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Final Regulations

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD FOR OPTICIANS

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 100-20. Board for Opticians Regulations (amending 18 VAC 100-20-54 and 18 VAC 100-20-81).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-113, 54.1-201 and 54.1-304 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date:  August 1, 2005.
Agency Contact:  Karen W. O’Neal, Deputy Director for Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 367-2475, or e-mail karen.oneal@dpor.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The amendments increase fees and reduce the timeframe within which an optician licensee can pay a late renewal fee versus a reinstatement fee.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency’s Response: No public comments were received by the promulgating agency.
18 VAC 100-20-54. Fees.

A. The fee for examination or examinations shall consist of the combination of an administrative charge of $10 $25 (spectacle), $25 (contact lens), and the appropriate contract charges.  Examination service contracts shall be established in compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 11‑35 § 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). The total examination fee shall not exceed a cost of $300 $1,000 to the applicant.

B. All application fees for licenses are nonrefundable and the date of receipt by the board or its agent is the date which will be used to determine whether it is on time.

C. Application and examination fees must be submitted with the application for licensure.

The following fees shall apply:

	FEE TYPE
	AMOUNT DUE
	WHEN DUE

	Application for licensure by examination or out-of-state applicants
	$55 $100
	With application

	Application for contact lens certification by examination or for out-of-state applicants
	$70 $100
	With application

	Renewal
	$60 $100
	Up to the expiration date on the license with a 30-day grace period

	Late renewal (in addition to includes renewal fee)
	$25 $125
	Up to 12 months Between 30 and 60 days after the expiration date on the license

	Reinstatement (includes renewal and late renewal fees)
	$100 $225
	After 12 calendar months 60 days following the expiration date on the license

	Duplicate wall certificate
	$25
	With written request


18 VAC 100-20-81. Reinstatement required.

A. If a licensee fails to renew his license within 12 months 60 days after the expiration date on the license, the licensee must apply for reinstatement on a form provided by the board.

1. Individuals for reinstatement shall continue to meet the standards of entry as set out in subdivisions 1 through 8 of 18 VAC 100-20-10.

2. Individuals for reinstatement shall submit the required fee as set out in 18 VAC 100-20-54.

B. Twenty-four months after expiration of the license, the individual may be reinstated if he can show proof of continuous, active, ethical and legal practice outside of Virginia.  If not, the individual must show proof of completion of a board-approved review course which measures current competence.  Credit will not be allowed for any review course which has not been approved by the board prior to administration of the course.

C. Sixty months after expiration of the license, the individual, who cannot show proof of continuous, active, ethical and legal practice outside of Virginia, shall be required to apply as a new applicant for licensure.  He shall be required to meet all current education requirements and retake the board's written and practical examination.
D. The board, in its discretion and for just cause, may deny reinstatement of a license.  Upon such denial, the applicant for reinstatement may request that a proceeding be held in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Process Act ( [ § 9‑6.14:1 2.2-4000 ] et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

E. A licensee who reinstates his license shall be regarded as having been continually licensed without interruption.  Therefore, the licensee shall remain under the disciplinary authority of the board during the entire period and may be held accountable for his activities during this period.  Nothing in these regulations shall divest the board of its authority to discipline a licensee for a violation of the law or regulations during the period of licensure as set out in this provision.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering the Board for Opticians Regulations (18 VAC 100-20) are not being published; however, the name of each form is listed below.  The forms are available for public inspection at the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia 23230-1066, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
FORMS
License and Examination Application, 11LIC (rev. 11/99 2004). 

Contact Lens Endorsement Application, 11CLEND (eff. 11/99 rev. 2004). 

Reciprocity Application, 11REC (eff. 2004).

Reinstatement Application, REINSTATE APP 11REI (eff. 9/99 rev. 2004). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R03-265; Filed May 24, 2005, 1:54 p.m.
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