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BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is involved.

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 5-21. Board of Accountancy Regulations (amending 18 VAC 5-21-20).

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-4403, 54.1-4409, and 54.1-4422 A of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: February 28, 2003.

Summary:

The amendment adds a $25 fee for an initial application for the Uniform CPA Examination. This application fee is restricted to those initially applying for examination, and is not to be assessed on those seeking re-examination. The board deemed this fee necessary to cover the costs for the work performed by Board of Accountancy staff to assist in the processing of applications for examination.

Agency Contact: Nancy Taylor Feldman, Executive Director, Board of Accountancy, 3600 W. Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8505, FAX (804) 367-2174 or e-mail boa@boa.state.va.us.

18 VAC 5‑21‑20. Fees.

A. All fees are nonrefundable and the date of receipt by the board or its agent is the date that will be used to determine whether it is on time.

B. The following fees shall apply:

Initial examination application fee
$25

Original CPA certificate application
$24

CPA certificate by endorsement application
$24

Registration certificate application
$24

CPA certificate renewal
$24

Registration certificate renewal
$24

CPA certificate late renewal
$25

Registration certificate late renewal
$25

CPA certificate reinstatement
$60

Registration certificate reinstatement
$60

Noninteractive processing fee
$ 5

If the renewal fee is not received by the board within 30 days after the expiration date printed on the CPA certificate or the registration certificate, the regulant shall pay the renewal and the late renewal fees. Regulants applying for reinstatement shall pay all unpaid renewal fees in addition to the late renewal and the reinstatement fees.

C. The late filing fee for CPA certificate holders who fail to complete or report their CPE as required by this chapter shall be:

1. If received by the board up to four months late, $25.

2. If received by the board more than four months late but not more than six months late, $50.

3. If received by the board more than six months late, $75.

D. The fee for a replacement wall certificate shall be $25.

E. A fee of $25 will be charged in addition to the fees established in this section for submitting a check to the board which is dishonored by the institution upon which it is drawn.

F. A noninteractive processing fee will be assessed when the online payment option is not chosen by the applicant or regulant.

G. The fee for the examination provided for in 18 VAC 5‑21‑30 C shall consist of the contract charges. An administrative fee of $25 will be assessed at the time of initial application for examination. No administrative fee will be assessed for re-examination. Examination service contracts shall be established through competitive negotiation in compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2‑4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). The examination fee shall not exceed $1,000.
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