EMERGENCY REGULATIONS


TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL RESOURCES

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 20-170. Pertaining to the Removal of Nets from Fixed Fishing Devices (amending 4 VAC 20-170-10 and 4 VAC 20-170-30).

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Dates: April 1, 2005 through April 30, 2005.

Agency Contact: Deborah Cawthon, Agency Regulatory Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002 or e-mail debbie.cawthon@mrc.virginia.gov.
Summary:

The emergency regulation provides for the timely removal of nets and limits the time that a gill net may be unattended (fish or remove) to a 24-hour period in coastal waters and defines various penalties associated with any violation of this chapter.

4 VAC 20-170-10. Purpose.

The purpose purposes of this chapter is are (i) to prevent waste and provide for the conservation of fisheries resources by preventing ghost fishing by unattended nets; and (ii) conserve and protect bottlenose dolphin and sea turtle stocks within Virginia waters.

4 VAC 20-170-30. Violation.

A. If, upon visual observation, any marine patrol police officer determines that a device or net, other than a staked gill net set west of the COLREGS Line and north of the North Carolina-Virginia border and south of the Maryland-Virginia border, in Virginia waters, has not been fished for at least a five-day period, he shall notify the licensee, and if the licensee fails to fish said device or remove the net within seven days after notification the licensee shall be guilty of violation of this chapter.

B. If, upon visual observation, any marine patrol police officer determines that any staked gill net has not been fished for at least a 24-hour period, he shall notify the licensee, and if the licensee fails to fish the staked gill net or remove the net within 24 hours after notification the licensee shall be guilty of a violation of this chapter.

C. If, upon visual observation, any marine police officer determines that any gill net, set in Virginia waters east of the COLREGS Line and north of the North Carolina-Virginia border and south of the Maryland-Virginia border, has not been fished for at least a 24-hour period, he shall notify the licensee, and if the licensee fails to fish the gill net or remove the net within 24 hours after notification the licensee shall be guilty of a violation of this chapter.
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