FINAL REGULATIONS

For information concerning Final Regulations, see Information Page.

Symbol Key

Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Italic type indicates new text. Language which has been stricken indicates 
text to be deleted. [Bracketed language] indicates a change from the proposed text of the regulation.


TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL RESOURCES

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland Fisheries is exempt from the Administrative Process Act pursuant to subdivision A 3 of § 2.2-4002 of the Code of Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the management of wildlife.  The department is required by § 2.2-4031 of the Code of Virginia to publish all proposed and final wildlife management regulations, including length of seasons and bag limits allowed on the wildlife resources within the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Title of Regulation:  4 VAC 15-320. Fish: Fishing Generally (amending 4 VAC 15-320-100).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date:  May 17, 2006.
Agency Contact:  Phil Smith, Policy Analyst and Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-1000, FAX (804) 367-0488, or e-mail regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The amendment eliminates the $1.00 fee per visitor to Department of Game and Inland Fisheries-owned fish hatcheries.

4 VAC 15-320-100. Department-owned or controlled lakes, ponds, streams, boat access sites, or hatcheries; hatchery visitor fee.

A. Motors and boats. Unless otherwise posted at each recognized entrance to any department-owned or controlled lake, pond or stream, the use of boats propelled by gasoline motors, sail or mechanically operated recreational paddle wheel is prohibited. Department employees and other government agency officials may use gasoline motors in the performance of official duties. 

B. Method of fishing. Taking any fish at any department-owned or controlled lake, pond or stream by any means other than by use of one or more attended poles with hook and line attached is prohibited unless otherwise posted in which case cast nets (subject to 4 VAC 15-360-10 B) may be used for collecting nongame fish for use as bait.

C. Hours for fishing. Fishing is permitted 24 hours a day unless otherwise posted at each recognized entrance to any department-owned or controlled lake, pond, stream, or boat access site.

D. Seasons; hours and methods of fishing; size and creel limits; hunting and trapping. The open seasons for fishing, as well as fishing hours, methods of taking fish and the size, possession and creel limits, and hunting and trapping for department-owned or department-controlled lakes, ponds, streams or boat access sites shall conform to the regulations of the board unless otherwise excepted by posted rules by the director or his designee. Such posted rules shall be displayed at each lake, pond, stream or boat access site, in which case the posted rules shall be in effect. Failure to comply with posted rules concerning seasons, hours, methods of taking, bag limits, and size, possession and creel limits shall constitute a violation of this regulation.

E. Other uses. Camping overnight or building fires (except in developed and designated areas), swimming, or wading in department-owned or department-controlled lakes, ponds or streams (except by anglers, hunters and trappers actively engaged in fishing, hunting or trapping), is prohibited. All other uses shall conform to the regulations of the board unless excepted by posted rules.

F. Fishing tournaments, etc. It shall be unlawful to organize, conduct, supervise or solicit entries for fishing tournaments, rodeos or other fishing events on lakes, ponds, or streams owned by the department, for which prizes are offered, awarded or accepted based on size or numbers of fish caught, either in money or other valuable considerations. This chapter will not prohibit events approved by the department that are intended to promote youth fishing or provide instruction, provided no prizes, as defined above, are awarded and no participation fees are charged.

G. The department maintains operation of and visitor access to state-owned fish hatcheries. To offset the cost of supervising visitors at the fish hatcheries, a fee of $1.00 will be charged per visitor.
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