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Proposed Regulations
Proposed Regulations

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD OF DENTISTRY

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 60-20. Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene (amending 18 VAC 60-20-20; adding 18 VAC 60-20-91).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2711.1 of the Code of Virginia.
Public Hearing Date:  January 21, 2005 - 9 a.m.
Public comments may be submitted until March 11, 2005.

(See Calendar of Events section

for additional information)

Agency Contact:  Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9918, FAX (804) 662-9114, or e-mail elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov.

Basis:  Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the Board of Dentistry the authority to promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system.  In § 54.1-2711.1 of the Dental Practice Act, the Board of Dentistry is authorized to issue a temporary license, as prescribed in regulations.

Purpose:  The purpose of the action is to comply with the statutory mandate in the enactment clause of Chapter 754 of the 2004 Acts of the Assembly and prescribe those regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of § 54.1-2711.1 on the issuance of temporary annual licenses for persons enrolled in advanced dental education programs.  By granting a limited license and requiring oversight from a licensed member of the dental program, the board will authorize practice and the prescribing of controlled substances with appropriate provisions in place to protect the health and safety of citizens treated in dental clinics by persons holding a temporary resident license.  Regulations clearly provide that licensure only extends for the duration of the time in a graduate or post-doctoral program and is confined to work in an outpatient clinic that is a recognized part of an advanced dental education program.  The new provision in Chapter 27 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and proposed regulations to implement the law will authorize practice in dental programs on a par with licensure of interns and residents enrolled in advanced medical programs.

Substance:  18 VAC 60-20-20 is amended to establish an application fee of $55 and an annual renewal fee of $35 for a temporary resident license.  18 VAC 60-20-91 is adopted to (i) set out the educational requirements for issuance of a temporary license, including a recommendation from the dean or director of the advanced dental program; (ii) establish the limitations on practice; (iii) provide for renewal of the license based on continued recommendation by the program and limited to five times; and (iv) specify that the temporary license holder is accountable to a licensed dentist who is a member of staff where the residency or internship is being served.
Issues:  The advantages to the public include the expansion of dental services available to persons served in the dental school at MCV or in outpatient dental clinics that are a recognized part of an advanced dental education program.  While resident or post-doctoral fellows have been working in those clinics, they have been unable to prescribe controlled substances without a license issued by the state.  Such a license is necessary to obtain a controlled substance registration from the Drug Enforcement Administration, so their practice has been severely hampered.  Now, dental residents will be able to practice in much the same way as medical residents who provide services at MCV and related clinics.  With oversight by members of the dental school staff, limitations on employment outside the dental program and requirements for adherence to standards of the Commission on Dental Accreditation, the practice of dentists with a temporary resident license is more closely monitored than that of a dentist holding a full license for practice.  With such requirements in place and with the temporary licensee subject to disciplinary action by the board, there are no disadvantages to the public.

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth.  Given the limited number of persons who will seek a resident license and the limited scope of their practice, the board does not expect the licensing and disciplinary activities to become burdensome.  Processing of initial applications may be time consuming but, thereafter, the annual renewals and handling new applications should be routine in nature.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 (02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private property.  The analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  Pursuant to Chapter 754 of the 2004 Acts of Assembly, the Board of Dentistry (board) proposes to adopt regulations for the temporary licensure of persons enrolled in advanced dental education programs.

Estimated economic impact.  Currently, residents, interns and post-doctoral fellows provide dental services for the public in the dental school at Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU), the only dental school in Virginia, and in outpatient dental clinics that are a recognized part of VCU’s advanced dental education programs.1  While residents, interns, and post-doctoral fellows have been working in those clinics, they have been unable to prescribe controlled substances without a license issued by the state.  Such a license is necessary to obtain a controlled substance registration from the Drug Enforcement Administration, so their practice has been hampered.

The board proposes to establish temporary licensure of persons enrolled in advanced dental education programs.  In order to obtain temporary licensure, applicants must: (i) successfully complete a D.D.S. or D.M.D. dental degree program required for admission to the board-approved licensure examinations,2 and (ii) submit a recommendation from the dean of the dental school or the director of the accredited graduate program specifying the applicant’s acceptance as an intern, resident or post-doctoral certificate or degree candidate in an advanced dental education program.3  Unlike the standard license, passing the board-approved licensure examinations is not required for the temporary license.  The temporary license holder is responsible and accountable at all times to a licensed dentist, who is a member of the staff where the internship, residency, or post-doctoral candidacy is served.  The temporary license only allows for dental practice within facilities affiliated with their advanced dental education program.  A standard license is required for practice elsewhere.

The temporary license will enable dental residents (interns and post-docs) to practice in an analogous way to medical residents (interns and post-docs) at Virginia medical schools and associated clinics.  With oversight by members of the dental school staff and limitations on employment outside of clinics affiliated with the dental program, the practice of dentists with a temporary resident license is more closely monitored than that of a dentist holding a full license for practice.

The temporary license will be beneficial in that it will: (i) enable dentists in advanced dental education programs to gain more experience while supervised by an experienced dentist who is a member of the staff where the internship, residency, or post-doctoral candidacy is served, and (ii) enable additional dental services to be offered to the public.  There is the possibility that the less experienced dentist might prescribe a drug that his experienced supervisor might not.  It seems unlikely, though, that the supervised dental school graduate would prescribe something highly inappropriate.  Also, the supervisor may very well note the prescription and change it before it is filled.  No evidence is available to estimate the likelihood and cost of the less-experienced dentist prescribing a drug that is not the most appropriate.  If the combined likelihood and cost are small, than the substantial benefits of the temporary license described above will outweigh the costs.

Businesses and entities affected.  The proposed amendments affect the ###4 individuals enrolled in advanced dental education programs in Virginia, as well as their faculty supervisors and their patients.

Localities particularly affected.  The proposed regulations affect all Virginia localities, but may particularly affect patients in the Richmond area since Virginia’s only dental school is located in Richmond.

Projected impact on employment.  The proposed amendments will not significantly affect employment levels.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  The proposed amendments will increase and speed the dental services offered at clinics affiliated with the VCU School of Dentistry.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Board of Dentistry concurs with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget for the proposed regulation, 18 VAC 60-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene, related to temporary licensure for dental residents.

Summary:

The proposed amendments set an application and renewal fee and establish the requirements for issuance of a temporary license and for practice by a dentist under such a license.
18 VAC 60-20-20. License renewal and reinstatement.

A. Renewal fees.  Every person holding an active or inactive license, a full-time faculty license, or a restricted volunteer license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before March 31, renew his license.  Every person holding a teacher's license, temporary resident's license or a temporary permit to practice dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before June 30, renew his license.

1. The fee for renewal of an active license or permit to practice or teach dentistry shall be $150, and the fee for renewal of an active license or permit to practice or teach dental hygiene shall be $50.

2. The fee for renewal of an inactive license shall be $75 for dentists and $25 for dental hygienists.

3. The fee for renewal of a restricted volunteer license shall be $15.

4. The application fee for a temporary resident’s license shall be $55. The annual renewal fee shall be $35 a year. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $15.

B. Late fees.  Any person who does not return the completed form and fee by the deadline required in subsection A of this section shall be required to pay an additional late fee of $50 for dentists and $20 for dental hygienists.  The board shall renew a license if the renewal form, renewal fee, and late fee are received within one year of the deadline required in subsection A of this section.

C. Reinstatement fees and procedures.  The license of any person who does not return the completed renewal form and fees by the deadline required in subsection A of this section shall automatically expire and become invalid and his practice of dentistry/dental hygiene shall be illegal.

1. Any person whose license has expired for more than one year and who wishes to reinstate such license shall submit to the board a reinstatement application, the renewal fee and the reinstatement fee of $225 for dentists and $135 for dental hygienists.

2. Practicing in Virginia with an expired license may subject the licensee to disciplinary action and additional fines by the board.

3. The executive director may reinstate such expired license provided that the applicant can demonstrate continuing competence, that no grounds exist pursuant to § 54.1-2706 of the Code of Virginia and 18 VAC 60-20-170 to deny said reinstatement, and that the applicant has paid the unpaid renewal fee, the reinstatement fee and any fines or assessments.

D. Reinstatement of a license previously revoked or indefinitely suspended.  Any person whose license has been revoked shall submit to the board for its approval a reinstatement application and fee of $750 for dentists and $500 for dental hygienists.  Any person whose license has been indefinitely suspended shall submit to the board for its approval a reinstatement application and fee of $350 for dentists and $250 for dental hygienists.

18 VAC 60-20-91. Temporary licenses to persons enrolled in advanced dental education programs.

A. A dental intern, resident or post-doctoral certificate or degree candidate applying for a temporary license to practice in Virginia shall:

1. Successfully complete a D.D.S. or D.M.D. dental degree program required for admission to board-approved examinations and submit a letter of confirmation from the registrar of the school or college conferring the professional degree, or official transcripts confirming the professional degree and date the degree was received.

2. Submit a recommendation from the dean of the dental school or the director of the accredited graduate program specifying the applicant’s acceptance as an intern, resident or post-doctoral certificate or degree candidate in an advanced dental education program. The beginning and ending dates of the internship, residency or post-doctoral program shall be specified.

B. The temporary license applies only to practice in the hospital or outpatient clinics of the hospital or dental school where the internship, residency or post-doctoral time is served. Outpatient clinics in a hospital or other facility must be a recognized part of an advanced dental education program. 

C. The temporary license may be renewed annually, for up to five times, upon the recommendation of the dean of the dental school or director of the accredited graduate program.

D. The temporary license holder shall be responsible and accountable at all times to a licensed dentist, who is a member of the staff where the internship, residency or post-doctoral candidacy is served. The temporary licensee is prohibited from employment outside of the advanced dental education program where a full license is required.

E. The temporary license holder shall abide by the accrediting requirements for an advanced dental education program as approved by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 60-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene are not being published due to the large number; however, the name of each form is listed below.  The forms are available for public inspection at the Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
FORMS

Outline and Explanation of Documentation Required for Dental Licensure by Exam, Teacher's License, Restricted License, Full Time Faculty License, and Temporary Permit (rev. 12/02).

Application for Licensure to Practice Dentistry (rev. 12/02).

Application for Restricted Volunteer Licensure to Practice Dentistry and Dental Hygiene (eff. 7/98).

Requirements and Instructions for a Temporary Resident's License to Persons Enrolled in Advanced Dental Education Programs (eff. 7/04).

Application for Temporary Resident's License (eff. 7/04).

Form A, Certification of Dental School for Temporary Resident's License (eff. 7/04).

Form B, Certification from Dean of Dental School or Director of Accredited Graduate Program, Temporary Resident's License (eff. 7/04).

Form C, Certification of Dental Licensure, Temporary Resident's License (eff. 7/04).

Form D, Chronology, Temporary Resident's License (eff. 7/04).

Form A, Certification of Dental/Dental Hygiene School (rev. 12/02).

Form AA, Sponsor Certification for Dental/Dental Hygiene Volunteer License (eff. 7/98).

Form B, Chronology (rev. 12/02).

Form C, Certification of Dental/Dental Hygiene Boards (rev. 12/02).

Outline and Explanation of Documentation Required for Dental Hygiene Licensure by Exam, Teacher's License, Dental Hygiene by Endorsement, and Dental Hygiene Temporary Permit (rev. 12/02).

Application for Licensure to Practice Dental Hygiene (rev. 12/02).

Instructions for Reinstatement (rev. 12/02).

Reinstatement Application for Dental/Dental Hygiene Licensure (rev. 12/02).

Radiology Information for Dental Assistants (rev. 7/97).

Renewal Notice and Application, 0401 Dentist (rev. 12/02).

Renewal Notice and Application, 0402 Dental Hygienist (rev. 12/02).

Renewal Notice and Application, 0404 Dental Teacher (rev. 12/02).

Renewal Notice and Application, 0406 Dental Hygiene Teacher (rev. 12/02).

Renewal Notice and Application, 0411 Full‑time Faculty (rev. 12/02).

Renewal Notice and Application, 0438 Cosmetic Procedure Certification (rev. 12/02).

Renewal Notice and Application, 0439 Oral and Maxillofacial (rev. 12/02).

Application for Certification to Perform Cosmetic Procedures (rev. 12/02).

Rhinoplasty/similar Procedures (rev. 7/02).

Bletharoplasty/similar Procedures (rev. 7/02).

Rhytidectomy/similar Procedures (rev. 7/02).

Submental liposuction/similar Procedures (rev. 7/02).

Browlift/either open or endoscopic technique/similar Procedures (rev. 7/02).

Otoplasty/similar Procedures (7/02).

Laser Resurfacing or Dermabrasion/similar Procedures (rev. 7/02).

Platysmal muscle plication/similar Procedures (rev. 7/02).

Application Review Worksheet (rev. 7/02).

Practitioner Questionnaire (rev. 12/02).

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon Registration of Practice (rev. 12/02).

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (eff. 12/02).

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (eff. 1/03).

VA.R. Doc. No. R04-235; Filed December 21, 2004, 10:40 a.m.

1 The Department of Health Professions confirmed that VCU has the only dental school in Virginia, and that the only advanced dental education programs in the Commonwealth are associated with VCU. 


2 The applicant must also submit a letter of confirmation from the registrar of the school or college conferring the professional degree, or official transcripts confirming the professional degree and the date the degree was received.


3 The beginning and ending dates of the internship, residency, or post-doctoral program must be specified.


4 Figure will be added when the VCU School of Dentistry provides the requested data.  The data was requested on November 1, 2004.
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