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STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE:  The State Water Control Board is claiming an exclusion from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 9‑6.14:4.1 C 4 (a) of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is involved.  The State Water Control Board will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision.

Title of Regulation:  9 VAC 25-110-10 et seq.  Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit for Domestic Sewage Discharges of Less than or Equal to 1,000 Gallons per Day (amending 9 VAC 25-110-70).

Statutory Authority:  § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date:  August 1, 2001.

Summary:

The amendments change the requirements for registering under the general permit for small sewage discharges.  This amendment is based on a revision to the State Control Law enacted by the 2001 General Assembly.

Agency Contact:  Copies of the regulation may be obtained from Richard Ayers, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4075.

CHAPTER 110.
VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION SYSTEM (VPDES) GENERAL PERMIT FOR DOMESTIC SEWAGE DISCHARGES OF LESS THAN OR EQUAL TO 1,000 GALLONS PER DAY.

9 VAC 25‑110‑70.  Registration statement.

A. Deadlines for submitting registration statement. The owner shall file a complete General VPDES Permit Registration Statement for domestic sewage discharges of less than or equal to 1,000 gallons per day. Any owner proposing a new discharge shall file a complete registration statement with the department at least 60 days prior to the date planned for commencing construction or operation of the treatment works from which the discharge will emanate. Any owner of an existing treatment works covered by an individual VPDES permit who proposes to be covered by this general permit shall file a complete registration statement at least 180 days prior to the expiration date of the individual VPDES permit. To avoid a lapse in permit coverage, any owner of an existing treatment works that was authorized to discharge under the general permit issued in 1996 shall have filed a complete registration statement prior to August 1, 2001.

B. Registration statement. The owner shall submit a registration statement that contains the following information:

1. Name and location of the facility/residence.

2. Name, mailing address, and work and home telephone numbers of the facility owner. Indicate if the owner is or will be the occupant of the facility.

3. Name of the water body receiving the discharge. Indicate if the discharge point is on a stream that usually flows during dry weather.

4. The amount of discharge, in gallons per day, on a monthly average.

5. A description of any pollutants, other than domestic sewage, to be discharged.

6. If there are central sewage facilities available to serve this facility.

7. If the facility currently has a VPDES permit. Provide the permit number, if applicable. Indicate if the facility has been built and begun discharge.

8. For the owner of any proposed treatment works or any treatment works that has not previously been issued a valid VPDES permit:

a. A topographic map that indicates the discharge point, the location of the property to be served by the treatment works, and the location of any wells, springs, and other water bodies, or downstream residences within 1/2 mile downstream from the discharge;

b. A site diagram of the existing or proposed sewage treatment works, including the property boundaries, the location of the facility/residence to be served, the individual sewage treatment units, the receiving water body, and the discharge line location; and

c. A notification from the Virginia Department of Health that an onsite sewage disposal system permit has been applied for and that the Virginia Department of Health has determined that there is no technology available to serve that parcel of land with an onsite system; and .

d. For discharges into any water impoundment, a notification from the governing body of the county, city, or town in which the discharge is to take place that the location and operation of the treatment works are consistent with applicable ordinances adopted pursuant to Chapter 22 (§ 15.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia. Should the governing body fail to provide such written notification within 45 days from the receipt of a request from the applicant, the requirement for such notification is waived.

9. For the owner of any existing treatment works, a copy of a valid maintenance contract that provides for the following:

a. Performance of all testing required in accordance with 9 VAC 25-110-80 Part I A and periodic inspections of the treatment works;

b. A written notification to the owner within 24 hours whenever the contract provider becomes aware that maintenance or repair of the owner’s treatment works is necessary. The owner is responsible for prompt maintenance and repair of the treatment works including all costs associated with the maintenance or repair. Immediately upon receipt of notice that repair or maintenance is required, the owner shall begin emergency pump and haul of all sewage generated in the dwelling if full and complete repairs cannot be accomplished within 48 hours.

c. A log of the following items will be maintained by the contract provider:

(1) Results of all tests and sampling;

(2) Alarm activation incidents;

(3) Maintenance, corrective, or repair activities performed;

(4) Recommended repair or replacement items; and

(5) Copies of all reports prepared by the contract provider.

d. An inspection will be conducted by the contract provider within 48 hours after notification by the owner that a problem may be occurring; and

e. A minimum of 24 months of consecutive coverage under the maintenance contract.

10. The owner of any existing treatment works may request an exception to the maintenance contract requirement by submitting an operation and maintenance plan to the department for review and approval. At a minimum, the plan shall contain the following information:

a. An up-to-date operation and maintenance manual for the treatment works;

b. A log of maintenance performed on the plant including, but not limited to, the following:

(1) The date and amount of disinfection chemicals added to the chlorinator.

(2) If dechlorination is used, the date and amount of any dechlorination chemicals that are added.

(3) The date and time of equipment failure(s) and the date and time the equipment was restored to service.

(4) The date and approximate volume of sludge removed;

c. Dated receipts for chemicals purchased, equipment purchased, and maintenance performed;

d. Proof of installation of a nonresettable elapsed time meter for electric motor-driven equipment; and

e. An effluent monitoring plan in accordance with the requirements of 9 VAC 25-110-80 Part I A.

11. The following certification: "I hereby grant to duly authorized agents of the Department of Environmental Quality, upon presentation of credentials, permission to enter the property where the treatment works is located for the purpose of determining compliance with or the suitability of coverage under the General Permit. I certify under penalty of law that this document and all attachments were prepared under my direction or supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person or persons who manage the system or those persons directly responsible for gathering the information, the information submitted is to the best of my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there are significant penalties for submitting false information including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."

The registration statement shall be signed in accordance with the requirements of 9 VAC 25-31-110.

VA.R. Doc. No. R01-224; Filed June 13, 2001, 10:54 a.m.
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