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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE:  The following regulatory action is exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 7 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts regulations of the regulatory boards served by the Department of Health Professions pursuant to Title 54.1 that are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and applicants.

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 150-20. Regulations Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (18 VAC 150-20-100).

Statutory Authority: Chapter 38 (§ 54.1-3800 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: October 5, 2005.

Agency Contact: Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive Director, Board of Veterinary Medicine, 6603 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9915, FAX (804) 662-7098 or e-mail elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The amendments adopt a one-time reduction in renewal fees.  The renewal fee for veterinarians will be reduced for the renewal date of December 31, 2005, from $135 to $100; for veterinary establishments, the renewal fee will be reduced from $140 to $120; for veterinary technicians, the renewal fee will be reduced from $30 to $25.  Fees for inactive licensure, which are approximately one-half the active renewal fee, and late fees for sending a renewal after the deadline, which are approximately one-third the renewal fee, are reduced correspondingly.

18 VAC 150-20-100. Fees.

A. The following fees shall be in effect from October 15, 2005, to October 15, 2006:

Veterinary initial license 
$135

Veterinary license renewal (active)
$100

Veterinary license renewal (inactive)
$50

Veterinary reinstatement of expired license
$175

Veterinary license late renewal 
$35

Veterinarian reinstatement after disciplinary action
$300

Veterinary technician initial license or renewal
$25

Veterinary technician license renewal (inactive)
$15

Veterinary technician license late renewal
$10

Veterinary technician reinstatement of expired license
$50

Veterinary technician reinstatement after 
disciplinary action
$75

Initial veterinary establishment permit registration
$200

Veterinary establishment renewal
$120

Veterinary establishment late renewal
$40

Veterinary establishment reinstatement
$100

Veterinary establishment reinspection
$200

Veterinary establishment -- change of location
$200

Veterinary establishment -- change of 
veterinarian-in-charge
$30

Duplicate license
$10

Duplicate wall certificate
$25

Returned check
$25

Licensure verification to another jurisdiction
$15

B. The following fees shall be in effect on October 15, 2006, and thereafter:

Veterinary initial license or renewal (active)
$135

Veterinary license renewal (inactive) 
$65

Veterinary reinstatement of expired license
$175

Veterinary license late renewal
$45

Veterinarian reinstatement after disciplinary action
$300

Veterinary technician initial license or renewal
$30

Veterinary technician license renewal (inactive)
$15

Veterinary technician license late renewal
$15

Veterinary technician reinstatement of expired license
$50

Veterinary technician reinstatement 

after disciplinary action
$75

Initial veterinary establishment permit registration
$200

Veterinary establishment renewal
$140

Veterinary establishment late renewal
$45

Veterinary establishment reinstatement
$100

Veterinary establishment reinspection
$200

Veterinary establishment -- change of location
$200

Veterinary establishment -- change of 

veterinarian-in-charge
$30

Duplicate license
$10

Duplicate wall certificate
$25

Returned check
$25

Licensure verification to another jurisdiction
$15

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 150-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine, are listed below.  Any amended or added forms are reflected in the listing and are published following the listing.

FORMS

Licensure Procedure for Veterinarians (rev. 10/02)

Application for a License to Practice Veterinary Medicine (rev. 7/03).

Instructions to the Veterinary Technician Applicant (rev. 10/02 10/05).

Application for a License to Practice Veterinary Technology (rev. 7/03).

Applicant Instructions for New, Upgrading to Full Service, or Change of Location Inspections (eff. 10/02).

Application for Veterinary Establishment Permit (rev. 7/02).

Application for Reinstatement (rev. 10/02).

Renewal Notice and Application-0301 (rev. 7/02).

Renewal Notice and Application-0302 (rev. 7/02).

Licensure Verification-Veterinarian (rev. 07/04).

Licensure Verification-Veterinary Technician (rev. 11/02).

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (eff. 12/02).

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (eff. 1/03).
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PLEASE. TAKE SPECIAL NOTE:

APPLICANTS MUST SIGN A NOTARIZED STATEMENT ON THE BACK OF THE
APPLICATION FORMALLY ACKNOWLEDING THAT THEY HAVE READ,
UNDERSTAND, AND WILL ABIDE BY THE STATUTES AND REGULATIONS. THIS
MEANS THAT LICENSES CAN BE ISSUED IMMEDIATELY UPON RECEIPT BY
THE BOARD OFFICE OF ALL REQUIRED DOCUMENTS AND FEES, PROVIDED
THAT THE APPLICANT IS QUALIFIED FOR LICENSURE.

Instructions to the Veterinary Technician Licensure Applicant

The booklet, Statutes and Regulations, is provided for your study. It contains
the laws and regulations which govern the practice of veterinary medicine and

veterinary technology in Virginia, including the Drug Control Act. Retain the
booklet for your reference.

To be considered for licensure, you must be a graduate of an American
Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) accredited school of veterinary
technology with an associate degree in veterinary technology.

All applicants for licensure as a veterinary technician must provide the
following to the Board office at the address on the next page:

s A completed, properly executed application. In addition to providing the requested
information, the applicant must sign before a notary the statement attesting to his
reading, understanding and willingness to comply with the statutes and regulations
governing veterinary medicine in Virginia.

¢ Payment of the licensure fee which must accompany the application. The fee for
licensure is $25 for an active license and $15 for an inactive license. (An active license
is required in order to practice in Virginia.)

* Transcript certifying graduation with an associate degree in veterinary technology from
an AVMA accredited school. The transcript must denote the date your degree was
conferred. NOTE: The transcript may be received directly from the school or will be
accepted in a sealed envelope from you provided the seal from the school has not been
broken. Copies of diplomas will not be accepted in lieu of official transcripts.

G: VETTECHINSTRUCTION2002 (REV 10/02)





[image: image2.jpg]* Areport from the Interstate Reporting Service of a passing score on the National Board
Examination in Veterinary Technology. A form is included to have the score
transferred to Virginia. If you have any questions regarding this form please call the
Interstate Reporting Service at (212) 367-4365. DO NOT SEND THESE FORMS
TO THE STATE BOARD. THEY SHOULD BE SENT TO THE ADDRESS ON
THE FORM. (If you sat for the NBE in Virginia, you will not have to have the score
transferred but be sure to indicate this in the space provided on the front of the
application.)

*  Certification of licensure from each state board from which the applicant currently
holds or has ever held a license to practice as a veterinary technician. This should be
sent directly by the state board or again, may be sent by the applicant given it is in an
envelope sealed by the state board, and the seal is unbroken.

PLEASE NOTE: APPLICATIONS WHICH ARE NOT ACCOMPANIED
BY THE FEE OR WHICH CONTAIN INCOMPLETE INFORMATION
WILL BE RETURNED TO THE APPLICANT.

PLEASE FORWARD YOUR APPLICATION AND FEE TO:

VIRGINIA BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE
6603 W. BROAD ST., 5TH FLOOR
RICHMOND, VA 23230-1712

Revised 10/05/2005

G: VETTECHINSTRUCTION2002 (REV 10/02)





VA.R. Doc. No. R05-291; Filed August 17, 2005, 11:37 a.m.
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