EMERGENCY REGULATIONS

Emergency Regulations
Emergency Regulations

TITLE 12. HEALTH

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES

Title of Regulation:  12 VAC 30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (amending 12 VAC 30-80-40).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Dates:  December 1, 2004, through November 30, 2005.
Agency Contact:  Javier Menendez, R.Ph., Manager, Pharmacy Services, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2196, FAX (804) 786-1680, or e‑mail javier.menendez@dmas.virginia.gov.

Preamble:

The Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4011) states that an “emergency situation” is: (i) a situation involving an imminent threat to public health or safety; or (ii) a situation in which Virginia statutory law, the Virginia appropriation act, or federal law requires that a regulation shall be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, or in which federal regulation requires a regulation to take effect no later than 280 days from its effective date.  This suggested emergency regulation meets the standard at § 2.2-4011(ii) of the Code of Virginia as discussed below.

Chapter 4 of the 2004 Acts of  Assembly, Item 326 WW (1) (2) and (3), directs DMAS to amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance to modify the reimbursement methodology used to reimburse for generic drug products.  This amendment must be effective within 280 days of the date of enactment of Chapter 4; therefore, it qualifies under the authority of § 2.2-4011(ii) of the Code of Virginia as an emergency regulation.  

The purpose of this action is to implement the Virginia Maximum Allowable Cost (VMAC) to modify the reimbursement methodology used for generic, multiple source drug products.  The VMAC will replace the existing generic drug methodology and will be more responsive to and more accurately reflect prices of multi-source drugs in today’s marketplace.  Also, this action establishes the criteria for the department to develop VMAC pricing methodology, publish prices, and maintain a procedure whereby pharmacists may dispute the DMAS price for generic drugs and have their disputes resolved quickly.  As a result of this change, DMAS will post to its website a monthly listing of generic drugs, prices and information sources with comparisons to reference standards.

12 VAC 30-80-40. Fee-for-service providers: pharmacy.

Payment for pharmacy services shall be the lowest of items 1 through 5 4 (except that items 1 and 2 will not apply when prescriptions are certified as brand necessary by the prescribing physician in accordance with the procedures set forth in 42 CFR 447.331 (c) if the brand cost is greater than the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) upper limit or VMAC cost) subject to the conditions, where applicable, set forth in subdivisions 6 and 7 of this section:

1. The upper limit established by the CMS for multiple source drugs pursuant to 42 CFR 447.331 and 447.332, as determined by the CMS Upper Limit List plus a dispensing fee.  If the agency provides payment for any drugs on the HCFA CMS Upper Limit List, the payment shall be subject to the aggregate upper limit payment test.

2. The Virginia Medicaid Maximum Allowable Cost (VMAC) established by the Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services to be inclusive of appropriate multiple source and specific high cost drugs plus a dispensing fee.  Multiple source drugs may include but are not limited to Food and Drug Administration-rated products such as drugs established by a Virginia Voluntary Formulary (VVF) drugs, Federal Upper Limit Drugs and any other state or federally approved listing. "Multisource drugs" means covered outpatient drugs for which there are two or more drug products that:

a. Are included in the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services' state drug rebate program;

b. Have been approved by the Federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA);

c. Are included in the Approved Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations as generically equivalent;  and

d. Are sold or marketed in Virginia.

2. The methodology used to reimburse for generic drug products shall be the higher of either:  (i) the lowest Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) plus 10 percent, OR (ii) the second lowest WAC plus six percent.  This methodology shall reimburse for products’ costs based on a Maximum Allowable Cost (VMAC) list to be established by the single state agency.  In developing the maximum allowable reimbursement rate for generic pharmaceuticals, the department or its designated contractor shall:

a. Identify three different suppliers, including either manufacturers or wholesalers, that are able to supply, in sufficient quantities, pharmaceutical products.  The drugs considered must be listed as therapeutically and pharmaceutically equivalent in the Food and Drug Administration's most recent version of the Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations ("Orange Book").  Pharmaceutical products that are not available from three different suppliers, including either manufacturers or wholesalers, shall not be subject to the VMAC list;
b. Identify that the use of a VMAC rate is lower than the Federal Upper Limit (FUL) for the drug.  The FUL is a known, widely published price provided by CMS; and 

c. Distribute the list of state VMAC rates to pharmacy providers in a timely manner prior to the implementation of VMAC rates and subsequent modifications.  DMAS shall publish on its website, each month, the information used to set the Commonwealth’s prospective VMAC rates, including, but not necessarily limited to:

(i) The identity of applicable reference products used to set the VMAC rates;

(ii) The Generic Code Number (GCN) or National Drug Code (NDC), as may be appropriate of reference products;

(iii) The difference by which the VMAC rate exceeds the appropriate WAC price; and

(iv) The identity and date of the published compendia used to determine reference products and set the VMAC rate.  The difference by which the VMAC rate exceeds the appropriate WAC price shall be at least or equal to 10 percent above the lowest-published wholesale acquisition cost for products widely available for purchase in the Commonwealth and shall be included in national pricing compendia.

Development of a VMAC rate that does not have a FUL rate shall not result in the use of higher-cost innovator brand name or single source drugs in the Medicaid program.

DMAS or its designated contractor shall:

(i) Implement and maintain a procedure to add or eliminate products from the list, or modify VMAC rates, consistent with changes in the fluctuating marketplace. DMAS or its designated contractor will regularly review manufacturers' pricing and monitor drug availability in the marketplace to determine the inclusion or exclusion of drugs on the VMAC list; and

(ii) Provide a pricing dispute resolution procedure to allow a dispensing provider to contest a listed VMAC rate.  DMAS or its designated contractor shall confirm receipt of pricing disputes within 24 hours, via telephone or facsimile, with the appropriate documentation of relevant information, e.g., invoices.  Disputes shall be resolved within three business days of confirmation.  The pricing dispute resolution process will include DMAS' or the contractor’s verification of accurate pricing to ensure consistency with marketplace pricing and drug availability.  Providers will be reimbursed, as appropriate, based on findings.  Providers shall be required to use this dispute resolution process prior to exercising any applicable appeal rights.

3. The Estimated Acquisition Cost (EAC) which shall be based on the published Average Wholesale Price (AWP) minus a percentage discount established by the General Assembly (as set forth in subdivision 8 7 of this section) or, in the absence thereof, by the following methodology set out in subdivisions a through c below.

a. Percentage discount shall be determined by a statewide survey of providers' acquisition cost.

b. The survey shall reflect statistical analysis of actual provider purchase invoices.

c. The agency will conduct surveys at intervals deemed necessary by DMAS.

4. (Reserved.)

5. 4. The provider's usual and customary charge to the public, as identified by the claim charge.

6. 5. Payment for pharmacy services will be as described above; however, payment for legend drugs will include the allowed cost of the drug plus only one dispensing fee per month for each specific drug.  Exceptions to the monthly dispensing fees shall be allowed for drugs determined by the department to have unique dispensing requirements.  The dispensing fee of $3.75 (effective July 1, 2003) shall remain in effect.

7. 6. The Program pays additional reimbursement for unit dose dispensing system of dispensing drugs.  DMAS defines its unit dose dispensing system coverage consistent with that of the Board of Pharmacy of the Department of Health Professions (18 VAC 110-20-420).  This service is paid only for patients residing in nursing facilities.  Reimbursements are based on the allowed payments described above plus the unit dose per capita fee to be submitted by the pharmacy for unit dose dispensing services to a nursing home resident.  Only one service fee per month may be submitted by the pharmacy for each patient receiving unit dose dispensing services.  The maximum allowed drug cost for specific multiple source drugs will be the lesser of:  either the VMAC, based on the 60th percentile or maximum cost level, as identified by the state agency or CMS' upper limits as applicable.  Multi-source drugs will be reimbursed at the maximum allowed drug cost for specific multiple source drugs, as identified by the state agency or CMS’ upper limits as applicable.  All other drugs will be reimbursed at drug costs not to exceed the estimated acquisition cost determined by the state agency.  The original per capita fee shall be determined by a DMAS analysis of costs related to such dispensing, and shall be reevaluated at periodic intervals for appropriate adjustment.

8. 7. Determination of EAC was the result of a report by the Office of the Inspector General that focused on appropriate Medicaid marketplace pricing of pharmaceuticals based on the documented costs to the pharmacy.  An EAC of AWP minus 10.25% shall become effective July 1, 2002.

The dispensing fee of $3.75 (effective July 1, 2003) shall remain in effect, creating a payment methodology based on the previous algorithm (least of 1 through 5 4 of this subsection above) plus a dispensing fee where applicable.

9. 8. Home infusion therapy.

a. The following therapy categories shall have a pharmacy service day rate payment allowable:  hydration therapy, chemotherapy, pain management therapy, drug therapy, total parenteral nutrition (TPN).  The service day rate payment for the pharmacy component shall apply to the basic components and services intrinsic to the therapy category.  Submission of claims for the per diem rate shall be accomplished by use of the HCFA 1500 claim form.

b. The cost of the active ingredient or ingredients for chemotherapy, pain management and drug therapies shall be submitted as a separate claim through the pharmacy program, using standard pharmacy format.  Payment for this component shall be consistent with the current reimbursement for pharmacy services.  Multiple applications of the same therapy shall be reimbursed one service day rate for the pharmacy services.  Multiple applications of different therapies shall be reimbursed at 100% of standard pharmacy reimbursement for each active ingredient.

/s/ Mark R. Warner

Governor

Date: November 2, 2004
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