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TITLE 21. SECURITIES AND RETAIL FRANCHISING

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION, DIVISION OF SECURITIES AND RETAIL FRANCHISING

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with §2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court of record.

Title of Regulation: 21VAC5-110. Retail Franchising Act Rules (amending 21VAC5-110; adding 21VAC5-110-65, 21VAC5-110-75).
Statutory Authority:  §§12.1-13 and 13.1-572 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: July 1, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Thomas M. Gouldin, Deputy Director, Division of Securities and Retail Franchising, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9755, FAX (804) 371-9911, or email don.gouldin@scc.virginia.gov.

Summary:
The amendments provide for (i) an alternative method of complying with the financial requirements for applicants for registration and renewal of the franchise; (ii) escrow and deferral of franchise fees, including all of the requirements for complying with the new rules and any forms necessary to complete compliance with the new rule; and (iii) terms and conditions for a franchisor to request an exemption from the registration requirements of the Retail Franchising Act or to comply with a self-executing exemption, including the required filing fee for the exemption and any forms necessary to complete the application for the exemption process.
After receipt of public comments and a State Corporation Commission hearing, the following changes were made to the proposed regulation:
1. For consistency with the amended Retail Franchising Act, the phrase "to the franchisor" was added to subdivisions A and G of 21VAC5-110-65;
2. Subdivision B of 21VAC5-110-65 was changed to enable franchisors to use a federal or state chartered bank or trust company not located in the Commonwealth as an escrow depository, provided the bank or trust company is authorized to transact business in the Commonwealth;
3. For clarity, the phrase "48 hours" in subdivision D 2 of 21VAC5-110-65 was changed to "two business days;"
4. Subdivision E 1 of 21VAC5-110-65 was changed to provide that, upon release of escrowed funds to a franchisor, any interest earned shall also be distributed to the franchisor;
5. Subdivision 1 c of 21VAC5-110-75 was deleted;
6. For consistency with the amended Retail Franchising Act, the phrase "or exempt" was added to line five of subdivision 2 of 21VAC5-110-75;
7. Subdivisions 3 a (1) and (2) of 21VAC5-110-75 were changed to recognize the experience of affiliates or predecessors of the franchisor that have franchised the same business as the franchisor;
8. Subdivision 3 a (3) of 21VAC5-110-75 was deleted, eliminating the requirement of an initial investment by a franchisee of more than $100,000;
9. Subdivision 4 of 21VAC5-110-75 was deleted, eliminating the exemption for franchises requiring an initial investment by a franchisee of more than $1,000,000;
10. Subdivision 6 a of 21VAC5-110-75 was changed to delete references to "first personal meeting" and substitute "14 calendar" days for "10 business" days;
11. The opening clause of the Escrow Agreement (Form K) was amended to recognize nationally chartered banks in addition to state chartered banks;
12. Form H was amended to correspond with changes made to 21VAC5-110-75 and the Form H was amended; and
13. Other changes include renumbered subdivisions and references thereto, and changes to grammar and style.
AT RICHMOND, JUNE 18, 2007

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION

                                                   CASE NO. SEC-2007-00016

Ex Parte:  In the matter of 

Adopting a Revision to the Rules

Governing The Virginia Retail Franchising Act

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDED RULES

By order entered April 6, 2007, all interested persons were ordered to take notice that the State Corporation Commission (“Commission”) would consider the adoption of a revision to Chapter 110 of Title 21 of the Virginia Administrative Code entitled “Virginia Retail Franchising Act Rules,” which added new rules 21 VAC 5-110-65 and 21 VAC 5-110-75 (the “Rules”). On April 24, 2007, the Division of Securities and Retail Franchising ("Division") mailed the Order to Take Notice of the proposed Rules to all franchisor registrants and applicants as of April 16, 2007, and to all interested parties pursuant to the Virginia Retail Franchising Act, §§ 13.1‑557 et seq. of the Code of Virginia. The Order to Take Notice described the proposed amendments and afforded interested parties an opportunity to file written comments or requests for hearing by May 16, 2007.

Nine comment letters were filed. Two of the comment letters were received after the May 16, 2007 deadline. Two of those commenting requested to be heard at the hearing, and one of the requests to be heard was made after the May 16, 2007 deadline. By motion, that commenter, James A. Wilson (“Wilson”), requested that his written comments be accepted out of time and to be heard at the hearing. The Division did not object to Wilson’s request on the day of the hearing.

The Commission conducted a hearing on May 29, 2007. Staff entered into the record the Order to Take Notice, a copy of the originally proposed Rules, a copy of the certification of mailing, a copy of a summary of the comment letters with the Division's response, and a copy of the proposed Rules with the Division's accepted changes. The Commission took public testimony from three commenters.

The Commission, upon consideration of the proposed Rules, the recommendation of the Division for certain changes to be made in response to the comments, and the record in this case, finds that the proposed Rules should be adopted as modified.

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT:

(1)  The proposed Rules, as modified, are attached hereto, made a part hereof, and are hereby ADOPTED effective July 1, 2007. 

(2)  This matter is dismissed from the Commission's docket, and the papers herein shall be placed in the file for ended causes.

AN ATTESTED COPY of this order shall be sent to each of the following by regular mail by the Division to:  Christina M. Noyes, Esquire, Gust Rosenfeld, 201 East Washington, Suite 800, Phoenix, Arizona 85004-2327; Jeffrey I. Burnett, Group Vice President‑Legal, Wyndham Hotel Group, 1 Sylvan Way, Parsippany, New Jersey 07054; Patrick J. Maslyn, Esquire, Hunton & Williams, LLP, Riverfront Plaza, East Tower, 951 East Byrd Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219-4074; R. Scott Caulkins, Esquire, LeClair Ryan, 225 Reinekers Lane, Suite 700, Alexandria, Virginia 22314; Stephen W. Maxey, Maxey Consulting Group, LLC, 22307 Hixson Court, Richmond, Virginia 23236; O. Machelle Morris, General Counsel, American Lenders Service Co., P.O. Drawer 7238, Odessa, Texas 79760-7238; David French, Vice President, Government Relations, International Franchise Association, 1501 K Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, D.C. 20005; A Corp d/b/a Rooterman, c/o Jenny J. Liu, Esquire, P.O. Box 290, Billerica, Massachusetts 01862; James M. Wilson, Esquire, Wilson Stoyanooff, 3741 Westerre Parkway, Suite D, Richmond, Virginia 23233; the Commission's Division of Information Resources and Office of General Counsel; and such other persons as the Division deems appropriate.

CHAPTER 110 

RETAIL FRANCHISING ACT RULES AND FORMS 

21VAC5-110-65. Escrow and deferral.
A. Escrow requirement. The commission may require a franchisor to escrow franchise fees and other payments made by a franchisee [ to the franchisor ] until the franchisor's pre-opening obligations under the franchise agreement have been satisfied. The commission may require escrow at any time after the submission of a registration or renewal application and upon a finding that the grounds enumerated in clause (i) of subdivision A 2 of §13.1-562 of the Act as provided in Chapter 668 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly exist. 
B. Depository. Funds subject to an escrow condition shall be placed in a separate trust account with a national bank located [ in Virginia ] or a [ Virginia ] state chartered bank or trust company [ transacting business in the Commonwealth of Virginia ]. 

C. Compliance with escrow requirement. The franchisor shall file with the commission the following to comply with the commission’s escrow requirement: 
1. An original, fully executed copy of the Escrow Agreement, Form K;
2. A written consent from the depository agreeing to operate the escrow account under this regulation; 
3. The name and address of the depository and the account number of the escrow account; 
4. The name, address, telephone number and email address of an individual or individuals at the depository who may be contacted by the commission regarding the escrow account; and 
5. An amended franchise application reflecting, in Item 5 of the offering circular or in a Virginia Addendum to the offering circular, that the commission has imposed the escrow requirement and the material terms of that escrow condition, including the name of the depository. 
D. Operation of escrow account. After the commission imposes an escrow requirement upon the franchisor, the franchisor shall: 
1. Make franchisee checks for franchise fees or other payments for the franchisor payable to the depository; and
2. Deposit with the depository, within [ 48 hours two business days ] of the receipt, the funds described in subdivision 1 of this subsection;
Deposits made to the depository shall remain escrowed until the commission authorizes the release of the funds.
E. Release of escrowed funds.
1. A franchisor may apply to the commission for the release of escrowed funds [ together with any interest earned ]. 
2. A franchisor's application to the commission to authorize the release of escrowed funds to the franchisor shall be in writing, verified by an authorized officer of the franchisor and shall contain: 
a. The franchisor’s statement that all proceeds from the grant of franchises have been placed with the depository in accordance with the terms and conditions of the escrow requirement; 
b. The depository’s statement, signed by an appropriate officer, setting forth the aggregate amount of escrowed funds deposited with the depository and the franchisor's account number with the depository; 
c. A list of the names and addresses of each franchisee and the amount held in the escrow account for the account of each franchisee; 
d. The amount of funds sought to be released;
e. A written certification from the franchisee stating the amount of funds to be released that acknowledges that the franchisor has completely performed its pre-opening obligations under the franchise agreement, including providing real estate, improvements, equipment, inventory, training, or other items as required by the franchise agreement; and 
f. Other information the commission may reasonably require. 
3. If the commission finds that the franchisor has fulfilled its obligations under the franchise agreement for a specified franchisee, the commission shall authorize the depository to release to the franchisor the amount held in escrow for the account of the applicable franchisee.
F. Removal of escrow requirement. The commission may remove the escrow requirement at any time, if: 
1. The franchisor agrees to defer franchise fees and other initial payments; or 
2. Based upon new information, the commission finds that the escrow requirement is no longer necessary and appropriate for the protection of prospective franchisees.
G. Deferral of fees in place of escrow requirement.
1. In lieu of an escrow requirement, the commission may, under appropriate circumstances, accept a franchisor's agreement to defer franchise fees and other initial payments owed by franchisees [ to the franchisor ] until the franchisor has completed its pre-opening obligations under the franchise agreement.
2. The franchisor's agreement to defer franchise fees shall be reflected in Item 5 of the offering circular or in a Virginia Addendum to the offering circular.
21VAC5-110-75. Exemptions.
Any offer or grant of a franchise in a transaction that meets the requirements of this section is exempt from the registration requirement of §13.1-560 of the Act.
1. Sale or transfer by existing franchisee. The sale or transfer of a franchise by a franchisee who is not an affiliate of the franchisor for the franchisee's own account is exempt if:
a. The franchisee's entire franchise is sold or transferred and the sale or transfer is not effected by or through the franchisor. 
b. The sale or transfer is not effected by or through a franchisor merely because a franchisor has a right to approve or disapprove the sale or transfer or requires payment of a reasonable transfer fee.
[ c. The right to approve or disapprove the sale or transfer shall be exercised in a reasonable manner. ] 
2. Offers and grants to existing franchisees. The offer or grant of an additional franchise to an existing franchisee of the franchisor for the franchisee's own account is exempt if the franchise being sold is substantially the same as the franchise that the franchisee has operated for at least two years at the time of the offer or grant of the franchise, provided the prior sale to the franchisee was pursuant to a franchise offering that was registered [ or exempt ] pursuant to the requirements of the Act.
3. Seasoned franchisor.
a. The offer or grant of a franchise by a franchisor is exempt if  [ the franchisor ] :
(1)  [ Has The franchisor has ] a net equity, according to its most recently audited financial statements, of not less than $15,000,000 on a consolidated basis, or $1,000,000 [ on an unaudited basis ] and is at least 80% owned by a corporation or entity that has a net equity, on a consolidated basis, according to its most recently audited financial statements, of not less than $15,000,000, and the 80% owner guarantees the performance of the franchisor's obligations; [ and ] 

(2)  [ Has The franchisor or any 80% owner of the franchisor or the franchisor's predecessor, or any combination thereof, has ] had at least 25 franchisees conducting the same franchise business [ at all times during the to be offered or granted for the entire ]  five-year period immediately preceding the offer or grant; [ and 

(3) Requires an initial investment by the franchisee of more than $100,000. ] 

b. The exemption set forth in subdivision 3 of this section may be claimed only if the franchisor:
(1) Files a Form H Notice of Claim of Exemption and other material as set forth in subdivision  [ 7 6 ] of this section no later than 10 business days before the offer or grant of any franchise; and
(2) Submits financial statements demonstrating compliance with the conditions set forth in subdivision 3 a (1) of this section.
c. An initial exemption filing and any renewal filing shall expire after a period of one year. The franchisor shall file for a renewal by making an exemption filing if it intends to offer or grant franchises for any additional period annually, at least 10 business days before the expiration of the previously filed Notice of Claim of Exemption.
[ 4. Sophisticated franchisee.
a. The offer or grant of a franchise for which the franchisor requires an initial investment by the franchisee of more than $1,000,000 is exempt.
b. The exemption set forth in subdivision 4 a of this section may be claimed only if the franchisor files a Form H, Notice of Claim of Exemption, and other material as set forth in subdivision 7 of this section, no later than 10 business days before the offer or grant of any franchise. 
c. An initial exemption filing and any renewal exemption filing shall expire after a period of one year. The franchisor must file for a renewal by making an exemption filing if it intends to offer or grant franchises for any additional period annually, at least 10 business days before the expiration of the previously filed Notice of Claim of Exemption. 
5. 4. ] Institutional franchisee.
a. The offer or grant of a franchise to a bank, savings bank, savings and loan association, trust company, insurance company, investment company, or other financial institution, or to a broker-dealer is exempt when the: 
(1) Purchaser is acting for itself or in a fiduciary capacity; and 
(2) Franchise is not being purchased for the purpose of resale to an individual not exempt under this regulation. 
b. The exemption set forth in subdivision  [ 5 4  ] a of this section may be claimed only if the franchisor files an initial filing Form H, Notice of Claim of Exemption, and other material as set forth in subdivision  [ 7 6  ] a of this section, at least 10 business days before each offer or grant of each franchise. 
[ 6. 5. ] Disclosure requirements. 
a. If a franchisor relies upon any of the exemptions set forth in subdivision 2, 3  [ , or ] 4  [ or 5 ] of this section, the franchisor shall provide an offering circular complying with 21VAC5-110-90, or Federal Trade Commission (FTC) disclosure document pursuant to 16 CFR Part 436, together with all proposed agreements relating to the grant of the franchise to a prospective franchisee at the earlier of:
(1) The prospective franchisee's first personal meeting with the franchisor; or 
(2) Ten business days before the signing of the agreement or the payment of any consideration. 
b. Franchisors filing a claim of exemption under subdivisions 3  [ , or ] 4  [ or 5 ] of this section shall include a self-addressed stamped envelope by which the commission may return to the franchisor a confirmation of receipt of the filing and the exemption file number assigned. Correspondence shall refer to the assigned file number in all subsequent related filings and correspondence with the commission.
7. Filing requirements for exemptions set forth in subdivisions 3, 4 and 5 of this section.
a. Initial exemption filing.
(1) The initial exemption period shall expire after a period of one year.
(2) Franchisor files an application for exemption of a franchise by filing with the commission no later than 10 business days before the offer or grant of any franchise, the following completed forms and other material: 
(a) Notice of Claim of Exemption, Form H; 
(b) Uniform Consent to Service of Process, Form D; 
(c) If the applicant is a corporation or partnership, an authorizing resolution is required if the application is verified by a person other than applicant's officer or general partner; 
(d) Uniform Franchise Offering Circular or FTC disclosure document pursuant to 16 CFR Part 436;
(e) Files an undertaking by which it agrees to supply any additional information the commission may reasonably request; and
(f) Application fee of $500 (payable to the Treasurer of Virginia).
b. Amendment to exemption filing.
(1) Upon the occurrence of a material change, the franchisor shall amend the effective exemption filed at the commission. 
(2) An application to amend a franchise exemption is made by submitting the following completed forms and other material:
(a) Notice of Claim of Exemption, Form H; 
(b) One clean copy of the amended Uniform Franchise Offering Circular or FTC disclosure document pursuant to 16 CFR Part 436; and 
(c) Application fee of $100 (payable to the Treasurer of Virginia).
c. Renewal exemption filing.
(1) A franchise exemption expires at midnight on the annual exemption effective date. An application to renew the franchise exemption shall be filed 10 days prior to the expiration date in order to prevent a lapse of exemption under the Act. 
(2) An application for renewal of a franchise exemption is made by submitting the following completed forms and other material: 
(a) Notice of Claim of Exemption, Form H; 
(b) One clean copy of the Uniform Franchise Offering Circular or FTC disclosure document pursuant to 16 CFR Part 436; and 
(c) Application fee of $250 (payable to the Treasurer of Virginia).
NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 21 VAC 5-110, Retail Franchising Act Rules are not being published; however, the name of each form is listed below. The forms are available for public inspection at the State Corporation Commission, 13 South 13th Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.

FORMS 

FORM A, "Facing Page" - Uniform Franchise Registration Application (eff. 7/1/95). 

FORM B, Supplemental Information (eff. 7/1/95). 

FORM C, Certification (rev. 7/99). 

FORM D, Uniform Consent to Service of Process (rev. 7/99). 

FORM E, Affidavit of Compliance - Franchise Amendment/Renewal (rev. 7/99). 

FORM F, Guarantee of Performance (rev. 7/99). 

FORM G, Franchisor's Surety Bond (rev. 7/99). 

FORM H, Notice of Claim of Exemption (eff. 7/07).
FORM K, Escrow Agreement (eff. 7/07).
VA.R. Doc. No. R07-192; Filed June 20, 2007, 2:37 p.m. 
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