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Proposed Regulations


BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 125-20. Regulations Governing the Practice of Psychology (amending 18 VAC 125-20-30, 18 VAC 125-20-120, 18 VAC 125-20-121, and 18 VAC 125-20-130).

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-113 and 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.
Public Hearing Date: October 8, 2002 - 9:45 a.m.
Public comments may be submitted until November 8, 2002.

(See Calendar of Events section

for additional information)

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 6606 W. Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9918, FAX (804) 662-9114 or e-mail elaine.yeatts@dhp.state.va.us.
Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards including the responsibility to promulgate regulations and levy fees.

The specific statutory mandate for an increase in fees is found in § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia.

Purpose: Section 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia requires that at the end of each biennium, an analysis of revenues and expenditures of each regulatory board shall be performed. It is necessary that each board have sufficient revenue to cover its expenditures, and it has been in a deficit since 1998. It is projected that by the close of the 2000-2002 biennium, the deficit will have grown to ($146,872) and that the deficit will continue through the next biennium. Since the fees from licensees have not been sufficient funds to pay operating expenses for the board, a fee increase is essential.

The purpose of the proposed amendments is to establish fees sufficient to cover the administrative and disciplinary activities of the board. Without adequate funding, the licensing of practitioners and registration of residencies to provide training for those seeking to become psychologists could be delayed. Sufficient funding is essential to continue the investigation of complaints and disciplinary proceedings against practitioners who are accused of substandard care, sexual exploitation or other violations of law and regulation in order to protect the public health and safety.

Substance: Section 30 is being amended to comply with a statutory mandate for the board to provide sufficient funding to cover expenses related to application approval, licensing, investigations and disciplinary proceedings. The renewal schedule changes from biennial to annual with the fee for clinical psychologists, applied psychologists and school psychologists increased from $225 each biennium to $140 per year and for school psychologists-limited from $100 biennially to $70 annually. There would also be a one-time renewal fee due by June 30, 2003, to reduce the deficit so the board could begin to bring its revenue and expenditures into balance.  Fees for late renewal and inactive licensure would also be increased proportionately. Application fees and other miscellaneous fees are not changed.

Other sections are amended to reflect the change from a biennial to an annual renewal so the renewal schedule will be set on a fixed date of June 30 rather than a rolling renewal based on the birth month of the licensees. Regulations for continuing education are amended to require at least 14 hours each year (rather than 28 each biennium) with a minimum of 1.5 hours in professional ethics, standards of practice or laws governing the practice of psychology. Regulations for reinstatement are amended to allow late renewal within one renewal cycle, for one year rather than two, after which a licensee must be reinstated.

Issues: While fee increases proposed by the Board of Psychology should have no specific disadvantage to the consuming public, there is some concern that the number of psychologists is dropping. According to persons in the profession, there are several causes for the decrease in supply of psychologists, especially clinical psychologists, relating primarily to difficulty faced in getting reimbursements from third-party payors and the prevalence of similar professions who provide counseling and therapy. In some states, clinical psychologists have been granted prescribing privileges, which would distinguish them from other nonmedical mental health providers, but there has been no move to do so in Virginia thus far. While the increased fee will not enhance the prospects for increasing the number of licensees, the board does not believe that licensure fees alone will result in a reduction in the number of applicants for licensure or the number of licensed persons available to provide psychological services to the public. It is also not anticipated that the proposed fee increases will have any effect on fees charged to consumers.

There would be disadvantages to the public if the board took no action to address its deficit by increasing its fees to cover expenses. The only alternative currently available under the Code of Virginia would be a reduction in services and staff, which would result in delays in licensing applicants who would be unable to work and delays in approval or disapproval of residencies. Potentially, the most serious consequence would be a reduction in or reprioritization of disciplinary cases handled by the department and the board. There could be delays in adjudicating cases of substandard practice or sexual exploitation, resulting in potential danger to patients in the Commonwealth.

Practitioners licensed by the board will experience increased renewal fees under the proposed regulations. While that is a disadvantage to the licensees, the alternative of reduced services for the board would be unacceptable to applicants, residents, licensees and the general public. As a special-fund agency, renewal fees pay the vast majority of the expenses of board operations, which include investigation of complaints, adjudication of disciplinary cases, review and approval of applicants, verification of licensure and education to other jurisdictions and entities, and communications with licensees about current practice and regulation.

As is stated above, the consequence of not increasing fees of the board would be a reduction in services and staff, resulting in delays in licensing, reductions or delays in the cases investigated and brought through administrative proceedings to a hearing before the board. The fees charged to applicants and licensees solely fund the board and the Department of Health Professions. If higher fees are not adopted, the agency would have to cut its staff, both within the Board of Psychology and within other divisions of the Department of Health Professions.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 G of the Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 25 (98). Section 2.2-4007 G requires that such economic impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private property. The analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation. The proposed regulation increases various fees paid by licensed psychologists to the Board of Psychology. The purpose of these fee increases is to bring the board into compliance with the board’s interpretation of § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia. Section 54.1-113 requires all regulatory boards under the Department of Health Professions to revise their fee schedules if, after the close of any biennium, there is more than a 10 percent difference between revenues and expenditures. The proposed fee changes are as follows:

Clinical Psychologists, Applied Psychologists, School Psychologists

1. The renewal fee for an active license will change from $225 biennially to $140 annually;

2. Renewal of an inactive license will change from $115 biennially to $70 annually;

3. The penalty for late renewal of a license will change from $80 to $50; and

4. A one-time debt reduction fee in 2003 of $50 for active licensees and $25 for inactive licensees will be charged.

School Psychologists-Limited

1. The renewal fee for an active license will change from $100 biennially to $70 annually;

2. Renewal of an inactive license will change from $50 biennially to $35 annually;

3. The penalty for late renewal of a license will change from $35 to $25; and

4. A one-time debt reduction fee in 2003 of $25 for active licensees and $15 for inactive licensees will be charged.

The proposed regulation also revises references to the renewal due date, late renewals, and continuing education requirements to reflect the change from a biennial to an annual renewal cycle.

Estimated economic impact. For the past several years, expenditures of the Board of Psychology have exceeded revenue, in spite of a fee increase in 1999. The agency cites increases in staff salaries and benefits, expenses associated with new data systems and the health practitioner intervention program, a delay in the previous fee increase, and declines in the number of licensees, as factors contributing to the rising expenditures. Under the current fee structure, the Board of Psychology projects a deficit of $160,000 for the 2002-2004 biennium.1 The level of the proposed fee increases is based on revenue and expenditure projections prepared by DHP for the Board of Psychology. The proposed amounts were selected such that projected revenues would be sufficient to cover projected expenditures but would not result in anything more than a modest surplus.

The effect of the new fee schedule will be an increase in application and licensure costs for all psychologists licensed in Virginia. Specifically, renewal fees paid by psychologists will increase by approximately $60,000 per year. The one-time debt reduction fee will generate approximately $110,000 in 2003. According to DHP, the proposed fee increases are necessary to cover the administrative and disciplinary activities of the Board of Psychology. Sufficient funding is essential to prevent a delay in application processing, license renewals, and the investigation of complaints and disciplinary proceedings against practitioners who are accused of substandard care or violations of law and regulation, in order to protect the public health and safety of recipients of psychology services in Virginia.

Although the total increase in compliance costs is substantial, from an individual perspective these fees represent a very small portion of the total cost of entry into the psychology profession (e.g., the total cost of entry includes all education and training expenses). The recent decline in the number of psychologists, especially clinical psychologists, is of concern. However, according to persons in the profession, the root causes of this decline include the difficulty faced in getting reimbursements from third-party payers and the prevalence of similar professions who provide counseling and therapy. While the increased fee will not enhance the prospects for increasing the number of licensees, the board does not believe that licensure fees alone will result in a reduction in the number of applicants for licensure or the number of licensed persons available to provide clinical psychology services to the public. The proposed fee changes, therefore, are unlikely to have a significant effect on the decision of individuals to enter or exit this profession. For this reason, the proposed regulatory changes should have no economic consequences beyond the anticipated increase in licensing costs.

Businesses and entities affected. There are currently 2,035 clinical psychologists, 54 applied psychologists, 112 school psychologists, and 27 school psychologists-limited licensed by the Board of Psychology in Virginia.

Localities particularly affected. The proposed fee changes will not affect any particular localities since they apply statewide.

Projected impact on employment. Since the application and licensure renewal fees represent a very small portion of the total cost of entry into the psychology profession, no significant impact on employment in Virginia is expected.

Effects on the use and value of private property. The proposed fee changes are not expected to have any significant effects on the use and value of private property in Virginia.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of Psychology concurs with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget for amendments to 18 VAC 125-20 for an increase in fees charged to licensees.

Summary:

Amendments to the regulation increase certain fees for the regulants of the board, including clinical psychologists, applied psychologists, school psychologists and school psychologists-limited, as necessary to provide sufficient funding for the licensing and disciplinary functions of the board. The renewal fee for clinical psychologists, applied psychologists, and school psychologists increases from $225 each biennium to $140 per year and for a school psychologist-limited from $100 biennially to $70 annually. There is also a one-time debt-reduction fee in 2003 to reduce the deficit so the board can begin to bring its revenue and expenditures into balance.

18 VAC 125‑20‑30. Fees required by the board.

A. The board has established fees for the following:


Applied


psychologists,


Clinical


psychologists,
School


School
psychologists-


psychologists
limited

1. Registration of residency
$50

(per residency request)

2. Add or change supervisor
$25

3. Application processing and
$200
$85

initial licensure

4. Biennial Annual renewal 
$225 140
$100 70
of active license

5. Biennial Annual renewal of
$115 70
$50 35

inactive license

6. Late renewal
$80 50
$35 25

7. Verification of license to
$25
$25

another jurisdiction

8. Duplicate license
$5
$5

9. Additional or replacement
$15
$15

wall certificate

10. Returned check
$25
$25

11. Reinstatement of a lapsed
$270
$125

license

12. Reinstatement following
$500
$500

revocation or suspension

13. One-time debt reduction due on 
$50
$25
June 30, 2003, for holders of an 

active license
14. One-time debt reduction due on 
$25
$15
June 30, 2003, for holders of an 

inactive license
B. The fee for review of a continuing education provider seeking board approval shall be $200.

C. Fees shall be paid by check or money order made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia and forwarded to the board. All fees are nonrefundable.

D. Examination fees shall be established and made payable as determined by the board.

18 VAC 125‑20‑120. Biennial Annual renewal of licensure.

Effective January 1, 2004, every license issued by the board shall expire on the last day of the licensee's birth month of each even‑numbered year on June 30.

1. Every licensee who intends to continue to practice shall, on or before the expiration date of the license, submit to the board a license renewal application on forms supplied by the board and the renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC 125‑20‑30.

2. Beginning with the 2004 renewal, licensees who wish to maintain an active license shall pay the appropriate fee and verify on the renewal form compliance with the continuing education requirements prescribed in 18 VAC 125‑20‑121. First‑time licensees are not required to verify continuing education on the first renewal date following initial licensure.

3. A licensee who wishes to place his license in inactive status may do so upon payment of the fee prescribed in 18 VAC 125‑20‑30. No person shall practice psychology in Virginia unless he holds a current active license. An inactive licensee may activate his license by fulfilling the reactivation requirements set forth in 18 VAC 125‑20‑130.

4. Licensees shall notify the board office in writing of any change of address. Failure of a licensee to receive a renewal notice and application forms from the board shall not excuse the licensee from the renewal requirement.

18 VAC 125‑20‑121. Continuing education course requirements for renewal of an active license.

A. After January 1, 2004, licensees shall be required to have completed a minimum of 14 hours of board‑approved continuing education courses each year for a total of 28 hours for each biennial annual licensure renewal. A minimum of three 1.5 of these hours shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, standards of practice or laws governing the profession of psychology in Virginia.

B. For the purpose of this section, "course" means an organized program of study, classroom experience or similar educational experience that is directly related to the practice of psychology and is provided by a board‑approved provider that meets the criteria specified in 18 VAC 125‑20‑122. At least half of the required hours shall be earned in face‑to‑face educational experiences.

C. Courses must be directly related to the scope of practice in the category of licensure held. Continuing education courses for clinical psychologists shall emphasize, but not be limited to, the diagnosis, treatment and care of patients with moderate and severe mental disorders.

D. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to one year for the completion of continuing education requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing education requirement.

E. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the continuing education requirements for one renewal cycle due to circumstances determined by the board to be beyond the control of the licensee.

18 VAC 125‑20‑130. Late renewal; reinstatement; reactivation.

A. A person whose license has expired may renew it within two years one year after its expiration date by paying the penalty fee prescribed in 18 VAC 125‑20‑30 and the license renewal fee for the biennium year the license was not renewed.

B. A person whose license has not been renewed for two years one year or more and who wishes to resume practice shall:

1. Present evidence to the board of having met all applicable continuing education requirements equal to the number of years the license has lapsed, not to exceed four years;

2. Pay the reinstatement fee as prescribed in 18 VAC 125‑20‑30; and

3. Submit verification of any professional certification or licensure obtained in any other jurisdiction subsequent to the initial application for licensure.

C. A psychologist wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall submit the renewal fee for active licensure minus any fee already paid for inactive licensure renewal, and document completion of continued competency hours equal to the number of years the license has been inactive, not to exceed four years.

VA.R. Doc. No. R02-25; Filed August 7, 2002, 12:15 p.m.

1 This figure reflects the difference of the projected FY2002-2004 expenditures ($653,159) and the projected revenue under the current fee structure ($640,450) added to the beginning balance of -$146,872.
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