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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD FOR GEOLOGY

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 7 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards served by the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 that are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and applicants. The Board for Geology will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision.

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 70-20. Rules and Regulations for the Virginia Board for Geology (amending 18 VAC 70-20-30 and 18 VAC 70-20-50).
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: November 1, 2006.
Agency Contact: David E. Dick, Executive Director, Board for Geology, 3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-2648, FAX (804) 367-6128 or e-mail geology@dpor.virginia.gov.
Summary:

At the close of each biennium, § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia requires a review of each board's financial position to determine whether fees need to be adjusted to ensure that revenues are sufficient, but not excessive, to cover the board's operating expenses. The board is currently carrying a cash balance that is more than its operating needs, and projections indicate that the balance is likely to remain high for the next four to five biennia. For this reason, the board voted to reduce its fees to a level to sustain its projected operations. The fee for certification renewal is reduced from $80 to $35 and the fee for a certification reinstatement is reduced from $160 to $40. It is projected that this fee adjustment will provide adequate funding until 2010 when a fee increase will be necessary to fund board operations during the 2012-2014 biennium.

18 VAC 70-20-30. Fees.

All fees for application, examination, renewal, and reinstatement shall be established by the board pursuant to § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated.

1. The application fee for certification shall be $40.

2. The fee for renewal of certification shall be $80 $35.

3. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to contracted charges to the department by an outside vendor. These contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted and charged to the candidate in accordance with this contract.

4. The penalty fee for late renewal shall be $25 in addition to the renewal fee.

5. The reinstatement fee shall be $160 $40.

6. The fee for duplicate wall certificates shall be $25.

18 VAC 70-20-50. Reinstatements.

If the certificate holder fails to renew the certificate within six months following the expiration date, the certificate holder will be required to apply for reinstatement of the certificate. The board may grant reinstatement of the certificate, or require requalification or reexamination, or both. The application fee for reinstatement of a certificate shall be an the amount equal to twice the renewal fee established in 18 VAC 70-20-30.

NOTICE: The forms used in administering 18 VAC 70-20, Rules and Regulations for the Virginia Board for Geology, are not being published; however, the name of each form is listed below. The forms are available for public inspection at the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
FORMS

Certification Application, 28CERT (rev. 6/00).

Experience Log, 28EXP (eff. 5/02 rev. 1/05).
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