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THE VIRGINIA REGISTER is an official state publication issued
every other week throughout the year.  Indexes are published
quarterly, and the last index of the year is cumulative.  THE VIRGINIA
REGISTER has several functions.  The new and amended sections of
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by
law to be published in THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF
REGULATIONS.  In addition, THE VIRGINIA REGISTER is a source
of other information about state government, including all emergency
regulations and executive orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia
Tax Bulletin issued periodically by the Department of Taxation, and
notices of public hearings and open meetings of state agencies.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF
REGULATIONS

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action;
a basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic
impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget;
the agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a
notice giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal;
and the text of the proposed regulation.

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60
days.  The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it
is necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is
clearly written and easily understandable.  If the Governor chooses to
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be
transmitted to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days
following the completion of the 60-day public comment period.  The
Governor’s comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia
Register.  Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 60-
day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed
regulation.

The appropriate standing committee of each branch of the General
Assembly may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process
and file an objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency.
The objection will be published in the Virginia Register.  Within 21
days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency
shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative
committee, and the Governor.

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of
the regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the
proposed regulation and explaining any substantial changes made
since publication of the proposal.  A 30-day final adoption period
begins upon final publication in the Virginia Register.

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and,
if he objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency.  In
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the
end of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a
directive signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate
standing committees and the Governor.  The Governor’s objection or
suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia
Register.  If the Governor finds that changes made to the proposed
regulation have substantial impact, he may require the agency to
provide an additional 30-day public comment period on the changes.
Notice of the additional public comment period required by the
Governor will be published in the Virginia Register.

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when
it receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional
public comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have
minor or inconsequential impact.

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the
promulgating agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed,
in which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on
the date specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day
extension period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require

the agency to provide for additional public comment, in which event
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the
Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the
Governor and the General Assembly exercise their authority to
suspend the effective date of a regulation until the end of the next
regular legislative session; or (iv) the agency suspends the regulatory
process, in which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes
effective on the date specified, which shall be after the expiration of
the 30-day public comment period.

Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final.

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS
If an agency demonstrates that (i) there is an immediate threat to

the public’s health or safety; or (ii) Virginia statutory law, the
appropriation act, federal law, or federal regulation requires a
regulation to take effect no later than (a) 280 days from the enactment
in the case of Virginia or federal law or the appropriation act, or (b)
280 days from the effective date of a federal regulation, it then
requests the Governor’s approval to adopt an emergency regulation.
The emergency regulation becomes operative upon its adoption and
filing with the Registrar of Regulations, unless a later date is specified.
Emergency regulations are limited to addressing specifically defined
situations and may not exceed 12 months in duration.  Emergency
regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register.

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual
procedures.  To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency
regulation; and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar
within 180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation.  If
the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency
status ends when the prescribed time limit expires.

STATEMENT
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the

procedures to be followed.  For specific statutory language, it is
suggested that Article 2 (§ 9-6.14:7.1 et seq.) of Chapter 1.1:1 of the
Code of Virginia be examined carefully.

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and

date.  12:8 VA.R. 1096-1106 January 8, 1996, refers to Volume 12,
Issue 8, pages 1096 through 1106 of the Virginia Register issued on
January 8, 1996.

"THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS" (USPS-001831)
is published bi-weekly, with quarterly cumulative indices published in
January, April, July and October, for $100 per year by the Virginia
Code Commission, General Assembly Building, Capitol Square,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.  Telephone (804) 786-3591.  Periodical
Postage Rates Paid at Richmond, Virginia.  POSTMASTER:  Send
address changes to THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS,
910 CAPITOL STREET, 2ND FLOOR, RICHMOND, VIRGINIA
23219.

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article
7 (§ 9-6.14:22 et seq.) of Chapter 1.1:1 of Title 9 of the Code of
Virginia.  Individual copies, if available, may be purchased for $4.00
each from the Registrar of Regulations.

Members of the Virginia Code Commission:  Joseph V. Gartlan, Jr.,
Chairman; W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr., Vice Chairman; Robert L.
Calhoun; Bernard S. Cohen; Jay W. DeBoer; Frank S. Ferguson;
J. Randy Forbes; James E. Kulp; E.M. Miller, Jr.; James B.
Wilkinson.

Staff of the Virginia Register:  Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of
Regulations.
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16:7 December 1, 1999 December 20, 1999

INDEX 1 - Volume 16 January 2000
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The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, added
or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the Fall 1999
VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 15, Issue 23, dated August 2, 1999).
Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation “emer,” and errata pertaining to final regulations are
listed.  Proposed regulations are not listed here.  The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows action taken, the
volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section.

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE
Title 2.  Agriculture
2 VAC 15-20-70 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3436 Pending
2 VAC 15-20-80 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3445 8/17/99
2 VAC 15-20-80 Repealed 15:26 VA.R. 3438 Pending
2 VAC 15-20-81 Added 15:26 VA.R. 3442 Pending
Title 4.  Conservation and Natural Resources
4 VAC 20-333-10 through 4 VAC 20-333-40 Added 15:24 VA.R. 3035-3037 7/6/99
4 VAC 20-595-10 emer Added 15:25 VA.R. 3366 8/15/99-8/31/99
4 VAC 20-595-20 emer Added 15:25 VA.R. 3366 8/15/99-8/31/99
4 VAC 20-620-30 Amended 16:5 VA.R. 580 11/1/99
4 VAC 20-620-40 Amended 16:5 VA.R. 580 11/1/99
4 VAC 20-720-20 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 292 10/1/99
4 VAC 20-720-35 Added 16:3 VA.R. 292 10/1/99
4 VAC 20-720-40 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 292 10/1/99
4 VAC 20-720-50 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 293 10/1/99
4 VAC 20-720-60 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 293 10/1/99
4 VAC 20-720-70 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 294 10/1/99
4 VAC 20-720-80 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 294 10/1/99
4 VAC 20-720-105 Repealed 16:3 VA.R. 294 10/1/99
Title 7.  Economic Development
7 VAC 10-20-10 Amended 15:25 VA.R. 3348 9/29/99
7 VAC 10-20-30 Amended 15:25 VA.R. 3350 9/29/99
7 VAC 10-20-50 Amended 15:25 VA.R. 3350 9/29/99
Title 9.  Environment
9 VAC 25-151 (Forms) Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3251 --
Title 11.  Gaming
11 VAC 10-130-10 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3449 8/25/99
11 VAC 10-130-20 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3449 8/25/99
11 VAC 10-130-40 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3451 8/25/99
11 VAC 10-130-51 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3451 8/25/99
11 VAC 10-130-60 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3452 8/25/99
11 VAC 10-130-76 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3452 8/25/99
11 VAC 10-130-77 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3452 8/25/99
Title 12.  Health
12 VAC 5-610-10* Repealed 15:24 VA.R. 3188 *
12 VAC 5-610-20* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3188 *
12 VAC 5-610-30* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3188 *
12 VAC 5-610-40* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3188 *
12 VAC 5-610-50* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3188 *
12 VAC 5-610-70* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3189 *
12 VAC 5-610-75* Added 15:24 VA.R. 3190 *
12 VAC 5-610-80* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3190 *

                                                       
* The regulatory process was suspended on this section in 16:2 VA.R. 202, and the final effective date is pending until further action by the board.
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE
12 VAC 5-610-90* Repealed 15:24 VA.R. 3190 *
12 VAC 5-610-100* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3190 *
12 VAC 5-610-110* Repealed 15:24 VA.R. 3190 *
12 VAC 5-610-120* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3190 *
12 VAC 5-610-130* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3192 *
12 VAC 5-610-140* Repealed 15:24 VA.R. 3192 *
12 VAC 5-610-150* Repealed 15:24 VA.R. 3192 *
12 VAC 5-610-170* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3192 *
12 VAC 5-610-180* Repealed 15:24 VA.R. 3193 *
12 VAC 5-610-190* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3193 *
12 VAC 5-610-200* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3194 *
12 VAC 5-610-230* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3195 *
12 VAC 5-610-250* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3195 *
12 VAC 5-610-255* Added 15:24 VA.R. 3198 *
12 VAC 5-610-260* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3198 *
12 VAC 5-610-270* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3198 *
12 VAC 5-610-280* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3198 *
12 VAC 5-610-290* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3199 *
12 VAC 5-610-300* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3199 *
12 VAC 5-610-330* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3199 *
12 VAC 5-610-340* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3199 *
12 VAC 5-610-360* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3200 *
12 VAC 5-610-370* Repealed 15:24 VA.R. 3200 *
12 VAC 5-610-380* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3201 *
12 VAC 5-610-430* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3202 *
12 VAC 5-610-440* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3202 *
12 VAC 5-610-441 through 12 VAC 5-610-449* Added 15:24 VA.R. 3202-3210 *
12 VAC 5-610-449.1* Added 15:24 VA.R. 3211 *
12 VAC 5-610-450* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3212 *
12 VAC 5-610-470* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3212 *
12 VAC 5-610-480* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3214 *
12 VAC 5-610-490* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3214 *
12 VAC 5-610-500* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3215 *
12 VAC 5-610-510 through 12 VAC 5-610-550* Repealed 15:24 VA.R. 3215-3216 *
12 VAC 5-610-560* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3216 *
12 VAC 5-610-570* Repealed 15:24 VA.R. 3216 *
12 VAC 5-610-580* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3217 *
12 VAC 5-610-591 through 12 VAC 5-610-594* Added 15:24 VA.R. 3217-3218 *
12 VAC 5-610-596 through 12 VAC 5-610-599* Added 15:24 VA.R. 3218-3222 *
12 VAC 5-610-599.1 through 12 VAC 5-610-599.4* Added 15:24 VA.R. 3222-3223 *
12 VAC 5-610-620* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3223 *
12 VAC 5-610-650* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3223 *
12 VAC 5-610-670* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3223 *
12 VAC 5-610-690* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3223 *
12 VAC 5-610-700* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3224 *
12 VAC 5-610-800* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3226 *
12 VAC 5-610-810* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3226 *
12 VAC 5-610-815* Added 15:24 VA.R. 3226 *
12 VAC 5-610-817* Added 15:24 VA.R. 3227 *
12 VAC 5-610-820* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3227 *
12 VAC 5-610-830* Repealed 15:24 VA.R. 3227 *
12 VAC 5-610-840* Repealed 15:24 VA.R. 3227 *
12 VAC 5-610-880* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3227 *

                                                       
* The regulatory process was suspended on this section in 16:2 VA.R. 202, and the final effective date is pending until further action by the board.
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE
12 VAC 5-610-890* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3229 *
12 VAC 5-610-930* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3229 *
12 VAC 5-610-940* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3232 *
12 VAC 5-610-950* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3233 *
12 VAC 5-610-960* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3235 *
12 VAC 5-610-965* Added 15:24 VA.R. 3236 *
12 VAC 5-610-980* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3237 *
12 VAC 5-610-1080* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3238 *
12 VAC 5-610-1140* Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3240 *
12 VAC 5-610-1150* Repealed 15:24 VA.R. 3240 *
12 VAC 30-10-441 Added 15:26 VA.R. 3454 10/13/99
12 VAC 30-10-490 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3454 10/13/99
12 VAC 30-10-680 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3454 10/13/99
12 VAC 30-50-100 Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3243 9/15/99
12 VAC 30-50-105 Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3245 9/15/99
12 VAC 30-50-140 Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3247 9/15/99
12 VAC 30-50-160 Amended 16:2 VA.R. 202 11/10/99
12 VAC 30-50-210 Amended 16:2 VA.R. 205 11/10/99
12 VAC 30-50-220 Amended 15:25 VA.R. 3362 10/1/99
12 VAC 30-50-270 Amended 16:6 VA.R. 706 1/5/00
12 VAC 30-60-130 Amended 16:6 VA.R. 707 1/5/00
12 VAC 30-80-30 Amended 16:2 VA.R. 207 11/10/99
12 VAC 30-80-30 Amended 16:6 VA.R. 710 1/5/00
12 VAC 30-80-40 Amended 16:2 VA.R. 208 11/10/99
12 VAC 30-130-270 through 12 VAC 30-130-530 Repealed 16:6 VA.R. 711-715 1/5/00
12 VAC 30-140-10 through 12 VAC 30-140-570 Added 15:26 VA.R. 3456-3465 10/13/99
12 VAC 30-140-370 Amended 16:4 VA.R. 404 12/8/99
12 VAC 30-140-380 Amended 16:4 VA.R. 404 12/8/99
Title 13.  Housing
13 VAC 5-175-10 through 13 VAC 5-175-40 Added 16:4 VA.R. 405-406 10/20/99
Title 14.  Insurance
14 VAC 5-270-30 Amended 16:5 VA.R. 582 1/1/00
14 VAC 5-270-40 Amended 16:5 VA.R. 582 1/1/00
14 VAC 5-270-60 Amended 16:5 VA.R. 582 1/1/00
14 VAC 5-270-70 Amended 16:5 VA.R. 583 1/1/00
14 VAC 5-270-80 Amended 16:5 VA.R. 583 1/1/00
14 VAC 5-270-160 Repealed 16:5 VA.R. 584 1/1/00
14 VAC 5-319-10 through 14 VAC 5-319-80 Added 16:5 VA.R. 585-599 1/1/00
14 VAC 5-395-20 Amended 16:4 VA.R. 407 10/20/99
14 VAC 5-395-25 Added 16:4 VA.R. 407 10/20/99
14 VAC 5-395-60 Amended 16:4 VA.R. 407 10/20/99
Title 18.  Professional and Occupational Licensing
18 VAC 5-20-10 emer Amended 16:3 VA.R. 319 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-11 emer Added 16:3 VA.R. 321 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-20 emer Amended 16:3 VA.R. 322 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-30 emer Repealed 16:3 VA.R. 324 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-40 emer Repealed 16:3 VA.R. 324 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-41 emer Added 16:3 VA.R. 324 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-50 emer Repealed 16:3 VA.R. 325 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-60 emer Repealed 16:3 VA.R. 325 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-70 emer Repealed 16:3 VA.R. 326 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-80 emer Repealed 16:3 VA.R. 326 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-81 emer Added 16:3 VA.R. 326 10/4/99-10/3/00

                                                       
* The regulatory process was suspended on this section in 16:2 VA.R. 202, and the final effective date is pending until further action by the board.
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18 VAC 5-20-90 emer Repealed 16:3 VA.R. 326 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-91 emer Added 16:3 VA.R. 327 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-100 emer Amended 16:3 VA.R. 328 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-110 emer Amended 16:3 VA.R. 329 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-111 emer Added 16:3 VA.R. 330 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-112 emer Added 16:3 VA.R. 330 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-120 through 18 VAC 5-20-440 emer Repealed 16:3 VA.R. 330-333 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-441 emer Added 16:3 VA.R. 333 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-442 emer Added 16:3 VA.R. 334 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-443 emer Added 16:3 VA.R. 334 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-444 emer Added 16:3 VA.R. 336 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-445 emer Added 16:3 VA.R. 336 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-450 emer Repealed 16:3 VA.R. 336 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-451 emer Added 16:3 VA.R. 336 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 5-20-460 through 500 emer Repealed 16:3 VA.R. 337-339 10/4/99-10/3/00
18 VAC 10-20-10 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 298 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-20 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 299 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-35 Added 16:3 VA.R. 299 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-90 Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3248 10/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-110 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 299 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-120 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 300 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-140 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 300 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-150 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 301 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-160 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 303 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-170 Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3248 10/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-170 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 303 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-190 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 303 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-200 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 304 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-210 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 304 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-215 Added 16:3 VA.R. 305 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-230 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 305 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-250 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 305 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-260 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 306 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-270 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 306 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-280 Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3249 10/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-280 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 306 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-300 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 306 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-310 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 307 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-320 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 307 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-330 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 307 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-350 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 307 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-360 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 308 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-400 Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3249 10/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-440 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 308 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-450 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 308 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-470 Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3249 10/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-490 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 309 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-500 Repealed 16:3 VA.R. 309 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-520 Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3249 10/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-530 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 309 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-560 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 310 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-570 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 310 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-580 Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3249 10/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-590 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 310 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-630 Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3249 10/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-640 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 311 12/1/99
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18 VAC 10-20-680 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 311 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-730 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 311 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-740 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 311 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-760 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 312 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-780 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 313 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-790 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 313 12/1/99
18 VAC 10-20-795 Added 16:3 VA.R. 314 12/1/99
18 VAC 25-21-70 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3468 11/1/99
18 VAC 55-22-310 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3476 11/1/99
18 VAC 55-22 (Forms) Amended 16:5 VA.R. 600 --
18 VAC 85-20-22 Amended 16:4 VA.R. 407 12/8/99
18 VAC 85-20-230 Amended 16:4 VA.R. 408 12/8/99
18 VAC 85-20-235 Added 16:4 VA.R. 408 12/8/99
18 VAC 85-20-236 Added 16:4 VA.R. 408 12/8/99
18 VAC 85-20-240 Amended 16:4 VA.R. 409 12/8/99
18 VAC 85-101-10 Amended 16:4 VA.R. 410 12/8/99
18 VAC 85-101-40 Amended 16:4 VA.R. 410 12/8/99
18 VAC 85-101-50 Amended 16:4 VA.R. 410 12/8/99
18 VAC 85-101-60 Amended 16:4 VA.R. 411 12/8/99
18 VAC 85-101-70 Amended 16:4 VA.R. 411 12/8/99
18 VAC 85-101-130 Amended 16:4 VA.R. 411 12/8/99
18 VAC 85-101-160 Amended 16:4 VA.R. 412 12/8/99
18 VAC 90-20-300 Amended 16:3 VA.R. 315 11/24/99
18 VAC 90-20-420 Added 16:3 VA.R. 315 11/24/99
18 VAC 90-20-430 Added 16:3 VA.R. 315 11/24/99
18 VAC 90-20-440 Added 16:3 VA.R. 316 11/24/99
18 VAC 90-20-450 Added 16:3 VA.R. 316 11/24/99
18 VAC 90-20-460 Added 16:3 VA.R. 317 11/24/99
18 VAC 100-20-10 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3479 11/1/99
18 VAC 100-20-40 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3479 11/1/99
18 VAC 100-20-50 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3479 11/1/99
18 VAC 100-20-60 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3479 11/1/99
18 VAC 100-20-70 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3479 11/1/99
18 VAC 110-20-10 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3482 10/13/99
18 VAC 110-20-135 Added 15:26 VA.R. 3484 10/13/99
18 VAC 110-20-140 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3484 10/13/99
18 VAC 110-20-690 Added 15:26 VA.R. 3485 10/13/99
18 VAC 110-20-700 Added 15:26 VA.R. 3485 10/13/99
18 VAC 110-20-710 Added 15:26 VA.R. 3485 10/13/99
18 VAC 110-20-720 Added 15:26 VA.R. 3486 10/13/99
18 VAC 120-30-100 Amended 15:26 VA.R. 3487 11/1/99
18 VAC 125-20-10 Amended 16:2 VA.R. 210 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-30 Amended 16:2 VA.R. 210 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-40 Amended 16:2 VA.R. 210 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-41 Added 16:2 VA.R. 211 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-42 Added 16:2 VA.R. 211 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-50 Repealed 16:2 VA.R. 212 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-51 Repealed 16:2 VA.R. 212 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-52 Repealed 16:2 VA.R. 212 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-53 Repealed 16:2 VA.R. 213 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-54 Added 16:2 VA.R. 214 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-55 Added 16:2 VA.R. 214 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-56 Added 16:2 VA.R. 215 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-60 Repealed 16:2 VA.R. 216 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-65 Added 16:2 VA.R. 216 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-70 Repealed 16:2 VA.R. 216 11/10/99
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18 VAC 125-20-80 Amended 16:2 VA.R. 217 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-90 Repealed 16:2 VA.R. 217 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-100 Repealed 16:2 VA.R. 217 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-120 Amended 16:2 VA.R. 218 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-130 Amended 16:2 VA.R. 218 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-140 Repealed 16:2 VA.R. 218 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-150 Amended 16:2 VA.R. 218 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-150 Erratum 16:4 VA.R. 444 --
18 VAC 125-20-160 Amended 16:2 VA.R. 219 11/10/99
18 VAC 125-20-170 Amended 16:2 VA.R. 219 11/10/99
18 VAC 160-20-40 Amended 15:24 VA.R. 3490 11/1/99
Title 19.  Public Safety
19 VAC 30-70 Appendix A Amended 15:25 VA.R. 3364 7/29/99
19 VAC 30-165-10 emer Added 16:3 VA.R. 339 9/24/99-9/23/00
19 VAC 30-165-20 emer Added 16:3 VA.R. 340 9/24/99-9/23/00
19 VAC 30-165-30 emer Added 16:3 VA.R. 340 9/24/99-9/23/00
19 VAC 30-165-40 emer Added 16:3 VA.R. 340 9/24/99-9/23/00
19 VAC 30-165-50 emer Added 16:3 VA.R. 340 9/24/99-9/23/00
19 VAC 30-165-60 emer Added 16:3 VA.R. 340 9/24/99-9/23/00
Title 22.  Social Services
22 VAC 40-50-10 et seq. Repealed 15:24 VA.R. 3250 9/15/99
22 VAC 40-710-10 et seq. Repealed 16:4 VA.R. 412 12/8/99
22 VAC 40-820-10 et seq. Repealed 16:5 VA.R. 599 12/22/99
22 VAC 40-880-350 Amended 16:4 VA.R. 413 12/8/99
Title 24.  Transportation and Motor Vehicles
24 VAC 30-130-10 Amended 16:2 VA.R. 229 9/13/99
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION

TITLE 6.  CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND
CORRECTIONS

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services Board
intends to consider amending regulations entitled:  6 VAC 20-
60-10 et seq.  Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum
Training Standards for Dispatchers.  Prior rules pertaining
to the training of dispatchers has been developed by a
committee of practitioners representing the law-enforcement
community.  These training requirements are not legally
defensible.  A job task analysis has been conducted to
determine the knowledge, skills and abilities required for the
position.  This was developed in conjunction with an advisory
committee representing law enforcement, fire programs,
emergency medical services, joint dispatch centers and
affected associations.  Potential amendments will revolve
around subject matter requirements and the number of hours
of training required.  Opportunity for comment will be provided
in a written format on draft rules and proposed rules and a
public hearing will be conducted prior to consideration for
adoption.

Statutory Authority:  § 9-170 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until January 5, 2000.

Contact:  Judy Kirkendall, Job Task Analysis Administrator,
Department of Criminal Justice Services, 805 E. Broad St.,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-8003, FAX (804)
786-0410 or (804) 386-8732/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-48; Filed November 5, 1999, 4:21 p.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 9.  ENVIRONMENT

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Virginia Waste Management Board
intends to consider amending regulations entitled:  9 VAC 20-
130-10 et seq.  Regulations for the Development of Solid
Waste Management Plans.  The purpose of the proposed
action is to consider all aspects of the regulations for
amendment; however, focal issues are expected to include
the definition of the terms defining the recycle rate and the

structure, methodology and frequency of amendments to the
plans.  The establishment of progress reports may be
considered, including the frequency, methodology and
structure of the reports.  The agency intends to hold a public
hearing on the proposed regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1411 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until February 1, 2000.

Contact:  Robert G. Wickline, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone
(804) 698-4213.

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-60; Filed December 1, 1999, 8:46 a.m.

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Virginia Waste Management Board
intends to consider amending regulations entitled:  9 VAC 20-
140-10 et seq.  Regulations for the Certification of
Recycling Machinery and Equipment for Tax Exemption
Purposes.  The purpose of the proposed action is to amend
the regulation to incorporate legislative changes made to the
Code of Virginia since the regulations were adopted.  The
legislative changes include:  (i) the increase in total credit
allowable in a taxable year to 60%, as amended by the 1998
Acts of Assembly; (ii) carry over of tax credit from five to 10
years until the total credit amount is used and tax credit
extended to year 2001, as amended by the 1996 Acts of
Assembly; (iii) tax credit extended to January 1, 1997, as
amended by the 1995 Acts of Assembly; (iv) the elimination of
fixed location, as amended by the 1993 Acts of Assembly;
and (v) the certification of items related to capitalized cost of
equipment, as amended by the 1992 Acts of Assembly.  The
agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the
proposed regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 10.1-1402, 58.1-3661 and 58.1-3664
of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until February 1, 2000.

Contact:  John E. Ely, Director, Office of Waste Programs,
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009,
Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4249 or FAX
(804) 698-4327.

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-59; Filed December 1, 1999, 8:46 a.m.

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Virginia Waste Management Board
intends to consider amending regulations entitled:  9 VAC 20-
180-10 et seq.  Regulations Governing the Commercial
Transportation of Nonhazardous Municipal Solid Waste
and Regulated Medical Waste by Truck.  The purpose of
the proposed action is to adopt a regulation to govern the
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transportation of certain wastes by truck. The new regulation
will establish requirements necessary to protect public health,
safety and welfare and the environmental from pollution,
impairment or destruction.  As part of this action, the board
will consider what procedural rules and forms may be
necessary for filing of reports, as required by the statute,
concerning loss or spillage of waste during transport.  It will
also consider rules and forms necessary to assure the
Commonwealth that losses or spills are contained and
removed as required by the statute and in accordance with all
federal, state and local laws and regulations.

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1454.2 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until February 1, 2000.

Contact:  Robert G. Wickline, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone
(804) 698-4213 or (804) 698-4327.

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-58; Filed December 1, 1999, 8:46 a.m.

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends to
consider amending regulations entitled:  9 VAC 25-260-5 et
seq.  Water Quality Standards.  The purpose of the
proposed action is to consider amending the water quality
standards to update numerical or narrative criteria for
dissolved oxygen for certain waters of the Chesapeake Bay
and other naturally occurring low dissolved oxygen waters
where current criteria are not appropriate.

Intent:  The intent of this rulemaking is to protect designated
and beneficial uses in the Commonwealth by adopting
regulations that are technically correct and reasonable.
These standards will be used in setting Virginia Pollutant
Discharge Elimination System Permit limits and for evaluating
the waters of the Commonwealth for inclusion in the federal
Clean Water Act § 305(b) report and § 303(d) list.  Waters not
meeting standards will require development of a Total
Maximum Daily Load under the federal Clean Water Act
§ 303(d).

Need:  This rulemaking is needed because the current
dissolved oxygen criteria (4mg/l minimum and 5mg/l daily
average) are not appropriate in waters where the naturally
occurring dissolved oxygen levels are below the existing
criteria.  These types of water may include the deep trenches
of the Chesapeake Bay, the deep waters of stratified lakes
and wetlands.  Changes to these criteria are needed to
facilitate permitting, monitoring and Total Maximum Daily
Load development.

Alternatives Available to Meet the Need:  Many alternatives in
the subject areas listed will become available as DEQ staff
and the public begin to review scientific data and the needs of
permitting and monitoring.  DEQ will work in conjunction with

other state and federal agencies to consider various
alternatives.  Alternatives provided by the public will also be
considered.

The department has not accepted nor rejected any
alternatives as of yet.  Some alternatives being considered by
the agency now include, but are not limited to, the following:

• whether we should include alternative dissolved oxygen
criteria for the Chesapeake Bay, wetlands and lakes;

• whether we should consider for adoption the
Chesapeake Bay Living Resources Goals or
Environmental Protection Agency criteria or some other
criteria;

• whether zones for application of the criteria should be
included and what these zones should be (i.e. application
of a lower dissolved oxygen criterion one meter off the
bottom (for the Bay), in the hypolimnion or below the
thermocline (lakes), throughout the column (wetlands) or
should some other zone be considered for application of
the alternative criteria);

• whether to improve the specific narrative criterion that
recognizes natural background differences for all waters.
Currently natural conditions in surface water are
recognized in the following sections of the regulation:
9 VAC 25-260-10.G, 9 VAC 25-260-50 and 9 VAC 25-
260-250;

Request for Comments:  Comments are requested on the
intended regulatory action, including any ideas to assist the
agency in the development of the proposal.  Comments are
requested on the costs and benefits of the stated alternatives
or other alternatives.  DEQ also requests comments as to
whether the agency should use the participatory approach to
assist the agency in the development of the proposal.  The
participatory approach is defined as a method for the use of
(i) standing advisory committees, (ii) ad hoc advisory groups
or panels, (iii) consultation with groups or individuals
registering interest in working with the agency, or (iv) any
combination thereof.

Public Meeting:  A public meeting will be held on January 27,
2000, at 2 p.m. at the Virginia War Memorial, 621 South
Belvidere Street, Richmond, Virginia 23220.  Public
comments on the intended regulatory action will be accepted
until February 18, 2000.  Please submit comments to
Elleanore Daub, Office of Water Quality Programs,
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street,
Richmond, VA  23219.

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until February 18, 2000.

Contact:  Elleanore Daub, Environmental Program Planner,
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009,
Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4111 or (804)
698-4522.

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-57; Filed December 1, 1999, 8:46 a.m.
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† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends to
consider amending regulations entitled:  9 VAC 25-430-10 et
seq.  Roanoke River Basin Water Quality Management
Plan.  The purpose of the proposed action is to amend 9 VAC
25-430-20 of the current water quality management plan for
the Town of Chase City.  The amendment would allow for
increased wasteload allocations for the existing wastewater
treatment plant based on the results of mathematical
modeling of water quality in the receiving water body.

A discharger currently permitted under the Virginia Pollutant
Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) has requested
revised waste load allocations in its VPDES permit.  The
VPDES permitted discharge is Chase City Municipal Sewage
Treatment Plant (VPDES No. VA0076881), which discharges
to Little Bluestone Creek.  Chase City is in Mecklenburg
County in Water Quality Management Area VII as defined in
the Roanoke River Basin WQMP; this discharge is currently
limited by waste load allocations in the WQMP.  The Roanoke
River Basin Water Quality Management Plan was originally
adopted by the State Water Control Board December 9, 1976,
and most recently amended January 6, 1999.  Regulatory
action, in the form of an amendment to the existing Roanoke
River Basin WQMP, is necessary because State Water
Control Law requires that VPDES permits be consistent with
approved water quality management plans.  Any time the
allowable discharge in a VPDES permit which is limited by a
waste load allocation in a WQMP is changed, the WQMP
must be amended to reflect the new waste load allocation.

Water quality management plans identify water quality
problems, consider alternative solutions, and recommend
control measures needed to attain or maintain water quality
standards.  The existing Roanoke River Basin WQMP states,
ΑAs more data becomes available, alternative methods of
analysis can be considered, and in future updates of this plan,
the appropriate action item(s) can be amended to reflect the
use of these other equations and methods of analysis.≅
(9 VAC 25-430-20).  This amendment addresses the results
of such an analysis.  The affected segment is Little Bluestone
Creek.

The Little Bluestone Creek segment was originally modeled in
1976 using the TVA Flat Water Equation.  In 1997, a Streeter-
Phelps mathematical model characteristic of Little Bluestone
Creek was developed by conducting an intensive stream
survey (B&B Consultants, Inc., November 1997).  In 1997, the
Town of Chase City requested increased wasteload

allocations for their existing facility on the basis that a
seasonally tiered approach would take advantage of higher
flows and lower temperatures during winter months.  Based
on this model, waste load allocations were developed for the
existing 0.600 mgd discharge which are predicted by the
model to maintain the dissolved oxygen standard in Little
Bluestone Creek.

Statement of Statutory Mandates:  Water Quality
Management Plans are required by § 303(e) of the federal
Clean Water Act (WCA) [33 USC 1251] as implemented by 40
CFR 130, et seq.  The State Water Control Law § 62.1-
44.15(13) as implemented in the Permit Regulation states no
permit may be issued:  ... For any discharge inconsistent with
a plan or plan amendment approved under Section 208(b) of
the CWA;≅ [9 VAC 25-31-50, Prohibitions C.7., July 1996].

Statement of Conclusions:  The Roanoke River Basin WQMP
is an existing regulation.  The Town of Chase City requested
changes to the waste load allocations in its VPDES discharge
permit.  The proposed waste load allocations for the Town of
Chase City discharge were predicted, through mathematical
modeling, to be adequate to maintain water quality standards
in Little Bluestone Creek.  This amendment to the Roanoke
River Basin WQMP will satisfy the intent of the original plan,
ensure existing beneficial uses of the affected water body are
maintained, and accommodate the request of the VPDES
permitted discharge.

The proposed Town of Chase City STP discharge waste load
allocation will enable the Town to more effectively manage its
limited resources in an effort to protect the health and safety
of the citizens of the community, and the citizens of the
Commonwealth.

Statement of Process for Considering Alternatives:

Alternative 1:  Amend the Roanoke River Basin Water Quality
Management Plan as proposed.

This alternative is recommended.  The specific recommended
changes to the wasteload allocations for the affected
discharge are as follows:

Delete the § 303(e) Wasteload Allocation (BOD5) for Chase
City Regional STP in WQMA VII - Clarksville-Chase City-
Boydton, from Table 2 - Wasteload Allocations for Significant
Discharges for Selected Alternative (9 VAC 25-430-20), and
substitute a reference to Table 3; and add to Table 3 -
Wasteload Allocations for Discharges with Tiered Permits
(9 VAC 25-430-20), as follows:

Water Quality
Management
Area (WQMA)

Study Area
Name Discharger Months

Flow
(mgd)

Effluent
D.O.
(mg/l)

cBOD5

(lbs/day)
BOD5

(mg/l)
Ammonia
(mg/l)

TKN
(mg/l)

WQMA VII Clarksville-
Chase City-
Boydton

Chase City
Regional
STP

Dec-Apr
May-Nov

0.60
0.60

7.0
6.0

125.22
65.04

25.01

13.01
3.4
1.8

8.8
4.2

NOTES:
1cBOD5/BOD5 = 25/30
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Alternative 2:  Deregulate the existing Roanoke River Basin
WQMP.

This alternative is not recommended at this time for this
discharge.  In the Executive Order 15 (94) review of the Water
Quality Management Plan regulations, the Department of
Environmental Quality (DEQ) proposed the repeal of 17
existing water quality management plans and replacement of
the plans with one nonregulatory statewide plan.  This
proposal included the Roanoke River Basin WQMP.
Deregulation and replacement of the current regulatory
WQMP would eliminate the need for this proposed WQMP
amendment.  However, deregulation of the WQMP will not be
completed in time to enable the affected discharge to
increase loadings and remain in compliance with its VPDES
permit.

Alternative 3:  Maintain existing waste load allocations (No
Action Alternative)

This alternative is not recommended.  Receiving water quality
modeling, based on data collected after the adoption of the
existing WQMP, predicts that the proposed Town of Chase
City waste load allocation will be adequate to maintain the
dissolved oxygen water quality standard in the receiving water
body.  It is clear that the intent of the WQMP is to incorporate
the results of analysis based on data made available after the
adoption of the original WQMP.  Additionally, because
VPDES permitted discharges are required to be in
conformance with WQMPs, unless the WQMP waste load
allocations are changed, increased loadings requested by the
permittee will not be permitted.

In compliance with the SWCB's Public Participation
Guidelines (9 VAC 25-10-10 et seq.), the DEQ will, during the
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action and the Notice of Public
Comment, include the proposed amendment and alternatives,
and request comments from the public on these and other
alternatives.  The DEQ will also request comments on the
costs and benefits of these alternatives or any other
alternatives the public may wish to provide.

The DEQ intends to hold one public meeting on this proposed
amendment no less than 30 days after it is published in the
Virginia Register of Regulations.  The intent of the public
meeting is to further explain the proposed amendment and to
allow for verbal comments as requested from the public
regarding the amendment.  Additionally, the DEQ will form a
Technical Advisory Committee to review the proposed
amendment if there are more than five requests to do so
within 30 days after publication of the Notice of Intended
Regulatory Action in the Virginia Register of Regulations.

Statutory Authority:  § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until January 31, 2000.

Contact:  John van Soestbergen, Environmental Engineer
Senior, Department of Environmental Quality, 4949-A Cox
Rd., Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 527-5043 or FAX
(804) 527-5106.

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-56; Filed December 1, 1999, 8:46 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w

TITLE 12.  HEALTH

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical Assistance
Services intends to consider amending regulations entitled:
12 VAC 30-50-10 et seq.  Amount, Duration, and Scope of
Medical and Remedial Care Services; 12 VAC 30-60-10 et
seq.  Standards Established and Methods Used to Assure
High Quality Care; and 12 VAC 30-70-10-et seq.  Methods
and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates--Inpatient
Hospital Care.  The purpose of the proposed action is to
clarify and expand upon limits to be placed upon coverage of
inpatient hospital services by providers who are located
outside the borders of the Commonwealth in order to promote
the use of Virginia’s inpatient hospitals.  The agency does not
intend to hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation
after publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until December 22, 1999,
to Jim Cohen, Provider Operations, Department of Medical
Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300,
Richmond, VA 23219.

Contact:  Victoria P. Simmons, Regulatory Coordinator,
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad St.,
Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-8850
or FAX (804) 371-4981.

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-40; Filed November 2, 1999, 10:16 a.m.

STATE MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL RETARDATION
AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE SERVICES BOARD

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Mental Health, Mental
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services Board intends to
consider promulgating regulations entitled:  12 VAC 35-115-
10 et seq.  Rules and Regulations to Assure the Rights of
Individuals Receiving Services from Providers of Mental
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse
Services.  The purpose of the proposed action is to
promulgate regulations that will protect the legal and human
rights of all individuals who receive services in programs and
facilities operated, funded, or licensed by the Department of
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse
Services.  The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the
proposed regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 37.1-84.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on December
22, 1999, to Rita Hines, Acting Human Rights Director,
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and
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Substance Abuse Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA
23218.

Contact:  Charline Davidson, Planning and Regulations
Director, Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation
and Substance Abuse Services, Office of Planning and
Regulations, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone
(804) 786-7357, FAX (804) 371-0092 or (804) 371-8977/TTY
(

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-39; Filed November 2, 1999, 9:36 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 18.  PROFESSIONAL AND

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

AUCTIONEERS BOARD

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Auctioneers Board intends to
consider amending regulations entitled:  18 VAC 25-21-10 et
seq.  Rules and Regulations of the Virginia Auctioneers
Board.  The purpose of the proposed action is to conform the
regulations to recent Code of Virginia changes and to clarify
reinstatement requirements.  In addition, several other
housekeeping matters are being considered.  Other changes
to the regulation which may be necessary will be considered.
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-602 of the Code of
Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until January 5, 2000.

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Assistant Director, Department
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514,
FAX (804) 367-2475 or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-46; Filed November 9, 1999, 11:21 a.m.

BOARD OF MEDICINE

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends to
consider amending regulations entitled:  18 VAC 85-20-10 et
seq. Regulations Governing the Practice of Medicine,
Osteopathy, Podiatry, Chiropractic, and Physician
Acupuncture.  The purpose of the proposed action is to
amend the regulation to address a problem with the seven-
year rule for completion of the USMLE examinations and with
the recent decision by the Federation of State Medical Boards
to no longer accept combination examinations.  The agency
intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation
after publication.

Statutory Authority:  Chapter 29 (§ 54.1-2900 et seq.) of the
Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until January 19, 2000.

Contact:  Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director, Board
of Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-9908 or FAX (804) 662-9943.

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-51; Filed November 23, 1999, 10:56 a.m.

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends to
consider amending regulations entitled:  18 VAC 85-50-10 et
seq. Regulations Governing the Practice of Physician
Assistants.  The purpose of the proposed action is to
address the practice of physician assistants in hospital
emergency departments.  The agency intends to hold a public
hearing on the proposed regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  Chapter 29 (§ 54.1-2900 et seq.) of Title
54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until January 19, 2000.

Contact:  Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director, Board
of Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-9908 or FAX (804) 662-9943.

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-50; Filed November 23, 1999, 10:56 a.m.

BOARD OF NURSING

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Board of Nursing intends to consider
amending regulations entitled:  18 VAC 90-30-10 et seq.
Regulations Governing the Licensure of Nurse
Practitioners.  The purpose of the proposed action is to
amend regulations to increase fees pursuant to a statutory
mandate in § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia for the board to
levy fees sufficient to meet expenditures.  The agency intends
to hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation after
publication.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-113 and 54.1-2400 of the Code
of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until December 22, 1999.

Contact:  Nancy K. Durrett, R.N., Executive Director, Board
of Nursing, 6606 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-9909 or FAX (804) 662-9943.

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-45; Filed November 3, 1999, 11:48 a.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Board of Nursing intends to consider
amending regulations entitled:  18 VAC 90-40-10 et seq.
Regulations for Prescriptive Authority for Nurse
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Practitioners.  The purpose of the proposed action is to
amend regulations to increase fees pursuant to a statutory
mandate in § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia for the board to
levy fees sufficient to meet expenditures.  The agency intends
to hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation after
publication.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-113 and 54.1-2400 of the Code
of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until December 22, 1999.

Contact:  Nancy K. Durrett, R.N., Executive Director, Board
of Nursing, 6606 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-9909 or FAX (804) 662-9943.

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-43; Filed November 3, 1999, 11:48 a.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Board of Nursing intends to consider
amending regulations entitled:  18 VAC 90-50-10 et seq.
Regulations Governing the Certification of Massage
Therapists.  The purpose of the proposed action is to amend
regulations to increase fees pursuant to a statutory mandate
in § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia for the board to levy fees
sufficient to meet expenditures.  The agency intends to hold a
public hearing on the proposed regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-113 and 54.1-2400 of the Code
of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until December 22, 1999.

Contact:  Nancy K. Durrett, R.N., Executive Director, Board
of Nursing, 6606 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-9909 or FAX (804) 662-9943.

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-44; Filed November 3, 1999, 11:50a.m.

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Board of Psychology intends to
consider amending regulations entitled:  18 VAC 125-20-10 et
seq. Regulations Governing the Practice of Psychology.
The purpose of the proposed action is to establish a provision
for temporary licensure for residents in psychology.  The
agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 36 (§ 54.1-
3600 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until January 19, 2000.

Contact:  Janet D. Delorme, Deputy Executive Director,
Board of Psychology, 6606 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9575 or FAX (804) 662-
9943.

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-52; Filed November 30, 1999, 10:45 a.m.

BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL
COUNSELORS, MARRIAGE AND FAMILY
THERAPISTS AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE

TREATMENT PROFESSIONALS

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the Board of Licensed Professional
Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists and Substance
Abuse Treatment Professionals intends to consider amending
regulations entitled:  18 VAC 115-60-10 et seq. Regulations
Governing the Practice of Licensed Substance Abuse
Treatment Practitioners.  The purpose of the proposed
action is to consider an increase in fees for licensees to
comply with a statutory requirement for revenues to be
sufficient to cover the expenditures of the board.  The agency
intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation
after publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-
3500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until January 19, 2000.

Contact:  Janet D. Delorme, Deputy Executive Director,
Board of Psychology, 6606 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9575 or FAX (804) 662-
9943.

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-65; Filed December 1, 1999, 11;36 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 22.  SOCIAL SERVICES

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services
intends to consider amending regulations entitled:  22 VAC
40-35-10 et seq.  Virginia Independence Program.  The
purpose of the proposed action is to amend 22 VAC 40-35-10
and 22 VAC 40-35-90 of the Code of Virginia existing
regulations for the Virginia Initiative for Employment Not
Welfare (VIEW) program to conform with Item 399 G of
Chapter 935 of the 1999 Virginia Acts of Assembly, which
provides the authority to provide up to one year of
employment and training services, if needed, to former VIEW
cases that were not sanctioned under VIEW at the time their
TANF case closed.  The agency does not intend to hold a
public hearing on the proposed regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  § 63.1-25 of the Code of Virginia and
Item 399 G of Chapter 935 of the 1999 Acts of Assembly.

Public comments may be submitted until January 19, 2000.
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Contact:  Mark Golden, Program Consultant, Department of
Social Services, 730 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 692-1735.

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-61; Filed December 1, 1999, 8:20 a.m.

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services
intends to consider amending regulations entitled:  22 VAC
40-720-10 et seq.  Child Protective Services Release of
Information to Family Advocacy Representative of the
United States Armed Forces.  The purpose of the proposed
action is to amend the definition of “founded” to ensure that it
is consistent with the definition of “founded” in the regulation
entitled Child Protective Services (22 VAC 40-705-10 et seq.),
which requires “preponderance of the evidence” for a founded
disposition.  The agency does not intend to hold a public
hearing on the proposed regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 63.1-25 and 63.1-248.6 of the Code of
Virginia

Public comments may be submitted until January 19, 2000.

Contact:  Betty Jo Zarris, Program Consultant, Department of
Social Services, 730 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 692-1220 or FAX (804) 692-2215.

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-63; Filed December 1, 1999, 8:20 a.m.

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services
intends to consider repealing regulations entitled:  22 VAC
40-790-10 et seq.  Minimum Standards for Local Agency
Operated Volunteer Respite Child Care Programs.  The
purpose of the proposed action is to repeal this regulation
because it is not essential to protect the health, safety or
welfare of citizens, or for the efficient, economical
performance of an important government function.  There are
no programs being operated which fall under this program.
The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the
proposed regulation after publication.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 63.1-25 and 63.1-55 of the Code of
Virginia

Public comments may be submitted until January 19, 2000.

Contact:  Phyllis S. Parrish, Program Consultant, Department
of Social Services, 730 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 692-1895 or FAX (804) 692-1869.

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-62; Filed December 1, 1999, 8:20 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
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PUBLIC COMMENT PERIODS - PROPOSED REGULATIONS

TITLE 9.  ENVIRONMENT

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD

January 25, 2000 - 10 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Environmental Quality, Main Street Centre,
600 East Main Street, Lower Level, Conference Room,
Richmond, Virginia.

February 18, 2000 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of
the Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution Control
Board intends to amend regulations entitled:  9 VAC 5-
510-10 et seq.  Nonmetallic Mineral Processing
General Permit.  The general permit establishes terms
and conditions that form the legally enforceable basis for
the implementation of all regulatory and statutory
requirements applicable to new and existing emissions
units in nonmetallic mineral mining facilities.  Application
for coverage under the general permit is voluntary;
however, for any nonmetallic mineral processing facility
to be covered by the general permit, all equipment and
emissions units at a stationary source that make up the
nonmetallic mineral processing facility shall be covered
by the general permit.  The general permit requires the
owners of existing and new emissions units in the
nonmetallic mineral processing industry to construct,
modify, relocate and operate within the terms and
conditions of the general permit.  The terms and
conditions of the general permit cover emission
standards, emission testing, emission monitoring,
recordkeeping, reporting, compliance and enforcement.

Localities Affected:  There is no locality which will bear any
identified disproportionate material air quality impact due to
the proposed regulation which would not be experienced by
other localities.

Location of Proposal:  The proposal and any other supporting
documents may be examined by the public at the
department's Office of Air Regulatory Development (Eighth
Floor), 629 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia and the
department's regional offices (listed below) between 8:30 a.m.
and 4:30 p.m. of each business day until the close of the
public comment period.

Southwest Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
355 Deadmore Street
Abingdon, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 676-4800

West Central Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
3019 Peters Creek Road
Roanoke, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 562-6700

Lynchburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
7705 Timberlake Road
Lynchburg, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 582-5120

Valley Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4411 Early Road
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22801
Ph:  (540) 574-7800

Fredericksburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
806 Westwood Office Park
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 899-4600

Northern Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
13901 Crown Court
Woodbridge, Virginia
Ph: (703) 583-3800

Piedmont Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4949-A Cox Road
Glen Allen, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 527-5020

Tidewater Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
5636 Southern Boulevard
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Ph:  (757) 518-2000

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.
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Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m. February
18, 2000, to the Director, Office of Air Regulatory
Development, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box
10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240.

Contact: Robert Mann, Director, Office of Air Regulatory
Development, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box
10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4419, FAX
(804) 698-4510, toll-free 1-800-592-5482, or (804) 698-
4021/TTY (

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w

TITLE 12.  HEALTH

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES

February 18, 2000 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical
Assistance Services intends to amend regulations
entitled:  12 VAC 30-50-10 et seq.  Amount, Duration,
and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services.
These proposed regulations establish educational and
licensing criteria for staff of community services boards
when the staff renders services to Medicaid recipients
and seeks reimbursement from Medicaid.

Statutory Authority:  § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until February 18, 2000,
to Pam Fisher, Analyst, Policy Division, Department of
Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite
1300, Richmond, VA 23219.

Contact:  Victoria Simmons, Regulatory Coordinator,
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad St.,
Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-7959
or FAX (804) 786-1680.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w

TITLE 18.  PROFESSIONAL AND
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE
PATHOLOGY

February 17, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.

February 18, 2000 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Audiology and
Speech-Language Pathology intends to amend

regulations entitled:  18 VAC 30-20-10 et seq.
Regulations of the Board of Audiology and Speech-
Language Pathology.  The amendments are proposed
to establish requirements for the licensure of school
speech-language pathologists.

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 26 (§ 54.1-
2600 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Elizabeth Young Tisdale, Executive Director, Board
of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 6606 W.
Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone
(804) 662-9111.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w

TITLE 22.  SOCIAL SERVICES

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES

February 18, 2000 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social
Services intends to repeal regulations entitled:  22 VAC
40-30-10 et seq.  Food Stamp Program - Resource
Exclusion.  This action proposes the repeal of the
regulation that allows households applying for or
receiving food stamps to have a special savings account
excluded from being counted in determining eligibility for
food stamps.  Virginia no longer has federal approval to
allow the expansion of the resource exclusion.

Statutory Authority:  § 63.1-25 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Patricia Duva, Food Stamp Program Manager,
Department of Social Services, Division of Temporary
Assistance Programs, 730 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 692-1712 or FAX (804) 692-1704.

* * * * * * * *

February 18, 2000 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social
Services intends to adopt regulations entitled:  22 VAC
40-325-10 et seq.  Fraud Reduction/Elimination Effort.
The purpose of the proposed regulation is to add a new
chapter to the Virginia Administrative Code in order to
have regulatory authority to operate a statewide fraud
control program as mandated in § 63.1-58.2 of the Code
of Virginia.

Statutory Authority:  § 63.1-58.2 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Jeff Brown, Program Manager, Department of
Social Services, 730 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 786-9170 or FAX (804) 692-0007.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
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PROPOSED REGULATIONS

TITLE 9.  ENVIRONMENT

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE:  Section 9-6.14:4.1 C 11 of the
Code of Virginia excludes from Article 2 of the Administrative
Process Act general permits issued by the State Air Pollution
Control Board pursuant to Chapter 13 (§ 10.1-1300 et seq.) of
Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia if the board proceeds under
the following conditions:  (i) provides a Notice of Intended
Regulatory Action (NOIRA) in conformance with the
provisions of § 9-6.14:7.1 B; (ii) no less than 30 days from
publication of the NOIRA, forms a technical advisory
committee composed of relevant stakeholders, including
potentially affected citizens groups, to assist in the
development of the general permit; (iii) provides notice and
receives oral and written comment as provided in § 9-6.14:7.1
F; and (iv) conducts at least one public hearing on the
proposed general permit.  The State Air Pollution Control
Board will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration
or revision.

Title of Regulation:  9 VAC 5-510-10 et seq.  Nonmetallic
Mineral Processing General Permit.

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  January 25, 2000 - 10 a.m.
Public comments may be submitted until February 18,
2000.

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Summary:

The proposed general permit establishes terms and
conditions that form the legally enforceable basis for the
implementation of all regulatory and statutory
requirements applicable to new and existing emissions
units in nonmetallic mineral mining facilities.  Application
for coverage under the general permit is voluntary;
however, for any nonmetallic mineral processing facility
to be covered by the general permit, all equipment and
emissions units at a stationary source that make up the
nonmetallic mineral processing facility shall be covered
by the general permit.  The general permit requires the
owners of existing and new emissions units in the
nonmetallic mineral processing industry to construct,
modify, relocate and operate within the terms and
conditions of the general permit.  The terms and
conditions of the general permit cover emission
standards, emission testing, emission monitoring,
recordkeeping, reporting, compliance and enforcement.

Localities Affected:  There is no locality which will bear any
identified disproportionate material air quality impact due to

the proposed general permit which would not be experienced
by other localities.

Comparison With Statutory Mandates:

The proposed general permit does not exceed the specific
minimum requirements of any legally binding state or federal
mandate.

CHAPTER 510.
NONMETALLIC MINERAL PROCESSING GENERAL

PERMIT.

PART I.
DEFINITIONS.

9 VAC 5-510-10.  General.

A.  For the purpose of this chapter or any orders issued by
the board, the words or terms shall have the meanings given
them in 9 VAC 5-510-20.

B.  Unless specifically defined in the Virginia Air Pollution
Control Law or in this chapter, terms used shall have the
meaning given them by 9 VAC 5-10-20 (general definitions,
Regulations for the Control and Abatement of Air Pollution),
9 VAC 5-170-20 (definitions, Regulation for General
Administration), or commonly ascribed to them by recognized
authorities, in that order of priority.

9 VAC 5-510-20.  Terms defined.

"Actual emissions" means the actual emissions of a
pollutant from a stationary source or emissions unit reflecting
the rate, in tons per year, at which the source or unit actually
emitted the pollutant during the most recent annual period.
Actual emissions shall be calculated using the source or unit's
actual operating hours, in place emission controls, production
rates, and types of materials processed, stored, or combusted
during the annual period.  Valid continuous emission
monitoring data or source test data shall be preferentially
used to determine actual emissions.  In the absence of valid
continuous emissions monitoring data or source test data, the
basis for determining actual emissions shall be any or all of
the following as may be determined by the department:
throughputs of process materials; throughputs of materials
stored; usage of materials; data provided in manufacturer's
product specifications, material volatile organic compound
content reports or laboratory analyses; other information
required by this chapter and other regulations of the board; or
information requested in writing by the department.  All
calculations of actual emissions shall use U.S. EPA or
department-approved methods, including emission factors
and assumptions.

"Annual period" means a period of 12 consecutive months
determined on a rolling basis with a new 12-month period
beginning on the first day of each calendar month.



Proposed Regulations

Volume 16, Issue 7 Monday, December 20, 1999

769

"Federal operating permit" means a permit issued pursuant
to Article 1 (9 VAC 5-80-50 et seq.) of Part II of 9 VAC 5
Chapter 80.

"Fugitive dust" means particulate matter composed of soil
or other materials, or both, of natural origin.  Fugitive dust
may include emissions from haul roads, wind erosion of
exposed surfaces and storage piles and other activities in
which the material is either removed, stored, transported or
redistributed.

"Fugitive emissions" means emissions which are generated
by industrial or other activities and which do not pass through
a stack, chimney, vent or other functionally equivalent
opening, but which may escape from openings (such as
windows, doors, ill-fitting closures or poorly maintained
equipment) or material handling equipment.

"General permit" means the terms and conditions in Part IV
of this chapter that meet the requirements of Part III of this
chapter and issued under the provisions 9 VAC 5-80-1030
and 9 VAC 5-80-1250.

"New source review program" means a program for the
preconstruction review and permitting of new stationary
sources or emissions units or expansions to existing ones in
accordance with regulations promulgated to implement the
requirements of §§ 110(a)(2)(C), 165 (relating to permits in
prevention of significant deterioration areas), 173 (relating to
permits in nonattainment areas), and 112 (relating to permits
for hazardous air pollutants) of the federal Clean Air Act.

"Nonmetallic mineral" means any of the following minerals
or any mixture of which the majority is any of the following
minerals:

1. Crushed and broken stone, including limestone,
dolomite, granite, traprock, sandstone, quartz, quartzite,
marl, marble, slate, shale, oil shale, and shell.

2.  Sand and gravel.

3.  Clay including kaolin, fireclay, bentonite, fuller's earth,
ball clay, and common clay.

4.  Rock salt.

5.  Gypsum.

6.  Sodium compounds, including sodium carbonate,
sodium chloride, and sodium sulfate.

7.  Pumice.

8.  Gilsonite.

9.  Talc and pyrophyllite.

10.  Boron, including borax, kernite, and colemanite.

11.  Barite.

12.  Fluorospar.

13.  Feldspar.

14.  Diatomite.

15.  Perlite.

16.  Vermiculite.

17.  Mica.

18.  Kyanite, including andalusite, sillimanite, topaz, and
dumortierite.

"Nonmetallic mineral processing facility" means any
combination of equipment that is used to crush or grind any
nonmetallic mineral wherever located, including lime plants,
power plants, steel mills, asphalt concrete plants, portland
cement plants, or any other facility processing nonmetallic
minerals.  Includes activity at facilities where the primary
purpose is classified as Standard Industrial Classification
(SIC) Code 1411, 1422, 1423, 1429, 1442, 1446, 1455, 1459,
and 1499 as described in the Standard Industrial
Classification Manual (see 9 VAC 5-20-21).  Includes
stationary diesel engines.  Also includes activity at facilities
classified under other SIC codes that may be colocated within
the nonmetallic mineral processing area, unless they are
expressly excluded by this chapter.

"Permittee" means the owner of a nonmetallic mineral
processing facility covered under this general permit.

"Portable facility" means any nonmetallic mineral
processing facility that is mounted on any chassis or skids
and may be moved by the application of a lifting or pulling
force.  In addition, there shall be no cable, chain, turnbuckle,
bolt or other means (except electrical connections) by which
any piece of equipment is attached or clamped to any anchor,
slab, or structure, including bedrock that must be removed
prior to the application of a lifting or pulling force for the
purpose of transporting the unit.

"Potential to emit" means the maximum capacity of a
stationary source to emit any air pollutant under its physical
and operational design.  Any physical or operational limitation
on the capacity of a source to emit an air pollutant, including
air pollution control equipment and restrictions on hours of
operation or on the type or amount of material combusted,
stored, or processed, shall be treated as part of its design if
the limitation is state and federally enforceable.

"Relocation" means a change in physical location of a
nonmetallic mineral processing facility or an emissions unit
from one nonmetallic mineral processing facility to another
nonmetallic mineral processing facility.

"Spreadsheet" means the Aggregate Processing Emission
Calculation Spreadsheet and the Stationary Diesel Engine
Emission Calculation Spreadsheet.

"State operating permit" means a permit issued pursuant to
Article 5 (9 VAC 5-80-800 et seq.) of Part II of 9 VAC 5
Chapter 80.

PART II.
GENERAL PROVISIONS.

9 VAC 5-510-30.  Purpose and basis.

A.  The purpose of the general permit is to require the
owners of existing and new emissions units in the nonmetallic
mineral processing industry to construct, modify, relocate and
operate within the terms and conditions of a general permit
that forms the legally enforceable basis for all regulatory and
statutory requirements.
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B.  This general permit is being issued under the authority
of 9 VAC 5-80-1030 and 9 VAC 5-80-1250.

C.  This chapter does not require any owner to apply for
coverage under the general permit but provides the
opportunity for an owner to apply for coverage if the
nonmetallic mineral processing facility meets the applicability
criteria in 9 VAC 5-510-40 and all other requirements of this
chapter.

9 VAC 5-510-40.  Applicability.

A.  This chapter applies to any nonmetallic mineral
processing facility.

B.  This chapter applies throughout the Commonwealth of
Virginia.

C.  Nothing in this section shall prevent any owner of a
stationary source from obtaining authorization to operate the
nonmetallic mineral processing facilities under the general
permit while operating the remainder of the source under any
permit issued pursuant to 9 VAC 5 Chapter 80.

9 VAC 5-510-50.  General.

A.  The permittee shall operate the stationary source in
conformance with all applicable regulations of the board.

B.  Nonmetallic mineral processing facilities desiring
authority to operate under the general permit shall register
with the department as required under 9 VAC 5-20-160.  For
emissions units or groups of emissions units covered, the
completion or updating of the spreadsheet shall be
considered registration.

C.  No provision of this chapter shall limit the power of the
board to issue an operating permit pursuant to 9 VAC 5
Chapter 80.

D.  This chapter shall not relieve any stationary source from
complying with the requirements of (i) any otherwise
applicable permit issued under 9 VAC 5 Chapter 80, (ii) any
condition or term of any permit issued under 9 VAC 5 Chapter
80, or (iii) any provision of a permit program.  This chapter
shall not preclude issuance of any permit with conditions or
terms necessary to ensure compliance with this chapter.

E.  For any nonmetallic mineral processing facility to be
covered by the general permit, all equipment and emissions
units at a stationary source that make up the nonmetallic
mineral processing facility shall be covered by the general
permit.

F.  By the adoption of this chapter, the board confers upon
the department the administrative, enforcement and decision
making authority enumerated herein.

G.  The act of granting or denying an application for
authority to operate under the general permit shall not be
subject to judicial review.

H.  Any decisions of the board or department made
pursuant to this chapter may be appealed pursuant to 9 VAC
5-170-200.

I.  This general permit may not be used to meet the
requirements of 9 VAC 5-80-120.

9 VAC 5-510-60.  Existence of permit no defense.

The existence of a permit under this chapter shall not
constitute a defense of a violation of the Virginia Air Pollution
Control Law or the regulations of the board and shall not
relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with any
applicable regulations, laws, ordinances and orders of the
governmental entities having jurisdiction.

9 VAC 5-510-70.  Circumvention.

A.  No owner or other person shall cause or permit the
installation or use of any device or any means which, without
resulting in reduction in the total amount of air pollutants
emitted, conceals or dilutes an emission of air pollutants
which would otherwise violate this chapter.  Such
concealment includes, but is not limited to, either of the
following:

1.  The use of gaseous diluents to achieve compliance
with a visible emissions standard or with a standard
which is based on the concentration of a pollutant in
gases discharged to the atmosphere.

2.  The piecemeal carrying out of an operation to avoid
coverage by a standard that applies only to operations
larger than a specified size.

B.  This section does not prohibit the construction of a
stack.

C.  Regardless of the exemptions provided in this chapter,
permits shall be required of owners who circumvent the
requirements of this chapter by causing or allowing a pattern
of ownership or development over a geographic area of a
source which, except for the pattern of ownership or
development, would otherwise require a permit.

9 VAC 5-510-80.  Enforcement of a general permit.

A.  The following general requirements apply:

1.  Pursuant to § 10.1-1322, failure to comply with any
term or condition of the general permit shall be
considered a violation of the Virginia Air Pollution Control
Law.

2.  Authorization to operate under the general permit may
be revoked or terminated if the owner does any of the
following:

a.  Knowingly makes material misstatements in the
application for coverage or any amendments thereto.

b.  Violates, fails, neglects or refuses to comply with (i)
the terms or conditions of the permit, (ii) any applicable
requirements, or (iii) the applicable provisions of this
chapter.

3.  The department may suspend, under such conditions
and for such period of time as the department may
prescribe, any authorization to operate under the general
permit for any of the grounds for revocation or
termination contained in subdivision 2 of this subsection
or for any other violations of the regulations of the board.

B.  The following requirements apply with respect to
penalties:
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1.  An owner who violates or fails, neglects or refuses to
obey any provision of this chapter or the Virginia Air
Pollution Control Law, any applicable requirement, or any
permit term or condition shall be subject to the provisions
of § 10.1-1316 of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law.

2.  Any owner who knowingly violates any provision of
this chapter or the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law, any
applicable requirement, or any permit term or condition
shall be subject to the provisions of § 10.1-1320 of the
Virginia Air Pollution Control Law.

3.  Any owner who knowingly makes any false statement,
representation or certification in any form, in any notice or
report required by a permit, or who knowingly renders
inaccurate any required monitoring device or method
shall be subject to the provisions of § 10.1-1320 of the
Virginia Air Pollution Control Law.

C.  The following requirements apply with respect to
appeals:

1.  The department shall notify the applicant in writing of
its decision, with its reasons, to suspend, revoke or
terminate the authorization to operate under the general
permit in accordance with the Administrative Process Act.

2.  Appeal from any decision of the department under
subdivision 1 of this subsection may be taken pursuant to
9 VAC 5-170-200, § 10.1-1318 of the Virginia Air
Pollution Control Law, and the Administrative Process
Act.

D.  The following requirements apply with respect to
inspections and right of entry:

1.  The director, as authorized under § 10.1-1307.3 of the
Virginia Air Pollution Control Law and 9 VAC 5-170-60,
has the authority to require that air pollution records and
reports be made available upon request and to require
owners to develop, maintain, and make available such
other records and information as are deemed necessary
for the proper enforcement of the general permit.

2.  The director, as authorized under § 10.1-1307.3 of the
Virginia Air Pollution Control Law, has the authority, upon
presenting appropriate credentials to the owner, to do the
following:

a.  Enter without delay and at reasonable times any
business establishment, construction site, or other
area, workplace, or environment in the
Commonwealth; and

b.  Inspect and investigate during regular working
hours and at other reasonable times, and within
reasonable limits and in a reasonable manner, without
prior notice, unless such notice is authorized by the
department or its representative, any such business
establishment or place of employment and all pertinent
conditions, structures, machines, apparatus, devices,
equipment, and materials therein, and question
privately any such employer, officer, owner, operator,
agent, or employee.  If such entry or inspection is
refused, prohibited, or otherwise interfered with, the
department shall have the power to seek from a court

having equity jurisdiction an order compelling such
entry or inspection.

E.  The board may enforce the general permit through the
use of other enforcement mechanisms such as consent
orders and special orders.  The procedures for using these
mechanisms are contained in 9 VAC 5-170-80 and 9 VAC 5-
170-120 and in §§ 10.1-1307 D, 10.1-1309, and 10.1-1309.1
of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law.

PART III.
GENERAL PERMIT ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES.

9 VAC 5-510-90.  Requirements for department issuance
of authority to construct, modify, relocate and operate
under the general permit.

A.  The department may issue an authorization to
construct, modify, relocate and operate under the general
permit for a source that meets the applicability criteria in
9 VAC 5-510-40.

B.  After issuance of the initial authorization to construct,
modify, relocate and operate under the general permit for a
nonmetallic mineral processing facility, new and modified
emissions units at the facility may operate under the general
permit in accordance with the terms and conditions of the
general permit.

C.  Stationary sources or emissions units subject to the
general permit shall comply with all requirements applicable
to other permits issued under 9 VAC 5 Chapter 80.

D.  The general permit shall be issued in accordance with
§ 9-6.14:4.1 C 11 of the Administrative Process Act.

9 VAC 5-510-100.  Applications for coverage under the
general permit and notices of termination.

A.  Nonmetallic mineral processing facilities that qualify for
the general permit may apply to the department for coverage
under the terms and conditions of the general permit.

B.  A single application is required identifying each
emissions unit or groups of emissions units to be covered by
the general permit.  The application shall be submitted
according to the requirements of this section, 9 VAC 5-510-
110 and procedures approved by the department.  Where
several emissions units are included in one stationary source,
a single application covering all units in the source shall be
submitted.  A separate application is required for each
stationary source subject to this chapter.

C.  The application shall meet the requirements of this
chapter and include all information necessary to determine
qualification for and to assure compliance with the general
permit.

D.  Coverage under the general permit may be terminated
by the permittee by filing a completed notice of termination.
The notice of termination shall be filed in situations (i) where
all emissions associated with the facility authorized by the
general permit are eliminated, (ii) when the facility authorized
by the general permit has been determined to be shutdown in
accordance with 9 VAC 5-20-220, or (iii) where the facility is
covered by a permit issued under the provisions of 9 VAC 5
Chapter 80.
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E.  Any application form, report, compliance certification, or
other document required to be submitted to the department
under this chapter shall meet the requirements of 9 VAC 5-
20-230.

F.  Any applicant who fails to submit any relevant facts or
who has submitted incorrect information in an application
shall, upon becoming aware of such failure or incorrect
submittal, promptly submit such supplementary facts or
corrected information.

9 VAC 5-510-110.  Required information for initial
applications.

A.  The department shall furnish application forms to
applicants.  The information required by this section shall be
determined and presented according to procedures and
methods acceptable to the department.

B.  Each initial application for coverage under the general
permit shall include, but not be limited to, the following:

1.  Information specified in 9 VAC 5-510-130.

2.  Additional information that the department deems
necessary to implement and enforce other requirements
of the regulations of the board or to determine the
applicability of such requirements.

3.  Any additional information or documentation that the
department deems necessary to review and analyze the
air pollution aspects of the source.

4.  A certification of compliance with all applicable
requirements by a responsible official.

9 VAC 5-510-120.  Required information for modifications
and relocations.

The following information is required prior to modification of
a facility or relocation of an emission unit:

1.  The permittee shall provide written notification to the
regional director, including a revised spreadsheet and a
plant layout or flow diagram each time equipment is
installed at a facility.  The notification shall be submitted
at least 15 days before the equipment is installed at the
facility unless otherwise approved by the regional
director.

2.  The permittee shall provide written notification to the
regional director, including a revised spreadsheet and a
plant layout or flow diagram, each time an emissions unit
is relocated.  This notification shall be submitted within 15
days of the date the emissions unit leaves the facility,
unless otherwise approved by the regional director.

9 VAC 5-510-130.  Application statement and notice of
termination forms.

A.  The required statement for initial applications shall be in
the following form:

NONMETALLIC MINERAL PROCESSING GENERAL
PERMIT

APPLICATION STATEMENT
(please print or type)

1.  Name of company:

2.  Name of owner:

3.  Name of plant:

4.  Mailing address:

5.  Plant site manager or contact:

6.  Telephone number:

7.  Fax number:

8.  Registration number:
(new sites leave blank)

9.  Project name:

10.  Description of activity (minerals processed):

11.  Primary standard industrial classification (SIC) code:
Secondary SIC codes:

12.  County:

13.  Location:

14.  A spreadsheet and a plant layout or flow diagram for
all emissions units at the nonmetallic mineral processing
facility for which the application is submitted.  The
following information shall be included for each piece of
equipment:

a.  The total rated crushing capacity for all primary
crushers at the facility.

b.  A description of the equipment, including
applicability of any standard of performance under 40
CFR Part 60, as follows:

(1) Widths of belt conveyors.

(2) Dimensions of the top screen and configuration
(e.g. triple deck) of the screening unit.

(3) Rated capacity (ton/hr) of each crusher.

(4) Rated capacity (ton or ton/hr) of all other
equipment not exempt from new source review
program requirements.

c.  A unique ID number.

d.  The date the equipment was manufactured.

e.  The dates any required performance testing was
conducted and submitted to the regional director.

f.  Total rated horsepower of all stationary diesel
engines.

g.  Maximum hours of operation or gallons of fuel to be
consumed, for each stationary diesel engine.

h.  A description and accounting of all emissions of
regulated air pollutants from all emissions units or
groups of emissions units.  Emissions shall be
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determined in a manner acceptable to the department.
Fugitive emissions shall be included in the application
as provided in the spreadsheet.

15.  Calculations on which the information in subdivision
14 h of this subsection is based to the extent not covered
in the spreadsheet.  Any calculations shall include
sufficient detail to permit assessment of the validity of the
calculations and to enable the department to verify the
actual emissions and potential to emit for the stationary
source.  This may include, but not be limited to, the
following:

a.  Actual and potential emissions in tons per annual
period for each emissions unit or group of emission
units.

b.  Information needed to determine emissions as
follows:  fuels, fuel use, raw materials, production
rates, loading rates, and operating schedules.

c.  Identification and description of air pollution control
equipment and compliance monitoring devices or
activities.

16.  Attach to this application an aerial photo or scale
map which clearly shows the property boundaries and
plant site.

Certification:

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all
attachments were prepared under my direction or supervision
in accordance with a system designed to assure that qualified
personnel properly gather and evaluate the information
submitted.  Based on my inquiry of the person or persons who
manage the system, or those persons directly responsible for
gathering and evaluating the information, the information
submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true,
accurate, and complete.  I am aware that there are significant
penalties for submitting false information, including the
possibility of fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."

Signatures:  Date:

Signatures:  Date:

Name of persons signing above:  (printed or typed)

(printed or typed)

Titles:

For Department use only:

Accepted/Not accepted by:  Date:

Required attachments:

1.  Local government certification form (greenfield sites
only)

2.  Spreadsheet and a plant layout or flow diagram

3.  Aerial photo or scale map

B.  The required notice of termination shall be in the
following form:

NONMETALLIC MINERAL PROCESSING GENERAL
PERMIT

NOTICE OF TERMINATION

1.  Nonmetallic mineral processing general permit
number:

2.  Reason for termination request (Choose one):

a.  The emissions associated with facility have been
eliminated.

b.  The facility authorized by the general permit has
been determined to be shutdown in accordance with
9 VAC 5-20-220.

c.  A permit has been issued for the facility covered by
the general permit issued under the provisions of
9 VAC 5 Chapter 80.

3.  On what date do you wish coverage under this
general permit to terminate?

4.  Facility owner

Name:

Mailing address:

City:  State:  Zip code:

Phone:

5.  Facility location

Name:

Address:

City:  State:  Zip code:

6.  Certification:

"I certify under penalty of law that all emissions associated
with the identified facility have been eliminated, that the
facility authorized by the general permit has been determined
to be shutdown in accordance with 9 VAC 5-20-220, or that a
permit has been issued covering the facility under the
provisions of 9 VAC 5 Chapter 80.  I understand that by
submitting this notice of termination, I am no longer
authorized to operate under the general permit.  I also
understand that the submittal of this notice of termination
does not release an owner from liability for any violations of
this permit under the Air Pollution Control Law."

Signatures:  Date:

Date:

Name of persons signing above:  (printed or typed)

(printed or typed)

Titles:

9 VAC 5-510-140.  General permit content.

A.  The general permit issued under this chapter shall
include the elements provided in this section.

B.  The general permit shall contain terms and conditions
setting forth the applicable emission standards and
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requirements sufficient to assure compliance with the
regulations of the board.

C.  The general permit shall contain terms and conditions
setting forth the following requirements with respect to
emission testing sufficient to assure compliance with the
emission standards and requirements of the permit:

1.  Requirements providing that owners of nonmetallic
mineral processing facilities subject to the general permit
may conduct emission tests, establish and maintain
records, and make periodic emission reports as
necessary to determine the actual emissions for the
facility.

2.  For cases where the owner elects to use the emission
testing to determine the actual emissions for the facility,
the permit shall prescribe the procedures for the conduct
of the emission tests.

D.  The general permit shall contain terms and conditions
setting forth the following requirements with respect to
emission monitoring sufficient to assure compliance with the
emission standards and requirements of the permit:

1.  Requirements providing that owners of nonmetallic
mineral processing facilities subject to the general permit
may install, calibrate, operate and maintain equipment for
continuously monitoring and recording emissions or
process parameters or both, and establish and maintain
records, and make periodic emission reports as
necessary to determine the actual emissions for the
facility.

2.  For cases where the owner elects to use the emission
monitoring to determine the actual emissions for the
facility, the permit shall prescribe the procedures for the
installation, calibration, operation and maintenance of
equipment for continuously monitoring and recording
emissions or process parameters or both.

E.  The general permit shall contain terms and conditions
setting forth the following requirements concerning
recordkeeping and reporting sufficient to assure compliance
with the emission standards and requirements of the permit:

1.  Requirements providing that owners of nonmetallic
mineral processing facilities subject to the general permit
shall establish and maintain records, provide notifications
and reports, revise reports, report emission tests or
monitoring results in a manner and form and using
procedures as the general permit may prescribe.

2.  The permit shall prescribe the procedures for
providing notifications and reports, revising reports,
maintaining records or reporting emission test or
monitoring result.

F.  The general permit shall contain terms and conditions
with respect to enforcement sufficient to assure compliance
with the emission standards and requirements of the permit.

G.  The general permit shall contain terms and conditions
setting forth the following requirements with respect to
compliance sufficient to assure compliance with the terms and
conditions of the permit:

1.  Requirements providing for compliance certification,
testing, monitoring, reporting, and recordkeeping
requirements sufficient to assure compliance with the
terms and conditions of the permit.

2.  Requirements providing for inspection and entry
sufficient to assure compliance with the terms and
conditions of the permit.  At a minimum the permit shall
require that, upon presentation of credentials and other
documents as may be required by law, the owner shall
allow the department to perform the following:

a.  Enter upon the premises where the source is
located or emissions-related activity is conducted, or
where records must be kept under the terms and
conditions of the permit.

b.  Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any
records that must be kept under the terms and
conditions of the permit.

c.  Inspect at reasonable times any facilities,
equipment (including monitoring and air pollution
control equipment), practices, or operations regulated
or required under the permit.

d.  Sample or monitor at reasonable times substances
or parameters for the purpose of assuring compliance
with the permit or applicable requirements.

H.  The permit shall contain terms and conditions pertaining
to other requirements as may be necessary to ensure
compliance with the regulations of the board, the Virginia Air
Pollution Control Law and the federal Clean Air Act.

9 VAC 5-510-150.  Issuance of an authorization to operate
under the general permit.

A.  The department shall grant authorization to operate
under the conditions and terms of the general permit to
sources that meet the applicability criteria set forth in 9 VAC
5-510-40.

B.  The issuance of an authorization to operate under the
general permit to a nonmetallic mineral processing facility
covered by the general permit shall not require compliance
with the public participation procedures under § 9-6.14:4.1 C
11 of the Administrative Process Act.

C.  A response to each application for coverage under the
general permit shall be provided within 30 days.

D.  Nonmetallic mineral processing facilities covered under
a general permit shall be issued a letter, a certificate, or any
other document which would attest that the facility is
authorized to operate under the general permit.  The
document shall be accompanied by a copy of the general
permit and the application submitted by the permittee.

E.  The letter, certificate or other document, along with the
copy of the general permit, application and 40 CFR Part 60,
subpart OOO, shall be retained by the department and at the
stationary source.
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9 VAC 5-510-160.  Transfer of authorizations to operate
under the general permit.

A.  No person shall transfer an authorization to operate
under the general permit from one stationary source to
another or from one piece of equipment to another.

B.  In the case of a transfer of ownership of a stationary
source, the new owner shall comply with any permit issued to
the previous owner.  The new owner shall notify the
department of the change in ownership within 30 days of the
transfer.

C.  In the case of a name change of a stationary source,
the owner shall comply with any permit issued under the
previous source name.  The owner shall notify the department
of the change in source name within 30 days of the name
change.

PART IV.
GENERAL PERMIT TERMS AND CONDITIONS.

9 VAC 5-510-170.  General permit.

Any owner whose application is accepted by the director
will receive the following permit and shall comply with the
requirements in it and be subject to all requirements of this
chapter and the regulations of the board.

General Permit No.:

Effective date:

GENERAL PERMIT FOR NONMETALLIC MINERAL
PROCESSING

In compliance with the provisions of the Air Pollution
Control Law and regulations adopted pursuant to it, owners of
nonmetallic mineral processing facilities are authorized to
operate under the authority of this permit, except those where
board regulations or policies prohibit such operation.

This general permit covers all owners of activities located at
nonmetallic mineral processing facilities where the primary
purpose is classified as Standard Industrial Classifications
1411, 1422, 1423, 1429, 1442, 1446, 1455, 1459, and 1499.

The authorization to operate under this permit shall be in
accordance with this cover page, 9 VAC 5-510-180 -
Emission Standards and Requirements, 9 VAC 5-510-190 -
Emission Standards, 9 VAC 5-510-200 - Compliance
Determination and Verification by Emission Testing, 9 VAC 5-
510-210 - Compliance Determination and Verification by
Emission Monitoring, 9 VAC 5-510-220 - Recordkeeping
Requirements, 9 VAC 5-510-230 - Reporting Requirements,
9 VAC 5-510-240 - Compliance Certifications, and 9 VAC 5-
510-250 - Enforcement, as specified in 9 VAC 5-510-180
through 9 VAC 5-510-250.

9 VAC 5-510-180.  Emission standards and requirements.

A.  The permittee may construct and operate a nonmetallic
mineral processing facility in accordance with conditions of
this permit located within the boundaries of the
Commonwealth of Virginia, except those where board
regulations or policies prohibit such activities.

B.  Sources operating under this permit shall operate in
compliance with the standards set in 9 VAC 5 Chapters 40,
50 and 60 and other applicable provisions of the regulations
of the board.

C.  Sources operating under this permit shall meet the
emission standards in 9 VAC 5-510-190 of this general permit
in order to continue to operate under the authority of this
permit.

D.  The permittee shall comply with the terms and
conditions of the general permit prior to commencing any
physical or operational change or activity which will result in
making the facility subject to the new source review program.

E.  If the permittee makes any change in the design or
operation of the facility which will result in making the facility
subject to the new source review program, he shall evidence
the change in writing to the department within 30 days of
implementation of the change.

F.  The permittee shall not make any changes in design or
operation of the affected facility which will result in actual
emissions that exceed the emission standards specified in
9 VAC 5-510-190 of this general permit.

9 VAC 5-510-190.  Emissions standards.

A.  The permittee shall not cause or allow to be discharged
into the atmosphere from any covered emissions units any
visible emissions in excess of the limits specified in
subdivisions 1, 2 and 3 of this subsection.

1.  Equipment manufactured or fabricated on or prior to
August 31, 1983, shall not exceed an opacity of 20%
when averaged over a six-minute period.

2.  Equipment manufactured or fabricated after August
31, 1983, shall comply with 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart
000, 9 VAC 5-50-260 and the following standards:

a.  Crushing:  primary and secondary--15% opacity,
tertiary--7% opacity.

b.  Screening, conveyor transfers, and surge bins--
10% opacity.

c.  Fabric filter exhausts--7% opacity.

d.  Wash plants--no visible emissions from wet
screening and subsequent processing up to next
crusher or storage bin.

3.  Other nonspecific emission points including loadout
and stationary diesel engines are limited to 10% opacity.

4.  The opacity standards prescribed under this article
shall apply at all times except during periods of startup,
shutdown, malfunction, and as otherwise provided in the
applicable standard.

B.  The permittee shall not cause or allow to be discharged
into the atmosphere from any covered emissions units any
particulate matter in excess of the limits specified in
subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection.

1.  Fabric filter exhausts controlling equipment
manufactured or fabricated on or prior to August 31,
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1983, shall not exceed 0.05 grains/dscf as provided in
Article 14 (9 VAC 5-40-1820 et seq.) of 9 VAC 5 Chapter
40.

2.  Fabric filter exhausts controlling equipment
manufactured or fabricated after August 31, 1983, shall
not exceed 0.05 g/dscm (0.022 grains/dscf) as provided
in 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart 000.

C.  Fugitive dust/emissions controls shall include the
following or equivalent as a minimum:

1.  Fugitive dust/emissions from drills, stockpiles, material
handling, screens, crushers, load-outs, and traffic areas
shall be controlled by wet suppression or equivalent.

2.  All material being stockpiled subject to windblown
emissions shall be kept moist to control dust during
storage and handling or covered at all times to minimize
emissions.

3.  Haul roads shall be controlled by wet suppression or
equivalent.

4.  Reasonable precautions shall be taken to prevent
deposition of dirt on public roads and subsequent dust
emissions.  Materials spilled or tracked onto public paved
surfaces shall be promptly removed to prevent particulate
matter from becoming airborne.

D.  In order to operate under the authority of this permit, a
nonmetallic mineral processing facility shall not exceed any of
the following:

1.  The total rated crushing capacity for all primary
crushers at the facility, including portable stone
processing equipment temporarily located at the site,
shall not exceed 5,000 tons per hour.

2.  The total amount of fuel to be consumed by all
stationary diesel engines, including portable equipment
temporarily located at the site, shall not exceed 331,022
gallons of fuel per annual period.

3.  The total actual emissions of any regulated pollutant
from the stationary source shall not exceed 99 tons per
annual period.

E.  The fuel used in stationary diesel engines shall be
distillate oil or diesel fuel meeting ASTM specifications for No.
1 or No. 2 distillate oil or diesel fuel.

9 VAC 5-510-200.  Compliance determination and
verification by emission testing.

A.  The permittee may conduct emission tests, establish
and maintain records, and make periodic emission reports as
necessary to determine the actual emissions for the
nonmetallic mineral processing facility.

B.  Upon request of the department, the permittee shall
conduct emission tests as are necessary to determine the
type or amount or both of the pollutants emitted from the
facility or whether the facility will be in compliance with 9 VAC
5-510-190 or any other provisions of any regulation of the
board.

C.  The emission testing conducted under this section shall
be carried out in accordance with subdivisions 1 and 2 of this
subsection or the provisions of 9 VAC 5 Chapters 40, 50 and
60, as applicable, or by other means acceptable to the
department.

1.  Visible emissions evaluations shall be conducted in
accordance with 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart A, Method 9 or
Method 22, as applicable.

2.  Grain loading evaluations shall be conducted in
accordance with 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart A, Method 5 or
Method 17, as applicable.

9 VAC 5-510-210.  Compliance determination and
verification by emission monitoring.

A.  The permittee may install, calibrate, operate and
maintain equipment for continuously monitoring and recording
emissions or process parameters or both, and establish and
maintain records, and make periodic emission reports as
necessary to determine the actual emissions for the
nonmetallic mineral processing facility.

B.  Upon request of the department, the permittee shall
install, calibrate, maintain and operate equipment for
continuously monitoring and recording emissions or process
parameters or both as are necessary to determine the type or
amount or both of the pollutants emitted from the facility or
whether the facility will be in compliance with 9 VAC 5-510-
190 or any other provisions of any regulation of the board.

C.  The emission monitoring conducted under this article
shall be carried out in accordance with the provisions of
9 VAC 5 Chapters 40, 50 or 60, as applicable, or by other
means acceptable to the department.

D.  Where the applicable requirement cited in subsection C
of this section does not require periodic testing or
instrumental or noninstrumental monitoring (which may
consist of recordkeeping designed to serve as monitoring),
periodic monitoring shall be conducted sufficient to yield
reliable data from the relevant time period that are
representative of the source's compliance with the general
permit, as reported pursuant to subdivision 1 of 9 VAC 5-510-
220.  Such monitoring requirements shall assure use of
terms, test methods, units, averaging periods, and other
statistical conventions consistent with the applicable
requirement.  Recordkeeping provisions may be sufficient to
meet the requirements of this subsection.

9 VAC 5-510-220.  Recordkeeping requirements.

A.  The permittee shall comply with the recordkeeping
requirements in this section.  The recordkeeping requirements
of this permit shall not replace any recordkeeping requirement
contained in other state or federal rules or regulations.

B.  The permittee shall maintain records for each emission
unit or groups of emission units sufficient to determine the
actual emissions of the nonmetallic mineral processing
facility.  The permittee shall maintain records of emission data
and operating parameters necessary to demonstrate
compliance with this permit.  These records shall be available
for inspection by the department and shall be current for the
most recent three years.
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C.  To meet the requirements of 9 VAC 5-510-210 with
respect to recordkeeping, the permittee shall comply with the
following:

1.  Records of monitoring information shall include the
following:

a.  The date, place as defined in the permit, and time
of sampling or measurements.

b.  The date(s) analyses were performed.

c.  The company or entity that performed the analyses.

d.  The analytical techniques or methods used.

e.  The results of such analyses.

f.  The operating conditions existing at the time of
sampling or measurement.

2.  Records of all monitoring data and support information
shall be retained for at least three years from the date of
the monitoring sample, measurement, report, or
application.  Support information includes all calibration
and maintenance records and all original strip-chart
recordings for continuous monitoring instrumentation,
and copies of all reports required by the permit.

D.  The recordkeeping requirements under this section
shall be carried out in accordance with the provisions of
9 VAC 5 Chapters 40, 50 and 60, as applicable, or by other
means acceptable to the department.

E.  In order to ensure the proper operation of air pollution
control equipment, the permittee shall perform the following:

1.  Develop a maintenance schedule and maintain
records of all scheduled and nonscheduled maintenance
to air pollution control equipment.  These records shall be
maintained on site for three years and shall be made
available to department upon request.

2.  Maintain an inventory of spare parts needed to
minimize the duration of air pollution control equipment
breakdowns.

9 VAC 5-510-230.  Reporting requirements.

A.  The permittee shall comply with the reporting
requirements in this section.  Any document (including
reports) required by a permit term or condition to be submitted
to the department shall contain a certification by a responsible
official that meets the requirements of 9 VAC 5-510-100 E.

B.  The permittee shall submit, according to procedures
established by the department, an annual emissions update.
Any additional information requested by the department under
this subsection shall be submitted to the department within 30
days of the date of request.

C.  To meet the requirements of 9 VAC 5-510-210 with
respect to reporting, the permittee shall submit reports of any
required monitoring at least every six months.  All instances of
deviations from permit requirements shall be clearly identified
in such reports.

D.  The permittee shall furnish written notification to the
department and the regional office of the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency of the following:

1.  The actual date on which construction or installation
or modification or reconstruction or relocation of any
emission unit commenced, postmarked within 30 days
after that date.

2.  The actual startup date of the emission unit within 15
days after that date.

3.  The anticipated date of visible emissions evaluations
for affected facilities subject to 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart
OOO, postmarked at least 30 days prior to that date.

4.  The anticipated date of stack emissions tests of the
affected facilities subject to 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart
OOO, postmarked at least 30 days prior to that date.

E.  Within 30 days of completion, the permittee shall furnish
written notification of equipment replacement, to include the
following information, as applicable (for crushing, grinding,
screening, elevator/belt conveying, bagging, storage bins, and
truck/rail enclosed loading stations):

1.  The rated capacity, in tons per hour, of the crusher
being replaced; and the replacement crusher.

2.  The total surface area of the top screen deck of:

a.  The screening operation being replaced; and

b.  The replacement screening operation.

3.  The conveyor belt width of:

a.  The conveyor operation being replaced; and

b.  The replacement conveyor.

4.  The rated storage capacity, in tons, of:

a.  The bins being replaced; and

b.  The replacement bins.

5.  A description of the control device used to reduce
particulate matter emissions from the equipment and a
list of all other pieces of equipment controlled by the
same device.

6.  The estimated age of the emissions units being
replaced.

7.  The identification of the emission standards applicable
to the equipment being replaced and the replacement
equipment.

F.  The permittee shall comply with the reporting
requirements of 9 VAC 5-20-180 concerning facility and
control equipment maintenance or malfunction.

9 VAC 5-510-240.  Compliance.

A.  The department shall evaluate a nonmetallic mineral
processing facility's compliance with the emission standards
in 9 VAC 5-510-190 as part of the department's annual
compliance process.  In performing the evaluation, the
department shall consider any annual emission update
submitted pursuant to 9 VAC 5-510-230.



Proposed Regulations

Virginia Register of Regulations

778

B.  Upon presentation of credentials and other documents
as may be required by law, the permittee shall allow the
department to perform the following:

1.  Enter upon the premises where the source is located
or emissions-related activity is conducted, or where
records must be kept under the terms and conditions of
the permit.

2.  Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any
records that must be kept under the terms and conditions
of the permit.

3.  Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment
(including monitoring and air pollution control equipment),
practices, or operations regulated or required under the
permit.

4.  Sample or monitor at reasonable times substances or
parameters for the purpose of assuring compliance with
the permit or applicable requirements.

Department representatives shall report to the site office
and notify a company official or representative of their
presence immediately upon entering any operation, as
required by Mine Safety and Health Agency standards.  For
purposes of this condition, the time for inspection shall be
deemed reasonable during regular business hours or
whenever the facility is in operation.  Nothing contained
herein shall make an inspection time unreasonable during an
emergency.

9 VAC 5-510-250.  Enforcement.

A.  Violation of this permit is subject to the enforcement
provisions including, but not limited to, those contained in
9 VAC 5 Chapter 170 and §§ 10.1-1309, 10.1-1311 and 10.1-
1316 of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law.

B.  If any condition, requirement or portion of the permit is
held invalid or inapplicable under any circumstance, such
invalidity or inapplicability shall not affect or impair the
remaining conditions, requirements, or portions of the permit.

C.  The permittee shall comply with all conditions of the
permit.  Any permit noncompliance constitutes a violation of
the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law and is grounds (i) for
enforcement action or (ii) for termination, revocation and
reissuance, or modification of the authorization to operate
under the general permit.

D.  It shall not be a defense for a permittee in an
enforcement action that it would have been necessary to halt
or reduce the permitted activity in order to maintain
compliance with the conditions of this permit.

E.  The authorization to operate under the general permit
may be revoked and reissued or terminated for cause as
specified in 9 VAC 5-510-80.  The filing of a request by the
permittee for authorization revocation and reissuance, or
termination, or of a notification of planned changes or
anticipated noncompliance does not stay any permit
condition.

F.  The owner of the nonmetallic mineral processing facility
shall be subject to enforcement action under 9 VAC 5-510-80
for operation without a permit if the facility is later determined

by the department not to qualify for the conditions and terms
of the general permit.

G.  The general permit does not convey any property rights
of any sort, or any exclusive privilege.

H.  The permittee shall furnish to the department, within a
reasonable time, any information that the department may
request in writing to determine whether cause exists for
modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating the
authorization to operate under the general permit or to
determine compliance with the permit.  Upon request, the
permittee shall also furnish to the department copies of
records required to be kept by the permit and, for information
claimed to be confidential, the permittee shall furnish such
records to the department along with a claim of confidentiality.
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TITLE 12.  HEALTH

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES

Title of Regulation:  12 VAC 30-50-10 et seq.  Amount,
Duration, and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care
Services (amending 12 VAC 30-50-180).

Statutory Authority:  § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be
submitted until February 18, 2000.

Basis:  Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the
Board of Medical Assistance Services (BMAS) the authority to
administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance.
Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia grants to the Director
of the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS)
the authority to administer and amend the Plan for Medical
Assistance in lieu of board action pursuant to the board's
requirements.  The Administrative Process Act provides for
this agency's promulgation of proposed regulations subject to
the Governor's review.

42 CFR 440.90 defines clinic services as preventive,
diagnostic, therapeutic, rehabilitative, or palliative services
that are furnished by a facility that is not part of a hospital but
is organized and operated to provide medical care to
outpatients.  The term includes the following services
furnished to outpatients:

1. Services furnished at the clinic by or under the
direction of a physician or dentist;

2. Services furnished outside the clinic, by clinic
personnel under the direction of a physician, to an
eligible individual who does not reside in a permanent
dwelling or does not have a fixed home or mailing
address.

Purpose:  The purpose of this proposal is to establish provider
qualifications, applicable to public community mental health
clinics, to ensure that the mental health therapy services
rendered to recipients are provided by appropriately qualified
and supervised medical professionals.  The intent of these
requirements is to prevent the development of a two-tiered
system of health care:  a higher level for privately paying or
insured individuals and a lower quality for Medicaid recipients.
Maintaining a consistent quality of health care, without regard
for source of payment, will directly improve the mental health
care services Medicaid recipients receive.

Substance:  Department of Medical Assistance Services
(DMAS) Program Compliance reviews have illustrated that
some community services boards (CSBs) are uncertain about
DMAS’ policy with regard to the qualifications of therapists in
community mental health clinics, primarily community service
boards.  Because of this confusion, CSBs are constantly
asking DMAS for clarification of policy on qualified therapists.
Therefore, it is necessary to clarify DMAS’ policy and ensure
that DMAS is billed only when psychotherapeutic services are
rendered by staff with appropriate training and supervision.

When psychotherapy services are provided in a private
practitioner’s office, only specifically licensed personnel are
allowed reimbursement for these services.  However, state
law allows mental health clinics to use nonlicensed personnel.
Both DMAS and the Department of Mental Health, Mental
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services (DMHMRSAS)
have recognized the need to provide clear guidelines for
community mental health clinics on minimum staff
qualifications which will entitle those clinics to qualify for
Medicaid reimbursement.

To address these concerns, a work group comprised of staff
from DMAS and DMHMRSAS met to develop clear guidelines
on qualifications for staff providing Medicaid-reimbursable
psychotherapy services in community mental health clinics.
DMHMRSAS raised several concerns about the
implementation of the provider credential requirements--the
fiscal impact on the CSBs and access to care.  Both of these
concerns can be resolved by establishing a grace period
during which the CSBs can convert caseloads to those staff
who meet the DMAS standards.  The provider standards
included in this regulation are the result of this work group
and have been shared with CSBs for input.

Additional questions have arisen regarding the requirement
that licensed providers be supervised by a physician.  DMAS
recently promulgated regulations allowing Licensed
Professional Counselors (LPCs) and Licensed Clinical Social
Workers (LCSWs) and licensed Clinical Nurse Specialists-
Psychiatric (CNS) to directly enroll and receive
reimbursement as Medicaid providers.  The provisions
regarding direct reimbursement and supervision of LPCs,
LCSWs, and CNSs by Medicaid do not affect the CSBs.
CSBs are providers enrolled with Medicaid as mental health
clinics.

By federal definition as discussed above, clinics must be
physician directed.  So DMAS cannot remove the supervision
requirements for individuals providing services in mental
health clinics run by CSBs.  In addition, reimbursement for
clinics is calculated differently than reimbursement for private
practitioners.  The individual clinicians employed within a
clinic are not reimbursed by Medicaid; the clinic is
reimbursed.  The clinic then pays its employees or
contractors.  The way independent practitioners are
reimbursed does not affect reimbursement to individuals
providing services in a clinic setting, so independent
practitioners will not be affected by these proposed
regulations.

This regulation will allow a period of 24 months for the
community mental health clinics to comply with these more
specific provider requirements.  Because of this transition
period, DMAS does not anticipate a negative fiscal impact on
the CSBs.  The transition period will also allow the clinics to
arrange for enough qualified staff so that the current level of
access to care will not be jeopardized.  This change will not
result in any changes to the number of recipients or families
being served.  This change is budget neutral.

Issues:  The primary advantage to recipients is that the
individuals who provide psychotherapy services will be
appropriately qualified and supervised.  This will prevent
individuals who obtain psychotherapy services from public
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mental health clinics from receiving a lesser quality of care
than privately paying or insured individuals.  This will have no
impact on private sector licensed physicians and licensed
clinical psychologists.  The community services boards will be
required to hire upgraded staff and to provide appropriate
physician supervision in order to be reimbursed by DMAS.
Therefore, the agency projects no negative issues involved in
implementing this proposed change.

Fiscal/Budget Impact:  This regulatory change is targeted to
community mental health clinics and affects providers in
public community mental health clinics (those administered by
local community services boards of the Department of Mental
Health, Mental Retardation, and Substance Abuse Services).
The change will allow a period of 24 months for these clinics
to comply with the more specific provider requirements.
Because of this transition period, DMAS does not anticipate a
negative fiscal impact on the clinics.  There is no additional
cost of implementation or enforcement, and no costs of
compliance to the public.

During state Fiscal Year 1998, DMAS paid 42 mental health
clinic providers $3.6 million for psychotherapy services.
These providers filed 75,514 claims for services during this
time period for services rendered to 15,672 individuals.  No
significant change in the number of filed claims is expected.
There are no localities that are uniquely affected by these
regulations as they apply statewide.

Funding Source/Cost to Localities/Affected Entities:  The 40
CSB community mental health clinics will be required to hire
upgraded staff and to provide appropriate physician
supervision in order to be reimbursed by DMAS, so there will
be some additional costs to localities.  Consequently, there
may be additional costs to some localities although there is no
available data identifying which localities, and what their costs
might be.  There are some localities already implementing the
spirit of these proposed regulations so no additional costs will
accrue to them.

For those CSBs, which do need to expend money to hire
licensed staff, the two-year grace period may be used to
generate extra funds to offset the additional costs and to
adjust their appropriations requests.

This proposed regulation would have no impact on local
departments of social services because it does not affect
persons eligible for Medicaid covered services nor the
eligibility determination process.  Because the services will be
provided by staff that is licensed, affected families will benefit
from more experienced and credentialed staff.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has
analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in
accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the Administrative Process
Act and Executive Order Number 25 (98).  Section 9-6.14:7.1
G requires that such economic impact analyses include, but
need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or
other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the identity
of any localities and types of businesses or other entities
particularly affected, the projected number of persons and
employment positions to be affected, the projected costs to
affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private
property.  The analysis presented below represents DPB’s
best estimate of these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  The proposed
amendment to this regulation would establish minimum
qualifications for providers of therapy services at public
community mental health clinics.

Estimated economic impact.  State law requires that
individuals that provide psychotherapy services in the private
sector be licensed.  However, state law permits public mental
health clinics to employ non-licensed therapists.  This
proposed regulatory amendment specifies that community
mental health clinics will only receive Medicaid
reimbursement for medical psychotherapy services if
performed by a qualified therapist.  The following are defined
as qualified therapists: licensed physicians who have
completed three years of post-graduate residency training in
psychiatry, licensed clinical psychologists, licensed clinical
social workers, licensed professional counselors, and clinical
nurse specialists-psychiatric.  Additionally, individuals who
hold a masters or doctorate degree, who have completed all
coursework necessary for licensure by the appropriate board,
who have applied for a license but have not yet received such
license, and who are currently supervised by a licensed
practitioner as described above, are also defined as qualified
therapists.

Under the proposed new language for the regulation, clinics
that employ unqualified therapists will continue to be
reimbursed for their services for the 24 months following the
enactment of the proposed regulation amendment.  After 24
months have expired, the community mental health clinics will
not be reimbursed for medical psychotherapy services
provided by unqualified therapists.

According to the Department of Medical Assistance (DMAS),
the vast majority of community mental health clinics already
employ only qualified therapists.  The few clinics that employ
unqualified individuals to provide psychotherapy will need to
find and hire qualified replacements.  Two years following the
enactment of the proposed regulation change should be
sufficient time for these clinics to find qualified personnel.
The community services boards, which run the clinics, will
probably face somewhat higher costs as qualified therapists
will likely demand higher wages than unqualified therapists
do.

The net economic impact of the proposed change to this
regulation will likely be positive, though.  It is difficult to
quantify the increased benefit of receiving therapy from a
qualified therapist versus an unqualified individual, but there
is some indirect evidence that the increased benefit
outweighs the additional cost.  HMOs in Virginia and
throughout the country only pay for therapy conducted by
licensed therapists, even when legally they could potentially
accept lower fees from unqualified practitioners.  Additionally,
there is no assurance that the unqualified therapists are
providing services of any medical value, while qualified
therapists have several years of training and have passed
competitive exams designed to test relevant knowledge and
ability.
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Businesses and entities affected.  This proposed regulation
amendment applies to the 40 community services board
community mental health clinics in Virginia.

Localities particularly affected.  Community mental health
clinics in the more rural parts of the Commonwealth where it
may be more difficult to find qualified personnel will be
particularly affected.

Projected impact on employment.  The number of hours of
therapy services provided should not change, assuming that
all community services boards are able to hire sufficient
qualified personnel.  The enactment of this proposed
regulation amendment will somewhat increase the amount of
work for qualified therapists and decrease employment for
unqualified therapists.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  The value of
the practices of some qualified therapists will increase
somewhat as demand for their services will increase with the
enactment of this proposed regulation amendment.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency concurs
with the Economic Impact Analysis prepared by the
Department of Planning and Budget regarding the regulations
concerning Narrative for the Amount, Duration, and Scope of
Medical and Remedial Care Services:  Qualifications for
Community Mental Health Clinic Providers.

Summary:

These proposed regulations establish educational and
licensing criteria for staff of community services boards
when the staff renders services to Medicaid recipients
and seeks reimbursement from Medicaid.  The provider
qualifications ensure that the mental health therapy
services rendered to recipients are provided by
appropriately qualified and supervised medical
professionals.  Community mental health clinics that
employ unqualified therapists will continue to be
reimbursed for 24 months following enactment.  After 24
months have expired, the clinics will not be reimbursed
for services provided by unqualified therapists.

12 VAC 30-50-180.  Clinic services.

A.  Reimbursement for induced abortions is provided in
only those cases in which there would be a substantial
endangerment of health or life to the mother if the fetus were
carried to term.

B.  Clinic services means preventive, diagnostic,
therapeutic, rehabilitative, or palliative items or services that:

1.  Are provided to outpatients;

2.  Are provided by a facility that is not part of a hospital
but is organized and operated to provide medical care to
outpatients; and

3.  Except in the case of nurse-midwife services, as
specified in 42 CFR 440.165, are furnished by or under
the direction of a physician or dentist.

C.  Reimbursement to community mental health clinics for
medical psychotherapy services is provided only when

performed by a qualified therapist.  Community mental health
clinics which have a valid Medicaid provider agreement [upon
the effective date of these regulations] and which do not
employ qualified therapists shall continue to be eligible for
Medicaid reimbursement for medical psychotherapy services
for no later than 24 months from the effective date of these
regulations.  No payment shall be made after that date unless
rendered by a therapist meeting these qualifications.  For
purposes of this section, a qualified therapist is:

1.  A licensed physician who has completed three years
of post-graduate residency training in psychiatry;

2.  An individual licensed by one of the boards
administered by the Department of Health Professions to
provide medical psychotherapy services including:
licensed clinical psychologists, licensed clinical social
workers, licensed professional counselors, or clinical
nurse specialists-psychiatric; or

3.  An individual who holds a masters or doctorate
degree, who has completed all coursework necessary for
licensure by the appropriate board, and who has applied
for a license but has not yet received such license, and
who is currently supervised in furtherance of the
application for such license, in accordance with
requirements or regulations promulgated by DMAS, by
one of the licensed practitioners listed in subdivisions 1
and 2 of this subsection.

VA.R. Doc. No. R99-52; Filed November 19, 1999, 11:21 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 18.  PROFESSIONAL AND

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE
PATHOLOGY

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 30-20-10 et seq.  Regulations
of the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language
Pathology (amending 18 VAC 30-20-10, 18 VAC 30-20-80,
18 VAC 30-20-170, 18 VAC 30-20-180, and 18 VAC 30-20-
230).

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 26 (§ 54.1-
2600 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  February 17, 1999 - 9 a.m.
Public comments may be submitted until February 18,
2000.

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  Chapters 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) and 26 (§ 54.1-
2600 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia provide the
basis for these regulations.  Chapter 24 establishes the
general powers and duties of health regulatory boards
including the power to establish qualifications for licensure
and responsibility to promulgate regulations.  Section 54.1-
2603 establishes the requirement for the licensure of school
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speech-language pathologists and specifies the qualifications
which must be met.

Purpose:  Amendments are proposed pursuant to a statutory
mandate in Chapters 967 and 1005 of the 1999 Acts of the
Assembly which provide for the board to license school
speech-language pathologists upon review of credentials and
payment of an application fee. Regulations of the board for
licensure and practice are promulgated to protect the health,
safety and welfare of children who are in need of speech-
language pathology services.

Substance:

18 VAC 30-20-10.  Definitions.  A definition for "school
speech-language pathologist" is added to clarify that it is a
person licensed pursuant to § 54.1-2603 to provide speech-
language pathology services in public school divisions.

18 VAC 30-20-80.  Fees.  The proposed amendment would
set the application fee at $50, which is one-half the
application fee for persons who are fully licensed to practice.
The renewal and other fees have not been amended and
would be the same for both categories of licensure.

18 VAC 30-20-170.  Requirements for licensure.  The
proposed amendments establish the requirements for
licensure as specified in the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 30-20-180.  Application process.  An amendment is
proposed to add the school speech-language pathologists to
the requirements for submission of an application for
licensure.

18 VAC 30-20-230.  Prohibited conduct.  A proposed
amendment would include in the section on prohibited
conduct the practice of speech-language pathology outside
the public school setting by a school speech-language
pathologist.

Issues:

A.  Qualifications for licensure.  Chapters 967 and 1005 of the
1999 Acts of the Assembly amended the practice act for
audiology and speech-language pathology by adding
subsection B to § 54.1-2603, which mandates that the board
promulgate regulations for the licensure of school speech-
language pathologists.  The Code is very specific that the
board shall issue a license "without examination" to persons
"licensed by the Board of Education with an endorsement in
speech-language pathology and a master's degree in speech-
language pathology."  Therefore, the board was not
authorized to impose additional criteria or qualifications for
licensure, and the adopted regulations follow the specific
language of the law.

B.  Establishment of fees for school speech-language
pathology.  Since the credentials required for licensure of
school speech-language pathologist are more limited than
those required for persons licensed for independent practice,
there should be less board member and staff time spent in
review.  Therefore, the board determined that a lesser
application fee was appropriate.  The application fee for the
school speech-language pathologist is set at $50, while the
regular application fee is set at $100.  Renewal fees,
however, must cover the majority of expenditures of the

board, including costs for investigations, disciplinary hearings,
board meetings, mailings, and board staff.  Since the school
licensees will likely incur those costs at the same rate as
current licensees, the board determined that the current
renewal fee of $60 per biennium was appropriate.

C.  Scope of practice for school speech-language
pathologists.  During the development of regulations,
questions were raised about the scope of practice for school
speech-language pathologists.  While the statute is clear that
their practice is limited to the public schools of the
Commonwealth, it does not further specify the scope of
activities which are or are not permitted.  However, the
practice of speech-language pathology is defined in § 54.1-
2600, so it is presumed that persons practicing with the
school license would be practicing within that scope of
practice definition.  Therefore, the board determined that no
additional amendments were necessary or authorized to
clarify the scope of practice for school speech-language
pathologists who are also subject to disciplinary action for
unprofessional conduct if they practice without skill and
safety.

Advantages to the licensees and the school systems:
Persons seeking licensure as school speech-language
pathologists will only need to meet the requirements of law - a
master's degree in speech-language pathology and licensure
from the Department of Education with an endorsement in the
field.  There is very little benefit to the individuals holding this
license since it will not entitle them to practice outside the
public schools where they are already employed.

The advantage of these regulations, which simply establish a
license as required by law, is for the employers of the
licensees who will seek Medicaid reimbursement for their
services.  If the Health Care Financing Authority does
reimburse for services rendered by persons holding this
limited license, schools will have significant additional dollars
with which to pay for mandated services to children.

Disadvantages to the licensees.  For licensees, there will be
some additional costs - $50 to apply for the license and $60 to
renew the license every two years.  In additional, persons
holding the new license will be subject to the laws and
regulations of the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language
Pathology as well as the rules and policies of the Board of
Education and the local school systems.

Advantages or disadvantages to the public.  The advantages
of this license to the public are the possibility that additional
Medicaid funding will be made available to support speech-
language services thereby increasing the availability of such
services to children in the public schools.  In addition, local
school funds that would be required to pay for such services
may be available for other needs.

Advantages or disadvantages to the agency.  The board may
have to license and regulate as many as 1,000 new
licensees, but there will be additional income through fees to
support that activity.  There should be very little impact on the
Enforcement division, since the disciplinary load for this board
is typically very low.
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Estimated Impact:

Projected number of persons affected and their cost of
compliance.  There are approximately 1,000 persons who
hold licensure from the Department of Education who could
be affected by these regulations.

The cost for compliance will depend on whether any of
persons licensed under the Department of Education will
actually apply for the licensure.  There has been some
uncertainty about whether the federal agency, Health Care
Financing Authority (HCFA), will reimburse school divisions
for speech-language pathology services of persons holding
this new limited license under the Board of Audiology and
Speech-Language Pathology.  If it does not, there would be
no incentive for the persons to seek this license.

It is also unknown whether local school divisions will
financially assist school speech-language pathologists in
becoming licensed, since the benefit of such licensure
accrues solely to the school system and not to the licensee.

Cost to the agency for implementation.

Impact on board revenue.  If the estimated 1,000 persons
who currently work in the public schools as speech-language
pathologists all sought licensure under the Board of Audiology
and Speech-Language Pathology, there would be an increase
of $50,000 in board revenues for application fees and
approximately $60,000 additional revenue each biennium
from renewal fees.

Impact on board expenditures.  The agency will incur some
costs (less than $1,000) for mailings to the Public
Participation Guidelines mailing list, conducting a public
hearing, and sending copies of final regulations to regulated
entities.

There will be some additional on-going costs for inclusion of
these persons in mailings of regulations and newsletters to
licensees of the board.  In addition, there may be some
additional costs for disciplinary hearings.  While the complaint
and sanction rates for professions regulated by this board are
the lowest in the department, the addition of several hundred
new licensees increases the probability that the number of
investigative and disciplinary cases will increase.  There is no
estimate of how much additional costs would be incurred.

Cost to local governments.  Unless the local school systems
voluntarily provide financial support for licensure of school
speech-language pathologists, there will be no impact of
these regulations on local government.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has
analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in
accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the Administrative Process
Act and Executive Order Number 25 (98).  Section 9-6.14:7.1
G requires that such economic impact analyses include, but
need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or
other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the identity
of any localities and types of businesses or other entities
particularly affected, the projected number of persons and
employment positions to be affected, the projected costs to
affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with
the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private

property.  The analysis presented below represents DPB’s
best estimate of these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  Section 44.1-2603 of
the Code of Virginia requires the Board of Audiology and
Speech-Language Pathology to offer a license for school
speech-language pathologists.  The proposed regulation sets
forth the application and educational requirements for this
license.

Estimated economic impact.  Local school divisions either
employ directly, or contract with, individuals to provide
treatment for children in public schools identified with special
education health needs.  Individuals providing speech-
language services in public schools must hold a license from
the Board of Education (BOE) with an endorsement in
speech-language pathology. Currently, speech-language
services provided in public schools to Medicaid-eligible
children can be billed to Medicaid if the provider additionally
holds either of the following credentials:

1. A license from the Board of Audiology and Speech-
Language Pathology (BASLP) as a speech-language
pathologist; or

2. A Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC) from the
American Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA).

The 1999 General Assembly directed the Board of Audiology
and Speech-Language Pathology to offer a “School Speech-
Language Pathologist” license to persons licensed by the
Board of Education with an endorsement in speech-language
pathology and a master’s degree in speech-language
pathology.  Upon approval by the Health Care Financing
Administration (HCFA), this change will allow employers of
licensees to seek Medicaid reimbursement for their services.

The Department of Education reports that there were 1,248
individuals providing public school speech-language services
in 1997-1998 school year.  Based on the results of a survey
conducted by the department in October 1998,1 it is estimated
that:

1. 661 individuals (53%) already meet the qualification
requirements to bill services to Medicaid; (i.e., either hold
a Certification from the American Speech-Language
Hearing Association or licensure in Speech Pathology
from the BASLP).

2. 237 providers (19%) hold a Board of Education
license and have a master’s degree in speech-language
pathology, yet do not hold a BASLP license or a
Certificate of Clinical Competence from the American
Speech-Language Hearing Association.  These
individuals would be eligible for the school speech-
language pathologists license proposed by the
Department of Health Professions.

                                                       
1 At the request of the Joint Subcommittee studying Medicaid Billing in Public
Schools, the Department of Education sent a survey to all school divisions
requesting data on the qualifications of speech-language pathologists, school
psychologists, and school social workers.  Sixty-two percent of the school
divisions responded.  The estimated impact presented here apply the
percentage of providers in each category to the total number of providers in
1998.
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3. The remaining 28% of providers hold either a
provisional or “grandfathered” BOE license and do not
have a master’s degree.2

If the HCFA authorizes reimbursement for services rendered
by persons holding the proposed school-speech language
pathologist license, the number of providers eligible to bill
Medicaid could increase by 19% (237 providers).  This could
in turn increase reimbursement to local school divisions by
$672,000 if all 237 BOE-licensed individuals with master’s
degrees obtained the school-speech language pathologist
license and billed qualifying services to Medicaid.3

The savings of $672,000 may be over-estimated for two
reasons.  First, according to the Department of Education,
local school divisions billed speech-language services to
Medicaid in 1998 on behalf of only 106 providers.  This
represents only 16 percent of the estimated 661 providers
qualified to currently bill services to Medicaid.  Secondly,
since the benefits of the proposed school-speech language
pathologist license will accrue solely to the local school
system, rather than the licensee, some individuals may
hesitate to pay the $50 application fee and $60 biennial
renewal fee to obtain the license.  However, it would seem
reasonable to expect that local school divisions will financially
assist school speech-language pathologists in becoming
licensed.

The following table summarizes the potential costs and
savings associated with the proposed school-speech
language pathologist license and indicates that there exists a
net economic benefit for each individual who obtains the
proposed school-speech language pathologist license.

Table 1: Estimated Economic Impact of Proposed BASLP
License

Aggregate
Per Provider

Minimum Maximum
1st

Year
Subsequent

Years 1st Year Subsequent
Years

Savings $2,836 $2,836 $0 $672,000 $672,000
Costs $80 $30 $0 $18,960 $7,110

Net
Economic
Benefit

$2,756 $2,806 $0 $653,040 $664,890

Businesses and entities affected.  The proposed regulation
will affect the estimated 237 individuals licensed by the Board

                                                       
2 The Board of Education requires a master’s degree in speech-language
pathology for all hires after 1999.  Persons hired with a bachelor’s degree may
work with a provisional license and must work toward the master’s degree.
Persons hired prior to 1992 may be “grandfathered” with a bachelor’s degree
and certain graduate coursework.

3 Information provided by the Department of Education showed that a total of
$583,770 was billed to Medicaid by local school divisions in 1998 for speech-
language services by 106 providers.  This averages to $5,507 billed per
provider.  Assuming a 51.49% Medicaid reimbursement rate, approximately
$2,836 in matching funds could be drawn for each billing provider.

of Education with an endorsement in speech-language
pathology.

Localities particularly affected.  The proposed regulation is not
expected to uniquely affect any particular localities.

Projected impact on employment.  The proposed regulation is
not expected to have any significant impact on employment in
Virginia.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  The
proposed regulation is not expected to have any significant
effects on the use and value of private property in Virginia.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency concurs
with the analysis of the department.

Summary:

The proposed amendments provide for the Board of
Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology to license
school speech-language pathologists upon review of
credentials and payment of an application fee.  Pursuant
to a statutory mandate in Chapters 967 and 1005 of the
1999 Acts of the Assembly, the qualifications for
licensure are licensure by the Department of Education
with an endorsement in speech-language pathology and
a master's degree in speech-language pathology.  An
application fee of $50 and a renewal fee of $60 per
biennium are established.

18 VAC 30-20-10. Definitions.

The words and terms "audiologist," "board," "practice of
audiology," "practice of speech-language pathology,"
"speech-language disorders," and "speech-language
pathologist," when used in this chapter, shall have the
meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2600 of the Code of
Virginia.

The following word, words when used in this chapter, shall
have the following meaning meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

"School speech-language pathologist" means a person
licensed pursuant to § 54.1-2603 of the Code of Virginia to
provide speech-language pathology services solely in public
school divisions.

"Supervision" means that the audiologist or
speech-language pathologist is responsible for the entire
service being rendered or activity being performed, is
available for consultation, and is providing regular monitoring
of clinical activities and competencies of the person being
supervised.

18 VAC 30-20-80. Fees.

A. The following fees shall be paid as applicable for
licensure:

1.  Application for audiology or
speech-language pathology license $100

2.  Application for school speech-language
pathology license $50
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2. 3.  Verification of licensure requests from
other states $20

3. 4.  Biennial renewal $60

4. 5.  Reinstatement fee $50

5. 6.  Duplicate wall certificates $50

6. 7.  Duplicate license $10

7. 8.  Returned check $25

B. Fees shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia
and shall not be refunded once submitted.

18 VAC 30-20-170. Requirements for licensure.

A. The board may grant a license to an applicant who:

1. Holds a current and unrestricted Certificate of Clinical
Competence in the area in which he seeks licensure
issued by the American Speech-Language-Hearing
Association.  Verification of currency shall be in the form
of a certified letter from the American
Speech-Language-Hearing Association issued within six
months prior to licensure; and

2. Has passed the qualifying examination for the
Certificate of Clinical Competence within three years
preceding the date of licensure, or has held employment
in the area for which he seeks licensure for one of the
past three consecutive years or two of the past five
consecutive years.

B. The board may grant a license to an applicant who:

1. Holds a master's or doctoral degree from a college or
university whose audiology and speech-language
program is accredited by the American
Speech-Language-Hearing Association or an equivalent
accrediting body; and

2. Has passed a qualifying examination approved by the
board.  The applicant shall have passed the examination
within three years preceding the date of applying for
licensure in Virginia or have been actively engaged in the
respective profession during the 24 months immediately
preceding the date of application.

C. The board may grant a license to an applicant as a
school speech-language pathologist who:

1. Holds a master’s degree in speech-language-
pathology; and

2. Holds an endorsement in speech-language pathology
from the Virginia Department of Education.

18 VAC 30-20-180. Application process.

A. Prior to seeking licensure as an audiologist or, a
speech-language pathologist, or a school speech-language
pathologist, an applicant shall submit:

1. A completed and signed application;

2. The applicable fee prescribed in 18 VAC 30-20-80;
and

3. Additional documentation as may be required by the
board to determine eligibility of the applicant.

B. An incomplete application package shall be retained by
the board for a period of one year.

18 VAC 30-20-230. Prohibited conduct.

A. No person unless otherwise licensed to do so, shall
prepare, order, dispense, alter or repair hearing aids or parts
of or attachments to hearing aids for consideration. However,
audiologists licensed under this chapter may make earmold
impressions and prepare and alter earmolds for clinical use
and research.

B. No person licensed as a school speech-language
pathologist shall conduct the practice of speech-language
pathology outside the scope of the public school setting.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 30-20-10
et seq., Regulations of the Board of Audiology and Speech-
Language Pathology, are listed below.  Any amended or
added forms are reflected in the listing and are published
following the listing.

FORMS

Application for Licensure, 7/97.

Application for School Speech-Language Pathologist
Licensure, 11/99.

Licensure Reinstatement Application, 7/97.

Endorsement Certification Form, 7/97.

Endorsement Certification Form A, 11/99.

Renewal Notice, 7/97.
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VA.R. Doc. No. R99-187; Filed November 30, 1999, 10:745 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
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TITLE 22.  SOCIAL SERVICES

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Title of Regulation:  22 VAC 40-30-10 et seq.  Food Stamp
Program - Resource Exclusion (REPEALING).

Statutory Authority:  § 63.1-25 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be
submitted until February 18, 2000.

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  Section 63.1-25 of the Code of Virginia places
responsibility on the State Board of Social Services to make
rules and regulations necessary to carry out the purpose and
intent of the sections of the Code related to social services.
House Bill 1502, passed by the 1993 General Assembly,
amended § 63.1-110 of the Code and required the
Department of Social Services to seek waivers of federal
regulations, if needed, to be able to implement the resource
modification.  The department sought and received a waiver
of regulations at 7 CFR 273.8 from the U.S. Department of
Agriculture.  In December 1997, the waiver was subsequently
withdrawn from Virginia because of a procedural change in
allowing waivers only if there is cost neutrality.  Exclusions for
special accounts were terminated effective January 1, 1998.
No future requests for a waiver of federal regulations are
expected because there are no foreseeable changes to
reduce or offset program costs.

Purpose:  This regulation allowed food stamp households an
opportunity to save money that would be excluded in
determining households' countable resources and program
eligibility.  The regulation was intended to promote self-
sufficiency by enabling Virginians to save money, without
penalty, for education or to gain permanency in the
community through the purchase of a house.  Without the
sanction of a federal waiver, the repeal of this regulation is
needed to allow Virginia to operate the Food Stamp Program
in line with federal regulations.

Substance:  The repeal of the regulation will allow the list of
exempt resources for the Food Stamp Program to match
existing federal regulations or allowances.  Maintaining the
regulation and operating the Food Stamp Program with the
regulation after the expiration of the federal waiver exposes
Virginia to potential case errors and federal fiscal sanction.

Issues:  Food stamp households may accumulate resources
of up to $2,000 and remain eligible for program benefits.  The
resource level for a household with an elderly member is
$3,000.  Certain resources are not counted toward the
maximum resource level.  The regulation expanded the
resource exclusions to encourage savings for the purposes of
education or housing.  The repeal of the regulation will result
in the evaluation of all savings accounts, regardless of the
reason the accounts were established.

The repeal of the regulation provides no advantages to the
public but a small number of food stamp recipients would be
adversely affected.  The disadvantages to these recipient
households would occur when the households' resources

exceed the allowable limit and result in the denial or
termination of eligibility.  The repeal provides no
disadvantages to the agency.  By repealing the regulation, the
agency potentially will positively impact the case error rate by
reducing the number of resource exclusions allowed and
ultimately enhancing the agency's ability to properly count all
available, countable resources when determining entitlement
to food stamp benefits.

Department of Planning and Budget 's Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has
analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in
accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the Administrative Process
Act and Executive Order Number 25 (98).  Section 9-6.14:7.1
G requires that such economic impact analyses include, but
need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or
other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the identity
of any localities and types of businesses or other entities
particularly affected, the projected number of persons and
employment positions to be affected, the projected costs to
affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with
the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private
property.  The analysis presented below represents DPB’s
best estimate of these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  The Department of
Social Services (DSS) proposes to repeal its Food Stamp
Program - Resource Exclusion regulation.  The regulation,
originated under a federal waiver, allowed exclusion of certain
savings accounts up to $5,000 for each food stamp
household.1  The Personal Responsibility and Work
Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 established new
federal rules that allow waivers only if there is cost-neutrality.
Since this resource exclusion slightly expands the number of
eligible food stamp recipients, the federal waiver was
withdrawn from Virginia in December 1997.  This regulation
has not been applied for new recipients since January 1,
1998.  This regulation does not apply to food stamp recipients
who qualify through their participation in the TANF program
(approximately one-fourth of the total food stamp population).

Estimated economic impact.  The resource exclusion allowed
by this regulation expanded the number of eligible food stamp
recipients.  As a result of this repeal, which is necessary to
comply with the new federal policy (effective January 1,
1998), some households will no longer be eligible for food
stamp benefits.  In December 1997, there were 175,881 food
stamp households.  The number of households that
maintained a special savings account was never determined,
although DSS expects that only a few households had such
accounts with balances in excess of the maximum resource
limits ($2,000).

In response to a DPB inquiry for a more specific estimate of
the number of households affected by this repeal, DSS staff
analyzed a sample of 659 negative actions taken in 1998.  Of
those negative actions, 6.5% (43) represented accounts
closed for “excess resources.”  DSS staff further examined
these 43 accounts and found no instances where the excess
resource was a special savings account.  The resource

                                                       
1 The exclusion was allowed if the savings account was established to pay for
education or toward the purchase of a house.



Proposed Regulations

Virginia Register of Regulations

800

involved in the majority of cases was a vehicle.  While
information from local eligibility workers and household
representatives confirms that benefits have been terminated
for some households as a result of this change, the research
by DSS indicates that the number of households is indeed
small.

Repeal of the regulation may also eliminate some incentive
for educational and housing savings by food stamp recipients,
which are generally accepted as providing benefits for
society.  However, since the estimated number of households
that took advantage of this special savings account exclusion
is small, this effect is small also.

Businesses and entities affected.  Repeal of this regulation
will affect any food stamp households who have, or wish to
establish, savings accounts above $2,000.  Although exact
numbers are not available, research by DSS indicates that the
number of households who took advantage of the exclusion
was small.

Localities particularly affected.  The proposed changes should
not uniquely affect any particular localities.

Projected impact on employment.  The proposed changes are
not expected to have any impact on employment in Virginia.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  The
proposed changes are not expected to have any effects on
the use and value of private property in Virginia.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget 's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Department of
Social Services concurs with the assessment by the
Department of Planning and Budget.

Summary:

This regulation expanded the list of resources that are
excluded from consideration in the Food Stamp Program
by allowing each food stamp household an interest-
bearing savings account up to $5,000.  The exclusion
was allowed if households established the accounts for
purposes of education or toward the purchase of a
residence.  The proposed action is to initiate the repeal of
the resource exclusion.  Virginia no longer has federal
support to allow the expansion of the resource exclusion.

VA.R. Doc. No. R99-86; Filed December 1, 1999, 8:17 a.m.

* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  22 VAC 40-325-10 et seq.  Fraud
Reduction/Elimination Effort.

Statutory Authority:  § 63.1-58.2 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be
submitted until February 18, 2000.

(See Calendar of Events section
for additional information)

Basis:  The State Board of Social Services is mandated by
§ 63.1-58.2 of the Code of Virginia to promulgate regulations
for implementation of a statewide fraud control and prevention
program.

Purpose:  This regulation defines state requirements for local
operation of the Fraud FREE program and describes the
methodology by which local departments of social services
may receive reimbursement for costs associated with
program operation.  Fraud FREE will ensure a uniform
approach to welfare fraud control, prevention, and
investigation through state supervision of the program,
provision of a manual of policy and procedures, statewide
training, and development of a database which will be used
for tracking case information.  Fraud FREE also requires the
investigation of all questionable applications for public
assistance prior to approval of benefits.  These combined
efforts will result in overall increased efficiency and
effectiveness of program operation.  Fraud FREE will result in
a savings of taxpayer dollars by providing tools and training to
identify and investigate questionable or fraudulent public
assistance cases, and assuring that benefits are received
only by those eligible to receive them.

Substance:  The proposed regulation establishes the
statewide welfare fraud prevention and control program called
the Fraud/Elimination Effort (FREE), requires each local
department of social services to operate Fraud FREE and to
submit to the state for approval a local plan of program
operation.  It also defines how requests for staffing will be
approved, as well as the specifics of local reimbursement.  In
order to receive full reimbursement of local costs of operation,
the state-retained portion of a local agency’s combined
collections must equal or exceed the reimbursed cost of its
positions dedicated to Fraud FREE.

Issues:  The primary advantage to the public for implementing
these regulations will be the establishment of a
comprehensive welfare fraud control and prevention program
to identify, investigate, and prevent fraud by public assistance
recipients.  Since the program will be funded through
collection of overpayments, there should be no disadvantages
to the public associated with program operation.

The primary advantages to the department will be realization
of a greater degree of program integrity, and increased
emphasis on collection of overpayments.   A disadvantage to
the department may be the belief of some local directors that
allocation of program funding is insufficient, fueling further
debate regarding “unfunded mandates” to local agencies.
Start-up funding of Fraud FREE is not intended to cover the
total local cost of operation, but is intended to help local
agencies establish their programs, hire investigators, and
strengthen their collection efforts.

Department of Planning and Budget 's Economic Impact
Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has
analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in
accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 G of the Administrative Process
Act and Executive Order Number 25 (98).  Section 9-6.14:7.1
G requires that such economic impact analyses include, but
need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or
other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the identity
of any localities and types of businesses or other entities
particularly affected, the projected number of persons and
employment positions to be affected, the projected costs to
affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with
the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private
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property.  The analysis presented below represents DPB’s
best estimate of these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  The proposed
regulation establishes the statewide welfare fraud prevention
and control program called the Fraud/Elimination Effort
(FREE).  Local departments of social services are required by
Virginia Code § 63.1-58.2 to participate in the FREE program.
FREE replaces the voluntary Enhanced Fraud Control and
Collections program (EFCC).

Estimated economic impact.  Local departments of social
services are required to investigate fraud pursuant to § 63.1-
108 of the Code of Virginia, but have faced significant costs of
complying with no penalty for noncompliance.  The FREE
program is intended to provide financial incentives to local
agencies to pursue fraud prevention.

Under the FREE program, local departments of social
services are required to establish fraud prevention units.  The
departments are reimbursed up to the costs associated with
investigating fraud in applications for public assistance.  The
funding for the reimbursements come from the collection of
the overpayments due to fraud or mistakes.  The introduction
of the FREE program will likely increase the amount of fraud
investigation conducted in the state somewhat, particularly
since the program is mandatory.  FREE replaces the
voluntary Enhanced Fraud Control and Collections program.
Only 37 of the 122 local social service departments in the
Commonwealth chose to participate in the EFCC program.
Increased efforts to catch fraud will likely serve to deter some
potential future fraudulent claims.  This will be beneficial in
that it will reduce taxpayer financed spending on food stamps,
TANF, and other benefit programs.

Under the FREE program, all local departments are required
to form fraud prevention units, but the incentives are such that
local departments will be best off if they keep their efforts
modest.  At best, their investigative costs will be fully
reimbursed.  Their associated collection and clerical costs will
not be reimbursed.  Additionally, if the local department’s
collections of fraudulent benefits fall short of its investigative
expenses, then it will receive less than full reimbursement for
those investigative expenses.

It would appear likely that preventing fraud is more cost
effective than recovering funds after the fraud has taken
place.  The cost, time, and effort of collecting overpayments
to recipients are avoided if the fraud is prevented from taking
place.  Plus, according to the Virginia Department of Social
Services, several local prosecutors have indicated that they
will not prosecute cases under certain dollar amounts.
However, the incentives of FREE and the current system do
not encourage local departments to exert energy and
resources on preventive efforts.  The departments only
receive reimbursement funds if they collect overpayments,
i.e., only if fraud is actually committed.  Thus, there are
circumstances where the departments would seem to have a
financial incentive to allow fraudulent applications to go
through, and not catch the fraud until the amount of
overpayments paid out are enough to cover the department’s
investigative expenses.

The FREE program has some incentive flaws.  Local
departments will incur some new costs that will not be entirely
reimbursed.  Overall, though, the citizens of Virginia may
benefit by some reduction in future taxpayer-financed
overpayments of funds for public assistance due to fraud and
mistakes.

Businesses and entities affected.  The 122 local social service
departments in the Commonwealth are all affected by this
regulation.

Localities particularly affected.  The proposed regulation
affects all Virginia localities.

Projected impact on employment.  The implementation of the
FREE program is projected to add 110 new fraud investigator
positions.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  The
enactment of this proposed regulation will produce a marginal
increase in the demand for office supplies, travel and
telecommunication services and other small amounts of
products and services necessary for the additional staff hired.
The private vendors that provide these products and services
will likely benefit by a small increase in sales.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget 's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Department of
Social Services (DSS) has reviewed the economic impact
analysis of the proposed regulation governing the Fraud
Reduction/Elimination Effort conducted by the Department of
Planning and Budget (DBP).  The regulations were written to
meet the mandate of § 63.1-58.2 of the Code of Virginia,
which established a statewide fraud program.  The
department wishes to respond to certain issues raised in the
report.

The Estimated Economic Impact section of the report cites
§ 63.1-108 of the Code of Virginia, which requires local
departments of social services to investigate fraud.  The
impact analysis states that locals have “faced significant costs
of complying with no penalty for noncompliance.”  While
actual fiscal penalties, or charge backs, have rarely been
levied against local departments, the Code of Virginia at
§ 63.1-123 empowers the State Board of Social Services to
authorize the Commissioner …“to withhold from such locality
the entire reimbursement for administrative expenditures or a
part thereof to this locality for the period of time the locality
fails to comply with state laws or regulations.”

DPB states that the statewide fraud program, named Fraud
FREE, is intended to provide financial incentives to local
agencies to pursue fraud prevention.   Actually, Fraud FREE
is unlike benefit and service programs which the department
supervises in that it is not a “funded” program (federal/state)
in the strictest sense of the word, but the fraud function is
inherent in the administration of the eligibility process.  This is
consistent with the federal programs, which require (for
instance) the pursuit of fraud as part of the Food Stamp and
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) programs.
The Agency for Families and Children (AFC) and the United
States Department of Agriculture (USDA) consider this to be
included in the reimbursed administrative costs.  In spite of
this requirement, the Virginia legislature passed an
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amendment to § 63.1-58.2 of the Code of Virginia, enacted on
July 1, 1998.

For a variety of reasons, less than half of the 122 local
departments of social services were operating a viable fraud
program prior to the enactment of Fraud FREE.  This
amendment sought to increase the emphasis on the
elimination of welfare fraud by mandating fraud units in every
locality.  To provide assistance to localities in meeting the
mandate of separate fraud units, funding was offered for the
reimbursement of fraud investigator positions.  Funding in the
amount of $750,000 was appropriated for program start-up
costs.  The language of the amendment states that the
statewide fraud program would be funded through the state
retained portion of all collections.  This naturally placed the
department into the role of designing and supervising a
program which could be supported through local collections.
The only funding available to assist local departments to
cover some initial costs was the $750,000 appropriated for
that purpose.

The goals of the Fraud FREE program are to prevent the
occurrence of fraud through front-end investigation of
questionable applications, and to investigate allegations of
fraud which may have occurred in cases under care.   The
department believes that front-end investigation affords us the
best opportunity for lowering the food stamp error rate, for
which the state is currently facing sanctions by the federal
government.  In its report “Fraud Control and Collections In
Social Services:  Analysis and Recommendations,” dated
September 1997, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State
University states that “at least 26% of payment errors were
due to fraud, and much of an additional 44% attributed to
“inadvertent” client error was probably due to fraud.”  Front-
end investigations have been required of all agencies by
§ 63.1-108 of the Code of Virginia.  Fraud FREE policy, and
its local plan of operation, reiterates this requirement for local
departments to pursue front-end investigations.

Section 63.1-58.2 of the Code of Virginia states that local
departments must establish fraud prevention and
investigation units “only insofar as money is appropriated
therefor....”  The sponsor of the amendment, during hearings
in front of the Senate Finance Committee, specifically stated
that the initial appropriation was to be used only for
investigative positions.  Therefore, the department
established a formula for local funding of the cost of
investigator positions which is based on food stamp and
TANF cases under care.   Localities have been advised that
for the first year of operation, reimbursement for investigator
positions will be based on their food stamp and TANF
caseloads.  The department considers that this is the most
equitable method for distribution of the limited funding.  The
department has advised local directors, through a variety of
methods (information bulletins, policy transmittals, workshops,
and workgroups), that program funding for subsequent years
depends upon collection of any incorrect payments made.
This is not necessarily the best approach to a program which
is fundamental to program integrity.  Local directors take
exception to the funding methodology, pointing out that the
formula does not take into consideration all costs associated
with program operation.  Since these costs have been
considered part of the administration of benefits by both the

federal and state government, the costs are not new
mandates, but on-going responsibilities of local agencies.

The Virginia Tech study concluded that over 40% of the
backlog of fraud referrals had not been investigated at the
time the study was conducted (1996).  There are various
reasons for this backlog.  Most obvious has been the lack of
dedicated fraud staff.  Consistent with state-established
priorities established in the early 1990s, fraud has been one
of the lowest priorities in many local departments.
Additionally, as DPB points out in its report, some local
prosecutors establish thresholds for dollar amounts of cases
they will accept for prosecution.  Prosecution is only one
method for establishing that fraud occurred in a public
assistance case.  Another method is through an
Administrative Disqualification Hearing (ADH).  This method is
used in a large number of cases for a variety of reasons.  It is
a very acceptable alternative to an expensive, time
consuming court case.  Since § 63.1-58.2 states that the state
retained portion of all collections will be deposited to the
Special Fraud Recovery Fund for use in the statewide fraud
program, reimbursement or recoupment through any means,
whether through a court order, ADH order, or voluntary
repayment, will be used for funding Fraud FREE.

The DPB report states that the Fraud FREE Program has
some incentive flaws.  Actually, it is not designed to offer
incentives, but to enforce the mandates of existing Code
sections which require local departments to investigate public
assistance cases for completeness and correctness.  Fraud
FREE does provide some funding to assist with program
costs, to the extent funding is available.  Any funding
limitations do not negate the obligation to operate a vibrant
fraud program.  A fraud program should not be evaluated
solely from the standpoint of cost effectiveness, but rather in
terms of a commitment to prevention of fraud, waste, and
abuse, and to program integrity.

Fraud FREE has completed the first two phases of its three
phase implementation plan.  The department is reviewing
suggestions and comments received from local directors and
workers, and will continue to work to improve program design
and address funding issues.

Summary:

The proposed regulation describes the requirements for
local administration, and state requirements for local
reimbursement, of the statewide fraud program named
Fraud Reduction/Elimination Effort, or Fraud FREE.
Local departments of social services must operate the
Fraud FREE program, submit for approval a local plan of
operation, and comply with program regulations and
policy in order to receive state reimbursement for the
local share of costs of fraud investigators.  The regulation
also describes the method by which the state will
approve requests for staffing for the first year and
subsequent years of program operation.
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CHAPTER 325.
FRAUD REDUCTION/ELIMINATION EFFORT.

22 VAC 40-325-10.  Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Virginia Department of Social
Services.

“Direct costs” means the cost of salary, fringe benefits and
supporting costs of operation.

“Food stamps” means the program supervised by the
Virginia Department of Social Services through which a
household can receive food stamps with which to purchase
food products.

“Fraud Recovery Special Fund” means the special fund
established under § 63.1-58.2 D of the Code of Virginia.

“Fraud Reduction/Elimination Effort” means the program
established in compliance with § 63.1-58.2 of the Code of
Virginia to ensure that fraud prevention and investigation are
aggressively pursued throughout the Commonwealth of
Virginia.

“Fraud prevention and investigation units” means a person
or persons whose job it is to work on all aspects of prevention
and investigation of fraud cases.

“FREE” means the Fraud Reduction/Elimination Effort.

“General fund” means that portion of the budget of the
Commonwealth of Virginia which is made up of general tax
revenues, the major sources of which are sales tax, income
tax, and profits from the Virginia Lottery.

“Local departments” means local departments of social
services.

“Local share” means that portion of the administrative costs
of operation borne by local departments of social services.

“Reimbursed” means the process by which the Department
of Social Services provides monetary credit to local
departments of social services for their administrative costs.

“Supporting costs of operation” means program costs other
than salaries and fringe benefits.  These supporting costs of
operation include travel, telephone, utilities, supplies, and
allowance for space.

“TANF” means the Temporary Assistance for Needy
Families program.

“Temporary Assistance for Needy Families” means the
program which provides a monthly cash benefit to families
which meet income and eligibility requirements.

22 VAC 40-325-20.  The Fraud Reduction/Elimination
Effort.

A.  In compliance with § 63.1-58.2 of the Code of Virginia,
the Department of Social Services shall establish a statewide
fraud prevention and control program, to be named the Fraud
Reduction/Elimination Effort (FREE).

B.  Each local department of social services shall operate
FREE.  Local departments shall  submit a program operation
plan, which shall include a description of program staffing, to
the Department of Social Services for approval.

C.  To the extent that state funding is available in the Fraud
Recovery Special Fund, local departments which are in
compliance with § 63.1-58.2 of the Code of Virginia, this
chapter, and Department of Social Services FREE program
policy shall be reimbursed for the local share of direct costs of
approved Fraud FREE programs.

1.  During the first year of the program, requests for
staffing shall be approved based upon each local
agency’s average TANF and food stamp caseload size.

2.  Requests for subsequent years shall be evaluated
based upon an agency’s average TANF and food stamp
caseload size, average number of monthly applications
for food stamps and TANF, number of workers,
geographic location, number of fraud investigations,
program compliance, and collections.  In order to receive
full reimbursement in subsequent years, the state
retained portion of a local agency’s combined collections
must equal or exceed the reimbursed cost of its positions
dedicated to FREE.

VA.R. Doc. No. R99-12; Filed December 1, 1999, 8:21 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
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FINAL REGULATIONS

TITLE 4.  CONSERVATION AND NATURAL
RESOURCES

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE:  The following regulations filed by
the Marine Resources Commission is exempt from the
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 9-6.14:4.1 F
of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is required
to publish the full text of final regulations.

Title of Regulation:  4 VAC 20-270-10 et seq.  Pertaining to
Crabbing (amending 4 VAC 20-270-50).

Statutory Authority:  § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 1, 2000.

Summary:

The amendment reduces the peeler crab pot limit from
400 to 300 pots per person.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Deborah Cawthon, Regulatory Coordinator, Marine
Resources Commission, P.O. Box 756, Newport New, VA
23607, telephone (757) 247-2248.

4 VAC 20-270-50. Peeler crab pot limits.

A. From April 1 through June 30, It shall be unlawful for any
person to place, set or fish or attempt to place, set, or fish
more than 400 300 peeler crab pots per vessel.

B. From July 1 through November 30, it shall be unlawful
for any person to place, set or fish more than 400 peeler pots
and it shall be unlawful for more than two peeler pot licensees
to place, set or fish peeler pots from the same vessel.

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-55; Filed November 30, 1999, 11:23 a.m.

* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  4 VAC 20-700-10 et seq.  Pertaining to
Crab Pots (amending 4 VAC 20-700-20).

Statutory Authority:  § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 1, 2000.

Summary:

The amendments remove the provision allowing the
obstruction of the 2-5/16 inch cull ring in crab pots set in
the crab dredge area and in Pocomoke or Tangier
Sound.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Deborah Cawthon, Regulatory Coordinator, Marine

Resources Commission, P.O. Box 756, Newport New, VA
23607, telephone (757) 247-2248.

4 VAC 20-700-20. Cull ring requirements.

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to place, set or fish
any crab pot in Virginia's tidal waters which does not contain
at least two unobstructed cull rings of size and location within
the pot as hereinafter described, except as provided in
subsection B of this section.  One cull ring shall be at least 2-
5/16 inches inside diameter, and the other cull ring shall be at
least 2-3/16 inches inside diameter.  These cull rings shall be
located one each in opposite exterior side panels of the upper
chamber of the pot.

B. The required 2-5/16 inches inside diameter cull ring may
be obstructed in crab pots set within the crab dredge areas as
set forth in 4 VAC 20-90-10 et seq., or on the seaside of
Accomack and Northampton Counties or within Pocomoke or
Tangier Sound proper.  Any crab pot set within any tributary
or subtributary of Pocomoke or Tangier Sound shall not
contain any obstructed cull rings.

C. Peeler pots with a mesh size less than 1-1/2 inches shall
be exempt from the cull ring requirement.

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-54; Filed November 30, 1999, 11:22 a.m.

* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  4 VAC 20-890-10 et seq.  Pertaining to
Channeled Whelk (amending 4 VAC 20-890-10 and 4 VAC
20-890-35; adding 4 VAC 20-890-25).

Statutory Authority:  § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 1, 2000.

Summary:

The amendments provide the basis for the inception of
the commercial conch pot limited entry, licensed fishery
for Virginia tidal waters.  The amendments also establish
a universal landing limit of 60 bushels and eliminate the
allowance for multiple landing limits from a single vessel.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Deborah Cawthon, Regulatory Coordinator, Marine
Resources Commission, P.O. Box 756, Newport New, VA
23607, telephone (757) 247-2248.

4 VAC 20-890-10. Purpose.

The purpose of this regulation is to conserve the channeled
whelk resource and provide for sustainable recruitment of
channeled whelk to the fishery. As the channeled whelk are a
slow-growing, long-lived species, limitations on the size and
the types of gear which may harvest and possess channeled
whelk from Virginia waters are necessary for the prevention of
a stock decline establish a viable commercial fishery for
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channeled whelk in Virginia waters while minimizing the
potential for overfishing of Virginia channeled whelk stocks.

4 VAC 20-890-25.  Entry limitation; transfers; prohibitions.

A. The sale of commercial conch pot licenses shall be
limited to registered commercial fishermen, solely for the
harvest of channeled whelk from Virginia waters, who meet
either of the following requirements:

1.  The fisherman shall have held a provisional Virginia
conch pot permit in 1999 and reported in accordance with
the requirements of 4 VAC 20-610-60 and the 1999
conch-pot permit; or

2.  The fisherman shall provide the commission with
proof of having harvested channeled whelk from federal
waters during the January 1, 1997, through October 1,
1999, period.

B.  Any person licensed for commercial conch pot under
the provisions of this section may transfer such license to any
registered commercial fisherman when said transfer is
documented on the form provided by the commission and
approved by the Commissioner of Marine Resources.  Upon
approval, the person entering the Virginia commercial conch
pot fishery shall purchase a commercial conch pot license in
his own name.  No commercial conch pot license shall be
transferred more than once per calendar year.

C.  It shall be unlawful for any person licensed under the
provisions of subsection A of this section as a commercial
conch pot fisherman to do any of the following, unless
otherwise specified:

1.  Fail to be on board the vessel when that vessel is
operating in a commercial conch pot harvesting capacity
within Virginia tidal waters;

2.  Fail to display the commercial conch pot license plate
prominently on the starboard side of the vessel;

3. Fail to inscribe each conch pot buoy with the last four
numbers of the commercial fisherman registration license
followed by the letter "W," which correspond to the lawful
conch pot licensee;

4.  Place, set or fish more than 200 conch pots within
Virginia tidal waters;

5.  Retain by-catch of any other species caught by conch
pots; and

6.  Fail to report harvest-related data from harvests in
Virginia waters on a monthly basis on forms supplied by
the commission.

D.  It shall be unlawful for any person to take or catch
channeled whelk with conch pots from the tidal waters of
Virginia without first having purchased a conch pot license
from the commission or its agent.

The fee for the conch pot license shall be $48.

No person may purchase a conch pot license unless he is a
registered commercial fisherman as described in § 28.2-241
of the Code of Virginia.

4 VAC 20-890-35. Possession and landing limits.

A. The possession and landing limits for channeled whelk
shall be 60 bushels per vessel; however, if the vessel is
operated by a person permitted to harvest channeled whelk
from Virginia waters, the possession and landing limit shall be
equal to the number of persons on board the vessel who are
permitted to harvest channeled whelk from Virginia waters
multiplied by 60 bushels.

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess aboard
any vessel or to land more than the possession and landing
limit for channeled whelk specified in subsection A of this
section. In the enforcement of this provision, the vessel
operator or captain shall be responsible for the possession
and landing limit.

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-53; Filed November 30, 1999, 11:21 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w

TITLE 9.  ENVIRONMENT

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD

Title of Regulation:  Regulations for the Control and
Abatement of Air Pollution (Rev. J97).
9 VAC 5-80-10 et seq.  Permits for Stationary Sources
(adding 9 VAC 5-80-1400 through 9 VAC 5-80-1590).

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  February 1, 2000.

Summary:

The regulation establishes a new source review permit
program for major sources of hazardous air pollutants
(HAPs) whereby owners are required to obtain a permit
prior to beginning construction or reconstruction of a new
facility in order to implement the requirements of § 112(g)
of the federal Clean Air Act.  The major components of
the regulation address the following subjects:
applicability; general requirements; permit application
requirements; application information required; action on
permit applications; public participation; standards and
conditions for granting permits; application review and
analysis; compliance determination and verification by
performance testing; permit invalidation, rescission,
revocation and enforcement; existence of permit no
defense; compliance with local zoning requirements;
transfer of and changes to permits; administrative and
minor permit amendments; significant amendment
procedures; reopening for cause; requirements for
constructed or reconstructed major sources subject to a
subsequently promulgated MACT standard or MACT
requirements.

This regulation provides the Commonwealth with a
program that satisfies the applicable requirements of 40
CFR 63.40 through 63.44.

Originally, the regulation was proposed to encompass
permitting for all potential major sources of HAPs in
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addition to those affected by § 112(g) of the federal
Clean Air Act.  Thus, a major source for this rule was
originally a § 112(g) source, a § 112(i) source, or a 40
CFR Part 61 source.  During the public comment period,
comments were submitted which raised issues that
necessitated substantive changes to the original
proposal; therefore, the proposal was revised such that it
applies only to § 112(g) sources.  The substantive
changes that reflect the change in the overall approach to
the regulation are found in 9 VAC 5-80-1400
(Applicability), 9 VAC 5-80-1410 (Definitions), and 9 VAC
5-80-1420 (General).

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response:  A
summary of comments made by the public and the agency’s
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Alma Jenkins, Office of Air Regulatory Development,
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009,
Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4070.

PART II.
PERMIT PROCEDURES.

Article 7.
Permits for New and Reconstructed Major Sources of

Hazardous Air Pollutants.

9 VAC 5-80-1400.  Applicability.

A.  The provisions of this article apply to any owner or other
person who constructs or reconstructs a major source of
hazardous air pollutants.

B.  The provisions of this article apply throughout the
Commonwealth of Virginia.

C.  Regardless of the exemptions provided in this article, no
owner or other person shall circumvent the requirements of
this article by causing or allowing a pattern of ownership or
development over a geographic area of a source which,
except for the pattern of ownership or development, would
otherwise require a permit.

D.  No provision of this article shall be construed as
exempting any stationary source, emissions unit, or affected
source from the provisions of this chapter.

E.  Unless specified otherwise, the provisions of this article
are applicable to various sources as follows:

1.  Provisions referring to "sources," or "new or
reconstructed sources, or both" or "stationary sources"
are applicable to the construction or reconstruction of all
major sources of hazardous air pollutants.

2.  Any emissions units, stationary sources, or air
pollutants not subject to the provisions of this article may
be subject to other provisions of the new source review
program.

F. [ Unless a MACT standard is promulgated, ] The
provisions of this article do not apply to (i) electric utility steam
generating units [ unless and until such time as these units
are added to the source category list ], [ or ] (ii) research and

development activities [ , (iii) affected sources, or (iv)
stationary sources that are within a source category that has
been deleted from the source category list ].

9 VAC 5-80-1410.  Definitions.

A.  For the purpose of this article and subsequent
amendments or any orders issued by the board, the words or
terms shall have the meaning given them in subsection C of
this section.

B.  As used in this section, all terms not defined here shall
have the meaning given them in 9 VAC 5 Chapter 10 (9 VAC
5-10-10 et seq.), unless otherwise required by context.

C.  Terms defined.

"Affected source" means the stationary source, the group of
stationary sources, or the portion of a stationary source which
is [ not ] regulated by a MACT standard.

"Affected states" are all states:

1.  Whose air quality may be affected and that are
contiguous to the Commonwealth; or

2.  Whose air quality may be affected and that are within
50 miles of the major source for which a case-by-case
MACT determination is made in accordance with this
article.

"Available information" means, for purposes of identifying
control technology options for the [ affected stationary ]
source, information contained in the following information
sources as of the date of approval of the permit:

1.  A relevant proposed regulation, including all
supporting information.

2.  Background information documents for a draft or
proposed regulation.

3.  Data and information available from the Control
Technology Center developed pursuant to § 113 of the
federal Clean Air Act.

4.  Data and information contained in the Aerometric
Informational Retrieval System including information in
the MACT database.

5.  Any additional information that can be expeditiously
provided by the administrator.

6.  For the purpose of determinations by the board, any
additional information provided by the applicant or others,
and any additional information considered available by
the board.

"Begin actual construction" means initiation of permanent
physical on-site construction of an emissions unit.  This
includes, but is not limited to, installation of building supports
and foundations, laying of underground pipework, and
construction of permanent storage structures.

"Begin actual reconstruction" means initiation of permanent
physical on-site reconstruction of an emissions unit.  This
includes, but is not limited to, installation of building supports
and foundations, laying of underground pipework, and
construction of permanent storage structures.



Final Regulations

Volume 16, Issue 7 Monday, December 20, 1999

807

"Best controlled similar source" means [ an affected a
stationary ] source that (i) has comparable emissions and is
structurally similar in design and capacity to other [ affected
stationary ] sources such that the [ affected stationary ]
sources could be controlled using the same control
technology, and (ii) uses a control technology that achieves
the lowest emission rate among all other similar sources in
the United States.

"Case-by-case MACT determination" means a
determination by the board, pursuant to the requirements of
this article, which establishes a MACT emission limitation,
MACT work practice standard, or other MACT requirements
for [ an affected  a stationary ] source subject to this article.

"Commenced" means, with respect to construction or
reconstruction of a stationary source, that the owner has
undertaken a continuous program of construction or
reconstruction or that an owner has entered into a contractual
obligation to undertake and complete, within a reasonable
time, a continuous program of construction or reconstruction.

"Complete application" means that the application contains
all the information necessary for processing the application
and the provisions of § 10.1-1321.1 of the Virginia Air
Pollution Control Law have been met.  Designating an
application complete for purposes of permit processing does
not preclude the board from requesting or accepting
additional information.

"Construct a major source" means:

1.  To fabricate, erect, or install a major source at any
undeveloped site, or

2.  To fabricate, erect, or install a major process or
production unit at any site.

"Construction" means:

1.  The fabrication, erection, or installation of a major
source at any undeveloped site, or

2.  The fabrication, erection, or installation of a major
process or production unit at any site.

"Control technology" means measures, processes,
methods, systems, or techniques to limit the emission of
hazardous air pollutants including, but not limited to,
measures that:

1.  Reduce the quantity of, or eliminate emissions of,
such pollutants through process changes, substitution of
materials or other modifications;

2.  Enclose systems or processes to eliminate emissions;

3.  Collect, capture or treat such pollutants when
released from a process, stack, storage or fugitive
emissions point;

4.  Are design, equipment, work practice, or operational
standards (including requirements for operator training or
certification); or

5.  Are a combination of subdivisions 1 through 4 of this
definition.

"Electric utility steam generating unit" means any fossil fuel
fired combustion unit of more than 25 megawatts that serves
a generator that produces electricity for sale.  A unit that co-
generates steam and electricity and supplies more than one-
third of its potential electric output capacity and more than 25
megawatts electric output to any utility power distribution
system for sale shall be considered an electric utility steam
generating unit.

"Emergency" means, in the context of 9 VAC 5-80-1580 C,
a situation where immediate action on the part of a source is
needed and where the timing of the action makes it
impractical to meet the requirements of this article, such as
sudden loss of power, fires, earthquakes, floods or similar
occurrences.

[ "Emission standard" means an emission standard,
limitation, prohibition, or other regulation promulgated in
9 VAC 5 Chapter 60 (9 VAC 5-60-10 et seq.). ]

"Emissions unit" means any part of a stationary source
which emits or would have the potential to emit any
hazardous air pollutant.

"Enforceable as a practical matter" means that the permit
contains emission limitations that are enforceable by the
board or the department and meet the following criteria:

1.  Are permanent.

2.  Contain a legal obligation for the owner to adhere to
the terms and conditions.

3.  Do not allow a relaxation of a requirement of the state
implementation plan.

4.  Are technically accurate and quantifiable.

5.  Include averaging times or other provisions that allow
at least monthly (or a shorter period if necessary to be
consistent with the emission standard) checks on
compliance.  This may include, but not be limited to, the
following: compliance with annual limits in a rolling basis,
monthly or shorter limits, and other provisions consistent
with 9 VAC 5-80-1490 and other regulations of the board.

6.  Require a level of recordkeeping, reporting and
monitoring sufficient to demonstrate compliance.

"EPA" means the United States Environmental Protection
Agency.

"Federal operating permit" means a permit issued under
Article 1 (9 VAC 5-80-50 et seq.) or Article 3 (9 VAC 5-80-360
et seq.) of this part.

"Federally enforceable" means all limitations and conditions
which are enforceable by the administrator and citizens under
the federal Clean Air Act or that are enforceable under other
statutes administered by the administrator.  Federally
enforceable limitations and conditions include but are not
limited to the following:

1.  Emission standards, alternative emission standards,
alternative emission limitations, and equivalent emission
limitations established pursuant to § 112 of the federal
Clean Air Act as amended in 1990.
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2.  New source performance standards established
pursuant to § 111 of the federal Clean Air Act, and
emission standards established pursuant to § 112 of the
federal Clean Air Act before it was amended in 1990.

3.  All terms and conditions in a federal operating permit,
including any provisions that limit a source's potential to
emit, unless expressly designated as not federally
enforceable.

4.  Limitations and conditions that are part of an
approved State Implementation Plan (SIP) or a Federal
Implementation Plan (FIP).

5.  Limitations and conditions that are part of a federal
construction permit issued under 40 CFR 52.21 or any
construction permit issued under regulations approved by
EPA in accordance with 40 CFR Part 51. [ This does not
include limitations and conditions that are established to
address plans, programs, or regulatory requirements that
are enforceable only by the Commonwealth. ]

6.  Limitations and conditions that are part of an
operating permit issued pursuant to a program approved
by EPA into a SIP as meeting EPA's minimum criteria for
federal enforceability, including adequate notice and
opportunity for EPA and public comment prior to
issuance of the final permit and practicable enforceability.
[ This does not include limitations and conditions that are
established to address plans, programs, or regulatory
requirements that are enforceable only by the
Commonwealth. ]

7.  Limitations and conditions in a Virginia regulation or
program that has been approved by EPA under subpart
E of 40 CFR Part 63 for the purposes of implementing
and enforcing § 112 of the federal Clean Air Act.

8.  Individual consent agreements that EPA has legal
authority to create.

"Fixed capital cost" means the capital needed to provide all
the depreciable components of an existing source.

"Fugitive emissions" means those emissions which could
not reasonably pass through a stack, chimney, vent, or other
functionally equivalent opening.

"Hazardous air pollutant" means any air pollutant listed in
§ 112(b) of the federal Clean Air Act as amended by 40 CFR
63.60.

"MACT standard" means (i) an emission standard; (ii) an
alternative emission standard; or (iii) an alternative emission
limitation promulgated in 40 CFR Part 63 that applies to the
stationary source, the group of stationary sources, or the
portion of a stationary source regulated by such standard or
limitation.  A MACT standard may include or consist of a
design, equipment, work practice, or operational requirement,
or other measure, process, method, system, or technique
(including prohibition of emissions) that the administrator
establishes for new or existing sources to which such
standard or limitation applies.  Every MACT standard
established pursuant to § 112 of the federal Clean Air Act
includes subpart A of 40 CFR Part 63 and all applicable
appendices of 40 CFR Part 63 or of other parts of Title 40 of

the Code of Federal Regulations that are referenced in that
standard.

"Major process or production unit" means any process or
production unit which in and of itself emits or has the potential
to emit 10 tons per year of any hazardous air pollutant or 25
tons per year of any combination of hazardous air pollutants.

"Major source" means any stationary source or group of
stationary sources located within a contiguous area and under
common control that emits or has the potential to emit
considering controls, in the aggregate, 10 tons per year or
more of any hazardous air pollutant or 25 tons per year or
more of any combination of hazardous air pollutants, unless
the board establishes a lesser quantity, or in the case of
radionuclides, different criteria from those specified in this
definition.

"Maximum achievable control technology (MACT) emission
limitation" means the emission limitation which is not less
stringent than the emission limitation achieved in practice by
the best controlled similar source, and which reflects the
maximum degree of reduction in emissions that the board,
taking into consideration the cost of achieving such emission
reduction and any nonair quality health and environmental
impacts and energy requirements, determines is achievable
by the constructed or reconstructed major source.

"New source review program" means a program for the
preconstruction review and permitting of new stationary
sources or expansions to existing ones in accordance with
regulations promulgated to implement the requirements of
§§ 110 (a)(2)(C), 165 (relating to permits in prevention of
significant deterioration areas) and 173 (relating to permits in
nonattainment areas) and 112 (relating to permits for
hazardous air pollutants) of the federal Clean Air Act.

[ "Performance test" means the collection of data resulting
from the execution of a test method (usually three emission
test runs) used to demonstrate compliance with a MACT
emission standard as specified in the performance test
section of the MACT standard. ]

"Permit" means a document issued pursuant to this article
containing all federally enforceable conditions necessary to
enforce the application and operation of any maximum
achievable control technology or other control technologies
such that the MACT emission limitation is met.

"Potential to emit" means the maximum capacity of a
stationary source to emit a pollutant under its physical and
operational design.  Any physical or operational limitation on
the capacity of the source to emit a pollutant, including air
pollution control equipment, and restrictions on hours of
operation or on the type or amount of material combusted,
stored, or processed, shall be treated as part of its design
only if the limitation or its effect on emissions is state [ or and ]
federally enforceable. [ Fugitive emissions count in
determining the potential to emit of a stationary source.
Secondary emissions do not count in determining the
potential to emit of a stationary source. ]

"Presumptive MACT" means a preliminary MACT
determination made by EPA, in consultation with states and
other stakeholders, after data on a source category's
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emissions and controls have been collected and analyzed,
but before the MACT standard has been promulgated.

"Process or production unit" means any collection of
structures or equipment or both, that processes, assembles,
applies, or otherwise uses material inputs to produce or store
an intermediate or final product.  A single facility may contain
more than one process or production unit.

"Public comment period" means a time during which the
public shall have the opportunity to comment on the permit
application information (exclusive of confidential information),
the preliminary review and analysis, and the preliminary
decision of the board regarding the permit application.

"Reconstruct a major source" means to replace
components at an existing major process or production unit
whenever:

1.  The fixed capital cost of the new components exceeds
50% of the fixed capital cost that would be required to
construct a comparable new process or production unit;
and

2.  It is technically and economically feasible for the
reconstructed major source to meet the applicable
standard for new sources established in a permit.

"Reconstruction" means the replacement of components at
an existing major process or production unit whenever:

1.  The fixed capital cost of the new components exceeds
50% of the fixed capital cost that would be required to
construct a comparable new process or production unit;
and

2.  It is technologically and economically feasible for the
reconstructed process or production unit to meet the
applicable standard for new sources established in a
permit.

"Research and development activities" means activities
conducted at a research or laboratory facility whose primary
purpose is to conduct research and development into new
processes and products, where such source is operated
under the close supervision of technically trained personnel
and is not engaged in the manufacture of products for sale or
exchange for commercial profit, except in a de minimis
manner.

[ "Secondary emissions" means emissions which occur or
would occur as a result of the construction, reconstruction, or
operation of a stationary source, but do not come from the
stationary source itself.  For the purpose of this article,
secondary emissions must be specific, well-defined, and
quantifiable; and must impact upon the same general areas
as the stationary source which causes the secondary
emissions.  Secondary emissions include emissions from any
off site support facility which would not be constructed or
increase its emissions except as a result of the construction
or operation of the stationary source.  Secondary emissions
do not include any emissions which come directly from a
mobile source, such as emissions from the tailpipe of a motor
vehicle, from a train, or from a vessel. ]

"Similar source" means a stationary source or process that
has comparable emissions and is structurally similar in design
and capacity to a constructed or reconstructed major source
such that the source could be controlled using the same
control technology.

[ “Source category list” means the list and schedule issued
pursuant to § 112 (c) and (e) for promulgating MACT
standards issued pursuant to § 112 (d) of the federal Clean
Air Act and published in the Federal Register at 63 FR 7155,
February 12, 1998. ]

"State enforceable" means all limitations and conditions
which are enforceable as a practical matter, including those
requirements developed pursuant to 9 VAC 5-20-160,
requirements within any applicable order or variance, and any
permit requirements established pursuant to this chapter.

"Stationary source" means any building, structure, facility or
installation which emits or may emit any air pollutant.

"Uncontrolled emission rate" means the emission rate from
a source when operating at maximum capacity without air
pollution control equipment.  Air pollution control equipment is
equipment that enables the source to conform to applicable
air pollution control laws and regulations and that is not vital
to its operation.

9 VAC 5-80-1420.  General.

A.  No owner or other person shall begin actual
construction or reconstruction of any major source of
hazardous air pollutants without first obtaining from the board
a permit to construct and operate or to reconstruct and
operate such source.

B.  The board may combine the requirements of and the
permits for emissions units within a stationary source subject
to the new source review program into one permit.  Likewise
the board may require that applications for permits for
emissions units within a stationary source required by any
provision of the new source review program be combined into
one application.

C.  All provisions contained in the permit shall be federally
enforceable upon the effective date of issuance of the permit [
, except for those provisions that are established to address
plans, programs, or regulatory requirements that are
enforceable only by the Commonwealth ].

D.  Nothing in the regulations of the board shall be
construed to prevent the board from granting permits for
programs of construction or reconstruction in planned
incremental phases.  In such cases, all net emissions
increases from all emissions units covered by the program
shall be added together for determining the applicability of this
article.

E. [ For permits issued to affected sources, ] The MACT
emission [ limitation limitations ] and requirements established
[ according to this article ] shall be effective as required by 9
VAC 5-80-1450 I, consistent with the principles established in
subsection F of this section, and supported by the information
listed in 9 VAC 5-80-1440.  The owner shall comply with the
requirements in 9 VAC 5-80-1450 J and 9 VAC 5-80-1490,
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and with all applicable requirements in Subpart A of 40 CFR
Part 63.

F.  The following general principles shall govern
preparation by the owner of each permit application or other
application for [ affected stationary ] sources requiring a case-
by-case MACT determination concerning construction or
reconstruction of a major source, and all subsequent review
of and actions taken concerning such an application by the
board:

1.  The MACT emission limitation or MACT requirements
recommended by the applicant and approved by the
board shall not be less stringent than the emission
control which is achieved in practice by the best
controlled similar source, as determined by the board.

2.  Based upon available information, the MACT emission
limitation and control technology (including any
requirements under subdivision 3 of this subsection)
recommended by the applicant and approved by the
board shall achieve the maximum degree of reduction in
emissions of hazardous air pollutants which can be
achieved by utilizing those control technologies that can
be identified from the available information, taking into
consideration the costs of achieving such emission
reduction and any non-air quality health and
environmental impacts and energy requirements
associated with the emission reduction.

3.  The applicant may recommend a specific design,
equipment, work practice, or operational standard, or a
combination thereof, and the board may approve such a
standard if the board specifically determines that it is not
feasible to prescribe or enforce an emission limitation.
The phrase "not feasible" means any situation in which
the board determines that:

a.  A hazardous air pollutant or pollutants cannot be
emitted through a conveyance designed and
constructed to emit or capture such pollutant, or that
any requirement for, or use of, such a conveyance
would be inconsistent with the Regulations for the
Control and Abatement of Air Pollution.

b.  The application of measurement methodology to a
particular class of sources is not practicable due to
technological and economic limitations.

4.  If the administrator has either proposed a MACT
emission standard or made a presumptive MACT
determination for the source category which includes the
constructed or reconstructed major source, the board
shall consider the MACT emission limitations and
requirements of the proposed standard or presumptive
MACT determination in determining the MACT emission
limitation applicable to the constructed or reconstructed
major source.

[ G.  For sources subject to this article, the provisions of 40
CFR 61.06, 40 CFR 61.07 and 40 CFR 61.08 shall be
implemented through this article.  Permits issued under this
article shall be the administrative mechanism for issuing
approvals of construction under the provisions of 40 CFR Part
61.  In cases where there are differences between the

provisions of this article and the provisions of 40 CFR Part 61,
the more restrictive provisions shall apply.

H.  For sources subject to this article, the provisions of 40
CFR 63.5 shall be implemented through this article.  Permits
issued under this article shall be the administrative
mechanism for issuing approvals of construction or
reconstruction under 40 CFR 63.5.  In cases where there are
differences between the provisions of this article and the
provisions of 40 CFR 63.5, the more restrictive provisions
shall apply.

I. G. ] The provisions of subsection F of this section shall
not apply to new, major process or production units, provided
the process or production unit satisfies the criteria in
subdivisions 1 through 6 of this subsection:

1.  All hazardous air pollutants emitted by the process or
production unit that would otherwise be controlled under
the requirements of this article will be controlled by
emission control equipment which was previously
installed at the same site as the process or production
unit;

2. a.  The board has determined within a period of five
years prior to the fabrication, erection, or installation of
the process or production unit that the existing
emission control equipment represented best available
control technology (BACT) or lowest achievable
emission rate (LAER), determined in accordance with
9 VAC 5-50-280 (BACT) or 9 VAC 5-50-270 (LAER),
for the category of pollutants which includes those
hazardous air pollutants to be emitted by the process
or production unit; or

b.  The board determines that the control of hazardous
air pollutant emissions provided by the existing
equipment will be equivalent to that level of control
currently achieved by other well-controlled similar
sources (i.e., equivalent to the level of control that
would be provided by a current BACT or LAER
determination);

3.  The board determines that the percent control
efficiency for emissions of hazardous air pollutants from
all sources to be controlled by the existing control
equipment will be equivalent to the percent control
efficiency provided by the control equipment prior to the
inclusion of the new process or production unit;

4.  The board has provided notice and an opportunity for
public comment concerning its determination that criteria
in subdivisions 1 through 3 of this subsection apply and
concerning the continued adequacy of any prior BACT or
LAER determination;

5.  If any commenter has asserted that a prior BACT or
LAER determination is no longer adequate, the board
has determined that the level of control required by that
prior determination remains adequate; and

6.  Any emission limitations, work practice requirements,
or other terms and conditions upon which the above
determinations by the board are predicated will be
construed by the board as applicable requirements under
the federal operating permit program and either have
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been incorporated into any existing federal operating
permit for the [ affected stationary ] source or will be
incorporated into such permit upon issuance.

9 VAC 5-80-1430.  Applications.

A.  A single application is required identifying at a minimum
each emissions unit subject to the provisions of this article.
The application shall be submitted according to procedures
approved by the board.  However, where several emissions
units are included in one project, a single application covering
all units in the project may be submitted.

B.  A separate application is required for each major
source.

C.  For projects with phased development, a single
application should be submitted covering the entire project.

D.  Any application form, report, or compliance certification
submitted to the board shall comply with the provisions of
9 VAC 5-20-230.

9 VAC 5-80-1440.  Application information required.

A.  The board shall furnish application forms to applicants.
Completion of these forms serves as initial registration of new
and reconstructed sources.

B.  Each application for a permit shall include such
information as may be required by the board to determine
compliance with the [ emission standards which are
applicable MACT emission limitation established under this
article ].  The information required shall include, but is not
limited to, the following:

1.  Company name and address (or plant name and
address if different from the company name), owner's
name and agent, and telephone number and names of
plant site manager or contact or both.

2.  A brief description of the major source, including a
description of the source's processes and products (by
Standard Industrial Classification Code), to be
constructed or reconstructed and identification of any
listed source category or categories in which it is
included.

3.  All emissions of hazardous air pollutants.

a.  A permit application shall describe all emissions of
hazardous air pollutants emitted from any emissions
unit to be covered by the permit.

b.  Emissions shall be calculated as required in the
permit application form or instructions.

c.  Fugitive emissions shall be included in the permit
application to the extent quantifiable.

4.  The hazardous air pollutants emitted by the
constructed or reconstructed major source and the
estimated emission rate for each such hazardous air
pollutant.  Emissions rates shall be expressed in tons per
year and in such other terms as are necessary to
establish compliance consistent with the applicable
standard reference test method.

5.  The maximum and expected utilization of capacity of
the constructed or reconstructed major source and the
associated uncontrolled emission rates for that source.

6.  The controlled emissions for the constructed or
reconstructed major source in tons per year at expected
and maximum utilization of capacity.

7.  Information needed to determine or regulate
emissions as follows: fuels, fuel use, raw materials,
production rates, loading rates, and operating schedules.

8.  Limitations on source operation affecting emissions or
any work practice standards, where applicable, for all
hazardous air pollutants at the source.

9.  Calculations on which the information in subdivisions
3 through 8 of this subsection is based.  Any calculations
shall include sufficient detail to permit assessment of the
validity of such calculations.

10.  Any federally enforceable emission limitations
applicable to the constructed or reconstructed major
source.

11.  The expected commencement date for the
construction or reconstruction of the major source.

12.  The expected completion date for construction or
reconstruction of the major source.

13.  The anticipated date of startup for the constructed or
reconstructed major source.

14.  Any additional information or documentation that the
board deems necessary to review and analyze the air
pollution aspects of the stationary source [ , affected
source, ] or emissions unit.

C.  In each instance where [ an affected a stationary ]
source would require additional control technology or a
change in control technology to be in compliance with the
MACT emission limitation established under this article, the
application shall contain the following information:

1.  Information described in subsection B of this section.

2.  The control technology selected by the owner and
compliance monitoring devices or activities that, if
properly operated and maintained, will meet the MACT
emission limitation or standard as determined according
to the principles set forth in 9 VAC 5-80-1420 F.

3.  A recommended emission limitation for the
constructed or reconstructed major source consistent
with the principles set forth in 9 VAC 5-80-1420 F.

4.  The selected control technology to meet the
recommended MACT emission limitation, including
technical information on the design, operation, size,
estimated control efficiency of the control technology
(and the manufacturer's name, address, telephone
number, and relevant specifications and drawings, if
requested by the board).

5.  Supporting documentation including identification of
alternative control technologies considered by the
applicant to meet the emission limitation, and analysis of
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cost and non-air quality health and environmental
impacts or energy requirements for the selected control
technology.

6.  Any other relevant information required pursuant to
Subpart A of 40 CFR Part 63.

D.  In each instance where the owner contends that [ an
affected a stationary ] source will be in compliance, upon
startup, with the MACT emission limitation established under
this article without a change in control technology, the
application shall contain:

1.  Information described in subsections B and C of this
section; and

2.  Documentation of the control technology in place.

E.  The above information and analysis shall be determined
and presented according to procedures and using methods
acceptable to the board.

9 VAC 5-80-1450.  Action on permit application.

A.  Within 45 days after receipt of an application, the board
shall notify the applicant of the status of the application.  The
notification of the initial determination with regard to the status
of the application shall be provided by the board in writing and
shall include: (i) a determination as to which provisions of the
new source review program are applicable, (ii) the
identification of any deficiencies, and (iii) a determination as
to whether the application contains sufficient information to
begin application review.  The determination that the
application has sufficient information to begin review is not
necessarily a determination that it is complete.  Within 30
days after receipt of any additional information, the board
shall notify the applicant of any deficiencies in such
information.  The date of receipt of a complete application for
processing under subsection B of this section shall be the
date on which the board received all required information and
the provisions of § 10.1-1321.1 of the Virginia Air Pollution
Control Law have been met.

B.  Processing time for a permit is normally 180 days
following receipt of a complete application.  The board may
extend this time period if additional information is required.
Processing steps may include, but not be limited to:

1.  Completion of the application review and analysis in
accordance with 9 VAC 5-80-1480 and the preliminary
decision of the board;

2.  Completion of the emission limitation review (if any);

3.  Completion of the public participation requirements in
9 VAC 5-80-1460; and

4.  Completion of the final review and analysis and the
final decision of the board.

C.  At its discretion, the board may undertake the following
steps prior to commencing with the public participation
requirements of 9 VAC 5-80-1460:

1.  The board shall initially approve the recommended
emission limitation and other terms set forth in the
application, or the board shall notify the owner in writing
of its intent to disapprove the application, within 30

calendar days after the owner is notified in writing that
the application is complete.

2.  The owner may present, in writing, within 60 calendar
days after receipt of notice of the board's intent to
disapprove the application, additional information or
arguments pertaining to, or amendments to, the
application for consideration by the board before it
decides whether to finally disapprove the application.

3.  The board shall either initially approve or issue a final
disapproval of the application within 90 days after it
notifies the owner of an intent to disapprove or within 30
days after the date additional information is received from
the owner, whichever is earlier.

D.  The board will normally take action on all applications
after expiration of the public comment period (and
consideration of comments from that), unless more
information is needed.  The board shall notify the applicant in
writing of its final decision on the application, including its
reasons, and shall also specify the applicable emission
limitations.  These emission limitations are applicable during
any emission testing conducted in accordance with 9 VAC 5-
80-1490.

E.  A final determination by the board to disapprove any
application shall be in writing and shall specify the grounds on
which the disapproval is based.  If any application is finally
disapproved, the owner may submit a subsequent application
concerning construction or reconstruction of the same major
source, provided that the subsequent application has been
amended in response to the stated grounds for the prior
disapproval.

F.  The applicant may appeal the decision pursuant to
9 VAC 5 Chapter 170 (9 VAC 5-170-190 et seq.).

G.  Within five days after notification to the applicant
pursuant to subsection B of this section, the notification and
any comments received pursuant to the public comment
period and public hearing shall be made available for public
inspection at the same location as was the information in
9 VAC 5-80-1460 H 1.

H.  The board shall send a copy of any final permit issued
to [ an affected a stationary ] source to the administrator
through the appropriate regional office and to all other state
and local air pollution control agencies having jurisdiction in
affected states.  Within 60 days of the issuance of the final
permit, the board shall provide a copy of such permit to the
administrator, and shall provide a summary in a compatible
electronic format for inclusion in the MACT database.

I.  The effective date of a case-by-case MACT
determination shall be the date the permit becomes final.

J.  On and after the date of startup, a constructed or
reconstructed major source which is subject to the
requirements of this article shall be in compliance with all
applicable requirements specified in the permit.

9 VAC 5-80-1460.  Public participation.

A.  No later than 15 days after receiving the initial
determination notification required under 9 VAC 5-80-1450 A,
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the applicant for a permit for a major source of hazardous air
pollutants shall notify the public of the proposed source as
required in subsection B of this section.  The applicant shall
also provide an informational briefing about the proposed
source for the public as required in subsection C of this
section.

B.  The public notice required under this section shall be
placed by the applicant in at least one newspaper of general
circulation in the affected air quality control region.  The notice
shall be approved by the board and shall include, but not be
limited to, the following:

1.  The source name, location, and type;

2.  The applicable pollutants and the total quantity of
each which the applicant estimates will be emitted, and a
brief statement of the air quality impact of such
pollutants;

3.  The control technology proposed to be used at the
time of the publication of the notice;

4.  The date, time and place of the informational briefing;
and

5.  The name and telephone number of a contact person
employed by the applicant who can answer questions
about the proposed source.

C.  The informational briefing shall be held in the locality
where the source is or will be located and at least 30 days,
but no later than 60 days, following the day of the publication
of the public notice in the newspaper.  The applicant shall
inform the public about the operation and potential air quality
impact of the source and answer any questions concerning air
quality about the proposed source from those in attendance at
the briefing.  At a minimum, the applicant shall provide
information on and answer questions about (i) specific
pollutants and the total quantity of each which the applicant
estimates will be emitted and (ii) the control technology
proposed to be used at the time of the informational briefing.
Representatives from the board shall attend and provide
information and answer questions on the permit application
review process.

D.  Upon a determination by the board that it will achieve
the desired results in an equally effective manner, an
applicant for a permit may implement an alternative plan for
notifying the public as required in subsection B of this section
and for providing the informational briefing as required in
subsection C of this section.

E.  Prior to the decision of the board, all permit applications
shall be subject to a public comment period of at least 30
days.

F.  No sooner than 30 days after the start of the public
comment period, a public hearing shall be held in accordance
with this section for any application which has the potential for
public interest concerning air quality issues as determined by
the board on the basis of the following criteria:

1.  Whether the project is opposed by any person;

2.  Whether the project has resulted in adverse publicity;

3.  Whether the project has generated adverse comment
through any public participation or governmental review
process initiated by any other governmental agency; and

4.  Whether the project has generated adverse comment
by a local official, governing body or advisory board.

G. [ When a public comment period and public hearing are
required, ] The board shall notify the public by advertisement
in at least one newspaper of general circulation in the area
affected of the opportunity for the public comment and the
public hearing on the information available for public
inspection under the provisions of subdivision 1 of this
subsection.  The notification shall be published at least 30
days prior to the day of the public hearing.

1.  Information on the permit application (exclusive of
confidential information under 9 VAC 5-170-60), as well
as the preliminary review and analysis and preliminary
decision of the board, shall be available for public
inspection during the entire public comment period in at
least one location in the affected area.

2.  A copy of the notice shall be sent to all local air
pollution control agencies having jurisdiction in the
affected air quality control region, all states sharing the
affected air quality control region, and to the regional
EPA administrator.

3.  Notices of public hearings published under this
section shall meet the requirements of § 10.1-1307.01 of
the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law.

H.  In order to facilitate the efficient issuance of permits
under Articles 1 and 3 of this chapter, upon request of the
applicant the board shall process the permit application under
this article using public participation procedures meeting the
requirements of this section and 9 VAC 5-80-270 or 9 VAC 5-
80-670, as applicable.

9 VAC 5-80-1470.  Standards and conditions for granting
permits.

A.  No permit shall be granted pursuant to this article
unless it is shown to the satisfaction of the board that the
source will be designed, built and equipped to operate without
causing a violation of the applicable provisions of the
regulations of the board and that the following standards have
been met:

1.  The source shall be designed, built and equipped to
comply with applicable emission standards and other
requirements prescribed under 9 VAC 5 Chapter 60
(9 VAC 5-60-10 et seq.).

2. [ For affected sources, ] The source shall be designed,
built and equipped to comply with the MACT emission
limitation and other requirements prescribed in the
permit.

[ 3.  For sources subject to permits issued in accordance
with 9 VAC 5-80-1420 G, the source shall be designed,
built, and equipped to comply with the applicable
emission standard and other requirements prescribed in
40 CFR Part 61.
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4.  For sources subject to permits issued in accordance
with 9 VAC 5-80-1420 H, the source shall be designed,
built, and equipped to comply with the applicable MACT
standard and other requirements prescribed in 40 CFR
Part 63.

5. 3. ] The source shall be designed, built and equipped
to operate without causing a violation of the applicable
provisions of regulations of the board.

B.  Permits granted pursuant to this article [ for affected
sources ] shall:

1.  Contain a MACT emission limitation (or a MACT work
practice standard if the board determines it is not feasible
to prescribe or enforce an emission limitation) to control
the emissions of hazardous air pollutants which is
determined by the board and conforms to the principles
set forth in 9 VAC 5-80-1420 F.

2.  Specify any notification, operation and maintenance,
performance testing, monitoring, reporting and
recordkeeping requirements.

3.  Include the following:

a.  In addition to the MACT emission limitation or
MACT work practice standard established under this
article, additional emission limits, production limits,
operational limits or other terms and conditions
necessary to ensure federal enforceability of the MACT
emission limitation.

b.  Compliance certifications, testing, monitoring,
reporting and recordkeeping requirements that are
consistent with the requirements of 9 VAC 5-80-110 K.

c.  Monitoring capable of demonstrating continuous
compliance during the applicable reporting period.
Such monitoring data shall be of sufficient quality to be
used as a basis for enforcing all applicable
requirements established under this article, including
emission limitations.

d.  A statement requiring the owner to comply with all
applicable requirements contained in this article.

C.  Permits granted pursuant to this article shall contain
emission standards as necessary to implement the provisions
of this article.  The following criteria shall be met in
establishing emission standards to the extent necessary to
assure that emission levels are enforceable as a practical
matter:

1.  Standards may include the level, quantity, rate, or
concentration or any combination of them for each
affected pollutant.

2.  In no case shall a standard result in emissions which
would exceed the emissions rate based on the potential
to emit of the emissions unit.

3.  Standards shall only include limitations that are
determined by the board to be achievable through
application of production processes or available methods,
systems, and techniques, including, but not limited to,
any of the following: emissions control equipment, fuel

cleaning or treatment, fuel combustion techniques, or
substitution of less toxic or nontoxic materials.

4.  The standard may prescribe, as an alternative to or a
supplement to an emission limitation, an equipment, work
practice, fuels specification, process materials,
maintenance, or operational standard, or any
combination of them.

D.  Permits issued under this article shall contain, but not
be limited to, any of the following elements as necessary to
ensure that the permits are enforceable as a practical matter:

1.  Emission standards.

2.  Conditions necessary to enforce emission standards.
Conditions may include, but not be limited to, any of the
following:

[ a.  Limit on fuel sulfur content.

b. a. ] Limit on production rates with time frames as
appropriate to support the emission standards.

[ c. b. ]  Limit on raw material usage rate.

[ d. c. ]  Limits on the minimum required capture,
removal and overall control efficiency for any air
pollution control equipment.

3.  Specifications for permitted equipment, identified as
thoroughly as possible.  The identification shall include,
but not be limited to, type, rated capacity, and size.

4.  Specifications for air pollution control equipment
installed or to be installed and the circumstances under
which such equipment shall be operated.

5.  Specifications for air pollution control equipment
operating parameters, where necessary to ensure that
the required overall control efficiency is achieved.  The
operating parameters may include, but not be limited to,
any of the following:

a.  Pressure indicators and required pressure drop.

b.  Temperature indicators and required temperature.

c.  pH indicators and required pH.

d.  Flow indicators and required flow.

6.  Requirements for proper operation and maintenance
of any pollution control equipment, and appropriate spare
parts inventory.

7.  Stack test requirements.

8.  Reporting or recordkeeping requirements, or both.

9.  Continuous emission or air quality monitoring
requirements, or both.

10.  Other requirements as may be necessary to ensure
compliance with the applicable regulations.

9 VAC 5-80-1480.  Application review and analysis.

A.  No permit shall be granted pursuant to this article
unless compliance with the standards in 9 VAC 5-80-1470 is
demonstrated to the satisfaction of the board by a review and
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analysis of the application performed on a source-by-source
basis.

B.  Applications for stationary sources of hazardous air
pollutants shall be subject to a control technology review to
determine if such source will be designed, built and equipped
to comply with all applicable emission standards prescribed
under 9 VAC 5-80-1470.

9 VAC 5-80-1490.  Compliance determination and
verification by performance testing.

A.  An owner of a constructed or reconstructed major
source shall comply with all requirements in the final permit
issued pursuant to this article, including but not limited to any
emission limitation or work practice standard, and any
notification, operation and maintenance, performance testing,
monitoring, reporting, and recordkeeping requirements.

B.  An owner of a constructed or reconstructed major
source which has obtained a permit shall be deemed to be in
compliance with the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law only to
the extent that the constructed or reconstructed major source
is in compliance with all requirements set forth in the permit
issued pursuant to this article.  Any violation of such
requirements by the owner or any other person shall be
deemed by the board to be a violation of the prohibition on
construction or reconstruction in this article for whatever
period the owner is determined to be in violation of such
requirements, and shall subject the owner to appropriate
enforcement action under the Virginia Air Pollution Control
Law.

C.  Compliance with emission standards shall be
determined in accordance with the provisions of 9 VAC
5-60-20 and shall be verified by emission tests in accordance
with the provisions of 9 VAC 5-60-30.

D.  Testing required by this section shall be conducted by
the owner within 60 days after achieving the maximum
production rate at which the new or reconstructed source will
be operated, but not later than 180 days after initial startup of
the source; and 60 days thereafter the board shall be
provided by the owner with two or, upon request, more copies
of a written report of the results of the tests.

[ E.  For sources subject to the provisions of 9 VAC 5
Chapter 60 (9 VAC 5-60-10 et seq.), the requirements of
subsections C and D of this section shall be met in all cases
where specified in the emission standard listed under 9 VAC
5-60-70 or 9 VAC 5-60-100.

F.  For sources other than those specified in subsection E
of this section the, E. The ] requirements of subsections C
and D of this section shall be met unless the board:

1.  Specifies or approves, in specific cases, the use of a
reference method with minor changes in methodology;

2.  Approves the use of an equivalent method;

3.  Approves the use of an alternative method, the results
of which the board has determined to be adequate for
indicating whether a specific source is in compliance;

4.  Waives the requirement for testing because, based
upon a technical evaluation of the past performance of

similar source types, using similar control methods, the
board reasonably expects the new or reconstructed
source to perform in compliance with applicable
standards; or

5.  Waives the requirement for testing because the owner
of the source has demonstrated by other means to the
board's satisfaction that the source is in compliance with
the applicable standard.

[ G. F. ]   The provisions for the granting of waivers under
subsection [ F E ] of this section are intended for use in
determining the initial compliance status of a source, and the
granting of a waiver does not obligate the board to do so for
determining compliance once the source has been in
operation for more than one year beyond the initial startup
date.

9 VAC 5-80-1500.  Permit invalidation, rescission,
revocation and enforcement.

A.  A permit granted pursuant to this article shall become
invalid if a program of continuous construction or
reconstruction is not commenced within the latest of the
following time frames:

1.  Eighteen months from the date the permit is granted;

2.  Nine months from the date of the issuance of the last
permit or other authorization (other than permits granted
pursuant to this article) from any governmental entity; or

3.  Nine months from the date of the last resolution of any
litigation concerning any such permits or authorizations
(including permits granted pursuant to this article).

B.  A permit granted pursuant to this article shall become
invalid if a program of construction or reconstruction is
discontinued for a period of 18 months or more, or if a
program of construction or reconstruction is not completed
within a reasonable time.  This provision does not apply to the
period between construction of the approved phases of a
phased construction project; each phase must commence
construction within 18 months of the projected and approved
commencement date.

C.  The board may extend the periods prescribed in
subsections A and B of this section, by no more than 12
months, upon a satisfactory demonstration that an extension
is justified.  Provided there is no substantive change to the
application information, the review and analysis, and the
decision of the board, such extensions may be granted
without being subject to the requirements of 9 VAC 5-80-
1460.

D.  Any owner who constructs or operates a new or
reconstructed source not in accordance with the terms and
conditions of any permit to construct or operate, or any owner
of a new or reconstructed source subject to this article who
commences construction or operation without receiving a
permit hereunder, shall be subject to appropriate enforcement
action including, but not limited to, any specified in this
section.

E.  Permits issued under this article shall be subject to such
terms and conditions set forth in the permit as the board may
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deem necessary to ensure compliance with all applicable
requirements of the regulations.

F.  The board may revoke any permit if the permittee:

1.  Knowingly makes material misstatements in the
permit application or any amendments to it;

2.  Fails to comply with the terms or conditions of the
permit;

3.  Fails to comply with any emission standards
applicable to an emissions unit included in the permit;

4.  Fails to comply with the applicable provisions of this
article.

G.  The board may suspend, under such conditions and for
such period of time as the board may prescribe, any permit
for any of the grounds for revocation contained in subsection
F of this section or for any other violations of the regulations
of the board.

H.  The permittee shall comply with all terms and conditions
of the permit.  A permit noncompliance constitutes a violation
of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law and may be grounds
for (i) enforcement action or (ii) termination or revocation.

I.  Violation of the regulations of the board shall be grounds
for revocation of permits issued under this article and are
subject to the civil charges, penalties and all other relief
contained in 9 VAC 5 Chapter 170, Part V (9 VAC 5-170-120
et seq.) and the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law.

J.  The board shall notify the applicant in writing of its
decision, with its reasons, to change, suspend or revoke a
permit, or to render a permit invalid.

K.  Nothing in the regulations of the board shall be
construed to prevent the board and the owner from making a
mutual determination that a permit is invalid or revoked prior
to any final decision rendered under subsection J of this
section.

L.  Nothing in the regulations of the board shall be
construed to prevent the board and the owner from making a
mutual determination that a permit is rescinded because all of
the statutory or regulatory requirements (i) upon which the
permit is based or (ii) that necessitated issuance of the permit
are no longer applicable.

9 VAC 5-80-1510.  Existence of permit no defense.

The existence of a permit under this article shall not
constitute defense to a violation of the Virginia Air Pollution
Control Law or the regulations of the board and shall not
relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with any
applicable regulations, laws, ordinances and orders of the
governmental entities having jurisdiction.

9 VAC 5-80-1520.  Compliance with local zoning
requirements.

No provision of this part or any permit issued thereunder
shall relieve any owner from the responsibility to comply in all
respects with any existing zoning ordinances and regulations
in the locality in which the source is located or proposes to be
located.

9 VAC 5-80-1530.  Transfer of permits.

A.  No persons shall transfer a permit from one location to
another or from one piece of equipment to another.

B.  In the case of a transfer of ownership of a stationary
source, the new owner shall abide by any current permit
issued to the previous owner.  The new owner shall notify the
board of the change in ownership within 30 days of the
transfer.

C.  In the case of a name change of a stationary source,
the owner shall abide by any current permit issued under the
previous source name.  The owner shall notify the board of
the change in source name within 30 days of the name
change.

9 VAC 5-80-1540.  Changes to permits.

A.  The general requirements for making changes to
permits are as follows:

1.  Changes to a permit issued under this article shall be
made as specified under subsections B and C of this
section and 9 VAC 5-80-1550 through 9 VAC 5-80-1580
of this article.

2.  Changes to a permit issued under this article may be
initiated by the permittee as specified in subsection B of
this section or by the board as specified in subsection C
of this section.

3.  Changes to a permit issued under this article and
incorporated into a permit issued under Article 1 (9 VAC
5-80-50 et seq.) of this part shall be made as specified in
Article 1 (9 VAC 5-80-50 et seq.) of this part.

[ 4.  This section shall not be applicable to general
permits. ]

B.  The requirements for changes initiated by the permittee
are as follows:

1.  The permittee may initiate a change to a permit by
submitting a written request to the board for an
administrative permit amendment, a minor permit
amendment or a significant permit amendment.  The
requirements for these permit revisions can be found in
9 VAC 5-80-1550 through 9 VAC 5-80-1570.

2.  A request for a change by a permittee shall include a
statement of the reason for the proposed change.

C.  The board may initiate a change to a permit through the
use of permit reopenings as specified in 9 VAC 5-80-1580.

9 VAC 5-80-1550.  Administrative permit amendments.

A.  Administrative permit amendments shall be required for
and limited to the following:

1.  Correction of typographical or any other error, defect
or irregularity which does not substantially affect the
permit.

2.  Identification of a change in the name, address, or
phone number of any person identified in the permit, or of
a similar minor administrative change at the source.
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3.  Change in ownership or operational control of a
source where the board determines that no other change
in the permit is necessary, provided that a written
agreement containing a specific date for transfer of
permit responsibility, coverage, and liability between the
current and new permittee has been submitted to the
board and the requirements of 9 VAC 5-80-1420 have
been fulfilled.

4.  The combining of permits under the new source
review program as provided in 9 VAC 5-80-1420 B.

B.  The administrative permit amendment procedures are
as follows:

1.  The board will normally take final action on a request
for an administrative permit amendment no more than 60
days from receipt of the request.

2.  The board shall incorporate the changes without
providing notice to the public under 9 VAC 5-80-1460.
However, any such permit revisions shall be designated
in the permit amendment as having been made pursuant
to this section.

3.  The owner may implement the changes addressed in
the request for an administrative amendment immediately
upon submittal of the request.

9 VAC 5-80-1560.  Minor permit amendments.

A.  Minor permit amendment procedures shall be used only
for those permit amendments that:

1.  Do not violate any applicable requirement;

2.  Do not involve significant changes to existing
monitoring, reporting, or recordkeeping requirements that
would make the permit requirements less stringent, such
as a change to the method of monitoring to be used, a
change to the method of demonstrating compliance or a
relaxation of reporting or recordkeeping requirements;

3.  Do not require or change a case-by-case
determination of an emission limitation or other standard;

4.  Do not seek to establish or change a permit term or
condition (i) for which there is no corresponding
underlying applicable regulatory requirement and (ii) that
the source has assumed to avoid an applicable
regulatory requirement to which the source would
otherwise be subject.  Such terms and conditions include:

a.  An emissions cap assumed to avoid classification
as a modification [ under subject to ] the new source
review program or § 112 of the federal Clean Air Act;
and

b.  An alternative emissions limit approved pursuant to
regulations promulgated under § 112(i)(5) of the
federal Clean Air Act;

5.  Are not [ a result of ] modifications [ under subject to ]
the new source review program; and

6.  Are not required to be processed as a significant
amendment under 9 VAC 5-80-1570; or as an

administrative permit amendment under 9 VAC 5-80-
1550.

B.  Notwithstanding subsection A of this section, minor
permit amendment procedures may be used for permit
amendments involving the use of economic incentives,
emissions trading, and other similar approaches, to the extent
that such minor permit amendment procedures are explicitly
provided for in a regulation of the board or a
federally-approved program.  Minor permit amendment
procedures may also be used to require more frequent
monitoring or reporting by the permittee.

C.  Notwithstanding subsection A of this section, minor
permit amendment procedures may be used for permit
amendments involving the rescission of a provision of a
permit if the board and the owner make a mutual
determination that the provision is rescinded because all of
the statutory or regulatory requirements (i) upon which the
provision is based or (ii) that necessitated inclusion of the
provision are no longer applicable.

D.  A request for the use of minor permit amendment
procedures shall include all of the following:

1.  A description of the change, the emissions resulting
from the change, and any new applicable regulatory
requirements that will apply if the change occurs.

2.  A request that such procedures be used.

E.  The public participation requirements of 9 VAC
5-80-1460 shall not extend to minor permit amendments.

F.  Normally within 90 days of receipt by the board of a
complete request under minor permit amendment procedures,
the board shall do one of the following:

1.  Issue the permit amendment as proposed.

2.  Deny the permit amendment request.

3.  Determine that the requested amendment does not
meet the minor permit amendment criteria and should be
reviewed under the significant amendment procedures.

G.  The requirements for making changes are as follow:

1.  The owner may make the change proposed in the
minor permit amendment request immediately after the
request is filed.

2.  After the change under subdivision 1 of this
subsection is made, and until the board takes any of the
actions specified in subsection F of this section, the
source shall comply with both the applicable regulatory
requirements governing the change and the proposed
permit terms and conditions.

3.  During the time period specified in subdivision 2 of
this subsection, the owner need not comply with the
existing permit terms and conditions that the owner seeks
to modify.  However, if the owner fails to comply with the
proposed permit terms and conditions during this time
period, the existing permit terms and conditions that the
owner seeks to modify may be enforced against the
owner.
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9 VAC 5-80-1570.  Significant amendment procedures.

A.  The criteria for use of significant amendment
procedures are as follows:

1.  Significant amendment procedures shall be used for
requesting permit amendments that do not qualify as
minor permit amendments under 9 VAC 5-80-1560 or as
administrative amendments under 9 VAC 5-80-1550.

2.  Significant amendment procedures shall be used for
those permit amendments that:

a.  Involve significant changes to existing monitoring,
reporting, or recordkeeping requirements that would
make the permit requirements less stringent, such as a
change to the method of monitoring to be used, a
change to the method of demonstrating compliance or
a relaxation of reporting or recordkeeping
requirements.

b.  Require or change a case-by-case determination of
an emission limitation or other standard.

c.  Seek to establish or change a permit term or
condition (i) for which there is no corresponding
underlying applicable regulatory requirement and (ii)
that the source has assumed to avoid an applicable
regulatory requirement to which the source would
otherwise be subject.  Such terms and conditions
include:

(1) An emissions cap assumed to avoid classification
as a modification [ under subject to ] the new source
review program or § 112 of the federal Clean Air Act.

(2) An alternative emissions limit approved pursuant
to regulations promulgated under § 112(i)(5) of the
federal Clean Air Act.

[ d.  Result from modifications subject to the new
source review program. ]

B.  A request for a significant permit amendment shall
include a description of the change, the emissions resulting
from the change, and any new applicable regulatory
requirements that will apply if the change occurs.  The
applicant may, at the applicant's discretion, include a
suggested draft permit amendment.

C.  The provisions of 9 VAC 5-80-1460 shall apply to
requests made under this section.

D.  The board will normally take final action on significant
permit amendments within 90 days after receipt of a complete
request.

E.  The owner shall not make the change applied for in the
significant amendment request until the amendment is
approved by the board under subsection D of this section.

9 VAC 5-80-1580.  Reopening for cause.

A.  A permit may be reopened and amended under any of
the following situations:

1.  Additional regulatory requirements become applicable
to the emission units covered by the permit after a permit
is issued but prior to commencement of construction.

2.  The board determines that the permit contains a
material mistake or that inaccurate statements were
made in establishing the emissions standards or other
terms or conditions of the permit.

3.  The board determines that the permit must be
amended to assure compliance with the applicable
regulatory requirements or that the conditions of the
permit are not sufficient to meet all of the standards and
requirements contained in this article.

4.  A new emission standard prescribed under Article 1
(9 VAC 5-60-60 et seq.) of Part II of 9 VAC 5 Chapter 60,
becomes applicable after a permit is issued but prior to
initial startup.

B.  Proceedings to reopen and reissue a permit shall follow
the same procedures as apply to initial permit issuance and
shall affect only those parts of the permit for which cause to
reopen exists.  Such reopening shall be made as
expeditiously as practicable.

C.  Reopenings shall not be initiated before a notice of such
intent is provided to the source by the board at least 30 days
in advance of the date that the permit is to be reopened,
except that the board may provide a shorter time period in the
case of an emergency.

9 VAC 5-80-1590.  Requirements for constructed or
reconstructed major sources subject to a subsequently
promulgated MACT standard or MACT requirements.

A.  If the administrator promulgates a MACT standard
under § 112(d) or § 112(h) of the federal Clean Air Act that is
applicable to a stationary source, group of stationary sources,
or portion of a stationary source which would be deemed to
be a constructed or reconstructed major source under this
article before the date the owner has obtained a final and
legally effective permit pursuant to this article, [ the permit
issued pursuant to this article shall contain the promulgated
standard rather than any case-by-case MACT determination,
and ] the owner shall comply with the promulgated standard
by the compliance date in the promulgated standard.

B.  If the administrator promulgates a MACT standard
under § 112(d) or § 112(h) of the federal Clean Air Act that is
applicable to a stationary source, group of stationary sources,
or portion of a stationary source which was deemed to be a
constructed or reconstructed major source under this article
and has been subject to a prior case-by-case MACT
determination pursuant to this article, and the owner obtained
a final and legally effective case-by-case MACT determination
prior to the promulgation date of the MACT standard, the
board shall (if the initial federal operating permit has not yet
been issued) amend the permit issued pursuant to this article
in accordance with the reopening procedures of 9 VAC 5-80-
1580 to incorporate the emission standard, or shall (if the
initial federal operating permit has been issued) revise the
federal operating permit according to the reopening
procedures in 9 VAC 5-80-240 to incorporate the MACT
standard.
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1.  The MACT standard established pursuant to § 112(d)
or § 112(h) of the federal Clean Air Act may specify a
compliance date for those sources which have obtained a
final and legally effective case-by-case MACT
determination under this article.  In that event, the board
shall reopen the source's federal operating permit in
accordance with the procedures in 9 VAC 5-80-240 to
incorporate the applicable compliance date.

2.  If no compliance date is specified in the MACT
standard established pursuant to § 112(d) or § 112(h) of
the federal Clean Air Act for those sources which have
obtained a final and legally effective case-by-case MACT
determination under this article, the board shall establish
a compliance date that assures the owner will comply
with a promulgated MACT standard as expeditiously as
practicable, but no longer than eight years after the
standard is promulgated, and shall reopen the source's
federal operating permit in accordance with procedures in
9 VAC 5-80-240 to incorporate that compliance date.

C.  Notwithstanding the requirements of subsections A and
B of this section, if the administrator promulgates a MACT
standard under § 112(d) or § 112(h) of the federal Clean Air
Act that is applicable to a stationary source, group of
stationary sources, or portion of a stationary source which
was deemed to be a constructed or reconstructed major
source under this article and which is the subject of a prior
case-by-case MACT determination pursuant to this article,
and the level of control required by the MACT standard issued
under § 112(d) or § 112(h) is less stringent than the level of
control required by any emission limitation or standard in the
prior case-by-case MACT determination, the board is not
required to incorporate any less stringent terms of the
promulgated standard in the source's federal operating permit
and may, in its discretion, consider any more stringent
provisions of the prior case-by-case MACT determination to
be applicable legal requirements when issuing or revising the
federal operating permit.

VA.R. Doc. No. R97-556; Filed December 1, 1999, 8:47 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
TITLE 12.  HEALTH

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH

Title of Regulation:  12 VAC 5-408-10 et seq.  Regulation for
the Certification of Managed Care Health Insurance Plan
Licenses.

Statutory Authority:  § 32.1-137.3 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 20, 2000.

Summary:

Senate Bill 712 (1998) established a quality assurance
certification program for managed care health insurance
plan (MCHIP) licensees.  All MCHIP licensees will have
to obtain certification and remain certified by the State
Health Commissioner to confirm the quality of health care
services they deliver.  The regulation defines the

expectations relating to quality upon which certification
will be based.

The regulation is amended to more easily accommodate
the unique characteristics of PPOs and accept national
accreditation of the MCHIP in lieu of a comprehensive
on-site examination by the department.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response:  A
summary of comments made by the public and the agency’s
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Carrie Eddy, Department of Health, 3600 West Broad
Street, Suite 216, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-
2102.

CHAPTER 408.
CERTIFICATE OF QUALITY ASSURANCE OF MANAGED

CARE HEALTH INSURANCE PLAN LICENSEES.

PART I.
DEFINITIONS AND GENERAL INFORMATION.

12 VAC 5-408-10.  Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Adverse decision" means a [ utilization review
determination by the utilization review entity that a health
service rendered or proposed to be rendered was not or is not
medically necessary, when such determination may result in
noncoverage of the health service or health services decision
made by a health insurer or its designated utilization review
organization that a request for an admission, continued stay
or other health care service has been reviewed and, based
upon the information provided (i) does not meet the insurer’s
requirements for medical necessity, (ii) is not a covered
service, or (iii) exceeds the benefit limits of a covered service.
As a result of the adverse decision, the request service is
denied coverage, or is approved, but at a lesser level than
was requested ].

“Appeal” means a formal request by an enrollee or a
provider on behalf of an enrollee for reconsideration of a
decision, such as a utilization review recommendation, a
benefit payment, an administrative action, or a quality-of-care
or service issue.

“Basic health care services” means those health care
services [ , as applicable to the type of managed care health
insurance plan, ] described in § 38.2-5800 of the Code of
Virginia which are required to be provided, arranged, [ payed
paid for ], or reimbursed by the managed care health
insurance plan licensee for its covered persons.

“Board” means the Board of Health.

"Bureau of Insurance" means the State Corporation
Commission acting pursuant to Title 38.2 of the Code of
Virginia.
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“Center” means the Center for Quality Health Care
Services and Consumer Protection of the Virginia Department
of Health.

"Complaint" means a written [ or oral expression of
dissatisfaction received from an enrollee or provider on behalf
of an enrollee communication from a covered person primarily
expressing a grievance.  A complaint may pertain to the
availability, delivery, or quality of health care services
including adverse decisions, claims payments, the handling or
reimburesement for such services, or any other matter
pertaining to the covered person’s contractual relationship
with the MCHIP.  A complaint pertaining to a covered
person’s request that the health plan reconsider a denial of
coverage for, or reimbursement of, a service is considered an
appeal ].

“Department” means the Virginia Department of Health.

“Disease management program” means an integrated
population based system approach to deliver health care
services. Disease management programs use information
based processes to improve the entire continuum of care,
from prevention and patient education, to diagnosis and
treatment, to follow-up and ongoing maintenance, with the
intention of producing the best clinical outcomes. A disease
management program performs the following functions: (i)
classifying patients by disease state; (ii) identifying patients
with specific chronic diseases in a covered population, (iii)
encouraging intervention at the most beneficial medical
junctures, (iv) offering long-range strategies to prevent and
control each disease, (v) providing feedback on outcome to
physicians, and vi) emphasizing preventive care and patient
education.

“Emergency services” means those health care services
that are rendered by affiliated or nonaffiliated providers after
the sudden onset of a medical condition that manifests itself
by symptoms of sufficient severity, including severe pain, that
the absence of immediate medical attention could reasonably
be expected by a prudent layperson who possesses an
average knowledge of health and medicine to result in (i)
serious jeopardy to the mental or physical health of the
individual, (ii) danger of serious impairment of the individual’s
bodily functions, (iii) serious dysfunction of any of the
individual’s bodily organs, or (iv) in the case of a pregnant
woman, serious jeopardy to the health of the fetus.
Emergency services provided within an MCHIP’s service area
shall include covered health services from nonaffiliated
providers only when delay in receiving care from a provider
affiliated with the MCHIP could reasonably be expected to
cause the enrollee’s condition to worsen if left unattended.

“Enrollee” means [ an individual residing in the
Commonwealth, whether a policyholder, subscriber, covered
person, or member of a managed care health insurance plan,
who is entitled to health care services or benefits provided,
arranged for, paid for or reimbursed pursuant to a managed
care health insurance plan under Title 38.2 of the Code of
Virginia a subscriber, policyholder, member, covered person,
or dependent, as the case may be, under a policy or contract
issued or issued for delivery in Virginia by a managed care
health insurance plan licensee, insurer, health services plan,
or preferred provider organization ].

"Evidence of coverage" means any certificate, individual or
group agreement or contract, or identification card or related
document issued in conjunction with the certificate,
agreement or contract, issued to an enrollee setting out the
coverage and other rights to which an enrollee is entitled.

"Final adverse decision" means a utilization review
determination made by a physician advisor or peer of the
treating health care provider in a reconsideration of an
adverse decision, and upon which a provider or patient may
base an appeal.

“ [ Fully accredited” Full accreditation ] ” means the highest
or most comprehensive level of accreditation granted  as
defined by the nationally recognized accrediting body.

[ “Grievance” means a process available to enrollees to
request a second reconsideration of an adverse decision in
order to resolve a disagreement about the MCHIP’s
responsibilities and obligations. ]

“Health care data reporting system” means the state
contracted integrated system for the collection and analysis of
data used by consumers, employers, providers, and
purchasers of health care to continuously assess and improve
the quality of health care in the Commonwealth.

"Managed care health insurance plan" or “MCHIP” means
an arrangement for the delivery of health care in which a
health carrier as defined in § 38.2-5800 of the Code of
Virginia undertakes to provide, arrange for, pay for, or
reimburse any of the costs of health care services for a
covered person on a prepaid or insured basis which (i)
contains one or more incentive arrangements, including any
credentialing requirements intended to influence the cost or
level of health care services between the health carrier and
one or more providers with respect to the delivery of health
care services and (ii) requires or creates benefit payment
differential incentives for covered persons to use providers
that are directly or indirectly managed, owned, under contract
with or employed by the health carrier. Any health
maintenance organization as defined in § 38.2-4300 of the
Code of Virginia or health carrier that offers preferred provider
contracts or policies as defined in § 38.2-3407 of the Code of
Virginia or preferred provider subscription contracts as
defined in § 38.2-4209 of the Code of Virginia shall be
deemed to be offering one or more managed care health
insurance plans. For the purposes of this definition, the
prohibition of balance billing by a provider shall not be
deemed a benefit payment differential incentive for covered
persons to use providers who are directly or indirectly
managed, owned, under contract with or employed by the
health carrier. A single managed care health insurance plan
may encompass multiple products and multiple types of
benefit payment differentials; however, a single managed
care health insurance plan shall encompass only one provider
network or set of provider networks.

"Managed care health insurance plan licensee" or
“licensee” means a health carrier subject to licensure by the
Bureau of Insurance [ and to quality assurance certification by
the department ] under Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia who
is responsible for a managed care health insurance plan in
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accordance with Chapter 58 (§ 38.2-5800 et seq.) of Title
38.2 of the Code of Virginia.

“Medical necessity" or "medically necessary” means
appropriate and necessary health care services which are
rendered for any condition which, according to generally
accepted principles of good medical practice, requires the
diagnosis or direct care and treatment of an illness, injury, or
pregnancy-related condition, and are not provided only as a
convenience.

"Person" means any individual, aggregate of individuals,
association, business, company, corporation, joint-stock
company, Lloyds type of organization, other organization,
partnership, receiver, reciprocal or inter-insurance exchange,
trustee or society.

“Plan of correction” means a MCHIP’S written plan [ ,
approved by the department, ] that outlines the action the
MCHIP will take to address compliance issues identified
during an administrative review or on-site examination
conducted by the department.

“Preferred provider organization” [ or “PPO” ] means a
managed care health insurance plan that does not require
covered medical services to be coordinated or managed
through a primary care physician. A managed care health
insurance plan licensee that is responsible for a managed
care health insurance plan, commonly recognized as a
“preferred provider organization,” may delegate by contract to
provide all or some of the preferred provider [ system
organization ] components, which include the provider
network, utilization review, credentialing, and claims
administration, while retaining direct contact with the enrollee
regarding the coordination of benefits.

“Service area” means a geographic area as defined in
§ 38.2-5800 of the Code of Virginia.

“Timely” means the provision of services so as not to impair
or jeopardize the integrity of the enrollees’ diagnosis or
outcomes of illness.

"Treating health care provider" or "provider" means a
licensed health care provider who renders or proposes to
render health care services to an enrollee.

"Utilization review" means a system for reviewing the
necessity, appropriateness, and efficiency of hospital, medical
or other health care services rendered or proposed to be
rendered to a patient or group of patients for the purpose of
determining whether such services should be covered or
provided by an insurer, health services plan, managed care
health insurance plan licensee, or other entity or person. For
purposes of this chapter, "utilization review" shall include, but
not be limited to, preadmission, concurrent and retrospective
medical necessity determination, and review related to the
appropriateness of the site at which services were or are to
be delivered. "Utilization review" shall not include (i) review of
issues concerning insurance contract coverage or contractual
restrictions on facilities to be used for the provision of
services, (ii) any review of patient information by an employee
of or consultant to any licensed hospital for patients of such
hospital, or (iii) any determination by an insurer as to the
reasonableness and necessity of services for the treatment

and care of an injury suffered by an insured for which
reimbursement is claimed under a contract of insurance
covering any classes of insurance defined in §§ 38.2-117
through 38.2-119, 38.2-124 through 38.2-126, 38.2-130
through 38.2-132 and 38.2-134 of the Code of Virginia.

"Utilization review entity" or "entity" means a person or
entity performing utilization review.

"Utilization review plan" or "plan" means a written
procedure for performing a utilization review.

12 VAC 5-408-20.  Responsibility of the department.

A.  The Code of Virginia allows the Board of Health to
adopt regulations for the certification of quality assurance for
managed care health insurance plans licensees. The
Department of Health is charged with the responsibility for
examining the quality of health care services provided by
managed care health insurance [ plans plan licensees ]
according to regulations adopted by the board and any
additional requirements that may be specified by the Code of
Virginia. The Center for Quality Health Care Services and
Consumer Protection acts as agent for the department for
certifying managed care health insurance plans, which
includes investigating complaints made against a MCHIP
[ licensee ].

B.  In developing or revising these regulations, the
department adheres to the requirements of the Administrative
Process Act (§ 9.6-14:1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and
the public participation process. The department solicits input
from MCHIPs, associations of MCHIPs, providers, experts in
related fields, advocacy organizations, consumers and the
general public in the development or revision of this chapter
through informal and formal comment periods and public
hearings.

C.   The department shall coordinate its activities with the
Bureau of Insurance to ensure an appropriate level of
regulatory oversight and to avoid undue duplication of effort or
regulation.

D.  The department will be guided by its own interpretive
guidelines when determining compliance with this regulation.

12 VAC 5-408-30.  Certificate of quality assurance.

A.  A certificate for quality assurance shall be issued [ for
to ] managed care health insurance plan licensees. The
department shall issue or renew a certificate of quality
assurance if the MCHIP licensee is in compliance with the
applicable law and this chapter.

B.  No certificate of quality assurance may be transferred or
assigned without approval of the department.

C.  Every certified MCHIP licensee shall file for its
certificate of quality assurance with the department biennially,
subject to payment of a fee and receipt of all material required
by law and this chapter.

D.  Upon request, the center will provide an application
form for a certificate of quality assurance. The center shall
consider the application complete when all the information
requested and the application fee are submitted [ with the
required form ]. If the center finds the application incomplete,
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the applicant will be notified in writing of receipt of the
incomplete application.

E.  The department shall send an application for renewal of
a certificate to the licensee at least 60 days prior to the
expiration date of the current certificate.

F.  The department shall examine or review each applicant
for an initial certificate of quality assurance and periodically
for renewal thereof.

G.  Upon the issuance or renewal of a certificate, the
department shall provide a certificate of quality assurance to
the MCHIP licensee and a copy to the Bureau of Insurance.

H.  Upon determining to deny or refuse to renew a
certificate, the department shall notify the  applicant in writing
stating the reasons for the denial of the certificate. A copy of
the notification of denial shall be provided to the Bureau of
Insurance.

I.  Appeals from a notification of denial shall be brought by
a certificate applicant pursuant to the process set forth in
12 VAC 5- 408-140.

12 VAC 5-408-40.  Fees.

A.  The center shall collect a fee for each initial application
and each renewal application. Fees shall accompany the
application and are not refundable.

B.  Fees shall be sufficient to cover reasonable costs for
the administration of the quality assurance program.

C.  Fees shall be based upon a percentage, not to exceed
1/10 of 1.0%, of the proportion of direct gross premium
income on business done in this Commonwealth attributable
to the operation of managed care health insurance plans in
the preceding biennium not to exceed $10,000 per licensee.

After July 2000, new applicants proposing to offer MCHIP
plans in the Commonwealth shall be assessed a flat fee of
$5,000 for the initial application.

12 VAC 5-408-50.  Preferred provider [ organization
exemption organizations ].

A.  Managed care health insurance plan licensees [ , when
operating that operate ] a preferred provider organization as
defined in this chapter [ , ] must comply with [ all of the
provisions of this chapter with the exception of ] the following
[ sections ]:

1. [ 12 VAC 5-408-220 Parts I (12 VAC 5-408-10 et seq.)
and II (12 VAC 5-408-160 et seq.) of this chapter ];

2. [ 12 VAC 5-408-250 and 12 VAC 5-408-290; and Part
III (12 VAC 5-408-220 et seq.) of this chapter; ]

3. [ Part V (12 VAC 5-408-300 et seq.) 12 VAC 5-408-
260 through 12 VAC 5-408-280 ] of this chapter [ . ; and ]

[ 4.  Parts VI (12 VAC 5-408-320 et seq.) and VII
(12 VAC 5-408-370 et seq.) of this chapter. ]

B.  In lieu of compliance with [ the regulations noted in
subsection A subdivisions A 2 through 4 ] of this section, the
licensee shall demonstrate that the preferred provider

organization [ is in compliance with operates in conformity
with the standards of ] one of the following:

1.  The Health Networks Standards, Version 3.0 [ or the
Health Plan Standards (Version 3.0 whichever is
applicable to the type of PPO ], of the American
Accreditation HealthCare Commission/URAC [ for Health
Networks ];

2.  The Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare
Organizations’ Accreditation Standards for Preferred
Provider Organizations (1997); or

3. [ Other nationally recognized accreditation standards
for preferred provider organizations accepted by the
department Accreditation standards specifically
governing health quality improvement processes for
PPOs issued by other nationally recognized
organizations accepted by the department ].

C. [ If the licensee can demonstrate that, by complying with
the above accreditation standards, it meets or exceeds other
MCHIP quality assurance regulations than are noted in
subsection A of this section, it may offer evidence of that
compliance for consideration by the department. Accreditation
is not required to meet the requirements of subsection B
unless the MCHIP licensee operates a PPO and desires its
PPO to be exempt from the comprehensive onsite
examination described in 12 VAC 5-408-90.  The licensee
must follow the provisions of 12 VAC 5-408-100 to be eligible
for exemption from examination. ]

12 VAC 5-408-60.  General examination process.

A.  MCHIP licensees shall be examined or reviewed by the
department according to Article 1.1 (§ 32.1-137.1 et seq.) of
Chapter 5 of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia to:

1.  Verify that a MCHIP qualifies for an initial or renewal
certificate of quality assurance;

2.  Investigate a complaint filed against a MCHIP
[ licensee ];

3.  Determine compliance with this chapter and
applicable law; and

4.  Determine if the MCHIP [ licensee ] has successfully
implemented corrective action following an examination,
or as a result of disciplinary action or sanction.

B.  Examinations shall be conducted onsite at a
[ MCHIP’s headquarters MCHIP licensee’s office ] and at
the site of any contractors. At its discretion, the
department may choose to conduct an administrative
review to evaluate the MCHIP for compliance with
applicable law and this chapter. The MCHIP’s
examination may also include contractors with whom the
licensee has agreements, contracts, or other
arrangements to provide health care services for the
MCHIP.

C.  Any examiner authorized by the department shall, so far
as necessary for the purposes of the examination or review,
have access during regular business hours to the premises
and to any books, records, files, or property of the licensee as



Final Regulations

Volume 16, Issue 7 Monday, December 20, 1999

823

far as they directly relate to the quality of care provided by the
MCHIP [ licensee ].

All material copied, recorded, or received by the
department from the MCHIP [ licensee ] shall be privileged
and confidential and shall not be subject to subpoena.

D.  The MCHIP licensee shall be responsible for ensuring
that all examination materials are submitted to the department
at the time specified for submission and that they are
complete. Failure to submit all of the examination materials as
required may delay processing or result in the denial of the
issuance or renewal of the quality assurance certificate.

E.  A summary report of a MCHIP licensee’s examination
shall become part of the department’s public file on the
MCHIP. A copy of the summary report shall be provided to
the Bureau of Insurance.

F.  The department shall consider a MCHIP licensee’s
initial examination for a certificate of quality assurance as a
baseline evaluation of the MCHIP’s quality improvement
program in order to determine if it has the structure,
organization, and policies and procedures in place to provide
and support quality improvement activities. If the MCHIP
[ licensee ] has been operating outside the geographic
boundaries of Virginia, it shall demonstrate that it has a record
of successfully implementing its quality improvement program
to the benefit of the enrollees that it serves.

G.  Information provided during any examination conducted
regarding compliance with this chapter shall be accurate and
truthful.  The MCHIP [ licensee ] shall not provide the
department with falsified information during any aspect of the
examination process.  The department shall construe any
effort to provide falsified information as violation of the statute,
and the MCHIP [ licensee ] shall be subject to disciplinary
action.  Falsification is defined for the purpose of this chapter
as fabrication, in whole or in part, of any information provided
by the MCHIP or the MCHIP licensee [ to include, but not be
limited to, any redrafting, reformatting, or content deletion of
documents ].

H.  The refusal of any licensee, by its officers, directors,
employees or agents, to submit to examination or review or to
comply with any reasonable written request of the examiners
shall be grounds for suspension, revocation, denial, or
nonrenewal of a certificate of quality assurance held by the
licensee.

12 VAC 5-408-70.  Administrative review.

A. [ In most instances, ] The initial examination shall be an
administrative review of the application for certificate of quality
assurance and supporting documentation that includes:

1.  The items listed in [ subsections F, G, H, and I of ]
12 VAC 5-408-160 [ F  ];

2.  A copy of the most recent accreditation report [ , as
applicable ] issued to the MCHIP or to the MCHIP’s
licensee from a nationally recognized accreditation
organization that evaluates the quality of health care
services provided by health care plans. The written
corrective action response, if any, shall also be
submitted;

3.  A copy of the most recent report of an examination of
[ the quality of health care provided by ] the MCHIP under
similar laws and regulations [ governing managed care
plans ] of another state [ or states ], and a copy of the
written corrective action response, if any; and

4.  The most recent report of any examination of the
quality of health care provided by the MCHIP issued by a
federal regulatory agency [ with similar laws and
regulations ]. The written corrective action plan, if any,
shall also be submitted.

The department shall also consider any information that the
Bureau of Insurance, in its review of the MCHIP licensee’s
application for [ insurance ] licensure, determines is pertinent
to the department’s examination for issuance of a certificate
of quality assurance. The department shall coordinate with
the Bureau of Insurance to obtain information [ necessary to
complete that may assist ] its review.

B.  The administrative review examination shall be
conducted within 45 business days of the receipt of [ all ] the
documentation required by the department. The MCHIP
licensee shall be notified in writing if additional information is
needed to clarify the information submitted and the specific
time period in which to submit the materials.

C.  The MCHIP licensee shall be notified of the results of
the administrative review examination within 60 business
days from the receipt by the department of all of the required
documents [ and related information ].

[ The department, at its discretion, may extend, for up to an
additional 30 days, the period of time within which to approve
or disapprove the information submitted.  Licensees shall be
notified in writing of any such extension. ]

D.  The department, at its discretion, may conduct an onsite
examination of the [ MCHIP’s MCHIP licensee’s ] quality
improvement program or aspects integral to the quality
improvement program if, during its conduct of the
administrative review examination, the department
determines that an onsite examination is warranted in order to
determine the [ MCHIP’s MCHIP licensee’s ] compliance with
applicable laws or this chapter.

E.  Licensees with MCHIPs that successfully complete the
examination shall be issued a certificate of quality assurance.
Licensees with MCHIPs that do not successfully complete the
examination shall be denied a certificate of quality assurance.

12 VAC 5-408-80.  Renewal application.

A.  Every MCHIP licensee shall request renewal of its
certificate of quality assurance biennially with the department.
The purpose of the renewal examination shall be to determine
if the MCHIP has maintained compliance with applicable laws
and regulations since the last certificate of quality assurance
was issued or renewed, and whether the MCHIP is making
substantive progress in meeting its quality improvement
[ expectations goals as set forth in its quality improvement
plan ].

Failure of the MCHIP licensee to adequately document that
[ its quality improvement program is dynamic rather than
static and that it responds to the health care needs of its
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enrollees the MCHIP’s quality improvement program has
measurably improved the quality of care received by its
enrollees over time, as assessed through generally-accepted
statistical indicators of clinical quality ] will be a factor in the
renewal of the certificate of quality assurance.

B.  The renewal examination shall include an administrative
review of the renewal application and supporting
documentation that includes:

1.  The items listed in [ subsections F, G, H, and I ]
12 VAC 5-408-160 [ F ];

2.  The annual complaint reports;

3.  The MCHIP’s formal written evaluations of its quality
improvement program expectations for the time period
since the MCHIP’s last application for a certificate of
quality assurance;

4.  A copy of the most recent accreditation report [ , as
applicable, ] issued to the MCHIP or to the licensee from
a nationally recognized accreditation organization that
evaluates the quality of health care services provided by
health care plans if the report was issued after the
issuance of the current certificate from the department.
The written corrective action plan in response to the
report, if applicable, shall also be submitted;

5.  A copy of the most recent report of an examination of
the [ quality of care of the ] MCHIP under similar laws or
regulations [ governing managed care plans ] of another
state or state regulatory agency in which the MCHIP is
domiciled that was issued since the certificate of quality
assurance was last issued or renewed; and

6.  A copy of the report of any examination of the MCHIP
by a federal regulatory body [ with similar laws and
regulations ] issued since the certificate of quality
assurance was last issued or renewed.

C.  In addition, the department shall consider the following
in its renewal examination:

1.  The report of any comprehensive onsite examination
of the MCHIP if one was conducted during the renewal
period;

2.  Any disciplinary actions or sanctions issued by the
department pursuant to § 32.1-137.5 of the Code of
Virginia or this chapter, or by the Bureau of Insurance in
keeping with § 32.1-137.2 E of the Code of Virginia; and

3.  A summary report of the analysis of  any data
provided to the Health Care Data Reporting System.

12 VAC 5-408-90.  Comprehensive onsite examination.

A.  The comprehensive onsite examination represents a
periodic quality improvement evaluation process designed to
validate that not only does the MCHIP have appropriate
systems in place to ensure quality of health care, but that the
systems are successfully implemented and result in the
improvement of enrollees’ health outcomes and the delivery
of their care.

B.  A comprehensive onsite examination shall be
conducted [ at least once every two years with the exception

of MCHIPs that meet the quality improvement
acknowledgment criteria specified in 12 VAC 5-408-100. The
comprehensive onsite examination shall be conducted every
four years for plans that meet the quality improvement
acknowledgment criteria triennially except for MCHIPs that
meet the criteria specified in 12 VAC 5-408-100 pertaining to
nationally recognized accreditation ].

[ Recognition of compliance with the quality improvement
acknowledgment criteria shall not prevent onsite
investigations for complaints, monitoring, certificate
examinations, enforcement activities, or other onsite
examinations that the department determines are necessary
to verify compliance with applicable law and this chapter. ]

C.  The comprehensive onsite examination [ may shall ]
take place:

[ 1.  In conjunction with a Bureau of Insurance market
conduct examination of the company;

2.  At the request of the MCHIP licensee and in
conjunction with a full accreditation survey of the MCHIP
conducted by a nationally recognized accreditation
organization that examines health care plans for quality
of health care;

3.  At the request of the MCHIP licensee following the
completion of the initial administrative review and receipt
of the examination results in order to document the
corrective action taken in response to the examination
results;

4.  When the department, at its discretion, participates in
a coordinated survey in conjunction with the Bureau of
Insurance or a nationally recognized accreditation
organization; or

5.  At the department’s discretion, in response to
complaints against the MCHIP or other MCHIP activities
in order to determine continued compliance with
applicable laws and regulations.

1.  At a time established by the department with 60 days
advance notification to the MCHIP;

2.  In conjunction with a Bureau of Insurance market
conduct examination of the licensee;  or

3.  At the request of the MCHIP licensee in agreement
with the department following the completion of an initial
administrative review examination for certification in order
to document any corrective action taken in response to
the initial examination. ]

At the departments discretion and in response to
complaints against the MCHIP licensee or the MCHIP, the
department may expand a complaint investigation to a
comprehensive examination to determine compliance with the
MCHIP laws and regulations if it appears that enrollees’
health and safety may be jeopardized.

D.  The MCHIP licensee shall be notified in writing at least
60 days in advance of the comprehensive onsite examination
and shall be provided with information regarding the
parameters of the examination.
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The final determination of when a comprehensive onsite
examination shall be conducted rests with the department.
However, the department will take into consideration
mitigating circumstances presented by the MCHIP licensee.

E.  The MCHIP licensee or the department may request a
preexamination conference for the purpose of discussing
preparations for the examination. The conference shall not be
used for determining whether a plan needs to be examined or
the frequency of an onsite comprehensive examination.

F.  In the period before the comprehensive onsite
examination, the department shall conduct or arrange for
member satisfaction input regarding the plan by conducting or
reviewing the results of a member satisfaction survey or by
making examiners available to receive comments from
enrollees following notice to enrollees and providers of a
scheduled examination through public notice to the plan’s
enrollees of upcoming examinations. The plan shall provide
the department with the member mailing list for Virginia
enrollees, upon request, to be used to select samples of the
plan’s membership for the surveys or for public notice of the
examination.

G.  The MCHIP shall be notified of the results of the
comprehensive onsite examination within 60 business days of
the final day of the examination. The department may choose
to notify the plan earlier than 60 days and require immediate
corrective action or initiate administrative disciplinary hearings
for findings of serious or substantial noncompliance with the
law or the regulations that could jeopardize enrollees’ health
or safety.

H.  Depending on the examination findings, the department
[ may shall ]:

1.  Require a corrective action plan [ as specified in
12 VAC 5-408-110 ] with a time frame in which corrective
action shall be completed and verified by the department;

2.  Proceed with disciplinary action or sanctions [ as
specified in 12 VAC 5-408-140 ]; or

3.  Notify the MCHIP that it is fully and completely in
compliance with all applicable regulations.

[ I.  If the licensee applicant has achieved full accreditation
from a nationally recognized accreditation entity recognized
by the department, the applicable MCHIP will be exempt from
the comprehensive examination following receipt of all
accreditation findings. ]

12 VAC 5-408-100. [ Quality improvement
acknowledgment criteria Examination by a nationally-
recognized accreditation organization ].

A. [ A MCHIP licensee may qualify for a comprehensive
onsite examination every four years as determined by the
department based upon the MCHIP’s ability to meet the
following criteria The department shall accept the examination
of a MCHIP licensee or MCHIP by a nationally recognized
health quality improvement accreditation organization
approved by the department in lieu of the triennial
comprehensive onsite examination described in 12 VAC 5-
408-90 under the following conditions ]:

1.  The MCHIP is fully accredited by a nationally
recognized accreditation organization that evaluates the
quality of health care provided by managed care plans
and the accreditation organization is accepted by the
department. [ One year conditional or provisional
accreditation shall not be considered acceptable for
meeting the requirements of this chapter; MCHIP
licensees or MCHIPs that are denied accreditation shall
be subject to examination by the department unless full
accreditation is achieved.  MCHIP licensees whose plans
are fully accredited are considered exempt only from the
triennial examination by virtue of their accreditation but
are not exempt from compliance with this chapter. ]

[ 2.  The MCHIP generates few complaints and utilization
review appeals relative to its enrollee population and the
complaints and appeals it receives are resolved in
compliance with this chapter.

3.  There has been no change in ownership, merger, or
consolidation of the plan since its last examination.

4.  There has been a stable executive administration of
the plan with no frequent changes in administration in
excess of normal turnover rates.

5.  Reports from other state regulatory agencies or
federal regulatory agencies that evaluate the plan’s
quality of care demonstrate that the MCHIP is in
substantial compliance with those agencies’ regulations
and that substantial compliance is consistent.

6.  The MCHIP licensee is in substantial compliance with
the applicable licensure requirements of the Bureau of
Insurance.

7.  The MCHIP is able to demonstrate through clinical
studies the evaluation of its quality improvement
program, and from input from providers and enrollees
that its performance expectations are being met and
patient outcomes are being achieved. There is no
evidence of recurring areas of noncompliance by the
MCHIP with its own quality improvement program
expectations as noted by the MCHIP’s internal evaluation
process or by external reviewers.

8.  The MCHIP successfully and in a timely manner
completes its requirements for initial and renewal
examination and complaint examinations.

9.  The MCHIP demonstrates how it successfully
integrates its program activities with public and
community health goals.

10.  The MCHIP provides a summary of its quality
improvement program in its marketing materials and
makes the findings of its quality improvement program
available to its providers and enrollees.

2.  The MCHIP licensee shall release to the department
any and all reports, letters and memoranda issued by the
accrediting organization to the licensee regarding the
MCHIP concerning the organization’s evaluation of the
MCHIP’s compliance with accreditation standards.  Any
written materials generated by the licensee or its plan
regarding corrective or remedial action to be taken by the
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licensee or the plan to be in compliance with the
accreditation standards shall also be released to the
department.  The licensee shall forward copies of its
written accreditation reports to the department within 10
days of receipt by the licensee and of its response
regarding corrective, remedial or improvement actions at
the same time the accreditation organization is notified.

3.  The MCHIP licensee or its plan notifies the
department of the date of its accreditation examination at
least 90 days prior to the examination.

4.  The MCHIP licensee permits the department to
observe all or part, at the department’s discretion, of the
accreditation organization’s examination and
communicates such agreement to the accrediting
organization.

The department reserves the right to conduct a
comprehensive examination of a fully accredited MCHIP
when it appears that the health and safety of the enrollees
may be jeopardized. ]

B. [ It shall be the responsibility of the MCHIP licensee that
wishes to qualify for this option to submit the necessary
documentation to support its compliance. Accreditation by a
nationally recognized accreditation organization for health
quality improvement will not be accepted in lieu of the
comprehensive onsite examination unless:

1.  The accreditation standards are equivalent to or more
stringent than the department’s certification of quality
assurance regulations; and

2.  The accreditation standards are appropriate for the
type of plan seeking exemption from the department’s
comprehensive onsite examination ].

12 VAC 5-408-110.  Corrective action procedures.

A. [ At the conclusion of an examination, or ] Within 30
business days [ thereafter of the conclusion of the
examination ], the department shall provide the MCHIP
licensee with a written summary of violations of the
regulations or laws and any factual findings used as a basis to
determine that a violation has occurred.

B.  The department [ may shall ] require the MCHIP
licensee to submit a written plan of correction specifying how
each violation will be corrected along with the time frames for
completion of each corrective action. A single plan of
correction [ may shall ] address all events associated with a
given violation. The plan of correction, when required, shall be
submitted by the MCHIP licensee within 20 business days of
receipt of the notice of violation, or sooner, if the department
determines that the violations jeopardize the safety of
enrollees.

C.  The plan of correction shall be approved when the
MCHIP demonstrates to the satisfaction of the department
that compliance will be achieved. If the plan of correction is
not approved, the department may request that an amended
plan of correction be submitted within 10 business days, or
sooner, if the department determines that the violations
jeopardize the safety of enrollees.

D.  The summary of violations and the plan of correction
shall not be released as public information until the
department has [ received approved ] the plan of correction
or, in the event no plan of correction is required, after 20
business days of receipt of the summary of violations by the
MCHIP, whichever is sooner.

E.  Unless otherwise documented, the department will
presume receipt of the summary of violations by the MCHIP
licensee by the seventh business day [ if sent by regular mail
when mailed return receipt requested ].

F.  Failure of the MCHIP to successfully implement the
written plan of correction within a specified time period may
result in an administrative sanction.

12 VAC 5-408-120.  Changes to geographic service areas.

A.  Any changes to a MCHIP’s geographic service areas
shall be submitted in writing to the department [ at least ] 45
days prior to the proposed effective date of the changes.

B.  The request for a change in a geographic service area
shall include [ at least ]:

1.  A description of the current geographic service area
including a map of the current service area, a list of
current primary care and specialty physicians and other
providers, and the number of enrollees by service area.

2.  An explanation as to whether the MCHIP is requesting
an expansion or a reduction in its service area.

3.  Notification that the MCHIP licensee has inquired of
the Bureau of Insurance as to whether or not the service
area request constitutes a material change and the
bureau's determination, if available.

4.  If a service area expansion is proposed, then the
following is required:

a.  A description of the proposed area that includes a
map of the proposed geographic area expansion,
projections of new enrollment, a listing of new primary
care and specialty providers and other providers and
their locations, and physician capacity to accept the
anticipated enrollment;

b.  Information necessary to determine if the MCHIP
[ licensee ] will be capable of conforming to the access,
availability, and travel requirements of 12 VAC 5-408-
260 and 12 VAC 5-408-270; and

c.  The methodology used to determine that the current
health care system in the proposed service area can
support the expansion.

5.  If a MCHIP is reducing or eliminating a service area,
the following information is required:

a.  A description of the service area being reduced or
eliminated;

b.  The reason for the reduction or elimination of the
service area and the effective date on which health
care services will no longer be available through the
MCHIP; and
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c.  Any information required by the department to
determine that MCHIP enrollees are ensured continuity
of care during the transition.

C.  If the department fails to act on a request within 30
business days of receipt of all requested information, the
proposed changes shall be deemed approved. The
department, at its discretion, may extend the period of time
within which to approve or disapprove the proposed changes
for up to an additional 30 days. Licensees shall be notified in
writing of any such extensions.

12 VAC 5-408-130.  Complaint system, complaint
examination and investigation.

A.  Each MCHIP licensee shall establish and maintain for
each of its MCHIPs a complaint system approved by the
department and the Bureau of Insurance to provide
reasonable procedures for the resolution of complaints.

B.  The department, in cooperation with the Bureau of
Insurance, shall examine the complaint system for
compliance of the system with applicable statutes and
regulations and shall require corrections or modifications as
necessary. The effectiveness of the complaint system in
allowing enrollees, or their duly authorized representatives, to
have issues regarding quality assurance appropriately
resolved shall be assessed by the department.

C.  The department has the responsibility to investigate
complaints regarding alleged quality of care violations filed by
or on behalf of enrollees.

D.  Every person from whom information is sought in an
investigation of a complaint against a MCHIP licensee shall
cooperate in producing, or allowing reasonable access during
regular business hours to, the books, records, files, accounts,
papers, documents, and any or all computer or other
recordings of the licensee being examined or those of any
person delivering health care services under contract,
affiliation, delegation or other arrangement directly relevant to
the investigation. Information shall be limited to that which is
relevant to the investigation in question.

E.  Deficiencies found during a complaint investigation shall
be corrected as required in 12 VAC 5-408-110.

F.  When the investigation is complete, the MCHIP and the
complainant will be notified of the findings of the investigation.

12 VAC 5-408-140.  Administrative sanctions.

A.  Nothing in this part shall prohibit the department from
exercising its responsibility and authority to enforce applicable
law and this chapter including proceeding directly to
imposition of administrative sanctions.

B.  The department, in consultation with the Bureau of
Insurance, may impose such administrative sanctions or take
such actions as are appropriate for violation of any of the
regulations or laws. Such sanctions include:

1.  Imposing civil monetary penalties, which shall not
exceed $1,000 per incident of noncompliance, to a
maximum of $10,000 for a series of related incidents of
noncompliance;

2.  Placing a certificate holder on probation;

3.  Temporarily suspending a certificate of quality
assurance;

4.  Temporarily restricting or prohibiting new enrollments
into a MCHIP with the concurrence of the Bureau of
Insurance;

5.  Revoking or not renewing a certificate of quality
assurance and certifying to the Bureau of Insurance that
a MCHIP licensee or its managed care health insurance
plan is unable to fulfill its obligations to furnish quality
health care services; or

6.  Other remedies as provided by state or federal law.

C.  The MCHIP licensee shall receive a written notice
describing the reasons for the imposition of sanctions and a
report specifying the findings of noncompliance. Upon receipt
of the notice to impose a sanction, the MCHIP shall have the
right and the opportunity to appeal the sanction according to
§ 32.1-137.5 of the Code of Virginia.  A copy of the
department’s notice shall be provided to the Bureau of
Insurance.

12 VAC 5-408-150.  Surrender of certificate.

A.  Upon revocation or suspension of a certificate or loss of
license, the MCHIP licensee must surrender its certificate to a
representative of the center.

B.  In the event a MCHIP licensee voluntarily ceases
operation, it shall provide at least 90 business days advance
written notice to all enrollees, employers, providers, the
department, and the Bureau of Insurance. The notice shall
identify the storage location of business and medical records,
where applicable, and procedures for obtaining copies of such
records.

PART II.
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES.

12 VAC 5-408-160.  Management and administration.

A.  No person shall establish or operate a managed care
health insurance plan in Virginia without first obtaining a
license from the Bureau of Insurance and a certificate of
quality assurance from the department.

B.  The licensee must comply with:

1.  This chapter (12 VAC 5-408 et seq.);

2.  Other applicable federal, state or local laws and
regulations; and

3.  The licensee’s own policies and procedures.

C.  The licensee shall submit or make available reports and
information as described in § 32.1-137.4 of the Code of
Virginia necessary to establish compliance with these
standards and applicable laws.

D.  The licensee shall permit representatives from the
center to conduct examinations or reviews to:

1.  Verify application information;

2.  Determine compliance with these standards;
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3.  Review necessary records, including contracts for
delegated services and capitated rate information; and

4.  Investigate complaints and review [ grievance and ]
appeals procedures.

E.  The licensee shall notify the center and providers in
writing 30 days prior to implementing any changes affecting
the plan, including:

1.  Mailing address;

2.  Ownership;

3.  Health care services provided, including any
delegated services;

4.  Medical director;

5.  MCHIP or licensee name;

6.  Significant provider network changes; and

7.  Any systematic changes in the quality assurance plan,
complaint process, or utilization review process.

If more advanced notice of a specific change is required by
law for notices to providers or enrollees, notice given to the
department under this section shall be no less than notice
given to enrollees under the law.

F.  All applications, including those for renewal, shall
require:

1.  A description of the geographic area to be served with
a map clearly delineating the boundaries of the service
area or areas;

2.  A description of the complaint system required under
[ to ] § 32.1-137.6 of the Code of Virginia and 12 VAC 5-
408-130;

3.  A description of the procedures and programs
established by the licensee to assure both availability and
accessibility of adequate personnel and facilities and to
assess the quality of health care services provided; and

4.  A list of the licensee’s managed care health insurance
plans.

G.  In addition, applications shall include [ the following, as
applicable to the type of MCHIP ]:

1.  A description of the MCHIP’s disease management
program;

2. [ The MCHIP’s drug formulary A detailed description of
the plan’s prescription drug benefit program ];

3.  A description of the quality improvement plan;

4.  The utilization review plan including a description of
the criteria, clinical and therapeutic guidelines, and their
derivation or source;

5. [ A description of ] the [ plan’s ] credentialing process;

6.  The current provider directory identifying providers by
specialty and by service area, including those providers
who are not currently accepting new patients;

7.  A copy of the evidence of coverage or insurance plan
coverage limitations and exclusions  and other
information provided to enrollees;

8.  A description of all types of payment arrangements
that the licensee uses to compensate providers for health
care services rendered to enrollees, including, but not
limited to, withholds, bonus payments, capitation,
processing fees, and fee-for-service discounts; and

9.  A list of clinical [ outcome ] studies with abstracts of
study design, objectives and, if available, results [ as
applicable to the type of MCHIP ].

H.  The [ basic health care services, as required by law,
that the ] licensee [ shall provide or arrange for access to
basic health care services which provides, arranges, pays for,
or reimburses ] shall be appropriately integrated throughout
the MCHIP’s service area. Services shall be based upon
prevailing nationally recognized standards of medical
practice.

I.  The licensee shall have a written policy stating the
MCHIP’s commitment to treating enrollees in a manner that
respects their rights as well as its expectations of provider
and enrollee responsibilities. The services shall be accessible
to all enrollees, including those with diverse cultural and
ethnic backgrounds, and those with physical and mental
disabilities.

12 VAC 5-408-170.  Provider credentialing and
recredentialing.

A.  The licensee shall establish and maintain a
comprehensive credentialing verification program to ensure
its providers meet the minimum standards of professional
licensure or certification. Written supporting documentation
shall include, but is not limited to:

1.  Current valid license and history of licensure or
certification;

2.  Status of hospital privileges, if applicable;

3.  Valid DEA certificate, as applicable;

4.  Information from the National Practitioner Data Bank
as available;

5.  Education and training, including post graduate
training, if applicable;

6.  Specialty board certification status, if applicable;

7.  Practice or work history covering at least the past five
years; and

8.  Current, adequate malpractice insurance and
malpractice history of at least the past five years.

B.  Policies for credentialing and recredentialing shall
include, but are not limited to the:

1.  Criteria used to credential and recredential;

2.  Process used to make credentialing and
recredentialing decisions;
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3.  Type of providers [ , including network providers, ]
covered under the credentialing and recredentialing
policies;

4.  Process for notifying providers of information obtained
that varies substantially from the information provided by
the provider; and

5.  Process for receiving input from participating
providers to make recommendations regarding the
credentialing and recredentialing process.

The policies shall be made available to participating
providers and applicants upon written request.

C.  The credentialing process shall be completed before the
provider:

1.  Begins seeing enrollees;

2.  Enters into the employment or contractual relationship
with the MCHIP; and

3.  Is included in the listing of health care providers as a
participating provider in any marketing and enrollee
materials.

D.  The providers shall be recredentialed at least every two
years. Recredentialing documentation shall include:

1.  Current valid license or certification;

2.  Status of hospital privileges, if applicable;

3.  Current valid DEA registration, if applicable;

4.  Specialty board eligibility or certification status, if
applicable;

5.  Data from enrollee complaints and the results of
quality reviews, utilization management reviews and
enrollee satisfaction surveys, as applicable; and

6.  Current, adequate malpractice insurance and history
of malpractice claims and professional liability claims
resulting in settlements or judgments.

E.  All information obtained in the credentialing process
shall be subject to review and correction of any erroneous
information by the health care provider whose credentials are
being reviewed.

F.  Providers shall be required by the MCHIP to notify the
MCHIP of any changes in the status of any credentialing
criteria.

G.  The licensee shall not refuse to initially credential or
refuse to reverify the credentials of a health care provider
solely because the provider treats a substantial number of
patients who require expensive or uncompensated care.

H.  The licensee shall have policies and procedures for
altering the conditions of the provider’s participation with the
MCHIP. The policies shall include [ a range of ] actions to be
taken to improve performance prior to termination and an
appeals process for instances when the MCHIP chooses to
alter the condition of provider participation based on issues of
quality of care or service [ , except in circumstances where an
enrollee’s health has been jeopardized ]. Providers shall have

complete and timely access to all data and information used
by the licensee to identify or determine the need for altering
the conditions of participation.

I.  The licensee shall retain the right to approve new
providers and sites based on quality issues, and to terminate
or suspend individual providers. Termination or suspension of
individual providers [ for quality of care considerations ] shall
be supported by documented records of noncompliance with
specific plan expectations and requirements for providers.
The provider shall have a prescribed system of appeal of this
decision available to them as prescribed in the MCHIP
contract with the provider.

J.  Providers shall be informed of the appeals process.
Profession specific providers actively participating in the plan
shall be included in reviewing appeals and making
recommendations for action.

K.  The MCHIP shall notify appropriate authorities when a
provider’s application or contract is suspended or terminated
because of quality deficiencies by the health care provider
whose credentials are being reviewed.

L.  There shall be an organized system to manage and
protect the confidentiality of personnel files and records.
Records and documents relating to a provider’s credentialing
application shall be retained for at least seven years.

12 VAC 5-408-180.  Complaint system.

A.  Every MCHIP shall establish and maintain a system for
the resolution of complaints brought by enrollees, or by
providers acting on behalf of an enrollee and with the
enrollee’s consent, regarding any aspect of an MCHIP’s
health care services including, but not limited to, complaints
regarding quality of care, choice and accessibility of
providers, and network adequacy.

The system shall include, but is not limited to:

1.  Written notification to all enrollees of the procedures,
including telephone numbers and addresses, for
contacting the MCHIP with a complaint and telephone
numbers and addresses of [ advocate programs the
complaint unit of the center and the Office of the
Managed Care Ombudsman ] to help with complaints [ ,
grievances ] or appeals;

2.  A description of  the process used to  investigate and
resolve complaints, including specific time lines for each
step in the complaint process; and

3.  A description of the process used to document and
track the status of all complaints and compile the
complaint information required to be reported to the
department under § 32.1-137.6 C of the Code of Virginia.

B.  Time lines for responding to complaints shall
accommodate clinical urgency and shall not exceed 30 days
from receipt of the complaint. Resolution of complaints shall
not exceed 60 days from date of receipt of the complaint.

C.  The MCHIP shall keep records of complaints filed
including, but not limited to:
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1.  Complaint identifier, using a unique identification code
assigned consistently to the enrollee;

2.  Date complaint received;

3.  A general description of the reason for the complaint;

4.  Date of each review and hearing, if any;

5.  The number of days to gather the information
necessary to resolve the complaint;

6.  Date closed;

7.  Resolution of the complaint;

8.  Record of internal actions necessary as a result of the
complaint resolution, as applicable; and

9.  Notification to the enrollee of the resolution.

D.  No enrollee who exercises the right to file a complaint or
[ a grievance an appeal ] shall be subject to disenrollment or
otherwise penalized due to the filing of a complaint or
[ grievance  appeal ].

E.  Complaint records shall be maintained from the date of
the licensee’s last examination and for no less than five years.

F.  A description of the systems for filing complaints [ ,
grievances, ] and appeals shall be provided to enrollees at the
time of enrollment and upon request thereafter.

12 VAC 5-408-190.  Enrollee education and
communication.

A.  The MCHIP shall make available to each enrollee at the
time of enrollment or at the time the contract or evidence of
coverage is issued, as required by law and upon request
thereafter, policies and procedures applicable to the enrollee
including, but not limited to:

1.  A statement of enrollee’s rights and responsibilities;

2.  Procedures for obtaining care including:

a.  Referral and authorization requirements;

b.  Primary care services;

c.  Specialty care and hospital services;

d.  Behavioral services, when the complexity of the
enrollee’s condition requires the knowledge base and
expertise beyond those of the primary care provider;

e.  Emergency services and after-hours coverage,
including access to emergency care, and any
requirements for prior authorization and payment for
out-of-service areas;

f.  Care and coverage when out of the service area;

g.  Out of network services; and

h.  Pharmacy services;

3.  Procedures for appealing decisions adversely
affecting enrollee coverage benefits;

4.  Procedures for changing primary care and specialty
care providers including any restrictions on changing
providers;

5.  All necessary mailing addresses and telephone
numbers for seeking information or authorization;

6.  The toll-free number for the complaint unit of the
center; and

7.  Notice of the right to obtain information on types of
provider payment arrangements used to compensate
providers for health care services rendered to enrollees,
including, but not limited to, withholds, bonus payments,
capitation, processing fees, and fee-for-service
discounts.

B.  Lists of all network providers by specialty and by
location and indicating which providers are accepting new
patients shall be available to all enrollees on request.

C.  There shall be a mechanism for providing enrollee
information in plain language that is clearly understood and in
the languages of the major population groups served.

D.  Enrollees shall be provided an opportunity for input into
matters of policy and operation through the establishment of
advisory panels, the use of advisory referenda on major policy
decisions, or by other mechanisms.

E.  There shall be a mechanism for assisting enrollees
affected by changes in the MCHIP’s service areas or network
providers.

12 VAC 5-408-200.  Data management.

A.  The information system shall collect data on enrollees
and provider characteristics and on services furnished to
enrollees, as needed, to guide the selection of the quality
assurance activities and to meet the data collection
requirements of quality assurance projects.

B.  The data management system, which includes medical
records, shall be safeguarded against loss, destruction,
tampering, and unauthorized access or use.

12 VAC 5-408-210.  Medical records.

A.  The licensee shall maintain [ , or require to be
maintained, ] an organized medical record system assuring
the availability of information required for effective and
continuous enrollee care and for quality review. Written
policies and procedures based on accepted standards of
practice shall specify retention, reproduction, access, storage,
content, and completion of each record.

B.  Medical records shall be confidential. Only authorized
personnel shall have access as specified in § 32.1-127.1:03
of the Code of Virginia. Written procedures shall govern the
use and removal of medical records and the conditions for
release of information. The enrollee’s written consent shall be
required for release of information as required by law.
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PART III.
QUALITY IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM.

12 VAC 5-408-220.  Purpose.

A.  The MCHIP shall have a comprehensive, systematic,
and organized quality improvement program for the purpose
of:

1.  Improving enrollees’ health outcomes;

2.  Enhancing the quality of the clinical care and service
provided to enrollees;

3.  Increasing enrollee satisfaction;

4.  Maximizing opportunities for MCHIP improvements
and minimizing opportunities for errors;

5.  Monitoring and evaluating quality of care issues; and

6.  Reporting incidences to the appropriate entities.

B. [ The quality improvement program shall ensure that the
MCHIP provides health services that, at a minimum The
plan’s quality improvement program shall ensure that the
services the MCHIP provides, arranges, pays for, or
reimburses shall, at a minimum ]:

1. [ Are Be ] (i) consistent with prevailing nationally
recognized medical standards of care, (ii) adequately
available, (iii) accessible, (iv) appropriate for enrollees’
clinical conditions, and (v) guided by a combination of
utilization review guidelines, treatment protocols,
accepted practice guidelines, and clinical case data that
ensures balanced clinical decision making;

2. [ Target Identify and treat ] acute and chronic illnesses;

3. [ Promote prevention Allow for preventive services ];

4.  Provide for the treatment of enrollees with similar
medical conditions while recognizing individual case
differences;

5.  Allow for a variety of treatment options that are
commensurate with the MCHIP’s benefit coverage;

6.  Offer enrollee guidance for treatment out of network if
treatment is not available through the MCHIP;

7.  Recognize identified public health goals;

8.  Allow for the evaluation and use of new technology or
the new application of existing technology; and

9.  Provide for a multidisciplinary treatment approach that
addresses the physical and psychological function and
functional status of the MCHIP’s enrollees.

12 VAC 5-408-230.  Program [ structure requirements ].

A.  The MCHIP shall [ have an operational unit be
structured operationally ] to administer the quality
improvement program. [ The quality improvement operations
shall include, but not be limited to: ]

[ B.  The operational unit shall have the primary
responsibility for all aspects of the MCHIP’s quality
improvement program including, but not limited to: ]

1.  Establishing performance [ expectations goals ]
designed to improve the quality of health care services
provided by the MCHIP;

2.  Developing a quality improvement plan to implement
the [ expectations goals ];

3.  Measuring and assessing the MCHIP’s performance
in meeting the [ expectations goals ];

4.  Implementing activities based upon the assessments
to improve and maintain performance;

5.  Integrating the quality improvement activities of all
other organizational units, providers, delegated health
service providers, and the governing body into the quality
improvement program and providing feedback to those
entities;

6.  Enlisting enrollee input through sources such as
satisfaction surveys, reviews of complaints, appeals, and
requests to change providers, and utilizing enrollee and
provider participation in the program;

7.  Identifying the resources necessary for the MCHIP to
successfully pursue improvement priorities;

8.  Maintaining and documenting the plan’s compliance
with state and federal laws, as well as private
accreditation requirements, if applicable, that govern the
MCHIP’s quality improvement program; and

9.  Ensuring that the MCHIP’s quality improvement
[ expectations goals ] are communicated to all
organizational units of the plan, enrollees, providers and
delegated health service providers.

[ C. B. ] The quality improvement program shall be
managed by professional personnel qualified by training and
experience to implement the MCHIP’s program [ expectations
goals ]. The organizational relationship and responsibilities for
quality improvement shall be clearly defined.

[ D. C. ]  The quality improvement program shall be
structured to include, but is not limited to:

1.  A quality improvement [ program operational unit
operations ] accountable for the quality improvement
program;

2.  A quality improvement program advisory committee
whose members include enrollees and representatives
from the [ operational units operations ] responsible for
quality improvement, utilization management, provider
affairs, credentialing, complaints and grievances,
customer service, medical records, and data
management;

3.  A medical director of the MCHIP;

4.  Committees established accountable to the quality
improvement program [ operational unit operations ] that
meet to address specific ongoing aspects of the quality
improvement program; and

5.  Committees established to provide the quality
improvement program [ unit ] with periodic input
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regarding the quality improvement program from Virginia
providers active in the plan and enrollees.

[ E. D. ]  The MCHIP shall designate a board-certified
physician to serve as medical director.

[ F. E. ]  The medical director shall provide supervision and
oversight of the quality improvement program including, but
not limited to:

1.  Defining the responsibilities and interrelationships for
professional services;

2.  Coordinating, supervising and overseeing the
functioning of professional services;

3.  Input into the medical performance of providers;

4.  Overseeing the continuing in-service education of the
MCHIP’s professional staff;

5.  Providing clinical direction and leadership to the
continuous quality improvement program;

6.  Establishing policies and procedures covering all
health care services provided to enrollees; and

7.  Ensuring review of provider credentials including, but
not limited to:

a.  Delineating qualifications for participating in the
MCHIP;

b.  Establishing a system for verification of providers’
credentials, recredentialing, performance reviews; and

c.  Obtaining information about any disciplinary action
against the provider.

[ G. F. ] The quality improvement program advisory
committee shall:

1.  Recommend policies for quality improvement;

2.  Review and approve the quality improvement
program;

3.  Evaluate the results of the quality improvement
program;

4.  Initiate quality improvement activities; and

5.  Ensure implementation of the quality improvement
program.

[ H. G. ] All determinations and actions made by the
committee shall be recorded in minutes that are dated,
approved and current.

[ I. H. ]  The quality improvement program [ operational unit
operations ] shall maintain written descriptions of the
responsibilities of each of the operational units of the licensee
and the governing body in the planning, development,
implementation and evaluation of the plan’s quality
improvement  program.  The descriptions shall clearly
delineate the responsibilities of each unit, to whom the
responsibilities are delegated, and the organizational
relationship that each operational unit has with another to
provide quality health care.

[ J. I. ] The director of the quality improvement program
[ operational unit ] shall report directly to the executive
management of the MCHIP.

[ K. J. ]  A written report shall be issued annually by [ the ]
quality improvement [ operational unit operations ] to the
MCHIP’s executive management and to the governing body.
The purpose of the report shall be to evaluate the MCHIP’s
quality improvement program activities including, at a
minimum:

1.  The [ MCHIP’s MCHIP licensee’s ] achievements in
meeting its quality improvement expectations;

2.  Those areas where expectations were not met or
where improvements are still needed;

3.  The impact [ on enrollee’s health services and the
MCHIP as a result of meeting and needing to continue
improving upon expectations of the MCHIP’s quality
improvement program, including specific programmatic
initiatives, on the quality of care received by enrollees as
assessed using generally-accepted clinical indicators ];

4.  New areas identified through the quality improvement
assessment process that will be incorporated in the next
annual quality improvement program plan; and

5.  Resources identified as necessary to assist in meeting
the MCHIP’s quality improvement expectations.

[ L. K. ]  The governing body shall retain the ultimate
authority for the [ MCHIP’s MCHIP licensee’s ] quality
improvement program.  Documentation shall be maintained
by the MCHIP that the governing body has reviewed the
annual quality improvement program report and has provided
direction to the program and, as necessary, other operational
units in response to the report.

[ M. L. ] A summary of the program shall be provided to
appropriate managers, providers and staff members of the
MCHIP, and shall be available to enrollees of the MCHIP
upon request. The program shall be made available to all
other managers, providers, and staff upon request.

[ N. M. ] There shall be a mechanism in place to inform
enrollees, providers, and employers of the [ MCHIP’s MCHIP
licensee’s ] annual performance results each year, upon
request.

12 VAC 5-408-240.  Program plan.

A.  Each MCHIP [ licensee ] shall have a written quality
improvement plan. The plan shall include:

1.  The quality improvement performance expectations
for the MCHIP for the year and an explanation as to the
rationale for targeting these expectations;

2.  Delineation of the expected outcomes for the
performance expectations;

3.  The performance activities to implement the plan and
the specific lines of authority and accountability for
implementation;

4.  The data collection and analysis methodologies to be
used to evaluate the quality of health care services;



Final Regulations

Volume 16, Issue 7 Monday, December 20, 1999

833

5.  Clinical studies [ , applicable to the type of MCHIP, ]
that target clinical diagnosis and treatments with the
requirement that those diagnoses focused upon are
pertinent to a substantial number of its enrollees or have
been identified as major public health risks.  The plan
shall also include studies that are pertinent to the
enrollees of the product lines that the MCHIP manages or
that address major public health risks;

6.  Strategies to evaluate provider performance and
systems, direct corrective action, and act when corrective
action has not been taken;

7.  Methods to assess enrollee and provider satisfaction
and respond to enrollee and provider satisfaction results
regarding the provision of the quality of the health care
services;

8.  Evaluations of the actual outcomes of care provided to
selected groups of enrollees with an analysis of
variations in care;

9.  Amendment of treatment protocols and clinical
practice guidelines, as necessary, to make them current
and the development of new protocols and clinical
practice guidelines, as necessary, to address clinical
conditions;

10.  Examination of the overutilization and
underutilization of services and interventions when either
are identified;

11.  Strategies to evaluate the coordination and continuity
of care that enrollees receive;

12.  Analysis of the accessibility of enrollee services
including emergency services and after-hour care; and

13.  Strategies to evaluate experimental treatment
procedures.

PART IV.
COORDINATION AND CONTINUITY OF CARE.

12 VAC 5-408-250.  Continuity of care.

A. The MCHIP shall [ coordinate provide, arrange, pay for,
or reimburse ] the health care services it provides in such a
way that:

1.  Enrollees’ individual needs are assessed on an
ongoing basis through their physician or staff and
matched with the appropriate level of medical,
psychological, or medical social services care. The
MCHIP shall monitor the continuity and coordination of
care an enrollee receives with other facets of care;

2.  Enrollees’ transitions through the health care delivery
system are facilitated by the MCHIP and its components;

3.  The MCHIP provides for enrollees’ involvement in
determining care and treatment [ and facilitates the
family’s involvement in treatment decisions when the
enrollee is unable to do so ];

4.  Information necessary to support the provision of care
from one plan component to another is provided in a

timely manner to enrollees and providers to support the
continuity of the enrollee’s care;

5. [ Providers follow plan procedures to address The
MCHIP addresses ] enrollees’ need to know specific
information about their illness, condition or treatment in
order for the enrollee to follow their plan of care and
receive follow-up care when needed; and

6.  Enrollees affected by a change or termination of
benefits, services or providers are assisted in
understanding how such developments impact them and
the options available for dealing with them.

B. [ If a utilization management decision results in denial of
authorization for care, enrollees and providers shall be
notified in a timely manner. ] The MCHIP shall assist with
denial of care issues by providing adequate information for
enrollee and provider decisions regarding ongoing care, or if
appropriate, discharge.

12 VAC 5-408-260.  Network adequacy.

A.  The MCHIP shall provide a sufficient number and mix of
services, specialists, and practice sites to meet enrollees’
health care needs, including providers serving high risk
populations or those specializing in the treatment of costly
conditions, and its contractual obligations with reasonable
promptness.

B.  The MCHIP shall ensure telephone access 24 hours a
day, 7 days a week, to responsible and knowledgeable health
care practitioners capable of assessing the enrollees’
conditions and, as necessary, arranging for appropriate
services.

C.  The MCHIP shall incorporate strategies into their
access procedures to facilitate utilization of the MCHIP’s
health care services by enrollees with physical, mental,
language or cultural barriers.

D.  When a MCHIP does not have a health care provider
with the appropriate training and experience within its network
capable of meeting the particular health care needs of an
enrollee, the MCHIP shall ensure that the enrollee is referred,
consistent with the evidence of coverage, to a health care
provider outside of the MCHIP’s network. The enrollee shall
not be responsible for any additional costs incurred by the
MCHIP as a result of this referral, consistent with the
evidence of coverage, other than any applicable copayment,
coinsurance or deductible.

E.  The MCHIP shall make provisions for affected enrollees
to be notified about the termination of a [ health care delivery
site provider ] as soon as it becomes aware of the termination
[ but at least 30 days before the termination or closing date ].
The MCHIP shall inform the affected enrollees of other
participating providers available to assume their care and
facilitate the enrollees’ transition from a terminating provider
to another provider so that the enrollee’s continuity of care is
not interrupted. Enrollees undergoing an active course of
treatment shall have continued access to care during the
transition period.



Final Regulations

Virginia Register of Regulations

834

12 VAC 5-408-270.  Travel and appointment waiting times.

A.  The travel time for the enrollee to the nearest primary
care delivery site or to the nearest institutional service site
shall not exceed 30 minutes normal driving time from the
enrollee’s residence or place of business for at least 90% of
the enrolled population within each approved service area.
Pharmacy services shall also be available within this time
frame. The department may waive this requirement for rural
or urban areas if the MCHIP can successfully demonstrate
that the 30-minute driving time is not feasible.

Institutional service sites include acute care hospitals,
surgical facilities including licensed acute care hospitals and
outpatient surgical hospitals, psychiatric inpatient facilities,
licensed long-term care facilities with certified skilled nursing
beds, certified renal dialysis providers, home health agencies,
hospice programs, outpatient therapy providers for mental
health and substance abuse conditions, and other sites as
determined appropriate by the department.

B.  The travel time for the enrollee to the nearest specialty
care shall not exceed 60 minutes normal driving time from the
enrollee’s residence or place of business for at least 90% of
the enrolled population within each approved service area.
The department may waive this requirement for rural or urban
areas if the plan can successfully demonstrate that the 60-
minute driving time is not feasible.

C.  The travel time for the enrollee to each of the nearest
health care delivery sites listed in this subsection shall not
exceed 60 minutes normal driving time from the enrollee’s
residence or place of business for at least 90% of the enrolled
population within each approved service area:

1.  A hospital providing specialty level or above neonatal
services;

2.  A hospital providing tertiary pediatric services;

3.  A  residential substance abuse treatment center;

4.  Hospital-based diagnostic cardiac [ cauterization
catheterization ] services;

5.  Hospital inpatient medical rehabilitation services; and

6.  Laboratory, x-ray, Magnetic Resonance Imaging
(MRI) services.

The department may waive this requirement for rural or
urban areas if the plan can successfully demonstrate that the
60-minute driving time is not feasible.

D.  The travel time for the enrollee to each of the nearest
health care delivery sites listed in this subsection shall not
exceed 90 minutes normal driving time from the enrollee’s
residence or place of business for at least 90% of the enrolled
population within each approved service area:

1.  A hospital providing kidney and other organ
transplantation services;

2.  A  hospital providing major trauma treatment and
open-heart surgery services; and

3.  Other specialty hospital services including major burn
care and oncology services.

The department may waive this requirement for rural or
urban areas if the plan can successfully demonstrate that the
90-minute driving time is not feasible.

Nothing in this section shall prohibit or restrict a plan from
offering such services at designated “centers of excellence”
inside or outside of the geographic boundaries of Virginia.

E.  Routine appointments for nonemergency or nonurgent
care shall be available within two weeks of the enrollee’s
request.

F.  Preventive care appointments, including routine physical
examinations, shall be available with 60 days of the enrollee’s
request.

G.  Consultations for specialty services shall be [ available
as requested by the primary care provider at least as required
in § 38.2-3407.11:1 of the Code of Virginia ].

12 VAC 5-408-280.  Urgent care and emergency services.

A.  The MCHIP shall have a system in place to provide to
its enrollees, on a 24-hour basis, (i) access to medical care or
(ii) access by telephone to a physician or licensed health care
professional with appropriate medical training who can refer
or direct an enrollee for prompt medical care in cases where
there is a need for urgent care or emergency services.

B.  The MCHIP shall comply with the requirements of the
Federal Emergency Medical Treatment and Active Labor Act
(42 USC § 1395 dd).

C.  The MCHIP shall provide clear and understandable
explanations to enrollees and providers of :

1.  What constitutes emergency and urgent care;

2.  The process for accessing emergency and urgent
care;

3.  The responsibility of the enrollee for payment for
nonemergency services rendered in a hospital
emergency facility; and

4.  Coverage for out of network emergency medical care
when a enrollee cannot reasonably access network
services.

D.  The MCHIP shall require its providers to clearly notify
enrollees of provisions for urgent care or emergency services
when the physician is not available after hours.

E.  The MCHIP shall recognize primary care practitioners’
authority to facilitate and authorize emergency services for
enrollees.

F.  Coverage of costs for emergency services shall be
consistent with the evidence of coverage and shall not
interfere with enrollee access to care.

G.  Enrollees shall be allowed immediate access to
emergency services and access within no more than 24 hours
for urgent care. Urgent care access may be provided sooner
with appropriate authorization.

H.  The MCHIP shall monitor usage of urgent care and
emergency service to determine if the services are
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understood and appropriately used by enrollees and
providers.

12 VAC 5-408-290.  Health promotion [ and disease
management ].

A.  Annually, the MCHIP shall develop and implement at
least two health guidelines for the prevention and early
detection of illness and disease. Each written guideline shall:

1.  Be available to enrollees upon request;

2.  Describe the prevention or early detection intervention
and the recommended frequency and condition under
which the intervention is required; and

3.  Document the scientific basis or authority upon which
the guideline is based.

Guidelines may be specific to a defined population
segment.

B.  The MCHIP shall distribute any preventive health
guideline it develops and any updates to its providers as soon
as practicable after development of the guideline.

C.  The MCHIP shall regularly communicate with its
enrollees to encourage the use of preventive health services.

D.  At least annually, the MCHIP shall measure enrollee
and provider compliance with the current preventive care
guidelines. The MCHIP may measure compliance by
population segment if the guideline is specific to a population
segment.

E.  Providers who have appropriate knowledge shall be
consulted in the adoption of the preventive health guidelines.

PART V.
CLINICAL PERFORMANCE EVALUATION.

12 VAC 5-408-300.  Clinical performance evaluation
systems.

A.  The MCHIP shall have a system for the evaluation of
the outcomes and processes of clinical care services
delivered to the MCHIP’s enrollees.

B.  The MCHIP shall adopt a nationally recognized clinical
performance evaluation system, such as HEDIS, that
analyzes data based upon selected performance factors or
shall establish a clinical performance evaluation system that
uses data collection, quantitative measures, and analysis to
monitor quality improvement activities.

C.  The MCHIP shall notify the department regarding its
adoption of a nationally recognized clinical performance
evaluation system, such as HEDIS, or that it has chosen to
establish its own performance measurement system.

MCHIPs that choose not to adopt a nationally recognized
system shall provide justification to the department of their
choice of performance measurement selections for the
department’s approval.

D.  The MCHIP shall annually evaluate its performance in
at least three of the areas of clinical care shown below:

1.  Primary care services;

2.  High volume specialty services;

3.  Behavioral health services; and

4.  Institutional health services including inpatient hospital
care, home health services, skilled nursing facility
services and ambulatory surgery.

If HEDIS is used to assess clinical performance, the plan
shall substitute the HEDIS “Effectiveness of Care” measures
for those areas listed in subdivisions 1 through 4 of this
subsection.

E.  The performance measurement indicators chosen by
the plan shall:

1.  Be objective and quantifiable;

2.  Be based upon current and reliable scientific
information;

3.  Have an established goal or benchmark;

4.  Effectively measure performance indicators; and

5.  Have priority areas for measuring outcomes of clinical
care and be reflective of industry-wide performance
measurement goals.

F.  The plan shall implement ways to improve its
performance based on an analysis of its clinical performance
measurements.

12 VAC 5-408-310.  Data collection and submission.

A.  Data collected and analyzed for clinical service
evaluation shall be:

1.  From the enrollee population areas appropriate for the
MCHIP to assess including: (i) high risk and high volume
areas, (ii) areas where clinical problems are expected or
have occurred in the past, (iii) areas that have the
potential for adverse health outcomes, and (iv) areas
where preventive health measures may have an impact;

2.  Collected using processes that are methodologically
sound;

3.  Valid, reliable, complete and timely;

4.  Analyzed quantitatively by personnel qualified to
evaluate the data for clinical quality improvement; and

5.  Protected for confidentially, easily retrievable, and
transmitted for appropriate release to external parties.

In addition, the data shall allow for intra and intersystem
comparisons for the purpose of improving patient health
outcomes and improving clinical health delivery systems.

B.  The [ plan shall MCHIP may ] permit any organization
with which it contracts to collect and analyze clinical data for
performance evaluation to release that data to the department
or its designee.
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PART VI.
DELEGATED SERVICES.

12 VAC 5-408-320.  Delegated services.

A.  If the licensee contracts for any of the following
services, it shall retain accountability for the oversight of those
services:

1.  Quality assurance activities;

2.  Credentialing and recredentialing;

3.  Enrollee education, communication and satisfaction;

4.  Utilization management;

5.  Health promotion;

6.  Records management;

7.  Data management, to include the collection of clinical
trial and the audit of all clinical trial data;

8.  Providers and provider networks;

9.  Claims administration; or

10.  Pharmacy benefits.

B.  The MCHIP shall establish and implement written
procedures to evaluate the effectiveness of any delegated
service.

C.  Documentation that the delegated service complies with
this chapter, its agreement with the MCHIP to provide
services, and any applicable state and federal laws required
of the MCHIP to provide the service shall be maintained by
the MCHIP licensee.

D.  Data and information exchanged between the delegated
service and the plan shall be accomplished in a manner that
is timely, efficient, and effective.

E.  The MCHIP shall ensure that data held by the delegated
service that is required to be shared with the state’s Health
Care Data Reporting System is transmitted according to
collection requirements.

F.  The MCHIP shall require the delegated service to
provide for timely and efficient access by state examiners to
data, records, and personnel necessary to determine
compliance with this chapter.

12 VAC 5-408-330.  Written agreement.

A.  There shall be a written agreement signed by the
MCHIP and the delegated service that describes the:

1.  Delegated service or services;

2.  Responsibilities of the MCHIP and the delegated
service and the remedies available to the MCHIP if the
delegated service does not fulfill its obligations; and

3.  Frequency of reporting to the MCHIP and the process
by which the MCHIP will evaluate the delegated service’s
performance.

B.  The MCHIP shall ensure that the enrollees’ continuity of
care is not disrupted because of changes made in the written

agreement between the MCHIP and the delegated service or
because the relationship, as provided for in the agreement, is
terminated.

12 VAC 5-408-340.  Exchange of information.

A.  The MCHIP shall inform its enrollees and providers
which services they may need are delegated and how those
services are accessed.

B.  If the delegated services are health care services, then
the contractor [ or the MCHIP ] shall also inform the plan’s
enrollees of at least the following:

1.  The procedures for filing complaints [ , and ] appeals
[ , and grievances ];

2.  The utilization management decision process;

3.  The process for appealing claims denials;

4.  How to access emergency and urgent care;

5.  How to obtain services not covered in the delegated
health services’ benefit package;

6.  The process for changing from one practitioner to
another;

7.  Orientation process for new enrollees;

8.  Enrollee participation opportunities; and

9.  Participating practitioners and providers.

C.  The delegated health services [ or the MCHIP licensee ]
shall also inform the MCHIP’s providers of at least the
following:

1.  Opportunities for provider involvement;

2.  Quality improvement program expectations;

3.  Provider credentialing process;

4.  Procedures for complaints [ , and ] appeals [ ,
grievances ];

5.  Process for utilization management decisions; and

6.  How to access emergency and urgent care.

12 VAC 5-408-350.  Quality improvement integration.

A.  As it pertains to the enrollees, the MCHIP [ licensee ]
shall integrate monitoring of the delegated health services
within its quality improvement program:

1.  Quality improvement program activities;

2.  Quality improvement outcomes; and

3.  Complaint [ , grievance ] and appeals processes.

B.  At least annually, the MCHIP shall evaluate the
delegated health service’s quality improvement program, and
complaint [ , grievance, ] and appeals processes, and provide
the delegated health service with a report of its evaluation.

C.  When the MCHIP’s expectations have not been met,
the MCHIP shall require the delegated health service to
provide:
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1.  A corrective action plan that addresses areas where
performance expectations have not been met; and

2.  Evidence that corrective action was taken in keeping
with corrective action plans.

PART VII.
UTILIZATION REVIEW AND MANAGEMENT.

12 VAC 5-408-370.  Utilization review and management.

A.  The MCHIP shall have a utilization review and
management process that complies with the requirements of
§§ 32.1-137.7 through 32.1-137.16 of the Code of Virginia
and this chapter. The process shall be managed by a licensed
physician.

B.  In developing its utilization review program, the MCHIP
shall utilize [ one of the following:   

1.  The Health Utilization Management Standards
(Version 3.0) of the American Accreditation Health Care
Commission/URAC; or

2.  The ]  “Standards for Utilization Management” and the
“Standards for the Delegation of Utilization Management”
[ in of ] the National Committee for Quality Assurance’s
"Standards for the Accreditation of Managed Care
Organizations," effective July 1, 1999, which [ is are ]
incorporated by reference as the criteria for determining
compliance with the utilization management and review
requirements of this section except in those instances in
which state requirements in law or regulation are more
stringent.

C.  The purpose of the utilization review process shall be to
monitor access to and utilization of health care services with
the process ensuring that the conduct of utilization review is:

1.  Impartial, timely, consistent and based upon
supportive medical evidence;

2.  Performed by [ appropriately ] qualified [ health ]
personnel;

3.  Comprehensive in assuring that good faith efforts to
obtain all information necessary to make utilization
review decisions are made;

4.  Evaluated routinely so that program changes  that
determine the necessity, appropriateness, efficiency and
efficacy of health care services provided by the plan can
be made as a result of the evaluation; and

5.  Reported annually to the MCHIP’s governing body.

D.  In addition, the utilization review process shall:

1.  Allow for flexibility, taking into account individual
cases when appropriate;

2.  Provide avenues for provider input into the
establishment of clinical guidelines and protocols;

3.  Afford opportunity for reconsideration and appeal of
adverse determinations in a manner that is easily
understood and accessed by enrollees and providers;
and

4.  Be coordinated with other components of the MCHIP
that use or could benefit from utilization review data.

E.  The utilization review process shall be based upon a
written plan that is reviewed annually and that shall contain, at
a minimum:

1.  A description of the scope of the utilization review
process, both internal and external;

2.  A description of the organizational responsibilities for
utilization review including the qualifications of utilization
review personnel;

3.  The clinical review guidelines, standards, and
protocols which are applied in utilization review
determinations;

4.  Mechanisms to evaluate uniform application of
guidelines and to determine the necessity for case-by-
case decision making;

5.  Procedures for soliciting and implementing provider
input in the development of guidelines as well as
evaluating provider usage of the guidelines;

6.  The process for monitoring over utilization and under
utilization;

7.  Provisions for notice to enrollees and providers
regarding any need for precertification, concurrent
certification, or retrospective review as a prerequisite for
approval of payment or access to service;

8.  Procedures for reconsideration of adverse decisions
and appeals including expedited appeals;

9.  Guidelines for the delegation of utilization review to
external entities and the expectations for that delegation;

10.  Guidelines for the notification in clear and
understandable terms of the reasons for denial of
services or payments to providers and subscribers;

11.  Mechanisms for review and implementation of
experimental treatments and new technology;

12.  Mechanisms for soliciting and evaluating provider
and enrollee satisfaction with utilization review
determinations and the MCHIP’s appeal process and
implementing mechanisms to address areas of
dissatisfaction; and

13.  Procedures for the maintenance of records  required
under § 32.1-137.16 of the Code of Virginia.

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE

Health Network Standards, Version 3.0, American
Accreditation HealthCare Commission/URAC.

[ Standards 1997 Accreditation Manual ] for Preferred
Provider Organizations, [ 1997, ] Joint Commission on
Accreditation of HealthCare Organizations.

Standards for the Accreditation of Managed Care
Organizations, effective July 1, 1999, National Committee for
Quality Assurance.
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[ Health Utilization Management Standards, Version 3.0,
American Accreditation HealthCare Commission/URAC.

Health Plan Standards, Version 3.0, American Accreditation
Health Care Commission/URAC. ]

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 12 VAC 5-408-10
et seq., Regulation for the Certification of Managed Care
Health Insurance Plan Licenses, are listed and published
below.

FORMS

Application for Certificate of Quality Assurance - Managed
Care Health Insurance Plan Licensee [ , 12/99 ].
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VA.R. Doc. No. R99-16; Filed December 1, 1999, 9:29 a.m.
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* * * * * * * *

Extension of Public Comment Period

Title of Regulation:  12 VAC 5-610-10 et seq. Sewage
Handling and Disposal Regulations.

The Department of Health suspended the regulatory process
on 12 VAC 5-610-10 et seq. Sewage Handling and Disposal
Regulations, in 16:2 VA.R. 202 October 11, 1999.  Due to the
suspension, the amendments as published in the August 16th

issue of the Virginia Register did not become effective on
October 1, 1999.

In conjunction with the suspension, the department solicited
additional public comments until November 10, 1999.

The Department of Health has received letters from
individuals requesting the department to extend the comment
period for the regulations.  Therefore, the department will
receive additional public comments until the close of business
on January 19, 2000.

Agency Contact: Public comments may be submitted until
January 19, 2000, to Don Alexander, Director, Virginia
Department of Health, Division of Onsite Sewage and Water
Services, PO Box 2448, Room 115, Richmond, VA 23218,
telephone (804) 786-1750.

VA.R. Doc. No. R96-337; Filed December 1, 1999, 1:54 p.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w

TITLE 16.  LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY

Safety and Health Codes Board

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE:  The following regulations are
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance
with § 9-6.14:4.1 C 4 (c) of the Code of Virginia, which
excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the
requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such
regulations do not differ materially from those required by
federal law or regulation.  The Safety and Health Codes
Board will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration
or revision.

Title of Regulation:  16 VAC 25-120-1917 et seq.  Federal
Identical Marine Terminals Standards (amending 16 VAC
25-120-1917.1).
16 VAC 25-130-1918 et seq.  Federal Identical
Longshoring Standards (amending 16 VAC 25-130-
1918.1)

Statutory Authority:  § 40.1-22(5) of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 20, 2000.

Summary:

The federal Occupational Safety and Health
Administration (OSHA) stayed the compliance date for
the new Powered Industrial Truck Operator Training
Standard as it applies to employers in 29 CFR Part 1917
(Marine Terminal) and in 29 CFR Part 1918
(Longshoring) from December 1, 1999, until March 1,
2000.  The compliance date of the standard for
employers in General Industry, Shipyards and
Construction remains December 1, 1999.

Until operators are trained and evaluated pursuant to the
new standard, employers in the marine terminal and
longshoring industries must remain in compliance with
the preexisting powered industrial truck operator training
requirements of 29 CFR 1917.27 (1998) for marine
terminals (public sector only); and of 29 CFR 1918.98
(1998) for longshoring.

The new standard is made applicable to marine terminals
by cross reference from 29 CFR 1917.1(a)(2)(xiv) and to
longshoring by 29 CFR 1918.1(b)(10).  These two
paragraphs will be followed by a notice of the stay.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Bonnie R. Hopkins, Department of Labor and Industry,
13 South 13th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
371-2631.

Note on Incorporation by Reference

Pursuant to § 9-6.18 of the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Parts 1917 and
1918 are declared documents generally available to the public and
appropriate for incorporation by reference.  For this reason the
documents will not be printed in the Virginia Register of Regulations.
Copies of the documents are available for inspection at the
Department of Labor and Industry, 13 South 13th Street, Richmond,
Virginia 23219, and in the office of the Registrar of Regulations,
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Richmond,
Virginia 23219.

On November 15, 1999, the Safety and Health Codes Board
adopted an identical version of federal OSHA's stay of
compliance dates for the final rules for Powered Industrial
Trucks Operator Training, which was published in 64 FR
46846 on August 27, 1999.  The stay of compliance date is
for the Marine Terminals Standard, Public Sector Only, 29
CFR 1917.1, and for Scope and Application, Longshoring, 29
CFR 1918.1.   The date by which powered industrial truck
operators must be trained was stayed from December 1,
1999, until March 1, 2000.

When the regulations, as set forth in the stay of compliance
dates for the final rule for Powered Industrial Truck Operator
Training, 29 CFR Parts 1917 and 1918, are applied to the
Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry or to
Virginia employers, the following federal terms shall be
considered to read as follows:

Federal Terms VOSH Equivalent

29 CFR VOSH Standard

Assistant Secretary Commissioner of Labor and
Industry
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Agency Department

August 27, 1999 January 20, 2000

Implementation Schedule for Marine Terminals and
Longshoring Industries

March 1, 2000 March 1, 2000
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TITLE 18.  PROFESSIONAL AND
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF DENTISTRY

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 60-20-10 et seq.  Regulations
Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene
(amending 18 VAC 60-20-20 and 18 VAC 60-20-30).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-2712.1 and 54.1-
2726.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 19, 2000.

Summary:

The amendments establish application and renewal fees
for dentists and dental hygienists who hold a restricted
volunteer license under the provisions of §§ 54.1-2712.1
and 54.1-2726.1 of the Code of Virginia.  Amendments
comply with statutory provisions of House Bill 1023
(Chapter 326 of the 1998 Acts of Assembly).  House Bill
1023 had an enactment clause requiring the Board of
Dentistry to promulgate emergency regulations; this
regulation replaces the emergency regulations.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response: No
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Marcia J. Miller, Department of Health Professions, 6606
West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-9906.

18 VAC 60-20-20.  License renewal and reinstatement.

A.  Renewal fees.  Every person holding an active or
inactive license or, a full-time faculty license, or a restricted
volunteer license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene shall,
on or before March 31, renew his license.  Every person
holding a teacher’s license or a temporary permit to practice
dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before June 30, renew
his license.

1.  The fee for renewal of an active license or permit shall
be $100 for dentists and $40 for dental hygienists.

2.  The fee for renewal of an inactive license shall be $65
for dentists and $25 for dental hygienists.

3.  The fee for renewal of a restricted volunteer license
shall be $15.

B.  Penalty fees.  Any person who does not return the
completed form and fee by the deadline required in
subsection A of this section shall be required to pay an
additional penalty fee of $50 for dentists and $35 for dental
hygienists.  The board shall renew a license if the renewal
form, renewal fee, and penalty fee are received within 30
days of the deadline required in subsection A of this section.

C.  Reinstatement fees and procedures.  The license of any
person who does not return the completed renewal form and
fees within 30 days of the deadline required in subsection A of

this section shall automatically expire and become invalid and
his practice of dentistry/dental hygiene shall be illegal.  Upon
such expiration, the board shall immediately notify the
affected person of the expiration and the reinstatement
procedures.

1.  Any person whose license has expired who wishes to
reinstate such license shall submit to the board a
reinstatement application, the renewal fee and the
penalty fee of $50 for dentists and $35 for dental
hygienists per month for each month or part of a month
the license has been expired for a maximum amount of
$600 for dentists and $420 for dental hygienists.

2.  Practicing in Virginia with an expired license may
subject the licensee to disciplinary action and additional
fines by the board.

3.  The executive director shall reinstate such expired
license provided that the applicant can demonstrate
continuing competence, that no grounds exist pursuant to
§ 54.1-2706 of the Code of Virginia and 18 VAC 60-20-
170 to deny said reinstatement, and that the applicant
has paid all unpaid renewal fees and assessments.

D.  Reinstatement of a license previously revoked or
indefinitely suspended.  Any person whose license has been
revoked shall submit to the board for its approval a
reinstatement application and fee of $750 for dentists and
$500 for dental hygienists.  Any person whose license has
been indefinitely suspended shall submit to the board for its
approval a reinstatement application and fee of $350 for
dentists and $250 for dental hygienists.

18 VAC 60-20-30.  Other fees.

A.  Dental licensure application fees.  The application fee
for a dental license, a license to teach dentistry, or a
temporary permit as a dentist shall be $225.

B.  Dental hygiene licensure application fees.  The
application fee for a dental hygiene license by examination, a
license to teach dental hygiene, or a temporary permit as a
dental hygienist shall be $160.

C.  Duplicate wall certificate.  Licensees desiring a
duplicate wall certificate shall submit a request in writing
stating the necessity for such duplicate wall certificate,
accompanied by a fee of $15.

D.  Duplicate license.  Licensees desiring a duplicate
license shall submit a request in writing stating the necessity
for such duplicate license, accompanied by a fee of $10. If a
licensee maintains more than one office, a notarized
photocopy of a license may be used.

E.  Licensure certification.  Licensees requesting
endorsement or certification by this board shall pay a fee of
$25 for each endorsement or certification.

F.  Restricted license.  Restricted license issued in
accordance with § 54.1-2714 of the Code of Virginia shall be
at a fee of $100.

G.  Examination.  Each examination administered by the
board shall be at a fee of $25.
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H.  Endorsement license.  License by endorsement issued
in accordance with 18 VAC 60-20-80 for dental hygienists
shall be at a fee of $225.

I.  Restricted volunteer license.  The application fee for
licensure as a restricted volunteer dentist or dental hygienist
issued in accordance with § 54.1-2712.1 or § 54.1-2726.1 of
the Code of Virginia shall be $25.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 60-20-10
et seq., Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and
Dental Hygiene, are listed below.  Any amended or added
forms are reflected in the listing and are published following
the listing.

FORMS

Outline and Explanation of Documentation Required for
Dental Licensure by Exam, Teacher's License, Restricted
License, Full Time Faculty License, and Temporary Permit
(eff. 11/98).

Application for Licensure to Practice Dentistry (eff. 3/98).

Application for Restricted Volunteer Licensure to Practice
Dentistry and Dental Hygiene (eff. 7/7/98).

Form A, Certification of Dental/Dental Hygiene School (rev.
3/98).

Form AA, Sponsor Certification for Dental/Dental Hygiene
Volunteer License (eff. 7/98).

Form B, Chronology (rev. 3/98).

Form C, Certification of Dental/Dental Hygiene Boards (rev.
3/98).

Outline and Explanation of Documentation Required for
Dental Hygiene Licensure by Exam, Teacher's License,
Dental Hygiene by Endorsement, and Dental Hygiene
Temporary Permit (rev. 11/98).

Application for Licensure to Practice Dental Hygiene (rev.
3/98).

Reinstatement Application for Dental/Dental Hygiene
Licensure (rev. 3/98).

Expiration letter to licensee (rev. 7/98).

Radiology Information for Dental Assistants (rev. 7/97).

Application for Radiology Exam for Dental Assistants (rev.
7/97).

Renewal Notice and Application (rev. 9/97).
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BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND
EMBALMERS

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 65-20-10 et seq.  Regulations
of the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers
(amending 18 VAC 65-20-70, 18 VAC 65-20-120, and
18 VAC 65-20-130; adding 18 VAC 65-20-435).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-2800 and 54.1-
2818.1 through 54.1-2818.3 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 19, 2000.

Summary:

The amendments establish a registration program for
crematories, which includes application and renewal fees
and a registration schedule.  The regulations also specify
that a crematory providing services directly to the public
must be additionally licensed as a funeral service
establishment or as a branch of an establishment.  An
amendment was made to the proposed regulation giving
the board the authority to take disciplinary action against
a crematory in violation of law or regulation.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response:  A
summary of public comments and the agency’s response may
be obtained from the promulgating agency or viewed at the
office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact:  Elizabeth Young Tisdale, Department of
Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 4th Floor,
Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9111.

18 VAC 65-20-70.  Required fees.

A.  The following fees shall apply for initial licensure or
registration and for renewal of licensure or registration:

1.  License to practice funeral service or
as a funeral director or an embalmer $150;

2.  Funeral service establishment license $225;

3.  Surface transportation and removal
service registration

$250;

4.  Courtesy card $100;

5.  Crematory $100

B.  Other fees.

1.  Reinstatement fee for each year of
licensure or registration expiration

$50 per
year;

2.  Change of manager or establishment
name

$50;

3.  Verification of license or registration
to another state

$50;

4.  Duplicate license, registration, or
courtesy card

$25;

5.  Duplicate wall certificates $50;

6.  Change of ownership $100;

7.  Reinspection for change of location or
ownership

$100;

18 VAC 65-20-120.  Expiration dates.

A.  A funeral service establishment license, crematory
registration, or surface transportation and removal service
registration shall expire on January 31 of each calendar year.

B.  The funeral service license, funeral director license, or
embalmer license shall expire on March 31 of each calendar
year.

C.  Courtesy cards expire on December 31 of each
calendar year.

18 VAC 65-20-130.  Renewal of license; registration.

A.  A person, establishment, crematory, courtesy card
holder or surface transportation and removal service that
desires to renew its license or registration for the next year
shall, not later than the expiration date as provided in 18 VAC
65-20-120, submit the renewal application and applicable fee.

B.  A person who or establishment entity which fails to
renew a license, registration, or courtesy card by the
expiration dates prescribed in 18 VAC 65-20-120 shall be
deemed to have an invalid license, registration, or courtesy
card and continued practice may subject the licensee to
disciplinary action by the board.

PART IV.
REGISTRATION.

18 VAC 65-20-435.  Registration of crematories.

A.  At least 30 days prior to opening a crematory, any
person intending to own or operate a crematory shall apply for
registration with the board by submitting a completed
application and fee as prescribed in 18 VAC 65-20-70.

B.  A crematory providing cremation services directly to the
public shall also be licensed as a funeral service
establishment or shall be a branch of a licensed
establishment.

[ C.  The board may take disciplinary action against a
crematory registration for a violation of § 54.1-2818.1 of the
Code of Virginia or for the inappropriate handling of dead
human bodies or cremains. ]

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 65-20-10
et seq., Regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and
Embalmers, are listed below.  Any amended or added forms
are reflected in the listing and are published following the
listing.

FORMS

Application for Funeral Service Licensure (rev. 7/1/98).

Application for Courtesy Card (rev. 7/1/98).

Application for Establishment Licensure/Change of Address
(rev. 7/1/98).

Application for Waiver of Full-time Manager Requirements
(rev. 7/1/98).
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Application for Cremator Registration (rev. 2/4/99).

Renewal Application for Waiver of Full-time Manager
Requirements (rev. 12/1/98).

Licensure Verification Form (rev. 7/97).

Application for Surface Transportation and Removal Service
Registration (rev. 7/1/98).

Renewal Notice and Application, C-45128 (rev. 7/97).

Appendix I:  General Price List (rev. 11/17/98).

Appendix II:  Casket Price List; Outer Burial Container Price
List (rev. 11/17/98).

Appendix III:  Itemized Statement of Funeral Goods and
Services Selected (rev. 11/17/98).

Appendix IV:  Embalming Record (rev. 11/17/98).
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BOARD OF MEDICINE

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 85-20-10 et seq.  Regulations
Governing the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathy,
Podiatry, Chiropractic, and Physician Acupuncture
(adding 18 VAC 85-20-280, 18 VAC 85-20-290, and 18 VAC
85-20-300).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2910.1 of the
Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 19, 2000.

Summary:

The amendments establish a physician/podiatrist profile
system by which information on the education, practice
and disciplinary actions of physicians will be available to
the public.  The regulations specify the information which
a physician or podiatrist is required to report and provide
that failure to comply with a request for information may
subject the licensee to a disciplinary action.  Willfully
providing false information will subject a physician or
podiatrist to disciplinary action and may jeopardize his
license to practice.

Changes to the proposed regulatory action include: (i)
adding podiatrists to the requirements for reporting
certain information; (ii) specifying that the reporting
physician or podiatrist should also indicate whether he is
accepting new patients for the insurance plans, health
maintenance organizations or Virginia Medicaid Program
in which he participates; and (iii) specifying that the board
will make information on disciplinary actions available in
the profile.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response:  A
summary of comments made by the public and the agency’s
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Warren W. Koontz M.D., Department of Health
Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond,
VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9908.

PART VII.
PRACTITIONER PROFILE SYSTEM.

18 VAC 85-20-280.  Required information.

A.  In compliance with requirements of § 54.1-2910.1 of the
Code of Virginia, a doctor of medicine or osteopathy [ or a
doctor of podiatry ] licensed by the board shall provide, upon
initial request, the following information within 30 days:

1.  The address of the primary practice setting and all
secondary practice settings with the percentage of time
spent at each location;

2.  Names of medical [ or , ] osteopathic [ or podiatry ]
schools and graduate medical [ or podiatric ] education
programs attended with dates of graduation or
completion of training;

3.  Names and dates of specialty board certification, if
any, as approved by the American Board of Medical
Specialties [ or , ] the American Board of Osteopathic
Medical Specialties [ , or the American Board of Podiatric
Surgery ];

4.  Number of years in active, clinical practice in the
United States or Canada following completion of medical
[ or podiatric ] training and the number of years, if any, in
active, clinical practice outside the United States or
Canada;

5.  The specialty [ , if any, ] in which the physician [ or
podiatrist ] practices;

6.  Names of insurance plans accepted or managed care
plans in which the physician [ or podiatrist ] participates
[ and whether he is accepting new patients under such
plans ];

7.  Names of hospitals with which the physician [ or
podiatrist ] is affiliated;

8.  Appointments within the past 10 years to medical [ or
podiatry ] school faculties with the years of service and
academic rank;

9.  Publications, not to exceed 10 in number, in peer-
reviewed literature within the most recent five-year period
[ . ; ]

10.  Whether there is access to translating services for
non-English speaking patients at the primary practice
setting [ , ] and which, if any, foreign languages are
spoken in the practice; and

11.  Whether the physician [ or podiatrist ] participates in
the Virginia Medicaid Program [ and whether he is
accepting new Medicaid patients ].

B.  The physician [ or podiatrist ] may provide additional
information on hours of continuing education earned,
subspecialties obtained, and honors or awards received.

C. [ After the initial request for information, the licensee
shall provide to the board, within 30 days, current information
in any of the above categories ] Whenever there is a change
in the information on record with the physician profile system
[ , the practitioner shall provide current information in any of
the categories in subsection A of this section within 30 days of
such change ].

18 VAC 85-20-290.  Reporting of malpractice paid claims
[ and board actions ].

[ A. ] All malpractice paid claims reported to the Board of
Medicine within the 10 years immediately preceding the report
shall be used to calculate the level of significance as required
by § 54.1-2910.1 of [ the ] Code of Virginia.  Each report of an
award or settlement shall indicate:

1.  The number of years the physician [ or podiatrist ] has
been licensed in Virginia.

2.  The specialty in which the physician [ or podiatrist ]
practices.
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3.  The relative frequency of paid claims described in
terms of the number of physicians [ or podiatrists ] in
each specialty and the percentage who have [ had ]
made malpractice payments within the 10-year period.

4.  The date of the paid claim.

5.  The relative amount of the paid claim described as
average, below average or above average, which shall
be defined as follows:

a.  “Average” if the amount of the award is within one
standard deviation above or below the mean for the
amount of all reported claims for physicians [ or
podiatrists ] who share the same specialty as the
subject of the report;

b.  “Below average” if the amount of the award is below
one standard deviation from the mean for the amount
of all reported claims for physicians [ or podiatrists ]
who share the same specialty as the subject of the
report; and

c.  “Above average” if the amount of the award is
above one standard deviation from the mean for the
amount of all reported claims for physicians [ or
podiatrists ] who share the same specialty as the
subject of the report.

[ B.  The board shall make available as part of the profile
information regarding disciplinary notices and orders as
provided in § 54.1-2400.2 D of the Code of Virginia. ]

18 VAC 85-20-300.  Noncompliance or falsification of
profile.

A.  The failure to provide the information required by
subsection A of 18 VAC 85-20-280 within 30 days of the
request for information by the board may constitute
unprofessional conduct and may subject the licensee to
disciplinary action by the board.

B.  Intentionally providing false information to the board for
the physician profile system shall constitute unprofessional
conduct and shall subject the licensee to disciplinary action by
the board.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 85-20-10
et seq., Regulations Governing the Practice of Medicine,
Osteopathy, Podiatry, Chiropractic, and Physician
Acupuncture, are listed below.  Any amended or added forms
are reflected in the listing and are published following the
listing.

FORMS

Instructions for Completing FLEX or USMLE Endorsement
Application; American Graduates--revised May, 1997.

Instructions for Completing FLEX or USMLE Endorsement
Application; Non-American Graduates--revised June, 1997.

Instructions for Completing PMLEXIS Examination
Application--revised May, 1997.

Instructions for Completing Chiropractic Endorsement
Application--revised May, 1997.

Instructions for Completing Podiatry Endorsement application-
-revised May, 1997.

Instructions for Completing LMCC Endorsement Application;
Canadian/American Graduates--revised May, 1997.

Instructions for Completing LMCC Endorsement Application;
Non-American Graduates--revised June, 1997.

Instructions for Completing National Boards Endorsement
Application--revised May, 1997.

Instructions for Completing Osteopathic National Boards
Endorsement Application--revised May, 1997.

Instructions for Completing Other Boards Endorsement
Application; American Graduates--revised May, 1997.

Instructions for Completing Other Boards Endorsement
Application; Non-American Graduates--revised June, 1997.

Form #A, Claims History Sheet--revised June, 1997.

Form #B, Activity Questionnaire--revised June, 1997.

Form #C, Clearance from Other State Boards--revised June,
1997.

Form #D, Virginia Request for Physician Profile--revised
June, 1997.

Application for a License to Practice Medicine/Osteopathy--
revised May, 1997.

Form #H, Certification of Grades Attained on the Podiatric
Medical Licensing Examination for States (PMLEXIS)--revised
June, 1997.

Form #I, National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners
Request for Scores on Part I and II--revised June, 1997.

Form HRB-30-061, Requirements and Instructions for an
Intern/Resident License--revised July, 1997.

Intern/Resident Form #A, Memorandum from Associate Dean
of Graduate Medical Education--revised July, 1997.

Intern/Resident Form #B, Certificate of Professional
Education--revised July, 1997.

Instructions for Completing an Application for a Limited
License to Practice Medicine as a Full-time Faculty Member
or as a Full-time Fellow--revised January, 1998.

Form DHP-030-056, Application for a Limited License to
Practice Medicine as a Full-time Faculty Member or as a Full-
time Fellow--revised January, 1998.

Form #G--Request for Status Report of Educational
Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates Certification--
revised October, 1997.

Instructions for Licensure to Practice as a Physician
Acupuncturist--revised March, 1997.

Application for a License to Practice Acupuncture--revised
July, 1997.

Renewal Notice and Application--revised July, 1997.
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Virginia Physician Profile--revised [ July, 1999 November,
1999 ].

[ Virginia Podiatrist Profile - revised November, 1999. ]
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* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 85-40-10 et seq.  Regulations
Governing the Practice of Respiratory Care Practitioners
(amending 18 VAC 85-40-10, 18 VAC 85-40-40, 18 VAC 85-
40-50, 18 VAC 85-40-60, and 18 VAC 85-40-80; adding
18 VAC 85-40-25, 18 VAC 85-40-45, and 18 VAC 85-40-65).

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 29 (§  54.1-
2900 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 19, 2000.

Summary:

Chapter 557 of the 1998 Acts of Assembly requires the
board to promulgate regulations for the licensure of
respiratory care practitioners.  These amendments
replace the emergency regulations that are currently in
effect.  The amendments (i) reorganize the application,
education, and examination requirements; (ii) require an
active practice for licensure renewal; (iii) clarify the
requirements for reinstating a lapsed license; (iv)
increase the penalty fee for late renewals from $10 to
$25; and (v) add fees of $500 for reinstatement of a
revoked license, $10 for a duplicate license, and $25 for
a duplicate wall certificate.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response:  A
summary of comments made by the public and the agency’s
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact:  Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Department of
Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street, 4th Floor,
Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9908.

18 VAC 85-40-10.  Definitions.

A.  The following words and terms when used in this
chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to them in
§ 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia:

Board

Qualified medical direction

B.  The following words and terms when used in this
chapter shall have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

"Accredited educational program” means a program
accredited by the Committee on Accreditation for Respiratory
Care or any other agency approved by the NBRC for its entry
level certification examination.

“Active practice” means a minimum of 160 hours of
professional practice as a respiratory care practitioner within
the 24-month period immediately preceding renewal or
application for licensure if previously licensed or certified in
another jurisdiction.  The active practice of respiratory care
may include supervisory, administrative, educational or
consultative activities or responsibilities for the delivery of
such services.

"Advisory board" means the Advisory Board on Respiratory
Care to the Board of Medicine as specified in § 54.1-2956 of
the Code of Virginia.

"NBRC" means the National Board for Respiratory Care,
Inc.

"Respiratory care practitioner" means a person as specified
in § 54.1-2954 of the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 85-40-25.  Current name and address.

Each licensee shall furnish the board his current name and
address.  All notices required by law or by this chapter to be
given by the board to any such licensee shall be validly given
when mailed to the latest address provided or served to the
licensee.  Any change of name or address shall be furnished
to the board within 30 days of such change.

PART II.
REQUIREMENTS FOR PRACTICE LICENSURE AS A
LICENSED RESPIRATORY CARE PRACTITIONER.

18 VAC 85-40-40.  General Application requirements.

A.  No person shall practice as a licensed respiratory care
practitioner in the Commonwealth except as provided in this
chapter.

B.  All services rendered by a licensed respiratory care
practitioner shall be performed only upon written or verbal
orders from a qualified practitioner and under qualified
medical direction.

An applicant for licensure shall submit the following on
forms provided by the board:

1.  A completed application and a fee as prescribed in
18 VAC 85-40-80.

2.  Verification of professional education in respiratory
care as required in 18 VAC 85-40-45.

3.  Verification of practice as required on the application
form.

4.  Documentation of passage of the national
examination as required in 18 VAC 85-40-50.

5.  If licensed or certified in any other jurisdiction,
documentation of active practice as a respiratory care
practitioner and verification that there has been no
disciplinary action taken or pending in that jurisdiction.

18 VAC 85-40-45.  Educational requirements.

An applicant for licensure shall:

1.  Be a graduate of an accredited educational program
for respiratory care practitioners; or

2.  Hold current credentialing as [ a Certified Respiratory
Therapy Technician (CRTT), ] a Certified Respiratory
Therapist [ (CRT) ] or a Registered Respiratory Therapist
(RRT) from the NBRC.

18 VAC 85-40-50.  Licensure Examination requirements.

An applicant for a license to practice as a licensed
respiratory care practitioner shall: 1. submit to the board
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written evidence, verified by affidavit, that the applicant has
passed the NBRC entry level examination for respiratory care,
or its equivalent; as approved by the board.

2.  Make application on forms supplied by the board and
completed in every detail; and

3.  Pay the application fee prescribed in 18 VAC
85-40-80 at the time the application is filed.

PART III.
RENEWAL AND REINSTATEMENT.

18 VAC 85-40-60.  Renewal of license.

A.  Every licensed respiratory care practitioner intending to
continue his licensure shall biennially in each odd-numbered
year in his birth month:

1.  Register with the board for renewal of his license; and

2.  Pay the prescribed renewal fee at the time he files for
renewal.; and

3.  Engage in active practice as defined in 18 VAC 85-40-
10.

B.  A respiratory care practitioner whose licensure has not
been renewed by the first day of the month following the
month in which renewal is required shall pay a late fee as
prescribed in 18 VAC 85-40-80.

18 VAC 85-40-65.  Reinstatement.

A.  In order to reinstate a license which has been lapsed for
more than two years, a respiratory care practitioner shall file
an application for reinstatement, pay the fee for reinstatement
of his licensure as prescribed in 18 VAC 85-40-80, and submit
to the board evidence of competency to practice.  The board
may specify additional requirements for reinstatement of a
license so lapsed to include education, experience or
reexamination.

B.  A respiratory care practitioner whose licensure has
been revoked by the board and who wishes to be reinstated
shall make a new application to the board and payment of the
fee for reinstatement of his licensure as prescribed in 18 VAC
85-40-80 pursuant to § 54.1-2921 of the Code of Virginia.

PART III. IV.
SCOPE OF PRACTICE.

PART IV. V.
FEES.

18 VAC 85-40-80.  Fees.

The following fees are required:

1.  The application fee, payable at the time the
application is filed, shall be $100.

2.  The biennial fee for renewal of licensure shall be $50,
payable in each odd-numbered year in the license
holder's birth month.

3.  An additional fee to cover administrative costs for
processing a late application may be imposed by the
board.  The additional fee for late renewal of licensure
shall be $10 $25 for each renewal cycle.

4.  Lapsed license.  The fee for reinstatement of a license
issued by the Board of Medicine pursuant to § 54.1-2904
of the Code of Virginia, which has expired for a period of
two years or more, shall be $100 and must be submitted
with an application for licensure reinstatement.

5.  The fee for reinstatement of a revoked license shall be
$500.

6.  The fee for a duplicate license shall be $10, and the
fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $25.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 85-40-10
et seq., Regulations Governing the Practice of Respiratory
Care Practitioners, are listed below.  Any amended or added
forms are reflected in the listing and are published following
the listing.

FORMS

Instructions for Completing a Respiratory Care Practitioner
Application (rev. 7/98 2/99).

Application for a License to Practice as a Respiratory Care
Practitioner (rev. 7/98 2/99).

[ Instructions for Completing Reinstatement of Respiratory
Therapy License (eff. 8/99). ]

[ Application for Reinstatement as a Respiratory Care
Practitioner (eff. 7/98). ]

Form #A, Claims History Sheet (rev. 7/98).

Form #B, Activity Questionnaire (rev. 7/98).

Form #C, Clearance from Other State Boards (rev. 7/98).

Form #L, Certificate of Professional Education (rev. 2/99).

Verification of Certification Request Form (NBRTC) (rev.
7/98).

Renewal Notice and Application (rev. 7/97).
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* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 85-80-10 et seq.  Regulations
Governing the Licensure of Occupational Therapists
(amending 18 VAC 85-80-10, 18 VAC 85-80-20, 18 VAC 85-
80-40, 18 VAC 85-80-50, 18 VAC 85-80-60, 18 VAC 85-80-
70, and 18 VAC 85-80-80; adding  18 VAC 85-80-25 and
18 VAC 85-80-35).

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 29 (§ 54.1-
2900 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 19, 2000.

Summary:

Amendments to the regulations are adopted pursuant to
changes in the Code of Virginia made by Chapter 593 of
the 1998 Acts of the Assembly, which require the board
to promulgate regulations for the licensure of
occupational therapists.  The board promulgated
emergency regulations, which became effective on
January 29, 1999.  These regulations replace the
emergency regulation.

The amendments (i) reorganize the application,
education, and examination sections; (ii) modify the initial
and reinstatement application requirements; and (iii) add
an active practice requirement for licensure renewal.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response:  No
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Warren W. Koontz, M.D., Executive Director, Board of
Medicine, 6606 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9908.

CHAPTER 80.
REGULATIONS [ FOR GOVERNING THE ] LICENSURE OF

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPISTS.

18 VAC 85-80-10.  Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Advisory board" means the Advisory Board of
Occupational Therapy.

"AOTA" means the American Occupational Therapy
Association, Inc.

"ACOTE" means the Accreditation Council for Occupational
Therapy Education.

“Active practice” means a minimum of 160 hours of
professional practice as an occupational therapist within the
24-month period immediately preceding renewal or
application for licensure, if previously licensed or certified in
another jurisdiction.  The active practice of occupational
therapy may include supervisory, administrative, educational
or consultative activities or responsibilities for the delivery of
such services.

"Advisory board" means the Advisory Board of
Occupational Therapy.

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Medicine.

"Certification examination" means the national examination
approved and prescribed by NBCOT for certification as an
occupational therapist.

"NBCOT" means the National Board for Certification in
Occupational Therapy, under which the national examination
for certification is developed and implemented.

"National examination" means the examination prescribed
by NBCOT for certification as an occupational therapist and
approved for licensure in Virginia.

"Occupational therapy personnel" means persons who
provide occupational therapy services under the supervision
of a licensed occupational therapist.

18 VAC 85-80-20.  Public participation.

A separate regulation, 18 VAC 85-10-10 et seq., which
Public Participation Guidelines, provides for involvement of
the public in the development of all regulations of the Virginia
Board of Medicine, is incorporated by reference in this
chapter.

18 VAC 85-80-25.  Current name and address.

Each licensee shall furnish the board his current name and
address.  All notices required by law or by this chapter given
by the board to any such licensee shall be validly given when
mailed to the latest address provided or served to the
licensee.  Any change of name or address shall be furnished
to the board within 30 days of such change.

PART II.
REQUIREMENTS OF LICENSURE AS AN OCCUPATIONAL

THERAPIST.

18 VAC 85-80-35.  Application requirements.

An applicant for licensure shall submit the following on
forms provided by the board:

1.  A completed application and a fee as prescribed in
18 VAC 85-80-120.

2.  Verification of professional education in occupational
therapy as required in 18 VAC 85-80-40.

3.  Verification of practice as required in 18 VAC 85-80-
60 and as specified on the application form.

4.  Documentation of passage of the national
examination as required in 18 VAC 85-80-50.

5.  If licensed or certified in any other jurisdiction,
verification that there has been no disciplinary action
taken or pending in that jurisdiction.

18 VAC 85-80-40.  Educational requirements.

A. An applicant for licensure who has received his
professional education in the United States, its possessions
or territories, shall successfully complete all academic and
fieldwork requirements of an accredited educational program
as verified by the ACOTE.
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B. An applicant who has received his professional
education outside the United States, its possessions or
territories, shall successfully complete all academic and
clinical fieldwork requirements of a program approved by a
member association of the World Federation of Occupational
Therapists as verified by the candidate's occupational therapy
program director and approved as required by the NBCOT
and submit proof of proficiency in the English language by
passing the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL)
with a grade of not less than 560 score acceptable to the
board.  TOEFL may be waived upon evidence of English
proficiency.

C. An applicant who does not meet the educational
requirements as prescribed in subsection A or B of this
section but who holds certification by the NBCOT as an
occupational therapist shall be eligible for licensure in Virginia
and shall provide the board verification of his education,
training and work experience acceptable to the board.

18 VAC 85-80-50.  Examination requirements.

A. An applicant for licensure to practice as an occupational
therapist shall submit evidence to the board that he holds
current and valid has passed the certification examination for
an occupational therapist and any other examination required
for initial certification from the NBCOT.

B. An applicant must submit the application, credentials
and prescribed fees as required by the board for licensure.

C. An applicant who has received a degree from a duly
accredited educational program in occupational therapy shall
be allowed to practice as an occupational therapist for one
year from the date of graduation or until he has taken and
received a passing grade of the certification examination,
whichever occurs sooner.

D. An applicant who fails to successfully pass the
examination within one year after graduation may practice
occupational therapy under the supervision of a licensed
occupational therapist until successful completion of the
certification examination and the filing of the required
application, credentials, and fee.

E. An applicant who does not qualify by education for the
NBCOT Certification Examination and who does not hold a
valid certificate from the NBCOT but who is currently
practicing occupational therapy may submit, for review and
recommendation of the advisory board and the approval by
the board, evidence of his education, training, and experience
along with a request to take the examination for licensure as
an occupational therapist in Virginia.  A person who does not
take the certification examination may continue to practice
occupational therapy under the supervision of an occupational
therapist.

18 VAC 85-80-60.  Practice requirements.

[ An applicant who has ] met educational and examination
requirements but who has not practiced occupational therapy
for a period of six years shall serve a board approved practice
of 160 hours which is to be completed in two consecutive
months been practicing occupational therapy in another
jurisdiction and has met the requirements for licensure in
Virginia shall provide evidence that he has engaged in the

active practice of  occupational therapy as defined in 18 VAC
85-80-10 for a period of two years immediately preceding
submission of his application.  If the applicant has not
engaged in active practice as defined in 18 VAC 85-80-10, he
shall serve a board-approved practice of 160 hours, which is
to be completed within 60 consecutive days, under the
supervision of a licensed occupational therapist.

18 VAC 85-80-70.  Biennial renewal of licensure.

A. An occupational therapist shall renew his licensure
biennially during his birth month in each even-numbered year
by:

1. Paying to the board the renewal fee prescribed in
18 VAC 85-80-120;  and

2. Indicating whether or not that he has been
professionally engaged in the active practice of
occupational therapy as defined in 18 VAC 85-80-10 for at
least 160 hours during each biennial renewal cycle.

B. An occupational therapist whose licensure has not been
renewed by the first day of the month following the month in
which renewal is required shall be dropped from the licensure
roll. C. pay an additional late fee to cover administrative costs
for processing a late application shall be imposed by the
board as prescribed in 18 VAC 85-80-120.

18 VAC 85-80-80.  Reinstatement.

A. An occupational therapist who allows his licensure to
lapse for a period of two years or more and chooses to
resume his practice shall make a new application to the
board, shall serve a board-approved practice of 160 hours
which is to be completed in two consecutive months under the
supervision of a licensed occupational therapist, and payment
of shall pay the fee for reinstatement of his licensure as
prescribed in 18 VAC 85-80-120.

B. An occupational therapist who has allowed his licensure
to lapse for six years or more and who has been
professionally inactive shall serve a board-approved practice
of 160 hours to be completed in two consecutive months
under the supervision of a licensed occupational therapist.

C. B. An occupational therapist whose licensure has been
revoked by the board and who wishes to be reinstated shall
make a new application to the board and payment of the fee
for reinstatement of his certification licensure as prescribed in
18 VAC 85-80-120 pursuant to § 54.1-2921 of the Code of
Virginia.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 85-80-10
et seq., Regulations Governing the Licensure of Occupational
Therapists, are listed below.  Any amended or added forms
are reflected in the listing and are published following the
listing.

FORMS

Instructions for Completing an Occupational Therapist
Application (rev. 7/98 2/99).

Application for a License to Practice Occupational Therapy
(rev. 7/98 2/99).
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Form #A, Claims History Sheet (rev. 7/98).

Form #B, Activity Questionnaire (rev. 7/98).

Form #C, Clearance from Other State Boards (rev. 7/98).

Form #L, Certificate of Professional Education (rev. 2/99).

Report of Supervised Practice (rev. 8/99).

Verification of Certification Request Form (NBCOT) (rev. 3/98
1999).

Renewal Notice and Application (rev. 7/97).
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BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL
COUNSELORS, MARRIAGE AND FAMILY
THERAPISTS AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE

TREATMENT PROFESSIONALS

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 115-30-10 et seq.  Regulations
Governing the Certification of Substance Abuse
Counselors (amending 18 VAC 115-30-10, 18 VAC 115-30-
30, 18 VAC 115-30-40, 18 VAC 115-30-60, 18 VAC 115-30-
70, 18 VAC 115-30-90, 18 VAC 115-30-110, 18 VAC 115-30-
120, 18 VAC 115-30-140, 18 VAC 115-30-150, and 18 VAC
115-30-160; adding 18 VAC 115-30-45; repealing 18 VAC
115-30-20, 18 VAC 115-30-80, 18 VAC 115-30-100, and
18 VAC 115-30-130).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-103 and 54.1-2400 and Chapter
35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 19, 2000.

Summary:

The amendments provide for certification by
endorsement for individuals who hold national
certifications in substance abuse counseling obtained by
substantially equivalent requirements to those in the
board’s regulations.  The board changed the current
requirement for supervisors to have both national
certification and two years of experience as a Virginia
certified substance abuse counselor to allow individuals
meeting either criterion to act as supervisors.  To reduce
the burden of the supervision requirement on applicants,
the board will accept group supervision hours as
equivalent to individual supervision hours, for up to half of
the total supervised hours, and changed the face-to-face
hour requirement from two hours per week to an average
of two hours per week.  A new licensure title is added to
the list of acceptable supervisors.  To reduce the financial
burden on individuals who wish to renew a certification
which has lapsed for more than four years, the board
adopted a reapplication alternative to the current
cumulative renewal and penalty fee requirement.  An
amendment to the dual relationship prohibition in the
standards of practice to specify that sexual relationships
with a client are strictly prohibited for five years following
the cessation of services is adopted.  The board also
reformatted the regulations, eliminating obsolete and
unnecessary language and adding new language where
needed to clarify requirements.

While the review process for the amendments under
Executive Order 15 (94) was in progress, the board’s
Regulatory Committee worked on identifying areas of its
regulations that are inconsistent to prepare for a new
regulatory review in 2000.  When the committee
compared the proposed regulations with its review
materials, it was noted that it was recommending that the
language in subsection A of 18 VAC 115-30-140 (not
including subdivisions 1 and 2), and the language in
subdivision B 1 of that section be consistent among all of
its rules.  Because of this recommendation, the board
agreed not to change the language in 18 VAC 115-30-
140 A or B 1 as proposed.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response:  A
summary of comments made by the public and the agency’s
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Janet Delorme, Department of Health Professions, 6606
West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-9575.

18 VAC 115-30-10.  Definitions.

A.  The following words and terms when used in this
chapter shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-
3500 of the Code of Virginia:

“Board”

“Certified substance abuse counselor”

B.  The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, shall have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

"Applicant" means an individual who has submitted a
completed application with documentation and the
appropriate fees to be examined for certification as a
substance abuse counselor.

"Appropriately credentialed authority" means an entity
licensed by an agency of the Commonwealth to render the
services of substance abuse counselors.

"Board" means the Virginia Board for Professional
Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists and Substance
Abuse Professionals.

"Candidate" means a person who has been approved to
take the examinations for certification as a substance abuse
counselor.

"Certified substance abuse counselor" means a person
certified to provide substance abuse counseling in a
state-approved public or private substance abuse program or
facility.

"Competency area" means an area in which a person
possesses knowledge and skill and the ability to apply them in
the clinical setting.

"Didactic" means teaching-learning methods which impart
facts and information, usually in the form of one-way
communication (includes directed readings and lectures).

“Group supervision” means the process of clinical
supervision of no more than six persons in a group setting
provided by a qualified supervisor.

"Substance abuse counseling" means applying a
counseling process, treatment strategies and rehabilitative
services to help an individual to:

1. Understand his substance use, abuse or dependency;
and

2. Change his drug-taking behavior so that it does not
interfere with effective physical, psychological, social or
vocational functioning.
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"Clinical supervision" means the ongoing process
performed by a clinical supervisor who monitors the
performance of the person supervised and provides regular,
documented face-to-face consultation, guidance and
education with respect to the clinical skills and competencies
of the person supervised.

"Clinical supervisor" means one who provides case-related
supervision, consultation, education and guidance for the
applicant.  The supervisor must be credentialed as defined in
18 VAC 115-30-40 C and 18 VAC 115-30-60 D of this
chapter.

18 VAC 115-30-20.  Cross-referencing. (Repealed.)

These regulations are incorporated by reference in 18 VAC
115-20-10 et seq.

18 VAC 115-30-30.  Fees required by the board.

A.  The board has established the following fees applicable
to the certification of substance abuse counselors:

Biennial certification renewal $40
Duplicate certificate $15
Late renewal $10
Replacement of or additional wall certificate $15
Name change $10
Returned check $15

B.  Application, registration of supervision and examination
fees shall be paid directly to the board's contracting agents
according to their requirements.

C.  All fees are nonrefundable.

18 VAC 115-30-40.  Certification, general Prerequisites for
certification by examination.

A. No person shall use the title of "certified substance
abuse counselor" in the Commonwealth of Virginia except as
provided in this chapter.

B. A certified substance abuse counselor is employed to
deliver substance abuse counseling in a state-approved
public or private facility.

C. In every instance there shall be an identifiable
appropriately credentialed individual or authority to provide
supervision.

D. A.  A candidate for certification as a substance abuse
counselor shall meet all the requirements of this chapter,
including passing the examination prescribed in 18 VAC
115-30-90.

E. B.  Every prospective applicant for examination for
certification by the board shall:

1.  Meet the educational and experience requirements
prescribed in 18 VAC 115-30-50 of this chapter and
18 VAC 115-30-60;

2.  Register supervision at least one year before
applying.  The board, in its discretion, may waive this
one-year period for an applicant who has met the work
experience requirements prescribed in 18 VAC
115-30-60;

3.  Meet the experience requirements prescribed in 18
VAC 115-30-60;

4.  Meet the requirements of character and professional
integrity prescribed in 18 VAC 115-30-80; and

5. 2.  Submit the following to the contracting agent within
the time frame established by that agent:

a.  A completed application form;

b.  Documented evidence of having fulfilled the
education, supervision, experience, and references
required in subdivisions 1, 2, 3, and 4 of this
subsection;

c. Reference letters from three health or mental health
care professionals attesting to the applicant's character
and professional integrity; and

b.  Official transcript documenting attainment of a high
school diploma or general educational development
(GED) certificate;

c.  Official transcripts or certificates verifying
completion of the didactic training requirement set forth
in subsection B of 18 VAC 115-30-50;

d.  Verification of supervisor’s education and
experience as required under 18 VAC 115-30-60;

e.  Verification of supervision forms documenting
fulfillment of the experience requirements of 18 VAC
115-30-60;

f.  Documentation of any other professional license or
certificate ever held in another jurisdiction; and

d. g.  Any applicable fees.

F. The board may certify by endorsement an individual who
is currently certified in another state as a substance abuse
counselor and who has been certified in another state through
a similar process with equivalent requirements as described
in this section.

18 VAC 115-30-45.  Prerequisites for certification by
endorsement.

Every applicant for certification by endorsement shall
submit in one package:

1.  A completed application;

2.  The application processing fee;

3.  Verification of all professional licenses or certificates
ever held in any other jurisdiction.  In order to qualify for
endorsement, the applicant shall have no unresolved
action against a license or certificate.  The board will
consider history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case
basis;

4.  Affidavit of having read and understood the
regulations and laws governing the practice of substance
abuse counseling in Virginia; and

5.  Further documentation of one of the following:
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a.  Licensure or certification as a substance abuse
counselor in another jurisdiction in good standing
obtained by standards substantially equivalent to the
education and experience requirements set forth in this
chapter as verified by a certified copy of the original
application submitted directly from the out-of-state
licensing agency, or a copy of the regulations in effect
at the time of initial licensure or certification and
verification of a passing score on a licensure
examination in the jurisdiction in which licensure or
certification was obtained; or

b.  Verification of a current board-recognized national
certification in substance abuse counseling in good
standing obtained by standards substantially
equivalent to those set forth in this chapter.

18 VAC 115-30-60.  Experience requirements.

A.  Registration.  Supervision obtained without prior board
approval will not be accepted if it does not meet the
requirements set forth in subsections B and C of this section.
Individuals who wish to register supervision for board
approval prior to obtaining the supervised experience shall
submit in one package:

1.  A supervisory contract;

2.  Verification of the supervisor’s education and
experience as required under subsection C of this
section;

3.  Official transcripts documenting completion of a high
school diploma or general education development
certificate; and

4.  The registration fee.

B.  Experience requirements.

A. 1.  An applicant for certification as a substance abuse
counselor shall have had 2,000 hours of supervised
experience in the delivery of clinical substance abuse
counseling services.

B. The work experience shall be supervised by a
board-approved licensed professional or certified substance
abuse counselor.  In every instance there shall be an
identifiable appropriately credentialed individual or authority to
provide supervision.

C. 2.  The supervised experience shall include at least an
average of two hours per week of face-to-face
consultation between the supervisor and the applicant to
total 100 hours within the required experience.  No more
than half of these hours may be satisfied with group
supervision.  One hour of group supervision will be
deemed equivalent to one hour of face-to-face
supervision.

D. Supervision shall be provided under this section
according to the following requirements:

1. The supervision contract shall be completed and
signed by the applicant and the supervisor;

2. The supervisor shall assume responsibility for the
professional activities of the applicant;

3. The supervisor shall not provide supervision for
activities for which the prospective applicant has not had
appropriate education;

4. The supervisor shall provide supervision only for those
substance abuse counseling services which he is
qualified to render;

5. Group supervision involving up to six members in a
group will be acceptable for one hour of the two hours
per week of supervision required in subsection C of this
section, substituting on the basis of two hours of group
supervision equaling one hour of individual supervision.
In no case shall a person receiving supervision receive
less than one hour of face-to-face individual supervision
per week;

6. Supervision must be provided by a professional who
has had specialized training or experience in substance
abuse counseling or a certified substance abuse
counselor approved by the board;

C.  Supervisory requirements.

7. 1.  A board-approved supervisor shall:

a.  Be a licensed professional counselor, licensed
clinical psychologist, licensed psychologist, licensed
clinical social worker, medical doctor, or registered
nurse with a board-recognized national certification in
substance abuse counseling obtained by standards
substantially equivalent to those set forth in this
chapter, or a minimum of one year experience in
substance abuse counseling and at least 100 hours of
didactic training covering the areas outlined in 18 VAC
115-30-50 B 1 a through f; or

b.  Be a licensed substance abuse treatment
practitioner; or

b. c. Be a substance abuse counselor certified by the
board Virginia Board of Licensed Professional
Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists and
Substance Abuse Treatment Professionals who has:

(1) Board-recognized national certification in
substance abuse counseling obtained by standards
substantially equivalent to those set forth in this
chapter ; [ and ] or

(2) Two years experience as a Virginia board-
certified substance abuse counselor [ ; . ]

2.  Supervisors shall assume responsibility for the
professional activities of the prospective applicants under
their supervision.

3.  Supervisors shall not provide supervision for activities
for which prospective applicants have not had
appropriate education.

4.  Supervisors shall provide supervision only for those
substance abuse counseling services which they are
qualified to render.

8. 5.  At the time of formal application for certification, the
board-approved supervisor shall document the
applicant's total hours of supervision, length of work
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experience, competence in substance abuse counseling
and any needs for additional supervision or training;.

9. 6.  Supervision by any individual whose relationship to
the supervisee compromises the objectivity of the
supervisor is prohibited; and.

10. 7.  The applicant shall keep the board's contracting
agent informed of his current supervisor's license or
certificate number, business address, and phone
number.  The board's contracting agent shall be informed
within 30 days of any changes in the applicant's
supervision.

18 VAC 115-30-70.  Documentation of supervision.

Applicants must document successful completion of their
supervised experience on appropriate forms the Verification
of Supervision Form at the time of application.  Supervised
experience obtained prior to May 8, 1991 [ [insert effective
date of this chapter] January 19, 2000 ] , may be accepted
toward certification if this supervised experience met the
board's requirements which were in effect at the time the
supervision was rendered.

18 VAC 115-30-80.  Character and professional integrity.
(Repealed.)

If the applicant has been under treatment for substance
abuse within the last four years, the applicant shall provide a
written statement from the certified or licensed individual
responsible for the treatment.  The written statement shall
address the capability of the applicant to assume the
responsibilities of a certified substance abuse counselor.

18 VAC 115-30-90.  General examination requirements.

A.  Every applicant for certification as a substance abuse
counselor by examination shall take pass a written
examination approved by the board and achieve a passing
score as defined by the board.  The board shall determine the
passing score on the examination.

B. A written examination will be given at least once each
year.  The board may schedule such additional examinations
as it deems necessary.

B.  Every applicant for [ licensure certification ] by
endorsement shall have passed an examination deemed by
the board to be substantially equivalent to the Virginia
examination.

1. C.  The contracting agent shall notify all applicants in
writing of the time and place of the examination for which they
have been approved to sit.

2. D.  The contracting agent will notify all applicants in
writing of their success or failure on any examination.

18 VAC 115-30-100.  Written examination. (Repealed.)

The written examination shall consist of objective,
multiple-choice, or essay questions.

18 VAC 115-30-110.  Biennial renewal of certificate.

A.  Every certificate issued by the board shall expire on
June 30 of each odd-numbered year.

1. B.  Along with the renewal application, the certified
substance abuse counselor shall submit the renewal fee
prescribed in 18 VAC 115-30-30.

2. C.  Certified individuals shall notify the board of change
of address within 60 days.  Failure to receive a renewal notice
and application forms shall not excuse the certified substance
abuse counselor from the renewal requirement.

18 VAC 115-30-120.  Reinstatement.

A.  A person whose certificate has expired may renew it
within four years after its expiration date by paying the penalty
fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-30-30 and the certification fee
prescribed for each biennium the certificate was not renewed.

B.  A person who fails to renew a certificate for four years
or more shall: reapply according to the requirements set forth
in 18 VAC 115-30-40 or 18 VAC 115-30-45.

1. Pay the late renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC
115-30-30 and the certification fee prescribed for each
biennium the certificate was not renewed;

2. Provide evidence satisfactory to the board of current
ability to practice as evidenced by:

a. Continuous practice of substance abuse counseling
during the preceding two years and completion of 20
hours of continuing education in substance abuse
counseling per year for the preceding two years; or

b. Completing at least 40 hours of substance abuse
education in the preceding 12 months.

18 VAC 115-30-130.  Legal name change. (Repealed.)

A certified substance abuse counselor whose name is
changed by marriage or court order may:

1. Notify the board of such change and provide a copy of
the legal paper documenting the change;

2. Pay the "name change" fee prescribed in 18 VAC
115-30-30; and

3. Request and obtain from the board a new certificate
bearing the individual's new legal name and pay the fee
prescribed in 18 VAC 115-30-30.

18 VAC 115-30-140.  Standards of practice.

[ A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare
and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide
in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all
persons whose activities are regulated by the board. ]

1. A certified substance abuse counselor is employed to
deliver substance abuse counseling in a state-approved
public or private facility.

2. In every instance there shall be an identifiable
individual or authority that is appropriately credentialed to
provide supervision.

[ B. ] Persons certified by the board shall:

1.  Practice in a manner that [ is in the best interest of the
public and ] does not endanger the public health, safety,
or welfare;.
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2.  Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as
necessary for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes;.

3.  Practice only within the competency area for which
they are qualified by training or experience;.

4.  Report to the board known or suspected violations of
the laws and regulations governing the practice of
certified substance abuse counselors;.

5.  Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or
other forms of remuneration for referral of clients for
professional services;.

6. Keep confidential their counseling relationships with
clients, except: (i) when the client is a danger to self or
others; and (ii) when the counselor is under court order to
disclose information;

7. 6.  Disclose counseling records to others only with
written consent of the client; and in accordance with the
requirements of state and federal statutes and
regulations, including, but not limited to §§ 32.1-127.1:03
(Patient Health Records Privacy Act), 2.1-342 B 3
(Virginia Freedom of Information Act), and 54.1-2400.1
(Mental Health Service Providers; Duty to Protect Third
Parties; Immunity) of the Code of Virginia; 42 USC §
290dd-2 (Confidentiality of Drug and Alcohol Treatment
Records); and 42 CFR Part 2 (Alcohol and Drug Abuse
Patient Records and Regulations).

8. 7.  Not engage in dual relationships with clients, former
clients, supervisees and supervisors that are harmful to
the client's, former client's, or supervisee's well being, or
which would impair the substance abuse counselor's or
supervisor's objectivity and professional judgment, or
increase the risk of client or supervisee exploitation.  This
prohibition includes, but is not limited to, such activities
as counseling close friends, former sexual partners,
employees or relatives; or engaging in sexual intimacies
business relationships with clients, supervisees, or
supervisors.

Engaging in sexual intimacies with current clients or
supervisees is strictly prohibited.  For at least five years
after cessation or termination of professional services,
certified substance abuse counselors shall not engage in
sexual intimacies with a client or those included in
collateral therapeutic services.  Since sexual or romantic
relationships are potentially exploitative, certified
substance abuse counselors shall bear the burden of
demonstrating that there has been no exploitation.  A
client’s consent to, initiation of or participation in sexual
behavior or involvement with a certified substance abuse
counselor does not change the nature of the conduct nor
lift the regulatory prohibition.

8.  Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of
obligations, responsibilities and loyalties to third parties.

18 VAC 115-30-150.  Grounds for revocation, suspension,
probation, reprimand, censure or denial of renewal of
certificate; petition for rehearing.

A.  In accordance with § 54.1-2400(7) of the Code of
Virginia, the board may revoke, suspend or decline to renew a
certificate based upon the following conduct [ ; : ]

1.  Conviction of a felony or of a misdemeanor involving
moral turpitude;, or violation of or aid to another in
violating any provision of Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et
seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any other
statute applicable to the practice of substance abuse
counseling, or any provision of this chapter;

2.  Procuring a certificate by fraud or misrepresentation;

3.  Conducting one's practice in such a manner so as to
make it a danger to the health and welfare of one's
clients or to the public; or if one is unable to practice
substance abuse counseling with reasonable skill and
safety to clients by reason of illness, abusive use of
alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or any other type of
material or as a result of any mental or physical
condition;

4.  Negligence in professional conduct or
nonconformance with the standards of practice outlined
in 18 VAC 115-30-140 of this chapter; or

5.  Performance of functions outside the board-certified
area of competency; .

6. Violation of or aid to another in violating any provision
of Chapter 35 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any
other statute applicable to the practice of the profession
regulated, or any provision of this chapter.

B.  Petition for rehearing.  A petition may be made to the
board for a rehearing upon good cause shown or as a result
of substantial new evidence having been obtained which
would alter the determination reached in subsection A of this
section.

18 VAC 115-30-160.  Reinstatement following disciplinary
action.

A.  Any person whose certificate has been revoked or
denied renewal by the board under the provisions of 18 VAC
115-30-150 of this chapter must may, two years subsequent
to such board action, submit a new application for
certification.

B.  The board in its discretion may, after a hearing, grant
the reinstatement sought in subsection A of this section.

C. The applicant for such reinstatement, if approved, shall
be certified upon payment of the appropriate fees applicable
at the time of reinstatement.

NOTICE: The forms used in administering 18 VAC 115-30-10
et seq., Regulations Governing the Certification of Substance
Abuse Counselors, are listed below.  Any amended or added
forms are reflected in the listing and are published following
the listing.
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FORMS

[ Application for Certification as a Substance Abuse
Counselor (rev. 8/99). ]

Substance Abuse Counselor Verification of Supervision, rev.
8/99.

Renewal Notice and Application, C-45128 (rev. 8/97).
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* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 115-50-10 et seq.  Regulations
Governing the Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy
(amending 18 VAC 115-50-10, 18 VAC 115-50-30, 18 VAC
115-50-40, 18 VAC 115-50-50, 18 VAC 115-50-60, 18 VAC
115-50-70, and 18 VAC 115-50-90; adding 18 VAC 115-50-
55; repealing 18 VAC 115-50-80).

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-
3500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 19, 2000.

Summary:

The amendments make it possible for individuals to
obtain some of the requirement coursework outside of
their degree program.  These amendments were adopted
in response to a petition for rulemaking from students
who maintained that the current regulations
disenfranchised graduates of all but one graduate
program in Virginia.  The board also adopted
amendments to the supervisory requirements to ensure
the continued availability of supervisors for individuals
who wish to obtain post-graduate training for this license.
In compliance with the statutory requirement that the
board establish experience hour requirements consistent
with the requirements for professional counselor
licensure, the board has included a provision to accept
group supervision hours as equivalent to individual hours,
raising the face-to-face client contact hours during the
residency from 1,000 to 2,000, and accepting 600
internship hours toward the residency, which is
equivalent to recently adopted amendments for the
regulations governing professional counselor licensure.

The board adopted a change to the proposed regulation
to clarify that CACREP-accredited programs must be in
the category of marriage and family counseling/therapy to
be automatically accepted as meeting the program
requirements in the regulation.  The board also
restructured the sentence to ensure that the meaning
conforms with the degree requirement.  The board added
a new form to help endorsement applicants document the
hours of supervision received in another jurisdiction.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response:  A
summary of comments made by the public and the agency’s
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Janet Delorme, Department of Health Professions, 6606
West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-9575.

18 VAC 115-50-10.  Definitions.

A.  The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, shall have the meaning ascribed to them in §
54.1-3500 of the Code of Virginia:  (i) "board," (ii) "marriage
and family therapy," (iii) "marriage and family therapist," and
(iv) "practice of marriage and family therapy."

B.  The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, shall have the following meanings unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

"AAMFT" means the American Association for Marriage
and Family Therapy, or an organization deemed substantially
equivalent by the board.

“CACREP” means the Council for Accreditation of
Counseling and Related Education Programs.

“COAMFTE” means the Commission on Accreditation for
Marriage and Family Therapy Education.

"Internship" means a supervised, planned, practical,
advanced experience of at least one year, involving direct
client contact with individuals, couples and families in a
obtained in the clinical setting in which the advanced student
will observe, diagnose and treat, through the application of
observing and applying the principles, methods and
techniques learned in training or educational settings.

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional
accreditation agencies recognized by the United States
Secretary of Education as responsible for accrediting senior
post-secondary institutions and training programs.

“Residency” means a post-internship, supervised clinical
experience registered with the board.

"Resident" means an individual who has submitted a
supervisory contract to the board and has received board
approval to provide clinical services in marriage and family
therapy under supervision.

"Supervision" means an ongoing process in which a
practitioner qualified to supervise in the discipline of marriage
and family therapy performed by a supervisor who monitors
the performance of the person supervised and provides
regular, documented, face-to-face guidance, and instruction
and evaluation of with respect to the clinical skills and
competencies of the person or persons being supervised.

18 VAC 115-50-30.  Application for licensure by
examination.

Every applicant for examination for licensure by the board
shall:

1.  Meet the education and experience requirements
prescribed in 18 VAC 115-50-50, 18 VAC 115-50-55 and
18 VAC 115-50-60.

2.  Submit to the board office in one package, the
following items, not less than 90 days prior to the date of
the examination:

a.  A completed application;

b.  The application fee prescribed in 18 VAC
115-50-20;

c.  Documentation, on the appropriate forms, of the
successful completion of the supervised experience
residency requirements of 18 VAC 115-50-60 along
with documentation of the supervisor's out-of-state
license where applicable;
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d.  Official transcript or transcripts in the original sealed
envelope with the registrar's signature across the
sealed envelope flap submitted from the appropriate
institutions of higher education directly to the applicant,
verifying satisfactory completion of the education
requirements set forth in 18 VAC 115-50-50 and 18
VAC 115-50-55.  Previously submitted transcripts for
registration of supervision do not have to be
resubmitted; and

e.  Verification on a board-approved form that any
out-of-state license, certification or registration is in
good standing.

18 VAC 115-50-40.  Application for licensure by
endorsement.

Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall submit
in one package:

1.  A completed application;

2.  The application fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-50-20;
and

3.  Documentation of licensure as follows:

a.  Documentation of a current marriage and family
therapy license in good standing obtained by
standards substantially equivalent to those outlined in
18 VAC 115-50-50, 18 VAC 115-50-55, 18 VAC
115-50-60 and 18 VAC 115-50-70 as verified by the
out-of-state licensing agency on a board-approved
form a current official transcript and certified copy of
the original application materials; or

b.  If currently holding an unrestricted license as a
professional counselor in Virginia, documentation of
successful completion of the requirements set forth in
18 VAC 115-50-50, 18 VAC 115-50-55 and 18 VAC
115-50-60; or.

c.  Prior to July 9, 1998, documentation of having met
the requirements set forth in 18 VAC 115-50-80.

18 VAC 115-50-50.  Education requirements for licensure
examination. Degree program requirements.

A.  The applicant shall have completed 60 semester hours
or 90 quarter hours of graduate study in marriage and family
therapy a graduate degree from a program that prepares
individuals to practice marriage and family therapy or a
discipline related to the practice of marriage and family
therapy as defined in § 54.1-3500 of the Code of Virginia from
a regionally accredited college or university, or a post-degree
training institute accredited by the Commission on
Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education, to
include a graduate degree in marriage and family therapy or a
related discipline which is accredited by a regional accrediting
agency and which meets the following criteria:

1.  Was accredited by the Commission on Accreditation
for Marriage and Family Therapy Education prior to the
applicant's graduation from the program; or

1.  There must be a sequence of academic study with the
expressed intent to prepare students to practice marriage
and family therapy as documented by the institution;

2.  There must be an identifiable marriage and family
therapy training faculty and an identifiable body of
students who complete that sequence of academic study;
and

3.  The academic unit must have clear authority and
primary responsibility for the core and specialty areas.

B.  Programs that are approved by CACREP [ as programs
in marriage and family counseling/therapy ] or [ by ]
COAMFTE are recognized as meeting the definition of a
graduate degree program that prepares individuals to practice
marriage and family therapy or a [ related ] discipline [ related
to the practice of marriage and family therapy ] as defined in
§ 54.1-3500 of the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 115-50-55.  Course work requirements.

2. Consisted of a sequential integrated program A. The
applicant shall have completed 60 semester hours or 90
quarter hours of graduate study in the following core areas
with a minimum of nine six semester hours or 12 nine quarter
hours completed in each of core areas identified in
subdivisions 2a 1 and 2b 2 of this section subsection, and
three semester hours or 4.5 quarter hours in each of the core
areas identified in subdivisions 3 through 6 of this subsection
(suggested courses are listed in parentheses after each core
area):

a. 1.  Marriage and family studies (marital and family
development; family systems theory);

b. 2.  Marriage and family therapy (systemic therapeutic
interventions and application of major theoretical
approaches);

c. 3.  Human development (theories of counseling;
psychotherapy techniques with individuals; human
growth and lifespan development; personality theory;
psychopathology; human sexuality; multicultural issues);

d. 4.  Professional studies (professional identity and
function; ethical and legal issues);

e. 5.  Research (research methods; quantitative methods;
statistics);

f. 6.  Assessment and treatment (appraisal, assessment
and diagnostic procedures); and

g. 7.  Internship (minimum of one year, to include 300
hours of supervised direct client contact with individuals,
couples and families). Supervised internship of 600 hours
to include 240 hours of direct client contact.  Three
hundred of the internship hours and 120 of the direct
client contact hours shall be with couples and families.

B.  If the graduate hours in marriage and family therapy
were begun prior to [ the effective date of this chapter January
19, 2000 ] , the board may accept those hours if they meet
the requirements which were in effect on July 9, 1997.
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18 VAC 115-50-60.  Supervised clinical experience
Residency.

A.  Registration.

1.  Applicants who render counseling services in a
nonexempt setting shall:

a.  With their supervisor, register their supervisory
contract on the appropriate forms for board approval
before starting to practice under supervision;

b.  Have submitted an official transcript documenting a
graduate degree as specified in 18 VAC 115-50-50 to
include completion of the internship requirement
specified in 18 VAC 115-50-55; and

c.  Pay the registration fee.

2.  Applicants in exempt settings may register supervision
with the board to assure acceptability at the time of
application.

A. B.  Residency requirements.

1.  The applicant shall have completed at least two years
of supervised post-graduate degree experience,
representing no fewer than 4,000 hours of supervised
work experience, to include 200 hours of face-to-face
supervision with the supervisor in the practice of
marriage and family therapy.  Residents shall receive a
minimum of one hour of face-to-face supervision for
every 20 hours of supervised work experience.  No more
than 100 hours of the supervision may be acquired
through group supervision, with the group consisting of
no more than six residents.  Two hours One hour of
group supervision shall will be deemed equivalent to one
hour of individual face-to-face supervision.

2.  Of the 4,000 hours stipulated, at least 1,000 2,000
hours must be acquired in direct client contact of which
500 1,000 hours shall be with couples or families or both.

3.  The supervised experience residency shall consist of
practice in the core areas set forth in 18 VAC 115-50-50
18 VAC 115-50-55.

4.  Supervised experience The residency shall begin after
the completion of a master's degree in marriage and
family therapy or a related discipline as set forth in 18
VAC 115-50-50.  However, internship hours completed
by a graduate of a Commission on Accreditation for
Marriage and Family Therapy Education accredited
program as part of the graduate degree may count
toward the 4,000 hours of supervised experience.

5.  A post-master's degree graduate-level internship
completed in a program that meets the requirements of
this subsection set forth in 18 VAC 115-50-50 may count
toward for no more than 600 of the required 4,000 hours
of experience.  However, all 4,000 hours shall be
continuous and integrated and shall, without exception,
be conducted under qualified registered supervision.  The
internship shall include 20 hours of face-to-face on-site
supervision, and 20 hours of face-to-face off-site
supervision.  Internship hours shall not begin until

completion of 30 semester hours toward the graduate
degree.

6.  In order for a graduate level internship to be counted
toward a residency, either the clinical or faculty
supervisor shall be licensed as set forth in subsection C
of this section.

6. 7.  Residents shall not call themselves marriage and
family therapists, solicit clients, bill for services rendered
or in any way represent themselves as marriage and
family therapists.  During the residency, they may use
their names, the initials of their degree and the title
"Resident in Marriage and Family Therapy."  Clients shall
be informed in writing of the resident's status, along with
the name, address and telephone number of the
resident's supervisor.

7. 8.  Residents shall not engage in practice under
supervision in any areas for which they do not have
appropriate education.

8. 9.  Residents who do not become candidates for
licensure after five years of supervised training shall
submit an explanation to the board stating reasons the
residency should be allowed to continue.

B. C.  Supervisory requirements.

1.  Prior to July 9, 2000, any A person who provides
supervision for a resident in marriage and family therapy
shall be licensed as a marriage and family therapist,
professional counselor, clinical psychologist, clinical
social worker or psychiatrist and shall be able to
document on a board-approved form specific training in
the supervision of marriage and family therapy in the
jurisdiction where the supervision is being provided.
Supervisors shall document two years post-licensure
marriage and family therapy experience.

2. After July 9, 2000, all supervision shall be provided by
a licensed marriage and family therapist or a licensed
professional counselor, clinical psychologist, clinical
social worker or psychiatrist who meets the requirements
of 18 VAC 115-50-50 and 18 VAC 115-50-60, and who is
able to document on a board-approved form specific
training in the supervision of marriage and family therapy.

3. 2. Supervision by an individual whose relationship to
the resident is deemed by the board to compromise the
objectivity of the supervisor is prohibited.

4. 3.  The supervisor shall assume full responsibility for
the clinical activities of residents as specified within the
supervisory contract, for the duration of the supervised
experience residency.

C. Registration of supervision.  Individuals registering
supervision with the board shall submit in one package:

1. A completed Registration of Supervision form;

2. The registration fee set forth in 18 VAC 115-50-20; and

3. Official graduate transcript or transcripts in the original
sealed envelope with the registrar's signature across the
sealed envelope flap submitted from the appropriate
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institution of higher education directly to the applicant,
verifying satisfactory completion of the education
requirements set forth in 18 VAC 115-50-50.

18 VAC 115-50-70.  General examination requirements.

A.  All applicants for initial licensure shall pass an
examination, with a passing score as determined by the
board.

B.  The examination shall concentrate on the core areas of
marriage and family therapy set forth in subdivision A 2
subsection A of 18 VAC 115-50-50 18 VAC 115-50-55.

C.  Approved applicants shall sit for the examination within
two years from the initial notification date of approval.  Failure
to do so will result in the revocation of approval and obligate
the applicant to file a new application for examination.

D.  Applicants who fail the examination twice in succession
shall document completion of 45 clock hours of additional
education or training for each area acceptable to the board
addressing the areas of deficiency as reported in the
examination results prior to obtaining board approval for
reexamination.

18 VAC 115-50-80.  Waiver of examination requirement.
(Repealed.)

Prior to July 9, 1998, individuals who can document
meeting the criteria in one of the following categories shall be
licensed without examination:

1. Current and unrestricted professional counselor
license in Virginia along with completion of four of the
seven core coursework requirements outlined in 18 VAC
115-50-50; or

2. Clinical membership in the AAMFT and:

a. A passing grade on the AAMFT examination as
determined by the board; or

b. Ten years continuous practice in marriage and
family therapy along with three letters attesting to
competency to practice from professionals who are
either licensed mental health professionals or AAMFT
supervisors.

18 VAC 115-50-90.  Biennial renewal of license.

A.  All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30
of each odd-numbered year.

A. B.  All licensees who intend to continue to practice shall
on or before the expiration date of the license submit to the
board:

1.  A license renewal application supplied by the board;
and

2.  The renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-50-20.

B. C.  Failure to receive a renewal notice from the board
shall not relieve the license holder from the renewal
requirement.

C. D.  Licensees shall provide the board with official
documentation of a legal name change and written notification
of address changes within 90 days of such change.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 115-50-10
et seq., Regulations Governing the Practice of Marriage and
Family Therapy are not being published due to the large
number; however, the name of each form is listed below.  The
forms are available for public inspection at the Board of
Licensed Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family
Therapists and Substance Abuse Treatment Professionals,
6606 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia, or at
the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly
Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

FORMS

Marriage and Family Therapist Licensure Application,
MFTAPP1, rev. 7/99.

Board of Professional Counselors and Marriage and Family
Therapists Courses Outline Form.

Licensure Verification of Applicant, MFTAPP2, rev. 7/99.

Verification of Supervision for Marriage and Family Therapist
Licensure, MFTAPP3, rev. 7/99.

Quarterly Evaluation Form, MFTAPP 3B, eff. 8/99.

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor, MFTAPP4,
rev. 7/99.

Licensure Verification of Applicant.

Courses Outline Form for Marriage and Family Therapist
Licensure, MFTAPP5, eff. 7/97.

Verification of Internship, MFTAPP6, eff. 8/99.

Verification of Internship Hours Toward the Residency,
MFTAPP7, eff. 8/99.

Registration of Supervision for Marriage and Family Therapist
Licensure, MFTREG1, rev. 8/99.

Supervisor's Experience and Education.

Renewal Notice and Application.

Courses Outline Form.

Renewal Notice and Application, C-45128, rev. 8/97.

[ Supervision Outline Form for Marriage and Family Therapist
Endorsement Applicants, MFTAPP8, eff. 12/99. ]

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-178; Filed December 1, 1999, 11:37 a.m.

* * * * * * * *

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 115-60-10 et seq.  Regulations
Governing the Practice of Licensed Substance Abuse
Treatment Practitioners.

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-
3500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  January 19, 2000.
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Summary:

The regulations set forth the education, experience and
examination requirements for licensure of substance
abuse treatment practitioners, and establish standards of
practice, renewal schedules and fees for licensed
individuals.  In accordance with a statutory requirement,
the requirements for the educational credit hour, clinical
experience hour, and clinical supervision hours are
equivalent to those required for professional counselor
licensure.

An amendment to the proposed regulations corrects an
error which left a gap in the renewal instructions for
individuals whose licenses have lapsed more than one
year but less than four years.  The board adopted an
amendment to conform this regulation to the recently
proposed fee changes for its other licensure categories,
which provide for renewal with a penalty within one year
of expiration, but require reinstatement after the one year
has passed.

The board added a new form to help endorsement
applicants document the hours of supervision received in
another jurisdiction.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response:  A
summary of comments made by the public and the agency’s
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained
from Janet Delorme, Department of Health Professions, 6606
West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717,
telephone (804) 662-9575.

CHAPTER 60.
REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE PRACTICE OF

LICENSED SUBSTANCE ABUSE TREATMENT
PRACTITIONERS.

PART I.
GENERAL PROVISIONS.

18 VAC 115-60-10.  Definitions.

A.  The following words and terms when used in this
chapter shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-
3500 of the Code of Virginia:

“Board”

“Licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner”

“Substance abuse”

“Substance abuse treatment”

B.  The following words and terms when used in this
chapter shall have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

"Applicant" means any individual who has submitted an
official application and paid the application fee for licensure as
a substance abuse treatment practitioner.

"Candidate for licensure" means a person who has
satisfactorily completed all educational and experience

requirements for licensure and has been deemed eligible by
the board to sit for its examinations.

"Competency area" means an area in which a person
possesses knowledge and skill and the ability to apply them in
the clinical setting.

“Exempt setting” means an agency or institution in which
licensure is not required to engage in the practice of
substance abuse treatment according to the conditions set
forth in § 54.1-3501 of the Code of Virginia.

"Group supervision" means the process of clinical
supervision of no more than six persons in a group setting
provided by a qualified supervisor.

"Internship" means supervised, planned, practical,
advanced experience obtained in the clinical setting,
observing and applying the principles, methods and
techniques learned in training or educational settings.

“Jurisdiction” means a state, territory, district, province or
country which has granted a professional certificate or license
to practice a profession, use a professional title, or hold
oneself out as a practitioner of that profession.

“Nonexempt setting” means a setting which does not meet
the conditions of exemption from the requirements of
licensure to engage in the practice of substance abuse
treatment as set forth in § 54.1-3501 of the Code of Virginia.

“Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional
accreditation agencies recognized by the United States
Secretary of Education responsible for accrediting senior
postsecondary institutions.

“Residency” means a post-internship, supervised, clinical
experience registered with the board.

“Resident” means an individual who has submitted a
supervisory contract and has received board approval to
provide clinical services in substance abuse treatment under
supervision.

"Supervision" means the ongoing process performed by a
supervisor who monitors the performance of the person
supervised and provides regular, documented face-to-face
consultation, guidance and instruction with respect to the
clinical skills and competencies of the person supervised.

18 VAC 115-60-20.  Fees required by the board.

A.  The board has established the following fees applicable
to licensure as a substance abuse treatment practitioner:

Registration of supervision (initial) $50
Add/change supervisor $35
Licensure application $100
Annual license renewal $90
Duplicate license $15
Verification of license to another jurisdiction $10
Late renewal $25
Replacement of or additional wall  certificate $15
Returned check $15

B.  Fees shall be paid by check or money order made
payable to the Treasurer of Virginia and forwarded to the
board.  All fees are nonrefundable.
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C.  Examination fees shall be paid directly to the
examination service according to its requirements.

18 VAC 115-60-30.  Sex offender treatment provider
certification.

Anyone licensed by the board who is seeking certification
as a sex offender treatment provider shall adhere to the
Regulations Governing the Certification of Sex Offender
Treatment Providers, 18 VAC 125-30-10 et seq.

PART II.
REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE.

18 VAC 115-60-40.  Application for licensure by
examination.

Every applicant for examination for licensure by the board
shall:

1.  Meet the degree program, course work and
experience requirements prescribed in 18 VAC 115-60-
60, 18 VAC 115-60-70 and 18 VAC 115-60-80; and

2.  Submit the following items to the board office in one
package not less than 90 days prior to the date of the
examination:

a.  A completed application;

b.  Official transcripts documenting the applicant’s
completion of the degree program and course work
requirements prescribed in 18 VAC 115-60-60 and 18
VAC 115-60-70;

c.  Verification of supervision forms documenting
fulfillment of the experience requirements of 18 VAC
115-60-80 and copies of all required evaluation forms;

d.  Documentation of any other professional license or
certificate ever held in another jurisdiction; and

e.  The licensure application fee.

18 VAC 115-60-50.  Prerequisites for licensure by
endorsement.

Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall submit
in one package:

1.  A completed application;

2.  The licensure application fee;

3.  Verification of all professional licenses or certificates
ever held in any other jurisdiction.  In order to qualify for
endorsement, the applicant shall have no unresolved
disciplinary action against a license or certificate.  The
board will consider history of disciplinary action on a
case-by-case basis;

4.  Further documentation of one of the following:

a.  A current substance abuse treatment license in
good standing in another jurisdiction obtained by
meeting requirements substantially equivalent to those
set forth in this chapter; or

b.  A mental health license in good standing in a
category acceptable to the board which required

completion of a master’s degree in mental health to
include 60 graduate semester hours in mental health;
and

(1) Board-recognized national certification in
substance abuse treatment;

(2) If the master’s degree was in substance abuse
treatment, two years of post-licensure experience in
providing substance abuse treatment;

(3) If the master’s degree was not in substance
abuse treatment, five years of post-licensure
experience in substance abuse treatment plus 12
credit hours of didactic training in the substance
abuse treatment competencies set forth in 18 VAC
115-60-70 C; or

(4) Current substance abuse counselor certification
in Virginia in good standing or a Virginia substance
abuse treatment specialty licensure designation with
two years of post-licensure or certification substance
abuse treatment experience;

5.  Verification of a passing score on a licensure
examination as established by the jurisdiction in which
licensure was obtained;

6.  Official transcripts documenting the applicant's
completion of the education requirements prescribed in
18 VAC 115-60-60 and 18 VAC 115-60-70; and

7.  An affidavit of having read and understood the
regulations and laws governing the practice of substance
abuse treatment in Virginia.

18 VAC 115-60-60.  Degree program requirements.

A.  The applicant shall have completed a graduate degree
from a program that prepares individuals to practice
substance abuse treatment or a related counseling discipline
as defined in § 54.1-3500 of the Code of Virginia from a
college or university accredited by a regional accrediting
agency that meets the following criteria:

1.  There must be a sequence of academic study with the
expressed intent to prepare counselors as documented
by the institution;

2.  There must be an identifiable counselor training
faculty and an identifiable body of students who complete
that sequence of academic study; and

3.  The academic unit must have clear authority and
primary responsibility for the core and specialty areas.

B.  Education that does not come from a degree program
meeting the requirements set forth in this section shall not be
acceptable for licensure.

18 VAC 115-60-70.  Course work requirements.

A.  The applicant shall have completed 60 semester hours
or 90 quarter hours of graduate study.

B.  The applicant shall have completed a general core
curriculum containing a minimum of three semester hours or
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4.5 quarter hours in each of the areas identified in this
section:

1.  Professional identity, function and ethics;

2.  Theories of counseling and psychotherapy;

3.  Counseling and psychotherapy techniques;

4.  Group counseling and psychotherapy, theories and
techniques;

5.  Appraisal, evaluation and diagnostic procedures;

6.  Abnormal behavior and psychopathology;

7.  Multicultural counseling, theories and techniques;

8.  Research; and

9.  Marriage and family systems theory.

C.  The applicant shall also have completed 12 graduate
semester credit hours or 18 graduate quarter hours in the
[ following ] substance abuse treatment competencies
[ identified in this subsection ].

1.  Assessment, appraisal, evaluation and diagnosis
specific to substance abuse;

2.  Treatment planning models, client case management,
interventions and treatments to include relapse
prevention, referral process, step models and
documentation process;

3.  Understanding addictions:  The biochemical,
sociocultural and psychological factors of substance use
and abuse;

4.  Addictions and special populations including, but not
limited to, adolescents, women, ethnic groups and the
elderly; and

5.  Client and community education.

D.  The applicant shall have completed a supervised
internship of 600 hours to include 240 hours of direct client
contact.  At least 450 of the internship hours and 200 of the
direct client contact hours shall be in treating substance
abuse-specific treatment problems.

E.  One course may satisfy study in more than one content
area set forth in subsections B and C of this section.

18 VAC 115-60-80.  Residency.

A.  Registration.  Applicants who render substance abuse
treatment services in a nonexempt setting shall:

1.  With their supervisor, register their supervisory
contract on the appropriate forms for board approval
before starting to practice under supervision;

2.  Have submitted an official transcript documenting a
graduate degree as specified in 18 VAC 115-60-60 to
include completion of the internship requirement
specified in 18 VAC 115-60-70; and

3.  Pay the registration fee.

B.  Applicants in exempt settings may register supervision
with the board to assure acceptability at the time of
application.

C.  Residency requirements.

1.  The applicant for licensure shall have completed a
4,000 hour supervised residency in substance abuse
treatment with various populations, clinical problems and
theoretical approaches in the following areas:

a.  Clinical evaluation;

b.  Treatment planning, documentation and
implementation;

c.  Referral and service coordination;

d.  Individual and group counseling and case
management;

e.  Client family and community education; and

f.  Professional and ethical responsibility.

2.  The residency shall include a minimum of 200 hours
of face-to-face sessions between supervisor and resident
occurring at minimum of one hour per 20 hours of work
experience during the period of the residency.  No more
than half of these hours may be satisfied with group
supervision.  One hour of group supervision will be
deemed equivalent to one hour of face-to-face
supervision.  Face-to-face supervision that is not
coincident with a residency will not be accepted, nor will
residency hours accrued in the absence of approved
face-to-face supervision.

3.  The residency shall include at least 2,000 hours of
face-to-face client contact with individuals, families or
groups of individuals suffering from the effects of
substance abuse or dependence.

4.  A graduate level degree internship completed in a
program that meets the requirements set forth in 18 VAC
115-60-70 may count for no more than 600 hours of the
required 4,000 hours of experience.  The internship shall
include 20 hours of face-to-face on-site supervision, and
20 hours of face-to-face off-site supervision.  Internship
hours shall not begin until completion of 30 semester
hours toward the graduate degree.

5.  In order for a graduate level internship to be counted
toward a residency, either the clinical or faculty
supervisor shall be licensed as set forth in subsection D
of this section.

6.  The board may consider special requests in the event
that the regulations create an undue burden in regard to
geography or disability which limits the resident’s access
to qualified supervision.

7.  Residents may not call themselves substance abuse
treatment practitioners, directly bill for services rendered,
or in any way represent themselves as independent,
autonomous practitioners or substance abuse treatment
practitioners.  During the residency, residents shall use
their names and the initials of their degree, and the title
“Resident in Substance Abuse Treatment” in all written
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communications.  Clients shall be informed in writing of
the resident’s status, the supervisor's name, professional
address, and telephone number.

8.  Residents shall not engage in practice under
supervision in any areas for which they have not had
appropriate education.

D.  Supervisory requirements.

[ 1. ] A person who provides supervision for a resident in
substance abuse treatment shall be licensed as a
professional counselor, marriage and family therapist,
substance abuse treatment practitioner, school
psychologist, clinical psychologist, clinical social worker,
clinical nurse specialist or psychiatrist in the jurisdiction
where the supervision is being provided.

[ 2. ]  All supervisors shall document two years post-
licensure substance abuse treatment experience, 100
hours of didactic instruction in substance abuse
treatment, and training or experience in supervision.
Within three years of [ the effective date of this chapter
(insert date) January 19, 2000 ] , supervisors must
document a three-credit-hour course in supervision.

[ 1. 3. ] Supervision by any individual whose relationship
to the resident compromises the objectivity of the
supervisor is prohibited.

[ 2. 4. ] The supervisor of a resident shall assume full
responsibility for the clinical activities of that resident
specified within the supervisory contract for the duration
of the residency.

[ 3. 5. ] The supervisor shall complete evaluation forms to
be given to the resident at the end of each three-month
period.

[ 4. 6. ]  The supervisor shall report the total hours of
residency and shall evaluate the applicant's competency
in the six areas stated in subdivision C 1 of this section.

E.  Documentation of supervision.  Applicants shall
document successful completion of their residency on the
Verification of Supervision form at the time of application.
Applicants must receive a satisfactory competency evaluation
on each item on the evaluation sheet.  Supervised experience
obtained prior to [ the effective date of this chapter (insert
date) January 19, 2000 ] , may be accepted towards licensure
if this supervised experience met the board's requirements
which were in effect at the time the supervision was rendered.

PART III.
EXAMINATIONS.

18 VAC 115-60-90.  General examination requirements;
schedules; time limits.

A.  Every applicant for initial licensure as a substance
abuse treatment practitioner by examination shall pass a
written examination as prescribed by the board.

B.  Every applicant for licensure as a substance abuse
treatment practitioner by endorsement shall have passed an
examination deemed by the board to be substantially
equivalent to the Virginia examination.

C.  The board shall notify all approved candidates in writing
of the time and place of the examination.

D.  A candidate approved by the board to sit for the
examination shall take the examination within two years from
the date of such initial board approval.  If the candidate has
not taken the examination by the end of the two-year period
prescribed in this subsection:

1.  The initial board approval to sit for the examination
shall then become invalid; and

2.  In order to be considered for the examination later, the
applicant shall file a complete new application with the
board.

E.  The board shall establish a passing score on the written
examination.

18 VAC 115-60-100.  Reexamination.

A.  After paying the examination fee, a candidate may be
reexamined within an 18-month period without filing a new
application.

B.  Applicants who fail the examination twice in succession
shall document completion of 45 clock hours of additional
education or training acceptable to the board, addressing the
areas of deficiency as reported in the examination results
prior to obtaining board approval for reexamination.

PART IV.
LICENSURE RENEWAL; REINSTATEMENT.

18 VAC 115-60-110.  Renewal of licensure.

A.  All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30
of each year.

B.  Every license holder who intends to continue to practice
shall submit to the board on or before June 30 of each year:

1.  A completed application for renewal of the license;
and

2.  The renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-60-20.

C.  Licensees shall notify the board of a change of address
within 60 days.  Failure to receive a renewal notice from the
board shall not relieve the license holder from the renewal
requirement.

18 VAC 115-60-120.  Late renewal; reinstatement.

A.  A person whose license has expired may renew it within
one year after its expiration date by paying the penalty fee
prescribed in 18 VAC 115-60-20, as well as the license fee
prescribed for each year  the license was not renewed.

B.  A person who fails to renew a license for [ four years
one year ] or more and wishes to resume practice shall
reapply according to the requirements set forth in 18 VAC
115-60-40 or 18 VAC 115-60-50.
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PART V.
STANDARDS OF PRACTICE; UNPROFESSIONAL

CONDUCT; DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS; REINSTATEMENT.

18 VAC 115-60-130.  Standards of practice.

A.  The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare
and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide
in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all
persons whose activities are regulated by the board.

B.  Persons licensed by the board shall:

1.  Practice in a manner that does not endanger the
public health, safety, or welfare.

2.  Practice only within the competency areas for which
they are qualified by training or experience.

3.  Be aware of competencies of practitioners in other
fields of practice and make referrals for services when
appropriate.

4.  Stay abreast of new developments, concepts and
practices which are important to providing appropriate
professional services.

5.  Terminate a service or consulting relationship when it
is apparent that the client is not benefiting from the
relationship.

6.  Provide to clients only those services which are
related to diagnostic or therapeutic goals.

7.  Not offer services to a client who is receiving services
from other mental health professionals without attempting
to inform such other professionals of the planned
provision of services.

8.  Inform clients fully of the risks and benefits of services
and treatment and obtain informed consent to all such
services and treatment.

9.  Ensure that the welfare of clients is not compromised
by experimentation or research involving those clients
and conform practice involving research or experimental
treatment to the requirements of Chapter 5.1 (§ 32.1-
162.16 et seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia.

10.  Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or
other forms of remuneration for referral of clients for
professional services.

11.  Inform clients of (i) the purposes of an interview,
testing or evaluation session and (ii) the ways in which
information obtained in such sessions will be used before
asking the client to reveal personal information.

12.  Consider the validity, reliability and appropriateness
of assessments selected for use with clients and carefully
interpret the performance of individuals from groups not
represented in standardized norms.

13.  Represent accurately their competence, education,
training and experience.

14.  In connection with practice as a substance abuse
treatment practitioner, represent to the public only those

educational and professional credentials as are related to
such practice.

15.  Not use the title “Doctor” or the abbreviation “Dr.” in
writing or in advertising in connection with practice
without including simultaneously a clarifying title, initials,
abbreviation or designation or language that identifies the
basis for use of the title, such as M.D., Ph.D., D.Min.

16.  Announce professional services fairly and accurately
in a manner which will aid the public in forming their own
informed judgments, opinions and choices and which
avoids fraud and misrepresentation.

17.  Maintain client records securely, inform all
employees of the requirements of confidentiality and
provide for the disposal of records in a manner consistent
with professional requirements.

18.  Disclose client records to others in accordance with
state and federal statutes and regulations including, but
not limited to, §§ 32.1-127.1:03 (Patient Health Records
Privacy Act), 2.1-342 B 3, (Virginia Freedom of
Information Act) and 54.1-2400.1 (Mental Health Service
Providers; Duty to Protect Third Parties; Immunity) of the
Code of Virginia; 42 USC § 290dd-2 (Confidentiality of
Drug and Alcohol Treatment Records); and 42 CFR Part
2 (Alcohol and Drug Abuse Patient Records and
Regulations).

19.  Maintain client records for a minimum of five years
from the date of termination of the substance abuse
treatment relationship, or as otherwise required by
employer, hospital or insurance carrier.

20.  Obtain informed consent from clients before (i)
videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third party
observation, or (iv) using client records and clinical
materials in teaching, writing or public presentations.

21.  Not engage in dual relationships with clients, former
clients, residents, supervisees, and supervisors that
compromise the client's or resident’s well being, impair
the practitioner’s or supervisor's objectivity and
professional judgment or increase the risk of client or
resident exploitation.  This includes, but is not limited to,
such activities as treating close friends, former sexual
partners, employees or relatives, and engaging in
business relationships with clients.

Engaging in sexual intimacies with current clients or
residents is strictly prohibited.  For at least five years
after cessation or termination of professional services,
licensees shall not engage in sexual intimacies with a
therapy client or those included in collateral therapeutic
services.  Since sexual or romantic relationships are
potentially exploitative, licensees shall bear the burden of
demonstrating that there has been no exploitation.  A
patient’s consent to, initiation of or participation in sexual
behavior or involvement with a practitioner does not
change the nature of the conduct nor lift the regulatory
prohibition.

22.  Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties
of  obligations, responsibilities and loyalties to third
parties.
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23.  Report to the board known or suspected violations of
the laws and regulations governing the practice of
licensed or certified  health care practitioners.

18 VAC 115-60-140.  Grounds for revocation, suspension,
probation, reprimand, censure, or denial of renewal of
license.

A.  Action by the board to revoke, suspend or decline to
renew a license may be taken in accord with the following:

1.  Conviction of a felony, of a misdemeanor involving
moral turpitude, or violation of or aid to another in
violating any provision of Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et
seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any other
statute applicable to the practice of substance abuse
treatment , or any provision of this chapter.

2.  Procuring of license by fraud or misrepresentation.

3.  Conducting one's practice in such a manner as to
make it a danger to the health and welfare of one's
clients or to the public, or if one is unable to practice
substance abuse treatment with reasonable skill and
safety to clients by reason of illness, abusive use of
alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or other type of
material or result of any mental or physical condition.

4.  Negligence in professional conduct or
nonconformance with the Standards of Practice (18 VAC
115-60-130).

5.  Performance of functions outside the demonstrable
areas of competency.

B.  Petition for rehearing.  Following the revocation or
suspension of a license the licensee may petition the board
for rehearing upon good cause shown or as a result of
substantial new evidence having been obtained that would
alter the determination reached.

18 VAC 115-60-150.  Reinstatement following disciplinary
action.

A.  Any person whose license has been revoked or denied
renewal by the board under the provisions of 18 VAC 115-60-
140 may, two years subsequent to such board action, submit
a new application to the board for licensure.

B.  The board in its discretion may, after a hearing, grant
the reinstatement sought in subsection A of this section.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 115-60-10
et seq., Regulations Governing the Practice of Licensed
Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners are not being
published due to the large number; however, the name of
each form is listed below.  The forms are available for public
inspection at the Board of Licensed Professional Counselors,
Marriage and Family Therapists and Substance Abuse
Treatment Professionals, 6606 West Broad Street, 4th Floor,
Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad
Streets, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

FORMS

Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioner Licensure
Application, SATPAPP 1 (eff. 8/99).

Licensure Verification of Applicant, SATPAPP 2 (eff. 8/99).

Verification of Supervision for Substance Abuse Treatment
Practitioner License, SATPAPP 3 (eff. 8/99).

Supervisor’s Experience and Education, SATPAPP 3A (eff.
8/99).

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor, SATPAPP 4
(eff. 8/99).

Courses Outline Form for Substance Abuse Treatment
Practitioner Licensure, SATPAPP 5 (eff. 8/99).

Verification of Internship, SATPAPP 6  (eff. 8/99).

Verification of Internship Hours Toward the Residency,
SATPAPP 7 (eff. 8/99).

Registration of Supervision for Substance Abuse Treatment
Practitioner Licensure, SATPREG A (eff. 8/99).

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor, SATPREG
B (eff. 8/99).

Quarterly Evaluation Form, SATPREG C  (eff. 8/99).

[ Supervision Outline Form for Substance Abuse Treatment
Practitioner Endorsement Applicants, SATPAPP8 (eff. 12/99).

Renewal Notice and Application, C-45128 (rev. 7/97). ]

VA.R. Doc. No. R98-97; Filed December 1, 1999, 11:38 a.m.
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EMERGENCY REGULATIONS

TITLE 12.  HEALTH

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH

Title of Regulation:  12 VAC 5-371-10 et seq.  Regulations
for the Licensure of Nursing Facilities (amending 12 VAC
5-371-40).

12 VAC 5-410-10 et seq.  Rules and Regulations for the
Licensure of Hospitals in Virginia (amending 12 VAC 5-
410-70).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-102.2 of the Code of
Virginia.

Effective Dates:  December 31, 1999, through December 30,
2000.

Preamble:

This emergency action is a result of Virginia statutory law
which requires that these regulatory changes be effective
280 days from enactment of the law, which occurred on
March 29, 1999.  Section 32.1-102.2 of the Code of
Virginia requires the State Health Commissioner to
condition the initial or renewal of a hospital or nursing
home license on whether the applicant has complied with
any agreement to provide a level of care at a reduced
rate to indigents or accept patients requiring specialized
care as a result of the granting of a Certificate of Public
Need.  Specifically, the proposed changes affect 12 VAC
5-371-40 (nursing facilities) and 12 VAC 5-410-70
(hospitals) respectively.

CHAPTER 371.
REGULATIONS FOR THE LICENSURE OF NURSING

FACILITIES.

12 VAC 5-371-40. Licensing process.

A. Upon request, the center will provide consultation to any
person seeking information about obtaining a license. The
purpose of such consultation is to:

1. Explain the standards and the licensing process;

2. Provide assistance in locating other sources of
information;

3. Review the potential applicant's proposed program
plans, forms, and other documents, as they relate to
standards; and

4. Alert the potential applicant regarding the need to meet
other state and local ordinances, such as fire and
building codes and environmental health standards,
where applicable.

B. Upon request, the center will provide an application form
for a license to operate a nursing facility.

C. The center shall consider the application complete when
all requested information and the application fee is submitted
with the form required. If the center finds the application
incomplete, the applicant will be notified of receipt of the
incomplete application.

D. The applicant shall complete and submit the initial
application to the center at least 30 days prior to a planned
opening date to allow the center time to act on the application.
An application for a license may be withdrawn at any time.

E. Application for initial license of a nursing facility shall
include a statement of any agreement made with the
commissioner as a condition for Certificate of Public Need
approval to provide a level of care at a reduced rate to
indigents or accept patients requiring specialized care.

The initial license issued to any nursing facility that made
such agreement as a condition of its Certification of Public
Need approval shall not be renewed without demonstrating
prior to or at the time of applying for renewal that it is
substantially complying with its agreement.

F. The renewal of a nursing facility license shall be
conditioned upon the up-to-date payment of any civil penalties
owed as a result of willful refusal, failure, or neglect to honor
certain conditions established in their award of a Certificate of
Public Need pursuant to § 32.1-102.4 F of the Code of
Virginia.

E. G. Prior to changes in operation which would affect the
terms of the license, the licensee must secure a modification
to the terms of the license from the center.

F. H. Requests to modify a license must be submitted in
writing, 30 working days in advance of any proposed
changes, to the Director of the Center for Quality Health Care
Services and Consumer Protection.

G. I. The license shall be returned to the center following a
correction or reissuance when there has been a change in:

1. Address;

2. Operator;

3. Name; or

4. Bed capacity.

H. J. The center will evaluate written information about any
planned changes in operation which would affect either the
terms of the license or the continuing eligibility for a license. A
licensing representative may visit the facility during the
process of evaluating a proposed modification.

I. K. If a modification can be granted, the center shall
respond in writing with a modified license. In the event a new
application is needed, the licensee will receive written
notification. When the modification cannot be granted, the
licensee shall be advised by letter.

J. L. The department shall send an application for renewal
of the license to the licensee prior to the expiration date of the
current license.

K. M. The licensee shall submit the completed renewal
application form along with any required attachments and the
application fee by the date indicated in the cover letter.

L. N. It is the licensee's responsibility to complete and
return the application to assure timely processing. Should a
current license expire before a new license is issued, the
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current license shall remain in effect provided the complete
and accurate application was filed on time.

CHAPTER 410.
RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR THE LICENSURE OF

HOSPITALS IN VIRGINIA.

12 VAC 5-410-70. Request for issuance.

A. Hospital licenses shall be issued by the commissioner,
but all requests for licensing shall be submitted initially to the
office. The procedure for obtaining the license shall include
the following steps:

1. Request for application forms shall be made in writing
to the office;

2. Application for license or license renewal to establish
or maintain a hospital shall be made and submitted to the
office;

3. All categories of inpatient beds shall be included on
the hospital application for licensure in order for the
licensing agency to have an accurate and complete
record of the total bed capacity of the facility;

4. Application for initial license, change in license, or
license renewal shall be accompanied by a check or
money order for the service charge, payable to the
licensing agency; and

5. Application for initial license of a hospital or for
additions to an existing licensed hospital must be
accompanied by evidence of approval from a
representative of the State Fire Marshal and a copy of
the occupancy permit issued by the local building official.;
and

6. Application for initial license of a hospital shall include
a statement of any agreement made with the
commissioner as a condition for Certificate of Public
Need approval to provide a level of care at a reduced
rate to indigents or accept patients requiring specialized
care.

The initial license issued to any hospital that made such
agreement as a condition of its Certification of Public
Need approval shall not be renewed without
demonstrating prior to or at the time of applying for
license renewal that it is substantially complying with its
agreement.

B. The renewal of a facility license shall be conditioned
upon the up-to-date payment of any civil penalties owed as a
result of willful refusal, failure, or neglect to honor certain
conditions established in their award of a Certificate of Public
Need pursuant to § 32.1-102.4 F of the Code of Virginia.

/s/ E. Anne Peterson, M.D., M.P.H.
State Health Commissioner
Date:  September 24, 1999

/s/ Claude A. Allen
Secretary of Health and Human Resources
Date:  November 10, 1999

/s/ James S. Gilmore, III
Governor
Date:  November 22, 1999

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-64; Filed December 1, 1999, 9:30 a.m.

w  ––––––––––––––––––  w
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SJR 498:  Commission on Educational Accountability
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HJR 668:  Scrap Recycling Incentives Study
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HJR 269:  Standing Subcommittee to Monitor the Issues
Related to Infection with HIV
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HJR 501:  Joint Subcommittee to Study the Virginia Freedom
of Information Act
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SJR 271/HJR 491:  Joint Subcommittee Studying Eminent
Domain Issues
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HJR 843:  Commission on the Future of Transportation in
Virginia
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY

Safety and Health Codes Board

Notice of Periodic Review of Regulations Pursuant
to Executive Order 25 (98)

Pursuant to Executive Order Number 25 (98), the Virginia
Department of Labor and Industry and the Safety and Health
Codes Board have scheduled regulations for review.  The
agency will conduct this review to determine whether the
regulations should be terminated, amended, or retained as
written.  If any changes are deemed necessary, the
Department of Labor and Industry will file the appropriate
documentation as required by the Administrative Process Act
(APA) (§ 9-6.14:1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

16 VAC 25-20-10 et seq.  Regulation Concerning Licensed
Asbestos Contractor Notification, Asbestos Project Permits,
and Permit Fees.

Description:   Establishes the notification requirements for
certain asbestos projects and provides for the payment of
permit fees based on the size of the asbestos project.

The Department of Labor and Industry seeks public comment
regarding the following questions:

1.  Does the regulation meet the following goals?

-  Reduce the incidence of material impairment of the
health of Virginians due to exposure to asbestos in the
workplace or as an environmental pollutant.

-  Provide process for asbestos contractors to notify
the government of asbestos projects and to pay fees to
cover the costs of administering the program.

-  Protect the public’s health, safety and welfare with
the least possible cost and intrusiveness to the citizens
and businesses of the Commonwealth.

2.   Is the regulation written clearly and understandably?

**********

16 VAC 25-30-10 et seq.  Regulations for Asbestos Emission
Standards for Demolition and Renovation Construction
Activities and the Disposal of Asbestos-Containing Wastes –
Incorporation by Reference, 40 CFR 62.140 through 61.156.

Description:   Incorporates by reference the federal
Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) National Emissions
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP)
regulations which regulate human exposure to asbestos as a
result of air emissions from demolition and renovation, and
disposal of asbestos containing waste.

The Department of Labor and Industry seeks public comment
regarding the following questions:

1.  Does the regulation meet the following goals?

-  Reduce the incidence of material impairment of the
health of Virginians due to exposure to asbestos in the
workplace or as an environmental pollutant.

-  Protect the public’s health, safety and welfare with
the least possible cost and intrusiveness to the citizens
and businesses of the Commonwealth.

2.   Is the regulation written clearly and understandably?

**********

16 VAC 25-40-10 et seq.  Standard for Boiler and Pressure
Vessel Operator Certification.

Description:  Section 15.1-11.6 of the Code of Virginia
authorizes a local government, at its option, to require boiler
or pressure vessel operators to obtain an initial certification
from the locality before engaging in the operation and
maintenance of boilers and pressure vessels in the
jurisdiction.  This regulation provides a uniform statewide
standard to determine ability, proficiency and qualification of
local certification applicants.  This standard is for the use of
governing bodies of counties, cities and towns that have
adopted ordinances requiring local certification.  This
regulation does not provide for state certification of boiler and
pressure vessel operators.

The Department of Labor and Industry seeks public comment
regarding the following questions:

1.  Does the regulation meet the following goals?

-  Insure statewide uniformity in the determination of
the ability, proficiency and qualifications of boiler and
pressure vessel operators certified under a local
government ordinance.

-  Protect the public’s health, safety and welfare with
the least possible cost and intrusiveness to the citizens
and businesses of the Commonwealth.

2.   Is the regulation written clearly and understandably?

Written and electronically submitted comments on any of the
listed regulations may be submitted from December 20, 1999,
through January 10, 2000.   Comments should be sent to
Bonnie R. Hopkins, Regulatory Coordinator, Department of
Labor and Industry, 13 South Thirteenth Street, Richmond,
VA 23219, (804) 371-2631; FAX (804) 371-6524 or e-mail
brh@doli.state.va.us.

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Notice of Public Comment

Pursuant to regulations at 45 CFR 261.41, Virginia will submit
its estimate and methodology of the (TANF) Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families caseload reduction credit to
the United States Department of Health and Human Services
following a comment period.

A public hearing on the estimate and methodology of the
TANF caseload reduction credit will be conducted by the
Department of Social Services, Temporary Assistance
Programs Division, on December 21, 1999.  The public
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hearing will take place at 10 a.m. at the Virginia Department
of Social Services, Theater Row Building, 730 East Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23219.  The public is invited to attend
and to comment.

Written comments may be submitted through December 21,
1999, to Mark Golden, TANF Program Consultant,
Department of Social Services, Theater Row Building, 730
East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219.

Copies of the estimate and methodology of the TANF
caseload reduction credit may be obtained by calling Mark
Golden at (804) 692-1735 or by writing to Mr. Golden at the
Department of Social Services, Theater Row Building, 730
East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219.

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION

Notice to State Agencies

Mailing Address:  Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA
23219.  You may FAX in your notice; however, we ask that
you FAX two copies and do not follow up with a mailed copy.
Our FAX number is:  (804) 692-0625.

Forms for Filing Material for Publication in The
Virginia Register of Regulations

All agencies are required to use the appropriate forms when
furnishing material for publication in The Virginia Register of
Regulations.  The forms may be obtained from:  Virginia Code
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, General Assembly Building,
2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3591.

Internet:  Forms and other Virginia Register resources may
be printed or downloaded from the Virginia Register web
page: http://legis.state.va.us/codecomm/register/regindex.htm

FORMS:
NOTICE of INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION - RR01
NOTICE of COMMENT PERIOD - RR02
PROPOSED (Transmittal Sheet) - RR03
FINAL (Transmittal Sheet) - RR04
EMERGENCY (Transmittal Sheet) - RR05
NOTICE of MEETING - RR06
AGENCY RESPONSE TO LEGISLATIVE OBJECTIONS
 - RR08
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CALENDAR OF EVENTS

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

December 20, 1999 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Conference Room 5W, Richmond,
Virginia.

A meeting to review comments received from the Notice
of Intended Regulatory Action (NOIRA), adopt proposed
regulations for public comment, and consider and decide
any issues pertinent to the implementation of the
emergency regulations which became effective on
October 4, 1999.

Contact:  David E. Dick, Assistant Director, Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8505, FAX
(804) 367-2475, (804) 367-9753/TTY (, e-mail accountancy
@dpor. state. va. us, homepage http://www.state.va.us/dpor.

January 24, 2000 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Conference Room 5W, Richmond,
Virginia.

A regular meeting. A public comment period will be held
at the beginning of the meeting.

Contact:  David E. Dick, Assistant Director, Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8505, FAX
(804) 367-2475, (804) 367-9753/TTY (, e-mail
accountancy@dpor.state.va.us,  http://www.state.va.us/dpor.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER
SERVICES

Virginia Charity Food Assistance Advisory Board

January 6, 2000 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Washington Building, 1100 Bank Street, 2nd Floor Board
Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A regular meeting to discuss issues related to food
insecurity. The board will entertain public comment at the

conclusion of all other business for a period not to
exceed 30 minutes. Any person who needs any
accommodation in order to participate at the meeting
should contact Steven W. Thomas at least five days
before the meeting date so that suitable arrangements
can be made.

Contact:  Steven W. Thomas, Executive Director, Virginia
Charity Food Assistance Advisory Board, Washington
Building, 1100 Bank Street, Room 809, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 786-3936, FAX (804) 371-7788.

Pesticide Control Board

January 13, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Washington Building, 1100 Bank Street, 2nd Floor, Board
Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A general business meeting.  Portions of the meeting
may be held in closed session pursuant to § 2.1-344 of
the Code of Virginia.  The public will have an opportunity
to comment on any matter not on the board's agenda
beginning at 9 a.m.  Any person who needs any
accommodations in order to participate at the meeting
should contact Dr. Marvin A. Lawson at least five days
before the meeting date so that suitable arrangements
can be made.

Contact:  Dr. Marvin A. Lawson, Program Manager, Pesticide
Control Board, Washington Building, 1100 Bank Street, Room
401, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804)
371-6558, toll-free (800) 552-9963.

Virginia Winegrowers Advisory Board

February 22, 2000 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Washington Building, 1100 Bank Street, Second Floor, Board
Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A quarterly business meeting, including hearing and
potential approval of minutes from the prior meeting,
committee reports, treasurer's report, and a report from
the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board.  The board will
entertain public comment at the conclusion of all other
business for a period not to exceed 30 minutes.  Any
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person who needs any accommodations in order to
participate at the meeting should contact Mary E. Davis-
Barton at least five days before the meeting date so that
suitable arrangements can be made.

Contact:  Mary Davis-Barton, Board Secretary, Virginia
Winegrowers Advisory Board, Washington Building, 1100
Bank Street, Suite 1010, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone
(804) 371-7685, FAX (804) 786-3122.

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD

January 4, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Lower Level
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.

January 24, 2000 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of
the Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution Control
Board intends to amend regulations entitled:
Regulations for the Control and Abatement of Air
Pollution (Rev. S97):  9 VAC 5-20-10 et seq.  General
Provisions and 9 VAC 5-40-10 et seq.  Existing
Stationary Sources.  The proposed regulation applies to
hospital/medical/infectious waste incinerators (HMIWIs),
and includes emission limits for particulate matter, carbon
monoxide, dioxins/furans, hydrogen chloride, sulfur
dioxide, nitrogen oxides, lead, cadmium, and mercury.
Special HMIWI operator training and qualification
requirements are included in order to assure proper
facility operation and compliance with the emissions
limitations; sources are also required to prepare overall
waste management plans.  Compliance, emissions
testing, and monitoring requirements are delineated, as
well as recordkeeping and reporting of such test results.
Finally, specific compliance schedules are provided.

Request for Comments:  The purpose of this notice is to
provide the public with the opportunity to comment on the
proposed regulation and the costs and benefits of the
proposal.

Localities Affected:  There is no locality which will bear any
identified disproportionate material air quality impact due to
the proposed regulation which would not be experienced by
other localities.

Location of Proposal:  The proposal, an analysis conducted
by the department (including: a statement of purpose, a
statement of estimated impact and benefits of the proposed
regulation, an explanation of need for the proposed
regulation, an estimate of the impact of the proposed
regulation upon small businesses, identification of and
comparison with federal requirements, and a discussion of
alternative approaches) and any other supporting documents
may be examined by the public at the Department's Office of
Air Regulatory Development (Eighth Floor), 629 East Main
Street, Richmond, Virginia and the Department's regional
offices (listed below) between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of
each business day until the close of the public comment
period.

Southwest Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
355 Deadmore Street
Abingdon, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 676-4800

West Central Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
3019 Peters Creek Road
Roanoke, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 562-6700

Lynchburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
7705 Timberlake Road
Lynchburg, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 582-5120

Valley Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4411 Early Road
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22801
Ph:  (540) 574-7800

Fredericksburg Satellite Office
Department of Environmental Quality
806 Westwood Office Park
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Ph:  (540) 899-4600

Northern Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
13901 Crown Court
Woodbridge, Virginia
Ph:  (703) 583-3800

Piedmont Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
4949-A Cox Road
Glen Allen, Virginia
Ph:  (804) 527-5020

Tidewater Regional Office
Department of Environmental Quality
5636 Southern Boulevard
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Ph:  (757) 518-2000

Statutory Authority:  § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until 4:30 p.m., January
24, 2000, to the Director, Office of Air Regulatory
Development, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box
10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240.

Contact:  Karen G. Sabasteanski, Policy Analyst, Office of Air
Regulatory Development, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone
(804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 698-4510, toll-free (800) 592-5482
or (804) 698-4021/TTY (
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BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE
ARCHITECTS

Land Surveyor Section

January 20, 2000 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Examination Conference Room, 5th
Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting of the Land Surveyor Section and invited
subject matter experts to conduct an exam workshop.  A
public comment period will be held at the beginning of the
workshop.  After the public comment period, the
workshop will be conducted in closed executive session
under authority of § 2.1-344 A 11 of the Code of Virginia
due to the confidential nature of the examination.  The
public will not be admitted to the closed executive
session.

Contact:  Sharon M. Sweet, Examination Director,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone
(804) 367-8572 or (804) 367-9753/TTY (

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS AND LEAD

March 7, 2000 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Conference Room 5W, Richmond,
Virginia.

A meeting to conduct routine business. A public comment
period will be held at the beginning of the meeting.

Contact:  David E. Dick, Assistant Director, Virginia Board for
Asbestos and Lead, Department of Professional and
Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad Street, Richmond,
VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8505, FAX (804) 367-2475,
(804) 367-9753/TTY (, e-mail asbestos@dpor.state.va.us.

ASSISTIVE TECHNOLOGY LOAN FUND
AUTHORITY

January 20, 2000 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
February 17, 2000 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms
Drive, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided
upon request)

A monthly board meeting of the Board of Directors to
review applications for guaranteed loans.  Public
comment is invited.  The board will meet in closed
session to review loan applications in order to protect the
personal information of the applicants.

Contact:  Gail Stubbs, Assistive Technology Loan Fund
Authority, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23228,
telephone (804) 662-7331, FAX (804) 662-9533, (804) 662-
7331/TTY (, e-mail loanfund@erols.com, homepage
http://www.cns.state.va.us/atlfa.

BOARD FOR BARBERS

February 7, 2000 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

An open meeting to discuss regulatory review and other
matters requiring board action, including disciplinary
cases.  All meetings are subject to cancellation.  The time
of the meeting is subject to change.  A public comment
period will be held at the beginning of the meeting.  Any
person desiring to attend the meeting and requiring
special accommodations or interpretive services should
contact the department at 804-367-8590 or 367-
9753/TTY at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that
suitable arrangements can be made for an appropriate
accommodation.  The department fully complies with the
Americans with Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Nancy Taylor Feldman, Assistant Director,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-
4917, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-2474, (804)
367-9753/TTY (, e-mail barbers@dpor.state.va.us,
homepage http://www.state.va.us/dpor.

CEMETERY BOARD

January 19, 2000 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.

A regular business meeting.

Contact:  Eric L. Olson, Regulatory Boards Administrator,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 W. Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804)
367-2039, FAX (804) 367-2475, (804) 367-9753/TTY (, e-
mail olson@dpor.state.va.us.

January 20, 2000 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.

A regular meeting of the Delivery Committee to develop a
working definition of the delivery of cemetery items.

Contact:  Eric L. Olson, Regulatory Boards Administrator,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 W. Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804)
367-2039, FAX (804) 367-2475, (804) 367-9753/TTY (, e-
mail olson@dpor.state.va.us,   http://www.state.va.us/dpor.
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STATE BOARD FOR COMMUNITY COLLEGES

January 26, 2000 - 12:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Community College System, James Monroe Building,
101 North 14th Street, 15th Floor, Godwin-Hamel Board
Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

Telephonic meetings of the following committees:
Academic and Student Affairs, Audit, Budget and
Finance, Facilities, and Personnel with times to be
announced at a later date.

Contact:  Dr. Joy S. Graham, Assistant Chancellor, Public
Affairs, Virginia Community College System, Monroe Building,
101 N. 14th Street, 15th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 225-2126, FAX (804) 371-0085, (804) 371-
8504/TTY (, homepage http://www.vccs.cc.va.us.

January 27, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Community College System, James Monroe Building,
101 North 14th Street, 14th Floor, Compressed Video Room,
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A regular meeting to be held by video conference.  Other
sites available to the public will be announced.

Contact:  Dr. Joy S. Graham, Assistant Chancellor, Public
Affairs, Virginia Community College System, Monroe Building,
101 N. 14th Street, 15th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 225-2126, FAX (804) 371-0085, (804) 371-
8504/TTY (, homepage http://www.vccs.cc.va.us.

COMPENSATION BOARD

December 21, 1999 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting
January 25, 2000 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Compensation Board, 202 North 9th Street, 10th Floor,
Richmond, Virginia.

A monthly board meeting.

Contact:  Cindy Waddell, Administrative Assistant,
Compensation Board, P.O. Box 710, Richmond, VA 23218,
telephone (804) 786-0786, FAX (804) 371-0235, e-mail
cwaddell@scb.state. va.us.

January 11, 2000 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Compensation Board, 202 North 9th Street, 10th Floor,
Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting with Constitutional Officer Association
presidents regarding upcoming legislation.

Contact:  Cynthia P. Waddell, Administrative Staff Assistant,
Compensation Board, P.O. Box 710, Richmond, VA 23218,
telephone (804) 786-0786, FAX (804) 371-0235, e-mail
cwaddell@scb.state.va.us.

BOARD FOR COSMETOLOGY

March 6, 2000 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 W. Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to discuss regulatory review and other matters
requiring board action, including disciplinary cases.  A
public comment period will be held at the beginning of the
meeting.  All meetings are subject to cancellation.  The
time of the meeting is subject to change.  Any persons
desiring to attend the meeting and requiring special
accommodations or interpretative services should contact
the department at 804-367-8590 or 804-367-9753/TTY at
least 10 days prior to the meeting so that suitable
arrangements can be made for an appropriate
accommodation.  The department fully complies with the
Americans with Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Nancy Taylor Feldman, Assistant Director,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 W. Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-4917,
telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-2474, (804) 367-
9753/TTY (, e-mail cosmo@dpor.state.va.us, homepage
http://www.state.va.us/dpor.

BOARD OF DENTISTRY

January 6, 2000 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting of the Legislative/Regulatory Committee to
consider legislative and regulatory issues.  Public
comment may be received at the beginning of meeting.

Contact:  Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of
Dentistry, 6606 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230-
1717, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX (804) 662-9943, (804)
662-7197/TTY (, e-mail mjm1@dhp.state.va.us, homepage
http://www.dhp.state.va.us.

January 6, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.

A regular board meeting.

Contact:  Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of
Dentistry, 6606 W. Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX (804) 662-9114,
(804) 662-7197/TTY (

January 6, 2000 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
January 7, 2000 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A Special Conference Committee meeting to hear
disciplinary matters.



Calendar of Events

Virginia Register of Regulations

916

Contact:  Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of
Dentistry, 6606 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230-
1717, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX (804) 662-9943, (804)
662-7197/TTY (, e-mail mjm1@dhp.state.va.us, homepage
http://www.dhp.state.va.us.

January 7, 2000 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A formal hearing on a disciplinary matter.

Contact:  Marcia J. Miller, Executive Director, Board of
Dentistry, 6606 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230-
1717, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX (804) 662-9943, (804)
662-7197/TTY (, e-mail mjm1@dhp.state.va.us, homepage
http://www.dhp.state.va.us.

DESIGN-BUILD/CONSTRUCTION MANAGEMENT
REVIEW BOARD

January 24, 2000 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting
The Library of Virginia, 800 East Broad Street, Richmond,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to review requests submitted by localities for
the use of the design-build or construction management
type of contract.  Public comments will be received.
Please contact the Division of Engineering and Buildings
to confirm meeting.

Contact:  Joseph M. West, Jr., Assistant Director for
Administration, Design-Build/Construction Management
Review Board, 805 E. Broad Street, Room 101, Richmond,
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3263, FAX (804) 371-7934,
(804) 786-6152/TTY (, e-mail jwest@dgs.state.va.us,
homepage http://dgs.state.va.us.

BOARD OF EDUCATION

January 6, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Location to be determined.
February 24, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
March 23, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

The Board of Education and the Board of Vocational
Education will hold its regularly scheduled meeting.
Business will be conducted according to items on the
agenda.  The agenda is available upon request.

Contact:  Dr. Margaret Roberts, Executive Assistant for State
Board of Education, Department of Education, Monroe
Building, 101 North 14th Street, P.O. Box 2120, Richmond,
VA 23218-2120, telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-
2524 or toll-free (800) 292-3829.

* * * * * * * *

January 21, 2000 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education
intends to amend regulations entitled: 8 VAC 20-131-10
et seq.  Regulations Establishing Standards for
Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia.  The
regulations have been revised primarily to (i) identify and
target for early intervention and intensive assistance
those schools that need the most help and attention and
(ii) define consequences and rewards for schools that
achieve, or fail to achieve, the standards.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 22.1-19 and 22.1-253.13:13 of the
Code of Virginia.

Contact:  Charles W. Finley, Director of Accreditation,
Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA
23218-2120, telephone (804) 786-9421, FAX (804) 786-9763
or toll-free (800) 292-3820.

LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE -
HANOVER COUNTY

January 18, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Hanover Fire Administration, Emergency Operation Center,
13326 Hanover Courthouse Road, Route 301, Hanover,
Virginia.

A regular meeting.

Contact:  John F. Trivellin, CEM, Deputy Fire
Marshal/Hazardous Materials Coordinator, Hanover County
Fire Administration, P.O. Box 470, Hanover, VA 23069,
telephone (804) 537-6195, ext. 207.

LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE -
WINCHESTER

January 20, 2000 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Shawnee Fire Company, 2333 Roosevelt Boulevard,
Winchester, Virginia.

A meeting to meet the requirement of the Chemical
Safety Information, Site Security and Fuels Relief Act to
inform the public about local facilities’ risk management
plans by February 1, 2000, and to elect LEPC officers for
2000.

Contact:  L. A. Miller, Fire and Rescue Chief, Winchester Fire
and Rescue Department, 126 N. Cameron St., Winchester,
VA 22601, telephone (540) 662-2298, (540) 667-0118 or
(540) 662-4131/TTY (

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

January 4, 2000 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing
Smith Bland Regional Library, 118 South Sheeffey Street,
Marion, Virginia.
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A public hearing to receive comments on a draft permit
for Marion Composites to modify and operate their
composites coating operation located in Marion, Virginia.

Contact:  James R. Stanley, Department of Environmental
Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355 Deadmore Street,
Abingdon, VA 24212, telephone (540) 676-4819, e-mail
jrstanley@deq.state.va.us,   http://www.deq.state.va.us.

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND
EMBALMERS

January 5, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 3, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting of the Legislative Committee to discuss and
review legislative proposals for the 2001 Session of the
General Assembly.

Contact:  Cheri Emma-Leigh, Administrative Staff Assistant,
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6606 W. Broad
Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-
9907, FAX (804) 662-9523, e-mail CEmma-
Leigh@dhp.state.va.us, homepage http://dhp.state.va.us.

DEPARTMENT OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES

February 8, 2000 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, Williamsburg
Regional Office, 5806 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

February 9, 2000 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, Lynchburg
Regional Office, 910 Thomas Jefferson Road, Forest,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

February 10, 2000 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, Fredericksburg
Regional Office, 1320 Belman Road, Fredericksburg,
Virginia. (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

February 15, 2000 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Smyth-Bland Regional Library, Copenhaver Meeting Room,
118 South Sheffey Street, Marion, Virginia.  (Interpreter for
the deaf provided upon request)

February 16, 2000 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, Verona (Staunton)
Regional Office, 4724 Lee Highway, Verona, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

The Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries
(DGIF) is hosting five public meetings in February 2000
to discuss Virginia’s freshwater fishing regulations and
agency programs with anglers and other interested
parties.  Interested individuals are invited to join the DGIF
staff to discuss these subjects.  Public comments and
suggestions received will be considered by staff as they
refine current programs, develop new ones, and develop
staff recommendations for amendments to freshwater
fish and fishing regulations.  Agency staff will present

such recommendations to the Board of Game and Inland
Fisheries at its August 2000 meeting as part of the
regular biennial review of freshwater fish and fishing
regulations.

Contact:  Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Department of Game
and Inland Fisheries, 4010 W. Broad Street, Richmond, VA,
telephone (804) 367-1000 or FAX (804) 367-0488.

BOARD OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS

January 7, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Southern States Building, 6606 West Broad Street, 5th Floor,
Conference Room 1, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the
deaf provided upon request)

A public hearing to receive comment on a draft report on
the study of the regulation of clinical lab specialists.

Contact:  Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Deputy Executive
Director, Board of Health Professions, Southern States
Building, 6606 W. Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-7691, FAX (804) 662-7098,
(804) 662-7197/TTY (, e-mail ecarter@dhp.state.va.us,
homepage http://dph.state.va.us.

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS

January 25, 2000 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

An open meeting to discuss regulatory review and other
matters requiring board action, including disciplinary
cases.  A public comment period will be held at the
beginning of the meeting.  All meetings are subject to
cancellation.  The time of the meeting is subject to
change.  Any persons desiring to attend the meeting and
requiring special accommodations or interpretative
services should contact the department at 804-367-8590
or 804-367-9753/TTY at least 10 days prior to the
meeting so that suitable arrangements can be made for
an appropriate accommodation.  The department fully
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Nancy Taylor Feldman, Assistant Director,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-
4917, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-2474, (804)
367-9753/TTY (, e-mail hearingaidspec@dpor.state.va.us,
homepage http://www.state.va.us/dpor.

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR
VIRGINIA

January 11, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
February 8, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)
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A teleconferenced meeting.  Locations are McGuire,
Woods, Battle and Boothe; World Trade Center, Suite
9000, Norfolk, Virginia; and 420 Park Street,
Charlottesville, Virginia. Times may vary.

Contact:  Pamela H. Landrum, Administrative Staff Assistant,
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia, James Monroe
Building, 101 N. 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone
(804) 225-2602, FAX (804) 371-7911, e-mail
landrum@schev.edu, homepage http://schev.edu.

January 18, 2000 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
James Monroe Building, 9th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

Monthly committee and council meetings.

Contact:  Pamela H. Landrum, Administrative Staff Assistant,
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia, James Monroe
Building, 101 N. 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone
(804) 225-2602, FAX (804) 371-7911, e-mail
landrum@schev.edu, homepage http://www.schev.edu.

HOPEWELL INDUSTRIAL SAFETY COUNCIL

January 4, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
February 1, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
March 7, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Hopewell Community Center, 100 West City Point Road,
Hopewell, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

Local Emergency Preparedness Committee meeting on
emergency preparedness as required by SARA Title III.

Contact:  Robert Brown, Emergency Services Coordinator,
Hopewell Industrial Safety Council, 300 N. Main Street,
Hopewell, VA 23860, telephone (804) 541-2298.

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY
DEVELOPMENT

January 10, 2000 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and
Community Development intends to amend regulations
entitled:  13 VAC 5-111-10 et seq.  Enterprise Zone
Program Regulation.  The amendments address
changes made during the 1999 General Assembly
session to the Virginia Enterprise Zone Act.  These
changes relate to the increase in total state enterprise
zones from 50 to 55 with special conditions for the five
newly designated zones.  In addition, interpretive
changes have been made for guidance.

Statutory Authority:  § 59.1-278 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  M. Shea Hollifield, Deputy Director, Department of
Housing and Community Development, 501 N. 2nd St.,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7030, FAX (804)
371-7093 or (804) 371-7089/TTY (

STATEWIDE INDEPENDENT LIVING COUNCIL

January 5, 2000 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms
Drive, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided
upon request)

A meeting of the Executive Committee to address council
business and plan the quarterly meeting agenda.
Individuals wishing to participate via telecommunication
should contact the council.

Contact:  Jim Rothrock, Statewide Independent Living
Council, 1802 Marriott Rd., Richmond, VA 23229, telephone
(804) 673-0119, FAX (804) 282-7118.

January 12, 2000 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department for the Visually Handicapped, 397 Azalea
Avenue, Resource and Information Library, Richmond,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A regular quarterly meeting to review progress and
assess the impact of the state plan for independent living.

Contact:  Jim Rothrock, Statewide Independent Living
Council, 1802 Marriott Rd., Richmond, VA 23229, telephone
(804) 673-0119, FAX (804) 282-7110.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY

Migrant and Seasonal Farmworkers Board

January 19, 2000 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Jackson Center Building, 501 North Second Street, 1st Floor,
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A regular quarterly meeting of the board rescheduled
from December 1, 1999.

Contact:  Patti C. Bell, Public Relations Coordinator,
Department of Labor and Industry, 13 S. Thirteenth Street,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-3083, FAX (804)
786-8418, (804) 786-2376/TTY (, e-mail
pcb@doli.state.va.us, homepage http://www.dli.state.va.us.

STATE LIBRARY BOARD

January 21, 2000 - 8:15 a.m. -- Open Meeting
The Library of Virginia, 800 East Broad Street, Richmond,
Virginia.

March 13, 2000 - 8:15 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Location to be announced.

A meeting to discuss matters pertaining to The Library of
Virginia and The Library Board.

The following committees will meet at 8:15 a.m.

Public Library Development Committee (Orientation
Room)
Publications and Educational Services Committee
(Conference Room B)
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Records Management Committee (Conference Room C)

The following committees will meet at 9:30 a.m.

Archival and Information Services Committee
(Orientation Room)
Collection Management Services Committee
(Conference Room B)
Legislative and Finance Committee (Conference Room
C).

The full board will meet in the conference room on 2M at
10:30 a.m.  Public comment will be received at
approximately 11 a.m.

Contact:  Jean H. Taylor, Executive Secretary Senior, The
Library of Virginia, 800 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA
23219-8000, telephone (804) 692-3535, FAX (804) 692-3594,
(804) 692-3976/TTY (, e-mail jtaylor@vsla.edu, homepage
http://www.lva.lib.va.us.

LITTER CONTROL AND RECYCLING FUND
ADVISORY BOARD

January 5, 2000 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
701 East Franklin Street, Lower Level Conference Room,
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A quarterly meeting.

Contact:  Michael P. Murphy, Director, Environmental
Enhancement, Litter Control and Recycling Fund Advisory
Board, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240-0009,
telephone (804) 698-4003, FAX (804) 698-4319, toll-free
(800) 592-5482, (804) 698-4021/TTY (.

COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT

January 10, 2000 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
900 East Main Street, Suite 103, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A regular meeting to consider such matters as may be
presented.

Contact:  Barbara W. Bingham, Administrative Assistant,
Commission on Local Government, 900 E. Main Street, Suite
103, Richmond, VA 23219-3513, telephone (804) 786-6508,
FAX (804) 371-7999, (800) 828-1120/TTY (, e-mail
bbingham@clg.state.va.us,   http://www.state.va.us/clg.

February 21, 2000 - 10:30 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Clifton Forge area; site to be determined.

Oral presentations regarding the City of Clifton Forge's
proposed reversion to a town in Alleghany County.
Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and
requiring special accommodations or interpreter services
should contact the commission.

Contact:  Barbara W. Bingham, Administrative Assistant,
Commission on Local Government, 900 E. Main Street, Suite
103, Richmond, VA 23219-3513, telephone (804) 786-6508,

FAX (804) 371-7999, (800) 828-1120/TTY (, e-mail
bbingham@clg.state.va.us,   http://www.state.va.us/clg.

February 21, 2000 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing
Clifton Forge area; site to be determined.

A public hearing regarding the City of Clifton Forge's
proposed reversion to a town in Alleghany County.
Persons desiring to participate in the commission's
proceedings and requiring special accommodations or
interpreter services should contact the commission.

Contact:  Barbara W. Bingham, Administrative Assistant,
Commission on Local Government, 900 E. Main Street, Suite
103, Richmond, VA 23219-3513, telephone (804) 786-6508,
FAX (804) 371-7999, (800) 828-1120/TTY (, e-mail
bbingham@clg.state.va.us,   http://www.state.va.us/clg.

February 22, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Clifton Forge area; site to be determined.

Oral presentations regarding the City of Clifton Forge's
proposed reversion to a town in Alleghany County.
Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and
requiring special accommodations or interpreter services
should contact the commission.

Contact:  Barbara W. Bingham, Administrative Assistant,
Commission on Local Government, 900 E. Main Street, Suite
103, Richmond, VA 23219-3513, telephone (804) 786-6508,
FAX (804) 371-7999, (800) 828-1120/TTY (, e-mail
bbingham@clg.state.va.us,   http://www.state.va.us/clg.

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION

December 21, 1999 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
January 25, 2000 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
February 22, 2000 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
March 28, 2000 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue,
Room 403, Newport News, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

The commission will hear and decide the following
marine environmental matters beginning at 9:30 a.m.:
permit applications for projects in wetlands, bottom lands,
coastal primary sand dunes and beaches; appeals of
local wetland board decisions; and policy and regulatory
issues.  The commission will hear and decide the
following fishery management items beginning at
approximately noon: regulatory proposals; fishery
management plans; fishery conservation issues;
licensing; and shellfish leasing.  Meetings are open to the
public.  Testimony will be taken under oath from parties
addressing agenda items on permits and licensing.
Public comments will be taken on resource matters,
regulatory issues and items scheduled for public hearing.

Contact:  LaVerne Lewis, Secretary to the Commission,
Marine Resources Commission, P.O. Box 756, Newport
News, VA 23607-0756, telephone (757) 247-2261, toll-free
(800) 541-4646 or (757) 247-2292/TTY(
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DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES

January 4, 2000 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad
Street, Suite 1300, Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting of the Virginia Medicaid Pharmacy Liaison
Committee to conduct routine business.

Contact:  Marianne Rollings, Pharmacy Services, Division of
Program Operators, Department of Medical Assistance
Services, 600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 225-4268.

BOARD OF MEDICINE

January 5, 2000 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A formal administrative hearing to inquire into allegations
that certain practitioners may have violated laws and
regulations governing the practice of medicine and other
healing arts in Virginia.  The panel will meet in open and
closed sessions pursuant to § 2.1-344 A 7 and A 15 of
the Code of Virginia.  Public comment will not be
received.

Contact:  Karen W. Perrine, Deputy Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, 6606 W. Broad Street, 4th Floor,
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-7332, FAX (804)
662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY (

January 6, 2000 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting of the Advisory Board on Athletic Training to
discuss the establishment of regulations mandated by §
54.1-2957.5 of the Code of Virginia.

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board of
Medicine, 6606 W. Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230, telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9517, (804)
662-7197/TTY (

January 12, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting of the Advisory Committee on Acupuncture to
discuss regulatory review of regulations 18 VAC 85-110-
10 et seq., Regulations Governing the Practice of
Licensed Acupuncturists, and such other issues which
may be presented. The advisory board will entertain
public comments during the first 15 minutes on agenda
items.

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board of
Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA

23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9517,
(804) 662-7197/TTY (

January 12, 2000 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting of the Advisory Committee on Radiological
Technology to review public comments and make
recommendations to the board regarding the regulations
18 VAC 85-101-10 et seq., Regulations Governing the
Licensure of Radiologic Technologists Practitioners and
Radiologic Technologist-Limited, and such other issues
which may be presented. The advisory board will
entertain public comments during the first 15 minutes on
agenda items.

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board of
Medicine, 6606 W. Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9517,
(804) 662-7197/TTY (

January 13, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting of the Advisory Board on Occupational
Therapy to review public comments and make
recommendations to the Board of Medicine regarding the
regulatory review of regulations 18 VAC 85-80-10 et seq.,
Regulations for Licensing of Occupational Therapists,
and such other issues which may be presented. The
advisory board will entertain public comments during the
first 15 minutes on agenda items.

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board of
Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9517,
(804) 662-7197/TTY (

January 13, 2000 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting of the Advisory Board on Respiratory Care to
review public comments and make recommendations to
the Board of Medicine regarding the regulatory review of
regulations 18 VAC 85-40-10 et seq., Regulations
Governing the Practice of Respiratory Care Practitioners,
and such other issues which may be presented. The
advisory board will entertain public comments during the
first 15 minutes on agenda items.

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board of
Medicine, 16606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9517,
(804) 662-7197/TTY (

January 14, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)
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A meeting of the Advisory Board on Physical Therapy to
review public comments and make recommendations to
the Board of Medicine regarding the regulatory review of
regulations 18 VAC 85-31-10 et seq., Regulations
Governing the Practice of Physical Therapy, and such
other issues which may be presented. The advisory
board will entertain public comments during the first 15
minutes on agenda items.

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board of
Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9517,
(804) 662-7197/TTY (

January 14, 2000 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting of the Advisory Committee on Physician
Assistants to review public comments and make
recommendations to the Board of Medicine regarding the
regulatory review of regulations 18 VAC 85-50-10 et seq.,
Regulations Governing the Practice of Physician
Assistants, and such other issues which may be
presented. The advisory board will entertain public
comments during the first 15 minutes on agenda items.

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board of
Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9517,
(804) 662-7197/TTY (.

* * * * * * * *

January 21, 2000 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends to
amend regulations entitled:

18 VAC 85-20-10 et seq.  Regulations Governing the
Practice of Medicine, Osteopathy, Podiatry,
Chiropractic and Physician Acupuncture;

18 VAC 85-31-10 et seq.  Regulations Governing the
Practice of Physical Therapy;

18 VAC 85-40-10 et seq.  Regulations Governing the
Practice of Respiratory Care Practitioners;

18 VAC 85-50-10 et seq.  Regulations Governing the
Practice of Physician Assistants;

18 VAC 85-80-10 et seq.  Regulations Governing the
Licensure of Occupational Therapists;

18 VAC 85-101-10 et seq.  Regulations Governing the
Licensure of Radiologic Technologists and
Radiologic Technologists-Limited; and

18 VAC 85-110-10 et seq.  Regulations Governing the
Practice of Licensed Acupuncturists.

The proposed amendments revise the schedule of fees
paid by physicians and other medical professionals to the

Board of Medicine.  These fee changes bring the board
into compliance with the board’s interpretation of § 54.1-
113 of the Code of Virginia, which requires all regulatory
boards under the Department of Health Professions to
revise their fee schedules if, after the close of any
biennium, there is more than a 10% difference between
revenues and expenditures.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-113 and 54.1-2400 of the Code
of Virginia.

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board of
Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9908.

January 28, 2000 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting of the Legislative Committee to (i) discuss
legislative issues related to board activities and
regulations, (ii) review any pending regulations pursuant
to regulatory review or legislative action, and (iii) consider
any other information that may come before the
committee. The committee will entertain public comments
during the first 15 minutes on agenda items.

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board of
Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9517,
(804) 662-7197/TTY (

February 10, 2000 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting
February 11, 2000 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting
February 12, 2000 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting to conduct general board business, receive
committee and board reports, and discuss any other
items which may come before the board. The board will
also meet on Friday and Saturday, February 11 and 12,
to review reports, interview licensees/applicants, conduct
administrative proceedings, and make decisions on
disciplinary matters. The board will also review any
regulations that may come before it. The board will
entertain public comments during the first 15 minutes on
agenda items.

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board of
Medicine, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9960, FAX (804) 662-9517,
(804) 662-7197/TTY (

Informal Conference Committee

January 13, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Central Park Hotel, 2801 Plank Road, Fredericksburg,
Virginia.

January 14, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Williamsburg Marriott, 50 Kingsmill Road, Williamsburg,
Virginia.
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A meeting to inquire into allegations that certain
practitioners may have violated laws and regulations
governing the practice of medicine and other healing arts
in Virginia.  The committee will meet in open and closed
sessions pursuant to § 2.1-344 A 7 and A 15 of the Code
of Virginia.  Public comment will not be received.

Contact:  Karen W. Perrine, Deputy Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, 6606 W. Broad Street, 4th Floor,
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-7332, FAX (804)
662-9517, (804) 662-7197/TTY (

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BOARD

January 10, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street,
Room 702, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

Committees will meet as follows:

Dealer Practices Committee - 9 a.m.
Franchise Law Committee - 11 a.m.
Licensing Committee - 12:30 p.m.
Transaction Recovery Fund Committee - 2:30 p.m.
Personnel Committee - 3:30 p.m.

Any person who needs any accommodation in order to
participate in the meeting should contact the board at
least 10 days before the meeting so that suitable
arrangements can be made.

Contact:  Alice R. Weedon, Administrative Assistant, Motor
Vehicle Dealer Board, 2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104,
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1100, FAX (804)
367-1053, toll-free (877) 270-0203, e-mail
dboard@mvb.state.va.us, homepage http://mvdb.vipnet.org.

January 11, 2000 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street,
Room 702, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A meeting of the full board.  Prior to the meeting, the
following committees will meet:

Finance Committee - 8:30 a.m. -- Room 702
Advertising Committee - 8:30 a.m. -- Executive
Conference Room

Any person who needs any accommodation in order to
participate in the meeting should contact the board at
least 10 days before the meeting so that suitable
arrangements can be made.

Contact:  Alice R. Weedon, Administrative Assistant, Motor
Vehicle Dealer Board, 2201 W. Broad St., Suite 104,
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1100, FAX (804)
367-1053, toll-free (877) 270-0203, e-mail
dboard@mvb.state.va.us, homepage http://mvdb.vipnet.org.

VIRGINIA MUSEUM OF FINE ARTS

January 4, 2000 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Avenue, Main
Lobby Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A joint meeting of the Executive and Legislative
Committees to discuss the upcoming legislative session
in the General Assembly, plus a monthly staff briefing for
Executive Committee members.  Public comment will not
be received at the meeting.

Contact:  Emily C. Robertson, Secretary of the Museum,
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 2800 Grove Avenue,
Richmond, VA 23221, telephone (804) 340-1503, FAX (804)
340-1502, e-mail erobertson@vmfa.state.va.us, homepage
http://www.vmfa.state.va.us.

BOARD OF NURSING

January 21, 2000 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Nursing intends to
amend regulations entitled:  18 VAC 90-20-10 et seq.
Regulations Governing the Practice of Nursing.  The
proposed amendments increase application, renewal and
other fees charged to applicants and regulated entities in
order to cover the expenditures for the regulatory and
disciplinary functions of the board.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-113 and 54.1-2400 of the Code
of Virginia.

Contact:  Nancy K. Durrett, R.N., Executive Director, Board
of Nursing, 6606 W. Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9909 or FAX (804) 662-
9943.

BOARD OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

January 12, 2000 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

A regular meeting.  Public comments will be heard for 15
minutes prior to the start of the meeting.

Contact:  Senita Booker, Administrative Staff Assistant,
Board of Nursing Home Administrators, 6606 W. Broad St.,
4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-
9111, FAX (804) 662-9523, (804) 662-7197/TTY (, e-mail
SBooker@dhp.state.va.us,   http://www.dhp.state.va.us.

BOARD FOR OPTICIANS

February 11, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)
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An open meeting to discuss regulatory review and other
matters requiring board action, including disciplinary
cases.  A public comment period will be held at the
beginning of the meeting.  All meetings are subject to
cancellation.  The time of the meeting is subject to
change.  Any persons desiring to attend the meeting and
requiring special accommodations or interpretative
services should contact the department at 804-367-8590
or 804-367-9753/TTY at least 10 days prior to the
meeting so that suitable arrangements can be made for
an appropriate accommodation.  The department fully
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Contact:  Nancy Taylor Feldman, Assistant Director,
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-
4917, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-2474, e-mail
opticians@dpor.state.va.us,   http://www.state.va.us/dpor.

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES

February 3, 2000 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
The Library of Virginia, 800 East Broad Street, Richmond,
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A regular meeting.

Contact:  Tom Ariail, Assistant Director of Board Operations,
Virginia Board for People with Disabilities, 202 N. 9th Street,
9th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0016,
FAX (804) 786-1118, toll-free (800) 846-4464, (804) 786-
0016/TTY (.

BOARD OF PHARMACY

January 11, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 3, Richmond, Virginia.

The Special Conference Committee will hear informal
conferences.  Public comments will not be received.

Contact:  Elizabeth Scott Russell, Executive Director, Board
of Pharmacy, 6606 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond,
VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9911, FAX (804) 662-9313.

BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS, MARRIAGE
AND FAMILY THERAPISTS, AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE

TREATMENT PROFESSIONALS

January 6, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 3, Richmond, Virginia.

January 21, 2000 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Professional
Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists, and
Substance Abuse Treatment Professionals intends to
amend regulations entitled:

18 VAC 115-20-10 et seq.  Regulations Governing the
Practice of Professional Counseling;

18 VAC 115-30-10 et seq.  Regulations Governing the
Certification of Substance Abuse Counselors;

18 VAC 115-40-10 et seq.  Regulations Governing the
Certification of Rehabilitation Providers; and

18 VAC 115-50-10 et seq.  Regulations Governing the
Practice of Marriage and Family Therapists.

The proposed amendments increase certain fees
pursuant to the board's statutory mandate to levy fees as
necessary to cover expenses of the board.  Fees
sufficient to fund the operations of the board are essential
for activities such as licensing, investigation of
complaints, and adjudication of disciplinary cases.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-113 and 54.1-2400 of the Code
of Virginia.

Contact:  Janet Delorme, Deputy Executive Director, Board
of Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists,
and Substance Abuse Treatment Professionals, 6606 W.
Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804)
662-9975 or (804) 662-9943.

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY

January 11, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 1, Richmond, Virginia.

January 21, 2000 - Public comments may be submitted until
this date.

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 9-6.14:7.1 of
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Psychology intends
to amend regulations entitled:  18 VAC 125-20-10 et seq.
Regulations Governing the Practice of Psychology.
The purpose of the proposed action is to increase fees
for practitioners regulated by the board in order to comply
with statutory requirements for revenues to be sufficient
to cover the expenditures of the board.

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-113 and 54.1-2400 of the Code
of Virginia.

Contact:  Janet Delorme, Deputy Executive Director, Board
of Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists,
and Substance Abuse Treatment Professionals, 6606 W.
Broad St., 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804)
662-9975 or (804) 662-9943.

January 11, 2000 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Conference Room 1, Richmond, Virginia.

Two formal disciplinary conferences involving the full
board.

Contact:  Arnice Covington, Administrative Assistant,
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
Richmond, VA 23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9913, FAX
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(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY (, e-mail
acovinton@dhp.state.va.us,   http://www.dhp.state.va.us.

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES

December 21, 1999 - 10 a.m. -- Public Hearing
Department of Social Services, Theater Row Building, 730
East Broad Street, 9th Floor, Conference Room, Richmond,
Virginia.

A public hearing on the estimate and methodology of the
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families caseload
reduction credit.  Interested individuals are invited to
comment.

Contact:  Mark Golden, TANF Program Consultant,
Department of Social Services, Theater Row Building, 730 E.
Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-1735 or
FAX (804) 692-1704.

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK

February 25, 2000 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Health Professions, 6606 West Broad Street,
5th Floor, Board Room 1, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to conduct general board business, receive
committee reports, and discuss any other items which
may come before the board. The board will entertain
public comments during the first 15 minutes of the
meeting.

Contact:  Rai Minor, Administrative Assistant, Board of Social
Work, 6606 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA
23230-1717, telephone (804) 662-9914, FAX (804) 662-9943,
(804) 662-7197/TTY (, e-mail bsw@dhp.state.va.us,
homepage http://www.dhp.state.va.us.

VIRGINIA TOURISM AUTHORITY

December 20, 1999 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia Economic Development Partnership, 901 East Byrd
Street, 19th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting of the Motion Picture Development Committee
to continue discussion regarding the Motion Picture
Incentive Fund and formally adopt the Governor's Motion
Picture Opportunity Funds.  Public comment will be taken
at the beginning of the meeting.

Contact:  Nanette Maguire, Administrative Staff Assistant,
Film Office, Virginia Tourism Authority, 901 E. Byrd Street,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-8204, FAX (804)
371-8177, toll-free (800) 854-6233.

TRANSPORTATION SAFETY BOARD

January 25, 2000 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 3rd
Floor, Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter
for the deaf provided upon request)

A meeting to discuss issues relating to highway safety in
Virginia.

Contact:  Angelisa Jennings, Management Analyst,
Transportation Safety Board, 2300 W. Broad Street,
Richmond, VA 23269, telephone (804) 367-2026.

BOARD FOR THE VISUALLY HANDICAPPED

January 18, 2000 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department for the Visually Handicapped, Administrative
Headquarters, 397 Azalea Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request)

A regular quarterly meeting to receive information
regarding department activities and operations, review
expenditures from the board's endowment fund, and
discuss other issues raised for board members.

Contact:  Katherine C. Proffitt, Administrative Secretary
Senior, Department for the Visually Handicapped, 397 Azalea
Avenue, Richmond, VA 23227, telephone (804) 371-3145,
FAX (804) 371-3157, toll-free (800) 622-2155, (804) 371-
3140/TTY (, e-mail proffikc@dvh.state.va.us, homepage
http://www.cns.state.va.us/dvh.

VIRGINIA WAR MEMORIAL FOUNDATION

January 11, 2000 - noon -- Open Meeting
Virginia War Memorial, 621 South Belvidere Street,
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon
request)

A regular meeting of the Board of Trustees.  Public
comments will be received.  Contact Jon Hatfield for a
copy of the agenda.

Contact:  Jon C. Hatfield, Executive Director, Virginia War
Memorial Foundation, 621 S. Belvidere Street, Richmond, VA
23220, telephone (804) 786-2060, FAX (804) 786-6652, (804)
786-6152/TTY(,e-mail jhatfield@vawarmemorial.state.va.us.

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD

January 20, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street,
10th Floor Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.

A public meeting to receive comments on the board's
intent to amend 9 VAC 20-140-10 et seq., Regulations for
the Certification of Recycling Machinery and Equipment
for Tax Exemption Purposes.

Contact:  John Ely, Department of Environmental Quality,
P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-
4249, (804) 698-4021/TTY (, e-mail jeely@deq.state.va.us,
homepage http://www.deq.state.va.us.

January 20, 2000 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Environmental Quality, 10th Floor Conference
Room, 629 East Main Street, 10th Floor Conference Room,
Richmond, Virginia.
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A public meeting to receive comments on the board's
intent to adopt 9 VAC 20-180-10 et seq., Regulations
Governing the Commercial Transportation of
Nonhazardous Municipal Solid Waste and Regulated
Medical Waste by Truck.

Contact:  Robert Wickline, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240,
telephone (804) 698-4213, (804) 698-4021/TTY (, e-mail
rgwickline@deq.state.va.us, homepage http://deq.state.va.us.

January 21, 2000 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Environmental Quality, 10th Floor Conference
Room, 629 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia.

A public meeting to receive comments on the board's
intent to amend 9 VAC 20-130-10 et seq., Regulations for
the Development of Solid Waste Management Plans.

Contact:  Robert Wickline, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone
(804) 698-4213, (804) 698-4021/TTY (, e-mail   rgwickline
@deq.state.va.us, homepage http://www.deq.state.va.us.

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

January 20, 2000 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Robert E. Lee Building, 121 East 2nd Street, Chase City,
Virginia.

A meeting to receive comments on the board's intent to
amend 9 VAC 25-430-10 et seq., Roanoke River Basin
Water Quality Management Plan, relative to Chase City's
wasteload allocation.

Contact:  Jon Van Soestbergen, Environmental Engineer,
Senior, Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont
Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, Virginia
23060, telephone (804) 527-5106, e-mail
jvansoest@deq.state.va.us, homepage http://deq.state.va.us.

January 27, 2000 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
Virginia War Memorial, 621 South Belvidere Street,
Richmond, Virginia.

A meeting to receive comments on the board's intent to
amend the Water Quality Standards, 9 VAC 25-260-10 et
seq., to update numerical and/or narrative criteria for
dissolved oxygen.

Contact:  Elleanore Daub, Department of Environmental
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, Virginia 23240,
telephone (804) 698-4111, (804) 698-4021/TTY (, e-mail
emdaub @deq .state. va.us.

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER
WORKS OPERATORS

March 16, 2000 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation,
3600 West Broad Street, Conference Room 5W, Richmond,
Virginia.

A regular meeting.  A public comment period will be held
at the beginning of the meeting.

Contact:  David E. Dick, Assistant Director, Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8505, FAX
(804) 367-2475, (804) 367-9753/TTY (, e-mail
waterwasteoper @ dpor .state. va. us.

LEGISLATIVE

JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE TO STUDY THE
ADEQUACY OF CONFLICT OF INTEREST LAWS

APPLICABLE TO THE APPOINTMENT AND
CONDUCT OF MEMBERS OF VIRGINIA’S POLICY

AND SUPERVISORY BOARDS, COMMISSIONS AND
COUNCILS

December 20, 1999 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting.  Questions regarding the meeting
should be addressed to Mary Spain, Division of
Legislative Services, (804) 786-3591.  Individuals
requiring interpreter services or other special assistance
should contact the committee operations office at least
10 working days prior to the meeting.

Contact:  Lois V. Johnson, House Committee Operations,
P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

COMMISSION ON EDUCATIONAL
ACCOUNTABILITY (SJR 498, 1999)

December 21, 1999 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
January 4, 2000 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate
Room B, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)

A regular meeting.  Questions regarding the meeting
should be directed to Kathy Harris, Division of Legislative
Services, (804) 786-3591.  Individuals requiring
interpreter services or other accommodations should call
or write Senate Committee Operations at least seven
working days prior to the meeting.

Contact:  Patty J. Lung, Senate Committee Operations, P.O.
Box 396, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-7450 or
(804) 698-7419/TTY (

JOINT COMMISSION ON HEALTH CARE

January 6, 2000 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate
Room A, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf
provided upon request)
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A regular meeting.  Individuals requiring interpreter
services or other special assistance should contact
Kimberly Rockhold at least 10 working days prior to the
meeting.  You can also access information on the
Internet at http://legis.state.va.us/jchc/jchchome.htm.

Contact:  Travis Varner, Committee Operations, House of
Delegates, State Capitol, P.O. Box 406, Richmond, VA
23218, telephone (804) 698-1540 or (804) 786-2369/TTY (

OPEN MEETINGS

December 20, 1999
Accountancy, Board of
Tourism Authority, Virginia

- Motion Picture Development Committee

December 21, 1999
Compensation Board
Educational Accountability, Commission on
Marine Resources Commission

January 4, 2000
Educational Accountability, Commission on
Hopewell Industrial Safety Council
Medical Assistance Services, Department of

- Virginia Medicaid Pharmacy Liaison Committee
Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia

- Executive and Legislative Committees

January 5, 2000
Funeral Directors and Embalmers, Board of

- Legislative Committee
Independent Living Council, Statewide
Litter Control and Recycling Fund Advisory Board
Medicine, Board of

January 6, 2000
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of

- Virginia Charity Food Assistance Advisory Board
Dentistry, Board of

- Legislative/Regulatory Committee
- Special Conference Committee

Education, Board of
Medicine, Board of

- Advisory Board on Athletic Training

January 7, 2000
Dentistry, Board of

- Special Conference Committee

January 10, 2000
Local Government, Commission on
Motor Vehicle Dealer Board

January 11, 2000
Compensation Board
Higher Education for Virginia, State Council of
Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
Pharmacy, Board of

- Special Conference Committee
Psychology, Board of
War Memorial Foundation, Virginia

- Board of Trustees

January 12, 2000
Independent Living Council, Statewide
Medicine, Board of

- Advisory Committee on Acupuncture
- Advisory Committee on Radiological Technology

Nursing Home Administrators, Board of

January 13, 2000
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of

- Pesticide Control Board
Medicine, Board of

- Informal Conference Committee
- Advisory Board on Occupational Therapy
- Advisory Board on Respiratory Care

January 14, 2000
Medicine, Board of

- Informal Conference Committee
- Advisory Board on Physical Therapy
- Advisory Committee on Physician Assistants

January 18, 2000
Emergency Planning Committee, Local - Hanover County
Higher Education for Virginia, State Council of
Visually Handicapped, Board for the

January 19, 2000
Cemetery Board
Labor and Industry, Department of

- Migrant and Seasonal Farmworkers Board

January 20, 2000
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors,

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects,
Board of
- Land Surveyor Section

Assistive Technology Loan Fund Authority
Cemetery Board

- Delivery Committee
Emergency Planning Committee, Local - Winchester
Waste Management Board, Virginia
Water Control Board, State

January 21, 2000
Library Board, State
Waste Management Board, Virginia

January 24, 2000
Accountancy, Board of
Community Colleges, State Board for
Design-Build/Construction Management Review Board

January 25, 2000
Compensation Board
Hearing Aid Specialists, Board for
Marine Resources Commission
Transportation Safety Board

January 27, 2000
Community Colleges, State Board for
Water Control Board, State

January 28, 2000
Medicine, Board of

- Legislative Committee
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February 1, 2000
Hopewell Industrial Safety Council

February 3, 2000
People with Disabilities, Virginia Board for

February 7, 2000
Barbers, Board for

February 8, 2000
Game and Inland Fisheries, Department of
Higher Education for Virginia, State Council of

February 9, 2000
Game and Inland Fisheries, Department of

February 10, 2000
Game and Inland Fisheries, Department of
Medicine, Board of

February 11, 2000
Medicine, Board of
Opticians, Board for

February 12, 2000
Medicine, Board of

February 15, 2000
Game and Inland Fisheries, Department of

February 16, 2000
Game and Inland Fisheries, Department of

February 17, 2000
Assistive Technology Loan Fund Authority

February 22, 2000
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Board of

- Virginia Winegrowers Advisory Board
Marine Resources Commission

February 24, 2000
Education, Board of

February 25, 2000
Social Work, Board of

March 6, 2000
Cosmetology, Board for

March 7, 2000
Asbestos and Lead, Virginia Board for
Hopewell Industrial Safety Council

March 13, 2000
Library Board, State

March 16, 2000
Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators, Board for

March 23, 2000
Education, Board of

March 28, 2000
Marine Resources Commission

PUBLIC HEARINGS

December 21, 1999
Social Services, State Board of

January 4, 2000
Air Pollution Control Board, State
Environmental Quality, Department of

January 7, 2000
Health Professions, Board of

January 11, 2000
Psychology, Board of

February 21, 2000
Local Government, Commission on

February 22, 2000
Local Government, Commission on
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