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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 7 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards served by the Department of Health Professions pursuant to Title 54.1 that are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and applicants. The Board of Physical Therapy will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision.

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 112-20. Regulations Governing the Practice of Physical Therapy (amending 18 VAC 112-20-135 and 18 VAC 112-20-150; repealing 18 VAC 112-20-151).

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-3474 and 54.1-3480.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: October 19, 2005.

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Young, Executive Director, Board of Physical Therapy, 6603 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9924, FAX (804) 662-9523 or e-mail elizabeth.young@dhp.virginia.gov.

Summary:

In order to reduce an accumulated surplus in the budget of the Board of Physical Therapy, a one-time reduction in renewal fees has been adopted.  The renewal fee for physical therapists will be reduced for the biennial renewal from $135 to $60, and the renewal fee for physical therapist assistants will be reduced from $70 to $30. Fees for inactive licensure (which are approximately one-half the active renewal fee) are reduced correspondingly.  The application fee for physical therapist assistants is being permanently reduced from $105 to $100.

The board is also amending the renewal deadline from biennially in the licensee’s birth month to biennially on December 31 of even years in order to simplify the renewal process and the performance of audits for continuing education compliance.  The amendment will result in a benefit for licensees of one to 11 months delay in the time for paying the renewal fee (i.e., a licensee whose birth month is January would, in effect, have a free license until the renewal fee is due by December 31, 2006).

18 VAC 112-20-135. Inactive license.

A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who holds a current, unrestricted license in Virginia shall, upon a request on the renewal application and submission of the required renewal fee of $70 for a physical therapist and $35 for a physical therapist assistant, be issued an inactive license.  From January 31, 2002, to January 1, 2004 1, 2006, through December 31, 2006, the inactive renewal fee shall be $30 for a physical therapist and $15 for a physical therapist assistant.

1. The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to meet active practice requirements.

2. An inactive licensee shall not be entitled to perform any act requiring a license to practice physical therapy in Virginia.

B. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who holds an inactive license may reactivate his license by:

1. Paying the difference between the renewal fee for an inactive license and that of an active license for the biennium in which the license is being reactivated; and

2. Providing proof of:

a. Active practice hours in another jurisdiction equal to those required for renewal of an active license in Virginia for the period in which the license has been inactive.  If the inactive licensee does not meet the requirement for active practice, the license may be reactivated by meeting the traineeship requirements prescribed in 18 VAC 112-20-140;  and

b. Completion of the number of continuing competency hours required for the period in which the license has been inactive, not to exceed four years.

18 VAC 112-20-150. Fees in effect on January 1, 2004, and thereafter.

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall not be refundable.

B. Licensure by examination.

1. The application fee shall be $140 for a physical therapist and $105 $100 for a physical therapist assistant.

2. The fees for taking all required examinations shall be paid directly to the examination services.

C. Licensure by endorsement.  The fee for licensure by endorsement shall be $140 for a physical therapist and $105 $100 for a physical therapist assistant.

D. Licensure renewal and reinstatement.

1. The fee for active license renewal for a physical therapist shall be $135 and for a physical therapist assistant shall be $70 and shall be due in the licensee's birth month by December 31 in each even-numbered year. From January 1, 2006, through December 31, 2006, the fee for active license renewal fee shall be $60 for a physical therapist and $30 for a physical therapist assistant.

2. A fee of $25 for a physical therapist assistant and $50 for a physical therapist for processing a late renewal within one renewal cycle shall be paid in addition to the renewal fee.

3. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has expired for two or more years shall be $180 for a physical therapist and $120 for a physical therapist assistant and shall be submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement.

E. Other fees.

1. The fee for an application for reinstatement of a license that has been revoked shall be $1,000.

2. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5, and the fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.

3. The fee for a returned check shall be $25.

4. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification to another jurisdiction shall be $10.

18 VAC 112-20-151. Fees in effect through December 31, 2003. (Repealed).

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall not be refundable.

B. Licensure by examination.

1. The application fee shall be $100 for a physical therapist and $60 for a physical therapist assistant.

2. The fees for taking all required examinations shall be paid directly to the examination services.

C. Licensure by endorsement.  The fee for licensure by endorsement shall be $100 for a physical therapist and $60 for a physical therapist assistant.

D. Licensure renewal and reinstatement.

1. The fee for active license renewal for a physical therapist shall be $60 and for a physical therapist assistant shall be $30 and shall be due in the licensee's birth month, in each even-numbered year.

2. A fee of $10 for a physical therapist assistant and $20 for a physical therapist for processing a late renewal within one renewal cycle shall be paid in addition to the renewal fee.

3. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has expired for two or more years shall be $105 for a physical therapist and $60 for a physical therapist assistant and shall be submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement.

E. Other fees.

1. The fee for an application for reinstatement of a license that has been revoked shall be $1,000.

2. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5, and the fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.

3. The fee for a returned check shall be $25.

4. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification to another jurisdiction shall be $10.
NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 112-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of Physical Therapy,  are not being published due to the large number; however, the name of each form is listed below.  The forms are available for public inspection at the Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
FORMS 

Application for Licensure by Examination to Practice Physical Therapy (rev. 7/04). 

Application for Licensure by Endorsement to Practice Physical Therapy (rev. 7/04). 

Application for Reinstatement of Licensure to Practice Physical Therapy (rev. 7/04). 

Instructions for Licensure by Endorsement to Practice as a Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant (Graduate of an Approved Program) (rev. 7/04 8/05). 

Instructions for Licensure by Endorsement to Practice as a Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant (Graduate of a Nonapproved Program) (rev. 7/04 8/05). 

Instructions for Licensure by Examination to Practice as a Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant (Graduate of an Approved Program) (rev. 7/04 8/05). 

Instructions for Licensure by Examination to Practice as a Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant (Graduate of a Nonapproved Program) (rev. 7/04 8/05). 

Instructions for Completing Reinstatement of Licensure Application for Physical Therapist/Physical Therapist Assistant (rev. 7/04). 

Score Transfer Request Application (rev. 5/03). 

Traineeship Application, Statement of Authorization (rev. 7/04). 

Traineeship Application, Statement of Authorization (1,000-hour traineeship) (rev. 7/04). 

Traineeship Application, Statement of Authorization, Relicensure (480-hour traineeship) (rev. 7/04). 

Form #A, Claims History Sheet (rev. 7/04). 

Form #B, Employment/Practice Verification of Physical Therapy (rev. 7/04). 

Form #C, Verification of State Licensure (rev. 7/04). 

Form #L, Certificate of Physical Therapy Education (rev. 7/04). 

Renewal Notice and Application (rev. 7/04). 

Continued Competency and Assessment Form (rev. 7/04). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-02; Filed August 23, 2005, 3:41 p.m.
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