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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission of Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
If an agency demonstrates that (i) there is an immediate threat to the 
public’s health or safety; or (ii) Virginia statutory law, the appropriation 
act, federal law, or federal regulation requires a regulation to take effect 
no later than (a) 280 days from the enactment in the case of Virginia or 
federal law or the appropriation act, or (b) 280 days from the effective 
date of a federal regulation, it then requests the Governor’s approval to 
adopt an emergency regulation. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to 
addressing specifically defined situations and may not exceed 12 months 
in duration. Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in 
the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; S. Bernard 
Goodwyn. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

June 2007 through May 2008 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

INDEX 3 Volume 23  July 2007 

23:21 June 6, 2007 June 25, 2007 

23:22 June 20, 2007 July 9, 2007 

23:23 July 2, 2007 (Monday) July 23, 2007 

23:24 July 18, 2007 August 6, 2007 

23:25 August 1, 2007 August 20, 2007 

23:26 August 15, 2007 September 3, 2007 

FINAL INDEX - Volume 23  October 2007 

24:1 August 29, 2007 September 17, 2007 

24:2 September 12, 2007 October 1, 2007 

24:3 September 26, 2007 October 15, 2007 

24:4 October 10, 2007 October 29, 2007 

24:5 October 24, 2007 November 12, 2007 

24:6 November 7, 2007 November 26, 2007 

24:7 November 20, 2007 (Tuesday) December 10, 2007 

INDEX 1 Volume 24  January 2008 

24:8 December 5, 2007 December 24, 2007 

24:9 December 19, 2007 January 7, 2008 

24:10 January 2, 2008 January 21, 2008 

24:11 January 16, 2008 February 4, 2008 

24:12 January 30, 2008 February 18, 2008 

24:13 February 13, 2008 March 3, 2008 

24:14 February 27, 2008 March 17, 2008 

INDEX 2 Volume 24  April 2008 

24:15 March 12, 2008 March 31, 2008 

24:16 March 26, 2008 April 14, 2008 

24:17 April 9, 2008 April 28, 2008 

24:18 April 23, 2008 May 12, 2008 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, 
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the 
Fall 2006 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 22, Issue 22, dated July 
10, 2006). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation “emer,” and errata pertaining to final 
regulations are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows 
action taken, the volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section. 

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 2. Agriculture 
2 VAC 5-195 (Form) Added 23:15 VA.R. 2512 -- 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3122 7/12/07 
2 VAC 5-490-10 through 2 VAC 5-490-90 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3123-3155 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-15 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3130 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-25 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3131 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-31 through 2 VAC 5-490-39.6 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3132-3140 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-73 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3154 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-75 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3155 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-103 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3155 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-105 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3156 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3156 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3157 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-130 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3157 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-131 through 2 VAC 5-490-138 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3157-3162 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-140 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3162 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-620-10 through 2 VAC 5-620-100 Added 23:19 VA.R. 2981-2985 7/1/07 
Title 3. Alcoholic Beverages 
3 VAC 5-10-40 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-50 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-60 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-130 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-150 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-230 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2118 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-360 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2118 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-400 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2118 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-480 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2129 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-40-20 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2133 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-40-50 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2134 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-60-20 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2137 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-60-40 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2138 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-60-80 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2138 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-60-100 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2139 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-70-100 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2142 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-70-150 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2143 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-70-160 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2143 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-70-230 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2143 5/19/07 
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources 
4 VAC 20-70-100 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1958 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-200-10 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1659 2/1/07 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 20-200-20 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1659 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-200-30 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1659 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-200-40 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1660 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-200-50 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1660 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-270-30 emer Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2276 3/1/07-3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-270-30 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2737 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-270-40 emer Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2276 3/1/07-3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-270-40 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2737 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-300-20 emer Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2277 3/1/07-3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-300-20 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2738 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-310-55 Added 23:15 VA.R. 2481 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-370-10 through 4 VAC 20-370-30 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2986 5/1/07 
4 VAC 20-430-20 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2738 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-430-45 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2738 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-450-30 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2739 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-490-42 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1540 12/21/06 
4 VAC 20-490-42 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2986 5/1/07 
4 VAC 20-510-10 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1958 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-510-20 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1958 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-510-33 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-510-35 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-510-37 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-10 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-20 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-31 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1960 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-31 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2144 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-31 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2482 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-32 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1960 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-32 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2145 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-32 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2482 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-30 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1660 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-60 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1662 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-620-50 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2483 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-620-60 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2483 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-620-70 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2483 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-670-15 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2739 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-670-30 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2739 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-10 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2987 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-20 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2987 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-40 emer Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1540 1/1/07-1/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-50 emer Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1541 1/1/07-1/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-60 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2988 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-70 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2989 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-90 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2989 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-105 emer Added 23:19 VA.R. 2989 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-110 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2990 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-752-20 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2990 5/3/07 
4 VAC 20-752-30 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2991 5/3/07 
4 VAC 20-890-20 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2991 7/1/07 
4 VAC 20-890-35 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2991 7/1/07 
4 VAC 20-890-40 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2991 7/1/07 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 20-890-45 Added 23:19 VA.R. 2992 7/1/07 
4 VAC 20-900-25 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2992 7/1/07 
4 VAC 20-900-35 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2993 7/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-40 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1961 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-40 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2484 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-47 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1961 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-47 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2484 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-47 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2740 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-950-48.2 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1961 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-48.2 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2484 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-48 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2740 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1663 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1110-10 through 4 VAC 20-1110-50 Added 23:19 VA.R. 2994 5/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1120-10 through 4 VAC 20-1120-50 Added 23:19 VA.R. 2994-2995 5/1/07 
4 VAC 25-20-420 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2146 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130 (Forms) Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3370-3372 -- 
4 VAC 25-130-700.12 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2146 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-773.21 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2147 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-775.11 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2147 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-775.13 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2148 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-784.20 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2148 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-785.25 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2592 5/16/07 
4 VAC 25-130-800.51 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2149 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-816.105 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2150 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-816.116 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2592 5/16/07 
4 VAC 25-130-817.11 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2150 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-817.64 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2151 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-817.116 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2594 5/16/07 
4 VAC 25-130-817.121 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2151 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-842.15 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2153 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-843.12 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2153 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-843.13 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2154 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-843.15 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2155 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-843.16 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2156 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-845.13 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2156 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-845.15 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2158 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-845.18 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2158 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-845.19 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2159 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-846.14 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2159 4/4/07 
Title 8. Education 
8 VAC 20-350-10 through 8 VAC 20-350-660 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 1962 5/8/07 
8 VAC 20-700-10 through 8 VAC 20-700-50 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1541-1543 2/21/07 
8 VAC 20-710-10 through 8 VAC 20-710-30 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1543-1544 2/21/07 
Title 9. Environment 
9 VAC 5-50-400 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2742 6/1/07 
9 VAC 5-50-410 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2742 6/1/07 
9 VAC 5-60-60 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2747 6/1/07 
9 VAC 5-60-90 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2748 6/1/07 
9 VAC 5-60-100 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2748 6/1/07 
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9 VAC 5-140-1010 through 9 VAC 5-140-1060 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2279-2291 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1061 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2291 * 
9 VAC 5-140-1062 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2291 * 
9 VAC 5-140-1070 through 9 VAC 5-140-1150 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2292-2295 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1200 through 9 VAC 5-140-1240 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2295-2296 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1400 through 9 VAC 5-140-1430 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2296-2302 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1500 through 9 VAC 5-140-1570 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2302-2306 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1600 through 9 VAC 5-140-1620 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2307 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1700 through 9 VAC 5-140-1750 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2307-2312 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1800 through 9 VAC 5-140-1880 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2312-2317 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2060 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2329 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2061 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2331 * 
9 VAC 5-140-2062 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2332 * 
9 VAC 5-140-2070 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2333 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2080 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2333 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2100 through 9 VAC 5-140-2150 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2333-2336 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2200 through 9 VAC 5-140-2240 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2336-2337 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2400 through 9 VAC 5-140-2430 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2337-2342 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2500 through 9 VAC 5-140-2570 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2342-2347 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2600 through 9 VAC 5-140-2620 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2347 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2700 through 9 VAC 5-140-2750 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2347-2353 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2800 through 9 VAC 5-140-2880 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2353-2359 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3010 through 9 VAC 5-140-3060 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2359-2368 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3061 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2370 * 
9 VAC 5-140-3062 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2371 * 
9 VAC 5-140-3070 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2371 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3080 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2371 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3100 through 9 VAC 5-140-3150 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2371-2374 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3200 through 9 VAC 5-140-3240 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2374-2375 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3400 through 9 VAC 5-140-3420 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2375 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3500 through 9 VAC 5-140-3570 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2375-2380 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3600 through 9 VAC 5-140-3620 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2380-2381 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3700 through 9 VAC 5-140-3750 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2381-2386 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3800 through 9 VAC 5-140-3880 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2386-2391 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-5010 through 9 VAC 5-140-5750 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2160-2186 4/4/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1020 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-1061 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-1062 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-1130 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-1420 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-1700 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-1740 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-2020 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-2030 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-2040 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-2060 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-2062 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-2740 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 

                                                           
* Effective Date Suspended 23:19 
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9 VAC 5-140-3062 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-3840 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5020 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5060 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5100 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5150 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5420 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5510 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5540 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5560 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5600 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-151-10 through 9 VAC 5-151-70 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2755-2764 5/31/07 
9 VAC 5-240-10 through 9 VAC 5-240-50 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2595-2596 5/16/07 
9 VAC 20-110-90 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1665 3/21/07 
9 VAC 20-110-110 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1665 3/21/07 
9 VAC 20-200-10 through 9 VAC 20-200-70 Added 23:11 VA.R. 1666-1667 3/21/07 
9 VAC 25-71-20 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2485 5/2/07 
9 VAC 25-71-50 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2485 5/2/07 
9 VAC 25-71-70 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2485 5/2/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1669 3/21/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2486 5/2/07 
9 VAC 25-720-60 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1966 5/21/07 
9 VAC 25-720-80 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1670 3/21/07 
9 VAC 25-720-90 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1671 3/21/07 
9 VAC 25-720-100 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1671 3/21/07 
9 VAC 25-720-130 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2487 5/2/07 
Title 10. Finance and Financial Institutions 
10 VAC 5-40-50 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2882 5/1/07 
10 VAC 5-160-40 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2187 2/10/07 
Title 11. Gaming 
11 VAC 10-20-310 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2883 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-20-330 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2884 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-20-340 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2891 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-100-30 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2892 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-110-30 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2893 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-110-90 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2893 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-120-80 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2894 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-130-10 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1672 1/10/07 
11 VAC 10-130-10 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2894 4/30/07 
11 VAC 10-130-60 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1673 1/10/07 
11 VAC 10-140-12 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2896 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-140-15 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2896 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-140-210 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2896 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-150-12 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2897 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-150-15 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2897 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3164 5/18/07 
11 VAC 10-180-20 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3164 5/18/07 
11 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3166 5/18/07 
11 VAC 10-180-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3167 5/18/07 
Title 12. Health 
12 VAC 5-70-10 through 12 VAC 5-70-50 Repealed 23:13 VA.R. 2187 4/4/07 
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12 VAC 5-71-10 through 12 VAC 5-71-190 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2188-2195 4/4/07 
12 VAC 5-90 (Forms) Erratum 23:15 VA.R. 2507-2509 -- 
12 VAC 5-90-10 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2488 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-40 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2493 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-80 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2493 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-90 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2497 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-100 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2500 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-103 Added 23:15 VA.R. 2500 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-107 Added 23:15 VA.R. 2502 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-110 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2503 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-130 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2504 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-225 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2504 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-250 through 12 VAC 5-90-280 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2505-2506 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-330 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2506 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-350 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2507 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-360 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2507 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-371-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1544 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-20 Repealed 23:10 VA.R. 1546 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-30 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1547 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-40 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1547 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-50 Repealed 23:10 VA.R. 1548 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-60 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1548 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-70 through 12 VAC 5-371-130 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1548-1551 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-150 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1551 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-160 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1551 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-190 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1551 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-200 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1552 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-400 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1552 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-410 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1552 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1554 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-30 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-70 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-80 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-100 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-110 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-130 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-140 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-150 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1556 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-180 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1556 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-210 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1556 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-220 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1557 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-270 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1558 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-442 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1558 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-445 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1559 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-650 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1560 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-720 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1560 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-760 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1560 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-1150 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1560 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-1170 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1561 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-1350 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1561 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-1380 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1561 3/1/07 
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12 VAC 30-10-140 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2653 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-10-560 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2396 9/1/07 
12 VAC 30-20-140 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2397 9/1/07 
12 VAC 30-30-20 emer Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3169 5/30/07-5/29/08 
12 VAC 30-30-60 Added 23:11 VA.R. 1673 3/7/07 
12 VAC 30-40-10 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1674 3/7/07 
12 VAC 30-40-20 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2897 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-40-105 emer Added 23:20 VA.R. 3170 5/30/07-5/29/08 
12 VAC 30-40-280 emer Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3171 5/30/07-5/29/08 
12 VAC 30-40-290 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2398 9/1/07 
12 VAC 30-40-290 emer Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3172 5/30/07-5/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-20 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2654 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-50-35 Added 23:11 VA.R. 1675 3/7/07 
12 VAC 30-50-60 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2654 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-50-75 Added 23:11 VA.R. 1676 3/7/07 
12 VAC 30-50-320 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2654 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-50-321 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2655 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-50-325 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2655 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-50-328 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2655 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-50-490 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3175 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-50-530 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1676 3/7/07 
12 VAC 30-70-311 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3003 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-70-321 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3003 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-70-331 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3225 8/25/07 
12 VAC 30-70-341 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3003 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-70-391 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3004 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-80-30 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3232 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-80-190 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3004 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-80-190 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3225 8/25/07 
12 VAC 30-80-190 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3242 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-90-31 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3005 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-90-41 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3226 8/25/07 
12 VAC 30-90-271 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3229 8/25/07 
12 VAC 30-90-290 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3230 8/25/07 
12 VAC 30-90-264 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2400 4/18/07 
12 VAC 30-110-950 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2898 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-61 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2655 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-62 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2657 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-64 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2659 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-65 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2660 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-66 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2660 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-68 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2661 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-700 through 12 VAC 30-120-750 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3177-3192 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-752 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3192 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-753 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3194 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-754 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3195 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-756 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3197 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-758 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3198 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-760 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3198 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-762 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3199 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-764 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3199 7/11/07 
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12 VAC 30-120-766 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3201 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-768 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3204 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-770 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3206 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-772 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3211 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-774 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3211 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-776 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3213 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-780 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3215 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-790 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3216 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-1600 through 12 VAC 30-120-1660 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3244-3251 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-130-900 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1967 3/21/07 
12 VAC 30-130-910 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1968 3/21/07 
12 VAC 30-130-930 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1968 3/21/07 
12 VAC 30-141-740 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3006 7/1/07 
12 VAC 35-45-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1562 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-45-25 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1565 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-45-70 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1564 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-45-80 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1564 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-45-210 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1564 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-105-20 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1567 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-105-30 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1575 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-105-115 emer Added 23:10 VA.R. 1566 1/3/07-1/2/08 
12 VAC 35-105-590 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1575 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-105-660 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1576 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-105-925 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3252 7/11/07 
Title 13. Housing 
13 VAC 5-111-10 through 13 VAC 5-111-400 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 1971 3/21/07 
13 VAC 5-112-10 through 13 VAC 5-112-560 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1971-1994 3/21/07 
Title 14. Insurance 
14 VAC 5-200-20 Repealed 23:17 VA.R. 2766 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-30 through 14 VAC 5-200-60 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2766-2770 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-70 through 14 VAC 5-200-90 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2770-2774 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-110 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2774 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-120 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2777 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-153 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2777 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-170 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2780 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-175 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2781 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-181 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2782 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-183 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2782 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-185 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2783 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-187 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2785 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-200 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2786 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-201 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2788 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-205 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2788 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-321-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1577 1/1/07 
14 VAC 5-321-20 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1577 1/1/07 
14 VAC 5-321-30 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1578 1/1/07 
14 VAC 5-321-70 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1578 1/1/07 
14 VAC 5-322-10 through 14 VAC 5-322-50 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1579-1581 1/1/07 
Title 16. Labor and Employment 
16 VAC 25-55-10 and 16 VAC 25-55-20 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1995-1996 3/22/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.134 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
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16 VAC 25-90-1910.1000 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1996 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1001 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1017 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1018 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1025 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1027 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1028 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1029 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1043 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1044 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1045 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1047 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1048 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1050 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1052 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.5 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1998 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.505 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1998 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.507 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1998 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.1000 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1996 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.1001 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.55 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1996 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.60 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.62 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1002, Appendix A of Subpart W Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1999 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1101 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1127 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-190-1928.52 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1999 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-190-1928.53, Appendix B to Subpart C Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1999 3/21/07 
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing 
18 VAC 5-10-10 through 18 VAC 5-10-90 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1678-1680 4/23/07 
18 VAC 15-20 (Forms) Added 23:15 VA.R. 2514 -- 
18 VAC 15-30 (Forms) Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2514 -- 
18 VAC 30-10-10 through 18 VAC 30-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3276-3277 8/25/07 
18 VAC 30-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3277 8/25/07 
18 VAC 30-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3277 8/25/07 
18 VAC 30-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3277 8/25/07 
18 VAC 41-60-10 through 18 VAC 41-60-220 Added 23:12 VA.R. 2000-2009 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-10 through 18 VAC 50-30-50 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2020-2025 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-60 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2025 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-70 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2025 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-80 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2025 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-90 through 18 VAC 50-30-150 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2026-2028 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-180 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2028 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-185 Added 23:12 VA.R. 2028 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-190 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2028 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-200 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2029 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-210 through 18 VAC 50-30-260 Added 23:12 VA.R. 2030-2031 4/1/07 
18 VAC 60-10-10 through 18 VAC 60-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3283-3284 8/25/07 
18 VAC 60-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3284 8/25/07 
18 VAC 60-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3284 8/25/07 
18 VAC 60-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3284 8/25/07 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
18 VAC 60-20-210 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3286 8/25/07 
18 VAC 60-20-180 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2510 5/2/07 
18 VAC 65-40-10 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2031 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-40 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2031 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-90 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-110 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-130 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-160 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-220 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-250 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-300 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-320 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2033 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-340 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2033 3/21/07 
18 VAC 75-10-10 through 18 VAC 75-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3288-3290 8/25/07 
18 VAC 75-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3290 8/25/07 
18 VAC 75-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3290 8/25/07 
18 VAC 75-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3290 8/25/07 
18 VAC 76-30-10 through 18 VAC 76-30-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3292-3294 8/25/07 
18 VAC 76-30-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3294 8/25/07 
18 VAC 76-30-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3294 8/25/07 
18 VAC 76-30-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3294 8/25/07 
18 VAC 85-10 through 18 VAC 85-10-70 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3296-3297 8/25/07 
18 VAC 85-10-90 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3297 8/25/07 
18 VAC 85-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3297 8/25/07 
18 VAC 85-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3298 8/25/07 
18 VAC 85-20-30 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3299 8/25/07 
18 VAC 85-20-235 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1692 4/21/07 
18 VAC 85-20-290 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2206 4/4/07 
18 VAC 85-101-50 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2511 5/2/07 
18 VAC 85-130-10 through 18 VAC 85-130-170 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1582-1586 2/21/07 
18 VAC 90-10-10 through 18 VAC 90-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3307-3309 8/25/07 
18 VAC 90-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3309 8/25/07 
18 VAC 90-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3309 8/25/07 
18 VAC 90-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3309 8/25/07 
18 VAC 90-20-60 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2033 3/21/07 
18 VAC 90-30-120 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2404 4/18/07 
18 VAC 90-30-230 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2034 3/21/07 
18 VAC 90-40-140 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2034 3/21/07 
18 VAC 90-60-10 through 18 VAC 90-60-120 Added 23:19 VA.R. 3008-3012 7/1/07 
18 VAC 90-60-120 Erratum 23:20 VA.R. 3378 -- 
18 VAC 105-10-10 through 18 VAC 105-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3315-3316 8/25/07 
18 VAC 105-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3316 8/25/07 
18 VAC 105-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3316 8/25/07 
18 VAC 105-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3316 8/25/07 
18 VAC 110-10-10 through 18 VAC 110-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3318-3320 8/25/07 
18 VAC 110-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3320 8/25/07 
18 VAC 110-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3320 8/25/07 
18 VAC 110-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3320 8/25/07 
18 VAC 110-20-285 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2791 5/30/07 
18 VAC 112-10-10 through 18 VAC 112-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3327-3329 8/25/07 
18 VAC 112-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3329 8/25/07 
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18 VAC 112-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3329 8/25/07 
18 VAC 112-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3329 8/25/07 
18 VAC 115-10-10 through 18 VAC 115-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3331-3332 8/25/07 
18 VAC 115-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3332 8/25/07 
18 VAC 115-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3333 8/25/07 
18 VAC 115-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3333 8/25/07 
18 VAC 115-20-20 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2404 4/18/07 
18 VAC 115-30-30 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2405 4/18/07 
18 VAC 115-40-20 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2405 4/18/07 
18 VAC 115-50-20 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2405 4/18/07 
18 VAC 115-60-20 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2406 4/18/07 
18 VAC 125-10-10 through 18 VAC 125-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3346-3348 8/25/07 
18 VAC 125-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3348 8/25/07 
18 VAC 125-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3348 8/25/07 
18 VAC 125-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3348 8/25/07 
18 VAC 125-20-30 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2035 3/21/07 
18 VAC 125-30-20 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2035 3/21/07 
18 VAC 140-10-10 through 18 VAC 140-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3350-3351 8/25/07 
18 VAC 140-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3351 8/25/07 
18 VAC 140-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3352 8/25/07 
18 VAC 140-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3352 8/25/07 
18 VAC 145-30-40 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3352 7/12/07 
Title 19. Public Safety 
19 VAC 30-20-80 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1587 3/1/07 
Title 21. Securities and Retail Franchising 
21 VAC 5-10 Erratum 23:18 VA.R. 2935 -- 
21 VAC 5-20 Erratum 23:18 VA.R. 2935 -- 
21 VAC 5-110 Erratum 23:18 VA.R. 2935 -- 
Title 22. Social Services 
22 VAC 15-10-40 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1587 3/1/07 
22 VAC 15-10-50 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1587 3/1/07 
22 VAC 15-30-10 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3353 7/11/07 
22 VAC 15-30-310 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3356 7/11/07 
22 VAC 15-30-580 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3358 7/11/07 
22 VAC 40-20-10 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3364 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-25-10 through 22 VAC 40-25-70 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3360-3364 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-25-45 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3363 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-540-10 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3364 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-600-10 through 22 VAC 40-600-240 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3364 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-601-10 through 22 VAC 40-601-40 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3365-3366 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1588 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-15 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1591 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-20 Repealed 23:10 VA.R. 1592 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-21 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1592 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-30 Repealed 23:10 VA.R. 1593 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-31 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1593 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-40 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1593 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-50 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1594 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-60 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1595 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-70 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1596 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-80 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1596 3/1/07 
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22 VAC 40-880-200 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3367 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-880-250 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3367 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-880-270 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3367 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-880-350 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3368 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-880-620 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3369 8/1/07 
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles 
24 VAC 30-155-10 through 24 VAC 30-155-100 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2915-2930 7/1/07 
24 VAC 30-320 Repealed 23:16 VA.R. 2665 3/22/07 
24 VAC 30-325-10 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2665 3/22/07 
24 VAC 30-325-20 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2666 3/22/07 
24 VAC 30-330 Repealed 23:16 VA.R. 2665 3/22/07 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 
NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 8 VAC 20-131, 
Regulations Establishing Standards for Accrediting 
Public Schools in Virginia. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to review the requirements for graduation (8 VAC 
20-131-50), school and community communications (8 VAC 
20-131-270), expectations for school accountability (8 VAC 
20-131-280), and recognitions and rewards for school 
accountability performance (8 VAC 20-131-325).  This 
review will include the role of graduation rates in the 
accountability measures for school accreditation as well as 
changes necessitated by actions taken by the 2007 General 
Assembly, including the following legislation: 

1. Chapters 859 and 919 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly 
require the board to establish the requirements for a 
technical diploma. 

2. Chapter 351 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly requires the 
board to modify the provisions of the Board of Education’s 
Seal for Excellence in Civics Education to emphasize 
community service. 

3. The Senate Education and Health Committee, while not 
taking action on HB 3201, related to removing students 
from classes, requested the Chairman write a letter to the 
Board of Education asking that the board consider this 
issue in its review of applicable regulations, and report 
back to the patron and the committee. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-253.13:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 13, 
2007.   

Contact: Anne Wescott, Assistant Superintendent, Policy and 
Communications, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
Richmond, VA 23218-2120, telephone (804) 225-2403, FAX 
(804) 225-2524, or email anne.wescott@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-228; Filed May 23, 2007, 11:18 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Air Pollution Control Board intends 
to consider promulgating regulations entitled 9 VAC 5-45, 
Consumer and Commercial Products Regulation. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to adopt new and revised 
standards for the control of volatile organic compound (VOC) 
emissions from certain consumer and commercial products 
within the Northern Virginia and Fredericksburg VOC 
Emissions Control Areas. This action is being taken to allow 
Virginia to meet its obligation to implement control measures 
in areas designated as nonattainment under the eight-hour 
ozone standard and to implement contingency measures 
within former nonattainment areas that have been 
redesignated as ozone maintenance areas.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 25, 
2007.   

Contact: Gary E. Graham, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 629 E. Main St., P.O. Box 1105,  Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4103, FAX (804) 698-4510, or 
email gegraham@deq.virginia.gov.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-264; Filed June 1, 2007, 9:10 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services intends to consider amending regulations entitled 
12 VAC 30-30, Groups Covered and Agencies Responsible 
for Eligibility Determination, and amending regulations 
entitled 12 VAC 30-40, Eligibility Conditions and 
Requirements. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
implement a mandated Medicaid buy-in program per the 
requirement of the 2006 Appropriation Act. The buy-in 



Notices of Intended Regulatory Action 

Volume 23, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 25, 2007 

3432 

program will help protect the health and welfare of the 
citizens of the Commonwealth by creating an incentive for 
disabled Medicaid enrollees who desire to be employed to 
have added income that will not count against their eligibility 
income limits. This reduces the financial restrictions to which 
such enrollees may be subject. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until July 11, 2007. 

Contact: Jack Quigley, Policy and Research Division, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad St., 
Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1300, 
FAX (804) 786-1680 or email 
jack.quigley@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-219; Filed May 21, 2007, 4:15 p.m. 

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services intends to consider amending regulations entitled: 

12 VAC 30-50, Amount Duration and Scope of Medical 
and Remedial Care Services. 

12 VAC 30-60, Standards Established and Methods Used 
to Assure High Quality Care. 

12 VAC 30-80, Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates; Other Types of Care. 

12 VAC 30-120, Waivered Services. 

The purpose of the proposed action is to include emergency 
services; evaluation and assessment; outpatient services; 
intensive outpatient services; targeted case management; day 
treatment and opioid treatment services. Substance abuse 
services, with the exception of residential and day treatment 
services for pregnant and postpartum women are not currently 
a part of the state plan. The addition of these services will fill 
a gap in the continuum of care for Medicaid emrollees. 

MEDALLION Primary Care Case Management (PCCM) 
recipients will have substance abuse services covered by 
Medicaid. These services are not subject to required referrals 
by the primary care physician. Medallion II recipients who 
are enrolled in an MCO will have outpatient services 
(excluding intensive outpatient services) and assessment and 
evaluation services covered by the MCOs. All other mandates 
substance services to be covered (emergency services (crisis), 
intensive outpatient services, day treatment services, opioid 
treatment services, and substance abuse case management 
services) will be carved out of the MCO and covered by 
DMAS. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until July 25, 2007. 

Contact: Catherine Hancock, Policy & Research Division, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-4272, FAX (804) 
786-1680, or email catherine.hancock@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-262; Filed May 30, 2007, 2:51 p.m. 

STATE MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL RETARDATION 
AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE SERVICES BOARD 

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation And Substance Abuse Services Board intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 12 VAC 35-105, 
Rules and Regulations for the Licensing of Providers of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation, Substance Abuse, the 
Individual Family Developmental Disabilities Support 
Waiver, and Residential Brain Injury Services. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to update the regulations to 
be consistent with current statutory mandates and standards of 
practice. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-203 and 37.2-404 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until July 27, 2007. 

Contact: Leslie Anderson, Director, Office of Licensing, 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 
23218-1797, telephone (804) 371-6885, FAX (804) 692-0066 
or email leslie.anderson@dmhmrsas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-260; Filed May 25, 2007, 11:33 a.m. 

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation And Substance Abuse Services Board intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 12 VAC 35-190, 
Regulations Establishing Procedures for Voluntarily 
Admitting Persons Who are Mentally Retarded to State 
Mental Retardation Facilities. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to revise the regulations to clarify, update and 
respond to changes in practice related to admissions to state 
mental retardation facilities. 
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The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until July 27, 2007. 

Contact: Dawn Traver, Office of Mental Retardation 
Services, Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation 
and Substance Abuse Services, P.O. Box 1797, 1220 Bank 
St.,  Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (757) 253-4316, 
FAX ( 757) 253-5440, or 
email dawn.traver@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-261; Filed May 25, 2007, 11:33 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Apprenticeship Council 

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Labor and Industry 
intends to consider amending regulations entitled 16 VAC 
20-20, Regulations Governing the Administration of 
Apprenticeship Programs in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia. The purpose of the proposed action is to add new 
definitions and makes language changes to clarify the 
Regulations Governing the Administration of Apprenticeship 
Programs in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-6 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 26, 
2007.  

Contact: Beverley G. Donati, Program Director, Department 
of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor Bldg., 13 S. 13th 
St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2382, 
FAX (804) 786-8418, or email bev.donati@doli.virginia.gov.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-259; Filed May 31, 2007, 11:45 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Accountancy intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 18 VAC 5-21, Board 
of Accountancy Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to provide clarification to those CPA exam 
candidates who qualified under the education requirements of 
the Board of Accountancy to sit for the CPA exam prior to 
July 1, 2006. The board seeks to set a deadline of December 
31, 2008, for these CPA candidates to pass the CPA exam. 
The goal of the board is to enable these candidates to be able 
to complete the CPA exam in a timely manner and within an 
achievable deadline, without creating an undue burden on 
them. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-4402 and 54.1-4410 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until July 11, 2007. 

Contact: Nancy Taylor Feldman, Executive Director, Board 
of Accountancy, 3600 W. Broad St., Suite 378, Richmond, 
VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8505, FAX (804) 367-2174 
or email boa@boa.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-211; Filed May 14, 2007, 12:49 p.m. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 18 VAC 85-50, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Physician 
Assistants. The purpose of the proposed action is to set out 
requirements for prescribing opioids for managements of 
chronic pain. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 29 (§ 54.1-
2900 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 11, 
2007.   

Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
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Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9908, FAX (804) 662-9943, or email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-237; Filed May 23, 2007, 10:44 a.m. 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Dentistry intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 18 VAC 60-20, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and 
Dental Hygiene. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
specify requirements for informed consent in the performance 
of dental treatments.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 27 (§ 54.1-
2700) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 11, 
2007. 

Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 6603 W. Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX (804) 662-
9943, or email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-241; Filed May 23, 2007, 10:44 a.m. 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Optometry intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 18 VAC 105-20, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Optometry. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to make technical changes 
to clarify the continuing education rules and consider 
requirements for face-to-face or interactive hours. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 32 (§ 54.1-
3200 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 11, 
2007.   

Contact: Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Optometry, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9910, FAX 
(804) 662-7098, or email elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-238; Filed May 23, 2007, 10:44 a.m. 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

† Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory 
Action 

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Optometry has 
WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for 
18 VAC 105-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Optometry, which was published in 22:23 VA.R. 3202 July 
24, 2006. 

Contact: Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Optometry, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9910, FAX 
(804) 662-7098, or email elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No.06-286; Filed June 30, 2007, 8:41 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Physical Therapy intends 
to consider amending regulations entitled 18 VAC 112-20, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Physical Therapy. 
The purpose of the proposed action is to clarify and simplify 
definitions and requirements for trainees and for foreign-
trained applicants, specify the additional clinical training or 
course work required to retake the examination after three 
failures, add evidence of competency for licensure by 
endorsement, clarify the responsibilities of physical therapist 
in the evaluation and discharge of a patient and in the 
supervision of physical therapist assistants or other personnel, 
and modify the requirements for renewal or reinstatement of 
licensure. The board will consider the addition of provisions 
on standards of professional practice and grounds for 
unprofessional conduct.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 25, 
2007.   

Contact: Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 
Physical Therapy, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor,  Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9924, FAX (804) 662-9523, or 
email lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-269; Filed June 5, 2007, 11:25 a.m. 
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BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Counseling intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 18 VAC 115-50, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Marriage and 
Family Therapy. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
change the requirements for supervision of residency and 
licensure by endorsement. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 11, 
2007.  

Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, Board of 
Counseling, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9133, FAX (804) 662-
9943, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-239; Filed May 23, 2007, 10:44 a.m. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Psychology intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 18 VAC 125-20, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Psychology. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to respond to a petition for 
rulemaking for fewer hours of face-to-face continuing 
education, and to update and clarify its requirements for 
continuing education.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 11, 
2007. 

Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, Board of 
Psychology, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9913, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-216; Filed May 23, 2007, 10:44 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Psychology intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 18 VAC 125-30, 
Regulations Governing the Certification of Sex Offender 
Treatment Providers. The purpose of the proposed action is 

to respond to a petition for rulemaking that requested fewer 
supervised hours in experience required for persons who 
already hold a license as a clinical psychologist and to require 
at least six hours of continuing education focused on the 
treatment of that population for annual renewal. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 11, 
2007. 

Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, Board of 
Psychology, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9913, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-240; Filed May 23, 2007, 10:44 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 
intends to consider amending regulations entitled 22 VAC 
40-690, Virginia Child Care Provider Scholarship 
Program. The purpose of the proposed action is to amend the 
regulation to employ more efficient business practices and to 
implement an applicant selection process that will address the 
immediate need to improve the qualifications of child care 
providers and to enhance the quality of child care services 
offered to children and families in the Commonwealth. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 11, 
2007. 

Contact: Zelda Boyd, Program Development Consultant, 
Department of Social Services, Division of Child Care and 
Development, 7 N. 8th St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 726-7616, FAX (804) 726-7655, or 
email zelda.boyd@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-214; Filed May 21, 2007, 9:48 a.m. 
 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 
intends to consider amending regulations entitled 22 VAC 
40-705, Child Protective Services. The purpose of the 
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proposed action is to conduct a comprehensive review of the 
Child Protective Services regulation. The regulation addresses 
the key functions in protecting children from abuse and 
neglect. The State Board of Social Services will recommend 
amendments to reflect recent changes in the Code of Virginia 
to the definition of an abused or neglected child and will also 
propose several amendments of a housekeeping nature and 
may propose additional amendments based on public 
comment. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 and Chapter 15 (§ 63.2-1500 
et seq.) of Title 63.2 and of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 11, 
2007. 

Contact: Nan McKenney, CPS Policy Supervisor, 
Department of Social Services, 7 N. 8th St., 4th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7569, FAX (804) 
726-7895 or email nan.mckenney@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-215; Filed May 21, 2007, 9:47 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-210, 
Retail Sales and Use Tax. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to amend the current retail sales and use tax 
regulation on fabrication to more accurately set forth policy. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 11, 
2007. 

Contact: Mark Haskins, Director, Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355 or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-243; Filed May 23, 2007, 9:58 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-210, 

Retail Sales and Use Tax. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to amend the existing regulation (23 VAC 10-210-
680, Gifts Purchased in Virginia) to reflect a statutory change 
enacted by 2005 General Assembly defining "gift transaction" 
for sales and use tax purposes and allowing the dealer the 
option of collecting the tax in the state of the recipient or 
collecting the Virginia tax, provided the dealer is registered in 
the recipient state and the recipient is someone other than the 
purchaser. Tax will amend the regulation to reflect the law 
change and set their policy with respect to this change. The 
regulation will also provide processes and procedures for 
dealers to obtain approval from the Tax Commissioner prior 
to collecting the tax in the state of the recipient. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 11, 
2007. 

Contact: Mark Haskins, Director, Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355 or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-245; Filed May 23, 2007, 9:58 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-210, 
Retail Sales and Use Tax. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to amend the current regulation (23 VAC 10-210-
730, Hotels, Motels, Tourist Camps, etc.) to reflect the 2004 
legislative change that provides that Internet access services 
furnished with accommodations qualify as a tax-exempt 
service and not a service in connection with accommodations. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 11, 
2007. 

Contact: Mark Haskins, Director, Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355 or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-246 ; Filed May 23, 2007, 9:58 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-210, 
Retail Sales and Use Tax. The purpose of the proposed 



Notices of Intended Regulatory Action 

Volume 23, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 25, 2007 

3437 

action is to amend the existing regulation (23 VAC 10-210-
840, Leases and Rentals) to clarify what constitutes "gross 
proceeds" with respect to leases and rentals and to distinguish 
leases and rentals from conditional sales. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 11, 
2007. 

Contact: Mark Haskins, Director, Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355 or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-247; Filed May 23, 2007, 9:58 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-210, 
Retail Sales and Use Tax. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to amend the current regulation (23 VAC 10-210-
910, Maintenance Contracts and Warranty Plans) to 
implement 1994 General Assembly action changing the sales 
and use tax application to parts and labor maintenance 
contracts. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 11, 
2007. 

Contact: Mark Haskins, Director, Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355 or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-248; Filed May 23, 2007, 9:58 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-210, 
Retail Sales and Use Tax. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to amend the current regulation (23 VAC 10-210-
920, Manufacturing and Processing) to clarify numerous 
manufacturing and processing issues that are the subject of 
frequent audit appeals and ruling requests. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 11, 
2007. 

Contact: Mark Haskins, Director, Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355 or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-249; Filed May 23, 2007, 9:58 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-210, 
Retail Sales and Use Tax. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to amend the regulation (23 VAC 10-210-1020, 
Motor Vehicles Refinishers, Painters, and Car Washers) to 
conform with 2005 law change. Specifically, tax will amend 
the regulation to reflect the change to the definitions of "retail 
sale" and "sale at retail." 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 11, 
2007. 

Contact: Mark Haskins, Director, Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355 or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-250; Filed May 23, 2007, 9:58 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-210, 
Retail Sales and Use Tax. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to amend the current regulation (23 VAC 10-210-
1080, Occasional Sales) to provide clarification regarding the 
exemption available for "occasional sales." 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 11, 
2007. 

Contact: Mark Haskins, Director, Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355 or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-244; Filed May 23, 2007, 9:58 a.m. 
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Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-210, 
Retail Sales and Use Tax. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to amend the existing regulation (23 VAC 10-210-
2032, Penalties and Interest Audits) to set forth alternative 
methods for computation of the use tax compliance ratio for 
determining the application of penalty to audit findings. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 11, 
2007. 

Contact: Mark Haskins, Director, Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355 or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-252; Filed May 23, 2007, 9:58 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-210, 
Retail Sales and Use Tax. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to amend the regulation (23 VAC 10-210-2090, 
Pollution Control Equipment and Facilities) to reflect a 
statutory change enacted by the 2005 General Assembly, to 
set forth the original intent of the retail sales tax exemption as 
it relates to pollution control equipment. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 11, 
2007. 

Contact: Mark Haskins, Director, Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355 or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-251; Filed May 23, 2007, 9:58 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

† Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory 
Action 

Notice is hereby given that the Commonwealth 
Transportation  Board  has WITHDRAWN  the Notice of 
Intended Regulatory Action for 24 VAC 20-81, Hauling 
Permits, which was published in 21:21 2783 June 27, 2005. 

Contact: Ron Thompson, Senior Policy Analyst, P.O. Box 
27412, Richmond, VA 23269-0001, telephone (804) 367-
1844, FAX (804) 367-6631, toll-free 1-800-435-5137 or 
email ronald.thompson@dmv.virginia.gov. 

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Motor Vehicles 
intends to consider promulgating regulations entitled 24 VAC 
20-81, Hauling Permits. The purpose of the proposed action 
is to establish requirements for the issuance of permits to haul 
overweight and overdimension vehicles over the highways of 
Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-203 and Article 18 (§ 46.2-1139 
et seq.) of Chapter 10 of Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until July 25, 2007. 

Contact: Ron Thompson, Senior Policy Analyst, Department 
of Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 27412, Richmond, VA 23269-
0001, telephone (804) 367-1844, FAX (804) 367-6631, toll-
free 1-800-435-5137 or email 
ronald.thompson@dmv.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-271; Filed June 5, 2007, 3:29 p.m. 

BOARD OF TOWING AND RECOVERY OPERATORS 

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board for Towing and Recovery 
Operators intends to consider promulgating regulations 
entitled 24 VAC 27-30, Regulations Governing the 
Practice of Towing and Recovery Operators. The purpose 
of the proposed action is to create a new regulation to provide 
for the licensure, practice, and discipline of towing and 
recovery operators. A public meeting on this action is 
scheduled on July 16, 2007, at 9 a.m. at the Department of 
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Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, Room 702, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-2805 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 25, 
2007. 

Contact: Benjamin Foster, Executive Director, Board for 
Towing & Recovery Operators, Virginia Department of 
Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 27412,  Richmond, VA 
23269, telephone (804) 367-0226, FAX (804) 367-6631, or 
email benjamin.foster@dmv.virginia.gov.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-270; Filed June 5, 2007, 11:17 a.m. 

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board for Towing and Recovery 
Operators intends to consider promulgating regulations 
entitled 24 VAC 27-50, Regulations Governing the 
Provision of Public Safety Towing and Recovery Services. 
The purpose of the proposed action is to carry out the 
mandate of § 46.2-2826 of the Code of Virginia to establish 
regulations required of Class A and Class B operators to 
provide public safety towing and recovery services. A public 
meeting on this action is scheduled on July 16, 2007, at 9 a.m. 
at the Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad 
Street, Room 702, Richmond, Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-2826 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 25, 
2007. 

Contact: Benjamin Foster, Executive Director, Board for 
Towing & Recovery Operators, Virginia Department of 
Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 27412,  Richmond, VA 
23269, telephone (804) 367-0226, FAX (804) 367-6631, or 
email benjamin.foster@dmv.virginia.gov.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-277; Filed June 5, 2007, 11:18 a.m. 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given that the Commonwealth 
Transportation Board has WITHDRAWN the Notice of 
Intended Regulatory Action for 24 VAC 30-92, Subdivision 
Street Acceptance Requirements, which was published in 
23:16 VA.R. 2591 April 16, 2007. This action is exempt from 
the Administrative Process Act pursuant to Chapter 382 (SB 
1181) of the 2007 Acts of Assembly. Due to a technical error, 
all electronically submitted comments for this action were 

lost, so a new Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
(NOIRA) is being filed for this action. Interested parties who 
responded to the earlier NOIRA are requested to resubmit 
their comments to http://www.vdot.virginia.gov/projects/ssar/ 
by 5 p.m. on June 18, 2007. 

Contact: Nick Donohue, Special Assistant, Office of the 
Secretary of Transportation, Patrick Henry Bldg., 1111 E. 
Broad St., 3rd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, or P.O. Box 
1475, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-8032, FAX 
(804) 786-6683 or email 
nicholas.donohue@drpt.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-181; Filed May 18, 2007, 3:35 p.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

STATE BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND 
CONSUMER SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  2 VAC 5-206. Regulation for 
Scrapie Eradication (adding 2 VAC 5-206-10 through 
2 VAC 5-206-50). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 3.1-724, 3.1-726 and 3.1-730 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  August 23, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. 
Public comments may be submitted until August 24, 
2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Agency Contact:  David Cardin, D.V.M. Deputy State 
Veterinarian, Division of Animal and Food Industry 
Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 692-0601, FAX (804) 371-2380, or email 
david.cardin@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 3.1-724 mandates that the Board of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services and the State 
Veterinarian cooperate with the livestock sanitary control 
officials of other states, and with the U.S. Secretary of 
Agriculture and the United States Department of 
Agriculture (USDA) in establishing rules and regulations 
to protect the livestock and poultry of Virginia against 
contagious and infectious diseases.  

Section 3.1-726 authorizes the Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services to adopt regulations as may be 
necessary for eradicating and preventing the spread of 
contagious and infectious diseases.  

Section 3.1-730 mandates that the Board of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services or the State Veterinarian give and 
enforce directions and prescribe rules and regulations to 
separating, feeding, and caring for diseased or exposed 
animals or poultry as may be necessary to prevent the 
animals or poultry affected with disease, or capable of 
communicating disease, from coming in contact with other 
animals or poultry not affected.  

Under 9 CFR 54.2, the U.S. Department of Agriculture, 
Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service 
(USDA/APHIS) will execute cooperative agreements 
and/or memoranda of understanding with the animal health 

agencies of any state in order to cooperatively administer 
the Scrapie Eradication Program.  Each agreement must 
specify the roles of the state and federal government for the 
eradication program and the state Scrapie Flock 
Certification Program. 

Purpose:  Scrapie is a debilitating disease of sheep and 
goats that is estimated to cost U.S. producers $20 to $25 
million annually.  Infected flocks are less productive, as 
affected animals usually die during their peak productive 
years. Recent publicity regarding a possible link between 
Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy (Mad Cow Disease) 
and the feeding of cattle in England with scrapie-infected 
sheep products has severely affected domestic and 
international trade in sheep and sheep-derived products. 
Many renderers have declined to render sheep offal or to 
pick up dead sheep, significantly increasing disposal costs. 
In addition, other countries have threatened possible 
restrictions on importing certain nonsheep ruminant 
products from the U.S. because of scrapie. 

The USDA has made a commitment to the sheep industry 
to eradicate scrapie in the U.S. by 2010. The federal 
regulation, which became effective in September 2001, 
restricts interstate movement of sheep and goats from 
states that have not initiated intrastate regulatory action 
concerning scrapie eradication within two years. The goal 
of the proposed regulation is to eradicate scrapie in 
Virginia sheep and goats. The regulation will provide the 
program standards and procedures for Virginia to 
participate in the Cooperative State-Federal–Industry 
Scrapie Program. 

The agency has determined that the proposed regulation 
will protect the welfare of Virginia because it will allow 
the continued interstate movement of sheep and goats and 
negate economic losses due to this debilitating disease. 
Additionally, the eradication of scrapie in Virginia would 
eliminate the basis for the possible restrictions on trade 
with Virginia. 

Substance:  The proposed regulation will meet the 
minimum requirements of the "Scrapie Eradication State-
Federal-Industry Uniform Methods and Rules" established 
by the USDA/Animal Plant Health Inspection Service 
(APHIS) in August 2002, and revised in October 2003. 
The proposed regulation will provide guidance for the 
prevention, monitoring, control, and eradication of scrapie 
disease from domestic sheep flocks and goat herds in 
Virginia and for maintenance of state status in the USDA 
Scrapie Eradication Program.  An analysis of Virginia’s 
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compliance was conducted in April 2006 by the USDA.  
They found Virginia to be fully compliant pending final 
adoption of the proposed regulation. 

Issues:  The primary advantage to small business sheep and 
goat owners is that they will maintain the ability to sell 
their animals in interstate commerce and at markets that 
deal in interstate commerce.  This means more competition 
for the animals and thus higher prices.  Market managers 
will be able to pool sheep and goats so that they will be 
attractive to large volume buyers outside of the state of 
Virginia.   

The principle disadvantage to the small business flock 
owner is maintaining the records, since most sheep and 
goat flocks in Virginia are identified in some manner.  The 
animals must be identified with a tag unique to the farm of 
origin and distinct from other animals on that farm, and 
records must be kept.  Livestock markets and slaughter 
houses will also have to assure that the animals are tagged. 
From a regulatory point of view, this helps in disease trace 
backs. Adequate tracking is essential to meet the national 
goal of tracing any animal back to its farm of origin within 
48 hours. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Regulation.  The Department of 
Agriculture & Consumer Services (VDACS) proposes to 
promulgate the Regulation for Scrapie Eradication. The 
adoption of this regulation is necessary to maintain 
Virginia’s status as a scrapie consistent state. Consistent 
state status allows the free movement of Virginia sheep 
and goats in interstate commerce. 

Results of Analysis.  The benefits likely exceed the costs 
for all proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  Scrapie is a debilitating 
disease of sheep and goats. It is a fatal, degenerative 
disease affecting the central nervous system of sheep and 
goats. Infected flocks that contain a high percentage of 
susceptible animals can experience significant production 
losses. 

The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) has 
made a commitment to the sheep industry to eliminate 
outbreaks of scrapie by 2010 and to have the United States 
officially declared scrapie free by international standards 
by 2017. The federal regulation, which became effective in 
September 2001, restricts interstate movement of sheep 
and goats from states that have not initiated intrastate 
regulatory action concerning scrapie eradication within two 
years.1 In the Federal Register of August 21, 2001, all 

                                                           
1 Individual producers who wish to move sheep over state lines from a non-
compliant state will be required to enroll in the Scrapie Flock Certification Program 
and the flock will have to be inspected annually. 

states were granted Consistent State Status.  States were 
given two years to comply with all requirements of 9 CFR 
§ 79.6 (Standards for States to qualify as Consistent 
States).  On September 21, 2003, the time expired for 
States to meet Consistent State Status criteria.  All states 
were sent a checklist for the 9 CFR § 79.6 requirements 
July 1, 2004, which required a response by July 30, 2004.  
Follow-up required that states provide documentation to 
verify that all the requirements of 9 CFR § 79.6 were met 
by January 1, 2005 or submit a work plan and timeline to 
address any deficiencies. At the end of fiscal year 2006, 
247 states had approved programs and are considered 
"consistent" including Virginia.  

VDACS proposes to promulgate the Regulation for Scrapie 
Eradication so as to maintain Virginia’s Consistent State 
Status. According to VDACS, Virginia has initiated the 
scrapie eradication program since 2001 and has received 
federal funding for scrapie eradication every year since 
2000. The proposed regulation will meet the minimum 
requirements of the Scrapie Eradication State-Federal-
Industry Uniform Methods and Rules established by 
USDA /Animal Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS). 
The proposed regulation will provide guidance for the 
prevention, monitoring, control, and eradication of scrapie 
disease from domestic sheep flocks and goat herds in 
Virginia and for maintenance of state status in the USDA 
Scrapie Eradication Program. USDA has reviewed 
Virginia’s compliance and found Virginia to be fully 
compliant pending final adoption of the proposed 
regulation. 

According to the proposed regulation, any sheep or goat 
born after January 1, 2002 that are required to be officially 
identified shall be identified3 with official USDA 
identification4 to the premises of birth, if not the same as 
the premises of origin, prior to change of ownership or 
exhibition. Any sheep or goat that is bartered, leased, 
traded, loaned, sold, exhibited, or otherwise moved from 
one management to another shall be deemed to have 
undergone a change of ownership for the purpose of this 
proposed regulation. The buyer, seller, and any dealer or 
market operator shall keep a record of all changes of 
ownership for a minimum of five years. Any goat or sheep 
undergoing a change of ownership (including exhibition 
and/or importation into the state) not having an official 

                                                           
2 The federal government’s fiscal year runs from October 1 to September 30. 
3 Animals required to be officially identified include: 1) all breeding sheep, 2) all 
sexually intact animals for exhibition, 3) all sheep over 18 months of age, 4) all 
exposed and high-risk animals including all low-risk exposed animals, genetically 
susceptible exposed animals, genetically less susceptible exposed animals, and 
genetically resistant exposed sheep, 5) all suspect and test-positive animals, 6) 
animals from noncompliant flocks. 
4 Official USDA Identification means identification approved by the 
USDA/APHIS/Veterinary Services (VS) for the identification of animals, which is 
so designed as to prevent alteration. This may include tattoo and electronic 
identification. 
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identification shall be quarantined until the requirements of 
this proposed regulation are met. 

The proposed regulations require that no sheep or goat be 
imported into Virginia that does not originate from a 
consistent state, unless originating from a complete 
monitored scrapie flock5 or enrolled in the USDA Scrapie 
Flock Certification Program.6 Any out-of-state sheep or 
goats that are offered for sale in an approved Virginia 
livestock market that have not previously been identified 
must be either identified with an official USDA tag on 
arrival and prior to commingling with any other sheep or 
goats or returned to the state of origin. Except as exempted, 
all sheep and goats imported into Virginia must be 
accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection 
(CVI). The proposed regulation also provides guidance on 
the monitoring and investigation of scrapie-infected 
animals and source flocks/herds.  

The adoption of the proposed regulation will allow the 
continued interstate movement of sheep and goats. Sheep 
and goat owners, sellers, buyers, dealers, and market 
operators in Virginia will benefit from continued business 
involving interstate commerce.  The proposed regulations 
will help to reduce the occurrence of scrapie and 
eventually eradicate scrapie in Virginia sheep and goats 
and will negate economic losses due to this debilitating 
disease. 

The major compliance cost imposed by this proposed 
regulation is the cost of identification devices used for 
sheep and goats. Official USDA identification may include 
ear tag, tattoo, and electronic identification. According to 
VDACS, the cost for a basic ear tag is very low while other 
methods such as a micro-chip implanted would be more 
expensive. The average cost of official USDA tags would 
be up to $5 per head. Animal owners, sellers, buyers, or 
market operators will also spend a small amount of time 
for physically identifying the animals and document 
movement as well as record-keeping. VDACS will incur a 
cost of approximately $30,000 every year associated with 
administration of the scrapie eradication program.  

According to VDACS, Virginia has received federal 
funding every year since 2000 which has covered all of the 
above costs for scrapie eradication program. Scrapie 
Consistent States may apply annually for federal grants 
submitting a detailed plan on how the money will be used. 
If Virginia continues to receive the federal grant for scrapie 

                                                           
5 Flock or herd means all animals maintained on a single premise and all animals 
under common ownership or supervision on two or more premises with animal 
interchange between the premises. Changes in ownership of part or all of the flock 
do not change the identity of the flock or the regulatory requirements applicable to 
the flock. 
6 Scrapie Flock Certification Program means a program, sponsored by the 
USDA/APHIS/VS, to reduce scrapie occurrence and spread; identify flocks which 
have been free of evidence of scrapie over a specified time period; and contribute to 
the eventual eradication of scrapie. 

eradication, there will be no additional costs for animal 
owners, sellers, buyers, or market operators except for the 
small amount of time spent on physically identifying the 
animals and record-keeping. In the case that federal grant 
is not available, animal owners, sellers, buyers, or market 
operators will have to pay for the identification device for 
every animal that is required to be identified, with the 
average cost of $5 per head.  According to VDACS, as of 
April 2006, all animals at fairs and those leaving markets 
are identified with official USDA tags. Approximately 
85% of animals entering markets and auctions are tagged. 
Supposing that about 67,4007 sheep and goats will enter 
the livestock markets every year and 15% of them need to 
be tagged, the total estimated cost will be $50,550 
statewide. 8 

Given that the proposed regulation will allow the continued 
business in interstate commerce and will reduce the 
occurrence of scrapie, and given the fact that Virginia has 
received federal funding every year since 2000, the total 
benefit of the proposed regulations will likely outweigh the 
total cost. Therefore, the proposed regulations will likely 
generate a net economic benefit.  

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed regulation 
will affect owners of flocks or herds of sheep and goats, 
buyers, sellers, dealers, or market operators involved in the 
barter, lease, trade, loan, sale, exhibit, or movement of 
sheep and goats. According to VDACS, there are 
approximately 983 sheep and goat flocks which is 
approximately the number of animal owners. And there are 
5 to 6 livestock markets in Virginia.  

Localities Particularly Affected.  The proposed regulation 
applies to all localities in the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  Sheep and goat owners, 
sellers, buyers, dealers, and market operators in Virginia 
will benefit from continued business involving interstate 
commerce. The proposed regulations will help to reduce 
the occurrence of scrapie and eventually eradicate scrapie 
in Virginia sheep and goats and will negate economic 
losses due to this debilitating disease. This will likely have 
a positive impact on the number of people employed by the 
affected businesses. 

If the federal grant for scrapie eradication is not available, 
animal owners, sellers, buyers, or market operators will 
have to pay for the identification devices for animals that 
are required to be identified. This will likely increase their 
costs and have a small negative impact on the number of 
people employed by the affected businesses.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
proposed regulation will allow the continued business in 

                                                           
7 Source: VDACS 
8 Calculation: $5*67,400*15%=$50,550. 
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interstate commerce and will reduce the occurrence of 
scrapie, which will benefit sheep and goat owners, sellers, 
buyers, dealers, and market operators in Virginia and will 
likely have a positive impact on their asset values. On the 
other hand, sheep and goat owners, sellers, buyers, dealers, 
and market operators may have to pay for the identification 
devices when the federal grant is not available, which will 
likely have a small negative impact on their asset values. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  Small 
businesses will benefit from continued business involving 
interstate commerce as well as possibly reduced economic 
losses due to occurrence of scrapie. They may have to pay 
for the identification devices when the federal grant is not 
available. Generally speaking, small businesses will likely 
receive net benefit from the proposed regulations. 
According to VDACS, almost all of the animal owners and 
markets are small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The adoption of this proposed regulation 
is necessary to maintain Virginia’s status as a scrapie 
consistent state so as to allow the continued businesses 
involving interstate commerce. There are no alternatives 
that could achieve the same result with less adverse impact.  

Legal Mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 
21 (02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom 
the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities 
and types of businesses or other entities particularly 
affected, the projected number of persons and employment 
positions to be affected, the projected costs to affected 
businesses or entities to implement or comply with the 
regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 
property.  Further, if the proposed regulation has an 
adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007 H requires 
that such economic impact analyses include (i) an 
identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the 
regulation, including the type of professional skills 
necessary for preparing required reports and other 
documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 
regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a 
description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative 
methods of achieving the purpose of the regulation.  The 
analysis presented above represents DPB’s best estimate of 
these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency concurs 

with the analysis of the Department of Planning and 
Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulation meets the minimum 
requirements of the "Scrapie Eradication State-Federal-
Industry Uniform Methods and Rules" established by the 
USDA /Animal Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) 
in August 2002, and revised in October 2003. The 
proposed regulation provides guidance for the 
prevention, monitoring, control, and eradication of 
scrapie disease from domestic sheep flocks and goat 
herds in Virginia and for maintenance of state status in 
the USDA Scrapie Eradication Program. 

CHAPTER 206. 
REGULATION FOR SCRAPIE ERADICATION. 

2 VAC 5-206-10. Definitions. 

"Accredited veterinarian" means a veterinarian approved 
by the United States Department of Agriculture in 
accordance with 9 CFR 160.1 (2002).  

"Animal" means any sheep or goat. 

"Breeding sheep and goats" means any sexually intact 
sheep or goat that is not moving directly to slaughter, or 
through slaughter channels to slaughter. 

"Consistent state" means a state listed in 9 CFR 79.1 that 
the USDA Administrator has determined in compliance 
with 9 CFR 79.6. 

"Diagnosis" means a result of an official test indicating a 
positive result for scrapie. 

"Exposed flock" means any flock in which a scrapie-
positive or suspect animal was born or lambed, or any 
flock into which a scrapie positive or scrapie suspect 
animal has been introduced. 

"Flock or herd" means all animals maintained on a single 
premises and all animals under common ownership or 
supervision on two or more premises with animal 
interchange between the premises.  Changes in ownership 
of part or all of the flock do not change the identity of the 
flock or the regulatory requirements applicable to the 
flock.  

"Flock plan" means a written flock-management agreement 
signed by (i) the owner of a flock, (ii) the accredited 
veterinarian (if one is employed by the owner), (iii) an 
APHIS representative, and (iv) the State Veterinarian, in 
which each participant agrees to undertake actions 
specified in the flock plan to control the spread of scrapie 
from, and eradicate scrapie in, an infected flock or source 
flock or to reduce the risk of the occurrence of scrapie in a 
flock that contains a high-risk or an exposed animal.  As 
part of a flock plan, the flock owner must provide the 
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facilities and personnel needed to carry out the 
requirements of the flock plan.  

"Infected flock" means any flock in which a state or 
APHIS representative has determined that a scrapie-
positive female animal has resided unless an epidemiologic 
investigation conducted by a State or APHIS representative 
shows that the animal did not lamb or abort in the flock. 

"Low-risk commercial goat" means a low-risk goat from a 
herd in which animals are moved to slaughter only directly 
or through slaughter channels or any animal raised only for 
meat or fiber production and not registered with a sheep or 
goat registry or used for exhibition. 

"Low-risk goat" means a goat that is not a scrapie-positive, 
suspect, high-risk, or exposed animal; that has not been 
commingled with sheep; and that is from a state in which 
(i) scrapie has not been identified in a goat during the 
previous 10 years; (ii) scrapie has been identified in a goat 
during the previous 10 years, but the scrapie-positive goat 
was not born in the state, resided in the state for less than 
72 months, and did not kid while in the state; or (iii) 
scrapie has been identified in a goat during the previous 10 
years and the scrapie-positive goat was commingled with 
sheep but records allowed a complete epidemiologic 
investigation to be completed and all resulting infected, 
source, and exposed goat herds had completed flock plans 
and were in compliance with post-exposure monitoring and 
management plans. 

"Noncompliant flock" means (i) any source or infected 
flock whose owner declines to enter into a flock plan or 
postexposure management and monitoring plan (PEMMP) 
agreement within 60 days of being so designated or whose 
owner is not in compliance with either agreement; (ii) any 
exposed flock whose owner fails to make animals available 
for testing within 60 days of notification or as mutually 
agreed, or whose owner fails to submit required 
postmortem samples as directed in the PEMMP; (iii) any 
flock whose owner has misrepresented, or who employs a 
person who has misrepresented, the scrapie status of an 
animal or any other information on a certificate, permit, 
owner statement, or other official document within the last 
five years; or (iv) any flock whose owner or manager has 
moved, or who employs a person who has moved, an 
animal in violation of 9 CFR Part 79 within the last five 
years, as determined by the State Veterinarian. 

"Official USDA identification" means identification 
approved by the USDA/APHIS/VS for the identification of 
animals, which is so designed as to prevent alteration. This 
may include tattoo and electronic identification. 

"Postexposure management and monitoring plan 
(PEMMP)" means a written agreement signed by the 
owner of a flock, any accredited veterinarian employed by 
the owner, and a state or APHIS representative in which 

each participant agrees to undertake actions specified in the 
agreement to reduce the risk of the occurrence of scrapie 
and to monitor for the occurrence of scrapie in the flock for 
at least five years after the last high-risk or scrapie-positive 
animal is removed from the flock or after the last exposure 
of the flock to a scrapie-positive animal unless the 
monitoring time is otherwise specified by a state or APHIS 
representative.  As part of a postexposure management and 
monitoring plan, the flock owner must provide the 
facilities and personnel needed to carry out the required 
elements listed in the plan. 

"Scrapie" means a nonfebrile, transmissible, insidious, 
degenerative disease that affects the central nervous 
system, and is a transmissible spongiform encephalopathy 
(TSE) found in sheep and goats. 

"Scrapie Flock Certification Program" means a program, 
sponsored by the USDA/APHIS/VS, to reduce scrapie 
occurrence and spread; identify flocks that have been free 
of evidence of scrapie over a specified time period; and 
contribute to the eventual eradication of scrapie. 

"Scrapie-positive" means an animal that has been 
diagnosed by USDA-accepted testing methods by the 
National Veterinary Services Laboratory, or another 
laboratory designated by the State Veterinarian, to have the 
disease scrapie. 

"Source flock" means a flock in which a state or APHIS 
representative has determined that at least one animal was 
born that was diagnosed as scrapie positive at an age of 72 
months or less or in which a scrapie-positive animal has 
resided throughout its life. 

"State Veterinarian" means the Virginia State Veterinarian 
or his representative employed by the Virginia Department 
of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

"USDA and USDA/APHIS/VS" means the United States 
Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health 
Inspection Service, Veterinary Services. 

2 VAC 5-206-20 Identification of sheep and goats in 
commerce. 

Any sheep or goat born after January 1, 2002, shall be 
identified to the premises of birth, if not the same as the 
premises of origin, prior to change of ownership or 
exhibition. 

No person shall apply an official USDA tag or premises 
identification number or brand or official registry tattoo to 
an animal that did not originate on the premises to which 
the number has been officially assigned.  No person may 
remove or tamper with any means of identification 
required to be on sheep or goats. 

Any sheep or goat that is bartered, leased, traded, loaned, 
sold, exhibited, or otherwise moved from one management 
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to another shall be deemed to have undergone a change of 
ownership for the purpose of this regulation.  The buyer, 
seller, and any dealer or market operator shall keep a 
record of all changes of ownership for a minimum of five 
years.  Any sheep or goat that loses its identification, that 
was applied at its flock/herd of origin for exhibition or 
change of ownership, shall be identified by the person in 
control or possession of the animal prior to its 
commingling with any other animals; and if the flock of 
origin cannot be determined all possible flocks/herds of 
origin shall be listed on the record.  The buyer, seller, and 
any dealer or market operator shall be equally responsible 
for maintaining the required record, which shall be made 
available on request by representatives of the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

Any out-of-state sheep or goats that are offered for sale in 
an approved Virginia livestock market that have not 
previously been identified must be (i) identified with an 
official USDA tag on arrival and prior to commingling 
with any other sheep or goats with all information recorded 
as required for change of ownership or meet the 
importation requirements; or (ii) returned to the state of 
origin. 

Animals required to be officially identified include: 

1. All breeding sheep. 

2. All sexually intact animals for exhibition. This 
includes (i) sexually intact registered goats and goats 
used primarily for milk production, (ii) goats that are 
being moved from one location to another even if there 
is no change of ownership, and (iii) goats that are being 
sold for breeding or exhibition. It also includes sexually 
intact goats that have resided on the same premises as 
sheep and goats that have been exposed to animals that 
are affected with scrapie. 

3. All sheep over 18 months of age. 

4. All exposed and high-risk animals including all low-
risk exposed animals, genetically susceptible exposed 
animals, genetically less susceptible exposed animals, 
and genetically resistant exposed sheep. 

5. All suspect and test-positive animals. 

6 Animals from noncompliant flocks.  

Animals not required to be individually identified include: 

1. Slaughter sheep (sheep in slaughter channels) under 
18 months (Note: If a sexually intact sheep is sold at an 
unrestricted sale (any sale that is not a slaughter or 
feeding for slaughter sale), it must be identified.). 

2. Slaughter goats (goats in slaughter channels). 

3. Low-risk commercial goats. 

4. Castrated goats that have not been exposed to scrapie. 

5. Animals shipped directly to an approved slaughter 
facility. 

Registered goat owners that have official tattoos registered 
with USDA in the Scrapie National Genetic Data Base and 
carry the registration papers with them to a registered goat 
sale would not be required to apply tags for exhibition or 
sale at a registered goat sale. 

Any goat or sheep undergoing a change of ownership 
(including exhibition and/or importation into the state) not 
having an official identification shall be quarantined until 
the requirements of this regulation are met. 

In order to simplify identification requirements, livestock 
markets or sale/show managers may require that all 
animals be identified with official USDA tags. 

2 VAC 5-206-30. Importation of sheep and goats into 
Virginia. 

No sheep or goat may be imported into Virginia that does 
not originate from a consistent state, unless originating 
from a complete monitored scrapie flock or enrolled in the 
USDA Scrapie Flock Certification Program (SFCP).  All 
sheep or goats imported into the state of Virginia must be 
identified by official USDA tag, legible official goat 
registry tattoo if accompanied by a registration certificate, 
or other approved device that contains a premises 
identification issued by the state of origin in combination 
with a unique animal number.  No sheep or goat that is 
infected with scrapie, and no offspring of sheep or goat 
infected with scrapie, may be moved into Virginia. 

Except as stated below, all sheep and goats imported into 
Virginia must be accompanied by a Certificate of 
Veterinary Inspection (CVI). 

No CVI is required for animals going directly to slaughter. 

Animals entering Virginia from a state contiguous with 
Virginia without change in ownership or management and 
as a part of normal operating procedures may do so without 
a CVI. 

The CVI for all sheep or goats imported into Virginia shall 
contain identification numbers for each animal.  
Acceptable identification includes official USDA ear tags 
that include the premises identification and a unique 
animal identification number, legible official goat 
registration tattoo if accompanied by a registration 
certificate or any form of identification approved by 
APHIS for use in the scrapie eradication program. 
Electronic identification may also be used.  

2 VAC 5-206-40. Exhibition of sheep and goats. 

Sheep and goats entering Virginia for exhibition shall meet 
all requirements for entry into Virginia. 
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2 VAC 5-206-50. Scrapie management. 

All known cases of scrapie and any sheep or goat known to 
originate from a scrapie-infected flock or to have had 
contact with scrapie-infected animals or any sheep or goat 
showing clinical signs of  scrapie not known to be caused 
by some other disease or injury shall be isolated from all 
other nonaffected animals and reported to the State 
Veterinarian within 24 hours of the isolation. 

Upon notification of known cases of scrapie and all 
suspected cases of scrapie, the flock/herd shall be 
quarantined, investigated, all animals in the flock/herd 
individually identified, and a risk analysis conducted.  A 
diagnostic plan shall be developed and reviewed by the 
State Veterinarian utilizing approved live diagnostic tests 
and submission of appropriate samples to an approved 
laboratory for scrapie testing upon the death or destruction 
of any animals in a flock/herd quarantined for scrapie.  All 
flocks/herds shall remain under quarantine until a 
determination of the status of the flock/herd is made.  All 
flocks/herds under quarantine shall be examined at least 
yearly, or more frequently as determined by the State 
Veterinarian, and an inventory of all animals in the 
flock/herd recorded with all deaths, sales to slaughter, and 
destruction accounted for.  Upon confirmation of the 
existence of scrapie in a flock/herd, a thorough 
epidemiological report of all source flocks and herds and 
contacts with other animals shall be documented and a risk 
analysis conducted.  Subsequently all source flocks or 
herds and contacts of all confirmed or high risk scrapie 
flock/herd shall be quarantined, investigated, all animals in 
flock/herd individually identified, and a risk analysis 
conducted. 

Scrapie-positive or animals suspected of having scrapie 
shall be moved only with the approval of the State 
Veterinarian, for transportation to a USDA-approved 
research facility or for the purpose of destruction. 

All known scrapie-infected and source flocks/herds shall 
be quarantined with movements of animals only (i) to 
slaughter, (ii) to feedlots under permit and quarantine for 
later movement to slaughter, (iii) for destruction, or (iv) to 
a USDA-approved research facility.  Animals destroyed as 
a result of this section will be disposed of in a manner 
approved by the State Veterinarian. 

Infected and source flocks may be released from 
quarantine after completion of a USDA flock/herd plan or 
in an USDA approved pilot project flock/herd plan that 
includes the owners agreement to comply with a five-year 
postexposure monitoring and management plan.  The State 
Veterinarian may release any suspected case of scrapie 
from quarantine when other causes of the symptoms are 
confirmed and scrapie has not been diagnosed. 

Any flock/herd under quarantine that has not had a 
confirmation of scrapie diagnosis within five years that has 
followed the flock/herd plan shall be released from 
quarantine.  The State Veterinarian may release any 
flock/herd from quarantine based on epidemiological or 
diagnostic factors. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R03-237; Filed June 6, 2007, 9:16 a.m. 

  –––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The following regulations filed 
by the Marine Resources Commission are exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 
A 12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 20-380. Pertaining to Grey 
Trout (Weakfish) (amending 4 VAC 20-380-50 and 
4 VAC 20-380-60). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Brandy L. Battle, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 
23607, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or 
email brandy.battle@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments establish (i) a 150-pound commercial 
by-catch possession limit for grey trout, regardless as to 
whether a gear-specific fishery is subject to a closed 
season; and (ii) a six-fish recreational possession limit 
for grey trout.  

4 VAC 20-380-50. Commercial fishing season. 

A. The closed season on grey trout harvested by pound net 
shall be May 1 through May 22, and September 13 through 
March 31 except as provided in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection. 

1. Any pound net fisherman who holds 2 or 3 pound net 
licenses in accordance with the provisions of  4 VAC 20-
600-10 et seq. may forfeit only one of those licenses to 
be exempt from the closed seasons as established in this 
subsection. Any pound net fisherman who holds 4, 5, or 
6 pound net licenses in accordance with the provisions 
of 4 VAC 20-600-10 et seq. may forfeit only two of 
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those licenses to be exempt from the closed seasons as 
established in this subsection. Any pound net fisherman 
who holds 7, 8, or 9 pound net licenses in accordance 
with the provisions of 4 VAC 20-600-10 et seq. may 
forfeit only three of those licenses to be exempt from the 
closed seasons as established in this subsection. 
Forfeiture of any license shall be through March 31, of 
each fishing season, and shall occur prior to May 1 of 
each fishing season. 

2. Any pound net licensee who forfeits a license 
pursuant to subdivision 1 of this subsection shall retain 
his priority rights to such locations for future licensing 
until April 1 of the following fishing season. Any pound 
net fisherman who forfeits one or more pound net 
licenses may reclaim such licenses during the period of 
March 15 of the current fishing season through April 1 
of the following fishing season, but shall not set or fish 
any pound nets provided for by such licenses prior to 
April 1. 

3. Those pound net licensees who hold multiple gear 
licenses and satisfy the requirement of subdivision 1 of 
this subsection may transfer an unused license to a 
licensee who holds a single pound net license. 

B. The closed seasons on grey trout harvested by gill net 
shall be May 14 through October 20, and December 31 
through March 15. 

C. The closed seasons on grey trout harvested by haul 
seine shall be April 1 through April 15; June 11 through 
August 20; and September 25 through March 31. 

D. The closed season on landing grey trout harvested by 
trawl shall be September 26 through March 31. 

E. During any closed season described in subsections A, B, 
C, and D of this section, the boat or vessel possession limit 
for grey trout taken as by-catch in other directed fisheries 
shall be the lesser of 900 450 pounds or an amount equal to 
the number of registered commercial fishermen or seafood 
landing licensees on board multiplied by 300 150 pounds. 
For any gear type not subject to a closed season, the 
possession limit shall be the lesser of 450 pounds or an 
amount equal to the number of registered commercial 
fishermen or seafood landing licensees on board multiplied 
by 150 pounds. Only one license per person, either the 
commercial fisherman's registration license or seafood 
landing license, shall be used to calculate the boat or vessel 
possession limit. Further, during any closed season 
described in subsections A, B, C and D of this section, it 
shall be unlawful for any person to do any of the 
following: 

1. Possess grey trout less than 12 inches in total length. 

2. Possess aboard any vessel or land any quantity of grey 
trout that is more than the total weight of species other 
than grey trout on board the vessel. 

4 VAC 20-380-60. Recreational fishing seasons, 
minimum size limits, and possession limits. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with hook 
and line, rod and reel or hand line to possess more than 
seven six grey trout and the minimum size limit shall be 12 
inches in length. 

B. When fishing from a boat or vessel where the entire 
catch is held in a common hold or container, the possession 
limit shall be for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the 
number of persons on board legally eligible to fish 
multiplied by the designated possession limits established 
in subsection A of this section six. The captain or operator 
of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any boat or 
vessel possession limit. Any grey trout taken after the 
possession limit has been reached shall be returned to the 
water immediately. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-253; Filed May 23, 2007, 12:26 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 20-720. Pertaining to 
Restrictions on Oyster Harvest (amending 4 VAC 20-
720-10, 4 VAC 20-720-60 through 4 VAC 20-720-110; 
adding 4 VAC 20-720-105).    

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 23, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Brandy L. Battle, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 
23607, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or 
email brandy.battle@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments establish summer harvest hours and 
other restrictions for public and private oyster grounds 
in order to protect the public’s health. 

4 VAC 20-720-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to protect and conserve 
Virginia's oyster resource and, promote the preservation of 
oyster broodstock, which has been depleted by disease, 
harvesting, and natural disasters, and protect the public 
health. 

4 VAC 20-720-60. Day and time limit. 

A. It shall be unlawful to take, catch or possess oysters on 
Saturday and Sunday from the public oyster grounds or 
unassigned grounds in the waters of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia, except that this provision shall not apply to any 
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person harvesting no more than one bushel per day by hand 
for household use only during the season when the public 
oyster grounds or unassigned grounds are legally open for 
harvest.  The presence of any gear normally associated 
with the harvesting of oysters on board the boat or other 
vehicle used during any harvesting under this exception 
shall be prima facie evidence of violation of this chapter. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or attempt 
to harvest oysters prior to sunrise or after 2 p.m. from the 
areas described in subdivisions 1, 3 and 4 of 4 VAC 
20-720-40, except as described in 4 VAC 20-720-105. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or attempt 
to harvest oysters by dredge from private grounds in the 
Chesapeake Bay and it tributaries, including the tributaries 
of the Potomac River, until one hour before sunrise or after 
10 a.m. in the months of May through September and these 
oysters shall be refrigerated within one hour of landing. 

D. C. It shall be unlawful for a boat with an oyster dredge 
aboard to leave the dock until one hour before sunrise or 
return to the dock after sunset. 

E. D. It shall be unlawful for a boat with a hand scrape 
aboard to leave the dock until one-half hour before sunrise 
or return to the dock after sunset. 

4 VAC 20-720-70. Gear restrictions. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters in 
the James River Seed Areas, including the Deep Water 
Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area the James River Jail 
Island and Point of Shoals Clean Cull Areas, the 
Rappahannock River Hand Tong Area, the Corrotoman 
River Hand Tong Area, except by hand or ordinary tong.  
It shall be unlawful for any person to have a hand scrape 
on board a boat that is harvesting or attempting to harvest 
oysters from public grounds by hand tong. 

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the seaside 
of the Eastern Shore, except by hand. 

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the hand 
scrape areas in the Rappahannock River;  James River, 
Nomini River, Upper Chesapeake Bay, and York River, 
except by hand scrape. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to have more than 
one hand scrape on board any boat that is harvesting 
oysters or attempting to harvest oysters from public 
grounds.  It shall be unlawful for any person to have a hand 
tong on board a boat that is harvesting or attempting to 
harvest oysters from public grounds by hand scrape. 

E. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the 
Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Management Area, except 
by a standard oyster dredge. 

F. During the months of May through September any 
vessel used for the harvest of oysters from both public and 
private grounds shall have shading over the storage area 
for the oysters, and all oysters in the vessel shall be 
offloaded every day. 

4 VAC 20-720-80. Quotas and harvest limits. 

A. In the James River Seed Area, including the Deep 
Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area, there shall be 
an oyster harvest quota of 80,000 bushels of seed oysters.  
It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest seed oysters 
from the James River Seed Area after the 80,000 bushel 
quota has been reached.  In the James River Seed Area, 
including the Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed 
Area, and Clean Cull Areas there shall be an oyster harvest 
quota of 15,000 bushels of market clean cull oysters.  It 
shall be unlawful for any person to harvest market clean 
cull oysters from the James River Seed and Clean Cull 
Areas after the 15,000 bushel quota has been reached. 

B. The lawful daily limit of clean cull oysters harvested 
from the areas as described in subdivision 3 of 4 VAC 20-
720-40 shall be determined by the number of registered 
commercial fishermen licensees on board the vessel 
multiplied by 10 bushels.  It shall be unlawful to possess 
on board any vessel or to land more than the daily limit of 
clean cull oysters. 

C. In the PTSMA in Tangier Sound and in the Pocomoke 
Sound, where harvesting is allowed by dredge, there shall 
be a harvest limit of eight bushels per registered 
commercial fisherman licensee on board the vessel.  It 
shall be unlawful for any registered commercial fisherman 
licensee to possess more than eight bushels per day.  No 
blue crab bycatch is allowed.  It shall be unlawful to 
possess on board any vessel more than 250 hard clams. 

D. Harvesters who export the oysters to an out-of-state 
market or do not sell the oysters to a licensed and 
Department of Health certified Virginia buyer but sell the 
oysters directly to the public for human consumption shall 
report oysters harvested on a daily basis and pay oyster 
taxes weekly. 

4 VAC 20-720-90. Harvest permit required; for the 
James River Hand Scrape Area; and Thomas Rock 
Hand Scrape Area;  and Seaside of Eastern Shore. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest, or attempt 
to harvest, oysters from leased oyster ground, fee simple 
ground, or aquacultural operations on the Seaside of 
Eastern Shore without first obtaining a harvest permit from 
the Marine Resources Commission. 

B. Applicants for the harvest permit shall have paid all rent 
fees and shall specify the location of the lease or fee simple 
ground to be harvested and shall verify that the ground is 
marked properly as specified by 4 VAC 20-290. 
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C. Applicants for the permit to harvest from aquacultural 
operations shall have these operations verified by the 
Marine Resources Commission and with this aquaculture 
harvest permit shall be exempt from all other fisheries 
regulations pertaining to harvesting and handling of wild 
oyster stocks. 

D. No person shall hold more than four permits at any 
time. 

E. The aquaculture harvest permit does not eliminate or 
exempt the aquacultural operation from all applicable 
Division of Shellfish Sanitation regulations pertaining to 
the harvest and marketing of shellfish. 

F. A permit is required for the James River Hand Scrape 
Area and the Thomas Rock Hand Scrape Area.  It shall be 
unlawful for any person to harvest, or attempt to harvest, 
oysters from the James River Hand Scrape Area and the 
Thomas Rock Hand Scrape Area without first obtaining a 
harvest permit from the Marine Resources Commission as 
required by § 28.2-518 of the Code of Virginia. 

4 VAC 20-720-105. Public health and warm water 
harvest restrictions. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to have any cat, dog, 
or other animal on board a vessel during the harvest of 
oysters. 

B. From May 1 through September 30, any vessel used for 
the harvest of oysters for human consumption from either 
public or private grounds shall have shading over the area 
that serves as storage for the oysters (except as described in 
subsection C of this section), and all oysters in the vessel 
shall be offloaded every day. 

C. From May 1 through September 30, any vessel used for 
the harvest of oysters for human consumption that are 
placed in an aquaculture container completely covered by a 
lid or top, shall not be required to have shading over that 
container. 

D. From May 1 through September 30, it shall be unlawful 
for any person, or person aboard a vessel, to leave the dock 
or shore prior to one hour before sunrise to harvest or 
attempt to harvest oysters from public or private grounds.   

E. From May 1 through September 30, it shall be unlawful 
to harvest oysters for human consumption from public or 
private grounds after 10 a.m., and oysters harvested before 
10 a.m. shall be refrigerated by 10 a.m. that same day, 
except as described below: 

1. This shall not apply to the harvest of seed oysters or 
the customary husbandry processes associated with 
aquaculture of oysters. 

2. Oysters may be harvested after 10 a.m. provided there 
is a Virginia Department of Health, Division of Shellfish 

Sanitation-approved refrigeration system or ice storage 
area for the oysters on board the harvest vessel that is in 
use for cooling oysters at all times after 10 a.m. 

3. The total time expended on harvesting those oysters 
does not exceed two hours from start of harvest to 
refrigeration of those oysters, and there is verifiable 
documentation, such as a log book or GPS trip log that 
corresponds to that harvesting event. 

4 VAC 20-720-110. Penalty. 

A. As set forth in § 28.2-903 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person violating any provision of this chapter shall be 
guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor and a second or 
subsequent violation of any provision of this chapter 
committed by the same person within 12 months of a prior 
violation is a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

B. In addition to the penalty prescribed by law, any person 
violating the any provisions of this chapter shall return all 
oysters in possession to the water, shall cease harvesting on 
that day, and all harvesting apparatus shall be subject to 
seizure. 

C. In addition to the penalty prescribed by § 28.2-802 of 
the Code of Virginia, any person violating any provisions 
of 4 VAC 20-720-105 shall destroy all oysters harvested 
by that person in violation of 4 VAC 20-720-105 in the 
presence of a marine police officer, and shall be subject to 
the immediate forfeiture of all oyster licenses and permits 
until appearing before the Marine Resources Commission. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-254; Filed May 24, 2007, 9:34 a.m. 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 20-1120. Pertaining to 
Tilefish and Grouper (amending 4 VAC 20-1120-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-210 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 29, 2007, through June 28, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Brandy L. Battle, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 
23607, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or 
email brandy.battle@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The emergency amendment corrects the scientific name 
for Coney, Graysby, Yellowmouth grouper and Sand 
tilefish. 

4 VAC 20-1120-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise. 
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"Commercial fishing" or "fishing commercially" or 
"commercial fishery" means fishing by any person where 
the catch is for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial 
purpose, or is intended for sale, barter, trade, or any 
commercial purpose. 

"Grouper" means any of the following species: 
Black grouper, Mycteroperca bonaci 
Coney, Epinephelus fulvus Cephalopholis fulva 
Gag grouper, Mycteroperca microlepis 
Goliath grouper, Epinephelus itajara 
Graysby, Epinephelus cruentatus Cephalopholis 
cruentata 
Misty grouper, Epinephelus mystacinus 
Nassau grouper, Epinephelus striatus 
Red grouper, Epinephelus morio 
Red Hind, Epinephelus guttatus 
Rock Hind, Epinephelus adscensionis 
Scamp, Mycteroperca phenax 
Snowy grouper, Epinephelus niveatus 
Speckled Hind, Epinephelus drummondhayi 
Tiger grouper, Mycteroperca tigris 
Warsaw grouper, Epinephelus nigritus 
Wreckfish, Polyprion americanus 
Yellowedge grouper, Epinephelus flavolimbatus 
Yellowfin grouper, Mycteroperca venenosa 
Yellowmouth grouper, Mycteroperca interstilitialis 
interstitialis 

"Recreational fishing" or "fishing recreationally" or 
"recreationally fishing" means fishing by any person, 
whether licensed or exempted from licensing, where the 
catch is not for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial 
purpose, or is not intended for sale, barter, trade, or any 
commercial purpose. 

"Tilefish" means any of the following species: 
Blueline tilefish, Caulolatilus microps 
Golden tilefish, Lopholatilus chamaeleonticeps 
Sand tilefish, Lutjanus vivanus Malacanthus plumieri 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-255; Filed May 23, 2007, 12:31 p.m. 

  –––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

BOARD OF FORENSIC SCIENCE 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  6 VAC 40-50. Regulations for the 
Approval of Marijuana Field Tests for Detection of 
Marijuana Plant Material (adding 6 VAC 40-50-10 
through 6 VAC 40-50-80). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 9.1-1110 and 19.2-188.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  August 8, 2007 -- 10 a.m. 
Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on 
August 24, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Agency Contact:  Michele M. Gowdy, Department 
Counsel, Board of Forensic Science, 700 North Fifth 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6848, 
FAX (804) 786-6857, or email 
michele.gowdy@dfs.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  During its 2006 Session, the General Assembly 
amended § 19.2-188.1 of the Code of Virginia to require 
the Department of Forensic Science to approve marijuana 
field tests for use by law-enforcement officers to enable 
them to testify to the results obtained in any trial for a 
violation of § 18.2-250.1 of the Code of Virginia regarding 
whether or not any plant material, the identity of which is 
at issue, is marijuana.  The amendment to § 19.2-188.1 
further specifies that the department shall approve those 
marijuana field tests deemed accurate and reliable pursuant 
to regulations adopted in accordance with the 
Administrative Process Act. 

Purpose:  By amending § 19.2-188.1 of the Code of 
Virginia to allow law-enforcement officers to testify to the 
results of marijuana field tests, the General Assembly 
determined that such an action would assist officers as they 
strive to protect the health, safety and welfare of Virginia’s 
citizens.  The proposed regulations are necessary to fulfill 
the General Assembly’s mandate.  These regulations 
establish the process of approval, approval authority, 
criteria for approval, notification methods, fee assessment, 
and publication procedures associated with marijuana field 
tests or marijuana field test kits submitted by 
manufacturers to the department. 

Substance:  This proposed regulatory action is designed to 
ensure continuity from the emergency regulations in 
compliance with § 19.2-188.1 to these proposed 
regulations.  Effective July 2006, § 19.2-188.1 B was 
amended to permit law-enforcement officers to testify at 
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trial for simple possession of marijuana cases to the results 
of a field test regarding whether or not any plant material, 
the identity of which is at issue, is marijuana.  In 
accordance with § 19.2-188.1 B, officers may only testify 
to the results of kits deemed accurate and reliable by the 
department pursuant to regulations adopted in accordance 
with the Administrative Process Act.  These regulations 
establish permanently the process the department will 
follow for approving kits and describe where law-
enforcement agencies can find the list of approved kits.  
Without these regulations, there would be no permanent 
approved marijuana field tests for use by law enforcement. 

Issues:  There are no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth.  The proposed regulations are necessary 
to fulfill the General Assembly's mandate.  These 
regulations establish the process of approval, approval 
authority, criteria for approval, notification methods, fee 
assessment, and publication procedures associated with 
marijuana field tests or marijuana field test kits submitted 
by manufacturers to the department. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Regulation.  Pursuant to 
legislation passed during the 2006 General Assembly 
session, the Department of Forensic Science (DFS) 
proposes regulations that set procedures for approving 
marijuana field tests. 

Result of Analysis.  The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
this proposed regulatory change. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  Prior to promulgation of 
emergency regulations in June 2006, law-enforcement 
officers who needed to know if seized plant material was 
marijuana would have to send that material to an approved 
lab where it would be tested.  During its 2006 session, the 
General Assembly passed legislation which allows police 
officers to perform marijuana field tests using tests DFS 
approved as accurate.  This legislation also allows law-
enforcement officers to testify about the results of these 
tests in court, both in preliminary hearings and at trial, so 
long as the tests used have been deemed accurate by DFS. 
To facilitate implementation of this legislation, and 
because they are the authority tasked with approving 
marijuana field test kits, DFS implemented emergency 
regulations, and is now proposing permanent regulations, 
that set out procedures for the approval process. 

These regulations require that manufacturers who are 
seeking approval for their tests submit at least 10 field kits 
that include all material needed for testing as well as any 
“instructions, precautions, color charts, flow charts and the 
like” so that DFS can assess the kit’s ease of use and 
accuracy. Per the proposed regulation, the fee charged by 
DFS for this assessment is $50. Manufacturers will also 

need to submit specifications for the chemicals and 
reagents used in the tests. DFS will have up to 90 days to 
approve or disapprove a manufacturers test and will be 
required to provide written notice of their decision. DFS 
may require manufacturers to seek annual re-approval for 
tests and any modifications made to tests by manufacturers 
must also be approved by DFS. Once approved, DFS will, 
at the request of law-enforcement agencies, dispense field 
test kits. The number of field test kits dispensed to any 
given law-enforcement agency will depend on the number 
of marijuana convictions in that locality in prior years. 
Law-enforcement agencies will also be able to purchase 
approved test kits if they want to use more kits than are 
provided to them. 

The proposed regulations, and their authorizing legislation, 
will prove beneficial for law-enforcement officers, 
individuals who are in possession of suspect material and 
for the public at large. Law-enforcement officers will 
waste less of their time and resources on arrests and 
evidence processing for plant material that turns out to not 
be marijuana. Officers will also be able to assure chain of 
evidence since plant materials will not leave their custody 
until after testing. Individuals who would have previously 
been arrested for and/or charged with marijuana 
possession, only to be proven innocent by delayed lab 
tests, will benefit from on the spot testing These 
individuals will also benefit because a truncated chain of 
evidence will likely help protect against evidence 
mishandling which may lead to faulty convictions. The 
public will likely benefit both financially and because 
justice will be swifter and likely more accurate.  Field 
testing (at $0.88 to $2.00 per test) is much cheaper than lab 
testing; other thing being equal, taxpayers will likely save 
money as the use of field tests increases.  This effect may 
be somewhat offset because the ease-of-use for these tests 
may encourage law-enforcement officers to test more 
material than they previously would have. If marijuana 
testing increases, localities and the state may incur extra 
imprisonment costs for any individuals who are convicted 
for possession (or other drug related crimes) when they 
previously would not have been.  

Businesses and Entities Affected.  These proposed 
regulations will affect all state and local law-enforcement 
agencies as well as test manufacturers and the general 
public. DFS reports that there are in excess of 200 law-
enforcement agencies in the Commonwealth and that there 
are currently three manufacturers who have tests approved. 
One of these manufacturers is located in McLean, Virginia. 
The other two manufacturers are located out-of-state. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  The proposed regulation 
will affect all local law-enforcement agencies in the 
Commonwealth. Individuals who live in Fairfax County 
may enjoy greater employment opportunities if the test 
manufacturer located there needs to increase the number of 
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people it employs in order to meet increased demand for 
marijuana field test kits. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  Manufacturers of 
approved test kits, whether located in Virginia or 
elsewhere, will likely experience an increase in the demand 
for their product and may, as a consequence, increase the 
number of people they employ.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  
Manufacturers of approved test kits, whether located in 
Virginia or elsewhere, will likely experience an increase in 
the demand for their product. This increase in demand will 
lead to increased sales. Assuming the cost of 
manufacturing these kits does not exceed or equal the 
revenue generated by their sale, manufacturers will see 
increased profits.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  Manufacturers 
who choose to seek DFS approval for their marijuana test 
kits will be required to pay a $50 assessment fee.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  There is likely no alternative method of 
accomplishing the aims of these proposed regulations that 
would further minimize costs. 

Legal Mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 
21 (02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom 
the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities 
and types of businesses or other entities particularly 
affected, the projected number of persons and employment 
positions to be affected, the projected costs to affected 
businesses or entities to implement or comply with the 
regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 
property.  Further, if the proposed regulation has an 
adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007 H requires 
that such economic impact analyses include (i) an 
identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the 
regulation, including the type of professional skills 
necessary for preparing required reports and other 
documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 
regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a 
description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative 
methods of achieving the purpose of the regulation.  The 
analysis presented above represents DPB’s best estimate of 
these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Department of 

Forensic Science concurs with the economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Virginia Department of Planning 
and Budget. 

Summary: 

Section 19.2-188.1 B of the Code of Virginia provides 
that the Department of Forensic Science shall approve 
marijuana field tests for use by law-enforcement officers 
to enable them to testify to the results obtained in any 
trial for a violation of § 18.2-250.1 regarding whether 
or not any plant material, the identity of which is at 
issue, is marijuana.  These new regulations establish the 
process of approval, approval authority, criteria for 
approval, notification methods, fee assessment, and 
publication procedures associated with marijuana field 
tests or marijuana field test kits submitted by 
manufacturers to the department. 

CHAPTER 50. 
REGULATIONS FOR THE APPROVAL OF 

MARIJUANA FIELD TESTS FOR DETECTION OF 
MARIJUANA PLANT MATERIAL. 

PART I. 
DEFINITIONS. 

6 VAC 40-50-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Agency" means any federal, state or local government 
law-enforcement organization in the Commonwealth.  

"Approval authority" means the Director of the 
Department of Forensic Science or his designee.  

“Department” means the Department of Forensic Science. 

"List of approved marijuana field tests" means a list of 
Duquenois-Levine field tests approved by the department 
for use by law-enforcement agencies in the 
Commonwealth and periodically published by the 
department in the Virginia Register of Regulations in 
accordance with § 19.2-188.1 B of the Code of Virginia.  

"Manufacturer" means any entity that makes or assembles 
marijuana field tests or marijuana field test kits to be used 
by any law-enforcement officer or agency in the 
Commonwealth for the purpose of detecting marijuana 
plant material.  

"Manufacturer’s instructions and claims" means those 
testing procedures, requirements, instructions, precautions 
and proposed conclusions that are published by the 
manufacturer and supplied with the marijuana field tests or 
marijuana field test kits.  
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"Marijuana" means marijuana as defined in § 18.2-247 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

"Marijuana field test" means any Duquenois-Levine test 
unit used outside of a chemical laboratory environment to 
detect the presence of marijuana plant material.  

"Marijuana field test kit" means a combination of 
individual marijuana field test units.  

PART II. 
PROCESS FOR APPROVAL OF FIELD TESTS. 

6 VAC 40-50-20. Authority for approval. 

Section 19.2-188.1 B of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the Department of Forensic Science shall approve 
marijuana field tests for use by law-enforcement officers to 
enable them to testify to the results obtained in any trial for 
a violation of § 18.2-250.1 of the Code of Virginia 
regarding whether or not any plant material, the identify of 
which is at issue, is marijuana. 

6 VAC 40-50-30. Request for approval. 

A. Any manufacturer who wishes to have marijuana field 
tests or marijuana field test kits approved pursuant to this 
chapter shall submit a written request for approval to the 
department director at the following address:  
Director 
Department of Forensic Science  
700 North Fifth Street 
Richmond, VA 23219.  

B. Materials sufficient for at least 10 marijuana field tests 
shall be supplied by each manufacturer.  The materials 
shall include all instructions, precautions, color charts, 
flow charts and the like that are provided with the 
marijuana field test or marijuana field test kit and that 
describe the use and interpretation of the tests.  

C. The manufacturer shall also include exact specifications 
as to the chemical composition of all chemicals or reagents 
used in the marijuana field tests.  These shall include the 
volume or weight of the chemicals and the nature of their 
packaging.  Material safety data sheets for each chemical 
or reagent shall be sufficient for this purpose. 

D. This approval may require up to 90 days from the 
receipt of the written request and all needed materials from 
the manufacturer. 

E. The department will use marijuana plant material to 
assess those marijuana field tests submitted for approval.  
In order to be approved, the marijuana field test must 
correctly and consistently react in a clearly observable 
fashion to the naked eye, and perform in accordance with 
manufacturer’s instructions and claims.   

6 VAC 40-50-40. Notice of approval. 

The department will notify each manufacturer in writing of 
the approval or disapproval of each test for which approval 
was requested.  Should any test not be approved, the 
manufacturer may resubmit their request for approval of 
that marijuana field test according to the previously 
outlined procedures at any time.  

6 VAC 40-50-50. Maintenance of approved status. 

The department may require that this approval be done as 
often as annually for routine purposes. If any modifications 
are made to an approved marijuana field test by the 
manufacturer, the department shall be notified in writing of 
the changes.  If unreported modifications are discovered by 
the department, the department may require that all testing 
and approval be repeated for the particular manufacturers' 
approved marijuana field tests.  The department shall 
notify the manufacturer in writing of this requirement.  
Any modified marijuana field test must be approved before 
it can be used in accordance with § 19.2-188.1 B of the 
Code of Virginia.  These changes shall include, but are not 
limited to, any chemical, procedural or instructional 
modifications made to the marijuana field test. 

6 VAC 40-50-60. Publication. 

Upon completion of such testing and in concurrence with 
the approval authority, the department will periodically 
publish a list of approved marijuana field tests in the 
General Notices section of the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. The department will also periodically publish 
the list on its website. The department may, in addition, 
provide copies of its approved list to any law-enforcement 
agency. The department may share any information or data 
developed from this testing with these agencies. 

6 VAC 40-50-70. Liability. 

A. The department assumes no liability as to the safety of 
these marijuana field tests or marijuana field test kits, any 
chemicals contained therein or the procedures and 
instructions by which they are used.  

B. The department further assumes no responsibility for 
any misuse or incorrect interpretation of results. 

PART III. 
FEES. 

6 VAC 40-50-80. Fees. 

Manufacturers will be charged a fee of $50 for each 
marijuana field test for which individual approval is 
requested.  The department will evaluate the 
manufacturers’ request and notify them in writing of the 
amount due before testing begins. Manufacturers who wish 
to withdraw a request for approval shall immediately notify 
the department in writing. The department’s assessment of 
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the amount of payment required will be based upon a 
detailed evaluation of the manufacturer’s request and that 
amount will be final. Approval will not be granted before 
full payment is made to the Treasurer of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-284; Filed June 1, 2007, 10:59 a.m. 

  –––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action 
is exempt from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The State Air Pollution Control 
Board will receive, consider and respond to petitions by 
any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9 VAC 5-30. Ambient Air Quality 
Standards (amending 9 VAC 5-30-60 and 9 VAC 5-30-
65; adding 9 VAC 5-30-15 and 9 VAC 5-30-66). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; 
§§ 108, 109 and 302 of the Clean Air Act; 40 CFR Parts 
50, 53 and 58. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 
1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, 
FAX (804) 698-4510 or email 
kgsabastea@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapter 30 of the Regulations for the Control and 
Abatement of Air Pollution contains the specific criteria 
pollutant standards set out in 40 CFR Part 50. The 
standard for particulate matter with an aerodynamic 
diameter less than or equal to 2.5 micrometers (PM2.5) 
was revised to add a new 24-hour standard of 35 µg/m3. 
The current 24-hour standard of 65µg/m3 is being 
retained during the transition to the new standard. 
Transitional language was added to clarify 
implementation of these standards. The annual PM2.5 
standard of 15 µg/m3 remains unchanged. Obsolete 
language referencing the annual PM10 standard was 
removed. Finally, certain reference conditions were 
added. 

9 VAC 5-30-15. Reference conditions. 

All measurements of air quality that are expressed as mass 
per unit volume (e.g., micrograms per cubic meter) other 
than for the particulate matter (PM2.5) standards contained 
in 9 VAC 5-30-65 and 9 VAC 5-30-66 shall be corrected 
to a reference temperature of 25°C and a reference pressure 
of 760 millimeters of mercury (1,013.2 millibars). 
Measurements of PM2.5 for purposes of comparison to the 
standards contained in 9 VAC 5-30-65 and 9 VAC 5-30-66 
shall be reported based on actual ambient air volume 
measured at the actual ambient temperature and pressure at 
the monitoring site during the measurement period. 

9 VAC 5-30-60. Particulate matter (PM10). 

A. 1. The primary and secondary 24-hour ambient air 
quality standard is 150 micrograms per cubic meter--24-
hour average concentration. 

2. The standard is attained when the expected number of 
days per calendar year with a 24-hour average 
concentration above 150 micrograms per cubic meter, as 
determined in accordance with Appendix K of 40 CFR 
Part 50, is equal to or less than one. 

B. 1. The primary and secondary annual ambient air 
quality standard is 50 micrograms per cubic meter--annual 
arithmetic mean (Reserved). 

2. The standard is attained when the expected annual 
arithmetic mean concentration, as determined in 
accordance with Appendix K of 40 CFR Part 50, is less 
than or equal to 50 micrograms per cubic meter. 

C. For the purpose of determining attainment of the 
primary and secondary standards, particulate matter shall 
be measured in the ambient air as PM10 (particles with an 
aerodynamic diameter less than or equal to a nominal 10 
micrometers) by the a reference method described in based 
on Appendix J of 40 CFR Part 50, or other method 
designated as such, or by an equivalent method. 

9 VAC 5-30-65. Particulate matter (PM2.5). 

A. The primary and secondary ambient air quality 
standards for particulate matter (PM2.5 ) are: 

1. 15.0 micrograms per cubic meter -- annual arithmetic 
mean concentration. 

2. 65 micrograms per cubic meter -- 24-hour average 
concentration. 

B. Particulate matter shall be measured in the ambient air 
as P2.5 (particles with an aerodynamic diameter less than or 
equal to a nominal 2.5 micrometers) by the a reference 
method described in based on Appendix L of 40 CFR Part 
50, or other method designated as such, or by an equivalent 
method. 
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C. The annual primary and secondary PM2.5 standards are 
met when the annual arithmetic mean concentration, as 
determined in accordance with Appendix N of 40 CFR Part 
50, is less than or equal to 15.0 micrograms per cubic 
meter. 

D. The 24-hour primary and secondary PM2.5 standards are 
met when the 98th percentile 24-hour concentration, as 
determined in accordance with Appendix N of 40 CFR Part 
50, is less than or equal to 65 micrograms per cubic meter. 

E. The primary and secondary ambient air quality 
standards for particulate matter (PM10 ) are: 

1. 50 micrograms per cubic meter --annual arithmetic 
mean concentration 

2. 150 micrograms per cubic meter --24-hour average 
concentration. 

F. Particulate matter shall be measured in the ambient air 
as PM10 (particles with an aerodynamic diameter less than 
or equal to a nominal 10 micrometers) by the reference 
method described in Appendix M of 40 CFR Part 50, or 
other method designated as such, or by equivalent method. 

G. The annual primary and secondary PM10 standards are 
met when the annual arithmetic mean concentration, as 
determined in accordance with Appendix N of 40 CFR Part 
50, is less than or equal to 50 micrograms per cubic meter. 

H. The 24-hour primary and secondary PM10 standards are 
met when the 99th percentile 24-hour concentration, as 
determined in accordance with Appendix N of 40 CFR Part 
50, is less than or equal to 150 micrograms per cubic 
meter. 

E. The PM2.5 standards set forth in this section were 
established by EPA on July 18, 1997 (62 FR 38856) and 
became effective on September 8, 2004, by adoption by the 
board. The PM2.5 standards set forth in this section shall 
continue to apply only for purposes of the following: 

1. Control strategy implementation plan revisions, 
maintenance plans, and associated emissions budgets 
relative to the PM2.5 standards in this section. 

2. Designation of nonattainment areas and maintenance 
areas relative to the PM2.5 standards in this section. 

Nothing in this section shall prevent the redesignation of 
any nonattainment area to attainment at any time. 

9 VAC 5-30-66. Particulate matter (PM2.5). 

A. The primary and secondary ambient air quality 
standards for particulate matter are: 

1. 15.0 micrograms per cubic meter annual arithmetic 
mean concentration. 

2. 35 micrograms per cubic meter, 24-hour average 
concentration measured in the ambient air as PM2.5 
(particles with an aerodynamic diameter less than or 
equal to a nominal 2.5 micrometers). 

B. Particulate matter shall be measured in the ambient air 
as PM2.5 (particles with an aerodynamic diameter less than 
or equal to a nominal 2.5 micrometers) by a reference 
method based on Appendix L of 40 CFR Part 50, or other 
method designated as such, or an equivalent method. 

C. The annual primary and secondary PM2.5 standards are 
met when the annual arithmetic mean concentration, as 
determined in accordance with Appendix N of 40 CFR Part 
50, is less than or equal to 15.0 micrograms per cubic 
meter. 

D. The 24-hour primary and secondary PM2.5 standards are 
met when the 98th percentile 24-hour concentration, as 
determined in accordance with Appendix N of 40 CFR Part 
50, is less than or equal to 35 micrograms per cubic meter. 

E. The PM2.5 standards set forth in this section were 
established by EPA on October 17, 2006 (71 FR 61224), 
and shall become effective in the Commonwealth on August 
1, 2007. The PM2.5 standards set forth in this section shall 
apply for purposes of the following: 

1. Control strategy implementation plan revisions, 
maintenance plans, and associated emissions budgets 
relative to the PM2.5 standards in this section. 

2. Designation of nonattainment areas and maintenance 
areas relative to the PM2.5 standards in this section. 

3. Implementation of the new source review programs set 
forth in Part II (9 VAC 5-80-50 et seq.) of 9 VAC 5-80 
(Permits for Stationary Sources). 

Nothing in this section shall prevent the redesignation of 
any nonattainment area to attainment at any time. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-265; Filed June 1, 2007, 9:10 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action 
is exempt from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The State Air Pollution Control 
Board will receive, consider and respond to petitions by 
any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 9 VAC 5-20. General Provisions 
(amending 9 VAC 5-20-21). 
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9 VAC 5-40. Existing Stationary Sources (adding 
9 VAC 5-40-7550 through 9 VAC 5-40-7710). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; 
§§ 110, 111, 123, 129, 171, 172 and 182 of the Clean Air 
Act; 40 CFR Parts 51 and 60. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 
1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, 
FAX (804) 698-4510 or email 
kgsabastea@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulation applies to sources subject to federal Best 
Available Retrofit Technology (BART) requirements. 
BART is an emission limitation based on the degree of 
reduction achievable through application of the best 
system of continuous emission reduction for each 
pollutant emitted by an existing stationary facility 
established on a case-by-case basis taking into 
consideration available technology, costs of compliance, 
energy and nonair quality environmental impacts of 
compliance, any pollution control equipment in use or in 
existence, the remaining useful life of the source, and the 
degree of improvement in visibility that may reasonably 
be anticipated to result from the use of such technology. 
A BART-eligible source has the potential to emit 250 
tons or more of a visibility-impairing air pollutant 
(sulfur dioxide, nitrogen oxides, particulate matter, 
volatile organic compounds, and ammonia), was in 
place between August 7, 1962, and August 7, 1977, and 
falls within one or more of 26 source categories. BART 
is required for any BART-eligible source that emits any 
air pollutant that may reasonably be anticipated to 
cause or contribute to visibility impairment in any 
federal Class I area.  

In addition to describing applicability, the regulation 
describes exemptions from control, and defines terms 
unique to the rule. A standard for regional haze 
pollutants is established. Criteria and procedures for 
making BART determinations are described. State 
standards for visible emissions, fugitive dust/emissions, 
odor, and toxic pollutants are referenced. Compliance 
requirements, including testing schedules, are specified. 
Test methods and procedures for determining 
compliance are included. Equipment necessary to 
monitor compliance are to be installed, calibrated, 
maintained, and operated. Records of monitoring and 
test results are to be gathered, maintained, and reported 
at certain intervals. In the event of facility and control 
equipment maintenance or malfunction, certain 
procedures must be followed. Finally, references are 

provided for state requirements for registration and 
permits. 

9 VAC 5-20-21. Documents incorporated by reference. 

A. The Administrative Process Act and Virginia Register 
Act provide that state regulations may incorporate 
documents by reference. Throughout these regulations, 
documents of the types specified below have been 
incorporated by reference. 

1. United States Code. 

2. Code of Virginia. 

3. Code of Federal Regulations. 

4. Federal Register. 

5. Technical and scientific reference documents. 

Additional information on key federal regulations and 
nonstatutory documents incorporated by reference and 
their availability may be found in subsection E of this 
section. 

B. Any reference in these regulations to any provision of 
the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) shall be considered 
as the adoption by reference of that provision. The specific 
version of the provision adopted by reference shall be that 
contained in the CFR (2004 2007) in effect July 1, 2004 
2007. In making reference to the Code of Federal 
Regulations, 40 CFR Part 35 means Part 35 of Title 40 of 
the Code of Federal Regulations; 40 CFR 35.20 means 
§ 35.20 in Part 35 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal 
Regulations. 
C. Failure to include in this section any document 
referenced in the regulations shall not invalidate the 
applicability of the referenced document. 

D. Copies of materials incorporated by reference in this 
section may be examined by the public at the central office 
of the Department of Environmental Quality, Eighth Floor, 
629 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, between 8:30 
a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business day. 

E. Information on federal regulations and nonstatutory 
documents incorporated by reference and their availability 
may be found below in this subsection. 

1. Code of Federal Regulations. 

a. The provisions specified below from the Code of 
Federal Regulations (CFR) are incorporated herein by 
reference. 

(1) 40 CFR Part 50-National Primary and Secondary 
Ambient Air Quality Standards. 

(a) Appendix A--Reference Method for the 
Determination of Sulfur Dioxide in the 
Atmosphere (Pararosaniline Method). 
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(b) Appendix B--Reference Method for the 
Determination of Suspended Particulate Matter in 
the Atmosphere (High-Volume Method). 

(c) Appendix C--Measurement Principle and 
Calibration Procedure for the Continuous 
Measurement of Carbon Monoxide in the 
Atmosphere (Non-Dispersive Infrared 
Photometry). 

(d) Appendix D--Measurement Principle and 
Calibration Procedure for the Measurement of 
Ozone in the Atmosphere. 

(e) Appendix E--Reference Method for 
Determination of Hydrocarbons Corrected for 
Methane. 

(f) Appendix F--Measurement Principle and 
Calibration Procedure for the Measurement of 
Nitrogen Dioxide in the Atmosphere (Gas Phase 
Chemiluminescence). 

(g) Appendix G--Reference Method for the 
Determination of Lead in Suspended Particulate 
Matter Collected from Ambient Air. 

(h) Appendix H--Interpretation of the National 
Ambient Air Quality Standards for Ozone. 

(i) Appendix I--Reserved. 

(j) Appendix J--Reference Method for the 
Determination of Particulate Matter as PM sub10 
in the Atmosphere. 

(k) Appendix K--Interpretation of the National 
Ambient Air Quality Standards for Particulate 
Matter. 

(2) 40 CFR Part 51--Requirements for Preparation, 
Adoption, and Submittal of Implementation Plans. 

Appendix M--Recommended Test Methods for 
State Implementation Plans. 

Appendix S--Emission Offset Interpretive Ruling. 

Appendix W--Guideline on Air Quality Models 
(Revised). 

Appendix Y - Guidelines for BART Determinations 
Under the Regional Haze Rule. 

(3) 40 CFR Part 58--Ambient Air Quality 
Surveillance. 

Appendix B--Quality Assurance Requirements for 
Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) Air 
Monitoring. 

(4) 40 CFR Part 60--Standards of Performance for 
New Stationary Sources. 

The specific provisions of 40 CFR Part 60 
incorporated by reference are found in Article 5 
(9 VAC 5-50-400 et seq.) of Part II of Chapter 50, 
Rule 5-5, Environmental Protection Agency 
Standards of Performance for New Stationary 
Sources 9 VAC 5-50 (New and Modified Sources). 

(5) 40 CFR Part 61--National Emission Standards 
for Hazardous Air Pollutants. 

The specific provisions of 40 CFR Part 61 
incorporated by reference are found in Article 1 
(9 VAC 5-60-60 et seq.) of Part II of Chapter 60, 
Rule 6-1, Environmental Protection Agency 
National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants 9 VAC 5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant 
Sources). 

(6) 40 CFR Part 63--National Emission Standards 
for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories. 

The specific provisions of 40 CFR Part 63 
incorporated by reference are found in Article 2 
(9 VAC 5-60-90 et seq.) of Part II of Chapter 60, 
Rule 6-2, Environmental Protection Agency 
National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants for Source Categories 9 VAC 5-60 
(Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources). 

(7) 40 CFR Part 59, Subpart D-National Volatile 
Organic Compound Emission Standards for 
Architectural Coatings, Appendix A--
"Determination of Volatile Matter Content of 
Methacrylate Multicomponent Coatings Used as 
Traffic Marking Coatings." 

(8) 40 CFR Part 64, Compliance Assurance 
Monitoring. 

(9) 40 CFR Part 72, Permits Regulation. 

(10) 40 CFR Part 73, Sulfur Dioxide Allowance 
System. 

(11) 40 CFR Part 74, Sulfur Dioxide Opt-Ins. 

(12) 40 CFR Part 75, Continuous Emission 
Monitoring. 

(13) 40 CFR Part 76, Acid Rain Nitrogen Oxides 
Emission Reduction Program. 

(14) 40 CFR Part 77, Excess Emissions. 

(15) 40 CFR Part 78, Appeal Procedures for Acid 
Rain Program. 

(16) 40 CFR Part 59 Subpart C, National Volatile 
Organic Compound Emission Standards for 
Consumer Products. 
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b. Copies may be obtained from: Superintendent of 
Documents, P.O. Box 371954, Pittsburgh, 
Pennsylvania 15250-7954; phone (202) 783-3238. 

2. U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

a. The following documents from the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency are incorporated 
herein by reference: 

(1) Reich Test, Atmospheric Emissions from 
Sulfuric Acid Manufacturing Processes, Public 
Health Service Publication No. PB82250721, 1980. 

(2) Compilation of Air Pollutant Emission Factors 
(AP-42). Volume I: Stationary and Area Sources, 
stock number 055-000-00500-1, 1995; Supplement 
A, stock number 055-000-00551-6, 1996; 
Supplement B, stock number 055-000-00565, 1997; 
Supplement C, stock number 055-000-00587-7, 
1997; Supplement D, 1998; Supplement E, 1999. 

b. Copies of the document identified in subdivision E 
2 a (1) of this subdivision, and Volume I and 
Supplements A through C of the document identified 
in subdivision E 2 a (2) of this subdivision, may be 
obtained from: U.S. Department of Commerce, 
National Technical Information Service, 5285 Port 
Royal Road, Springfield, Virginia 22161; phone 1-
800-553-6847. Copies of Supplements D and E of the 
document identified in subdivision E 2 a (2) may be 
obtained online from EPA's Technology Transfer 
Network at 
http://www.epa.gov/ttn/chief/ap42/index.html. 

3. U.S. government. 

a. The following document from the U.S. government 
is incorporated herein by reference: Standard 
Industrial Classification Manual, 1987 (U.S. 
Government Printing Office stock number 041-001-
00-314-2). 

b. Copies may be obtained from: Superintendent of 
Documents, P.O. Box 371954, Pittsburgh, 
Pennsylvania 15250-7954; phone (202) 512-1800. 

4. American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). 

a. The documents specified below from the American 
Society for Testing and Materials are incorporated 
herein by reference. 

(1) D323-99a, "Standard Test Method for Vapor 
Pressure of Petroleum Products (Reid Method)." 

(2) D97-96a, "Standard Test Method for Pour Point 
of Petroleum Products." 

(3) D129-00, "Standard Test Method for Sulfur in 
Petroleum Products (General Bomb Method)." 

(4) D388-99, "Standard Classification of Coals by 
Rank." 

(5) D396-98, "Standard Specification for Fuel Oils." 

(6) D975-98b, "Standard Specification for Diesel 
Fuel Oils." 

(7) D1072-90(1999), "Standard Test Method for 
Total Sulfur in Fuel Gases." 

(8) D1265-97, "Standard Practice for Sampling 
Liquefied Petroleum (LP) Gases (Manual Method)." 

(9) D2622-98, "Standard Test Method for Sulfur in 
Petroleum Products by Wavelength Dispersive X-
Ray Fluorescence Spectrometry." 

(10) D4057-95(2000), "Standard Practice for 
Manual Sampling of Petroleum and Petroleum 
Products." 

(11) D4294-98, "Standard Test Method for Sulfur in 
Petroleum and Petroleum Products by Energy-
Dispersive X-Ray Fluorescence Spectroscopy." 

(12) D523-89, "Standard Test Method for Specular 
Gloss" (1999). 

(13) D1613-02, "Standard Test Method for Acidity 
in Volatile Solvents and Chemical Intermediates 
Used in Paint, Varnish, Lacquer and Related 
Products" (2002). 

(14) D1640-95, "Standard Test Methods for Drying, 
Curing, or Film Formation of Organic Coatings at 
Room Temperature" (1999). 

(15) E119-00a, "Standard Test Methods for Fire 
Tests of Building Construction Materials" (2000). 

(16) E84-01, "Standard Test Method for Surface 
Burning Characteristics of Building Construction 
Materials" (2001). 

(17) D4214-98, "Standard Test Methods for 
Evaluating the Degree of Chalking of Exterior Paint 
Films" (1998). 

(18) D86-01, "Standard Test Method for Distillation 
of Petroleum Products at Atmospheric Pressure" 
(2001). 

(19) D4359-90, "Standard Test Method for 
Determining Whether a Material is a Liquid or a 
Solid" (reapproved 2000). 

(20) E260-96, "Standard Practice for Packed 
Column Gas Chromatography" (reapproved 2001). 

(21) D 3912-95 D3912-95, "Standard Test Method 
for Chemical Resistance of Coatings Used in Light-
Water Nuclear Power Plants" (reapproved 2001). 
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(22) D 4082-02 D4082-02, "Standard Test Method 
for Effects of Gamma Radiation on Coatings for 
Use in Light-Water Nuclear Power Plants." 

b. Copies may be obtained from: American Society for 
Testing Materials, 100 Barr Harbor Drive, West 
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania 19428-2959; phone 
(610) 832-9585. 

5. American Petroleum Institute (API). 

a. The following document from the American 
Petroleum Institute is incorporated herein by 
reference: Evaporative Loss from Floating Roof 
Tanks, API MPMS Chapter 19, April 1, 1997. 

b. Copies may be obtained from: American Petroleum 
Institute, 1220 L Street, Northwest, Washington, D.C. 
20005; phone (202) 682-8000. 

6. American Conference of Governmental Industrial 
Hygienists (ACGIH). 

a. The following document from the ACGIH is 
incorporated herein by reference: 1991-1992 
Threshold Limit Values for Chemical Substances and 
Physical Agents and Biological Exposure Indices 
(ACGIH Handbook). 

b. Copies may be obtained from: ACGIH, 1330 
Kemper Meadow Drive, Suite 600, Cincinnati, Ohio 
45240; phone (513) 742-2020. 

7. National Fire Prevention Association (NFPA). 

a. The documents specified below from the National 
Fire Prevention Association are incorporated herein by 
reference. 

(1) NFPA 385, Standard for Tank Vehicles for 
Flammable and Combustible Liquids, 2000 Edition. 

(2) NFPA 30, Flammable and Combustible Liquids 
Code, 2000 Edition. 

(3) NFPA 30A, Code for Motor Fuel Dispensing 
Facilities and Repair Garages, 2000 Edition. 

b. Copies may be obtained from the National Fire 
Prevention Association, One Batterymarch Park, P.O. 
Box 9101, Quincy, Massachusetts 02269-9101; phone 
(617) 770-3000. 

8. American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). 

a. The documents specified below from the American 
Society of Mechanical Engineers are incorporated 
herein by reference. 

(1) ASME Power Test Codes: Test Code for Steam 
Generating Units, Power Test Code 4.1-1964 
(R1991). 

(2) ASME Interim Supplement 19.5 on Instruments 
and Apparatus: Application, Part II of Fluid Meters, 
6th edition (1971). 

(3) Standard for the Qualification and Certification 
of Resource Recovery Facility Operators, ASME 
QRO-1-1994. 

b. Copies may be obtained from the American Society 
of Mechanical Engineers, Three Park Avenue, New 
York, New York 10016; phone (800) 843-2763. 

9. American Hospital Association (AHA). 

a. The following document from the American 
Hospital Association is incorporated herein by 
reference: An Ounce of Prevention: Waste Reduction 
Strategies for Health Care Facilities, AHA Catalog no. 
W5-057007, 1993. 

b. Copies may be obtained from: American Hospital 
Association, One North Franklin, Chicago, IL 60606; 
phone (800) 242-2626. 

10. Bay Area Air Quality Management District 
(BAAQMD). 

a. The following documents from the Bay Area Air 
Quality Management District are incorporated herein 
by reference: 

(1) Method 41, "Determination of Volatile Organic 
Compounds in Solvent-Based Coatings and Related 
Materials Containing Parachlorobenzotrifluoride" 
(December 20, 1995). 

(2) Method 43, "Determination of Volatile 
Methylsiloxanes in Solvent-Based Coatings, Inks, 
and Related Materials" (November 6, 1996). 

b. Copies may be obtained from: Bay Area Air Quality 
Management District, 939 Ellis Street, San Francisco, 
CA 94109, phone (415) 771-6000. 

11. South Coast Air Quality Management District 
(SCAQMD). 

a. The following documents from the South Coast Air 
Quality Management District are incorporated herein 
by reference: 

(1) Method 303-91, "Determination of Exempt 
Compounds," in Manual SSMLLABM, "Laboratory 
Methods of Analysis for Enforcement Samples" 
(1996). 

(2) Method 318-95, "Determination of Weight 
Percent Elemental Metal in Coatings by X-Ray 
Diffraction," in Manual SSMLLABM, "Laboratory 
Methods of Analysis for Enforcement Samples" 
(1996). 
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(3) Rule 1174 Ignition Method Compliance 
Certification Protocol (February 28, 1991). 

b. Copies may be obtained from: South Coast Air 
Quality Management District, 21865 E. Copley Drive, 
Diamond Bar, CA 91765, phone (909) 396-2000. 

12. California Air Resources Board (CARB). 

a. The following documents from the California Air 
Resources Board are incorporated herein by reference: 

(1) Test Method 510, "Automatic Shut-Off Test 
Procedure for Spill-Proof Systems and Spill-Proof 
Spouts" (July 6, 2000). 

(2) Test Method 511, "Automatic Closure Test 
Procedure for Spill-Proof Systems and Spill-Proof 
Spouts" (July 6, 2000). 

(3) Test Method 512, "Determination of Fuel Flow 
Rate for Spill-Proof Systems and Spill-Proof 
Spouts" (July 6, 2000). 

(4) Test Method 513, "Determination of Permeation 
Rate for Spill-Proof Systems" (July 6, 2000). 

(5) Test Method 310 (including Appendices A and 
B), "Determination of Volatile Organic Compounds 
(VOC) in Consumer Products and Reactive Organic 
Compounds in Aerosol Coating Products" (July 18, 
2001). 

(6) California Code of Regulations, Title 17, 
Division 3, Chapter 1, Subchapter 8.5, Article 1, 
§ 94503.5 (2003). 

(7) California Code of Regulations, Title 17, 
Division 3, Chapter 1, Subchapter 8.5, Article 2, 
§§ 94509 and 94511 (2003). 

(8) California Code of Regulations, Title 17, 
Division 3, Chapter 1, Subchapter 8.5, Article 4, 
§§ 94540-94555 (2003). 

b. Copies may be obtained from: California Air 
Resources Board, P.O. Box 2815, Sacramento, CA 
95812, phone (906) 322-3260 or (906) 322-2990. 

13. American Architectural Manufacturers Association. 

a. The following documents from the American 
Architectural Manufacturers Association are 
incorporated herein by reference: 

(1) Voluntary Specification 2604-02, "Performance 
Requirements and Test Procedures for High 
Performance Organic Coatings on Aluminum 
Extrusions and Panels" (2002). 

(2) Voluntary Specification 2605-02, "Performance 
Requirements and Test Procedures for Superior 

Performing Organic Coatings on Aluminum 
Extrusions and Panels" (2002). 

b. Copies may be obtained from: American 
Architectural Manufacturers Association, 1827 
Walden Office Square, Suite 550, Schaumburg, IL 
60173, phone (847) 303-5664. 

14. American Furniture Manufacturers Association. 

a. The following document from the American 
Furniture Manufacturers Association is incorporated 
herein by reference: Joint Industry Fabrics Standards 
Committee, Woven and Knit Residential Upholstery 
Fabric Standards and Guidelines (January 2001). 

b. Copies may be obtained from: American Furniture 
Manufacturers Association, P.O. Box HP-7, High 
Point, NC 27261; phone (336) 884-5000. 

PART II. 
EMISSION STANDARDS. 

Article 52. 
Emission Standards for Stationary Sources Subject to 

Case-by-Case BART Determinations. 

9 VAC 5-40-7550. Applicability and designation of 
affected facility. 

A. Except as provided in subsection C of this section, the 
affected facility to which the provisions of this article 
apply is each BART-eligible source that emits any air 
pollutant that may reasonably be anticipated to cause or 
contribute to any impairment of visibility in any mandatory 
federal class I area. 

B. The provisions of this article apply throughout the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 

C. Exempted from the provisions of this article are the 
following: 

1. Any BART-eligible source with the potential to emit 
less than 40 tons per year of SO2 or NOX, or less than 15 
tons per year of PM10. 

2. Any existing stationary facility subject to the 
requirement under 9 VAC 5-40-7580 to install, operate, 
and maintain BART for which the board has granted an 
exemption in accordance with 9 VAC 5-40-7560 or for 
which the administrator has granted an exemption under 
40 CFR 51.303 with which the board concurs. 

3. The provisions of this article do not apply to sources 
subject to Part IV (9 VAC 5-140-3010 et seq.) of 9 VAC 
5-140, Regulation for Emissions Trading. 

9 VAC 5-40-7560. Exemptions from control. 

A. Any existing stationary facility subject to the 
requirement to install, operate, and maintain BART may 
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apply to the board for an exemption from that requirement. 
An application under this subsection shall include all 
available documentation relevant to the impact of the 
source's emissions on visibility in any mandatory federal 
class I area and a demonstration by the existing stationary 
facility that it does not or will not, by itself or in 
combination with other sources, emit any air pollutant that 
may be reasonably anticipated to cause or contribute to a 
significant impairment of visibility in any mandatory 
federal class I area. 

B. Any fossil-fuel fired power plant with a total generating 
capacity of 750 megawatts or more may receive an 
exemption from BART only if the owner demonstrates to 
the satisfaction of the board that the power plant is located 
at such a distance from all mandatory federal class I areas 
that it does not or will not, by itself or in combination with 
other sources, emit any air pollutant that may reasonably 
be anticipated to cause or contribute to significant 
impairment of visibility in any such mandatory federal 
class I area. 

C. The existing stationary facility shall give prior written 
notice to all affected federal land managers of any 
application for exemption under this section. The federal 
land manager may provide an initial recommendation or 
comment on the disposition of such application. Such 
recommendation, where provided, must be part of the 
exemption application. This recommendation is not to be 
construed as the concurrence required under subsection D 
of this section. The board, within 90 days of receipt of an 
application for exemption from control, will provide notice 
of receipt of an exemption application and notice of 
opportunity for public hearing on the application. After 
notice and opportunity for public hearing, the board may 
grant or deny the exemption. 

D. An exemption granted by the board will be effective 
only upon concurrence by all affected federal land 
managers and the administrator with the board’s 
determination. 

9 VAC 5-40-7570. Definitions. 

A. For the purpose of applying this article in the context of 
the Regulations for the Control and Abatement of Air 
Pollution and related uses, the words or terms shall have 
the meanings given them in subsection C of this section. 

B. As used in this article, all terms not defined herein shall 
have the meaning given them in 9 VAC 5-10, General 
Definitions, unless otherwise required by context. 

C. Terms defined. 

"Administrator" means the administrator of the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) or an authorized 
representative. 

"BART-eligible source" means an existing stationary 
facility as defined in this subsection. 

"Best available retrofit technology" or "BART" means an 
emission limitation based on the degree of reduction 
achievable through the application of the best system of 
continuous emission reduction for each pollutant that is 
emitted by an existing stationary facility. The emission 
limitation shall be established, on a case-by-case basis, 
taking into consideration the technology available, the 
costs of compliance, the energy and nonair quality 
environmental impacts of compliance, any pollution 
control equipment in use or in existence at the source, the 
remaining useful life of the source, and the degree of 
improvement in visibility that may reasonably be 
anticipated to result from the use of such technology. 

"Existing stationary facility" means any of the following 
stationary sources of air pollutants, including any 
reconstructed source, which were not in operation prior to 
August 7, 1962, and were in existence on August 7, 1977, 
and have the potential to emit 250 tons per year or more of 
any air pollutant. In determining potential to emit, fugitive 
emissions, to the extent quantifiable, must be counted. 

1. Fossil-fuel fired steam electric plants of more than 
250 million British thermal units per hour heat input, 

2. Coal cleaning plants (thermal dryers), 

3. Kraft pulp mills, 

4. Portland cement plants, 

5. Primary zinc smelters, 

6. Iron and steel mill plants, 

7. Primary aluminum ore reduction plants, 

8. Primary copper smelters, 

9. Municipal incinerators capable of charging more than 
250 tons of refuse per day, 

10. Hydrofluoric, sulfuric, and nitric acid plants, 

11. Petroleum refineries, 

12. Lime plants, 

13. Phosphate rock processing plants, 

14. Coke oven batteries, 

15. Sulfur recovery plants, 

16. Carbon black plants (furnace process), 

17. Primary lead smelters, 

18. Fuel conversion plants, 

19. Sintering plants, 

20. Secondary metal production facilities, 
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21. Chemical process plants, 

22. Fossil-fuel boilers of more than 250 million British 
thermal units per hour heat input, 

23. Petroleum storage and transfer facilities with a 
capacity exceeding 300,000 barrels, 

24. Taconite ore processing facilities, 

25. Glass fiber processing plants, and 

26. Charcoal production facilities. 

"Federal class I area" means any federal land that is 
classified or reclassified class I. 

"Federal land manager" or "FLM" means the secretary of 
the department with authority over the federal class I area 
(or the secretary's designee). 

"Federally enforceable" means all limitations and 
conditions that are enforceable by the administrator under 
the federal Clean Air Act including those requirements 
developed pursuant to 40 CFR Parts 60 and 61, 
requirements within any applicable implementation plan, 
and any permit requirements established pursuant to 40 
CFR 52.21 or under regulations approved pursuant to 40 
CFR Parts 51, 52, or 60. 

"Fugitive emissions" means those emissions that could not 
reasonably pass through a stack, chimney, vent, or other 
functionally equivalent opening. 

"In existence" means that the owner has obtained all 
necessary preconstruction approvals or permits required by 
federal, state, or local air pollution emissions and air 
quality laws or regulations and either has (i) begun, or 
caused to begin, a continuous program of physical on-site 
construction of the facility or (ii) entered into binding 
agreements or contractual obligations, which cannot be 
cancelled or modified without substantial loss to the 
owner, to undertake a program of construction of the 
facility to be completed in a reasonable time. 

"In operation" means engaged in activity related to the 
primary design function of the source. 

"Integral vista" means a view perceived from within the 
mandatory federal class I area of a specific landmark or 
panorama located outside the boundary of the mandatory 
federal class I area. 

"Mandatory federal class I area" means any area identified 
in subpart D of 40 CFR Part 81. 

"Potential to emit" means the maximum capacity of a 
stationary source to emit a pollutant under its physical and 
operational design. Any physical or operational limitation 
on the capacity of the source to emit a pollutant including 
air pollution control equipment and restrictions on hours of 
operation or on the type or amount of material combusted, 

stored, or processed, shall be treated as part of its design if 
the limitation or the effect it would have on emissions is 
federally enforceable. Secondary emissions do not count in 
determining the potential to emit of a stationary source. 

"Reasonably attributable" means attributable by visual 
observation or any other technique the board deems 
appropriate. 

"Regional haze" means visibility impairment that is caused 
by the emission of air pollutants from numerous sources 
located over a wide geographic area. Such sources include, 
but are not limited to, major and minor stationary sources, 
mobile sources, and area sources. 

"Secondary emissions" means emissions that occur as a 
result of the construction or operation of an existing 
stationary facility but do not come from the existing 
stationary facility. Secondary emissions may include, but 
are not limited to, emissions from ships or trains coming to 
or from the existing stationary facility. 

"State operating permit" means a permit issued under the 
Article 5 (9 VAC 5-80-800 et seq.) of Part II of 9 VAC 5-
80, Permits for Stationary Sources. 

"State operating permit program" means the permit 
program established by and codified in Article 5 (9 VAC 
5-80-800 et seq.) of Part II of 9 VAC 5-80, Permits for 
Stationary Sources. 

"Visibility-impairing pollutants" means sulfur dioxide 
(SO2), nitrogen oxides (NOX), and particulate matter. PM10 
may be used as an indicator for particulate matter. Volatile 
organic compounds (VOCs) and ammonia and ammonia 
compounds may be considered to be visibility-impairing 
pollutants if the board determines that emissions of these 
pollutants may have an impact on visibility impairment in 
an area. 

9 VAC 5-40-7580. Standard for regional haze 
pollutants.  

A. No owner or other person shall cause or permit to be 
discharged into the atmosphere from any affected facility 
any visibility-impairing pollutants in excess of emission 
limitations representing BART, as reflected in any term or 
condition that may be placed upon a permit for the facility. 

B. State operating permits may be issued at the discretion 
of the board containing such terms and conditions, 
including schedules for compliance, as may be necessary 
to implement a BART determination under 9 VAC 5-40-
7590 for the emissions of any visibility-impairing pollutant 
that may be emitted from the affected facility. 

C. A permit may be issued under subsection B of this 
section regardless of any other permits in force provided 
that it does not contravene any more restrictive provision 
of any of the other permits. 
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9 VAC 5-40-7590. Criteria and procedures for making 
BART determinations. 

The criteria and procedures for making BART 
determinations shall be as follows. 

1. The determination of BART shall be based on an 
analysis of the best system of continuous emission 
control technology available and associated emission 
reductions achievable for each BART-eligible source 
that is subject to BART. In this analysis, the board will 
take into consideration the technology available, the 
costs of compliance, the energy and nonair quality 
environmental impacts of compliance, any pollution 
control equipment in use at the source, and the 
remaining useful life of the source, and the degree of 
improvement in visibility that may reasonably be 
anticipated to result from the use of such technology. 

2. The determination of BART for fossil-fuel fired 
power plants having a total generating capacity greater 
than 750 megawatts shall be made pursuant to the 
guidelines in Appendix Y of 40 CFR Part 51 (see 9 VAC 
5-20-21). 

3. If the board determines in establishing BART that 
technological or economic limitations on the 
applicability of measurement methodology to a 
particular source would make the imposition of an 
emission standard infeasible, it may instead prescribe a 
design, equipment, work practice, or other operational 
standard, or combination thereof, to require the 
application of BART. Such standard, to the degree 
possible, is to set forth the emission reduction to be 
achieved by implementation of such design, equipment, 
work practice or operation, and must provide for 
compliance by means that achieve equivalent results. 

4. Each source subject to BART shall install and operate 
BART as expeditiously as practicable, but in no event 
later than August 1, 2012. 

5. Each source subject to BART shall maintain the 
control equipment required by this article and establish 
procedures to ensure such equipment is properly 
operated and maintained. 

9 VAC 5-40-7600. Standard for visible emissions. 

The provisions of Article 1 (9 VAC 5-40-60 et seq.) of this 
part apply. 

9 VAC 5-40-7610. Standard for fugitive dust/emissions. 

The provisions of Article 1 (9 VAC 5-40-60 et seq.) of this 
part apply. 

9 VAC 5-40-7620. Standard for odor. 

The provisions of Article 2 (9 VAC 5-40-130 et seq.) of 
this part apply. 

9 VAC 5-40-7630. Standard for toxic pollutants. 

The provisions of Article 4 (9 VAC 5-60-200 et seq.) of 
Part II of 9 VAC 5-60, Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources, 
apply. 

9 VAC 5-40-7640. Compliance. 

The provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-20, Compliance, apply. 

9 VAC 5-40-7650. Compliance schedules. 

A. Owners shall comply with the emission standards in this 
article as expeditiously as possible but in no event later 
than August 1, 2012. 

B. Owners of affected facilities shall comply with the 
provisions of subsection A of this section by adhering to 
the increments of progress contained in a permit issued 
under 9 VAC 5-30-7580 B. 

9 VAC 5-40-7660. Test methods and procedures. 

The provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-30, Emission testing, apply. 

9 VAC 5-40-7670. Monitoring. 

The provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-40, Monitoring, apply. 

9 VAC 5-40-7680. Notification, records and reporting. 

The provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-50, Notification, records 
and reporting, apply. 

9 VAC 5-40-7690. Registration. 

The provisions of 9 VAC 5-20-160, Registration, apply. 

9 VAC 5-40-7700. Facility and control equipment 
maintenance or malfunction. 

The provisions of 9 VAC 5-20-180, Facility and control 
equipment maintenance or malfunction, apply. 

9 VAC 5-40-7710. Permits. 

A permit may be required prior to beginning any of the 
activities specified below if the provisions of 9 VAC 5-50, 
New and Modified Sources, and 9 VAC 5-80, Permits for 
Stationary Sources, apply. Owners contemplating such 
action should review those provisions and contact the 
appropriate regional office for guidance on whether those 
provisions apply. 

1. Construction of a facility. 

2. Reconstruction (replacement of more than half) of a 
facility. 

3. Modification (any physical change to equipment) of a 
facility. 

4. Relocation of a facility. 

5. Reactivation (re-startup) of a facility. 

6. Operation of a facility. 
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VA.R. Doc. No. R07-266; Filed June 1, 2007, 9:13 a.m. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  9 VAC 25-210. Virginia Water 
Protection Permit Program Regulation (amending 
9 VAC 25-210-10, 9 VAC 25-210-50, 9 VAC 25-210-60, 
9 VAC 25-210-80 through 9 VAC 25-210-115, 9 VAC 
25-210-130, 9 VAC 25-210-140, 9 VAC 25-210-170, 
9 VAC 25-210-180, 9 VAC 25-210-185, 9 VAC 25-210-
220, 9 VAC 25-210-230, 9 VAC 25-210-260; adding 
9 VAC 25-210-75, 9 VAC 25-210-116, 9 VAC 25-210-
175; repealing 9 VAC 25-210-190, 9 VAC 25-210-200, 
and 9 VAC 25-210-210). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 62.1-44.15 and 62.1-44.15:5 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date:  July 25, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Scott Kudlas, Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 
23240, telephone (804) 698-4456, or email 
swkudlas@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The  amendments (i) clarify which water withdrawals 
are excluded from the permit requirement and under 
what conditions; (ii) institute a new preapplication panel 
and public information meeting process for surface 
water projects; (iii) create an Emergency Virginia Water 
Protection Permit for public water supplies during 
drought; (iv) include new language regarding permit 
conditions for withdrawals in the Potomac River 
consistent with the Potomac Low Flow Allocation 
Agreement; (v) define what information will be 
considered in the evaluation of cumulative impacts to 
instream flow; (vi) clarify what information is submitted 
by the applicant to demonstrate that an alternatives 
analysis has been conducted; (vii) create a new variance 
provision to address temporary relaxation of permit 
conditions during drought; and (viii) establish a new 
joint public notice process for surface water projects 
requiring both a VWPP and a Virginia Marine 
Resources Permit. 

Changes made since publication of the proposed 
regulation are the result of the incorporation of key 
concepts and language from the WP5 TAC process and 
the proposed General Permit for Minor Surface Water 
Withdrawals.  These amendments: (i) establish a 
distinction between major (90 million gallons per month 
or greater) and minor (less than 90 million gallons per 
month) surface water withdrawals; (ii) provide for 
regulatory exclusions for certain surface water 
withdrawals from VWPP requirements; (iii) create a 

reporting requirement for some surface water 
withdrawals excluded from VWPP requirements; (iv) 
create a streamlined application process for new or 
expanded minor surface water withdrawals; (v) establish 
applicable permit standards for new or expanded minor 
surface water withdrawals, and (vi) clarify the 
requirements for evaluation of project alternatives for 
minor surface water withdrawals for public surface 
water supply withdrawal projects. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the 
agency's response may be obtained from the promulgating 
agency or viewed at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations. 

PART I. 
[ GENERAL VWP PERMIT PROGRAM DEFINITIONS, 

EXCLUSIONS, PROHIBITIONS AND 
REQUIREMENTS ]. 

9 VAC 25-210-10. Definitions. 

Unless a different meaning is required by the context, the 
following terms as used in this chapter, shall have the 
following meanings: 

"Act" or "Clean Water Act" means 33 USC § 1251 et seq. 
as amended 1987. 

"Adjacent" means bordering, contiguous or neighboring; 
wetlands separated from other surface water by man-made 
dikes or barriers, natural river berms, sand dunes and the 
like are adjacent wetlands. 

"Affected stream reach" means the portion of a surface 
water body beginning at the location of a withdrawal and 
ending at a point where effects of the withdrawal are not 
reasonably expected to adversely affect beneficial uses. 

[ "Agricultural surface water withdrawal" means a 
withdrawal of surface water in Virginia or from the 
Potomac River for the purpose of agricultural, silvicultural, 
horticultural, or aquacultural operations.  Agricultural 
surface water withdrawals include withdrawals for turf 
farm operations, but do not include withdrawals for 
landscaping activities, or turf installment and maintenance 
associated with landscaping activities. ] 

"Applicant" means a person applying for a VWP individual 
permit or VWP general permit authorization. 

"Aquatic resources" or "Aquatic environment" mean 
means surface waters and the habitat they provide, 
including both plant and animal communities. 

"Avoidance" means not taking or modifying a proposed 
action or parts of an action so that there is no adverse 
impact to the aquatic environment. 
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"Beneficial use" means both instream and offstream uses. 
Instream beneficial uses include, but are not limited to: the 
protection of fish and wildlife habitat; maintenance of 
waste assimilation; recreation; navigation; and cultural and 
aesthetic values. Offstream beneficial uses include, but are 
not limited to: domestic (including public water supply); 
agricultural; electric power generation; and commercial 
and industrial uses. 

"Best management practices (BMPs)" means a schedule of 
activities, prohibition of practices, maintenance procedures 
and other management practices that prevent or reduce the 
pollution of surface waters. 

"Board" means the State Water Control Board. 

"Channelization of streams" means alteration of a stream 
by widening, deepening, straightening, cleaning, or paving. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"Compensation" or "compensatory mitigation" means 
actions taken that provide some form of substitute aquatic 
resource for the impacted aquatic resource. 

"Consumptive water use" means the withdrawal of surface 
waters, without recycle of said waters to their source [ or 
basin ] of origin. 

"Creation" means the establishment of a wetland or other 
aquatic resource where one did not formerly exist. 

"Cross-sectional sketch" means a scaled graph or plot that 
represents the plane made by cutting across an object at 
right angles to its length.  For purposes of this regulation, 
objects may include, but are not limited to, a surface water 
body or a portion of it, a man-made channel, an above-
ground structure, a below-ground structure, a geographical 
feature, or the ground surface itself. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality (DEQ) or an authorized 
representative. 

"Discharge" means, when used without qualification, a 
discharge of a pollutant, or any addition of any pollutant or 
combination of pollutants, to state waters or waters of the 
contiguous zone or ocean other than a discharge from a 
vessel or other floating craft when being used as a means 
of transportation. 

"Draft VWP permit" means a document indicating the 
board's tentative decision relative to a VWP permit action. 

"Draining" means human-induced activities such as 
ditching, excavation, installation of tile drains, hydrologic 
modification by surface water runoff diversion, pumping 
water from wells, or similar activities such that the 
activities have the effect of artificially dewatering the 
wetland or altering its hydroperiod. 

"Dredged material" means material that is excavated or 
dredged from surface waters. 

"Dredging" means a form of excavation in which material 
is removed or relocated from beneath surface waters. 

"Drought" means that a Severe Intensity Drought (D2) has 
been declared by the weekly “U.S. Drought Monitor” for 
the location in which the withdrawal is located. 

"Ecologically preferable" means capable of providing a 
higher likelihood of replacing existing wetland or stream 
functions and values, water quality and fish and wildlife 
resources than alternative proposals. 

"Emergency Virginia Water Protection Permit" means a 
Virginia Water Protection Permit issued pursuant to 
§ 62.1-44.15:5 J of the Code of Virginia authorizing a new 
or increased surface water withdrawal to address 
insufficient public drinking water supplies that are caused 
by a drought and may result in a substantial threat to 
human health or public safety. 

"Enhancement" means activities conducted in existing 
wetlands or other portions of the aquatic resources 
environment that increase one or more aquatic functions or 
values. 

"Excavate" or "excavation" means ditching, dredging, or 
mechanized removal of earth, soil or rock. 

"Fill" means replacing portions of surface water with 
upland, or changing the bottom elevation of a surface water 
for any purpose, by placement of any pollutant or material 
including but not limited to rock, sand, earth, and man-
made materials and debris. 

"Fill material" means any pollutant which replaces portions 
of surface water with dry land or which changes the bottom 
elevation of a surface water for any purpose. 

"General permit" means a permit authorizing a specified 
category of activities. 

"Geographic area of a delineated wetland" means the area 
contained within and up to a wetland boundary determined 
by delineation methods consistent with this chapter. 

"Impacts" means results caused by human-induced 
activities conducted in surface waters, as specified in 
§ 62.1-44.15.5 D of the Code of Virginia. 

"Impairment" means the damage, loss or degradation of the 
functions and values of state waters. 

"In-lieu fee fund" means a monetary fund operated by a 
nonprofit organization or governmental agency which 
receives financial contributions from persons impacting 
wetlands or streams pursuant to an authorized permitted 
activity and which expends the moneys received to provide 
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consolidated compensatory mitigation for permitted 
wetland or stream impacts. 

"Intake structure" means any portion of a withdrawal 
system used to withdraw surface water that is located 
within the surface water, such as, but not limited to, a pipe, 
culvert, hose, tube, or screen. 

"Isolated wetlands of minimal ecological value" means 
those wetlands that: (i) do not have a surface water 
connection to other state waters; (ii) are less than one-tenth 
of an acre (0.10 acre or 4,356 square feet) in size; (iii) are 
not located in a Federal Emergency Management Agency 
designated 100-year floodplain; (iv) are not identified by 
the Virginia Natural Heritage Program as a rare or state 
significant natural community; (v) are not forested; and 
(vi) do not contain listed federal or state threatened or 
endangered species. 

"Joint Permit Application (JPA)" means an application 
form that is used to apply for permits from the Norfolk 
District Army Corps of Engineers, the Virginia Marine 
Resources Commission, the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality, and local wetland boards for work 
in waters of the United States and in surface waters of 
Virginia. 

"Law" means the State Water Control Law of Virginia. 

[ "Major surface water withdrawal" means a surface water 
withdrawal of 90 million gallons per month (mgm) or 
greater. ] 

"Minimization" means lessening impacts by reducing the 
degree or magnitude of the proposed action and its 
implementation. 

[ “Minor surface water withdrawal” means a surface water 
withdrawal of less than 90 million gallons per month 
(mgm). ] 

"Mitigation" means sequentially avoiding and minimizing 
impacts to the maximum extent practicable, and then 
compensating for remaining unavoidable impacts of a 
proposed action. 

"Mitigation bank" means a site providing off-site, 
consolidated compensatory mitigation that is developed 
and approved in accordance with all applicable federal and 
state laws or regulations for the establishment, use and 
operation of mitigation banks, and is operating under a 
signed banking agreement. 

"Mitigation banking" means compensating for unavoidable 
wetland or stream losses in advance of development 
actions through the sale, purchase or use of credits from a 
mitigation bank. 

"Multi-project mitigation site" means an area of wetland 
restoration, creation, enhancement and, in appropriate 

circumstances, preservation of wetlands or streams or 
upland buffers adjacent to wetlands or other state waters, 
that is or has been utilized to meet compensation 
requirements for more than one project but that is not a 
mitigation bank. 

"Nationwide permit" means a general permit issued by the 
USACE under 40 CFR Part 241 and, except where 
suspended by individual USACE Corps [ District 
Districts ], applicable nationwide. 

"Normal agricultural activities" means those activities 
defined as an agricultural operation in § 3.1-22.29 of the 
Code of Virginia and any activity that is conducted as part 
of or in furtherance of such agricultural operation, but shall 
not include any activity for which a permit would have 
been required as of January 1, 1997, under 33 USC § 1344 
or any regulations promulgated pursuant thereto. 

"Normal residential gardening, lawn and landscape 
maintenance" means ongoing noncommercial residential 
activities conducted by or on behalf of an individual 
occupant, including mowing, planting, fertilizing, 
mulching, tilling, vegetation removal by hand or by hand 
tools, placement of decorative stone, fencing and play 
equipment. Other appurtenant noncommercial activities, 
provided that they do not result in the conversion of a 
wetland to upland or to a different wetland type, may also 
be included. 

"Normal silvicultural activities" means any silvicultural 
activity as defined in § 10.1-1181.1 of the Code of 
Virginia, and any activity that is conducted as part of or in 
furtherance of such silvicultural activity, but shall not 
include any activity for which a permit would have been 
required as of January 1, 1997, under 33 USC § 1344 or 
any regulations promulgated pursuant thereto. 

"Out-of-kind mitigation" means compensatory mitigation 
that does not replace the same type of wetland or surface 
water as was impacted, but does replace lost wetland or 
surface water functions, values, or beneficial uses. 

"Permanent flooding or impounding" means an a 
permanent increase in the duration or depth of standing 
water on a land surface, other than such as from a dam.  
Permanent increases in duration or depth of standing water 
that resulting result from extended-detention basins and 
enhanced extended-detention basins, when designed, 
constructed, and maintained to function in accordance with 
Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation 
(DCR) standards for such facilities (Virginia Stormwater 
Management Handbook, First Edition, 1999, Volume 1, 
Chapter 3), or when designed in accordance with local 
standards that, at a minimum, meet the DCR standards, are 
not considered to be permanent flooding and impounding. 

"Permanent impacts" are those impacts to surface waters, 
including wetlands [ , ] that cause a permanent alteration of 
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the physical, chemical, or biological properties of the 
surface waters or of the functions and values of a wetland. 

"Permittee" means the person who holds a VWP individual 
or general permit. 

"Person" means any firm one or more individuals, a 
corporation, a partnership, an association, or partnership, 
one or more individuals, a governmental body, a municipal 
corporation, or any governmental unit or agency of it other 
legal entity. 

"Plan view sketch" means a scaled graph or plot that 
represents the view of an object as projected onto 
orthogonal planes.  For purposes of this regulation, objects 
may include, but are not limited to, structures, contours, or 
boundaries. 

"Pollutant" means any substance, radioactive material, or 
heat which causes or contributes to, or may cause or 
contribute to pollution. 

"Pollution" means such alteration of the physical, chemical 
or biological properties of any state waters as will or is 
likely to create a nuisance or render such waters: (i) 
harmful or detrimental or injurious to the public health, 
safety or welfare, or to the health of animals, fish or 
aquatic life; (ii) unsuitable with reasonable treatment for 
use as present or possible future sources of public water 
supply; or (iii) unsuitable for recreational, commercial, 
industrial, agricultural, or other reasonable uses; provided 
that (a) an alteration of the physical, chemical, or 
biological property of state waters, or a discharge or 
deposit of sewage, industrial wastes or other wastes to state 
waters by any owner which by itself is not sufficient to 
cause pollution, but which, in combination with such 
alteration of or discharge or deposit to state waters by other 
owners is sufficient to cause pollution; (b) the discharge of 
untreated sewage by any owner into state waters; and (c) 
contributing to the contravention of standards of water 
quality duly established by the board, are "pollution" for 
the terms and purposes of this chapter. 

"Potomac River Low Flow Allocation Agreement" means 
the agreement among the United States of America, the 
State of Maryland, the Commonwealth of Virginia, the 
District of Columbia, the Washington Suburban Sanitation 
Commission, and the Fairfax County Water Authority 
dated January 11, 1978, consented to by Congress in § 181 
of the Water Resources Development Act of 1976, Public 
Law 94-587, as modified on April 22, 1986. 

"Practicable" means available and capable of being done 
after taking into consideration cost, existing technology 
and logistics in light of overall project purposes. 

"Preservation" means the protection of resources in 
perpetuity through the implementation of appropriate legal 
and physical mechanisms. 

"Profile sketch" means a scaled graph or plot that 
represents the side view of an object.  For purposes of this 
regulation, objects may include, but are not limited to, a 
surface water body or a portion of it, a man-made channel, 
an above-ground structure, a below-ground structure, a 
geographical feature, or the ground surface itself. 

"Public hearing" means a fact finding proceeding held to 
afford interested persons an opportunity to submit factual 
data, views and comments to the board pursuant to the 
board's Procedural Rule No. 1 - Public and Formal Hearing 
Procedures (9 VAC 25-230-10 et seq.). 

[ "Public surface water supply withdrawal" means a 
withdrawal of surface water in Virginia or from the 
Potomac River for the production of drinking water, 
distributed to the general public for the purpose of, but not 
limited to, domestic use. 

“Public water supply emergency” means a substantial 
threat to public health or safety due to insufficient public 
drinking water supplies caused by drought. ] 

"Regional permit" means a general permit issued by the 
USACE under 40 CFR Part 241 and applicable within a 
specified geographic area. 

"Restoration" means the reestablishment of a wetland or 
other aquatic resource in an area where it previously 
existed. Wetland restoration means the reestablishment of 
wetland hydrology and vegetation in an area where a 
wetland previously existed. Stream restoration means the 
process of converting an unstable, altered or degraded 
stream corridor, including adjacent areas and floodplains, 
to its natural conditions. 

"Riprap" means a layer of [ nonerodible ] material such as 
stone or chunks of concrete [ on an embankment slope for 
the purpose of preventing erosion ]. 

"Schedule of compliance" means a schedule of remedial 
measures including a sequence of enforceable actions or 
operations leading to compliance with the Act, the law, and 
the board regulations, standards and policies. 

"Section 401" means § 401 of the Clean Water Act, or 
33 USC § 1341, as amended [ in ] 1987. 

"Section for Cooperative Water Supply Operations on the 
Potomac (CO-OP)" means a section of the Interstate 
Commission on the Potomac River Basin designated by the 
Water Supply Coordination Agreement as responsible for 
coordination of water resources during times of low flow 
in the Potomac River. 

"Significant alteration or degradation of existing wetland 
acreage or function" means human-induced activities that 
cause either a diminution of the areal extent of the existing 
wetland or cause a change in wetland community type 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 25, 2007 

3468 

resulting in the loss or more than minimal degradation of 
its existing ecological functions. 

"State waters" means all water, on the surface and under 
the ground, wholly or partially within or bordering the 
Commonwealth or within its jurisdiction, including 
wetlands. 

"Surface water" means all state waters that are not ground 
water as defined in § 62.1-255 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Surface water supply project" means a project that 
withdraws or diverts water from a surface water body for 
consumptive or nonconsumptive purposes thereby altering 
the hydrologic regime of the surface water body.  Projects 
that do not alter the hydrologic regime or that alter the 
hydrologic regime but whose sole purpose is flood control 
or storm water management are not included in this 
definition. 

[ "Surface water withdrawal" means a removal or diversion 
of surface water from its natural water course in Virginia 
or from the Potomac River. ] 

"Temporary impacts" means those impacts to surface 
waters, including wetlands, that do not cause a permanent 
alteration of the physical, chemical or biological properties 
of the surface water or of the functions and values of a 
wetland.  Temporary impacts include activities in which 
the ground is restored to its preconstruction contours and 
elevations, such that previous functions and values are 
restored. 

"Toxic pollutant" means any agent or material including, 
but not limited to, those listed under § 307(a) of the Act 
(33 USC § 1317(a)), which after discharge will, on the 
basis of available information, cause toxicity. Toxicity 
means the inherent potential or capacity of a material to 
cause adverse effects in a living organism, including acute 
or chronic effects to aquatic life, detrimental effects on 
human health or other adverse environmental effects. 

"Undesirable [ plant ] species" means any species that 
invades, naturally colonizes, or otherwise dominates a 
compensatory mitigation site or mitigation bank and may 
cause or contribute to the failure of the vegetative success 
criteria for a particular compensatory mitigation site or 
mitigation bank. 

"USACE" means the United States Army Corps of 
Engineers. 

"VMRC" means the Virginia Marine Resources 
Commission. 

"VWP general permit" means a regulation that constitutes 
a VWP permit for a category of activities. 

"VWP permit" means an individual or general permit 
issued by the board under § 62.1-44.15:5 of the Code of 

Virginia that authorizes activities otherwise unlawful under 
§ 62.1-44.5 of the Code of Virginia or otherwise serves as 
the Commonwealth of Virginia's § 401 certification. 

"Water quality standards" means water quality standards 
adopted by the board and approved by the administrator of 
the EPA under § 303 of the Act as defined at 9 VAC 25-
260-5 et seq. 

"Water Supply Coordination Agreement" means the 
agreement among the United States of America, the 
Fairfax County Water Authority, the Washington Suburban 
Sanitary Commission, the District of Columbia, and the 
Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin, dated 
July 22, 1982, which establishes agreement among the 
suppliers to operate their respective water supply systems 
in a coordinated manner and which outlines operating rules 
and procedures for reducing impacts of severe droughts in 
the Potomac River Basin. 

[ "Water supply emergency" means a substantial threat to 
public health or safety due to insufficient public drinking 
water supplies caused by drought. ] 

"Wetlands" means those areas that are inundated or 
saturated by surface or groundwater at a frequency and 
duration sufficient to support, and that under normal 
circumstances do support, a prevalence of vegetation 
typically adapted for life in saturated soil conditions. 
Wetlands generally include swamps, marshes, bogs, and 
similar areas. 

"Withdrawal system" means any device or combination of 
devices used to withdraw surface water, such as, but not 
limited to, a machine, pump, pipe, culvert, hose, tube, 
screen, or fabricated concrete or metal structure. 

9 VAC 25-210-50. Prohibitions and requirements for 
VWP permits. 

A. Except in compliance with a VWP permit, no person 
shall dredge, fill or discharge any pollutant into, or 
adjacent to surface waters, [ or ] withdraw surface water, 
[ or ] otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 
properties of surface waters [ , and make them detrimental 
to the public health, or to animal or aquatic life, or to the 
uses of such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, 
or for recreation, or for other uses; ] excavate in wetlands 
[ , ] or on or after October 1, 2001, conduct the following 
activities in a wetland: 

1. New activities to cause draining that significantly 
alters or degrades existing wetland acreage or functions; 

2. Filling or dumping; 

3. Permanent flooding or impounding; or 

4. New activities that cause significant alteration or 
degradation of existing wetland acreage or functions. 
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B. No VWP permit shall be issued for the following: 

1. Where the proposed activity or the terms or conditions 
of the VWP permit do not comply with state law or 
regulations including but not limited to § 10.1-1408.5 of 
the Code of Virginia; 

2. For the discharge of any radiological, chemical or 
biological warfare agent or high level radioactive 
material into surface waters. 

9 VAC 25-210-60. Exclusions. 

The following [ activities ] do not require a VWP permit 
but may require other permits under state and federal law: 

1. Discharges of dredged or fill material into state 
waters, excepting wetlands, which are addressed under a 
USACE Regional, General or Nationwide Permit, and 
for which no § 401 Water Quality Certificate is required. 

2. Any discharge, other than an activity in a surface 
water governed by § 62.1-44.15:5 of the Code of 
Virginia, permitted by a Virginia Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System (VPDES) permit in accordance with 
9 VAC 25-31-10 et seq. 

3. Any activity, other than an activity in a surface water 
governed by § 62.1-44.15:5 of the Code of Virginia, 
permitted by a Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) 
permit in accordance with 9 VAC 25-32-10 et seq. 

4. Septic tanks, when authorized by a state Department 
of Health permit. 

5. Any activity permitted under Chapter 13 (§ 28.2-1300 
et seq.) of Title 28.2 of the Code of Virginia, unless state 
certification is required by § 401 of the Clean Water Act. 

6. Normal residential gardening, lawn and landscape 
maintenance in a wetland. 

7. Normal agriculture and silviculture activities in a 
wetland such as plowing, seeding, cultivating, minor 
drainage and harvesting for the production of food, fiber 
and forest products, or upland soil and water 
conservation practices. 

a. To fall under this exclusion, the activities specified 
in subdivision 7 of this section must be part of an 
established (i.e., ongoing) agriculture or silviculture, 
operation, and must be in accordance with applicable 
best management practices set forth in either Forestry 
Best Management Practices for Water Quality in 
Virginia Technical Guide ( [ Third Edition, 1997 
Fourth Edition, July 2002 ]) or Virginia Agricultural 
BMP Manual (2000), which facilitate compliance with 
the§ 404(b)(1) Guidelines (40 CFR Part 230). 
Activities on areas lying fallow as part of a 
conventional rotational cycle are part of an established 
operation. 

b. Activities which bring a new area into agricultural 
or silvicultural use are not part of an established 
operation. An operation ceases to be established when 
the area in which it was conducted has been converted 
to another use or has lain idle so long that 
modifications to the hydrological regime are necessary 
to resume operation. If the activity takes place outside 
surface waters, it does not need a VWP permit, 
whether or not it is part of an established agriculture or 
silviculture operation. 

c. For the purposes of subdivision 7 of this section, 
cultivating, harvesting, minor drainage, plowing, and 
seeding are defined as follows: 

(1) "Cultivating" means physical methods of soil 
treatment employed within established agriculture 
and silviculture lands on farm or forest crops to aid 
and improve their growth, quality, or yield. 

(2) "Harvesting" means physical measures 
employed directly upon farm, forest, or crops within 
established agricultural and silviculture lands to 
bring about their removal from farm or forest land, 
but does not include the construction of farm or 
forest roads. 

(3) "Minor drainage" means: 

(a) The discharge of dredged or fill material 
incidental to connecting upland drainage facilities 
to surface waters, adequate to effect the removal 
of excess soil moisture from upland croplands. 
Construction and maintenance of upland (dryland) 
facilities, such as ditching and tiling incidental to 
the planting, cultivating, protecting, or harvesting 
of crops; 

(b) The discharge of dredged or fill material for 
the purpose of installing ditching or other water 
control facilities incidental to planting, 
cultivating, protecting, or harvesting of rice, or 
other wetland crop species, where these activities 
and the discharge occur in surface waters which 
are in established use for such agricultural and 
silviculture wetland crop production; 

(c) The discharge of dredged or fill material for 
the purpose of manipulating the water levels of, or 
regulating the flow or distribution of water within, 
existing impoundments which have been 
constructed in accordance with applicable 
requirements of the Act, and which are in 
established use for the production of rice, or other 
wetland crop species; 

(d) The discharge of dredged or fill material 
incidental to the emergency removal of sandbars, 
gravel bars, or other similar blockages which are 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 25, 2007 

3470 

formed during flood flows or other events, where 
such blockages close or constrict previously 
existing drainageways and, if not promptly 
removed, would result in damage to or loss of 
existing crops or would impair or prevent the 
plowing, seeding, harvesting or cultivating of 
crops on land in established use for crop 
production. Such removal does not include 
enlarging or extending the dimensions of, or 
changing the bottom elevations of, the affected 
drainageway as it existed prior to the formation of 
the blockage. Removal must be accomplished 
within one year after such blockages are 
discovered in order to be eligible for exclusion; 
and 

(e) Minor drainage in surface waters is limited to 
drainage within areas that are part of an 
established agriculture or silviculture operation. It 
does not include drainage associated with the 
immediate or gradual conversion of a wetland to a 
nonwetland (e.g. for example, wetland species to 
upland species not typically adapted to life in 
saturated soil conditions), or conversion from one 
wetland use to another (for example, silviculture 
to agriculture). In addition, minor drainage does 
not include the construction of any canal, ditch, 
dike or other waterway or structure which drains 
or otherwise significantly modifies a stream, lake, 
swamp, bog or any other wetland or aquatic area 
constituting surface water. Any discharge of 
dredged or fill material into surface water 
incidental to the construction of any such 
structure or waterway requires a VWP permit. 

(4) "Plowing" means all forms of primary tillage, 
including moldboard, chisel, or wide-blade plowing, 
discing, harrowing, and similar physical means used 
on farm or forest land for the breaking up, cutting, 
turning over, or stirring of soil to prepare it for the 
planting of crops. Plowing does not include the 
redistribution of soil, rock, sand, or other surficial 
materials in a manner which changes any area of 
surface water to dry land. For example, the 
redistribution of surface materials by blading, 
grading, or other means to fill in wetland areas is 
not plowing. Rock crushing activities which result 
in the loss of natural drainage characteristics, the 
reduction of water storage and recharge capabilities, 
or the overburden of natural water filtration 
capacities does not constitute plowing. Plowing as 
described above will never involve a discharge of 
dredged or fill material. 

(5) "Seeding" means the sowing of seed and 
placement of seedlings to produce farm or forest 
crops and includes the placement of soil beds for 

seeds or seedlings on established farm and forest 
lands. 

8. Maintenance, including emergency reconstruction of 
recently damaged parts, of currently serviceable 
structures such as dikes, groins, levees, dams, riprap 
breakwaters, causeways, bridge abutments or 
approaches, and transportation and utility structures. 
Maintenance does not include modifications that change 
the character, scope, or size of the original design. In 
order to qualify for this exemption exclusion, emergency 
reconstruction must occur within a reasonable period of 
time after damage occurs. 

9. Construction or maintenance of farm or stock ponds 
or irrigation ditches [ in a wetland, ] or the maintenance 
(but not construction) of drainage ditches [ in a 
wetland ]. Discharge associated with siphons, pumps, 
headgates, wingwalls, weirs, diversion structures, and 
such other facilities as are appurtenant and functionally 
related to irrigation ditches are included in this 
exclusion. The maintenance dredging of existing ditches 
is included in this exclusion provided that the final 
dimensions of the maintained ditch do not exceed the 
average dimensions of the original ditch. This exclusion 
does not apply to the construction of new ditches or to 
the channelization of streams. 

10. Construction of temporary sedimentation basins on a 
construction site which does not include the placement 
of fill materials into surface waters or excavation in 
wetlands. The term "construction site" refers to any site 
involving the erection of buildings, roads, and other 
discrete structures and the installation of support 
facilities necessary for construction and utilization of 
such structures. The term "construction site" also 
includes any other land areas which involve land-
disturbing excavation activities, including quarrying or 
other mining activities, where an increase in run-off of 
sediment is controlled through the use of temporary 
sedimentation basins. 

11. Construction or maintenance of farm roads, forest 
roads, or temporary roads for moving mining equipment, 
where such roads are constructed and maintained in 
accordance with applicable best management practices 
(BMPs) set forth in either Forestry Best Management 
Practices for Water Quality in Virginia, Technical 
Guide, [ Third Edition, 1997 Fourth Edition, July 2002 ], 
or Virginia Agricultural BMP Manual, 2000, to ensure 
that flow and circulation patterns and chemical and 
biological characteristics of surface waters are not 
impaired, that the reach of such waters is not reduced, 
and that any adverse effect on the aquatic environment 
will otherwise be minimized. The BMPs which must be 
applied to satisfy this provision include the following 
baseline provisions: 
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a. Permanent roads (for agriculture or forestry 
activities), temporary access roads (for mining, 
forestry, or farm purposes), and skid trails (for 
logging) in surface waters shall be held to the 
minimum feasible number, width, and total length 
consistent with the purpose of specific agriculture, 
silviculture or mining operations, and local 
topographic and climatic conditions; 

b. All roads, temporary or permanent, shall be located 
sufficiently far from streams or other water bodies 
(except for portions of such roads which must cross 
water bodies) to minimize discharges of dredged or fill 
material into surface waters; 

c. The road fill shall be bridged, culverted, or 
otherwise designed to prevent the restriction of 
expected flood flows; 

d. The fill shall be properly stabilized and maintained 
to prevent erosion during and following construction; 

e. Discharges of dredged or fill material into surface 
waters to construct road fill shall be made in a manner 
which minimizes the encroachment of trucks, tractors, 
bulldozers, or other heavy equipment within state 
waters (including adjacent wetlands) that lie outside 
the lateral boundaries of the fill itself; 

f. In designing, constructing, and maintaining roads, 
vegetative disturbance in surface waters shall be kept 
to a minimum; 

g. The design, construction and maintenance of the 
road crossing shall not disrupt the migration or other 
movement of those species of aquatic life inhabiting 
the water body; 

h. Borrow material shall be taken from upland sources 
whenever feasible; 

i. The discharge shall not take, or jeopardize the 
continued existence of a state- or federally- listed 
threatened or endangered species as defined under the 
Endangered Species Act (16 USC § 1531 et seq.), in 
§ 29.1-566 of the Code of Virginia and in 4 VAC 15-
20-130 B and C, except as provided in § 29.1-568 of 
the Code of Virginia, or adversely modify or destroy 
the critical habitat of such species; 

j. Discharges into the nesting and breeding areas for 
migratory waterfowl, spawning areas, and wetlands 
shall be avoided if practical alternatives exist; 

k. The discharge shall not be located in proximity of a 
public water supply or intake; 

l. The discharge shall not occur in areas of 
concentrated shellfish production; 

m. The discharge shall not occur in a component to the 
National Wild and Scenic River System; 

n. The discharge material shall consist of suitable 
material free from toxic pollutants in toxic amounts; 
and 

o. All temporary fills shall be removed in their entirety 
and the area restored to its original elevation. 

[ B. The following surface water withdrawals are excluded 
from VWP permit requirements.  Activities, other than the 
surface water withdrawal, which are contained in 9 VAC 
25-210-50 and are associated with the construction and 
operation of the surface water withdrawal, are subject to 
VWP permit requirements unless excluded by subsection 
A of this section.  Other permits under state and federal 
law may be required. ] 

[ 12. 1. ] Any surface water withdrawal in existence on 
July 1, 1989; however, a permit shall be required if a 
new § 401 certification is required to increase a 
withdrawal. To qualify for this exclusion, the surface 
water withdrawal shall be deemed to be in existence on 
July 1, 1989, if there was an actual withdrawal on or 
before that date that has not been abandoned. 

a. Abandonment of a surface water withdrawal.  A 
surface water withdrawal shall be deemed to be 
abandoned if the owner of the withdrawal system (i) 
notifies the DEQ in writing that the withdrawal has 
been abandoned or (ii) removes or disables the 
withdrawal system with the intent to permanently 
cease such withdrawal.  Transfer of ownership or 
operational control of the withdrawal system, a change 
in use of the water, or temporary cessation of the 
withdrawal shall not be deemed evidence of 
abandonment.  The notification shall be signed by the 
owner of record or shall include evidence satisfactory 
to the DEQ that the signatory is authorized to submit 
the notice on behalf of the owner of record.  Evidence 
may include, but shall not be limited to, a resolution of 
the governing body of the owner or corporate minutes. 

b. Information to be furnished to the DEQ.  Each 
owner or operator of a permanent withdrawal system 
engaging in a withdrawal that is subject to this 
exclusion shall provide the DEQ the estimated 
maximum capacity of the intake structure, the location 
of the existing intake structure and any other 
information that may be required by the board.  Each 
owner or operator of a temporary withdrawal system 
engaging in a withdrawal that is subject to this 
exclusion, where the purpose of the withdrawal is for 
agriculture, shall provide to the DEQ the maximum 
annual surface water withdrawal over the last 10 years.  
The information shall be provided within one year of 
the date that [ notification of abandonment notice of 
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such request ] is received [ by from ] the DEQ and 
shall be updated when the maximum capacity of the 
existing intake structure changes.  The information 
provided to the DEQ shall not constitute a limit on the 
exempted withdrawal.  Such information shall be 
utilized by the DEQ and board to protect existing 
beneficial uses and shall be considered when 
evaluating applications for new withdrawal permits. 

[ 13. 2. ] Any surface water withdrawal not in existence 
on July 1, 1989, if the person proposing to make the 
withdrawal received a § 401 certification before January 
1, 1989, with respect to installation of any necessary 
withdrawal structures to make such withdrawal; 
however, a permit shall be required before any such 
withdrawal is increased beyond the amount authorized 
by the certification. 

[ 3. Any existing lawful unpermitted surface water 
withdrawal initiated between July 1, 1989, and July 25, 
2007, which is not subject to other exclusions contained 
in this section.  These withdrawals shall be excluded 
from permit requirements only if they comply with the 
conditions in this subdivision.  Regardless of complying 
with the conditions of this subdivision, these 
withdrawals shall require a permit for any increased 
withdrawal amount. 

a. Information to be furnished to the DEQ.  Each 
owner or operator of a withdrawal system engaging in 
a withdrawal that is subject to this exclusion shall 
provide the DEQ with copies of water withdrawal 
reports required by Water Withdrawal Reporting 
Regulations (9 VAC 25-200) documenting the largest 
12-consecutive month withdrawal that occurred in the 
10 years prior to July 25, 2007. In the case of 
unreported agricultural surface water withdrawals, 
estimates of withdrawals will be accepted that are 
based on one of the following:  

(1) The area irrigated, depth of irrigation, and 
annual number of irrigations; pumping capacity and 
annual pumping time; annual energy consumption 
for pumps; number and type of livestock watered 
annually; number and type of livestock where water 
is used for cooling purposes; or  

(2) Other methods approved by the board for the 
largest 12 consecutive month withdrawal that 
occurred in the 10 years prior to July 25, 2007. The 
board shall evaluate all estimates of surface water 
withdrawals based on projected water demands for 
crops and livestock as published by the Virginia 
Cooperative Extension Service, the United States 
Natural Resources Conservation Service, or other 
similar references and make a determination 
whether they are reasonable.  In all cases only 

reasonable estimates will be used to document the 
excluded withdrawal amount.  

b. The information noted in subdivision 3 a of this 
subsection shall be provided within 12 months of July 
25, 2007. The information provided to the DEQ shall 
constitute a limit on the withdrawal that is excluded 
from permit requirements; any increase in that 
withdrawal above the limited amount shall require an 
application for a permit for the withdrawal system.  
Information regarding excluded withdrawal amounts 
shall be utilized by the DEQ and board to protect 
existing beneficial uses and shall be considered when 
evaluating applications for new withdrawal permits. 

c. All owners and operators of surface water 
withdrawals excluded from permit requirements by 
this section shall annually report withdrawals as 
required by Water Withdrawal Reporting Regulations 
(9 VAC 25-200).  Failure to file annual reports either 
reporting actual withdrawals or the fact that 
withdrawals did not occur may result in the owner or 
operator being required to file an application and 
receive a permit prior to resuming any withdrawal. 

4. Agricultural surface water withdrawals from nontidal 
waters that total less than one million gallons in a single 
month. 

5. Surface water withdrawals from nontidal waters for 
all other purposes that total less than 10,000 gallons per 
day. 

6. Surface water withdrawals from tidal waters for 
nonconsumptive uses. 

7. Agricultural surface water withdrawals from tidal 
waters that total less than 60 million gallons in a single 
month. 

8. Surface water withdrawals from tidal waters for all 
other consumptive purposes that total less than two 
million gallons per day. 

9. Surface water withdrawals for firefighting or for the 
training activities related to firefighting, such as dry 
hydrants and emergency surface water withdrawals. 

10. Surface water withdrawals placed into portable 
containers by persons owning property on, or holding 
easements to, riparian lands. 

11. Surface water withdrawals for the purposes of 
hydrostatic pressure testing of water tight containers, 
pipelines, and vessels. 

12. Surface water withdrawals for normal single family 
home residential gardening, lawn, and landscape 
maintenance. 
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13. Surface water withdrawals that are located on a 
property, such that the withdrawal returns to the stream 
of origin; not more than half of the instantaneous flow is 
diverted; not more than 1,000 feet of stream channel 
separate the withdrawal point from the return point; and 
both banks of the affected stream segment are located 
within that property boundary. 

14. Surface water withdrawals from quarry pits, such 
that the withdrawal does not alter the physical, 
biological, or chemical properties of surface waters 
connected to the quarry pit. 

15. Surface water withdrawals from a privately owned 
agriculture pond, emergency water storage facility, or 
other water retention facility, provided that such pond or 
facility is not placed in the bed of a perennial or 
intermittent stream or wetland.  Surface water 
withdrawals from such facilities constructed in beds of 
ephemeral streams are excluded from permit 
requirements. 

C. DEQ may require any owner or operator of a 
withdrawal system excluded from permit requirements by 
subdivisions B 3 through 15 of this section to cease 
withdrawals and file an application and receive a permit 
prior to resuming any withdrawal when the board’s 
assessment indicates that a withdrawal, whether  
individually or in combination with other existing or 
proposed projects:  

(1) Causes or contributes to, or may reasonably be 
expected to cause or contribute to, a significant 
impairment of the state waters or fish and wildlife 
resources;  

(2)  Adversely impacts other existing beneficial 
uses; or  

(3) Will cause or contribute to a violation of water 
quality standards.  ] 

PART II. 
VWP PERMIT APPLICATION AND DEVELOPMENT. 

9 VAC 25-210-75. Preapplication procedures for a 
[ new or expanded ] VWP permit for [ major ] surface 
water [ supply projects withdrawals ]. 

A. Preapplication review panel. At the request of an 
applicant for a surface water supply [ projects project ], a 
preapplication review panel shall be convened prior to 
submission of a VWP application upon request by a 
potential applicant to the Department of Environmental 
Quality.  The preapplication review panel shall assist 
potential applicants that are proposing surface water supply 
projects with the early identification of issues related to the 
protection of beneficial instream and offstream uses of 
state waters and the identification of the affected stream 

reach.  The DEQ shall notify the Virginia Marine 
Resources Commission, the Virginia Institute of Marine 
Science, the Virginia Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries, the Virginia Department of Conservation and 
Recreation, the Virginia Department of Health, the Corps 
of Engineers, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, the 
Environmental Protection Agency and any other 
appropriate local, state, and federal agencies of the 
preapplication review panel request. These agencies shall 
participate to the extent [ practical practicable ] in the 
preapplication review panel by providing information and 
guidance on the potential natural resource impacts and 
regulatory implications of the options being considered by 
the applicant and shall provide comments within 60 days 
of the initial meeting of the preapplication panel. 

B. Preapplication public notice.  For new or expanded 
surface water supply projects requiring an individual VWP 
permit, a potential applicant shall provide information on 
the project, shall provide an opportunity for public 
comment on the proposed project, and shall assist in 
identifying public concerns or issues prior to filing a VWP 
individual permit application. 

1. Except as provided in this subsection, the potential 
applicant shall provide for  publication of notice once a 
week for two consecutive weeks in a newspaper of 
general circulation serving the locality where the surface 
water supply project is proposed to be located. 

2. If requested by any person, the potential applicant 
shall hold at least one public information meeting.  
Notice of any public information meeting held pursuant 
to this subsection shall be provided at least 14 days prior 
to the public information meeting date and shall be 
published in the same manner as required in subdivision 
1 of this subsection.  A potential applicant shall submit 
the notice to the DEQ for posting on the DEQ website.  
At a minimum, any notice required by this subsection 
shall include: 

a. A statement of the potential applicant's intent to 
apply for a VWP permit for a surface water supply 
project; 

b. The proposed location of the surface water supply 
project; 

c. Information on how the public may request a public 
information meeting or in the alternative, the date, 
time and location of the public information meeting; 

d. The name, address and telephone number of the 
potential applicant, or an authorized representative 
who can answer questions or receive comments on the 
proposed surface water supply project; and 

e. A statement of how any oral or written public 
comments will be used. 
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3. In accordance with the provisions of 9 VAC 25-780-
50 C 11 [ or and ] 9 VAC 25-780-150, a potential 
applicant shall not be required to publish public notice or 
provide an opportunity for a public information meeting 
if a public meeting has been held within two years prior 
to the submittal of an application for a VWP permit on a 
local or regional water supply plan, which includes the 
proposed project. 

4. The potential applicant shall maintain a list of persons 
and their addresses making comment and shall make a 
good faith effort to notify commenters, at the address 
provided by the commenter, when the public notice for 
the draft VWP individual permit is available. 

9 VAC 25-210-80. Application for a VWP permit. 

A. How to apply Application [ for a VWP Permit ]. Any 
person who is required to obtain a VWP permit [ , except 
those persons applying for a VWP permit for a minor 
surface water withdrawal or an emergency VWP permit, ] 
shall submit a complete VWP permit application to DEQ 
through VMRC, consisting of the JPA with the DEQ VWP 
Addendum, or shall submit a complete registration 
statement for coverage under a VWP general permit, as 
applicable the most current Joint Permit Application 
procedures, as established within each type of Joint Permit 
Application (JPA). The Virginia Department of 
Transportation (VDOT) may use its monthly Interagency 
Coordination Meeting (IACM) process for submitting 
JPAs or registration statements.  There shall be no 
commencement of any activity subject to the VWP permit 
program regulation prior to the issuance of a VWP permit 
or VWP general permit authorization. 

1. The amount of time allowed by § 62.1-44.15:5 D of 
the Code of Virginia for DEQ to process a complete 
VWP permit application for any project, excluding water 
withdrawal projects, is 15 days for completeness review; 
120 days for processing the complete application by 
issuing a VWP permit, issuing a VWP permit with 
conditions, denying the VWP permit, or deciding to 
conduct a public meeting or hearing; 60 days to hold a 
public meeting or hearing; and 90 days after the public 
meeting or hearing, if held, to make a final VWP permit 
decision. The required 15-day timeframe for 
completeness review for all projects, with the exception 
of minimum instream flow and water withdrawal 
projects, will commence upon receipt of the application 
by the DEQ office having authority over the project (i.e., 
the regional office in the region in which the project is 
located, or central office for VDOT projects). 

2. There shall be no commencement of any activity for 
which a VWP permit is required prior to the issuance of 
a VWP permit. 

B. Informational requirements [ for a VWP Permit 
Application, except applications for minor surface water 
withdrawals or emergency VWP permits ]. 

1. A complete VWP permit application, at a minimum, 
consists of a JPA completed in its entirety with all 
appropriate maps, appendices, attachments and addenda 
included. The JPA must include the following 
information: 

a. Name and, mailing address, telephone number, and 
if applicable, fax number of applicant (and property 
owner, if different). 

b. If different from applicant, name, mailing address, 
telephone number, and if applicable, fax number of 
property owner. 

b. c. If applicable, name and of authorized agent, 
mailing address of authorized agent (if applicable), 
telephone number, and if applicable, fax number and 
electronic mail address. 

c. d. Name of the impacted waterbody or waterbodies, 
or receiving waters, as applicable, at the project site. 

d. e. Name of the city or county where the project 
occurs. 

e. f. Project purpose, need and description. The 
purpose and need for the project shall be specified. A 
complete narrative description of the project shall 
include: the name of the project; the type of activity to 
be conducted; any physical alteration to surface 
waters; and all impacts, permanent and temporary, 
associated with the project. Wetland impacts should be 
quantified and identified according to their Cowardin 
classification or similar terminology. Conversion of 
one type of wetland to another type of wetland is 
considered to be a permanent impact.  Stream impacts 
should be quantified and identified based on 
geomorphological types. 

f. g. Amount of surface water impacts (wetlands, 
streams or wetland impacts (by type in acres or square 
feet), stream impacts (in linear feet) [ , and in square 
feet for purposes of calculating the permit application 
fee, when applicable ], and open water) impacts (by 
type in square feet or acres, or linear feet for streams 
(if as applicable). 

g. h. Materials assessment. If dredged material from 
on-site areas or fill material from off-site areas is 
involved, the applicant must provide evidence or 
certification that the material is free from toxic 
contaminants prior to disposal, or that the material, if 
not free of contaminants, will be placed in an 
approved disposal area. If applicable, the applicant 
may be required to conduct grain size and composition 
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analyses, tests for specific parameters or chemical 
constituents, or elutriate tests on the dredge material. 

h. i. Proposed construction schedule. An estimate of 
the construction timeframe for the project will be used 
to determine the VWP permit term. 

i. j. Signed and dated signature page. The application 
signature page, either on the copy submitted to VMRC 
or to the DEQ, must have an original signature.  
Electronic submittals containing the original-signature 
page, such as that contained in a scanned document 
file, are acceptable. 

j. Appendices (from the JPA) that apply to the project. 

k. The DEQ Addendum, including latitude and 
longitude (to the nearest second) at the center of the 
project, United States Geological Survey Hydrologic 
Unit Code for the project and compensatory mitigation 
site, DEQ stream classification, stream drainage area, 
functions and values assessment for wetlands impacts 
(if applicable), beneficial uses evaluation for instream 
flow and surface water withdrawal projects (if 
applicable), wetlands delineation information, state- 
and federally-listed threatened and endangered species 
information, mitigation plan (demonstrating avoidance 
and minimization to the maximum extent practicable, 
and compensation for unavoidable impacts). 

(1) For wetland impacts greater than one acre and 
for all water withdrawals (1.0 acre or 43,560 square 
feet), the assessment of functional values of the 
affected surface waters must include information on 
existing beneficial uses of the surface waters and 
information on fish and wildlife resources and 
habitat at the proposed project location: surrounding 
land uses and cover types; nutrient, sediment, and 
pollutant trapping; flood control and flood storage 
capacity; erosion control and shoreline stabilization; 
groundwater recharge and discharge; aquatic and 
wildlife habitat; and unique or critical habitats. 
Functional values may also include: water quality, 
floodflow desynchronization, nutrient import or 
export, stormwater retention or detention, 
recreation, education, [ and ] aesthetics [ , or other 
beneficial uses ]. These values shall be assessed 
using an acceptable method appropriate for the type 
of impacted resource. This information will be used 
to determine the type of compensatory mitigation 
required to ensure no net loss of wetland functions. 

(a) Functional values may include: water quality, 
floodflow desynchronization, nutrient import or 
export, stormwater retention or detention, 
groundwater recharge or discharge, fish and 
wildlife habitat, recreation, education, and 
aesthetics. These values shall be assessed using an 

acceptable method appropriate for the type of 
impacted resource. This information will be used 
to determine the type of compensatory mitigation 
required to ensure no net loss of wetland 
functions. 

(b) (2) Evaluation of beneficial uses means for 
instream flow and surface water withdrawal projects 
includes both instream and offstream uses. Instream 
beneficial uses include, but are not limited to: the 
protection of fish and wildlife habitat; maintenance 
of waste assimilation; recreation; navigation; and 
cultural and aesthetic values. Offstream beneficial 
uses include, but are not limited to: domestic 
(including public water supply); agricultural; 
electric power generation; and commercial and 
industrial uses. 

(2) (3) The assessment of potential impacts to 
federally-listed and state-listed threatened or 
endangered species shall include correspondence or 
documentation from federal or state resource 
agencies addressing potential impacts to listed 
species. 

(3) (4) A delineation map must be provided of the 
geographic area of a delineated wetland for all 
wetlands on the site, in accordance with 9 VAC 25-
210-45, including the wetlands data sheets, and the 
latitude and longitude (to the nearest second) of the 
center of the wetland impact area. Wetland types 
shall be noted according to their Cowardin 
classification or similar terminology. A copy of the 
USACE delineation confirmation, or other 
correspondence from the USACE indicating their 
approval of the wetland boundary, shall also be 
provided at the time of application, or if not 
available at that time, as soon as it becomes 
available during the VWP permit review. The 
delineation map should also include the location of 
all impacted and non-impacted streams, open water 
and other surface waters on the site. The 
approximate limits of any Chesapeake Bay 
Resource Protection Areas (RPAs) shall be shown 
on the map as additional state or local requirements 
may apply if the project is located within an RPA. 

(4) (5) The plan of mitigation for unavoidable 
impacts to surface waters must include, in 
accordance with current federal regulations: 
measures taken to avoid impacts to the maximum 
extent practicable, the measures proposed to reduce 
the impacts to surface waters to the maximum 
extent practicable, and where impacts could not be 
avoided, the means by which compensation will be 
accomplished to achieve no net loss of wetland 
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acreage and function functions or stream functions 
and water quality benefits. 

(a) A narrative description must be provided 
detailing the measures taken during project design 
and development both to avoid and minimize 
impacts to surface waters to the maximum extent 
practicable (see 9 VAC 25-210-115 A). 

(b) The compensatory mitigation plan, unless 
dependent solely on wetland banking or monetary 
contribution to an in-lieu fee fund, shall include 
the goals and objectives of the plan, in terms of 
replacement of functions and values and 
expressed in acres of each wetland or stream type. 
The plan shall also address any inclusion of 
buffers, any structures and features necessary for 
the success of the site, and the schedule for 
compensatory mitigation site construction. 

(c) (b) In order for an application to be deemed 
complete, at a minimum, a conceptual wetland 
compensatory mitigation plan must be submitted 
for unavoidable permanent impacts to wetlands, 
unless dependent solely on mitigation banking or 
monetary contribution to an in-lieu fee fund, and 
shall include at a minimum: the goals and 
objectives in terms of replacement of wetland or 
stream acreage and function functions; a detailed 
location map (for example, a United States 
Geologic Survey topographic quadrangle map), 
including latitude and longitude (to the nearest 
second) and the hydrologic unit code (HUC) at 
the center of the site; a description of the 
surrounding land use; a hydrologic analysis, 
including a draft water budget based on expected 
monthly inputs and outputs which will project 
water level elevations for a typical year, a dry 
year and a wet year; groundwater elevation data, 
if available, or the proposed location of 
groundwater monitoring wells to collect these 
data; wetland delineation confirmation and data 
sheets and maps for existing wetland surface 
water areas on the proposed site(s); a conceptual 
grading plan; a conceptual planting scheme, 
including suggested plant species, and zonation 
and acreage of each vegetation type proposed; a 
proposed soil preparation and amendment plan 
addressing description of existing soils, including 
general information on both topsoil and subsoil 
conditions, permeability, and the need for soil 
amendments; and a draft design of any water 
control structures; inclusion of buffer areas; a 
description of any structures and features 
necessary for the success of the site; the schedule 
for compensatory mitigation site construction; and 
proposed deed restriction language for protecting 

the compensation site or sites, including all 
surface waters and buffer areas within its 
boundaries, in perpetuity. 

(c) In order for an application to be deemed 
complete, a conceptual stream compensatory 
mitigation plan must be submitted for unavoidable 
permanent impacts to streams, unless dependent 
solely on mitigation banking or monetary 
contribution to an in-lieu fee fund, and shall 
include at a minimum: the goals and objectives in 
terms of water quality benefits and replacement of 
stream functions; a detailed location map (for 
example, a United States Geologic Survey 
topographic quadrangle map), including the 
latitude and longitude (to the nearest second) and 
the hydrologic unit code (HUC) at the center of 
the site; a description of the surrounding land use; 
the proposed stream segment restoration 
locations, including plan view and cross-section 
sketches; the stream deficiencies that need to be 
addressed; the proposed restoration measures to 
be employed, including channel measurements, 
proposed design flows, types of instream 
structures, and conceptual planting scheme; 
reference stream data, if available; inclusion of 
buffer areas; schedule for restoration activities; 
and proposed deed restriction language for 
protecting the compensation site or sites, 
including all surface waters and buffer areas 
within its boundaries, in perpetuity. 

(d) Compensation for open water impacts may be 
required, as appropriate, to protect state waters 
and fish and wildlife resources from significant 
impairment. 

[ (d) (e) The final compensatory mitigation plan 
must include complete information on all 
components of the conceptual compensatory 
mitigation plan detailed in subdivision 
subdivisions 1 k (4) (5) (b) and (c) of this 
subsection, as well as. 

(f) For wetlands, the final compensation plan shall 
also include a summary of the type and acreage of 
existing wetland impacts anticipated during the 
construction of the compensation site and the 
proposed compensation for these impacts; a site 
access plan; a monitoring plan, including 
proposed success criteria, monitoring goals, and 
the location of photostations, monitoring wells, 
vegetation sampling points, and reference 
wetlands or streams (if available); an abatement 
and control plan for undesirable plant species; an 
erosion and sedimentation control plan; a 
construction schedule; and proposed deed 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 25, 2007 

3477 

restriction language for protecting proof that the 
protective instrument for the compensation site or 
sites in perpetuity, including all surface waters 
and buffer areas within its boundaries, has been 
recorded. The final compensatory mitigation plan 
must include protection of all surface waters and 
upland areas that are to be preserved in perpetuity 
within the compensation site boundary. 

(g) For streams, the final compensation plan shall 
also include a site access plan; an erosion and 
sedimentation control plan; an abatement and 
control plan for undesirable plant species; a 
monitoring plan, including, a monitoring and 
reporting schedule, monitoring design and 
methodologies for success; proposed success 
criteria; and location of photo monitoring stations, 
vegetation sampling points, survey points, bank 
pins, scour chains, and reference streams; proof 
that the protective instrument for the 
compensation site or sites, including all surface 
waters and buffer areas within its boundaries, has 
been recorded; a plan view sketch depicting the 
pattern and all compensation measures being 
employed; a profile sketch; and cross-sectional 
sketches of the proposed compensation stream. 

(h) For purposes of this regulation, undesirable 
species means any species that invades, naturally 
colonizes, or otherwise dominates a compensatory 
mitigation site or mitigation bank and may cause 
or contribute to the failure of the vegetative 
success criteria for a particular compensatory 
mitigation site or mitigation bank. 

(e) Any compensation plan shall include measures 
for the control of undesirable species. ] 

(e) [ (i) (f ) ] Any compensation plan proposing to 
include contributions to an in-lieu fee fund shall 
include proof of the willingness of the entity to 
accept the donation and documentation of how the 
amount of the contribution was calculated. 

(f) [ (j) (g) ] Any compensation plan proposing 
the purchase or use of mitigation banking credits 
shall include: (i) the name of the proposed 
mitigation bank and the HUC in which it is 
located; (ii) the number of credits proposed to be 
purchased or used; and (iii) certification from the 
bank owner of the availability of credits. 

(g) [ (k) (h) ] Applicants proposing off-site 
compensatory mitigation, including purchase or 
use of mitigation bank credits, or contribution to 
an in-lieu fee fund shall first discuss the feasibility 
of on-site compensatory mitigation. If on-site 
compensatory mitigation is practicable, applicants 

must provide documentation as to why the 
proposed off-site compensatory mitigation is 
ecologically preferable (see 9 VAC 25-210-116 
B). The evaluation should include, at a minimum, 
a comparison of the following criteria: water 
quality benefits, hydrologic source, hydrologic 
regime, watershed, surface water functions and 
values, vegetation type, soils, impact acreage, 
distance from impacts, timing of compensation 
versus impacts, acquisition, constructability, and 
cost. 

(h) Any compensation plan involving stream 
restoration shall submit a plan that includes: goals 
and objectives in terms of water quality benefits; 
location map, including the latitude and longitude 
(to the nearest second) at the center of the site; the 
proposed stream segment restoration locations, 
including plan view and cross-section sketches; 
the stream deficiencies that need to be addressed; 
the restoration measures to be employed, 
including proposed design flows and types of 
instream structures; and a proposed construction 
schedule. 

(i) Compensation for open water impacts may be 
required, as appropriate, to protect state waters 
and fish and wildlife resources from significant 
impairment. 

l. Detailed project location map. The detailed location 
map (e.g. for example, a United States Geologic 
Survey topographic quadrangle map) [ of the impact 
area must include the latitude and longitude for the 
project, the project boundary, the hydrologic unit 
code, and the stream classification ] (if applicable) 
[ clearly identified on the map including the project 
boundary ]. The map should be of sufficient detail 
such that the site may be easily located for site 
inspection. 

m. Project plan view and cross-sectional sketches. All 
plan view sketches and cross-sectional sketches must 
include, at a minimum, north arrow, scale, existing 
structures, existing and proposed (if available) 
contours, limit of surface water areas, ebb and flood or 
direction of flow, ordinary high water elevation, 
impact limits, and location and dimension of all 
structures in impact areas,. Profile sketches with the 
above information shall be required as appropriate to 
demonstrate minimization of impacts. 

n. Application processing fee. The applicant will be 
notified by the board as to the appropriate fee for the 
project in accordance with 9 VAC 25-20-10 et seq. 
The board will continue to process the application, but 
the fee must be received prior to release of a draft 
VWP permit. 
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2. In addition to requirements of subdivision 1 of this 
subsection, applications involving a instream flow 
requirements, [ major ] surface water [ withdrawal 
withdrawals ] or a Federal Energy Regulatory 
Commission (FERC) license or re-license shall include: 

a. The drainage area, the average annual flow and the 
median monthly flows at the withdrawal point, and 
historical low flows if available; 

b. The average daily withdrawal, the maximum daily 
and instantaneous withdrawals and information on the 
variability of the demand by season; 

c. Information on how the proposed withdrawal will 
impact flows in terms of flow reduction; 

d. c. The consumptive use and the average daily return 
flow of the proposed project and the location of the 
return flow; 

e. Information on the proposed use of and need for the 
surface water and information on how the demand for 
surface water was determined (e.g., per capita use, 
population growth rates, new uses, changes to service 
areas, and if applicable, acreage irrigated and 
evapotranspiration effects); 

f. d. Information on flow dependent beneficial uses at 
the proposed project location along the affected stream 
reach; and 

g. e. Information on the aquatic life at the proposed 
project location along the affected stream reach, 
including species and habitat requirements.; 

f. Information on how the proposed withdrawal will 
alter flows along the affected stream reach; 

g. Information on the proposed use of and need for the 
surface water and information on how demand for 
surface water was determined (for example, per capita 
use, population growth rates, new uses, changes to 
service areas, and if applicable; acreage irrigated and 
evapotranspiration effects).  If during the water supply 
planning process, the need for the withdrawal was 
established, the applicant may submit said planning 
process information, provided that the submittal 
address all requirements of 9 VAC 25-210-115 B.  
The board shall deem such a submittal as meeting the 
requirements of this subsection.  For public 
[ drinking surface ] water supply [ withdrawal ] 
projects see also [ 9 VAC 25-780-115 9 VAC 25-780-
100 and 9 VAC 25-780-130 ]; 

h. For new or expanded surface water supply projects, 
a summary of the steps taken to seek public input as 
required by 9 VAC 25-210-75 and an identification of 
the issues raised during the course of the public 
information meeting process; and 

i. For surface water withdrawals, other than public 
water supplies, information to demonstrate that 
alternate sources of water supply are available to 
support the operation of the facility during times of 
reduced instream flow. 

[ C. Applications for new or expanded minor surface water 
withdrawals, using the DEQ Application for New or 
Expanded Minor Surface Water Withdrawals Initiated On 
or After July 25, 2007, shall include: 

1. Name, mailing address, telephone number, and if 
applicable, fax number and electronic mail address of 
applicant; 

2. If different from applicant, name, mailing address, 
telephone number, and if applicable, fax number and 
electronic mail address of property owner; 

3. If applicable, name of authorized agent, mailing 
address, telephone number, and if applicable, fax 
number and electronic mail address; 

4. Name of waterbody or waterbodies, or receiving 
waters, as applicable; 

5. Documentation of all withdrawals associated with the 
application, including, but not limited to, the amount of 
the requested surface water withdrawal, a description of 
the proposed intake structure, and a schedule of the 
proposed withdrawal that describes any seasonal 
variations in withdrawal patterns; 

6. Locations of all withdrawals associated with the 
application shown on a detailed location map (for 
example, a United States Geological Survey 7.5-minute 
topographic map or similar maps of reasonable detail to 
show land and water features); 

7. Name of the city or county where the project occurs; 

8. Signed and dated signature page (electronic submittals 
containing the original-signature page, such as that 
contained in a scanned document file are acceptable);  

9. Application processing fee in accordance with 9 VAC 
25; and 

10. Any application for a minor surface water 
withdrawal for a public surface water supply withdrawal 
project shall provide an evaluation of project alternatives 
as required in 9 VAC 25-210-115. ] 

[ 3. D. ] Applications for an Emergency Virginia Water 
Protection Permit to address a public water supply 
emergency [ shall include ]: 

[ 1. Applications for an Emergency Virginia Water 
Protection Permit shall include the information noted 
below in subdivisions a through o.  The JPA may be 
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used for emergency applications purposes, provided that 
all of the information below is included: ] 

a. Name, mailing address, telephone number, and if 
applicable, fax number and electronic mail address of 
applicant; 

b. If different from applicant, name, mailing address, 
telephone number, and if applicable, fax number and 
electronic mail address of property owner; 

c. If applicable, name of authorized agent, mailing 
address, telephone number, and if applicable, fax 
number and electronic mail address; 

d. Name of waterbody or waterbodies, or receiving 
waters, as applicable; 

e. Name of the city or county where the project occurs; 

f. Signed and dated signature page (electronic 
submittals containing the original-signature page, such 
as that contained in a scanned document file are 
acceptable); 

g. Application processing fee in accordance with 
9 VAC 25-20; 

h. The drainage area, the average annual flow and the 
median monthly flows at the withdrawal point, and 
historical low flows if available; 

i. Information on the aquatic life along the affected 
stream reach, including species and habitat 
requirements; 

j. Recent and current water use including monthly 
water use in the previous calendar year and weekly 
water use in the previous six months prior to the 
application.  The application shall identify the sources 
of such water and also identify any water purchased 
from other water suppliers; 

k. A description of the severity of the public water 
supply emergency, including for reservoirs, an 
estimate of days of remaining supply at current rates 
of use and replenishment; for wells, current 
production; for intakes, current streamflow; 

l. A description of mandatory water conservation 
measures taken or imposed by the applicant and the 
dates when the measures were implemented; for the 
purposes of obtaining an Emergency Virginia Water 
Protection Permit, mandatory water conservation 
measures shall include, but not be limited to, the 
prohibition of lawn and landscape watering, vehicle 
washing, the watering of recreation fields, refilling of 
swimming pools, the washing of paved surfaces; 

m. An estimate of water savings realized by 
implementing mandatory water conservation 
measures; 

n. Documentation that the applicant has exhausted all 
management actions that would minimize the threat to 
public welfare, safety and health and will avoid the 
need to obtain an emergency permit, and that are 
consistent with existing permit limitations; and 

o. Any other information that demonstrates that the 
condition is a substantial threat to public health or 
safety. 

[ 4. 2. ] Within 14 days after the issuance of an 
Emergency Virginia Water Protection Permit, the permit 
holder shall apply for a VWP permit under the other 
provisions of this regulation. 

[ C. E. ] Additional information. The board shall require 
additional information if needed to evaluate compliance 
with this chapter. 

[ D. F. ] Incomplete application. Where an application is 
not accepted as complete by the board within 15 days of 
receipt, the board shall [  request require the submission 
of ] additional specific information from the applicant, and 
may suspend processing of any application until such time 
as the applicant has supplied missing or deficient the 
requested information and the board considers the 
application complete. Further, where the applicant 
becomes aware that he omitted one or more relevant facts 
from a VWP permit application [ , ] or submitted incorrect 
information in a VWP permit application or in any report 
to the board, he the applicant shall immediately submit 
such facts or the correct information.  [ Such submission A 
revised application with new information ] shall be deemed 
a new application for purpose of reviews, but shall not 
require additional notice or an additional permit 
application fee. [ An incomplete permit application may be 
administratively withdrawn from processing by the board 
after 180 days from the date that the original permit 
application was received by the board for failure to provide 
required information. ]  

9 VAC 25-210-90. Conditions applicable to all VWP 
permits. 

A. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 
conditions of the VWP permit. Nothing in this chapter 
shall be construed to relieve the permittee of the duty to 
comply with all applicable federal and state statutes, 
regulations and prohibitions. Any VWP permit violation is 
a violation of the law, and is grounds for enforcement 
action, VWP permit termination, revocation, modification, 
or denial of an application for a VWP permit extension or 
reissuance. 
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B. Duty to cease or confine activity. It shall not be a 
defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 
would have been necessary to halt or reduce the activity for 
which a VWP permit has been granted in order to maintain 
compliance with the conditions of the VWP permit. 

C. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 
steps to minimize or prevent any impacts in violation of the 
permit which may have a reasonable likelihood of 
adversely affecting human health or the environment. 

D. VWP permit action. 

1. A VWP permit may be modified, revoked and 
reissued, or terminated as set forth in this chapter. 

2. If a permittee files a request for VWP permit 
modification, revocation, or termination, or files a 
notification of planned changes, or anticipated 
noncompliance, the VWP permit terms and conditions 
shall remain effective until the request is acted upon by 
the board. This provision shall not be used to extend the 
expiration date of the effective VWP permit. If the 
permittee wishes to continue an activity regulated by the 
VWP permit after the expiration date of the VWP 
permit, the permittee must apply for and obtain a new 
VWP permit or comply with the provisions of 9 VAC 
25-210-185. 

3. VWP permits may be modified, revoked and reissued 
or terminated upon the request of the permittee or other 
person at the board's discretion, or upon board initiative 
to reflect the requirements of any changes in the statutes 
or regulations, or as a result of VWP permit 
noncompliance as indicated in subsection A of this 
section, or for other reasons listed in 9 VAC 25-210-180. 

E. D. Inspection and entry. Upon presentation of 
credentials, the permittee shall allow the board or any duly 
authorized agent of the board may, at reasonable times and 
under reasonable circumstances:, to conduct the actions 
listed in this section.  For the purpose of this section, the 
time for inspection shall be deemed reasonable during 
regular business hours.  Nothing contained herein shall 
make an inspection time unreasonable during an 
emergency. 

1. Enter upon any permittee's property, public or private, 
and have access to, inspect and copy any records that 
must be kept as part of the VWP permit conditions; 

2. Inspect any facilities, operations or practices 
(including monitoring and control equipment) regulated 
or required under the VWP permit; and 

3. Sample or monitor any substance, parameter or 
activity for the purpose of ensuring compliance with the 
conditions of the VWP permit or as otherwise authorized 
by law. 

F. E. Duty to provide information. 

1. The permittee shall furnish to the board any 
information which the board may request to determine 
whether cause exists for modifying, revoking, reissuing 
or terminating the VWP permit, or to determine 
compliance with the VWP permit. The permittee shall 
also furnish to the board, upon request, copies of records 
required to be kept by the permittee. 

2. Plans, specifications, maps, conceptual reports and 
other relevant information shall be submitted as required 
by the board prior to commencing construction. 

G. F. Monitoring and records requirements. 

1. Monitoring of parameters, other than pollutants, shall 
be conducted according to approved analytical methods 
as specified in the VWP permit. Analysis of pollutants 
will be conducted according to 40 CFR Part 136 (2000), 
Guidelines Establishing Test Procedures for the Analysis 
of Pollutants. 

2. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 
monitoring shall be representative of the monitored 
activity. 

3. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 
information, including all calibration and maintenance 
records and all original strip chart or electronic 
recordings for continuous monitoring instrumentation, 
copies of all reports required by the VWP permit, and 
records of all data used to complete the application for 
the VWP permit, for a period of at least three years from 
the date of the expiration of a granted VWP permit. This 
period may be extended by request of the board at any 
time. 

4. Records of monitoring information shall include as 
appropriate: 

a. The date, exact place and time of sampling or 
measurements; 

b. The name of the individuals who performed the 
sampling or measurements; 

c. The date and time the analyses were performed; 

d. The name of the individuals who performed the 
analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods supporting the 
information such as observations, readings, 
calculations and bench data used; 

f. The results of such analyses; and 

g. Chain of custody documentation. 
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9 VAC 25-210-100. Signatory requirements. 

A. Application. Any application for a VWP permit under 
this chapter must bear the applicant's signature or the 
signature of a person acting in the applicant's behalf, with 
the authority to bind the applicant.  Electronic submittals 
containing the original-signature page, such as that 
contained in a scanned document file, are acceptable. 

B. Reports. All reports required by VWP permits and other 
information requested by the board shall be signed by: 

1. One of the persons described in subsection A of this 
section; or 

2. A duly authorized representative of that person. A 
person is a duly authorized representative only if: 

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 
described in subsection A of this section; and 

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 
position having responsibility for the overall operation 
of the regulated facility or activity, such as the 
position of plant manager, superintendent, or position 
of equivalent responsibility. A duly authorized 
representative may thus be either a named individual 
or any individual occupying a named position. 

c. If an authorization is no longer accurate because a 
different individual or position has responsibility for 
the overall operation of the facility, a new 
authorization must be submitted to the board prior to 
or together with any separate information, or 
applications to be signed by an authorized 
representative. 

C. Certification of application and reports. Any person 
signing a document under subsection A or B of this section 
shall make the following certification: "I certify under 
penalty of law that this document and all attachments were 
prepared under my direction or supervision in accordance 
with a system designed to assure that qualified personnel 
properly gather and evaluate the information submitted. 
Based on my inquiry of the person or persons who manage 
the system or those persons directly responsible for 
gathering the information, the information submitted is to 
the best of my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and 
complete. I am aware that there are significant penalties for 
submitting false information including the possibility of 
fine and imprisonment for knowing violations." 

9 VAC 25-210-110. Establishing applicable standards, 
limitations or other VWP permit conditions. 

In addition to the conditions established in 9 VAC 25-210-
90 and 9 VAC 25-210-100, each VWP permit shall include 
conditions meeting the following requirements where 
applicable: 

[ A. Conditions applicable to Surface Water Withdrawals: ] 

1. Instream flow conditions. Subject to the provisions of 
Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code 
of Virginia, and subject to the authority of the State 
Corporation Commission over hydroelectric facilities 
contained in Chapter 7 (§ 62.1-80 et seq.) of Title 62.1 
of the Code of Virginia, instream flow conditions may 
include but are not limited to conditions that limit the 
volume and rate at which [ surface ] water may be 
withdrawn at certain times and conditions that require 
water conservation and reductions in water use. 

a. In the development of conditions that limit the 
volume and rate at which surface water may be 
withdrawn, consideration shall be given to the 
seasonal needs of water users and the seasonal 
availability of surface water flow. 

b. Consideration shall also be given to the affected 
stream reach and the amount of water that is put to a 
consumptive use in the process. 

c. In the development of instream flow conditions for 
new withdrawals, the board shall take into 
consideration the combined effect on the hydrologic 
regime within an affected stream reach due to 
consumptive water uses associated with: 

(1) All existing permitted withdrawals; 

(2) The total amount of withdrawals excluded from 
VWP permit requirements; and 

(3) Any other existing lawful withdrawals. 

d. VWP Permits for surface water withdrawals, other 
than public water supplies, shall identify how alternate 
sources of water supply will be made available to 
support the operation of the permitted facility during 
times when surface water withdrawals will be 
curtailed due to instream flow requirements or shall 
provide for modification of the operation of the 
facility to assure compliance with permit conditions.  
Such modifications may include, but are not limited 
to, termination or reduction of activities at the facility 
that are dependent on the permitted withdrawal, 
increase capacity to capture and store higher flows or 
implementation of other potential management 
options. 

2. VWP permits issued for surface water withdrawals 
from the Potomac River between the Shenandoah River 
confluence and Little Falls shall contain a condition that 
requires the permittee to reduce withdrawals when the 
restriction or emergency stage is declared in the 
Washington Metropolitan Area under the provisions of 
the Potomac River Low Flow Allocation Agreement; or 
when the operating rules outlined by the Drought-
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Related Operations Manual for the Washington 
Metropolitan Area Water Suppliers, an attachment to the 
Water Supply Coordination Agreement, are in effect.  
The department, [ in after ] consultation with the Section 
for Cooperative Water Supply Operations on the 
Potomac (CO-OP) shall direct the permittee as to when 
[ , by what quantity ] and for what duration withdrawals 
shall be reduced. 

[ 3. New or expanded minor surface water withdrawals.  
The board may issue permits for new or expanded minor 
surface water withdrawals after July 25, 2007, which are 
not excluded from the requirements of this chapter by 
9 VAC 25-210-60, based on the following criteria: 

a. The amount of the surface water withdrawal is 
limited to the amount of water that can be put to 
beneficial use. 

b. Based on the size and location of the surface water 
withdrawal, the withdrawal is not likely to have a 
detrimental impact on existing instream or off-stream 
uses. 

c. Based on an assessment by the board, this 
withdrawal, whether individually or in combination 
with other existing or proposed projects, does not 
cause or contribute to, or may not reasonably be 
expected to cause or contribute to:  

(1) A significant impairment of the state waters or 
fish and wildlife resources;  

(2) Adverse impacts on other existing beneficial 
uses; or  

(3) A violation of water quality standards. 

d. In cases where the board’s assessment indicates that 
criteria contained subdivision 3 b or c of this 
subsection are not met, the board may: 

1. Issue a permit with any special conditions necessary 
to assure these criteria are met, or, 

2. Require the applicant to apply for a VWP permit as 
described in 9 VAC 25-210-80 A and B.  Such 
applications shall be subject to all applicable 
requirements contained in this regulation. ] 

2. [ 3. B. ] Water quality standards and state requirements. 
The VWP permit shall include requirements to comply 
with all appropriate provisions of state laws and 
regulations. 

3. [ 4. C. ] Toxic pollutants. 

[ a. 1. ] Where the board finds that appropriate 
limitations may not ensure compliance with the law or 
state water quality standards the board shall require the 
permittee to follow a program of biological or chemical 

toxics monitoring. The requirement may include a VWP 
permit reopener to allow the imposition of toxicity 
reduction or elimination measures determined to be 
necessary as a result of the board's evaluation of the 
results of the toxic monitoring and other available 
information. Based upon this determination, appropriate 
limitations will be included in the VWP permit to ensure 
the reduction or elimination of toxic pollutants and allow 
the board to ensure that the proposed project will comply 
with water quality standards and other appropriate 
requirements of the law. 

[ b. 2. ] Limitations will be included in the VWP permit 
to control all toxic pollutants which the board determines 
(based on information reported in a VWP permit 
application or a notification or on other information) are 
or may be discharged at a level which would adversely 
affect the beneficial use of the receiving waters. 

4. Duration of VWP permits. VWP permits issued under 
this chapter shall have an effective date and expiration 
date which will determine the life of the permit. VWP 
permits shall be effective for a fixed term based upon the 
projected duration of the project, the length of any 
required monitoring, or other project operations or VWP 
permit conditions; however, the term shall not exceed 15 
years and will be specified in the conditions of the VWP 
permit. The term of these VWP permits shall not be 
extended by modification beyond the maximum 
duration. Extension of VWP permits for the same 
activity beyond the maximum duration specified in the 
original VWP permit will require reapplication and 
reissuance of a new VWP permit unless the permittee 
complies with the provisions of 9 VAC 25-210-185. 

[ 5. D. ] Monitoring requirements as conditions of VWP 
permits may include but are not limited to: 

[ a. 1. ] Requirements concerning the proper use, 
maintenance and installation, when appropriate, of 
monitoring equipment or methods (including biological 
monitoring methods when appropriate) when required as 
a condition of the VWP permit; 

[ b. 2. ] Required monitoring including type, intervals, 
and frequency sufficient to yield data which are 
representative of the monitored activity and including, 
when appropriate, continuous monitoring and composite 
samples; 

[ c. 3. ] Applicable reporting requirements based upon 
the impact of the regulated activity on water quality; and 

[ d. 4. ] Requirements to report monitoring results with a 
frequency dependent on the nature and effect of the 
regulated activity. 
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[ 6. E. ] Best Management Practices (BMPs). The VWP 
permit may require the use of BMPs to control or abate the 
discharge of pollutants. 

[ 7. F. ] Reissued VWP permits. When a VWP permit is 
renewed or reissued, limitations, standards or conditions 
must be in conformance with current limitations, standards, 
or conditions. 

[ 8. G. ] Repening VWP permits. Each VWP permit shall 
have a condition allowing the reopening of the VWP 
permit for the purpose of modifying the conditions of the 
VWP permit to meet new regulatory standards duly 
adopted by the board. Cause for reopening VWP permits 
includes, but is not limited to when the circumstances on 
which the previous VWP permit was based have materially 
and substantially changed, or special studies conducted by 
the board or the permittee show material and substantial 
change, since the time the VWP permit was issued and 
thereby constitute cause for VWP permit modification or 
revocation and reissuance. 

9 VAC 25-210-115. Evaluation of mitigation project 
alternatives. 

A. When a proposed activity involves a [ major ] surface 
water withdrawal [ , public surface water supply 
withdrawal project, ] or alteration of instream flows, the 
applicant shall first identify the purpose of the proposed 
project.  In identifying the project purpose, the applicant 
shall provide a narrative describing the water supply issues 
that form the basis of the proposed project purpose. 

B. When a proposed activity involves [ instream flow or a 
major ] surface water withdrawal, [ , a public surface water 
supply withdrawal project, or the alteration of instream 
flows, ] the applicant shall subsequently demonstrate to the 
satisfaction of the board that the project meets an 
established local water supply need.  In establishing local 
need, the applicant shall provide the following information: 

1. Existing supply sources, yields and demands, 
including: 

a. Peak day and average daily withdrawal; 

b. The safe yield and lowest daily flow of record; 

c. Types of water uses; and 

d. Existing water conservation measures and drought 
response plan, including what conditions trigger their 
implementation. 

2. Projected demands over a minimum 30-year planning 
period, including the following: 

a. Projected demand contained in the local or regional 
water supply plan developed in accordance with 
9 VAC 25-780 or for the project service area, if such 
area is smaller than the planning area; or 

b. Statistical population (growth) trends; and 

c. Projected demands by use type; and 

d. Projected demand without water conservation 
measures; and 

e. Projected demands with long-term water 
conservation measures. 

Avoidance and minimization opportunities C. For all 
proposed projects, the applicant shall be evaluated as 
follows: The applicant must demonstrate to the satisfaction 
of the board that avoidance and minimization opportunities 
have been identified and applied to the proposed activity, 
that practicable alternatives, including design alternatives, 
have been evaluated for the proposed activity, and that the 
proposed activity, in terms of impacts to water quality and 
fish and wildlife resources, is the least environmentally 
damaging practicable alternative. 

The applicant must also demonstrate to the satisfaction 
of the board that all 1. Avoidance and minimization 
includes, but is not limited to, steps have been taken in 
accordance with the Guideline for Specification of 
Disposal Sites for Dredged or Fill Material, 40 CFR Part 
230 (Federal Register, December 24, 1980) to first avoid 
and then minimize adverse impacts to surface waters to 
the maximum extent practicable. Measures, such as 
reducing the size, scope, configuration, or density of the 
proposed project, that would avoid or result in less 
adverse impact to surface waters shall be considered to 
the maximum extent practicable. 

B. Compensatory mitigation proposals shall be evaluated 
as follows: 

1. On-site, in-kind compensatory mitigation, when 
available, shall be deemed the most ecologically 
preferable form of compensation for project impacts, in 
most cases. However, off-site or out-of-kind 
compensation opportunities that prove to be more 
ecologically preferable or practicable may be 
considered. When the applicant can demonstrate 
satisfactorily that an off-site or out-of-kind 
compensatory mitigation proposal is practicable and 
ecologically preferable, then such proposal may be 
deemed appropriate for compensation of project impacts. 

2. Compensatory mitigation for unavoidable project 
impacts may be met through wetland or stream creation 
or restoration, the purchase or use of mitigation bank 
credits, or a contribution to an approved in-lieu fee fund. 
Compensation may incorporate preservation of wetlands 
or streams or preservation or restoration of upland 
buffers adjacent to state waters when utilized in 
conjunction with creation, restoration or mitigation bank 
credits as appropriate to ensure protection or 
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enhancement of state waters or fish and wildlife 
resources and their habitat. 

3. Generally, preference shall be given in the following 
sequence: restoration, creation, mitigation banking, in-
lieu fee fund. However, the appropriate compensatory 
mitigation option for project impacts shall be evaluated 
on a case-by-case basis, in terms of replacement of 
wetland or stream acreage and function. 

2. Any alternatives analysis conducted specifically for 
public [ drinking surface ] water supply [ withdrawal ] 
projects [ , ] shall include: 

a. The range of alternatives to be analyzed by the 
applicant as follows: 

(1) All applicable alternatives contained in the local 
or regional water supply plan developed in 
accordance with 9 VAC 25-780; 

(2) Alternatives that are practicable or feasible from 
both a technical and economic standpoint that had 
not been identified in the local or regional water 
supply plan developed in accordance with 9 VAC 
25-780; 

(3) Alternatives that are available to the applicant 
but not necessarily under the current jurisdiction of 
the applicant; and 

(4) Water conservation measures that could be 
considered as a means to reduce demand for each 
alternative considered by the applicant. 

b. The applicant shall provide a narrative description 
that outlines the opportunities and status of 
regionalization efforts undertaken by the applicant. 

c. The criteria used to evaluate each alternative for the 
purpose of establishing the least environmentally 
damaging practicable alternative, which includes but is 
not limited to: 

(1) Demonstration that the proposed alternative 
meets the project purpose and project demonstrated 
need as documented pursuant to subsections A and 
B of this section; 

(2) Availability of the alternative to the applicant; 

(3) Evaluation of interconnectivity of water supply 
systems (both existing and proposed); 

(4) Evaluation of the cost of the alternative on an 
equivalent basis; 

(5) Evaluation of alternative safe yields; 

(6) Presence and potential impact of alternative on 
state and federally listed threatened and endangered 
species; 

(7) Presence and potential impact of alternative on 
wetlands and streams (based on maps and aerial 
photos for all alternatives, field delineation required 
for preferred alternative); 

(8) Evaluation of effects on instream flow; and 

(9) Water Quality Considerations, including: 

(a) Land use within a watershed where the type of 
land use may impact the water quality of the 
source; 

(b) The presence of impaired streams and the type 
of impairment; 

(c) The location of point source discharges; and 

(d) Potential threats to water quality other than 
those listed in subdivisions 2 c (9) (a) through (c) 
of this subsection. 

3. Any alternatives [ analysis ] conducted for projects 
[ that involve a surface water withdrawal or alteration of 
instream flows, ] other than [ drinking public surface ] 
water supply [ withdrawal ] projects shall include all 
applicable items included in subdivision 2 of this 
subsection. 

9 VAC 25-210-116. Compensation. 

C. A. No net loss. Compensatory mitigation for project 
impacts shall be sufficient to achieve no net loss of existing 
wetland acreage and no net loss of functions in all surface 
waters. Compensatory mitigation ratios appropriate for the 
type of aquatic resource impacted and the type of 
compensation provided shall be applied to permitted 
impacts to help meet this requirement. Credit may be given 
for preservation of upland buffers already protected under 
other ordinances to the extent that additional protection and 
water quality and fish and wildlife resource benefits are 
provided. 

D. Alternatives analysis B. Practicable and ecologically 
preferable compensation alternatives. 

1. An alternatives analysis shall be required to justify 
that the following alternatives off-site compensatory 
mitigation (including purchase or use of mitigation bank 
credits or contribution to an in-lieu fee fund) or out-of-
kind compensatory mitigation [ are ecologically 
preferable and practicable compensatory mitigation 
options to on-site, or in-kind compensation ]: off-site 
including purchase or use of mitigation bank credits, or 
contribution to an in-lieu fee fund; or out-of-kind [ is 
more ecologically preferable to practicable on-site or in-
kind compensation ]. 

2. An alternatives Such analysis shall include, but is not 
limited to, the following criteria, which shall be 
compared between the impacted and replacement sites: 
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water quality benefits; acreage of impacts; distance from 
impacts; hydrologic source; hydrologic and regime; 
watershed; functions and values; vegetation type; soils; 
constructability; timing of compensation versus impact; 
property acquisition; and cost. The alternatives analysis 
shall compare the ability of each compensatory 
mitigation option to replace lost wetland acreage and 
function functions or lost stream functions and water 
quality benefits. 

C. Compensatory mitigation proposals shall be evaluated 
as follows: 

1. On-site, in-kind compensatory mitigation, when 
available, shall be deemed the most ecologically 
preferable form of compensation for project impacts, in 
most cases. However, off-site or out-of-kind 
compensation opportunities that prove to be more 
ecologically preferable or practicable may be 
considered. When the applicant can demonstrate 
satisfactorily that an off-site or out-of-kind 
compensatory mitigation proposal is practicable and 
ecologically preferable, then such proposal may be 
deemed appropriate for compensation of project impacts. 

2. Compensatory mitigation for unavoidable wetland 
impacts may be met through the following options: 

a. Wetland creation; 

b. Wetland restoration; 

c. The purchase or use of credits from a mitigation 
bank, pursuant to § 62.1-44.15:5 E of the Code of 
Virginia; 

d. A contribution to an approved in-lieu fee fund; 

e. Preservation of upland buffers adjacent to state 
waters, when utilized in conjunction with subdivision 
2 a, b, or c of this subsection, and when consistent 
with subsection A of this section; 

f. Restoration of upland buffers adjacent to state 
waters, when utilized in conjunction with [ subsections 
subsection ] a, b, or c, and when consistent with 
subsection A of this section; 

g. Preservation of wetlands, when utilized in 
conjunction with subdivision 2 a, b, or c of this 
subsection. 

3. Compensatory mitigation for unavoidable impacts to 
streams may be met through the following options, as 
appropriate to replace functions or water quality 
benefits.  One factor in determining the required 
compensation shall be an analysis of stream impacts 
utilizing a stream impact assessment methodology 
[ approved by the board acceptable to the DEQ ]. 

a. Stream channel restoration or enhancement; 

b. Riparian buffer restoration or enhancement; 

c. Riparian buffer preservation, when consistent with 
subsection A of this section; 

d. A contribution to an approved in-lieu fee fund; 

e. The purchase or use of credits from a mitigation 
bank, pursuant to § 62.1-44.15:5 E of the Code of 
Virginia. 

4. Generally, preference shall be given in the following 
sequence: restoration, creation, mitigation banking, in-
lieu fee fund. However, the appropriate compensatory 
mitigation option for project impacts shall be evaluated 
on a case-by-case basis, in terms of replacement of 
wetland acreage and functions or stream functions and 
water quality benefits. 

E. D. In-lieu fee fund approval. 

1. In order for contribution to an in-lieu fee fund to be an 
acceptable form of compensatory mitigation, the fund 
must be approved for use by the board and must be 
dedicated to the achievement of no net loss of wetland or 
stream acreage and function functions or stream 
functions and water quality benefits through the 
preservation, restoration and creation of wetlands or 
streams. 

2. The board may approve the use of a fund by: 

a. Approving use of a fund for a specific project when 
approving a VWP permit; or 

b. Granting approval of a fund at a board meeting. 

3. In order for the board to approve the use of a fund, the 
fund must meet the following criteria: 

a. Demonstration of a no net loss policy in terms of 
wetland or stream acreage and function functions or 
stream functions and water quality benefits by 
adoption of operational goals or objectives for 
preservation, creation or restoration of wetland or 
stream acreage and function; 

b. Consultation with DEQ on selection of sites for 
preservation, restoration, or creation; 

c. A commitment to provide annual reports to the 
board detailing contributions received and acreage and 
type of wetlands or streams preserved, created or 
restored in each watershed with those contributions, as 
well as the mitigation credits contributed for each 
watershed of project impact; 

d. A mechanism to establish fee amounts that will 
ensure each contribution will be adequate to 
compensate for the wetland or stream acreage and 
function functions or stream functions and water 
quality benefits lost in the impacted watershed; and 
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e. Such terms and conditions as the board deems 
necessary to ensure a no net loss of wetland or stream 
acreage and functions or stream functions and water 
quality benefits from permitted projects providing 
compensatory mitigation through contributions to the 
fund. 

4. Such approval may be granted for up to five years and 
may be renewed by the board upon a demonstration that 
the fund has enhanced wetland or stream acreage or 
function functions or stream functions and water quality 
benefits through the preservation, creation or restoration 
of wetlands or streams. Such demonstration may be 
made with the reports submitted pursuant to subdivision 
3 c of this subsection. 

5. The board may approve the use of an in-lieu fund only 
after publishing a notice of its intent in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations at least 45 days prior to taking 
such action and after accepting and considering public 
comments on its approval of the fund for at least a 30-
day period. Where approval is contemplated in 
accordance with subdivision 2 a of this subsection, 
compliance with the public notice and comment 
requirements for approval of the VWP permit shall meet 
this requirement. 

F. E. Use of mitigation banks and multi-project mitigation 
sites. The use of mitigation banks or multi-project 
mitigation sites for compensating project impacts shall be 
deemed appropriate if the following criteria are met: 

1. The bank or multi-project mitigation site meets the 
criteria and conditions found in § 62.1-44.15:5 E of the 
Code of Virginia: 

2. The bank or multi-project mitigation site is 
ecologically preferable to practicable on-site and off-site 
individual compensatory mitigation options; 

3. For mitigation banks only, the banking instrument, if 
approved after July 1, 1996, has been approved by a 
process that involved public review and comment in 
accordance with federal guidelines; 

4. The applicant provides verification to DEQ of 
purchase of the required amount of credits; and 

5. For multi-project mitigation sites, the VWP permit 
shall include conditions sufficient to ensure long term 
monitoring and maintenance of surface water functions 
and values. 

[ F. The final compensatory mitigation plan must include 
complete information on all components of the conceptual 
compensatory mitigation plan detailed in 9 VAC 25-210-
80 B 1 k (5) (b) and (c): 

1. For wetlands, the final compensation plan shall also 
include a summary of the type and acreage of existing 

wetland impacts anticipated during the construction of 
the compensation site and the proposed compensation 
for these impacts; a site access plan; a monitoring plan, 
including proposed success criteria, monitoring goals, 
and the location of photostations, monitoring wells, 
vegetation sampling points, and reference wetlands or 
streams (if available); an abatement and control plan for 
undesirable plant species; an erosion and sedimentation 
control plan; a construction schedule; and the 
mechanism for protection of the compensation site or 
sites, including all surface waters and buffer areas within 
its boundaries.  The final wetland compensation plan or 
plans shall include a mechanism for protection in 
perpetuity of the compensation sites to include all state 
waters within the compensation site boundary or 
boundaries.  Such protections shall be in place within 
120 days of final compensation plan approval.  The 
restrictions, protections, or preservations, or similar 
instrument, shall state that no activity will be performed 
on the property in any area designated as a compensation 
area with the exception of maintenance or corrective 
action measures authorized by the board.  Unless 
specifically authorized by the board through the issuance 
of a VWP individual or general permit, or waiver 
thereof, this restriction applies to ditching, land clearing 
or discharge of dredge or fill material.  Such instrument 
shall contain the specific phrase “ditching, land clearing 
or discharge of dredge or fill material” in the limitations 
placed on the use of these areas.  The protective 
instrument shall be recorded in the chain of title to the 
property, or an equivalent instrument for government-
owned lands.  Proof of recordation shall be submitted 
within 120 days of final compensation plan approval. 

2. For streams, the final compensation plan shall also 
include a site access plan; an erosion and sedimentation 
control plan, if appropriate; an abatement and control 
plan for undesirable plant species; a monitoring plan, 
including, a monitoring and reporting schedule, 
monitoring design and methodologies for success; 
proposed success criteria; and location of photo-
monitoring stations, vegetation sampling points, survey 
points, bank pins, scour chains, and reference streams; 
the mechanism for the protection of the compensation 
site or sites, including all surface waters and buffer areas 
within its boundaries; a plan view sketch depicting the 
pattern and all compensation measures being employed; 
a profile sketch; and cross-sectional sketches of the 
proposed compensation stream.  The final stream 
compensation plan or plans shall include a mechanism 
for protection in perpetuity of the compensation sites to 
include all state waters within the compensation site 
boundary or boundaries.  Such protections shall be in 
place within 120 days of final compensation plan 
approval.  The restrictions, protections, or preservations, 
or similar instrument, shall state that no activity will be 
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performed on the property in any area designated as a 
compensation area with the exception of maintenance or 
corrective action measures authorized by the board.  
Unless specifically authorized by the board through the 
issuance of a VWP individual or general permit, or 
waiver thereof, this restriction applies to ditching, land 
clearing or discharge of dredge or fill material.  Such 
instrument shall contain the specific phrase “ditching, 
land clearing or discharge of dredge or fill material” in 
the limitations placed on the use of these areas.  The 
protective instrument shall be recorded in the chain of 
title to the property, or an equivalent instrument for 
government-owned lands.  Proof of recordation shall be 
submitted within 120 days of final compensation plan 
approval. ] 

9 VAC 25-210-130. VWP general permits. 

A. The board may issue VWP general permits by 
regulation for certain specified categories of activities as it 
deems appropriate. 

B. When the board determines on a case-by-case basis that 
concerns for water quality and the aquatic environment so 
indicate, the board may require individual applications and 
VWP individual permits rather than approving coverage 
under a VWP general permit [ regulation ]. Cases where an 
individual VWP permit may be required include the 
following: 

1. Where the activity may be a significant contributor to 
pollution; 

2. Where the applicant or permittee is not in compliance 
with the conditions of the VWP general permit 
regulation or authorization; 

3. When an applicant or permittee no longer qualifies for 
coverage under the VWP general permit regulation or 
authorization; and 

4. When a permittee operating under a VWP general 
permit authorization requests to be excluded from the 
coverage of the VWP general permit regulation by 
applying for a VWP individual permit. 

C. When a VWP individual permit is issued to a permittee, 
the applicability of the VWP general permit authorization 
to the individual permittee is automatically terminated on 
the effective date of the VWP individual permit. 

D. When a VWP general permit regulation is issued which 
applies to a permittee already covered by a VWP 
individual permit, such person may request exclusion from 
the provisions of the VWP general permit regulation and 
subsequent coverage under a VWP individual permit. 

E. A VWP general permit authorization may be revoked 
from an individual permittee for any of the reasons set 

forth in 9 VAC 25-210-180 subject to appropriate 
opportunity for a hearing. 

F. When all permitted activities requiring notification have 
been completed, the permittee shall be required to submit a 
notice of termination unless the permittee has previously 
submitted a termination by consent request for the same 
permitted activities and such request has been approved by 
the board. 

G. Activities authorized under a VWP general permit 
regulation shall be authorized for a fixed term based upon 
project length and duration. When a general permit 
regulation is amended or replaced, it shall contain 
provisions such that coverage authorized under the general 
permit existing as of the effective date of the amended or 
replacement VWP general permit regulation may continue 
under the amended or replacement VWP general permit 
and that all terms and conditions of the authorization may 
continue in full force and effect. Notwithstanding any other 
provision, a request for reissuance continuation of a VWP 
general permit authorization of coverage under a VWP 
general permit beyond the expiration date of such 
authorization in order to complete monitoring requirements 
shall not be considered a new application for coverage and 
no application fee will be charged. 

H. The board may certify, or certify with conditions, a 
nationwide or regional permit proposed by the USACE in 
accordance with § 401 of the federal Clean Water Act as 
meeting the requirements of this regulation and the 
requirements for a VWP general permit if , provided that 
the nationwide or regional permit, including any and the 
certification conditions contained in the certification: 

1. Requires Require that wetland or stream impacts be 
avoided and minimized to the maximum extent 
practicable; 

2. Does not allow Prohibit impacts that cause or 
contribute to a significant impairment of state waters or 
fish and wildlife resources; 

3. Requires Require compensatory mitigation sufficient 
to achieve no net loss of existing wetland acreage and 
function functions or stream functions and water quality 
benefits; and 

4. Requires Require that compensatory mitigation for 
unavoidable wetland impacts be provided through 
wetland or stream creation or restoration, purchase or 
use of mitigation bank credits in accordance with 
§ 62.1-44.15:5 E of the Code of Virginia, contribution to 
an in-lieu fee fund approved by the board in accordance 
with these regulations, or preservation or restoration of 
upland buffers adjacent to wetlands or other state waters 
or preservation of wetlands or streams when done in 
conjunction with creation, restoration or mitigation bank 
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credits. the following options, as appropriate to replace 
acreage and function: 

a. Wetland creation; 

b. Wetland restoration; 

c. The purchase or use of credits from a mitigation 
bank, pursuant to § 62.1-44.15:5 E of the Code of 
Virginia; 

d. A contribution to an approved in-lieu fee fund; 

e. Preservation of upland buffers adjacent to state 
waters, when utilized in conjunction with subdivision 
4 a, b, or c of this subsection, and when consistent 
with 9 VAC 25-210-116 A; 

f. Restoration of upland buffers adjacent to state 
waters, when utilized in conjunction with subdivision 
4 a, b, or c of this subsection, and when consistent 
with 9 VAC 25-210-116 A; 

g. Preservation of wetlands, when utilized in 
conjunction with subdivision 4 a, b, or c of this 
subsection. 

5. Require that compensatory mitigation for unavoidable 
stream impacts may be met through the following 
options as appropriate to replace functions or water 
quality benefits; one factor in determining the required 
compensation shall be an analysis of stream impacts 
utilizing a stream impact assessment methodology 
approved by the board: 

a. Stream channel restoration or enhancement; 

b. Riparian buffer restoration or enhancement; 

c. Riparian buffer preservation, when consistent with 
9 VAC 25-210-116 A; 

d. A contribution to an approved in-lieu fee fund; 

e. The purchase or use of credits from a mitigation 
bank, pursuant to § 62.1-44.15:5 E of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Such I. The certifications allowed by subsection H of this 
section may be provided only after the board has 
advertised and accepted public comment on its intent to 
provide certification for at least 30 days. 

I. J. Coverage under a nationwide or regional permit 
promulgated by the USACE and certified by the board in 
accordance with this section shall be deemed coverage 
under a VWP general permit regulation upon submission 
of proof of coverage under the nationwide or regional 
permit and any other information required by the board 
through the certification process. Notwithstanding the 
provisions of 9 VAC 25-20-10, no fee shall be required 
from applicants seeking coverage under this subsection. 

9 VAC 25-210-140. Public notice of VWP permit action 
applications, permit actions and public comment period 
periods. 

A. The initial application for surface water supply projects 
that requires both an individual Virginia Water Protection 
Permit and a Virginia Marine Resources permit under 
§ 28.2-1205 of the Code of Virginia shall be advertised 
concurrently by the Department of Environmental Quality 
and the Virginia Marine Resources Commission. Such 
advertising shall be paid for by the applicant. 

B. Every draft VWP permit, with the exception of an 
Emergency Virginia Water Protection Permit [ or variances 
from Virginia Water Protection Permit conditions as 
outlined in 9 VAC 25-210-175 ], shall be given public 
notice paid for by the applicant, by publication once in a 
newspaper of general circulation in the area affected by the 
proposed activity. The public notice must be published 
within 14 days of issuance the applicant's receipt of a draft 
VWP permit, or the 120-day VWP permit processing 
timeframe will be suspended until such publication. 

B. C. The board shall provide a comment period of at least 
30 days following the date of the public notice for 
interested persons to submit written comments on the 
tentative decision and to request a public hearing on the 
VWP permit. All written comments submitted during the 
comment period shall be retained by the board and 
considered during its final decision on the VWP permit. 

C. D. The contents of the public notice of an application 
for a VWP permit application or proposed VWP permit 
action shall include: 

1. Name and mailing address of the applicant.; 

2. The permit application number; 

3. Project location. If the location of the activity differs 
from the address of the applicant the notice shall also 
state the location in sufficient detail such that the 
specific location may be easily identified; 

2. 4. Brief description of the business or activity to be 
conducted at the site of the proposed activity; 

3. 5. Description of the area affected.  Information on the 
number of acres of wetlands and/or the number of linear 
feet of streams affected, as well as the name of the 
receiving waterway and the name of the affected 
watershed should be included; 

6. Description of what the applicant plans to do to 
compensate for the affected area; 

4. 7. A statement of the tentative determination to issue 
or deny a VWP permit; 

5. 8. A brief description of the final determination 
procedure; 
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6. 9. The address, e-mail address and phone number of a 
specific person or persons at the state office from whom 
further information may be obtained; and 

7. 10. A brief description on how to submit comments 
and request a public hearing. 

D. E. Public notice shall not be required for submission or 
approval of plans and specifications or conceptual 
engineering reports not required to be submitted as part of 
the application. 

E. F. When a VWP permit is denied, the board will do so 
in accordance with 9 VAC 25-210-230. 

9 VAC 25-210-170. Public notice of hearing. 

A. Public notice of any public hearing held pursuant to 
9 VAC 25-210-160 shall be circulated as follows: 

1. Notice shall be published once in a newspaper of 
general circulation in the county or city where the 
activity is to occur; and 

2. Notice of the public hearing shall be sent to all 
persons and government agencies that received a copy of 
the notice of VWP permit application and to those 
persons requesting a public hearing or having 
commented in response to the public notice. 

B. Notice shall be effected pursuant to subdivisions A 1 
and 2 of this section at least 30 days in advance of the 
public hearing. 

C. The content of the public notice of any public hearing 
held pursuant to 9 VAC 25-210-160 shall include at least 
the following: 

1. Name and mailing address of each person whose 
application will be considered at the public hearing and a 
brief description of the person's activities or operations 
including information on the number of acres of 
wetlands and/or the number of linear feet of streams 
affected, [ a description of the nature of the withdrawal 
and the amount of the withdrawal; ] as well as the name 
of the receiving waterway and the name of the affected 
watershed; 

2. The precise location of such the proposed activity and 
the surface waters that will, or may, be affected. The 
location should be described including, where possible, 
with reference to route numbers, road intersections, map 
coordinates or similar information; 

3. Description of what the applicant plans to do to 
compensate for the affected area; 

3. 4. A brief reference to the public notice issued for the 
VWP permit application or permit action, including 
identification the permit application number and date of 

issuance, unless the public notice includes the public 
hearing notice; 

4. 5. Information regarding the time and location for the 
public hearing; 

5. 6. The purpose of the public hearing; 

6. 7. A concise statement of the relevant water quality, 
or fish and wildlife resource issues raised by the persons 
requesting the public hearing; 

7. 8. Contact person and the mailing address, e-mail 
address, name of the DEQ regional office and phone 
number of the DEQ office at which the interested 
persons may obtain further information or request a copy 
of the draft VWP permit prepared pursuant to 9 VAC 
25-210-120; and 

8. 9. A brief reference to the rules and procedures to be 
followed at the public hearing. 

D. Public notice of any public hearing held pursuant to 
9 VAC 25-210-160 C shall be in accordance with 
Procedural Rule No. 1 (9 VAC 25-230-10 et seq.). 

PART IV. 
VWP PERMIT VARIANCES; VWP PERMIT 

MODIFICATION, REVOCATION AND REISSUANCE, 
TRANSFER, TERMINATION AND DENIAL. 

9 VAC 25-210-175. Variance from VWP permit 
conditions. 

A. For public water supplies. The board may grant a 
temporary variance to any condition of a VWP permit for a 
[ public ] surface water [ supply ] withdrawal that supports 
a public water supply to address a public water supply 
emergency during a drought. A permittee requesting such 
variance must provide all information required in the 
application for an Emergency Virginia Water Protection 
Permit identified in [ 9 VAC 25-210-80 B 3 9 VAC 25-
210-80 D ]. 

B. For all other water supplies. The board may grant a 
temporary variance to any condition of a VWP permit for a 
surface water withdrawal during a drought.  A permittee 
requesting such variance must affirmatively demonstrate; 

1. Public health and safety interests are served by the 
issuance of such variance; and 

2. All management actions consistent with existing 
[ permit permits ] have been exhausted. 

C. As a condition of any variance granted, the permittee 
shall: 

1. Modify operations or facilities to comply with 
existing VWP permit conditions as soon as practicable; 
or 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 25, 2007 

3490 

2. Provide new information to the board that alternate 
permit conditions are appropriate and either apply for a 
new VWP permit or a modification to their existing 
VWP permit.  The board shall review any such 
application consistent with other sections of this 
regulation. 

D. In addition, the board may require the permittee to take 
any other appropriate action to minimize adverse impacts 
to other beneficial uses. 

E. Any variances issued by the board shall be of the 
shortest duration necessary for the permittee to gain 
compliance with existing permit conditions, apply for a 
new VWP permit, or request modification of existing 
permit conditions. 

F. Public notice of any variance issued by the board shall 
be given as required for draft permits in 9 VAC 25-210-
140 B, C, and D.  Such notice shall be given [ immediately 
upon concurrently with the ] issuance of any variance and 
the board may modify such variances based on public 
comment.  Publication costs of all public notices shall be 
the responsibility of the permittee. 

9 VAC 25-210-180. Rules for modification, revocation 
and reissuance, transfer, and termination of VWP 
permits. 

A. VWP permits shall be modified, revoked and reissued, 
transferred or terminated only as authorized by this section. 

B. A VWP permit may be modified in whole or in part, 
revoked and reissued, transferred or terminated. 

C. VWP permit modifications shall not be used to extend 
the term of a VWP permit beyond 15 years from the date 
of original issuance.  If the permittee wishes to continue 
one or more activities regulated by the VWP permit after 
the expiration date of the VWP permit, regardless of 
pending changes to the permitted activities, the permittee 
must apply for and obtain a new VWP permit or comply 
with the provisions of 9 VAC 25-210-185. 

D. Modification, revocation and reissuance, or termination 
may be initiated by the board, on upon the request of the 
permittee, or other upon the request by another person at 
the board's discretion under applicable laws or the 
provisions of [ this chapter to reflect the requirements of 
any changes in the statutes or regulations, as a result of 
VWP permit noncompliance as indicated in subsection C 
of this section, or for the reasons listed in subsections G 
and H of this section subsections D through H of this 
section ].  A VWP permit may be modified, or revoked and 
reissued with permittee consent, when any of the following 
developments occur: 

1. When additions or alterations have been made to the 
affected facility or activity that require the application of 

VWP permit conditions that differ from those of the 
existing VWP permit or are absent from it; 

2. When new information becomes available about the 
operation or activity covered by the VWP permit that 
was not available at VWP permit issuance and would 
have justified the application of different VWP permit 
conditions at the time of VWP permit issuance; 

3. When a change is made in the promulgated standards 
or regulations on which the VWP permit was based; 

4. When it becomes necessary to change final dates in 
schedules due to circumstances over which the permittee 
has little or no control such as acts of God, materials 
shortages, etc. However, in no case may a compliance 
schedule be modified to extend beyond any applicable 
statutory deadline of the Act; 

5. When changes occur that are subject to "reopener 
clauses" in the VWP permit; or 

6. When the board determines that minimum instream 
flow levels resulting directly from the permittee's 
withdrawal of surface water are detrimental to the 
instream beneficial use, existing at the time of permit 
issuance, and the withdrawal of surface water should be 
subject to further net limitations or when an area is 
declared a surface water management area pursuant to 
§§ 62.1-242 through 62.1-253 of the Code of Virginia, 
during the term of the VWP permit. 

E. A VWP permit shall be transferred only if the VWP 
permit has been modified to reflect the transfer, has been 
revoked and reissued to the new permittee, or has been 
automatically transferred. [ Any individual VWP permit 
shall be automatically transferred to a new permittee if:  

1. Transfer by modification. Except as provided for 
under automatic transfer in subsection B of this section, 
a VWP permit shall be transferred only if the VWP 
permit has been modified to reflect the transfer or has 
been revoked and reissued to the new permittee. 

2. Automatic transfer. Any individual VWP permit shall 
be automatically transferred to a new permittee if: 

a. 1. ] The current permittee notifies the board within 30 
days of the proposed transfer of the title to the facility or 
property; 

[ b. 2. ] The notice to the board includes a written 
agreement between the existing and proposed permittee 
containing a proposed date of transfer of VWP permit 
responsibility, coverage and liability to the new 
permittee, or that the existing permittee will retain such 
responsibility, coverage, or liability, including liability 
for compliance with the requirements of any 
enforcement activities related to the permitted activity;  
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[ c. 3. ] The board does not within the 30-day time 
period notify the existing permittee and the new 
permittee of its intent to modify or revoke and reissue 
the VWP permit; and 

[ d. 4. ] The permit transferor and the permit transferee 
provide written notice to the board of the actual transfer 
date. 

F. Upon request of the permittee, or upon board initiative 
with the consent of the permittee, minor modifications may 
be made in the VWP permit without following the public 
involvement procedures. For VWP permits, a minor 
modification may only: 

1. Correct typographical errors; 

2. Require monitoring and reporting by the permittee at a 
different frequency than required in the VWP permit, 
based on new information justifying the change in 
conditions; 

3. Change an interim compliance date in a schedule of 
compliance to no more than 180 days from the original 
compliance date and provided it will not interfere with 
the final compliance date; 

4. Allow for a change in ownership or operational 
control when the board determines that no other change 
in the VWP permit is necessary, provided that a written 
agreement containing a specific date for transfer of VWP 
permit responsibility, coverage and liability from the 
current to the new permittee has been submitted to the 
board; 

5. Change project plans that do not result in an increase 
to permitted project impacts [ other than allowable by 
9 VAC 25-210-180 F 8; 9 VAC 25-210-180 F 9; and 
9 VAC 25-210-180 F 10 ]; 

6. Occur when facility expansion [ , ] or production 
increases and modification will not cause significant 
change in the discharge of pollutants; 

7. Delete VWP permit limitation or monitoring 
requirements for specific pollutants when the activities 
generating these pollutants are terminated; 

8. Occur when subsequent to issuance of a VWP 
individual or general permit authorization, the permittee 
determines that additional permanent wetland or stream 
impacts are necessary, provided that [ the additional 
impacts are associated with the previously authorized 
activities in authorized locations within the same phase 
of development or within logical termini, ] the 
unavoidable cumulative increase in the acreage of 
wetland [ or open water ] impacts is not greater than 
one-quarter of an acre (0.25 acre or 10,890 square feet) 
and the unavoidable cumulative increase in stream 
impacts is less than [ 50 100 ] linear feet, and also 

provided that the additional permanent impacts are fully 
mitigated at ratios not less than compensatory mitigation 
ratios for the original impacts. A modification is not 
required subsequent to issuance for additional temporary 
impacts to surface waters, provided DEQ is notified in 
writing regarding additional temporary impacts, and the 
area is restored to preexisting conditions; 

9. Occur when, subsequent to issuance of a VWP 
individual or general permit authorization, the project 
results in less wetland or stream impacts.  Compensation 
requirements may be modified in relation to the adjusted 
impacts at the request of the permittee, provided that the 
adjusted compensation meets the initial compensation 
goals.  DEQ shall not be responsible for ensuring 
refunds for mitigation bank credit purchases, mitigation 
bank usage, or in-lieu fee fund contributions; 

10. Occur when, subsequent to issuance of a VWP 
individual or general permit authorization, substitution 
of a specified, approved mitigation bank(s) with another 
specified, approved mitigation bank is necessary. 

E. G. After notice and opportunity for a formal hearing 
pursuant to Procedural Rule No. 1 (9 VAC 25-230-100), a 
VWP permit can be terminated for cause. Causes Reasons 
for termination for cause are as follows: 

1. Noncompliance by the permittee with any condition 
of the VWP permit; 

2. The permittee's failure in the application or during the 
VWP permit issuance process to disclose fully all 
relevant facts or the permittee's misrepresentation of any 
relevant facts at any time; 

3. The permittee's violation of a special or judicial order; 

4. A determination by the board that the permitted 
activity endangers human health or the environment and 
can be regulated to acceptable levels by VWP permit 
modification or termination; 

5. A change in any condition that requires either a 
temporary or permanent reduction or elimination of any 
activity controlled by the VWP permit; and 

6. A determination that the permitted activity has ceased 
and that the compensatory mitigation for unavoidable 
adverse impacts has been successfully completed. 

H. A VWP permit can be terminated by consent, as 
initiated by the permittee, when all permitted activities 
have been completed or if the authorized impacts will not 
occur.  The permittee shall submit a request for termination 
by consent within 30 days of project completion or project 
cancellation.  The director may accept this termination on 
behalf of the board.  The permittee shall submit the 
following information: 
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1. Name, mailing address and telephone number; 

2. Name and location of the activity; 

3. The VWP permit authorization number; and 

4. One of the following certifications: 

a. For project completion: "I certify under penalty of 
law that all activities [ and any requested 
compensatory mitigation ] authorized by a VWP 
[ general ] permit have been completed.  I understand 
that by submitting this notice of termination [ that ] I 
am no longer authorized to perform activities in 
surface waters in accordance with the VWP [ general ] 
permit, and that performing activities in surface waters 
is unlawful where the activity is not authorized by a 
VWP permit.  I also understand that the submittal of 
this notice does not release me from liability for any 
violations of this VWP [ general  ] permit 
[ authorization ]." 

b. For project cancellation: "I certify under penalty of 
law that the activities [ and any required compensatory 
mitigation ] authorized by this VWP [ general ] permit 
will not occur.  I understand that by submitting this 
notice of termination, that I am no longer authorized to 
perform activities in surface waters in accordance with 
the VWP [ general ] permit, and that performing 
activities in surface waters is unlawful where the 
activity is not authorized by a VWP permit.  I also 
understand that the submittal of this notice does not 
release me from liability for any violations of this 
VWP [ general ] permit [ authorization ], nor does it 
allow me to resume the permitted activities without 
reapplication [ ad reauthorization and issuance of 
another permit ]." 

[ c. For events beyond permittee control, the permittee 
shall provide a detailed explanation of the events, to 
be approved by DEQ, and the following certification 
statement: “I certify under penalty of law that the 
activities or the required compensatory mitigation 
authorized by a VWP permit have changed as the 
result of events beyond my control (see attached).  I 
understand that by submitting this notice of 
termination I am no longer authorized to perform 
activities in surface waters in accordance with the 
VWP permit, and that performing activities in surface 
waters is unlawful where the activity is not authorized 
by a VWP permit.  I also understand that the submittal 
of this notice does not release me from liability for any 
violations of this VWP permit, nor does it allow me to 
resume the permitted activities without reapplication 
and issuance of another permit. ] 

I. If a permittee files a request for VWP permit 
modification, revocation and reissuance, or termination, or 
files a notice of planned changes or anticipated 

noncompliance, the VWP permit terms and conditions 
shall remain effective until the request is acted upon by the 
board. 

9 VAC 25-210-185. Duration of VWP permit extension 
permits; extensions. 

A. Duration of VWP permits.  VWP permits issued under 
this chapter shall have an effective date and expiration date 
that will determine the life of the permit. VWP permits 
shall be effective for a fixed term based upon the projected 
duration of the project, the length of any required 
monitoring, or other project operations or VWP permit 
conditions; however, the term shall not exceed 15 years 
and will be specified in the conditions of the VWP permit.  
Emergency Virginia Water Protection Permits shall not 
exceed a duration of one year or shall expire upon the 
issuance of a regular Virginia Water Protection Permit, 
whichever comes first. 

B. VWP permit extension.  Any permittee with an effective 
VWP permit for an activity that is expected to continue 
after the expiration date of the VWP permit, without any 
change in the activity authorized by the VWP permit, shall 
submit written notification requesting an extension. The 
permittee must file the request prior to the expiration date 
of the VWP permit. Under no circumstances will the 
extension be granted for more than original and the 
extended permit terms together exceed a total of 15 years 
beyond the original effective date of the VWP permit. If 
the request for extension is denied, the VWP permit will 
still expire on its original date and, therefore, care the 
permittee should be taken to allow for sufficient time for 
the board to evaluate the extension request and, in the case 
of denial of the request, to process a full new VWP permit 
application or an application for a VWP permit 
modification, if required applicable. 

9 VAC 25-210-190. Causes for modification. 
(Repealed.) 

A VWP permit may be modified, but not revoked and 
reissued except when the permittee agrees or requests, 
when any of the following developments occur: 

1. When additions or alterations have been made to the 
affected facility or activity which require the application 
of VWP permit conditions that differ from those of the 
existing VWP permit or are absent from it; 

2. When new information becomes available about the 
operation or activity covered by the VWP permit which 
was not available at VWP permit issuance and would 
have justified the application of different VWP permit 
conditions at the time of VWP permit issuance; 

3. When a change is made in the promulgated standards 
or regulations on which the VWP permit was based; 
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4. When it becomes necessary to change final dates in 
schedules due to circumstances over which the permittee 
has little or no control such as acts of God, materials 
shortages, etc. However, in no case may a compliance 
schedule be modified to extend beyond any applicable 
statutory deadline of the Act; 

5. When changes occur which are subject to "reopener 
clauses" in the VWP permit; or 

6. When the board determines that minimum instream 
flow levels resulting from the permittee's withdrawal of 
water are detrimental to the instream beneficial use and 
the withdrawal of water should be subject to further net 
limitations or when an area is declared a Surface Water 
Management Area pursuant to §§ 62.1-242 through 
62.1-253 of the Code of Virginia, during the term of the 
VWP permit. 

9 VAC 25-210-200. Transferability of VWP permits. 
(Repealed.) 

A. Transfer by modification. Except as provided for under 
automatic transfer in subsection B of this section, a VWP 
permit shall be transferred only if the VWP permit has 
been modified to reflect the transfer or has been revoked 
and reissued to the new permittee. 

B. Automatic transfer. Any VWP permit shall be 
automatically transferred to a new permittee if: 

1. The current permittee notifies the board within 30 
days of the proposed transfer of the title to the facility or 
property; 

2. The notice to the board includes a written agreement 
between the existing and proposed permittee containing 
a specific date of transfer of VWP permit responsibility, 
coverage and liability to the new permittee, or that the 
existing permittee will retain such responsibility, 
coverage, or liability, including liability for compliance 
with the requirements of any enforcement activities 
related to the permitted activity; and 

3. The board does not within the 30-day time period 
notify the existing permittee and the new permittee of its 
intent to modify or revoke and reissue the VWP permit. 

9 VAC 25-210-210. Minor modification. (Repealed.) 

A. Upon request of the permittee, or upon board initiative 
with the consent of the permittee, minor modifications may 
be made in the VWP permit without following the public 
involvement procedures. 

B. For VWP permits, a minor modification may only: 

1. Correct typographical errors; 

2. Require monitoring and reporting by the permittee at a 
different frequency than required in the VWP permit, 

based on new information justifying the change in 
conditions; 

3. Change an interim compliance date in a schedule of 
compliance to no more than 180 days from the original 
compliance date and provided it will not interfere with 
the final compliance date; 

4. Allow for a change in ownership or operational 
control when the board determines that no other change 
in the VWP permit is necessary, provided that a written 
agreement containing a specific date for transfer of VWP 
permit responsibility, coverage and liability from the 
current to the new permittee has been submitted to the 
board; 

5. Change plans and specifications that do not result in 
an increase to permitted project impacts; 

6. Occur when facility expansion, production increases 
and modification will not cause significant change in the 
discharge of pollutants; 

7. Delete VWP permit limitation or monitoring 
requirements for specific pollutants when the activities 
generating these pollutants are terminated; and 

8. Occur when subsequent to issuance of a VWP 
individual or general permit, the permittee determines 
that additional wetland or stream impacts are necessary, 
provided that the unavoidable cumulative increase in the 
acreage of wetland impacts is not greater than 1/4 acre 
and the unavoidable cumulative increase in stream 
impacts is less than 50 linear feet, and also provided that 
the additional impacts are fully mitigated at ratios not 
less than compensatory mitigation ratios for the original 
impacts. 

9 VAC 25-210-220. Waiver of VWP permit. 

A. The board may waive permitting requirements when the 
board determines that a proposed project impacts an 
isolated wetland that is of minimal ecological value as 
defined in 9 VAC 25-210-10. Any person claiming this 
waiver bears the burden to demonstrate that he qualifies for 
the waiver. 

B. The board may waive the requirement for a VWP 
individual permit when the proposed activity qualifies for a 
permit issued by the USACE and receives a permit from 
the VMRC or wetlands boards, pursuant to Chapter 12 
(§ 28.2-1200 et seq.) or Chapter 13 (§ 28.2-1300 et seq.) of 
Title 28.2 of the Code of Virginia, and the activity does not 
impact instream flows. 

9 VAC 25-210-230. Denial of the VWP permit or 
variance request. 

A. The board shall make a decision to tentatively deny the 
VWP permit or variance request if the requirements of this 
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chapter are not met. Basis for denial include, but are not 
limited to, the following: 

1. The project will result in violations of water quality 
standards or will impair the beneficial uses of state 
waters. 

2. As a result of project implementation, shellfish waters 
would be condemned in accordance with 9 VAC 25-260-
5 et seq. 

3. The project that the applicant proposed fails to 
adequately avoid and minimize impacts to state waters to 
the maximum extent practicable. 

4. The proposed compensatory mitigation plan is 
insufficient or unsatisfactory for the proposed impacts 
and fails to achieve no net loss of existing [ wetland ] 
acreage and function [ and no net loss of functions in all 
surface waters ]. 

5. The Department of Game and Inland Fisheries 
indicates that natural or stockable trout waters would be 
permanently and negatively impacted by the proposed 
activity. 

6. The proposed activity is prohibited by 9 VAC 25-210-
50. 

7. The effect of project impacts, together with other 
existing or proposed impacts to wetlands, will cause or 
contribute to a significant impairment of state waters or 
fish and wildlife resources. 

8. Failure to submit the required permit fee in 
accordance with 9 VAC 25-40-80 B 1 n 9 VAC 25-210-
80 B 1 n [ or  ] B 3 g, C 9 or D 1 g ]. 

9. [ For an application for an Emergency Virginia Water 
Protection Permit, the The ] board determines that the 
applicant [ for an Emergency Virginia Water Protection 
Permit ] has not demonstrated that there is a substantial 
threat to public health and safety, and that normal 
Virginia Water Protection Permit procedures, including 
public comment provisions, should be followed. 

B. The applicant shall be notified by letter of the board's 
preliminary decision to tentatively deny the VWP permit 
requested. 

C. Should the applicant withdraw his application, no VWP 
permit [ or variance ] will be issued. 

D. Should the applicant elect to proceed as originally 
proposed, the board may deny the application and advise 
the applicant pursuant to Procedural Rule No. 1 - Public 
and Formal Hearing Procedures (9 VAC 25-230-10 et seq.) 
of [ the applicant's his ] right to a public hearing to 
consider the denial. 

9 VAC 25-210-260. Transition. 

A. All applications received from VDOT on or after 
August 1, 2001 [ (insert date this regulation revision will 
be effective), or all other applications received on or after 
October 1, 2001 (insert date this regulation revision will be 
effective July 25, 2007 ]), will be processed in accordance 
with these new procedures. 

[ B. VWP individual permits issued prior to July 25, 2007, 
will remain in full force and effect until such permits 
expire, are revoked, or are terminated.  

C. Modifications and all other types of modification that 
are received by the board prior to July 25, 2007, will be 
processed in accordance with the VWP permit regulations 
in effect at that time.  Modifications and all other types of 
notification to the board that are received on or after July 
25, 2007, will be processed in accordance with these new 
procedures. 

B. D. ] Section 401 Water Quality Certificates issued prior 
to December 31, 1989, have the same effect as a VWP 
permit. Water Quality Certificates issued after this date 
will remain in effect until reissued as Virginia Water 
Protection Permits. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

Virginia Stormwater Management Handbook, First 
Edition, 1999, Volume I, Chapter 3, Department of 
Conservation and Recreation. 

Corps of Engineers Wetlands Delineation Manual, 
Technical Report Y-87-1, January 1987, Final Report. 

Forestry Best Management Practices for Water Quality in 
Virginia Technical Guide, [ Third Edition, 1997 Fourth 
Edition, 2002 ], Department of Forestry. 

Virginia Agricultural Best Management Practices (BMP) 
Manual, Revised June 2000, Department of Conservation 
and Recreation. 

Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control Handbook, Third 
Edition, 1992, Department of Conservation and 
Recreation. 

Guideline for Specification of Disposal Sites for Dredged 
of Fill Material, 40 CFR Part 230 (Federal Register 
December 24, 1980). 

Potomac River Low Flow Allocation Agreement, January 
11, 1978, § 181 of the Water Resources Development Act 
of 1976, Public Law 94-587, as modified on April 22, 
1986. 

Water Supply Coordination Agreement, July 22, 1982, an 
attachment to the Drought-Related Operations Manual for 
the Washington Metropolitan Area Water Suppliers. 
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NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 9 VAC 25-
210, Virginia Water Protection Permit Program 
Regulation, are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below.  The forms are available for 
public inspection at the Department of Environmental 
Quality, 629 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at 
the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General 
Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

Department of Environmental Quality Water Division 
Permit Application Fee Form (eff. 7/04). 

Joint Permit Application for Activities in Waters and 
Wetlands of the Commonwealth of Virginia (eff. 10/04). 

Joint Permit Application for Projects in Tidewater Virginia 
(eff. 10/04). 

Virginia Department of Transportation, Joint Permit 
Application (eff. 10/02). 

Quarterly Reporting of Impacts Less than One-Tenth Acre 
(insert reporting period) Statewide (eff. 4/03). 

[ DEQ Application for New or Expanded Minor Surface 
Water Withdrawals Initiated On or After July 25, 2007. ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-106; Filed June 1, 2007, 2:10 p.m. 

  –––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  12 VAC 5-90. Regulations for 
Disease Reporting and Control (adding 12 VAC 5-90-
370). 

Statutory Authority:  § 32.1-35.1 (effective July 1, 2008) of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until August 24, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Agency Contact:  Diane Woolard, Ph.D., MPH, Director, 
Division of Surveillance and Investigation, Department of 
Health, P.O. Box 2448, Suite 516E, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 864-8141, FAX (804) 864-8139, or email 
diane.woolard@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 32.1-35.1 of the Code of Virginia requires 
acute care hospitals to report infection information to the 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s National 
Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN) and for the State 
Board of Health to define infections to be reported and the 
patient populations to be included. 

Purpose:  The proposed regulatory action identifies the 
process acute care hospitals shall use in reporting 
healthcare-associated infections to the Centers for Disease 
Control and Prevention (CDC) and the Virginia 
Department of Health (VDH). The amendment to the 
Regulations for Disease Reporting and Control is proposed 
in response to a mandate of the Code of Virginia.  The 
goals are to provide a means for comparing specific 
healthcare-associated infection rates and possibly reduce 
the occurrence of these infections. 

Substance:  A new section will be added to the regulations 
that addresses the reporting of healthcare-associated 
infections.  The section will specify that all acute care 
hospitals with adult intensive care units will be required to 
join CDC’s NHSN, report information about central-line 
associated bloodstream infections to the NHSN, and 
authorize VDH to have access to the data. 

Issues:  The proposed regulations will allow the health 
department to view and analyze certain healthcare-
associated infection data among hospitals.  Hospital 
infection data will be available to the public upon request, 
providing greater transparency and accountability with 
respect to quality of care activities of hospitals and a means 
by which the public can monitor infection rates in a 
hospital. Potential issues that need to be addressed include 
educating the public on what the data can provide and the 
caveats that should be considered when attempting to 
compare hospital infection rates and control programs, and 
adequately training hospital staff to use the NHSN system. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Regulation.  The proposed 
regulations will require acute care hospitals to report 
central line-associated blood stream infections in adult 
intensive care units to the National Healthcare Safety 
Network system maintained by the federal Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention and also allow the Board 
of Health (the Board) to access reported data which will be 
released to the public if requested. 

Result of Analysis.  There is insufficient data to accurately 
compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs.  
Detailed analysis of the benefits and costs can be found in 
the next section. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  Section 32.1-35.1 of the 
Code of Virginia mandates that the acute care hospitals 
report nosocomial (healthcare-associated) infections to the 
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s National 
Healthcare Safety Network and release their infection data 
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to the Board which in turn may release the data to the 
public if requested. The legislative mandate requires the 
Board to determine the types of infections to be reported 
and the patient populations to be included. The Board 
proposes to require acute care hospitals to report central 
line-associated blood stream infections in adult intensive 
care units. 

According to Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 
National Healthcare Safety Network’s National 
Nosocomial Infection System (NNIS) was developed in the 
early 1970s to track healthcare-associated infections and 
has been a voluntary reporting system. The number of 
hospitals voluntarily reporting to NNIS has grown from 60 
at inception to 300 today. The proposed regulations will 
require Virginia acute care hospitals to report to already 
existing NNIS.  

According to Virginia Department of Health (VDH), of the 
approximately 80 hospitals that will start reporting, about 
six have already been voluntarily reporting data to NNIS. 
Also, VDH indicates that most hospitals already collect 
data on these types of infections. Because the proposed 
regulations will require reporting of already existing data 
to NNIS and because some hospitals have already been 
reporting voluntarily, the compliance costs of the proposed 
regulations are expected to be minimal. 

The administrative costs of the proposed regulations to 
VDH are also expected to be minimal. The retrieval of data 
reported to NNIS and dissemination of the same data to 
public if requested is expected to take no more than two 
staff person days every quarter. While the verification of 
data could be somewhat costly, VDH does not plan to 
verify the accuracy of data reported due to lack of funding. 

Despite the low compliance costs to the hospitals and to 
VDH, it is not clear whether the proposed regulations will 
produce net benefits. This is because the benefits that can 
be expected from the proposed reporting requirements 
appear to be minimal as well.  

In the absence of data verification, it is unclear how the 
proposed reporting requirements could be effectively 
enforced. Also, due to litigation concerns, hospitals already 
have strong incentives to minimize the number of 
infections occurs at their facilities. Given already existing 
strong incentives to minimize infections, it is unclear 
whether reporting would be an effective way to reduce 
infections at the margin. Furthermore, according to VDH, 
probably the most important factor affecting the number of 
infections is whether a hospital has an infection control 
program in place or not. Because the proposed 
requirements do not directly encourage establishment of 
infection control programs where they do not exist or they 
do not channel additional resources to existing infection 
control programs, the economic benefits are expected to be 
small. 

In short, the compliance costs appear to be minimal, but so 
are the likely effectiveness and benefits of the proposed 
reporting requirements in reducing the healthcare-
associated infections. Given the significant uncertainties 
over the effectiveness of infection reporting in reducing the 
number of infections, the proposed low-cost regulatory 
design is probably an optimal way to meet the legislative 
mandate for promulgating a healthcare-associated infection 
reporting system in the Commonwealth. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed 
regulations will require approximately 80 acute care 
hospitals to report healthcare-associated infection data to 
the Board.  

Localities Particularly Affected.  The proposed regulations 
apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  The proposed 
regulations are not likely to have any significant effect on 
employment, but may increase the labor demand by VDH 
and some hospitals by a very small amount in order to 
report and retrieve healthcare-associated infection data. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
proposed regulations are not expected to have any 
significant effect on the use and value of private property. 
However, if requested VDH will make infection data 
available to public. Depending on whether the infection 
data is favorable or not, some hospitals may see a decrease 
or increase in the demand for the healthcare services they 
are offering. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  The hospitals 
that will be affected by the proposed regulations are 
unlikely to fit the criteria for a small business. If any 
particular hospital may be considered as small business, 
the costs and other effects discussed in this report would be 
the same. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The proposed regulations are unlikely to 
affect small businesses. 

Legal Mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 
36 (06).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom 
the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities 
and types of businesses or other entities particularly 
affected, the projected number of persons and employment 
positions to be affected, the projected costs to affected 
businesses or entities to implement or comply with the 
regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 
property.  Further, if the proposed regulation has an 
adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007 H requires 
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that such economic impact analyses include (i) an 
identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the 
regulation, including the type of professional skills 
necessary for preparing required reports and other 
documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 
regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a 
description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative 
methods of achieving the purpose of the regulation.  The 
analysis presented above represents DPB’s best estimate of 
these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Board of Health 
concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Virginia Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments identify the process acute 
care hospitals shall use in reporting healthcare-
associated infections to the Centers for Disease Control 
and Prevention and the Virginia Department of Health.  
The type of infection and the methods and timing of 
reporting are defined. 

PART XIII. 
REPORTING OF HEALTHCARE - ASSOCIATED 

INFECTIONS. 

12 VAC 5-90-370. Reporting of healthcare-associated 
infections. 

A. Definitions.  The following words and terms when used 
in this part shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Acute care hospital" means a hospital as defined in 
§ 32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia that provides medical 
treatment for patients having an acute illness or injury or 
recovering from surgery. 

"Adult" means a person 18 years of age or more. 

"Central line-associated bloodstream infection" means a 
primary bloodstream infection identified by laboratory 
tests, with or without clinical signs or symptoms, in a 
patient with central line infusion device, and meeting the 
current Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) 
surveillance definition for laboratory-confirmed primary 
bloodstream infection. 

"Central line device" means a vascular infusion device that 
terminates at or close to the heart or in one of the greater 
vessels. The following are considered great vessels for the 
purpose of reporting central line infections and counting 
central line days: aorta, pulmonary artery, superior vena 
cava, inferior vena cava, brachiocephalic veins, internal 

jugular veins, subclavian veins, external iliac veins, and 
common femoral veins. 

"Healthcare-associated infection" (or nosocomial infection) 
means a localized or systemic condition resulting from an 
adverse reaction to the presence of an infectious agent(s) or 
its toxin(s) that (i) occurs in a patient in a healthcare setting 
(eg., a hospital or outpatient clinic), (ii) was not found to 
be present or incubating at the time of admission unless the 
infection was related to a previous admission to the same 
setting, and (iii) if the setting is a hospital, meets the 
criteria for a specific infection site as defined by CDC. 

"National Healthcare Safety Network" (NHSN) means a 
surveillance system created by the CDC for accumulating, 
exchanging and integrating relevant information on 
infectious adverse events associated with healthcare 
delivery. 

B. Reportable infections and method and timing of 
reporting. 

1. Acute care hospitals shall collect data on the 
following healthcare-associated infection in the specified 
patient population:  central line-associated bloodstream 
infections in adult intensive care units, including the 
number of central-line days in each population at risk, 
expressed per 1,000 catheter-days. 

2. All acute care hospitals with adult intensive care units 
shall (i) participate in CDC’s National Healthcare and 
Safety Network by July 1, 2008, (ii) submit data on the 
above named infection to the NHSN according to CDC 
protocols and ensure that all data from July 1, 2008, to 
December 31, 2008, are entered into the NHSN by 
January 31, 2009, and (iii) enter data quarterly thereafter 
according to a schedule established by the department. 

3. All acute care hospitals reporting the information 
noted above shall authorize the department to have 
access to hospital-specific data contained in the NHSN 
database. 

C. Liability protection and data release.  Any person 
making such report as authorized herein shall be immune 
from liability as provided by § 32.1-38 of the Code of 
Virginia.  Infection rate data may be released to the public 
by the department upon request.  Data shall be aggregated 
to ensure that no individual patient may be identified. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-116; Filed June 6, 2007, 9:24 a.m. 
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Final Regulation 
Titles of Regulations:  12 VAC 5-190. State Plan for the 
Provision of Children's Specialty Services (repealing 
12 VAC 5-190-10 through 12 VAC 5-190-690). 

12 VAC 5-191. State Plan for the Children with Special 
Health Care Needs Program (adding 12 VAC 5-191-10 
through 12 VAC 5-191-320). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-77 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date:  July 25, 2007. 

Agency Contact:   Susan Tlusty, Children with Special 
Health Care Needs Program, Division of Child and 
Adolescent Health, Department of Health, 109 Governor 
Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
864-7686, FAX (804) 864-7722, or email 
susan.tlusty@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulation governs several programs serving 
individuals with special health care needs administered 
by the Department of Health. 

Due to the need for extensive revisions, this regulatory 
action is repealing of the current regulation (12 VAC 5-
190) State Plan for the Provision of Children’s Specialty 
Services.  The current regulation governs a diagnosis-
based, direct clinic service model that is no longer 
operating throughout the Commonwealth due to 
significant changes in health care coverage among 
children, federal goals for children with special health 
care needs, and identified needs of this population and 
their families. 

The final regulation, 12 VAC 5-191, State Plan for the 
Children with Special Health Care Needs Program, 
identifies current program components, the scope of 
services provided and eligibility requirements.  The 
regulation establishes the authority to operate a 
program-specific pool of funds contingent upon 
available funding, outlines appeals processes and 
defines relationships and automatic referrals from other 
state-mandated screening and surveillance programs.  
The regulation recognizes that the Children with Special 
Health Care Needs Program is not an entitlement or 
federal/state/local public benefit program. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating 
agency. 

CHAPTER 191. 
STATE PLAN FOR THE CHILDREN WITH SPECIAL 

HEALTH CARE NEEDS PROGRAM. 

12 VAC 5-191-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this 
regulation shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Appeal" means the client's right to seek relief from an 
unfavorable decision in obtaining services or assistance 
included in the plan.  

"Applicant" means an individual who applies for the 
services under this regulation.  An application may be filed 
for or on behalf of a minor or person under a legal 
disability by a parent, legal guardian, and attorney in fact, 
or an attorney at law.   

"Bleeding disorders" means inherited problems in 
coagulation caused by missing or poorly functioning 
proteins in the blood such as hemophilia and von 
Willebrand Disease. 

"Board" means the State Board of Health.  

"Care coordination" means a process that links individuals 
and their families to services and resources in a 
coordinated effort to maximize their potential and provide 
them with optimal health care. 

"Center" means a unit providing Care Connection for 
Children services. 

"CCC" means Care Connection for Children. 

"Children and youth with special health care needs" means 
individuals who are ages birth to their twenty-first birthday 
and have, or are at increased risk for, a chronic physical, 
developmental, behavioral, or emotional condition and 
who also require health and related services of a type or 
amount beyond that required by children generally. 

"Client" means an individual who meets all the eligibility 
criteria for a program and has been accepted for services.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Health. 

"Community-based" means a framework within which a 
variety of programs work together to meet the many, 
varied needs of children, youth, and families in 
communities. 

"CSHCN" means children with special health care needs. 

"Culturally-competent" means the ability to provide 
services to clients that honor different cultural beliefs, 
interpersonal styles, attitudes and behaviors and the use of 
multicultural staff in the policy development, 
administration, and provision of those services. 
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"Department" means the state Department of Health and 
includes the central office, regional offices, health districts, 
and local health departments. 

"Developmental disorder" means a delay(s) in maturation 
or deviant maturation of physical, language, sensory, 
motor, cognitive, social, learning or self-help capabilities 
to the extent that there is a negative impact on a child's 
ability to adapt to or cope with the typical environmental 
demands as expected for chronological age.  

"Direct health care services" means medically necessary 
services for the treatment and monitoring of a condition(s) 
covered by the program. The services are generally 
delivered one-on-one between a health care professional 
and a client in an office, home, clinic, outpatient 
department, or hospital.   

"Director" means the Director, Children with Special 
Health Care Needs Program.  

"Division" means the Division of Child and Adolescent 
Health.  

"Enabling services" means support services that allow or 
provide for access to and the receipt of benefits from an 
array of basic health care services.  

"Family" means the client and other such household 
members who together constitute one economic unit.  An 
economic unit is one or more individuals who generally 
reside together and share income.  

"Family-centered care" means an approach to the planning, 
delivery, and evaluation of health care whose cornerstone 
is active participation between families and professionals.  
Family-centered care recognizes that families are the 
ultimate decision makers for their children, with children 
gradually taking on more and more of this decision-making 
themselves. 

"Family-to-family support" means the provision of 
information and peer support among families having 
experience with family members having special health care 
needs. 

"Guardian" means a court-appointed guardian of the 
person.  

"Information and referral services" means assisting clients 
and their families to find available services, responding to 
inquiries from the general public, and disseminating 
information for accessing specific services. 

"MCH" means maternal and child health. 

"Medical home" means a concept in which the child has an 
ongoing source of health care from a primary care 
physician who works together with the family to ensure 
that the child has accessible, continuous, comprehensive, 

family-centered, coordinated, compassionate, and 
culturally effective medical care.  

"Parent" means a biological or adoptive parent or a 
stepparent. 

"Plan" means the State Plan for the Children with Special 
Health Care Needs Program prepared pursuant to Title V 
of the United States Social Security Act, as amended. 

"Pool of funds" means funds designated for payment of 
direct health care services.  Access to the pool is not an 
entitlement and is subject to availability of funds and 
guidelines that govern its eligibility and coverage of 
services. 

"Population-based services" means preventive 
interventions and personal health services developed and 
available for the entire MCH population of the 
Commonwealth rather than for individuals in a one-on-one 
situation. 

"Program" means the Children with Special Health Care 
Needs Program.  

"Provider" means an individual or agency that provides a 
service under an agreement between the individual or 
agency and the Children with Special Health Care Needs 
Program or its contractors. 

"Resident" means an individual who resides within the 
geographical boundaries of the Commonwealth.  

"Services" means those activities provided or arranged by 
the various programs within the Children with Special 
Health Care Needs Program.  

"Sickle cell disease" means any inherited hemoglobin 
pattern with a predominance of hemoglobin (S) in absence 
of, or greater than normal hemoglobin (A); or hemoglobin 
S with another hemoglobin variant such as C, D, or E or 
beta thalassemia. 

"Sickle Cell Program Manager" means an employee of the 
Pediatric Comprehensive Sickle Cell Clinic Network who 
is designated to be responsible for the administration of the 
statewide Pediatric Comprehensive Sickle Cell Clinic 
Network.  

"Transition services" means assisting the client and his 
family in the process of making necessary changes from 
life as a youth with special health care needs to life as an 
adult with special health care needs.  Aspects to be 
addressed include health and wellness; education, vocation, 
and employment; mobility, transportation, and recreation; 
and legal, insurance, disability benefits, and housing.  

"Underinsured" means having medically necessary service 
needs that exceed an individual’s health insurance 
coverage limits. 
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"Uninsured" means having no private health insurance or 
state or federal medical assistance coverage.  

12 VAC 5-191-20. Guidance documents. 

The commissioner may issue guidance documents that 
interpret these regulations and provide guidance for their 
implementation.  Such documents shall be reviewed and 
revised whenever these regulations are reviewed, and may 
also be amended or revised as needed to meet changing 
circumstances.   

12 VAC 5-191-30. Delegation of authority. 

The commissioner hereby delegates the authority to 
supervise the day-to-day activities required to administer 
the plan to the Director, Children with Special Health Care 
Needs Program. The director shall be responsible for the 
efficient and effective implementation of the plan and shall 
be accountable to the commissioner or his designee. 

12 VAC 5-191-40. Scope and content of the Children 
with Special Health Care Needs Program. 

A. Mission.  The Children with Special Health Care Needs 
Program promotes the optimal health and development of 
individuals living in the Commonwealth with special 
health care needs by working in partnership with families, 
service providers, and communities. 

B. Scope.  The scope of the Children with Special Health 
Care Needs Program includes the following: 

1. Direct health care services. 

2. Enabling services. 

3. Population-based services. 

4. Assessment of community health status and available 
resources. 

5. Policy development to support and encourage better 
health. 

The Children with Special Health Care Needs Program 
administers the following networks and services: 

1. Care Connection for Children. 

2. Child Development Services. 

3. Virginia Bleeding Disorders Program. 

4. Pediatric Screening and Genetics Services. 

a. Virginia Newborn Screening System.  

b. Virginia Congenital Anomalies Reporting and 
Education System.  

5. Virginia Sickle Cell Awareness Program. 

6. Pediatric Comprehensive Sickle Cell Clinic Network. 

C. Target population.  The target population to receive 
services from the networks and programs within the 
Children with Special Health Care Needs Program are the 
following:  

1. Residents of the Commonwealth. 

2. Individuals between the ages of birth and their twenty-
first birthday except that the Virginia Bleeding Disorders 
Program and the Virginia Sickle Cell Awareness 
Program serve individuals of all ages. 

3. Individuals diagnosed as having, or are at increased 
risk for having, a chronic physical, developmental, 
behavioral, or emotional condition and who also require 
health and related services of a type or amount beyond 
that required by children generally. 

Each network and program within the CSHCN Program 
has its own specific eligibility criteria. 

D. Goals.  The Title V national performance measures, as 
required by the federal Government Performance and 
Results Act (GPRA-Pub. L. 103-62), are used to establish 
the program goals. 

12 VAC 5-191-50. Availability of funds; no entitlement. 

Receipt of federal funds and subsequent administration of 
the State Plan for the Children with Special Health Care 
Needs are contingent upon annual federal review, 
approval, and compliance with other applicable federal law 
and regulations as outlined in USC §§ 701-710, Subchapter 
V, Chapter 7, Title 42 and CFR, Secretary of Health and 
Human Services, Chapter I, Title 42, and Subtitle A, Title 
45. 

Expenditures shall be limited to available funding.  These 
regulations do not create any legally enforceable right or 
entitlement to payment for medical services on the part of 
any person or any right or entitlement to participation. 

For those program services and assistance requiring 
financial eligibility, the funds shall be committed on behalf 
of the eligible client based on the date that the programs, 
within the CSHCN Program, receive the original signed 
financial eligibility application. 

12 VAC 5-191-60. Emergency suspension of services. 

The commissioner may suspend any portion of the plan, 
including services provided, to ensure the financial 
integrity of the Children with Special Health Care Needs 
Program. The commissioner shall report any action taken 
under the provisions of this section to the Board of Health 
at its next scheduled meeting. 

12 VAC 5-191-70. Financial requirements. 

For those program services and assistance requiring 
financial eligibility, the determination shall be conducted 
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in accordance with the State Board of Health Regulations 
Governing Eligibility Standards and Charges for Health 
Care Services to Individuals, 12 VAC 5-200, and its 
guidance documents that are currently in effect. 

Applicants who are eligible for financial assistance under 
this plan must demonstrate that they are not eligible for 
other available state and federal medical assistance 
programs.  An application for such state or federal 
assistance programs must be completed and a denial of 
eligibility received in order to qualify for financial 
assistance under this plan.  The Children with Special 
Health Care Needs Program may limit financial assistance 
until the appropriate applications for the medical assistance 
programs have been processed for acceptance or denial.  

12 VAC 5-191-80. Appeal process. 

A. An applicant for or client in receipt of services or 
assistance, as defined in this plan, may appeal the 
following actions: 

1. Denial of services or assistance. 

2. Termination of services or assistance. 

3. Adverse determination regarding financial eligibility. 

There are no further rights of appeal except as set forth in 
this section.  Applicants or clients have no right of appeal 
of a denial of services or assistance because of a lack of 
funds. 

B. The applicant or client has the right to receive a written 
statement of the reasons for denial and be informed in 
writing of the appeal process, including time limits. 

C. If a client already receiving services or assistance is 
denied those services or assistance, a written notice of 
termination including the reason of denial shall be given 30 
days in advance of discontinuing services.   

D. First level of appeal:  An individual or his 
representative may make a written or oral appeal to the 
employee designated to be responsible for the 
administration of the different programs (the Care 
Connection for Children Program Director, Administrative 
Director for the Child Development Services, Bleeding 
Disorders Program Coordinator, or Sickle Cell Program 
Manager) within 30 days of the denial of service.  The 
respective program director, administrative director, 
program coordinator, or program manager shall review and 
make a written decision to the individual or his 
representative within 15 days from the date of receipt of 
the appeal. 

E. Second level of appeal:  If the individual is not satisfied 
with the decision provided at the first level of appeal, the 
individual may appeal the decision in writing to the 
Director of the Children with Special Health Care Needs 

Program within 30 days of the denial from the individual 
program.   

F. Upon receipt of the appeal, the director shall review and 
make written recommendations to the commissioner, or the 
commissioner’s designee, within 15 days.  The director 
shall consider all written information and may confer, as 
deemed necessary, with the department’s adjudication 
officer in the Office of Family Health Services or other 
relevant experts. 

G. Within 45 days following the date on which an appeal is 
filed, the commissioner, or commissioner’s designee, shall 
make a final decision. 

12 VAC 5-191-90. Privacy. 

A. The Children with Special Health Care Needs Program 
and program subcontractors shall protect the privacy of the 
client’s personal health information and the confidentiality 
of medical records in accordance with §§ 2.2-3700 through 
2.2-3705.1, 2.2-3705.5, 2.2-3800 through 2.2-3809, 32.1-
40, 32.1-41, 32.1-64.2, 32.1-67.1, 32.1-69, 32.1-69.2, 32.1-
127.1:03, and 32.1-127.1:04 of the Code of Virginia; the 
federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability 
Act of 1996 (42 USC §§ 1320 d et seq. and 45 CFR Part 
164); and Title V of the Social Security Act ( 42 USC §§ 
701-710, Subchapter V, Chapter 7 and 42 CFR 51a.6). 

B. Access to minor’s health records and the authority to 
consent to surgical and medical treatment for certain 
minors shall be administered in accordance with §§ 20-
124.6 and 54.1-2969 of the Code of Virginia, respectively. 

C. Surveillance and investigation shall be consistent with 
§§ [ 32.1-39, ] 32.1-40, 32.1-41 [ , and ] 32.1-66 [ and 
32.1-39 ] of the Code of Virginia. 

D. The department's children with special health care needs 
program and its contractors shall maintain security and 
confidentiality of databases in accordance with applicable 
federal and state laws and regulations. 

12 VAC 5-191-100. Contracts with providers. 

A. The program may choose to administer a pool of funds 
for payment of direct health care services for the uninsured 
and underinsured clients subject to availability of funds 
and guidelines that govern its eligibility and coverage of 
services. 

B. The program and its contractors are payors of last resort 
for direct health care services.  All other payment sources, 
including Title XVIII (Medicare), Title XIX (Medicaid and 
its EPSDT Program), Title XXI (SCHIP), military health 
insurance, private health insurance, any other state and 
federal medical assistance program, or any entity that 
contracts to pay medical care costs for persons eligible for 
medical assistance in the Commonwealth shall be 
exhausted prior to program payment. 
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C. The program and its contractors will not pay any portion 
of the bill that is not covered by any insurer, state and 
federal medical assistance program, or any entity that 
contracts to pay medical care costs for persons eligible for 
medical assistance in the Commonwealth unless the 
service is totally nonreimbursable by them. 

D. Providers of direct health care services are limited to 
those providers who: 

1. Have credentials, licensure or certification in the 
clinical specialty to provide the approved services. 

2. Accept the Medicaid fee-for-service rate of 
reimbursement for the specific service based upon the 
appropriate code set to identify procedures, services, and 
diagnoses as approved for use by the federal Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

3. Accept the amounts as negotiated by the program, or a 
contractor on its behalf, as payment in full on behalf of 
the program, client, and his family or legal guardian. 

E. Paraprofessional staff and volunteers may provide 
services under the direction of a provider who has 
credentials, licensure, or certification. 

12 VAC 5-191-110. Special projects. 

A. When approved by the commissioner or his designee, 
the plan does not preclude establishment of 
"Demonstration Projects" to test alternate means of service 
delivery.  All such projects shall be relevant to the services 
for children with special health care needs as provided 
through the administration of the plan. 

B. The plan does not preclude seeking funding from other 
available funding sources to perform a special project. 

12 VAC 5-191-120. Federally required assurances and 
certifications. 

A. The Children with Special Health Care Needs Program 
is funded by the Title V of the federal Social Security Act, 
Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant, which is 
matched by state funds.  The department is required to 
comply with the following:  

1. Civil Rights Assurance (45 CFR Part 80). 

2. Assurance concerning the Handicapped (45 CFR Part 
84). 

3. Assurance concerning Sex Discrimination (45 CFR 
Part 86). 

4. Assurance concerning Age Discrimination (45 CFR 
Part 90 and 45 CFR Part 91). 

5. Human Subjects Certification, when applicable (45 
CFR Part 46). 

6. Certifications regarding Drug-free Workplace, 
Debarment and Suspension, Lobbying, Program Fraud 
Civil Remedies, and Environmental Tobacco Smoke. 

7. Regulatory Provisions for Block Grants (45 CFR 
96.50 (e)). 

B. For funding received from other federal sources, the 
department is required to comply with the Office of 
Management and Budget Circular A-87, "Cost Principles 
for State, Local, and Indian Tribal Governments" as 
published in 67 FR 52558. 

12 VAC 5-191-130. Federal stipulations for use and 
nonuse of funds. 

A. The MCH Services Block Grant has, as its general 
purpose, the improvement of the health of all mothers and 
children in the nation consistent with the applicable health 
status goals and national health objectives established by 
the Secretary of Health and Human Services.  The funds 
enable each state to:  

1. Provide and assure mothers and children (in particular 
those with low income or with limited availability of 
health services) access to quality maternal and child 
health services;  

2. Reduce infant mortality and the incidence of 
preventable diseases and handicapping conditions 
among children;  

3. Provide rehabilitative services for blind and disabled 
individuals under the age of 16 years receiving benefits 
under Title XVI (Supplemental Security Income), to the 
extent medical assistance for such services is not 
provided under Title XIX (Medicaid); and  

4. Provide and promote family-centered, community-
based, coordinated care for children with special health 
care needs and to facilitate the development of 
community-based systems of service for such children 
and their families. 

B. Federal requirements prohibit MCH Services Block 
Grant funds from being used for the following purposes: 

1. Purchase of major medical equipment.  

2. Cash payments to intended recipients of health 
services. 

3. Purchase or improvement of land; the purchase, 
construction or permanent improvement of any building 
or other facility (other that minor remodeling). 

4. Providing funds for research or training to any entity 
other than a public or nonprofit private entity. 

5. Satisfying any requirement for the expenditure of 
nonfederal funds as a condition for the receipt of federal 
funds.  Further, federal funds from other block grants 
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(e.g., preventive health) may be transferred into the 
MCH Services Block Grant Program by states, but MCH 
Block Grant funds may not be transferred to any other 
program. 

C. For funding received from other federal sources, the 
department is required to comply with the Office of 
Management and Budget Circular A-87, "Cost Principles 
for State, Local, and Indian Tribal Governments" as 
published in 67 FR 52558. 

12 VAC 5-191-140. Parent, legal guardian and client 
rights and responsibilities. 

The parent, legal guardian, or client rights and 
responsibilities shall be described in existing program 
policies and shall be given to the client upon acceptance to 
the program. 

12 VAC 5-191-150. Closure of client to the program. 

A. The reasons for closure of a client to the program shall 
be in accordance with existing department eligibility 
guidance documents as stated in 12 VAC5-191-70. 

B. If, at the time of closure to the program, the client still 
needs medical care for the condition for which he was in 
the program and for the service that he has been receiving 
from the program, the client will be referred to another 
source.  The services may terminate only following notice 
to the client that such services will be terminated. Medical 
care services cannot be terminated for clients receiving 
ongoing care without making a good faith effort to secure 
alternative care. 

12 VAC 5-191-160. Transfer of client. 

Transfer of a client geographically among the program’s 
centers or clinics shall be in accordance with existing 
program policies. 

12 VAC 5-191-170. Description of the Care Connection 
for Children network. 

Care Connection for Children is a statewide network of 
Centers of Excellence for Children with Special Health 
Care Needs that facilitates access to comprehensive 
medical and support services that are collaborative, family 
centered, culturally competent, fiscally responsible, 
community based, coordinated and outcome oriented to 
children and youth with special health care needs and their 
families. 

12 VAC 5-191-180. Scope and content of the Care 
Connection for Children network. 

A. Mission.  The Care Connection for Children network 
promotes the optimal health and development of children 
and youth living in the Commonwealth with special health 
care needs by working in partnership with families, service 
providers, and communities. 

B. Scope of services.  The Care Connection for Children 
network provides the following enabling services: 

1. Assistance in accessing specialty medical services and 
a medical home. 

2. Care coordination. 

3. Medical insurance benefits evaluation and 
coordination that may include services that promote the 
access to and the understanding of the use of private 
health insurance and state and federal medical assistance 
programs. 

4. Information and referral.  

5. Collaboration with the Virginia Department of 
Education and its Education in Hospitals Program to 
provide consultation for families, educators and school 
administrators. 

6. Transition from child to adult-oriented health care 
system. 

7. Family-to-family support. 

8. Training and technical assistance for community 
providers. 

9. Promotion of a family-centered, community-based, 
and culturally-competent service delivery system 
through advisory councils. 

Based on community need, the Care Connection for 
Children network may provide direct health care services. 

C. Criteria to receive services from Care Connection for 
Children.  Children and youth are eligible to receive 
services from Care Connection for Children if they are: 

1. Residents of the Commonwealth. 

2. Between the ages of birth and their twenty-first 
birthday.  

3. Diagnosed with a disorder that: 

a. Has a physical basis;  

b. Has lasted, or is expected to last, at least 12 months; 
and 

c. Produces one of more of the following sequelae: 

(1) Need for health care and ancillary services over 
and above the usual for the child's age, or for special 
ongoing treatments, interventions, or 
accommodation at home or school; 

(2) Limitation in function, activities, or social role 
in comparison with healthy age peers in the general 
areas of physical, cognitive, emotional, and social 
growth and development; 
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(3) Dependency on one of the following to 
compensate for, or minimize limitation of, function, 
activities, or social role: medications, special diet, 
medical technology, assistive devices or personal 
assistance. 

No financial eligibility criteria are required for clients to 
receive the enabling services.  However, clients who meet 
the above criteria must also meet the financial 
requirements for eligibility for access to a pool of funds for 
payment of their direct health care services. 

D. Goals.  The Title V national performance measures, as 
required by the federal Government Performance and 
Results Act (GPRA-Pub. L. 103-62), are used to establish 
the program goals.  The following goals shall change as 
needed to be consistent with the Title V national 
performance measures: 

1. Families of children with special health care needs 
will partner in decision making at all levels and will be 
satisfied with the services they receive. 

2. All children with special health care needs will 
receive coordinated, ongoing, comprehensive care 
within a medical home. 

3. All families of children with special health care needs 
will have adequate private or public insurance or both to 
pay for the services they need. 

4. All children will be screened early and continuously 
for special health care needs. 

5. Community-based service systems will be organized 
so families can use them easily. 

6. All youth with special health care needs will receive 
the services necessary to make transitions to all aspects 
of adult life, including adult health care, work, and 
independence. 

12 VAC 5-191-190. Care Connection for Children Pool 
of Funds. 

Based on availability of funds, the Children with Special 
Health Care Needs Program may choose to administer a 
Care Connection for Children Pool of Funds for payment 
of direct medical care services for the uninsured and 
underinsured clients. The commissioner or his designee 
may issue a guidance document that interprets these 
regulations and provides guidance for their 
implementation.  The guidance document for the pool of 
funds shall include the financial requirements for eligibility 
as stated in 12 VAC 5-191-50, the policies for 
authorization of services, and the contractual assurances as 
noted in this regulation. The guidance document will 
assure that the funds are allocated to the children with the 
greatest financial need after all health insurance, federal, 
state, and community financial resources have been 

exhausted.  At a minimum, the guidance document shall be 
reviewed at least annually and revised as needed, whenever 
the regulations are reviewed, and also may be amended or 
revised as needed to meet changing circumstances. 

12 VAC 5-191-200. Description of the Child 
Development Services network. 

The Child Development Services is a statewide network of 
Child Development Clinics that facilitates the availability 
and accessibility of comprehensive, interdisciplinary 
developmental services for children and youth suspected to 
have or diagnosed with developmental, learning, or 
behavioral disorders. 

12 VAC 5-191-210. Score and content of the Child 
Development Services Program. 

A. Mission.  The Child Development Services Program 
promotes the optimal physical, language, cognitive, social, 
learning, self-help, behavioral, and emotional development 
and well-being of children. 

B. Scope of services.  The child development clinics 
provide pediatric services in the specialty area of 
developmental and behavioral pediatrics. This health care 
field specializes in the diagnosis and treatment of 
developmental and psychosocial aspects of pediatric health 
care including developmental disorders and emotional, 
behavioral, and psychosomatic problems.  

Services offered at each clinic location may vary according 
to the needs of the community, expertise of the 
professional staff, and the overall goals and objectives for 
the current program.  

The Child Development Services network provides the 
following direct health care services and enabling services: 

1. Interdisciplinary evaluations that may include a 
pediatric medical examination, nurse evaluation, 
psychosocial history, psychological assessment, and 
educational evaluation. 

2. Treatment planning that may include the evaluation 
team developing a written report that integrates their 
findings, establishes diagnoses, and formulates 
recommendations for each client. 

3. Care coordination. 

4. Consultation. 

5. Screenings for early identification of persons with 
developmental disorders. 

6. Screening services to assist other agencies in their 
program implementation as may be described in a 
contract or memorandum of agreement.  

7. Information and referral. 
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8. Intervention services that may include medical, 
psychosocial, educational, or interdisciplinary treatment 
services. 

9. Training and technical assistance for community 
providers.  

C. Criteria to receive services from Child Development 
Services.  Children and youth are eligible to receive 
services from Child Development Services if they are: 

1. Residents of the Commonwealth. 

2. Between the ages of birth and their twenty-first 
birthday. 

3. Suspected to have or diagnosed with developmental, 
emotional or behavioral disorder or presence of severe or 
multiple risk factors for these conditions.  

No financial eligibility criteria are required for clients to 
receive the enabling services.  However, clients who meet 
the above criteria must also meet the financial 
requirements to receive direct health care services based on 
a sliding scale charge schedule.  The amount of the 
required charge shall be in accordance with the State Board 
of Health Regulation Governing Eligibility Standards and 
Charges for Health Care Services to Individuals, 12 VAC 
5-200. 

D. Goals.  The Title V national performance measures, as 
required by the federal Government Performance and 
Results Act (GPRA-Pub. L. 103-62), are used to establish 
the program goals.  The following goals shall change as 
needed to be consistent with the Title V national 
performance measures: 

1. Children who are at greatest risk for developmental, 
emotional and behavioral disorders and in need of 
related services will receive early screening, diagnosis, 
and assistance in finding and accessing needed services. 

2. Other state and local agencies will receive assistance 
in providing effective coordinated services for persons 
with special health care needs. 

12 VAC 5-191-220. Description of the Virginia Bleeding 
Disorders Program. 

The Virginia Bleeding Disorders Program supports a 
statewide network of comprehensive care centers to 
promote coordinated, family-centered, culturally-
competent, multidisciplinary system of care for clients of 
all ages with inherited bleeding disorders and their 
families.   

12 VAC 5-191-230. Scope and Content of the Virginia 
Bleeding Disorders Program. 

A. Mission.  Virginia Bleeding Disorders Program 
improves the availability and accessibility of 

comprehensive care for clients with inherited bleeding 
disorders and their families.   

B. Scope of services.  In collaboration with a network of 
comprehensive bleeding disorders clinics in the 
Commonwealth, services are provided by a 
multidisciplinary team that focuses on the physical, 
emotional, social, educational, financial and workplace 
impact of inherited bleeding disorders.  The comprehensive 
care team collaborates closely with the client’s primary 
care provider within their community. 

The Virginia Bleeding Disorders Program provides the 
following enabling services:  

1. Assistance in accessing comprehensive specialty 
health care services for clients with inherited bleeding 
disorders and a medical home.  

2. Care coordination. 

3. Insurance case management that may include a 
comprehensive resource assessment, consultation, and 
referral of eligible individuals to third party payers; 
education and assistance to individuals regarding health 
care choices relevant to insurance options; procurement 
of grants for the funding of third party medical coverage; 
and assistance to eligible individuals in the health 
insurance application and enrollment process and 
procurement of the least costly and beneficial medical 
coverage. 

4. Information and referral. 

5. Collaboration with the Virginia Department of 
Education and its Education in Hospitals Program to 
provide consultation for families, educators, and school 
administrators. 

6. Transition from child to adult oriented health care 
system. 

7. Family-to-family support. 

8. Training and technical assistance for community 
providers. 

9. Promotion of quality assurance and policy 
development through the Hemophilia Advisory Board. 

C. Criteria to receive services of Virginia Bleeding 
Disorders Program.  Individuals are eligible to receive 
services from the Virginia Bleeding Disorder Program if 
they are: 

1. Residents of the Commonwealth. 

2. Any age. 

3. Diagnosed as having an inherited bleeding disorder.  

4. Clients of a comprehensive bleeding disorder clinic. 
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No financial eligibility criteria are required for clients to 
receive the enabling services.  However, clients who meet 
the above criteria must also meet the financial 
requirements for eligibility for access to a pool of funds for 
payment of their direct health care services. 

D. Goals.  The Title V national performance measures, as 
required by the federal Government Performance and 
Results Act (GPRA-Pub. L. 103-62), are used to establish 
the program goals.  The following goals shall change as 
needed to be consistent with the Title V national 
performance measures: 

1. Clients with inherited bleeding disorders will partner 
in decision making at all levels and will be satisfied with 
the services they receive. 

2. Clients with inherited bleeding disorders will receive 
coordinated, ongoing, comprehensive specialized care in 
partnership with their community-based primary care 
provider. 

3. Clients with inherited bleeding disorders will have 
adequate private or public insurance or both to pay for 
the services they need. 

4. All youth with inherited bleeding disorders will 
participate in preparing for transition to adult life, 
including adult health care, work and independence. 

12 VAC 5-191-240. Bleeding disorders pool of funds. 

Based on availability of funds, the Children with Special 
Health Care Needs Program may choose to administer a 
bleeding disorders pool of funds for payment of direct 
medical care services for the uninsured and underinsured 
clients.  The commissioner or his designee may issue a 
guidance document that interprets these regulations and 
provides guidance for their implementation.  The guidance 
document for the pool of funds shall include the financial 
requirements for eligibility as stated in 12 VAC 5-191-70, 
the policies for authorization of services, and the 
contractual assurances as noted in this regulation. The 
guidance document will assure that the funds are allocated 
to the children with the greatest financial need after all 
health insurance, federal, state, and community financial 
resources have been exhausted.  At a minimum, the 
guidance document shall be reviewed at least annually and 
revised as needed, whenever the regulations are reviewed, 
and also may be amended or revised as needed to meet 
changing circumstances. 

12 VAC 5-191-250. Pediatric Screening and Genetics 
Services. 

The Pediatric Screening and Genetics Services unit works 
to improve the health of children and families by 
preventing birth defects and developmental disabilities, 
promoting optimal child development, and promoting 

health and wellness among children and adolescents living 
with disabilities. 

Pediatric Screening and Genetics Services include several 
programs, services, and projects, two of which are the 
Virginia Newborn Screening System and the Virginia 
Congenital Anomalies Reporting and Education System. 

12 VAC 5-191-260. Scope and content of the Virginia 
Newborn Screening System. 

A. The Virginia Newborn Screening System consists of 
two components: (i) Virginia Newborn Screening Services 
and (ii) Virginia Early Hearing Detection and Intervention 
Program. 

B. Virginia Newborn Screening Services. 

1. Mission.  The Virginia Newborn Screening Services 
prevents mental retardation, permanent disability, or 
death through early identification and treatment of 
infants who are affected by selected inherited disorders. 

2. Scope of services.  The Virginia Newborn Screening 
Services provides a coordinated and comprehensive 
system of services to assure that all infants receive a 
screening test after birth for selected inherited metabolic, 
endocrine, and hematological disorders as defined in 
Regulations Governing the Newborn Screening and 
Treatment Program, 12 VAC 5-70. 

These population-based, direct, and enabling services are 
provided through: 

a. Biochemical dried bloodspot screening tests. 

b. Follow up of abnormal results. 

c. Diagnosis. 

d. Education to health professionals and families. 

e. Expert consultation on abnormal results, diagnostic 
testing, and medical and dietary management for 
health professionals. 

Medical and dietary management is provided for the 
diagnosed cases and includes assistance in accessing 
specialty medical services and referral to Care 
Connection for Children. 

The screening and management for specified diseases 
are governed by Regulations Governing the Newborn 
Screening and Treatment Program, 12 VAC 5-70. 

3. Criteria to receive Virginia Newborn Screening 
Services.  All infants born in the Commonwealth are 
eligible for the screening test for selected inherited 
disorders. 

4. Goal.  The Title V national performance measures, as 
required by the federal Government Performance and 
Results Act (GPRA-Pub. L. 103-62), are used to 
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establish the program goals.  The following goal shall 
change as needed to be consistent with the Title V 
national performance measures: 

All infants will receive appropriate newborn bloodspot 
screening, follow up testing, and referral to services. 

C. Virginia Early Hearing Detection and Intervention 
Program. 

1. Mission.  The Virginia Early Hearing Detection and 
Intervention Program promotes early detection of and 
intervention for infants with congenital hearing loss to 
maximize linguistic and communicative competence and 
literacy development.  

2. Scope of services.  The Virginia Early Hearing 
Detection and Intervention Program provides services to 
assure that all infants receive a hearing screening after 
birth, that infants needing further testing are referred to 
appropriate facilities, that families have the information 
that they need to make decisions for their children, and 
that infants and young children diagnosed with a hearing 
loss receive appropriate and timely intervention services.  
These population-based and enabling services are 
provided through: 

a. Technical assistance and education to new parents. 

b. Collaboration with physicians and primary care 
providers. 

c. Technical assistance and education to birthing 
facilities and those persons performing home births. 

d. Collaboration with audiologists. 

e. Education to health professionals and general 
public. 

Once diagnosed, the infants are referred to early 
intervention services.  The screening and management 
for hearing loss are governed by the regulation, Virginia 
Hearing Impairment Identification and Monitoring 
System, 12 VAC 5-80. 

3. Criteria to receive services from the Virginia Early 
Hearing Detection and Intervention Program. 

a. All infants born in the Commonwealth are eligible 
for the hearing screening. 

b. All infants who are residents of the Commonwealth 
and their families are eligible for the Virginia Early 
Hearing Detection and Intervention Program. 

4. Goals.  The Title V national performance measures, as 
required by the federal Government Performance and 
Results Act (GPRA-Pub. L. 103-62), are used to 
establish the program goals.  The following goals shall 
change as needed to be consistent with the Title V 
national performance measures: 

All infants will receive screening for hearing loss no 
later than one month of age, achieve identification of 
congenital hearing loss by three months of age, and 
enroll in appropriate intervention by six months of age. 

12 VAC 5-191-270. Description of the Virginia 
Congenital Anomalies Reporting and Education 
System. 

The Virginia Congenital Anomalies Reporting and 
Education System (VaCARES) is a birth registry of 
children under two years of age diagnosed with congenital 
anomalies using data from documents such as birth 
certificates filed with the State Registrar of Vital Records, 
hospital medical records, and newborn screening system 
records.  It is both a reporting and an education system. 

12 VAC 5-191-280. Scope and content of the Virginia 
Congenital Anomalies Reporting and Education 
System. 

A. Mission.  The Virginia Congenital Anomalies Reporting 
and Education System promotes the evaluation of the 
possible causes of birth defects, the improvement in the 
diagnosis and treatment of children with birth defects, and 
the provision of information to parents and health 
professionals about the health resources available to aid 
such children.  

B. Scope of services.  The Virginia Congenital Anomalies 
Reporting and Education System provides the following 
population-based and enabling services: 

1. Identification of children having certain birth defects 
using data from documents such as birth certificates filed 
with the State Registrar of Vital Records, hospital 
medical records, and newborn screening system records. 

2. Collection of data to evaluate the possible causes of 
birth defects. 

3. Publication of birth defect surveillance data. 

4. Technical assistance and education to health 
professionals and parents. 

5. Referral to Care Connection for Children. 

This system is governed by § 32.1-69.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

C. Criteria to receive services from VaCARES.  Children 
with selected birth defects who are under two years of age 
and residents of Virginia are eligible for the services. 

D. Goals. 

1. Children with birth defects will receive early 
diagnosis and assistance in finding and accessing health 
care services.  
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2. Birth defect surveillance data will be used in making 
decisions regarding health services planning and to 
promote scientific collaboration for the prevention of 
birth defects. 

12 VAC 5-191-290. Description of the Virginia Sickle 
Cell Awareness Program. 

The Virginia Sickle Cell Awareness Program (VASCAP) 
is a statewide program for the education and screening of 
individuals for the disease of sickle cell anemia or sickle 
cell trait and for such other genetically related 
hemoglobinopathies. 

12 VAC 5-191-300. Scope and content of the Virginia 
Sickle Cell Awareness Program.  

A. Mission.  The Virginia Sickle Cell Awareness Program 
promotes awareness and provides access to screening and 
follow-up education for individuals and families identified 
with sickle cell disease and other genetically related 
hemoglobinopathies. 

B. Scope of services.  The Virginia Sickle Cell Awareness 
Program provides the following enabling services in 
collaboration with local health departments: 

1. Assistance for those unable to pay in accessing 
screening that includes screening for the purposes of 
preconceptual counseling, prenatal diagnosis, and the 
identification of sickle cell disease and related 
hemoglobinopathies in the child and adult. 

2. Individual, community, and professional consultation 
about sickle cell disease and related 
hemoglobinopathies. 

3. Post-screening counseling regarding carrier status or 
treatment. 

4. Training and technical assistance for community 
providers. 

5. Collaboration with Virginia Newborn Screening 
Program to track infants identified with sickle cell 
disease and related hemoglobinopathies to insure early 
parent education about the specific hemoglobinopathy, 
encourage confirmatory testing, and provide information 
about a network of Pediatric Comprehensive Sickle Cell 
Clinics located throughout the state. 

C. Criteria to receive services from the Virginia Sickle Cell 
Awareness Program.  Individuals are eligible to receive 
services from the Virginia Sickle Cell Awareness Program 
if they are: 

1. Residents of the Commonwealth. 

2. Any age. 

No financial eligibility criteria are required for clients to 
receive enabling services.  However, clients being screened 

for hemoglobin variants through local health departments 
who meet the above criteria must also meet the financial 
requirements based on a sliding scale charge schedule.  
The amount of the required charge shall be in accordance 
with the State Board of Health Regulation Governing 
Eligibility Standards and Charges for Health Care Services 
to Individuals, 12 VAC 5-200. 

D. Goal.  Individuals with the disease of sickle cell anemia 
or sickle cell trait and other genetically related 
hemoglobinopathies will receive early diagnosis and 
assistance in finding and accessing health care services. 

12 VAC 5-191-310. Description of the Pediatric 
Comprehensive Sickle Cell Clinic Network. 

The Pediatric Comprehensive Sickle Cell Clinic Network 
is a statewide group of clinics, located in major medical 
centers, that provide comprehensive medical and support 
services that are collaborative, family centered, culturally 
competent, community based and outcome oriented for 
newborns identified from newborn screening, children, and 
youth living with sickle cell disease. 

12 VAC 5-191-320. Scope and content of the Pediatric 
Comprehensive Sickle Cell Clinic Network. 

A. Mission.  The Pediatric Comprehensive Sickle Cell 
Clinic Network promotes the optimal health and 
development of children and youth living in the 
Commonwealth with sickle cell disease by working in 
partnership with families, service providers, community-
based sickle cell programs and the Virginia Sickle Cell 
Awareness Program. 

B. Scope of services.  The Pediatric Comprehensive Sickle 
Cell Clinic Network provides the following direct health 
care services and enabling services: 

1. Multidisciplinary evaluation and treatment from a 
team of professionals that may include physician, nurse, 
social worker, and educational consultant. 

2. Assistance in tracking newborns identified with sickle 
cell disease to ensure confirmation of newborn screening 
results and early access to care.  

3. Assistance in accessing comprehensive care and a 
medical home. 

4. Educational genetic counseling and diagnostic family 
studies to insure the accurate diagnosis of sickle cell 
disease. 

5. Parent and client education across the life span. 

6. Collaboration with primary care providers. 

7. Information and referral to community-based sickle 
cell support programs. 
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8. Collaboration with the Virginia Department of 
Education and its Education in Hospitals Program to 
provide consultation for families, educators and school 
administrators. 

9. Transition from child to adult oriented health care 
system. 

10. Family-to-family support. 

11. Training and technical assistance for community 
providers. 

12. Collection of surveillance data to insure clients are 
receiving services consistent with their level of risk. 

C. Criteria to receive services from the Pediatric 
Comprehensive Sickle Cell Clinic Network.  Children and 
youth are eligible to receive services from the Pediatric 
Comprehensive Sickle Cell Clinic Network if they are: 

1. Residents of the Commonwealth. 

2. Between the ages of birth and their twenty-first 
birthday.  

3. Diagnosed with sickle cell disease. 

No financial eligibility criteria are required for clients to 
receive the enabling services.  However, clients receiving 
direct health care services who meet the above criteria 
must also meet the financial requirements based on a 
sliding scale charge schedule of the major medical center. 

D. Goals.  The Title V national performance measures, as 
required by the federal Government Performance and 
Results Act (GPRA-Pub. L. 103-62), are used to establish 
the program goals.  The following goals shall change as 
needed to be consistent with the Title V national 
performance measures: 

1. Families of children with sickle cell anemia will 
partner in decision making at all levels and will be 
satisfied with the services they receive. 

2. All children with sickle cell anemia will receive 
coordinated, ongoing, comprehensive care within a 
medical home. 

3. All families of children with sickle cell anemia will 
have adequate private or public insurance or both to pay 
for the services they need. 

4. Community-based service systems will be organized 
so families can use them easily. 

5. All youth with sickle cell anemia will receive the 
services necessary to make transitions to all aspects of 
adult life, including adult health care, work, and 
independence. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-21; Filed June 6, 2007, 9:25 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 

Titles of Regulations:  12 VAC 30-50. Amount, Duration, 
and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 
(adding 12 VAC 30-50-141, 12 VAC 30-50-151, 12 VAC 
30-50-181, 12 VAC 30-50-228 and 12 VAC 30-50-461). 

12 VAC 30-60. Standards Established and Methods 
Used to Assure High Quality Care (12 VAC 30-60-250 
and 12 VAC 30-60-255). 

12 VAC 30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (adding 12 VAC 
30-80-32). 

12 VAC 30-120. Waivered Services (amending 12 VAC 
30-120-310 and 12 VAC 30-120-380). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates:  July 1, 2007, through June 30, 2008. 

Agency Contact:  Catherine Hancock, Policy and Research 
Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 
East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-4272, FAX (804) 225-1680, or email 
catherine.hancock@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble:   

The Appropriation Act, Item 302, PPP requires that 
DMAS amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance to 
provide coverage of substance abuse treatment services 
for children and adults effective July 1, 2007.  The 
services will include emergency services; evaluation and 
assessment; outpatient services, intensive outpatient 
services, targeted case management; day treatment and 
opioid treatment services.  Substance abuse services, 
with the exception of residential and day treatment 
services for pregnant and postpartum women, are not 
currently a part of the State Plan.  The addition of these 
services will fill a gap in the continuum of care for 
Medicaid enrollees.  

MEDALLION Primary Care Case Management (PCCM) 
recipients will have substance abuse services covered by 
Medicaid.  These services are not subject to required 
referrals by the primary care physician.  Medallion II 
recipients who are enrolled in a managed care 
organization (MCO) will have outpatient services 
(excluding intensive outpatient services) and assessment 
and evaluation services covered by the MCOs.  All other 
mandated substance abuse services to be covered 
(emergency services (crisis), Intensive outpatient 
services, day treatment services, opioid treatment 
services, and substance abuse case management 
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services) will be carved-out of the MCO and covered by 
DMAS. 

12 VAC 30-50-141. Outpatient substance abuse 
treatment services. 

1. Outpatient substance abuse treatment services shall be 
limited to an initial availability of 26 therapy sessions, 
without prior authorization during the first treatment year. 
An additional extension of up to 26 sessions during the 
first treatment year must be prior authorized by DMAS or 
its designee. The availability is further restricted to no 
more than 26 therapy sessions each succeeding year when 
prior authorized by DMAS or its designee. Outpatient 
substance abuse treatment services are further restricted to 
no more than three sessions in any given seven-day period. 
Consistent with §6403 of the Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1989, medically necessary substance 
abuse services shall be covered when prior authorized by 
DMAS or its designee for individuals younger than 21 
years of age when the need for such services has been 
identified in an EPSDT screening.  

2. Outpatient substance abuse services shall be provided by 
medical doctors or by doctors of osteopathy who have 
completed three years of post-graduate residency training 
in psychiatry; or by a physician or doctor of osteopathy 
who is certified in addiction medicine. The provider must 
also be qualified by training and experience in all of the 
following areas of substance abuse/addiction counseling: 
clinical evaluation; treatment planning; referral; service 
coordination; counseling; client, family, and community 
education; documentation; professional and ethical 
responsibilities. 

3. Psychological and psychiatric services shall be 
prescribed treatment that is directly and specifically related 
to an active written plan designed and signature-dated by 
one of the professionals listed in (2) above. 

4. Psychological or psychiatric services shall be considered 
appropriate when an individual meets the criteria for an 
Axis I substance-related disorder. Nicotine or caffeine 
abuse or dependence shall not be covered. The Axis I 
substance-related disorder shall meet American Society of 
Addiction Medicine (ASAM) Level of Care Criteria . 

5. Psychological or psychiatric services may be provided in 
an office or a clinic. 

12 VAC 30-50-151. Substance abuse treatment services 
provided by other licensed practitioners within the 
scope of their practice as defined by state law. 

A. Outpatient substance abuse services are limited to an 
initial availability of 26 sessions, without prior 
authorization during the first treatment year. An additional 
extension of up to 26 sessions is available during the first 
treatment year and must be prior authorized by DMAS or 

its designee. The availability is further restricted to no 
more than 26 sessions each succeeding year when prior 
authorized by DMAS or its designee. Outpatient substance 
abuse services are further restricted to no more than three 
sessions in any given seven-day period. Consistent with 
§6403 of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989, 
medically necessary substance abuse services shall be 
covered when prior authorized by DMAS or its designee 
for individuals younger than 21 years of age when the need 
for such services has been identified in an EPSDT 
screening. 

B. Outpatient substance abuse services shall be provided 
by a licensed clinical psychologist, licensed clinical social 
worker, licensed professional counselor, licensed 
psychiatric clinical nurse specialist, a psychiatric nurse 
practitioner, a licensed marriage and family therapist, or a 
licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner. The 
provider must also be qualified by training and experience 
in all of the following areas of substance abuse/addiction 
counseling: clinical evaluation; treatment planning; 
referral; service coordination; counseling; client, family, 
and community education; documentation; professional 
and ethical responsibilities. 

C. Psychological and psychiatric services shall be 
prescribed treatment that is directly and specifically related 
to an active written plan designed and signature-dated by 
one of the professionals listed in (3)(b).  

D. Psychological or psychiatric services shall be 
considered appropriate when an individual meets criteria 
for an Axis I substance-related disorder. Nicotine or 
caffeine abuse or dependence shall not be covered. The 
Axis I substance-related disorder shall meet American 
Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) Level of Care 
Criteria. 

E. Psychological or psychiatric services may be provided 
in an office or a clinic. 

12 VAC 30-50-181. Clinic services: substance abuse 
treatment services. 

A. Coverage of community mental health clinics for 
substance abuse treatment services is provided only when 
performed by a qualified therapist. For purposes of 
providing this service a qualified therapist shall be:  

i. Outpatient substance abuse services can be provided by 
medical doctors and doctors of osteopathy who have 
completed three years of post-graduate residency training 
in psychiatry or by a physician or doctor of osteopathy who 
is certified in addiction medicine; 

ii. A licensed clinical psychologist, licensed clinical social 
worker, licensed professional counselor, licensed 
psychiatric clinical nurse specialist, a psychiatric nurse 
practitioner, a licensed marriage and family therapist, or a 
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licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner. The 
provider must also be qualified by training and experience 
in all of the following areas of substance abuse/addiction 
counseling: clinical evaluation; treatment planning; 
referral; service coordination; counseling; client, family, 
and community education; documentation; professional 
and ethical responsibilities.  

iii. An individual who holds a master's or doctorate degree, 
who has completed all coursework necessary for licensure 
by the respective board, and who has applied for a license 
but has not yet received such license, and who is currently 
supervised in furtherance of the application for such 
license, in accordance with requirements or regulations 
promulgated by DMAS, by one of the licensed 
practitioners listed in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this 
subsection. 

B. Substance abuse treatment services provided in clinics 
shall be prescribed treatment that is directly and 
specifically related to an active written plan designed and 
signature-dated by one of the professionals listed in (D)(1) 
or (2). 

12 VAC 30-50-228. Community substance abuse 
treatment services. 

A. Services to be covered shall include crisis intervention, 
day treatment services in non-residential settings, intensive 
outpatient services, and opioid treatment services. These 
services shall be rendered to Medicaid recipients consistent 
with the criteria specified in 12 VAC 30-60-250. 
Individuals shall not receive any combination of day 
treatment, opioid treatment, and intensive outpatient 
services concurrently. To be reimbursed by Medicaid, 
covered services shall meet the following definitions: 

1. Crisis intervention. This service shall provide immediate 
substance abuse care, available 24 hours a day, seven days 
per week, to assist recipients who are experiencing acute 
dysfunction requiring immediate clinical attention. This 
service's objectives shall be to prevent exacerbation of a 
condition, to prevent injury to the recipient or others, and 
to provide treatment in the context of the least restrictive 
setting. 

(a) An assessment must be conducted to assess the crisis 
situation. The assessment must document the need for the 
service. 

(b) Crisis intervention activities, limited annually to 180 
hours, may include short-term counseling designed to 
stabilize the recipient, providing access to further 
immediate assessment and follow-up, and linking the 
recipient with ongoing care to prevent future crises. Crisis 
intervention services may include office visits, home visits, 
telephone contacts, and face to face support or monitoring 
or other client-related activities for the prevention of 
institutionalization. 

(c) Assessment and counseling may be provided by a 
Qualified Substance Abuse Professional (QSAP) as 
defined in 12 VAC 30-50-250, or a certified prescreener 
described in 12 VAC 30-50-226. 

(d) Monitoring and face to face support may be provided 
by a QSAP, a certified prescreener, or a paraprofessional. 
A paraprofessional, as described in 12 VAC 30-50-226, 
must be under the supervision of a QSAP and provide 
services in accordance with a plan of care. 

2. Day treatment, intensive outpatient, and opioid treatment 
services. These services shall include the major 
psychiatric, psychological and psycho-educational 
modalities to include: individual, group counseling and 
family therapy; education about the effects of alcohol and 
other drugs on the physical, emotional, and social 
functioning of the individual; relapse prevention; 
occupational and recreational therapy, or other therapies. 
To be reimbursed by Medicaid, these covered services 
shall meet the following definitions: 

a. Day treatment services shall be provided in a non-
residential setting and shall be provided in sessions of two 
or more consecutive hours per day, which may be 
scheduled multiple times per week to provide a minimum 
of 20 hours up to a maximum of 30 hours of skilled 
treatment services per week. This service should be 
provided to those recipients who do not require the 
intensive level of care of inpatient or residential services 
but require more intensive services than outpatient 
services. The maximum annual limit is 1,300 hours. Day 
treatment services may not be provided concurrently with 
intensive outpatient services or opioid treatment services. 

b. Intensive outpatient services for recipients are provided 
in a nonresidential setting and shall be provided in sessions 
of two or more consecutive hours per day, which may be 
scheduled multiple times per week, to provide a minimum 
of 4 hours and a maximum of 19 hours of skilled treatment 
services per week. This service should be provided to those 
recipients who do not require the intensive level of care of 
inpatient, residential, or day treatment services, but require 
more intensive services than outpatient services. The 
maximum annual limit is 600 hours. Intensive outpatient 
services may not be provided concurrently with day 
treatment services or opioid treatment Services. 

c. Opioid treatment shall be provided in daily sessions with 
a maximum of 600 hours per year. Day treatment and 
intensive outpatient services may not be provided 
concurrently with opioid treatment. Opioid treatment 
service covers psychological and psycho-educational 
services. Medication costs for opioid agonists shall be 
billed separately. An individual-specific, physician-ordered 
dose of medication may be administered or dispensed 
either for detoxification or maintenance treatment. 
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d. Staff qualifications for day treatment, intensive 
outpatient, and opioid treatment services shall be as 
follows: 

i. Individual and group counseling, and family therapy, and 
occupational and recreational therapy must be provided by 
at least a QSAP. 

ii. A QSAP or a paraprofessional, under the supervision of 
a QSAP, may provide education about the effects of 
alcohol and other drugs on the physical, emotional and 
social functioning of the individual, relapse prevention, 
occupational and recreational activities. A QSAP must be 
onsite when a paraprofessional is providing services. 

iii. Paraprofessionals must participate in supervision, as 
described in 12 VAC 30-60-250. 

B. Evaluations required. Prior to initiation of day 
treatment, intensive outpatient, or opioid treatment 
services, an evaluation shall be conducted by at least a 
QSAP. The minimum evaluation will consist of a 
structured objective assessment of the impact of substance 
use or dependence on the recipient’s functioning in the 
following areas: drug use, alcohol use, legal system 
involvement, employment and/or school issues, and 
medical, family-social, and psychiatric issues. If indicated 
by history or structured assessment, a psychological 
examination and psychiatric examination shall be included 
as part of this evaluation. The assessment must be a written 
report as specified at 12 VAC 30-60-250 and must 
document the medical necessity for the service. 

C. Consistent with § 6403 of the Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1989, medically necessary substance 
abuse services shall be covered when prior authorized by 
DMAS or its designee for individuals younger than 21 
years of age when the need for such services has been 
identified in an EPSDT screening and the above limits 
have been exceeded. 

12 VAC 30-50-461. Case management services for 
individuals who have an Axis 1 substance-related 
disorder. 

A. The Medicaid eligible recipient shall meet the current 
DSM diagnostic criteria for an Axis I substance-related 
disorder. Nicotine or caffeine abuse or dependence shall 
not be covered.   

1. An active client for case management shall mean a 
recipient for whom there is a plan of care in effect which 
requires regular direct or recipient-related contacts or 
communication or activity with the recipient, family, 
service providers, or significant others, including at least 
one face-to-face contact with the recipient every 90 days. 

2. The maximum service limit for case management 
services is 52 hours per year. Case management services 

are not reimbursable for recipients residing in institutions 
for mental disease.  

B. Services will be provided to the entire State. 

C. Definition of services: Substance abuse case 
management services assist recipients in accessing needed 
medical, psychiatric, psychological, social, educational, 
vocational, and other supports essential to meeting basic 
needs. Services to be provided shall include:  

1. Assessment and planning services, to include developing 
an Individual Service Plan (does not include performing 
assessments for severity of substance abuse or dependence, 
medical, psychological and psychiatric assessment but 
does include referral for such assessment);  

2. Linking the recipient to services and supports specified 
in the Individual Service Plan. When available, assessment 
and evaluation information should be integrated into the 
Individual Service Plan within two weeks of completion. 
The Individual Service Plan shall utilize accepted patient 
placement criteria and shall be fully completed within 30 
days of initiation of service;  

3. Assisting the recipient directly for the purpose of 
locating, developing, or obtaining needed services and 
resources;  

4. Coordinating services and service planning with other 
agencies and providers involved with the recipient;  

5. Enhancing community integration by contacting other 
entities to arrange community access and involvement, 
including opportunities to learn community living skills, 
and use vocational, civic, and recreational services;  

6. Making collateral contacts with the recipients' 
significant others to promote implementation of the service 
plan and community adjustment;  

7. Follow-up and monitoring to assess ongoing progress 
and to ensure services are delivered; and  

8. Education regarding the need for services identified in 
the Individualized Service Plan (ISP). 

D. Qualifications of Providers: 

1. The provider of substance abuse case management 
services must meet the following criteria:  

a. The enrolled provider must have the administrative and 
financial management capacity to meet state and federal 
requirements;  

b. The enrolled provider must have the ability to document 
and maintain individual case records in accordance with 
state and federal requirements;  
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c. The enrolled provider must be licensed by DMHMRSAS 
as a provider of substance abuse case management 
services.   

2. Providers may bill Medicaid for substance abuse case 
management only when the services are provided by a 
professional or professionals who meet at least one of the 
following criteria: 

a. Has at least a bachelor’s degree in one of the following 
fields (social work, psychology, psychiatric rehabilitation, 
sociology, counseling, vocational rehabilitation, human 
services counseling) and has at least one year of substance 
abuse related clinical experience providing direct services 
to persons with a diagnosis of mental illness or substance 
abuse;  

b. Licensure by the Commonwealth as a registered nurse or 
as a practical nurse with at least one year of clinical 
experience. 

E. The State assures that the provision of case management 
services will not restrict a recipient's free choice of 
providers in violation of § 1902(a)(23) of the Act. 

1. Eligible recipients shall have free choice of the providers 
of case management services. 

2. Eligible recipients shall have free choice of the providers 
of other services under the plan. 

F. Payment for substance abuse treatment case 
management services under the Plan does not duplicate 
payments for other case management made to public 
agencies or private entities under other Title XIX program 
authorities for this same purpose. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE  

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders-III-
R, 4th Edition (DSM-III-R DSM-IV-TR), American 
Psychiatric Association. 

Length of Stay by Diagnosis and Operation, Southern 
Region, 1996, HCIA, Inc. 

Guidelines for Perinatal Care, 4th Edition, August 1997, 
American Academy of Pediatrics and the American 
College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. 

Virginia Supplemental Drug Rebate Agreement Contract 
and Addenda. 

Office Reference Manual (Smiles for Children), prepared 
by DMAS' Dental Benefits Administrator, copyright 2005 
(www.dmas.virginia.gov/downloads/pdfs/dental-
office_reference_manual_0 6-09-05.pdf). 

Addiction Treatment Matching, 2003, Research 
Foundations of the American Society of Addiction 
Medicine (ASAM) Criteria. 

12 VAC30-60-250. Utilization review of community 
substance abuse treatment services. 

A. To be eligible to receive these substance abuse 
treatment services, Medicaid recipients must meet the 
Diagnostic Statistical Manual diagnostic criteria for an 
Axis I Substance Use Disorder, with the exception of 
nicotine or caffeine abuse or dependence. A diagnosis of 
nicotine or caffeine abuse or dependence alone shall not be 
sufficient for approval of these services. American Society 
of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) criteria shall be used to 
determine the appropriate level of treatment. Referrals for 
medical examinations shall be made consistent with the 
Early Periodic Screening and Diagnosis Screening 
Schedule. 

B. Provider qualifications. 

1. For Medicaid reimbursed Substance Abuse Day 
Treatment, Substance Abuse Intensive Outpatient Services, 
Opioid Treatment Services, a Qualified Substance Abuse 
Professional (QSAP) is defined as:  

a. An individual who has completed Master’s level training 
in psychology, social work, counseling, or rehabilitation; 
who also either  

(i) is certified as a substance abuse counselor by the 
Virginia Board of Counseling, or  

(ii) is a certified addictions counselor by the Substance 
Abuse Certification Alliance of Virginia, or  

(iii) holds any certification from the National Association 
of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors, or the 
International Certification and Reciprocity 
Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Inc (IC & 
RC); 

b. An individual licensed by the appropriate board of the 
Virginia Department of Health Professions as either a 
professional counselor, clinical social worker, registered 
nurse, psychiatric clinical nurse specialist, a psychiatric 
nurse practitioner, marriage and family therapist, clinical 
psychologist, or physician who be qualified by training and 
experience in all of the following areas of addiction 
counseling: clinical evaluation; treatment planning; 
referral; service coordination; counseling; client, family, 
and community education; documentation; professional 
and ethical responsibilities; 

c. An individual who is licensed as a substance abuse 
treatment practitioner by the Virginia Board of Counseling;  

d. An individual who is certified as either a clinical 
supervisor by the Substance Abuse Certification Alliance 
of Virginia or as a Master Addiction Counselor by the 
National Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse 
Counselors or from the International Certification and 
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Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, 
Inc (IC & RC). 

e. An individual who has completed Master’s level training 
in psychology, social work, counseling, or rehabilitation 
and is certified as a Master Addiction Counselor by the 
National Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse 
Counselors or from the International Certification and 
Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, 
Inc (IC & RC). 

f. An individual who has completed a bachelor’s degree 
and is certified as a Substance Abuse Counselor by the 
Board of Counseling;  

g. An individual who has completed a bachelor’s degree 
and is certified as an Addictions Counselor by the 
Substance Abuse Certification Alliance of Virginia; 

h. An individual who has completed a bachelor’s degree 
and is certified as a Level II Addiction Counselor by the 
National Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse 
Counselors or from the International Certification and 
Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, 
Inc (IC & RC). 

i. If staff providing services meet only the criteria specified 
in (A)(1)(g) through (A)(1)(i), they must be supervised 
every two weeks by a professional who meets one of the 
criteria specified in (A)(1)(a) through (A)(1)(f). 
Supervision shall include documented face-to-face 
meetings between the supervisor and the professional 
providing the services. Documentation shall include review 
and approval of the plan of care for each recipient to whom 
services were provided but shall not require that the 
supervisor be onsite at the time the treatment service is 
provided. 

2. In order to provide substance abuse treatment services a 
paraprofessional (peer support specialist) must meet the 
following qualifications: 

a. Has an associate's degree in one of the following related 
fields (social work, psychology, psychiatric rehabilitation, 
sociology, counseling, vocational rehabilitation, human 
services counseling) and has at least one year of experience 
providing direct services to persons with a diagnosis of 
mental illness or substance abuse; 

b. An associate's or higher degree, in an unrelated field and 
at least three years experience providing direct services to 
persons with a diagnosis of mental illness, substance abuse, 
gerontology clients, or special education clients. The 
experience may include supervised internships, practicums 
and field experience. 

c. A minimum of 90 hours classroom training in behavioral 
health and 12 weeks of experience under the direct 
personal supervision of a QSAP providing services to 

persons with mental illness or substance abuse and at least 
one year of clinical experience (including the 12 weeks of 
supervised experience). 

d. College credits (from an accredited college) earned 
toward a bachelor's degree in a human service field that is 
equivalent to an associate's degree and one year's clinical 
experience. 

e. Licensure by the Commonwealth as a practical nurse 
with at least one year of clinical experience. 

3. Paraprofessionals must participate in clinical supervision 
with a QSAP at least twice a month. Supervision shall 
include documented face-to-face meetings between the 
supervisor and the professional providing the services. 
Supervision may occur individually or in a group.  

4. All providers of substance abuse treatment services must 
adhere to the requirements of 42 CFR, Part 2, 
Confidentiality of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Patient 
Records. 

5. Day treatment providers must be licensed by the 
Virginia Department of Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation, and Substance Abuse Services as a provider 
of day treatment services. Intensive outpatient providers 
must be licensed by the Virginia Department of Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation, and Substance Abuse Services 
as a provider of outpatient substance abuse services. The 
enrolled provider of opioid treatment services  must be 
licensed as a provider of Opioid treatment services by the 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Treatment services. 

C. Evaluations/assessments of the recipient shall be 
required for day treatment, intensive outpatient, and opioid 
treatment services. A structured interview shall be 
documented as a written report which provides 
recommendations substantiated by the findings of the 
evaluation and shall document the need for the specific 
service. Evaluations shall be reimbursed as part of day 
treatment, intensive outpatient, and opioid treatment 
services. The structured interview must be conducted by a 
qualified substance abuse professional as defined in (A)(1). 

D. Individual Service Plan (ISP) for day treatment, 
intensive outpatient, and opioid treatment services. 

1. An initial ISP must be developed. A comprehensive ISP 
must be fully developed within 30 calendar days of 
admission to the service. 

2. A comprehensive Individual Service Plan shall be 
developed with the recipient, in consultation with the 
individual’s family, as appropriate, and must address: (i) a 
summary or reference to the evaluation; (ii) short term and 
long term goals and measurable objectives for addressing 
each identified individually specific need; (iii) services and 
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supports and frequency of service to accomplish the goals 
and objectives; (iv) target dates for accomplishment of 
goals and objectives; (v) estimated duration of service; (vi) 
the role of other agencies if the plan is a shared 
responsibility and the staff responsible for the coordination 
and the integration of services, including designated 
persons of other agencies if the plan is a shared 
responsibility. The ISP must be reviewed at least every 90-
calendar days and must be modified as appropriate. 

E. Individuals shall not receive any combination of day 
treatment, opioid treatment and intensive outpatient 
services concurrently. 

F. Crisis intervention. Admission to crisis intervention 
services is indicated following a marked reduction in the 
recipient’s psychiatric, adaptive or behavioral functioning 
or an extreme increase in personal distress which is related 
to the use of alcohol or other drugs. Crisis intervention 
may be the initial contact with a recipient. 

1. The provider of crisis intervention services shall be 
licensed as a provider of Substance Abuse Outpatient 
Services by DMHMRSAS. Providers may bill Medicaid 
for substance abuse crisis intervention only when the 
services are provided by either a professional or 
professionals who meet at least one of the criteria listed 
herein. 

2. Only recipient-related activities provided in association 
with a face-to-face contact shall be reimbursable. 

3. An ISP shall not be required for newly admitted 
recipients to receive this service.  Inclusion of crisis 
intervention as a service on the ISP shall not be required 
for the service to be provided on an emergency basis. 

4. Other than the annual service limits, there shall be no 
restrictions (regarding numbers of contacts or a given time 
period to be covered) for reimbursement for unscheduled 
crisis contacts. An ISP must be developed within 30 days 
of service initiation. 

5. For recipients receiving scheduled, short-term 
counseling as part of the crisis intervention service, the ISP 
must reflect the short-term counseling goals. 

6. Crisis intervention services may be provided outside of 
the clinic and billed, provided the provision of out-of-clinic 
services is clinically or programmatically appropriate for 
the recipient’s needs, and it is included on the ISP. Travel 
by staff to provide out-of-clinic services shall not be 
reimbursable. Crisis intervention may involve contacts 
with the family or significant others. 

7. Documentation must include the efforts at resolving the 
crisis to prevent institutional admissions. 

12 VAC 30-60-255. Utilization review of case 
management. 

A. Utilization Review: Community substance abuse 
treatment services. 

1. The Medicaid recipient shall meet the current Diagnostic 
Statistical Manual criteria for an Axis I substance-related 
disorder. Nicotine or caffeine abuse or dependence shall 
not be covered. 

2. Reimbursement shall be provided only for "active" case 
management. An active client for case management shall 
mean an individual for whom there is a plan of care in 
effect which requires regular direct or client-related 
contacts or activity or communication with the client or 
families, significant others, service providers, and others 
including a minimum of one face-to-face client contact 
within a 90-day period. 

3. Except for a 30-day period following the initiation of 
this case management service by the recipient, in order to 
continue receiving case management services, the 
Medicaid recipient must be receiving another substance 
abuse treatment service; 

4. Billing can be submitted for an active recipient only for 
months in which direct or client-related contacts, activity 
or communications occur.  

5. There is a maximum annual service limit of 52 hours for 
case management services. 

6. An initial Individual Service Plan (ISP) must be 
completed and must document the need for active case 
management before case management services can be 
billed. A comprehensive ISP shall be fully developed 
within 30 days of initiation of this service, which requires 
regular direct or recipient-related contacts or activity or 
communication with the recipient or families, significant 
others, service providers, and others including a minimum 
of one face-to-face client contact every 90 days. The case 
manager shall review the ISP every 90 days for the purpose 
of updating it or otherwise modifying it as appropriate for 
the recipient’s changing condition. 

7. The ISP shall be updated at least every 90 days or within 
7 days of a change in the recipient's treatment. 

B. Utilization Review:  Substance Abuse Treatment Case 
management services. 

1. Utilization review general requirements. On-site 
utilization reviews shall be conducted. Reimbursement 
shall be provided only for "active" case management 
clients. An active client for case management shall mean 
an individual for whom there is a plan of care in effect 
which requires regular direct or client-related contacts or 
activity or communication with the client or families, 
significant others, service providers, and others including a 
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minimum of one face-to-face client contact within a 90-day 
period. Billing can be submitted only for months in which 
direct or client-related contacts, activity or 
communications occur.  

2. The Medicaid eligible individual shall meet the current 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 
criteria for an Axis I Substance Abuse Disorder, with the 
exception of nicotine or caffeine abuse or dependence. A 
diagnosis of nicotine or caffeine abuse or dependence 
alone shall not be sufficient for reimbursement of these 
services. 

3. The maximum annual limit for substance abuse 
treatment case management shall be 52 hours per year. 
Case management shall not be billed for persons in 
institutions for mental disease.  Substance abuse treatment 
case management shall not be billed concurrently with any 
other type of Medicaid reimbursed case management. 

4. The ISP must document the need for case management 
and be fully completed within 30 days of initiation of the 
service, and the case manager shall review the ISP every 
three months. The review will be due by the last day of the 
third month following the month in which the last review 
was completed. A grace period will be granted up to the 
last day of the fourth month following the month of the last 
review. When the review was completed in a grace period, 
the next subsequent review shall be scheduled three 
months from the month the review was due and not the 
date of actual review. 

5. The ISP shall be updated at least annually. 

6. The provider of case management services shall be 
licensed by DMHMRSAS as a provider of case 
management services. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE  

Virginia Medicaid Nursing Home Manual, Department of 
Medical Assistance Services. 

Virginia Medicaid Rehabilitation Manual, Department of 
Medical Assistance Services. 

Virginia Medicaid Hospice Manual, Department of 
Medical Assistance Services. 

Virginia Medicaid School Division Manual, Department of 
Medical Assistance Services. 

Addiction Treatment Matching, 2003, Research 
Foundations of the American Society of Addiction 
Medicine (ASAM) Criteria. 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th 
Edition (DSM-IV-TR), American Psychiatric Association. 

12 VAC 30-80-32. Reimbursement for substance abuse 
services. 

1. Outpatient psychotherapy services for assessment and 
evaluation or treatment of substance abuse furnished by 
physicians shall be reimbursed using the methodology in 
12 VAC 30-80-190. For non-physicians, they shall be 
reimbursed at the same levels specified in 12 VAC 30-50-
140 and 12 VAC 30-50-150.  

Rates for other substance abuse services shall be based on 
the Agency fee schedule for 15 minute units of service. 
The Medicaid and commercial rates for similar services as 
well as the cost for providing services shall be considered 
when establishing the fee schedules so that payments shall 
be consistent with economy, efficiency and quality of care. 
For each level of professional necessary to provide services 
described in 12 VAC 30-50-228 and 12 VAC 30-50-461, 
separate rates shall be established for licensed 
professionals, qualified substance abuse professionals 
(QSAP) and paraprofessionals. The same rates shall be 
paid to public and private providers. 

12 VAC 30-120-310. Services exempted from 
MEDALLION referral requirements.  

A. The following services shall be exempt from the referral 
requirements of MEDALLION:  

1. Obstetrical and gynecological services (pregnancy and 
pregnancy related);  

2. Psychiatric and psychological services, to include but 
not be limited to mental health, mental retardation 
services;  

3. Family planning services;  

4. Routine newborn services;  

5. Annual or routine vision examinations (under age 21);  

6. Emergency services;  

7. EPSDT well-child exams;  

8. Immunizations (health departments only);  

9. All school health services provided pursuant to the 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA);  

10. Services for the treatment of sexually transmitted 
diseases;  

11. Targeted case management services;  

12. Transportation services;  

13. Pharmacy services;  

14. Substance abuse treatment for pregnant women 
services; and  
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15. MR waiver services and MH community 
rehabilitation services.  

B. While reimbursement for these services may not require 
a referral, an authorization, or a referral and an 
authorization by the PCP, the PCP must continue to track 
and document them to ensure continuity of care.  

12 VAC 30-120-380. Medallion II MCO responsibilities. 

A. The MCO shall provide, at a minimum, all medically 
necessary covered services provided under the State Plan 
for Medical Assistance and further defined by written 
DMAS regulations, policies and instructions, except as 
otherwise modified or excluded in this part.  

1. Nonemergency services provided by hospital 
emergency departments shall be covered by MCOs in 
accordance with rates negotiated between the MCOs and 
the emergency departments.  

2. Services that shall be provided outside the MCO 
network shall include those services identified and 
defined by the contract between DMAS and the MCO. 
Services reimbursed by DMAS include dental and 
orthodontic services for children up to age 21; for all 
others, dental services (as described in 12 VAC 30-50-
190), school health services (as defined in 12 VAC 30-
120-360) and community mental health services 
(rehabilitative, targeted case management and the 
following substance abuse treatment services): 
emergency services (crisis); intensive outpatient 
services; day treatment services; substance abuse case 
management services; and opioid treatment services). 

3. The MCOs shall pay for emergency services and 
family planning services and supplies whether they are 
provided inside or outside the MCO network. 

B. Except for those services specifically carved out in 
section A above, EPSDT services shall be covered by the 
MCO. The MCO shall have the authority to determine the 
provider of service for EPSDT screenings. 

C. The MCOs shall report data to DMAS under the 
contract requirements, which may include data reports, 
report cards for clients, and ad hoc quality studies 
performed by the MCO or third parties.  

D. Documentation requirements.  

1. The MCO shall maintain records as required by 
federal and state law and regulation and by DMAS 
policy. The MCO shall furnish such required 
information to DMAS, the Attorney General of Virginia 
or his authorized representatives, or the State Medicaid 
Fraud Control Unit on request and in the form requested.  

2. Each MCO shall have written policies regarding 
enrollee rights and shall comply with any applicable 

federal and state laws that pertain to enrollee rights and 
shall ensure that its staff and affiliated providers take 
those rights into account when furnishing services to 
enrollees in accordance with 42 CFR 438.100.  

E. The MCO shall ensure that the health care provided to 
its clients meets all applicable federal and state mandates, 
community standards for quality, and standards developed 
pursuant to the DMAS managed care quality program.  

F. The MCOs shall promptly provide or arrange for the 
provision of all required services as specified in the 
contract between the state and the contractor. Medical 
evaluations shall be available within 48 hours for urgent 
care and within 30 calendar days for routine care. On-call 
clinicians shall be available 24 hours per day, seven days 
per week.  

G. The MCOs must meet standards specified by DMAS for 
sufficiency of provider networks as specified in the 
contract between the state and the contractor.  

H. Each MCO and its subcontractors shall have in place, 
and follow, written policies and procedures for processing 
requests for initial and continuing authorizations of service. 
Each MCO and its subcontractors shall ensure that any 
decision to deny a service authorization request or to 
authorize a service in an amount, duration, or scope that is 
less than requested, be made by a health care professional 
who has appropriate clinical expertise in treating the 
enrollee's condition or disease. Each MCO and its 
subcontractors shall have in effect mechanisms to ensure 
consistent application of review criteria for authorization 
decisions and shall consult with the requesting provider 
when appropriate.  

I. In accordance with 42 CFR 447.50 through 42 CFR 
447.60, MCOs shall not impose any cost sharing 
obligations on enrollees except as set forth in 12 VAC 30-
20-150 and 12 VAC 30-20-160. 

J. An MCO may not prohibit, or otherwise restrict, a health 
care professional acting within the lawful scope of 
practice, from advising or advocating on behalf of an 
enrollee who is his patient in accordance with 42 CFR 
438.102. 

K. An MCO that would otherwise be required to reimburse 
for or provide coverage of a counseling or referral service 
is not required to do so if the MCO objects to the service 
on moral or religious grounds and furnishes information 
about the service it does not cover in accordance with 42 
CFR 438.102. 

/s/ Timothy M. Kaine 
Governor 
Date: May 21, 2007 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-256; Filed May 30, 2007, 2:52 p.m. 
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Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action 
is exempt from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a  of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform 
to changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency 
discretion is involved.  The Department of Medical 
Assistance Services will receive, consider and respond to 
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 
to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12 VAC 30-50. Amount, Duration 
and Scope of Medical and Remedial Services 
(amending 12 VAC 30-50-130). 

12 VAC 30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (adding 12 VAC 
30-80-95). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Molly Carpenter, Project Manager, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East 
Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 
786-1493, FAX (804) 787-1680 or email 
molly.carpenter@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The Department of Medical Assistance Services 
currently covers hearing aids for children through the 
Medicaid Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and 
Treatment (EPSDT) program. The Virginia 
Administrative Code states that the EPSDT program 
covers hearing services, but it does not reference 
hearing aids. This regulatory action expressly references 
hearing aids for children as a covered service under 
EPSDT and modifies the method of reimbursement as 
directed by Item 302 EEE of Chapter 847 of the 2007 
Acts of Assembly. 

12 VAC 30-50-130. Skilled nursing facility services, 
EPSDT, and family planning. 

A. Skilled nursing facility services (other than services in 
an institution for mental diseases) for individuals 21 years 
of age or older. 

Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 
performed within the scope of a license of the practitioner 
of the healing arts. 

B. Early and periodic screening and diagnosis of 
individuals under 21 years of age, and treatment of 
conditions found. 

1. Payment of medical assistance services shall be made 
on behalf of individuals under 21 years of age, who are 
Medicaid eligible, for medically necessary stays in acute 
care facilities, and the accompanying attendant physician 
care, in excess of 21 days per admission when such 
services are rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and 
treatment of health conditions identified through a 
physical examination. 

2. Routine physicals and immunizations (except as 
provided through EPSDT) are not covered except that 
well-child examinations in a private physician's office 
are covered for foster children of the local social 
services departments on specific referral from those 
departments. 

3. Orthoptics services shall only be reimbursed if 
medically necessary to correct a visual defect identified 
by an EPSDT examination or evaluation.  The 
department shall place appropriate utilization controls 
upon this service. 

4. Consistent with the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation 
Act of 1989 § 6403, early and periodic screening, 
diagnostic, and treatment services means the following 
services:  screening services, vision services, dental 
services, hearing services, and such other necessary 
health care, diagnostic services, treatment, and other 
measures described in Social Security Act § 1905(a) to 
correct or ameliorate defects and physical and mental 
illnesses and conditions discovered by the screening 
services and which are medically necessary, whether or 
not such services are covered under the State Plan and 
notwithstanding the limitations, applicable to recipients 
ages 21 and over, provided for by the Act § 1905(a). 

5. Community mental health services. 

a. Intensive in-home services to children and 
adolescents under age 21 shall be time-limited 
interventions provided typically but not solely in the 
residence of a child who is at risk of being moved into 
an out-of-home placement or who is being transitioned 
to home from out-of-home placement due to a 
documented medical need of the child.  These services 
provide crisis treatment; individual and family 
counseling; and communication skills (e.g., counseling 
to assist the child and his parents to understand and 
practice appropriate problem solving, anger 
management, and interpersonal interaction, etc.); case 
management activities and coordination with other 
required services; and 24-hour emergency response.  
These services shall be limited annually to 26 weeks. 

b. Therapeutic day treatment shall be provided two or 
more hours per day in order to provide therapeutic 
interventions.  Day treatment programs, limited 
annually to 780 units, provide evaluation; medication; 
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education and management; opportunities to learn and 
use daily living skills and to enhance social and 
interpersonal skills (e.g., problem solving, anger 
management, community responsibility, increased 
impulse control, and appropriate peer relations, etc.); 
and individual, group and family psychotherapy. 

c. Community-Based Services for Children and 
Adolescents under 21 (Level A). 

(1) Such services shall be a combination of 
therapeutic services rendered in a residential setting.  
The residential services will provide structure for 
daily activities, psychoeducation, therapeutic 
supervision and psychiatric treatment to ensure the 
attainment of therapeutic mental health goals as 
identified in the individual service plan (plan of 
care). Individuals qualifying for this service must 
demonstrate medical necessity for the service 
arising from a condition due to mental, behavioral 
or emotional illness that results in significant 
functional impairments in major life activities in the 
home, school, at work, or in the community.  The 
service must reasonably be expected to improve the 
child's condition or prevent regression so that the 
services will no longer be needed.  DMAS will 
reimburse only for services provided in facilities or 
programs with no more than 16 beds. 

(2) In addition to the residential services, the child 
must receive, at least weekly, individual 
psychotherapy that is provided by a licensed mental 
health professional. 

(3) Individuals must be discharged from this service 
when other less intensive services may achieve 
stabilization. 

(4) Authorization is required for Medicaid 
reimbursement. 

(5) Room and board costs are not reimbursed.  
Facilities that only provide independent living 
services are not reimbursed. 

(6) Providers must be licensed by the Department of 
Social Services, Department of Juvenile Justice, or 
Department of Education under the Standards for 
Interdepartmental Regulation of Children's 
Residential Facilities (22 VAC 42-10). 

(7) Psychoeducational programming must include, 
but is not limited to, development or maintenance of 
daily living skills, anger management, social skills, 
family living skills, communication skills, and stress 
management. 

(8) The facility/group home must coordinate 
services with other providers. 

d. Therapeutic Behavioral Services (Level B). 

(1) Such services must be therapeutic services 
rendered in a residential setting that provides 
structure for daily activities, psychoeducation, 
therapeutic supervision and psychiatric treatment to 
ensure the attainment of therapeutic mental health 
goals as identified in the individual service plan 
(plan of care). Individuals qualifying for this service 
must demonstrate medical necessity for the service 
arising from a condition due to mental, behavioral 
or emotional illness that results in significant 
functional impairments in major life activities in the 
home, school, at work, or in the community.  The 
service must reasonably be expected to improve the 
child's condition or prevent regression so that the 
services will no longer be needed.  DMAS will 
reimburse only for services provided in facilities or 
programs with no more than 16 beds. 

(2) Authorization is required for Medicaid 
reimbursement. 

(3) Room and board costs are not reimbursed.  
Facilities that only provide independent living 
services are not reimbursed. 

(4) Providers must be licensed by the Department of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation, and Substance 
Abuse Services (DMHMRSAS) under the Standards 
for Interdepartmental Regulation of Children's 
Residential Facilities (22 VAC 42-10). 

(5) Psychoeducational programming must include, 
but is not limited to, development or maintenance of 
daily living skills, anger management, social skills, 
family living skills, communication skills, and stress 
management.  This service may be provided in a 
program setting or a community-based group home. 

(6) The child must receive, at least weekly, 
individual psychotherapy and, at least weekly, 
group psychotherapy that is provided as part of the 
program. 

(7) Individuals must be discharged from this service 
when other less intensive services may achieve 
stabilization. 

6. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be covered for 
individuals younger than age 21 for medically necessary 
stays for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of 
mental health and behavioral disorders identified under 
EPSDT when such services are rendered by: 

a. A psychiatric hospital or an inpatient psychiatric 
program in a hospital accredited by the Joint 
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations;  or a psychiatric facility that is 
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accredited by the Joint Commission on Accreditation 
of Healthcare Organizations, the Commission on 
Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities, the Council 
on Accreditation of Services for Families and Children 
or the Council on Quality and Leadership. 

b. Inpatient psychiatric hospital admissions at general 
acute care hospitals and freestanding psychiatric 
hospitals shall also be subject to the requirements of 
12 VAC 30-50-100, 12 VAC 30-50-105, and 12 VAC 
30-60-25.  Inpatient psychiatric admissions to 
residential treatment facilities shall also be subject to 
the requirements of Part XIV (12 VAC 30-130-850 et 
seq.) of this chapter. 

c. Inpatient psychiatric services are reimbursable only 
when the treatment program is fully in compliance 
with 42 CFR Part 441 Subpart D, as contained in 42 
CFR 441.151 (a) and (b) and 441.152 through 
441.156.  Each admission must be preauthorized and 
the treatment must meet DMAS requirements for 
clinical necessity. 

7. Hearing aids shall be reimbursed for individuals 
younger than 21 years of age according to medical 
necessity when provided by practitioners licensed to 
engage in the practice of fitting or dealing in hearing 
aids under the Code of Virginia. 

C. Family planning services and supplies for individuals of 
child-bearing age. 

1. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 
performed within the scope of the license of a 
practitioner of the healing arts. 

2. Family planning services shall be defined as those 
services that delay or prevent pregnancy.  Coverage of 
such services shall not include services to treat infertility 
nor services to promote fertility. 

12 VAC 30-80-95. Fee-for-service: hearing aids (under 
EPSDT). 

Effective January 1, 2008, payment for hearing aids for 
individuals younger than 21 years of age shall be the actual 
cost of the device not to exceed limits set by the single 
state agency, plus a fixed dispensing and fitting fee not to 
exceed limits set by the single state agency. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-263; Filed June 1, 2007, 3:22 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action 
is exempt from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform 
to changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency 
discretion is involved.  The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services will receive, consider and respond to 
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 
to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12 VAC 30-135. Demonstration 
Waiver Services (amending 12 VAC 30-135-10 through 
12 VAC 30-135-40, and 12 VAC 30-135-80). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Molly Carpenter, Project Manager, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East 
Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-1493, FAX (804) 787-1680 or email 
molly.carpenter@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Item 302 CCC (1) of the 2007 Acts of Assembly directed 
the Department of Medical Assistance Services to 
promulgate regulations to specifically expand eligibility 
for Medicaid coverage of family planning waiver 
services to individuals with a family income up to 133% 
of the federal poverty level. Under the current 
regulation, these waiver services are limited to women 
in this income group who have received a pregnancy-
related service reimbursed by Medicaid and who are 
either pregnant or are less than 24 months postpartum. 

12 VAC 30-135-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 
have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Eligible family planning waiver recipient" means a 
woman of child-bearing years (9 to 57 years of age) who 
received a Virginia Medicaid-reimbursed pregnancy-
related service on or after October 1, 2002, who is less than 
24 months postpartum, who has income less than or equal 
to 133% of the federal poverty level, and who has not 
otherwise been determined eligible for Virginia Medicaid 
coverage.  

"FDA" means the Food and Drug Administration.  

"Family planning" means those services necessary to 
prevent or delay a pregnancy.  It shall not include services 
to promote pregnancy such as infertility treatments.  
Family planning does not include counseling about, 
recommendations for or performance of abortions, or 
hysterectomies or procedures performed for medical 
reasons such as removal of intrauterine devices due to 
infections.  

"Over-the-counter" means drugs and contraceptives that 
are available for purchase without requiring a physician's 
prescription.  
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"Pregnancy-related service" means medical services 
rendered to monitor, manage, and treat issues related to 
pregnancy, labor, and delivery during the women's 
gestation.  

"Third party" means any individual entity or program that 
is or may be liable to pay all or part of the expenditures for 
medical assistance furnished under the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance.  

12 VAC 30-135-20. Administration and eligibility 
determination.  

A. The Department of Medical Assistance Services shall 
administer the family planning demonstration waiver 
services program under the authority of § 1115(a) of the 
Social Security Act and 42 USC § 1315.  

B. Local departments of social services shall be 
responsible for determining eligibility of and for enrolling 
eligible women individuals in the family planning waiver.  
Local departments of social services shall conduct periodic 
reviews and redeterminations of eligibility at least every 12 
months while recipients are enrolled in the family planning 
waiver.  

C. Effective October 1, 2003, women enrolled in the 
Virginia Medicaid program under the medically indigent 
pregnant woman covered group and who receive a 
Medicaid-reimbursed pregnancy-related service on or after 
October 1, 2003, will be notified during their 60-day 
postpartum period that the Medicaid benefits they received 
during their pregnancy will be terminated effective the end 
of the month in which their 60-day postpartum period 
expires and, at which time they will be automatically 
eligible for enrollment in the family planning waiver.  The 
cancellation notice will instruct women who believe they 
qualify for a Medicaid-covered group that does not limit 
benefits to complete a Medicaid application and to contact 
their Medical eligibility worker at the local department of 
social services if they do not desire enrollment in the 
family planning waiver.  

D. Women enrolled in the Virginia Medicaid program 
under the medically needy pregnant woman covered group 
will not be automatically eligible for the family planning 
waiver.  These women will be notified during their 60-day 
postpartum period that their Medicaid eligibility will end at 
the end of their 60-day postpartum period and if they wish 
to be evaluated for further coverage under Medicaid they 
should contact their Medicaid eligibility worker at the local 
department of social services.  

E. Women enrolled in the Virginia Medicaid program 
under the medically indigent pregnant woman covered 
group who received a Medicaid reimbursed pregnancy-
related service between October 1, 2002, to September 30, 
2003, will not be eligible for automatic enrollment in the 
family planning waiver.  These women will be notified 

during their 60-day postpartum period that their Medicaid 
benefits will be terminated effective the end of the month 
in which their 60-day postpartum period expires.  The 
cancellation notice will include information about possible 
eligibility for extended family planning coverage under the 
family planning waiver and instruct women how to apply 
for the waiver and other Medicaid-covered groups.  

12 VAC 30-135-30. Eligibility.  

A. To be eligible under the family planning waiver, a 
woman an individual must have experienced a Medicaid-
funded pregnancy-related service on or after October 1, 
2002, be between the ages of 9-57 and less than 24 months 
postpartum meet the eligibility conditions and 
requirements found in 12 VAC 30-40-10, have family 
income less than or equal to 133% of the federal poverty 
level, and not be enrolled in another Medicaid-covered 
eligible for enrollment in a Medicaid full benefit coverage 
group.  

B. Women enrolled in the waiver, but who subsequently 
fail to meet the requirements of an eligible family planning 
waiver recipient (for example, reach the age of 58), will no 
longer be eligible for the family planning waiver.  

C. Women who do not meet the alien eligibility 
requirements for full Virginia Medicaid coverage and 
whose labor and delivery is paid as an emergency medical 
service under Medicaid shall not be eligible to participate 
in the family planning waiver.  

D. B. A recipient's enrollment in the family planning 
waiver shall be terminated if a reported change or annual 
redetermination results in the woman's categorical 
eligibility for Virginia Medicaid or ineligibility for the 
family planning waiver.  A 10-day advance notice must be 
provided prior to cancellation of coverage under the family 
planning waiver.  

12 VAC 30-135-40. Covered services.  

A. Services provided under the family planning waiver are 
limited to:  

1. Family planning office visits including annual 
gynecological or physical exams (one per 12 months), 
sexually transmitted diseases (STD) testing (limited to 
the initial family planning encounter), Pap tests (limited 
to one every six months);  

2. Laboratory services for family planning and STD 
testing;  

3. Family planning education and counseling;  

4. FDA approved contraceptives, including diaphragms, 
contraceptive injectables, and contraceptive implants;  

5. Over-the-counter contraceptives;  and  
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6. Sterilizations, not to include hysterectomies.  A 
completed sterilization consent form, in accordance with 
the requirements of 42 CFR Part 441, Subpart F, must be 
submitted with all claims for payment for this service.  

B. Services not covered under the family planning waiver 
include, but are not limited to:  

1. Performance of, counseling for, or recommendations 
of abortions;  

2. Infertility treatments;  

3. Procedures performed for medical reasons;  

4. Performance of a hysterectomy;  and  

5. Transportation to a family planning service.  

12 VAC 30-135-80. Recipients' rights and right to 
appeal.  

Women Individuals found eligible for and enrolled in the 
family planning waiver shall have freedom of choice of 
providers.  Women Individuals will be free from coercion 
or mental pressure and shall be free to choose their 
preferred methods of family planning.  The client appeals 
process at 12 VAC 30-110 shall be applicable to applicants 
for and recipients of family planning services under this 
waiver.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-242; Filed June 1, 2007, 3:21 p.m. 

STATE MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL 
RETARDATION AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE 

SERVICES BOARD  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  12 VAC 35-105. Rules and 
Regulations for the Licensing of Providers of Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse, the 
Individual and Family Developmental Disabilities 
Support Waiver and Residential Brain Injury Services 
(adding 12 VAC 35-105-115). 

Statutory Authority:  § 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until August 24, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Agency Contact:  Leslie Anderson, Director, Office of 
Licensing, Department of Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, P.O. Box 1797, 
1220 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 
371-6885, FAX (804) 692-0066, or email 
leslie.anderson@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  The State Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Service Board has the authority to adopt 
this regulation under § 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose:  These provisions are necessary to ensure the 
health, safety and welfare of individuals receiving services 
from group homes or other residential facilities for adults 
that are licensed by the department.  The goal of the 
amendment is to enable the commissioner to act quickly to 
suspend a license when the conditions or practices of the 
provider pose an immediate and substantial threat to 
individuals receiving services from the provider.  The 
regulation will also provide the basis for the department to 
act in accordance with legal protocols and ensure 
protections for the legal rights of all parties that may be 
affected by an action to suspend a license. 

Substance:  The provisions allow the Commissioner of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
services to summarily suspend a license to operate a group 
home or other residential facility for adults when he 
believes that the conditions pose an immediate and 
substantial threat to persons receiving services in the 
facility.  The regulation requires the department to 
schedule an administrative hearing prior to delivering an 
order of summary suspension to the licensee.  Provisions 
also guide the decision-making related to the 
administrative hearing and require notification to the 
licensee of its appeal rights if a final order of summary 
suspension is issued. 

Issues:  These provisions are advantageous to the public 
because they provide additional protections for the health, 
safety, and welfare of individuals receiving services in 
licensed group homes and their families.  The regulation 
permanently implements legislative changes that allow the 
commissioner to act promptly to suspend the operation of a 
licensed group home or residential facility when there is 
evidence of immediate and substantial risk to the residents.  
Prior to the adoption of this legislation and the emergency 
regulation, the commissioner had no immediate recourse 
for dealing with an urgent problem.   Provisions include 
requirements for notification of appropriate state agencies 
and family members when an order of summary 
suspension is issued.  This should facilitate relocation of 
facility residents when the operation of a licensed facility 
is suspended. 

The regulation is advantageous to the department because 
it provides authority to take immediate action to suspend 
the operation of any residential facility if it becomes 
necessary to address egregious circumstances. 

A major advantage to the Commonwealth is that the 
department will not have to monitor the operation of a 
provider that places residents at risk for an extended period 
while it is involved in a lengthy appeals process.   

There are no known disadvantages to this regulation. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 25, 2007 

3523 

Summary of the Proposed Regulation.  Pursuant to Chapter 
168 of the 2006 Acts of Assembly, the proposed 
regulations authorize the Commissioner of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services 
(Commissioner) to issue a summary order of suspension of 
the license of a group home or residential facility for adults 
when the conditions or the practices of the provider pose 
an immediate and substantial threat to individuals 
receiving services. The proposed regulations have already 
been in effect since December 2006 under emergency 
regulations. 

Result of Analysis.  The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
all proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  Under the previous 
regulations, the Commissioner did not have the authority to 
expeditiously remove an immediate and substantial threat 
to individuals receiving services arising from the 
conditions or the practices of an adult group home or 
residential services provider. In the past, a facility could be 
closed only after a lengthy administrative procedure that 
normally included informal hearings, formal hearings, a 
decision, and a possible appeal. According to the 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services (Department) the previous 
administrative procedure could take approximately one 
year on average during which individuals could have 
continuously been exposed to an immediate and substantial 
threat. 

With the proposed changes, the Commissioner now has the 
authority to issue a summary order of suspension of the 
license of a group home or residential facility for adults 
when the conditions or the practices of the provider pose 
an immediate and substantial threat to individuals 
receiving services. 

The main benefit of the proposed regulations is having an 
additional and effective mean to be able to expeditiously 
address an existing immediate and substantial threat to 
health, safety, and welfare of individuals at a licensed 
facility’s care. Also, by arming the Commissioner with 
authority to issue a summary order of suspension, the 
proposed regulations are likely to provide additional 
incentives to providers in preventing circumstances that 
could lead to an immediate and substantial threat to 
residents before they occur. 

The main costs of the proposed regulations are expected to 
accrue to the licensed providers whose residents are 
exposed to an immediate and substantial threat to health, 
safety, and welfare. If forced to cease its operations as a 
result of a summary order of suspension, these facilities 
would lose revenues they were receiving. Given that a 
significant part of business costs are contractual 
obligations and will likely to continue to accrue even if the 

facility is closed, the licensed businesses will likely suffer 
financial losses in the absence of inflow of revenues. 

Other costs of the proposed changes are administrative 
costs involved in the issuance of a summary order of 
suspension by the Department. These could be in terms of 
additional staff time, additional costs of hearing officers, 
office supplies etc. However, a significant portion of these 
costs are expected to be offset by savings from avoiding 
the monitoring of a troubled facility for a prolonged period 
of time that would have been necessary without the 
proposed authority. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  There are approximately 
800 licensed facilities that are subject to the proposed 
regulations. These facilities have capacity to serve 
approximately 4,000 residents. However, due to vacancies, 
they are estimated to be serving approximately 3,200 
residents in a given time. Also, the department expects no 
more than two cases annually which could affect up to 10 
residents based on average capacity of a licensed facility. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  The proposed regulations 
apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  The proposed 
regulations are not expected to have a significant effect on 
employment. When a facility poses an immediate and 
substantial threat to individuals receiving services and is 
order to shut down, there would be a reduction in labor 
demand by that particular facility and a corresponding 
increase in labor for demand by other facilities where the 
residents are transferred. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
proposed regulations are not expected to have any 
significant effect on the use and value of private property 
unless a facility poses an immediate and substantial threat 
to individuals receiving services and is ordered to shut 
down. If a facility is shut down, there would be a negative 
impact on the asset value of such provider business. 
However, other facilities where the residents are 
transferred may experience a positive effect on their asset 
values.  

The effect on the property value of a closed facility 
depends on its next best alternative use which could be 
negative or positive. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  All of the 800 
providers subject to these regulations are considered to be 
small businesses. The proposed regulations do not impose 
any costs on these small businesses as long as they are in 
compliance with the regulations. However, if these 
facilities pose an immediate and substantial risk to the 
health, safety, and welfare of their residents, they could 
face closure and significant financial losses. 
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Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The proposed regulations appear to be 
cost effective in achieving the intended goal which is to 
expeditiously address an immediate and substantial risk to 
health, safety, and welfare of individuals receiving services 
from a licensed provider. 

Legal Mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 
36 (06).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom 
the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities 
and types of businesses or other entities particularly 
affected, the projected number of persons and employment 
positions to be affected, the projected costs to affected 
businesses or entities to implement or comply with the 
regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 
property.  Further, if the proposed regulation has an 
adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007 H requires 
that such economic impact analyses include (i) an 
identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the 
regulation, including the type of professional skills 
necessary for preparing required reports and other 
documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 
regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a 
description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative 
methods of achieving the purpose of the regulation.  The 
analysis presented above represents DPB’s best estimate of 
these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency concurs 
with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

This proposed action adds a new section to the existing 
Rules and Regulations for the Licensing of Providers of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation, Substance Abuse, 
the Individual and Family Developmental Disabilities 
Support Waiver, and Residential Brain Injury Services 
that establishes a process for issuing an order of 
summary suspension of a license for group home or 
other residential services for adults in cases of 
immediate threat to the health, safety, and welfare of 
residents.  It also includes provisions for scheduling and 
conducting an administrative hearing, including the 
appointment of a hearing officer by the Executive 
Secretary of the Supreme Court.  The regulation is 

currently in effect as an emergency regulation that will 
expire in December 2007. 

12 VAC 35-105-115. Summary suspension. 

A. In conjunction with any proceeding for revocation, 
denial, or other action, when conditions or practices exist 
that pose an immediate and substantial threat to the health, 
safety, and welfare of the residents, the commissioner may 
issue an order of summary suspension of the license to 
operate any group home or residential facility for adults 
when he believes the operation of the home or facility 
should be suspended during the pendency of such 
proceeding. 

B. Prior to the issuance of an order of summary 
suspension, the department shall contact the Executive 
Secretary of the Supreme Court of Virginia to obtain the 
name of a hearing officer.  The department shall schedule 
the time, date, and location of the administrative hearing 
with the hearing officer. 

C. The order of summary suspension shall take effect upon 
its issuance.  It shall be delivered by personal service and 
certified mail, return receipt requested, to the address of 
record of the licensee as soon as practicable.  The order 
shall set forth: 

1. The time, date, and location of the hearing; 

2. The procedures for the hearing; 

3. The hearing and appeal rights; and 

4. Facts and evidence that formed the basis for the order 
of summary suspension. 

D. The hearing shall take place within three business days 
of the issuance of the order of summary suspension. 

E. The department shall have the burden of proving in any 
summary suspension hearing that it had reasonable 
grounds to require the licensee to cease operations during 
the pendency of the concurrent revocation, denial, or other 
proceeding. 

F. The administrative hearing officer shall provide written 
findings and conclusions, together with a recommendation 
as to whether the license should be summarily suspended, 
to the commissioner within five business days of the 
hearing. 

G. The commissioner shall issue a final order of summary 
suspension or make a determination that the summary 
suspension is not warranted based on the facts presented 
and the recommendation of the hearing officer within 
seven business days of receiving the recommendation of 
the hearing officer. 

H. The commissioner shall issue and serve on the group 
home or residential facility for adults or its designee by 
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personal service or by certified mail, return receipt 
requested either: 

1. A final order of summary suspension including (i) the 
basis for accepting or rejecting the hearing officer’s 
recommendation, and (ii) notice that the group home or 
residential facility may appeal the commissioner’s 
decision to the appropriate circuit court no later than 10 
days following issuance of the order; or 

2. Notification that the summary suspension is not 
warranted by the facts and circumstances presented and 
that the order of summary suspension is rescinded. 

I. The licensee may appeal the commissioner’s decision on 
the summary suspension to the appropriate circuit court no 
more than 10 days after issuance of the final order. 

J. The outcome of concurrent revocation, denial, and other 
proceedings shall not be affected by the outcome of any 
hearing pertaining to the appropriateness of the order of 
summary suspension. 

K. At the time of the issuance of the order of summary 
suspension, the department shall contact the appropriate 
agencies to inform them of the action and the need to 
develop relocation plans for residents, and ensure that any 
other legal guardians or responsible family members are 
informed of the pending action. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-93; Filed June 5, 2007, 3:54 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  12 VAC 35-210. Regulations to 
Govern Temporary Leave from State Mental Health 
and State Mental Retardation Facilities (adding 
12 VAC 35-210-10 through 12 VAC 35-210-120). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 37.2-203 and 37.2-837 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date:  July 25, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Marion Greenfield, Director, Office of 
Quality Management, Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, P.O. 
Box 1797, 1220 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, 
telephone (804) 786-4516, FAX (804) 786-8623, or email 
marion.greenfield@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulation governs the general process and 
establishes requirements for granting temporary leave to 
individuals receiving services in state mental health and 
mental retardation facilities.  The regulation requires 
state facilities to include plans for temporary leave as 
part of individual treatment planning and gives the state 
facility director final authority to grant this leave.  The 
regulation also defines the types and duration of leave 

that may be authorized, requires documentation, and 
defines a "responsible person" for an individual who is 
on leave status.  Provisions also guide state facilities in 
managing situations when an individual becomes ill or 
injured during leave, or fails to return to the state 
facility as scheduled. 

Changes made since publication of the proposed 
regulation include (i) clarifying language, (ii) 
conforming text for consistency with the Code of 
Virginia and consistency with other parts of the 
regulation, and (iii) providing for trial visits that are 
arranged for individuals who may be preparing for 
discharge to a facility in the community.   

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the 
agency's response may be obtained from the promulgating 
agency or viewed at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations.  

CHAPTER 210. 
REGULATIONS TO GOVERN TEMPORARY LEAVE 

FROM STATE MENTAL HEALTH AND STATE 
MENTAL RETARDATION FACILITIES. 

12 VAC 35-210-10. Authority and applicability. 

This regulation is adopted pursuant to § 37.2-837 B of the 
Code of Virginia to establish a process [ to facilitate 
community integration ] and the conditions for granting a 
trial or home visit to individuals admitted to [ mental 
health and mental retardation facilities state hospitals or 
training centers ] operated by the Department of Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services. 

This regulation shall not apply to individuals receiving 
services in a facility who are committed pursuant to 
Chapter 9 (§ 37.2-900 et seq.) of Title 37.2, Title 19.2 or 
Title 53.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

12 VAC 35-210-20. Definitions. 

The following words or terms when used in this regulation 
shall have the following meanings unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise: 

[ "Authorized representative" or "AR" means a person 
permitted by law or the State Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation, and Substance Abuse Services Board’s 
regulations to authorize the disclosure of information; to 
consent to treatment and services, or participation in 
human research; and to authorize the disclosure of 
information on behalf of an individual who lacks the 
mental capacity to make these decisions. ] 

[ "Case management community "Community ] services 
board" [ is a citizen board means the public body ] 
established pursuant to § 37.2-501 of the Code of Virginia 
that [ serves the area in which an adult resides or in which 
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a minor’s parent, guardian, or legally authorized 
representative resides.  The case management community 
services board (CSB) is responsible for case management, 
liaison with the state facility when an individual is 
admitted to a state hospital or training center, and 
discharge planning.  If an individual, or the parents, 
guardian or legally authorized representative on behalf of 
an individual chooses to reside in a different locality after 
discharge from the facility, the community services board 
serving that locality becomes the case management CSB 
provides mental health, mental retardation, and substance 
abuse services to individuals within each city or county 
that established it.  For the purpose of these regulations, 
community services board also includes a behavioral 
health authority established pursuant to § 37.2-602 of the 
Code of Virginia ]. 

"Day pass" means authorized leave from the facility 
without a staff escort generally occurring during the day 
and not extending overnight. 

"Department" means the Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services. 

"Family visit" means an authorized overnight absence from 
a state hospital or training center that allows an individual 
to spend time with family members, [ a legally an ] 
authorized representative, or other responsible person or 
persons. 

"Individual" means a person who is receiving services in a 
state hospital or training center.  This term includes the 
terms "consumer," "patient," "resident," and "client." 

[ "Individualized services plan" or “ISP” means a 
comprehensive and regularly updated written plan that 
includes but is not limited to an individual’s treatment 
plan, functional plan, habilitation plan, or plan of care that 
meets the needs and preferences of an individual and 
describes the measurable goals, objectives, and expected 
outcomes.  

"Legally authorized representative" or "LAR" means a 
person permitted by law or regulations to give informed 
consent to treatment, including medical treatment and 
participation in human research, and to authorize the 
disclosure of information on behalf of an individual who 
lacks the mental capacity to make these decisions. ] 

"Missing person" means an individual who is not 
physically present when and where he should be and his 
absence cannot be accounted for or explained. 

"Responsible person" means an individual’s parent, 
guardian, relative, friend, or other person whom the facility 
director determines is capable of providing the individual 
with the needed care and supervision, and if the individual 
has [ a LAR an AR ] for whom the [ LAR AR ] has given 

written consent to supervise the individual during 
temporary leave from the facility. 

[ "Services plan" means a plan that defines and describes 
measurable goals, objectives and expected outcomes of 
services that are designed to meet an individual’s specific 
and unique treatment needs.  The term "services plan" may 
include but is not limited to the terms, "individualized 
services plan," "treatment plan," "habilitation plan," or 
"plan of care." 

"Services record" means all clinical and medical 
documentation that the facility maintains about an 
individual who receives services. ] 

"State facility" or "facility" means a hospital or training 
center operated by the department for the care and 
treatment of individuals with mental illness or mental 
retardation. 

"Trial visit" means an authorized overnight absence from a 
state facility without a staff escort for the purpose of 
assessing an individual’s readiness for discharge.  Trial 
visits do not include special hospitalizations, facility-
sponsored summer camps, or other facility-sponsored 
activities that involve staff supervision. 

12 VAC 35-210-30. General requirements for 
temporary leave. 

A. Directors of state facilities shall develop written 
[ operating ] policies [ and procedures ] for authorizing and 
implementing the following types of temporary leave from 
the facility: 

1. Day passes for periods that do not extend overnight; 

2. Family visits and trial visits for a maximum of 28 
consecutive days per episode for individuals in training 
centers; and 

3. Family visits and trial visits for a maximum of 14 
consecutive days per episode for individuals in state 
hospitals. 

B. The justification for all temporary leave shall be 
documented in the [ individual’s services record ISP ].  
This documentation shall include: 

1. The reason for granting the specific type of leave; 

2. The benefit to the individual; 

[ 3. How the individual participated in the decision-
making related to temporary leave ; and 

3. 4. ] How the leave addresses a specific objective or 
objectives in the individual’s [ services plan ISP ]; and 

[ 4. 5. ] The signature of the facility director or designee 
authorizing the temporary leave. 
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[ C. Exceptions to time limitations for family visits and 
trial visits.  Facility directors may extend the time limits, 
established in subdivision A of this subsection, for family 
visits or trial visits in individual cases when they determine 
that the circumstances justify an extension.  When an 
extension is granted, the reasons and justification to 
support the extension shall be documented in the 
individual’s services record.  This documentation shall 
include: 

1. The reason for the time extension; 

2. The benefit to the individual; and  

3. The signature of the facility director or designee 
authorizing the extension. 

D. C. ] Responsible persons during leave. 

1. Adults and emancipated minors receiving services in 
state hospitals who are granted a day pass, family visit, 
or trial visit may be:  

a. Placed in the care of a parent, spouse, relative, 
guardian, [ a facility licensed by the department ] or 
other responsible person or persons; or 

b. Authorized to leave the facility on his own 
recognizance, when, in the judgment of the 
[ individual and the ] facility director, this leave is 
appropriate. 

2. Individuals in training centers and minors receiving 
services in any state hospital, who are granted a day 
pass, family visit, or trial visit shall be placed in the care 
of: 

a. The parent, legal guardian, or [ LAR AR ]; or 

b. Another relative, friend, or other responsible person 
or persons, [ or a facility licensed by the department ] 
with the prior written consent of the [ LAR AR ]. 

[ D. The state facility granting a trial or family visit to an 
individual shall not be liable for his expenses during the 
period of that visit.  Expenses incurred by an individual 
during a trial visit or family visit shall be the responsibility 
of the person into whose care the individual is entrusted or 
the appropriate local department of social services of the 
county or city of which the individual at the time of his 
admission to the facility, as appropriate, pursuant to § 37.2-
837 B of the Code of Virginia. ] 

12 VAC 35-210-40. Day passes. 

Each facility shall have specific policies for day passes that 
include: 

1. Criteria for granting day passes; 

2. Designation of staff members who are authorized to 
issue day passes; and 

3. Any forms to be used by the facility regarding the 
issuance of day passes. 

12 VAC 35-210-50. Trial visits. 

A. The facility and the [ case management ] CSB may 
arrange trial visits for the purpose of assessing an 
individual’s readiness for discharge from the facility.  
These trial visits shall be planned during the regularly 
scheduled review of the [ individual’s services plan ISP ] 
or at other times in collaboration with (i) the individual, (ii) 
the individual’s family or [ LAR AR ] or (iii) any other 
person or persons requested by the individual. [ Plans 
When trial visits are used in conjunction with discharge 
planning, the state facility treatment team shall meet with 
the individual to discuss his preferences for residential 
settings and give due consideration to his expressed 
preferences.  If the treatment team cannot reasonably 
accommodate the individual’s preferences, a member of 
the treatment team shall meet with the individual to discuss 
the reasons for this determination and the options that are 
available to him.  The treatment team shall document in the 
individual’s record that it has met with the individual to 
consider his preferences and review the available options. 
All plans ] for trial visits shall be documented in the 
[ individual’s services record ISP ] and include 
consideration of the following: 

1. The individual’s preferences for residential setting; 
and 

2. The individual’s needs for support and supervision. 

B. In advance of the trial visit, the facility shall work with 
the individual, [ case management ] CSB, and responsible 
persons, as appropriate, to develop an emergency 
contingency plan to ensure appropriate and timely crisis 
response. 

12 VAC 35-210-60. Family visits. 

A. Family visits may include visits with the individual’s 
immediate or extended family, [ LAR AR ], friends, or 
other persons arranged by the family or [ LAR AR ]. 

1. Training centers shall plan family visits in 
collaboration with the individual, his family or [ LAR 
AR ], and when appropriate, the [ case management ] 
CSB; 

2. State hospitals shall plan family visits in collaboration 
with the individual and his family or [ LAR AR ], and 
when appropriate, the [ case management ] CSB. 

B. When planning family visits facilities shall: 

1. Develop plans to address potential emergencies or 
unexpected events; 
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2. Consider whether the visit has an impact on the 
treatment or training schedule and make appropriate 
accommodations; and 

3. Give consideration to the individual’s medical, 
behavioral, and psychiatric status. 

12 VAC 35-210-70. Required authorizations and 
documentation. 

The facility shall not release individuals for trial visits or 
family visits unless the required authorizations have been 
obtained and documentation is included in the individual’s 
[ services ] record. 

12 VAC 35-210-80. Illness or injury occurring during a 
family or trial visit. 

A. When a facility is notified that an individual is injured 
or ill and requires medical attention while on a trial or 
family visit, the facility director or designee shall notify the 
(i) facility medical director, (ii) treatment team leader, (iii) 
facility human rights advocate, and (iv) [ case management 
the ] CSB.  The facility director shall also ensure that all 
events are reported in accordance with department and 
facility policy and protocol for risk management. 

B. The facility director or designee may assist the [ case 
management ] CSB or the responsible person to identify an 
appropriate setting for the evaluation and treatment of the 
individual.  The facility medical director may also consult 
with the physician and any other medical personnel who 
are evaluating or treating the individual.  However, the 
individual shall not [ be returned return ] to the facility 
until he is medically stabilized. 

C. Individuals who have been admitted to a state hospital 
on a voluntary basis and require acute hospital admission 
for illness or injury while on temporary leave from the 
state hospital may voluntarily return to the state hospital 
following discharge from an acute care hospital if they 
continue to meet the admission criteria. 

D. If an individual has been legally committed to a state 
facility and his length of stay in an acute care hospital 
exceeds the period of commitment to the state facility, the 
facility shall: 

1. Discharge the individual in collaboration with the 
[ case management ] CSB; and  

2. Notify the individual or his [ LAR AR ] in writing of 
the discharge. 

[ E. All medical expenses incurred by an individual during 
a trial visit or family visit are the responsibility of the 
person into whose care the individual was entrusted or the 
appropriate local department of social service of the county 
or city of which the individual was resident at the time of 

his admission to the facility pursuant to § 37.2-837 B of 
the Code of Virginia. 

F. E. ] If the facility is notified that an individual has died 
while on temporary leave, the facility director or designee 
shall: 

1. Notify the appropriate facility staff, including, the 
medical director, risk manager, treatment team leader, 
and human rights advocate; 

2. Notify the [ case management appropriate ] CSB [ , if 
necessary ]; 

3. File the appropriate documentation of the death in 
accordance with department policies and procedures; 
and 

4. Notify the state medical examiner in writing of the 
death. 

12 VAC 35-210-90. Failure to return to training 
centers. 

A. When an individual fails to return to a training center 
[ facility ] from any authorized day pass, family visit, or 
trial visit within two hours of the scheduled deadline, the 
facility director or designee shall contact the responsible 
person into whose care the individual was placed to 
determine the cause of the delay. 

B. Upon the request of the responsible person, the facility 
director may extend the period of a family or trial visit for 
up to 72 hours beyond the time the individual was 
scheduled to return when: 

1. An emergency or unforeseen circumstances delay the 
individual’s return to the training center; and 

2. The individual’s [ LAR AR ] agrees to the extension. 

Extensions for emergency or unforeseen circumstances 
shall not be granted in advance of the family visit or trial 
visit. [ See 12 VAC 35-210-30 C for the conditions and 
requirements for granting individual exceptions to 
specified time limitations in advance of family or trial 
visits. ] 

C. If an individual does not return to the training center 
from a trial visit or family visit within two hours of the 
established deadline for his return and the [ facility training 
center ] is unable to contact the responsible person into 
whose care the individual was placed, the facility director 
or designee may extend the period of the visit for up to 24 
hours if, in his judgment, the extension is justified.  During 
this period the facility shall continue efforts to contact the 
responsible person. 

D. If an individual does not return to the training center 
and his absence cannot be accounted for or reasonably 
explained by the responsible person or a family member, 
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he shall be classified as a missing person, and the facility 
[ will shall ] follow the department’s policies and 
procedures for management of individuals who are 
missing. 

E. If no emergency or unforeseen circumstances exist that 
may prevent the individual’s return to the facility, and the 
responsible person does not agree to the return of the 
individual to the training center as scheduled, the facility 
director shall contact the [ case management ] CSB and 
discharge the individual.  Written notification of discharge 
shall be sent to the individual’s [ LAR AR ]. 

12 VAC 35-210-120. Failure to return to hospitals. 

A. When an individual fails to return to a state hospital 
from any authorized day pass, family visit, or trial visit 
within two hours of the scheduled deadline, the facility 
director or designee shall contact the responsible person 
into whose care the individual was placed to determine the 
cause of the delay. 

B. Upon the request of the responsible person, the facility 
director may extend the period of the visit for up to 72 
hours beyond the time the individual was scheduled to 
return when: 

1. An emergency or unforeseen circumstances delay the 
individual’s return to the hospital; and  

2. The individual or his [ LAR AR ] agree to the 
extension. 

Extensions for emergency or unforeseen circumstances 
shall not be granted in advance of the family visit or trial 
visit. [ See 12 VAC 35-210-30 C for the conditions and 
requirements for granting individual exceptions to 
specified time limitations in advance of family or trial 
visits. ] 

C. If an individual agrees to return to the facility, the 
facility director or designee may assist the individual to 
make arrangements for his return in collaboration with the 
[ case management ] CSB and the responsible person, 
when necessary. 

D. If an individual is unwilling to return to the facility, the 
facility director or his designee shall contact the 
responsible person to determine whether continued 
hospitalization is appropriate or the individual should be 
discharged. 

1. If there is no evidence that the individual meets the 
criteria for hospitalization then the facility shall 
discharge the individual in collaboration with the [ case 
management ] CSB. 

2. If the individual has been legally committed to the 
hospital and the facility director determines that the 
individual may require further hospitalization [ and he 

currently meets commitment criteria, ] or that the 
individual cannot be located, the facility director shall: 

a. Ensure that the commitment order is valid; 

b. Classify the individual as a missing person; 

c. Alert the [ case management ] CSB pursuant to the 
department’s policies and procedures for managing of 
individuals who are missing from state facilities; 

d. Issue a warrant for the individual’s return [ under 
§ 37.2-834 of the Code of Virginia ]; and 

e. Arrange for a physical examination at the time of 
the individual’s return to the facility. 

3. If the individual is on voluntary status or the 
commitment order is no longer valid the facility director, 
after consulting with the appropriate clinical staff, shall: 

a. Discharge the individual; and 

b. Alert the [ case management ] CSB of the 
individual’s status. 

F. When it is determined that an individual who has been 
legally committed to the facility [ and has been on 
temporary leave ] must be returned to the facility and the 
individual refuses to return on his own accord, the facility 
director or his designee shall: 

1. Issue a warrant for the individual’s return [ under 
§ 37.2-834 of the Code of Virginia ] to the hospital; and 

2. Contact the [ case management ] CSB upon 
revocation of the trial visit. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-30; Filed May 29, 2007, 11:10 a.m. 

  –––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

VIRGINIA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE:  The Virginia Housing 
Development Authority is exempt from the Administrative 
Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) 
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 4; however, under the provisions 
of § 2.2-4031, it is required to publish all proposed and 
final regulations. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  13 VAC 10-180. Rules and 
Regulations for Allocation of Low-Income Housing Tax 
Credits (amending 13 VAC 10-180-10, 13 VAC 10-180-
50 and 13 VAC 10-180-60). 

Statutory Authority:  § 36-55.30:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  July 9, 2007 - 10 a.m. 
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Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on July 
9, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  J. Judson McKellar, Jr., General 
Counsel, Virginia Housing Development Authority, 601 
South Belvidere Street, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone 
(804) 343-5540, FAX (804) 783-6701, or email 
judson.mckellar@vhda.com. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) increase the minimum 
construction cost to receive credits from $7,500 to 
$15,000 per unit, (ii) increase the point category for 
developments located in a revitalization area from 25 to 
30 points, (iii) add the Rural Development 538 program 
interest credit funding as an option to qualify for points 
in the subsidized funding category, (iv) limit points for 
subsidized financing if an identity of interest exists 
between the owner and the applicant, (v) revise the 
amenity category for high efficiency heat pumps and gas 
furnaces, (vi) delete the three-point amenity category for 
an STC rating of 52 or more between floors, (vii) add a 
five-point amenity category if all units have hot water 
heaters that meet the EPA’s Energy Star qualified 
program, (viii) add U.S. Green Building Council 
"LEED" Certification as an additional option to 
EarthCraft Certification and increase this point category 
from 15 to 30 points, (ix) add a 25-point category for 
developers that agree to use a VHDA-certified property 
Management Company to manage the development, (x) 
add a 15-point category for units that meet Universal 
Design standards, (xi) add a five-point category for 
Architects of Record who have attended an EarthCraft 
training seminar, (xii) allow a credit adjustment for the 
credit-per-unit point category calculation for 
developments receiving a bonus in credits that are 
located in both a Revitalization Area and also are in 
either a QCT or DDA, (xiii) allow the executive director 
to substitute credits when a development is delayed by 
lawsuit, (xiv) revise the requirements for the 15% 
Northern Virginia noncompetitive preservation pool, 
and (xv) make other miscellaneous administrative 
clarification changes. 

13 VAC 10-180-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Applicant" means an applicant for credits under this 
chapter and also means the owner of the development to 
whom the credits are allocated. 

"Credits" means the low-income housing tax credits as 
described in § 42 of the IRC. 

"Elderly housing" means any development intended to 
provide housing for elderly persons as an exemption to the 
provisions regarding familial status under the United States 
Fair Housing Act (42 USC § 3601 et seq.). 

"IRC" means the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as 
amended, and the rules, regulations, notices and other 
official pronouncements promulgated thereunder. 

"IRS" means the Internal Revenue Service. 

"Low-income housing units" means those units which are 
defined as "low income units" under § 42 of the IRC. 

"Low-income jurisdiction" means any city or county in the 
Commonwealth with an area median income at or below 
the Virginia nonmetro area median income established by 
the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development 
("HUD"). 

"Principal" means any person (including any individual, 
joint venture, partnership, limited liability company, 
corporation, nonprofit organization, trust, or any other 
public or private entity) that (i) with respect to the 
proposed development will own or participate in the 
ownership of the proposed development or (ii) with respect 
to an existing multi-family rental project has owned or 
participated in the ownership of such project, all as more 
fully described hereinbelow. The person who is the owner 
of the proposed development or multifamily rental project 
is considered a principal. In determining whether any other 
person is a principal, the following guidelines shall govern: 
(i) in the case of a partnership that is a principal (whether 
as the owner or otherwise), all general partners are also 
considered principals, regardless of the percentage interest 
of the general partner; (ii) in the case of a public or private 
corporation or organization or governmental entity that is a 
principal (whether as the owner or otherwise), principals 
also include the president, vice president, secretary, and 
treasurer and other officers who are directly responsible to 
the board of directors or any equivalent governing body, as 
well as all directors or other members of the governing 
body and any stockholder having a 25% or more interest; 
(iii) in the case of a limited liability company that is a 
principal (whether as the owner or otherwise), all members 
are also considered principals, regardless of the percentage 
interest of the member; (iv) in the case of a trust that is a 
principal (whether as the owner or otherwise), all persons 
having a 25% or more beneficial ownership interest in the 
assets of such trust; (v) in the case of any other person that 
is a principal (whether as the owner or otherwise), all 
persons having a 25% or more ownership interest in such 
other person are also considered principals; and (vi) any 
person that directly or indirectly controls, or has the power 
to control, a principal shall also be considered a principal. 

"Qualified application" means a written request for tax 
credits which is submitted on a form or forms prescribed or 
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approved by the executive director together with all 
documents required by the authority for submission and 
meets all minimum scoring requirements. 

"Qualified low-income buildings" or "qualified 
low-income development" means the buildings or 
development which meets the applicable requirements in 
§ 42 of the IRC to qualify for an allocation of credits 
thereunder. 

"Revitalization area" means any area for which the chief 
executive officer (or the equivalent) of the local 
jurisdiction in which the development is to be located 
certifies as follows: (i) either (a) the area is blighted, 
deteriorated, deteriorating or, if not rehabilitated, likely to 
deteriorate by reason that the buildings, improvements or 
other facilities in such area are subject to one or more of 
the following conditions-dilapidation, obsolescence, 
overcrowding, inadequate ventilation, light or sanitation, 
excessive land coverage, deleterious land use, or faulty or 
inadequate design, quality or condition or (b) the industrial, 
commercial or other economic development of such area 
will benefit the city or county but such area lacks the 
housing needed to induce manufacturing, industrial, 
commercial, governmental, educational, entertainment, 
community development, healthcare or nonprofit 
enterprises or undertakings to locate or remain in such 
area; and (ii) private enterprise and investment are not 
reasonably expected, without assistance, to produce the 
construction or rehabilitation of decent, safe and sanitary 
housing and supporting facilities that will meet the needs 
of low and moderate income persons and families in such 
area and will induce other persons and families to live 
within such area and thereby create a desirable economic 
mix of residents in such area. The area within a 
redevelopment project, conservation project, or 
rehabilitation district established by the city or county 
pursuant to Chapter 1 (§ 36-1 et seq.) of Title 36 of the 
Code of Virginia shall be deemed a revitalization area 
without any such certification. Any such revitalization area 
must either (i) have established boundaries at least a year 
old at the time applications are submitted and include 
discussions from the locality of the type of developments 
that will be encouraged, the potential sources of funding, 
and services to be offered in the area; or (ii) be subject to a 
plan using Hope VI funds from HUD. A comprehensive 
plan does not qualify as certification of a revitalization 
area. 

13 VAC 10-180-50. Application. 

Prior to submitting an application for reservation, 
applicants shall submit on such form as required by the 
executive director, the letter for authority signature by 
which the authority shall notify the chief executive officers 
(or the equivalent) of the local jurisdictions in which the 
developments are to be located to provide such officers a 

reasonable opportunity to comment on the developments. 
When scoring the applications, the executive director will 
award points to those applications that submit the form 
correctly within the deadlines established by the executive 
director, award no points to those applications that submit 
the form incorrectly within the deadlines established by the 
executive director and subtract points from those 
applications that fail to submit the form by such deadlines. 

Application for a reservation of credits shall be 
commenced by filing with the authority an application, on 
such form or forms as the executive director may from 
time to time prescribe or approve, together with such 
documents and additional information (including, without 
limitation, a market study that shows adequate demand for 
the housing units to be produced by the applicant's 
proposed development) as may be requested by the 
authority in order to comply with the IRC and this chapter 
and to make the reservation and allocation of the credits in 
accordance with this chapter. The executive director may 
reject any application from consideration for a reservation 
or allocation of credits if in such application the applicant 
does not provide the proper documentation or information 
on the forms prescribed by the executive director. 

All sites in an application for a scattered site development 
may only serve one primary market area. If the executive 
director determines that the sites subject to a scattered site 
development are served by different primary market areas, 
separate applications for credits must be filed for each 
primary market area in which scattered sites are located 
within the deadlines established by the executive director. 

The application should include a breakdown of sources and 
uses of funds sufficiently detailed to enable the authority to 
ascertain what costs will be incurred and what will 
comprise the total financing package, including the various 
subsidies and the anticipated syndication or placement 
proceeds that will be raised. The following cost 
information, if applicable, needs to be included in the 
application to determine the feasible credit amount: site 
acquisition costs, site preparation costs, construction costs, 
construction contingency, general contractor's overhead 
and profit, architect and engineer's fees, permit and survey 
fees, insurance premiums, real estate taxes during 
construction, title and recording fees, construction period 
interest, financing fees, organizational costs, rent-up and 
marketing costs, accounting and auditing costs, working 
capital and operating deficit reserves, syndication and legal 
fees, development fees, and other costs and fees. All 
applications seeking credits for rehabilitation of existing 
units must provide for contractor construction costs of at 
least $7,500 $15,000 per unit. 

Each application shall include plans and specifications or, 
in the case of rehabilitation for which plans will not be 
used, a unit-by-unit work write-up for such rehabilitation 
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with certification in such form and from such person 
satisfactory to the executive director as to the completion 
of such plans or specifications or work write-up. 

Each application shall include evidence of (i) sole fee 
simple ownership of the site of the proposed development 
by the applicant, (ii) lease of such site by the applicant for 
a term exceeding the compliance period (as defined in the 
IRC) or for such longer period as the applicant represents 
in the application that the development will be held for 
occupancy by low-income persons or families or (iii) right 
to acquire or lease such site pursuant to a valid and binding 
written option or contract between the applicant and the fee 
simple owner of such site for a period extending at least 
four months beyond any application deadline established 
by the executive director, provided that such option or 
contract shall have no conditions within the discretion or 
control of such owner of such site. Any contract for the 
acquisition of a site with existing residential property may 
not require an empty building as a condition of such 
contract, unless relocation assistance is provided to 
displaced households, if any, at such level required by the 
authority. A contract that permits the owner to continue to 
market the property, even if the applicant has a right of 
first refusal, does not constitute the requisite site control 
required in clause (iii) above. No application shall be 
considered for a reservation or allocation of credits unless 
such evidence is submitted with the application and the 
authority determines that the applicant owns, leases or has 
the right to acquire or lease the site of the proposed 
development as described in the preceding sentence. In the 
case of acquisition and rehabilitation of developments 
funded by Rural Development of the U.S. Department of 
Agriculture (Rural Development), the site control 
document does not need to be approved by all partners of 
the seller if the general partner of the seller executing the 
site control document provides (i) an attorney's opinion 
that such general partner has the authority to enter into the 
site control document and such document is binding on the 
seller or (ii) a letter from the existing syndicator indicating 
a willingness to secure the necessary partner approvals 
upon the reservation of credits. 

Each application shall include, in a form or forms required 
by the executive director, a certification of previous 
participation listing all developments receiving an 
allocation of tax credits under § 42 of the IRC in which the 
principal or principals have or had an ownership or 
participation interest, the location of such developments, 
the number of residential units and low-income housing 
units in such developments and such other information as 
more fully specified by the executive director. 
Furthermore, for any such development, the applicant must 
indicate whether the appropriate state housing credit 
agency has ever filed a Form 8823 with the IRS reporting 
noncompliance with the requirements of the IRC and that 

such noncompliance had not been corrected at the time of 
the filing of such Form 8823. The executive director may 
reject any application from consideration for a reservation 
or allocation of credits unless the above information is 
submitted with the application. If, after reviewing the 
above information or any other information available to the 
authority, the executive director determines that the 
principal or principals do not have the experience, financial 
capacity and predisposition to regulatory compliance 
necessary to carry out the responsibilities for the 
acquisition, construction, ownership, operation, marketing, 
maintenance and management of the proposed 
development or the ability to fully perform all the duties 
and obligations relating to the proposed development under 
law, regulation and the reservation and allocation 
documents of the authority or if an applicant is in 
substantial noncompliance with the requirements of the 
IRC, the executive director may reject applications by the 
applicant. No application will be accepted from any 
applicant with a principal that has or had an ownership or 
participation interest in a development at the time the 
authority reported such development to the IRS as no 
longer in compliance and no longer participating in the 
federal low-income housing tax credit program. 

Each application shall include, in a form or forms required 
by the executive director, a certification that the design of 
the proposed development meets all applicable amenity 
and design requirements required by the executive director 
for the type of housing to be provided by the proposed 
development. 

The application should include pro forma financial 
statements setting forth the anticipated cash flows during 
the credit period as defined in the IRC. The application 
shall include a certification by the applicant as to the full 
extent of all federal, state and local subsidies which apply 
(or which the applicant expects to apply) with respect to 
each building or development. The executive director may 
also require the submission of a legal opinion or other 
assurances satisfactory to the executive director as to, 
among other things, compliance of the proposed 
development with the IRC and a certification, together 
with an opinion of an independent certified public 
accountant or other assurances satisfactory to the executive 
director, setting forth the calculation of the amount of 
credits requested by the application and certifying, among 
other things, that under the existing facts and 
circumstances the applicant will be eligible for the amount 
of credits requested. 

Each applicant shall commit in the application to provide 
relocation assistance to displaced households, if any, at 
such level required by the director. 

If an applicant submits an application for reservation or 
allocation of credits that contains a material 
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misrepresentation or fails to include information regarding 
developments involving the applicant that have been 
determined to be out of compliance with the requirements 
of the IRC, the executive director may reject the 
application or stop processing such application upon 
discovery of such misrepresentation or noncompliance and 
may prohibit such applicant from submitting applications 
for credits to the authority in the future. 

In any situation in which the executive director deems it 
appropriate, he may treat two or more applications as a 
single application. 

The executive director may establish criteria and 
assumptions to be used by the applicant in the calculation 
of amounts in the application, and any such criteria and 
assumptions may be indicated on the application form, 
instructions or other communication available to the 
public. 

The executive director may prescribe such deadlines for 
submission of applications for reservation and allocation of 
credits for any calendar year as he shall deem necessary or 
desirable to allow sufficient processing time for the 
authority to make such reservations and allocations. If the 
executive director determines that an applicant for a 
reservation of credits has failed to submit one or more 
mandatory attachments to the application by the 
reservation application deadline, he may allow such 
applicant an opportunity to submit such attachments within 
a certain time established by the executive director with a 
ten-point scoring penalty per item. 

After receipt of the applications, if necessary, the authority 
shall notify the chief executive officers (or the equivalent) 
of the local jurisdictions in which the developments are to 
be located and shall provide such officers a reasonable 
opportunity to comment on the developments. 

The development for which an application is submitted 
may be, but shall not be required to be, financed by the 
authority. If any such development is to be financed by the 
authority, the application for such financing shall be 
submitted to and received by the authority in accordance 
with its applicable rules and regulations. 

The authority may consider and approve, in accordance 
herewith, both the reservation and the allocation of credits 
to buildings or developments which the authority may own 
or may intend to acquire, construct and/or rehabilitate. 

13 VAC 10-180-60. Review and selection of 
applications; reservation of credits. 

The executive director may divide the amount of credits 
into separate pools and each separate pool may be further 
divided into separate tiers. The division of such pools and 
tiers may be based upon one or more of the following 
factors: geographical areas of the state; types or 

characteristics of housing, construction, financing, owners, 
occupants, or source of credits; or any other factors 
deemed appropriate by him to best meet the housing needs 
of the Commonwealth. 

An amount, as determined by the executive director, not 
less than 10% of the Commonwealth's annual state housing 
credit ceiling for credits, shall be available for reservation 
and allocation to buildings or developments with respect to 
which the following requirements are met: 

1. A "qualified nonprofit organization" (as described in 
§ 42(h)(5)(C) of the IRC) which is authorized to do 
business in Virginia and is determined by the executive 
director, on the basis of such relevant factors as he shall 
consider appropriate, to be substantially based or active 
in the community of the development and is to 
materially participate (regular, continuous and 
substantial involvement as determined by the executive 
director) in the development and operation of the 
development throughout the "compliance period" (as 
defined in § 42(i)(1) of the IRC); and 

2. (i) The "qualified nonprofit organization" described in 
the preceding subdivision 1 is to own (directly or 
through a partnership), prior to the reservation of credits 
to the buildings or development, all of the general 
partnership interests of the ownership entity thereof; (ii) 
the executive director of the authority shall have 
determined that such qualified nonprofit organization is 
not affiliated with or controlled by a for-profit 
organization; (iii) the executive director of the authority 
shall have determined that the qualified nonprofit 
organization was not formed by one or more individuals 
or for-profit entities for the principal purpose of being 
included in any nonprofit pools (as defined below) 
established by the executive director, and (iv) the 
executive director of the authority shall have determined 
that no staff member, officer or member of the board of 
directors of such qualified nonprofit organization will 
materially participate, directly or indirectly, in the 
proposed development as a for-profit entity. 

In making the determinations required by the preceding 
subdivision 1 and clauses (ii), (iii) and (iv) of subdivision 2 
of this section, the executive director may apply such 
factors as he deems relevant, including, without limitation, 
the past experience and anticipated future activities of the 
qualified nonprofit organization, the sources and manner of 
funding of the qualified nonprofit organization, the date of 
formation and expected life of the qualified nonprofit 
organization, the number of paid staff members and 
volunteers of the qualified nonprofit organization, the 
nature and extent of the qualified nonprofit organization's 
proposed involvement in the construction or rehabilitation 
and the operation of the proposed development, the 
relationship of the staff, directors or other principals 
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involved in the formation or operation of the qualified 
nonprofit organization with any persons or entities to be 
involved in the proposed development on a for-profit basis, 
and the proposed involvement in the construction or 
rehabilitation and operation of the proposed development 
by any persons or entities involved in the proposed 
development on a for-profit basis. The executive director 
may include in the application of the foregoing factors any 
other nonprofit organizations which, in his determination, 
are related (by shared directors, staff or otherwise) to the 
qualified nonprofit organization for which such 
determination is to be made. 

For purposes of the foregoing requirements, a qualified 
nonprofit organization shall be treated as satisfying such 
requirements if any qualified corporation (as defined in 
§ 42(h)(5)(D)(ii) of the IRC) in which such organization 
(by itself or in combination with one or more qualified 
nonprofit organizations) holds 100% of the stock satisfies 
such requirements. 

The applications shall include such representations and 
warranties and such information as the executive director 
may require in order to determine that the foregoing 
requirements have been satisfied. In no event shall more 
than 90% of the Commonwealth's annual state housing 
credit ceiling for credits be available for developments 
other than those satisfying the preceding requirements. The 
executive director may establish such pools (nonprofit 
pools) of credits as he may deem appropriate to satisfy the 
foregoing requirement. If any such nonprofit pools are so 
established, the executive director may rank the 
applications therein and reserve credits to such applications 
before ranking applications and reserving credits in other 
pools, and any such applications in such nonprofit pools 
not receiving any reservations of credits or receiving such 
reservations in amounts less than the full amount 
permissible hereunder (because there are not enough 
credits then available in such nonprofit pools to make such 
reservations) shall be assigned to such other pool as shall 
be appropriate hereunder; provided, however, that if credits 
are later made available (pursuant to the IRC or as a result 
of either a termination or reduction of a reservation of 
credits made from any nonprofit pools or a rescission in 
whole or in part of an allocation of credits made from such 
nonprofit pools or otherwise) for reservation and allocation 
by the authority during the same calendar year as that in 
which applications in the nonprofit pools have been so 
assigned to other pools as described above, the executive 
director may, in such situations, designate all or any 
portion of such additional credits for the nonprofit pools 
(or for any other pools as he shall determine) and may, if 
additional credits have been so designated for the nonprofit 
pools, reassign such applications to such nonprofit pools, 
rank the applications therein and reserve credits to such 
applications in accordance with the IRC and this chapter. 

In the event that during any round (as authorized 
hereinbelow) of application review and ranking the amount 
of credits reserved within such nonprofit pools is less than 
the total amount of credits made available therein, the 
executive director may either (i) leave such unreserved 
credits in such nonprofit pools for reservation and 
allocation in any subsequent round or rounds or (ii) 
redistribute, to the extent permissible under the IRC, such 
unreserved credits to such other pool or pools as the 
executive director shall designate reservations therefore in 
the full amount permissible hereunder (which applications 
shall hereinafter be referred to as "excess qualified 
applications") or (iii) carry over such unreserved credits to 
the next succeeding calendar year for the inclusion in the 
state housing credit ceiling (as defined in § 42(h)(3)(C) of 
the IRC) for such year. Notwithstanding anything to the 
contrary herein, no reservation of credits shall be made 
from any nonprofit pools to any application with respect to 
which the qualified nonprofit organization has not yet been 
legally formed in accordance with the requirements of the 
IRC. In addition, no application for credits from any 
nonprofit pools or any combination of pools may receive a 
reservation or allocation of annual credits in an amount 
greater than $650,000 unless credits remain available in 
such nonprofit pools after all eligible applications for 
credits from such nonprofit pools receive a reservation of 
credits. 

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein, applicants 
relying on the experience of a local housing authority for 
developer experience points described hereinbelow and/or 
using Hope VI funds from HUD in connection with the 
proposed development shall not be eligible to receive a 
reservation of credits from any nonprofit pools. 

The authority shall review each application, and, based on 
the application and other information available to the 
authority, shall assign points to each application as 
follows: 

1. Readiness. 

a. Written evidence satisfactory to the authority of 
unconditional approval by local authorities of the plan 
of development or site plan for the proposed 
development or that such approval is not required. (40 
points; applicants receiving points under this 
subdivision 1 a are not eligible for points under 
subdivision 5 a below) 

b. Written evidence satisfactory to the authority (i) of 
proper zoning or special use permit for such site or (ii) 
that no zoning requirements or special use permits are 
applicable. (40 points) 

2. Housing needs characteristics. 

a. Submission of the form prescribed by the authority 
with any required attachments, providing such 
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information necessary for the authority to send a letter 
addressed to the current chief executive officer (or the 
equivalent) of the locality in which the proposed 
development is located, soliciting input on the 
proposed development from the locality within the 
deadlines established by the executive director. (10 
points; failure to make timely submission, minus 50 
points) 

b. (1) A letter dated within three months prior to the 
application deadline addressed to the authority and 
signed by the chief executive officer of the locality in 
which the proposed development is to be located 
stating, without qualification or limitation, the 
following: 

"The construction or rehabilitation of (name of 
development) and the allocation of federal housing tax 
credits available under IRC Section 42 for that 
development will help meet the housing needs and 
priorities of (name of locality). Accordingly, (name of 
locality) supports the allocation of federal housing tax 
credits requested by (name of applicant) for that 
development." (50 points) 

(2) No letter from the chief executive officer of the 
locality in which the proposed development is to be 
located, or a letter addressed to the authority and 
signed by such chief executive officer stating 
neither support (as described in subdivision b (1) 
above) nor opposition (as described in subdivision b 
(3) below) as to the allocation of credits to the 
applicant for the development. (25 points) 

(3) A letter in response to its notification to the chief 
executive officer of the locality in which the 
proposed development is to be located opposing the 
allocation of credits to the applicant for the 
development. In any such letter, the chief executive 
officer must certify that the proposed development 
is not consistent with current zoning or other 
applicable land use regulations. (0 points) 

c. Documentation in a form approved by the authority 
from the chief executive officer (or the equivalent) of 
the local jurisdiction in which the development is to be 
located (including the certification described in the 
definition of revitalization area in 13 VAC 10-180-10) 
that the area in which the proposed development is to 
be located is a revitalization area and the proposed 
development is an integral part of the local 
government's plan for revitalization of the area. (25 30 
points) 

d. If the proposed development is located in a 
qualified census tract as defined in § 42(d)(5)(C)(ii) of 
the IRC and is in a revitalization area. (5 points) 

e. Commitment by the applicant to give leasing 
preference to individuals and families (i) on public 
housing waiting lists maintained by the local housing 
authority operating in the locality in which the 
proposed development is to be located and notification 
of the availability of such units to the local housing 
authority by the applicant or (ii) on section 8 (as 
defined in 13 VAC 10-180-90) waiting lists 
maintained by the local or nearest section 8 
administrator for the locality in which the proposed 
development is to be located and notification of the 
availability of such units to the local section 8 
administrator by the applicant. (10 points; Applicants 
receiving points under this subdivision may not 
require an annual minimum income requirement for 
prospective tenants that exceeds the greater of $3,600 
or 2.5 times the portion of rent to be paid by such 
tenants.) 

f. Any of the following: (i) firm financing 
commitment(s) from the local government, local 
housing authority, Federal Home Loan Bank 
affordable housing funds, or the Rural Development 
for a below-market rate loan or grant or Rural 
Development’s interest credit used to reduce the 
interest rate on loan financing to the applicable federal 
rate; (ii) a resolution passed by the locality in which 
the proposed development is to be located committing 
such financial support to the development in a form 
approved by the authority; or (iii) a commitment to 
donate land, buildings or waive tap fee waivers from 
the local government. (The amount of such financing 
or dollar value of local support will be divided by the 
total development sources of funds and the proposed 
development receives two points for each percentage 
point up to a maximum of 40 points.) 

g. Any development subject to (i) HUD's Section 8 or 
Section 236 programs or (ii) Rural Development's 515 
program, at the time of application. (20 points, unless 
the applicant is, or has any common interests with, the 
current owner, directly or indirectly, the application 
will only qualify for these points if the applicant 
waives all rights to any developer’s fee and any other 
fees associated with the acquisition and rehabilitation 
(or rehabilitation only) of the development unless 
permitted by the executive director for good cause.) 

h. Any development receiving (i) a real estate tax 
abatement on the increase in the value of the 
development or (ii) new project-based subsidy from 
HUD or Rural Development for the greater of 5 units 
or 10% of the units of the proposed development. (10 
points) 

i. Any proposed development located in a census tract 
that has less than a 10% poverty rate (based upon 
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Census Bureau data) with no other tax credit units in 
such census tract. (25 points) 

3. Development characteristics. 

a. The average unit size. (100 points multiplied by the 
sum of the products calculated by multiplying, for 
each unit type as defined by the number of bedrooms 
per unit, (i) the quotient of the number of units of a 
given unit type divided by the total number of units in 
the proposed development, times (ii) the quotient of 
the average actual gross square footage per unit for a 
given unit type minus the lowest gross square footage 
per unit for a given unit type established by the 
executive director divided by the highest gross square 
footage per unit for a given unit type established by 
the executive director minus the lowest gross square 
footage per unit for a given unit type established by 
the executive director. If the average actual gross 
square footage per unit for a given unit type is less 
than the lowest gross square footage per unit for a 
given unit type established by the executive director or 
greater than the highest gross square footage per unit 
for a given unit type established by the executive 
director, the lowest or highest, as the case may be, 
gross square footage per unit for a given unit type 
established by the executive director shall be used in 
the above calculation rather than the actual gross 
square footage per unit for a given unit type.) 

b. Evidence satisfactory to the authority documenting 
the quality of the proposed development's amenities as 
determined by the following: 

(1) The following points are available for any 
application: 

(a) If 2-bedroom units have 1.5 bathrooms and 
3-bedroom units have 2 bathrooms. (15 points 
multiplied by the percentage of units meeting 
these requirements) 

(b) If a community/meeting room with a 
minimum of 800 square feet is provided. (5 
points) 

(c) Brick covering 30% or more of the exterior 
walls. (20 points times the percentage of exterior 
walls covered by brick) 

(d) If all kitchen and laundry appliances meet the 
EPA's Energy Star qualified program 
requirements. (5 points) 

(e) If all the windows meet the EPA's Energy Star 
qualified program requirements. (5 points) 

(f) If every unit in the development is heated and 
air conditioned with either (i) heat pump units 
with both a SEER rating of 14.0 or more and a 

HSPF rating of 9.0 8.2 or more and a variable 
speed air handling unit or thru-the-wall heat pump 
equipment that has an EER rating of 12.0 11.0 or 
more or (ii) air conditioning units with a SEER 
rating of 14.0 or more and a variable speed air 
handling unit, combined with a gas furnace with 
an AFUE rating of 90% or more. (10 points) 

(g) If the development has a minimum STC 
(sound transmission class) rating of 52 for the 
floor construction between units. (3 points) 

(h) (g) If the water expense is submetered (the 
tenant will pay monthly or bimonthly bill). (5 
points) 

(i) (h) If each bathroom contains only low-flow 
faucets and showerheads as defined by the 
authority. (3 points) 

(j) (i) If each unit is provided with the necessary 
infrastructure for high-speed cable, DSL or 
wireless Internet service. (1 point) 

(j) If all the water heaters meet the EPA’s Energy 
Star qualified program requirements.  (5 points) 

(2) The following points are available to 
applications electing to serve elderly and/or 
physically disabled tenants: 

(a) If all cooking ranges have front controls. (1 
point) 

(b) If all units have an emergency call system. (3 
points) 

(c) If all bathrooms have an independent or 
supplemental heat source. (1 point) 

(d) If all entrance doors to each unit have two eye 
viewers, one at 48 inches and the other at standard 
height. (1 point) 

(3) The following points are available to proposed 
developments which rehabilitate or adaptively reuse 
an existing structure: 

(a) If all existing, single-glazed windows in good 
condition have storm windows, and all windows 
in poor condition are replaced with new windows 
with integral storm sash or insulating glass. The 
insulating glass metal windows must have a 
thermal break. The insulated glass must have a 
10-year warranty against breakage of the seal. (3 
points) 

(b) If the structure is historic, by virtue of being 
listed individually in the National Register of 
Historic Places, or due to its location in a 
registered historic district and certified by the 
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Secretary of the Interior as being of historical 
significance to the district, and the rehabilitation 
will be completed in such a manner as to be 
eligible for historic rehabilitation tax credits. (5 
points) 

The maximum number of points that may be 
awarded under any combination of the scoring 
categories under subdivision 3 b of this section is 
60 points. 

c. Any nonelderly development in which the greater of 
5 units or 10% of the units (i) provide federal project-
based rent subsidies or equivalent assistance in order 
to ensure occupancy by extremely low-income 
persons; (ii) conform to HUD regulations interpreting 
the accessibility requirements of § 504 of the 
Rehabilitation Act; and (iii) are actively marketed to 
people with special needs in accordance with a plan 
submitted as part of the application for credits (if 
special needs includes mobility impairments, the units 
described above must include roll-in showers and roll-
under sinks and ranges). (50 points) 

d. Any nonelderly development in which the greater of 
5 units or 10% of the units (i) have rents within HUD's 
Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) payment standard; 
(ii) conform to HUD regulations interpreting the 
accessibility requirements of § 504 of the 
Rehabilitation Act; and (iii) are actively marketed to 
people with mobility impairments including HCV 
holders in accordance with a plan submitted as part of 
the application for credits. (30 points) 

e. Any nonelderly development in which 4.0% of the 
units (i) conform to HUD regulations interpreting the 
accessibility requirements of § 504 of the 
Rehabilitation Act and (ii) are actively marketed to 
people with mobility impairments in accordance with 
a plan submitted as part of the application for credits. 
(15 points) 

f. Any development located within one-half mile of an 
existing commuter rail, light rail or subway station or 
one-quarter mile of one or more existing public bus 
lines. (10 points, unless the development is located 
within the geographical area established by the 
executive director for a pool of credits for northern 
Virginia, in which case, the development will receive 
20 points if the development is ranked against other 
developments in such northern Virginia pool, 10 
points if the development is ranked against other 
developments in any other pool of credits established 
by the executive director) 

g. Any development for which the applicant agrees to 
obtain either (i) EarthCraft certification or (ii) US 
Green Building Council LEED green-building 

certification prior to the issuance of an IRS Form 8609 
with the proposed development's architect certifying in 
the application that the development's design will meet 
the criteria for such EarthCraft certification. (15 30 
points) 

h. Any development for which the applicant agrees to 
use an authority-certified property manager to manage 
the development. (25 points) 

i. If units are constructed to meet the authority’s 
universal design standards. (15 points, if all the units 
in an elderly development meet this requirement; 15 
points multiplied by the percentage of units meeting 
this requirement for nonelderly developments) 

4. Tenant population characteristics. Commitment by the 
applicant to give a leasing preference to individuals and 
families with children in developments that will have no 
more than 20% of its units with one bedroom or less. (15 
points; plus 0.75 points for each percent of the low-
income units in the development with three or more 
bedrooms up to an additional 15 points for a total of no 
more than 30 points) 

5. Sponsor characteristics. 

a. Evidence that the principal or principals, as a group 
or individually, for the proposed development have 
developed, as controlling general partner or managing 
member, (i) at least three tax credit developments that 
contain at least three times the number of housing 
units in the proposed development or (ii) at least six 
tax credit developments that contain at least the 
number of housing units in the proposed development. 
(50 points; applicants receiving points under this 
subdivision 5 a are not eligible for points under 
subdivision 1 a above) 

b. Evidence that the principal or principals for the 
proposed development have developed at least one tax 
credit development that contains at least the number of 
housing units in the proposed development. (10 
points) 

c. Any applicant that includes a principal that was a 
principal in a development at the time the authority 
reported such development to the IRS for an 
uncorrected major violation of health, safety and 
building codes. (minus 50 points for a period of three 
years after the violation has been corrected) 

d. Any applicant that includes a principal that was a 
principal in a development at the time the authority 
reported such development to the IRS for 
noncompliance that has not been corrected by the time 
a Form 8823 is filed by the authority. (minus 15 points 
for a period of three years after the time the authority 
filed Form 8823, unless the executive director 
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determines that such principal's attempts to correct 
such noncompliance was prohibited by a court, local 
government or governmental agency, in which case, 
no negative points will be assessed to the applicant) 

e. Any applicant that includes a principal that is or was 
a principal in a development that (i) did not build a 
development as represented in the application for 
credit (minus two times the number of points assigned 
to the item or items not built or minus 20 points for 
failing to provide a minimum building requirement, 
for a period of three years after the last Form 8609 is 
issued for the development, in addition to any other 
penalties the authority may seek under its agreements 
with the applicant), or (ii) has a reservation of credits 
terminated by the authority (minus 10 points a period 
of three years after the credits are returned to the 
authority). 

f. Any applicant that includes a management company 
in its application that is rated unsatisfactory by the 
executive director or if the ownership of any applicant 
includes a principal that is or was a principal in a 
development that hired a management company to 
manage a tax credit development after such 
management company received a rating of 
unsatisfactory from the executive director during the 
extended use period of such development. (minus 25 
points) 

g. Evidence that a US Green Building Council LEED 
certified design professional participated in the design 
of the proposed development. (10 points) 

h. Evidence that the proposed development's architect 
has completed the Fair Housing Accessibility First 
program offered by HUD or an equivalent 
organization and the certificate is attached with the 
architect's certification. (5 points) 

i. Evidence that the proposed development's architect 
has attended the authority's Universal Design 
symposium and the certificate of attendance is 
attached with the architect's certification. (5 points) 

j. Evidence that the proposed development’s architect 
has attended an EarthCraft Virginia multifamily 
professional training seminar and the certificate of 
attendance is attached with the architect’s certification. 
(5 points) 

6. Efficient use of resources. 

a. The percentage by which the total of the amount of 
credits per low-income housing unit (the "per unit 
credit amount") of the proposed development is less 
than the standard per unit credit amounts established 
by the executive director for a given unit type, based 
upon the number of such unit types in the proposed 

development. (180 points multiplied by the percentage 
by which the total amount of the per unit credit 
amount of the proposed development is less than the 
applicable standard per unit credit amount established 
by the executive director, negative points will be 
assessed using the percentage by which the total 
amount of the per unit credit amount of the proposed 
development exceeds the applicable standard per unit 
credit amount established by the executive director.) 

b. The percentage by which the cost per low-income 
housing unit (the "per unit cost"), adjusted by the 
authority for location, of the proposed development is 
less than the standard per unit cost amounts 
established by the executive director for a given unit 
type, based upon the number of such unit types in the 
proposed development. (75 points multiplied by the 
percentage by which the total amount of the per unit 
cost of the proposed development is less than the 
applicable standard per unit cost amount established 
by the executive director.) 

The executive director may use a standard per square 
foot credit amount and a standard per square foot cost 
amount in establishing the per unit credit amount and 
the per unit cost amount in subdivision 6 above. For 
the purpose of calculating the points to be assigned 
pursuant to such subdivision 6 above, all credit 
amounts shall include any credits previously allocated 
to the development, and the per unit credit amount for 
any building documented by the applicant to be 
located in both a revitalization area and either (i) a 
qualified census tract or (ii) difficult development area 
(such tract or area being as defined in the IRC) shall 
be determined based upon 100% of the eligible basis 
of such building, in the case of new construction, or 
100% of the rehabilitation expenditures, in the case of 
rehabilitation of an existing building, notwithstanding 
any use by the applicant of 130% of such eligible basis 
or rehabilitation expenditures in determining the 
amount of credits as provided in the IRC. 

7. Bonus points. 

a. Commitment by the applicant to impose income 
limits on the low-income housing units throughout the 
extended use period (as defined in the IRC) below 
those required by the IRC in order for the development 
to be a qualified low-income development. Applicants 
receiving points under this subdivision a may not 
receive points under subdivision b below. (The 
product of (i) 50 points multiplied by (ii) the 
percentage of housing units in the proposed 
development both rent restricted to and occupied by 
households at or below 50% of the area median gross 
income; plus 1 point for each percentage point of such 
housing units in the proposed development which are 
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further restricted to rents at or below 30% of 40% of 
the area median gross income up to an additional 10 
points.) 

b. Commitment by the applicant to impose rent limits 
on the low-income housing units throughout the 
extended use period (as defined in the IRC) below 
those required by the IRC in order for the development 
to be a qualified low-income development. Applicants 
receiving points under this subdivision b may not 
receive points under subdivision a above. (The product 
of (i) 25 points (50 points for proposed developments 
in low-income jurisdictions) multiplied by (ii) the 
percentage of housing units in the proposed 
development rent restricted to households at or below 
50% of the area median gross income; plus 1 point for 
each percentage point of such housing units in the 
proposed development which are further restricted to 
rents at or below 30% of 40% of the area median gross 
income up to an additional 10 points.) 

c. Commitment by the applicant to maintain the low-
income housing units in the development as a 
qualified low-income housing development beyond 
the 30-year extended use period (as defined in the 
IRC). Applicants receiving points under this 
subdivision c may not receive bonus points under 
subdivision d below. (40 points for a 10-year 
commitment beyond the 30-year extended use period 
or 50 points for a 20-year commitment beyond the 30-
year extended use period.) 

d. Participation by a local housing authority or 
qualified nonprofit organization (substantially based or 
active in the community with at least a 10% ownership 
interest in the general partnership interest of the 
partnership) and a commitment by the applicant to sell 
the proposed development pursuant to an executed, 
recordable option or right of first refusal to such local 
housing authority or qualified nonprofit organization 
or to a wholly owned subsidiary of such organization 
or authority, at the end of the 15-year compliance 
period, as defined by IRC, for a price not to exceed the 
outstanding debt and exit taxes of the for-profit entity. 
The applicant must record such option or right of first 
refusal immediately after the low-income housing 
commitment described in 13 VAC 10-180-70 and give 
the qualified nonprofit veto power over any 
refinancing of the development. Applicants receiving 
points under this subdivision d may not receive bonus 
points under subdivision c above. (60 points; plus 5 
points if the local housing authority or qualified 
nonprofit organization submits a homeownership plan 
satisfactory to the authority in which the local housing 
authority or qualified nonprofit organization commits 
to sell the units in the development to tenants.) 

In calculating the points for subdivisions 7 a and b above, 
any units in the proposed development required by the 
locality to exceed 60% of the area median gross income 
will not be considered when calculating the percentage of 
low-income units of the proposed development with 
incomes below those required by the IRC in order for the 
development to be a qualified low-income development, 
provided that the locality submits evidence satisfactory to 
the authority of such requirement. 

After points have been assigned to each application in the 
manner described above, the executive director shall 
compute the total number of points assigned to each such 
application. Notwithstanding any other provisions herein, 
any application that is assigned a total number of points 
less than a threshold amount of 300 points (250 points for 
developments financed with tax-exempt bonds) shall be 
rejected from further consideration hereunder and shall not 
be eligible for any reservation or allocation of credits. 

The executive director may exclude and disregard any 
application which he determines is not submitted in good 
faith or which he determines would not be financially 
feasible. 

Upon assignment of points to all of the applications, the 
executive director shall rank the applications based on the 
number of points so assigned. If any pools shall have been 
established, each application shall be assigned to a pool 
and, if any, to the appropriate tier within such pool and 
shall be ranked within such pool or tier, if any. The amount 
of credits made available to each pool will be determined 
by the executive director. Available credits will include 
unreserved per capita dollar amount credits from the 
current calendar year under § 42(h)(3)(C)(i) of the IRC, 
any unreserved per capita credits from previous calendar 
years, and credits returned to the authority prior to the final 
ranking of the applications and may include up to 10% of 
next calendar year's per capita credits as shall be 
determined by the executive director. Those applications 
assigned more points shall be ranked higher than those 
applications assigned fewer points. However, if any set-
asides established by the executive director cannot be 
satisfied after ranking the applications based on the number 
of points, the executive director may rank as many 
applications as necessary to meet the requirements of such 
set-aside (selecting the highest ranked application, or 
applications, meeting the requirements of the set-aside) 
over applications with more points. 

In the event of a tie in the number of points assigned to two 
or more applications within the same pool, or, if none, 
within the Commonwealth, and in the event that the 
amount of credits available for reservation to such 
applications is determined by the executive director to be 
insufficient for the financial feasibility of all of the 
developments described therein, the authority shall, to the 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 25, 2007 

3540 

extent necessary to fully utilize the amount of credits 
available for reservation within such pool or, if none, 
within the Commonwealth, select one or more of the 
applications with the highest combination of points from 
subdivision 7 above, and each application so selected shall 
receive (in order based upon the number of such points, 
beginning with the application with the highest number of 
such points) a reservation of credits. If two or more of the 
tied applications receive the same number of points from 
subdivision 7 above and if the amount of credits available 
for reservation to such tied applications is determined by 
the executive director to be insufficient for the financial 
feasibility of all the developments described therein, the 
executive director shall select one or more of such 
applications by lot, and each application so selected by lot 
shall receive (in order of such selection by lot) a 
reservation of credits. 

For each application which may receive a reservation of 
credits, the executive director shall determine the amount, 
as of the date of the deadline for submission of applications 
for reservation of credits, to be necessary for the financial 
feasibility of the development and its viability as a 
qualified low-income development throughout the credit 
period under the IRC. In making this determination, the 
executive director shall consider the sources and uses of 
the funds, the available federal, state and local subsidies 
committed to the development, the total financing planned 
for the development as well as the investment proceeds or 
receipts expected by the authority to be generated with 
respect to the development, and the percentage of the credit 
dollar amount used for development costs other than the 
costs of intermediaries. He shall also examine the 
development's costs, including developer's fees and other 
amounts in the application, for reasonableness and, if he 
determines that such costs or other amounts are 
unreasonably high, he shall reduce them to amounts that he 
determines to be reasonable. The executive director shall 
review the applicant's projected rental income, operating 
expenses and debt service for the credit period. The 
executive director may establish such criteria and 
assumptions as he shall deem reasonable for the purpose of 
making such determination, including, without limitation, 
criteria as to the reasonableness of fees and profits and 
assumptions as to the amount of net syndication proceeds 
to be received (based upon such percentage of the credit 
dollar amount used for development costs, other than the 
costs of intermediaries, as the executive director shall 
determine to be reasonable for the proposed development), 
increases in the market value of the development, and 
increases in operating expenses, rental income and, in the 
case of applications without firm financing commitments 
(as defined hereinabove) at fixed interest rates, debt service 
on the proposed mortgage loan. The executive director 
may, if he deems it appropriate, consider the development 
to be a part of a larger development. In such a case, the 

executive director may consider, examine, review and 
establish any or all of the foregoing items as to the larger 
development in making such determination for the 
development. 

At such time or times during each calendar year as the 
executive director shall designate, the executive director 
shall reserve credits to applications in descending order of 
ranking within each pool and tier, if applicable, until either 
substantially all credits therein are reserved or all qualified 
applications therein have received reservations. (For the 
purpose of the preceding sentence, if there is not more than 
a de minimis amount, as determined by the executive 
director, of credits remaining in a pool after reservations 
have been made, "substantially all" of the credits in such 
pool shall be deemed to have been reserved.) The 
executive director may rank the applications within pools 
at different times for different pools and may reserve 
credits, based on such rankings, one or more times with 
respect to each pool. The executive director may also 
establish more than one round of review and ranking of 
applications and reservation of credits based on such 
rankings, and he shall designate the amount of credits to be 
made available for reservation within each pool during 
each such round. The amount reserved to each such 
application shall be equal to the lesser of (i) the amount 
requested in the application or (ii) an amount determined 
by the executive director, as of the date of application, to 
be necessary for the financial feasibility of the 
development and its viability as a qualified low-income 
development throughout the credit period under the IRC; 
provided, however, that in no event shall the amount of 
credits so reserved exceed the maximum amount 
permissible under the IRC. 

Not more than 20% of the credits in any pool may be 
reserved to developments intended to provide elderly 
housing, unless the feasible credit amount, as determined 
by the executive director, of the highest ranked elderly 
housing development in any pool exceeds 20% of the 
credits in such pool, then such elderly housing 
development shall be the only elderly housing 
development eligible for a reservation of credits from such 
pool. However, if credits remain available for reservation 
after all eligible nonelderly housing developments receive 
a reservation of credits, such remaining credits may be 
made available to additional elderly housing developments. 
The above limitation of credits available for elderly 
housing shall not include elderly housing developments 
with project-based subsidy providing rental assistance for 
at least 20% of the units that are submitted as rehabilitation 
developments or assisted living facilities licensed under 
Chapter 17 of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

If the amount of credits available in any pool is determined 
by the executive director to be insufficient for the financial 
feasibility of the proposed development to which such 
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available credits are to be reserved, the executive director 
may move the proposed development and the credits 
available to another pool. If any credits remain in any pool 
after moving proposed developments and credits to another 
pool, the executive director may for developments that 
meet the requirements of § 42(h)(1)(E) of the IRC only, 
reserve the remaining credits to any proposed 
development(s) scoring at or above the minimum point 
threshold established by this chapter without regard to the 
ranking of such application with additional credits from the 
Commonwealth's annual state housing credit ceiling for the 
following year in such an amount necessary for the 
financial feasibility of the proposed development, or 
developments. However, the reservation of credits from the 
Commonwealth's annual state housing credit ceiling for the 
following year shall be in the reasonable discretion of the 
executive director if he determines it to be in the best 
interest of the plan. In the event a reservation or an 
allocation of credits from the current year or a prior year is 
reduced, terminated or cancelled, the executive director 
may substitute such credits for any credits reserved from 
the following year's annual state housing credit ceiling. 

In the event that during any round of application review 
and ranking the amount of credits reserved within any 
pools is less than the total amount of credits made available 
therein during such round, the executive director may 
either (i) leave such unreserved credits in such pools for 
reservation and allocation in any subsequent round or 
rounds or (ii) redistribute such unreserved credits to such 
other pool or pools as the executive director may designate 
or (iii) carry over such unreserved credits to the next 
succeeding calendar year for inclusion in the state housing 
credit ceiling (as defined in § 42(h)(3)(C) of the IRC) for 
such year. 

Notwithstanding anything contained herein, the total 
amount of credits that may be awarded in any credit year 
after credit year 2001 to any applicant or to any related 
applicants for one or more developments shall not exceed 
15% of Virginia's per capita dollar amount of credits for 
such credit year (the "credit cap"). However, if the amount 
of credits to be reserved in any such credit year to all 
applications assigned a total number of points at or above 
the threshold amount set forth above shall be less than 
Virginia's dollar amount of credits available for such credit 
year, then the authority's board of commissioners may 
waive the credit cap to the extent it deems necessary to 
reserve credits in an amount at least equal to such dollar 
amount of credits. Applicants shall be deemed to be related 
if any principal in a proposed development or any person 
or entity related to the applicant or principal will be a 
principal in any other proposed development or 
developments. For purposes of this paragraph, a principal 
shall also include any person or entity who, in the 
determination of the executive director, has exercised or 

will exercise, directly or indirectly, substantial control over 
the applicant or has performed or will perform (or has 
assisted or will assist the applicant in the performance of), 
directly or indirectly, substantial responsibilities or 
functions customarily performed by applicants with respect 
to applications or developments. For the purpose of 
determining whether any person or entity is related to the 
applicant or principal, persons or entities shall be deemed 
to be related if the executive director determines that any 
substantial relationship existed, either directly between 
them or indirectly through a series of one or more 
substantial relationships (e.g., if party A has a substantial 
relationship with party B and if party B has a substantial 
relationship with party C, then A has a substantial 
relationship with both party B and party C), at any time 
within three years of the filing of the application for the 
credits. In determining in any credit year whether an 
applicant has a substantial relationship with another 
applicant with respect to any application for which credits 
were awarded in any prior credit year, the executive 
director shall determine whether the applicants were 
related as of the date of the filing of such prior credit year's 
application or within three years prior thereto and shall not 
consider any relationships or any changes in relationships 
subsequent to such date. Substantial relationships shall 
include, but not be limited to, the following relationships 
(in each of the following relationships, the persons or 
entities involved in the relationship are deemed to be 
related to each other): (i) the persons are in the same 
immediate family (including, without limitation, a spouse, 
children, parents, grandparents, grandchildren, brothers, 
sisters, uncles, aunts, nieces, and nephews) and are living 
in the same household; (ii) the entities have one or more 
common general partners or members (including related 
persons and entities), or the entities have one or more 
common owners that (by themselves or together with any 
other related persons and entities) have, in the aggregate, 
5.0% or more ownership interest in each entity; (iii) the 
entities are under the common control (e.g., the same 
person or persons and any related persons serve as a 
majority of the voting members of the boards of such 
entities or as chief executive officers of such entities) of 
one or more persons or entities (including related persons 
and entities); (iv) the person is a general partner, member 
or employee in the entity or is an owner (by himself or 
together with any other related persons and entities) of 
5.0% or more ownership interest in the entity; (v) the entity 
is a general partner or member in the other entity or is an 
owner (by itself or together with any other related persons 
and entities) of 5.0% or more ownership interest in the 
other entity; or (vi) the person or entity is otherwise 
controlled, in whole or in part, by the other person or 
entity. In determining compliance with the credit cap with 
respect to any application, the executive director may 
exclude any person or entity related to the applicant or to 
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any principal in such applicant if the executive director 
determines that (i) such person or entity will not 
participate, directly or indirectly, in matters relating to the 
applicant or the ownership of the development to be 
assisted by the credits for which the application is 
submitted, (ii) such person or entity has no agreement or 
understanding relating to such application or the tax credits 
requested therein, and (iii) such person or entity will not 
receive a financial benefit from the tax credits requested in 
the application. A limited partner or other similar investor 
shall not be determined to be a principal and shall be 
excluded from the determination of related persons or 
entities unless the executive director shall determine that 
such limited partner or investor will, directly or indirectly, 
exercise control over the applicant or participate in matters 
relating to the ownership of the development substantially 
beyond the degree of control or participation that is usual 
and customary for limited partners or other similar 
investors with respect to developments assisted by the 
credits. If the award of multiple applications of any 
applicant or related applicants in any credit year shall 
cause the credit cap to be exceeded, such applicant or 
applicants shall, upon notice from the authority, jointly 
designate those applications for which credits are not to be 
reserved so that such limitation shall not be exceeded. Such 
notice shall specify the date by which such designation 
shall be made. In the absence of any such designation by 
the date specified in such notice, the executive director 
shall make such designation as he shall determine to best 
serve the interests of the program. Each applicant and each 
principal therein shall make such certifications, shall 
disclose such facts and shall submit such documents to the 
authority as the executive director may require to 
determine compliance with credit cap. If an applicant or 
any principal therein makes any misrepresentation to the 
authority concerning such applicant's or principal's 
relationship with any other person or entity, the executive 
director may reject any or all of such applicant's pending 
applications for reservation or allocation of credits, may 
terminate any or all reservations of credits to the applicant, 
and may prohibit such applicant, the principals therein and 
any persons and entities then or thereafter having a 
substantial relationship (in the determination of the 
executive director as described above) with the applicant or 
any principal therein from submitting applications for 
credits for such period of time as the executive director 
shall determine. 

Within a reasonable time after credits are reserved to any 
applicants' applications, the executive director shall notify 
each applicant for such reservations of credits either of the 
amount of credits reserved to such applicant's application 
(by issuing to such applicant a written binding commitment 
to allocate such reserved credits subject to such terms and 
conditions as may be imposed by the executive director 
therein, by the IRC and by this chapter) or, as applicable, 

that the applicant's application has been rejected or 
excluded or has otherwise not been reserved credits in 
accordance herewith. The written binding commitment 
shall prohibit any transfer, direct or indirect, of partnership 
interests (except those involving the admission of limited 
partners) prior to the placed-in-service date of the proposed 
development unless the transfer is consented to by the 
executive director. The written binding commitment shall 
further limit the developers' fees to the amounts established 
during the review of the applications for reservation of 
credits and such amounts shall not be increased unless 
consented to by the executive director. The executive 
director shall, as a condition to the binding commitment, 
require each applicant to obtain a market study, in form 
and substance satisfactory to the authority, that shows 
adequate demand for the housing units to be produced by 
each applicant's proposed development. 

If credits are reserved to any applicants for developments 
which have also received an allocation of credits from 
prior years, the executive director may reserve additional 
credits from the current year equal to the amount of credits 
allocated to such developments from prior years, provided 
such previously allocated credits are returned to the 
authority. Any previously allocated credits returned to the 
authority under such circumstances shall be placed into the 
credit pools from which the current year's credits are 
reserved to such applicants. 

The executive director shall make a written explanation 
available to the general public for any allocation of 
housing credit dollar amount which is not made in 
accordance with established priorities and selection criteria 
of the authority. 

The authority's board shall review and consider the 
analysis and recommendation of the executive director for 
the reservation of credits to an applicant, and, if it concurs 
with such recommendation, it shall by resolution ratify the 
reservation by the executive director of the credits to the 
applicant, subject to such terms and conditions as it shall 
deem necessary or appropriate to assure compliance with 
the aforementioned binding commitment issued or to be 
issued to the applicant, the IRC and this chapter. If the 
board determines not to ratify a reservation of credits or to 
establish any such terms and conditions, the executive 
director shall so notify the applicant. 

Subsequent to such ratification of the reservation of 
credits, the executive director may, in his discretion and 
without ratification or approval by the board, increase the 
amount of such reservation by an amount not to exceed 
10% of the initial reservation amount. 

The executive director may require the applicant to make a 
good faith deposit or to execute such contractual 
agreements providing for monetary or other remedies as it 
may require, or both, to assure that the applicant will 
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comply with all requirements under the IRC, this chapter 
and the binding commitment (including, without 
limitation, any requirement to conform to all of the 
representations, commitments and information contained in 
the application for which points were assigned pursuant to 
this section). Upon satisfaction of all such aforementioned 
requirements (including any post-allocation requirements), 
such deposit shall be refunded to the applicant or such 
contractual agreements shall terminate, or both, as 
applicable. 

If, as of the date the application is approved by the 
executive director, the applicant is entitled to an allocation 
of the credits under the IRC, this chapter and the terms of 
any binding commitment that the authority would have 
otherwise issued to such applicant, the executive director 
may at that time allocate the credits to such qualified low-
income buildings or development without first providing a 
reservation of such credits. This provision in no way limits 
the authority of the executive director to require a good 
faith deposit or contractual agreement, or both, as 
described in the preceding paragraph, nor to relieve the 
applicant from any other requirements hereunder for 
eligibility for an allocation of credits. Any such allocation 
shall be subject to ratification by the board in the same 
manner as provided above with respect to reservations. 

The executive director may require that applicants to 
whom credits have been reserved shall submit from time to 
time or at such specified times as he shall require, written 
confirmation and documentation as to the status of the 
proposed development and its compliance with the 
application, the binding commitment and any contractual 
agreements between the applicant and the authority. If on 
the basis of such written confirmation and documentation 
as the executive director shall have received in response to 
such a request, or on the basis of such other available 
information, or both, the executive director determines any 
or all of the buildings in the development which were to 
become qualified low-income buildings will not do so 
within the time period required by the IRC or will not 
otherwise qualify for such credits under the IRC, this 
chapter or the binding commitment, then the executive 
director may (i) terminate the reservation of such credits 
and draw on any good faith deposit, or (ii) substitute the 
reservation of credits from the current credit year with a 
reservation of credits from a future credit year, if the delay 
is caused by a lawsuit beyond the applicant’s control that 
prevents the applicant from proceeding with the 
development. If, in lieu of or in addition to the foregoing 
determination, the executive director determines that any 
contractual agreements between the applicant and the 
authority have been breached by the applicant, whether 
before or after allocation of the credits, he may seek to 
enforce any and all remedies to which the authority may 
then be entitled under such contractual agreements. 

The executive director may establish such deadlines for 
determining the ability of the applicant to qualify for an 
allocation of credits as he shall deem necessary or 
desirable to allow the authority sufficient time, in the event 
of a reduction or termination of the applicant's reservation, 
to reserve such credits to other eligible applications and to 
allocate such credits pursuant thereto. 

Any material changes to the development, as proposed in 
the application, occurring subsequent to the submission of 
the application for the credits therefor shall be subject to 
the prior written approval of the executive director. As a 
condition to any such approval, the executive director may, 
as necessary to comply with this chapter, the IRC, the 
binding commitment and any other contractual agreement 
between the authority and the applicant, reduce the amount 
of credits applied for or reserved or impose additional 
terms and conditions with respect thereto. If such changes 
are made without the prior written approval of the 
executive director, he may terminate or reduce the 
reservation of such credits, impose additional terms and 
conditions with respect thereto, seek to enforce any 
contractual remedies to which the authority may then be 
entitled, draw on any good faith deposit, or any 
combination of the foregoing. 

In the event that any reservation of credits is terminated or 
reduced by the executive director under this section, he 
may reserve, allocate or carry over, as applicable, such 
credits in such manner as he shall determine consistent 
with the requirements of the IRC and this chapter. 

Nothwithstanding the provisions of this section, the 
executive director may make a reservation of credits to any 
applicant that proposes a nonelderly development intended 
to serve people with disabilities and (i) provides rent 
subsidies or equivalent assistance in order to ensure 
occupancy by extremely low-income persons; (ii) 
conforms to HUD regulations interpreting the accessibility 
requirements of § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act; and (iii) 
will be actively marketed to people with disabilities in 
accordance with a plan submitted as part of the application 
for credits and approved by the executive director. Any 
such reservations made in any calendar year may be up to 
3.0% of the Commonwealth's annual state housing credit 
ceiling for the applicable credit year. However, such 
reservation will be for credits from the Commonwealth's 
annual state housing credit ceiling from the following 
calendar year. 

Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, the 
executive director may make a reservation of credits, to 
any applicant that proposes to acquire and rehabilitate a 
nonelderly development within Arlington County, Fairfax 
County, Alexandria City, Fairfax City or Falls Church City 
that the executive director determines (i) cannot be 
acquired within the schedule for the competitive scoring 
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process described in this section and (ii) cannot be 
financed with tax-exempt bonds using the authority's 
normal underwriting criteria for its multifamily tax-exempt 
bond program. Any proposed development subject to an 
application submitted under this paragraph must meet the 
following criteria: (i) at least 20% of the units in the 
development must be low-income housing units for 
residents at 50% of the area median income or less, (ii) the 
development must be eligible for points under subdivision 
3 b (1) (g) of this section or a combination of at least 20 
points under subdivisions 3 b (1) (b) through 3 b (1) (j), 
excluding subdivision 3 b (1) (c), (iii) the executive 
director's review of the application must confirm that the 
portion of the developer's fee to be deferred is at least 5.0% 
of the total development costs, and (iv) participation by the 
local government in the form of low-interest loan/grant 
moneys from such locality's affordable housing funds in an 
amount equal to or greater than 20% of the total 
development costs, and (v) the application for the 
development must obtain as many points as the lowest 
ranked development that could have received a partial 
reservation of credits from the geographic pool in which 
the applicant would have been ranked in the most recent 
competitive scoring round. Any such reservations made in 
any calendar year may be up to 15% of the 
Commonwealth's annual state housing credit ceiling for the 
applicable credit year, of which at least 10% of the 
Commonwealth’s annual state housing credit ceiling for 
the applicable credit year will be reserved for 
developments within Arlington County, Fairfax County, 
Alexandria City, Fairfax City or Falls Church City. 
However, such reservation will be for credits from the 
Commonwealth's annual state housing credit ceiling from 
the following calendar year. Applicants and the principals 
of such applicant applying for credits under this paragraph 
may not submit an application for credits for the same 
development under the competitive scoring process in this 
section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-272; Filed June 6, 2007, 10:32 a.m. 

  –––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations:  16 VAC 25-75. General Industry 
Standard for Telecommunications, General, Approach 
Distances (adding 16 VAC 25-75-10). 

16 VAC 25-90. Federal Identical General Industry 
Standards (29 CFR Part 1910) (repealing 16 VAC 25-
90-1910.268 (b) (7)). 

Statutory Authority:  § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia; 
Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (P.L. 91-596). 

Effective Date:  July 26, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  John Crisanti, Policy Analyst Senior, 
Department of Labor and Industry, Powers Taylor 
Building, 13 South 13th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, or email 
john.crisanti@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action provides that telecommunications 
workers be required to protect themselves from both 
electrical parts upon which they are currently working 
and from electric wires adjacent to any area in which 
they are working by repealing language in the current 
telecommunications standard fro the federal identical 
regulation (29 CFR 1910.268) and replacing it with a 
more stringent standard patterned on the requirements 
in the electric power generation, transmission, and 
distribution standard (29 CFR 1910.269).  

The final regulation clarifies that when an employee is 
wearing insulating gloves and/or sleeves in accordance 
with 16 VAC 25-90-1910.269(l)(3), those insulating 
gloves or insulating gloves and sleeves will only be 
considered insulation of that part of the employee’s 
extremities covered by the gloves and/or sleeves.  If 
other parts of the employee’s body or extremities are 
exposed to energized parts inside the minimum approach 
distances, additional protective measures outlined in 
16 VAC 25-75-1910.268(b)(7)(i) must be provided. The 
amendment does not affect the minimum approach 
distances referenced in § 1910.268(b)(7) and contained 
in Table R-2.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the 
agency's response may be obtained from the promulgating 
agency or viewed at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations. 

CHAPTER 75. 
GENERAL INDUSTRY STANDARD FOR 

TELECOMMUNICATIONS, GENERAL, APPROACH 
DISTANCES. 

16 VAC 25-75-10. General; approach distances. 

A. No employee shall be permitted to approach or take any 
conductive object [ without an approved insulating handle ] 
closer to exposed energized parts than shown in subsection 
B (Table R-2) of this section unless: 

1. The employee is insulated or guarded from the 
energized parts (insulating gloves or insulating gloves 
and sleeves worn in accordance with 16 VAC 25-90-
1910.269(l)(3) are [ only ] considered insulation of [ that 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 25, 2007 

3545 

part of  ] the [ employee only with regard to the 
energized part upon which work is being performed 
employee's extremities covered by the insulating gloves 
or insulating gloves and sleeves ]); 

2. The energized part is insulated or guarded from him 
and any other conductive object at a different potential; 
or 

3. The power conductors and equipment are deenergized 
and grounded. 

B. Approach distances to exposed energized overhead 
power lines and parts. 

TABLE R-2. 

Approach Distances to Exposed Energized Overhead 
Power Lines and Parts. 

 

Voltage range (phase to phase, 
RMS) 

Approach 
distance (inches) 

300 V and less (1) 

Over 300 V, not over 750V 12 

Over 750 V not over 2 kV 18 

Over 2 kV, not over 15 kV 24 

Over 15 kV, not over 37 kV 36 

Over 37 kV, not over 87.5 kV 42 

Over 87.5 kV, not over 121 kV 48 

Over 121 kV, not over 140kV 54 
(1) Avoid contact. 
 

EDITOR'S NOTE:  The Safety and Health Codes Board is 
repealing subdivision (b)(7) of 16 VAC 25-90-1910.268.  
The portion of the regulation being repealed is set out; the 
remainder of the section is not set out. 

16 VAC 25-90-1910.268. Telecommunications. 

* * * 

(b) General. 

(7) Approach distances to exposed energized overhead 
power lines and parts.  The employer shall ensure that no 
employee approaches or takes any conductive object 
closer to any electrically energized overhead power lines 
and parts than prescribed in Table R-2, unless: 

(i) The employee is insulated or guarded from the 
energized parts (insulating gloves rated for the voltage 
involved shall be considered adequate insulation), or 

(ii) The energized parts are insulated or guarded from 
the employee and any other conductive object at a 
different potential, or 

(iii) The power conductors and equipment are 
deenergized and grounded. 

* * * 
VA.R. Doc. No. R05-234; Filed June 4, 2007, 4:09 p.m. 

  –––––––––––––––––   

TITLE. 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 10-20. Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 
Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects 
Regulations (amending 18 VAC 10-20-230). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-201, 54.1-404, and 54.1-411 
of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until August 24, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Effective Date:  September 10, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, 
Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Land 
Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers and Landscape 
Architects, 3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 367-0795, or email 
apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia empowers 
the regulatory boards to promulgate regulations that are 
necessary to ensure continued competency, prevent 
deceptive or misleading practices by practitioners, and 
effectively administer the regulatory system administered 
by the regulatory board. 

Section 54.1-404 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
board the authority to promulgate regulations governing its 
own organization, the professional qualifications of 
applicants, the requirements necessary for passing 
examinations in whole or in part, the proper conduct of its 
examinations, the implementation of exemptions from 
license requirements, and the proper discharge of its duties. 
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Section 54.1-411 of the Code of Virginia requires the 
board to adopt regulations governing the registration of 
persons, corporations, partnerships, limited liability 
companies, sole proprietors and other entities offering or 
rendering the practice of architecture, engineering, land 
surveying or offering the title of certified landscape 
architect or certified interior designer. 

Purpose:  It was recently discovered that engineering 
degrees could be purchased online and awarded based on 
life experience.  Such degrees are of dubious value and 
could potentially allow an individual, who would otherwise 
not qualify for licensure, to become licensed and thereby 
endanger the health, safety and welfare of the public.  The 
amendment would clarify that legitimate degrees are 
required to meet the educational standards of the board's 
regulations (and consequently prohibit mail-order, life 
experience degrees) for engineer-in-training and 
professional engineer applicants. 

Substance:  The amendment to 18 VAC 10-20-230 would 
prohibit mail-order, life experience degrees for engineer-
in-training and professional engineer applicants. 

Issues:  The public and the Commonwealth are better 
protected in that individuals with dubious educational 
credentials would not be allowed to become licensed 
without sufficient experience to address shortcomings in 
their education.  There are no anticipated disadvantages to 
the public or the Commonwealth. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process:  There will be no 
adverse impact on the public and no opposition is 
anticipated.  In addition, the board never intended to accept 
such degrees and, until recently, believed that its 
regulations would prevent such degrees from satisfying the 
board's current requirements. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

The Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Land 
Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers and Landscape 
Architects (Board) proposes to require that applicants for 
licensure complete their prerequisite education at an 
accredited or approved institution or program. 

Summary of the Proposed Regulation.  The Board of 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 
Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects 
(Board) proposes to require that applicants for licensure 
complete their prerequisite education at an accredited or 
approved institution or program. 

Result of Analysis.  There is insufficient information to 
compare the magnitude of costs versus benefits for this 
regulatory change.  Possible costs and benefits are 
discussed in the estimated economic impact section below. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  Current regulation contains 
multiple paths to licensure that require different 
combinations of education and experience.  Required 
education can currently be obtained at a program that is 
approved by the Accreditation Board for Engineering and 
Technology (ABET) or from a program that does not have 
ABET approval. Experience requirements for licensure 
(and engineer in training (EIT) designation) are greater for 
individuals who complete non-approved education. There 
are currently no explicit restrictions on what non-approved 
education is acceptable to the Board.  

Current regulation contains two paths to EIT designation 
using non-approved education.  These paths require 
between two and six years of "progressive, qualifying 
engineering experience" and successful completion of the 
Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) exam. Once individuals 
using these paths attain EIT designation, they would need 
to get two to four more years of qualifying experience and 
successfully complete the Principles of Engineering (PE) 
exam before they are fully licensed as engineers1. 
Additionally, there is a path to licensure using non-
approved education which bypasses the need to gain EIT 
designation. This path requires individuals to have 20 years 
of qualifying experience and to successfully complete the 
PE exam before licensure.  

The Board recently received an application for 
examination which, for the first time, used a "life-
experience" degree to meet education requirements. This 
degree came from a non-accredited program that does not 
require classroom instruction or testing, but instead relies 
on an individual’s assertion of relevant work experience to 
meet degree requirements. Such programs are likely 
dubious, but do meet current regulatory requirements.  The 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
(DPOR) reports that it was never the intent of the Board to 
allow individuals using this type of education to be 
licensed; as a consequence, the Board now proposes to 
require all non-approved education to be completed at a 
college or university that is approved or accredited by an 
accrediting organization that is recognized by the U.S. 
Department of Education.  

This regulatory change will assure that applicants for 
licensure complete their education at institutions (both 
brick-and mortar and virtual) that require classroom 
instruction and testing to insure competency.  To the extent 
that restricting education in this manner ensures that future 
engineers get the knowledge that is necessary for 
competency, this regulatory change will benefit the public. 
This change will only benefit the public, however, if 

                                                           
1 In order to sit for the PE exam, applicants on these two paths would have had to 
have, respectively, six and ten years of qualifying experience. The Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) reports that this experience is 
cumulative and includes experience already verified before these applicants sat for 
the FE exam. 
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necessary knowledge could only be obtained through 
classroom instruction rather than on-the-job training or 
independent study.  In theory, successful completion of 
Board exams would assure that applicants have the 
knowledge necessary for competency. DPOR reports, 
however, that there are concerns that experience 
requirements (which require employers to certify that 
candidates have successfully completed qualifying 
experience) and Board exams are not sufficient stopgaps 
against licensure of incompetent individuals. DPOR could 
not readily obtain experience certification or exam scores 
for the individual who had used a "life experience" degree 
to meet education requirements, but also does not report 
that there have been any complaints concerning this 
individual’s performance. 

DPOR reports that "life experience" degrees can be 
obtained for $500-$1,000. Research indicated that tuition 
for a four year education at an accredited state college or 
university ranges from $15,000 (for in-state students) to 
$105,000 (for out-of-state students). Four years of tuition 
at an accredited private college or university can exceed 
$140,000. Individuals in the process of obtaining a 
traditional education also incur other explicit costs for 
books and supplies as well as the implicit cost of the 
considerable time spent on educational activities. This 
regulatory change will impose a (possibly quite large) cost 
on individuals who might wish to use a cheaper "life 
experience" degree to meet Board educational 
requirements, but who will now be barred from doing so. 
The use of "life experience" degrees has the potential to 
lower the total cost of obtaining engineering licensure and, 
consequently, has the potential to encourage more 
individuals to become engineers. If the supply of engineers 
increases, the market price of their services would likely 
decrease. Because of this, the proposed regulation may also 
impede future cost savings for users of engineering 
services.  

Businesses and Entities Affected.  This regulatory change 
will affect all individuals who will apply for licensure as 
engineers and who have not completed an ABET approved 
education program. DPOR does not keep a count of how 
many individuals are newly licensed each year, but does 
report that the Board currently licenses 24,282 engineers. 
A year ago the Board had only 23,761 engineer licensees. 
As DPOR believes that the number of licensees who 
choose to not renew their license is negligible, the Board 
appears to have licensed roughly 500 engineers in the last 
year. DPOR reports that a small fraction of these 
individuals would have gained licensure using one of the 
affected paths to licensure.  

Localities Particularly Affected.  No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory change. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  This proposed 
regulatory change will likely not cause a decrease in the 
number of individuals currently employed as engineers, but 
may suppress increases in the pool of available engineers 
that might have occurred if education was not restricted to 
accredited or approved institutions. If the available pool of 
engineers was larger, the market price for their services 
would likely decrease and the quantity demanded for those 
services would likely increase.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
proposed effective ban on the use of "life experience" 
degrees for licensure will most likely not significantly 
affect the use and value of most engineering-firms, but will 
impede the potential for a small number of individuals to 
become licensed engineers at a significantly lower cost 
than will be available without the "life experience" degree 
option. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  Small 
businesses will likely not incur any extra costs on account 
of this regulatory change.  Small businesses that employ 
engineers would, however, lose the possibility of cost 
savings that might have arisen if this regulatory change 
were not to occur and less expensive licensure options 
increased the available pool of employable engineers. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The Board might be able to assure that 
they license only competent engineers by beefing up the 
FE and PE examinations rather than tightening education 
requirements (if these exams are currently insufficiently 
robust to insure the competency of test takers no matter 
how they gained their knowledge of engineering).  There 
are 662 engineering firms that do business in the 
Commonwealth and qualify as small businesses. 

Legal Mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 
21 (02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom 
the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities 
and types of businesses or other entities particularly 
affected, the projected number of persons and employment 
positions to be affected, the projected costs to affected 
businesses or entities to implement or comply with the 
regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 
property.  Further, if the proposed regulation has an 
adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007 H requires 
that such economic impact analyses include (i) an 
identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the 
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regulation, including the type of professional skills 
necessary for preparing required reports and other 
documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 
regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a 
description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative 
methods of achieving the purpose of the regulation.  The 
analysis presented above represents DPB’s best estimate of 
these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  Board for Architects, 
Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior 
Designers and Landscape Architects concurs with the 
economic impact analysis prepared by the Virginia 
Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendment clarifies that legitimate degrees are 
required to meet the educational standards of the 
board's regulations and consequently prohibist mail-
order, life-experience degrees for engineer-in-training 
and professional engineer applicants. 

18 VAC 10-20-230. Education. 

A. Any applicant who has earned a degree from an 
institution outside the United States shall have the degree 
authenticated and evaluated by an educational credential 
evaluation service or by ABET if credit for such education 
is sought, unless the applicant has also earned an 
equivalent or higher level engineering degree from a 
United States institution where the program has been 
accredited by ABET. The board reserves the right to reject, 
for good cause, any evaluation submitted by the applicant. 

B. Except for those degrees earned from an institution 
outside the United States and subject to the provisions of 
subsection A of this section, all nonapproved engineering 
curriculums, related science curriculums, and nonapproved 
engineering technology curriculums of four years or more 
shall be from an accredited college or university that is 
approved or accredited by the Commission on Colleges, a 
regional or national accreditation association, or by an 
accrediting agency that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary 
of Education. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering 18 VAC 10-20, 
Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land 
Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers and Landscape 
Architects Regulations, are not being published; however, 
the name of each form is listed below.  The forms are 
available for public inspection at the Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 West 
Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

Architect License Application, 0401LIC (rev. 8/5/05 
5/16/07).  

Verification of Architect Examination and Licensure Form, 
0401ELVF (rev. 3/1/02).  

Architect Experience Verification Form, 0401 EXP (rev. 
3/26/02).  

Architect Client Experience Verification Form, 0401CEXP 
(rev. 3/1/02).  

Architect Degree Verification Form, 0401DEG (rev. 
3/1/02).  

Architect Reference Form, 0401REF (rev. 2/23/05).  

Architect License Reinstatement Application, 0401REI 
(rev. 12/1/04).  

Architect License Renewal Form, 0401REN, (eff. 4/11/05)  

Professional Engineer License Application, 0402LIC (rev. 
8/5/05 2/1/07).  

Professional Engineer Reference Form, 0402REF (rev. 
3/1/02).  

Professional Engineer License Reinstatement Application, 
0402REI (rev. 12/1/04).  

Professional Engineer and Engineer-in-Training Degree 
Verification Form, 04EDEG (rev. 3/1/02).  

Professional Engineer and Engineer-in-Training 
Experience Verification Form, 04EEXP (rev. 2/19/04).  

Engineer Verification of Examination and Licensure Form, 
04EELVF (rev. 3/1/02).  

Engineer-in-Training Designation Application, 0420DES 
(rev. 12/1/04 2/1/07).  

Engineer-in-Training Reference Form, 0420REF (rev. 
3/1/02).  

Course Requirements for Engineering Technology 
Program, 0402CREQ (eff. 2/19/03).  

Professional Engineer License Renewal Form, 0402REN, 
(eff. 4/11/05).  
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Land Surveyor License Application, 0403LIC (rev. 6/9/06 
2/1/07).  

Land Surveyor License Reinstatement Application, 
0403REI (rev. 12/1/04).  

Land Surveyor B License Application, 0404LIC (rev. 
12/1/04 2/1/07).  

Land Surveyor B License Reinstatement Application, 
0404REI (rev. 12/1/04).  

Land Surveyor and Land Surveyor-in-Training Degree 
Verification Form, 04LSDEG (rev. 3/1/02 2/1/07).  

Land Surveyor Verification of Examination and Licensure 
Form, 04LSELVF (rev. 7/21/03 2/1/07).  

Land Surveyor & Land Surveyor-in-Training Experience 
Verification Form, 04LSEXP (rev. 4/23/03 2/1/07).  

Land Surveyor-In-Training Designation Application, 
0430DES (rev. 6/9/06 2/1/07).  

Land Surveyor License Renewal Form, 04LSREN, (eff. 
4/11/05).  

Landscape Architect Certificate Application, 0406CERT 
(rev. 8/5/05 2/1/07).  

Verification of Landscape Architect Examination and 
Certification Form, 0406ELVF (rev. 3/1/02).  

Landscape Architect Experience Verification Form for 
Examination and Comity Applicants, 0406EXP (rev. 
6/23/05).  

Landscape Architect Degree Verification Form, 0406DEG 
(rev. 3/1/02).  

Landscape Architect Certificate Reinstatement 
Application, 0406REI (rev. 12/1/04).  

Landscape Architect Certificate Renewal Form, 0406REN, 
(eff. 4/11/05).  

Interior Design Certificate Application, 0412CERT (rev. 
8/5/05 2/1/07).  

Verification of Interior Designer Examination and 
Certification Form, 0412ELVF (rev. 3/1/02).  

Interior Designer Degree Verification Form, 0412DEG 
(rev. 3/1/02).  

Interior Designer Experience Verification Form, 0412EXP 
(rev. 8/11/05).  

Interior Designer Certificate Reinstatement Application, 
0412REI (rev. 3/1/02).  

Interior Design Certificate Renewal Form, 0412REN, (eff. 
4/11/05).  

Professional Corporation Registration Application, 
04PCREG (rev. 6/2/06).  

Professional Corporation Branch Office Registration 
Application, 04BRPC (eff. 6/7/06).  

Business Entity Registration Application, 04BUSREG, 
(rev. 6/2/06).  

Business Entity Branch Office Registration Application, 
04BRBUS (eff. 6/7/06 rev. 1/3/07).  

Professional Limited Liability Company Application 
Form, 04PLCREG (rev. 6/2/06).  

Professional Limited Liability Company Branch Office 
Registration Application, 04BRPLC (rev. 6/7/06).  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-258; Filed May 30, 2007, 3:39 p.m. 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18 VAC 10-20. Board for Architects, 
Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects Rules and 
Regulations (amending 18 VAC 10-20-420 [ , 18 VAC 
10-20-440 ] and 18 VAC 10-20-450). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201, 54.1-404 and 54.1-411 
of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, 
Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Land 
Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers and Landscape 
Architects, 3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 
23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 367-
2475, or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments change the entry requirements for 
those landscape architect applicants who possess an 
LAAB-accredited degree in landscape architecture to 
require them to obtain three years of acceptable 
experience before being granted certification. Applicants 
could still be approved to take and sit for the 
examination prior to obtaining the required three years 
of experience; however, certification would not be 
awarded until such time as the three years of acceptable 
experience is obtained, documented, submitted, reviewed 
and approved. 

A change from the proposed regulation adds a provision 
in 18 VAC 10-20-440 for those individuals who possess 
an LAAB accredited degree in landscape architecture 
and qualified under the prior provisions, but do not pass 
the examination during the three-year eligibility period, 
and have to reapply under the new requirements. 
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Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the 
agency's response may be obtained from the promulgating 
agency or viewed at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations. 

18 VAC 10-20-420. Requirements for certification. 

The education or experience, or both, and examination 
requirements for certification as a landscape architect are 
as follows:  

1. An applicant who has graduated from an accredited 
landscape architecture curriculum approved by the 
Landscape Architectural Accreditation Board shall be 
admitted to a CLARB-prepared examination or 
equivalent approved by the board. Upon passing such 
examination, the applicant shall be certified as a 
landscape architect, if otherwise qualified; or (LAAB) 
must meet the following requirements for certification as 
a landscape architect: 

a. Passed a CLARB-prepared examination; and 

b. Obtained 36 months of experience/training with a 
minimum of 12 months under the direct control and 

personal supervision of a licensed or certified 
landscape architect and the other 24 months under the 
direct control and personal supervision of either a 
licensed or certified landscape architect, architect, 
professional engineer, or land surveyor, in accordance 
with the experience credits portion of the Landscape 
Architect Equivalency Table. An applicant who has 
graduated from an accredited landscape architecture 
curriculum approved by the Landscape Architectural 
Accreditation Board shall be admitted to a CLARB-
prepared examination prior to completing the 36-
month experience requirement, if the applicant is 
otherwise qualified. 

2. An applicant who has obtained eight years of 
combined education and experience, evaluated in 
accordance with the Landscape Architect Equivalency 
Table, shall be admitted to a CLARB-prepared 
examination or equivalent approved by the board. Upon 
passing such examination, the applicant shall be certified 
as a landscape architect, if otherwise qualified.  

 

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECT EQUIVALENCY TABLE. 
TABLE OF EQUIVALENTS FOR EDUCATION AND EXPERIENCE. 

 Education Credits Experience Credits 

 
DESCRIPTIONS 

 
First 2 
Years 

 
Succeeding 

Years 

Max. 
Credit 

Allowed 

 
Credit 

Allowed 

Max. 
Credit 

Allowed 

A-1. Degree from an LAAB-accredited landscape architectural curriculum. 100% 100% 5 years   

A-2. Credits toward a degree in landscape architecture from an accredited school of 
landscape architecture. 

100% 100% 4 years   

A-3. Degree in landscape architecture or credits toward that degree from a nonaccredited 
school of landscape architecture. 

100% 100% 4 years   

A-4. Degree or credits toward that degree in an allied professional discipline, i.e., 
architecture, civil engineering, environmental science, approved by the board. 

75% 100% 3 years   

A-5. Any other bachelor degree or credits toward that degree. 50% 75% 2 years   

A-6. Qualifying experience in landscape architecture under the direct supervision of a 
landscape architect. 

   100% no limit 

A-7. Qualifying experience directly related to landscape architecture when under the 
direct supervision of an architect, professional engineer, or land surveyor. 

   50% 4 years 

EXPLANATION OF REQUIREMENTS 

B-1. Education Credits. Education credits shall be subject to the following conditions: 

B-1.1. Applicants with a degree specified in A-1 through  A-5 will be allowed the credit shown in the Maximum Credit Allowed column, regardless of the 
length of the degree program. 

B-1.2. With a passing grade, 32 semester credit hours or 48 quarter hours is considered to be one year. Fractions greater than one-half year will be counted 
one-half year and smaller fractions will not be counted. 

B-2. Experience Credits. Experience credits shall be subject to the following conditions: 

B-2.1. Every applicant without an LAAB-accredited degree must earn at least two years of experience credit under category A-6. Every applicant with an 
LAAB-accredited degree must earn at least one year of experience credit under category A-6. 
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[ 18 VAC 10-20-440. Examination. 

A. All applicants for original certification in Virginia are 
required to pass the CLARB-prepared examination. 

B. The Virginia board is a member of the Council of 
Landscape Architectural Registration Boards (CLARB) 
and as such is authorized to administer the CLARB 
examinations. 

C. The CLARB-prepared examination will be offered at 
least once per year at a time designated by the board. 

D. Grading of the examination shall be in accordance with 
the national grading procedures established by CLARB.  
The board shall adopt the scoring procedures 
recommended by CLARB. 

E. Unless otherwise stated, applicants approved to sit for 
an examination shall register and submit the required 
examination fee to be received in the board office, or by 
the board's designee, at a time designated by the board.  
Applicants not properly registered will not be allowed into 
the examination site. 

F. Examinees will be advised only of their passing or 
failing score and the CLARB minimum passing or failing 
score.   

Only the board and its staff shall have access to 
examination papers, scores, and answer sheets. 

G. Upon written request to the board within 30 days of 
receiving examination results, examinees will be permitted 
to view the performance problems contained within the 

section that they failed.  Examination appeals are permitted 
in accordance with the CLARB score verification process. 

H. Should an applicant fail to pass an examination within 
three years after being approved to sit for an examination, 
the applicant must reapply and meet all current entry 
requirements at the time of reapplication. If the applicant 
has not been taking the examination on a continuous basis 
during the three-year eligibility period, or fails to reapply 
within six months after the end of the three-year eligibility 
period, or both, then the applicant shall meet the entry 
requirements current at the time of reapplication. ] 

18 VAC 10-20-450. Certification by comity. 

A person holding a current license to engage in the practice 
of landscape architecture, issued to the applicant by other 
states, the District of Columbia, or any territory or 
possession of the United States based on requirements that 
do not conflict with and are at least as rigorous as these 
regulations and supporting statutes of this board that were 
in effect at the time of original licensure, may be licensed 
without further examination. No person shall be so 
licensed, however, who has not passed an examination in 
another jurisdiction that was substantially equivalent to 
that approved by the board at that time. If the applicant 
does not meet the requirements for licensure in Virginia 
that were in effect at the time of original licensure, the 
applicant shall be required to meet the entry requirements 
current at the time the completed application for comity is 
received in the board's office or shall hold a CLARB 
certificate.

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECT EQUIVALENCY TABLE. 
TABLE OF EQUIVALENTS FOR EDUCATION AND EXPERIENCE. 

 Education Credits Experience Credits 

 
DESCRIPTIONS 

 
First 2 
Years 

 
Succeeding 

Years 

Max. 
Credit 

Allowed 

 
Credit 

Allowed 

Max. 
Credit 

Allowed 

A-1. Credits toward a degree in landscape architecture from an accredited school of 
landscape architecture. 

100% 100% 4 years   

A-2. Degree in landscape architecture or credits toward that degree from a nonaccredited 
school of landscape architecture. 

100% 100% 4 years   

A-3.  Degree or credits toward that degree in an allied professional discipline, i.e., 
architecture, civil engineering, environmental science, approved by the board. 

75% 100% 3 years   

A-4.  Any other bachelor degree or credits toward that degree. 50% 75% 2 years   

A-5.  Qualifying experience in landscape architecture under the direct supervision of a 
landscape architect. 

   100% no limit 

A-6.  Qualifying experience directly related to landscape architecture when under the 
direct supervision of an architect, professional engineer, or land surveyor. 

   50% 4 years 

EXPLANATION OF REQUIREMENTS 
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B-1. Education Credits. Education credits shall be subject to the following conditions: 

B-1.1. Applicants with a degree specified in A-1 through A-4  will be allowed the credit shown in the Maximum Credit Allowed column, regardless of the 
length of the degree program. 

B-1.2. With a passing grade, 32 semester credit hours or 48 quarter hours is considered to be one year. Fractions greater than one-half year will be counted 
one-half year and smaller fractions will not be counted. 

B-2. Experience Credits. Experience credits shall be subject to the following conditions: 

B-2.1. Every applicant must earn at least two years of experience credit under category A-5. 

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 10-20 
are not being published due to the large number; however, the 
name of each form is listed below.  The forms are available 
for public inspection at the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 3600 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

Architect License Application, 0401LIC (rev. 8/5/05 
5/16/07).  

Verification of Architect Examination and Licensure Form, 
0401ELVF (rev. 3/1/02).  

Architect Experience Verification Form, 0401 EXP (rev. 
3/26/02).  

Architect Client Experience Verification Form, 0401CEXP 
(rev. 3/1/02).  

Architect Degree Verification Form, 0401DEG (rev. 3/1/02).  

Architect Reference Form, 0401REF (rev. 2/23/05).  

Architect License Reinstatement Application, 0401REI (rev. 
12/1/04).  

Architect License Renewal Form, 0401REN, (eff. 4/11/05)  

Professional Engineer License Application, 0402LIC (rev. 
8/5/05 2/1/07).  

Professional Engineer Reference Form, 0402REF (rev. 
3/1/02).  

Professional Engineer License Reinstatement Application, 
0402REI (rev. 12/1/04).  

Professional Engineer and Engineer-in-Training Degree 
Verification Form, 04EDEG (rev. 3/1/02).  

Professional Engineer and Engineer-in-Training Experience 
Verification Form, 04EEXP (rev. 2/19/04).  

Engineer Verification of Examination and Licensure Form, 
04EELVF (rev. 3/1/02).  

Engineer-in-Training Designation Application, 0420DES 
(rev. 12/1/04 2/1/07).  

Engineer-in-Training Reference Form, 0420REF (rev. 
3/1/02).  

Course Requirements for Engineering Technology Program, 
0402CREQ (eff. 2/19/03).  

Professional Engineer License Renewal Form, 0402REN, 
(eff. 4/11/05). Land Surveyor License Application, 0403LIC 
(rev. 6/9/06 2/1/07).  

Land Surveyor License Reinstatement Application, 0403REI 
(rev. 12/1/04).  

Land Surveyor B License Application, 0404LIC (rev. 12/1/04 
2/1/07).  

Land Surveyor B License Reinstatement Application, 
0404REI (rev. 12/1/04).  

Land Surveyor and Land Surveyor-in-Training Degree 
Verification Form, 04LSDEG (rev. 3/1/02 2/1/07).  

Land Surveyor Verification of Examination and Licensure 
Form, 04LSELVF (rev. 7/21/03 2/1/07).  

Land Surveyor & Land Surveyor-in-Training Experience 
Verification Form, 04LSEXP (rev. 4/23/03 2/1/07).  

Land Surveyor-In-Training Designation Application, 
0430DES (rev. 6/9/06 2/1/07).  

Land Surveyor License Renewal Form, 04LSREN, (eff. 
4/11/05).  

Landscape Architect Certificate Application, 0406CERT (rev. 
8/5/05 2/1/07).  

Verification of Landscape Architect Examination and 
Certification Form, 0406ELVF (rev. 3/1/02).  

Landscape Architect Experience Verification Form for 
Examination and Comity Applicants, 0406EXP (rev. 
6/23/05).  

Landscape Architect Degree Verification Form, 0406DEG 
(rev. 3/1/02).  

Landscape Architect Certificate Reinstatement Application, 
0406REI (rev. 12/1/04).  

Landscape Architect Certificate Renewal Form, 0406REN, 
(eff. 4/11/05).  
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Interior Design Certificate Application, 0412CERT (rev. 
8/5/05 2/1/07).  

Verification of Interior Designer Examination and 
Certification Form, 0412ELVF (rev. 3/1/02).  

Interior Designer Degree Verification Form, 0412DEG (rev. 
3/1/02).  

Interior Designer Experience Verification Form, 0412EXP 
(rev. 8/11/05).  

Interior Designer Certificate Reinstatement Application, 
0412REI (rev. 3/1/02).  

Interior Design Certificate Renewal Form, 0412REN, (eff. 
4/11/05).  

Professional Corporation Registration Application, 04PCREG 
(rev. 6/2/06).  

Professional Corporation Branch Office Registration 
Application, 04BRPC (eff. 6/7/06).  

Business Entity Registration Application, 04BUSREG, (rev. 
6/2/06).  

Business Entity Branch Office Registration Application, 
04BRBUS (eff. 6/7/06 rev. 1/3/07).  

Professional Limited Liability Company Application Form, 
04PLCREG (rev. 6/2/06).  

Professional Limited Liability Company Branch Office 
Registration Application, 04BRPLC (rev. 6/7/06). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R04-240; Filed June 5, 2007, 1:38 p.m. 

AUCTIONEERS BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 25-21. Regulations of the 
Virginia Auctioneers Board (amending 18 VAC 25-21-20, 
18 VAC 25-21-40, 18 VAC 25-21-50, 18 VAC 25-21-60, 
18 VAC 25-21-110, 18 VAC 25-21-120, 18 VAC 25-21-150, 
18 VAC 25-21-170, and 18 VAC 25-21-180; adding 
18 VAC 25-21-95). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-602 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  July 12, 2007 - 10 a.m. 
Public comments may be submitted until August 24, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Agency Contact:  Marian H. Brooks, Board Administrator, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 
(804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 367-0795, or email 
auctioneers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 54.1-602 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
board with its broad authority to establish regulations in order 
to obtain and retain licenses. 

Purpose:  The purpose of the proposal is to perform a general 
review to amend the existing regulations to achieve 
comprehensive and effective regulations that will improve 
clarity and increase compliance by the board’s licensees and 
thereby better protect the citizens of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia. 

Substance:  The proposed changes clarify the basic 
qualifications for license by examination and license by 
reciprocity, modify the examination application procedures, 
and establish and modify the standards of practice and 
standards of conduct to identify requirements that affect the 
administration of, and compliance with, the board’s 
regulations.  The proposed changes will improve clarity that 
will enhance compliance by the board’s licensees and thereby 
better protect the citizens of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Issues:  The primary advantage in amending these regulations 
is to clarify and improve compliance by the board’s licensees 
and thereby better protect the citizens of the Commonwealth 
of Virginia.  In addition, the board will have the authority to 
discipline those regulants who show themselves to be a 
danger to the public. 

There are no anticipated disadvantages. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Regulation.  The Auctioneers 
Board (board) proposes to amend its regulations by removing 
the requirement that applicants for licensure by examination 
submit their paperwork to the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation (DPOR) at least 45 days before a 
scheduled exam; the proposed amendments also specify that 
applications for licensure by reciprocity or examination may 
be reviewed by the board’s designee.  In addition, the board 
seeks to clarify when and for what purposes escrow account 
funds may be dispersed.  

Result of Analysis.  The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
this proposed regulatory change. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  Currently, individuals seeking 
to take the examination that, when passed, may lead to 
licensure as an auctioneer must submit their applications to 
DPOR at least 45 days prior to a scheduled exam. Auctioneer 
board staff then has 30 days to process those applications. 
Presently, only auctioneer board staff may process these 
applications. 

The board proposes to drop the 45 day requirement and allow 
the board’s designee to also process applications for licensure 
and examination. The board’s designee is a contractor hired 
to provide and administer auctioneer examinations. The board 
believes that this system will allow applications more quickly 
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and, so, the board will no longer need 45 days to ensure that 
applications are received and thoroughly processed before 
scheduled exams. Individuals seeking licensure by 
examination will benefit because they will no longer have to 
meet the board’s deadline or wait until the next scheduled 
exam. Individuals seeking licensure by reciprocity will 
benefit in that they will be able to start practicing their trade 
more quickly if, after this change, applications are processed 
more quickly. 

The proposed regulation also includes new language that 
clarifies rules for escrow accounts. According to DPOR this 
clarification does not represent a change in practice for 
auctioneers and, so, is not a substantive change. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  This proposed regulatory 
change will affect all of the approximately 1,685 individuals 
who are regulated by the board. Individuals who will seek 
licensure as auctioneers at some point in the future will also 
be affected. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  All localities in the 
Commonwealth will be affected by the proposed regulation.  

Projected Impact on Employment.  To the extent that changes 
in examination procedures make it marginally less onerous 
and time consuming to obtain an auctioneer’s license, more 
individuals may seek licensure as auctioneers. This will 
increase the supply of available licensed auctioneers in the 
Commonwealth and may increase the number of individuals 
employed as auctioneers. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  To the 
extent that changes in examination procedures make it 
marginally less onerous and time consuming to obtain an 
auctioneer’s license, auctioneers will incur fewer opportunity 
costs to become licensed.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  The proposed 
regulation contains no substantive changes that would cause 
regulated small businesses to incur any additional 
bookkeeping or other costs. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The proposed regulation contains no 
substantive changes that would cause regulated small 
businesses to incur any additional bookkeeping or other costs. 

Legal Mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency concurs 
with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments remove the requirement that 
applicants for licensure by examination submit their 
paperwork to the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation at least 45 days before a 
scheduled exam, specify that applications for licensure by 
reciprocity or examination may be reviewed by the board’s 
designee, and clarify when and for what purposes escrow 
account funds may be dispersed. 

CHAPTER 21. 
RULES AND REGULATIONS OF THE VIRGINIA 

AUCTIONEERS BOARD. 

18 VAC 25-21-20. Licensure. 

All persons or firms as defined in § 54.1-600 of the Code of 
Virginia who conduct auctions or offer their services to sell at 
auction in the Commonwealth are required to file a licensure 
application and pay the specified fee to the board. Applicants 
for individual licensure shall meet the following 
requirements: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age. 

2. Shall not have been previously found by any regulatory 
board or agency to have violated any applicable regulations 
or laws in the course of performing auctioneer duties or 
convicted within the past five years of a criminal offense 
related to auction activity in Virginia or any other 
jurisdiction been convicted or found guilty, regardless of 
the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the 
United States of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude 
or any felony, there being no appeal pending therefrom or 
the time for appeal having elapsed.  Review of prior 
criminal convictions shall be subject to the requirements of 
§ 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo 
contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of 
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this paragraph. A certified copy of a final order, decree or 
case decision by a court or regulatory agency with the 
lawful authority to issue such order shall be admissible as 
prima facie evidence of such conviction or discipline. 

3. Successfully complete a course of study at a school of 
auctioneering that has obtained course approval from the 
board, or an equivalent course, and has passed the Virginia 
Licensed Auctioneer's Examination administered by the 
Auctioneers Board or its designee. 

18 VAC 25-21-40. License by reciprocity. 

The board may issue a license to any individual applicant, 
individual or firm holding a license in any state, territory, or 
possession of the United States, with whom the board has 
established an act of reciprocity provided the requirements 
and standards under which the license was issued are 
substantially equivalent to those established by the board. At 
the time of application for licensure, the applicant must be 
currently licensed in the state in which reciprocity is 
established with the Commonwealth of Virginia. The board 
may deny an application if the licensed auctioneer or firm has 
been found guilty (i) by any regulatory board or agency to 
have violated any applicable regulations or laws in the course 
of performing auctioneering duties or (ii) by a court of any 
criminal offense or material misrepresentation in the course 
of performing auctioneer duties. A certified copy of a final 
order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency 
with the lawful authority to issue such order shall be 
admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction or 
discipline. 

Nonresident applicants shall also file with the board an 
irrevocable consent that service of process upon the director 
is valid and binding as the service of process upon the 
applicant. 

18 VAC 25-21-50. Application. 

A. All applicants, both individual and firms, seeking licensure 
by reciprocity or examination shall submit a fully executed 
and notarized application with the appropriate fee or fees 
attached. Applicants will be notified if their application is 
incomplete. 

Applications for licensure by examination must be received 
by the Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation 45 days prior to a scheduled examination in order 
to be eligible to sit for that examination comply with the 
requirements of the board’s designee as to the deadline for 
submission of the application to the board’s designee. 

B. If a corporation, the application shall include certified true 
copies of the certificate of incorporation issued by the 
Virginia State Corporation Commission, articles of 
incorporation, bylaws and charter, and, if . If a foreign 
corporation, a certificate of authority to conduct business 

issued by the Virginia State Corporation Commission shall be 
required in lieu of the certification of incorporation. 

C. All applications will be reviewed by the Auctioneers 
Board staff, or the board’s designee, to determine eligibility 
for examination and licensure within 30 days of receipt at the 
offices of the Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation or the board’s designee. However, failure to review 
an application within 30 days of receipt shall not imply or 
result in the automatic approval of the application. No 
applicant will be approved for licensure unless all 
requirements of this part of this chapter are met. 

18 VAC 25-21-60. Examination. 

The examination shall test the applicant's knowledge of the 
following: 

1. The auction business including fundamentals of 
auctioneering, elementary principles of real estate, 
preparation of contracts, advertising, final settlement 
statements, arithmetic and percentages, and ethics. 

2. The Virginia statutes entitled Auctioneers' Licensure 
Act, §§ 54.1-600 through 54.1-606 Chapter 6 (§ 54.1-600 
et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia; bulk transfers, 
§§ 8.6A-101 through 8.6A-110 and 8.2-328 of the Code of 
Virginia; sales tax laws, Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia; 
and the rules and regulations of the board. 

18 VAC 25-21-95. Board discretion. 

The board may deny initial licensure, renewal or 
reinstatement of a license for any reason it may discipline a 
licensee. 

18 VAC 25-21-110. Contracts. 

When an auctioneer or auction firm agrees to conduct an 
auction, a contract shall be drawn setting forth the particulars 
of the terms and conditions under which the auctioneer or 
auction firm received the real or personal property for auction 
and particulars for the disbursement of the proceeds. Each 
contract for auction shall include the following: 

1. a. A detailed list of the real or personal property received 
for sale with adequate descriptions of the property so that the 
personal property can be readily identified. If a list cannot be 
made at the time of signing of the contract, then a list must 
be made a part of the contract (and attached) prior to 
auction of the real or personal property for that day; or 

b. If the auctioneer or auction firm enters into a contract 
to sell items on a consignment basis where the total value 
of all the items to be sold at any one action does not 
exceed $500, and the owner of the items agrees to waive 
this requirement in writing on a document separate from, 
but made a part of, the contract, then the requirement 
contained in subdivision 1 a of this section is not 
applicable. 
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2. The name, address, telephone number, and license 
number of the Virginia auctioneer or auction firm. 

3. The name, address and telephone number of the owner. 

4. The date, time and place of the auction or auctions at 
which the real or personal property is scheduled to be 
auctioned. The date by which the property is to be returned if 
it is not sold. 

5. The fee or percentage of gross sales the auctioneer or 
auction firm will charge the owner and what services are 
included in the fee, such as preparation, travel, labor, 
advertising and any other auction related expenses. 

6. By what date the owner is to be paid and who is 
responsible for disbursing the funds. 

7. A statement that the clerk sheets, or other evidence to 
properly account for all items sold, shall be given or made 
available for inspection by the owner on a daily basis. 

8. The following statement above the owner's signature 
line: "I have read and accepted the terms of this contract." 

9. A legible executed copy of the contract shall be given to 
the owner at the time of execution. 

18 VAC 25-21-120. Conduct at auctions. 

A. No auctioneer or auction firm shall attempt to escalate 
bidding through false bids, or through collusion with another 
(shills). The auctioneer or auction firm shall not bid on the 
owner's behalf nor knowingly accept a bid made by the owner 
or made on the owner's behalf unless notice has been given 
that liberty for such bidding has been reserved. The auctioneer 
or auction firm shall not bid on his own behalf nor knowingly 
accept a bid made on his behalf unless notice has been given 
that such bidding will be permitted. 

B. If a licensed Virginia auctioneer or auction firm contracts 
with a nonlicensed (in Virginia) auctioneer, corporation or 
firm to conduct auctions in Virginia, the Virginia auctioneer, 
corporation or firm shall be considered the principal and shall 
assume full responsibility for the auction and auctioneers 
subcontracted. 

18 VAC 25-21-150. Escrow funds. 

A. Proceeds of a personal property auction not disbursed to 
the owner on auction day shall be deposited in an auction 
escrow account by the auctioneer/auction firm no later than 
the next banking day following the date of auction or sale of 
the goods, whichever occurs first. 

B. Auctioneers/auction firms shall use federally insured 
depositories in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

C. Proceeds due from the sale of goods other than real 
property shall be disbursed to the owner no later than 30 days 
after the date of each auction. 

D. Funds from a real estate auction shall be held in escrow 
until settlement in accordance with the agreement of sale. 

E. If the owners' goods are not sold in a single auction, 
proceeds due shall be disbursed to the owner within 30 days 
after each auction for goods other than real property, or in 
accordance with the agreement of sale for the sale of real 
property. Notice must be given to the owner of tentative date 
of auction, or date of return to the owner, of the remaining 
goods. 

F. The auction escrow account shall be used solely for the 
preservation and guarantee of auction proceeds until 
disbursed at settlement. Funds for any other purpose shall not 
be commingled with the auction escrow account. 
Contingency accounts established to guarantee checks 
accepted on the owner's behalf shall not be considered 
commingling of funds. Moneys due to the auctioneer or 
auction firm shall not be withdrawn from the auction escrow 
account until final settlement is made with the owner. 

G. The balance in the escrow accounts shall be sufficient at 
all times to account for all funds that are designated to be held 
by the licensee. 

H. Funds to be deposited in the escrow account may include 
moneys that shall ultimately belong to the licensee, but such 
moneys shall be separately identified in the escrow account 
records and shall be paid to the licensee by a check drawn on 
the escrow account when the funds become due to the 
licensee.  The fact that an escrow account contains money 
that may ultimately belong to the licensee does not constitute 
“commingling of funds” provided that there are periodic 
withdrawals of said funds at intervals of not more than six 
months, and that the licensee can at all times accurately 
identify the total funds in that account that belong to the 
licensee. 

I. On funds placed in an account bearing interest, written 
disclosure in the contract of sale or lease at the time of 
contract or lease writing shall be made to the principals to the 
transaction regarding the disbursement of interest. 

J. A licensee shall not disburse or cause to be disbursed 
moneys from an escrow account unless sufficient money is on 
deposit in that account to the credit of the individual client or 
property involved. 

18 VAC 25-21-170. Change of address. 

A. An auctioneer's or auction firm's license shall not be 
transferable and shall bear the same name and physical 
address as the business. Upon dissolution or change in the form 
of the business entity of an auction firm, the auction firm license 
shall become void. 

B. Written notice shall be given within 30 days to the board 
by each individual or firm licensee of any change of physical 
business address or location, whereupon the board shall issue 
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an amended license without fee for the unexpired portion of 
the biennial period. 

C. A post office box is not an acceptable physical business 
address. 

18 VAC 25-21-180. Discipline. 

A. The board has the power to fine any individual or firm 
licensee, or to suspend or revoke any license issued under the 
provisions of Chapter 6 (§ 54.1-600 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia and the regulations of the board pursuant 
to the provisions of the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) if it finds that: 

1. The license was obtained or renewed through fraud or 
misrepresentation; 

2. The licensed auctioneer or firm has been found guilty by 
a court of any criminal offense or material 
misrepresentation in the course of performing auctioneer 
duties convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner 
of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of a 
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude or any felony, 
there being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for 
appeal having elapsed.  Review of prior criminal 
convictions shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-
204 of the Code of Virginia. A certified copy of a final 
order, decree or case decision by a court with the lawful 
authority to issue such order shall be admissible as prima 
facie evidence of such conviction or discipline; 

3. The licensed auctioneer or firm has been found by any 
regulatory board or, agency, or jurisdiction where licensed 
to have had a license or registration suspended, revoked or 
surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action, who 
has been the subject of discipline in another jurisdiction or 
to have violated any applicable regulations or laws in the 
course of performing auctioneer duties. A certified copy of 
a final order, decree or case decision by a court or 
regulatory agency with the lawful authority to issue such 
order shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 
conviction or discipline; 

4. The licensed auctioneer or firm has not demonstrated 
reasonable care, judgment, or application of his knowledge 
and ability in the performance of auctioneering duties; 

5. The license auctioneer or firm violated or induced 
another person to violate any provisions of Chapters 1, 2, 3, 
or 6 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or any provision 
of this chapter; or 

6. The licensee, auction firm, or firm owner refuses or fails, 
upon request or demand, to produce to the board or any of 
its agents any document, book, or copy thereof in licensee's 
or owner's possession concerning the performance of 
auctioneering duties.  The licensee shall, upon request or 
demand, produce to the board, or any of its agents, within 10 
days any plan, document, book, record or copy thereof in his 

possession concerning a transaction covered by this chapter, 
and shall cooperate in the investigation of a complaint filed 
with the board. 

7. A professional who has direct knowledge that any 
individual, including himself, or firm may be violating any 
of these provisions, or the provisions of Chapters 1 (§§ 
54.1-100 et seq.) through 3 (§§ 54.1-300 et seq.) or 6 (§§ 
54.1-600 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, shall 
immediately inform the secretary of the board in writing 
and shall cooperate in furnishing any further information or 
assistance that may be required. 

B. The board, in its discretion, may refuse to grant or renew a 
license of any person for any of the reasons specified in 
subsection A of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-87; Filed June 5, 2007, 1:34 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 25-21. Regulations of the 
Virginia Auctioneers Board (amending 18 VAC 25-21-80, 
18 VAC 25-21-90, 18 VAC 25-21-180; adding 18 VAC 25-
21-230 through 18 VAC 25-21-280). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-201, 54.1-602 and 54.1-603.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date:  August 1, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Marian H. Brooks, Board Administrator, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 
(804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 367-0795, or email 
auctioneers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments implement a mandatory continuing 
education program for the renewal and reinstatement of 
auctioneer licenses as required by Chapter 956 of the 2004 
Acts of Assembly. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

CHAPTER 21. 
RULES AND REGULATIONS OF THE VIRGINIA 

AUCTIONEERS BOARD. 

18 VAC 25-21-80. Notice of renewal. 

The Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
will mail a renewal notice to the licensee outlining the 
amount due and procedures for renewal. Failure to receive 
this notice shall not relieve the individual or firm licensee of 
the obligation to renew.  

Licenses issued under this chapter shall be issued for a two-
year period. Each license holder, corporation or firm shall be 
required to renew the license by submitting the proper fee 
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made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, with verification 
of current surety bond coverage as detailed in 18 VAC 25-21-
30 of this chapter. In addition, individual license holders 
applying for renewal are required to certify that they comply 
with the continuing education requirements as contained in 
this chapter. 

18 VAC 25-21-90. Failure to renew. 

A. Any individual or firm licensee who fails to renew a 
license within 30 days after the license expires, shall be 
required to pay a late renewal fee. 

B. Any individual or firm licensee, including individuals 
initially licensed pursuant to § 54.1-603 A of the Code of 
Virginia, who fails to renew his license within six calendar 
months after the expiration date of the license shall be 
required to apply for reinstatement of the license. The 
applicant shall submit to the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation a reinstatement application and fee 
and comply with the following paragraph. 

If the license has expired for six months or more, but less 
than two years, the applicant shall be required to submit a 
reinstatement application, which shall be evaluated by the 
board to determine if the applicant meets the renewal 
requirements. In addition, individual license holders applying 
for reinstatement are required to provide evidence of 
compliance with the continuing education requirements as 
contained in this chapter. A license that is reinstated shall be 
deemed as having been continuous without interruption. 
Nothing in these regulations shall divest the board of its 
authority to discipline a license holder for a violation of the 
law or regulation during the period of time for which the 
regulant was licensed. 

C. If the license has expired for two years or more, the 
applicant shall be required to submit a new application and 
meet current entry requirements that are in effect as of the 
date the application is received by the board office. The 
applicant shall be required to submit the examination fee and 
sit for and pass the Virginia Licensed Auctioneer's 
Examination or comply with the provisions contained in 
18 VAC 25-21-40. Any auctioneering activity conducted 
between the time the previous license expired and the 
effective date of the new license shall be considered 
unlicensed activity. 

D. The date the complete renewal application, including fees 
and all required documentation, is received by the 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or 
its agent will determine whether a license will be renewed 
without penalty or will be subject to reinstatement 
requirements.  

E. Auctioneer individual and firm licenses issued under this 
regulation shall expire 24 months from the last day of the 
month in which the license was issued as indicated on the 

license. The expiration date of the license will be included on 
the license. 

18 VAC 25-21-180. Discipline. 

A. The board has the power to fine any individual or firm 
licensee, or to suspend or revoke any license issued under the 
provisions of Chapter 6 (§ 54.1-600 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia and the regulations of the board pursuant 
to the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-
4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) if it finds that:  

1. The license was obtained or, renewed or reinstated 
through fraud or misrepresentation;  

2. The licensed auctioneer or firm has been found guilty by 
a court of any criminal offense or material 
misrepresentation in the course of performing auctioneer 
duties. A certified copy of a final order, decree or case 
decision by a court with the lawful authority to issue such 
order shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 
conviction or discipline;  

3. The licensed auctioneer or firm has been found by any 
regulatory board or agency to have violated any applicable 
regulations or laws in the course of performing auctioneer 
duties. A certified copy of a final order, decree or case 
decision by a court or regulatory agency with the lawful 
authority to issue such order shall be admissible as prima 
facie evidence of such conviction or discipline;  

4. The licensed auctioneer or firm has not demonstrated 
reasonable care, judgment, or application of his knowledge 
and ability in the performance of auctioneering duties;  

5. The license auctioneer or firm violated or induced 
another person to violate any provisions of Chapters 1, 2, 3, 
or 6 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or any provision 
of this chapter; or  

6. The licensee, auction firm, or firm owner refuses or fails, 
upon request or demand, to produce to the board or any of 
its agents any document, book, or copy thereof in licensee's 
or owner's possession concerning the performance of 
auctioneering duties. ; or 

7. The licensee fails to comply, or misrepresents any 
information pertaining to his compliance, with any of the 
continuing education requirements as contained in this 
chapter. 

B. The board, in its discretion, may refuse to grant or, renew 
or reinstate a license of any person for any of the reasons 
specified in subsection A of this section. 
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PART VII. 
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS. 

18 VAC 25-21-230. Application and criteria for course 
approval. 

A. Course providers seeking approval of their continuing 
education course shall file an application with the board 
office. All continuing education course providers shall obtain 
approval from the board office prior to offering to provide, or 
providing, a course that is advertised or represented as being 
eligible to comply with the continuing education provisions 
of this chapter. Retroactive approval of continuing education 
courses shall not be permitted. 

Continuing education courses shall be approved provided the 
following criteria are met: 

1. Course subjects must be related to the current practice of 
auctioneering and have defined learning objectives. 

2. At the end of the course each attendee must be assessed 
to verify that they have achieved the defined learning 
objectives. 

3. The course curriculum must be consistent with the 
defined learning objectives. 

4. The method of instruction must be consistent with the 
defined learning objectives of the course. 

5. Course instructors must be competent in the subject 
being taught, either by education or experience, and in 
instructional techniques. 

6. Fifty contact minutes shall equal one continuing 
education credit hour. No credit shall be awarded for partial 
continuing education credit hours or partial completion of 
the course. In addition, attendees who fail to demonstrate 
successful completion of the defined learning objectives of 
the course shall not be awarded credit for the course. For 
courses in which individual segments are less than 50 
minutes, the sum of the segments shall be totaled for 
computation of continuing education credit hours. 

7. The course provider certifies that the laws, regulations, 
and industry practices that will be taught or utilized in the 
course are up to date and that any subsequent changes in 
laws, regulations, or industry practices will be incorporated 
into the course curriculum as they occur. 

8. The course provider certifies that they will comply with 
provisions of this chapter in administering and providing 
the approved course. 

B. Pursuant to § 54.1-603.1 A of the Code of Virginia, 
continuing education courses completed by an auctioneer 
pursuant to a requirement of the Certified Auctioneer's Institute 
or participation in the educational programs sponsored by the 
National Auctioneer's Association or Virginia Auctioneer's 
Association are approved. 

18 VAC 25-21-240. Adminstration of courses. 

A. Approved course providers shall comply with the 
requirements of this chapter when providing approved 
courses. Failure of a course provider to comply with the 
board’s requirements contained in 18 VAC 25-21-230 or any 
other provision of this chapter at any time after receiving 
approval from the board may result in the board withdrawing 
its approval for a course or a specific offering or offerings of 
the course. 

B. Course approval is not transferable from the course 
provider to whom it was originally issued. 

C. The approved course providers shall award a certificate of 
completion to those attendees who successfully complete the 
course that includes the sponsor identification number of the 
course provider issued by the board office, name of the 
course, number of continuing education credit hours awarded, 
and the date of the course. Course providers shall only award 
continuing education credit hours in the amount as approved. 

D. Attendance must be verified and documented at the 
beginning and end of the course and monitored during the 
course. No credit may be awarded to attendees who arrived 
late, left early, or missed a portion of the course or failed to 
accomplish the learning objectives of the course. Further, 
such individuals shall not be awarded a certificate of 
completion by the course provider. 

E. At the end of each course, the course provider shall solicit 
feedback from the attendees to assess the effectiveness of the 
course, course content, course curriculum, instructor, and 
method of instruction. The course provider shall monitor the 
feedback from the attendees and make adjustments as 
warranted. 

F. All records related to an approved course must be 
maintained for four years from the date of the course and such 
records shall be provided to the board or its duly authorized 
agents upon request. Records that must be maintained 
include, but are not limited to, time, date and location of the 
course; course materials; course curriculum; instructor; 
instructor qualifications; learning objectives; assessment of 
attendees for verification of achievement of the learning 
objectives; end of course feedback from attendees; attendance 
rosters; and records of those attendees who successfully 
completed the course and those who did not and reasons why 
attendees noted as not successfully completing the course did 
not successfully complete the course. 

18 VAC 25-21-250. Continuing education requirements 
for renewal or reinstatement. 

A. Individuals whose licenses expire, or apply to reinstate, after 
[ DATE - 6 months after the effective date of these regulations 
February 1, 2008, ] shall be required to comply with the 
continuing education provisions of this chapter. 
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B. Individuals are required to complete at least six continuing 
education credit hours of board-approved continuing education 
courses for any license renewal or reinstatement. 

C. 1. Each individual applying for renewal shall certify that he 
has met the continuing education requirements of this chapter. 
Only continuing education courses completed during the license 
period immediately prior to the expiration date of the license 
shall be acceptable in order to renew the license. 

2. Individuals shall maintain records of completion of 
continuing education credit hours for two years from the 
date of expiration of the license for which the continuing 
education credit hours are being used to renew the license. 
Individuals shall provide such records to the board or its 
duly authorized agents upon request. 

3. Continuing education credit hours utilized to satisfy the 
continuing education requirements to renew a license shall 
be valid only for that renewal and shall not be accepted for 
any subsequent renewal cycles or reinstatement. 

D. 1. Each individual applying for reinstatement shall 
provide, as part of his reinstatement application, evidence of 
compliance with the continuing education requirements of 
this chapter. The completion date of continuing education 
courses submitted in support of a reinstatement application 
shall not be more than two years old as of the date a complete 
reinstatement application is received by the board. 

2. Continuing education credit hours utilized to satisfy the 
continuing education requirements in order to reinstate a 
license shall be valid only for that reinstatement and shall 
not be accepted for any subsequent renewal cycles or 
reinstatement. 

E. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection C of this 
section, continuing education hours earned during a licensing 
renewal cycle to satisfy the continuing education 
requirements of the preceding licensing renewal cycle shall 
be valid only for that preceding license renewal cycle and 
shall not be accepted for any subsequent renewal cycles or 
reinstatement. 

18 VAC 25-21-260. Exemptions and waivers. 

Pursuant to § 54.1-603.1 B of the Code of Virginia, the board 
may grant exemptions or waive or reduce the number of 
continuing education hours required in cases of certified illness 
or undue hardship. However, such exemptions, waivers, or 
reductions shall not relieve the individual of his obligation to 
comply with any other requirements of this chapter, including 
but not limited to the provisions of 18 VAC 25-21-80 or 18 
VAC 25-21-90. 

18 VAC 25-21-270. Amendments and changes. 

Any change in the information provided by a course provider to 
the board as required by 18 VAC 25-21-230 A, or 18 VAC 25-
21-280 or change in ability to comply with the requirements of 

18 VAC 25-21-240 shall be reported to the board in writing 
within 10 days of such an occurrence. In instances of 
noncompliance with the provisions of this chapter, the approval 
of the course is automatically suspended until such time as the 
course provider corrects the deficiency and notifies the board in 
writing that such deficiency has been corrected. 

18 VAC 25-21-280. Periodic requalification for continued 
course approval. 

At times established by the board, the board may require that 
course providers that have previously obtained course approval 
provide the board with evidence, in a form set forth by the 
board, that they continue to comply with the requirements of 
18 VAC 25-21-230 A and 18 VAC 25-21-240. Failure to 
continue to comply with the board’s requirements or respond to 
such a request may result in the board withdrawing its approval. 

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 25-21, 
Regulations of the Virginia Auctioneers Board, are not being 
published; however, the name of each form is listed below. 
The forms are available for public inspection at the 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office 
of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

License By Examination Application, 29EXLIC (rev. 11/06).  

Auctioneer Surety Bond Form, 29IBOND (rev. 1/04).  

Firm License Application, 29FIRM (rev. 11/06).  

Auction Firm Surety Bond Form, 29FBOND (rev. 1/04).  

Application Supplement (States with Approved Reciprocal 
Agreements and Virginia Approved Auctioneering Schools), 
29ST&SCL (rev. 7/06).  

Application for Training Course Approval, 29CRS (rev. 
1/04).  

License By Reciprocity Application, 29REC (eff. 11/06).  

License Reinstatement Application, 29FEI (eff. [ 11/06 
8/07 ]).  

Application for Continuing Education Training Course 
Approval, 29 CEC (eff. 8/06). 

Examination Site Conduct Agreement (eff. 10/04). 
VA.R. Doc. No. R04-278; Filed  June 5, 2007, 1:36 p.m. 
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BOARD FOR BRANCH PILOTS 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 45-20. Board for Branch 
Pilots Regulations (amending 18 VAC 45-20-40). 

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-902 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until August 24, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Effective Date:  September 10, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, 
Board for Branch Pilots, 3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, 
VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 367-0795, 
or email branchpilots@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Subsection A of § 54.1-902 of the Code of Virginia 
authorizes the board to promulgate regulations for a 
regulatory system.  While the board is mandated to establish 
regulations, the content of the regulations is up to the 
discretion of the board. 

Purpose:  The amendment would revise subdivisions 4, 13, 
and 14 of 18 VAC 45-20-40 to be consistent with the wording 
in subdivision 11, and the wording in § 54.1-902 of the Code 
of Virginia, as follows – "public health, safety or welfare." 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process:  There will be no 
adverse impact on the public and no opposition is anticipated. 

Substance:  The amendment would revise subdivisions 4, 13, 
and 14 of 18 VAC 45-20-40 to be consistent with the wording 
in subdivision 11, and the wording in § 54.1-902 of the Code 
of Virginia, as follows – "public health, safety or welfare." 

Issues:  The public and the Commonwealth are better 
protected in that the wording in the board’s regulations will 
be consistent and better track the wording in § 54.1-902 of the 
Code of Virginia.  There are no anticipated disadvantages to 
the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation.  The 
Board for Branch Pilots (board) proposes some minor 
wording changes to these regulations that will have no impact 
in practice. 

Result of Analysis.  The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
all proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  Section 40 of these regulations 
consists of a list of 17 causes for which the board may "deny 
initial licensure, deny an extension of license, or deny 
renewal as well to discipline existing licensees."  Four of the 
described causes include either the phrase "… the public 

health, safety, or welfare" or the very similar phrase "… the 
public health, safety, and welfare."  The board proposes to 
have the phrase consistently be "… the public health, safety, 
or welfare" in all cases.  Consistent language may eliminate 
the small chance that someone may interpret the slightly 
different language to represent different intent in law.  
Otherwise, this proposed change in regulatory language is 
very unlikely to have any impact in practice. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  No one will be 
significantly affected by the proposed amendments.  These 
regulations apply to the 46 licensed branch pilots in Virginia. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  Branch pilots work within 
localities along navigable waterways, particularly the James 
and Potomac Rivers. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  The proposed 
amendments will not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
proposed amendments will not affect the use and value of 
private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  The proposed 
amendments will not significantly affect small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The proposed amendments will not 
significantly affect small businesses. 

Legal Mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 
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Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:   

Board for Branch Pilots concurs with the economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Virginia Department of Planning and 
Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform the wording "public health, 
safety and welfare" in subdivisions 4, 13 and 14 of 18 VAC 
45-20-40 for consistency with wording in subdivision 11 of 
18 VAC 45-20-40 and § 54.1-902 of the Code of Virginia, 
which reads "public health, safety or welfare." 

18 VAC 45-20-40. Grounds for denial of licensure, denial 
of renewal, or discipline. 

The board shall have the authority to deny initial licensure, 
deny an extension of license, or deny renewal as well as to 
discipline existing licensees, whether limited or not, for the 
following reasons:  

1. Having been convicted or found guilty regardless of 
adjudication in any jurisdiction of the United States of any 
felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude or any 
alcohol- or drug-related offense there being no appeal 
pending therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. 
Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 
conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. The record 
of a conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to 
be admissible in evidence of the laws of the jurisdiction 
where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie 
evidence of such conviction;  

2. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 
pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 
found guilty of any felony or of a misdemeanor involving 
moral turpitude;  

3. Failing to report to the board in writing any reports of the 
National Transportation Safety Board involving the 
licensee, or the results of any disciplinary action taken by 
the United States Coast Guard against the licensee within 
30 days of that report or action;  

4. Refusing or in any other way failing to carry out an order 
from the pilot officers for reasons other than the public's 
health, safety, and or welfare;  

5. Negligence or misconduct in the performance of duties;  

6. Violating or cooperating with others in violating any 
provision of Chapter 9 (§ 54.1-900 et seq.) of the Title 54.1 
of the Code of Virginia or any regulation of the board;  

7. Failing to, as soon as possible under the circumstances, 
report to the pilot officers his finishing time and other 
required information relating to the particulars of the ship;  

8. Failing to file immediately with the president or vice 
president of the board with a copy to the board 

administrator a complete written account of any violation 
of the statutes of Virginia or of the United States relating to 
pilotage or failing to report in writing to the president or 
vice president of the board with a copy to the board 
administrator an account of all collisions, groundings, or 
other maritime mishaps of any description that may occur 
during the discharge of the pilot's duties. This report shall 
be received no later than seven days after such an incident;  

9. Failing to report to the board any physical or mental 
condition which may affect his ability to perform the duties 
of a pilot. Such reports shall be provided within 30 days of 
the onset of the condition;  

10. Refusing to comply with the board's requirement for a 
chemical test. Such test is required immediately and no 
later than 12 hours after involvement in a collision, 
grounding, or other incident resulting in personal injury, 
death, environmental hazard, or property damage in excess 
of $100,000. Refusing to comply with this requirement 
may result in summary suspension of the pilot's license in 
accordance with § 54.1-902 of the Code of Virginia;  

11. Refusing to comply with any board requirement for 
chemical tests in any instance in which the board has cause 
to believe a test is necessary to protect the public health, 
safety, or welfare. Refusing to comply with this 
requirement may result in summary suspension of the 
pilot's license in accordance with § 54.1-902 of the Code of 
Virginia;  

12. Failing to send proof of any test required by subdivision 
10 or 11 of this section to the president or vice president of 
the board with a copy to the board administrator within 48 
hours of the administration of the test;  

13. A positive finding as a result of, or on, any substance 
abuse or chemical test as a result of which the board 
believes there is a threat to the public health, safety and , or 
welfare. Such a finding may result in summary suspension 
of the pilot's license in accordance with § 54.1-902 of the 
Code of Virginia;  

14. Evidence of impaired performance in any instance in 
which the board believes there is a threat to the public 
health, safety and , or welfare. Such a finding may result in 
summary suspension of the pilot's license in accordance 
with § 54.1-902 of the Code of Virginia;  

15. Performing or attempting to perform any of the duties 
of his office or job while under the influence of illegal 
drugs;  

16. Performing or attempting to perform any of the duties 
of his office or job while under the influence of alcohol or 
any medication (controlled substance or otherwise) to the 
extent that he was unfit for the performance of the duties of 
his office or job; and  
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17. Failing to comply with any of the provisions of 
18 VAC 45-20-50. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-257; Filed May 30, 2007, 3:41 p.m. 

CEMETERY BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 47-20.  Cemetery Board Rules 
and Regulations (amending 18 VAC 47-20-10; adding 
18 VAC 47-20-35, [ 18 VAC 47-20-210, ] 18 VAC 47-20-
250, 18 VAC 47-20-260, 18 VAC 47-20-270; repealing 
18 VAC 47-20-240). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2313 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date:  August 1, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Christine Martine, Executive Director, 
Cemetery Board, 3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 
23230, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 367-6946, or 
email cemetery@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

To conform the regulations with Chapters 192 and 247 of 
the 2004 Acts of Assembly, the amendments establish 
qualifications and standards of conduct for compliance 
agents employed by cemetery companies and add a section 
on protection of perpetual care and preneed trust funds. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18 VAC 47-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the definitions ascribed to them in § 54.1-2310 of 
the Code of Virginia or shall have the following meanings, 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Administration" means the cost to administer and maintain 
records required by Chapter 23.1 (§ 54.1-2310 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or any regulation of the 
board, including a percentage of compensation of employees, 
payment of insurance premiums, reasonable payments for 
employees' pension and other benefit plans, and costs of 
maintaining cemetery company and sales personnel 
compliance with the board's licensure and registration 
requirements. 

"Approved training program" means a training program that 
has been approved by the board to provide training for 
individuals to act as a compliance agent or compliance agent 
designee. 

"Change in ownership" means a change in 50% or more of 
the stockholders or partnership interest, or both, of a cemetery 
company. 

"Compliance agent designee" means an individual who shall 
be designated by the cemetery company to assure the 
compliance of the cemetery company with the provisions of 
Chapter 23.1 (§ 54.1-2310 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 
of Virginia and this chapter when the compliance agent is not 
available to supervise the activities of any of its affiliated 
cemeteries. 

"Experience" means supervisory experience with a cemetery 
company as defined in § 54.1-2310 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Licensee" means any person licensed by the board as a 
cemetery company. 

"Moral turpitude" means, but is not limited to, lying, cheating 
or stealing. 

"Outer burial container" means any container which is 
designed for placement in the grave around the casket 
including, but not limited to, containers commonly known as 
burial vaults or grave boxes and grave liners. 

"Perpetual care" means continuing care, maintenance, 
administration and embellishment of the cemetery. 

"Preneed trust fund" means those moneys held in accordance 
with § 54.1-2325 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Principal" means the following individuals: 

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship. 

2. The partners of a general partnership. 

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership. 

4. The officers of a corporation as registered with the State 
Corporation Commission. 

5. The managers of a limited liability company. 

6. The officers or directors of an association. 

"Registrant" means any natural person registered with the 
board as sales personnel. 

"Sales personnel" means any natural person employed by or 
affiliated as an independent contractor with a licensed 
cemetery company who deals with the public in the sale or 
offering for sale of any property or services enumerated in the 
definition of "cemetery company" contained in § 54.1-2310 
of the Code of Virginia. 

"Services" means any act or activity by the cemetery 
company in relation to arranging, supervising, interring or 
disposing of the remains or commemorating the memory of 
deceased human beings. 
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18 VAC 47-20-35. Qualifications for compliance agents 
and designees. 

A. Every applicant for compliance agent or designee shall 
have the following qualifications: 

1. Be at least 18 years old; 

2. Have two years experience in the cemetery business and 
have successfully completed a board approved training 
course; and  

3. Be a full time employee of the cemetery company or is a 
principal. 

B. The applicant shall disclose any current or previous 
licenses/registrations from Virginia or in any other 
jurisdictions, and any disciplinary actions taken against those 
licenses/registrations.  This includes, but is not limited to, any 
monetary penalties, fines or disciplinary actions taken by any 
federal, state or local regulatory agencies.  The board, at its 
discretion, may deny approval of the compliance agent or 
designee based upon disciplinary actions by any jurisdiction.  

C. The applicant shall disclose any conviction or finding of 
guilt, regardless of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the 
United States of any misdemeanor involving moral turpitude 
or any felony, there being no appeal pending therefrom or the 
time for appeal having elapsed.  Any plea of nolo contendere 
shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subsection.  The record of conviction, finding or case decision 
shall be considered prima facie evidence of a conviction or 
finding of guilt. The board, at its discretion, may deny 
approval of the compliance agent or designee in accordance 
with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. The applicant shall certify that he understands and will 
comply with all the laws of Virginia related to cemetery 
company licensure under the provisions of Chapter 23.1 
(§ 54.1-2310 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and 
this chapter. 

[ 18 VAC 47-20-210. Preneed trust fund and bonding 
requirements. 

A. Each licensed cemetery company shall establish a preneed 
trust fund and make deposits in accordance with § 54.1-2315 
of the Code of Virginia. 

B. If the trustee for the preneed trust fund is other than a 
Virginia trust company or trust subsidiary or a federally 
insured bank or savings institution doing business in the 
Commonwealth, the trustee shall be approved by the board 
and shall deposit a fidelity bond with the board in accordance 
with § 54.1-2326 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Deposits into the fund shall be made in accordance with 
§ 54.1-2325 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. D. All funds shall be handled in accordance with §§ 54.1-
2329 through 54.1-2331 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. E. Each licensed cemetery company shall submit a written 
financial report regarding preneed trust accounts to the board 
as prescribed by § 54.1-2333 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. F. Transfer of funds to another trustee shall be done in 
accordance with § 54.1-2337 of the Code of Virginia. ] 

18 VAC 47-20-240. Execution of contracts for licensees 
whose licenses have been suspended or revoked. 
(Repealed.) 

In the event a license has been suspended or revoked and the 
licensee is a party to a preneed burial contract which must be 
executed at-need, the board may file a petition for 
appointment of a receiver with any court of record having 
equity jurisdiction over the licensee. The petition shall be 
necessary to ensure execution of the contract including the 
appointment of a receiver. If a receiver is appointed, the 
licensee, as determined by the court, shall pay his expenses 
and a reasonable fee. 

18 VAC 47-20-250. Compliance agent or designee 
conduct. 

Each cemetery company and cemetery affiliated with a 
cemetery company shall be supervised by a compliance agent 
or designee.  The compliance agent or designee shall exercise 
reasonable and adequate supervision of the provision of 
services by employees of the cemetery company.  Factors to 
be considered in determining whether the supervision is 
reasonable and adequate include, but are not limited to, the 
following: 

1. The availability of the compliance agent or designee to 
all cemetery company employees and to the public to 
answer questions within a reasonable time pertaining to the 
operation of the cemetery company. 

2. The availability of training and written procedures and 
policies that provide, without limitation, clear guidance in 
the following areas: 

a. Required deposits for the perpetual care trust fund; 

b. Required deposits for the preneed trust fund; 

c. Proper handling of preneed burial contracts; 

d. Proper handling of deposits to the perpetual care trust 
fund; 

e. Proper handling of deposits to the preneed trust fund; 

f. Interment records; 

g. Itemized statement of goods and services provided; 

h. General price list; 

i. Advertising; 

j. Solicitation; 
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k. Proper care, maintenance, administration and 
embellishment of the cemetery; 

l. Such other matters as necessary to assure the 
competence of licensees and registrants to comply with 
this chapter and Chapter 23.1 (§ 54.1-2310 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

18 VAC 47-20-260. Protection of perpetual care and 
preneed trust funds. 

In the event that preneed or perpetual care funds are held in 
trust and the board or any of its agents have reason to believe 
that (i) the licensee or any agent of the licensee has diverted 
or misused any funds held in trust; (ii) the licensee is not able 
to adequately protect the interest of the person involved; (iii) 
the licensee’s conduct or the operation of the cemetery 
company threatens the interests of the public; or (iv) the 
licensee has had its license suspended, revoked or surrended, 
the board may initiate legal proceedings in accordance with 
§ 54.1-2313.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

18 VAC 47-20-270. Standards of approval of training 
course. 

All training courses shall be approved by the board.  The 
training course shall be at least eight hours and include 
appropriate testing procedures to demonstrate an 
understanding of the topics.  The training program shall 
include, but is not limited, to the following topics: 

1. Cemetery Board statute and regulations; 

2. Perpetual care trust fund requirements; 

3. Preneed trust fund requirements; 

4. Preneed burial contracts; 

5. Interment records; 

6. General price list; 

7. Itemized statement of goods and services provided; 

8. Advertising; 

9. Solicitation; 

10. Funeral rule; and 

11. Proper care, maintenance, administration and 
embellishment of the cemetery. 

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 47-20, 
Cemetery Board Rules and Regulations, are not being 
published; however, the name of each form is listed below.  
The forms are available for public inspection at the 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office 
of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

Compliance Agent/Director/Officer Change Form, 
CCADOCHG (eff. 7/1/00) 49ADOCHG (eff. 7/05). 

Cemetery Addition Form, 49CADD (eff. 1/06). 

Cemetery Company License Application, 49LIC (eff. 1/06). 

New Trustee/Transfer of Funds Notification Form, 
CCNEWTR (eff. 7/1/00) 49NEWTR (eff. 7/05). 

Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report Instructions, 
CCPCTINS (eff. 7/1/00) 49PCTINS (eff.7/03). 

Perpetual Care Fidelity Bond Form, CCPCFBND (eff. 
7/1/00) 49PCFBND (eff. 7/05). 

Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report, CCPCTFR (eff. 
7/1/00) 49PCTFR (eff. 7/05). 

Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report-Schedule A 
(Statement of Receipts and Expenses), CCPCTFRA (eff. 
7/1/00) 49PCTFRA (eff. 7/05). 

Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report-Schedule B 
(Statement of Required Deposits), CCPCTFRB (eff. 7/1/00) 
49PCTFRB (eff. 7/05). 

Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report-Schedule C 
(Statement of Expenses Incurred for the General Care, 
Maintenance, Embellishment and Administration of 
Cemeteries), CCPCTFRC (eff. 7/1/00) 49PCTFRC (eff. 
7/05). 

Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report-Schedule D 
(Statement of Investment Securities), CCPCTFRD (eff. 
7/1/00) 49PCTFRD (eff. 7/05). 

Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report-Schedule E 
(Cemeteries Covered by Trust Fund), CCPCTFRE (eff. 
7/1/00) 49PCTFRE (eff. 7/05). 

Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report Instructions, CCPTINS 
(eff. 7/1/00) 49PTINS (eff. 7/03). 

Preneed Fidelity Bond Form, CCPFBND (eff. 7/1/00) 
49PFBND (eff. 7/05). 

Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report, CCPTFR (eff. 7/1/00) 
49PTFR (eff. 7/05). 

Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report-Schedule A (Statement 
of Receipts and Expenses), CCPTFRA (eff. 7/1/00) 
49PTFRA (eff. 7/05). 

Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report-Schedule B (Statement 
of Financial Deposits), CCPTFRB (eff. 7/1/00) 49PTFRB 
(eff. 7/05). 

Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report-Schedule C (Statement 
of Investment Securities), CCPTFRC (eff. 7/1/00) 49PTFRC 
(eff. 7/05). 
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Cemetery Company Renewal/Reinstatement Application, 
49RENREI (eff. 1/06). 

Sales Personnel Registration Form, 49SLSREG (eff. 1/06). 

Perpetual Care Trust Fund Trustee Affidavit Verification, 
CCTRAFF (eff. 7/1/00) 49TRVER (eff. 7/05). 

Trustee Approval Application, CCTRAPP (eff. 7/1/00) 
49TRAPP (eff. 7/05). 

Preneed Burial Contract, CCPCTRCT (eff. 7/1/00) 
49PCTRCT (eff.7/03). 

Compliance Agent Designee Application, 49CADAPP (eff. 
2/05). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-276; Filed June 4, 2007, 12:39 p.m. 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 65-20. Regulations of the 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (amending 
18 VAC 65-20-10, 18 VAC 65-20-15, 18 VAC 65-20-60, 
18 VAC 65-20-120, 18 VAC 65-20-130, 18 VAC 65-20-153, 
18 VAC 65-20-170, 18 VAC 65-20-240, 18 VAC 65-20-350, 
18 VAC 65-20-420, 18 VAC 65-20-440, 18 VAC 65-20-500, 
18 VAC 65-20-510, 18 VAC 65-20-590, 18 VAC 65-20-700; 
adding 18 VAC 65-20-171). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2803 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  June 28, 2007 -- 8:30 a.m. 
Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on August 
24, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Agency Contact:  Elizabeth Young, Executive Director, 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6603 West Broad 
Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone 
(804) 662-9907, FAX (804) 662-9943, or email 
elizabeth.young@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 
the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards 
including the responsibility of the Board of Funeral Directors 
and Embalmers to promulgate regulations, levy fees, administer 
a registration and renewal program, and discipline regulated 
professionals. 

In addition, § 54.1-2803 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the board to establish standards of service and practice for the 
funeral service profession in the Commonwealth. 

Purpose:  The board reviewed each regulation in open 
meetings with the participation of representatives of funeral 
associations and received input about what needed to be 

changed.  The goal of the proposal was to address questions 
that have arisen from licensees or inspectors and issues 
relating to compliance with regulations.  Where possible, the 
board has tried to make the regulation more flexible and less 
prescriptive, but has made rules more prescriptive where it 
was necessary to assist with the licensee with an 
understanding of his responsibilities relating to the 
regulations.  Compliance with federal and state regulations by 
funeral service establishments and licensees is essential to 
protect the public health and safety relating to the financial 
arrangements and to the preparation and disposition of human 
remains.  Clarity in the regulations will assist the regulants in 
compliance. 

Substance:  The board has amended existing regulations to 
accomplish the following: 

1. The board has changed the term "establishment 
manager" to "manager of record" for consistency with other 
health professions that oversee facilities and has specified 
more accurately the responsibility of the manager. 

2. The board has provided an exception to those cases that 
may not be delegated to a subordinate to allow a committee 
of the board (the special conference committee) to 
authorize delegation of any case, and has added to the 
listing of cases that may not be delegated to include a case 
involving a felony conviction of an applicant for licensure 
or registration as a resident trainee. 

3. Amendments eliminate a requirement to notify the board 
of a change in the place of employment but require any 
change in the ownership, manager of record or name of a 
funeral establishment or facility to be made within 14 days 
rather than the current requirement of 30 days.   

4. The renewal dates for all licensees are changed to March 
31 of each calendar year for consistency with the renewal 
schedule for funeral service licenses, funeral director 
licenses and embalmer licenses. 

5. The board has eliminated the specific embalming report 
and specified four items that such a report must contain.  

6. Itemized statements and other reports will be required to 
be maintained for three years rather than the current 
requirement of one year. 

Issues:  The primary advantage to the consumers of funeral 
services could be an increase in the accountability and 
responsibility of the manager of record for the condition and 
maintenance of a funeral establishment and for compliance 
with federal and state rules relating to public health and 
safety.  By clarifying a number of regulations, the regulated 
entities may better understand their responsibilities and may 
be more likely to be in compliance.  There are no 
disadvantages to the public.  There is also some advantage to 
the public to require that all forms and records be maintained 
for a period of three years.  Should there be questions relating 
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to the services provided by a funeral establishment, 
consumers and/or the establishment may be better protected 
by the availability of records and forms. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 
Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation.  The 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (board) proposes 
to: 1) change the title "establishment manager" to "manager 
of record," 2) more clearly delineate the responsibilities of the 
manager of record, 3) allow itself the discretion to delegate 
any category of informal fact-finding proceedings to an 
agency subordinate, 4) add "felony conviction by an 
applicant" to the list of categories by which agency staff must 
check with the board on a case-by-case basis for authority to 
conduct informal fact-finding proceedings, 5) reduce the time 
within which establishments must report changes in 
ownership or manager of record from 30 days to 14 days, 6), 
change the expiration date for funeral establishment licenses, 
crematory registrations, and surface transportation and 
removal service registrations from January 31 to March 31 
and the expiration date for courtesy cards from December 31 
to March 31, 7) change the deadline for submitting an 
application package for funeral service licensure to 30 days 
prior to the examination date rather than 45 days, 8) reduce 
the amount of information required to be recorded for each 
embalming procedure conducted, 9) increase the length of 
time that records must be retained from one year to three 
years, and 10) add other clarifying language. 

Result of Analysis.  The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
all proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  The current regulations require 
that "every funeral service establishment and every branch or 
chapel of such establishment, regardless of how owned, shall 
have a separate establishment manager who is employed full 
time by the establishment for at least 40 hours a week."  The 
board proposes to change the title "establishment manager" to 
"manager of record" and to delineate more specifically that 
the manager of record is accountable for the operation of the 
establishment to include but not be limited to the maintenance 
of the facility, retention of required records, and reporting of 
changes in relevant information to the board.  This more 
specific language helps enable the board to more easily hold 
those individuals responsible for non-compliance in an 
establishment for which they are the manager of record. 

The current regulations permit the board to delegate informal 
fact-finding proceedings to Department of Health Professions 
(department) staff upon determination that probable cause 
exists that a practitioner may be subject to a disciplinary 
action, except for cases that involve any of the following: 1) 
intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely to 

cause injury, 2) conducting the practice of funeral services in 
such a manner as to constitute a danger to the health, safety, 
and well-being of the staff or the public, 3) impairment with 
an inability to practice with skill and safety, 4) inappropriate 
handling of dead human bodies, 5) sexual misconduct, 
6) misappropriation of funds, or 7) aiding or abetting 
unauthorized practice.  The board proposes to permit itself to 
delegate informal fact-finding proceedings to department staff 
for any category of case, but also proposes to retain the above 
list of categories for the following purpose; department staff 
will only be required to check with the board on a case-by-
case basis for authority to conduct informal fact-finding 
proceedings that involve any of the categories on the list. This 
proposed change allows the board the benefit of more 
flexibility and is unlikely to produce any costs for the 
Commonwealth.  Thus, it will likely produce a net benefit. 

The board also proposes to add "felony conviction by an 
applicant" to the list of categories by which agency staff must 
check with the board on a case-by-case basis for authority to 
conduct informal fact-finding proceedings.  This may produce 
a small delay in the start of informal fact-finding proceedings 
that involve "felony conviction by an applicant," but the 
delays will likely usually be small and the board believes the 
costs of its non-involvement are potentially significant for 
this category. 

Under the current regulations funeral establishments must 
report changes in ownership or manager of record 
(establishment manager) within 30 days of the change.  The 
board proposes to reduce the time to 14 days.  Given the 
existence of modern communication technology such as 
email, it is not difficult for firms to quickly report one 
sentence of information.  Thus the cost of this proposed 
amendment is minimal.  The change brings some potential for 
public benefit in that the department and board may be able to 
more quickly ascertain potential risks for the public. 

Also under the current regulations, the expiration date for 
funeral service licenses, funeral director license, and 
embalmer licenses is March 31; while the expiration dates for 
funeral service establishment licenses, crematory 
registrations, and surface transportation and removal service 
registrations is January 31; and the expiration date for 
courtesy cards for out-of-state practitioners is December 31.  
The board proposes to make all expiration dates March 31.  
This proposed amendment will be beneficial in that it will 
reduce confusion for affected entities, reduce department staff 
time in alleviating that confusion, and will allow staff to 
focus renewal activity into one specific time. 

The board proposes to amend the deadline for submitting an 
application package for funeral service licensure to 30 days 
prior to the examination date rather than 45 days.  This will 
be beneficial for applicants who will be able to take the exam 
sooner and potentially start working sooner. 
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Additionally, the board proposes to reduce the amount of 
information required to be recorded for each embalming 
procedure conducted.  This will moderately reduce the 
amount of time spent in producing such records.  Given that 
the board and department believe that the reduced 
information is sufficient, the proposal will clearly create a net 
benefit. 

Finally, the board wishes to increase the length of time that 
records must be retained from one year to three years.  
According to the department funeral establishments are 
inspected approximately once every three years; and 
investigations of unprofessional conduct may not be initiated 
and completed within one year of an event for which the 
record must be reviewed.  Thus, there are clear benefits in 
terms of assuring that funeral establishments are meeting 
requirements for extending the required record retention time.  
The costs of retaining the amount of data required by the 
board are small, particularly if the data is kept electronically.  
Thus this proposal will likely produce a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed regulations 
affect Virginia licensed funeral establishments, their owners 
and employees, and their clients.  According to the 
department there are currently 507 licensed funeral 
establishments; of that number approximately 350 would be 
considered small businesses. The rest are establishments that 
are owned by large, national or international corporations. 
There are 1,434 licensed funeral service providers, 6 
embalmers, and 112 funeral directors who are employees of 
those establishments. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  The proposed regulatory 
amendments do not disproportionately affect specific 
localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  The proposed 
amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the amount of 
employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  None of 
the proposed amendments are likely to have large effects on 
the use and value of private property.  As stated earlier, the 
proposal to amend the deadline for submitting an application 
package for funeral service licensure to 30 days prior to the 
examination date rather than 45 days will be beneficial for 
applicants who will be able to take the exam sooner and 
potentially start working sooner.  Thus these individuals may 
start earning salaries earlier, and firms may become fully 
staffed earlier. 

The proposed reduction in the amount of information required 
to be recorded for each embalming procedure will moderately 
reduce the amount of time spent by funeral establishment 
staff in producing such records.  The positive value of this 
moderate reduction in required labored time will most likely 
exceed the very small increase in costs associated with the 
proposed requirement for establishments to retain records for 

three years rather than one.  Thus in net the proposed 
amendments will likely moderately reduce costs for most 
affected firms. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  The proposed 
reduction in the amount of information required to be 
recorded for each embalming procedure will moderately 
reduce the amount of time spent by small funeral 
establishment staff in producing such records.  The positive 
value of this moderate reduction in required labored time will 
most likely exceed the very small increase in costs associated 
with the proposed requirement for small establishments to 
retain records for three years rather than one.  Thus in net the 
proposed amendments will likely moderately reduce costs for 
most affected small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The proposed amendments do not produce a 
net adverse impact for small businesses. 

Legal Mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Board of Funeral 
Directors and Embalmers concurs with the analysis of the 
Department of Planning and Budget for amendments to 
18 VAC 65-20 related to its periodic review 
recommendations. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments specify the terminology and 
responsibilities for an establishment manager of record, 
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revise the renewal schedule for establishments for 
consistency with other licenses, clarify the licensee’s 
responsibility for compliance with continuing education, 
increase the requirement for retention of records from one 
year to three years, and streamline the requirement for a 
detailed embalming report. 

18 VAC 65-20-10. Definitions. 

Words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 
definitions ascribed in § 54.1-2800 of the Code of Virginia or 
in 16 CFR Part 453, Funeral Industry Practices, of the Federal 
Trade Commission, which is incorporated by reference in this 
chapter. In addition, the following words and terms when 
used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Branch" or "chapel" means a funeral service establishment 
that is affiliated with a licensed main establishment and that 
conforms with the requirements of § 54.1-2811 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

"Courtesy card" means the card issued by the board which 
grants limited and restricted funeral service privileges in the 
Commonwealth to out-of-state funeral service licensees, 
funeral directors, and embalmers. 

"Cremation urn" means a wood, metal, stone, plastic, or 
composition container or a container of other material, which 
is designed for encasing cremated ashes. 

"Cremation vault" or "cremation outer burial container" 
means any container that is designed for encasement of an 
inner container or urn containing cremated ashes. Also known 
as a cremation box. 

"Establishment manager" means a funeral service licensee or 
licensed funeral director designated as the manager of record 
who is responsible for the direct supervision and management 
of a funeral service establishment or branch facility. 

"FTC" means the Federal Trade Commission. 

"Manager of record" means a funeral service licensee or 
licensed funeral director who is responsible for the direct 
supervision and management of a funeral service 
establishment or branch facility. 

18 VAC 65-20-15. Criteria for delegation of informal fact-
finding proceedings to an agency subordinate. 

A. Decision to delegate. In accordance with § 54.1-2400 (10) 
of the Code of Virginia, the board may delegate an informal 
fact-finding proceeding to an agency subordinate upon 
determination that probable cause exists that a practitioner 
may be subject to a disciplinary action. 

B. Criteria for delegation. Cases that may not be delegated to 
an agency subordinate, except with the concurrence of a 
committee of the board, are those that involve: 

1. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely to 
cause injury; 

2. Conducting the practice of funeral services in such a 
manner as to constitute a danger to the health, safety, and 
well-being of the staff or the public; 

3. Impairment with an inability to practice with skill and 
safety; 

4. Inappropriate handling of dead human bodies; 

5. Sexual misconduct; 

6. Misappropriation of funds; or 

7. Aiding or abetting unauthorized practice.; or 

8. Felony conviction by an applicant. 

C. Criteria for an agency subordinate. 

1. An agency subordinate authorized by the board to 
conduct an informal fact-finding proceeding may include 
board members deemed knowledgeable by virtue of their 
training and experience in administrative proceedings 
involving the regulation and discipline of health 
professionals. 

2. The executive director shall maintain a list of 
appropriately qualified persons to whom an informal 
fact-finding proceeding may be delegated. 

3. The board may delegate to the executive director the 
selection of the agency subordinate who is deemed 
appropriately qualified to conduct a proceeding based on 
the qualifications of the subordinate and the type of case 
being heard. 

18 VAC 65-20-60. Accuracy of information. 

A. All changes of mailing address, or name, place of 
employment, or change in establishment ownership, manager, 
or name of a licensee or registrant shall be furnished to the 
board within 30 days after the change occurs. 

B. Any change in ownership or manager of record for an 
establishment shall be reported to the board within 14 days of 
the change. 

B. C. All notices required by law and by this chapter to be 
mailed by the board to any registrant or licensee shall be 
validly given when mailed to the latest address on file with 
the board and shall not relieve the licensee, funeral service 
intern, establishment, or firm of obligation to comply. 

18 VAC 65-20-120. Expiration dates. 

A. A funeral service establishment license, crematory 
registration, or surface transportation and removal service 
registration shall expire on January March 31 of each 
calendar year. 
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B. The funeral service license, funeral director license, or 
embalmer license shall expire on March 31 of each calendar 
year. 

C. Courtesy cards expire on December March 31 of each 
calendar year. 

18 VAC 65-20-130. Renewal of license; registration. 

A. A person, establishment, crematory, courtesy card holder 
or surface transportation and removal service that desires to 
renew its license or registration for the next year shall, not 
later than the expiration date as provided in 18 VAC 
65-20-120, submit the renewal application and applicable fee. 

1. In order to renew an active funeral service, director or 
embalmer license, a licensee shall be required to comply 
with continuing competency requirements set forth in 
18 VAC 65-20-151. 

2. The board shall not renew a license for any licensee who 
fails to attest to compliance with continuing competency 
requirements on the renewal form. 

B. A person who or entity that desires to renew an expired 
license for up to one year following expiration shall comply 
with requirements of subsection A of this section and also 
submit the applicable fee for late renewal. 

C. A person who or entity which fails to renew a license, 
registration, or courtesy card by the expiration dates 
prescribed in 18 VAC 65-20-120 shall be deemed to have an 
invalid license, registration, or courtesy card and continued 
practice may subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the 
board. 

18 VAC 65-20-153. Documenting compliance with 
continuing education requirements. 

A. All licensees with active status are required to maintain 
original documentation for a period of two years after 
renewal. 

B. After the end of each renewal period, the board may 
conduct a random audit of licensees to verify compliance with 
the requirement for that renewal period. 

C. Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation 
within 14 days as follows: 

1. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned from an 
accredited institution; or 

2. Certificates of completion from approved providers. 

D. Compliance with continuing education requirements, 
including the subject and purpose of the courses as prescribed 
in 18 VAC 65-20-151 B, the maintenance of records and the 
relevance of the courses to the category of licensure is the 
responsibility of the licensee. The board may request 
additional information if such compliance is not clear from 
the transcripts or certificates. 

E. Continuing education hours required by disciplinary order 
shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements. 

18 VAC 65-20-170. Requirements for an establishment 
license. 

A. No person shall maintain, manage, or operate a funeral 
service establishment in the Commonwealth, unless such 
establishment holds a license issued by the board. The name 
of the funeral service licensee or licensed funeral director 
designated by the ownership to be manager of the 
establishment shall be included on the license. 

B. Except as provided in § 54.1-2810 of the Code of Virginia, 
every funeral service establishment and every branch or 
chapel of such establishment, regardless of how owned, shall 
have a separate establishment manager who is employed full 
time by the establishment for at least 40 hours a week of 
record who has responsibility for the establishment as 
prescribed in 18 VAC 65-20-171. The owner of the 
establishment shall not abridge the authority of the manager 
of record relating to compliance with the laws governing the 
practice of funeral services and regulations of the board.  . 

C. At least 45 days prior to opening an establishment, an 
owner or licensed manager seeking an establishment license 
shall submit simultaneously a completed application, any 
additional documentation as may be required by the board to 
determine eligibility, and the applicable fee. An incomplete 
package will be returned to the licensee. A license shall not 
be issued until an inspection of the establishment has been 
completed and approved. 

D. Within 30 days following a change of ownership, the 
owner or licensed manager shall notify the board, request a 
reinspection of the establishment, submit an application for a 
new establishment license with documentation that identifies 
the new owner, and pay the licensure and reinspection fees as 
required by 18 VAC 65-20-70. Reinspection of the 
establishment may occur on a schedule determined by the 
board, but shall occur no later than one year from the date of 
the change. 

E. The application for licensure of a branch or chapel shall 
specify the name of the main establishment. 

18 VAC 65-20-171. Responsibilities of the manager of 
record. 

A. The manager of record shall be employed full time by the 
establishment for at least 40 hours a week. 

B. The manager shall be fully accountable for the operation of 
the establishment as it pertains to the laws and regulations 
governing the practice of funeral services, to include but not 
be limited to: 

1. Maintenance of the facility within standards established 
in this chapter; 
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2. Retention of reports and documents as prescribed by the 
board in 18 VAC 65-20-700 during the period in which he 
serves as manager of record; and  

3. Reporting to the board of any changes in information as 
required by 18 VAC 65-20-60. 

18 VAC 65-20-240. Requirements for funeral service 
licensure by examination. 

A. Application requirements. 

1. With the exception of school transcripts and national 
examination board scores, all parts of an application 
package, including the required fee and any additional 
documentation as may be required to determine eligibility, 
shall be submitted simultaneously. 

2. An individual applying for the state examination shall 
submit the application package within six months and not 
less than 45 30 days prior to an examination date. The 
board may, for good cause shown by the applicant, waive 
the time for the filing of any application. 

B. National examination requirements. Prior to applying for 
licensure by examination, every applicant shall pass the 
National Board Examination of the Conference of Funeral 
Service Examining Boards of the United States, Inc., 
administered in accredited schools of embalming or mortuary 
science. 

C. State examination requirements. All applicants shall pass 
the Virginia State Board Examination. 

18 VAC 65-20-350. Requirements for licensure by 
reciprocity or endorsement. 

A. Licenses for the practice of funeral service or its 
equivalent issued by other states, territories, or the District of 
Columbia may be recognized by the board and the holder of 
such license or licenses may be granted a license to practice 
funeral service within the Commonwealth, as follows:. 

1. Reciprocity. Licenses may be granted by reciprocity 
provided that the same privileges are granted by the other 
jurisdiction to Virginia funeral service licensees by the 
establishment of substantially similar licensure 
requirements and reciprocity agreements between the two 
jurisdictions; or 

2. Endorsement. Licenses may be granted to applicants by the 
board on a case-by-case basis if the applicant holds a valid 
license for the practice of funeral service or its equivalent in 
another state, territory, or the District of Columbia and 
possesses credentials which are substantially similar to or 
more stringent than required by the Commonwealth for initial 
licensure at the time the applicant was initially licensed. 

B. An applicant for licensure by reciprocity or endorsement 
shall pass the Virginia State Board Examination. 

18 VAC 65-20-420. Misrepresentation. 

A person employed or operating a surface transportation and 
removal service shall not in any manner misrepresent himself 
to the public as being an official of any local jurisdiction, the 
Commonwealth, federal, or any other governmental body 
unless granted such authority. This shall include the name and 
title of the company or service, uniforms, equipment, 
vehicles, and any other instruments used or proffered by the 
services or its agents. The board shall be the sole determinant 
of the appropriateness of the pertinent qualities of the service 
and staff in enforcing this regulation. 

18 VAC 65-20-440. Courtesy cards. 

A. An out-of-state person applying for a courtesy card 
pursuant to § 54.1-2801 B of the Code of Virginia shall hold 
a valid license for funeral service, funeral directing, or 
embalming in another state, territory, or the District of 
Columbia. 

B. An applicant for a courtesy card shall submit: 

1. A completed application and prescribed fee; and 

2. Verification of a current funeral service license in good 
standing from the applicant's licensing authority. 

C. The holder of a Virginia courtesy card shall only engage in 
the practice for which he is currently licensed in another 
jurisdiction. 

18 VAC 65-20-500. Disciplinary action. 

In accordance with the provisions of § 54.1-2806 of the Code 
of Virginia, the following practices are considered 
unprofessional conduct and may subject the licensee to 
disciplinary action by the board: 

1. Breach of confidence. The unnecessary or unwarranted 
disclosure of confidences by the funeral licensee. 

2. Unfair competition. 

a. Interference by a funeral service licensee, funeral 
director, or registered surface transportation and removal 
service when another has been called to take charge of a 
dead human body and the caller or agent of the caller has 
the legal right to the body's disposition. 

b. Consent by a funeral service licensee or funeral 
director to take charge of a body unless authorized by the 
person or his agent having the legal right to disposition. 

3. False advertising. 

a. No licensee or registrant shall make, publish, 
disseminate, circulate or place before the public, or cause 
directly or indirectly to be made, an advertisement of any 
sort regarding services or anything so offered to the 
public which contains any promise, assertion, 
representation, or statement of fact which is untrue, 
deceptive, or misleading. 
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b. The following practices, both written and verbal, shall 
constitute false, deceptive, or misleading advertisement 
within the meaning of subdivision 4 of § 54.1-2806 of 
the Code of Virginia: 

(1) Advertising containing inaccurate statements; and 

(2) Advertisement which gives a false impression as to 
ability, care, and cost of conducting a funeral, or that 
creates an impression of things not likely to be true. 

c. The following practices are among those which shall 
constitute an untrue, deceptive, and misleading 
representation or statement of fact: 

(1) Representing that funeral goods or services will 
delay the natural decomposition of human remains for 
a long term or indefinite time; and 

(2) Representing that funeral goods have protective 
features or will protect the body from gravesite 
substances over or beyond that offered by the written 
warranty of the manufacturer. 

4. Inappropriate handling of dead human bodies. 
Transportation and removal vehicles shall be of such nature 
as to eliminate exposure of the deceased to the public 
during transportation. During the transporting of a human 
body, consideration shall be taken to avoid unnecessary 
delays or stops during travel. 

5. Failure to furnish price information disclosing the cost to 
the purchaser for each of the specific funeral goods and 
funeral services used in connection with the disposition of 
deceased human bodies. 

6. Conducting the practice of funeral services in such a 
manner as to constitute a danger to the health, safety, and 
well-being of the staff or the public. 

7. Inability to practice with skill or safety because of 
physical, mental, or emotional illness, or substance abuse. 

8. Failure to register as a supervisor for a funeral service 
intern or failure to provide reports to the board as required 
by the Code of Virginia and 18 VAC 65-40-320. 

9. Failure to comply with applicable federal and state laws 
and regulations, including requirements for continuing 
education. 

18 VAC 65-20-510. Embalming report. 

Every funeral establishment shall record and maintain a 
separate, identifiable report on a form as prescribed in 
Appendix IV of this chapter for each embalming procedure 
conducted, which shall at a minimum include the following 
information: 

1. The name of the deceased and the date of death; 

2. The date and location of the embalming; 

3. The name and signature of the embalmer and the 
Virginia license number of the embalmer; and 

4. If the embalming was performed by a funeral service 
intern, the name and signature of the supervisor. 

18 VAC 65-20-590. Disposal of waste materials. 

Disposal of all waste materials shall be in conformity with 
local, state, and federal law and regulations to avoid 
contagion and the possible spread of disease. Upon 
inspection, the establishment shall provide evidence of 
compliance, such as a copy of a contract with a medical waste 
disposal company. 

18 VAC 65-20-700. Retention of documents. 

A. The following retention schedule shall apply to retention 
of embalming reports, price lists, and itemized statements: 

1. Price lists shall be retained for one year three years after 
the date on which they are no longer effective; 

2. Itemized statements shall be retained for one year three 
years from the date on which the arrangements were made; 
and 

3. Embalming reports shall be retained at the location of the 
embalming for one year three years after the date of the 
embalming;. 

B. The manager of record shall be responsible for retention 
and maintenance of all required documents. 

4. C. Documents shall be maintained on the premises of the 
funeral establishment and made available for inspection; and. 

5. D. In instances where the funeral establishment is sold, 
documents shall be transferred to the new owner, unless the 
existing firm is relocating to a new facility. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-91; Filed June 5, 2007, 11:29 a.m. 

BOARD OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 75-20. Regulations Governing 
Practitioner Self-Referral (amending 18 VAC 75-20-60, 
18 VAC 75-20-70; adding 18 VAC 75-20-120, 18 VAC 75-
20-130 and 18 VAC 75-20-140). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2412 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until 5 p.m. on August 24, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Effective Date:  September 10, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive 
Director, Board of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad 
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Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone 
(804) 662-9910, FAX (804) 662-9943, or email 
elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides 
the Board of Health Professions the authority to promulgate 
regulations to administer the regulatory system and to 
delegate to an agency subordinate. 

The specific statutory mandate for regulations necessary for 
administration of the Practitioner Self-Referral Act are in 
§ 54.1-2412 of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4019 of the Administrative Process Act 
authorizes delegation of informal fact-finding to a 
subordinate. 

Purpose:  The intent of the proposed action is to amend the 
regulations governing practitioner self-referral to allow the 
board to delegate an informal conference to consider the 
issuance of an advisory opinion or exception from provisions 
of the law.   

The Practitioner Self-Referral Act (Chapter 24.1 (§ 54.1-2410 
et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia) sets out certain 
exceptions to the prohibition against self-referral and 
authorizes the Board of Health Professions to grant other 
exceptions to entities or practitioners who meet statutory 
criteria for an exception.  The board is also authorized to 
administer the chapter by issuing advisory opinions on the 
applicability of the law to a proposed referral arrangement 
between or among practitioners.  

An entity seeking an advisory opinion or an exception must 
file an application and submit a fee, along with sufficient 
documentation to support the position that the business 
relationship proposed does not constitute a violation of the 
Act.  Since the issues involved in rendering a decision are 
typically financial and business in nature, rather than practice 
or professional in nature, the Self-Referral Committee of the 
board (acting as an informal conference committee) generally 
depends on the review of the documents by and opinions of 
legal and/or financial experts to render its decision following 
an informal fact-finding proceeding. 

In the Administrative Process Act, § 2.2-4019 sets out the 
rights of parties to the case in informal fact-finding and 
includes the authority of the agency to have the case heard by 
its subordinates or before a hearing officer for the informal 
presentation of factual data, argument, or proof in connection 
with any case.  Any recommendation from the subordinate 
would have to be ratified by the Board of Health Professions, 
so the authority to make decisions relative to the applicability 
of the Self-Referral Act would remain with the board in order 
to ensure that consumers of health care services are being 
appropriately referred without jeopardizing their health and 
safety. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process:  The fast-track 
process is being used to promulgate the amendments because 
this is strongly recommended by the Self-Referral Committee 
of the board, and there is agreement among citizen and 
professional members with the changes proposed.  The action 
is not controversial and is expected to facilitate decisions on 
applications for advisory opinions or exceptions. 

Substance:  A new section of regulation is added to set out the 
criteria and process for delegation of conferences on advisory 
opinions and requests for exceptions to the practitioner self-
referral prohibition, including authorization to delegate, 
criteria for delegation, and the qualifications of individuals 
who may be designated as agency subordinates.  Any 
recommendation by the subordinate must be ratified or may 
be reversed by the board in rendering its decision on an 
application. 

Issues:  There are no disadvantages to the public of these 
amendments.  For those entities seeking an advisory opinion 
or an exception to the Act, the process should be less 
cumbersome and a decision may be more timely. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth.  There would be an advantage to the 
members of the Board of Health Professions who would not 
be required to give up a day of practice to attend an informal 
conference on an application relating to the Practitioner Self-
Referral Committee. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Regulation.  The Board of Health 
Professions (Board) proposes to amend the Regulations 
Governing Practitioner Self-Referral so that an agency 
subordinate can evaluate applications for an advisory opinion.  
The Board also proposes to amend the language of these 
regulations to clarify that all application approvals or 
disapprovals are currently, and must continue to be, ratified 
by the Board. 

Result of Analysis.  The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
this proposed regulatory change. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  Section 54.1-2411 of the Code 
of Virginia, requires that, with certain exceptions, a health 
care “practitioner shall not refer a patient for health services 
to an entity outside the practitioner's office or group practice 
if the practitioner or any of the practitioner's immediate 
family members is an investor in such entity.”  This section 
also allows the Board to issue advisory opinions and 
establishes the rules under which the Board may grant 
exceptions to the prohibition against self-referral.  Current 
regulations allow the Board’s self-referral committee (acting 
as an informal conference committee) to consider applications 
for exception to § 54.1-2411 and to issue advisory opinions 
about whether practitioners are in compliance with § 54.1-
2411.  Once the self-referral committee reaches a decision 
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about whether an exception is appropriate, that decision has 
to be ratified by the Board. 

The Department of Health Professions (DHP) reports that 
“the issues involved in rendering a decision (on an application 
for exception) are typically financial and business in nature.”  
The self-referral committee currently depends on legal and 
financial experts to advise them on these issues before they 
render decisions.  The Board proposes to increase the 
efficiency of this decision-making process by allowing an 
agency subordinate with subject matter expertise to consider 
applications for exception and to make recommendations on 
them.  Those recommendations would then need to be ratified 
by the Board (just as committee decisions are now ratified). 

This change will likely benefit both the Board and 
practitioners whose applications are being considered.  The 
Board will benefit because less Board staff time will have to 
be spent soliciting appropriate expert opinions on 
applications.  Practitioners whose applications are approved 
benefit from being able to self-refer sooner. Practitioners will 
benefit from a more expedited process even when their 
applications are denied, because this expedited process will 
allow them to direct the time and resources that they may 
have been holding in reserve toward other ventures. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  Any health care 
practitioner who submits an application for exception to the 
rules against self-referral will be affected by the proposed 
regulations.  DHP reports that the Board typically receives 
only one or two such applications annually. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  No locality will be 
particularly affected by the proposed regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  Since the Board will be 
utilizing the services of subject-matter experts who will act as 
agency subordinates, the proposed regulations will likely 
increase opportunities for contract employment with the 
Board. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  To the 
extent that the proposed regulations allow health care 
practitioners to be granted exceptions more quickly, the value 
of their practices may increase by the profits that were 
formerly forestalled during the longer decision-making 
process. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  Affected small 
businesses will not incur any extra costs on account of the 
proposed regulations. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  Affected small businesses will not incur any 
extra costs on account of the proposed regulations. 

Legal Mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 

(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Board of Health 
Professions concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget on proposed amended regulations for 
18 VAC 75-20, Regulations Governing Practitioner Self-
Referral. 

Summary: 

The amendments set out criteria for delegation of an 
informal conference to an agency subordinate.  The criteria 
for delegation would be those applications for an advisory 
opinion or an exception to the Practitioner Self-Referral 
Act that are deemed by the executive director and the 
chairman of the board to be appropriate for a conference 
with a subordinate who is qualified by his training and 
experience in the organizational structure of the entity 
providing the health care service.  The board would 
delegate the choice of the subordinate to the executive 
director. 

In addition, amendments are made to accurately reflect the 
process currently followed by a committee of the board that 
hears an application for an advisory opinion or an 
exception.  The committee does not issue the opinion or 
grant the exception until its recommendation is presented 
to the board for ratification. 

18 VAC 75-20-60. Application for advisory opinions. 

A. Any practitioner or entity may request an advisory opinion 
on the applicability of the Act upon completion of an 
application and payment of a fee. 
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B. Requests shall be made on an application form prescribed 
by the board. The request shall contain the following 
information: 

1. The name of the practitioner or entity; 

2. Identification of the practitioner or entity and description 
of the health care services being provided or proposed; 

3. The type and amount of existing or proposed investment 
interest in the entity; 

4. A description of the nature of the investment interest and 
copies of any existing or proposed documents between the 
practitioner and the entity including but not limited to 
leases, contracts, organizational documents, etc.; and 

5. Certification and notarized signature of the practitioner 
or principal of the entity requesting the advisory opinion 
that the information and supporting documentation 
contained therein is true and correct. 

C. The application shall be reviewed for completeness, and 
the board may request such other additional information or 
documentation it deems necessary from the practitioner or 
entity. 

D. Upon a determination that a request for an advisory 
opinion is complete and that it has sufficient information, the 
committee board shall notify the practitioner or entity that it 
will consider its request. 

E. At the conclusion of the meeting or an informal 
conference, the committee shall issue an advisory opinion to 
the practitioner or entity, which shall be presented for 
ratification by the board. 

18 VAC 75-20-70. Application for exception. 

A. A practitioner or entity may request an exception to the 
prohibitions of the Act upon completion of an application and 
payment of a fee. 

B. Requests shall be made on an application form prescribed 
by the board. The application shall contain the following 
information: 

1. The name and identifying information of the practitioner 
or entity; 

2. The information and documentation regarding 
community need and alternative financing as required by 
§ 54.1-2411 B of the Code of Virginia; 

3. Certification and notarized signature of the practitioner 
or principal of the entity requesting the exception that the 
information contained in the application and supporting 
documentation is true and correct. 

C. The application shall be reviewed for completeness, and 
the board may request additional information and 
documentation from the applicant. 

D. Upon a determination that an application is complete and 
that it has sufficient information, the committee board shall 
notify the applicant that it will consider the request. 

E. At the conclusion of the meeting or an informal 
conference, the committee shall issue a decision regarding the 
request for an exception to the applicant, which shall be 
presented for ratification by the board. 

F. Exceptions to the Act shall be valid for a period of no more 
than five years. 

G. Subject to verification by the board, an exception shall be 
renewed upon payment of a renewal fee and the receipt of 
certification from the practitioner or entity that the conditions 
under which the original exception was granted continue to 
warrant the exception. 

PART IV. 
DELEGATION TO AN AGENCY SUBORDINATE. 

18 VAC 75-20-120. Decision to delegate. 

In accordance with § 54.1-2400 (10) of the Code of Virginia, 
the board may delegate an informal conference to an agency 
subordinate to consider an application for an advisory opinion 
or an exception to the provisions of the Act. 

18 VAC 75-20-130. Criteria for delegation. 

Applications that may be delegated shall be those approved 
by the chairman and executive director of the board. 

18 VAC 75-20-140. Criteria for an agency subordinate. 

A. An agency subordinate authorized by the board to conduct 
an informal conference may include current or past board 
members and professional staff or other persons deemed 
knowledgeable by virtue of their training and experience in 
the organizational structure of entities providing the health 
care services identified in the application. 

B. The board shall delegate to the executive director the 
selection of the agency subordinate who is deemed 
appropriately qualified to conduct a conference based on the 
qualifications of the subordinate and the type of case being 
heard. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-267; Filed June 5, 2007, 11:31 a.m. 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 90-25. Regulations Governing 
Certified Nurse Aides (amending 18 VAC 90-25-15 
through 18 VAC 90-25-80 and 18 VAC 90-25-100 through 
18 VAC 90-25-130; adding 18 VAC 90-25-71, 18 VAC 90-
25-72 and 18 VAC 90-25-81). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
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Effective Date:  July 25, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 
Board of Nursing, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 West Broad Street, 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9909, FAX (804) 662-9512, or email 
jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) require nursing aide programs to 
report any change of physical location to the board, (ii) 
specify that the licenses required of program coordinators 
and instructors be current and unrestricted, (iii) reduce 
from 24 to 16 the number of core curriculum hours that 
must be completed before a student can have direct client 
contact, (iv) provide that giving false information to staff or 
board members in the course of an investigation or 
proceeding may lead to disciplinary action, and (v) specify 
that a nursing aide certificate holder can only petition the 
board once to remove a finding of neglect.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

18 VAC 90-25-15. Identification; accuracy of records. 

A. Any person regulated by this chapter who provides direct 
patient care shall, while on duty, wear identification that is 
clearly visible and indicates the person's first and last name 
and the appropriate title issued to such person by the board 
under which he is practicing in that setting. 

B. A certificate holder who has changed his name shall 
submit as legal proof to the board a copy of the marriage 
certificate or court order evidencing the change. A duplicate 
certificate shall be issued by the board upon receipt of such 
evidence. 

C. Each certificate holder shall maintain a record of his 
current mailing address with the board, and any change of 
address shall be submitted in writing to the board within 30 
days of such change. All notices required by law and by this 
chapter to be mailed by the board to any certificate holder 
shall be validly given when mailed to the latest address on 
file with the board. 

18 VAC 90-25-20. Establishing and maintaining a nurse 
aide education program. 

A. Establishing a nurse aide education program. 

1. A program provider wishing to establish a nurse aide 
education program shall submit an application to the board 
at least 90 days in advance of the expected opening date. 

2. The application shall provide evidence of the ability of 
the institution to comply with subsection B of this section. 

3. The committee shall, in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of 
the Code of Virginia, receive and review the application 

and shall make a recommendation to the board to grant or 
deny approval. 

4. If the committee's recommendation is to deny approval, 
no further action will be required of the board unless the 
program requests a hearing before the board or a panel 
thereof in accordance with § 2.2-4020 and subdivision 11 
of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Maintaining an approved nurse aide education program. 
To maintain approval, the nurse aide education program shall: 

1. Demonstrate evidence of compliance with the following 
essential elements: 

a. Curriculum content and length as set forth in 
subsection A of 18 VAC 90-25-40 and subsection C of 
18 VAC 90-25-50. 

b. Maintenance of qualified instructional personnel as set 
forth in 18 VAC 90-25-30. 

c. Classroom facilities that meet requirements set forth in 
subsection D of 18 VAC 90-25-50. 

d. Maintenance of records as set forth in subsection A of 
18 VAC 90-25-50. 

e. Skills training experience in a nursing facility that has 
not been subject to penalty or penalties as provided in 42 
CFR 483.151(b)(2) (Medicare and Medicaid Programs: 
Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation 
Programs and Paid Feeding Assistants, effective April 1, 
1992 revised October 1, 2005) in the past two years. The 
foregoing shall not apply to a nursing facility that has 
received a waiver from the state survey agency in 
accordance with federal law. 

f. Agreement that board representatives may make 
unannounced visits to the program. 

g. Financial support and resources sufficient to meet 
requirements of this chapter as evidenced by a copy of 
the current annual budget or a signed statement from the 
administration specifically detailing its financial support 
and resources. 

h. Completion and submission of biennial on-site review 
reports and program evaluation reports as requested by 
the board. 

2. Impose no fee for any portion of the program on any 
nurse aide who, on the date on which the nurse aide begins 
the program, is either employed or has an offer of 
employment from a nursing facility. 

3. Provide documentation that each student applying to or 
enrolled in such program has been given a copy of 
applicable Virginia law regarding criminal history records 
checks for employment in certain health care facilities, and 
a list of crimes that pose a barrier to such employment. 
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4. Report all substantive changes in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection within 10 days of the change to the board to 
include, but not be limited to, a change in the program 
coordinator, primary instructor, program ownership, 
physical location of the program or licensure status. 

5. Provide each student with a copy of his certificate of 
completion. 

18 VAC 90-25-30. Requirements for instructional 
personnel. 

A. Program coordinator. 

1. Each program shall have a program coordinator who 
must be a registered nurse who holds a current, unrestricted 
license in Virginia or a multistate licensure privilege. 

2. The program coordinator in a nursing facility based 
program may be the director of nursing services. The 
director of nursing may assume the administrative 
responsibility and accountability for the nurse aide 
education program but shall not engage in the actual 
classroom and clinical teaching. 

3. The primary instructor may be the program coordinator 
in any nurse aide education program. 

B. Primary instructor. 

1. Each program shall have a primary instructor who must 
be a registered nurse who holds a current, unrestricted 
license in Virginia or a multistate licensure privilege. 

2. Qualifications. The primary instructor, who does the 
majority of the actual teaching of the students shall: 

a. Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia license as a 
registered nurse who holds a current, unrestricted license 
in Virginia or a multistate licensure privilege; and 

b. Have two years of experience as a registered nurse 
within the previous five years and at least one year of 
experience in the provision of long-term care facility 
services. Such experience may include, but not be limited 
to, employment in a nurse aide education program or 
employment in or supervision of nursing students in a 
nursing facility or unit, geriatrics department, chronic 
care hospital, home care or other long-term care setting. 
Experience should include varied responsibilities, such as 
direct resident care, supervision and education. 

3. Responsibilities. The primary instructor is responsible 
for the teaching and evaluation of students and, in addition, 
shall: 

a. Participate in the planning of each learning experience; 

b. Ensure that course objectives are accomplished; 

c. Ensure that the provisions of subsection F of this 
section are maintained; 

d. Maintain records as required by subsection A of 
18 VAC 90-25-50; 

e. Perform other activities necessary to comply with 
subsection B of 18 VAC 90-25-20; and 

f. Ensure that students do not perform services for which 
they have not received instruction and been found 
proficient by the instructor. 

C. Other instructional personnel. 

1. Instructional personnel who assist the primary instructor 
in providing classroom or clinical supervision shall be 
registered nurses or licensed practical nurses. 

a. A registered nurse shall: 

(1) Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia license as a 
registered nurse; and 

(2) Have had at least one year of direct patient care 
experience as a registered nurse. 

b. A licensed practical nurse shall: 

(1) Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia license as a 
practical nurse; 

(2) Hold a high school diploma or equivalent; 

(3) Have been graduated from a state-approved 
practical nursing program; and 

(4) Have had at least two years of direct patient care 
experience as a licensed practical nurse. 

2. Responsibilities. Other instructional personnel shall 
provide instruction under the supervision of the primary 
instructor. 

D. Prior to being assigned to teach the nurse aide education 
program, all instructional personnel shall demonstrate 
competence to teach adults by one of the following: 

1. Satisfactory completion of a course in teaching adults 
that includes (i) basic principles of adult learning; (ii) 
teaching methods and tools for adult learners; and (iii) 
evaluation strategies and measurement tools for assessing 
the learning outcomes; or 

2. Have experience in teaching adults or high school 
students. 

E. To meet planned program objectives, the program may, 
under the direct, on-site supervision of the primary instructor, 
use other persons who have expertise in specific topics and 
have had at least one year of experience in their field. 

F. When students are giving direct care to clients in clinical 
areas, instructional personnel must be on site solely to 
supervise the students. The ratio of students to each instructor 
shall not exceed 10 students to one instructor. 
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18 VAC 90-25-40. Requirements for the curriculum. 

A. Curriculum content. The curriculum shall include, but 
shall not be limited to, classroom and clinical instruction in 
the following: 

1. Initial core curriculum. Prior to the direct contact of a 
student with a nursing facility client, a student shall have 
completed a total of at least 24 hours of instruction. Sixteen 
of those hours shall be in the following five areas must be 
presented: 

a. Communication and interpersonal skills. 

b. Infection control. 

c. Safety and emergency procedures, including dealing 
with obstructed airways and fall prevention. 

d. Promoting client independence. 

e. Respecting clients' rights. 

2. Basic skills. 

a. Recognizing changes in body functioning and the 
importance of reporting such changes to a supervisor. 

b. Measuring and recording routine vital signs. 

c. Measuring and recording height and weight. 

d. Caring for the clients' environment. 

e. Measuring and recording fluid and food intake and 
output. 

f. Performing basic emergency measures. 

g. Caring for a client when death is imminent. 

3. Personal care skills. 

a. Bathing and oral hygiene. 

b. Grooming. 

c. Dressing. 

d. Toileting. 

e. Assisting with eating and hydration, including proper 
feeding techniques. 

f. Caring for skin, to include prevention of pressure 
ulcers. 

g. Transfer, positioning and turning. 

4. Individual client's needs, including mental health and 
social service needs. 

a. Modifying the aide's behavior in response to the 
behavior of clients. 

b. Identifying developmental tasks associated with the 
aging process. 

c. Demonstrating principles of behavior management by 
reinforcing appropriate behavior and causing 
inappropriate behavior to be reduced or eliminated. 

d. Demonstrating skills supporting age-appropriate 
behavior by allowing the client to make personal choices, 
and by providing and reinforcing other behavior 
consistent with the client's dignity. 

e. Utilizing the client's family or concerned others as a 
source of emotional support. 

f. Responding appropriately to the client's behavior; 
including, but not limited to, aggressive behavior and 
language. 

g. Providing appropriate clinical care to the aged and 
disabled. 

h. Providing culturally sensitive care. 

5. Care of the cognitively or sensory (visual and auditory) 
impaired client. 

a. Using techniques for addressing the unique needs and 
behaviors of individuals with dementia (Alzheimer's and 
others). 

b. Communicating with cognitively or sensory impaired 
clients. 

c. Demonstrating an understanding of and responding 
appropriately to the behavior of cognitively or sensory 
impaired clients. 

d. Using methods to reduce the effects of cognitive 
impairment. 

6. Skills for basic restorative services. 

a. Using assistive devices in transferring, ambulation, 
eating and dressing. 

b. Maintaining range of motion. 

c. Turning and positioning, both in bed and chair. 

d. Bowel and bladder training. 

e. Caring for and using prosthetic and orthotic devices. 

f. Teaching the client in self-care according to the client's 
abilities as directed by a supervisor. 

7. Clients' rights. 

a. Providing privacy and maintaining confidentiality. 

b. Promoting the client's right to make personal choices 
to accommodate individual needs. 

c. Giving assistance in resolving grievances and disputes. 

d. Providing assistance necessary to participate in client 
and family groups and other activities. 
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e. Maintaining care and security of the client's personal 
possessions. 

f. Promoting the client's rights to be free from abuse, 
mistreatment and neglect and the need to report any 
instances of such treatment to appropriate staff. 

g. Avoiding the need for restraints in accordance with 
current professional standards. 

8. Legal and regulatory aspects of practice as a certified 
nurse aide, including, but not limited to, consequences of 
abuse, neglect, misappropriation of client property and 
unprofessional conduct. 

9. Occupational health and safety measures. 

10. Appropriate management of conflict. 

B. Unit objectives. 

1. Objectives for each unit of instruction shall be stated in 
behavioral terms that are measurable. 

2. Objectives shall be reviewed with the students at the 
beginning of each unit. 

C. Curriculum changes. Changes in curriculum shall be 
approved by the board prior to implementation and shall be 
submitted at the time of the on-site visit or with the report 
submitted by the program coordinator in the intervening year. 

18 VAC 90-25-50. Other program requirements. 

A. Records. 

1. Each nurse aide education program shall develop and 
maintain an individual record of major skills taught and the 
date of performance by the student. At the completion of 
the nurse aide education program, the program shall 
provide each nurse aide must receive with a copy of this 
record and a certificate of completion from the program. 

2. A record of the reports of graduates' performance on the 
approved competency evaluation program shall be 
maintained. 

3. A record that documents the disposition of complaints 
against the program shall be maintained. 

B. Student identification. The nurse aide students shall wear 
identification that clearly distinguishes them as a "nurse aide 
student." 

C. Length of program. 

1. The program shall be at least 120 clock hours in length. 

2. The program shall provide for at least 24 hours of 
instruction prior to direct contact of a student with a 
nursing facility client. 

3. Skills training in clinical settings shall be at least 40 
hours of providing direct client care. Five of the clinical 
hours may be in a setting other than a nursing home. Hours 

of observation shall not be included in the required 40 
hours of skills training. 

4. Employment orientation to facilities used in the 
education program must not be included in the 120 hours 
allotted for the program. 

D. Classroom facilities. The nurse aide education program 
shall provide facilities that meet federal and state 
requirements including: 

1. Comfortable temperatures. 

2. Clean and safe conditions. 

3. Adequate lighting. 

4. Adequate space to accommodate all students. 

5. Instructional technology and equipment needed for 
simulating client care. 

18 VAC 90-25-60. Requirements for continued approval; 
interruption or closing of a program. 

A. Program review. 

1. Each nurse aide education program shall be reviewed 
annually either by a visit on site by an agent of the board or 
by a written program evaluation. Each program shall be 
reviewed by an on-site visit at least every two years 
following initial review or whenever deemed necessary by 
the board to ensure continued compliance. 

2. The program coordinator shall prepare and submit a 
program evaluation report on a form provided by the board 
in the intervening year that an on-site review is not 
conducted. 

B. Decision on continued approval.  The committee, in 
accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia, shall 
receive and review the report of the on-site visit or program 
evaluation report and shall make recommendations to the 
board to grant continued approval, place a program on 
conditional approval or deny continued approval. 

a. Granting continued approval. A nurse aide education 
program shall continue to be approved provided the 
requirements set forth in subsection B of 18 VAC 90-25-
20 are maintained. 

b. Placing a program on conditional approval. If the 
committee determines that a nurse aide education 
program has not filed its program evaluation report or is 
not maintaining the requirements of subsection B of 
18 VAC 90-25-20, the committee may recommend to the 
board that the program be placed on conditional approval 
and the program provider shall be given a reasonable 
period of time to correct the identified deficiencies or the 
matter shall be referred to the board or a panel of the 
board for a hearing. 
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(1) The committee shall receive and review reports of 
progress toward correcting identified deficiencies and, 
when a final report is received at the end of the 
specified time showing corrections of deficiencies, 
make a recommendation to the board for to grant of 
continued approval. 

(2) If the program provider fails to correct the 
identified deficiencies within the time specified by the 
committee or the board, the board or a panel thereof 
may withdraw approval following a hearing in 
accordance with § 2.2-4020 and subdivision 11 of 
§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

(3) The program provider may request a formal 
hearing before the board or a panel thereof pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4020 and subdivision 11 of § 54.1-2400 of the 
Code of Virginia if it objects to any action of the board 
relating to conditional approval. 

c. Denying continued approval.  If the committee 
determines that a nurse aide education program is not 
maintaining the requirements of subsection B of 18 VAC 
90-25-20, it may recommend that continued approval be 
denied and refer the matter to the board or a panel of the 
board for a hearing in accordance with § 2.2-4020 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

B. C. Interruption of program. 

1. When a program provider does not hold classes for a 
period not to exceed one year, the provider may request 
that the program be placed on inactive status and shall not 
be subject to compliance with subsection B of 18 VAC 90-
25-20 for the specified time. 

2. Unless the program provider notifies the board that it 
intends to admit students, the program will be considered 
closed at the end of the one-year period and be subject to 
the requirements of subsection C D of this section. 

3. If the program provider does not hold classes for two 
consecutive years, the program shall be considered closed 
and shall be subject to the requirements of subsection C D 
of this section. 

C. D. Closing of a nurse aide education program. When a 
nurse aide education program closes, the program provider 
shall: 

1. Notify the board of the date of closing. 

2. Submit to the board a list of all graduates with the date 
of graduation of each. 

18 VAC 90-25-70. Initial certification for the nurse aide 
registry. 

A. The executive director of the board shall issue a certificate 
as a certified nurse aide to each applicant who qualifies for 
such a certificate under §§ 54.1-3024, 54.1-3025, 54.1-3026 

and 54.1-3028 of the Code of Virginia and provisions of this 
chapter. 

B. Nurse aide competency evaluation. 

1. The board may contract with a test service for the 
development and administration of a competency 
evaluation. 

2. All individuals completing a nurse aide education 
program in Virginia shall successfully complete the 
competency evaluation required by the board prior to 
making application for certification being certified and to 
using the title Certified Nurse Aide. 

3. The board shall determine the minimum passing standard 
on the competency evaluation. 

C. Initial certification shall be for two years. 

18 VAC 90-25-71. Certification by examination. 

1. To be placed on the registry and certified by examination, 
the nurse aide must: 

a. 1. (i) Satisfactorily complete a nurse aide education 
program approved by the board; (ii) be enrolled in a 
nursing education program preparing for registered nurse or 
practical nurse licensure, and have satisfactorily completed 
at least one clinical nursing course that includes at least 40 
hours of clinical experience involving direct client care; or 
(iii) have completed a nursing education program preparing 
for registered nurse licensure or practical nurse licensure; 

b. 2. Pass the competency evaluation required by the board; 
and 

c. 3. Submit the required application and testing fee as 
prescribed by the board. 

18 VAC 90-25-72. Certification by endorsement. 

2. To be placed on the registry and be certified by 
endorsement, the nurse aide must shall: 

a. 1. Be a graduate of a state-approved nurse aide education 
program that meets the requirements for clinical training 
and competency set forth in 42 CFR 483.152; 

b. 2. Have satisfactorily completed a competency 
evaluation program; 

c. 3. Be currently registered in another state, with no 
finding of abuse, neglect or misappropriation of property; 

d. 4. Submit the required application; and 

e. 5. Submit the required verification form to the 
credentialing agency in each state in which the applicant 
has been registered, certified or licensed. 

3. Initial certification shall be for two years. 
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18 VAC 90-25-80. Renewal or reinstatement of 
certification. 

A. Renewal of certification. 

1. No less than 30 days prior to the expiration date of the 
current certification, a notice for renewal shall be mailed by 
the board to the last known address of each currently 
registered certified nurse aide. 

2. The certified nurse aide shall submit a completed 
application with the required fee of $50 and verification of 
performance of nursing-related activities for compensation 
within the two years immediately preceding the expiration 
date. 

3. Failure to receive the application for renewal shall not 
relieve the certificate holder of the responsibility for 
renewing the certification by the expiration date. 

4. A certified nurse aide who has not performed nursing-
related activities for compensation during the two years 
preceding the expiration date of the certification shall 
repeat and pass the nurse aide competency evaluation prior 
to applying for recertification. 

5. The board shall also charge a fee of $35 for a returned 
check. 

B. Reinstatement of certification. 

1. An individual whose certification has lapsed for more 
than 90 days shall file submit the required application and 
renewal fee and provide: 

a. Verification of performance of nursing-related 
activities for compensation in the two years prior to the 
expiration date of the certificate and within the preceding 
two years; or 

b. When nursing activities have not been performed 
during the preceding two years, evidence Evidence of 
having repeated and passed the nurse aide competency 
evaluation. 

2. An individual who has previously had a finding of abuse, 
neglect or misappropriation of property is not eligible for 
reinstatement of his certification, except as provided in 
[ subsection C of this section 18 VAC 90-25-81 ]. 

18 VAC 90-25-81. Removal of a finding of neglect. 

C. A. If a finding of neglect was made against a certificate 
holder based on a single occurrence, an individual may 
petition for removal of the finding of neglect provided: 

1. A period of at least one year has passed since the finding 
was made; and 

2. The individual seeking reinstatement demonstrates 
sufficient evidence that employment and personal history 
do not reflect a pattern of abusive behavior or neglect. 

B. A certificate holder can petition the board only once for 
removal of a finding of neglect. 

18 VAC 90-25-100. Disciplinary provisions for nurse 
aides. 

The board has the authority to deny, revoke or suspend a 
certificate issued, or to otherwise discipline a certificate 
holder upon proof that he has violated any of the provisions 
of § 54.1-3007 of the Code of Virginia. For the purpose of 
establishing allegations to be included in the notice of 
hearing, the board has adopted the following definitions: 

1. Fraud or deceit in order to procure or maintain a 
certificate shall mean, but shall not be limited to: 

a. Filing false credentials; 

b. Falsely representing facts on an application for initial 
certification, reinstatement or renewal of a certificate; or 

c. Giving or receiving assistance in taking the 
competency evaluation. 

2. Unprofessional conduct shall mean, but shall not be 
limited to: 

a. Performing acts beyond those authorized for practice 
as a nurse aide or an advanced certified nurse aide as 
defined in Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 
of the Code of Virginia, and beyond those authorized by 
the Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) or by provisions for delegation of nursing tasks 
in Part X (§ 18 VAC 90-20-420 et seq.) of § 18 VAC 90-
20. 

b. Assuming duties and responsibilities within the 
practice of a nurse aide or an advanced certified nurse 
aide without adequate training or when competency has 
not been maintained; 

c. Obtaining supplies, equipment or drugs for personal or 
other unauthorized use; 

d. Falsifying or otherwise altering client or employer 
records, including falsely representing facts on a job 
application or other employment-related documents; 

e. Abusing, neglecting or abandoning clients; 

f. Having been denied a license or certificate or having 
had a license or certificate issued by the board revoked or 
suspended; 

g. Giving to or accepting from a client property or money 
for any reason other than fee for service or a nominal 
token of appreciation; 

h. Obtaining money or property of a client by fraud, 
misrepresentation or duress; 

i. Entering into a relationship with a client that 
constitutes a professional boundary violation in which 
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the nurse aide uses his professional position to take 
advantage of a client's the vulnerability of a client or his 
family, to include but not limited to actions that result in 
personal gain at the expense of the client, an 
inappropriate personal involvement or sexual conduct 
with a client; or 

j. Violating state laws relating to the privacy of client 
information, including but not limited to § 32.1-127.1:03 
of the Code of Virginia.; or 

k. Providing false information to staff or board members 
during the course of an investigation or proceeding. 

3. For the purposes of interpreting provisions of § 54.1-
3007 (7) of the Code of Virginia, a restriction on nurse aide 
certification shall be interpreted as having a finding of 
abuse, neglect or misappropriation of patient property made 
in another state or being placed on the abuse registry in 
another state. 

18 VAC 90-25-110. Requirements for initial certification 
as an advanced certified nurse aide. 

A. In order to be certified as and use the title of "Advanced 
Certified Nurse Aide," an applicant shall meet the following 
qualifications: 

1. Hold current certification as a certified nurse aide in 
Virginia; 

2. Have been certified for at least three years as a certified 
nurse aide; 

3. Have never had a finding of abuse, neglect or 
misappropriation of patient property entered on the Nurse 
Aide Registry a nurse aide registry in any jurisdiction and 
have not had any disciplinary actions taken by the board 
within the five years preceding application for advanced 
certification; 

4. Have a recommendation for advanced certification from 
a licensed nurse who has supervised the applicant in 
providing direct patient care for at least six months within 
the past year; and 

5. Have successfully completed a minimum of 120 hours of 
advanced training in an approved program that includes a 
competency evaluation acceptable to the board. 

B. An application for certification shall be accompanied by an 
application fee of $25. 

18 VAC 90-25-120. Renewal and reinstatement of 
certification as an advanced certified nurse aide. 

A. Current certification as a nurse aide in Virginia must be 
maintained in order to hold certification as an advanced 
certified nurse aide. 

A. B. Renewal. If an individual is not eligible to renew as a 
certified nurse aide, certification as an advanced certified 

nurse aide may not be renewed. An advanced certification 
shall be renewed concurrently with the biennial renewal of 
the basic certification as a nurse aide in Virginia by: 

1. Submitting a completed renewal form and renewal fee of 
$20; and 

2. Attesting to completing completion of at least three 
contact hours per year of continuing education and training 
in any of the competency areas identified in the advanced 
certification training program. Completion of the 
continuing education and training required by an advanced 
certified nurse aide shall be verified by the employer on the 
renewal form. The board may grant an extension or waiver 
of the continuing education requirement based on good 
cause shown by the certified nurse aide. 

B. C. Late renewal. An advanced certified nurse aide may 
renew certification for 90 days following the expiration date 
by meeting the requirements of subsection A of this section. 

C. D. Reinstatement. If an advanced certification has not been 
renewed for 90 days following the expiration date, it shall 
only be reinstated if the applicant for reinstatement: 

1. Holds current certification as a nurse aide in Virginia; 

2. Submits a completed reinstatement application on a form 
provided by the board; 

3. Pays the reinstatement fee of $30; and 

4. Provides evidence that he has completed all required 
hours of continuing education and training. 

18 VAC 90-25-130. Requirements for an approved 
advanced certification education program. 

A. The advanced certification education program shall be 
approved by the Virginia Board of Nursing. An approved 
advanced certification education program shall also be an 
approved nurse aide education program as set forth in 
18 VAC 90-25-20. 

B. An advanced certification education program shall consist 
of a minimum of 120 hours including a minimum of 40 hours 
of clinical skills instruction in direct client care with on-site 
supervision by instructional personnel. When nurse aides are 
engaged in direct client care in the course of advanced 
certification training, the ratio shall not exceed 10 students to 
one instructor. 

C. The instructional personnel in an approved advanced 
certification education program shall meet the requirements 
as set forth in 18 VAC 90-25-30. 

D. The curricula of an approved advanced certification 
education program shall, at a minimum, meet the 
requirements of 18 VAC 90-25-140. 

E. Each advanced certification program shall develop an 
individual record of major skills taught and the date of 
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performance by the student. At the completion of the 
program, the program shall provide each nurse aide must 
receive with a copy of this record and a certificate of 
completion. 

F. An advanced certification education program shall develop 
and submit to the board a competency evaluation based on the 
curriculum content required in 18 VAC 90-25-140. Such an 
evaluation shall include both a written test on the curriculum 
and an assessment of manual skills. A record of the reports of 
graduates' performance on the approved competency 
evaluation program shall be maintained for a minimum of 
three years. 

G. Program review shall be in accordance with requirements 
of 18 VAC 90-25-60 and shall be conducted concurrently 
with the on-site review of the basic nurse aide education 
program. Loss of board approval for the basic nurse aide 
education program shall automatically result in the loss of 
approval for the advanced certification education program. 

H. When an advanced certification education program closes, 
the provider shall notify the board of the date of closing and 
submit a list of all graduates with their date of graduation. 

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 90-25, 
Regulations Governing Certified Nurse Aides, are not being 
published; however, the name of each form is listed below.  
The forms are available for public inspection at the 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

Instructions for Application for Nurse Aide Certification by 
Endorsement (rev. 12/02 1/06). 

Application for Nurse Aide Certification by Endorsement 
(rev. 12/02 8/06). 

Nurse Aide Certification Verification Form (rev. 12/02). 

Instructions for Applicant for Advanced Certified Nurse Aide 
Registration (eff. 2/03 8/06). 

Application for Certification as Advanced Certified Nurse 
Aide (eff. 2/03 rev. 8/06). 

Instructions for Application for Reinstatement of Nurse Aide 
Certification (rev. 12/02 8/06). 

Application for Reinstatement of Nurse Aide Certification 
(rev. 12/02 8/06). 

Instructions for Application for Reinstatement of Advanced 
Nurse Aide Certification (eff. 2/03). 

Application for Reinstatement of Advanced Nurse Aide 
Certification (eff. 2/03). 

Application to Establish Nurse Aide Education Program (rev. 
12/02). 

Application to Establish an Advanced Certification Nurse 
Aide Education Program (eff. 12/02). 

Nurse Aide Education Program Evaluation Report (rev. 
11/02). 

Nurse Aide Education Program-On-site Review Report (rev. 
11/02). 

Advanced Certification Nurse Aide Education Program-On-
site Review Report (eff. 12/02). 

Evaluation of On-Site Visitor (rev. 12/02). 

Request for Statistical Information (rev. 12/02). 

Renewal Notice (eff. 4/05). 

Renewal Notice and Application, 1401, Certified Nurse Aide 
(rev. 12/02). 

Renewal Notice and Application, Advanced Certified Nurse 
Aide (eff. 12/02). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-306; Filed June 5, 2007, 11:25 a.m. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which 
excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to changes 
in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is 
involved.  The Board of Counseling will receive, consider 
and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 
with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations:  18 VAC 115-20. Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Professional Counseling 
(amending 18 VAC 115-20-130). 

18 VAC 115-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Marriage and Family Therapy (amending 18 VAC 115-
50-110). 

18 VAC 115-60. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners 
(amending 18 VAC 115-60-130). 

Statutory Authority:  §§  54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date:  July 25, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Counseling, 6603 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9133, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

The amendments require practitioners to advise their 
clients of their right to report, rather than requiring the 
practitioner to report information of which he may become 
aware indicating another mental health professional may 
have engaged in unprofessional conduct. 

18 VAC 115-20-130. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare and 
the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide in 
determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 
persons whose activities are regulated by the board.  
Regardless of the delivery method, whether in person, by 
phone or electronically, these standards shall apply to the 
practice of counseling. 

B. Persons licensed by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the 
public and does not endanger the public health, safety, or 
welfare; 

2. Practice only within the boundaries of their competence, 
based on their education, training, supervised experience 
and appropriate professional experience and represent their 
education, training, and experience accurately to clients; 

3. Stay abreast of new counseling information, concepts, 
applications and practices that are necessary to providing 
appropriate, effective professional services; 

4. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 
necessary and appropriate for diagnostic or therapeutic 
purposes; 

5. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 
counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the 
client is not benefiting from the relationship.  Document 
the assistance provided in making appropriate 
arrangements for the continuation of treatment for clients, 
when necessary, following termination of a counseling 
relationship; 

6. Make appropriate arrangements for continuation of 
services, when necessary, during interruptions such as 
vacations, unavailability, relocation, illness, and disability; 

7. Disclose to clients all experimental methods of treatment 
and inform clients of the risks and benefits of any such 
treatment.  Ensure that the welfare of the clients is in no 
way compromised in any experimentation or research 
involving those clients; 

8. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 
forms of remuneration for referral of clients for 
professional services; 

9. Inform clients of the purposes, goals, techniques, 
procedures, limitations, potential risks, and benefits of 
services to be performed; the limitations of confidentiality; 

and other pertinent information when counseling is initiated 
and throughout the counseling process as necessary.  
Provide clients with accurate information regarding the 
implications of diagnosis, the intended use of tests and 
reports, fees, and billing arrangements; 

10. Select tests for use with clients that are valid, reliable 
and appropriate and carefully interpret the performance of 
individuals not represented in standardized norms; 

11. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 
another mental health service provider, and if so, refrain 
from providing services to the client without having an 
informed consent discussion with the client and having 
been granted communication privileges with the other 
professional; 

12. Use only in connection with one's practice as a mental 
health professional those educational and professional 
degrees or titles that have been earned at a college or 
university accredited by an accrediting agency recognized 
by the United States Department of Education, or 
credentials granted by a national certifying agency, and that 
are counseling in nature;  and 

13. Advertise professional services fairly and accurately in 
a manner that is not false, misleading or deceptive. 

C. In regard to patient records, persons licensed by the board 
shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 
client to include treatment dates and identifying 
information to substantiate diagnosis and treatment plan, 
client progress, and termination; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees of 
the requirements of confidentiality and provide for the 
destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 
that ensures client confidentiality; 

3. Disclose or release records to others only with clients' 
expressed written consent or that of their legally authorized 
representative in accordance with § 32.1-127.1:03 of the 
Code of Virginia; 

4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 
clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from 
clients or their legally authorized representative before (i) 
videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third party 
observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records and 
clinical materials in teaching, writing or public 
presentations;  and 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or as 
otherwise required by law from the date of termination of 
the counseling relationship with the following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 
maintained for five years after attaining the age of 
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majority (18) or 10 years following termination, 
whichever comes later; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 
federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time;  
or 

c. Records that have transferred to another mental health 
service provider or given to the client or his legally 
authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 
board shall: 

1. Avoid dual relationships with clients that could impair 
professional judgment or increase the risk of harm to 
clients.  Examples of such relationships include, but are not 
limited to, familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or 
close personal relationships with clients.  Counselors shall 
take appropriate professional precautions when a dual 
relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, 
consultation, supervision, and documentation to ensure that 
judgment is not impaired and no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in any type of sexual intimacies with clients 
or those included in a collateral relationship with the client 
and not counsel persons with whom they have had a sexual 
relationship.  Counselors shall not engage in sexual 
intimacies with former clients within a minimum of five 
years after terminating the counseling relationship.  
Counselors who engage in such relationship after five years 
following termination shall have the responsibility to 
examine and document thoroughly that such relations do 
not have an exploitive nature, based on factors such as 
duration of counseling, amount of time since counseling, 
termination circumstances, client's personal history and 
mental status, or adverse impact on the client.  A client's 
consent to, initiation of or participation in sexual behavior 
or involvement with a counselor does not change the nature 
of the conduct nor lift the regulatory prohibition; 

3. Not engage in any sexual relationship or establish a 
counseling or psychotherapeutic relationship with a 
supervisee.  Counselors shall avoid any nonsexual dual 
relationship with a supervisee in which there is a risk of 
exploitation or potential harm to the supervisee or the 
potential for interference with the supervisor's professional 
judgment;  and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 
the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 
involved. 

E. Persons licensed by the board shall advise their clients of 
their right to report to the Department of Health Professions 
any information of which he the licensee may become aware 
in his professional capacity indicating that there is a 
reasonable probability that a person licensed or certified as a 
mental health service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of 

the Code of Virginia, may have engaged in unethical, 
fraudulent or unprofessional conduct as defined by the 
pertinent licensing statutes and regulations. 

18 VAC 115-50-110. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public's health, safety and welfare 
and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide 
in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 
persons whose activities are regulated by the board.  
Regardless of the delivery method, whether in person, by 
phone or electronically, these standards shall apply to the 
practice of marriage and family therapy. 

B. Persons licensed by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the 
public and does not endanger the public health, safety, or 
welfare; 

2. Practice only within the boundaries of their competence, 
based on their education, training, supervised experience 
and appropriate professional experience and represent their 
education, training, and experience accurately to clients; 

3. Stay abreast of new marriage and family therapy 
information, concepts, applications and practices that are 
necessary to providing appropriate, effective professional 
services; 

4. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 
necessary and appropriate for diagnostic or therapeutic 
purposes; 

5. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 
counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the 
client is not benefiting from the relationship.  Document 
the assistance provided in making appropriate 
arrangements for the continuation of treatment for clients, 
when necessary, following termination of a counseling 
relationship; 

6. Make appropriate arrangements for continuation of 
services, when necessary, during interruptions such as 
vacations, unavailability, relocation, illness, and disability; 

7. Disclose to clients all experimental methods of treatment 
and inform client of the risks and benefits of any such 
treatment.  Ensure that the welfare of the client is not 
compromised in any experimentation or research involving 
those clients; 

8. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates or other 
forms of remuneration for referral of clients for 
professional services; 

9. Inform clients of the purposes, goals, techniques, 
procedures, limitations, potential risks, and benefits of 
services to be performed; the limitations of confidentiality; 
and other pertinent information when counseling is initiated 
and throughout the counseling process as necessary.  
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Provide clients with accurate information regarding the 
implications of diagnosis, the intended use of tests and 
reports, fees, and billing arrangements; 

10. Select tests for use with clients that are valid, reliable 
and appropriate and carefully interpret the performance of 
individuals not represented in standardized norms; 

11. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 
another mental health service provider, and if so, refrain 
from providing services to the client without having an 
informed consent discussion with the client and having 
been granted communication privileges with the other 
professional; 

12. Use only in connection with one's practice as a mental 
health professional those educational and professional 
degrees or titles that have been earned at a college or 
university accredited by an accrediting agency recognized 
by the United States Department of Education, or 
credentials granted by a national certifying agency, and that 
are counseling in nature;  and 

13. Advertise professional services fairly and accurately in 
a manner that is not false, misleading or deceptive. 

C. In regard to patient records, persons licensed by the board 
shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 
client to include treatment dates and identifying 
information to substantiate diagnosis and treatment plan, 
client progress, and termination; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees of 
the requirements of confidentiality and provide for the 
destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 
that ensures client confidentiality; 

3. Disclose or release client records to others only with 
clients' expressed written consent or that of their legally 
authorized representative in accordance with § 32.1-
127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 
clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from 
clients or their legally authorized representative before (i) 
videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third party 
observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records and 
clinical materials in teaching, writing, or public 
presentations;  and 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or as 
otherwise required by law from the date of termination of 
the counseling relationship with the following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 
maintained for five years after attaining the age of 
majority (18) or 10 years following termination, 
whichever comes later; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 
federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time;  
or 

c. Records that have transferred to another mental health 
service provider or given to the client or his legally 
authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 
board shall: 

1. Avoid dual relationships with clients that could impair 
professional judgment or increase the risk of harm to 
clients.  Examples of such relationships include, but are not 
limited to, familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or 
close personal relationships with clients.  Counselors shall 
take appropriate professional precautions when a dual 
relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, 
consultation, supervision, and documentation to ensure that 
judgment is not impaired and no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in any type of sexual intimacies with clients 
or those included in a collateral relationship with the client 
and not counsel persons with whom they have had a sexual 
relationship.  Marriage and family therapists shall not 
engage in sexual intimacies with former clients within a 
minimum of five years after terminating the counseling 
relationship.  Marriage and family therapists who engage in 
such relationship after five years following termination 
shall have the responsibility to examine and document 
thoroughly that such relations do not have an exploitive 
nature, based on factors such as duration of counseling, 
amount of time since counseling, termination 
circumstances, client's personal history and mental status, 
or adverse impact on the client.  A client's consent to, 
initiation of or participation in sexual behavior or 
involvement with a marriage and family therapist does not 
change the nature of the conduct nor lift the regulatory 
prohibition; 

3. Not engage in any sexual relationship or establish a 
counseling or psychotherapeutic relationship with a 
supervisee.  Marriage and family therapists shall avoid any 
nonsexual dual relationship with a supervisee in which 
there is a risk of exploitation or potential harm to the 
supervisee or the potential for interference with the 
supervisor's professional judgment;  and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 
the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 
involved. 

E. Persons licensed by the board shall advise their clients of 
their right to report to the Department of Health Professions 
any information of which he the licensee may become aware 
in his professional capacity indicating that there is a 
reasonable probability that a person licensed or certified as a 
mental health service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of 
the Code of Virginia, may have engaged in unethical, 
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fraudulent or unprofessional conduct as defined by the 
pertinent licensing statutes and regulations. 

18 VAC 115-60-130. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare and 
the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide in 
determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 
persons whose activities are regulated by the board.  
Regardless of the delivery method, whether in person, by 
phone or electronically, these standards shall apply to the 
practice of substance abuse treatment. 

B. Persons licensed by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the 
public and does not endanger the public health, safety, or 
welfare; 

2. Practice only within the boundaries of their competence, 
based on their education, training, supervised experience 
and appropriate professional experience and represent their 
education, training and experience accurately to clients; 

3. Stay abreast of new substance abuse treatment 
information, concepts, application and practices that are 
necessary to providing appropriate, effective professional 
services; 

4. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 
necessary and appropriate for diagnostic or therapeutic 
purposes; 

5. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 
counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the 
client is not benefiting from the relationship.  Document 
the assistance provided in making appropriate 
arrangements for the continuation of treatment for clients, 
when necessary, following termination of a counseling 
relationship; 

6. Make appropriate arrangements for continuation of 
services, when necessary, during interruptions such as 
vacations, unavailability, relocation, illness, and disability; 

7. Disclose to clients all experimental methods of treatment 
and inform clients of the risks and benefits of any such 
treatment.  Ensure that the welfare of the clients is in no 
way compromised in any experimentation or research 
involving those clients; 

8. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 
forms of remuneration for referral of clients for 
professional services; 

9. Inform clients of the purposes, goals, techniques, 
procedures, limitations, potential risks, and benefits of 
services to be performed; the limitations of confidentiality; 
and other pertinent information when counseling is initiated 
and throughout the counseling process as necessary.  
Provide clients with accurate information regarding the 

implications of diagnosis, the intended use of tests and 
reports, fees, and billing arrangements; 

10. Select tests for use with clients that are valid, reliable 
and appropriate and carefully interpret the performance of 
individuals not represented in standardized norms; 

11. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 
another mental health service provider, and if so, refrain 
from providing services to the client without having an 
informed consent discussion with the client and having 
been granted communication privileges with the other 
professional; 

12. Use only in connection with one's practice as a mental 
health professional those educational and professional 
degrees or titles that have been earned at a college or 
university accredited by an accrediting agency recognized 
by the United States Department of Education, or 
credentials granted by a national certifying agency, and that 
are counseling in nature;  and 

13. Advertise professional services fairly and accurately in 
a manner that is not false, misleading or deceptive. 

C. In regard to patient records, persons licensed by the board 
shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 
client to include treatment dates and identifying 
information to substantiate diagnosis and treatment plan, 
client progress, and termination; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees of 
the requirements of confidentiality and provide for the 
destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 
that ensures client confidentiality; 

3. Disclose or release records to others only with clients' 
expressed written consent or that of their legally authorized 
representative in accordance with § 32.1-127.1:03 of the 
Code of Virginia; 

4. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or as 
otherwise required by law from the date of termination of 
the substance abuse treatment relationship with the 
following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 
maintained for five years after attaining the age of 
majority (18) or 10 years following termination, 
whichever comes later; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 
federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time;  
or 

c. Records that have transferred to another mental health 
service provider or given to the client;  and 

5. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 
clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from 
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clients or their legally authorized representative before (i) 
videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third party 
observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records and 
clinical materials in teaching, writing or public 
presentations. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 
board shall: 

1. Avoid dual relationships with clients that could impair 
professional judgment or increase the risk of harm to 
clients.  Examples of such relationships include, but are not 
limited to, familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or 
close personal relationships with clients.  Counselors shall 
take appropriate professional precautions when a dual 
relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, 
consultation, supervision, and documentation to ensure that 
judgment is not impaired and no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in any type of sexual intimacies with clients 
or those included in a collateral relationship with the client 
and not counsel persons with whom they have had a sexual 
relationship.  Licensed substance abuse treatment 
practitioners shall not engage in sexual intimacies with 
former clients within a minimum of five years after 
terminating the counseling relationship.  Licensed 
substance abuse treatment practitioners who engage in such 
relationship after five years following termination shall 
have the responsibility to examine and document 
thoroughly that such relations do not have an exploitive 
nature, based on factors such as duration of counseling, 
amount of time since counseling, termination 
circumstances, client's personal history and mental status, 
or adverse impact on the client.  A client's consent to, 
initiation of or participation in sexual behavior or 
involvement with a licensed substance abuse treatment 
practitioner does not change the nature of the conduct nor 
lift the regulatory prohibition; 

3. Not engage in any sexual relationship or establish a 
counseling or psychotherapeutic relationship with a 
supervisee.  Licensed substance abuse treatment 
practitioners shall avoid any nonsexual dual relationship 
with a supervisee in which there is a risk of exploitation or 
potential harm to the supervisee or the potential for 
interference with the supervisor's professional judgment;  
and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 
the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 
involved. 

E. Persons licensed by the board shall advise their clients of 
their right to report to the Department of Health Professions 
any information of which he the licensee may become aware 
in his professional capacity indicating that there is a 
reasonable probability that a person licensed or certified as a 
mental health service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of 

the Code of Virginia, may have engaged in unethical, 
fraudulent or unprofessional conduct as defined by the 
pertinent licensing statutes and regulations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-268; Filed June 5, 2007, 11:28 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 120-30. Regulations 
Governing Polygraph Examiners (amending 18 VAC 120-
30-100). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1802 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date:  August 1, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Eric Olson, Executive Director, Polygraph 
Examiners Advisory Board, 3600 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 
367-2474, or email polygraph@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments increase fees for licensed polygraph 
examiners and polygraph examiner interns, add a 
certificate of licensure fee, and eliminate the dishonored 
check fee. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

18 VAC 120-30-100. Fees. 

A. All application fees for licenses and registrations are 
nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The date of receipt 
by the department is the date which will be used to determine 
whether or not the fee is on time.  

B. Application and examination fees must be submitted with 
the application for licensure. All other fees are discussed in 
greater detail in later sections of this chapter.  

C. In the event that a check, money draft, or similar 
instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 
regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 
named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 
fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus the additional 
processing charge shown below an additional processing 
charge set by the department.  

D. The following fees listed in the table apply:  

FEE TYPE AMOUNT 
DUE 

WHEN DUE 

Application for 
Examiner's License 
by Reciprocity 

$45 $95 With application  

Application for 
Intern Registration 

$20 $75 With application  
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Dishonored Check  $25 Upon notification 
by financial 
institution  

Application for 
Examiner's License 
by Examination  

$75 $200 With application  

Reexamination  $75 $200 With approval 
letter  

Renewal  $15 $55 Up to one calendar 
month after the 
expiration date on 
license 

Reinstatement  $50 $75 One to six calendar 
months after the 
expiration date on 
license 

Duplicate Wall 
Certificate  

$25 With written 
request  

Certificate of 
Licensure 

$25 With written 
request  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering 18 VAC 120-30, 
Regulations Governing Polygraph Examiners, are not being 
published; however, the name of each form is listed below. 
The forms are available for public inspection at the Board of 
Nursing, 6603 W. Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the 
office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly 
Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

Internship Completion & License Exam 
Application/Internship Completion Form, 16EXINT (eff. 
11/99 rev. 9/06). 

License/Intern Registration Application, 16LIC (eff. 11/99 
rev. 9/06). 

Polygraph School Curriculum Approval Application, 
POLYSCHL 16SCHL (12/97 rev. 11/02). 

Supervisor Endorsement Form, POLYSEND 16SEND (12/97 
rev. 11/02). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-177; Filed May 24, 2007, 1:42 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 120-30. Regulations 
Governing Polygraph Examiners (amending 18 VAC 120-
30-10, 18 VAC 120-30-30, 18 VAC 120-30-40, 18 VAC 
120-30-50, [ 18 VAC 120-30-90,  ] 18 VAC 120-30-100, 
18 VAC 120-30-130, 18 VAC 120-30-150, 18 VAC 120-30-
160, 18 VAC 120-30-180, 18 VAC 120-30-190, 18 VAC 
120-30-200, 18 VAC 120-30-220, 18 VAC 120-30-230, 
18 VAC 120-30-240, 18 VAC 120-30-250, 18 VAC 120-30-
270, 18 VAC 120-30-280; adding 18 VAC 120-30-55, 
18 VAC 120-30-290, 18 VAC 120-30-300 and 18 VAC 120-
30-310 [ ; repealing 18 VAC 120-30-90 ]). 

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-1802 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date:  August 1, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Eric Olson, Executive Director, Polygraph 
Examiners Advisory Board, 3600 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 
367-2474, or e-mail polygraph@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) facilitate online submission of 
applications, (ii) provide that applicants for licensure will 
no longer be required to submit signed affidavits certifying 
that they have read and understand the sections of Virginia 
law and the administrative code that deal with polygraph 
examiner licensure, (iii) provide that applicants for 
licensure will submit a record of current Central Criminal 
Records Exchange with their application rather than 
submit fingerprint cards, and (iv) provide that attorneys 
who are licensed in any state of jurisdiction of the United 
States will be allowed to provide instruction on the "Legal 
Aspects of Polygraph Examination" at polygraph examiner 
schools. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

18 VAC 120-30-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Affidavit" means a written statement of facts, made 
voluntarily, and confirmed by the oath or affirmation of the 
party making it, taken before a notary or other person having 
the authority to administer such oath or affirmation. 

"Advisory board" or "board" means the Polygraph Examiner's 
Advisory Board. 

"Department" means the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation. 
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"Polygraph" means any mechanical or electronic instrument 
or device used to test or question individuals for the purpose 
of determining truthfulness. 

"Polygraph examination" means the entire period of contact 
between a licensee and an examiner. 

"Polygraph examiner" or "examiner" means any person who 
uses any device or instrument to test or question individuals 
for the purpose of determining truthfulness. 

"Polygraph examiner intern" means any person engaged in 
the study of polygraphy and the administration of polygraph 
examinations under the personal supervision and control of a 
polygraph examiner. 

"Polygraph test" means the part of the polygraph examination 
during which the examinee is connected to a polygraph 
instrument which is continuously recording the examinee's 
reactions to questions. 

"Reciprocity" means any individual holding a current license 
in another jurisdiction may obtain a Virginia polygraph 
examiners license provided the requirements and standards 
under which the license was issued are substantially 
equivalent to those established in this chapter and the 
individual meets all other board requirements for licensure in 
Virginia. 

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to 
effectiveness after the expiration date on the license has 
passed. When a licensee fails to renew his license within one 
calendar month after its expiration date, the licensee is 
required to apply for reinstatement of the license. Six months 
after the expiration date on the license, reinstatement is no 
longer possible and the applicant must reapply and requalify 
for licensure. 

"Relevant question" means a question asked of an examinee 
during a polygraph test which concerns an issue identified to 
the examinee during the pretest and which is to be reported by 
the licensee to any other person. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license for 
another period of time. 

18 VAC 120-30-30. Advisory board. 

A. The Polygraph Examiners Advisory Board, consisting of 
eight members appointed by the director, shall exercise the 
authority delegated by the director consistent with § 2.2-2100 
A of the Code of Virginia and advise the department on any 
matters relating to the practice of polygraphy and the 
licensure of polygraph examiners in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia. 

B. The advisory board shall be composed of three Virginia 
licensed polygraph examiners employed by law enforcement 
agencies of the Commonwealth, or any of its political 
subdivisions; three Virginia licensed polygraph examiners 
employed in private industry; and two citizen members as 

defined in §§ 54.1-107 and 54.1-200 of the Code of Virginia. 
All members must be residents of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia. 

C. Each member shall serve a four-year term. No member 
shall serve more than two consecutive four-year terms. 

18 VAC 120-30-40. Basic qualifications for licensure and 
registration. 

A. Every applicant to the board for a license shall provide 
information on his application establishing that: 

1. The applicant is at least 18 years old. 

2. The applicant has met the experience requirements by 
having a high school diploma or its equivalent and a 
minimum of five years experience as an investigator, 
detective, or in a field acceptable to the department which 
demonstrates the ability to practice polygraphy. 

a. The applicant will be credited two years of the five 
years of experience required in subdivision 2 of this 
subsection if he has an associate degree from an 
accredited college or university. 

b. The applicant will be credited all five years of 
experience required in subdivision 2 of this subsection if 
he has a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or 
university. 

3. The applicant has met the education requirements by 
either completing the required training in detection or 
deception at a polygraph school approved by the 
department, or by submitting evidence of satisfactory 
completion of substantially equivalent training if the 
polygraph school at which the applicant received the 
training in the detection or deception is not approved by the 
department. 

4. The applicant has completed six months as a registered 
intern examiner under the personal and direct on-premise 
supervision of an examiner qualified under 18 VAC 
120-30-60 who shall supervise each and every polygraph 
examination administered by the intern. The internship 
need not be accomplished in Virginia. However, any 
internship conducted outside of Virginia must comply fully 
with this regulation. An intern shall not be eligible to sit for 
the license examination until the intern's supervisor has 
submitted to the department a written statement that the 
internship has been satisfactorily completed. The 
department may waive the internship for any person who 
practiced polygraphy in the federal jurisdiction. 

5. 2. The applicant is in good standing as a licensed 
polygraph examiner in every jurisdiction where licensed. 
The applicant must disclose if he has had a license as a 
polygraph examiner which was suspended, revoked, or 
surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action or 
which has been the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction 
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prior to applying for licensure in Virginia. At the time of 
application for licensure, the applicant must also disclose 
any disciplinary action taken in another jurisdiction in 
connection with the applicant's practice as a polygraph 
examiner and whether he has been previously licensed in 
Virginia as a polygraph examiner. 

6. 3. The applicant is fit and suited to engage in the 
profession of polygraphy. The applicant must disclose if he 
has been convicted in any jurisdiction of a felony or 
misdemeanor involving lying, cheating, stealing, sexual 
offense, drug distribution, physical injury, or relating to the 
practice of the profession. Any plea of nolo contendere 
shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subdivision. The record of a conviction authenticated in 
such form as to be admissible in the evidence under the 
laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible 
as prima facie evidence of such conviction. 

7. 4. The applicant has disclosed his physical address. A 
post office box is not acceptable. 

8. 5. The nonresident applicant for a license has filed and 
maintained with the department an irrevocable consent for 
the department to serve as a service agent for all actions 
filed in any court in this Commonwealth. 

9. 6. The applicant has signed, as part of the application, an 
affidavit a statement certifying the that he has read and 
understands the Virginia polygraph examiner's license law 
and the regulations of the board. 

10. 7. The applicant has submitted two fingerprint cards 
with his application on forms provided by the department 
for a criminal background history an application, provided 
by the department, which shall include criminal history 
record information from the Central Criminal Records 
Exchange, with a report date within 30 days of the date the 
application is received by the department. 

B. The department may (i) make further inquiries and 
investigations with respect to the qualifications of the 
applicant, (ii) require a personal interview with the applicant, 
(iii) or both. Failure of an applicant to comply with a written 
request from the advisory board or director for additional 
information within 30 days of receiving such notice, except in 
such instances where the advisory board or director has 
determined ineligibility for a clearly specified period of time, 
may be sufficient and just cause for disapproving the 
application. 

C. The applicant shall pass all parts of the polygraph 
examiners licensing examination approved by the department 
at a single administration in order to be eligible for a 
polygraph examiners license. 

18 VAC 120-30-50. Registration of polygraph examiner 
interns. 

A. A polygraph examiner intern registration shall be issued to 
applicants who fulfill the requirements of subdivisions A 2 
and A 3 of 18 VAC 120-30-40. and the following: 

1. The applicant has met the experience requirements by 
having a high school diploma or its equivalent and a 
minimum of five years experience as an investigator or 
detective, or in a field acceptable to the department that 
demonstrates the ability to practice polygraphy. 

a. The applicant will be credited two years of the five 
years of experience required in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection if he has an associate degree from an 
accredited college or university. 

b. The applicant will be credited all five years of 
experience required in subdivision 1 of this subsection if 
he has a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or 
university. 

2. The applicant has met the education requirements by 
either completing the required training in detection of 
deception at a polygraph school approved by the 
department, or by submitting evidence of satisfactory 
completion of substantially equivalent training if the 
polygraph school at which the applicant received the 
training in the detection of deception is not approved by the 
department. 

B. An intern registration shall be valid for 12 months from the 
date of issue as indicated on the registration. 

C. Each intern shall be supervised by a licensed polygraph 
examiner who meets the qualifications in 18 VAC 120-30-60. 

D. A polygraph intern may apply for an extension of a 
polygraph intern registration after the expiration of the initial 
intern registration for no more than one year by submitting 
the fee referenced in 18 VAC 120-30-100. Additional 
extensions will be allowed if the individual repeats the 
education requirements set forth in subdivision A 3 2 of 
18 VAC 120-30-40 18 VAC 120-30-50. 

18 VAC 120-30-55. Qualifications for licensure by 
examination. 

A. A polygraph examiner license shall be issued to applicants 
who fulfill the requirements of 18 VAC 120-30-40, 18 VAC 
120-30-50, and subsections B and C of this section: 

B. The applicant shall have completed six months as a 
registered intern examiner under the personal and direct on-
premise supervision of an examiner qualified under 18 VAC 
120-30-60 who shall supervise each and every polygraph 
examination administered by the intern.  The internship need 
not be accomplished in Virginia. However, any internship 
conducted outside of Virginia must comply fully with this 
regulation.  An intern shall not be eligible to sit for the license 
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examination until the intern’s supervisor has submitted to the 
department a written statement that the internship has been 
satisfactorily completed.  The department may waive the 
internship for any person who practiced polygraphy in [ the 
a ] federal jurisdiction [ or the United States Military ]. 

C. Upon submission of the completed application and fee, the 
applicant will be considered for the examination required by 
18 VAC 120-30-110.  Upon passing such examination, the 
applicant shall be granted his polygraph examiners license 
provided the applicant is otherwise qualified. 

18 VAC 120-30-90. [ Waiver of internship requirement 
(Repealed). ] 

[ Any federal employee or military personnel who have 
administered polygraph examinations as one of their duties in 
their respective jobs, and who have received training from the 
federal government or United States military, may obtain a 
Virginia polygraph examiner's license without fulfilling the 
internship requirement by successfully passing the board's 
department's written examination. ] 

18 VAC 120-30-100. Fees. 

A. All application fees for licenses and registrations are 
nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The date of receipt 
by the department is the date which that will be used to 
determine whether or not the fee is on time. 

B. Application and examination fees must be submitted with 
the application for licensure. All other fees are discussed in 
greater detail in later sections of this chapter. 

C. In the event that a check, money draft, or similar 
instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 
regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 
named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 
fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus the additional 
processing charge shown below an additional processing 
charge set by the department. 

D. The following fees listed in the table apply: 
 

FEE TYPE AMOUNT 
DUE 

WHEN DUE 

Application for 
Examiner's License 

$45 With application 

Application for 
Examiner's License 
by Reciprocity 

$45 With application 

Application for Intern 
Registration 

$20 With application 

Dishonored Check $25 Upon notification by 
financial institution 

Examination $75 With application 
Reexamination $75 With approval letter 
Renewal $15 Up to one calendar 

month after the 

expiration date on 
license 

Reinstatement $50 One to six calendar 
months after the 
expiration date on 
license 

Duplicate Wall 
Certificate 

$25 With written request 

18 VAC 120-30-130. Procedures for renewal. 

The department will mail a renewal application form to the 
licensee at the last known home address of department record. 
Failure to receive this notice shall not relieve the licensee of 
the obligation to renew. Prior to the expiration date shown on 
the license, each licensee desiring to renew his license must 
return to the department all required forms and the 
appropriate fee as referenced in 18 VAC 120-30-100. 

18 VAC 120-30-150. Department discretion to deny 
renewal. 

The department may deny renewal of a license for the same 
reasons as it may refuse initial licensure or discipline a 
licensee. The licensee is entitled to a review of such action. 
Appeals from such actions shall be in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 2.2-
4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

Failure to timely pay a monetary penalty, reimbursement of 
cost, or other fee assessed by consent order or final order 
shall result in delaying or withholding services provided by 
the department, such as, but not limited to, renewal, 
reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 
examination administration. 

18 VAC 120-30-160. Qualifications for renewal. 

Applicants for renewal of a license shall continue to meet the 
standards for entry as set forth in subdivisions A 5 2 through 
A 8 5 of 18 VAC 120-30-40. 

18 VAC 120-30-180. Department discretion to deny 
reinstatement. 

The department may deny reinstatement of a license for the 
same reasons as it may refuse initial licensure or discipline a 
licensee. 

The licensee is entitled to a review of such action. Appeals 
from such actions shall be in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 et seq. of the 
Code of Virginia). 

Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, reimbursement of 
cost, or other fee assessed by consent order or final order 
shall result in delaying or withholding the services provided 
by the department, such as, but not limited to, renewal, 
reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 
examination administration. 
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18 VAC 120-30-190. Status of a license during the period 
before reinstatement. 

A. When a license is reinstated, the licensee shall continue to 
have the same license number and shall be assigned an 
expiration date one year from the previous expiration date of 
the license. 

B. A licensee who reinstates his license shall be regarded as 
having been continually licensed without interruption. 
Therefore, the licensee shall remain under the disciplinary 
authority of the department during this entire period. Nothing 
in this chapter shall divest the department of its authority to 
discipline a licensee for a violation of the law or regulations 
during the period of licensure. 

18 VAC 120-30-200. Polygraph examination procedures. 

A. Each licensed polygraph examiner and registered 
polygraph examiner intern must post, in a conspicuous place 
for the examinee, his license or registration, or a legible copy 
of his license or registration to practice in Virginia. 

B. The examiner shall provide the examinee with a written 
explanation of the provisions of 18 VAC 120-30-200, 
18 VAC 120-30-210 and 18 VAC 120-30-220 at the 
beginning of each polygraph examination. 

C. The examinee may request a [ tape ] recording of the 
polygraph examination being administered. Each examiner 
shall maintain [ tape ] recording equipment and [ tapes 
recording media ] adequate for such recording. The examiner 
shall safeguard all examination recordings with the records he 
is required to keep by pursuant to 18 VAC 120-30-230. All 
recordings shall be made available to the department, the 
examinee or the examinee's attorney upon request. The 
examiner may charge the examinee a fee not to exceed $25 
only if the examinee requests and receives a copy of an 
examination tape recording. 

D. The examinee shall be entitled to a copy of all portions of 
any written report pertaining to his examination which is 
prepared by the examiner and provided to any person or 
organization. The examinee shall make his request in writing 
to the examiner. The examiner shall comply within 10 
business days of providing the written report to any person or 
organization or receiving the examinee's written request, 
whichever occurs later. The examiner may collect not more 
than $1.00 per page from the examinee for any copy 
provided. 

E. The provisions of subsections B, C, and D of this section 
shall not be applicable to any examination conducted by or on 
behalf of the Commonwealth or any of its political 
subdivisions when the examination is for the purpose of 
preventing or detecting crime or the enforcement of penal 
laws. However, examiners administering examinations as 
described in this section shall comply with subsection B of 

this section through a verbal explanation of the provisions of 
18 VAC 120-30-210 and 18 VAC 120-30-220. 

18 VAC 120-30-220. Examination standards of practice. 

A. To protect the rights of each examinee, The examiner shall 
comply with the following standards of practice by advising 
and shall disclose to each examinee in the manner prescribed 
of each of the following standards of practice the provisions 
of this subsection and shall not proceed to examine or 
continue the examination if it is or becomes apparent to the 
examiner that the examinee does not understand any one of 
these standards disclosures: 

1. All questions to be asked during the polygraph test(s) 
shall be reduced to writing and read to the examinee. 

2. The examinee or the examiner may terminate the 
examination at any time. 

3. If the examination is within the scope of § 40.1-51.4:3 of 
the Code of Virginia, the examiner shall explain the 
provisions of that statute to the examinee. 

4. No questions shall be asked concerning any examinee's 
lawful religious affiliations, lawful political affiliations, or 
lawful labor activities. This provision shall not apply to any 
such affiliation which is inconsistent with the oath of office 
for public law-enforcement officers. 

5. The examinee shall be provided the full name of the 
examiner and the name, address, and telephone number of 
the department. 

B. 6. [ The examiner shall not ask questions during any 
During no ] part of a preemployment polygraph 
examination [ shall the examiner ask questions ] 
concerning an examinee's sexual preferences or sexual 
activities [ except as ] in accordance with § 40.1-51.4:3 or 
54.1-1806 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. B. An examiner shall not perform more than 12 polygraph 
examinations in any 24-hour period. 

D. C. An examiner shall not ask more than 16 questions per 
chart on a single polygraph test. Nothing in this subsection 
shall prohibit an examiner from conducting more than one 
polygraph test during a polygraph examination. 

E. D. An examiner shall allow on every polygraph test a 
minimum time interval of 10 seconds between the examinee's 
answer to a question and the start of the next question. 

F. E. An examiner shall record at a minimum the following 
information on each polygraph test chart produced: 

1. The name of the examinee; 

2. The date of the examination; 

3. The time that each test begins; 

4. The examiner's initials; 
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5. Any adjustment made to component sensitivity; 

6. The point at which each question begins and each answer 
is given; 

7. Each question number; and 

8. Each answer given by the examinee. 

G. F. An examiner shall render only three evaluations of 
polygraph tests: 

1. Deception indicated; 

2. No deception indicated; or 

3. Inconclusive. 

An examiner may include in his report any information 
revealed by the examinee during the polygraph examination. 

Nothing in this section shall prohibit an examiner from 
explaining the meaning of the above evaluations. 

H. G. An examiner shall not render a verbal or written report 
based upon polygraph test chart analysis without having 
conducted at least two polygraph tests. Each relevant question 
shall have been asked at least once on each of at least two 
polygraph tests. 

I. H. An examiner may make a hiring or retention 
recommendation for the examiner's full-time employer 
provided the hiring or retention decision is not based solely 
on the results of the polygraph examination. 

18 VAC 120-30-230. Records. 

The licensed polygraph examiner or registered polygraph 
examiner intern shall maintain the following for at least one 
year from the date of each polygraph examination: 

1. Polygraphic charts.; 

2. Questions asked during the examination; 

3. A copy of the results and the conclusions drawn; 

4. A copy of any written report provided in connection with 
the examination.; and 

5. Tape recordings of examinations made in compliance 
with subsection C of 18 VAC 120-30-200. 

18 VAC 120-30-240. Grounds for fines, denial, suspension 
or revocation of licenses or denial or withdrawal of school 
approval. 

The department may fine, deny, suspend, or revoke any 
license or registration, or deny or withdraw school approval 
upon a finding that the applicant, licensee, registrant, or 
school: 

1. Has presented false or fraudulent information when 
applying for any license or registration, renewal of license 
or registration, or approval; 

2. Has violated, aided, or abetted others to violate Chapters 
1 through 3 of Title 54.1 or §§ 54.1-1800 through 54.1-
1805 54.1-1806 of the Code of Virginia, or of any other 
statute applicable to the practice of the profession herein 
regulated, or of any provisions of this chapter; 

3. Has been convicted of any misdemeanor directly related 
to the occupation or any felony. Any pleas of nolo 
contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 
purposes of this section. The record of a conviction 
authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence 
under the laws of the jurisdiction where the conviction 
occurred shall be forwarded to the board within 10 days of 
entry and shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of 
such conviction; 

4. Has made any misrepresentation or false promise or 
caused to be published any advertisement that is false, 
deceptive, or misleading; 

5. Has allowed one's license or registration to be used by 
anyone else; 

6. Has failed, within a reasonable period of time, to provide 
any records or other information requested or demanded by 
the department; or 

7. Has displayed professional incompetence or negligence 
in the performance of polygraphy.; or 

8. Has violated any provision of 18 VAC 120-30-220. 

18 VAC 120-30-250. Maintenance of license. 

A. Notice in writing shall be given to the department in the 
event of any change of business or individual name or 
address. Such notice shall be mailed to the department within 
30 days of the change of the name or location. The 
department shall not be responsible for the licensee's or 
registrant's failure to receive notices, communications and 
correspondence caused by the licensee's or registrant's failure 
to promptly notify the department in writing of any change of 
name or address. 

B. All licensees or registrants shall operate under the name in 
which the license or registration was issued. 

18 VAC 120-30-270. Minimum requirements for school 
curriculum. 

A. There must be one type of accepted polygraph instrument 
per three students in the course. 

B. To receive approval, the institution must offer a minimum 
of 240 hours of instruction, unless the school has obtained 
approval from the department for less than the minimum 
hours of course instruction. The following subject areas must 
be included in the school's curriculum must include: 

1. Polygraph theory; 

2. Examination techniques and question formulation; 
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3. Polygraph interrogation; 

4. Case observation; 

5. Polygraph case practice; 

6. Chart interpretation; 

7. Legal aspects of polygraph examination; 

8. Physiological aspects of polygraphy; 

9. Psychological aspects of polygraphy; 

10. Instrumentation; 

11. History of polygraph; and 

12. Reviews and examinations. 

C. Out-of-state schools seeking approval of their curriculum 
which has been approved by their state must have the 
appropriate regulatory agency of their state certify such 
approval to the department. 

18 VAC 120-30-280. Instructor minimum requirements. 

A. Any person teaching the subjects required by this 
regulation shall meet the following minimum requirements 
for the subjects to be taught: 

1. Legal Aspects of Polygraph Examination. The instructor 
must be a member of the Virginia State Bar licensed as an 
attorney in a state or jurisdiction of the United States. 

2. Polygraph Interrogation. The instructor must have five 
years experience in the field of interrogation. 

3. Physiological Aspects of Polygraphy. The instructor 
must have a degree in a health related science with 
coursework in physiology from an accredited institution of 
higher learning. 

4. Psychological Aspects of Polygraphy. The instructor 
must have a degree in psychology from an accredited 
institution of higher learning. 

5. All other courses may shall be taught by individuals 
having at least five years of experience as a polygraph 
examiner. 

B. The department may make exception to the above 
qualifications when an instructor is otherwise qualified by 
education or experience and provides such evidence in 
writing to the department. 

C. Schools may be required to submit evidence of compliance 
with this section on a quarterly basis and shall allow 
observations of their compliance by the department's 
designated representatives. 

18 VAC 120-30-290. Amendments and changes. 

Any change in the information provided by the school to the 
department as required by 18 VAC 120-30-260, 18 VAC 120-

30-270 or 18 VAC 120-30-280 shall be reported to the 
department in writing within 30 days of such an occurrence. 

18 VAC 120-30-300. Periodic requalification for 
continued course approval. 

At times established by the department, the department may 
require that schools that have previously obtained course 
approval, provide the department with evidence, in a form set 
forth by the department, that they continue to comply with the 
requirements of 18 VAC 120-30-260, 18 VAC 120-30-270 
and 18 VAC 120-30-280.  Failure to continue to comply with 
the department’s requirements or respond to such a request 
may result in the department withdrawing its approval. 

18 VAC 120-30-310. Grounds for withdrawing approval 
from a school. 

The department may withdraw approval from a school upon a 
finding that: 

1. An instructor of the approved school fails to teach the 
curriculum as provided for in 18 VAC 120-30-270. 

2. The owner, employee, or instructor of the approved 
school permits or allows a person to teach in the school 
who does not meet the requirements of 18 VAC 120-30-
280. 

3. The owner, employee, or teacher is guilty of any 
dishonest conduct, including but not limited to fraud or 
deceit, in the teaching of polygraphy or violates any of the 
provisions of 18 VAC 120-30-240. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering 18 VAC 120-30, 
Regulations Governing Polygraph Examiners, are not being 
published; however, the name of each form is listed below. 
The forms are available for public inspection at the 
Department of Professional and Occupational Licensing, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office 
of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

License Exam Application/Internship Completion and 
License Exam Form, 16EXINT (eff. 11/99 rev. [ 11/02 8/07). 

License/Intern Registration Application, 16LIC (eff. 11/99 
rev. [ 12/03 8/07). 

Polygraph School Curriculum Approval Application, 
[ POLYSCHL 16SCHL ] (12/97 rev. 11/02 ). 

Supervisor Endorsement Form, [ POLYSEND 16SEND ] 
(12/97 rev. 11/02). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-100; Filed May 24, 2007, 1:44 p.m. 
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REAL ESTATE BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 135-20. Virginia Real Estate 
Board Licensing Regulations (amending 18 VAC 135-20-
10, 18 VAC 135-20-30, 18 VAC 135-20-60, 18 VAC 135-
20-100, 18 VAC 135-20-105, 18 VAC 135-20-160, 18 VAC 
135-20-170, 18 VAC 135-20-180, 18 VAC 135-20-190, 
18 VAC 135-20-210, 18 VAC 135-20-220, 18 VAC 135-20-
300, 18 VAC 135-20-360, 18 VAC 135-20-370, 18 VAC 
135-20-390; adding 18 VAC 135-20-345). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2105 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  August 1, 2007 -- 10 a.m. 
Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on August 
24, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Agency Contact:  Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 
Estate Board, 3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 367-6946, or email 
reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia states that 
the Real Estate Board "may do all things necessary and 
convenient for carrying into effect the provisions of this 
chapter and may promulgate necessary regulations." 

Purpose:  The goal of amending the regulations is to make 
clarifying changes, to incorporate new education 
requirements as a result of statutory changes, to ensure 
consistency with state law and to make other changes that 
may result from the periodic review of the regulations.  The 
amendments are needed to ensure that the regulations 
conform to the most current statutes and standards of practice 
in the industry that are necessary to protect the health, safety 
and welfare of the citizens. 

Substance:  The proposed amendments (i) add definitions 
such as “actively participates in the brokerage business” for 
clarity; (ii) clarify qualification sections, for example, remove 
redundant language in the criminal conviction section and 
clarify time frame for misdemeanor convictions; (iii) amend 
continuing education requirements to ensure consistency with 
statutory changes; (iv) clarify qualifications for renewal of 
reciprocal license to ensure that all licensees who obtain a 
license by reciprocity take the state portion of the exam; (v) 
amend supervision of business to ensure that the supervision 
is adequate; (vi) clarify names and what name changes need 
to be reported to the board; (vii) clarify language regarding 
maintenance and management of escrow accounts; (viii) 
amend disclosure of brokerage relationships to be consistent 
with statute; (ix) clarify provisions regarding 
misrepresentation and omission; and (x) amend provisions 

regarding schools and courses to ensure consistency with 
changes to the statute. 

Issues:  The primary advantage to the public is ensuring that 
the regulants have the necessary education to get an initial 
license and to renew their license.  The proposed changes also 
provide clarification and guidance to the regulants so that 
they can give better service to both the public and other 
licensees.  The proposed regulations address the changing 
work environment and are needed to keep up with industry 
standards. 

The primary advantage to the agency will be that the agency 
can better protect the health, welfare and safety of the citizens 
of the Commonwealth by having regulations that reflect 
current industry standards and comply with statutory 
amendments. 

No disadvantages to the public or to the Commonwealth have 
been identified. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Regulation.  The Real Estate Board 
(board) proposes to amend its regulations to bring them into 
compliance with Chapter 998 of the 2003 Acts of the 
Assembly and Chapter 61 of the 2006 Acts of the Assembly.  
Chapter 998 requires that: 

• Real estate salespeople complete at least 30 hours of 
continuing education within two years of initial licensure 
(before they renew their licenses for the first time) and  

• Brokers complete at least 16 hours of continuing 
education before biannual license renewal. Real estate 
salespeople must meet this same continuing education 
requirement for every renewal cycle but their first. At 
least eight of these hours must cover education on ethics, 
standards of behavior, fair housing, changes in law that 
affect real estate brokerage or real estate contracts.   

Chapter 61 mandates that successful applicants for licensure 
have at least a high school diploma or its equivalent. 

In addition to these changes that are driven by new 
legislation, the board proposes several other substantive 
amendments to its regulations.  The board proposes to: 

• Require that salesmen licensed by reciprocity take the 
state portion of the real estate salesperson’s exam before 
biennial license renewal even if they have upgraded to a 
broker’s license in the interim. 

• Require principal brokers to report all instances where 
they reasonably believe that escrow accounts are being 
improperly maintained. 

• Require licensees who are selling a property in which 
they (or a friend, family member or associate) have an 
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ownership interest, disclose that interest as soon as any 
substantive discussions about that property are held. 

• Allow the board to suspend, revoke or fail to renew all 
licenses held by an individual at once. 

• Require that licensees who provide pre-licensure training 
take a “Train the Trainer” course,  The board also 
proposes to specify that the experience required of these 
licensees must be consecutive and “immediately prior to 
application” for approval as an instructor.  

• Reduce the number of years of experience that non-
licensee subject area pre-licensure instructors must have 
in their area of expertise from five years to three and 

• Reword language in the fees section of this regulation so 
that (non-revoked) licenses will always be valid for two 
calendar years. 

Result of Analysis.  There is insufficient data to weigh the 
magnitude of costs versus benefits for these proposed 
regulations.  Costs and benefits are discussed below. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  Current regulation does not 
include any requirement that individuals graduate high school 
or earn their GED before they apply for licensure but does 
require successful completion of courses required by Code of 
Virginia 54.1-2105. Current regulation requires all licensees 
to complete eight hours of continuing education before their 
biennial license renewal. Pursuant to Chapter 61 of the 2006 
Acts of the Assembly, the board must now require that all 
initial licensees have a high school diploma or equivalent 
education. Additionally, pursuant to Chapter 998 of the 2003 
Acts of the Assembly, the board will require real estate 
salespeople to complete 30 hours of continuing education 
before they renew their licenses for the first time and will 
require that these individuals complete 16 hours of continuing 
education each renewal cycle thereafter.  Real estate brokers 
will have to complete 16 hours of continuing education 
during all biennial renewal cycles. 

Both the requirement that successful applicants for licensure 
have a high school diploma (or its equivalent) and the 
additional hours of continuing education that are now 
mandated by the legislature are attempts to improve the 
quality of services offered by real estate salespeople and real 
estate brokers. To the extent that increased education leads to 
salespeople and brokers making fewer mistakes that cost their 
clients money, the public may benefit from these more 
stringent requirements. 

The costs that will be incurred on account of these legislative 
changes will vary.  The Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation (DPOR) reports that, since the 
restrictions in Chapter 61 took effect in July 2006, one 
individual who would have otherwise been eligible has been 
denied licensure because they had not obtained a high school 
diploma or its equivalent.  This requirement is unlikely to 

adversely affect a large number of individuals.  There will be 
larger and more widely felt costs associated with additional 
hours of mandatory continuing education. 

The board currently licenses approximately 57,200 real estate 
salespeople.  Of these, 10,268 have been licensed since 
January 2004 and will need to complete 22 more hours of 
continuing education than they would have under old 
requirements. DPOR estimates that the per-hour cost of 
continuing education is approximately $100.  This means that 
newly licensed salespeople will have to spend approximately 
$2,200 more on continuing education fees in their first two 
years of licensure than they previously would have.  The total 
cost of these additional hours of education for individuals 
who are now licensed will be approximately $22,589,600 in 
fees plus the costs incurred for traveling (when necessary) to 
attend training as well as the value of their time spent in 
training. 

Salespeople who have already been through a renewal cycle 
(45,979 licensees) and all brokers (12,892 licensees) will 
need to complete 8 more hours of continuing education than 
under old requirements.  The total cost of this training of the 
next two years will be approximately $47,096,800 in fees 
plus the costs incurred for traveling (when necessary) to 
attend training as well as the value of their time spent in 
training.  Assuming a fairly constant population of licensees 
and a constant stream of new licensees, the biennial cost 
incurred because of increased required continuing education 
will likely be approximately $70 million in fees alone.  
DPOR reports that licensure in these fields correlates with the 
state of the economy, That is, during expansionary periods 
the board receives more applications for initial licensure and 
for license renewal. During contractionary periods the board 
receives fewer applications for new licensure and more 
individuals will choose to allow their license to lapse. 

Current regulation requires that licensees who are licensed by 
reciprocity take the state specific portion of the exam for their 
particular license before they can renew their licenses.  Real 
estate brokers who are licensed by reciprocity have to take the 
state portion of the real estate broker’s exam before they can 
renew their broker’s license and salespeople have to take the 
state portion of the real estate salesperson’s exam before they 
can renew their salesperson’s license.  This means these 
individuals are tested within two years on their knowledge of 
state-specific real estate knowledge.  However, individuals 
who are licensed as salespeople by reciprocity and upgrade to 
a broker’s license before their renewal date have not had to 
take a state specific exam until they renew their broker’s 
license.  This can be as long as four years after they were 
initially licensed by the Commonwealth. 

The board proposes to close this loophole by requiring that 
salespeople who are licensed by reciprocity take the state 
portion of the salesperson’s exam within two years of initial 
licensure whether or not these individuals have upgraded their 
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license in the interim.  This regulatory change will help insure 
that all licensees are treated equally and that licensees have an 
understanding of state specific real estate laws and issues.  
The small number of individuals who follow this licensure 
track will incur costs that include the $60.50 exam fee and the 
value of their time spent taking the required exam. 

Current regulation requires that principal brokers report to the 
board when they reasonably believe that an escrow account 
does not contain sufficient funds to cover all relevant 
accounts.  Principal brokers are not currently required to 
report other types of improper maintenance of escrow funds.  
Regulation also currently requires, apparently contrary to 
legislative requirements, that licensees report any ownership 
interest they have, or somebody close to them has, in a 
property they are selling or leasing only in written offers for 
lease or purchase.  Relevant legislation requires that such 
ownership interest be disclosed “upon having substantive 
discussions about specific real property.” 

The board proposes to require brokers to report all instances 
where they have knowledge of improper maintenance of 
escrow funds. The board also proposes to amend ownership 
disclosure requirements to conform to the Code of Virginia.  
Both of these changes will benefit the public by allowing the 
board information to better police escrow accounts, in the 
first instance, and by allowing the public more access to 
information when deciding whether to lease or purchase a 
property, in the second instance.  These two changes will 
likely cost little or nothing to implement.  Principal brokers 
will incur miniscule time costs if they report improper 
maintenance of escrow funds more often than they have 
previously.  Licensees who have to report ownership interest 
in properties they sell earlier than they would have previously 
will likely incur no costs since only the timing of their 
reporting will change. 

Currently, the board may revoke a license for set causes but 
the revocation is license rather than individual specific. This 
means, when a regulant who holds multiple licenses has acted 
in a manner inconsistent with licensure requirements, the 
board must bring multiple disciplinary actions against that 
individual.  The board proposes to amend its regulations so 
that all licenses held by a regulant can be revoked 
simultaneously.  This will keep regulants who have proved to 
be dishonest, or otherwise unfit to be licensed, from 
practicing under other licenses during the time it takes to go 
through the disciplinary process multiple times. The public 
will likely benefit from this change as it will remove unfit 
regulants from the market more quickly. 

Current regulation requires that licensed brokers who want to 
gain certification to teach pre-licensure classes have either a 
Baccalaureate degree and two years of discipline-free active 
real estate experience or five years of discipline-free active 
real estate experience. Non-licensee pre-licensure subject area 
instructors are currently required to have five years of 

experience in their field of expertise (which must also be the 
topic of their subject area teaching). 

The board proposes to require that licensed brokers’ years of 
experience be consecutive and immediately prior to 
application for instructor status.  The board also proposes to 
reduce the required number of years of experience for non-
licensee subject matter instructors from five to three.  
Changing experience requirements for licensee instructors are 
more restrictive and will likely slightly limit the number of 
brokers who qualify as instructors.  Individuals who choose to 
not work as brokers for a time, for example, would have to 
work either two or five years upon resuming their former 
careers before they would be eligible as instructors.  
Changing experience requirements for non-licensees will be 
less restrictive and will likely mean more of these individuals 
would be eligible instructors.  DPOR reports that there are 
396 instructors in the Commonwealth who are eligible to 
conduct pre-licensure classes.  DPOR does not keep 
information, however, that would indicate how many of these 
instructors are licensees and how many are not. 

Currently licenses issued by this board expire biennially on 
June 30. This means that some licensees have to renew their 
licenses in less than two years. The board proposes to amend 
this section so that licenses will expire “every two years on 
the last day of the month in which they are issued.”  
Licensees will benefit from having licenses which are valid 
for a full two years. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  These proposed regulations 
will affect all real estate firms, real estate brokers and real 
estate salespeople who are currently licensed by the board as 
well as all individuals who might seek to enter these 
professions in the future.  The board currently licenses 
approximately 79,000 such entities. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  No locality will be 
particularly affected by these proposed regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  Taken together, the cost of 
additional required hours of continuing education and the 
requirement that applicants have a high school diploma (or its 
equivalent) will likely decrease the number of individuals 
who work as real estate salespeople and real estate brokers. 
These requirements, and their costs, are a function of 
legislative change. Slightly less restrictive experience 
requirements for non-licensee pre-licensure instructors will 
likely increase the pool of available real estate instructors; 
this affect may be somewhat, or completely, offset by more 
burdensome requirements for licensee pre-licensure 
instructors (licensees’ years of experience must be 
consecutive and immediate).  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  To the 
extent that small real estate firms absorb the costs of added 
training for owners or employees, costs for these firms will 
likely increase. If these firms are not able to raise their fees to 
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offset increased costs, profits, and the value of these firms, 
may fall slightly. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  To the extent that 
small real estate firms absorb the costs of added training for 
owners or employees, costs for these firms will likely 
increase. The board licenses 8,100 real estate firms; 
approximately three quarters of these firms qualify as small 
businesses. The biennial cost incurred because of increased 
required continuing education will likely be approximately 
$70 million in fees alone. See Estimated Economic Impact 
above for detailed information. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  Within the confines of legislative 
requirements for this licensure program, there is likely no 
alternate method that the board could have employed to 
minimize adverse impacts. 

Legal Mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency concurs 
with the Department of Planning and Budget’s economic 
impact analysis of the proposed amendments to the Real 
Estate Board Regulations. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments bring the regulations into 
compliance with Chapter 998 of the 2003 Acts of Assembly 
and Chapter 61 of the 2006 Acts of Assembly.  Chapter 998 
requires that real estate salespeople complete at least 30 

hours of continuing education within two years of initial 
licensure (before they renew their licenses for the first 
time) and that brokers complete at least 16 hours of 
continuing education before biannual license renewal. 
Chapter 61 mandates that successful applicants for 
licensure have at least a high school diploma or its 
equivalent. 

In addition, the proposed amendments (i) require that 
salesmen licensed by reciprocity take the state portion of 
the real estate salesperson’s exam before biennial license 
renewal even if they have upgraded to a broker’s license in 
the interim; (ii) require principal brokers to report all 
instances where they reasonably believe that escrow 
accounts are being improperly maintained; (iii) require 
licensees who are selling a property in which they (or a 
friend, family member or associate) have an ownership 
interest, disclose that interest as soon as any substantive 
discussions about that property are held; (iv) allow the 
board to suspend, revoke or fail to renew all licenses held 
by an individual at once; (v) require that licensees who 
provide prelicensure training take a “Train the Trainer” 
course, specify that the experience required of these 
licensees must be consecutive and “immediately prior to 
application” for approval as an instructor; (vi) reduce the 
number of years of experience that nonlicensee subject 
area prelicensure instructors must have in their area of 
expertise from five years to three years; and (vii) reword 
language in the fees section so that nonrevoked licenses 
will be valid for two calendar years. 

18 VAC 135-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter, 
unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 
by the context, shall have the following meanings: 

"Active" means any broker or salesperson who is under the 
supervision of a principal or supervising broker of a firm or 
sole proprietor and who is performing those activities defined 
in §§ 54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Actively engaged" means active licensure with a licensed 
real estate firm or sole proprietorship in performing those 
activities as defined in §§ 54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the 
Code of Virginia for an average of at least 40 hours per week. 
This requirement may be waived at the discretion of the board 
in accordance with § 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Actively engaged in the brokerage business” means anyone 
who holds an active real estate license." 

"Associate broker" means any individual licensee of the 
board holding a broker's license other than one who has been 
designated as the principal broker. 

"Client" means a person who has entered into a brokerage 
relationship with a licensee as defined by § 54.1-2130 of the 
Code of Virginia. 
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"Firm" means any sole proprietorship (nonbroker owner), 
partnership, association, limited liability company, or 
corporation, other than a sole proprietorship (principal broker 
owner), which is required by 18 VAC 135-20-20 B to obtain 
a separate brokerage firm license. The firm's licensed name 
may be any assumed or fictitious name properly filed with the 
board. 

"Inactive status" refers to any broker or salesperson who is 
not under the supervision of a principal broker or supervising 
broker, who is not active with a firm or sole proprietorship 
and who is not performing any of the activities defined in 
§§ 54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Independent contractor" means a licensee who acts for or 
represents a client other than as a standard agent and whose 
duties and obligations are governed by a written contract 
between the licensee and the client. 

"Licensee" means real estate brokers and salespersons as 
defined in Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

"Principal broker" means the individual broker who shall be 
designated by each firm to assure compliance with Chapter 21 
(§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, 
and this chapter, and to receive communications and notices 
from the board which may affect the firm or any licensee 
active with the firm. In the case of a sole proprietorship, the 
licensed broker who is the sole proprietor shall have the 
responsibilities of the principal broker. The principal broker 
shall have responsibility for the activities of the firm and all 
its licensees. 

"Principal to a transaction" means a party to a real estate 
transaction including without limitation a seller or buyer, 
landlord or tenant, optionor or optionee, licensor or licensee. 
For the purposes of this chapter, the listing or selling broker, 
or both, are not by virtue of their brokerage relationship, 
principals to the transaction. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, 
who is trading under the individual's name, or under an 
assumed or fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of 
Chapter 5 (§ 59.1-69 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"Standard agent" means a licensee who acts for or represents 
a client in an agency relationship. A standard agent shall have 
the obligations as provided in Article 3 (§ 54.1-2130 et seq.) 
of Chapter 21 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Supervising broker" means (i) the individual broker who 
shall be designated by the principal broker to supervise the 
provision of real estate brokerage services by the associate 
brokers and salespersons assigned to branch offices or (ii) the 
broker, who may be the principal broker, designated by the 
principal broker to supervise a designated agent as stated in 
§ 54.1-2130 of the Code of Virginia. 

18 VAC 135-20-30. Qualifications for licensure. 

Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for an individual 
salesperson's or broker's license shall have the following 
qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall have a good reputation for honesty, 
truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be competent to transact 
the business of a real estate broker or a real estate 
salesperson in such a manner as to safeguard the interests 
of the public. 

2. The applicant shall meet the current educational 
requirements by achieving a passing grade in all required 
courses of § 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia prior to the 
time the applicant sits for the licensing examination and 
applies for licensure. 

3. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed real 
estate broker or salesperson in every jurisdiction where 
licensed and the applicant shall not have had a license as a 
real estate broker or real estate salesperson which was 
suspended, revoked or surrendered in connection with a 
disciplinary action or which has been the subject of 
discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure 
in Virginia. 

4. The applicant shall not have been convicted or found 
guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any 
jurisdiction of the United States of a misdemeanor 
involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution 
or physical injury, or any felony, there being no appeal 
pending therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. 
Review of prior criminal convictions shall be subject to the 
requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Neither 
shall the applicant have been found to have violated the fair 
housing laws of any jurisdiction. Any plea of nolo 
contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of 
this subdivision. The record of a conviction authenticated 
in such form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws 
of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as 
prima facie evidence of such conviction or guilt. In 
accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each 
applicant shall disclose the following information: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 
turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical 
injury within five years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions during his lifetime. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 
for purposes of this subsection.  The record of a conviction 
received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 
evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt.  The board, in its 
discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance 
with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old. 
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6. The applicant shall have a high school diploma or its 
equivalent. 

6. 7. The applicant, within 12 months prior to making 
complete application for a license, shall have passed a 
written examination provided by the board or by a testing 
service acting on behalf of the board. 

7. 8. The applicant shall follow all procedures established 
with regard to conduct at the examination. Failure to 
comply with all procedures established with regard to 
conduct at the examination may be grounds for denial of 
application. 

8. 9. Applicants for licensure who do not meet the 
requirements set forth in subdivisions 3 and 4 of this 
section may be approved for licensure following 
consideration by the board in accordance with § 54.1-204 
of the Code of Virginia. 

18 VAC 135-20-60. Qualifications for licensure by 
reciprocity. 

An individual who is currently licensed as a real estate 
salesperson or broker in another jurisdiction may obtain a 
Virginia real estate license by meeting the following 
requirements: 

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years of age. 

2. The applicant shall have a high school diploma or its 
equivalent. 

2. 3. The applicant shall have received the salesperson's or 
broker's license by virtue of having passed in the 
jurisdiction of licensure a written examination deemed to 
be substantially equivalent to the Virginia examination. 

3. 4. The applicant shall sign a statement verifying that he 
has read and understands the provisions of this chapter and 
Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

4. 5. The applicant shall follow all procedures established 
with regard to conduct at the examination. Failure to 
comply with all procedures established by the board with 
regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for 
denial of application. 

5. 6. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed 
real estate broker or salesperson in every jurisdiction where 
licensed and the applicant shall not have had a license as a 
real estate broker or real estate salesperson which was 
suspended, revoked, or surrendered in connection with a 
disciplinary action or which has been the subject of 
discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure 
in Virginia. 

6. 7. At the time of application for a salesperson's license, 
the applicant must have been actively engaged as defined 
by 18 VAC 135-20-10 for 12 of the preceding 36 months or 

have met educational requirements that are substantially 
equivalent to those required in Virginia. At the time of 
application for a broker's license, the applicant must have 
been actively engaged as defined by 18 VAC 135-20-10 for 
36 of the preceding 48 months. These requirements may be 
waived at the discretion of the board in accordance with 
§ 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia. 

7. 8. The applicant shall have a good reputation for 
honesty, truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be competent to 
transact the business of a real estate salesperson or broker 
in such a manner as to safeguard the interests of the public. 

8. The applicant shall not have been convicted or found 
guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any 
jurisdiction of the United States of a misdemeanor 
involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution 
or physical injury, or any felony there being no appeal 
pending therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. 
Review of prior criminal convictions shall be subject to the 
requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Neither 
shall the applicant have been found to have violated the fair 
housing laws of any jurisdiction. Any plea of nolo 
contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of 
this subdivision. The record of a conviction authenticated 
in such form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws 
of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as 
prima facie evidence of such conviction or guilt. 

9. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 
each applicant shall disclose the following information: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 
turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical 
injury within five years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions during his lifetime. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 
for purposes of this subsection.  The record of a conviction 
received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 
evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt.  The board, in its 
discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance 
with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

9. 10. Applicants for licensure who do not meet the 
requirements set forth in subdivisions 5 6 and 8 9 of this 
subsection may be approved for licensure following 
consideration by the board in accordance with § 54.1-204 
of the Code of Virginia. 

18 VAC 135-20-100. Qualification for renewal; continuing 
education requirements. 

As a condition of renewal, and pursuant to § 54.1-2105 of the 
Code of Virginia, all active brokers and salespersons, resident 
or nonresident, except those called to active duty in the 
Armed Forces of the United States, shall be required to 
satisfactorily complete a course or courses of not less than a 
total of eight 16 classroom, correspondence, or other distance 
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learning instruction hours during each licensing term, except 
for salespersons who are renewing for the first time and are 
required to complete 30 hours of postlicense education 
regardless of whether his license is active or inactive. Active 
licensees called to active duty in the Armed Forces of the 
United States may complete these courses within six months 
of their release from active duty. Inactive brokers and 
salespersons are not required to complete the continuing 
education course as a condition of renewal (see 18 VAC 
135-20-70, Activation of license). 

1. Providers shall be those as defined in 18 VAC 
135-20-350. 

2. Four Eight of the eight 16 required hours shall include 
two hours of training in fair housing laws, and a minimum 
of one hour each in state real estate laws and regulations, 
and ethics and standards of conduct, agency and contracts. 
If the licensee submits a notarized affidavit to the board 
which certifies that he does not practice residential real 
estate brokerage, residential management or residential 
leasing and shall not do so during the licensing term, 
training in fair housing shall not be required; instead such 
licensee shall receive training in other applicable federal 
and state discrimination laws and regulations. The 
remaining hours shall be on subjects from the following 
list: 

a. Property rights; 

b. Contracts; 

c. Deeds; 

d. Mortgages and deeds of trust; 

e. Types of mortgages; 

f. Leases; 

g. Liens; 

h. Real property and title insurance; 

i. Investment; 

j. Taxes in real estate; 

k. Real estate financing; 

l. Brokerage and agency contract responsibilities; 

m. Real property management; 

n. Search, examination and registration of title; 

o. Title closing; 

p. Appraisal of real property; 

q. Planning subdivision developments and 
condominiums; 

r. Regulatory statutes; 

s. Housing legislation; 

t. Fair housing; 

u. Real Estate Board regulations; 

v. Land use; 

w. Business law; 

x. Real estate economics; 

y. Real estate investments; 

z. Federal real estate law; 

aa. Commercial real estate; 

bb. Americans With Disabilities Act; 

cc. Environmental issues impacting real estate; 

dd. Building codes and design; 

ee. Local laws and zoning; 

ff. Escrow requirements; 

gg. Ethics and standards of conduct; and 

hh. Common interest ownership. 

3. Licensees holding licenses in other jurisdictions must 
complete four eight hours which shall include fair housing 
laws, state real estate laws and regulations and, ethics and 
standards of conduct, agency and contracts and may 
substitute education completed in their jurisdiction for the 
remaining hours required by subdivision 2 of this 
subsection. 

4. The board may approve additional subjects at its 
discretion and in accordance with § 54.1-2105 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

5. Credit for continuing education course completion is 
given for each class hour/clock hour as defined in 18 VAC 
135-20-350. 

6. Licensees are responsible for retaining for three years 
and providing proof of continuing education. Proof of 
course completion shall be made on a form prescribed by 
the board. Failure to provide course documentation of 
completion certification as directed by the board will result 
in the license not being renewed and/or disciplinary action 
pursuant to this chapter. 

7. Instructors who are also licensees of the board may earn 
continuing education credit for teaching continuing 
education courses. 

18 VAC 135-20-105. Additional qualifications for renewal 
of a reciprocal license. 

In addition to the requirements set forth in 18 VAC 
135-20-100, all licensees, including those licensees who 
upgrade to broker prior to renewal, who obtained their license 
by reciprocity in accordance with 18 VAC 135-20-60 must 
pass a written examination provided by the board or a testing 
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service acting on behalf of the board covering Virginia real 
estate license law and regulations of the Real Estate Board. 

18 VAC 135-20-160. Place of business. 

A. Within the meaning and intent of § 54.1-2110 of the Code 
of Virginia, a place of business shall be an office where: 

1. The principal broker, either through his own efforts or 
through the efforts of his employees or associates, regularly 
transacts the business of a real estate broker as defined in 
§ 54.1-2100 of the Code of Virginia; and 

2. The principal broker and his employees or associates can 
receive business calls and direct business calls to be made. 

B. No place of business shall be in a residence unless it is 
separate and distinct from the living quarters of the residence 
and is accessible by the public. 

C. Every principal broker shall have readily available to the 
public in the main place of business the firm license, the 
principal broker license and the license of every salesperson 
and broker active with the firm. The branch office license and 
a roster of every salesperson or broker assigned to the branch 
office shall be available to the public posted in a conspicuous 
place in each branch office. 

D. Each place of business and each branch office shall be 
supervised by a supervising broker. The supervising broker 
shall exercise reasonable and adequate supervision of the 
provision of real estate brokerage services by associate 
brokers and salespersons assigned to the branch office. The 
supervising broker may designate another broker to assist in 
administering the provisions of this subsection.  The supervising 
broker does not relinquish overall responsibility for the 
supervision of the acts of all licensees assigned to the branch 
office.  Factors to be considered in determining whether the 
supervision is reasonable and adequate include, but are not 
limited to, the following: 

1. The availability of the supervising broker to all licensees 
under the supervision of the broker to review and discuss 
contract provisions, approve all documents including but not 
limited to leases, contracts affecting the firm's clients, 
brokerage agreement provisions agreements and 
advertising; 

2. The availability of training and written procedures and 
policies which provide, without limitation, clear guidance 
in the following areas: 

a. Proper handling of escrow deposits; 

b. Compliance with federal and state fair housing laws 
and regulations if the firm engages in residential 
brokerage, residential leasing, or residential property 
management; 

c. Advertising; 

d. Negotiating and drafting of contracts, leases and 
brokerage agreements; 

e. Use of unlicensed individuals; 

f. Agency relationships; 

g. Distribution of information on new or changed 
statutory or regulatory requirements; 

h. Disclosure of matters relating to the condition of the 
property. 

i. Such other matters as necessary to assure the 
competence of licensees to comply with this chapter and 
Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

3. The availability of the supervising broker in a timely 
manner to supervise the management of the brokerage 
services; 

4. The supervising broker ensures the brokerage services 
are carried out competently and in accordance with the 
provisions of this chapter and Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-2100 et 
seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

5. The supervising broker undertakes reasonable steps to 
ensure compliance by all licensees assigned to the branch 
office; 

6. If a supervising broker is located more than 50 miles 
from the branch office and there are licensees who 
regularly conduct business assigned to the branch office, 
the supervising broker must certify in writing on a quarterly 
basis on a form provided by the board that the supervising 
broker complied with the requirements in this subsection; 
and 

7. The supervising broker must maintain the records 
required in this subsection for three years.  The records 
must be furnished to the board’s agent upon request. 

18 VAC 135-20-170. Maintenance of licenses. 

A. Name and address. 

1. Salespersons and individual brokers shall at all times 
keep the board informed of their current name and home 
address. Changes of name and address must be reported to 
the board in writing within 30 calendar days of such 
change. The board shall not be responsible for the 
licensee's failure to receive notices, communications and 
correspondence caused by the licensee's failure to promptly 
notify the board of any change of address. A licensee may 
use a professional name other than a legal name if that 
professional name is filed with the board prior to its use. 
The professional name shall include the licensee’s first or last 
name and shall not include any titles. 
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2. Salespersons and brokers shall be issued a license only to 
the place of business of the sole proprietorship or firm with 
which the salesperson or broker is active. 

3. Principal brokers must at all times keep the board 
informed of their current firm and branch office name and 
addresses and changes of name and address must be 
reported to the board in writing within 30 calendar days of 
such change. A physical address is required. A post office 
box will not be accepted. 

B. Discharge or termination of active status. 

1. When any salesperson or broker is discharged or in any 
way terminates his active status with a sole proprietorship 
or firm, it shall be the duty of the sole proprietor or 
principal broker to return the license by certified mail to the 
board so that it is received within 10 calendar days of the 
date of termination or status change. The sole proprietor or 
principal broker shall indicate on the license the date of 
termination, and shall sign the license before returning it. 

2. When any principal broker is discharged or in any way 
terminates his active status with a firm, it shall be the duty 
of the firm to notify the board and return the license by 
certified mail to the board within three business days of 
termination or status change. The firm shall indicate on the 
license the date of termination, and shall sign the license 
before returning it. See § 54.1-2109 of the Code of Virginia 
for termination relating to the death or disability of the 
principal broker. 

18 VAC 135-20-180. Maintenance and management of 
escrow accounts. 

A. Maintenance of escrow accounts. 

1. If money is to be held in escrow, each firm or sole 
proprietorship shall maintain in the name by which it is 
licensed one or more federally insured separate escrow 
accounts in a federally insured depository in Virginia into 
which all down payments, earnest money deposits, money 
received upon final settlement, rental payments, rental 
security deposits, money advanced by a buyer or seller for 
the payment of expenses in connection with the closing of 
real estate transactions, money advanced by the broker's 
client or expended on behalf of the client, or other escrow 
funds received by him or his associates on behalf of his 
client or any other person shall be deposited unless all 
principals to the transaction have agreed otherwise in 
writing. The balance in the escrow accounts shall be 
sufficient at all times to account for all funds that are 
designated to be held by the firm or sole proprietorship. 
The principal broker shall be held responsible for these 
accounts. The supervising broker and any other licensee 
with escrow account authority may be held responsible for 
these accounts. All such accounts, checks and bank 
statements shall be labeled "escrow" and the account(s) 

shall be designated as "escrow" accounts with the financial 
institution where such accounts are established. 

2. Funds to be deposited in the escrow account may include 
moneys which shall ultimately belong to the licensee, but 
such moneys shall be separately identified in the escrow 
account records and shall be paid to the firm by a check 
drawn on the escrow account when the funds become due 
to the licensee. Funds in an escrow account shall not be 
paid directly to the licensees of the firm. The fact that an 
escrow account contains money which may ultimately 
belong to the licensee does not constitute "commingling of 
funds" as set forth by subdivision C 2 of this section, 
provided that there are periodic withdrawals of said funds 
at intervals of not more than six months, and that the 
licensee can at all times accurately identify the total funds 
in that account which belong to the licensee and the firm. 

3. If escrow funds are used to purchase a certificate of 
deposit, the pledging or hypothecation of such certificate, 
or the absence of the original certificate from the direct 
control of the principal or supervising broker, shall 
constitute commingling as prohibited by subdivision C 2 of 
this section. 

B. Disbursement of funds from escrow accounts. 

1. a. Purchase transactions. Upon the ratification of a 
contract, earnest money deposits and down payments 
received by the principal broker or supervising broker or 
his associates must be placed in an escrow account by the 
end of the fifth business banking day following ratification, 
unless otherwise agreed to in writing by the parties to the 
transaction, and shall remain in that account until the 
transaction has been consummated or terminated. In the 
event the transaction is not consummated 
(nonconsummation), the principal broker or supervising 
broker shall hold such funds in escrow until (i) all 
principals to the transaction have agreed in writing as to 
their disposition, or (ii) a court of competent jurisdiction 
orders such disbursement of the funds, or (iii) the broker 
can pay the funds to the principal to the transaction who is 
entitled to receive them in accordance with the clear and 
explicit terms of the contract which established the deposit. 
In the latter event, prior to disbursement, the broker shall 
give written notice to the principal to the transaction not to 
receive the deposit by either (i) hand delivery receipted for 
by the addressee, or (ii) by certified mail return receipt 
requested, with a copy to the other party, that this payment 
will be made unless a written protest from that principal to 
the transaction is received by the broker within 30 days of 
the hand delivery or mailing, as appropriate, of that notice. 
If the notice is sent within 90 days of the date of 
nonconsummation, the broker may send the notice by 
receiptable email or facsimile if such email address or 
facsimile information is set forth in the contract or 
otherwise provided by the recipient. In all events, the 
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broker may send the notice to the notice address, if any, set 
forth in the contract. If the contract does not contain a 
notice address and the broker does not have another address 
for the recipient of the notice, the broker may send it to the 
last known address of the recipient. No broker shall be 
required to make a determination as to the party entitled to 
receive the earnest money deposit. The broker shall not be 
deemed to violate any obligation to any client by virtue of 
making such a determination. A broker who has carried out 
the above procedure shall be construed to have fulfilled the 
requirements of this chapter. 

b. Lease transactions: security deposits. Any security 
deposit held by a firm or sole proprietorship shall be 
placed in an escrow account by the end of the fifth 
business banking day following receipt, unless otherwise 
agreed to in writing by the principals to the transaction. 
Each such security deposit shall be treated in accordance 
with the security deposit provisions of the Virginia 
Residential Landlord and Tenant Act, Chapter 13.2 
(§ 55-248.2 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia, 
unless exempted therefrom, in which case the terms of 
the lease or other applicable law shall control. 
Notwithstanding anything in this section to the contrary, 
unless the landlord has otherwise become entitled to 
receive the security deposit or a portion thereof, the 
security deposit shall not be removed from an escrow 
account required by the lease without the written consent 
of the tenant. 

c. Lease transactions: rents or escrow fund advances. 
Unless otherwise agreed in writing by all principals to 
the transaction, all rents and other money paid to the 
licensee in connection with the lease shall be placed in an 
escrow account by the end of the fifth business banking 
day following receipt, unless otherwise agreed to in 
writing by the principals to the transaction, and remain in 
that account until paid in accordance with the terms of 
the lease and the property management agreement, as 
applicable. 

2. a. Purchase transactions. Unless otherwise agreed in 
writing by all principals to the transaction, a licensee shall 
not be entitled to any part of the earnest money deposit or 
to any other money paid to the licensee in connection with 
any real estate transaction as part of the licensee's 
commission until the transaction has been consummated. 

b. Lease transactions. Unless otherwise agreed in writing 
by the principals to the lease or property management 
agreement, as applicable, a licensee shall not be entitled 
to any part of the security deposit or to any other money 
paid to the licensee in connection with any real estate 
lease as part of the licensee's commission except in 
accordance with the terms of the lease or the property 
management agreement, as applicable. Notwithstanding 
anything in this section to the contrary, unless the 

landlord has otherwise become entitled to receive the 
security deposit or a portion thereof, the security deposit 
shall not be removed from an escrow account required by 
the lease without the written consent of the tenant. 

3. On funds placed in an account bearing interest, written 
disclosure in the contract of sale or lease at the time of 
contract or lease writing shall be made to the principals to 
the transaction regarding the disbursement of interest. 

4. A licensee shall not disburse or cause to be disbursed 
moneys from an escrow or property management escrow 
account unless sufficient money is on deposit in that 
account to the credit of the individual client or property 
involved. 

5. Unless otherwise agreed in writing by all principals to 
the transaction, expenses incidental to closing a transaction, 
e.g., fees for appraisal, insurance, credit report, etc., shall 
not be deducted from a deposit or down payment. 

C. Actions including improper maintenance of escrow funds 
include: 

1. Accepting any note, nonnegotiable instrument, or 
anything of value not readily negotiable, as a deposit on a 
contract, offer to purchase, or lease, without 
acknowledging its acceptance in the agreement; 

2. Commingling the funds of any person by a principal or 
supervising broker or his employees or associates or any 
licensee with his own funds, or those of his corporation, 
firm, or association; 

3. Failure to deposit escrow funds in an account or accounts 
designated to receive only such funds as required by 
subdivision A 1 of this section; 

4. Failure to have sufficient balances in an escrow account 
or accounts at all times for all funds that are designated to 
be held by the firm or sole proprietorship as required by 
this chapter; and 

5. Failure Failing, as principal broker, to report to the board 
within three business days instances where the principal 
broker reasonably believes the improper conduct of a 
licensee has caused noncompliance with subdivision 4 of 
this subsection this section. 

18 VAC 135-20-190. Advertising by licensees. 

A. Definitions. The following definitions apply unless a 
different meaning is plainly required by the context: 

"Advertising" means all forms of representation, promotion 
and solicitation disseminated in any manner and by any 
means of communication to consumers for any purpose 
related to licensed real estate activity. 

"Disclosure" in the context of online advertising means (i) 
advertising that contains the firm's licensed name, the city and 
state in which the firm's main office is located and the 
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jurisdiction in which the firm holds a license or (ii) 
advertising that contains the licensee name, the name of the 
firm with which the licensee is active, the city and state in 
which the licensee's office is located and the jurisdiction in 
which the licensee holds a license. "Disclosure" in the context 
of other advertising means (a) advertising by the firm that 
contains the firm's licensed name and the firm's address or (b) 
advertising by an affiliated licensee that contains the 
licensee's name, the name of the firm with which the licensee 
is active and the firm's address. 

"Institutional advertising" means advertising in which no real 
property is identified. 

"Viewable page" means a page that may or may not scroll 
beyond the borders of the screen and includes the use of 
framed pages. 

B. All advertising must be under the direct supervision of the 
principal broker or supervising broker and, in the name of the 
firm and comply with the disclosure required by § 54.1-2138.1 
of the Code of Virginia. The firm's licensed name must be 
clearly and legibly displayed on all advertising. 

C. Online advertising. 

1. Any online advertising undertaken for the purpose of any 
licensed activity is subject to the provisions of this chapter. 

2. All online advertising that can be viewed or experienced 
as a separate unit (i.e., e-mail messages and web pages) 
must contain disclosure as follows: 

a. The web. If a firm or licensee owns a webpage or 
controls its content, the viewable page must include 
disclosure or a link to disclosure. 

b. Email, newsgroups, discussion lists, bulletin boards. 
All such formats shall include disclosure at the beginning 
or end of each message. The provisions of this subsection 
do not apply to correspondence in the ordinary course of 
business. 

c. Instant messages. Disclosure is not necessary in this 
format if the firm or licensee provided the disclosures via 
another format prior to providing, or offering to provide, 
licensed services. 

d. Chat/Internet-based dialogue. Disclosure is required 
prior to providing, or offering to provide, licensable 
services during the chat session, or in text visible on the 
same webpage that contains the chat session if the 
licensee controls the website hosting the chat session. 

e. Voice Over Net (VON). Disclosure is required prior to 
advertising or the disclosure text must be visible on the 
same webpage that contains the VON session. 

f. Banner ads. A link to disclosure is required unless the 
banner ad contains the disclosure. 

3. All online listings advertised must be kept current and 
consistent as follows: 

a. Online listing information must be consistent with the 
property description and actual status of the listing.  The 
licensee shall update in a timely manner material changes 
to the listing status authorized by the seller or property 
description when the licensee controls the online site. 

b. The licensee shall make timely written requests for 
updates reflecting material changes to the listing status or 
property descriptions when a third party online listing 
service controls the website displaying the listing 
information. 

c. All listing information shall indicate in a readily 
visible manner the date that the listing information shown 
was last updated.   

D. The following activities shall be prohibited: 

1. Implying that property listed by a licensee's firm and 
advertised by the firm or licensee is for sale, exchange, rent 
or lease by the owner or by an unlicensed person; 

2. Failing to include a notice in all advertising that the 
owner is a real estate licensee if the licensee owns or has 
any ownership interest in the property advertised and is not 
using the services of a licensed real estate entity; 

3. Failing to include the firm's licensed name on any sign 
displayed outside each place of business; 

4. Failing to obtain the written consent of the seller, 
landlord, optionor or licensor prior to advertising a specific 
identifiable property; and 

5. Failing to identify the type of services offered when 
advertising by general description a property not listed by 
the party making the advertisement. 

18 VAC 135-20-210. Disclosure of interest. 

A. If a licensee knows or should have known that he, any 
member of his family, his firm, any member of his firm, or 
any entity in which he has an ownership interest, is acquiring 
or attempting to acquire or is selling or leasing real property 
through purchase, sale or lease and the licensee is a party to 
the transaction, the licensee must disclose that information to 
the owner, purchaser or lessee in writing in the offer to 
purchase, the application, the offer to lease or lease. This 
disclosure shall be made to the purchaser, seller or lessee upon 
having substantive discussions about specific real property. 

B. A licensee selling or leasing property in which he has any 
ownership interest must disclose that he is a real estate 
licensee and he has an interest in the property to any 
purchaser or lessee in the written offer to purchase, the 
application, the offer to lease, or the lease, whichever occurs 
first. 
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18 VAC 135-20-220. Disclosure of brokerage 
relationships. 

A. Purchase transactions. 

1. Unless disclosure has been previously made by a 
licensee, a licensee shall disclose to an actual or 
prospective buyer or seller who is not the client of the 
licensee and who is not represented by another licensee and 
with whom the licensee has substantive discussions about a 
specific property or properties, the person whom the 
licensee represents in a brokerage relationship, as that term 
is defined in § 54.1-2130 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 3 of this 
subsection, such disclosure shall be made in writing at the 
earliest practical time, but in no event later than the time 
specific real estate assistance is first provided. Any 
disclosure complying with the provisions of § 54.1-2138 A 
of the Code of Virginia shall be deemed in compliance with 
this disclosure requirement. 

3. A licensee acting as a dual or designated representative 
shall obtain the written consent of all clients to the 
transaction at the earliest practical time. Such consent shall 
be presumed to have been given by a client who signs a 
disclosure complying with the provisions of § 54.1-2139 of 
the Code of Virginia. Such disclosure shall be given to, and 
consent obtained from, (i) the buyer not later than the time 
an offer to purchase is presented to the licensee who will 
present the offer to the listing agent or seller, and (ii) the 
seller not later than the time the offer to purchase is 
presented to the seller. 

4. Any disclosure required by this subsection may be given 
in combination with other disclosures or information, but, 
if so, the disclosure must be conspicuous, printed in bold 
lettering, all capitals, underlined, or within a separate box 
or as otherwise provided by § 54.1-2138 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

B. Lease transactions. 

1. Unless disclosure has been previously made by a 
licensee, a licensee shall disclose to an actual or 
prospective landlord or tenant who is not the client of the 
licensee and who is not represented by another licensee, 
that the licensee has a brokerage relationship with another 
party or parties to the transaction. Such disclosure shall be 
in writing and included in the application for lease or the 
lease itself, whichever occurs first. If the terms of the lease 
do not provide for such disclosure, the disclosure shall be 
made in writing not later than the signing of the lease. 

2. This disclosure requirement shall not apply to lessors or 
lessees in single or multi-family residential units for lease 
terms of less than three two months. 

18 VAC 135-20-300. Misrepresentation/omission. 

Actions constituting misrepresentation or omission, or both, 
include: 

1. Using "bait and switch" tactics by advertising or offering 
real property for sale or rent with the intent not to sell or 
rent at the price or terms advertised, unless the 
advertisement or offer clearly states that the property 
advertised is limited in specific quantity and the licensee 
did in fact have at least that quantity for sale or rent; 

2. Failure by a licensee representing a seller or landlord as 
a standard agent to disclose in a timely manner to a 
prospective purchaser or tenant all material adverse facts 
pertaining to the physical condition of the property which 
are actually known by the licensee; 

3. Failing as a licensee to tender promptly to the buyer and 
seller every written offer, every written counteroffer, and 
every written rejection to purchase, option or lease obtained 
on the property involved; 

4. Failure by a licensee acting as a standard agent to 
disclose in a timely manner to the licensee's client all 
material facts related to the property or concerning the 
transaction when the failure to so disclose would constitute 
failure by the licensee to exercise ordinary care as defined 
in the brokerage agreement; 

5. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 4 of this 
section, a licensee acting as a dual representative shall not 
disclose to one client represented in the dual representation 
confidential information relating to the transaction obtained 
during the representation of another client in the same dual 
representation unless otherwise provided by law; 

6. Failing to include the complete terms and conditions of 
the real estate transaction in , including but not limited to 
any lease, property management agreement or offer to 
purchase; 

7. Failing to include in any application, lease, or offer to 
purchase identification of all those holding any deposits; 

8. Knowingly making any false statement or report, or 
willfully misstating the value of any land, property, or 
security for the purpose of influencing in any way the 
action of any lender upon: 

a. Applications, advance discounts, purchase agreements, 
repurchase agreements, commitments or loans; 

b. Changes in terms or extensions of time for any of the 
items listed in this subdivision 8 whether by renewal, 
deferment of action, or other means without the prior 
written consent of the principals to the transaction; 

c. Acceptance, release, or substitution of security for any 
of the items listed in subdivision 8 a of this section 
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without the prior written consent of the principals to the 
transaction; 

9. Knowingly making any material misrepresentation or 
making a material misrepresentation reasonably relied upon 
by a third party to that party's detriment; and 

10. Making a false promise through agents, salespersons, 
advertising, or other means. 

18 VAC 135-20-345. Effect of disciplinary action on 
concurrent licenses. 

The board shall suspend, revoke or deny renewal of existing 
concurrent broker licenses when the board suspends, revokes 
or denies renewal of another broker’s license held by the 
same individual. 

18 VAC 135-20-360. Proprietary school standards, 
instructor qualifications and course requirements. 

A. Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for a proprietary 
school certificate shall meet the standards provided in 
§ 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for approval as an 
instructor for prelicense education shall have completed a 
"train the trainer" course or its equivalent and shall have one of 
the following qualifications: 

1. Baccalaureate degree, a Virginia real estate broker's 
license, and two consecutive years of discipline-free active 
real estate experience within the past five years 
immediately prior to application; 

2. Five consecutive years of discipline-free active 
experience acquired in the real estate field in the past seven 
years immediately prior to application and an active 
Virginia broker's license; or 

3. Expertise in a specific field of real estate who will teach 
only in the area of their expertise. For example, a licensed 
real estate appraiser, with at least five three years of active 
appraisal experience in Virginia, may be approved to teach 
Real Estate Appraisals that field. Such applicants will teach 
only in the area of their expertise and will be required to 
furnish proof of their expertise including, but not limited to, 
educational transcripts, professional certificates and letters 
of reference which will verify the applicant's expertise. 

C. Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for approval as an 
instructor for continuing education and postlicense education 
shall have expertise in a specific field of real estate with at 
least three years of active experience and will teach only in 
the area of their expertise.  Such applicants will be required to 
furnish proof of their expertise including, but not limited to, 
educational transcripts, professional certificates and letters of 
reference that will verify the applicant’s expertise. 

C. D. Prelicense courses must be acceptable to the board and 
are required to have a monitored, final written examination. 

Those schools which propose to offer prelicensing courses 
(Principles and Practices of Real Estate, Real Estate 
Brokerage, Real Estate Finance, Real Estate Law or Real 
Estate Appraisal, etc.) must submit a request, in writing, to 
the board prior to offering the course(s) and supply the 
following information: 

1. Course content. All Principles and Practices of Real 
Estate courses must include the 25 topic areas specified in 
18 VAC 135-20-400. All requests to offer broker courses 
must include a course syllabus acceptable to the board; 

2. Name of the course's text and any research materials 
used for study assignments; 

3. Description of any research assignments; 

4. Copies of test or quizzes; 

5. Information explaining how the "Principles" course will 
require 60 hours of study, or how each broker related 
course will require 45 hours of study, in compliance with 
§ 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia; and 

6. Information about recordkeeping for the type of course 
delivery. 

D. E. Providers of continuing education courses shall submit 
all subjects to the board for approval prior to initially offering 
the course. Correspondence and other distance learning 
courses offered by an approved provider must include 
appropriate testing procedures to verify completion of the 
course. The board shall approve courses and the number of 
hours approved for each course based on the relevance of the 
subject to the performance of the duties set forth in 
§§ 54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. Approval of prelicense, continuing education and postlicense 
education courses shall expire on December 31 five years from 
the year in which the approval was issued, as indicated on the 
approval document. 

E. G. All schools must establish and maintain a record for 
each student. The record shall include: the student's name and 
address, the course name and clock hours attended, the course 
syllabus or outline, the name or names of the instructor, the 
date of successful completion, and the board's course code. 
Records shall be available for inspection during normal 
business hours by authorized representatives of the board. 
Schools must maintain all student and class records for a 
minimum of five years. 

F. H. All schools must provide each student with a certificate 
of course completion or other document documentation that 
the student may use as proof of course completion. The 
certificate or other document Such documentation shall 
contain the hours of credit completed. 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 25, 2007 

3609 

18 VAC 135-20-370. Fees. 

A. The application fee for an original certificate for a 
proprietary school shall be $190. 

B. The renewal fee for proprietary school certificates expiring 
biennially on June 30 every two years from the last day of the 
month in which they were issued shall be $90. 

C. If the requirements for renewal of a proprietary school 
certificate, including receipt of the fee by the board, are not 
completed within 30 days of the expiration date noted on the 
certificate, a reinstatement fee of $135 is required. A 
certificate may be reinstated for up to one year following the 
expiration date with payment of the reinstatement fee. After 
one year, the certificate may not be reinstated under any 
circumstances and the applicant must meet all requirements 
and apply as a new applicant. If the renewal requirements are 
not completed within 30 days of the expiration date noted on the 
proprietary school approval, the proprietary school shall no 
longer offer board-approved courses. 

D. The application for an original prelicense education 
instructor certificate shall be $190. 

E. The renewal fee for an a prelicense instructor certificate 
expiring biennially on June 30 every two years from the last 
day of the month in which it was issued shall be $75. 

F. If the requirements for renewal of an instructor certificate, 
including receipt of the fee by the board, are not completed 
within 30 days of the expiration date on the certificate, a 
reinstatement fee of $110 is required. A certificate may be 
reinstated for up to one year following the expiration date 
with payment of the reinstatement fee. After one year, the 
certificate may not be reinstated under any circumstances and 
the applicant must meet all requirements and apply as a new 
applicant. 

G. The board in its discretion may deny renewal of a 
certificate for the same reasons it may deny initial approval. 

18 VAC 135-20-390. Withdrawal of approval. 

The board may withdraw approval of any school, course or 
instructor for the following reasons: 

1. The school, instructors, courses, or subjects no longer 
meet the standards established by the board. 

2. The school or instructor solicits information from any 
person for the purpose of discovering past examination 
questions or questions which may be used in future 
examinations. 

3. The school or instructor distributes to any person copies 
of examination questions, or otherwise communicates to 
any person examination questions, without receiving the 
prior written approval of the copyright owner to distribute 
or communicate those questions. 

4. The school, through an agent or otherwise, advertises its 
services in a fraudulent, deceptive or misrepresentative 
manner. 

5. Officials, instructors or designees of the school sit for a 
real estate licensing examination for any purpose other than 
to obtain a license as a broker or salesperson. 

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 135-20, 
Virginia Real Estate Board Licensing Regulations, are not 
being published; however, the name of each form is listed 
below.  The forms are available for public inspection at the 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office 
of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

Activate/Transfer Application, 02AT (1/02 4/07). 

Add-on Business Entity License Application, 02ADDBUS 
(1/02 4/07). 

Broker Education Requirements for Non-Reciprocal 
Examinees, 02BEDREQ (rev. 8/02 6/07). 

Branch Office License Application, 02BRANCH (rev. 8/02 
4/07). 

Business Entity License Application, 02BUSENT (rev. 1/02 
4/07). 

Business Entity License Transfer Application, 02BUSTR 
(rev. 1/02 4/07). 

Certificate of Ownership/Individual Trading Under an 
Assumed or Fictitious Name Application, 02CRTOWN (1/02 
7/03). 

Certification Request, 02CRTREQ (1/02 4/07). 

Concurrent Broker Application, 02CONCUR (1/02 4/07). 

Consent To Suits and Service of Process Form, 02CTS (rev. 
8/02 7/03). 

Experience Verification Form, 02EXP (rev. 1/02 4/07). 

Firm License Application, 02FIRM (rev. 1/03 4/07). 

Firm Name/Address Change Form, 02FNACHG (rev. 1/02 
4/07). 

Firm Principal Broker/Officer Change Form, 02PBOCHG 
(rev. 1/ 02 4/07). 

Principal Broker and Sole Proprietor By Exam & Upgrade 
License Application, 02PBSPLIC (rev. 8/02 4/07). 

Reciprocity Applicant Instructions, 02RECINS (rev. 1/02 
5/07). 
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Salesperson and Associate Broker License By Reciprocity & 
Upgrade Application, 02SABLIC 02SABPKG (rev. 8/02 
4/07). 

Supervising Broker for Branch Office/Change Form, 
02SBCHG (rev. 1/02 4/07). 

Virginia Salesperson Upgrading to Associate Broker License 
by Exam Application, 02UABLIC (4/07). 

Post License Education and Continuing Education Course 
Approval Application, 02CRS (8/05). 

Pre-licensing Education Instructor Application, 02INSTR 
(10/04). 

Principal Broker and Sole Proprietor License by Reciprocity 
Application, 02PBPKG (5/07). 

Proprietary School Certification Application, 02SCHL (9/04). 

Salesperson License by Exam Application, 02SALIC (4/07). 

Place License Inactive Form, 02INA (4/07). 
VA.R. Doc. No. R06-222; Filed June 4, 2007, 12:41 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 135-60. Common Interest 
Community Management Information Fund Regulations 
(amending 18 VAC 135-60-60). 

Statutory Authority:  § 55-530 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  August 1, 2007 -- 10 a.m. 
Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on August 
24, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Agency Contact:  Thomas K. Perry, Property Registration 
Administrator, Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation, 3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8510, FAX (804) 367-2475, or email 
propreg@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  The Common Interest Community Management 
Information Fund is created in § 55-529 of the Code of 
Virginia “to be used in the discretion of the Real Estate Board 
to promote the improvement and more efficient operation of 
common interest communities through research and 
education.”  The board’s authority to promulgate regulations 
is established in § 55-530 of the Code of Virginia, which 
states that "the Board may prescribe regulations which shall 
be adopted, amended or repealed in accordance with the 
Administrative Process Act to accomplish the purpose of this 
chapter." 

Purpose:  HJR 686 (2005) requested the Virginia Real Estate 
Board to conduct a study to review the adequacy of, training 
of, and disclosure of financial information to consumers by 
financially compensated professional managers of 

condominium associations, property owners’ associations and 
other similar common interest communities.  As a result of 
this study, the board concluded that further education was 
needed to make associations and those who are directing them 
better aware of their duties and responsibilities to their 
communities and would help to alleviate potential problems 
and misunderstandings with financially compensated 
professional association managers.  The board acknowledged 
that because of high volume of turnover in associations and 
board membership, training should be an ongoing process. 

The board further concluded that the Common Interest 
Community Management Information Fund Regulations 
should be revised to create an annual filing fee schedule 
structured proportional to the size of the association.  An 
association of five lots/units should not be paying the same 
fee as an association containing 5,000 lots/units.  Currently, 
the annual filing fee for all associations is $25 regardless of 
size.  This increase in funding would be used to either hire 
additional staff to assist the Community Association Liaison 
or to engage a third-party firm to provide the much needed 
training/education for associations. 

Substance:  The current filing fee is $25 annually for all 
associations regardless of size.  The proposed seven-tier fee 
structure would increase revenue to provide funding for 
additional training and education for common interest 
communities and those who run these communities.  Since 
the larger registration fees are for the larger communities, 
there is relatively no impact on the individual unit/lot owner. 

Since more administrative input is required by board staff 
when processing initial applications, an application fee has 
been created that is slightly higher than the annual renewal 
fee. 

In an effort for board staff to maintain current information on 
a community’s point of contact and officers, language has 
been added to have registration certificate expiration dates 
coincide with the community’s annual meeting to elect 
officers.  This will ensure that communities can be contacted 
for informational and educational purposes. 

Issues:  The primary advantage to the public, who are unit 
owners/lot owners, would be to alleviate potential problems 
and misunderstandings with financially compensated 
professional association managers as well as conflicts 
between association boards and their membership.  Informing 
association membership of how an association should operate 
and of their responsibilities and opportunities as unit 
owners/lot owners will encourage participation by members 
in community meetings and will foster volunteers to serve on 
boards and committees.  This process must be ongoing 
because of the high volume of turnover in associations and 
their board membership. 

The primary advantage to the agency will be that an increase 
in fees will generate the necessary funding for the board to 
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provide more training to associations and those who are 
directing them in an effort to educate them regarding their 
duties and responsibilities to their communities as required by 
the Property Owners’ Association Act and the Condominium 
Act. 

This regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the public or 
the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Regulation.  The Real Estate Board 
proposes to increase fees that common interest communities 
(property owners’ associations, real estate cooperative 
associations and condominium associations) pay into the 
Common Interest Community Management Fund. The board 
proposes, at the same time, to institute a seven-tier graduated 
fee structure so that common interest communities with 
greater numbers of lots will pay higher fees. 

Result of Analysis.  There is insufficient data to weigh the 
magnitude of costs versus benefits for this proposed 
regulation.  Costs and benefits are discussed below. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  In the Code of Virginia, the 
Property Owners’ Association Act, the Real Estate 
Cooperative Act and the Condominium Act contain identical 
requirements that the respective governed common interest 
community (CIC) associations submit an annual report to the 
Real Estate Board (board). At the same time, these 
associations are required to register and pay a fee  to the state 
treasurer which is credited to the Common Interest 
Community Management Information Fund; this fund is used 
to pay a community association liaison and to “promote the 
improvement and more efficient operation of common 
interest communities through research and education.” 

Currently, the board charges all registrants $25 per year. Fees 
collected from registrants have, in part, funded the salaries of 
the community liaison as well as support staff. Fees have also 
been used, in part, to produce educational pamphlets that 
detail financial disclosure/home resale laws, fund websites 
that gather web resources for CIC homeowners/home buyers 
and produce written guidelines that detail: 

• The statutory rights and responsibilities of CIC 
associations’ Boards of Directors, 

• Avenues of conflict resolution, 

• The statutory rights and responsibilities of home 
owners, and  

• Rules for financial reporting. 

Although all CIC associations are statutorily required to file 
annual reports with the board and pay a registration fee, the 
community association liaison reports that a relatively small 
percentage (15-25%) of these associations have actually 
registered. As illustration of this compliance challenge, fewer 

than 4,000 CIC associations are registered with, and submit 
required annual reports to the board even though there are an 
estimated1 24,000 CIC associations within the 
Commonwealth. The liaison reports that low compliance rates 
are an artifact of education; many CIC associations are 
unaware of their statutory duties. Registration compliance is 
particularly an issue with CICs which were built before there 
was a statutory reporting and registration requirement; there 
is likely also a (smaller scale) problem getting newly formed 
CIC associations registered. Localities do not keep records of 
new CIC building permits. Localities would likely not even 
know whether buildings for which permits are issued are 
destined to be part of a community that will have a statutory 
registration requirement.  

In order to fund more education for current registrants and to 
attempt to identify and educate CIC associations that are not 
registered but should be, the board proposes to create a new, 
tiered, fee schedule (see table). Proposed fees will be slightly 
higher (in each tier) the first time a CIC association registers 
than when that association renews their registration. 

Number of Lots Initial 
Application Fee 

Annual Renewal 
Fee 

1-50 $45 $30 

51-100 $65 $50 

101-200 $100 $80 

201-500 $135 $115 

501-1000 $145 $130 

1001-5000 $165 $150 

>5000 $180 $170 

The board proposes a graduated fee structure because larger 
associations use proportionally more fund resources.  Larger 
associations will, for instance, obtain and distribute more 
pamphlets than will smaller associations.  Although this 
proposed fee schedule imposes fees that will be as much as 
seven times greater than current fees, per lot fees for all but 
the smallest of CIC communities are extremely small (per lot 
fees in the second fee tier would not exceed $1.28; per lot 
fees in the seventh tier would be less than one cent per year). 
The cost per lot in the lowest tier will depend on how close to 
the upper bounds of the tier is the number of lots.  The greater 
the number of lots, the smaller the cost per lot will be. The 
number of currently registered CIC associations that fall into 
each fee tier is: 

Number of Lots Number of Registered 

                                                           
1 Common Interest Community Management information Fund monies were used to 
fund research by Old Dominion University (ODU) which sought to identify common 
interest community issues.  



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 25, 2007 

3612 

Entities 

1-50 1557 

51-100 875 

101-200 750 

201-500 465 

501-1000 115 

1001-5000 80 

>5000 7 

The board also has 120 CIC associations registered for which 
they have no lot number information. Homeowners may 
benefit from these fee increases if the education efforts that 
they fund lead to more efficient management practices on the 
part of CIC Boards of Directors and professional managers or 
if funded activities can bring more CIC association into 
compliance with the Code of Virginia. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  Homeowners that live in 
common interest communities and CIC associations will be 
affected by this proposed regulation. Currently, around 4000 
CIC associations are registered with the board.  

Localities Particularly Affected.  All localities in the 
Commonwealth will be affected by this proposed regulation. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  Proposed fee increases 
may, in part be used to fund extra staff to support the 
educational efforts of the community association liaison.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  Proposed 
fee increases will be, in most cases, extremely minimal for 
each home owner and are unlikely to affect the use and value 
of homeowners’ property in any appreciable way.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  This proposed 
regulation will not affect any small businesses in the 
Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. 

This proposed regulation will not affect any small businesses 
in the Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency concurs 
with the Department of Planning and Budget’s economic 
impact analysis of the proposed amendments to the Real 
Estate Board Common Interest Community Management 
Information Fund Regulations. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments increase fees that common 
interest communities (property owners’ associations, real 
estate cooperative associations and condominium 
associations) pay into the Common Interest Community 
Management Fund and institute a seven-tier graduated fee 
structure so that common interest communities with greater 
numbers of lots will proportionately pay higher fees. 

18 VAC 135-60-60. Filing Registration fee. 

The filing fee for each annual report shall be $25.  

The following fee schedule is based upon the size of each 
residential common interest community.  The application fee 
is different than the annual renewal fee.  All fees are 
nonrefundable. 

Number of 
Lots/Units 

Application Fee Renewal Fee 

1 - 50 $45 $30 

51 - 100 $65 $50 

101 - 200 $100 $80 

201 - 500 $135 $115 

501 - 1000 $145 $130 

1001 - 5000 $165 $150 

5001+ $180 $170 

Registration certificates are renewable the month following 
the association’s annual meeting. 
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NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18 VAC 135-60, 
Common Interest Community Management Information Fund 
Regulations, are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below.  The forms are available for public 
inspection at the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 3600 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

Real Estate Board Community Association Annual Report 
Registration Application, POAANRPT (4/29/02) 
ASSOCANRPT (4/06). 

CIC Annual Renewal report, CICANRENRPT (12/06). 
VA.R. Doc. No. R06-230; Filed June 4, 2007, 12:40 p.m. 

 



GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

Volume 23, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 25, 2007 

3614 

GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 

Administrative Letter 2007-06 

To: All Insurers and Other Interested Parties 

Re: Legislation Enacted by the 2007 Virginia General 
Assembly 

We have attached for your reference summaries of certain 
statutes enacted or amended and re-enacted during the 2007 
Session of the Virginia General Assembly.  The effective date 
of these statutes is July 1, 2007, except as otherwise indicated 
in this letter.  Each organization to which this letter is being 
sent should review the summaries carefully and see that 
notice of these laws is directed to the proper persons, 
including appointed representatives, to ensure that appropriate 
action is taken to effect compliance with these new legal 
requirements.  Copies of individual bills may be obtained at 
http://legis.state.va.us/.  You may enter the bill number (not 
the chapter number) on the Virginia General Assembly Home 
Page, and you will be linked to the Legislative Information 
System.  You may also link from the Legislative Information 
System to any existing section of the Code of Virginia.  All 
statutory references made in the letter are to Title 38.2 
(Insurance) of the Code of Virginia unless otherwise noted. 

Please note that this document is a summary of legislation.  It 
is neither a legal review and interpretation nor a full 
description of the legislative amendments affecting insurance-
related laws during the 2007 Session.  Each organization is 
responsible for legal review of the statutes pertinent to its 
operations. 

AGENT REGULATION 

Chapter 449 (House Bill 1957) 

The bill contains amendments to § 38.2-1839 in the Insurance 
Agents chapter with regard to insurance consultants and at 
what point the insurance consultant must enter into  a written 
contract with his client in order to act as a consultant.  As the 
result of the bill, a licensed insurance consultant who does not 
sell, solicit or negotiate insurance as part of his services must 
enter into a written contract with a client prior to providing 
any service as a consultant.  A licensed insurance consultant 
who sells, solicits or negotiates insurance as part of his 
services must enter into a written contract with a client prior 
to the client purchasing insurance. 

Chapter 621 (House Bill 1953) 

The bill amends §§ 6.1-5, 54.1-2820, and 54.1-2822 of the 
Code of Virginia dealing with funeral services to permit 
incorporated associations authorized to sell burial association 
group life insurance certificates to serve as trustees of trusts 
established to fund preneed funeral contracts.   The bill also 
clarifies the method of calculation by which adjustments to 

the face value of a life insurance or annuity contract shall be 
made when used to fund a preneed contract. 

Chapter 703 (House Bill 3016) 

The bill repeals Section B of § 38.2-1825 that directs the 
automatic termination of an insurance agent’s license if the 
agent has failed to have at least one active appointment to 
represent an insurer for a period of 183 days from the date the 
agent’s license was issued. 

Chapter 898 (Senate Bill 745) 

The bill amends § 6.1-2.21 (Virginia Consumer Real Estate 
Settlement Protection Act) to prohibit any person convicted 
of a felony from acting as a settlement agent unless the 
person’s civil rights have been restored by the Governor or 
the person has been granted a writ of actual innocence.  A 
person who has been convicted of a felony involving fraud, 
deceit or misrepresentation is also prohibited from working 
for settlement agents in an administrative or clerical capacity 
involving the receipt or disbursement of funds from real 
estate settlements in Virginia and settlement agents may not 
employ such persons. 

PROPERTY AND CASUALTY BILLS 

Chapter 496 (House Bill 2518) 

The bill amends § 46.2-316 of the Motor Vehicle Code to 
require persons who have been convicted of certain offenses, 
such as a DUI, to file proof of financial responsibility with 
double the minimum limits of liability required by § 46.2-
472. Consequently, an insurance company filing proof of 
financial responsibility on behalf of such persons will have to 
show that the person is insured under a motor vehicle liability 
insurance policy with limits of at least 50/100/40. 

NOTE:  Since neither § 46.2-472 nor § 38.2-2206 were 
amended, policyholders who are subject to this new 
requirement are not required to carry uninsured motorists 
limits equal to double the minimum limits of liability, and 
such policyholders may reject the higher UM limits. 

This law is applicable to policies issued or renewed on or 
after January 1, 2008. Any insurance company that does not 
have limits of at least 50/100/40 on file with the Bureau must 
make the appropriate filing prior to the application of the new 
law. 

Chapter 762 (House Bill 3055) 

The bill amends § 38.2-111 in the General Provisions chapter 
to add language to the definition of miscellaneous property 
and casualty insurance.  The bill will allow inclusion of 
provisions obligating the insurer to pay medical, hospital, 
surgical, funeral expenses, and death and dismemberment 
benefits, arising out of the death, dismemberment, sickness, 
or injury if caused by or incidentally caused by a cause of loss 
insured under a policy of miscellaneous casualty insurance.  



General Notices/Errata 

Volume 23, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 25, 2007 

3615 

Language has also been added to the definition of burglary 
and theft in § 38.2-113 to state that any policy of burglary and 
theft insurance may include provisions obligating the insurer 
to pay medical, hospital, surgical, funeral expenses, and death 
and dismemberment benefits, arising out of the death, 
dismemberment, sickness, or injury if caused by or 
incidentally caused by a cause of loss insured under a policy 
insuring burglary or theft.  

LIFE AND HEALTH BILLS 

Chapter 186 (House Bill 2001) 

The bill amends § 38.2-301 in the Provisions Relating to 
Insurance Policies chapter, to clarify provisions relating to 
insurable interest and when a trustee has an insurable interest 
in a life insurance policy.  In the case of a trustee, the lawful 
and substantial economic interest required in subdivision 2 of 
§ 38.2-301 shall be deemed to exist whether the life insurance 
policy is owned by a trustee before, on or after July 1, 2005.  
A second enactment clause exempts certain policies or 
contracts from the provisions of the bill in limited cases 
involving life insurance policies issued on the lives of donors 
to specific charitable organizations.  Refer to the statute for 
details. 

Chapter 346 (House Bill 3137) 

The bill amends and reenacts § 38.2-5902 in the Adverse 
Utilization Review Decisions chapter relating to expedited 
appeals of final adverse decisions regarding health care 
coverage.  The bill requires that for a patient whose condition 
would be terminal without the treatment being appealed, the 
Commissioner of Insurance or his designee shall issue a final 
ruling affirming, modifying, or reversing the final adverse 
decision no later than one business day following the receipt 
of the recommendation.  Failure by the utilization review 
entity to comply with the written ruling of the Commissioner 
or his designee within three days of an expedited ruling shall 
also be deemed a knowing and willful violation of the 
section. 

Chapter 428 (House Bill 1622) 

The bill amends § 38.2-3525 in the Accident and Sickness 
Insurance Policies chapter to provide that if a policy provides 
coverage to a dependent child under the age of 25 who is 
enrolled as a full-time student, and the child is unable to 
continue school as a full-time student because of a medical 
condition, coverage must continue for the child (i) for not 
more than 12 months from the time the child ceases to be a 
full-time student; or (ii) until the child turns 25; whichever 
comes first.  The child’s treating physician must certify that 
the child’s absence is medically necessary.  The child’s status 
as a full-time student is to be determined by the criteria of the 
institution where the child is enrolled. 

FINANCIAL REGULATION BILLS 

Chapter 157 (Senate Bill 1113) 

The bill amends §§ 38.2-4811 and 38.2-4812 in the Surplus 
Lines Insurance Law chapter and § 38.2-800 in the Service of 
Process chapter.  Amendments clarify that an alien insurer 
cannot be approved as a surplus lines carrier unless it 
maintains at least $2.5 million in an irrevocable trust fund, in 
addition to meeting applicable capital and surplus 
requirements.  Amendments also specify that an unlicensed 
insurer approved by the Commission to issue surplus lines 
coverage shall provide to the Commission a current annual 
statement certified by the insurer by March 1 unless the 
insurer's state of domicile or entry establishes a later date, but 
such later date shall not be later than August 31. Amendments 
also clarify the service of process requirements for surplus 
lines carriers. 

Chapter 360 (Senate Bill 1317) 

The bill amends §§ 38.2-5501 and 38.2-5503 in the Risk-
Based Capital Act chapter to add and correct language 
regarding the Negative Trend Test and the Trend Test 
Calculation in accordance with the RBC Instructions for Life 
and Health insurers.  The bill includes a new provision adding 
the Trend Test Calculation for property and casualty insurers 
as a “Company Action Level Event,” and corrects a 
subsection reference in the “Adjusted RBC Report” 
definition. 

Chapter 482 (House Bill 2351) 

The bill amends § 38.2-1704 in the Virginia Life, Accident 
and Sickness Insurance Guaranty Association chapter to add 
to the contractual obligations for which the Guaranty 
Association may become liable, which is a maximum of 
$250,000 in the present value of annuity benefits for IRAs, 
Section 457 Plans, defined contribution plans, or Keogh 
Plans.  The bill also increases the maximum aggregate 
amount for which the Guaranty Association may become 
liable with respect to any one individual from $300,000 to 
$350,000. 

Chapter 488 (House Bill 2394) 

The bill amends §§ 38.2-1306.1 and 38.2-1320.5 from the 
Reports, Reserves and Examinations chapter and § 38.2-4319.  
The amendments to these confidentiality provisions require 
that financial analysis files and working papers of Bureau of 
Insurance staff, which may include proprietary information 
concerning insurance companies or health maintenance 
organizations and their transactions, be afforded the same 
confidential treatment that the Code of Virginia provides for 
financial examination documents.  

Chapter 579 (Senate Bill 1303) 

The bill adds Article 2.1 to the Licensing and Organizing of 
Insurers chapter and amends § 38.2-4319 to make the 
provisions applicable to health maintenance organizations 
(HMO).  The bill provides for the conversion of a Virginia-
domiciled HMO to a Virginia-domiciled insurer licensed to 
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write accident and sickness insurance.  The bill establishes a 
procedure by which a Virginia domiciled health maintenance 
organization may convert, without reincorporating, to an 
accident and sickness insurer. 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Technical Advisory Committee Meeting for the Total 
Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Study to Restore 

Water Quality in the Tidal Potomac River 

Announcement of the sixth Technical Advisory Committee 
Meeting for the total maximum daily load (TMDL) study to 
restore water quality in the tidal Potomac River, including 
selected tributaries to the tidal Potomac River in Maryland, 
Washington, D.C. and Virginia, which are impaired by the 
pollutant polychlorinated biphenyl (PCB). 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality, Washington D.C. Department of the Environment, 
Maryland Department of the Environment, and Interstate 
Commission for the Potomac River Basin announce the sixth 
Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) meeting to present the 
draft Potomac PCB TMDL Report and allocation scenarios to 
members of the TAC and other interested stakeholders. 

Technical Advisory Committee Meeting:  Northern Regional 
Office, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, 13901 
Crown Court, Conference Rooms 1 and 2, Woodbridge, 
Virginia 22193, Thursday, July 12, 2007, from 1 p.m. to 3 
p.m. 

Meeting description: This is the sixth Technical Advisory 
Committee meeting for the Potomac PCB Project.  The 
TMDL study addresses elevated levels of polychlorinated 
biphenyls (PCBs) in the Potomac River estuary.  The purpose 
of this meeting will be to present the draft TMDL allocation 
scenarios and report to the TAC. 

Description of study: Virginia, Maryland, and Washington 
D.C. agencies are working to understand the nature of the 
PCB contamination in the tidal waters of the Potomac River. 
This study aims to identify the sources of PCBs into the 
estuary, understand the fate and transport of the pollutants, 
and determine the reductions in PCB loadings needed to 
achieve compliance with water quality standards and fish 
consumption goals. These load reductions are known as total 
maximum daily loads, or TMDLs. A TMDL is the total 
amount of a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet 
water quality targets. To restore water quality, PCB levels 
have to be reduced to the TMDL amount. 

How to comment:  The public comment period for the draft 
TMDL report will extend from July 11, 2007, to August 10, 
2007.  DEQ accepts written comments by email, fax, or 
postal mail. Written comments should include the name, 
address, and telephone number of the person commenting and 

be received by DEQ during the comment period. Please send 
all comments to the contact listed below. 

Contact for additional information:  Mark Richards, Virginia 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4392, FAX (804) 
698-4116, or email marichards@deq.virginia.gov. 

Study to Restore Water Quality in the Tidal Potomac 
River 

Announcement of a total maximum daily load (TMDL) study 
to restore water quality in the tidal Potomac River, including 
selected tributaries to the tidal Potomac River in Maryland, 
Washington, D.C. and Virginia, that are impaired by the 
pollutant polychlorinated byphenyl (PCBs). 

Public meetings: (Washington D.C. Meeting) Metropolitan 
Washington Council of Governments, 777 North Capitol 
Street, NE, Washington, DC 20002 on July 11, 2007, from 7 
p.m. to 9 p.m.  (Virginia Meeting)  Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 
Virginia 22193 on July 12, 2007, from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m.  
(Maryland Meeting)  Charles County Public Library, 
2 Garrett Ave, La Plata, MD, 20646 on July 17, 2007, from 
6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality, Washington D.C. Department of the Environment, 
Maryland Department of the Environment, and Interstate 
Commission for the Potomac River Basin announce the 
second series of public meetings for the Tidal Potomac PCB 
TDML Project. 

Meeting description:  This series of public meetings is the 
second round of meetings for the Potomac PCB TMDL 
project. The TMDL study addresses elevated levels of 
polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) in the Potomac River 
estuary.  The purpose of these public meetings is to present 
the draft Potomac PCB TMDL Report and allocation 
scenarios to the general public, and provide a chance for 
public comment. 

Description of study: Virginia, Maryland, and Washington 
D.C. agencies are working to understand the nature of the 
PCB contamination in the tidal waters of the Potomac River.  
This study aims to identify sources of PCBs in the estuary, 
understand the fate and transport of the pollutants, and 
determine the reductions in PCB loadings needed to achieve 
compliance with water quality targets. 

How a decision is made:  The development of a TMDL 
includes a public comment period, including public meetings.  
After public comments have been considered and addressed, 
the TMDL report will be submitted to the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency for review and approval.  This TMDL is 
scheduled to be submitted to the U.S. EPA on September 1, 
2007. 
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How to comment:  DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax or postal mail.  Written comments should include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, July 11, 2007, to August 10, 2007.  Written and oral 
comments will also be accepted at the public meetings 
announced in this notice. 

Contact for additional information:  Mark Richards, Virginia 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4392, email 
marichards@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (804) 698-4116; Monir 
Chowdhury, District of Columbia Department of the 
Environment, 51 N Street, NE, Washington, DC 20002, 
telephone (202) 727-9367, email monir.chowdhury@dc.gov 
or Anna Soehl, Maryland Department of the Environment, 
1800 Washington Blvd., Suite 540, Baltimore, MD 21230, 
telephone (410) 537.3509, email asoehl@mde.state.md.us. 

2008 Water Quality Assessment Guidance Manual 
 
 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 
will release the final 2008 Water Quality Assessment 
Guidance Manual on June 25, 2007. 

The DEQ Assessment Guidance contains the assessment 
procedures and methods to be used for the development of 
Virginia’s 2008 § 305(b)/ § 303(d) Integrated (i.e. combined 
Water Quality Assessment and Impaired Waters) Report.  
That report is due to the U. S. Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) by April 1, 2008. The DEQ Assessment 
Guidance seeks to address all key elements of the EPA 2006 
Assessment Guidance, 2008 Assessment Guidance updates, 
and changes to the methods of assessing Chesapeake Bay 
Water Quality Standards, consistent with “The Final Revised 
Draft 3/16/07 Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Dissolved 
Oxygen, Water Clarity, and Chlorophyll a for the Chesapeake 
Bay and Its Tidal Tributaries 2007 Addendum” by the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency. 

Section 62.1-44.19:5 C of the Code of Virginia requires DEQ 
to develop and publish the procedures used for defining and 
determining impaired waters and provide for public comment 
on the procedures.  A draft version of this guidance was 
released for public review and comment on April 2, 2007.  
The comment period closed on May 4.  Comments were 
received from the United States Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) and the public. In response to public 
comments, citizen monitoring organizations can request that 
their data not be used for the assessment. 

A copy of the final revised DEQ Assessment Guidance is 
available to download from the DEQ Water Quality 
Assessment webpage at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/wqa/.  A 
hard copy can also be requested from Harry Augustine, DEQ 
Water Quality Assessment Coordinator, using his contact 
information below.  

Collective responses to comments received during the earlier 
public comment period are also available for download at the 
URL above. This document has also been mailed to each 
person or organization that submitted comments. 

Contact:  Harry Augustine, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 698-4037, FAX (804) 698-4116, or via email at 
hhaugustine@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 
The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on June 4, 2007.  The orders may be viewed at 
the State Lottery Department, 900 E. Main Street, Richmond, 
Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 910 
Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

Final Rules for Game Operation: 

Director's Order Number Twenty-One (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 784; "$21,000 Blackjack 
Tripler" (effective 5/29/07) 

Director's Order Number Twenty-Two (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 333; "Bingo" (effective 
5/29/07) 

Director's Order Number Twenty-Three (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 789; "Game Card Series" 
(effective 5/29/07) 

Director's Order Number Twenty-Four (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 786; "One Word Cashword" 
(effective 5/29/07) 

Director's Order Number Twenty-Seven (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 794; "Pink Panther" 
(effective 5/29/07) 

Director's Order Number Twenty-Eight (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 795; "Blackjack" (effective 
5/29/07) 

Director's Order Number Twenty-Nine (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 796; "Ruby Red 7's" 
(effective 5/29/07) 
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DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

State Plan for Medical Assistance 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 
amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 
provide for changes to the Amount, Duration and Scope of 
Medical and Remedial Services and the Methods and 
Standards for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of 
Care.  The changes contained in this public notice are 
occurring in response to language in the 2007 Appropriation 
Act.  The Appropriation Act directs DMAS to modify 
reimbursement for pediatric hearing aids to reimburse the 
actual cost of the device within the limits set by the 
department, plus provides a fixed rate dispensing fee and 
fitting fee.  The above changes would be effective January 1, 
2008.  This change is being made pursuant to the 
department’s authority under Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act.  This change is expected to increase expenditures 
$68,000 in state funds and $68,000 in federal funds per year. 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 
447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 
42 USC § 1396a(a)(13).  A copy of this notice is available for 
public review from Mary M. Carpenter, Policy Analyst, 
Maternal and Child Health Division, Department of Medical 
Assistance Services, 600 Broad Street, Suite 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, and this notice is available for public 
review on the Regulatory Town Hall (www.townhall.com).  
Comments or inquiries may be submitted, in writing, within 
30 days of this notice publication to Ms. Carpenter and such 
comments are available for review at the same address. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD  

Bacteria and Benthic Total Maximum Daily Loads 
for Callahan Creek 

Notice is hereby given that the State Water Control Board 
seeks comment on proposed modifications to the bacteria and 
benthic total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) developed for 
Callahan Creek in Wise County. 

Total maximum daily loads of E. coli, total dissolved solids 
(TDS), and sediment were developed to address bacterial and 
benthic impairments in Callahan Creek.  These TMDLs were 
approved by the Environmental Protection Agency on June 
22, 2006, and can be found at the following website:  
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (VDEQ) 
seeks written comments from interested persons on the minor 
modification of this TMDL.  A minor increase in the 
wasteload allocation is requested as part of mining permit 
applications submitted by the coal industry.  DEQ proposes to 
modify the wasteload allocation and TMDL to accommodate 

this minor 69.3 Mg/yr increase.  The above revisions would 
result in an insignificant increase in the total allocated 
sediment load for the sediment TMDL. The revisions would 
result in a 1.0% increase in the Callahan Cr. sediment TMDL.  
To review the proposed revisions to the wasteload allocation 
tables and TMDL equation tables, please contact Shelley 
Williams using the contact information below. 

The public comment period for these modifications will end 
on July 25, 2007.  Questions or information requests should 
be addressed to Shelley Williams.  Written comments should 
include the name, address, and telephone number of the 
person submitting the comments and should be sent to 
Shelley Williams, Department of Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 1688, Abingdon, VA 24212-1688, telephone (276) 
676- 4845 or email sdwilliams@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Elimination of the Calendar of Events Section 

Effective July 1, 2007, the Calendar of Events section will no 
longer be published in the Virginia Register of Regulations.  
Chapter 300 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly amended the 
Administrative Process Act by eliminating the requirement 
that all state agency meeting notices be published in the 
Virginia Register.  In lieu of publication in the Virginia 
Register, the Virginia Freedom of Information Act was 
amended to require that agencies post meeting notices on the 
agency's website and on the Commonwealth Calendar 
maintained by the Virginia Information Technologies 
Agency.  To access the Commonwealth Calendar, please visit 
the Commonwealth of Virginia's homepage at 
www.virginia.gov and click on the calendar on the right side 
of the screen.  

Notice to State Agencies 

Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 

Forms for Filing Material for Publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations 

All agencies are required to use the appropriate forms when 
furnishing material for publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. The forms may be obtained from: Virginia Code 
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3591. 

Internet: Forms and other Virginia Register resources may 
be printed or downloaded from the Virginia Register web 
page: http://register.state.va.us. 

FORMS: 

NOTICE of INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION-RR01 
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NOTICE of COMMENT PERIOD-RR02 
PROPOSED (Transmittal Sheet)-RR03 
FINAL (Transmittal Sheet)-RR04 
EMERGENCY (Transmittal Sheet)-RR05 
NOTICE of MEETING-RR06 
AGENCY RESPONSE TO LEGISLATIVE 
OBJECTIONS-RR08 
RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR RULEMAKING-RR13 
FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING ACTION-RR14 

ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
Title of Regulation:  24 VAC 30-155. Traffic Impact 
Analysis Regulations. 

Publication:  23:18 VA.R. 2915-2930 April 16, 2007. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2915, 24 VAC 30-155-10, definition of "Link," line 4, 
remove "but" 

Page 2916, 24 VAC 30-155-30 A, line 13, should read 
[ component plan ] 

Page 2917, 24 VAC 30-155-30 C, line 9, should read [ the 
VDOT's ] receipt 

Page 2917, 24 VAC 30-155-40 A 1, line 4, after "criteria" 
change the period to a colon 

Page 2917, 24 VAC 30-155-40 A 1 a, last sentence, add 
[ , ] after highways 

Page 2918, 24 VAC 30-155-50 A 1 a, last sentence, add 
[ , ] after highways 

Page 2920, 24 VAC 30-155-60 A, last paragraph, line 2, 
should read [ the department VDOT ] 

Page 2926, 24 VAC 30-155-60 D 8, after subdivision f, line 
7, after "vehicles ," insert [ intersection treatments, ] 

Page 2928, 24 VAC 30-155-60 D 11, line 2, should read 
[ preformed performed ] 

Page 2928, 24 VAC 30-155-80 B 2, line 7, after "hour" 
insert [ of the generator ] 

VA.R. Doc. No R06-343 
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NOTICE 

Only those meetings which are filed with the Registrar of Regulations by the filing deadline noted at the beginning of this 
publication are listed. Since some meetings are called on short notice, please be aware that this listing of meetings may be 
incomplete. Also, all meetings are subject to cancellation and the Virginia Register deadline may preclude a notice of such 
cancellation. If you are unable to find a meeting notice for an organization in which you are interested, please check the 
Commonwealth Calendar at www.virginia.gov or contact the organization directly. 

For additional information on open meetings and public hearings held by the standing committees of the legislature during 
the interim, please call Legislative Information at (804) 698-1500 or Senate Information and Constituent Services at (804) 
698-7410 or (804) 698-7419/TTY , or visit the General Assembly website's Legislative Information System 
(http://leg1.state.va.us/lis.htm) and select "Meetings." 
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CALENDAR OF EVENTS 

Effective July 1, 2007, the Calendar of Events section will no 
longer be published in the Virginia Register of Regulations.  
Chapter 300 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly amended the 
Administrative Process Act by eliminating the requirement 
that all state agency meeting notices be published in the 
Virginia Register.  In lieu of publication in the Virginia 
Register, the Virginia Freedom of Information Act was 
amended to require that agencies post meeting notices on the 
agency's website and on the Commonwealth Calendar 
maintained by the Virginia Information Technologies 
Agency.  To access the Commonwealth Calendar, please visit 
Commonwealth of Virginia's homepage at www.virginia.gov 
and click on the calendar on the right side of the screen.  

EXECUTIVE 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

June 27, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Richmond Marriott West, 4240 Dominion Boulevard, 
Franklin Room, Glen Allen, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the 
deaf provided upon request) 

A general business meeting to include consideration of 
regulatory issues as may be presented on the agenda. A 
portion of the board's business may be discussed in closed 
session. Public comment will be heard at the beginning of 
the meeting. Persons desiring to participate in the meeting 
and requiring special accommodations or interpreter 
services should contact the department at least 10 days 
prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements can be 
made. The department fully complies with the Americans 
with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  Nancy Taylor Feldman, Executive Director, Board 
of Accountancy, 3600 West Broad St., Suite 378, Richmond,  

 
VA 23230-4923, telephone (804) 367-8505, FAX (804) 367-
2174, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email boa@boa.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND 
CONSUMER SERVICES 

† August 23, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
102 Governor Street, Room 220, Richmond, Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services intends to adopt regulations entitled 2 
VAC 5-206, Regulation for Scrapie Eradication. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to promulgate a new 
regulation for the eradication of scrapie in Virginia goats 
and sheep. The federal regulation that became effective in 
September 2001 restricts interstate movement of sheep and 
goats from states that have not initiated intrastate 
regulatory action concerning scrapie eradication. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.1-724, 3.1-726 and 3.1-730 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 24, 2007. 

Contact: David Cardin, D.V.M., Deputy State Veterinarian, 
Division of Animal and Food Industry Services, P.O. Box 
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 692-0601, FAX 
(804) 371-2380 or email david.cardin@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Virginia Marine Products Board 
July 11, 2007 - 6 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Ann's Family Dining, Route 17, Glenns, Virginia.  
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A meeting to (i) read and approve minutes of the previous 
board meeting; and (ii) hear reports on finance, trade 
shows, industry tours, and cooperative program with the 
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services. The board will entertain public comment at the 
conclusion of all other business for a period not to exceed 
30 minutes. Any person who needs any accommodation in 
order to participate at the meeting should contact Shirley 
Estes at least five days before the meeting date so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. 

Contact:  Shirley Estes, Executive Director, Virginia Marine 
Products Board, 554 Denbigh Blvd., Suite B, Newport News, 
VA 23608, telephone (757) 874-3474, FAX (757) 886-0671, 
email shirley.estes@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Virginia Peanut Board 

July 17, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Tidewater Agriculture Research and Extension Center, 6321 
Holland Road, Suffolk, Virginia.  

A meeting to (i) hear and approve minutes of the last 
meeting held on Thursday, March 29, 2007; (ii) review the 
board's financial statement; and (iii) hear the chairman's 
report, including information on the board's program area 
accomplishments and expenses. The board will entertain 
public comment at the conclusion of all other business for a 
period not to exceed 30 minutes. Any person who needs 
any accommodation in order to participate at the meeting 
should contact Thomas R. Cotton at least five days before 
the meeting date so that suitable arrangements can be 
made. 

Contact:  Thomas R. (Dell) Cotton, Jr., Program Director, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 1001 
Campbell Ave., P.O. Box 59, Franklin, VA 23851-0059, 
telephone (757) 569-0249, FAX (757) 562-0744. 

Virginia Small Grains Board 

July 18, 2007 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Sheraton Richmond West Hotel, 6624 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to (i) review FY 2006-07 project reports and 
receive and approve the 2007-08 project proposals; (ii) hear 
and approve minutes from the last board meeting and a 
current financial statement; and (iii) take action on any 
other new business that comes before the group. The board 
will entertain public comment at the conclusion of all other 
business for a period not to exceed 30 minutes. Any person 
who needs any accommodation in order to participate at the 
meeting should contact Philip T. Hickman at least five days 
before the meeting date so that suitable arrangements can 
be made. 

Contact:  Philip T. Hickman, Program Director, Department 
of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 Governor St., 3rd 
Floor, Room 316, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-6157, FAX (804) 371-7786, email 
phil.hickman@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

† July 25, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Virginia 
Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Conference Room #1, 
Woodbridge, Virginia.  

A public meeting to receive comments on the notice of 
intended regulatory action to amend (Rev.D06) the 
Regulations for the Control and Abatement of Air Pollution 
concerning certain consumer and commercial products 
(specifically, for emissions from consumer products and 
portable fuel container spillage) and to adopt a regulation 
concerning VOC emissions from adhesives and sealants. 

Contact:  Gary Graham, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 629 E. Main St., P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4103, FAX (804) 698-4510, 
email degraham@deq.virginia.gov. 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

July 2, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
July 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
August 6, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
August 20, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
September 5, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
September 10, 2007- 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 24, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage 
Road, Richmond, Virginia.  

An executive staff meeting to receive and discuss reports 
and activities from staff members and to discuss other 
matters as necessary. 

Contact:  W. Curtis Coleburn, III, Secretary to the Board, 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board, 2901 Hermitage Rd., 
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-4409, FAX (804) 
213-4411, (804) 213-4687/TTY , email 
curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

July 26, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Architects Section to conduct board 
business. A portion of the board's business may be 
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discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to participate 
in the meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpreter services should contact the department at least 
10 days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements 
can be made.  The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514, 
FAX (804) 367-2475 or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

NOTE: CHANGE IN MEETING DATE 

† August 8, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Professional Engineers Section to conduct 
board business. A portion of the board's business may be 
discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to participate 
in the meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpreter services should contact the department at least 
10 days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements 
can be made.  The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514, 
FAX (804) 367-2475 or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

August 14, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, 5th Floor, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Landscape Architects Section to conduct 
board business. A portion of the board's business may be 
discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to participate 
in the meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpreter services should contact the department at least 
10 days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements 
can be made.  The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514, 
FAX (804) 367-2475 or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

August 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Land Surveyors Section to conduct board 
business. A portion of the board's business may be 
discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to participate 

in the meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpreter services should contact the department at least 
10 days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements 
can be made.  The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514, 
FAX (804) 367-2475 or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

August 21, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Interior Designers Section to conduct 
board business. A portion of the board's business may be 
discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to participate 
in the meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpreter services should contact the department at least 
10 days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements 
can be made.  The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514, 
FAX (804) 367-2475 or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

† August 24, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board for Architects, Professional 
Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers 
and Landscape Architects intends to amend regulations 
entitled 18 VAC 10-20, Board for Architects, 
Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects Rules and 
Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
amend regulations to prohibit mail-order life experience 
degrees for engineer-in-training and professional engineer 
applicants. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201, 54.1-404 and 54.1-411 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514, 
FAX (804) 367-2475 or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

† September 13, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  
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A meeting to discuss board business. A portion of the 
board's business may be discussed in closed session. 
Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring 
special accommodations or interpreter services should 
contact the department at least 10 days prior to the meeting 
so that suitable arrangements can be made.  The department 
fully complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514, 
FAX (804) 367-2475 or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

ART AND ARCHITECTURAL REVIEW BOARD 
July 6, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
August 3, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
September 7, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Science Museum of Virginia, 2500 West Broad Street, Forum 
Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A monthly meeting to review projects submitted by state 
agencies. Art and Architectural Review Board submittal 
forms and submittal instructions can be downloaded by 
visiting the DGS Forms Center at www.dgs.virginia.gov. 
Request form #DGS-30-905 or submittal instructions 
#DGS-30-906. The deadline for submitting project 
datasheets and other required information is two weeks 
prior to the meeting date. 

Contact: Brian H. Ohlinger, Chairman, Art and Architectural 
Review Board, 700 W. Grace St., Suite 2200, Richmond, VA 
23284, telephone (804) 827-9647, FAX (804) 827-1288 or 
email bjohlinger@vcu.edu. 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

NOTE: CHANGE IN MEETING DATE 
August 22, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct board business. The meeting is open 
to the public; however, a portion of the board’s business 
may be discussed in closed session. Any person desiring to 
attend the meeting and requiring special accommodations 
or interpreter services should contact the board at least 10 
days prior to the meeting so suitable arrangements can be 
made. The board fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  David E. Dick, Executive Director, Virginia Board 
for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 3600 W. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8507, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

ASSISTIVE TECHNOLOGY LOAN FUND AUTHORITY 

† July 19, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
1602 Rolling Hills Drive, Suite 107, Richmond, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A quarterly business meeting of the Board of Directors. 

Contact:  Joey Wallace, Executive Director, Assistive 
Technology Loan Fund Authority, 1602 Rolling Hills Dr., 
Suite 107, Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 662-9997, FAX 
(804) 662-9533, toll-free (866) 835-5976, email 
joey.wallace@atlfa.org. 

AUCTIONEERS BOARD 

July 12, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct board business. The meeting is open 
to the public; however, a portion of the board’s business 
may be discussed in closed session. Any person desiring to 
attend the meeting and requiring special accommodations 
or interpreter services should contact the board at least 10 
days prior to the meeting so suitable arrangements can be 
made. The board fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  Marian H. Brooks, Regulatory Board 
Administrator, Auctioneers Board, 3600 W. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 
367-0795, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
auctioneers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

† July 12, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Auctioneers Board intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled 18 VAC 25-21, 
Rules and Regulations of the Virginia Auctioneers 
Board. The purpose of the proposed action is to perform a 
general review of the existing regulations to clarify the 
basic qualifications for license by examination and license 
by reciprocity, modify the examination application 
procedures, and to establish and modify the standards of 
practice and standards of conduct to identify requirements 
that affect the administration of, and compliance with, the 
board's regulations. The proposed changes will improve 
clarity that will enhance compliance by the board's 
licensees and thereby better protect the citizens of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia.  Other changes which may be 
necessary may also be considered. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-602 of the Code of Virginia. 
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Public comments may be submitted until August 24, 2007. 

Contact:  Marian H. Brooks, Regulatory Board 
Administrator, Auctioneers Board, 3600 W. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 
367-0795, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
auctioneers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

July 12, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, Alcoa Building, 6603 
West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A Special Conference Committee will convene an informal 
conference to inquire into allegations that may have 
violated certain laws and regulations governing the practice 
of audiology and speech language pathology. The 
committee will meet in open and closed sessions pursuant 
to the Code of Virginia. Public comment will not be 
received. 

Contact:  Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 
Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, Alcoa Building, 
6603 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-
1712, telephone (804) 662-9111, FAX (804) 662-9523, (804) 
662-7197/TTY , email lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

July 12, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

August 10, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Audiology and Speech-
Language Pathology intends to amend regulations entitled 
18 VAC 30-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to establish criteria for 
provisional licensure in audiology.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 26 (§ 54.1-
2600 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 10, 2007, to 
Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of Audiology and 
Speech-Language Pathology, Alcoa Building, 6603 West 
Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, 
telephone (804) 662-9111, FAX (804) 662-9523, (804) 662-
7197/TTY , email lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9918, FAX (804) 
662-9114 or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

August 10, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Audiology and Speech-
Language Pathology intends to amend regulations entitled 
18 VAC 30-10, Public Participation Guidelines. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to clarify and update 
certain provisions of the regulation pursuant to 
recommendations from a periodic review.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-2400 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Contact:  Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 
Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, Alcoa Building, 
6603 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-
1712, telephone (804) 662-9111, FAX (804) 662-9523, (804) 
662-7197/TTY , email lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

September 6, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 13, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to discuss general business matters including 
consideration of regulatory issues as may be presented on 
the agenda. The meeting is open to the public; however, a 
portion of the board’s business may be discussed in closed 
session. Public comment will be heard at the beginning of 
the meeting. Persons desiring to participate in the meeting 
and requiring special accommodations or interpreter 
services should contact the board at 662-9924 at least 10 
days prior to the meeting so suitable arrangements can be 
made. The board fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 
Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, Alcoa Building, 
6603 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-
1712, telephone (804) 662-9111, FAX (804) 662-9523, (804) 
662-7197/TTY , email lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

NOTE: CHANGE IN MEETING DATE 
July 30, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
August 6, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Canceled 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to discuss general business matters including 
consideration of regulatory issues as may be presented on 
the agenda. The meeting is open to the public; however, a 
portion of the board's business may be discussed in closed 
session. Public comment will be heard at the beginning of 
the meeting. Persons desiring to participate in the meeting 
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and requiring special accommodations or interpreter 
services should contact the department at least 10 days 
prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements can be 
made. The department fully complies with the Americans 
with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  William H. Ferguson, II, Executive Director, Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, 
VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-
6295, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR BRANCH PILOTS 

July 26, 2007 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Port Authority, 600 World Trade Center, Norfolk, 
Virginia.  

A meeting of the Examination Administrators to conduct 
board business. The meeting is open to the public; 
however, a portion of the board’s business may be 
discussed in closed session. All meetings are subject to 
cancellation. Any person desiring to attend the meeting and 
requiring special accommodations or interpreter services 
should contact the board at least 10 days prior to the 
meeting so suitable arrangements can be made. The board 
fully complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Branch Pilots, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 367-2475, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email branchpilots@dpor.virginia.gov. 

July 27, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Port Authority, 600 World Trade Center, Norfolk, 
Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct board business. The meeting is open 
to the public; however, a portion of the board’s business 
may be discussed in closed session. All meetings are 
subject to cancellation. Any person desiring to attend the 
meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpreter services should contact the board at least 10 
days prior to the meeting so suitable arrangements can be 
made. The board fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Branch Pilots, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 367-2475, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email branchpilots@dpor.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

† August 24, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board for Branch Pilots intends to 
amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 45-20, Board for 

Branch Pilots Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to amend subdivisions 4, 13, and 14 of 18 VAC 
45-20-40 to be consistent with the wording in subdivision 
11 and the wording in § 54.1-902 of the Code of Virginia. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-902 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Branch Pilots, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 367-2475, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email branchpilots@dpor.virginia.gov. 

CHESAPEAKE BAY LOCAL ASSISTANCE BOARD 

August 14, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 17th Floor 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia. 

A regular meeting of the Northern Area Review Committee 
to review local programs. 

Contact:  David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and Budget 
Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
203 Governor St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

August 14, 2007 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 17th Floor 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia. 

A regular meeting of the Southern Area Review Committee 
to review local programs. 

Contact:  David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and Budget 
Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 
Governor St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

† September 17, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Location to be announced. 

A regular meeting to review local programs. 

Contact:  David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and Budget 
Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 
Governor St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD FOR COMMUNITY COLLEGES 

July 18, 2007 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 19, 2007- 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 15th Floor, 
Room 315, Godwin-Hamel Board Room, Richmond, 
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

The Budget and Finance Committee and the Academic, 
Student Affairs and Workforce Development Committee 
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will meet at 1:30 p.m.  The Audit Committee will meet at 
3 p.m. and the Facilities Committee will meet with the 
Personnel Committee at 3:30 p.m. 

Contact:  Jeffrey J. Kraus, Assistant Vice Chancellor for 
Public Relations, State Board for Community Colleges, 101 
N. 14th St., 15th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 819-4961, FAX (804) 819-4768, (804) 371-8504/TTY 

 

July 19, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 15th Floor, 
Room 315, Godwin-Hamel Board Room, Richmond, 
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting of the full board. Public comment may be 
received upon written notification at least five working 
days prior to the meeting. 

Contact:  D. Susan Hayden, Director of Public Affairs, State 
Board for Community Colleges, 101 N. 14th St., 15th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 819-4961, FAX (804) 
819-4768, (804) 371-8504/TTY  

COMPENSATION BOARD 
July 18, 2007 - Noon -- Open Meeting 
Compensation Board, 102 Governor Street, Lower Level, 
Room LL22, Richmond, Virginia.  

A monthly board meeting. 

Contact:  Cindy Waddell, Compensation Board, P.O. Box 
710, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 225-3308, FAX 
(804) 371-0235, email cindy.waddell@scb.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

July 19, 2007 - Noon -- Open Meeting 
August 16, 2007 - Noon -- Open Meeting 
† September 20, 2007 - Noon -- Open Meeting 
Richmond City Hall, 900 East Broad Street, 5th Floor, 
Planning Commission Conference Room, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

A regular meeting of the Falls of the James Scenic River 
Advisory Committee to discuss river issues. 

Contact:  David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and Budget 
Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 
Governor St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board 

July 19, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Association of Electric Cooperatives, 4201 Dominion 
Boulevard, Richmond, Virginia. 

† July 20, 2007- 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Natural Resources Conservation Service, 1606 Santa Rosa 
Road, Richmond, Virginia. 

† September 20, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Location to be announced. 

A regular board meeting. 

Contact:  David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and Budget 
Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 
Governor St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 
June 26, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† June 28, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
July 10, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† July 17, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

An informal fact-finding conference. 

Contact:  Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 
Contractors, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 367-2474, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

July 24, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
September 11, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulations, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to address policy and procedural issues and 
review and render decisions on matured complaints against 
licensees. The meeting is open to the public; however, a 
portion of the board’s business may be discussed in closed 
session. Any person desiring to attend the meeting and 
requiring special accommodations or interpreter services 
should contact the board at least 10 days prior to the 
meeting so suitable arrangements can be made. The board 
fully complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 
Contractors, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 367-2474, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

August 28, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Canceled 
September 10, 2007 - 4 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A quarterly meeting of the Board for Contractors 
Committee. The meeting starts at the conclusion of the 
Board for Contractors regular meeting. 



Calendar of Events 

Volume 23, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 25, 2007 

3627 

Contact:  Kevin Hoeft, Regulatory Boards Administrator, 
Board for Contractors, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 
23230, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 367-2474, 
(804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF CORRECTIONS 

July 17, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 18, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Drive, 3rd Floor 
Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Liaison Committee to discuss correctional 
matters of interest to the board. 

Contact: Barbara Woodhouse, Administrative Staff 
Assistant, Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Dr., 
Richmond, VA 23225, telephone (804) 674-3124, FAX (804) 
674-3236, email barbara.woodhouse@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

July 17, 2007 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 18, 2007 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Drive, 3rd Floor 
Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Correctional Services/Policy and 
Regulations Committee to discuss correctional services and 
policy/regulation matters to be considered by the board. 

Contact: Barbara Woodhouse, Administrative Staff 
Assistant, Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Dr., 
Richmond, VA 23225, telephone (804) 674-3124, FAX (804) 
674-3236, email barbara.woodhouse@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

July 18, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
NOTE: CHANGE IN MEETING LOCATION 
Green Rock Correctional Center, 475 Green Rock Lane, 
Chatham, Virginia. 

† September 19, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Drive, 3rd Floor, 
Room 3054, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Administration Committee to discuss 
administrative matters to be considered by the board.  

Contact: Barbara Woodhouse, Administrative Staff 
Assistant, Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Dr., 
Richmond, VA 23225, telephone (804) 674-3124, FAX (804) 
674-3236, email barbara.woodhouse@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

July 18, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
NOTE: CHANGE IN MEETING LOCATION 
Green Rock Correctional Center, 475 Green Rock Lane, 
Chatham, Virginia. 

† September 19, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 

Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Drive, 3rd Floor 
Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the full board to review and discuss 
all matters considered by board committees that require 
presentation to and action by the board. 

Contact: Barbara Woodhouse, Administrative Staff 
Assistant, Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Dr., 
Richmond, VA 23225, telephone (804) 674-3124, FAX (804) 
674-3236, email barbara.woodhouse@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 
August 9, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
Board Room, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Counseling intends to 
amend regulations entitled: 

18 VAC 115-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Professional Counseling.  

18 VAC 115-50, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Marriage and Family Theraptists. 

18 VAC 115-60. Regulations Governing the Licensure 
of Substance Abuse Professionals. 

The purpose of the proposed action is to update and 
provide for consistency of regulations relating to 
supervision, residency, and endorsement requirements for 
the three professions licensed by this board. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and Chapter 35 (§54.1-
3500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 10, 2007, to 
Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, Board of Counseling, 
6603 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-
1712.  

Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9918, FAX (804) 
662-9114 or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

August 10, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Counseling intends to 
amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 115-10, Public 
Participation Guidelines. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to clarify and update the public participation 
guidelines.  
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Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-2400 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, Board of 
Counseling, 6603 West Broad Street, 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9133, FAX (804) 662-9943, or 
email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov.  

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 
September 13, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House 
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.  

July 27, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until this 
date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services Board 
intends to amend regulations entitled 6 VAC 20-80, Rules 
Relating to Certification of Criminal Justice 
Instructors. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
enhance the effectiveness of criminal justice instructors. 

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-10 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Judith Kirkendall, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Criminal Justice Services, 202 N. 9th St., 10th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-8003, 
FAX (804) 786-0410 or email 
judith.kirkendall@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

† September 13, 2007 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House 
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.  

A general business meeting. 

Contact:  Leon D. Baker, Jr., Division Director, Criminal 
Justice Services Board, 8th Street Office Bldg., 805 E. Broad 
St.,10th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-
4086, FAX (804) 786-0588, email lbaker@dcjs.state.va.us. 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

June 29, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Credentials Committee to hold informal 
conferences. There will not be a public comment period. 

Contact:  Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX 
(804) 662-7246, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

June 29, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
August 3, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 

Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

Informal conferences of Special Conference Committee C. 
There will not be a public comment period. 

Contact:  Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX 
(804) 662-7246, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

June 29, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
September 6, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A formal hearing. There will not be a public comment 
period. 

Contact:  Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX 
(804) 662-7246, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

July 13, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 14, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Special Conference Committee A to hold 
informal conferences. There will not be a public comment 
period. 

Contact:  Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX 
(804) 662-7246, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

August 3, 2007 - 8:30 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 3, Richmond, Virginia.  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Dentistry intends to 
amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 60-20, Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental 
Hygiene. The purpose of the proposed action is to expand 
the time limit for practice of a dental hygienist on an order 
from a dentist from seven to 10 months. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 10, 2007, to 
Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of Dentistry, Alcoa 
Bldg., 6603 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230-1712. 



Calendar of Events 

Volume 23, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 25, 2007 

3629 

Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9918, FAX (804) 
662-9114 or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

August 10, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Dentistry intends to 
amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 60-10, Public 
Participation Guidelines. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to clarify and update the board's public 
participation guidelines.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-2400 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Contact:  Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX 
(804) 662-7246, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

August 17, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

Informal conferences of Special Conference Committee B. 
There will not be a public comment period. 

Contact:  Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX 
(804) 662-7246, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

† September 7, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to discuss board business. There will be a 15-
minute public comment period at the beginning of the 
meeting. 

Contact:  Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX 
(804) 662-7246, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DESIGN BUILD/CONSTRUCTION MANAGEMENT 
REVIEW BOARD 

July 19, 2007 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
August 16, 2007 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 20, 2007 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of General Services, 202 North Ninth Street, 
Room 412, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A monthly meeting to review requests submitted by 
localities to use the design build or construction 
management type contracts. Contact the Division of 
Engineering and Buildings to confirm this meeting. Board 
rules and regulations can be obtained on-line at 
www.dgs.virginia.gov under DGS Forms, Form #DGS-30-
904. 

Contact: Kristy H. Martin, Administrative Assistant, 
Division of Engineering and Buildings, Department of 
General Services, 202 N. Ninth St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-3263, FAX (804) 371-7934, (804) 786-
6152/TTY  email rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF EDUCATION 
June 28, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
July 25, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 22nd Floor, 
Jefferson Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A regular business meeting of the board. Public comment 
will be received. The agenda and the supporting materials 
will be posted on the Friday prior to the meeting on 
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/VDOE/VA_Board/bd-
sched.html. 

Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy and 
Public Affairs, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 25th Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, 
email margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

July 18, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
July 19, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
July 20, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Comfort Inn Conference Center, 3200 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

A meeting of the State Special Education Advisory 
Committee. For more information on times and agendas go 
to 
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/VDOE/Instruction/Sped/sseac.
html or call the Department of Education Special Education 
and Student Services office at 804-225-3252 or (TTY) 800-
422-1098. 

Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy and 
Public Affairs, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
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James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 25th Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, 
email margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARDS OF EDUCATION; JUVENILE 
JUSTICE; MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL 

RETARDATION AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE 
SERVICES; AND SOCIAL SERVICES 

July 9, 2007 - 6:30 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
First Campbell Square Building, 210 1st Street, Roanoke, 
Virginia.  

July 10, 2007 - 6:30 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Tuckahoe Area Library, 1901 Starling Drive, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

July 11, 2007 - 6:30 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Social Services, Virginia Beach Regional 
Office, Pembroke IV, 291 Independence Boulevard, 3rd 
Floor, Virginia Beach, Virginia.  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Boards of Education; 
Juvenile Justice; Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services; and Social Services intends to 
repeal regulations entitled 22 VAC 42-10, Standards for 
Interdepartmental Regulation of Children's Residential 
Facilities; and adopt regulations entitled 22 VAC 42-11, 
Standards for Interdepartmental Regulation of 
Children's Residential Facilities. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to repeal the existing regulation 22 VAC 
42-10, and promulgate a new regulation, 22 VAC 42-11. 
These standards will protect vulnerable children who are 
separated from their families and reside in children's 
residential facilities, and assure that an acceptable level of 
care and education are provided. The new regulation will 
(i) comply with federal regulation, (ii) ensure that services 
provided to residents are appropriate for their needs, (iii) 
bring the requirements in line with the current industry 
practices, (iv) clarify frequently misinterpreted standards, 
and (v) delete unnecessary requirements. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-309.9, 22.1-321, 22.1-323, 22.1-
323.2, 37.2-407, 37.2-408, 63.2-203, 63.2-217, 63.2-1701, 
63.2-1703, 63.2-1737, 66-10 and 66-24 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until July 27, 2007. 

Contact: Charlene Vincent, Coordinator, Office of 
Interdepartmental Regulation, Department of Social Services, 
7 N. 8th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-
7097, FAX (804) 726-7095 or email 
charlene.vincent@dss.virginia.gov. 

SECRETARY OF EDUCATION 
July 18, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 

August 15, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 19, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Capital One West Creek Campus, 1500 Capital One Drive, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

A meeting of the Start Strong Pre-K Task Force. 

Contact:  Kendall Tyree, Special Assistant to the Secretary 
of Education, 1111 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 692-2550, email 
kendall.tyree@governor.virginia.gov. 

July 26, 2007 - 12 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Patrick Henry Building, 1111 East Broad Street, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

A meeting of the Governor's P-16 Council. 

Contact:  Kendall Tyree, Special Assistant to the Secretary 
of Education, 1111 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 692-2550, email 
kendall.tyree@governor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

† July 11, 2007 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments, 777 
North Capitol Street, NE, Washington, DC.  

† July 12, 2007 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 
Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, Virginia.  

† July 17, 2007 - 6:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Charles City County Public Library, 2 Garrett Avenue, La 
Plata, Maryland.  

The second of several public meeting for the Potomac PCB 
TMDL project. The purpose is to present the draft Potomac 
PCB TMDL Report and allocation scenarios to the general 
public and provide a chance for public comment. The 
public notice appears in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations on June 25, 2007. The public comment period 
begins on July 11, 2007, and ends on August 10, 2007. 

Contact:  Mark Richards, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 629 E. Main St., P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4392, email 
marichards@deq.virginia.gov. 

† July 12, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 
Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, Virginia.  

The sixth meeting of the technical advisory committee for 
the Potomac PCB Project addressing elevated levels of 
polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) in the Potomac River 
estuary. 

Contact:  Mark Richards, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 629 E. Main St., P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
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23218, telephone (804) 698-4392, email 
marichards@deq.virginia.gov. 

July 17, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 
1st Floor Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the Ground Water Protection Steering 
Committee. 

Contact:  Mary Ann Massie, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 698-4042, email mamassie@deq.virginia.gov. 

July 19, 2007 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Tappahannock USDA Service Center, 772 Richmond Beach 
Road, Meeting Room, Tappahannock, Virginia.  

A meeting on the advisory committee assisting in the 
development of a bacteria TMDL for Hoskins Creek and its 
tributaries in Essex County. The public notice appears in 
the Virginia Register of Regulations on April 30, 2007. 

Contact:  Chris French, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 4949-A Cox Rd., Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone 
(804) 527-5124, FAX (804) 527-5106, email 
rcfrench@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA FIRE SERVICES BOARD 
August 16, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Convention Center, Hampton, Virginia.  

An Executive Committee meeting. 

Contact:  Brook Pittinger, Virginia Fire Services Board, 
1005 Technology Park Dr., Glen Allen, VA 23059-4500,  
telephone (804) 371-0220, email 
brook.pittinger@vdfp.virginia.gov. 

August 17, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Convention Center, Hampton, Virginia.  

Meetings of the following committees: 

10 a.m. - Education and Training 
2 p.m. - Fire Prevention and Control  
3 p.m. - Administration, Policy and Finance 

Contact:  Brook Pittinger, Department of Fire Services, 1005 
Technology Park Dr., Glen Allen, VA 23059, telephone (804) 
371-0220, email brook.pittinger@vdfp.virginia.gov. 

August 18, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Forestry, 900 Natural Resources Drive, 
Charlottesville, Virginia.  

A full board meeting. 

Contact:  Brook Pittinger, Virginia Fire Services Board, 
1005 Technology Park Dr., Glen Allen, VA 23059, telephone 
(804) 371-0220, email brook.pittinger@vdfp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF FORENSIC SCIENCE 

† August 8, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Forensic Science, 700 North 5th Street, 
Classroom 1, Richmond, Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Forensic Science intends 
to adopt regulations entitled 6 VAC 40-50, Regulations 
for the Approval of Marijuana Field Tests for Detection 
of Marijuana Plant Material. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to establish the process of approval, 
approval authority, criteria for approval, notification 
methods, fee assessment, and publication procedures 
associated with marijuana field tests or marijuana field test 
kits submitted by manufacturers to the department in 
accordance with § 19.2-188.1 B of the Code of Virginia 
that become effective July 1, 2006, as emergency 
regulations. Section 19.2-188.1 B of the Code of Virginia 
provides that the Department of Forensic Science shall 
approve marijuana field tests for use by law-enforcement 
officers to enable them to testify to the results obtained in 
any trial for a violation of § 18.2-250.1 of the Code of 
Virginia regarding whether or not any plant material, the 
identity of which is at issue, is marijuana. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 9.1-1110 and 19.2-188.1 B of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Michele M. Gowdy, Department Counsel, 
Department of Forensic Science, 700 N. 5th St., Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6848, FAX (804) 786-6857 
or email michele.gowdy@dfs.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

† June 28, 2007 - 8:30 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 1, Richmond, Virginia.  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral Directors and 
Embalmers intends to amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 
65-20, Regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors 
and Embalmers. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
update and clarify regulations for funeral services licensees 
and establishments. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2803 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 24, 2007, to 
Elizabeth Young, Executive Director, Board of Funeral 
Directors and Embalmers, Alcoa Building, 6603 West Broad 
St., 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712. 

Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad St., 
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Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9918, FAX (804) 
662-9114 or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

June 28, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
July 31, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Special Conference Committee to review 
and discuss discipline cases. 

Contact:  Elizabeth Young, Executive Director, Board of 
Funeral Directors and Embalmers, Alcoa Building, 6603 
West Broad St., 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, 
telephone (804) 662-9907, FAX (804) 662-9523, (804) 662-
7197/TTY , email elizabeth.young@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

† June 25, 2007 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A public input meeting to discuss and receive public 
comments regarding season lengths and bag limits for the 
2007-2008 hunting seasons for dove, woodcock, snipe, rail, 
September Canada goose, and September teal. All 
interested citizens are invited to attend. DGIF Wildlife 
Division staff will review the federal frameworks for the 
2007-2008 seasons and bag limits for these species 
established by the U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service and 
receive input on suggested seasons and bag limits for 
Virginia as it prepares recommendations to the board. A 
summary of the results of this meeting will be presented to 
the Virginia Board of Game and Inland Fisheries for its 
scheduled July 17, 2007, meeting. At the July 17 meeting 
the board will hold another public hearing, after which it 
intends to set 2007-2008 hunting seasons and bag limits for 
the above species. 

Contact:  Bob Ellis, Assistant Director, Wildlife Division, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 W. Broad 
St., Richmond VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-0904, email 
bob.ellis@dgif.virginia.gov. 

CHARITABLE GAMING BOARD 

September 11, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Science Museum of Virginia, 2500 West Broad Street, RF 
and P Forum Room, Richmond, Virginia. 

A regular meeting. 

Contact:  Harry M. Durham, Interim Director, Charitable 
Gaming Board, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 17th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2444, 
FAX (804) 786-1079, email harry.durham@dcg.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR GEOLOGY 

July 11, 2007- 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A general business meeting to include consideration of 
regulatory issues as may be presented on the agenda. The 
meeting is open to the public; however, a portion of the 
board's business may be discussed in closed session. Public 
comment will be heard at the beginning of the meeting. 
Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring 
special accommodations or interpreter services should 
contact the department at least 10 days prior to the meeting 
so that suitable arrangements can be made. The department 
fully complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  David E. Dick, Executive Director, Board for 
Geology, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8507, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
geology@dpor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
August 10, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Children's Hospital, 2924 Brook Road, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

A meeting of the Virginia Early Hearing Detection and 
Intervention Program Advisory Committee to assist the 
Department of Health in the implementation of the Virginia 
Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program. 

Contact:  Pat Dewey, M.Ed, Program Manager, Department 
of Health, 109 Governor St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-7713, email 
pat.dewey@vdh.virginia.gov. 

State Emergency Medical Services Advisory Board 

August 16, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Richmond Marriott West, 4240 Dominion Boulevard, Glen 
Allen, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Financial Assistance Review Committee 
(FARC). FARC is responsible for recommending to the 
Commissioner of Health monetary awards as stipulated in 
the Code of Virginia. The quarterly meeting is to discuss 
upcoming grant cycle and initiatives, problems with past 
grants and Rescue Squad Assistance Fund (RSAF) 
finances. 

Contact:  Amanda Davis, Grants Administrator, Department 
of Health, 109 Governor St., Suite UB-55, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 864-7600, FAX (804) 864-7580, toll-
free (800) 523-6019, email amanda.davis@vdh.virginia.gov. 

August 17, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Richmond Marriott West, 4240 Dominion Boulevard, Glen 
Allen, Virginia.  
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A quarterly meeting of the Communications Committee to 
review and recommend policies on EMS communications 
and coordinate the development and implementation of 
communications and associated technology that support 
EMS operations at the local, regional and state level. 

Contact:  Ken Crumpler, Communications Coordinator, 
Department of Health, 109 Governor St., Suite UB-55, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7600, FAX (804) 
864-7580, toll-free (800) 523-6019, email 
ken.crumpler@vdh.virginia.gov. 

August 17, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Richmond Marriott West, 4240 Dominion Boulevard, Glen 
Allen, Virginia.  

A quarterly meeting to provide advice and counsel 
regarding methods and procedures for planning, developing 
and maintaining a statewide emergency medical services 
(EMS) system to OEMS and the State Board of Health. 

Contact:  Gary R. Brown, Director, Department of Health, 
109 Governor St., Suite UB-55, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-7600, FAX (804) 864-7580, toll-free 
(800) 523-6019, email gary.brown@vdh.virginia.gov. 

† September 14, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
109 Governor Street, 5th Floor Conference Room, Richmond, 
Virginia.  
Will also be scheduled in remote locations via video 
conference. 

A meeting of the Authorized Onsite Soil Evaluator 
Regulations Advisory Committee to make 
recommendations to the commissioner regarding AOSE/PE 
policies and programs. 

Contact:  Dwayne Roadcap, Program Manager, Department 
of Health, 109 Governor St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-7462, FAX (804) 864-7476, email 
dwayne.roadcap@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Sewage Handling and Disposal Appeals Review 
Board 

June 27, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
August 8, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
James Madison Building, 109 Governor Street, Main Floor 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia. 

A meeting to hear all administrative appeals of denials of 
onsite sewage disposal system permits and appeals of 
refusals of indemnification requests filed pursuant to 
§ 32.1-164.1:01 and render its decision on any such appeal, 
which decision shall be the final administrative decision. 

Contact:  Donna Tiller, Executive Secretary, Department of 
Health, 109 Governor St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 864-7470, FAX (804) 864-7476, email 
donna.tiller@vdh.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

† August 24, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia intends to amend regulations entitled 12 
VAC 5-90, Regulations for Disease Reporting and 
Control. The purpose of the proposed action is to identify 
the process acute care hospitals shall use in reporting 
healthcare-associates infections to the Virginia Department 
of Health. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-35.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Diane Woollard, PhD, MHP, Director, Division of 
Surveillance and Investigation, Department of Health, P.O. 
Box 2448, Suite 516E, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 864-8141, FAX (804) 864-8139 or email 
diane.woolard@vdh.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

August 10, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Health Professions 
intends to amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 75-10, 
Public Participation Guidelines. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to clarify and update the regulations for 
public participation in the regulatory process.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-2400 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9910, FAX (804) 662-9943, or 
email elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov.  

* * * * * * * * 

† August 24, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Health Professions 
intends to amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 75-20, 
Regulations Governing Practitioner Self-Referral. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to set out criteria for 
delegation of applications for advisory opinions or 
exceptions to an agency subordinate.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2412 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Contact: Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
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9910, FAX (804) 662-9943, or 
email elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov.  

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

July 25, 2007 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Prescription Monitoring Program 
Advisory Committee to review practitioners notification 
education plan. 

Contact:  Ralph A. Orr, PMP, Program Manager, 
Department of Health Professions, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. 
Broad St., 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone 
(804) 662-9129, FAX (804) 662-9240, (804) 662-7197/TTY 

, email ralph.orr@dhp.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

August 10, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Health Professions 
intends to amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 76-10, 
Public Participation Guidelines. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to follow recommendations of a periodic 
review of regulations to update and clarify public 
participation guideline regulations.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-2505 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9918, FAX (804) 
662-9114 or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS 

July 11, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A general business meeting including consideration of 
regulatory issues as may be presented on the agenda. The 
meeting is open to the public; however, a portion of the 
board's business may be discussed in closed session. Public 
comment will be heard at the beginning of the meeting. 
Person desirings to participate in the meeting and requiring 
special accommodations or interpreter services should 
contact the department at least 10 days prior to the meeting 
so that suitable arrangements can be made. The department 
fully complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: William H. Ferguson, II, Executive Director, Board 
for Hearing Aid Specialists, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, 
VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-

6295, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
hearingaidspec@dpor.virginia.gov. 

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

July 10, 2007 - 11:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Norfolk State University, Norfolk, Virginia.  

September 11, 2007 - 11:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North Street, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

Council meeting times are approximate and subject to 
change. Committee meetings will begin in the morning. 
Agenda materials will be available on the website 
approximately one week prior to the meeting at 
www.schev.edu. A public comment period will be 
allocated on the meeting agenda. To be scheduled, those 
interested in making public comment should contact the 
person listed below no later than 5 p.m. three business days 
prior to the meeting date. At the time of the request, the 
speaker's name, address and topic must be provided. Each 
speaker will be given up to three minutes to address 
SCHEV.  Speakers are asked to submit a written copy of 
their remarks at the time of comment. 

Contact:  Lee Ann Rung, State Council of Higher Education 
for Virginia, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 9th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2602, FAX (804) 
371-7911, email leeannrung@schev.edu. 

VIRGINIA HIGHER EDUCATION TUITION TRUST 
FUND 

Virginia College Savings Plan Board 

† June 28, 2007 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 5th Floor, 
Virginia College Savings Plan Boardroom, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

A regular board meeting. 

Contact:  Jennifer Jones, Administrative Operations 
Specialist, Virginia Higher Education Tuition Trust Fund, 
James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 5th Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2853, FAX (804) 786-2453, 
toll-free (888) 567-0540, (804) 786-2766/TTY , email 
vcspinfo@virginia529.com. 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

June 25, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
The Jackson Center, 501 North 2nd Street, 1st Floor 
Boardroom, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular business meeting. 
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Contact:  Stephen W. Calhoun, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219-1321, 
telephone (804) 371-7000, FAX (804) 371-7090, (804) 371-
7089/TTY , email steve.calhoun@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

July 24, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
Greater Richmond Convention Center, 403 North 3rd Street, 
Lecture Room, Room B-10, Richmond, Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to amend regulations 
entitled 13 VAC 5-63, Virginia Uniform Statewide 
Building Code (USBC). The purpose of the proposed 
action is to update regulations to the 2006 ICC model 
codes. 

Statutory Authority: § 36-98 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 11, 2007. 

Contact:  Stephen W. Calhoun, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219-1321, 
telephone (804) 371-7000, FAX (804) 371-7090, (804) 371-
7089/TTY , email steve.calhoun@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

July 24, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
Greater Richmond Convention Center, 403 North 3rd Street, 
Lecture Room, Room B-10, Richmond, Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to amend regulations 
entitled 13 VAC 5-51, Virginia Statewide Fire 
Prevention Code. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
update regulations to the 2006 ICC model codes. 

Statutory Authority: § 27-97 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 11, 2007. 

Contact:  Stephen W. Calhoun, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219-1321, 
telephone (804) 371-7000, FAX (804) 371-7090, (804) 371-
7089/TTY , email steve.calhoun@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA COUNCIL ON HUMAN RESOURCES 

July 19, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 20, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, PDS #4, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

A quarterly meeting. 

Contact:  Barbara Tanner, Executive Assistant, Department 
of Human Resource Management, James Monroe Bldg., 101 
N. 14th St., 13th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 225-2237, FAX (804) 371-7401, email 
barbara.tanner@dhrm.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARDS OF EDUCATION; JUVENILE 
JUSTICE; MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL 

RETARDATION AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE 
SERVICES; AND SOCIAL SERVICES 

July 9, 2007 - 6:30 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
First Campbell Square Building, 210 1st Street, Roanoke, 
Virginia.  

July 10, 2007 - 6:30 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Tuckahoe Area Library, 1901 Starling Drive, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

July 11, 2007 - 6:30 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Social Services, Virginia Beach Regional 
Office, Pembroke IV, 291 Independence Boulevard, 3rd 
Floor, Virginia Beach, Virginia.  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Boards of Education; 
Juvenile Justice; Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services; and Social Services intends to 
repeal regulations entitled 22 VAC 42-10, Standards for 
Interdepartmental Regulation of Children's Residential 
Facilities; and adopt regulations entitled 22 VAC 42-11, 
Standards for Interdepartmental Regulation of 
Children's Residential Facilities. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to repeal the existing regulation 22 VAC 
42-10, and promulgate a new regulation, 22 VAC 42-11. 
These standards will protect vulnerable children who are 
separated from their families and reside in children's 
residential facilities, and assure that an acceptable level of 
care and education are provided. The new regulation will 
(i) comply with federal regulation, (ii) ensure that services 
provided to residents are appropriate for their needs, (iii) 
bring the requirements in line with the current industry 
practices, (iv) clarify frequently misinterpreted standards, 
and (v) delete unnecessary requirements. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-309.9, 22.1-321, 22.1-323, 22.1-
323.2, 37.2-407, 37.2-408, 63.2-203, 63.2-217, 63.2-1701, 
63.2-1703, 63.2-1737, 66-10 and 66-24 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until July 27, 2007. 

Contact: Charlene Vincent, Coordinator, Office of 
Interdepartmental Regulation, Department of Social Services, 
7 N. 8th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-
7097, FAX (804) 726-7095 or email 
charlene.vincent@dss.virginia.gov. 
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STATE BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

† September 12, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Merrimac Detention Center, 9300 Merrimac Trail, 
Williamsburg, Virginia. 

The Secure Services Committee and Nonsecure Services 
Committee meet at 9 a.m. to receive certification audit 
reports of several residential and nonresidential programs. 
The full board meets at 10 AM to take action on the 
certification reports and hear other such business as comes 
before the board. The Board of Juvenile Justice is pleased 
to receive public comment at each of its regular meetings. 
In order to allow the board sufficient time for its other 
business, the total time allotted to public comment will be 
limited to 30 minutes at the beginning of the meeting with 
additional time allotted at the end of the meeting for 
individuals who have not had a chance to be heard. 
Speakers will be limited to 10 minutes each with shorter 
time frames provided at the chairman’s discretion to 
accommodate large numbers of speakers. Those wishing to 
speak to the board are strongly encouraged to contact 
Deborah Hayes at 804-371-0704 three or more business 
days prior to the meeting. Persons not registered prior to 
the day of the board meeting will speak after those who 
have pre-registered. Normally, speakers will be scheduled 
in the order that their requests are received. Where issues 
involving a variety of views are presented before the board, 
the board reserves the right to allocate the time available so 
as to insure that the board hears from different points of 
view on any particular issue. Groups wishing to address a 
single subject are urged to designate a spokesperson. 
Speakers are urged to confine their comments to topics 
relevant to the board’s purview. In order to make the 
limited time available most effective, speakers are urged to 
provide multiple written copies of their comments or other 
material amplifying their views. Please provide at least 15 
written copies if you are able to do so. 

Contact:  Deborah C. Hayes, Administrative Assistant, State 
Board of Juvenile Justice, 700 Centre, 700 E. Franklin St., 4th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-0704, 
FAX (804) 371-0725. 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Safety and Health Codes Board 

June 26, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
State Corporation Commission, 1300 East Main Street, 
Courtroom A, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting to conduct general business. 

Contact:  Regina P. Cobb, Agency Management Analyst 
Senior, Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor 
Bldg., 13 S. 13th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

786-0610, FAX (804) 786-8418, (804) 786-2376/TTY , 
email rlc@doli.virginia.gov. 

COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

July 16, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Housing and Community Development, 501 
North Second Street Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular business meeting. 

Contact:  Susan Williams, Commission on Local 
Government, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-6508, FAX (804) 371-7090, email 
susan.williams@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

July 10, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to discuss board matters. 

Contact:  Lisa Russell Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 
Long-Term Care Administrators, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. 
Broad St., 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone 
(804) 662-9930, FAX (804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY 

, email lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA MANUFACTURED HOUSING BOARD 
July 25, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Wyndham Hotel, 5700 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, 
Virginia. 

A regular business meeting. The board meeting will be held 
in conjunction with the annual convention of the Virginia 
Manufactured and Modular Housing Association. 

Contact:  Curtis McIver, State Building Code Administrator, 
Virginia Manufactured Housing Board, The Jackson Center, 
501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219-1321, telephone (804) 
371-7161, FAX (804) 371-7092, (804) 371-7089/TTY , 
email curtis.mciver@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

June 26, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 
4th Floor, Newport News, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A monthly commission meeting. 

Contact:  Jane McCroskey, Commission Secretary, Marine 
Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, 
Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-2215, FAX 
(757) 247-8101, toll-free (800) 541-4646, (757) 247-
2292/TTY , email jane.mccroskey@mrc.virginia.gov. 
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BOARD OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

September 11, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, 13th Floor Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A routine quarterly meeting. 

Contact:  Mamie White, Board Liaison, Department of 
Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-8096, FAX (804) 
371-4981, (800) 343-0634/TTY , email 
mamie.white@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

August 2, 2007 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, 13th Floor Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Drug Utilization Review Committee to 
discuss issues related to this committee. 

Contact:  Rachel Cain, Pharmacist, Department of Medical 
Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-0428, (800) 343-
0634/TTY , email rachel.cain@dmas.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

August 10, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services intends to amend regulations entitled 
12 VAC 30-70, Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates; Inpatient Hospital Care. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to clarify the definition of Medicaid 
utilization so the regulations and providers' cost reports are 
the same. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Contact: William Lessard, Director, Provider 
Reimbursement, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-4593, FAX (804) 786-1680 or email 
william.lessard@dmas.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

August 10, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services intends to amend regulations entitled 

12 VAC 30-70, Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates; Inpatient Hospital Services. 
12 VAC 30-80, Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates; Other Types of Care. 
12 VAC 30-90; Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates for Long-Term Care. 
The purpose of the proposed action is to implement 
provider reimbursement increases mandated by the 2006 
Acts of the General Assembly. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Contact: Carla Russell, Provider Reimbursement, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad St., 
Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-4586, 
FAX (804) 786-1680 or email 
carla.russell@dmas.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

August 10, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services intends to amend regulations entitled 
12 VAC 30-80, Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates; Other Types of Care. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to change school division reimbursement 
to cost basis. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Contact: Lois Gray, Regulatory Coordinator, Department of 
Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 
786-1680 or email lois.gray@dmas.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 
July 11, 2007 - 9:15 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Williamsburg Marriott, 50 Kingsmill Road, Williamsburg, 
Virginia.  

July 19, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Holiday Inn, 3315 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, Virginia.  

July 25, 2007 - 8:45 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
August 8, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

July 31, 2007 - 9:15 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Holiday Inn Select, 2801 Plank Road, Fredericksburg, 
Virginia. 
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August 23, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Wytheville Meeting Center, 333 Community Boulevard, 
Wytheville, Virginia.  

A special conference committee will convene informal 
conferences to inquire into allegations that certain 
practitioners of medicine or other healing arts may have 
violated certain laws and regulations governing the practice 
of medicine. Further, the committee may review cases with 
board staff for case disposition, including consideration of 
consent orders for settlement. The committee will meet in 
open and closed sessions pursuant to the Code of Virginia. 
Public comment will not be received.  

Contact:  Renee S. Dixson, Discipline Case Manager, 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-7009, 
FAX (804) 662-9517, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
renee.dixson@dhp.virginia.gov. 

August 10, 2007 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Executive Committee to consider 
regulatory and disciplinary matters as may be presented on 
the agenda. Public comment on agenda items will be 
received at the beginning of the meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

August 10, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends to 
amend regulations entitled  

18 VAC 85-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry and 
Chiropractic.  

18 VAC 85-40. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Respiratory Care Practitioners. 

18 VAC 85-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Physician Assistants. 

18 VAC 85-80. Regulations for Licensure of 
Occupational Therapists. 

18 VAC 85-101. Regulations Governing the Licensure 
of Radiologic Technologists and Radiologic 
Technologists-Limited. 

18 VAC 85-110. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Licensed Acupuncturists. 

The purpose of the proposed action is to set out the fees 
and renewal requirements for a person holding a restricted 
volunteer license. 

Statutory Authority: Chapter 29 (§ 54.1-2900 et seq.) of Title 
54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

August 10, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends to 
amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 85-20, Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic 
Medicine, Podiatry and Chiropractic. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to require a practitioner who makes 
claims in an advertisement to the public to maintain 
documentation in support of those claims. 

Statutory Authority: Chapters 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9918, FAX (804) 
662-9114 or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

August 10, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends to 
amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 85-10, Public 
Participation Guidelines. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to clarify and update regulations as recommended 
by periodic review.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-2505 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

† September 21, 2007 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  
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A meeting of the Legislative Committee to consider 
regulatory matters as presented on the agenda. Public 
comment on agenda items will be received at the beginning 
of the meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX (804) 662-
9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

† September 21, 2007 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Credentials Committee to consider 
applicants for licensure and other matters of the Board. 
Public comment on agenda items will be received at the 
beginning of the meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL 
RETARDATION AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE 

SERVICES 
July 2, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank St., 8th Floor Conference 
Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A public hearing to receive comments on the Virginia 
Community Mental Health Services Performance 
Partnership Block Grant Application for federal fiscal year 
2008. Copies of the application are available for review at 
the Office of Mental Health Services, 10th floor, Jefferson 
Building and at each community services board office. 
Comment may be made at the hearing or in writing by no 
later than July 2, 2007 to the Office of the Commissioner, 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services (DMHMRSAS), P.O. Box 1797 
Richmond, VA 23218. Any person wishing to make a 
presentation at the hearing should contact Jo-Amrah S. 
McElroy, M.Ed. Copies of oral presentations should be 
filed at the time of the hearing. 

Contact:  JoAmrah S. McElroy, M.Ed., Office of Mental 
Health, Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 786-2316, FAX (804) 371-0091, 
(804) 371-8977/TTY  

STATE MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL RETARDATION 
AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE SERVICES BOARD 

July 9, 2007 - 6:30 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
First Campbell Square Building, 210 1st Street, Roanoke, 
Virginia.  

July 10, 2007 - 6:30 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Tuckahoe Area Library, 1901 Starling Drive, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

July 11, 2007 - 6:30 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Social Services, Virginia Beach Regional 
Office, Pembroke IV, 291 Independence Boulevard, 3rd 
Floor, Virginia Beach, Virginia.  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Boards of Education; 
Juvenile Justice; Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services; and Social Services intends to 
repeal regulations entitled 22 VAC 42-10, Standards for 
Interdepartmental Regulation of Children's Residential 
Facilities; and adopt regulations entitled 22 VAC 42-11, 
Standards for Interdepartmental Regulation of 
Children's Residential Facilities. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to repeal the existing regulation 22 VAC 
42-10, and promulgate a new regulation, 22 VAC 42-11. 
These standards will protect vulnerable children who are 
separated from their families and reside in children's 
residential facilities, and assure that an acceptable level of 
care and education are provided. The new regulation will 
(i) comply with federal regulation, (ii) ensure that services 
provided to residents are appropriate for their needs, (iii) 
bring the requirements in line with the current industry 
practices, (iv) clarify frequently misinterpreted standards, 
and (v) delete unnecessary requirements. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-309.9, 22.1-321, 22.1-323, 22.1-
323.2, 37.2-407, 37.2-408, 63.2-203, 63.2-217, 63.2-1701, 
63.2-1703, 63.2-1737, 66-10 and 66-24 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until July 27, 2007. 

Contact: Charlene Vincent, Coordinator, Office of 
Interdepartmental Regulation, Department of Social Services, 
7 N. 8th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-
7097, FAX (804) 726-7095 or email 
charlene.vincent@dss.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

† August 24, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services Board intends to 
amend regulations entitled 12 VAC 35-105, Rules and 
Regulations for the Licensing of Providers of Mental 
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Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse, the 
Individual and Families Disabilities Support Waiver, 
and Brain Injury Residential Services. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to add provisions for issuing an order 
of summary suspension of a license. 

Statutory Authority: § 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Leslie Anderson, Director, Office of Licensing, 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services, P.O. Box 1797, 1220 Bank St., 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-6885, FAX (804) 
692-0066 or email 
leslie.anderson@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 
June 28, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Oxbow Center, 16620 East Riverside Drive, St. Paul, 
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting of the Division of Mined Land Reclamation 
Permit Enhancement Work Group to discuss potential 
enhancement to the DMLR permitting process. Public 
comments will be received as the last item of the meeting. 
Special accommodations for the disabled will be made 
available at the public meeting on request. Contact the 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy Division of 
Mined Land Reclamation at least seven days prior to the 
meeting date. 

Contact:  Les Vincent, Technical Services Manager, 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of 
Mined Land Reclamation, 3405 Mountain Empire Rd., Big 
Stone Gap, VA 24219, telephone (276) 523-8156, FAX (276) 
523-8163, (800) 828-1120/TTY , email 
les.vincent@dmme.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA MUSEUM OF FINE ARTS 

NOTE: CHANGE IN MEETING DATE 
July 25, 2007- 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 200 North Boulevard, Pauley 
Center Dining Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Marketing and Branding Committee for 
staff to update the trustees. Public comment will not be 
received. 

Contact:  Suzanne Broyles, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 200 N. Boulevard, Richmond, 
VA 23220, telephone (804) 340-1503, email 
suzanne.broyles@vmfa.museum. 

FOUNDATION FOR VIRGINIA'S NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

July 11, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Forestry, 900 Natural Resources Drive, 
Charlottesville, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided 
upon request) 

A business meeting of the Board of Trustees. 

Contact:  Brenda Taylor, Administrative Staff Specialist, 
Foundation for Virginia's Natural Resources, 900 Natural 
Resources Dr., Charlottesville, VA 22903, telephone (434) 
977-6555, FAX (434) 977-7749, email 
brenda.taylor@dof.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF NURSING 
June 26, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A Special Conference Committee comprised of two or 
three members of the Virginia Board of Nursing or agency 
subordinate will conduct informal conferences with 
licensees and certificate holders. Public comment will not 
be received. 

Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., M.S.M., C.S.A.C., Executive 
Director, Board of Nursing, 6603 West Broad Street, 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9909, 
FAX (804) 662-9512, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
nursebd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

July 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† July 17, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 17, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

A panel will conduct informal conferences with licensees 
and/or certificate holders. A formal hearing may also be 
held. Public comment will not be received. 

Contact:  Jay P. Douglas, RN, MSM, CSAS, Executive 
Director, Board of Nursing, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9909, FAX (804) 
662-9512, (804) 662-7197/TTY  

July 18, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
July 19, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 19, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 20, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

A panel of the Board of Nursing will conduct formal 
hearings with licensees and/or certificate holders. Public 
comment will not be received. 

Contact:  Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, Board of 
Nursing, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
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Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9949, FAX 
(804) 662-9512, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

August 10, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Nursing intends to 
amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 90-10, Public 
Participation Guidelines. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to clarify and update regulations for public 
participation in the regulatory process.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-2505 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Contact:  Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, Board of 
Nursing, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9949, FAX 
(804) 662-9512, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

† September 18, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct general business including receipt of 
committee reports and consideration of regulatory action 
and discipline case decisions as presented on the agenda. 
Public comment will be received at 11 a.m. 

Contact:  Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, Board of 
Nursing, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9909, FAX 
(804) 662-9512, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

JOINT BOARDS OF NURSING AND MEDICINE 

July 13, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until this 
date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Boards of Nursing and Medicine 
intend to amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 90-30, 
Regulations Governing the Licensure of Nurse 
Practitioners. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
clarify that one must hold an active license as a registered 
nurse to be licensed as a nurse practitioner. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until July 13, 2007, to Jay 
P. Douglas, R.N., M.S.M., C.S.A.C., Executive Director, 
Board of Nursing, 6603 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9909, FAX (804) 
662-9512, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
nursebd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9918, FAX (804) 
662-9114 or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

July 17, 2007 -- 11:30 a.m. - Public Hearing 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
Board Room 2, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Boards of Nursing and Medicine 
intend to amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 90-30, 
Regulations Governing the Licensure of Nurse 
Practitioners. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
provide for practice of certified nurse midwives in 
collaboration and consultation with a licensed physician. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 10, 2007, to 
Jay P. Douglas, R.N., M.S.M., C.S.A.C., Executive Director, 
Board of Nursing, 6603 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9909, FAX (804) 
662-9512, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
nursebd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9918, FAX (804) 
662-9114 or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR OPTICIANS 
August 17, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct board business. The meeting is open 
to the public; however, a portion of the board's business 
may be discussed in closed session. Public comment will 
be heard at the beginning of the meeting. Person desiring to 
participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact the 
department at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The department fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  William H. Ferguson, II, Executive Director, Board 
for Opticians, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-
4917, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-6295, (804) 
367-9753/TTY , email opticians@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 
August 10, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 
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Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Optometry intends to 
amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 105-10, Public 
Participation Guidelines. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to update and clarify the board's public 
participation guidelines.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-2400 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Contact:  Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Optometry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9910, FAX (804) 662-7098, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA OUTDOORS FOUNDATION 

September 5, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
September 6, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Forestry Headquarters, 2nd Floor Board 
Room, 900 Natural Resources Drive, Charlottesville, 
Virginia.  

A quarterly meeting of the Board of Trustees to discuss 
policy and easement consideration. Public comment will be 
received. 

Contact:  Trisha Cleary, Executive Assistant, Department of 
Conservation and Recreation, 101 N. 14th Street, 17th Floor 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2147, FAX (804) 
371-4810, email tcleary@vofonline.org. 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES 

July 17, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
202 North 9th Street, 9th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to conduct new grantee orientation. 

Contact:  Lynne Talley, Grants Administrative Manager, 
Virginia Board for People with Disabilities, 202 N. 9th St., 
9th Floor, Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 786-9375, FAX 
(804) 786-1118, toll-free (800) 846-4464, (804) 786-
0016/TTY , email lynne.talley@vbpd.virginia.gov. 

† September 20, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Location to be announced.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting of the Executive Committee. 

Contact:  Sandra Smalls, Executive Assistant, Virginia 
Board for People with Disabilities, 202 N. 9th Street, 9th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-9368, 
FAX (804) 786-1118, toll-free (800) 846-4464, (804) 786-
0016/TTY , email sandra.smalls@vbpd.virginia.gov. 

† September 21, 2007 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Location to be announced.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A quarterly board meeting. 

Contact:  Sandra Smalls, Executive Assistant, Virginia 
Board for People with Disabilities, 202 N. 9th Street, 9th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-9368, 
FAX (804) 786-1118, toll-free (800) 846-4464, (804) 786-
0016/TTY , email sandra.smalls@vbpd.virginia.gov. 

PESTICIDE CONTROL BOARD 

† July 19, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Oliver Hill Building 102 Governor Street, 2nd Floor VDACS 
Board Room, Room 220, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to discuss general business matters requiring 
board action. However, portions of the meeting may be 
held in closed session, pursuant to § 2.2-3711 of the Code 
of Virginia. The board will entertain public comment at the 
beginning of the meeting on all other business for a period 
not to exceed 30 minutes. Any person who needs any 
accommodation in order to participate at the meeting 
should contact the person identified in this notice at least 
five days before the meeting date so that suitable 
arrangements can be made for any appropriate 
accommodation. 

Contact:  Dr. W. Wayne Surles, Program Manager, Office of 
Pesticide Services, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, Oliver Hill Bldg., 102 Governor St., 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6559, FAX (804) 
786-9149, toll-free (800) 552-9963, email Wayne. 
Surles@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

August 10, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board Pharmacy intends to 
amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 110-10, Public 
Participation Guidelines. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to clarify and update regulations pursuant to a 
periodic review.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-2400 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Contact:  Elizabeth Scott Russell, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9911, FAX (804) 662-9313, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov. 



Calendar of Events 

Volume 23, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 25, 2007 

3643 

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

August 10, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Physical Therapy 
intends to amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 112-10, 
Public Participation Guidelines. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to clarify and update certain provisions 
of the regulation pursuant to the recommendations from a 
periodic review.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-2400 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Contact:  Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 
Physical Therapy, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9924, FAX 
(804) 662-9523, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

August 17, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Canceled 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.  

A general business meeting including consideration of 
regulatory issues as may be presented on the agenda. A 
portion of the board's business may be discussed in closed 
session. Public comment will be heard at the beginning of 
the meeting. Persons desiring to participate in the meeting 
and requiring special accommodations or interpreter 
services should contact the department at least 10 days 
prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements can be 
made. The department fully complies with the Americans 
with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 
Physical Therapy, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9924, FAX 
(804) 662-9523, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

POLYGRAPH EXAMINERS ADVISORY BOARD 
July 10, 2007 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct board business. The meeting is open 
to the public; however, a portion of the board's business 
may be discussed in closed session. Public comment will 
be heard at the beginning of the meeting. Person desiring to 
participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact the 
department  at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The department fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  Kevin Hoeft, Regulatory Boards Administrator, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 
367-2785, FAX (804) 367-0674, (804) 367-9753/TTY , 
email kevin.hoeft@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 
REGULATION 

† September 17, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A board meeting. 

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX 
(804) 367-2475, email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

† June 29, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Informal Conference Committee to 
determine if any laws or regulations governing the practice 
of psychology in Virginia have been violated. 

Contact:  Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, Board of 
Psychology, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9913, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

July 10, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

A business meeting to include reports from standing 
committees and any regulatory and disciplinary matters as 
may be presented on the agenda. Public comment will be 
received at the beginning of the meeting. 

Contact:  Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, Board of 
Psychology, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9913, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

August 10, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Psychology intends to 
amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 125-10, Public 
Participation Guidelines. The purpose of the proposed 
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action is to update and clarify regulations for public 
participation in the promulgation of regulations.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-2400 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Contact:  Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, Board of 
Psychology, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9913, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA PUBLIC GUARDIANSHIP AND 
CONSERVATOR ADVISORY BOARD 

June 28, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 20, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Department for the Aging, 1610 Forest Avenue, 
Suite 100, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Executive Committee. 

Contact:  Faye D. Cates, MSSW, Human Services Program 
Coordinator, Department for the Aging, 1610 Forest Ave., 
Suite 100, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-9310, 
FAX (804) 662-9354, toll-free (800) 552-3402, (804) 662-
9333/TTY , email faye.cates@vda.virginia.gov. 

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

August 21, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Conference Room, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to discuss board business. 

Contact:  Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real Estate 
Appraiser Board, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 367-6946, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

REAL ESTATE BOARD 

† June 25, 2007- 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
June 27, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Room 453, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

Informal fact-finding conferences. 

Contact:  Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real Estate 
Board, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 
(804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 367-6946, (804) 367-9753/TTY 

, email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

July 18, 2007 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 19, 2007 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

A meeting of the Education Committee to discuss 
education issues. 

Contact:  Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real Estate 
Board, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 
(804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 367-6946, (804) 367-9753/TTY 

, email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

July 19, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 20, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

A meeting to discuss board business. 

Contact:  Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real Estate 
Board, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 
(804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 367-6946, (804) 367-9753/TTY 

, email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

† August 1, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Real Estate Board intends to 
amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 135-20, Virginia Real 
Estate Board Licensing Regulations. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to make clarifying changes, incorporate 
new education requirement and ensure consistency with 
state law. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2105 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Contact:  Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real Estate 
Board, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 
(804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 367-6946, (804) 367-9753/TTY 

, email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

† August 1, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Real Estate Board intends to 
amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 135-60, Common 
Interest Community Management Information Fund 
Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
implement a fee structure that is divided into seven 
categories reflecting a graduated scale that represents the 
number of units/lots in a community. Also, the initial 
application fee is different and slightly higher than the 
annual renewal fee. Language has been added to have 
registration certificate expiration dates coincide with the 
community's annual meeting to elect officers. 
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Statutory Authority: § 55-530 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Thomas K. Perry, Property Registration 
Administrator, Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8510, FAX (804) 367-2475 or email 
propreg@dpor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF REHABILITATIVE SERVICES 

Virginia Brain Injury Council 
July 27, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Drive, Conference Rooms, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter 
for the deaf provided upon request) 

A quarterly meeting. Materials will be provided in alternate 
format upon request. Public comment will be received at 
approximately 1:15 p.m. 

Contact:  Kristie Chamberlain, Policy and Planning Director, 
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Dr., P.O. Box K-300, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 
662-7154, FAX (804) 662-7663, toll-free (800) 552-5019, 
(800) 464-9950/TTY , email 
Kristie.chamberlain@drs.virginia.gov. 

Statewide Independent Living Council 

† July 10, 2007 - 4:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
ENDependence Center of Northern Virginia, INC (ECNV), 
3100 Clarendon Boulevard, Arlington, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

Community Action Specialist (CAS) quarterly reports will 
be provided to team members electronically prior to the 
meeting. CAS Review Team will meet to review quarterly 
reports for the CAS projects.  

Contact:  Lisa Grubb, Executive Director, Department of 
Rehabilitative Services, 32 Abbey Court, Fishersville, VA 
22939, telephone (540) 949-7452, FAX (540) 949-7453, toll-
free (800) 552-5019, (800) 464-9950/TTY , email 
va.silc.lisa@comcast.net. 

Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund 
Advisory Board 

† September 21, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Conference Room 101, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A quarterly business meeting. 

Contact:  Kristie Chamberlain, Policy and Planning Director, 
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Dr., P.O. Box K-300, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 
662-7154, FAX (804) 662-7663, toll-free (800) 552-5019, 

(800) 464-9950/TTY , email 
kristie.chamberlain@drs.virginia.gov. 

State Rehabilitation Council 

† August 13, 2007 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A quarterly meeting. Public comments will be received at 
approximately 11:15 a.m.  Materials provided in alternate 
format are provided upon prior request. 

Contact:  Barbara Tyson, Staff Support, Department of 
Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Dr., Richmond, 
VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7010, FAX (804) 662-7644, 
toll-free (800) 552-5019, (800) 464-9950/TTY , email 
barbara.tyson@drs.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARDS OF EDUCATION; JUVENILE 
JUSTICE; MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL 

RETARDATION AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE 
SERVICES; AND SOCIAL SERVICES 

July 9, 2007 - 6:30 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
First Campbell Square Building, 210 1st Street, Roanoke, 
Virginia.  

July 10, 2007 - 6:30 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Tuckahoe Area Library, 1901 Starling Drive, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

July 11, 2007 - 6:30 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Social Services, Virginia Beach Regional 
Office, Pembroke IV, 291 Independence Boulevard, 3rd 
Floor, Virginia Beach, Virginia.  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Boards of Education; 
Juvenile Justice; Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services; and Social Services intends to 
repeal regulations entitled 22 VAC 42-10, Standards for 
Interdepartmental Regulation of Children's Residential 
Facilities; and adopt regulations entitled 22 VAC 42-11, 
Standards for Interdepartmental Regulation of 
Children's Residential Facilities. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to repeal the existing regulation 22 VAC 
42-10, and promulgate a new regulation, 22 VAC 42-11. 
These standards will protect vulnerable children who are 
separated from their families and reside in children's 
residential facilities, and assure that an acceptable level of 
care and education are provided. The new regulation will 
(i) comply with federal regulation, (ii) ensure that services 
provided to residents are appropriate for their needs, (iii) 
bring the requirements in line with the current industry 
practices, (iv) clarify frequently misinterpreted standards, 
and (v) delete unnecessary requirements. 
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Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-309.9, 22.1-321, 22.1-323, 22.1-
323.2, 37.2-407, 37.2-408, 63.2-203, 63.2-217, 63.2-1701, 
63.2-1703, 63.2-1737, 66-10 and 66-24 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until July 27, 2007. 

Contact: Charlene Vincent, Coordinator, Office of 
Interdepartmental Regulation, Department of Social Services, 
7 N. 8th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-
7097, FAX (804) 726-7095 or email 
charlene.vincent@dss.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

August 10, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Social Work intends to 
amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 140-10, Public 
Participation Guidelines. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to update and clarify the board's public 
participation guidelines.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-2400 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Contact:  Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, Board of 
Psychology, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9913, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA RESEARCH AND TECHNOLOGY 
ADVISORY COMMISSION 

† September 18, 2007 - Noon -- Open Meeting 
Westfields Marriott, Washington Dulles 14750 Conference 
Center Drive, Chantilly, Virginia. 

A quarterly meeting. Public comment will be accepted at 
approximately 4 p.m. 

Contact:  Nancy Vorona, VP Research Investment, CIT, 
Virginia Research and Technology Advisory Commission, 
2214 Rock Hill Rd., Suite 600, Herndon, VA 20170, 
telephone (703) 689-3043, FAX (703) 464-1720, email 
nvorona@cit.org. 

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

† July 25, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Social Services, 7 North 8th Street, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

A regular business meeting of the Virginia Commission for 
National and Community Service. 

Contact:  Susan Patton, Executive Assistant, Department of 
Social Services, 7 N. 8th St., Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7065, FAX (804) 726-7024, toll-free 
(800) 638-3839, (800) 828-1120/TTY , email 
susan.c.patton@dss.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

† August 15, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† August 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Norfolk Workforce Development Center, 201 East Little 
Creek Road, Norfolk, Virginia.  

A regional meeting. 

Contact:  Pat Rengnerth, Board Liaison, State Board of 
Social Services, Office of Legislative and Regulatory Affairs, 
7 N. 8th St. Room 5214, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 726-7905, FAX (804) 726-7906, (800) 828-1120/TTY 

, email patricia.rengnerth@dss.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 
July 12, 2007 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Regulatory Committee to review current 
regulations regarding supervision and standards of practice. 

Contact:  Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, Board of 
Social Work, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9914, FAX 
(804) 662-7250, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

July 13, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular business meeting. 

Contact:  Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, Board of 
Social Work, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9914, FAX 
(804) 662-7250, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR SOIL SCIENTISTS AND WETLAND 
PROFESSIONALS 

July 17, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct board business. The meeting is open 
to the public; however, a portion of the board's business 
may be discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to 
participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact the 
department at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The department fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 
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Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Professional Soil Scientists and Wetland Professionals, 3600 
W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-
8514, FAX (804) 367-2475, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
soilscientist@dpor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

State Land Evaluation Advisory Council 

August 13, 2007 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
September 10, 2007 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
2220 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to adopt suggested ranges of value for 
agricultural, horticultural, forest and open-space land use 
and the use-value assessment program. 

Contact:  H. Keith Mawyer, Property Tax Manager, 
Department of Taxation, 2220 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 
23220, telephone (804) 367-8020, email 
keith.mawyer@tax.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF TOWING AND RECOVERY OPERATORS 

† June 26, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Board Street, 
Conference Room 702, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Second Signature Ad Hoc Committee to 
discuss and review issues surrounding requirements for 
second signatures in instances of private property towing. 

Contact:  Benjamin Foster, Executive Director, Board of 
Towing and Recovery Operators, Department of Motor 
Vehicles, P.O. Box 2741, Richmond, VA 23269, telephone 
(804) 367-0226, FAX (804) 367-6631, email 
benjamin.foster@dmv.virginia.gov. 

† July 10, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Board Street, 
Conference Room 702, Richmond, Virginia.  

The following committees will meet: Administrative 
Affairs, Bylaws and Policy, Communication and Consumer 
Affairs, and Licensure and Regulatory Affairs. 

Contact:  Benjamin Foster, Executive Director, Board of 
Towing and Recovery Operators, Department of Motor 
Vehicles, P.O. Box 2741, Richmond, VA 23269, telephone 
(804) 367-0226, FAX (804) 367-6631, email 
benjamin.foster@dmv.virginia.gov. 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

July 18, 2007 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 19, 2007 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
VDOT Central Office, 1221 East Broad Street, Auditorium, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A work session of the Commonwealth Transportation 
Board and transportation staff. 

Contact:  Carol A. Mathis, Administrative Staff Assistant, 
Department of Transportation, 1401 E. Broad St., Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2701, email 
carol.mathis@vdot.virginia.gov. 

July 19, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 20, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
VDOT Central Office, 1221 East Broad Street, Auditorium, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A regularly scheduled meeting to transact CTB business, 
such as permits, additions/deletions to the highway system, 
and other matters requiring board approval. Public 
comment will be received at the outset of the meeting on 
items on the agenda for which the opportunity for public 
comment has not been afforded the public in another 
forum. Remarks will be limited to five minutes. Large 
groups will be asked to select one individual to speak for 
the group. The board reserves the right to amend these 
conditions. Separate committee meetings may be held on 
call of the chairman. Contact VDOT Public Affairs at (804) 
786-2715 for schedule. 

Contact:  Carol A. Mathis, Administrative Staff Assistant, 
Department of Transportation, 1401 E. Broad St., Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2701, email 
carol.mathis@vdot.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
July 30, 2007 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Patrick Henry Building, 3rd Floor , 1111 East Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Transportation Accountability 
Commission on outcome measures.  

Contact:  Tracey Williams, Department of Transportation, 
Transportation and Mobility Planning Division, 1401 E. 
Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-8304, 
FAX (804) 225-4785, email 
tracey.williams@vdot.virginia.gov. 

TREASURY BOARD 
July 18, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
August 15, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 19, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 3rd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

A regular meeting. 

Contact:  Kathi B. Scearce, Secretary to the Board, Treasury 
Board, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 3rd Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6011, email 
kathi.scearce@trs.virginia.gov. 
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DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS SERVICES 

Board of Veterans Services 
July 16, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Location to be determined.  

A regular meeting. 

Contact: Rhonda Earman, Special Assistant to the 
Commissioner, Department of Veterans Services, 900 E. 
Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0286, 
email rhonda.earman@dvs.virginia.gov. 

† September 17, 2007 - 11:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
National Guard Armory, 5901 Beulah Road, Sandston, 
Virginia.  

A board retreat. Contact Rhonda Earman to preregister for 
public comment. 

Contact: Rhonda Earman, Special Assistant to the 
Commissioner, Department of Veterans Services, 900 E. 
Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0286, 
email rhonda.earman@dvs.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

June 27, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
June 28, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House 
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. 

Contact:  Cindy Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator, Department 
of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 698-4346, 
email cmberndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

† July 26, 2007 - 6:30 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Tuckahoe School, 443 Monocan Drive, Nellysford, 
Virginia.  

A public hearing on the proposed reissuance of a VPDES 
permit for the Wintergreen Stoney Creek Sewage 
Treatment Plant in Nelson County. The DEQ staff will 
conduct an informational briefing on this proposed permit 
action at 6 p.m. The public comment period closes on 
August 10, 2007. 

Contact:  Trevor Wallace, State Water Control Board, 4411 
Early Rd., P.O. Box 3000 Harrisonburg, VA 22801, 
telephone (540) 574-7807, email 
thwallace@deq.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS 

† September 19, 2007 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Board Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct board business. The meeting is open 
to the public; however, a portion of the board's business 
may be discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to 
participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpreter services should contact the 
department at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The department fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  David E. Dick, Executive Director, Board for 
Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators, 3600 W. 
Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8595, 
FAX (804) 367-2475, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

INDEPENDENT 

STATE LOTTERY BOARD 

† August 1, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 13th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. There will be an opportunity for public 
comment shortly after the meeting is convened. 

Contact:  Frank S. Ferguson, Director, Legislative and 
Regulatory Affairs, State Lottery Department, 900 E. Main 
St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-7901, FAX 
(804) 692-7905, email fferguson@valottery.com. 

SPECIAL ADVISORY COMMISSION ON MANDATED 
HEALTH INSURANCE BENEFITS  

July 18, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House 
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.  

A public hearing of the Special Advisory Commission on 
Mandated Health Insurance Benefits on three bills 
introduced during the 2007 General Assembly session. The 
hearing is on the following bills:  HB 2156 (mandates 
coverage for second opinions at the National Cancer 
Institute Comprehensive Cancer Centers for primary 
malignant brain tumors), HB 2426 (repeals current 
mandated offer of coverage for dose-intensive 
chemotherapy/autologous bone marrow and stem cell 
transplants for breast cancer), and SB 991 (repeals the 
mandated offer of coverage for dose-intensive 
chemotherapy/autologous bone marrow transplants for 
beast cancer). 

Contact: Ann Colley, Principal Insurance Analyst, Life and 
Health Division, Research Section, Bureau of Insurance, State 
Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 371-9813, FAX (804) 371-9944, toll-
free 1-877-310-6560, or (804) 371-9206/TTY  
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VIRGINIA OFFICE FOR PROTECTION AND 
ADVOCACY 

July 24,  2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Office for Protection and Advocacy, Byrd Building, 
1910 Byrd Avenue, Suite 5, VOPA Conference Room, 
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

A meeting of the Board of Directors. Public comment will 
be received beginning at 9 a.m. Public comment will also 
be accepted by telephone. If you wish to provide public 
comment via telephone, you must call Lisa Shehi, 
Administrative Assistant, at 1-800-552-3962 (Voice/TTY) 
or via email at lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov no later than 
July 10, 2007. Ms. Shehi will take your name and phone 
number and you will be telephoned during the public 
comment period. For more information on participating in 
this conference call or to provide public comment via 
telephone. If interpreter services or accommodations are 
required, please contact Ms. Shehi no later than July 10, 
2007.  

Contact:  Lisa Shehi, Administrative Assistant, Virginia 
Office for Protection and Advocacy, 1910 Byrd Ave., Suite 5, 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 225-2042, FAX (804) 
662-7413, toll-free (800) 552-3962, (804) 225-2042/TTY , 
email lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov. 

June 28, 2007 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Endependence Center of Northern Virginia, 3100 Clarendon 
Boulevard, Arlington, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting of the Public Awareness and Goals Committee. 
Public comment by telephone is welcomed by the Public 
Awareness and Goals Committee and will be received at 
the beginning of the meeting. For information on 
participating in this conference call or if you wish to 
provide public comment via telephone, you must call Lisa 
Shehi, Executive Assistant at 1-800-552-3962 (Voice/TTY) 
or email her at lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov no later than 
Thursday, June 14, 2007. For further information, please 
contact Ms. Shehi. If interpreter services or other 
accommodations are required, please contact Ms. Shehi no 
later than Thursday, June 14, 2007. Directions to the 
meeting site may be found at 
http://www.ecnv.org/Contact/driving.html. 

Contact:  Lisa Shehi, Executive Assistant, Virginia Office 
for Protection and Advocacy, 1910 Byrd Ave., Suite 5, 
Richmond, Virginia, telephone (804) 225-2042, FAX (804) 
662-7431, toll-free (800) 552-3962, (804) 225-2042/TTY , 
email lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov. 

July 23, 2007 - 4 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
VOPA Office, 1910 Byrd Avenue, Suite 5, Richmond, 
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting of the Public Policy Committee. Public 
comment is welcomed by the Public Policy Committee and 
will be received beginning at 4 p.m. on Monday, July 23, 
2007. Public comment will also be accepted by telephone. 
If you wish to provide public comment via telephone, you 
must call Lisa Shehi, Executive Assistant at 1-800-552-
3962 (Voice/TTY) or via email at 
lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov no later than Monday, July 9, 
2007. Ms. Shehi will take your name and phone number 
and you will be telephoned during the public comment 
period. Directions to the meeting site are below. For further 
information, please contact Ms. Shehi. If interpreter 
services or other accommodations are required, please 
contact Ms. Shehi no later than Monday, July 9, 2007. 

Contact:  Lisa Shehi, Executive Assistant, Virginia Office 
for Protection and Advocacy, 1910 Byrd Ave., Suite 5, 
Richmond, VA 23235, telephone (804) 225-2042, FAX (804) 
662-7431, toll-free (800) 552-3962, (804) 225-2042/TTY , 
email lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov. 

July 23, 2007 - 4 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
VOPA Office, 1910 Byrd Avenue, Suite 5, Richmond, 
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting of the Internal Policy Committee. Public 
comment is welcomed by the Internal Policy Committee 
and will be received beginning at 4 p.m. on Monday, July 
23, 2007. Public comment will also be accepted by 
telephone. If you wish to provide public comment via 
telephone, you must call Lisa Shehi, Administrative 
Assistant at 1-800-552-3962 (Voice/TTY) or via email at 
lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov no later than Monday, July 9, 
2007. Ms. Shehi will take your name and phone number 
and you will be telephoned during the public comment 
period. Directions to the meeting site are below. For further 
information, please contact Ms. Shehi. If interpreter 
services or other accommodations are required, please 
contact Ms. Shehi, no later than Monday, July 9, 2007. 

Contact:  Lisa Shehi, Executive Assistant, Virginia Office 
for Protection and Advocacy, 1910 Byrd Ave., Suite 5, 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 225-2042, FAX (804) 
662-7431, toll-free (800) 552-3962, (804) 225-2042/TTY , 
email lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov. 

† September 25, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
VOPA Office, 1910 Byrd Avenue, Suite 5, Richmond, 
Virginia  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting of the Governing Board. Public comment is 
welcomed by the board and will be received beginning at 9 
a.m. Public comment will also be accepted by telephone. If 
you wish to provide public comment via telephone, you 
must call Lisa Shehi, Administrative Assistant at 1-800-
552-3962 (Voice/TTY) or via email at 
lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov no later than September 11, 
2007. Ms. Shehi will take your name and phone number 
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and you will be telephoned during the public comment 
period. For further information, please contact Ms. Shehi. 
If interpreter services or other accommodations are 
required, please contact Ms. Shehi no later than September 
11, 2007.  

Contact:  Lisa Shehi, Executive Assistant, Virginia Office 
for Protection and Advocacy, 1910 Byrd Ave., Suite 5, 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 225-2042, FAX (804) 
662-7431, toll-free (800) 552-3962, (804) 225-2042/TTY , 
email lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov. 

Disability Advisory Council  

September 5, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
1910 Byrd Avenue, Suite 5, Richmond, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A regular meeting. Public comment is welcome and will be 
received shortly after 10 a.m. Public comment will also be 
accepted by telephone. If you wish to provide public 
comments via telephone call Tracy Manley, Administrative 
Assistant at 1-800-552-3962 (Voice/TTY) or via email at 
tracy.manley@vopa.virginia.gov no later than June 6, 
2007. Ms. Manley will take your name and phone number 
and you will be telephoned during the public comment 
period. For further information, directions to the meeting, 
or interpreter services or other accommodations, please 
contact Ms. Manley no later than June 6, 2007. 

Contact:  Tracy Manley, Administrative Assistant, Virginia 
Office for Protection and Advocacy, 1910 Byrd Ave., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 225-2042, FAX (804) 
662-7431, toll-free (800) 552-3962, (804) 225-2042/TTY , 
email tracy.manley@vopa.virginia.gov. 

PAIMI Advisory Council 

† June 27, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Piedmont Geriatric Hospital, 5001 East Patrick Henry 
Highway, Burkeville, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

Public comment is welcome and will be received at the 
beginning of the meeting. If interpreter services or other 
accommodations are required, please contact Ms. Shehi no 
later than June 11, 2007. 

Contact:  Lisa Shehi, Administrative Assistant, Virginia 
Office for Protection and Advocacy, 1910 Byrd Ave., Suite 5, 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-7213, FAX (804) 
662-7431, toll-free (800) 552-3962, (804) 225-2042/TTY , 
email lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA RETIREMENT SYSTEM 

July 18, 2007 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 25, 2007 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 

Virginia Retirement System Headquarters, 1200 East Main 
Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Benefits and Actuarial Committee. No 
public comment will be received at the meeting. 

Contact:  LaShaunda King, Executive Assistant, Virginia 
Retirement System, 1200 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 344-3119, FAX (804) 786-1541, toll-free 
(888) 827-3847, (804) 344-3190/TTY , email 
lking@varetire.org. 

July 19, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Retirement System Headquarters, 1200 East Main 
Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees. No public 
comment will be received at the meeting. 

Contact:  LaShaunda King, Executive Assistant, Virginia 
Retirement System, 1200 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 344-3119, FAX (804) 786-1541, toll-free 
(888) 827-3847, (804) 344-3190/TTY , email 
lking@varetire.org. 

August 15, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Retirement System Investment Department, 1111 
East Main Street, 3rd Floor Conference Room, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the Investment Advisory Committee. 
No public comment will be received at the meeting. 

Contact:  Linda Ritchey, Executive Assistant, Virginia 
Retirement System, 1111 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 697-6673, FAX (804) 786-1541, toll-free 
(888) 827-3847, (804) 344-3190/TTY , email 
lritchey@varetire.org. 

† September 19, 2007 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Retirement System Investment Department, 1111 
East Main Street, 3rd Floor Conference Room, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the Audit and Compliance 
Committee. No public comment will be received at the 
meeting. 

Contact:  Linda Ritchey, Executive Assistant, Virginia 
Retirement System, 1111 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 697-6673, FAX (804) 786-1541, toll-free 
(888) 827-3847, (804) 344-3190/TTY , email 
lritchey@varetire.org. 

LEGISLATIVE 

JOINT COMMISSION ON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

† July 10, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate 
Room B, Richmond, Virginia.  
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A regular meeting. For questions regarding the meeting 
agenda, please contact Elizabeth Palen, Division of 
Legislative Services, (804) 786-3591. Individuals requiring 
interpreter services or other accommodations should 
telephone Senate Committee Operations at (804) 698-7450, 
(804) 698-7419/TTY, or write to Senate Committee 
Operations, P.O. Box 396, Richmond, VA 23218, at least 
seven days prior to the meeting. 

Contact: Patty Lung, Senate Committee Operations, General 
Assembly Bldg., 910 Capitol St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 698-7410. 

JOINT LEGISLATIVE AUDIT AND REVIEW 
COMMISSION 

† July 9, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Street, Senate 
Room A, Richmond, Virginia. 

A meeting to receive the following reports: VRS Semi-
Annual Investment Report; VRS Status Report Update on 
Compensation Study; and Final Report: Impact of Assisted 
Living Facility Regulations. 

Contact:  Patricia Bishop, Principal Legislative Analyst, 
Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission, General 
Assembly Bldg., Senate Room A, Richmond, VA 23219 
telephone (804) 786-1258, FAX (804) 371-0101, email 
tbishop@leg.state.va.us. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

July 25, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
August 15, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Street, 6th Floor, 
Speaker's Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A regular meeting. 

Contact:  Jane Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations, General 
Assembly Bldg., 910 Capitol St., 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-3591, FAX (804) 692-0625, 
email jchaffin@leg.state.va.us. 

VIRGINIA FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ADVISORY 
COUNCIL 

July 12, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, 6th Floor, 
Speaker's Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

The third meeting of the Electronic Meetings 
Subcommittee in 2007. 

Contact:  Maria J.K. Everett, Executive Director, Virginia 
Freedom of Information Advisory Council, General 
Assembly Bldg., 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-3056, FAX (804) 371-8705, 
toll-free (866) 448-4100, email foiacouncil@leg.state.va.us. 

July 12, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, 6th Floor, 
Speaker's Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

The second meeting of the Personal Identifying 
Information Subcommittee in 2007. 

Contact:  Maria J.K. Everett, Executive Director, Virginia 
Freedom of Information Advisory Council, General 
Assembly Bldg., 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-3056, FAX (804) 371-8705, 
toll-free (866) 448-4100, email foiacouncil@leg.state.va.us. 

JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE STUDYING THE 
COMMONWEALTH'S PROGRAM FOR PRISONER 

REENTRY TO SOCIETY 

June 28, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate 
Room A, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. For questions regarding the meeting 
agenda, please contact Sarah Stanton, Division of 
Legislative Services, (804) 786-3591. Individuals requiring 
interpreter services or other accommodations should 
telephone Senate Committee Operations at (804) 698-7450, 
(804) 698-7419/TTY, or write to Senate Committee 
Operations, P.O. Box 396, Richmond, VA 23218, at least 
seven days prior to the meeting. 

Contact: Hobie Lehman, Senate Committee Operations, 
General Assembly Bldg., 910 Capitol St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 698-7410. 

VIRGINIA UNIFORM LAWS COMMISSIONERS 

† July 11, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
State Capitol, House Room 1, Richmond, Virginia.  

A review of uniform acts to be considered by the National 
Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws at its 
annual meeting in July. 

Contact:  Jessica D. French, Senior Attorney, Virginia 
Uniform Laws Commissioners, Division of Legislative 
Services, 910 Capitol St., 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-3591, FAX (804) 371-8705, email 
jfrench@leg.state.va.us. 

VIRGINIA COMMISSION ON YOUTH 

† September 16, 2007 - 5 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 17, 2007 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† September 18, 2007- 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Hotel Roanoke and Conference Center, Roanoke, Virginia.  

A statewide conference co-sponsored by the Virginia 
Commission on Youth and the Virginia Department of 
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Mental Health, Mental Retardation, and Substance Abuse 
Services for behavioral health and juvenile justice 
professionals, caregivers, families, and youth on systems of 
care and ways to utilize evidence-based practices for youth 
with behavioral health disorders within a system of care. 

Contact:  Leah Hamaker, Senior Legislative Policy Analyst, 
Virginia Commission on Youth, General Assembly Bldg., 
Suite 269, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2481, 
email coymail@leg.state.va.us. 

CHRONOLOGICAL LIST 

OPEN MEETINGS 
June 25 

† Game and Inland Fisheries, Department of 
Housing and Community Development, Board of 
† Real Estate Board 

June 26 
Contractors, Board for 
Labor and Industry, Department of 

- Safety and Health Codes Board 
Marine Resources Commission 
Nursing, Board of 
† Towing and Recovery Operators, Board of 

June 27 
Accountancy, Board of 
Health, Department of 

- Sewage Handling and Disposal Appeals Review Board 
† Protection and Advocacy, Virginia Office for 

- PAIMI Advisory Council 
Real Estate Board 
Water Control Board, State 

June 28 
† Contractors, Board for 
Education, Board of 
Funeral Directors and Embalmers, Board of 
† Higher Education Tuition Trust Fund, Virginia 
Mines, Minerals and Energy, Department of 
Prisoner Reentry to Society, Joint Subcommittee to Study 

the Commonwealth's Program for 
Protection and Advocacy, Virginia Office for 
Public Guardianship and Conservator Advisory Board, 

Virginia 
Water Control Board, State 

June 29 
† Dentistry, Board of 
† Psychology, Board of 

July 2 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 

July 6 
Art and Architectural Review Board 

July 9 
† Audit and Review Commission, Joint Legislative 

July 10 
† Administrative Rules, Joint Commission on 

Contractors, Board for 
† Higher Education for Virginia, State Council of 
Long-Term Care Administrators, Board of 
Polygraph Examiners Advisory Board 
Psychology, Board of 
† Rehabilitative Services, Department of 
† Towing and Recovery Operators, Board of 

July 11 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of 

- Virginia Marine Products Board 
† Environmental Quality, Department of 
Geology, Board for 
Hearing Aid Specialists, Board for 
Medicine, Board of 
Natural Resources, Foundation for Virginia's 
† Uniform Laws Commissioners, Virginia 

July 12 
Auctioneers Board 
Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, Board of 
† Environmental Quality, Department of 
Freedom of Information Advisory Council, Virginia 
Social Work, Board of 

July 13 
Dentistry, Board of 
Social Work, Board of 

July 16 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 
Local Government, Commission on 
Nursing, Board of 
Veterans Services, Department of 

- Board of Veterans Services 
July 17 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of 
- Virginia Peanut Board 

† Contractors, Board for 
Corrections, Board of 
† Environmental Quality, Department of 
† Nursing, Board of 
People with Disabilities, Virginia Board for 
Soil Scientists and Wetland Professionals, Board for 

Professional 
July 18 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of 
- Virginia Small Grains Board 

Community Colleges, State Board for 
Compensation Board 
Corrections, Board of 
Education, Board of 
Education, Secretary of 

- Start Strong Pre-K Council 
Nursing, Board of 
Real Estate Board 
Retirement System, Virginia 
Transportation Board, Commonwealth 
Treasury Board 
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July 19 
† Assistive Technology Loan Fund Authority 
Community Colleges, State Board for 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 

- Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board 
Design-Build/Construction Management Review Board 
Education, Board of 
Environmental Quality, Department of 
Human Resources, Virginia Council on 
Medicine, Board of 
Nursing, Board of 
† Pesticide Control Board 
Real Estate Board 
Retirement System, Virginia 
Transportation Board, Commonwealth 

July 20 
† Conservation and Recreation, Department of 

- Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board 
Education, Board of 

July 23 
Protection and Advocacy, Virginia Office for 

July 24 
Contractors, Board for 
Protection and Advocacy, Virginia Office for 

July 25 
† Air Pollution Control Board, State 
Code Commission, Virginia 
Education, Board of 
Health Professions, Department of 
Manufactured Housing Board, Virginia 
Medicine, Board of 
Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 
† Social Services, Department of 

July 26 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 
Board for 

Branch Pilots, Board for 
Education, Secretary of 

July 27 
Branch Pilots, Board for 
Rehabilitative Services, Department of 

- Virginia Brain Injury Council 
July 30 

Barbers and Cosmetology, Board for 
Transportation, Department of 

July 31 
Funeral Directors and Embalmers, Board of 
Medicine, Board of 

August 1 
† Lottery Board, State 

August 2 
Medical Assistance Services, Department of 

August 3 
Art and Architectural Review Board 

Dentistry, Board of 
August 6 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 
Barbers and Cosmetology, Board for 

August 8 
† Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 
Board for 

† Forensic Science, Board of 
Health, Department of 
Medicine, Board of 

August 10 
Health, Department of 
Medicine, Board of 

August 13 
† Rehabilitative Services, Department of 
Taxation, Department of 

August 14 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 
Board for 

Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Board 
August 15 

Code Commission, Virginia 
Education, Secretary of 

- Start Strong Pre-K Council 
† Social Services, State Board of 
Treasury Board 
Retirement System, Virginia 

August 16 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 
Board for 

Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
Design-Build/Construction Management Review Board 
Fire Services Board, Virginia 
Health, Department of 

- State EMS Advisory Board 
† Social Services, State Board of 

August 17 
Dentistry, Board of 
Fire Services Board, Virginia 
Health, Department of 

- State EMS Advisory Board 
Opticians, Board for 

August 18 
Fire Services Board, Virginia 

August 20 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 

August 21 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 
Board for 

Real Estate Board Appraiser Board 



Calendar of Events 

Volume 23, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 25, 2007 

3654 

August 22 
Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, Virginia Board for 

August 23 
Medicine, Board of 

September 5 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 
Outdoors Foundation, Virginia 
Protection and Advocacy, Virginia Office for 

September 6 
Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, Board of 
† Dentistry, Board of 
Outdoors Foundation, Virginia 

September 7 
Art and Architectural Review Board 
† Dentistry, Board of 

September 10 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 
Contractors, Board for 
Taxation, Department of 

September 11 
Contractors, Board for 
Gaming Board, Charitable 
Higher Education for Virginia, State Council of 
Medical Assistance Services, Board of 

September 12 
† Juvenile Justice, State Board of 

September 13 
† Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 
Board for 

† Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, Board of 
† Criminal Justice Services Board 

September 14 
† Dentistry, Board of 
† Health, Department of 

September 16 
† Youth, Virginia Commission on 

September 17 
† Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Board 
† Nursing, Board of 
† Professional and Occupational Regulation 
† Veterans Services, Department of 

- Board of Veterans Services 
† Youth, Virginia Commission on 

September 18 
† Corrections, Board of 
† Nursing, Board of 
† Research and Technology Advisory Commission 
† Youth, Virginia Commission on 

September 19 
† Community Colleges, State Board for 
† Corrections, Board of 
† Education, Secretary of 

- Start Strong Pre-K Council 
† Nursing, Board of 

† People with Disabilities, Virginia Board for 
† Real Estate Board 
† Retirement System, Virginia 
† Transportation Board, Commonwealth 
† Treasury Board 
† Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators, Board for 

September 20 
† Conservation and Recreation, Department of 

- Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board 
† Design-Build/Construction Management Review Board 
† Human Resources, Virginia Council on 
† Nursing, Board of 
† People with Disabilities, Virginia Board for 
† Public Guardianship and Conservator Advisory Board, 
Virginia 
† Real Estate Board 
† Transportation Board, Commonwealth 

September 21 
† Medicine, Board of 
† People with Disabilities, Virginia Board for 
† Rehabilitative Services, Department of 

- Commonwealth Neurotrauma Trust Fund Advisory 
Board 

September 24 
† Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 

September 25 
† Protection and Advocacy, Virginia Office for 
† Retirement System, Virginia 

PUBLIC HEARINGS 
June 28 

† Funeral Directors and Embalmers, Board of 
July 2 

Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services, Department of 

July 9 
Education; Juvenile Justice; Mental Health, Mental 

Retardation and Substance Abuse Services; and Social 
Services, State Boards of 

July 10 
Education; Juvenile Justice; Mental Health, Mental 

Retardation and Substance Abuse Services; and Social 
Services, State Boards of 

July 11 
Education; Juvenile Justice; Mental Health, Mental 

Retardation and Substance Abuse Services; and Social 
Services, State Boards of 

July 12 
† Auctioneers Board 
Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, Board of 

July 17 
Nursing and Medicine, Joint Boards of 

July 18 
† Mandated Health Insurance Benefits, Special Advisory 
Commission 
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July 24 
Housing and Community Development, Board of 

July 26 
† Water Control Board, State 

August 1 
† Real Estate Board 

August 3 
Dentistry, Board of 

August 9 
Counseling, Board of 

August 23 
† Agriculture and Consumer Services, State Board of 

September 13 
Criminal Justice Services Board 
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