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Proposed Regulations
Proposed Regulations

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD OF DENTISTRY

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 60-20. Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene (amending 18 VAC 60-20-20, 18 VAC 60-20-30, 18 VAC 60-20-250, 18 VAC 60-20-310, 18 VAC 60-20-320).

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.
Public Hearing Date:  July 21, 2006 - 8:30 a.m.
Public comments may be submitted until August 25, 2006.

(See Calendar of Events section

for additional information)

Agency Contact:  Sandra Reen, Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX (804) 662-9943, or e-mail sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov.

Basis:  Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the Board of Dentistry the authority to promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system and to levy fees.  The specific statutory mandate for an increase in fees is found in § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia.

Purpose:  Section 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia requires that at the end of each biennium, an analysis of revenues and expenditures of each regulatory board shall be performed to ensure that each board has sufficient revenue to cover its expenditures.  At the conclusion of FY 05, the deficit of the board was $532,651; it is projected that by the close of the 2004-2006 biennium, the Board of Dentistry will accumulate a deficit of $1,047,443 and will continue to have a deficit through the next biennium, estimated to be $1,644,301 at the end of FY07 and $2,269,630 at the end of FY08.  Since the fees from licensees will no longer generate sufficient funds to pay operating expenses for the board, a fee increase is essential by the renewal deadline in March 2007.
As mandated by law, the purpose of the proposed amendments is to establish fees sufficient to cover the policymaking, licensing and disciplinary activities of the Board of Dentistry.  Without adequate funding, the licensing of practitioners could be delayed, and dental care in the Commonwealth would be less accessible.  In addition, sufficient funding is essential to carry out the investigative and disciplinary activities of the board in order to protect the public health and safety

Substance:  18 VAC 60-20-20 is amended to comply with a statutory mandate for the board to provide sufficient funding to cover expenses related to licensing, investigations and disciplinary proceedings.  Renewal fees for dentists will increase from $150 to $315 per year; renewal fees for dental hygienists will increase from $50 to $80 per year.  Other fees are amended proportionately, i.e., inactive fees are typically one-half the active renewal fee and late fees are one-third the renewal fee.  The application fees for licensure by credentials are increased to $525 for dentists and $290 for hygienists, compared to the $420 for licensure by examination for dentists and $185 for hygienists.  As proposed, the reinstatement fee would be inclusive of the renewal fee, the late fee and the fee for a reinstatement application.

Issues:  

The primary advantages and disadvantages to the public, such as individual private citizens or businesses, of implementing the new or amended provisions: Fee increases proposed by the Board of Dentistry should have no disadvantage to the consuming public.  There is no projection of a reduction in the number of applicants for licensure or the number of licensed persons available to provide dental services to the public. In fact, with licensure by credentials now available for dentists, there may be a modest increase in the number of practitioners. An increase in the renewal fee will result in an additional $165 per year for a dental license and $30 per year for a dental hygienist. With those increases spread across the patient population, it is not anticipated that the proposed fee increases will have any effect on prices for consumers.
There would be considerable disadvantages to the public if the board took no action to address its deficit by increasing its fees to cover expenses.  The only alternative currently available under the Code of Virginia would be a reduction in services and staff, which would result in delays in licensing applicants who would be unable to work and delays in approval or disapproval of candidates to sit for examinations.  Potentially, the most serious consequence would be a reduction in or reprioritization of investigation of complaints against dentists and dental hygienists.  There may be delays in adjudicating cases of substandard practice, resulting in potential danger to the patients in the Commonwealth.
Practitioners licensed by the Board of Dentistry will experience increased renewal fees under the proposed regulations.  While that is a disadvantage to the licensees, the alternative of reduced services for the board would be unacceptable to applicants, licensees and the general public.  As a special-fund agency, renewal fees pay the vast majority of the expenses of board operations, which include inspections, investigation of complaints, adjudication of disciplinary cases, review and approval of applicants, verification of licensure and education to other jurisdictions and entities, and communications with licensees about current practice and regulation.

The primary advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth: As is stated above, the consequence of not increasing fees of the board would be a reduction in services and staff, resulting in delays in licensing, reductions or delays in the cases investigated and brought through administrative proceedings to a hearing before the board. The board is solely funded by the fees charged to applicants and licensees.   If increased fees are not adopted, the agency would have to cut its staff, both within the Board of Dentistry and within other divisions of the Department of Health Professions since the agency is dependent on revenues from the board for approximately 5.42% of its expenditures.
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  

Summary of the proposed amendments to regulation.  The Board of Dentistry (board) proposes to raise fees for dentists and dental hygienists.
Result of analysis.  There is insufficient data to accurately compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs.  Detailed analysis of the benefits and costs can be found in the next section.

Estimated economic impact.  Section 54.1-2400 (5) of the Code of Virginia (code), grants regulatory boards under the Department of Health Professions the authority to levy and collect fees sufficient to cover the expenses of a board.  In addition, § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia (the "Callahan Act") stipulates the conditions under which health regulatory boards must adjust their fees:
Following the close of any biennium, when the account for any regulatory board within the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or the Department of Health Professions maintained under § 54.1-308 or § 54.1-2505 shows expenses allocated to it for the past biennium to be more than ten percent greater or less than moneys collected on behalf of the board, it shall revise the fees levied by it for certification or licensure and renewal thereof so that the fees are sufficient but not excessive to cover expenses.

The second and third columns of Table 1 (see below) display board expenditures and revenues, respectively, for the last four completed fiscal years.1  The fourth column, labeled Callahan Percentage, displays the percentage by which expenditures exceed revenues for the two year period ending in the fiscal year listed on the cell in question’s row.  Since the most recent Callahan Percentage exceeds 10%, the Callahan Act directs the board to raise its fees to cover expenses.

Table 1

	Fiscal Year
	Expenditures
	Revenues
	Callahan Percentage

	FY02
	998,003
	798,347
	

	FY03
	1,088,963
	1,098,757
	10.0%

	FY04
	1,150,843
	1,067,445
	3.4%

	FY05
	1,360,332
	1,115,755
	15.0%


Giving consideration to future revenue and expenditure projections, the agency has determined that it needs to raise fees as detailed in Table 2 in order to avoid a deficit and to remain in compliance with the Callahan Act.

Table 2

	Category
	Current
	Proposed

	Dentistry Renewal (active)
	$150
	$315

	   Late Fee
	$50
	$105

	Dental Hygiene (active)
	$50
	$80

	   Late Fee
	$20
	$26

	Dentistry Renewal (inactive)
	$75
	$158

	Dental Hygiene (inactive)
	$25
	$45

	Temp. Resident Application
	$55
	$60

	Reinstatement of Revoked  Dentistry License 
	$750
	$1,050

	Reinstatement of Revoked Dental Hygiene License
	$500
	$250

	Reinstatement of Suspended  Dentistry License
	$350
	$790

	Reinstatement of Suspended Dental Hygiene License
	$250
	$420

	Dental License by Exam
	$225
	$420

	Dental License by Credentials
	n/a
	$525

	Dental Hyg. Lic. by Exam
	$135
	$185

	Dental Hyg. Lic. by Endorsement
	$135
	$290

	Duplicate Wall Certificate
	$25
	$65

	Duplicate License
	$10
	$21

	Restricted License
	$150
	$315

	Returned Check
	$25
	$35

	Oral Surgeon Registration
	$175
	$185

	Oral Surgeon Registration Reinstatement
	$175
	$360


The Department of Health Professions (department) points out that without adequate funding, the licensing of practitioners could be delayed, and dental care in the Commonwealth would be less accessible. In addition, sufficient funding is essential to carry out the investigative and disciplinary activities of the board in order to protect public health and safety.  Thus there are both clear benefits and clear costs introduced by the fee increases.  It is not clear whether or not the benefits exceed the costs.  Since regulation of professions is not a market good, there is not an obvious market price at which speedier license processing and disciplinary investigations are valued.

Businesses and entities affected.  The proposed regulations affect the Commonwealth’s 5,552 licensed dentists, 4,079 licensed dental hygienists, 175 registered oral-maxillofacial surgeons, their patients, and individuals intending to apply for licensure or registration.2  All or most dental practices qualify as small businesses.

Localities particularly affected.  The proposed regulations affect all Virginia localities.
Projected impact on employment.  The proposed fee increases are unlikely to significantly affect employment.
Effects on the use and value of private property.  The proposed fee increases will moderately reduce the value of dental practices.
Small businesses: costs and other effects.  All or most dental practices likely qualify as small businesses.  The proposed fee increases will commensurately increase costs for these businesses.

Small businesses: alternative method that minimizes adverse impact.  The board could increase fees by a smaller amount.  But a smaller total fee increase would reduce the speed by which the board and department could conduct license processing and disciplinary investigations.

Legal mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 (02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts.
Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Board of Dentistry concurs with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget for the proposed regulation, 18 VAC 60-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene, related to an increase in fees.

Summary:

The proposed amendments increase certain fees for the regulants of the board, including dentists and dental hygienists, as necessary to provide sufficient funding for the licensing and disciplinary functions of the board.  An annual renewal fee for a dentist is increased from $150 to $315 and for a dental hygienist from $50 to $80.  Other fees, such as application and late fees that are tied to the renewal fee, are increased correspondingly.

18 VAC 60-20-20. License renewal and reinstatement.

A. Renewal fees. Every person holding an active or inactive license, a full-time faculty license, or a restricted volunteer license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before March 31, renew his license. Every person holding a teacher's license, temporary resident's license, temporary resident's license or a temporary permit to practice dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before June 30, renew his license.

1. The fee for renewal of an active license or permit to practice or teach dentistry shall be $150 $315, and the fee for renewal of an active license or permit to practice or teach dental hygiene shall be $50 $80.

2. The fee for renewal of an inactive license shall be $75 $158 for dentists and $25 $45 for dental hygienists.

3. The fee for renewal of a restricted volunteer license shall be $15.

4. The application fee for temporary resident's license shall be $55 $60. The annual renewal fee shall be $35 $40 a year. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $15.

B. Late fees. Any person who does not return the completed form and fee by the deadline required in subsection A of this section shall be required to pay an additional late fee of $50 $105 for dentists with an active license and $20 $26 for dental hygienists with an active license. The late fee shall be $50 for dentists with an inactive license and $15 for dental hygienists with an inactive license. The board shall renew a license if the renewal form, renewal fee, and late fee are received within one year of the deadline required in subsection A of this section.

C. Reinstatement fees and procedures. The license of any person who does not return the completed renewal form and fees by the deadline required in subsection A of this section shall automatically expire and become invalid and his practice of dentistry/dental hygiene shall be illegal.

1. Any person whose license has expired for more than one year and who wishes to reinstate such license shall submit to the board a reinstatement application, the renewal fee and the reinstatement fee of $225 $525 for dentists and $135 $210 for dental hygienists.

2. Practicing in Virginia with an expired license may subject the licensee to disciplinary action and additional fines by the board.

3. The executive director may reinstate such expired license provided that the applicant can demonstrate continuing competence, that no grounds exist pursuant to § 54.1-2706 of the Code of Virginia and 18 VAC 60-20-170 to deny said reinstatement, and that the applicant has paid the unpaid renewal fee, the reinstatement fee and any fines or assessments. Evidence of continuing competence shall include hours of continuing education as required by subsection H of 18 VAC 60-20-50 and may also include evidence of active practice in another state or in federal service or current specialty board certification.

D. Reinstatement of a license previously revoked or indefinitely suspended. Any person whose license has been revoked shall submit to the board for its approval a reinstatement application and fee of $750 $1,050 for dentists and $500 $525 for dental hygienists. Any person whose license has been indefinitely suspended shall submit to the board for its approval a reinstatement application and fee of $350 $790 for dentists and $250 $420 for dental hygienists.

18 VAC 60-20-30. Other fees.

A. Dental licensure application fees.  The application fee for a dental license by examination, a license to teach dentistry, a full-time faculty license, or a temporary permit as a dentist shall be $225 $420.  The application fee for dental license by credentials shall be $525.
B. Dental hygiene licensure application fees.  The application fee for a dental hygiene license by examination, a license to teach dental hygiene, or a temporary permit as a dental hygienist shall be $135 $185.  The application fee for dental hygienist license by endorsement shall be $290.
C. Duplicate wall certificate.  Licensees desiring a duplicate wall certificate shall submit a request in writing stating the necessity for such duplicate wall certificate, accompanied by a fee of $25 $65.

D. Duplicate license.  Licensees desiring a duplicate license shall submit a request in writing stating the necessity for such duplicate license, accompanied by a fee of $10 $21. If a licensee maintains more than one office, a notarized photocopy of a license may be used.

E. Licensure certification.  Licensees requesting endorsement or certification by this board shall pay a fee of $25 $40 for each endorsement or certification.

F. Restricted license.  Restricted license issued in accordance with § 54.1-2714 of the Code of Virginia shall be at a fee of $150 $315.

G. Endorsement license.  License by endorsement issued in accordance with 18 VAC 60-20-80 for dental hygienists shall be at a fee of $135.

H. G. Restricted volunteer license.  The application fee for licensure as a restricted volunteer dentist or dental hygienist issued in accordance with § 54.1-2712.1 or § 54.1-2726.1 of the Code of Virginia shall be $25.

I. H. Returned check.  The fee for a returned check shall be $35.

18 VAC 60-20-250. Registration of oral and maxillofacial surgeons.

Within 60 days after the effective date of this section, every licensed dentist who practices as an oral and maxillofacial surgeon, as defined in § 54.1-2700 of the Code of Virginia, shall register his practice with the board and pay a fee of $175 $185.

1. After initial registration, an oral and maxillofacial surgeon shall renew his registration annually on or before December 31 by payment of a fee of $175 $185.

2. An oral and maxillofacial surgeon who fails to register or to renew his registration and continues to practice oral and maxillofacial surgery may be subject to disciplinary action by the board.

3. Within one year of the expiration of a registration, an oral and maxillofacial surgeon may renew by payment of the renewal fee and a late fee of $55 $65.

4. After one year from the expiration date, an oral and maxillofacial surgeon who wishes to reinstate his registration shall update his profile and pay the renewal fee and a reinstatement fee of $175 $360.

18 VAC 60-20-310. Credentials required for certification.

A. An applicant for certification shall:

1. Hold an active, unrestricted license from the board;

2. Submit a completed application and fee of $225 $236;

3. Complete an oral and maxillofacial residency program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation;

4. Hold board certification by the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (ABOMS) or board eligibility as defined by ABOMS;

5. Have current privileges on a hospital staff to perform oral and maxillofacial surgery; and

6. If his oral and maxillofacial residency or cosmetic clinical fellowship was completed after July 1, 1996, and training in cosmetic surgery was a part of such residency or fellowship, the applicant shall submit:

a. A letter from the director of the residency or fellowship program documenting the training received in the residency or in the clinical fellowship to substantiate adequate training in the specific procedures for which the applicant is seeking certification; and

b. Documentation of having performed as primary or assistant surgeon at least 10 proctored cases in each of the procedures for which he seeks to be certified.

7. If his oral and maxillofacial residency was completed prior to July 1, 1996, or if his oral and maxillofacial residency was completed after July 1, 1996, and training in cosmetic surgery was not a part of the applicant's residency, the applicant shall submit:

a. Documentation of having completed didactic and clinically approved courses to include the dates attended, the location of the course, and a copy of the certificate of attendance. Courses shall provide sufficient training in the specific procedures requested for certification and shall be offered by:

(1) An advanced specialty education program in oral and maxillofacial surgery accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation;

(2) A medical school accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education or other official accrediting body recognized by the American Medical Association;

(3) The American Dental Association (ADA) or one of its constituent and component societies or other ADA Continuing Education Recognized Programs (CERP) approved for continuing dental education; or

(4) The American Medical Association approved for category 1, continuing medical education.

b. Documentation of either:

(1) Holding current privileges to perform cosmetic surgical procedures within a hospital accredited by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations; or

(2) Having completed at least 10 cases as primary or secondary surgeon in the specific procedures for which the applicant is seeking certification, of which at least five shall be proctored cases as defined in this chapter.

18 VAC 60-20-320. Renewal of certification.

In order to renew his certification to perform cosmetic procedures, an oral and maxillofacial surgeon shall possess a current, active, unrestricted license to practice dentistry from the Virginia Board of Dentistry and shall submit along with the renewal application a fee of $100 $105 on or before December 31 of each year. If an oral and maxillofacial surgeon fails to renew his certificate, the certificate is lapsed and performance of cosmetic procedures is not permitted. To renew a lapsed certificate within one year of expiration, the oral and maxillofacial surgeon shall pay the renewal fees and a late fee of $35. To reinstate a certification that has been lapsed for more than one year shall require completion of a reinstatement form documenting continued competency in the procedures for which the surgeon is certified and payment of a reinstatement fee of $225.
NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 60-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene, are not being published; however, the name of each form is listed below.  The forms are available for public inspection at the Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
FORMS

Outline and Explanation of Documentation Required for Dental Licensure by Exam, Teacher's License, Restricted License, Full Time Faculty License, and Temporary Permit  Application Requirements for Dentists (rev. 12/02 6/06).

Application for Licensure to Practice Dentistry (rev. 12/02).

Application for Restricted Volunteer Licensure to Practice Dentistry and Dental Hygiene (eff. 7/98).

Requirements and Instructions for a Temporary Resident's License to Persons Enrolled in Advanced Dental Education Programs (eff. 7/04 6/06).

Application for Temporary Resident's License (eff. 7/04).

Form A, Certification of Dental School for Temporary Resident's License (eff. 7/04).

Form B, Certification from Dean of Dental School or Director of Accredited Graduate Program, Temporary Resident's License (eff. 7/04).

Form C, Certification of Dental Licensure, Temporary Resident's License (eff. 7/04).

Form D, Chronology, Temporary Resident's License (eff. 7/04).

Form A, Certification of Dental/Dental Hygiene School (rev. 12/02).

Form AA, Sponsor Certification for Dental/Dental Hygiene Volunteer License (eff. 7/98).

Form B, Chronology (rev. 12/02).

Form C, Certification of Dental/Dental Hygiene Boards (rev. 12/02).

Outline and Explanation of Documentation Required for Dental Hygiene Licensure by Exam, Teacher's License, Dental Hygiene by Endorsement, and Dental Hygiene Temporary Permit Licensure Procedures for Dental Hygienists (rev. 12/02 6/06).

Application for Licensure to Practice Dental Hygiene (rev. 12/02).

Instructions for Reinstatement (rev. 12/02 6/06).

Reinstatement Application for Dental/Dental Hygiene Licensure (rev. 12/02).
Instructions for Application for Reactivation of License (rev. 6/06).

Application for Reactivation of License (rev. 6/06).

Radiology Information for Dental Assistants (rev. 7/97).

Renewal Notice and Application, 0401 Dentist (rev. 12/02).

Renewal Notice and Application, 0402 Dental Hygienist (rev. 12/02).

Renewal Notice and Application, 0404 Dental Teacher (rev. 12/02).

Renewal Notice and Application, 0406 Dental Hygiene Teacher (rev. 12/02).

Renewal Notice and Application, 0411 Full-time Faculty (rev. 12/02).

Renewal Notice and Application, 0438 Cosmetic Procedure Certification (rev. 12/02).

Renewal Notice and Application, 0439 Oral and Maxillofacial (rev. 12/02).

Application for Certification to Perform Cosmetic Procedures (rev. 12/02 6/06).

Rhinoplasty/similar Procedures (rev. 7/02).

Bletharoplasty/similar Procedures (rev. 7/02).

Rhytidectomy/similar Procedures (rev. 7/02).

Submental liposuction/similar Procedures (rev. 7/02).

Browlift/either open or endoscopic technique/similar Procedures (rev. 7/02).

Otoplasty/similar Procedures (7/02).

Laser Resurfacing or Dermabrasion/similar Procedures (rev. 7/02).

Platysmal muscle plication/similar Procedures (rev. 7/02).

Application Review Worksheet (rev. 7/02).

Practitioner Questionnaire (rev. 12/02).

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon Registration of Practice (rev. 12/02 6/06).

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (eff. 12/02).

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (eff. 1/03).

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-27; Filed June 7, 2006, 10:10 a.m.

1 Data Source: Department of Health Professions


2 Figures provided by the Department of Health Professions.
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