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MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The following regulation filed by the Marine Resources Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-2006 A 12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is required to publish the full text of final regulations.

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 20-620. Pertaining to Summer Flounder (amending 4 VAC 20-620-40).

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-204 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: January 31, 2002.

Summary:

The amendments change the commercial vessel possession limits for Summer Flounder to provide for a more equitable distribution of Summer Flounder among industry participants during the first quarter offshore fishery.

Agency Contact: Deborah R. Cawthon, Marine Resources Commission, P.O. Box 756, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-2248.

4 VAC 20-620-40. Commercial vessel possession limitations.

A. From the first Monday in January through the first Sunday in February, it shall be unlawful for any person harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's waters to possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of Summer Flounder in excess of 10% by weight of all other landed species on board the vessel.

A. B. From the first Monday in January February through March 31 of each year, it shall be unlawful for any person harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia waters to do any of the following:

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters an amount of Summer Flounder in excess of 10,000 7,500 pounds.

2. Land Summer Flounder in Virginia for commercial purposes more than twice within each consecutive 10-day period, with the first 10-day period beginning on the first Monday in January February.

3. Land in Virginia more than a total of 10,000 7,500 pounds of Summer Flounder during each consecutive 10-day period, with the first 10-day period beginning on the first Monday in January February.

B. C. When it is projected and announced that 85% of the quota for the period from the first Monday following in January 1 through March 31 has been taken, it shall be unlawful for any person harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's waters to possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of Summer Flounder in excess of 10% by weight of all other landed species on board the vessel.

C. D. During the period of April 1 through June 30 of each calendar year, it shall be unlawful for any person harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's waters to possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of Summer Flounder in excess of 2,500 pounds, except that when it is projected and announced that 85% of the quota for this period has been taken, it shall be unlawful for any person harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's waters to possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of Summer Flounder in excess of 10% by weight of all other landed species on board the vessel.

D. E. During the period of July 1 through October 31 of each calendar year, it shall be unlawful for any person harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia's waters to possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any amount of Summer Flounder in excess of 10% by weight of all other landed species on board the vessel.

E. F. From the first Monday in November through December 31 of each year, it shall be unlawful for any person harvesting Summer Flounder outside of Virginia waters to do any of the following:

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters an amount of Summer Flounder in excess of 7,500 pounds.

2. Land Summer Flounder in Virginia for commercial purposes more than twice within each consecutive 10-day period, with the first 10-day period beginning on the first Monday in November.

3. Land in Virginia more than a total of 7,500 pounds of Summer Flounder during each consecutive 10-day period, with the first 10-day period beginning on the first Monday in November.

F. G. For each of the time periods set forth in subsections A, B, C and , D, E and F of this section, the Marine Resources Commission will give timely notice of any changes in possession limits.

G. H. Each possession limit described in subsections A, B, C, D and , E and F of this section shall be determined by the net weight of Summer Flounder as customarily packed, boxed and weighed by the seafood buyer or processor. The net weight of any Summer Flounder found in excess of this possession limit described in subsections A, B, C, D and , E and F of this section shall be prima facie evidence of violation of this chapter. Persons in possession of Summer Flounder, aboard any vessel, in excess of the possession limit shall be in violation of this chapter. Any buyer or processor offloading or accepting any quantity of Summer Flounder from any vessel in excess of the possession limit shall be in violation of this chapter.

H. I. If a person violates the possession limits described in this section, the entire amount of Summer Flounder in that person's possession shall be confiscated. Any confiscated Summer Flounder shall be considered as a removal from the appropriate commercial harvest or landings quota. Upon confiscation, the marine patrol officer shall inventory the confiscated Summer Flounder and, at a minimum, secure two bids for purchase of the confiscated Summer Flounder from approved and licensed seafood buyers. The confiscated fish will be sold to the highest bidder and all funds derived from such sale shall be deposited for the Commonwealth pending court resolution of the charge of violating the possession limits established by this chapter. All of the collected funds will be returned to the accused upon a finding of innocence or forfeited to the Commonwealth upon a finding of guilty.

I. J. It shall be unlawful for a licensed seafood buyer or federally permitted seafood buyer to fail to contact the Marine Resources Commission Operation Station prior to a vessel offloading Summer Flounder harvested outside of Virginia. The buyer shall provide to the Marine Resources Commission the name of the vessel and its captain and the anticipated or approximate offloading time. Once offloading of any vessel is complete and the weight of the landed Summer Flounder has been determined, the buyer shall contact the Marine Resources Commission Operations Station and report the vessel name and corresponding weight of Summer Flounder landed. It shall be unlawful for any person to offload from a boat or vessel for commercial purposes any Summer Flounder during the period of 10 p.m. to 7 a.m.

J. K. Any boat or vessel possessing more than the lawful limit of Summer Flounder that has entered Virginia waters for safe harbor shall not offload any Summer Flounder.

K. L. After any commercial harvest or landing quota as described in 4 VAC 20-620-30 has been attained and announced as such, any boat or vessel possessing Summer Flounder on board may enter Virginia waters for safe harbor but shall contact the Marine Resources Commission Operation Center in advance of such entry into Virginia waters.
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