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TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL RESOURCES

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE:  The following regulations filed by the Marine Resources Commission are exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is required to publish the full text of final regulations.

Final Regulation

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 20-1090. Pertaining to Licensing Requirements and License Fees TC "4 VAC 20-1090. Pertaining to Licensing Requirements and License Fees (Final)" \f C \l "1"  (amending 4 VAC 20-1090-30; repealing 4 VAC 20-1090-20).

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: October 1, 2006.

Agency Contact: Brandy L. Battle, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002 or email brandy.battle@mrc.virginia.gov.
Summary:

The amendments remove references to license fees specifically for calendar years 2005 and 2006 and establish that license fees are set for current and future years.

4 VAC 20-1090-20. License fees for calendar year 2005. (Repealed.)
The following listing of license fees applies to any person who purchases a license for the purposes of harvesting for commercial purposes, or fishing for recreational purposes, during calendar year 2005: License sales for calendar year 2005 end December 31, 2005:
	1. COMMERCIAL LICENSES.

	Commercial Fisherman Registration License
	$150.00

	Commercial Fisherman Registration License for a person 70 years or older
	$75.00

	Delayed Entry Registration
	$150.00

	Delayed Entry Registration License for a person 70 years or older 
	$75.00

	Seafood Landing License for each boat or vessel
	$150.00

	For each Commercial Fishing Pier over or upon subaqueous beds (mandatory)
	$50.00

	Seafood Buyer’s License – For each boat or motor vehicle
	$25.00

	Seafood Buyer’s License – For each place of business
	$50.00

	Nonresident Harvester's License
	$350.00

	Oyster Harvesting and Shucking Licenses

	For each person taking oysters by hand, or with ordinary tongs
	$10.00

	For each single-rigged patent tong boat taking oysters
	$35.00

	For each double-rigged patent tong boat taking oysters
	$70.00

	Oyster Dredge Public Ground
	$50.00

	Oyster Hand Scrape
	$50.00

	To shuck and pack oysters, for any number of gallons under 1000
	$7.50

	To shuck and pack oysters, for 1000 gallons, up to 10,000
	$20.00

	To shuck and pack oysters, for 10,000 gallons, up to 25,000
	$45.00

	To shuck and pack oysters, for 25,000 gallons, up to 50,000
	$75.00

	To shuck and pack oysters, for 50,000 gallons, up to 100,000
	$125.00

	To shuck and pack oysters, for 100,000 gallons, up to 200,000
	$175.00

	To shuck and pack oysters, for 200,000 gallons or over
	$275.00

	Blue Crab Harvesting and Shedding Licenses

	For each person taking or catching crabs by dip nets
	$8.00

	For ordinary trotlines 
	$8.00

	For patent trotlines
	$31.00

	For each boat used for taking or catching hard crabs with dredges
	$58.00

	For each single-rigged crab-scrape boat
	$16.00

	For each double-rigged crab-scrape boat
	$32.00

	For up to 100 crab pots
	$29.00

	For over 100 but not more than 150 crab pots
	$48.00

	For over 150 but not more than 200 crab pots
	$48.00

	For over 200 but not more than 300 crab pots
	$48.00

	For over 300 but not more than 500 crab pots
	$100.00

	For up to 300 peeler pots
	$29.00

	For up to 20 tanks and floats for shedding crabs
	$7.50

	For more than 20 tanks or floats for shedding crabs
	$15.00

	For each crab trap or crab pound
	$5.00

	Horseshoe Crab and Lobster Licenses

	For each person harvesting horseshoe crabs by hand
	$15.00

	For each boat engaged in fishing for, or landing of, lobster using less than 200 pots 
	$25.00

	For each boat engaged in fishing for, or landing of, lobster using 200 pots or more 
	$100.00

	Clam Harvesting Licenses

	For each person taking or harvesting clams by hand, rake or with ordinary tongs
	$15.00

	For each single-rigged patent tong boat taking clams
	$35.00

	For each double-rigged patent tong boat taking clams
	$70.00

	For each boat using clam dredge (hand)
	$15.00

	For each boat using clam dredge (power)
	$35.00

	For each boat using hydraulic dredge to catch soft shell clams
	$50.00

	For each person taking surf clams
	$100.00

	Conch (Whelk) Harvesting Licenses

	For each boat using a conch dredge
	$35.00

	For each person taking channeled whelk by conch pot
	$48.00

	Finfish Harvesting Licenses

	Each pound net
	$25.00

	Each stake gill net of 1200 feet in length or under, with a fixed location
	$15.00

	All other gill nets up to 600 feet
	$10.00

	All other gill nets over 600 feet and up to 1200 feet 
	$15.00

	Each person using a cast net or throw net or similar device
	$8.00

	Each fyke net head, weir, or similar device
	$8.00

	For fish trotlines
	$12.00

	Each person using or operating a fish dip net
	$6.00

	On each haul seine used for catching fish, under 500 yards in length
	$29.00

	On each haul seine used for catching fish, from 500 yards in length to 1000 yards in length
	$88.00

	For each person using commercial hook and line
	$25.00

	For each person using commercial hook and line for catching striped bass only 
	$25.00

	On each boat or vessel under 70 gross tons fishing with purse net, per gross ton but not more than $150
	$3.00

	On each boat or vessel over 70 gross tons fishing with purse net, per gross ton.  Provided the maximum license fee for such vessels shall not be more than $600.
	$5.00

	For up to 100 fish pots or eel pots
	$12.00

	For over 100 but not more than 300 fish pots or eel pots
	$20.00

	For over 300 fish pots or eel pots
	$50.00

	2.  COMMERCIAL GEAR FOR RECREATIONAL USE.

	Up to five Crab pots
	$29.00

	Crab trotline (300 feet maximum
	$8.00

	One crab trap or crab pound
	$5.00

	One gill net up to 300 feet in length
	$7.50

	Fish dip net
	$6.00

	Fish cast net
	$8.00

	Up to two eel pots
	$10.00

	3.  SALTWATER RECREATIONAL FISHING LICENSE. 

	Individual License
	$7.50

	Temporary 10-Day License
	$5.00

	Recreational boat
	$30.00

	Head Boat/Charter Boat, six or less passengers
	$150.00

	Head Boat/Charter Boat, more than six passengers plus $4.00 per person over six
	$150.00

	Rental Boat, per boat, with maximum fee of 
$500
	$7.50

	Commercial Fishing Pier (Optional)
	$450.00

	Disabled Resident Lifetime Saltwater License
	$5.00

	Reissuance of Saltwater Recreational Boat License
	$5.00

	Combined Sportfishing License to fish in all inland waters and tidal waters of the Commonwealth during open season

	Residents
	$19.50

	Nonresidents
	$37.50

	Combined Sportfishing Trip License to fish in all inland waters and tidal waters of the Commonwealth during open season, for five consecutive days:

	Residents
	$10.50

	Nonresidents
	$15.50

	Individual Lifetime License
	$250.00

	Individual Lifetime License age 45 – 50
	$120.00

	Individual Lifetime License age 51 – 55
	$90.00

	Individual Lifetime License age 56 – 60
	$60.00

	Individual Lifetime License age 61 – 64
	$30.00


4 VAC 20-1090-30. License fees for calendar year 2006.
The following listing of license fees applies to any person who purchases a license for the purposes of harvesting for commercial purposes, or fishing for recreational purposes, during any calendar year 2006. License sales for calendar year 2006 commence December 1, 2005:

	1. COMMERCIAL LICENSES.

	Commercial Fisherman Registration License
	$190.00

	Commercial Fisherman Registration License for a person 70 years or older
	$90.00

	Delayed Entry Registration.  
	$190.00

	Delayed Entry Registration License for a person 70 years or older 
	$90.00

	Seafood Landing License for each boat or vessel
	$175.00

	For each Commercial Fishing Pier over or upon subaqueous beds (mandatory)
	$83.00

	Seafood Buyer’s License – For each boat or motor vehicle
	$63.00

	Seafood Buyer’s License – For each place of business
	$126.00

	Nonresident Harvester's License
	$444.00

	Oyster Harvesting and Shucking Licenses

	For each person taking oysters by hand, or with ordinary tongs
	$10.00

	For each single-rigged patent tong boat taking oysters
	$35.00

	For each double-rigged patent tong boat taking oysters
	$70.00

	Oyster Dredge Public Ground
	$50.00

	Oyster Hand Scrape
	$50.00

	To shuck and pack oysters, for any number of gallons under 1000
	$12.00

	To shuck and pack oysters, for 1000 gallons, up to 10,000
	$33.00

	To shuck and pack oysters, for 10,000 gallons, up to 25,000
	$74.00

	To shuck and pack oysters, for 25,000 gallons, up to 50,000
	$124.00

	To shuck and pack oysters, for 50,000 gallons, up to 100,000
	$207.00

	To shuck and pack oysters, for 100,000 gallons, up to 200,000
	$290.00

	To shuck and pack oysters, for 200,000 gallons or over
	$456.00

	Blue Crab Harvesting and Shedding Licenses

	For each person taking or catching crabs by dip nets
	$13.00

	For ordinary trotlines 
	$13.00

	For patent trotlines
	$51.00

	For each boat used for taking or catching hard crabs with dredges
	$96.00

	For each single-rigged crab-scrape boat
	$26.00

	For each double-rigged crab-scrape boat
	$53.00

	For up to 100 crab pots
	$48.00

	For over 100 but not more than 150 crab pots
	$79.00

	For over 150 but not more than 200 crab pots
	$79.00

	For over 200 but not more than 300 crab pots
	$79.00

	For over 300 but not more than 500 crab pots
	$127.00

	For up to 300 peeler pots
	$36.00

	For up to 20 tanks and floats for shedding crabs
	$9.00

	For more than 20 tanks or floats for shedding crabs
	$19.00

	For each crab trap or crab pound
	$8.00

	Horseshoe Crab and Lobster Licenses

	For each person harvesting horseshoe crabs by hand   
	$16.00

	For each boat engaged in fishing for, or landing of, lobster using less than 200 pots 
	$41.00

	For each boat engaged in fishing for, or landing of, lobster using 200 pots or more 
	$166.00

	Clam Harvesting Licenses

	For each person taking or harvesting clams by hand, rake or with ordinary tongs
	$24.00

	For each single-rigged patent tong boat taking clams
	$58.00

	For each double-rigged patent tong boat taking clams
	$84.00

	For each boat using clam dredge (hand)
	$19.00

	For each boat using clam dredge (power)
	$44.00

	For each boat using hydraulic dredge to catch soft shell clams
	$83.00

	For each person taking surf clams
	$124.00

	Conch (Whelk) Harvesting Licenses
	

	For each boat using a conch dredge
	$58.00

	For each person taking channeled whelk by conch pot
	$51.00

	Finfish Harvesting Licenses

	Each pound net
	$41.00

	Each stake gill net of 1,200 feet in length or under, with a fixed location
	$24.00

	All other gill nets up to 600 feet
	$16.00

	All other gill nets over 600 feet and up to 1200 feet 
	$24.00

	Each person using a cast net or throw net or similar device
	$13.00

	Each fyke net head, weir, or similar device
	$13.00

	For fish trotlines
	$19.00

	Each person using or operating a fish dip net
	$9.00

	On each haul seine used for catching fish, under 500 yards in length
	$48.00

	On each haul seine used for catching fish, from 500 yards in length to 1000 yards in length
	$146.00

	For each person using commercial hook and line
	$31.00

	For each person using commercial hook and line for catching striped bass only
	$31.00

	On each boat or vessel under 70 gross tons fishing with purse net, per gross ton, but not more than $249
	$4.00

	On each boat or vessel over 70 gross tons fishing with purse net, per gross ton.  Provided the maximum license fee for such vessels shall not be more than $996
	$8.00

	For up to 100 fish pots or eel pots
	$19.00

	For over 100 but not more than 300 fish pots or eel pots
	$24.00

	For over 300 fish pots or eel pots
	$62.00

	2.  COMMERCIAL GEAR FOR RECREATIONAL USE.

	Up to five Crab pots
	$36.00

	Crab trotline (300 feet maximum
	$10.00

	One crab trap or crab pound
	$6.00

	One gill net up to 300 feet in length
	$9.00

	Fish dip net
	$7.00

	Fish cast net
	$10.00

	Up to two eel pots
	$10.00

	3.  SALTWATER RECREATIONAL FISHING LICENSE.

	Individual License
	$12.50

	Temporary 10-Day License
	$5.00

	Recreational boat
	$38.00

	Head Boat/Charter Boat, six or less passengers
	$190.00

	Head Boat/Charter Boat, more than six passengers plus $5.00 per person over six
	$190.00

	Rental Boat, per boat, with maximum fee of 
$635
	$9.00

	Commercial Fishing Pier (Optional)
	$571.00

	Disabled Resident Lifetime Saltwater License
	$5.00

	Reissuance of Saltwater Recreational Boat License
	$5.00

	Combined Sportfishing License to fish in all inland waters and tidal waters of the Commonwealth during open season

	Residents
	$24.50

	Nonresidents
	$42.50

	Combined Sportfishing Trip License to fish in all inland waters and tidal waters of the Commonwealth during open season, for five consecutive days

	Residents
	$10.50

	Nonresidents
	$15.50

	Individual Lifetime License
	$250.00

	Individual Lifetime License age 45 – 50
	$120.00

	Individual Lifetime License age 51 – 55
	$90.00

	Individual Lifetime License age 56 – 60
	$60.00

	Individual Lifetime License age 61 – 64
	$30.00
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