EMERGENCY REGULATIONS

Emergency Regulations


BOARD OF MEDICINE

Title of Regulation: Voluntary Practice by Out-of-State Licensees.

18 VAC 85-20. Regulations Governing the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathy, Podiatry, and Chiropractic (adding 18 VAC 85-20-225).

18 VAC 85-40. Regulations Governing the Practice of Respiratory Care Practitioners (adding 18 VAC 85-40-55).

18 VAC 85-80. Regulations Governing the Licensure of Occupational Therapists (adding 18 VAC 85-80-65).

18 VAC 85-101. Regulations Governing the Licensure of Radiologic Technologists and Radiologic Technologists-Limited (adding 18 VAC 85-101-145).

18 VAC 85-110. Regulations Governing the Practice of Licensed Acupuncturists (adding 18 VAC 85-110-145).

18 VAC 85-120. Regulations Governing the Certification of Athletic Trainers (adding 18 VAC 85-120-85).

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2901 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Dates: July 19, 2002, through July 18, 2003.
Preamble:

Chapter 740 of the 2002 Acts of Assembly mandates that the board promulgate regulations within 280 days for an out-of-state practitioner to be exempt from licensure or certification to volunteer his services to a nonprofit organization that has no paid employees and offers health care to underprivileged populations throughout the world. Regulations set forth the information and documentation that must be provided prior to such service to ensure compliance with the statute.

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board of Medicine, 6606 W. Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-7423, FAX (804) 662-9943 or e-mail william.harp@dhp.state.va.us.

18 VAC 85-20-225. Registration for voluntary practice by out-of-state licensees.

Any doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry or chiropractic who does not hold a license to practice in Virginia and who seeks registration to practice under § 54.1-2901 (27) of the Code of Virginia on a voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported, all volunteer, nonprofit organization with no paid employees that sponsors the provision of health care to populations of underserved people throughout the world shall:

1. File a complete application for registration on a form provided by the board at least 15 days prior to engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will not be considered;

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any current license;

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates and location of the voluntary provision of services;

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and 

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with provisions of § 54.1-2901 (27) of the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 85-40-55. Registration for voluntary practice by out-of-state licensees.

Any respiratory care practitioner who does not hold a license to practice in Virginia and who seeks registration to practice under § 54.1-2901 (27) of the Code of Virginia on a voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported, all volunteer, nonprofit organization with no paid employees that sponsors the provision of health care to populations of underserved people throughout the world shall:

1. File a complete application for registration on a form provided by the board at least 15 days prior to engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will not be considered;

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any current license;

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates and location of the voluntary provision of services;

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and 

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with provisions of § 54.1-2901 (27) of the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 85-80-65. Registration for voluntary practice by out-of-state licensees.

Any occupational therapist who does not hold a license to practice in Virginia and who seeks registration to practice under § 54.1-2901 (27) of the Code of Virginia on a voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported, all volunteer, nonprofit organization with no paid employees that sponsors the provision of health care to populations of underserved people throughout the world shall:

1. File a complete application for registration on a form provided by the board at least 15 days prior to engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will not be considered;

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any current license;

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates and location of the voluntary provision of services;

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and 

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with provisions of § 54.1-2901 (27) of the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 85-101-145. Registration for voluntary practice by out-of-state licensees.

Any radiologic technologist or radiologic technologist-limited who does not hold a license to practice in Virginia and who seeks registration to practice under § 54.1-2901 (27) of the Code of Virginia on a voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported, all volunteer, nonprofit organization with no paid employees that sponsors the provision of health care to populations of underserved people throughout the world shall:

1. File a complete application for registration on a form provided by the board at least 15 days prior to engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will not be considered;

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any current license;

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates and location of the voluntary provision of services;

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with provisions of § 54.1-2901 (27) of the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 85-110-145. Registration for voluntary practice by out-of-state licensees.

Any licensed acupuncturist who does not hold a license to practice in Virginia and who seeks registration to practice under § 54.1-2901 (27) of the Code of Virginia on a voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported, all volunteer, nonprofit organization with no paid employees that sponsors the provision of health care to populations of underserved people throughout the world shall:

1. File a complete application for registration on a form provided by the board at least 15 days prior to engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will not be considered;

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any current license;

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates and location of the voluntary provision of services;

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and 

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with provisions of § 54.1-2901 (27) of the Code of Virginia.

18 VAC 85-120-85. Registration for voluntary practice by out-of-state trainers.

Any athletic trainer who does not hold a certificate to practice in Virginia and who seeks registration to practice under § 54.1-2901 (27) of the Code of Virginia on a voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported, all volunteer, nonprofit organization with no paid employees that sponsors the provision of health care to populations of underserved people throughout the world shall:

1. File a complete application for registration on a form provided by the board at least 15 days prior to engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will not be considered;

2. Provide a complete record of professional certification or licensure in each state in which he has held a certificate or license and a copy of any current certificate or license;

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates and location of the voluntary provision of services;

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and 

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with provisions of § 54.1-2901 (27) of the Code of Virginia.

NOTICE: For the purpose of this emergency regulation, the following two forms are being added to the forms lists used in administering the following chapters: 18 VAC 85-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathy, Podiatry, and Chiropractic; 18 VAC 85-40, Regulations Governing the Practice of Respiratory Care Practitioners; 18 VAC 85-80, Regulations Governing the Licensure of Occupational Therapists; 18 VAC 85-101, Regulations Governing the Licensure of Radiologic Technologists and Radiologic Technologists-Limited; 18 VAC 85-110, Regulations Governing the Practice of Licensed Acupuncturists; and 18 VAC 85-120, Regulations Governing the Certification of Athletic Trainers. The new forms are identical to those shown following the emergency regulation amending 18 VAC 60-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene, in this issue and are not reprinted here.

FORMS

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (eff. 7/02).

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (eff. 7/02).

/s/ Mark R. Warner

Governor

Date: July 18, 2002

VA.R. Doc. No. R02-277; Filed July 19, 2002, 10:47 a.m.
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