials" includes, but is not limited to, raw
materials; fuels; materials such as solvents, detergents, and
plastic pellets; finished materials such as metallic products;
raw materials used in food processing or production;
hazardous substances designated under Section 101(14) of
the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation
and Liability Act of 1980 (CERCLA) (42 USC § 9601 et seq.);
any chemical the owner is required to report pursuant to
Section 313 of the Emergency Planning and Community
Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) Section 313 (42 USC § 11001
et seq.); fertilizers; pesticides; and waste products such as
ashes, slag and sludge (including pond sediments) that have
the potential to be released with storm water discharges.

"Storm water" means storm water run-off, snow melt
run-off, and surface run-off and drainage.

"Storm water discharge associated with industrial activity"
means the discharge from any conveyance which is used for
collecting and conveying storm water and which is directly
related to manufacturing, processing or raw materials
storage areas at an industrial plant.  The term does not
include discharges from facilities or activities excluded from
the VPDES program under 9 VAC 25-30-10 9 VAC 25-31-10
et seq.  For the categories of industries identified in the
"industrial activity" definition, the term includes, but is not
limited to, storm water discharges from industrial plant
yards; immediate access roads and rail lines used or
traveled by carriers of raw materials, manufactured products,

waste material, or by-products used or created by the
mineral mine; material handling sites; refuse sites; sites used
for the application or disposal of process wastewaters; sites
used for the storage and maintenance of material handling
equipment; sites used for residual treatment, storage, or
disposal; shipping and receiving areas; manufacturing
buildings; storage area areas (including tank farms) for raw
materials, and intermediate and finished products; and areas
where industrial activity has taken place in the past and
significant materials remain and are exposed to storm water.
For the purposes of this paragraph, material handling
activities include the storage, loading and unloading,
transportation, or conveyance of any raw material,
intermediate product, finished product, by-product or waste
product.  The term excludes areas located on plant lands
separate from the plant's industrial activities, such as office
buildings and accompanying parking lots as long as the
drainage from the excluded areas is not mixed with storm
water drained from the above described areas.

9 VAC 25-190-20.  Purpose; delegation of authority;
effective date of permit.

A. This general permit regulation governs the discharge of
mine pit dewatering, process wastewater and storm water
associated with industrial activity from active and inactive
mineral mines classified as Standard Industrial Classification
Codes 1411, 1422, 1423, 1429, 1442, 1446, 1455, 1459, and
1499, except as specified in this section.  The following
activities shall not have coverage under this general permit:
bentonite, magnesite, gypsum, graphite, asbestos, diatonite,
jade, tripoli or asphaltic mineral mining operations, coal
mining, metal mining, mineral mines which have asphalt
operations located within the mineral mine permit area, and
oil and gas extraction.

9 VAC 25-190-30.  Delegation of authority.

B. The director, or his designee an authorized
representative, may perform any act of the board provided
under this chapter, except as limited by § 62.1-44.14 of the
Code of Virginia.

9 VAC 25-190-40.  Effective date of the permit.

C. This general permit will become effective on June 30,
1994. This general permit 1999, and will expire five years
from after June 30, 1994 1999.  For any covered owner, this
general permit is effective as to any covered owner upon
compliance with all the provisions of 9 VAC 25-190-50 and
the receipt of this general permit.

9 VAC 25-190-50.  Authorization to discharge.

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is
authorized by this to discharge to surface waters of the
Commonwealth of Virginia provided that the owner files and
receives acceptance by the director board of the registration
statement of 9 VAC 25-190-60, files the required permit fee,
complies with the effluent limitations and other requirements
of 9 VAC 25-190-70, and provided that:
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1. The owner shall not have been required to obtain an
individual permit as may be required in the VPDES
permit regulation (9 VAC 25-31-10 et seq.);

2. The owner shall not be authorized by this general
permit to discharge to state waters where specifically
named in other board regulations or policies which
prohibit such discharges; and

3. The owner shall obtain the notification from the
governing body of the county, city or town required by
§ 62.1-44.15:3 of the Code of Virginia. 4. The owner
shall have a mineral mining permit for the operation to
be covered by this general permit which has been
approved by the Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals
and Energy, Division of Mineral Mining (or associated
waivered program, locality or state agency) under
provisions and requirements of Title 45.1 of the Code of
Virginia. Mineral mines owned and operated by
governmental bodies not subject to the provisions and
requirements of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia are
exempt from this requirement.; and

4. The owner shall implement pollution control measures
necessary to comply with the conditions and limitations
of this general permit including, but not limited to, the
installation, operation and maintenance of sediment
control structures.

B. The director board shall deny coverage under this
general permit to any owner whose with discharge to state
waters may adversely affect a threatened or endangered
species listed or proposed to be listed under the Virginia
Water Quality Standards Regulation, 9 VAC 25-310-10 et
seq., or Section 4 of the Endangered Species Act or if the
discharge is likely to adversely affect its critical habitat or
storm water discharge-related activities which the board
determines cause, may reasonably be expected to cause, or
may be contributing to a violation of water quality standards,
including discharges or discharge-related activities that are
likely to adversely affect aquatic life.

C. Receipt of this general permit does not relieve any
owner of the responsibility to comply with any other federal,
state or local statute, ordinance or regulation.

9 VAC 25-190-60.  Registration statement and notice of
termination.

A. The owner shall file a complete general VPDES permit
registration statement, which will serve as a notice of intent
for coverage under the general permit for nonmetallic
mineral mining.  Any owner proposing a new discharge shall
file the registration statement at least 60 30 days prior to the
date planned for commencing construction or operation of
the mineral mine.  Any owner of an existing mineral mine
covered by an individual VPDES permit who is proposing to
be covered by this general permit shall file the registration
statement at least 120 180 days prior to the expiration date
of the individual VPDES permit.  Any owner of an existing
mineral mine not currently covered by a VPDES permit who
is proposing to be covered by this general permit shall file
the registration statement within 30 days of the effective date

of the general permit.  The required registration statement
shall be in the following form contain the following
information:

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION
SYSTEM

GENERAL PERMIT REGISTRATION STATEMENT

FOR NONMETALLIC MINERAL MINING

1. Name of owner:  ____________________________
(please print or type)

2. Mailing address:  ____________________________
____________________________
____________________________

3. Telephone number:  ____________________________

4. Fax number:  ____________________________

5. Project name:  ____________________________

6. Description of mining activity (mineral mined):
____________________________

7. Primary standard industrial classification (SIC) code:
_______
Secondary SIC codes:  _______  _______  _______
_______  _______  _______  _______  _______

8. County:  ____________________________

9. Location:  ____________________________

10. Name of streams receiving discharges (e.g., Clear Creek
or unnamed tributary to Clear Creek)
____________________________

10. Discharge Information:

OUTFALL
NO.

OUTFALL
TYPE

SOURCE OF
DISCHARGE

RECEIVING
STREAM

LATITUDE/
LONGITUDE

Attach additional sheets if necessary.

11. Does this mine currently have a VPDES permit?
Yes _______  No _______
(If yes, give permit number).  _________________________

12. Description of wastewater treatment or reuse/recycle
systems, or both:  ____________________________

13. List any chemicals added to water that could be
discharged:  ____________________________
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14. Indicate any co-located facilities:
_________________________________________________
_________________________

15.  Is this facility a hazardous waste treatment, storage, or
disposal facility?
Yes __________________     No ___________________

14. 16. Attach to this registration statement a schematic
drawing showing the sources of water used on the property,
the industrial operations contributing to, or using water, and
the conceptual design of the methods of treatment and
disposal of wastewater and solids.

15. 17. Attach to this registration statement an aerial photo
or scale map which clearly shows the property boundaries,
plant site, drainage areas associated with each outfall,
locations of all mine pit dewatering, existing, significant
sources of materials exposed to precipitation, storm water or
process wastewater discharges outfalls and the receiving
streams.

16. The owner of any proposed discharge into or adjacent to
state waters or the owner of any discharge into or adjacent to
state waters which has not previously been covered by a
valid VPDES permit must attach to this registration
statement notification from the governing body of the county,
city or town in which the discharge is to take place that the
location and operation of the discharging facility is consistent
with all ordinances adopted pursuant to Chapter 11
(§ 15.1-427 et seq.) of Title 15.1 of the Code of Virginia.

17. 18. Attach to this registration statement evidence that the
operation to be covered by this general permit has a mining
permit which has been approved by the Virginia Department
of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of Mineral Mining (or
associated waivered program) under the provisions and
requirements of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia. Mineral
mines owned and operated by governmental bodies not
subject to the provisions and requirements of Title 45.1 of
the Code of Virginia are exempt from this requirement.

Mining Permit No.:  _________________________________

Certification:

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all
attachments were prepared under my direction or
supervision in accordance with a system designed to
assure that qualified personnel properly gather and
evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry
of the person or persons who manage the system or
those persons directly responsible for gathering the
information, the information submitted is to the best of
my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and complete. I
am aware that there are significant penalties for
submitting false information including the possibility of
fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."

Signatures:  ______________________  Date:  __________

Signatures:  ______________________  Date:  __________

Name of persons signing above:
____________________________

(printed or typed)

____________________________
(printed or typed)

Titles:  ____________________________

For department use only:

Accepted/Not accepted by:  ______________________
Date:  __________

Basin                Stream Class                Section

Special Standards

Required attachments:

1. Evidence of approved mining permit

2. Local government ordinance form

3. 2. Water use schematic drawing

4. 3. Aerial photo or map

B. Coverage under this general permit may be terminated
by the permittee by filing a completed notice of termination.
The notice of termination shall be filed in situations where all
discharges associated with industrial activity authorized by
this general permit are eliminated, when the mineral mining
permit approved by the Division of Mineral Mining (or
associated waivered program) expires following mine close
out and final bond release or where all discharges associated
with industrial activity have been covered by an individual
VPDES permit. The required notice of termination shall be in
the following form:

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION
SYSTEM

GENERAL PERMIT NOTICE OF TERMINATION FOR
NONMETALLIC MINERAL MINING

1. General VPDES nonmetallic mineral mining permit
number:

2. Reason for termination request (Choose one):

a. The discharges associated with industrial activity
have been eliminated:

b. The mineral mining permit approved by the Division
of Mineral Mining (or associated waivered program)
has expired following mine close out and final bond
release:

c. All discharges associated with industrial activity
have been covered by an individual VPDES permit:

3. On what date do you wish coverage under this
general permit to terminate?  _______________

4. Facility owner
Name:  ____________________________
Mailing address:  ____________________________
City:  ____________________________  State:
_______________  Zip code:  _______________
Phone:  ____________________________
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5. Facility location
Name:  ____________________________
Address:  ____________________________
City:  ____________________________  State:
_______________  Zip code:  _______________

6. Certification: "I certify under penalty of law that all
discharges associated with industrial activity from the
identified facility that are authorized by this general
VPDES permit have been eliminated, that the mineral
mining permit approved by the Virginia Department of
Mines, Minerals, and Energy, Division of Mineral Mining
(or associated waivered program) has expired following
mine close out and final bond release, or that all
discharges associated with industrial activity have been
covered by an individual VPDES permit. I understand
that by submitting this notice of termination, I am no
longer authorized to discharge in accordance with the
general permit, and that discharging pollutants to
surface waters of the State is unlawful under the Clean
Water Act and the State Water Control Law where the
discharge is not authorized by a VPDES permit. I also
understand that the submittal of this notice of
termination does not release an owner from liability for
any violations of this permit under the Clean Water Act
or the State Water Control Law."

Signatures:  ______________________  Date:  __________

______________________  Date:  __________

Name of persons signing above:

______________________
       (printed or typed)

______________________
       (printed or typed)

Titles:  ______________________

9 VAC 25-190-70.  General permit.

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the
director board will receive the following permit and shall
comply with the requirements in it and be subject to all
requirements of the VPDES permit regulation, 9 VAC 25-31-
10 et seq.

General Permit No.:  VAG84

Effective date:  _______________

Expiration date:  _______________

GENERAL PERMIT FOR NONMETALLIC MINERAL MINING
AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE VIRGINIA

POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION SYSTEM AND
THE

VIRGINIA STATE WATER CONTROL LAW

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act,
as amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law
and regulations adopted pursuant to it, owners of

nonmetallic mineral mines are authorized to discharge to
surface waters within the boundaries of the Commonwealth
of Virginia, except those where specifically named in board
regulations or policies which prohibit such discharges.

This general permit covers all owners or operators of point
source discharges associated with activities within Standard
Industrial Classifications 1411, 1422, 1423, 1429, 1442,
1446, 1455, 1459, and 1499, except as specified below.
Coverage includes active or inactive mineral mines that
discharge: (i) storm water associated with industrial activity;
(ii) mine pit dewatering; or (iii) process wastewaters.
Covered operations shall have a mineral mining permit
approved by the Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and
Energy, Division of Mineral Mining, (or associated waivered
program, locality or state agency) under the provisions and
requirements of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia.  Mineral
mines owned and operated by governmental bodies not
subject to the provisions and requirements of Title 45.1 of
the Code of Virginia are exempt from this requirement.  The
following activities shall not have coverage under this
general permit:  bentonite, magnesite, gypsum, graphite,
asbestos, diatonite, jade, tripoli or asphaltic mineral mining
operations, coal mining, metal mining, mineral mines which
have asphalt operations located within the mineral mine
permit area, and oil and gas extraction.

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with this
cover page, Part I - Effluent Limitations and Monitoring
Requirements, Part II - Storm Water Pollution Prevention
Plans, Part III - Monitoring and Reporting, and Part IV -
Management Requirements Management, and Part III -
Conditions Applicable to All VPDES Permits, as set forth
here.

Part I. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING
REQUIREMENTS.

A. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements.

1. During the period beginning on the permit's effective
date with the permittee's coverage under this general
permit and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the
permittee is authorized to discharge process
wastewater, effluent from mine pit dewatering and
commingled storm water associated with industrial
activity. Samples taken in compliance with the
monitoring requirements specified below shall be taken
at the following locations: at the point of discharge, prior
to entering state waters from outfall(s).

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the
permittee as specified below:
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EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS

Average Minimum/ Maximum Frequency Sample Type

Flow (MGD) NL NL NA NA NL 1/3 Months Estimate

Total Suspended Solids (mg/l) 30 mg/l 60 mg/l NA NA 60 1/3 Months Grab

pH (standard units) NA 9.0 6.0* 6.0 9.0* 1/3 Months Grab

Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons (mg/l)** NA NA NL 1/3 Months Grab

NL = No Limitation, monitoring required

NA = Not applicable

2. Use of any additive chemical will require the
discharger to obtain prior written approval from the
director. 3. There shall be no discharge of floating solids
or visible foam in other than trace amounts.

* Where the Water Quality Standards (9 VAC 25-260-10 et
seq.) establish alternate standards for pH, those standards
shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations pH
effluent limits may be adjusted within the 6 to 9 S.U. range.

** Monitoring for Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons is only
required for outfalls that receive discharges of process
wastewater from vehicle/equipment washing facilities or
activities.

4. 3. During the period beginning on the permit's
effective date with the permittee's coverage under the
general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration
date, the permittee is authorized to discharge storm
water associated with industrial activity which does not
combine with other wastewaters prior to discharge.
Samples taken in compliance with the monitoring
requirements specified below shall be taken at the
following locations: at the point of discharge, prior to
entering state waters from outfall(s).

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the
permittee as specified below:

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS

Average Minimum/ Maximum Frequency Sample Type

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NL 1/Year Estimate*

Total Suspended Solids (mg/l) NA NL NA NA NL 1/Year Grab**

pH (standard units) NA NL NL 1/Year Grab**

Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons (mg/l) NA NA NL 1/Year Grab

NL = No Limitation, monitoring required

NA = Not applicable

5. 4. All samples taken to meet the monitoring
requirements specified above in A 3 shall be collected
from the discharge resulting from a storm event that is
greater than 0.1 inches in magnitude and that occurs at
least 72 hours from the previously measurable (greater
than 0.1 inch rainfall) storm event.  The grab sample
shall be taken during the first 30 minutes of the
discharge.  If the collection of a grab sample during the
first 30 minutes is impracticable, a grab sample can be
taken during the first hour of the discharge, and the
permittee shall submit with the monitoring report a
description of why a grab sample during the first 30
minutes was impracticable.

* Estimate of the total volume of the discharge during the
storm event.

** The grab sample shall be taken within the first three hours
of the discharge.

B. Special conditions.

1. Vehicles and equipment utilized during the industrial
activity on a site must be operated and maintained in
such a manner as to prevent the potential or actual point
source pollution of the surface or groundwaters of the
state.  Fuels, lubricants, coolants, and hydraulic fluids,
or any other petroleum products, shall not be disposed
of by discharging on the ground or into surface waters.
Spent fluids shall be disposed of in a manner so as not
to enter the surface or groundwaters of the state and in
accordance with the applicable state and federal
disposal regulations.  Any spilled fluids shall be cleaned
up to the maximum extent practicable and disposed of in
a manner so as not to allow their entry into the surface
or groundwaters of the state.

2. No sewage shall be discharged from this mineral
mining activity except under the provisions of another
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VPDES permit specifically issued therefore for that
purpose.

3. There shall be no chemicals added to the discharge,
other than those listed on the owner's approved
registration statement, unless prior approval is granted
by the director.

4. The permittee shall submit a notice of termination in
situations where all discharges associated with industrial
activity authorized by this general permit are eliminated,
when the mineral mining permit approved by the Virginia
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of
Mineral Mining (or associated waivered program)
expires following mine close out and final bond release
or where all discharges associated with industrial activity
have been covered by an individual VPDES permit. The
terms and conditions of this permit shall remain in effect
until a completed notice of termination is submitted and
approved by the director. The notice of termination shall
be signed in accordance with Part III G.

5. 4. The permittee shall submit a new registration
statement if the mineral mining permit is modified or
reissued in any way that would affect the outfall location
or the characteristics of a discharge covered by this
general permit. Government owned and operated mines
without mining permits shall submit the registration
statement whenever outfall location or characteristics
are altered. The new registration statement shall be filed
within 30 days of the outfall relocation or change in the
characteristics of the discharge.

5. The permittee shall notify the department as soon as
they know or have reason to believe:

a. That any activity has occurred or will occur which
would result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent
basis, of any toxic pollutant which is not limited in this
permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the
following notification levels:

(1) One hundred micrograms per liter (100 µg/l);

(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter (200 µg/l) for
acrolein and acrylonitrile; five hundred micrograms
per liter (500 µg/l) for 2,4-dinitrophenol and for
2-methyl-4,6-dinitrophenol; and one milligram per
liter (1 mg/l) for antimony;

(3) Five times the maximum concentration value
reported for that pollutant in the permit application;
or

(4) The level established by the board.

b. That any activity has occurred or will occur which
would result in any discharge, on a nonroutine or
infrequent basis, of a toxic pollutant which is not limited
in this permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest
of the following notification levels:

(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter (500 µg/l);

(2) One milligram per liter (1 mg/l) for antimony;

(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value
reported for that pollutant in the permit application;
or

(4) The level established by the board.

6. This permit shall be modified, or alternatively revoked
and reissued, to comply with any applicable effluent
standard or limitation issued or approved under Sections
301(b) (2) (C), (D), and (E), 304 (b) (2) (3) (4), and or
prohibition for a pollutant which is promulgated or
approved under § 307 (a) (2) of the federal Clean Water
Act, if the effluent standard or limitation so issued or
approved:

a. Contains different conditions or is otherwise more
stringent than any effluent limitation Is more stringent
than any effluent limitation on the pollutant already in
the permit; or

b. Controls any pollutant not limited in the permit. The
permit as modified or reissued under this paragraph
shall also contain any other requirements of the Clean
Water Act then applicable.

7. Except as expressly authorized by this permit, no
product, materials, industrial wastes, or other wastes
resulting from the purchase, sale, mining, extraction,
transport, preparation, or storage of raw or intermediate
materials, final product, by-product or wastes, shall be
handled, disposed of, or stored so as to permit a
discharge of such product, materials, industrial wastes,
or other wastes to state waters.

8. There shall be no discharge of process wastewater
pollutants from co-located asphalt operations. For the
purposes of this special condition, process wastewater
pollutants are any pollutants present in water used in
asphalt product manufacturing which comes into direct
contact with any raw materials, intermediate product, by-
product or product related to the asphalt product
manufacturing process.

Part II. STORM WATER MANAGEMENT.

A. Recording of results.

1. Additional information.  In addition to any reporting
requirements of Part III, for each measurement or
sample taken pursuant to the storm event monitoring
requirements of this permit, the permittee shall record
and report with the discharge monitoring report the
following information:

1. a. The date and duration (in hours) of the storm
events sampled;

2. b. The rainfall measurements or estimates (in
inches) of the storm event which generated the
sampled discharge; and

3. c. The duration between the storm event sampled
and the end of the previous measurable (greater than
0.1 inch rainfall) storm event.
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2. Additional reporting.  In addition to filing copies of
discharge monitoring reports in accordance with Part III,
permittees with at least one storm water discharge
associated with industrial activity through a large or
medium municipal separate storm sewer system
(systems serving a population of 100,000 or more) or a
municipal system designated by the director must submit
signed copies of discharge monitoring reports to the
operator of the municipal separate storm sewer system
at the same time.

B. Representative discharge.  When a facility has two or
more exclusively storm water outfalls that, based on a
consideration of industrial activity, significant materials, and
management practices and activities within the area drained
by the outfall, the permittee reasonably believes discharge
substantially identical effluents, the permittee may test the
effluent of one of such outfalls and include with the discharge
monitoring report an explanation that the quantitative data
also applies to the substantially identical outfalls provided
that the permittee includes a description of the location of the
outfalls and explains in detail why the outfalls are expected
to discharge substantially identical effluents.  In addition, for
each exclusively storm water outfall that the permittee
believes is representative, an estimate of the size of the
drainage area (in square feet) and an estimate of the run-off
coefficient of the drainage area (e.g., low (under 40%),
medium (40% to 65%) or high (above 65%)) shall be
provided.

C. Sampling waiver.

1. Adverse conditions.  When a permittee is unable to
collect samples for the storm event monitoring
requirements within a specified sampling period due to
adverse climatic conditions, the permittee must submit
with the discharge monitoring report a description of why
samples could not be collected, including available
documentation of the event shall collect a substitute
sample from a separate qualifying event in the next
period and submit these data along with the data for the
routine sampling in that period.  Adverse weather
conditions which that may prohibit the collection of
samples include weather conditions that create
dangerous conditions for personnel (such as local
flooding, high winds, hurricane, tornadoes, electrical
storms, etc.) or otherwise make the collection of a
sample impracticable (drought, extended frozen
conditions, etc.).  Permittees are precluded from
exercising this waiver more than once for each outfall
during the permit term.

2. Inactive and unstaffed facilities.  When a permittee is
unable to conduct the storm water sampling required at
an inactive and unstaffed facility, the permittee may
exercise a waiver of the monitoring requirements as long
as the facility remains inactive and unstaffed.  The
permittee must submit to the director, in lieu of
monitoring data, a certification statement on the
discharge monitoring report stating that the facility is
inactive and unstaffed so that collecting a sample during
a qualifying event is not possible.

D. Storm water pollution prevention plans.  A storm water
pollution prevention plan shall be developed for each facility
covered by this permit.  Storm water pollution prevention
plans shall be prepared in accordance with good engineering
practices.  The plan shall identify potential sources of
pollution which may reasonably be expected to affect the
quality of storm water discharges associated with industrial
activity from the facility.  In addition, the plan shall describe
and ensure the implementation of practices which are to be
used to reduce the pollutants in storm water discharges
associated with industrial activity at the facility and to assure
compliance with the terms and conditions of this permit.
Facilities must implement the provisions of the storm water
pollution prevention plan required under this part as a
condition of this permit.

The storm water pollution prevention plan requirements of
this general permit may be fulfilled by incorporating by
reference other plans or documents such as an erosion and
sediment control plan, a mine drainage plan as required by
the Virginia Division of Mineral Mining, a spill prevention
control and countermeasure (SPCC) plan developed for the
facility under § 311 of the federal Clean Water Act or best
management practices (BMP) programs otherwise required
for the facility provided that the incorporated plan meets or
exceeds the plan requirements of Part II H. If an erosion and
sediment control plan is being incorporated by reference, it
shall have been approved by the locality in which the activity
is to occur or by another appropriate plan-approving authority
authorized under the Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control
Regulations, 4 VAC 50-30-10 et seq. All plans incorporated
by reference into the storm water pollution prevention plan
become enforceable under this permit.

E. Deadlines for plan preparation and compliance.

1. For a facilities previously covered by this general
permit operating under storm water pollution prevention
plans in need of updating to meet any new requirements
in this reissuance, or for any other storm water
discharge associated with industrial activity that is
existing on or before the effective date of this permit, the
storm water pollution prevention plan shall:

a. Be prepared within 180 days after the date of
coverage under this permit; and

b. Provide for implementation and compliance with
the terms of the plan within 365 days after the date of
coverage under this permit.

2. The plan for any facility where industrial activity
commences on or after the date of coverage under this
permit, and except as provided elsewhere in this permit,
shall be prepared and provide for compliance with the
terms of the plan and this permit on or before the date of
submission of a registration statement to be covered
under this permit.

3. Upon a showing of good cause, the director may
establish a later date in writing for preparing and
compliance with a plan for a storm water discharge
associated with industrial activity that submits a
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registration statement in accordance with the
registration requirements.

F. Signature and plan review.

1. The plan shall be signed in accordance with Part III G
K (signatory requirements), and be retained on-site at
the facility covered by this permit in accordance with
Part III C B (retention of records) of this permit.  When
there are no on-site buildings or offices in which to store
the plan, it shall be kept at the nearest company office.

2. The permittee shall make plans the storm water
pollution prevention plan, annual site compliance
inspection report, or other information available to the
department upon request.

3. The director, or an authorized representative, may
notify the permittee at any time that the plan does not
meet one or more of the minimum requirements of this
part.  Such notification shall identify those provisions of
the permit which are not being met by the plan, and
identify which provisions of the plan require
modifications in order to meet the minimum
requirements of this part.  Within 30 60 days of such
notification from the director, or as otherwise provided
by the director, or an authorized representative, the
permittee shall make the required changes to the plan
and shall submit to the department a written certification
that the requested changes have been made.

G. Keeping plans current.  The permittee shall amend the
plan whenever there is a change in design, construction,
operation, or maintenance, which has a significant effect on
the potential for the discharge of pollutants to surface waters
of the state or if the storm water pollution prevention plan
proves to be ineffective in eliminating or significantly
minimizing pollutants from sources identified under Part II H
2 (description of potential pollutant sources) of this permit, or
in otherwise achieving the general objectives of controlling
pollutants in storm water discharges associated with
industrial activity.  New owners shall review the existing plan
and make appropriate changes.  Amendments to the plan
may be reviewed by the department in the same manner as
described in Part II F.

H. Contents of plan.  The plan shall include, at a
minimum, the following items:

1. Pollution prevention team.  Each plan shall identify a
specific individual or individuals within the facility
organization as members of a storm water pollution
prevention team that are responsible for developing the
storm water pollution prevention plan and assisting the
facility or plant manager in its implementation,
maintenance, and revision.  The plan shall clearly
identify the responsibilities of each team member.  The
activities and responsibilities of the team shall address
all aspects of the facility's storm water pollution
prevention plan.

2. Description of potential pollutant sources.  Each plan
shall provide a description of potential sources which
may reasonably be expected to add significant amounts

of pollutants to storm water discharges or which may
result in the discharge of pollutants during dry weather
from separate storm sewers draining the facility.  Each
plan shall identify all activities and significant materials
which may potentially be significant pollutant sources.
Each plan shall include, at a minimum:

a. Drainage.

(1) A site map indicating an outline of the portions
of the drainage area of each storm water outfall that
are within the facility boundaries, each existing
structural control measure to reduce pollutants in
storm water run-off, surface water bodies, locations
where significant materials are exposed to
precipitation, locations where major spills or leaks
identified under Part II H 2 c (spills and leaks) of
this permit have occurred, and the locations of the
following activities where such activities are
exposed to precipitation:  fueling stations, vehicle
and equipment maintenance, vehicle and equipment
and/or cleaning areas, loading/unloading areas,
locations used for the treatment, storage or disposal
of wastes and wastewaters, liquid storage tanks,
processing areas and storage areas.  The map must
indicate all outfall locations.  The types of discharges
contained in the drainage areas of the outfalls must
be indicated either on the map or in an attached
narrative.

(2) For each area of the facility that generates storm
water discharges associated with industrial activity
with a reasonable potential for containing significant
amounts of pollutants, a prediction of the direction
of flow, and an identification of the types of
pollutants which are likely to be present in storm
water discharges associated with industrial activity.
Factors to consider include the toxicity of the
chemicals; quantity of chemicals used, produced or
discharged; the likelihood of contact with storm
water; and history of significant leaks or spills of
toxic or hazardous pollutants.  Flows with a
significant potential for causing erosion shall be
identified.

b. Inventory of exposed materials.  An inventory of the
types of materials handled at the site that potentially
may be exposed to precipitation.  Such inventory shall
include a narrative description of significant materials
that have been handled, treated, stored or disposed in
a manner to allow exposure to storm water between
the time of three years prior to the date of coverage
under this general permit and the present; method
and location of on-site storage or disposal; materials
management practices employed to minimize contact
of materials with storm water run-off between the time
of three years prior to the date of coverage under this
general permit and the present; the location and a
description of existing structural and non-structural
control measures to reduce pollutants in storm water
run-off; and a description of any treatment the storm
water receives.
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c. Spills and leaks.  A list of significant spills and
significant leaks of toxic or hazardous pollutants that
occurred at areas that are exposed to precipitation or
that otherwise drain to a storm water conveyance at
the facility after the date of three years prior to the
date of coverage under this general permit.  Such list
shall be updated as appropriate during the term of the
permit.

d. Sampling data.  A summary of existing discharge
sampling data describing pollutants in storm water
discharges from the facility, including a summary of
sampling data collected during the term of this permit.

e. Risk identification and summary of potential
pollutant sources.  A narrative description of the
potential pollutant sources from the following
activities:  loading and unloading operations; outdoor
storage activities; outdoor manufacturing or
processing activities; significant dust or particulate
generating processes; and on-site waste disposal
practices.  The description shall specifically list any
significant potential source of pollutants at the site
and for each potential source, any pollutant or
pollutant parameter (e.g., biochemical oxygen
demand, etc.) of concern shall be identified.

3. Measures and controls.  Each facility covered by this
permit shall develop a description of storm water
management controls appropriate for the facility, and
implement such controls.  The appropriateness and
priorities of controls in a plan shall reflect identified
potential sources of pollutants at the facility.  The
description of storm water management controls shall
address the following minimum components, including a
schedule for implementing such controls:

a. Good housekeeping.  Good housekeeping requires
the maintenance of areas which may contribute
pollutants to storm waters water discharges in a
clean, orderly manner.  The plan shall describe
procedures performed to minimize contact of materials
with storm water run-off.  Particular attention should
be paid to areas where raw materials are stockpiled,
material handling areas, storage areas, liquid storage
tanks, and loading/unloading areas.

b. Preventive maintenance.  A preventive
maintenance program shall involve timely inspection
and maintenance of storm water management devices
(e.g., cleaning oil/water separators, catch basins) as
well as inspecting and testing facility equipment and
systems to uncover conditions that could cause
breakdowns or failures resulting in discharges of
pollutants to surface waters, and ensuring appropriate
maintenance of such equipment and systems.  The
maintenance program shall require periodic removal of
debris from discharge diversions and conveyance
systems.  Permittees using settling basins to control
their effluents must provide maintenance schedules for
such basins in the pollution prevention plan.

c. Spill prevention and response procedures.  Areas
where potential spills which can contribute pollutants
to storm water discharges can occur, and their
accompanying drainage points shall be identified
clearly in the storm water pollution prevention plan.
Where appropriate, specifying material handling
procedures, storage requirements, and use of
equipment such as diversion valves in the plan should
be considered.  Procedures for cleaning up spills shall
be identified in the plan and made available to the
appropriate personnel.  The necessary equipment to
implement a clean up should be available to
personnel.

d. Inspections.  In addition to or as part of the
comprehensive site compliance evaluation required
under Part II H 4 of this permit, Qualified facility
personnel shall be identified to inspect material
storage and handling areas, liquid storage tanks,
hoppers or silos, vehicle and equipment maintenance
areas, cleaning and fueling areas, material handling
vehicles and designated equipment and processing
areas of the facility at appropriate intervals specified
in the plan; to inspect best management practices;
and to conduct visual examinations of storm water
associated with industrial activity.  The inspection
frequency shall be specified in the plan based upon a
consideration of the level of industrial activity at the
facility, but shall be a minimum of quarterly.  Visual
inspections of best management practices shall
include inspection of storm water discharge diversions,
conveyance systems, sediment control and collection
systems, containment structures, vegetation, serrated
slopes, and benched slopes to determine their
effectiveness, the integrity of control structures, if soil
erosion has occurred, or if there is evidence of actual
or potential discharge of contaminated storm water.
Visual examinations of storm water discharges
associated with industrial activity shall include
examination of storm water samples representative of
storm event discharges from the facility and
observation of color, odor, clarity, floating solids,
settled solids, suspended solids, foam, oil sheen, and
other obvious indicators of storm water pollution.  Site
inspection, best management practices inspection and
visual examination results must be documented and
maintained on-site with the facility pollution prevention
plan.  Documentation for visual examinations of storm
water shall include the examination date and time,
examination personnel, outfall location, the nature of
the discharge, visual quality of the storm water
discharge and probable sources of any observed
storm water contamination.  A set of tracking or
followup procedures shall be used to ensure that
appropriate actions are taken in response to the
inspections.  Records of inspections shall be
maintained.

e. Employee training.  Employee training programs
shall inform personnel responsible for implementing
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activities identified in the storm water pollution
prevention plan or otherwise responsible for storm
water management at all levels of responsibility of the
components and goals of the storm water pollution
prevention plan.  Training should address topics such
as spill response, good housekeeping and material
management practices.  A pollution prevention plan
shall identify periodic dates for such training.

f. Recordkeeping and internal reporting procedures.  A
description of incidents such as spills, or other
discharges, along with other information describing
the quality and quantity of storm water discharges
shall be included in the plan required under this part.
Inspections and maintenance activities shall be
documented and records of such activities shall be
incorporated into the plan.  Ineffective best
management practices must be recorded and the date
of their corrective action noted.

g. Sediment and erosion control.  The plan shall
identify areas which, due to topography, activities, or
other factors, have a high potential for significant soil
erosion, and identify structural, vegetative, or
stabilization measures to be used to limit erosion.
Permittees must indicate the location and design for
proposed best management practices to be
implemented prior to land disturbance activities.  For
sites already disturbed but without best management
practices, the permittee must indicate the location and
design of best management practices that will be
implemented.  The permittee is required to indicate
plans for grading, contouring, stabilization, and
establishment of vegetative cover for all disturbed
areas, including road banks.

h. Management of run-off.  The plan shall contain a
narrative consideration of the appropriateness of
traditional storm water management practices
(practices other than those which control the
generation or sources of pollutants) used to divert,
infiltrate, reuse, or otherwise manage storm water run-
off in a manner that reduces pollutants in storm water
discharges from the site.  The plan shall provide that
measures that the permittee determines to be
reasonable and appropriate shall be implemented and
maintained.  The potential of various sources at the
facility to contribute pollutants to storm water
discharges associated with industrial activity (see Part
II H 2 (description of potential pollutant sources) of
this permit) shall be considered when determining
reasonable and appropriate measures.  Appropriate
measures may include:  vegetative swales and
practices, reuse of collected storm water (such as for
a process or as an irrigation source), inlet controls
(such as oil/water separators), snow management
activities, infiltration devices, and wet
detention/retention devices.

4. Comprehensive site compliance evaluation.  Qualified
personnel shall conduct site compliance evaluations at
appropriate intervals specified in the plan, but in no case

less than once a year for active sites.  When annual
compliance evaluations are shown in the plan to be
impractical for inactive mining sites due to remote
location and inaccessibility, site evaluations must be
conducted at least once every three years.  Such
evaluations shall provide include the following:

a. Areas contributing to a storm water discharge
associated with industrial activity, including material
storage and handling areas; liquid storage tanks;
hoppers or silos; vehicle and equipment maintenance,
cleaning, and fueling areas; material handling vehicles;
equipment and processing areas; and areas where
aggregate is stockpiled outdoors, shall be visually
inspected for evidence of, or the potential for,
pollutants entering the drainage system.  Measures to
reduce pollutant loadings shall be evaluated to
determine whether they are adequate and properly
implemented in accordance with the terms of the
permit or whether additional control measures are
needed.  Structural storm water management
measures, sediment and erosion control measures,
and other structural pollution prevention measures
identified in the plan shall be observed to ensure that
they are operating correctly.  A visual inspection of
equipment needed to implement the plan, such as
spill response equipment, shall be made.

b. Based on the results of the inspection evaluation,
the description of potential pollutant sources identified
in the plan in accordance with Part II H 2 (description
of potential pollutant sources) of this permit and
pollution prevention measures and controls identified
in the plan in accordance with Part II H 3 (measures
and controls) of this permit shall be revised as
appropriate within 14 days of such inspection and
shall provide for implementation of any changes to the
plan in a timely manner, but in no case more than 90
days after the inspection.

c. A report summarizing the scope of the inspection,
personnel making the inspection, the dates of the
inspection, major observations relating to the
implementation of the storm water pollution
prevention plan, and actions taken in accordance with
Part II H 4 b of this permit shall be made and retained
as part of the storm water pollution prevention plan as
required in Part III C B (records). The report shall
identify any incidents of noncompliance. Where a
report does not identify any incidents of
noncompliance, the report shall contain a certification
that the facility is in compliance with the storm water
pollution prevention plan and this permit. The report
shall be signed in accordance with Part III G K
(signatory requirements) of this permit and retained
as required in Part III C B.

d. Where compliance evaluation schedules overlap
with inspections required under Part II H 3 d
(inspections), the compliance evaluation may be
conducted in place of one such inspection.
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5. Consistency with other plans. Storm water pollution
prevention plans may reflect requirements for Spill
Prevention Control and Countermeasure (SPCC) plans
developed for the facility under Section 311 of the Clean
Water Act, Best Management Practices (BMP)
Programs otherwise required by a VPDES permit for the
facility or any other plans required by the board's
regulations as long as such requirement is incorporated
into the storm water pollution prevention plan.

5. Additional requirements for storm water discharges
associated with industrial activity that discharge into or
through municipal separate storm sewer systems serving
a population of 100,000 or more.

a. In addition to the applicable requirements of this
permit, facilities covered by this permit must comply
with applicable requirements in municipal storm water
management programs developed under VPDES
permits issued for the discharge of the municipal
separate storm sewer system that receives the
facility's discharge, provided the permittee has been
notified of such conditions.

b. Permittees that discharge storm water associated
with industrial activity through a municipal separate
storm sewer system serving a population of 100,000
or more, or a municipal system designated by the
director, shall make plans available to the municipal
operator of the system upon request.

Part III. MONITORING AND REPORTING.

A. Sampling and analysis methods.

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this
permit shall be representative of the volume and nature
of the monitored activity.

2. Unless otherwise specified in this permit all sample
preservation methods, maximum holding times and
analysis methods for pollutants shall comply with
requirements set forth in Guidelines Establishing Test
Procedures for the Analysis of Pollutants promulgated at
40 CFR 136.

3. The sampling and analysis program to demonstrate
compliance with the permit shall at a minimum, conform
to Part I of this permit.

4. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform
maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical
instrumentation at intervals that will insure accuracy of
measurements.

B. Recording of results. For each measurement or sample
taken pursuant to the requirements of this permit, the
permittee shall record the following information:

1. The date, exact place and time of sampling or
measurements;

2. The persons who performed the sampling or
measurements;

3. The dates analyses were performed;

4. The persons who performed each analysis;

5. The analytical techniques or methods used;

6. The results of such analyses and measurements.

C. Records retention. All records and information resulting
from the monitoring activities required by this permit,
including all records of analyses performed and calibration
and maintenance of instrumentation and recording from
continuous monitoring instrumentation, shall be made a part
of the pollution prevention plan and shall be retained for
three years from the date of the sample, measurement or
report or until at least one year after coverage under this
general permit terminates, whichever is later. This period of
retention shall be extended automatically during the course
of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated activity or
regarding control standards applicable to the permittee, or as
requested by the director.

D. Additional monitoring by permittee. If the permittee
monitors any pollutant at the locations designated here more
frequently than required by this permit, using approved
analytical methods as specified above, the results of such
monitoring shall be included in the calculation and reporting
of the values required in the monitoring report. Such
increased frequency shall also be reported.

E. Water quality monitoring. The director may require
every permittee to furnish such plans, specifications, or other
pertinent information as may be necessary to determine the
effect of the pollutants on the water quality or to ensure
pollution of state waters does not occur or such information
as may be necessary to accomplish the purposes of the
Virginia State Water Control Law, Clean Water Act or the
board's regulations.

The permittee shall obtain and report such information if
requested by the director. Such information shall be subject
to inspection by authorized state and federal representatives
and shall be submitted with such frequency and in such
detail as requested by the director.

F. Reporting requirements.

1. The permittee shall submit original monitoring reports
of each quarter's performance to the department once
per year, on or before January 10.

2. If, for any reason, the permittee does not comply with
one or more limitations, standards, monitoring or
management requirements specified in this permit, the
permittee shall submit to the department with the
monitoring report at least the following information:

a. A description and cause of noncompliance;

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates
and times or the anticipated time when the
noncompliance will cease; and

c. Actions taken or to be taken to reduce, eliminate,
and prevent recurrence of the noncompliance.

Whenever such noncompliance may adversely affect
state waters or may endanger public health, the
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permittee shall submit the above required information by
oral report within 24 hours from the time the permittee
becomes aware of the circumstances and by written
report within five days. The director may waive the
written report requirement on a case-by-case basis if the
oral report has been received within 24 hours and no
adverse impact on state waters has been reported.

3. The permittee shall report any unpermitted, unusual
or extraordinary discharge which enters or could be
expected to enter state waters. The permittee shall
provide information specified in Part III F 2 a-c regarding
each such discharge immediately, that is as quickly as
possible upon discovery; however, in no case later than
24 hours. A written submission covering these points
shall be provided within five days of the time the
permittee becomes aware of the circumstances covered
by this paragraph.

Unusual or extraordinary discharge would include but
not be limited to (i) unplanned bypasses, (ii) upsets, (iii)
spillage of materials resulting directly or indirectly from
processing operations, (iv) breakdown of processing or
accessory equipment, (v) failure of or taking out of
service, sewage or industrial waste treatment facilities,
auxiliary facilities, or (vi) flooding or other acts of nature.

If the department's regional office cannot be reached,
the department maintains a 24-hour telephone service in
Richmond (804) 527-5200 to which the report required
above is to be made.

G. Signatory requirements. Any registration statement,
report, or certification required by this permit shall be signed
as follows:

1. Registration statement.

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate
official. For purposes of this section, a responsible
corporate official means (i) a president, secretary,
treasurer, or vice-president of the corporation in
charge of a principal business function, or any other
person who performs similar policy or
decision-making functions for the corporation, or (ii)
the manager of one or more manufacturing,
production, or operating facilities employing more
than 250 persons or having gross annual sales or
expenditures exceeding $25,000,000 (in second
quarter 1980 dollars), if authority to sign documents
has been assigned or delegated to the manager in
accordance with corporate procedures.

b. For a municipality, state, federal or other public
agency by either a principal executive officer or
ranking elected official. (A principal executive officer
of a federal, municipal, or state agency includes the
chief executive officer of the agency or head executive
officer having responsibility for the overall operation of
a principal geographic unit of the agency).

c. For a partnership or sole proprietorship, by a
general partner or proprietor respectively.

2. Reports. All reports required by permits and other
information requested by the director shall be signed by:

a. One of the persons described in subdivision 1 a, b,
or c of this subsection; or

b. A duly authorized representative of that person. A
person is a duly authorized representative only if:

(1) The authorization is made in writing by a person
described in subdivision 1 a, b, or c of this
subsection; and

(2) The authorization specifies either an individual
or a position having responsibility for the overall
operation of the regulated facility or activity, such as
the position of plant manager, operator of a well or
a well field, superintendent, or position of equivalent
responsibility. (A duly authorized representative
may thus be either a named individual or any
individual occupying a named position.)

(3) If an authorization is no longer accurate because
a different individual or position has responsibility
for the overall operation of the facility, a new
authorization must be submitted to the department
prior to or together with any separate information, or
registration statement to be signed by an authorized
representative.

3. Certification. Any person signing a document under
subdivision 1 or 2 of this subsection shall make the
following certification: "I certify under penalty of law that
this document and all attachments were prepared under
my direction or supervision in accordance with a system
designed to assure that qualified personnel properly
gather and evaluate the information submitted. Based
on my inquiry of the person or persons who manage the
system or those persons directly responsible for
gathering the information, the information submitted is
to the best of my knowledge and belief true, accurate,
and complete. I am aware that there are significant
penalties for submitting false information including the
possibility of fine and imprisonment for knowing
violations."

H. Releases in excess of reportable quantities.

1. This permit does not relieve the permittee of the
reporting requirements of 40 CFR 117 and 40 CFR 302.
The discharge of hazardous substances or oil in the
storm water discharges from a facility shall be prevented
or minimized in accordance with the applicable storm
water pollution prevention plan for the facility. Where a
release containing a hazardous substance in an amount
equal to or in excess of a reporting quantity established
under either 40 CFR 117 or 40 CFR 302 occurs during a
24-hour period, the storm water pollution prevention
plan must be modified within 14 calendar days of
knowledge of the release. The modification shall provide
a description of the release, the circumstances leading
to the release, and the date of the release. In addition,
the plan must be reviewed to identify measures to
prevent the reoccurrence of such releases and to
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respond to such releases, and the plan must be
modified where appropriate.

2. Spills. This permit does not authorize the discharge of
hazardous substances or oil resulting from an on-site
spill.

Part IV. MANAGEMENT REQUIREMENTS.

A. Change in discharge of pollutants.

1. Any permittee proposing a new discharge shall
submit a registration statement at least 60 days prior to
commencing erection, construction, or expansion or
employment of new processes at any facility. There shall
be no construction or operation of said facilities prior to
the issuance of a permit.

2. All discharges authorized by this permit shall be made
in accordance with the terms and conditions of the
permit. The permittee shall submit a new registration
statement 30 days prior to all expansions, production
increases, or process modifications, that will result in the
discharge of new or increased pollutants. The discharge
of any pollutant more frequently than, or at a level
greater than that identified and authorized by this permit,
shall constitute a violation of the terms and conditions of
this permit.

3. The permittee shall promptly provide written notice of
the following:

a. Any new introduction of pollutants, into treatment
works which represents a significant increase in the
discharge of pollutants which may interfere with, pass
through, or otherwise be incompatible with such
works, from an establishment, treatment works, or
discharges, if such establishment, treatment works, or
discharges were discharging or has the potential to
discharge pollutants to state waters;

b. Any substantial change, whether permanent or
temporary, in the volume or character of pollutants
being introduced into such treatment works by an
establishment, treatment works, or discharges that
was introducing pollutants into such treatment works
at the time of issuance of the permit;

c. Any reason to believe that any activity has occurred
or will occur which would result in the discharge on a
routine or frequent basis of any toxic pollutant which
is not limited in the permit, if that discharge will
exceed the highest of the following "notification
levels":

(1) One hundred micrograms per liter (100 ug/l);

(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter (200 ug/l) for
acrolein and acrylonitrile; five hundred micrograms
per liter (500 ug/l) for 2, 4-dinitrophenol and for
2-methyl-4, 6-dinitrophenol; and one milligram per
liter (1 mg/l) for antimony;

(3) Five times the maximum concentration value
reported for the pollutant in the registration
statement; or

(4) The level established in accordance with
regulation under Section 307(a) of the Clean Water
Act and accepted by the director;

d. Any activity has occurred or will occur which would
result in any discharge on a nonroutine or infrequent
basis of a toxic pollutant which is not limited in the
permit if that discharge will exceed the highest of the
following "notification levels":

(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter (500 ug/l);

(2) One milligram per liter (1 mg/l) for antimony;

(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value
reported for that pollutant in the registration
statement; or

(4) The level established by the director.

Such notice shall include information on: (i) the
characteristics and quantity of pollutants to be
introduced into or from such treatment works; (ii) any
anticipated impact of such change in the quantity and
characteristics of the pollutants to be discharged from
such treatment works; and (iii) any additional
information that may be required by the director.

B. Treatment works operation and quality control.

1. Design and operation of facilities or treatment works
and disposal of all wastes shall be in accordance with
the registration statement filed with the department and
in conformity with the conceptual design, or the plans,
specifications, or other supporting data accepted by the
director. The acceptance of the treatment works
conceptual design or the plans and specifications does
not relieve the permittee of the responsibility of
designing and operating the facility in a reliable and
consistent manner to meet the facility performance
requirements in the permit. If facility deficiencies, design
or operational, are identified in the future which could
affect the facility performance or reliability, it is the
responsibility of the permittee to correct such
deficiencies.

2. All waste collection, control, treatment, and disposal
facilities shall be operated in a manner consistent with
the following:

a. At all times, all facilities shall be operated in a
prudent and workmanlike manner so as to minimize
upsets and discharges of excessive pollutants to state
waters;

b. The permittee shall provide an adequate operating
staff which is duly qualified to carry out the operation,
maintenance and testing functions required to insure
compliance with the conditions of this permit;

c. Maintenance of treatment facilities shall be carried
out in such a manner that the monitoring and
limitation requirements are not violated; and
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d. Collected solids shall be stored and disposed of in
such a manner as to prevent entry of those wastes, or
runoff from the wastes, into state waters.

C. Adverse impact. The permittee shall take all feasible
steps to minimize any adverse impact to state waters
resulting from noncompliance with any limitations or
conditions specified in this permit, and shall perform and
report such accelerated or additional monitoring as is
necessary to determine the nature and impact of the
noncomplying limitations or conditions.

D. Duty to halt, reduce activity or to mitigate.

1. It shall not be a defense for a permittee in an
enforcement action that it would have been necessary to
halt or reduce the permitted activity in order to maintain
compliance with the conditions of this permit.

2. The permittee shall take all reasonable steps to
minimize, correct or prevent any discharge in violation of
this permit which has a reasonable likelihood of
adversely affecting human health or the environment.

E. Structural stability. The structural stability of any of the
units or parts of the facilities here permitted is the sole
responsibility of the permittee and the failure of such
structural units or parts shall not relieve the permittee of the
responsibility of complying with all terms and conditions of
this permit.

F. Bypassing. Any bypass ("Bypass means intentional
diversion of waste streams from any portion of a treatment
works") of the treatment works here permitted is prohibited
unless:

1. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance
of the need for a bypass, the permittee shall notify the
department promptly at least 10 days prior to the
bypass. After considering its adverse effects the director
may approve an anticipated bypass if:

a. The bypass is unavoidable to prevent a loss of life,
personal injury, or severe property damage ("Severe
property damage" means substantial physical damage
to property, damage to the treatment facilities which
causes them to become inoperable, or substantial and
permanent loss of natural resources which can
reasonably be expected to occur in the absence of a
bypass. Severe property damage does not mean
economic loss caused by delays in production.); and

b. There are no feasible alternatives to bypass, such
as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention of
untreated waste, or maintenance during normal
periods of equipment down-time. However, if a bypass
occurs during normal periods of equipment
down-time, or preventive maintenance and in the
exercise of reasonable engineering judgment the
permittee could have installed adequate backup
equipment to prevent such bypass, this exclusion
shall not apply as a defense.

2. Unplanned bypass. If an unplanned bypass occurs,
the permittee shall notify the department as soon as

possible, but in no case later than 24 hours, and shall
take steps to halt the bypass as early as possible. This
notification will be a condition for defense to an
enforcement action that an unplanned bypass met the
conditions in Part IV F 1 above and in light of the
information reasonably available to the permittee at the
time of the bypass.

G. Conditions necessary to demonstrate an upset. A
permittee may claim an upset as an affirmative defense to
an action brought for noncompliance for only
technology-based effluent limitations. In order to establish an
affirmative defense of upset, the permittee shall present
properly signed, contemporaneous operating logs or other
relevant evidence that shows:

1. That an upset occurred and that the cause can be
identified;

2. The facility permitted here was at the time being
operated efficiently and in compliance with proper
operation and maintenance procedures;

3. The permittee submitted a notification of
noncompliance as required by Part III F; and

4. The permittee took all reasonable steps to minimize
or correct any adverse impact to state waters resulting
from noncompliance with the permit.

H. Compliance with state and federal law. Compliance
with this permit during its term constitutes compliance with
the State Water Control Law and the Clean Water Act except
for any toxic standard imposed under Section 307(a) of the
Clean Water Act.

Nothing in this permit shall be construed to preclude the
institution of any legal action under, or relieve the permittee
from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties established
pursuant to any other state law or regulation or under
authority preserved by Section 510 of the Clean Water Act.

I. Property rights. The issuance of this permit does not
convey any property rights in either real or personal property,
or any exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to
private property or any invasion of personal rights, nor any
infringement of federal, state, or local laws or regulations.

J. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable.

K. Duty to reregister. If the permittee wishes to continue to
discharge under a general permit after the expiration date of
this permit, the permittee must submit a new registration
statement at least 120 days prior to the expiration date of
this permit.

L. Right of entry. The permittee shall allow, or secure
necessary authority to allow, authorized state and federal
representatives, upon the presentation of credentials:

1. To enter upon the permittee's premises on which the
establishment, treatment works, or discharges are
located or in which any records are required to be kept
under the terms and conditions of this permit;



Proposed Regulations

Volume 15, Issue 5 Monday, November 23, 1998

549

2. To have access to inspect and copy at reasonable
times any records required to be kept under the terms
and conditions of this permit;

3. To inspect at reasonable times any monitoring
equipment or monitoring method required in this permit;

4. To sample at reasonable times any waste stream,
discharge, process stream, raw material or by-product;
and

5. To inspect at reasonable times any collection,
treatment, or discharge facilities required under this
permit.

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall
be deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and
whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained
herein shall make an inspection time unreasonable during an
emergency.

M. Transferability of permits. This permit may be
transferred to another person by a permittee if:

1. The current permittee notifies the department 30 days
in advance of the proposed transfer of the title to the
facility or property;

2. The notice to the department includes a written
agreement between the existing and proposed new
permittee containing a specific date of transfer of permit
responsibility, coverage and liability between them; and

3. The department does not within the 30-day time
period notify the existing permittee and the proposed
permittee of the board's intent to modify or revoke and
reissue the permit.

Such a transferred permit shall, as of the date of the
transfer, be as fully effective as if it had been issued directly
to the new permittee.

N. Public access to information. Any secret formulae,
secret processes, or secret methods other than effluent data
submitted to the department may be claimed as confidential
by the submitter pursuant to § 62.1-44.21 of the Code of
Virginia. Any such claim must be asserted at the time of
submission in the manner prescribed on the application form
or instructions or, in the case of other submissions, by
stamping the words "secret formulae, secret processes or
secret methods" on each page containing such information.
If no claim is made at the time of submission, the
department may make the information available to the public
without further notice. If a claim is asserted, the information
will be treated in accordance with the procedures in the
Virginia Freedom of Information Act (§§ 2.1-340 et seq. and
62.1-44.21 of the Code of Virginia).

Claims of confidentiality for the following information will
be denied:

1. The name and address of any permit applicant or
permittee; and

2. Registration statements, permits, and effluent data.

Information required by the registration statement may not
be claimed confidential. This includes information submitted
on the forms themselves and any attachments used to
supply information required by the forms.

O. Permit modification. The permit may be modified when
any of the following developments occur:

1. When a change is made in the promulgated
standards or regulations on which the permit was based;

2. When an effluent standard or prohibition for a toxic
pollutant must be incorporated in the permit in
accordance with provisions of Section 307(a) of the
Clean Water Act (33 USC §§ 1251 et seq.); or

3. When the level of discharge of a pollutant not limited
in the permit exceeds applicable water quality standards
or the level which can be achieved by technology-based
treatment requirements appropriate to the permittee.

P. Permit termination. After public notice and opportunity
for a hearing, the general permit may be terminated for
cause.

Q. When an individual permit may be required. The
director may require any permittee authorized to discharge
under this permit to apply for and obtain an individual permit.
Cases where an individual permit may be required include,
but are not limited to, the following:

1. The discharger(s) is a significant contributor of
pollution;

2. Conditions at the operating facility change altering the
constituents or characteristics of the discharge such that
the discharge no longer qualifies for a general permit;

3. The discharge violates the terms or conditions of this
permit;

4. A change has occurred in the availability of
demonstrated technology or practices for the control or
abatement of pollutants applicable to the point source;

5. Effluent limitation guidelines are promulgated for the
point sources covered by this permit; or

6. A water quality management plan containing
requirements applicable to such point sources is
approved after the issuance of this permit.

This permit may be terminated as to an individual
permittee for any of the reasons set forth above after
appropriate notice and an opportunity for a hearing.

R. When an individual permit may be requested. Any
permittee operating under this permit may request to be
excluded from the coverage of this permit by applying for an
individual permit. When an individual permit is issued to a
permittee the applicability of this general permit to the
individual permittee is automatically terminated on the
effective date of the individual permit. When a general permit
is issued which applies to a permittee already covered by an
individual permit, such permittee may request exclusion from
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the provisions of the general permit and subsequent
coverage under an individual permit.

S. Civil and criminal liability. Except as provided in permit
conditions on "bypassing" (Part IV F), and "upset" (Part IV G)
nothing in this permit shall be construed to relieve the
permittee from civil and criminal penalties for noncompliance
with the terms of this permit.

T. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this
permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any
legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities,
liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be
subject under Section 311 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC §
1321) or §§  62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the
Code of Virginia.

U. Unauthorized discharge of pollutants. Except in
compliance with this permit, it shall be unlawful for any
permittee to:

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes,
other wastes or any noxious or deleterious substances;
or

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological
properties of such state waters and make them
detrimental to the public health, or to animal or aquatic
life, or to the uses of such waters for domestic or
industrial consumption, or for recreation, or for other
uses.

Part III.  CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL VPDES
PERMITS.

A. Monitoring.

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this
permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to
procedures approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or
alternative methods approved by the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency, unless other procedures have been
specified in this permit.

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform
maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical
instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of
measurements.

B. Records.

1. Records of monitoring information shall include:

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or
measurements;

b. The individual(s) who performed the sampling or
measurements;

c. The date(s) and time(s) analyses were performed;

d. The individual(s) who performed the analyses;

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and

f. The results of such analyses.

2. Except for records of monitoring information required
by this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge
use and disposal activities, which shall be retained for a
period of at least five years, the permittee shall retain
records of all monitoring information, including all
calibration and maintenance records and all original strip
chart recordings for continuous monitoring
instrumentation, copies of all reports required by this
permit, and records of all data used to complete the
registration statement for this permit, for a period of at
least three years from the date of the sample,
measurement, report or request for coverage.  This
period of retention shall be extended automatically during
the course of any unresolved litigation regarding the
regulated activity or regarding control standards
applicable to the permittee, or as requested by the
board.

C. Reporting monitoring results.

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the
monitoring required by this permit not later than the 10th
day of the month after monitoring takes place, unless
another reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this
permit.  Monitoring results shall be submitted to the
department's regional office.

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge
Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided,
approved or specified by the department.

3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically
addressed by this permit more frequently than required
by this permit using test procedures approved under 40
CFR Part 136 or using other test procedures approved
by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using
procedures specified in this permit, the results of this
monitoring shall be included in the calculation and
reporting of the data submitted in the DMR or reporting
form specified by the department.

4. Calculations for all limitations which require averaging
of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless
otherwise specified in this permit.

D. Duty to provide information.  The permittee shall furnish
to the department, within a reasonable time, any information
which the board may request to determine whether cause
exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating
this permit or to determine compliance with this permit.  The
board may require the permittee to furnish, upon request,
such plans, specifications, and other pertinent information as
may be necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from
his discharge on the quality of state waters, or such other
information as may be necessary to accomplish the purposes
of the State Water Control Law.  The permittee shall also
furnish to the department, upon request, copies of records
required to be kept by this permit.

E. Compliance schedule reports.  Reports of compliance or
noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and
final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of
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this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following
each schedule date.

F. Unauthorized discharges.  Except in compliance with
this permit or another permit issued by the board, it shall be
unlawful for any person to:

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes,
other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances;
or

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological
properties of such state waters and make them
detrimental to the public health, or to animal or aquatic
life, or to the use of such waters for domestic or
industrial consumption, or for recreation, or for other
uses.

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges.  Any permittee
who discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage,
industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious
substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part III F
(unauthorized discharges); or who discharges or causes or
allows a discharge that may reasonably be expected to enter
state waters in violation of Part III F, shall notify the
department of the discharge immediately upon discovery of
the discharge, but in no case later than 24 hours after said
discovery.  A written report of the unauthorized discharge
shall be submitted to the department within five days of
discovery of the discharge.  The written report shall contain:

1. A description of the nature and location of the
discharge;

2. The cause of the discharge;

3. The date on which the discharge occurred;

4. The length of time that the discharge continued;

5. The volume of the discharge;

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected
to continue;

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total
volume of the discharge will be; and

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and
prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any
future discharges not authorized by this permit.

Discharges reportable to the department under the
immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are
exempted from this requirement.

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges.  If any
unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or
upset should occur from a treatment works and the
discharge enters or could be expected to enter state waters,
the permittee shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24
hours, the department by telephone after the discovery of the
discharge.  This notification shall provide all available details
of the incident, including any adverse affects on aquatic life
and the known number of fish killed.  The permittee shall

reduce the report to writing and shall submit it to the
department within five days of discovery of the discharge in
accordance with Part III I 2.  Unusual and extraordinary
discharges include but are not limited to any discharge
resulting from:

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or
indirectly from processing operations;

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the
treatment works; and

4. Flooding or other acts of nature.

I. Reports of noncompliance.  The permittee shall report
any noncompliance which may adversely affect state waters
or may endanger public health.

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from
the time the permittee becomes aware of the
circumstances.  The following shall be included as
information which shall be reported within 24 hours
under this subdivision:

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and

b. Any upset which causes a discharge to surface
waters.

2. A written report shall be submitted within 5 days and
shall contain:

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause;

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates
and times, and if the noncompliance has not been
corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to
continue; and

c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and
prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.

The board may waive the written report on a
case-by-case basis for reports of noncompliance under
Part III I if the oral report has been received within 24
hours and no adverse impact on state waters has been
reported.

3. The permittee shall report all instances of
noncompliance not reported under Parts III I 1 or 2, in
writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are
submitted.  The reports shall contain the information
listed in Part III I 2.

NOTE:  The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required
in Parts III G, H and I may be made to the department's
regional office.  Reports may be made by telephone or by
fax.  For reports outside normal working hours, leave a
message and this shall fulfill the immediate reporting
requirement.  For emergencies, the Virginia Department of
Emergency Services maintains a 24-hour telephone service
at 1-800-468-8892.

J. Notice of planned changes.
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1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as
soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or
additions to the permitted facility.  Notice is required only
when:

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any
building, structure, facility, or installation from which
there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the
construction of which commenced:

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance
under § 306 of the federal Clean Water Act which
are applicable to such source; or

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in
accordance with § 306 of the federal Clean Water
Act which are applicable to such source, but only if
the standards are promulgated in accordance with
§ 306 within 120 days of their proposal;

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change
the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants
discharged.  This notification applies to pollutants
which are subject neither to effluent limitations nor to
notification requirements specified elsewhere in this
permit; or

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant
change in the permittee's sludge use or disposal
practices and such alteration, addition, or change may
justify the application of permit conditions that are
different from or absent in the existing permit, including
notification of additional use or disposal sites not
reported during the permit application process or not
reported pursuant to an approved land application
plan.

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the
department of any planned changes in the permitted
facility or activity which may result in noncompliance with
permit requirements.

K. Signatory requirements.

1. Registration statement.  All registration statements
shall be signed as follows:

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate
officer.  For the purposes of this section, a responsible
corporate officer means:  (i) a president, secretary,
treasurer, or vice-president of the corporation in
charge of a principal business function, or any other
person who performs similar policy- or
decision-making functions for the corporation, or (ii)
the manager of one or more manufacturing,
production, or operating facilities employing more than
250 persons or having gross annual sales or
expenditures exceeding $25 million (in second-quarter
1980 dollars), if authority to sign documents has been
assigned or delegated to the manager in accordance
with corporate procedures;

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a
general partner or the proprietor, respectively; or

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public
agency:  by either a principal executive officer or
ranking elected official.  For purposes of this section, a
principal executive officer of a public agency includes:
(i) the chief executive officer of the agency or (ii) a
senior executive officer having responsibility for the
overall operations of a principal geographic unit of the
agency.

2. Reports, etc.  All reports required by permits, and
other information requested by the board, shall be
signed by a person described in Part III K 1 or by a duly
authorized representative of that person.  A person is a
duly authorized representative only if:

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person
described in Part III K 1;

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a
position having responsibility for the overall operation
of the regulated facility or activity such as the position
of plant manager, operator of a well or a well field,
superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or
an individual or position having overall responsibility for
environmental matters for the company.  A duly
authorized representative may thus be either a named
individual or any individual occupying a named
position; and

c. The written authorization is submitted to the
department.

3. Changes to authorization.  If an authorization under
Part III K 2 is no longer accurate because a different
individual or position has responsibility for the overall
operation of the facility, a new authorization satisfying
the requirements of Part III K 2 shall be submitted to the
department prior to or together with any reports or
information to be signed by an authorized representative.

4. Certification.  Any person signing a document under
Parts III K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification:

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and
all attachments were prepared under my direction or
supervision in accordance with a system designed to
assure that qualified personnel properly gather and
evaluate the information submitted.  Based on my
inquiry of the person or persons who manage the
system, or those persons directly responsible for
gathering the information, the information submitted is,
to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, accurate,
and complete.  I am aware that there are significant
penalties for submitting false information, including the
possibility of fine and imprisonment for knowing
violations."

L. Duty to comply.  The permittee shall comply with all
conditions of this permit.  Any permit noncompliance
constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and
the federal Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with
certain provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of
the State Water Control Law but not the federal Clean Water
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Act.  Permit noncompliance is grounds for enforcement
action; for permit termination, revocation and reissuance, or
modification; or denial of a permit renewal application.

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or
prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the federal Clean
Water Act for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage
sludge use or disposal established under § 405(d) of the
federal Clean Water Act within the time provided in the
regulations that establish these standards or prohibitions or
standards for sewage sludge use or disposal, even if this
permit has not yet been modified to incorporate the
requirement.

M. Duty to reapply.  If the permittee wishes to continue an
activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of
this permit, the permittee shall submit a new registration
statement at least 180 days before the expiration date of the
existing permit, unless permission for a later date has been
granted by the board.  The board shall not grant permission
for registration statements to be submitted later than the
expiration date of the existing permit.

N. Effect of a permit.  This permit does not convey any
property rights in either real or personal property or any
exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to private
property or invasion of personal rights or any infringement of
federal, state or local laws or regulations.

O. State law.  Nothing in this permit shall be construed to
preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve
the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties
established pursuant to, any other state law or regulation or
under authority preserved by § 510 of the federal Clean
Water Act.  Except as provided in permit conditions on
"bypass" (Part III U), and "upset" (Part III V) nothing in this
permit shall be construed to relieve the permittee from civil
and criminal penalties for noncompliance.

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability.  Nothing in this
permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any
legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities,
liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be
subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the
State Water Control Law.

Q. Proper operation and maintenance.  The permittee shall
at all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and
systems of treatment and control (and related
appurtenances) which are installed or used by the permittee
to achieve compliance with the conditions of this permit.
Proper operation and maintenance also includes effective
plant performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and
adequate laboratory and process controls, including
appropriate quality assurance procedures.  This provision
requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or
similar systems which are installed by the permittee only
when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with
the conditions of this permit.

R. Disposal of solids or sludges.  Solids, sludges or other
pollutants removed in the course of treatment or

management of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner
so as to prevent any pollutant from such materials from
entering state waters.

S. Duty to mitigate.  The permittee shall take all reasonable
steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or
disposal in violation of this permit which has a reasonable
likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the
environment.

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense.  It shall
not be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action
that it would have been necessary to halt or reduce the
permitted activity in order to maintain compliance with the
conditions of this permit.

U. Bypass.

1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste
streams from any portion of a treatment facility.  The
permittee may allow any bypass to occur which does not
cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it
also is for essential maintenance to ensure efficient
operation.  These bypasses are not subject to the
provisions of Parts III U 2 and U 3.

2. Notice.

a. Anticipated bypass.  If the permittee knows in
advance of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be
submitted if possible at least 10 days before the date
of the bypass.

b. Unanticipated bypass.  The permittee shall submit
notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part
III I (reports of noncompliance).

3. Prohibition of bypass.

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take
enforcement action against a permittee for bypass,
unless:

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life,
personal injury, or severe property damage;

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the
bypass, such as the use of auxiliary treatment
facilities, retention of untreated wastes, or
maintenance during normal periods of equipment
downtime.  This condition is not satisfied if adequate
back-up equipment should have been installed in the
exercise of reasonable engineering judgment to
prevent a bypass which occurred during normal
periods of equipment downtime or preventive
maintenance; and

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required
under Part III U 2.

b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass,
after considering its adverse effects, if the board
determines that it will meet the three conditions listed
in Part III U 3 a.
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V. Upset.

1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an
action brought for noncompliance with technology-based
permit effluent limitations if the requirements of Part III V
2 are met.  A determination made during administrative
review of claims that noncompliance was caused by
upset, and before an action for noncompliance, is not a
final administrative action subject to judicial review.

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative
defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly
signed, contemporaneous operating logs or other
relevant evidence that:

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can
identify the cause(s) of the upset;

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly
operated;

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as
required in Part III I; and

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures
required under Part III S.

3. In any enforcement proceeding, the permittee seeking
to establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden
of proof.

W. Inspection and entry.  The permittee shall allow the
director or an authorized representative, upon presentation of
credentials and other documents as may be required by law,
to:

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a
regulated facility or activity is located or conducted or
where records must be kept under the conditions of this
permit;

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any
records that must be kept under the conditions of this
permit;

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment
(including monitoring and control equipment), practices,
or operations regulated or required under this permit;
and

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the
purposes of ensuring permit compliance or as otherwise
authorized by the federal Clean Water Act and the State
Water Control Law, any substances or parameters at
any location.

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall
be deemed reasonable during regular business hours and
whenever the facility is discharging.  Nothing contained
herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an
emergency.

X. Permit actions.  Permits may be modified, revoked and
reissued, or terminated for cause.  The filing of a request by
the permittee for a permit modification, revocation and

reissuance, or termination, or a notification of planned
changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay any
permit condition.

Y. Transfer of permits.

1. Permits are not transferable to any person except
after notice to the department.  Except as provided in
Part III Y 2, a permit may be transferred by the permittee
to a new owner or operator only if the permit has been
modified or revoked and reissued, or a minor
modification made, to identify the new permittee and
incorporate such other requirements as may be
necessary under the State Water Control Law and the
federal Clean Water Act.

2. As an alternative to transfers under Part III Y 1, this
permit may be automatically transferred to a new
permittee if:

a. The current permittee notifies the department at
least 30 days in advance of the proposed transfer of
the title to the facility or property;

b. The notice includes a written agreement between
the existing and new permittees containing a specific
date for transfer of permit responsibility, coverage,
and liability between them; and

c. The board does not notify the existing permittee and
the proposed new permittee of its intent to modify or
revoke and reissue the permit.  If this notice is not
received, the transfer is effective on the date specified
in the agreement mentioned in Part III Y 2 b.

Z. Severability.  The provisions of this permit are
severable, and if any provision of this permit or the
application of any provision of this permit to any circumstance
is held invalid, the application of such provision to other
circumstances and the remainder of this permit shall not be
affected thereby.

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-105; Filed November 3, 1998, 3:45 p.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 13.  HOUSING

VIRGINIA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE:  The Virginia Housing Development
Authority is exempt from the Administrative Process Act
(§ 9-6.14:1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) pursuant to
§ 9-6.14:4.1 A 4; however, under the provisions of
§ 9-6.14:22, it is required to publish all proposed and final
regulations.

Title of Regulation:  13 VAC 10-180-10 et seq.  Rules and
Regulations for Allocation of Low-Income Housing Tax
Credits (amending 13 VAC 10-180-10, 13 VAC 10-180-50,
13 VAC 10-180-60 and 13 VAC 10-180-90).

Statutory Authority:  § 36-55.30:3 of the Code of Virginia.
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Summary:

The proposed amendments (i) eliminate definitions that
are no longer needed; (ii) require the submission of a
local notification form prior to the application deadline; (iii)
require applicants to submit a completed IRS Form 8821
with a tax credit application; (iv) adjust the scoring for
preliminary plan of development, final plan of
development, proper zoning and building permits; (v) add
a scoring category for providing, prior to the application
deadline, the documentation to be sent by the authority
to the locality in which the proposed development is to
be located; (vi) limit points for new construction in the
Northern Virginia tax credit pool and add points for new
construction in the rural tax credit pool; (viii) award points
to applications providing for developments with brick
exteriors; (ix) delete points for location of proposed
developments; (x) remove the use of estimated numbers
and provide for the use of standard numbers in the
efficient use of tax credit scoring categories; (xi) provide
for a uniform scoring threshold; (xii) limit developer’s fees
in subsequent tax credit applications; (xiii) require market
studies from any applicant that receives a reservation of
tax credits; and (xi) make other technical and clarification
changes.

13 VAC 10-180-10.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter,
shall have the following meaning, unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Applicant" means an applicant for credits under this
chapter and also means the owner of the development to
whom the credits are allocated.

"Credits" means the low-income housing tax credits as
described in § 42 of the IRC.

"Estimated highest gross square footage per unit" means
in subdivision 3 a of 13 VAC 10-180-60, the highest total
usable, heated square footage, as certified by an architect
(or contractor for rehabilitation developments of 24 units or
less), for each type of unit as defined by the number of
bedrooms (efficiency, one-bedroom unit, two-bedroom unit,
three- or more bedroom units) in any development in the
state (or, if the executive director shall so determine, in each
pool) for which an application for credits has been filed at the
time of assignment of points pursuant to 13 VAC 10-180-60.

"Estimated lowest gross square footage per unit" means in
subdivision 3 a of 13 VAC 10-180-60, the lowest total usable,
heated square footage, as certified by an architect (or
contractor for rehabilitation developments of 24 units or
less), for each type of unit as defined by the number of
bedrooms (efficiency, one-bedroom unit, two-bedroom unit,
three- or more bedroom units) in any development in the
state (or, if the executive director shall so determine, in each
pool) for which an application for credits has been filed at the
time of assignment of points pursuant to 13 VAC 10-180-60.

"Estimated highest per bedroom cost for new construction
units" means, in subdivision 6 d of 13 VAC 10-180-60, the

highest total development cost (adjusted by the authority for
location) per bedroom, as proposed by an applicant, in any
development in the state (or, if the executive director shall so
determine, in each pool) for which an application for credits
has been filed at the time of assignment of points pursuant
to 13 VAC 10-180-60 and which is composed solely of new
construction units.

"Estimated highest per bedroom cost for rehabilitation
units" means, in subdivision 6 d of 13 VAC 10-180-60, the
highest total development cost (adjusted by the authority for
location) per bedroom, as proposed by an applicant, in any
development in the state (or, if the executive director shall so
determine, in each pool) for which an application for credits
has been filed at the time of assignment of points pursuant
to 13 VAC 10-180-60 and which is composed solely of
rehabilitation units.

"Estimated highest per bedroom credit amount for new
construction units" means, in subdivision 6 b of 13 VAC
10-180-60, the highest amount of credits per bedroom
(within the low-income housing units), as requested by an
applicant, in any development in the state (or, if the
executive director shall so determine, in each pool) for which
an application for credits has been filed at the time of
assignment of points pursuant to 13 VAC 10-180-60 and
which is composed solely of new construction units.

"Estimated highest per bedroom credit amount for
rehabilitation units" means, in subdivision 6 b of 13 VAC
10-180-60, the highest amount of credits per bedroom
(within the low-income housing units), as requested by an
applicant, in any development in the state (or, if the
executive director shall so determine, in each pool) for which
an application for credits has been filed at the time of
assignment of points pursuant to 13 VAC 10-180-60 and
which is composed solely of rehabilitation units.

"Estimated highest per unit cost for new construction units"
means, in subdivision 6 c of 13 VAC 10-180-60, the highest
total development cost (adjusted by the authority for
location), as proposed by an applicant, in any development
in the state (or if the executive director shall so determine, in
each pool) for which an application for credits has been filed
at the time of assignment of points pursuant to 13 VAC
10-180-60 and which is composed solely of new construction
units.

"Estimated highest per unit cost for rehabilitation units"
means, in subdivision 6 c of 13 VAC 10-180-60, the highest
total development cost (adjusted by the authority for
location), as proposed by an applicant, in any development
in the state (or if the executive director shall so determine, in
each pool) for which an application for credits has been filed
at the time of assignment of points pursuant to 13 VAC
10-180-60 and which is composed solely of rehabilitation
units.

"Estimated highest per unit credit amount for new
construction units" means, in subdivision 6 a of 13 VAC
10-180-60, the highest amount of credits per low-income
unit, as requested by an applicant, in any development in the
state (or if the executive director shall so determine, in each
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pool) for which an application for credits has been filed at the
time of assignment of points pursuant to 13 VAC 10-180-60
and which is composed solely of new construction units.

"Estimated highest per unit credit amount for rehabilitation
units" means, in subdivision 6 a of 13 VAC 10-180-60, the
highest amount of credits per low-income unit, as requested
by an applicant, in any development in the state (or, if the
executive director shall so determine, in each pool) for which
an application for credits has been filed at the time of
assignment of points pursuant to 13 VAC 10-180-60 and
which is composed solely of rehabilitation units.

"IRC" means the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as
amended, and the rules, regulations, notices and other
official pronouncements promulgated thereunder.

"IRS" means the Internal Revenue Service.

"Low-income housing units" means those units which are
defined as "low income units" under § 42 of the IRC.

"Qualified application" means a written request for tax
credits which is submitted on a form or forms prescribed or
approved by the executive director together with all
documents required by the authority for submission and
meets all minimum scoring requirements.

"Qualified low-income buildings" or "qualified low-income
development" means the buildings or development which
meets the applicable requirements in § 42 of the IRC to
qualify for an allocation of credits thereunder.

13 VAC 10-180-50.  Application.

Prior to submitting an application for reservation, applicants
shall submit on such form as required by the executive
director, the letter for authority signature by which the
authority shall notify the chief executive officers (or the
equivalent) of the local jurisdictions in which the
developments are to be located to provide such officers a
reasonable opportunity to comment on the developments.
When scoring the applications, the executive director will
award points to those applications that submit the form within
the deadlines established by the executive director and
subtract points from those applications that fail to submit the
form by such deadlines.

Application for a reservation of credits shall be
commenced by filing with the authority an application, on
such form or forms as the executive director may from time
to time prescribe or approve, together with such documents
and additional information as may be requested by the
authority in order to comply with the IRC and this chapter
and to make the reservation and allocation of the credits in
accordance with this chapter.  The executive director may
reject any application from consideration for a reservation or
allocation of credits if in such application the applicant does
not provide the proper documentation or information on the
forms prescribed by the executive director.

The application should include a breakdown of sources
and uses of funds sufficiently detailed to enable the authority
to ascertain what costs will be incurred and what will

comprise the total financing package, including the various
subsidies and the anticipated syndication or placement
proceeds that will be raised.  The following cost information,
if applicable, needs to be included in the application:  site
acquisition costs, site preparation costs, construction costs,
construction contingency, general contractor's overhead and
profit, architect and engineer's fees, permit and survey fees,
insurance premiums, real estate taxes during construction,
title and recording fees, construction period interest,
financing fees, organizational costs, rent-up and marketing
costs, accounting and auditing costs, working capital and
operating deficit reserves, syndication and legal fees,
development fees, and other costs and fees.  All applications
seeking credits for rehabilitation of existing units must
provide for construction costs of at least $5,000 per unit.

Each application shall include evidence of (i) sole fee
simple ownership of the site of the proposed development by
the applicant, (ii) lease of such site by the applicant for a
term exceeding the compliance period (as defined in the
IRC) or for such longer period as the applicant represents in
the application that the development will be held for
occupancy by low-income persons or families or (iii) right to
acquire or lease such site pursuant to a valid and binding
written option or contract between the applicant and the fee
simple owner of such site for a period extending at least four
months beyond any application deadline established by the
executive director, provided that such option or contract shall
have no conditions within the discretion or control of such
owner of such site.  A contract that permits the owner to
continue to market the property, even if the applicant has a
right of first refusal, does not constitute the requisite site
control required in clause (iii) above.  No application shall be
considered for a reservation or allocation of credits unless
such evidence is submitted with the application and the
authority determines that the applicant owns, leases or has
the right to acquire or lease the site of the proposed
development as described in the preceding sentence.  In the
case of acquisition and rehabilitation of developments
funded by Rural Development of the U.S. Department of
Agriculture, the site control document does not need to be
approved by all partners of the seller if the general partner of
the seller executing the site control document provides (i) an
attorney's opinion that such general partner has the authority
to enter into the site control document and such document is
binding on the seller or (ii) a letter from the existing
syndicator indicating a willingness to secure the necessary
partner approvals upon the reservation of credits.

Each application shall include, in a form or forms required
by the executive director, a certification of previous
participation listing all residential real estate developments in
which the general partner(s) or their affiliates has or had an
ownership or participation interest, the location of such
developments, the number of residential units and
low-income housing units in such developments and such
other information as more fully specified by the executive
director.  Furthermore, the applicant must indicate, for
developments receiving an allocation of tax credits under
§ 42 of the IRC, whether any such development has ever
been determined to be out of compliance with the
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requirements of the IRC by the appropriate state housing
credit agency, and if so, an explanation of such
noncompliance and whether it has been corrected.  The
executive director may reject any application from
consideration for a reservation or allocation of credits unless
the above information is submitted with the application.  If,
after reviewing the above information or any other
information available to the authority, the executive director
determines that the general partner(s) do not have the
experience, financial capacity and predisposition to
regulatory compliance necessary to carry out the
responsibilities for the acquisition, construction, ownership,
operation, marketing, maintenance and management of the
proposed development or the ability to fully perform all the
duties and obligations relating to the proposed development
under law, regulation and the reservation and allocation
documents of the authority or if an applicant is in substantial
noncompliance with the requirements of the IRC, the
executive director, in his sole discretion, may reject
applications by the applicant.

The application should include pro forma financial
statements setting forth the anticipated cash flows during the
credit period as defined in the IRC. The application shall
include a certification by the applicant as to the full extent of
all federal, state and local subsidies which apply (or which
the applicant expects to apply) with respect to each building
or development.  The executive director may also require the
submission of a legal opinion or other assurances
satisfactory to the executive director as to, among other
things, compliance of the proposed development with the
IRC and a certification, together with an opinion of an
independent certified public accountant or other assurances
satisfactory to the executive director, setting forth the
calculation of the amount of credits requested by the
application and certifying, among other things, that under the
existing facts and circumstances the applicant will be eligible
for the amount of credits requested.

Each application shall include a valid IRS Form 8821, Tax
Information Authorization, signed by the applicant naming the
authority as the appointee to receive tax information.  The
Forms 8821 of all applicants that receive an allocation of
credits will be forwarded to the IRS, which will authorize the
IRS to furnish the authority with all IRS information pertaining
to the applicants’ developments, including audit findings and
assessments.

If an applicant submits an application for reservation or
allocation of credits that contains a material
misrepresentation or fails to include information regarding
developments involving the applicant that have been
determined to be out of compliance with the requirements of
the IRC, the executive director may reject the application or
stop processing such application upon discovery of such
misrepresentation or noncompliance and may prohibit such
applicant from submitting applications for credits to the
authority in the future.

In any situation in which the executive director deems it
appropriate, he may treat two or more applications as a
single application.

The executive director may establish criteria and
assumptions to be used by the applicant in the calculation of
amounts in the application, and any such criteria and
assumptions may be indicated on the application form,
instructions or other communication available to the public.

The executive director may prescribe such deadlines for
submission of applications for reservation and allocation of
credits for any calendar year as he shall deem necessary or
desirable to allow sufficient processing time for the authority
to make such reservations and allocations.  If the executive
director determines that an applicant for a reservation of
credits has failed to submit one or more mandatory
attachments to the application by the reservation application
deadline, he may allow such applicant an opportunity to
submit such attachments within a certain time established by
the executive director with a ten-point scoring penalty per
item.

After receipt of the applications, if necessary, the authority
shall notify the chief executive officers (or the equivalent) of
the local jurisdictions in which the developments are to be
located and shall provide such officers a reasonable
opportunity to comment on the developments.

The development for which an application is submitted
may be, but shall not be required to be, financed by the
authority.  If any such development is to be financed by the
authority, the application for such financing shall be
submitted to and received by the authority in accordance
with its applicable rules and regulations.

The authority may consider and approve, in accordance
herewith, both the reservation and the allocation of credits to
buildings or developments which the authority may own or
may intend to acquire, construct and/or rehabilitate.

13 VAC 10-180-60.  Review and selection of applications;
reservation of credits.

The executive director may divide the amount of credits
into separate pools.  The division of such pools may be
based upon one or more of the following factors:
geographical areas of the state;  types or characteristics of
housing, construction, financing, owners, occupants, or
source of credits;  or any other factors deemed appropriate
by him to best meet the housing needs of the
Commonwealth.  In any situation in which the executive
director deems appropriate, he may treat two or more
applications as a single application.

An amount, as determined by the executive director, not
less than 10% of the Commonwealth's annual state housing
credit ceiling for credits, shall be available for reservation
and allocation to buildings or developments with respect to
which the following requirements are met:

1. A "qualified nonprofit organization" (as described in
§ 42(h)(5)(C) of the IRC) which is authorized to do
business in Virginia and is determined by the executive
director, on the basis of such relevant factors as he shall
consider appropriate, to be substantially based or active
in the community of the development and is to
materially participate (regular, continuous and
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substantial involvement as determined by the executive
director) in the development and operation of the
development throughout the "compliance period" (as
defined in § 42(i)(1) of the IRC); and

2. (i) The "qualified nonprofit organization" described in
the preceding subdivision 1 is to own (directly or through
a partnership), prior to the reservation of credits to the
buildings or development, all of the general partnership
interests of the ownership entity thereof; (ii) the
executive director of the authority shall have determined
that such qualified nonprofit organization is not affiliated
with or controlled by a for-profit organization;  (iii) the
executive director of the authority shall have determined
that the qualified nonprofit organization was not formed
by one or more individuals or for-profit entities for the
principal purpose of being included in any nonprofit
pools (as defined below) established by the executive
director, and (iv) the executive director of the authority
shall have determined that no staff member, officer or
member of the board of directors of such qualified
nonprofit organization will materially participate, directly
or indirectly, in the proposed development as a for-profit
entity.

In making the determinations required by the preceding
subdivision 1 and clauses (ii), (iii) and (iv) of subdivision 2 of
this section, the executive director may apply such factors as
he deems relevant, including, without limitation, the past
experience and anticipated future activities of the qualified
nonprofit organization, the sources and manner of funding of
the qualified nonprofit organization, the date of formation and
expected life of the qualified nonprofit organization, the
number of paid staff members and volunteers of the qualified
nonprofit organization, the nature and extent of the qualified
nonprofit organization's proposed involvement in the
construction or rehabilitation and the operation of the
proposed development, the relationship of the staff, directors
or other principals involved in the formation or operation of
the qualified nonprofit organization with any persons or
entities to be involved in the proposed development on a
for-profit basis, and the proposed involvement in the
construction or rehabilitation and operation of the proposed
development by any persons or entities involved in the
proposed development on a for-profit basis.  The executive
director may include in the application of the foregoing
factors any other nonprofit organizations which, in his
determination, are related (by shared directors, staff or
otherwise) to the qualified nonprofit organization for which
such determination is to be made.

For purposes of the foregoing requirements, a qualified
nonprofit organization shall be treated as satisfying such
requirements if any qualified corporation (as defined in
§ 42(h)(5)(D)(ii) of the IRC) in which such organization (by
itself or in combination with one or more qualified nonprofit
organizations) holds 100% of the stock satisfies such
requirements.

The applications shall include such representations and
warranties and such information as the executive director
may require in order to determine that the foregoing

requirements have been satisfied.  In no event shall more
than 90% of the Commonwealth's annual state housing
credit ceiling for credits be available for developments other
than those satisfying the preceding requirements.  The
executive director may establish such pools ("nonprofit
pools") of credits as he may deem appropriate to satisfy the
foregoing requirement.  If any such nonprofit pools are so
established, the executive director may rank the applications
therein and reserve credits to such applications before
ranking applications and reserving credits in other pools, and
any such applications in such nonprofit pools not receiving
any reservations of credits or receiving such reservations in
amounts less than the full amount permissible hereunder
(because there are not enough credits then available in such
nonprofit pools to make such reservations) shall be assigned
to such other pool as shall be appropriate hereunder;
provided, however, that if credits are later made available
(pursuant to the IRC or as a result of either a termination or
reduction of a reservation of credits made from any nonprofit
pools or a rescission in whole or in part of an allocation of
credits made from such nonprofit pools or otherwise) for
reservation and allocation by the authority during the same
calendar year as that in which applications in the nonprofit
pools have been so assigned to other pools as described
above, the executive director may, in such situations,
designate all or any portion of such additional credits for the
nonprofit pools (or for any other pools as he shall determine)
and may, if additional credits have been so designated for
the nonprofit pools, reassign such applications to such
nonprofit pools, rank the applications therein and reserve
credits to such applications in accordance with the IRC and
this chapter.  In the event that during any round (as
authorized hereinbelow) of application review and ranking
the amount of credits reserved within such nonprofit pools is
less than the total amount of credits made available therein,
the executive director may either (i) leave such unreserved
credits in such nonprofit pools for reservation and allocation
in any subsequent round or rounds or (ii) redistribute, to the
extent permissible under the IRC, such unreserved credits to
such other pool or pools as the executive director shall
designate reservations therefor in the full amount permissible
hereunder (which applications shall hereinafter be referred to
as "excess qualified applications") or (iii) carry over such
unreserved credits to the next succeeding calendar year for
inclusion in the state housing credit ceiling (as defined in
§ 42(h)(3)(C) of the IRC) for such year.  Notwithstanding
anything to the contrary herein, no reservation of credits
shall be made from any nonprofit pools to any application
with respect to which the qualified nonprofit organization has
not yet been legally formed in accordance with the
requirements of the IRC. In addition, no application for
credits from any nonprofit pools or any combination of pools
may receive a reservation or allocation of annual credits in
an amount greater than $500,000 unless credits remain
available in such nonprofit pools after all eligible applications
for credits from such nonprofit pools receive a reservation of
credits.

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein, applicants
relying on the experience of a local housing authority for
developer experience points described hereinbelow and/or
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using Hope VI funds from the U.S. Department of Housing
and Urban Development in connection with the proposed
development shall not be eligible to receive a reservation of
credits from any nonprofit pools.

The authority shall review each application, and, based on
the application and other information available to the
authority, shall assign points to each application as follows:

1. Readiness.

a. Written evidence satisfactory to the authority of (i)
of preliminary approval by local authorities of the plan
of development for the proposed development (30
points) or (ii) approval by local authorities of the plan of
development or site plan for the proposed
development or (ii) that such approval is not required.
(20 40 points)

b. Written evidence satisfactory to the authority of
preliminary approval by local authorities of the plan of
development.  (10 points)

c. b. Written evidence satisfactory to the authority (i)
of approval by local authorities of proper zoning or
special use permit for such site or (ii) that no zoning
requirements or special use permits are applicable.
(30 40 points)

d. c. Valid building permit(s) or letter dated within
three months prior to the application deadline stating
that all approvals are in place and building permits will
be issued upon receipt of all fees.  (35 20 points)

e. d. Submission of plans and specifications or, in the
case of rehabilitation for which plans will not be used,
a unit-by-unit work write-up for such rehabilitation with
certification in such form and from such person
satisfactory to the executive director as to the
completion of such plans or specifications or work
write-up.  (20 points multiplied by the quotient
calculated by dividing the percentage of completion of
such plans and specifications or such work write-up
by 75% not to exceed 20 points.)

2. Housing needs characteristics.

a. Submission of the letter in the form prescribed by
the authority with the necessary attachments,
addressed to the current chief executive officer (or the
equivalent) of the locality in which the proposed
development is located, soliciting input on the
proposed development from the locality within the
deadlines established by the executive director.  (10
points; failure to make timely submission, minus 50
points)

b. (1) A letter dated within three months prior to the
application deadline addressed to the authority and
signed by the chief executive officer of the locality in
which the proposed development is to be located
stating, without qualification or limitation, the
following:

"The construction or rehabilitation of (name of
development) and the allocation of federal
housing tax credits available under IRC Section
42 for that development will help meet the
housing needs and priorities of (name of locality).
Accordingly, (name of locality) supports the
allocation of federal housing tax credits requested
by (name of applicant) for that development."  (50
points)

(2) No letter from the chief executive officer of the
locality in which the proposed development is to be
located, or a letter addressed to the authority and
signed by such chief executive officer stating neither
support (as described in subdivision a b (1) above)
nor opposition (as described in subdivision a b (3)
below) as to the allocation of credits to the applicant
for the development.  (25 points)

(3) A letter in response to its notification to the chief
executive officer of the locality in which the
proposed development is to be located opposing the
allocation of credits to the applicant for the
development.  In any such letter, the chief executive
officer must certify that the proposed development
is not consistent with current zoning or other
applicable land use regulations.  (0 points)

b. c. Documentation from the local authorities that the
proposed development is located in a Qualified
Census Tract (QCT) or determination by the authority
that the proposed development is located in a Difficult
Development Area as defined by the U.S. Department
of Housing and Urban Development or in an
Enterprise Zone designated by the state.  (20 points)

c. d. Commitment by the applicant to give leasing
preference to individuals and families (i) on public
housing waiting lists maintained by the local housing
authority operating in the locality in which the
proposed development is to be located and
notification of the availability of such units to the local
housing authority by the applicant.  (10 points)

d. Commitment by the applicant to give leasing
preference to individuals and families, or (ii) on
section 8 (as defined in 13 VAC 10-180-90) waiting
lists maintained by the local or nearest section 8
administrator for the locality in which the proposed
development is to be located and notification of the
availability of such units to the local section 8
administrator by the applicant.  (10 points)

e. Any of the following:  (i) firm financing
commitment(s) from the local government, housing
authority or the Rural Development of the U.S.
Department of Agriculture or (ii) a resolution passed
by the locality in which the proposed development is
to be located committing a grant or below-market rate
loan to the development or (iii) evidence from Rural
Development that the development will remain subject
to existing financing from Rural Development.  In the
case of (iii) above, if the applicant is, or has any
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common interests with, the current owner, directly or
indirectly, the application will only qualify for these
points if the applicant waives all rights to any
developer's fee and any other fees associated with the
acquisition and rehabilitation (or rehabilitation only) of
the development.  (The amount of such financing will
be divided by the total development sources of funds
and the proposed development receives two points for
each percentage point up to a maximum of 40 points.)

f. A letter in the form prescribed by the authority with
the necessary attachments, addressed to the current
chief executive officer of the locality in which the
proposed development is located, soliciting input on
the proposed development from the locality within the
deadline established by the executive director.  (5
points)

3. Development characteristics.

a. The average unit size.  (100 points multiplied by the
sum of the products calculated by multiplying, for
each unit type as defined by the number of bedrooms
per unit, (i) the quotient of the number of units of a
given unit type divided by the total number of units in
the proposed development, times (ii) the quotient of
the average actual gross square footage per unit for a
given unit type minus the estimated lowest gross
square footage per unit for a given unit type
established by the executive director divided by the
estimated highest gross square footage per unit for a
given unit type established by the executive director
minus the estimated lowest gross square footage per
unit for a given unit type established by the executive
director.)

b. (1) Increase in the housing stock attributable to new
construction or adaptive reuse of units or to the
rehabilitation of units determined by the applicable
local governmental unit to be uninhabitable and so
documented in the application.  (80 points
multiplied by the percentage of such units in the
proposed development, provided, however, if
combined with points from subdivision b (2) below,
the total points from b (1) and b (2) may not exceed
80 points.)

(2) Rehabilitation of existing housing stock.  (25
points if hard construction costs, as determined by
the executive director, equal or exceed $15,000 per
unit;  15 points if such hard construction costs equal
or exceed $5,000 up to $14,999 per unit, provided,
however, if combined with points from subdivision b
(1) above, the total points from b (1) and b (2) may
not exceed 80 points.)

Effective January 1, 1999, subdivisions b (1) and b
(2) will be replaced by the following provision:

b. Rehabilitation of existing housing stock and
adaptive reuse developments (points equal to
(percentage of households at or below 60% of the
Area Median Income (AMI) in the proposed

development's census tract (not less than 10% and
not to exceed 90%) times 100) minus 10).  Increase of
housing stock attributable to new construction in
jurisdictions other than the jurisdictions listed in the
Northern Virginia MSA Poll established by the
executive director (points equal to 90 minus
(percentage of households at or below 60% of the AMI
in the proposed development's census tract (not less
than 10% and not to exceed 90%) times 100)).
Developments involving both rehabilitation and new
construction will be scored on a weighted average of
the point calculations above.  Proposed new
construction developments to be located in the
jurisdictions listed in the rural pool established by the
executive director will receive an additional 20 points;
however, no applicant will receive more than 80 points
under this subdivision.  Notwithstanding the above, the
applicant shall receive the maximum 80 points in this
subdivision if the applicant provides a letter signed by
the chief executive officer of the locality in which the
proposed development is located requesting VHDA
the authority to override the point calculations and
provide the maximum points under this subdivision.

c. Lower amount of credit request.  (Fifty points
multiplied by the percentage by which the total
amount of the annual tax credits requested is less
than $1,000,000, including negative points using the
percentage in which the total amount of annual credits
requested is greater than $1,000,000.)

d. Evidence satisfactory to the authority documenting
the quality of the proposed development's amenities
as determined by the following:

(1) Brick exterior walls.  (15 points times the
percentage of exterior walls covered by brick)

(2) The following points are available for any
application:

(a) If all 2-bedroom units have 1.5 bathrooms and
all 3-bedroom units have 2 bathrooms.
(15 points)

(b) If all units have a washer and dryer.
(7 points)

(c) If all units have a balcony or patio.  (5 points)

(d) If all units have a washer and dryer hook-up
only.  (3 points)

(e) If all units have a dishwasher.  (2 points)

(f) If all units have a garbage disposal.  (1 point)

(g) If the development has a laundry room.
(1 point)

(h) If a community/meeting room with a minimum
of 800 square feet is provided.  (5 points)

(i) If all units have a range hood above the stove.
(1 point)
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(j) If all metal windows have thermal breaks, and
if insulating glass for windows and sliding glass
doors have a 10-year warranty against breakage
of the seal from date of delivery.  (1 point)

(k) If all insulation complies with Virginia Power
Energy Efficient Home Requirements, with a
minimum R=30 insulation for roofs.  (2 points)

(l) If all refrigerators are frost free, a minimum
size of 14 cubic feet, and provide separate doors
for freezer and refrigerator compartments.
(1 point)

(m) If all exterior doors exposed to weather are
metal.  (1 point)

(2) (3) The following points are available to
applications electing to serve elderly and/or
handicapped tenants as elected in subdivision 4 (a)
of this section:

(a) If all cooking ranges have front controls.
(1 point)

(b) If all units are adaptable for the handicapped
in buildings with elevators.  (2 points)

(c) If all units have an emergency call system.
(3 points)

(d) If all bathrooms have grab bars and
slip-resistant bottoms for bathtubs.  (1 point)

(e) If all bathrooms have an independent or
supplemental heat source.  (1 point)

(f) If all corridors have a handrail on one side.
(1 point)

(3) (4) The following points are available to projects
which rehabilitate or adaptively reuse an existing
structure:

(a) If all bathrooms, including ones with windows,
have exhaust fans ducted out.  (1 point)

(b) If all existing, single-glazed windows in good
condition have storm windows, and all windows in
poor condition are replaced with new windows
with integral storm sash or insulating glass.  The
insulating glass metal windows must have a
thermal break.  The insulated glass must have a
10-year warranty against breakage of the seal.
(2 points)

(c) If all apartments have a minimum of one
electric smoke detector with battery backup.
(1 point)

(d) If all bathrooms have ground fault interrupter
electrical receptacles.  (1 point)

(e) If the structure is historic, by virtue of being
listed individually in the National Register of
Historic Places, or due to its location in a
registered historic district and certified by the

Secretary of the Interior as being of historical
significance to the district, and the rehabilitation
will be completed in such a manner as to be
eligible for historic rehabilitation tax credits.
(5 points)

(f) All buildings have a minimum insulation of
R=30 for attics and R=19 for crawl spaces.
(2 points)

(g) All public areas, such as community rooms,
laundry rooms, and rental office are accessible to
persons in wheelchairs.  (1 point)

The maximum number of points that may be awarded
under any combination of the scoring categories
under subdivision subdivisions 3 d (2), (3) and (4) of
this section is 30 points.

e. Location of the proposed development in a
geographic market (as defined by the executive
director) that minimizes the overlap with the markets
of existing tax credit developments.  (0 to 60 points,
as determined by the executive director on the basis
of such factors as he deems relevant, which may
include, but not be limited to, distance from other tax
credit developments, population density, jurisdictional
boundaries, the size of existing tax credit
developments in the geographic area and the size of
the proposed development.)

4. Tenant population characteristics.

a. Commitment by the applicant to lease low-income
housing units in the proposed development only to
one or more of the following:  (i) persons 55 years or
older, (ii) homeless persons or families, or (iii)
physically or mentally disabled persons.  Applicants
committing to serve physically disabled persons must
meet the requirements of the federal Americans with
Disabilities Act (42 USC § 12101 et seq.). Applicants
receiving points under this subdivision a may not
receive points under subdivision b below.  (30 points)

b. Commitment by the applicant to creating a
development in which 20% or more of the low-income
units have three or more bedrooms.  Applicants
receiving points under this subdivision b may not
receive points under subdivision a above.  (30 points)

c. Commitment by the applicant to provide relocation
assistance to displaced households at such level
required by the authority.  (30 points)

5. Sponsor characteristics.

a. Evidence that the development team for the
proposed development has the demonstrated
experience, qualifications and ability to perform.  In
comparison with the proposed development, the
controlling general partner or partners, or principals of
the controlling general partner or partners acting in
the capacity of controlling general partner or partners,
has placed in service one or more developments
which, in the aggregate, would result in the highest
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number of points under one of the following:  (i) at
least an equal number of low-income housing units
(60 points);  or (ii) two or more times as many
low-income housing units (90 points). For purposes of
this subdivision 5 a of this section, each low-income
housing tax credit unit developed in Virginia, as
evidenced by the issuance of IRS forms 8609, shall
count as a full low-income housing unit;  each
low-income housing tax credit unit developed out of
Virginia shall count as 75% of a low-income housing
unit;  any other developed residential units (either for
sale or rental) shall count as 50% of a low-income
unit.  In implementing the scoring of this subdivision
a, (i) only existing units will be counted, (ii) the units of
the proposed development will not be counted, and
(iii) the executive director may determine that multiple
applications for which he deems to be a single
development shall be considered a single application.

b. Participation by a qualified nonprofit organization
authorized to do business in Virginia and substantially
based or active in the community of the development
that (i) acts as a managing general partner under the
partnership agreement (20 points);  or (ii) materially
participates in the development and the operation of
the development and owns at least a 10% ownership
interest in the general partnership interest of the
partnership (10 points). No staff member, officer or
member of the board of directors of such qualified
nonprofit organization may materially participate,
directly or indirectly, in the proposed development as
a for-profit entity.  Points awarded under clause (ii) of
this subdivision b may not be combined with any
points awarded under clause (i).

6. Efficient use of resources.

a. The percentage by which the total of the amount of
credits per low-income housing unit (the "per unit
credit amount") of the proposed development is less
than the weighted average of the estimated highest
per unit credit amount standard per unit credit
amounts established by the executive director for new
construction units and the estimated highest per unit
credit amount for, adaptive reuse units and
rehabilitation units, respectively, based upon the
number of new construction units, adaptive reuse
units and rehabilitation units in the proposed
development.  (If the per unit credit amount of the
proposed development equals or exceeds such
weighted average the applicable standard per unit
credit amount established by the executive director,
the proposed development is assigned no points; if
the per unit credit amount of the proposed
development is less than such weighted average the
applicable standard per unit credit amount established
by the executive director, the difference is calculated
as a percentage of such weighted average standard
per unit credit amount established by the executive
director, and then multiplied by 120 points.)

b. The percentage by which the total of the amount of
credits per bedroom in such low-income housing units
(the "per bedroom credit amount") of the proposed
development is less than the weighted average of the
estimated highest standard per unit credit amounts
established by the executive director per bedroom
credit amount for new construction units and the
estimated highest per bedroom credit amount for,
adaptive reuse units and rehabilitation units,
respectively, based upon the number of new
construction units, adaptive reuse units and
rehabilitation units in the proposed development.  (If
the per bedroom credit amount of the proposed
development equals or exceeds such weighted
average the applicable standard per unit credit amount
established by the executive director, the proposed
development is assigned no points; if the per bedroom
credit amount of the proposed development is less
than such weighted average the applicable standard
per unit credit amount established by the executive
director, the difference is calculated as a percentage
of such weighted average standard per unit credit
amount established by the executive director, and
then multiplied by 120 points.)

c. The percentage by which the cost per low-income
housing unit (the "per unit cost"), adjusted by the
authority for location, of the proposed development is
less than the weighted average of the estimated
highest standard per unit credit amounts established
by the executive director per unit cost for new
construction units and the estimated highest per unit
cost for, adaptive reuse units and rehabilitation units,
respectively, based upon the number of new
construction units, adaptive reuse units and
rehabilitation units in the proposed development.  (If
the per unit cost of the proposed development equals
or exceeds such weighted average the applicable
standard per unit credit amount established by the
executive director, the proposed development is
assigned no points; if the per unit cost of the proposed
development is less than such weighted average the
applicable standard per unit credit amount established
by the executive director, the difference is calculated
as a percentage of such weighted average standard
per unit credit amount established by the executive
director, and then multiplied by 55 points.)

d. The percentage by which the total of the cost per
bedroom in such low-income housing units (the "per
bedroom cost"), adjusted by the authority for location,
of the proposed development is less than the weighted
average of the estimated highest standard per unit
credit amounts established by the executive director
per bedroom cost for new construction units and the
estimated highest per bedroom cost for, adaptive
reuse units and rehabilitation units based upon the
number of new construction units, adaptive reuse
units and rehabilitation units in the proposed
development.  (If the per bedroom cost of the
proposed development equals or exceeds such
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weighted average the applicable standard per unit
credit amount established by the executive director,
the proposed development is assigned no points; if
the per bedroom cost of the proposed development is
less than such weighted average the applicable
standard per unit credit amount established by the
executive director, the difference is calculated as a
percentage of such weighted average standard per
unit credit amount established by the executive
director, and then multiplied by 55 points.)

With respect to this subdivision 6 only, the term "new
construction units" shall be deemed to include adaptive
reuse units and units determined by the applicable local
governmental unit to be uninhabitable which are
intended to be rehabilitated.  Also, For the purpose of
calculating the points to be assigned pursuant to such
subdivision 6 above, all credit amounts shall be those
requested in the applicable application include any
credits previously allocated to the development, and the
per unit credit amount and per bedroom credit amount
for any building documented by the applicant to be
located in a qualified census tract or difficult
development area (such tract or area being as defined in
the IRC) shall be determined based upon 100% of the
eligible basis of such building, in the case of new
construction, or 100% of the rehabilitation expenditures,
in the case of rehabilitation of an existing building,
notwithstanding any use by the applicant of 130% of
such eligible basis or rehabilitation expenditures in
determining the amount of credits as provided in the
IRC.

After points have been assigned to each application in
the manner described above, the executive director shall
compute the total number of points assigned to each
such application.  Notwithstanding any other provisions
herein, any application which is assigned a total number
of points less than a threshold amount of 500 points for
rehabilitation developments, or 525 points for new
construction developments, or, if both rehabilitation and
new construction, the weighted average of the foregoing
threshold amount of points based upon the number of
units to be rehabilitated and the number of units to be
newly constructed 525 points shall be rejected from
further consideration hereunder and shall not be eligible
for any reservation or allocation of credits.

7. Bonus points.  For each application to which the total
number of points assigned is equal to or more than the
above-described threshold amount of points, bonus
points shall be assigned as follows:

a. Commitment by the applicant to impose income
limits on the low-income housing units throughout the
extended use period (as defined in the IRC) below
those required by the IRC in order for the
development to be a qualified low-income
development.  (The product of (i) 50 points multiplied
by (ii) the percentage of low-income housing units
restricted for occupancy to households at or below
50% of the area median gross income.)

b. Commitment by the applicant to maintain the
low-income housing units in the development as a
qualified low-income housing development beyond the
15-year compliance period as defined in the IRC;
such commitment beyond the end of the 15-year
compliance period and prior to the end of the 30-year
extended use period (as defined in the IRC) being
deemed to represent a waiver of the applicant's right
under the IRC to cause a termination of the extended
use period in the event the authority is unable to
present during the period specified in the IRC a
qualified contract (as defined in the IRC) for the
acquisition of the building by any person who will
continue to operate the low-income portion thereof as
a qualified low-income building.  Applicants receiving
points under this subdivision b may not receive bonus
points under subdivision c below.  (40 points for a
15-year commitment beyond the 15-year compliance
period or 50 points for a 25-year commitment beyond
the 15-year compliance period.)

c. Commitment by the applicant to sell the proposed
development by option or right of first refusal to a
qualified nonprofit organization authorized to do
business in Virginia and substantially based or active
in the community of the development, at the end of
the 15-year compliance period, as defined by IRC, for
a price not to exceed the outstanding debt and exit
taxes of the for profit entity.  The applicant must
record such option or right of first refusal as an exhibit
to the low-income housing commitment described in
13 VAC 10-180-70 and give the qualified nonprofit
veto power over any refinancings of the development.
Applicants receiving points under this subdivision c
may not receive bonus points under subdivision b
above.  (50 points)

The executive director may exclude and disregard any
application which he determines is not submitted in good
faith or which he determines would not be financially
feasible.

Upon assignment of points to all of the applications, the
executive director shall rank the applications based on the
number of points so assigned.  If any pools shall have been
established, each application shall be assigned to a pool and
shall be ranked within such pool.  Those applications
assigned more points shall be ranked higher than those
applications assigned fewer points.

In the event of a tie in the number of points assigned to
two or more applications within the same pool, or, if none,
within the state, and in the event that the amount of credits
available for reservation to such applications is determined
by the executive director to be insufficient for the financial
feasibility of all of the developments described therein, the
authority shall, to the extent necessary to fully utilize the
amount of credits available for reservation within such pool
or, if none, within the Commonwealth, select one or more of
the applications with the most bonus points as described
above, and each application so selected shall receive (in
order based upon the number of such bonus points,
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beginning with the application with the most bonus points) a
reservation of credits in the lesser of the full amount
determined by the executive director to be permissible
hereunder or the amount of credits remaining therefor in
such pool or, if none, in the Commonwealth.  If two or more
of the tied applications receive the same number of bonus
points and if the amount of credits available for reservation
to such tied applications is determined by the executive
director to be insufficient for the financial feasibility of all the
developments described therein, the executive director shall
select one or more of such applications by lot, and each
application so selected by lot shall receive (in order of such
selection by lot) the lesser of the full amount determined by
the executive director to be permissible hereunder or the
amount of credits remaining therefor in such pool or, if none,
in the Commonwealth.

For each application which may receive a reservation of
credits, the executive director shall determine the amount, as
of the date of the deadline for submission of applications for
reservation of credits, to be necessary for the financial
feasibility of the development and its viability as a qualified
low-income development throughout the credit period under
the IRC. In making this determination, the executive director
shall consider the sources and uses of the funds, the
available federal, state and local subsidies committed to the
development, the total financing planned for the development
as well as the investment proceeds or receipts expected by
the authority to be generated with respect to the
development, and the percentage of the credit dollar amount
used for development costs other than the costs of
intermediaries.  He shall also examine the development's
costs, including developer's fees and other amounts in the
application, for reasonableness and, if he determines that
such costs or other amounts are unreasonably high, he shall
reduce them to amounts that he determines, in his sole
discretion, to be reasonable.  The executive director shall
review the applicant's projected rental income, operating
expenses and debt service for the credit period.  The
executive director may establish such criteria and
assumptions as he shall deem reasonable for the purpose of
making such determination, including, without limitation,
criteria as to the reasonableness of fees and profits and
assumptions as to the amount of net syndication proceeds to
be received (based upon such percentage of the credit dollar
amount used for development costs, other than the costs of
intermediaries, as the executive director shall determine to
be reasonable for the proposed development), increases in
the market value of the development, and increases in
operating expenses, rental income and, in the case of
applications without firm financing commitments (as defined
hereinabove) at fixed interest rates, debt service on the
proposed mortgage loan.  The executive director may, if he
deems it appropriate, consider the development to be a part
of a larger development.  In such a case, the executive
director may consider, examine, review and establish any or
all of the foregoing items as to the larger development in
making such determination for the development.

At such time or times during each calendar year as the
executive director shall designate, the executive director shall

reserve credits to applications in descending order of ranking
within each pool, if applicable, until either substantially all
credits therein are reserved or all qualified applications
therein have received reservations.  (For the purpose of the
preceding sentence, if there is not more than a de minimis
amount, as determined by the executive director, of credits
remaining in a pool after reservations have been made,
"substantially all" of the credits in such pool shall be deemed
to have been reserved.) The executive director may rank the
applications within pools at different times for different pools
and may reserve credits, based on such rankings, one or
more times with respect to each pool.  The executive director
may also establish more than one round of review and
ranking of applications and reservation of credits based on
such rankings, and he shall designate the amount of credits
to be made available for reservation within each pool during
each such round.  The amount reserved to each such
application shall be equal to the lesser of (i) the amount
requested in the application or (ii) an amount determined by
the executive director, as of the date of application, to be
necessary for the financial feasibility of the development and
its viability as a qualified low-income development
throughout the credit period under the IRC; provided,
however, that in no event shall the amount of credits so
reserved exceed the maximum amount permissible under the
IRC.

If the amount of credits available in any pool is determined
by the executive director to be insufficient for the financial
feasibility of the proposed development to which such
available credits are to be reserved, the executive director
may (i) permit the applicant to modify such proposed
development and his application so as to achieve financial
feasibility based upon the amount of such available credits, if
the credits available equal to or exceed 75% of the credits
needed for the financial feasibility of provided that the
applicant’s modified development produces at least 75% of
the units and bedrooms described in the application for the
proposed development, or (ii) move the proposed
development and the credits available to another pool, or
(iii), for developments which meet the requirements of
§ 42(h)(1)(E) of the IRC only, reserve additional credits from
the Commonwealth's annual state housing credit ceiling for
the following year in such an amount necessary for the
financial feasibility of the proposed development.  Any
modifications shall be subject to the approval of the
executive director; provided, however, that in no event shall
such modifications result in a material reduction in the
number of points assigned to the application pursuant to
13 VAC 10-180-60 this section.  The reservation of credits
from the Commonwealth's annual state housing credit ceiling
for the following year shall be made only to proposed
developments that rank high enough to receive some credits
from the state housing credit ceiling for the current year.  If
any credits remain in any pool after accepting any
modifications to an applicant's proposed development or
moving proposed developments and credits to another pool,
the executive director may reserve the remaining credits to
any proposed development(s) scoring at or above the
minimum point threshold established by this chapter without
regard to the ranking of such application.  If necessary, the
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executive director may, for developments which meet the
requirements of § 42(h)(1)(E) of the IRC only, reserve
additional credits from the Commonwealth's annual state
housing credit ceiling for the following year in such an amount
necessary for the financial feasibility of the proposed
development.  However, any such the reservation of credits
from the Commonwealth's annual state housing credit ceiling
for the following year shall be in the sole reasonable
discretion of the executive director if he determines it to be in
the best interest of the plan.  In the event a reservation or an
allocation of credits from the current year or a prior year is
reduced, terminated or cancelled, the executive director may
substitute such credits for any credits reserved from the
following year's annual state housing credit ceiling.

In the event that during any round of application review
and ranking the amount of credits reserved within any pools
is less than the total amount of credits made available
therein during such round, the executive director may either
(i) leave such unreserved credits in such pools for
reservation and allocation in any subsequent round or
rounds or (ii) redistribute such unreserved credits to such
other pool or pools as the executive director may designate
or (iii) carry over such unreserved credits to the next
succeeding calendar year for inclusion in the state housing
credit ceiling (as defined in § 42(h)(3)(C) of the IRC) for such
year.

Notwithstanding anything contained herein, the executive
director shall not reserve more than $1.2 million of credits to
any general partner(s) or principal(s) of such general
partner(s), directly or indirectly, in any credit year.

Within a reasonable time after credits are reserved to any
applicants' applications, the executive director shall notify
each applicant for such reservations of credits either of the
amount of credits reserved to such applicant's application
(by issuing to such applicant a written binding commitment
to allocate such reserved credits subject to such terms and
conditions as may be imposed by the executive director
therein, by the IRC and by this chapter) or, as applicable,
that the applicant's application has been rejected or excluded
or has otherwise not been reserved credits in accordance
herewith.  The written binding commitment shall prohibit any
transfer, direct or indirect, of partnership interests (except
those involving the admission of limited partners) prior to the
placed-in-service date of the proposed development unless
the transfer is consented to by the executive director in his
sole discretion.  The written binding commitment shall further
limit the developers’ fees to the amounts established during
the review of the applications for reservation of credits and
such amounts shall not be increased unless consented to by
the executive director.  The executive director may, as a
condition to the binding commitment, require each applicant
to obtain a market study, in form and substance satisfactory
to the authority, that shows adequate demand for the
housing units to be produced by each applicant’s proposed
development.

If credits are reserved to any applicants for developments
which have also received an allocation of credits from prior
years, the executive director may reserve additional credits

from the current year equal to the amount of credits allocated
to such developments from prior years, provided such
previously allocated credits are returned to the authority.  Any
previously allocated credits returned to the authority under
such circumstances shall be placed into the credit pools from
which the current year’s credits are reserved to such
applicants.

The authority's board shall review and consider the
analysis and recommendation of the executive director for
the reservation of credits to an applicant, and, if it concurs
with such recommendation, it shall by resolution ratify the
reservation by the executive director of the credits to the
applicant, subject to such terms and conditions as it shall
deem necessary or appropriate to assure compliance with
the aforementioned binding commitment issued or to be
issued to the applicant, the IRC and this chapter.  If the
board determines not to ratify a reservation of credits or to
establish any such terms and conditions, the executive
director shall so notify the applicant.

Subsequent to such ratification of the reservation of
credits, the executive director may, in his discretion and
without ratification or approval by the board, increase the
amount of such reservation by an amount not to exceed 10%
of the initial reservation amount.  The executive director may
require the applicant to make a good faith deposit or to
execute such contractual agreements providing for monetary
or other remedies as it may require, or both, to assure that
the applicant will comply with all requirements under the
IRC, this chapter and the binding commitment (including,
without limitation, any requirement to conform to all of the
representations, commitments and information contained in
the application for which points were assigned pursuant to
13 VAC 10-180-60 this section).  Upon satisfaction of all
such aforementioned requirements (including any
post-allocation requirements), such deposit shall be refunded
to the applicant or such contractual agreements shall
terminate, or both, as applicable.

If, as of the date the application is approved by the
executive director, the applicant is entitled to an allocation of
the credits under the IRC, this chapter and the terms of any
binding commitment that the authority would have otherwise
issued to such applicant, the executive director may at that
time allocate the credits to such qualified low-income
buildings or development without first providing a reservation
of such credits.  This provision in no way limits the authority
of the executive director to require a good faith deposit or
contractual agreement, or both, as described in the
preceding paragraph, nor to relieve the applicant from any
other requirements hereunder for eligibility for an allocation
of credits.  Any such allocation shall be subject to ratification
by the board in the same manner as provided above with
respect to reservations.

The executive director may require that applicants to
whom credits have been reserved shall submit from time to
time or at such specified times as he shall require, written
confirmation and documentation as to the status of the
proposed development and its compliance with the
application, the binding commitment and any contractual
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agreements between the applicant and the authority.  If on
the basis of such written confirmation and documentation as
the executive director shall have received in response to
such a request, or on the basis of such other available
information, or both, the executive director determines any or
all of the buildings in the development which were to become
qualified low-income buildings will not do so within the time
period required by the IRC or will not otherwise qualify for
such credits under the IRC, this chapter or the binding
commitment, then the executive director may terminate the
reservation of such credits and draw on any good faith
deposit.  If, in lieu of or in addition to the foregoing
determination, the executive director determines that any
contractual agreements between the applicant and the
authority have been breached by the applicant, whether
before or after allocation of the credits, he may seek to
enforce any and all remedies to which the authority may then
be entitled under such contractual agreements.

The executive director may establish such deadlines for
determining the ability of the applicant to qualify for an
allocation of credits as he shall deem necessary or desirable
to allow the authority sufficient time, in the event of a
reduction or termination of the applicant's reservation, to
reserve such credits to other eligible applications and to
allocate such credits pursuant thereto.

Any material changes to the development, as proposed in
the application, occurring subsequent to the submission of
the application for the credits therefor shall be subject to the
prior written approval of the executive director.  As a
condition to any such approval, the executive director may,
as necessary to comply with this chapter, the IRC, the
binding commitment and any other contractual agreement
between the authority and the applicant, reduce the amount
of credits applied for or reserved or impose additional terms
and conditions with respect thereto.  If such changes are
made without the prior written approval of the executive
director, he may terminate or reduce the reservation of such
credits, impose additional terms and conditions with respect
thereto, seek to enforce any contractual remedies to which
the authority may then be entitled, draw on any good faith
deposit, or any combination of the foregoing.

In the event that any reservation of credits is terminated or
reduced by the executive director under this section, he may
reserve, allocate or carry over, as applicable, such credits in
such manner as he shall determine consistent with the
requirements of the IRC and this chapter.

13 VAC 10-180-90.  Monitoring for IRS compliance.

A. Federal law requires the authority to monitor
developments receiving credits for compliance with the
requirements of § 42 of the IRC and notify the IRS of any
noncompliance of which it becomes aware. Compliance with
the requirements of § 42 of the IRC is the responsibility of
the owner of the building for which the credit is allowable.
The monitoring requirements set forth hereinbelow are to
qualify the authority's allocation plan of credits. The
authority's obligation to monitor for compliance with the
requirements of § 42 of the IRC does not make the authority
liable for an owner's noncompliance, nor does the authority's

failure to discover any noncompliance by an owner excuse
such noncompliance.

B. The owner of a low-income housing development must
keep records for each qualified low-income building in the
development that show for each year in the compliance
period:

1. The total number of residential rental units in the
building (including the number of bedrooms and the size
in square feet of each residential rental unit).

2. The percentage of residential rental units in the
building that are low-income units.

3. The rent charged on each residential rental unit in the
building (including any utility allowances).

4. The number of occupants in each low-income unit,
but only if rent is determined by the number of
occupants in each unit under § 42(g)(2) of the IRC (as in
effect before the amendments made by the federal
Revenue Reconciliation Act of 1989).

5. The low-income unit vacancies in the building and
information that shows when, and to whom, the next
available units were rented.

6. The annual income certification of each low-income
tenant per unit.

7. Documentation to support each low-income tenant's
income certification (for example, a copy of the tenant's
federal income tax return, Forms W-2, or verifications of
income from third parties such as employers or state
agencies paying unemployment compensation). Tenant
income is calculated in a manner consistent with the
determination of annual income under section 8 of the
United States Housing Act of 1937, 42 USC § 1401 et
seq. ("section 8"), not in accordance with the
determination of gross income for federal income tax
liability. In the case of a tenant receiving housing
assistance payments under section 8, the
documentation requirement of this subdivision 7 is
satisfied if the public housing authority provides a
statement to the building owner declaring that the
tenant's income does not exceed the applicable income
limit under § 42(g) of the IRC.

8. The eligible basis and qualified basis of the building at
the end of the first year of the credit period.

9. The character and use of the nonresidential portion of
the building included in the building's eligible basis
under § 42(d) of the IRC (e.g., tenant facilities that are
available on a comparable basis to all tenants and for
which no separate fee is charged for use of the facilities,
or facilities reasonably required by the development).

The owner of a low-income housing development must
retain the records described in this subsection B for at least
six years after the due date (with extensions) for filing the
federal income tax return for that year. The records for the
first year of the credit period, however, must be retained for
at least six years beyond the due date (with extensions) for
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filing the federal income tax return for the last year of the
compliance period of the building.

C. The owner of a low-income housing development must
certify annually to the authority, on the form prescribed by
the authority, that, for the preceding 12-month period:

1. The development met the requirements of the 20-50
test under § 42(g)(1)(A) of the IRC or the 40-60 test
under § 42(g)(2)(B) of the IRC, whichever minimum
set-aside test was applicable to the development.

2. There was no change in the applicable fraction (as
defined in § 42(c)(1)(B) of the IRC) of any building in the
development, or that there was a change, and a
description of the change.

3. The owner has received an annual income
certification from each low-income tenant, and
documentation to support that certification; or, in the
case of a tenant receiving section 8 housing assistance
payments, the statement from a public housing authority
described in subdivision 7 of subsection B of this section
(unless the owner has obtained a waiver from the IRS
pursuant to §  42(g)(8)(B) of the IRC).

4. Each low-income unit in the development was
rent-restricted under § 42(g)(2) of the IRC.

5. All units in the development were for use by the
general public and used on a nontransient basis (except
for transitional housing for the homeless provided under
§ 42(i)(3)(B)(iii) of the IRC).

6. Each building in the development was suitable for
occupancy, taking into account local health, safety, and
building codes.

7. There was no change in the eligible basis (as defined
in § 42(d) of the IRC) of any building in the
development, or if there was a change, the nature of the
change (e.g., a common area has become commercial
space, or a fee is now charged for a tenant facility
formerly provided without charge).

8. All tenant facilities included in the eligible basis under
§ 42(d) of the IRC of any building in the development,
such as swimming pools, other recreational facilities,
and parking areas, were provided on a comparable
basis without charge to all tenants in the building.

9. If a low-income unit in the development became
vacant during the year, that reasonable attempts were or
are being made to rent that unit or the next available unit
of comparable or smaller size to tenants having a
qualifying income before any units in the development
were or will be rented to tenants not having a qualifying
income.

10. If the income of tenants of a low-income unit in the
development increased above the limit allowed in
§ 42(g)(2)(D)(ii) of the IRC, the next available unit of
comparable or smaller size in the development was or
will be rented to tenants having a qualifying income.

11. An extended low-income housing commitment as
described in § 42(h)(6) of the IRC was in effect (for
buildings subject to § 7108(c)(1) of the federal Revenue
Reconciliation Act of 1989).

Such certifications shall be made annually covering each
year of the compliance period and must be made under the
penalty of perjury.

In addition, each owner of a low-income housing
development must provide to the authority, on a form
prescribed by the authority, a certification containing such
information necessary for the Commonwealth to determine
the eligibility of tax credits for the first year of the
development's compliance period.

D. The authority will review each certification set forth in
subsection C of this section for compliance with the
requirements of § 42 of the IRC. Also, the authority will
inspect at least 20% of low-income housing developments
each year and will inspect the low-income certification, the
documentation the owner has received to support that
certification, and the rent record for each low-income tenant
in at least 20% of the low-income units in those
developments. The authority will determine which
low-income housing developments will be reviewed in a
particular year and which tenant's records are to be
inspected.

In addition, the authority, at its option, may request an
owner of a low-income housing development not selected for
the review procedure set forth above in a particular year to
submit to the authority for compliance review copies of the
annual income certifications, the documentation such owner
has received to support those certifications and the rent
record for each low-income tenant of the low-income units in
their development.

All low-income housing developments may be subject to
review at any time during the compliance period.

E. The authority has the right to perform, and each owner
of a development receiving credits shall permit the
performance of, an on-site inspection of any low-income
housing development through the end of the compliance
period of the building. The inspection provision of this
subsection E is separate from the review of low-income
certifications, supporting documents and rent records under
subsection D of this section.

The owner of a low-income housing development should
notify the authority when the development is placed in
service. The authority, at its sole discretion, reserves the
right to inspect the property prior to issuing IRS Form 8609
to verify that the development conforms to the
representations made in the Application for Reservation and
Application for Allocation.

F. The authority will provide written notice to the owner of
a low-income housing development if the authority does not
receive the certification described in subsection C of this
section, or does not receive or is not permitted to inspect the
tenant income certifications, supporting documentation, and
rent records described in subsection D of this section or
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discovers by inspection, review, or in some other manner,
that the development is not in compliance with the provisions
of § 42 of the IRC.

Such written notice will set forth a correction period which
shall be that period specified by the authority during which
an owner must supply any missing certifications and bring
the development into compliance with the provisions of § 42
of the IRC. The authority will set the correction period for a
time not to exceed 90 days from the date of such notice to
the owner. The authority may extend the correction period for
up to 6 months, but only if the authority determines there is
good cause for granting the extension.

The authority will file Form 8823, "Low-Income Housing
Credit Agencies Report of Noncompliance," with the IRS no
later than 45 days after the end of the correction period (as
described above, including any permitted extensions) and no
earlier than the end of the correction period, whether or not
the noncompliance or failure to certify is corrected. The
authority must explain on Form 8823 the nature of the
noncompliance or failure to certify and indicate whether the
owner has corrected the noncompliance or failure to certify.
Any change in either the applicable fraction or eligible basis
under subdivisions 2 and 7 of subsection C of this section,
respectively, that results in a decrease in the qualified basis
of the development under § 42(c)(1)(A) of the IRC is
noncompliance that must be reported to the IRS under this
subsection F. If the authority reports on Form 8823 that a
building is entirely out of compliance and will not be in
compliance at any time in the future, the authority need not
file Form 8823 in subsequent years to report that building's
noncompliance.

The authority will retain records of noncompliance or
failure to certify for six years beyond the authority's filing of
the respective Form 8823. In all other cases, the authority
must retain the certifications and records described in
subsection C of this section for three years from the end of
the calendar year the authority receives the certifications and
records.

G. If the authority decides to enter into the agreements
described below, the review requirements under subsection
D of this section will not require owners to submit, and the
authority is not required to review, the tenant income
certifications, supporting documentation and rent records for
buildings financed by the Rural Economic and Community
Development (RECD) under the § 515 program, or buildings
of which 50% or more of the aggregate basis (taking into
account the building and the land) is financed with the
proceeds of obligations the interest on which is exempt from
tax under § 103 (tax-exempt bonds). In order for a
monitoring procedure to except these buildings, the authority
must enter into an agreement with the RECD or tax-exempt
bond issuer. Under the agreement, the RECD or tax-exempt
bond issuer must agree to provide information concerning
the income and rent of the tenants in the building to the
authority. The authority may assume the accuracy of the
information provided by RECD or the tax-exempt bond issuer
without verification. The authority will review the information
and determine that the income limitation and rent restriction

of § 42(g)(1) and (2) of the IRC are met. However, if the
information provided by the RECD or tax-exempt bond issuer
is not sufficient for the authority to make this determination,
the authority will request the necessary additional income or
rent information from the owner of the buildings. For
example, because RECD determines tenant eligibility based
on its definition of "adjusted annual income," rather than
"annual income" as defined under section 8, the authority
may have to calculate the tenant's income for purposes of
§ 42 of the IRC and may need to request additional income
information from the owner.

H. The owners of low-income housing developments must
pay to the authority such fees in such amounts and at such
times as the authority shall, in its sole discretion, reasonably
require the owners to pay in order to reimburse the authority
for the costs of monitoring compliance with § 42 of the IRC.

I. The owners of low-income housing developments that
have submitted IRS Forms 8821, Tax Information
Authorization, naming the authority as the appointee to
receive tax information on such owners shall submit from
time to time renewals of such Forms 8821 as required by the
authority throughout the extended use period.

VA.R. Doc. No. R99-43; Filed October 23, 1998, 10:37 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 18.  PROFESSIONAL AND

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 75-20-10 et seq.  Regulations
Governing Practitioner Self-Referral (amending 18 VAC
75-20-10, 18 VAC 75-20-60, 18 VAC 75-20-70, and 18 VAC
75-20-90; repealing 18 VAC 75-20-30, 18 VAC 75-20-40,
and 18 VAC 75-20-50).

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2412 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  January 6, 1999 - 10 a.m.
Public comments may be submitted until January 22,
1999.

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  Chapters 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) and 24.1 (§ 54.1-
2410 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia provide the basis for
this regulation.  Chapter 24 establishes the general powers
and duties of the health regulatory boards including the
power to promulgate regulations.  Chapter 24.1 establishes
the Practitioner Self-Referral Act and requires the Board of
Health Professions to administer the Act.

Purpose:  The purpose of these regulations is to protect the
public health, safety, and welfare by providing a process for
the consideration and issuance of an advisory opinion or an
exception to the prohibitions of the Practitioner Self-Referral
Act and for making determinations on violations of the Act.
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Substance:

18 VAC 75-20-10.  An amendment is proposed to specify
that the committee of the board appointed to administer the
Act is an informal conference committee similar to that used
by other boards in a disciplinary case.

18 VAC 75-20-30, 18 VAC 75-20-40, and 18 VAC 75-20-50
are to be repealed as they are not necessary regulations
relating to the creation and operation of an advisory
committee of the board.

18 VAC 75-20-60.  Amendments are proposed to eliminate
the procedural requirements for the committee's
consideration of an application for an advisory opinion.  The
committee now referenced in regulation would be an informal
conference committee for which procedures are well
established.

18 VAC 75-20-70.  Amendments are proposed to eliminate
the procedural requirements for the committee's
consideration of an application for an exception to the Act.
Again, the committee now referenced in regulation would be
an informal conference committee for which procedures are
well established.

18 VAC 75-20-90 is amended as it repeated a section of the
Code and is therefore unnecessary.

Issues:  18 VAC 75-20-50 requires that the Practitioner Self-
Referral Committee meet at least once each quarter of the
calendar year.  The purpose of committee meetings is to
consider requests for advisory opinions or to grant
exceptions to the provisions of the Act.  When the
regulations were adopted, it was contemplated that there
would be a number of such requests and that the committee
would need to meet at least quarterly.

However, since the effective date of these regulations on
March 24, 1994, there have been four requests for advisory
opinions and one request for an exception.  The committee
has been compelled to meet on a quarterly schedule to fulfill
the requirements of the regulations even though there was
no business to conduct.  Such a situation is wasteful of time
and income for the board members serving on the
committee.

The board has examined all the proceedings established in
regulation and has determined that these rules establish a
burdensome and cumbersome process which is not
necessary in order for the board to continue to serve the
purpose of the Act and make it possible to render opinions in
a timely fashion.

In making case decisions, boards within the Department of
Health Professions are guided by the Administrative Process
Act which places certain requirements on the board for due
process and timeliness of decisions and notifications.  Those
rules could and should be applicable to the case decisions
made by a committee of the Board of Health Professions.
Therefore, it is burdensome and, in some cases, confusing
for these regulations to tie the board to a process which
differs in some ways from the APA and which requires
unnecessary meetings and actions.

Advantages to the licensees:

The applicants are better served by the explicit language on
applicability and exceptions in the Practitioner Self-Referral
Act and by the process for making case decisions set forth in
Article 3 of the Administrative Process Act.

Disadvantages to the licensees:

There are no apparent disadvantages of the proposed
amendments.

Advantages or disadvantages to the public:

There are no particular advantages or disadvantages of the
proposed amendments for the public.  The Act itself is
intended to protect the public from referrals based on self-
interest.  The procedural aspects of the regulations only
served the purpose of providing a structure and a schedule
for the committee to consider rendering responses to
requests for advisory opinions on applicability or requests for
exceptions.

Estimated Impact:

A.  Projected number of persons affected and their cost of
compliance:

There are approximately 222,268 persons regulated by the
Department of Health Professions who fall under the
provisions of the Practitioner Self-Referral Act. However,
only the five to ten persons or entities per year who may
seek an advisory opinion from the board or request an
exception to the provisions of the Act would potentially be
affected by these regulations.

There will be no cost for compliance by regulated entities or
their employers.

B.  Cost to the agency for implementation:

The board will incur approximately $1,000 in cost for printing
and mailing Notices of Comment and final amended
regulations to licensees and other interested parties.  There
will be no additional cost for conducting a public hearing,
which will be held in conjunction with a scheduled board
meeting.  The board may realize a very modest reduction in
expenditures if unnecessary meetings can be avoided; the
five board members who sit on the committee are paid a $50
per diem and reimbursed for travel expenses for each of the
quarterly meetings.  Under proposed regulations, the
committee to hear requests for advisory opinions or
exceptions would be appointed as a special conference
committee comprised of two board members; as a result,
there would be less cost associated with committee
hearings.

C.  Cost to local governments:

There will be no impact of these regulations on local
government.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB)
has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the
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Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 25
(98).  Section 9-6.14:7.1 G requires that such economic
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the
projected number of persons and employment positions to
be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or
entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the
impact on the use and value of private property.  The
analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  The Board of Health
Professions proposes to amend the procedural requirements
on the board in the administration of the Practitioner Self-
Referral Act by eliminating the advisory committee and
establishing an informal conference committee to make case
decisions on applications for advisory opinions or
exemptions to the Act.  Procedural requirements in the
regulation would also be eliminated and replaced by case
decision procedures established in the Administrative
Process Act.

Estimated economic impact.  The current regulation requires
that the Advisory Committee on Practitioner Self-Referral
meet at least once each quarter of the calendar year to
consider requests for advisory opinions or to grant
exceptions to the provisions of the Act.  Since the effective
date of the regulation on March 24, 1994, there have only
been four requests for advisory opinions and one request for
an exception.  Five board members currently sit on the
committee and are paid a $50 per diem plus reimbursement
for travel expenditures for each of the quarterly meetings.
There is not expected to be any change in the manner and
timeliness in which requests for advisory opinions and
exemptions are handled and therefore this proposal is
unlikely to have any significant economic effects, aside from
a modest reduction in expenditures as unnecessary meetings
are avoided.

Businesses and entities affected.  There are approximately
222,268 individuals regulated by the Department of Health
Professions who fall under the provisions of the Practitioner
Self-Referral Act.  However, only the five to ten persons or
entities per year who may seek an advisory opinion from the
board or request an exception to the provisions of the Act
would potentially be affected by these regulations.

Localities particularly affected.  The proposed changes are
not expected to disproportionately affect any particular
localities.

Projected impact on employment.  The proposed changes
are not expected to have any significant impact on
employment.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  The
proposed changes are not expected to have any significant
impact on the use and value of private property.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency concurs
with the analysis of the department.

Summary:

The proposed amendments eliminate unwieldy and
unnecessary procedural requirements on the board in
the administration of the Practitioner Self-Referral Act.
In amended regulations, the advisory committee is
eliminated and replaced by an informal conference
committee appointed to make a case decision on an
application for an advisory opinion or an exception to the
Act. Procedural requirements set forth in regulation are
also eliminated and replaced by case decision
procedures established in the Administrative Process
Act.

18 VAC 75-20-10.  Definitions.

Statutory definitions of words and terms related to the
Practitioner Self-Referral Act are established in § 54.1-2410
of the Code of Virginia.

The following additional words and terms, when used in
this chapter, shall have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Act" means the Practitioner Self-Referral Act, Chapter
24.1 (§ 54.1-2410 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of
Virginia.

"Applicant" means a practitioner or entity who has applied
to the board for an advisory opinion on the applicability of
the Act, or for an exception to the prohibitions of the Act.

"Appropriate regulatory board" means the regulatory board
within the Department of Health Professions which licenses
or certifies the practitioner.

"Board" means the Board of Health Professions.

"Committee" means the Advisory Committee on
Practitioner Self-Referral an informal conference committee
of the Board of Health Professions.

"Department" means the Department of Health
Professions.

PART II.
ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON PRACTITIONER SELF-

REFERRAL.

18 VAC 75-20-30.  Composition. (Repealed.)

A. The board shall appoint an Advisory Committee on
Practitioner Self-Referral comprised of no fewer than five
members of the board. At least two members of the
committee shall be citizen members of the board.

B. The methods and terms of appointment shall be in
accordance with the bylaws of the board.

18 VAC 75-20-40.  Responsibilities. (Repealed.)

A. The committee shall, in accordance with § 9-6.14:11 of
the Code of Virginia, receive and review requests and make
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recommendations to the board for the issuance of advisory
opinions regarding the applicability of the Act.

B. The committee shall, in accordance with § 9-6.14:11 of
the Code of Virginia, receive and review applications for
exceptions to the prohibitions of the Act and make
recommendations to the board for the issuance of exceptions
to the Act.

18 VAC 75-20-50.  Meetings. (Repealed.)

The committee shall meet at least once each quarter of
the calendar year.

PART III. II.
ADVISORY OPINIONS AND EXCEPTIONS.

18 VAC 75-20-60.  Application for advisory opinions.

A. Any practitioner or entity may request an advisory
opinion on the applicability of the Act upon completion of an
application and payment of a fee.

B. Requests shall be made on an application form
[ requested prescribed ] by the board.  The request shall
contain the following information:

1. The name of the practitioner or entity;

2. Identification of the practitioner or entity and
description of the health care services being provided or
proposed;

3. The type and amount of existing or proposed
investment interest in the entity;

4. A description of the nature of the investment interest
and copies of any existing or proposed documents
between the practitioner and the entity including but not
limited to leases, contracts, organizational documents,
etc.; and

5. Certification and notarized signature of the
practitioner or principal of the entity requesting the
advisory opinion that the information and supporting
documentation contained therein is true and correct.

C. The committee shall review the application shall be
reviewed for completeness, and the board may request such
other additional information or documentation it deems
necessary from the practitioner or entity.

D. When the committee determines Upon a determination
that a request for an advisory opinion is complete and that it
has sufficient information, it the committee shall notify the
practitioner or entity that it will consider its request at the
next scheduled meeting. The practitioner or entity may
request an informal fact finding conference with the
committee within 30 days of the scheduled meeting.

E. At the conclusion of the meeting or conference, the
committee shall issue a recommended advisory opinion to
the board and to the practitioner or entity.

F. The practitioner or entity shall, within 30 days following
the issuance of the recommended advisory opinion, notify

the board in writing of its acceptance of the recommended
advisory opinion.

G. The board shall consider the committee's
recommendation at the next scheduled meeting, at least 14
days following the issuance of the committee's
recommended advisory opinion. The board may afford an
opportunity for public comment prior to a vote on the
committee's recommendation. The board shall issue a
written final decision.

H. Upon the notification that the practitioner or entity
rejects the committee's recommended advisory opinion, the
committee shall withdraw it and notify the practitioner or
entity that it may request a hearing pursuant to § 9-6.14:12
of the Code of Virginia, within 30 days of such notice, to
consider the issuance of an advisory opinion.

18 VAC 75-20-70.  Application for exception.

A. A practitioner or entity may request an exception to the
prohibitions of the Act upon completion of an application and
payment of a fee.

B. Requests shall be made on an application form
prescribed by the board. The application shall contain the
following information:

1. The name and identifying information of the
practitioner or entity;

2. The information and documentation regarding
community need and alternative financing as required by
§ 54.1-2411 B of the Code of Virginia;

3. Certification and notarized signature of the
practitioner or principal of the entity requesting the
exception that the information contained in the
application and supporting documentation is true and
correct.

C. The committee shall review the application shall be
reviewed for completeness, and the board  may request
additional information and documentation from the applicant.

D. When the committee determines Upon a determination
that an application is complete and that it has sufficient
information, it the committee shall notify the applicant that it
will consider the request at its next scheduled meeting. The
applicant may request an informal fact finding conference
with the committee within 30 days of the scheduled meeting.

E. At the conclusion of the meeting or conference, the
committee shall issue a recommended decision regarding
the request for an exception to the board and to the
applicant.

F. The applicant shall, within 30 days following the
issuance of the recommended decision, notify the board in
writing of his acceptance of the recommended decision.

G. The board shall consider the committee's
recommendation at its next scheduled meeting, at least 14
days following receipt of the recommendation. The board
may afford an opportunity for public comment prior to a vote
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on the committee's recommendation. The board shall
thereafter inform the applicant of its decision in writing.

H. The board shall act on an application within 90 days of
determination of its completeness.

I. When an exception is granted, the practitioner or entity
shall certify to the board compliance with the terms and
conditions of subsections B and C of § 54.1-2411 of the
Code of Virginia.

Violation of these terms and conditions shall constitute
grounds for revocation of the exception and may constitute
grounds for disciplinary action as provided in Part IV of this
chapter.

J. Upon notification that the practitioner or entity rejects
the committee's recommendation of an exception, the
committee will withdraw it and notify the practitioner or entity
that it may, within 30 days of such notice, request a hearing
before the board pursuant to § 9-6.14:12 of the Code of
Virginia to consider its application for exception.

K. E. Exceptions to the Act shall be valid for a period of no
more than five years.

L. F. Subject to verification by the board, an exception
shall be renewed upon payment of a renewal fee and the
receipt of certification from the practitioner or entity that the
conditions under which the original exception was granted
continue to warrant the exception.

PART IV. III.
DISCIPLINE.

18 VAC 75-20-90.  Disciplinary action against entities.

A. The board shall determine violations of prohibitions of
the Act on the part of an entity other than a practitioner as
defined in § 54.1-2410 of the Code of Virginia in accordance
with the provisions of the Administrative Process Act
(§ 9-6.14:1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

B. Upon determination of a violation by an entity, the
board may impose a monetary penalty as provided in
§ 54.1-2412 C of the Code of Virginia.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 75-20-10
et seq., Regulations Governing Practitioner Self-Referral, are
listed below.  Any amended or added forms are reflected in
the listing and are published following the listing.

FORMS

Application for an Advisory Opinion/With Certification (rev.
2/94).

Application for an Exception/With Certification (rev. 2/94).

Practitioner Listing (rev. 11/98).
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VA.R. Doc. No. R98-85; Filed November 4, 1998, 11:30 a.m.
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FINAL REGULATIONS

TITLE 4.  CONSERVATION AND NATURAL
RESOURCES

DEPARTMENT OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE:  The Department of Game and
Inland Fisheries is exempt from the Administrative Process
Act pursuant to subdivision A 3 of § 9-6.14:4.1 of the Code
of Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the
management of wildlife.

Title of Regulation:  4 VAC 15-320-10 et seq.  Fish:
Fishing Generally (amending 4 VAC 15-320-20, 4 VAC 15-
320-30, 4 VAC 15-320-100 and 4 VAC 15-320-120; adding
4 VAC 15-320-160).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code
of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 1, 1999.

Summary:

The amendments (i) establish a creel limit of one
smallmouth bass per day on the North Fork Holston
River from Saltville, Virginia, to the Virginia-Tennessee
state line; (ii) remove the North Fork Pound Reservoir
from the list of waters with size limits on the taking of
black bass species, establish a 10-inch minimum size
limit for crappie taken from Flannagan Reservoir, and
establish a 20-inch minimum size limit for smallmouth
bass taken on the North Fork Holston River from
Saltville, Virginia, to the Virginia-Tennessee state line; (iii)
allow nets to be used for collecting nongame species of
fish at department-owned and controlled lakes; (iv)
remove Laurel Bed Lake from the list of waters that
require a daily fishing permit (the “fee fishing program")
and establish a start time for fishing on the opening day
at all fee areas; and (v) prohibit altering the physical
appearance of game fish or possession of such altered
game fish (except bluegill and bream) while fishing or
transporting fish on the waters of the Commonwealth.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Phil Smith, Department of Game and Inland Fisheries,
4010 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone
(804) 367-8341.

4 VAC 15-320-20.  Creel limits.

The creel limits (including live possession) for the various
species of fish shall be as follows:

1.  Largemouth, smallmouth and spotted bass, five a
day in the aggregate except that in the mainstem of the
North Fork Holston River, from the Route 634 bridge

near Saltville downstream to the Virginia-Tennessee
state line, the limit for smallmouth bass shall be one a
day.

2.  Landlocked striped bass and landlocked striped bass
X white bass hybrids, in the aggregate, four a day;
except, that in Smith Mountain Reservoir and its
tributaries, including the Roanoke River upstream to
Niagara Dam, the limit shall be two a day in the
aggregate.  For anadromous (coastal) striped bass
above the fall line in all coastal rivers of the Chesapeake
Bay, the limit (noncommercial) shall be the possession
limit set by the Virginia Marine Resources Commission
for recreational fishing in tidal waters.  The creel limit on
striped bass in the Meherrin, Nottoway, Blackwater
(Chowan Drainage), North Landing and Northwest
Rivers and their tributaries plus Back Bay shall be four
per day.

3.  White bass, 25 per day, except that in New River and
Claytor Lake from the Buck Dam on New River in Carroll
County downstream to the Claytor Lake Dam, the limit
shall be five per day.

4.  Walleye or yellow pike perch and chain pickerel or
jackfish, eight a day of each; except, that in Gaston
Reservoir and Buggs Island (Kerr) Reservoir there shall
be no daily limit for chain pickerel or jackfish.

5.  Northern pike and muskellunge, two a day.

6.  Sauger, eight per day.

7.  Bluegill (bream) and other sunfish, excluding crappie
(silver perch), rock bass (redeye) and Roanoke bass, 50
a day in the aggregate; crappie (silver perch) and rock
bass (redeye), 25 a day of each species; rock bass
(redeye) and Roanoke bass, 5 a day in the aggregate,
on the Nottoway and Meherrin rivers and their
tributaries.  There shall be no limit on any of the species
included in this subdivision 7 in Gaston and Buggs
Island (Kerr) Reservoirs and that portion of the New
River from the Virginia-North Carolina state line
downstream to the confluence of the New and Little
Rivers in Grayson County.

8.  American shad and hickory shad, in the James River
above the fall line (14th Street Bridge), in the Meherrin
River above Emporia Dam, in the Chickahominy River
above Walkers Dam, in the Appomattox River above
Harvell Dam, in the Mattaponi River and Pamunkey
River above the Route 360 bridge, and in the
Rappahannock River above the Route 1 bridge, zero
(catch and release only).  Alewife and blueback herring
in the James River above Boshers Dam, in the Meherrin
River above Emporia Dam, in the Chickahominy River
above Walkers Dam, in the Appomattox River above
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Harvell Dam, in the South Anna River above the U.S.
Route 1 bridge, and in the Rappahannock River above
Embrey Dam, zero (catch and release only).

4 VAC 15-320-30.  Size limit.

Except as provided in this chapter, 4 VAC 15-330-50, and
4 VAC 15-330-110 through 4 VAC 15-330-140, there shall be
no size limit on any species of fish.

1.  There shall be a 30-inch minimum size limit on
muskellunge, and a 20-inch minimum size limit on
northern pike, landlocked striped bass (rockfish) and
landlocked striped bass X white bass hybrids.  For
anadromous (coastal) striped bass above the fall line in
coastal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay, the size limit shall
be that set by the Virginia Marine Resources
Commission for tidal waters.

2.  There shall be a 14-inch minimum size limit on
largemouth, smallmouth and spotted bass in Occoquan
Reservoir from the reservoir dam upstream to the Lake
Jackson Dam on Occoquan Creek and upstream to the
Yates Ford Bridge (Route 612) on Bull Run Creek.  It
shall be unlawful to have any such bass less than 14
inches in length in one's possession on the above
described waters of this reservoir.

3.  There shall be a 12-inch minimum size limit on
largemouth, smallmouth and spotted bass in the
Claytor, Philpott and Flannagan Reservoirs, and in Lake
Moomaw (Gathright Project).  It shall be unlawful to
have any largemouth, smallmouth or spotted bass less
than 12 inches in length in one's possession while on
any of the waters mentioned in the preceding sentence.

4.  There shall be a 14-inch minimum size limit on
largemouth, smallmouth and spotted bass on the
Roanoke (Staunton) and Dan Rivers and their tributaries
and impoundments (Gaston, John Kerr, Leesville and
Smith Mountain Reservoirs) downstream from Niagara
Dam on the Roanoke River and the Brantly Steam Plant
Dam on the Dan River; except, that as many as two of
such bass of a lesser size caught in such waters may be
retained in the creel, but no more than two such bass
may be in possession on such waters that are less than
14 inches in length.

5.  It shall be unlawful to have any largemouth,
smallmouth or spotted bass from 12 to 15 inches in
length, both inclusive, in one's possession on North
Anna Reservoir and its tributaries, on Briery Creek Lake
(Prince Edward County), on Chesdin Reservoir or the
Appomattox River from the Brasfield (Chesdin) Dam to
Bevel's Bridge on Chesterfield County Route 602, on
Beaverdam Reservoir (Loudoun County) and on the
waters of Quantico Marine Reservation.

6.  It shall be unlawful to have any smallmouth,
largemouth or spotted bass from 11 to 14 inches in
length, both inclusive, in one's possession on the
Shenandoah River, including the North and South Forks
downstream from the Route 42 bridge on the North Fork
and from the confluence of the North and South Rivers

on the South Fork below Port Republic; on the New
River from Claytor Dam to the West Virginia boundary
line; on the James River from the confluence of the
Jackson and Cowpasture rivers downstream to the
Interstate 95 bridge at Richmond; on North Fork Pound
Reservoir; or on the Clinch River within the boundaries
of Scott, Wise, Russell or Tazewell Counties.

7.  It shall be unlawful to have any largemouth,
smallmouth or spotted bass less than 15 inches in
length from March 1 through June 15, both inclusive, in
the Virginia tidal tributaries of the Potomac River
upstream of the Route 301 Bridge.  There shall be no
size limit for largemouth, smallmouth or spotted bass
from June 16 through the last day of February in those
tributaries.

8.  It shall be unlawful to have any rock bass (redeye) or
Roanoke bass less than eight inches in length in one's
possession on the Nottoway and Meherrin rivers and
their tributaries.

9.  It shall be unlawful to possess any crappie (black or
white) less than 10 inches in length in possession on
Flannagan Reservoir.

10.  It shall be unlawful to possess any smallmouth bass
less than 20 inches in length in possession on the
mainstem of the North Fork Holston River from the
Route 634 bridge near Saltville downstream to the
Virginia-Tennessee state line.

4 VAC 15-320-100.  Department-owned or controlled
lakes, ponds or streams; general regulations.

A.  Motors and boats.  Unless otherwise posted at each
recognized entrance to any department-owned or controlled
lake or pond or stream, the use of boats propelled by
gasoline motors, sail or mechanically operated recreational
paddle wheel is prohibited.  Department employees and
other government agency officials may use gasoline motors
in the performance of official duties.

B.  Method of fishing.  Taking any fish at any
department-owned or controlled lake or pond by any means
other than by use of one or more attended poles with hook
and line attached is prohibited unless otherwise posted in
which case cast nets (subject to 4 VAC 15-360-10 B) may be
used for collecting nongame fish for use as bait.

C.  Hours for fishing.  Unless otherwise posted at each
recognized entrance to any department-owned or controlled
lake, pond or stream, the hours of use shall be from one
hour before sunrise to one hour after sunset.

D.  Seasons; hours and methods of fishing; size and creel
limits; hunting.  The open seasons for fishing, as well as
fishing hours, methods of taking fish and the size,
possession and creel limits, and hunting, for
department-owned or department-controlled lakes, ponds or
streams shall conform to the general regulations of the board
unless otherwise excepted by posted notice displayed at
each recognized entrance to the lake, pond or stream, in
which case the posted regulations shall be in effect.
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E.  Other uses.  Camping overnight or building fires,
except in developed and designated areas, swimming,
wading in public fishing lakes, except by fishermen actively
engaged in fishing and trapping for furbearers, is prohibited.
Trapping may be authorized by special permit from the
warden when requested to issue such permit or permits by
the fish division.

F.  Fishing tournaments, etc.  It shall be unlawful to
organize, conduct, supervise or solicit entries for fishing
tournaments, rodeos or other fishing events on waters owned
by the department, for which prizes are offered, awarded or
accepted, either in money or other valuable considerations.

4 VAC 15-320-120.  Department-owned or controlled
lakes, ponds or streams; special daily permit for fishing
in Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area, Douthat
State Park Lake and Crooked and Wilson Creeks.

It shall be unlawful to fish in the Clinch Mountain Wildlife
Management Area (except in Little Tumbling Creek and
Laurel Bed Lake), in Douthat State Park Lake and in Wilson
Creek both above the lake to the park boundary and
downstream to the lower USFS boundary, and in the
Crooked Creek fee fishing area in Carroll County without
having first paid to the department for such privilege a daily
use fee.  Such daily use fee shall be in addition to all other
license fees provided by law.  Upon payment of the daily use
fee the department shall issue a special permit which shall
be signed and carried by the person fishing.  This fee will be
required from the first Saturday in April through September
30 at Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area (except
Little Tumbling Creek and Laurel Bed Lake) and at Crooked
Creek fee fishing area in Carroll County, and from the first
Saturday in April through October 31 at Douthat State Park
Lake and Wilson Creek, except that the director may
temporarily suspend fee requirements if conditions cause
suspension of trout stocking.  During the remainder of the
year, these waters will revert to designated stocked trout
waters and a trout license will be required except as provided
in 4 VAC 15-20-190.  No fishing is permitted in these waters
for five days preceding the opening day.  Fishing shall begin
at 9 a.m. on opening day at all fee areas.  After opening day,
fishing times will be as posted at each fee area.  The
department may recognize clearly marked "children only"
fishing areas within any department fee fishing area.  Within
these "children only" areas, children 12 years old or less may
fish without the daily use fee if accompanied by a fully
licensed adult who has purchased a valid daily permit.  No
person over 12 years of age may fish in these children-only
areas.  Also, children 12 years and under can fish without a
permit in the entire Douthat Fee Fishing Area if under the
direct supervision of a permitted adult.  However, the
combined daily creel limit for both adult and child/children in
such a party shall not exceed six trout.  During the fee fishing
season these waters will be subject to 4 VAC 15-330-60,
4 VAC 15-330-80, and 4 VAC 15-330-90, as it relates to
designated stocked trout waters.

4 VAC 15-320-160.  Altering of game fish in possession
prohibited.

It shall be unlawful for any person while fishing to remove
the head or tail or otherwise change the appearance of any
game fish (except bluegill sunfish and bream of the sunfish
family) having a daily creel or size limit so as to obscure its
species or render it impracticable to measure its total original
length or count the number of such fish in possession.  In
addition, it shall be unlawful for any person to possess or
transport such altered game fish while on the water.
However, the prohibition against possession and
transportation in the previous sentence shall not apply to the
preparations of lawfully obtained fish for immediate use as
food or any lawful commercial use of such fish.

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-324; Filed November 4, 1998, 11:39 a.m.

* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  4 VAC 15-330-10 et seq.  Fish:  Trout
Fishing (amending 4 VAC 15-330-110, 4 VAC 15-330-120,
4 VAC 15-330-140, 4 VAC 15-330-150 and 4 VAC 15-330-
160).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code
of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 1, 1999.

Summary:

The amendments (i) expand the special regulation (12-
inch minimum size, single-hook artificial-lure only) trout
stream section on Whitetop Laurel Creek in Washington
County to include a portion downstream of Taylor Valley;
(ii) expand the special regulation (two fish per day creel
limit; 16-inch minimum size limit) trout stream section on
the South Fork Holston River downstream to the Buller
Fish Culture Station; (iii) establish special regulation trout
stream sections on the Pound River from Flannagan
Dam downstream to the confluence with the Russell
Fork River and on Roaring Run in Botetourt County from
the third foot bridge above the Roaring Run Furnace Day
Use Area upstream to the Botetourt/Alleghany County
line; (iv) remove a section of Sinking Creek in Craig
County from the list of waters subject to special
regulations; (v) remove North Creek and its tributaries in
Botetourt County from the list of waters on which single-
hook, artificial-lure only trout fishing is permitted and the
minimum length for trout possessed is nine inches; (vi)
add sections of the Pedlar River (Amherst County) and
Holliday Creek (Appomattox and Buckingham Counties)
to the list of delayed harvest trout streams on which all
trout caught must be immediately returned to the water
("catch-and-release") October 1 through May 31 and
trout may be creeled June 1 through September 30; and
(vii) add the upper reaches of North Creek and its
tributaries (Botetourt County) to the list of waters on
which single-hook, artificial-lure only trout fishing is
permitted, all trout caught must be immediately returned
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to the water (“catch-and-release”), and no trout or bait
may be possessed at any time.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Phil Smith, Department of Game and Inland Fisheries,
4010 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone
(804) 367-8341.

4 VAC 15-330-110.  Special provisions applicable to
certain portions of Green Cove Creek, Smith Creek,
Snake Creek and Whitetop Laurel Creek.

It shall be lawful to fish using only artificial lures with
single hooks in that portion of Green Cove Creek in
Washington County from Route 859 downstream to its
mouth, in that portion of Smith Creek in Alleghany County
from the Clifton Forge Reservoir Dam downstream to a sign
at the Forest Service boundary above the C &O Dam, on
Snake Creek in Carroll County upstream from its mouth to
Hall's Fork on Big Snake Fork and to the junction of Routes
922 and 674 on Little Snake Fork, in Whitetop Laurel Creek
in Washington County upstream from the mouth of Straight
Branch to a sign at the Forest Service boundary just
downstream of Taylor Valley, and in Whitetop Laurel Creek
in Washington County upstream from the first railroad trestle
above Taylor Valley to the mouth of Green Cove Creek at
Creek Junction.  All trout caught in these waters under 12
inches in length shall be immediately returned to the water
unharmed.  It shall be unlawful for any person to have in his
possession any bait or any trout under 12 inches in length in
these areas.

4 VAC 15-330-120.  Special provisions applicable to
certain portions of Buffalo Creek, Dan River, Jackson
River, Pound River, Roaring Run, Sinking Creek, Smith
Creek, Smith River, and South Fork Holston River.

A.  It shall be lawful year around to fish using only artificial
lures with single hooks in that portion of Buffalo Creek in
Rockbridge County from the confluence of Colliers Creek
upstream 2.9 miles to the confluence of North and South
Buffalo Creeks, in that portion of Smith River in Henry
County from signs below the east bank of Towne Creek for a
distance of approximately three miles downstream, in that
portion of the Dan River in Patrick County from Talbott Dam
approximately six miles downstream to a sign posted just
upstream from the confluence of Dan River and Townes
Reservoir, in that portion of the Pound River from a sign
posted 0.4 miles below the Flannagan Dam downstream 1.2
miles to a sign posted just upstream of the confluence of the
Pound River and the Russell Fork River, in that portion of the
South Fork Holston River in Smyth County from a sign
posted at the upper Jefferson National Forest boundary
downstream from the confluence of the South Fork and
Comers Creek upstream for approximately two miles to a
sign posted at the upper Jefferson National Forest boundary,
approximately four miles to a sign posted 500 feet upstream
of the concrete dam at Buller Fish Culture Station, in that
portion of Roaring Run in Botetourt County from a sign
posted at the third footbridge above the Roaring Run
Furnace Day Use Area upstream approximately one mile to a
sign posted at the Botetourt/Alleghany County line, and in

that portion of Jackson River in Bath County from the
swinging bridge located just upstream from the mouth of
Muddy Run upstream three miles to the last ford on FS
481D.

B.  It shall be lawful year around to fish using only artificial
flies with single hooks in that portion of Sinking Creek in
Giles County from a cable and department sign 0.4 miles
below the State Route 703 low-water bridge upstream 1.8
miles to a cable and department sign 0.1 miles above the
Reynolds Farm covered bridge, in that portion of Sinking
Creek in Craig County from a cable and department sign 1.0
mile below the State Route 642 Bridge upstream to a cable
and department sign 0.5 miles above the State Route 642
Bridge, and in that portion of Smith Creek in Rockingham
County from a sign posted 1.0 miles below the confluence of
Lacy Spring to a sign posted 0.4 miles above Lacy Spring.

C.  The daily creel limit in these waters shall be two trout a
day year around and the size limit shall be 16 inches or more
in length.  All trout caught in these waters under 16 inches in
length shall be immediately returned to the water unharmed.
It shall be unlawful for any person to have in his possession
any bait or any trout under 16 inches in length in these
areas.

4 VAC 15-330-140.  Special provision applicable to
certain portions of Big Wilson Creek, Conway River,
Little Stony Creek, Little Wilson Creek, North Creek,
North Fork Buffalo River, St. Mary's River and Ramsey's
Draft.

It shall be lawful to fish using only artificial lures with
single hooks in that portion of the Conway River and its
tributaries in Greene and Madison Counties within the
Rapidan Wildlife Management Area, in that portion of Big
and Little Wilson Creeks and their tributaries in Grayson
County within the Grayson Highland State Park and the
Jefferson National Forest Mount Rogers National Recreation
Area, in that portion of Little Stony Creek in Giles County
within the Jefferson National Forest, in that portion of Little
Stony Creek in Shenandoah County within the George
Washington National Forest, in that portion of North Creek in
Botetourt County and its tributaries upstream from the first
bridge above North Creek Campground, in the North Fork
Buffalo River and its tributaries in Amherst County within the
George Washington National Forest, in that portion of St.
Mary's River in Augusta County and its tributaries upstream
from the gate at the George Washington National Forest
property line, and in that portion of Ramsey's Draft and its
tributaries in Augusta County within the George Washington
National Forest.  All trout caught in these waters under nine
inches in length shall be immediately returned to the water
unharmed.  It shall be unlawful for any person to have in his
possession any bait or any trout under nine inches in length
while in these areas.
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4 VAC 15-330-150.  Special provision applicable to
Stewarts Creek Trout Management Area;  certain
portions of Dan, Rapidan, South Fork Holston and
Staunton rivers, the East Fork of Chestnut Creek,
Roaring Fork, North Creek, and their tributaries.

It shall be lawful year around to fish for trout using only
artificial lures with single hooks within the Stewarts Creek
Trout Management Area in Carroll County, in the Rapidan
and Staunton rivers and their tributaries upstream from a
sign at the Lower Shenandoah National Park boundary in
Madison County, in the Dan River and its tributaries between
the Townes Dam and the Pinnacles Hydroelectric Project
powerhouse in Patrick County, in the East Fork of Chestnut
Creek (Farmer's Creek) and its tributaries upstream from the
Blue Ridge Parkway in Grayson and Carroll Counties, and in
Roaring Fork and its tributaries upstream from the southwest
boundary of Beartown Wilderness Area in Tazewell County
and in that section of the South Fork Holston River and its
tributaries from the concrete dam at Buller Fish Culture
Station downstream to the lower boundary of the Buller Fish
Culture Station in Smyth County, and in North Creek and its
tributaries upstream from a sign at the George Washington
National Forest North Creek Campground in Botetourt
County.  All trout caught in these waters must be
immediately returned to the water.  No trout or bait may be in
possession at any time in these areas.

4 VAC 15-330-160.  Special provisions applicable to
certain portions of Accotink Creek, Back Creek, Holliday
Creek, North River, Passage Creek, Pedlar River, North
Fork of Pound and Pound rivers, and South River.

It shall be lawful to fish from October 1 through May 31,
both dates inclusive, using only artificial lures with single
hooks in Accotink Creek (Fairfax County) from Route 236
(Little River Turnpike) downstream 1.9 miles to Route 620
(Braddock Road), in Back Creek (Bath County) from the
Route 600 bridge just below the Virginia Power Back Creek
Dam downstream 1.5 miles to the Route 600 bridge at the
lower boundary of the Virginia Power Recreational Area, in
Holliday Creek (Appomattox/Buckingham Counties) from the
Route 640 crossing downstream 2.8 miles to a sign posted at
the headwaters of Holliday Lake, in the North River (Augusta
County) from the base of Elkhorn Dam downstream 1.5
miles to a sign posted at the head of Staunton City
Reservoir, in Passage Creek (Warren County) from the lower
boundary of the Front Royal State Hatchery upstream 0.9
miles to the Shenandoah/Warren County line, in the Pedlar
River (Amherst County) from the City of Lynchburg/George
Washington National Forest boundary line (below Lynchburg
Reservoir) downstream 2.7 miles to the boundary line of the
George Washington National Forest, in North Fork of Pound
and Pound rivers from the base of North Fork of Pound Dam
downstream to the confluence with Indian Creek, and in the
South River from the Second Street Bridge upstream 2.4
miles to the base of Rife Loth Dam in the City of
Waynesboro.  From October 1 through May 31, all trout
caught in these waters must be immediately returned to the
water unharmed, and it shall be unlawful for any person to
have in possession any bait or trout.  During the period of

June 1 through September 30, the above restrictions will not
apply.

VA.R. Doc. Nos. R98-326 and R98-327; Filed November 4, 1998, 11:38 a.m.

* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  4 VAC 15-340-10 et seq.  Fish:  Seines
and Nets (amending 4 VAC 15-340-60).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code
of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 1, 1999.

Summary:

The amendment allows for the taking of certain fish
species with hand-landing nets from the Staunton and
Dan Rivers.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Phil Smith, Department of Game and Inland Fisheries,
4010 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone
(804) 367-8341.

4 VAC 15-340-60.  Seines, traps and nets prohibited in
certain areas.

A.  It shall be unlawful to use seines and nets of any kind
for the taking of fish from the public waters of the Roanoke
(Staunton) and Dan Rivers in Campbell, Charlotte, Halifax
and Pittsylvania Counties, and in the City of Danville;
provided, however, this section shall not be construed to
prohibit the use of hand-landing nets for the landing of fish
legally hooked or the taking of fish bait from these waters
pursuant to the provisions of 4 VAC 15-360-10 et seq.

B.  In Lick Creek in Smyth and Bland Counties, and in
Bear Creek and Hungry Mother Creek above Hungry Mother
Lake in Smyth County, it shall be unlawful to use seines,
nets or traps; provided, however, this section shall not be
construed to prohibit the use of hand-landing nets for the
landing of fish legally hooked.

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-325; Filed November 4, 1998, 11:38 a.m.

* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  4 VAC 15-360-10 et seq.  Fish:
Aquatic Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and
Nongame Fish (amending 4 VAC 15-360-10).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code
of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 1, 1999.

Summary:

The amendment adds threadfin shad to the list of fish
species that can be taken in unlimited numbers from
inland waters.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Phil Smith, Department of Game and Inland Fisheries,
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4010 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone
(804) 367-8341.

4 VAC 15-360-10.  Taking aquatic invertebrates,
amphibians, reptiles, and nongame fish for private use.

A.  Possession limits.  Except as otherwise provided for in
§ 29.1-418 of the Code of Virginia, 4 VAC 15-20-130,
subdivision 8 of 4 VAC 15-320-40 and the sections of this
chapter, it shall be lawful to capture and possess live for
private use and not for sale no more than five individuals of
any single native or naturalized (as defined in 4 VAC
15-20-50) species of amphibian and reptile and 20
individuals of any single native or naturalized (as defined in
4 VAC 15-20-50) species of aquatic invertebrate and
nongame fish unless specifically listed below:

1.  The following species may be taken in unlimited
numbers from inland waters statewide:  carp, bowfin,
longnose gar, mullet, bullhead catfish, suckers, gizzard
shad, threadfin shad, blueback herring, white perch,
yellow perch, alewife, stoneroller (hornyhead), fathead
minnow, golden shiner, and goldfish.

2.  The following species may be taken in unlimited
numbers from inland waters below the fall line:  channel
catfish, white catfish and blue catfish.

3.  For the purpose of this chapter, "fish bait" shall be
defined as native or naturalized species of minnows and
chubs (Cyprinidae), salamanders, crayfish, and
hellgrammites.  The possession limit for taking "fish
bait" shall be 50 individuals in aggregate, unless said
person has purchased "fish bait" and has a receipt
specifying the number of individuals purchased by
species, except salamanders which cannot be sold
pursuant to the provisions of 4 VAC 15-360-60.
However, stonerollers (hornyheads), fathead minnows,
golden shiners, and goldfish may be taken and
possessed in unlimited numbers as provided for in
subdivision 1 of this subsection.

4.  The daily limit for bullfrogs and snapping turtles shall
be 15 and bullfrogs and snapping turtles may not be
taken from the banks or waters of designated stocked
trout waters.

B.  Methods of taking species in subsection A.  Except as
otherwise provided for in the Code of Virginia, 4 VAC
15-20-130, and other regulations of the board, and except in
any waters where the use of nets is prohibited, the species
listed in subsection A may only be taken by hand, hook and
line, with a seine not exceeding four feet in depth by 10 feet
in length, an umbrella type net not exceeding five by five feet
square, small minnow traps with throat openings no larger
than one inch in diameter, cast nets not to exceed six feet in
radius and hand-held bow nets with diameter not to exceed
20 inches and handle length not to exceed eight feet (such
cast net and hand-held bow nets when so used shall not be
deemed dip nets under the provisions of § 29.1-416 of the
Code of Virginia).  Bullfrogs may also be taken by gigging or
bow and arrow and, from private waters, by firearms no
larger than .22 caliber rimfire.

C.  Areas restricted from taking mollusks.  Except as
provided for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of
Virginia, it shall be unlawful to take mussels and the spiny
riversnail (Io fluvialis) in the Tennessee drainage in Virginia
(Clinch, Powell and the North, South and Middle Forks of the
Holston Rivers and tributaries), and it shall be unlawful to
take mussels in the James River and tributaries west of U.S.
Route 29 and in the entire North Fork of the Shenandoah
River.

D.  Areas restricted from taking salamanders.  Except as
provided for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of
Virginia, it shall be unlawful to take salamanders in Grayson
Highlands State Park and on National Forest lands in the
Jefferson National Forest in those portions of Grayson,
Smyth and Washington Counties bounded on the east by
State Route 16, on the north by State Route 603 and on the
south and west by U.S. Route 58.

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-328; Filed November 4, 1998, 11:36 a.m.

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE:  The following regulation filed by
the Marine Resources Commission is exempt from the
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 9-6.14:4.1 F
of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is required
to publish the full text of final regulations.

Title of Regulation:  4 VAC 20-20-10 et seq.  Pertaining to
the Licensing of Fixed Fishing Devices (amending 4 VAC
20-20-10, adding 4 VAC 20-20-35).

Statutory Authority:  § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  October 28, 1998.

Summary:

The amendment prohibits securing any boat or vessel to
any part of a pound net or staked gill net, except during
lawful fishing by the net licensee or his crew or agent.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Deborah Cawthon, Regulatory Coordinator, Marine
Resources Commission, P.O. Box 756, Newport News, VA
23607, telephone (757) 247-2248.

4 VAC 20-20-10.  Purpose.

The purpose purposes of this chapter is are to set forth the
procedures pertaining to the licensing of fixed fishing devices
and the priority rights of holders of fixed fishing device
licenses and to ensure the safety of persons fishing near
pound nets and staked gill nets.

4 VAC 20-20-35.  No-fishing zone.

It shall be unlawful for any person to tie, fasten or secure
any boat or vessel to any pole, stake, netting or any other
part of a pound net or staked gill net, except during the
normal lawful fishing of such nets by the licensee, his crew or
agent.

VA.R. Doc. No. R99-50; Filed October 28, 1998, 12:47 p.m.
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* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  4 VAC 20-620-10 et seq.  Pertaining to
Summer Flounder (amending 4 VAC 20-620-40).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-204 of the Code
of Virginia.

Effective Date:  October 28, 1998.

Summary:

The amendment eliminates the 10% tolerance on the
possession limits of Summer Flounder for commercial
vessels, specifies the method for determination of net
weight, and clarifies that for persons violating the
possession limit, the entire amount of flounder in that
person’s possession shall be confiscated.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Deborah Cawthon, Regulatory Coordinator, Marine
Resources Commission, P.O. Box 756, Newport News, VA
23607, telephone (757) 247-2248.

4 VAC 20-620-40.  Commercial vessel possession
limitations.

A. During the period of January 1 through March 31 of
each calendar year, it shall be unlawful for any person
harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's waters to
possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of
Summer Flounder in excess of 5,000 pounds except that
when it is projected and announced that 85% of the quota for
this period has been taken, it shall be unlawful for any
person harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's
waters to possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount
of Summer Flounder in excess of 200 pounds.

B. During the period of April 1 through June 30 of each
calendar year, it shall be unlawful for any person harvesting
Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's waters to possess
aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of Summer
Flounder in excess of 2,500 pounds, except that when it is
projected and announced that 85% of the quota for this
period has been taken, it shall be unlawful for any person
harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's waters to
possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of
Summer Flounder in excess of 100 pounds.

C. During the period of July 1 through November 14 of
each calendar year, it shall be unlawful for any person
harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's waters to
possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of
Summer Flounder in excess of 100 pounds.

D. During the period November 15 through December 31
of each calendar year, it shall be unlawful for any person
harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's waters to
possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of
Summer Flounder in excess of 5,000 pounds, except that
when it is projected and announced that 85% of the quota for
this period has been taken, it shall be unlawful for any
person harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's
waters to possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount
of Summer Flounder in excess of 100 pounds.

E. For each of the time periods set forth in subsections A,
B and D of this section, the Marine Resources Commission
will give timely notice of any changes in possession limits.

F. For Each possession limit described in subsections A,
B, C and D of this section , there  shall be a tolerance of 10%
of Summer Flounder by weight determined by the net weight
of Summer Flounder as customarily packed, boxed and
weighed by the seafood buyer or processor.  The net weight
of any Summer Flounder found in excess of this possession
limit described in subsections A, B and D of this section shall
be prima facie evidence of violation of this chapter.  Persons
in possession of Summer Flounder, aboard any vessel, in
excess of the possession limit plus the tolerance shall be in
violation of this chapter.  Any buyer or processor offloading
or accepting any quantity of Summer Flounder from any
vessel in excess of the possession limit plus the tolerance
shall be in violation of this chapter.

G. Any If a person found in violation of any of violates the
possession limits described in this section shall be subject to
having, the entire amount of Summer Flounder in that
person’s possession shall be confiscated.  Any confiscated
Summer Flounder shall be considered as a removal from the
appropriate commercial harvest or landings quota.  Upon
confiscation, the marine patrol officer shall inventory the
confiscated Summer Flounder and, at a minimum, secure
two bids for purchase of the confiscated Summer Flounder
from approved and licensed seafood buyers.  The
confiscated fish will be sold to the highest bidder and all
funds derived from such sale shall be deposited for the
Commonwealth pending court resolution of the charge of
violating the possession limits established by this chapter.
Following disposition of any case involving confiscation of
Summer Flounder, All of the collected funds will be returned
to the accused upon a finding of innocence, whereas a
finding of guilty will result in forfeiture of such funds or
forfeited to the Commonwealth upon a finding of guilty.

H. It shall be unlawful for any person to offload from a
boat or vessel for commercial purposes any Summer
Flounder during the period of 10 p.m. to 7 a.m.

I. Any boat or vessel possessing more than the lawful limit
of Summer Flounder which has entered Virginia waters for
safe harbor shall not offload any Summer Flounder.

J. After any commercial harvest or landing quota as
described in 4 VAC 20-620-30 has been attained and
announced as such, any boat or vessel possessing Summer
Flounder on board may enter Virginia waters for safe harbor
but shall contact the Marine Resources Commission
Operation Center in advance of such entry into Virginia
waters.

VA.R. Doc. No. R99-49; Filed October 28, 1998, 12:45 p.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
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TITLE 9.  ENVIRONMENT

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

Title of Regulation:  9 VAC 25-610-10 et seq.  Ground
Water Withdrawal Regulation (amending 9 VAC 25-610-
10, 9 VAC 25-610-90, 9 VAC 25-610-110, 9 VAC 25-610-
130, 9 VAC 25-610-140, 9 VAC 25-610-160, 9 VAC 25-610-
250 and 9 VAC 25-610-330; adding 9 VAC 25-610-400;
repealing 9 VAC 25-610-30).

Statutory Authority:  § 62.1-256 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 1, 1999.

Summary:

The amendments (i) establish regulatory requirements
for the issuance of ground water withdrawal permits to
agricultural users, (ii) incorporate specific regulatory
language to address legislative amendments to the Act
that were passed by the 1994 Session of the General
Assembly which changed the manner in which permits
are required to be issued to political subdivisions and
community waterworks who held certificates of ground
water right or permits to withdraw ground water issued
under the Ground Water Act of 1973, and (iii) require the
Department of Environmental Quality rather than the
permit applicant to perform technical evaluations of
proposed withdrawals.

Additional amendments specifically state when an
applicant has the opportunity to review a technical
evaluation completed by staff and clarify criteria the
board will consider when reissuing a ground water
withdrawal permit.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response:  A
summary of comments made by the public and the agency’s
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Terry D. Wagner, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone
(804) 698-4043.

9 VAC 25-610-10.  Definitions.

Unless a different meaning is required by the context, the
following terms [ , ] as used in this chapter [ , ] shall have the
following meanings.

"Act" means the Ground Water Management Act of 1992,
Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of
Virginia.

"Adverse impact" means reductions in ground water levels
or changes in ground water quality that limit the ability of any
existing ground water user lawfully withdrawing or authorized
to withdraw ground water at the time of permit or special
exception issuance to continue to withdraw the quantity and
quality of ground water required by the existing use.  Existing
users include all those persons who have been granted a

ground water withdrawal permit subject to this chapter and
all other persons who are excluded from permit requirements
by 9 VAC 25-610-50.

"Applicant" means a person filing an application to initiate
or enlarge a ground water withdrawal in a ground water
management area.

"Area of impact" means the areal extent of each aquifer
where more than one foot of drawdown is predicted to occur
due to a proposed withdrawal.

"Beneficial use" includes, but is not limited to domestic
(including public water supply), agricultural, commercial, and
industrial uses.

"Board" means the State Water Control Board.

"Consumptive use" means the withdrawal of ground water,
without recycle of said waters to their source of origin.

"Department" means the Department of Environmental
Quality.

"Draft permit" means a prepared document indicating the
board's tentative decision relative to a permit action.

"Director" means the director of the Department of
Environmental Quality.

"Geophysical investigation" means any hydrogeologic
evaluation to define the hydrogeologic framework of an area
or determine the hydrogeologic properties of any aquifer or
confining unit to the extent that withdrawals associated with
such investigations do not result in unmitigated adverse
impacts to existing ground water users.  Geophysical
investigations include, but are not limited to, pump tests and
aquifer tests.

"Ground water" means any water, except capillary
moisture, beneath the land surface in the zone of saturation
or beneath the bed of any stream, lake, reservoir or other
body of surface water wholly or partially within the
boundaries of this Commonwealth, whatever the subsurface
geologic structure in which such water stands, flows,
percolates or otherwise occurs.

"Historic prepumping water levels" means ground water
levels in aquifers prior to the initiation of any ground water
withdrawals.  For the purpose of this chapter, in the Eastern
Virginia and Eastern Shore Ground Water Management
Areas, historic prepumping water levels are defined as water
levels present in aquifers prior to 1890.

"Human consumptive use" means the withdrawal of
ground water for private residential domestic use and that
portion of ground water withdrawals in a public water supply
system that support residential domestic uses and domestic
uses at commercial and industrial establishments.

"Mitigate" means to take actions necessary to assure that
all existing ground water users at the time of issuance of a
permit or special exception who experience adverse impacts
continue to have access to the amount and quality of ground
water needed for existing uses.
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"Permit" means a ground water withdrawal permit issued
by the board permitting the withdrawal of a specified quantity
of ground water under specified conditions in a ground water
management area.

"Permittee" means a person who currently has an effective
ground water withdrawal permit issued by the board.

"Person" means any and all persons, including individuals,
firms, partnerships, associations, public or private
institutions, municipalities or political subdivisions,
governmental agencies, or private or public corporations
organized under the laws of this Commonwealth or any other
state or country.

"Public hearing" means a fact finding proceeding held to
afford interested persons an opportunity to submit factual
data, views and comments to the board pursuant to the
board's Procedural Rule No. 1.

"Salt water intrusion" means the encroachment of saline
waters in any aquifer that create adverse impacts to existing
ground water users or is counter to the public interest.

"Special exception" means a document issued by the
board for withdrawal of ground water in unusual situations
where requiring the user to obtain a ground water withdrawal
permit would be contrary to the purpose of the Ground Water
Management Act of 1992.  Special exceptions allow the
withdrawal of a specified quantity of ground water under
specified conditions in a ground water management area.

"Surface and ground water conjunctive use system"
means an integrated water supply system wherein surface
water is the primary source and ground water is a
supplemental source that is used to augment the surface
water source when the surface water source is not able to
produce the amount of water necessary to support the
annual water demands of the system.

"Well" means any artificial opening or artificially altered
natural opening, however made, by which ground water is
sought or through which ground water flows under natural
pressure or is intended to be withdrawn.

"Withdrawal system" means (i) one or more wells or
withdrawal points located on the same or contiguous
properties under common ownership for which the withdrawal
is applied to the same beneficial use or (ii) two or more
connected wells or withdrawal points which are under
common ownership but are not necessarily located on
contiguous properties.

9 VAC 25-610-30.  Authority for chapter. (Repealed.)

The authority for this chapter is the Groundwater
Management Act of 1992, Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of
Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia, in particular § 62.1-256.8.

9 VAC 25-610-90.  Application for a permit.

A. Persons withdrawing ground water or who have rights
to withdraw ground water prior to July 1, 1992, in the Eastern
Virginia or Eastern Shore Ground Water Management Areas

and not excluded from requirements of this chapter by 9 VAC
25-610-50 shall apply for a permit.

1. Any person who was issued a certificate of ground
water right or a permit to withdraw ground water prior to
July 1, 1991, and who was withdrawing ground water
pursuant to said permit or certificate on July 1, 1992,
shall file an application on or before December 31, 1992,
to continue said withdrawal.  The applicant shall
demonstrate the claimed prior withdrawals through
withdrawal reports required by the existing certificate or
permit or by reports required by Water Withdrawal
Reporting Regulations (9 VAC 25-200-10 et seq.).

2. Any person who was issued a certificate of ground
water right or a permit to withdraw ground water prior to
July 1, 1991, and who had not initiated the withdrawal
prior to July 1, 1992, may initiate a withdrawal on or
after July 1, 1992, pursuant to the terms and conditions
of the certificate or permit and shall file an application
for a ground water withdrawal permit on or before
December 31, 1995, to continue said withdrawal.  The
applicant shall demonstrate the claimed prior
withdrawals through withdrawal reports required by the
existing certificate or permit or by reports required by
Water Withdrawal Reporting Regulations (9 VAC
25-200-10 et seq.).

3. Any person who was issued a permit to withdraw
ground water on or after July 1, 1991, and prior to July
1, 1992, shall not be required to apply for a ground
water withdrawal permit until the expiration of the permit
to withdraw ground water or 10 years from the date of
issuance of the permit to withdraw ground water,
whichever occurs first.  Such persons shall reapply for a
ground water withdrawal permit as described in 9 VAC
25-610-90 subsection D of this section.

4. Reserved. Any person withdrawing ground water for
agricultural or livestock watering purposes on or before
July 1, 1992, shall file an application for a ground water
withdrawal permit on or before December 31, 1993.  The
applicant shall demonstrate the claimed prior withdrawals
by voluntary withdrawal reports required by Water
Withdrawal Reporting Regulations (9 VAC 25-200-10 et
seq.) when such reports have been filed with the board.
When such reports are not available [ , ] estimates of
withdrawal will be accepted that are based on the area
irrigated, depth of irrigation, and annual number of
irrigations; pumping capacity and annual pumping time;
annual energy consumption for pumps, energy
consumption per hour, and pumping capacity; number
and type of livestock watered annually; number and type
of livestock where water is used for cooling purposes; or
other methods approved by the board.

5. Any political subdivision, or authority serving a
political subdivision, holding a certificate of ground water
right or a permit to withdraw ground water issued prior
to July 1, 1992, for the operation of a public water
supply well for the purpose of providing supplemental
water during drought conditions, shall file an application
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on or before December 31, 1992.  Any political
subdivision, or authority serving a political subdivision,
shall submit, as part of the application, a water
conservation and management plan as described in
9 VAC 25-610-100 B.

6. Any person who is required to apply in 9 VAC
25-610-90 A subdivision 1, 2, or 5 of this subsection and
who uses the certificated or permitted withdrawal to
operate a public water supply system shall provide a
copy of the waterworks operation permit, or equivalent,
with the required application for a ground water
withdrawal permit.

7. Any person described in 9 VAC 25-610-90 A
subdivision 1, 2, 3, or 5 of this subsection who files a
complete application by the date required may continue
to withdraw ground water pursuant to the existing
certificate or permit until such time as the board takes
action on the outstanding application for a ground water
withdrawal permit.

8. Any person described in subdivision 4 of this
subsection who files a complete application by the date
required may continue his existing withdrawal until such
time as the board takes action on the outstanding
application for a ground water withdrawal permit.

8. 9. Any person described in 9 VAC 25-610-90 A
subdivision 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 of this subsection who files an
incomplete application by the date required may
continue to withdraw ground water as described in
9 VAC 25-610-90 A subdivisions 7 and 8 of this
subsection provided that all information required to
complete the application is provided to the board within
60 days of the board's notice to the applicant of
deficiencies.  Should such persons person not provide
the board the required information within 60 days, they
he shall cease withdrawals until they provide he
provides any additional information to the board and the
board concurs that the application is complete.

9. 10. A complete application for those persons
described in 9 VAC 25-610-90 A subdivision 1, 2, 3, 4, or
5 of this subsection shall contain:

a. A ground water withdrawal permit application
completed in its entirety.  Application forms shall be
submitted in a format specified by the board.  Such
application forms are available from the Department
of Environmental Quality;

b. Well construction documentation for all wells
associated with the application;

c. Locations of all wells associated with the
application shown on United States Geological Survey
7½ minute topographic maps or copies of such maps;

d. Withdrawal reports required by the existing
certificate or permit, or reports required by Water
Withdrawal Reporting Regulations (9 VAC 25-200-10
et seq.), or estimates of withdrawals as described in

subdivision 4 of this subsection to support any claimed
prior withdrawal;

e. A copy of the Virginia Department of Health
waterworks operation permit, or equivalent, where
applicable;

f. Persons described in 9 VAC 25-610-90 A
subdivision 5 of this subsection shall submit a water
conservation and management plan as described in
9 VAC 25-610-100;

g. The application shall have an original signature as
described in 9 VAC 25-610-150.

10. Any person described in 9 VAC 25-610-90 A 4 who
files an application by the date required may continue
their existing withdrawal until such time as the board
takes action on the outstanding application for a ground
water withdrawal permit.

11. Any person described in 9 VAC 25-610-90 A
subdivision 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 of this subsection who fails to
file an application by the date required creates the
presumption that all claims to ground water withdrawal
based on historic use have been abandoned.  Should
any such person wish to rebut the presumption that
claims to ground water withdrawal based on historic use
have been abandoned, they may do so by filing he shall
have filed an application with a letter of explanation to
the board within 60 days of the original required date or
within 60 days of the effective date of this chapter,
whichever is later by November 21, 1993.  Any such
person failing to rebut the presumption that claims to
ground water withdrawal based on historic use have
been abandoned who wishes to withdraw ground water,
shall apply for a new withdrawal as described in 9 VAC
25-610-90 subsection C of this section.

12. Any person described in subdivision 4 of this
subsection who fails to file an application by the date
required creates the presumption that all claims to
ground water withdrawal based on historic use have
been abandoned.  Should any such person wish to rebut
the presumption that claims to ground water withdrawal
based on historic use have been abandoned, he may do
so by filing an application with a letter of explanation to
the board within 60 days of the original required date or
within 60 days of [ the effective date of this chapter
January 1, 1999 ] , whichever is later.  Any such person
failing to rebut the presumption that claims to ground
water withdrawal based on historic use have been
abandoned who wishes to withdraw ground water shall
apply for a new withdrawal as described in subsection C
of this section.

B. Persons withdrawing ground water when a ground
water management area is declared or expanded after July
1, 1992, and not excluded from requirements of this chapter
by 9 VAC 25-610-50 shall apply for a permit.

1. Any person withdrawing ground water in an area that
is declared to be a ground water management area after
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July 1, 1992, shall file an application for a ground water
within six months of the effective date of the regulation
creating or expanding the ground water management
area.  The applicant shall demonstrate the claimed prior
withdrawals through withdrawal reports required by
Water Withdrawal Reporting Regulations (9 VAC
25-200-10 et seq.).  In the case of agricultural ground
water withdrawals not required to report by Water
Withdrawal Reporting Regulations, estimates of
withdrawal will be accepted that are based on the area
irrigated, depth of irrigation, and annual number of
irrigations; pumping capacity and annual pumping time;
annual energy consumption for pumps, energy
consumption per hour, and pumping capacity; number
and type of livestock watered annually; number and type
of livestock where water is used for cooling purposes; or
other methods approved by the board.

2. Any person withdrawing ground water who uses the
withdrawal to operate a public water supply system shall
provide a copy of the waterworks operation permit, or
equivalent, with the required application for a ground
water withdrawal permit.

3. Any person who is required to apply for a ground
water withdrawal permit and files a complete application
within six months after the effective date of the
regulation creating or expanding a ground water
management area may continue their withdrawal until
such time as the board takes action on the outstanding
application for a ground water withdrawal permit.

4. Any person who is required to apply for a ground
water withdrawal permit and files an incomplete
application within six months after the effective date of
the regulation creating or expanding a ground water
management area may continue to withdraw ground
water as described in 9 VAC 25-610-90 B subdivision 3
of this subsection provided that all the information
required to complete the application is provided to the
board within 60 days of the board's notice to the
applicant of deficiencies.  Should such persons person
not provide the board the required information within 60
days, they he shall cease withdrawals until they provide
he provides any additional information to the board and
the board concurs that the application is complete.

5. A complete application for those persons described in
9 VAC 25-610-90 B subdivision 1 of this subsection shall
contain:

a. A ground water withdrawal permit application
completed in its entirety.  Application forms shall be
submitted in a format specified by the board.  Such
application forms are available from the Department
of Environmental Quality;

b. Well construction documentation for all wells
associated with the application;

c. Locations of all wells associated with the
application shown on United States Geological Survey
7½ minute topographic maps or copies of such maps;

d. Withdrawal reports required by Water Withdrawal
Reporting Regulations (9 VAC 25-200-10 et seq.) or
estimates of withdrawals as described in subdivision 1
of this subsection to support any claimed prior
withdrawal;

e. A copy of the Virginia Department of Health
waterworks operation permit, where applicable; and

f. The application shall have an original signature as
described in 9 VAC 25-610-150.

6. Any person who fails to file an application within six
months after the effective date creating or expanding a
ground water management area creates the
presumption that all claims to ground water withdrawal
based on historic use have been abandoned.  Should
any such person wish to rebut the presumption that
claims to ground water withdrawal based on historic use
have been abandoned, they may do so by filing an
application with a letter of explanation to the board
within eight months after the date creating or expanding
the ground water management area.  Any such person
failing to rebut the presumption that claims to ground
water withdrawal based on historic use have been
abandoned who wishes to withdraw ground water shall
apply for a new withdrawal as described in 9 VAC
25-610-90 subsection C of this section.

C. Persons wishing to initiate a new withdrawal or expand
an existing withdrawal in any ground water management
area and not excluded from requirements of this chapter by
9 VAC 25-610-50 shall apply for a permit.

1. A ground water withdrawal permit application shall be
completed and submitted to the board and a ground
water withdrawal permit issued by the board prior to the
initiation of any withdrawal not specifically excluded in
9 VAC 25-610-50.

2. A complete ground water withdrawal permit
application for a new or expanded withdrawal, at a
minimum, shall contain the following:

a. A ground water withdrawal permit application
completed in its entirety with all maps, attachments,
and addenda that may be required;

b. The application shall include notification from the
local governing body of the county, city or town in
which the withdrawal is to occur that the location and
operation of the withdrawing facility is in compliance
with all ordinances adopted pursuant to Chapter 11 22
(§ 15.1-427 15.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 15.1 15.2 of the
Code of Virginia. If the governing body of any county,
city or town fails to respond within 45 days following
receipt of a written request by certified mail, return
receipt requested, by an applicant for certification that
the location and operation of the proposed facility is
consistent with all ordinances adopted pursuant to
Chapter 11 22 (§ 15.1-427 15.2-2200 et seq.) of Title
15.1 15.2 of the Code of Virginia, the location and
operation of the proposed facility shall be deemed to
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comply with the provisions of such ordinances for the
purposes of this chapter;

c. The application shall have an original signature as
described in 9 VAC 25-610-150;

d. The application shall include locations of all wells
associated with the application shown on United
States Geological Survey 7½ minute topographic
maps or copies of such maps and a detailed location
map of each existing and proposed well.  The detailed
location map shall be of sufficient detail such that all
wells may be easily located for site inspection;

e. A completed well construction report for all existing
wells associated with the application.  Well
construction report forms will be in a format specified
by the board and are available from the Department of
Environmental Quality;

f. A well construction report of the proposed
construction for all proposed wells included in the
application shall be provided and shall be clearly
marked to distinguish them from well construction
reports of existing wells.  Well construction report
forms will be in a format specified by the board and
are available from the Department of Environmental
Quality.  Following construction of any proposed
wells, well construction reports providing evidence of
the actual construction of the well shall be provided to
the board.  Final approval for construction is the
authority of the Virginia Department of Health (see
9 VAC 25-610-130 A);

g. f. An evaluation of the lowest quality water needed
for the intended beneficial use;

h. g. An evaluation of sources of water supply, other
than ground water, including sources of reclaimed
water; and

i. h. A water conservation and management plan as
described in 9 VAC 25-610-100; and.

j. An evaluation to determine the areas of any aquifers
that will experience at least one foot of water level
declines due to the proposed withdrawal and a listing
of all ground water withdrawal permittees within those
areas.

3. In addition to requirements contained in 9 VAC
25-610-90 C subdivision 2 of this subsection, the board
may require any or all of the following information prior
to considering an application complete.

a. A plan to mitigate potential adverse impacts due to
the proposed withdrawal on existing ground water
users.

b. The installation of monitoring wells and the
collection and analysis of drill cuttings, continuous
cores, geophysical logs, water quality samples or
other hydrogeologic information necessary to
characterize the aquifer system present at the
proposed withdrawal site.

c. The completion of pump tests or aquifer tests to
determine aquifer characteristics at the proposed
withdrawal site.

d. Ground water flow and/or solute transport modeling
to determine the area and extent of predicted impacts
due to the proposed withdrawal.

e. An evaluation of the potential for the proposed
withdrawal to cause salt water intrusion into any
portions of any aquifers or the movement of waters of
lower quality to areas where such movement would
result in adverse impacts on existing ground water
users or the ground water resource.

f. d. Other information that the board believes is
necessary to evaluate the application.

D. Duty to reapply.

1. Any permittee with an effective permit shall submit a
new permit application at least 270 days before the
expiration date of an effective permit unless permission
for a later date has been granted by the board.

2. Permittees who have effective permits shall submit a
new application 270 days prior to any proposed
modification to their activity which will:

a. Result in an increase of withdrawals above
permitted limits; and

b. Violate or lead to the violation of the terms and
conditions of the permit.

3. The applicant shall provide all information described
in 9 VAC 25-610-90 subdivisions C 1 and 2 of this
section and may be required to provide any information
described in 9 VAC 25-610-90 subdivision C 3 of this
section for any reapplication.

E. Where the board considers an application incomplete
under the requirements of 9 VAC 25-610-90 this section, the
board may require the submission of additional information
after an application has been filed, and may suspend
processing of any application until such time as the applicant
has supplied missing or deficient information and the board
considers the application complete.  Further, where the
applicant becomes aware that he omitted one or more
relevant facts from a permit application [ ., ] or submitted
incorrect information in a permit application or in any report
to the board [ ., ] he shall immediately submit such facts or
the correct information.

F. When an application does not accurately describe an
existing or proposed ground water withdrawal system, the
board may require the applicant to amend the existing
application, submit a new application, or submit new
applications before the application will be processed.

G. All persons required by this chapter to apply for ground
water withdrawal permits shall submit application forms in a
format specified by the board.  Such application forms are
available from the Department of Environmental Quality.
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H. No ground water withdrawal permit application shall be
considered complete until a permit fee is submitted as
required by [ the Permit Fee ] regulations [ in Fees for
Permits and Certificates, ] (9 VAC 25-610-10 9 VAC 25-20-
10 et seq.).

9 VAC 25-610-110.  Criteria for issuance of permits.

A. The board shall not issue any permit for more ground
water than will be applied to the proposed beneficial use.

B. The board shall issue ground water withdrawal permits
to persons withdrawing ground water or who have rights to
withdraw ground water prior to July 1, 1992, in the Eastern
Virginia or Eastern Shore Ground Water Management Areas
and not excluded from requirements of this chapter by 9 VAC
25-610-50 based on the following criteria:

1. The board shall issue a ground water withdrawal
permit for persons meeting the criteria of 9 VAC
25-610-90 A 1 for the total amount of ground water
withdrawn in any consecutive 12-month period between
July 1, 1987, and June 30, 1992; however, with respect
to a political subdivision, an authority serving a political
subdivision or a community waterworks regulated by the
Department of Health, the board shall issue a ground
water withdrawal permit for the total amount of water
withdrawn in any consecutive 12-month period between
July 1, 1980, and June 30, 1992.

2. The board shall issue a ground water withdrawal
permit for persons meeting the criteria of 9 VAC
25-610-90 A 2 for the total amount of ground water
withdrawn and applied to a beneficial use in any
consecutive 12-month period between July 1, 1992, and
June 30, 1995.

3. [Reserved.] The board shall issue a ground water
withdrawal permit for persons meeting the criteria of
9 VAC 25-610-90 A 4 for the total amount of ground
water withdrawn in any consecutive 12-month period
between July 1, 1983, and June 30, 1993.  The board
shall evaluate all estimates of ground water withdrawal
based on projected water demands for crops and
livestock as published by the Virginia Cooperative
Extension Service, the United States Natural Resources
Conservation Service, or other similar references and
make a determination whether they are reasonable.  In
all cases only reasonable estimates will be used to
document a permit limit.

4. The board shall issue a ground water withdrawal
permit for persons meeting the criteria of 9 VAC
25-610-90 A 5 for the amount of ground water
withdrawal needed to annually meet human
consumption needs as proven in the water conservation
and management plan approved by the board.  The
board shall include conditions in such permits that
require the implementation of mandatory use restrictions
before such withdrawals can be exercised.

5. When requested by persons described in 9 VAC
25-610-90 A 1, 2 and 4 the board shall issue ground

water withdrawal permits that include withdrawal
amounts in excess of those which an applicant can
support based on historic usage.  These additional
amounts shall be based on water savings achieved
through water conservation measures.  The applicant
shall demonstrate withdrawals prior to implementation
of water conservation measures, type of water
conservation measure implemented, and withdrawals
after implementation of water conservation measures.
The applicant shall provide evidence of withdrawal
amounts through metered withdrawals and estimated
amounts shall not be accepted to claim additional
withdrawal amounts due to water conservation.
Decreases in withdrawal amounts due to production
declines, climatic conditions, population declines, or
similar events shall not be used as a basis to claim
additional withdrawal amounts based on water
conservation.

C. The board shall issue ground water withdrawal permits
to persons withdrawing ground water when a ground water
management area is declared or expanded after July 1,
1992, and not excluded from requirements of this chapter by
9 VAC 25-610-50 based on the following criteria:

1. The board shall issue a ground water withdrawal
permit to nonagricultural users for the total amount of
ground water withdrawn in any consecutive 12-month
period during the five years preceding the effective date
of the regulation creating or expanding the ground water
management area.

2. [Reserved.] The board shall issue a ground water
withdrawal permit to agricultural users for the total amount of
ground water withdrawn in any consecutive 12-month period
during the 10 years preceding the effective date of the
regulation creating or expanding the ground water
management area.  The board shall evaluate all estimates of
ground water withdrawal based on projected water
demands for crops and livestock as published by the Virginia
Cooperative Extension Service, the United States Natural
Resources Conservation Service, or other similar references
and make a determination whether they are reasonable.  In
all cases only reasonable estimates will be used to
document a permit limit.

3. When requested by the applicant the board shall
issue ground water withdrawal permits that include
withdrawal amounts in excess of those which an
applicant can support based on historic usage.  These
additional amounts shall be based on water savings
achieved through water conservation measures.  The
applicant shall demonstrate withdrawals prior to
implementation of water conservation measures, type of
water conservation measure implemented, and
withdrawals after implementation of water conservation
measures.  The applicant shall provide evidence of
withdrawal amounts through metered withdrawals and
estimated amounts shall not be accepted to claim
additional withdrawal amounts due to water
conservation.  Decreases in withdrawal amounts due to
production declines, climatic conditions, population
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declines, or similar events shall not be used as a basis
to claim additional withdrawal amounts based on water
conservation.

D. The board shall issue ground water withdrawal permits
to persons wishing to initiate a new withdrawal or expand an
existing withdrawal in any ground water management area
who have submitted complete applications and are not
excluded from requirements of this chapter by 9 VAC
25-610-50 based on the following criteria:

1. The applicant shall provide all information required in
9 VAC 25-610-90 C 2 prior to the board's determination
that an application is complete.  The board may require
the applicant to provide any information contained in
9 VAC 25-610-90 C 3 prior to considering an application
complete based on the anticipated impact of the
proposed withdrawal on existing ground water users or
the ground water resource.

2. The board shall perform a technical evaluation to
determine the areas of any aquifers that will experience
at least one foot of water level declines due to the
proposed withdrawal and may evaluate the potential for
the proposed withdrawal to cause salt water intrusion
into any portions of any aquifers or the movement of
waters of lower quality to areas where such movement
would result in adverse impacts on existing ground water
users or the ground water resource. [ Prior to public
notice of a draft permit developed in accordance with the
findings of the technical evaluation and at the request of
the applicant, the results of the technical evaluation,
including all assumptions and input, will be provided to
the applicant for review. ]

2. 3. The board shall issue a ground water withdrawal
permit when the applicant demonstrates it is
demonstrated, by a complete application and the
board's technical evaluation, to the board's satisfaction
that the maximum safe supply of ground water will be
preserved and protected for all other beneficial uses and
that the applicant's proposed withdrawal will have no
significant unmitigated impact on existing ground water
users or the ground-water resource.  In order to assure
that the applicant's proposed withdrawal complies with
the above stated requirements, the applicant's
demonstration shall include, but not be limited to,
compliance with the following criteria:

a. The applicant demonstrates that no other sources
of water supply, including reclaimed water, are viable.

b. The applicant demonstrates that the ground water
withdrawal will originate from the aquifer that contains
the lowest quality water that will support the proposed
beneficial use.

c. The applicant demonstrates that the area of impact
of the proposed withdrawal will remain on property
owned by the applicant or that there are no existing
ground water withdrawers within the area of impact of
the proposed withdrawal.

In cases where the area of impact does not remain on
the property owned by the applicant or existing ground
water withdrawers will be included in the area of
impact, the applicant shall provide and implement a
plan to mitigate all adverse impacts on existing
ground water users. Approvable mitigation plans
shall, at a minimum, contain the following features
and implementation of the mitigation plan shall be
included as enforceable permit conditions:

(1) The rebuttable presumption that water level
declines that cause adverse impacts to existing
wells within the area of impact are due to the
proposed withdrawal;

(2) A commitment by the applicant to mitigate
undisputed adverse impacts due to the proposed
withdrawal in a timely fashion;

(3) A speedy, nonexclusive, low-cost process to
fairly resolve disputed claims for mitigation between
the applicant and any claimant; and

(4) The requirement that the claimant provide
documentation that he is the owner of the well;
documentation that the well was constructed and
operated prior to the initiation of the applicant's
withdrawal; the depth of the well, the pump, and
screens and any other construction information that
the claimant possesses; the location of the well with
enough specificity that it can be located in the field;
the historic yield of the well, if available; historic
water levels for the well, if available; and the
reasons the claimant believes that the applicant's
withdrawals have caused an adverse impact on the
well.

d. The applicant demonstrates that the proposed
withdrawal in combination with all existing lawful
withdrawals will not lower water levels, in any
confined aquifer that the withdrawal impacts, below a
point that represents 80% of the distance between the
historical prepumping water levels in the aquifer and
the top of the aquifer.  Compliance with the 80%
drawdown criterion will be determined at the points
that are halfway between the proposed withdrawal site
and the predicted one foot drawdown contour based
on the predicted stabilized effects of the proposed
withdrawal.

e. c. The applicant demonstrates that no pumps or
water intake devices are placed below the top of the
uppermost confined aquifer that a well utilizes as a
ground water source or below the bottom of an
unconfined aquifer that a well utilizes as a ground
water source.

f. d. The applicant demonstrates that the amount of
ground water withdrawal requested is the smallest
amount of withdrawal necessary to support the
proposed beneficial use and that the amount is
representative of the amount necessary to support
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similar beneficial uses when adequate conservation
measures are employed.

g. The applicant demonstrates that the proposed
ground water withdrawal will not result in salt water
intrusion or the movement of waters of lower quality to
areas where such movement would result in adverse
impacts on existing ground water users or the ground
water resource.  This provision shall not exclude the
withdrawal of brackish water so long as the proposed
withdrawal will not result in unmitigated adverse
impacts.

h. e. The applicant provides a water conservation and
management plan as described in 9 VAC 25-610-100
and implements the plan as an enforceable condition
of the ground water withdrawal permit.

i. f. The applicant provides certification by the local
governing body that the location and operation of the
withdrawing facility is in compliance with all
ordinances adopted pursuant to Chapter 11 22
(§ 15.1-427 15.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 15.1 15.2 of the
Code of Virginia.

g. The board's technical evaluation demonstrates that
the area of impact of the proposed withdrawal will
remain on property owned by the applicant or that
there are no existing ground water withdrawers within
the area of impact of the proposed withdrawal.

In cases where the area of impact does not remain on
the property owned by the applicant or existing ground
water withdrawers will be included in the area of
impact, the applicant shall provide and implement a
plan to mitigate all adverse impacts on existing ground
water users. Approvable mitigation plans shall, at a
minimum, contain the following features and
implementation of the mitigation plan shall be included
as enforceable permit conditions:

(1) The rebuttable presumption that water level
declines that cause adverse impacts to existing
wells within the area of impact are due to the
proposed withdrawal;

(2) A commitment by the applicant to mitigate
undisputed adverse impacts due to the proposed
withdrawal in a timely fashion;

(3) A speedy, nonexclusive, low-cost process to
fairly resolve disputed claims for mitigation between
the applicant and any claimant; and

(4) The requirement that the claimant provide
documentation that he is the owner of the well;
documentation that the well was constructed and
operated prior to the initiation of the applicant's
withdrawal; the depth of the well, the pump, and
screens and any other construction information that
the claimant possesses; the location of the well with
enough specificity that it can be located in the field;
the historic yield of the well, if available; historic

water levels for the well, if available; and the
reasons the claimant believes that the applicant's
withdrawals have caused an adverse impact on the
well.

h. The board's technical evaluation demonstrates that
the proposed withdrawal in combination with all
existing lawful withdrawals will not lower water levels,
in any confined aquifer that the withdrawal impacts,
below a point that represents 80% of the distance
between the historical prepumping water levels in the
aquifer and the top of the aquifer. Compliance with the
80% drawdown criterion will be determined at the
points that are halfway between the proposed
withdrawal site and the predicted one-foot drawdown
contour based on the predicted stabilized effects of
the proposed withdrawal.

i. The board's technical evaluation demonstrates that
the proposed ground water withdrawal will not result in
salt water intrusion or the movement of waters of
lower quality to areas where such movement would
result in adverse impacts on existing ground water
users or the ground water resource. This provision
shall not exclude the withdrawal of brackish water so
long as the proposed withdrawal will not result in
unmitigated adverse impacts.

3. 4. The board may also take the following factors into
consideration when evaluating a ground water
withdrawal permit application or special conditions
associated with a ground water withdrawal permit:

a. The nature of the use of the proposed withdrawal;

b. The proposed use of innovative approaches such
as aquifer storage and recovery systems, surface and
ground water conjunctive use systems, multiple well
systems that blend withdrawals from aquifers that
contain different quality ground water in order to
produce potable water, and desalinization of brackish
ground water;

c. Climatic cycles;

d. Economic cycles;

e. The unique requirements of nuclear power stations;

f. Population and water demand projections during the
term of the proposed permit;

g. The status of land use and other necessary
approvals; and

h. Other factors that the board deems appropriate.

E. When proposed uses of ground water are in conflict or
available supplies of ground water are not sufficient to
support all those who desire to use them, the board shall
prioritize the evaluation of applications in the following
manner:

1. Applications for human consumptive use shall be
given the highest priority;
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2. Should there be conflicts between applications for
human consumptive uses, applications will be evaluated
in order based on the date that said applications were
considered complete; and

3. Applications for all uses, other than human
consumption, will be evaluated following the evaluation
of proposed human consumptive uses in order based on
the date that said applications were considered
complete.

F. Criteria for reissuance of permits.  The board shall
consider all criteria for reissuance of a ground water
withdrawal permit [ that are considered for issuance as ]
described in [ subsection D of ] this section [ of this
chapter ] .  Existing permitted withdrawal amounts shall not
be the sole basis for determination of the appropriate
withdrawal amounts when a permit is reissued.

The board shall reissue a permit to any public water
supply user for an annual amount no less than the amount
equal to that portion of the permitted withdrawal that was
used by said system to support human consumptive uses
during 12 consecutive months of the previous term of the
permit.

9 VAC 25-610-130.  Conditions applicable to all permits.

A. Duty to comply.  The permittee shall comply with all
conditions of the permit.  Nothing in this chapter shall be
construed to relieve the ground water withdrawal permit
holder of the duty to comply with all applicable federal and
state statutes and regulations.  At a minimum, a person
must obtain a well construction permit or a well site approval
letter from the Virginia Department of Health prior to the
construction of any well.  Any permit noncompliance is a
violation of the Act and law, and is grounds for enforcement
action, permit termination, revocation, amendment, or denial
of a permit renewal application.

B. Duty to cease or confine activity.  It shall not be a
defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it
would have been necessary to halt or reduce the activity for
which a permit has been granted in order to maintain
compliance with the conditions of the permit.

C. Duty to mitigate.  The permittee shall take all
reasonable steps to:

1. Avoid all adverse impacts to lawful ground water
users which could result from the withdrawal; and

2. Where impacts cannot be avoided, provide mitigation
of the adverse impact as described in 9 VAC 25-610-110
D 2 3 [ c g ].

D. Inspection and entry.  Upon presentation of credentials,
any duly authorized agent of the board or department may,
at reasonable times and under reasonable circumstances:

1. Enter upon any permittee's property, public or private,
and have access to, inspect and copy any records that
must be kept as part of the permit conditions;

2. Inspect any facilities, operations or practices
(including monitoring and control equipment) regulated
or required under the permit; and

3. Sample or monitor any substance, parameter or
activity for the purpose of assuring compliance with the
conditions of the permit or as otherwise authorized by
law.

E. Duty to provide information.  The permittee shall furnish
to the board, within a reasonable time, any information which
the board may request to determine whether cause exists for
amending or revoking the permit, or to determine compliance
with the permit. The permittee shall also furnish to the board,
upon request, copies of records required to be kept by the
permittee.

F. Monitoring and records requirements.

1. Monitoring shall be conducted according to approved
analytical methods as specified in the permit.

2. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of
monitoring shall be representative of the monitored
activity.

3. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring
information, including all calibration and maintenance
records and all original strip chart or electronic
recordings for continuous monitoring instrumentation,
copies of all reports required by the permit, and records
of all data used to complete the application for the
permit, for a period of at least three years from the date
of the expiration of a granted permit. This period may be
extended by request of the board at any time.

4. Records of monitoring information shall include:

a. The date, exact place and time of sampling or
measurements;

b. The name of the individuals who performed the
sampling or measurements;

c. The date the analyses were performed;

d. The name of the individuals who performed the
analyses;

e. The analytical techniques or methods supporting
the information such as observations, readings,
calculations and bench data used; and

f. The results of such analyses.

G. Permit action.  A permit may be amended or revoked
as set forth in Part VI of this chapter.

If a permittee files a request for permit amendment or
revocation, or files a notification of planned changes, or
anticipated noncompliance, the permit terms and conditions
shall remain effective until the request is acted upon by the
board.  This provision shall not be used to extend the
expiration date of the effective permit.
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Permits may be amended or revoked upon the request of
the permittee, or upon board initiative, to reflect the
requirements of any changes in the statutes or regulations.

9 VAC 25-610-140.  Establishing applicable standards,
limitations or other permit conditions.

A. In addition to the conditions established in 9 VAC
25-610-100, 9 VAC 25-610-110, 9 VAC 25-610-120 and
9 VAC 25-610-130 of this chapter, each permit shall include
conditions with the following requirements:

1. A permit shall contain the total depth of each
permitted well in feet;

2. A permit shall contain the designation of the aquifers
to be utilized;

3. A permit shall contain conditions limiting the
withdrawal amount of a single well or a group of wells
that comprise a withdrawal system to a quantity
specified by the board.  A permit shall contain a
maximum annual withdrawal limit;

4. A ground water withdrawal permit for a public water
supply shall contain a condition allowing daily
withdrawals at a level consistent with the requirements
and conditions contained in the the waterworks
operation permit, or equivalent, issued by the Virginia
Department of Health.  This requirement shall not limit
the authority of the board to reduce or eliminate ground
water withdrawals by public water suppliers if necessary
to protect human health or the environment;

5. The permittee shall not place a pump or water intake
device lower than the top of the uppermost confined
aquifer that a well utilizes as a ground water source or
lower than the bottom of an unconfined aquifer that a
well utilizes as a ground water source;

6. All permits shall specify monitoring requirements as
conditions of the permit.

a. Permitted users who are issued ground water
withdrawal permits based on 9 VAC 25-610-110 B 3
and C 2 shall install either in-line totalizing flow meters
or hour meters that record the hours of operation of
withdrawal pumps on each permitted well prior to
beginning the permitted use.  Flow meters shall
produce volume determinations within plus or minus
10% of actual flows.  Hour meters shall produce run
times within plus or minus 10% of actual run times.
Hour meter readings will be multiplied by the maximum
capacity of the withdrawal pump to determine
withdrawal amounts.  A defective meter or other
device must be repaired or replaced within 30 days.  A
defective meter is not grounds for not reporting
withdrawals.  During any period when a meter is
defective, generally accepted engineering methods
shall be used to estimate withdrawals and the period
during which the meter was defective must be clearly
identified in ground water withdrawal reports. An
alternative method for determining flow may be
approved by the board on a case-by-case basis.

a. b. Permitted users who are issued ground water
withdrawal permits based on any section of this
chapter not included in subdivision 6 a of this
subsection shall install in-line totalizing flow meters to
read gallons, cubic feet or cubic meters on each
permitted well prior to beginning the permitted use.
Such meters shall produce volume determinations
within plus or minus 10% of actual flows.  A defective
meter or other device must be repaired or replaced
within 30 days.  A defective meter is not grounds for
not reporting withdrawals.  During any period when a
meter is defective, generally accepted engineering
methods shall be used to estimate withdrawals and
the period during which the meter was defective must
be clearly identified in ground water withdrawal
reports.  An alternative method for determining flow
may be approved by the board on a case-by-case
basis.

b. c. Permits shall contain requirements concerning
the proper use, maintenance and installation, when
appropriate, of monitoring equipment or methods
when required as a condition of the permit.

c. d. Permits shall contain required monitoring
including type, intervals, and frequency sufficient to
yield data which are representative of the monitored
activity and including, when appropriate, continuous
monitoring and sampling.

d. e. Each permitted well shall be equipped in a
manner such that water levels can be measured
during pumping and nonpumping periods without
dismantling any equipment.  Any opening for tape
measurement of water levels shall have an inside
diameter of at least 0.5 inches and be sealed by a
removable plug or cap.  The permittee shall provide a
tap for taking raw water samples from each permitted
well.

7. All permits shall include requirements to report the
amount of water withdrawn from each permitted well
and well system on forms provided by the board with a
frequency dependent on the nature and effect of the
withdrawal, but in no case less than once per year.

8. Ground water withdrawal permits issued under this
chapter shall have an effective and expiration date which
will determine the life of the permit.  Ground water
withdrawal permits shall be shall be effective for a fixed
term not to exceed 10 years.  Permit duration of less
than the maximum period of time may be recommended
in areas where hydrologic conditions are changing or are
not adequately known.  The term of any permit shall not
be extended by amendment beyond the maximum
duration.  Extension of permits for the same activity
beyond the maximum duration specified in the original
permit will require reapplication and issuance of a new
permit.

9. Each permit shall have a condition allowing the
reopening of the permit for the purpose of amending the
conditions of the permit to meet new regulatory
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standards duly adopted by the board.  Cause for
reopening permits include but is not limited to a
determination that the circumstances under which the
previous permit was based have materially and
substantially changed, or special studies conducted by
the board or the permittee show material and substantial
change, since the time the permit was issued and
thereby constitute cause for permit amendment or
revocation.

10. Each well that is included in a ground water
withdrawal permit shall have affixed to the well casing,
in a prominent place, a permanent well identification
plate that records the Department of Environmental
Quality well identification number, the ground water
withdrawal permit number, the total depth of the well
and the screened intervals in the well, at a minimum.
Such well identification plates shall be in a format
specified by the board and are available from the
Department of Environmental Quality.

B. In addition to the conditions established in 9 VAC
25-610-100, 9 VAC 25-610-110, 9 VAC 25-610-120, 9 VAC
25-610-130, and 9 VAC 25-610-140 subsection A of this
section, each permit may include conditions with the
following requirements where applicable:

1. A withdrawal limit may be placed on all or some of
the wells which constitute a withdrawal system;

2. A permit may contain quarterly, monthly, or daily
withdrawal limits or withdrawal limits based on any other
frequency as determined by the board;

3. A permit may contain conditions requiring water
quality and water levels monitoring at specified intervals
in any wells deemed appropriate by the board;

4. A permit may contain conditions specifying water
quality action levels in pumping and
observation/monitoring wells to protect against or
mitigate water quality degradation.  The board may
require permitted users to initiate control measures
which include, but are not limited to, the following:

a. Pumping arrangements to reduce ground water
withdrawal in areas of concentrated pumping;

b. Location of wells to eliminate or reduce ground
water withdrawals near saltwater-freshwater
interfaces;

c. Requirement of selective withdrawal from other
available aquifers than those presently used;

d. Selective curtailment, reduction or cessation of
ground water withdrawals to protect the public
welfare, safety or health or to protect the resource;

e. Conjunctive use of freshwater and saltwater
aquifers, or waters of less desirable quality where
water quality of a specific character is not essential;

f. Construction and use of observation or monitoring
wells, drilled into aquifers between areas of ground
water withdrawal (or proposed areas of ground water

withdrawal) and sources of lower quality water
including saltwater;

g. Prohibiting the hydraulic connection of aquifers that
contain different quality waters that could result in
deterioration of water quality in an aquifer; and

h. Such other necessary control or abatement
techniques as are technically feasible.

5. A permit may contain conditions limiting water level
declines in pumping wells and observation wells; and

6. All permits may include requirements to report water
quality and water level information on forms provided by
the board with a frequency dependent on the nature and
effect of the withdrawal, but in no case less than once
per year.

C. In addition to conditions described in 9 VAC
25-610-130 and 9 VAC 25-610-140 subsections A and B of
this section [ , ] the board may issue any permit with any
terms, conditions and limitations necessary to protect the
public welfare, safety and health.

9 VAC 25-610-160.  Draft permit.

A. Upon receipt of a complete application for a new or
expanded withdrawal or a complete application to amend an
existing withdrawal, the board shall make a tentative decision
to issue or deny the application.  If a tentative decision is to
issue the permit then a draft permit shall be prepared in
advance of public notice.  The following tentative
determinations shall be incorporated into a draft permit:

1. Conditions, withdrawal limitations, standards and
other requirements applicable to the permit;

2. Monitoring and reporting requirements;

3. Requirements for mitigation of adverse impacts; and

4. Requirements for a water conservation and
management plan.

B. If the tentative decision is to deny the application, the
board shall do so in accordance with 9 VAC 25-610-340.

9 VAC 25-610-250.  Public notice of permit or special
exception action and public comment period.

A. Every draft permit described in 9 VAC 25-610-160 A
and draft special exception shall be given public notice in a
form prescribed by the board and paid for by the owner, by
publication once in a newspaper of general circulation in the
area affected by the withdrawal.

B. Notice of each draft permit described in 9 VAC 25-610-
160 A and draft special exception will be mailed by the board
to each local governing body within the ground water
management area within which the proposed withdrawal will
occur on or before the date of public notice.

C. The board shall allow a period of at least 30 days
following the date of the public notice for interested persons
to submit written comments on the tentative decision and to
request an informal hearing.
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D. The contents of the public notice of a draft permit or
draft special exception action shall include:

1. Name and address of the applicant.  If the location of
the proposed withdrawal differs from the address of the
applicant the notice shall also state the location in
sufficient detail such that the specific location may be
easily identified;

2. Brief description of the beneficial use that the ground
water withdrawal will support;

3. The name and depth below ground surface of the
aquifer that will support the proposed withdrawal;

4. The amount of ground water withdrawal requested
expressed as an average gallonage per day;

5. A statement of the tentative determination to issue or
deny a permit or special exception;

6. A brief description of the final determination
procedure;

7. The address and phone number of a specific person
at the department's office from whom further information
may be obtained; and

8. A brief description on how to submit comments and
request a public hearing.

E. Public notice shall not be required for submission or
approval of plans and specifications or conceptual
engineering reports not required to be submitted as part of
the application or for draft permits for existing ground water
withdrawals when such draft permits are based solely on
historic withdrawals.

F. When a permit or special exception is denied the board
will do so in accordance with 9 VAC 25-610-340.

9 VAC 25-610-330.  Minor amendment.

A. Upon request of the holder of a permit or special
exception, or upon board initiative with the consent of the
holder of a permit or special exception, minor amendments
may be made in the permit or special exception without
following the public involvement procedures.

B. For ground water withdrawal permits and special
exceptions, minor amendments may only:

1. Correct typographical errors;

2. Require reporting at a greater frequency than required
in the permit or special exception;

3. Add additional or more restrictive monitoring
requirements than required in the permit or special
exception;

4. Replace an existing well so long as the replacement
well is screened in the same aquifers and as the existing
well, the replacement well is in the same location as the
existing well, the ground water withdrawal does not
increase, and the area of impact does not increase;

5. Add additional wells so long as the additional wells are
screened in the same aquifers as the existing well,
additional wells are in the same location as the existing
well, the total ground water withdrawal does not
increase, and the area of impact does not increase;

5. 6. Combine the withdrawals governed by multiple
permits into one permit when the systems that were
governed by the multiple permits are physically
connected, as long as the interconnection will not result
in additional ground water withdrawal and the area of
impact will not increase;

6. 7. Change an interim compliance date in a schedule
of compliance to no more than 120 days from the
original compliance date and provided it will not interfere
with the final compliance date; and

7. 8. Allow for a change in ownership or operational
control when the board determines that no other change
in the permit or special exception is necessary, provided
that a written agreement containing a specific date for
transfer of permit or special exception responsibility,
coverage and liability from the current to the new owner
has been submitted to the board.

9 VAC 25-610-400.  Evaluation of regulation.

Within three years after [ the effective date of this chapter
January 1, 1999 ] , the department shall perform an analysis
of this chapter and provide the board with a report on the
results.  The analysis shall include (i) the purpose and need
for the chapter, (ii) alternatives which would achieve the
stated purpose of this chapter in a less burdensome and less
intrusive manner, (iii) an assessment of the effectiveness of
this chapter, (iv) the results of a review of current state and
federal statutory and regulatory requirements, and (v) the
results of a review as to whether this chapter is clearly
written and easily understandable by affected entities.

Upon review of the department's analysis, the board shall
confirm the need to (i) continue this chapter without
amendment, (ii) repeal this chapter, or (iii) amend this
chapter.  If the board's decision is to repeal or amend this
chapter, the board shall authorize the department to initiate
the applicable regulatory process to carry out the decision of
the board.

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-21; Filed October 27, 1998, 12:55 p.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 12.  HEALTH

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES

Title of Regulation:  12 VAC 30-50-10 et seq.  Amount,
Duration, and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care
Services (amending 12 VAC 30-50-110, 12 VAC 30-50-140
and 12 VAC 30-50-210).
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Statutory Authority:  § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 1, 1999.

Summary:

The amendments clarify DMAS’ policy for the coverage
of breast reconstruction procedures and prostheses and
establish parameters for the coverage of outpatient
observation beds.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response:  A
summary of comments made by the public and the agency’s
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact:  Victoria P. Simmons, Regulatory
Coordinator, Department of Medical Assistance Services,
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 371-8850.

12 VAC 30-50-110.  Outpatient hospital and rural health
clinic services.

A.  Outpatient hospital services.

1.  Outpatient hospital services means preventive,
diagnostic, therapeutic, rehabilitative, or palliative
services that:

a.  Are furnished to outpatients;

b.  Except in the case of nurse-midwife services, as
specified in § 42 CFR 440.165, are furnished by or
under the direction of a physician or dentist; and

c.  Are furnished by an institution that:

(1) Is licensed or formally approved as a hospital by
an officially designated authority for state
standard-setting; and

(2) Except in the case of medical supervision of
nurse-midwife services, as specified in § 42 CFR
440.165, meets the requirements for participation in
Medicare.

2.  Reimbursement for induced abortions is provided in
only those cases in which there would be substantial
endangerment of health or life to the mother if the fetus
were was carried to term.

3.  Repealed.  The following limits and requirements shall
apply to DMAS coverage of outpatient observation beds.

a.  Observation bed services shall be covered when
they are reasonable and necessary to evaluate a
medical condition to determine appropriate level of
treatment.

b.  Nonroutine observation for underlying medical
complications, as explained in documentation attached
to the provider's claim for payment, after surgery or
diagnostic services shall be covered.  Routine use of
an observation bed shall not be covered.  Noncovered
routine use shall be:

(1) Routine preparatory services and routine
recovery time for outpatient surgical or diagnostic
testing services (e.g., services for routine post-
operative monitoring during a normal recovery
period (four to six hours)).

(2) Observation services provided in conjunction
with emergency room services, unless, following the
emergency treatment, there are clear medical
complications which must be managed by a
physician other than the original emergency
physician.

(3) Any substitution of an outpatient observation
service for a medically appropriate inpatient
admission.

c.  These services must be billed as outpatient care
and may be provided for up to 23 hours.  A patient
stay of 24 hours or more shall require inpatient
precertification, where applicable.

d.  When inpatient admission is required following
observation services and prior approval has been
obtained for the inpatient stay, observation charges
must be combined with the appropriate inpatient
admission and be shown on the inpatient claim for
payment.  Observation bed charges and inpatient
hospital charges shall not be reimbursed for the same
day.

B.  Rural health clinic services and other ambulatory
services furnished by a rural health clinic.

The same service limitations apply to rural health clinics
as to all other services.

C.  Federally qualified health center (FQHC) services and
other ambulatory services that are covered under the plan
and furnished by an FQHC in accordance with § 4231 of the
State Medicaid Manual (HCFA-Pub. 45-4).

The same service limitations apply to FQHCs as to all
other services.

12 VAC 30-50-140.  Physician's services whether
furnished in the office, the patient's home, a hospital, a
skilled nursing facility or elsewhere.

A.  Elective surgery as defined by the Program is surgery
that is not medically necessary to restore or materially
improve a body function.

B.  Cosmetic surgical procedures are not covered unless
performed for physiological reasons and require Program
prior approval.

C.  Routine physicals and immunizations are not covered
except when the services are provided under the Early and
Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT)
Program and when a well-child examination is performed in
a private physician's office for a foster child of the local
social services department on specific referral from those
departments.
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D.  Outpatient psychiatric services.

1.  Psychiatric services are limited to an initial
availability of 26 sessions, with one possible extension
(subject to DMAS’ approval) of 26 sessions during the
first year of treatment.  The availability is further
restricted to no more than 26 sessions each succeeding
year when approved by DMAS.  Psychiatric services are
further restricted to no more than three sessions in any
given seven-day period.  Consistent with § 6403 of the
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989, medically
necessary psychiatric services shall be covered when
prior authorized by DMAS for individuals younger than
21 years of age when the need for such services has
been identified in an EPSDT screening.

2.  Psychiatric services can be provided by psychiatrists
or by a licensed clinical social worker or licensed
professional counselor under the direct supervision of a
psychiatrist.*

3.  Psychological and psychiatric services shall be
medically prescribed treatment which is directly and
specifically related to an active written plan designed
and signature-dated by either a psychiatrist or by a
licensed clinical social worker or licensed professional
counselor under the direct supervision of a psychiatrist.*

* Licensed clinical social workers and licensed
professional counselors may also directly enroll or be
supervised by psychologists as provided for in 12 VAC
30-50-150.

4.  Psychological or psychiatric services shall be
considered appropriate when an individual meets the
following criteria:

a.  Requires treatment in order to sustain behavioral
or emotional gains or to restore cognitive functional
levels which have been impaired;

b.  Exhibits deficits in peer relations, dealing with
authority; is hyperactive; has poor impulse control; is
clinically depressed or demonstrates other
dysfunctional clinical symptoms having an adverse
impact on attention and concentration, ability to learn,
or ability to participate in employment, educational, or
social activities;

c.  Is at risk for developing or requires treatment for
maladaptive coping strategies; and

d.  Presents a reduction in individual adaptive and
coping mechanisms or demonstrates extreme
increase in personal distress.

5.  Psychological or psychiatric services may be
provided in an office or a mental health clinic.

E.  Any procedure considered experimental is not covered.

F.  Reimbursement for induced abortions is provided in
only those cases in which there would be a substantial
endangerment of health or life to the mother if the fetus
[ were was ] carried to term.

G.  Physician visits to inpatient hospital patients over the
age of 21 are limited to a maximum of 21 days per
admission within 60 days for the same or similar diagnoses
or treatment plan and is further restricted to medically
necessary authorized (for enrolled providers)/approved (for
nonenrolled providers) inpatient hospital days as determined
by the Program.

EXCEPTION:  SPECIAL PROVISIONS FOR ELIGIBLE
INDIVIDUALS UNDER 21 YEARS OF AGE:  Consistent with
42 CFR 441.57, payment of medical assistance services
shall be made on behalf of individuals under 21 years of age,
who are Medicaid eligible, for medically necessary stays in
general hospitals and freestanding psychiatric facilities in
excess of 21 days per admission when such services are
rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of
health conditions identified through a physical examination.
Payments for physician visits for inpatient days shall be
limited to medically necessary inpatient hospital days.

H.  (Reserved.)

I.  Reimbursement shall not be provided for physician
services provided to recipients in the inpatient setting
whenever the facility is denied reimbursement.

J.  (Reserved.)

K.  For the purposes of organ transplantation, all similarly
situated individuals will be treated alike.  Transplant services
for kidneys and corneas shall be covered for all eligible
persons.  High dose chemotherapy and bone marrow/stem
cell transplantation shall be covered for all eligible persons
with a diagnosis of lymphoma or breast cancer.  Transplant
services for liver, heart, and any other medically necessary
transplantation procedures that are determined to not be
experimental or investigational shall be limited to children
(under 21 years of age).  Kidney, liver, heart, and bone
marrow/stem cell transplants and any other medically
necessary transplantation procedures that are determined to
not be experimental or investigational require
preauthorization by DMAS.  Cornea transplants do not
require preauthorization.  The patient must be considered
acceptable for coverage and treatment.  The treating facility
and transplant staff must be recognized as being capable of
providing high quality care in the performance of the
requested transplant.  Reimbursement for covered liver,
heart, and bone marrow/stem cell transplant services and
any other medically necessary transplantation procedures
that are determined to not be experimental or investigational
shall be a fee based upon the greater of a prospectively
determined, procedure-specific flat fee determined by the
agency or a prospectively determined, procedure-specific
percentage of usual and customary charges.  The flat fee
reimbursement will cover procurement costs; all hospital
costs from admission to discharge for the transplant
procedure; and total physician costs for all physicians
providing services during the transplant hospital stay,
including radiologists, pathologists, oncologists, surgeons,
etc.  The flat fee reimbursement does not include pre- and
post-hospitalization for the transplant procedure or
pretransplant evaluation.  If the actual charges are lower
than the fee, the agency shall reimburse actual charges.
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Reimbursement for approved transplant procedures that are
performed out of state will be made in the same manner as
reimbursement for transplant procedures performed in the
Commonwealth.  Reimbursement for covered kidney and
cornea transplants is at the allowed Medicaid rate.
Standards for coverage of organ transplant services are in
12 VAC 30-50-540 through 12 VAC 30-50-570.

L.  Breast reconstruction/prostheses following mastectomy
and breast reduction.

1.  If prior authorized, breast reconstruction surgery and
prostheses may be covered following the medically
necessary complete or partial removal of a breast for
any medical reason.  Breast reductions shall be covered,
if prior authorized, for all medically necessary indications.
Such procedures shall be considered noncosmetic.

2.  Breast reconstruction or enhancements for cosmetic
reasons shall not be covered.  Cosmetic reasons shall
be defined as those which are not medically indicated or
are intended solely to preserve, restore, confer, or
enhance the aesthetic appearance of the breast.

12 VAC 30-50-210.  Prescribed drugs, dentures, and
prosthetic devices; and eyeglasses prescribed by a
physician skilled in diseases of the eye or by an
optometrist.

A.  Prescribed drugs.

1.  Drugs for which Federal Financial Participation is not
available, pursuant to the requirements of § 1927 of the
Social Security Act (OBRA '90 § 4401), shall not be
covered.

2.  Nonlegend drugs shall be covered by Medicaid in the
following situations:

a.  Insulin, syringes, and needles for diabetic patients;

b.  Diabetic test strips for Medicaid recipients under
21 years of age;

c.  Family planning supplies;

d.  Designated categories of nonlegend drugs for
Medicaid recipients in nursing homes;

e.  Designated drugs prescribed by a licensed
prescriber to be used as less expensive therapeutic
alternatives to covered legend drugs.

3.  Legend drugs are covered with the exception of
anorexiant drugs prescribed for weight loss and the
drugs or classes of drugs identified in 12 VAC
30-50-520.  Anorexiant drugs, when preauthorized, will
be covered for recipients who meet the strict disability
standards for obesity established by the Social Security
Administration, and whose condition is certified as life
threatening, consistent with Department of Medical
Assistance Services' medical necessity requirements, by
the treating physician.

4.  Notwithstanding the provisions of § 32.1-87 of the
Code of Virginia, and in compliance with the provision of

§ 4401 of the Omnibus Reconciliation Act of 1990,
§ 1927(e) of the Social Security Act as amended by
OBRA 90, and pursuant to the authority provided for
under § 32.1-325 A of the Code of Virginia, prescriptions
for Medicaid recipients for multiple source drugs subject
to 42 CFR 447.332 shall be filled with generic drug
products unless the physician or other practitioners so
licensed and certified to prescribe drugs certifies in his
own handwriting "brand necessary" for the prescription
to be dispensed as written.

5.  New drugs shall be covered in accordance with the
Social Security Act § 1927(d) (OBRA 90 § 4401).

6.  The number of refills shall be limited pursuant to
§ 54.1-3411 of the Drug Control Act.

7.  Drug prior authorization.

a.  Definitions.  The following words and terms used in
these regulations shall have the following meaning,
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Board" means the Board for Medical Assistance
Services.

"Committee" means the Medicaid Prior
Authorization Advisory Committee.

"Department" means the Department of Medical
Assistance Services.

"Director" means the Director of Medical Assistance
Services.

"Drug" shall have the same meaning, unless the
context otherwise dictates or the board otherwise
provides by regulation, as provided in the Drug
Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of
Virginia).

b.  Medicaid Prior Authorization Advisory Committee;
membership.  The Medicaid Prior Authorization
Committee shall consist of 11 members to be
appointed by the board.  Five members shall be
physicians, at least three of whom shall care for a
significant number of Medicaid patients; four shall be
pharmacists, two of whom shall be community
pharmacists; one member shall be a consumer of
mental health services; and one shall be a Medicaid
recipient.

(1) A quorum for action of the committee shall
consist of six members.

(2) The members shall serve at the pleasure of the
board; vacancies shall be filled in the same manner
as the original appointment.

(3) The board shall consider nominations made by
the Medical Society of Virginia, the Old Dominion
Medical Society, the Psychiatric Society of Virginia,
the Virginia Pharmaceutical Association, the
Virginia Alliance for the Mentally Ill, and the Virginia
Mental Health Consumers Association when making
appointments to the committee.
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(4) The committee shall elect its own officers,
establish its own procedural rules, and meet as
needed or as called by the board, the director, or
any two members of the committee.  The
department shall provide appropriate staffing to the
committee.

c.  Duties of the committee.

(1) The committee shall make recommendations to
the board regarding drugs or categories of drugs to
be subject to prior authorization, prior authorization
requirements for prescription drug coverage and
any subsequent amendments to or revisions of the
prior authorization requirements.  The board may
accept or reject the recommendations in whole or in
part, and may amend or add to the
recommendations, except that the board may not
add to the recommendation of drugs and categories
of drugs to be subject to prior authorization.

(2) In formulating its recommendations to the
board, the committee shall not be deemed to be
formulating regulations for the purposes of the
Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 et seq.).
The committee shall, however, conduct public
hearings prior to making recommendations to the
board.  The committee shall give 30 days written
notice by mail of the time and place of its hearings
and meetings to any manufacturer whose product is
being reviewed by the committee and to those
manufacturers who request of the committee in
writing that they be informed of such hearings and
meetings.  These persons shall be afforded a
reasonable opportunity to be heard and present
information.  The committee shall give 30 days
notice of such public hearings to the public by
publishing its intention to conduct hearings and
meetings in the Calendar of Events of The Virginia
Register of Regulations and a newspaper of general
circulation located in Richmond.

(3) In acting on the recommendations of the
committee, the board shall conduct further
proceedings under the Administrative Process Act.

d.  Prior authorization of prescription drug products;
coverage.

(1) The committee shall review prescription drug
products to recommend prior authorization under
the state plan.  This review may be initiated by the
director, the committee itself, or by written request
of the board.  The committee shall complete its
recommendations to the board within no more than
six months from receipt of any such request.

(2) Coverage for any drug requiring prior
authorization shall not be approved unless a
prescribing physician obtains prior approval of the
use in accordance with regulations promulgated by
the board and procedures established by the
department.

(3) In formulating its recommendations to the
board, the committee shall consider the potential
impact on patient care and the potential fiscal
impact of prior authorization on pharmacy,
physician, hospitalization and outpatient costs.  Any
proposed regulation making a drug or category of
drugs subject to prior authorization shall be
accompanied by a statement of the estimated
impact of this action on pharmacy, physician,
hospitalization and outpatient costs.

(4) The committee shall not review any drug for
which it has recommended or the board has
required prior authorization within the previous 12
months, unless new or previously unavailable
relevant and objective information is presented.

(5) Confidential proprietary information identified as
such by a manufacturer or supplier in writing in
advance and furnished to the committee or the
board according to this subsection shall not be
subject to the disclosure requirements of the
Virginia Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.1-340 et
seq. of the Code of Virginia).  The board shall
establish by regulation the means by which such
confidential proprietary information shall be
protected.

e.  Immunity.  The members of the committee and the
board and the staff of the department shall be
immune, individually and jointly, from civil liability for
any act, decision, or omission done or made in
performance of their duties pursuant to this
subsection while serving as a member of such board,
committee, or staff provided that such act, decision,
or omission is not done or made in bad faith or with
malicious intent.

f.  Annual report to joint commission.  The committee
shall report annually to the Joint Commission on
Health Care regarding its recommendations for prior
authorization of drug products.

B.  Dentures.  Dentures are provided only as a result of
EPSDT and subject to medical necessity and
preauthorization requirements specified under Dental
Services.

C.  Prosthetic devices.

1.  Prosthetics Prosthetic services shall mean the
replacement of missing arms and, legs, and breasts and
the provision of any internal (implant) body part.  Nothing
in this regulation shall be construed to refer to orthotic
services or devices or organ transplantation services.

2.  Prosthetic devices (artificial arms [ and, ] legs, [ and
breasts ] and their necessary supportive attachments [ ,
implants and breasts ] ) are provided when prescribed by
a physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing
arts within the scope of their professional licenses as
defined by state law. This service, when provided by an
authorized vendor, must be medically necessary, and
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preauthorized for the minimum applicable component
necessary for the activities of daily living.

D.  Eyeglasses.  Eyeglasses shall be reimbursed for all
recipients younger than 21 years of age according to medical
necessity when provided by practitioners as licensed under
the Code of Virginia.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 12 VAC 30-50-10
et seq., Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical and
Remedial Care Services, are listed below.  Any amended or
added forms are reflected in the listing and are published
following the listing.

FORMS

Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument, UAI, Virginia Long-
Term Care Council, 1994.

Health Insurance Claim Form, Form HCFA-1500, 12/90.
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VA.R. Doc. No. R98-18; Filed October 28, 1998, 10:08 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
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TITLE 16.  LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY

Safety and Health Codes Board

Title of Regulation:  16 VAC 25-50-10 et seq.  Boiler and
Pressure Vessel Rules and Regulations (amending
16 VAC 25-50-10, 16 VAC 25-50-20, [ 16 VAC 25-50-50 ],
16 VAC 25-50-70, 16 VAC 25-50-80, 16 VAC 25-50-90,
16 VAC 25-50-120, 16 VAC 25-50-150, 16 VAC 25-50-190,
16 VAC 25-50-240, 16 VAC 25-50-250, 16 VAC 25-50-270,
16 VAC 25-50-290, 16 VAC 25-50-350, 16 VAC 25-50-360,
16 VAC 25-50-370, 16 VAC 25-50-380, 16 VAC 25-50-390,
16 VAC 25-50-430, 16 VAC 25-50-440 and 16 VAC 25-50-
480 [ ; adding 16 VAC 25-50-15 ] ).

Statutory Authority:  § 40.1-51.6 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 1, 1999, except subsection C of
16 VAC 25-50-70, 16 VAC 25-50-250, subdivision F 11 of
16 VAC 25-50-360, subsection G of 16 VAC 25-50-370,
subdivision E 2 of 16 VAC 25-50-380, and subsections A, B,
and C of 16 VAC 25-50-480 will become effective on April 1,
1999.

Summary:

The amendments incorporate the transfer of authority for
setting various fee amounts from statute to regulation
and adopt several changes recommended individually or
jointly by the regulated community, the National Board of
Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors, or the Chief
Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspector of the
Commonwealth.

The amendments also direct commonwealth inspectors
to inspect uninsured boilers and pressure vessels in
those geographic areas or limited time periods within
which commercial services would not be available, set
out the chief inspector’s criteria for determining
unavailability, and establish rates for certification
inspections conducted by commonwealth inspectors.
These changes eliminate a criticism of the current
privatized inspection system and are directed by the
General Assembly.

Also included in these amendments are changes
suggested by the department’s regulatory review and a
request by the department to require the national board
“R” and “VR” stamp certification for organizations
performing repairs and alterations to boilers and
pressure vessels, and the repair and resetting of safety
valves.  Current regulation requires that all boilers and
pressure vessels be designed, constructed and installed
in accordance with the ASME Boiler and Pressure
Vessel Code.  However, the ASME code does not
establish standards for repair or alteration of these

objects once they have been code stamped and
installed.

In 1977, the national board, in conjunction with the chief
inspectors of the 43 member states and three member
cities, established standards for object repair in order to
address the problem that ASME code integrity of
pressurized equipment was being violated by improper
repairs and alterations.  The national board published a
standard for controlling such repair and alteration as a
chapter to the National Board Inspection Code and
developed the “R” stamp certification program.  The “R”
Stamp program has been adopted by 32 of the 46
members.

At its October 19, 1998, meeting the board adopted
several changes to the proposed amendments to the
regulation.  These revisions reflect either public
comment, direction from the board, the adoption or
updating of national consensus standards, correction of
previous editorial oversights, or clarification of the
requirements.  Amendments to the proposed regulation
(i) add code case opinions as part of the ASME Code
applicable to construction, installations and inspections;
(ii) replace the certification exemption for small hobby
boilers with two year inspections provided that safety
valves are ASME stamped and are tested and certified
annually; (iii) rewrite the education and experience
requirements for inspector certification applicants; (iv)
clarify conflict of interest prohibitions concerning contract
fee inspectors who simultaneously inspect and contract
for repair work; (v) increase the maximum administrative
fee from $ 3.00 to $ 4.00 that can be withheld by certain
inspectors;  (vi) identify by VAC numbers applicable
VOSH regulations; (vii) eliminate an amendment
conflicting with the 1998 Edition of the NBI Code;  (viii)
exclude seal welds on certain joints from the requirement
for inspection; (ix) eliminate the requirement that forms
for routine repairs be forwarded to the chief inspector for
review;  (x) incorporates the most recent version of the
ASME and NBI codes; (xi) add forms and an instruction
sheet to the regulation; and (xii) delay the
implementation of several amended provisions until April
1, 1998.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response:  A
summary of comments made by the public and the agency’s
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Bonnie R. Hopkins, Department of Labor and Industry,
13 South 13th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
371-2631.

16 VAC 25-50-10.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter,
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:
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"Act" means the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Safety Act,
Chapter 3.1 (§ 40.1-51.5 through 40.1-51.19 et seq.) of Title
40.1 of the Code of Virginia.

"Alteration" means any change in the item described on
the original Manufacturers' Data Report which affects the
pressure containing capability of the boiler or pressure
vessel.  Non-physical changes, such as an increase in the
maximum allowable working pressure (internal or external)
or design temperature of a boiler or pressure vessel, shall be
considered an alteration.  A reduction in minimum
temperature such that additional mechanical tests are
required shall also be considered an alteration.

"Approved" means acceptable to the board, commissioner
or chief inspector as applicable.

"ASME Code" means the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code
of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers with such
revisions, amendments, and interpretations of them as are
made, approved and adopted by the governing council of
such society and approved and adopted by the board.
Copies of the code may be obtained from the Society at 345
East 47th Street, New York, NY 10017.

"Authorized Inspection Agency" means one of the
following:

a.  A department or division established by a state,
commonwealth or municipality of the United States, or a
province of Canada which has adopted one or more
sections of the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code of the
ASME and whose inspectors hold valid commissions
with the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel
Inspectors; or equivalent qualifications as defined and
set forth in Part II, 16 VAC 25-50-50, and Part II,
16 VAC 25-50-70;

b.  An inspection agency of an insurance company
which is authorized (licensed) to write boiler and
pressure vessel insurance in those jurisdictions which
have examined the agency's inspectors to represent
such jurisdictions as is evident by the issuance of a valid
certificate of competency to the inspector;

c.  An owner-user inspection agency as defined in this
chapter section; or

d.  A contract fee inspector.

"Board" means the Virginia Safety and Health Codes
Board.

"Boiler" means a closed vessel in which water is heated,
steam is generated, steam is superheated, or any
combination of them, under pressure or vacuum for use
externally to itself by the direct application of heat.  The term
"boiler" shall include fired units for heating or vaporizing
liquids other than water where these units are separate from
processing systems and are complete within themselves.

"Certificate of competency" means a certificate issued by
the commissioner to a person who has passed the
prescribed examination as provided in Part II, 16 VAC
25-50-50.  See §§ 40.1-51.9 and § 40.1-51:9:1 of the Act.

"Certificate inspection" means an inspection, the report of
which is used by the chief inspector to decide whether or not
a certificate, as provided for in § 40.1-51.10 of the Act may
be issued.  This certificate inspection shall be an internal
inspection when required; otherwise, it shall be as complete
an inspection as possible.

"Chief inspector" means the chief boiler and pressure
vessel inspector of the Commonwealth.

"Commission, National Board" means the commission
issued by the National Board to a holder of a Certificate of
Competency for the purpose of conducting inspections in
accordance with the National Board Bylaws and this chapter.
The employer must submit the inspector's application to the
National Board for a commission.

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the
Department of Labor and Industry.

"Commonwealth inspector" means any agent appointed by
the commissioner under the provisions of § 40.1-51.9 of the
Act.

"Condemned boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or
pressure vessel that has been inspected and declared unsafe
for use or disqualified by legal requirements and to which a
stamping or marking designating its condemnation has been
applied by the chief or deputy commonwealth inspector.

"Department" means the Department of Labor and
Industry.

"Division" means the Boiler Safety Enforcement Division of
the Department of Labor and Industry.

"Electric boiler" means a boiler in which the source of heat
is electricity.

"Examining board" means persons appointed by the chief
inspector to monitor examinations of inspectors.

"Existing installation" means and includes any boiler or
pressure vessel constructed, installed, placed in operation or
contracted for before July 1, 1974.

"External inspection" means an inspection of the exterior of
the boiler or pressure vessel and its appliances when the
item is in operation.

"Heating boiler" means a steam or vapor boiler operating
at pressures not exceeding 15 psig, or a hot water boiler
operating at pressures not exceeding 160 psig or
temperature not exceeding 250°F at or near the boiler outlet.

"High-pressure, high-temperature water boiler" means a
water boiler operating at pressures exceeding 160 psig or
temperatures exceeding 250°F at or near the boiler outlet.

"Hobby boiler" means a steam boiler which serves no
commercial purpose and is used solely for hobby or display
and operated solely for the enjoyment of the owner.

"Hot water supply boiler" means a boiler furnishing hot
water to be used externally to itself at pressures not
exceeding 160 psig or temperatures not exceeding 250°F at
or near the boiler outlet, with the exception of boilers which
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are directly fired by oil, gas or electricity where none of the
following limitations are exceeded:

a.  Heat input of 200,000 BTU per hour;

b.  Water temperature of 210°F; or

c.  Nominal water containing capacity of 120 gallons.

"Hot water supply storage tanks" means those heated by
steam or any other indirect means where any one of the
following limitations are exceeded:

a.  Heat input of 200,000 BTU per hour;

b.  Water temperature of 210°F; or

c.  Nominal water containing capacity of 120 gallons.

"Inspection certificate" means a certificate issued by the
chief inspector for the operation of a boiler or pressure
vessel.

"Inspector" means the chief inspector, commonwealth
inspector or special inspector.

"Internal inspection" means a complete examination of the
internal and external surfaces of a boiler or pressure vessel
and its appliances while it is shut down and manhole plates,
handhole plates or other inspection openings removed.

"Lap seam crack" means a failure in a lap joint extending
parallel to the longitudinal joint and located either between or
adjacent to rivet holes.

"Miniature boiler" means any boiler which does not exceed
any one of the following limits:

a.  16 inches inside diameter of shell;

b.  20 square feet heating surface;

c.  5 cubic feet gross volume, exclusive of casing and
insulation; or

d.  100 psig maximum allowable working pressure.

"National Board" means the National Board of Boiler and
Pressure Vessel Inspectors, 1055 Crupper Avenue,
Columbus, OH 43229, whose membership is composed of
the chief inspectors of government jurisdictions who are
charged with the enforcement of the provisions of the ASME
Code.

"National Board Inspection Code" means the manual for
boiler and pressure vessel inspectors published by the
National Board.  Copies of this code may be obtained from
the National Board.

"New boiler or pressure vessel installation" means all
boilers or pressure vessels constructed, installed, placed in
operation or contracted for after July 1, 1974.

"NFPA" means the National Fire Protection Association.

"Nonstandard boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or
pressure vessel that does not bear the stamp of
Commonwealth of Virginia, the ASME stamp or the National
Board stamp when applicable.

"Owner or user" means any person, partnership, firm or
corporation who is legally responsible for the safe operation
of a boiler or pressure vessel within the Commonwealth.

"Owner-user inspection agency" means any person,
partnership, firm or corporation registered with the chief
inspector and approved by the board as being legally
responsible for inspecting pressure vessels which they
operate in this Commonwealth.

"Portable boiler" means an internally fired boiler which is
primarily intended for temporary location and whose
construction and usage permit it to be readily moved from
one location to another.

"Power boiler" means a boiler in which steam or other
vapor is generated at a pressure of more than 15 psig.

"Pressure vessel" means a vessel in which the pressure is
obtained from an external source, or by the application of
heat from an indirect source, or from a direct source, other
than those boilers defined in Part I (16 VAC 25-50-10 et
seq.) of this chapter.

"PSIG" means pounds per square inch gauge.

[ “R Certificate of Authorization” means an authorization
issued by the National Board for the repair and alteration of
boilers and pressure vessels. ]

"Reinstalled boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or
pressure vessel removed from its original setting and
reinstalled at the same location or at a new location.

"Repair" means work necessary to return a boiler or
pressure vessel to a safe and satisfactory operating
condition, provided there is no deviation from the original
design.

"Secondhand boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or
pressure vessel which has changed both location and
ownership since the last certificate inspection.

"Special inspector" means an inspector holding a Virginia
Certificate of Competency, and who is regularly employed by
an insurance company authorized (licensed) to write boiler
and pressure vessel insurance in this Commonwealth, an
inspector continuously employed by any company operating
pressure vessels in this Commonwealth used or to be used
by the company, or a contract fee inspector.

"Standard boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or
pressure vessel which bears the stamp of the
Commonwealth of Virginia, the ASME stamp and the
National Board stamp when applicable.

"Underwriters' Laboratories" means Underwriters'
Laboratories, Inc., 333 Pfingsten Road, Northbrook, Illinois
60062, which is a nonprofit, independent organization testing
for public safety.  It maintains and operates laboratories for
the examination and testing of devices, systems, and
materials to determine their relation to life, fire, casualty
hazards and crime prevention.
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[ “VR Certificate of Authorization” means an authorization
issued by the National Board for the repair of pressure relief
valves. ]

"Water heater" means a vessel used to supply:  (i) potable
hot water; or (ii) both space heat and potable water in
combination which is directly heated by the combustion of
fuels, electricity, or any other source and withdrawn for use
external to the system at pressures not to exceed 160 psi or
temperatures of 210°F.  This term also includes fired storage
water heaters defined by the Virginia Uniform Statewide
Building Code as a "water heater."

[ 16 VAC 25-50-15.  Effective date of certain requirements
of the regulation.

The applicable requirements of the sections and
subsections listed below shall not be enforced until April 1,
1999.  On or after April 1, 1999, all sections and subsections
of the published regulation shall be enforceable:

1. Subsection C of 16 VAC 25-50-70 regarding
endorsement requirements for inspecting repairs or
alterations;

2.  16 VAC 25-50-250 regarding endorsement
requirements for inspecting repairs or alterations;

3.  Subdivision F 11 of 16 VAC 25-50-360 regarding
repairs conducted by holders of a “VR” stamp;

4.  Subsection G of 16 VAC 25-50-370 regarding repairs
conducted by holders of a “VR” stamp;

5.  Subdivision E 2 of 16 VAC 25-50-380 regarding
repairs conducted by holders of a “VR” stamp; and

6.  Subsections A, B, and C of 16 VAC 25-50-480
regarding endorsement requirements for  conducting
and inspecting repairs or alterations. ]

16 VAC 25-50-20.  Minimum construction standards for
boilers and pressure vessels.

A.  Boilers and pressure vessels to be installed for
operation in this Commonwealth shall be designed,
constructed, inspected, stamped and installed in accordance
with the applicable ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code [
and the including all ] addenda [ to it and applicable code
case(s) ] , other international construction standards which
are acceptable to the chief inspector, and this chapter.

B.  Boilers and pressure vessels shall bear the National
Board stamping, except cast iron boilers and UM vessels.  A
copy of the Manufacturers' Data Report, signed by the
manufacturer's representative and the National Board
commissioned inspector, shall be filed by the owner or user
with the chief inspector prior to its operation in the
Commonwealth.

C.  Pressure piping - (including welded piping) - Piping
external to power boilers extending from the boiler extending
to the first stop valve of a single boiler, and to the second
stop valve in a battery of two or more boilers is subject to the
requirements of ASME Power Boiler Code, Section I, and the

design, fabrication, installation and testing of the valves and
piping shall be in conformity with the applicable paragraphs
of ASME Code.  Applicable ASME data report forms for this
piping shall be furnished by the owner to the chief inspector.
Construction rules for materials, design, fabrication,
installation and testing both for the boiler external piping and
the power piping beyond the valve or valves required by
ASME Power Boiler Code, Section I, are referenced in ANSI
B31.1, Power piping, and the code.

D.  Boilers and pressure vessels brought into the
Commonwealth and not meeting code requirements shall not
be operated unless the owner/user is granted a variance in
accordance with § 40.1-51.19 of the Act.

The request for variance shall include all documentation
related to the boiler or pressure vessel that will provide
evidence of equivalent fabrication standards, i.e., design
specification, calculations, material specifications, detailed
construction drawings, fabrication and inspection procedures
and qualification records, examination, inspection and test
records, and any available manufacturers' data report.

In order to facilitate such a variance approval, the
submission of documentation, in the English language and in
current U.S. standard units of measure would be helpful.
The following list of documents, while not all inclusive, would
be useful in providing evidence of safety equivalent to ASME
Code construction:

1.  List of materials used for each pressure part;

2.  The design calculations to determine the maximum
allowable working pressure in accordance with the
ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, applicable
section, edition and addenda;

3.  The design code used and the source of stress
values for the materials used in the design calculations;

4.  The welding procedures used and the qualification
records for each procedure;

5.  The material identification for each type of welding
material used;

6.  The performance qualification records for each
welder or welding operator used in the construction of
the boiler or pressure vessel;

7.  The extent of any nondestructive examination (NDE)
performed and the qualification records of NDE
operators;

8.  Record of final pressure test signed by a third party
inspector;

9.  Name and organization of the third party inspection
agency;

10.  A certification from a licensed professional engineer
stating that the boiler or pressure vessel has been
constructed to a standard providing equivalent safety to
that of the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code.  A
signature, date and seal of the certifying engineer is
required;
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11.  Where applicable, a matrix of differences between
the actual construction of the boiler or pressure vessel
for which a variance is requested and a similar boiler or
pressure vessel that is code stamped; and

12.  Where applicable, a letter from an insurance
company stating that it will insure the boiler or pressure
vessel.

After notification of a violation of these rules and
regulations an owner/user desiring a variance shall submit a
request for variance within 30 days.

The chief inspector shall respond to any request for a
variance within 30 days of receipt of all required
documentation, and shall submit a recommendation to the
commissioner, who will make the decision on the variance.

E.  Commonwealth of Virginia Special - If a boiler or
pressure vessel is of a special design or one that does not
conform to ASME and National Board requirements, the
following information shall be submitted to the chief
inspector prior to construction or installation for approval by
the commissioner for "Commonwealth of Virginia Special"
status; detailed construction drawings; materials
specifications; design calculations; welding details and
procedures, and procedure and performance qualification
tests; and a detailed quality control program used to control
all phases of construction.

NOTE:  All documents submitted shall be in the English
language, and all dimensions, pressures, temperatures,
materials specifications, etc. shall be in the same units as
used in the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code.

F. E.  Before secondhand equipment is installed,
application for permission to install shall be filed by the
owner or user with the chief inspector and approval obtained.

G. F.  Electric boilers, subject to the requirements of the
Act and this chapter, shall bear the Underwriters'
Laboratories label on the completed unit or assembly by the
manufacturer.  This label shall be in addition to the code
symbol stamping requirements of the ASME and the
National Board.

G.  Replica or model boilers of historical nature; preserved,
restored or maintained for hobby use; not intended for
commercial use; and having an inside diameter less than or
equal to 10 inches and a grate area less than or equal to 1½
square feet and equipped with [ a an ASME ] safety valve of
adequate size, a water level indicator and a pressure gauge [
are exempt may have a certificate inspection every two years
provided the owner provides a certification of safety valve
testing annually ].

[ 16 VAC 25-50-50. Examination for an inspector's
certificate of competency.

A. Examination for an inspector's certificate of competency
in accordance with the requirements of § 40.1-51.9 of the
Code of Virginia shall be held at the office of the
commissioner or at any other location selected by the

commissioner, four times each year, on the first Wednesday
and Thursday of March, June, September and December.

B. An applicant for an examination shall have [ education
and experience equal to at least one of the following a
minimum of five credit points accumulated under the following
subdivisions:

1. A degree from an accredited school in mechanical
engineering plus one year of experience in design,
construction, operation or inspection of high-pressure
boilers and pressure vessels;

2. A degree in a branch of engineering, other than
mechanical engineering, plus two years of experience in
design, construction, operation or inspection of high-
pressure boilers and pressure vessels; or

3. The equivalent of a high school education plus three
years of experience in one of the following: high-
pressure boiler and pressure vessel construction or
repair; or as an operating engineer in charge of high-
pressure boiler operation; or as an inspector of high-
pressure boilers and pressure vessels.

1.  Education (1 credit minimum, 4 credits maximum)

Category Credit
Points

a.  Technical Training in Boiler and
Pressure Vessel Inspection (1 pt.
maximum)

1

Includes any of the following:

Continuing Education: Having
completed and received a passing
grade in a training course in at least
one of the following (or related)
subjects: quality assurance,
engineering, fabrication methods,
nondestructive examination or
inspection.  The training course(s) may
be a correspondence course or
conducted in a classroom.

Coded Courses: Completion of a
course on knowledge, understanding
and general structure of the National
Board Inspection Code or other codes
or related standards, as applicable.

Other Courses: Completion of a course
on procedures and techniques of
auditing, and/or basic inspection
methods.

b.  Technical Curriculum: 2

Includes any of the following:

A diploma from an accredited technical
school,

Power Engineering Certificate,
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Accredited Trade Certificate in such
skills as a welder, boilermaker,
mechanic, steam fitter, machinist or
millwright,

Evidence of completion of a military or
merchant marine training course in the
area of marine or stationary boilers or
pressure vessels.

c.  College/University 3

Includes any of the following:

Associate’s Degree in science,
mathematics or engineering

Bachelor’s Degree in Science or
Mathematics

d.  College/University 4

Bachelor’s Degree in engineering

2.  Experience (1 credit minimum, 4 credits maximum)

Credit as shown for each full year’s technical
experience associated with boilers and pressure
vessels in the categories listed below.

Category

Credit Points/
Each full year
of experience

a.  Engineering, design. 1

b.  Manufacturing, including
fabrication methods or processes in
either shop or field.

1

c.  Responsible charge in the
operation of boilers exceeding 50,000
pounds of steam per hour total
capacity.

1

d.  Perform repair, alteration or
maintenance of boilers or pressure
vessels.

1

e.  Quality control system related to
boiler or pressure vessel
manufacturing, repair or alteration in
either shop or field.

1

f.  Inspection of boilers and pressure
vessels either inservice or during
construction including either shop or
field.

1

g.  A Nondestructive Examination
Level II examiner of boilers and
pressure vessels. ]

1

C. Applications for examination shall be in writing on a
form furnished by the commissioner stating the education of
the applicant, a list of his employers, his period of
employment and position held with each employer.

D. Applications containing willful falsifications or untruthful
statements shall be rejected.

E. If the applicant's education and experience are
acceptable to the examining board, he shall be given a
written examination dealing with the construction,
installation, operation, maintenance and repair of boilers and
pressure vessels and their appurtenances, and the applicant
shall be accepted or rejected on the merits of this
examination.

F. If the applicant passes the written examination, a
certificate of competency may be issued by the
commissioner, when the inspector is employed by an
authorized inspection agency as defined in [ Part I ( ] 16 VAC
25-50-10 [ et seq.) ].

G. After 90 days, an applicant who fails to pass the
examination will be permitted to take another written
examination and his acceptance or rejection will be
determined on the basis of this examination. Applicants who
fail to obtain a passing grade on the examination after three
attempts shall not be permitted to take the examination for at
least one year following the last attempt.

16 VAC 25-50-70.  Certificate of competency and
identification card.

A.  Upon request and subject to subsection B of this
section, a certificate of competency and an identification
card shall be issued by the commissioner to:

1.  An inspector who is employed full-time full time by a
governmental authority having an authorized inspection
agency as defined in Part I (16 VAC 25-50-10 et seq.).

2.  An inspector who is employed by an insurance
company which is authorized (licensed) to write boiler
and pressure vessel insurance in this Commonwealth.

3.  An inspector who is employed by a company which
operates unfired pressure vessels in Virginia and has a
valid owner-user inspection agency agreement as
provided in Part II, 16 VAC 25-50-120.

4.  A contract fee inspector.

B.  The applicant must pass the examination as set forth
in Part II, 16 VAC 25-50-50, and pay the application fee of
$50; or hold a valid commission or certificate of competency
from a state that has a standard of examination substantially
equal to that of Virginia, and a valid commission and
identification card issued by the National Board.

C.  Requests for a certificate of competency and,
identification card and endorsements shall be completed on
forms provided by the chief inspector and shall be
accompanied by, when applicable, a facsimile of the
applicant's commission, certificate of competency and
identification cards, named above, and a processing fee of
$10 $20 payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  An
endorsement of the Virginia identification card is required for
inspecting repairs or alterations.  Inspectors holding a valid
“A” or “B” national qualification or passing a written
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examination given by the department shall apply on forms
provided by the chief inspector.

D.  The Virginia valid identification card shall be returned
to the chief inspector when the certificate holder is no longer
employed by the organization employing him at the time that
the certificate was issued or, in the case of a self-employed
contract fee inspector, has ceased inspection activities.

E.  Each person holding a valid Virginia certificate of
competency and who conducts inspections as provided by
the Act shall apply to the chief inspector on forms provided
by the chief inspector and obtain an identification card
biennially, not later than June 30 of the year in which the
card is due for renewal.  A processing fee of $10 $20 for
each card, payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, shall
accompany the application.

F.  An inspector's certificate of competency may be
suspended by the chief inspector after due investigation and
recommendation by the commissioner, for incompetence or
untrustworthiness of the holder of the certificate, or for willful
falsification of any matter or statement contained in his
application, or in a report of any inspection made by him.
Written notice of any suspension shall be given by the chief
inspector to the inspector and his employer.  Persons whose
certificate of competency has been suspended shall be
entitled to an appeal to the board as provided for in the act
and to be present in person or to be represented by counsel
at the hearing of the appeal.

16 VAC 25-50-80.  Inspectors to have no other interests.

Inspectors shall not engage in the sale of any article or
device relating to boilers, pressure vessels or their
appurtenances. [ Neither contract fee inspectors nor their
employers shall have a commercial interest in repair work or
any other work on boilers, pressure vessels, or their
appurtenances which they inspect. Contract fee inspectors
shall not have a direct financial interest in any repairs
conducted on boilers, pressure vessels, or their
appurtenances which they inspect. ]

16 VAC 25-50-90.  Inspection reports to be submitted by
special inspectors.

A.  Special inspectors shall submit first inspection reports
to the chief inspector on Form NB-5 of the National Board
Inspection Code BPV-5 for each boiler and pressure vessel
subject to registration and inspection in this Commonwealth.
Complete data shall be submitted on Form NB-5 for each
nonstandard boiler or pressure vessel.

B.  Except as provided in subsection E of this section,
subsequent inspections of both standard and nonstandard
boilers and pressure vessels shall be reported on Forms
NB-6 and NB-7 of the National Board Inspection Code or
Commonwealth Form BPV 6-7.

C.  Inspection reports, as required in subsections A and B
of this section, shall be submitted within 30 days from date
of inspection.

D.  When hazardous conditions are found in a boiler or
pressure vessel which would present an immediate threat to
life or property, the owner or user shall immediately take
action to correct the hazardous conditions or remove the
object from service.  The inspector shall notify the office of
the chief inspector immediately by telephone followed by a
written report.  A complete and thorough inspection shall be
conducted to evaluate the hazardous conditions and to make
recommendations for necessary corrective measures.  The
boiler or pressure vessel shall not be returned to service until
it has been restored to a safe operating condition under the
requirements of this chapter.

E.  Owner Owner-user inspection agencies may report
subsequent inspections of both standard and nonstandard
pressure vessels on Form NB-7 or at their option, upon
forms approved by the board.  The report shall be filed as
provided in Part II, 16 VAC 25-50-120.

16 VAC 25-50-120.  Owner-user inspection agency.

A.  Any person, firm, partnership or corporation operating
pressure vessels in this Commonwealth may seek approval
and registration as an owner-user inspection agency by filing
an application with the chief inspector on forms prescribed
and available from the department, and request approval by
the board.  Each application shall be accompanied by a fee
of $25 and a bond in the penal sum of $5,000 which shall
continue to be valid during the time the approval and
registration of the company as an owner-user inspection
agency is in effect.

B.  The application and registration shall show the name of
the agency and its principal address in this Commonwealth,
and the name and address of the person or persons having
supervision over inspections made by the agency.  Changes
in supervisory personnel shall be reported to the chief
inspector within 30 days after any change.

C.  Each owner-user inspection agency as required by the
provisions of the Act and this chapter shall:

1.  Maintain its own inspection group under the
supervision of one or more individuals who have
qualified as an inspector under the provisions of the
National Board Inspection Code independent authority to
effect resolution of technical problems or procedures;

2.  Conduct inspections of boilers or unfired pressure
vessels, not exempt by the Act, utilizing only qualified
inspection personnel, certified pursuant to Part II,
16 VAC 25-50-50, 16 VAC 25-50-60 and 16 VAC
25-50-70; in the case of unfired pressure vessels which
are covered by the American Petroleum Institute code
API-510, and are in use in the petroleum or chemical
process industries, the owner-user inspection agency
may, at its option, inspect and maintain such vessels by
the API-510 code;

3.  Retain on file at the location where the equipment is
inspected a true record or copy of the report of the latest
of each inspection signed by the inspector who made
the inspection;
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4.  Execute and deliver to the owner or user
(management) a true report of each inspection together
with appropriate requirements or recommendations that
result from the inspections;

5.  Promptly notify the chief inspector of any boiler or
unfired pressure vessel which does not meet the
requirements of safe operating conditions;

6.  Maintain inspection records which will include a list of
each boiler or unfired pressure vessel covered by the
Act, showing a serial number and an abbreviated
description as may be necessary for identification; the
date of last inspection of each unit and approximate date
for the next inspection, arrived at by applying the
appropriate rules to all data available at the time the
inspection record is compiled (re:  frequency and type of
inspection, see Part II, 16 VAC 25-50-30).  This
inspection record shall be readily available for
examination by the chief inspector or his authorized
representative during normal business hours; and

7.  File a statement annually, on a date mutually agreed
upon, with the chief inspector.  This statement shall be
signed by the individual having supervision over the
inspections made during the period covered.  The
statement shall include the number of vessels, covered
by the Act, inspected during the year and certifying that
each inspection was conducted pursuant to the
inspection requirements provided for by the Act and in a
format acceptable to the chief inspector.  The annual
statement shall be accompanied by a filing fee in
accordance with the schedule in § 40.1-51.11:1 of the
Act as follows:

a.  For statements covering not more than 25 vessels
- $7 per vessel;

b.  For statements covering more than 25 vessels but
less than 101 vessels - $200;

c.  For statements covering more than 100 but less
than 501 vessels - $400; and

d.  For statements covering more than 500 vessels -
$800.

16 VAC 25-50-150.  Inspection certificate and inspection
fees.

A.  Upon the inspection and determination that a boiler or
pressure vessel is suitable and conforms to this chapter, the
owner or user shall remit the sum of $20 to the
commissioner payment for an inspection certificate in one of
the following forms and amounts for each item required to be
inspected under the Act.  A certificate of inspection shall not
be issued to the owner or user until receipt of funds by the
department.  Checks and money orders for payment of
inspection certificate fees should be made payable to the
Treasurer of Virginia.

1.  Payment of $20 may be mailed from the owner or
user to the chief inspector by check or money order.

Payment of inspection certificate fees should be made
payable to the Treasurer of Virginia; or

2.  Payment may be presented to a special inspector,
where the inspector is authorized to collect and forward
such fees on the department’s behalf.  The
commissioner may authorize special inspectors to collect
and forward to the chief inspector [ $17 $16 ] for each
inspection certificate.  Pursuant to § 40.1-51.10:1 of the
Code of Virginia, special inspectors may charge owners
or users a fee not exceeding [ $3.00 $4.00 ] for
collecting and forwarding inspection certificate fees.

An inspection certificate will not be issued to the owner
or user until payment is received by either the
department or, if previously authorized, by a special
inspector.

B.  The chief inspector may extend an inspection
certificate for up to three additional months beyond a two
month grace period following the expiration of a certificate.
Such extension is subject to a satisfactory external
inspection of the boiler or pressure vessel and receipt of a
fee of $20 for each month of extension.

C.  When inspected by the department, an additional fee
for the inspection service shall be paid before the inspection
certificate is issued. the chief inspector determines that no
contract fee inspectors are available to inspect a regulated
uninsured boiler or pressure vessel in a timely manner, a
commonwealth inspector may be directed to conduct a
certification inspection.  Contract fee inspection service shall
be determined unavailable where (i) at least two contract fee
inspectors contacted will not agree to provide inspection
services to the owner or user within at least 21 days from the
request and (ii) the owner’s or user’s inspection certificate will
expire within that same period.

The following rates per inspected object, in addition to
inspection certificate fees, shall apply for certification
inspections conducted by a commonwealth inspector:

1.  Power boilers and high pressure, high temperature
water boilers $135

2.  Heating boilers $70

3.  Pressure vessels $50

D.  The review of a manufacturer's or repair organization's
facility for the purpose of national accreditation will be
performed by the chief inspector or his qualified designee for
an additional fee of $800 per review or survey.

E.  The owner or user who causes a boiler or pressure
vessel to be operated without a valid certificate shall be
subject to the penalty as provided for in § 40.1-51.12 of the
Act.

F.  Inspection certificates are not required for unfired
pressure vessels inspected by an authorized owner-user
inspection agency.  However, the agency shall keep on file in
its office in the establishment where the equipment is located
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a true record or copy of the report of the latest of each
inspection signed by the inspector who made the inspection.

16 VAC 25-50-190.  Condemned boilers and pressure
vessels.

A.  Any boiler or pressure vessel having been inspected
and declared unsafe by the chief inspector or deputy
commonwealth inspector shall be stamped by the inspector
with the letters "XXX" on both sides of the postal
abbreviation of this Commonwealth, as shown by the
following facsimile, which will designate a condemned boiler
or pressure vessel:

XXX VA XXX

B.  Any person, firm, partnership, or corporation using or
offering for sale a condemned boiler or pressure vessel for
operation within this Commonwealth shall be subject to the
penalties provided by the Act.

16 VAC 25-50-240.  Factor of safety for existing
installations.

Any inspector may increase the factor of safety on any
existing installation if the condition of the boiler or pressure
vessel warrants it.  If the owner or user does not concur with
the inspector's decision, the owner or user may appeal to the
commissioner who may request a joint inspection by the
chief inspector and or the commonwealth inspector or and
the special inspector.  Each The chief inspector shall make
his a report to the commissioner and the commissioner shall
make the final decision, based upon the data contained in
the inspector's reports.  The decision of the commissioner
may be appealed to the board pursuant to § 40.1-51.16 of
the Code of Virginia.

16 VAC 25-50-250.  Repairs or alterations.

When repairs or alterations are to be made, permission
shall be obtained from an inspector with an appropriate
endorsement, and the repairs shall be done in accordance
with the National Board Inspection Code and this chapter.

16 VAC 25-50-270.  Review fees.

The fees to be charged by the Chief Inspector or
Commonwealth Inspectors for a review or inspection other
than a certificate inspection, of a boiler or pressure vessel
shall be in accordance with § 40.1-51.15 of the Act; and may
include but not be limited to consultation, data review,
engineering evaluation, or quality control review.

Reviews and emergency inspections other than certificate
inspections conducted by the chief inspector or
commonwealth inspectors, including but not limited to
consultations, data reviews, engineering evaluations, or
quality control reviews, shall be billed at the following rates:

1.  For one-half day of
four hours

$100 plus expenses, including
travel and lodging

2.  For one full day of
eight hours

$200 plus expenses, including
travel and lodging

16 VAC 25-50-290.  Application of Commonwealth serial
numbers.

A.  Upon completion of the installation of a new boiler or
pressure vessel or at the time of the initial certificate
inspection of an existing installation each boiler or pressure
vessel shall be stamped by the inspector with a serial
number of the Commonwealth, consisting of the postal
abbreviation for the Commonwealth and a unique series of
numbers not less than 5/16 3/16-inch in height and arranged
as follows:

VA 0000

B.  All cast iron, low-pressure heating boilers shall have
securely attached to the front of the boiler a metal metallic
tag of not less than one inch in height, which shall have the
serial number of the Commonwealth stamped on it.

C.  All pressure vessels constructed of cast iron, or of a
material of such thickness or type that it should not be
stamped, shall have securely attached a metal metallic tag
not less than one inch in height, which shall have the serial
number of the Commonwealth stamped on it.

16 VAC 25-50-350.  Repairs and renewals of boiler
fittings and appliances.

Whenever repairs are made to fittings or appliances or it
becomes necessary to replace them, the repairs or
replacements shall comply with the requirements of the
ASME Code or the National Board Inspection Code.

16 VAC 25-50-360.  Power and high-pressure,
high-temperature water boilers.

A.  Age limit of existing boilers.

1.  The age limit of any boiler of nonstandard
construction, installed before July 1, 1974, other than
one having a riveted, longitudinal lap joint, shall be 30
years [ , ; ] however, any boiler passing a thorough
internal and external inspection, and not displaying any
leakage or distress under a hydrostatic pressure test of
1½ times the allowable working pressure held for at
least 30 minutes, may be continued in operation without
reduction in working pressure.  The age limit of any
boiler having riveted, longitudinal, lap joints and
operating at a pressure in excess of 50 psig shall be 20
years.  This type of boiler, when removed from an
existing setting, shall not be reinstalled for a pressure in
excess of 15 psig.  A reasonable time for replacement,
not to exceed one year, may be given at the discretion of
the chief inspector.

2.  The shell or drum of a boiler in which a typical lap
seam crack is discovered along a longitudinal riveted
joint for either butt or lap joints shall be permanently
removed from service.

3.  The age limit of boilers of standard construction,
installed before July 1, 1974, shall be determined from
the results of a thorough internal and external inspection
by an authorized inspector and the application of an
appropriate pressure test.  Hydrostatic test pressure
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shall be 1½ times the allowable working pressure and
maintained for 30 minutes.  The boiler may be continued
in service at the same working pressure provided there
is no evidence of leakage or distress under these test
conditions.

4.  The minimum temperature of the water used for the
hydrostatic test of low-pressure boilers and pressure
vessels shall be 60°F.  The minimum temperature of the
water used for the hydrostatic test of power boilers shall
be 70°F or ambient whichever is greater.

B.  The maximum allowable working pressure for standard
boilers shall be determined in accordance with the applicable
provisions of the edition of the ASME Code under which they
were constructed and stamped.

C.1.  The maximum allowable working pressure on the
shell of a nonstandard boiler shall be determined by the
strength of the weakest section of the structure,
computed from the thickness of the plate, the tensile
strength of the plate, the efficiency of the longitudinal
joint or tube ligaments, the inside diameter of the
weakest course and the factor of safety allowed by this
chapter.

TStE
RFS = maximum allowable working pressure, psig psi

where:

TS = ultimate tensile strength of shell plates, psig, psi

t = minimum thickness of shell plate, in weakest
course, inches

E = efficiency of longitudinal joint:

For tube ligaments, E shall be determined by the
rules in Section I of the ASME Code for Power
Boilers.  For riveted joints, E shall be determined by
the rules in the applicable edition of the ASME
Code.  For seamless construction, E shall be
considered 100%.

R = inside radius of the weakest course of the shell, in
inches,

FS = factor of safety permitted.

2.  Tensile strength.  When the tensile strength of steel
or wrought iron shell plates is not known, it shall be
taken as 55,000 psig psi.

3.  Crushing strength of mild steel.  The resistance to
crushing of mild steel shall be taken at 95,000 psig psi
of cross-sectional area.

4.  Strength of rivets in shear.  When computing the
ultimate strength of rivets in shear, the following values,
in pounds per square inch, of the cross-sectional area of
the rivet shank shall be used.

PSIG PSI

Iron rivets in single shear 38,000
Iron rivets in double shear 76,000

Steel rivets in single shear 44,000
Steel rivets in double shear 88,000

When the diameter of the rivet holes in the longitudinal
joints of a boiler is not known, the diameter and
cross-sectional area of rivets, after driving, may be
selected from Table 1, or as ascertained by cutting out
one rivet in the body of the joint.

TABLE 1
SIZES OF RIVETS BASED ON PLATE THICKNESS

(in inches)

Plate of Thickness Rivet Diameter after Driving

1/4 11/16
9/32 11/16
5/16 3/4
11/32 3/4
3/8 13/16
13/32 13/16
7/16 15/16
15/32 15/16
1/2 15/16
9/16 1-1/16
5/8 1-1/16

5.  Factors of safety.  The following factors of safety
shall be increased by the inspector if the condition and
safety of the boiler demand it:

a.  The lowest factor of safety permissible on existing
installations shall be 4.5, except for.
Horizontal-return-tubular boilers having continuous
longitudinal lap seams more than 12 feet in length,
when the shall have a factor of safety shall be of eight.
When this type of boiler is removed from its existing
setting, it shall not be reinstalled for pressures in
excess of 15 psig.

b.  Reinstalled or secondhand boilers shall have a
minimum factor of safety of six when the longitudinal
seams are of lap-riveted construction, and a minimum
factor of safety of five when the longitudinal seams
are of butt-strap and double-strap construction.

D.  Cast-iron headers and mud drums.  The maximum
allowable working pressure on a water tube boiler, the tubes
of which are secured to cast iron or malleable-iron headers,
or which have cast iron mud drums, shall not exceed 160
psig.

E.  Pressure on cast iron boilers.  The maximum allowable
working pressure for any cast iron boiler, except hot water
boilers, shall be 15 psig.

F.  Safety valves.

1.  The use of weighted-lever safety valves, or safety
valves having either the seat or disk of cast iron, shall
be prohibited.  Valves of this type shall be replaced by
direct, spring-loaded, pop-type valves that conform to
the requirements of the ASME Code, Section I.
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2.  Each boiler shall have at least one safety valve, and
if it has more than 500 square feet of water-heating
surface, or an electric power input of more than 500
kilowatts, it shall have two or more safety valves.

3.  The valve or valves shall be connected to the boiler,
independent of any other steam connection, and
attached as close as possible to the boiler, without
unnecessary intervening pipe or fittings.  Where
alteration is required to conform to this requirement, the
chief inspector shall allow the owner or user reasonable
time in which to complete the work.

4.  No valves of any description shall be placed between
the safety valve and the boiler nor on the escape pipe, if
used, between the safety valve and the atmosphere,
except as provided by applicable sections of the ASME
Code.  When an escape pipe is used, it shall be at least
full size of the safety-valve discharge and fitted with an
open drain to prevent water lodging in the upper part of
the safety valve or escape pipe.  When an elbow is
placed on a safety valve escape pipe, it shall be located
close to the safety-valve outlet or the escape pipe shall
be anchored and supported securely.  All safety valve
discharges shall be located or piped as not to endanger
persons working in the area.

5.  The safety-valve capacity of each boiler shall be so
that the safety valve or valves will discharge all the
steam that can be generated by the boiler without
allowing the pressure to rise more than 6.0% above the
highest pressure to which any valve is set, and in no
case to more than 6.0% above the maximum allowable
working pressure.

6.  One or more safety valves on every boiler shall be
set at or below the maximum allowable working
pressure.  The remaining valves may be set within a
range of 3.0% above the maximum allowable working
pressure, but the range of setting of all the safety valves
on a boiler shall not exceed 10% of the highest pressure
to which any valve is set.

7.  When two or more boilers, operating at different
pressures and safety valve settings, are interconnected,
the lower pressure boilers or interconnected piping shall
be equipped with safety valves of sufficient capacity to
prevent overpressure, considering the maximum
generating capacity of all boilers.

8.  In those cases where the boiler is supplied with
feedwater directly from water mains without the use of
feeding apparatus (not to include return traps), no safety
valve shall be set at a pressure higher than 94% of the
lowest pressure obtained in the supply main feeding the
boiler.

9.  The relieving capacity of the safety valves on any
boiler shall be checked by one of the three following
methods and, if found to be insufficient, additional
valves shall be provided:

a.  By making an accumulation test, which consists of
shutting off all other steam-discharge outlets from the

boiler and forcing the fires to the maximum.  The
safety-valve capacity shall be sufficient to prevent a
rise of pressure in excess of 6.0% of the maximum
allowable working pressure.  This method shall not be
used on a boiler with a superheater or reheater.

b.  By measuring the maximum amount of fuel that
can be burned and computing the corresponding
evaporative capacity (steam-generating capacity)
upon the basis of the heating value of this fuel.  These
computations shall be made as outlined in the
appendix of the ASME Code, Section I;

c.  By measuring the maximum amount of feedwater
that can be evaporated.

When either of the methods (b or c) outlined in this
section, is employed the sum of the safety-valve
capacities shall be equal to or greater than the
maximum evaporative capacity (maximum
steam-generating capacity) of the boiler.

10.  The relieving capacity of safety valves for
forced-flow steam generators shall be in accordance
with the requirements of Section I of the ASME Boiler
Code.

11.  Safety valves and safety relief valves requiring
repair shall be replaced with a new valve or repaired by
the original manufacturer, or his its authorized
representative or the holder of a “VR” Stamp.

G.  Boiler feeding.

1.  Each boiler shall have a feed supply which will permit
it to be fed at any time while under pressure.

2.  A boiler having more than 500 square feet of
water-heating surface shall have at least two means of
feeding, one of which shall be an approved feed pump,
or injector.  A source of feed directly from water mains
at a pressure 6.0% greater than the set pressure of the
safety valve with the highest setting may be considered
one of the means.  As provided in the ASME Power
Boiler Code, Section I, boilers fired by gaseous, liquid or
solid fuel in suspension may be equipped with a single
means of feeding water provided means are furnished
for the immediate shutoff of heat input if the water feed
is interrupted.

3.  The feedwater shall be introduced into the boiler in a
manner so that it will not be discharged close to riveted
joints of shell or furnace sheets, or directly against
surfaces exposed to products of combustion, or to direct
radiation from the fire.

4.  The feed piping to the boiler shall be provided with a
check valve near the boiler and a valve or cock between
the check valve and the boiler.  When two or more
boilers are fed from a common source, there shall also
be a valve on the branch to each boiler between the
check valve and source of supply.  Whenever a globe
valve is used on feed piping, the inlet shall be under the
disk of the valve.



Final Regulations

Volume 15, Issue 5 Monday, November 23, 1998

611

5.  In all cases where returns are fed back to the boiler
by gravity, there shall be a check valve and stop valve in
each return line, the stop valve to be placed between the
boiler and the check valve, and both shall be located as
close to the boiler as is practicable.  No stop valves shall
be placed in the supply and return pipe connections of a
single boiler installation.

6.  Where deaerating heaters are not employed, the
temperature of the feedwater shall not be less than
120°F to avoid the possibility of setting up localized
stress.  Where deaerating heaters are employed, the
minimum feedwater temperature shall not be less than
215°F so that dissolved gases may be thoroughly
released.

H.  Water level indicators.

1.  Each boiler shall have at least one water gauge glass
installed and located so that the lowest visible part of the
water glass shall be at least two inches above the lowest
permissible water level, at which level there will be no
danger of overheating any part of the boiler when in
operation at that level; except as provided by the ASME
Code.

2.  No outlet connections (except for damper regulator,
feedwater regulator, low-water fuel cutout, drain, steam
gauges, or such apparatus that does not permit the
escape of an appreciable amount of steam or water
from it) shall be placed on the piping that connects the
water column to the boiler.  The water column shall be
provided with a valved drain of at least ¾ inch pipe size;
the drain is to be piped to a safe location.

3.  Except as provided in the ASME code, each boiler
shall have three or more gauge cocks located within the
visible length of the water glass, except when the boiler
has two water glasses located on the same horizontal
lines.  Boilers not over 36 inches in diameter, in which
the heating surface does not exceed 100 square feet,
need have but two gauge cocks.

4. 3.  When the direct reading of gauge glass water level
is not readily visible to the operator in his working area
dependable indirect indications shall be provided
utilizing remote level indicators or equipment to transmit
the gauge glass image.  When remote level indication is
provided for the operator instead of the gauge glass, the
same minimum level reference shall be clearly marked.

I.  Steam gauges.

1.  Each steam boiler shall have a steam gauge, with
dial range not less than 1½ times the maximum
allowable working pressure, connected to the steam
space or to the steam connection to the water column.
The steam gauge shall be connected to a siphon or
equivalent device of sufficient capacity to keep the
gauge tube filled with water and so arranged so that the
gauge cannot be shut off from the boiler except by a
cock placed near the gauge and provided with a tee or
lever handle arranged to with a tee or lever handle
placed in the pipe near the gauge.  The handle of the

cock shall be parallel to the pipe in which it is located
when the cock is open.

2.  When a steam gauge connection longer than eight
feet becomes necessary, a shutoff valve may be used
near the boiler provided the valve is of the
outside-screw-and-yoke type and is locked open.  The
line shall be of ample size with provision for free
blowing.

3.  Each boiler shall be provided with a test gauge
connection and suitable valving which connects to the
steam space of each boiler for the exclusive purpose of
attaching a test gauge when the boiler is in service so
that the accuracy of the boiler steam gauge may be
ascertained while the boiler is in operation.

J.  Stop valves.

1.  Except for a single-boiler, prime-mover installation,
each steam outlet from a boiler (except safety valve and
water column connections) shall be fitted with a stop
valve located as close as practicable to the boiler.

2.  In a single-boiler, prime-mover installation the steam
stop valve may be omitted provided the prime-mover
throttle valve is equipped with an indicator to show
whether the valve is open or closed and is designed to
withstand the required hydrostatic pressure test of the
boiler.

3.  When a stop valve is so located that water can
accumulate, ample drains shall be provided.  The
drainage shall be piped to a safe location and shall not
be discharged on the top of the boiler or its setting.

4.  When boilers provided with manholes are connected
to a common steam main, the steam connection from
each boiler shall be fitted with two stop valves having an
ample free-blow drain between them.  The discharge of
the drain shall be visible to the operator and shall be
piped clear of the boiler setting.  The stop valves shall
consist preferably of one automatic nonreturn valve (set
next to the boiler) and a second valve of the
outside-screw-and-yoke type.

K.  Blowoff connection.

1.  The construction of the setting around each blowoff
pipe shall permit free expansion and contraction.
Careful attention shall be given to the problem of sealing
these setting openings without restricting the movement
of the blowoff piping.

2.  All blowoff piping, when exposed to furnace heat,
shall be protected by firebrick or other heat-resisting
material constructed so that the piping may be inspected
readily.

3.  Each boiler shall have a blowoff pipe, fitted with a
valve or cock, in direct connection with the lowest water
space.  Cocks shall be of the gland or guard type and
suitable for the pressure allowed.  The use of globe
valves shall not be permitted.  Where the maximum
allowable working pressure exceeds 100 psig, each
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blowoff pipe shall be provided with two valves or a valve
and cock; however only one valve need be provided for
forced-flow steam generators with no fixed steam and
waterline; high-temperature water boilers and those
used for traction or portable purposes with less than 100
gallons normal water content.

4.  Blowoff piping shall comply with the requirements of
the ASME Code, Section I, and ANSI B31.1, from the
boiler to the valve or valves, and shall be run full size
without use of reducers or bushings.  All piping shall be
steel;.  Galvanized steel pipe and fittings shall not be
used for blowoff piping.

5.  All fittings between the boiler and blowoff valve shall
be of steel.  In case of renewal of blowoff pipe or fittings,
they shall be installed in accordance with this chapter for
new installations of the ASME Code.

L.  Repairs and renewals of boiler fittings and appliances.
Whenever repairs are made to fittings or appliances or it
becomes necessary to replace them, such repairs or
replacements shall comply with the requirements of the
ASME code for new installations.

M.  Each automatically fired steam boiler or system of
commonly connected steam boilers shall have at least one
steam pressure control device that will shut off the fuel
supply to each boiler or system of commonly connected
boilers when the steam pressure reaches a preset maximum
operating pressure. In addition, each individual automatically
fired steam boiler shall have a high steam pressure limit
control that will prevent generation of steam pressure in
excess of the maximum allowable working pressure.

M. N.  Conditions not covered by this chapter.  All cases
not specifically covered by this chapter shall be treated as
new installations pursuant to Part II, 16 VAC 25-50-280 of
this chapter or may be referred to the chief inspector for
instructions concerning the requirements.

16 VAC 25-50-370.  Heating boilers.

A.  Standard boilers.  The maximum allowable working
pressure of standard boilers shall in no case exceed the
pressure indicated by the manufacturer's identification
stamped or cast on the boiler or on a plate secured to it.

B.  Nonstandard riveted boilers.  The maximum allowable
working pressure on the shell of a nonstandard riveted
heating boiler shall be determined in accordance with Part
III, 16 VAC 25-50-360, subsection C covering existing
installations, power boilers, except that in no case shall the
maximum allowable working pressure of a steam heating
boiler exceed 15 psig, or a hot water boiler exceed 160 psig
or 250°F temperature.

C.  Nonstandard welded boilers.  The maximum allowable
working pressure of a nonstandard steel or wrought iron
heating boiler of welded construction shall not exceed 15
psig for steam.  For other than steam service, the maximum
allowable working pressure shall be calculated in accordance
with Section IV of the ASME Code.

D.  Nonstandard cast iron boilers.

1.  The maximum allowable working pressure of a
nonstandard boiler composed principally of cast iron
shall not exceed 15 psig for steam service or 30 psig for
hot water service.

2.  The maximum allowable working pressure of a
nonstandard boiler having cast iron shell or heads and
steel or wrought iron tubes shall not exceed 15 psig for
steam service or 30 psig for hot water service.

E.  Safety valves.

1.  Each steam boiler must have one or more officially
rated (ASME stamped and National Board rated) safety
valves of the spring pop type adjusted to discharge at a
pressure not to exceed 15 psig.  Seals may shall be
attached in a manner to prevent the valve from being
taken apart without breaking the seal.  The safety valves
shall be arranged so that they cannot be reset to relieve
at a higher pressure than the maximum allowable
working pressure of the boiler.  A body drain connection
below seat level shall be provided by the manufacturer
and this drain shall not be plugged during or after field
installation.  For valves exceeding two inch pipe size, the
drain hole or holes shall be tapped not less than 3/8 inch
pipe size.  For valves less than two inches, the drain
hole shall not be less than ¼ inch in diameter.

2.  No safety valve for a steam boiler shall be smaller
than ¾ inch unless the boiler and radiating surfaces
consist of a self-contained unit.  No safety valve shall be
larger than 4½ inches.  The inlet opening shall have an
inside diameter equal to, or greater than, the seat
diameter.

3.  The minimum relieving capacity of the valve or
valves shall be governed by the capacity marking on the
boiler.

4.  The minimum valve capacity in pounds per hour
shall be the greater of that determined by dividing the
maximum BTU output at the boiler nozzle obtained by
the firing of any fuel for which the unit is installed by
1,000; or shall be determined on the basis of the pounds
of steam generated per hour per square foot of boiler
heating surface as given in Table 2.  When operating
conditions require it a greater relieving capacity shall be
provided.  In every case, the requirements of subsection
E subdivision 5 of this section subsection shall be met.

TABLE 2
Minimum Pounds of Steam Per Hour Per Square Foot of

Heating Surface

Fire Tube
Boilers

Water Tube
Boilers

Boiler Heating Surface:

Hand fired 5 6
Stoker fired 7 8
Oil, gas, or pulverized fuel
fired

8 10
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Waterwall Heating Surface:

Hand fired 8 8
Stoker fired 10 12
Oil, gas, or pulverized fuel
fired

14 16

NOTES:

When a boiler is fired only by a gas giving a heat
value of not in excess of 200 BTU per cubic foot, the
minimum safety valve or safety relief valve relieving
capacity may be based on the value given for
handfired boilers above.

The minimum safety valve or safety relief valve
relieving capacity for electric boilers shall be 3½
pounds per hour per kilowatt input.

For heating surface determination see ASME Code,
Section IV.

5.  The safety valve capacity for each steam boiler shall
be so such that with the fuel burning equipment
operating at maximum capacity, the pressure cannot
rise more than five psig above the maximum allowable
working pressure.

6.  When operating conditions are changed, or
additional boiler surface is installed, the valve capacity
shall be increased, if necessary, to meet the new
conditions and be in accordance with subsection E,
subdivisions 4 and 5 of this section subsection.  The
When additional valves are required, on account of
changed conditions, they may be installed on the outlet
piping provided there is no intervening valve.

7.  If there is any doubt as to the capacity of the safety
valve, an accumulation test shall be run (see ASME
Code, Section VI, Care of Heating Boilers).

8.  No valve of any description shall be placed between
the safety valve and the boiler, nor on the discharge pipe
between the safety valve and the atmosphere.  The
discharge pipe shall be at least full size and be fitted
with an open drain to prevent water lodging in the upper
part of the safety valve or in the discharge pipe.  When
an elbow is placed on the safety valve discharge pipe, it
shall be located close to the safety valve outlet or the
discharge pipe shall be securely anchored and
supported.  All safety valve discharges shall be so
located or piped as not to endanger persons working in
the area.

F.  Safety relief valve requirements for hot water boilers.

1.  Each hot water boiler shall have one or more
officially rated (ASME stamped and National Board
rated) safety relief valves set to relieve at or below the
maximum allowable working pressure of the boiler.
Safety relief valves officially rated as to capacity shall
have pop action when tested by steam.  When more
than one safety relief valve is used on hot water boilers,
the additional valve or valves shall be officially rated and
shall be set within a range not to exceed six psig above

the maximum allowable working pressure of the boiler
up to and including 60 psig and 5.0% for those having a
maximum allowable working pressure exceeding 60
psig.  Safety relief valves shall be spring loaded.  Safety
relief valves shall be so arranged that they cannot be
reset at a higher pressure than the maximum permitted
by this paragraph.

2.  No materials liable to fail due to deterioration or
vulcanization when subject to saturated steam
temperature corresponding to capacity test pressure
shall be used for any part.

3.  No safety relief valve shall be smaller than ¾ inch
nor larger than 4½ inches standard pipe size, except
that boilers having a heat input not greater than 15,000
BTU per hour may be equipped with a rated safety relief
valve of ½ inch standard pipe size.  The inlet opening
shall have an inside diameter approximately equal to, or
greater than, the seat diameter.  In no case shall the
minimum opening through any part of the valve be less
than ½ inch diameter or its equivalent area.

4.  The required steam relieving capacity, in pounds per
hour, of the pressure relieving device or devices on a
boiler shall be the greater of that determined by dividing
the maximum output in BTU at the boiler outlet obtained
by the firing of any fuel for which the unit is installed by
1,000, or on the basis of pounds of steam generated per
hour per square foot of boiler heating surface as given in
Table 2.  When necessary a greater relieving capacity of
valves shall be provided.  In every case, the
requirements of subsection F 6 of this section shall be
met.

5.  When operating conditions are changed, or
additional boiler heating surface is installed, the valve
capacity shall be increased, if necessary, to meet the
new conditions and shall be in accordance with
subsection F 6 of this section.  The additional valves
required, on account of changed conditions, may be
installed on the outlet piping provided there is no
intervening valve.

6.  Safety relief valve capacity for each boiler shall be so
that, with the fuel burning equipment installed and
operated at maximum capacity the pressure cannot rise
more than 6 psig above the maximum allowable working
pressure for pressure up to and including 60 psig and
5.0% of maximum allowable working pressures over 60
psig.

7.  If there is any doubt as to the capacity of the safety
relief valve, an accumulation test shall be run (see
ASME Code, Section VI, Care of Heating Boilers).

8.  No valve of any description shall be placed between
the safety relief valve and the boiler, nor on the
discharge pipe between the safety relief valve and the
atmosphere.  The discharge pipe shall be at least full
size and fitted with an open drain to prevent water
lodging in the upper part of the safety relief valve or in
the discharge pipe.  When an elbow is placed on the
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safety relief valve discharge pipe, it shall be located
close to the safety relief valve outlet or the discharge
pipe shall be securely anchored and supported.  All
safety relief valve discharges shall be so located or
piped as not to endanger persons working in the area.

G.  Valve replacement and repair.  Safety valves and
safety relief valves requiring repair shall be replaced with a
new valve or repaired by the original manufacturer, or his its
authorized representative, or the holder of a ”VR” Stamp.

H.  Pressure relieving devices.  Boilers and fired storage
water heaters except those exempted by the Act shall be
equipped with pressure relieving devices in accordance with
the requirements of Section IV of the ASME Boiler and
Pressure Vessel Code.

I.  Instruments, fittings and control requirements.
Instruments, fittings and controls for each boiler installation
shall comply with the requirements of the ASME Heating
Boiler Code, Section IV.

J.  Low water fuel cutoff.

1.  Each automatically fired hot water heating boiler with
heat input greater than 400,000 BTU's per hour shall
have an automatic low water fuel cutoff which has been
designed for hot water service, located so as to stop the
fuel supply automatically when the surface of the water
falls to the level established in subsection J subdivision 2
of this section subsection (also see ASME Heating Boiler
Code, Section IV).

2.  As there is no normal waterline to be maintained in a
hot water heating boiler, any location of the low water
fuel cutoff above the lowest safe permissible water level
established by the boiler manufacturer is satisfactory.

3.  A coil type boiler or a water tube boiler with heat
input greater than 400,000 BTU's per hour requiring
forced circulation, to prevent overheating of the coils or
tubes, shall have a flow sensing device installed in the
outlet piping, instead of the low water fuel cutoff required
in subsection J subdivision 1 of this section subsection
to stop the fuel supply automatically when the circulating
flow is interrupted.

K.  Steam gauges.

1.  Each steam boiler shall have a steam gauge
connected to its steam space, its water column, or its
steam connection, by means of a siphon or equivalent
device exterior to the boiler.  The siphon shall be of
sufficient capacity to keep the gauge tube filled with
water and arranged so that the gauge cannot be shut off
from the boiler except by a cock with a tee or lever
handle placed in the pipe near the gauge.  The handle of
the cock shall be parallel to the pipe in which it is
located when the cock is open.

2.  The range of the scale on the dial of a steam boiler
pressure gauge shall be not less than 30 psig nor more
than 60 psig.  The gauge shall be provided with effective
stops for the indicating pointer at the zero point and at

the maximum pressure point.  The travel of the pointer
from 0 to full scale 30 psig shall be at least three inches.

L.  Pressure or altitude gauges.

1.  Each hot water boiler shall have a pressure or
altitude gauge connected to it or to its flow connection in
a manner so that it cannot be shut off from the boiler
except by a cock with tee or lever handle placed on the
pipe near the gauge.  The handle of the cock shall be
parallel to the pipe in which it is located when the cock is
open.

2.  The range of the scale on the dial of the pressure or
altitude gauge shall be not less than 1½ times nor more
than three times the maximum allowable working
pressure.  The gauge shall be provided with effective
stops for the indicating pointer at the 0 point and at the
maximum pressure point.

3.  Piping or tubing for pressure or altitude gauge
connections shall be of nonferrous metal when smaller
than one inch pipe size.

M.  Thermometers.  Each hot water boiler shall have a
thermometer located and connected so that it shall be easily
readable when observing the water pressure or altitude
gauge.  The thermometer shall be located so that it will at all
times indicate the temperature in degrees Fahrenheit of the
water in the boiler at or near the outlet.

N.  Water gauge glasses.

1.  Each steam boiler shall have one or more water
gauge glasses attached to the water column or boiler by
means of valved fittings.  The lower fitting shall be
provided with a drain valve of the straightaway type with
opening not less than ¼ inch diameter to facilitate
cleaning.  Gauge glass replacement shall be possible
while the boiler is under pressure.

2.  Transparent material, other than glass, may be used
for the water gauge provided that the material has
proved suitable for the pressure, temperature and
corrosive conditions encountered in service.

O.  Stop valves and check valves.

1.  If a boiler can be closed off from the heating system
by closing a steam stop valve, there shall be a check
valve in the condensate return line between the boiler
and the system.

2.  If any part of a heating system can be closed off from
the remainder of the system by closing a steam stop
valve, there shall be a check valve in the condensate
return pipe from that part of the system.

P.  Feedwater connections.

1.  Feedwater, make-up water, or water treatment shall
be introduced into a boiler through the return piping
system or through an independent feedwater connection
which does not discharge against parts of the boiler
exposed to direct radiant heat from the fire.  Feedwater,
make-up, or water treatment shall not be introduced



Final Regulations

Volume 15, Issue 5 Monday, November 23, 1998

615

through openings or connections provided for inspection
or cleaning, safety valve, safety relief valve, surface
blowoff, water column, water gauge glass, pressure
gauge or temperature gauge.

2.  Feedwater piping shall be provided with a check
valve near the boiler and a stop valve or cock between
the check valve and the boiler or return pipe system.

Q.  Return pump.  Each boiler equipped with a condensate
return pump, where practicable, shall be provided with a
water level control arranged to maintain the water level in the
boiler automatically within the range of the gauge glass.

R.  Repairs and renewals of boiler fittings and appliances.
Whenever repairs are made to fittings or appliances, or it
becomes necessary to replace them, the repairs or
replacements shall comply with Section IV of the ASME code
for new construction the requirements for new installations.

S.  Conditions not covered by this chapter.  Any case not
specifically covered by this chapter shall be treated as a new
boiler or pressure vessel installation pursuant to Part II,
16 VAC 25-50-280 of this chapter or may be referred to the
chief inspector for instructions concerning the requirements.

16 VAC 25-50-380.  Pressure vessels.

A.  Maximum allowable working pressure for standard
pressure vessels.  The maximum allowable working pressure
for standard pressure vessels shall be determined in
accordance with the applicable provisions of the edition of
the ASME or API-ASME code under which they were
constructed and stamped.  The maximum allowable working
pressure shall not be increased to a greater pressure than
shown on the manufacturers nameplate stamping and data
report.

B.  Maximum allowable working pressure for nonstandard
pressure vessels

1.  For internal pressure.  The maximum allowable
working pressure on the shell of a nonstandard pressure
vessel shall be determined by the strength of the
weakest course computed from the thickness of the
plate, the tensile strength of the plate, the efficiency of
the longitudinal joint, the inside diameter of the weakest
course and the factor set by this chapter.

TStE
RFS = maximum allowable working pressure, psig psi

where:

TS = ultimate tensile strength of shell plate, psig psi.
When the tensile strength of the steel plate is not
known, it shall be taken as 55,000 psig psi for
temperatures not exceeding 700°F.

t = minimum thickness of shell plate of weakest
course, inches,

E = efficiency of longitudinal joint depending upon
construction.  Use the following values:

For riveted joints - calculated riveted efficiency;

For fusion-welded joints:

PERCENT

Single lap weld 40%
Double lap weld 50%
Single butt weld 60%
Double butt weld 70%
Forge weld 70%
Brazed steel 80%

R = inside radius of weakest course of shell, inches,
provided the thickness does not exceed 10% of the
radius.  If the thickness is over 10% of the radius, the
outer radius shall be used.

FS = factor of safety allowed by this chapter.

2.  For external pressure.  The maximum allowable
working pressure for cylindrical nonstandard pressure
vessels subjected to external or collapsing pressure
shall be determined by the rules in Section VIII, Division
1, of the ASME Code.

3.  Factors of safety.  The minimum factor of safety shall
in no case be less than four for existing installations.
The factor of safety may be increased when deemed
necessary by the inspector to insure the operation of the
vessel within safe limits.  The condition of the vessel
and the particular service of which it is subject will be
the determining factors.

4.  The maximum allowable working pressure permitted
for formed heads under pressure shall be determined by
using the appropriate formulas from Section VIII,
Division 1, ASME Code and the tensile strength and
factors of safety given in this section, subsection B,
subdivisions 1 and 3 of this subsection.

C.  Inspection of inaccessible parts.  Where in the opinion
of the inspector, as the result of conditions disclosed at the
time of inspection, it is advisable to remove the interior or
exterior lining, covering, or brickwork to expose certain parts
of the vessel not normally visible, the owner or user shall
remove the materials to permit proper inspection and to
establish construction details.  Metal thickness shall be
determined utilizing appropriate equipment including drilling
if necessary.

D.  Pressure relief devices.  Pressure relief devices for
each pressure vessel installation, not exempt by the Act,
shall comply with the requirements of ASME Pressure Vessel
Code, Section VIII.

E.  Safety appliances.

1.  Each pressure vessel shall be protected by safety
and relief valves and indicating and controlling devices
which will insure its safe operation.  These valves and
devices shall be constructed, located and installed so
that they cannot readily be rendered inoperative.  The
relieving capacity of the safety valves shall prevent a
rise of pressure in the vessel of more than 10% above
the maximum allowable working pressure, taking into
account the effect of static head.  Safety valve



Final Regulations

Virginia Register of Regulations

616

discharges shall be located or piped so as not to
endanger persons working in the area.

2.  Safety valves and safety relief valves requiring repair
shall be replaced with a new valve or repairs shall be
performed in accordance with the National Board
Inspection Code by the original manufacturer, or his its
authorized representative, or the holder of a “VR” stamp.

F.  Repairs and renewals of fittings and appliances.
Whenever repairs are made to fittings or appliances, or it
becomes necessary to replace them, the repairs or
replacements shall comply with the ASME code
requirements for new installations.

G.  Conditions not covered by this chapter.  All cases not
specifically covered by this chapter shall be treated as new
installations or may be referred to the chief inspector for
instructions concerning the requirements.

16 VAC 25-50-390.  Inspection of boilers and pressure
vessels.

All boilers and pressure vessels, not exempt by the Act,
shall be inspected internally and externally, as provided by
this chapter, by an authorized a special inspector.  The
owner or user shall prepare each boiler or pressure vessel
for the inspection and for appropriate pressure tests,
whenever necessary.  To prepare equipment for an internal
inspection the following actions shall be taken as applicable:

1.  Boilers

a.  Cool the boiler, furnace and setting sufficiently to
prevent damage to any part;

b.  Drain and wash thoroughly internal parts to be
inspected and adequately ventilate all interior
surfaces;

c.  Remove manhole and handhole plates, wash out
openings, drains and inspection plugs;

d.  Remove a sufficient number of grates of internally
fired boilers, as required by the inspector;

e.  Remove brickwork, refractory and insulation, as
required by the inspector, to determine condition of
boiler, headers, tubes, furnace, structural supports,
and other parts;

f.  Prevent leakage of water, steam or vapors into
boiler interiors that would endanger personnel;

g.  Before opening the manhole or handhole covers
and entering any parts of the steam-generating unit
connected to a common header with other boilers, the
nonreturn and steam stop valves must be closed,
locked out and drain valves or cocks between the two
valves opened.  The feed and check valves must be
closed, locked out and drain valves or cocks located
between the two valves opened.  After draining the
boiler, the blowoff valves shall be closed and locked
out.  Blowoff lines, where practicable, shall be
disconnected between pressure parts and valves.  All
drains and vent lines shall be opened; and

h.  Prepare the pressure gauge for testing; and

i.  Comply [ with confined space rules , where
applicable, with Virginia law regarding work conducted
within confined spaces pursuant to Virginia
Occupational Safety and Health (VOSH) regulation 16
VAC 25-90-1910.146, Permit Required Confined
Space for General Industry ].

2.  Pressure vessels

a.  Remove manhole and handhole plates, cleaning
and inspection plugs;

b.  Clean internal surfaces and adequately ventilate all
interior spaces;

c.  Isolate the unit to the extent that internal
temperature, pressure and environment are not
injurious to personnel and are under strict control
during complete inspection;

d.  Remove linings or coverings, as required by the
inspector, to determine true physical condition of the
vessel and its components;

e.  Make protective and regulating controls readily
accessible for inspection; and

f.  Prepare the pressure gauges for testing; and

g.  Comply [ with confined space rules , where
applicable, with Virginia law regarding work conducted
within confined spaces pursuant to Virginia
Occupational Safety and Health (VOSH) regulation 16
VAC 25-90-1910.146, Permit Required Confined
Space for General Industry ].

16 VAC 25-50-430.  Hydrostatic pressure tests.

A.  A hydrostatic pressure test, when applied to boilers or
pressure vessels, shall not exceed 1½ times the maximum
allowable working pressure, except as provided by the ASME
Code.  The pressure shall be under proper control so that in
no case shall the required test pressure be exceeded by
more than 2.0%.

B.  See Part III, 16 VAC 25-50-360 A 4, for temperature
limitations on particular power boiler installations.

C.  When a hydrostatic test is to be applied to existing
installations, the pressure shall be as follows:

1.  For all cases involving the question of tightness, the
pressure shall be [ equal to the working 80% of the
maximum allowable working pressure or operating ]
pressure [ , whichever is greater ].

2.  For all cases involving the question of safety, the
pressure shall be equal to 1½ times the maximum
allowable working pressure for temperature.  During
such test the safety valve or valves shall be removed or
each valve disk shall be held to its seat by means of a
testing clamp and not by screwing down the
compression screw upon the spring.
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16 VAC 25-50-440.  Automatic low-water fuel cutoff
and/or water-feeding device.

A.  Each automatically fired and unattended steam or
vapor system boiler shall be equipped with an at least one
automatic low-water fuel cutoff located so as to cut off the
fuel or energy supply automatically when the surface of the
water falls to the lowest safe water line.  Power boilers,
except miniature boilers, shall have two automatic low-water
fuel cutoffs.  If a water-feeding device is installed, it shall be
constructed so that the water inlet valves cannot feed water
into the boiler through the float chamber and located so as to
supply requisite feedwater.  The lowest safe water line
should be not lower than the lowest visible part of the water
glass.

B.  The fuel cutoff or water feeding device shall be
attached directly to a boiler or in the tapped openings
available for attaching a water glass directly to a boiler,
provided the connections are made to the boiler with
nonferrous tees or Y's not less than ½-inch pipe size
between the boiler and the water glass so that the water
glass is attached directly and as close as possible to the
boiler; the run of the tee or Y shall take the water glass
fittings, and the side outlet or branch of the tee or Y shall
take the fuel cutoff or water feeding device.  The ends of all
nipples shall be reamed to full-size diameter.

C.  Fuel cutoffs and water feeding devices embodying a
separate chamber shall have a vertical drain pipe and a
blowoff valve not less than ¾-inch pipe size, located at the
lowest point in the water equalizing pipe connections so that
the chamber and the equalizing pipe can be flushed and the
device tested.

D.  A forced circulation coil or water tube type boiler, with
a heat input greater than 400,000 BTU's per hour shall have
a flow sensing device installed to cut off the fuel supply at a
minimum water circulation flow rate in the boiler.  The boiler
manufacturer's specifications for the safe minimum flow rate,
setting, and location of the flow sensing device shall be
utilized.

16 VAC 25-50-480.  Repairs and alterations.

A.  Prior to any repair, the owner or user shall notify the
Chief Boiler Inspector or a special inspector with the
appropriate endorsement for direction or advice, or both,
regarding the method and extent of repair.

B.  Repairs to boilers and pressure vessels shall be done
in accordance with the National Board Inspection Code by
holders of an “R” Certificate of Authorization.  The completed
repairs shall be reviewed by and found acceptable to the
inspector or the same inspection agency who authorized the
repair.

C.  Alterations to boilers and pressure vessels shall be
performed by an organization holding an appropriate ASME
or "R" Certificate of Authorization and shall be in accordance
with the National Board Inspection Code.

D.  All repairs and alterations [ , except seal welds as
defined in this subsection, ] shall be reported on [ Form R-1,

the applicable ] Report of Welded Repair or Alteration [ form
].  The completed form including proper certification shall be
forwarded to the chief inspector by the organization
performing the repair or alteration. [ A seal weld is a tube-to-
tubesheet weld used to supplement an expanded tube joint
to ensure leak tightness.  Seal welds on carbon steel (P-1)
tube joints made by qualified welders will not require an
inspection nor a Form R-1.

E.  The completed forms for routine repairs, as the term is
defined in the National Board Inspection Code, need not be
forwarded to the chief inspector. ]

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 16 VAC 25-50-10
et seq., Boiler and Pressure Vessel Rules and Regulations,
are listed below.  Any amended or added forms are reflected
in the listing and are published following the listing.

FORMS

R 1 Form, Report of Welded ________ Repair or
__________Alteration, CVR1 Rev 1.0.

[ Form R-1, Report of Welded Repair, National Board
Inspection Code (eff. 1/1/99).

Form R-2, Report of Alteration, National Board Inspection
Code (eff. 1/1/99).

Form R-3, Report of Parts Fabricated By Welding, National
Board Forms (eff. 1/1/99).

Form R-4, Report Supplementary Sheet, National Board
Forms (eff. 1/1/99).

BPV-5, Boiler or Pressure Vessel Data Report- First Internal
Inspection (1/1/99).

BPV-6, Boiler - Fired Pressure Vessel - Report of Inspection
(eff. 1/1/99). ]

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE

1992 [ 1995 1998 ] Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, ASME
Code, American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

National Board Bylaws, National Board of Boiler and
Pressure Vessel Inspectors, 1989 August 8, 1996.

ANSI/NB 23, [ 1995 1998 ] National Board Inspection Code,
[ with addenda dated 3/13/96, 1/16/97, and 4/27/98, ]
National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors,
1992.

POWER BOILER CODE, American Society of Mechanical
Engineers.

ANSI ASME B31.1, ASME Code for Pressure Piping,
American National Standards Institute, 1992 1995 [ and
Addenda through 1997 ].

[ ASME B31.1a-1995, Power Piping, American National
Standards Institute, issued 4/8/96. ]

Heating Boiler Code, ASME.
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NFPA 85C, Standards for the Prevention of Furnace
Explosions/Implosions in Multiple Burner Boiler-Furnaces,
1991 Edition, National Fire Protection Association No. 85,
1991.

American Gas Association, Underwriters Laboratories,
ANSI/ASME CSD-1, Controls and Safety Devices for
Automatically Fired Boilers, 1992, American Society of
Mechanical Engineers.

"Boiler Blowoff Equipment," National Board of Boiler and
Pressure Vessel Inspectors, Rules and Recommendations
for the Design and Construction of Boiler Blowoff Systems,
1991.

API-ASME Code API510, Pressure Vessel Inspection Code,
Maintenance Inspection, Rating, Repair and Alteration, Sixth
Edition, June, 1989, American Petroleum Institute.
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* * * * * * * *

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE:  The following regulations are
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance
with § 9-6.14:4.1 C 4 (c) of the Code of Virginia, which
excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the
requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such
regulations do not differ materially from those required by
federal law or regulation.  The Safety and Health Codes
Board will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration
or revision.

Title of Regulation:  16 VAC 25-90-1910.  Occupational
Exposure to Methylene Chloride, General Industry
Standards (29 CFR Part 1910) (amending 16 VAC 25-90-
1910.1052).

Statutory Authority:  § 40.1-22 (5) of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 1, 1999.

Summary:

Federal OSHA has amended its standard regulating the
Occupational Exposure to Methylene Chloride (MC),
General Industry, 29 CFR 1910.1052, by adding a
provision for temporary medical removal protection
benefits (pay and other benefits for up to six months) for
employees who are temporarily removed or transferred
to another job because of a medical determination that
exposure to MC may aggravate or contribute to the
employee’s existing skin, heart, liver, or neurological
disease.

Federal OSHA also extended compliance dates for
certain employers to implement engineering controls and
respiratory protection.  New implementation dates for
engineering controls apply to employers in polyurethane
foam manufacturing, foam fabrication, furniture
refinishing, general aviation aircraft stripping, product
formulation, boat building and repair, recreational vehicle
manufacture, van conversion, upholstery, and
construction work.

A new provision requires that employers that choose to
postpone implementation of engineering controls and
respiratory protection are required to conduct quarterly
monitoring of short-term exposures in the interim.

The remaining protections of the standard (regulated
areas, protective work clothing and equipment, hygiene
facilities, hazard communication, employee information
and training, and recordkeeping) are already in effect for
all employers.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Bonnie R. Hopkins, Department of Labor and Industry,
13 South 13th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
371-2631.

Note on Incorporation by Reference

Pursuant to § 9-6.18 of the Code of Virginia, Occupational Exposure to
Methylene Chloride, General Industry Standards (29 CFR 1910.1052) is
declared a document generally available to the public and appropriate for
incorporation by reference.  For this reason the document will not be
printed in the Virginia Register of Regulations.  Copies of the document
are available for inspection at the Department of Labor and Industry, 13
South 13th Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, and in the office of the
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, Capitol Square,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.

On October 19, 1998, the Safety and Health Codes Board
adopted an identical version of federal OSHA's revised final
rule to Occupational Exposure to Methylene Chloride,
General Industry, 29 CFR 1910.1052, which was published
in the Federal Register on September 22, 1998 (63 FR
50729).  The amendments as adopted are not set out.

When the regulations, as set forth in the revised final rule on
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1052, Occupational Exposure to
Methylene Chloride, General Industry, 29 CFR 1910.1052,
are applied to the Commissioner of the Department of Labor
and Industry and to Virginia employers, the following federal
terms shall be considered to read as follows:

Federal Terms VOSH Equivalent

29 CFR VOSH Standard

Assistant Secretary Commissioner of Labor and
Industry

Agency Department

Federal Virginia

Adoption date 09/22/98 10/19/98

Effective date of original 04/10/97 07/15/97

MC standard

Effective date of this final rule 10/22/98, except 01/01/99
that the revision
of 29 CFR
1910.1052(n),
Start-Up Dates,
becomes effective
on 09/22/98

Start-Up Dates Established in this Revised Final Rule

Employers in
selected
applications*
with fewer
than 20
employees

(n)(2)(ii)(B)

All other
employers
with fewer
than 20
employees

(n)(2)(ii)(A)

Polyurethane
foam mfgrs.
with 20 or
more
employees

(n)(2)(ii)(C)

Employers in
selected
applications*
with 1-49
employees
and foam
fabricators
with 1-149
employees

(n)(2)(ii)(B)

Employers in
selected
applications*
with 50 or
more
employees
and foam
fabricators
with 150 or
more
employees

(n)(2)(ii)(D)

All other
employers
with 20 or
more
employees

(n)(2)(ii)(E)
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Engineering
controls to
achieve 8-
hour TWA
PEL and
STEL

FederalB
4/10/00

VirginiaB
7/15/00

FederalB
4/10/00

VirginiaB
7/15/00

FederalB
10/10/99

VirginiaB
1/15/00

FederalB
4/10/00

VirginiaB
7/15/00

FederalB
4/10/99

VirginiaB
7/15/99

FederalB
in effect

VirginiaB
in effect

Respirators
to achieve
8-hour
TWA PEL

FederalB
04/10/00

VirginiaB
07/15/00

FederalB
in effect

VirginiaB
in effect

FederalB
10/10/99

VirginiaB
1/15/00

FederalB
4/10/00

VirginiaB
7/15/00

FederalB
4/10/99

VirginiaB
7/15/99

FederalB
in effect

VirginiaB
in effect

Respirators
to achieve
STEL

FederalB
in effect

VirginiaB
in effect

FederalB
in effect

VirginiaB
in effect

FederalB
in effect

VirginiaB
in effect

FederalB
in effect

VirginiaB
in effect

FederalB
in effect

VirginiaB
in effect

FederalB
in effect

VirginiaB
in effect

All other
provisions

FederalB
in effect

VirginiaB
in effect

FederalB
in effect

VirginiaB
in effect

FederalB
in effect

VirginiaB
in effect

FederalB
in effect

VirginiaB
in effect

FederalB
in effect

VirginiaB
in effect

FederalB
in effect

VirginiaB
in effect

*The selected applications/operations are:  furniture refinishing; general aviation
aircraft stripping; product formulation; use of MC-based adhesives for boat
building and repair, recreational vehicle manufacture; van conversion; or
upholstery; and use of MC in construction work for restoration and preservation
of buildings, painting and paint removal, cabinet making, or floor refinishing and
resurfacing.
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* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  16 VAC 25-90-1910 et seq.  General
Industry Standards (amending 16 VAC 25-90-1910.109,
16 VAC 25-90-1910.110, 16 VAC 25-90-1910.111, 16 VAC
25-90-1910.141, 16 VAC 25-90-1910.142, 16 VAC 25-90-
1910.151, 16 VAC 25-90-1910.156, 16 VAC 25-90-
1910.183, 16 VAC 25-90-1910.261, 16 VAC 25-90-
1910.262, 16 VAC 25-90-1910.265, 16 VAC 25-90-
1910.268, 16 VAC 25-90-1910.1017, 16 VAC 25-90-
1910.1018, and 16 VAC 25-90-1910.1029; repealing 16
VAC 25-90-1910.267).

16 VAC 25-175-1926 et seq.  Construction Industry
Standards (amending 16 VAC 25-175-1926.31, 16 VAC
25-175-1926.50, 16 VAC 25-175-1926.152, 16 VAC 25-175-
1926.906).

Statutory Authority:  § 40.1-22(5) of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 1, 1999.

Summary:

This final standard includes changes made to both health
and safety standards for general industry and the
construction industry that will revise or eliminate
duplicative, inconsistent, or unnecessary regulatory
requirements without diminishing employee protections.
Substantive changes to health standards include
reducing the frequency of required chest x-rays and
eliminating sputum-cytology examinations for workers
covered by the inorganic arsenic and coke oven
emissions standards, and changing the emergency
response provisions of the vinyl chloride standard.

Substantive safety standard changes include, among
others, eliminating the public safety provisions of the
temporary labor camp standard and eliminating
unnecessary cross references in the textile industry
standards.

The final standard also contains minor clarifications and
technical amendments to standards to eliminate
duplicative material.  These changes reduced the
number of pages assigned to OSHA rules in the Code of
Federal Regulations without changing the substantive
requirements of the standards.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Bonnie R. Hopkins, Department of Labor and Industry,
13 South 13th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
371-2631.

Note on Incorporation by Reference

Pursuant to § 9-6.18 of the Code of Virginia, Standards Improvement
(Miscellaneous Changes) for General Industry and Construction
Industry Standards (29 CFR Part 1910 and 29 CFR Part 1926) are
declared documents generally available to the public and appropriate for
incorporation by reference.  For this reason the documents will not be
printed in the Virginia Register of Regulations.  Copies of the documents
are available for inspection at the Department of Labor and Industry, 13

South 13th Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, and in the office of the
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol
Square, Richmond, Virginia 23219.

On October 19, 1998, the Safety and Health Codes Board
adopted an identical version of federal OSHA's final rule on
Standards Improvement (Miscellaneous Changes) for
General Industry and Construction Industry Standards which
was published in the Federal Register on June 18, 1998 (63
FR 33466).  The amendments as adopted are not set out.

When the regulations, as set forth in the revised final rule on
Standards Improvement (Miscellaneous Changes) for
General Industry (29 CFR Part 1910) and Construction
Industry (29 CFR Part 1926) Standards, are applied to the
Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry and
to Virginia employers, the following federal terms shall be
considered to read as follows:

Federal Terms VOSH Equivalent

29 CFR VOSH Standard

Assistant Secretary Commissioner of Labor and
Industry

Agency Department

August 17, 1998 January 1, 1999
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* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  16 VAC 25-100-1915.  Shipyard
Employment Standards (29 CFR Part 1915) (amending
16 VAC 25-100-1915.1001).
16 VAC 25-175-1926.  Construction Industry Standards
(29 CFR Part 1926) (amending 16 VAC 25-175-1926.1101).

Statutory Authority:  § 40.1-22 (5) of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 1, 1999.

Summary:

Federal OSHA revised the Construction Industry and
Shipyard Employment Standards regulating occupational
exposure to asbestos to conform its standards to the
Court of Appeals' decision in Asbestos Information
Association/North America v. Reich, 117 F. 3d 891 (5th
Cir. July 24, 1997).  In that case, the court held that
there was a lack of substantial evidence that asphalt roof
coatings and sealants containing asbestos posed a risk
of asbestos exposure.  As such, the court vacated the
construction and shipyard standards’ regulations of
asbestos-containing roof cements, mastics and coatings
from the OSHA standards for occupational exposure to
asbestos.

Specifically, OSHA added in paragraph (a) in both
standards a statement that the standards do not apply to
asbestos-containing asphalt roof cements, coatings and
mastics.  In paragraph (g)(12) of the shipyard
employment standard covering inspections by qualified
persons and in paragraph (g)(11) of the construction
industry standard covering alternative work practices,
OSHA deleted references to roof cements, mastics and
coatings.

The court’s decision did not affect the general industry
asbestos standard which remains unchanged.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Bonnie R. Hopkins, Department of Labor and Industry,
13 South 13th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
371-2631.

Note on Incorporation by Reference

Pursuant to § 9-6.18 of the Code of Virginia, Occupational Exposure to
Asbestos for Shipyard Employment (29 CFR 1915.1001) and
Occupational Exposure to Asbestos for the Construction Industry (29
CFR 1926.1101) are declared documents generally available to the
public and appropriate for incorporation by reference.  For this reason
the documents will not be printed in the Virginia Register of Regulations.
Copies of the documents are available for inspection at the Department
of Labor and Industry, 13 South 13th Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219,
and in the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly
Building, 2nd Floor, 910 Capitol Square, Richmond, Virginia 23219.

On October 19, 1998, the Safety and Health Codes Board
adopted an identical version of federal OSHA’s revisions to
the final rule for Occupational Exposure to Asbestos for
Shipyard Employment, 29 CFR 1915.1001, and

Occupational Exposure to Asbestos for the Construction
Industry, 29 CFR 1926.1101, which was published in the
Federal Register on June 29, 1998 (63 FR 35137).

When the regulations, as set forth in the revised final rules
for 16 VAC 25-100-1915.1001, Occupational Exposure to
Asbestos for Shipyard Employment, 29 CFR 1915.1001, and
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1101, Occupational Exposure to
Asbestos for the Construction Industry, 29 CFR 1926.1101,
are applied to the Commissioner of the Department of Labor
and Industry and to Virginia employers, the following federal
terms shall be considered to read as follows:

Federal Terms VOSH Equivalent

29 CFR VOSH Standard

Assistant Secretary Commissioner of Labor and
Industry

Agency Department

July 24, 1997 January 1, 1999
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TITLE 18.  PROFESSIONAL AND
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD OF DENTISTRY

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 60-20-10 et seq.  Regulations
Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene
(amending 18 VAC 60-20-10, 18 VAC 60-20-20, 18 VAC
60-20-30, 18 VAC 60-20-50, 18 VAC 60-20-60, 18 VAC 60-
20-70, 18 VAC 60-20-80, 18 VAC 60-20-90, 18 VAC 60-20-
110, 18 VAC 60-20-120, 18 VAC 60-20-130, 18 VAC 60-20-
140, 18 VAC 60-20-170, 18 VAC 60-20-180, 18 VAC 60-20-
190, 18 VAC 60-20-220, 18 VAC 60-20-230, and 18 VAC
60-20-240; adding 18 VAC 60-20-15, 18 VAC 60-20-16,
and 18 VAC 60-20-195; repealing 18 VAC 60-20-150 and
18 VAC 60-20-160).

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 27 (§ 54.1-
2700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  December 23, 1998.

Summary:

The amendments provide greater clarity and
understanding of requirements for dentistry and dental
hygiene pursuant to recommendations from the
comprehensive review conducted in compliance with
Executive Order 15 (94).  The amendments  (i) reduce
the number of years records must be retained from five
to three years; (ii) eliminate the specific listings of routine
dental service and dental specialties which may be
advertised and reference those procedures and
specialties as set forth in listings approved by the
American Dental Association to provide for continuous
updating and current usage; and (iii) specify and clarify
those duties which are not delegable to a nondentist and
those which may only be delegated to a dental hygienist.
The amendments provide that other acts may be
delegated under the direction and responsibility of the
dentist to dental assistants according to their level of
training and experience.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response:  A
summary of comments made by the public and the agency’s
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Marcia J. Miller, Board of Dentistry, 6606 West Broad
Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone
(804) 662-9906.

[ CHAPTER 20.
VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY REGULATIONS
GOVERNING THE PRACTICE OF DENTISTRY AND

DENTAL HYGIENE. ]

18 VAC 60-20-10.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter,
shall have the following meanings, unless the content clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Advertising" means a representation or other notice given
to the public or members thereof, directly or indirectly, by a
dentist on behalf of himself, his facility, his partner or
associate, or any dentist affiliated with the dentist or his
facility by any means or method for the purpose of inducing
purchase, sale or use of dental methods, services,
treatments, operations, procedures or products, or to
promote continued or increased use of such dental methods,
treatments, operations, procedures or products.

"Analgesia" means the diminution or elimination of pain in
the conscious patient.

"Approved schools" means those dental schools, colleges,
departments of universities or colleges, or schools of dental
hygiene currently accredited by the Commission on Dental
Accreditation of the American Dental Association, which is
hereby incorporated by reference.

"Competent instructor" means any person appointed to the
faculty of a dental school, college or department or a
university or a college who holds a license or teacher's
license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in the
Commonwealth.

"Conscious sedation" means a minimally depressed level
of consciousness that retains the patient's ability to
independently and continuously maintain an airway and
respond appropriately to physical stimulation and verbal
commands, produced by a pharmacologic or
nonpharmacologic method, or a combination thereof.

"Dental assistant" means any unlicensed person under the
supervision of a dentist who renders assistance for services
provided to the patient as authorized under this chapter but
shall not include an individual serving in purely a secretarial
or clerical capacity.

"Dental hygiene student" means any person currently
enrolled and attending an approved school or program of
dental hygiene.  No person shall be deemed to be a dental
hygiene student who has not begun the first year of
enrollment in the school; nor a person who is not attending
the regularly scheduled sessions of the school in which he is
enrolled.

"Dental student" means any person currently enrolled and
attending an approved school of dentistry but shall not
include persons enrolled in schools or programs of dental
hygiene.  No person shall be deemed to be a dental student
who has not begun the first year of enrollment in school; nor
a person who is not attending the regularly scheduled
sessions of the school in which he is enrolled.
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"Diagnosis" means an opinion of findings in an
examination.

"Direction" means the presence of the dentist for the
evaluation, observation, advice, and control over the
performance of dental services.

"Examination of patient" means a study of all the structures
of the oral cavity, including the recording of the conditions of
all such structures and an appropriate history thereof.  As a
minimum, such study shall include charting of caries,
identification of periodontal disease, occlusal discrepancies,
and the detection of oral lesions.

"General anesthesia" means a controlled state of
unconsciousness accompanied by partial or complete loss of
protective reflexes, including inability to independently
maintain an airway and respond purposefully to physical
stimulation or verbal command, produced by a
pharmacologic or nonpharmacologic method, or combination
thereof.

"Local anesthesia" means the loss of sensation or pain in
the oral cavity or its contiguous structures generally
produced by a topically applied agent or injected agent
without causing the loss of consciousness.

"Monitoring general anesthesia and conscious sedation"
includes the following:  recording and reporting of blood
pressure, pulse, respiration, and other vital signs to the
attending dentist during the conduct of these procedures and
after the dentist has induced a patient and established a
maintenance level.

"Monitoring nitrous oxide oxygen inhalation analgesia"
means making the proper adjustments of nitrous oxide
machines at the request of the dentist during the
administration of the sedation, and observing the patient's
vital signs.

"Nitrous oxide oxygen inhalation analgesia" means the
utilization of nitrous oxide and oxygen to produce a state of
reduced sensibility to pain designating particularly the relief
of pain without the loss of consciousness.

"Radiographs" means intraoral and extraoral x-rays of the
hard and soft oral structures to be used for purposes of
diagnosis.

"Recognized governmental clinic" means any clinic
operated or funded by any agency of state or local
government which provides dental services to the public, the
dental services of which shall be provided by a licensed
dentist or by persons who may be authorized herein to
provide dental services under the direction of a dentist.

18 VAC 60-20-15.  Recordkeeping.

A dentist shall maintain patient records for not less than
three years from the most recent date of service for
purposes of review by the board to include the following:

1.  Patient's name and date of treatment;

2.  Updated health history;

3.  Diagnosis and treatment rendered;

4.  List of drugs prescribed, administered, dispensed and
the quantity;

5.  Radiographs;

6.  Patient financial records;

7.  Name of dentist and dental hygienist providing
service; and

8.  Laboratory work orders which meet the requirements
of § 54.1-2719 of the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 60-20-16.  Address of record.

At all times, each licensed dentist shall provide the board
with a current, primary business address, and each dental
hygienist shall provide a current resident address.  No post
office box numbers are accepted.  All required notices mailed
by the board to any such licensee shall be validly given when
mailed to the latest address given by the licensee.  All
changes of address shall be furnished to the board in writing
within 30 days of such changes.

PART II.
LICENSURE RENEWAL AND FEES.

18 VAC 60-20-20.  License renewal and reinstatement.

The board shall forward a renewal notice to each licensee
at the address of record (18 VAC 60-20-160 B) prior to the
expiration of the license.  Failure to receive such notice shall
not relieve the licensee of the responsibility to renew the
license.

A.  Dental Renewal fees.  Every person licensed to
practice holding an active or inactive license, a teacher’s
license, full-time faculty license or a temporary permit to
practice dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before March
31, renew their his license to practice dentistry and pay an
annual renewal fee of $65 except as otherwise provided in
18 VAC 60-20-30 for dentists and $25 for dental hygienists.

B.  Dental hygiene renewal fees.  Every person licensed to
practice dental hygiene by this board shall, on or before
March 31, renew their license to practice dental hygiene and
pay an annual renewal fee of $25 except as otherwise
provided in 18 VAC 60-20-30.

C. B.  Penalty fees.  Any person who does not return the
completed form and fee by March 31 shall be required to pay
an additional $35 penalty fee.  The board shall renew a
license when if the renewal form is, renewal fee, and penalty
fee are received by the following April 30, along with the
completed form, the annual registration fee, and the penalty
fee.

D. C.  Reinstatement fees and procedures.  The license of
any person who does not return the completed renewal form
and fees by April 30 shall automatically expire and become
invalid and [ their his ] practice of dentistry/dental hygiene
shall be illegal.  Upon such expiration, the board shall
immediately notify the affected person of the expiration and
the reinstatement procedures.  Any person whose license
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has expired who wishes to reinstate such license shall
submit to the board a reinstatement form, the application
and fee, the penalty fee, renewal fee and an assessment of
$50 per month for each month or part of a month the
individual has practiced in Virginia without a valid license.
The executive director shall reinstate such expired license
provided that the applicant can demonstrate continuing
competence, that no grounds exist pursuant to § 54.1-2706
of the Code of Virginia and 18 VAC 60-20-170 to deny said
reinstatement, and that the applicant has paid all unpaid
renewal fees and assessments.

E. D.  Reinstatement of a license previously revoked or
indefinitely suspended.  Any person whose license has been
revoked shall submit to the board for its approval a
reinstatement form and an application and fee of $750.  Any
person whose license has been indefinitely suspended shall
submit to the board for its approval a reinstatement form and
an application and fee of $300.

18 VAC 60-20-30.  Other fees.

A.  Dental licensure application fees.  The application fee
for a dental license, a license to teach dentistry, or a
temporary permit as a dentist shall be accompanied by a
check or money order for $220, which includes a $155
application fee and a $65 initial licensure fee.

B.  Dental hygiene licensure application fees.  The
application fee for a dental hygiene license [ by
examination ] , a license to teach dental hygiene, or a
temporary permit as a dental hygienist shall be accompanied
by a check or money order for $155, which includes a $130
application fee and a $25 initial licensure fee.

C.  Duplicate wall certificate.  Licensees desiring a
duplicate wall certificate shall submit a request in writing
stating the necessity for such duplicate wall certificate,
accompanied by a fee of $15.  A duplicate certificate may be
issued for any of the following reasons:  replacing certificate
that has been lost, stolen, misplaced, destroyed, or is
otherwise irretrievable; recording the new name of a
registrant whose name has been changed by court order or
by marriage; or for multiple offices.

D.  Duplicate license.  Licensees desiring [ a ] duplicate
license shall submit a request in writing stating the necessity
for such duplicate license, accompanied by a fee of $10.  A
duplicate license may be issued for any of the following
reasons:  maintaining more than one office (notarized
photocopy may be used); replacing license that has been
lost, stolen, misplaced, destroyed, or is otherwise
irretrievable; and recording the new name of a licensee
whose name has been changed by court order or by
marriage.  If a licensee maintains more than one office, a
notarized photocopy of a license may be used.

E.  Licensure certification.  Licensees requesting
endorsement or certification by this board shall pay a fee of
$25 for each endorsement or certification.

F.  Restricted license.  Restricted license issued in
accordance with § 54.1-2714 of the Code of Virginia shall be
at a fee of $100.

G.  Teacher's license.  License to teach dentistry and
dental hygiene issued in accordance with §§ 54.1-2713 and
54.1-2725 of the Code of Virginia shall be at a fee of $220
and $155, respectively.  The renewal fee shall be $65 and
$25, respectively.

H.  Temporary permit.  Temporary permit for dentists and
dental hygienists issued in accordance with §§ 54.1-2715
and 54.1-2726 of the Code of Virginia shall be at a fee of
$220 and $155, respectively.  The renewal fee shall be $65
and $25, respectively.

I.  Radiology safety G.  Examination.  Each examination
administered in accordance with subdivision 11 of 18 VAC
60-20-190 by the board shall be at a fee of $25.

J.  Jurisprudence examination.  Each examination
administered by the board outside the scheduled clinical
examination site in accordance with 18 VAC 60-20-70 shall
be at a fee of $25.

K.  Full-time faculty license.  Full-time faculty license for
dentists issued in accordance with § 54.1-2714.1 of the Code
of Virginia, shall be at a fee of $220.  The renewal fee shall
be $65.

L. H.  Endorsement license.  License by endorsement
issued in accordance with 18 VAC 60-20-80 for dental
hygienists shall be at a fee of $200 ($175 application and
$25 initial licensure fee).  The renewal fee shall be $25.

18 VAC 60-20-50.  Requirements for continuing
education (CE).

A.  After April 1, 1995, a dentist or a dental hygienist shall
be required to have completed a minimum of 15 hours and a
dental hygienist shall be required to have completed a
minimum of 15 hours of approved continuing education in a
program for each annual renewal of licensure.  Continuing
education hours [ for dentists ] in excess of the number
required for renewal may not be transferred or credited to
another year for a total of not more than 15 hours.

B.  An approved continuing dental education program shall
be relevant to the treatment and care of patients and shall
be:

1.  Clinical courses in dentistry and dental hygiene; or

2.  Nonclinical subjects that relate to the skills necessary
to provide dental or dental hygiene services and are
supportive of clinical services (i.e., patient management,
legal and ethical responsibilities, stress management).
Courses not acceptable for the purpose of this
subsection include, but are not limited to, estate
planning, financial planning, investments, and personal
health.

C.  Continuing education credit may be earned for
verifiable attendance at or participation in any courses, to
include audio and video presentations, which meet the
requirements in subdivision B 1 of this section and which are
given by one of the following sponsors:
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1.  American Dental Association and National Dental
Association, their constituent and component/branch
associations;

2.  American Dental [ Hygienists Hygienists' ]
Association and National Dental Hygienists Association,
their constituent and component/branch associations;

3.  American Dental Assisting Association, its constituent
and component/branch associations;

3. 4. American Dental Association specialty
organizations, their constituent and component/branch
associations;

4. 5.  American Medical Association and National
Medical Association, their specialty organizations,
constituent, and component/branch associations;

5. 6.  Academy of General Dentistry, its constituent and
component/branch associations;

6. 7.  Community colleges with an accredited dental
hygiene program if offered under the auspices of the
dental hygienist program;

7. 8.  A college, university, or hospital service which is
accredited by an accrediting agency approved by the
U.S.  Office of Education;

8. 9.  The American Heart Association, the American
Red Cross and the American Cancer Society;

9. 10.  A medical school which is accredited by the
American Medical Association's Liaison Committee for
Medical Education;

10. 11.  State or federal government agencies (i.e.,
military dental division, Veteran's Administration, etc.);
[ or ]

[ 12.  The Commonwealth Dental Hygienists’ Society;
or ]

11. [ 12. 13. ] Any other board approved programs.

D.  A licensee is exempt from completing continuing
education requirements and considered in compliance on the
first renewal date following his initial licensure.

E.  The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the
continuing education requirements due to circumstances
beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary
disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared
disasters.

F.  A licensee is required to provide information on
compliance with continuing education requirements in his
annual license renewal.  Following the renewal period, the
board may conduct an audit of licensees to verify
compliance.  Licensees selected for audit must provide
original documents certifying that they have fulfilled their
continuing education requirements by the deadline date as
specified by the board.

G.  All licensees are required to maintain original
documents verifying the date and subject of the program or

activity.  Documentation must be maintained for a period of
four years following renewal.

H.  A licensee who has allowed his license to lapse, or
who has had his license suspended or revoked, must submit
evidence of completion of continuing education equal to the
requirements for the number of years in which his license
has not been active.

I.  Continuing education hours required by disciplinary
order shall not be used to satisfy the continuing education
requirement for license renewal.

J.  Penalty for noncompliance of continuing education for
dentists and dental hygienists is $1,000 per violation.  Failure
to comply with continuing education requirements may
subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.

PART II III.
ENTRY AND LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS.

18 VAC 60-20-60.  Education.

A.  Dental licensure.  An applicant for dental licensure
shall be a graduate and a holder of a diploma from an [
accredited or ] approved dental school [ recognized by the
Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental
Association ] , be of good moral character, and provide proof
that the individual has not committed any act which would
constitute a violation of § 54.1-2706 of the Code of Virginia.

B.  Dental hygiene licensure.  An applicant for dental
hygiene licensure shall have graduated from or [ be have
been ] issued a certificate by an [ accredited approved ]
school or program of dental hygiene [ recognized by the
Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental
Association ] , be of good moral character, and provide proof
that the individual has not committed any act which would
constitute a violation of § 54.1-2728 of the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 60-20-70.  Licensure examinations.

A.  Dental examinations.

1.  All applicants shall have successfully completed Part
I and Part II of the examinations of the Joint
Commission on National Dental Examinations prior to
making application to this board.

2.  For the purpose of § 54.1-2709 of the Code of
Virginia, all persons desiring All applicants to practice
dentistry in the Commonwealth of Virginia will be
required to shall satisfactorily pass the complete
board-approved examinations in dentistry as a
precondition for licensure.  Applicants who successfully
completed the board-approved examinations five or
more years prior to the date of receipt of their
applications for licensure by this board may be required
to retake the examinations unless they demonstrate that
they have maintained continuous clinical, ethical and
legal practice since passing the board-approved
examinations.
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B.  Dental hygiene examinations.

1.  All applicants are required to successfully complete
the dental hygiene examination of the Joint Commission
on National Dental Examinations prior to making
application to this board for licensure.

2.  For the purpose of § 54.1-2722 of the Code of
Virginia, all persons desiring All applicants to practice
dental hygiene in the Commonwealth of Virginia shall be
required to successfully complete the board-approved
examinations in dental hygiene as a precondition for
licensure, except those persons eligible for licensure
pursuant to § 54.1-103 of the Code of Virginia and
18 VAC 60-20-80.

C.  Applicants who successfully complete the
board-approved examinations five or more years prior to the
date of receipt of their applications for licensure by this board
may be required to retake the board-approved examinations
unless they demonstrate that they have maintained
continuous clinical, ethical, and legal practice since passing
the board-approved examinations.

C. D.  All applicants for dental or dental hygiene licensure
by examination shall be required to pass an examination on
the applicable Virginia dental and dental hygiene laws and
the regulations of this board.

18 VAC 60-20-80.  Licensure by endorsement for dental
hygienists.

An applicant for dental hygiene endorsement licensure
shall:

1.  Be a graduate or be issued a certificate from an
accredited dental hygiene school/program of dental
hygiene recognized by the Commission on Dental
Accreditation of the American Dental Association;

2.  Be currently licensed to practice dental hygiene in
another state, territory, District of Columbia, or
possession of the United States, and have continuous
clinical, ethical, and legal practice for [ two 24 ] out of
the past [ four years 48 months ] immediately preceding
application for licensure.  Active patient care in armed
forces dental corps, state or federal agency, [ volunteer
practice in a public clinic, ] and intern or residency
programs, may substitute for required clinical practice;

3.  Be certified to be in good standing from each state in
which he is currently licensed or has ever held a license;

4.  Have successfully completed a clinical licensing
examination substantially equivalent to that required by
Virginia;

5.  Not have failed the clinical examination accepted by
the board, pursuant to § 54.1-2722 of the Code of
Virginia, within the last five years;

6.  Be of good moral character;

7.  Provide proof of not having Not have committed any
act which would constitute a violation of § 54.1-2706 of
the Code of Virginia;

8.  [ Have ] successfully [ complete completed ] the
dental hygiene examination of the Joint Commission on
National Dental Examinations prior to making
application to this board; and

9.  Pass an examination on the laws and the regulations
governing the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene in
Virginia.

18 VAC 60-20-90.  Temporary permit, teacher's license,
and full-time faculty license.

A.  A temporary permit shall be issued only for the
purpose of allowing dental and dental hygiene practice as
limited by §§ 54.1-2715 and 54.1-2726 of the Code of
Virginia until the release of grades of the next licensure
examination given in this Commonwealth, after the issuance
of the temporary permit.

B.  A temporary permit will not be renewed unless the
permittee shows that extraordinary circumstances prevented
the permittee from taking the first examination given
immediately after the issuance of the permit.  Such permit
reissuance shall expire seven days after the release of
grades of the next examination given.

C.  A full-time faculty license shall be issued to any dentist
who meets the entry requirements of § 54.1-2713 of the
Code of Virginia, who is certified by the dean of a dental
school in the Commonwealth and who is serving full time on
the faculty of a dental school or its affiliated clinics
intramurally in the Commonwealth.  A full-time faculty
license shall remain valid only while the license holder is
serving full time on the faculty of a dental school in the
Commonwealth.  When any such license holder ceases to
continue serving full time on the faculty of the dental school
for which the license was issued, the licensee shall surrender
the license, which shall be null and void upon termination of
full-time employment.  The dean of the dental school shall
notify the board within five working days of such termination
of full-time employment.

D.  A temporary permit issued pursuant to § 54.1-2715, a
teacher's license issued pursuant to §§ 54.1-2713, 54.1-2714
and 54.1-2725 and [ a ] full-time faculty license issued
pursuant to § 54.1-2714.1 of the Code of Virginia may be
revoked for any grounds for which the license of a regularly
licensed dentist or dental hygienist may be revoked and for
any act, acts, or actions indicating the inability of the
permittee or licensee to practice dentistry that is consistent
with the protection of the public health and safety as
determined by the generally accepted standards of dental
practice in Virginia.

E.  Applicants for a full-time faculty license or temporary
permit shall be required to pass an examination on the laws
and the regulations governing the practice of dentistry in
Virginia.
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PART III IV.
GENERAL ANESTHESIA AND CONSCIOUS SEDATION.

18 VAC 60-20-110.  Requirements to administer general
anesthesia.

A.  Educational requirements.  A dentist may employ or
use general anesthesia on an outpatient basis by meeting
one of the following educational criteria and by posting the
educational certificate, in plain view of the patient, which
verifies completion of the advanced training as required in
subdivision 1 or 2 of this subsection.  The foregoing shall not
apply nor interfere with requirements for obtaining hospital
staff privileges.

1.  Has completed a minimum of one calendar year of
advanced training in anesthesiology and related
academic subjects beyond the undergraduate dental
school level in a training program in conformity with Part
II of the "Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive
Control of Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry" as currently
published guidelines by the American Dental Association
(Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of
Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry, effective July 1993), which
are incorporated by reference in this chapter; or

2.  Completion of an American Dental Association
approved residency in any dental specialty which
incorporates into its curriculum the standards of
teaching comparable to those set forth in Part II of the
"Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of
Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry" as currently published
guidelines by the American Dental Association
(Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of
Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry, effective July 1993), which
are incorporated by reference in this chapter.

B.  Exemptions.  A dentist who has not meet the
requirements specified in subsection A of this section may
treat patients under general anesthesia in his practice if a
qualified anesthesiologist, or a dentist who fulfills the
requirements specified in subsection A of this section [ , ] is
present and is responsible for the administration of the
anesthetic.  If a dentist fulfills requirements himself to use
general anesthesia and conscious sedation, he may employ
the services of a certified nurse anesthetist.

18 VAC 60-20-120.  Conscious sedation; intravenous and
intramuscular.

A.  Automatic qualification.  Dentists qualified to
administer general anesthesia may administer conscious
sedation.

B.  Educational requirements.  A dentist may administer
conscious sedation upon completion of training in conformity
with requirements for this treatment modality as according to
guidelines published by the American Dental Association in
the " (Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of
Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry, effective July 1993)," and
incorporated by reference in this chapter, while enrolled at an
approved dental school or while enrolled in a post-doctoral
university or teaching hospital program.

18 VAC 60-20-130.  General information.

A.  Emergency equipment and techniques.  A dentist who
administers general anesthesia and conscious sedation
(excluding nitrous oxide) shall be proficient in handling
emergencies and complications related to pain control
procedures, including the maintenance of respiration and
circulation, immediate establishment of an airway and
cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and shall maintain the
following emergency airway equipment in the dental facility:

1.  Full face mask for children or adults, or both;

2.  Oral and nasopharyngeal airways;

3.  Endotracheal tubes for children or adults, or both,
with appropriate connectors;

4.  A laryngoscope with reserve batteries and bulbs and
appropriately sized laryngoscope blades for children or
adults, or both;

5.  Source of delivery of oxygen under controlled
pressure; and

6.  Mechanical (hand) respiratory bag.

B.  Posting requirements.  Any dentist who utilizes general
anesthesia or conscious sedation shall post in each facility
the certificate of education required under 18 VAC 60-20-110
A and 18 VAC 60-20-120 B or the self-certification a
certificate issued by the board.

C.  Other.

1.  The team for general anesthesia shall consist of the
operating dentist, a second person to monitor and
observe the patient, and a third person to assist the
operating dentist.

2.  The person in charge of the anesthesia must remain
on the premises of the dental facility until the patient has
regained consciousness and is discharged.

D.  Scope of regulation.  Part III IV (18 VAC 60-20-110 et
seq.) of this chapter shall not apply to administration of
general anesthesia and conscious sedation in hospitals and
surgi-centers.

18 VAC 60-20-140.  Report of adverse reactions.

A written report shall be submitted to the board by the
treating dentist within 30 days following any mortality or
morbidity that occurs in the facility or during the first 24
hours immediately following the patient's departure from the
facility following and which directly resulting results from the
administration of local anesthesia, general anesthesia,
conscious sedation, or nitrous oxide oxygen inhalation
analgesia and which occurs in the facility or during the first
24 hours immediately following the patient's departure from
the facility.
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PART IV V.
RECORD KEEPING AND REPORTING UNPROFESSIONAL

CONDUCT.

18 VAC 60-20-150.  Records. (Repealed.)

A.  Laboratory work orders.  Written work order forms and
subwork order forms to employ or engage the services of
any person, firm, or corporation to construct, reproduce, or
repair, extraorally, prosthetic dentures, bridges or other
replacements for a part of a tooth or teeth as required by
§ 54.1-2719 of the Code of Virginia shall include as a
minimum the following information:

1.  Patient name or case number, and date; and

2.  The signature, license number and address of the
dentist.

B.  Patient records.  A dentist shall maintain patient
records for not less than five years from the most recent date
of service for purposes or review by the board to include the
following:

1.  Patient's name and date of treatment;

2.  Updated health history;

3.  Diagnosis and treatment rendered;

4.  List of drugs prescribed, administered, dispensed
and the quantity;

5.  Radiographs;

6.  Patient financial records; and

7.  Name of dentist and dental hygienist providing
service.

18 VAC 60-20-160.  Reporting. (Repealed.)

A.  Dental students as hygienists.  Prior to utilizing the
services of a senior dental student as a dental hygienist as
provided in § 54.1-2712 of the Code of Virginia a dentist
shall supply the board with the name and address of the
student, the school in which the senior student is enrolled,
the hours during which the student is expected to be
employed as a hygienist, the expected period of employment
(June and July, only) and verification that the employing
dentist holds faculty appointment.

B.  Current business addresses.  Each licensee shall
furnish the board at all times with his current primary Virginia
business address (no P.O. Box accepted).  If not practicing
in Virginia, the primary out-of-state business address must
be furnished (no P.O. Box accepted).  Each dental hygienist
shall furnish current resident address (no P.O. Box
accepted).  All notices required by law or by this chapter to
be mailed by the board to any such licensee shall be validly
given when mailed to the latest address given by the
licensee.  All changes of address shall be furnished to the
board in writing within 30 days of such changes.

18 VAC 60-20-170.  Acts constituting unprofessional
conduct.

The following practices shall constitute unprofessional
conduct within the meaning of § 54.1-2706 of the Code of
Virginia:

1.  Fraudulently obtaining, attempting to obtain or
cooperating with others in obtaining payment for
services;

2.  Performing services for a patient under terms or
conditions which are unconscionable.  The board shall
not consider terms unconscionable where there has
been a full and fair disclosure of all terms and where the
patient entered the agreement without fraud or duress;

3.  Misrepresenting to a patient and the public the
materials or methods and techniques the licensee uses
or intends to use;

4.  Committing any act in violation of the Code of
Virginia reasonably related to the practice of dentistry
and dental hygiene;

5.  Delegating any service or operation which requires
the professional competence of a dentist or dental
hygienist to any person who is not a dentist or dental
hygienist except as otherwise authorized by this chapter;

6.  Certifying completion of a dental procedure that has
not actually been completed;

7.  Knowingly or negligently violating any applicable
statute or regulation governing ionizing radiation in the
Commonwealth of Virginia, including, but not limited to,
current regulations promulgated by the Virginia
Department of Health; and

8.  Permitting or condoning the placement or exposure
of dental x-ray film by an unlicensed person, except
where the unlicensed person has complied with
subdivision 11 of 18 VAC 60-20-190 18 VAC 60-20-195.

18 VAC 60-20-180.  Advertising.

A.  Practice limitation.  A general dentist who limits his
practice shall state in conjunction with his name that he is a
general dentist providing only certain services, [ i.e. e.g. ] ,
orthodontic services.

B.  Fee disclosures.  Any statement specifying a fee for a
dental service which does not include the cost of all related
procedures, services, and products which, to a substantial
likelihood, will be necessary for the completion of the
advertised services as it would be understood by an
ordinarily prudent person shall be deemed to be deceptive or
misleading.  Where reasonable disclosure of all relevant
variables and considerations is made, a statement of a range
of fees for specifically described dental services shall not be
deemed to be deceptive or misleading.

C.  Discounts.  Discount offers for a dental service are
permissible for advertising only when the nondiscounted or
full fee and the final discounted fee are also disclosed in the
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advertisement.  The dentist shall maintain documented
evidence to substantiate the discounted fee.

D.  Retention of broadcast advertising.  A prerecorded
copy of all advertisements on radio or television shall be
retained for a six-month period following the final
appearance of the advertisement.  The advertising dentist is
responsible for making prerecorded copies of the
advertisement available to the board within five days
following a request by the board.

E.  Routine dental services.  The purpose of this
subsection is to delineate those routine dental services which
may be advertised pursuant to § 54.1-2706(7) of the Code of
Virginia and subsection F of this section.  The definitions as
set out in 18 VAC 60-20-10 are intended to set forth a
minimum standard as to what constitutes such services for
advertising purposes in order to allow the public to
accurately compare the fees charged for a given service and
to preclude potentially misleading advertisement of fees for a
given service which may be delivered on a superficial or
minimum basis.  Advertising of fees pursuant to subdivision
F 3 of this section is limited to the following routine dental
services:

1.  "Examination." A study of all the structures of the oral
cavity, including the recording of the conditions of all
such structures and an appropriate history thereof.  As a
minimum, such study shall include charting of caries,
identification of periodontal disease, occlusal
discrepancies, and the detection of oral lesions.

2.  "Diagnosis." An opinion of findings in an
examination.

3.  "Treatment planning." A written statement of
treatment recommendations following an examination
and diagnosis.  This statement shall include a written
itemized treatment recommendation and written
itemized fee statement.

4.  "Radiographs." Shall document type and quantity.
(See definitions).

5.  "Complete or partial dentures and crowns." Any
advertisement shall include full disclosure of all related
fees and procedures.

6.  "Prophylaxis." The removal of calculus, accretions,
and stains from exposed surfaces of the teeth and from
the gingival sulcus.

7.  "Simple extractions." A service for the removal of
nonimpacted teeth, including a full disclosure of all
related fees and procedures.

8.  Other procedures which are determined by the board to
be routine dental services are those services as set forth in
the American Dental Association's "Code on Dental
Procedures and Nomenclature," as published in the Journal
of the American Dental Association (JADA), as amended
Current Dental Terminology (Second Edition, 1995-2000),
which is hereby adopted and incorporated by reference.

F.  The following practices shall constitute false, deceptive,
or misleading advertising within the meaning of
§ 54.1-2706(7) of the Code of Virginia:

1.  Publishing an advertisement which contains a
material misrepresentation or omission of facts;

2.  Publishing an advertisement which contains a
representation or implication that is likely to cause an
ordinarily prudent person to misunderstand or be
deceived, or that fails to contain reasonable warnings or
disclaimers necessary to make a representation or
implication not deceptive;

3.  Publishing an advertisement which fails to include
the information and disclaimers required by this section;

4.  Publishing an advertisement which contains a claim
of professional superiority, claims to be a specialist, or
uses any of the terms to designate a dental specialty
such as:  (I) endodontist; (ii) oral or maxillofacial
surgeon; (iii) oral pathologist; (iv) orthodontist; (v)
pediatric dentist; (vi) periodontist; (vii) prosthodontist;
(viii) public health or any derivation of these specialties
unless he is entitled to such specialty designation under
the guidelines or requirements for specialties approved
by the Commission on Dental Accreditation and the
Council on Dental Education of the American Dental
Association in effect on January 1, 1988 (Requirements
for Recognition of Dental Specialties and National
Certifying Boards for Dental Specialists, October 1995),
or such guidelines or requirements as subsequently
amended and approved by the dental disciplinary board,
or other such organization recognized by the board; and

5.  A dentist not currently entitled to such specialty
designation shall not represent that his practice is
limited to providing services in a specialty area without
clearly disclosing in the representation that he is a
general dentist.  A specialist who represents services in
areas other than his specialty is considered to be
practicing general dentistry.

G.  Signage.  Advertisements, including but not limited to
signage, containing descriptions of the type of dentistry
practiced or a specific geographic locator are permissible so
long as the requirements of §§ 54.1-2718 and 54.1-2720 of
the Code of Virginia are complied with.

PART VI.
DIRECTION AND DELEGATION OF DUTIES.

18 VAC 60-20-190.  Nondelegable duties; dentists.

Nondentists.  The following duties shall not be delegated
to a nondentist Only licensed dentists shall perform the
following duties:

1.  Final diagnosis and treatment planning;

2.  Performing surgical or cutting procedures on hard or
soft tissue;
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3.  Prescribing drugs, medicaments and work
authorizations or parenterally administering drugs or
medicaments;

4.  Adjusting fixed or removable appliances or
restorations in the oral cavity Authorization of work
orders for any appliance or prosthetic device or
restoration to be inserted into a patient’s mouth;

5.  Making occlusal adjustments in the oral cavity
Operation of high speed rotary instruments in the mouth;

6.  Performing pulp capping and pulpotomy procedures;

7.  Administering and monitoring local or general
anesthetics, and conscious sedation and administering
nitrous oxide oxygen inhalation analgesia, except as
provided for in § 54.1-2701 of the Code of Virginia and
subdivision 17 of 18 VAC 60-20-230. ;

8.  Administering nitrous oxide or oxygen inhalation
analgesia;

8. 9.  Condensing and carving amalgam restorations,
contouring or adjusting any final, fixed or removable
prosthodontic appliance or restoration in the mouth;

9. 10. Placing and contouring silicate cement and
composite resin restorations Final positioning and
attachment of orthodontic bonds and bands;

10.  Placement and fitting of orthodontic arch wires;

11.  No person, not otherwise licensed by the board,
shall place or expose dental x-ray film unless he has (i)
satisfactorily completed a course or examination
recognized by the Commission on Dental Accreditation
of the American Dental Association, or (ii) been certified
by the American Society of Radiological Technicians,
(iii) satisfactorily completed a course and passed an
examination in compliance with guidelines provided by
the board, or (iv) passed the board's examination in
radiation safety and hygiene followed by on-the-job
training.  Any individual not able to successfully
complete the board's examination after two attempts
may be certified only by completing clause (i), (ii) or (iii)
of this provision.  Any certificate issued pursuant to
satisfying the requirements of this section shall be
posted in plain view of the patient; and

12. 11.  Taking impressions for any working model
except as provided in subdivision 2 of 18 VAC
60-20-220. master casts to be used for prosthetic
restoration of teeth or oral structures;

12.  Final cementation of crowns and bridges; and

13.  Placement of retraction cord.

18 VAC 60-20-195.  Radiation certification.

No person not otherwise licensed by this board shall place
or expose dental x-ray film unless he has (i) satisfactorily
completed a course or examination recognized by the
Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental
Association, (ii) been certified by the American Registry of

Radiologic Technologists, (iii) satisfactorily completed a
course and passed an examination in compliance with
guidelines provided by the board, or (iv) passed the board's
examination in radiation safety and hygiene followed by on-
the-job training. Any individual not able to successfully
complete the board's examination after two attempts may be
certified only by completing (i), (ii) or (iii) of this provision.
Any certificate issued pursuant to satisfying the requirements
of this section shall be posted in plain view of the patient.

PART V.
DIRECTION AND UTILIZATION OF DENTAL HYGIENISTS

AND DENTAL ASSISTANTS.

18 VAC 60-20-220.  Dental hygienists.

The following duties may shall only be delegated to dental
hygienists under direction:

1.  Scaling, and root planing and polishing of natural
and restored teeth using hand instruments, rotary
instruments, prophy-jets and ultrasonic devices.

2.  Taking of working impressions for construction of
athletic and fluoride guards Polishing of natural and
restored teeth using [ prophy-jets air polishers ].

3.  Performing an original or clinical examination of teeth
and surrounding tissues including the charting of carious
lesions, periodontal pockets or other abnormal
conditions for assisting the dentist in the diagnosis.

4.  Subgingival irrigation or subgingival application of
Schedule VI medicinal agents in accordance with
§ 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia.

5.  Duties appropriate to the [ training education ] and
experience of the dental hygienist and the practice of the
supervising dentist, with the exception of those listed as
nondelegable in 18 VAC 60-20-190.

18 VAC 60-20-230.  Dental hygienists and Delegation to
dental assistants.

Only the following duties may be delegated to dental
hygienists and dental assistants under direction:

1.  Application of Schedule VI topical medicinal agents,
including topical fluoride, or desensitizing agents
(aerosol topical anesthesia excluded);

2.  Acid etching in those instances where the procedure
is reversible;

3.  Application of sealants;

4.  Serving as a chairside assistant aiding the dentist's
treatment by concurrently performing supportive
procedures for the dentist, including drawing up and
compounding medications for administration by the
dentist.  The foregoing shall not prohibit the dentist from
delegating to another licensed health care professional
duties within the scope of their respective practice;

5.  Placing and removing matrixes for restorations;

6.  Placing and removing rubber dam;
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7.  Placing and removing periodontal packs;

8.  Polishing natural and restored teeth by means of a
rotary rubber cup or brush and appropriate polishing
agent;

9.  Holding and removing impression material for
working models after placement in the patient's mouth
by the dentist;

10.  Taking nonworking impressions for diagnostic study
models;

11.  Placing of amalgam in prepared cavities with the
carrier to be condensed and carved by the dentist;

12.  Placing and removing elastic orthodontic
separators;

13.  Checking for loose orthodontic bands;

14.  Removing arch wires and ligature ties;

15.  Placing ligatures to tie in orthodontic arch wire that
has been fitted and placed by the dentist;

16.  Selecting and prefitting of orthodontic bands for
cementation by the dentist;

17.  Monitoring of nitrous oxide oxygen inhalation
analgesia;

18.  Placing and exposing dental x-ray film.  (No person
who is not otherwise licensed by the board shall place or
expose dental x-ray film unless the requirements of
subdivision 11 of 18 VAC 60-20-190 have been
fulfilled.);

19.  Removing socket dressings;

20.  Instructing patients in placement and removal of
retainers and appliances after they have been
completely fitted and adjusted in the patient's mouth by
the dentist;

21.  Removing sutures; and

22.  Removing supragingival cement on crowns, bands,
and restorations.

Any procedure not listed above is prohibited.

Duties appropriate to the training and experience of the
dental assistant and the practice of the supervising dentist
may be delegated to a dental assistant under the [
supervision and ] direction required in 18 VAC 60-20-210,
with the exception of those listed as nondelegable in 18 VAC
60-20-190 and those which may only be delegated to dental
hygienists as listed in 18 VAC 60-20-220.

18 VAC 60-20-240.  What does not constitute practice.

The following are not considered the practice of dental
hygiene and dentistry:

A. 1.  Oral health education and preliminary dental
screenings in any setting are not considered the practice
of dental hygiene and dentistry.

B. 2.  Recording a patient's pulse, blood pressure,
temperature, and medical history.

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE

Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of Pain
and Anxiety in Dentistry (1993), American Dental
Association.

1995 Current Dental Terminology, Second Edition, 1995-
2000, Code on Dental Procedures and Nomenclature,
American Dental Association.

Requirements for Recognition of Dental Specialties and
National Certifying Boards for Dental Specialists, October
1995, American Dental Association.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 60-20-10
et seq., Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and
Dental Hygiene, are not being published due to the large
number; however, the name of each form is listed below.
The forms are available for public inspection at the Board of
Dentistry, 6606 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at
the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly
Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

FORMS

Training Guidelines:  Part I.  Topical Anesthetics.

Training Guidelines:  Part I.  Professionally Applied Topical
Fluorides.

Training Guidelines:  Part III. Application of Desensitizing
Agents.

Application for Certification to Administer Schedule VI
Topical Medicinal Agents for Dental Assistants.

Training Form for Administration of Schedule VI Topical
Medicinal Agents for Dental Assistants.

Application for licensure for Dentists, Dental Hygiene by
Examination, Dental Hygiene by Endorsement, Full-Time
Faculty, Temporary Permit, and Teacher’s License.

Outline and Explanation of Documentation Required for
Dental Licensure by Exam, Teacher’s License, Restricted
License, Full Time Faculty License, and Temporary Permit
(rev. 7/98).

Application for Licensure to Practice Dentistry (rev. 3/98).

Form A, Certification of Dental/Dental Hygiene School (rev.
3/98).

Form B, Chronology (rev. 3/98).

Form C, Certification of Dental/Dental Hygiene Boards (rev.
3/98).

Outline and Explanation of Documentation Required for
Dental Hygiene Licensure by Exam, Teacher’s License,
Dental Hygiene by Endorsement, and Dental Hygiene
Temporary Permit (rev. 7/98).

Application for Licensure to Practice Dental Hygiene (rev.
3/98).
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Reinstatement Application for Dental/Dental Hygiene
[ Licensure ] (rev. 3/98).

Expiration letter to licensee (rev. 7/98).

Radiology Information for Dental Assistants (rev. 7/97).

Application for Radiology Exam for Dental Assistants (rev.
[ 7/97 9/97 ] ).

Renewal Notice and Application (rev. 7/97).

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-615; Filed November 4, 1998, 11:44 a.m.

* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 60-20-10 et seq.  Regulations
Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene
(amending 18 VAC 60-20-20 and 18 VAC 60-20-30).

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 27 (§ 54.1-
2700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  December 23, 1998.

Summary:

The amendments increase fees in compliance with
§ 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia which mandates
health regulatory boards to raise revenues sufficient to
meet expenses.  Among other fee changes, renewal
fees increase from $65 to $100 annually for dentists and
from $25 to $40 for dental hygienists.  Inactive license
fees remain unchanged.  The application fee for
licensure as a dentist increase from $220 to $225 and
for dental hygienists from $155 to $160.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response:  A
summary of comments made by the public and the agency’s
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Marcia J. Miller, Board of Dentistry, 6606 West Broad
Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone
(804) 662-9906.

[ CHAPTER 20.

VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY REGULATIONS
GOVERNING THE PRACTICE OF DENTISTRY AND

DENTAL HYGIENE. ]

PART II.
LICENSURE RENEWAL AND FEES.

18 VAC 60-20-20.  License renewal and reinstatement.

The board shall forward a renewal notice to each licensee
at the address of record (18 VAC 60-20-160 B) prior to the
expiration of the license.  Failure to receive such notice shall
not relieve the licensee of the responsibility to renew the
license.

A.  Dental Renewal fees.  Every person licensed to
practice holding an active or inactive license, a teacher’s
license, full-time faculty license or a temporary permit to

practice dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before March
31, renew [ their his ] license to practice dentistry and pay an
annual renewal fee of $65 except as otherwise provided in
18 VAC 60-20-30.

1.  The fee for renewal of an active license shall be $100
for dentists and $40 for dental hygienists.

2.  The fee for renewal of an inactive license shall be $65
for dentists and $25 for dental hygienists.

B.  Dental hygiene renewal fees.  Every person licensed to
practice dental hygiene by this board shall, on or before
March 31, renew their license to practice dental hygiene and
pay an annual renewal fee of $25 except as otherwise
provided in 18 VAC 60-20-30.

C. B.  Penalty fees.  Any person who does not return the
completed form and fee by March 31 shall be required to pay
an additional $35 penalty fee of $50 for dentists and $35 for
dental hygienists.  The board shall renew a license when if
the renewal form is, renewal fee, and penalty fee are
received by the following April 30, along with the completed
form, the annual registration fee, and the penalty fee.

D. C.  Reinstatement fees and procedures.  The license of
any person who does not return the completed renewal form
and fees by April 30 shall automatically expire and become
invalid and [ their his ] practice of dentistry/dental hygiene
shall be illegal.  Upon such expiration, the board shall
immediately notify the affected person of the expiration and
the reinstatement procedures.

1.  Any person whose license has expired who wishes to
reinstate such license shall submit to the board a
reinstatement form, the application fee, the penalty fee,
renewal fee and an assessment the penalty fee of $50
for dentists and $35 for dental hygienists per month for
each month or part of a month the individual has
practiced in Virginia without a valid license has been
expired for a maximum amount of $600 for dentists and
$420 for dental hygienists.

2.  Practicing in Virginia with an expired license may
subject the licensee to disciplinary action and additional
fines by the board.

3.  The executive director shall reinstate such expired
license provided that the applicant can demonstrate
continuing competence, that no grounds exist pursuant
to § 54.1-2706 of the Code of Virginia and 18 VAC
60-20-170 to deny said reinstatement, and that the
applicant has paid all unpaid renewal fees and
assessments.

E. D.  Reinstatement of a license previously revoked or
indefinitely suspended.  Any person whose license has been
revoked shall submit to the board for its approval a
reinstatement form and an application and fee of $750 for
dentists and $500 for dental hygienists.  Any person whose
license has been indefinitely suspended shall submit to the
board for its approval a reinstatement form and an
application and fee of $300 $350 for dentists and $250 for
dental hygienists.
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18 VAC 60-20-30.  Other fees.

A.  Dental licensure application fees.  The application fee
for a dental license, a license to teach dentistry, or a
temporary permit as a dentist shall be accompanied by a
check or money order for $220, which includes a $155
application fee and a $65 initial licensure fee $225.

B.  Dental hygiene licensure application fees.  The
application fee for a dental hygiene license [ by
examination ] , a license to teach dental hygiene, or a
temporary permit as a dental hygienist shall be accompanied
by a check or money order for $155, which includes a $130
application fee and a $25 initial licensure fee $160.

C.  Duplicate wall certificate.  Licensees desiring a
duplicate wall certificate shall submit a request in writing
stating the necessity for such duplicate wall certificate,
accompanied by a fee of $15.  A duplicate certificate may be
issued for any of the following reasons:  replacing certificate
that has been lost, stolen, misplaced, destroyed, or is
otherwise irretrievable; recording the new name of a
registrant whose name has been changed by court order or
by marriage; or for multiple offices.

D.  Duplicate license.  Licensees desiring [ a ] duplicate
license shall submit a request in writing stating the necessity
for such duplicate license, accompanied by a fee of $10.  A
duplicate license may be issued for any of the following
reasons:  maintaining more than one office (notarized
photocopy may be used); replacing license that has been
lost, stolen, misplaced, destroyed, or is otherwise
irretrievable; and recording the new name of a licensee
whose name has been changed by court order or by
marriage.  If a licensee maintains more than one office, a
notarized photocopy of a license may be used.

E.  Licensure certification.  Licensees requesting
endorsement or certification by this board shall pay a fee of
$25 for each endorsement or certification.

[ F.  Restricted license.  Restricted license issued in
accordance with § 54.1-2714 of the Code of Virginia shall be
at a fee of $100. ]

G.  Teacher's license.  License to teach dentistry and
dental hygiene issued in accordance with §§ 54.1-2713 and
54.1-2725 of the Code of Virginia shall be at a fee of $220
and $155, respectively.  The renewal fee shall be $65 and
$25, respectively.

H.  Temporary permit.  Temporary permit for dentists and
dental hygienists issued in accordance with §§ 54.1-2715
and 54.1-2726 of the Code of Virginia shall be at a fee of
$220 and $155, respectively.  The renewal fee shall be $65
and $25, respectively.

I.  Radiology safety [ F. G. [  Examination.  Each
examination administered in accordance with subdivision 11
of 18 VAC 60-20-190 by the board shall be at a fee of $25.

J.  Jurisprudence examination.  Each examination
administered by the board outside the scheduled clinical

examination site in accordance with 18 VAC 60-20-70 shall
be at a fee of $25.

K.  Full-time faculty license.  Full-time faculty license for
dentists issued in accordance with § 54.1-2714.1 of the Code
of Virginia, shall be at a fee of $220.  The renewal fee shall
be $65.

L. [ G. H. ]  Endorsement license.  License by
endorsement issued in accordance with 18 VAC 60-20-80 for
dental hygienists shall be at a fee of $200 ($175 application
and $25 initial licensure fee).  The renewal fee shall be $25
$225.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 60-20-10
et seq., Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and
Dental Hygiene, are not being published due to the large
number; however, the name of each form is listed below.
The forms are available for public inspection at the Board of
Dentistry, 6606 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond,
Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations,
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor,
Richmond, Virginia.

FORMS

Training Guidelines:  Part I.  Topical Anesthetics.

Training Guidelines:  Part I.  Professionally Applied Topical
Fluorides.

Training Guidelines:  Part III. Application of Desensitizing
Agents.

Application for Certification to Administer Schedule VI
Topical Medicinal Agents for Dental Assistants.

Training Form for Administration of Schedule VI Topical
Medicinal Agents for Dental Assistants.

Application for licensure for Dentists, Dental Hygiene by
Examination, Dental Hygiene by Endorsement, Full-Time
Faculty, Temporary Permit, and Teacher’s License.

Outline and Explanation of Documentation Required for
Dental Licensure by Exam, Teacher’s License, Restricted
License, Full Time Faculty License, and Temporary Permit
(rev. [ 7/98 11/98 ] ).

Application for Licensure to Practice Dentistry (rev. 3/98).

Form A, Certification of Dental/Dental Hygiene School (rev.
3/98).

Form B, Chronology (rev. 3/98).

Form C, Certification of Dental/Dental Hygiene Boards (rev.
3/98).

Outline and Explanation of Documentation Required for
Dental Hygiene Licensure by Exam, Teacher’s License,
Dental Hygiene by Endorsement, and Dental Hygiene
Temporary Permit (rev. [ 7/98 11/98 ] ).

Application for Licensure to Practice Dental Hygiene (rev.
3/98).
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Reinstatement Application for Dental/Dental Hygiene
[ Licensure ] (rev. 3/98).

Expiration letter to licensee (rev. 7/98).

Radiology Information for Dental Assistants (rev. 7/97).

Application for Radiology Exam for Dental Assistants (rev.
7/97).

Renewal Notice and Application (rev. [ 7/97 9/97 ] ).

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-100; Filed November 4, 1998, 11:48 a.m.

REAL ESTATE BOARD

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE:  The following regulation was
originally published in final form in 14:20 VA.R. 2770-2786
June 22, 1998, to become effective September 1, 1998.

Because more than 25 requests for an additional comment
period on the changes were received by the agency, the
effective date of the final regulation was suspended pursuant
to § 9-6.14:7.1 K of the Code of Virginia, and the board
released the regulation for additional public comment on the
changes until September 17, 1998.  Only the changes to the
regulation since it was published as a final regulation on
June 22, 1998, are shown in brackets.

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 135-20-10 et seq.  Virginia
Real Estate Board Licensing Regulations (amending
18 VAC 135-20-10, 18 VAC 135-20-20, 18 VAC 135-20-30,
18 VAC 135-20-40, 18 VAC 135-20-50, 18 VAC 135-20-60,
18 VAC 135-20-80, 18 VAC 135-20-90, 18 VAC 135-20-100,
18 VAC 135-20-110, 18 VAC 135-20-120, 18 VAC 135-20-
150, 18 VAC 135-20-160, 18 VAC 135-20-170, 18 VAC 135-
20-180, 18 VAC 135-20-190, 18 VAC 135-20-200, 18 VAC
135-20-210, 18 VAC 135-20-220, 18 VAC 135-20-240, 18
VAC 135-20-250, 18 VAC 135-20-260, 18 VAC 135-20-270,
18 VAC 135-20-280, 18 VAC 135-20-290, 18 VAC 135-20-
300, 18 VAC 135-20-310, 18 VAC 135-20-320, 18 VAC 135-
20-350, 18 VAC 135-20-360, 18 VAC 135-20-370, 18 VAC
135-20-380, 18 VAC 135-20-390, 18 VAC 135-20-400 and
18 VAC 135-20-410; adding 18 VAC 135-20-45; repealing
18 VAC 135-20-420, 18 VAC 135-20-430, and 18 VAC 135-
20-440).

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 1, 1999.

Summary:

The amendments to the regulations governing real
estate agents (i) add language consistent with §§ 54.1-
2130 through 54.1-2144 of the Code of Virginia which
became effective October 1, 1995; (ii) clarify
requirements for firm and business entity licenses; (iii)
require reciprocal applicants for licensure to pass the
Virginia law and regulation portion of the licensing
examination; (iv) delete the requirement that applicants
for a broker’s license by reciprocity meet broker
educational requirements equivalent to those required in

Virginia; (v) amend the qualifications for renewal and
continuing education requirements; (vi) amend the
maintenance and management of escrow accounts and
financial records; and (vii) add application and renewal
fees for certified instructors.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response:  A
summary of comments made by the public and the agency’s
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Karen W. O’Neal, Assistant Director, Real Estate
Board, 3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230,
telephone (804) 367-8537.

18 VAC 135-20-10.  Definitions.

The following words and terms [ , ] when used in this
chapter, unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly
required by the context, shall have the following meanings:

"Actively engaged" means active licensed employment by
or affiliation as an independent contractor with a licensed
real estate firm or sole proprietorship in performing those
activities as defined in §§ 54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the
Code of Virginia for an average of at least 20 40 hours per
week.

"Associate broker" means any individual licensee of the
board holding a broker's license other than one who has
been designated as the principal broker.

"Client" means a person who has entered into a brokerage
relationship with a licensee as defined by § 54.1-2130 of the
Code of Virginia.

"Firm" means any sole proprietorship (nonbroker owner),
partnership, association, limited liability company, or
corporation, other than a sole proprietorship (principal broker
owner), which is required by 18 VAC 135-20-20 B of this
chapter C B to obtain a separate brokerage firm license.

"Inactive status" refers to any broker or salesperson who is
not under the supervision of a principal broker or supervising
broker, who is not affiliated with a firm or sole proprietorship
and who is not performing any of the activities defined in
§§ 54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the Code of Virginia.

"Independent contractor" means a licensee who acts for or
represents a client other than as a standard agent and
whose duties and obligations are governed by a written
contract between the licensee and the client.

"Licensee" means any person, partnership, association,
limited liability company, or corporation holding a license
issued by the Real Estate Board to act as a real estate
broker or real estate salesperson, as defined, respectively, in
§§ 54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the Code of Virginia.

"Principal" means a party who has engaged a real estate
broker to perform real estate purchases, sales or rental
services in a principal-agent relationship.
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"Principal broker" means the individual broker who shall be
designated by each firm to assure compliance with Title
54.1, Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the
Code of Virginia, and this chapter, and to receive
communications and notices from the board which may
affect the firm or any licensee employed by or affiliated with
the firm.  In the case of a sole proprietorship, the licensed
broker who is the sole proprietor shall have the
responsibilities of the principal broker.  The principal broker
shall have responsibility for the activities of the firm and all
its licensees.

"Principal to a transaction" means a party to a real estate
transaction in the capacity of a seller, buyer, lessee or
lessor.

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation,
who is trading under the individual's name, or under an
assumed or fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of
§ Chapter 5 (§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 et seq.) of Title 59.1
of the Code of Virginia.

"Standard agent" means a licensee who acts for or
represents a client in an agency relationship.  A standard
agent shall have the obligations as provided in Article 3
(§ 54.1-2130 et seq.) of Chapter 21 of Title 54.1 of the Code
of Virginia.

"Supervising broker" means the individual associate broker
who shall be designated by the firm to supervise the
activities of any one of its offices.

18 VAC 135-20-20.  Necessity for license or registration
(Refer to § 54.1-2106 § 54.1-2106.1 of the Code of Virginia).

A.  No partnership, association or corporation shall be
granted a firm license unless every member and officer of
such partnership, association or corporation who actively
participates in its brokerage business holds a license as a
real estate broker, and unless every employee and every
independent contractor who acts as salesperson for such
partnership, association or corporation holds a license as a
real estate salesperson; provided, however, that a person
who holds a license as a real estate broker may act as a
salesperson for another real estate broker.

A.  Sole proprietor (principal broker owner).  A real estate
broker's license shall not be issued to an individual trading
under an assumed or fictitious name, that is, a name other
than the individual's full name, until the individual signs and
acknowledges a certificate provided by the board, setting
forth the name under which the business is to be organized
and conducted, the address of the individual's residence, and
the address of the individual's place of business.  Each
certificate must be attested by the Clerk of Court of the
county or jurisdiction wherein the business is to be
conducted.  The attention of all applicants and licensees is
directed to §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of the Code of
Virginia.

B.  Sole proprietor (nonbroker owner), partnership,
association, limited liability company, or corporation.  Every
sole proprietor (nonbroker owner), partnership, association,

limited liability company, or corporation must secure a real
estate license for its brokerage firm before transacting real
estate business.  Application for such license shall disclose,
and the license shall be issued to, the name under which the
applicant intends to do or does business and holds itself out
to the public.  This license is separate and distinct from the
individual broker license required of each partner, associate,
manager of a limited liability company, and officer of a
corporation who is active in the brokerage business.

1.  Sole proprietor (nonbroker owner).  Each sole
proprietor (nonbroker owner) acting as a real estate
broker shall file with the board a certificate on a form
provided by the board, which shall include the following
information:  the name, business address, and
residential address of the owner; the name and style of
the firm; and the address of the office of the real estate
entity.  Each change in the information contained on the
certificate filed with the board must be evidenced by
filing a new certificate with the board within 30 days after
the change is effective.

2.  Partnership.  Each partnership acting as a real estate
broker shall file with the board a certificate on a form
provided by the board, which shall include the following
information:  the name, business address, and
residential address of each person composing the
partnership; the name and style of the firm; the address
of the Virginia office of the firm; and the length of time
for which it is to continue.  Every change in the
partnership must be evidenced by filing a new certificate
with the board within 30 days after the change is
effective.

3.  Association.  Each association acting as a real estate
broker shall file with the board a certificate on a form
provided by the board, which shall include the following
information:  the name, business address, and
residential address of each person composing the
association; the name and style of the firm; the address
of the Virginia office of the firm; and the length of time
for which it is to continue.  Every change in the
association must be evidenced by filing a new certificate
with the board within 30 days after the change is
effective.

4.  Corporation.  Each corporation acting as a real
estate broker shall file with the board a certificate on a
form provided by the board, which shall include the
following information:  the name, business address, and
residential address of each officer of the corporation; the
name of each licensed shareholder; the name and style
of the corporation; the address of the Virginia office of
the firm; and the corporation's place of business.

a.  Every change of officers must be evidenced by
filing a new certificate with the board within 30 days
after the change is effective.

b.  The board will not consider the application of any
corporation or its officers, employees, or associates
until the corporation is authorized to do business in
Virginia.
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5.  Limited liability company.  Each limited liability
company acting as a real estate broker shall file with the
board a certificate on a form provided by the board,
which shall include the following information:  the name,
business address, and residential address of each
licensed manager or member of the company; the name
and style of the company; and the address of the
Virginia office of the company.

a.  Every change of officers must be evidenced by
filing a new certificate with the board within 30 days
after the change is effective.

b.  The board will not consider the application of any
limited liability company or its officers, employees, or
associates until the limited liability company is
authorized to do business in Virginia.

C.  Branch office license.  If a real estate broker maintains
more than one place of business within the state, a branch
office license shall be issued for each branch office
maintained.  Application for the license shall be made on
forms provided by the board and shall reveal the name of the
firm, the location of the branch office, and the name of the
supervising broker for that branch office.  Only The branch
office license shall be maintained at the branch office
location.

18 VAC 135-20-30.  Qualifications for licensure.

Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for a an individual
salesperson's or broker's license shall have the following
qualifications:

1.  The applicant shall have a good reputation for
honesty, truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be
competent to transact the business of a real estate
broker or a real estate salesperson in such a manner as
to safeguard the interests of the public.

2.  The applicant shall meet the current educational
requirements by achieving a passing grade in all
required courses of § 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia
prior to the time the applicant sits for the licensing
examination and applies for licensure.

3.  The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed
real estate broker or salesperson in every jurisdiction
where licensed and the applicant shall not have had a
license as a real estate broker or real estate salesperson
which was suspended, revoked or surrendered in
connection with a disciplinary action or which has been
the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction prior to
applying for licensure in Virginia.

4.  The applicant shall not have been convicted or found
guilty regardless of adjudication in any jurisdiction of the
United States of a misdemeanor involving moral
turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical
injury, or any felony, there being no appeal pending
therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed.  Neither
shall the applicant have been found to have violated the
fair housing laws of any jurisdiction.  Any plea of nolo
contendere shall be considered a conviction for

purposes of this paragraph subdivision.  The record of a
conviction authenticated in such form as to be
admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction
where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie
evidence of such conviction or guilt.

5.  The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.

6.  The applicant, within 12 months prior to making
application for a license, shall have passed a written
examination provided by the board or by a testing
service acting on behalf of the board.  Complete
applications must be received within the 12-month
period.

7.  The applicant shall follow all rules established by the
board with regard to conduct at the examination.  Such
rules shall include any written instructions
communicated prior to the examination date and any
instructions communicated at the site, either written or
oral, on the date of the examination.  Failure to comply
with all rules established by the board with regard to
conduct at the examination shall be grounds for denial
of application.

8.  Applicants for licensure who do not meet the
requirements set forth in subdivisions 3 and 4 of this
section may be approved for licensure following
consideration by the board in accordance with § 54.1-
204 of the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 135-20-40.  Additional qualifications for brokers.

An applicant for a an individual license as a real estate
broker shall meet the following requirements in addition to
those set forth in 18 VAC 135-20-30 of this chapter:

1.  The applicant shall meet the current educational
requirements of § 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia.

2.  The applicant shall have been actively engaged as
defined in 18 VAC 135-20-10 of this chapter as a real
estate salesperson for a period of 36 of the 48 months
immediately preceding application.

18 VAC 135-20-45.  Additional qualifications for
salesperson’s or associate broker’s license as a business
entity.

An applicant for a salesperson’s license as a business
entity shall meet the following requirements in addition to
those set forth in 18 VAC 135-20-30:

1.  Every owner or officer who actively participates in the
real estate business shall hold a license as a
salesperson or associate broker.

2. [ The name of the business entity shall include the full
legal name of every owner or officer. There shall be no
restrictions on the name of the business entity when two
or more licensees are owners or officers.  When one
licensee is the owner or officer, the business entity shall
be named in accordance with § 54.1-2106.1 C of the
Code of Virginia. ]
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3.  Partnership.  Each partnership shall file with the
board a certificate on a form provided by the board,
which shall include the following information:  the name,
business address, and residential address of each
person composing the partnership; the name and style
of the firm; the address of the Virginia office of the firm;
and the length of time for which it is to continue.  Every
change in the partnership must be evidenced by filing a
new certificate with the board within 30 days after the
change is effective.

4.  Association.  Each association shall file with the board
a certificate on a form provided by the board, which shall
include the following information:  the name, business
address, and residential address of each person
composing the association; the name and style of the
firm; the address of the Virginia office of the firm; and the
length of time for which it is to continue.  Every change in
the association must be evidenced by filing a new
certificate with the board within 30 days after the change
is effective.

5.  Corporation.  Each corporation shall file with the
board a certificate on a form provided by the board,
which shall include the following information:  the name,
business address, and residential address of each officer
of the corporation; the name of each licensed
shareholder; the name and style of the corporation; the
address of the Virginia office of the firm; and the
corporation's place of business.

a.  Every change of officers must be evidenced by
filing a new certificate with the board within 30 days
after the change is effective.

b.  The board will not consider the application of any
corporation or its officers, employees, or associates
until the corporation is authorized to do business in
Virginia.

6.  Limited liability company.  Each limited liability
company shall file with the board a certificate on a form
provided by the board, which shall include the following
information:  the name, business address, and
residential address of each licensed manager or member
of the company; the name and style of the company;
and the address of the Virginia office of the company.

a.  Every change of officers must be evidenced by
filing a new certificate with the board within 30 days
after the change is effective.

b.  The board will not consider the application of any
limited liability company or its officers, employees, or
associates until the limited liability company is
authorized to do business in Virginia.

18 VAC 135-20-50.  Concurrent licenses.

Concurrent licenses shall be issued by the board to
brokers active in more than one separate legal entity upon
receipt of a concurrent license form and written affidavits
stating that written notice of the applicant's concurrent

licensure status has been provided to the principal broker of
each firm with which the applicant is and will be associated.
Payment is required for each license.  A concurrent license
will not be issued to an individual applying to be associated
with a firm if that individual has an expired license associated
with the same firm and the expired license may be reinstated.

18 VAC 135-20-60.  Qualifications for licensure by
reciprocity.

A.  Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for a license
by reciprocity shall have the following qualifications provided
in subsection B of this section, except that 18 VAC 135-20-50
A 5 subdivision B 6 of this section shall only be applicable for
salesperson applicants:.

A. B.  An individual who is currently licensed as a real
estate salesperson or broker in another jurisdiction may
obtain a Virginia real estate license without taking the
Virginia written licensing examination by meeting the
following requirements:

1.  The applicant shall be at least 18 years of age.

2.  The applicant shall have received the [ salesperson
salesperson's ] or broker's license by virtue of having
passed in the jurisdiction of licensure a written
examination deemed to be substantially equivalent to
the Virginia examination.

3.  The applicant, within 12 months prior to making
application for a license, shall sign, as part of the
application, an affidavit certifying that the applicant has
read and understands the have passed a written
examination provided by the board or a testing service
acting on behalf of the board covering Virginia real
estate license law and the regulations of the Real Estate
Board.  Complete applications must be received within
the 12-month period.

4.  The applicant shall follow all rules established by the
board with regard to conduct at the examination.  Such
rules shall include any written instructions communicated
prior to the examination date and any instructions
communicated at the site, either written or oral, on the
date of the examination.  Failure to comply with all rules
established by the board with regard to conduct at the
examination shall be grounds for denial of application.

4. 5.  The applicant shall be in good standing as a
licensed real estate broker or salesperson in every
jurisdiction where licensed and the applicant shall not
have had a license as a real estate broker or real estate
salesperson which was suspended, revoked, or
surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action or
which has been the subject of discipline in any
jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure in Virginia.

5. 6.  At the time of application for a salesperson's
license, the applicant must have been actively engaged
in real estate for 12 of the preceding 36 months or have
met educational requirements that are substantially
equivalent to those required in Virginia.
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6. 7.  The applicant shall have a good reputation for
honesty, truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be
competent to transact the business of a real estate
salesperson or broker in such a manner as to safeguard
the interests of the public.

7. 8.  The applicant shall not have been convicted or
found guilty regardless of adjudication in any jurisdiction
of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, sexual
offense, drug distribution or physical injury, or any felony
there being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for
appeal having elapsed.  Neither shall the applicant have
been found to have violated the fair housing laws of any
jurisdiction.  Any plea of nolo contendere shall be
considered a conviction for purposes of this paragraph
subdivision.  The record of a conviction authenticated in
such form as to be admissible in evidence under the
laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be
admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction or
guilt.

9.  Applicants for licensure who do not meet the
requirements set forth in subdivisions 5 and 8 of this
subsection may be approved for licensure following
consideration by the board in accordance with § 54.1-
204 of the Code of Virginia.

B. C.  Additional qualifications for reciprocal licensure as a
broker.  An individual who is currently licensed as a real
estate broker in another jurisdiction may obtain a Virginia
real estate broker's license without taking a written
examination by meeting the following requirements
requirement set out in subsection D of this section in addition
to those set forth in 18 VAC 135-20-60 A 1 through A 4, A 6
and A 7 subdivisions B 1 through B 5 and B 7 through B 9 of
this section.

1. D.  The applicant shall have been licensed as a real
estate broker and actively engaged as a real estate broker or
salesperson for at least 36 of the 48 months immediately
prior to making application in Virginia.  (See 18 VAC 135-20-
10 of this chapter for the definition of "actively engaged.")

2.  The applicant meets broker educational requirements
substantially equivalent to those required in Virginia.

18 VAC 135-20-80.  Application fees.

A.  All application fees for licenses are nonrefundable and
the date of receipt by the board or its agent is the date which
will be used to determine whether it is on time.

B.  Application fees for original licenses are as follows:

Salesperson by education and examination $90
Salesperson by reciprocity $75
Individual license - business entity $100 $90
Broker by education and examination $100
Broker by reciprocity $100
Broker concurrent license $90
Firm license $145
Branch office license $75
Transfer application $35
Activate application $35

Bad check penalty $25

C.  Examination fees are as follows:

Registration for sales and brokers                         $68.50
Additional fee for phone or "fax" registrations              $ 5

C.  The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to
contracted charges to the board by an outside vendor.
These contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained
for in compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act
(§ 11-35 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  Fees may be
adjusted and charged to the candidate in accordance with
these contracts.  The fee shall not exceed $90 per candidate.

18 VAC 135-20-90.  Renewal required.

Licenses issued under this chapter for salespersons,
brokers, and firms shall expire two years from the last day of
the month in which they were issued, as indicated on the
license, except concurrent broker licenses which shall expire
on the same date as the original broker license.

18 VAC 135-20-100.  Qualification for renewal;
continuing education requirements.

A.  Continuing education requirements.  As a condition of
renewal, and pursuant to § 54.1-2105 of the Code of
Virginia, all active brokers and salespersons, resident or
nonresident, except those called to active duty in the Armed
Forces of the United States, shall be required to satisfactorily
complete a course or courses of not less than a total of eight
classroom, correspondence, or other distance learning
instruction hours during each licensing term.  Active
licensees called to active duty in the Armed Forces of the
United States may complete this course these courses within
six months of their release from active duty.  Inactive brokers
and salespersons are not required to complete the continuing
education course as a condition of renewal (see 18 VAC
135-20-70, Activation of license).

1.  Schools and instructors Providers shall be those as
required under § 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia, and
18 VAC 135-20-380 of this chapter defined in 18 VAC
135-20-350.

2.  The specific course content and curriculum shall be
prescribed and approved by the board.  The course
curriculum shall be provided to each school in final form
prior to the course offering and updated periodically to
reflect recent developments in federal, state, and local
real estate law, regulations and case decisions.

a.  Continuing education courses offered in other
jurisdictions must meet Virginia's statutory
requirements and must conform to the board's
specifically prescribed course content and curriculum
as described in § 54.1-2105(2) of the Code of Virginia.
Such courses must be approved in advance of
offering to be certified for course credit for licensees.

b.  Correspondence courses will not be approved for
credit for continuing education.
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2.  Prior to January 1, 1999, three of the eight required
hours shall cover the subjects of include training in fair
housing laws and recent developments in state real
estate laws and regulations.  After January 1, 1999, four
of the eight required hours shall include training in fair
housing laws, state real estate laws and regulations, and
ethics and standards of conduct.  If the licensee submits
a notarized affidavit to the board which certifies that he
does not practice residential real estate and shall not do
so during the licensing term, training in fair housing shall
not be required; instead such licensee shall receive
training in other applicable federal and state
discrimination laws and regulations.  The remaining five
hours shall be on subjects from the following list:

a.  Property rights;

b.  Contracts;

c.  Deeds;

d.  Mortgages and deeds of trust;

e.  Types of mortgages;

f.  Leases;

g.  Liens;

h.  Real property and title insurance;

i.  Investment;

j.  Taxes in real estate;

k.  Real estate financing;

l.  Brokerage and agency contract responsibilities;

m.  Real property management;

n.  Search, examination and registration of title;

o.  Title closing;

p.  Appraisal of real property;

q.  Planning subdivision developments and
condominiums;

r.  Regulatory statutes;

s.  Housing legislation;

t.  Fair housing;

u.  Real Estate Board regulations;

v.  Land use;

w.  Business law;

x.  Real estate economics;

y.  Real estate investments;

z.  Federal real estate law;

aa.  Commercial real estate;

bb.  Americans With Disabilities Act;

cc.  Environmental issues impacting real estate;

dd.  Building codes and design;

ee.  Local laws and zoning;

ff.  Escrow requirements; and

gg.  Ethics and standards of conduct.

3.  Prior to January 1, 1999, licensees holding licenses in
other jurisdictions must complete a three-hour course
covering three hours which shall include fair housing
laws and recent developments in federal, state and local
real estate law laws and regulations and may substitute
education completed in their jurisdiction for the remaining
five hours required by subdivision 2 of this subsection.
After January 1, 1999, licensees holding licenses in other
jurisdictions must complete four hours which shall include
fair housing laws, state real estate laws and regulations
and ethics and standards of conduct and may substitute
education completed in their jurisdiction for the remaining
hours required by subdivision 2 of this subsection.

4.  The board may approve additional subjects at its
discretion and in accordance with § 54.1-2105 of the
Code of Virginia.

3. 5.  Credit for continuing education course completion
is given only for attendance in its entirety for each class
hour/clock hour as defined in 18 VAC 135-20-350.

4.  It is the responsibility of the licensee to provide 6.
Licensees are responsible for retaining for three years
and providing proof of continuing education course
completion certification.  Proof of course completion
shall be made on a form prescribed by the board.
Failure to provide course completion certification as
directed by the board will result in the license not being
renewed and/or disciplinary action pursuant to this
chapter.

5. 7.  Instructors who are also licensees of the board
may earn continuing education credit for teaching
continuing education courses.  Verification of instructor
compliance with the continuing education course
required must be verified by the director or dean of the
school at which the course was taught.

B.  Applicants for renewal of a license shall meet the
standards for entry as set forth in [ subdivisions 1, 3, and 4
of ] 18 VAC 135-20-30 [ 1, 3, and 4 ] of this chapter.

C.  The board may deny renewal of a license if the
applicant has not met the terms of an agreement for
licensure or not fully paid monetary penalties, satisfied
sanctions and paid costs imposed by the board, plus any
accrued interest.

18 VAC 135-20-110.  Procedures for renewal.

A. The board will mail a renewal application form to the
licensee or registrant at the last known home address. The
board will mail a firm renewal notice to the business address
of the firm. These notices shall outline the procedures for
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renewal. The board will notify the firm 30 days after the
expiration of the licenses of salespersons and brokers
associated with the firm. Failure to receive these notices
does not relieve the licensee of the obligation to renew.

B. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license, each
licensee desiring to renew the license shall return to the
board the renewal application forms and the appropriate fee
as outlined in 18 VAC 135-20-120 of this chapter.

18 VAC 135-20-120.  Fees for renewal.

A.  All fees for renewals are nonrefundable, and the date of
receipt by the board or its agent is the date which will be
used to determine whether or not it is on time, and.

B.  Renewal fees are as follows:

Salesperson $46
Individual license - business entity $100 $46
Broker $50
Concurrent broker $50
Firm $75
Branch office $45

18 VAC 135-20-150.  Board discretion to deny
reinstatement.

A. The board may deny reinstatement of a license if the
applicant has not met the terms of an agreement for
licensure or not fully paid monetary penalties, satisfied
sanctions and paid costs imposed by the board, plus any
accrued interest.

B. The board may deny reinstatement of a license for the
same reasons as it may refuse initial licensure or discipline a
current licensee.

18 VAC 135-20-160.  Place of business.

A.  Within the meaning and intent of § 54.1-2110 of the
Code of Virginia, a place of business shall be an office
where:

1.  The principal broker, either through his own efforts or
through the efforts of his employees or associates,
regularly transacts the business of a real estate broker
as defined in § 54.1-2100 of the Code of Virginia; and

2.  The principal broker and his employees or associates
can receive business calls and direct business calls to
be made.

B.  No place of business shall be in a residence unless it is
separate and distinct from the living quarters of the
residence and is accessible by the public.

C.  Each place of business and each branch office shall be
supervised and personally managed by an on-premises real
estate broker who shall supervise only that office.

D.  Every individual, partnership, association, limited
liability company, or corporation acting as a real estate broker
may display signage on the outside of each place of
business maintained in the Commonwealth for the purpose
of transacting business as a real estate broker.  If displayed,
the sign shall state the name of such individual, partnership,

association, limited liability company, or corporation, as set
forth in the license issued by the board, and contain the
words "real estate," "realty" or other words or phrases
designating a member of a generally recognized association
or organization of real estate brokers, whichever is
applicable.

E.  Every principal broker shall have readily available in
the main place of business the firm license, the principal
broker license and the license of every salesperson and
broker associated with or employed by the entity or firm.
The licenses shall be displayed together, not individually, in
such a manner that the public can readily determine the
names of the licensees.  The branch office license and a
roster of every salesperson and broker assigned to the
branch office shall be displayed in the branch office location.

F.  Notice in writing, accompanied by all the current
licenses, shall be given to the board in the event of any
change of business name or location.  Such notice shall be
mailed to the board within 10 calendar days of the change of
name or location, whereupon the board shall reissue the
licenses for the unexpired period.

18 VAC 135-20-170.  Maintenance of licenses.

A.  Salespersons and individual brokers shall at all times
keep the board informed of their current home address and
changes of address must be reported to the board in writing
with 10 30 calendar days of such change.  The board shall
not be responsible for the licensee's failure to receive
notices, communications and correspondence caused by the
licensee's failure to promptly notify the board of any change
of address.  A licensee shall notify the board in a written
form acceptable to the board within 10 30 calendar days of
any change in the licensee's legal name.  A licensee may
use a professional name other than a legal name if that
professional name is filed with the board prior to its use.

B.  Salespersons and brokers shall only be issued a
license to the place of business of the sole proprietorship or
firm with which the salesperson or broker is affiliated or at
which such licensee is employed.  The license shall be
issued after the sole proprietor or principal broker files a
written request on a form supplied by the board.

C.  Salespersons and brokers on inactive status shall
receive written acknowledgment of payment from the board
at the time they renew their license, but no license shall be
issued since they are not affiliated with a sole proprietorship
or firm.

D.  When any salesperson or broker is discharged or in
any way terminates his employment or affiliation or changes
status as a principal or associate broker with a sole
proprietorship or firm, it shall be the duty of the sole
proprietor or principal broker to return the license by certified
mail to the board so that it is received within 10 calendar
days of the date of termination or status change.  The sole
proprietor or principal broker shall indicate on the license the
date of termination, and shall sign the license before
returning it.
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E.  The board, upon receipt of a transfer application or
request for placement of a license on inactive status from a
salesperson or associate broker, will notify the former
principal broker of the licensee's change of affiliation or
status at the firm's address of record.  If the license has not
been received by the board by the date on which above
notification is issued, then it shall be the duty of the former
principal broker to return the license by certified mail to the
board so that it is received within 10 calendar days of the
date of the above notification.

F.  All certificates of licensure in any form are the property
of the Real Estate Board.  Upon termination of a licensee,
closing of a firm, death of a licensee, change of license
status, change of licensee name or address or both, such
licenses must be returned with proper instruction to the
board within 10 calendar days.

18 VAC 135-20-180.  Maintenance and management of
escrow accounts and financial records.

A.  Maintenance of escrow accounts.

1.  If money is to be held in escrow, each firm or sole
proprietorship shall maintain in the name by which it is
licensed one or more federally insured separate escrow
accounts in a federally insured depository in Virginia into
which all down payments, earnest money deposits,
money received upon final settlement, rental payments,
rental security deposits, money advanced by a buyer or
seller for the payment of expenses in connection with the
closing of real estate transactions, money advanced by
the broker's principal client or expended on behalf of the
principal client, or other escrow funds received by him or
his associates on behalf of his principal client or any
other person shall be deposited unless all principals to
the transaction have agreed otherwise in writing.  The
principal broker shall be held responsible for these
accounts.  The supervising broker and any other
licensee with escrow account authority may be held
responsible for these accounts.  All such accounts,
checks and bank statements shall be labeled "escrow"
and the account(s) shall be designated as "escrow"
accounts with the financial institution where such
accounts are established.

2.  Funds to be deposited in the escrow account will
necessarily include moneys which shall ultimately
belong to the licensee, but such moneys shall be
separately identified in the escrow account records and
shall be paid to the firm by a check drawn on the escrow
account when the funds become due to the licensee.
The fact that an escrow account contains money which
may ultimately belong to the licensee does not constitute
"commingling of funds" as set forth by subdivision 5 of
18 VAC 135-20-320 5 of this chapter, provided that
there are periodic withdrawals of said funds at intervals
of not more than six months, and that the licensee can
at all times accurately identify the total funds in that
account which belong to the licensee and the firm.

3.  If escrow funds are used to purchase a certificate of
deposit, the pledging or hypothecation of such

certificate, or the absence of the original certificate from
the direct control of the principal or supervising broker,
shall constitute commingling as prohibited by 18 VAC
135-20-320 5 of this chapter.

B.  Disbursement of funds from escrow accounts.

1. a.  Purchase transactions.  Upon acceptance the
ratification of a contract (ratification), earnest money
deposits and down payments received by the principal
broker or supervising broker or his associates shall
must be placed in an escrow account by the end of
the fifth business banking day following ratification [ ,
unless otherwise agreed to in writing, ] and shall
remain in that account until the transaction has been
consummated or terminated.  In the event the
transaction is not consummated, the principal broker
or supervising broker shall hold such funds in escrow
until (i) all principals to the transaction have agreed in
writing as to their disposition, or (ii) a court of
competent jurisdiction orders such disbursement of
the funds, or (iii) the broker can pay the funds to the
principal to the transaction who is entitled to receive
them in accordance with the clear and explicit terms
of the contract which established the deposit.  In the
latter event, prior to disbursement, the broker shall
give written notice to each principal to the transaction
by either (i) hand delivery receipted for by the
addressee, or (ii) by regular and certified mail, that
this payment will be made unless a written protest
from that principal to the transaction is received by the
broker within 30 days of the delivery or mailing, as
appropriate, of that notice.  A broker who has carried
out the above procedure shall be construed to have
fulfilled the requirements of this chapter.

b.  Lease transactions:  security deposits.  Any
security deposit held by a broker firm or sole
proprietorship shall be placed in an escrow account by
the end of the fifth business banking day following
receipt [ , unless otherwise agreed to in writing ] .
Each such security deposit shall be treated in
accordance with the provisions of § 55-248.11 of the
Code of Virginia, generally known as the Virginia
Residental Landlord and Tenant Act security deposit
provisions of the Virginia Residential Landlord and
Tenant Act, Chapter 13.2 (§ 55-248.2 et seq.) of Title
55 of the Code of Virginia, unless exempted
therefrom, in which case the terms of the lease or
other applicable law shall control.  Notwithstanding
anything in this section to the contrary, unless the
landlord has otherwise become entitled to receive the
security deposit or a portion thereof, the security
deposit shall not be removed from an escrow account
required by the lease without the written consent of
the tenant.

c.  Lease transactions:  rents and or escrow fund
advances.  Unless otherwise agreed in writing by all
principals to the transaction, all rents and other
money paid to the licensee in connection with the
lease shall be placed in an escrow account by the end
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of the fifth business banking day following receipt [ ,
unless otherwise agreed to in writing, ] and remain in
that account until paid in accordance with the terms of
the lease and the property management agreement,
as applicable.

2. a.  Purchase transactions.  Unless otherwise agreed
in writing by all principals to the transaction, a
licensee shall not be entitled to any part of the earnest
money deposit or to any other money paid to the
licensee in connection with any real estate transaction
as part of the licensee's commission until the
transaction has been consummated.

b.  Lease transactions.  Unless otherwise agreed in
writing by the principals to the lease and or property
management agreement, as applicable, a licensee
shall not be entitled to any part of the security deposit
or to any other money paid to the licensee in
connection with any real estate lease as part of the
licensee's commission until except in accordance with
the terms of the lease have been met. or the property
management agreement, as applicable.
Notwithstanding anything in this section to the
contrary, unless the landlord has otherwise become
entitled to receive the security deposit or a portion
thereof, the security deposit shall not be removed from
an escrow account required by the lease without the
written consent of the tenant.

3.  On funds placed in an account bearing interest,
written disclosure in the contract of sale or lease at the
time of contract or lease writing shall be made to the
principals involved in to the transaction regarding the
disbursement of interest.

4.  A licensee shall not disburse or cause to be
disbursed moneys from an escrow or property
management escrow account unless sufficient money is
on deposit in that account to the credit of the individual
client or property involved.

5.  Unless otherwise agreed in writing by all principals to
the transaction, expenses incidental to closing a
transaction, e.g., fees for appraisal, insurance, credit
report, etc., shall not be deducted from a deposit or
down payment.

C.  Maintenance of financial records.

1.  A complete record of financial transactions
conducted under authority of the principal broker's
Virginia license shall be maintained in the principal
broker's place of business, or in a designated branch
office.  When the principal broker's office is located
outside of Virginia and the firm has a branch office in
Virginia, these records shall be maintained in the
Virginia office.  These records shall show, in addition to
any other requirements of the regulations, the following
information:  from whom money was received; the date
of receipt; the place of deposit; the date of deposit; and,
after the transaction has been completed, the final
disposition of the funds.

2.  The principal broker shall maintain a bookkeeping
system which shall accurately and clearly disclose full
compliance with the requirements outlined in this
section.  Accounting records which are in sufficient
detail to provide necessary information to determine
such compliance shall be maintained.

18 VAC 135-20-190.  Advertising by licensees.

A.  The name under which the broker does business and
the manner in which the broker advertises shall not imply
that the property listed or marketed by the broker for others
is "for sale by owner." A broker shall not advertise in any
newspaper, periodical, or sign to sell, buy, exchange, rent, or
lease property in a manner indicating that the offer to sell,
buy, exchange, rent, or lease such property is being made by
a person not licensed as a real estate broker. No
advertisement shall be inserted in any publication where only
a post office box number, telephone number, or street
address appears. Every broker, when advertising real estate
in any newspaper or periodical, shall affirmatively and
unmistakably indicate that the party advertising is a real
estate broker.

A. B. Definitions. The following definitions apply unless a
different meaning is plainly required by the context:

"Advertising" means any communication, whether oral or
written, between a licensee or an entity acting on behalf of
one or more licensees and any other person or business
entity. It shall include, but is not limited to, telephonic
communications, insignias, business cards, advertisements,
telephone directory, listing agreements, contracts of sale,
billboards, signs, letterheads, as well as radio, television,
magazine, and newspaper, and internet advertisements.

"Institutional advertising" means advertising in which
neither the licensed name nor any other identification of any
licensed individual is disclosed, no real property is identified,
and a service mark is identified.

"Service mark" means the trade name or logo, whether or
not registered under any federal or state law, which is owned
by an entity other than the licensee and which the licensee
has obtained permission to use through agreement, license,
franchise, or otherwise.

B. [ C.  Every licensee is prohibited from advertising and
marketing under the licensee's own name (except for sole
proprietors trading under the principal broker's own name) in
any manner offering on behalf of others to buy, sell,
exchange, rent, or lease any real property. ] [ C.  Licensed
brokers are responsible for all activities of all licensees in the
real estate firm.  In order to ensure the public is aware of that
responsibility, this subsection is promulgated. ] All advertising
and marketing must be under the direct supervision of the
principal broker or supervising broker and in the name of the
firm. [ Every licensee is prohibited from advertising and
marketing under the licensee’s own name, except for sole
proprietors trading under the principal broker’s own name, or
in any manner offering on behalf of others to buy, sell,
exchange, rent, or lease any real property. ] The firm's
licensed name must be clearly and legibly displayed on all
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display signs and other types of advertising and marketing.
[ Effective January 1, 1999, the individual licensee’s name
may not be larger than the firm’s name. ]

C. D.  If a licensee advertises property which he owns or in
which he has any ownership interest without using the
services of a licensed real estate entity, the licensee shall
advertise with the notice that the owner is a real estate
licensee, but such advertisement must not indicate or imply
that the licensee is operating a real estate brokerage
business.

D. E.  Service marks and institutional advertising.

1.  All institutional advertising shall state that the service
being advertised is real estate brokerage, and shall state
affirmatively that each licensed firm or sole
proprietorship displaying or using the service mark is an
independently owned and operated business.

2.  Any service mark constituting a part of written
noninstitutional advertising shall conspicuously disclose
that the licensed brokerage firm or sole proprietorship is
independently owned and operated.  Disclosure that the
licensed brokerage firm or sole proprietorship is
independently owned and operated shall not be required
in the following categories of written noninstitutional
advertising:  of specific property for sale or lease;

a.  "For sale" and "for lease" signs located on the
premises of specific property for sale or lease;

b.  Advertising by a licensed firm or sole
proprietorship in newspapers, magazines, or other
publications of a single specific property for sale or
lease when the advertisement occupies no more than
28 of the standard classified advertising lines of the
newspaper, magazine, or other publications in which
the advertisement is published;

c.  Telephone directory advertisements disclosing that
the licensed brokerage firm or sole proprietorship is
independently owned and operated is required in
"display" advertisements and in "in column
informational" or "business card" size advertisements,
or their equivalent, appearing in telephone directories.

3.  In oral, noninstitutional advertising, the speaker shall
disclose affirmatively the licensee's name, and except in
the case of telephone communication, shall disclose that
the licensed firm or sole proprietorship is independently
owned and operated.

18 VAC 135-20-200.  Grounds for disciplinary action.

The board has the power to fine any licensee or registrant,
and to suspend or revoke any license issued under the
provisions of Title 54.1, Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and the regulations of the
board, where the licensee has been found to have violated or
cooperated with others in violating any provision of Title
54.1, Chapter 21 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia,
Chapter 1.3 (§ 6.1-2.19 et seq.) of Title 6.1 of the Code of
Virginia or any regulation of the board.

18 VAC 135-20-210.  Disclosure of interest.

A.  If a licensee knows or should have known that he, any
member of his family, his firm, any member of his firm, or
any entity in which he has an ownership interest, is acquiring
or attempting to acquire real property through purchase or
lease and the licensee is a party to the transaction, the
licensee must disclose that information to the owner in
writing in the offer to purchase or lease.

B.  A licensee selling or leasing property in which he has
any ownership interest must disclose that he is a real estate
licensee and he has an interest in the property to any
purchaser or lessee in the written offer to purchase, the
application, the offer to lease, or the lease, whichever occurs
first.

18 VAC 135-20-220.  Disclosure of agency brokerage
relationships.

A.  Before the licensee has substantive discussions about
specific property(ies) with a principal or prospective principal
to a sale or option transaction, the licensee shall disclose to
the principal or prospective principal the person(s) whom the
licensee represents in a principal-agency relationship.  This
disclosure shall be made in writing at the earliest practical
time, but in any case not later than the time when specific
real estate assistance is first provided.  This written
disclosure shall be acknowledged by the principals.
Purchase transactions.

1.  Unless disclosure has been previously made by a
licensee, a licensee shall disclose to an actual or
prospective buyer or seller who is not the client of the
licensee and who is not represented by another licensee
and with whom the licensee has substantive discussions
about a specific property or properties, the person whom
the licensee represents in a brokerage relationship, as
that term is defined in § 54.1-2130 of the Code of
Virginia.

2.  Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 3 of this
subsection, such disclosure shall be made in writing at
the earliest practical time, but in no event later than the
time specific real estate assistance is first provided.  Any
disclosure complying with the provisions of § 54.1-2138
A of the Code of Virginia shall be deemed in compliance
with this disclosure requirement.

3.  A licensee acting as a dual or designated
representative shall obtain the written consent of all
clients to the transaction at the earliest practical time.
Such consent shall be presumed to have been given by
a client who signs a disclosure complying with the
provisions of § 54.1-2139 of the Code of Virginia.  Such
disclosure shall be given to, and consent obtained from,
(i) the buyer or tenant not later than the time an offer to
purchase or to lease is presented to the licensee and (ii)
the seller or landlord not later than the time the offer to
purchase or to lease is presented to the seller or
landlord.
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4.  Any disclosure required by this subsection may be
given in combination with other disclosures or
information, but, if so, the disclosure must be
conspicuous, printed in bold lettering, all capitals,
underlined, or within a separate box.

5.  Any such disclosure shall advise a prospective buyer,
seller, landlord, or tenant, who is not the client of the
licensee of the duties of real estate brokers and
salespersons under Virginia law and that there may be
other relevant information concerning the transaction
which may be obtained from other sources.

B.  All licensees shall promptly disclose their agency
relationships to all actual and prospective lessors and
lessees.  A disclosure statement shall be included in writing
in all applications for lease or in the lease itself, whichever
occurs first.  Lease transactions.

1.  Unless disclosure has been previously made by a
licensee, a licensee shall disclose to an actual or
prospective landlord or tenant who is not the client of the
licensee and who is not represented by another licensee,
that the licensee has a brokerage relationship with
another party or parties to the transaction.  Such
disclosure shall be in writing and included in the
application for lease or the lease itself, whichever occurs
first.  If the terms of the lease do not provide for such
disclosure, the disclosure shall be made in writing not
later than the signing of the lease.

The 2.  This disclosure requirement shall not apply to
lessors and or lessees in single or multi-family
residential units on leases for lease terms of less than
two three months.

18 VAC 135-20-240.  Provision of records to the board.

A licensee of the Real Estate Board shall upon request
demand produce to the board or any of its agents any
document, book, or record concerning any real estate
transaction in which the licensee was involved, or for which
the licensee is required to maintain records for inspection
and copying by the board or its agents.

18 VAC 135-20-250.  Response to any inquiry of the
board.

A licensee must respond to an inquiry by the board or its
agents within 15 21 days.

18 VAC 135-20-260.  Unworthiness and incompetence.

Actions constituting unworthy and incompetent conduct
include:

1.  Obtaining a license by false or fraudulent
representation;

2.  Holding more than one license as a real estate broker
or salesperson in Virginia except as provided in this
chapter;

3.  As a currently licensed real estate salesperson,
sitting for the licensing examination for a salesperson's
license;

4.  As a currently licensed real estate broker, sitting for a
real estate licensing examination;

5.  Having been convicted or found guilty regardless of
adjudication in any jurisdiction of the United States of a
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, sexual offense,
drug distribution or physical injury, or any felony, or any
fair housing violation, there being no appeal pending
therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed.  Any
plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction
for the purposes of this paragraph subdivision.  The
record of a conviction certified or authenticated in such
form as to be admissible in evidence of the laws of the
jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as
prima facie evidence of such guilt;

6.  Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days
of pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted
or found guilty regardless of adjudication of any felony
or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, sexual
offense, drug distribution or physical injury;

7.  Having been found in a court or an administrative
body of competent jurisdiction to have violated the
Virginia Fair Housing Act, the Fair Housing Laws of any
jurisdiction of the United States including without
limitation Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (82
Stat. 73), or the Civil Rights Act of 1866 (14 Stat. 27),
there being no appeal therefrom or the time for appeal
having elapsed; and

8.  Failing to act as a real estate broker or salesperson
in such a manner as to safeguard the interests of the
public, or otherwise; and

9.  Engaging in improper, fraudulent, or dishonest
conduct.

18 VAC 135-20-270.  Conflict of interest.

Actions constituting a conflict of interest include:

1.  Being employed by, affiliated with or receiving
compensation from a real estate broker other than the
licensee's principal broker, without the written consent of
the principal broker;

2.  Acting for more than one party client in a transaction
without first obtaining the written consent of all principals
for whom the licensee acts clients as provided by § 54.1-
2139 of the Code of Virginia;

3.  Acting as an agent for any principal in a real estate
transaction a standard agent or independent contractor
for any client outside the licensee's brokerage firm(s) or
sole proprietorship(s).

18 VAC 135-20-280.  Improper brokerage commission.

Actions resulting in an improper brokerage commission
include:
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1.  Offering to pay or paying a commission or other
valuable consideration to any person for acts or services
performed in violation of Title 54.1, Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-
2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or this
chapter; provided, however, that referral fees and shared
commissions may be paid to any real estate entity
licensed in this or another jurisdiction, or to any referral
entity in the United States, the members of which are
brokers licensed in this or another jurisdiction and which
only disburses commissions or referral fees to its
licensed member brokers;

2.  Accepting a commission or other valuable
consideration, as a real estate salesperson or associate
broker, for the performance of any of the acts specified
in Title 54.1, Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title
54.1 of the Code of Virginia or the regulations of the
board, from any person except the licensee's principal
broker at the time of the transaction;

3.  Receiving a fee or portion thereof including a referral
fee or a commission or other valuable consideration for
services required by the terms of the real estate contract
when such costs are to be paid by either one or both
principals to the transaction unless such fact is revealed
in writing to the principal(s) prior to the time of ordering
or contracting for the services;

4.  Offering or paying any money or other valuable
consideration for services required by the terms of the
real estate contract to any party other than the principals
to a transaction which results in a fee being paid to the
licensee; without such fact being revealed in writing to
the principal(s) prior to the time of ordering or
contracting for the services;

5.  Making a listing contract or lease which provides for
a "net" return to the seller/lessor, leaving the licensee
free to sell or lease the property at any price he can
obtain in excess of the "net" price named by the
seller/lessor; and

6.  Charging money or other valuable consideration to or
accepting or receiving money or other valuable
consideration from any person or entity other than the
licensee's principal client for expenditures made on
behalf of that principal client without the written consent
of the principal client.

18 VAC 135-20-290.  Improper dealing.

Actions constituting improper dealing include:

1.  Making an exclusive agency contract or an exclusive
right-to-sell contract which does not have Entering a
brokerage relationship that does not specify a definite
termination date;

2.  Offering real property for sale or for lease without the
knowledge and consent of the owner or the owner's
authorized agent representative, or on any terms other
than those authorized by the owner or the owner's
authorized agent representative;

3.  Placing a sign on any property without the consent of
the owner of the property or the owner's authorized
agent representative; and

4.  Causing any advertisement for sale, rent, or lease to
appear in any newspaper, periodical, or sign without
including in the advertisement the name of the firm or
sole proprietorship; and.

5.  Acting in the capacity of settlement agent in a real
estate closing by a salesperson, except:

a.  When the salesperson is under the direct
supervision of the principal/supervising broker;

b.  When the salesperson is under the direct
supervision of a licensed officer of the corporation or a
licensed partner of the partnership under which the
salesperson is licensed;

c.  When the settlement agent is a member of the
Virginia State Bar or a law firm, the members of which
are members of the Virginia State Bar; or

d.  When the settlement agent is a title insurance
company or an agency thereof or a firm regularly
engaged in the business of closing real estate
transactions.

18 VAC 135-20-300.  Misrepresentation/omission.

Actions constituting misrepresentation or omission, or
both, include:

1.  Using "bait and switch" tactics by advertising or
offering real property for sale or rent with the intent not
to sell or rent at the price or terms advertised, unless the
advertisement or offer clearly states that the property
advertised is limited in specific quantity and the licensee
or registrant did in fact have at least that quantity for
sale or rent;

2.  Failing to disclose any material information in a
timely manner to a prospective purchaser/lessee, or
seller/lessor, related to the property, the physical
condition of the property, or the transaction reasonably
available to the licensee.

2.  Failure by a licensee representing a seller or landlord
as a standard agent to disclose in a timely manner to a
prospective purchaser or tenant all material adverse
facts pertaining to the physical condition of the property
which are actually known by the licensee;

3.  Failing as a licensee to tender promptly to the buyer
and seller every written offer, every written counteroffer,
and every written rejection to purchase, option or lease
obtained on the property involved;

4.  Failure by a licensee acting as a standard agent to
disclose in a timely manner to the licensee's client all
material facts related to the property or concerning the
transaction which are reasonably available to the
licensee when the failure to so disclose would constitute
failure by the licensee to exercise ordinary care as
defined in the brokerage agreement;
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5.  Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 4 of this
section, a licensee acting as a dual representative shall
not disclose to one client represented in the dual
representation confidential information relating to the
transaction obtained during the representation of another
client in the same dual representation unless otherwise
provided by law;

4. 6.  Failing to include the complete terms and
conditions of the real estate transaction in any lease or
offer to purchase;

5. 7.  Failing to include in any application, lease, or offer
to purchase identification of all those holding any
deposits;

6. 8.  Knowingly making any false statement or report,
or willfully misstating the value of any land, property, or
security for the purpose of influencing in any way the
action of any lender upon:

a.  Applications, advance discounts, purchase
agreements, repurchase agreements, commitments or
loans;

b.  Changes in terms or extensions of time for any of
the items listed in this subdivision 6 8 whether by
renewal, deferment of action, or other means without
the prior written consent of the principals to the
transaction;

c.  Acceptance, release, or substitution of security for
any of the items listed in subdivision 6 8 a of this
section without the prior written consent of the
principals to the transaction.

7. 9.  Making any misrepresentation; and

8. 10.  Making a false promise through agents,
salespersons, advertising, or other means.

18 VAC 135-20-310.  Delivery of instruments.

Actions constituting improper delivery of instruments
include:

1.  Failing to make prompt delivery to each principal to a
transaction, complete and legible copies of any written
disclosures required by §§ 54.1-2138 and 54.1-2139 of
the Code of Virginia, listings, lease, offers to purchase,
counteroffers, addenda and ratified agreements, and
other documentation required by the agreement;

2.  Failing to provide in a timely manner to all principals
to the transaction written notice of any material changes
to the transaction;

3.  Failing to deliver to the seller and buyer, at the time a
real estate transaction is completed, a complete and
accurate statement of receipts and disbursements of
moneys received by the licensee, duly signed and
certified by the principal or supervising broker or his
authorized agent; provided, however, if the transaction is
closed by a settlement agent other than the licensee or
his broker, and if the disbursement of moneys received
by the licensee is disclosed on the applicable settlement

statement, the licensee shall not be required to provide
the separate statement of receipts and disbursements;
and

4.  Refusing or failing without just cause to surrender to
the rightful owner, upon demand, any document or
instrument which the licensee possesses.

18 VAC 135-20-320.  Recordkeeping and escrow funds.

Actions constituting improper recordkeeping and
maintenance of escrow funds include:

1. Failing, as a principal or supervising broker, to retain
for a period of three years from the date of the closing or
ratification, if the transaction fails to close, a complete
and legible copy of each disclosure of a brokerage
relationship and each executed contract, agreement,
and closing statement related to a real estate
transaction, and all other documents material to that
transaction in the broker’s control or possession;

2. Having received moneys on behalf of others and
failed to maintain a complete and accurate record of
such receipts and their disbursements for a period of
three years from the date of the closing or termination of
a lease or conclusion of the licensee's involvement in the
lease;

3. Failing, within a reasonable time, to account for or to
remit any moneys coming into a licensee's possession
which belong to others;

4. Accepting any note, nonnegotiable instrument, or
anything of value not readily negotiable, as a deposit on
a contract, offer to purchase, or lease, without
acknowledging its acceptance in the agreement;

5. Commingling the funds of any person by a principal
or supervising broker or his employees or associates or
any licensee with his own funds, or those of his
corporation, firm, or association; and

6. Failure to deposit escrow funds in an account or
accounts designated to receive only such funds as
required by this chapter (see 18 VAC 135-20-180 A 1).

18 VAC 135-20-350.  Definitions.

As used in this chapter, unless a different meaning is
plainly required by the context: The following words and
terms [ , ] when used in this part, unless a different meaning
is provided or is plainly required by the context, shall have the
following meanings:

"Accredited colleges, universities and university, college,
community colleges, college, or other school or educational
institution," as used in § 54.1-2105 2 B 1 a of the Code of
Virginia, means those accredited institutions of higher
learning approved by the Virginia Council of Higher
Education or listed in the Transfer Credit Practices of
Designated Educational Institutions, published by the
American Association of Collegiate Registrars and
Admissions Officers.

"Classroom Class hour/clock hour" means 50 minutes.
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"Equivalent course" means any course encompassing the
basic educational curriculum of Virginia courses and
approved by the board.

"Proprietary school" means (i) a privately owned school, (ii)
a real estate professional association, or (iii) a related entity,
which is not under the authority of the Department of
Education, but approved by the Real Estate Board to teach
real estate courses.

"Provider" means an accredited university, college,
community college, or high school offering adult distributive
education courses, or a proprietary school.

18 VAC 135-20-360.  Proprietary school standards:
educational environment;, instructor qualifications;
courses and course requirements.

A.  Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for a
proprietary school certificate shall meet the standards
provided in this section § 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia.

B.  All schools must be in a building conducive to
academic purposes.  Facilities must meet necessary building
code standards, fire safety standards, and sanitation
standards.

C. B.  Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for
approval as an instructor shall have one of the following
qualifications:

1.  Baccalaureate degree in real estate, or in business
with a concentration in real estate or a closely related
field;

2. 1.  Baccalaureate degree, a Virginia real estate
broker’s license, and two years of discipline-free active
real estate experience within the past five years;

3. 2.  Seven Five years of discipline-free active
experience acquired in the real estate field in the past 10
seven years and an active Virginia broker's license; or

4. 3.  Qualified experts in a specific field of real estate
who will teach only in the area of their expertise.  For
example, a licensed real estate appraiser, with at least
five years of active appraisal experience in Virginia, may
be approved to teach Real Estate Appraisals.  Such
applicants will be required to furnish proof of their
expertise including, but not limited to, educational
transcripts, professional certificates and letters of
reference which will verify the applicant's expertise.

D.  All real estate C.  Prelicense courses must be
acceptable to the board and are required to have a
monitored, final written examination.

1.  Prelicensing courses may be completed by
correspondence if such courses are not available in a
reasonable proximity to the applicant's residence or
business location in the Commonwealth.  Students
seeking board approval to take prelicensing
correspondence courses must make a written request to
the board in whcih they specify that the classroom
course(s) are not available in a reasonable geographical

proximity to the applicant's residence or business
location.

2.  Those schools which propose to offer prelicensing
correspondence courses (Principles and Practices of Real
Estate, Real Estate Brokerage, Real Estate Finance, Real
Estate Law or Real Estate Appraisal, etc.) must submit a
request, in writing, to the board prior to offering the course(s)
and supply the following information:

a. 1.  Course content.  All Principles and Practices of
Real Estate courses must include the 25 topic areas
specified in 18 VAC 135-20-400.  All requests to offer
broker courses must include a comparable course
syllabus from an accredited university, college or
community college to establish equivalency. acceptable
to the board;

b. 2.  Name of the course's text and any research
materials used for study assignments.;

c. 3.  Description of any research assignments.;

d. 4.  Copies of test or quizzes.;

e. 5.  Information explaining how the "Principles" course
will require 60 hours of study, or how each broker
related course will require 45 hours of study, in
compliance with § 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia.;
and

f. 6.  Information about recordkeeping for this the type of
course delivery.

3.  Correspondence courses must have a final,
monitored written examination which is administered at
the school's main, or branch, site.

D.  Providers of continuing education courses shall submit
all subjects to the board for approval prior to initially offering
the course.  Correspondence and other distance learning
courses offered by an approved provider must include
appropriate testing procedures to verify completion of the
course.  The board shall approve courses and the number of
hours approved for each course based on the relevance of
the subject to the performance of the duties set forth in
§§ 54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the Code of Virginia.

E.  All schools must establish and maintain a record for
each student.  The record shall include:  the student's name
and address, the course name and clock hours attended, the
course syllabus or outline, the name or names of the
instructor, and the date of successful completion, and the
board’s course code.  Records shall be available for
inspection during normal business hours by authorized
representatives of the board.  Schools must maintain all
student and class records for a minimum of five years.

F.  All schools must provide each student with a certificate
of course completion or other document that the student may
use as proof of course completion.  The certificate or other
document shall contain the hours of credit completed.
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18 VAC 135-20-370.  Fees.

A.  The application fee for original certificate for a
proprietary school shall be $90.

B.  The renewal fee for proprietary school certificates
expiring annually biennially on June 30 shall be $45.

C.  If the requirements for renewal of a proprietary school
certificate, including receipt of the fee of by the board, are not
completed within 30 days of the expiration date noted on the
certificate, a reinstatement fee of $250 is required.  A
certificate may be reinstated for up to one year following the
expiration date with payment of the reinstatement fee.  After
one year, the certificate may not be reinstated under any
circumstances and the applicant must meet all requirements
and apply as a new applicant.

D.  The application for original instructor certificate shall be
$115 $100.

E.  The renewal fee for an instructor certificate expiring
biennially on June 30 shall be $115 $50.

F.  If the requirements for renewal of an instructor
certificate, including receipt of the fee by the board, are not
completed within 30 days of the expiration date on the
certificate, a reinstatement fee of $250 is required.  A
certificate may be reinstated for up to one year following the
expiration date with payment of the reinstatement fee.  After
one year, the certificate may not be reinstated under any
circumstances and the applicant must meet all requirements
and apply as a new applicant.

C. G.  The board in its discretion may deny renewal of a
certificate.  Upon such denial, the certificate holder may
request that a hearing be held.

18 VAC 135-20-380.  Posting school certificate of
approval and registration instructor certificates.

Copies of school certificates of approval and registration,
and instructor certificates, if applicable, must be displayed in
each approved school facility in a conspicuous place readily
accessible to the public available at the location a course is
taught.

18 VAC 135-20-390.  Withdrawal of approval.

The board may withdraw approval of any school or
instructor for the following reasons:

1.  The school, instructors, or courses, or subjects no
longer meet the standards established by the board.

2.  The school or instructor solicits information from any
person for the purpose of discovering past examination
questions or questions which may be used in future
examinations.

3.  The school or instructor distributes to any person
copies of examination questions, or otherwise
communicates to any person examination questions,
without receiving the prior written approval of the
copyright owner to distribute or communicate those
questions.

4.  The school, through an agent or otherwise,
advertises its services in a fraudulent, deceptive or
misrepresentative manner.

5.  Officials, instructors or designees of the school sit for
a real estate licensing examination for any purpose other
than to obtain a license as a broker or salesperson.

18 VAC 135-20-400.  Course content of real estate
principles and practices.

The following shall be included in the four-semester-hour
or six-quarter-hour course which shall not have less than 60
classroom class hours:

1. Economy and social impact of real estate

2. Real estate market and analysis

3. Property rights

4. Contracts

5. Deeds

6. Mortgages and deeds of trust

7. Types of mortgages

8. Leases

9. Liens

10. Home ownership

11. Real property and title insurance

12. Investment

13. Taxes in real estate

14. Real estate financing

15. Brokerage and agency contract responsibilities

16. Real estate marketing

17. Real property management

18. Search, examination, and registration of title

19. Title closing

20. Appraisal of residential and income producing
property

21. Planning subdivision developments and
condominiums

22. Regulatory statutes

23. Housing legislation

24. Fair housing statutes

25. Real Estate Board regulations

18 VAC 135-20-410.  Related subjects Broker courses.

A.  Brokerage shall be a required specific course with three
semester hours or six quarter hours, but not less than 45
class hours, constituting a complete course.
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B.  "Related subjects," as referred to in § 54.1-2105 of the
Code of Virginia, shall be real estate related and shall
include, but are not limited to, courses in property
management, land planning and land use, business law, real
estate economics, and real estate investments.

C.  No more than three semester hours or four quarter 45
class hours of broker-related courses shall be accepted in
lieu of specific broker courses.

D.  Schools intending to offer equivalent broker courses
must submit to the board for approval a copy of the syllabus
of the particular course with a cover letter requesting
approval.

18 VAC 135-20-420.  Required specific course.
(Repealed.)

Brokerage shall be a required specific course with three
semester hours or six quarter hours constituting a complete
course.

18 VAC 135-20-430.  Credit for broker-related courses.
(Repealed.)

No more than three semester hours or four quarter hours
of broker-related courses shall be accepted in lieu of specific
broker courses.

18 VAC 135-20-440.  Broker-related course approval
procedure. (Repealed.)

Schools intending to offer equivalent broker courses must
submit to the board for approval a copy of the syllabus of the
particular course with a cover letter requesting approval.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 135-20-
10 et seq., Virginia Real Estate Board Licensing Regulations,
are not being published due to the large number; however,
the name of each form is listed below.  The forms are
available for public inspection at the Real Estate Board,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia, telephone
(804) 367-8552 or at the office of the Registrar of
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor,
Richmond, Virginia.

FORMS

Real Estate Application, VREB/Fm 2 (12/93).

Real Estate Salesperson Application.

Real Estate Concurrent Broker Application.

Real Estate Business License Application.

Real Estate Branch Office Application.

Real Estate Transfer Application, VREB Fm 1 (Apr 95).

Real Estate Activate Application, VREB Fm 2 (Apr 95).

Concurrent Broker Acknowledgment Form (6/97).

Experience Verification Form (5/97).

Activate/Transfer/Concurrent Application (6/97).

Salesperson License by Reciprocity Application (3/97).

Broker License by Reciprocity Application (3/97).

Branch Office License Application (2/97).

Supervising Broker Appointment/Change Form (3/97).

Firm Principal Broker/Officer Change Form (3/97).

Firm Name/Address Change Form (3/97).

Firm License Application (3/97).

VA.R. Doc. No. R96-373; Filed November 3, 1998, 12:04 p.m.

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 140-20-10 et seq.  Regulations
Governing the Practice of Social Work (amending 18
VAC 140-20-10, 18 VAC 140-20-30, 18 VAC 140-20-40,
18 VAC 140-20-50, 18 VAC 140-20-60, 18 VAC 140-20-70,
18 VAC 140-20-110, and 18 VAC 140-20-150; adding 18
VAC 140-20-35, 18 VAC 140-20-37 and 18 VAC 140-20-45;
repealing 18 VAC 140-20-80 and 18 VAC 140-20-90).

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 37 (§ 54.1-
3700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  December 23, 1998.

Summary:

The amendments clarify the regulations by reformatting
them, eliminating obsolete and unnecessary language,
and including new language where needed to clarify
requirements.

The amendments also include an endorsement provision
to expedite licensure of applicants with lengthy
experience licensed in other jurisdictions.

To comply with a statutory mandate enacted by the 1994
Session of the General Assembly for the board to
promulgate regulations for the voluntary certification of
its licensees as sex offender treatment providers, the
amendments direct licensees to the Board of Psychology
which has promulgated regulations for this certification.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response:  A
summary of comments made by the public and the agency’s
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Janet Delorme, Department of Health Professions,
6606 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230,
telephone (804) 662-9575.

18 VAC 140-20-10.  Definitions.

A.  The following words and terms when used in this
chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-
3700 of the Code of Virginia:

Board

Casework
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Casework management and supportive services

Clinical social worker

Practice of social work

Social worker

In addition to those defined in § 54.1-3700 of the Code of
Virginia, B.  The following words and terms, when used in
this chapter, shall have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Accredited school of social work" means a school of
social work accredited by the Council on Social Work
Education.

"Applicant" means a person who has submitted a
completed application for licensure as a social worker with
the appropriate fees.

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Social Work.

"Candidate for licensure" means a person who has
satisfactorily completed all educational and experience
requirements for licensure and has been deemed eligible by
the board to sit for the required examinations.

"Clinical course of study" means graduate course work
which includes specialized advanced courses in human
behavior and social environment, social policy, research,
clinical practice with individuals, families, groups and a
clinical practicum which focuses on diagnostic, prevention
and treatment services.

“Clinical social work services” include the application of
social work principles and methods in performing
assessments and diagnoses based on a recognized manual
of mental and emotional disorders or recognized system of
problem definition, preventive and early intervention services
and treatment services, including but not limited to
psychotherapy and counseling for mental disorders,
substance abuse, marriage and family dysfunction, and
problems caused by social and psychological stress or health
impairment.

"Exempt practice" is that which meets the conditions of
exemption from the requirements of licensure as defined in
§ 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia.

"Nonexempt practice" is that which does not meet the
conditions of exemption from the requirements of licensure
as defined in § 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia.

"Supervision" means the relationship between a supervisor
and supervisee which is designed to promote the
development of responsibility and skill in the provision of
social work services.  Supervision is the inspection, critical
evaluation, and direction over the services of the supervisee.
Supervision shall include, without being limited to, the review
of case presentations, audio tapes, video tapes, and direct
observation.

18 VAC 140-20-30.  Fees.

A.  The board has established fees for the following:

After
12/31/96

After
6/30/97

1.  Registration of supervision $ 25 $25

2.  Application processing $100 $100

3.  Biennial license renewal

a.  Registered social worker $ 25 $35

b.  Associate social worker $ 25 $35

c.  Licensed social worker $ 75 $110

d.  Licensed clinical social
worker

$100 $125

4.  Penalty for late renewal $ 10 $10

5.  Verification of license to
another jurisdiction

$ 10 $10

6.  Additional or replacement
licenses

$ 10 $10

7.  Additional or replacement
wall certificates

$ 15 $15

8.  Returned check $ 15 $15

9.  Reinstatement following
disciplinary action

$200 $200

B.  Fees shall be paid by check or money order made
payable to the Treasurer of Virginia and forwarded to the
board.  All fees are nonrefundable.

C.  Examination fees shall be paid directly to the
examination service according to its requirements.

18 VAC 140-20-35.  Sex offender treatment provider
certification.

Anyone licensed by the board who is seeking certification
as a sex offender treatment provider shall obtain certification
under the Board of Psychology and adhere to the board’s
Regulations Governing the Certification of Sex Offender
Treatment Providers, 18 VAC 125-30-10 et seq.

18 VAC 140-20-37.  Licensure; general.

Licensed social workers may practice in exempt practice
settings under appropriate supervision.  Only licensed clinical
social workers may practice at the autonomous level.

PART II.
REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE.

18 VAC 140-20-40.  General Requirements for licensure
by examination.

A.  No person shall practice as a social worker or clinical
social worker in the Commonwealth of Virginia except as
provided for in the Code of Virginia and this chapter.

B.  The individual obtaining the two years of required
experience shall not call himself a licensed clinical social
worker, solicit clients, bill for his services, or in any way
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represent himself as a licensed clinical social worker until
such time that a license has been issued.

C.  Licensure by this board to practice as a social worker
or clinical social worker shall be determined by examination.

D.  Every applicant for examination for licensure by the
board shall:

1.  Meet the education and experience requirements
prescribed in 18 VAC 140-20-50 or 18 VAC 140-20-60
[ of this chapter ] for the category of practice in which
licensure is sought.

2.  Submit in one package to the board office, not less
than 90 days prior to the date of the written examination:

a.  A completed notarized application;

b.  Documentation, on the appropriate forms, of the
successful completion of the supervised experience
requirements of 18 VAC 140-20-50 or 18 VAC
140-20-60 along with documentation of the
supervisor's out-of-state license where applicable.
Applicants whose former supervisor is deceased, or
whose whereabouts is unknown, shall submit to the
board a notarized affidavit from the present chief
executive officer of the agency, corporation or
partnership in which the applicant was supervised.
The affidavit shall specify dates of employment, job
responsibilities, supervisor’s name and last known
address, and the total number of hours spent by the
applicant with the supervisor in face-to-face
supervision; and

c.  The application fee prescribed in 18 VAC
140-20-30;

d.  Official transcript or transcripts in the original
sealed envelope submitted from the appropriate
institutions of higher education directly to the
applicant; and

e.  Documentation of applicant's out-of-state licensure
where applicable.

18 VAC 140-20-45.  Requirements for licensure by
endorsement.

Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall submit
in one package:

1.  A completed application and the application fee
prescribed in 18 VAC 140-20-30.

2.  Documentation of social work licensure in good
standing obtained by standards substantially equivalent
to those outlined in 18 VAC 140-20-50 and 18 VAC 140-
20-60 as verified by the out-of-state licensing agency on
a board-approved form.

3.  Verification of a passing score as established by the
board on a board-approved national exam.

4.  Official transcript or transcripts in the school’s original
sealed envelope.

5.  Verification of active practice in another jurisdiction for
36 out of the past 60 months.

6.  Certification that the applicant is not the respondent in
any pending or unresolved board action in another
jurisdiction or in a malpractice claim.

18 VAC 140-20-50.  Education and experience
requirements for licensed clinical social worker.

A.  Education.  The applicant shall hold a minimum of a
master's degree from an accredited school of social work.
Graduates of foreign institutions must shall establish the
equivalency of their education to this requirement through
the Foreign Equivalency Determination Service of the
Council of Social Work Education.

1.  The degree program shall have included a graduate
clinical course of study; or

2.  The applicant shall provide documentation of having
completed specialized experience, course work or
training acceptable to the board as equivalent to a
clinical course of study.

B.  Supervised experience.  Supervised experience
obtained prior to [ December 23, 1998, ] may be accepted
towards licensure if this supervision met the requirements of
the board which were in effect at the time the supervision
was rendered.  Supervised experience obtained in
nonexempt settings in Virginia without prior written board
approval will not be accepted toward licensure.

1.  Registration.  An individual who proposes to obtain
supervised post-master’s degree experience in Virginia
shall, prior to the onset of such supervision:

a.  Register on a form provided by the board and
completed by the supervisor and the supervised
individual; and

b.  Pay the registration of supervision fee set forth in
18 VAC 140-20-30.

2.  Hours.  The applicant shall have had two years of
full-time completed a minimum of 3,000 hours of
supervised post-master's degree experience in the
delivery of clinical social work services or the equivalent
in part-time experience.  The post-master's degree
experience, whether full-time or part-time, shall be under
supervision satisfactory to the board as prescribed in
this chapter. A minimum of one hour of individual face-to-
face supervision shall be provided each week for a total
of at least 100 hours.

1.  Full-time experience in the delivery of clinical
services is defined as a minimum of 3,000 hours of
work a.  Experience shall be acquired in no less than
two nor more than four years.

a.  Of these 3,000 hours, trainees b.  Supervisees
shall average no less than 15 hours per week in
face-to-face client contact [ , ] for a minimum of 1,380
hours in the two-year period. b. The remaining hours
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may be spent in ancillary duties and activities
supporting the delivery of clinical services.

2.  Part-time equivalent experience in the delivery of
clinical services for a total of 3,000 hours of work
experience.

a.  Of the 3,000 hours, 1,380 hours shall be spent in
face-to-face client contact.

b.  The remaining hours may be spent in ancillary
duties and activities supporting the delivery of clinical
services.

3.  Supervision and experience obtained prior to the
effective date of these regulations may be accepted
towards licensure if this supervision met the
requirements of the board which were in effect at the
time the supervision was rendered.

4. 3.  An individual who does not become a candidate
for licensure after four years of supervised training in a
nonexempt practice experience shall submit evidence to
the board showing why the training should be allowed to
continue.

C.  Supervision requirements for applicants in nonexempt
practices Requirements for supervisors.

1.  An individual who proposes to obtain supervised
post-graduate experience in a nonexempt practice in
Virginia shall, prior to the onset of such supervision:

a.  Be registered on a form provided by the board and
completed by the supervisor and the supervised
individual; and

b.  Pay the registration-of-supervision fee prescribed
by the board.

2. 1.  The supervisor providing supervision under
subdivision 1 of this subsection shall: a.  be a licensed
clinical social worker in the jurisdiction in which the
clinical services are being rendered with at least five
years post-Master of Social Work clinical experience, or
an individual who the board finds is qualified to
supervise after a finding that the requirement for a
supervisor who is a licensed clinical social worker with
at least five years post-MSW clinical experience
constitutes an undue burden on the applicant.  Undue
burden shall include issues such as geography or
disability which limits supervisee's access to licensed
clinical social worker supervision; and.  The board may
consider supervisors with commensurate qualifications if
the applicant can demonstrate an undue burden due to
geography or disability.

2.  The supervisor shall:

b. a.  Be responsible for the casework activities of the
prospective applicant as set forth in subdivision 2 c
and 2 d of this subsection once the supervisory
arrangement is accepted [ .; ]

c. b.  Review and approve the diagnostic assessment
and treatment plan of a representative sample of the

clients assigned to the applicant during the course of
supervision.  The sample should be representative of
the variables of gender, age, diagnosis, length of
treatment and treatment method within the client
population seen by the applicant. It is the applicant's
responsibility to assure the representativeness of the
sample that is presented to the supervisor.  The
supervisor shall be available to the applicant on a
regularly scheduled basis for supervision.  The
supervisor will maintain documentation, for five years
post supervision, of which clients were the subject of
supervision;

d. c.  Provide supervision only for those casework
activities for which the supervisor has determined the
applicant is competent to provide to clients;

e. d.  Provide supervision only for those activities for
which the supervisor is qualified [ .; and ]

f.  The supervisor shall e.  Evaluate the supervisee's
knowledge and document minimal competencies in the
areas of an identified theory base, application of a
differential diagnosis, establishing and monitoring a
treatment plan, development and appropriate use of
the professional relationship, assessing the client for
risk of imminent danger, and implementing a
professional and ethical relationship with clients.

g.  Provide documentation, at the time of application
for licensure, on forms provided by the board, that the
supervisee is at least minimally competent in the
areas listed in subdivision 4 2 f of this subsection
before the supervisee will be eligible to take the
written examination.

3.  The experience shall include at least 100 hours of
face-to-face supervision during the period of
supervision.  A minimum of one hour of individual
face-to-face supervision per week shall be provided for
the period of supervision.

4. 3.  Supervision between members of the immediate
family (to include spouses, parents, and siblings) will not
be approved.

D.  Documentation of supervised experience.  At the time
of application for licensure, applicants shall provide to the
board documentation of the supervised experience from all
supervisors or, if a supervisor is unavailable, shall provide a
satisfactory explanation of such circumstances to the board.

1.  Applicants for licensure who have worked full time for
a minimum of two years in the delivery of clinical social
work services need document only their full-time
employment provided the experience requirement has
been met.

2.  Applicants for licensure who have worked part time in
the delivery of clinical services will need to document the
experience as prescribed in subdivision B 2 of this
section.

3.  Applicants whose former supervisor is deceased, or
whose whereabouts is unknown, shall submit to the
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board a notarized affidavit from the present chief
executive officer of the agency, corporation or
partnership in which the applicant was supervised.

4.  The affidavit shall specify dates of employment, job
responsibilities, supervisor's name and last known
address, and the total number of hours spent by the
applicant with the supervisor in face-to-face supervision.

E. D.  Supervision requirements for applicants in exempt
practices.  Individuals may obtain the required supervision
and experience without registration of supervision provided
such experience:

1.  Is obtained in an exempt practice [ .; and ]

2.  Meets all other requirements [ of the board ] for
supervised experience as set forth in this [ chapter
section ].

18 VAC 140-20-60.  Education and experience
requirements for licensed social worker.

A.  Education.  The applicant shall hold a bachelor's or a
master's degree from an accredited school of social work.
Graduates of foreign institutions must establish the
equivalency of their education to this requirement through
the Foreign Equivalency Determination Service of the
Council on Social Work Education.

B.  Supervised experience-master's degree applicants.
Master's degree applicants are not required to have
professional experience in the field.  Supervised experience
obtained prior to [ December 23, 1998, ] may be accepted
towards licensure if this supervision met the requirements of
the board which were in effect at the time the supervision
was rendered.  Supervised experience obtained in
nonexempt settings in Virginia without prior written board
approval will not be accepted toward licensure.

1.  Registration.  An individual who proposes to obtain
supervised post-master’s degree experience in Virginia
shall, prior to the onset of such supervision, register a
supervision contract with the board as set forth in 18
VAC 140-20-50 B.

2.  Hours.

C.  Experience- a.  Bachelor's degree applicants. shall
have had two years completed a minimum of 3,000
hours of full-time post-bachelor's degree experience or
the equivalent in part-time experience in casework
management and supportive services under
supervision satisfactory to the board.  A minimum of
one hour of face-to-face supervision shall be provided
each week for the period of supervision for a total of at
least 100 hours.

1.  Full-time experience in casework management and
supportive services is defined as a minimum of 3,000
hours of work b.  Experience shall be acquired in no
less than two nor more than four years.

2.  Part-time equivalent experience in casework
management and supportive services is defined as at

least 3,000 hours of work experience acquired in no less
than four years.

D.  Supervision requirement for bachelor's degree
applicant in nonexempt practices.

1.  An individual who proposes to obtain supervised
post-bachelor's degree experience in Virginia shall, prior
to the onset of such supervision:

a.  Be registered on a form provided by the board and
completed by the supervisor and supervised
individual; and

b.  Pay the registration-of-supervision fee as
prescribed by the board.

C.  Requirements for supervisors.

2. 1.  The supervisor providing supervision shall:  a. be a
licensed social worker with a master's degree [ , ] or a
licensed clinical social worker, or an individual who the
board finds is qualified to supervise after a finding that
the requirement for a supervisor who is a licensed social
worker with a master's degree or a licensed clinical
social worker constitutes an undue burden on the
applicant.  Undue burden shall include issues such as
geography or disability which limits supervisee's access
to supervision listed above; in the jurisdiction in which
the social work services are being rendered.  If this
requirement places an undue burden on the applicant
due to geography or disability, the board may consider
individuals with comparable qualifications.

2.  The supervisor shall:

b. a.  Be responsible for the social work practice of the
prospective applicant once the supervisory
arrangement is accepted by the board;

c. b.  Review and approve the diagnostic assessment
and treatment service plan of a representative sample
of cases assigned to the applicant during the course
of supervision.  The sample should be representative
of the variables of gender, age, diagnosis
assessment, length of treatment service and
treatment casework method within the client
population seen by the applicant. It is the applicant's
responsibility to assure the representativeness of the
sample that is presented to the supervisor.  The
supervisor shall be available to the applicant on a
regularly scheduled basis for supervision.  The
supervisor will maintain documentation, for five years
post supervision, of which clients were the subject of
supervision;

d. c.  Provide supervision only for those casework
management and support services activities for which
the supervisor has determined the applicant is
competent to provide [ to ] clients;

e. d.  Provide supervision only for those activities for
which the supervisor is qualified; and
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f. [ e. The supervisor shall e. ] Evaluate the supervisee
in the areas of professional ethics and professional
competency.

3.  Supervision and experience obtained prior to the
implementation of these regulations may be accepted
towards licensure if this supervision met the
requirements of the board which were in effect at the
time the supervision was rendered.

4.  The supervised experience shall include at least 100
hours of weekly face-to-face supervision during the
two-year period.

5. 3.  Supervision between members of the immediate
family (to include spouses, parents, and siblings) will not
be approved.

E.  Documentation of supervised experience.

1.  At the time of application, applicants shall provide to
the board documentation of the supervised experience
from all supervisors or, if a supervisor is unavailable,
shall provide a satisfactory explanation of such
circumstances to the board.

2.  Applicants whose former supervisor is deceased or
whose whereabouts is unknown, shall submit to the
board a notarized affidavit from the present chief
executive office of the agency, corporation, or
partnership in which the applicant was supervised.

3.  The affidavit shall specify dates of employment, job
responsibilities, the supervisor's name and last known
address, and the total number of hours spent by the
applicant with the supervisor in face-to-face supervision.

F. D.  Supervision requirements for applicants in exempt
practice.  Individuals may obtain the required supervised
experience without registration of supervision provided such
experience:

1.  Is obtained in an exempt practice [ .; and ]

2.  Meets all other requirements of the board for
supervised experience as set forth in this [ chapter
section ].

18 VAC 140-20-70.  [ General ] Examination requirements
requirement.

A.  The board may waive the written examination if the
applicant has been certified or licensed in another jurisdiction
by standards and procedures equivalent to those of the
board.

B. A.  An applicant for licensure by the board as a social
worker or clinical social worker shall pass a written
examination at times prescribed by the board.

B.  The board shall establish passing scores on the written
examination.

C.  A written examination shall be administered at least
twice each year.  The board may schedule such additional
examinations as it deems necessary.

1.  The executive director of the board shall notify all
candidates in writing of the time and place of the
examinations for which they have been approved to sit,
and of the fees for these examinations.

2.  The candidate shall submit the applicable fees
following the instructions under 18 VAC 140-20-30 B.

18 VAC 140-20-80.  Written examination. (Repealed.)

A.  The written examination comprises an examination
consisting of standardized multiple-choice questions.  These
questions may cover all or some of the following areas:
human growth and development; social work practice with
individuals, families, couples and groups; supervision; social
policy; administration; social work research; community
organization and planning; and ethical principles of social
work practice in addition to other areas deemed relevant to
the board.

B.  The board will establish passing scores on the written
examination.

PART IV.
ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTATION OF COMPETENCE.

18 VAC 140-20-90.  Candidates who took and failed an
oral examination. (Repealed.)

Candidates who have previously taken and failed an oral
examination administered by the Board of Social Work shall
reapply and submit the appropriate form from their
supervisor stating that the candidate meets the minimum
competency levels in the six skill areas as follows:

1.  Skill in the application of an identified theory base.

2.  Skill in the application of a differential diagnosis.

3.  Skill in establishing and monitoring a treatment
plan.

4.  Skill in the development and appropriate use of the
professional relationship.

5.  Skill in assessing the client for risk of imminent
danger and taking appropriate and necessary action
to protect the safety of the client, the public, and the
social worker when necessary.

6.  Skill in implementing a professional and ethical
relationship with clients.

PART V IV.
LICENSURE RENEWAL; REINSTATEMENT.

18 VAC 140-20-110.  Renewal of expired license.

A.  A social worker or clinical social worker whose license
has expired may renew that license within four years after its
expiration date by:

1.  Providing evidence of having met all applicable
requirements.

2.  Paying the penalty for late renewal and the biennial
license fee for each biennium as prescribed in 18 VAC
140-20-30.
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B.  A social worker or clinical social worker who fails to
renew the license for four years or more and who wishes to
resume practice shall reapply on forms provided by the
board, submit evidence satisfactory to the board that he is
prepared to resume practice in a competent manner, and
pay fees prescribed in 18 VAC 140-20-30 according to the
requirements of 18 VAC 140-20-40 or 18 VAC 140-20-45.

PART VI V.
COMMITTEES.

PART VII VI.
STANDARDS OF PRACTICE.

18 VAC 140-20-150.  Professional conduct.

Persons whose activities are regulated by the board
licensed as social workers and clinical social workers shall:

1.  Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the
public and does not endanger the public health, safety,
or welfare.

2.  Be able to justify all service rendered to clients as
necessary for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes.

3.  Practice only within the competency areas for which
they are qualified by education or experience, or both.

4.  Report to the board known or suspected violations of
the laws and regulations governing the practice of social
work.

5.  Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or
other forms of remuneration for referral of clients for
professional services.

6.  Ensure that clients are aware of fees and billing
arrangements before rendering services.

7.  Keep confidential their counseling therapeutic
relationships with clients and disclose client records to
others only with written consent of the client, with the
following exceptions:  (i) when the client is a danger to
self or others; or (ii) as required by law.

8.  When advertising their services to the public, ensure
that such advertising is neither fraudulent nor
misleading.

9.  Not engage in dual relationships with clients, former
clients, supervisees, and supervisors that might
compromise the client's, former client's, or supervisee's
well-being, impair the social worker's or supervisor's
objectivity and professional judgment or increase the
risk of exploitation.  This includes, but is not limited to,
such activities as counseling close friends, sexual
partners, employees or relatives, and engaging in
business relationships with clients.  Engaging in sexual
intimacies with current clients or supervisees is
prohibited.

10.  Maintain clinical records on each client.  The record
shall include identifying information to substantiate
diagnosis and treatment plan, client progress, and

termination.  The clinical record shall be preserved for at
least five years post termination.

11.  Ensure that clients have provided informed consent
to treatment.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 140-20-
10 et seq., Regulations Governing the Practice of Social
Work, are listed below.  Any amended or added forms are
reflected in the listing and are published following the listing.

FORMS

Registration Of Supervision Post-Graduate Degree
Supervised Experience.

Verification Of Clinical Supervision Form.

Clinical Social Worker License Application, rev. 9/96.

Licensure Verification Of Applicant.

Verification Of Casework Management And Supportive
Services.

Social Worker License Application, rev. 9/96.

Renewal Notice And Application, 9/96.

Social Worker Licensure Application (rev. [ 12/97 10/98 ] ).

Clinical Social Worker Licensure Application (rev. [ 12/97
10/98 ] ).

Registration of Supervision [ ; Post-Graduate Degree
Supervised Experience ] (rev. 12/97).

Verification of Clinical Supervision (rev. 12/97).

Verification of Casework Management and Supportive
Services (rev. 12/97).

[ Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor (rev.
10/98). ]

Out-of-State Licensure Verification [ (rev. 1995) ] .

Renewal Notice and Application (rev. 7/97).
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BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 150-20-10 et seq.  Regulations
Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine
(amending 18 VAC 150-20-10, 18 VAC 150-20-30, 18 VAC
150-20-70, 18 VAC 150-20-100, 18 VAC 150-20-110,
18 VAC 150-20-120, 18 VAC 150-20-130, 18 VAC 150-20-
140, 18 VAC 150-20-180, 18 VAC 150-20-190, 18 VAC 150-
20-200 and 18 VAC 150-20-210; adding 18 VAC 150-20-75,
18 VAC 150-20-115, 18 VAC 150-20-185, 18 VAC 150-20-
195 and 18 VAC 150-20-205; repealing 18 VAC 150-20-40,
18 VAC 150-20-50, 18 VAC 150-20-60, 18 VAC 150-20-80,
18 VAC 150-20-90, 18 VAC 150-20-150, 18 VAC 150-20-
160 and 18 VAC 150-20-170).

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 38 (§ 54.1-
3800 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  December 23, 1998.

Summary:

These amendments implement the recommendations of
the board in its report pursuant to Executive Order 15
(94), which called on agencies to simplify, clarify, and
eliminate redundancy and unnecessary requirements.
Specifically, the amendments streamline the
requirements for veterinary facilities, clarify the practice
of surgery, allow continuing education through journals
or information networks, and specify that continuing
education must pertain to clinical areas of practice.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response:  A
summary of comments made by the public and the agency’s
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Board of Veterinary
Medicine, 6606 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9915.

18 VAC 150-20-10.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter,
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Animal facility" or "veterinary facility" means any fixed or
mobile establishment, veterinary hospital, animal hospital or
premises wherein or whereon or out of which veterinary
medicine is practiced.

[ “AVMA” means the American Veterinary Medical
Association. ]

"Automatic emergency lighting" is lighting which is powered
by battery, generator, or alternate power source other than
electrical power, is activated automatically by electrical
power failure, and provides sufficient light to complete
surgery or to stabilize the animal until surgery can be
continued or the animal moved to another facility.

[ “AVMA” means the American Veterinary Medical
Association. ]

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine.

"Controlled substance" means a drug, substance, or
immediate precursor in Schedules I through VI of Article 5
(§ 54.1-3443 et seq.) of Chapter 34 of Title 54.1 of the Code
of Virginia, which includes legend drugs that bear the
warning "Caution, Federal Law restricts this drug to use by or
on the order of a licensed veterinarian."

"Full service Full-service facility" means a stationary facility
which shall provide surgery and encompass all aspects of
health care for small or large animals, or both.

"Inactive practitioner" means a veterinarian currently
licensed by the board but not engaged in the practice of
veterinary medicine in the Commonwealth.

[ “Immediate and direct supervision” means that the
licensed veterinarian is immediately available to the licensed
veterinary technician, either electronically or in person, and
provides a specific order based on observation and diagnosis
of the patient within the last 24 hours. ]

"Large animal ambulatory facility" means a mobile practice
in which health care of large animals, including surgery, is
performed at the location of the animal.

"Practitioner" means a veterinarian currently licensed by
the board.

"Preceptorship" or "clerkship" means a formal arrangement
between [ a an AVMA accredited ] college of veterinary
medicine [ approved by the board or an AVMA accredited
veterinary technology program ] and a veterinarian [ who is ]
licensed by the board [ , in which a veterinary medical
student in his final year, enrolled in such college, obtains
practical training in the practice of veterinary medicine under
the immediate and direct on-premises supervision of the
veterinarian and responsible for the practice of the preceptee
].

"Professional judgment" includes any decision or conduct
in the practice of veterinary medicine, as defined by
§ 54.1-3800 of the Code of Virginia.

“Restricted service facility” means a stationary or
ambulatory facility which does not meet the requirements of a
full-service facility.

"Schools or colleges accredited by the AVMA" means
schools accredited by the American Veterinary Medical
Association.

"Small animal house call facility" means a mobile practice
in which health care of small animals is performed at the
residence of the owner of the small animal.

"Small animal outpatient facility" means a stationary facility
where health care of small animals is performed and may
include surgery under certain conditions.  Overnight
hospitalization shall not be required.

"Surgery" means any invasive or manipulative procedure
that requires anesthesia, sedation, or other restraint
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treatment through revision, destruction, incision or other
structural alteration of animal tissue.

"Surgical lighting" is lighting which is designed to give off a
concentrated light source, not give off harmful heat, is
movable over the entire surface of the surgical table, and is
shielded to prevent glass shatter.

"Veterinarian in charge" means the licensed a veterinarian
at each registered animal facility [ licensed who holds an
active license ] in Virginia [ and ] who is responsible for
maintaining the a licensed facility within the standards for
facilities set by the regulations this chapter, for complying
with federal and state drug laws, and for notifying the board
of the facility's closure.

"Veterinary technician" means a licensed animal technician
as defined in § 54.1-3806 of the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 150-20-30.  Register of practitioners, veterinary
technicians and animal facilities Posting of licenses;
accuracy of address.

A.  Register of practitioners and veterinary technicians.
The executive director as directed by the board shall record
in a book to be kept for such purposes, the names of all
practitioners of veterinary medicine and holders of
certificates as veterinary technicians to whom licenses or
certificates are issued as provided by law.  The book shall be
styled and recognized as the register of practitioners of
veterinary medicine and holders of certificates as veterinary
technicians in Virginia and it shall be admissible in evidence
as a regularly kept record of the board.  Such register shall
be available for inspection during business hours in the
board office.  The board shall insert in the register any
alteration in the name of any licensed or certified person as it
receives proof satisfactory to the board.  A separate record
shall be maintained of all addresses.

B.  Register of animal facilities.  The executive director of
the board shall record in a book to be kept for such purposes
the names of all animal facilities.  Such book shall list the
name and permit number of the animal facility and shall be
admissible in evidence as a regularly kept record of the
board.

A.  All licenses and permits issued by the board shall be
posted in a place conspicuous to the public at the facility
where veterinary services are being provided.

C.  Accuracy of address. B.  It shall be the duty and
responsibility of each licensee and holder of a registration
permit to operate an animal facility to keep the board
apprised at all times of his current address.  All notices
required by law or by this chapter to be mailed to any
veterinarian, certified veterinary technician, or holder of a
permit to operate an animal facility, shall be validly given
when mailed to the address furnished to the board pursuant
to this regulation.  All address changes shall be furnished to
the board within 30 days of such change.

18 VAC 150-20-40.  Filing date. (Repealed.)

Completed applications for certification and licensure shall
be filed with the board office at least 45 days prior to the
announced date of the examination.

18 VAC 150-20-50.  Records. (Repealed.)

All completed applications and supporting papers
submitted to the board with the application become a part of
the applicant's examination records and become the property
of the board.

18 VAC 150-20-60.  Issuance of licenses. (Repealed.)

The board shall issue to each applicant who fulfills the
requirements for licensure as a veterinarian or a veterinary
technician a license as appropriate.  Each license shall be
subscribed by the president and secretary of the board and
shall have affixed to it the seal of the board.

18 VAC 150-20-70.  Licensure renewal requirements.

A.  Every person authorized licensed by the board to
practice veterinary medicine shall, before March 1 of every
year, submit to the board a completed renewal application
and pay to the board a renewal fee as prescribed in 18 VAC
150-20-100 and every holder of a license of veterinary
technology shall, in a like manner, pay a renewal fee as
prescribed in 18 VAC 150-20-100.

1.  The board shall mail to each licensed person a notice
to renew his license prior to the expiration of the license.

2.  It shall be the responsibility of each person so licensed
to return the renewal application with the prescribed fee so
that it will be received by the board prior to the expiration
date of his license.  Failure to renew shall cause the license
to lapse and become invalid.

3.  A veterinarian's or veterinary technician's license
may be renewed up to one year after the expiration date,
provided a late fee as prescribed in 18 VAC 150-20-100
is paid in addition to the required renewal fee and further
provided that the veterinarian or veterinary technician
has not intentionally engaged in practice in Virginia after
the expiration date of the license.

4.  Reinstatement of licenses expired for one year or
more shall be at the discretion of the board.  The board
shall require documentation of clinical competency and
professional activities, and may require examination in
addition to the prescribed reinstatement fee and the
current renewal fee as conditions for reinstatement of a
license.

B.  In accordance with § 54.1-3805.2 of the Code of
Virginia, On and after March 1, 1997, veterinarians shall be
required to have completed a minimum of 15 hours, and
veterinary technicians shall be required to have completed a
minimum of six hours, of approved continuing education for
each annual renewal of licensure.  Continuing education
credits or hours may not be transferred or credited to another
year.
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1.  Approved continuing education credit shall only be
given for courses or programs related to the treatment
and care of patients or the operation of a veterinary
hospital and shall be either clinical courses in veterinary
medicine or veterinary technology or related nonclinical
courses.

2.  An approved continuing education course or program
shall be sponsored by one of the following:

a.  American Veterinary Medical Association ( The
AVMA) or its constituent and component/branch
associations, specialty organizations, and board
certified specialists in good standing within their
specialty board;

b.  Colleges of veterinary medicine approved by the
AVMA Council on Education;

[ c.  National or regional conferences of veterinary
medicine; ]

[ d. c. ]  Academies or species specific interest groups
of veterinary medicine;

[ e. ]  National Association of Licensed Veterinary
Technicians (NALVT) or its constituent and
component/branch [ d. ] State associations of
veterinary technicians;

[ f. e. ]  North American Veterinary Technicians
Association;

[ g. f. ]  Community colleges with an approved
program in veterinary technology;

[ h. g. ]  State or federal government agencies;

i.  Veterinary Hospital Managers Association or its
constituent and component/branch associations;

j. [ h. i. ]  American Animal Hospital Association
(AAHA) or its constituent and component/branch
associations;

k. [  i. j. ] The Compendium on Continuing Education
for the Practice of Veterinary Medicine or the
Compendium on Continuing Education for the
Practice of Veterinary Technology i.  Journals or
veterinary information networks recognized by the
board as providing education in veterinary medicine or
veterinary technology; or

l. [ j. k. ]  A sponsor approved by the Virginia Board of
Veterinary Medicine provided the sponsor has
submitted satisfactory documentation on forms
provided by the board at least 60 days prior to the
program offering.

3.  A licensee is exempt from completing continuing
education requirements and considered in compliance
on the first renewal date following his initial licensure.

4.  The board may grant an exemption for all or part of
the continuing education requirements due to
circumstances beyond the control of the licensee, such

as temporary disability, mandatory military service, or
officially declared disasters.

5.  The board may grant an extension for good cause of
up to one year for the completion of continuing
education requirements upon written request from the
licensee prior to the renewal date.  Such an extension
shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing education
requirement.

6.  Licensees are required to attest to compliance with
continuing education requirements on their annual
license renewal and are required to maintain original
documents verifying the date and subject of the program
or course, the number of continuing education hours or
credits, and certification from an approved sponsor.
Original documents must be maintained at the location
where the original license is posted for a period of two
years following renewal.

7.  Continuing education hours required by disciplinary
order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements.

7.  In order to reactivate his license, C.  A licensee who
has requested that his license be placed on inactive status,
has allowed his license to lapse, or has had his license
suspended or revoked shall submit evidence of completion of
continuing education hours equal to the requirements for the
number of years in which his license has not been active, but
not to exceed two years is not authorized to perform acts
which are considered the practice of veterinary medicine or
veterinary technology and, therefore, shall not be required to
have continuing education for annual renewal.  To reactivate
a license, the licensee is required to submit evidence of
completion of continuing education hours as required by
§ 54.1-3805.2 of the Code of Virginia equal to the number of
years in which the license has not been active for a maximum
of two years.

8.  Continuing education hours required by disciplinary
order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements.

9.  Failure to comply with the requirements of this
subsection shall constitute unprofessional conduct.

C.  A new facility shall apply for registration with the board
at least 60 days prior to opening for practice and pay to the
board a registration fee as prescribed in 18 VAC 150-20-100
at the time of application.

1.  Every such animal facility so registered shall be
required to renew the registration permit annually and
pay to the board a registration fee as prescribed in
18 VAC 150-20-100.

2.  Failure to renew the facility permit by March 1 of
each year shall cause the permit to expire and become
invalid.  The permit may be reinstated without
reinspection, within 60 days of expiration, provided the
board receives a properly executed renewal application
and a late fee as prescribed in 18 VAC 150-20-100 in
addition to the required renewal fee.  Reinstatement of
an expired permit after 60 days shall be at the discretion
of the board and contingent upon a reinspection and
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payment of the late fee, the reinspection fee, the renewal
fee and the facility reinstatement fee.

3.  Every new animal facility or an animal facility which
changes location shall be inspected, approved and
registered by the board prior to opening for the practice
of veterinary medicine.  Applications are to be made at
least 60 days prior to the proposed opening date of the
animal facility.  If more than one inspection is required
for approval, the reinspection fee shall be imposed for
each additional inspection.

18 VAC 150-20-75.  Expired license; reinstatement;
practice with an expired or lapsed license not permitted.

A.  A license may be renewed up to 30 days after the
expiration date, provided a late fee as prescribed in 18 VAC
150-20-100 is paid in addition to the required renewal fee.

B.  Reinstatement of licenses expired for more than 30
days shall be at the discretion of the board.  The board may
require documentation of clinical competency and
professional activities and payment of the reinstatement fee
as prescribed in 18 VAC 150-20-100.

18 VAC 150-20-80.  Licenses and registrations to be
displayed. (Repealed.)

A.  Veterinarians.

1.  Each licensed veterinarian shall publicly post his
current Virginia license to practice veterinary medicine in
the facility where he practices.

2.  Each licensed veterinarian administering, prescribing
or dispensing Scheduled II-V drugs shall obtain and
maintain on the premises a controlled substances
registration certificate from the Virginia Board of
Pharmacy as required by § 54.1-3422 of the Code of
Virginia.

B.  Veterinary technicians.  Each licensed veterinary
technician shall publicly post his current Virginia license as a
veterinary technician at the facility of the employing
veterinarian.

C.  Animal facilities.  Each animal facility shall publicly
post the current Virginia registration permit to operate such a
facility.

18 VAC 150-20-90.  Reinstatement. (Repealed.)

Any person who has had his license or permit suspended
or revoked as provided here may, at any time, apply to the
board for relicensure or reregistration.  Accordingly, such
person may petition the board for a hearing, and the
provisions of the Administrative Process Act shall apply.

18 VAC 150-20-100.  Fees.

Fiscal Year: 1995 1996 1997 Thereafter

Veterinary state board
examination fee

$125 25 25 25

Veterinary initial
license or renewal fee

125 25 60 $125

(active)

Initial veterinary
license fee for October
exam (active)

65 25 25 65

Veterinary license
renewal fee (inactive)

50 10 20 $50

Veterinary
reinstatement of
expired license

$175

Veterinary license
renewal late fee
renewal

25 25 25 $25

Veterinarian
reinstatement fee after
disciplinary action

250 200 200 $200

Veterinary technician
national board
examination fee

75 75 75 75

Veterinary technician
state board
examination fee

25 25 25 25

Veterinary technician
initial license or
renewal fee

25 5 10 $25

Veterinary technician
license renewal late
fee renewal

25 25 25 25 $15

Veterinary technician
reinstatement of
expired license

$50

Veterinary technician
reinstatement fee after
disciplinary action

50 50 50 50 $75

Initial animal facility
permit registration fee

100 100 100 100 $150

Animal facility renewal
fee

50 25 35 $50

Animal facility late
renewal late fee

25 25 25 $25

Animal facility
reinstatement fee

100 100 100 $100

Animal facility
reinspection fee

100 100 100 100 $150

Animal facility--change
of location fee

100 100 100 100 $150

Animal facility--change
of
veterinarian-in-charge
fee

20 20 20 $20
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Duplicate certificate
fee license

20 20 20 20 $10

Duplicate wall
certificate

$25

Returned check $25

Licensure verification
to another jurisdiction

$10

PART II.
LICENSURE FOR VETERINARIANS AND VETERINARY

TECHNICIANS.

18 VAC 150-20-110.  Requirements for licensure by
examination as a veterinarian.

A.  The applicant, in order to be licensed by the board to
practice veterinary medicine, shall:

1.  Have received a degree in veterinary medicine from a
college or school of veterinary medicine approved by the
board; accredited by the AVMA or have fulfilled the
requirements of the Educational Commission of Foreign
Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) of the American
Veterinary Medical Association AVMA;

2.  File the following documents with the board at least
45 days prior to the announced date of examination:

a.  A complete and notarized application on a form
obtained from the board;

b.  An official copy, indicating veterinary degree, of the
applicant's college or school transcript;

c.  One passport photograph of reasonable likeness of
the applicant taken within six months of the date of
the application;

d.  Certified check, cashier's check, or money order,
payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, as prescribed in
18 VAC 150-20-100 for the examination fee and the
applicable licensing fee; and

e. c.  Certification of good standing a full and
unrestricted license to practice veterinary medicine by
each board from which the applicant holds a license
to practice veterinary medicine.

3.  Pass the following examinations National Board
Examination and the Clinical Competency Test approved
by the American Association of Veterinary State Boards
with a score on each determined acceptable by to the
board:.

a.  The national board examination;

b.  The national clinical competency test; and

c.  A written examination administered by the board
which shall embrace such subjects as the board shall
from time to time prescribe.

4.  Sign a statement attesting that the applicant has
read, understands, and will abide by the statutes and
regulations governing veterinary practice in Virginia.

4. 5.  Have committed no acts which would constitute a
violation of § 54.1-3807 of the Code of Virginia.

B.  Reexamination.

1.  The national board examination, national clinical
competency test scores, and the transcripts required
pursuant to this chapter shall be acceptable as part of
the application for reexamination for a period of two
years following the date of the original examination.  The
board-administered written examination scores shall be
acceptable for a period of one year.

2.  All requests for reexamination shall be filed with the
board at least 45 days prior to the date of examination
which the applicant wishes to take.  Such requests shall
be accompanied by an updated application, one
passport photograph of the applicant taken within six
months of the date of the application, and a fee in the
amount prescribed in 18 VAC 150-20-100.

B.  If the application for licensure has not been successfully
completed within [ two years one year ] from the date of initial
submission, a new application and fee shall be required.

18 VAC 150-20-115.  Requirements for licensure by
examination as veterinary technician.

A.  The applicant, in order to be licensed by the board as a
veterinary technician, shall:

1.  Have received a degree in veterinary technology from
a college or school accredited  by the AVMA.

2.  Have filed with the board the following documents:

a.  A complete and notarized application on a form
obtained from the board;

b.  An official copy, indicating a veterinary technology
degree, of the applicant's college or school transcript;
and

c.  Certification that the applicant is in good standing
by each board from which the applicant holds a
license, certification or registration to practice
veterinary technology.

3.  Pass a board-approved, national board examination
for veterinary technology with a score acceptable to the
board.

4.  Sign a statement attesting that the applicant has
read, understands, and will abide by the statutes and
regulations governing veterinary practice in Virginia.

B.  The application for licensure shall be valid for a period
of [ two years one year ] after the date of initial submission.
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18 VAC 150-20-120.  Requirements for licensure by
endorsement as a veterinarian or veterinary technician.

A.  The board may, in its discretion, grant a license by
endorsement to an applicant who is licensed to practice
veterinary medicine or who is licensed, certified or registered
to practice as a veterinary technician in another state, the
District of Columbia or possessions or territories of the
United States, and who has been continuously engaged in
clinical practice for five years or more prior to the date of
application provided that:

1.  The applicant passes the written examination
administered by the board;

1.  All licenses, certificates or registrations are in good
standing;

2.  The applicant has been regularly engaged in clinical
practice for at least two of the past four years; and

2. 3.  The applicant has met all of the other applicable
requirements of 18 VAC 150-20-110, or 18 VAC 150-20-
115, except foreign-trained veterinarians who have
attained specialty recognition by a board recognized by
the AVMA are exempt from the requirements of ECFVG.

B.  Provided however that the applicant has met the
requirement of subsection A, the board may, in its discretion,
waive the requirement that the applicant pass the national
board exam or the clinical competency test, or both, if the
applicant has been continuously engaged in clinical practice
during the immediately preceding five years.

18 VAC 150-20-130.  Requirements for practical training
in a preceptorship.

A.  The practical training and employment of qualified
students of veterinary medicine [ by licensed veterinarians or
veterinary technology ] shall be governed and controlled as
follows:

1.  No student shall be qualified to receive practical
training [ by a licensed veterinarian or veterinary
technician nor shall a licensed veterinarian or veterinary
technician give practical training to any student ] unless
such student shall be duly enrolled and in good standing
in a veterinary college or school or veterinary technology
program, and shall be engaged in a preceptorship as
defined by the board and authorized by his college or
school.

2.  No student receiving practical training from a
licensed veterinarian shall at any time discharge or
perform any function or act pertaining to the practice of
veterinary medicine, except under the immediate and
direct on-premises supervision of a veterinarian licensed
by the board. A veterinary preceptee may perform duties
that constitute the practice of veterinary medicine under
the on-premises supervision of a licensed veterinarian.

3.  A veterinary technician preceptee may perform duties
that constitute the practice of veterinary technology

under the on-premises supervision of a licensed
veterinarian or licensed veterinary technician.

B.  Prior to allowing a preceptee in veterinary medicine to
perform surgery on a patient [ unassisted by a licensed
veterinarian ], a licensed veterinarian shall receive written
approval from the client.

PART III.
UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT.

18 VAC 150-20-140.  Unprofessional conduct.

Unprofessional conduct as referenced in § 54.1-3807(5) of
the Code of Virginia, shall include the following:

1.  Representing conflicting interests except by express
consent of all concerned given after a full disclosure of
the facts.  Acceptance of a fee from both the buyer and
the seller is prima facie evidence of a conflict of interest.

2.  Practicing veterinary medicine where an unlicensed
person has the authority to control the professional
judgment of the licensed veterinarian.

3.  Issuing a certificate of health unless he shall know of
his own knowledge by actual inspection and appropriate
tests of the animals that the animals meet the
requirements for the issuance of such certificate on the
day issued.

4.  Violating the confidential relationship between
himself and his clients Revealing confidences gained in
the course of providing veterinary services to a client [ ,
unless required by law or necessary to protect the
health, safety or welfare of other persons or animals ].

5.  Advertising in a manner which is false, deceptive, or
misleading or which makes subjective claims of
superiority.

6.  Failing to maintain an animal facility as set forth by
this chapter.

7.  Practicing veterinary medicine in an animal facility
that is not currently registered.  This shall not apply to
emergency situations.

8. 6.  Violating any state law, federal law, or board
regulation pertaining to the dispensing or recordkeeping
requirement, or both, for controlled substances or
pertaining to the practice of veterinary medicine.

9.  Dispensing or prescribing controlled substances not
in the course of professional practice or when a bona
fide veterinarian/client/patient relationship has not been
established.

10.  Permitting a person other than a licensed
veterinarian, certified veterinary technician, or person
otherwise duly certified in x-ray technology to operate
diagnostic radiographic equipment.

11.  Permitting a person other than a licensed
veterinarian or a certified veterinary technician to induce
anesthesia.
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12. 7.  Practicing veterinary medicine in such a manner
as to endanger the health and welfare of his patients or
the public;, or being unable to practice veterinary
medicine with reasonable skill and safety by reason of
illness, drunkenness, excessive use of drugs, narcotics,
chemicals or any other type of material or as a result of
any mental or physical condition.

13. 8.  Performing surgery on small animals in an
unlicensed facility or a facility not equipped with a
surgery suite and adequate recovery area or performing
surgery on large animals not in accordance in
accordance with the facility permit or with accepted
standards of practice.

14.  Failing to pay any required fees.

15.  Failing to pay board-imposed fines.

16. 9.  Refusing the board or its agent the right to
inspect a facility at reasonable hours.

17.  Prescribing or dispensing, or both, controlled
substances, including anabolic steroids for human use.

18.  Allowing a preceptee to diagnose, prescribe, or
perform surgery unless under the direct, on-premises
supervision of a licensed veterinarian.

19.  Practicing veterinary medicine in the
Commonwealth while license is on inactive status.

10.  Allowing unlicensed persons to perform acts
restricted to the practice of veterinary medicine or
veterinary technology including any invasive procedure
on a patient.

[ 11.  Failing to provide immediate and direct supervision
to a licensed veterinary technician in his employ. ]

PART III.
LICENSED VETERINARY TECHNICIANS.

18 VAC 150-20-150.  Requirements for licensure as
veterinary technician. (Repealed.)

A.  The applicant, in order to be licensed by the board as a
veterinary technician, shall:

1.  Have received a degree in veterinary technology from
a college or school approved by the American Veterinary
Medical Association;

2.  File the following documents with the board at least
45 days prior to the announced date of examination:

a.  A complete and notarized application on a form
obtained from the board;

b.  An official copy, indicating a veterinary technology
degree, of the applicant's college or school transcript;

c.  One passport photograph of reasonable likeness of
the applicant taken within six months of the date of
the application;

d.  Certified check, cashier's check, or money order,
payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, as prescribed in

18 VAC 150-20-100, for the examination fee and the
applicable licensure fee; and

e.  Certification that the applicant is in good standing
by each board from which the applicant holds a
license/certificate/registration to practice animal
technology.

3.  Pass the following examinations with a score on each
determined acceptable by the board:

a.  The national board examination for veterinary
technicians; and

b.  A written examination administered by the board.
The board shall administer this examination at least
once annually.  The board shall determine the subject
matters included on this examination.

B.  Reexamination.

1.  The national board scores and transcript required
pursuant to this chapter shall be acceptable as part of
the application for reexamination for a period of two
years following the date of the original examination.  The
board-administered written examination shall be
acceptable for a period of one year.

2.  Any veterinary technician applicant failing to pass
either part of the examination shall be reexamined at his
request, at the next scheduled examination administered
by the board on the part of the examination failed.  If the
applicant fails to pass this reexamination, he will be
required to pass a subsequent examination in its
entirety.

3.  All requests for reexamination shall be filed with the
board at least 45 days prior to the date of examination
which the applicant wishes to take.  Such requests shall
be accompanied by an updated application, one
passport photograph of the applicant taken within six
months of the date of this application, and a fee in the
amount prescribed in 18 VAC 150-20-100.

18 VAC 150-20-160.  Requirements for licensure by
endorsement. (Repealed.)

A.  The board, at its discretion, may also grant a license
by endorsement to a technician licensed, certified or
registered in another state, the District of Columbia or
possessions or territories of the United States based on a
written examination administered by the board to an
applicant who has not taken the national board examination,
provided that:

1.  The applicant has met all of the other requirements
of 18 VAC 150-20-150; and

2.  The applicant has been issued a certificate as a
veterinary technician in another state whose
requirements are at least equal to those of Virginia.

18 VAC 150-20-170.  Unprofessional conduct. (Repealed.)

Unprofessional conduct as referenced in § 54.1-3807(5) of
the Code of Virginia, shall include the following:



Final Regulations

Virginia Register of Regulations

694

1.  Compromising the confidentiality of the doctor/client
relationship.

2.  Practicing veterinary technology in an animal facility
that is not currently registered.  This shall not apply to
emergency situations.

3.  Violating any state law, federal law, or board
regulation pertaining to the use of controlled substances
or any provisions pertaining to the practice of veterinary
medicine.

4.  Diagnosing, performing surgery, or prescribing
drugs.

18 VAC 150-20-180.  Requirements to be registered as an
animal facility.

A.  Every animal facility must shall [ possess ] an
appropriate [ register with the board and be issued ] a permit
as a full-service or restricted service facility [ and .  Every
veterinary facility ] shall have a veterinarian-in-charge
registered with the board in order to operate.

1.  Veterinary medicine may only be practiced out of a
registered facility except in emergency situations or in
limited specialized practices as provided in 18 VAC 150-
20-205.

2.  Applications for permits must be made to the board
60 45 days in advance of opening or changing the
location or designating a veterinarian in charge of the
facility or requesting a change in category to a full-
service facility.

B.  An animal facility will be registered by the board when:

1.  It is inspected by the board and is found to meet the
standards set forth by 18 VAC 150-20-190 and 18 VAC
150-20-200 where applicable.  If, during a new or routine
facility inspection, violations or deficiencies are found
necessitating a reinspection, the prescribed reinspection
fee will be levied.  Failure to pay the fee shall be deemed
unprofessional conduct and, until paid, the facility shall
be deemed to be unregistered.

2.  A veterinarian currently licensed by and in good
standing with the board is registered with the board in
writing as veterinarian-in-charge and has paid the facility
registration fee.

a.  The veterinarian-in-charge is responsible for:

(1) Maintaining the facility within the standards set
forth by 18 VAC 150-20-190 and 18 VAC
150-20-200;

(2) Performing the biennial controlled substance
inventory and ensuring compliance at the facility
with any federal or state law relating to controlled
substances as defined in § 54.1-3404 of the Code of
Virginia;

(3) Notifying the board in writing of the closure of
the permitted facility 10 days prior to closure.

b.  Upon any change in veterinarian-in-charge, these
procedures shall be followed:

(1) An application for a new permit, naming the new
veterinarian-in-charge, shall be made 10 days prior
to the change of the veterinarian-in-charge.  This
application shall be accompanied by a certified
check, cashier's check or money order, payable to
the Treasurer of Virginia, as prescribed by 18 VAC
150-20-100.

(2) The previous facility permit is void on the date of
the change of veterinarian-in-charge and shall be
returned by the former veterinarian-in-charge to the
board 10 days following the date of change.

(3) Prior to the opening of the business, on the date
of the change of veterinarian-in-charge, the new
veterinarian-in-charge shall take a complete
inventory of all Schedule II-V drugs on-hand.  He
shall date and sign the inventory and maintain it
on-premises for two years.  Unless the change of
the veterinarian-in-charge is in conjunction with a
change of ownership, this would not change the
official biennial controlled substance inventory date.

18 VAC 150-20-185.  Renewal of animal facility permits.

A.  Every animal facility shall be required to renew the
registration permit by March 1 of each year and pay to the
board a registration fee as prescribed in 18 VAC 150-20-100.

B.  Failure to renew the facility permit by March 1 of each
year shall cause the permit to expire and become invalid.
The permit may be reinstated without reinspection within 30
days of expiration [ , ] provided the board receives a properly
executed renewal application, renewal fee, and a late fee as
prescribed in 18 VAC 150-20-100.

C.  Reinstatement of an expired permit after 30 days shall
be at the discretion of the board and contingent upon a
reinspection and payment of the late fee, the reinspection
fee, the renewal fee and the facility reinstatement fee.

18 VAC 150-20-190.  Requirements for drug storage,
dispensing, destruction, and records for all facilities, full
service and restricted.

A.  All drugs shall be maintained, administered, dispensed,
prescribed and destroyed in compliance with state and
federal laws, which include applicable parts of the federal
Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Control Act (21 USC § 301 et
seq.), the Prescription Drug Marketing Act (21 USC § 301 et
seq.), and the Controlled Substances Act (21 USC § 801 et
seq.), as well as applicable portions of Title 21 of the Code of
Federal Regulations.

B.  All repackaged tablets and capsules dispensed for
companion animals shall be in approved safety closure
containers, except safety caps shall not be required when
any person who requests that the medication not have a
safety cap, or in such cases in which the medication is of
such form or size that it cannot be reasonably dispensed in



Final Regulations

Volume 15, Issue 5 Monday, November 23, 1998

695

such containers (e.g., topical medications, ophthalmic, or
otic).

C.  All drugs dispensed for companion animals shall be
labeled with the following:

1.  Name and address of the facility;

2.  Name of client;

3.  Animal identification;

4.  Date dispensed;

5.  Directions for use;

6.  Name, strength (if more than one dosage form
exists), and quantity of the drug; and

7.  Name of the prescribing veterinarian.

D.  All drugs shall be maintained in a secured manner with
precaution taken to prevent diversion.

1.  All Schedule II drugs shall be maintained under lock
at all times, with access to the veterinarian only,
provided, however, that a working stock of Schedule II
drugs under separate lock may be accessible to the
licensed veterinary technician.

2.  Whenever a veterinarian discovers a theft or any
unusual loss of Schedule II, III, IV, or V drugs, he shall
immediately report such theft or loss to the Board of
Veterinary Medicine, to the Virginia Board of Pharmacy
and to the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration.

E.  Schedule II, III, IV and V drugs may be destroyed by
an investigator of the Virginia Department of Health
Professions, the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration or, if
a veterinarian-in-charge wishes to destroy unwanted
Schedule II through V drugs kept for dispensing in lieu of any
disposal method provided by regulations promulgated by the
U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration, he shall use the
following procedures: following the instructions contained in
the drug destruction packet available from the board office
which provides the latest U.S. Drug Enforcement
Administration approved drug destruction guidelines.

1.  At least 14 days prior to the destruction date, the
veterinarian-in-charge shall provide a written notice to
the Board of Veterinary Medicine.  The notice shall state
the following:

a.  Date, time, manner and place of destruction;

b.  The names of the veterinarians who will witness
the destruction process.

2.  If the destruction date is changed or the destruction
does not occur, a new notice shall be provided to the
board as set forth in subdivision 1 of this subsection;

3.  Drug Destruction Form No. 41 from the U.S. Drug
Enforcement Administration shall be used to record all
drugs destroyed;

4.  The drugs shall be destroyed by burning in an
incinerator or flushing if permitted by the municipality;
and

5.  The actual destruction shall be witnessed by the
veterinarian-in-charge and by another veterinarian
neither associated with nor employed by the
veterinarian-in-charge.

6.  Each destruction form shall show the following
information:

a.  Legible signatures of the veterinarian-in-charge
and the other veterinarian witnessing the destruction;

b.  The Board of Veterinary Medicine license numbers
of the veterinarian-in-charge and the other witnessing
veterinarian;

c.  The date of the destruction;

d.  Name and quantity of the drugs destroyed; and

e.  Manner of destruction.

7.  At the conclusion of the destruction of the drug stock,
copies of the completed Drug Destruction Form No. 41
shall be distributed as follows:

a.  The original and one copy shall be sent to the U.S.
Drug Enforcement Administration at one of the
following addresses:

(1) Facilities with zip codes beginning with the
numbers 230 through 249 inclusive should mail
their forms to the U.S. Drug Enforcement
Administration, 8600 Staples Mill Road, Suite B,
Richmond, Virginia 23228;

(2) Facilities with zip codes beginning with any
numbers other than those listed above should mail
their forms to the U.S. Drug Enforcement
Administration, Washington Field Division, 400
Sixth Street SW, Room 2558, Washington, DC
20024.

b.  One copy shall be sent to the Board of Veterinary
Medicine; and

c.  One copy shall be retained with the animal facility's
records of Schedule II-V drugs.

F.  The drug storage area shall have appropriate provision
for temperature control for all drugs and biologics, including
a refrigerator with the interior thermometer maintained
between 36°F and 46°F.  Drugs stored at room temperature
shall be maintained between 59°F and 86°F.  The stock of
drugs shall be reviewed frequently and removed from the
working stock of drugs at the expiration date.

G.  A distribution record shall be maintained in addition to
the patient's record, in chronological order, for the
administration and dispensing of all Schedule II-V drugs.

This record is to be maintained for a period of two years
from the date of transaction.  This record shall include the
following:
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1.  Date of transaction;

2.  Drug name, strength, and the amount dispensed,
administered and wasted;

3.  Client and animal identification; and

4.  Identification of the veterinarian authorizing the
administration or dispensing of the drug.

H.  Invoices for all Schedule II, III, IV and V drugs received
shall be maintained in chronological order on the premises
where the stock of drugs is held.  Invoices for Schedule II
drugs shall be maintained separately from other records.  All
drug records shall be maintained for a period of two years
from the date of transaction.

I.  A complete and accurate inventory of all Schedule II, III,
IV and V drugs shall be taken, dated, and signed on the
same day every two years.  Drug strength must be specified.
This inventory shall indicate if it was made at the opening or
closing of business and shall be maintained on the premises
where the drugs are held for two years from the date of
taking the inventory.

18 VAC 150-20-195.  Recordkeeping.

A.  A daily record of each patient treated shall be
maintained by the veterinarian [ at the permitted animal
facility ] and shall include pertinent medical data such as
drugs administered, dispensed or prescribed, and all relevant
medical and surgical procedures performed.

B.  Individual records shall be maintained on each patient,
except that records for economic animals may be maintained
on a per client basis.  Client records shall be kept for a period
of three years following the last office visit or discharge of
such animal from a veterinary facility.

C.  An animal identification system must be used by the
facility.

18 VAC 150-20-200.  Standards for facilities.

A.  Full-service facilities.  A full-service facility is a
stationary facility which shall provide surgery and
encompass all aspects of health care for small or large
animals, or both.  All full-service facilities shall meet the
requirements set forth below:

1.  Buildings and grounds must be maintained to provide
sanitary facilities for the care and medical well-being of
patients.

a.  Temperature.  The facility shall be equipped so as
to maintain temperatures between 59°F and 86°F
consistent with the medical well-being of the patients,
ventilation, and lighting must be consistent with the
medical well-being of the patients.

b.  Ventilation.  The facility shall be equipped with the
capacity to ventilate consistent with the medical
well-being of the animals.

c.  Lighting.  The facility shall be equipped with
lighting commensurate with the procedures
performed.

d. b.  Water and waste.  There shall be on-premises:

(1) Hot and cold running water of drinking quality,
as defined by the Virginia Department of Health;

(2) Sanitary toilet and lavatory for the personnel and
for the clients;

(3) (2) An acceptable method of disposal of
deceased animals; and

(4) (3) Refrigeration exclusively for carcasses of
companion animals that require storage for 24
hours or more.

c.  Sanitary toilet and lavatory shall be available for
personnel and clients;

2.  Areas within building.  The areas within the facility
shall include the following:

a.  A reception area separate from other designated
rooms;

b.  Examination room(s) room or rooms;

c.  Surgery room.  Surgery shall be performed in
There shall be a room which is reserved only for
surgery and used for no other purpose.  Surgery shall
not serve as a corridor.  The walls of the surgery room
must be constructed of nonporous material and
extend from the floor to the ceiling.  In order that
surgery can be performed in a manner compatible
with current veterinary medical practice with regard to
anesthesia, asepsis, life support, and monitoring
procedures, the surgery room shall:

(1) Be of a size adequate to accommodate a
surgical table, anesthesia support equipment,
surgical supplies, the veterinarian, an assistant, and
the patient; and

(2) Be kept so that storage in the surgery room shall
be limited to items and equipment normally related
to surgery and surgical procedures.

d.  Laboratory.  The animal facility shall have, as a
minimum, proof of use of either in-house laboratory
service or consultant outside laboratory services for
performing the following lab tests, consistent with
appropriate professional care for the species treated:

(1) Urinalysis, including microscopic examination of
sediment;

(2) Complete blood count, including differential;

(3) Flotation test for ova of internal parasites;

(4) Skin scrapings for diagnosing external parasites;

[ (5) Examinations for circulating blood
microfilaria; ]
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[ (6) (5) ] Blood chemistries;

[ (7) (6) ] Cultures and sensitivities;

[ (8) (7) ] Biopsy;

[ (9) (8) ] Complete necropses, including
histopathology; and

[ (10) (9) ] Serology.

e.  Animal housing areas.  These shall be provided
with:

(1) Separate compartments constructed in such a
way as to prevent residential contamination;

(2) Accommodations allowing for the effective
separation of contagious and noncontagious
patients; and

(3) Exercise runs which provide and allow effective
separation of animals or walking the animals at
medically appropriate intervals.

3.  Radiology.  An animal facility shall:

a.  Have proof of use of either in-house or consultant
outside services for obtaining diagnostic-quality
radiographs.

b.  If radiology is in-house:

(1) Each radiograph shall be permanently imprinted
with the identity of the facility or veterinarian, patient
and the date of exposure.  Each radiograph shall
also distinguish left from right, when appropriate be
clearly labeled by permanent imprinting to reflect
anatomic specificity.

(2) Document that radiographic equipment complies
with all requirements of 12 VAC 5-480-8520,
Veterinary Medicine Radiographic Installations, of
the Virginia Department of Health document,
"Ionizing Radiation Rules and Regulations" (1988),
which requirements are adopted by this board and
incorporated herewith by reference in this chapter.

c.  Maintain radiographs with and as a part of the
patient's record.  If a radiograph is transferred to
another facility or released to the client, a record of
this transfer must be maintained on or with the
patient's records.

4.  Equipment; minimum requirements.

a.  Examination room. (1) containing a table with
nonporous surface;.

(2) Waste receptacle; and

(3) Sanitizing solution.

b.  Surgery suite.

(1) Surgical table with nonporous surface;

(2) Surgical supplies, instruments and equipment
commensurate with the kind of surgical services
provided;

(3) All new small animal facilities that perform
surgeries and all existing facilities that change their
veterinarian-in-charge will shall be required to have
a circle gas anesthesia machine.

(4) Automatic emergency lighting;

(5) Surgical lighting;

(6) Instrument table, stand, or tray; and

(7) Waste receptacle.

c.  Radiology (if in-house).

(1) Lead aprons and gloves;

(2) Lead gloves;

(3) (2) Radiation exposure badges; and

(4) (3) X-ray machine.

d.  Drug storage area.

(1) Refrigerator, with interior thermometer
maintained between 36°F and 46°F;

(2) Locked storage for Schedule II drugs;

(3) Drugs stored at room temperature shall be
maintained between 59°F and 86°F.

e. d.  General equipment.

(1) Steam pressure sterilizer or an appropriate
method of sterilizing instruments;

(2) Internal and external sterilization monitors, if
steam pressure sterilizers are used;

(3) Stethoscope;

(4) Thermometer;

(5) Ophthalmoscope;

(6) Otoscope;

(7) Equipment for delivery of assisted ventilation,
including but not necessarily limited to:

(a) A resuscitation bag; and

(b) Endotracheal tubes.

(8) Scales; and

(9) Storage for records.

5.  Recordkeeping.  Every veterinarian shall keep a
written daily record of the animals he treats.  This record
shall include pertinent medical data such as drugs
administered, dispensed or prescribed, and all relevant
medical and surgical procedures performed.
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a.  Client records shall be kept for a period of three
years following the last office visit or discharge of
such animal from a veterinary facility.

b.  Individual records shall be maintained on each
patient, except that records for economic animals may
be maintained on a per client basis.

c.  An animal identification system must be used by
the facility.

6.  Disclosure of staffing hours.  Every animal facility
shall conspicuously post a sign which indicates the
hours that the facility is staffed.

B.  Restricted facilities.  When the scope of practice is less
than full service, a specifically restricted facility permit shall
be required.  Upon submission of a completed application,
satisfactory inspection and payment of the permit fee, a
restricted facility permit will may be issued.  Such restricted
facilities shall have posted in a conspicuous manner the
specific limitations on the scope of practice on a form
acceptable to provided by the board.

1.  Large animal facility, ambulatory practice.  A large
animal ambulatory facility is a mobile practice in which
health care of large animals is performed at the location
of the animal.  Surgery on large animals may be
performed as part of a large animal ambulatory practice
provided the facility has surgical supplies, instruments
and equipment commensurate with the kind of surgical
services provided.  All large animal ambulatory facilities
shall meet the requirements of a full-service facility in
subsection A of this section with the exception of those
set forth below:

a.  Laboratory.  At a minimum, proof of use of either
in-house laboratory service or consultant laboratory
services for performing the following lab tests,
consistent with appropriate professional care for the
species treated:

(1) Urinalysis, including microscopic examination of
sediment;

(2) Complete blood count, including differential;

(3) Flotation test for ova of internal parasites;

(4) Skin scrapings for diagnosing external parasites;

(5) Blood chemistries;

(6) Cultures and sensitivities;

(7) Biopsy;

(8) Complete necropses, including histopathology;
and

(9) Serology.

b.  Radiology.  A large animal ambulatory facility shall
have the following:

(1) Proof of use of either in-house or consultant
services for obtaining diagnostic-quality
radiographs.

(2) If radiology is in-house.

(a) Each radiograph shall be permanently
imprinted with the identity of the facility or
veterinarian, the patient and the date of exposure.
Each radiograph shall also distinguish left from
right, when appropriate, by permanent imprinting.

(b) Document that radiographic equipment
complies with all requirements of 12 VAC
5-480-8520, Veterinary Medicine Radiographic
Installations, of the Virginia Department of Health
document, "Ionizing Radiation Rules and
Regulations" (1988), which requirements are
adopted by this board and incorporated herewith
by reference in this chapter.

(3) Maintain radiographs with and as a part of the
patient's record.  If the radiograph is transferred to
another facility, documentation of this transfer shall
be maintained on or with the client's record.

c.  Equipment; minimum requirements.

(1) Surgical supplies, instruments and equipment
commensurate with the kind of surgical services
provided;

(2) Radiology (if in-house):

(a) Lead aprons;

(b) Lead gloves;

(c) Radiation exposure badges;

(d) X-ray machine.

(3) Drug storage area.

(a) Refrigerator, with interior thermometer
maintained between 36°F and 46°F;

(b) Locked storage for Schedule II drugs;

(c) Drugs stored at room temperature should be
maintained between 59°F and 86°F.

(4) General equipment.

(a) Steam pressure sterilizer;

(b) Internal and external sterilization monitors;

(c) Stethoscope;

(d) Ophthalmoscope;

(e) Thermometer;

(f) Storage for records.

d.  Recordkeeping.  The veterinarian shall keep a
written record of treatment to include pertinent
medical data.

(1) Individual records shall be maintained on each
patient except that records for economic animals
and equine may be maintained on a per client
basis; and
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(2) Client records shall be kept for a period of three
years from the date of the last visit.

a.  All requirements for buildings and grounds.

b.  All requirements for an examination room and
surgery suite.

[ c.  Laboratory examinations for circulating blood
microfilaria. ]

[ d. c. ]  Equipment for assisted ventilation.

[ e. d. ]  Scales.

2.  Small animal facility house call practice.  A small
animal house call facility is a mobile practice in which
health care of small animals is performed at the
residence of the owner of the small animal.  Surgery
may be performed only in a permitted, surgical facility.
Small animal house call facilities shall meet the
requirements of a full-service facility in subsection A of
this section with the exception of those set forth below:

a.  Laboratory.  At a minimum, proof of use of either
in-house laboratory service or consultant laboratory
services for performing the following lab tests,
consistent with appropriate professional care for the
species treated:

(1) Urinalysis, including microscopic examination of
sediment;

(2) Complete blood count, including differential;

(3) Flotation test for ova of internal parasites;

(4) Skin scrapings for diagnosing external parasites;

(5) Examinations for circulating blood microfilaria;

(6) Blood chemistries;

(7) Cultures and sensitivities;

(8) Biopsy;

(9) Complete necropses, including histopathology;
and

(10) Serology.

b.  Radiology.  A small animal house call facility shall:

(1) Have proof of services for obtaining
diagnostic-quality radiographs.

(2) Maintain radiographs with and as a part of the
patient's record.  If a radiograph is transferred to
another facility, documentation of the transfer must
be maintained on or with the patient's record.

c.  Equipment, minimum requirements.

(1) Drug storage area.

(a) Refrigerator, with interior thermometer
maintained between 36°F and 46°F;

(b) Locked storage for Schedule II drugs;

(c) Drugs stored at room temperature should be
maintained between 59°F and 86°F.

(2) General equipment.

(a) Stethoscope;

(b) Thermometer;

(c) Ophthalmoscope;

(d) Otoscope;

(e) Resuscitation bag and endotracheal tubes;

(f) Storage for records.

d.  Recordkeeping.  Every veterinarian shall keep a
written daily record of the animals he treats.  This
record shall include pertinent medical data such as
drugs administered, dispensed or prescribed, and all
relevant medical and surgical procedures performed.

(1) Client records shall be kept for a period of three
years following the last visit.

(2) Individual records shall be maintained on each
patient, except that records for economic animals
may be maintained on a per-client basis.

a.  All requirements for buildings and grounds.

b.  All requirements for an examination room or
surgery suite.

c.  Steam pressure sterilizer.

d.  Internal or external sterilization monitor.

3.  Small animal facility, outpatient practice.  A small
animal outpatient facility is a stationary facility where
health care of small animals is performed.  This practice
may include surgery, provided the facility is equipped
with a surgery suite as required by subdivision A 2 b of
this section and an adequate recovery area as required
by subdivision A 2 c of this section.  Overnight
hospitalization shall not be required.  All other
requirements of a full-service facility shall be met.

a.  Buildings and grounds must be maintained to
provide sanitary facilities for the care and medical
well-being of patients.

(1) Temperature.  The facility shall be equipped so
as to maintain temperatures between 59°F and
86°F consistent with the medical well-being of the
patients.

(2) Ventilation.  The facility shall be equipped with
the capacity to ventilate consistent with the medical
well-being of the animals.

(3) Lighting.  The facility shall be equipped with
lighting commensurate with the procedures
performed.

(4) Water and waste.  There shall be on-premises:
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(a) Hot and cold running water of drinking quality,
as defined by the Virginia Department of Health;

(b) Sanitary toilet and lavatory for the personnel
and for the clients;

(c) An acceptable method of disposal of
deceased animals; and

(d) Refrigeration exclusively for carcasses of
companion animals that require storage for 24
hours or more.

b.  Areas within building.  The areas within the facility
shall include the following:

(1) A reception area separate from other designated
rooms;

(2) Examination room(s).

c.  Laboratory.  At a minimum, proof of use of either
in-house laboratory service or consultant laboratory
services for performing the following lab tests,
consistent with appropriate professional care for the
species treated:

(1) Urinalysis, including microscopic examination of
sediment;

(2) Complete blood count, including differential;

(3) Flotation test for ova of internal parasites;

(4) Skin scrapings for diagnosing external parasites;

(5) Examinations for circulating blood microfilaria;

(6) Blood chemistries;

(7) Cultures and sensitivities;

(8) Biopsy;

(9) Complete necropses, including histopathology;
and

(10) Serology.

d.  Radiology.  A small animal outpatient facility shall
have the following:

(1) Proof of use of either in-house or consultant
services for obtaining diagnostic-quality
radiographs.

(2) If radiology is in-house:

(a) Each radiograph shall be permanently
imprinted with the identity of the facility or
veterinarian, the patient and the date of exposure.
Each radiograph shall also distinguish left from
right, when appropriate, by permanent imprinting.

(b) Document that radiographic equipment
complies with all requirements of 12 VAC
5-480-8520, Veterinary Medicine Radiographic
Installations, of the Virginia Department of Health
document, "Ionizing Radiation Rules and
Regulations" (1988), which requirements are

adopted by this board and incorporated herewith
by reference in this chapter.

(c) Maintain radiographs with and as a part of the
patient's record.  If a radiograph is transferred to
another facility, documentation of the transfer
must be maintained on or with the patient's
record.

e.  Equipment, minimum requirements.

(1) Examination room.

(a) Table with nonporous surface;

(b) Waste receptacle; and

(c) Sanitizing solution.

(2) Radiology (if in-house).

(a) Lead aprons;

(b) Lead gloves;

(c) Radiation exposure badges;

(d) X-ray machine.

(3) Drug storage area.

(a) Refrigerator, with interior thermometer
maintained between 36°F and 46°F;

(b) Locked storage for Schedule II drugs; and

(c) Drugs stored at room temperature should be
maintained between 59°F and 86°F.

(4) General equipment.

(a) Steam pressure sterilizer;

(b) Internal and external sterilization monitors;

(c) Stethoscope;

(d) Thermometer;

(e) Ophthalmoscope;

(f) Otoscope;

(g) Resuscitation bag and endotracheal tubes;

(h) Scales;

(i) Storage for records.

f.  Recordkeeping.  Every veterinarian shall keep a
written daily record of the animals he treats.  This
record shall include pertinent medical data such as
drugs administered, dispensed or prescribed, and all
relevant medical and surgical procedures performed.

(1) Client records shall be kept for a period of three
years following the last office visit or discharge of
such animal from a veterinary facility.

(2) Individual records shall be maintained on each
patient, except that records for economic animals
may be maintained on a per client basis.
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(3) An animal identification system must be used by
the facility if animals are kept for the day.

4.  Special-use permit.  If a practice does not conform to
one of the above-listed types of facilities, a veterinarian
may apply for a special-use permit.  A protocol, detailing
the type of practice, must be submitted to the board with
the application.  The board will review the protocol and
approve or deny the application on a case-by-case
basis.  If the board approves the application, limitations
of practice and standards specific for the approved
practice will be set.

5.  Disclosure of staffing hours.  Every animal facility
shall conspicuously post a sign which indicates the
hours that the facility is staffed.

The protocol must be resubmitted annually with the
renewal application for board review and approval.

C.  Combination practices.  A combination practice may
exist under a single facility permit.  The practice may
encompass two or more types of facilities as defined in
subsections A and B of this section.  The application for the
permit must specify the types of facilities to be included
within the combination practice.  The types of facilities
included must also be posted with the facility permit.

All standards listed under each type of facility included in
the combination practice must be met.

18 VAC 150-20-205.  Specialty practice in a limited
setting.

No regulation of the board shall prohibit any licensed
veterinarian from conducting drug testing at animal shows
and events or from examining any animal and expressing a
professional judgment as to its health at (i) genetic screening
clinics where animals are examined for cardiac, ophthalmic
and auditory diseases; (ii) agricultural fairs; (iii) 4-H or other
youth organization competitions; (iv) livestock auctions; (v)
horse races; (vi) fox hunts; (vii) pet adoption events; or (viii)
animal shows including but not limited to dog, cat, and horse
shows.

18 VAC 150-20-210.  Revocation or suspension of
registration certificate.

A.  The board may revoke or suspend the registration
permit of an animal facility if it finds the facility to be in
violation of any provisions of this chapter or may declare it as
not meeting the standards set forth in 18 VAC 150-20-190
and 18 VAC 150-20-200 this chapter if:

1.  The board finds the facility to be in violation of
18 VAC 150-20-70;

2.  The board finds the facility to be in violation of
18 VAC 150-20-190 or 18 VAC 150-20-200;

3. 1.  The board or its agents are denied access to the
facility to conduct an inspection;

4. 2.  The licensee does not pay any and all prescribed
fees;

5. 3.  The facility is performing procedures beyond the
scope of a restricted facility permit; or

6. 4.  The facility has no veterinarian-in-charge
registered at the facility.

B.  The Administrative Process Act, Chapter 1.1:1
(9-6.14:1 et seq.) of Title 9 of the Code of Virginia, shall
apply to any determination under this section.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 150-20-
10 et seq., Regulations Governing the Practice of Veterinary
Medicine, are listed below.  Any amended or added forms
are reflected in the listing and are published following the
listing.

FORMS

Instructions to Applicants for Licensure to Practice Veterinary
Medicine (rev. 7/97).

Application for a License to Practice Veterinary Medicine
(rev. [ 7/97 10/98 ]).

Application for National Board Examination in Veterinary
Technology.

Instructions to Applicants for Licensure to Practice Veterinary
Technology (rev. 7/97).

Application for a License to Practice Veterinary Technology
(rev. [ 7/97 10/98 ]).

Application for an Animal Facility Permit (rev. 7/97).

Application for National Board Examination and Clinical
Competency Test in Veterinary Medicine.

Application for Reinstatement of License to Practice
Veterinary Medicine (rev. 7/97).

Application for Reinstatement of [ License to Practice ]
Veterinary [ Technician License Technology ] (rev. 7/97).

Drug Destruction Form No. 41, Registrants Inventory of
Drugs Surrendered, No. 1117-0007 (June 1986).

Continuing Education Requirement Letter.

Letter Acknowledging Receipt of Request for Approval of
Continuing Education Courses.

Application for Approval of a Continuing Education Course.

Renewal Notice and Application (rev. 7/97).
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VA.R. Doc. No. R97-307; Filed November 4, 1998, 11:32 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w



EMERGENCY REGULATIONS

Virginia Register of Regulations

718

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS

TITLE 4.  CONSERVATION AND NATURAL
RESOURCES

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION

Title of Regulation:  4 VAC 20-620-10 et seq.  Pertaining to
Summer Flounder (adding 4 VAC 20-620-42).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code
of Virginia.

Effective Dates:  October 30, 1998, to November 17, 1998.

Summary:

This emergency regulation modifies the opening date of
the fourth quarter offshore Summer Flounder fishery in
accordance with established management provisions to
rebuild the severely depleted stock of Summer Flounder.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Deborah Cawthon, Regulatory Coordinator, Marine
Resources Commission, P.O. Box 756, Newport News, VA
23607, telephone (757) 247-2248.

4 VAC 20-620-42.  Commercial vessel possession
limitations.

A.  During the period of July 1 through November 15 of
each calendar year, it shall be unlawful for any person
harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia’s waters to
possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of
Summer Flounder in excess of 100 pounds.

B.  During the period November 16 through December 31
of each calendar year, it shall be unlawful for any person
harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia’s waters to
possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of
Summer Flounder in excess of 5,000 pounds; except that
when it is projected and announced that 85% of the quota for
this period has been taken, it shall be unlawful for any person
harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia’s waters to
possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of
Summer Flounder in excess of 100 pounds.

/s/ William A. Pruitt
Commissioner

VA.R. Doc. No. R99-51; Filed October 30, 1998, 2:49 p.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
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HJR 432:  Commission on the Condition and Future of
Virginia's Cities
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SJR 91:  Task Force on Consumer, Environment and
Education
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SJR 91:  Task Force on State and Local Taxation



The Legislative Record

Volume 15, Issue 5 Monday, November 23, 1998

725

HJR 195:  Joint Subcommittee to Study Land Development
Patterns
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Special Subcommittee Studying Sales and Use Tax
Exemptions
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Special Subcommittee Studying the Sales Tax on Food

HJR 60:  Joint Rules Committee Study of General Assembly
Salaries and Allowances
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HJR 187:  Joint Subcommittee to Study the Virginia
Freedom of Information Act
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SJR 171:  Joint Subcommittee Studying Economic
Incentives for Virginia's Shipbuilding Industry
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION

Bureau of Insurance

October 16, 1998

Administrative Letter 1998-14

TO: Rate Service Organizations and All Companies
Licensed to Write Motor Vehicle Insurance in Virginia

RE: Point Assignments or Increases in Automobile
Insurance Premiums Due to Accidents or Convictions

This administrative letter is a clarification of the Bureau’s
position with regard to point assignments or premium
increases under safe driver insurance plans.

Pursuant to subsection C of § 38.2-1905 of the Code of
Virginia, any assignment of points under a safe driver
insurance plan, whether applicable to commercial or private
passenger vehicles, may not be applied to a vehicle other
than the vehicle customarily driven by the operator
responsible for incurring the points.  This provision applies to
the assignment of points for accidents and convictions.

Furthermore, pursuant to subsection A of § 38.2-1905, no
insurer may charge points or increase the insured’s premium
under a commercial or private passenger automobile policy
due to an accident if the operator causing the accident is a
principal operator insured under a separate policy.

Insurers using safe driver insurance plans for commercial
automobile policies should review their current filings and
procedures to verify that they are in compliance with § 38.2-
1905. Commercial automobile rules that cannot be applied in
compliance with § 38.2-1905 should be withdrawn
immediately.

/s/ Alfred W. Gross
Commissioner of Insurance

VA.R. Doc. No. C99-370; Filed October 27, 1998, 10:38 a.m.

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION

Notice to State Agencies

Mailing Address:  Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA
23219.  You may FAX in your notice; however, we ask that
you FAX two copies and do not follow up with a mailed copy.
Our FAX number is:  (804) 692-0625.

Forms for Filing Material for Publication in The
Virginia Register of Regulations

All agencies are required to use the appropriate forms when
furnishing material for publication in The Virginia Register of
Regulations.  The forms may be obtained from:  Virginia
Code Commission, 910 Capitol Street, General Assembly

Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
786-3591.

Internet:  Forms and other Virginia Register resources may
be printed or downloaded from the Virginia Register web
page:
http://legis.state.va.us/codecomm/register/regindex.htm

FORMS:
NOTICE of INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION - RR01
NOTICE of COMMENT PERIOD - RR02
PROPOSED (Transmittal Sheet) - RR03
FINAL (Transmittal Sheet) - RR04
EMERGENCY (Transmittal Sheet) - RR05
NOTICE of MEETING - RR06
AGENCY RESPONSE TO LEGISLATIVE OBJECTIONS
- RR08
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Symbol Key

† Indicates entries since last publication of the Virginia Register
  Location accessible to handicapped
(  Teletype (TTY)/Voice Designation

NOTICE

Only those meetings which are filed with the Registrar of Regulations by the filing deadline noted at the beginning of this
publication are listed.  Since some meetings are called on short notice, please be aware that this listing of meetings may be
incomplete.  Also, all meetings are subject to cancellation and the Virginia Register deadline may preclude a notice of such
cancellation.

For additional information on open meetings and public hearings held by the standing committees of the legislature during
the interim, please call Legislative Information at (804) 698-1500 or Senate Information and Constituent Services at (804)
698-7410 or (804) 698-7419/TTY( , or visit the General Assembly web site's Legislative Information System
(http://leg1.state.va.us/lis.htm) and select "Meetings."
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CALENDAR OF EVENTS

EXECUTIVE

BOARD FOR ACCOUNTANCY

November 23, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Conference Room 5W, Richmond,
Virginia.

A meeting to consider enabling legislation and
regulations.  Meeting date may change; interested
parties should call David Dick to confirm date and time.

Contact:  David E. Dick, Assistant Director, Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8505,
FAX (804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER
SERVICES

December 10, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services,
Washington Building, 1100 Bank Street, 2nd Floor Board
Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A regular meeting to discuss issues related to Virginia
agriculture and consumer protection.  The board will
entertain public comment at the conclusion of all other
business for a period not to exceed 30 minutes.  Any
person who needs any accommodation in order to
participate at the meeting should contact Roy E. Seward
at least five days before the meeting date so that
suitable arrangements can be made.

Contact:  Roy E. Seward, Secretary to the Board,
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services,
Washington Bldg., 1100 Bank St., Room 211, P.O. Box
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-3538 or
FAX (804) 371-7679.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND
CONSUMER SERVICES

Virginia Corn Board

December 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Wallace Manor, 3821 North Courthouse Road, Providence
Force, Virginia.

A meeting to discuss checkoff revenues and the
financial status resulting from sales of the 1998 corn
crop.  In addition, reports will be heard from the
chairman of the Corn Board and representatives of the
U.S. Feed Grains Council, the National Corn Growers
Association, and other committee representatives.  The
nomination and election of 1999 officers will take place
at this meeting.  The board will entertain public
comment at the conclusion of all other business for a
period not to exceed 30 minutes.  Any person who needs
any accommodation in order to participate at the
meeting should contact Philip T. Hickman at least five
days before the meeting date so that suitable
arrangements can be made.

Contact:  Philip T. Hickman, Program Director, Virginia
Corn Board, Department of Agriculture and Consumer
Services, 1100 Bank St., Room 1005, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 371-6157 or FAX (804) 371-7786.

Virginia Irish Potato Board

December 15, 1998 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Eastern Shore Agricultural Research and Extension Center,
Painter, Virginia.

A meeting to discuss programs (including promotion,
research and education programs), the annual budget
and other business that may come before the board.
The board will entertain public comment at the
conclusion of all other business for a period not to
exceed 30 minutes.  Any person who needs any special
accommodations in order to participate at the meeting
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should contact J. William Mapp at least five days before
the meeting date so that suitable arrangements can be
made.

Contact:  J. William Mapp, Program Director, Virginia Irish
Potato Board, P.O. Box 26, Onley, VA 23418, telephone
(757) 787-5867 or FAX (757) 787-5973.

Virginia Sheep Industry Board

† December 4, 1998 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Donaldson Brown Center, Virginia Tech, Otey Street,
Blacksburg, Virginia.

The board will (i) hear a report on the Virginia Food
Festival, (ii) discuss plans for a Virginia Sheep Industry
Directory, and (iii) consider funding requests for the
Virginia FFA Foundation, Virginia Association of Fairs,
and the Agriculture in Classroom program.  The board
will entertain public comments at the conclusion of all
other business for a period not to exceed 30 minutes.
Any person who needs any accommodation in order to
participate at the meeting should contact Mike Carpenter
at least five days before the meeting date so that
suitable arrangements can be made.

Contact:  Mike Carpenter, Program Director, Livestock
Marketing Services, Department of Agriculture and
Consumer Services, 116 Reservoir St., Harrisonburg, VA
22801, telephone (540) 434-0779 or FAX (540) 434-5607.

Virginia Soybean Board

† December 7, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
The Williamsburg Hospitality House, 415 Richmond Road,
Williamsburg, Virginia.

A meeting to discuss checkoff revenues and the
financial status resulting from the sales of the 1998
Virginia soybean crop, dry growing conditions coupled
with low prices, as well as reports from the Chairman of
the United Soybean Board representatives, the
Southeast Planning Committee and other committees.
The board will entertain public comment at the
conclusion of all other business for a period not to
exceed 30 minutes.  Any person who needs any
accommodation in order to participate at the meeting
should contact Phil Hickman at least five days before
the meeting date so that suitable arrangements can be
made.

Contact:  Philip T. Hickman, Program Director, Virginia
Soybean Board, Washington Bldg., 1100 Bank St., Suite
1005, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6157 or
FAX (804) 371-7786.

Virginia Winegrowers Advisory Board

† December 1, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services,
Washington Building, 1100 Bank Street, 2nd Floor
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to elect a new chairman and vice chairman
and to conduct regular business including committee
reports.  The board will entertain public comment at the
conclusion of all other business for a period not to
exceed 30 minutes.  Any person who needs any
accommodations in order to participate at the meeting
should contact Mary E. Davis-Barton at least five days
before the meeting date so that suitable arrangements
can be made.

Contact:  Mary E. Davis-Barton, Secretary, Virginia
Winegrowers Advisory Board, Department of Agriculture and
Consumer Services, Washington Bldg., 1100 Bank St.,
Room 1010, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-
7685 or FAX (804) 786-3122.

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD

† January 7, 1999 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
State Capitol, Capitol Square, House Room 4, Richmond,
Virginia.

A regular meeting of the board.

Contact:  Cindy M. Berndt, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone
(804) 698-4378.

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD

November 30, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
December 14, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
December 28, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage
Road, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to receive and discuss reports and activities
of staff members.

Contact:  W. Curtis Coleburn, Secretary to the Board,
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage
Rd., P.O. Box 27491, Richmond, VA 23261, telephone (804)
213-4409 or FAX (804) 213-4442.
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BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE
ARCHITECTS

† December 3, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting of the Landscape Architect Section to conduct
board business.  Persons desiring to participate in the
meeting and requiring special accommodations or
interpreter services should contact the board at least 10
days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements
can be made.  The board fully complies with the
Americans with Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-
8514, FAX (804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

† December 10, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting of the Interior Design Section to conduct
board business.  Persons desiring to participate in the
meeting and requiring special accommodations or
interpreter services should contact the board at least 10
days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements
can be made.  The board fully complies with the
Americans with Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX
(804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

† December 10, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting of the Regulatory Review Task Force
Committee to conduct board business.  A public
comment period will be held at the beginning of the
workshop.  Persons desiring to participate in the
meeting and requiring special accommodations or
interpreter services should contact the board at least 10
days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements
can be made.  The board fully complies with the
Americans with Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX
(804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

† December 17, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to conduct board business.

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX
(804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

VIRGINIA COMMISSION FOR THE ARTS

December 2, 1998 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Sweet Briar College, Route 29, Elston Hall Conference
Center, Amherst, Virginia.

A quarterly meeting to give final approval of artists to be
added to the Arts in Education Artist Roster and 1998-99
fellowships to individual artists in fiction, crafts,
sculpture and photography and discuss projects to
celebrate the new millennium.

Contact:  Peggy Baggett, Executive Director, Virginia
Commission for the Arts, 223 Governor St., Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 225-3132, FAX (804) 225-4327 or
(804) 225-3132/TTY (

COMPREHENSIVE SERVICES FOR AT-RISK
YOUTH AND THEIR FAMILIES

State Management Team

† December 3, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
St. Joseph's Villa, 8000 Brook Road, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to discuss recommendations for policy and
procedure to the State Executive Council on the
Comprehensive Services Act.  The management team
will be in a retreat all day.  No public comment will be
taken in this executive session.

Contact:  Elisabeth Hutton, Secretary, Department of
Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone
(804) 371-4099.

VIRGINIA AVIATION BOARD

† December 8, 1998 - 6 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Richmond International Airport, 1 Richard E. Byrd Terminal
Drive, Richmond International Airport, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

A joint meeting with the Capital Region Airport
Commission to discuss mutual issues.  No formal
actions will be taken.  Individuals with disabilities should
contact Margaret Fuller at least 10 days prior to the
meeting if assistance is needed.
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Contact:  Margaret Fuller, Department of Aviation, 5702
Gulfstream Road, Richmond International Airport, VA 23250-
2422, telephone (804) 236-3632 or (804) 236-3624/TTY (

† December 9, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A regular bimonthly meeting of the board.  Applications
for state funding will be presented to the board and other
matters of the Virginia aviation community will be
discussed.  Individuals with disabilities should contact
Margaret Fuller at least 10 days prior to the meeting if
assistance is needed.

Contact:  Margaret Fuller, Department of Aviation, 5702
Gulfstream Road, Richmond International Airport, VA 23250-
2422, telephone (804) 236-3632 or (804) 236-3624/TTY (

BOARD FOR BARBERS

December 14, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Conference Room 4
West, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting to discuss entry requirements.

Contact:  Nancy Taylor Feldman, Assistant Director,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-4917,
telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-2474 or (804)
367-9753/TTY (

BOARD FOR BRANCH PILOTS

† December 7, 1998 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting
† December 8, 1998 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Pilot Association, 3329 Shore Drive, Virginia Beach,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to conduct examinations and renewals.
Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and
requiring special accommodations or interpreter services
should contact the board at least 10 days prior to the
meeting so that suitable arrangements can be made.
The board fully complies with the Americans with
Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804)
367-8514, FAX (804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

† December 15, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Port Authority, 600 World Trade Center, Norfolk,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to conduct board business.  Persons desiring
to participate in the meeting and requiring special
accommodations or interpreter services should contact
the board at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that

suitable arrangements can be made.  The board fully
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804)
367-8514, FAX (804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

CHILD DAY-CARE COUNCIL

December 10, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Social Services, Theater Row Building, 730
East Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the
deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to discuss issues and concerns that impact
child day centers, camps, school age programs, and
preschool/nursery schools.  Public comment will be
received at noon.  Please call ahead of time for possible
change in meeting time.

Contact:  Rhonda Harrell, Division of Licensing Programs,
Department of Social Services, Theatre Row Bldg., 730 E.
Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-1775
or FAX (804) 692-2370.

STATE CHILD FATALITY REVIEW TEAM

† December 9, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
400 East Jackson Street, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to discuss confidential cases materials.  The
first half hour will include announcements, acceptance
of minutes and other administrative issues that team
members bring up.

Contact:  Suzanne J. Keller, Coordinator, State Child
Fatality Review Team, 400 East Jackson St., Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 786-1047, FAX (804) 371-8595 or
toll-free 1-800-447-1708.

COMPENSATION BOARD

November 25, 1998 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting
December 23, 1998 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting
202 North 9th Street, Ninth Street Office Building, 10th Floor,
Richmond, VA.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

Monthly board meeting.

Contact:  Cindy P. Waddell, Administrative Assistant,
Compensation Board, 202 N. 9th St., Ninth Street Office
Bldg., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0786, FAX
(804) 371-0235 or (804) 786-0786/TTY (
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COMMONWEALTH COMPETITION COUNCIL

† December 11, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate
Room A, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting to make recommendations on the
ESOP pre-feasibility analysis and report.

Contact:  Peggy R. Robertson, Executive Assistant,
Commonwealth Competition Council, James Madison Bldg.,
109 Governor St., P.O. Box 1475, Richmond, VA 23218-
1475, telephone (804) 786-0240 or FAX (804) 786-1594.

BOARD OF CONSERVATION AND RECREATION

† December 7, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
State Capitol, Capitol Square, House Room 1, Richmond,
Virginia.

A regular business meeting.

Contact:  Leon E. App, Regulatory Coordinator, Department
of Conservation and Recreation, 203 Governor St., Suite
302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6124, FAX
(804) 786-6141 or (804) 786-2121/TTY (

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND
RECREATION

† December 2, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Conservation and Recreation, Zincke
Building, 203 Governor Street, 3rd Floor, Conference Room,
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A meeting of the Board on Conservation and
Development of Public Beaches to discuss proposed
projects by localities requesting matching grant funds; to
review progress on the Value of Beaches study; and to
receive public comments about public beaches or the
activities of the board.

Contact:  Carlton Lee Hill, Staff Advisor, Department of
Conservation and Recreation, 203 Governor St., Suite 206,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3998 or FAX
(804) 786-1798.

† December 2, 1998 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Douthat State Park, Route 629, Restaurant, Millboro,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

The draft Douthat State Park Master Plan will be
reviewed and the public will be provided an opportunity
to comment on plan content.

Contact:  Richard G. Gibbons, Environmental Program
Planner, Department of Conservation and Recreation,
Division of Planning and Recreation Resources, 203
Governor St., Suite 326, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone
(804) 786-4132, FAX (804) 371-7899 or (804) 786-2121/TTY
(

† December 3, 1998 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Leesylvania State Park, Woodbridge, Virginia.

A quarterly meeting of the Virginia State Parks
Foundation.

Contact:  Leon E. App, Regulatory Coordinator, Department
of Conservation and Recreation, Division of Planning and
Recreation Resources, 203 Governor St., Suite 302,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6124, FAX (804)
786-6141 or (804) 786-2121/TTY (

† December 10, 1998 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Austinville Elementary School, 459 Store Hill Road,
Austinville, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

The update master development plan for the New River
Trail State Park will be presented to the public.  State
park staff will solicit the public’s comments on the plan
and its recommendations for proposed future
developments.  Maps and schematics of the park and its
development nodes will be presented.

Contact:  Robert S. Munson, Planner, Department of
Conservation and Recreation, 203 Governor St., Suite 326,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (9804) 786-6140 or (804)
786-2121/TTY (

Falls of the James Scenic River Advisory Board

December 3, 1998 - Noon -- Open Meeting
City Hall, 900 East Broad Street, Planning Commission
Conference Room, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to discuss river issues.  A public comment
period will follow the business meeting.

Contact:  Richard G. Gibbons, Environmental Program
Manager, Department of Conservation and Recreation,
Division of Planning and Recreation Resources, 203
Governor St., Suite 326, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone
(804) 786-4132, FAX (804) 371-7899 or (804) 786-2121/TTY
(

BOARD FOR COSMETOLOGY

December 7, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

An open meeting to discuss regulatory review and other
matters requiring board action, including disciplinary
cases.

Contact:  Nancy Taylor Feldman, Assistant Director,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone
(804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-2474 or (804) 367-9753/TTY
(
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CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD AND
COMMITTEE ON TRAINING

† December 1, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting of both groups to conduct general business.
The Criminal Justice Services Board will also consider
various grant applications.

Contact:  Karen Cress, Administrative Staff Assistant,
Criminal Justice Services Board, Department of Criminal
Justice Services, 805 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 786-7841 or FAX (804) 786-0588.

VIRGINIA ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
PARTNERSHIP

† December 1, 1998 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Economic Development, Riverfront Plaza, 901
East Byrd Street, West Tower, 19th Floor, Presentation
Center, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting of the Partnership Board to discuss matters
related to the Virginia Economic Development
Partnership.

Contact:  Kimberly M. Ellett, Administrative Assistant,
Virginia Economic Development Partnership, P.O. Box 798,
Richmond, VA 23218-0798, telephone (804) 371-8108, FAX
(804) 371-8112 or (804) 371-0327/TTY (

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Virginia School-to-Work Advisory Committee

November 23, 1998 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
The Library of Virginia, 800 East Broad Street, Conference
Rooms A and B, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to include an update on the Virginia School-
to-Work Initiative.

Contact:  Joseph Jones, Special Assistant, Department of
Education, Ninth St. Office Bldg., 200 N. 9th St., 5th Floor,
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 692-0244 or FAX
(804) 371-8654.

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS

† November 23, 1998 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
State Capitol, Capitol Square, House Room 2, Richmond,
Virginia.

A meeting to certify the November 3, 1998, elections
results.

Contact:  Vanessa Archie, Executive Secretary, State Board
of Elections, 9th Street Office Bldg., 200 N. 9th St., Suite

101, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-3014 or
FAX (804) 371-0194.

LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE -
CITY OF ALEXANDRIA

† December 9, 1998 - 4 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Potomac Electric Power Company, 1400 North Royal Street,
Alexandria, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A meeting to conduct business in accordance with
SARA Title III, Emergency Planning and Community
Right-to-Know Act of 1986.

Contact:  Charles W. McRorie, Emergency Preparedness
Coordinator, P.O. Box 178, Alexandria, VA 22313, telephone
(703) 838-3825 or (703) 838-5056/TTY (

LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE -
CHESTERFIELD COUNTY

December 3, 1998 - 5:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting
† January 7, 1999 - 5:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting
6610 Public Safety Way, Chesterfield, Virginia.

A regular meeting.

Contact:  Lynda G. Furr, Emergency Services Coordinator,
Chesterfield Fire Department, P.O. Box 40, Chesterfield, VA
23832, telephone (804) 748-1236.

LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE -
GOOCHLAND COUNTY

December 8, 1998 - 7:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Goochland Fire Station #5, 2710 Fairground Road,
Goochland, Virginia. (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A regular meeting.

Contact:  Stephen E. Grainer, Emergency Coordinator, P.O.
Box 306, Goochland, VA 23063, telephone (804) 556-5304
or (804) 556-5317/TTY (

LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE -
WINCHESTER

† December 2, 1998 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Shawnee Fire Company, 2333 Roosevelt Boulevard,
Winchester, Virginia.

A meeting to appoint the Nominating Committee and to
review the Table Top Exercise utilizing the recently
updated SARA Emergency Response Plan and
O’Sullivan Corporation.
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Contact:  L. A. Miller, Fire and Rescue Chief, Winchester
Fire and Rescue Dept., 126 N. Cameron St., Winchester, VA
22601, telephone (540) 662-2298 or (540) 662-4131/TTY (

VIRGINIA FIRE SERVICES BOARD

† December 3, 1998 - 7:30 p.m. -- Public Hearing
Abingdon Volunteer Fire Department, 133 West Main Street,
Abingdon, Virginia.

A public hearing to discuss fire training and policies and
to receive input and comments.  Comments will be
heard at the beginning of the meeting.

Contact:  Troy H. Lapetina, Executive Director, Department
of Fire Programs, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 18th
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-0220.

December 5, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Camberley’s Martha Washington Inn, Abingdon, Virginia.

A meeting of the board to discuss fire training and
policies.  The following committees will meet on
December 4:

Fire/EMS Education and Training Committee at 8:30
a.m.
Legislative/Liaison Committee at 10 a.m.
Fire Prevention and Control Committee at 1 p.m.

Contact:  Troy H. Lapetina, Executive Director, Department
of Fire Programs, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 18th
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-0220.

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND
EMBALMERS

Special Conference Committee

December 2, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
December 3, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to conduct informal hearings.  No public
comment will be received.

Contact:  Cheri Emma-Leigh, Administrative Staff Assistant,
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6606 W. Broad
St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804)
662-9970, FAX (804) 662-9523 or (804) 662-7197/TTY (

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES

Design-Build/Construction Management Review
Board

December 21, 1998 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting
† January 18, 1999 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting

The Library of Virginia, 800 East Broad Street, Richmond,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting of the board to review requests submitted by
localities for the use of the design-build or construction
management type of contract.  Public comments will be
taken.  The chairman may cancel the meeting if there is
no business for the board’s consideration.  Please
contact Sandra H. Williams at the Division of
Engineering and Buildings to confirm meeting date and
time.

Contact:  Sandra H. Williams, Administrative Assistant,
Department of General Services, Division of Engineering and
Buildings, 805 E. Broad St., Room 101, Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 786-3263, FAX (804) 371-7934 or
(804) 786-6152/TTY (

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

AIDS Drug Advisory Committee

† December 2, 1998 - 10:15 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Department of Health, Main Street Station, 1500
East Main Street, Room 121, Richmond, Virginia.

A regular meeting; no comments will be solicited.

Contact:  Ann Elam, Public Health Nurse Supervisor,
Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Room 112,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-8294 or toll-free
1-800-533-4148.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS

December 11, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting of the Health Practitioners’ Intervention
Program Committee to meet with the committee’s
contractor and representatives to review reports, policies
and procedures for the Health Practitioner’s Intervention
Program.  The committee will meet in open session for
general discussion of the program.  The committee may
meet in executive session to consider specific requests
from applicants or participants in the program.

Contact:  John W. Hasty, Director, Department of Health
Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9424, FAX (804) 662-9114
or (804) 662-7197/TTY (

* * * * * * * *

† January 6, 1999 - 10 a.m. – Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 1, Richmond, Virginia.
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January 22, 1999 – Public comments may be submitted
until this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Board of Health
Professions intends to consider amending regulations
entitled:  18 VAC 75-20-10 et seq.  Regulations
Governing Practitioner Self-Referral.  The purpose of
the proposed amendments is to simplify the process for
administration of the Practitioner Self-Referral Act (§
54.1-2410 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and to
eliminate a standing committee of the board to consider
applications for advisory opinions or exceptions to the
Act.

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2412 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Robert A. Nebiker, Executive Director, Board of
Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor,
Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9910 or
FAX (804) 662-9943.

VIRGINIA HIGHER EDUCATION TUITION TRUST
FUND

November 23, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 3rd Floor,
Treasury Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A regular meeting of the board of directors.

Contact:  Libby Dutton, Director of Administration, Virginia
Higher Education Tuition Trust Fund, James Monroe
Building, 101 N. 14th St., 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 786-0730, FAX (804) 786-2453, toll-free 1-
888-567-0540 or 1-888-203-1278/TTY (

DEPARTMENT OF HISTORIC RESOURCES BOARD

Board of Historic Resources and State Review
Board

December 2, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Isle of Wight Courthouse, 17130 Monument Circle, Isle of
Wight Courthouse, Virginia.

A quarterly meeting to consider completed and proposed
reports for the National Register of Historic Places and
the Virginia Landmarks Register, easements and
highway markers.

Contact:  Marc C. Wagner, National Register Manager,
Department of Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Ave.,
Richmond, VA 23221, telephone (804) 367-2323, FAX (804)
367-2391 or (804) 367-2386/TTY (

VIRGINIA HISTORIC PRESERVATION
FOUNDATION

† November 24, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Historical Society, 2801 Kensington Avenue, 2nd
Floor, Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting of the trustees of the foundation to consider
proposals to preserve significant threatened historic
properties through acquisition and resale with
appropriate protective covenants.

Contact:  Robert A. Carter, Director, Community Services,
Department of Historic Resources, 10 Courthouse Ave.,
Petersburg, VA 23803, telephone (804) 863-1620, FAX (804)
863-1627 or (804) 367-2386/TTY (

COUNCIL ON INFORMATION MANAGEMENT

† December 18, 1998 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Economic Development Partnership, 901 East Byrd
Street, Richmond, Virginia.

A regular meeting of Virginia Geographic Information
Network Advisory Board.

Contact:  William Shinar, Virginia Geographic Information
Network Coordinator, Washington Bldg., 1100 Bank St.,
Suite 901, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-3622,
FAX (804) 371-7952 or toll-free 1-800-828-1120/TTY (

VIRGINIA INNOVATIVE TECHNOLOGY AUTHORITY

† December 8, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Center for Innovative Technology, 2214 Rock Hill Road,
Suite 600, Herndon, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A quarterly meeting of the Executive Committee of the
Virginia Commercial Space Flight Authority to discuss
business of the authority as determined by the chairman
and executive director of the authority.

Contact:  Robert G. Templin, Jr., Virginia Innovative
Technology Authority, 2214 Rock Hill Rd., Suite 600,
Herndon, VA 20170, telephone (703) 689-3010 or FAX (703)
689-3001.

VIRGINIA INTERAGENCY COORDINATING
COUNCIL

† December 9, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Housing Development Authority, 601 South
Belvidere Street, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the
deaf provided upon request)

The council meets quarterly to advise and assist the
Virginia Department of Mental Health, Mental
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services as lead
agency for Part C (of IDEA), early intervention for infants
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and toddlers with disabilities and their families.
Discussion will focus on issues related to Virginia's
implementation of the Part C program.

Contact:  Nicole Rada, Part C Office Services Specialist,
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and
Substance Abuse Services, Early Intervention, 10th Floor,
P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804)
786-3710 or FAX (804) 371-7959.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY

November 30, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted
until this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Department of Labor and
Industry intends to repeal regulations entitled:  16 VAC
15-20-10 et seq.  Regulations Establishing a Multiple
of Federal Minimum Hourly Wage Relating to
Garnishment of Wages and adopt regulations entitled:
16 VAC 15-21-10 et seq.  Maximum Garnishment
Amounts.  Section 34-29 of the Code of Virginia
provides that the maximum amount which may be
garnished by an employer is that amount by which an
employee’s disposable earnings for a week exceed 30
times the federal minimum hourly wage rate (F.M.W.R.)
in effect at the time earnings are payable.  That section
also provides that an employer may not garnish more
than 25% of disposable earnings in cases of ordinary
debt.  The section requires the Commissioner of Labor
and Industry to establish equivalent maximum earnings
which may be garnished by employers for other pay
periods, such as biweekly, semimonthly, monthly, and
longer than monthly pay periods.

The current regulation, 16 VAC 15-20-10 et seq.,
contains specific dollar figures based on the then-current
F.M.W.R.  Since 1970, the F.M.W.R. has increased
several times, requiring the commissioner to repeatedly
revise the regulation.

The commissioner proposed to repeal the current
regulation and to replace it with a new regulation,
proposed 16 VAC 15-21-10 et seq. Maximum
Garnishment Amounts.  The purpose of the replacement
regulation is to clearly set forth the method for
calculating the necessary amounts, but to omit specific
dollar amounts.  This new regulation will not make any
substantive change to the previous method of
calculating the maximum garnishment amounts.  The
new regulation will simply and clearly state the method
of calculation, and omit any specific dollar amounts as
shown in the current regulation.

Statutory Authority:  § 34-29 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until November 30,
1998, to Bonnie Hopkins, Regulatory Coordinator,
Department of Labor and Industry, 13 South 13th Street,
Richmond, VA 23219.

Contact:  Anupama Agarwal, Agency Management Analyst
Senior, Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor
Bldg., 13 S. 13th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
371-2316, FAX (804) 371-2324 or (804) 786-2376/TTY (

Virginia Apprenticeship Council

December 10, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Confederate Hills Recreation Center, 302 Lee Avenue,
Highland Springs, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular quarterly meeting of the council to discuss the
subcommittee’s report on bylaws and goals and
objectives of the council and to discuss the 60th
Celebration Committee’s report.

Contact:  Beverly Donati, Assistant Program Director,
Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor Bldg, 13
S. 13th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2382,
FAX (804) 786-8418 or (804) 786-2376/TTY (

Migrant and Seasonal Farmworkers Board

December 2, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
State Capitol, Capitol Square, House Room 1, Richmond,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A regular quarterly meeting of the board.

Contact:  Patti C. Bell, Board Administrator, Migrant and
Seasonal Farmworkers Board, Department of Labor and
Industry, Powers-Taylor Bldg., 13 S. 13th St., Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 225-3083, FAX (804) 786-8418 or
(804) 786-2376/TTY (

VIRGINIA MANUFACTURED HOUSING BOARD

December 2, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Housing and Community Development, The
Jackson Center, 501 North 2nd Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A regular monthly meeting.

Contact:  Curtis L. McIver, Associate Director, Department
of Housing and Community Development, The Jackson
Center, 501 N. 2nd St., 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 371-7160 or (804) 371-7089/TTY (

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION

November 23, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
December 21, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue,
Room 403, Newport News, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the
deaf provided upon request)

The commission will hear and decide the following
marine environmental matters at 9:30 a.m.:  permit
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applications for projects in wetlands, bottom lands,
coastal primary sand dunes and beaches; appeals of
local wetland board decisions; and policy and regulatory
issues.  The commission will hear and decide the
following fishery management items at approximately
noon: regulatory proposals and fishery management
plans; fishery conservation issues; licensing; and
shellfish leasing.  Amendments to 4 VAC 20-720-10 et
seq., Pertaining to Restrictions on Oyster Harvest, will
be considered.  Meetings are open to the public.
Testimony will be taken under oath from parties
addressing agenda items on permits and licensing.
Public comments will be taken on resource matters,
regulatory issues and items scheduled for public
hearing.

Contact:  LaVerne Lewis, Secretary to the Commission,
Marine Resources Commission, P.O. Box 756, Newport
News, VA 23607-0756, telephone (757) 247-2261, toll-free 1-
800-541-4646 or (757) 247-2292/TTY(

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES

† December 7, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad
Street, 13th Floor, Suite 1300, Richmond, Virginia.

A regular meeting of the Pharmacy Liaison Committee.

Contact:  Marianne Rollings, R.Ph., Pharmacy Services,
Client Services, Department of Medical Assistance Services,
600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 225-4268.

BOARD OF MEDICINE

December 4, 1998 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting of the Executive Committee in open and
closed sessions to (i) review disciplinary files requiring
administrative action, (ii) consider amendments to
regulations being promulgated, (iii) interview applicants,
and (iv) act on other issues that come before the board.
The chairman will entertain public comments on agenda
items for 15 minutes following adoption of the agenda.

Contact:  Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, Department of Health Professions, 6606
W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9943 or (804)
662-7197/TTY (

December 4, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting of the full board to discuss the
recommendation of JLARC to the General Assembly
which affects the licensing, administrative function, and
composition of the Board of Medicine.

Contact:  Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, Department of Health Professions, 6606
W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9943 or (804)
662-7197/TTY (

NOTE:  CHANGE IN MEETING TIME AND DATE
December 4, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

The Credentials Committee will meet in open and closed
session to (i) conduct general business, (ii) interview
and review medical credentials of applicants applying for
licensure in Virginia, and (iii) act on other issues that
come before the committee.  The committee will receive
public comments of those persons appearing on behalf
of candidates.

Contact:  Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, Department of Health Professions, 6606
W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9943 or (804)
662-7197/TTY (

Informal Conference Committee

December 3, 1998 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Roanoke Airport Marriott, 2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke,
Virginia.

† December 10, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

† December 11, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Williamsburg Hospitality House, 415 Richmond Road,
Williamsburg, Virginia.

† December 16, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Sheraton Inn, 2801 Plank Road, Fredericksburg, Virginia.

A meeting to inquire into allegations that certain
practitioners may have violated laws and regulations
governing the practice of medicine and other healing
arts in Virginia.  On December 10, a panel of the board
will convene, pursuant to § 54.1-2400 of the Code of
Virginia, to inquire into allegations that a practitioner
may have violated laws governing the practice of
medicine.  The committee will meet in open and closed
sessions pursuant to § 2.1-344 A 7 and A 15 of the
Code of Virginia.  Public comment will not be received.

Contact:  Karen W. Perrine, Deputy Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, Department of Health Professions, 6606
W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-7693, FAX (804) 662-9517 or (804)
662-7197/TTY (
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VIRGINIA MILITARY INSTITUTE

† December 5, 1998 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Military Institute, Preston Library, Turman Room,
Lexington, Virginia.

A meeting of the Board of Visitors to conduct visits to
academic departments and to hear committee reports.
The board will not provide an opportunity for public
comment at this meeting.  Public comment is received
at the first meeting of the academic year, normally in
August.

Contact: Colonel Edwin L. Dooley, Jr., Secretary to the
Board, Virginia Military Institute, Superintendent’s Office,
Lexington, VA 24450, telephone (540) 464-7206 or (540)
464-7660/TTY (

STATE MILK COMMISSION

† December 11, 1998 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Forestry, 900 Natural Resources Drive,
Training Room, 1st Floor, Charlottesville, Virginia.

A regular meeting to discuss industry issues, distributor
licensing, Virginia base transfers, Virginia baseholding
license amendments, regulations, and fiscal matters and
to review reports from the staff of the Milk Commission.
The commission may consider other matters pertaining
to its responsibilities.  Any persons who require
accommodations in order to participate in the meeting
should contact Edward C. Wilson, Jr., at least five days
prior to the meeting date so that suitable arrangements
can be made.

Contact:  Edward C. Wilson, Jr., Deputy Administrator,
State Milk Commission, 200 N. 9th St., Suite 915,
Richmond, VA 23219-3414, telephone (804) 786-2013 or
(804) 786-2013/TTY (

OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY

† December 10, 1998 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Old Dominion University, Webb University Center, Norfolk,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

Quarterly meeting of the Board of Visitors to discuss
business of the University as brought forth as a result of
meetings of its Academic Affairs, Administration and
Finance, Institutional Advancement, and Student Affairs
Committees, and as determined by the Rector and
President of the University.

Contact:  Donna W. Meeks, Secretary to the Board of
Visitors, 225 New Administration Building, Norfolk, VA
23529, telephone (757) 683-3072 or FAX (757) 683-5679.

VIRGINIA OUTDOORS FOUNDATION

† December 1, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Middle Peninsula Planning District Commission Office,
Saluda, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A meeting of the Open-Space Lands Preservation Trust
Fund Advisory Board (Region 3) to conduct the general
business of the board, review applications received for
funding under the Open-Space Lands Preservation Trust
Fund, and make recommendations on funding.  Public
comment will be received after the conclusion of the
regular business meeting.

Contact:  Leslie D. Trew, Conservation Easement Specialist,
Virginia Outdoors Foundation, 203 Governor St., Suite 317,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2147 or FAX
(804) 371-4810.

† December 9, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Wytheville Community College, Smyth Hall, Continuing
Education Conference Room, Wytheville, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting of the Open-Space Lands Preservation Trust
Fund Advisory Board (Region 4) to conduct the general
business of the board, review applications received for
funding under the Open-Space Lands Preservation Trust
Fund, and make recommendations on funding.  Public
comment will be received after the conclusion of the
regular business meeting.

Contact:  Tamara Vance, Executive Director, Virginia
Outdoors Foundation, 203 Governor St., Suite 317,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (540) 951-2822 or FAX
(540) 951-2695.

December 10, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
December 11, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
State Capitol, Capitol Square, Richmond, Virginia.

A regularly scheduled meeting of the Board of Trustees
to discuss foundation business and accept conservation
easements.  Public input will be accepted after the
regular business meeting.

Contact:  Tamara Vance, Executive Director, Virginia
Outdoors Foundation, 203 Governor St., Suite 317,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2147 or FAX
(804) 371-4810.

BOARD OF PHARMACY

November 23, 1998 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting of the Ad Hoc Advisory Committee on
Pharmacy Compounding to discuss the need for specific
regulation of pharmacy compounding.  This is a working
committee meeting and no public comment will be
received.
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Contact:  Elizabeth Scott Russell, Executive Director, Board
of Pharmacy, Department of Health Professions, 6606 W.
Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone
(804) 662-9911 or FAX (804) 662-9313.

November 23, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting of the Regulation Committee to (i) draft
responses to public comments received on proposed
regulations; (ii) review material received during the
hearing on narrow therapeutic index drugs and formulate
a recommendation for the full board to consider; (iii)
review the issue of delivery of prescriptions to alternate
locations other than the patient’s address; (iv) begin
considering circumstances and conditions for granting
waiver of restricted access regulations to free clinic
pharmacies; and (v) possibly review other petitions for
rulemaking.  This is a working meeting of the committee
and public comments will not be received.

Contact:  Elizabeth Scott Russell, Executive Director, Board
of Pharmacy, Department of Health Professions, 6606 W.
Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone
(804) 662-9911, FAX (804) 662-9313 or (804) 662-7197/TTY
(

November 23, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.

A board panel will conduct formal hearings.  Public
comments will not be received.

Contact:  Elizabeth Scott Russell, Executive Director, Board
of Pharmacy, Department of Health Professions, 6606 W.
Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone
(804) 662-9911 or FAX (804) 662-9313.

† December 8, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.

A general business meeting to (i) consider disciplinary
matters and conduct disciplinary proceedings; (ii) review
and respond to public comments received on proposed
regulation 18 VAC 110-20-10 et seq., published on
August 3, 1998, and adopt final regulations; and (iii)
receive a report from the Regulation Committee and
respond to petitions for rulemaking and
recommendations of that committee.  Public comments
will be received at the beginning of the meeting
immediately following the approval of the agenda and
the review and acceptance of the minutes.

Contact:  Elizabeth Scott Russell, Executive Director, Board
of Pharmacy, Department of Health Professions, 6606 W.
Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone
(804) 662-9911 or FAX (804) 662-9313.

† December 15, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 3, Richmond, Virginia.

A Special Conference Committee will hear informal
conferences.  Public comments will not be received.

Contact:  Elizabeth Scott Russell, Executive Director, Board
of Pharmacy, Department of Health Professions, 6606 W.
Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone
(804) 662-9911 or FAX (804) 662-9313.

POLYGRAPH EXAMINERS ADVISORY BOARD

December 15, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Conference Room 4-
West, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting to discuss regulatory review and other board
action and to administer the Polygraph Examiner
Licensing Examination to eligible polygraph examiner
interns.

Contact:  Nancy Taylor Feldman, Assistant Director,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-4917,
telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-2474 or (804)
367-9753/TTY(

BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL
COUNSELORS, MARRIAGE AND FAMILY
THERAPISTS AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE

TREATMENT PROFESSIONALS

† December 8, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
Conference Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.

Informal administrative hearings will be held pursuant to
§ 9-6.14:11 of the Code of Virginia.  No public comment
will be received.

Contact:  Evelyn Brown, Executive Director, Board of
Licensed Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family
Therapists and Substance Abuse Treatment Professionals,
6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230,
telephone (804) 662-9967 or FAX (804) 662-9343.

VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION

December 11, 1998 - Public comments may be submitted
until this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the Virginia Racing
Commission intends to amend regulations entitled:  11
VAC 10-60-10 et seq.  Regulations Pertaining to
Horse Racing with Pari-Mutuel Wagering:
Participants.  The proposed regulation reflects more
closely the intent of the statute regarding the
consideration of applications for participation in horse
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racing, thereby eliminating the provisional permit.
Furthermore, the regulation takes into account changes
in the standard operating procedures found at most
racetracks in the mid-Atlantic region since the current
regulation was promulgated seven years ago.

Statutory Authority:  § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  William H. Anderson, Policy Analyst, Virginia
Racing Commission, 10700 Horsemen’s Road, New Kent,
VA 23124, telephone (804) 966-4200 or FAX (804) 966-
8906.

REAL ESTATE BOARD

† December 9, 1998 - 4 p.m. -- Open Meeting
† December 10, 1998 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

A general business meeting of the Education
Committee.  Persons desiring to participate in the
meeting and requiring special accommodations or
interpreter services should contact the board at least two
weeks prior to the meeting.  The department fully
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Karen W. O’Neal, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX
(804) 367-2475, or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

† December 10, 1998 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

A general business meeting of the Fair Housing
Committee and the Education Committee.  Persons
desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring
special accommodations or interpreter services should
contact the board at least two weeks prior to the
meeting.  The department fully complies with the
Americans with Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Karen W. O’Neal, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX
(804) 367-2475, or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

† December 10, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.

A general business meeting of the board.  Persons
desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring
special accommodations or interpreter services should
contact the board at least two weeks prior to the
meeting.  The department fully complies with the
Americans with Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Karen W. O’Neal, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad

St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX
(804) 367-2475, or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

† December 14, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, Chesapeake
Regional Office, 1103 South Military Highway, Chesapeake,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to conduct informal fact-finding conferences
pursuant to § 9-6.14:11 of the Administrative Process
Act.  Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and
requiring special accommodations or interpreter services
should contact the board at least two weeks prior to the
meeting.  The department fully complies with the
Americans with Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Debbie A. Amaker, Legal Assistant, Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8582, FAX
(804) 367-2179, or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

VIRGINIA RECYCLING MARKETS DEVELOPMENT
COUNCIL

† December 8, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Central Virginia Waste Management Authority, 2104 West
Laburnum Avenue, Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A quarterly meeting.  Meetings are dependent on a
quorum of 10.  Subcommittee meetings may be held
prior to or after the general council meeting.  Call Mike
Murphy for details or e-mail
mpmurphy@deq.state.va.us.

Contact:  Michael P. Murphy, Director, Environmental
Enhancement, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O.
Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240-0009, telephone (804)
698-4003, FAX (804) 698-4319, (804) 698-4021/TTY ( , toll
free 1-800-592-5482 or e-mail mpmurphy@deq.state.va.us.

VIRGINIA RESOURCES AUTHORITY

December 8, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Resources Authority, Mutual Building, 909 East Main
Street, Suite 700, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to approve minutes of the prior meeting, to
review the authority’s operations for the prior month, and
to consider other matters and take other actions as the
authority may deem appropriate.  The planned agenda
of the meeting will be available at the offices of the
authority one week prior to the date of the meeting.
Public comments will be received at the beginning of the
meeting.

Contact:  Robert W. Lauterberg, Executive Director, Virginia
Resources Authority, P.O. Box 1300, Richmond, VA 23218,
telephone (804) 644-3100 or FAX (804) 644-3109.
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RICHMOND HOSPITAL AUTHORITY

† December 18, 1998 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Richmond Nursing Home, 1900 Cool Lane, 2nd Floor
Classroom, Richmond, Virginia. 

A monthly meeting of the Board of Commissioners to
discuss nursing home operations and related matters.

Contact:  Marilyn H. West, Chairman, Richmond Hospital
Authority, P.O. Box 548, 700 E. Main St., Suite 904,
Richmond, VA 23219-0548, telephone (804) 782-1938.

VIRGINIA SMALL BUSINESS ADVISORY BOARD

† November 30, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Chamber of Commerce - Chesapeake Division, 400 Volvo
Parkway, Chesapeake, Virginia.

A meeting to advise, counsel and confer with the
Virginia Small Business Development Center Network
on matters pertaining to the operation of the center.

Contact:  Anthony Moore, Sr., Associate State Director,
Virginia Small Business Development Center, 707 E. Main
St., 3rd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-
8258 or FAX (804) 225-3384.

VIRGINIA SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION
BOARD

† December 7, 1998 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Roanoke Airport Marriott Hotel, 9300 Hershberger Road,
N.W., Roanoke, Virginia.

A regular board meeting and joint board meeting with
the Virginia Association of Soil and Water Conservation
Districts’ Board of Directors.  Election of officers will take
place.

Contact:  Leon App, Regulatory Coordinator, Department of
Conservation and Recreation, 203 Governor St., Suite 302,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6124, FAX (804)
786-6141 or (804) 786-2121/TTY (

COUNCIL ON TECHNOLOGY SERVICES

November 24, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Transportation, 1401 E. Broad Street,
Auditorium, Richmond, Virginia.

An organizational meeting of the council.

Contact:  Jamie Breeden, Administrative Assistant,
Department of Information Technology, 110 S. 7th St., 3rd
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-5506, FAX
(804) 371-5273 or (804) 371-8076.

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD

† December 16, 1998 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street,
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A work session of the board and the Department of
Transportation staff.

Contact: Shirley J. Ybarra, Secretary of Transportation,
1401 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
786-6675.

† December 17, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street,
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A monthly meeting of the board to vote on proposals
presented regarding bids, permits, additions and
deletions to the highway system, and any other matters
requiring board approval.  Public comment will be
received at the outset of the meeting on items on the
meeting agenda for which the opportunity for comment
has not been afforded the public in another forum.
Remarks will be limited to five minutes.  Large groups
are asked to select one individual to speak for the group.
The board reserves the right to amend these conditions.
Separate committee meetings may be held on call of the
chairman.  Contact Department of Transportation Public
Affairs at (804) 786-2715 for schedule.

Contact: Shirley J. Ybarra, Secretary of Transportation,
1401 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
786-6675.

TRANSPORTATION SAFETY BOARD

December 3, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street,
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A quarterly meeting to discuss transportation safety
matters.

Contact:  Angelisa Jennings, Management Analyst,
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 W. Broad St., Room
405, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-2026 or
FAX (804) 367-6031.

TREASURY BOARD

† January 21, 1999 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, Treasury
Board Room, 3rd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

A regular business meeting.
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Contact:  Gloria J. Hatchel, Administrative Assistant,
Department of the Treasury, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N.
14th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6011.

BOARD FOR THE VISUALLY HANDICAPPED

January 19, 1999 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department for the Visually Handicapped, 397 Azalea
Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A quarterly meeting to receive information regarding
department activities and operations, review
expenditures from the board’s institutional fund, and
discuss other issues raised by board members.

Contact:  Katherine C. Proffitt, Executive Secretary Senior,
Board for the Visually Handicapped, 397 Azalea Ave.,
Richmond, VA 23227, telephone (804) 371-3140, FAX (804)
371-3351, toll-free 1-800-622-2155, or (804) 371-3140/TTY
(

DEPARTMENT FOR THE VISUALLY HANDICAPPED

Statewide Rehabilitation Council for the Blind

December 5, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department for the Visually Handicapped, 397 Azalea
Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A quarterly meeting of the council to advise the
department on matters related to vocational
rehabilitation services for the blind and visually impaired
citizens of the Commonwealth.

Contact:  James G. Taylor, Vocational Rehabilitation
Program Director, Department for the Visually Handicapped,
397 Azalea Ave., Richmond, VA 23227, telephone (804) 371-
3111, toll-free 1-800-622-2155 or (804) 371-3140/TTY (

VIRGINIA WAR MEMORIAL FOUNDATION

January 12, 1999 - Noon -- Open Meeting
Virginia War Memorial, 621 South Belvidere Street,
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A regular business meeting of the Board of Trustees.

Contact:  Sandra H. Williams, Administrative Assistant,
Department of General Services, 805 E. Broad St., Room
101, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3263, FAX
(804) 371-7934 or (804) 786-6152/TTY (

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD

† December 10, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
State Capitol, Capitol Square, House Room 4, Richmond,
Virginia.

A regular meeting.

Contact:  Cindy M. Berndt, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone
(804) 698-4378.

† December 10, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street,
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A meeting of the Technical Advisory Committee to
discuss the development of the proposed Regulation for
Transportation of Solid and Medical Wastes on State
Waters, 9 VAC 20-170-10 et seq.  Persons wishing to
receive notification of future meetings of the Technical
Advisory Committee should contact Lily Choi.

Contact:  Lily Choi, Environmental Engineer Senior,
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009,
Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4054 or FAX
(804) 698-4032.

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

† December 3, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.

A regular meeting.

Contact:  Cindy M. Berndt, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone
(804) 698-4378.

* * * * * * * *

† January 8, 1999 - 10 a.m. – Public Hearing
Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional
Office Training Room, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen,
Virginia.

January 25, 1999 – Public comments may be submitted
until this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1
of the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control
Board intends to amend regulations entitled:  9 VAC 25-
190-10 et seq.  Virginia Pollutant Discharge
Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit
Regulation  for Nonmetallic Mineral Mining.  The
purpose of the proposed amendment is to reissue a
general VPDES permit for nonmetallic mineral mining
for another five-year period.  The current general permit
expires on June 30, 1999.  Minor modifications to the
general permit have also been made.



Calendar of Events

Volume 15, Issue 5 Monday, November 23, 1998

751

Statutory Authority:  § 62.1-44.15 (10) of the Code of
Virginia.

Contact:  Michael B. Gregory, Environmental Engineer
Senior, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box
10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4065 or
FAX (804) 698-4032.

INDEPENDENT

STATE LOTTERY BOARD

† December 10, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, Richmond,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A regular business meeting of the board.  Public
comment will be received at the beginning of the
meeting.

Contact:  Barbara L. Robertson, Board, Legislative and
Regulatory Coordinator, State Lottery Department, 900 E.
Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-7105 or
FAX (804) 692-7775.

LEGISLATIVE

SENATE COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE,
CONSERVATION AND NATURAL RESOURCES

† December 16, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate
Room B, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting called by the chairman of the committee to
consider legislation continued to the 1999 Session of the
General Assembly.  Individuals requiring interpreter
services or other special assistance should contact the
committee operations office at least 10 working days
prior to the meeting.

Contact:  Brian B. Taylor, Senate Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 236, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
7450 or (804) 698-7419/TTY (

Subcommittee on HB 1207

† November 23, 1998 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate
Room B, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting.  Individuals requiring interpreter
services or other special assistance should contact the
committee operations office at least 10 working days
prior to the meeting.

Contact:  Brian B. Taylor, Senate Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 236, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
7450 or (804) 698-7419/TTY (

CHESAPEAKE BAY RESTORATION FUND
ADVISORY COMMITTEE

† December 3, 1998 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, 4th Floor
East Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

A regular meeting.  Individuals requiring interpreter
services or other accommodations should contact the
committee operations office at least 10 working days
prior to the meeting.

Contact:  Brian B. Taylor, Senate Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 396, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
7450 or (804) 698-7419/TTY (

COMMISSION ON THE CONDITION AND FUTURE
OF VIRGINIA’S CITIES (HJR 432)

December 2, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
George Washington Memorial Masonic Temple, Alexandria,
Virginia.

January 5, 1999 - Time to be announced -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th & Broad Streets, House
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting.  Questions regarding the meeting
should be directed to Jeff Sharp or Nikki Rovner,
Division of Legislative Services, (804) 786-3591.
Individuals requiring interpreter services or other special
assistance should contact Barbara Regen at least 10
working days prior to the meeting.

Contact:  Barbara L. Regen, House Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

HOUSE COMMITTEE ON COUNTIES, CITIES AND
TOWNS

† December 7, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting to consider carryover legislation. Questions
regarding the meeting should be addressed to Jeff
Sharp or Nikki Rovner, Division of Legislative Services,
(804) 786-3591.  Individuals requiring interpreter
services or other special assistance should contact the
committee operations office at least 10 working days
prior to the meeting.
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Contact:  Barbara L. Regen, House Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

HOUSE COMMITTEE FOR COURTS OF JUSTICE

November 23, 1998 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting of the full committee to discuss
carryover legislation.

The following subcommittees will meet prior to the full
committee meeting:

Juvenile and Family Law Subcommittee - 9 a.m., 4th
Floor West Conference Room
Criminal Law Subcommittee - 10 a.m., House Room D
Civil Law Subcommittee - 10 a.m., 5th Floor West
Conference Room

Contact:  Anne R. Howard, House Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

December 4, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

Judicial interviews. Questions regarding the meeting
should be addressed to Mary K. Geisen, Judicial Staff,
Division of Legislative Services, (804) 786-3591.

Contact:  Anne R. Howard, House Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

SENATE COMMITTEE FOR COURTS OF JUSTICE

† December 3, 1998 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate
Room A, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting to consider continued legislation.  Individuals
requiring interpreter services or other accommodations
should call or write the committee operations office at
least seven working days prior to the meeting.

Contact:  Patty Lung, Senate Committee Operations, P.O.
Box 396, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-7450 or
(804) 698-7419/TTY (

† December 4, 1998 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate
Room A, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

Judicial interviews.  Individuals requiring interpreter
services or other accommodations should call or write

the committee operations office at least seven working
days prior to the meeting.

Contact:  Patty Lung, Senate Committee Operations, P.O.
Box 396, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-7450 or
(804) 698-7419/TTY (

COMMISSION ON EARLY CHILDHOOD AND CHILD
DAY CARE PROGRAMS

November 24, 1998 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
December 22, 1998 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate
Room B, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

Questions regarding the meeting should be directed to
Amy Marschean, Division of Legislative Services, (804)
786-3591.  Individuals requiring interpreter services or
other assistance should contact Brian Taylor, Senate
Committee Operations.

Contact:  Brian B. Taylor, Senate Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 396, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
7450 or (804) 698-7419/TTY (

JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE STUDYING EARLY
INTERVENTION SERVICES FOR INFANTS AND
TODDLERS WITH DISABILITIES (HJR 581, 1998)

December 10, 1998 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting.  Please call Amy Marschean,
Division of Legislative Services, 910 Capitol Square, 2nd
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3591
with any questions regarding this meeting. Individuals
requiring interpreter services or special assistance
should contact Dawn Smith at least 10 working days
prior to the meeting.

Contact:  Dawn B. Smith, Committee Operations, House of
Delegates, State Capitol, P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA
23218, telephone (804) 698-1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

HOUSE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION

† November 24, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting to consider carryover legislation.  Questions
regarding the meeting should be addressed to Kathy
Harris or Brenda Edwards, Division of Legislative
Services, (804) 786-3591.  Individuals requiring
interpreter services or other special assistance should
contact the committee operations office at least 10
working days prior to the meeting.
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Contact:  Barbara L. Regen, House Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

COMMISSION ON EDUCATIONAL
INFRASTRUCTURE (HJR 165)

November 23, 1998 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting.  Questions regarding the meeting
should be addressed to Norma Szakal, Division of
Legislative Services, (804) 786-3591.  Individuals
requiring interpreter services or other special assistance
should contact the committee operations office at least
10 working days prior to the meeting.

Contact:  Lois V. Johnson, House Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

SUBCOMMITTEE STUDYING THE FUTURE OF
VIRGINIA’S ENVIRONMENT (HJR 136)

December 17, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting. Please direct all questions regarding
the agenda to Shannon Varner, Division of Legislative
Services, at (804) 786-3591.  Individuals requiring
interpreter services or other accommodations should
contact the committee operations office at least 10
working days prior to the meeting.

Contact:  Lois V. Johnson, Committee Operations, House of
Delegates, State Capitol, P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA
23218, telephone (804) 698-1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE STUDYING THE
EDUCATIONAL NEEDS OF UNDERSERVED

GIFTED STUDENTS (HJR 251, 1998)

December 3, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Regional Governor’s School, Northern Virginia.
December 7, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Regional Governor’s School, Richmond, Virginia.

A regular meeting.  Please call Brenda Edwards,
Division of Legislative Services, 910 Capitol Square, 2nd
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3591
with any questions regarding this meeting. Individuals
requiring interpreter services or special assistance
should contact Dawn Smith at least 10 working days
prior to the meeting.

Contact:  Dawn B. Smith, Committee Operations, House of
Delegates, State Capitol, P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA
23218, telephone (804) 698-1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

SPECIAL JOINT COURTS OF JUSTICE
SUBCOMMITTEE STUDYING THE JUDICIAL

SELECTION PROCESS

† December 7, 1998 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, 6th Floor
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the
deaf provided upon request)

A regular meeting and working session.  Questions
regarding the meeting should be addressed to Mary K.
Geisen, Judicial Staff, Division of Legislative Services,
(804) 786-3591.  Individuals requiring interpreter
services or other special assistance should contact the
committee operations office at least 10 working days
prior to the meeting.

Contact:  Anne R. Howard, House Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE TO STUDY THE
REORGANIZATION OF THE LIBRARY OF VIRGINIA

(SJR 173, 1998)
† November 25, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate
Room B, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting.  Questions regarding the meeting
should be addressed to Kathy Harris or Maria J.K.
Everett, Division of Legislative Services, (804) 786-
3591.  Individuals requiring interpreter services or other
assistance should contact Brian Taylor, Senate
Committee Operations.

Contact:  Brian B. Taylor, Senate Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 396, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
7450 or (804) 698-7419/TTY (

JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE STUDYING MEDICAID
REIMBURSEMENT BILLING PROGRAM FOR

PUBLIC SCHOOLS (SJR 182, 1998)

December 18, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate
Room B, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting.  Individuals requiring interpreter
services or other accommodations should call or write
the committee operations office at least 10 working days
prior to the meeting.
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Contact:  Patty Lung, Senate Committee Operations, P.O.
Box 396, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-7450 or
(804) 698-7419/TTY (

JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE STUDYING THE FUTURE
DELIVERY OF PUBLICLY FUNDED MENTAL

HEALTH, MENTAL RETARDATION AND
SUBSTANCE ABUSE SERVICES (HJR 225)

December 16, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting.  Individuals requiring interpreter
services or other special assistance should contact
Dawn Smith at least 10 working days prior to the
meeting.

Contact:  Dawn B. Smith, Committee Operations, House of
Delegates, State Capitol, P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA
23218, telephone (804) 698-1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE STUDYING REMEDIATION
(HJR 62, 1998)

November 30, 1998 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting.  Questions regarding the meeting
should be addressed to Brenda Edwards, Division of
Legislative Services, (804) 786-3591.  Individuals
requiring interpreter services or other special assistance
should contact Dawn Smith at least 10 working days
prior to the meeting.  Persons making audiovisual
presentations to the committee should call for
specifications.

Contact:  Dawn B. Smith, House Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

JOINT COMMISSION ON TECHNOLOGY AND
SCIENCE

December 4, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Library of Virginia, 800 East Broad Street, Conference
Rooms C and D, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the
deaf provided upon request)

A meeting of Advisory Committee #1, co-chaired by
Delegate Bennett and Senator Newman, to discuss
Internet access in Virginia’s public schools and libraries.
About one week before the meeting, the proposed
agenda will be posted on the commission’s web page at
http://legis.state.va.us/jcots/jcots.htm.

Contact:  Diane E. Horvath, Director, Joint Commission on
Technology and Science, General Assembly Bldg., 910
Capitol St., 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
786-3591, FAX (804) 371-0169 or e-mail
DHorvath@leg.state.va.us.

† December 11, 1998 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
EDS, 13600 EDS Drive, Herndon, Virginia.  (Interpreter for
the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to discuss workforce issues.  About one week
before the meeting, the proposed agenda will be posted
on the commission’s web page at
http://legis.state.va.us/jcots/jcots.htm.

Contact:  Diane E. Horvath, Director, Joint Commission on
Technology and Science, General Assembly Bldg., 910
Capitol St., 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
786-3591, FAX (804) 371-0169 or e-mail
DHorvath@leg.state.va.us.

JOINT COMMISSION ON TECHNOLOGY AND
SCIENCE AND HOUSE COMMITTEE ON SCIENCE

AND TECHNOLOGY

December 18, 1998 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting of the full commission and the House
Committee on Science and Technology to consider
carryover legislation and discuss the joint commission’s
legislative recommendations for the 1999 Session of the
General Assembly.  About one week before the meeting,
the proposed agenda will be posted on the commission’s
web page at http://legis.state.va.us/jcots/jcots.htm.
Please direct all questions regarding the agenda to
Diane Horvath, Division of Legislative Services, at (804)
786-3591.  Individuals requiring interpreter services or
other accommodations should contact the committee
operations office at least 10 working days prior to the
meeting.

Contact:  Diane E. Horvath, Director, Joint Commission on
Technology and Science, General Assembly Bldg, 910
Capitol St., 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
786-3591, FAX (804) 371-0169 or e-mail
DHorvath@leg.state.va.us.

JOINT COMMISSION TO STUDY MANAGEMENT OF
THE COMMONWEALTH’S WORK FORCE AND ITS

COMPENSATION, PERSONNEL, AND
MANAGEMENT POLICIES AND TO RECOMMEND

IMPROVEMENTS TO VIRGINIA’S SYSTEM

November 24, 1998 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate
Room A, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)
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A regular meeting.  Questions concerning the agenda
should be directed to Nancy Roberts, Division of
Legislative Services, (804) 786-3591.  Individuals
requiring interpreter services or other accommodations
should call or write the committee operations office at
least 10 working days prior to the meeting.

Contact:  Thomas C. Gilman, Senate Committee
Operations, P.O. Box 396, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone
(804) 698-7450 or (804) 698-7419/TTY (

CHRONOLOGICAL LIST

OPEN MEETINGS

November 23
Accountancy, Board for
† Agriculture, Conservation and Natural Resources,

Senate Committee on
- Subcommittee on HB 1207

Courts of Justice, House Committee for
- Civil Law Subcommittee
- Criminal Law Subcommittee
- Juvenile and Family Law Subcommittee

Education, State Board of
- Virginia School-to-Work Advisory Committee

Educational Infrastructure, Commission on
† Elections, State Board of
Higher Education Tuition Trust Fund, Virginia
Marine Resources Commission
Pharmacy, Board of

- Ad Hoc Advisory Committee on Pharmacy
Compounding

- Regulation Committee

November 24
Early Childhood and Child Day Care Programs,

Commission on
† Education, House Committee on
† Historic Preservation Foundation, Virginia
Technology Services, Council on
Work Force and Its Compensation, Personnel, and

Management Policies, Joint Commission to Study
Management of the Commonwealth’s

November 25
Compensation Board
† Library of Virginia, Joint Subcommittee to Study the

Reorganization of the

November 30
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board
Remediation, Joint Subcommittee Studying
† Small Business Advisory Board, Virginia

December 1
† Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of

- Virginia Winegrowers Advisory Board
† Criminal Justice Services Board and Committee on

Training
† Economic Development Partnership, Virginia

- Partnership Board
† Outdoors Foundation, Virginia

- Open-Space Lands Preservation Trust Fund
Advisory Board (Region 3)

December 2
Arts, Virginia Commission for the
Cities, Commission on the Condition and Future of

Virginia’s
† Conservation and Recreation, Department of

- Board on Conservation and Development of Public
Beaches

- Douthat State Park Master Plan
† Emergency Planning Committee, Local - Winchester
Funeral Directors and Embalmers, Board of

- Special Conference Committee
† Health, Department of

- AIDS Drug Advisory Committee
Historic Resources, Department of

- Historic Resources Board and State Review Board
Labor and Industry, Department of

- Migrant and Seasonal Farmworkers Board
Manufactured Housing Board, Virginia

December 3
† Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors,

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects,
Board for
- Landscape Architect Section

† At-Risk Youth and Their Families, Comprehensive
Services for
- State Management Team

† Chesapeake Bay Restoration Fund Advisory
Committee

† Conservation and Recreation, Department of
- Falls of the James Scenic River Advisory Board
- Virginia State Parks Foundation

† Courts of Justice, Senate Committee for
Emergency Planning Committee, Local - Chesterfield

County
Funeral Directors and Embalmers, Board of

- Special Conference Committee
Gifted Students, Joint Subcommittee Studying the

Educational Needs of Underserved
Medicine, Board of

- Informal Conference Committee
Transportation Safety Board
† Water Control Board, State

December 4
† Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of

- Virginia Sheep Industry Board
Courts of Justice, House Committee for
† Courts of Justice, Senate Committee for
Fire Services Board, Virginia

- Fire Prevention and Control Committee
- Fire/EMS Education and Training Committee
- Legislative/Liaison Committee

Medicine, Board of
- Credentials Committee
- Executive Committee
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Technology and Science, Joint Commission on
- Advisory Committee #1

December 5
Fire Services Board, Virginia
† Military Institute, Virginia

- Board of Visitors
Visually Handicapped, Department for the

- Statewide Rehabilitation Council for the Blind

December 7
† Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of

- Virginia Soybean Board
† Branch Pilots, Board for
† Conservation and Recreation, Board of
Cosmetology, Board for
† Counties, Cities and Towns, House Committee on
Gifted Students, Joint Subcommittee Studying the

Educational Needs of Underserved
† Judicial Selection Process, Special Joint Courts of

Justice Subcommittee Studying the
† Medical Assistance Services, Department of

- Pharmacy Liaison Committee
† Soil and Water Conservation Board, Virginia

December 8
† Aviation Board, Virginia
† Branch Pilots, Board for
Emergency Planning Committee, Local - Goochland

County
† Innovative Technology Authority, Virginia

- Virginia Commercial Space Flight Authority
Executive Committee

† Pharmacy, Board of
† Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family

Therapists and Substance Abuse Treatment
Professionals, Board of Licensed

† Recycling Markets Development Council, Virginia
Resources Authority, Virginia

December 9
† Aviation Board, Virginia
† Child Fatality Review Team, State
† Emergency Planning Committee, Local - City of

Alexandria
† Interagency Coordinating Council, Virginia
† Outdoors Foundation, Virginia

- Open-Space Lands Preservation Trust Fund
Advisory Board (Region 4)

† Real Estate Board
- Education Committee

December 10
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Board of
† Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors,

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects,
Board for
- Interior Designers Section
- Regulatory Review Task Force Committee

Child Day-Care Council
† Conservation and Recreation, Department of

- New River Trail State Park

Early Intervention Services for Infants and Toddlers with
Disabilities, Joint Subcommittee Studying

Labor and Industry, Department of
- Virginia Apprenticeship Council

† Lottery Board, State
† Medicine, Board of

- Informal Conference Committee
† Old Dominion University

- Board of Visitors
Outdoors Foundation, Virginia

- Board of Trustees
† Real Estate Board

- Education Committee
- Fair Housing Committee

† Waste Management Board, Virginia
- Technical Advisory Committee

December 11
† Competition Council, Commonwealth
Health Professions, Department of

- Health Practitioners’ Intervention Program
Committee

† Medicine, Board of
- Informal Conference Committee

† Milk Commission, State
Outdoors Foundation, Virginia

- Board of Trustees
† Technology and Science, Joint Commission on

December 14
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board
Barbers, Board for
† Real Estate Board

December 15
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of

- Virginia Irish Potato Board
† Branch Pilots, Board for
† Pharmacy, Board of

- Special Conference Committee
Polygraph Examiners Advisory Board

December 16
† Agriculture, Conservation and Natural Resources,

Senate Committee on
† Medicine, Board of

- Informal Conference Committee
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse

Services, Joint Subcommittee Studying the Future
Delivery of Publicly Funded

† Transportation Board, Commonwealth

December 17
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of

- Virginia Corn Board
† Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors,

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects,
Board for

Environment, Subcommittee Studying the Future of
Virginia’s

† Transportation Board, Commonwealth
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December 18
† Information Management, Council on

- Virginia Geographic Information Network Advisory
Board

Medicaid Reimbursement Billing Program for Public
Schools, Joint Subcommittee Studying

† Richmond Hospital Authority
- Board of Commissioners

Technology and Science and House Committee on
Science and Technology, Joint Commission on

December 21
General Services, Department of

- Design-Build/Construction Management Review
Board

Marine Resources Commission

December 22
Early Childhood and Child Day Care Programs,

Commission on

December 23
Compensation Board

December 28
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board

January 5, 1999
Cities, Commission on the Condition and Future of

Virginia’s

January 7
† Air Pollution Control Board, State
† Emergency Planning Committee, Local - Chesterfield

County

January 12
War Memorial Foundation, Virginia

- Board of Trustees

January 18
† General Services, Department of

- Design-Build/Construction Management Review
Board

January 19
Visually Handicapped, Board for the

January 21
† Treasury Board

PUBLIC HEARINGS

December 3, 1998
† Fire Services Board, Virginia

January 6, 1999
† Health Professions, Board of

January 8
† Water Control Board, State
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