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BOARD OF DENTISTRY

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 60‑20. Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene (amending 18 VAC 60‑20‑20 and 18 VAC 60‑20‑30).

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-113 and 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: February 26, 2003.

Summary:

The amendments revise the fee schedule for the regulants of the Board of Dentistry. For example, the annual renewal free for a dentist is increased from $100 to $150 and for a dental hygienist from $40 to $50. Although most other fees are increased correspondingly, some fees are reduced, for example, the application fee for licensure as a dental hygienist is reduced from $160 to $135 and the maximum reinstatement fees are reduced for dentists and dental hygienists.

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response: A summary of comments made by the public and the agency's response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations.

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9918, FAX (804) 662-9114 or e-mail elaine.yeatts@dhp.state.va.us.
18 VAC 60‑20‑20. License renewal and reinstatement.

A. Renewal fees. Every person holding an active or inactive license, a full‑time faculty license, or a restricted volunteer license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before March 31, renew his license. Every person holding a teacher's license or a temporary permit to practice dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before June 30, renew his license.

1. The fee for renewal of an active license or permit to practice or teach dentistry shall be $100 for dentists $150, and $40 for dental hygienists the fee for renewal of an active license or permit to practice or teach dental hygiene shall be $50.

2. The fee for renewal of an inactive license shall be $65 $75 for dentists and $25 for dental hygienists.

3. The fee for renewal of a restricted volunteer license shall be $15.

B. [ Penalty Late ] fees. Any person who does not return the completed form and fee by the deadline required in subsection A of this section shall be required to pay an additional [ penalty late ] fee of $50 for dentists and $35 $20 for dental hygienists. The board shall renew a license if the renewal form, renewal fee, and [ penalty late ] fee are received within 30 days one year of the deadline required in subsection A of this section.

C. Reinstatement fees and procedures. The license of any person who does not return the completed renewal form and fees within 30 days of by the deadline required in subsection A of this section shall automatically expire and become invalid and his practice of dentistry/dental hygiene shall be illegal. Upon such expiration, the board shall immediately notify the affected person of the expiration and the reinstatement procedures.
1. Any person whose license has expired [ for more than one year and ] who wishes to reinstate such license shall submit to the board a reinstatement application, the renewal fee and the penalty reinstatement fee of $50 $225 for dentists and $35 $135 for dental hygienists per month for each month or part of a month the license has been expired for a maximum amount of $600 for dentists and $420 for dental hygienists.

2. Practicing in Virginia with an expired license may subject the licensee to disciplinary action and additional fines by the board.

3. The executive director shall may reinstate such expired license provided that the applicant can demonstrate continuing competence, that no grounds exist pursuant to § 54.1‑2706 of the Code of Virginia and 18 VAC 60‑20‑170 to deny said reinstatement, and that the applicant has paid all the unpaid renewal fees fee, the reinstatement fee and any fines or assessments.

D. Reinstatement of a license previously revoked or indefinitely suspended. Any person whose license has been revoked shall submit to the board for its approval a reinstatement application and fee of $750 for dentists and $500 for dental hygienists. Any person whose license has been indefinitely suspended shall submit to the board for its approval a reinstatement application and fee of $350 for dentists and $250 for dental hygienists.

18 VAC 60‑20‑30. Other fees.

A. Dental licensure application fees. The application fee for a dental license, a license to teach dentistry, a full-time faculty license, or a temporary permit as a dentist shall be $225.

B. Dental hygiene licensure application fees. The application fee for a dental hygiene license by examination, a license to teach dental hygiene, or a temporary permit as a dental hygienist shall be $160 $135.

C. Duplicate wall certificate. Licensees desiring a duplicate wall certificate shall submit a request in writing stating the necessity for such duplicate wall certificate, accompanied by a fee of $15 $25.

D. Duplicate license. Licensees desiring a duplicate license shall submit a request in writing stating the necessity for such duplicate license, accompanied by a fee of $10. If a licensee maintains more than one office, a notarized photocopy of a license may be used.

E. Licensure certification. Licensees requesting endorsement or certification by this board shall pay a fee of $25 for each endorsement or certification.

F. Restricted license. Restricted license issued in accordance with § 54.1‑2714 of the Code of Virginia shall be at a fee of $100 $150.

G. Endorsement license. License by endorsement issued in accordance with 18 VAC 60‑20‑80 for dental hygienists shall be at a fee of $225 $135.

H. Restricted volunteer license. The application fee for licensure as a restricted volunteer dentist or dental hygienist issued in accordance with § 54.1‑2712.1 or § 54.1‑2726.1 of the Code of Virginia shall be $25.

I. Returned check. The fee for a returned check shall be $25.

NOTICE: The forms used in administering 18 VAC 60-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene, are not being published due to the large number; however, the name of each form is listed below. The forms are available for public inspection at the Board of Dentistry, 6603 W. Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
FORMS

Outline and Explanation of Documentation Required for Dental Licensure by Exam, Teacher's License, Restricted License, Full Time Faculty License, and Temporary Permit (eff. 11/98 rev. [ 6/02 12/02 ] ).

Application for Licensure to Practice Dentistry ( [ eff. 3/98 rev. 12/02 ] ).

Outline and Explanation of Documentation Required for Volunteer Dental License (rev. 6/02).

Application for Restricted Volunteer Licensure to Practice Dentistry and Dental Hygiene (eff. 7/98).

Form A, Certification of Dental/Dental Hygiene School (rev. [ 3/98 12/02 ] ).

Form AA, Sponsor Certification for Dental/Dental Hygiene Volunteer License (eff. 7/98).

Form B, Chronology (rev. [ 3/98 12/02 ] ).

Form C, Certification of Dental/Dental Hygiene Boards (rev. [ 3/98 12/02 ] ).

Outline and Explanation of Documentation Required for Dental Hygiene Licensure by Exam, Teacher's License, Dental Hygiene by Endorsement, and Dental Hygiene Temporary Permit (rev. 11/98 [ 6/02 12/02 ] ).

Application for Licensure to Practice Dental Hygiene (rev. [ 3/98 12/02 ]).

Instructions for Reinstatement (rev. [ 6/02 12/02 ] ).

Reinstatement Application for Dental/Dental Hygiene Licensure (rev. [ 3/98 12/02 ] ).

[ Expiration letter to licensee (rev. 7/98). ]

Radiology Information for Dental Assistants (rev. 7/97).

Renewal Notice and Application [ (Active licensure), 0401 Dentist ] (rev. [ 3/00 12/02 ] ).

Renewal Notice and Application [ (Inactive licensure), 0402 Dental Hygienist ] (rev. [ 3/00 12/02 ] ).

[ Renewal Notice and Application, 0404 Dental Teacher (rev. 12/02).

Renewal Notice and Application, 0406 Dental Hygiene Teacher (rev. 12/02).

Renewal Notice and Application, 0411 Full-time Faculty (rev. 12/02). ]
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