FAST-TRACK REGULATIONS

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1.

Fast-Track Regulations
Fast-Track Regulations

TITLE 12. HEALTH
DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES

Title of Regulation:  12 VAC 30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to Assure High Quality Care (amending 12 VAC 30-60-70).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia.
Public Hearing Date:  N/A

Public comments may be submitted until July 29, 2005.

(See Calendar of Events section

for additional information)

Effective Date:  August 15, 2005.
Agency Contact:  Diana Thorpe, Long Term Care and Quality Assurance Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-8490, FAX (804) 786-1680, or e-mail diana.thorpe@dmas.virginia.gov.

Basis:  Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the Board of Medical Assistance Services (BMAS) the authority to administer and amend the Plan of Medical Assistance.  Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia grants to the Director of DMAS the authority to administer and amend the Plan of Medical Assistance in lieu of board action pursuant to the board’s requirements.
Purpose:  Without endangering recipients' health and safety, this action decreases the administrative burden of home health providers as they render services to recipients.  This action modifies home health physician certification and recertification requirements as contained in 12 VAC 30-60-70.  This reduces administrative oversight that home health providers currently provide for recipients of home health services.  Home health providers have indicated that the additional oversight was burdensome and did not necessarily improve patient care and outcomes.

This regulatory action is expected to help protect the health, safety, and welfare of recipients receiving home health services by enabling them to live successfully in their homes and communities.

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process:  Without compromising on quality of care, this action decreases the administrative burden of home health providers as they render services to recipients so objections by providers and their advocacy groups are not anticipated.  These regulatory changes were shared with an advisory group of providers and advocates and they had no substantive comments about the changes but supported them.  The agency is using the fast-track process in order to complete the needed regulatory changes as soon as possible so as to decrease the administrative burden to providers.

Substance:  The current requirements, implemented in 1996, for the coverage of home health services include that the attending physician sign and date the recipient certification (of the need for the home health care) within 21 days of the start of care and sign and date the recertifications (of the need for continuing care) within 60 days of the renewal date.  Based on the existing knowledge and experience in 1996, these standards were reasonable and duly promulgated.  Since the implementation of these regulations, DMAS has held the home health agencies responsible for ensuring that the physician sign and date the certifications within 21 days and the recertifications within 60 days.  This was put into place to ensure that the attending physician approved the plan of care before services began or continued.  If the attending physician did not comply with these requirements, DMAS has held the home health agency responsible and retracted reimbursement on utilization review for services already provided.

In 1999, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) implemented the Outcome and Assessment Information Set (OASIS) for Medicare beneficiaries and changed its conditions of participation for home health agencies.  Since the Medicaid program was not required to comply with these requirements, DMAS did not change its 1996 requirements.  In light of the Medicare change and DMAS’ retention of its then-current policies, this left the home health agencies in the position of complying with different sets of requirements for Medicare and for Medicaid.  Such differences between these two major health care programs created, for home health agencies, considerable administrative and management burdens.  Furthermore, the Medicare conditions of participation did not just apply for Medicare beneficiaries but to all clients of home health agencies.

Recently, DMAS determined that the quality of care rendered to home health recipients is not compromised if Medicare requirements regarding physician review of the home health certifications and recertifications are adopted for Medicaid recipients.  In the spring of 2004, DMAS convened an advisory group, comprised of DMAS staff, provider agencies, and provider advocacy groups, to assist with issues concerning the home health program.  The provider-members of the advisory group advised DMAS that its restrictive administrative requirements were causing some home health providers to consider reducing the number of Medicaid recipients in their caseloads.

With the implementation of this regulatory change, home health providers will not be held to the current stringent physician requirements.  This new regulation outlines the requirements for physician oversight of home health services that home health agencies must follow in order to receive reimbursement from DMAS.  These changes do not conflict with home health regulations from the Virginia Department of Health.
Issues:  The primary advantage for the Commonwealth with these changes is that home health providers are more likely to continue providing services to Medicaid recipients thereby enabling recipients to remain in their homes and averting institutional costs of care.  The advantage of these changes to Medicaid recipients in need of home health care is that their access to such care, across the Commonwealth, will be preserved.  The advantage to home health agencies afforded by these changes is the reduction of administrative and management duties required by DMAS’ current requirements.

The disadvantage to the Commonwealth, Medicaid recipients, and home health providers of not instituting these changes could be the reduction in the availability of these services as providers relinquish their Medicaid provider agreements.

There are no disadvantages to the Commonwealth or Medicaid recipients in implementing these changes.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 (02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private property.  The analysis presented below represents DPB's best estimate of these economic impacts.

Summary of the proposed regulation.  The proposed regulations will (i) require that the start-of-care patient assessment for home health services must be completed within the first five calendar days of the certification period, (ii) require that physician recertification of a patient’s condition must be performed within the last five days of the 60-day certification period, (iii) extend the period for which a physician signs the certification and recertifications to until the home health agency submits the bill, and (iv) remove the requirement that a physician sign and personally design the plans of care for physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech language pathology services.

Estimated economic impact.  These regulations contain procedural standards for the provision of home health services to Medicaid recipients.  The main purpose of the proposed changes is to make these requirements consistent with Medicare home health requirements, which were amended in 1999.  Currently, home health providers have to comply not only with Medicare rules, but also a slightly different set of Medicaid rules.  Although the proposed changes are relatively minor, consistency between the Medicare and Medicaid rules is expected to provide some administrative cost savings to the providers without compromising patient health and safety.

One of the proposed changes will require that the start-of-care patient assessment for home health services must be completed within the first five calendar days of the certification period.  Currently, this assessment has to be completed within the first 21 days.  Early assessment of patient needs will help patients receive appropriate services sooner and could improve their health status.  Even though this change appears to reduce a provider’s flexibility to conduct assessments, providers are currently complying with a five-day time frame for Medicare patients.  According to the Department of Medical Assistance Services, an advisory group representing the providers supports this change, which could be taken as an indication that the expected provider benefits from consistent Medicare and Medicaid rules exceed the provider costs associated with a shorter time frame in which to conduct these assessments.

Another change will require that physician recertification of a patient’s condition must be performed within the last five days of the 60-day certification period.  Under the current regulations, recertifications can be done anytime within the 60-day period.  Thus, moving the recertification window towards the end of the certification period will better reflect the patient’s more recent condition and could improve health outcomes.  On the other hand, the providers will have a narrower window in which to perform recertifications.  Similar to the previous change, providers are currently complying with this time frame for Medicare patients and have shown support for performing the recertification within the Medicare time frame.  This support appears to suggest that providers expect to realize net benefits from consistent Medicare and Medicaid timeframes.

The proposed changes will also extend the period for which a physician signs the certification and recertifications to until the home health agency submits the bill, provided the physician reviews the case within the 60-day certification period.  Currently, unless the physician reviews and signs the certification within the 60-day period, the Medicaid reimbursement is denied.  This proposed change will provide more flexibility to providers. A physician will still be required to review the case within the 60-day certification period, but providers will be afforded more time to obtain signatures from them.  Because physicians will review the case within the same timeframe as before, no significant adverse affects on patient health is expected.  However, this change will benefit providers by affording them a longer time frame in which to obtain physician signatures for reimbursement.

The proposed regulation will also remove the requirement that a physician sign and personally design the plans of care for physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech language pathology services.  With this change, physicians will still have to review the case within the 60-day certification period, but providers will have more time to obtain signatures from physicians.  While this change is unlikely to create any significant adverse effects on patient health, it is expected to provide some net benefits to the providers.  Furthermore, this particular change will no longer require that a physician personally design the plans of care for physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech language pathology services.  In reality, services are designed by the licensed therapists and not by the physicians.  Thus, this change will make the regulatory language consistent with the procedures followed in practice and is unlikely to produce any significant effects on either patient health or provider costs.

Businesses and entities affected.  The proposed regulations apply to 176 Medicaid home health providers.  Last year 3,490 patients received home health services from the Medicaid program.  Of these, approximately 2,059 received physical therapy, occupational therapy, or speech language pathology services.

Localities particularly affected.  No localities are expected to be affected more than others.

Projected impact on employment.  The proposed changes are relatively minor and are not expected to create any significant impact on employment.

Effects on the use and value of private property.  Similarly, the proposed impact on the use and value of private property is likely to be negligible.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Agency has reviewed the Economic Impact Analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget regarding the regulations concerning.  Standards Established and Methods Used to Assure High Quality Care: Utilization Control for Home Health Services -- Physician Certification Standards Revision (12 VAC 30-60-70).  The agency concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget regarding this regulation.

Summary:

The amendments change DMAS requirements for physician certification and recertification of home health patient care to conform to federal Medicare law and regulation for home health services in order to reduce confusion and errors by home health agencies.  The amendments: (i) replace the requirement for the physician to sign and date the certifications/recertifications for home health patients at least every 60 days with the requirement that the physician review the certifications/recertifications at least every 60 days; (ii) add that the physician must sign the certifications and recertifications before the home health agency may bill DMAS; (iii) add the requirement that upon a patient’s admission to home health services, a start-of-care comprehensive assessment must be completed within five calendar days; (iv) add the requirement that a physician recertification shall be performed within the last five days of each current 60-day certification period, i.e., between and including days 56-60; (v) delete the requirement that the physician plans of care for physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech-language pathology services be personally signed and dated by a physician.

12 VAC 30-60-70. Utilization control:  Home health services.

A. Home health services which meet the standards prescribed for participation under Title XVIII, excluding any homebound standard, will be supplied.

B. Home health services shall be provided by a home health agency that is licensed by the Virginia Department of Health (VDH); or that is certified by the VDH under provisions of Title XVIII (Medicare) or Title XIX (Medicaid) of the Social Security Act; or that is accredited either by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO) or by the Community Health Accreditation Program (CHAP) established by the National League of Nursing.  Services shall be provided on a part-time or intermittent basis to a recipient in his place of residence.  The place of residence shall not include a hospital or nursing facility.  Home health services must be prescribed by a physician and be part of a written plan of care which that the physician shall review, sign, and date at least every 60 days.

C. Covered services.  Any one of the following services may be offered as the sole home health service and shall not be contingent upon the provision of another service.

1. Nursing services;

2. Home health aide services;

3. Physical therapy services;

4. Occupational therapy services; or

5. Speech-language pathology services.

D. General conditions.  The following general conditions apply to skilled nursing, home health aide, physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech-language pathology services provided by home health agencies.

1. The patient must be under the care of a physician who is legally authorized to practice and who is acting within the scope of his license.  The physician may be the patient's private physician or a physician on the staff of the home health agency or a physician working under an arrangement with the institution which is the patient's residence or, if the agency is hospital-based, a physician on the hospital or agency staff.
2. When a patient is admitted to home health services a start-of-care comprehensive assessment must be completed no later than five calendar days after the start of care date.
3. Services shall be furnished under a written plan of care and must be established and periodically reviewed by a physician.  The requested services or items must be necessary to carry out the plan of care and must be related to the patient's condition.  The initial plan of care (certification) must be reviewed, signed, and dated by the attending physician, or physician designee, no later than 21 days after the implementation of the plan of care.  The physician must sign the initial certification before the home health agency may bill DMAS.
3. 4. A physician shall review and recertify the plan of care every 60 days.  A physician recertification shall be required at intervals of at least once every 60 days, must be signed and dated by the physician who reviews the plan of care, and should be obtained when the plan of care is reviewed performed within the last five days of each current 60-day certification period, i.e., between and including days 56-60.  The physician recertification statement must indicate the continuing need for services and should estimate how long home health services will be needed.  The physician must sign the recertification before the home health agency may bill DMAS.
4. 5. The physician-orders for therapy services shall include the specific procedures and modalities to be used, identify the specific discipline to carry out the plan of care, and indicate the frequency and duration for services.

5. 6. A written physician's statement located in the medical record must certify that:

a. The patient needs licensed nursing care, home health aide services, physical or occupational therapy, or speech-language pathology services;

b. A plan for furnishing such services to the individual has been established and is periodically reviewed by a physician; and

c. These services were furnished while the individual was under the care of a physician.

6. 7. The plan of care shall contain at least the following information:

a. Diagnosis and prognosis;

b. Functional limitations;

c. Orders for nursing or other therapeutic services;

d. Orders for home health aide services, when applicable;

e. Orders for medications and treatments, when applicable;

f. Orders for special dietary or nutritional needs, when applicable; and

g. Orders for medical tests, when applicable, including laboratory tests and x-rays.

E. Utilization review shall be performed by DMAS to determine if services are appropriately provided and to ensure that the services provided to Medicaid recipients are medically necessary and appropriate.  Such post payment review audits may be unannounced.  Services not specifically documented in patients' medical records as having been rendered shall be deemed not to have been rendered and no reimbursement shall be provided.

F. All services furnished by a home health agency, whether provided directly by the agency or under arrangements with others, must be performed by appropriately qualified personnel.  The following criteria shall apply to the provision of home health services:

1. Nursing services.  Nursing services must be provided by a registered nurse or by a licensed practical nurse under the supervision of a graduate of an approved school of professional nursing and who is licensed as a registered nurse.

2. Home health aide services.  Home health aides must meet the qualifications specified for home health aides by 42 CFR 484.36.  Home health aide services may include assisting with personal hygiene, meal preparation and feeding, walking, and taking and recording blood pressure, pulse, and respiration.  Home health aide services must be provided under the general supervision of a registered nurse.  A recipient may not receive duplicative home health aide and personal care aide services.

3. Rehabilitation services.  Services shall be specific and provide effective treatment for patients' conditions in accordance with accepted standards of medical practice.  The amount, frequency, and duration of the services shall be reasonable.  Rehabilitative services shall be provided with the expectation, based on the assessment made by physicians of patients' rehabilitation potential, that the condition of patients will improve significantly in a reasonable and generally predictable period of time, or shall be necessary to the establishment of a safe and effective maintenance program required in connection with the specific diagnosis.

a. Physical therapy services shall be directly and specifically related to an active written plan of care designed and personally signed and dated approved by a physician after any needed consultation with a physical therapist licensed by the Board of Physical Therapy.  The services shall be of a level of complexity and sophistication, or the condition of the patient shall be of a nature that the services can only be performed by a physical therapist licensed by the Board of Physical Therapy, or a physical therapy assistant who is licensed by the Board of Physical Therapy and is under the direct supervision of a physical therapist licensed by the Board of Physical Therapy.  When physical therapy services are provided by a qualified physical therapy assistant, such services shall be provided under the supervision of a qualified physical therapist who makes an onsite supervisory visit at least once every 30 days.  This supervisory visit shall not be reimbursable.

b. Occupational therapy services shall be directly and specifically related to an active written plan of care designed approved by a physician after any needed consultation with an occupational therapist registered and licensed by the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy and licensed by the Virginia Board of Medicine.  The services shall be of a level of complexity and sophistication, or the condition of the patient shall be of a nature that the services can only be performed by an occupational therapist registered and licensed by the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy and licensed by the Virginia Board of Medicine, or an occupational therapy assistant who is certified by the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy under the direct supervision of an occupational therapist as defined above.  When occupational therapy services are provided by a qualified occupational therapy assistant, such services shall be provided under the supervision of a qualified occupational therapist, as defined above, who makes an onsite supervisory visit at least once every 30 days.  This supervisory visit shall not be reimbursable.

c. Speech-language pathology services shall be directly and specifically related to an active written plan of care designed and personally signed and dated approved by a physician after any needed consultation with a speech-language pathologist licensed by the Virginia Department of Health Professions, Virginia Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology.  The services shall be of a level of complexity and sophistication, or the condition of the patient shall be of a nature that the services can only be performed by a speech-language pathologist licensed by the Virginia Department of Health Professions, Virginia Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology.

4. A visit shall be defined as the duration of time that a nurse, home health aide, or rehabilitation therapist is with a client to provide services prescribed by a physician and that are covered home health services.  Visits shall not be defined in measurements or increments of time.

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-192; Filed May 11, 2005, 11:37 a.m.
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