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STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

Title of Regulation: 9 VAC 25-20. Fees for Permits and Certificates (amending 9 VAC 25-20-10, 9 VAC 25-20-110, 9 VAC 25-20-120, and 9 VAC 25-20-130).

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15:6 of the Code of Virginia.
Public Hearing Date: March 6, 2003 - 10 a.m.
Public comments may be submitted until March 28, 2003.

(See Calendar of Events section

for additional information)

Agency Contact: Jon G. Van Soestbergen, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4117 or e-mail jvansoest@deq.state.va.us.

Basis: The basis for the proposed regulatory amendment is § 62.1-44.15:6 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the authority for the State Water Control Board to establish a fee assessment and collection system to recover a portion of the costs associated with processing certain permit applications.

Purpose: Fees for permits and certificates are authorized to recover, up to the maximums specified in statute, the direct and indirect costs associated with application review and permit or certificate issuance. The required January 2002 Permit Fee Program Evaluation Report to the General Assembly indicates that in Fiscal Year 2001 actual water permit program costs exceeded $10.6 million, whereas permit fee revenues were only slightly above $1 million. Additionally, the agency’s budget was reduced by approximately $3 million per year with the expectation that these funds would be recouped through the increase in fees for permits and certificates. The amendment to this regulation is intended to recoup at least a portion of the funds removed from the agency’s budget and ensure resources necessary to administer water quality programs for the protection of the health, safety and welfare of citizens of the Commonwealth.

Substance: The regulation is being revised to reflect the changes in maximum amounts as specified in § 62.1-44.15:6 of the Code of Virginia. Proposed amendments to the existing emergency regulation include (i) changes to the definitions in 9 VAC 25-20-10 for Virginia Water Protection (VWP) Permit Project categories to reflect the current definitions for such projects; (ii) changes to 9 VAC 25-20-130 in recognition that there is no permit fee for VWP Permits for projects impacting less than one-tenth of an acre; and (iii) addition of fee schedules in 9 VAC 25-20-110, 9 VAC 25-20-120, and 9 VAC 25-20-130 that will become effective after the provisions of the Act of Assembly expire on July 1, 2004.

Issues: The primary disadvantage to the public is that the cost to obtain a permit from the State Water Control Board will triple. The increased revenue is the primary advantage to the Department of Environmental Quality and the Commonwealth, recouping at least a portion of the funds removed from the agency’s budget based on the legislation.

Locality Particularly Affected: There are no localities particularly affected. The proposed regulation applies statewide to applicants for permits and certificates.

Public Participation: In addition to any other comments, the board is seeking comments on the costs and benefits of the proposal and the impacts of the regulation on farm or forest lands.

Anyone wishing to submit written comments for the public comment file may do so at the public hearing or by mail. Written comments should be signed by the commenter and include the name and address of the commenter. In order to be considered the comments must be received by the close of the comment period. Oral comments may be submitted at the public hearing.

Fiscal Impact: This regulatory amendment will increase the fees that the State Water Control Board charges for processing permit applications. Because a fee collection infrastructure already exists, there is no additional cost to the state projected to implement and enforce the proposed regulation.

The regulatory amendment will triple the amount of fees for permits and certificates. The increased fees will affect all individuals, business, or other entities that are required to obtain permits from the State Water Control Board. It is projected that the additional cost to localities and businesses associated with the increased fees will be approximately $2 million per year on average statewide.

Currently, there are approximately 1,200 active Virginia Pollution Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) individual permits, 150 active Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) permits, and approximately 3,000 active VPDES General Permit registrations and Virginia Water Protection Program (VWPP) permits.

The gross impact upon small businesses is unknown. The impact of the regulatory amendment will be to increase by 300% the amount that small businesses must pay to obtain discharge permits through the State Water Control Board.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 (02). Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private property. The analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation. The General Assembly mandates in § 62.1-44.15.6 of the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board promulgate regulations establishing a fee assessment and collection system to recover a portion of the State Water Control Board’s, the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries’, and the Department of Conservation and Recreation’s direct and indirect costs associated with the processing of an application to issue, reissue, amend, or modify any permit or certificate that the State Water Control Board has authority to issue. The regulation proposes the following changes: 

1. Chapter 822 of the Acts of Assembly for 2002 increased by a factor of three the maximum fees that can be charged for the processing of applications for permits and applications received between July 1, 2002, and June 30, 2004. The maximum fee schedule will revert to its previous level on July 1, 2004. The proposed regulation is intended to replace the emergency regulation to this effect passed earlier this year and to reflect the new fee schedule in effect between July 1, 2002, and June 30, 2004.

2. Apart from the temporary fee increases enacted through Chapter 822 of the Acts of Assembly, the regulation permanently increases the fee charged for filing an application or registration statement for coverage under certain Virginia Water Protection (VWP) general permits.

3. The definition of the three categories of VWP individual permits are modified to make them more consistent with how similar permits are defined in federal regulations.

4. The regulation permanently removes the option that allows the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) in some cases to waive permit requirements for new and modified VWP individual permits. The option to waive was removed for the two years between July 1, 2002, and June 30, 2004, by the 2002 Act of Assembly. DEQ intends to make that change permanent.

Estimated economic impact. (1) In Chapter 822 of the Acts of Assembly for 2002, the General Assembly increased the maximum allowable fees for Virginia Pollution Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) permits, Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) permits, VWP permits, Surface Water Withdrawal (SWW) permits or certificates, and Ground Water Withdrawal (GWW) permits. The maximum allowable fees have been tripled for the issuance of new permits and for major modifications to existing permits. The new maximum fee schedule is to apply to all relevant permit and certificate applications received between July 1, 2002, and June 30, 2004. Barring any further legislative action, the maximum fee schedule will revert to pre-July 1, 2002, levels on July 1, 2004. The proposed regulation reflects these changes. It triples fees for the abovementioned permits and certificates over the next two years, with the fees reverting to their original levels on July 1, 2004.

According to the January 2002 Permit Fee Program Evaluation Report to the General Assembly, actual water permit program costs were over $10.6 million and permit fee revenues were a little over $1 million in fiscal year 2001. Moreover, DEQ’s budget for the next two years was cut by approximately $3 million per year. The higher fees for permits and certificates are intended to make up for the budget cut and cover some of the costs of running the permitting program. The provisions of the 2002 Act of Assembly will expire on June 30, 2004. However, DEQ expects legislative action before June 30, 2004, introducing permanent increases in the fees charged for permits and certificates issued by the State Water Control Board. A task force has been set up to look into the inadequacy of the current fee schedule and recommend a new fee schedule that better reflects the time and complexity of processing a permit or certificate in each of the various categories of permits and permit actions. Following the task force’s report, due in the next few months, DEQ expects the General Assembly to consider a new fee schedule for these permits and certificates in the 2004 legislative session.

The fee increases will affect all localities, businesses, and individuals seeking to get a permit from the State Water Control Board. DEQ estimates that the increase in fees will impose a $2 million additional cost. According to DEQ, the increase in permit fee revenues will be used to make up for the budget cut and cover the costs of running the various permit programs.

Facilities that discharge pollutants into state waters have the potential to create serious public health and environmental hazards as a result of their activities. The aim of the permitting mechanism is to ensure that these activities are conducted in a manner that is protective of both public health and the environment. The cost of a permit can be viewed as the cost of safely using an environmental resource. In this case, the cost of the permit is the cost of safely using state waters to discharge pollutants. As the January 2002 Permit Fee Program Evaluation Report indicates, current permit fees fall well short of the cost incurred by DEQ in ensuring the safe use of state waters. Thus, facilities discharging pollutants are paying only a fraction of the actual cost of safely using state waters, with taxpayers paying the rest. Increasing the fees will transfer some or all of this cost to facilities that are actually discharging the pollutants into state waters.

Transferring the cost will have a positive economic impact and result in more efficient use of resources. With some of the cost being subsidized by taxpayers, localities, businesses, and individuals discharging pollutants into state waters are paying lower-than-actual costs of using state waters for that purpose. This could potentially result in the overuse of this resource. Permit fees that better reflect costs will reduce the potential for overuse, leading to the more efficient use of state waters. On the other hand, raising permit fees could have a negative economic impact by causing some localities, businesses, or individuals to postpone or abandon voluntary projects requiring permits that could be beneficial to the Commonwealth, such as wastewater reclamation and reuse projects that require a VPA or a VPDES permit.

(2) The 2002 Act of Assembly tripled the maximum fee that can be charged for VWP general permits from $400 to $1,200. However, under the pre-July 1, 2002, policy, DEQ was charging up to $200 for a VWP general permit and not the maximum allowable amount of $400. Under the proposed regulation, for a VWP general permit authorizing an impact of half an acre or more on nontidal surface water, DEQ now intends to charge the maximum, i.e., $1,200 for permits issued before July 1, 2004, and $400 thereafter. The proposed increase in fees is to cover the costs of running the VWP general permits program. The Commonwealth of Virginia and the Army Corps of Engineers share responsibility for issuing wetlands permits. Effective November 1, 2002, the Army Corps of Engineers issued a State Program General Permit (SPGP) that will allow DEQ to be the sole permitting agency for certain nontidal wetlands impacts that are greater than half an acre. Most of these permits fall under the VWP general permit for which fees are being raised.

The increase in fees will affect all localities, businesses, and individuals seeking to obtain a VWP general permit that authorizes an impact of half an acre or more on nontidal surface water. In fiscal 2002, DEQ estimates that it issued 70 VWP general permits, a large proportion of which were for impacts of half an acre or more. This number is likely to increase following November 1, 2002, when the SPGP transfers some permit applications out of the Army Corps of Engineers’ permit program and into DEQ’s VWP general permit program. According to DEQ, the memorandum of agreement between DEQ and the Army Corps of Engineers regarding issues such as permit compliance and enforcement and the increased volume of VWP general permit applications received by DEQ will require an increase in the DEQ’s wetlands permitting staff. The higher fees are expected to go toward meeting these additional requirements.

In order to induce the most efficient use of resources, permit fees should reflect the actual cost of using a resource in a safe manner. The higher fees are simply transferring some or all of the cost of using state waters from DEQ and hence the taxpayer to the localities, businesses, or individuals who are using state waters for discharge purposes. To the extent the higher fees better reflect the cost of using state waters, the proposed change will have a positive economic impact by resulting in a more efficient use of resources. On the other hand, the proposed change could have a negative economic impact by discouraging certain wetlands projects that might have been beneficial to the state.

(3) The proposed regulation modifies the definition of the various categories of VWP individual permits to make them more consistent with how similar permits are defined in federal regulations. The definition of a VWP Category I individual permit has been modified to include projects that cumulatively affect five acres or more of surface waters. Under current policy, a VWP Category I individual permit is issued to projects cumulatively affecting ten acres or more of surface water. A VWP Category II individual permit now refers to projects affecting two to five acres of surface waters, compared to current policy of issuing VWP Category II individual permits to projects affecting between one and ten acres. A VWP Category III individual permit will be issued to projects affecting two acres or less of surface water. Under current policy, a VWP Category III individual permit is issued to projects affecting one acre or less of surface water.

Under the proposed regulation, some projects previously classified as Category II will be classified as Category I and will be required to pay higher fees when obtaining or modifying a permit (Category I permits cost 30% more than Category II permits). However, some projects previously classified as Category II will now be classified as Category III and will have to pay lower fees when obtaining or modifying a permit (Category II permits cost over 60% more than Category III permits). The net economic impact of the proposed change will depend on the number of applicants now required to pay the higher fees compared to the number now required to pay the lower fees. In fiscal years 2001 and 2002, a total of 24 Category I permits, 34 Category II permits, and 15 Category III permits were issued. However, breakdown by the amount of surface water impacted by projects within each of the categories is not available. While DEQ does not believe that many projects will now have to pay higher fees, the exact number of affected projects is not available. As the proportion of Category II projects that are now likely to have to pay the higher fee and the proportion that are now likely to have to pay the lower fee is not known, it is not possible to estimate at this time the net economic impact of the proposed change.

(4) The proposed regulation removes a provision that allows DEQ to grant waivers to localities, businesses, and individuals allowing them to be exempt from getting a new VWP individual permit or modifying an existing VWP individual permit. The 2002 Act of Assembly removed this provision for the period between July 1, 2002, and June 30, 2004. DEQ plans to make the change permanent.

The proposed change will not have a significant economic impact. DEQ has not issued any waivers under this provision over the past few years and the proposed change is aimed at making the regulation more consistent with current practice.

Businesses and entities affected. The proposed regulation will affect all individuals and businesses seeking to get permits or modify existing permits issued by the State Water Control Board. For most categories of permits, fees have tripled for permits issued between July 1, 2002, and June 30, 2004. For certain types of VWP general permits, permanent fee increases have been proposed. The additional cost of obtaining permits may reduce the incentive of some businesses and individuals to undertake voluntary projects, such as wastewater reclamation and reuse, that require a permit from the State Water Control Board. The proposed regulation will also affect projects seeking to obtain or modify VWP individual permits. While some previously classified as Category II may be required to pay higher fees and get a Category I permit, others may now be required to pay lower fees and get a Category III permit.

Localities particularly affected. The proposed regulation will affect all localities in the Commonwealth. Localities, such as in the Norfolk area, that have a large number of projects requiring permits from the State Water Control Board are likely to be especially affected.

Projected impact on employment. The proposed regulation is not expected to have a significant impact on employment.

Effects on the use and value of private property. The proposed regulation triples the cost of obtaining a permit between July 1, 2002, and June 30, 2004, from the State Water Control Board. Further legislative action is likely that will make permanent increases to fees charged for these permits and certificates. The regulation also proposes additional fee increases for certain types of VWP general permits. The higher fees are likely to increase the cost of operation for individuals and businesses required to obtain a new permit or modify an existing permit. Moreover, the higher cost of obtaining or modifying a permit is likely to discourage the adoption of voluntary projects, such as projects reclaiming and reusing wastewater, which require such permits. The regulation could also affect individuals and businesses requiring VWP individual permits. By redefining the categories of VWP individual permits, the regulation could increase the cost of operation for some and reduce the cost of operation for others.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The department has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and has no comment.

Summary:

The proposed amendments increase by a factor of three the maximum fees for processing applications for permits and certificates. The proposed amendments to the regulation include (i) changes to the definitions for Virginia Water Protection (VWP) Permit Project categories to reflect the current definitions for such projects; (ii) recognition that there is no permit fee for VWP Permits for projects impacting less than one tenth of an acre; and (iii) addition of fee schedules that will become effective after the provisions of Chapter 822 of the 2002 Acts of Assembly expire on July 1, 2004.

9 VAC 25‑20‑10. Definitions.

Unless otherwise defined in this chapter or unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, the terms used in this regulation shall have the meanings ascribed to them by the State Water Control Law, § 62.1‑44.3; the board's Permit Regulation, 9 VAC 25‑30‑10; the board's Virginia Water Protection Permit Regulation, 9 VAC 25‑210‑10; the board's Surface Water Management Area Regulation, 9 VAC 25‑220‑10; and the Ground Water Management Act of 1992, § 62.1‑255 of the Code of Virginia, including any general permits issued thereunder.

"Applicant" means for the purposes of this chapter any person filing an application for issuance, reissuance, or modification, except as exempted by 9 VAC 25‑20‑50, of a permit, certificate or special exception or filing a registration statement for coverage under a general permit issued in response to Chapters 3.1 (§ 62.1‑44.2 et seq.), 24 (§ 62.1‑242 et seq.), and 25 (§ 62.1‑254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia.

"Application" means for the purposes of this chapter the forms approved by the State Water Control Board for applying for issuance or reissuance of a permit, certificate or special exception or for filing a registration statement for coverage under a general permit issued in response to Chapters 3.1, 24, and 25 of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia. In the case of modifications to an existing permit, certificate or special exception requested by the permit, certificate or special exception holder and not exempted by 9 VAC 25‑20‑50, the application shall consist of the formal written request and any accompanying documentation submitted by the permit, certificate or special exception holder to initiate the modification.

"Existing permit" means for the purposes of this chapter a permit, certificate or special exception issued by the board and currently held by an applicant.

"Major modification" means for the purposes of this chapter modification or amendment of an existing permit or, certificate or special exception before its expiration which is not a minor modification as defined in this regulation.

"Minor modification" means for the purposes of this chapter minor modification or amendment of an existing permit, certificate or special exception before its expiration as specified in 9 VAC 25‑30-10 et seq., 9 VAC 25‑210‑210, 9 VAC 25‑220‑230, or in regulations promulgated in response to Chapter 25 of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia. Minor modification for the purposes of this chapter also means other modifications and amendments not requiring extensive review and evaluation including, but not limited to, changes in EPA promulgated test protocols, increasing monitoring frequency requirements, changes in sampling locations, and changes to compliance dates within the overall compliance schedules.

"New permit" means for the purposes of this chapter a permit, certificate or special exception issued by the board to an applicant that does not currently hold and has never held a permit, certificate or special exception at that location.

"Revoked permit" means for the purposes of this chapter an existing permit, certificate or special exception which is terminated before its expiration.

"VWP Category I Project" means for the purposes of this chapter a project requiring complex staff review including, but not limited to, those which that affect instream flows such as reservoirs, hydropower impoundments, and surface water withdrawals; major subdivisions, industrial parks, commercial developments, and regional stormwater facilities which that cumulatively impact more than 10 five acres of surface waters, including wetlands; projects in waters containing wild trout or threatened or endangered species; and new marinas, navigational dredging projects, and instream sand and gravel mining operations.

"VWP Category II Project" means for the purposes of this chapter a project requiring moderately complex staff review including, but not limited to, those impacting between one and 10 two and five acres of isolated or headwaters surface waters, including wetlands, stream channel modifications or relocations of perennial streams; rip rap and bank stabilization of 500 feet or more; expansion of existing marinas and dredging of navigation channels.

"VWP Category III Project" means for the purposes of this chapter a project requiring routine staff review including, but not limited to, those which that impact one acre or less of adjacent nontidal wetlands; dredging for single residence boatslip and access channels; perpendicular or linear sub‑bed crossings of pipelines for sewer and other utilities in waters which do not contain wild trout or threatened or endangered species; impoundments in nonperennial streams, for the purpose of stormwater management which do not require a VPDES permit, including piping, filling, relocations and channel modifications of such streams, provided that wetland impacts do not exceed one acre, and the stream does not contain threatened or endangered species two acres or less of surface waters, including wetlands.

9 VAC 25‑20‑110. Fee schedules for individual new permit issuance and individual existing permit reissuance.

A. Through June 30, 2004, the following fee schedules apply to applications for issuance of a new individual permit or certificate and reissuance of an existing individual permit or certificate:

1. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) permits.

VPDES Industrial Major
$24,000

VPDES Municipal Major
$21,300

VPDES Municipal Stormwater
$21,300

VPDES Industrial Minor/No Standard Limits
$10,200

VPDES Industrial Minor/Standard Limits
$6,600

VPDES Industrial Stormwater
$7,200

VPDES Municipal Minor/100,000 GPD or More
$7,500

VPDES Municipal Minor/More Than 10,000 GPD-Less Than 100,000 GPD
$6,000

VPDES Municipal Minor/More Than 1,000 GPD-10,000 GPD or Less
$5,400

VPDES Municipal Minor/1,000 GPD or less
$4,200

2. Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) permits.

VPA Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation
(Reserved)

VPA Intensified Animal Feeding Operation
(Reserved)

VPA Industrial Wastewater Operation
$10,500

VPA Industrial Sludge Operation
$7,500

VPA Municipal Wastewater Operation
$13,500

VPA Municipal Sludge Operation
$7,500

All other operations not specified above
$750

3. Virginia Water Protection (VWP) permits.

VWP Category I Project
$9,000

VWP Category II Project
$6,300

VWP Category III Project
$2,400

4. Surface Water Withdrawal (SWW) permits or certificates issued in response to Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Agricultural withdrawal not exceeding 150 million gallons in any single month
(Reserved)

Agricultural withdrawal greater than 150 million gallons but less than 300 million gallons in any single month 
(Reserved)

Agricultural withdrawal of 300 million gallons or greater in any single month
(Reserved)

Certificate for an Existing Nonagricultural Withdrawal
$6,000

Permit for a New or Expanded Nonagricultural Withdrawal
$9,000

5. Permits for the withdrawal of groundwater issued in response to Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Agricultural withdrawal not exceeding 150 million gallons in any single month 
(Reserved)

Agricultural withdrawal greater than 150 million gallons but less than 300 million gallons in any single month 
(Reserved)

Agricultural withdrawal of 300 million gallons or greater in any single month
(Reserved)

Initial Permit for an Existing Nonagricultural Withdrawal
$1,200

Permit for a New or Expanded Nonagricultural Withdrawal
$6,000

B. Effective July 1, 2004, the following fee schedules apply to applications for issuance of a new individual permit or certificate and reissuance of an existing individual permit or certificate.:

1. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) permits.

VPDES Industrial Major
$8,000

VPDES Municipal Major
$7,100

VPDES Municipal Stormwater
$7,100

VPDES Industrial Minor/No Standard Limits
$3,400

VPDES Industrial Minor/Standard Limits
$2,200

VPDES Industrial Stormwater
$2,400

VPDES Municipal Minor/100,000 GPD or More
$2,500

VPDES Municipal Minor/More Than 10,000 GPD‑Less Than 100,000 GPD
$2,000

VPDES Municipal Minor/More Than 1,000 GPD‑10,000 GPD or Less
$1,800

VPDES Municipal Minor/1,000 GPD or less
$1,400

2. Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) permits.

VPA Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation 
(Reserved)

VPA Intensified Animal Feeding Operation 
(Reserved)

VPA Industrial Wastewater Operation
$3,500

VPA Industrial Sludge Operation
$2,500

VPA Municipal Wastewater Operation
$4,500

VPA Municipal Sludge Operation
$2,500

All other operations not specified above
$250

3. Virginia Water Protection (VWP) permits.

VWP Category I Project
$3,000

VWP Category II Project
$2,100

VWP Category III Project
$800

VWP Waivers
$300

4. Surface Water Withdrawal (SWW) permits or certificates issued in response to Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Agricultural withdrawal not exceeding 150 million gallons in any single month
(Reserved)

Agricultural withdrawal greater than 150 million gallons but less than 300 million gallons in any single month 
(Reserved)

Agricultural withdrawal of 300 million gallons or greater in any single month
(Reserved)

Certificate for an Existing Nonagricultural Withdrawal
$2,000

Permit for a New or Expanded Nonagricultural Withdrawal
$3,000

5. Permits for the withdrawal of groundwater issued in response to Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Agricultural withdrawal not exceeding 150 million gallons in any single month 
(Reserved)

Agricultural withdrawal greater than 150 million gallons but less than 300 million gallons in any single month 
(Reserved)

Agricultural withdrawal of 300 million gallons or greater in any single month 
(Reserved)

Initial Permit for an Existing Nonagricultural Withdrawal
$400

Permit for a New or Expanded Nonagricultural Withdrawal
$2,000

9 VAC 25‑20‑120. Fee schedules for major modification of individual permits or certificates requested by the permit or certificate holder.

A. Through June 30, 2004, the following fee schedules apply to applications for major modification of an individual permit or certificate requested by the permit or certificate holder:

1. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) permits.

VPDES Industrial Major
$12,000

VPDES Municipal Major
$10,650

VPDES Municipal Stormwater
$10,650

VPDES Industrial Minor/No Standard Limits
$5,100

VPDES Industrial Minor/Standard Limits
$3,300

VPDES Industrial Stormwater
$3,600

VPDES Municipal Minor/100,000 GPD or More
$3,750

VPDES Municipal Minor/More Than 10,000 GPD-Less Than 100,000 GPD
$3,000

VPDES Municipal Minor/More Than 1,000 GPD-10,000 GPD or Less
$2,700

VPDES Municipal Minor/1,000 GPD or Less
$2,100

2. Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) permits.

VPA Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation 
(Reserved)

VPA Intensified Animal Feeding Operation 
(Reserved)

VPA Industrial Wastewater Operation
$5,250

VPA Industrial Sludge Operation
$3,750

VPA Municipal Wastewater Operation
$6,750

VPA Municipal Sludge Operation
$3,750

All other operations not specified above
$375

3. Virginia Water Protection (VWP) permits.

VWP Category I Project
$4,500

VWP Category II Project
$3,150

VWP Category III Project
$1,200

4. Surface Water Withdrawal (SWW) permits or certificates issued in response to Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Agricultural withdrawal not exceeding 150 million gallons in any single month 
(Reserved)

Agricultural withdrawal greater than 150 million gallons but less than 300million gallons in any single month 
(Reserved)

Agricultural withdrawal of 300 million gallons or greater in any single month 
(Reserved)

Certificate for an Existing Nonagricultural Withdrawal
$3,000

Permit for a New or Expanded Nonagricultural Withdrawal
$4,500

5. Permits for the withdrawal of groundwater issued in response to Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Agricultural withdrawal not exceeding 150 million gallons in any single month 
(Reserved)

Agricultural withdrawal greater than 150 million gallons but less than 300 million gallons in any single month
(Reserved)

Agricultural withdrawal of 300 million gallons or greater in any single month 
(Reserved)

Initial Permit for an Existing Nonagricultural Withdrawal
$600

Permit for a New or Expanded Nonagricultural Withdrawal
$3,000

B. Effective July 1, 2004, the following fee schedules apply to applications for major modification of an individual permit or certificate requested by the permit or certificate holder.:

1. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) permits.

VPDES Industrial Major
$4,000

VPDES Municipal Major
$3,550

VPDES Municipal Stormwater
$3,550

VPDES Industrial Minor/No Standard Limits
$1,700

VPDES Industrial Minor/Standard Limits
$1,100

VPDES Industrial Stormwater
$1,200

VPDES Municipal Minor/100,000 GPD or More
$1,250

VPDES Municipal Minor/More Than 10,000 GPD‑Less Than 100,000 GPD
$1,000

VPDES Municipal Minor/More Than 1,000 GPD‑10,000 GPD or Less
$900

VPDES Municipal Minor/1,000 GPD or Less
$700

2. Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) permits.

VPA Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation 
(Reserved)

VPA Intensified Animal Feeding Operation 
(Reserved)

VPA Industrial Wastewater Operation
$1,750

VPA Industrial Sludge Operation
$1,250

VPA Municipal Wastewater Operation
$2,250

VPA Municipal Sludge Operation
$1,250

All other operations not specified above
$125

3. Virginia Water Protection (VWP) permits.

VWP Category I Project
$1,500

VWP Category II Project
$1,050

VWP Category III Project
$400

VWP Waivers
$150

4. Surface Water Withdrawal (SWW) permits or certificates issued in response to Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Agricultural withdrawal not exceeding 150 million gallons in any single month 
(Reserved)

Agricultural withdrawal greater than 150 million gallons but less than 300 million gallons in any single month 
(Reserved)

Agricultural withdrawal of 300 million gallons or greater in any single month 
(Reserved)

Certificate for an Existing Nonagricultural Withdrawal
$1,000

Permit for a New or Expanded Nonagricultural Withdrawal
$1,500

5. Permits for the withdrawal of groundwater issued in response to Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Agricultural withdrawal not exceeding 150 million gallons in any single month 
(Reserved)

Agricultural withdrawal greater than 150 million gallons but less than 300 million gallons in any single month 
(Reserved)

Agricultural withdrawal of 300 million gallons or greater in any single month 
(Reserved)

Initial Permit for an Existing Nonagricultural Withdrawal
$200

Permit for a New or Expanded Nonagricultural Withdrawal
$1,000

9 VAC 25‑20‑130. Fees for filing registration statements for general permits issued by the board.

A. Through June 30, 2004, the following fees apply to filing of applications or registration statements for all general permits issued by the board, except:

1. The fee for filing a registration statement for coverage under 9 VAC 25-110 is $0.

2. The fee for filing a registration statement for coverage under 9 VAC 25-120 is $0.

3. The fee for filing an application or registration statement for coverage under any VWP General Permit authorizing impacts to one tenth of an acre or more but less than one-half of an acre of nontidal surface waters shall be $600.

4. The fee for filing an application or registration statement for coverage under any VWP General Permit authorizing impacts to one-half of an acre or more of nontidal surface waters shall be $1,200.

5. Except as specified in subdivisions 1, 2, 3 and 4 of this subsection, the maximum fee for filing an application or registration statement for coverage under any general permit issued by the board shall be $600. Fees for coverage under general permits will be based on the number of years from the filing of a registration statement until the general permit expires. The annual prorated amount is equal to the maximum fee of $600 divided by the total term of the general permit. The fee is the annual prorated amount multiplied by the number of years rounded to the nearest whole year from the filing of a registration statement until the expiration of the general permit.

B. Effective July 1, 2004, the following fees apply to filing of applications or registration statements for all general permits issued by the board, except:

A. 1. The fee for filing a registration statement for coverage under 9 VAC 25‑110‑10 et seq. is $0.

B. 2. The fee for filing a registration statement for coverage under 9 VAC 25‑120‑10 et seq. is $0.

3. The fee for filing an application or registration statement for coverage under any VWP General Permit authorizing impacts to one tenth of an acre or more but less than one-half of an acre of nontidal surface waters shall be $200.

4. The fee for filing an application or registration statement for coverage under any VWP General Permit authorizing impacts to one-half of an acre or more of nontidal surface waters shall be $400.

C. 5. Except as specified in 9 VAC 25‑20‑130 A and B subdivisions 1, 2, 3 and 4 of subsection A of this section and subdivisions 1, 2, 3 and 4 of this subsection, the maximum fee for filing a registration statement for coverage under any general permit issued by the board shall be $200. Fees for coverage under general permits will be based on the number of years from the filing of a registration statement until the general permit expires. The annual prorated amount is equal to the maximum fee of $200 divided by the total term of the general permit. The fee is the annual prorated amount multiplied by the number of years rounded to the nearest whole year from the filing of a registration statement until the expiration of the general permit.
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