EMERGENCY REGULATIONS


TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

FAIR HOUSING BOARD

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 62-20. Fair Housing Certification Regulations (adding 18 VAC 62-20-40 and 18 VAC 62-20-90).

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2344 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Dates:  July 23, 2004, through February 1, 2005.
Agency Contact:  Christine Martine, Executive Director, Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 367-6946, or e-mail fhcertification@dpor.virginia.gov.

Preamble:

This is an emergency situation pursuant to § 2.2-4011(ii) of the Code of Virginia.  Chapter 575 of the Acts of the 2003 Acts of Assembly requires regulations to be effective within 280 days of enactment.

The new regulation establishes an education-based certification program for persons subject to the Fair Housing Law who are involved in the business or activity of selling or renting dwellings.

These regulations are necessary to implement Chapter 575 of the 2003 Acts of Assembly to create the certification program therein mandated to protect the health, welfare and safety of the public when dealing with persons certified by the Fair Housing Board.

The regulations provide:

1. Definitions of terms to be used in the regulations;

2. Entry standards for those seeking certification by the Fair Housing Board;

3. Renewal standards for certificate holders;

4. Standards of conduct; and

5. Requirements for courses, instructors and providers.

Other regulations which may be necessary will be considered.

The application and renewal fees set in the initial emergency regulations were too high which resulted in no applications being submitted.  Chapter 575 contains an enactment clause which states the Real Estate Board shall provide funding for the Fair Housing Board until such time as the Fair Housing Board is funded through the implementation of the certification and registration requirements authorized by the provisions of this act.  By setting the fee at $25, the Fair Housing Board will be able to generate funds to help support itself.
18 VAC 62-20-40. Application fees.

A. All applications fees are nonrefundable and the date of actual receipt by the board or its agent is the date that will be used to determine whether it is timely received.

B. The application fee for certification shall be $25.

18 VAC 62-20-90. Fees for renewal.

A. All fees for renewal are nonrefundable, and the date of actual receipt by the board or its agent is the date that will be used to determine whether it is timely received.

B. Renewal are as follows:

Renewal fee $25

Late renewal fee $25

/s/ Mark R. Warner

Governor

Date: July 19, 2004
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