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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD OF PHARMACY

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 7 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards served by the Department of Health Professions pursuant to Title 54.1 that are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and applicants. The Board of Pharmacy will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision.

Titles of Regulations: 18 VAC 110-20. Regulations Governing the Practice of Pharmacy TC "18 VAC 110-20. Regulations Governing the Practice of Pharmacy (Final)" \f C \l "1"  (amending 18 VAC 110-20-20).

18 VAC 110-30. Regulations for Practitioners of the Healing Arts to Sell Controlled Substances TC "18 VAC 110-30. Regulations for Practitioners of the Healing Arts to Sell Controlled Substances (Final)" \f C \l "1"  (amending 18 VAC 110-30-15).

18 VAC 110-50. Regulation Governing Wholesale Distributors, Manufacturers, and Warehousers TC "18 VAC 110-50. Regulation Governing Wholesale Distributors, Manufacturers, and Warehousers (Final)" \f C \l "1"  (amending 18 VAC 110-50-20).

Statutory Authority: Chapters 33 (§ 54.1-3300 et seq.) and 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: November 29, 2006.

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Scott Russell, R.Ph, Executive Director, Board of Pharmacy, 6603 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9911, FAX (804) 662-9313 or email scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov.

Summary:

In order to reduce an accumulated surplus in the budget of the Board of Pharmacy, a one-time reduction in renewal fees has been adopted.  The renewal fee for pharmacists and physicians selling controlled substances is reduced for the annual renewal from $90 to $50, and for pharmacy technicians, the renewal fee is reduced from $25 to $15.  Fees for inactive licensure, which are approximately one-half the active renewal fee, are reduced correspondingly.
Renewal fees for facilities are also reduced from $270 to $210 (pharmacies, physician permit, nonrestricted manufacturers, wholesale distributors, warehousers) and for restricted manufacturers or medical equipment suppliers from $180 to $140. The percentage of reduction is less for facilities because the board must continue to conduct routine inspections every two years at a cost of approximately $350 to $400 per inspection.  The facility renewal fees must offset those costs, as well of expenditures related to the licensing and discipline work of the board and the department. 

18 VAC 110-20-20. Fees.

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall not be refundable.

B. Unless otherwise provided, any fees for taking required examinations shall be paid directly to the examination service as specified by the board.

C. Initial application fees.
	1. Pharmacist license
	$180

	2. Pharmacy intern registration
	$15

	3. Pharmacy technician registration
	$25

	4. Pharmacy permit
	$270

	5. Permitted physician licensed to dispense drugs
	$270

	6. Medical equipment supplier permit
	$180

	7. Humane society permit
	$20

	8. Nonresident pharmacy
	$270

	9. Controlled substances registrations (Between November 2, 2005, and December 31, 2006, the application fee for a controlled substance registration shall be $50)
	$90

	10. Robotic pharmacy system approval
	$150

	11. Innovative program approval.

If the board determines that a technical consultant is required in order to make a decision on approval, any consultant fee, not to exceed the actual cost, shall also be paid by the applicant in addition to the application fee.
	$250

	12. Approval of a pharmacy technician training program
	$150

	13. Approval of a continuing education program
	$100


D. Annual renewal fees.
	1. Pharmacist active license
	$90

	2. Pharmacist inactive license
	$45

	3. Pharmacy technician registration
	$25

	4. Pharmacy permit
	$270

	5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy
	$270

	6. Medical equipment supplier permit
	$180

	7. Humane society permit
	$20

	8. Nonresident pharmacy
	$270

	9. Controlled substances registrations
	$90

	10. Innovative program continued approval based on board order not to exceed $200 per approval period.
	


E. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in addition to the current renewal fee to renew an expired license within one year of the expiration date. In addition, engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or registration after the expiration date of such license, permit, or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the board.
	1. Pharmacist license
	$30

	2. Pharmacist inactive license
	$15

	3. Pharmacy technician registration
	$10

	4. Pharmacy permit
	$90

	5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy
	$90

	6. Medical equipment supplier permit
	$60

	7. Humane society permit
	$5

	8. Nonresident pharmacy
	$90

	9. Controlled substances registrations
	$30


F. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to renew a license, permit, or registration more than one year after the expiration date shall submit an application for reinstatement with any required fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the board and, except for reinstatement following license revocation or suspension, may be granted by the executive director of the board upon completion of an application and payment of any required fees.
	1. Pharmacist license
	$210

	2. Pharmacist license after revocation or suspension
	$500

	3. Pharmacy technician registration
	$35

	4. Pharmacy technician registration after revocation or suspension
	$125

	5. Facilities or entities that cease operation and wish to resume shall not be eligible for reinstatement but shall apply for a new permit or registration. Facilities or entities that failed to renew and continued to operate for more than one renewal cycle shall pay the current and all back renewal fees for the years in which they were operating plus the following reinstatement fees:

	a. Pharmacy permit
	$240

	b. Physician permit to practice pharmacy
	$240

	c. Medical equipment supplier permit
	$210

	d. Humane society permit
	$30

	e. Nonresident pharmacy
	$115

	f. Controlled substances registration
	$180


G. Application for change or inspection fees for facilities or other entities.
	1. Change of pharmacist-in-charge
	$50

	2. Change of ownership for any facility
	$50

	3. Inspection for remodeling or change of location for any facility
	150

	4. Reinspection of any facility
	$150

	5. Board-required inspection for a robotic pharmacy system
	$150

	6. Board-required inspection of an innovative program location
	$150

	7. Change of pharmacist responsible for an approved innovative program
	$25


H. Miscellaneous fees.
	1. Duplicate wall certificate
	$25

	2. Returned check
	$35


I. For the annual renewal due on or before December 31, 2005 2006, the following fees shall be imposed for a license, permit or registration:
	1. Pharmacist active license
	$50

	2. Pharmacist inactive license
	$25

	3. Pharmacy technician registration
	$15

	4. Pharmacy permit
	$210

	5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy
	$210

	6. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit
	$210

	7. Restricted manufacturer permit
	$140

	8. Wholesale distributor license
	$210

	9. Warehouser permit
	$210

	10. 6. Medical equipment supplier permit
	$140

	11. 7. Humane society permit
	$20

	12. 8. Nonresident pharmacy
	$210

	13. Nonresident wholesale distributor
	$210

	14. 9. Controlled substances registrations
	$50


18 VAC 110-30-15. Fees.
A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall not be refundable. 

B. Fee for initial license for a practitioner of the healing arts to sell controlled substances. 

1. The application fee for initial licensure shall be $240. 

2. The application fee for reinstatement of a license that has been revoked or suspended indefinitely shall be $500. 

C. Renewal of license for a practitioner of the healing arts to sell controlled substances.
1. The annual fee for renewal of an active license shall be $90. For the annual renewal due on before December 31, 2006, the fee shall be $50.
2. The annual fee for renewal of an inactive license shall be $45. 

3. The late fee for renewal of a license within one year after the expiration date is $30 in addition to the annual renewal fee. 

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license expired for more than one year shall be $210. 

D. The fee for reinspection of any facility shall be $150. 

E. The fee for a returned check shall be $35. 

18 VAC 110-50-20. Fees.

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall not be refundable.

B. Initial application fees.

	1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit
	$270

	2. Restricted manufacturer permit
	$180

	3. Wholesale distributor license
	$270

	4. Warehouser permit
	$270

	5. Nonresident wholesale distributor
	$270

	6. Controlled substances registration
	$90


C. Annual renewal fees.
	1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit
	$270

	2. Restricted manufacturer permit
	$180

	3. Wholesale distributor license
	$270

	4. Warehouser permit
	$270

	5. Nonresident wholesale distributor
	$270

	6. Controlled substances registration
	$90


D. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in addition to the current renewal fee to renew an expired license within one year of the expiration date. In addition, engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or registration after the expiration date of such license, permit, or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the board.
	1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit
	$90

	2. Restricted manufacturer permit
	$60

	3. Wholesale distributor license
	$90

	4. Warehouser permit
	$90

	5. Nonresident wholesale distributor
	$90

	6. Controlled substances registration
	$30


E. Reinstatement fees.

1. Any entity attempting to renew a license, permit, or registration more than one year after the expiration date shall submit an application for reinstatement with any required fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the board and, except for reinstatement following license revocation or suspension, may be granted by the executive director of the board upon completion of an application and payment of any required fees.

2. Engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or registration after the expiration date of such license, permit, or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the board. Facilities or entities that cease operation and wish to resume shall not be eligible for reinstatement, but shall apply for a new permit or registration.

3. Facilities or entities that failed to renew and continued to operate for more than one renewal cycle shall pay the current and all back renewal fees for the years in which they were operating plus the following reinstatement fees:
	a. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit
	$240

	b. Restricted manufacturer permit
	$210

	c. Wholesale distributor license
	$240

	d. Warehouser permit
	$240

	e. Nonresident wholesale distributor
	$240

	f. Controlled substances registration
	$180


F. Application for change or inspection fees.
	1. Reinspection fee
	$150

	2. Inspection fee for change of location, structural changes, or security system changes
	$150

	3. Change of ownership fee
	$50

	4. Change of responsible party
	$50


G. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.
H. For the annual renewal due on or before December 31, 2006, the following fees shall be imposed for a license or permit:
	1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit
	$210

	2. Restricted manufacturer permit
	$140

	3. Wholesale distributor license
	$210

	4. Warehouser permit
	$210

	5. Nonresident wholesale distributor
	$210
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