EMERGENCY REGULATIONS

Emergency Regulations

Emergency Regulations


BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 15-380. Watercraft: Motorboat Numbering (adding 4 VAC 15-380-120; repealing 4 VAC 15-380-60).

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-701 of the Code of Virginia; Item 392 of Chapter 899 of the 2002 Virginia Acts of Assembly.

Effective Dates: July 1, 2002, through June 30, 2003.
Preamble:

The emergency regulation is necessary to limit the fiscal year 2002-2003 shortfall between boating program revenue and costs to approximately $1.425 million, as opposed to more than $2.4 million. The projected shortfall results from a 2002 Appropriation Act reduction of $2.8 million of Watercraft Sales and Use Tax revenue from the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries’ fiscal year 2002-2003 appropriation. Reducing the shortfall between program revenue and program costs allows the department to sustain boating law enforcement, safety education, and related programs at a level at least sufficient to protect the boating public’s basic safety and welfare on the waters of the Commonwealth.

Item 392 of the Appropriation Act, Chapter 899 of the 2002 Virginia Acts of Assembly at pages 326-327 authorizes the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries "to issue emergency regulations to enact an increase in motorboat registration fees."

Outside of this emergency regulation process the regulation is otherwise normally promulgated pursuant to procedures set out in §§  29.1-500 and 29.1-701 E et seq. of the Code of Virginia.

The emergency regulation increases motorboat registration fees by up to nine dollars per three-year registration, as per the 2002 Appropriation Act authorization, and repeals the existing fee and process requirements for duplicate certificates of number currently stated in regulation.

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst and Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-1000, FAX (804) 367-2311, or e-mail dgifweb@dgif.state.va.us.

4 VAC 15‑380‑60. Application for duplicate certificate of number. (Repeal.)

In the event of loss, a duplicate certificate of number may be applied for on a form to be provided by the department, accompanied by a fee of $.50. Not more than one certificate for a motorboat number may be in existence at any time.

4 VAC 15-380-120. Certificate of registration fees.

Pursuant to Item 392 of the Appropriation Act, Chapter 899 of the 2002 Virginia Acts of Assembly, at pages 326-327, which states, "The Department shall prepare an analysis comparing the revenue derived from boat registration fees to the costs of implementing the programs and activities authorized under the state’s boating laws. If the costs exceed the revenues, the Board of Game and Inland Fisheries, at its discretion, is authorized to increase motorboat registration fees by an amount not to exceed nine dollars per certificate. The Department of Game and Inland Fisheries shall have the authority to issue emergency regulations to enact an increase in motorboat registration fees." After a finding by the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries that the department’s cost of implementing the programs and activities authorized under the boating laws of the Commonwealth in fiscal year 2001 was $7,402,000, exceeding the $2,011,000 in revenues derived from sales of motorboat certificates of registration, the following fee structure is implemented effective July 1, 2002, as an emergency regulation of the department and shall be paid by applicants for certificates of registration.

For a motorboat under 16 feet
$27

For a motorboat 16 feet to less than 20 feet
$31

For a motorboat 20 feet to less than 40 feet
$37

For a motorboat 40 feet and over
$45

For first 10 actively registered motorboats

by the same owner
$27

For more than 10 actively registered 

motorboats by the same owner
$21

For a duplicate certificate of registration and/or decal
$9

/s/ Mark R. Warner

Governor

Date: June 26, 2002
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