FINAL REGULATIONS
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Italic type indicates new text. Language which has been stricken indicates 
text to be deleted. [Bracketed language] indicates a change from the proposed text of the regulation.


TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 7 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards served by the Department of Health Professions pursuant to Title 54.1 that are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and applicants. The Board of Optometry will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision.

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 105-20. Regulations Governing the Practice of Optometry (amending 18 VAC 105-20-20).

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: October 4, 2006.

Agency Contact: Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive Director, Board of Optometry, 6603 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9910, FAX (804) 662-7098, or e-mail elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov.

Summary:

In order to reduce an accumulated surplus in the budget of the Board of Optometry, a reduction in the application fees and a two-year reduction in renewal fees have been adopted. The application fee for initial application and licensure is reduced from $300 to $250, and the application fee for reinstatement is reduced from $450 to $400. Renewal fee for optometrists is reduced by at least half for the two annual renewal cycles (from $150 to $75 for optometrists without TPA certification and from $200 to $90 for optometrists with TPA certification); late fees are reduced proportionately. 

18 VAC 105-20-20. Fees.

A. Required fees.

	Initial application and licensure (including TPA certification) 
	$300 $250

	Application for TPA certification 
	$200

	Annual licensure renewal without TPA certification 
	$150

	Annual licensure renewal with TPA certification 
	$200

	Late renewal without TPA certification 
	$50

	Late renewal with TPA certification 
	$65

	Returned check 
	$35

	Professional designation application 
	$100

	Annual professional designation renewal (per location)
	$50

	Late renewal of professional designation 
	$20

	Reinstatement application fee (including renewal and late fees) 
	$450 $400

	Reinstatement application after disciplinary action 
	$500

	Duplicate wall certificate 
	$25

	Duplicate license 
	$10

	Licensure verification 
	$10


B. Unless otherwise specified, all fees are nonrefundable.
C. From October 4, 2006, to October 3, 2008, the following fees shall be in effect:

	Initial application and licensure (including TPA certification 
	$250

	Application for TPA certification
	$200

	Annual licensure renewal without TPA certification 
	$75

	Annual licensure renewal with TPA certification 
	$90

	Late renewal without TPA certification 
	$25

	Late renewal with TPA certification 
	$30

	Returned check 
	$35

	Professional designation application 
	$100

	Annual professional designation renewal (per location) 
	$50

	Late renewal of professional designation 
	$20

	Reinstatement application fee (including renewal and late fees) 
	$400

	Reinstatement application after disciplinary action 
	$500

	Duplicate wall certificate 
	$25

	Duplicate license 
	$10

	Licensure verification 
	$10
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