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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission of Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
If an agency demonstrates that (i) there is an immediate threat to the 
public’s health or safety; or (ii) Virginia statutory law, the appropriation 
act, federal law, or federal regulation requires a regulation to take effect 
no later than (a) 280 days from the enactment in the case of Virginia or 
federal law or the appropriation act, or (b) 280 days from the effective 
date of a federal regulation, it then requests the Governor’s approval to 
adopt an emergency regulation. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to 
addressing specifically defined situations and may not exceed 12 months 
in duration. Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in 
the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; S. Bernard 
Goodwyn. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

August 2007 through June 2008 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

23:24 July 18, 2007 August 6, 2007 

23:25 August 1, 2007 August 20, 2007 

23:26 August 15, 2007 September 3, 2007 

FINAL INDEX - Volume 23  October 2007 

24:1 August 29, 2007 September 17, 2007 

24:2 September 12, 2007 October 1, 2007 

24:3 September 26, 2007 October 15, 2007 

24:4 October 10, 2007 October 29, 2007 

24:5 October 24, 2007 November 12, 2007 

24:6 November 7, 2007 November 26, 2007 

24:7 November 20, 2007 (Tuesday) December 10, 2007 

INDEX 1 Volume 24  January 2008 

24:8 December 5, 2007 December 24, 2008 

24:9 December 19, 2007 January 7, 2008 

24:10 January 2, 2008 January 21, 2008 

24:11 January 16, 2008 February 4, 2008 

24:12 January 30, 2008 February 18, 2008 

24:13 February 13, 2008 March 3, 2008 

24:14 February 27, 2008 March 17, 2008 

INDEX 2 Volume 24  April 2008 

24:15 March 12, 2008 March 31, 2008 

24:16 March 26, 2008 April 14, 2008 

24:17 April 9, 2008 April 28, 2008 

24:18 April 23, 2008 May 12, 2008 

24:19 May 7, 2008 May 26, 2008 

24:20 May 21, 2008 June 9, 2008 

INDEX 3 Volume 24  July 2008 

24:21 June 4, 2008 June 23, 2008 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, 
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the 
Fall 2006 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 22, Issue 22, dated July 
10, 2006). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation “emer,” and errata pertaining to final 
regulations are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows 
action taken, the volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section. 

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 2. Agriculture 
2 VAC 5-195 (Form) Added 23:15 VA.R. 2512 -- 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3122 7/12/07 
2 VAC 5-490-10 through 2 VAC 5-490-90 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3123-3155 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-15 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3130 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-25 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3131 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-31 through 2 VAC 5-490-39.6 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3132-3140 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-73 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3154 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-75 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3155 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-103 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3155 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-105 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3156 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3156 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3157 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-130 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3157 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-131 through 2 VAC 5-490-138 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3157-3162 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-140 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3162 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-620-10 through 2 VAC 5-620-100 Added 23:19 VA.R. 2981-2985 7/1/07 
Title 3. Alcoholic Beverages 
3 VAC 5-10-40 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-50 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-60 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-130 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-150 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-230 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2118 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-360 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2118 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-400 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2118 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-480 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2129 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-40-20 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2133 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-40-50 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2134 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-60-20 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2137 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-60-40 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2138 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-60-80 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2138 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-60-100 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2139 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-70-100 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2142 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-70-150 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2143 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-70-160 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2143 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-70-230 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2143 5/19/07 
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources 
4 VAC 20-70-100 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1958 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-200-10 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1659 2/1/07 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 20-200-20 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1659 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-200-30 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1659 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-200-40 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1660 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-200-50 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1660 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-270-30 emer Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2276 3/1/07-3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-270-30 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2737 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-270-40 emer Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2276 3/1/07-3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-270-40 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2737 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-300-20 emer Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2277 3/1/07-3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-300-20 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2738 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-310-55 Added 23:15 VA.R. 2481 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-370-10 through 4 VAC 20-370-30 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2986 5/1/07 
4 VAC 20-380-50 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3446 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-380-60 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3447 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-430-20 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2738 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-430-45 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2738 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-450-30 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2739 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-490-42 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1540 12/21/06 
4 VAC 20-490-42 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2986 5/1/07 
4 VAC 20-510-10 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1958 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-510-20 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1958 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-510-33 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-510-35 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-510-37 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-10 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-20 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-31 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1960 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-31 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2144 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-31 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2482 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-32 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1960 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-32 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2145 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-32 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2482 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-30 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1660 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-60 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1662 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-620-50 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2483 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-620-60 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2483 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-620-70 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2483 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-670-15 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2739 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-670-30 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2739 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-10 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2987 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-10 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3447 5/23/07 
4 VAC 20-720-20 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2987 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-40 emer Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1540 1/1/07-1/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-50 emer Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1541 1/1/07-1/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-60 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2988 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-60 through 4 VAC 20-720-110 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3447-3449 5/23/07 
4 VAC 20-720-70 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2989 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-90 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2989 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-105 emer Added 23:19 VA.R. 2989 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-105 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3449 5/23/07 
4 VAC 20-720-110 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2990 5/1/07-5/30/07 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 20-752-20 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2990 5/3/07 
4 VAC 20-752-30 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2991 5/3/07 
4 VAC 20-890-20 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2991 7/1/07 
4 VAC 20-890-35 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2991 7/1/07 
4 VAC 20-890-40 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2991 7/1/07 
4 VAC 20-890-45 Added 23:19 VA.R. 2992 7/1/07 
4 VAC 20-900-25 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2992 7/1/07 
4 VAC 20-900-35 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2993 7/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-40 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1961 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-40 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2484 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-47 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1961 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-47 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2484 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-47 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2740 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-950-48.2 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1961 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-48.2 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2484 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-48 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2740 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1663 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1110-10 through 4 VAC 20-1110-50 Added 23:19 VA.R. 2994 5/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1120-10 through 4 VAC 20-1120-50 Added 23:19 VA.R. 2994-2995 5/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1120-20 emer Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3449 5/29/07-6/28/07 
4 VAC 20-1120-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3871 6/28/07 
4 VAC 25-20 (Forms) Amended 23:24 VA.R. 3968 -- 
4 VAC 25-20-420 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2146 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-50-10 through 4 VAC 25-50-110 Repealed 23:22 VA.R. 3696 8/8/07 
4 VAC 25-130 (Forms) Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3370-3372 -- 
4 VAC 25-130-700.12 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2146 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-773.21 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2147 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-775.11 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2147 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-775.13 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2148 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-777.17 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3696 8/8/07 
4 VAC 25-130-784.20 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2148 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-785.25 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2592 5/16/07 
4 VAC 25-130-800.51 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2149 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-816.105 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2150 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-816.116 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2592 5/16/07 
4 VAC 25-130-817.11 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2150 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-817.64 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2151 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-817.116 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2594 5/16/07 
4 VAC 25-130-817.121 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2151 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-842.15 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2153 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-843.12 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2153 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-843.13 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2154 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-843.15 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2155 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-843.16 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2156 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-845.13 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2156 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-845.15 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2158 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-845.18 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2158 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-845.19 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2159 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-846.14 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2159 4/4/07 
Title 5. Corporations 
5 VAC 5-30-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3872 7/1/07 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
5 VAC 5-30-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3872 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3873 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3873 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3874 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-60 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3874 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-70 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3875 7/1/07 
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections 
6 VAC 15-20-10 through 6 VAC 15-20-230 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3697-3703 8/9/07 
6 VAC 40-50-10 through 6VAC40-50-80 emer Added 23:23 VA.R. 3876 7/1/06-12/29/07 
Title 8. Education 
8 VAC 20-160-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3876 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3878 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3878 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3879 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3879 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-60 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3879 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-350-10 through 8 VAC 20-350-660 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 1962 5/8/07 
8 VAC 20-700-10 through 8 VAC 20-700-50 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1541-1543 2/21/07 
8 VAC 20-710-10 through 8 VAC 20-710-30 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1543-1544 2/21/07 
8 VAC 40-140-10 through 8 VAC 40-140-90 Added 23:22 VA.R. 3704-3706 7/1/07 
Title 9. Environment 
9 VAC 5-20-21 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3456 8/1/07 
9 VAC 5-30-15 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3454 8/1/07 
9 VAC 5-30-60 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3454 8/1/07 
9 VAC 5-30-65 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3454 8/1/07 
9 VAC 5-30-66 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3455 8/1/07 
9 VAC 5-40-7550 through 9 VAC 5-40-7710 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3460-3463 8/1/07 
9 VAC 5-50-400 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2742 6/1/07 
9 VAC 5-50-410 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2742 6/1/07 
9 VAC 5-60-60 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2747 6/1/07 
9 VAC 5-60-90 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2748 6/1/07 
9 VAC 5-60-100 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2748 6/1/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1010 through 9 VAC 5-140-1060 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2279-2291 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1061 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2291 * 
9 VAC 5-140-1062 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2291 * 
9 VAC 5-140-1070 through 9 VAC 5-140-1150 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2292-2295 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1200 through 9 VAC 5-140-1240 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2295-2296 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1400 through 9 VAC 5-140-1430 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2296-2302 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1500 through 9 VAC 5-140-1570 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2302-2306 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1600 through 9 VAC 5-140-1620 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2307 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1700 through 9 VAC 5-140-1750 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2307-2312 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1800 through 9 VAC 5-140-1880 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2312-2317 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2060 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2329 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2061 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2331 * 
9 VAC 5-140-2062 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2332 * 
9 VAC 5-140-2070 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2333 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2080 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2333 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2100 through 9 VAC 5-140-2150 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2333-2336 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2200 through 9 VAC 5-140-2240 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2336-2337 4/18/07 

                                                           
* Effective Date Suspended 23:19 
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9 VAC 5-140-2400 through 9 VAC 5-140-2430 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2337-2342 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2500 through 9 VAC 5-140-2570 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2342-2347 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2600 through 9 VAC 5-140-2620 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2347 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2700 through 9 VAC 5-140-2750 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2347-2353 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2800 through 9 VAC 5-140-2880 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2353-2359 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3010 through 9 VAC 5-140-3060 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2359-2368 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3061 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2370 * 
9 VAC 5-140-3062 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2371 * 
9 VAC 5-140-3070 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2371 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3080 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2371 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3100 through 9 VAC 5-140-3150 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2371-2374 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3200 through 9 VAC 5-140-3240 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2374-2375 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3400 through 9 VAC 5-140-3420 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2375 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3500 through 9 VAC 5-140-3570 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2375-2380 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3600 through 9 VAC 5-140-3620 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2380-2381 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3700 through 9 VAC 5-140-3750 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2381-2386 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3800 through 9 VAC 5-140-3880 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2386-2391 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-5010 through 9 VAC 5-140-5750 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2160-2186 4/4/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1020 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-1061 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-1062 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-1130 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-1420 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-1700 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-1740 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-2020 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-2030 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-2040 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-2060 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-2062 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-2740 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-3062 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-3840 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5020 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5060 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5100 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5150 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5420 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5510 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5540 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5560 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5600 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-151-10 through 9 VAC 5-151-70 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2755-2764 5/31/07 
9 VAC 5-240-10 through 9 VAC 5-240-50 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2595-2596 5/16/07 
9 VAC 20-110-90 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1665 3/21/07 
9 VAC 20-110-110 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1665 3/21/07 
9 VAC 20-200-10 through 9 VAC 20-200-70 Added 23:11 VA.R. 1666-1667 3/21/07 
9 VAC 25-71-20 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2485 5/2/07 
9 VAC 25-71-50 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2485 5/2/07 
9 VAC 25-71-70 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2485 5/2/07 
9 VAC 25-210-10 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3464 7/25/07 
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9 VAC 25-210-50 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3468 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-60 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3469 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-75 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3473 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-80 through 9 VAC 25-210-115 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3474-3484 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-116 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3484 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-130 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3487 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-140 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3488 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-170 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3489 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-175 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3489 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-180 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3490 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-185 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3492 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-190 Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3492 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-200 Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3493 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-210 Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3493 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-220 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3493 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-230 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3493 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-260 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3494 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1669 3/21/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2486 5/2/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3881 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3888 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3895 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-60 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1966 5/21/07 
9 VAC 25-720-80 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1670 3/21/07 
9 VAC 25-720-80 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3901 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-90 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1671 3/21/07 
9 VAC 25-720-100 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1671 3/21/07 
9 VAC 25-720-130 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2487 5/2/07 
Title 10. Finance and Financial Institutions 
10 VAC 5-40-50 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2882 5/1/07 
10 VAC 5-160-40 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2187 2/10/07 
Title 11. Gaming 
11 VAC 10-20-310 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2883 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-20-330 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2884 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-20-340 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2891 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-100-30 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2892 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-110-30 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2893 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-110-90 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2893 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-120-80 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2894 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-130-10 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1672 1/10/07 
11 VAC 10-130-10 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2894 4/30/07 
11 VAC 10-130-60 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1673 1/10/07 
11 VAC 10-140-12 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2896 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-140-15 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2896 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-140-210 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2896 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-150-12 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2897 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-150-15 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2897 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3164 5/18/07 
11 VAC 10-180-20 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3164 5/18/07 
11 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3166 5/18/07 
11 VAC 10-180-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3167 5/18/07 
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Title 12. Health 
12 VAC 5-70-10 through 12 VAC 5-70-50 Repealed 23:13 VA.R. 2187 4/4/07 
12 VAC 5-71-10 through 12 VAC 5-71-190 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2188-2195 4/4/07 
12 VAC 5-90 (Forms) Erratum 23:15 VA.R. 2507-2509 -- 
12 VAC 5-90-10 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2488 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-40 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2493 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-80 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2493 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-90 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2497 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-100 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2500 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-103 Added 23:15 VA.R. 2500 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-107 Added 23:15 VA.R. 2502 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-110 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2503 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-130 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2504 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-225 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2504 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-250 through 12 VAC 5-90-280 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2505-2506 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-330 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2506 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-350 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2507 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-360 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2507 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-125-10 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3904 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-20 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3906 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-30 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3906 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-40 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3906 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-50 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3907 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-60 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3908 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-70 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3908 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-80 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3908 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-90 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3908 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-100 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3916 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-110 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3917 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-120 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3917 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-130 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3917 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-140 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3918 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-150 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3918 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-160 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3918 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-170 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3918 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-180 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3919 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-190-10 through 12 VAC 5-190-690 Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3498 7/25/07 
12 VAC 5-191-10 through 12 VAC 5-191-320 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3498-3509 7/25/07 
12 VAC 5-371-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1544 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-20 Repealed 23:10 VA.R. 1546 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-30 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1547 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-40 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1547 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-50 Repealed 23:10 VA.R. 1548 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-60 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1548 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-70 through 12 VAC 5-371-130 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1548-1551 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-150 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1551 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-160 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1551 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-190 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1551 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-200 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1552 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-400 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1552 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-410 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1552 3/1/07 
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12 VAC 5-410-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1554 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-30 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-70 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-80 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-100 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-110 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-130 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-140 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-150 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1556 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-180 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1556 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-210 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1556 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-220 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1557 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-270 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1558 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-442 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1558 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-445 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1559 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-650 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1560 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-720 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1560 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-760 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1560 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-1150 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1560 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-1170 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1561 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-1350 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1561 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-1380 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1561 3/1/07 
12 VAC 30-10-140 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2653 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-10-560 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2396 9/1/07 
12 VAC 30-20-140 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2397 9/1/07 
12 VAC 30-30-20 emer Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3169 5/30/07-5/29/08 
12 VAC 30-30-60 Added 23:11 VA.R. 1673 3/7/07 
12 VAC 30-40-10 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1674 3/7/07 
12 VAC 30-40-20 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2897 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-40-105 emer Added 23:20 VA.R. 3170 5/30/07-5/29/08 
12 VAC 30-40-280 emer Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3171 5/30/07-5/29/08 
12 VAC 30-40-290 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2398 9/1/07 
12 VAC 30-40-290 emer Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3172 5/30/07-5/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-20 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2654 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-50-35 Added 23:11 VA.R. 1675 3/7/07 
12 VAC 30-50-60 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2654 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-50-75 Added 23:11 VA.R. 1676 3/7/07 
12 VAC 30-50-130 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3518 1/1/08 
12 VAC 30-50-141 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3510 7/1/07-6/30/08 
12 VAC 30-50-151 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3510 7/1/07-6/30/08 
12 VAC 30-50-181 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3510 7/1/07-6/30/08 
12 VAC 30-50-228 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3511 7/1/07-6/30/08 
12 VAC 30-50-320 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2654 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-50-321 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2655 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-50-325 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2655 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-50-328 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2655 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-50-461 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3512 7/1/07-6/30/08 
12 VAC 30-50-490 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3175 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-50-530 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1676 3/7/07 
12 VAC 30-60-250 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3513 7/1/07-6/30/08 
12 VAC 30-60-255 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3515 7/1/07-6/30/08 
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12 VAC 30-70-311 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3003 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-70-321 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3003 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-70-331 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3225 8/25/07 
12 VAC 30-70-341 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3003 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-70-391 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3004 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-80-30 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3232 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-80-32 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3516 7/1/07-6/30/08 
12 VAC 30-80-95 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3520 1/1/08 
12 VAC 30-80-190 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3004 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-80-190 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3225 8/25/07 
12 VAC 30-80-190 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3242 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-90-31 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3005 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-90-41 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3226 8/25/07 
12 VAC 30-90-271 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3229 8/25/07 
12 VAC 30-90-290 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3230 8/25/07 
12 VAC 30-90-264 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2400 4/18/07 
12 VAC 30-110-950 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2898 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-61 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2655 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-62 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2657 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-64 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2659 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-65 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2660 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-66 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2660 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-68 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2661 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-310 emer Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3516 7/1/07-6/30/08 
12 VAC 30-120-380 emer Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3517 7/1/07-6/30/08 
12 VAC 30-120-700 through 12 VAC 30-120-750 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3177-3192 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-752 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3192 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-753 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3194 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-754 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3195 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-756 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3197 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-758 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3198 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-760 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3198 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-762 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3199 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-764 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3199 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-766 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3201 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-768 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3204 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-770 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3206 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-772 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3211 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-774 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3211 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-776 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3213 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-780 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3215 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-790 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3216 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-1600 through 12 VAC 30-120-1660 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3244-3251 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-130-900 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1967 3/21/07 
12 VAC 30-130-910 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1968 3/21/07 
12 VAC 30-130-930 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1968 3/21/07 
12 VAC 30-135-10 through 12 VAC 30-135-40 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3520-3522 11/1/07 
12 VAC 30-135-80 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3522 11/1/07 
12 VAC 30-141-740 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3006 7/1/07 
12 VAC 35-45-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1562 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-45-25 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1565 2/21/07 
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12 VAC 35-45-70 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1564 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-45-80 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1564 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-45-210 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1564 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-105-20 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1567 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-105-30 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1575 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-105-115 emer Added 23:10 VA.R. 1566 1/3/07-1/2/08 
12 VAC 35-105-590 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1575 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-105-660 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1576 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-105-925 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3252 7/11/07 
12 VAC 35-210-10 through 12 VAC 35-210-120 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3525-3529 7/25/07 
Title 13. Housing 
13 VAC 5-111-10 through 13 VAC 5-111-400 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 1971 3/21/07 
13 VAC 5-112-10 through 13 VAC 5-112-560 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1971-1994 3/21/07 
Title 14. Insurance 
14 VAC 5-200-20 Repealed 23:17 VA.R. 2766 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-30 through 14 VAC 5-200-60 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2766-2770 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-70 through 14 VAC 5-200-90 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2770-2774 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-110 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2774 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-120 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2777 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-153 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2777 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-170 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2780 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-175 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2781 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-181 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2782 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-183 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2782 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-185 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2783 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-187 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2785 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-200 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2786 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-201 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2788 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-205 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2788 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-20 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3768 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-30 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3768 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-50 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3769 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-60 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3770 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-80 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3770 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-321-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1577 1/1/07 
14 VAC 5-321-20 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1577 1/1/07 
14 VAC 5-321-30 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1578 1/1/07 
14 VAC 5-321-70 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1578 1/1/07 
14 VAC 5-322-10 through 14 VAC 5-322-50 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1579-1581 1/1/07 
Title 16. Labor and Employment 
16 VAC 15-21-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3933 8/23/07 
16 VAC 25-55-10 and 16 VAC 25-55-20 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1995-1996 3/22/07 
16 VAC 25-75-10 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3544 7/26/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.268 (b) (7) Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3545 7/26/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.134 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1000 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1996 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1001 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1017 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1018 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1025 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1027 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
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16 VAC 25-90-1910.1028 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1029 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1043 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1044 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1045 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1047 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1048 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1050 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1052 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.5 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1998 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.505 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1998 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.507 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1998 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.1000 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1996 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.1001 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.55 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1996 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.60 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.62 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1002, Appendix A of Subpart W Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1999 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1101 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1127 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-190-1928.52 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1999 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-190-1928.53, Appendix B to Subpart C Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1999 3/21/07 
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing 
18 VAC 5-10-10 through 18 VAC 5-10-90 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1678-1680 4/23/07 
18 VAC 10-20-230 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3548 9/10/07 
18 VAC 10-20-420 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3550 8/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-440 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3551 8/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-450 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3551 8/1/07 
18 VAC 15-20 (Forms) Added 23:15 VA.R. 2514 -- 
18 VAC 15-30 (Forms) Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2514 -- 
18 VAC 25-21-80 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3557 8/1/07 
18 VAC 25-21-90 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3558 8/1/07 
18 VAC 25-21-180 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3558 8/1/07 
18 VAC 25-21-230 through 18 VAC 25-21-280 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3559-3560 8/1/07 
18 VAC 30-10-10 through 18 VAC 30-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3276-3277 8/25/07 
18 VAC 30-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3277 8/25/07 
18 VAC 30-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3277 8/25/07 
18 VAC 30-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3277 8/25/07 
18 VAC 41-60-10 through 18 VAC 41-60-220 Added 23:12 VA.R. 2000-2009 4/1/07 
18 VAC 45-20-40 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3562 9/10/07 
18 VAC 47-20-10 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3563 8/1/07 
18 VAC 47-20-35 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3564 8/1/07 
18 VAC 47-20-210 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3564 8/1/07 
18 VAC 47-20-240 Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3564 8/1/07 
18 VAC 47-20-250 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3564 8/1/07 
18 VAC 47-20-260 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3565 8/1/07 
18 VAC 47-20-270 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3565 8/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-10 through 18 VAC 50-30-50 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2020-2025 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-60 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2025 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-70 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2025 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-80 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2025 4/1/07 
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18 VAC 50-30-90 through 18 VAC 50-30-150 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2026-2028 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-180 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2028 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-185 Added 23:12 VA.R. 2028 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-190 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2028 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-200 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2029 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-210 through 18 VAC 50-30-260 Added 23:12 VA.R. 2030-2031 4/1/07 
18 VAC 60-10-10 through 18 VAC 60-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3283-3284 8/25/07 
18 VAC 60-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3284 8/25/07 
18 VAC 60-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3284 8/25/07 
18 VAC 60-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3284 8/25/07 
18 VAC 60-20-71 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3934 8/22/07 
18 VAC 60-20-180 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2510 5/2/07 
18 VAC 60-20-210 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3286 8/25/07 
18 VAC 65-40-10 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2031 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-40 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2031 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-90 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-110 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-130 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-160 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-220 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-250 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-300 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-320 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2033 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-340 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2033 3/21/07 
18 VAC 75-10-10 through 18 VAC 75-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3288-3290 8/25/07 
18 VAC 75-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3290 8/25/07 
18 VAC 75-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3290 8/25/07 
18 VAC 75-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3290 8/25/07 
18 VAC 75-20-60 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3574 9/10/07 
18 VAC 75-20-70 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3575 9/10/07 
18 VAC 75-20-120 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3575 9/10/07 
18 VAC 75-20-130 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3575 9/10/07 
18 VAC 75-20-140 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3575 9/10/07 
18 VAC 76-30-10 through 18 VAC 76-30-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3292-3294 8/25/07 
18 VAC 76-30-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3294 8/25/07 
18 VAC 76-30-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3294 8/25/07 
18 VAC 76-30-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3294 8/25/07 
18 VAC 85-10 through 18 VAC 85-10-70 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3296-3297 8/25/07 
18 VAC 85-10-90 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3297 8/25/07 
18 VAC 85-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3297 8/25/07 
18 VAC 85-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3298 8/25/07 
18 VAC 85-20-30 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3299 8/25/07 
18 VAC 85-20-235 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1692 4/21/07 
18 VAC 85-20-290 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2206 4/4/07 
18 VAC 85-20-290 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3934 8/22/07 
18 VAC 85-101-50 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2511 5/2/07 
18 VAC 85-130-10 through 18 VAC 85-130-170 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1582-1586 2/21/07 
18 VAC 90-10-10 through 18 VAC 90-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3307-3309 8/25/07 
18 VAC 90-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3309 8/25/07 
18 VAC 90-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3309 8/25/07 
18 VAC 90-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3309 8/25/07 
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18 VAC 90-20-60 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2033 3/21/07 
18 VAC 90-25-15 through 18 VAC 90-25-80 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3576-3581 7/25/07 
18 VAC 90-25-71 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3580 7/25/07 
18 VAC 90-25-72 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3580 7/25/07 
18 VAC 90-25-81 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3581 7/25/07 
18 VAC 90-25-100 through 18 VAC 90-25-130 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3581-3583 7/25/07 
18 VAC 90-30-120 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2404 4/18/07 
18 VAC 90-30-230 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2034 3/21/07 
18 VAC 90-40-140 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2034 3/21/07 
18 VAC 90-60-10 through 18 VAC 90-60-120 Added 23:19 VA.R. 3008-3012 7/1/07 
18 VAC 90-60-120 Erratum 23:20 VA.R. 3378 -- 
18 VAC 105-10-10 through 18 VAC 105-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3315-3316 8/25/07 
18 VAC 105-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3316 8/25/07 
18 VAC 105-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3316 8/25/07 
18 VAC 105-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3316 8/25/07 
18 VAC 105-20-10 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3791 9/24/07 
18 VAC 110-10-10 through 18 VAC 110-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3318-3320 8/25/07 
18 VAC 110-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3320 8/25/07 
18 VAC 110-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3320 8/25/07 
18 VAC 110-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3320 8/25/07 
18 VAC 110-20-285 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2791 5/30/07 
18 VAC 112-10-10 through 18 VAC 112-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3327-3329 8/25/07 
18 VAC 112-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3329 8/25/07 
18 VAC 112-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3329 8/25/07 
18 VAC 112-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3329 8/25/07 
18 VAC 115-10-10 through 18 VAC 115-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3331-3332 8/25/07 
18 VAC 115-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3332 8/25/07 
18 VAC 115-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3333 8/25/07 
18 VAC 115-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3333 8/25/07 
18 VAC 115-20-20 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2404 4/18/07 
18 VAC 115-20-130 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3584 7/25/07 
18 VAC 115-30-30 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2405 4/18/07 
18 VAC 115-40-20 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2405 4/18/07 
18 VAC 115-50-20 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2405 4/18/07 
18 VAC 115-50-110 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3585 7/25/07 
18 VAC 115-60-20 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2406 4/18/07 
18 VAC 115-60-130 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3587 7/25/07 
18 VAC 120-30-10 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3589 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-30 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3590 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-40 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3590 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-50 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3591 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-55 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3591 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-90 Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3592 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-100 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3588 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-100 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3592 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-130 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3592 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-150 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3592 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-160 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3592 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-180 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3592 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-190 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3593 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-200 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3593 8/1/07 
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18 VAC 120-30-220 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3593 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-230 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3594 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-240 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3594 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-250 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3594 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-270 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3594 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-280 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3595 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-290 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3595 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-300 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3595 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-310 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3595 8/1/07 
18 VAC 125-10-10 through 18 VAC 125-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3346-3348 8/25/07 
18 VAC 125-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3348 8/25/07 
18 VAC 125-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3348 8/25/07 
18 VAC 125-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3348 8/25/07 
18 VAC 125-20-30 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2035 3/21/07 
18 VAC 125-30-20 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2035 3/21/07 
18 VAC 135-50-10 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3794 9/22/07 
18 VAC 135-50-20 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3795 9/22/07 
18 VAC 135-50-220 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3795 9/22/07 
18 VAC 135-50-400 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3795 9/22/07 
18 VAC 140-10-10 through 18 VAC 140-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3350-3351 8/25/07 
18 VAC 140-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3351 8/25/07 
18 VAC 140-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3352 8/25/07 
18 VAC 140-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3352 8/25/07 
18 VAC 145-30-40 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3352 7/12/07 
18 VAC 150-10-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3937 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3937 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3937 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-60 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-70 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-80 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-100 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3939 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-110 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3939 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-120 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3939 10/7/07 
Title 19. Public Safety 
19 VAC 30-20-80 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1587 3/1/07 
Title 21. Securities and Retail Franchising 
21 VAC 5-10 Erratum 23:18 VA.R. 2935 -- 
21 VAC 5-10-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3940 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20 Erratum 23:18 VA.R. 2935 -- 
21 VAC 5-20-65 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3942 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20-95 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3942 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20-280 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3943 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20-330 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3947 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-80-65 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3949 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-80-160 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3950 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-80-200 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3954 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-110 Erratum 23:18 VA.R. 2935 -- 
21 VAC 5-110 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3957  ??? 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-110-65 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3959 7/1/07 
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21 VAC 5-110-75 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3960 7/1/07 
Title 22. Social Services 
22 VAC 15-10-40 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1587 3/1/07 
22 VAC 15-10-50 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1587 3/1/07 
22 VAC 15-30-10 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3353 7/11/07 
22 VAC 15-30-310 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3356 7/11/07 
22 VAC 15-30-580 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3358 7/11/07 
22 VAC 40-20-10 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3364 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-25-10 through 22 VAC 40-25-70 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3360-3364 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-25-45 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3363 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-35-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3962 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-35-80 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3965 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-35-90 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3965 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-35-100 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3966 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-41-10 through 22 VAC 40-41-50 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3796-3799 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-41-55 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3799 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-41-60 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3799 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-540-10 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3364 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-600-10 through 22 VAC 40-600-240 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3364 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-601-10 through 22 VAC 40-601-40 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3365-3366 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1588 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-15 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1591 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-20 Repealed 23:10 VA.R. 1592 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-21 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1592 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-30 Repealed 23:10 VA.R. 1593 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-31 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1593 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-40 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1593 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-50 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1594 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-60 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1595 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-70 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1596 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-80 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1596 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-880-200 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3367 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-880-250 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3367 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-880-270 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3367 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-880-350 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3368 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-880-620 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3369 8/1/07 
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles 
24 VAC 30-155 Erratum 23:21 VA.R. 3619 -- 
24 VAC 30-155-10 through 24 VAC 30-155-100 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2915-2930 7/1/07 
24 VAC 30-320 Repealed 23:16 VA.R. 2665 3/22/07 
24 VAC 30-325-10 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2665 3/22/07 
24 VAC 30-325-20 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2666 3/22/07 
24 VAC 30-330 Repealed 23:16 VA.R. 2665 3/22/07 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Mines, Minerals 
and Energy intends to consider amending regulations entitled 
4VAC25-130, Coal Surface Mining Reclamation 
Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
achieve consistency with federal standards on revegetation, 
topsoil, and water diversion structures during reclamation of 
mined lands. The action will also implement a 30-day 
deadline for filing applications for review and requests for 
hearing on decisions not to take enforcement action under the 
regulation.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§45.1-161.3 and 45.1-230 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on August 8, 
2007.   

Contact: David Spears, Regulatory Coordinator, Department 
of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 202 N. 9th St., 8th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219-3402, telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX 
(804) 692-3237, or email david.spears@dmme.virginia.gov.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-275; Filed June 15, 2007, 10:30 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS  

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

† Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory 
Action 

Notice is hereby given that the Criminal Justice Services 
Board has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory 
Action for 6VAC20-171, Regulations Relating to Private 
Security Services, and 6VAC20-172, Regulations Relating 
to Private Security Services, which was published in 22:22 
VA.R. 2978 July 10, 2006. 

Contact: Judith Kirkendall, Department of Criminal Justice 
Services, 8th Street Office Bldg., 805 E. Broad St., 10th Floor 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 804- 786-8003, FAX 804-
786-6040, or judith.kirkendall@dcjs.virginia.gov 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-269; Filed July 11, 2007, 3:34 p.m. 

BOARD OF FORENSIC SCIENCE  

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Forensic Science Board intends 
to consider promulgating regulations entitled 6VAC40-60, 
Regulations for Obtaining Information from the Data 
Bank and Procedures for Verification and Authorization 
of Persons Requesting Information from the Data Bank. 
The purpose of the proposed action is to describe the process 
for obtaining information from the DNA data bank and for 
verifying the authority of persons requesting the release of 
information from the DNA data bank. Specification of the 
personnel with access to the DNA data bank along with 
samples is also contained in the regulation. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §19.2-310.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until September 5, 2007 

Contact: Michele M. Gowdy, Department Counsel, 
Department of Forensic Science, 700 North 5th St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6848, FAX (804) 
786-6857, or email michele.gowdy@dfs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-; Filed July 9, 2007, 1:45 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION  

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education 
intends to consider amending regulations entitled 8VAC20-
100, Regulations Governing Literary Loan Applications 
in Virginia. The purpose of the proposed action is to review 
and revise the regulation in order to ensure that it comports 
with the requirements of legislation enacted by the 2007 Acts 
of Assembly. There are several major elements considered for 
addition, deletion or revision.  They include (i) revising the 
definitions section; (ii) requiring that a school board's 
application to the Board of Education for a loan from the 



Notices of Intended Regulatory Action 

Volume 23, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations August 6, 2007 

3995 

Literary Fund is authorized by the governing body and the 
school board; (iii) adding a provision requiring the board not 
to disburse any proceeds of any approved loan before its 
receipt of the concurrent approval of the governing body at 
the time of initial disbursement and an acceptable opinion of 
bond counsel obtained by the local governing body as to the 
validity of the loan; (iv) removing provisions that require the 
examination of a title to property on an application for a loan, 
the certificate of the clerk of court or copy of a lease on the 
application for a loan, and the submission of the application 
and certificate of title to the Attorney General; (v) reviewing 
and revising each section of the current regulations to ensure 
compliance with the Code of Virginia; and (vi) adding 
provisions that may be necessary for the general 
administration of the program by the Department of 
Education. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§22.1-142 and 22.1-161 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on August 8, 
2007.   

Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy and 
Communications, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
Richmond, VA 23218-2120, telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX 
(804) 225-2524, or email margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-280; Filed June 20, 2007, 11:43 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education 
intends to consider repealing regulations entitled 8 VAC 20-
280, Regulations Governing Jointly Owned and Operated 
Schools and Jointly Operated Programs and promulgating 
regulations entitled 8 VAC 20-281, Regulations Governing 
Jointly Owned and Operated Schools and Jointly 
Operated Programs. The 2003 Acts of Assembly passed 
legislation allowing academic-year Governor’s schools to 
choose a fiscal agent from among the treasurers of the cities 
and/or counties participating in this joint school program. 
Current law dictates that each of the regional programs other 
than the Governor’s schools designate a fiscal agent 
according to the physical location of the school. Chapter 45 of 
the 2007 Acts of Assembly, will permit all joint school 
boards to designate a fiscal agent from among participating 
school divisions regardless of the physical location of the 
school beginning July 1, 2007. This bill resulted from a 
legislative proposal put forth by the Department of Education 
to streamline the operation of joint schools. As a result of this 
legislation and the language that needs to be added to address 
changes that have been made in the operation of joint schools 
and joint programs since the regulation was written, these 
regulations need to be revised. Because the changes will be 

extensive, this will be accomplished by repealing the current 
regulation and promulgating a new regulation. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on August 8, 
2007.   

Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy and 
Communications, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
Richmond, VA 23218-2120, telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX 
(804) 225-2524, or email margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-279; Filed June 20, 2007, 11:42 a.m. 

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education 
intends to consider promulgating regulations entitled 
8VAC20-720, Regulations Governing Local School Boards 
and School Divisions, and repealing regulations entitled 
8VAC20-150, Management of the Student's Scholastic 
Record in the Public Schools of Virginia, 8VAC20-170, 
Regulations Governing Instructional Materials - Selection 
and Utilization By Local School Boards, 8VAC20-180, 
Regulations Governing School Community Programs, 
8VAC20-240, Regulations Governing School Activity 
Funds, 8VAC20-250, Regulations Governing the Testing 
of Sight and Hearing of Pupils, 8VAC20-270, Regulations 
Governing Textbook Fund Management and Handling on 
Local Level, 8VAC20-310, Rules Governing Instructions 
Concerning Drugs and Substance Abuse, 8VAC20-320, 
Regulations Governing Physical and Health Education, 
8VAC20-390, Rules Governing Division Superintendent of 
Schools, 8VAC20-410, Regulations Governing Allowable 
Credit for Teaching Experience, 8VAC20-420, 
Regulations Governing Personnel in Public School 
Libraries Operated Under Joint Contract Under Control 
of Local School Board or Boards, 8VAC20-460, 
Regulations Governing Sick Leave Plan for Teachers, 
8VAC20-490, Regulations Governing School Boards 
Local, 8VAC20-565, Regulations for the Protection of 
Students as Participants in Human Research. The purpose 
of the proposed action is to repeal outdated regulations and 
consolidate necessary sections of various regulations into new 
regulations entitled Regulations Governing Local School 
Boards and School Divisions.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §22.1-16 of Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until September 5, 2007. 

Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy & 
Communications, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
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101 N. 14th St., 25th Floor, Richmond, VA, 23219, telephone 
804-225-2540, FAX 804-225-2524, or email 
margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-740; Filed July 10, 2007, 12:26 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 
intends to consider amending regulations entitled 9VAC25-
640, Aboveground Storage Tank and Pipeline Facility 
Financial Responsibility Requirements. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to (i) reduce the cost of compliance with 
the regulation by proposing modified compliance 
requirements that are not less stringent than the existing 
requirements, but may be more cost effective to secure; (ii) 
propose administrative changes to the regulation that do not 
affect the regulatory requirements; and (iii) clarify how 
VPSTF is used to reimburse tank operators for the cost of 
containment and cleanup of a petroleum release from an AST.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§62.1-44.15 and 62.1-44.34:16 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 23, 2007. 

Contact: Josiah Bennett, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 629 E. Main St., P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 698-4205 or email 
jqbennett@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-293; Filed July 1, 2007, Noon 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH  

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH  

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled: 12VAC5-550, Board 
of Health Regulations Governing Vital Records. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to allow birth certificates to 
denote names of parents under all circumstances in cases of 
adoption. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-249 through 32.1-276 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until September 5, 2007. 

Contact: Janet Rainey, Director and State Registrar, 
Department of Health, 1601 Willow Lawn Dr., Suite 275, 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 804-662-6207, FAX 804-
662-7262, or email janet.rainey@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-645; Filed July 10, 2007, 10:55 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES  

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services intends to consider amending regulations 
entitled 12VAC30-120, Waivered Services. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to improve the service method through 
which long-term care recipients obtain their acute care 
medical needs. Based on the legislation, DMAS, in 
consultation with the stakeholders, was directed to develop a 
long-range blueprint for the development and implementation 
of an integrated acute and long-term care system to include (i) 
an explanation on how the various community and state level 
stakeholders will be involved in the development and 
implementation of the new program models; (ii) a description 
of the various steps for development and implementation of 
the program models, including a review of other states' 
models, funding populations served, services provided, 
education of clients and providers, and location of programs; 
(iii) a description of how the existing system is funded and 
how integration will impact funding; and (iv) a description of 
the evaluation methods that will be used to ensure that the 
program provides access, quality, and consumer satisfaction. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register 

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until September 5, 2007. 

Contact: Adrienne Fegans, Program Operations 
Administrator, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone 804-786-4112, FAX 804-786-1680, or email 
adrienne.fegans@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-729; Filed July 18, 2007, 10:30 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

VIRGINIA WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
COMMISSION 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Virginia Workers' 
Compensation Commission intends to consider amending 
regulations entitled 16 VAC 30-50, Rules of the Virginia 
Workers' Compensation Commission. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to establish permissible charges and other 
requirements regarding the provision of medical records, 
reports, and medical opinions in the workers' compensation 
context. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §65.2-210 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until August 23, 2007. 

Contact: Deborah Hathcock, Virginia Workers' 
Compensation Commission, Office of the Chair, 1000 DMV 
Drive, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-8657, 
FAX (877) 299-7360 or email 
deborah.hathcock@vwc.state.va.us. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-281; Filed June 19, 2007, 3:11 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING  

BOARD OF PHARMACY  

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy intends to 
consider amending regulations entitled: 18VAC110-20, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Pharmacy. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to clarify existing 
requirements, add new language to address problems that 
have arisen, delete outmoded regulation, and revise 
requirements to allow for newer technologies. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 and Chapters 33 (§54.1-3300 
et seq.) and 34 (§54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until September 5, 2007. 

Contact: Elizabeth Scott Russell, RPh, Executive Director, 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad Street, 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone 804-662-9911, 
FAX 804-662-9313, TTY 804-662-7197, or email 
scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-753; Filed July 16, 2007, 1:21 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES  

DEPARTMENT OF REHABILITATIVE SERVICES  

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Rehabilitative 
Services intends to consider amending regulations entitled: 
22VAC30-40, Protection of Participants in Human 
Research. The purpose of the proposed action is to conform 
to human subjects research federal regulations and to ensure 
consistency with Code of Virginia requirements.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §54.5-5.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on 
September 5, 2007. 

Contact: Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Policy Analyst, Department 
of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Dr., 
Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7612, FAX (804) 
662-7696, or email vanessa.rakestraw@drs.virginia.gov.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-294; Filed July 3, 2007, 11:02 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES  

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 
intends to consider amending regulations entitled 22VAC40-
35, Virginia Independence Program. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to amend the Virginia Independence 
Program regulation by changing state code citations that 
changed as a result of recodification, change terms from Aid 
to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) to the current 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), update 
the definitions, remove obsolete language concerning the 
receipt of federal waivers, remove references to the Virginia 
Targeted Jobs Grant Program, update the exemptions from 
the Virginia Initiative for Employment not Welfare program, 
allow greater participation in educational activities when 
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participating in community work experience, expand 
opportunities for hardship exceptions, and address situations 
when an applicant for TANF names multiple possible 
putative fathers. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§63.1-105, 63.105.1, 63.105.3, 63.1-
105.4, 63.1.105.6, 63.1-105.7, 63.1-133.43, 63.1-133.46, 
63.1,63.1-133.49, 63.1-133.51, and 63.1-133.53 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

Federal waivers were granted effective July 1, 1995, by the U. 
S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and the 
U. S. Department of Agriculture (USD), under Section 1115 
of the Social Security Act and Section 17(b) of the Food 
Stamp Act. 

Public comments may be submitted until September 5, 2007. 

Contact: Mark L. Golden, TANF Program Manager, 
Department of Social Services, Division of Benefit Programs, 
7 N. 8th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-
7385, FAX (804) 726-7356, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-732; Filed July 13, 2007, 9:16 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION  

GEORGE MASON UNIVERSITY  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: George Mason University is 
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
with §2.2-4002 A 6 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts 
educational institutions operated by the Commonwealth. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC35-60. Policy Prohibiting 
Weapons (adding 8VAC35-60-10, 8VAC35-60-20, 
8VAC35-60-30).  

Statutory Authority: §23-91.29 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on September 5, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Kenneth W. Hubble, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, George Mason University, 4400 University 
Drive, Fairfax, VA 22030, telephone (703) 993-3091, or 
email khubble@gmu.edu. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulation establishes the weapons 
prohibition policy at George Mason University. 

CHAPTER 60 

POLICY PROHIBITING WEAPONS 

8VAC35-60-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Police officer" means law-enforcement officials appointed 
pursuant to Article 3 (§15.2-1609 et seq.) of Chapter 16 and 
Chapter 17 (§15.2-1700 et.seq.) of Title 15.2, Chapter 17 
(§23-232 et seq.) of Title 23, Chapter 2 (§29.1-200 et seq.) of 
Title 29.1, and Chapter 1 (§52-1 et seq.) of Title 52 of the 
Code of Virginia and sworn federal law-enforcement officers. 

"University property" means any property owned, leased or 
controlled by George Mason University. 

"Weapon" means any pistol, revolver, or other weapon 
designed or intended to propel a missile of any kind, or any 
dirk, bowie knife, switchblade knife, ballistic knife, razor 
slingshot, spring stick, metal knucks, blackjack, or any 
flailing instrument consisting of two or more rigid parts 
connected in such manner as to allow them to swing freely, 

which may be known as nun chahka, nun chuck, nunchaku, 
shuriken, or fighting chain, or any disc, of whatever 
configuration, having at least two points or pointed blades 
that is designed to be thrown or propelled and that may be 
known as throwing star or oriental dart. 

8VAC35-60-20. Possession of weapons prohibited. 

Possession or carrying of any weapon by any person, except 
a police officer, is prohibited on university property in 
academic buildings, administrative office buildings, student 
residence buildings, and while attending sporting, 
entertainment or educational events. Entry upon university 
property in violation of this prohibition is expressly 
forbidden. 

8VAC35-60-30. Person lawfully in charge. 

In addition to individuals authorized by university policy, 
George Mason University police officers are lawfully in 
charge for the purposes of forbidding entry upon or remaining 
upon university property while possessing or carrying 
weapons in violation of this prohibition. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-815; Filed July 19, 2007, 11:19 a.m.  

Withdrawal of Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC35-30. Space Utilization and 
Scheduling Policies and Procedures. 

Statutory Authority: §23-91.29 of the Code of Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given that George Mason University has 
WITHDRAWN the proposed regulatory action for 8VAC35-
30, Space Utilization and Scheduling Policies and 
Procedures, which was published in 16:16 VA.R. 2026-2032 
April 24, 2000. 

Agency Contact: Kenneth W. Hubble, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, George Mason University, 4400 University 
Drive, Fairfax, VA 22030, telephone (703) 993-3091, or 
email khubble@gmu.edu. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R00-157; Filed July 17, 2007, 2:01 p.m.  

Withdrawal of Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 8VAC35-60. Policy Prohibiting 
Weapons. 

Statutory Authority: §23-91.29 of the Code of Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given that George Mason University has 
WITHDRAWN the proposed regulatory action for 8VAC35-
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60, Policy Prohibiting Weapons, which was published in 
11:21 VA.R. 3353 July 10, 1995. 

Agency Contact: Kenneth W. Hubble, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, George Mason University, 4400 University 
Drive, Fairfax, VA 22030, telephone (703) 993-3091, or 
email khubble@gmu.edu. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R95-553; Filed July 17, 2007, 2:01 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-740. Water Reclamation and 
Reuse Regulation (adding 9VAC25-740-10 through 
9VAC25-740-210).  

Statutory Authority: §62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information:  

September 17, 2007 - 2 p.m. - Department of 
Environmental Quality, West Central Regional Office, 
3019 Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, VA 

September 21, 2007 - 2 p.m. - Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 

September 24, 2007 - 2 p.m. - Department of 
Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949 
Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
October 9, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Valerie Rourke, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4158, FAX (804) 
698-4116, or email varourke@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 62.1-44.2 establishes the purpose of the State 
Water Control Law to, among other things, promote and 
encourage the reclamation and reuse of wastewater in a 
manner protective of the environment and public health. 
Further, §62.1-44.15(15) authorizes the State Water Control 
Board to promote and establish requirements for the 
reclamation and reuse of wastewater that are protective of 
state waters and public health as an alternative to directly 
discharging pollutants into state waters. 

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed action is to adopt the 
Water Reclamation and Reuse Regulation in order to satisfy 
the provisions of §62.1-44.15  of the Code of Virginia, as 
mandated by the 2000 General Assembly in House Bill 1282. 

Pursuant to the action of the 2000 General Assembly, the 
board must promote and establish requirements for the 

reclamation and reuse of wastewater that are protective of 
state waters and public health as an alternative to directly 
discharging pollutants into state waters. The proposed 
regulation will establish technical requirements for 
reclamation and treatment standards for reclaimed water 
relative to the potential for discharge to the environment and 
for human contact by specific reuse categories.  Therefore, 
the proposed regulatory action would be essential to protect 
the Commonwealth’s environment and natural resources from 
pollution, impairment or destruction; and to protect the 
health, safety and welfare of its citizens. 

Substance: The proposed regulation will establish 
requirements for the reclamation and reuse of wastewater that 
are protective of state waters and public health.  Contained in 
the regulation are two sets of treatment standards and 
monitoring requirements for the reclamation of municipal 
wastewater, and provisions to develop treatment standards for 
the reclamation of industrial wastewater on a case-by-case 
basis. For six reuse categories (urban – unrestricted access, 
irrigation - unrestricted access, irrigation – restricted access, 
landscape impoundments, construction, and industrial), the 
regulation specifies the required treatment standards and 
allows for the approval of other reuses and associated 
treatment standards commensurate with the quality of the 
reclaimed water and its intended reuse.  This regulation also 
details requirements for application and permitting; design, 
construction, operation and maintenance of water reclamation 
systems and reclaimed water distribution systems; 
management of pollutants from significant industrial users; 
access control and signage; public education and notification; 
management of reclaimed water in use areas; recordkeeping; 
and reporting.  The treatment standards and other 
requirements of the proposed regulation will be implemented 
through VPDES or VPA permits issued primarily to 
generators and distributors of the reclaimed water. 

Issues: The advantages of the proposed regulation to the 
public are that it will provide uniform and consistent 
requirements for water reclamation and reuse statewide, 
permitting requirements for primarily generators and 
distributors of reclaimed water, but rarely for end users; 
minimal additional permits by implementation through 
existing VPDES and VPA permit programs and modification 
of existing permits thereof; standards of reclaimed water 
treatment for six reuse categories that are commensurate with 
level of human health protection necessary for those reuses; 
and a process for case-by-case approval of unlisted reuses.  
Although the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) that 
assisted the agency’s effort to develop this regulation 
generally supported it, some TAC members felt that parts of 
the regulation would be excessive and overly burdensome to 
the public and would, therefore, discourage water reclamation 
and reuse.  In response, the agency further refined the 
proposed regulation to ensure that it would meet the stated 
purpose of State Water Control Law to promote and 
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encourage the reclamation and reuse of wastewater in a 
manner protective of the environment and public health. 

Although a regulatory framework for land treatment of 
wastewater has been established through the Sewage 
Collection and Treatment Regulations (9 VAC 25-790), the 
Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) Permit Regulation (9 
VAC 25-32) and the Virginia Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System (VPDES) Permit Regulation (9 VAC 25-
31), these regulations do not clearly distinguish reuse 
irrigation from land treatment irrigation and do not prescribe 
reclaimed water treatment standards and technical 
requirements for other uses of reclaimed water (e.g., 
industrial cooling processes, fire protection, street washing, 
construction, etc.).  The proposed regulation will address 
these issues for the agency while maintaining the same 
permitting options used for land treatment of wastewater.  
The disadvantage to the agency resulting from this proposed 
regulation will be additional costs and labor for the review 
and data storage of monthly monitoring reports, inspections, 
enforcement and general program administration. 

The proposed regulation contains requirements that will 
support and work in concert with the General VPDES 
Watershed Permit Regulation for Total Nitrogen and Total 
Phosphorus Discharges and Nutrient Trading in the 
Chesapeake Bay Watershed in Virginia (9 VAC 25-820).  
The General Permit Regulation allows facilities to report a 
reduced waste load discharge of total nitrogen (N) and total 
phosphorus (P) for water reclamation and reuse.  A permittee 
reporting this reduction must demonstrate that reuses of the 
reclaimed water will result in a reduced nutrient load to the 
Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries, and that these reuses are 
not alternative transport mechanisms for the nutrient load. 
The proposed regulation contains requirements to manage 
nutrients from irrigation reuse, and to track and report 
nutrient loads for specific types of irrigation reuse.  This 
information can be used by permittees, in part, to comply 
with demonstration requirements of the General Permit 
Regulation. 

Depending on the type of irrigation reuse and the nutrient 
content of the reclaimed water, wastewater treatment facilities 
with the above general permit may not be able to claim 
reduced waste load discharge of total N and P for all N and P 
diverted to irrigation reuse. For nonbulk irrigation with 
reclaimed water not meeting biological nutrient removal 
(BNR) (i.e., annual average 8 mg/l total N and 1 mg/l total P), 
assumed losses to state waters of annual N and P loads 
applied within a service area will be 30% and 20%, 
respectively.  For bulk irrigation with reclaimed water not 
meeting BNR, the assumed losses of annual N and P loads 
will be 15% and 10%, respectively, in addition to nutrient 
management plan requirements. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Regulation. The State Water 
Control Board (Board) proposes to promulgate the Water 
Reclamation and Reuse Regulation to promote and encourage 
the reclamation and reuse of wastewater in a manner that is 
protective of the environment and public health. The 
regulation will establish permitting requirements, general 
requirements for design, operation and maintenance, quality 
standards, monitoring requirements, and approved reuses for 
reclaimed water. 

The requirements of the proposed regulation shall apply to all 
new wastewater reclamation systems, reclaimed water 
distribution systems and, as applicable, water reuses for 
which Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) or Virginia 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) permit1 
applications are received after the effective date of this 
regulation. Existing permitted facilities producing, 
distributing or using reclaimed water would not be required to 
comply with this regulation unless such facilities are modified 
or expanded. 

Results of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
one or more proposed changes. There is insufficient data to 
accurately compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the 
costs for other changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, some of the facilities 
in the Commonwealth are allowed under their VPA permits 
or VPDES permits to produce and distribute reclaimed 
water2. Any treatment works treating domestic, municipal or 
industrial wastewater that produces reclaimed water or a 
facility that distributes reclaimed water is required to obtain 
either a VPA permit if a discharge to surface waters is not 
involved, or a VPDES permit if a discharge to surface waters 
is involved. Except for some irrigation projects, end users of 
reclaimed water are not required to get a permit and have 
been regulated indirectly through the producers’ or suppliers’ 
VPA or VPDES permit. 

As required by the Code of Virginia, the Board proposes to 
adopt the Water Reclamation and Reuse Regulation to 
promote and encourage the reclamation and reuse of 
wastewater that are protective of public health and the 
environment as an alternative to directly discharging 
pollutants into state waters. The regulation will establish 
permitting requirements, general requirements for design, 
operation and maintenance, quality standards, monitoring 
requirements, and approved reuses for reclaimed water. 

The proposed regulation recognizes that different uses of 
water can tolerate different levels of water quality depending 
on the potential health and environmental risks. It establishes 
technical requirements for reclamation and treatment 
standards for reclaimed water relative to the potential for 
discharge to the environment and for human contact by 
specific reuse categories. When properly regulated, the use of 
reclaimed water treated to Level 1 and Level 2 standards3 for 
purposes that are commensurate with the risk associated with 
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its uses will likely increase the amount of potable water 
available for other necessary uses and will lead to a more 
efficient allocation of the existing water resources, without 
creating hazards to public health or the environment. 

According to the proposed regulation, reclaimed water treated 
to Level 1 standard may be used for the following categories: 
1) urban - unrestricted access4: including all types of 
landscape irrigation in public access areas (i.e., golf courses, 
cemeteries, public parks, school yards and athletic fields), 
toilet flushing – non-residential, fire fighting or protection 
and fire suppression in non-residential buildings, outdoor 
domestic or residential reuse (i.e., lawn watering and non-
commercial car washing), commercial car washes, and 
commercial air conditioning systems,  2) irrigation – 
unrestricted access: irrigation for any food crops not 
commercially processed, including crops eaten raw, 3) 
landscape impoundments with potential for public access or 
contact, and 4) commercial laundries. 

Reclaimed water treated to Level 2 standard may be used for 
the following purposes: 1) irrigation – restricted access5: 
irrigation for any food crops commercially processed, 
irrigation for non-food crops and turf, including fodder, fiber 
and seed crops, pasture for foraging livestock, sod farms, 
ornamental nurseries, and silviculture, 2) landscape 
impoundments with no potential for public access or contact, 
3) construction, including soil compaction, dust control, 
washing aggregate, and making concrete, 4) industrial uses 
such as livestock watering, aquaculture, stack scrubbing, 
street washing, boiler feed, ship ballast, once-through 
cooling, and re-circulating cooling towers. 

For irrigation with reclaimed water treated to Level 2 
standard, unless Level 1 disinfection is provided, the 
proposed regulation prohibits 1) grazing by milking animals 
on the irrigation reuse site for 15 days after irrigation with 
reclaimed water ceases, 2) harvesting, retail sale or allowing 
access by the general public to ornamental nursery stock or 
sod farms for 14 days after irrigation with reclaimed water 
ceases. According to DEQ, these exclusion periods are 
established based on the Environmental Protection Agency 
(EPA)’s report “Guidelines for Water Reuse” and are 
believed to be necessary to protect the public health and the 
environment. 

However, allowing the use of reclaimed water treated to 
Level 2 standard for irrigation on restricted access areas with 
certain exclusion periods likely impose some hazards to 
public health. The proposed regulation requires that 
regulation and management of individual end users of 
reclaimed water shall be by the permittee6 through service 
agreements or contracts between the permittee and the 
individual end users. The permittee is required to monitor the 
end users to verify compliance with the terms of their 
agreements or contracts. Monitoring shall include, at a 

minimum, metering the volume of reclaimed water consumed 
by end users. 

The proposed regulation requires that the service agreement 
or contract between the permittee and the end users include 
the following language: the permittee shall reserve the right to 
terminate the agreement and withdraw service for any failure 
by the end user to comply with the terms and conditions of 
the agreement or contract if corrective action for such failure 
is not taken by the end user. However, the permittee will 
likely not have the capability of detecting all violations by the 
end users nor the incentive to go out of their way to find 
violations since the permittee is after all earning revenue by 
selling reclaimed water to the end users. Therefore, allowing 
the use of reclaimed water treated to Level 2 standard for 
irrigation on restricted access areas while providing an 
exclusion period would likely result in some incidences 
where milking animals graze on the irrigation reuse site prior 
to 15 days after irrigation with reclaimed water ceases, and 
some instances where harvesting, retail sale or access by the 
general public to ornamental nursery stock or sod farms prior 
to 14 days after irrigation with reclaimed water ceases. These 
incidences could be avoided by requiring that reclaimed water 
treated to Level 1 standard be used for irrigation on restricted 
access areas to ensure the protection of public health. 
Producing reclaimed water treated to Level 1 standard is of 
course more expensive than reclaimed water treated to Level 
2 standard, though. 

The proposed regulation will likely encourage both the supply 
of and the demand for reclaimed water. From the supply side, 
the proposed regulation will establish uniform conditions and 
standards for water reclamation and reuse and thus will 
reduce the uncertainty and facilitate the installation and 
operation of wastewater reclamation and reuse systems. The 
proposed regulation will also increase the awareness of the 
potential end users of the opportunities of using reclaimed 
water in a manner that is protective of public health and the 
environment and will likely increase the demand for 
reclaimed water. 

For new water reclamation and reuse systems that produce the 
reclaimed water, the benefit would be the potential profit 
from selling the reclaimed water or potential cost savings 
from self use of reclaimed water. The cost for new facilities 
would include three parts. 1) Cost of obtaining a VPA or 
VPDES permit. The owner of the new reclamation system 
and the owner of the reclaimed water distribution system or 
the reclaimed water agent are required by the proposed 
regulation to obtain either a VPA permit if a discharge to 
surface waters is not involved, or a VPDES permit if a 
discharge to surface waters is involved. According to the 
Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), the cost of 
obtaining a VPA or VPDES permit ranges from $750 to 
$15,000 and from $2,000 to $24,000, respectively. 2) Cost of 
installing a water reclamation system, which will depend on 
the techniques and the capacity of the system. For example, 
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DEQ estimates that a water reclamation system that could 
treat wastewater to Level 2 standard with a capacity of 0.5 
Million Gallons per Day (MGD) would cost $179,0007 plus 
the real estate costs, marketing and distribution costs. It 
would cost another $250,000 to modify the same facility to 
achieve Level 1 reclaimed water treatment standards without 
Biological Nutrient Removal (BNR)8. If the facility chooses 
to install the BNR technology to reduce the nutrient level in 
the treated water, it would incur an additional cost ranging 
from $1.5 million to $3 million. 3) Other compliance costs, 
including the time spent on record-keeping, reporting, costs 
of preparing the Reclaimed Water management (RWM) plan 
as required for permit applications, and other costs associated 
with activities required in the RWM plan. DEQ estimates that 
the time spent on record-keeping will be no more than 2 
hours a month. No significant expenses are expected for 
reporting, except when the reclaimed water that does not meet 
the BNR condition of quality is used for irrigation. DEQ 
estimates that when the reclaimed water is used for irrigation 
that does not meet the BNR condition of quality, it will take 
the distributor approximately 10 hours for a one-time 
reporting process development system and then 2-3 hours a 
year thereafter. The time for preparing the RWM plan will 
vary depending on the site and facility specific factors but 
will generally be a one-time process of 10-15 hours with 2-3 
hours a month thereafter for regular updates.  According to 
DEQ, the facilities will also spend a small amount of time on 
monitoring of the end users9, periodical inspections to prevent 
cross-connections to a potable water system and backflow 
from industrial end users, as well as monthly monitoring of N 
and P loads by non-bulk irrigation reuses.  The facilities will 
also spend some time on the education and notification 
program for reuses that requires Level 1 reclaimed water. The 
proposed regulation requires the producers or the distributors 
to develop an education and notification program for reuses 
that require Level 1 reclaimed water to ensure that end users 
and the public likely to have contact with reclaimed water are 
informed of the origin, nature, and characteristics of the 
reclaimed water; the manner in which the reclaimed water can 
be used safely; and uses for which the reclaimed water is 
prohibited or limited.  The producers or the distributors are 
required to maintain a procedure to notify end users and the 
affected public of treatment failures at the reclamation system 
that can adversely impact human health, or result in loss of 
reclaimed water service. 

Given that a rational facility will opt to install the water 
reclamation and reuse system only when the estimated long-
term total benefit exceeds the estimated total cost, the 
proposed regulation will likely create a net benefit for new 
facilities in the long run. 

Existing facilities will likely not incur any additional costs 
unless they are to be modified or expanded, while they will 
benefit from an increased demand for reclaimed water. 
According to DEQ, currently there are two existing water 

reclamation and reuse facilities in the Commonwealth. There 
are also 270 VPA permitted facilities and 1,115 VPDES 
permitted facilities that are allowed to install water 
reclamation and reuse systems under their permits, but have 
not chosen to do so. If the existing water reclamation facilities 
choose to modify or expand their systems, or if the currently 
permitted facilities choose to install the water reclamation 
systems, they may incur the second part of the cost as 
discussed above depending on the techniques they choose as 
well as some of the costs in part 3). Again, given that the 
facilities will opt to modify or install the water reclamation 
and reuse systems only when their estimated long-term total 
benefit from selling the reclaimed water or from self use of 
the reclaimed water exceeds the estimated total cost, the 
proposed regulation will likely create a net benefit for these 
two types of facilities in the long run. 

The proposed regulation will likely benefit the potential end 
users by allowing and encouraging the use of reclaimed water 
for purposes where potable water is not necessary in terms of 
less public contact and low risk to public health and the 
environment.  According to DEQ, the price of reclaimed 
water is estimated to range from 47% to 75% of the price of 
potable water depending on the areas and the price of 
reclaimed water treated to Level 1 standard is usually higher 
than reclaimed water treated to Level 2 standard.  Some new 
end users, when choosing to use reclaimed water, will be 
required to obtain a permit if they receive reclaimed water 
directly from more than one reclamation system, satellite 
reclamation system, reclaimed water distribution system, or a 
combination thereof. As discussed above, the cost of 
obtaining a VPA permit ranges from $750 to $15,000, and the 
cost of obtaining a VPDES permit ranges from $2,000 to 
$24,000. New bulk irrigation users are required to develop a 
Nutrient Management Plan (NMP) if the reclaimed water 
used is not treated to achieve Biological Nutrient Removal 
(BNR)10. DEQ estimates that the average cost of developing a 
NNP is approximately $650 for a typical Virginia farm. Bulk 
irrigation users11 will be required to develop a site plan for 
each bulk irrigation reuse site, with each site plan taking 
about eight hours to finish according to DEQ. Given that the 
potential end users will come into the market only if the total 
benefit from using reclaimed water instead of potable water 
exceeds the total cost, the proposed regulation will likely 
create a net benefit for the potential end users. The proposed 
regulation will likely not impose any additional costs to the 
existing end users.  Existing end users may actually benefit 
with a more competitive market for reclaimed water. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulation 
affects new facilities that produce and distribute reclaimed 
water and the potential end users. Existing facilities will not 
be affected unless they are to be modified or expanded. 
According to DEQ, currently there are two existing water 
reclamation and reuse facilities in the Commonwealth. There 
are also 270 VPA permitted facilities and 1,115 VPDES 
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permitted facilities that are allowed to install water 
reclamation and reuse systems under their permits but have 
not chosen to do so. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulation 
affects all localities in the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 
will promote the reclamation and reuse of wastewater and 
will likely encourage the establishment of new water 
reclamation systems, which may create more jobs for citizens 
in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed regulation will likely encourage new facilities to 
produce and distribute reclaimed water, or the existing 
permitted facilities to install the water reclamation system. 
These facilities will likely receive a net benefit in the long 
run, which may have a positive impact on their asset values. 
The potential users will likely receive a net benefit from 
reduced costs of using reclaimed water, which may have a 
positive impact on their asset values. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. According to 
DEQ, approximately 80% of the existing permitted facilities 
are small businesses. They are allowed to install water 
reclamation and reuse systems under their permits but have 
not chosen to do so. The proposed regulation will likely 
create a net benefit for small businesses that opt to install 
water reclamation and reuse systems. The proposed 
regulation will also benefit the potential small end users with 
reduced costs from using reclaimed water rather than potable 
water.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses will likely not be adversely 
affected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, §2.2-4007 
H requires that such economic impact analyses include (i) an 
identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 
subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, 
recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for 
small businesses to comply with the regulation, including the 
type of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents; (iii) a statement of the probable 
effect of the regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) 
a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative 
methods of achieving the purpose of the regulation.  The 
analysis presented above represents DPB’s best estimate of 
these economic impacts. 

_______________________ 

1 "Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) Permit" means a 
document issued by the Board, pursuant to the Virginia 
Pollution Abatement Permit Regulation (9 VAC 25-32-10 et 
seq.), authorizing pollutant management activities under 
prescribed conditions. "Virginia Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System (VPDES) Permit" means a document 
issued by the Board, pursuant to the Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System Permit Regulation (9 VAC 25-
31-10 et seq.), authorizing, under prescribed conditions the 
potential or actual discharge of pollutants from a point source 
to surface waters and the use or disposal of sewage sludge.  
Under the approved state program, a VPDES permit is 
equivalent to an NPDES permit. 

2 "Reclaimed water" means water resulting from the 
treatment of domestic, municipal or industrial wastewater that 
is suitable for a water reuse that would not otherwise occur.  
Specifically excluded from this definition is “gray water”. 

3 According to the proposed regulation, "Level 1" means a 
degree of treatment at which reclaimed water has received, at 
a minimum, secondary treatment with filtration and higher-
level disinfection, and meets all other applicable standards 
specified in 9 VAC 25-740-70. "Level 2" means a degree of 
treatment at which reclaimed water has received, at a 
minimum, secondary treatment and standard disinfection, and 
meets all other applicable standards specified in 9 VAC 25-
740-70. 

4 “Unrestricted access” means unlimited or minimally limited 
access by humans to areas where non-potable water, 
including reclaimed water, is used, resulting in a high 
potential for human contact. 

5 "Restricted access" means limited access by humans to 
areas where, non-potable water, including reclaimed water, is 
used, resulting in minimal or no potential for human contact. 

6 Permittees include producer, distributor, and end users 
receiving reclaimed water from more than one supplier. 

7 This cost is estimated based on the costs of an existing 
wastewater treatment facility. 

8 "Biological Nutrient Removal (BNR)” means treatment 
which achieves an annual average of 8 mg/l total nitrogen (N) 
and 1 mg/l total phosphorus (P). 

9 According to the proposed regulation, monitoring shall 
include, at a minimum, metering the volume of reclaimed 
water consumed by end users. 
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10 "Biological Nutrient Removal (BNR)” means treatment 
which achieves an annual average of 8 mg/l total nitrogen (N) 
and 1 mg/l total phosphorus (P). 

11 "Bulk irrigation reuse” means reuse of reclaimed water for 
irrigation of an area greater than five acres on one contiguous 
property. 

Agency's Response to Department of Planning and Budget's 
Economic Impact Analysis: The department has reviewed the 
economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning 
and Budget and has no comment. 

Summary:  

The proposed regulation establishes requirements for the 
reclamation and reuse of wastewater that are protective of 
state waters and public health.  Contained in the 
regulation are two sets of treatment standards and 
monitoring requirements for the reclamation of municipal 
wastewater, and provisions to develop treatment standards 
for the reclamation of industrial wastewater on a case-by-
case basis. For six reuse categories (urban – unrestricted 
access, irrigation - unrestricted access, irrigation – 
restricted access, landscape impoundments, construction, 
and industrial), the regulation specifies the required 
treatment standards and allows for the approval of other 
reuses and associated treatment standards commensurate 
with the quality of the reclaimed water and its intended 
reuse.  This regulation also details requirements for 
application and permitting; design, construction, operation 
and maintenance of water reclamation systems and 
reclaimed water distribution systems; management of 
pollutants from significant industrial users; access control 
and signage; public education and notification; 
management of reclaimed water in use areas; 
recordkeeping; and reporting. 

CHAPTER 740 

WATER RECLAMATION AND REUSE REGULATION 

Part I 

Definitions and General Program Requirements 

9VAC25-740-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise. 

"Biological nutrient removal (BNR)" means treatment that 
achieves an annual average of 8 mg/l total nitrogen (N) and 1 
mg/l total phosphorus (P). 

"Board" means the Virginia State Water Control Board or 
State Water Control Board. 

"Bulk irrigation reuse" means reuse of reclaimed water for 
irrigation of an area greater than five acres on one contiguous 
property. 

"Class I reliability" means a measure of reliability that 
requires a treatment works design to provide continuous 
satisfactory operation during power failures, flooding, peak 
loads, equipment failure, and maintenance shut-down.  
Design features of this class shall include additional electrical 
power sources, additional flow storage capacity, and 
additional treatment unit operations that provide for alternate 
operation in accordance with the issued certificate or permit 
requirements. 

"Controlled use" means a use of reclaimed water authorized 
in accordance with this regulation. 

"Corrective action threshold" means a bacterial, turbidity or 
total residual chlorine standard for reclaimed water at which 
measures shall be implemented to correct operational 
problems of the reclamation system within a specified period, 
or divert flow from the reclamation treatment process in 
accordance with this regulation.  

"Direct beneficial use" means the use of reclaimed water in 
a manner protective of the environment and public health that 
involves transport of the reclaimed water from the point of 
reclamation treatment and production to the point of use 
without an intervening discharge to waters of the state. 

"Direct potable reuse" means the discharge of reclaimed 
water directly into a drinking water treatment facility or into a 
drinking water distribution system.  This includes storage 
facilities associated with the drinking water treatment facility 
or drinking water distribution system that are not surface or 
ground waters of the state. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality or an authorized representative. 

"Disinfection" means the destruction, inactivation, or 
removal of pathogenic microorganisms by chemical, physical, 
or biological means.  Disinfection may be accomplished by 
chlorination, ozonation, or other chemical disinfectants; UV 
radiation; or other processes. 

"Disposal" means the discharge of effluent to injection 
wells, effluent outfalls, subsurface drain fields, or other 
facilities utilized primarily for the release of effluents into the 
environment without deriving a direct beneficial use.   

"Domestic sewage" means sewage derived from the normal 
family or household activities, including drinking, laundering, 
bathing, cooking, heating, cleaning and flushing toilets. 

"Drip irrigation" means the slow and uniform aboveground 
application of water to individual plants and vegetated cover 
using tubing and drip devices or emitters.  Drip irrigation may 
include below-ground applications of reclaimed water as 
specified in 9VAC25-740-90 B. 

"Effluent," unless specifically stated otherwise, means 
treated wastewater that is not reused after flowing out of any 
treatment works.  
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"End user" means a person or entity that directly uses 
reclaimed water. 

"Filtration" means the passing of wastewater through a 
conventional technology, such as sand, anthracite or cloth; or 
an advanced technology, such as microfiltration, 
ultrafiltration, nanofiltration or reverse osmosis membrane. 

"Food crops commercially processed" means food crops 
that, prior to sale to the public or others, have undergone 
chemical or physical processing sufficient to remove or 
destroy pathogens.  

"Food crops not commercially processed" means food crops 
that, prior to sale to the public or others, have not undergone 
chemical or physical processing sufficient to remove or 
destroy pathogens. 

"Gray water" means untreated wastewater from bathtubs, 
showers, lavatory fixtures, wash basins, washing machines, 
and laundry tubs.  It does not include wastewater from toilets, 
urinals, kitchen sinks, dishwashers, or laundry water from 
soiled diapers. 

"Ground water" means any water, except capillary moisture, 
beneath the land surface in the zone of saturation or beneath 
the bed of any stream, lake, reservoir or other body of surface 
water wholly or partially within the boundaries of this 
Commonwealth, whatever the subsurface geologic structure 
in which such water stands, flows, percolates or otherwise 
occurs. 

"Indirect potable reuse" means the discharge of reclaimed 
water to a receiving surface water for the purpose of 
intentionally augmenting a water supply source, with 
subsequent withdrawal after mixing with the ambient surface 
water and transport to the withdrawal location, followed by 
treatment and distribution for drinking water and other 
potable water purposes. 

"Indirect reuse" means the use of reclaimed water 
subsequent to discharge to surface waters of the state, 
including wetlands, pursuant to a VPDES permit. 

"Industrial wastewater" means wastewater resulting from 
any process of industry, manufacture, trade or business, or 
from the development of any natural resources. 

"Irrigation" means the application of water to land for plant 
use at a rate that undesirable plant water stress does not occur. 

"Landscape impoundment" means a body of water that 
contains reclaimed water, is not intended for public contact, 
and is used primarily for aesthetic enjoyment.  Landscape 
impoundments include, but are not limited to, decorative 
pools, fountains, ponds and lagoons; located outdoors or 
indoors. 

"Level 1" means a degree of treatment at which reclaimed 
water has received, at a minimum, secondary treatment with 

filtration and higher-level disinfection, and meets all other 
applicable standards specified in 9VAC 25-740-70. 

"Level 2" means a degree of treatment at which reclaimed 
water has received, at a minimum, secondary treatment and 
standard disinfection, and meets all other applicable standards 
specified in 9VAC 25-740-70. 

"Municipal wastewater" means sewage. 

"Nonbulk irrigation reuse" means the reuse of reclaimed 
water for irrigation of individual areas less than or equal to 
five acres. 

"Nonpotable water" means any water, including reclaimed 
water, not meeting the definition of potable water. 

"Nonsystem storage" means storage for reclaimed water that 
is other than system storage and is used at a location 
downstream of the service connection to the reclaimed water 
distribution system to equalize flow to end users. 

"Nutrient management plan (NMP)" means a plan prepared 
by a nutrient management planner certified by the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation to manage the 
amount, placement, timing, and application of plant nutrients 
from liquid, solid or semisolid manures, fertilizers, biosolids, 
or other materials, for the purpose of producing crops and 
reducing nutrient loss to the environment. 

"Owner" means the Commonwealth or any of its political 
subdivisions including, but not limited to, sanitation district 
commissions and authorities, and any public or private 
institution, corporation, association, firm or company 
organized or existing under the laws of this or any other state 
or country, or any officer or agency of the United States, or 
any person or group of persons acting individually or as a 
group that owns, operates, charters, rents, or otherwise 
exercises control over or is responsible for the production or 
distribution of reclaimed water, or any facility or operation 
that produces or distributes reclaimed water. 

"Permit" means an authorization, certificate, license, or 
equivalent control document issued by the board to 
implement the requirements of this regulation. 

"Point of compliance" means a point at which compliance 
with the standards of this regulation is required.  

"Pollutants of concern" means any pollutants that might 
reasonably be expected to be discharged to a publicly or 
privately owned treatment works in sufficient amounts to pass 
through or interfere with the works, contaminate sludge 
generated by the works, cause problems in the collection 
system of the works, or jeopardize the health of employees at 
the works and the public.  

"Potable water" means water fit for human consumption and 
domestic use that is sanitary and normally free of minerals, 
organic substances, and toxic agents in excess of reasonable 
amounts for domestic usage in the area served and normally 
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adequate in quantity and quality for the minimum health 
requirements of the persons served. 

"Public access area" means an area that is intended to be 
accessible to the general public, such as golf courses, 
cemeteries, parks, athletic fields, school yards, and landscape 
areas.  Public access areas include private property that is not 
open to the public at large, but is intended for frequent use by 
many persons. Presence of authorized farm personnel or other 
authorized treatment plant, utilities system, or reuse system 
personnel does not constitute public access. 

 "Reclamation" means the treatment of domestic, municipal 
or industrial wastewater or sewage to produce reclaimed 
water for a water reuse that would not otherwise occur. 

"Reclamation system" means a treatment works that treats 
domestic, municipal or industrial wastewater or sewage to 
produce reclaimed water for a water reuse that would not 
otherwise occur. 

"Reclaimed water" means water resulting from the treatment 
of domestic, municipal or industrial wastewater that is 
suitable for a water reuse that would not otherwise occur.  
Specifically excluded from this definition is "gray water." 

"Reclaimed water agent" means a person or entity that holds 
a permit to distribute reclaimed water to one or more end 
users. 

"Reclaimed water distribution system" means a network of 
pipes, pumping facilities, storage facilities, and appurtenances 
designed to convey and distribute reclaimed water from one 
or more reclamation systems to one or more end users. 

"Reuse" or "water reuse" means the use of reclaimed water 
for a direct beneficial use, an indirect potable reuse, or a 
controlled use in accordance with this regulation. 

"Reuse system" means an installation or method of 
operation that uses reclaimed water for a water reuse in 
accordance with this regulation. 

"Restricted access" means limited access by humans to areas 
where, nonpotable water, including reclaimed water, is used, 
resulting in minimal or no potential for human contact. 

"Satellite reclamation system" means a conjunctive 
wastewater treatment facility and reclamation system that 
operates within or parallel to a sewage collection system to 
treat a portion of the available wastewater flow in the 
collection system to produce reclaimed water for reuse.  
Satellite reclamation systems do not have a discharge to 
surface waters, but may return their treatment process 
wastewater and residuals to the sewage collection system. 

"Secondary treatment" means a biological treatment process 
for wastewater that achieves the minimum level of effluent 
quality defined by the federal secondary treatment regulation 
in 40 CFR §133.102 (2001). 

"Service area" means a geographic area that receives 
reclaimed water from a reclaimed water distribution system 
or directly from a reclamation system for approved reuses 
within that area.  

"Sewage" means the water-carried human wastes and 
nonwater-carried human excrement, kitchen, laundry, shower, 
bath or lavatory wastes, separately or together with such 
underground, surface, storm and other water and liquid 
industrial wastes as may be present from residences, 
buildings, vehicles, industrial establishments or other places. 

"State waters" or "waters of the state" means all water, on 
the surface and under the ground, wholly or partially within 
or bordering the Commonwealth or within its jurisdiction, 
including wetlands.  

"State Water Control Law or Law" means Chapter 3.1 
(§62.1-44.2 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Supplemental irrigation" means irrigation with reclaimed 
water in addition to rainfall, which in combination with 
rainfall, meets the water demands of the irrigated vegetation 
to maximize production or optimize growth. 

"Surface waters" means all waters in the Commonwealth, 
except ground water as defined in §62.1-255 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"System storage" means storage on or off the site and 
considered part of a reclamation system, satellite reclamation 
system, or reclaimed water distribution system that is used to 
store reclaimed water produced by the reclamation system or 
satellite reclamation system and to equalize flow to or within 
a reclaimed water distribution system. 

"Treatment works" means any devices and systems used for 
the storage, treatment, recycling or reclamation of sewage or 
liquid industrial waste, or other waste, or that are necessary to 
recycle or reuse water, including intercepting sewers, outfall 
sewers, sewage collection systems, individual systems, 
pumping, power and other equipment and their 
appurtenances, extensions, improvements, remodeling, 
additions, or alterations thereof; or any works, including land 
that will be an integral part of the treatment process or is used 
for ultimate disposal of residues resulting from such 
treatment; or any other method or system used for preventing, 
abating, reducing, storing, treating, separating, or disposing of 
municipal waste or industrial waste, including waste in 
combined sewer water and sanitary sewer systems. 

"Unrestricted access" means unlimited or minimally limited 
access by humans to areas where nonpotable water, including 
reclaimed water, is used, resulting in a high potential for 
human contact. 

"User" means end user. 

"Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) Permit" means a 
document issued by the board, pursuant to the Virginia 
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Pollution Abatement Permit Regulation (9VAC25-32), 
authorizing pollutant management activities under prescribed 
conditions. 

"Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 
Permit" means a document issued by the board, pursuant to 
the Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit 
Regulation (9VAC 25-31), authorizing, under prescribed 
conditions the potential or actual discharge of pollutants from 
a point source to surface waters and the use or disposal of 
sewage sludge.  Under the approved state program, a VPDES 
permit is equivalent to an NPDES permit. 

"Wastewater" means untreated liquid and water carried 
industrial wastes and domestic sewage from residential 
dwellings, commercial buildings, industrial and 
manufacturing facilities and institutions.  

"Water reclamation" means the reclamation of wastewater or 
treated effluent for reuse. 

9VAC25-740-20. Purpose. 

In accordance with §§62.1-44.2, 62.1-44.3 and 62.1-44.15 of 
the Code of Virginia, it is the purpose of this regulation to 
promote and encourage the reclamation of wastewater, here 
after referred to as water reclamation, and water reuse in a 
manner that is protective of the environment and public 
health, and as an alternative to discharging treated effluent to 
state waters.  For this purpose, the regulation establishes 
permitting requirements, general requirements for design, 
operation and maintenance; quality standards, monitoring 
requirements, and approved reuses for reclaimed water. 

9VAC25-740-30. Applicability and transition. 

A. The requirements of this regulation shall apply to water 
reclamation systems, reclaimed water distribution systems, 
and water reuse unless specifically excluded under 9VAC25-
740-50 A. The requirements shall apply to all new water 
reclamation systems, reclaimed water distribution systems 
and, as applicable, water reuses for which Virginia Pollution 
Abatement (VPA) or Virginia Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System (VPDES) permit applications are 
received after the [ effective date of this regulation ] . The 
requirements may also be applied to all existing permitted 
facilities producing, distributing or using reclaimed water 
through a permit modification or reissuance procedure and 
shall be applied when such facilities are to be modified or 
expanded unless specifically excluded under 9VAC25-740-50 
A. The owners of existing water reclamation systems, 
reclaimed water distribution systems and, as applicable, water 
reuses that do not have a VPA or VPDES permit shall submit 
a complete VPA or VPDES permit application or other 
necessary information as prescribed under 9VAC25-740-40 
within 180 days of being requested by the board. 

B. For the purposes of this regulation, modification of a 
VPDES or VPA permit to incorporate standards, monitoring 

requirements and special conditions that address water 
reclamation and reuse shall be considered a minor 
modification unless they alter other conditions of the permit 
specifically related to an effluent discharge or pollutant 
management activity for which the permit was originally 
issued. 

9VAC25-740-40. Permitting requirements. 

A. The owner of the reclamation system and the owner of 
the reclaimed water distribution system or the reclaimed 
water agent shall obtain a VPDES or VPA permit to produce 
and distribute reclaimed water, unless otherwise excluded 
from the requirements of this regulation under 9VAC25-740-
50 A. Where both the reclamation system and the reclaimed 
water distribution system are under common ownership and 
management, one permit may be issued to the owner. Permit 
coverage may be provided through modification or reissuance 
of an existing VPDES or VPA permit to include standards, 
monitoring requirements and special conditions that address 
water reclamation and reuse. 

B. The owner of a satellite reclamation system shall obtain a 
VPA permit. Alternatively and at the discretion of the board, 
a satellite reclamation system may be authorized under a VPA 
or VPDES permit issued to a wastewater treatment facility 
that is under common ownership or management with the 
satellite reclamation system and receives wastewater and 
residuals discharged by the satellite reclamation system. 

C. Regulation and management of individual end users of 
reclaimed water shall be by the permittee with whom the end 
users have a service connection, and through service 
agreements or contracts between the permittee and the 
individual end users. 

D. A separate permit shall be issued to an end user only if 
the end user receives reclaimed water directly from more than 
one reclamation system, satellite reclamation system, 
reclaimed water distribution system, or a combination thereof. 
An end user may be authorized under the permit issued to one 
of the reclamation systems, satellite reclamation systems, or 
reclaimed water distribution systems that supply reclaimed 
water to the end user, provided the end user owns or manages 
the permitted system. 

E. Property irrigated with reclaimed water from a 
reclamation system or reclaimed water distribution system 
under common ownership or management with the property 
receiving the reclaimed water, shall be regulated by the 
permit issued to the reclamation system or reclaimed water 
distribution system, whichever directly supplies reclaimed 
water to the irrigated property. 

F. A reclamation system shall not discharge reclaimed or 
reject water to surface waters of the state in lieu of providing 
storage, discharging to another permitted reuse system, if 
applicable; returning reclaimed or reject water to a 
wastewater treatment facility; or suspending production of 
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reclaimed water; without authorization to discharge under a 
VPDES Permit.  

9VAC25-740-50. Exclusions and prohibitions. 

A. Exclusions. The following are excluded from the 
requirements of this regulation: 

1. Activities permitted by the Virginia Department of 
Health, such as, but not limited to, septic tank drainfield 
systems and other on-site sewage treatment and disposal 
systems, and water treatment plant recycle flows. 

2. Utilization of gray water. 

3. Nonpotable water produced and utilized on-site by the 
same treatment works. This includes the use of nonpotable 
water at the treatment works site for incidental landscape 
irrigation that is not identified as land treatment defined in 
the Sewage Collection and Treatment Regulations 
(9VAC25-790). The treatment works site shall include 
property that is either contiguous to or in the immediate 
vicinity of the parcel of land upon which the treatment 
works is located, provided such property is under common 
ownership or management with the treatment works. 

4. Recycle flows within a treatment works. 

5. Industrial effluents or other industrial water streams 
created prior to final treatment and used for water re-
circulation, recycle, or reuse systems located on the same 
property as the industrial facility, provided: 

a. The water used in these systems does not contain or is 
not expected to contain pathogens or other constituents in 
sufficient quantities and with a potential for human 
contact as may be harmful to human health; 

b. These systems are closed or isolated to prevent worker 
contact with the water of the systems; or 

c. Other measures are in place to adequately inform and 
protect employees from pathogens or other constituents 
that may be harmful to human health in the water to be 
re-circulated, recycled or reused at the facility. 

6. Land treatment systems defined in the Sewage 
Collection and Treatment Regulations (9VAC25-790). 
Such use of wastewater effluent, either existing or 
proposed, must be authorized by a VPA or VPDES permit 
and must be on land owned or under the direct long-term 
control of the permittee. 

7. Indirect reuse with the exception of indirect potable 
reuse projects proposed after the effective date of this 
regulation. 

8. Existing indirect potable reuse projects that upon the 
effective date of this regulation are authorized by a VPDES 
permit to discharge to surface waters of the state, and 
future expansions of these projects. 

9. Direct injection of reclaimed water into any 
underground aquifer authorized by EPA under the Safe 
Drinking Water Act, Underground Injection Control 
Program (UIC), 40 CFR Part 144; or other applicable 
federal and state laws and regulations. 

Exclusion from the requirements of this regulation does not 
relieve any owner of the above operations of the 
responsibility to comply with any other applicable federal, 
state or local statute, ordinance or regulations. 

B. Prohibitions. The following are prohibited under this 
regulation: 

1. Direct potable reuse; 

2. The reuse of reclaimed water for any purpose inside a 
residential or domestic dwelling or a building containing a 
residential or domestic unit; 

3. The reuse of reclaimed water to fill residential 
swimming pools, hot tubs or wading pools; 

4. The reuse of reclaimed water for food preparation or 
incorporation as an ingredient into food or beverage for 
human consumption; 

5. Bypass of untreated or partially treated wastewater from 
the reclamation system or any intermediate unit process to 
the point of reuse unless the bypass complies with 
standards and requirements specified in 9VAC25-740-70 
and is for essential maintenance to assure efficient 
operation; and 

6. The return of reclaimed water to the reclaimed water 
distribution system after the reclaimed water has been 
delivered to an end user.  

9VAC25-740-60. Relationship to other board regulations. 

A. Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) Permit Regulation 
(9VAC25-32). The VPA Permit Regulation delineates the 
procedures and requirements to be followed in connection 
with the VPA permits issued by the board pursuant to the 
State Water Control Law. While any treatment works treating 
domestic, municipal or industrial wastewater that produces 
reclaimed water or a facility that distributes reclaimed water 
in a manner that does not result in a discharge to surface 
waters is required to obtain a VPA permit, this chapter 
prescribes design, operation and maintenance standards for 
water reclamation and water reuse. These requirements shall 
be incorporated into the VPA permit application and the VPA 
permit when applicable. 

B. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(VPDES) Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31). The VPDES 
Permit Regulation delineates the procedures and requirements 
to be followed in connection with VPDES permits issued by 
the board pursuant to the Clean Water Act and the State 
Water Control Law. While any treatment works treating 
domestic, municipal or industrial wastewater that produces 
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reclaimed water or a facility that distributes reclaimed water 
in a manner that results in a discharge to surface waters is 
required to obtain a VPDES permit, this chapter prescribes 
design, operation and maintenance standards for water 
reclamation and reuse. These requirements shall be 
incorporated into the VPDES permit application and the 
VPDES permit when applicable.  

C. Sewage Collection and Treatment Regulations (9VAC25-
790). The Sewage Collection and Treatment Regulations 
establish standards for the operation, construction, or 
modification of a sewerage system or treatment works, 
including land treatment systems. This chapter prescribes 
design, operation and maintenance standards for water 
reclamation and reuse. 

D. Regulation for Nutrient Enriched Waters and Discharges 
within the Chesapeake Bay Watershed (9VAC 25-40). 
Sections 62.1-44.19:12 through 62.1-44.19:19 of the Code of 
Virginia, which establishes the Regulation for Nutrient 
Enriched Waters and Discharges within the Chesapeake Bay 
Watershed (9VAC25-40), allows for the reuse of wastewater 
to reduce loads of total nitrogen and total phosphorus 
equivalent to reductions that would be provided by biological 
nutrient removal technology or state-of-the-art nutrient 
removal technology. 

E. General VPDES Watershed Permit Regulation for Total 
Nitrogen and Total Phosphorus Discharges and Nutrient 
Trading in the Chesapeake Bay Watershed in Virginia 
(9VAC25-820). The General VPDES Watershed Permit 
Regulation for Total Nitrogen and Total Phosphorus 
Discharges and Nutrient Trading in the Chesapeake Bay 
Watershed in Virginia allows facilities to report a reduced 
waste load discharge of total nitrogen and total phosphorus 
for reclaiming and reusing water. A permittee reporting this 
reduction must demonstrate that the reuses of water will result 
in a reduced nutrient load to the Chesapeake Bay and its 
tributaries, and that these reuses are not alternative transport 
mechanisms for the nutrient load. 

F. Local and Regional Water Supply Planning Regulation 
(9VAC25-780). The Local and Regional Water Supply 
Planning Regulation requires every county, city, and town to 
develop a water plan in accordance with established planning 
criteria. Where appropriate, the plan may consider 
nontraditional means of increasing supplies such as 
interconnection, desalination, recycling and reuse.  

Part II 

Reclaimed Water Standards, Monitoring Requirements and 
Reuses 

9VAC25-740-70. Standards for reclaimed water. 

A. Standards for reclaimed water are as follows: 

1. Level 1: 

a. Secondary treatment with filtration and higher-level 
disinfection 

b. Bacterial standards: 

(1) Fecal coliform*: monthly geometric mean** less than 
or equal to 14 colonies/100 ml; corrective action 
threshold at greater than 49 colonies/100 ml, or 

(2) E. coli*: monthly geometric mean** less than or equal 
to 11 colonies/100 ml; corrective action threshold at 
greater than 35 colonies/100 ml, or 

(3) Enterococci*: monthly geometric mean** less than or 
equal to 11 colonies/100 ml; corrective action threshold 
at greater than 24 colonies/100 ml 

c. Total Residual Chlorine (TRC)***: corrective action 
threshold at less than 1 mg/l**** after a minimum contact 
time of 30 minutes at average flow or 20 minutes at peak 
flow 

d. pH 6.0-9.0 standard units 

e. Five-day Biochemical Oxygen Demand (BOD5): 
monthly average less than or equal to 10 mg/l; or 
Carbonaceous Biochemical Oxygen Demand (CBOD) 

*****: monthly average less than or equal to 8 mg/l 

f. Turbidity: Daily average of discrete measurements 
recorded over a 24-hour period less than or equal to 2 
nephelometric turbidity units (NTU); corrective action 
threshold at greater than 5 NTU 

2. Level 2: 

a. Secondary treatment and standard disinfection 

b. Bacterial standards: 

(1) Fecal coliform*: monthly geometric mean** less than 
or equal to 200 colonies/100ml; corrective action 
threshold at greater than 800 colonies/100 ml, or 

(2) E. coli*: monthly geometric mean** less than or equal 
to 126 colonies/100ml; corrective action threshold at 
greater than 235 colonies/100 ml, or 

(3) Enterococci*: monthly geometric mean** less than or 
equal to 35 colonies/100ml; corrective action threshold at 
greater than 104 colonies/100 ml 

c. Total Residual Chlorine (TRC)***: corrective action 
threshold at less than 1 mg/l**** after a minimum contact 
time of 30 minutes at average flow or 20 minutes at peak 
flow 

d. pH 6.0-9.0 standard units 

e. BOD5: monthly average less than or equal to 30 mg/l; 
maximum weekly average 45 mg/l; or CBOD*****: 
monthly average less than or equal to 25 mg/l; maximum 
weekly average 40 mg/l 
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f. TSS: monthly average less than or equal to 30 mg/l; 
maximum weekly average 45 mg/l 
* After disinfection. 
** For the purpose of calculating the geometric mean, 
bacterial analytical results below the detection level of 
the analytical method used shall be reported as values 
equal to the detection level. 
*** Applies only if chlorine is used for disinfection. 
**** TRC less than 1.0 mg/l may be authorized by the 
board if demonstrated to provide comparable disinfection 
through a chlorine reduction program in accordance with 
the Sewage Collection and Treatment Regulations 
(9VAC25-790). 
***** Applies only if CBOD is used in lieu of BOD5 

B. Point of compliance. Excluding the turbidity standard for 
Level 1 treatment, reclaimed water for reuse shall meet all 
other applicable standards in accordance with this regulation, 
at the point of compliance. The point of compliance for Level 
1 treatment shall be after all reclaimed water treatment and 
any open system storage. The point of compliance for Level 2 
treatment shall be after all reclaimed water treatment and 
prior to discharge to a reclaimed water distribution system. 
The point of compliance for the turbidity standard of Level 1 
treatment shall be just upstream of disinfection. 

C. Reclaimed water that fails to comply with the standards 
shall be managed as follows: 

1. Should reclaimed water reach the corrective action 
threshold (CAT) for turbidity in the standard for Level 1, 
or for bacteria or TRC in the standards for Level 1 or 2, 
whichever applies, the operator of the reclamation system 
shall immediately initiate a review of treatment operations 
and data to identify the cause of the CAT monitoring 
results to bring the reclaimed water back into compliance 
with the standards. Resampling and operational review 
shall be performed in accordance with procedures 
described in an approved operations and maintenance 
manual for the reclamation system. Resampling shall occur 
within one hour of first reaching the CAT. 

a. If subsequent monitoring results of the resamples 
collected within one hour of the first CAT monitoring 
results for turbidity or TRC continue to reach the CAT of 
the standards, the reclaimed water shall be considered 
substandard or reject water and shall be diverted to either 
storage for subsequent additional treatment or 
retreatment, or discharged to another permitted reuse 
system requiring a lower level of treatment not less than 
Level 2 or to a VPDES permitted effluent disposal 
system provided the reject water meets the effluent limits 
of the permit. If the reclamation system is unattended, the 
diversion of reject water shall be initiated and performed 
with automatic equipment. There shall be no automatic 

restarts of distribution to reuse until the treatment 
problem is corrected. Failure to divert the substandard or 
reject water after one hour of CAT monitoring results 
shall be considered a violation of this regulation. 

b. If subsequent monitoring results of the resample for 
bacteria (i.e., fecal coliform, E. coli or enterococci) also 
continue to reach the CAT of the standards or the 
operational review confirms that there exists a problem 
with the bacterial disinfection that can not be 
immediately corrected, the reclaimed water shall be 
considered substandard or reject water and shall be 
immediately diverted as described in subdivision C 1 a of 
this section, except that diversion shall be performed 
manually. Failure to divert the substandard or reject 
water at the earliest determination of CAT monitoring 
results for bacteria in the resample or a problem with the 
bacterial disinfection that can not be immediately 
corrected, shall be considered a violation of this 
regulation. 

2. Repeated, although temporary, failure to comply with all 
other standards by the reclamation system may be 
considered a violation of this regulation determined by the 
frequency and magnitude of the noncompliant monitoring 
results and other relevant factors. Failure to resample after 
determination that monitoring results are not in compliance 
with the standards or failure to make adjustments to the 
treatment process to bring the reclaimed water back into 
compliance with the standards shall be considered a 
violation of this regulation.  

D. Treatment other than or in addition to the standards of 
9VAC25-740-70 A may be necessary based on the quality 
and character of the wastewater to be reclaimed or the 
intended reuse or reuses of the reclaimed water. Such 
alternative or additional treatment may be exempt from this 
regulation unless required by the board to protect public 
health and the environment. 

E. Standards for the reclamation of industrial wastewater 
will be determined on a case-by-case basis relative to the 
proposed reuse or reuses of the reclaimed water and for the 
purpose of protecting public health and the environment. 
Industrial wastewater may also be subject to disinfection 
requirements of Level 1 or Level 2 if the industrial 
wastewater contains sewage or is expected to contain 
organisms pathogenic to humans, such as, but not limited to, 
wastewater from the production and processing of livestock 
and poultry. The point of compliance for reclamation 
standards of industrial wastewater shall also be determined on 
a case-by-case basis. 

9VAC25-740-80. Reclaimed water monitoring 
requirements for reuse. 

A. The monitoring requirements for the standards provided 
under 9VAC25-740-70 A, are as follows: 
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1. Turbidity analysis shall be performed by a continuous, 
on-line turbidity meter equipped with an automated data 
logging or recording device and an alarm to notify the 
operator when the CAT for turbidity in the standard for 
Level 1 has been reached. Compliance with the average 
turbidity standard shall be determined daily, based on the 
arithmetic mean of hourly or more frequent discrete 
measurements recorded during a 24-hour period. 
Monitoring for the turbidity CAT shall be continuous. 

Should the on-line turbidity meter go out of service for 
either planned or unplanned repair, the permittee shall be 
allowed to manually collect samples for turbidity analysis 
at four-hour intervals up to a maximum of five days. 
Following the five-day period of repair, continuous, on-
line monitoring with a turbidity meter shall resume. 

2. Sampling and analysis for residual concentrations of 
disinfectants, including total residual chlorine (TRC): 

a. Shall for Level 1, be continuous on-line monitoring, 
equipped with an automated data logging or recording 
device and an alarm to notify the operator when the CAT 
for the disinfectant has been reached. For disinfectants 
other than chlorine, continuous on-line monitoring shall 
be provided at the point of compliance monitoring. For 
TRC, continuous on-line monitoring shall be provided at 
the end of the contact tank or contact period. Monitoring 
for the TRC CAT shall be continuous. 

Should the on-line disinfectant monitoring equipment go 
out of service for either planned or unplanned repair, the 
permittee shall be allowed to manually collect samples 
for disinfectant analysis at four-hour intervals up to a 
maximum of five days. Following the five-day period of 
repair, continuous, on-line disinfectant monitoring shall 
resume. 

b. Shall for Level 2, be based on the design flow of the 
reclamation system and be the same sampling type and 
frequency as specified for sewage treatment works in the 
Sewage Collection and Treatment Regulations 
(9VAC25-790). For chemical disinfectants other than 
TRC, monitoring shall be provided at the point of 
compliance monitoring. For TRC, monitoring shall be 
provided at the end of the contact tank or contact period.  

3. Sampling for TSS and BOD5 or CBOD shall be at least 
weekly or more frequently based on the design flow of the 
reclamation system, and shall be the same sampling type 
and frequency as specified for sewage treatment works in 
the Sewage Collection and Treatment Regulations 
(9VAC25-790). Compliance with the monthly average 
TSS and BOD5 or CBOD standards shall be determined 
monthly, based on the arithmetic mean of all samples 
collected during the month. Compliance with the 
maximum weekly average TSS and BOD5 or CBOD 
standards shall be determined monthly, using the same 

procedures applied in the VPDES Permit program for point 
source discharges. 

4. Sampling for fecal coliform, E. coli or enterococci: 

a. Shall for Level 1, be grab samples collected at a time 
when wastewater characteristics are most representative 
of the treatment facilities and disinfection processes for 
water reuse, and at the following frequencies. 

Reclamation 
System Design 
Flow (MGD)a 

Bacterial Sampling Frequencyb 

>0.500 Daily with the ability to reduce to no 
less than four days per weekc 

0.050 to 0.500 
4 days per week with the ability to 
reduce to no less than three days per 
weekc 

<0.050 Three days per week with no 
reduction allowed 

a Million gallons per day 
b For reclamation systems treating municipal wastewater, 
bacterial samples shall be collected between 10 a.m. and 
4 p.m. 
c Monitoring frequency may be reduced after demonstrating 
compliance with bacterial standards for Level 1 and adequate 
correlation between bacterial monitoring results and 
measurements for surrogate disinfection parameters, such as 
TRC and turbidity. 

Compliance with the geometric mean standards for fecal 
coliform, E. coli or enterococci shall be determined 
monthly, based on all bacteriological monitoring results 
for that month. Monitoring of the CAT for fecal 
coliform, E. coli or enterococci shall be based on the 
bacteriological monitoring results determined for each 
day a sample is collected.  

b. Shall for Level 2, be based on the design flow of the 
reclamation system and be the same sampling type and 
frequency as specified for sewage treatment works in the 
Sewage Collection and Treatment Regulations 
(9VAC25-790). Compliance with the geometric mean 
standard and monitoring of the CAT for fecal coliform, 
E. coli or enterococci shall be in accordance with the 
same procedures specified for Level 1 in subdivision A 4 
a of this section. 

5. Samples for pH shall be grab samples collected at least 
daily. Compliance with the range of the pH standard shall 
be determined daily based on the pH of the samples. 

B. Samples collected for TSS, BOD5 or CBOD, and fecal 
coliform, E. coli or enterococci analyses, shall be analyzed by 
laboratory methods accepted by the board. 
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C. A reclamation system that produces reclaimed water 
intermittently or seasonally shall monitor only when the 
reclamation system discharges to a reclaimed water 
distribution system, a non-system storage facility, or directly 
to a reuse. 

D. Monitoring other than or in addition to that described 
under 9VAC25-740-80 A may be required for treatment of 
reclaimed water that is provided pursuant to 9VAC25-740-70 
D and 9VAC25-740-70 E. 

9VAC25-740-90. Minimum standard requirements for 
reuses of reclaimed water. 

A. Minimum standard requirements for reclaimed water 
shall be determined, in part, by the reuse or reuses of that 
water. For specific reuses, the minimum standard 
requirements of reclaimed water are as follows: 

Reuse Category Reuse 
Minimum 
Standard 
Requirementsa 

1. Urban – 
Unrestricted 
Access 

All types of 
landscape 
irrigation in 
public access 
areas (i.e., golf 
courses, 
cemeteries, 
public parks, 
school yards and 
athletic fields) 
Toilet flushing – 
nonresidential 
Fire fighting or 
protection and 
fire suppression 
in nonresidential 
buildings 
Outdoor 
domestic or 
residential reuse 
(i.e., lawn 
watering and 
noncommercial 
car washing) 
Commercial car 
washes 
Commercial air 
conditioning 
systems 

Level 1 

2. Irrigation – 
Unrestricted 
Accessb 

Irrigation for 
any food crops 
not 
commercially 

Level 1 

processed, 
including crops 
eaten raw 
Irrigation for 
any food crops 
commercially 
processed 

3. Irrigation – 
Restricted 
Accessb, c 

Irrigation for 
nonfood crops 
and turf, 
including 
fodder, fiber and 
seed crops; 
pasture for 
foraging 
livestock; sod 
farms; 
ornamental 
nurseries; and 
silviculture 

Level 2 

Potential for 
public access or 
contact 

Level 1 
4. Landscape 
Impoundmentsd No Potential for 

public access or 
contact 

Level 2 

5. Constructione 

Soil compaction 
Dust control 
Washing 
aggregate 
Making concrete 

Level 2 

Commercial 
laundries Level 1 

6. Industriale 

Livestock 
wateringf 
Aquacultureg 
Stack scrubbing 
Street washing 
Boiler feed 
Ship ballast 
Once-through 
coolingh 
Recirculating 
cooling towersh 

Level 2 

a For reclaimed industrial wastewater, minimum standards 
required shall be determined on a case-by-case basis relative 
to the proposed reuse or reuses. 
b Reclaimed water treated to Levels 1 or 2 may be used for 
surface irrigation, including spray irrigation. Reclaimed water 
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treated to Level 2 may be used for spray irrigation if the area 
to be irrigated restricts access to the public and has 
appropriate setbacks in accordance with 9VAC25-740-170. 
Reclaimed water treated to Level 1 or 2 may be used for 
irrigation of food crops eaten raw, excluding root crops, only 
when there will be no direct contact (or indirect contact via 
aerosol carry) between the reclaimed water and edible 
portions of the crop. 
c For irrigation with reclaimed water treated to Level 2, the 
following shall be prohibited unless Level 1 disinfection is 
provided: 

1. Grazing by milking animals on the irrigation reuse site 
for 15 days after irrigation with reclaimed water ceases, 
and 

2. Harvesting, retail sale or allowing access by the general 
public to ornamental nursery stock or sod farms for 14 
days after irrigation with reclaimed water ceases. 

d Landscape impoundments may also be used to store 
reclaimed water for other subsequent reuses of that reclaimed 
water, such as irrigation, if included in an inventory of 
reclaimed water storage facilities submitted to the board 
pursuant to 9VAC25-740-110 C 15. 
e Worker contact with reclaimed water treated to Level 2 shall 
be minimized. Level 1 disinfection shall be provided when 
worker contact with reclaimed water is likely. 
f Level 1 disinfection shall be provided when the reclaimed 
water is consumed by milking livestock. 
g Level 1 disinfection shall be provided for aquaculture 
production of fish to be consumed raw, such as for sushi. 
h Windblown spray generated by once-through cooling or 
recirculating cooling towers using reclaimed water treated to 
Level 2, shall not reach areas accessible to workers or the 
public. See also setback requirements in 9VAC 25-740-170 
for open cooling towers. 

B. For any type of reuse not addressed in this regulation, 
including, but not limited to, indirect potable reuse and 
below-ground drip irrigation reuse, that is newly proposed 
after the effective date of this regulation, the board may 
prescribe specific reclaimed water standards and monitoring 
requirements needed to protect public health and the 
environment. When establishing these requirements for the 
proposed reuse, the board shall consider the following factors: 

1. The risk of the proposed reuse to public health with 
specific input from the Virginia Department of Health; 

2. The degree of public access and human exposure to 
reclaimed water by the proposed reuse; 

3. The reclaimed water treatment necessary to prevent 
nuisance conditions by the proposed reuse; 

4. The reclaimed water treatment necessary for the 
proposed reuse to comply with this and other applicable 
regulations of the board; 

5. The potential for improper or unintended use of the 
reclaimed water;  

6. Other federal or state laws, regulations and guidelines 
that would apply to the proposed reuse;  

7. The similarity of the proposed reuse to reuses listed in 
this regulation with regard to potential impact to public 
health and the environment; 

8. Whether the proposed reuse may be excluded or 
prohibited by 9VAC25-740-50; and 

9. For new indirect potable reuse proposals, residence or 
transport time, mixing ratios, and other relevant 
information deemed necessary by the board. 

Part III 

Application and Technical Requirements 

9VAC25-740-100. Application for permit. 

A. The need for an owner to obtain a permit or modification 
or reissuance of an existing permit from the board for a 
proposed or an existing reclamation system, reclaimed water 
distribution system, satellite reclamation system, or, as 
applicable, water reuse, shall be determined in accordance 
with 9VAC25-740-30. Where required, permit coverage for 
these systems or activities shall be provided in accordance 
with 9VAC25-740-40, contingent upon receipt of a complete 
application from the owner.  The application shall contain the 
following supporting documentation and information: 

B. General information. For projects that involve water 
reclamation and the distribution of reclaimed water, the 
following information shall be submitted with an application 
for a permit. For projects that involve exclusively the 
distribution of reclaimed water, information for only 
subdivisions 1, 2, and 5 of this subsection shall be submitted 
with an application for a permit. 

1. A description of the design and a site plan showing 
operations and unit processes of the proposed project, 
including and as applicable, treatment, storage, 
distribution, reuse and disposal facilities, and reliability 
features and controls. Treatment works previously 
permitted need not be included, unless they are directly 
tied into the new units or are critical to the understanding 
of the complete project.  Design approaches shall be 
consistent with accepted engineering practice and any 
applicable state regulations; 

2. A general location map, showing orientation of the 
project with reference to at least two geographic features 
(numbered roads, named streams or rivers, etc.).  A general 
location map for a reclaimed water distribution system may 
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be included in the map of a service area required in 
accordance with subdivision B 1 a of this section; 

3. Information regarding each wastewater treatment facility 
that diverts or will divert effluent or source water to the 
proposed reclamation system, including: 

a. All unit processes used for the treatment of wastewater 
at the facility prior to diversion to the reclamation 
system, 

b. Maximum and average flows and seasonally varying 
flows, if any, to be diverted by the facility to the 
reclamation system.  Estimated flows may be provided if 
actual flow data are not available; 

c. Any significant industrial users defined in 9VAC25-
31-10 that indirectly discharge to the wastewater 
treatment facility; and 

d. Analyses of the effluent or source water to be diverted 
by facility to the reclamation system. 

4. Information regarding the sewage collections system 
that diverts or will divert sewage to the proposed satellite 
reclamation system, including: 

a. Maximum and average flows and seasonally varying 
flows, if any, to be diverted by the facility to the 
reclamation system.  Estimated flows may be provided if 
actual flow data is not available; 

b. Any significant industrial users defined in 9VAC25-
31-10 that discharge to the same collection line from 
which sewage will be diverted to the satellite reclamation 
system, including location of the significant industrial 
users and distance between the significant industrial 
users and the satellite reclamation system along the 
sewage collection line; and 

c. Analyses of the sewage to be diverted by the sewage 
collection system to the reclamation system at the point 
of diversion or representative of that point. 

5. Expected reclaimed water characteristics and current and 
design flows of the proposed reclamation system or 
satellite reclamation system to include: 

a. The standards specified in 9VAC25-740-70 A to be 
achieved, 

b. Any other physical, chemical, and biological 
characteristics and constituent concentrations that may 
affect the intended reuse of the reclaimed water with 
respect to adverse impacts to public health or the 
environment; and 

c. Monthly average and daily maximum flows. 

6. Information, if applicable, regarding any type of 
proposed reuse not listed in this regulation, by which the 
board can evaluate the need to prescribe specific reclaimed 

water treatment and monitoring requirements in 
accordance with 9VAC25-740-90 B; and 

Information required for subsection B of this section may 
be provided by referencing information previously 
submitted to the board unless changes have occurred that 
require the submission of new or more current information. 

C. Reclaimed water management (RWM) plan. 

1. A RWM plan shall be submitted in support of permit 
applications for new or expanded reclamation systems, 
satellite reclamation systems or reclaimed water 
distribution systems that provide reclaimed water directly 
to an end user or end users, including an end user that is 
also the applicant or permittee.  The RWM plan shall 
contain the following: 

a. A description and map of the expected service area to 
be covered by the RWM plan for the term of the permit 
for the project (i.e., five years for a VPDES or 10 years 
for a VPA permit).  The map shall identify all reuses 
according to reuse categories shown in 9VAC25-740-90 
A or other categories for reuses that are or shall be 
authorized pursuant to 9VAC25-740-90 B, and their 
locations within the service area.  The map shall also 
identify and show the location of all public potable water 
supply wells and springs, and public water supply 
intakes, within the boundaries of the service area.  The 
description and map of the service area shall be updated 
by the permittee with each permit renewal.  A service 
area or portions of a service area shall not be covered 
under more than one RWM plan to avoid redundant 
service to the same area. 

b. A current inventory of impoundments, ponds or tanks 
that are used for system storage of reclaimed water and, 
as applicable, reject water storage under the control of 
the permittee, and nonsystem storage located within the 
service area of the RWM plan in accordance with 
9VAC25-740-110 C 15. 

c. A water balance that accounts for the volumes of 
reclaimed water to be generated, stored, reused and 
discharged (i.e., through a VPDES permitted outfall, 
back to a sewage collection system, or otherwise 
disposed).  The water balance shall include projected 
volumes of daily, seasonal and annual reclaimed water 
demand for each reuse category. 

d. An example of service agreements or contracts to be 
established by the applicant or permittee with end users 
regarding implementation of and compliance with the 
RWM plan.  A service agreement or contract shall 
contain conditions and requirements specified in 
subdivisions C 2 b and c of this section and in 9VAC25-
740-170 that apply to the particular planned reuse of each 
end user. Terms of the agreement shall require property 
owners to report all potable and nonpotable water supply 
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wells on their property and to comply with appropriate 
setback distances for wells where reclaimed water will be 
used on the same property.  Within the agreement or 
contract, the applicant or permittee shall also reserve the 
right to terminate the agreement and withdraw service for 
any failure by the end user to comply with the terms and 
conditions of the agreement or contract if corrective 
action for such failure is not taken by the end user. 

e. A description of monitoring of end users by the 
applicant or permittee to verify compliance with the 
terms of their agreements or contracts.  Monitoring shall 
include, at a minimum, metering the volume of reclaimed 
water consumed by end users. 

f. An education and notification program required in 
accordance with 9VAC25-740-170 A; 

g. A cross-connection and backflow prevention program 
that: 

(1) Evaluates the potential for cross-connections of the 
reclaimed water distribution system to a potable water 
system and backflow to the reclaimed water distribution 
system from industrial end users, 

(2) Evaluates the public health risks associated with 
possible backflow from industrial end users, and 

(3) Describes inspections to be performed by the 
applicant or permittee at the time end users connect to the 
reclaimed water distribution system and periodically 
thereafter to prevent cross-connections to a potable water 
system and backflow from industrial end users as 
determined necessary through the program evaluation. 

A backflow prevention device shall be required on the 
reclaimed water service connection to an industrial end 
user, unless evaluation by the cross-connection and 
backflow prevention program determines that there is 
minimal risk to public health associated with possible 
backflow from the industrial end user or that there will be 
no backflow from the industrial end user capable of 
contaminating the reclaimed water supply. 

h. Where the applicant or permittee is the exclusive end 
user of the reclaimed water that is generated and is not 
otherwise excluded under 9VAC25-740-50 A, 
information for only subdivisions C 1 a, b and c of this 
section is required. 

2. All irrigation reuses of reclaimed water shall be limited 
to supplemental irrigation.  Nutrient management 
requirements for irrigation reuse will be established in the 
RWM plan according to the concentration of total N and 
total P in the reclaimed water compared to "Biological 
Nutrient Removal (BNR)" as defined in 9VAC25-740-10. 

a. Except as specified in subdivision B 3 in this section, a 
nutrient management plan (NMP) shall not be required 

for irrigation reuse of reclaimed water treated to achieve 
BNR or nutrient levels below BNR. 

b. For bulk irrigation reuse of reclaimed water not treated 
to achieve BNR, a NMP shall be required of the end user. 

(1) Where the applicant or permittee is the end user, the 
NMP shall be submitted with the RWM plan to the board 
and shall be the responsibility of the applicant or 
permittee to properly implement. 

(2) Where the end user is other than the applicant or 
permittee, the NMP shall be required as a condition of 
the service agreement or contract specified in subdivision 
C 1 d of this section between the applicant or permittee 
and the end user. The end user shall be responsible for 
obtaining, maintaining and following a current NMP; 
providing a copy of the most current NMP to the 
applicant or permittee prior to initiating bulk irrigation 
reuse of reclaimed water; and providing proof of 
compliance with the NMP at the request of the permittee. 

(3) For a wastewater treatment facility required to obtain 
a General VPDES Watershed Permit for total N and total 
P discharges and nutrient trading in the Chesapeake Bay 
Watershed in Virginia (9VAC25-820) and that provides 
wastewater or effluent for reclamation and reuse, 15% of 
the annual N load and 10% of the annual P load by bulk 
irrigation reuses requiring NMPs shall be considered 
losses to state waters and shall be reported annually as 
discharged total N and total P loads by the wastewater 
treatment facility in accordance with the General VPDES 
Watershed Permit. 

c. For nonbulk irrigation reuse of reclaimed water not 
treated to achieve BNR, a NMP shall not be required.  
However, the RWM plan shall describe other measures 
to be implemented by the applicant or permittee to 
manage nutrient loads by nonbulk irrigation reuse of 
reclaimed water not treated to achieve BNR within the 
service area. These shall include, but are not limited to 
the following: 

(1) The inclusion of language in the service agreement or 
contract specified in subdivision C 1 d of this section, 
explaining proper use of the reclaimed water by the end 
user for the purpose of managing nutrients; 

(2) Reclaimed water metering of individual nonbulk 
irrigation end users; 

(3) Routine distribution of literature not less than 
annually, to individual nonbulk irrigation end users 
addressing the proper use of reclaimed water for 
irrigation in accordance with 9VAC25-740-170 A; 

(4) Monthly monitoring of N and P loads by nonbulk 
irrigation reuses to the service area of the RWM plan 
based on the total monthly metered use of reclaimed 
water for the service area and the monthly average 
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concentrations of total N and total P in the reclaimed 
water; and 

(5) For a wastewater treatment facility required to obtain 
a General VPDES Watershed Permit for total N and total 
P discharges and nutrient trading in the Chesapeake Bay 
Watershed in Virginia (9VAC25-820) and that provides 
wastewater or effluent for reclamation and reuse, 30% of 
the annual N load and 20% of the annual P load by 
nonbulk irrigation reuses to the service area shall be 
considered losses to state waters and shall be reported 
annually as discharged total N and total P loads by the 
wastewater treatment facility in accordance with the 
General VPDES Watershed Permit. 

3. Independent of the reclaimed water nutrient content, a 
NMP shall be required for a bulk irrigation reuse site 
where: 

a. A wastewater treatment facility, a reclamation system 
or satellite reclamation system and the irrigation reuse 
site or sites are under common ownership or 
management, and 

b. In addition to irrigation reuse: 

(1) There is no option to dispose of the reclaimed water 
through a VPDES permitted discharge, or 

(2) There is an option to dispose of the reclaimed water 
through a VPDES permitted discharge, but the VPDES 
permit does not allow discharge of the full nutrient load 
under design flow (e.g., a treatment facility with a 
VPDES permitted discharge implements water 
reclamation and reuse in lieu of providing treatment to 
meet nutrient effluent limits at design flow). 

The NMP shall be approved by the DCR and submitted 
with the RWM plan to the board. The applicant or 
permittee shall be responsible for proper implementation 
of the NMP. 

4. If required for a specific irrigation reuse, the NMP shall 
be prepared by a nutrient management planner certified by 
the DCR and shall be maintained current in accordance 
with the Nutrient Management Training and Certification 
Regulations, 4VAC5-15. A copy of the NMP for each 
irrigation reuse site shall be maintained at the site or at a 
location central to all sites covered by the plan. Another 
copy shall be provided to and retained by the applicant or 
permittee. 

5. A site plan is required for each bulk irrigation reuse site, 
displayed on the most current USGS topographic maps 
(7.5 minutes series, where available) and showing the 
following:  

a. The boundaries of the irrigation site; 

b. The location of all potable and nonpotable water 
supply wells and springs, public water supply intakes, 

occupied dwellings, property lines, areas accessible to 
the public, outdoor eating, drinking and bathing facilities; 
surface waters, including wetlands; limestone rock 
outcrops and sinkholes within 250 feet of the irrigation 
site; and 

c. Setbacks areas around the irrigation site in accordance 
with 9VAC25-740-170. 

Where expansion of an existing irrigation site is 
anticipated, the same information shall be provided for 
the area of proposed expansion. 

6. The site plan for a bulk irrigation reuse site shall be 
prepared by: 

a. The applicant or permittee for submission with the 
RWM plan to the board when the irrigation site is under 
common ownership or management with a wastewater 
treatment facility, a reclamation system or satellite 
reclamation system from which it receives reclaimed 
water for irrigation; or 

b. The bulk irrigation end user for submission with the 
service agreement or contract between the end user and 
the applicant or permittee when the irrigation site is not 
under common ownership or management with a 
wastewater treatment facility, a reclamation system or 
satellite reclamation system from which it receives 
reclaimed water for irrigation. 

7. For the addition of new end users not contained in the 
original RWM plan submitted with the application for a 
permit, the permittee shall submit to the board an 
amendment to the RWM plan identifying new end users 
not less than 30 days prior to connection and reclaimed 
water service to these users. For each new end user, the 
permittee shall also provide all applicable information 
required by subsection C of this section. Amendment of the 
RWM plan for the addition of new end users after the 
issuance or reissuance of the permit shall not be considered 
a modification of the permit. 

9VAC25-740-110. Design criteria. 

A. Reclamation system.  The design of systems for the 
reclamation of municipal wastewater or the effluent derived 
from a municipal wastewater treatment facility shall adhere to 
the standards of design and construction specified in the 
Sewage Collection and Treatment Regulations (9VAC25-
790) and other applicable engineering standards and 
regulations.  Design standards for reclamation systems of 
industrial wastewater or the effluent derived from an 
industrial wastewater treatment facility shall be determined 
and evaluated on a case-by-case basis. 

B. Reclaimed water distribution system.  

1. All reclaimed water distribution systems shall be 
designed and constructed in accordance with this 
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regulation and applicable sections of the Sewage 
Collection and Treatment Regulations (9VAC25-790) 
pertaining to force mains, so that: 

a. Reclaimed water does not come into contact with or 
otherwise contaminate a potable water system; 

b. The structural integrity of the system is provided and 
maintained; and 

c. The capability for inspection, maintenance, and testing 
is maintained. 

2. For a reclaimed water distribution system, the following 
shall be implemented as part of the cross-connection and 
backflow prevention program submitted with the RWM 
plan: 

a. There shall be no direct cross-connections between the 
reclaimed water distribution system and a potable water 
supply system. 

b. The reclaimed water distribution system shall be in 
compliance with the cross connection control and 
backflow prevention requirements of Article 3 
(12VAC590-580 et seq.) of Part II of the Commonwealth 
of Virginia Waterworks Regulations, the Virginia 
Statewide Building Code, and local building and 
plumbing codes. 

c. Potable water may be used to supplement reclaimed 
water for a reuse, provided there is an air gap separation 
of at least eight inches between the potable water and the 
reclaimed water or a reduced pressure principle backflow 
prevention device installed at the potable water service 
connection to the reuse. The installation of the reduced 
pressure principal backflow prevention device shall allow 
for proper inspection and testing of the device. 

d. Reclaimed water shall not be returned to the reclaimed 
water distribution system after the reclaimed water has 
been delivered to an end user. 

3. In-ground reclaimed water distribution pipelines shall be 
installed and maintained to achieve minimum separation 
distance and configurations as follows: 

a. No reclaimed water distribution pipeline shall pass 
within 50 feet of a potable water supply well, potable 
water supply spring or water supply intake that are part 
of a regulated waterworks.  The same separation distance 
shall be required between a reclaimed water distribution 
pipeline and a nonpublic or private potable water supply 
well or spring, but may be reduced to not less than 35 
feet provided special construction and pipe materials are 
used to obtain adequate protection of the potable water 
supply. 

b. Reclaimed water distribution pipeline shall be 
separated horizontally by at least 10 feet from a water 
main. The distance shall be measured edge-to-edge.  

When local conditions prohibit this horizontal separation, 
the reclaimed water distribution pipeline may be laid 
closer provided that the water main is in a separate trench 
or an undisturbed earth shelf located on one side of the 
reclaimed water distribution pipeline and the bottom of 
the water main is at least 18 inches above the top of the 
reclaimed water distribution pipeline.  Where this vertical 
separation cannot be obtained, the reclaimed water 
distribution pipeline shall be constructed of water pipe 
material in accordance with AWWA specifications and 
pressure tested in place without leakage prior to 
backfilling. The hydrostatic test shall be conducted in 
accordance with the AWWA standard (ANSI/AWWA 
C600-05, effective December 1, 2005) for the pipe 
material, with a minimum test pressure of 30 psi. 

c. Distribution pipeline that conveys Level 1 reclaimed 
water shall be separated horizontally by at least two feet 
from a sewer line.  The distance shall be measured edge-
to-edge.  When local conditions prohibit this horizontal 
separation, the reclaimed water distribution pipeline may 
be laid closer provided that the sewer line is in a separate 
trench or an undisturbed earth shelf located on one side 
of the reclaimed water distribution pipeline and the 
bottom of the reclaimed water distribution pipeline is at 
least 18 inches above the top of the sewer line. Where 
this vertical separation cannot be obtained, either the 
reclaimed water distribution pipeline or the sewer line 
shall be constructed of water pipe material in accordance 
with AWWA specifications and pressure tested in place 
without leakage prior to backfilling. The hydrostatic test 
shall be conducted in accordance with the AWWA 
standard (ANSI/AWWA C600-05, effective December 1, 
2005) for the pipe material, with a minimum test pressure 
of 30 psi. 

d. Reclaimed water distribution pipeline shall cross under 
water main such that the top of the reclaimed water 
distribution pipeline is at least 18 inches below the 
bottom of the water main. When local conditions prohibit 
this vertical separation, the reclaimed water distribution 
pipeline shall be constructed of AWWA specified water 
pipe and pressure tested in place without leakage prior to 
backfilling, in accordance with the provisions of the 
Sewage Collection and Treatment Regulations 
(9VAC25-790). Where reclaimed water distribution 
pipeline crosses over water main, the reclaimed water 
distribution pipeline shall: 

(1) Be laid to provide a separation of at least 18 inches 
between the bottom of the reclaimed water distribution 
pipeline and the top of the water main. 

(2) Be constructed of AWWA approved water pipe and 
pressure tested in place without leakage prior to 
backfilling, in accordance with the provisions of the 
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Sewage Collection and Treatment Regulations 
(9VAC25-790). 

(3) Have adequate structural support to prevent damage 
to the water main. 

(4) Have joints placed equidistant and as far as possible 
from the water main joints. 

e. Sewer line shall cross under distribution pipeline that 
conveys Level 1 reclaimed water such that the top of the 
sewer line is at least 18 inches below the bottom of the 
reclaimed water distribution pipeline. When local 
conditions prohibit this vertical separation, the sewer line 
shall be constructed of AWWA specified water pipe and 
pressure tested in place without leakage prior to 
backfilling, in accordance with the provisions of the 
Sewage Collection and Treatment Regulations 
(9VAC25-790). Where sewer line crosses over 
distribution pipeline that conveys Level 1 reclaimed 
water, the sewer line shall: 

(1) Be laid to provide a separation of at least 18 inches 
between the bottom of the sewer line and the top of the 
reclaimed water distribution pipeline. 

(2) Be constructed of AWWA approved water pipe and 
pressure tested in place without leakage prior to 
backfilling, in accordance with the provisions of the 
Sewage Collection and Treatment Regulations 
(9VAC25-790). 

(3) Have adequate structural support to prevent damage 
to the reclaimed water distribution pipeline. 

(4) Have joints placed equidistant and as far as possible 
from the reclaimed water distribution pipeline joints. 

f. No reclaimed water distribution pipeline shall pass 
through or come into contact with any part of a sewer 
manhole. Distribution pipeline that conveys Level 1 
reclaimed water shall be separated horizontally by at 
least two feet from a sewer manhole whenever possible. 
The distance shall be measured from the edge of the pipe 
to the edge of the manhole structure. When local 
conditions prohibit this horizontal separation, the 
manhole shall be of watertight construction and tested in 
place. 

4. No setback distance is required to any nonpotable water 
supply well and no vertical or horizontal separation 
distances are required between aboveground reclaimed 
water pipelines and potable water, sewer or wastewater 
pipelines. 

5. All reclaimed water outlets shall be of a type, or secured 
in a manner, that permits operation by authorized 
personnel. Public access to reclaimed water outlets shall be 
controlled in areas where reclaimed water outlets are 
accessible to the public as follows: 

a. If quick connection couplers are used on above-ground 
portions of the reclaimed water distribution system, they 
shall differ materially from those used on the potable 
water supply. 

b. Use of above-ground hose bibs, spigots or other hand-
operated connections that are standard on local potable 
water distribution systems shall be prohibited for use on 
the local reclaimed water distribution system.  If above-
ground hose bibs, spigots or other hand-operated 
connections are used on the reclaimed water distribution 
system, they must differ materially from those used on 
the local potable water distribution system and must be 
clearly distinguishable as reclaimed water connections 
(i.e., painted purple, valve operation with a special tool) 
so as not to be mistaken for potable water connections.  
Where below-grade vaults are used to house reclaimed 
water connections, the connections in the vault may have 
standard potable water distribution system thread and bib 
size services provided the bib valves can be operated 
only by a special tool.  The below-grade vaults shall also 
be labeled as being part of the reclaimed water 
distribution system (i.e., painted purple, labeled).  

6. Existing potable water, sewer and wastewater pipelines 
may be converted for use as reclaimed water distribution 
pipelines.  The following information shall be submitted to 
the board for approval of the conversion: 

a. The location and identification of the facilities to be 
converted; 

b. The location of all connections to the facilities to be 
converted; 

c. A description of measures to be taken to ensure that 
existing connections will be eliminated; 

d. Description of procedures to be used to ensure that all 
connections and cross-connections shall be eliminated. 
This may include physical inspections, dye testing, or 
other testing procedures; 

e. Description of marking, signing, labeling, or color 
coding to be used to identify the converted facility as a 
reclaimed water transmission facility; 

f. Description of cleaning and disinfection procedures to 
be followed before the converted facilities will be placed 
into operation for reclaimed water distribution; 

g. Assessment of the physical condition and integrity of 
facilities to be converted; and 

h. Reasonable assurance that cross-connections will not 
result, public health will be protected, and the integrity of 
potable water, wastewater, and reclaimed water systems 
will be maintained when the conversion is made. 
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7. Tank trucks may be used to transport and distribute 
reclaimed water only if the following requirements are 
met: 

a. The truck is not used to transport potable water that is 
used for drinking water or food preparation; 

b. The truck is not used to transport waters or other fluids 
that do not meet the requirements of this regulation, 
unless the tank has been evacuated and properly cleaned 
prior to the addition of the reclaimed water; 

c. The truck is not filled through on-board piping or 
removable hoses that may subsequently be used to fill 
tanks with water from a potable water supply; and 

d. The reclaimed water contents of the truck are clearly 
identified as nonpotable water on the truck.  

8. Reclaimed water distribution systems shall have the 
following identification, notification and signage: 

a. All reclaimed water piping shall have the words 
"CAUTION: RECLAIMED WATER - DO NOT 
DRINK" embossed, integrally stamped, or otherwise 
affixed to the piping, and shall be identified by one or 
more of the following methods: 

(1) Painting the piping purple (Pantone 522) and 
stamping the piping with the required caution statement 
on opposite sides of the pipe, repeated at intervals of 
three feet or less. 

(2) Using stenciled pipe with two- to three-inch letters on 
opposite sides of the pipe, placed at intervals of three to 
four feet.  For pipes less than two inches in diameter, 
lettering shall be at least 5/8 inch, placed on opposite 
sides of the pipe, and repeated at intervals of one foot. 

(3) Wrapping the piping with purple (Pantone 522) 
polyethylene vinyl wrap or adhesive tape, placed 
longitudinally at three-foot intervals.  The width of the 
wrap or tape shall be at least three inches, and shall 
display the required caution statement in either white or 
black lettering. 

(4) Permanently affixing purple (Pantone 522) vinyl 
adhesive tape on top of the piping, parallel to the axis of 
the pipe, fastened at least every 10 feet to each pipe 
section, and continuously for the entire length of the 
piping.  The tape shall display the required caution 
statement in either white or black lettering.  

b. All visible, above-ground portions of the reclaimed 
water distribution system including reclaimed water 
piping, valves, outlets (including fire hydrants) and other 
appurtenances shall be colored coded, taped, labeled, 
tagged or otherwise marked to notify the public and 
employees that the source of the water is reclaimed 
water, not intended for drinking or food preparation.  For 
reclaimed water treated to Level 2, such notification shall 

also inform employees to practice good personal hygiene 
for incidental contact with reclaimed water and the public 
to avoid contact with the reclaimed water. 

c. Each mechanical appurtenance of a reclaimed water 
distribution system shall be colored purple and legibly 
marked “RECLAIMED WATER” to identify it as a part 
of the reclaimed water distribution system and to 
distinguish it from mechanical appurtenances of a 
potable water distribution system or a wastewater 
collection system. 

d. Existing underground distribution or collection 
pipelines and appurtenances retrofitted for the purpose of 
distributing reclaimed water shall be colored coded, 
taped, labeled, tagged or otherwise identified as 
described in subdivisions 8 a, b and c of this subsection.  
This identification need not extend the entire length of 
the retrofitted reclaimed water distribution system but is 
required within 10 feet of locations where the distribution 
system crosses a potable water supply line or sanitary 
sewer line. 

e. Valve boxes for reclaimed water distribution systems 
shall be painted purple.  Valve covers for reclaimed 
water distribution lines shall not be interchangeable with 
potable water supply valve covers. 

9. All reclaimed water distribution systems shall be 
maintained to minimize losses and to ensure safe and 
reliable conveyance of reclaimed water such that the 
reclaimed water will not be degraded below the standards 
required for the intended reuse or reuses in accordance 
with 9VAC25-740-90. 

C. Storage requirements. 

1. To ensure reliable reclamation system operation in 
accordance with the requirements of this regulation, all 
reclamation systems shall have the ability to implement 
one or more of the following options: 

a. Store reclaimed water, 

b. Discharge reclaimed water to another permitted reuse 
system, if applicable; 

c. Discharge reclaimed water to surface waters of the 
state under a VPDES permit; 

d. Suspend all or a portion of water reclamation for 
planned periods; or 

e. In the case of a satellite reclamation system, discharge 
reclaimed water into the sewage collection system from 
which it received water for reclamation. 

2. Storage for reclaimed water shall be required only when 
subdivision 1 b, c, or d of this subsection or, as applicable, 
subdivision 1 e of this subsection are not available or 
approved by the board. 
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3. Separate, off-line storage shall be provided for reject 
water of the reclamation system unless the reject water can 
be diverted to another permitted reuse system, discharged 
to surface waters of the state under a VPDES permit, 
returned directly to an appropriate point of treatment in the 
reclamation system, or in the case of a satellite reclamation 
system, sent to the sewage collection system from which 
the reclamation system received water for reclamation. 
Where reject water is stored, provisions shall be 
incorporated into the design of the reclamation system to 
distribute the reject water from storage to other parts of the 
reclamation system for additional or repeated treatment. 

4. Storage for reject water may also be used for emergency 
storage to ensure Class I reliability of the reclamation 
system in accordance with 9VAC25-740-130. 

5. Reject water and reclaimed water may be stored in 
water-tight tanks placed above-ground or in-ground.  
Labeling of tanks used for reject water storage, system 
storage or nonsystem storage shall be in accordance with 
9VAC25-740-160 B, and shall, at a minimum, identify the 
contents of each tank as either reject water or reclaimed 
water. 

6. For all impoundments or ponds that are used for reject 
water storage or system storage, with the exception of 
impoundments and ponds specified in subdivision 7 of this 
subsection, the following are required: 

a. A minimum two-foot freeboard shall be maintained at 
all times.  Any emergency discharge or overflow device 
and the disposition of the overflow discharge shall be 
identified in the engineering report. 

b. There shall be a minimum two-foot separation distance 
between the bottom of the impoundment or pond and the 
seasonal high water. 

c. The impoundment or pond shall have a properly 
designed and installed synthetic liner of at least 20 mils 
thickness or a compacted soil liner of at least one foot 
thickness. Synthetic liners shall be installed in 
accordance with the manufacturer's specifications and 
recommendations. The soil liner shall be composed of 
separate lifts not to exceed six inches.  The maximum 
coefficient of permeability for the synthetic and soil 
liners shall not exceed 1x10-6 cm/sec and 1x10-7 cm/sec, 
respectively.  A plan of quality assurance and quality 
control which substantiates the adequacy of the liner and 
its installation shall be included in or shall accompany 
the preliminary engineering report or supporting 
documentation for the CTC. Documentation of quality 
assurance and quality control activities on liner 
installation along with permeability test results, shall be 
submitted with the statement of construction completion 
to the board. 

d. If the requirements of subdivision 6 b or c of this 
subsection cannot be met, the board may allow use of the 
impoundment or pond for storage provided that a 
groundwater monitoring plan for the facility is submitted 
to the board for review and approval.  The plan shall 
identify the direction of groundwater flow and the 
proposed location and depth of groundwater monitoring 
wells at the location of the impoundment or pond, 
parameters to be monitored, a monitoring schedule, and 
procedures for proper sample collection and handling. 

e. The design of the impoundment or pond shall prevent 
the entry of surface water or storm water runoff from 
outside the facility embankment or berm. 

f. Where the embankment of the impoundment or pond is 
composed of soil, the embankment shall have: 

(1) A top width of at least five feet, 

(2) Interior and exterior slopes no steeper than one foot 
vertical to three feet horizontal unless alternate methods 
of slope stabilization are used, 

(3) Shallow-rooted vegetative cover or other soil 
stabilization to prevent erosion, and 

(4) Erosion stops and water seals installed on all piping 
that penetrates the embankment. 

g. There shall be routine maintenance of the 
impoundment or pond liner, embankments and access 
areas. 

h. Impoundments and ponds shall be sited to avoid areas 
of uneven subsidence, sinkholes, or unstable soils unless 
provisions are made for their correction.  Results from 
field and laboratory tests from an adequate number of 
test borings and soil samples shall be the basis for 
computations pertaining to permeability and stability 
analyses. 

i. Impoundments or ponds shall not be located on a 
floodplain unless protected from inundation or damage 
by a 100-year frequency flood event. 

j. There shall be a minimum setback distance measured 
horizontally from the perimeter of the storage 
impoundment or pond to potable water supply wells and 
springs, and public water supply intakes, of 100 feet for 
storage of Level 1 reclaimed water and 200 feet for 
storage of Level 2 reclaimed water or reject water. 

7. Reject water storage and system storage impoundments 
or ponds that exist upon the effective date of this regulation 
shall be exempt from the design, construction, and 
operation requirements specified in subdivision 6 of this 
subsection until such time these facilities are modified or 
expanded, or unless they have failed to comply with other 
existing regulatory or permitting requirements.  
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8. The capacity of reject water storage and system storage 
facilities, including impoundments, ponds or tanks, shall 
be as follows: 

a. For reject water, the capacity of the storage facility 
shall, at a minimum, be the volume equal to the average 
daily permitted flow of the reclamation system unless 
other options exist for immediate disposal or retreatment 
of the reject water in addition to storage. 

b. For reclaimed water, the capacity of the storage 
facility shall be determined by the seasonal variability in 
demand, intended reuses with intermittent, variable 
demand, such as fire protection or fighting; and the 
availability of other options to generate or manage 
reclaimed water as specified in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection. 

(1) Where there is no or minimal seasonal variability in 
demand and no other options are available for alternative 
generation or management of all or a portion of the 
reclaimed water, the capacity of the storage facility shall, 
at a minimum, be the volume equal to three times that 
portion of reclaimed water average daily flow for which 
no other options to generate or manage the reclaimed 
water are permitted. 

(2) Where there is seasonal variability in demand and no 
other options are available for alternative generation or 
management of all or a portion of the reclaimed water 
during periods of low seasonal demand, storage facilities 
shall have sufficient storage capacity to assure the 
retention of the reclaimed water under conditions and 
circumstances that preclude reuse.  The methods, 
assumptions and calculations used to determine the 
system storage requirements shall be provided and 
justified in the preliminary engineering report or 
supporting documentation for the CTC. Analytical means 
of determining system storage requirements, such as 
water balance calculations or computer hydrological 
programs, shall be used and shall account for all water 
inputs into the system. Analysis shall be based on site-
specific data. Irrigation efficiencies or rainfall 
efficiencies shall not be used in storage volume 
determinations. 

9. Requirements specified in subdivision 6 of this 
subsection shall not apply to lakes, impoundments or 
ponds used for nonsystem storage with the exception of 
those specified in subdivision 11 of this subsection. 

10. Landscape impoundments may also be used for 
nonsystem storage of reclaimed water prior to another 
subsequent reuse, such as irrigation. 

11. Impoundments or ponds used for nonsystem storage of 
reclaimed water, including landscape impoundments, for 
subsequent irrigation reuse on sites under common 
ownership or management with the reclamation system or 

satellite reclamation system that provides reclaimed water 
to the sites, shall comply with the design, construction and 
operation requirements specified in subdivision 6 of this 
subsection. 

12. For lakes, impoundments or ponds used for nonsystem 
storage of reclaimed water, the following setback distances 
shall apply: 

a. There shall be a 50-foot minimum setback distance 
measured horizontally from the perimeter of the lake, 
impoundment or pond to property lines. 

b. For an impoundment or pond with a liner meeting the 
requirements specified in subdivision 6 c of this 
subsection, there shall be a minimum setback distance 
measured horizontally from the perimeter of the storage 
impoundment or pond to potable water supply wells and 
springs, and public water supply intakes, of 100 feet for 
storage of Level 1 reclaimed water and 200 feet for 
storage of Level 2 reclaimed water. 

c. For an unlined impoundment or pond, there shall be a 
minimum setback distance measured horizontally from 
the perimeter of the storage impoundment or pond to 
potable water supply wells and springs, and public water 
supply intakes, of 200 feet for storage of Level 1 
reclaimed water and 400 feet for storage of Level 2 
reclaimed water. 

13. Where more than one setback distance applies to 
storage for reclaimed water or reject water, the greater 
setback distance shall govern. 

14. All storage facilities, including landscape 
impoundments used for nonsystem storage, shall be 
designed and operated to prevent a discharge to surface 
waters of the state except in the event of a storm greater 
than the 25-year 24-hour storm. 

15. Permittees shall maintain current inventories of reject 
water storage, system storage and nonsystem storage 
facilities located within the service area of the RWM plan. 
An inventory or a revised inventory shall be submitted as 
part of the RWM plan in the permit application. For the 
addition of new storage facilities to an inventory after 
permit issuance, the permittee shall submit to the board an 
amended inventory at least 30 days before reclaimed water 
will be introduced into the new storage facilities. An 
inventory of reject water storage, system storage and 
nonsystem storage facilities shall include the following: 

a. Name or identifier for each storage facility, 

b. Location of each storage facility (latitude and 
longitude), 

c. Function of each storage facility (i.e., reject water 
storage, system storage or nonsystem storage), 
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d. Type of each storage facility (i.e., covered tank, 
uncovered tank, lined pond, unlined pond, etc.), and 

e. Location (latitude and longitude) and distance of the 
nearest potable water supply well and spring, and public 
water supply intake, to each storage facility within 450 
feet of that facility. 

16. Storage requirements as specified in this subsection 
shall not apply to reclaimed water storage facilities 
provided at the site of an industrial end user. These 
facilities shall be subject to regulation under the end user’s 
industrial wastewater permit. 

9VAC25-740-120. Construction requirements. 

A. Preliminary engineering report. A preliminary 
engineering report shall be submitted for new water 
reclamation projects and for modification or expansion of 
existing reclamation systems, satellite reclamation systems 
and reclaimed water distributions systems. At the request of 
the applicant or permittee, the board may waive the need for a 
preliminary engineering report or portions of a preliminary 
engineering report for modification or expansion of an 
existing reclamation system, satellite reclamation system or 
reclaimed water distributions system based on the scope of 
the proposed project. 

B. Certificate to construct and certificate to operate. 

1. No owner shall cause or allow the construction, 
expansion or modification of a reclamation system or 
satellite reclamation system except in compliance with a 
certificate to construct (CTC) from the board unless 
otherwise provided for by this regulation. Furthermore, no 
owner shall cause or allow any reclamation system or 
satellite reclamation system to be operated except in 
compliance with a certificate to operate (CTO) issued by 
the board, which authorizes the operation of the 
reclamation system or satellite reclamation system unless 
otherwise provided for by this regulation. The need for a 
CTC and CTO for modifications shall be determined by 
the board on a case-by-case basis. Conditions may be 
imposed on the issuance of any CTC or CTO, and no 
reclamation system or satellite reclamation system may be 
constructed, modified, or operated in violation of these 
conditions. 

2. CTC. 

a. Upon approval of the proposed design by the board, 
including any submitted plans and specifications, if 
required, the board will issue a CTC to the owner of such 
approval to construct or modify his reclamation system 
or satellite reclamation system in accordance with the 
approved plans and specifications. 

b. Any deviations from the approved design or the 
submitted plans and specifications significantly affecting 
hydraulic conditions (flow profile), unit operations 

capacity, the functioning of the reclamation system or 
satellite reclamation system, or the quality of the 
reclaimed water, must be approved by the board before 
any such changes are made. 

3. CTO. 

a. Upon completion of the construction or modification 
of the reclamation system or satellite reclamation system, 
the owner shall submit to the board a Statement of 
Construction Completion signed by a licensed 
professional engineer stating that the construction work 
has been completed in accordance with the approved 
plans and specifications, or revised only in accordance 
with subdivision 2 b of this subsection. This statement 
shall be based upon inspections of the reclamation 
system or satellite reclamation system during and after 
construction or modifications that are adequate to ensure 
the truth of the statement. 

b. Upon receipt of the construction completion statement, 
the board may issue a final CTO. However, the board 
may delay the granting of the CTO pending inspection, 
or satisfactory evaluation of reclaimed water test results, 
to ensure that the work has been satisfactorily completed. 

c. A conditional CTO may be issued specifying final 
approval conditions, with specific time periods for 
completion of unfinished work, revisions to the 
operations and maintenance manual, or other appropriate 
items. The board may issue a conditional CTO to owners 
of a reclamation system or satellite reclamation system 
for which the required information for completion of 
construction has not been received. Such CTOs will 
contain appropriate conditions requiring the completion 
of any unfinished or incomplete work including 
subsequent submission of the statement of completion of 
construction. 

d. Consideration will be given to issuance of an interim 
CTO to individual unit operations of the treatment 
system so as to allow utilization of these unit operations 
prior to completion of the total project. A final CTO shall 
be issued upon verification that the requirements of this 
regulation have been complied with. 

e. Within 30 days after placing a new or modified 
reclamation system or satellite reclamation system into 
operation, the reclaimed water produced should be 
sampled and tested in a manner sufficient to demonstrate 
compliance with approved specifications and permit 
requirements. The board shall be notified of the time and 
place of the tests, and shall be sent the results of the tests 
for evaluation as part of the final CTO. 

f. Within 90 days of placing the new or modified 
reclamation system or satellite reclamation system into 
operation, the owner shall submit a new or revised 
operations and maintenance manual for the water 
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reclamation system, satellite reclamation system, or both, 
as applicable, to be covered by the same permit. The 
manual shall contain information as specified in 
9VAC25-740-140. 

g. The board may amend or reissue a CTO where there is 
a change in the manner of treatment or the source of 
water that is reclaimed at the permitted location, or for 
any other cause incidental to the protection of the public 
health and welfare, provided notice is given to the owner. 

9VAC25-740-130. Operator requirements and system 
reliability. 

A. Operator requirements.  In accordance with the Virginia 
Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators 
Regulations (18VAC160-20), each reclamation system shall 
be assigned a classification based on the treatment processes 
used to reclaim water and the design capacity of the facility. 
The classification of both the reclamation system and the 
operator in responsible charge shall be the same as that 
specified in the Sewage Collection and Treatment 
Regulations (9VAC25-790) for sewage treatment works with 
similar treatment processes and design capacities.  The 
reclamation system shall be manned while in operation and 
under the supervision of the operator in responsible charge 
unless the system is equipped with remote monitoring and, as 
applicable, automated diversion of substandard or reject water 
in accordance with 9VAC25-740-70 C 1 a. 

B. Class I reliability as defined in 9VAC25-740-10 is 
required for Level 1 reclamation systems and satellite 
reclamation systems unless there is a permitted alternate 
treatment or discharge system available that has sufficient 
capacity to handle any reclaimed water flows that do not meet 
the reclaimed water standards of this regulation or 
performance criteria established in the operations and 
maintenance manual. 

C. For independent reclamation systems and systems 
consisting of an industrial wastewater treatment facility and 
reclamation system, the applicability of Class I reliability 
requirements as specified in the Sewage Collection and 
Treatment Regulations (9VAC25-790), shall be determined 
by the board for each proposed or existing system. 

D. The board may approve alternative measures to achieve 
Class I reliability specified in the Sewage Collection and 
Treatment Regulations (9VAC25-790) if the applicant or 
permittee can demonstrate in the engineering report, using 
accepted and appropriate engineering principles and practices, 
that the alternative measures will achieve a level of reliability 
equivalent to Class I reliability. 

9VAC25-740-140. Operations and maintenance. 

A. The permittee shall develop and submit to the board an 
operations and maintenance manual in accordance with 
9VAC25-740-120 B 3 f for each reclamation system, satellite 

reclamation system, reclaimed water distribution system, or 
any combination of these facilities covered by the same 
permit.  The permittee shall maintain the manual and any 
changes in the practices and procedures followed by the 
permittee shall be documented and submitted to the board 
within 90 days of the effective date of the changes. 

B. For a reclamation system authorized under the permit of a 
wastewater treatment facility that provides flow to the 
reclamation system, the operations and maintenance manual 
of the reclamation system may be made a part of the 
operations and maintenance manual for the wastewater 
treatment facility. 

C. The operations and maintenance manual is a set of 
detailed instructions developed to facilitate the operator’s 
understanding of operational constraints and maintenance 
requirements for the reclamation system, satellite reclamation 
system or reclaimed water distribution system; and the 
monitoring and reporting requirements specified in the permit 
issued for each system.  The scope and content of the manual 
will be determined by the complexity of the system or 
systems described by the manual. 

1. For a reclamation system or satellite reclamation system, 
the operations and maintenance manual shall, at a 
minimum, contain the following: 

a. A description of unit treatment processes within the 
reclamation system or satellite reclamation system and 
step-by-step instructions for the operation of these 
processes; 

b. Routine maintenance and schedules of maintenance for 
each unit treatment process in the system; 

c. The criteria used to make continuous determinations of 
the acceptability of the reclaimed water being produced 
and shall include set points for parameters measured by 
continuous on-line monitoring equipment; 

d. Descriptions of sampling and monitoring procedures 
and record keeping that comply with the requirements of 
this regulation and any applicable permit conditions; 

e. The physical steps and procedures to be followed by 
the operator when substandard water is being produced, 
including resampling and operational review in 
accordance with 9VAC25-740-70 C; 

f. The physical steps and procedures to be followed by 
the operator when the treatment facility returns to normal 
operation and acceptable quality reclaimed water is again 
being produced; 

g. Procedures to be followed during a period when an 
operator is not present at the treatment facility; 

h. Information necessary for the proper management of 
sludge or residuals from reclamation treatment that is not 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations August 6, 2007 

4025 

specifically requested in the application for a VPDES or 
VPA permit; and 

i. A contingency plan to eliminate or minimize the 
potential for untreated or inadequately treated water to be 
delivered to reuse areas.  The plan shall, as applicable, 
reference and coordinate with the education and 
notification program specified in 9VAC25-740-170 A for 
any release of untreated or inadequately treated water to 
the reclaimed water distribution system. 

2. For a reclaimed water distribution system, the operations 
and maintenance manual shall, at a minimum, contain the 
following: 

a. A description of all components within the distribution 
system and step-by-step instructions for the operation of 
specific mechanical components; 

b. Routine and unplanned inspection of the distribution 
system, including required inspections for the cross-
connection and backflow prevention program as 
specified in 9VAC25-740-100 B 1 g; 

c. Routine maintenance and schedules of maintenance for 
all components of the distribution system.  Maintenance 
shall include, but is not be limited to, initial and routine 
flushing of the distribution system, measures to prevent 
or minimize corrosion, fouling and clogging of 
distribution lines; and detection and repair of broken 
distribution lines, flow meters or pumping equipment; 
and 

d. Procedures to handle and dispose of any wastes or 
wastewater generated by maintenance of the distribution 
system in a manner protective of the environment. 

D. The permittee shall review and revise the operations and 
maintenance manual, as needed and appropriate, to ensure 
that the manual contains procedures and criteria addressing 
the requirements of subsection C of this section for 
satisfactory system performance.  Any revision to the manual 
shall be reviewed and approved by the board. 

E. The permittee of a reclamation system, satellite 
reclamation system, or reclaimed water distribution system 
shall be responsible for making the facility protective of the 
environment and public health at all times, including periods 
of inactivation or closure.  Included in the operations and 
maintenance manual for the reclamation system, satellite 
reclamation system, or reclaimed water distribution system, 
the permittee shall submit a plan for inactivation or closure of 
the facility, specifying what steps will be taken to protect the 
environment and public health. 

F. Where a reclamation system or satellite reclamation 
system and a bulk irrigation reuse site or sites are under 
common ownership or management, the operations and 
maintenance manual for the reclamation system or satellite 
reclamation system shall include the following: 

1. Measurements and calculations used to determine 
supplemental irrigation rates of reclaimed water for the 
irrigation reuse sites, 

2. Operating procedures of the irrigation system,  

3. Routine maintenance required for the continued design 
performance of the irrigation system and reuse sites, 

4. Identification and routine maintenance of reclaimed 
water storage facilities dedicated to bulk irrigation reuse, 

5. Schedules for harvesting and crop removal at the 
irrigation reuse sites, 

6. An inventory of spare parts to be maintained for the 
irrigation system, and 

7. Any other information essential to the operation of the 
irrigation system and reuse sites in accordance with the 
requirements of this regulation.  

9VAC25-740-150. Management of pollutants from 
significant industrial users. 

A. A reclamation system that receives effluent from a 
wastewater treatment facility having significant industrial 
users (SIUs) as defined by the VPDES Permit Regulation 
(9VAC25-31-10), shall not be permitted to produce reclaimed 
water treated to Level 1 or for reuse in areas accessible to the 
public or where human contact with the reclaimed water is 
likely, unless the wastewater treatment facility providing 
effluent to the reclamation system is: 

1. A publicly owned treatment works (POTW) as defined 
in the VPDES Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31-10), that 
has a pretreatment program developed, approved and 
maintained in accordance with Part VII of the VPDES 
Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31-730 through 9VAC25-31-
900); or  

2. Any other POTW or privately owned treatment works as 
defined in the VPDES Permit Regulation (9VAC 25-31-
10), with either a VPA or VPDES permit that has 
developed a program to manage pollutants of concern 
discharged by SIUs, equivalent to a pretreatment program 
required in the VPDES Permit Regulation for qualifying 
POTWs. 

B. The permittee of a reclamation system authorized to 
produce reclaimed water treated to Level 1 or for reuse in 
areas accessible to the public or where human contact is 
likely, shall establish a contractual agreement with all 
wastewater treatment facilities providing effluent or source 
water to the reclamation system. The purpose of the 
contractual agreement shall be to ensure that reclaimed water 
discharged from the reclamation system is safe for use in 
areas accessible to the public or where human contact is 
likely. Prior to execution of the contractual agreement, a draft 
copy of the contract agreement shall be provided to the Board 
for review and approval. A contractual agreement will not be 
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required where the permittee of the reclamation system is also 
the permittee of the wastewater treatment system that 
provides effluent or source water to the reclamation system. 

9VAC25-740-160. Access control and advisory signs. 

A. There shall be no uncontrolled public access to 
reclamation systems, satellite reclamation systems and system 
storage facilities.  Access to any wastewater treatment facility 
directly associated with a reclamation system or satellite 
reclamation system shall be controlled in accordance with the 
Sewage, Collection and Treatment Regulations (9VAC25-
790).  System storage ponds shall be enclosed with a fence or 
otherwise designed with appropriate features to discourage 
the entry of animals and unauthorized persons. 

B. Where advisory signs or placards are required as 
described in subsections C and D of this section, each sign 
shall state, at a minimum, "CAUTION: RECLAIMED 
WATER – DO NOT DRINK" and have the equivalent 
standard international symbol for non potable water.  The size 
of the sign and lettering used shall be such that it can be 
easily read by a person with normal vision at a distance of 50 
feet.  Alternate signage and wording that assures an 
equivalent degree of public notification and protection may 
be accepted by the board. 

C. For all reuses of reclaimed water treated to Level 2, 
public access shall be restricted and advisory signs shall be 
posted around reuse areas or reuse site boundaries.  The 
advisory signs shall additionally state the nature of the reuse 
and no trespassing.  Fencing around the site boundary is not 
required.  

D. Advisory signs or placards for all reuses of reclaimed 
water treated to Level 1 shall be posted within and at the 
boundaries of reuse areas.  The advisory signs or placards 
shall additionally state the nature of the reuse.  Examples of 
some notification methods that may be used by permittees 
include posting advisory signs at entrances to residential 
neighborhoods where reclaimed water is used for landscape 
irrigation and posting advisory signs at the entrance to a golf 
course and at the first and tenth tees. 

E. Advisory signs shall be posted adjacent to impoundments 
or ponds, including landscape impoundments, used for 
nonsystem storage of reclaimed water. 

F. For industrial reuses, advisory signs shall be posted 
around those areas of the industrial site where reclaimed 
water is used and at the main entrances to the industrial site to 
notify employees and the visiting public of the reclaimed 
water reuse.  Access control beyond what is normally 
provided by the industry is not required.  

9VAC25-740-170. Use area requirements. 

A. Education and notification program. An education and 
notification program (program) shall be developed and 
submitted with the RWM Plan for reuses that require Level 1 

reclaimed water, will be in areas accessible to the public, or 
are likely to have human contact. The program shall be the 
responsibility of the permittee to implement. 

1. Education.  The purpose of the education component of 
the program is to ensure that end users and the public 
likely to have contact with reclaimed water are informed of 
the origin, nature, and characteristics of the reclaimed 
water; the manner in which the reclaimed water can be 
used safely; and uses for which the reclaimed water is 
prohibited or limited.  The program shall describe all 
modes of communication to be used to educate and inform, 
including, but not limited to, meetings, distribution of 
written information, the news media (i.e., news papers, 
radio, television or the internet), and advisory signs as 
described in 9VAC25-740-160.  Program education for 
individual end users shall be at the time of their initial 
connection to the reclaimed water distribution system and 
may be provided in the service agreement or contract with 
the permittee established in accordance with 9VAC25-740-
100 B 1 d.  For nonbulk irrigation reuse of reclaimed water 
not treated to achieve BNR, education of individual end 
users shall be, at a minimum, annually after the reclaimed 
water distribution system is placed into operation. 

2. Notification.  The notification component of the 
program shall contain procedures to notify end users and 
the affected public of treatment failures at the reclamation 
system that can adversely impact human health, or result in 
loss of reclaimed water service.  Where treatment of the 
reclaimed water fails more than once during a seven-day 
period to comply with Level 1 disinfection or other 
standards developed in accordance with 9VAC25-740-70 
D or 9VAC25-740-70 E for the protection of human 
health, and the non-compliant reclaimed water has been 
discharged to the reclaimed water distribution system, the 
permittee shall notify the end user of the treatment failures 
and advise the end user of precautions to be taken to 
protect public health when using the reclaimed water in 
areas accessible to the public or where human contact with 
the reclaimed water is likely.  These precautions shall be 
implemented for a period of seven days or greater 
depending on the frequency and magnitude of the 
treatment failure.  Where reclaimed water service to end 
users will be interrupted due to planned causes, such as 
scheduled repairs, the permittee shall provide advance 
notice to end users of the anticipated date and duration of 
the interrupted service.  Where reclaimed water service to 
end users is disrupted by unplanned causes, such as an 
upset at the reclamation system, the permittee shall notify 
end users and the affected public of the disrupted service if 
it can not or will not be restored within eight hours of 
discovery.  

B. Reclaimed water shall be used in a manner that is 
consistent with this regulation and with the conditions of the 
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VPDES or VPA permit, such that public health and the 
environmental shall be protected. 

C. Reclaimed water delivered to end users shall be of 
acceptable quality for the intended reuses at the point of 
delivery to end users. 

D. There shall be no nuisance conditions resulting from the 
distribution, use, or storage of reclaimed water. 

E. For all irrigation reuses of reclaimed water, the following 
shall be required: 

1. There shall be no application of reclaimed water to the 
ground when it is saturated, frozen or covered with ice or 
snow, and during periods of rainfall. 

2. The chosen method of irrigation shall minimize human 
contact with the reclaimed water. 

3. Reclaimed water shall be prevented from coming into 
contact with drinking fountains, water coolers, or eating 
surfaces. 

F. For bulk irrigation reuse of reclaimed water, the 
following shall be required: 

1. Irrigation systems shall be designed, installed and 
adjusted to: 

a. Provide uniform distribution of the reclaimed water 
over the irrigation site, 

b. Prevent ponding or pooling of reclaimed water at the 
irrigation site, 

c. Facilitate maintenance and harvesting of irrigated areas 
and precludes damage to the irrigation system from the 
use of maintenance or harvesting equipment, 

d. Prevent aerosol carry-over from the irrigation site to 
areas beyond the setback distances described in 
subsection H of this section, and 

e. Prevent clogging from algae or suspended solids. 

2. All pipes, pumps, valve boxes and outlets of the 
irrigation system shall be designed, installed, and identified 
in accordance with 9VAC25-740-110 B.  

3. Any reclaimed water runoff shall be confined to the 
irrigation reuse site unless authorized by the board. 

G. Overspray of surface waters, including wetlands, from 
irrigation or other reuses of reclaimed water is prohibited. 

H. Setback distances for irrigation reuses of reclaimed 
water. 

1. For sites irrigated with reclaimed water treated to Level 
1, the following setback distances are required: 

a. Potable water supply wells and springs, and public 
water supply intakes - 100 feet 

b. Nonpotable water supply wells - 10 feet 

c. Limestone rock outcrops and sinkholes - 50 feet 

2. For sites irrigated with reclaimed water treated to Level 
1, no setback distances are required to occupied dwellings 
and outdoor eating, drinking and bathing facilities.  
However, aerosol formation shall be minimized within 100 
feet of occupied dwellings and outdoor eating, drinking 
and bathing facilities through the use of low trajectory 
nozzles for spray irrigation, above-ground drip irrigation, 
or other means. 

3. For sites irrigated with reclaimed water treated to Level 
2, the following setback distances are required: 

a. Potable water supply wells and springs, and public 
water supply intakes  - 200 feet  

b. Nonpotable water supply wells - 10 feet 

c. Surface waters, including wetlands  - 50 feet 

d. Occupied dwellings - 200 feet 

e. Property lines and areas accessible to the public - 100 
feet 

f. Limestone rock outcrops and sinkholes - 50 feet 

4. For sites irrigated with reclaimed water treated to Level 
2, the setback distances may be reduced as follows: 

a. Up to but not exceeding 50% to occupied dwellings, 
property lines and areas accessible to the public if it can 
be demonstrated that alternative measures shall be 
implemented to provide an equivalent level of public 
health protection.  Such measures shall include, but are 
not limited to, disinfection of the reclaimed water 
equivalent to Level 1, application of the reclaimed water 
by methods that minimize aerosol formation (e.g., low 
trajectory nozzles for spray irrigation, above-ground drip 
irrigation), installation of permanent physical barriers to 
prevent migration of aerosols from the reclaimed water 
irrigation site, or any combination thereof.  Written 
consent of affected landowners is required to reduce 
setback distances from occupied dwellings or property 
lines. 

b. To but not less than 100 feet to potable water supply 
wells and springs, or public water supply intakes if it can 
be demonstrated that disinfection of the reclaimed water 
is equivalent to Level 1 and there are no other 
constituents of the reclaimed water present in quantities 
sufficient to be harmful to human health. 

c. To but not less than 25 feet to surface waters, 
including wetlands, where reclaimed water shall be 
applied by methods that minimize aerosol formation 
(e.g., low trajectory nozzles for spray irrigation, above-
ground drip irrigation); or permanent physical barriers 
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are installed to prevent the migration of aerosols from the 
reclaimed water irrigation site to surface waters. 

5. For irrigation reuses where more than one setback 
distance may apply, the greater setback distance shall 
govern. 

6. Unless specifically stated otherwise, all setback 
distances shall be measured horizontally. 

I. Minimum separation distances for in-ground reclaimed 
water distribution pipelines specified in 9VAC25-740-110 B 
3, shall apply to in-ground piping for irrigation systems of 
reclaimed water. 

J. A setback distance of 100 feet horizontally shall be 
maintained from indoor aesthetic features (i.e., decorative 
waterfalls or fountains) that use reclaimed water treated to 
Level 1, to adjacent indoor public eating and drinking 
facilities where the aesthetic features have the potential to 
create aerosols and eating and drinking facilities are within 
the same room or building space. 

K. A setback distance of 300 feet horizontally shall be 
provided from an open cooling tower to the site property line 
where reclaimed water treated to Level 2 is used in the tower.  
No setback distance shall be required from an open cooling 
tower to the site property line where a drift or mist eliminator 
is installed and properly operated or reclaimed water treated 
to Level 1 disinfection standards is used in the tower.  
Treatment of the reclaimed water to Level 1 disinfection 
standards may be provided by the industrial end user through 
the contract or agreement established by the permittee in 
accordance with 9VAC25-740-100 B 1 d.  

9VAC25-740-180. Operational flow requirements. 

A. When the monthly average flow into a reclamation 
system or satellite reclamation system reaches 95% of the 
design capacity authorized by the VPDES or VPA permit 
issued to that system for each month of any three-month 
period, the permittee shall within 30 days notify the board in 
writing and within 90 days submit a plan of action for 
ensuring continued compliance with the terms of the permit. 

1. The plan shall include the necessary steps and a 
prompt schedule of implementation for controlling any 
current problem, or any problem that could be reasonably 
anticipated, resulting from high flows entering the 
reclamation system or satellite reclamation system. 

2. Upon receipt of the permittee's plan of action, the 
board shall notify the owner whether the plan is approved 
or disapproved.  If the plan is disapproved, such 
notification shall state the reasons and specify the actions 
necessary to obtain approval of the plan. 

3. Failure to timely submit an adequate plan shall be 
deemed a violation of the permit. 

4. Nothing herein shall in any way impair the authority of 
the board to take enforcement action under §62.1-44.15, 
62.1-44.23, or 62.1-44.32 of the Code of Virginia.  

9VAC25-740-190. Recordkeeping. 

A. Operating records shall be maintained at the reclamation 
system or a central depository within the reclaimed water 
distribution system for a period as specified in the VPDES or 
VPA permit issued to the facility. Operating records shall 
include all analyses specified in these regulations, records of 
operational problems, alarm failures, unit process and 
equipment breakdowns, diversions to reject storage or 
emergency storage, discharge to another permitted reuse 
system requiring a lower level of treatment, or disposal via a 
permitted effluent discharge; and all corrective or preventive 
action taken. 

B. A monthly summary of operating records as specified 
under subsection A of this section shall be maintained at the 
facility. 

9VAC25-740-200. Reporting. 

A. Permittees of water reclamation systems and satellite 
reclamation systems shall submit a monthly monitoring report 
to the board.  The report shall include monitoring results for 
parameters contained in the VPDES or VPA permit to 
demonstrate compliance with applicable reclaimed water 
standards of this regulation. 

B. Interruption or loss of reclaimed water supply or 
discharge of any untreated or partially treated water that fails 
to comply with standards specified in the VPDES or VPA 
permit to the service area of intended reuse, shall be reported 
in accordance with procedures specified in the permit.  This 
report shall also contain a description of any notification 
provided in accordance with 9VAC25-740-170 A 2. 

C. Permittees of reclaimed water distribution systems shall 
submit an annual report to the board on or before February 10 
of the following year.  The annual report shall, at a minimum: 

1. Estimate the volume of reclaimed water distributed to 
the service area of the RWM plan, reported as monthly 
totals for a 12-month period from January 1 through 
December 31; 

2. Provide for reclaimed water not treated to achieve BNR 
that is used within the service area of the RWM plan, the 
monthly average concentrations of total N and total P in 
the reclaimed water, an estimate of the monthly total 
volume of reclaimed water used for nonbulk irrigation and 
for bulk irrigation, the monthly total nutrient loads (N and 
P) to the service area resulting from nonbulk irrigation 
reuse and from bulk irrigation reuse, and the area in active 
reuse for nonbulk irrigation and for bulk irrigation within 
the service area, all reported for a 12-month period from 
January 1 through December 31; and 
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3. Provide a summary of ongoing education and 
notification program activities, including copies of 
education materials, as required by 9VAC25-740-170 A. 

9VAC25-740-210. Delegation of authority. 

The director or the director’s designee may perform any act 
of the board provided under this regulation, except as limited 
by §62.1-44.14 of the Code of Virginia.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

Installation of Ductile-Iron Water Mains and Their 
Appurtenances, ANSI/AWWA C600-05 (Revision of 
ANSI/AWWA C600-99), effective December 1, 2005, 
American Water Works Association. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-33; Filed July 17, 2007, 9:54 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 12. HEALTH  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES  

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 
(amending 12VAC30-120-370, 12VAC30-120-380).  

Statutory Authority: §32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Dates: September 1, 2007, through August 31, 
2008. 

Agency Contact: Adrienne Fegans, Program Operations 
Administrator, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-4112, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
adrienne.fegans@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: Section 2.2-4011 of the Administrative Process 
Act states that an emergency situation is: (i) a situation 
involving an imminent threat to public health or safety; or (ii) 
a situation in which Virginia statutory law, the Virginia 
appropriation act, or federal law requires that a regulation 
shall be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, or in 
which federal regulation requires a regulation to take effect 
no later than 280 days from its effective date.  This 
emergency regulation meets the standard at §2.2-4011(ii) of 
the Code of Virginia as discussed below.  

Item 302 M.1 and M.2 of the 2006 appropriation act provides 
the Department of Medical Assistance Services with the 
authority to seek federal approval of these changes to its 
MEDALLION waiver and its Medallion II waiver. In order to 
conform the state regulations to the federally approved 
changes and to implement the provisions of these acts, the 
department shall promulgate emergency regulations to 
become effective within 280 days or less from the enactment 

of this act. The department shall implement these necessary 
regulatory changes to be consistent with federal approval of 
the waiver changes.  

Currently, persons who are enrolled in managed care 
organizations who subsequently become enrolled for long-
term care services (either NF care or waiver services), are 
being canceled from their MCOs to receive their acute and 
long-term care services through the fee-for-service payment 
mechanism in conjunction with their NF or waiver services.  
This change will permit waiver enrolled persons to remain in 
their MCOs while receiving their waiver services. This 
change will not affect those persons who qualify for the 
Technology Assisted Waiver, NF nor for persons classified as 
dual eligibles (Medicare-Medicaid eligibles).  

The Home-and-Community-Based Waiver population is 
currently excluded from participation in the managed care 
program.  This regulatory change will expand managed care 
operations over "un-managed" populations and also integrate 
acute and long-term care by improving the current system and 
increasing care coordination for the elderly and certain 
persons with disabilities. This program change will prevent 
enrollees from having to change their current managed care 
organization for their acute medical care, therefore 
eliminating any disruptions in care. Key provisions allow for 
MCO enrollees who are newly enrolled into the HIV-AIDS, 
Individual and Family Developmental Disabilities Support 
(IFDDS), Mental Retardation (MR), Elderly or Disabled with 
Consumer Direction (EDCD), Day Support, and Alzheimer’s 
Waiver programs to continue enrollment in one of the 
contracted MCOs for their acute care medical needs. 

12VAC30-120-370. Medallion II enrollees. 

A. DMAS shall determine enrollment in Medallion II. 
Enrollment in Medallion II is not a guarantee of continuing 
eligibility for services and benefits under the Virginia 
Medical Assistance Services Program. DMAS reserves the 
right to exclude from participation in the Medallion II 
managed care program any recipient who has been 
consistently noncompliant with the policies and procedures of 
managed care or who is threatening to providers, MCOs, or 
DMAS. There must be sufficient documentation from various 
providers, the MCO, and DMAS of these noncompliance 
issues and any attempts at resolution. Recipients excluded 
from Medallion II through this provision may appeal the 
decision to DMAS. 

B. The following individuals shall be excluded from 
participating in Medallion II. Individuals not meeting the 
exclusion criteria must participate in the Medallion II 
program. 

1. Individuals who are inpatients in state mental hospitals; 

2. Individuals who are approved by DMAS as inpatients in 
long-stay hospitals, nursing facilities, or intermediate care 
facilities for the mentally retarded; 
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3. Individuals who are placed on spend-down; 

4. Individuals who are participating in the family planning 
waiver, and or in federal waiver programs for home-based 
and community-based Medicaid coverage prior to managed 
care enrollment; 

5. Individuals who are participating in foster care or 
subsidized adoption programs; 

6. Individuals under age 21 who are enrolled in DMAS 
authorized residential treatment or treatment foster care 
programs; 

7. Newly eligible individuals who are in the third trimester 
of pregnancy and who request exclusion within a 
department-specified timeframe of the effective date of 
their MCO enrollment. Exclusion may be granted only if 
the member's obstetrical provider (physician or hospital) 
does not participate with the enrollee's assigned MCO. 
Exclusion requests made during the third trimester may be 
made by the recipient, MCO, or provider. DMAS shall 
determine if the request meets the criteria for exclusion. 
Following the end of the pregnancy, these individuals shall 
be required to enroll to the extent they remain eligible for 
Medicaid; 

8. Individuals, other than students, who permanently live 
outside their area of residence for greater than 60 
consecutive days except those individuals placed there for 
medically necessary services funded by the MCO; 

9. Individuals who receive hospice services in accordance 
with DMAS criteria; 

10. Individuals with other comprehensive group or 
individual health insurance coverage, including Medicare, 
insurance provided to military dependents, and any other 
insurance purchased through the Health Insurance 
Premium Payment Program (HIPP); 

11. Individuals requesting exclusion who are inpatients in 
hospitals, other than those listed in subdivisions 1 and 2 of 
this subsection, at the scheduled time of enrollment or who 
are scheduled for inpatient hospital stay or surgery within 
30 calendar days of the enrollment effective date. The 
exclusion shall remain effective until the first day of the 
month following discharge; 

12. Individuals who request exclusion during 
preassignment to an MCO or within a time set by DMAS 
from the effective date of their MCO enrollment, who have 
been diagnosed with a terminal condition and who have a 
life expectancy of six months or less. The client's physician 
must certify the life expectancy; 

13. Certain individuals between birth and age three 
certified by the Department of Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services as eligible for 
services pursuant to Part C of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act (20 USC §1471 et seq.) who are 
granted an exception by DMAS to the mandatory 
Medallion II enrollment; 

14. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is less 
than three months; 

15. Individuals who are enrolled in the Commonwealth's 
Title XXI SCHIP program; 

16. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is only 
retroactive; and  

17. Children enrolled in the Virginia Birth-Related 
Neurological Injury Compensation Program established 
pursuant to Chapter 50 (§38.2-5000et seq.) of Title 38.2 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

C. Individuals enrolled with a MCO that subsequently meet 
one or more of these criteria during MCO enrollment shall be 
disenrolled as appropriate by DMAS, with the exception of 
those who subsequently become recipients in the federal 
waiver programs, as otherwise defined elsewhere in this 
chapter, for home and community-based Medicaid coverage 
(AIDS, IFDDS, MR, EDCD, Day Support, or Alzheimers, or 
as may be amended from time to time). These individuals 
shall receive acute and primary medical services via the MCO 
and shall receive waiver services and related transportation to 
waiver services via the fee-for-service program. 

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 
enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the current 
fee-for-service system. When enrollees no longer meet the 
criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to enroll in the 
appropriate managed care program. 

D. Medallion II managed care plans shall be offered to 
recipients, and recipients shall be enrolled in those plans, 
exclusively through an independent enrollment broker under 
contract to DMAS. 

D E. Clients shall be enrolled as follows:  

1. All eligible persons, except those meeting one of the 
exclusions of subsection B of this section, shall be enrolled 
in Medallion II.  

2. Clients shall receive a Medicaid card from DMAS, and 
shall be provided authorized medical care in accordance 
with DMAS' procedures after Medicaid eligibility has been 
determined to exist.  

3. Once individuals are enrolled in Medicaid, they will 
receive a letter indicating that they may select one of the 
contracted MCOs. These letters shall indicate a 
preassigned MCO, determined as provided in subsection E 
of this section, in which the client will be enrolled if he 
does not make a selection within a period specified by 
DMAS of not less than 30 days.  
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4. Any newborn whose mother is enrolled with an MCO at 
the time of birth shall be considered an enrollee of that 
same MCO for the newborn enrollment period. This 
requirement does not preclude the enrollee, once he is 
assigned a Medicaid identification number, from 
disenrolling from one MCO to another in accordance with 
subdivision F G 1 of this section. 

The newborn's continued enrollment with the MCO is not 
contingent upon the mother's enrollment. Additionally, if 
the MCO's contract is terminated in whole or in part, the 
MCO shall continue newborn coverage if the child is born 
while the contract is active, until the newborn receives a 
Medicaid number or for the newborn enrollment period, 
whichever timeframe is earlier. Infants who do not receive 
a Medicaid identification number prior to the end of the 
newborn enrollment period will be disenrolled. Newborns 
who remain eligible for participation in Medallion II will 
be reenrolled in an MCO through the preassignment 
process upon receiving a Medicaid identification number.  

5. Individuals who lose then regain eligibility for 
Medallion II within 60 days will be reenrolled into their 
previous MCO without going through preassignment and 
selection.  

E F. Clients who do not select an MCO as described in 
subdivision D E 3 of this section shall be assigned to an MCO 
as follows:  

1. Clients are assigned through a system algorithm based 
upon the client's history with a contracted MCO.  

2. Clients not assigned pursuant to subdivision 1 of this 
subsection shall be assigned to the MCO of another family 
member, if applicable.  

3. All other clients shall be assigned to an MCO on a basis 
of approximately equal number by MCO in each locality.  

4. In areas where there is only one contracted MCO, 
recipients have a choice of enrolling with the contracted 
MCO or the PCCM program. All eligible recipients in 
areas where one contracted MCO exists, however, are 
automatically assigned to the contracted MCO. Individuals 
are allowed 90 days after the effective date of new or 
initial enrollment to change from either the contracted 
MCO to the PCCM program or vice versa.  

F G. Following their initial enrollment into an MCO or 
PCCM program, recipients shall be restricted to the MCO or 
PCCM program until the next open enrollment period, unless 
appropriately disenrolled or excluded by the department. 

1. During the first 90 calendar days of enrollment in a new 
or initial MCO, a client may disenroll from that MCO to 
enroll into another MCO or into PCCM, if applicable, for 
any reason. Such disenrollment shall be effective no later 
than the first day of the second month after the month in 
which the client requests disenrollment. 

2. During the remainder of the enrollment period, the client 
may only disenroll from one MCO into another MCO or 
PCCM, if applicable, upon determination by DMAS that 
good cause exists as determined under subsection H of this 
section. 

G H. The department shall conduct an annual open 
enrollment for all Medallion II participants. The open 
enrollment period shall be the 60 calendar days before the end 
of the enrollment period. Prior to the open enrollment period, 
DMAS will inform the recipient of the opportunity to remain 
with the current MCO or change to another MCO, without 
cause, for the following year. In areas with only one 
contracted MCO, recipients will be given the opportunity to 
select either the MCO or the PCCM program. Enrollment 
selections will be effective on the first day of the next month 
following the open enrollment period. Recipients who do not 
make a choice during the open enrollment period will remain 
with their current MCO selection. 

H I. Disenrollment for cause may be requested at any time. 

1. After the first 90 days of enrollment in an MCO, clients 
must request disenrollment from DMAS based on cause. 
The request may be made orally or in writing to DMAS 
and must cite the reasons why the client wishes to 
disenroll. Cause for disenrollment shall include the 
following: 

a. A recipient's desire to seek services from a federally 
qualified health center which is not under contract with 
the recipient's current MCO, and the recipient (i) requests 
a change to another MCO that subcontracts with the 
desired federally qualified health center or (ii) requests a 
change to the PCCM, if the federally qualified health 
center is contracting directly with DMAS as a PCCM; 

b. Performance or nonperformance of service to the 
recipient by an MCO or one or more of its providers 
which is deemed by the department's external quality 
review organizations to be below the generally accepted 
community practice of health care. This may include 
poor quality care; 

c. Lack of access to a PCP or necessary specialty services 
covered under the State Plan or lack of access to 
providers experienced in dealing with the enrollee's 
health care needs; 

d. A client has a combination of complex medical factors 
that, in the sole discretion of DMAS, would be better 
served under another contracted MCO or PCCM 
program, if applicable, or provider;  

e. The enrollee moves out of the MCO's service area;  

f. The MCO does not, because of moral or religious 
objections, cover the service the enrollee seeks;  
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g. The enrollee needs related services to be performed at 
the same time; not all related services are available 
within the network, and the enrollee's primary care 
provider or another provider determines that receiving 
the services separately would subject the enrollee to 
unnecessary risk; or  

h. Other reasons as determined by DMAS through 
written policy directives.  

2. DMAS shall determine whether cause exists for 
disenrollment. Written responses shall be provided within a 
timeframe set by department policy; however, the effective 
date of an approved disenrollment shall be no later than the 
first day of the second month following the month in which 
the enrollee files the request, in compliance with 42 CFR 
438.56.  

3. Cause for disenrollment shall be deemed to exist and the 
disenrollment shall be granted if DMAS fails to take final 
action on a valid request prior to the first day of the second 
month after the request.  

4. The DMAS determination concerning cause for 
disenrollment may be appealed by the client in accordance 
with the department's client appeals process at 12VAC30-
110-10 through 12VAC30-110-380. 

5. The current MCO shall provide, within two working 
days of a request from DMAS, information necessary to 
determine cause.  

6. Individuals enrolled with a MCO that subsequently meet 
one or more of the exclusions in subsection B of this 
section during MCO enrollment shall be disenrolled as 
appropriate by DMAS, with the exception of those who 
subsequently become recipients into the AIDS, IFDDS, 
MR, EDCD, Day Support, or Alzheimers federal waiver 
programs for home-based and community-based Medicaid 
coverage. These individuals shall receive acute and 
primary medical services via the MCO and shall receive 
waiver services and related transportation to waiver 
services via the fee-for-service program.  

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 
enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the 
current fee-for-service system. When enrollees no longer 
meet the criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to 
enroll in the appropriate managed care program. 

12VAC30-120-380. Medallion II MCO responsibilities. 

A. The MCO shall provide, at a minimum, all medically 
necessary covered services provided under the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance and further defined by written DMAS 
regulations, policies and instructions, except as otherwise 
modified or excluded in this part. 

1. Nonemergency services provided by hospital emergency 
departments shall be covered by MCOs in accordance with 

rates negotiated between the MCOs and the emergency 
departments. 

2. Services that shall be provided outside the MCO 
network shall include those services identified and defined 
by the contract between DMAS and the MCO. Services 
reimbursed by DMAS include dental and orthodontic 
services for children up to age 21; for all others, dental 
services (as described in 12VAC30-50-190), school health 
services (as defined in 12VAC30-120-360) and, 
community mental health services (rehabilitative, targeted 
case management and substance abuse services), and long-
term care services provided under the §1915(c) home-and 
community-based waivers including related transportation 
to such authorized waiver services. 

3. The MCOs shall pay for emergency services and family 
planning services and supplies whether they are provided 
inside or outside the MCO network. 

B. EPSDT services shall be covered by the MCO. The MCO 
shall have the authority to determine the provider of service 
for EPSDT screenings. 

C. The MCOs shall report data to DMAS under the contract 
requirements, which may include data reports, report cards 
for clients, and ad hoc quality studies performed by the MCO 
or third parties. 

D. Documentation requirements. 

1. The MCO shall maintain records as required by federal 
and state law and regulation and by DMAS policy. The 
MCO shall furnish such required information to DMAS, 
the Attorney General of Virginia or his authorized 
representatives, or the State Medicaid Fraud Control Unit 
on request and in the form requested. 

2. Each MCO shall have written policies regarding enrollee 
rights and shall comply with any applicable federal and 
state laws that pertain to enrollee rights and shall ensure 
that its staff and affiliated providers take those rights into 
account when furnishing services to enrollees in 
accordance with 42 CFR 438.100. 

E. The MCO shall ensure that the health care provided to its 
clients meets all applicable federal and state mandates, 
community standards for quality, and standards developed 
pursuant to the DMAS managed care quality program. 

F. The MCOs shall promptly provide or arrange for the 
provision of all required services as specified in the contract 
between the state and the contractor. Medical evaluations 
shall be available within 48 hours for urgent care and within 
30 calendar days for routine care. On-call clinicians shall be 
available 24 hours per day, seven days per week. 

G. The MCOs must meet standards specified by DMAS for 
sufficiency of provider networks as specified in the contract 
between the state and the contractor. 
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H. Each MCO and its subcontractors shall have in place, and 
follow, written policies and procedures for processing 
requests for initial and continuing authorizations of service. 
Each MCO and its subcontractors shall ensure that any 
decision to deny a service authorization request or to 
authorize a service in an amount, duration, or scope that is 
less than requested, be made by a health care professional 
who has appropriate clinical expertise in treating the 
enrollee's condition or disease. Each MCO and its 
subcontractors shall have in effect mechanisms to ensure 
consistent application of review criteria for authorization 
decisions and shall consult with the requesting provider when 
appropriate. 

I. In accordance with 42 CFR 447.50 through 42 CFR 
447.60, MCOs shall not impose any cost sharing obligations 
on enrollees except as set forth in 12VAC30-20-150 and 
12VAC30-20-160. 

J. An MCO may not prohibit, or otherwise restrict, a health 
care professional acting within the lawful scope of practice, 
from advising or advocating on behalf of an enrollee who is 
his patient in accordance with 42 CFR 438.102. 

K. An MCO that would otherwise be required to reimburse 
for or provide coverage of a counseling or referral service is 
not required to do so if the MCO objects to the service on 
moral or religious grounds and furnishes information about 
the service it does not cover in accordance with 42 CFR 
438.102. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-729; Filed July 18, 2007, 10:30 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING  

BOARD OF DENTISTRY  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene (adding 
18VAC60-20-81; amending 18VAC60-20-108, 18VAC60-
20-190, 18VAC60-20-220).  

Statutory Authority: §§54.1-2400 and 54.1-2722 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 7, 2007 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health 
Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond, VA 

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
October 5, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad Street, 5th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9906, FAX (804) 662-9943, TTY 804-662-7197, or email 
sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
Board of Dentistry the authority to promulgate regulations to 
administer the regulatory system. 

The Dental Practice Act (Chapter 27 (§54.1-2700 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia) was amended by Chapter 
858 of the 2006 Acts of Assembly as follows: "A dentist may 
also authorize a dental hygienist under his direction to 
administer Schedule VI nitrous oxide and oxygen inhalation 
analgesia and, to persons 18 years of age or older, Schedule 
VI local anesthesia. In its regulations, the Board of Dentistry 
shall establish the education and training requirements for 
dental hygienists to administer such controlled substances 
under a dentist's direction." 

Therefore, the Board of Dentistry has a statutory mandate to 
establish education and training requirements for hygienists 
to administer. 

Purpose: Chapter 858 of the 2006 Acts of Assembly 
mandates the promulgation of regulations establishing the 
qualifications or credentials necessary for a dental hygienist 
to administer inhalation analgesia/nitrous oxide and local 
anesthesia.  In the development of regulations, the board 
looked at certification requirements in other states and 
considered a curriculum recommended by the VCU School of 
Dentistry.  The didactic hours in an accredited program 
coupled with a requirement for clinical experiences with 
patients and passage of an examination will ensure that a 
licensed hygienist will have the minimal competency to 
provide the expanded services with safety.  In addition, the 
law and regulation require that administration must be under 
the dentist’s direction (defined as meaning that “the dentist 
examines the patient and is present for observation, advice, 
and control over the performance of dental services”).  
Hygienists who are licensed by endorsement from other states 
can be qualified for administration if their education and 
training was substantially equivalent to requirements of this 
chapter, or if not, by demonstrating years of experience in 
administration of nitrous or local anesthesia.  Expansion of 
the scope of practice for dental hygienists should make these 
services more available to the citizens of the Commonwealth 
and should support appropriate dental care. 

Substance: The board is mandated to promulgate regulations 
establishing the qualifications necessary for a dental hygienist 
to administer Schedule VI nitrous oxide and oxygen 
inhalation analgesia and, to persons 18 years of age or older, 
Schedule VI local anesthesia.  Such qualifications include 
specific hours of didactic and clinical training, demonstration 
of clinical skills on patients, and testing of competency. 

The law permits administration of nitrous oxide and local 
anesthesia by a dental hygienist if authorized by a dentist and 
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only under his direction. "Direction" is already defined in 
regulations of the board as "the dentist examines the patient 
and is present for observation, advice, and control over the 
performance of dental services," so regulations are specific 
about the level of supervision required for such 
administration. 

In addition to establishing requirements for the education and 
training of dental hygienists, the board has amended existing 
regulations for the administration of inhalation analgesia and 
the listing of nondelegable duties, consistent with the 
amended law.  Current regulations for administration and 
monitoring by dentists are appropriately amended to allow 
hygienists qualified by education and training to also 
administer and monitor under the same provisions necessary 
to protect the health and safety of dental patients. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed regulation to 
the public would be the expanded practice of dental 
hygienists who would be able to see more patients and 
provide additional services that require local anesthesia or 
administration of nitrous oxide.  With the additional 
education and examination of such hygienists, the public 
could be assured that they possess credentials indicating 
minimal competency.  In addition, the law and regulation 
require that the supervising dentist be present and provide 
direction for the administration by a hygienist.  The current 
requirements for monitoring and safety equipment are 
applicable regardless of which practitioner provides the 
administration.  There should be no disadvantages to the 
public. 

There are no specific advantages or disadvantages to the 
agency or the Commonwealth.  Agencies of the 
Commonwealth that provide dental services may find it 
possible to expand those services to certain populations with 
the use of hygienists who are qualified to administer local 
anesthesia and nitrous. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation.  
Pursuant to Chapter 858 of the 2006 Acts of Assembly, the 
Board of Dentistry (Board) proposes to establish the 
education and training requirements for dental hygienists to 
administer Schedule VI nitrous oxide and oxygen inhalation 
analgesia and, to persons 18 years of age or older, Schedule 
VI local anesthesia under a dentist's direction. 

Result of Analysis.  The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
all proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  Chapter 858 of the 2006 Acts 
of Assembly amended §54.1-2722 of the Code of Virginia to 
state that “A dentist may … authorize a dental hygienist 
under his direction to administer Schedule VI nitrous oxide 
and oxygen inhalation analgesia and, to persons 18 years of 
age or older, Schedule VI local anesthesia.  In its regulations, 

the Board of Dentistry shall establish the education and 
training requirements for dental hygienists to administer such 
controlled substances under a dentist's direction.”  According 
to the American Dental Hygienists’ Association, dental 
hygienists are legally permitted to administer local anesthesia 
in 38 other states. To implement Chapter 858, the Board 
reviewed educational and training requirements in other 
states.  The lowest number of required hours of education was 
found in Kansas (12) with the highest number found in 
Louisiana (72).  The Board proposes to require that in 
addition to passing an examination, Virginia dental hygienists 
have at least 36 hours of training (including both didactic and 
clinical) in the following topics in order to be eligible to 
administer both local anesthesia and nitrous oxide/inhalation 
analgesia: 

a. Patient physical and psychological assessment; 

b. Medical history evaluation and record keeping; 

c. Neurophysiology of local anesthesia; 

d. Pharmacology of local anesthetics and vasoconstrictors; 

e. Anatomical considerations for local anesthesia; 

f. Techniques for maxillary infiltration and block 
anesthesia; 

g. Techniques for mandibular infiltration and block 
anesthesia; 

h. Local and systemic anesthetic complications; 

i. Management of medical emergencies; 

j. Clinical experiences in maxillary and mandibular 
infiltration and block injections; 

k. Pharmacology of nitrous oxide; 

l. Adjunctive uses of nitrous oxide for dental patients; and 

m. Clinical experiences in administering nitrous oxide and 
local anesthesia injections on patients. 

In order to qualify for just nitrous oxide/inhalation analgesia 
administration, the Board proposes to require passage of an 
examination and at least 8 hours of training (including both 
didactic and clinical) in the following topics: 

a. Patient physical and psychological assessment; 

b. Medical history evaluation; 

c. Equipment and techniques used for administration of 
nitrous oxide; 

d. Neurophysiology of nitrous oxide administration; 

e. Pharmacology of nitrous oxide; 

f. Record keeping, medical and legal aspects of nitrous 
oxide; 

g. Adjunctive uses of nitrous oxide for dental patients; and 
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h. Clinical experiences in administering nitrous oxide, 
including training with live patients. 

The proposed regulations also include language concerning 
qualifications for dental hygienists who have a certificate or 
credential for administration of nitrous oxide/inhalation 
analgesia or local anesthesia in another U.S. jurisdiction.  The 
proposed regulations state that if the qualifications on which 
the credential or certificate was issued were substantially 
equivalent in hours of instruction and course content to those 
set forth in these regulations, then the hygienist qualifies for 
administration in Virginia.  Also, if the certificate or 
credential issued by another jurisdiction was not substantially 
equivalent, the hygienist can still qualify if she documents 
experience in such administration for at least 24 of the past 48 
months preceding application for licensure in Virginia. 

The proposed regulations also specify that “A dentist who 
provides direction for the administration of nitrous 
oxide/inhalation analgesia or local anesthesia shall ensure that 
the dental hygienist has met the qualifications for such 
administration ….”  The hygienist’s administration must be 
under the direction of the dentist.  The dentist is fully 
responsible for the qualifications and work of the hygienist.   

The proposed regulations clearly provide a net benefit for 
dentists since dentists are presented with a new option for use 
of their employees’ time.  Dentists will only pursue this 
option if they decide it is to their benefit. Hygienists will 
become more useful for the dentists that choose to have their 
hygienists administer nitrous oxide/inhalation analgesia or 
local anesthesia.  Thus, the demand for hygienist’ time may 
increase, and they may be rewarded with higher pay. Given 
the proposed qualification requirements and clarity that the 
dentist is fully responsible for the work performed, it appears 
that there will likely not be a significant increase in safety risk 
to patients. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed amendment 
affects dentists, dental hygienists, and their patients. 
According to the department, there are 5,890 dentists and 
4,307 dental hygienists licensed in Virginia. Based on 
Virginia Employment Commission data, there are 2,773 
dental practices in the Commonwealth.  All of the dental 
practices are small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  The proposed amendment 
does not disproportionately affect specific localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  Some dental hygienists 
may work moderately greater hours. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
proposed amendment will allow dental practices to use their 
staff somewhat more productively.  Thus, the value of some 
dental practices may moderately increase. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendment may moderately reduce costs for some small 
businesses, i.e., dental practices. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The proposed amendment does not 
adversely affect small businesses. 

Legal Mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, §2.2-4007 
H requires that such economic impact analyses include (i) an 
identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 
subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, 
recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for 
small businesses to comply with the regulation, including the 
type of professional skills necessary for preparing required 
reports and other documents; (iii) a statement of the probable 
effect of the regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) 
a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative 
methods of achieving the purpose of the regulation.  The 
analysis presented above represents DPB’s best estimate of 
these economic impacts. 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Dentistry concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget for the proposed regulation, 18VAC60-
20, Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and 
Dental Hygiene, relating to requirements for dental hygienists 
to administer local anesthesia and/or nitrous oxide. 

Summary:  

The board is proposing to amend regulations to comply 
with a statutory mandate as set forth in Chapter 858 of the 
2006 Acts of Assembly.  The proposed amendments 
establish education and examination requirements for a 
dental hygienist to demonstrate competency in the 
administration of local anesthesia and nitrous oxide under 
the direction of a licensed dentist, including a minimum of 
eight didactic and clinical hours for administration of 
nitrous oxide and 36 hours for administration of both 
nitrous and local anesthesia. 
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18VAC60-20-81. Administration of local anesthesia 
and/or nitrous oxide by dental hygienists. 

A. A dental hygienist who meets the qualifications set forth 
in this section and who is under the direction of a dentist may 
administer nitrous oxide/inhalation analgesia or, to patients 
18 years of age or older, local anesthesia. Local anesthesia 
shall not include topical Schedule VI medicinal agents that 
may be administered under general supervision pursuant to 
18VAC60-20-220 B. 

B. To be eligible to administer only nitrous oxide/inhalation 
analgesia, a dental hygienist shall:  

1. Successfully complete a didactic and clinical course 
leading to certification in administration of nitrous oxide 
offered by a dental or dental hygiene program accredited 
by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the 
American Dental Association, which includes a minimum 
of eight hours in didactic and clinical in the following 
topics: 

a. Patient physical and psychological assessment; 

b. Medical history evaluation; 

c. Equipment and techniques used for administration of 
nitrous oxide; 

d. Neurophysiology of nitrous oxide administration; 

e. Pharmacology of nitrous oxide; 

f. Recordkeeping, medical and legal aspects of nitrous 
oxide; 

g. Adjunctive uses of nitrous oxide for dental patients; 
and 

h. Clinical experiences in administering nitrous oxide, 
including training with live patients. 

2. Successfully complete an examination with a minimum 
score of 75% in the administration of nitrous 
oxide/inhalation analgesia given by the accredited 
program.  

C. To be eligible to administer both local anesthesia and 
nitrous oxide/inhalation analgesia, a dental hygienist shall: 

1. Successfully complete a didactic and clinical course 
leading to certification in administration of local anesthesia 
and nitrous oxide/inhalation analgesia that is offered by a 
dental or dental hygiene program accredited by the 
Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American 
Dental Association, which includes a minimum of 36 
didactic and clinical hours in the following topics: 

a. Patient physical and psychological assessment; 

b. Medical history evaluation and recordkeeping; 

c. Neurophysiology of local anesthesia; 

d. Pharmacology of local anesthetics and 
vasoconstrictors; 

e. Anatomical considerations for local anesthesia; 

f. Techniques for maxillary infiltration and block 
anesthesia; 

g. Techniques for mandibular infiltration and block 
anesthesia; 

h. Local and systemic anesthetic complications; 

i. Management of medical emergencies; 

j. Clinical experiences in maxillary and mandibular 
infiltration and block injections; 

k. Pharmacology of nitrous oxide; 

l. Adjunctive uses of nitrous oxide for dental patients; 
and 

m. Clinical experiences in administering nitrous oxide 
and local anesthesia injections on patients.  

2. Successfully complete an examination with a minimum 
score of 75% in the administration of nitrous 
oxide/inhalation analgesia and local anesthesia given by 
the accredited program.  

D. A dental hygienist who holds a certificate or credential 
issued by the licensing board of another U.S. jurisdiction that 
authorizes the administration of nitrous oxide/inhalation 
analgesia or local anesthesia may be authorized for such 
administration in Virginia if: 

1. The qualifications on which the credential or certificate 
was issued were substantially equivalent in hours of 
instruction and course content to those set forth in 
subsections B and C of this section; or  

2. If the certificate or credential issued by another 
jurisdiction was not substantially equivalent, the hygienist 
can document experience in such administration for at least 
24 of the past 48 months preceding application for 
licensure in Virginia. 

E. A dentist who provides direction for the administration of 
nitrous oxide/inhalation analgesia or local anesthesia shall 
ensure that the dental hygienist has met the qualifications for 
such administration as set forth in this section. 

18VAC60-20-108. Administration of anxiolysis or 
inhalation analgesia.  

A. Education and training requirements. A dentist who 
utilizes anxiolysis or inhalation analgesia shall have training 
in and knowledge of: 

1. Medications used, the appropriate dosages and the 
potential complications of administration. 
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2. Physiological effects of nitrous oxide and potential 
complications of administration. 

B. Equipment requirements. A dentist who utilizes 
anxiolysis or inhalation analgesia or who directs the 
administration of inhalation analgesia by a dental hygienist 
shall maintain the following equipment in his office and be 
trained in its use: 

1. Blood pressure monitoring equipment. 

2. Positive pressure oxygen. 

3. Mechanical (hand) respiratory bag. 

C. Monitoring requirements. 

1. The treatment team for anxiolysis shall consist of the 
dentist and a second person in the operatory with the 
patient to assist, monitor and observe the patient. One 
member of the team shall be in the operatory monitoring 
the patient at all times once the administration has begun. 
 A dentist who utilizes anxiolysis shall ensure that there is 
continuous visual monitoring of the patient to determine 
the level of consciousness. 

2. A dentist who utilizes anxiolysis or inhalation analgesia 
shall ensure that there is continuous visual monitoring of 
the patient to determine the level of consciousness or a 
dental hygienist who utilizes inhalation analgesia shall 
ensure that there is continuous visual monitoring of the 
patient to determine the level of consciousness.  

3. If inhalation analgesia is used, monitoring shall include 
making the proper adjustments of nitrous oxide machines 
at the request of or by the dentist or a dental hygienist 
qualified in accordance with requirements of 18VAC60-
20-81 to administer nitrous oxide during administration of 
the sedation and observing the patient's vital signs.  

D. Discharge requirement. The dentist shall ensure that the 
patient is not discharged to his own care until he exhibits 
normal responses.  

18VAC60-20-190. Nondelegable duties; dentists.  

Only licensed dentists shall perform the following duties:  

1. Final diagnosis and treatment planning;  

2. Performing surgical or cutting procedures on hard or soft 
tissue;  

3. Prescribing or parenterally administering drugs or 
medicaments;  

4. Authorization of work orders for any appliance or 
prosthetic device or restoration to be inserted into a 
patient's mouth;  

5. Operation of high speed rotary instruments in the mouth;  

6. Performing pulp capping procedures;  

7. Administering and monitoring general anesthetics and 
conscious sedation except as provided for in §54.1-2701 of 
the Code of Virginia and 18VAC60-20-108 C, 18VAC60-
20-110 F, and 18VAC60-20-120 F;  

8. Administering nitrous oxide or oxygen inhalation 
analgesia;  

9. 8. Condensing, contouring or adjusting any final, fixed 
or removable prosthodontic appliance or restoration in the 
mouth;  

10. 9. Final positioning and attachment of orthodontic 
bonds and bands;  

11. 10. Taking impressions for master casts to be used for 
prosthetic restoration of teeth or oral structures;  

12. 11. Final cementation of crowns and bridges; and  

13. 12. Placement of retraction cord.  

18VAC60-20-220. Dental hygienists.  

A. The following duties shall only be delegated to dental 
hygienists under direction with the dentist being present:  

1. Scaling and root planing of natural and restored teeth 
using hand instruments, rotary instruments and ultrasonic 
devices under anesthesia administered by the dentist.  

2. Performing an initial examination of teeth and 
surrounding tissues including the charting of carious 
lesions, periodontal pockets or other abnormal conditions 
for assisting the dentist in the diagnosis.  

3. Administering nitrous oxide or local anesthesia by 
dental hygienists qualified in accordance with the 
requirements of 18VAC60-20-81. 

B. The following duties shall only be delegated to dental 
hygienists and may be delegated by written order in 
accordance with §54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia to be 
performed under general supervision without the dentist 
being present:  

1. Scaling and root planing of natural and restored teeth 
using hand instruments, rotary instruments and ultrasonic 
devices.  

2. Polishing of natural and restored teeth using air 
polishers.  

3. Performing a clinical examination of teeth and 
surrounding tissues including the charting of carious 
lesions, periodontal pockets or other abnormal conditions 
for further evaluation and diagnosis by the dentist.  

4. Subgingival irrigation or subgingival application of 
topical Schedule VI medicinal agents.  

5. Duties appropriate to the education and experience of 
the dental hygienist and the practice of the supervising 
dentist, with the exception of those listed in subsection A 
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of this section and those listed as nondelegable in 
18VAC60-20-190.  

C. Nothing in this section shall be interpreted so as to 
prevent a licensed dental hygienist from providing 
educational services, assessment, screening or data collection 
for the preparation of preliminary written records for 
evaluation by a licensed dentist.  

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC120-40. Virginia Professional 
Boxing and Wrestling Events Regulations (amending 
18VAC120-40-10, 18VAC120-40-20, 18VAC120-40-80 
through 18VAC120-40-360, 18VAC120-40-390, 
18VAC120-40-410, 18VAC120-40-420, 18VAC120-40-430; 
adding 18VAC120-40-15, 18VAC120-40-221, 18VAC120-
40-222, 18VAC120-40-295, 18VAC120-40-342, 
18VAC120-40-385, 18VAC120-40-411, 18VAC120-40-
411.1 through 18VAC120-40-411.21, 18VAC120-40-415, 
18VAC120-40-415.1, 18VAC120-40-415.2, 18VAC120-40-
415.3; repealing 18VAC120-40-370, 18VAC120-40-380, 
18VAC120-40-400).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-831 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 5, 2007.  

Agency Contact: Karen O'Neal, Deputy Director, Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 804-367-8537, FAX 
804-367-2475, TTY 804-367-9357, or email 
karen.oneal@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments include restructuring the regulations to 
better distinguish between boxing (including kick boxing, 
mixed martial arts, and other similar contests) and 
wrestling. The changes separate duties of event officials 
into two parts: (i) boxing, kick boxing and similar 
contests; and (ii) wrestling. The changes separate the 
event licensing and standards of conduct into three parts: 
(i) boxing; (ii) kick boxing and similar contests; and (iii) 
wrestling. The changes are made to comply with Chapter 
287 of the 2005 Acts of Assembly, incorporate generally 
accepted industry standards and make the regulations 
easier to use. 

Changes from the proposed regulation include adding a 
definition of "charity event” and amending the definition 
of “event” for clarity.  Boxers are required to submit a 
certification from a physician along with their 
application for licensure and the department is permitted 
to request further medical tests for the protection of the 
boxer.  Boxers may be denied participation in an event if 

they have a license in another jurisdiction that has been 
denied for medical reasons and the department may 
consider the boxing severity index when approving an 
event. 

Health insurance requirements were changed to comply 
with the Association of Boxing Commissions guidelines.  
Wrestlers may provide a waiver of liability in lieu of the 
required insurance. 

Language was added regarding all types of events 
permitting the department to consider the size and 
configuration of the location of the event and to deny 
approval of an event for safety reasons.  A ring in the 
shape of a hexagon will be permitted for all types of 
events.  

An exception to the prohibition of wearing cosmetics or 
jewelry was made for wrestlers, unless the event official 
determines there is a safety risk. 

A provision prohibiting a license, certificate or 
registration to be used by another was added. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I 

Scope 

18VAC120-40-10. Scope.  

These regulations contain This chapter contains procedures 
and requirements for the licensure of individuals and firms to 
engage in the conduct of professional boxing and wrestling 
events as provided for in Chapter 8.1 (§54.1-828 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

Amateur boxing and wrestling contests, where the 
participants receive no money, compensation, including a 
promise of participation in a future nonamateur event, or 
reward other than a suitably inscribed memento are exempt 
from the provisions of Chapter 8.1 (§54.1-828 et seq.) of Title 
54.1 of the Code of Virginia and from the provisions of these 
regulations this chapter.  Amateurs may participate in 
licensed events only if the portion of the event containing 
amateur matches is sanctioned by a nationally recognized 
sanctioning organization.  The department will not exercise 
any control over amateur contests that take place during a 
licensed event. 

The director of the department is empowered to (i) 
promulgate these regulations this chapter, (ii) issue licenses, 
(iii) investigate to determine compliance with these 
regulations this chapter, and (iv) take disciplinary action, in 
accordance with the Virginia Administrative Process Act, 
against those who fail to comply with these regulations this 
chapter. Furthermore, to the extent applicable, these 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations August 6, 2007 

4039 

regulations this chapter shall be construed in accordance with 
and governed by Virginia's Administrative Process Act. The 
director is also empowered to contract with a vendor to 
perform certain tasks on the director's behalf. These tasks 
include examining and recommending licensure, investigating 
and ensuring that events are conducted in compliance with 
statutes and regulations, performing clerical duties, collecting 
fees, maintaining records, developing proposed regulations, 
and recommending enforcement actions. 

18VAC120-40-15. Applicability. 

As referenced in this chapter and in §54.1-828 of the Code 
of Virginia, boxing includes boxing, kick boxing, mixed 
martial arts, or similar contests. Individuals participating in 
these events are required to be licensed as a boxer. 
Requirements to obtain a boxer license are set forth in 
18VAC120-40-70 and 18VAC120-40-80. Event licensing and 
conduct standards for boxing are set forth in 18VAC120-40-
230 through 18VAC120-40-410. Event licensing and conduct 
standards for kick boxing and other similar contests, 
including mixed martial arts, are set forth in 18VAC120-40-
411 through 18VAC120-40-411.21. 

Individuals participating in wrestling events are required to 
be licensed as a wrestler. Requirements to obtain a wrestler 
license are set forth in 18VAC120-40-70 and 18VAC120-40-
90. Event licensing and conduct standards for wrestling are 
set forth in 18VAC120-40-415 through 18VAC120-40-415.3. 

Part II 

General Provisions 

18VAC120-40-20. Definitions.  

Section 54.1-828 of the Code of Virginia provides 
definitions of the following terms: 

Boxer 

Boxing 

Cable television system 

Contractor 

Department 

Director 

Event 

License 

Manager 

Martial arts 

Matchmaker 

Person 

Promote 

Promoter 

Trainer, second or cut man 

Wrestler 

Wrestling  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meaning meanings unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Assistant event inspector" means the individual assigned to 
assist the event inspector.  

"Boxer registry" means any entity certified by the 
Association of Boxing Commissions for the purposes of 
maintaining records and identification of boxers.  

[ "Charity event" means an event where all or a portion of 
the proceeds are donated to a charitable organization that is 
tax-exempt under §501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code. ] 

"Contest," "bout," or "match" means the portion of an event 
wherein specific individuals (two boxers, or two or more 
wrestlers) engage in boxing or wrestling which ends when a 
decision is reached.  

“Event,” as defined in §54.1-828 of the Code of Virginia, 
begins when a promoter takes possession or control of a 
facility or area [ as specified in the contract between the 
promoter and the facility ] and lasts until the promoter 
releases control of the facility or area. One event shall not 
exceed one 24-hour period.  

"Event inspector" means the individual assigned to be in 
overall charge of the conduct of an event to assure 
compliance with this chapter.  

"Event license" means a method of regulation whereby any 
promoter arranging or conducting a boxing or wrestling event 
is required to obtain a prior authorization from the 
department.  

"Event officials" means those individuals assigned to carry 
out the duties of an event inspector, assistant event inspector, 
inspector, referee, timekeeper, judge, or ringside physician as 
established by this chapter.  

"Firm" means any sole proprietorship, general partnership, 
limited partnership, limited liability company, association, 
corporation or other business entity.  

"Inspector" means the individual assigned to assist the event 
inspector as provided for in this chapter.  

"Judge" means an individual assigned to score a boxing 
contest as provided for in this chapter.  

"Licensed event" means an event that has been issued a 
license from the department in accordance with this chapter.  

"Rabbit punch" means a blow delivered by a boxer against 
his opponent that strikes the back of the opponent's neck or 
head with a chopping motion or punch.  
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"Referee" means the event official assigned to a boxing 
contest to assure the proper conduct of the contest and the 
safety of the contestants or the licensed wrestler assigned to a 
wrestling contest to assure the safety of the spectators as 
provided for in this chapter.  

"Responsible management" means the following 
individuals:  

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship;  

2. The partners of a general partnership;  

3. The general partners of a limited partnership;  

4. The officers of a corporation;  

5. The managers of a limited liability company; or  

6. The officers and directors of an association.  

"Ringside physician" means the medical doctor assigned to 
assure the medical health and safety of each boxer as 
provided for in this chapter.  

"Task force" means the professional boxing and wrestling 
task force.  

“Ten point must system” means the winner of the round 
must receive 10 points. 

"Timekeeper" means the individual assigned to time each 
round and the interval between rounds, and to count for 
knockdowns as provided for in this chapter.  

Part III 

Individual and Event Licensing Standards 

18VAC120-40-80. Entry requirements for boxer.  

A. Each applicant for a license as a boxer shall submit a 
completed application as described in 18VAC120-40-70 and 
shall:  

1. Have a satisfactory record of professional boxing or, in 
the case of applicants who have participated in fewer than 
10 five professional boxing bouts, evidence of competency 
in the elements of offense and defense. Such evidence may 
take the form of signed statements from individuals who 
have provided training to the applicant or records of the 
applicant's conduct in amateur as well as professional 
boxing competition and shall be sufficient to satisfy the 
department that the applicant has the ability to compete.  

2. Submit a list of all ring names under which the applicant 
has competed as a boxer in this Commonwealth or 
elsewhere.  

3. Have a current personal identification number as 
required by 15 USC §6305.  

4. 2. Submit the following certification:  

I understand as a professional boxer I should be aware that 
this sport includes many health and safety risks, in 
particular the risk of brain injury. As such I will take the 
necessary medical exams that detect brain injury. If I need 
further information about these exams I will ask my doctor 
or staff of the department.  

5. 3. Submit a complete professional record or, if amateur 
just turning professional, an amateur record,  [ including 
date and result of last fight an amateur passbook 
recognized by USA Boxing, or a letter from the applicant’s 
trainer certifying the applicant’s boxing experience, skill 
level, physical condition and current training program. 

4. Submit a certification from a licensed physician within 
the past six months certifying that the applicant is in good 
physical health and that the physician has not observed any 
abnormalities or deficiencies that would prevent the 
applicant from participation in a boxing event or endanger 
the applicant, the public, officials or other licensees 
participating in the event.  The department may require 
additional medical tests to determine the fitness of a boxer 
upon receipt of reliable information of a preexisting 
condition that may present a danger to the boxer. ]  

B. The department shall approve and issue all licenses in 
accordance with the standards established by the federal 
Professional Boxing Safety Act of 1996 (15 USC § 6301 et 
seq.), as amended.  

18VAC120-40-90. Entry requirements for wrestler.  

A. Each applicant for a license as a wrestler shall submit a 
completed application as described in 18VAC120-40-70 and 
a signed statement from a licensed physician certifying that 
the applicant is in good physical health and, has no 
abnormalities or deficiencies [ which that ] would prevent his 
participation in a wrestling event or endanger the applicant's 
health when engaging in a wrestling exhibition, and 
understands the health and safety risks involved in 
participation in a wrestling event and, if not previously 
licensed in the Commonwealth, a statement certifying his 
experience and training. 

B. The department may deny the application for a license as 
a wrestler to any applicant who has suffered a serious head 
injury or other serious physical injury, and may, in any case, 
require an additional, specific medical examination to 
determine the applicant's suitability before approving the 
applicant for licensure as a wrestler.  

C. The department may deny the application for a license as 
a wrestler of any applicant who has been subject to the 
following actions by agencies in other jurisdictions that 
regulate wrestling:  

1. Denial or suspension of a license as a wrestler for 
reasons of medical safety when it has been determined by 
competent medical examination that participation in a 
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wrestling event by the applicant may pose a risk to the 
applicant's health; or  

2. A violation of a law or regulation governing wrestling 
which is substantially the same as that found in Chapter 8.1 
(§54.1-828 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or 
in this chapter.  

18VAC120-40-100. Entry requirements for manager.  

Each applicant for a license as a manager shall submit a 
completed application as described 18VAC120-40-70 and a 
statement that the applicant possesses a knowledge of this 
chapter. The department shall approve and issue all licenses 
in accordance with the standards established by the federal 
Professional Boxing Safety Act of 1996 (15 USC §6301 et 
seq.), as amended.  

18VAC120-40-110. Entry requirements for matchmaker.  

Each applicant for a license as a matchmaker shall submit a 
completed application as described in 18VAC120-40-70 and 
a statement that the applicant does not employ and does not 
otherwise have a financial interest in or commercial 
connection with any wrestler, boxer, manager, trainer, or 
second, except that which may be necessary to arrange a 
wrestler's or boxer's participation in a specific event. The 
department shall approve and issue all licenses in accordance 
with the standards established by the federal Professional 
Boxing Safety Act of 1996 (15 USC §6301 et seq.), as 
amended.  

18VAC120-40-120. Entry requirements for promoter.  

Each applicant for a license as a promoter shall submit a 
completed application as described in 18VAC120-40-70, a 
statement that the applicant possesses knowledge of this 
chapter and the following certification:  

I understand that I am not entitled to compensation in 
connection with a boxing match, including gate fees, until I 
provide the department with a copy of any agreement in 
writing to which I and any boxer participating in the match 
are parties; a statement made under penalty of perjury that 
there are no other agreements; a statement of fees, charges 
and expenses that will be assessed by or through me on the 
boxer, including any portion of the boxer's purse that I 
receive and training expenses; all payments, gifts or 
benefits I am providing to any sanctioning organization 
affiliated with the event; any reduction in the boxer's purse 
contract to a previous agreement between myself and the 
boxer. Further, I understand that I am not entitled to 
compensation in connection with a boxing match until I 
provide the boxer I promote with the amounts of any 
compensation or consideration that I have contracted to 
receive from such match; all fees, charges and expenses 
that will be assessed by or through me on the boxer 
pertaining to the event, including any portion of the boxer's 
purse that I will receive and training expenses; and any 

reduction in a boxer's purse contract to a previous 
agreement between myself and the boxer.  

The department shall approve and issue all licenses in 
accordance with the standards established by the federal 
Professional Boxing Safety Act of 1996 (15 USC §6301 et 
seq.), as amended.  

18VAC120-40-130. Entry requirements for trainer, 
second, or [cutman cut man ].  

Each applicant for a license as a trainer, second, or [cutman 
cut man ] shall submit a completed application as described in 
18VAC120-40-70 and evidence of a knowledge of:  

1. This chapter;  

2. The treatment of injuries;  

3. Physical conditioning, health care, nutrition, training, 
first aid, and the effects of alcohol as it relates to boxing; 
and  

4. The bandaging of a boxer's hand.  

The required evidence may take the form of the applicant's 
official record from a state regulatory agency, signed 
statements from current or former client or clients, or other 
documentary evidence that establishes that the applicant is 
competent. The department shall approve and issue all 
licenses in accordance with the standards established by the 
federal Professional Boxing Safety Act of 1996 (15 USC 
§6301 et seq.), as amended.  

Part IV  

Official Approval and Conduct Standards for Events  

Part IV 

Official Approval and Assignment to Events 

18VAC120-40-140. Requirements for approval to act as a 
boxing event inspector, inspector, referee, judge, or 
timekeeper an event official.  

A. To qualify to act on the department's behalf as an event 
inspector, inspector, referee, judge, or timekeeper of boxing 
contests official, a person must:  

1. Be at least 18 years of age;  

2. Not have been convicted or found guilty, regardless of 
adjudication, of any felony or other crime involving lying, 
cheating or stealing, or involving illegal drugs or other acts 
involving the sport of boxing. Any plea of nolo contendere 
shall be considered a conviction for the purposes of this 
chapter. The record of conviction, authenticated in such 
form as to be admissible as evidence under the laws of the 
jurisdiction where convicted, shall be admissible as prima 
facie evidence of such conviction; and  

3. Submit verifications from three persons of his 
proficiency as an event inspector, locker room inspector, 
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referee, judge, or timekeeper, whichever is appropriate. 
Evidence of approval by the department, its contractor, or 
another jurisdiction with a regulatory program substantially 
equivalent to this chapter, may be submitted in lieu of the 
verifications from three persons.  

B. In addition to requirements set forth in subsection A of 
this section, each referee or judge shall submit the following 
certification:  

I understand that I am not entitled to receive any 
compensation in connection with a boxing match until I 
provide the department a statement of all consideration, 
including reimbursement for expenses that will be received 
from any source for participation in the match.  

18VAC120-40-150. Requirements for approval of [ boxing 
] ringside physicians.  

To qualify to act on the department's behalf as a [ boxing ] 
ringside physician, an applicant must provide evidence of (i) 
licensure by the Virginia Board of Medicine as a physician 
for a period of at least five years and (ii) a current 
certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation or osteopathic 
medicine.  

18VAC120-40-160. Assignment to boxing event.  

A. The department or its contractor shall assign a sufficient 
number of event officials to each licensed boxing event who 
shall discharge the duties established in this chapter and to 
assure compliance with Chapter 8.1 (§54.1-828 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

B. Event officials not assigned to a licensed event shall be 
present at the event only upon payment of admission as a 
spectator. 

Part V 

Duties of Event Officials for Boxing, Kick Boxing and 
Similar Contests 

18VAC120-40-170. Duties of boxing event inspectors.  

A. An event inspector shall be assigned by the department or 
its contractor to each boxing event and shall be in overall 
charge of the conduct of the event and shall assure that all 
assigned inspectors, referees, timekeepers, judges, and 
ringside physicians are present and perform their duties.  

B. The event inspector shall officiate at weigh-in to assure 
that all boxers are properly weighed and licensed, and shall 
assure that the boxers have no weights or other objects which 
could influence the accuracy of the weighing.  

C. The assigned event inspector shall comply with all 
procedures established by the department and assure 
compliance with Chapter 8.1 (§54.1-828 et seq.) of Title 54.1 
of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

D. The assistant event inspector shall perform all duties 
assigned by the event inspector.  

18VAC120-40-180. Duties of boxing locker room 
inspectors. 

A. Inspectors Locker room inspectors shall be assigned to 
each event to assist the event inspector in the discharge of his 
duties.  

B. Inspectors Locker room inspectors shall be assigned by 
the event inspector to be in charge of the dressing locker 
room and the corners and shall accompany the boxers to the 
corner. An A locker room inspector shall remain in each 
corner and assure compliance with this chapter.  

C. An A locker room inspector shall assist the event 
inspector during the weigh-in and, when requested, assist the 
ringside physician during the physical examination.  

D. Inspectors Locker room inspectors shall comply with all 
procedures established by the department and perform other 
duties as assigned to assure compliance with this chapter.  

18VAC120-40-190. Duties of boxing referees.  

An assigned referee shall pass a prefight physical performed 
by the ringside physician in accordance with 18VAC120-40-
220, comply with all procedures established by the 
department, perform other duties as assigned to assure 
compliance with this chapter, and perform the following 
duties before, during, and after each assigned contest:  

1. Provide the prefight instructions to boxers;  

2. Assure that each boxer is properly gloved and wearing 
the required safety equipment;  

3. Exercise supervision over the conduct of the contest to 
assure compliance with this chapter and to take immediate 
corrective action when a failure to comply is observed;  

4. Immediately stop any contest when, in his judgment, one 
of the boxers is outclassed by the other, injured, or 
otherwise unable to safely continue to participate in the 
contest;  

5. Endeavor to perform his duties in a manner which does 
not impede the fair participation of either boxer;  

6. Consult, when he feels it appropriate, with the ringside 
physician on the advisability of stopping the contest if 
either boxer appears injured or unable to continue;  

7. Count for knockdowns and knockouts as provided for in 
18VAC120-40-340;  

8. Determine fouls and stop contests as provided in 
18VAC120-40-342 and 18VAC120-40-350;  

9. Immediately stop any contest and notify the 
department's representative or contractor present at the 
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event if one or both of the boxers is not putting forth his 
best effort; and  

10. Assure the health and well-being of the boxers to the 
greatest extent possible.  

18VAC120-40-200. Duties of boxing judges.  

An assigned boxing judge shall comply with all procedures 
established by the department, perform other duties assigned 
to assure compliance with this chapter, and perform the 
following duties before, during, and after each assigned 
contest:  

1. Score each contest on the 10-point system. The better 
boxer of each round shall receive 10 points and the 
opponent proportionately less. If the round is even, assign 
each boxer 10 points. No fractional points shall be given. 
Points shall be awarded immediately after the end of the 
round; 

2. 1. Be present and attentive during the entire contest;  

3. 2. Provide his scorecards to the event inspector or his 
designee at the end of each round; and  

4. 3. Report to the event inspector or his designee promptly 
at the time directed.  

18VAC120-40-210. Duties of boxing timekeepers.  

An assigned boxing timekeeper shall comply with all 
procedures established by the department, perform other 
duties as assigned to assure compliance with this chapter, and 
perform the following duties before, during, and after each 
assigned contest:  

1. Provide a chronometer of a type suitable for timing the 
rounds of a boxing contest;  

2. Assure that a warning is sounded 10 seconds before the 
start of each round by blowing a whistle or other sound 
easily heard by the boxers and distinct from the sound 
signaling the beginning and end of each round;  

3. Assure that each round and the interval between each 
round is correctly and uniformly timed and that a bell or 
gong with a distinctive tone which is easily heard by the 
boxers is sounded at the beginning and end of each round;  

4. Assist the referee in the counting for a knockdown to 
assure the downed boxer receives the correct amount of 
time allowed by this chapter to return to the contest; and  

5. Report to the event inspector or his designee promptly at 
the time directed.  

18VAC120-40-220. Duties of ringside physicians.  

The assigned ringside physician shall comply with all 
procedures established by the department and perform the 
following duties before, during, and after each assigned 
contest: 

1. Conduct a physical examination of each referee 
immediately before the contest to assure his fitness to act 
as a referee. 

2. Conduct a physical examination and take a medical 
history of each boxer immediately before the contest to 
assure his fitness to compete. Tests, including a pregnancy 
test, may be conducted if the ringside physician determines 
it is necessary to assure the health and safety of the boxer;  

3. Report to the event inspector or his designee promptly at 
the time directed and remain at ringside during the entire 
duration of all contests assigned; 

4. Signal the referee immediately in the event an injury is 
observed which the referee has not observed and enter the 
ring only after the referee has stopped or suspended the 
action; 

5. Render immediate medical aid to any boxer injured 
during a contest and, where appropriate, accompany the 
boxer to the hospital or other place where competent 
medical aid may be delivered. In no case shall the assigned 
ringside physician cease the direct application of his skills 
as a physician to an injured boxer until such time as the 
ringside physician, in his best medical judgment, 
determines that his services are no longer necessary or the 
injured boxer is under the care of other medically 
competent individuals;  

6. Assure all substances in the possession of seconds, 
trainers, or [ cutmen cut men ] are appropriate for use on 
boxers during the course of the contest; and  

7. Report immediately to the department or its contractor 
his determination of the fitness of each boxer to participate 
in the boxing contest. A written report summarizing the 
results of his examination of each boxer shall be provided 
to the department or its contractor within 24 hours after the 
date of the licensed boxing event.  

Part VI 

Duties of Officials for Wrestling 

18VAC120-40-221. Duties of event inspectors. 

A. An event inspector may be assigned by the department or 
its contractor to each event and shall be in overall charge of 
the conduct of the event and shall assure that all assigned 
officials are present and perform their duties. 

B. The assigned event inspector shall comply with all 
procedures established by the department and assure 
compliance with Chapter 8.1 (§54.1-828 et seq.) of Title 54.1 
of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

C. An assistant event inspector shall perform all duties 
assigned by the event inspector. 

18VAC120-40-222. Duties of locker room inspectors. 
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A. Locker room inspectors may be assigned to each event to 
assist the event inspector in the discharge of his duties. 

B. Locker room inspectors shall comply with all procedures 
established by the department and perform other duties as 
assigned to assure compliance with this chapter. 

Part V VII 

Event Licensing and Conduct Standards for Boxing 

18VAC120-40-230. Application for a license to conduct a 
boxing or wrestling event.  

A. At least 14 30 days before the date of any boxing or 
wrestling event in the Commonwealth, the licensed promoter 
desiring to conduct the event shall deliver an application for a 
license to conduct a boxing or wrestling event to the 
department or its contractor. The application shall be on 
forms provided by the department and shall include:  

1. The card of boxing or wrestling contests to be exhibited, 
including the name of each contestant boxer, the boxer’s 
federal identification number, and, in the case of a boxing 
contest, the number of rounds each is scheduled to 
compete. The promoter may modify the card at any time 
up to the day of the event by providing the required 
documents for the additions to and notice of the deletions 
from the card which accompanied the application; 

2. Verification of all scheduled boxers’ fight records; 

2. 3. The date, location, and time of the event for which a 
license is sought [ . The department will consider the size 
and configuration of the location and may deny approval of 
the event license for safety reasons ]; 

3. 4. Evidence that all boxers scheduled to compete are 
covered by a health insurance policy that covers medical 
expenses for injuries incurred during the boxing event, has 
a minimum of coverage of $25,000 [ $10,000 $50,000 and 
an accidental death insurance benefit coverage in a 
minimum amount of $50,000 ], and meets all requirements 
specified in 15 USC § 6304; 

4. 5. Evidence of a surety bond filed with the department 
or its contractor conditioned on the payment of gate fees 
and penalties imposed by Chapter 8.1 (§54.1-828 et seq.) 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and on the fulfillment 
of contracts made with boxers and wrestlers. The bond 
shall be in form and substance satisfactory to the 
department and in an amount equal to the sum of (i) the 
total gate fee required by this chapter and §54.1-833 A of 
the Code of Virginia if all seats were to be sold and (ii) the 
total amount due to all boxers and wrestlers for their 
appearance in the event, but shall not exceed $100,000. 
The bond shall not exceed $100,000 and shall be executed 
by a surety authorized to do business in the 
Commonwealth; 

5. 6. Acknowledgment that the boxing promoter will 
provide a copy of the contract between the promoter 
applying for an event license and each licensed boxer at 
weigh-in. No contract shall be required from wrestling 
promoters; 

6. 7. A copy of each contract by the promoter for the sale 
of rights to distribute in any manner such event by any 
video, telephonic, or other communication method 
involving the control of electrons or other charge carriers; 
[ and ]  

7. 8. A statement that the applicant has read and 
understands this chapter and will conduct the event in full 
compliance with same [ ; and 

9. Verification of status as a charity event as defined in this 
chapter. ] 

B. In no case shall the applicant for an event license 
announce or advertise, either directly or indirectly, the event 
to the public until the department has approved the 
application and issued the event license.  

18VAC120-40-240. Equipment to be provided by boxing 
promoters.  

The promoter shall assure that each event shall have the 
following:  

1. A boxing fighting ring, which shall be in the shape of a 
square not less than 16 feet nor more than 24 feet on each 
side within the ropes. [ , a hexagon, ] or an octagon. A 
square ring shall not be less than 18 feet square inside the 
ropes and shall not exceed 20 feet square inside the ropes. 
[ An A hexagon or ] octagon ring shall not be less than 18 
feet (from any side to the opposite side) inside the ropes 
and shall not exceed 32 feet (from any side to the opposite 
side) inside the ropes. 

The ring floor must extend at least 18 inches beyond the 
ropes and shall be padded with ensolite one inch thick or 
another similar closed-cell foam. Padding The padded ring 
floor must extend at least 18 inches beyond the ring ropes 
and over the edge of the platform with a top covering of 
canvas, duck, or similar material tightly stretched and laced 
to the ring platform. Material that tends to gather in lumps 
or ridges or material with a slick covering shall not be 
used. 

The ring platform shall not be more than five feet above 
the floor of the building and shall be provided with have 
suitable steps for use by contestants boxers in their corners 
and by the ringside physician in a neutral corner. 

Ring posts shall be of metal, not more than three inches in 
diameter, extending from the floor of the building to a 
height of 58 inches above the ring floor. The ring posts 
must be at least 18 inches away from the ropes. 
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There shall be four ring ropes not less than one inch in 
diameter and wrapped in soft material. The lower rope 
shall be 18 inches above the ring floor; , evenly spaced, 
with the bottom ring rope not less than 18 inches above the 
ring floor and the top ring rope not more than 52 inches 
above the ring floor. The ring ropes must be padded with a 
padding of closed cell padding of not less than 1/2 inch. 
Ropes are to be connected with soft rope ties six feet apart. 
All ring ropes are to be tight and approved by the 
department or its contractor. 

All corners must be padded with approved pads. All 
turnbuckles are to be covered with a protective padding.  

A ring stool and bucket shall be provided for each boxer’s 
corner.  

The ring shall have bright lights and light all four corners 
and middle of the ring equally. No lights shall shine into 
the face of the boxers or [ ring side ringside ] judges; lights 
may only shine downward and not shine at any angle 
directly into the fighting ring area that may blind the 
boxers or judges.  

The promoter shall provide a ringside restrictive barrier 
between the first row of ringside seats and the event 
official’s area that will restrict the crowd from confronting 
either the boxers or event officials and will ensure that the 
boxers remain free from obstructions or distractions. The 
ringside barrier must be a minimum of eight feet from the 
outside edge of the ring. 

2. A bell or gong located at the ring no higher than the 
floor level of the ring. The bell or gong must produce a 
clear tone easily heard by the contestants boxers [ ; . ]  

3. Dressing Locker rooms adequate in number and 
equipment to reasonably facilitate the boxer's activities 
before and after the contest. Separate dressing locker 
rooms shall be provided when both male and female 
boxers are scheduled to compete; . Locker rooms shall 
have restroom facilities available. 

4. A fully equipped ambulance with a currently trained 
ambulance crew at the site of any boxing event for the 
entire duration of the event and any additional personnel or 
equipment required by 15 USC §6304; . 

5. A notice to the nearest hospital and the persons in charge 
of its emergency room of the date, time, and location of the 
boxing event;. 

6. Boxing gloves of at least 10 ounces for all contestants, 
except that during all championship bouts, boxers 
weighing under 147 pounds shall wear at least eight-ounce 
gloves; and 7. Boxing gloves having the distal portion of 
the thumb the proper weight that are set by weight 
classification by 18VAC120-40-295.  Boxing gloves must 
have laces to secure proper fit. Gloves must have an 
attached thumb to the body of the glove so as to minimize 

the possibility of injury to the opponent's eye and shall, if 
not new, be whole,. Gloves must be clean and in sanitary 
condition , free of cuts, have good laces, with no 
displacement or lumping of the padding material. Gloves 
used in world title fights shall be new and taken from the 
package just prior to issuing to the boxers. Gloves shall be 
inspected by the event inspector or his designee before 
each contest and those found defective shall be replaced 
before the contest begins. In all championship bouts, the 
boxers shall be gloved in the ring. A solution of 10% 
household bleach and water shall be used for cleansing of 
all gloves prior to and after each bout. 

7. A sealed OTC pregnancy test kit, approved by the Food 
and Drug Administration, for each female boxer that will 
be given to the event inspector or his designee. 

8. A clear plastic water bottle, a bucket containing ice, 
surgeon’s adhesive tape and surgical gauze for each boxer. 

18VAC120-40-250. Promoter to provide copy of contract 
with boxer at weigh-in; penalty for noncompliance; 
contents of contract.  

A. The promoter shall provide a copy of his contract with 
each boxer scheduled to compete in the event to the event 
inspector at the time of weigh-in for the event.  

B. Failure to provide a copy of the contract for a boxer at 
weigh-in shall result in the boxer's disqualification to compete 
in the event.  

C. Each contract shall contain the name of the promoter, the 
name of the boxer, the amount of compensation to be paid to 
the boxer by the promoter [ , the date, time and location of the 
event, weigh-in and prefight physical ]  and shall comply with 
the minimum provisions promulgated contained in the most 
current model contract developed by the Association of 
Boxing Commissions and contained in the federal 
Professional Boxing Safety Act of 1996 (15 USC §6301 et 
seq.), as amended.  

18VAC120-40-260. Equipment to be provided by boxing 
seconds.  

Each boxing second shall provide the following equipment 
for use at the event:  

1. A clear plastic water bottle;  

2. A bucket containing ice;  

3. 1. A solution of a kind approved by the Association of 
Boxing Commissions to stop hemorrhaging;  

4. Adhesive tape;  

5. Gauze;  

6. 2. Scissors; and  

7. 3. One extra mouthpiece.  



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations August 6, 2007 

4046 

18VAC120-40-270. Equipment to be provided by each 
boxer.  

Each boxer shall provide the following equipment:  

1. Trunks Boxing trunks for male boxers, and boxing 
trunks and tight upper body covering for female boxers;  

2. Foul-proof Approved groin protector (males) or foul-
proof pelvic girdle for male boxers and foul-proof breast 
protector as a binder (females) approved pelvic girdle and 
a padded sports bra for female boxers;  

3. A mouth piece properly fitted to each boxer's mouth; 
and 

4. Boxing shoes;. 

5. Foot pads—kick boxers only; and  

6. Shin pads—kick boxers only. 

18VAC120-40-280. Contest approval; request for 
reconsideration; weight classifications.  

A. The event inspector assigned to an event department or 
its contractor shall obtain information on each boxer from a 
boxer registry and examine that information, for records, 
experience, and consecutive losses. Boxers with 10 or more 
consecutive losses must obtain a special exception before 
being placed on the fight card. The results of the ringside 
physician's examination, prefight physical and any other 
pertinent information available [ , including the boxing 
severity index, ]  will be used to determine, to the extent 
possible, that both contestants boxers are substantially equal 
in boxing skill and ability and are medically fit to compete. 
No contest shall take place without the approval of the event 
inspector department or its contractor and the ringside 
physician assigned to the event by the department or its 
contractor.  

B. Each boxer must possess a current personal identification 
number as required by 15 USC §6305. 

B. C. No boxer shall participate in a boxing contest who has:  

1. Been knocked out in the 60 days immediately preceding 
the date of the contest;  

2. Been technically knocked out in the 30 days preceding 
the date of the contest;  

3. Been a contestant in a boxing bout of more than six 
rounds during the 15 days preceding the date of the contest 
or in a boxing bout of six or fewer rounds during the seven 
days preceding the date of the contest;  

4. Suffered a cerebral hemorrhage;  

5. Suffered a serious head injury or other serious physical 
injury. The department or its contractor may require an 
additional, specific medical examination to determine the 
boxer's suitability; [ or  ]  

6. Been found to be blind in one eye or whose vision in one 
eye is so poor that a physician recommends the boxer not 
participate in a boxing the contest. A boxer who is totally 
unsighted (uncorrected vision worse than 20/400) in one or 
both eyes shall be prohibited from competing   [ . ; or  

7. Been denied a license or approval to fight by another 
jurisdiction for medical reasons. ]  

C. D. No boxer shall participate in a boxing contest while 
under a suspension from the boxing commission of another 
jurisdiction of the United States due to:  

1. A recent knockout or series of consecutive losses;  

2. An injury, requirement for a medical procedure, or 
physician denial of eligibility to box compete;  

3. Failure of a test for drugs or controlled substances; or  

4. The use of false aliases or falsifying, or attempting to 
falsify, official identification cards or documents.  

D. E. Any promoter or boxer may request a reconsideration 
by the director of the event inspector's decision by 
immediately providing in writing additional information or 
contradictory evidence concerning the boxer's skill, ability, or 
medical fitness.  

E. F. A boxer who is suspended by a boxing commission of 
another jurisdiction of the United States may be allowed to 
box compete if:  

1. The boxer was suspended for a knockout, technical 
knockout, series of consecutive losses, an injury, a 
requirement of a medical procedure, or physician denial of 
certification and the time interval for knockouts and 
technical knockouts in subsection [ B C ] of this section 
has been met and further proof of sufficiently improved 
medical or physical condition has been furnished;  

2. The boxer was suspended for the failure of a drug test or 
the use of false aliases or falsifying, or attempting to 
falsify, official identification cards or documents and that a 
suspension was not, or is no longer, merited by the facts;  

3. The boxer was suspended for any reason other than 
those mentioned in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection 
and the department or the department's contractor notifies 
the suspending commission in writing and consults with 
the designated official of the suspending commission prior 
to the grant of approval for such boxer to participate in a 
boxing contest; or  

4. The boxer was suspended for any reason other than 
those mentioned in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection 
and the boxer's appeal to the Association of Boxing 
Commissions results in a determination that the suspension 
was without sufficient grounds, was for an improper 
purpose, or was not related to the health and safety of the 
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boxer or the purposes of the federal Professional Boxing 
Safety Act of 1996 (15 USC §6301 et seq.).  

F. Each boxer shall compete only with a boxer within the 
same weight classification as specified in the following 
schedule:  

Mini-Flyweight up to 105 pounds 

Light-Flyweight over 105 to 108 pounds 

Flyweight over 108 to 112 pounds 

Junior Bantamweight over 112 to 115 pounds 

Bantamweight over 115 to 118 pounds 

Junior Featherweight over 118 to 122 pounds 

Featherweight  over 122 to 126 pounds 

Junior Lightweight  over 126 to 130 pounds 

Lightweight  over 130 to 135 pounds 

Junior Welterweight over 135 to 140 pounds 

Welterweight  over 140 to 147 pounds 

Junior Middleweight  over 147 to 154 pounds 

Middleweight  over 154 to 160 pounds 

Super Middleweight  over 160 to 168 pounds 

Light-Heavyweight  over 168 to 175 pounds 

Cruiserweight   over 175 to 190 pounds 

Heavyweight over 190 pounds 

G. No boxer may engage in a boxing contest without the 
approval of the department or the department's representative 
if the difference in weight between the contestants exceeds 
the allowance shown in the following schedule:  

Up to 118 pounds, not more than 3 pounds  

118 pounds—126 pounds, not more than 5 pounds  

126 pounds—135 pounds, not more than 7 pounds  

135 pounds—147 pounds, not more than 9 pounds  

147 pounds—160 pounds, not more than 11 pounds  

160 pounds—175 pounds, not more than 12 pounds  

175 pounds—190 pounds, not more than 20 pounds  

190 pounds and over, no limit.  

18VAC120-40-290. Boxing event conduct standards.  

A. Bandaging Wrapping of each boxer's hands shall not 
exceed one roll more than one continuous winding of 
surgeon's adhesive tape around the wrist, not over 1-1/2 
inches wide, placed directly on the hand to protect the part of 
the hand near the wrist. The tape may cover the hand but may 

not extend within three-fourths of an 3/4 inch of the knuckles 
when the hand is clenched to make a fist. Soft surgical 
bandage gauze, not over two inches wide, held in place by not 
more than six feet of surgeon's adhesive tape for each hand 
shall be used. Up to one 15-yard 10-yard roll of bandage 
surgical gauze [ ,  ] may be used to complete the wrappings 
for each hand. Strips of tape may be used between the fingers 
to hold down the bandages gauze, not to cover the knuckles. 
Bandages Gauze shall be adjusted in the dressing locker room 
in the presence of the event inspector or his designee. Before 
putting on gloves the boxer shall present his wrapped hands 
for inspection by the event inspector or his designee. 

B. Any boxer who has signed a contract to box on a 
promoter's program shall be subject to be called by the 
department to appear at any time to be weighed or to be 
examined by a physician designated by the department when 
the department has reason to believe the boxer may not be 
qualified or may not be medically sound to participate in the 
contest.  

C. Each boxer who signs a contract to box on a promoter's 
program shall appear at a time and place designated by the 
department or its contractor to be weighed on department-
approved scales in the presence of each other and a 
representative designated by the department. Boxers shall 
have all weights removed from their bodies before the weigh-
in but may wear shorts in the case of males, and shorts and 
shirts in the case of females.  

D. In accordance with 15 USC §6304, each boxer shall be 
examined immediately before the contest by a ringside 
physician assigned to the event and who certifies in writing 
on a form provided by the department whether the boxer is 
physically fit to safely compete. The original health certificate 
will be submitted to the event inspector or his designee. In 
addition, each female boxer shall take a pregnancy test in the 
presence of a female inspector, using the pregnancy kit 
required by subdivision 7 of 18VAC120-40-240 or provide 
the ringside physician with a negative pregnancy test result 
taken not more than 24 hours prior to the event. The inspector 
will give the results to the physician and the results will be 
noted on the physical form. If the physician’s certification 
fails to certify that the boxer is physically fit to safely 
compete, the boxer shall not participate in the contest unless 
pronounced medically able to compete by the ringside 
physician, and shall immediately be placed on suspension on 
the boxer registry. All boxers shall submit to a postfight 
physical if requested by the ringside physician or the 
department or its designee. 

E. All boxing events shall be conducted in accordance with 
the rules set forth by the Association of Boxing Commissions. 
The department may use the Championship Rules adopted by 
the Association of Boxing Commissions in any championship 
fight.  



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations August 6, 2007 

4048 

F. Discretional use of petroleum jelly is permitted on the 
face, arms or any other part of the boxer’s body. In the case of 
a cut, topical use of a solution approved by the Association of 
Boxing Commissions is permitted. All other solutions are 
prohibited. 

G. Headgear is not permitted. 

18VAC120-40-295. Weight classes and weigh-ins and 
prefight meeting. 

A. Weight classes are as follows: 

Weight Class Weight in 
Lbs 

Max Weight 
Spread 

Glove 
sizes 

Mini-Flyweight 105 & 
below 

3 lbs 8 oz 

Light-Flyweight 105.1 – 
108 

3 lbs 8 oz 

Flyweight 108.1 – 
112 

3 lbs 8 oz 

Junior 
Bantamweight 

112.1 – 
115 

3 lbs 8 oz 

Bantamweight 115.1 – 
118 

3 lbs 8 oz 

Junior 
Featherweight 

118.1 – 
122 

4 lbs 8 oz 

Featherweight 122.1 – 
126 

4 lbs 8 oz 

Junior Lightweight 126.1 – 
130 

4 lbs 8 oz 

Lightweight 130.1 – 
135 

5 lbs 8 oz 

Junior Welterweight 135.1 – 
140 

5 lbs 8 oz 

Welterweight 140.1 – 
147 

7 lbs 8 oz 

Super Welterweight 147.1 – 
154 

7 lbs 10 oz 

Middleweight 154.1 – 
160 

7 lbs 10 oz 

Super Middleweight 160.1 – 
168 

7 lbs 10 oz 

Light-Heavyweight 168.1 – 
175 

7 lbs 10 oz 

Cruiserweight 175.1 – 
200 

12 lbs 10 oz 

Heavyweight 200.1 and 
up 

No limit 10 oz 

B. No boxer may engage in a contest without the approval of 
the department or its contractor if the difference in weight 
between the boxers exceeds the allowance shown in 
subsection A of this section. 

C. If one of the two boxers in a contest is above or below the 
weights shown in subsection A of this section, both boxers 
shall wear the gloves of the higher weight. 

D. Boxers shall be weighed within 24 hours prior to the 
scheduled event. Each boxer and second shall appear at a time 
and place designated by the promoter and approved by the 
department or its contractor to be weighed on scales approved 
by the department or its contractor in the presence of each 
other, the promoter or his representative and a designee of the 
department or its contractor. Boxers shall have all weight 
removed from their bodies before the weigh-in but may wear 
shorts in the case of males, and shorts and shirts in the case of 
females. Once weigh-ins commence, the scales shall not be 
moved until weigh-ins are complete. 

E. When weigh-ins occur within 24 hours, but not less than 
12 hours prior to the event’s scheduled start time, the boxer 
shall not exceed the weight specified in his contract with the 
promoter. If a boxer exceeds the weight specified in the 
contract he shall not compete unless he: 

1. Loses the weight exceeded in the contract at least 12 
hours prior to the event’s scheduled start time; 

2. Loses all but two pounds of the weight exceeded in the 
contract at least 12 hours prior to the event’s scheduled 
start time and loses the final two pounds at least six hours 
prior to the event’s scheduled start time; or  

3. Renegotiates the contract. 

Boxers who weigh-in 24 hours prior to the scheduled event 
shall be required to re-weigh two hours prior to the event’s 
scheduled start time and will not be permitted to exceed the 
weight specified in the contract by more than 10 pounds. 

F. When weigh-ins occur less than 12 hours prior to an 
event’s scheduled start time, the boxer shall not exceed the 
weight specified in the contract.  No boxer shall be permitted 
to lose more than two pounds within 12 hours of a contest. If 
a boxer weighs more than two pounds over the weight 
specified in the contract, he shall not compete unless he: 

1. Loses up to two pounds at least six hours prior to the 
event’s scheduled start time; or  

2. Renegotiates his contract. 

G. The promoter is responsible for ensuring that all boxers 
and seconds are present at the prefight meeting. Any second 
who does not attend the prefight meeting will not be 
permitted in the corner of their boxer. All boxers will report 
to the event location and their locker rooms at the specified 
time on the night of the event. Once the boxer reports to the 
event facility and to the locker room he will be disqualified if 
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he leaves the locker room before time for the bout or leaves 
the facility before the end of the bout. 

18VAC120-40-300. Access to boxer's dressing locker 
rooms.  

On the day of a contest, only the following individuals are 
allowed in the dressing locker room of a boxer:  

1. The boxer's licensed manager;  

2. The boxer's licensed trainers, seconds, or  [ cutmen cut 
men ] ;  

3. The promoter or the promoter's representatives;  

4. Any representative of the department or its contractor in 
the conduct of his official duties; and  

5. Any representative of a law-enforcement agency of 
competent jurisdiction while discharging his official duties.  

18VAC120-40-310. Referee's instructions to boxing 
contestants boxers.  

The referee shall, before starting a contest, ascertain from 
each boxer the name of his chief second, and shall hold the 
chief second responsible for the conduct of the assistant 
seconds during the progress of the contest. The referee shall 
call contestants boxers together before each bout for final 
instructions, at which time each contestant boxer shall be 
accompanied by his chief second only.  

18VAC120-40-320. Number and conduct of seconds.  

A. Before a contest begins, the chief second and other 
seconds shall be identified for the officials. The corner shall 
present the boxer, ready to compete, when the event inspector 
calls the boxers to the ring and shall present the boxer, ready 
to box, when the referee calls the boxers to the center of the 
ring for final instructions.  

A. B. No contestant boxer may have more than four three 
seconds, except that in a contest for a world title bout, the 
department or its contractor may authorize up to five seconds. 
Seconds must appear at the official weigh-in and prefight 
meeting at the time and place designated by the department or 
its contractor. 

C. All seconds must keep their shoulders below the ring 
floor level during the bout. Seconds are prohibited from 
standing up or leaning on the edge of the ring, mat or floor or 
slapping the ring, mat or floor while the bout is in progress, or 
touching the ring ropes until the bell sounds to end the round. 
Seconds must keep coaching volume down while the bout is 
in progress and are prohibited from interfering with the 
officials in any physical or verbal way. 

B. D. Only one of the seconds may be inside the ring ropes 
between rounds and shall not enter the ring until the bell 
signals the end of the round. During the rest period, the 
second may coach his boxer; treat cuts, abrasions or swelling; 

and provide water, ice, approved sport drinks, or other 
cooling-down techniques. 

C. E. Any excessive or undue spraying or throwing of water 
on any boxer by a second between rounds is prohibited. 
Seconds are responsible for wiping up any fluids in their 
corners between rounds. 

D. F. Seconds shall not enter the ring until the bell signals 
the end of a round to assist or move a boxer who has been 
knocked down or injured until instructed to do so by the 
ringside physician. Seconds shall leave the ring at the sound 
of the timekeeper's warning that 10 seconds remain before the 
start of the next round, removing all buckets, stools and other 
equipment promptly.  

E. Seconds shall not use during any contest Monsol's 
solution, alcoholic beverages, stimulants, or other substances 
not approved by the department or its contractor.  

G. Throwing in the towel is not permitted by any second. If 
a second enters the ring during the round, the boxer shall be 
disqualified by the referee. Only the referee can stop the bout. 

18VAC120-40-330. Duration Length of contest and 
duration of round.  

No boxing contest shall be scheduled for less than four 
rounds or more than  [ 12 rounds for males or ] 10 rounds 
 [ for females ] . Each round of boxing shall be three minutes 
in duration with a one-minute lapse rest period between 
rounds, except that bouts between female boxers shall consist 
of two-minute rounds with a one-minute lapse rest period 
between rounds.   [ The department may permit 12 rounds in 
male bouts involving a state, regional, national or world title 
championship, or elimination box off. ]  

18VAC120-40-340. Counting Determination of a 
knockdown, counting by referee during knockdowns and 
knockouts.  

A. It shall be ruled a knockdown when, as a result of a legal 
blow or series of legal blows, a boxer touches the floor with 
any part of the body other than his feet, or is being held up by 
the ropes, or is hanging on, through, or over the ropes without 
the ability to protect himself and cannot fall to the floor. A 
boxer who is knocked from his feet by a blow from his 
opponent down shall receive a minimum count of eight 
seconds and a maximum count of 10 seconds from the 
referee. The referee shall begin his count when the boxer is 
down or is helpless on the ropes and after the opponent is in a 
neutral corner. The referee may stop the counting if the 
opponent fails to go to the neutral corner, and resume the 
count where he left off when the opponent returns to the 
neutral corner. If the boxer rises before the count of 10 is 
reached and goes back down immediately without being 
struck by his opponent, the referee shall resume the count 
where he left off. 
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B. A boxer who leaves the ring during a round for any 
reason shall have a count of 20 seconds to reenter the ring 
unassisted and cannot be touched while out of the ring by his 
second or others. 

C. The referee shall administer a "mandatory eight" count to 
a boxer who is knocked down.  

D. The referee shall rule as a knockout any count of 10 
where the boxer is unable or unwilling to reenter the contest 
before the count of 10 or, in the case of a boxer who has left 
the ring for any reason, before the count of 20. The opponent 
of the boxer so counted shall win the contest.  

18VAC120-40-342. Bout termination, knockout, technical 
knockout, medical suspensions. 

A. A referee may terminate the count and the bout at any 
point when he determines that the safety of  [ the downed a ] 
 boxer is at risk.   [ The ringside physician may terminate the 
bout when, after examination of the boxer and consultation 
with the referee, he determines that the safety of the boxer is 
at risk. ]  

B. When a boxer loses by way of knockout, is unable to rise 
by the count of 10 or, in the case of a boxer who has left the 
ring for any reason, before the count of 20, the department or 
its designee shall record in the records the letters KO (loss by 
knockout). A boxer losing by way of a knockout shall be 
placed on medical suspension by the department on the boxer 
registry and shall not participate in any boxing activity for a 
minimum period of 60 days. 

C. When a cut is produced by a legal punch and the fight is 
stopped because of that cut, the injured boxer shall lose by 
technical knockout and the department or its designee shall 
record in the records the letters TKO (loss by technical 
knockout). 

D. Any boxer losing by way of TKO resulting from head 
blows shall be placed on medical suspension by the 
department on the boxer registry and shall not participate in 
any boxing activity for a minimum of 30 days. Longer 
medical suspension periods may be issued for a knockout or 
technical knockout upon the advice of the ringside physician. 
The ringside physician may also request a medical suspension 
any time he believes it to be in the best interest of the safety 
of the boxer.  

18VAC120-40-350. Boxing fouls, duties of referee, and 
deduction of points.  

A. Any of the following acts committed by a boxer during a 
boxing contest shall constitute a foul:  

1. Hitting below the belt naval or behind the ear.  

2. Hitting an opponent who is down or is getting up after 
being down.  

3. Holding an opponent with one hand and hitting with the 
other.  

4. Holding or deliberately maintaining a clinch.  

5. Wrestling or kicking.  

6. Striking an opponent who is helpless as a result of 
previous blows and so supported by the ropes that he does 
not fall after being instructed by the referee to a neutral 
corner.  

7. Butting with the head or shoulder or using the knee.  

8. Hitting with the open glove, the butt of the hand, the 
wrist or the elbow, and all backhand blows.  

9. Purposely going down without being hit.  

10. Striking deliberately at that part of the body over the 
kidneys.  

11. Deliberately using Using the rabbit punch (punch 
thrown to the back of the head and neck areas).  

12. Jabbing the opponent's eyes with the thumb of the 
glove.  

13. Using abusive language in the ring.  

14. Engaging in any unsportsmanlike conduct including, 
but not limited to, a trick or other action which causes 
injury to an opponent.  

15. Hitting on the break.  

16. Hitting after the bell has sounded signaling the end of 
the round.  

17. Hitting an opponent whose head is between or outside 
of the ropes.  

18. Pushing an opponent about the ring or into the ropes.  

19. Intentionally spitting out the mouthpiece. 

20. Biting or spitting. 

21. Not following referee’s instructions. 

22. Stepping on opponent. 

23. Crouching below opponent’s belt. 

24. Leaving neutral corner. 

25. Corner second shouting. 

B. Referees are responsible for enforcing the rules of the 
contest and shall not permit fouls or other unfair practices 
which may cause an injury to a boxer. Referees shall warn 
each boxer who commits a foul during a boxing contest.  

C. Any boxer who commits any foul after being warned by 
the referee may have points deducted by the referee or may 
lose the contest by disqualification by the referee.  
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D. Boxers who commit fouls or any other infraction may be 
penalized by the referee through the deduction of points from 
his score. The number of points to be deducted shall be 
determined by the referee based on his determination of the 
severity of the foul and its adverse effect on the opponent and 
shall be reported to the judges and both contestants boxers as 
soon as practical. The points shall be deducted from the score 
of the round in which the fouls were committed.  

E. The referee shall stop a contest when he determines that a 
foul has occurred and determine whether the fouled boxer is 
able to continue. The referee may order the contest suspended 
for a reasonable period of time, not to exceed five minutes, to 
allow the fouled boxer to recover if the referee determines the 
boxer's chance of winning has not been seriously jeopardized. 
The referee shall inform the event inspector or his designee of 
his determination that the foul was accidental.  

F. The referee shall stop a contest when he determines that 
an injury resulting from an accidental foul is so severe as to 
adversely affect the fouled boxer's chances of winning. The 
contest shall be a draw if the accidental foul occurs during the 
first four rounds. The contest shall be determined by a 
tabulation of the scores of the completed rounds if the 
accidental foul occurs after the fourth round in a contest or 
more than four rounds.  

G. The referee shall stop a contest when he determines that 
an injury resulting from an accidental foul has been 
aggravated by fair blows. The outcome of the contest shall be 
determined by scoring the completed rounds.  

H. If a boxer commits an intentional foul in the ring and the 
foul causes an injury severe enough to terminate the bout 
immediately, the boxer causing the injury shall lose by 
disqualification. If an intentional foul causes an injury and the 
bout is allowed to continue, the referee will notify the event 
inspector and deduct two points from the boxer who caused 
the foul. Point deductions for intentional fouls are mandatory. 
If an intentional foul causes an injury and the injury results in 
the bout being stopped in a later round, the injured boxer will 
win by technical decision if he is ahead on the score cards or 
the bout will result in a technical draw if the injured boxer is 
behind or even on the score cards. If no action has occurred, 
the round should be scored as an even round. If the boxer 
injures himself while attempting to intentionally foul his 
opponent, the referee will not take any action in his favor, and 
the injury will be the same as one produced by a fair blow. 

I. If the boxer conducts himself in an unsportsmanlike 
manner, the referee may stop the bout and disqualify the 
boxer. 

J. If a boxer is injured by an accidental foul and the injury is 
severe enough for the referee to stop the bout immediately, 
the bout will result in a no decision if stopped before three 
completed rounds in bouts scheduled for four rounds. Rounds 
are complete when the bell rings signifying the end of the 

round. If a bout is scheduled for more than four rounds, the 
bout will result in a no decision if stopped before four 
completed rounds. 

K. If the boxer is injured by an accidental foul that causes an 
injury severe enough for the referee to stop the bout 
immediately, the bout will result in a technical decision 
awarded to the boxer who is ahead on the score cards if the 
bout is stopped after three completed rounds in bouts 
scheduled for four rounds. If a bout is scheduled for more 
than four rounds and four rounds are completed, the bout will 
result in a technical decision, awarded to the boxer who is 
ahead on the score cards at the time the bout is stopped. 

L. If a boxer is hit with an accidental low blow, he must be 
able to rise by the count of 10 and to continue after a 
reasonable amount of time not to exceed five minutes or he 
will lose the bout. 

M. Disqualification for fouls to the body may occur if the 
fouls are flagrant or continual. The referee may order a 
deduction of points for any illegal blow to the body and may, 
at his discretion, give a rest period of up to five minutes for 
the injured boxer to recover. The referee may ask the ringside 
physician to examine the boxer before granting the rest 
period. If the referee rules the foul accidental and the injured 
boxer is unable to continue after the five minute rest period, 
the rules governing accidental fouls shall apply. 

18VAC120-40-360. Scoring of boxing contest, decisions, 
and announcement of decisions.  

A. Each contest shall be scored by the judges [ approved 
and ] assigned by the department or its contractor. The referee 
will not score the contest. The scoring will be done on the 10 
point must system. Judges will score each round based on 
clean punches (power versus quantity), effective 
aggressiveness, ring generalship, and defense. In a bout that is 
stopped in the middle of the round, the judges shall score all 
incomplete or partial rounds as if they were a complete round. 
Judges may deduct points for knockdowns only when they 
are called as such by the referee and for fouls when they are 
instructed to do so by the referee. Judges should avoid 
scoring a round even. At the end of each round, the score 
cards shall be presented to the event inspector or his designee 
who shall examine the score cards. The winner shall be the 
boxer who receives the highest score from the majority of the 
judges at the end of the contest. The contest is a draw if 
neither boxer scores so as to obtain a majority.  

B. When the event inspector has examined the score cards 
and checked them for accuracy, he shall inform the ring 
announcer of the decision. The announcer may inform the 
audience of the decision.  

C. The department shall not change a decision rendered at 
the end of any boxing contest unless:  
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1. It is determined that there has been wrongful or illegal 
collusion affecting the result of the contest;  

2. An error is found in the compilation of the scorecards 
which discloses an error which shows that resulting in the 
decision favored favoring the wrong boxer; or  

3. The department determines through investigation that 
there was a violation of this chapter which adversely 
impacted on the fairness of the contest or the decision.  

18VAC120-40-370. Boxer conduct standards. (Repealed.) 

A. The administration of or use of any alcohol, controlled 
substance, or stimulant in any part of the body, either before 
or during a match, to or by any boxer shall be grounds for 
disciplinary action.  

B. A boxer shall submit to a urinalysis or chemical test 
before or after a contest if the department or its contractor 
directs him to do so. Failure to submit to medical testing shall 
be grounds for disciplinary action.  

C. A boxer found to be under the influence of alcohol or any 
controlled substance shall be subject to disciplinary action.  

18VAC120-40-380. Full contact karate (kick boxing) event 
conduct standards. (Repealed.) 

The provisions of this chapter which apply to boxers shall 
also apply to full contact karate (kick boxing) with the 
following modifications:  

1. Contests shall not exceed 12 two-minute rounds with a 
one-minute rest period between rounds.  

2. Fouls may result in the deduction of one or more points 
based on the severity of the foul as determined by the referee. 
The referee shall base his decision as to the severity of the 
foul on the intent of the contestant committing the foul and 
the result of the foul on the fouled contestant. At the time of 
the foul, the referee shall indicate to the judges the number of 
points to be subtracted from each judge's ballot. Fouls 
include:  

a. Head butting;  

b. Striking with the elbow;  

c. Striking to the groin;  

d. Attacking with the knee;  

e. Chopping to the back of the neck or head (rabbit 
punch);  

f. Striking to the face with any part of the arm other than 
the gloved hand (as in the spinning-back first attempt 
which lands with the forearm or elbow);  

g. Kicking to the legs;  

h. Punching or kicking a contestant when he is down (A 
contestant is knocked down when any part of his body, 

other than his feet, touches the floor. If a contestant is on 
his way to the floor, his opponent may continue to attack 
until he has touched the floor with any part of his body 
other than his feet.);  

i. Takedowns;  

j. Intentionally pushing, shoving, or wrestling an 
opponent out of the ring with any part of the body;  

k. Sweeping other than boot to boot;  

l. Attacking on the break when both contestants have 
been ordered to take one step back by the referee;  

m. Attacking after the bell has sounded to end the round;  

n. Holding and hitting, such as holding with one hand, 
especially behind the neck, and hitting with the other 
hand;  

o. Grabbing or holding onto an opponent's foot or leg, 
followed by a takedown;  

p. Holding the ropes with one hand while kicking, 
punching, or defending with the other hand or with the 
legs;  

q. Leg checking--extending the leg to check an 
opponent's leg to prevent him from kicking;  

r. Purposely going down without being hit, resulting in 
the referee automatically administering an 8 count;  

s. Using abusive language in the ring;  

t. Hitting or flicking with an open glove; and  

u. Refusing to compete.  

18VAC120-40-385. Rules for elimination boxing contest 
only. 

This section governs elimination boxing contests only. To 
the extent any of the provisions of this section conflict with 
18VAC120-40-230 through 18VAC120-40-410, the 
provisions of this section shall apply.   

1. A boxer shall not be permitted to compete if he has a 
personal identification number as required by 15 USC 
§6305.   

2. A bout shall consist of three one-minute rounds with a 
one-minute rest period between rounds. 

3. The standing eight count will be used. The three 
knockdown in any round rule will be in effect. If a fighter 
is knocked down four times in the bout, it shall be ruled as 
a technical knockout. No boxer shall be saved by the bell. 

4. No boxer shall compete in more than five bouts in two 
days and three bouts in one day and must have a minimum 
rest period of 60 minutes between bouts. 
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5. No boxer shall be permitted to participate in any contest 
if he has been knocked out or technically knocked out 
within 60 days immediately preceding the contest. 

6. No boxer shall be permitted to participate in an event 
within 30 days of his last event. 

7. No boxer taking prescribed medication of any type shall 
be permitted to participate in any contest without approval 
from the ringside physician at the time of the physical. No 
boxer shall be permitted to participate who is under the 
influence of an illegal substance or who has consumed any 
type of alcoholic beverage within 24 hours of the 
scheduled contest. After the physical, a boxer shall be 
permitted to drink water only prior to the contest. 

8. All boxers shall be required to wear headgear and have 
fitted mouth pieces during the bout. Male boxers shall wear 
an approved groin protector and female boxers shall wear 
an approved pelvic girdle and have a minimum 
requirement of a padded sports bra. The promoter is 
responsible for providing boxing gloves, groin protectors 
for males and pelvic girdles for females that shall be clean, 
free from cuts and with no displacements or lumping of 
padded material. Headgear shall meet minimum 
requirements set by USA Boxing. Dipped style, sparring 
and thin padded training/sparring headgear will not be 
allowed. 

9. No bouts with a weight difference of more than 20 
pounds shall approved with the exception of heavyweights 
(190 pounds and above) where this is no limit to weight 
differential. 

10. All gloves used shall be a minimum of 16 ounces. 

18VAC120-40-390. Reporting the results of boxing 
contests.  

Not later than two business days after the conclusion of a 
boxing match, the department or its contractor shall report the 
results of such boxing match and any related ineligibility to 
compete in boxing contests to each boxer registry as required 
by the federal Professional Boxing Safety Act of 1996 (15 
USC §6301 et seq.), as amended. 

18VAC120-40-400. Wrestling event conduct standards. 
(Repealed.) 

A. Wrestling exhibitions shall be conducted inside the ring 
ropes or inside of a securely barricaded area which positively 
prevents any direct contact between the wrestlers and the 
audience.  

B. Each match shall be conducted under the supervision of a 
referee who shall be currently licensed as a wrestler and who 
shall be responsible for the safety of the spectators.  

C. Each participant in each wrestling match shall be 
currently licensed as a wrestler.  

D. In no case shall a wrestler intentionally cause a flow of 
blood or other bodily fluid from his body during the course of 
the exhibition.  

E. In the event a visible flow of blood or other bodily fluid 
from any wrestler occurs during a contest, the referee shall 
immediately suspend the contest until medical treatment can 
be obtained. If the flow of blood or other bodily fluid cannot 
be stopped, the exhibition involving that wrestler shall not 
continue.  

F. Neither referees nor promoters shall permit physically 
dangerous conduct or tactics by any wrestler.  

G. Promoters shall maintain peace, order, and decency in the 
conduct of any wrestling exhibition.  

H. Promoters must report to the department, within 24 hours 
of the completion of the event, the fees paid to the 
participants. Such report shall be on the form provided by the 
department or consist of copies of the contracts with the 
participants.  

18VAC120-40-410. Promoter to allow access to event and 
event facilities.  

A. The department may assign one or more representatives 
to each event to evaluate the contractor's performance or to 
assure compliance with Chapter 8.1 (§54.1-828 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

B. All event officials and representatives of the department 
assigned to an event, whether to monitor the contractor's 
performance or for any other authorized purpose, shall be 
granted immediate access by the promoter and the promoter's 
representatives to the licensed event and to any area or 
portion of the event facilities.  

C. The promoter is responsible for security of the locker 
room area and shall not permit access except as specified in 
18VAC120-40-300. 

Part VIII 

Event Licensing and Conduct Standards for Kick Boxing and 
any Similar Contests 

18VAC120-40-411. Application for a license to conduct a 
kick boxing event or similar contest. 

A. At least 30 days before the date of any kick boxing or 
similar contest in the Commonwealth, the licensed promoter 
desiring to conduct the event shall deliver an application for a 
license to conduct a kick boxing event or similar contest to 
the department or its contractor. The application shall be on 
forms provided by the department and shall include: 

1. The card of the contest to be exhibited, including the 
name of each contestant and the number of rounds each is 
scheduled to compete. The promoter may modify the card 
at any time up to the day of the event by providing the 
required documents for the additions to and the notice of 
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the deletions from the card that accompanied the 
application. 

2. Verification of all scheduled contestants’ fight records 
and location of the contestants last five fights. 

3. The date, location, and time of the event for which a 
license is sought. [ The department will consider the size 
and configuration of the location and may deny approval of 
the event license for safety reasons ]. 

4. Evidence that all contestants scheduled to compete are 
covered by a health insurance policy that covers expenses 
for injuries incurred during the event and has a minimum 
coverage of  [ $10,000 $50,000 and an accidental death 
insurance benefit coverage in the minimum amount of 
$50,000 ]. 

5. Evidence of a surety bond filed with the department or 
its contractor conditioned on the payment of gate fees and 
penalties imposed by Chapter 8.1 (§54.1-828 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and on the fulfillment of 
the contracts made with the contestants. The bond shall be 
in form and substance satisfactory to the department and in 
an amount equal to the sum of (i) the total gate fee required 
by this chapter and §54.1-833 A of the Code of Virginia if 
all seats were to be sold and (ii) the total amount due to all 
contestants for their appearance in the event. The bond 
shall not exceed $100,000 and shall be executed by a 
surety authorized to do business in the Commonwealth. 

6. Acknowledgment that the promoter will provide a copy 
of the contract between the promoter and each of the 
contestants licensed at weigh-in.  

7. A copy of each contract by the promoter for the sale of 
the rights to distribute in any manner such event by any 
video, telephonic, or other communication method 
involving the control of electrons or other charge carriers. 

8. A statement that the applicant has read and understands 
this chapter and will conduct the event in full compliance 
with same. 

[ 9. Verification of status as a charity event as defined in 
this chapter. ]  

B. In no case shall the applicant for an event license 
announce or advertise, either directly or indirectly, the event 
to the public until the department has approved the 
application and issued the event license. 

18 VAC 120-40-411.1. Equipment to be provided by 
promoters. 

The promoter shall assure that each event shall have the 
following; 

1. A fighting ring that will be in the shape of a square [ , a 
hexagon, ] or an octagon. A square ring shall not be less 
than 18 feet square inside the ropes and shall not exceed 20 

feet square inside the ropes. [ An A hexagon or ] octagon 
ring shall not be less than 18 feet (from any side to the 
opposite side) inside the ropes and shall not exceed 32 feet 
(from any side to the opposite side) inside the ropes. 

The ring floor shall be padded with ensolite one inch think 
or another similar closed-cell foam. The padded ring floor 
must extend at least 18 inches beyond the ropes and over 
the edge of the platform with a top covering of canvas or 
other similar material tightly stretched and laced to the ring 
platform. Material that tends to gather in lumps or ridges 
shall not be used.  

The ring platform shall not be more than five feet above 
the floor of the building and shall have suitable steps for 
use of the contestants in their corners and by the ringside 
physician in a neutral corner.  

Ring posts shall be of metal, not more than three inches in 
diameter, extending from the floor of the building to a 
height of 58 inches above the ring floor. The ring posts 
shall be at least 18 inches away from the ring ropes.  

There shall be four ring ropes, no more than one inch in 
diameter, evenly spaced, with the bottom ring rope not less 
than 18 inches above the ring floor and the top ring rope 
not more than 52 inches above the ring floor. The bottom 
ring rope must be padded with a padding of closed cell 
padding of not less than 1/2 inch (recommend all ring 
roped be padded of the same thickness and material). 
Ropes are to be connected with soft rope ties six feet apart. 
All ring ropes are to be tight and approved.  

All corners must be padded with approved pads. All 
turnbuckles are to be covered with a protective padding. 

A ring stool and bucket shall be provided for each 
contestant’s corner. The ring shall have bright lights and 
light all four corners and middle of the ring equally. No 
lights shall shine into the face of the contestants or [ ring 
side ringside ] judges, lights may only shine downward and 
not shine at any angle directly into the fighting ring area 
that may blind the contestants or judges.  

The promoter shall provide a ringside restrictive barrier 
between the first row of ringside seats and the event 
official’s area that will prevent the crowd from confronting 
either the contestants or event officials. The ringside 
barrier must be a minimum of eight feet from the outside 
edge of the ring. 

2. A bell or gong located at the ring no higher than the 
floor level of the ring. The bell or gong must produce a 
clear tone easily heard by the contestants. 

3. Locker rooms adequate in number and equipment to 
reasonably facilitate the contestant’s activities before and 
after the contest. Separate locker rooms shall be provided 
when both male and female contestants are scheduled to 
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compete. Locker rooms shall have restroom facilities easily 
available. 

4. A fully equipped ambulance with a currently trained 
ambulance crew at the site of any event for the entire 
duration of the event. 

5. A notice to the nearest hospital and the persons in charge 
of its emergency room of the date, time and location of 
event. 

6. Boxing gloves of the proper weight that are set by 
weight classification by rule. Boxing gloves must have 
laces to secure proper fit. Gloves must have an attached 
thumb to the body of the glove. Gloves must be clean, free 
of cuts, have good laces, with no displacement or lumping 
of padding material. Gloves used in world title fights shall 
be new and taken from the package just prior to issuing to 
the contestants. Gloves shall be inspected by the event 
inspector or his designee before each contest and those 
found defective shall be replaced before the contest. 

7. A clear plastic water bottle, a bucket containing ice, 
surgeon’s adhesive tape and surgical gauze for each 
contestant. 

8. A sealed OTC pregnancy test kit, approved by the Food 
and Drug Administration, for each female boxer that will 
be given to the event inspector or his designee. 

18VAC120-40-411.2. Promoter to provide copy of 
contract with contestants at weigh-in; penalty for 
noncompliance; contents of contract. 

A. The promoter shall provide a copy of his contract with 
each contestant scheduled to compete in the event to the event 
inspector at the time of the weigh-in. 

B. Failure to provide a copy of the contract for a contestant 
at the weigh-in shall result in the contestant’s disqualification 
to compete in the event. 

C. Each contract shall contain the name of the promoter, the 
name of the contestant, the amount of compensation to be 
paid to the contestant by the promoter  [ , the date, time and 
location of the event, weigh-in, and prefight physical ]  and 
shall comply with the minimum provisions contained in the 
most current model contract developed by the Association of 
Boxing Commissions and contained in the federal 
Professional Boxing Safety Act of 1996 (15 USC § 6301 et 
seq.). 

18VAC120-40-411.3. Equipment to be provided by 
seconds. 

Each second shall provide the following equipment for use 
at the event: 

1. A solution approved by the Association of Boxing 
Commissions to stop hemorrhaging; 

2. Scissors; and 

3. One extra mouthpiece. 

18VAC120-40-411.4. Equipment to be provided by each 
contestant. 

Each contestant shall provide the following equipment: 

1. Trunks for male contestants (two pair shorts for mixed 
martial arts, one being tight fitting) or long pants if 
required and trunks with tight upper body covering for 
female contestants; 

2. Approved groin protector for male contestants and 
approved pelvic girdle and a padded sports bra for female 
contestants; 

3. A mouth piece properly fitted to each contestant’s 
mouth; 

4. Foot pads when required; and 

5. Shin pads when required. 

18VAC120-40-411.5. Contest approval; request for 
reconsideration. 

A. The department or its contractor shall obtain information 
on each contestant from a  [ boxer ]  registry and examine that 
information, [ . the for records, experience, and consecutive 
losses.  Boxers with 10 or more consecutive losses must 
obtain a special exception before being placed on the fight 
card.  The ]  results of the prefight physical, and any other 
pertinent information available [ including the boxing severity 
index, will be used ]  to determine, to the extent possible, that 
both contestants are substantially equal in skills and ability 
and are medically fit to compete. No contest shall take place 
without the approval of the event inspector and the ringside 
physician assigned to the event by the department or its 
contractor. 

B. No contestant shall participate in a contest who has: 

1. Been knocked out in the 60 days immediately preceding 
the date of the contest; 

2. Been technically knocked out in the 30 days preceding 
the date of the contest; 

3. Been a contestant in a boxing, kick boxing or martial 
arts event of more than six rounds during the 15 days 
preceding the date of the contest or six or fewer rounds 
during the seven days preceding the date of the contest; 

4. Suffered a cerebral hemorrhage; 

5. Suffered a serious head injury or other serious physical 
injury. The department or its contractor may require an 
additional, specific medical examination to determine the 
contestant’s suitability; [ or ]  

6. Been found to be blind in one eye or whose vision in one 
eye is so poor that a physician recommends the contestant 
not participate in the contest. A boxer who is totally 
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unsighted (uncorrected vision worse that 20/400) in one or 
both eyes shall be prohibited from competing [ . ; or  

7. Been denied a license or approval to fight by another 
jurisdiction for medical reasons. ]  

C. No contestant shall participant in an event while under 
suspension from a commission of another jurisdiction of the 
United States due to: 

1. A recent knockout or series of consecutive losses; 

2. An injury, requirement for a medical procedure, or 
physician denial of eligibility to compete; 

3. Failure of a test for drugs or controlled substances; or 

4. The use of false aliases or falsifying, or attempting to 
falsify, official identification cards or documents. 

D. Any promoter or contestant may request reconsideration 
by the director of the event inspector’s decision by 
immediately providing in writing additional information or 
contradictory evidence concerning the contestant’s skill, 
ability, or medical fitness. 

E. A contestant who is suspended by a commission of 
another jurisdiction of the United States may be allowed to 
compete if: 

1. The contestant was suspended for a knockout, technical 
knockout, series of consecutive loses, an injury, a 
requirement of a medical procedure, or physician denial of 
certification and the time interval for knockouts and 
technical knockouts in subsection B of this section has 
been met and further proof of sufficiently improved, 
medical or physical condition has been furnished; 

2. The contestant was suspended for the failure of a drug 
test or the use of false aliases or falsifying, or attempting to 
falsify, official identification cards or documents and that a 
suspension was not, or is no longer, merited by the facts; or 

3. The contestant was suspended for any reason other than 
those mentioned in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection 
and the department or the department’s contractor notifies 
the suspending commission in writing and consults with 
the designated official of the suspending commission prior 
to the grant of approval for such contestant to participate in 
a contest. 

18VAC120-40-411.6. Event conduct standards for kick 
boxing and other similar contests. 

A. Bandaging of each contestant’s hands shall not exceed 
one roll of surgeon’s adhesive tape, not over 1-1/2 inches 
wide, placed directly on the hand to protect the part of the 
hand near the wrist. The tape may cover the hand but not 
extend within 3/4 inch of the knuckles when the hand is 
clenched to make a fist. Soft surgical bandage, not over two 
inches wide, held in place by not more than six feet of 
surgeon’s adhesive tape for each hand shall be used. Up to 

one 10-yard roll of bandage may be used to complete the 
wrappings for each hand. Strips of tape may be used between 
the fingers to hold down the bandages, not to cover the 
knuckles. Bandages shall be adjusted in the locker room in 
the presence of the event inspector or his designee. 

B. Any contestant who has signed a contract to compete on a 
promoter’s program shall be subject to be called by the 
department to appear at any time to be weighed or to be 
examined by a physician designated by the department when 
the department has reason to believe the contestant may not 
be qualified or may not be medically sound to participate in 
the contest. 

C. Each contestant who signs a contract to compete on a 
promoter’s program shall appear at a time and place 
designated by the department or its contractor to be weighed 
on department-approved scales in the presence of each other 
and a representative designated by the department. 
Contestants shall have all weights removed from their bodies 
before the weigh-in but may wear shorts in the case of males, 
and shorts and shirts in the case of females. 

D. Each contestant shall be examined immediately before 
the contest by a ringside physician assigned to the event who 
certifies in writing on a form provided by the department 
whether the contestant is physically fit to safely compete. The 
original health certificate will be submitted to the event 
inspector or his designee. In addition, each female contestant 
shall take a pregnancy test in the presence of a female 
inspector, using the pregnancy kit required by subdivision 8 
of 18VAC120-40-411.1 or provide the ringside physician 
with a negative pregnancy test result taken not more than 24 
hours prior to the event. The inspector will give the results to 
the physician and the results will be noted on the physical 
form. If the physician’s certification fails to certify that the 
contestant is physically fit to safely compete, the contestant 
shall not participate in the contests. All contestants shall 
submit to a postfight physical if requested by the ringside 
physician or the department or its designee. 

E. Discretional use of petroleum jelly is permitted on the 
face, arms or any other part of the body. In the case of a cut, 
topical use of a solution approved by the Association of 
Boxing commissions is permitted. All other solutions are 
prohibited. 

F. Headgear is not permitted. 

18VAC120-40-411.7. Weight classes, weigh-ins and 
prefight meeting. 

A. Weight classes are as follows: 

Weight Class Weight in 
Lbs 

Weight 
in KG 

Max 
Weight 
Spread 

Glove 
sizes 

Atomweight 112  & 
below 

50.9 & 
below 

3 lbs – 
1.36kg 8-10 oz 
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Flyweight 112.1 – 
117 

50.95  – 
53.18 

3 lbs –  

1.36 kg 
8-10 oz 

Bantamweight 117.1 – 
122 

53.22 – 
55.45 

4 lbs –  

1.8 kg 
8-10 oz 

Featherweight 122.1 – 
127 

55.50 – 
57.72 

4 lbs –  

1.8 kg 
8-10 oz 

Lightweight 127.1 – 
132 

57.77 – 
60 

4 lbs –  

1.8 kg 
8-10 oz 

Super Lightweight 132.1 – 
137 

60.04 – 
62.27 

5 lbs – 

 2.3 kg 
8-10 oz 

Light 
Welterweight 

137.1 – 
142 

62.31 – 
64.51 

5 lbs –  

2.3 kg 
8-10 oz 

Welterweight 142.1 – 
147 

64.59 – 
66.8 

7 lbs –  

3.2 kg 
8-10 oz 

Super 
Welterweight 

147.1 – 
153 

66.9 – 
69.5 

7 lbs –  

3.2 kg 
10 oz 

Light 
Middleweight 

153.1 – 
159 

69.6 – 
72.3 

7 lbs –  

3.2 kg 
10 oz 

Middleweight 159.1 – 
165 72.4 – 75 

7 lbs –  

3.2 kg 
10 oz 

Super 
Middleweight 

165.1 – 
172 

75.1 - 
78.2 

7 lbs –  

3.2 kg 
10 oz 

Light 
Heavyweight 

172.1 – 
179 

78.3 – 
81.4 

7 lbs –  

3.2 kg 
10 oz 

Light 
Cruiserweight 

179.1 – 
186 

81.5 – 
84.5 

7 lbs –  

3.2 kg 
10 oz 

Cruiserweight 186.1 – 
195 

84.6 – 
88.6 

12 lbs –  

5.5 kg 
10 oz 

Heavyweight 195.1 – 
215 

88.7 – 
97.7 

20 lbs –  

9.1 kg 
10 oz 

Super 
Heavyweight 

215.1 and 
up 

97.8 and 
up No limit 10 oz 

B. No contestant may engage in a contest without the 
approval of the department or its contractor if the difference 
in weight between the contestants exceeds the allowance in 
subsection A of this section. 

C. If one of the two boxers in a contest is above or below the 
weights shown in subsection A of this section, both boxers 
shall wear the gloves of the higher weight. 

D. When weigh-ins occur within 24 hours, but not less than 
12 hours prior to the event’s scheduled start time, the boxer 
shall not exceed the weight specified in his contract with the 
promoter. If a boxer exceeds the weight specified in the 
contract he shall not compete unless he: 

1. Loses the weight exceeded in the contract at least 12 
hours prior to the event’s scheduled start time; 

2. Loses all but two pounds of the weight exceeded in the 
contract at least 12 hours prior to the event’s scheduled 
start time and loses the final two pounds at least six hours 
prior to the event’s scheduled start time; or  

3. Renegotiates the contract.   

Boxers who weigh-in 24 hours prior to the scheduled event 
shall be required to re-weigh two hours prior to the event’s 
scheduled start time and will not be permitted to exceed the 
weight specified in the contract by more than 10 pounds. 

E. When weigh-ins occur less than 12 hours prior to an 
event’s scheduled start time, the boxer shall not exceed the 
weight specified in the contract. No boxer shall be permitted 
to lose more than two pounds within 12 hours of a contest. If 
a boxer weighs more than two pounds over the weight 
specified in the contract, he shall not compete unless he: 

1. Loses up to two pounds at least six hours prior to the 
event’s scheduled start time; or  

2. Renegotiates his contract. 

F. All contestants and their seconds must be present at the 
official weigh-in. The time, date and location of the weigh-in 
will be approved by the department. Contestants will be 
allowed to witness their opponent's weigh-in. All contestants 
and their seconds must be present at the prefight meeting. 
Any second who does not attend the prefight meeting will not 
be permitted in the corner of their contestant.   

G. All contestants will report to the event location and their 
locker rooms at the specified time on the night of the event. 
Once the contestant reports to the event facility and to the 
locker room he will be disqualified if he leaves the locker 
room before time for the bout or leaves the facility before the 
end of the bout. 

18VAC120-40-411.8. Access to contestant's locker rooms. 

On the day of the contest, only the following individuals are 
allowed in the locker room of a contestant: 

1. The contestant’s licensed manager; 

2. The contestant’s licensed trainers, seconds, or  [ cutmen 
cut men ] ; 

3. The promoter or the promoter’s representatives; 

4. Any representative of the department or its contractor in 
the conduct of his official duties; and 
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5. Any representative of a law-enforcement agency of 
competent jurisdiction while discharging his official duties. 

18VAC120-40-411.9. Referee's instructions to contestants. 

The referee shall, before starting the contest, ascertain from 
each contestant the name of his chief second, and shall hold 
the chief second responsible for the conduct of the assistant 
seconds during the progress of the contest. The referee shall 
call contestants together before each bout for final 
instructions, at which time each contestant shall be 
accompanied by his chief second only. 

18VAC120-40-411.10. Number and conduct of seconds. 

A. No contestant shall have more than three seconds. 

B. All seconds must keep their shoulders below the ring 
floor level during the bout. Seconds are prohibited from 
standing up or leaning on the edge of the ring, mat or floor or 
slapping the ring, mat or floor while the bout is in progress, or 
touching the ring ropes until the bell sounds to end the round. 
Seconds must keep coaching volume down while the bout is 
in progress and are prohibited from negatively interfering 
with the officials in any physical or verbal way.  

C. Only one second may be inside of the ring ropes between 
rounds. 

D. Any excessive or undue spraying or throwing of water on 
any contestant by a second between rounds is prohibited. 
Seconds are responsible for wiping up any fluids in their 
corners between rounds. 

E. Seconds shall not enter the ring until the bell signals the 
end of the round. Seconds shall leave the ring at the sound of 
the timekeeper’s warning that 10 seconds remain before the 
start of the next round, removing all buckets, stools and other 
equipment promptly. 

F. Seconds shall not use Monsol’s solution, alcoholic 
beverages, stimulants, or other substances not approved by 
the department or its contractor during any contest. 

G. Throwing in the towel is not permitted by any second. If 
a second enters the ring during the round, the contestant shall 
be disqualified by the referee. The referee is the only person 
who can stop the bout. 

18VAC120-40-411.11. Length of contest and duration of 
round. 

In events where only kicks above the waist are allowed, the 
rounds shall be two minutes in length with a one-minute rest 
period between the rounds. In all other events the rounds shall 
be three minutes in length with a one-minute rest period 
between rounds. In mixed martial arts events, the rounds shall 
be five minutes in length with a one-minute rest period 
between rounds. 

18VAC120-40-411.12. Counting by referee during 
knockdowns and knockouts, determination of a 
knockdown. 

A. A contestant who is knocked from his feet by a blow (leg 
sweeps and tripping are not considered blows) from his 
opponent may receive a count of 10 seconds from the referee. 
The count shall begin when the contestant is down or helpless 
on the ropes and after the opponent is in a neutral corner. If 
the contestant is unable or unwilling to reenter the contest 
before the count of 10, the referee shall rule a knockout and 
the contestant’s opponent shall win the contest.   

B. The referee may, at his discretion, administer an eight 
count to a contestant who has been stunned, but who remains 
standing. The referee will direct the contestant’s opponent to 
a neutral corner, then begin the count, examining the stunned 
contestant during the count. If, after completing the standing 
eight count, the referee determines the contestant is able to 
continue, the bout shall resume. If the referee determines the 
contestant is not able to continue, the referee will stop the 
contest and declare the contestant’s opponent the winner by 
technical knockout.  

C. The referee shall administer a mandatory eight count to a 
contestant who is knocked down. 

D. A contestant who leaves the ring during a round for any 
reason shall have a count of up to 20 seconds to reenter the 
ring unassisted and cannot be touched while out of the ring by 
his second or others. If the contestant does not reenter the ring 
before the count of 20, the contestant’s opponent shall win 
the contest. 

18VAC120-40-411.13. Fouls, duties of the referee, and 
deduction of points. 

A. The following are considered fouls: 

1. Head butts. 

2. Punches to the back of the head. 

3. Striking to the spine area. 

4. Slapping (striking with the lace side of the glove). 

5. Spitting. 

6. Biting. 

7. Holding the opponent’s head or arm and hitting, unless 
permitted by this chapter. 

8. Knee strikes unless permitted by this chapter. 

9. Strikes to the knees. 

10. Elbow and forearm strikes unless permitted by this 
chapter. 

11. Palm heel strikes. 

12. Joint attacks. 
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13. Take downs, throwing or grappling unless permitted by 
this chapter. 

14. Clubbing. 

15. Strikes to the groin area. 

16. Spinning sweeps (boot to boot sweeps are allowed as 
long as the user does not spin). 

17. Karate chopping style strikes. 

18. Striking the opponent while he has slipped or fallen to 
one knee or more.  

19. Using abusive language. 

20. Attacking on the break. 

21. Striking after the bell that had indicated the end of the 
round. 

22. Pushing or shoving unless permitted by this chapter. 

23. Grabbing or holding onto an opponents leg, foot, or 
any other part of the body unless permitted by this chapter.  

24. Spinning forearm or elbow. A spinning backhand is 
allowed. It must strike with the legal striking area of the 
glove. This portion is limited to the tapeline at the wrist to 
the end of the glove. It does not include either side of the 
glove or wrist.   

B. Referees are responsible for enforcing the rules of the 
contest and shall not permit fouls or other unfair practices that 
may cause an injury to a contestant. Referees shall warn 
contestants who commit fouls during the contest. 

C. If a contestant commits a foul in the ring, the referee shall 
have the discretion to determine the following: 

1. Give the contestant who has fouled a warning. 

2. Deduct one to three points from the contestant who 
committed the foul. The number of points to be deducted 
shall be determined by the referee based on his 
determination of the severity of the foul and its adverse 
effect on the opponent and shall be reported to the judges 
and both contestants as soon as practical. The points shall 
be deducted from the score of the round in which the fouls 
were committed.  

3. Disqualify the contestant who committed the foul. 

D. Any contestant who commits a foul after being warned 
by the referee may have points deducted by the referee or 
may lose the contest by disqualification by the referee. 

E. The referee shall stop the contest when he determines that 
a foul has occurred and determine whether the fouled 
contestant is able to continue. The referee may order the 
contest suspended for a reasonable period of time to allow the 
fouled contestant to recover if the referee determines the 

contestant’s chance of winning has not been seriously 
jeopardized.   

F. The referee shall inform the event inspector or his 
designee of any accidental foul. The referee shall stop a 
contest when it is determined that an injury resulting from an 
accidental foul is so severe as to adversely affect the fouled 
contestant’s chances of winning. Except as provided in 
subsection H of this section, the contest shall be a draw if the 
accidental foul occurs during the first four rounds of a bout 
scheduled for more than four rounds or before the half-way 
point of a bout scheduled for four rounds or less. The contest 
shall be determined by a tabulation of the scores of the 
completed rounds if after the fourth round of a bout scheduled 
for more than four rounds or after the middle of a bout 
scheduled for four rounds or less.  

G. The referee shall stop a contest when it is determined that 
an injury resulting from an accidental foul has been 
aggravated by fair blows. The outcome of the contest shall be 
determined by scoring the completed rounds. 

H. If the contestant who committed the foul knocks out or 
causes injury to his opponent and the opponent is unable to 
continue the bout, the referee will stop the bout. The judges’ 
score cards will be totaled and the decision of the bout will be 
announced. If the foul is committed in the first round and the 
fouled contestant cannot continue, the contestant who fouled 
will be automatically disqualified. 

I. If a contestant is injured from a foul and the bout 
continues but is later stopped in any round after the first 
round because of additional injury to the fouled area, the 
judges’ score cards will be totaled. If the contestant who 
committed the foul is ahead on the score cards the bout will 
end in a technical draw. If the contestant who was fouled is 
ahead, he will be awarded a technical win. 

J. If a contestant becomes injured by something other than a 
foul or legal strike and the injury occurs in the first round, the 
bout shall be stopped and declared a no contest. If the injury 
occurs in the second round or beyond the judges will be asked 
to score the portion of the round. All judges score cards will 
be collected and tallied. If the injured contestant is ahead on 
the score cards he will be awarded a technical draw. If the 
noninjured contestant is ahead on the score cards he will be 
awarded a technical knockout (TKO). 

18VAC120-40-411.14. Scoring of contest, decisions and 
announcements of decisions. 

A. Each contest shall be scored by the judges assigned by 
the department or its contractor.  At the end of each round, 
the score and the score cards shall be presented to the event 
inspector or his designee who shall examine the score cards. 
At the end of the contest, the winner shall be the contestant 
who receives the highest score of the majority of the judges 
except as provided in 18VAC120-40-411.13. The contest is a 
draw if neither contestant scores so as to obtain a majority. 
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B. When the event inspector has examined the score cards 
and checked them for accuracy, he will inform the ring 
announcer of the decision.  

C. The department shall not change a decision rendered at 
the end of any contest unless: 

1. It is determined that there has been wrongful or illegal 
collusion affecting the results of the contest; 

2. An error is found in the compilation of the score cards 
that shows that the decision favored the wrong contestant; 
or 

3. The department determines through investigation there 
was a violation of this chapter that adversely impacted on 
the fairness of the contest or decision. 

18VAC120-40-411.15. Promoter to allow access to event 
and facilities. 

A. The department may assign one or more representatives 
to each event to evaluate the contractor’s performance or to 
assure compliance with Chapter 8.1 (§54.1-828 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

B. All event officials and representatives of the department 
assigned to an event, whether to monitor the contractor’s 
performance or for any other authorized purpose, shall be 
granted immediate access by the promoter and the promoter’s 
representatives to the licensed event and to any area or 
portion of the event facilities. 

C. The promoter is responsible for security of the locker 
room area and shall not permit access except as specified in 
18VAC120-40-411.8. 

18VAC120-40-411.16. Full contact rules. 

A. All legal kicks and punches must be above the waist of 
each contestant. 

B. Leg sweeps, boot to boot, to the inside and outside of the 
opponent’s foot (not above the ankle) are permitted. 

C. Foot pads are required and are to be supplied by each 
contestant. Foot pads must be secured to the foot with elastic 
strap and medical athletic tape and must cover both toes and 
heel. Laces must not be exposed. 

D. Shin pads must be made of a soft material (dipped foam 
or cotton) and secured to the shin with elastic straps and 
medical athletic tape. 

18VAC120-40-411.17. International (low kick) rules. 

A. Along with legal kicks and punches above the waist, 
contestants may also kick to the legs, but not to the knee. 

B. Leg sweeps, boot to boot, to the inside and outside of the 
contestant’s foot (not above the ankle) are permitted. 

C. Kicks may be made with the shin or foot. 

D. Kicks to the inside and outside of the contestant’s legs 
are permitted. 

E. Direct sidekicks to the legs are not permitted. 

F. Foot pads are not permitted. Shin pads may be worn but 
are not mandatory. If used, shin pads must be made of a soft 
material (dipped foam or cotton) and must be secured to the 
shin with elastic straps and medical athletic tape. 

18VAC120-40-411.18. Muay Thai (Thai boxing) rules. 

A. Along with legal kicks and punches above the waist, 
contestants may use legal kicks to the legs (not the knees) and 
elbows to legal target areas along with legal throws and take 
downs. 

B. Use of knees and elbows is restricted to legal target areas 
below the neck. Use of knees and elbows to the head are 
permitted if prior approval by the department or its contractor 
is obtained.   

C. Kneeing is permitted if one contestant is active within the 
clinch. 

D. Kicks may be made with the shin or foot. 

E. Kicks to the inside and outside of the fighter’s leg are 
permitted. 

F. Direct sidekicks to the legs are not permitted. 

G. Contestants are permitted to catch their opponent’s leg 
and take up to two steps. Contestants may strike anytime 
during the two steps, but must release the leg when they strike 
or by the end of the two steps. 

H. Foot pads and shin pads are not permitted. 

18VAC120-40-411.19. San Shou (Sanda) rules. 

A. Along with legal kicks and punches above the waist, 
contestants may use legal kicks to the legs (not the knees) and 
elbows to legal target area. Use of knees and elbows is 
restricted to legal target areas below the neck. Use of knees 
and elbows to the head is permitted if prior approval by the 
department or its contractor is obtained.  

B. Leg sweeps, boot to boot, to the inside and outside of the 
contestant’s foot (not above the ankle) are permitted. 

C. Kicks may be made with the shin or foot. 

D. Kicks to the inside and outside of the contestant’s leg are 
permitted. 

E. Direct sidekicks to the legs are not permitted. 

F. Contestants are permitted to catch their opponent’s leg 
and take up to two steps. Contestants may strike anytime 
during the two steps, but must release the leg when they strike 
or by the end of the two steps. 

G. Kneeing is permitted if one contestant is active within the 
clinch. 
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H. Clinching without kneeing is permitted for five seconds 
to execute a throw, sweep or takedown. 

I. All types of Judo and wrestling throws are permitted, 
except spiking one’s opponent directly on the head. 

J. Foot pads and shin pads are not permitted. 

K. Bouts contested on a platform without ropes must be 
approved by the department or its contractor 30 days prior to 
the event. 

L. Contests shall be scored as follows: 

1. Two areas will be scored, stand up and takedowns. Both 
are scored by the use of a clicker counter by each judge. 

a. Stand up – Each judge will award a contestant one 
point for every effective strike delivered, with the 
exception of kicks that are caught and effective counter 
or throw or sweep delivered. 

b. Takedown – After each throw, takedown or sweep, the 
referee will stop the action and determine if points are to 
be awarded. The referee will indicate points awarded by 
pointing to the contestant with one hand and raising his 
other hand indicating the number of points to be 
awarded. The referee will also announce the number of 
points.  Each judge will record the number of points, by 
clicking the appropriate number on their clickers. 

2. Referee awarded points. 

a. Zero points are awarded if: 

(1) A throw is attempted, but the other contestant pulls 
the thrower down with him and neither can show control; 

(2) One contestant uses a falling technique to attack 
unsuccessfully; or 

(3) One contestant uses a flying offensive technique with 
a deliberately falling technique, the latter one will not 
score. 

b. One point is awarded if the contestant being thrown 
uses a throw “counter technique” and reverses the 
beginning thrower in regards to position of control or 
command. The contestant who ends up in the controlling 
or commanding position within a count of one after both 
contestants hit the floor shall receive the one point. If 
both contestants end up side to side no points shall be 
awarded.   

c. Two points are awarded: 

(1) For any knockdown from a strike (punch or kick) if 
the technique is clean and the standing contestant does 
not touch the ring floor and the fallen contestant is not 
given a standing eight count and rises off the mat quickly 
after the knockdown; 

(2) For any basic throw that is not high altitude or of 
extreme skill or difficulty and the thrower remains 
standing; or 

(3) If the contestant is forced to fall by the opponent’s 
techniques, including the opponent deliberately falling 
while dodging defensively. 

d. Three points are awarded:  

(1) For any high altitude or explosive or extremely 
difficult throw; 

(2) For any knockdown from a strike or any technique 
that requires the referee to give the contestant a standing 
eight count; or 

(3) If the opponent is knocked down by a dropping 
sweep, which causes the opponent to come off his feet 
and land on his back (the sweepers hands may touch the 
floor). 

3. Judges scoring. At the end of each round, each judge 
will write the total number of points for each contestant on 
the scorecard. At the end of each round, the event inspector 
or his designee will award the winning contestant one point 
and the loosing contestant zero points for that round. At the 
end of the bout, unless the bout was stopped prior to the 
end of the scheduled rounds by knockout, technical 
knockout, or disqualification, the contestant with the most 
rounds won will be declared the winner. If the bout ends in 
a decision, the winner is the contestant who wins the most 
rounds. 

18VAC120-40-411.20. Mixed martial arts rules. 

A. The fighting ring shall be in the shape of a square or an 
octagon. A square ring shall not be less than 18 feet square 
within the ropes and shall not exceed 20 feet square inside the 
ropes. An octagon ring shall not be less than 18 feet (from 
any side to the opposite side) inside the ropes and shall not 
exceed 32 feet (from any side to the opposite side) inside the 
ropes. It shall be canvas and padded in a manner approved by 
the department or its contractor. The fighting area shall not be 
more than four feet from the floor and shall have suitable 
steps or a ramp for use by the contestants. It may be enclosed 
by a fence made of material that will not permit a contestant 
to fall out or break through it onto the floor or in spectator 
area, including, but not limited to, vinyl coated chain link 
fencing. The fence shall provide two separate entries into the 
ring. All metal parts shall be covered and padded in a manner 
approved by the department or its contractor and shall not be 
abrasive to the contestants. Ring stools shall be of the type 
approved by the department or its contractor  [ contestant ]. 

B. All contestants are required to wear a mouthpiece during 
competition. The mouthpiece shall be subject to examination 
and approval by the ringside physician. The round cannot 
begin without the mouthpiece in place. If the mouthpiece 
becomes involuntarily dislodged during competition, the 
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referee shall call time and clean and reinsert the mouthpiece 
at the first opportune moment, without interfering with the 
immediate action. 

C. Male contestants shall wear a groin protector of a type 
approved by the department or its contractor. Female 
contestants shall wear a chest protector during competition, of 
a type approved by the department or its contractor. 

D. Gloves shall be new for all main events and in good 
condition or they must be replaced. All contestants shall wear 
either four, five, or six ounce gloves that are supplied by the 
promoter and approved by the department or contractor. 
Contestants may not supply their own gloves. 

E. Each contestant shall wear two pair of shorts with the top 
pair being either mixed martial art shorts, biking shorts, or 
kick boxing shorts. The second pair shall be worn underneath. 
Gi’s or shirts and shoes are prohibited during competition. 

F. All contestants shall be cleanly shaven immediately prior 
to competition, except that a contestant may wear a closely 
cropped mustache. Hair shall be trimmed or tied back in such 
a manner as not to interfere with the vision of either 
contestant or cover any part of a contestant’s face.  

G. Each nonchampionship contest shall consist of three five-
minute rounds with a one-minute rest period between rounds. 
Each championship contest shall consist of five five-minute 
rounds with a one-minute rest period between rounds.   

H. The referee and ringside physician are the sole arbiters of 
a bout and are the only individuals authorized to enter the ring 
area at any time during competition or to stop a contest. 

I. All bouts will be evaluated and scored by three judges. 
The 10 point must system will be the standard system of 
scoring a bout. Judges will evaluate mixed martial arts 
techniques, such as effective striking, effective grappling, 
control of the fighting area, and effective aggressiveness and 
defense. Scores will be weighted in the following order:  

1. Effective striking, judged by determining the total 
number of legal heavy strikes landed by a contestant. 

2. Effective grappling, judged by considering the amount 
of successful executions of a legal takedown or reversals. 
Factors considered will be take downs from standing 
position to mount position, passing the guard to mount 
position, and bottom position contestants using active, 
threatening guard. 

3. Control of the fighting area, judged by determining who 
is dictating the pace and location and position of the bout. 
Factors considered will be countering a grappler’s attempt 
at takedown by remaining standing and legally striking, 
taking down an opponent to force a ground fight, creating 
threatening submission attempts, passing the guard to 
achieve mount, and creating striking opportunities. 

4. Effective aggressiveness and defense, judged by moving 
forward and landing a legal strike and avoiding being 
struck, taken down or reversed while countering with 
offensive attacks. 

J. The following objective scoring criteria shall be utilized 
by the judges by the judges when scoring a round. 

1. A round is to be scored as a 10-10 round when both 
contestants appear to be fighting evenly and neither 
contestant shows clear dominance in a round. 

2. A round is to be scored as a 10-9 round when a 
contestant winning by a close margin lands the greater 
number of effective legal strikes, grappling and other 
maneuvers. 

3. A round is to be scored as a 10-8 round when a 
contestant overwhelmingly dominates by striking or 
grappling in a round. 

4. A round is to be scored as a 10-7 round when a 
contestant totally dominates by striking or grappling in a 
round. 

K. Judges shall use a sliding scale and recognize the length 
of the time the contestants are either standing or on the 
ground as follows. 

1. If the contestant spent a majority of a round on the 
canvas, the effective grappling is weighed first and 
effective striking second. 

2. If the contestant spent a majority of a round standing, 
the effective striking is weighed first and effective 
grappling is second. 

3. If a round ends with relatively even amount of standing 
and canvas fighting, striking and grappling are weighed 
equally. 

L. The referee shall issue a single warning for the following 
infractions: 

1. Holding or grabbing the fence or ropes;  

2. Holding an opponent’s shorts or gloves; or 

3. The presence of more than one second on the fighting 
area perimeter. 

If the prohibited conduct persists after a single warning, the 
infraction may result in a deduction of points or 
disqualification. 

M. The referee shall deduct points for the following fouls: 

1. Butting with the head; 

2. Eye gouging of any kind; 

3. Biting or spitting at an opponent; 

4. Hair pulling; 
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5. Fish hooking; 

6. Groin attacks of any kind; 

7. Intentionally placing a finger in any opponent’s orifice; 

8. Downward pointing of elbows strikes; 

9. Small joint manipulation; 

10. Strikes to the spine or back of the head; 

11. Heel kick to the kidneys; 

12. Throat strikes of any kind; 

13. Clawing, pinching, twisting the flesh or grabbing the 
clavicle; 

14. Kicking the head of a grounded contestant; 

15. Kneeing the head of a grounded contestant; 

16. Stomping of a grounded contestant; 

17. Use of abusive language in the ring; 

18. Any unsportsmanlike conduct that causes an injury to 
the opponent; 

19. Attacking an opponent on or during the break; 

20. Attacking an opponent who is under the referee’s care 
at that time; 

21. Timidity (avoiding contact, or consistent dropping of 
the mouthpiece, or faking an injury); 

22. Interference from a contestant’s second or corner 
person; 

23. Throwing an opponent out of the ring; 

24. Flagrant disregard of the referee’s instructions; or 

25. Spiking an opponent to the canvas on his head or neck. 

If a foul is committed, the referee shall call time, check the 
fouled contestant’s condition and safety, assess the foul to the 
offending contestant, deduct points, and notify each corner’s 
seconds, judges and the event inspector or his designee. 
Disqualification will occur after any combination of three 
fouls or after the referee determines that a foul was 
intentional and flagrant. Fouls will result in a point being 
deducted by the event inspector or designated scorekeeper 
from the offending contestant’s score. Only the referee can 
assess a foul. If the referee does not call the foul, judges shall 
not make that assessment on their own and cannot factor such 
into their scoring calculations. A fouled contestant has five 
minutes to recuperate.  

If a bottom contestant commits a foul, but the top contestant 
is not injured and he maintains his position, the match shall 
continue, so as not to jeopardize the top contestant’s superior 
position at the time. The referee shall verbally notify the 
bottom contestant of the foul. When the round is over, the 

referee shall assess the foul and notify both corner’s seconds, 
the judges and the event official or his designee. The referee 
may terminate a bout based on the severity of a foul. 

N. If an injury sustained during competition as a result of a 
legal maneuver is severe enough to terminate a bout, the 
injured contestant loses by technical knockout. If an injury 
sustained during competition is a result of an intentional foul 
severe enough to terminate a bout, the contestant causing the 
injury loses by disqualification. If an injury is sustained 
during competition as a result of an intentional foul and the 
bout is allowed to continue, the referee shall deduct two 
points from the offending contestant and shall notify the 
event inspector or his designee. If an injury sustained during 
the competition as a result of an intentional foul causes the 
injured contestant to be unable to continue at a subsequent 
point in the contest, the injured contestant shall win by 
technical decision, if he is ahead on the scorecards.  [ In If ] 
the injured contestant is even or behind on the scorecards at 
the time the competition is stopped, the outcome of the bout 
shall be declared a technical draw. 

If a contestant injures himself while attempting to foul the 
opponent, the referee shall not take any action in his favor, 
and the injury shall be treated in the same manner as an injury 
produced by a fair blow. 

If an injury sustained during a bout as a result of an 
accidental foul is severe enough for the referee to stop the 
bout immediately, the bout shall result in a no contest if 
stopped before two rounds have been completed in a three 
round bout or before three rounds have been completed in a 
five round bout.  If an injury sustained during a bout as a 
result of an accidental foul is severe enough for the referee to 
stop the bout immediately, the bout shall result in a technical 
decision awarded to the contestant who is ahead on the score 
cards at the time the bout is stopped only when the bout is 
stopped after two rounds of a three round bout or three rounds 
of a five round bout. 

O. There will be no scoring of an incomplete round. 
However, if the referee penalizes either contestant, then the 
appropriate points shall be deducted when the event inspector 
or his representative calculates the final score. 

P. Bouts may end in the following ways: 

1. Submission by tap out – Contestant physically uses his 
hand to indicate that he no longer wishes to continue. 

2. Verbal tap out – Contestant verbally announces to the 
referee that he does not wish to continue. 

3. Technical knockout – Referee or ringside physician 
stops the bout when an injury as a result of a legal 
maneuver is severe enough to terminate a bout. 

4. Knockout – Contestant fails to rise from the canvas 
before a count of 10. 
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5. Draws – Unanimous when all three judges score the 
bout a draw. Majority when two of the judges score the 
contest a draw. Split when all the judges score the bout 
differently and the score total results in a draw. 

6. Disqualification – An injury sustained during the 
competition as result of an intentional  [ fouls foul ] is 
severe enough to terminate the contest. 

7. Forfeit – A contestant fails to begin competition or 
prematurely ends the contest for reasons other than injury. 

8. Technical draw – An injury sustained during the 
competition as a result of an intentional foul causes the 
injured contestant to be unable to continue and the injured 
contestant is even or behind on the score cards at the time 
of the stoppage. 

9. Technical decision – The bout is prematurely stopped 
due to injury and a contestant is leading on the score cards. 

10. No contest – When a contest is prematurely stopped 
due to accidental injury and a sufficient number of rounds 
have not been completed to render a decision by the score 
cards. 

Q. Weight classes are as follows: 

Weight Class Weight in Pounds Max weight 
difference 

Flyweight 125.9 and under 5 lbs 

Bantamweight 126 – 134.9 5 lbs 

Featherweight 135 – 144.9 5 lbs 

Lightweight 145 – 154.9 5 lbs 

Welterweight 155 – 169.9 12 lbs 

Middleweight 170 – 184.9 12 lbs 

Light Heavyweight 185 – 204.9 12 lbs 

Heavyweight 204 – 264.9 20 lbs 

Super Heavyweight 265 and over No limit 

No contestant may engage in a contest without the approval 
of the department or the department’s representative if the 
difference in weight between the contestants exceeds the 
allowance shown on the above schedule.   

18VAC120-40-411.21. Rules for other contests. 

Rules for aikido, karate, judo, tae kwon do or similar 
contests shall be the mixed martial arts rules set forth in 
18VAC120-40-411.20 or other rules submitted with the event 
application, approved by the department, and agreed to by all 
licensees participating in the event. 

Part IX 

Event Licensing and Conduct Standards for Wrestling 

18VAC120-40-415. Application for a license to conduct a 
wrestling event. 

A. At least 30 days before the date of any wrestling event in 
the Commonwealth, the licensed promoter desiring to 
conduct the event shall deliver an application for a license to 
conduct a wrestling event to the department or its contractor. 
The application shall be on forms provided by the department 
and shall include: 

1. The card of the wrestling show to be exhibited, 
including the name of each participant. The promoter may 
modify the card at any time up to the day of the event by 
providing the required documents for the additions to and 
the notice of the deletions from the card that accompanied 
the application; 

2. A certification by the promoter that all participants are 
properly trained and competent to perform within the ring 
and ring area; 

3. The date, location, and time of the event for which a 
license is sought  [ . The department will consider the size 
and configuration of the location and may deny approval of 
the event license for safety reasons ]; 

4. A statement certifying that all participants scheduled to 
compete are covered by a health insurance policy that 
covers medical expenses for injuries incurred during the 
wrestling event.  [ A waiver of liability will be accepted in 
lieu of a health insurance policy. ]  

5. Evidence of a surety bond filed with the department or 
its contractor conditioned on the payment of gate fees and 
penalties imposed by Chapter 8.1 (§54.1-828 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and on the fulfillment of 
the contracts made with the participants. The bond shall be 
in form and substance satisfactory to the department and in 
an amount equal to the sum of (i) the total gate fee required 
by this chapter and §54.1-833 A of the Code of Virginia  if 
all seats were to be sold and (ii) the total amount due to all 
participants for their appearance in the event. The bond 
shall not exceed $100,000 and shall be executed by a 
surety authorized to do business in the Commonwealth; 

6. Acknowledgment that the promoter will provide a copy 
of the contract between the promoter and each of the 
participants to the department or its contractor upon 
request; 

7. A copy of each contract by the promoter for the sale of 
the rights to distribute in any manner such event by any 
video, telephonic, or other communication method 
involving the control of electrons or other charge carriers; 
[ and ]  

8. A statement that the applicant has read and understands 
this chapter and will conduct the event in full compliance 
with same [ . ; and 
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9. Verification of status as a charity event as defined in this 
chapter. ]  

B. In no case shall the applicant for an event license 
announce or advertise, either directly or indirectly, the event 
to the public until the department has approved the 
application and issued the event license. 

18VAC120-40-415.1. Equipment to be provided by 
wrestling promoters. 

The promoter shall assure that each event shall have the 
following: 

1. A fighting ring that will be in the shape of a square  [ , a 
hexagon, ] or an octagon. A square ring shall not be less 
than  [ 18 16 ]  feet square within the ropes and shall not 
exceed 20 feet square inside the ropes. [ An A hexagon or ] 
 octagon ring shall not be less than  [ 18 16 ]  feet (from 
any side to the opposite side) inside the ropes and shall not 
exceed 32 feet (from any side to the opposite side) inside 
the ropes. The ring floor shall be padded with ensolite, one 
inch thick, or another similar closed-cell foam. The padded 
ring floor must extend at least 18 inches beyond the ropes 
and over the edge of the platform with a top covering of 
canvas or other similar material tightly stretched and laced 
to the ring platform. Material that tends to gather in lumps 
or ridges shall not be used. The ring platform shall not be 
more than five feet above the floor of the building and 
shall have suitable steps for use of the contestants in their 
corners. Ring posts shall be of metal, not more than three 
inches in diameter, extending from the floor of the building 
to a height of 58 inches above the ring floor. The ring posts 
shall be at least 18 inches away from the ring ropes. There 
shall be three or four ring ropes, no more than one inch in 
diameter, evenly spaced, with the bottom ring rope not less 
than 18 inches above the ring floor and the top ring rope 
not more than 52 inches above the ring floor. [  The bottom 
ring rope must be padded with a padding of closed cell 
padding of not less than 1/2 inch (recommend all ring 
roped be padded of the same thickness and material). 
Ropes are to be connected with soft rope ties six feet 
apart. ]  All ring ropes are to be tight and approved by the 
department or its contractor. All corners must be padded 
with approved pads. All turnbuckles are to be covered with 
a protective padding. The ring shall have bright lights and 
light all four corners and middle of the ring equally. No 
lights shall shine into the face of the participants, lights 
may only shine downward and not shine at any angle 
directly into the fighting ring area that may blind the 
participants. The promoter shall provide a ringside 
restrictive barrier between the first row of ringside seats 
and the ring area event official’s area that will prevent the 
crowd from confronting the participants. The ringside 
barrier must be a minimum of six feet from the outside 
edge of the ring; 

2. A bell or gong located at the ring no higher than the 
floor level of the ring. The bell or gong must produce a 
clear tone easily heard by the participants; 

3. Locker rooms adequate in number and equipment to 
reasonably facilitate the participant’s activities before and 
after the show. Separate locker rooms shall be provided 
when both male and female participants are scheduled to 
compete. Locker rooms shall have restroom facilities easily 
available; 

4. A notice to the nearest hospital and the persons in charge 
of its emergency room of the date, time and location of 
event. 

18VAC120-40-415.2. Wrestling event conduct standards. 

A. Wrestling exhibitions shall be conducted inside the ring 
ropes or inside a securely barricaded area that prevents any 
direct contact between the participants and the audience. 

B. Each match shall be conducted under the supervision of a 
referee who shall be currently licensed as a wrestler and who 
shall be responsible for the safety of the participants and 
spectators. 

C. Neither the promoter or referee shall permit physically 
dangerous conduct or tactics by any participant. 

D. Participants shall not intentionally cause a flow of blood 
or other bodily fluid from his body or any other participant’s 
body during the course of the match. In the event a visible 
flow of blood or other bodily fluid from any participant 
occurs during the show, the referee shall immediately suspend 
the match until medical treatment can be obtained. If the flow 
of blood or other bodily fluid cannot be stopped, the match 
involving that participant shall not continue. 

E. All participants will report to the event location and their 
locker rooms at the specified time. Once the participant 
reports to the event facility and to his locker room he will be 
disqualified if he leaves the staging area before the match or 
leaves the facility before the end of the bout without prior 
approval from the event inspector. 

F. Promoters shall maintain peace, order and decency in the 
conduct of all participants and spectators. 

G. Promoters must have, and maintain for review if needed, 
individual contracts on file for all their participants or shall 
report to the department, on a form provided by the 
department, within 24 hours of the completion of the event, 
any fees promised or received by the participants of that 
event. 

18VAC120-40-415.3. Promoter to allow access to event 
and facilities. 

A. The department may assign one or more representatives 
to each event to evaluate the contractor’s performance or to 
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assure compliance with Chapter 8.1 (§54.1-828 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

B. All event officials and representatives of the department 
assigned to an event, whether to monitor the contractor’s 
performance or for any other authorized purpose, shall be 
granted immediate access by the promoter and the promoter’s 
representatives to the licensed event and to any area or 
portion of the event facilities. 

C. The promoter is responsible for security of the locker 
room area and shall permit no person to enter the locker room 
area except for the promoter or his staff or representative, 
licensed participants, the event inspector or any individual the 
department may deem appropriate to ensure compliance with 
Chapter 8.1 (§54.1-828 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia and this chapter. 

Part VI X 

Gate Fees  

18VAC120-40-420. Reporting, verification, and payment 
of gate fees.  

A. No person, except for members of a local police 
department or rescue squad on duty covering the event, 
officials, event staff, promoters and participants may be 
admitted to the event without a ticket. 

B. Each ticket, except those for the working press, officials, 
employees, and official photographers, shall have the price, 
name of the promoter, date, and place of the event printed 
plainly on it. 

C. No promoter shall sell a ticket at a price other than the 
price that appears on the ticket. 

D. No promoter shall change a ticket price or the place or 
date of the event without the approval of the department. 

E. Tickets of different prices shall be printed in different 
colors. 

F. The promoter shall permit the inspector to check the 
number and location of ticket boxes at the gate, ensure that 
the ticket boxes are sealed and padlocked, and open the ticket 
boxes and count the tickets after the event. 

G. Each ticket issued to the press shall be marked “press.” 

H. A maximum of 2.0% of the tickets to an event may be 
complimentary. 

I. Each complimentary ticket shall be marked 
complimentary. 

J. The promoter shall provide to the department, prior to the 
commencement of an event at which admission is charged, a 
manifest or report on the number, kind, and price of tickets 
printed for the contest. 

K. Each ticket shall be separated from the stub when 
entering through the gate. No person shall occupy a seat 
without a stub. 

L. Each promoter shall furnish to the department, within 24 
hours after the completion of each  [ boxing or 
wrestling ] event, a written and verified report on the form 
provided by the department showing the number of tickets 
sold, unsold, and given away [ , the amount of the proceeds 
donated to a charitable organization that is tax exempt under 
§501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, ]  and the amount of 
gross proceeds thereof for such events originating in the 
Commonwealth. The report shall also include the total gross 
proceeds from the sale of rights to distribute in any manner 
such event by any video, telephonic, or other communication 
method involving the control of electrons or other charge 
carriers for such live events originating in the 
Commonwealth.  

B. M. The promoter shall pay the department, within the 
same 24-hour period, a fee of (i) 5.0% of the first $100,000 of 
its total gross receipts and (ii) 2.5% of the remainder of its 
total gross proceeds. These fees shall not be reduced for 
portions of an event containing amateur matches as set forth 
in 18VAC120-40-10. 

C. N. The department or its contractor may examine or 
cause to be audited the records and accounts of the promoter.  

Part VII XI 

Standards of Conduct and Performance  

18VAC120-40-430. Grounds for disciplinary action by the 
department.  

A. The department shall have the authority to discipline a 
licensee through a fine, license suspension, or license 
revocation for the same reason it may deny licensure or 
renewal, and for the following reasons, as may be 
appropriate:  

1. Violating or inducing another person to violate any 
provisions of the federal Professional Boxing Safety Act of 
1996 (15 USC §6301 et seq.), Chapters 1, 2, 3 or 8.1 of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or of this chapter.  

2. Using misrepresentation or fraud to obtain or attempt to 
obtain a license or event license.  

3. Having a medical condition which makes participation 
in  [ boxing or wrestling ]  events a health hazard.  

4. Altering a license issued by the department.  

5. Having been convicted in any jurisdiction of any felony 
or of any misdemeanor involving lying, cheating or 
stealing, or of any misdemeanor for acts carried out while 
engaged in boxing, wrestling, or other athletic activities. 
Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 
conviction for the purposes of this subsection. A certified 
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copy of a final order, decree or case decision by a court or 
regulatory agency with the lawful authority to issue such 
order, decree or case decision shall be admissible as prima 
facie evidence of such conviction or discipline.  

6. Having been the subject of disciplinary action taken by 
Virginia or another jurisdiction in connection with the 
participation in or promotion of professional athletic 
contests or activities, including but not limited to, 
monetary penalties, fines, suspension, revocation, or 
surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary 
action.  

7. Failing or refusing to appear when directed by the 
department or its contractor for the purposes of weighing 
or conducting a medical examination.  

8. Failing to furnish a valid reason or a doctor's certificate 
to explain any failure to appear at an event in which an 
applicant or licensee agreed to participate by signing a 
contract.  

9. Using unsportsmanlike conduct or other inappropriate 
behavior inconsistent with generally accepted methods of 
competition.  

10. Failure to meet financial obligations that results in 
collection proceedings against the bond required by 
18VAC120-40-230 this chapter and §54.1-833 A of the 
Code of Virginia. 

11. Use of profane or abusive language, during the event, 
including at the weigh-in and prefight meeting. 

12. Threatening or inflicting bodily harm upon an official 
or members of the audience during an event. 

13. Making allegations of illegal or improper conduct 
against officials that the licensee knows or should have 
known to be false. 

14. Use of any alcohol, controlled substances, or stimulants 
in any part of the body prior to or during an event or being 
found to be under the influence of alcohol, controlled 
substances or stimulants during an event. 

15. Failure to submit to a urinalysis or chemical test before 
or after an event upon request of the department or its 
designee. 

16. Failure to fulfill contracts for participation in an event. 

17. Wearing facial cosmetics or jewelry of any kind, 
including any type of body piercing by any participants 
during a contest [ , except that wrestlers may wear 
cosmetics or jewelry unless the event official determines 
there is a safety risk ]. 

18. Failure by any participant to secure hair with soft, 
nonabrasive materials during a contest, when deemed 
appropriate by the department or its contractor. 

[ 19. Allowing a license, certificate or registration to be 
used by another. ]  

B. The department shall conduct disciplinary procedures in 
accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§2.2-4000 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 18VAC120-40, 
Virginia Professional Boxing and Wrestling Events 
Regulations, are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below.  The forms are available for public 
inspection at the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 3600 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

Boxing and Wrestling Nonparticipant License Application, 
41INPLIC 41NPLIC (rev. 7/05). 

Boxing and Wrestling Event Card Additions and Deletions 
Form, 41EVCHG (eff. 8/03). 

Boxing and Wrestling Event Surety Bond Form, 
41EVBOND (rev. 8/03). 

Boxing and Wrestling Deposit Verification, 41DEPOSIT 
(rev. 8/03). 

Boxing and Wrestling Promoter's Fee Report, 41PFRFIN 
(rev. 8/03 2/06). 

Boxing Event License Application, 41BEVLIC (eff. 09/03 
rev. 8/06). 

Boxing License Application, 41BOXLIC (eff. 09/05 rev. 
8/06). 

Boxing Promoter License Application, 41BPRLIC (eff. 
7/05). 

Promoters Payout Report, 41PQYREP (eff. 07/05 rev. 4/06). 

Wrestling Event License Application, 41WEVLIC (eff. 
09/05 rev. 8/06). 

Wrestling License Application, 41WLIC (eff. 09/05 rev. 
8/06). 

Wrestling Promoter License Application, 41WPRLIC (eff. 
7/05). 

Limited Boxing License Application, 41LTDBOXLIC (eff. 
9/05). 

Limited Wrestling License Application, 41LTDWLIC (eff. 
9/05). 

Martial Arts Boxing License Application, 41MALIC (eff. 
8/06). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-200; Filed July 20, 2007, 10:05 a.m.  
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  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Taxation is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with (i) §2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 
Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved, and (ii) §2.2-4006 A 3 of the 
Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that consist 
only of changes in style or form or corrections of technical 
errors.  The Department of Taxation will receive, consider 
and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 
with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 23VAC10-210. Retail Sales and Use 
Tax (amending 23VAC10-210-6041, 23VAC10-210-6042, 
23VAC10-210-6043).  

Statutory Authority: §58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Andrea M. Muse, Tax Policy Analyst, 
Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA, 
23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2336, FAX (804) 371-
2355, or email andrea.muse@tax.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Legislation enacted by the 2004 General Assembly (2004 
Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, Chapter 3) increased 
the sales tax rate from 4.5% to 5.0%.  The regulation is 
being revised to reflect this legislative change. 

Additionally, an amendment corrects a reference to 
another regulation section. 

23VAC10-210-6041. Vending machine sales; dealers 
engaged in the business of placing vending machines.  

A. Registration requirements. Except as otherwise 
authorized by the Tax Commissioner, every person engaged 
in the business of placing vending machines and selling 
tangible personal property through such machines shall apply 
for a Certificate of Registration for each county and city in 
which machines are placed. A separate registration is required 
for each place of business from which nonvending machine 
sales are made. Dealers holding or applying for multiple 
vending or nonvending registrations may request permission 
at the time of application to file consolidated vending or 
nonvending returns.  

B. Computation of tax. All items of tangible personal 
property sold through vending machines by those vending 
machines dealers engaged in placing vending machines and 
selling tangible personal property through such machines are 

taxable at the rate of 5.5% 6.0% (4.5% 5.0% state and 1.0% 
local).  

Any dealers, all of whose machines are under contract to 
nonprofit organizations, should refer to 23VAC10-210-6042. 
Dealers acquiring items from other suppliers and selling them 
in the same condition which they were acquired shall 
compute the 5.5% 6.0% tax on the cost price of the purchased 
tangible personal property. Dealers who manufacture the 
tangible personal property to be sold through vending 
machines shall compute the 5.5% 6.0% tax on the cost of the 
manufactured tangible personal property (cost of goods 
manufactured). The cost of manufactured personal property 
includes raw material cost plus labor and overhead 
attributable to the manufacture of the item being sold.  

Example:  

Dealer A purchases (or manufactures) items, with a total 
cost price of $1,000, during the month for sale through 
vending machines. Dealer A would compute the tax as 
follows:  

Total cost price ($1,000) X State tax rate (.045 .05) = 
State tax ($45 $50)  

Total cost price ($1,000) X Local tax rate (.01) = Local 
tax ($10)  

TOTAL TAX =$55 $60 

The method of accounting used for federal income tax 
purposes shall be the accounting method used in determining 
the cost price of purchased tangible personal property and the 
cost of manufactured tangible personal property. For 
example, if the first-in, first-out method of accounting is used 
for federal income tax purposes, this accounting method shall 
be used each month for computing the cost price of purchased 
tangible personal property or the cost of manufactured 
tangible personal property.  

As an alternative method of computing the tax, any dealer 
unable to maintain satisfactory records to determine the cost 
price of purchased tangible personal property and the cost of 
manufactured tangible personal property may request in 
writing to the Tax Commissioner authority to remit an 
amount based on a percentage of gross receipts which takes 
into account the inclusion of the 4.5% 5.0% sales tax.  

Example:  

Dealer B, who has been authorized by the Tax 
Commissioner to compute the tax based on gross receipts, 
had gross receipts from vending machine sales during the 
month of $3,000. Dealer B would compute the tax as 
follows:  

Gross receipts ($3,000) X State tax rate (.035 .04) = State 
tax ($105 $120)  
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Gross receipts ($3,000) X Local tax rate (.01) = Local tax 
($30)  

TOTAL TAX = $135 $150 

Upon receiving such authorization from the Tax 
Commissioner, a return Form ST-9 shall be filed to report the 
4.5% 5.0% sales tax beginning with the period set out in the 
authorization letter. All subsequent returns shall be filed 
using this method unless the dealer applies in writing to the 
Tax Commissioner and is given authorization in writing to 
change his filing status. Authorization to compute the tax 
using this alternative method will not eliminate the 
requirement to maintain records which show the location of 
each vending machine, purchases and inventories of 
merchandise bought for sale through vending machines, and 
total gross receipts for each vending machine.  

C. Filing of returns. Except as otherwise authorized by the 
Tax Commissioner, dealers engaging in the business of 
placing vending machines and selling tangible personal 
property through such machines must file a Form VM-2 
return to report the tax on the items sold through vending 
machines.  

Returns are due by the 20th day of the month following the 
period in which tangible personal property is sold through 
vending machines, with the tax to be computed in the manner 
set out in subsection B above. A return is required to be filed 
for each locality where vending machines are located unless a 
dealer has requested and been granted authority to file a 
consolidated return.  

Nonvending machine sales shall not be reported on Form 
VM-2 but shall be reported on Form ST-9, Dealer's Retail 
Sales and Use Tax Return. 

D. Purchases. Tangible personal property purchased for 
resale through vending machines may be purchased under 
Certificate of Exemption, Form ST-10. All tangible property 
purchased for use or consumption by the dealer and not for 
resale, including vending machines and repair parts for such 
machines, and withdrawals of tangible personal property from 
a tax exempt manufacturing or resale inventory for use or 
consumption by the dealer are subject to the tax at the rate of 
4.5% 5.0% of the cost price of the property. If the supplier 
does not charge the tax on purchases for use or consumption, 
the vending machine dealer shall pay the tax directly to the 
Department of Taxation on Form ST-9, Dealer's the Retail 
Sales and Use Tax Return (if he is registered for nonvending 
sales) or Form ST-7, on the Consumer's Use Tax Return. Tax 
on purchases for the vending machine dealer's own use or 
consumption shall not be reported on Form VM-2. Dealers 
who manufacture or process tangible personal property for 
sale may be entitled to the industrial exemption for tangible 
personal property used directly in manufacturing or 
processing as set forth in §58.1-609.3(2) of the Code of 
Virginia and 23VAC10-210-320 23VAC10-210-920.  

E. Records. Records shall be kept for a period of three years 
and shall show the location of each machine; purchases and 
inventories of merchandise bought for sales through vending 
machines; and the cost price of purchased tangible personal 
property or the cost of manufactured tangible personal 
property for each machine.  

23VAC10-210-6042. Vending machine sales; dealers 
under contract with nonprofit organizations.  

A. Registration requirements. A separate Certificate of 
Registration (application Form R-1) is required for each 
county and city in which vending machines are placed. 
Dealers holding multiple registrations may request permission 
to file a consolidated return at the time of application. 

B. Computation of tax. Dealers engaged in the business of 
placing vending machines all of which are under contract to 
nonprofit organizations may deduct sales of $.10 or less from 
gross receipts and divide the remaining balance by 1.045 1.05 
to determine the amount of taxable sales upon which the 4.5% 
5.0% tax is due and payable. To qualify for this method of 
computing the tax, all machines of the vending machine 
dealer must be under contract to nonprofit organizations. 

C. Filing of returns. Form ST-9, Dealer's The Retail Sales 
and Use Tax Return, is required to be filed for each locality in 
which vending machines are placed by the 20th day of the 
month to report the 4.5% 5.0% tax on (i) sales made in the 
previous period and (ii) untaxed purchases for use or 
consumption by the dealer or withdrawals from tax exempt 
inventory for use or consumption by the dealer. 

D. Records. A contract shall be kept for each vending 
machine under contract to nonprofit organizations. 
Additionally, records shall be kept for a period of four years 
to show the location of each vending machine, purchases and 
inventories of merchandise bought for sale, and total gross 
receipts for each vending machine separating items sold for 
$.10 or less from items sold for more than $.10. 

23VAC10-210-6043. Vending machine sales; other dealers 
selling tangible personal property through vending 
machines.  

Dealers not engaged in the business of placing vending 
machines but who use vending machines at their places of 
business to sell merchandise, e.g., service station operators, 
must report the tax at the rate of 4.5% 5.0% of gross taxable 
sales on the same return on which nonvending machine sales 
are reported (Form ST-9, Dealer's Retail Sales and Use Tax 
Return). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-710; Filed July 18, 2007, 8:40 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 23VAC10-210. Retail Sales and Use 
Tax (amending 23VAC10-210-485).  

Statutory Authority: §58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 
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Agency Contact: Andrea M. Muse, Tax Policy Analyst, 
Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 
23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2336, FAX (804) 371-
2355, or email andrea.muse@tax.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action will amend the Sales and Use Tax 
Dealer Discount regulation to reflect statutory changes in 
the Retail Sales and Use Tax and Vending Machine Tax 
Rates. 

Legislation enacted by the 2004 General Assembly (2004 
Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, Chapter 3) increased 
the sales tax rate from 4.5% to 5.0%. The regulation is 
being revised to reflect this legislative change. 

23VAC10-210-485. Dealer's compensation or discount.  

A. Generally. As compensation for accounting for and 
paying the state tax, a dealer is allowed a discount of 2.0%, 
3.0%, or 4.0%, depending on the volume of monthly taxable 
sales, of the first 3.0% of the state tax due in the form of a 
deduction, provided the amount due was not delinquent at the 
time of payment. No compensation is allowed on the 
additional 0.5% remainder of the state sales tax levied 
effective January 1, 1987, or on the local tax. Dealers must 
compute the discount without regard to the number of 
certificates of registration that they hold (see subsection C 
below).  

To compute the dealer's discount, a dealer (other than a 
vending machine dealer) would multiply the 3.5% 4.0% state 
tax listed on his return by:  

1. 3.43% (or .0343) 3.0% (or .03) if monthly taxable sales 
are less than $62,501; or  

2. 2.57% (or .0257) 2.25% (or .0225) if monthly sales are 
at least $62,501 but are less than $208,001; or  

3. 1.71% (or .0171) 1.5% (or .015) if monthly taxable sales 
equal or exceed $208,001.  

Examples:  

Dealer A who makes taxable sales of $10,000 during the 
month would report state and local tax of $450 $500 ($350 
$400 state tax and $100 local tax), from which he would 
retain a dealer's discount of $12.01 $12, provided that his 
return is timely filed and the state and local tax is timely 
paid. The $12.01 $12 discount is computed by multiplying 
the 3.5% 4.0% state tax ($350 $400) by 3.43% 3.0% since 
the dealer's monthly taxable sales volume is less than 
$62,501.  

Dealer B who makes taxable sales of $250,000 during the 
month would report state and local tax of $11,250 $12,500 
($8,750 $10,000 state tax and $2,500 local tax), from 
which he would retain a dealer's discount of $149.63 $150, 
provided that his return is timely filed and the state and 

local tax is timely paid. The $149.63 $150 discount is 
computed by multiplying the 3.5% 4.0% state tax ($8,750 
$10,000) by 1.71% 1.5% since the dealer's monthly taxable 
sales volume is greater than $208,001.  

B. Vending machine sales. In the case of a vending machine 
dealer who pays combined state and local tax at the rate of 
5.5% 6.0% on his wholesale purchases for resale, the dealer's 
discount would be computed by multiplying the 4.5% 5.0% 
state tax listed on his return by:  

1. 3.56% (or .0356) 3.2% (or .032) if monthly taxable sales 
are less than $62,501; or  

2. 2.67% (or .0267) 2.4% (or .024) if monthly taxable sales 
are at least $62,501 but are less than $208,001; or  

3. 1.78% (or .0178) 1.6% (or .016) if monthly taxable sales 
equal or exceed $208,001.  

Examples:  

Vending machine dealer A with $15,000 in wholesale 
purchases for resale during the month would report state 
and local tax of $825 $900 ($675 $750 state tax and $150 
local tax), from which he would retain a dealer's discount 
of $24.03 $24, provided that his return is timely filed and 
the state and local tax is timely paid. The $24.03 $24 
discount is computed by multiplying the 4.5% 5.0% state 
tax ($675 $750) by 3.56% 3.2% since the dealer's monthly 
taxable sales volume is less than $62,501.  

Vending machine dealer B with $200,000 in wholesale 
purchases for resale during the month would report state 
and local tax of $11,000 $12,000 ($9,000 $10,000 state tax 
and $2,000 local tax), from which he would retain a 
dealer's discount of $240.30 $240, provided that his return 
is timely filed and the state and local tax is timely paid. 
The $240.30 $240 discount is computed by multiplying the 
4.5% 5.0% state tax ($9,000 $10,000) by 2.67% 2.4% 
since the dealer's monthly taxable sales volume is at least 
$62,50l $62,501 but is less than $208,001.  

C. Multiple registrations. Dealers holding two or more 
certificates of registration must compute the dealer's discount 
based upon taxable sales from all business locations. This 
requirement applies to dealers filing consolidated returns and 
those filing separate returns for each business location.  

Example:  

Dealer C holds separate certificates of registration for five 
business locations. Each location has monthly taxable sales 
of less than $62,501, but total taxable sales for all five 
locations are $300,000 for the month. Because total taxable 
sales exceed $208,001, the dealer's discount is computed 
using the 1.71% 1.5% discount rate.  

Dealers with multistate business locations must compute 
the discount based upon taxable sales from all business 
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locations in Virginia and on Virginia taxable sales from 
out-of-state business locations.  

Example:  

Dealer A, with business locations in Virginia, also has 
business locations in other states, all of which are 
registered for collection and remittance of the tax. The out-
of-state business locations sell goods to Virginia customers 
located in Virginia. The total monthly taxable sales for all 
Dealer A's Virginia business locations are $200,000, and 
the total Virginia taxable sales from Dealer A's out-of-state 
business locations are $100,000. Because total taxable 
sales exceed $208,001, the dealer's discount is computed 
using the 1.71% 1.5% discount rate.  

The department will perform a reconciliation, on an annual 
basis or more frequently, of dealers holding multiple 
certificates of registration in order to ensure that the dealer's 
discount is computed properly by those dealers.  

D. Quarterly filers. Dealers filing quarterly returns may 
determine the appropriate dealer's discount rate by dividing 
their quarterly taxable sales by 3.  

Example:  

Dealer D has quarterly taxable sales of $100,000. His 
average monthly taxable sales for the quarter ($100,000 ÷ 3) 
are $33,333.33. Because his average monthly taxable sales 
are less than $62,501, Dealer D would compute the dealer's 
discount using the 3.43% 3.0% rate.  

E. Refund requests. Any amount of tax refunded by the 
department to a dealer will be reduced by any dealer's 
discount claimed on the transaction to which the refund 
relates. For example, if a dealer sells an item for $1,000, 
timely files a return reporting the $45 $50 tax on the 
transaction and claims the discount, the amount refunded 
would be $43.80 $48.80 ($45 $50 less 3.43% 3.0% of the $35 
$40 state tax = $45 $50 - 1.20 = $43.80 $48.80) (assuming 
the dealer's taxable sales during the month of the sale were 
less than $62,501).  

For extensions, see 23VAC10-210-550; for penalties and 
interest, see 23VAC10-210-2030 through 23VAC10-210-
2034.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-711; Filed July 18, 2007, 8:53 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES  

BOARD OF TOWING AND RECOVERY OPERATORS  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 24VAC27-10. Public Participation 
Guidelines (adding 24VAC27-10-10 through 24VAC27-
10-120).  

Statutory Authority: §§2.2-4007.01 and 46.2-2809 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 

Public comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
October 5, 2007. 

Effective Date: September 20, 2007.  

Agency Contact: Benjamin Foster, Executive Director, Board 
for Towing and Recovery Operators, C/O Department of 
Motor Vehicles, Post Office Box 27412, Richmond, VA 
23269-0001, telephone (804) 367-0226, FAX (804) 367-
6631, TTY (800) 272-9268, or email 
benjamin.foster@dmv.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 
authority of Chapter 28 (§46.2-2800 et seq.) of Title 46.2 of 
the Code of Virginia.  Section 46.2-2809 establishes the 
authority of the board to promulgate regulations. 

Purpose: The Virginia Board for Towing and Recovery 
Operators was established by Chapters 874 and 891 of the 
2006 Acts of Assembly.  The board went into effect July 1, 
2006.  Licensure, regulation, and enforcement of standards of 
practice are to go into effect on July 1, 2008.  As such public 
participation guideline regulations for the board do not exist.  
Absent of these regulations the board has no set guidelines 
outside of the Code of Virginia that allows for public 
participation in the promulgation of regulation. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia specifies that 
"Public participation guidelines for soliciting the input of 
interested parties in the formation and development of its 
regulations shall be developed, adopted and utilized by each 
agency pursuant to the provision of this chapter."  By 
proposing these regulations the board is aiming to institute a 
mechanism by which to comply with §2.2-4007.02. 

This regulation is essential to protect the health, safety, or 
welfare of citizens of the Commonwealth in that it provides a 
venue for participation of promulgation of regulation by users 
of, professionals in, and those interested in the towing and 
recovery profession in the Commonwealth.  Further, these 
regulations seek to expand participation by providing for 
electronic exchange with the public and thereby increase 
participation, reduce cost of doing so, and improving the 
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speed of communication.  Diverse participation in the 
promulgation of regulation allows for a final product that 
more consistently represents the ideas, beliefs, and norms of 
the citizens of the Commonwealth. 

The major problem facing the board at this point is that there 
is no regulation regarding public participation guidelines.  
This proposal is intended to rectify that situation in an 
acceptable manner relatively quickly. 

Rationale: The board is proposing the use of the fast-track 
process to promulgate this regulation for the following 
reason.   

This board needs to have regulations in place July 1, 2008, in 
order to license persons engaged in business in the 
Commonwealth as a towing and recovery operator as a Class 
A or Class B operator as set out in §46.2-2812 (licenses 
required) of the Code of Virginia.  By having a public 
participation guideline regulation in place prior to 
promulgating a professional practice regulation, the board can 
assure that procedures were followed allowing for public 
participation as set out in the Administrative Process Act 
(§2.2-4000 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia. 

The board expects this rulemaking to be noncontroversial in 
that boilerplate public participation guideline regulations 
currently utilized by regulatory boards in the Commonwealth 
of Virginia have been used.  In that public participation 
should be consistent with the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act there is, for the most part, no 
mention of board specific requirements. 

Further, these regulations will allow for the participation and 
oversight of the public in the rulemaking activities of the 
board.  As such, the board believes that there will be no 
objections from the very people who would benefit from its 
existence. 

Substance: The proposed regulation promulgates public 
participation guidelines including definitions, purpose, 
notification lists, documents to be sent to persons on the lists, 
petition for rulemaking, notice of intended regulatory action, 
notice of 60-day comment period, periodic review of 
regulations, notice of meeting, and ad hoc advisory 
committees. 

Issues: Regulations providing for public participation 
guidelines are requirements on the board in compliance with 
the Administrative Process Act (APA).  As such the primary 
disadvantage to all (public, Commonwealth, agency, and 
regulated community) concerned with the profession of 
towing and recovery is the current lack of these regulations.  
Likewise, the primary advantage of this proposed regulation 
is that it brings the board into compliance with the APA and 
allows a specified avenue for public participation. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Regulation. The Virginia Board for 
Towing and Recovery Operators (Board) proposes to 
promulgate new Public Participation Guidelines. The Board 
was established by the 2006 Acts of the General Assembly. 
The proposed regulation will provide guidelines for the 
involvement of the public in the formation and development 
of the Board’s regulations. 

Results of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
all proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The 2006 Acts of General 
Assembly (HB 1258; CH. 874/SB 134; CH. 891) establishes 
a new Board for Towing and Recovery Operators to license 
and regulate the towing and recovery industry and tow truck 
drivers. The Board went into effect July 1, 2006.  Licensure, 
regulation, and enforcement of standards of practice are to go 
into effect on July 1, 2008. The Board proposes to promulgate 
the Public Participation Guidelines using the fast track 
process so as to allow for public participation in the formation 
and development of its professional practice regulations.  

According to the proposed regulation, any person may 
petition the Board to develop a new regulation or amend an 
existing regulation. The board shall receive, consider and 
respond to a petition within 180 days, and shall have the sole 
authority to dispose of the petition.  

The proposed regulation requires that the board shall maintain 
lists of persons who have requested to be notified of the 
initial formation, development, amendment or repeal of 
regulations. Any person may request to be placed on a 
notification list by indicating so electronically or in writing to 
the Board.  Persons on the notification lists shall be mailed or 
have electronically transmitted the following documents 
related to the promulgation of regulations: 1) a notice of 
intended regulatory action (NOIRA), 2) a notice of the 
comment period on a proposed regulation and instructions as 
to how to obtain a copy of the regulation and any supporting 
documents, either electronically or from the board office, and 
3) a notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when the 
regulatory process has been extended. 

The board shall issue a NOIRA whenever it considers the 
adoption, amendment or repeal of a regulation. The NOIRA 
shall state the purpose of the action and a brief statement of 
the need or problem the proposed action will address. The 
NOIRA shall indicate whether the board intends to hold a 
public hearing on the proposed regulation after it is published. 
If the board does not intend to hold a public hearing, it shall 
state the reason in the NOIRA. If prior to the close of the 30-
day comment period on the NOIRA, the board receives a 
request for a public hearing on the proposed regulation from 
at least 25 persons or if the Governor directs the board to hold 
a public hearing, such a hearing shall be scheduled. 

Prior to the 60-day comment period, the board shall issue a 
notice of comment period (NOCP) whenever it propose to 
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initiate, amend or repeal a regulation or amend an existing 
regulation under a fast-track process. The NOCP shall 
indicate that copies of the proposed regulation are available 
electronically or from the board and may be requested in 
writing from the contact person specified in the NOCP. The 
NOCP shall indicate that copies of the statement of substance, 
issues, basis, purpose, and estimated impact of the proposed 
regulation may also be requested in writing. The NOCP shall 
make provision for comments pertaining to the proposed 
regulation by regular mail, facsimile or electronic means. 
With the exception of comment received at a scheduled 
public hearing, oral comment shall not be accepted. 

The Board shall also post a notice of meeting with description 
of the subject electronically on the Virginia Regulatory Town 
Hall and transmit it to the Registrar of regulations for 
inclusion in the Virginia Register, for any meeting at which 
the formation, amendment, repeal, or adoption of a regulation 
is anticipated. 

The proposed regulation will create a benefit by allowing for 
the participation and oversight of the public in the rule 
making activities of the Board, which will likely exceed the 
projected one-time expense of printing and mailing copies of 
the regulation to future licensees.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulation 
will affect operators of towing and recovery businesses, 
businesses and individuals using the services of towing and 
recovery business, and localities with specific rules and 
regulations pertaining to the towing and recovery industry 
including Newport News, Virginia Beach, Norfolk, Fairfax, 
and Prince William. The proposed regulation will also affect 
any other persons or entities that are interested in the board’s 
regulations.  The Board estimates that there will be around 
3,000 licensees by the time licensure is required on July 1, 
2008, with 1,500 of them being businesses and the other 
1,500 being operators and drivers. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulation will 
affect all localities in the Commonwealth. It will particularly 
affect localities that have specific rules and regulations 
pertaining to the towing and recovery industry, including 
Newport News, Virginia Beach, Norfolk, Fairfax, and Prince 
William. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 
will likely not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed regulation will likely not significantly affect the use 
and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
regulation will provide the small businesses with guidelines 
to participate in the formation and development of the 
Board’s professional practice regulations, which will benefit 
the small businesses. According to the Board, there are 
approximately 1,500 small towing and recovery businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed regulation will not adversely 
affect small businesses. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, Section 
2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency Response to Department of Planning and Budget's 
Economic Impact Analysis:  The Board of Towing and 
Recovery Operators concurs with the analysis of the 
Department of Planning and Budget regarding its review and 
comments of the board's Public Participation Guideline 
Regulations (24VAC27-10). 

Summary:  

The board intends to establish new public participation 
guideline regulation for the Virginia Board for Towing and 
Recovery Operators.  The Virginia Board for Towing and 
Recovery Operators was established by Chapters 874 and 
891 of the 2006 Acts of Assembly. The board went into 
effect July 1, 2006.  Licensure, regulation, and 
enforcement of standards of practice are to go into effect 
on July 1, 2008. 

CHAPTER 10 

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES 

Part I 

Purpose and Definitions 
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24VAC27-10-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to provide guidelines for the 
involvement of the public in the initial formation and 
development, amendment or repeal of regulations of the 
Board for Towing and Recovery Operators. The guidelines do 
not apply to regulations exempted or excluded from the 
provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§2.2-4000 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

24VAC27-10-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§2.2-4000 
et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Board" means the Board for Towing and Recovery 
Operators. 

"Notification lists" means lists used by the board to notify 
persons pursuant to these rules. Such lists may include 
electronic lists maintained through the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall or lists maintained by the board. 

"Person" means an individual, a corporation, a partnership, 
an association, a governmental body, a municipal corporation, 
or any other legal entity. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 
having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 
person, adopted by the board in accordance with the authority 
conferred on it by applicable laws. 

Part II 

Notification Lists 

24VAC27-10-30. Composition of notification lists. 

A. The board shall maintain lists of persons who have 
requested to be notified of the initial formation, development, 
amendment or repeal of regulations. 

B. Any person may request to be placed on a notification list 
by indicating so electronically or in writing to the board. The 
board may add to a list any person it believes will serve the 
purpose of enhancing participation in the regulatory process. 

C. The board may maintain additional lists for persons who 
have requested to be informed of specific regulatory issues, 
proposals, or actions. 

D. The board shall periodically request those persons on the 
notification lists to indicate their desire to either continue to 
receive documents by regular mail, be notified electronically 
or be deleted from the lists. Persons who elect to be included 
on an electronic mailing list may also request that all notices 
and mailings be sent in hard copy. When mail is returned as 
undeliverable, the person or organization will be deleted from 
the list. When consecutive electronic notifications are 

returned as undeliverable over a period lasting at least 24 
hours, the person or organization may be deleted from the list. 
A single undeliverable message is insufficient cause to delete 
the person or organization since temporary server problems 
can cause such undeliverable messages. 

24VAC27-10-40. Documents to be sent to persons on the 
notification lists. 

A. Persons on the notification lists, as described in 
24VAC27-10-30, shall be mailed or have electronically 
transmitted the following documents related to the 
promulgation of regulations: 

1. A notice of intended regulatory action. 

2. A notice of the comment period on a proposed 
regulation and instructions as to how to obtain a copy of 
the regulation and any supporting documents, either 
electronically or from the board office. 

3. A notice soliciting comment on a final regulation when 
the regulatory process has been extended. 

B. Notification of the adoption of a final regulation and 
copies of the regulation shall be posted on the board’s website 
prior to the 30-day adoption period. 

C. The failure of any person to receive any notice or copies 
of any documents shall not affect the validity of any 
regulation otherwise adopted in accordance with this chapter. 

Part III 

Public Participation Procedures 

24VAC27-10-50. Petition for rulemaking. 

A. As provided in §2.2-4007 A of the Code of Virginia, any 
person may petition the board to develop a new regulation or 
amend an existing regulation. 

B. A petition shall include but need not be limited to the 
following: 

1. The petitioner's name, mailing address, telephone 
number, and, if applicable, the organization represented in 
the petition. 

2. The number and title of the regulation to be addressed. 

3. A description of the regulatory problem or need to be 
addressed. 

4. A recommended addition, deletion, or amendment to the 
regulation. 

C. The board shall receive, consider and respond to a 
petition within 180 days and shall have the sole authority to 
dispose of the petition. 

D. Nothing herein shall prohibit the board from receiving 
information from the public and proceeding on its own 
motion for rulemaking. 
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24VAC27-10-60. Notice of intended regulatory action. 

A. The board shall issue a notice of intended regulatory 
action (NOIRA) whenever it considers the adoption, 
amendment or repeal of a regulation. The NOIRA shall state 
the purpose of the action and a brief statement of the need or 
problem the proposed action will address. 

B. The NOIRA shall indicate whether the board intends to 
hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation after it is 
published. If the board does not intend to hold a public 
hearing, it shall state the reason in the NOIRA. 

C. If prior to the close of the 30-day comment period on the 
NOIRA, the board receives a request for a public hearing on 
the proposed regulation from at least 25 persons or if the 
Governor directs the board to hold a public hearing, such a 
hearing shall be scheduled. 

24VAC27-10-70. Notice of comment period. 

A. Prior to the 30-day comment period, the board shall issue 
a notice of comment period (NOCP) whenever it proposes to 
initiate, amend or repeal a regulation or amend an existing 
regulation under a fast-track process. The NOCP shall 
indicate that copies of the proposed regulation are available 
electronically or from the board and may be requested in 
writing from the contact person specified in the NOCP. 

B. The NOCP shall indicate that copies of the statement of 
substance, issues, basis, purpose, and estimated impact of the 
proposed regulation may also be requested in writing.  

C. The NOCP shall make provision for comments pertaining 
to the proposed regulation by regular mail, facsimile or 
electronic means. With the exception of comment received at 
a scheduled public hearing, oral comment shall not be 
accepted. 

24VAC27-10-80. Notice of meeting. 

A. At any meeting of the board or advisory committee at 
which the formation, amendment, repeal, or adoption of a 
regulation is anticipated, the subject shall be described in a 
notice of meeting, which has been posted electronically on 
the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and transmitted to the 
Registrar of Regulations for inclusion in the Virginia 
Register. 

B. If the board anticipates action on a regulation for which 
an exemption to the Administrative Process Act is claimed 
under §2.2-4002 or 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, the 
notice of meeting shall indicate that a copy of the proposed 
regulation may be requested from the board at least two days 
prior to the meeting. A copy of the regulation shall be made 
available to the public attending such meeting. 

24VAC27-10-90. Public hearings on regulations. 

The board shall conduct a public hearing during the 60-day 
comment period following the publication of a proposed 

regulation or amendment to an existing regulation unless, at a 
noticed meeting, the board determines that a hearing is not 
required. 

24VAC27-10-100. Periodic review of regulations. 

A. The board shall conduct a periodic review of its 
regulations consistent with an executive order issued by the 
Governor to receive comment on all existing regulations as to 
their effectiveness, efficiency, necessity, clarity, and cost of 
compliance. 

B. A periodic review may be conducted separately or in 
conjunction with other meetings or hearings. 

C. Notice of the proceeding shall be transmitted to the 
Registrar of Regulations for inclusion in the Virginia Register 
and shall be sent to the notification lists identified in 
24VAC27-10-30. 

Part IV 

Ad Hoc Committees 

24VAC27-10-110. Appointment of committees. 

A. The board may appoint an ad hoc committee whose 
responsibility shall be to assist in the review and development 
of regulations for the board. 

B. The board may appoint an ad hoc committee to provide 
professional specialization or technical assistance when the 
board determines that such expertise is necessary to address a 
specific regulatory issue or need or when groups of 
individuals register an interest in working with the agency. 

24VAC27-10-120. Limitation of service. 

A. An ad hoc committee that has been appointed by the 
board may be dissolved by the board when: 

1. There is no response to the notice of intended regulatory 
action; or 

2. The board determines that the promulgation of the 
regulation is either exempt or excluded from the 
requirements of the Administrative Process Act. 

B. An ad hoc committee shall remain in existence no longer 
than 18 months from its initial appointment unless the board 
determines that the specific regulatory need continues to exist 
beyond that time. The board may authorize the ad hoc 
committee to continue for an additional specified period of 
time to complete the task for which it was appointed. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-698; Filed July 18, 2007, 1:07 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) - Accotink Creek 
and Difficult Run 

Announcement of total maximum daily load (TMDL) studies 
to restore water quality in parts of Accotink Creek and 
Difficult Run that have benthic and bacteria impairments. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) and the Virginia Department of Conservation 
and Recreation announce the first public meeting to introduce 
the Accotink Creek and Difficult Run TMDL studies. 

Public Meeting: Tuesday, August 14, 2007, from 7 p.m. to 
9 p.m., Fairfax County Government Center, 12000 
Government Center Parkway, Conference Rooms 2 and 3, 
Fairfax, VA 22035. 

Meeting description: This is the first meeting to introduce this 
project to the public.  The purpose of this meeting is to gather 
information and discuss the study with community members. 

Description of study: Portions of Accotink Creek and 
Difficult Run have been identified as impaired on the Clean 
Water Act §303(d) list for not supporting the primary contact 
recreation use due to elevated levels of bacteria, and the 
aquatic life use due to poor health in the benthic biological 
community.  Virginia agencies are working to identify the 
sources of bacteria contamination and benthic stressors for 
these two stream segments.  The impaired segment of 
Difficult Run is located in portions of the City of Fairfax and 
Fairfax County.  The impaired segment of Accotink Creek is 
also located in portions of the City of Fairfax and Fairfax 
County.  Below is a description of the impaired portions of 
Accotink Creek and Difficult Run that will be addressed in 
this study: 
 

Stream 
Name Locality Impair-

ments 
Area 

(miles) 
Upstream 

Limit 

Down-
stream 
Limit 

Accotink 
Creek 

Fairfax 
County 
City of 
Fairfax 

Fecal 
Coliform 
Bacteria 
Benthic 

7.35 

Confluence 
of Accotink 
Creek with 

Calamo 
Branch 

Start of 
the tidal 
waters of 
Accotink 

Bay 

Difficult 
Run 

Fairfax 
County 
City of 
Fairfax 

E. Coli 
Bacteria 
Benthic 

2.93 

Confluence 
of Difficult 
Run with 
Captain 
Hickory 

Run 

Con-
fluence 

of 
Difficult 
Run with 

the 
Potomac 

River 

During the study, DEQ will develop a total maximum daily 
load, or a TMDL, for each impaired stream segment, for each 
specific impaired use.  A TMDL is the total amount of a 
pollutant a water body can receive and still meet water quality 
standards.  To restore water quality, contamination levels 
have to be reduced to the TMDL allocated amount. 

How to comment:  The public comment period on the 
materials presented at the public meeting will extend from 
August 14, 2007, to September 13, 2007.  DEQ accepts 
written comments by email, fax, or postal mail. Written 
comments should include the name, address, and telephone 
number of the person commenting, and be received by DEQ 
during the comment period. Please send all comments to the 
contact listed below. 

Contact for additional information: Katie Conaway, Virginia 
Department of Environmental Quality, 13901 Crown Court, 
Woodbridge, VA 22193, telephone (703) 583-3804, or email 
mkconaway@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for Hays 
Creek, Moffatts Creek, Walker Creek, and Otts Creek 

in Augusta and Rockbridge Counties 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation seek written and 
oral comments from interested persons on the development of 
total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for Hays Creek, 
Moffatts Creek, Walker Creek, and Otts Creek in Augusta 
and Rockbridge counties.  Hays Creek was listed on the 1998 
303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report as impaired due to 
violations of the state’s water quality standard for bacteria.  
This impairment extends for 11.99 miles from Moffatts Creek 
to the confluence with the Maury River.  Tributaries of Hays 
Creek, including Moffatts Creek, Walker Creek, and Otts 
Creek are also listed on the 2006 303(d) TMDL Priority List 
and Report for violations of the state’s water quality standard 
for bacteria. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and §62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 
pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 
Virginia’s 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. 

The first public meeting on the development of these TMDLs 
will be held on Thursday, August 21, 2007, 7 p.m. at the 
Rockbridge Baths Volunteer Fire Department, 5024 Maury 
River Rd., Rockbridge Baths, Virginia. 

The public comment period for the first public meeting will 
end on September 21, 2007.  Written comments should 
include the name, address, and telephone number of the 
person submitting the comments and should be sent to Robert 
Brent, Department of Environmental Quality, 4411 Early 
Road, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone 
(540) 574-7848, FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 
rnbrent@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
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Regulations on February 9, 2007.  The orders may be viewed 
at the State Lottery Department, 900 E. Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

Director's Order Number Thirty-Five (07) 
Certain Virginia Instant Game Lotteries; End of Games. 

In accordance with the authority granted by §§2.2-4002 B 
(15) and 58.1-4006 A of the Code of Virginia, I hereby give 
notice that the following Virginia Lottery instant games will 
officially end at midnight on July 13, 2007: 

Game 695 Blackjack Showdown 
Game 712 Cashword Double Bonus 
Game 725 Bank Roll 
Game 726 $150,000 Payday 
Game 739 Safari Riches 
Game 743 Little Green Men Doubler 
Game 745 Super Deuces 
Game 747 The Cash Zone 
Game 752 WSOP $100,000 TX Hold'em 
Game 753 Fast Cash 
Game 755 $50,000 Poker Nights 
Game 757 Jack In The Box 
Game 759 $75,000 Pinball 
Game 760 King of Cash 
Game 762 $20,000 Table Stakes Doubler 
Game 763 Queen of Hearts 

The last day for lottery retailers to return for credit unsold 
tickets from any of these games will be August 17, 2007. The 
last day to redeem winning tickets for any of these games will 
be January 9, 2008, 180 days from the declared official end of 
the game.  Claims for winning tickets from any of these 
games will not be accepted after that date.  Claims that are 
mailed and received in an envelope bearing a postmark of the 
United States Postal Service or another sovereign nation of 
January 9, 2008, or earlier, will be deemed to have been 
received on time.  This notice amplifies and conforms to the 
duly adopted State Lottery Board regulations for the conduct 
of lottery games. 

This order is available for inspection and copying during 
normal business hours at the Virginia Lottery headquarters, 
900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia; and at any 
Virginia Lottery regional office.  A copy may be requested by 
mail by writing to Director's Office, Virginia Lottery, 
900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order becomes effective on the date of its 
signing and shall remain in full force and effect unless 
amended or rescinded by further Director's Order. 

/s/ Shelia Hill-Christian 
Executive Director 

July 11, 2007 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Notice of Periodic Review of Regulations 
Pursuant to Executive Order 36 (2006), The Virginia 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy is conducting a 
periodic review and invites public comment on the following 
regulations: 

4VAC25-60, Rules and Regulations Governing the 
Installation and Use of Automated Temporary Roof Support 
Systems 

4VAC25-70, Rules and Regulations Governing Disruption of 
Communications in Mines 

4VAC25-90, Rules and Regulations Governing the Use of 
Diesel-Powered Equipment in Underground Coal Mines 

4VAC25-101, Regulation Governing Vertical Ventilation 
Holes and Mining Near Gas and Oil Wells 

4VAC25-110, Rules and Regulations Governing Blasting in 
Surface Mining Operations 

4VAC25-120, Requirements for Installation and Use of Cabs 
and Canopies 

The department will consider whether these existing 
regulations are essential to protecting the health, safety and 
welfare of the public.  The department welcomes specific 
comments on the performance and effectiveness of these 
regulations and also requests suggestions to improve the 
content and organization of the regulations to make them 
more understandable and useful. 

The comment period for this review begins on August 6, 
2007, and ends at 5 p.m. on September 5, 2007. Comments 
may be submitted to Tabitha Hibbitts Peace, Policy Analyst, 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of 
Administration, P.O. Drawer 900, Big Stone Gap, VA 24219-
0900 or email tabitha.peace@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Regulations may be viewed online at the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall site located at http://www.townhall.state.va.us, or 
copies will be sent upon request. 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Notice Concerning Relationship Between Content of 
the Virginia Department of Transportation’s 
(VDOT’s) Proposed Land Use Permit Manual 

(24VAC30-151) and Legislative Mandate to Publish 
Access Management Standards 

Virginia Department of Transportation published a proposed 
Land Use Permit Manual (24 VAC 30-151) to replace the 
existing regulation in the July 9, 2007, edition (Volume 23, 
Issue 22) of The Virginia Register after receiving approval 
from the Governor’s Office.  The public comment period for 
this regulatory stage extends through September 9, 2007. 
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During the Executive Branch review required for 
Administrative Process Act regulations, the General 
Assembly enacted Chapters 863 and 928 of the 2007 Acts of 
Assembly.  These chapters directed the Commonwealth 
Transportation Commissioner to develop and implement 
comprehensive highway access management standards to 
preserve and improve the efficient operations of the state 
systems of highways. The standards are to include guidelines 
for the location, number, and spacing and design of entrances, 
median openings, turn lanes, street intersections, traffic 
signals, and interchanges. 

Although the standards are exempt from the Administrative 
Process Act, the commissioner was further directed to solicit 
and consider public comment in their development, and to 
publish them no later than December 31, 2007, to take effect 
July 1, 2008. 

Part IV of the proposed Land Use Permit Manual deals with 
entrances, which is a component of the standards VDOT is 
mandated to implement.  Unlike the access management 
standards, this regulation is subject to the Administrative 
Process Act, and is not anticipated to be finalized before the 
mandate’s publication deadline. The public is requested to 
defer any comments regarding this part of the proposed 
regulation until proposed access management standards can 
be published and a formal public hearing and comment period 
can be held concerning these standards prior to adoption by 
VDOT.  VDOT plans to publish proposed text in The 
Virginia Register and hold a public hearing in mid to late 
September.  After comments are received, the 
Commonwealth Transportation Board will act on the final 
regulations, and publication will occur in December. 

Contact Information: Paul Grasewicz, AICP/Access 
Management Program Administrator, Asset Management 
Division, Virginia Department of Transportation, 1401 E. 
Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 662-
9721 or FAX (804) 662-9405. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Bowman Apple 
Products Co., Inc. 

Purpose of notice: To invite citizens to comment on a 
proposed consent order for a facility in Shenandoah County, 
Virginia. 

Public comment period: August 6, 2007, to September 6, 
2007. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Bowman Apple Products 
Co., Inc. to address alleged violations of the permit and 
regulations. The location of the facility where the alleged 
violations occurred is located Mount Jackson, Shenandoah 

County, Virginia. The consent order describes a settlement to 
resolve these violations. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail.  All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period.  The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, documents requests and 
additional information: Steven W. Hetrick, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Valley Regional Office, Post Office 
Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone (540) 574-
7833, FAX (540) 574-7844, or email 
swhetrick@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Hampton Roads 
Sanitation District 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order between the State Water Control Board and the 
Hampton Roads Sanitation District, the cities of Chesapeake, 
Hampton, Newport News, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Suffolk, 
Virginia Beach, and Williamsburg; the counties of 
Gloucester, Isle of Wight, and York; the James City Service 
Authority; and the town of Smithfield all located in Virginia. 

Public comment period: August 6, 2007, to September 5, 
2007. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to the Hampton Roads 
Sanitation District, the cities of Chesapeake, Hampton, 
Newport News, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia 
Beach, and Williamsburg; the counties of Gloucester, Isle of 
Wight, and York; the James City Service Authority; and the 
town of Smithfield to address alleged violations of the State 
Water Control Law.  The consent order describes a settlement 
to resolve alleged violations resulting from sanitary sewer 
overflows. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax, or postal mail.  All comments must include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period.  The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: Maria R. Nold, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 
518-2173, FAX (757) 518-2003, or email 
mrnold@deq.virginia.gov. 
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VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Elimination of the Calendar of Events Section 
Effective July 1, 2007, the Calendar of Events section will no 
longer be published in the Virginia Register of Regulations.  
Chapter 300 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly amended the 
Administrative Process Act by eliminating the requirement 
that all state agency meeting notices be published in the 
Virginia Register.  In lieu of publication in the Virginia 
Register, the Virginia Freedom of Information Act was 
amended to require that agencies post meeting notices on the 
agency's website and on the Commonwealth Calendar 
maintained by the Virginia Information Technologies 
Agency.  To access the Commonwealth Calendar, please visit 
the Commonwealth of Virginia's homepage at 
www.virginia.gov and click on the calendar on the right side 
of the screen. Public hearing information will still be 
published in the Register and can be found with the 
corresponding proposed regulation. 

Notice to State Agencies 
Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a new web-based 
application called RIS for filing regulations and related items 
for publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office 
has worked closely with the Department of Planning and 
Budget (DPB) to coordinate the new system with DPB's latest 
upgrade to the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town 
Hall complement and enhance one another by sharing 
pertinent regulatory information. The new system was 
released on July 3, 2007.  

Advantages of RIS include: 

• Daily updates to the online version of the Virginia 
Administrative Code (VAC) will provide access to a 
"real time" administrative code database. 

• Agencies will draft regulation sections using the 
always current VAC database through each stage of 
the regulatory process.  

• Agencies will eventually be able to file most notices 
and regulatory actions electronically. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, 
agencies may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of 

intended regulatory actions and general notices in 
electronic form only; however, until further notice, 
agencies must continue to file print copies of proposed, 
final, fast-track and emergency regulatory packages. 

ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
Title of Regulation:  21VAC5-110. Retail Franchising Act 
Rules (adding 21VAC5-110-65 and 21VAC5-110-75). 

Publication:  23:23 VA.R. 3959-3961 July 23, 2007 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 3959, 21VAC5-110-65 B, line 2, strike "located" 

Page 3961, 21VAC5-110-75, subdivision 5 a, line 8, strike "at 
the earlier of" through "(2) Ten business" and insert "14 
calendar" 

Page 3961, 21VAC5-110-75, subdivision 7, line 1, change 
"7." to "6." 

Page 3961, 21VAC5-110-75, subdivision 7, line 2, change "3, 
4 and 5" to "3 and 4" 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Title of Regulation:  13VAC5-31. Virginia Amusement 
Device Regulations (amending 13VAC5-31-20, 13VAC5-
31-30, 13VAC5-31-40, 13VAC5-31-210; adding 13VAC5-
31-75, 13VAC5-31-85, 13VAC5-31-220, 13VAC5-31-230, 
13VAC5-31-240, 13VAC5-31-250, 13VAC5-31-260, 
13VAC5-31-270, repealing 13VAC5-31-70, 13VAC5-31-
80, 13VAC5-31-90, 13VAC5-31-100, 13VAC5-31-110, 
13VAC5-31-120, 13VAC5-31-130, 13VAC5-31-140, 
13VAC5-31-150, 13VAC5-31-160, 13VAC5-31-170). 

Publication: 23:23 VA.R. 3919 July 23, 2007. 

Correction to Proposed Regulation: 

"Public hearing information" incorrectly stated that no public 
hearings are scheduled. Public hearings are scheduled as 
follows: 

July 24, 2007 – 10 a.m. – Greater Richmond Convention 
Center, 403 North Third Street, Room B-10 (Lecture Hall), 
Richmond, VA 

Under "Public comments," the public comment deadline date 
of "October 5, 2007" is incorrect and should be changed to 
"September 23, 2007. 

* * * 
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Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-91. Virginia Industrialized 
Building Safety Regulations (amending 13VAC5-91-20, 
13VAC5-91-100, 13VAC5-91-160, 13VAC5-91-270; 
repealing 13VAC5-91-110). 

Publication: 23:23 VA.R. 3930 July 23, 2007. 

Correction to Proposed Regulation: 

"Public hearing information" incorrectly stated that no public 
hearings are scheduled. Public hearings are scheduled as 
follows: 

July 24, 2007 – 10 a.m. – Greater Richmond Convention 
Center, 403 North Third Street, Room B-10 (Lecture Hall), 
Richmond, VA 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Regulation:  12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 
(IFDDS Waiver Services) (amending 12VAC30-120-700 
through 12VAC30-120-750, 12VAC30-120-752, 12VAC30-
120-753, 12VAC30-120-754, 12VAC30-120-756, 
12VAC30-120-758, 12VAC30-120-760, 12VAC30-120-762, 
12VAC30-120-764, 12VAC30-120-766, 12VAC30-120-770, 
12VAC30-120-772, 12VAC30-120-774, 12VAC30-120-776; 
repealing 12VAC30-120-768, 12VAC30-120-780, 
12VAC30-120-790). 

Publication:  23:20 VA.R. 3197 June 11, 2007 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 3197, 12VAC30-120-756 A, line 9 after "clinical 
nursing," insert "[ behavioral consultation, ]" 
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