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TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE

PESTICIDE CONTROL BOARD

Title of Regulation:  2 VAC 20-40. Rules and Regulations Governing Licensing of Pesticide Businesses by the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Operating Under Authority of the Virginia Pesticide Control Act (amending 2 VAC 20-40-10, 2 VAC 20-40-20, 2 VAC 20-40-40, 2 VAC 20-40-60 through 2 VAC 20-40-110; [ adding 2 VAC 20-40-65; ] repealing 2 VAC 20-40-120).
Statutory Authority: § 3.1-249.30 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: October 5, 2006.
Agency Contact: W. Wayne Surles, Program Manager, Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-6558, FAX (804) 371-8598, toll-free 1-800-552-9963, or 
e-mail wsurles@vdacs.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The amendments (i) define a pesticide business location; (ii) modify the date for a late fee assessment in regards to pesticide business license renewal; (iii) modify the proof of financial responsibility; (iv) modify recordkeeping requirements for pesticide businesses; and (v) modify monetary minimums, reducing the requirements for property damage to $100,000, for personal injury to or death of one person to $100,000 and $300,000 per occurrence.

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response:  A summary of comments made by the public and the agency's response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations.

2 VAC 20-40-10. Definition of terms.

The following words and terms, when used in thIs chapter, shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. An asterisk following a definition denotes that the definition has been taken from Article 1 (§ 3.1-249.27 et seq.) of Chapter 14.1 of Title 3.1 of the Code of Virginia.

"Act" means the Virginia Pesticide Control Act.

"Board" means the Pesticide Control Board.*

"Bond" means a written instrument issued or executed by a bonding, surety, or insurance company licensed to do business in the Commonwealth, or otherwise approved by the board, guaranteeing the fulfillment of the agreement between the licensee and the customer.*

"Bulk pesticide" means any registered pesticide concentrate which is transported or held in an individual container in undivided quantities of greater than 55 U.S. gallons liquid measure or greater than 100 pounds net dry weight.

"Certification" or "certified" means the recognition granted by the Pesticide Control Board to an applicator upon satisfactory completion of board approved requirements.*

"Commercial applicator" means any applicator person who has completed the requirements for certification as determined by the board, including appropriate training and time in service, to apply for a certification, and who uses to use or supervises supervise the use of any pesticide for any purpose or on any property other than as provided in the definition of private applicator.*

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services.*

"Department" means the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.*

"EPA" means the United States Environmental Protection Agency.

"FIFRA" means The Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act as amended, and herein incorporated by reference.

"Licensed" or "licensee" means those businesses which, upon meeting the requirements established by the Pesticide Control Board, are issued a license to engage in the sale, storage, distribution, recommend the use, or application of pesticides in Virginia in exchange for compensation.*

"Limited quantities" means purchases, at cost, for resale, of less than $50,000 annually per outlet of products containing nonrestricted use pesticide active ingredients.

"Pest management consultant" means any person, who may or may not apply pesticides himself, who has obtained a business license in accordance with the requirements listed below, and who is authorized by this chapter to provide technical advice, supervision or aid, or recommendations for restricted use pesticide application commercially in Virginia.

"Pesticide" means (i) any substance or mixture of substances intended for preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating any insects, rodents, fungi, bacteria, weeds, or other forms of plant or animal life or viruses or bacteria, except viruses on or in living man or other animals, which the commissioner shall declare to be a pest, (ii) any substance or mixture of substances intended for use as a plant regulator, defoliant, or desiccant, and (iii) any substance which is intended to become an active ingredient thereof in any substance defined in clauses (i) and (ii) of this definition.*

"Pesticide business" means any person engaged in the business of distributing, applying, or recommending the use of a product,; or storing, selling, or offering for sale pesticides for distribution directly to the user. The term "pesticide business" does not include (i) wood treaters not for hire; (ii) seed treaters not for hire; (iii) operations that produce agricultural products unless the owners or operators of such operations described in clauses (i), (ii), and (iii) of this definition are engaged in the business of selling or offering for sale pesticides, or distributing pesticides to persons outside of that agricultural producing operation in connection with commercial transactions; or (iv) businesses exempted by regulations adopted by the board.*

“Pesticide business location” means any fixed location of a pesticide business with either a telephone that is used to transact business or give advice, or where products, supplies or business mail is delivered.  Residences of service technicians who are employed by a licensed pesticide business are exempt, if no business solicitation is conducted from that location.
"Private applicator" means an applicator who uses or supervises the use of any pesticide which is classified for restricted use for purposes of producing any agricultural commodity on property owned or rented by him or his employer or, if applied without compensation other than trading of personal services between producers of agricultural commodities, on the property of another person.*

"Restricted use pesticide" or "pesticide classified for restricted use" means any pesticide classified as restricted by the Administrator of the United States Environmental Protection Agency.*

2 VAC 20-40-20. General requirements for all pesticide businesses; exemptions.

A. Any person or business operating in Virginia, which, in exchange for compensation, sells, stores, distributes, mixes, applies or recommends for use pesticides, shall obtain a valid pesticide business license pursuant to this chapter. Each separate outlet or location of a pesticide business location shall be licensed.

B. Exempted from the provisions of this chapter are the following:

1. Merchants of limited quantities of nonrestricted use pesticides who sell pesticides primarily intended for limited household use;

2. Federal, state and local governmental agencies;

3. Certified applicators not for hire; including, but not limited to, employees of golf courses, hotels, apartment complexes, and office complexes those who use or supervise the use of pesticides as part of their job duties only on property owned or leased by themselves or their employer; and

4. Providers of janitorial, cleaning or sanitizing services if the providers use no pesticides other than sanitizers, disinfectants and germicides.

C. Application for a pesticide business license is made by submitting to the department (i) a completed application form and (ii) a check or money order in the amount of the annual business license fee established by the board.

D. Each applicant for a pesticide business license, or an employee designated by the applicant, shall demonstrate to the commissioner his knowledge of (i) pesticide laws and regulations; (ii) potential hazards of pesticides to man and the environment; and (iii) safe distribution, use, and disposal of pesticides by passing a written examination prior to his being issued a business license. If the applicant is already certified as a commercial applicator, he shall be exempt from the initial examination requirement.

E. All licensed pesticide businesses shall maintain written records pertaining to their operations, as required in this chapter.

F. All licensed pesticide business locations or outlets which sell restricted use pesticides, or distribute restricted use pesticides for purposes of selling, shall have a certified commercial applicator present who shall bear immediate responsibility for the correct and safe operation of the location or outlet. Each business shall notify the department of the name of the commercial applicator assigned to each location or outlet, and shall also notify the department promptly within three business days of any change in the applicator assignments during the license period.

G. All licensed pesticide businesses which that store, repack and distribute bulk pesticides shall meet the requirements established by the board for the storage, repackaging and distribution of bulk pesticides.

H. All pesticide business licenses shall expire at midnight on March 3l of each year. Licensees shall renew their licenses annually by application to the department and payment of the annual fee on or before close of business January March 31. The department shall charge a 20% penalty in addition to the regular fee for renewal applications filed after January March 31.

2 VAC 20-40-40. Business licensing requirements for pest management consultants.

A. Any person or business which recommends any pesticide for use commercially in Virginia shall obtain a valid pesticide business license issued pursuant to 2 VAC 20-40-20 A of this chapter. This provision shall exclude sales personnel of a licensed pesticide business, company training, technical and sales representatives certified in the demonstration pesticide applicator category, and governmental employees while performing in an official capacity.

B. The specialty categories for a pest management consultant shall conform to the commercial applicator categories established pursuant to the Act. The pest management consultant shall meet the requirements of the specific category or subcategory in which he is making recommendations for pesticide use prior to being issued a business license.

2 VAC 20-40-60. Recordkeeping of restricted use pesticide sales by licensed pesticide businesses.

[ A. ] Pesticide businesses which that sell restricted use pesticides shall maintain a record of each restricted use pesticide sold. Each sales record shall contain the following:

1. Name, address, certified applicator number or business license number, and certificate or license expiration date of the person to whom the restricted use pesticide was sold or delivered;

2. Date of sale;

3. Brand or common product name;

4. EPA registration number; and

5. Quantity of pesticide sold or delivered.

B. The restricted use pesticide sales record keeping requirement may be satisfied by invoices, if (i) such invoices are kept separate from the licensee's other sales records, and (ii) the invoices contain the above information.

[ 2 VAC 20-40-65. Recordkeeping of pesticide applications by licensed pesticide businesses.
Licensed pesticide businesses shall maintain a record of each pesticide applied. This shall apply to both general use and restricted use pesticides. Each record shall contain the: 

1. Name, address, and telephone number of customer and address or location, if different, of site of application;

2. Name and certification number (or certification number of the supervising certified applicator) of the person making the application;

3. Day, month and year of application;

4. Type of plants, crop, animals, or sites treated and principal pests to be controlled; 

5. Acreage, area, or number of plants or animals treated; 

6. Brand name or common product name; 

7. EPA registration number; 

8. Amount of pesticide concentrate and amount of diluent used, by weight or volume, in mixture applied; and 

9. Type of application equipment used. ]
2 VAC 20-40-70. Recordkeeping of pesticide applications by commercial applicators pesticide businesses.

Commercial applicators Pesticide businesses shall maintain a record of each restricted use pesticide applied. This shall apply to both general use and restricted use pesticides. Each record shall contain the:

1. Name, address, and telephone number of customer and address or location, if different, of site of application;

2. Name and certification number (or certification number of the supervising certified applicator) of the person making the application;

3. Day, month and year of application;

4. Type of plants, crop, animals, or sites treated and principal pests to be controlled;

5. Acreage, area, or number of plants or animals treated;

6. Brand name or common product name;

7. EPA registration number;

8. Amount of pesticide concentrate and amount of diluent used, by weight or volume, in mixture applied; and

9. Type of application equipment used.

2 VAC 20-40-80. Evidence of financial responsibility required of a licensed pesticide business.

A. Prior to being issued a pesticide business license, a business shall furnish evidence of financial responsibility, consisting either of: (i) a surety bond to the benefit of the board from a person authorized to do business in Virginia; (ii) a liability insurance policy from a person authorized to do business in Virginia, or a certification thereof, protecting persons who may suffer legal damages as a result of the use of any pesticide by the applicant; or (iii) a plan of self‑insurance which meets the requirements set forth below and is approved by the board.

B. If the evidence of financial responsibility consists of a surety bond, the bond shall be in an amount specified in subsection E of this section, and shall cover liability arising out of handling, storage, application, use or misuse, or disposal of any pesticide; it shall also cover liability relating to completed operations.

C. If the evidence of financial responsibility consists of a B. The liability insurance policy, the shall meet the following conditions shall be met:

1. The certificate of insurance shall include the name of the insurance company, policy number, insurance amount, type of coverage afforded, any exclusions relating to damage arising from the use of pesticides, and expiration date of the policy. The policy shall cover liability arising out of the handling, storage, application, use or misuse, or disposal of any pesticide; it shall also cover liability relating to completed operations.

2. The policy shall be in an amount specified in subsection E C of this section.

3. The licensee shall forward a current certificate of insurance to the board at each insurance renewal date.

D. If the evidence of financial responsibility consists of a plan of self‑insurance, the following conditions shall be met:

1. The self‑insurer shall submit a written proposal of self‑insurance to the board for approval. The proposal shall include a master self‑insurance and security agreement and a balance sheet and income statement which reflects the actual financial condition of the business as of the last complete calendar or fiscal year preceding the date of the proposal. These documents shall be certified by a certified public accountant.

2. The self‑insurer shall post collateral with the board in the amount of at least $400,000. The collateral shall consist of the following: (i) negotiable instruments of the United States Government; (ii) escrow deposits established for the sole purpose of providing security for self‑insurance purposes; (iii) irrevocable letters of credit; or (iv) other security approved upon petition to the board.

3. If the self‑insurer is unable to fulfill his obligations under the Act, he may petition the board to release the collateral posted. If such a withdrawal is necessary, the self‑insurer shall replace the security within 72 hours from the time of withdrawal in order to retain his certificate as a self‑insurer.

4. A certificate of self‑insurance, to be issued by the board, shall be renewed annually following appropriate review by the board. If his financial responsibility furnished no longer complies with this section, the self‑insurer shall immediately provide other evidence of financial responsibility.

E. C. The amount of financial responsibility as provided for in this section shall be a minimum of [ (i) $200,000 $100,000 ] for property damage [ , subject to a $1,000 deductible provision ] in the case of licensees holding liability insurance policies, and [ $200,000 $100,000 ] for personal injury [ or death of one person ]; [ or (ii) a combined single limit of $400,000 with a $1,000 deductible and $300,000 per occurrence ]. The board may require additional evidence of financial responsibility based upon annual gross revenue of the applicant, if self‑employed, or his employer's business, if not, and an assessment of the risks of the applicant or his employer's business to persons, property, and the environment. The licensee shall maintain at least the minimum coverage at all times during the license period, and shall notify the board at least 10 days prior to any reduction at the request of the licensee or cancellation of such financial responsibility by the surety or insurer. If the deductible of an applicant for a business license is greater than $1,000, evidence of financial responsibility shall be furnished to the board to satisfy the difference between the applicant's deductible and the $1,000 deductible. This evidence may consist of a financial statement or a personal bond.

2 VAC 20‑40‑90. Revocation of a business license.

In addition to the violative acts listed under § 3.1‑249.63 B of the Act, the following are grounds for revocation by the board of a business license:

1. Failure to (i) submit records to the commissioner upon written request; or (ii) to permit any person designated by the commissioner to have access to, and to copy such records of business transactions as may be essential to carrying out the purposes of the Act.

2. Operation of a pesticide business location or outlet without a certified commercial applicator assigned to the location or outlet as required by this chapter.

3. Failure of a self‑insurer to provide, within 72 hours, other evidence of financial responsibility if the financial responsibility previously furnished no longer complies with the requirements of the Act or regulations promulgated thereunder.

4. 3. Interference with the commissioner or his duly authorized agents in carrying out the duties imposed by the Act.

5. 4. Conduct by a licensee, as determined during the course of a hearing, which has or might have resulted at any time in substantial danger to, or in unreasonable adverse effects on, the public health, safety, or the environment.

6. 5. Failure of a licensee to notify the department of any change in financial responsibility as specified in 2 VAC 20‑40‑80 E of this chapter C.

7. 6. Multiple violations of the Act or regulations pursuant thereto within a three‑year period.

2 VAC 20‑40‑100. Summary suspension by commissioner.

A. The commissioner may suspend the pesticide business license of any person, without a hearing, simultaneously with the institution of proceedings for a hearing, if he finds there is a substantial danger to the public health, safety, or the environment which that warrants this action. Situations which that may warrant suspension include, but are not limited to, the following:

1. Operating a pesticide business or pesticide business outlet without a certified commercial applicator on site as required by this chapter, when absence of the applicator presents a substantial danger to the public health, safety, or the environment, as determined by the commissioner.

2. Refusal by a pesticide business, after receipt of a written request, to permit the commissioner or his agent access to and to copy records of business transactions, when such refusal presents a substantial danger to the public health, safety, or the environment, as determined by the commissioner.

B. The commissioner shall institute proceedings for a hearing pursuant to § 9‑6.14:12  § 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia simultaneously with any summary suspension. Subject to any provision of procedure or chapter of the board for the processing of violations not inconsistent with this chapter:

1. The hearing shall be held within 60 days after the suspension; and

2. The hearing officer conducting the hearing shall have the authority to consider and address all matters relating to the summary suspension, including but not limited to the withdrawing, sustaining, or modifying thereof.

The commissioner or a conference officer appointed by the commissioner shall offer the person whose license has been summarily suspended (hereinafter "the respondent") an opportunity to appear in an informal conference, authorized by § 9‑6.14:11 § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia, to be held within three days after the summary suspension. The informal conference may consider, subject to any provision of the board for the processing of violations, all matters relating to the summary suspension, including but not limited to the withdrawal, sustaining, or modifying thereof. Nothing in this section authorizing consideration of matters by an informal conference shall be construed to deny a respondent's right to a hearing.

C. No person may operate a pesticide business at any time when his license is suspended.

2 VAC 20‑40‑110. Denial of license by the commissioner.

A. The commissioner shall deny a business license to any applicant who does not submit all the information required on the license application form, or who does not fully comply with all requirements for licensing set forth in this chapter.

B. The commissioner may, after notice to a pesticide business applicant and after opportunity for hearing, deny a pesticide business license to an applicant who has violated the pesticide law or regulations of any state or competent authority so as to evidence a disregard for proper and safe pesticide use; or if his license has been denied, suspended, nullified, withdrawn, revoked, or otherwise terminated by any state or other competent authority.

C. Any applicant for a pesticide business license shall not engage in the activity for which he is requesting a license until it shall have been issued by the commissioner shall have issued it.

2 VAC 20-40-120. Regulations superseded or repealed. (Repealed.)

The provisions of this chapter supersede 2 VAC 20‑20‑230, "Records," and 2 VAC 20‑20‑260, "Evidence of Financial Responsibility," of Chapter 20, Rules and Regulations for Enforcement of the Virginia Pesticide Law, which are hereby repealed.

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 2 VAC 20-40, Rules and Regulations Governing Licensing of Pesticide Businesses by the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Operating Under Authority of the Virginia Pesticide Control Act, are not being published; however, the name of each form is listed below.  The forms are available for public inspection at the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 Governor Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.
FORMS

Application for Virginia Pesticide Business License, Form VDACS-07209, eff. 10/91 rev. [ 2/02 11/05 ].

Certificate of Insurance, Form VDACS-07214, eff. 7/1/93 rev. 4/96.

Request to take the Virginia Pesticide Business License Examination, [ eff. 11/98 rev. 8/06 ].

VA.R. Doc. No. R02-299; Filed August 9, 2006, 3:21 p.m.
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