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STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Title of Regulation: 22 VAC 40-880. Child Support Enforcement Program (amending 22 VAC 40-880-10, 22 VAC 40-880-30, 22 VAC 40-880-60, 22 VAC 40-880-80, 22 VAC 40-880-110, 22 VAC 40-880-120, 22 VAC 40-880-130, 22 VAC 40-880-170, 22 VAC 40-880-190, 22 VAC 40-880-200 through 22 VAC 40-880-300, 22 VAC 40-880-320, 22 VAC 40-880-330, 22 VAC 40-880-340, 22 VAC 40-880-360, 22 VAC 40-880-380, 22 VAC 40-880-410, 22 VAC 40-880-430, 22 VAC 40-880-440, 22 VAC 40-880-480 through 22 VAC 40-880-520, 22 VAC 40-880-550, 22 VAC 40-880-560, 22 VAC 40-880-650, 22 VAC 40-880-670, 22 VAC 40-880-680, and 22 VAC 40-880-700; adding 22 VAC 40-880-385 and 22 VAC 40-880-720).

Statutory Authority: § 63.1-25 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: April 24, 2002.

Summary:

The amendments make the regulation consistent with new state and federal legislation and make changes to accurately reflect current policies and procedures.

More specifically, the changes (i) clarify that the department may request DMV to suspend or refuse to renew the driver's license of a person who fails to comply with a subpoena, summons, or warrant relating to paternity or child support proceedings; (ii) provide that when a putative father does not sign a sworn statement of paternity or does not voluntarily submit to genetic blood testing, the department shall order the putative father to submit to genetic testing; (iii) provide that all child support orders include a provision for medical support if the coverage is available at a reasonable cost; (iv) provide for additional enforcement remedies including interest, license suspension, financial institution data match, and high-volume administrative enforcement when possible for interstate cases; (v) allow electronic transmission of income withholding order on the employer; (vi) incorporate federal requirements that liens arise by operation of law; (vii) add enforcement remedies when an obligor is delinquent in the payment of child support by a period of 90 days or more or for $5,000 or more; (viii) provide that the department shall release information concerning the noncustodial parent to consumer credit agencies; (ix) provide that when a protective order has been issued or the department otherwise finds reason to believe that a party is at risk of physical or emotional harm from the other party, information other than the name of the party at risk shall not be released; and (x) provide that the department may require advance payment for subsequent genetic testing when the original results are contested.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response:  A summary of comments made by the public and the agency's response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact: Bill Brownfield, Department of Social Services, 730 East Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-2401, FAX (804) 692-2401 or e-mail whb900@dss.state.va.us.

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE:  The proposed regulation was adopted as published in 18:4 VA.R. 572-585 November 5, 2001, with the erratum incorporated as published in 18:7 VA.R. 1064 December 17, 2001, and with the change identified below. Pursuant to § 2.2-4031 A of the Code of Virginia, the text of the final regulation is not published at length; however, the section that has changed since publication of the proposed and erratum are set out.

22 VAC 40‑880‑190. Administrative establishment of a child support obligation.

A. The department has statutory authority to establish child support obligations through noncourt ordered, legally enforceable administrative means child support orders. These administrative obligations orders have the same force and effect as a support obligation order established by the court. These administrative orders shall contain the information listed in § 63.1-252.1 of the Code of Virginia.
A. B. The amount of child support that is owed and the frequency with which it is paid must be established before the payment of child support can be enforced.

B. C. The administrative order shall be called the administrative support order.

C. The department shall use administrative rather than judicial means to establish the child support obligation whenever possible.

D. The department shall use the administrative means support order to establish a temporary child support obligation when judicial determinations of support are pending due to custody and visitation issues.

E. Within 90 calendar days of locating the absent putative father or noncustodial parent, or of establishing paternity [ and ] except as shown in subsection H of this section, the department shall attempt to either ensure that establish an administrative child support order or petition the court to serve the putative father or noncustodial parent to establish a child support obligation is established, or shall diligently attempt to complete the service of process necessary for an obligation to be ordered.

F. When a court dismisses a petition for a support order without prejudice or an administrative hearings officer overrules an administrative support action, the department shall examine the reasons for the dismissal or overruling and to determine when or if it would be further action is appropriate to seek an order in the future.

G. The child support obligation is established when an administrative support order has been served and the 10‑day appeal period for the administrative order has elapsed.

H. A child support obligation shall not be established when the obligor is receiving Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or General Relief (GR) benefits.

VA.R. Doc. No. R99-87; Filed February 22, 2002, 2:19 p.m.
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