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TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL RESOURCES

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE:  The following regulations filed by the Marine Resources Commission are exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is required to publish the full text of final regulations.

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 20-252. Pertaining to the Taking of Striped Bass (amending 4 VAC 20-252-50, 4 VAC 20-252-55, 4 VAC 20-252-130, 4 VAC 20-252-150, and 4 VAC 20-252-160).

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-204.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: February 2, 2005.

Agency Contact: Deborah Cawthon, Agency Regulatory Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002 or e-mail debbie.cawthon@mrc.virginia.gov.
Summary:

The amendments (i) clarify that a recreational possession limit applies to a specific 24-hour period; (ii) establish the recreational harvest level; (iii) augment the reporting requirements of commercial fishermen who are permitted to harvest striped bass; (iv) augment the reporting requirements of permitted buyers who purchase striped bass; (v) establish the commercial harvest quota; (vi) establish requirements for returning unused tags to the commission; and (vii) provide a means to account for all unused tags.

4 VAC 20-252-50. Concerning recreational fishing: general.
A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally to take or to catch striped bass with any gear other than hook and line, rod and reel, or hand line.
B. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally to possess any striped bass while fishing in an area where or at a time when there is no open recreational striped bass season.  Striped bass caught contrary to this provision shall be returned to the water immediately.
C. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally to possess land and retain any striped bass in excess of the possession limit applicable for the area and season being fished within the 24-hour period of 12 a.m. through 11:59 p.m.  Striped bass taken in excess of the possession limit shall be returned to the water immediately.
When fishing from a boat or vessel where the entire catch is held in a common hold or container, the possession limit shall be for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the number of persons on board legally eligible to fish multiplied by the applicable personal possession limit.  The captain or operator of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any boat or vessel possession limit.
D. It shall be unlawful to combine possession limits when there is more than one area or season open at the same time.
E. It shall be unlawful for any person while actively fishing pursuant to a recreational fishery to possess any striped bass that are smaller than the minimum size limit or larger than the maximum size limit for the area and season then open and being fished.  Any striped bass caught that does not meet the applicable size limit shall be returned to the water immediately.
F. It shall be unlawful for any person to sell, offer for sale, trade or barter any striped bass taken by hook and line, rod and reel, or hand line provided, however, this provision shall not apply to persons possessing a commercial hook-and-line license and a striped bass permit and meeting the other requirements of this chapter.
G. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally to transfer any striped bass to another person, while on the water or while fishing from a pier or shore.
H. It shall be unlawful for the captain of any charter boat or charter vessel to take hook-and-line, rod-and-reel, or hand line fishermen for hire unless the captain has obtained a permit from the commission and is the holder of a Coast Guard charter license.
I. Charter boat captains shall report to the commission, on forms provided by the commission, all daily quantities of striped bass caught and harvested, and daily fishing hours for themselves or their customers, respectively.  The written report shall be forwarded to the commission no later than 15 days following the last day of any open season.  In addition, charter boat captains engaging in the Bay and Coastal Spring Trophy-size Striped Bass Recreational Fishery and the Potomac River Tributaries Spring Striped Bass Recreational Fishery shall provide the report required by 4 VAC 20-252-60 and 4 VAC 20-252-70, respectively.  Failure to provide these reports is a violation of this chapter.
4 VAC 20-252-55. Recreational harvest quota.

The total allowable level of all recreational harvest of striped bass for all open seasons and for all legal gear shall be 1,364,154 1,504,927 pounds of whole fish.  At such time as the total recreational harvest of striped bass is projected to reach 1,364,154 1,504,927 pounds, and announced as such, it shall be unlawful for any person to land or possess striped bass caught for recreational purposes.

4 VAC 20-252-130. Entry limits, permits, and reports.

A. There is established a special permit for engaging in either the Chesapeake area commercial fishery for striped bass or the coastal area commercial fishery for striped bass, and it shall be unlawful for any person to engage in either commercial fishery for striped bass without first having obtained the permit from the commission and meeting the following conditions:

1. The person shall be a licensed registered commercial fisherman.

2. The person shall have reported all prior fishing activity in accordance with 4 VAC 20-610 and shall not be under any sanction by the Marine Resources Commission for noncompliance with the regulation.

B. Permits for the commercial harvest of striped bass in the Chesapeake area shall be issued to any registered commercial fishermen holding striped bass quota shares issued under the provisions of 4 VAC 20-252-160, except as provided by subsection C of this section.

C. Initially, permits for the 2003 commercial harvest of striped bass in the coastal area shall be issued as described in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection.

1. Permits for the coastal area striped bass commercial fishery shall be limited to any registered commercial fishermen who landed a total of at least 1,000 pounds of striped bass from the coastal area in one year or more from 1993 through 1997 and harvested striped bass from the coastal area in either 2001 or 2002 as documented by the commission's mandatory reporting database, and who choose to surrender 236 tags of his Chesapeake area striped bass harvest quota.  Should the coastal area harvest quota described in 4 VAC 20-252-150 B be insufficient to provide permits for all those who qualify according to the requirements in this subdivision, permits shall be granted first on the basis of the total number of years a fisherman landed striped bass from 1993 through 1997, and secondarily on the total number of pounds landed by a fisherman from 1993 through 1997.

2. If shares of coastal area quota remain, following the initial permitting process in 2003, as described in subdivision 1 of this subsection, subsequent permits issued for the 2003 coastal area commercial striped bass fishery shall first be limited, sequentially, to those fishermen who landed the most striped bass beyond a minimum total landings amount of 1,000 pounds from the coastal area during the most number of years from 1993 through 1997 and landed striped bass from the coastal area in either 2001 or 2002 as documented by the commission's mandatory reporting database, and who choose to surrender 236 tags of their Chesapeake area striped bass harvest quota.  Secondarily, permits issued for the 2003 coastal area commercial striped bass fishery shall be limited, sequentially, to those fishermen who landed the most striped bass, beyond a minimum total landings amount of 1,000 pounds, from the coastal area during the most number of years from 1993 through 1997 as documented by the commission's mandatory reporting database, and who choose to surrender 236 tags of their Chesapeake area striped bass harvest quota.

3. Permittees for the 2003 commercial harvest of striped bass in the coastal area shall receive an equal share of the coastal area quota of tags.

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to purchase striped bass taken from Virginia's tidal waters for the purpose of resale without first obtaining a permit from the commission.

E. Permits must be in the possession of the permittee while harvesting, selling or possessing striped bass.  Failure to have the appropriate permit in possession shall be a violation of this chapter.

F. All permitted commercial harvesters of striped bass shall report to the commission in accordance with 4 VAC 20-610.  In addition to the reporting requirements of 4 VAC 20-610, all permitted commercial harvesters of striped bass shall record and report daily striped bass tag use and specify the number of tags used on striped bass harvested in either the Chesapeake area or coastal area.  Daily striped bass tag use on striped bass harvested from either the Chesapeake area or coastal area, within any month, shall be recorded on forms provided by the commission and shall accompany the monthly catch report submitted no later than the fifth day of the following month.

G. All buyers of striped bass taken from Virginia's tidal waters shall provide written reports of daily purchases and sales for each commercial fishing season to the commission no later than 15 days following the last day of each commercial fishing season.  Any buyer permitted to purchase striped bass harvested from Virginia tidal waters shall provide written reports to the commission of daily purchases and harvest information on forms provided by the Marine Resources Commission. Such information shall include the date of the purchase, buyer’s and harvester’s striped bass permit numbers, and harvester’s Commercial Fisherman Registration License number. In addition, for each different purchase of striped bass harvested from Virginia waters, the buyer shall record the gear type, water area fished, city or county of landing, weight of whole fish, and number and type of tags (Chesapeake area or coastal area) that applies to that harvest. These reports shall be completed in full and submitted monthly to the Marine Resources Commission no later than the fifth day of the following month. In addition, during the month of December, each permitted buyer shall call the Marine Resources Commission interactive voice recording system on a daily basis to report his name and permit number, date, pounds of Chesapeake area striped bass purchased and pounds of coastal area striped bass purchased.

H. Failure of any person permitted to harvest, buy, or sell striped bass, to submit the required written report for any fishing day shall constitute a violation of this chapter.

4 VAC 20-252-150. Commercial harvest quota; conversion to striped bass tags.

A. The commercial harvest quota for the Chesapeake area shall be determined annually by the Marine Resources Commission.  The total allowable level of all commercial harvest of striped bass from the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries and the Potomac River tributaries of Virginia for all open seasons and for all legal gear shall be 1,364,154 1,504,927 pounds of whole fish.  At such time as the total commercial harvest of striped bass from the Chesapeake area is projected to reach 1,364,154 1,504,927 pounds, and announced as such, it shall be unlawful for any person to land or possess striped bass caught for commercial purposes from the Chesapeake area.

B. The commercial harvest quota for the coastal area of Virginia shall be determined annually by the Marine Resources Commission.  The total allowable level of all commercial harvest of striped bass from the coastal area for all open seasons and for all legal gear shall be 184,853 pounds of whole fish.  At such time as the total commercial harvest of striped bass from the coastal area is projected to reach 184,853 pounds, and announced as such, it shall be unlawful for any person to land or possess striped bass caught for commercial purposes from the coastal area.

C. For the purposes of assigning individual shares for commercial harvests in the Chesapeake area, as described in 4 VAC 20-252-160, the commercial harvest quota of striped bass in pounds shall be converted to a quota in numbers of fish based on the estimate of the average weight of striped bass harvested during the previous fishing year.  One striped bass tag shall be provided for each striped bass in the total quota to arrive at the commercial harvest quota of tags.

D. For the purposes of assigning individual shares, for commercial harvests in the coastal area of Virginia as described in 4 VAC 20-252-160, the commercial harvest quota of striped bass in pounds shall be converted to a quota in numbers of fish based on the estimate of the average weight of striped bass harvested during the previous fishing year.  One striped bass tag shall be provided for each striped bass in the total quota, to arrive at the commercial harvest quota of tags.

4 VAC 20-252-160. Individual transferable shares; tagging.

A. For each person permitted under the provisions of 4 VAC 20-252-130 to harvest striped bass commercially, tags shall be distributed to permitted fishermen in amounts equal to the share of the Chesapeake area and coastal area striped bass harvest quota they hold.  Tags issued for Chesapeake area harvest quota shall only be used for striped bass harvests in the Chesapeake area, and tags issued for the coastal area harvest quota shall only be used for striped bass harvests in the coastal area.

B. It shall be unlawful for any person permitted under the provisions of 4 VAC 20-252-130 to harvest striped bass commercially to possess any striped bass tagged with Chesapeake area tags within the waters of the coastal area, unless such person obtains from the commissioner a permit that authorizes transit from the Chesapeake area to the coastal area, for the purposes of returning to the port of landing.

C. Shares of the commercial striped bass quota of tags held by any permitted fisherman may be transferred to any other person who is a licensed registered commercial fisherman; such transfer shall allow the transferee to harvest striped bass in a quantity equal to the share transferred.  Any transfer of striped bass commercial shares shall be limited by the following conditions.

1. Commercial striped bass shares shall not be transferred in any quantity less than 20 tags.

2. No licensed registered commercial fisherman shall hold shares totaling more than 2.0% of the total annual Chesapeake area commercial striped bass harvest quota of tags or more than 11% of the total annual coastal area commercial striped bass harvest quota of tags.

3. No transfer of striped bass commercial harvest quota shares shall be authorized unless such transfer is documented on a form provided by the Marine Resources Commission, notarized by a lawful Notary Public, and approved by the commissioner.

D. Transfers of Chesapeake area or coastal area striped bass commercial quota shares from one person to another may be permanent or temporary.  Transferred tags from the Chesapeake area striped bass commercial quota shall only be used by the transferee for striped bass harvested from the Chesapeake area, and transferred tags from the coastal area striped bass commercial quota shall only be used by the transferee for striped bass harvested from the coastal area.  Permanent transfers of commercial quota shares shall grant to the transferee that transferred share of the quota of tags for future years, and the transferor loses that same transferred share of the quota of tags in future years.  Temporary transfers of striped bass commercial harvest quota shares shall allow the transferee to harvest that transferred share of the quota of tags during the year in which the transfer is approved.  Thereafter, any share of the transferred striped bass commercial quota of tags reverts back to the transferor.

E. The commission will issue striped bass tags to permitted striped bass commercial fishermen prior to the start of the fishing season.

F. Striped bass tags are valid only for use by the permittee to whom the tags were allotted.  The permittee shall be on board the boat or vessel when striped bass are harvested and tags are applied.  Nothing in this subsection shall prevent a permitted commercial hook-and-line fisherman from using three crew members who are not registered commercial fishermen to assist in the harvest of his allotment of striped bass.

G. At the place of capture, and as soon as possible after capture, tags shall be passed through the mouth of the fish and one gill opening, and interlocking ends of the tag shall then be connected such that the tag may only be removed by breaking.  Failure to comply with these provisions shall be a violation of this chapter.

H. It shall be unlawful to bring to shore any commercially caught striped bass that has not been marked by the fisherman with a tamper evident, numbered tag provided by the commission.  It shall be unlawful to possess striped bass in a quantity greater than the number of tags in possession.

I. Altering or attempting to alter any tag for the purpose of reuse shall constitute a violation of this chapter.

J. Any tags issued and not used shall be returned to the commission by the permittee within 15 days after the close of the commercial fishery for the year. Prior to receiving any commercial season’s allotment of striped bass tags, a permitted commercial harvester shall be required to have returned all unused tags from the previous commercial season to the commission. Any unused tags that cannot be turned in to the commission shall be accounted for by the harvester submitting an affidavit to the commission that explains the disposition of the unused tags that are not able to be turned into the commission.

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-128; Filed February 2, 2005, 3:01 p.m.
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