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Final Regulations

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR VEHICLES

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE:  The Commonwealth Transportation Board is claiming an exclusion from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is involved.  The Commonwealth Transportation Board will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision.

Title of Regulation: 24 VAC 30-120. Rules and Regulations Controlling Outdoor Advertising and Directional and Other Signs and Notices (amending 24 VAC 30-120-170).

Statutory Authority: §§ 33.1-12, 33.1-351, 33.1-370 and 33.1-371 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: November 17, 2004.

Agency Contact: James R. Barrett, Program Administrator Specialist, Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 19th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6826, FAX (804) 786-7987 or e-mail James.Barrett@VDOT.virginia.gov.
Summary:

The regulation refers to "the current replacement cost new of the entire sign or structure," and identifies conditions under which costs or expenses that exceed a percentage of this amount are considered substantial changes in existing use.  The amendments change this percentage from 60% to 50%.  The amendments also summarize how the commissioner makes the determination of the cost point, and the roles of the sign owner and the building official of the locality after the determination is made.  

24 VAC 30-120-170. Criteria for the maintenance and continuance of a nonconforming sign, advertisement or advertising structure.

A. To be classified as a nonconforming sign or structure, such sign or structure must have been in lawful existence on the effective date of the state law or regulation or changed condition and must continue to be lawfully maintained.

B. To be allowed to continue as nonconforming, a sign or structure must remain substantially unchanged from its condition as of the effective date of the state law or regulations or changed condition.

1. Replacement, extension, or enlargement of the sign or structure is a substantial change in the existing use.

2. The change of location or height of such sign or structure is a substantial change in the existing use.

3. A change of the message content is not a substantial change in existing use. In the event a sign has been blank for a period of 18 consecutive months, the owner will be given written notice of 120 days to display a message on or remove such sign structure. In the event a message is not displayed on the sign structure within 120 days from the postdate of the aforementioned written notice, the permit shall be cancelled.

4. Rebuilding, or re-erecting the sign or structure, is a substantial change in existing use if such rebuilding, or re-erection expenses exceed 60 50% of the current replacement cost new of the entire sign or structure.

EXCEPTION:

If it can be demonstrated to the satisfaction of the commissioner that a nonconforming sign or structure has been vandalized or subject to other criminal or tortious act, then the replacement, rebuilding, or re-erecting of such sign or structure will not be considered a substantial change in existing use irrespective of the cost of such replacement; however, it will be considered a substantial change in existing use if damage to nonconforming signs or structures is caused by natural disasters, hurricanes, high winds, hail, or the like, and such damage exceeds 60 50% of the current replacement cost new of the entire sign or structure. In the event vandalism and an act of God combine to damage a nonconforming sign or structure, the commissioner shall determine the percentage allocated to each cause of damage before determining whether a substantial change in existing use has occurred.

5. Normal upkeep and repair of such sign or structure on a frequent basis, to the extent that the total cost of such repairs in the 12-month period would not exceed 60 50% of the current replacement cost new of the entire sign or structure, is not a substantial change in existing use.

C. In reaching a determination on the cost point in subdivisions B 4 and B 5 of this section the following will apply:

1. The sign owner shall furnish the commissioner cost data supporting any contention that such sign or structure is not damaged more than 60 50% of the current replacement cost new.

2. The commissioner may also utilize any other data available to him.

3. A sign or advertising structure lawfully in existence under the "Grandfather Clause" (see 24 VAC 30-120-160, Definitions) must conform to the criteria set out herein.

4. Certain standard maintenance practices and techniques utilized by the industry relating to how repairs are accomplished may be individually approved, in which case nonconforming rights shall not be terminated.

5. A nonconforming sign or structure that does not conform to the foregoing criteria shall constitute a substantial change in existing use thereby terminating nonconforming rights and legal status.

D. Once the sign owner has submitted the data per subsection C of this section, the commissioner, per §§ 33.1-352 and 33.1-370.2 of the Code of Virginia, shall make a determination whether the cost of the requested or required repairs exceeds 50% of the current replacement cost new of the entire billboard or structure.  The determination shall be communicated to the sign owner and the building official of the locality.  The sign owner is required to apply for a building permit from the locality before repairs can be commenced.  If the building official of the locality objects to the commissioner's determination, for good cause shown, he may submit the objection to the commissioner, with a copy to the sign owner, within 30 days of the building permit application by the sign owner.  Upon receipt of the objection the commissioner, per §§ 33.1-352 and 33.1-370.2 of the Code of Virginia, shall consider the documentation submitted by the building official and reissue a determination, which shall be binding upon the locality.

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-36; Filed September 27, 2004, 10:14 a.m.
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