EMERGENCY REGULATIONS

Emergency Regulations

Emergency Regulations


VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD

Title of Regulation: 9 VAC 20‑60. Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations (amending 9 VAC 20‑60‑1285).

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402(11) and 10.1-1426 et seq. of the Code of Virginia, 42 USC 6921 et seq., and 40 CFR Parts 260-272.

Effective Dates: July 1, 2002, through June 30, 2003.
Preamble:

Chapter 14 of the 2002 Acts of Assembly requires the Waste Management Board to promulgate regulations, within 280 days of the enactment of the statute, establishing a fee schedule sufficient to cover no more than 20% of the direct cost of the hazardous and solid waste management programs based on the allocations made to these programs in the 2002 Appropriation Act. The individual permit fees may not increase more than 300%.

Substance: Under this emergency regulation, each permit fee is multiplied by three in order to establish the new permit fee. The regulatory action assures that adequate funds are available to allow the continuation of permitting activities ensuring the protection of human health and the environment. The final regulation will address the appropriate role of the regulation in funding the hazardous waste program.

Agency Contact: Robert G. Wickline, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4213 or e-mail rgwickline@deq.state.va.us.

9 VAC 20‑60‑1285. Permit application fee schedule.

(The effective date of this fee schedule is October 1, 1984 July 2, 2002.)

A. Transporter fees.

Transporters with terminals or other facilities within the Commonwealth.
$80 420

Other transporters.
$120 360

B. New TSD facility fees.

Base fee for all facilities, including corrective action for solid waste management units.
$9,720 29,160

Supplementary fee for one or more land‑based TSD units, including corrective action for solid waste management units. 
$22,590 67,770

Supplementary fee for one or more incineration, boiler, or industrial furnace units (BIF).
$14,490 43,470

C. Major (Class 3) Permit modification fees.

Base fee for all major (Class 3) modifications, including major changes related to corrective action for solid waste management unit. 
$50 150

Addition of new wastes. 
$1,330 3,990

Addition of or major (Class 3) change to one or more land‑based TSD units, including major change related to corrective action for land‑based solid waste management units.
$25,920 77,760

Addition of or major (Class 3) change to one or more incineration, boiler, or industrial furnace units.

$19,430 58,290

Addition of or major (Class 3) change to other treatment, storage or disposal units, processes or areas and major change related to corrective action for solid waste management units that are not land based.
$8,080 24,240

Substantive changes (Class 2). 
$1,330 3,990

D. Minor (Class 1) permit modification fees.

Minor (Class 1) permit modification fee.
$50 150

E. Emergency permit fees.

Emergency permit fee.
$1,330 3,990

Illustrative Examples (Note: from July 1, 2002 until June 30, 2003, the fee amounts in the examples below should be tripled in order to calculate the required fee.

Example 1.

The applicant is submitting a Part B application for a HWM permit for a facility consisting of several surface impoundments, a land treatment process and an ancillary tank and container storage facility. The required fee is calculated as follows:

Base Fee. 
$9,720

Supplementary fee for land‑based TSD units. 
$22,590

Tank storage facility (see 9 VAC 20‑60‑1270 C 4). 
$0


‑‑‑‑‑‑‑

Total fee. 
$32,310

Example 2.

After a HWM facility permit has been issued to the facility described in Example 1, the owner and the operator of the facility propose to change the manufacturing process and apply for a modification to allow for an addition of several new hazardous streams to be treated in two new incinerators. The required modification fee is calculated from subsection C of this section as follows:

Base fee. 
$50

Addition of new wastes. 
$1,330

Addition of new incineration units. 
$19,430


‑‑‑‑‑‑‑

Total modification fee. 
$20,810

The fee for a comparable new permit calculated on the basis of subsection B of this section is as follows:

Base fee. 
$9,720

Supplementary fee for land‑based units. 
$22,590

Supplementary fee for incineration units. 
$14,490

Storage facility. 
$0


‑‑‑‑‑‑‑

Total fee. 
$46,800

which is larger than the required modification fee, so that the provisions of 9 VAC 20‑60‑1270 D 7 do not apply and the proper fee is $20,810.

Example 3.

After a HWM facility permit has been issued to the facility described in Example 1, the owner and the operator of the facility propose to expand their container storage facility for a storage of additional new waste streams, and apply for a permit modification. The required modification fee is calculated from subsection C of this section as follows:

Base fee. 
$50

Addition of a new waste. 
$1,330

Fee for nonsubstantive change. 
$1,330


‑‑‑‑‑‑

Total modification fee. 
$2,710

/s/ Mark R. Warner

Governor

Date: June 4, 2002
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