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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS

Proposed Regulation

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 50-22. Board for Contractors Regulations (amending 18 VAC 50-22-40, 18 VAC 50-22-50, 18 VAC 50-22-60; adding 18 VAC 50-22-300 through 18 VAC 50-22-350).

Statutory Authority:  §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code of Virginia.
Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until September 7, 2007.

Public Hearing Information:  

July 17, 2007 - 10 a.m. - Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor Conference Room, Richmond, VA
Agency Contact:  Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for Contractors, 3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 367-2474, or email contractor@dpor.virginia.gov.

Basis:  As provided in Chapters 454 and 475 of the 2006 Acts of Assembly, § 54.1-1102 of the Code of Virginia was amended to require that the board promulgate regulations adding prelicense education to the eligibility criteria for licensure as a contractor. 

Section 54.1-1102 of the Code of Virginia provides the authority for the board to promulgate regulations for the licensure of contractors in the Commonwealth.  The content of the regulations is determined at the discretion of the board, but shall not be in conflict with the purposes of the statutory authority.

Purpose:  In order to protect the public from inexperienced, irresponsible or incompetent contractors, the Commonwealth initiated the licensing of those performing work in the construction industry in 1938.  The purpose of amending these regulations is to add a requirement that a member of responsible management or the designated employee of an applicant successfully complete a business education course as a prerequisite for licensure as a contractor.  The implementation of this requirement and the amendment to the regulations should result in a decrease of violations of the standards of conduct set forth in the board’s regulations.

Substance:  Since the purpose of this action is to promulgate regulations mandating the successful completion of a business class, approved by the Board for Contractors, as a prerequisite for licensure as a contractor in Virginia, all substantive changes involve the identification of the new requirement and the logistical implementation of the approval process for education providers.  The entry portion of the regulations (Part II) has been amended in order to add the prelicense education requirement to the applicable sections for each of the three license classes.
Prior to the 2006 amendment to Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, there were no specific education requirements for businesses applying for contractor licenses.  The addition of a prelicense education requirement to the current eligibility criteria necessitates a new portion of the regulations in order to lay the logistical groundwork for the approval of courses, registration and reporting of students and other requirements.
Issues:  Since January 2003, the board has adjudicated nearly 2,000 disciplinary cases, with over 1,900 of those cases involving disciplinary action against businesses holding a contractor license.  As a result of those cases the board has levied $4.2 million in fines, revoked 618 licenses, sent 1,059 contractors to remedial education classes and reimbursed consumers over $3 million from the Contractor Transaction Recovery Fund.   The citizens filing complaints against and being harmed by these contractors were subject to deliberate fraud in only a small percentage of the cases, while over three-quarters of the sanctions levied by the board involve violations that could have been prevented if the licensees had been provided with the knowledge of some basic business tools and their relationship to the Board for Contractors Regulations.  The implementation of this requirement will likely result in a decrease in the number of complaints received against contractors who have been through the training, a significant advantage to the public, in that less consumers will be subject to financial harm.
The workload of the Board for Contractors continues to increase at a rapid pace.  Since FY 2003 the board has increased the number of meetings held per year by 50%, to once a month.  The increase in the workload has been mirrored by an increase in expenses, a result of more investigations, more hearings and a larger compliance caseload.  Even a small decrease in the number of cases processed by the board or DPOR could result in a decrease in expenditures.

An increase in the knowledge base of the regulated community may result in more informative business decisions, which could lead to more successful businesses.  Syllabuses of courses approved by the board after the promulgation of emergency regulations include a module on permitting and inspection requirements of local government, an area of concern reflected in disciplinary data.  Educating contractors in the statewide permitting and inspection requirements set forth in the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code should result in a greater level of compliance with local requirements, a pleasant "side effect" for local governments.

The promulgation of these regulations poses no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth.
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation.  Virginia Acts of Assembly (2006) Chapters 454 and 475 specify that the Board of Contractors (Board) “shall include in its regulations a requirement that as a condition for initial licensure as a contractor the designated employee or a member of the responsible management personnel of the contractor shall have successfully completed a Board-approved basic business course, which shall not exceed eight hours of classroom instruction.”  The Board proposes new regulatory language that: 1) includes the requirement that as a condition for initial licensure as a contractor the designated employee or a member of the responsible management personnel of the contractor shall have successfully completed a Board-approved basic business course, 2) specifies required attributes of the basic business course, 3) specifies requirements for course providers, and 4) details how course results are to be reported.

Result of Analysis.  There is insufficient data to accurately compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs.  Detailed analysis of the benefits and costs can be found in the next section.

Estimated Economic Impact.  As indicated above, Virginia Acts of Assembly (2006) Chapters 454 and 475 amended § 54.1-1102 of the Code of Virginia to state that “… the contractor shall have successfully completed a Board-approved basic business course, which shall not exceed eight hours of classroom instruction.”  The Board proposes to specify in these regulations that “Courses must be eight hours in length.”  Thus under the proposed regulations the course cannot be less than eight hours.  

The most recent release (May 2005) of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment Statistics listed the average hourly wage for a construction manager in Virginia as $43.47.  This information allows us to estimate the value of an hour of a construction manager’s time to be $43.47.  Just accounting for the time of the course, and not including travel time, the required eight-hour course will cost approximately $348 of the construction manager’s time.   According to the Board, the providers have charged from $130 to $400 for their respective courses while this regulation has been in effect as an emergency regulation.  Thus not including the time and dollars associated with travel, the required basic business course will cost contractors at least $475.
According to the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR):

Since January 2003, the Board has adjudicated nearly 2000 disciplinary cases, with over 1900 of those cases involving disciplinary action against businesses holding a contractor license. As a result of those cases the Board has levied $4.2 million in fines, revoked 618 licenses, sent 1059 contractors to remedial education classes and reimbursed consumers over $3 million from the Contractor Transaction Recovery Fund. The citizens filing complaints against and being harmed by these contractors were subject to deliberate fraud in only a small percentage of the cases, while over three-quarters of the sanctions levied by the Board involve violations that could have been prevented if the licensees had been provided with the knowledge of some basic business tools … . The implementation of this requirement will likely result in a decrease in the number of complaints received against contractors who have been through the training, a significant advantage to the public, in that less consumers will be subject to financial harm.

Thus, to the extent that the required basic business course will in practice reduce the incidence of unintended financial harm, the requirement that the contractor shall have successfully completed a board-approved basic business course will provide public benefit.  The magnitude of this potential public benefit is not yet known.  Therefore we cannot determine definitively whether the value of this benefit exceeds the more easily estimated cost of the required course. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed amendments affect the approximate 10,000 applicants for new contractor licenses each year.  According to DPOR, about 99 percent of those applications are for small businesses.  The proposed amendments also affect providers of basic business courses.

Localities Particularly Affected.  The proposed regulations do not disproportionately affect specific localities.

Projected Impact on Employment.  The requirement that as a condition for initial licensure as a contractor the designated employee or a member of the responsible management personnel of the contractor shall have successfully completed a Board-approved basic business course will increase employment for providers of these courses.  Most potential contractors will absorb the cost of this new requirement.  The cost may discourage a few marginal potential contractors from entering the business.

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The requirement that as a condition for initial licensure as a contractor the designated employee or a member of the responsible management personnel of the contractor shall have successfully completed a Board-approved basic business course will in most cases increase the effective cost for initial licensure as a contractor by at least $475.  The firms will receive some benefit from the course; so, the effective net cost to the firms will be somewhat less.  The requirement will clearly increase demand for the course and will consequently increase revenue and net value for providers of the courses. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, as of May 2005 the average hourly wage for a construction manager in Virginia was $43.47.  Thus we can estimate the value of an hour of a construction manager’s time to be $43.47.  Just accounting for the time of the course, and not including travel time, the required eight-hour course will cost construction managers approximately $348 of the construction manager’s time.   According to the Board, the providers have charged from $130 to $400 for their respective courses while this regulation has been in effect as an emergency regulation.  Thus not including the time and dollars associated with travel, the required basic business course will cost small contractors at least $475.  
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact.  The Code of Virginia (§ 54.1-1102) states that the Board of Contractors “shall include in its regulations a requirement that as a condition for initial licensure as a contractor the designated employee or a member of the responsible management personnel of the contractor shall have successfully completed a Board-approved basic business course, which shall not exceed eight hours of classroom instruction.”  Thus, the Code allows the possibility that a course provider could design a basic business course that sufficiently covered the necessary material in less than eight hours.  The proposed regulations (18 VAC 50-22 – 300) state that “Courses must be eight hours in length.”  The adverse impact to small businesses could potentially be modestly lessened if the proposed regulations matched the statutory language that allows for courses of less than eight hours.  The current Board may not entertain the possibility that a course provider could design a basic business course that sufficiently covered the necessary material in less than eight hours, but future board members may be willing to consider such courses.
References

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment Statistics, May 2005, “http://www.bls.gov/oes/#data”
Legal Mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 (06).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts.
Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency concurs with the economic impact analysis completed by the Department of Planning and Budget and will maintain data that will help in that determination at a later date.
Summary:

The proposed amendments implement new prelicense education requirements as mandated by Chapters 454 and 475 of the Acts of Assembly and promulgated as emergency regulations by the board on August 21, 2006.

The proposed regulations amend sections regarding entry requirements for Class A, B and C contractors by adding the requirement of successful completion of board-approved prelicense education for the designated employee or responsible management.  A new section (Part VI) is added to the regulations to provide eligibility and reporting criteria for education providers and education courses.

18 VAC 50‑22‑40. Requirements for a Class C license.

 A. A firm applying for a Class C license must meet the requirements of this section.

B. For every classification or specialty in which the firm seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified individual who meets the following requirements:

1. Is at least 18 years old;

2. Has a minimum of two years experience in the classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier;

3. Is a full‑time employee of the firm as defined in this chapter or is a member of the responsible management of the firm;

4. Where appropriate, has passed the trade‑related examination or has completed an education and training program approved by the board and required for the specialties listed below:

Blast/explosive contracting
Electrical

Fire sprinkler
Gas fitting

HVAC

Plumbing

Blast/explosive contracting

Radon mitigation

Water well drilling

Fire sprinkler

5. Has obtained, pursuant to the tradesman regulations, a master tradesman license as required for those classifications and specialties listed in 18 VAC 50‑22‑20 and 18 VAC 50‑22‑30.

C. The firm shall provide information for the past five years prior to application on any outstanding, past‑due debts and judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its qualified individual or individuals, and all members of the responsible management of the firm shall submit information on any past‑due debts and judgments or defaults on bonds directly related to the practice of contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1‑1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

D. The firm, the qualified individual, and all members of the responsible management of the firm shall disclose at the time of application any current or previous contractor licenses held in Virginia or in other jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions taken on these licenses. This includes but is not limited to any monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary termination of a license in Virginia or in any other jurisdiction.

E. In accordance with § 54.1‑204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the following information about the firm, all members of the responsible management, and the qualified individual or individuals for the firm:

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the date of application; and

2. All felony convictions during their lifetime.

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1‑204 of the Code of Virginia.

F. A member of responsible management shall have successfully completed a board-approved basic business course.

18 VAC 50‑22‑50. Requirements for a Class B license.

A. A firm applying for a Class B license must meet the requirements of this section.

B. A firm shall name a designated employee who meets the following requirements:

1. Is at least 18 years old;

2. Is a full‑time employee of the firm as defined in this chapter, or is a member of responsible management as defined in this chapter;

3. Has passed a board‑approved examination as required by § 54.1‑1108 of the Code of Virginia or has been exempted from the exam requirement in accordance with § 54.1‑1108.1 of the Code of Virginia; and

4. Has followed all rules established by the board or by the testing service acting on behalf of the board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any written instructions communicated prior to the examination date and any oral or written instructions given at the site on the date of the exam.

C. For every classification or specialty in which the firm seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified individual who meets the following requirements:

1. Is at least 18 years old;

2. Has a minimum of three years experience in the classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier;

3. Is a full‑time employee of the firm as defined in this chapter or is a member of the responsible management of the firm;

4. Where appropriate, has passed the trade‑related examination or has completed an education and training program approved by the board and required for the classifications and specialties listed below:

Blast/explosive contracting

Electrical

Fire sprinkler

Gas fitting

HVAC

Plumbing

Radon mitigation

Water well drilling

5. Has obtained, pursuant to the tradesman regulations, a master tradesman license as required for those classifications and specialties listed in 18 VAC 50‑22‑20 and 18 VAC 50‑22‑30.

D. Each firm shall submit information on its financial position. Excluding any property owned as tenants by the entirety, the firm shall state a net worth or equity of $15,000 or more.

E. Each firm shall provide information for the five years prior to application on any outstanding, past‑due debts and judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its designated employee, qualified individual or individuals, and all members of the responsible management of the firm shall submit information on any past‑due debts and judgments or defaults on bonds directly related to the practice of contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1‑1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

F. The firm, the designated employee, the qualified individual, and all members of the responsible management of the firm shall disclose at the time of application any current or previous substantial identities of interest with any contractor licenses issued in Virginia or in other jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions taken on these licenses. This includes but is not limited to any monetary penalties, fines, suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action. The board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant when any of the parties listed above have had a substantial identity of interest (as deemed in § 54.1‑1110 of the Code of Virginia) with any firm that has had a license suspended, revoked, voluntarily terminated or surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action in Virginia or any other jurisdiction.

G. In accordance with § 54.1‑204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the following information about the firm, designated employee, all members of the responsible management, and the qualified individual or individuals for the firm:

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the date of application; and

2. All felony convictions during their lifetime.

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1‑204 of the Code of Virginia.

H. The designated employee or a member of responsible management shall have successfully completed a board-approved basic business course.
18 VAC 50‑22‑60. Requirements for a Class A license.

A. A firm applying for a Class A license shall meet all of the requirements of this section.

B. A firm shall name a designated employee who meets the following requirements:

1. Is a least 18 years old;

2. Is a full‑time employee of the firm as defined in this chapter or is a member of the responsible management of the firm as defined in this chapter;

3. Has passed a board‑approved examination as required by § 54.1‑1106 of the Code of Virginia or has been exempted from the exam requirement in accordance with § 54.1‑1108.1 of the Code of Virginia; and

4. Has followed all rules established by the board or by the testing service acting on behalf of the board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any written instructions communicated prior to the examination date and any oral or written instructions given at the site on the day of the exam.

C. For every classification or specialty in which the firm seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified individual who meets the following requirements:

1. Is a least 18 years old;

2. Has a minimum of five years of experience in the classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier;

3. Is a full‑time employee of the firm as defined in this chapter or is a member of the firm as defined in this chapter or is a member of the responsible management of the firm;

4. Where appropriate, has passed the trade‑related examination or has completed an education and training program approved by the board and required for the classifications and specialties listed below:

Blast/explosive contracting

Electrical

Fire sprinkler

Gas fitting

HVAC

Plumbing

Radon mitigation

Water well drilling

5. Has obtained, pursuant to the tradesman regulations, a master tradesman license as required for those classifications and specialties listed in 18 VAC 50‑22‑20 and 18 VAC 50‑22‑30.

D. Each firm shall submit information on its financial position. Excluding any property owned as tenants by the entirety, the firm shall state a net worth or equity of $45,000.

E. The firm shall provide information for the five years prior to application on any outstanding, past‑due debts and judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its designated employee, qualified individual or individuals, and all members of the responsible management of the firm shall submit information on any past‑due debts and judgments or defaults on bonds directly related to the practice of contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1‑1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

F. The firm, the designated employee, the qualified individual, and all members of the responsible management of the firm shall disclose at the time of application any current or previous substantial identities of interest with any contractor licenses issued in Virginia or in other jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions taken on these licenses. This includes but is not limited to, any monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, or surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action. The board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant when any of the parties listed above have had a substantial identity of interest (as deemed in § 54.1‑1110 of the Code of Virginia) with any firm that has had a license suspended, revoked, voluntarily terminated, or surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action in Virginia or in any other jurisdiction.

G. In accordance with § 54.1‑204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the following information about the firm, all members of the responsible management, the designated employee and the qualified individual or individuals for the firm:

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the date of application; and

2. All felony convictions during their lifetime.

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1‑204 of the Code of Virginia.

H. The designated employee or a member of responsible management shall have successfully completed a board-approved basic business course.

PART VI.

PRELICENSE EDUCATION.

18 VAC 50-22-300. Prelicense education courses.

All courses offered by prelicense education providers must be approved by the board prior to the initial offering of the course, and shall cover business principles related to the standards of conduct found in 18 VAC 50-22-260 B and other applicable requirements of continued licensure set forth in this chapter. Courses must be eight hours in length. Correspondence and other distance learning courses must include appropriate testing procedures to verify completion of the course.

18 VAC 50-22-310. Requirements for prelicense education providers.

A. 
Each provider of a prelicense education course shall submit an application for course approval on a form provided by the board. The application shall include but is not limited to:
1. The name of the provider;

2. Provider contact person, address and telephone number;

3. Course contact hours;

4. Schedule of courses, if established, including dates, time and locations;

5. Instructor information, including name, license number(s) if applicable, and a list of other appropriate trade designations;

6. Course and material fees; and

7. Course syllabus.

B. 
All providers must establish and maintain a record for each student. The record shall include: the student’s name and address; social security number or DMV control number; the course name and clock hours attended; the course syllabus or outline; the name or names of the instructor; the date of successful completion; and the board’s course code. Records shall be available for inspection during normal business hours by authorized representatives of the board. Providers must maintain class records for a minimum of five years.

18 VAC 50-22-320. Reporting of course completion.

All prelicense education providers shall electronically transmit course completion data to the board in an approved format within seven days of the completion of each individual course. The transmittal will include each student’s name, social security number or DMV control number, the date of successful completion of the course and the board’s course code. 
18 VAC 50-22-330. Posting prelicense education course certificates of approval.

Copies of prelicense education course certificates of approval must be available at the location a course is taught.
18 VAC 50-30-340. Reporting of changes.

Any change in the information provided in 18 VAC 50-22-310 A must be reported to the board within 30 days of the change with the exception of changes in the schedule of courses, which must be reported within 10 days of the change. Failure to report the changes as required may result in the withdrawal of approval of a prelicense education provider by the board. 

18 VAC 50-30-350. Denial or withdrawal of approval.

The board may deny or withdraw approval of any prelicense education provider for the following reasons:
1. The courses being offered no longer meet the standards established by the board. 

2. The provider, through an agent or otherwise, advertises its services in a fraudulent or deceptive way.

3. The provider, instructor, or designee of the provider falsifies any information relating to the application for approval, course information, student records or fails to produce records required by the Board for Contractors Tradesman Regulations.

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-340; Filed June 14, 2007, 4:05 p.m.
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