FAST-TRACK REGULATIONS

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1.

Fast-Track Regulations
Fast-Track Regulations

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER WORKS OPERATORS

Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 160-20. Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators (amending 18 VAC 160-20-76 and 18 VAC 160-20-90).

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2301 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be submitted until November 3, 2006.
(See Calendar of Events section

for additional information)

Effective Date: December 1, 2006.
Agency Contact: David E. Dick, Executive Director, Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators, 3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-2648, FAX (804) 367-6128 or e-mail waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov.

Basis: Section 54.1-2301 B of the Code of Virginia states that the board shall examine operators and issue licenses.  The licenses may be issued in specific operator classifications to attest to the competency of an operator to supervise and operate waterworks and wastewater works while protecting the public health, welfare and property and conserving and protecting the water resources of the Commonwealth.

Section 54.1-201 (5) of the Code of Virginia empowers regulatory boards to promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) necessary to assure continued competency, to prevent deceptive or misleading practices by practitioners and to effectively administer the regulatory system administered by the regulatory board.
The imperative form of the verb “shall” is used, making the board’s authority to regulate mandatory rather than discretionary.

Purpose: The language in the current regulations provides for an examination to be given at least twice a year, and requires the application to be received by the board at least 60 days before the examination date.  Board staff has approximately 30 days to process all of the applications and order the correct number of each of the 10 separate examinations and assure they are delivered to the correct examination site.  Those who meet the experience requirement and have no record of disciplinary action or criminal conviction will be approved to sit for the examination and issued a license when a passing grade is electronically posted to their record by the examination vendor.  Those with a record of disciplinary action or a criminal conviction may be required to participate in an Informal Fact Finding Conference (IFF) under the Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and obtain approval by a majority vote of the board before being approved to sit for the examination.  Those failing the examination are allowed two additional opportunities to pass the examination during the two years following approval.  In addition, any individual who will meet the experience requirement no more than three months after the date of the examination may request to sit for the examination as a conditional candidate to avoid the long wait until the next examination.  Conditional candidates who pass the examination will not be issued a license until they document to DPOR that they have the remaining three months of qualifying experience.

The purpose of the proposed amendments is to repeal provisions no longer necessary, and which are, in fact, cumbersome for a computer-administered examination.  Beginning in 2006, applications will be submitted to the board’s vendor.  Those found to have met the experience requirements will arrange an appointment with the vendor to sit for the examination at one of the vendor’s locations.  The examination will be available five to six days a week and most will be scheduled within seven to 10 days after the request of an appointment.  Records on those who pass the examination will be transmitted electronically to DPOR.  Those failing the examination may take the examination an unlimited number of times during the one-year period that follows the date they were approved to sit for the examination.  Those passing the examination will then apply to DPOR for a license.  At this time, those with a disciplinary record or a criminal record will be afforded an IFF and the board will decide whether the license is to be issued or denied.

It is no longer necessary to require the application to be received at least 60 days before the examination date as the examination is available virtually daily.  Nor is it necessary to allow those within three months of completing the experience requirement to sit for the examination as the examination will be available immediately after they meet the experience requirement and submit a complete examination application.  It is no longer necessary to limit the number of times an individual may take the examination and the one year provided to pass will allow an individual to take the examination a dozen or more times.

Language is added to enable examination administration and application processing by an examination vendor.  The board still maintains the authority to administer the examination and process examination applications should the vendor be unable to perform or there be no vendor available.

Licenses are issued in specific operator classifications to attest to the competency of an operator to supervise and operate waterworks and wastewater works while protecting the public health, welfare and property and conserving and protecting the water resources of the Commonwealth.

Substance: The new substantive provisions provide for an examination administered by a vendor.  The vendor may also process applications to sit for the examination.  Those passing the examination will apply to DPOR to become licensed.  Those failing the examination may retake the examination an unlimited number of times during the year following their examination application approval date.

The requirement to apply 60 days before the examination date and the provision allowing conditional candidates to sit as much as three months before they have the required qualifying experience are repealed as no longer necessary and, in fact, now cumbersome.  An unlimited number of opportunities to pass the examination during a one-year period replaces the two reexaminations during a two-year period provision and provides much more opportunity to pass the examination.

Issues:  The primary advantage to the public is that those operating waterworks and wastewater works facilities will be able to qualify to sit for the examination and become licensed according to a schedule convenient to them or their employer rather than a schedule convenient to the Commonwealth.  No disadvantages have been identified.   The primary advantage to the agency and the Commonwealth is that application and examination services will be delivered more quickly utilizing modern technology.  No disadvantage has been identified.  No other pertinent matters of interest to the regulated community, government officials, or the public have been identified.

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: All of these amendments make it easier and faster for a qualified person to become licensed.  No person is likely to object to being able to take the examination at a day and time of his choosing rather than during one of the two annual dates required by the current regulations.  No person is likely to object to having his examination application approved very shortly after he completes his qualifying experience and submits a complete application.
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: 
Summary of the proposed regulation. The Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Facilities Operators (board) proposes to amend its regulations to accommodate electronic competency examinations for its regulants.

Result of analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all proposed changes encompassed by this regulatory action.
Estimated economic impact. Currently, individuals who seek to be licensed as waterworks operators or wastewater works operators must apply at least 60 days before a paper examination which, by regulatory mandate, is scheduled by the board at least twice annually.  Because any examination is only given twice or, at most, three times a year, applicants are able to take the exam if they have met all educational and experience requirements or if they will meet these requirements within three months of the examination. An applicant may not apply for and receive his license until he has passed the relevant examination and gained all required education and experience. Currently, applicants who do not pass the competency exam may take it again no more than two times within two years. If an applicant either fails his exam two more times within two years or allows two years to elapse without retaking his exam the allowed number of times, he would have to submit a new application for examination, and pay the requisite fee, before being allowed to re-test. Applicants currently complete a single application for both examination and licensure. This application goes to the board and must be accompanied by a $100 licensing fee and a $48.15 fee for testing. 

The proposed regulation institutes rules that are more sensible given that the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation has replaced paper examinations with electronic examinations that can be given any time with little advanced notice from the testing applicant. Going forward, regulants will submit a test application and fee directly to the testing vendor. The $84 test fee is slightly higher than the $48 that applicants have been paying; the board reports, however, that applicants feel the added convenience of the new testing system is worth the additional amount paid for testing. Examinations will be by appointment and may be scheduled at the convenience of the applicant and in as few as seven days after application. Testers who fail may retake their examination as many times as they like within a one-year period.

The board feels it is appropriate to halve the time frame within which failed tests may be retaken because applicants may take a test many more times in a year than they would have been able to under the old testing scheme. These provisions will allow regulants to take examinations at a time that is more convenient to them and may even allow them to begin working in their chosen field more quickly. Given that, these provisions are likely to provide a net benefit for regulants.

The board also proposes to eliminate the provision of this regulation that allowed applicants who had not completed educational or experience requirements to sit for examinations. Again, the board feels that greatly increasing examination opportunities eliminate the need for this provision.  Given the new testing system, this regulatory provision is not likely to harm regulants.

Under provisions of the proposed regulation, regulants who pass their examinations will receive a separate application for licensure that they will submit to the board along with the fee for licensure. This fee is unchanged at $100. Although separate applications for testing and licensure may represent a slight inconvenience for regulants, this system will ensure that the board is only considering license applications for those individuals who meet all requirements for licensure. This should ensure that those who are eventually licensed by the board are, indeed, qualified.

Businesses and entities affected. The board currently regulates approximately 5,400 waterworks and wastewater works operators; the board reports that most of these individuals work for municipal governments or public entities charged with supplying water and sewage treatment services.

Localities particularly affected. The proposed regulation will affect all localities in the Commonwealth.

Projected impact on employment. The proposed regulation will allow regulants to become licensed more expeditiously and, so, will allow them to begin work in their chosen field sooner. Total employment for waterworks operators and wastewater works operators is unlikely to be affected, however.

Effects on the use and value of private property. To the extent that the proposed regulation allows regulants to begin work in their chosen field more quickly, their lifetime earnings may increase by some marginal amount. The proposed regulation is unlikely to affect the use and value of private property in any other way.

Small businesses: costs and other effects. The board reports that most, if not all, of its regulated entities work in the public sector.

Small businesses: alternative method that minimizes adverse impact. This proposed regulation allows regulants to take competency exams more frequently and at times that are individually more convenient.

Legal mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance with Section 2.2-4007 H of the Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 (02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts.
Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency agrees with the Department of Planning and Budget’s economic impact analysis.

Summary:

The amendments delete current language providing for a paper and pencil examination and add language that provides for a computer-administered examination as well as language enabling applicants to apply directly to the examination vendor rather than to the board to sit for the examination.  The vendor will, in consultation with board staff, determine applicant eligibility to sit for the examination.  Those passing the examination must apply to the board for licensure.

The amendments will replace the current single application to sit for the examination and become licensed with a separate application to sit for the examination and a separate application for license.  Under the proposed amendments, applicants will be able to qualify to sit for the examination and become licensed in a much shorter period of time.

18 VAC 160-20-76. Application.

A. Individuals desiring to be issued a license shall apply on forms supplied by the board.  The application shall be completed according to the instructions provided with the application.  Incomplete applications will be returned to the applicant.  Fees shall remain valid for 90 days and shall not be refunded.
A. Application shall be made as follows:

1. Individuals desiring to sit for the board’s examination shall apply on forms made available by the board or by an examination vendor approved by the board.  

2. Individuals who have passed the board’s examination shall apply for a license on forms made available by the board or by an examination vendor approved by the board.

3. All applications shall be completed in accordance with the accompanying instructions and shall have all required documentation attached.

4.  The examination fee established in 18 VAC 160-20-102 shall accompany each examination application and the application fee established in 18 VAC 160-20-102 shall accompany each license application.  

B. The receipt of an application and the deposit of fees in no way indicates approval of an application.

C. All fees shall be nonrefundable.

B D. Individual applicants shall be at least 18 years of age.

C E. The Each applicant for a license shall have passed the board's examination and shall disclose the following information about himself:

1. Any conviction by a court in any jurisdiction of any felony or of any misdemeanor involving lying, cheating or stealing, or of any misrepresentation while engaged in waterworks or wastewater works activities.  Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this subsection.  A certified copy of a final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case decision shall be prima facie evidence of such conviction or discipline.

2. Any disciplinary action taken by the board or another jurisdiction in connection with the applicant's activities as a waterworks or wastewater works operator, including but not limited to, monetary penalties, fines, suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action.

3. His physical address.  A post office box shall not be accepted in lieu of a physical address.

D. The fee established by 18 VAC 160-20-102 shall accompany the application and shall not be refunded.

E. The receipt of an application and the deposit of fees in no way indicates approval of the application by the board.

18 VAC 160-20-90. Licensure by experience and examination.

Licensure is based upon having applicable experience and demonstrating minimum required knowledge, skills and abilities through an examination.  Education, training, and experience in the other category may be substituted for the required experience as specified in this section.

A. Experience. For purposes of this chapter, experience requirements are expressed in terms of calendar periods of full-time employment as an operator or as an operator-in-training at a waterworks or wastewater works in the same category as the license being applied for.  All experience claimed on the application for licensure must be certified by the individual's immediate supervisor.

1. A year of full-time employment is defined as a minimum of 1,760 hours during a 12-month period or a minimum of 220 workdays in a 12-month period.  A workday is defined as attendance at a waterworks or wastewater works to the extent required for proper operation.  More than 1,760 hours or 220 work days during a 12-month period will not be considered as more than one year of full-time employment.

2. Experience gained as an operator-in-training must be obtained under the supervision of an operator holding a valid license of the same category and of a classification equal to or higher than the classification of the waterworks or wastewater works at which the experience is gained.  The supervising operator shall certify the experience on the application form as accurate and relevant to the classification and category of license for which the application is being submitted.

3. Partial credit may be given for actual hours of work or workdays experience if the applicant works as an operator or as an operator-in-training less than full time.

4. Experience solely limited to the operation and maintenance of wastewater collection systems and water distribution systems, laboratory work, plant maintenance, and other nonoperating duties shall not be counted as experience as an operator or as an operator-in-training.

5. Experience limited to water distribution system operation and maintenance shall be considered only when applying for a Class V or Class VI waterworks operator license.

B. Specific requirements for licenses.

1. Specific requirements for a Class VI license.  Applicants for licensure as a Class VI waterworks operator shall meet one of the following requirements and pass a board-approved examination:

a. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED and (ii) at least six months of experience as an operator-in-training in a Class VI, Class V, Class IV, Class III, Class II, or Class I waterworks; or

b. Have (i) no high school diploma and (ii) at least one year of experience as an operator-in-training in a Class VI, Class V, Class IV, Class III, Class II, or Class I waterworks.

2. Specific requirements for a Class V license.  Applicants for licensure as a Class V waterworks operator shall meet one of the following requirements and pass a board-approved examination:

a. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED and (ii) at least six months of experience as an operator-in-training in a Class V, Class IV, Class III, Class II, or Class I waterworks; or

b. Have (i) no high school diploma and (ii) at least one year of experience as an operator-in-training in a Class V, Class IV, Class III, Class II, or Class I waterworks.

3. Specific requirements for a Class IV license.  Applicants for licensure as either a Class IV waterworks or wastewater works operator shall meet one of the following requirements and pass a board-approved examination:

a. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED and (ii) at least six months of experience as an operator-in-training in a Class IV, Class III, Class II, or Class I waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); or

b. Have (i) no high school diploma and (ii) at least one year of experience as an operator-in-training in a Class IV, Class III, Class II, or Class I waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate).

4. Specific requirements for a Class III license.  Applicants for licensure as either a Class III waterworks or wastewater works operator shall meet one of the following requirements and pass a board-approved examination:

a. Have (i) a bachelor's degree in engineering or engineering technology, or in physical, biological or chemical science;  and (ii) at least one year of experience as an operator-in-training in a Class IV, Class III, Class II, or Class I waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); or

b. Have (i) a bachelor's degree in engineering or engineering technology, or in physical, biological or chemical science; (ii) a Class IV license; and (iii) a total of at least one year of experience as an operator or operator-in-training in a Class IV waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate) or as an operator-in-training in a Class III, Class II, or Class I waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); or

c. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED and (ii) at least two years of experience as an operator-in-training in a Class IV, Class III, Class II, or Class I waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); or

d. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED, (ii) a Class IV license, and (iii) a total of at least two years of experience as an operator or operator-in-training in a Class IV waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate) or as an operator-in-training in a Class III, Class II, or Class I waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); or

e. Have (i) no high school diploma, (ii) a Class IV license, and (iii) a total of at least four years of experience as an operator or operator-in-training in a Class IV waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate) or as an operator-in-training n in a Class III, Class II, or Class I waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate).

5. Specific requirements for a Class II license.  Applicants for licensure as either a Class II waterworks or wastewater works operator shall meet one of the following requirements and pass a board-approved examination:

a. Have (i) a bachelor's degree in engineering or engineering technology, or in physical, biological or chemical science; and (ii) a total of at least 1-1/2 years of experience, of which at least six months without substitutions shall be as an operator-in-training in a Class III, Class II or Class I waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); or

b. Have (i) a bachelor's degree in engineering or engineering technology, or in physical, biological or chemical science; (ii) a Class IV license; and (iii) a total of at least 1-1/2 years of experience, of which at least six months without substitutions shall be as an operator-in-training in a Class III, Class II or Class I waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); or

c. Have (i) a bachelor's degree in engineering or engineering technology, or in physical, biological or chemical science; (ii) a Class III license; and (iii) a total of at least 1-1/2 years of experience, of which at least six months, without substitutions shall be as an operator or operator-in-training in a Class III waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate) or as an operator-in-training in a Class II or Class I waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); or

d. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED, (ii) a Class III license, and (iii) a total of at least four years of experience of which at least two years without substitutions shall be as an operator or operator-in-training in a Class III waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate) or as an operator-in-training in a Class II or Class I waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); or

e. Have (i) no high school diploma, (ii) a Class III license, and (iii) a total of at least seven years of experience of which at least three years without substitutions shall be as an operator or operator-in-training in a Class III waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate) or as an operator-in-training in a Class II or Class I waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate).

6. Specific requirements for a Class I license.  Applicants for licensure as either a Class I waterworks or wastewater works operator shall meet one of the following requirements and pass a board-approved examination:

a. Have (i) a bachelor's degree in engineering or engineering technology, or in physical, biological or chemical science;  (ii) a Class II license;  and (iii) a total of at least 2-1/2 years of experience, of which at least one year without substitutions shall be as an operator or operator-in-training in a Class II waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate) or as an operator-in-training in a Class I waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate);  or

b. Have (i) a high school diploma or GED, (ii) a Class II license and (iii) a total of at least six years of experience of which at least two years without substitutions shall be as an operator or operator-in-training in a Class II waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate) or as an operator-in-training in a Class I waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate); or

c. Have (i) no high school diploma, (ii) a Class II license, and (iii) a total of at least 10 years of experience of which at least three years without substitutions shall be as an operator or operator-in-training in a Class II waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate) or as an operator-in-training in a Class I waterworks or wastewater works (as appropriate).

C. Substitutions for required experience.  For the purpose of meeting the experience requirements for Class III, Class II, and Class I licenses, experience in the other category, relevant training in waterworks and wastewater works operation, and formal education may be substituted for actual hands-on experience in the category being applied for.

1. Category experience substitution.  One half of the actual experience gained in the other category may be substituted for required experience in the category of the license being applied for.

2. Education substitution.  Education may be substituted for part of the required experience in the category of the license being applied for, subject to the following limitations:

a. Education used to meet the educational requirements for any class of license may not be substituted for experience.

b. Formal education courses at a post-secondary level in physical, biological or chemical science; engineering or engineering technology; waterworks or wastewater works operation; or public health may be substituted for part of the required experience.

(1) All education substituted for experience must be relevant to the category and classification of the license being applied for.

(2) Education may be substituted for experience at a rate of up to one month experience for each semester hour of college credit approved by the board.  One quarter hour of college credit will be considered equal to two thirds of a semester hour.

(3) Substitution of formal education experience will be approved by the board only for applicants who submit a transcript from the institution where the course was taken.

c. Training substitution.  Waterworks or wastewater works operator training courses, seminars, workshops, or similar training, specifically approved by the board, may be substituted for part of the required experience.

(1) All training substituted for experience must be relevant to the category and classification of the license being applied for.

(2) Training may be substituted for experience at a rate of one month experience for each training credit approved by the board.  Up to one training credit is awarded for each 10 hours of classroom contact time or for each 20 hours of laboratory exercise and field trip contact time.  No credit towards training credits is granted for breaks, meals, receptions, and time other than classroom, laboratory and field trip contact time.

(3) All courses used for substitution must be approved by utilizing the criteria set forth in Part VI (18 VAC 160-20-160) of this chapter.

(4) Substitution of training for experience will be approved by the board only for applicants who submit a copy of an appropriate certificate identifying the subject matter of the course and the training credit value, and signed by a representative of the organization sponsoring the training.

3. Limitations on substitution.

a. Under no circumstances shall category experience, education, and training substitutions exceed 50% of the total experience required under this subsection.

b. No category experience, education, or training substitutions are permitted for the experience required to obtain a Class VI, Class V or a Class IV license as specified in subsection B of this section.

D. Examination. A board-approved examination shall be administered at least twice a year.

1. An individual may take the examination prior to fulfilling the education and experience requirements, provided all requirements will be met within three months after the date the applicant will take the examination.  The license shall not be issued until all applicable requirements have been met and satisfactorily verified.

2. An individual who is unable to take an examination at the time scheduled shall notify the board prior to the date of the examination; such an individual shall be rescheduled for the next examination.  Failure to notify the board may require the submittal of a new application and payment of fees.

3. Upon submission of an application for reexamination form provided by the board and payment of the reexamination fee, an applicant who is unsuccessful in passing an examination will be allowed to retake the examination up to two times within two years of the date of notification of initial unsuccessful examination results.  If the two-year period elapses, or if an applicant fails to pass both reexaminations, then the applicant will be required to submit a new application with fee in accordance with this chapter in order to take an examination.

4. Applications for examination and reexamination must be received by the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation at least 60 days prior to a scheduled examination in order to be eligible to sit for that examination.

D. Examination. A board-approved examination shall be administered by the board or by an examination vendor approved by the board.

1. Each individual applying to sit for the examination shall satisfy the experience standards established in this section before being approved to sit for the examination.  Individuals approved to sit for the examination shall be provided with written instructions for examination registration.

2. Examinees will be given specific instructions as to the conduct of the examination at the examination site.  Examinees shall follow these instructions during the course of the examination.  Misconduct may result in removal from the examination site, voided examination scores, the denial of the application or any combination of the foregoing.

3. Upon submission of an application for reexamination and payment of the fee established in 18 VAC 160-20-102, an applicant who is unsuccessful in passing the examination shall be allowed to retake the examination an unlimited number of times within one year after the date the application to sit for the examination was approved.  If the one-year period elapses, then the applicant shall submit a new application to sit for the examination establishing that he meets the then-current requirements of this chapter and the fee established in 18 VAC 160-20-102.

4. Each application for reexamination shall be accompanied by the fee established in 18 VAC 160-20-102.

E. Licensure. Individuals who have passed the board-approved examination shall apply for licensure and shall satisfy the application requirements established in 18 VAC 160-20-76.
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