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MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The following regulations filed by the Marine Resources Commission are exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is required to publish the full text of final regulations.

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 20-610. Pertaining to Commercial Fishing and Mandatory Harvest Reporting (amending 4 VAC 20-610-40 and 4 VAC 20-610-60).

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: January 1, 2002.

Summary:

The amendments require (i) all registered commercial fishermen and all holders of seafood landing licenses who harvest nonfederally permitted species from federal waters or who do not sell their harvest to a federally permitted dealer to report their harvest to the commission on a monthly basis; (ii) all registered commercial fishermen and Seafood Landing License holders to report the number of hours worked daily, the number of crew members, and a vessel name and identification number (Coast Guard documentation number or Virginia license number or hull/VIN number); and (iii) any waterman not fishing during any month to report no activity to the commission by postage paid postal card or by toll free telephone line.

Agency Contact: Deborah R. Cawthon, Marine Resources Commission, P.O. Box 756, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-2248.

4 VAC 20-610-40. Registration procedures.

A. Applicants holding a valid Commercial Fisherman Registration License may register during the period December 1 through February 28 of each year as commercial fishermen as follows:

1. The applicant shall complete an application for a Commercial Fisherman Registration License.

2. The applicant shall mail the completed application and $150, or $75 if 70 years old or older during the license year, to the Virginia Marine Resources Commission, P.O. Box 756 2600 Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607-0756 23607.

3. The Commercial Fisherman Registration License will be returned to the applicant by mail upon validation of his application.

B. Persons desiring to enter the commercial fishery and those fishermen failing to register as provided in subdivision A may apply only during December, January or February of each year. All such applications shall be for a delayed registration and shall be made as provided below.

1. The applicant shall complete an application for a Commercial Fisherman Registration License by providing his complete name, mailing address, social security number, birth date, weight, height, eye color, hair color, telephone number of residence, and signature.

2. The applicant shall mail the completed application and $150, or $75 if 70 years old or older during the license year, to the Virginia Marine Resources Commission, P.O. Box 756 2600 Washington Avenue, Newport News, VA 23607-0756 23607.

3. The Commercial Fisherman Registration License will be returned to the applicant by mail two years after the date of receipt of the application by the commission. Notification of any change in the address of the applicant shall be the responsibility of the applicant.

C. No part of the Commercial Fisherman Registration License fee shall be refundable.

D. The Commercial Fisherman Registration License may be renewed annually during the months of December, January or February. Any person failing to renew his license shall be subject to the delay provision of subdivision subsection B of this section.

4 VAC 20-610-60. Mandatory harvest reporting.

A. It shall be unlawful for any person holding a Commercial Fisherman Registration License to fail to fully report their catches and related information as set forth in this chapter.

B. It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman, charter boat captain, head boat captain, commercial fishing pier operator, or owner of a private boat licensed pursuant to §§ 28.2-302.7 through 28.2-302.9 of the Code of Virginia to fail to report recreational catches upon request to those authorized by the commission.

C. All registered commercial fishermen and all holders of a Seafood Landing License shall accurately and legibly complete a daily form accurately and legibly describing that day's harvest from Virginia tidal and federal waters. The forms used to record daily harvest shall be those provided by the commission or another approved by the commission. Registered commercial fishermen may use more than one form when selling to more than one buyer.

D. Registered commercial fishermen shall submit a monthly catch report to the commission no later than the fifth day of the following month. This report shall be accompanied by the daily catch records described in subdivision subsection C of this section. Completed forms shall be mailed or delivered to the commission or other designated locations.

E. The monthly catch report and daily catch records shall include the name and signature of the registered commercial fisherman and his license registration number, buyer or private sale information, date of sale harvest, city or county of landing, water body fished, gear type and amount used, number of hours gear fished, number of hours watermen fished, number of crew on board including captain, species harvested, market category, and live weight or processed weight or species harvested, and vessel identification (Coast Guard documentation number, Virginia license number or hull/VIN number). Any information on the price paid for the catch may be voluntarily provided voluntarily.

F. Registered commercial fishermen not fishing during a calendar year month shall so notify the commission no later than the 5th February 1 of the following year month by postage paid postal card provided by the commission or by calling the commission's toll free telephone line.

G. Any person licensed as a commercial seafood buyer pursuant to § 28.2-228 of the Code of Virginia shall maintain for a period of one year a copy of each fisherman's daily catch record form for each purchase made. Such records shall be made available upon request to those authorized by the commission.

H. Registered commercial fishermen shall maintain their daily catch records for one year and shall make them available upon request to those authorized by the commission.

I. Registered commercial fishermen and licensed seafood buyers shall allow those authorized by the commission to sample catch and seafood products to obtain biological information for scientific and management purposes only. Such sampling shall be conducted in a manner which does not hinder normal business operations.

J. The reporting of oyster harvest and transactions shall be made in accordance with 4 VAC 20-200-10 et seq. and shall be exempted from the procedures described in this section.

K. The reporting of the harvest of federally permitted species from beyond Virginia's tidal waters that are sold to a federally permitted dealer shall be exempt from the procedures described in this section.
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