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STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and any agency which by the Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court of record.

Title of Regulation: 14 VAC 5-390. Rules Governing Insurance Premium Finance Companies (amending 14 VAC 5-390-20, 14 VAC 5-390-30, and 14 VAC 5-390-40).

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: February 1, 2002.

Summary:

The following summarizes the changes made to the Rules Governing Insurance Premium Finance Companies:

1. Payment books, rate charts, and form letters no longer have to be filed with the Bureau of Insurance. In addition, the type-size for forms used by premium finance companies is changed from 10-point to 8-point.

2. Language is added to clarify that all fees charged in connection with the financing of insurance policies must be stated in the premium finance contract.

3. Language is added to clarify that records may be retained in an electronic format, and records maintained by the premium finance company no longer have to be maintained at a single location. In addition, the record retention requirement is changed from two years to three years.

4. The regulation no longer prohibits premium finance companies from requesting cancellation during the first 45 days after the premium finance contract is effective. Language is also changed to clarify that the cancellation notice may be mailed or delivered. In addition, language in the regulation is clarified to say that the cancellation notice may not be mailed to the insurer later than the effective date of cancellation.

5. The time frame for requiring insurers to return gross unearned premiums is from 60 days to 30 days.

6. The regulation clarifies that, after cancellation of the premium finance contract, any outstanding balance may earn interest at a rate no greater than the rate stated in the premium finance contract.

Agency Contact: JoAnne Scott, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9600.

AT RICHMOND, JANUARY 24, 2002

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

At the relation of the

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION

CASE NO. INS010280

Ex Parte: In the matter of

Adopting Revisions to the Rules

Governing Insurance Premium

Finance Companies

ORDER ADOPTING REVISIONS TO RULES

WHEREAS, by order entered herein December 18, 2001, all interested persons were ordered to take notice that the Commission would consider the entry of an order subsequent to January 20, 2002, adopting revisions proposed by the Bureau of Insurance to the Commission's Rules Governing Insurance Premium Finance Companies unless on or before January 20, 2002, any person objecting to the adoption of the proposed revisions filed a request for a hearing with the Clerk of the Commission;

WHEREAS, the Order also required all interested persons to file their comments in support of or in opposition to the proposed revisions on or before January 20, 2002;

WHEREAS, as of the date of this Order, no request for a hearing has been filed with the Clerk of the Commission;

WHEREAS, as of the date of this Order, no comments have been filed with the Clerk of the Commission;

WHEREAS, the Bureau has recommended that the proposed revisions be adopted;

THE COMMISSION, having considered the proposed revisions and the Bureau’s recommendation, is of the opinion that the attached proposed revisions should be adopted;

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED THAT:

(1) The revisions to Chapter 390 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code entitled "Rules Governing Insurance Premium Finance Companies," which amend the rules at 14 VAC 5-390-20 through 14 VAC 5-395-40, and which are attached hereto and made a part hereof, should be, and they are hereby, ADOPTED to be effective February 1, 2002;

(2) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of the Commission to the Bureau of Insurance in care of Deputy Commissioner Mary M. Bannister, who forthwith shall give further notice of the adoption of the revisions to the rules by mailing a copy of this Order, together with a copy of the revised rules, to persons licensed by the Commission to transact the business of an insurance premium finance company in the Commonwealth of Virginia and to all persons licensed by the Commission to transact the business of a property and casualty insurance company in the Commonwealth of Virginia; and by forwarding a copy of this Order, including a copy of the attached revised rules, to the Virginia Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations; and

(3) The Bureau of Insurance shall file with the Clerk of the Commission an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of paragraph (2) above.

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The proposed regulation was adopted as published in 18:9 VA.R. 1186-1191 January 14, 2002, without change. Therefore, pursuant to § 2.2-4031 A of the Code of Virginia, the text of the final regulation is not set out.

VA.R. Doc. No. R02-103; Filed January 31, 2002, 11:12 a.m.
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