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TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL RESOURCES

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE:  The following regulations filed by the Marine Resources Commission are exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is required to publish the full text of final regulations.

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 20-170. Pertaining to the Removal of Nets from Fixed Fishing Devices (amending 4 VAC 20-170-30).

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.201 and 28.2-236 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: May 1, 2005.

Agency Contact: Deborah Cawthon, Agency Regulatory Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002 or e-mail debbie.cawthon@mrc.virginia.gov.
Summary:

The amendments authorize the marine police officer to notify the licensee to either fish or remove a gill net within 24 hours if the officer determines that a gill net set east of the COLREGS Line in Virginia waters has not been fished for at least a 24-hour period.

4 VAC 20-170-30. Violation.

A. If, upon visual observation, any marine patrol police officer determines that a device or net, other than a staked gill net set west of the COLREGS Line and north of the North-Carolina-Virginia border and south of the Maryland-Virginia border, in Virginia waters, has not been fished for at least a five-day period, he shall notify the licensee, and if the licensee fails to fish said device or remove the net within seven days after notification the licensee shall be guilty of violation of this chapter.

B. If, upon visual observation, any marine patrol police officer determines that any staked gill net has not been fished for at least a 24-hour period, he shall notify the licensee, and if the licensee fails to fish the staked gill net or remove the net within 24 hours after notification the licensee shall be guilty of a violation of this chapter.

C. If upon visual observation, any marine police officer determines that any gill net set in Virginia waters east of the COLREGS Line and north of the North Carolina-Virginia border and south of the Maryland-Virginia border, has not been fished for at least a 24-hour period, the officer shall notify the licensee, and if the licensee fails to fish the gill net or remove the net within 24 hours after notification, the licensee shall be guilty of a violation of this chapter.

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-181; Filed April 27, 2005, 12:21 p.m.

Volume 21, Issue 18
Virginia Register of Regulations

            Monday, May 16, 2005

1
Virginia Register of Regulations

2
document4
3

