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TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY

Final Regulation
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The agency is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with §2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is involved. The Department of Labor and Industry will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision.

Title of Regulation: 16VAC15-21. Maximum Garnishment Amounts (amending 16VAC15-21-30).
Statutory Authority: §§40.1-28.10 and 34-29 of the Code of Virginia; 29 USC §201.

Effective Date: August 23, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Ellen Marie Hess, Director, Division of Labor and Employment Law, Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor Building, 13 South 13th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3224, FAX (804) 371-2324 or email emh@doli.virginia.gov.

Summary:
The amendment raises the amount of weekly earnings that are protected from garnishment from $206 to $234. The amendment is based on an increase to the federal minimum wage rate that takes effect on July 24, 2007, and raises the minimum wage to $5.85 per hour.
16VAC15-21-30. Calculation of maximum garnishment amounts for an ordinary debt. 

A. Weekly earnings. 

1. If the amount of weekly disposable earnings equals 40 times the F.M.W.R. or less, nothing may be withheld for garnishment. 

2. If the weekly disposable earnings exceed 40 times the F.M.W.R., the maximum amount that can be withheld for garnishment shall be either 25% of the weekly disposable earnings or the amount by which the weekly disposable earnings exceed 40 times the F.M.W.R., whichever is less, so long as the amount withheld does not reduce the weekly disposable earnings below 40 times the F.M.W.R. Based on a federal minimum wage rate of $5.15 $5.85 per hour, 40 times the F.M.W.R. is $206.00 $234. Thus, as of August 15, 2005 July 24, 2007, if the weekly disposable earnings are less than or equal to $206.00 $234, nothing may be withheld for garnishment. An increase in the F.M.W.R. will increase the amount of weekly disposable earnings that would be shielded from garnishment. 

B. Biweekly earnings. The maximum amount which may be withheld for garnishment from biweekly earnings shall be calculated in the same manner as described for weekly earnings in subsection A of this section, except that the corresponding weekly amounts in subdivisions A 1, A 2 and A 3 of this section shall be multiplied by 2. 

C. Semimonthly earnings. The maximum amount which may be withheld for garnishment from semimonthly earnings shall be calculated in the same manner as described for weekly earnings in subsection A of this section, except that the corresponding weekly amounts in subdivisions A 1, A 2 and A 3 of this section shall be multiplied by 2.16665. 

D. Monthly earnings. The maximum amount of monthly disposable earnings which may be withheld for garnishment shall be calculated in the same manner as weekly earnings in subsection A of this section, except that the corresponding weekly amounts in subdivisions A 1, A 2, and A 3 of this section shall be multiplied by 4.33330. 

E. Earnings for a period of more than one month. The maximum amount which may be withheld in garnishment for work periods in excess of one month shall be calculated in the same manner as described for weekly earnings in subsection A of this section, except that the corresponding weekly amounts in subdivisions A 1, A 2 and A 3 of this section shall be multiplied by the number of weeks worked. The number of weeks worked shall be calculated by dividing the total number of days in the period worked by 7, calculated to 4 decimal places. 
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