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TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL RESOURCES

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 15-240. Game: Turkey (amending 4 VAC 15-240-31, 4 VAC 15-240-40, 4 VAC 15-240-50, 4 VAC 15-240-80, and 4 VAC 15-240-90; adding 4 VAC 15-240-81 and 4 VAC 15-240-91).

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: July 1, 2003.
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst and Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-1000, FAX (804) 367-0488 or e-mail RegComments@dgif.state.va.us.

Summary:

The amendments (i) expand the fall turkey hunting season in certain counties and add a county, (ii) create a youth turkey hunting opportunity, and (iii) make changes regarding the tagging and checking of turkeys.

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The proposed regulation was adopted as published in 19:15 VA.R. 2239-2240 April 7, 2003, with the changes identified below. Pursuant to § 2.2-4031 A of the Code of Virginia, the adopted regulation is not published at length; however, the sections that have changed since publication of the proposed are set out.

4 VAC 15‑240‑31. [ No change from proposed. ]

4 VAC 15‑240‑40. Open season; spring season for bearded turkeys.

A. Except as otherwise provided in this section, it shall be lawful to hunt bearded turkeys only from the second Saturday in April and for 30 consecutive hunting days following, both dates inclusive, from 1/2 hour before sunrise to 12:00 noon prevailing time during the first 19 hunting days and from 1/2 hour before sunrise to [ 6 p.m. sunset ] during the last 12 hunting days of the spring season.

B. Turkey hunters 15 years of age and under may hunt on the first Saturday in April from 1/2 hour before sunrise to 12:00 noon prevailing time, when in compliance with applicable license requirements and when accompanied and directly supervised by an adult who has a valid Virginia hunting license on his person or an adult that is exempt from purchasing a hunting license. Adult hunters accompanying youth hunters on this day may assist with calling but they shall not carry or discharge weapons.

C. Bearded turkeys may be hunted by calling.

D. It shall be unlawful to use dogs or organized drives for the purpose of hunting.

E. It shall be unlawful to use or have in possession any shot larger than number 2 fine shot when hunting turkeys with a shotgun.

4 VAC 15‑240‑50. [ No change from proposed. ]

4 VAC 15‑240‑80. [ No change from proposed. ]

4 VAC 15-240-81. [ No change from proposed. ]

4 VAC 15‑240‑90. [ No change from proposed. ]

4 VAC 15-240-91. Checking turkey by persons exempt from license requirement or holding a license authorization number.

A. This section is effective July 1, 2004.

B. Upon killing a turkey, any person exempt from the license requirement as described in § 29.1-301 of the Code of Virginia, or issued a complimentary license as prescribed in § 29.1-339, or the holder of a permanent license issued pursuant to § 29.1-301 E, or the holder of a Virginia license authorization number issued by a telephone or electronic media agent pursuant to § 29.1-327 B shall, upon vehicle transport of the carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting hours, whichever comes first, and without unnecessary delay, present the carcass to an authorized checking station or to any appropriate representative of the department in the county or adjoining county in which the turkey was killed or report their spring kill (as provided by 4 VAC 15-240-40) through the department’s toll-free Telecheck system. At such time, the person checking or reporting the carcass shall be given a game check card furnished by the department or a Telecheck confirmation number. If checked at a big game check station, the game check card must be kept in possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the carcass is left unattended, the game check card must be securely attached to the carcass. If a spring-season kill is reported using the Telecheck reporting system, [ no check card is required as long as the hunter who killed the animal is in possession of the carcass. If the Telecheck-reported spring carcass is left unattended or transferred to the possession of another individual, written documentation including the successful hunter’s full name, the date the animal was killed, and the Telecheck confirmation number must be created and kept in possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the carcass is left unattended, this written documentation must be securely attached to the carcass the successful hunter shall immediately create written documentation including the successful hunter’s full name, the date the animal was killed, and the Telecheck confirmation number. This written documentation must be kept in possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the Telecheck-reported carcass is transferred to the possession of another individual, the written documentation must be transferred with the carcass to the individual and kept in possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the carcass is left unattended, this written documentation must be securely attached to the carcass ]. 
C. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity of the sex of any turkey killed until the turkey is checked as required by this section.

VA.R. Doc. No. R03-153; Filed May 14, 2003, 10:30 a.m.

* * * * * * * *

(  ––––––––––––––––––  (
EMERGENCY REGULATIONS

Volume 19, Issue 19
Virginia Register of Regulations
Monday, June 2, 2003

1
Volume 19, Issue 19
Virginia Register of Regulations
Monday, June 2, 2003

2

