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TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD

Fast-Track Regulation

Title of Regulation:  3 VAC 5-60. Manufacturers and Wholesalers Operations (amending 3 VAC 5-60-20, 3 VAC 5-60-40 and 3 VAC 5-60-80; adding 3 VAC 5-60-100).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia.
Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on May 4, 2007.

(See Calendar of Events section

for additional information)

Effective Date:  May 19, 2007.
Agency Contact:  W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, or email curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov.

Basis:  Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia gives the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board general authority to regulate the manufacture, distribution and sale of alcoholic beverages within the Commonwealth, including the authority to promulgate regulations that it deems necessary to carry out the provisions of Title 4.1 in accordance with the Administrative Process Act. The code mandates that the board promulgate regulations, but details are left to the board’s discretion.

Subdivision 13 of § 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board to promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) and § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia.

Section 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board to promulgate reasonable regulations, not inconsistent with Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia or the general laws of the Commonwealth, which it deems necessary to carry out the provisions of Title 4.1 and to prevent the illegal manufacture, bottling, sale, distribution and transportation of alcoholic beverages. 

Purpose:  This action is intended to revise the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board’s regulations governing manufacturers’ and wholesalers’ operations to simplify sales report filing requirements, increase the amount of the indemnifying bond required of wholesale wine licensees from $1,000 to $2,500, revise rules for giving away novelty and specialty items bearing spirits advertising, and provide a process for industry members to seek permission to employ persons with certain criminal convictions. 

The goals of this regulation are:

1. To maintain reasonable controls on the sales and promotion of alcoholic beverages in the Commonwealth by wholesalers and manufacturers through a permit procedure for solicitor salesmen and mixed beverage solicitors; and

2. To require manufacturer and wholesale licensees of the board to maintain sufficient records of purchases and sales of alcoholic beverages to ensure regulatory compliance and excise tax collection without unreasonable burden.

These amendments protect the health, safety, or welfare of citizens by providing greater protection to wine tax revenues and by maintaining reasonable restrictions on alcoholic beverage promotion, while allowing industry members additional ability to market their products.

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process:  The proposed changes simplify reporting for wine wholesalers.  The bond increase has a minimal impact.  The remaining provisions are mandated by recent statutory amendments.

Substance:  Subdivisions B 1, B 2, and B 3 of 3 VAC 5-60-20 are amended to allow wholesale wine licensees to submit reports in lieu of actual copies of purchase orders and invoices. 3 VAC 5-60-40 is amended to increase the penalty of the indemnifying bond required of wine wholesalers from the current $1,000 to $2,500.  3 VAC 5-60-80 D 1 is amended to track language included in a bill recently enacted on the quantity of novelty and specialty items that may be given by a mixed beverage solicitor to a retailer and to allow their display on the licensed premises.  3 VAC 5-60-100 is added to provide a process for manufacturers, wholesalers, or importers to seek permission to employ persons with criminal convictions.

Issues:  This proposal has advantages for wine wholesalers, who will be able to file reports in lieu of submission of actual copies of purchase orders and invoices.  Wholesalers can process hundreds of purchases and sales each week, and compiling and submitting copies of each paper representing the transactions is labor-intensive.  The information contained on the documents is captured by most wholesaler’s accounting systems, so preparing and filing a report is less of a burden.  The primary disadvantage is the increased cost of a higher bond for wine wholesalers, although the amount of the bond is so low that it will be within the range of the minimum premium for a number of bonding companies, resulting in no additional cost for the wholesaler.

The primary advantage to the Commonwealth is added security in its tax collections through the increased bond requirement for wholesalers who collect and remit the wine liter tax.

The action poses no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Regulation.  The Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (ABC) proposes to make several amendments to its manufacturers and wholesalers operations regulation.  ABC proposes to:

· Specify a process by which board licensees may request approval for hiring individuals with criminal records.

· Allow wine wholesalers to fill out a weekly report (in board-approved format) of all wine purchased during the previous week in lieu of submitting copies of all purchase orders.

· Allow wine wholesalers to fill out a weekly report (in board-approved format) of all non-taxed or out-of-state wine sales during the previous week in lieu of submitting copies of all invoices.

· Increase bond penalties from $1,000 to $2,500 in cases where wine wholesalers have failed to remit wine taxes owed to the Commonwealth.

· Allow retail establishments to display t-shirts and other novelty or specialty items that advertise alcoholic beverages.

Result of Analysis.  The benefits likely exceed the costs for these proposed regulatory changes.
Estimated Economic Impact.  Currently the Code of Virginia allows ABC to suspend the license of any licensee who knowingly hires any individual convicted of a felony, a misdemeanor that involves moral turpitude or a misdemeanor violation of any alcohol control law.  ABC does have internal guidelines for when such a suspension is appropriate but licensees have not had a means to determine whether any individual hire of someone with a criminal background had the potential to get their license suspended. This proposed regulation includes a provision that will allow licensees to apply for approval by the board before hiring an individual with a criminal conviction when that conviction might be grounds for license suspension. This regulatory change will give the same procedural rights to licensees and potential employees as are afforded licensees when they are charged with violations of the Beer and Wine Franchise Acts. This means that licensees and potential employees will have the right to be represented by council and may call witnesses and present evidence.

This regulatory change will benefit licensee employers in that they will no longer have to choose between not hiring the employees they would prefer to hire and hiring those employees knowing that their license might be at risk. These employers may also see employment costs decrease by a small amount if this change widens the pool of individuals from which they may hire. Individuals who have criminal histories and want to work for businesses licensed by ABC will benefit because they likely stand a greater chance of being hired after promulgation of procedures that will protect licensee employers from possible repercussions of their hiring decisions.  ABC will likely incur extra costs associated with the application and approval process being promulgated.

Current regulation requires that wine wholesalers submit copies to ABC of all purchase orders and invoices for non-taxed and out-of-state sales.  The board proposes to allow wine wholesalers the option of sending in weekly reports that list all purchases (and non-taxed or out-of-state sales) from the previous week. This option will benefit wine wholesalers in that they will be able to submit required information in the manner that is individually most cost effective. 

Currently, all new wine wholesalers must secure a $1,000 indemnifying bond from a surety company that is authorized to do business in the Commonwealth before they can be licensed by ABC. This bond will be forfeited if the wine wholesaler fails to remit wine taxes that are owed to the Commonwealth. Wine wholesalers who have been licensed may submit a written request to ABC asking that this bond be waived. So long as the requesting entities have a record of paying their taxes in a timely fashion, ABC will not require that they continue to pay to be bonded.  The board proposes to increase the value of the indemnifying bond that must be secured to $2,500 because $1,000 will not, in most cases, cover the taxes owed by delinquent wine wholesalers. ABC reports that this increase in bond will increase wine wholesaler costs by only a very small amount because the price differential between a $1,000 bond and a $2,500 bond is negligible.

Current regulation restricts retail establishments from on-premises display of advertising novelty or specialty items (t-shirts, mugs, etc) given to them by spirits wholesalers. The board proposes to eliminate this restriction because they believe display of such items does not endanger the public.

Businesses and Entities Affected.  These proposed regulatory changes will generally affect all of the approximately 14,000 establishments that are licensed by ABC and will particularly affect the portion of that 14,000 that are wine wholesalers.

Localities Particularly Affected.  These proposed regulatory changes will affect all localities in the Commonwealth.

Projected Impact on Employment.  These proposed regulatory changes may affect who is employed for various jobs at licensed establishments; for instance, more individuals with criminal histories may be hired by licensees. There will likely be no measurable change in total employment in the Commonwealth, however, on account of this proposed regulation.

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  These proposed regulatory changes will likely have no measurable effect on the use or value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  ABC estimates that at least 95% of their approximately 14,000 licensees are small businesses. The portion of this population that consists of wine wholesalers will experience a negligible increase in costs on account of increased bond requirements.

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact.  There are likely no alternative methods that would accomplish the same ends as the proposed regulation for less cost to the regulated community. 

Legal Mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 (02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts.
Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Alcoholic Beverage Control Board concurs with the economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget.

Summary:

The proposed amendments (i) allow reports of purchases and sales by wine wholesalers in lieu of the submission of actual copies of certain purchase orders and invoices currently required to be submitted to the board; (ii) increase the penalty of the indemnifying bond required of wine wholesalers from $1,000 to $2,500; (iii) modify language to conform to a statute enacted by the 2006 Session of the General Assembly; (iv) allow the display on licensed retail premises of advertising specialty items provided by solicitors for distilled spirits manufacturers; and (v) provide a process for manufacturers, wholesalers, or importers to seek approval from the board for the employment of persons with certain criminal convictions.

3 VAC 5-60-20. Wines; purchase orders generally; wholesale wine licensees.

A. Purchases of wine between the board, licensees or persons outside the Commonwealth shall be executed only on order forms prescribed by the board and provided at cost if supplied by the department. 

B. Wholesale wine licensees shall comply with the following procedures: 

1. Purchase orders. A copy of each purchase order for wine and a copy of any change in such order shall be forwarded to the board by the wholesale wine licensee at the time the order is placed or changed. Upon receipt of shipment, one copy of such purchase order shall be forwarded to the board by the licensee reflecting accurately the date received and any changes.  In lieu of forwarding copies of purchase orders to the board, a wholesale licensee may submit a report to the board weekly, in a format approved by the board, of all purchase orders for the previous week.  The report covering the last week of any calendar month must be submitted to the board on or before the 5th day of the succeeding month.
2. Sales in the Commonwealth. Separate invoices shall be used for all nontaxed wine sales in the Commonwealth and a copy of each such invoice shall be furnished to the board upon completion of the sale.  In lieu of forwarding copies of invoices to the board, a wholesale licensee may submit a report to the board weekly, in a format approved by the board, of all invoices for the previous week.  The report covering the last week of any calendar month must be submitted to the board on or before the 5th day of the succeeding month.
3. Out-of-state sales. Separate sales invoices shall be used for wine sold outside the Commonwealth and a copy of each such invoice shall be furnished to the board upon completion of the sale.  In lieu of forwarding copies of invoices to the board, a wholesale licensee may submit a report to the board weekly, in a format approved by the board, of all invoices for the previous week.  The report covering the last week of any calendar month must be submitted to the board on or before the 5th day of the succeeding month.
4. Peddling. Wine shall not be peddled to retail licensees. 

5. Repossession. Repossession of wine sold to a retailer shall be accomplished on forms prescribed by the board and provided at cost if supplied by the board, and in compliance with the instructions on the forms. 

6. Reports to the board. Each month wholesale wine licensees shall, on forms prescribed by the board and in accordance with the instructions set forth therein, report to the board the purchases and sales made during the preceding month, and the amount of state wine tax collected from retailers pursuant to §§ 4.1-234 and 4.1-235 of the Code of Virginia. Each wholesale wine licensee shall on forms prescribed by the board on a quarterly basis indicate the quantity of wine on hand at the close of business on the last day of the last month of the preceding quarter based on actual physical inventory by brands. Reports shall be accompanied by remittance for the amount of taxes collected, less any refunds, replacements or adjustments and shall be postmarked no later than the fifteenth of the month, or if the fifteenth is not a business day, the next business day thereafter.

3 VAC 5-60-40. Indemnifying bond required of wholesale wine licenses.

No wholesale wine license shall be issued unless there shall be on file with the board an indemnifying bond running to the Commonwealth in the penalty of $1,000 $2,500, with the licensee as principal and some good and responsible surety company authorized to transact business in the Commonwealth as surety, conditioned upon the faithful compliance with requirements of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia and the regulations of the board. 

A wholesale wine licensee may request in writing a waiver of the surety and the bond by the board. If the waiver is granted, the board may withdraw such waiver of surety and bond at any time for good cause. 

3 VAC 5-60-80. Solicitation of mixed beverage licensees by representatives of manufacturers, etc., of spirits. 

A. Generally. This section applies to the solicitation, directly or indirectly, of a mixed beverage licensee to sell or offer for sale spirits. Solicitation of a mixed beverage licensee for such purpose other than by a permittee of the board and in the manner authorized by this section shall be prohibited. 

B. Permits. 

1. No person shall solicit a mixed beverage licensee unless he has been issued a permit. To obtain a permit, a person shall: 

a. Register with the board by filing an application on such forms as prescribed by the board; 

b. Pay in advance a fee of $300, which is subject to proration on a quarterly basis, pursuant to § 4.1-230 E of the Code of Virginia; 

c. Submit with the application a letter of authorization from the manufacturer, brand owner or its duly designated United States agent, of each specific brand or brands of spirits which the permittee is authorized to represent on behalf of the manufacturer or brand owner in the Commonwealth; and 

d. Be an individual at least 21 years of age. 

2. Each permit shall expire yearly on June 30, unless sooner suspended or revoked by the board. 

3. A permit hereunder shall authorize the permittee to solicit or promote only the brand or brands of spirits for which the permittee has been issued written authorization to represent on behalf of the manufacturer, brand owner, or its duly designated United States agent and provided that a letter of authorization from the manufacturer or brand owner to the permittee specifying the brand or brands he is authorized to represent shall be on file with the board. Until written authorization or a letter of authorization, in a form authorized by the board, is received and filed with the board for a particular brand or brands of spirits, there shall be no solicitation or promotion of such product by the permittee. Further, no amendment, withdrawal or revocation, in whole or in part, of a letter of authorization on file with the board shall be effective as against the board until written notice thereof is received and filed with the board; and, until the board receives notice thereof, the permittee shall be deemed to be the authorized representative of the manufacturer or brand owner for the brand or brands specified on the most current authorization on file with the board. 

C. Records. A permittee shall keep complete and accurate records of his solicitation of any mixed beverage licensee for a period of two years, reflecting all expenses incurred by him in connection with the solicitation of the sale of his employer's products and shall, upon request, furnish the board with a copy of such records. 

D. Permitted activities. Solicitation by a permittee shall be limited to his authorized brand or brands, may include contact, meetings with, or programs for the benefit of mixed beverage licensees and employees thereof on the licensed premises, and in conjunction with solicitation, a permittee may: 

1. Distribute directly or indirectly written educational material (one item per retailer and one item per employee, per visit) which may not be displayed on the licensed premises; distribute novelty and specialty items bearing spirits advertising not in excess of $10 in wholesale value (one item per retailer and one item per employee, per visit in quantities equal to the number of employees of the retail establishment present at the time the items are delivered) which may not be displayed on the licensed premises; and provide film or video presentations of spirits which are essentially educational to licensees and their employees only, and not for display or viewing by customers; 

2. Provide to a mixed beverage licensee sample servings from containers of spirits and furnish one, unopened, 50 milliliter sample container of each brand being promoted by the permittee and not sold by the licensee; such containers and sample containers shall be purchased at a government store and bear the permittee's permit number and the word "sample" in reasonable sized lettering on the container or sample container label; further, the spirits container shall remain the property of the permittee and may not be left with the licensee and any 50 milliliter sample containers left with the licensee shall not be sold by the licensee; 

3. Promote their authorized brands of spirits at conventions, trade association meetings, or similar gatherings of organizations, a majority of whose membership consists of mixed beverage licensees or spirits representatives for the benefit of their members and guests, and shall be limited as follows: 

a. To sample servings from containers of spirits purchased from government stores when the spirits donated are intended for consumption during the gathering; 

b. To displays of spirits in closed containers bearing the word "sample" in lettering of reasonable size and informational signs provided such merchandise is not sold or given away except as permitted in this section; 

c. To distribution of informational brochures, pamphlets and the like, relating to spirits; 

d. To distribution of novelty and specialty items bearing spirits advertising not in excess of $10 in wholesale value; and 

e. To film or video presentations of spirits which are essentially educational; 

4. Provide or offer to provide point-of-sale advertising material to licensees as provided in 3 VAC 5-20-20. 

E. Prohibited activities. A permittee shall not: 

1. Sell spirits to any licensee, solicit or receive orders for spirits from any licensee, provide or offer to provide cash discounts or cash rebates to any licensee, or to negotiate any contract or contract terms for the sale of spirits with a licensee; 

2. Discount or offer to discount any merchandise or other alcoholic beverages as an inducement to sell or offer to sell spirits to licensees; 

3. Provide or offer to provide gifts, entertainment or other forms of gratuity to licensees except that a permittee may provide a licensee "routine business entertainment," as defined in 3 VAC 5-30-70, subject to the same conditions and limitations that apply to wholesalers and manufacturers under that section; 

4. Provide or offer to provide any equipment, furniture, fixtures, property or other thing of value to licensees except as permitted by this regulation; 

5. Purchase or deliver spirits or other alcoholic beverages for or to licensees or provide any services as inducements to licensees, except that this provision shall not preclude the sale or delivery of wine or beer by a licensed wholesaler; 

6. Be employed directly or indirectly in the manufacturing, bottling, importing or wholesaling of spirits and simultaneously be employed by a retail licensee; 

7. Solicit licensees on any premises other than on their licensed premises or at conventions, trade association meetings or similar gatherings as permitted in subdivision D 3 of this section;

8. Solicit or promote any brand or brands of spirits without having on file with the board a letter from the manufacturer or brand owner authorizing the permittee to represent such brand or brands in the Commonwealth; or 

9. Engage in solicitation of spirits other than as authorized by law. 

F. Refusal, suspension or revocation of permits. 

1. The board may refuse, suspend or revoke a permit if it shall have reasonable cause to believe that any cause exists which would justify the board in refusing to issue such person a license, or that such person has violated any provision of this section or committed any other act that would justify the board in suspending or revoking a license. 

2. Before refusing, suspending or revoking such permit, the board shall follow the same administrative procedures accorded an applicant or licensee under Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia and regulations of the board. 

3 VAC 5-60-100. Employees of manufacturers and wholesalers.

If a person licensed as a manufacturer, importer, or wholesaler of alcoholic beverages wishes to employ a person who has committed an act that would justify the board in suspending or revoking a license under subdivision 1 i of § 4.1-225 of the Code of Virginia, the licensee may apply to the board for approval of such employment.  The board will cause the Bureau of Law Enforcement Operations to conduct an investigation into the suitability of the person for employment and recommend approval or disapproval.  Before disapproving the employment of a person, the board shall accord him the same notice and opportunity to be heard and follow the same administrative procedures accorded a licensee cited for a violation of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia.
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