FINAL REGULATIONS

For information concerning Final Regulations, see Information Page.

Symbol Key

Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Italic type indicates new text. Language which has been stricken indicates 
text to be deleted. [Bracketed language] indicates a change from the proposed text of the regulation.

FINAL REGULATIONS

For information concerning Final Regulations, see Information Page.

Symbol Key

Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Italic type indicates new text. Language which has been stricken indicates 
text to be deleted. [Bracketed language] indicates a change from the proposed text of the regulation.


TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD OF COUNSELING

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory actions are exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 7 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards served by the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 that are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and applicants. The Board of Counseling will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision.

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 115-20. Regulations Governing the Practice of Professional Counseling (amending 18 VAC 115-20-20).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: January 14, 2006.

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, Board of Counseling, 6603 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9133, FAX (804) 662-9943 or e-mail evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov.

Supplemental Information:

The Board of Counseling currently has a contract with the Center for Credentialing and Education (CCE) to administer the National Clinical Mental Health Counselor Examination; register supervisors for applicants obtaining practical experience; and receive, process, review and approve applications for licensure.  No significant problems have been identified with the examination services provided by CCE, but recent delays and mistakes in handling and reviewing applicants have resulted in frustration, dissatisfaction, and increased calls and complaints to the board.  The number of appeals to the Credentials Committee resulting from decisions made by CCE on applicants has increased from six appeals in June 2004 to 43 appeals in June 2005 (including counselors and substance abuse counselors).

Current regulations allow the board to charge applicants fees "in appropriate amounts as specified in the application instructions" (18 VAC 115-20-20 B).  Those fees must be paid to the board or its contractor as specified in the instructions.  Currently, the application instructions require a fee of $105 for the application and $65 for the licensure for a total of $170.  The instructions also provide a $75 fee for registration of supervision.

Fees currently charged by contractor:
	Initial registration of supervisor
	$75 (Proposed fee would be $50)

	Application fee            
	$105

	Licensure fee              
	$65 (Combined proposed fee would be $140)


As a result, the board has voted to discontinue its relationship with CCE for applications and bring the review process back to the board. However, the CCE will continue to administer the examination. The board has successfully handled applications for other professions by using professional experts to review course work and supervisory contracts with assistance from staff. The Board of Psychology and the Board of Social Work have effectively processed applications with the same procedures and staff.

Summary:

The amendments set the fee for application processing and initial licensure of Marriage and Family Therapists, Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners and Licensed Professional Counselors at $140.  The fees for registration of supervision are set at $50 and for a subsequent change in supervision at $25.

18 VAC 115-20-20. Fees required by the board.
A. The board has established the following fees applicable to licensure as a professional counselor:

	Active annual license renewal
	$105

	Inactive annual license renewal
	$55

	Initial licensure by examination: Application processing and initial licensure
	$65 $140

	Initial licensure by endorsement: Application processing and initial licensure
	$65 $140

	Registration of supervision
	$50

	Add or change supervisor
	$25

	Duplicate license
	$5

	Verification of licensure to another jurisdiction
	$25

	Late renewal
	$35

	Reinstatement of a lapsed license
	$165

	Replacement of or additional wall certificate
	$15

	Returned check
	$25

	Reinstatement following revocation or suspension
	$500


B. Fees shall be paid to the board or its contractor or both in appropriate amounts as specified in the application instructions. All fees are nonrefundable.
C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable as determined by the board.
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