EMERGENCY REGULATIONS

Emergency Regulations

TITLE 12. HEALTH

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES

Titles of Regulations:  12 VAC 30-50. Amount, Duration and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 12 VAC 30-50-190).

12 VAC 30-141. Family Access to Medical Insurance Security Plan (amending 12 VAC 30-141-500).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Dates:  July 1, 2005, through June 30, 2006.
Agency Contact:  Tammy Driscoll, Project Manager, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1567, FAX (804) 786-1680, or e-mail tammy.driscoll@dmas.virginia.gov.

Preamble:  

The Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4011) states that an emergency situation is (i) a situation involving an imminent threat to public health or safety or (ii) a situation in which Virginia statutory law, the Virginia appropriation act, or federal law requires that a regulation shall be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, or in which federal regulation requires a regulation to take effect no later than 280 days from its effective date.  This suggested emergency regulation meets the standard at § 2.2-4011 (i) of the Code of Virginia as discussed below.

This regulatory action qualifies as an emergency because it is responding to a mandate in the 2005 Virginia Appropriation Act (Item 322 H) that states "The Department of Medical Assistance Services shall have the authority to enact emergency regulations under § 2.2-4011 of the Administrative Process Act, to effect this provision within 280 days or less from the enactment of this act."  This change in the prior authorization of dental services is within this legislative authority.

The purpose of this regulatory action is to reshape the prior authorization regimen for dental services.  Currently, the majority of dental services require prior authorization or prepayment review.  These regulations will lead to fewer prior authorization requirements and enhance access to dental services for pediatric Medicaid recipients and for participants in the Family Access to Medical Insurance Security (FAMIS) program.

12 VAC 30-50-190. Dental services.

A. Dental services are limited to recipients under 21 years of age in fulfillment of the treatment requirements under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Program and defined as routine diagnostic, preventive, or restorative procedures necessary for oral health provided by or under the direct supervision of a dentist in accordance with the State Dental Practice Act.

B. Initial, periodic, and emergency examinations; required radiography necessary to develop a treatment plan; patient education; dental prophylaxis; fluoride treatments; dental sealants; routine amalgam and composite restorations; crown recementation;  pulpotomies; emergency endodontics for temporary relief of pain; pulp capping; sedative fillings; therapeutic apical closure; topical palliative treatment for dental pain; removal of foreign body; simple extractions; root recovery; incision and drainage of abscess; surgical exposure of the tooth to aid eruption; sequestrectomy for osteomyelitis; and oral antral fistula closure are dental services covered without preauthorization by the state agency.

C. All covered dental services not referenced above B. Certain dental services as described in agency guidance documents require preauthorization or prepayment review by the state agency or its designee.  The following services are also covered through preauthorization:  medically necessary full banded orthodontics, for handicapping malocclusions, minor tooth guidance or repositioning appliances, complete and partial dentures, surgical preparation (alveoloplasty) for prosthetics, single permanent crowns, and bridges.  The following service is not covered:  routine bases under restorations and inhalation analgesia.
D. C. The state agency may place appropriate limits on a service based on medical necessity, for utilization control, or both.  Examples of service limitations are: examinations, prophylaxis, fluoride treatment (once/six months); space maintenance appliances; bitewing x-ray -two films (once/12 months); routine amalgam and composite restorations (once/three years); dentures (once /five years); extractions, orthodontics, tooth guidance appliances, permanent crowns and bridges, endodontics, patient education and sealants (once).

E. D. Limited oral surgery procedures, as defined and covered under Title XVIII (Medicare) and described in agency guidance documents, are covered for all recipients, and also require preauthorization or prepayment review by the state agency or its designee as described in agency guidance documents.

12 VAC 30-141-500. Benefits reimbursement.

A. Reimbursement for the services covered under FAMIS fee-for-service and PCCM and MCHIPs shall be as specified in this section.

B. Reimbursement for physician services, surgical services, clinic services, prescription drugs, laboratory and radiological services, outpatient mental health services, early intervention services, emergency services, home health services, immunizations, mammograms, medical transportation, organ transplants, skilled nursing services, well baby and well child care, vision services, durable medical equipment, disposable medical supplies, dental services, case management services, physical therapy/occupational therapy/speech-language therapy services, hospice services, school-based health services, and certain community-based mental health services shall be based on the Title XIX rates.

C. Reimbursement to MCHIPs shall be determined on the basis of the estimated cost of providing the MCHIP benefit package and services to an actuarially equivalent population. MCHIP rates will be determined annually and published 30 days prior to the effective date.

D. Exceptions.

1. Prior authorization is required after five visits in a fiscal year for physical therapy, occupational therapy and speech therapy provided by home health providers and outpatient rehabilitation facilities and for home health skilled nursing visits. Prior authorization is required after five visits for outpatient mental health visits in the first year of service and prior authorization is required for the following nonemergency outpatient procedures: Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Computer Axial Tomography scans, or Positron Emission Tomography scans.  Prior authorization for dental services will be based on the Title XIX prior authorization requirements for dental services.

2. Reimbursement for inpatient hospital services will be based on the Title XIX rates in effect for each hospital. Reimbursement shall not include payments for disproportionate share or graduate medical education payments made to hospitals. Payments made shall be final and there shall be no retrospective cost settlements.

3. Reimbursement for outpatient hospital services shall be based on the Title XIX rates in effect for each hospital. Payments made will be final and there will be no retrospective cost settlements.

4. Reimbursement for inpatient mental health services other than by free standing psychiatric hospitals will be based on the Title XIX rates in effect for each hospital. Reimbursement will not include payments for disproportionate share or graduate medical education payments made to hospitals. Payments made will be final and there will be no retrospective cost settlements.

5. Reimbursement for outpatient rehabilitation services will be based on the Title XIX rates in effect for each rehabilitation agency. Payments made will be final and there will be no retrospective cost settlements.

6. Reimbursement for outpatient substance abuse treatment services will be based on rates determined by DMAS for children ages 6 through 18. Payments made will be final and there will be no retrospective cost settlements.

7. Reimbursement for prescription drugs will be based on the Title XIX rates in effect. Reimbursements for Title XXI do not receive drug rebates as under Title XIX.

8. Reimbursement for covered prescription drugs for noninstitutionalized FAMIS recipients receiving the fee-for-service or PCCM benefits will be subject to review and prior authorization when their current number of prescriptions exceeds nine unique prescriptions within 180 days, and as may be further defined by the agency's guidance documents for pharmacy utilization review and the prior authorization program. The prior authorization process shall be applied consistent with the process set forth in 12 VAC 30-50-210 A 7.
/s/ Mark R. Warner

Governor

Date: June 29, 2005
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