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THE VIRGINIA REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia
Register is a source of other information about state government,
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public
hearings and open meetings of state agencies.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the
text of the proposed regulation.

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation.

The Joint Commission of Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor.
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon
final publication in the Virginia Register.

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the
Virginia Register.

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or
inconsequential impact.

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation,
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation,
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action.
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final.
FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be
provided to certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations will
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with §2.2-4012.1.
EMERGENCY REGULATIONS
If an agency demonstrates that (i) there is an immediate threat to the
public’s health or safety; or (ii) Virginia statutory law, the appropriation
act, federal law, or federal regulation requires a regulation to take effect
no later than (a) 280 days from the enactment in the case of Virginia or
federal law or the appropriation act, or (b) 280 days from the effective
date of a federal regulation, it then requests the Governor’s approval to
adopt an emergency regulation. The emergency regulation becomes
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations,
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to
addressing specifically defined situations and may not exceed 12 months
in duration. Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in
the Register.
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the
prescribed time limit expires.
STATEMENT
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2
(§2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be
examined carefully.

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date.
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on
December 11, 2006.
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6
(§2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes,
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle;
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller,
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; S. Bernard
Goodwyn.
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations;
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar.
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES

This schedule is available on the Register's Internet home page (http://register.state.va.us).

Volume: Issue

23:25
23:26

FINAL INDEX - Volume 23

24:1
24:2
24:3
24:4
24:5
24:6
24:7

INDEX 1 Volume 24

24:8

24:9

24:10
24:11
24:12
24:13
24:14

INDEX 2 Volume 24

24:15
24:16
24:17
24:18
24:19
24:20

INDEX 3 Volume 24

24:21

August 2007 through June 2008

Material Submitted By Noon*

Will Be Published On

August 1, 2007
August 15, 2007

August 29, 2007

September 12, 2007
September 26, 2007

October 10, 2007

October 24, 2007

November 7, 2007

November 20, 2007 (Tuesday)

December 5, 2007
December 19, 2007
January 2, 2008
January 16, 2008
January 30, 2008
February 13, 2008
February 27, 2008

March 12, 2008
March 26, 2008
April 9, 2008
April 23, 2008
May 7, 2008
May 21, 2008

June 4, 2008

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified.

August 20, 2007
September 3, 2007

October 2007

September 17, 2007
October 1, 2007
October 15, 2007
October 29, 2007
November 12, 2007
November 26, 2007
December 10, 2007

January 2008

December 24, 2008
January 7, 2008
January 21, 2008
February 4, 2008
February 18, 2008
March 3, 2008
March 17, 2008

April 2008

March 31, 2008
April 14, 2008
April 28, 2008
May 12, 2008
May 26, 2008
June 9, 2008

July 2008

June 23, 2008
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CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED

The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended,
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the
Fall 2006 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 22, Issue 22, dated July
10, 2006). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation "emer," and errata pertaining to final
regulations are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows
action taken, the volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section.

| SECTION NUMBER | ACTION | CITE | EFFECTIVE DATE |
Title 2. Agriculture
2 VAC 5-195 (Form) Added 23:15 VA.R. 2512 --
2 VAC 5-330-30 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3122 7/12/07
2 VAC 5-490-10 through 2 VAC 5-490-90 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3123-3155 5/23/07
2 VAC 5-490-15 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3130 5/23/07
2 VAC 5-490-25 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3131 5/23/07
2 VAC 5-490-31 through 2 VAC 5-490-39.6 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3132-3140 5/23/07
2 VAC 5-490-73 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3154 5/23/07
2 VAC 5-490-75 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3155 5/23/07
2 VAC 5-490-103 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3155 5/23/07
2 VAC 5-490-105 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3156 5/23/07
2 VAC 5-490-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3156 5/23/07
2 VAC 5-490-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3157 5/23/07
2 VAC 5-490-130 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3157 5/23/07
2 VAC 5-490-131 through 2 VAC 5-490-138 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3157-3162 5/23/07
2 VAC 5-490-140 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3162 5/23/07
2 VAC 5-620-10 through 2 VAC 5-620-100 Added 23:19 VA.R. 2981-2985 7/1/07
Title 3. Alcoholic Beverages
3 VAC 5-10-40 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07
3 VAC 5-10-50 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07
3 VAC 5-10-60 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07
3 VAC 5-10-130 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07
3 VAC 5-10-150 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07
3 VAC 5-10-230 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2118 5/19/07
3 VAC 5-10-360 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2118 5/19/07
3 VAC 5-10-400 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2118 5/19/07
3 VAC 5-10-480 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2129 5/19/07
3 VAC 5-40-20 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2133 5/19/07
3 VAC 5-40-50 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2134 5/19/07
3 VAC 5-60-20 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2137 5/19/07
3 VAC 5-60-40 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2138 5/19/07
3 VAC 5-60-80 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2138 5/19/07
3 VAC 5-60-100 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2139 5/19/07
3 VAC 5-70-100 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2142 5/19/07
3 VAC 5-70-150 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2143 5/19/07
3 VAC 5-70-160 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2143 5/19/07
3 VAC 5-70-230 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2143 5/19/07
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources
4 VAC 20-70-100 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1958 2/1/07
4 VAC 20-200-10 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1659 2/1/07
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Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed

| SECTION NUMBER | ACTION | CITE | EFFECTIVE DATE |

4 VAC 20-200-20 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1659 2/1/07

4 VAC 20-200-30 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1659 2/1/07

4 VAC 20-200-40 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1660 2/1/07

4 VAC 20-200-50 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1660 2/1/07

4 VAC 20-270-30 emer Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2276 3/1/07-3/30/07
4 VAC 20-270-30 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2737 3/30/07

4 VAC 20-270-40 emer Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2276 3/1/07-3/30/07
4 VAC 20-270-40 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2737 3/30/07

4 VAC 20-300-20 emer Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2277 3/1/07-3/30/07
4 VAC 20-300-20 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2738 3/30/07

4 VAC 20-310-55 Added 23:15 VA.R. 2481 3/1/07

4 VAC 20-370-10 through 4 VAC 20-370-30 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2986 5/1/07

4 VAC 20-380-50 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3446 10/1/07

4 VAC 20-380-60 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3447 10/1/07

4 VAC 20-430-20 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2738 3/30/07

4 VAC 20-430-45 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2738 3/30/07

4 VAC 20-450-30 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2739 3/30/07

4 VAC 20-490-42 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1540 12/21/06

4 VAC 20-490-42 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2986 5/1/07

4 VAC 20-510-10 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1958 2/1/07

4 VAC 20-510-20 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1958 2/1/07

4 VAC 20-510-33 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07

4 VAC 20-510-35 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07

4 VAC 20-510-37 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07

4 VAC 20-530-10 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07-3/1/07
4 VAC 20-530-20 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07-3/1/07
4 VAC 20-530-31 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1960 2/1/07-3/1/07
4 VAC 20-530-31 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2144 2/1/07-3/1/07
4 VAC 20-530-31 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2482 3/1/07

4 VAC 20-530-32 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1960 2/1/07-3/1/07
4 VAC 20-530-32 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2145 2/1/07-3/1/07
4 VAC 20-530-32 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2482 3/1/07

4 VAC 20-610-30 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1660 2/1/07

4 VAC 20-610-60 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1662 2/1/07

4 VAC 20-620-50 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2483 3/1/07

4 VAC 20-620-60 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2483 3/1/07

4 VAC 20-620-70 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2483 3/1/07

4 VAC 20-670-15 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2739 3/30/07

4 VAC 20-670-30 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2739 3/30/07

4 VAC 20-720-10 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2987 5/1/07-5/30/07
4 VAC 20-720-10 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3447 5/23/07

4 VAC 20-720-20 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2987 5/1/07-5/30/07
4 VAC 20-720-40 emer Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1540 1/1/07-1/30/07
4 VAC 20-720-50 emer Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1541 1/1/07-1/30/07
4 VAC 20-720-60 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2988 5/1/07-5/30/07
4 VAC 20-720-60 through 4 VAC 20-720-110 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3447-3449 5/23/07

4 VAC 20-720-70 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2989 5/1/07-5/30/07
4 VAC 20-720-90 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2989 5/1/07-5/30/07
4 VAC 20-720-105 emer Added 23:19 VA.R. 2989 5/1/07-5/30/07
4 VAC 20-720-105 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3449 5/23/07

4 VAC 20-720-110 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2990 5/1/07-5/30/07
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Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed

| SECTION NUMBER | ACTION | CITE | EFFECTIVE DATE |
4 VAC 20-752-20 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2990 5/3/07
4 VAC 20-752-30 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2991 5/3/07
4 VAC 20-890-20 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2991 7/1/07
4 VAC 20-890-35 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2991 7/1/07
4 VAC 20-890-40 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2991 7/1/07
4 VAC 20-890-45 Added 23:19 VA.R. 2992 7/1/07
4 VAC 20-900-25 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2992 7/1/07
4 VAC 20-900-35 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2993 7/1/07
4 VAC 20-950-40 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1961 2/1/07-3/1/07
4 VAC 20-950-40 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2484 3/1/07
4 VAC 20-950-47 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1961 2/1/07-3/1/07
4 VAC 20-950-47 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2484 3/1/07
4 VAC 20-950-47 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2740 3/30/07
4 VAC 20-950-48.2 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1961 2/1/07-3/1/07
4 VAC 20-950-48.2 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2484 3/1/07
4 VAC 20-950-48 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2740 3/30/07
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1663 2/1/07
4 VAC 20-1110-10 through 4 VAC 20-1110-50 Added 23:19 VA.R. 2994 5/1/07
4 VAC 20-1120-10 through 4 VAC 20-1120-50 Added 23:19 VA.R. 2994-2995 5/1/07
4 VAC 20-1120-20 emer Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3449 5/29/07-6/28/07
4 VAC 20-1120-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3871 6/28/07
4 VAC 25-20 (Forms) Amended 23:24 VA.R. 3968 --
4 VAC 25-20-420 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2146 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-50-10 through 4 VAC 25-50-110 Repealed 23:22 VA.R. 3696 8/8/07
4 VAC 25-130 (Forms) Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3370-3372 --
4 VAC 25-130-700.12 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2146 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-130-773.21 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2147 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-130-775.11 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2147 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-130-775.13 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2148 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-130-777.17 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3696 8/8/07
4 VAC 25-130-784.20 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2148 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-130-785.25 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2592 5/16/07
4 VAC 25-130-800.51 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2149 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-130-816.105 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2150 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-130-816.116 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2592 5/16/07
4 VAC 25-130-817.11 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2150 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-130-817.64 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2151 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-130-817.116 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2594 5/16/07
4 VAC 25-130-817.121 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2151 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-130-842.15 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2153 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-130-843.12 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2153 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-130-843.13 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2154 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-130-843.15 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2155 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-130-843.16 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2156 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-130-845.13 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2156 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-130-845.15 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2158 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-130-845.18 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2158 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-130-845.19 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2159 4/4/07
4 VAC 25-130-846.14 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2159 4/4/07
Title 5. Corporations
5 VAC 5-30-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3872 7/1/07
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5 VAC 5-30-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3872 7/1/07
5 VAC 5-30-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3873 7/1/07
5 VAC 5-30-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3873 7/1/07
5 VAC 5-30-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3874 7/1/07
5 VAC 5-30-60 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3874 7/1/07
5 VAC 5-30-70 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3875 7/1/07
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections
6 VAC 15-20-10 through 6 VAC 15-20-230 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3697-3703 8/9/07
6 VAC 40-50-10 through 6VAC40-50-80 emer Added 23:23 VA.R. 3876 7/1/06-12/29/07
Title 8. Education
8 VAC 20-160-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3876 8/27/07
8 VAC 20-160-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3878 8/27/07
8 VAC 20-160-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3878 8/27/07
8 VAC 20-160-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3879 8/27/07
8 VAC 20-160-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3879 8/27/07
8 VAC 20-160-60 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3879 8/27/07
8 VAC 20-350-10 through 8 VAC 20-350-660 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 1962 5/8/07
8 VAC 20-700-10 through 8 VAC 20-700-50 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1541-1543 2/21/07
8 VAC 20-710-10 through 8 VAC 20-710-30 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1543-1544 2/21/07
8 VAC 40-140-10 through 8 VAC 40-140-90 Added 23:22 VA.R. 3704-3706 7/1/07
Title 9. Environment
9 VAC 5-20-21 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3456 8/1/07
9 VAC 5-30-15 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3454 8/1/07
9 VAC 5-30-60 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3454 8/1/07
9 VAC 5-30-65 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3454 8/1/07
9 VAC 5-30-66 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3455 8/1/07
9 VAC 5-40-7550 through 9 VAC 5-40-7710 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3460-3463 8/1/07
9 VAC 5-50-400 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2742 6/1/07
9 VAC 5-50-410 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2742 6/1/07
9 VAC 5-60-60 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2747 6/1/07
9 VAC 5-60-90 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2748 6/1/07
9 VAC 5-60-100 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2748 6/1/07
9 VAC 5-140-1010 through 9 VAC 5-140-1060 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2279-2291 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-1061 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2291 *
9 VAC 5-140-1062 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2291 *
9 VAC 5-140-1070 through 9 VAC 5-140-1150 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2292-2295 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-1200 through 9 VAC 5-140-1240 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2295-2296 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-1400 through 9 VAC 5-140-1430 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2296-2302 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-1500 through 9 VAC 5-140-1570 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2302-2306 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-1600 through 9 VAC 5-140-1620 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2307 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-1700 through 9 VAC 5-140-1750 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2307-2312 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-1800 through 9 VAC 5-140-1880 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2312-2317 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-2060 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2329 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-2061 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2331 *
9 VAC 5-140-2062 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2332 *
9 VAC 5-140-2070 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2333 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-2080 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2333 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-2100 through 9 VAC 5-140-2150 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2333-2336 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-2200 through 9 VAC 5-140-2240 Added 23:14 VA R. 2336-2337 4/18/07

*
Effective Date Suspended 23:19
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9 VAC 5-140-2400 through 9 VAC 5-140-2430 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2337-2342 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-2500 through 9 VAC 5-140-2570 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2342-2347 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-2600 through 9 VAC 5-140-2620 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2347 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-2700 through 9 VAC 5-140-2750 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2347-2353 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-2800 through 9 VAC 5-140-2880 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2353-2359 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-3010 through 9 VAC 5-140-3060 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2359-2368 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-3061 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2370 *
9 VAC 5-140-3062 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2371 *
9 VAC 5-140-3070 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2371 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-3080 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2371 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-3100 through 9 VAC 5-140-3150 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2371-2374 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-3200 through 9 VAC 5-140-3240 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2374-2375 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-3400 through 9 VAC 5-140-3420 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2375 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-3500 through 9 VAC 5-140-3570 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2375-2380 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-3600 through 9 VAC 5-140-3620 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2380-2381 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-3700 through 9 VAC 5-140-3750 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2381-2386 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-3800 through 9 VAC 5-140-3880 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2386-2391 4/18/07
9 VAC 5-140-5010 through 9 VAC 5-140-5750 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2160-2186 4/4/07
9 VAC 5-140-1020 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -
9 VAC 5-140-1061 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -
9 VAC 5-140-1062 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -
9 VAC 5-140-1130 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -
9 VAC 5-140-1420 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -
9 VAC 5-140-1700 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -
9 VAC 5-140-1740 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -
9 VAC 5-140-2020 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -
9 VAC 5-140-2030 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -
9 VAC 5-140-2040 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -
9 VAC 5-140-2060 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -
9 VAC 5-140-2062 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -
9 VAC 5-140-2740 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -
9 VAC 5-140-3062 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -
9 VAC 5-140-3840 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -
9 VAC 5-140-5020 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -
9 VAC 5-140-5060 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -
9 VAC 5-140-5100 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -
9 VAC 5-140-5150 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -
9 VAC 5-140-5420 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -
9 VAC 5-140-5510 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -
9 VAC 5-140-5540 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -
9 VAC 5-140-5560 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -
9 VAC 5-140-5600 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -
9 VAC 5-151-10 through 9 VAC 5-151-70 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2755-2764 5/31/07
9 VAC 5-240-10 through 9 VAC 5-240-50 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2595-2596 5/16/07
9 VAC 20-110-90 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1665 3/21/07
9 VAC 20-110-110 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1665 3/21/07
9 VAC 20-200-10 through 9 VAC 20-200-70 Added 23:11 VA.R. 1666-1667 3/21/07
9 VAC 25-71-20 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2485 5/2/07
9 VAC 25-71-50 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2485 5/2/07
9 VAC 25-71-70 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2485 5/2/07
9 VAC 25-210-10 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3464 7/25/07
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9 VAC 25-210-50 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3468 7/25/07
9 VAC 25-210-60 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3469 7/25/07
9 VAC 25-210-75 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3473 7/25/07
9 VAC 25-210-80 through 9 VAC 25-210-115 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3474-3484 7/25/07
9 VAC 25-210-116 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3484 7/25/07
9 VAC 25-210-130 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3487 7/25/07
9 VAC 25-210-140 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3488 7/25/07
9 VAC 25-210-170 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3489 7/25/07
9 VAC 25-210-175 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3489 7/25/07
9 VAC 25-210-180 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3490 7/25/07
9 VAC 25-210-185 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3492 7/25/07
9 VAC 25-210-190 Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3492 7/25/07
9 VAC 25-210-200 Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3493 7/25/07
9 VAC 25-210-210 Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3493 7/25/07
9 VAC 25-210-220 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3493 7/25/07
9 VAC 25-210-230 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3493 7/25/07
9 VAC 25-210-260 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3494 7/25/07
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1669 3/21/07
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2486 5/2/07
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3881 10/22/07
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3888 10/22/07
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3895 10/22/07
9 VAC 25-720-60 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1966 5/21/07
9 VAC 25-720-80 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1670 3/21/07
9 VAC 25-720-80 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3901 10/22/07
9 VAC 25-720-90 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1671 3/21/07
9 VAC 25-720-100 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1671 3/21/07
9 VAC 25-720-130 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2487 5/2/07
Title 10. Finance and Financial Institutions
10 VAC 5-40-50 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2882 5/1/07
10 VAC 5-160-40 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2187 2/10/07
Title 11. Gaming
11 VAC 10-20-310 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2883 5/31/07
11 VAC 10-20-330 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2884 5/31/07
11 VAC 10-20-340 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2891 5/31/07
11 VAC 10-100-30 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2892 5/31/07
11 VAC 10-110-30 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2893 5/31/07
11 VAC 10-110-90 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2893 5/31/07
11 VAC 10-120-80 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2894 5/31/07
11 VAC 10-130-10 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1672 1/10/07
11 VAC 10-130-10 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2894 4/30/07
11 VAC 10-130-60 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1673 1/10/07
11 VAC 10-140-12 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2896 5/31/07
11 VAC 10-140-15 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2896 5/31/07
11 VAC 10-140-210 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2896 5/31/07
11 VAC 10-150-12 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2897 5/31/07
11 VAC 10-150-15 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2897 5/31/07
11 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3164 5/18/07
11 VAC 10-180-20 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3164 5/18/07
11 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3166 5/18/07
11 VAC 10-180-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3167 5/18/07
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Title 12. Health
12 VAC 5-70-10 through 12 VAC 5-70-50 Repealed 23:13 VA.R. 2187 4/4/07
12 VAC 5-71-10 through 12 VAC 5-71-190 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2188-2195 4/4/07
12 VAC 5-90 (Forms) Erratum 23:15 VA.R. 2507-2509 --
12 VAC 5-90-10 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2488 5/2/07
12 VAC 5-90-40 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2493 5/2/07
12 VAC 5-90-80 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2493 5/2/07
12 VAC 5-90-90 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2497 5/2/07
12 VAC 5-90-100 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2500 5/2/07
12 VAC 5-90-103 Added 23:15 VA.R. 2500 5/2/07
12 VAC 5-90-107 Added 23:15 VA.R. 2502 5/2/07
12 VAC 5-90-110 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2503 5/2/07
12 VAC 5-90-130 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2504 5/2/07
12 VAC 5-90-225 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2504 5/2/07
12 VAC 5-90-250 through 12 VAC 5-90-280 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2505-2506 5/2/07
12 VAC 5-90-330 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2506 5/2/07
12 VAC 5-90-350 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2507 5/2/07
12 VAC 5-90-360 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2507 5/2/07
12 VAC 5-125-10 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3904 9/1/07
12 VAC 5-125-20 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3906 9/1/07
12 VAC 5-125-30 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3906 9/1/07
12 VAC 5-125-40 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3906 9/1/07
12 VAC 5-125-50 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3907 9/1/07
12 VAC 5-125-60 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3908 9/1/07
12 VAC 5-125-70 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3908 9/1/07
12 VAC 5-125-80 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3908 9/1/07
12 VAC 5-125-90 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3908 9/1/07
12 VAC 5-125-100 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3916 9/1/07
12 VAC 5-125-110 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3917 9/1/07
12 VAC 5-125-120 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3917 9/1/07
12 VAC 5-125-130 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3917 9/1/07
12 VAC 5-125-140 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3918 9/1/07
12 VAC 5-125-150 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3918 9/1/07
12 VAC 5-125-160 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3918 9/1/07
12 VAC 5-125-170 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3918 9/1/07
12 VAC 5-125-180 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3919 9/1/07
12 VAC 5-190-10 through 12 VAC 5-190-690 Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3498 7/25/07
12 VAC 5-191-10 through 12 VAC 5-191-320 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3498-3509 7/25/07
12 VAC 5-371-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1544 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-371-20 Repealed 23:10 VA.R. 1546 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-371-30 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1547 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-371-40 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1547 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-371-50 Repealed 23:10 VA.R. 1548 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-371-60 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1548 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-371-70 through 12 VAC 5-371-130 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1548-1551 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-371-150 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1551 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-371-160 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1551 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-371-190 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1551 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-371-200 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1552 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-371-400 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1552 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-371-410 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1552 3/1/07
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12 VAC 5-410-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1554 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-30 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-70 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-80 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-100 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-110 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-130 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-140 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-150 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1556 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-180 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1556 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-210 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1556 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-220 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1557 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-270 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1558 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-442 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1558 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-445 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1559 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-650 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1560 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-720 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1560 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-760 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1560 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-1150 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1560 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-1170 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1561 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-1350 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1561 3/1/07
12 VAC 5-410-1380 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1561 3/1/07
12 VAC 30-10-140 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2653 7/1/07
12 VAC 30-10-560 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2396 9/1/07
12 VAC 30-20-140 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2397 9/1/07
12 VAC 30-30-20 emer Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3169 5/30/07-5/29/08
12 VAC 30-30-60 Added 23:11 VA.R. 1673 3/7/07
12 VAC 30-40-10 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1674 3/7/07
12 VAC 30-40-20 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2897 7/1/07
12 VAC 30-40-105 emer Added 23:20 VA.R. 3170 5/30/07-5/29/08
12 VAC 30-40-280 emer Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3171 5/30/07-5/29/08
12 VAC 30-40-290 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2398 9/1/07
12 VAC 30-40-290 emer Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3172 5/30/07-5/29/08
12 VAC 30-50-20 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2654 7/1/07
12 VAC 30-50-35 Added 23:11 VAR. 1675 3/7/07
12 VAC 30-50-60 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2654 7/1/07
12 VAC 30-50-75 Added 23:11 VA.R. 1676 3/7/07
12 VAC 30-50-130 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3518 1/1/08
12 VAC 30-50-141 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3510 7/1/07-6/30/08
12 VAC 30-50-151 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3510 7/1/07-6/30/08
12 VAC 30-50-181 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3510 7/1/07-6/30/08
12 VAC 30-50-228 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3511 7/1/07-6/30/08
12 VAC 30-50-320 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2654 7/1/07
12 VAC 30-50-321 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2655 7/1/07
12 VAC 30-50-325 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2655 7/1/07
12 VAC 30-50-328 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2655 7/1/07
12 VAC 30-50-461 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3512 7/1/07-6/30/08
12 VAC 30-50-490 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3175 7/11/07
12 VAC 30-50-530 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1676 3/7/07
12 VAC 30-60-250 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3513 7/1/07-6/30/08
12 VAC 30-60-255 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3515 7/1/07-6/30/08
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12 VAC 30-70-311 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3003 7/1/07

12 VAC 30-70-321 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3003 7/1/07

12 VAC 30-70-331 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3225 8/25/07

12 VAC 30-70-341 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3003 7/1/07

12 VAC 30-70-391 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3004 7/1/07

12 VAC 30-80-30 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3232 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-80-32 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3516 7/1/07-6/30/08
12 VAC 30-80-95 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3520 1/1/08

12 VAC 30-80-190 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3004 7/1/07

12 VAC 30-80-190 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3225 8/25/07

12 VAC 30-80-190 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3242 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-90-31 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3005 7/1/07

12 VAC 30-90-41 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3226 8/25/07

12 VAC 30-90-271 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3229 8/25/07

12 VAC 30-90-290 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3230 8/25/07

12 VAC 30-90-264 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2400 4/18/07

12 VAC 30-110-950 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2898 7/1/07

12 VAC 30-120 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4080 -

12 VAC 30-120-61 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2655 7/1/07

12 VAC 30-120-62 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2657 7/1/07

12 VAC 30-120-64 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2659 7/1/07

12 VAC 30-120-65 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2660 7/1/07

12 VAC 30-120-66 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2660 7/1/07

12 VAC 30-120-68 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2661 7/1/07

12 VAC 30-120-310 emer Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3516 7/1/07-6/30/08
12 VAC 30-120-370 emer Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4029 9/1/07-8/31/08
12 VAC 30-120-380 emer Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3517 7/1/07-6/30/08
12 VAC 30-120-380 emer Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4032 9/1/07-8/31/08
12 VAC 30-120-700 through 12 VAC 30-120-750 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3177-3192 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-120-752 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3192 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-120-753 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3194 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-120-754 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3195 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-120-756 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3197 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-120-758 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3198 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-120-760 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3198 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-120-762 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3199 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-120-764 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3199 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-120-766 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3201 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-120-768 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3204 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-120-770 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3206 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-120-772 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3211 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-120-774 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3211 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-120-776 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3213 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-120-780 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3215 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-120-790 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3216 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-120-1600 through 12 VAC 30-120-1660  Added 23:20 VA.R. 3244-3251 7/11/07

12 VAC 30-130-900 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1967 3/21/07

12 VAC 30-130-910 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1968 3/21/07

12 VAC 30-130-930 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1968 3/21/07

12 VAC 30-135-10 through 12 VAC 30-135-40 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3520-3522 11/1/07

12 VAC 30-135-80 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3522 11/1/07
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12 VAC 30-141-740 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3006 7/1/07
12 VAC 35-45-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1562 2/21/07
12 VAC 35-45-25 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1565 2/21/07
12 VAC 35-45-70 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1564 2/21/07
12 VAC 35-45-80 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1564 2/21/07
12 VAC 35-45-210 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1564 2/21/07
12 VAC 35-105-20 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1567 2/21/07
12 VAC 35-105-30 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1575 2/21/07
12 VAC 35-105-115 emer Added 23:10 VA.R. 1566 1/3/07-1/2/08
12 VAC 35-105-590 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1575 2/21/07
12 VAC 35-105-660 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1576 2/21/07
12 VAC 35-105-925 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3252 7/11/07
12 VAC 35-210-10 through 12 VAC 35-210-120 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3525-3529 7/25/07
Title 13. Housing
13 VAC 5-31 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4079 -
13 VAC 5-91 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4080 -
13 VAC 5-111-10 through 13 VAC 5-111-400 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 1971 3/21/07
13 VAC 5-112-10 through 13 VAC 5-112-560 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1971-1994 3/21/07
Title 14. Insurance
14 VAC 5-200-20 Repealed 23:17 VA.R. 2766 9/1/07
14 VAC 5-200-30 through 14 VAC 5-200-60 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2766-2770 9/1/07
14 VAC 5-200-70 through 14 VAC 5-200-90 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2770-2774 9/1/07
14 VAC 5-200-110 Amended 23:17 VAR. 2774 9/1/07
14 VAC 5-200-120 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2777 9/1/07
14 VAC 5-200-153 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2777 9/1/07
14 VAC 5-200-170 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2780 9/1/07
14 VAC 5-200-175 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2781 9/1/07
14 VAC 5-200-181 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2782 9/1/07
14 VAC 5-200-183 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2782 9/1/07
14 VAC 5-200-185 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2783 9/1/07
14 VAC 5-200-187 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2785 9/1/07
14 VAC 5-200-200 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2786 9/1/07
14 VAC 5-200-201 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2788 9/1/07
14 VAC 5-200-205 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2788 9/1/07
14 VAC 5-215-20 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3768 7/1/07
14 VAC 5-215-30 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3768 7/1/07
14 VAC 5-215-50 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3769 7/1/07
14 VAC 5-215-60 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3770 7/1/07
14 VAC 5-215-80 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3770 7/1/07
14 VAC 5-321-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1577 1/1/07
14 VAC 5-321-20 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1577 1/1/07
14 VAC 5-321-30 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1578 1/1/07
14 VAC 5-321-70 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1578 1/1/07
14 VAC 5-322-10 through 14 VAC 5-322-50 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1579-1581 1/1/07
Title 16. Labor and Employment
16 VAC 15-21-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3933 8/23/07
16 VAC 25-55-10 and 16 VAC 25-55-20 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1995-1996 3/22/07
16 VAC 25-75-10 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3544 7/26/07
16 VAC 25-90-1910.268 (b) (7) Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3545 7/26/07
16 VAC 25-90-1910.134 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1000 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1996 3/21/07
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16 VAC 25-90-1910.1001 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1017 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1018 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1025 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1027 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1028 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1029 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1043 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1044 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1045 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1047 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1048 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1050 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1052 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-100-1915.5 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1998 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-100-1915.505 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1998 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-100-1915.507 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1998 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-100-1915.1000 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1996 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-100-1915.1001 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-175-1926.55 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1996 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-175-1926.60 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-175-1926.62 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1002, Appendix A of Subpart W Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1999 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1101 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1127 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-190-1928.52 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1999 3/21/07
16 VAC 25-190-1928.53, Appendix B to Subpart C Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1999 3/21/07
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing

18 VAC 5-10-10 through 18 VAC 5-10-90 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1678-1680 4/23/07
18 VAC 10-20-230 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3548 9/10/07
18 VAC 10-20-420 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3550 8/1/07
18 VAC 10-20-440 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3551 8/1/07
18 VAC 10-20-450 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3551 8/1/07
18 VAC 15-20 (Forms) Added 23:15 VA.R. 2514 --

18 VAC 15-30 (Forms) Amended 23:15 VAR. 2514 --

18 VAC 25-21-80 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3557 8/1/07
18 VAC 25-21-90 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3558 8/1/07
18 VAC 25-21-180 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3558 8/1/07
18 VAC 25-21-230 through 18 VAC 25-21-280 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3559-3560 8/1/07
18 VAC 30-10-10 through 18 VAC 30-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3276-3277 8/25/07
18 VAC 30-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3277 8/25/07
18 VAC 30-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3277 8/25/07
18 VAC 30-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3277 8/25/07
18 VAC 41-60-10 through 18 VAC 41-60-220 Added 23:12 VA.R. 2000-2009 4/1/07
18 VAC 45-20-40 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3562 9/10/07
18 VAC 47-20-10 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3563 8/1/07
18 VAC 47-20-35 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3564 8/1/07
18 VAC 47-20-210 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3564 8/1/07
18 VAC 47-20-240 Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3564 8/1/07
18 VAC 47-20-250 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3564 8/1/07
18 VAC 47-20-260 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3565 8/1/07
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18 VAC 47-20-270 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3565 8/1/07
18 VAC 50-30-10 through 18 VAC 50-30-50 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2020-2025 4/1/07
18 VAC 50-30-60 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2025 4/1/07
18 VAC 50-30-70 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2025 4/1/07
18 VAC 50-30-80 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2025 4/1/07
18 VAC 50-30-90 through 18 VAC 50-30-150 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2026-2028 4/1/07
18 VAC 50-30-180 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2028 4/1/07
18 VAC 50-30-185 Added 23:12 VA.R. 2028 4/1/07
18 VAC 50-30-190 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2028 4/1/07
18 VAC 50-30-200 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2029 4/1/07
18 VAC 50-30-210 through 18 VAC 50-30-260 Added 23:12 VA.R. 2030-2031 4/1/07
18 VAC 60-10-10 through 18 VAC 60-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3283-3284 8/25/07
18 VAC 60-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3284 8/25/07
18 VAC 60-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3284 8/25/07
18 VAC 60-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3284 8/25/07
18 VAC 60-20-71 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3934 8/22/07
18 VAC 60-20-180 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2510 5/2/07
18 VAC 60-20-210 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3286 8/25/07
18 VAC 65-40-10 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2031 3/21/07
18 VAC 65-40-40 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2031 3/21/07
18 VAC 65-40-90 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07
18 VAC 65-40-110 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07
18 VAC 65-40-130 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07
18 VAC 65-40-160 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07
18 VAC 65-40-220 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07
18 VAC 65-40-250 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07
18 VAC 65-40-300 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07
18 VAC 65-40-320 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2033 3/21/07
18 VAC 65-40-340 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2033 3/21/07
18 VAC 75-10-10 through 18 VAC 75-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3288-3290 8/25/07
18 VAC 75-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3290 8/25/07
18 VAC 75-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3290 8/25/07
18 VAC 75-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3290 8/25/07
18 VAC 75-20-60 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3574 9/10/07
18 VAC 75-20-70 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3575 9/10/07
18 VAC 75-20-120 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3575 9/10/07
18 VAC 75-20-130 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3575 9/10/07
18 VAC 75-20-140 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3575 9/10/07
18 VAC 76-30-10 through 18 VAC 76-30-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3292-3294 8/25/07
18 VAC 76-30-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3294 8/25/07
18 VAC 76-30-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3294 8/25/07
18 VAC 76-30-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3294 8/25/07
18 VAC 85-10 through 18 VAC 85-10-70 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3296-3297 8/25/07
18 VAC 85-10-90 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3297 8/25/07
18 VAC 85-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3297 8/25/07
18 VAC 85-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3298 8/25/07
18 VAC 85-20-30 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3299 8/25/07
18 VAC 85-20-235 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1692 4/21/07
18 VAC 85-20-290 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2206 4/4/07
18 VAC 85-20-290 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3934 8/22/07
18 VAC 85-101-50 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2511 5/2/07
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18 VAC 85-130-10 through 18 VAC 85-130-170 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1582-1586 2/21/07
18 VAC 90-10-10 through 18 VAC 90-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3307-3309 8/25/07
18 VAC 90-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3309 8/25/07
18 VAC 90-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3309 8/25/07
18 VAC 90-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3309 8/25/07
18 VAC 90-20-60 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2033 3/21/07
18 VAC 90-25-15 through 18 VAC 90-25-80 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3576-3581 7/25/07
18 VAC 90-25-71 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3580 7/25/07
18 VAC 90-25-72 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3580 7/25/07
18 VAC 90-25-81 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3581 7/25/07
18 VAC 90-25-100 through 18 VAC 90-25-130 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3581-3583 7/25/07
18 VAC 90-30-120 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2404 4/18/07
18 VAC 90-30-230 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2034 3/21/07
18 VAC 90-40-140 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2034 3/21/07
18 VAC 90-60-10 through 18 VAC 90-60-120 Added 23:19 VA.R. 3008-3012 7/1/07
18 VAC 90-60-120 Erratum 23:20 VA.R. 3378 -

18 VAC 105-10-10 through 18 VAC 105-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3315-3316 8/25/07
18 VAC 105-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3316 8/25/07
18 VAC 105-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3316 8/25/07
18 VAC 105-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3316 8/25/07
18 VAC 105-20-10 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3791 9/24/07
18 VAC 110-10-10 through 18 VAC 110-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3318-3320 8/25/07
18 VAC 110-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3320 8/25/07
18 VAC 110-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3320 8/25/07
18 VAC 110-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3320 8/25/07
18 VAC 110-20-285 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2791 5/30/07
18 VAC 112-10-10 through 18 VAC 112-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3327-3329 8/25/07
18 VAC 112-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3329 8/25/07
18 VAC 112-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3329 8/25/07
18 VAC 112-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3329 8/25/07
18 VAC 115-10-10 through 18 VAC 115-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3331-3332 8/25/07
18 VAC 115-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3332 8/25/07
18 VAC 115-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3333 8/25/07
18 VAC 115-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3333 8/25/07
18 VAC 115-20-20 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2404 4/18/07
18 VAC 115-20-130 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3584 7/25/07
18 VAC 115-30-30 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2405 4/18/07
18 VAC 115-40-20 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2405 4/18/07
18 VAC 115-50-20 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2405 4/18/07
18 VAC 115-50-110 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3585 7/25/07
18 VAC 115-60-20 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2406 4/18/07
18 VAC 115-60-130 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3587 7/25/07
18 VAC 120-30-10 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3589 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-30 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3590 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-40 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3590 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-50 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3591 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-55 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3591 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-90 Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3592 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-100 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3588 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-100 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3592 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-130 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3592 8/1/07
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18 VAC 120-30-150 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3592 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-160 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3592 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-180 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3592 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-190 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3593 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-200 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3593 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-220 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3593 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-230 Amended 23:21 VAR. 3594 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-240 Amended 23:21 VAR. 3594 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-250 Amended 23:21 VAR. 3594 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-270 Amended 23:21 VAR. 3594 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-280 Amended 23:21 VAR. 3595 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-290 Added 23:21 VAR. 3595 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-300 Added 23:21 VAR. 3595 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-30-310 Added 23:21 VAR. 3595 8/1/07
18 VAC 120-40-10 Amended 23:24 VAR. 4038 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-15 Added 23:24 VAR. 4039 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-20 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4039 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-80 through 18VAC120-40-360 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4040-4052 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-221 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4043 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-222 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4043 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-295 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4048 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-342 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4050 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-370 Repealed 23:24 VA.R. 4052 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-380 Repealed 23:24 VA.R. 4052 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-385 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4052 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-390 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-400 Repealed 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-410 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-411 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-411.1 through 18VAC120-40-411.21  Added 23:24 VA .R. 4054-4064 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-415 Added 23:24 VAR. 4064 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-415.1 Added 23:24 VAR. 4065 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-415.2 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4065 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-415.3 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4065 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-420 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4066 9/5/07
18 VAC 120-40-430 Amended 23:24 VAR. 4066 9/5/07
18 VAC 125-10-10 through 18 VAC 125-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3346-3348 8/25/07
18 VAC 125-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3348 8/25/07
18 VAC 125-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3348 8/25/07
18 VAC 125-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3348 8/25/07
18 VAC 125-20-30 Amended 23:12 VAR. 2035 3/21/07
18 VAC 125-30-20 Amended 23:12 VAR. 2035 3/21/07
18 VAC 135-50-10 Amended 23:22 VAR. 3794 9/22/07
18 VAC 135-50-20 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3795 9/22/07
18 VAC 135-50-220 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3795 9/22/07
18 VAC 135-50-400 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3795 9/22/07
18 VAC 140-10-10 through 18 VAC 140-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3350-3351 8/25/07
18 VAC 140-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3351 8/25/07
18 VAC 140-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3352 8/25/07
18 VAC 140-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3352 8/25/07
18 VAC 145-30-40 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3352 7/12/07
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18 VAC 150-10-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3937 10/7/07
18 VAC 150-10-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3937 10/7/07
18 VAC 150-10-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3937 10/7/07
18 VAC 150-10-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07
18 VAC 150-10-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07
18 VAC 150-10-60 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07
18 VAC 150-10-70 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07
18 VAC 150-10-80 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07
18 VAC 150-10-100 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3939 10/7/07
18 VAC 150-10-110 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3939 10/7/07
18 VAC 150-10-120 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3939 10/7/07
Title 19. Public Safety
19 VAC 30-20-80 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1587 3/1/07
Title 21. Securities and Retail Franchising
21 VAC 5-10 Erratum 23:18 VA.R. 2935 -
21 VAC 5-10-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3940 7/1/07
21 VAC 5-20 Erratum 23:18 VA.R. 2935 --
21 VAC 5-20-65 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3942 7/1/07
21 VAC 5-20-95 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3942 7/1/07
21 VAC 5-20-280 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3943 7/1/07
21 VAC 5-20-330 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3947 7/1/07
21 VAC 5-80-65 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3949 7/1/07
21 VAC 5-80-160 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3950 7/1/07
21 VAC 5-80-200 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3954 7/1/07
21 VAC 5-110 Erratum 23:18 VA.R. 2935 --
21 VAC 5-110 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4079 --
21 VAC 5-110-65 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3959 7/1/07
21 VAC 5-110-75 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3960 7/1/07
Title 22. Social Services
22 VAC 15-10-40 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1587 3/1/07
22 VAC 15-10-50 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1587 3/1/07
22 VAC 15-30-10 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3353 7/11/07
22 VAC 15-30-310 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3356 7/11/07
22 VAC 15-30-580 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3358 7/11/07
22 VAC 40-20-10 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3364 8/1/07
22 VAC 40-25-10 through 22 VAC 40-25-70 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3360-3364 8/1/07
22 VAC 40-25-45 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3363 8/1/07
22 VAC 40-35-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3962 9/1/07
22 VAC 40-35-80 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3965 9/1/07
22 VAC 40-35-90 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3965 9/1/07
22 VAC 40-35-100 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3966 9/1/07
22 VAC 40-41-10 through 22 VAC 40-41-50 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3796-3799 9/1/07
22 VAC 40-41-55 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3799 9/1/07
22 VAC 40-41-60 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3799 9/1/07
22 VAC 40-540-10 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3364 8/1/07
22 VAC 40-600-10 through 22 VAC 40-600-240 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3364 8/1/07
22 VAC 40-601-10 through 22 VAC 40-601-40 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3365-3366 8/1/07
22 VAC 40-740-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1588 3/1/07
22 VAC 40-740-15 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1591 3/1/07
22 VAC 40-740-20 Repealed 23:10 VA.R. 1592 3/1/07
22 VAC 40-740-21 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1592 3/1/07
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| SECTION NUMBER | ACTION | CITE | EFFECTIVE DATE |
22 VAC 40-740-30 Repealed 23:10 VA.R. 1593 3/1/07
22 VAC 40-740-31 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1593 3/1/07
22 VAC 40-740-40 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1593 3/1/07
22 VAC 40-740-50 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1594 3/1/07
22 VAC 40-740-60 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1595 3/1/07
22 VAC 40-740-70 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1596 3/1/07
22 VAC 40-740-80 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1596 3/1/07
22 VAC 40-880-200 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3367 8/1/07
22 VAC 40-880-250 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3367 8/1/07
22 VAC 40-880-270 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3367 8/1/07
22 VAC 40-880-350 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3368 8/1/07
22 VAC 40-880-620 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3369 8/1/07
Title 23. Taxation
23 VAC 10-210-485 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4069 9/6/07
23 VAC 10-210-6041 Amended 23:24 VA .R. 4068 9/6/07
23 VAC 10-210-6042 Amended 23:24 VA .R. 4069 9/6/07
23 VAC 10-210-6043 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4069 9/6/07
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles
24 VAC 27-10-10 through 24VAC27-10-120 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4071-4075 9/20/07
24 VAC 30-155 Erratum 23:21 VA.R. 3619 --
24 VAC 30-155-10 through 24 VAC 30-155-100 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2915-2930 7/1/07
24 VAC 30-320 Repealed 23:16 VA.R. 2665 3/22/07
24 VAC 30-325-10 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2665 3/22/07
24 VAC 30-325-20 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2666 3/22/07
24 VAC 30-330 Repealed 23:16 VA.R. 2665 3/22/07
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION

Symbol Key
T Indicates entries since last publication of the Virginia Register

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND
CORRECTIONS

STATE BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE

T Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Juvenile Justice
intends to consider amending regulations entitled 6VAC35-
20, Regulations Governing the Monitoring, Approval and
Certification of Juvenile Justice Programs. The purpose of
the proposed action is to authorize the Director of the
Department of Juvenile Justice to issue orders of summary
suspension of a license or certificate to operate a group home
or other residential facility for children in cases of immediate
and substantial threat to the health, safety, and welfare of
residents. This action is necessary due to legislation enacted
during the 2006 General Assembly session. Chapter 168 of
the 2006 Acts of Assembly (SB 190) amends §66-24 of the
Code of Virginia relating to summary suspension of licenses
or certificates for group homes and residential facilities under
certain circumstances.

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: §66-24 of the Code of Virginia.
Public comments may be submitted until September 30, 2007.

Contact: Deron Phipps, Legislative and Regulatory Manager,
Department of Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 1110, Richmond,
VA 23218-1110, telephone (804) 786-6407, FAX (804) 371-
0773, or email deron.phipps@djj.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-639; Filed August 6, 2007, 2:17 p.m.
BOARD OF FORENSIC SCIENCE

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the Forensic Science Board intends
to consider promulgating regulations entitled 6VAC40-60,
Regulations for Obtaining Information from the Data
Bank and Procedures for Verification and Authorization
of Persons Requesting Information from the Data Bank.
The purpose of the proposed action is to describe the process
for obtaining information from the DNA data bank and for
verifying the authority of persons requesting the release of
information from the DNA data bank. Specification of the
personnel with access to the DNA data bank along with
samples is also contained in the regulation.

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: §19.2-310.5 of the Code of Virginia.
Public comments may be submitted until September 5, 2007

Contact: Michele M. Gowdy, Department Counsel,
Department of Forensic Science, 700 North 5th St.,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6848, FAX (804)
786-6857, or email michele.gowdy@dfs.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-; Filed July 9, 2007, 1:45 p.m.

L 4 L 4

TITLE 8. EDUCATION
STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education
intends to consider promulgating regulations entitled
8VAC20-720, Regulations Governing Local School Boards
and School Divisions, and repealing regulations entitled
8VAC20-150, Management of the Student's Scholastic
Record in the Public Schools of Virginia, 8VAC20-170,
Regulations Governing Instructional Materials - Selection
and Utilization By Local School Boards, 8VAC20-180,
Regulations Governing School Community Programs,
8VAC20-240, Regulations Governing School Activity
Funds, 8VAC20-250, Regulations Governing the Testing
of Sight and Hearing of Pupils, 8VAC20-270, Regulations
Governing Textbook Fund Management and Handling on
Local Level, 8VAC20-310, Rules Governing Instructions
Concerning Drugs and Substance Abuse, 8VAC20-320,
Regulations Governing Physical and Health Education,
8VAC20-390, Rules Governing Division Superintendent of
Schools, 8VAC20-410, Regulations Governing Allowable
Credit for Teaching Experience, 8VAC20-420,
Regulations Governing Personnel in Public School
Libraries Operated Under Joint Contract Under Control
of Local School Board or Boards, 8VACZ20-460,
Regulations Governing Sick Leave Plan for Teachers,
8VAC20-490, Regulations Governing School Boards
Local, 8VAC20-565, Regulations for the Protection of
Students as Participants in Human Research. The purpose
of the proposed action is to repeal outdated regulations and
consolidate necessary sections of various regulations into new
regulations entitled Regulations Governing Local School
Boards and School Divisions.
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The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: §22.1-16 of Code of Virginia.
Public comments may be submitted until September 5, 2007.

Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy &
Communications, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120,
101 N. 14th St., 25th Floor, Richmond, VA, 23219, telephone

804-225-2540, FAX 804-225-2524, or email
margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov.
VA.R. Doc. No. R0O7-740; Filed July 10, 2007, 12:26 p.m.
. .

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT
STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

T Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board
intends to consider amending regulations entitled 9VAC25-
580, Underground Storage Tanks: Technical Standards
and Corrective Action Requirements. The purpose of the
proposed action is to amend the technical standards and
corrective actions requirements for underground storage tanks
to incorporate requirements of the federal Energy Policy Act
of 2005.

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: §§62-1.44.15(10) and 62.1-44.44.34:8-9
of the Code of Virginia; Resources Conservation and
Recovery Act, Subtitle I, 40 CFR Parts 280 and 281.

Public comments may be submitted until September 26, 2007.

Contact: Russell Ellison, Department of Environmental
Quality, 629 E. Main St., P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA
23218, telephone (804) 698-4269, FAX (804) 698-4266, or
email rpellison@deq.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-749; Filed August 1, 2007, 9:10 a.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board
intends to consider amending regulations entitled 9VAC25-
640, Aboveground Storage Tank and Pipeline Facility
Financial Responsibility Requirements. The purpose of the
proposed action is to (i) reduce the cost of compliance with
the regulation by proposing modified compliance
requirements that are not less stringent than the existing
requirements, but may be more cost effective to secure; (ii)
propose administrative changes to the regulation that do not

affect the regulatory requirements; and (iii) clarify how
VPSTF is used to reimburse tank operators for the cost of
containment and cleanup of a petroleum release from an AST.

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: §§62.1-44.15 and 62.1-44.34:16 of the
Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until August 23, 2007.

Contact: Josiah Bennett, Department of Environmental
Quality, 629 E. Main St., P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 698-4205 or email
jgbennett@deq.virginia.gov.

VAR. Doc. No. R07-293; Filed July 1, 2007, Noon

T Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board
intends to consider regulations entitled 9VAC25-720, Water
Quality Management Planning Regulation. The purpose of
the proposed action is to consider amending the Water
Quality Management Planning Regulation in response to
petitions from Merck and the Frederick-Winchester Service
Authority to increase their total nitrogen and total phosphorus
waste load allocations set forth in 9VAC25-720-50.

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: §62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia 33;
USC §1313(e) of the Clean Water Act.

Public comments may be submitted until September 24, 2007.

Contact: John M. Kennedy, Department of Environmental
Quality, 629 E. Main St., P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA
23218, telephone (804) 698-4312, FAX (804) 698-4116, TTY
804-698-4021, or email jmkennedy@deq.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-805; Filed July 31, 2007, 1:43 p.m.

L 4 *

TITLE 12. HEALTH
STATE BOARD OF HEALTH

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to
consider amending regulations entitled: 12VVAC5-550, Board
of Health Regulations Governing Vital Records. The
purpose of the proposed action is to allow birth certificates to
denote names of parents under all circumstances in cases of
adoption.
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The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-249 through 32.1-276 of the
Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until September 5, 2007.

Contact: Janet Rainey, Director and State Registrar,
Department of Health, 1601 Willow Lawn Dr., Suite 275,
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 804-662-6207, FAX 804-
662-7262, or email janet.rainey@vdh.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-645; Filed July 10, 2007, 10:55 a.m.

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES

T Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance
Services intends to consider amending regulations entitled
12VAC30-10, State Plan Under Title XIX of the Social
Security Act Medical Assistance Program; General
Provisions, and 12VAC30-20, Administration of Medical
Assistance Services. The purpose of the proposed action is to
more closely reflect current agency practice based upon
language provided by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services. Specifically, the agency intends to delete the
definitions for estate and applicable medical assistance
payments, and to move these two definitions into a new
regulation section, 12VAC30-20-141. The agency also
intends to repeal 12VAC30-20-140 (Estate Recoveries) in
order to repromulgate this section in a restructured and
revised format. The agency intends to revise several of the
definitions included in the section and to add two new
definitions for cost effect and homestead of modest value.
Finally, DMAS intends to augment the language in this
section to add greater detail to enhance understanding the
Medicaid Estate Recovery process.

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: §32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; Title
XIX of the Social Security Act (42 USC 1396 et seq.) of the
Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until September 19, 2007.

Contact: Kathy Colley, DMAS Fiscal Division, Department
of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3839, FAX (804)
786-1680, or email kathy.colley@dmas.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-750; Filed July 24, 2007, 2:29 p.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical
Assistance Services intends to consider amending regulations
entitled 12VAC30-120, Waivered Services. The purpose of
the proposed action is to improve the service method through
which long-term care recipients obtain their acute care
medical needs. Based on the legislation, DMAS, in
consultation with the stakeholders, was directed to develop a
long-range blueprint for the development and implementation
of an integrated acute and long-term care system to include (i)
an explanation on how the various community and state level
stakeholders will be involved in the development and
implementation of the new program models; (ii) a description
of the various steps for development and implementation of
the program models, including a review of other states'
models, funding populations served, services provided,
education of clients and providers, and location of programs;
(iii) a description of how the existing system is funded and
how integration will impact funding; and (iv) a description of
the evaluation methods that will be used to ensure that the
program provides access, quality, and consumer satisfaction.

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of
Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until September 5, 2007.
Contact:  Adrienne  Fegans, Program  Operations
Administrator, Department of Medical Assistance Services,
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219,

telephone 804-786-4112, FAX 804-786-1680, or email
adrienne.fegans@dmas.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-729; Filed July 18,2007, 10:30 a.m.

* *

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT

VIRGINIA WORKERS' COMPENSATION
COMMISSION

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the Virginia Workers'
Compensation Commission intends to consider amending
regulations entitled 16VAC30-50, Rules of the Virginia
Workers' Compensation Commission. The purpose of the
proposed action is to establish permissible charges and other
requirements regarding the provision of medical records,
reports, and medical opinions in the workers' compensation
context.
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The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: §65.2-210 of the Code of Virginia.
Public comments may be submitted until August 23, 2007.

Contact:  Deborah  Hathcock,  Virginia =~ Workers'
Compensation Commission, Office of the Chair, 1000 DMV
Drive, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-8657,

FAX &77) 299-7360 or email
deborah.hathcock@vwec.state.va.us.
VA.R. Doc. No. R07-281; Filed June 19, 2007, 3:11 p.m.
. .

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD OF PHARMACY

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy intends to
consider amending regulations entitled: 18VAC110-20,
Regulations Governing the Practice of Pharmacy. The
purpose of the proposed action is to clarify existing
requirements, add new language to address problems that
have arisen, delete outmoded regulation, and revise
requirements to allow for newer technologies.

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 and Chapters 33 (§54.1-3300
et seq.) and 34 (§54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code
of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until September 5, 2007.

Contact: Elizabeth Scott Russell, RPh, Executive Director,
Department of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad Street, 5th
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone 804-662-9911,
FAX 804-662-9313, TTY 804-662-7197, or email
scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-753; Filed July 16, 2007, 1:21 p.m.
BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE

T Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Veterinary Medicine
intends to consider amending regulations entitled
18VAC150-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of
Veterinary Medicine. The purpose of the proposed action is
to update and clarify the board's regulations in accordance

with a periodic review conducted by a committee of the
board.

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 and Chapter 38 (§54.1-3800
et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until September 19, 2007.

Contact: Elizabeth Young, Executive Director, Board of
Veterinary Medicine, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor,
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9915, FAX

(804) 662-7098, TTY  804-662-7197, or email
elizabeth.young@dhp.virginia.gov.

VAR. Doc. No. R07-754; Filed July 31, 2007, 9:07 a.m.
2 L 2

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES
DEPARTMENT OF REHABILITATIVE SERVICES

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Rehabilitative
Services intends to consider amending regulations entitled:
22VVAC30-40, Protection of Participants in Human
Research. The purpose of the proposed action is to conform
to human subjects research federal regulations and to ensure
consistency with Code of Virginia requirements.

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: §54.5-5.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on
September 5, 2007.

Contact: Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Policy Analyst, Department
of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Dr.,
Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7612, FAX (804)
662-7696, or email vanessa.rakestraw(@drs.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-294; Filed July 3,2007, 11:02 a.m.
STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services
intends to consider amending regulations entitled 22VVAC40-
35, Virginia Independence Program. The purpose of the
proposed action is to amend the Virginia Independence
Program regulation by changing state code citations that
changed as a result of recodification, change terms from Aid
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to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) to the current
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), update
the definitions, remove obsolete language concerning the
receipt of federal waivers, remove references to the Virginia
Targeted Jobs Grant Program, update the exemptions from
the Virginia Initiative for Employment not Welfare program,
allow greater participation in educational activities when
participating in community work experience, expand
opportunities for hardship exceptions, and address situations
when an applicant for TANF names multiple possible
putative fathers.

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: §§63.1-105, 63.105.1, 63.105.3, 63.1-
105.4, 63.1.105.6, 63.1-105.7, 63.1-133.43, 63.1-133.46,
63.1,63.1-133.49, 63.1-133.51, and 63.1-133.53 of the Code
of Virginia.

Federal waivers were granted effective July 1, 1995, by the U.
S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and the
U. S. Department of Agriculture (USD), under Section 1115
of the Social Security Act and Section 17(b) of the Food
Stamp Act.

Public comments may be submitted until September 5, 2007.

Contact: Mark L. Golden, TANF Program Manager,
Department of Social Services, Division of Benefit Programs,
7 N. 8th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-
7385, FAX (804) 726-7356, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email
mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-732; Filed July 13,2007, 9:16 a.m.

T Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services
intends to consider promulgating regulations entitled
22VAC40-211, Resource, Foster and Adoptive Family
Home Approval Standards. The purpose of the proposed
action is to adopt a new regulation specific to the approval
requirements for resource, foster and adoptive family home
providers approved by local departments of social services.
The new regulation will include many of the provisions from
22VAC40-770, Standards and Regulations for Agency
Approved Providers, which is being repealed. The new
regulation will ensure compliance with changes to federal and
state laws and regulations regarding resource, foster and
adoptive homes.

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: §§63.2-217 and 63.2-319 of the Code of
Virginia.

Public comments may be submitted until September 19, 2007.

Contact: Phyl Parrish, Acting Program Manager, Quality
Review, Department of Social Services, Division of Family
Services, 7 N. 8th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
726-7926, FAX (804) 726-7895, TTY (800) 828-1120, or
email phyl.parrish@dss.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-736; Filed July 24, 2007, 3:06 p.m.

* *

TITLE 23. TAXATION
DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION

T Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends
to consider amending regulations entitled 23VAC10-210,
Retail Sales and Use Tax. The purpose of the proposed
action is to clarify existing, long-standing policy with respect
to the contractors tax treatment of floor coverings, lock and
locking devices, and government contracts.

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: §58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia.
Public comments may be submitted until September 20, 2007.

Contact: Mark Haskins, Director; Policy Development,
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355, or
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov.

VAR. Doc. No. R07-649; Filed July 31,2007, 10:13 a.m.

T Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends
to consider promulgating regulations entitled 23VAC10-120,
Corporation Income Tax. The purpose of the proposed
action is to amend the corporate income tax law by adding
§58.1-402 B 8 and 9 of the Code of Virginia, which requires
the corporation to add back any royalties and interest paid to a
related entity in such a situation. The amendments contain a
number of safe harbors to prevent the addition from applying
to legitimate transactions that are not for the purpose of tax
avoidance. In addition, if a corporation does not qualify for
one of the safe harbors, but believes that an addition is
unreasonable as applied to its legitimate transactions, it may
apply to the Tax Commissioner for a waiver of the addition
requirement and a refund of tax paid on the amounts added
back to Virginia taxable income. This regulatory action will
add a regulation section interpreting §58.1-402 B 8 and 9 of
the Code of Virginia.
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Notices of Intended Regulatory Action

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: §58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia.
Public comments may be submitted until September 19, 2007.

Contact: John Cox, Analyst, Department of Taxation, 600 E.
Main St., Richmond, VA 23261, telephone (804) 371-2338,
FAX (804) 371-2355, or email john.cox@tax.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-713; Filed July 26,2007, 12:03 p.m.

T Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends
to consider amending regulations entitled 23VAC10-210,
Retail Sales and Use Tax. The purpose of the proposed
action is to provide an explanation of the new application of
the "true object test," with respect to orders issued under
government contracts. The amendments provide a summary
of the law applicable prior to July 1, 2006, and describe the
change in law as a result of Item 268 of the 2006
appropriation act.

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: §58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia.
Public comments may be submitted until September 20, 2007.

Contact: Kristen Peterson, Tax Policy Analyst, Department
of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 23261-7185,
telephone (804) 371-2340, FAX (804) 371-2355, or email
kristen.peterson@tax.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-745; Filed July 27, 2007, 4:58 p.m.
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For information concerning the different types of regulations, see the Information Page.

Symbol Key
Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Underscored language indicates proposed new text.
Language that has been stricken indicates proposed text for deletion. Brackets are used in final regulations to indicate changes from the
proposed regulation.

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD
Fast-Track Regulation

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-50. Retail Operations
(amending 3VAC5-50-40, 3VAC5-50-50, 3VAC5-50-80,
3VAC5-50-100, 3VAC5-50-130, 3VAC5-50-140).

Statutory Authority: §§4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of
Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:
scheduled.

No public hearings are

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until
September 19, 2007.

Effective Date: October 4, 2007.

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating
Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901
Hermitage Rd., Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-
4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, or email
curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov.

Basis: Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the
board to promulgate regulations in accordance with the
Administrative Process Act (§2.2-4000 et seq.) and §4.1-111
of the Code of Virginia.

Section 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia provides that the
board may promulgate reasonable regulations, not
inconsistent with Title 4.1 or the general laws of the
Commonwealth, which it deems necessary to carry out the
provisions of Title 4.1 and to prevent the illegal manufacture,
bottling, sale, distribution and transportation of alcoholic
beverages.

Purpose: This action is intended to revise the Alcoholic
Beverage  Control  Board’s  regulations  governing
qualifications and operating rules for retail licensees.

The goals of this regulation are:

1. To prescribe reasonable minimum qualifications for
holders of retail licenses; and

2. To promote the public health, safety, and welfare by
reasonably regulating retail alcoholic beverage sales so as to
prevent sales to those under the legal age or intoxicated, and
to discourage overconsumption.

Rationale: The proposals do not materially change existing
rules. They clarify or simplify compliance with the current

regulations. The proposal to provide an approval process for
the employment of persons with criminal convictions will
benefit licensees while still protecting public safety.

Substance: 3VAC5-50-40 would be revised to provide a
process for licensees to apply for approval for the
employment of individuals whose records of criminal or
alcoholic beverage violations might subject the licensee to
disciplinary action pursuant to §4.1-225 I of the Code of
Virginia. In 3VACS5-50-50, a provision would be added
allowing persons 18 years of age or older to sell or serve wine
for on-premises consumption at a counter in an establishment
selling wine only. 3VACS5-50-80 would be amended to create
an exception to the prohibition against placing alcoholic
beverages in containers of ice available to consumers for off-
premises consumption for farm winery licensees operating a
remote retail location at a wine festival. In 3VAC5-50-100,
the provision in subdivision A 4 requiring grocery stores and
convenience grocery stores to have at least five items from
each of the basic food groups would be repealed. In
subsection C of 3VAC5-50-130, the rules for nonmember use
of club premises would be simplified to allow licensed clubs
to admit nonmembers to the licensed club area for events at
which alcohol is served up to 24 times each year. Limits on
use of the unlicensed portion of club premises would be
repealed. 3VAC5-50-140 would be revised to clarify that its
provisions do not apply to legitimate theatrical or art exhibits
or performances, and current provisions requiring partially
nude performers to remain reasonably separate from patrons
would be replaced with a required separation of three feet.
These amendments will protect the health, safety, or welfare
of citizens by allowing alcoholic beverage retailers fewer
restrictions on the operation of their businesses, while
continuing to discourage overconsumption. The amendments
to 3VAC5-50-140 will help to protect citizens from the
negative secondary effects of sexually oriented businesses.

Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public or the
Commonwealth. The primary advantages to regulated
businesses are simplification or clarification of existing rules
to ease compliance. Businesses wishing to employ persons
with convictions that could otherwise result in risking license
suspension or revocation will now be able to apply for
advance approval.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:

Summary of the Proposed Regulation.
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The Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (ABC) proposes to
make several amendments to its retail operations regulation.
ABC proposes to:

Specify a process by which board licensees may request
approval for hiring individuals with criminal records.

Allow individuals between the ages of 18 and 21 to sell or
serve both wine and beer at establishments that only sell the
beverage being served.

Allow wineries to serve wine that has been placed in
containers of ice at a location remote from the winery
(specifically at wine festivals).

Eliminate specific requirements on the types of foods that
convenience and grocery stores must stock in order to be
licensed by the board to sell beer and wine.

Simplify and loosen restrictions on the number of times per
year that clubs licensed by ABC may hold public events
where alcohol will be served.

Specify how far apart adult entertainers must be from their
audience in order to comply with this regulation and add an
exemption to this regulation’s nudity provisions for legitimate
theatrical productions.

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for
these proposed regulatory changes.

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently the Code of Virginia
allows ABC to suspend the license of any licensee who
knowingly hires any individual convicted of a felony, a
misdemeanor that involves moral turpitude or a misdemeanor
violation of any alcohol control law. ABC does have internal
guidelines for when such a suspension is appropriate but
licensees have not had a means to determine whether any
individual hire of someone with a criminal background had
the potential to get their license suspended. This proposed
regulation includes a provision that will allow licensees to
apply for approval by the board before hiring an individual
with a criminal conviction when that conviction might be
grounds for license suspension. This regulatory change will
give the same procedural rights to licensees and potential
employees as are afforded licensees when they are charged
with violations of the Beer and Wine Franchise Act. This
means that licensees and potential employees will have the
right to be represented by council and may call witnesses and
present evidence.

This regulatory change will benefit licensee employers in that
they will no longer have to choose between not hiring the
employees they would prefer to hire and hiring those
employees knowing that their license might be at risk. These
employers may also see employment costs decrease by a
small amount if this change widens the pool of individuals
from which they may hire. Individuals who have criminal
histories and want to work for businesses licensed by ABC
will benefit because they likely stand a greater chance of

being hired after promulgation of procedures that will protect
licensee employers from possible repercussions of their hiring
decisions. ABC will likely incur extra costs associated with
the application and approval process being promulgated.

Current regulation allows individuals over 18 to serve and
sell beer at licensed establishments that only sell beer but
does not have a similar allowance for licensed establishments
that only sells wine. Additionally, current regulation prohibits
licensees from entreating or enticing any patron to purchase
any alcoholic beverage. One example of such enticement that
is specifically prohibited in the current regulation is placing
alcohol in containers of ice that are accessible by patrons.
ABC proposes to extend employment rules to include
licensed establishments that only sell wine and to allow
alcohol to be placed in containers of ice "at a remote location
in connection with a wine festival." Both of these proposed
changes will benefit wineries: the first change will likely
decrease their employment costs as they will now be able to
choose employees from a wider labor pool. The second
change will allow wineries to sell chilled wines at wine
festivals that may lack any refrigeration capabilities other
than ice in a bucket.

Current regulation requires that convenience and grocery
stores that sell wine and beer to stock at least five items from
each food group that may be used to prepare meals. ABC
proposes to simplify this requirement by eliminating
regulatory reference to food groups and specific numbers of
foods. So the proposed regulation will require these
establishment generally stock food items that can be used to
prepare meals but allows greater latitude for licensees to
decide what items to stock. This change will likely benefit
licensees in that they will be able to stock what their
customers demand without having to also meet ABC
requirements.

Current regulation limits the number of times that licensed
clubs (Lions Club, Elks Club, etc.) may hold events: they
may hold events (where alcohol will be served), on the
licensed portion of their premises, not more than 12 times a
year for members and not more than 12 times a year for non-
members who have obtained banquet licenses. Additionally,
the unlicensed portion of club premises may currently be
open for events (where alcohol will be served) not more than
12 times a year. The proposed regulation lumps all usage of
licensed premises together and allows events at such premises
not more than 24 times a year. Who holds these events is left
to the discretion of the club. The proposed regulation does not
contain a limitation on the number of events (where alcohol
will be served) that may be held on unlicensed portions of
club premises. These changes allow clubs significantly more
freedom to use their premises as they see fit. Clubs that rent
out their premises, particularly the unlicensed portions of
their premises, for weddings or other events will likely see
their revenues increase as they will no longer be limited to 12
rentals a year.
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Current regulation requires that scantily clad adult
entertainers in licensed establishments remain '"reasonably
separated" from customers but does not provide a definition
of what separation ABC would consider to be reasonable.
Additionally, current regulation prohibits complete nudity
and other inappropriate behavior in licensed establishments
but does not specifically exempt legitimate theatrical
productions as required by several court decisions. The
proposed regulation will define "reasonably separated" as at
least three feet from any customer and will explicitly exempt
theatrical productions held in licensed establishments from
the requirements of the section of current regulation that
governs prohibited behavior. These changes should increase
voluntary regulant compliance with separation requirements
and allow agency compliance with past judicial rulings.

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory
changes will generally affect all of the approximately 14,000
establishments that are licensed by ABC and will particularly
wineries in the Commonwealth.

Localities Particularly Affected. These proposed regulatory
changes will affect all localities in the Commonwealth.

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory
changes may affect who is employed for various jobs at
licensed establishments; for instance, more individuals
between the ages of 18 and 21 may be hired to work in
winery tasting rooms. There will likely be no measurable
change in total employment in the Commonwealth, however,
on account of this proposed regulation.

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Licensed
establishments may experience a small decrease in
employment costs if these regulatory changes widen the pool
of individuals from which they may hire. In addition wineries
may be able to sell greater quantities of their product at wine
festivals once they are allowed to chill wine at remote
locations. Clubs will likely also earn extra revenues from
renting out their premises for events. If costs decrease, or if
revenues increase because of extra sales and there is not a
cost increase of the same magnitude associated with those
sales, licensees may earn increased profits.

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. ABC estimates
that at least 95% of their approximately 14,000 licensees are
small businesses. These businesses are unlikely to incur any
new costs on account of the proposed regulation.

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes
Adverse Impact. ABC estimates that at least 95% of their
approximately 14,000 licensees are small businesses. These
businesses are unlikely to incur any new costs on account of
the proposed regulation.

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007 H of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21

(02). Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected
number of persons and employment positions to be affected,
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, §2.2-4007
H requires that such economic impact analyses include (i) an
identification and estimate of the number of small businesses
subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected reporting,
recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for
small businesses to comply with the regulation, including the
type of professional skills necessary for preparing required
reports and other documents; (iii) a statement of the probable
effect of the regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv)
a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative
methods of achieving the purpose of the regulation. The
analysis presented above represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic impacts.

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:The Alcoholic Beverage

Control Board concurs with the economic impact analysis
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget.

Summary:

The proposed amendments (i) provide a process for
licensees to apply for permission to employ individuals
with certain criminal convictions, (ii) allow persons 18 and
over to serve wine at a counter in establishments selling
wine only, (iii) allow wine to be placed in containers of ice
by farm wineries at wine festivals, (iv) simplify food
requirements for grocery stores and convenience grocery
stores, (v) simplify the limitations of nonmember use of
licensed club facilities, and (vi) clarify the rules with
respect to partially nude entertainers at licensed
establishments to define the separation that must be
maintained from customers, and clarify that this regulation
does not restrict legitimate theatrical productions.

3VAC5-50-40. Designated managers of licensees;
appointment generally; disapproval by board; restrictions
upon employment.

A. Each licensee, except a licensed individual who is on the
premises, shall have a designated manager present and in
actual charge of the business being conducted under the
license at any time the licensed establishment is kept open for
business, whether or not the privileges of the license are being
exercised. The name of the designated manager of every retail
licensee shall be kept posted in a conspicuous place in the
establishment, in letters not less than one inch in size, during
the time he is in charge.
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The posting of the name of a designated manager shall
qualify such person to act in that capacity until disapproved
by the board.

B. The board reserves the right to disapprove any person as
a designated manager if it shall have reasonable cause to
believe that any cause exists which would justify the board in
refusing to issue such person a license, or that such person
has committed any act that would justify the board in
suspending or revoking a license.

Before disapproving a designated manager, the board shall
accord him the same notice, opportunity to be heard, and
follow the same administrative procedures accorded a
licensee cited for a violation of Title 4.1 of the Code of
Virginia.

C. No licensee of the board shall knowingly permit a person
under 21 years of age, nor one who has been disapproved by
the board within the preceding 12 months, to act as
designated manager of his business.

D. If a licensee wishes to employ a person who has
committed an act that would justify the board in suspendin
or revoking a license under subdivision 1 i of §4.1-225 of the
Code of Virginia, the licensee may apply to the board for
approval of such employment. The board will cause the
Bureau of Law Enforcement Operations to conduct an
investigation into the suitability of the person for employment
and recommend approval or disapproval. Before disapproving
the employment of a person, the board shall accord him the
same notice, opportunity to be heard, and follow the same

administrative procedures accorded a licensee cited for a
violation of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia.

3VACS5-50-50. Restrictions upon employment of minors.

No person licensed to sell alcoholic beverages at retail shall
permit any employee under the age of 18 years to sell, serve
or dispense in any manner any alcoholic beverage in his
licensed establishment for on-premises consumption, nor
shall such person permit any employee under the age of 21
years to prepare or mix alcoholic beverages in the capacity of
a bartender. "Bartender" is defined as a person who sells,
serves or dispenses alcoholic beverages for on-premises
consumption at a counter, as defined in 3VAC5-50-110, and
does not include a person employed to serve food and drink
to patrons at tables as defined in that section. However, a
person who is 18 years of age or older may sell or serve beer
for on-premises consumption at a counter in an establishment
that sells beer only, or may sell or serve wine for on-premises
consumption in an establishment that sells wine only.

3VAC5-50-80. Entreating, urging or enticing patrons to
purchase prohibited.

No retail licensee shall entreat, urge or entice any patron of
his establishment to purchase any alcoholic beverage; nor
shall such licensee allow any other person to so entreat, urge

or entice a patron upon his licensed premises. Entreating,
urging or enticing shall include, but not be limited to, placing
alcoholic beverages in containers of ice which are visible,
located in public display areas and available to patrons of
retail establishments for off-premises sales, except for farm
winery licensees operating at a remote location in connection
with a wine festival. Knowledge by a manager of the licensee
of a violation of this section shall be imputed to the licensee.

This section shall not be construed to prohibit the taking of
orders in the regular course of business, the purchase of a
drink by one patron for another patron as a matter of normal
social intercourse, nor advertising in accordance with
regulations of the board.

3VAC5-50-100. Definitions and qualifications for retail
off-premises wine and beer licenses and off-premises beer
licenses; exceptions; further conditions; temporary
licenses.

A. Retail off-premises wine and beer licenses may be issued
to persons operating the following types of establishments
provided the total monthly sales and inventory (cost) of the
required commodities listed in the definitions are not less
than those shown:

1. "Delicatessen." An establishment which sells a variety
of prepared foods or foods requiring little preparation such
as cheeses, salads, cooked meats and related condiments:

Monthly Sales .......c.ccoeveieiiiiiieiiereeeeee e $2,000
INVENLOTY (COSL) cuvivvirierierierieriere ettt $2,000

2. "Drugstore." An establishment selling medicines
prepared by a registered pharmacist according to
prescription and other medicines and articles of home and
general use;

Monthly Sales ......c.ceevvveirveinieieeieieieeeeeeeieeene $2,000
INVENLOTY (COSE) wvvevrrrrinriieieiiereteteietee et eeenas $2,000

3. "Grocery store." An establishment which sells edible
items intended for human consumption, including a variety
of staple foodstuffs used in the preparation of meals:

Monthly Sales .......c.cceveieiiiiiieiiicieeieee e $2,000
INVENLOTY (COSL) cuvivvirierierierieriereeiiereete et $2,000

4. "Convenience grocery store." An establishment which
has an enclosed room in a permanent structure where stock
is displayed and offered for sale, and which sells edible
items intended for human consumption, consisting of a
variety of such items of the type normally sold in grocery
stores:

Monthly Sales ......c.ccevvveirreirieieieieieeeeeeeeeenen, $2,000
INVENLOTY (COSL) vvvuvvrieiiiereiiiiereieeee et $2,000

In regard to both grocery stores and convenience grocery
stores, "edible items" shall mean such items normally used in
the preparation of meals, including liquids;—and—which—shal
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5. "Gourmet shop." An establishment provided with
adequate shelving and storage facilities which sell products
such as cheeses and gourmet foods:

Monthly Sales .......ccccevveeiriiririieiiniesieieeiee e $2,000
INVENLOTY (COSL) vuvivririeererierieiiereereeresiesreteseen e e $2,000

B. Retail off-premises beer licenses may be issued to
persons operating the following types of establishments
provided the total monthly sales and inventory (cost) of the
required commodities listed in the definitions are not less
than those shown:

1. "Delicatessen." An establishment as defined in
subsection A:
Monthly Sales .......c.coeveieiiiiiieiiiceeeieee e $1,000
INVENLOTY (COSL) vuvivvirieererierierieieereeiestesreieseeereee s $1,000

2. "Drugstore." An establishment as defined in subsection
A:

Monthly Sales ........coveveirieinieieieieeieeeeeeeeenene $1,000
INVENLOTY (COSE) woveerrreieriieieeieriteteietee ettt $1,000

3. "Grocery store." An establishment as defined in
subsection A:

Monthly SAlEs .......ocveveveriiririereriiieiereeeeee e $1,000
INVENLOTY (COSL) cevuvvrieiiiereiiiiereieeeee et $1,000

4. "Marina store." An establishment operated by the owner
of a marina which sells food and nautical and fishing
supplies:

Monthly Sales .......ccovevecieiriniiriieseeeee e $1,000
INVENLOTY (COSL) cuvivririeererrerieiiereeieeiesiesreeesreseee e $1,000

C. The board may grant a license to an establishment not
meeting the qualifying figures in subsections A and B
provided it affirmatively appears that there is a substantial
public demand for such an establishment and that public
convenience will be promoted by the issuance of the license.

D. The board in determining the eligibility of an
establishment for a license shall give consideration to, but
shall not be limited to, the following:

1. The extent to which sales of required commodities are
secondary or merely incidental to sales of all products sold
in such establishment;

2. The extent to which a variety of edible items of the types
normally found in grocery stores are sold; and

3. The extent to which such establishment is constructed,
arranged or illuminated to allow reasonable observation of
the age and sobriety of purchasers of alcoholic beverages.

E. Notwithstanding the above, the board may issue a
temporary license for any of the above retail operations. Such
licenses may be issued only after application has been filed in
accordance with §4.1-230 of the Code of Virginia and in
cases where the sole objection to issuance of a license is that
the establishment will not be qualified in terms of the sale of
food or edible items. If a temporary license is issued, the
board shall conduct an audit of the business after a reasonable
period of operation not to exceed 180 days. Should the
business be qualified, the license applied for may be issued. If
the business is not qualified, the application will become the
subject of a hearing if the applicant so desires. No further
temporary license shall be issued to the applicant or to any
other person with respect to that establishment for a period of
one year from the expiration and, once the application
becomes the subject of a hearing, no temporary license may
be issued.

3VAC5-50-130. Clubs; applications; qualifications;
reciprocal arrangements; changes; financial statements.

A. Each applicant for a club license shall furnish the
following information:

1. A certified copy of the charter, articles of association or
constitution;

2. A copy of the bylaws;

3. A list of the officers and directors showing names,
addresses, ages and business employment;

4. The average number of members for the preceding 12
months. Only natural persons may be members of clubs;
and

5. A financial statement for the latest calendar or fiscal
year of the club, and a brief summary of the financial
condition as of the end of the month next preceding the
date of application.

B. In determining whether an applicant qualifies under the

statutory definition of a club, as well as whether a club
license should be suspended or revoked, the board will
consider, but is not limited to, the following factors:

1. The club's purposes and its compliance with the
purposes;

2. The club's qualification for tax exempt status from
federal and state income taxes; and

3. The club's permitted use of club premises by
nonmembers, including reciprocal arrangements.

C. The club shall limit nonmember use of club premises
according to this section and shall notify the board each time
the club premises are used in accordance with subdivision 1
of this subsection. The notice shall be received by the board
at least two business days in advance of any such event.
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1. A licensed club may aHewnenmembers,—whe—woeuld
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club-license-are-exereised,12-times—per-calendar—yearfor
(i) hold public events held at the licensed premises, such
events allowing nonmembers to attend and participate in
the event at the licensed premises; or (ii) allow its premises
to be used by organizations or groups who obtain banquet
or banquet special events licenses. The total number of
such events in both categories may not exceed 24 per

calendar year.

2. A member of a licensed club may sponsor private
functions on club premises for an organization or group of
which he is a member, such attendees being guests of the
sponsoring member;-of.
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3. Additionally, there shall be no limitation on the numbers
of times a licensed club may allow its premises to be used

by organizations or groups if alcoholic beverages are not
served at such functions.

E. D. Persons who are resident members of other clubs
located at least 100 miles from the club licensed by the board
(the "host club") and who are accorded privileges in the host
club by reason of bona fide, prearranged reciprocal
arrangements between the host club and such clubs shall be
considered guests of the host club and deemed to have
members' privileges with respect to the use of its facilities.
The reciprocal arrangements shall be set out in a written
agreement and approved by the board prior to the exercise of
the privileges thereunder.

The mileage limitations of this subsection notwithstanding,
members of private, nonprofit clubs or private clubs operated
for profit located in separate cities which are licensed by the
board to operate mixed beverage restaurants on their
respective premises and which have written agreements
approved by the board for reciprocal dining privileges may be
considered guests of the host club and deemed to have
members' privileges with respect to its dining facilities.

E E. Any change in the officers and directors of a club shall
be reported to the board within 30 days, and a certified copy
of any change in the charter, articles of association or by-laws
shall be furnished the board within 30 days thereafter.

G F. Each club licensee shall prepare and sign an annual
financial statement on forms prescribed by the board. The
statement may be on a calendar year or fiscal year basis, but
shall be consistent with any established tax year of the club.
The statement must be prepared and available for inspection
on the club premises no later than 120 days next following
the last day of the respective calendar or fiscal year, and each
such statement must be maintained on the premises for a
period of three consecutive years. In addition, each club
holding a mixed beverage license shall be required to prepare
and timely submit the mixed beverage annual review report
required by 3VACS5-70-90 D.

3VAC5-50-140. Lewd-er-diserderly-Prohibited conduct on

licensed premises.

While-net-limited-thereto,—the-board shall-considerthe-The
following conduct upon any licensed premises to—censtitute

lewd-or-disorderly-econduet is prohibited:

1. The real or simulated display of any portion of the
genitals, pubic hair or buttocks, or any portion of the breast
below the top of the areola, by any employee, or by any
other person; except that when entertainers are on a
platform or stage and reasonably separated from the
patrons of the establishment, they shall be in conformity
with subdivision 2;

2. The real or simulated display of any portion of the
genitals, pubic hair or anus by an entertainer, or any
portion of the areola of the breast of a female entertainer.
When not on a platform or stage and reasonably separate
from the patrons of the establishment, entertainers shall be
in conformity with subdivision 1;

3. Any real or simulated act of sexual intercourse, sodomy,
masturbation, flagellation or any other sexual act
prohibited by law, by any person, whether an entertainer or
not; or

4. The fondling or caressing by any person, whether an
entertainer or not, of his own or of another's breast,
genitals or buttocks.

As used in this section, the term "reasonably separated" shall
mean that no portion of the body of an entertainer is less than
three feet from any portion of the body of a patron.

The provisions of this section shall not apply to the

exhibition, presentation, showing or performance of any play,
ballet, drama, tableau, production or motion picture in any

theater, concert hall, museum of fine arts, school, institution
of higher learning or other similar establishment that is
primarily devoted to such exhibitions, presentations, shows or
performances as a form of expression of opinion,
communication, speech, ideas, information, art or drama of
serious literary, artistic, scientific or political value, and in
which the predominant business or attraction is not the

offering to customers of entertainment that is intended to
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provided sexual stimulation or sexual gratification to such
customers.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-625; Filed July 26, 2007, 3:29 p.m.

L 4 *

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL
RESOURCES

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland
Fisheries is exempt from the Administrative Process Act
pursuant to subdivision A 3 of §2.2-4002 of the Code of
Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the
management of wildlife. The board is required by §2.2-4031
of the Code of Virginia to publish all proposed and final
wildlife management regulations, including length of seasons
and bag limits allowed on the wildlife resources within the
Commonwealth of Virginia.

NOTICE TO THE PUBLIC

The Board of Game and Inland Fisheries has ordered to be
published, pursuant to §§29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code
of Virginia, the following proposed amendments to board
regulations. A public comment period on the proposed
regulations opened July 24, 2007, and remains open until
September 24, 2007. Comments submitted must be in writing;
must be accompanied by the name, address and telephone
number of the party offering the comments; should state the
regulatory action desired; and should state the justification for
the desired action. Comments may be submitted online at
www.dgif.virginia.gov, mailed to the Department of Game
and Inland Fisheries, Attn: Policy Analyst and Regulatory
Coordinator, 4016 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia
23230, or emailed to regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov.

A public hearing on the advisability of adopting or amending
and adopting the proposed regulations, or any parts thereof,
will be held during a meeting of the board to take place at the
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad
Street, Richmond, Virginia, beginning at 9 a.m. on Tuesday,
October 16, 2007, at which time any interested citizen present
shall be heard. If the board is satisfied that the proposed
regulation, or any parts thereof, is advisable, in the form in
which published or as amended after receipt of the public's
comments, the board may adopt regulation amendments as
final at the October 16 meeting. The regulations or regulation
amendments adopted may be either more liberal or more
restrictive than those proposed and being advertised under
this notice.

Proposed Regulation

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and
Miscellaneous: in General (amending 4VAC15-20-50,
4VAC15-20-130, 4VAC15-20-200, 4VAC15-20-210).

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:

October 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and
Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until
September 24, 2007.

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Regulatory
Coordinator, and Freedom of Information Officer,
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-1000,
FAX (804) 367-0488, or email
regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendments (i) update the department's
"List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia,"
consistent with current nomenclature and knowledge of the
wildlife of the Commonwealth; (ii) add the pistolgrip
(Tritogonia verrucosa, a species of freshwater mollusk)
and the Big Sandy crayfish (Cambarus veteranus) to the
Virginia List of Endangered and Threatened Species,
thereby prohibiting the taking, transportation, possession,
or sale of these rare native species without a permit; (iii)
update the Virginia List of Endangered and Threatened
Species by adopting current taxonomic nomenclature for a
species on the list; (iv) delete the reference in this
regulation to §29.1-743 of the Code of Virginia and the
subsequent permit that was authorized by the code
language and add the word annual to clarify that these are
annual fees; and (v) add the Chinese mitten crab
(Eriocheir sinensis) to the list of Nonindigenous Aquatic
Nuisance Species, thereby prohibiting the importation,
possession, transportation, sale, etc., of this species within
Virginia except as allowed by law, regulation, or permit.

4VAC15-20-50. Definitions; *wild animal,” "native
animal," "naturalized animal,” "nonnative (exotic)
animal™ and ""domestic animal.""

In accordance with §29.1-100 of the Code of Virginia, the
following terms shall have the meanings ascribed to them by
this section when used in regulations of the board:

"Wild animal" means any member of the animal kingdom,
except domestic animals, including without limitation any
native, naturalized, or nonnative (exotic) mammal, fish, bird,
amphibian, reptile, mollusk, crustacean, arthropod or other
invertebrate, and includes any hybrid of them, except as
otherwise specified in regulations of the board, or part,
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product, egg, or offspring of them, or the dead body or parts
of them.

"Native animal" means those species and subspecies of
animals naturally occurring in Virginia, as included in the
department's 2060 2007 "List of Native and Naturalized
Fauna of Virginia," with copies available in the Richmond
and regional offices of the department.

"Naturalized animal" means those species and subspecies of
animals not originally native to Virginia which have
established wild, self-sustaining populations, as included in
the department's 2000 2007 "List of Native and Naturalized
Fauna of Virginia," with copies available in the Richmond
and regional offices of the department.

"Nonnative (exotic) animal" means those species and
subspecies of animals not naturally occurring in Virginia,
excluding domestic and naturalized species.

The following animals are defined as domestic animals:
Domestic dog (Canis familiaris), including wolf hybrids.

Domestic cat (Felis catus), including hybrids with wild
felines.

Domestic horse (Equus caballus), including hybrids with
Equus asinus.

Domestic ass, burro, and donkey (Equus asinus).
Domestic cattle (Bos taurus and Bos indicus).

Domestic sheep (Ovis aries) including hybrids with wild
sheep.

Domestic goat (Capra hircus).

Domestic swine (Sus scrofa domestica), including pot-
bellied pig.

Llama (Lama glama).

Alpaca (Lama pacos).

Camels (Camelus bactrianus and Camelus dromedarius).
Domesticated races of hamsters (Mesocricetus spp.).

Domesticated races of mink (Mustela vison) where adults
are heavier than 1.15 kilograms or their coat color can be
distinguished from wild mink.

Domesticated races of red fox (Vulpes) where their coat
color can be distinguished from wild red fox.

Domesticated races of guinea pigs (Cavia porcellus).
Domesticated races of gerbils (Meriones unguiculatus).
Domesticated races of chinchillas (Chinchilla laniger).

Domesticated races of rats (Rattus norvegicus and Rattus
rattus).

Domesticated races of mice (Mus musculus).

Domesticated races of European rabbit (Oryctolagus
cuniculus).

Domesticated races of chickens (Gallus).
Domesticated races of turkeys (Meleagris gallopavo).

Domesticated races of ducks and geese distinguishable
morphologically from wild birds.

Feral pigeons (Columba domestica and Columba livia) and
domesticated races of pigeons.

Domesticated races of guinea fowl (Numida meleagris).
Domesticated races of peafowl (Pavo cristatus).

4VAC15-20-130. Endangered and threatened species;
adoption of federal list; additional species enumerated.

A. The board hereby adopts the Federal Endangered and
Threatened Species List, Endangered Species Act of
December 28, 1973 (16 USC §§1531-1543), as amended, and
declares all species listed thereon to be endangered or
threatened species in the Commonwealth. Pursuant to §29.1-
103.12 of the Code of Virginia, the director of the department
is hereby delegated authority to propose adoption of
modifications and amendments to the Federal Endangered
and Threatened Species List in accordance with the
procedures of §§29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of
Virginia.

B. In addition to the provisions of subsection A, the
following species are declared endangered or threatened in
this Commonwealth, and are afforded the protection provided
by Article 6 (§29.1-563 et seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of
the Code of Virginia:

1. Fish:
Endangered:

Dace, Tennessee Phoxinus tennesseensis

Darter, sharphead Etheostoma acuticeps

Darter,variegate Etheostoma variatum

Sunfish, blackbanded Enneacanthus chaetodon

Threatened:

Darter, Carolina Etheostoma collis

Etheostoma
denoncourti

Darter,
| golden

Fippecanoe Hppeeanoe

Darter, greenfin Etheostoma chlorobranchium

Darter, longhead Percina macrocephala

Darter, western sand Ammocrypta clara

Madtom, orangefin Noturus gilberti
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Paddlefish

Polyodon spathula

Shiner, emerald

Notropis atherinoides

Bat, Rafinesque's eastern
big-eared

Corynorhinus
macrotis

rafinesquii

Hare, snowshoe

Lepus americanus

Shrew, American water

Sorex palustris

Vole, rock Microtus chrotorrhinus
Threatened:
Shrew, Dismal Swamp | Sorex longirostris fisheri
southeastern

6. Molluscs:
Endangered:
Ghostsnail, thankless Holsingeria unthanksensis
Coil, rubble Helicodiscus lirellus

Shiner, steelcolor Cyprinella whipplei
Shiner, whitemouth Notropis alborus

2. Amphibians:
Endangered:
Salamander, eastern tiger | Ambystoma tigrinum tigrinum
Threatened:
Salamander, Mabee's Ambystoma mabeei
Treefrog, barking Hyla gratiosa

3. Reptiles:

Endangered:
Rattlesnake, canebrake | Crotalus horridus

(Coastal Plain population
of timber rattlesnake)

Coil, shaggy

Helicodiscus diadema

Deertoe

Truncilla truncata

Turtle, bog

Glyptemys muhlenbergii

Elephantear

Elliptio crassidens

Turtle, eastern chicken

Deirochelys reticularia

reticularia

Elimia, spider

Elimia arachnoidea

Floater, brook

Alasmidonta varicosa

Threatened:

Heelsplitter, Tennessee

Lasmigona holstonia

Lizard, eastern glass

Ophisaurus ventralis

Lilliput, purple

Toxolasma lividus

Turtle, wood

Glyptemys insculpta

Mussel, slippershell

Alasmidonta viridis

4. Birds:

Endangered:

Pigtoe, Ohio cordatum

Pleurobema

Pigtoe, pyramid

Pleurobema rubrum

Plover, Wilson's

Charadrius wilsonia

Snuffbox

Epioblasma triquetra

Wren, Bewick's

Thryomanes bewicki bewickii

Springsnail, Appalachian

Fontigens bottimeri

Threatened:

Eagle, bald

Haliaeetus leucocephalus (see
note A below for effective date)

Springsnail (no common
name)

Fonitgens morrisoni

Spectaclecase

Cumberlandia monodonta

Falcon, peregrine

Falco peregrinus

Supercoil, spirit

Paravitrea hera

Sandpiper, upland

Bartramia longicauda

Threatened:

Shrike, loggerhead

Lanius ludovicianus

Floater, green

Lasmigona subviridis

Sparrow, Bachman's

Aimophila aestivalis

Papershell, fragile

Leptodea fragilis

Sparrow, Henslow's

Ammodramus henslowii

Pearlymussel, slabside

Lexingtonia dolabelloides

Tern, gull-billed

Sterna nilotica

Pigtoe, Atlantic

Fusconaiamasoni

5. Mammals:

Endangered:

Pimpleback Quadrula pustulosa pustulosa
Pistolgrip Tritogonia verrucosa
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Riversnail, spiny Iofluvialis

Sandshell, black Ligumia recta

Sheepnose Plethobasus cyphyus

Supercoil, brown Paravitrea septadens

7. Arthropods:

Threatened:

Amphipod, Madison Cave | Stygobromus stegerorum
Pseudotremia, Ellett | Pseudotremia cavernarum
Valley

Xystodesmid, Laurel | Sigmoria whiteheadi
Creek

8. Crustaceans:

Cambarus veteranus

Endangered:
| Cra;ﬁshE Big Sandy

A Notwithstanding the prospective removal of the bald eagle
from the federal list of endangered or threatened species, the
bald eagle continues to be threatened in the Commonwealth
of Virginia, and is hereby declared to be a threatened species
in Virginia effective as of, and simultaneously with, the date
of its removal from the federal list.

C. It shall be unlawful to take, transport, process, sell, or
offer for sale within the Commonwealth any threatened or
endangered species of fish or wildlife except as authorized by
law.

4VAC15-20-200. Fees for
miscellaneous permits.

A. Pursuant to §§29.1-417, 29.1-418, 29.1-422; 291743
and other applicable provisions of the Code of Virginia,
except as provided by this chapter the following annual fees
shall be paid by applicants for the specified permits before
any such permit may be issued.

iscell .

Boat Ramp Special Use

Nonprofit Public Use $10

Private/Commercial Use $50
BoatRegattas/Tournaments $50/day
Collect and Sell $50
Commercial Nuisance Animals $25
Exhibitors

Commercial Use $50

Educational/Scientific Use $20
Exotic Importation and Holding $10

Field Trial $25
Foxhound Training Preserves $50
Hold for Commercial Use $10
Propagation $12.50
Rehabilitation $10
Scientific Collection $20
Special Hunting Permit $10
Striped Bass Tournament $10
Threatened & Endangered Species $20
Trout Catch-Out Pond $50

B. Veterinarians shall not be required to pay a permit fee or
to obtain a permit to hold wildlife temporarily for medical
treatment.

4VAC15-20-210.
nuisance species.

Definitions; nonindigenous aquatic

A. In addition to the species already listed in §29.1-571 of
the Code of Virginia, the board hereby designates the
following species as nonindigenous aquatic nuisance species
pursuant to §29.1-100 of the Code of Virginia.

1. Fish.
a. Black carp (Mylopharyngodon piceus).

2. Invertebrates.
a. New Zealand mudsnail (Potamopyrgus antipodarum).
b. Rusty crayfish (Orconectes rusticus).

¢. Chinese mitten crab (Eriocheir sinensis)

B. It shall be unlawful to take, possess, transport, import,
sell, or offer for sale within the Commonwealth any
nonindigenous aquatic nuisance species except as authorized
by law or regulation.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-823; Filed August 1,2007, 10:28 a.m.
Proposed Regulation

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-30. Definitions and
Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, Etc., of
Animals (amending 4VAC15-30-5, 4VAC15-30-10,
4VVAC15-30-40).

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:

October 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and
Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until
September 24, 2007.
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Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Regulatory
Coordinator, and Freedom of Information Officer,
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-1000,
FAX (804) 367-0488, or email
regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendments (i) add language to make
reference to the code section that gives the board the
authority for special permits, which it has in turn
conferred upon the director with the regulation; (ii)
prohibit the take, possession, importation, exportation,
sale and release of captive-reared waterfowl in Virginia
except as otherwise permitted; (iii) prohibit the release of
captive-reared mallards except as specified; and (iv) add
the Chinese mitten crab (Eriocheir sinensis) to the Virginia
list of nonnative (exotic) predatory and undesirable
species, thereby prohibiting the importation, possession or
sale of this species without a permit.

4VAC15-30-5. Powers, authorities, and duties of the
director in permitting.

YnderPursuant to §29.1-413 of the Code of Virginia and

under authority granted to the board in subdivision 12 of
§29.1-103 of the Code of Virginia, the board hereby confers
authority upon the director to set the permit schedule,
establish permit conditions, delegate signature authority,
establish protocols for responding to permit decision appeals,
and render final permit decisions. The director shall also have
authority to establish a policy on the issuance of new permits
to individuals whose previous permits or applications have
been revoked or denied for infractions of wildlife laws,
regulations, or conditions.

4VAC15-30-10. Possession, importation, sale, etc., of wild
animals.

A. Under the authority of §§29.1-103 and 29.1-521 of the
Code of Virginia it shall be unlawful to take, possess, import,
cause to be imported, export, cause to be exported, buy, sell,
offer for sale, or liberate within the Commonwealth any wild
animal, including captive-reared waterfowl, unless otherwise
specifically permitted by law or regulation.

B. Furthermore, it shall be unlawful to release any captive-
reared mallards in Virginia except during permitted field
trials, on licensed shooting preserves permitted for tower
shoots and on a valid licensed mallard release area permitted
to do so prior to July 1, 2007.

C. Unless otherwise stated, for the purposes of identifying
species regulated by the board, when both the scientific and
common names are listed, the scientific reference to genus
and species will take precedence over common names.

4VAC15-30-40. Importation requirements, possession and
sale of nonnative (exotic) animals.

A. Permit required. A special permit is required and may be
issued by the department, if consistent with the department's
fish and wildlife management program, to import, possess, or
sell those nonnative (exotic) animals listed below and in
4VAC15-20-210 that the board finds and declares to be
predatory or undesirable within the meaning and intent of
§29.1-542 of the Code of Virginia, in that their introduction
into the Commonwealth will be detrimental to the native fish
and wildlife resources of Virginia:

AMPHIBIANS:
Order Family Genus/Species Common Name
Anura Buforidae Bufo marinus Giant or marine toad*
Pipidae Xenopus spp. Tongueless or African clawed frog

Caudata Ambystomatidae | Ambystoma tigrium Barred tiger salamander

mavortium

A. t. diaboli Gray tiger salamander

A. t. melanostictum Blotched tiger salamander

BIRDS:

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name
Psittaciformes Psittacidae Myiopsitta monachus Monk parakeet™
Anseriformes Anatidae Cygnus olor Mute swan
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FISH:
Order Family Genus/Species Common Name
Cypriniformes Catostomidae Ictiobus bubalus Smallmouth* buffalo
1. cyprinellus Bigmouth* buffalo
I. niger Black buffalo*
Characidae Pygopristis spp. Piranhas
Pygocentrus spp.
Rooseveltiella spp.
Serrasalmo spp.
Serrasalmus spp.
Taddyella spp.
Cyprinidae Aristichyhys nobilis Bighead carp*
Ctenopharyngodon idella Grass carp or white amur
Cyprinella lutrensis Red shiner
Hypophthalmichthys Silver carp*
molitrix
Mylopharyngodom piceus Black carp*
Scardinius Rudd
erythrophthalmus
Tinca tinca Tench*
Gobiesociformes | Gobiidae Proterorhinus marmoratus Tubenose goby
Neogobius melanostomus Round goby
Perciformes Channidae Channa spp. Snakeheads
Parachanna spp.
Cichlidae Tilapia spp. Tilapia
Gymnocephalus cernuum Ruffe*
Siluriformes Clariidae All species Air-breathing catfish
Synbranchiformes | Synbranchidae Monopterus albus Swamp eel
MAMMALS:
Order Family Genus/Species Common Name
Artiodactyla Suidae All Species Pigs or Hogs™*
Cervidae All Species Deer*
Carnivora Canidae All Species Wild Dogs*, Wolves, Coyotes or Coyote hybrids,
Jackals and Foxes
Ursidae All Species Bears*
Procyonidae All Species Raccoons and* Relatives

Volume 23, Issue 25

Virginia Register of Regulations

August 20, 2007

4116




Regulations

Mustelidae All Species Weasels, Badgers,* Skunks and Otters
(except Mustela putorius | Ferret
furo)
Viverridae All Species Civets, Genets,* Lingsangs, Mongooses, and Fossas
Herpestidae All Species Mongooses™
Hyaenidae All Species Hyenas*
Protelidae Proteles cristatus Aardwolf*
Felidae All Species Cats*
Chiroptera All Species Bats*
Lagomorpha Lepridae Lepus europeaeous European hare
Oryctolagus cuniculus European rabbit
Rodentia All species native to Africa | All species native to Africa
Sciuridae Cynomys spp. Prairie dogs
MOLLUSKS:
Order Family Genus/Species Common Name
Neotaenioglossa Hydrobiidae Potamopyrgus antipodarum | New Zealand mudsnail
Veneroida Dreissenidae Dreissena bugensis Quagga mussel
Dreissena polymorpha Zebra mussel
REPTILES:
Order Family Genus/Species Common Name
Squamata Alligatoridae All species Alligators, caimans*
Colubridae Boiga irregularis Brown tree snake*
Crocodylidae All species Crocodiles™
Gavialidae All species Gavials*
CRUSTACEANS:
Order Family Genus/Species Common Name
Decapoda Cambaridae Orconectes rusticus Rusty crayfish
Parastacidae Cherax spp. Australian crayfish
Varunidea Eriocheir sinensis Chinese mitten crab

B. Temporary possession permit for certain animals.
Notwithstanding the permitting requirements of subsection A,
a person, company Or corporation possessing any nonnative
(exotic) animal, designated with an asterisk (*) in subsection
A, prior to July 1, 1992, must declare such possession in
writing to the department by January 1, 1993. This written
declaration shall serve as a permit for possession only, is not
transferable, and must be renewed every five years. This
written declaration must include species name, common

name, number of individuals, date or dates acquired, sex (if
possible), estimated age, height or length, and other
characteristics such as bands and band numbers, tattoos,
registration numbers, coloration, and specific markings.

Possession transfer will require a new permit according to
the requirements of this subsection.

C. Exception for certain monk parakeets. A permit is not
required for monk parakeets (quakers) that have been captive
bred and are closed-banded with a seamless band.
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D. Exception for parts or products. A permit is not required
for parts or products of those nonnative (exotic) animals
listed in subsection A that may be used for personal use, in
the manufacture of products, or used in scientific research,
provided that such parts or products be packaged outside the
Commonwealth by any person, company, or corporation duly
licensed by the state in which the parts originate. Such
packages may be transported into the Commonwealth,
consistent with other state laws and regulations, so long as the
original package remains unbroken, unopened and intact until

its point of destination is reached. Documentation

concerning the type and cost of the animal parts ordered, the
purpose and date of the order, point and date of shipping, and
date of receiving shall be kept by the person, business or
institution ordering such nonnative (exotic) animal parts.
Such documentation shall be open to inspection by a
representative of the Department of Game and Inland
Fisheries.

E. Exception for certain mammals. Nonnative (exotic)
mammals listed in subsection A, except members of the
Cervidae family, African rodents, and prairie dogs, that are
imported or possessed by dealers, exhibitors, transporters, and
researchers who are licensed or registered by the United
States Department of Agriculture under the Animal Welfare
Act (7 USC §§2131 et seq.) will be deemed to be permitted
pursuant to this section, provided that those individuals
wanting to import such animals notify the department 24
hours prior to importation with a list of animals to be
imported, a schedule of dates and locations where those
animals will be housed while in the Commonwealth, and a
copy of the current license or licenses or registration or
registrations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture, and
further provided that such animals shall not be liberated
within the Commonwealth.

F. Exception for prairie dogs. The effective date of listing of
prairie dogs under subsection A of this section shall be
January 1, 1998. Prairie dogs possessed in captivity in
Virginia on December 31, 1997, may be maintained in
captivity until the animals' deaths, but they may not be sold
on or after January 1, 1998, without a permit.

G. Exception for snakehead fish. Anglers may legally
harvest snakehead fish of the family Channidea, provided that
they immediately kill such fish and that they notify the
department, as soon as practicable, of such actions.

H. All other nonnative (exotic) animals. All other nonnative
(exotic) animals not listed in subsection A of this section may
be possessed, purchased, and sold; provided, that such
animals shall be subject to all applicable local, state, and
federal laws and regulations, including those that apply to
threatened/endangered species, and further provided, that
such animals shall not be liberated within the
Commonwealth.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-811; Filed August 1,2007, 10:28 a.m.

Proposed Regulation

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-40. Game: in General
(amending 4VAC15-40-30, 4VAC15-40-70, 4VAC15-40-
190, 4VAC15-40-210, 4VAC15-40-220).

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:

October 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and
Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until
September 24, 2007.

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Regulatory
Coordinator, and Freedom of Information Officer,
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-1000,
FAX (804) 367-0488, or email
regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendments (i) expand opportunities for
hunters to use electronic calls on public lands beyond
department-owned wildlife management areas; (ii)
prohibit the release of captive reared and properly marked
mallards during open dog training seasons; (iii) modify the
requirement that large body-gripping traps in excess of 7
1/2 inches be covered by water so that they can be set
when only half submerged by water; and (iv) specify that
the maximum jaw spread of foothold traps set above the
ground be measured to the inside of the jaws.

The proposed amendments also (i) increase the maximum
snare height by changing the measurement location from
the top to the bottom of the snare loop, (ii) require cable
stops that prevent the loop from closing smaller than 2 1/2
inches in diameter on snares capable of opening more than
four inches, and iii) provide exemptions to snare
restrictions for department personnel and other individuals
authorized by the director to conduct certain types of
wildlife damage management activities.

4VAC15-40-30. Recorded wild animal or wild bird calls
or sounds prohibited in taking game; bobcats, coyotes,
crows, and foxes excepted.

It shall be unlawful to take or attempt to take wild animals
and wild birds with the exception of bobcats, coyotes, crows,
and foxes by the use or aid of recorded animal or bird calls or
sounds; provided, that electronic calls may be used on private
lands for hunting bobcats, coyotes, and foxes with the written
permission of the landowner and on department-owned

1A | ] . L
wildlife-managementarea—rules public lands except where

specifically prohibited.
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4VAC15-40-70. Open dog training season.

A. Private lands and certain military areas. It shall be lawful
to train dogs during daylight hours on rabbits and
nonmigratory game birds on private lands, Fort A.P. Hill,
Fort Pickett, and Quantico Marine Reservation. Participants
in this dog training season shall not have any weapons other
than starter pistols in their possession, must comply with all
regulations and laws pertaining to hunting and no game shall
be taken; provided, however, that weapons may be in
possession when training dogs on eaptiveraised-and-properly
marked—malards—and pigeons so that they may be
immediately shot or recovered, except on Sunday.

B. Designated portions of certain department-owned lands.
It shall be lawful to train dogs on quail on designated portions
of the Amelia Wildlife Management Area, Chester F. Phelps
Wildlife Management Area, Chickahominy Wildlife
Management Area, and Dick Cross Wildlife Management
Area from September 1 to the day prior to the opening date of
the quail hunting season, both dates inclusive. Participants in
this dog training season shall not have any weapons other
than starter pistols in their possession, shall not release pen-
raised birds, must comply with all regulations and laws
pertaining to hunting and no game shall be taken.

C. Designated department-owned lands. It shall be lawful to
train dogs during daylight hours on rabbits and nonmigratory
game birds on the Weston Wildlife Management Area from
September 1 to March 31, both dates inclusive. Participants in
this dog training season shall not have any weapons other
than starter pistols in their possession, shall not release pen-
raised birds, must comply with all regulations and laws
pertaining to hunting and no game shall be taken.

4VAC15-40-190. Restricted use of body-gripping traps in
excess of 7% inches.

The use of body-gripping traps with a jaw spread in excess
of 7' inches is prohibited except when such traps are eevered
at least half submerged by water.

4VAC15-40-210. Restricted use of certain steel leg-hold
foothold traps.

It shall be unlawful to set above the ground any steel leg-
held foothold trap with teeth set upon the jaws or with a
maximum inside jaw spread exceeding 6% inches measured
perpendicular to the hinges.

4VAC15-40-220. Use of deadfalls prohibited; restricted
use of snares.

It shall be unlawful to trap, or attempt to trap, on land any
wild bird or wild animal with any deadfall or snare; provided,
that snares with loops no more than 12 inches in diameter and
with the tep bottom of the snare loop set not to exceed 12
inches above ground level may be used with the written
permission of the landowner; provided further that any snare
set above the surface of the ground and capable of opening

more than four inches in diameter must include a cable stop
that prevents the loop from closing smaller than 2% inches in
diameter. The provisions of this section shall not apply to
department personnel while in performance of their official
duties and other individuals specifically exempted by the
director for the purpose of conducting wildlife damage
management activities.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-809; Filed August 1,2007, 10:28 a.m.

Proposed Regulation

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-50. Game: Bear (amending
4VAC15-50-20, 4VAC15-50-25, 4VAC15-50-81, 4VAC15-
50-91).

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:

October 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and
Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until
September 24, 2007.

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Regulatory
Coordinator, and Freedom of Information Officer,
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-1000,
FAX (804) 367-0488, or email
regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendments establish a two-week open
season on bear on lands soon to be purchased by the
Department of Forestry in Washington and Russell
counties; change the opening date of the bear season from
the first Monday in November to October 1, an increase of
five weeks in the cities of Suffolk, Chesapeake and Virginia
Beach; and remove the requirements to "seal" (with a nose
tag) black bears harvested by licensees when they are
checked at bear check stations.

4VAC15-50-20. Open season; first Monday in December
and for 11 consecutive hunting days following in certain
counties or portions of counties and on the Clinch
Mountain and Hidden Valley Wildlife Management Areas
and on Department of Forestry lands in Washington and
Russell counties.

It shall be lawful to hunt bear from the first Monday in
December and for 11 consecutive hunting days following,
both dates inclusive, on the Clinch Mountain and Hidden
Valley Wildlife Management Areas, on Department of
Forestry lands in Washington and Russell counties, and in the
counties of Buchanan, Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern
Railroad), Carroll, Dickenson, Floyd, Franklin, Grayson,
Henry, Lee, Montgomery (south of Interstate 81), Patrick,
Pittsylvania (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Pulaski
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(south of Interstate 81), Roanoke (south of Interstate 81),
Russell, Scott, Smyth (south of Interstate 81), Tazewell (that
part north of Route 19 that is west of Route 16), Washington
(south of Interstate 81 and that part north of Interstate 81 that
is west of Route 19), Wise, and Wythe (south of Interstate 81)

4VAC15-50-25. Open season;
Suffolk and Virginia Beach.

It shall be lawful to hunt bear from the—first Menday—in
Nevember October 1 through the first Saturday in January,

both dates inclusive, in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk and
Virginia Beach.

4VAC15-50-81. Validating tags and checking bear by
licensee or permittee.

cities of Chesapeake,

A. Any person killing a bear shall, before removing the
carcass from the place of kill, validate an appropriate tag on
their special license for hunting bear, deer, and turkey or
special permit by completely removing the designated notch
area from the tag. Place of kill shall be defined as the location
where the animal is first reduced to possession. It shall be
unlawful for any person to validate (notch) a bear tag from
any special license for hunting bear, deer, and turkey or
special permit prior to the killing of a bear. A bear tag that is
mistakenly validated (notched) prior to the killing of a bear
must be immediately voided by the licensee or permittee by
writing, in ink, the word "VOID" on the line provided on the
license tag.

B. Upon killing a bear and validating (notching) a license
tag or special permit, as provided above, the licensee shall,
upon vehicle transport of the carcass or at the conclusion of
legal hunting hours, whichever occurs first, and without
unnecessary delay, present the carcass and validated
(notched) license tag or special permit to an authorized bear
checking station or to an appropriate representative of the
department in the county or adjoining county in which the
bear was killed. Upon presentation of the carcass and
validated (notched) license tag or special permit to the bear
checking station, the licensee shall surrender or allow to be
removed one premolar tooth from the carcass and-have-a-seal;

furnished—by—the—department,—permanently—attached—by—the
cheekstation-operator. At such time, the person checking the

carcass will be given a game check card. The successful
hunter shall then immediately record the game check card
number, in ink, on the line provided adjacent to the license
tag that was validated (notched) in the field. The game check
card must be kept in possession with the carcass until the
carcass is processed. If the carcass is left unattended, the
game check card must be securely attached to the carcass.

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity
(sex) of any bear killed unless and until the license tag or
special permit is validated (notched) and checked as required
by this section. Successful bear hunters are allowed to
dismember the carcass to pack it out from the place of kill,

after an appropriate license tag has been validated (notched)
as required above, as long as the sex of the animal remains
identifiable and all the parts of the carcass are present when
the bear is checked at an authorized bear checking station.
Any bear found in the possession of any person without a
validated (notched) license tag or documentation that the bear
has been checked at an authorized bear checking station as
required by this section shall be forfeited to the
Commonwealth to be disposed of as provided by law.

4VAC15-50-91. Checking bear by persons exempt from
license requirements or holding a license authorization
number.

A. Upon killing a bear, any person exempt from license
requirements as prescribed in §29.1-301 of the Code of
Virginia, or issued a complimentary license as prescribed in
§29.1-339, or the holder of a permanent license issued
pursuant to §29.1-301 E, or the holder of a Virginia license
authorization number issued by a telephone or electronic
media agent pursuant to §29.1-327 B of the Code of Virginia
shall, upon vehicle transport of the carcass or at the
conclusion of legal hunting hours, whichever occurs first, and
without unnecessary delay, present the carcass to an
authorized bear checking station or to any appropriate
representative of the department in the county or adjoining
county in which the bear was killed. Upon presentation of the
carcass to the bear checking station, the person checking the
carcass shall surrender or allow to be removed one premolar

tooth from the carcass and—have—a—seal,—furnished—by—the

operator. At such time, the person checking or reporting the
carcass shall be given a game check card furnished by the
department. The game check card must be kept in possession
with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the carcass is
left unattended, the game check card must be securely
attached to the carcass.

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity
of the sex of any bear killed until the bear is checked as
required by this section. Successful bear hunters are allowed
to dismember the carcass to pack it out from the place of kill
as long as they do not destroy the identity of the sex and all
the parts of the carcass are present when the bear is checked
at a big game check station.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-804; Filed August 1, 2007, 10:29 a.m.

Proposed Regulation

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-70. Game: Bobcat (amending
4VVAC15-70-50; adding 4VAC15-70-70).

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:

October 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and
Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA
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Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until
September 24, 2007.

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Regulatory
Coordinator, and Freedom of Information Officer,
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-1000,
FAX (804) 367-0488, or email
regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendments (i) remove the requirement to
affix a Convention on International Trade in Endangered
Species (CITES) seal on bobcats that are mounted or
tanned for personal use (not sold) and (ii) add a provision
for the department to authorize individuals to affix CITES
tags to bobcats themselves instead of requiring tagging by
an "agent" of the department.

The proposed amendments also (i) establish a new
mandatory automated harvest reporting system for all
bobcats harvested by hunters and trappers and describe
the procedures for reporting the harvest of bobcat within
24 hours after the kill and (ii) provide for a confirmation
process as proof of compliance with the regulation.

4VVAC15-70-50. Pelts to be sealed before sale, etc.

It shall be unlawful to tan,—meunt; buy, sell, barter,
exchange; traffic or trade in, bargain for, solicit for, purchase,
or transport out of the Commonwealth, any bobcat pelts until
the pelts have been sealed by an agent ef or other individual
designated by the department. All bobcat pelts or unskinned
carcasses required to be sealed under the provisions of this
section must be sealed not later than April 1 of the license
year in which the animal is taken.

4VVAC15-70-70. Checking requirements.

Any hunter or trapper who Kkills a bobcat shall report the kill
within 24 hours through the department’s automated harvest
reporting system. At such time, the person reporting the kill
will be furnished with a confirmation number. The hunter or
trapper shall immediately record this confirmation number in
a location where it can later be retrieved to prove compliance
with checking requirements or to request a department seal.
Any bobcat received by a taxidermist for mounting or tanning
shall have written documentation securely attached to the
carcass that includes the full name of the hunter or trapper,
date of kill, and the harvest confirmation number.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-814; Filed August 1, 2007, 10:29 a.m.
Proposed Regulation

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending
4VAC15-90-22, 4VAC15-90-70, 4VAC15-90-80, 4VAC15-
90-90, 4VAC15-90-91).

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:

October 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and
Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until
September 24, 2007.

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Regulatory
Coordinator, and Freedom of Information Officer,
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-1000,
FAX (804) 367-0488, or email
regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendments (i) extend the special late
antlerless deer open season in the counties of Fairfax,
Loudoun, and Prince William through the last Saturday in
March; (ii) include Fauquier County in the special late
antlerless deer open season; (iii) begin the urban archery
deer season on the first, rather than the third, Saturday in
September; and (iv) establish an antlerless deer archery
season in Loudoun and Prince William counties with dates
that correspond to the urban archery season.

The proposed amendments also (i) add one week to the
beginning of the early special muzzleloading season west
of the Blue Ridge and on national forest lands in Amherst,
Bedford, and Nelson counties, (ii) establish a late
muzzleloading deer season in the City of Suffolk (east of
the Dismal Swamp line) and make the last six days of the
season either-sex deer hunting days, and (iii) increase the
number of either-sex deer hunting days during the late
muzzleloading season on private lands in Grayson County
from one to six days.

The proposed amendments (i) establish a special "Earn A
Buck™ regulation on private lands in the counties of
Bedford, Fairfax, Fauquier, Franklin, Loudoun, Patrick,
Prince William and Roanoke, (ii) require that in these
counties at least one antlerless deer must be taken before
the second antlered deer of the license year can be taken,
and (iii) require that in these counties an additional
antlerless deer must be taken before the third antlered deer
of the license year can be taken.

Finally, the proposed amendments (i) increase either-sex
deer hunting days in 16 eastern Virginia cities and
counties (Albemarle, Chesapeake, Chesterfield, Essex,
Goochland (east of US Route 522), Halifax, Hanover,
Henrico, King George, King and Queen, New Kent,
Pittsylvania (east of Norfolk Southern Railroad),
Powhatan, Suffolk (east and west of the Dismal Swamp
line), Virginia Beach and Westmoreland), (ii) reduce
either-sex deer hunting days on private lands in two
western Virginia counties (Rockbridge and a portion of
Rockingham), (iii) reduce either-sex deer hunting days on
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National Forest and department-owned lands (public
lands) in 12 counties (Amherst, Bedford, Bland, Botetourt,
Carroll, Craig, Giles, Montgomery, Nelson, Pulaski,
Roanoke, and Wythe), (iv) increase either-sex deer hunting
days on Featherfin WMA, and (v) include a soon to be
purchased Virginia Department of Forestry property in the
public land either-sex day regulation in Russell and
Washington counties.

4VAC15-90-22. Special late antlerless only open season;
Fairfax, Fauquier, Loudoun, and Prince William counties.

It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer from the Monday
following the first Saturday in January through the first last
Saturday in February March, both dates inclusive, in Fairfax,
Fauquier, Loudoun and Prince William counties.

4VAC15-90-70. Bow and arrow hunting.

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special
archery season with bow and arrow from the first Saturday in
October through the Friday prior to the third Monday in
November, both dates inclusive, except where there is a
closed general hunting season on deer.

B. In addition to the season provided in subsection A of this
section, it shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special
archery season with bow and arrow from the Monday
following the close of the general firearms season on deer
through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, in
all cities, towns, and counties west of the Blue Ridge
Mountains (except Clarke County and on non-national forest
lands in Frederick County) and in the counties (including the
cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of U.S. Route 29),
Bedford, Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad),
Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151), Patrick and
Pittsylvania (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad) and on the
Chester F. Phelps Wildlife Management Area and on national
forest lands in Frederick County and from December 1
through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, in
the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp
line) and Virginia Beach.

C. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the
special archery seasons as provided in subsections A and B of
this section (except on PALS (Public Access Lands) in
Dickenson County where it shall be unlawful to take
antlerless deer during the special archery seasons provided for
in subsections A and B of this section).

D. It shall be unlawful to carry firearms while hunting with
bow and arrow during the special archery seasons.

E. Arrows used for hunting big game must have a minimum
width head of 7/8 of an inch and the bow used for such
hunting must be capable of casting a broadhead arrow a
minimum of 125 yards.

F. It shall be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with bow
and arrow during any special archery season.

G. For the purpose of the application of subsections A
through H 1 to this section, the phrase "bow and arrow"
includes crossbows.

H. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the special
urban archery season with bow and arrow from the third first
Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first
Saturday in October, both dates inclusive, and from the
Monday following the first Saturday in January through the
last Saturday in March, both dates inclusive, within the
incorporated limits of any city or town in the Commonwealth
(except in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia
Beach) and the counties of Fairfax and York provided that its
governing body submits by certified letter to the department
prior to April 1, its intent to participate in the special urban
archery season. Any city, town, or county no longer
participating in this season shall submit by certified letter to
the department prior to April 1 notice of its intent not to
participate in the special urban archery season.

1. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the special
antlerless archery season with bow and arrow from the first
Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first
Saturday in October, both dates inclusive, in Loudoun and
Prince William counties, except on department-owned lands.

4VAC15-90-80. Muzzleloading gun hunting.

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special
muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the
Saturday prior to the first Monday in November through the
Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates
inclusive, in all cities, towns, and counties where deer hunting
with a rifle or muzzleloading gun is permitted east-efthe Blue
Ridge Mountains, except ennationalforestlandsin-Amherst
Bedford-and Nelson-countiesand in the cities of Chesapeake,
Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp Line) and Virginia Beach.

H—shaH—betantulto—hum—deer—durine —the—carh—speciand

B. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special
muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the
Saturday prior to the third Monday in December through the
first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, in all cities,
towns, and counties west of the Blue Ridge Mountains
(except Clarke County and on non-national forest lands in
Frederick County), and east of the Blue Ridge Mountains in
the counties (including the cities and towns within) of
Amberst (west of U.S. Route 29), Bedford, Campbell (west of
Norfolk Southern Railroad), Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of
Route 151), Patrick and Pittsylvania (west of Norfolk
Southern Railroad) and on national forest lands in Frederick
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County and in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the
Dismal Swamp line), and Virginia Beach.

C. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early
special muzzleloading season in all cities, towns, and counties
east of the Blue Ridge Mountains (except on national forest
lands, state forest lands, state park lands except Occoneechee
State Park, department-owned lands and Philpott Reservoir)
and on the second Saturday only east of the Blue Ridge
Mountains on state forest lands, state park lands except
Occoneechee State Park, department-owned lands and on
Philpott Reservoir. Deer of either sex may be taken during the
entire early special muzzleloading season on Occoneechee
State Park. Deer of either sex may be taken during the early
special muzzleloading season only on the second Monday in
November in all counties west of the Blue Ridge Mountains
(except Clarke, Buchanan, Dickenson, Floyd, Lee, Russell,
Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, Wise, and in Grayson
Highlands State Park and national forest lands in Grayson
County, and on private lands in Frederick, Roanoke, and
Warren counties) and on national forest and department-
owned lands in Roanoke County and on national forest lands
in Frederick and Warren counties and on national forest lands
in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson counties. Additionally, deer
of either sex may be taken during the entire early special
muzzleloading season in Clarke and Floyd counties and on
private lands in Frederick, Roanoke and Warren counties.

D. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire late
special muzzleloading season in the counties (including the
cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of U.S. Route 29
except on national forest lands), Bedford (except on national
forest lands), Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad),
Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151 except on
national forest lands), Patrick, and Pittsylvania (west of
Norfolk Southern Railroad). It shall be lawful to hunt deer of
either sex during the last six days of the late special
muzzleloading season in all counties west of the Blue Ridge
Mountains (except Buchanan, Dickenson, Floyd, in Grayson
Highlands State Park and national forest lands in Grayson,
Lee, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, Wise, and
on private lands in Roanoke County) and on national forest
and department-owned lands in Roanoke County and on
national forest lands in Ambherst, Bedford, Frederick, and
Nelson counties and in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east
of the Dismal Swamp line), and Virginia Beach. Provided
further it shall be lawful to hunt deer of either sex during the
last day only of the late special muzzleloading season in the
counties of Graysen; Lee, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell,
and Washington and in Grayson Highlands State Park and
national forest lands in Grayson County. Additionally, deer of
either-sex may be taken during the entire late special
muzzleloading season in Floyd County and on private lands
in Roanoke County.

E. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the
special muzzleloading seasons within the incorporated limits

of any city or town in the Commonwealth that allows deer
hunting except in the counties of Buchanan, Dickenson, and
Wise and in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia
Beach.

F. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs during any
special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns.

G. A muzzleloading gun, for the purpose of this section,
means a single shot flintlock or percussion weapon, excluding
muzzleloading pistols,.45 caliber or larger, firing a single
projectile or sabot (with a.38 caliber or larger projectile) of
the same caliber loaded from the muzzle of the weapon and
propelled by at least 50 grains of black powder (or black
powder equivalent).

H. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession any
firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting with a
muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season.

4VAC15-90-90. Bag limit, bonus deer permits and special
antlerless provision for youth hunters and earn a buck.

A. The bag limit for deer east of the Blue Ridge Mountains
(except on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and
Nelson counties) is two per day, six per license year, three of
which must be antlerless.

B. The bag limit for deer west of the Blue Ridge Mountains
and on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson
counties is one per day, five per license year, three of which
must be antlerless. Only one antlered buck may be taken
during the special early muzzleloading season per hunter.
Only one antlered buck taken in Shenandoah County per
license year may have less than four antler points one inch or
longer on one side of the antlers.

C. Aantlerless deer may be taken only during designated

either-sex deer hunting days during the special archery
seasons, special muzzleloading seasons, and the general
firearms season.

D. Bonus deer permits shall be valid on private land in
counties and cities where deer hunting is permitted (except
Buchanan, Dickenson, and Wise counties) during the special
archery seasons, special muzzleloading seasons, and the
general firearms season. Bonus deer permits shall be valid on
public lands, including state parks, state forests, national
wildlife refuges, military areas, etc., as authorized by the
managing agency. Unless otherwise posted or authorized in
writing for wildlife management areas by the department, or
for national forest lands by the U.S. Forest Service, the use of
bonus permits is prohibited on department-owned and
national forest lands. Bonus deer permits shall be valid for
antlerless deer only. Deer taken on bonus permits shall count
against the daily bag limit but are in addition to the seasonal
bag limit.

E. Deer hunters 15 years of age and under, including those
exempt from purchasing a hunting license, when in
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compliance with all applicable laws and license requirements,
may take one antlerless deer per license year on days other
than designated either-sex deer hunting days during the
special muzzleloading seasons or the general firearms season
in all counties that have at least one either-sex deer hunting
day during the general firearms deer season.

F. Earn a buck. At least one antlerless deer must be taken on
private lands in Bedford, Fairfax, Fauquier, Franklin,
Loudoun, Patrick, Prince William, or Roanoke counties
before the second antlered deer of the license year may be
taken on private lands in any of these counties. Furthermore,
at least two antlerless deer must have been taken on private
lands in Bedford, Fairfax, Fauquier, Franklin, Loudoun,
Patrick, or Prince William counties before the third antlered
deer of the license year may be taken on private lands in any
of these counties.

4VAC15-90-91. General firearms season either-sex deer
hunting days.

A. During the general firearms deer season, deer of either
sex may be taken within:

Accomack County: full season.

Albemarle County: the-second;-third;—andfourth-Saturdays
and-thelast 24-hunting-days full season.

Alleghany County: the second Saturday and the last two
hunting days.

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last
hunting day.
Amelia County: the second and third Saturdays and the last
six hunting days.

Ambherst County (east of U.S. Route 29): the second, third,
and fourth Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days.

Ambherst County (west of U.S. Route 29): full season.

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last
stx hunting days day.

Appomattox County: the second and third Saturdays and
the last six hunting days.

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second
Saturday.

-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days.

Arlington County: full season.

Augusta County: the second Saturday and the last six
hunting days.

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second
Saturday and the last hunting day.

Bath County: the second Saturday and the last two hunting
days.

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second
Saturday and the last hunting day.

Bedford County: full season.
-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last
six hunting days day.

Bland County: the second Saturday and the last six hunting
days.

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last
twe hunting days day.

Botetourt County: full season.

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last
twe hunting days day.

Brunswick County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six hunting days.

Buchanan County: antlered bucks only—no -either-sex
days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be
taken.

Buckingham County: the second and third Saturdays and
the last six hunting days.

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second
Saturday.

-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days.

Campbell County (east of Norfolk Southern Railroad): the
second, third, and fourth Saturdays and the last 24 hunting
days.

Campbell County (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad): full
season.

Caroline County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six hunting days.

Carroll County: full season.

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second
Saturday and the last twe hunting days day.

Charles City County: the second and third Saturdays and
the last 12 hunting days.

-Chickahominy WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-
sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may
be taken.

Charlotte County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six hunting days.

Chesapeake (City of): the first Satarday and second
Saturdays following October 1st and the last six 12 hunting
days.
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Chesterfield County: the second and third Saturdays and
the last six 12 hunting days.

Clarke County: full season.

Craig County: the second Saturday and the last six hunting
days.

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last
twe hunting days day.

Culpeper County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays
and the last 24 hunting days.

-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday.

Cumberland County: the second and third Saturdays and
the last six hunting days.

-Cumberland State Forest: the second Saturday.

Dickenson County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex
days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be
taken.

Dinwiddie County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six hunting days.

Essex County: the second and, third, and fourth Saturdays
and the last 42 24 hunting days.

Fairfax County: full season (restricted to certain parcels of
land by special permit).

Fauquier County: full season.

-G.Richard Thompson WMA: the second Saturday and
the last hunting day.

-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday.
Floyd County: full season.

Fluvanna County: second and third Saturdays and the last
six hunting days.

Franklin County: full season.

-Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six
hunting days.

-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and
the last two hunting days.

Frederick County: full season

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last
hunting day.
Giles County: the second Saturday and the last six hunting
days.

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last
twe hunting days day.

Gloucester County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays
and the last 24 hunting days.

Goochland County (east of U.S. Route 522): the second
and, third, and fourth Saturdays and the last 42 24 hunting
days.

Goochland County (west of U.S. Route 522): the second
and third Saturdays and last six hunting days.

Grayson County: full season.

-National forest lands and portions of Grayson Highland
State Park open to hunting: the second Saturday and the
last hunting day.

Greene County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and
the last 24 hunting days.

Greensville County: full season.

Halifax County: the second and, third, and fourth
Saturdays and the last 42 24 hunting days.

Hanover County: the second and, third, and fourth
Saturdays and the last 42 24 hunting days.

Henrico County: the second and, third, and fourth
Saturdays and the last 42 24 hunting days.

Henry County: full season.

-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and
Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six
hunting days.

-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and
the last two hunting days.

Highland County: the second Saturday and the last two
hunting days.

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second
Saturday and the last hunting day.

Isle of Wight County: full season.

-Ragged Island WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-
sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may
be taken.

James City County: the second and third Saturdays and last
12 hunting days.

King and Queen County: the second and, third, and fourth
Saturdays and the last 42 24 hunting days.

King George County: the second and third Saturdays and
the last six 12 hunting days.

King William County: the second and third Saturdays and
the last 12 hunting days.

Lancaster County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays
and the last 24 hunting days.

Lee County: the second Saturday and the last two hunting
days.
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-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-
sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may
be taken.

Loudoun County: full season.

Louisa County: the second and third Saturdays and the last
six hunting days.

Lunenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six hunting days.

Madison County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays
and the last 24 hunting days.

Mathews County: the second and third Saturdays and last
12 hunting days.

Mecklenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and
the last six hunting days.

Middlesex County: the second and third Saturdays and last
12 hunting days.

Montgomery County: full season.

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last
twe hunting days day.

Nelson County (east of Route 151): the second, third, and
fourth Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days.

-James River WMA: the second Saturday and the last six
hunting days.

Nelson County (west of Route 151): full season.

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last
stx-hunting days day.

New Kent County: the second and, third, and fourth
Saturdays and the last 42 24 hunting days.

Northampton County: full season.

Northumberland County: the second, third, and fourth
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days.

Nottoway County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six hunting days.

Orange County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and
the last 24 hunting days.

Page County: the second Saturday and the last two hunting
days.

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last
hunting day.

Patrick County: full season.
-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and

Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six
hunting days.

Pittsylvania County (east of Norfolk Southern Railroad):
the second and, third, and fourth Saturdays and the last 42
24 hunting days.

-White Oak Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and
the last hunting day.

Pittsylvania County (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad):
full season.

Powhatan County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six 12 hunting days.

-Powhatan WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six hunting days.

Prince Edward County: the second and third Saturdays and
the last six hunting days.

-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days.

-Prince Edward State Forest: the second Saturday.

Prince George County: the second and third Saturdays and
the last six hunting days.

Prince William County: full season.

Pulaski County: the second Saturday and the last six
hunting days.

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last
twe hunting days day.

Rappahannock County: the second, third, and fourth
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days.

Richmond County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays
and the last 24 hunting days.

Roanoke County: full season.

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second
Saturday and the last twe hunting days day.

Rockbridge County: the second Saturday and the last six
two hunting days.

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second
Saturday and the last hunting day.

Rockingham County: the second Saturday and the last six
hunting days.

-National forest lands and private lands west of Routes
613 and 731: the second Saturday and the last hunting
day.

Russell County: the second Saturday and the last two
hunting days.

-Clinch Mountain WMA, ard Hidden Valley WMA, and
state forest lands: the second Saturday and the last
hunting day.
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Scott County: the second Saturday and the last six hunting
days.

-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-
sex days.

Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken.
Shenandoah County: full season.

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last
hunting day.

Smyth County: the second Saturday and the last two
hunting days.

-National forest lands, Clinch Mountain WMA, and
Hidden Valley WMA: the second Saturday and the last
hunting day.

Southampton County: full season.

Spotsylvania County: the second, third, and fourth

Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days.

Stafford County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays
and the last 24 hunting days.

Suffolk (City of; east of the Dismal Swamp line): the first
and second Saturdays following October Ist and the last
six 12 hunting days.

Suffolk (City of; west of the Dismal Swamp line): the
second and, third, and fourth Saturdays and the last 42 24
hunting days.

Surry County: full season.

-Carlisle Tract of the Hog Island WMA: antlered bucks
only—no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above
the hairline may be taken.

Sussex County: full season.

Tazewell County: the second Saturday and the last two
hunting days.

-National forest lands, Clinch Mountain WMA, and
Hidden Valley WMA: the second Saturday and the last
hunting day.

Virginia Beach (City of): the first Satarday and second
Saturdays following October 1 and the last six 12 hunting
days.

Warren County: full season.

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last
hunting day.

Washington County: the second Saturday and the last two
hunting days.

-National forest lands, Clinch Mountain WMA, and
Hidden Valley WMA, and state forest lands: the second
Saturday and the last hunting day.

Westmoreland County: the second and, third, and fourth
Saturdays and the last 42 24 hunting days.

Wise County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex days.
Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken.

Wythe County: the second Saturday and the last six
hunting days.

-National forest lands and Big Survey WMA: the second
Saturday and the last twe hunting days day.

York County: full season.

B. Except as provided in the subsection A of this section,
deer of either sex may be taken full season during the general
firearms deer season within the incorporated limits of any city
or town, state park, national wildlife refuge, or military
installation that allows deer hunting.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-803; Filed August 1,2007, 10:29 a.m.

Proposed Regulation

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-110. Game: Fox (amending
4VAC15-110-10, 4VAC15-110-75).

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:

October 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and
Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until
September 24, 2007.

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Regulatory
Coordinator, and Freedom of Information Officer,
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-1000,
FAX (804) 367-0488, or email
regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendments align the season dates for dog-
only fox hunting on designated public areas with the
period when it is lawful to hunt foxes with firearms; and
allow coyotes to be released in foxhound training
preserves that meet certain conditions as approved by the
director or his designee.

4VVAC15-110-10. Closed season in certain areas.

It shall be unlawful to hunt foxes with dogs on the George
Washington/Jefferson National Forest and on the Gathright,
Goshen, G. Richard Thompson, Highland, Little North
Mountain and Rapidan Wildlife Management Areas from
Eebruary1-through-Oetober 31both-dates—inelusive except
during the period when it is lawful to hunt foxes with
firearms.
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4VAC15-110-75. Foxhound training preserves; live-

trapping for release.

It shall be lawful for any foxhound training preserve
permittee or those licensed trappers designated in writing by
the permittee to live-trap and transport coyotes (Canis
latrans), and red (Vulpes vulpes) and gray (Urocyon
cinereoargenteus) foxes from September 1 through the last
day of February, both dates inclusive, only for the purpose of
stocking foxhound training preserves covered by permits
authorized by the board and issued by the department and
containing conditions approved by the director or his
designee. For the purpose of this section, coyotes and foxes
may be live-trapped on private land with landowner
permission or on public lands designated by the department.
For the purposes of this section, coyotes and foxes may be
live-trapped and transported within the Commonwealth of
Virginia.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-808; Filed August 1,2007, 10:29 a.m.
Proposed Regulation

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-200. Game: Rabbit and Hares
(amending 4VAC15-200-10).

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:

October 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and
Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until
September 24, 2007.

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Regulatory
Coordinator, and Freedom of Information Officer,
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-1000,
FAX (804) 367-0488, or email
regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendment changes the closing date of the
rabbit season from February 14 to the last day in
February, statewide.

4VAC15-200-10. Open season; generally.

Except as otherwise specifically provided by the sections
appearing in this chapter, it shall be lawful to hunt rabbit from
the Saturday prior to the first Monday in November through
the last day in February 44, both dates inclusive.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-806; Filed August 1,2007, 10:30 a.m.

Proposed Regulation

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-240. Game: Turkey
(amending 4VAC15-240-20, 4VAC15-240-31, 4VACI15-
240-40, 4VACI15-240-50; adding 4VAC15-240-11,
4VAC15-240-51).

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:

October 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and
Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until
September 24, 2007.

Summary:

The proposed amendments shift the late segment of the six-
week fall turkey season in most counties east of the Blue
Ridge Mountains so that it begins on the Monday nearest
December 2 and ends on the last Saturday in December
and add the City of Suffolk, Accomack County, and
Northampton County to the two-week and Thanksgiving
Day fall turkey season

The proposed amendments also (i) shift the late segment of
the four-week fall turkey season so that it begins on the
Monday nearest December 2 and continues for 11 hunting
days following; (ii) change the ending of legal shooting
hours during the spring youth hunt day from 12 noon to
sunset; (iii) remove Accomack and Northampton counties
and the City of Suffolk from the continuous closed fall
season regulation; and (iv) provide a youth fall turkey hunt
day on the third Saturday in October for youth 15 years of
age and under.

4VAC15-240-11. Open season; certain counties and areas;
Saturday prior to the last Monday in October and for 11
hunting days following, on Thanksgiving Day, and on the
Monday closest to December 2 through the last Saturday
in December, both dates inclusive.

Except as otherwise specifically provided in the sections
appearing in this chapter, it shall be lawful to hunt turkeys in
counties, cities and towns east of the Blue Ridge Mountains
except Amherst (west of U.S. Route 29), Bedford, Campbell
(west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Franklin, Henry, Nelson
(west of Route 151), Patrick and Pittsylvania (west of Norfolk
Southern Railroad) from the Saturday prior to the last
Monday in October and for 11 consecutive hunting days
following, on Thanksgiving Day, and on the Monday nearest
December 2 through the last Saturday in December, both
dates inclusive.
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4VAC15-240-20. Open season; certain counties and areas;
Saturday prior to the last Monday in October and for 11
hunting days following, and on Thanksgiving Day.

It shall be lawful to hunt turkeys on the Saturday prior to the
last Monday in October and for 11 consecutive hunting days
following, and on Thanksgiving Day in the counties of
Accomack, Buchanan, Isle of Wight, Northampton, Prince
George, Southampton, Surry, and Sussex and the City of
Suffolk.

4VAC15-240-31. Open season; certain counties and areas;
Saturday prior to the last Monday in October and for 11
hunting days following, on Thanksgiving Day, and on the
Monday closest to December 9 2 and for 11 hunting days
following.

It shall be lawful to hunt turkeys on the Saturday prior to the
last Monday in October and for 11 consecutive hunting days
following, on Thanksgiving Day, and on the Monday closest
to December 9 2 and for 11 hunting days following in the
counties of Charles City, Gloucester, James City, King

George, Lancaster, Mathews, Middlesex, New Kent,
Northumberland, Richmond, Westmoreland, and York
(except on Camp Peary).

4VAC15-240-40. Open season; spring season for bearded
turkeys.

A. Except as otherwise provided in this section, it shall be
lawful to hunt bearded turkeys from the second Saturday in
April and for 30 consecutive hunting days following, both
dates inclusive, from 1/2 hour before sunrise to 12:00 noon
prevailing time during the first 19 hunting days and from 1/2
hour before sunrise to sunset during the last 12 hunting days
of the spring season.

B. Turkey hunters 15 years of age and under may hunt on
the first Saturday in April from 1/2 hour before sunrise to
12:00-noenprevailingtime sunset, when in compliance with
applicable license requirements and when accompanied and
directly supervised by an adult who has a valid Virginia
hunting license on his person or an adult that is exempt from
purchasing a hunting license. Adult hunters accompanying
youth hunters on this day may assist with calling but they
shall not carry or discharge weapons

C. Bearded turkeys may be hunted by calling.

D. It shall be unlawful to use dogs or organized drives for
the purpose of hunting.

E. It shall be unlawful to use or have in possession any shot
larger than number 2 fine shot when hunting turkeys with a
shotgun.

4VAC15-240-50. Continuous closed season
counties, cities and areas.

in certain

There shall be continuous closed turkey season, except
where a special spring season for bearded turkeys is provided

for in 4VAC15-240-40, in the eeunties county of Aecomaek;

Arlington;-and Nerthampten; and in the cities of Chesapeake,
Hampton, Newport News, Suffelk; and Virginia Beach.

4VAC15-240-51. Youth fall turkey hunt.

In counties, cities, and areas with a fall turkey season,
hunters 15 years of age and under may hunt turkey on the
third Saturday in October when in compliance with applicable
license requirements and when accompanied and directly
supervised by an adult who has a valid Virginia hunting
license on his person or is exempt from purchasing a hunting
license. Adult hunters accompanying youth hunters on this
day may assist with calling turkey but they shall not carry or
discharge weapons.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-807; Filed August 1,2007, 10:30 a.m.
Proposed Regulation

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-260. Game: Waterfowl and
Waterfowl Blinds (amending 4VAC15-260-140).

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:

October 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and
Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until
September 24, 2007.

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Regulatory
Coordinator, and Freedom of Information Officer,
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-1000,
FAX (804) 367-0488, or email
regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendment adds rails, snipe, moorhens,
gallinules and mergansers to the list of species for which
the use of nontoxic shot is required when hunting such
species.

4VAC15-260-140. Nontoxic shot reguired—for—waterfowl
hunting requirement for hunting of certain_migratory

game birds.

It shall be unlawful to take or attempt to take ducks, geese,
brant, swans, et coots, mergansers, rails, snipe, gallinules or
moorhens while possessing shotshells loaded with shot other
than steel, bismuth-tin, tungsten-iron or other nontoxic shot
approved for such use by the director of the department, if
such shot is permissible under federal migratory waterfowl
regulations.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-813; Filed August 1,2007, 10:30 a.m.
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Proposed Regulation

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-270. Game: Firearms
(amending 4VAC15-270-40; adding 4VAC15-270-80).

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:

October 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and
Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until
September 24, 2007.

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Regulatory
Coordinator, and Freedom of Information Officer,
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-1000,
FAX (804) 367-0488, or email
regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendments allow licensed trappers to shoot
a .22 caliber rimfire firearm on or over public waters for
the purpose of dispatching trapped animals, and (ii)
authorize department personnel to carry and shoot rifles
and pistols while conducting wildlife management
activities on public waters.

The proposed amendments also (i) allow the use of
shotguns without a restriction on the number of shells in
the magazine and chamber combined for the hunting of
nonmigratory game, and (ii) authorize the director to
remove the three shell limitation in shotguns when hunting
migratory game birds if allowed by federal regulation.

4VAC15-270-40. Shooting or carrying rifle or pistol over
public inland waters.

It shall be unlawful to shoot a rifle or pistol at wild birds or
animals on or over the public inland waters of this
Commonwealth; provided, however that licensed trappers

may shoot a .22 caliber rimfire rifle or pistol on or over public

inland waters for the purpose of dispatching a trapped animal.
It shall be unlawful to carry a loaded rifle or pistol on a boat

or other floating device on the public inland waters for the
purpose of hunting wild birds and wild animals; provided,
however, that unloaded rifles or pistols may be transported by
boat from one point to another. Nothing in this regulation
applies to department personnel conducting wildlife

management activities on the public waters of the
Commonwealth.

4VVAC15-270-80. Shotgun shell capacity for nonmigratory
game and migratory game birds.

A. It shall be lawful to hunt nonmigratory game with
unplugged shotguns.

B. It shall be unlawful to hunt migratory game birds with a
shotgun capable of holding more than three shells in the
magazine and chamber combined, unless otherwise
authorized by the director and consistent with applicable
federal regulations.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-810; Filed August 1,2007, 10:30 a.m.
Proposed Regulation

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-320. Fish: Fishing Generally
(amending 4VAC15-320-25).

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:

October 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and
Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until
September 24, 2007.

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Regulatory
Coordinator, and Freedom of Information Officer,
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-1000,
FAX (804) 367-0488, or email
regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendments (i) establish a "No walleye less
than 18 inches" regulation in the Middle Fork Holston and
South Fork Holston rivers, (ii) correct the "No possession
(catch and release only)" demarcation lines for American
shad and hickory shad by adding "above Harvell Dam"
after "Appomattox River" and adding "and the Mattaponi
River" after "Pamunkey River," (iii) modify anadromous
(coastal) alewife and blueback herring creel and length
limit regulations above and below the fall line in all
coastal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay to be set by the
Virginia Marine Resources Commission, and (iv) modify
the creel and length limits for anadromous (coastal)
alewife and blueback herring in the Meherrin, Nottoway,
Blackwater (Chowan Drainage), North Landing, and
Northwest rivers and their tributaries plus Back Bay to
"No Possession."

4VAC15-320-25. Creel and length limits.

The creel limits (including live possession) and the length
limits for the various species of fish shall be as follows,
unless otherwise excepted by posted rules at department-
owned or department-controlled waters (see 4VAC15-320-
100 D).
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. Subtype or Creel and . . Creel or length limits for
Type of fish location length limits Geographic exceptions exceptions
largemouth 5 per day in the Lakes
b te;
assl,l th aggregd e,. Briery Creek Lake No bass 14 to 24 inches,
pmatimou No statewide only 1 per day longer than
bass, spotted length limits v perdayons
bass g 24 inches
Buggs Island (Kerr) Only 2 of 5 bass less than
14 inches
Claytor Lake No bass less than 12 inches

Flannagan Reservoir

No bass less than 12 inches

Lake Gaston

Only 2 of 5 bass less than
14 inches

Leesville Reservoir

Only 2 of 5 bass less than
14 inches

Lake Moomaw

No bass less than 12 inches

Philpott Reservoir

No bass less than 12 inches

Quantico Marine Base waters

No bass 12 to 15 inches

Smith Mt. Lake and its
tributaries below Niagara Dam

Only 2 of 5 bass less than
14 inches

Rivers

Clinch River — within the
boundaries of Scott, Wise,
Russell, or Tazewell counties

No bass 11 to 14 inches

Dan River and tributaries
down stream from the Brantley
Steam Plant, Danville

Only 2 of 5 bass less than
14 inches

James River — Confluence of
the Jackson and Cowpasture
rivers (Botetourt County)
downstream to the 14th Street
Bridge in Richmond

No bass 14 to 22 inches,
only I per day longer than
22 inches

New River — Fields Dam
(Grayson County) downstream
to the VA — WYV state line and
its tributary Little River
downstream from Little River
Dam in Montgomery County
(This does not include Claytor
Lake which is delineated as:
The upper end of the island at
Allisonia downstream to the
dam)

No bass 14 to 20 inches,
only 1 per day longer than
20 inches

North Fork Holston River - Rt.
91 bridge upstream of
Saltville, VA downstream to
the VA-TN state line

No bass less than 20 inches,
only 1 per day longer than
20 inches
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North Fork Shenandoah River
— Rt. 42 bridge, Rockingham
Co. downstream to the
confluence with S. Fork
Shenandoah at Front Royal

No bass 11 to 14 inches

Potomac River - Virginia tidal
tributaries above Rt. 301
bridge

No bass less than 15 inches
from March 1 through June
15

Roanoke (Staunton) River -
and its tributaries below
Difficult Creek, Charlotte Co.

Only 2 of 5 bass less than
14 inches

Shenandoah River —

Confluence of South Fork and
North Fork rivers, Front
Royal, downstream, to the
Warren Dam, near Front Royal

Base of Warren Dam, near
Front Royal downstream to Rt.
17/50 bridge

Rt. 17/50 bridge downstream
to VA - WV state line

No bass 11 to 14 inches

No bass 14 to 20 inches,
only 1 per day longer than
20 inches

No bass 11 to 14 inches

South Fork Shenandoah River

Confluence of North and
South rivers, below Port
Republic, downstream to
Shenandoah Dam, near Town
of Shenandoah

Base of Shenandoah Dam,
near Town of Shenandoah,
downstream to Luray Dam,
near Luray

Base of Luray Dam, near
Luray, downstream to the
confluence with North Fork of
Shenandoah, Front Royal

No bass 11 to 14 inches

No bass 14 to 20 inches,
only I per day longer than
20 inches

No bass 11 to 14 inches

striped bass

landlocked
striped bass and
landlocked
striped bass x
white bass
hybrids

4 per day in the
aggregate;

No fish less than
20 inches

Buggs Island (Kerr) reservoir
including the Staunton River
to Leesville Dam and the Dan
River to Brantly Steam Plant
(Danville)

October 1 - May 31: 2 per
day in the aggregate;

No striped bass less than 26
inches;

June 1 - September 30: 4
per day in the aggregate;
No length limit

Smith Mountain Lake and its
tributaries, including the
Roanoke River upstream to
Niagara Dam

2 per day in the aggregate;
October 1 - May 31: No
striped bass 26 to 36 inches;

June 1 - September 30: No
length limit
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anadromous Creel and length
(coastal) striped limits shall be
bass above the set by the
fall line in all Virginia Marine
coastal rivers of Resources
the Chesapeake Commission for
Bay recreational
fishing in tidal
waters
anadromous 2 per day;
(coastal) in the No striped bass
Meherrin, less than 18
Nottoway, inches
Blackwater
(Chowan
Drainage), North
Landing and
Northwest Rivers
and their
tributaries plus
Back Bay
white bass 5 per day;
No statewide
length limits
walleye 5 per day; Flannagan, Philpott, and South | No walleye less than 18
No statewide Holston reservoirs, and the inches
length limits Middle Fork Holston and
South Fork Holston rivers
Claytor Lake and New River No walleye less than 20
upstream of Claytor Lake Dam | inches
sauger 2 per day;
No statewide
length limits
chain pickerel 5 per day; Gaston and Buggs Island No daily limit
No statewide (Kerr) reservoirs
length limits
northern pike 2 per day;
No pike less
than 20 inches
muskellunge 2 per day; New River - Fields Dam 1 per day
No muskellunge | (Grayson County) downstream | No muskellunge less than
less than 30 to the VA - WV state line, 42 inches
inches including Claytor Lake
bluegill 50 per day in the | Gaston and Buggs Island No daily limit
(bream) and aggregate; (Kerr) reservoirs and that

other sunfish
excluding
crappie, rock
bass (redeye)
and Roanoke
bass

No statewide
length limits

portion of the New River from
the VA - NC state line
downstream to the confluence
of the New and Little Rivers in
Grayson County
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crappie (black 25 per day in the | Gaston and Buggs Island No daily limit
or white) aggregate; (Kerr) reservoirs and that
No statewide portion of the New River from
length limits the VA - NC state line
downstream to the confluence
of the New and Little Rivers in
Grayson County
Flannagan and South Holston No crappie less than 10
reservoirs inches
rock bass 25 per day; Gaston and Buggs Island No daily limit
(redeye) No statewide (Kerr) reservoirs and that

length limits

portion of the New River from
the VA - NC state line
downstream to the confluence
of the New and Little Rivers in
Grayson County.

Nottoway and Meherrin rivers
and their tributaries

5 per day in the aggregate
with Roanoke bass;

No rock bass less than 8
inches

Roanoke bass

No statewide
daily limit;

No statewide
length limits

Nottoway and Meherrin rivers
and their tributaries

5 per day in the aggregate
with rock bass;

No Roanoke bass less than 8
inches

trout See 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing.
catfish channel, white, 20 per day; All rivers below the fall line No daily limit
and flathead No length limits
catfish
blue catfish 20 per day, only | All rivers below the fall line No daily limit, except only

1 blue catfish
per day longer
than 32 inches

1 blue catfish per day longer
than 32 inches

yellow, brown,
and black
bullheads

No daily limit;
No length limits
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American
shad and
hickory shad

James River
above the fall
line (14th Street
Bridge), the
Meherrin River
above Emporia
Dam, the
Chickahominy
River above
Walkers Dam,
the Appomattox
River and above
Harvell Dam, the
Pamunkey River
and the
Mattaponi River
above the Rt.
360 bridge, and
the
Rappahannock
River above the
Rt. 1 bridge

No possession
(catch and
release only)

(below the fall
line) in tidal
rivers of the

Creel and length
limits shall be
those set by the

Chesapeake Bay Virginia Marine
Resources
Commission
Meherrin River 10 per day in the
below Emporia aggregate

Dam Nottoway
River,
Blackwater River
(Chowan
Drainage), North
Landing and
Northwest rivers,
and their
tributaries plus
Back Bay

No length limits
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anadromous
(coastal)
alewife and
blueback
herring

Above and
below the fall
line in tidal all
coastal rivers of
the Chesapeake
Bay

Creel and length
limits shall be
those set by the
Virginia Marine
Resources
Commission

Meherrin River
below-Emporia
Dam, Nottoway
River,
Blackwater River
(Chowan
Drainage), North
Landing and
Northwest rivers,
and their
tributaries plus
Back Bay

No dailylimits
possession

| i

other native or
naturalized
nongame fish

See 4VAC15-360-10. Fish: Aquatic Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and Nongame Fish. Taking
aquatic invertebrates, amphibians, reptiles and nongame fish for private use.

endangered or
threatened fish

See 4VAC15-20-130. Definitions and Miscellaneous: In General. Endangered and threatened species;
adoption of federal list; additional species enumerated.

nonnative
(exotic) fish

See 4VAC15-30-40. Definitions and Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, Etc., of Animals.
Importation requirements, possession and sale of nonnative (exotic) animals.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-819; Filed August 1, 2007, 10:31 a.m.
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Proposed Regulation

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing
(amending 4VAC15-330-30, 4VAC15-330-100, 4VAC15-
330-120, 4VAC15-330-160, 4VAC15-330-171, 4VAC15-
330-200).

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:

October 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and
Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until
September 24, 2007.

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Regulatory
Coordinator, and Freedom of Information Officer,
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-1000,
FAX (804) 367-0488, or email
regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendments (i) remove Philpott Reservoir
from waters that have a special daily creel limit of two
trout; (ii) clarify that once trout are caught and taken into
possession by an angler, these trout become part of that
angler's daily creel and cannot be released (culled); (iii)
clarify that a multiple number of single-hook artificial
lures, such as dropper flies, fished in a series, may be used
in single-hook artificial lure only waters; (iv) remove the

special trout regulation section of Jackson River from the
"16-inch minimum size (no trout less than 16 inches), 2
trout/day, only artificial lures with single hooks" special
regulation trout streams and move it to 4VAC15-330-171,
to clarify the types of lures that can be used on this portion
of stream; (v) expand the current 1.9-mile section to a 3.1-
mile section of Accotink Creek (Fairfax County) that is a
delayed harvest trout stream (catch and release from
October 1 - May 31; trout may be creeled from June 1 -
September 30; (vi) add the "16-inch minimum size (no fish
less than 16 inches), 2 trout/day" special trout regulation
section of Jackson River from the swinging bridge located
just upstream from the mouth of Muddy Run, upstream
three miles to the last ford on FS 481D, to existing special
regulation 4VAC15-330-171 for Jackson River as
subsection B, in order to clarify that multiple-hook
artificial lures can be used; and (vii) clarify that, in Urban
Fishing Program waters, once trout are caught and taken
into possession by an angler, these trout become part of
that angler's daily creel and cannot be released (culled).

4VAC15-330-30. Creel limit; generally.

Except as otherwise specifically provided in the sections
appearing in this chapter, the daily creel limit for taking trout

shall be six, except the daily creel limit shall be two in Lake

Moomaw and-Philpettreserveirs. Once a trout is taken into

possession by placing in the creel, it becomes a part of the
daily creel limit and may not be released (culled).

4VAC15-330-100. "Artificial lure™ defined.

For the purposes of this chapter "artificial lure" shall include
manufactured or handmade flies, spinners, plugs, spoons and
facsimiles of live animals, but shall not be construed to
include artificially produced organic baits and fish eggs that
are intended to be ingested. Artificial lures with single hook
shall mean any single point lure (with no multiple point
hooks). Where single-hook artificial lures are required, a
multiple number of single-hook lures (such as dropper flies)
fished in series are permitted.

4VAC15-330-120. Special provisions applicable to certain
portions of Buffalo Creek, Dan River, Jacksen—River;
Pound River, Roaring Run, Smith River, and South Fork
Holston River.

A. It shall be lawful year around to fish using only artificial
lures with single hooks in that portion of Buffalo Creek in
Rockbridge County from the confluence of Colliers Creek
upstream 2.9 miles to the confluence of North and South
Buffalo Creeks, in that portion of Smith River in Henry
County from signs below the east bank of Towne Creek
downstream to the State Route 666 (Trent Hill Road) bridge,
in that portion of the Dan River in Patrick County from
Talbott Dam approximately six miles downstream to a sign
posted just upstream from the confluence of Dan River and
Townes Reservoir, in that portion of the Pound River from a
sign posted 0.4 miles below the Flannagan Dam, downstream
1.2 miles to a sign posted just upstream of the confluence of
the Pound River and the Russell Fork River, in that portion of
the South Fork Holston River in Smyth County from a sign
posted at the upper Jefferson National Forest boundary
downstream approximately four miles to a sign posted 500
feet upstream of the concrete dam at Buller Fish Culture
Station, and in that portion of Roaring Run in Botetourt
County from a sign posted at the third footbridge above the
Roaring Run Furnace Day Use Area upstream approximately
one mile to a sign posted at the Botetourt/Alleghany County

linc-and-in-thatpertion-efJacksenRiverin Bath-Countytrom

B. The daily creel limit in these waters shall be two trout a
day year around and the size limit shall be 16 inches or more
in length. All trout caught in these waters under 16 inches in
length shall be immediately returned to the water unharmed.
It shall be unlawful for any person to have in his possession
any bait or any trout under 16 inches in length in these areas.

4VAC15-330-160. Special provisions applicable to certain
portions of Accotink Creek, Back Creek, Chestnut Creek,
Hardware River, Holliday Creek, Holmes Run, North
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River, Passage Creek, Peak Creek, Pedlar River, North
Fork of Pound and Pound rivers, Roanoke River, and
South River.

It shall be lawful to fish from October 1 through May 31,
both dates inclusive, using only artificial lures in Accotink
Creek (Fairfax County) from Reute—236—(Little—River
Turnpike) King Arthur Road downstream 49 3.1 miles to
Route 620 (Braddock Road), in Back Creek (Bath County)
from the Route 600 bridge just below the Virginia Power
Back Creek Dam downstream 1.5 miles to the Route 600
bridge at the lower boundary of the Virginia Power
Recreational Area, in Chestnut Creek (Carroll County) from
the U.S. Route 58 bridge downstream 11.4 miles to the
confluence with New River, in the Hardware River (Fluvanna
County) from the Route 646 bridge upstream 2.6 miles to
Muleshoe Bend as posted, in Holliday Creek
(Appomattox/Buckingham Counties) from the Route 640
crossing downstream 2.8 miles to a sign posted at the
headwaters of Holliday Lake, in Holmes Run (Fairfax
County) from the Lake Barcroft Dam downstream 1.2 miles
to a sign posted at the Alexandria City line, in the North
River (Augusta County) from the base of Elkhorn Dam
downstream 1.5 miles to a sign posted at the head of Staunton
City Reservoir, in Passage Creek (Warren County) from the
lower boundary of the Front Royal State Hatchery upstream
0.9 miles to the Shenandoah/Warren County line, in Peak
Creek (Pulaski County) from the confluence of Tract Fork
downstream 2.7 miles to the Route 99 bridge, in the Pedlar
River (Amherst County) from the City of Lynchburg/George
Washington National Forest boundary line (below Lynchburg
Reservoir) downstream 2.7 miles to the boundary line of the
George Washington National Forest, in North Fork of Pound
and Pound rivers from the base of North Fork of Pound Dam
downstream to the confluence with Indian Creek, in the
Roanoke River (Roanoke County) from the Route 760 bridge
(Diuguids Lane) upstream 1.0 miles to a sign posted at the
upper end of Green Hill Park (Roanoke County), in the
Roanoke River (City of Salem) from the Route 419 bridge
upstream 2.2 miles to the Colorado Street bridge, and in the
South River from the Second Street Bridge upstream 2.4
miles to the base of Rife Loth Dam in the City of
Waynesboro. From October 1 through May 31, all trout
caught in these waters must be immediately returned to the
water unharmed, and it shall be unlawful for any person to
have in possession any bait or trout. During the period of June
1 through September 30, the above restrictions will not apply.

4VAC15-330-171. Special provisions applicable to certain
pertion portions of Jackson River.

A. The daily creel limit shall be four trout per day and the
minimum size limit shall be 12 inches in length on that
portion of the Jackson River from Gathright Dam
downstream to the Westvaco Dam at Covington in Alleghany
County. All trout caught in this section of the Jackson River
under 12 inches in length shall be immediately returned to the

water. It shall be unlawful for any person to have in his
possession any trout under 12 inches in length in this area.

B. The trout daily creel limit shall be two, the minimum size
limit shall be 16 inches in length, and only artificial lures may
be used in that portion of Jackson River in Bath County from
the swinging bridge located just upstream from the mouth of
Muddy Run, upstream three miles to the last ford on FS
481D. All trout caught in these waters under 16 inches in
length shall be immediately returned to the water unharmed.
It shall be unlawful for any person to have in his possession
any bait or any trout under 16 inches in length in these areas.

4VAC15-330-200. Special provisions applicable to Urban
Fishing Program waters.

Waters selected by the director for inclusion into the Urban
Fishing Program will be considered designated stocked trout
waters only from November 1 through April 30, thus a trout
license is not required from May 1 through October 31. In
addition, trout may be creeled from these waters year around
and the daily trout creel limit shall be four. Once a trout is
taken into possession by placing in the creel, it becomes a
part of the daily creel limit and may not be released (culled).

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-820; Filed August 1, 2007, 10:31 a.m.
Proposed Regulation

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-340. Fish: Seines and Nets
(amending 4VAC15-340-10, 4VAC15-340-30, 4VAC15-
340-40).

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:

October 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and
Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until
September 24, 2007.

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Regulatory
Coordinator, and Freedom of Information Officer,
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-1000,
FAX (804) 367-0488, or email
regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendments make it illegal to harvest
anadromous (coastal) alewife and blueback herring
using (i) a haul seine and gill nets in Virginia Beach area
waters and (ii) dip nets.

4VVAC15-340-10. Haul seines to take fish for sale.

A. Authorization to take fish for sale. A haul seine permit
shall authorize the person to whom issued to take fish for sale
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as specified with a haul seine from the waters designated in
this section.

B. Permit holder to be present when seine operated. The
holder of a haul seine permit must be present with the seine at
all times when it is being operated. The holder, however, may
have others to assist him and such persons assisting are not
required to have a permit.

C. Length and size of nets. The length of haul seine nets
shall not be more than 500 yards. The size of mesh shall be 1-
1/2 inch bar mesh.

D. Season and fish to be taken in Virginia Beach City. In
Back Bay and its natural tributaries (not including Lake
Tecumseh and Red Wing Lake), North Landing River from
the North Carolina line to Pungo Ferry (not including
Blackwater River), the open season to take all fish, except
game fish, alewife, and blueback herring, with a haul seine
shall be from November 1 through March 31, both dates
inclusive. The harvest limit for anadromous American and
hickory shad shall be 10 per day, in the aggregate.

E. Labeling packages containing fish taken with haul seine.
It shall be unlawful for any person to ship or otherwise
transport any package, box or other receptacle containing fish
taken under a haul seine permit unless the same bears a label
showing the name and address of the owner of the seine and a
statement of the kind of fish contained in it.

F. Reporting. The holder of a permit to take fish for sale by
means of haul seines shall keep a record of the pounds of fish
taken by species and location (name and county of water
body), and the pounds of each species sold.

4VVAC15-340-30. Gill nets.

A. Authorization to take fish. A gill net permit shall
authorize the holder thereof to take nongame fish during the
times and in the waters and for the purposes provided for in
this section. Such gill net shall not be more than 300 feet in
length. The mesh size shall be not less than 1 inch bar or
square mesh (three-inch stretch mesh). Applicants must
annually purchase tags for each net the applicant intends to
operate and attach a department tag to each net prior to use. A
single permit will be issued to the permittee and shall list
each tag number the permittee has been issued. All nets must
be checked daily and all game fish returned to the wild.

B. Permit holder to be present when gill net is being set and
checked for fish. The holder of a gill net permit must be
present with the net at all times when it is being set and
checked for fish. The holder may have others to assist him,
and such persons assisting are not required to have a permit.
However, those assisting the permittee must meet the fishing
license requirements of the Commonwealth.

C. Times and places permitted in Virginia Beach City; fish
which may be taken. Gill nets may be used in Virginia Beach
City in Back Bay and its natural tributaries (not including

Lake Tecumseh and Red Wing Lake) and North Landing
River from the North Carolina line to Pungo Ferry (not
including Blackwater River) for the taking of mullet only for
table use and also for sale from July 1 through November 1,
both dates inclusive; and for the taking of other nongame fish,
except mullet, alewife, and blueback herring, for table use
and also for sale from November 1 through March 31, both
dates inclusive. The harvest limit for anadromous American
and hickory shad shall be 10 per day, in the aggregate. Gill
nets set in Back Bay waters shall be at least 300 feet from any
other net and at least 300 feet from the shoreline. All such
nets must be marked at both ends and at least every 100 feet
along the length of the net with a five-inch by 12-inch
minimum dimensions float.

4VAC15-340-40. Dip nets; generally.

A. Authorization to take fish with dip nets. A county dip net
permit shall authorize the holder to take shad, herring; mullet
and suckers (daily creel (possession) limits for shad ané
herring are found in 4VAC15-320-25, there is no limit for
mullet, and subsection D of this section provides limits for
suckers), in the county named on the face of the permit with a
dip net in inland waters, except where otherwise prohibited
by local legislation or by the sections appearing in this
chapter.

B. Persons required to have permit; inspection by game
wardens. A dip net permit, or valid fishing license, shall be
required for all persons using or assisting in the use of a dip
net and permits, or licenses, shall be carried at all times while
using such nets and shall be subject to inspection by game
wardens.

C. Release of certain fish netted. All fish, except shad,
herring; mullet, suckers and carp, when taken with a dip net
shall be returned to the water alive with as little injury as
possible.

D. Special provisions applicable only to suckers. The
following special provisions shall apply only to the taking of
suckers, with a dip net:

1. Not more than 20 may be taken by any person in one
day;

2. The open season for taking same with a dip net shall be
from February 15 through May 15, both dates inclusive;
and

3. Dip nets for taking such fish shall not be more than six
feet square.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-821; Filed August 1, 2007, 10:31 a.m.
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Proposed Regulation

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-350. Fish: Gigs, Grab Hooks,
Trotlines, Snares, Etc (amending 4VAC15-350-20,
4VVAC15-350-30, 4VAC15-350-60, 4VAC15-350-70).

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:

October 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and
Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until
September 24, 2007.

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Regulatory
Coordinator, and Freedom of Information Officer,
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-1000,
FAX (804) 367-0488, or email
regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendments (i) add a reference to clarify the
creel and length limits for nongame fish, (ii) add the word
"common" to "carp," (iii) add northern snakehead to the
list of fish that can be taken with a bow and arrow, (iv)
remove "crossbows" from the prohibited type of bows and
arrows, and (v) add a section to clarify that an unlimited
number of common carp, northern snakehead, and gar can
be taken with a bow and arrow, and snakeheads must be
reported to the department.

4VAC15-350-20. Gigs, grab hooks, etc.; certain counties
east of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

It shall be lawful to take nongame fish (daily creel

waters except Dismal River; Grayson County, New River;
Lee County, Powell River; Russell County, Clinch River;
Scott County, Clinch River and its tributaries; Tazewell
County, Dry Run Creek; Washington County, Middle and
South Forks of the Holston River; Wise County, Clinch
River. The bag limit for taking suckers or red horse provided
for in this section shall be 20 per day.

4VAC15-350-60. Trotlines, juglines or set poles.

A. Generally. Except as otherwise provided by local
legislation and by subsection B of this section, and except on
waters stocked with trout and within 600 feet of any dam, it
shall be lawful to use trotlines, juglines or set poles for the
purpose of taking nongame fish (daily creel (possession) and
length limits for nongame fish are found in 4VAC15-320-25)
and turtles (limits for turtles are found in 4VAC15-360-10),
provided that no live bait is used. Notwithstanding the
provisions of this section, live bait other than game fish may
be used on trotlines to take catfish in the Clinch River in the
Counties of Russell, Scott and Wise. Any person setting or in
possession of a trotline, jugline or set pole shall have it
clearly marked by permanent means with his name, address
and telephone number, and is required to check all lines at
least once each day and remove all fish and animals caught.
This requirement shall not apply to landowners on private
ponds, nor to a bona fide tenant or lessee on private ponds
within the bounds of land rented or leased by him, nor to
anyone transporting any such device from its place of
purchase.

B. Quantico Marine Reservation. It shall be unlawful to fish
with trotlines in any waters within the confines of Quantico
Marine Reservation.

4VAC15-350-70. Taking common
snakehead, and gar with bow and arrow.

carp,__northern

(possession) and length limits for nongame fish are found in
4VAC15-320-25) at any time by snagging, grabbing, snaring,
gigging, and with a striking iron in all waters of the following
counties, except public impoundments, the Roanoke
(Staunton) and Dan rivers, the James River in Goochland
County and those waters stocked by the department: Amelia,
Appomattox, Brunswick, Buckingham, Campbell, Charlotte,
Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Goochland, Greensville, Halifax,
Louisa, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Nottoway, Pittsylvania and
Prince Edward.

4VAC15-350-30. Gigs, grab hooks, etc.; certain counties
west of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

Except as otherwise provided by local legislation, it shall be
lawful to take nongame fish (daily creel (possession) and
length limits for nongame fish are found in 4VAC15-320-25)
in the daytime by snagging, grabbing, snaring, gigging, and
with a striking iron from April 1 through May 15, both dates
inclusive, and October 1 through November 30, both dates
inclusive, in the following waters: Buchanan County, all

A. Season. Except as otherwise provided by local legislation
or as posted, it shall be lawful to take common carp, northern
snakehead, and gar from the public inland waters of the
Commonwealth, except waters stocked with trout, by means
of bow and arrow.

B. Cressbews;—peisen Poison arrows or explosive-head
arrows prohibited. It shall be unlawful to use a—eressbow;

poison arrows or arrows with explosive heads at any time for
the purpose of taking common carp, northern snakehead, or
gar in the public inland waters of the Commonwealth.

C. Fishing license required. All persons taking fish in the
manner mentioned in this section shall be required to have a
regular fishing license.

D. Creel limits. Common carp. northern snakehead, and gar
— unlimited, provided that any angler taking northern
snakehead immediately kill such fish and notify the
department, as soon as practicable, of such actions.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-822; Filed August 1,2007, 10:31 a.m.
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Proposed Regulation

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-360. Fish: Aquatic
Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and Nongame Fish
(amending 4VAC15-360-10).

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:

October 16, 2007 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and
Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until
September 24, 2007.

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst, Regulatory
Coordinator, and Freedom of Information Officer,
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-1000,

FAX (804) 367-0488, or email
regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendment allows for (i) personal

possession of selected species under certain conditions, (ii)
liberation of certain species of native species of wildlife
captured and held live under certain conditions, and (iii)
use of turtle traps (hoop nets) for the taking of snapping
turtles.

4VAC15-360-10. Taking aquatic invertebrates,
amphibians, reptiles, and nongame fish for private use.

A. Possession limits. Except as otherwise provided for in
§29.1-418 of the Code of Virginia, 4VAC15-20-130,
subdivision 8 of 4VACI15-320-40 and the sections of this
chapter, it shall be lawful to capture and possess live for
private use and not for sale no more than five individuals of
any single native or naturalized (as defined in 4VACI15-20-
50) species of amphibian and reptile and 20 individuals of
any single native or naturalized (as defined in 4VAC15-20-
50) species of aquatic invertebrate and nongame fish unless
specifically listed below:

1. The following species may be taken in unlimited
numbers from inland waters statewide: carp, bowfin,
longnose gar, mullet, yellow bullhead, brown bullhead,
black bullhead, flat bullhead, snail bullhead, white sucker,
northern hogsucker, gizzard shad, threadfin shad, blueback
herring (see 4VAC15-320-25 for anadromous blueback
herring limits), white perch, yellow perch, alewife (see
4VAC15-320-25 for anadromous alewife limits),
stoneroller (hornyhead), fathead minnow, golden shiner,
and goldfish.

2. See 4VAC15-320-25 for American shad, hickory shad,
channel catfish, white catfish, flathead catfish, and blue
catfish limits.

3. For the purpose of this chapter, "fish bait" shall be
defined as native or naturalized species of minnows and
chubs (Cyprinidae), salamanders (each under six inches in
total length), crayfish, and hellgrammites. The possession
limit for taking "fish bait" shall be 50 individuals in
aggregate, unless said person has purchased "fish bait" and
has a receipt specifying the number of individuals
purchased by species, except salamanders and crayfish
which cannot be sold pursuant to the provisions of
4VAC15-360-60 and 4VAC15-360-70. However,
stonerollers (hornyheads), fathead minnows, golden
shiners, and goldfish may be taken and possessed in
unlimited numbers as provided for in subdivision 1 of this
subsection.

4. The daily limit for bullfrogs and snapping turtles shall
be 15 and bullfrogs and snapping turtles may not be taken
from the banks or waters of designated stocked trout
waters.

5. The following species may not be taken in any number
for private use: candy darter, eastern hellbender,
diamondback terrapin, and spotted turtle. Any individual of
these species possessed in captivity in Virginia on June 30,
2006, may be maintained in captivity until the animal’s
death, but the animal may not be sold or released on or

after July 1, 2006. Any transfer of animals must have prior
authorization of the director or his designee and may only

be made to an educational facility.

6. Native amphibians and reptiles, as defined in 4VAC15-
20-50, that are captured within the Commonwealth and
possessed live for private use and not for sale may be
liberated under the following conditions:

a. Period of captivity does not exceed 30 days;

b. Animals must be liberated at the site of capture;

c. Animals must have been housed separately from other
wild-caught and domestic animals; and

d. Animals that demonstrate symptoms of disease or
illness or that have sustained injury during their captivity

may not be released.

B. Methods of taking species in subsection A. Except as
otherwise provided for in the Code of Virginia, 4VAC15-20-
130, 4VAC15-320-40, and other regulations of the board, and
except in any waters where the use of nets is prohibited, the
species listed in subsection A may only be taken by hand,
hook and line, with a seine not exceeding four feet in depth
by 10 feet in length, an umbrella type net not exceeding five
by five feet square, small minnow traps with throat openings
no larger than one inch in diameter, cast nets, and hand-held
bow nets with diameter not to exceed 20 inches and handle
length not to exceed eight feet (such cast net and hand-held
bow nets when so used shall not be deemed dip nets under the
provisions of §29.1-416 of the Code of Virginia). Gizzard
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shad and white perch may also be taken from below the fall
line in all tidal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay using a gill net
in accordance with Virginia Marine Resources Commission
recreational fishing regulations. Bullfrogs may also be taken
by gigging or bow and arrow and, from private waters, by
firearms no larger than .22 caliber rimfire. Snapping turtles
may be taken for personal use with hoop nets not exceeding
six feet in length with a throat opening not exceeding 36
inches.

C. Areas restricted from taking mollusks. Except as
provided for in §§29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of
Virginia, it shall be unlawful to take mussels and the spiny
riversnail (Io fluvialis) in the Tennessee drainage in Virginia
(Clinch, Powell and the North, South and Middle Forks of the
Holston Rivers and tributaries). It shall be unlawful to take
mussels in the James River and tributaries west of U.S. Route
29, in the entire North Fork of the Shenandoah River, and in
the entire Nottoway River.

D. Areas restricted from taking salamanders. Except as
provided for in §§29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of
Virginia, it shall be unlawful to take salamanders in Grayson
Highlands State Park and on National Forest lands in the
Jefferson National Forest in those portions of Grayson, Smyth
and Washington Counties bounded on the east by State Route
16, on the north by State Route 603 and on the south and west
by U.S. Route 58.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-825; Filed August 1,2007, 10:31 a.m.

VIRGINIA SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION
BOARD

Proposed Regulation

Title of Regulation: 4VAC50-20. Impounding Structure
Regulations (amending 4VAC50-20-20 through 4VAC50-
20-90, 4VACH0-20-150  through  4VACH50-20-180,
4VAC50-20-200 through 4VAC50-20-240, 4VAC50-20-
260 through 4VAC50-20-320; adding 4VAC50-20-52,
4VAC50-20-54, 4VAC50-20-58, 4VAC50-20-105,
4VAC50-20-125,  4VAC5H0-20-155,  4VAC5H0-20-165,
4VAC50-20-175,  4VACH0-20-177,  4VAC50-20-330,
4VAC50-20-340,  4VAC50-20-350,  4VAC50-20-360,
4VAC50-20-370,  4VAC50-20-380,  4VAC50-20-390,
4VAC50-20-400; repealing 4VAC50-20-100, 4VAC50-20-
110, 4VAC50-20-120, 4VAC50-20-130, 4VAC50-20-140,
4VAC50-20-250).

Statutory Authority: §10.1-605 of the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:

October 4, 2007 - 7 p.m. - Roanoke City Council
Chambers, Noel C. Taylor Municipal Building, 215
Church Avenue Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24011

October 9, 2007 - 7 p.m. - Hampton City Hall, 22 Lincoln
Street, 8th Floor, Hampton, VA 23669

October 10, 2007 - 7 p.m. - Henrico County Government
Complex Board Room, 4301 East Parham Road,
Richmond, VA 23228

October 11, 2007 - 7 p.m. - Augusta County Government
Center, 18 Government Center Lane, Verona, VA 24482

October 16, 2007 - 7 p.m. - City of Manassas Council
Chambers, 9027 Center Street, Manassas, VA 20110

Public Comments: Public comments may be submitted until
5 p.m. on October 19, 2007.

Agency Contact: David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and
Budget Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation,
203 Governor Street, Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov.

Basis: The Virginia Dam Safety Act (§10.1-604 et seq. of the
Code of Virginia) ensures public safety through the proper
and safe design, construction, operation, and maintenance of
impounding structures in the Commonwealth. This is
accomplished through the effective administration of the
Virginia Dam Safety Program (program). Authority for the
program rests with the Virginia Soil and Water Conservation
Board (board) and it is administered on behalf of the board by
the Department of Conservation and Recreation’s Division of
Dam Safety and Floodplain Management. The program
focuses on enhancing public safety through bringing all
impounding structures of regulated size under Regular
Operation and Maintenance Certificates.

Pursuant to §10.1-605, the board is directed to promulgate
regulations for impounding structures.

Purpose: As there have been no regulatory changes made to
the impounding structure regulations since the late 1980’s
except to update the definition of regulated dams to conform
it with the 2001 legislative change in definition (Chapter 92
(SB1166) of the 2001 Virginia Acts of Assembly), it was
determined that this body of regulations required a
substantive review and potential revisions. Since the 1980’s,
public safety concerns have evolved and engineering and
technology and methodologies have advanced. These events
have resulted in the need to consider amendments to the
regulations. Further with the significant revisions made to the
Virginia Dam Safety Act during the 2006 legislative session
(Chapter 30 (HB597) of the 2006 Virginia Acts of Assembly)
it is necessary to update the regulations to reflect those
revised and enhanced powers and authorities. It has also been
determined that the administration and implementation of the
Dam Safety Program could be improved through regulatory
updates and that the intent and procedures embodied within
the regulations could be clarified for the regulated
community’s and the public’s benefit.

For the purposes outlined above and most importantly for the
purpose of protecting the safety and welfare of the public and
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their property from the impacts of a dam failure, this
regulatory action amends the Virginia Soil and Water
Conservation Board’s Impounding Structure Regulations to:

1. Revise the dam hazard potential classification system;

2. Specify that spillway design requirements are applicable
to all state regulated dams;

3. Modify the spillway design requirements to enhance
public safety and reduce subjectivity;

4. Allow for the potential reduction of the spillway design
flood requirement through an incremental damage
assessment for all qualified dams;

5. Establish dam break inundation zone mapping
requirements;

6. Expand emergency action plan requirements for High
and Significant Hazard Potential dams and emergency
preparedness plan requirements for Low Hazard Potential
dams;

7. Establish permit application fees for the administration
of the Dam Safety Program that will create a stream of
revenue sufficient to support an additional dam safety
engineer;

8. Remove the forms that are incorporated by reference and
move reporting standards into the regulations;

9. Create new definitions or modify current definitions;

10. Reorganize, clarify, and expand sections related to
permitting procedures; and

11. Update sections related to inspections, enforcement,
and unsafe conditions.

Making these key modifications to the regulations will result
in a Dam Safety Program that will be better able to protect the
public’s safety, treat all dam owners similarly and fairly in
accordance with the regulations, increase awareness of dams
and their potential impacts within local governments and their
citizens, and help improve the administration of the program
to the benefit of the public. The implementation of the
criteria established in this regulation should minimize dam
failure and the potential significant impacts associated with
such a failure.

It should also be noted that many of these impounding
structures also have environmental benefits in that they serve
as sediment retention basins thus improving water quality.
However, alternatively, the failure of such an impounding
structure may result in significant downstream environmental
damages should the sediment be released.

Substance:

Key provisions of this regulatory action include the
following:

1. A revision of the dam classification system from four
categories (Class I, II, III, and IV) to three hazard
classifications (High, Significant, and Low). This will
conform the classification categories to those used by
federal agencies and many states. Functionally, the change
will primarily involve grouping Class III and Class IV
dams together into the Low category. Currently the Class
IV dams do not have to have an engineer, an inspection, or
an Emergency Action Plan (EAP). It was determined that
all dams should be regulated similarly for dam safety
purposes.

2. A specification that the Spillway Design Flood
requirements (Table 1) are applicable to all dams not just
"new" (post July 1982) dams. In addition, Table 1 is
revised to:

a. Reflect the revised dam classifications.

b. Update spillway design requirements to enhance
public safety and to move towards federal standards.

c. Eliminate spillway design flood ranges that may result
in inconsistency in application.

d. Require that the spillway of all High hazard dams be
engineered to pass the full Probable Maximum Flood.

e. Specify minimum thresholds for incremental damage
assessment. It was determined that for the purposes of
public safety that all dams should be regulated in
accordance  with  standardized  spillway  design
requirements and evaluation procedures.

3. The creation of a new section that allows for the
potential reduction of the spillway design flood
requirement through an incremental damage assessment for
those dams meeting the specified administrative
requirements. This would now be applicable to all eligible
dams where previously it was only available to dams
constructed prior to July 1982. Additionally, it is specified
that the spillway design flood shall not be reduced below
the minimum threshold values as determined by Table 1. In
consultation with the technical advisory committee, it was
determined that the incremental damage assessment should
be made available to all dam owners to see if a reduction in
the required Spillway Design flood (SDF) could be
considered where the breach of a dam would not
significantly worsen downstream flooding. It was
determined that a minimum threshold be established below
which the SDF could not be reduced to set out a baseline
that adequately protects public safety.

4. The creation of a new section that sets out dam break
inundation zone mapping requirements. In consultation
with the TAC, it was determined that both for hazard
potential classification determination for all dams and for
Emergency Action Plans for High and Significant dams
that a dam break inundation zone map should be required.
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The map will specify the areas that might be inundated
during both a sunny day failure and a probable maximum
flood (PMF) failure in order to demonstrate the levels
where failure of the dam does not further constitute a
hazard to downstream life or property. The areas to be
impacted during a break should be the areas of focus for
emergency warnings and evacuations.

5. A specification that for each Operation and Maintenance
certificate (Regular or Conditional) issued, the impounding
structure owner shall send a copy of the certificate to the
appropriate local government(s) with planning and zoning
responsibilities. As downstream development approved by
a locality may result in the change in hazard potential
classification of an upstream dam and for the need for the
dam to upgrade its spillway design at a significant expense
to the owner, this notification may result in localities
making more informed zoning decisions regarding a
development.

6. The development of language establishing a delayed
effective date for certain dams determined to have an
adequate spillway capacity prior to the effective date of
these regulations but that would require modifications due
to changes in the regulations.

a. It is specified that the owner shall submit to the Board
an Alteration Permit Application and associated
documents to address spillway capacity prior to the
expiration of this Regular Operation and Maintenance
Certificate or within three years of the effective date of
these regulations, whichever is later. As regular
certificates are good for six years from time of issuance,
this would mean that complete applications would be due
no sooner than three years and no later than six years.

b. It is specified that the Alteration Permit Application
shall contain a construction sequence with milestones for
completing the necessary improvements within five years
of Alteration Permit issuance. (NOTE: 8 to 11 years in
total to come into compliance). In light of the costs
associated with upgrading a dam to meet the new
spillway design safety requirements and the time
necessary to conduct the associated engineering studies
and alteration activities, it was determined that a phased
in effective date should be included in the regulations for
dams that currently meet regulatory standards.

7. The creation of a new section expanding emergency
action plan requirements for High and Significant Hazard
Potential dams. A fundamental element of protecting
against the loss of life that may occur upon the failure of an
impounding structure is the development of an emergency
action plan that may be successfully implemented. The
plan would be developed and periodically tested in
coordination with all entities, jurisdictions, and agencies
that would be affected by a dam failure or that have

statutory responsibilities for warning, evacuation, and post-
flood actions.

8. The creation of a new section establishing emergency
preparedness plan requirements for each Low Hazard
Potential dam. As low hazard dams do not pose the same
risk to loss of life as higher hazard dams, it was determined
that an abbreviated emergency preparedness plan should be
required. Such a plan would allow for contacts to
downstream landowners that may sustain a loss of personal
property should a dam fail (e.g., farmer losing livestock or
machinery).

9. The creation of a series of new sections that cites the
authority for the board to establish and collect application
fees for the administration of the dam safety program,
administrative review, certifications, and the repair and
maintenance of dams and that establishes such fees. It is
understood that the Commonwealth needs sufficient staff
and fiscal resources to properly administer a regulatory
program. A publication by the Association of State Dam
Safety Officials (Model State Dam Safety Program,
Association of State Dam Safety Officials, 1998) states 10
state regulators are needed for every 250 dams. The
department currently regulates almost 600 dams and has in
its inventory over 1,700 dams, a significant number of
which should be regulated, with only four Regional
Engineer positions and one Program Manager. The staff
workload is much higher than in other states. The fees,
which have been purposely set low to reduce constituent
impacts, would generate sufficient revenue to fund
approximately one engineer on an annual basis.

10. The removal of all forms currently incorporated by
reference and incorporation of required elements of the
forms into the regulations. Recommended forms will still
be available. This will allow for the modification and
improvement of forms without going through a lengthy
regulatory action. The department will still utilize a public
process to make substantial changes to the forms.

11. The provision of definitions or modifications to
definitions for "Agricultural purpose,” "Alteration,"
"Construction,” "Dam  break inundation  zone,"
"Department,” "Drill," "Emergency Action Plan or EAP,"
"Emergency Action Plan Exercise,” "Emergency
Preparedness Plan," "Freeboard," "Height," "Spillway,"
"Stage I condition," "Stage II condition," Stage III
condition," "Sunny Day Dam Failure," and "Tabletop
Exercise." In order to support the above-referenced
amendments, the addition or alteration of definitions was
necessary.

12. Reorganizes, clarifies, and expands multiple sections
related to permits and repeals sections that are incorporated
into the reorganized sections. In an effort to provide
additional clarity to the permitting process, a number of
sections related to permitting were reorganized. It is hoped
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that these revised sections will provide better guidance to
the regulated community as they pursue the necessary
permits and seek additional information regarding the
permitting processes.

13. The creation of a new section stating that dams
operated primarily for agricultural purposes which are less
than 25 feet in height or which create a maximum
impoundment capacity smaller than 100 acre-feet are
exempt from the regulations. This is to clarify the
exemption contained in 4VAC50-20-30 and 4VAC50-20-
50 and to set out exemption validation procedures and
reporting form components.

14. Updates sections related to inspections, enforcement,
and unsafe conditions to reflect changes in the Code
pursuant to Chapter 30 (HB597) of the 2006 Virginia Acts
of Assembly. These changes will conform the regulations
to 2006 changes in the Virginia Dam Safety Act.

Issues:

The primary advantage of the proposed regulations is the
enhancement of public safety. The proposed regulations help
promote the safe design, construction, alteration,
maintenance, and operation of impounding structures in the
Commonwealth of Virginia, and thus benefit private citizens,
businesses, local governments, and the Commonwealth as a
whole. The proposed regulations also track federal standards
closer in an effort to improve public safety. The Ad Hoc
Dam Safety Study Committee, which was formed at the
request of the Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board,
observed in its April 30, 2005, report that "[m]any of the
nation’s dams, some originally built in the 1950s and 1960s,
are in need of significant maintenance and/or redesign and
upgrading. As a result of their age and unusually heavy rain
events, a number of dams have failed and resulted in
significant downstream damage, death or injury."
Maintaining the regulations as they currently are will
significantly hamper the efforts of the board to strengthen the
Dam Safety Program and to promote the safety of
impounding structures in the Commonwealth.

In addition, the proposed regulations provide some
environmental benefit. Impounding structures often are
constructed as retention devices for silt and other materials;
ensuring their safe operation and maintenance prevents these
pollutants from being released into downstream water bodies
and environments.

Failure of dams or living downstream of dams that are in
need of upgrades may also impact property and insurance
values. Implementation of these regulations will reduce such
dam failures.

Finally, the current action is intended to increase user-
friendliness of many aspects of the Dam Safety Program.
Vague and confusing references within the regulations have
been clarified or removed where possible, and outdated

required forms have been removed from the regulations to
permit more frequent updates in order to enhance clarity and
usefulness. In addition, confusing and conflicting provisions
have been amended to allow for clarity and ease of
understanding.

The primary disadvantages of the proposed regulations to
private citizens, local governments, and agencies of the
Commonwealth are upgrading and repair costs, as all of these
entity types may own impounding structures in need of
rehabilitation or upgrading based on the criteria set forth by
the proposed regulations. The estimated costs of
implementing dam upgrades to conform with SDF
requirements in the proposed regulations is approximately
$249 million. While substantial, these costs are necessary to
ensure that impounding structures are constructed, operated,
and maintained in a way that adequately protects the safety of
downstream homes, businesses, communities, and associated
infrastructure.  Other items that may be considered
disadvantages by the dam owners are the costs associated
with dam break inundation zone mapping, application fees,
and EAP preparation.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis: Summary of the Proposed Amendments to

Regulation. The Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board
(Board) proposes several significant changes to these
regulations. Overall, the changes are designed to improve the
protection of the public and their property from the impact of
potential dam failures. Proposed changes include, but are not
limited to: 1) revision of the dam hazard potential
classification system, 2) specification that spillway design
requirements are applicable to all state regulated dams, 3)
modification of the spillway design requirements to enhance
public safety and reduce subjectivity, 4) allowing for the
potential reduction of the spillway design flood requirement
through an incremental damage assessment for all qualified
dams, 5) establishing dam break inundation zone mapping
requirements, 6) expanding emergency action plan
requirements for High and Significant Hazard Potential dams
and emergency preparedness plan requirements for Low
Hazard Potential dams, 7) establishing permit application fees
for the administration of the Dam Safety Program that will
create a stream of revenue sufficient to support an additional
dam safety engineer, 8) removing the forms that are
incorporated by reference and move reporting standards into
the regulations, 9) creating new definitions and modifying
current definitions, 10) reorganizing, clarifying, and
expanding sections related to permitting procedures, and 11)
updating sections related to inspections, enforcement, and
unsafe conditions.

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for
one or more proposed changes. There is insufficient data to
accurately compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the
costs for other changes.
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Estimated Economic Impact. The Virginia Dam Safety Act
(§10.1-604 through §10.1-613 of the Code of Virginia) was
designed to ensure public safety through requirements related
to the proper and safe design, construction, operation, and
maintenance of impounding structures in the Commonwealth.
Section 10.1-605 of the Code of Virginia directs the Board to
"promulgate regulations to ensure that impounding structures
in the Commonwealth are properly and safely constructed,
maintained and operated." The Department of Conservation
and Recreation (DCR) points out that "As there have been no
regulatory changes made to the impounding structure
regulations since the late 1980’s except to update the
definition of regulated dams to conform it with a 2001
legislative change in definition [Chapter 92 (SB1166) of the
2001 Virginia Acts of Assembly], it was determined that this
body of regulations required a substantive review and
potential revisions."

For some of the Board’s proposed changes, the benefits
clearly outweigh the costs. For example, the Board proposes
to clarify that "if an owner or the owner’s engineer has
determined that circumstances are impacting the integrity of
the impounding structure which could result in the imminent
failure of the impounding structure, temporary repairs may be
initiated prior to approval from the Board. The owner shall
notify the Department within 24 hours of identifying the
circumstances impacting the integrity of the impounding
structure." According to DCR, this clarification was provided
in response to numerous dam owners expressing concerns
that they did not feel the regulations permitted them from
acting to prevent a dam failure in an emergency. This
language may very well encourage some dam owners to act
more quickly to prevent dam failures.

Also, the Board proposes to require that when dam owners
are issued an operation and Maintenance certificate, they send
a copy to the appropriate local government(s) with planning
and zoning responsibilities. The cost of sending a copy of the
certificate is minimal, while the benefits can be significant.
Downstream development approved by a locality may result
in the change in hazard classification of an upstream dam and
for the need for the dam to upgrade its spillway design at a
significant expense to the owner. Notification may result in
localities making more informed zoning decisions regarding
development.

Most of the Board’s proposed changes increase requirements
related to safety, which likely reduce the probability of dam
failures and the associated loss of life and property damage.
These proposed changes also increase costs for dam owners.
There is no precise estimate available to determine the
reduced likelihood of loss of life due to the proposed
increased requirements related to safety. Thus, even if one
were willing to place a dollar figure on the value of a human
life, an accurate assessment of whether the benefits of the
proposed increased requirements exceed the costs cannot be
made. Nevertheless, the following paragraphs are potentially

useful to the reader in that some specifics of the proposed
changes are elucidated, and fairly detailed cost estimates are
presented.

Under the current regulations dams are categorized as Class I,
II, III, or IV, where Class I dams are located where failure
will cause probable loss of life or serious property damage to
others, Class II dams are located where failure could cause
possible loss of life or serious property damage to others,
Class III dams are located where failure may cause minimal
property damage to others, and Class IV dams are located
where failure would cause no property damage to others. The
board proposes to rename these hazard categories as follows:
Class I would be High, Class Two would be Significant, and
Class III and Class IV would be grouped together as Low.
According to DCR, this change would conform the
classification categories to those used by federal agencies and
many other states.

Significant potential costs associated with the board’s
proposed amendments include: A) development of a dam
break inundation zone map, B) development of an emergency
action plan or emergency preparedness plan, C) implementing
a dam upgrade to conform with SDF requirements, D)
payment of permitting fees, and E) conducting inspections.

The Board proposes to require that dam owners have a dam
break inundation zone map completed by a licensed
professional  engineer for hazard potential class
determinations. The map would also be required for High
and Significant Hazard dams as part of their Emergency
Action Plan (EAP). Maps would be required to be submitted
every 6 years as part of the re-certification process. The map
would be useful for planning and risk assessment since it
would provide information on what areas would be affected
by potential dam breaks. According to DCR, the
development of a dam break inundation zone map includes
two primary elements: (1) a detailed survey with a
benchmark; and (2) a hydraulic computer model run with
mapping of sunny day failure, mapping of the Probable
Maximum Flood (PMF) with a complete failure, and mapping
of the PMF without a dam failure. DCR obtained estimates of
map costs provided by engineering firms that average
$16,417 per map. DCR estimates that 465 dams would
require mapping; thus the estimated total cost associated with
the proposed requirement for inundation zone maps is
$7,633,905."

The Board also proposes to require the development of an
EAP for High and Significant Hazard dams. EAPs are already
required in the current regulations for Class I, II, and III
structures. Many EAPs do not contain the dam break
inundation zone map discussed above. Beyond those mapping
costs estimated above, the remaining EAP preparation costs
are associated with completing the plan in the specified
format and in exercising the plan at the specified intervals.
Although there is no requirement for the dam owner to solicit
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the services of an engineer to complete the plan, DCR
estimates the owners of about 80% of the dams (or 464 dams
out 581) will use engineers, and that engineers will charge
approximately $3,125 per plan. Total costs for plan
preparation would then be approximately $1,450,000.%

Due to Board-proposed increased spillway design
requirements, DCR estimates that of the 1,731 dams in the
Commonwealth database, at least 166 regulated dams will
require a spillway upgrade. According to the database, there
are 127 dams that are currently compliant with the regulations
that may require a spillway upgrade due to the regulation
changes. DCR estimates that upgrade costs for these 127
dams will total $223,397,500. Additionally, there are 39
dams that are currently noncompliant, as they already require
a spillway upgrade, but the change in the regulations will
require upgrading to a higher standard. DCR estimates that
only 25% of the upgrade costs would be associated with
upgrading to a higher standard. This results in $25,556,875
total required upgrade costs for these dams. Thus the
estimated total required spillway design upgrade costs would
be $248,954,375.°

The proposed regulations include the following new fees:

Construction Permit: High or Significant $2,500
Hazard Dam

Construction: Low Hazard Dam $1,000
Regular Operation and Maintenance $1,500
Certificate: High Hazard

Regular Operation and Maintenance $1,000
Certificate: Significant Hazard

Regular Operation and Maintenance $600
Certificate: Low Hazard

The proposed regulations also include other fees for
Conditional Operation and Maintenance Certification and
Incremental Assessment Review. Dam owners can request an
Incremental Assessment Review that may reduce required
upgrades if it is deemed that the dam has lower hazard
potential than it has been previously assessed. DCR estimates
that the following amounts will be paid in fees annually:

The current regulations already require that Class I, Class I,
and Class III dams be inspected by licensed profession
engineers to ensure their structural safety; but Class IV dams
are exempt. Under the proposed regulations Low Hazard
dams require an inspection by an engineer once every six
years. Since current Class IV dams will be Low Hazard dams
under the proposed regulations, current Class IV dams will
need to be inspected once every six years. According to DCR
there are 30 Class IV dams, and it costs on average $2,833 for
inspection and report generation from engineering firms.
Thus, the proposed reclassification of Class IV dams as Low
Hazard dams will result in approximately $84,990 in new
costs every six years,* or $14,165 annually.’

Businesses and Entities Affected. According to DCR, 530
private individuals and entities currently own impounding
structures that are subject to the proposed regulations and that
may be affected by them, at least in part. In addition, five
state agencies, four public colleges and universities, 58
Virginia localities, 10 service authorities, one Watershed
Improvement District, and 12 Soil and Water Conservation
Districts own or maintain state regulated impounding
structures subject to the requirements of the Dam Safety Act,
and may be affected by provisions of the proposed
regulations. Thousands of downstream property owners will
likely be affected as well.

The proposed amendments will create additional demand for
the services of engineers who have the expertise to work on
dams, and for contractors. DCR is aware of approximately 60
engineers offering services to dam owners in the
Commonwealth; these engineers represent 46 different
engineering firms. Most of those firms are likely small
businesses. According to DCR the number of contractors is
not susceptible to calculation, as contractors often vary
project to project; and few specialize in dam repairs.

Localities Particularly Affected®. There are fifty-eight
Virginia localities which own or maintain state-regulated
impounding structures (114 dams). These localities may incur
additional costs associated with the operation and
maintenance of their impounding structures as a result of this
proposed regulation, including costs associated with
inundation mapping, emergency action plan development,
engineering assessments, structural improvements, and
application submittal. According to DCR, no locality will
bear a disproportionate cost per impounding structure.

Number of State Regulated Impounding Structures Owned or
Maintained by Localities

Construction Permit $10,500
Regular Operation and Maintenance $49,500
Certificate Application

Conditional Operation and Maintenance $49,250
Certificate Application

Incremental Damage Analysis Review $18,675
Estimated Total $127,925

Albemarle County 6 City of Lynchburg 3

Ambherst County 4 City of Manassas 2

Augusta County 2 City of Martinsville | 2

Brunswick County 1 City of Newport 6
News
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. . (20 dams). These authorities may incur additional costs
Buckingham County City of Norfolk 3 associated with the operation and maintenance of their
Campbell County City of Norton 2 impounding structures as a result of this proposed regulation,

] including costs associated with inundation mapping,
Carroll County City of Portsmouth | 4 emergency action plan  development, engineering
Chesterfield County City of Staunton 2 assessments, structural improvements, and application
submittal. According to DCR, no service authority will bear
Fairfax County City of Virginia 1 a disproportionate cost per impounding structure.
Beach .
eac Number of State Regulated Impounding Structures Owned or
Fauquier County City of Waynesboro | 1 Maintained by
Frederick County City of 1 Service Authorities
Williamsburg Appomattox River Water Authority 1
Gloucester County Town of Appalachia | 1 Augusta County Service Authority 1
Henrico County Ez‘l;vn of Big Stone 2 Fairfax County Park Authority 2
Henry County Town of Brookneal | 1 Louisa County Water Authority 1
James City County Town of Chatham 2 Metro-Washington Airport Authority 2
Louisa County Town of Coeburn | Nelson County Service Authority 1
Patrick County Town of Culpeper 2 Rapidan Service Authority 1
Prince Edward Town of Drakes | Rivanna Water and Sewer Authority 6
County Branch Upper Occoquan Sewage Authority 1
Prince William Town of Keysville 1 Western Virginia Water Authority 4
County
Total 20
Roanoke County Town of Luray 2 . ] )
Additionally, many of the local Soil and Water Conservation
Spotsylvania County Town of Pulaski 2 Districts own or maintain state-regulated impounding
. structures (104 dams). These Soil and Water Conservation
Stafford County Town of Purcellville | 1 Districts may incur additional costs associated with the
Tazewell Count Town of Scottsville | 1 operation and maintenance of their impounding structures as
v . 3 mai f their i di
] a result of this proposed regulation, including costs associated
City of Bedford Town of South 1 with  inundation mapping, emergency action plan
Boston development, engineering assessments, structural
City of Clifton Town of Strasburg 1 improvements, and application submittal. According to DCR,
Forge no Soil and Water Conservation District will bear a
disproportionate cost per impounding structure.
City of Fairf: T fT 11 1 .
[y of Tawrtax UWN o1 JaZeWe Number of State Regulated Impounding Structures Owned or
City of Town of Warrenton | 2 Maintained by
Fredericksburg Soil and Water Conservation Districts
City 'of Town of Wise 1 Blue Ridge 10
Harrisonburg
City of Lexington Town of Woodstock | 1 Culpeper 1
Total 114 Hanover-Caroline 1
Additionally, there are 10 service authorities (including water Headwaters 1
authorities, sewage authorities, park authorities and airport | Lord Fairfax 2
authorities) which own or maintain state-regulated ]
impounding structures and that may serve multiple localities | Mountain Castles 4
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Peter Francisco 17
Piedmont 14
Robert E. Lee 6
Shenandoah Valley 8
Southside 12
Thomas Jefferson 8
Total 104

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed requirements
for inundation maps, emergency action plans, dam upgrades,
and inspections will increase demand for the services of
engineers  with  relevant  expertise. Consequently,
employment for engineers with the relevant expertise will
likely increase. Employment for their support staff may
increase as well. The required dam upgrades associated with
the proposed regulations will increase demand for contractors
who possess the requisite expertise. Construction
employment will likely moderately increase as well.

The proposed amendments will likely have some negative
impact on employment for public workers in localities. If
local governments must spend multiple millions of extra
dollars on dams, then there will be significant spending
reductions in other areas such as education public safety, and
healthcare.

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The
proposed requirements for inundation maps, emergency
action plans, dam upgrades, and inspections will increase
demand for the services of engineering firms with relevant
expertise. Consequently, the use and value of engineering
firms with dam-relevant expertise will likely increase. The
required dam upgrades associated with the proposed
regulations will also increase demand for contracting firms
which possess the requisite expertise. The use and value of
the firms will increase as well. Demand for construction
materials associated with dam improvements will also
increase. The value of firms selling these materials may
moderately increase.

Dam owners whose required expenditures on their dams
increase significantly due to the proposed requirements will
have fewer dollars to spend elsewhere. For example,
localities that spend millions of additional dollars on dams
will likely purchase fewer supplies and services from private
firms in other categories. Also private dam owners net worth
will decline somewhat with required increased expenditures
on their dams.

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Some small
engineering and contacting firms will benefit from the
proposed regulations.

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes
Adverse Impact. There is no clear alternative that minimizes
the very large costs associated with the proposed amendments
while still achieving the very high level of safety sought.
Costs could potentially be significantly reduced if greater risk
were deemed acceptable.

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007 H of the
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36
(06). Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected
number of persons and employment positions to be affected,
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, §2.2-4007
H requires that such economic impact analyses include (i) an
identification and estimate of the number of small businesses
subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected reporting,
recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for
small businesses to comply with the regulation, including the
type of professional skills necessary for preparing required
reports and other documents; (iii) a statement of the probable
effect of the regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv)
a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative
methods of achieving the purpose of the regulation. The
analysis presented above represents DPB’s best estimate of
these economic impacts.

! Calculation: 465 x $16,417 = $7,633,905

? Caleulation: 464 x $3,125 = $1,450,000

3 Calculation: $223,397,500 + $25,556,875 = $248,54,375
4 Calculation: 30 x $2,833 = $84,990

> Calculation: $84,990 / 6 = $14,165

8 All of the information in this section was graciously provided by the
Department of Conservation and Recreation.

Agency Response to Department of Planning and Budget's
Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of Conservation

and Recreation (DCR) has reviewed the economic impact
analysis (EIA) of the Virginia Soil and Water Conservation
Board’s proposed amendments to the Virginia Impounding
Structure Regulations prepared by the Department of
Planning and Budget (DPB) and is in concurrence with the
information provided with the following qualifications:

First, DCR appreciates the recognition by DPB of the
importance of these regulations in the protection of public
safety.
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Second, DPB noted that "one of the significant potential costs
associated with the board’s proposed amendments include:
...B) development of an emergency action plan or emergency
preparedness plan..." Although stated in the EIA, DCR
would like to point out that emergency action plans (EAPs)
for regulated dams are already an existing requirement. Any
additional costs associated with engineering expenses
incurred in developing EAPs will be solely due to the dam
owner choosing to enlist the services of an engineer as a
matter of convenience.

Third, with regard to the development of dam break
inundation zone maps, DPB stated that "DCR estimates that
465 dams would require mapping; thus the estimated total
cost associated with the proposed requirement for inundation
zone maps is $7,633,905." However, DCR would like to
point out that the following considerations must be taken into
account when reviewing these figures:

1. A number of dam owners already have partial modeling
information available to complete the mapping, which
should reduce preparation costs.

2. The required maps will be good for 6 years unless
circumstances change below the dam, prompting revisions
to the maps.

3. Updates to the vast majority of maps will routinely be
much less costly in subsequent years. If no development
has occurred, no updates will be necessary.

Fourth, DPB states that the "estimated total required spillway
design upgrade costs would be $248,954,375." However,
DCR estimates that approximately 50 percent of the 166
dams that are projected to require spillway upgrades as a
result of the proposed regulatory changes may pursue, for the
first time, an "incremental damage assessment" that may
reduce or eliminate the need to upgrade the dam’s spillway.
Under existing regulations, which have been in place since
1989, the incremental damage assessment has been available
to a limited number of dam owners. This would be a
significant change. Consequently, it is likely that a
significant number of dams will not be found to require a
spillway upgrade, thus reducing the overall estimated cost of
these proposed regulatory amendments.

Fifth, DPB states, "If local governments must spend multiple
millions of extra dollars on dams, then there will be
significant spending reductions in other areas such as
education, public safety, and health care." DCR respectfully
takes exception to this statement. Dam safety is a significant
component to public safety and is increasingly being
recognized as such across the nation. Virginia has
historically experienced a large number of storms and
hurricane events, which have resulted in threats to several
dams and downstream lives and property. As pointed out in a
presentation to the regulatory Technical Advisory Committee,
nine of the top 15 storms in recorded U.S. history have

occurred in or near Virginia as well as 3 of the top 5 most
intense 12-hour storms in the United States. The aging dam
inventory in the Commonwealth, along with increased
proximity of development also places more of the public in
potential harm’s way unless these dams are properly
structured and maintained. DCR also notes that by virtue of
localities investing in dam upgrades, they may avoid the
catastrophic impacts and costs associated with a dam failure
during a future storm event. Further, DCR notes that
localities may be eligible for low-interest financing from the
Virginia Resources Authority to assist with repair costs, thus
reducing local fiscal impacts.

Finally, DCR reiterates that the proposed amendments to
Virginia’s dam safety regulations will substantially improve
the Commonwealth’s means of protecting the public from
dam failures, which can be devastating to dam owners and
especially to downstream communities and property. The
economic impact of such failures to property can range from
thousands to billions of dollars, while no price can be placed
on the lives that may be lost.

Summary:

This regulatory action amends the Virginia Soil and Water
Conservation Board’s Impounding Structure Regulations
to protect the safety and welfare of the public and their
property from the impact of dam failures. The key
elements of this proposed regulation will:

1. Revise the dam hazard potential classification system
from four categories (Class I, Il, Ill, and IV) to three
hazard classifications (High, Significant, and Low);

2. Specify that spillway design requirements are applicable
to all state regulated dams regardless of the date they were
built;

3. Modify the spillway design requirements to enhance
public safety and reduce subjectivity;

4. Allow for the reduction of the spillway design flood
requirements through incremental damage assessments for
all qualifying dams;

5. Establish dam break inundation zone mapping
requirements to identify areas that are subject to flooding
during a dam failure;

6. Expand emergency action plan requirements for High
and Significant Hazard Potential dams and emergency
preparedness plan requirements for Low Hazard Potential
dams;

7. Establish permit application fees for the administration
of the Dam Safety Program;

8. Incorporate reporting standards into the regulations;

9. Reorganize, clarify, and expand sections related to
permitting procedures; and
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10. Update sections related to inspections, enforcement,
and unsafe conditions.

4VAC50-20-20. General provisions.

A. This chapter provides for the proper and safe design,
construction, operation and maintenance of impounding
structures to protect public safety. This chapter shall not be
construed or interpreted to relieve the owner or operator of
any impoundment or impounding structure of any legal
duties, obligations or liabilities incident to ownership, design,
construction, operation or maintenance.

B. Approval by the board of proposals for an impounding
structure shall in no manner be construed or interpreted as
approval to capture or store waters. For information
concerning approval to capture or store waters, see Chapter 8
(§62.1-107) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia, and other
provisions of law as may be applicable.

C. In promulgating this chapter, the board recognizes that no

impounding structure can ever be completely "fail-safe,"
because of incomplete understanding of or uncertainties
associated with natural (earthquakes and floods) and
manmade (sabotage) destructive forces; with material
behavior and response to those forces; and with quality
control during construction.

D. Any All engineering analysis analyses required by this
chapter sweh—as , including but not limited to, plans,

specifications, hydrology, hydraulics and inspections shall be
conducted or overseen by and bear the seal of a professional
engineer licensed to practice in Virginia.

E. Design, inspection and maintenance of impounding

structures  shall be conducted utilizing competent,
experienced, engineering judgment that takes into

consideration factors including but not limited to local

operated primarily for agricultural purposes.

"Alteration" means changes to an impounding structure that
could alter or affect its structural integrity. Alterations
include, but are not limited to, changing the height or
otherwise enlarging the dam, increasing normal pool or
principal spillway elevation or physical dimensions, changing
the elevation or physical dimensions of the emergency
spillway, conducting necessary structural repairs or structural

maintenance, or removing the impounding structure.

"Alteration permit" means a permit required for ehanges any
alteration to an impounding structure that-eould-alter-or-affeet

Hestractartesriy—Aderabionsrequirine wpermiachude;

"Board" means the Virginia Soil and Water Conservation
Board.

"Conditional eperation—and—maintenance—eertificate

Operation and Maintenance Certificate" means a certificate
required for impounding structures with deficiencies.

"Construction" means the construction of a new impounding
structure.

"Construction permit" means a permit required for the
construction of a new impounding structure.

"Dam break inundation zone" means the area downstream of
a dam that would be inundated or otherwise directly affected
by the failure of a dam.

'Department” means the Virginia Department of
Conservation and Recreation.

topography and meteorological conditions.

EF. The offieial forms as called for by in this chapter are
available from the direetor department at the department’s
website.

4VVAC50-20-30. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Acre-foot" means a unit of volume equal to 43,560 cubic
feet or 325,853 gallons (equivalent to one foot of depth over
one acre of area).

"Agricultural purpose" means the production of an
agricultural commodity as defined in §3.1-249.27 of the Code
of Virginia that requires the use of impounded waters.

"Agricultural purpose dams" means dams which are less
than 25 feet in height or which create a maximum
impoundment smaller than 100 acre-feet, and eertified-by-the

"Design flood" means the calculated volume of runoff and
the resulting peak discharge utilized in the evaluation, design,
construction, operation and maintenance of the impounding
structure.

"Director" means the Director of the Department of
Conservation and Recreation or his designee.

"Drill" means a type of emergency action plan exercise that
tests, develops, or maintains skills in an emergency response
procedure. During a drill, participants perform an in-house
exercise to verify telephone numbers and other means of
communication along with the owner’s response. A drill is

considered a necessary part of ongoing training.
"Emergency Action Plan or EAP" means a formal document

that recognizes potential impounding structure emergency
conditions and specifies preplanned actions to be followed to
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minimize loss of life and property damage. The EAP specifies
actions the owner must take to minimize or alleviate

emergency conditions at the impounding structure. It contains
procedures and information to assist the owner in issuing
early warning and notification messages to responsible
emergency management authorities. It shall also contain dam
break inundation zone maps as required to show emergency
management authorities the critical areas for action in case of
emergency.

"Emergency Action Plan Exercise" means an activity
designed to promote emergency preparedness; test or evaluate
EAPs, procedures, or facilities; train personnel in emergency
management duties; and demonstrate operational capability.
In response to a simulated event, exercises should consist of
the performance of duties, tasks, or operations very similar to
the way they would be performed in a real emergency. An
exercise may include but not be limited to drills and tabletop
exercises.

"Emergency Preparedness Plan" means a formal document
prepared for Low Hazard dams that provides maps and
procedures for notifying owners of downstream property that
may be impacted by an emergency situation at an impounding
structure.

"Freeboard" means the vertical distance between the
maximum water surface elevation associated with the
spillway design flood and the top of the impounding
structure.

"Height" means the straetaral hydraulic height of an
impounding structure. If the impounding structure spans a
stream or watercourse, height means the vertical distance
from the natural bed of the stream or watercourse measured at
the downstream toe of the impounding structure to the top of
the impounding structure. If the impounding structure does
not span a stream or watercourse, height means the vertical
distance from the lowest elevation of the eutside downstream
limit of the barrier to the top of the impounding structure.

"Impounding structure" means a man-made deviee structure,
whether a dam across a watercourse or ether structure outside
a watercourse, used or to be used to retain or store waters or
other materials. The term includes: (i) all dams that are 25
feet or greater in height and that create an impoundment
capacity of 15 acre-feet or greater, and (ii) all dams that are
six feet or greater in height and that create an impoundment
capacity of 50 acre-feet or greater. The term "impounding
structure" shall not include: (a) dams licensed by the State
Corporation Commission that are subject to a safety
inspection program; (b) dams owned or licensed by the
United States government; (c) dams eenstrueted;,—maintained
or operated primarily for agricultural purposes which are less
than 25 feet in height or which create a maximum
impoundment capacity smaller than 100 acre-feet; (d) water
or silt retaining dams approved pursuant to §45.1-222 or

§45.1-225.1 of the Code of Virginia; or (e) obstructions in a
canal used to raise or lower water.

"Impoundment" means a body of water or other materials
the storage of which is caused by any impounding structure.

@ Tesu},ﬁ efl *ﬁ.*pw;dmgl SHIHEE“*IE m.lm.e and-that-would-not

"Life of the impounding structure" and "life of the project”
mean that period of time for which the impounding structure
is designed and planned to perform effectively, including the
time required to remove the structure when it is no longer
capable of functioning as planned and designed.

"Maximum impounding capacity” means the volume of
water or other materials in acre-feet that is capable of being
impounded at the top of the impounding structure.

"Normal impounding capacity" means the volume of water
or other materials in acre-feet that is capable of being
impounded at the elevation of the crest of the lowest ungated
outlet from the impoundment.

"Operation and maintenance—eertifieate Maintenance
Certificate" means a certificate required for the operation and
maintenance of all impounding structures.

"Owner" means the owner of the land on which an
impounding structure is situated, the holder of an easement
permitting the construction of an impounding structure and
any person or entity agreeing to maintain an impounding
structure. The term "owner" inelades may include the
Commonwealth or any of its political subdivisions, including
but not limited to sanitation district commissions and
authorities—Alse—ineladed—are , any public or private
institutions, corporations, associations, firms or companies
organized or existing under the laws of this Commonwealth
or any other state or country, as well as any person or group
of persons acting individually or as a group.

"Spillway" means a structure to provide for the controlled
release of flows from the impounding structure into a
downstream area.

"Stage 1 Condition" means a flood watch or heavy
continuous rain or excessive flow of water from ice or snow
melt.

"Stage II Condition" means a flood watch or emergency
spillway activation or dam overtopping where a breach may

be possible.

"Stage III Condition" means an emergency spillway

activation or dam overtopping where imminent failure is
probable.

"Sunny day dam failure" means the breaching of an
impounding structure with the initial water level at the normal
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reservoir level, usually at the lowest ungated principal
spillway elevation or the typical operating water level.

"Tabletop Exercise" means a type of emergency action plan
exercise that involves a meeting of the impounding structure
owner and the state and local emergency management
officials in a conference room environment. The format is
usually informal with minimum stress involved. The exercise
begins with the description of a simulated event and proceeds
with discussions by the participants to evaluate the EAP and
response procedures and to resolve concerns regarding
coordination and responsibilities.

"Top of the impounding structure" means the lowest point of
the nonoverflow section of the impounding structure.

"Watercourse" means a natural channel having a well-
defined bed and banks and in which water normally flows

when-it-normatly-deesflow.
4VVAC50-20-40. Glasses Hazard potential classifications of

defined where an impounding structure failure may-eause

rHaproperty—damuge—to—others—Nodoss—of-te iy
expeeted would result in no expected loss of life and would
cause no more than minimal economic damage. Economic
damage may occur to, but not be limited to, building(s),
industrial or commercial facilities, secondary public
utilities, secondary public roadways, railroads, personal
property and agricultural interests.

5—Such—size—and C. The hazard potential elassifications
classification and size category for the given hazard
classification shall be proposed by the owner and shall be
subject to approval by the direetor board. To support the
appropriate hazard classification, dam break analysis shall be
conducted by the owner’s engineer. Present and prejeeted

impounding structures.

A. Impounding structures shall be classified in one of feur

categories-accordingto-size-and-hazard potential; three hazard

classifications as defined in subsection B of thlS sectlon and

B. For the purpose of this chapter, hazards pertain to
potential loss of human life or preperty damage to the
property of others downstream from the impounding structure
in event of failure or faulty operation of the impounding
structure or appurtenant facilities. Hazard potential
classifications of dams are as follows:

1. Impoundingstractares—inthe—ClassThazard potential
category—are—loeated—where High Hazard Potential is
defined where an impounding structure failure will cause
probable loss of life or serious economic damage te
oceupied. Economic damage may occur to, but not be
limited to, bulldlng(s) industrial or commercial facilities,
impertant primary public utilities, main—highway(s)—er
ratlroad(s) major public roadways, railroads, personal
property, and agricultural interests.

21 " e the Class L1 I al

category-areloecated—where Significant Hazard Potential is
defined where an impounding structure failure eetuld may

cause pessible the loss of life or appreciable economic
damage. Economic damage may occur to, but not be
limited to eeeupied, building(s), industrial or commercial
facilities, secondary public utilities, secondary highway(s)

Hroad . - . ;
relatively —impertant—publie—utilities public roadways,

railroads, personal property, and agricultural interests.

3 ’ o Cl | l ial
category—are—located—where Low Hazard Potential is

development-of planned land-use in the dam break inundation
zones downstream from the impounding structure shall be
considered in determining the classification.

6:D. Impounding structures shall be
reclassification by the board as necessary.

4VAC50-20-50. Performance standards required for
impounding structures.

subject to

A. In accordance with the definitions provided by §10.1-604
of the Code of Virginia and 4VAC50-20-30, an impounding
structure shall be regulated if the dam is 25 feet or greater in
height and creates a maximum impounding capacity of 15
acre-feet or greater, or the dam is six feet or greater in height
and creates a maximum impounding capacity of 50 acre-feet
or greater and is not otherwise exempt from regulation by the

Code of Virginia. Impounding structures exempted from this
chapter are those that are:

1. Licensed by the State Corporation Commission that are
subject to a safety inspection program;

2. Owned or licensed by the United States government;

3. Operated primarily for agricultural purposes that are less
than 25 feet in height or that create a maximum
impoundment capacity smaller than 100 acre-feet;

4. Water or silt-retaining dams approved pursuant to §45.1-
222 or 45.1-225.1 of the Code of Virginia; or

5. Obstructions in a canal used to raise or lower water.

Impounding structures of regulated size and not exempted
shall be constructed, operated and maintained such that they
perform in accordance with their design and purpose
throughout the life of the project. For aew—impounding
structures, the spillway(s) capacity shall perform at a
minimum to safely pass the appropriate spillway design flood
as determined in Table 1. For the purposes of utilizing Table
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1, Maximum Impounding Capacity and Height shall be
determined in accordance with the definitions provided in
4VAC50-20-30 and Hazard Potential Classification shall be

TABLE 1
Impounding Structure Regulations
Hazard SIZE CATEGORIES® | Spillway | Minimum
Potential Design Threshold
Class of Flood for
[Dam (SDF)© Incremental
Damage
Assessment
Maximum Height
Impounding | (Ft)
Capacity
(Ac-Ft)
High All® All® PMF” .50 PMF
Significant | Large > >100 PMFP .50 PMF
50,000
Medium> | >40 | .75PMF | 100-YR®
1,000 & < &<
50,000 100
Small>15 |[>6& |.50 PMF | 100-YR®
& <1,000 <40
Low Large > >100 .50 PMF | 100-YRE
50,000
Medium > | >40 100- 50-YR"
1000 &< | &< YR®
50,000 100
Small>15 [>6& | 100- 50-YR"
&<1,000 |<40 |YR®

determined in accordance with 4VAC50-20-40.
i S lati
Class | Hazard SHZE-CEASSHICATON | Spillway
of Potential—H Desien
Struetre | Capacity (AeFy°* | (Fy° | (SPB
Fails
I Probable Large = =100 | PME°
Loss—of 50,000
Life: o
E : Medium > =40 | PME
Economic 1600 &
Loss &—=< | 100
50,000
Small =50 | =25 | L2 PME
&< | &—=< | to PME
1000 | 40
an Possible Large = =100 [ PME
Loss—of 50,000
Appreeiable Medium = =—40 | 1/2-PME
. 1000 | &—=< | to PME
1 &—= | 100
50,000
Small =350 | =25 | 100-¥YR
& & to—12
1000 | 40 PME
H | NeLess—of | Large = =100 | +2PME
Life 50,000 toPME
E*peeted; . > >
Mt . 000 | &< | to—H2
I &—= | 100 PME
50,000
Small =50 [ =25 [ 50-¥R*
&—=< | &—= | to—100-
1600 | 40
V. [Ne—Loss—of> 50 =25
Eife (nonagrieultural) thoth)
Expeeted:—Neo .
’ = 1L00-(agricultural)
[Economic
Loss-to-Others

@

govers- B. The appropriate size category is determined by the
largest size associated with the maximum impounding
capacity and height of the impounding structure.

°C. The spillway design flood (SDF) represents the largest
flood that need be considered in the evaluation of the
performance for a given project. The impounding structure
shall perform so as to safely pass the appropriate SDF. Where

d  which_d | s Tabl . od
supplement;-not-supplant—Reductions in the established SDF

may be evaluated through the use of incremental damage
assessment pursuant to 4VAC50-20-52. The SDF established
for an impounding structure shall not be less than those
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standards established elsewhere by state law or regulations,
including but not limited to the Virginia Stormwater
Management  Program  (VSMP) Permit Regulations

(4VAC50-60).

°D. PMF: Probable maximumfloed This—means Maximum
Flood is the flood that might be expected from the most
severe combination of critical meteorologic and hydrologic
conditions that are reasonably possible in the region. The
PMF is derived from the current probable maximum
precipitation (PMP) available from the National Weather

Service, NOAA. In—some—eases—local —topography—or
708 ; it e
gl EBEI“I}ZEE HH; ;ltE]S h%i%f.ilé i HIEE. }EE]EE ° EE*.*].“

B

- Any deviation in the application of
established developmental procedures must be explained and
justified by the owner’s engineer. The owner’s engineer must
develop PMF hydrographs for 6-, 12-, and 24-hour durations.
The hydrograph that creates the largest peak outflow is to be

used to determine capacity for nonfailure and failure analysis.
Present and planned land-use conditions shall be considered

in determining the runoff characteristics of the drainage area.

E. 100-Yr: 100-year flood represents the flood magnitude
expected to be equaled or exceeded on the average of once in
100 vyears. It may also be expressed as an exceedence
probability with a 1.0% chance of being equaled or exceeded
in any given year. Present and planned land-use conditions
shall be considered in determining the runoff characteristics

of the drainage area.

F.50-Yr: 50-year flood—Fhis—means represents the flood
magnitude expected to be equaled or exceeded on the average
of once in 50 years. It may also be expressed as an
exceedence probability with a 2.0% chance of being equaled
or exceeded in any given year. Present and planned land-use

conditions shall be considered in determining the runoff
characteristics of the drainage area.

4VVAC50-20-52. Incremental damage assessment.

A. When appropriate, the spillway design flood requirement

1. Operation and maintenance is determined by the director
to be satisfactory and up to date;

2. The impounding structure is not in need of other
alteration related to the integrity of the structure;

3. Emergency Action Plan requirements set out in
4VAC50-20-175 or Emergency Preparedness requirements
set out in 4VAC50-20-177 have been satisfied;

4. Inspection report requirements have been met and are
considered satisfactory by the director;

5. The applicant demonstrates in accordance with the
current design procedures and references of 4VAC50-20-
320 to the satisfaction of the board that the impounding
structure as designed, constructed, operated and maintained
does not pose an unreasonable hazard to life and property;

6. The owner satisfies all special requirements imposed by
the board; and

7. Certification by the owner that these conditions will
continue to be met.

C. After meeting the criteria set out in subsection B of this
section, the owner’s engineer may proceed with an
incremental damage analysis. Once the owner’s engineer has
determined the required spillway design flood through
application of Table 1, further analysis may be performed to
evaluate the limiting flood condition for incremental
damages. This assessment may be used to lower the spillway
design flood. In no situation shall the allowable reduction be
less than the level at which the incremental increase in water
surface elevation downstream due to failure of a dam is no
longer considered to present an unacceptable additional
downstream threat. This engineering analysis will need to
present water surface elevations at each structure that may be
impacted downstream of the dam. Water depths greater than
two feet and overbank flow velocities greater than three feet
per second shall be used to define conditions for unacceptable
additional downstream threat to persons or property.

D. The spillway design flood shall not be reduced below the
minimum threshold values as determined by Table 1.

4VVAC50-20-54. Dam break inundation zone mapping.

A. Dam break inundation zone maps shall be provided to the
department to meet the requirements set out in Hazard
Potential Classifications of Impounding Structures (4VAC50-

20-40), Emergency Action Plan for High and Significant

Potential Hazard Dams (4VAC50-20-175), and Emergency
Preparedness for Low Hazard Potential Dams (4VAC50-20-

may be reduced by the board in accordance with this section.

177). as applicable.

B. Prior to qualifying for a spillway design flood reduction,

B. The location of the end of the inundation mapping should

certain maintenance conditions must be adequately addressed

be indicated where the water surface elevation of the dam

including, but not limited to, the following:

break inundation zone and the water surface elevation of the
spillway design flood during a nondam failure event converge
to within one foot of each other. This would demonstrate a
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level where failure of the dam does not further constitute a
hazard to downstream life or property. The inundation maps

government(s) with planning and zoning responsibilities. A

project description and the map(s) required under 4VAC50-

shall be supplemented with water surface profiles and cross-

20-54 showing the area that could be affected by the

sections at critical areas showing the peak water surface

impounding structure breach shall be submitted with the

elevation prior to failure and the peak water surface elevation

certificate. The department will provide a standard form cover

after failure.

C. All inundation zone map(s), except those utilized in
meeting the requirements of Emergency Preparedness for
Low Hazard Potential Dams (4VAC50-20-177), shall be
signed and sealed by a licensed professional engineer.

D. For determining the hazard potential classification, a
minimum of the following shall be provided to the
department:

1. A sunny day dam break analysis utilizing the volume
retained at the normal or typical water surface elevation of
the impounding structure;

2. A dam break analysis utilizing a probable maximum
flood with a dam failure; and

3. A dam break analysis utilizing a probable maximum
flood without a dam failure.

E. To meet the requirements of Emergency Preparedness set
out in 4VAC50-20-177, all Low Hazard Potential
impounding structures shall provide a simple map. acceptable
to the department, demonstrating the general inundation that
would result from a dam failure. Such maps do not require
preparation by a professional licensed engineer, however, it is
preferred that the maps be prepared by a licensed professional

engineer.

F. To meet the Emergency Action Plan requirements set out

letter for forwarding the certificate copy and accompanying
materials.

Part II
Permit Requirements

4VAC50-20-60. Required permits.

A. No person or entity shall construct or begin to construct
an impounding structure until the board has issued a
construction permit.

B. No person or entity shall alter or begin to alter an existing

impounding structure in—a—manner—which—weuld—petentially
affeet—its—strueturalintegrity until the board has issued an
alteration permit;—er—in—the—ecase—of —an—emergeney;
autherization—obtatned—from—the—direetor. The—permit
requirerment-may-be-waitved-Hthe-dircetor-determines-that-the
dees—neot—mean—normal—operation—and—maintenanee: If an
owner or the owner’s engineer has determined that
circumstances are impacting the integrity of the impounding
structure that could result in the imminent failure of the
impounding_structure, temporary repairs may be initiated
prior to approval from the board. The owner shall notify the
department within 24 hours of identifying the circumstances
impacting the integrity of the impounding structure. Such
emergency notification shall not relieve the owner of the need

in 4VAC50-20-175, all owners of High and Significant
Hazard Potential impounding structures shall provide dam

to obtain an alteration permit as soon as may be practicable,
nor shall the owner take action beyond that necessary to

break inundation map(s) representing the impacts that would

address the emergency situation.

occur with both a sunny day dam failure and a spillway
design flood dam failure.

1. The map(s) shall be developed at a scale sufficient to
graphically display downstream inhabited areas and
structures, roads, and other pertinent structures within the
identified inundation area. In coordination with the local
organization for emergency management, a list of
downstream _inundation zone property owners _and
occupants, including telephone numbers may be plotted on
the map or may be provided with the map for reference
during an emergency.

2. A note shall be included on each map to state: "Mapping
of flooded areas and flood wave travel times are

approximate. Timing and extent of actual inundation may
differ from information presented on this map."

4VVAC50-20-58. Local government notifications.

For each certificate issued, the impounding structure owner

C. When the beard-reeceives owner submits an application to
the board for any permit to construct or alter an impounding
structure, the direetor owner shall also inform the local
government ef—any jurisdiction whieh or jurisdictions that
might be affected by the permit application.

D. In evaluating construction and alteration permit
applications the director shall use the mest—eurrent design
criteria and standards referenced in 4VAC50-20-320 ef-this

chapter.
4VAC50-20-70. Construction permits.

A. Prior to preparing the complete design report for a
apphcants are

eeﬂsameﬁen—pefmﬂ Construction Permlt

dﬂceet% may submlt a prehmmag des1gn report to th
department to determine if the project concept is acceptable to

the department. Eor-this-purpose-the-applicant-should-submit

The preliminary design report should contain, at a minimum,

shall send a copy of the certificate to the appropriate local

a general description of subdivisions 1 through 4— 12 of
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subsection B of this section and subdivisions 1 and 2 of this
subsection:

1. Proposed design criteria and a description of the size of
the impounding structure, ground cover conditions, extent
of current upstream development ef within the watershed
and the hydraulic, hydrological and structural features,
geologic conditions and the geotechnical engineering
assumptions used to determine the foundations foundation,
impoundment rim stability and materials to be used.

2. Preliminary drawings of a general nature, including
cross sections, plans and profiles of the impounding
structure, proposed pool levels and types of spillway(s).

B. An applicant for a econstruction—permit Construction
Permit shall submit a design report en-officialforms. A form

for the design report will be available from the department
(Design Report for the Construction or Alteration of Virginia
Regulated Impounding Structures). The design report shall be
prepared in accordance with 4VAC50-20-240 and—shall
inelude—thefollowing—information:. The design report is a
required element of a complete application for a Construction
Permit and shall include the following information:

P . . propose . g
f P .
. ].i f | . f
1. Project information including a description of the
proposed construction, name of the impounding structure,
inventory number if available, name of the reservoir, and
the purpose of the reservoir.

2. The proposed hazard potential classification in
conformance with Table 1 of 4VAC50-20-50.

3. Location of the impounding structure including the city
or county, number of feet or miles upstream or downstream
of a highway and the highway number, name of the river or
the stream, and the latitude and longitude.

4. Owner’s name or representative if corporation, mailing
address, residential and business telephone numbers, and
other means of communication.

5. Owner’s engineer’s name, firm, professional engineer

Virginia number, mailing address, and business telephone
number.

6. Impounding_structure data including type of material
(earth, concrete, masonry or other) and the following
design configurations:

a. Top of dam (elevation);

b. Downstream toe — lowest (elevation);

c. Height of dam (feet);

d. Crest length — exclusive of spillway (feet);

e. Crest width (feet);

f. Upstream slope (horizontal and vertical); and

g. Downstream slope (horizontal and vertical).

7. Reservoir data including the following:

a. Maximum capacity (acre-feet);

b. Maximum pool (elevation);

¢. Maximum pool surface area (acres);

d. Normal capacity (acre-feet);

e. Normal pool (elevation);

f. Normal pool surface area (acres); and

g. Freeboard — normal pool to top of dam (feet).

8. Spillway data including the type, construction material,
design configuration, and invert elevation for the low level
drain, the principal spillway, and the emergency spillway.

9. Watershed data including drainage area (square miles);
type and extent of watershed development; time of
concentration (hours); routing procedure; spillway design
flood used and state source; design inflow hydrograph
volume (acre-feet), peak inflow (cfs), and rainfall duration
(hours); and freeboard during passage of the spillway
design flood (feet).

2:10. A description of properties located in the dam break
inundation zone downstream from the site of the proposed
impounding structure, including the location and number
of residential structures, buildings, roads, utilities and other
property that would be endangered should the impounding
structure fail.

the—inundatien—=one: 11. Evidence that the local

government or governments have been notified of the
proposal by the owner to build an impounding structure.

4:12. Maps showing the location of the proposed
impounding structure that include: the county or city in
which the proposed impounding structure would be
located, the location of roads; and access to the site, and
the outline of the impoundment. Existing aerial
photographs or existing topographic maps may be used for
this purpose.

5:13. A report of the geotechnical investigations of the
foundation soils, e bedrock, or both and of the materials to
be used to construct the impounding structure.
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6:14. Design assumptions and analyses sufficient to
indicate that the impounding structure will be stable during
its construction and during the life of the impounding
structure under all conditions of reserveir impoundment
operations, including rapid filling, flood surcharge, seismic
loadings, and rapid drawdown of the impoundment.

%15. Evaluation of the stability of the reserveir
impoundment rim area in—erder to safeguard against
reserveir impoundment rim slides of such magnitude as to
create waves capable of overtopping the impounding
structure and eenfirmation evaluation of rim stability
during seismic activity.

&:16. Design assumptions and analyses sufficient to
indicate that seepage in, around, through or under the
impounding structure, foundation and abutments will be
reasonably and practically controlled so that internal or
external forces or results thereof will not endanger the
stability and integrity of the impounding structure. The
design report shall also include information on graded filter

design.

9:17. Calculations and assumptions relative to hydraulic
and structural design of the spillway or spillways and
energy dissipater or dissipaters. Spillway capacity shall
conform to the criteria of Table 1 and 4VAC50-20-52.

16:18. Provisions to ensure that the impounding structure
and appurtenances will be protected against unacceptable
deterioration or erosion due to freezing and thawing, wind,
wave action, and rain or any combination thereof.

+H=19. Other pertinent design data, assumptions and
analyses commensurate with the nature of the particular
impounding structure and specific site conditions,
including when required by the-direeter this chapter, a plan
and profile of the dam break inundation zones.

43:20. A description of the techniques to be used to divert
stream flow during construction so as to prevent hazard to
life, health and property, including a detailed plan and

procedures to maintain a stable impounding structure
during storm events, a drawing showing temporary

s | schedule_indica; .
46:22. Plans and specifications as required by 4VAC50-20-
310.

23. Certification by the owner’s engineer that the

information provided pursuant to this subsection is true and
correct in their professional judgment. Such certification
shall include the engineer’s signature, printed name,

Virginia number, date, and the engineer’s Virginia seal.

24. Owner’s signature certifying receipt of the information
provided pursuant to this subsection.

diversion devices, and a description of the potential
impoundment during construction. Such diversion plans
shall also be in accordance with applicable environmental
laws.

+4:21. A plan ef for project construction monitoring and
quality control testing to confirm that construction
materials and methods performance standards meet the
design requirements set forth in the specifications.

C. A plan of construction is a required element of a

complete permit application for a Construction Permit and

shall include:

1. A construction sequence with milestones.

2. Elements of the work plan that should be considered
include, but are not limited to, foundation and abutment
treatment, stream or river diversion, excavation and
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material fill processes. phased fill and compaction, testing
and control procedures, construction of permanent spillway
and drainage devices.

3. The erosion and sediment control plan, as approved by
the local government, which minimizes soil erosion and
sedimentation during all phases of construction.

4. The stormwater management plan or _stormwater
management facility plan, as approved by the local
government, if the impounding structure is a stormwater

management best management practice.
D. A Temporary Emergency Action Plan is a required

element of a complete application for a Construction Permit
and shall include:

1. A notification list of state and local emergency response
agencies;

2. Provisions for notification of potentially affected
residences and structures;

3. Construction site evacuation routes; and

4. Any other special notes particular to the project.

E. Within 120 days of receipt of a complete Construction
Permit Application the board shall act on the application. If
the application is not acceptable, the director shall inform the
applicant within 60 days of receipt and shall explain what
changes are required for an acceptable application. A
complete Construction Permit Application consists of the

following:

1. A final design report, submitted on the department form
(Design Report for the Construction or Alteration of
Virginia _Regulated  Impoundin; Structures with
attachments as needed, and certified by the owner and the
owner’s engineer;

2. A plan of construction that meets the requirements of
subsection C of this section; and

3. A Temporary Emergency Action Plan that meets the
requirements of subsection D of this section.

G:E. Prior to and during construction the owner shall netify
provide the director of with any proposed changes from the
approved design, plans, specifications, or eperation—and
maintenanee plan of construction. Approval shall be obtained
from the director prior to the construction or installation of

any changes that will affect the stability integrity or
impounding capacity of the impounding structure.

H-G. The eenstruetion—permit Construction Permit shall be
valid for the plan of construction sehedule specified in the

approved-designrepert Construction Permit Application. Fhe
construction—schedule—may—be—amended-by—the—dircetor{for
vood-causc-atthe-requestof theapplicant:

EH. Construction must commence within two years after the
permit is issued. If construction does not commence within
two years after the permit is issued, the permit shall expire,
except that the applicant may petition the board for extension
of the two-year period and the board may extend such period
for good cause with an appropriately updated plan of
construction and temporary emergency action plan.

I. The board, the director, or both may take any necessary

action consistent with the Dam Safety Act (§10.1-604 et seq.
of the Code of Virginia) if any terms of this section or of the
permit are violated, if the activities of the owner are not in
accordance with the approved plans and specifications, if
construction is conducted in a manner hazardous to
downstream life or property, or for other cause as described in
the Act.

J. Within 90 days after completion of the construction of an
impounding structure, the owner shall submit:

1. A complete set of record drawings signed and sealed by
a licensed professional engineer and signed by the owner:

2. A complete Record Report (Record Report for Virginia
Regulated Impounding Structures) signed and sealed by a
licensed professional engineer and signed by the owner
that includes:

a. Project information including the name and inventory
number of the structure, name of the reservoir, and
whether the report is associated with a new or old
structure;

b. Location of the impounding structure including the
city or county, number of feet or miles upstream or
downstream of a highway and the highway number,
name of the river or the stream, and the latitude and

longitude;
c. Owner’s name or representative if corporation, mailing

address, residential and business telephone numbers, and
other means of communication;
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d. Information on the design report, including who it was
prepared by, the date of design report preparation,
whether it was for new construction or for an alteration,
and the permit issuance date;

e. Owner’s engineer’s name, firm, professional engineer

Virginia number, mailing address, and business
telephone number;

f. Impounding_structure data including type of material
(earth, concrete, masonry or other) and the following

configurations:
(1) Top of dam (elevation);

(2) Downstream toe — lowest (elevation);

(3) Height of dam (feet);

(4) Crest length — exclusive of spillway (feet);
(5) Crest width (feet);

(6) Upstream slope (horizontal and vertical); and

(7) Downstream slope (horizontal and vertical).

2. Reservoir data including the following:

(1) Maximum capacity (acre-feet);

(2) Maximum pool (elevation);

(3) Maximum pool surface area (acres);

(4) Normal capacity (acre-feet);

(5) Normal pool (elevation);

(6) Normal pool surface area (acres); and

(7) Freeboard — normal pool to top of dam (feet).

h. Spillway data including the type, construction
material, design configuration, and invert elevation for
the low level drain, the principal spillway, and the
emergency spillway; a description of the low level drain
and principal spillway including dimensions, trash guard
information, and orientation of intake and discharge to
dam if looking downstream; and a description of the
emergency  spillway  including  dimensions and
orientation to dam if looking downstream;

i. Watershed data including drainage area (square miles);
type and extent of watershed development; time of
concentration (hours); routing procedure; spillway design
flood used and state source; design inflow hydrograph
volume (acre-feet), peak inflow (cfs), and rainfall
duration (hours); freeboard during passage of the
spillway design flood (feet); and confirmation as to
whether the impounding structure has ever been

overtopped;

]. Impounding structure history including the date
construction was completed, who it was designed by and

the date, who it was built by and the date, who performed
inspections and dates, description of repairs, and
confirmation as to whether the impounding structure has
ever been overtopped;

k. A narrative describing the impounding structure
procedures  for  operation, maintenance, _filling,
emergency action plan implementation, and structure
evaluation;

l. A narrative describing the hydraulic and hydrologic
data on the spillway design flood, hydrologic records,
flood experience, flood potential, reservoir regulation,
and comments or recommendations regarding these
attributes;

m. A narrative describing stability of the foundation and
abutments, embankment materials, and a written
evaluation of each;

n. A complete set of record drawings signed and sealed
by a licensed professional engineer and signed by the
owner;

0. Certification by the owner’s engineer that the
information provided pursuant to subdivision J 2 of this
section is true and correct in their professional judgment.
Such certification shall include the engineer’s signature,
printed name, Virginia number, date, and the engineer’s

Virginia seal; and

p. Owner’s signature certifying receipt of the information
provided pursuant to subdivision J 2 of this section.

3. Certification from the licensed professional engineer
who has monitored construction of the impounding
structure during construction that, to the best of the
engineer’s judgment, knowledge and belief, the
impounding _structure and its appurtenances _were
constructed in conformance with the plans, specifications,
drawings and other requirements approved by the board;

4. Operation and Maintenance Certificate Application
(Operation _and Maintenance Certificate Application for
Virginia Regulated Impounding Structures) in accordance
with 4VAC50-20-105; and

5. Emergency Action Plan or Emergency Preparedness
Plan in accordance with 4VAC50-20-175 or 4VAC50-20-
177.

K. Upon completion of construction, the impoundment may
be filled upon board issuance of an Operation and
Maintenance Certificate.

4VAC50-20-80. Alterations permits.

A—Application for a-permit-io alier an-impounding siructure
“; ”a? S h*fl* Buég P e:e;m&ll? ;‘]ﬁe“ “]S. SE*.HEEH*]&};]&EE] g“;ﬁ
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BA. Alterations which would potentially affect the structural
integrity of an impounding structure include, but are not
limited to, changing its the height or otherwise enlarging the

dam, increasing the normal pool or principal spillway
elevation or physical dimensions, changing the elevation or
physical dimensions of the emergency spillway, conducting

necessary repairs or structural maintenance, or removing the
impounding structure.

B. An applicant for an Alteration Permit shall submit a
design report. A form for the design report will be available

from the department (Design Report for the Construction or
Alteration of Virginia Regulated Impounding Structures). The
design report shall be prepared in accordance with 4VAC50-
20-240. The design report shall include, but not be limited to,
the following information:

1. Project information including a description and benefits
of the proposed alteration, name of the impounding
structure, inventory number if available, name of the
reservoir, and the purpose of the reservoir.

2. The hazard potential classification in conformance with
Table 1 in 4VAC50-20-50.

3. Location of the impounding structure including the city
or county, number of feet or miles upstream or downstream
of a highway and the highway number, name of the river or
the stream, and the latitude and longitude.

4. Owner’s name or representative if corporation, mailing
address, residential and business telephone numbers, and

other means of communication.

5. Owner’s engineer’s name, firm, professional engineer

Virginia number, mailing address, and business telephone
number.

6. Impounding_structure data including type of material
(earth, concrete, masonry or other) and the following
configurations  (note  both  existing and  design
configurations for each):

a. Top of dam (elevation);

b. Downstream toe — lowest (elevation);

c. Height of dam (feet);

d. Crest length — exclusive of spillway (feet);

e. Crest width (feet);

f. Upstream slope (horizontal and vertical); and

g. Downstream slope (horizontal and vertical).

7. Reservoir data including the following (note both
existing and design configurations for each):

a. Maximum capacity (acre-feet);

b. Maximum pool (elevation);

¢. Maximum pool surface area (acres);

d. Normal capacity (acre-feet);

e. Normal pool (elevation);

f. Normal pool surface area (acres); and

g. Freeboard — normal pool to top of dam (feet).

8. Spillway data including the type, construction material,
design configuration, and invert elevation for the low level
drain, the principal spillway, and the emergency spillway.

9. Watershed data including drainage area (square miles);

type and extent of watershed development; time of
concentration (hours); routing procedure; spillway design
flood used and state source; design inflow hydrograph
volume (acre-feet), peak inflow (cfs), and rainfall duration
(hours); and freeboard during passage of the spillway
design flood (feet).

10. Evidence that the local government has been notified of
the alteration and repair plan.

11. Plans and specifications as required by 4VAC50-20-
310. The plan view of the dam site should represent all
significant structures and improvements that illustrate the
location of all proposed work.

12. A report of the geotechnical investigations of the
foundation soils, bedrock, or both in the areas affected by
the proposed alterations and of the materials to be used to
alter the impounding structure.

13. Design assumptions and analyses sufficient to indicate
that the impounding structure will be stable during the
alteration of the impounding structure under all conditions
of reservoir operations.

14. Calculations and assumptions relative to design of the
improved spillway or spillways, if applicable.

15. Provisions to ensure that the impounding structure and
appurtenances during the alteration will be protected
against unacceptable deterioration or erosion due to
freezing and thawing, wind, wave action and rain or any
combination thereof.
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16. Other pertinent design data, assumptions and analyses

3. Any necessary interim provisions to the current

commensurate with the nature of the particular impounding

Emergency Action Plan or Emergency Preparedness Plan.

structure _and specific site conditions, including when

Interim provisions shall be submitted to the local

required by this chapter, a plan and profile of the dam

organization for emergency management, the Virginia

break inundation zones.

17. If applicable, a description of the techniques to be used
to_divert stream flow during alteration work so as to

Department  of Emergency Management, and the
department; and

4. If the owner is requesting the deregulation of an

prevent hazard to life, health and property, including a

detailed plan and procedures to maintain a stable
impounding_ structure during storm events, a drawing

impounding structure, the application shall specify whether
the impounding structure is to be removed so that the

impounding_structure is incapable of storing water, either

showing temporary diversion devices, and a description of

temporarily or permanently; or whether the impounding

the potential impoundment during the alteration. Such
diversion plans shall be in accordance with the applicable

structure is to be altered in such a manner that either the
height or storage capacity of the impounding structure

environmental laws.

18. A plan for project construction monitoring and quality
control testing to confirm that materials used in the

causes the impounding structure to be of less than
regulated size.

E. During the alteration work, the owner shall provide the

alteration work and that performance standards meet the
design requirements set forth in the specifications.

19. Certification by the owner’s engineer that the
information provided pursuant to this subsection is true and
correct in their professional judgment. Such certification
shall include the engineer’s signature, printed name,

director with any proposed changes from the approved
design, plans, specifications, or a plan of construction.

Approval shall be obtained from the director prior to the

alteration or installation of any changes that will affect the
integrity or impounding capacity of the impounding structure.

F. The Alteration Permit shall be valid for the construction

Virginia number, date, and the engineer’s Virginia seal.

20. Owner’s signature certifying receipt of the information
provided pursuant to this subsection.

C. A plan of construction is a required element of complete
permit application and shall include:

1. A construction sequence with milestones.

2. Elements of the work plan that should be considered
include, but are not limited to, foundation and abutment
treatment, excavation and material fill processes, phased

sequence with milestones specified in the approved Alteration
Permit Application.

G. Work identified in the Alteration Permit must commence
within the time frame identified in the Alteration Permit. If
work does not commence within the prescribed time frame,
the permit shall expire, except that the applicant may petition
the board for extension of the prescribed time frame and the
board may extend such period for good cause with an updated
construction sequence with milestones.

H. The board, the director, or both may take any necessary

fill and compaction, testing and control procedures,

action consistent with the Dam Safety Act (§10.1-604 et seq.

construction of permanent spillway and drainage devices,
if applicable.

3. The erosion and sediment control plan, as approved by

the local government, which minimizes soil erosion and
sedimentation during all phases of construction.

D. Within 120 days of receipt of a complete Alteration
Permit Application, the board shall act on the application. If
the application is not acceptable, the director shall inform the
applicant within 60 days of receipt and shall explain what

changes are required for an acceptable application. A
complete Alteration Permit Application consists of the

following:

1. A final design report with attachments as needed, and
certified by the owner;

2. A plan of construction that meets the requirements of
subsection C of this section;

of the Code of Virginia) if any terms of this section or of the
permit are violated, if the activities of the owner are not in
accordance with the approved plans and specifications, if the
alteration is conducted in a manner hazardous to downstream
life or property, or for other cause as described in the Act.

1. Within 90 days after completion of the alteration of an

impounding structure, the owner shall submit a complete
Record Report. A form for the Record Report will be

available from the department (Record Report for Virginia
Regulated Impounding Structures). The Record Report signed
and sealed by a licensed professional engineer and signed by
the owner to the department indicating the modifications
made to the structural features of the impounding structure.
This report is not required when the Alteration Permit has
been issued for the removal of an impounding structure. The
Record Report shall include the following:

a. Project information including the name and inventory
number of the structure, name of the reservoir, and whether
the report is associated with a new or old structure;
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b. Location of the impounding structure including the city
or county, number of feet or miles upstream or downstream
of a hichway and the highway number, name of the river or
the stream, and the latitude and longitude;

c. Owner’s name or representative if corporation, mailing
address, residential and business telephone numbers, and
other means of communication;

d. Information on the design report, including who it was
prepared by, the date of design report preparation, whether
it was for new construction or for an alteration, and the
permit issuance date;

e. Owner’s engineer’s name, firm, professional engineer
Virginia number, mailing address, and business telephone
number;

f. Impounding structure data including type of material
(earth, concrete, masonry or other) and the following

configurations:
(1) Top of dam (elevation);

(2) Downstream toe — lowest (elevation);

(3) Height of dam (feet);

(4) Crest length — exclusive of spillway (feet);
(5) Crest width (feet);

(6) Upstream slope (horizontal and vertical); and

(7) Downstream slope (horizontal and vertical).

g. Reservoir data including the following:

(1) Maximum capacity (acre-feet);

(2) Maximum pool (elevation);

(3) Maximum pool surface area (acres);

(4) Normal capacity (acre-feet);

(5) Normal pool (elevation);

(6) Normal pool surface area (acres); and

(7) Freeboard — normal pool to top of dam (feet).

h. Spillway data including the type, construction material,
design configuration, and invert elevation for the low level
drain, the principal spillway, and the emergency spillway;
a description of the low level drain and principal spillway
including dimensions, trash guard information, and
orientation of intake and discharge to dam if looking
downstream; and a description of the emergency spillway
including dimensions and orientation to dam if looking
downstream;

i. Watershed data including drainage area (square miles);

type and extent of watershed development; time of
concentration (hours); routing procedure; spillway design
flood used and state source; design inflow hydrograph

volume (acre-feet), peak inflow (cfs), and rainfall duration
(hours); and freeboard during passage of the spillway
design flood (feet);

i. Impounding structure history including the date
construction was completed, who it was designed by and
the date, who it was built by and the date, who performed
inspections _and dates, description of repairs, and
confirmation as to whether the impounding structure has
ever been overtopped;

k. A narrative describing the impounding structure
procedures for operation, maintenance, emergency action
plan implementation, and structure evaluation;

1. A narrative describing the hydraulic and hydrologic data
on the spillway design flood, hydrologic records, flood
experience, flood potential, reservoir regulation, and
comments or recommendations regarding these attributes;

m. A narrative describing stability of the foundation and
abutments, embankment materials, and a written evaluation
of each;

n. A complete set of record drawings signed and sealed by
a licensed professional engineer and signed by the owner;

0. Certification by the owner’s engineer that the
information provided pursuant to subdivision I 2 of this
section is true and correct in their professional judgment.
Such certification shall include the engineer’s signature,
printed name, Virginia number, date, and the engineer’s
Virginia seal; and

p. Owner’s signature certifying receipt of the information
provided pursuant to subdivision I 2 of this section.

J. For altered impounding structures, a certification from a
licensed professional engineer who has monitored the
alteration of the impounding structure that, to the best of the
engineer’s judgment, knowledge, and belief, the impounding
structure and its appurtenances were altered in conformance
with the plans, specifications, drawings and other
requirements approved by the board.

4VAC50-20-90. Transfer of permits.

A. Prior to the transfer of ownership of a permitted
impounding structure the permittee shall notify the director in
writing and the new owner shall file a transfer applieation ont
offtetal-forms notification with the department. A form for the
transfer notification will be available from the department
(Transfer of Impounding Structure Notification form Past
Owner to New Owner). The new owner shall amend the
existing permit application as necessary and shall certify to
the director that he is aware of and will comply with all of the
requirements and conditions of the permit.

B. The Transfer Notification shall include the following
required information:
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1. Project information including the name and inventory
number of the structure, name of the reservoir, and
impoundment hazard classification;

2. Location of the impounding structure including the city
or county, number of feet or miles upstream or downstream
of a highway and the highway number, name of the river or
the stream, and the latitude and longitude;

3. Type of certificates and permits to be transferred
including effective date and expiration date of all
certificates and permits;

4. Past owner’s name, mailing address, and residential and
business telephone numbers;

5. New owner’s name, mailing address, and residential and
business telephone numbers;

6. Request to transfer certification statement signed and
dated by the past owner;

7. Certification of compliance with permit or certificate
with all said terms and conditions signed and dated by the

4VAC50-20-105. Regular Operation _and Maintenance

new owner; and

8. Contact information updates for Emergency Action Plan

A. A Regular Operation and Maintenance Certificate is

or Emergency Preparedness Plan provided by the new

required for an impounding structure. Such six-year

owner. Such updates shall include the name, mailing
address, and residential and business telephone numbers

certificates shall include the following based on hazard
classification:

for the dam owner, dam operator, rainfall and staff gage
observer, and alternate observer.

Part III

Certificate Requirements

4VAC50-20-100. Operation-and-maintenance-certificates:
(Repealed.)

1. High Hazard Potential
Maintenance Certificate;

Regular Operation and

2. Significant Hazard Potential Regular Operation and
Maintenance Certificate; or

3. Low Hazard Potential Regular Operation and
Maintenance Certificate.

B. The owner of an impounding structure shall apply for the
renewal of the six-year Regular Operation and Maintenance

Certificate 90 days prior to its expiration. If a Regular
Operation and Maintenance Certificate is not renewed as
required, the board shall take appropriate enforcement action.

C. Any owner of an impounding structure that does not have
a Regular Operation and Maintenance Certificate or any
owner renewing a Regular Operation and Maintenance
Certificate shall file an Operation and Maintenance
Certificate Application. A form for the application will be
available from the department (Operation and Maintenance
Certificate Application for Virginia Regulated Impounding
Structures). Such application shall be signed by the owner
and signed and sealed by a licensed professional engineer.
The following information shall be submitted on or with the

application:

1. The application shall include the following required
information:

a. The name of structure and inventory number;
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b. The proposed hazard potential classification;

c. Owner’s name or representative if corporation, mailing
address, residential and business telephone numbers, and

other means of communication;

d. An operating plan and schedule including a narrative
on the operation of control gates and spillways and the
impoundment drain;

e. For earthen embankment dams, a maintenance plan

and schedule for the embankment, principal spillway,
emergency spillway, low-level outlet, impoundment area,

downstream channel, and staff gages:

f. For concrete dams, a maintenance plan and schedule
for the upstream face, downstream face, crest of dam,
galleries, tunnels, abutments, spillways, gates and outlets,

3. An Emergency Action Plan in accordance with
4VAC50-20-175 or an Emergency Preparedness Plan in
accordance with 4VAC50-20-177 and evidence that the
required copies of such plan have been submitted to the
local organization for emergency management and the

Virginia Department of Emergency Management; and

4. Any additional analysis determined necessary by the
director, the board or the owner’s engineer to address
public safety concerns. Such additional analysis may
include, but not be limited to, seismic stability, earthen
spillway integrity, adequate freeboard allowance, stability
assessment of the impoundment’s foundation, potential

liquefaction of the embankment, overturning or sliding of a
concrete structure and other structural stress issues.

D. If the Operation and Maintenance Certificate Application

and staff gages;

g. An inspection schedule for operator inspection,

maintenance inspection, technical safety inspection, and
overtopping situations;

h. A schedule including the rainfall amounts, emergency
spillway flow levels or storm event that initiates the
Emergency Action or Preparedness Plan and the
frequency of observations;

i. A statement as to whether or not the current hazard
potential classification for the dam is appropriate and
whether or not additional work is needed to make an
appropriate hazard potential designation;

i. For newly constructed or recently altered impounding
structures, a certification from a licensed professional
engineer who has monitored the construction or
alteration of the impounding structure that, to the best of
the engineer’s judgment, knowledge, and belief, the
impounding _structure and its appurtenances Wwere
constructed or altered in conformance with the plans,
specifications, drawings and other requirements approved

by the board;

k. Certification by the owner’s engineer that the
Operation and Maintenance Certificate Application
information provided pursuant to subdivision 1 of this
subsection is true and correct in their professional
judgment. Such certification shall include the engineer’s

signature, printed name, Virginia number, date, and the
engineer’s Virginia seal; and

l. Owner’s signature certifying the Operation and
Maintenance  Certificate  Application _information
provided pursuant to subdivision 1 of this subsection and
that the operation and maintenance plan and schedule
shall be conducted in accordance with this chapter.

2. An Inspection Report (Annual Inspection Report for
Virginia Regulated Impounding Structures) in accordance
with subsection E of this section;

submittal is found to be not complete, the director shall
inform the applicant within 30 days and shall explain what
changes are required for an acceptable submission. Within 60

days of receipt of a complete application the board shall act
upon the application. Upon finding that the impounding

structure as currently operating is in compliance with this
chapter, the board shall issue a Regular Operation and
Maintenance Certificate. Should the board find that the
impounding _structure as currently operating is not in
compliance with this chapter, the board may deny the permit
application or issue a Conditional Operation and Maintenance
Certificate in accordance with 4VAC50-20-150.

E. Inspections shall be performed on an impounding
structure annually.

1. Inspection Reports (Annual Inspection Report for
Virginia Regulated Impounding Structures) signed and
sealed by a licensed professional engineer shall be
submitted to the department in accordance with the
following schedule:

a. For a High Hazard Potential impounding structure,
every two years,

b. For a Significant Hazard Potential
structure, every three years,

impounding

c. For a Low Hazard Potential impounding structure,
every six years.

In years when an Inspection Report signed and sealed by
a licensed professional engineer is not required, an owner

shall submit the Annual Inspection Report for Virginia
Regulated Impounding Structures.

2. The Inspection Report shall include the following
required information:

a. Project information including the name and inventory
number of structure, name of the reservoir, and purpose
of the reservoir;
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b. City or county where the impounding structure is
located;

c. Owner’s name or representative if corporation, mailing
address, residential and business telephone numbers, and
other means of communication;

d. Owner’s engineer’s name, firm, professional engineer

Virginia number, mailing address, and business
telephone number;

e. Inspection observation of the impounding structure
including the following:

(1) FEarthen embankment information including any

embankment alterations; erosion; settlement

misalignments or cracks: seepage and seepage flow rate
and location;

(2) Upstream slope information including notes on
woody vegetation removed, rodent burrows discovered,
and remedial work performed;

(3) Intake structure information including notes on
deterioration of concrete structures, exposure of rebar
reinforcement, need to repair or replace trash rack, any

(11) Reservoir information including notes on new
developments upstream of the dam, slides or erosion of
lake banks, and general comments to include silt, algae,
or other influence factors;

(12) Instruments information including any reading of
instruments and any installation of new instruments; and

(13) General information including notes on new
development in the downstream floodplain that would
impact hazard classification, the maximum stormwater
discharge or peak elevation during the previous year,
whether general maintenance was performed and when,
and actions that need to be completed before the next

inspection.
f. Evaluation rating of the dam and appurtenances

(excellent, good, or poor), general comments, and
recommendations;

g. Certification by the owner and date of inspection; and

h. Certification and seal by the owner’s engineer and date
of inspection, as applicable.

F. The owner of an impounding structure shall notify the

problems with debris in the reservoir, and whether the
drawdown valve operated;

(4) Abutment contacts including notes on seepage and
seepage flow rate and location;

(5) Earthen emergency spillway including notes on
obstructions to flow and plans to correct, rodent burrows
discovered, and deterioration in the approach or
discharge channel;

(6) Concrete emergency spillway including notes on the
deterioration of the concrete, exposure of rebar

reinforcement, any leakage below concrete spillway, and
obstructions to flow and plans to correct;

(7) Downstream slope information including notes on
woody vegetation removed, rodent burrows discovered,

whether seepage drains are working, and any seepage or
wet areas;

(8) Outlet pipe information including notes on any water
flowing outside of discharge pipe through the dam and a
description of any reflection or damage to the pipe;

(9) Stilling basin information including notes on the

deterioration of the concrete, exposure of rebar
reinforcement, deterioration of the earthen basin slopes,
repairs made, and any obstruction to flow;

(10) Gates information including notes on gate
malfunctions or repairs, corrosion or damage, and
whether any gates were operated and if so how often and
to what extreme;

department immediately of any change in the use of the area

downstream that would impose hazard to life or property in
the event of failure.

4VACH0-20-110. Operation—and—maintenance—certificate
fe#newyeenstrueted—mqpewmng—struetu#e& (Repealed )
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4VACH0-20-120. Operation—-and-maintenance—certificates
fe;’—exrstmgqmpe&ndmg—s#uetu%e& (Repealed.)

4VAC50-20-125. Delayed effective date for Spillway
Design Flood requirements for impounding structures.

A. If an impounding structure has been determined to have
an adequate spillway capacity prior to the effective date of
these regulations and is currently operating under a Regular
Operation and Maintenance Certificate, but will now require
spillway modifications due to changes in these regulations,
the owner shall submit to the board an Alteration Permit
Application in accordance with 4VAC50-20-80 to address
spillway capacity at the time of the expiration of their Regular
Operation and Maintenance Certificate or within three years
of the effective date of these regulations, whichever is later.
The Alteration Permit Application shall contain a
construction sequence with milestones for completing the
necessary improvements within five years of Alteration
Permit issuance. The board may approve an extension of the
prescribed time frame for good cause. Should the owner be
able to demonstrate that no spillway capacity change is
necessary, the impounding structure may be found to be in
compliance with this chapter.

B. In accordance with 4VAC50-20-105, the owner shall
submit the Operation and Maintenance Certificate
Application  (Operation and Maintenance  Certificate
Application for Virginia Regulated Impounding Structures),
the Emergency Action Plan or Emergency Preparedness Plan,
and the Inspection Report (Annual Inspection Report for
Virginia Regulated Impounding Structures) 90 days prior to
the expiration of the Regular Operation and Maintenance
Certificate.

C. If circumstances warrant more immediate repairs to the
impounding structure, the board may direct alterations to the

spillway to be completed sooner.

D. During this delay period, owners are required to address
other deficiencies that may exist that are not related to the
spillway design flood.
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4VACH0-20-130.  Existing——impounding——structures
eenstpueted—pﬂeﬁedaly—l—kggz— (Repealed.)

4V AC50-20-140.
eenstpueteeLaﬂeHumty—l—L%Q— (Repealed )

4VAC50-20-150. Conditional operation and maintenance
certificate.

A. During the review of any eperation Operation and
maintenance-application Maintenance Certificate Application

structure, and shall require that the owner correct the
deficiencies on a schedule determined by the direeter board.

C. A conditional-ecertificate Conditional Certificate may be
renewed extended in accordance with the procedures of
4VAES50-20-120 4VACS50-20-155 provided that annuval
owner—inspeetion—reports Inspection Reports (Annual

Inspection Report for Virginia Regulated Impounding
Structures) are on file, and the board determines that the

owner is proceeding with the necessary corrective actions.

D. Once the deficiencies are corrected, the board shall issue
an-operation a Regular Operation and maintenance-certificate
Maintenance Certificate based upon anyregquired-revisions—to

the—original-application the impounding structure’s meeting
the requirements of 4VAC50-20-105.

4VAC50-20-155. Extension of
Maintenance Certificates.

Operation and

The board may extend an Operation and Maintenance
Certificate for impounding structures provided that the owner
submits a written request justifying an extension, the amount
of time needed to comply with the requirements set out in the
current Operation and Maintenance Certificate, and any
required fees. The owner must have demonstrated substantial
and continual progress towards meeting the requirements.

4VAC5H0-20-160. Additional operation and maintenance
requirements.

A. The owner of an impounding structure shall not, through
action or inaction, cause or allow such structure to impound
water following receipt of a written report from the owner's
engineer that the impounding structure will not safely
impound water.

B. In accordance with §10.1-609.2 of the Code of Virginia,

dam owners shall not permit the growth of trees and other
woody vegetation and shall remove any such vegetation from

the slopes and crest of embankments and the emergency
spillway area, and within a distance of 25 feet from the toe of

the embankment and abutments of the dam.

4VVAC50-20-165. Agricultural Exemption.

(Operation and Maintenance Certificate Application for
Virginia Regulated Impounding Structures) completed in
accordance with 4VACS50-20-105 should the director
determine that the impounding structure has nonimminent

deficiencies efa—nonimminent-danger—eategoery, the director

may recommend that the board issue a eenditional-eperation
Conditional Operation and maintenance—eertifieate

Maintenance Certificate.

B. The eenditional-eperation Conditional Operation and
maintenance-certificate Maintenance Certificate for ClassHEH

and—H High, Significant, and Low Hazard Potential
impounding structures shall be for a maximum term of two
years. This certificate will allow the owner to continue
normal operation and maintenance of the impounding

A. Impounding structures operated primarily for agricultural
purposes that are less than 25 feet in height or that create a
maximum impoundment capacity smaller than 100 acre-feet
are exempt from the Impounding Structure Regulations.

B. An owner covered by an agricultural exemption pursuant
to §10.1-604 of the Code of Virginia and 4VAC50-20-30 may
validate such exemption by submitting an Agricultural
Exemption Report (Agricultural Exemption Report for
Impounding Structures). The Agricultural Exemption Report
shall include the following information:

1. Project information including the name and inventory
number of the structure and name of the reservoir;
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2. Location of the impounding structure including the city
or county, number of feet or miles upstream or downstream
of a hichway and the highway number, name of the river or
the stream, and the latitude and longitude;

3. Owner’s name or representative if corporation, mailing
address, residential and business telephone numbers, and
other means of communication;

4. The impounding structure height in feet and the
maximum impounding capacity in acre-feet;

5. A list of the agricultural functions for which the
impoundment supplies water;

6. The date of validation; and

7. The owner’s signature validating that the impoundment
is_operated primarily for agricultural purposes and is
exempt from the regulations.

C. The Agricultural Exemption Report may be verified by

5. New owner’s name, mailing address, and residential and
business telephone numbers;

6. Request to transfer certification statement signed and
dated by the past owner;

7. Certification of compliance with permit or certificate
with all said terms and conditions signed and dated by the
new owner; and

8. Contact information updates for Emergency Action Plan
or Emergency Preparedness Plan provided by the new

owner. Such updates shall include the name, mailing
address, and residential and business telephone numbers

for the dam owner, dam operator, rainfall and staff gage
observer, and alternate observer.

Part-hV
Procedures
4VAC50-20-175. Emergency Action Plan (EAP) for High

the department through a possible site visit.

4VAC50-20-170. Transfer of certificates.

A. Prior to the transfer of ownership of an impounding
structure the certificate holder shall notify the director in
writing and the new owner shall file a transfer application-on
offietal-forms notification with the department. A form for the
transfer notification will be available from the department
(Transfer of Impounding Structure Notification from Past
Owner to New Owner). The new owner may elect to continue
the eurrent existing operation and maintenance certificate for
the remaining term or he may apply for a new certificate in
accordance with 4VAE50-20120 4VAC50-20-105. If the
owner elects to continue the existing certificate, he shal

shall certify to the director that he is aware of and will
comply with all of the requirements and conditions of the
certificate.

B. The Transfer Notification shall include the following

and Significant Hazard Potential Dams.

A. In order to protect life during potential emergency
conditions at a dam, and to ensure effective, timely action is
taken should a dam emergency occur, an EAP shall be
required for each High and Significant Hazard Potential
impounding structure. The EAP shall be coordinated with the
Department of Emergency Management in accordance with
§44-146.18 of the Code of Virginia. The EAP required by
these regulations shall be incorporated into local and
interjurisdictional emergency plans pursuant to §44-146.19 of
the Code of Virginia.

B. It is the dam owner’s responsibility to develop, maintain,
exercise, and implement a site-specific EAP.

C. An EAP shall be submitted every six years. The EAP
shall be submitted with the owner’s submittal of their Regular
Operation and Maintenance Certificate application (Operation

and Maintenance Certificate Application for Virginia
Regulated Impounding Structures).

required information:

1. Project information including the name and inventory
number of the structure, name of the reservoir, and

D. The owner shall update the EAP immediately upon

becoming aware of necessary changes to keep the EAP
workable. Should a dam be reclassified, an EAP in

impoundment hazard classification;

2. Location of the impounding structure including the city

accordance with this section shall be submitted.

E. A drill shall be conducted annually for each high or

or county, number of feet or miles upstream or downstream
of a highway and the highway number, name of the river or

significant hazard impounding structure. To the extent
practicable, the drill should include a face-to-face meeting

the stream, and the latitude and longitude;

3. Type of certificates and permits to be transferred
including effective date and expiration date of all
certificates and permits;

4. Past owner’s name, mailing address, and residential and

with the local emergency management agencies responsible
for any necessary evacuations to review the EAP and ensure

the local emergency management agencies understand the
actions required during an emergency. A table-top exercise
shall be conducted once every three years. Owners shall
certify to the department annually that a drill, a table-top

business telephone numbers;

exercise, or both has been completed, provide a critique of the
exercise or exercises and any revisions or updates to the EAP
or a statement that no revisions or updates are needed.
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F. Dam owners shall test existing monitoring, sensing, and

H. The development of the EAP shall be coordinated with

warning _equipment at remote or unattended dams at least

all entities, jurisdictions, and agencies that would be affected

twice per year and maintain a record of such tests.

G. An EAP shall contain the following seven basic elements
unless otherwise specified in this subsection.

1. Notification chart. A notification chart shall be included
for all classes of dams that shows who is to be notified, by

by a dam failure or that have statutory responsibilities for
warning, evacuation, and postflood actions. Consultation with
state_and local emergency management officials at
appropriate levels of management responsible for warning
and evacuation of the public shall occur to ensure that there is
awareness of their individual and group responsibilities. The

whom, and in what priority. The notification chart shall

owner shall also coordinate with the local organization for

include contact information providing 24-hour telephone
coverage for all responsible parties.

2. Emergency Detection, Evaluation, and Classification.
The EAP shall include a discussion of the procedures for

emergency management to identi roperties that upon
failure of the impounding structure would result in economic

impacts.
I. The EAP. or any updates to an existing EAP, shall be

timely and reliable detection, evaluation, and classification

submitted to the department, the local organization for

of emergency situations considered to be relevant to the

emergency management, and the Virginia Department of

project setting and impounding features. Each relevant

Emergency Management. Two copies shall be provided to the

emergency situation is to be documented to provide an

department.

appropriate course of action based on the urgency of the
situation. Where appropriate, situations should address

dam breaks that are imminent or in progress, a situation
where the potential for dam failure is rapidly developing,

J. The following format shall be used as necessary to
address the requirements of this section.

Title Page/Cover Sheet

and a situation where the threat is slowly developing.

3. Responsibilities. The EAP shall specify responsibilities
for EAP-related tasks. The EAP shall also clearly designate
the responsible party for making the decision that an
emergency condition no longer exists at the dam. The EAP
shall include procedures and the responsible parties for
notifying to the extent possible any known local occupants,
owners, or lessees of downstream properties potentially
impacted by the dam’s failure.

4. Preparedness. The EAP shall include a section that
describes preparedness actions to be taken both before and
following development of emergency conditions.

5. Dam Break Inundation Maps. The EAP shall include
dam break inundation maps developed in accordance with
4VAC50-20-54.

6. Appendices. The appendices shall contain information
that supports and supplements the material used in the
development and maintenance of the EAP such as analyses
of dam break floods; plans for training, exercising,
updating, and posting the EAP:; and other site-specific
concerns.

7. Certification. The EAP shall include a section that is
signed by all parties with assigned responsibilities in the
EAP pursuant to this subdivision 3 of this subsection,
where they indicate their receipt of the EAP. The
preparer’s name, title, and contact information shall be
printed in this section. The preparer’s signature shall also
be included in the certification section. The local
organization for emergency management shall provide the
owner and the department with any deficiencies they may
note.

Table of Contents
1. Certifications

II. Notification Flowchart

II1. Statement of Purpose

IV. Project Description

V. Emergency Detection, Evaluation, and Classification

VI. General Responsibilities Under the EAP

A. Dam Owner Responsibilities

B. Responsibility for Notification

C. Responsibility for Evacuation

D. Responsibility for Termination and Follow-Up
E. EAP Coordinator Responsibility

VII. Preparedness
VIII. Inundation Maps

IX Appendices

A. Investigation and Analyses of Dam break Floods

B. Plans for Training, Exercising, Updating, and Posting
the EAP

C. Site-Specific Concerns

4VAC50-20-177. Emergency Preparedness Plan for Low
Hazard Dams.

A. Low Hazard Dams shall provide information for
emergency preparedness to the department, the local

organization for emergency management and the Virginia
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Department of Emergency Management. A form for the
submission will be available from the department (Emergency
Preparedness Plan for Low Hazard Virginia Regulated
Impounding Structures). The information shall include, but
not be limited, to the following:

1. Name of the impounding structure, inventory number,
city or county, latitude, and longitude;

2. Owner’s name, mailing address, residential and business
telephone numbers, and other means of communication.

Contact information shall provide for 24-hour telephone
contact capability;

3. Dam operator’s name, mailing address, residential and
business telephone numbers, and other means of
communication. Contact information shall provide for 24-
hour telephone contact capability;

4. Rainfall and staff gage observer’s name, mailing
address, residential and business telephone numbers, and
other means of communication. Contact information shall
provide for 24-hour telephone contact capability;

5. Contact information for alternate operator and alternate
rainfall and staff gage observer, if applicable;

6. Contact information for the local dispatch center nearest
dam including address and 24-hour telephone number;

7. City or county emergency services coordinator’s name,
mailing address, residential and business telephone
numbers, and other means of communication;

8. A procedure and the responsible parties for notifying to
the extent possible any known local occupants, owners, or
lessees of downstream properties potentially impacted by
the dam’s failure;

9. A discussion of the procedures for timely and reliable
detection, evaluation, and classification of emergency
situations considered to be relevant to the project setting
and impounding features. Each relevant emergency

12. Amount of rainfall that will initiate a Stage II
Condition in inches per six hours, inches per 12 hours, and
inches per 24 hours and a Stage III Condition in inches per
six hours, inches per 12 hours, and inches per 24 hours;

13. Amount of flow in the emergency spillway that will
initiate a Stage II Condition in feet (depth of flow) and a
Stage III Condition in feet (depth of flow);

14. Staff gage location and description; the frequency of
observations by the rainfall or staff gage observer under a
Stage 1 Condition, and Stage II Condition, and a Stage III
Condition; and a clear description of an access route and
means of travel during flood conditions to the dam:;

15.  Evacuation procedures including notification,
monitoring, evacuation, and reporting processes and

responsibilities;
16. Evidence that the required copies of such plan have

been submitted to the local organization for emergency
management and the Virginia Department of Emergency
Management; and

17. Certification of the plan by the owner.
Part IV

Procedures
4VAC50-20-180. Inspections.

A. The director may make inspections during construction,
alteration or operation and maintenance as deemed necessary
to ensure that the impounding structure is being constructed,
altered or operated and maintained in compliance with the
permit or certificate issued by the board. The director shall
provide the owner a copy of the findings of these inspections.
TFhis The department’s inspection does not relieve the owner
from the responsibility of providing adequate inspection
during construction, alteration, or operation and maintenance.

During the maintenance, construction, or alteration of any
dam or reservoir, the director shall require the owner to

situation is to be documented to provide an appropriate

perform, at the owner’s expense, such work or tests as

course of action based on the urgency of the situation;

10. A simple dam break inundation map acceptable to the
director, demonstrating the general inundation that would
result from a dam failure. Such maps required pursuant to
this section do not require preparation by a professional
licensed engineer; however, maps prepared by a licensed

necessary to obtain information sufficient to enable the
director to determine whether conformity with the plans and
specifications approved by the certificate is being secured.

B. Periodic inspections during construction or alteration
shall be conducted under the supervision direction of a
licensed professional engineer who shall prepese—the

professional engineer are preferred;

11. Identification of public roads downstream noting the
highway number and distance below the dam. If roads
exist, contact information for the resident Virginia
Department of Transportation engineer or city or county
engineer including address and 24-hour telephone
numbers;

the—director provide for full-time monitoring, review of
contractor submittals, and appropriate confirmatory testing of
all facets of construction affecting the safety of the
impounding structure in accordance with the construction or
alteration permit issued by the board.

C. Periodie Required inspections during operation and
maintenance shall be conducted under the supervision of a
licensed professional engineer at an—interval netgreater—than
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intervals designated under 4VAC50-20-105.

D. Every owner shall provide for an inspection by a licensed
professional engineer after overtopping of the impounding
structure or after flows cause damage to the emergency
spillway. A copy of the findings of each inspection with the
engineer's recommendations shall be filed with the board
within a reasonable period of time not to exceed 30 days
subsequent to completion of the inspection.

4VVAC50-20-200. Enforcement.

appfepﬂa%%eeaﬁ— The provisions of thlS chapter may be

enforced by the board, the director, or both in any manner
consistent with the provisions of the Dam Safety Act (§10.1-

604 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).
4VAC50-20-210. Consulting beards committee.

A. When the board needs to satisfy questions of safety
regarding plans and specifications, construction, alteration, or
operation and maintenance, or when requested by the owner,
the board may appoint a consulting beard committee to report
to it with respect to those questions of the impounding
structure’s safety ef-an—impeounding struetare. Such a beard
committee shall consist of two or more consultants, none of
whom have been associated with the impounding structure.

B. The costs and expenses incurred by the consulting beard
committee, if appointed at the request of an owner, shall be
paid by the owner.

C. The costs and expenses incurred by the consulting beard
committee, if initiated by the board, shall be paid by the
board.

4VVAC50-20-220. Unsafe conditions.

A. No owner shall have—the—rightte maintain an unsafe
impounding structure which-unreasonably-threatens-the life-or
property—of-another person. The—ownerof anyimpounding

oundto ] eficienci bicl gl L
flifi b deficienci i bl
period—oftime. Designation of an impounding structure as
unsafe shall be made in accordance with §10.1-607.1 of the

1. If an owner or the owner’s engineer has determined that
circumstances are impacting the integrity of the
impounding structure that could result in the imminent
failure of the impounding structure, temporary repairs may
be initiated prior to approval from the board. The owner
shall notify the department within 24 hours of identifying
the circumstances impacting the integrity of the
impounding structure. Such emergency notification shall
not relieve the owner of the need to obtain an alteration
permit as soon as may be practicable, nor shall the owner
take action beyond that necessary to address the emergency
situation.

2. When the director finds that an impounding structure is
unsafe and constitutes an imminent danger to life or
property, he shall immediately notify the State Virginia
Department of Emergency Management and confer with
the owner who shall activate the Emergency Action Plan or
Emergency Preparedness Plan if appropriate to do so. The
owner of an impounding structure found to constitute an
imminent danger to life or property shall take immediate
corrective action to remove the imminent danger as
required by §10.1-608 of the Code of Virginia.

C. Nonimminent danger. The owner of an impounding
structure who has been issued a—report—by—the—beard
centaining findings and recommendations, by the board, for
the correction of deficiencies whieh that may threaten life or
property if not corrected, shall undertake to implement the
recommendations for correction of deficiencies according to a
schedule of implementation contained in that report as
required by §10.1-609 of the Code of Virginia.

4VAC50-20-230. Complaints.

A. Upon receipt of a complaint alleging that the person or
property of the complainant is endangered by the
construction, alteration, maintenance or operation of an
impounding structure, the director shall cause an inspection of
the structure, unless the data, records and inspection reports
on file with the board are found adequate to determine if the
complaint is valid.

B. If the director finds that an unsafe condition exists, the
director shall proceed under the provisions of §§10.1-608 and
10.1-609 of the Code of Virginia to render the extant
condition safe.

Part V
Design Requirements
4VAC50-20-240. Design of structures.

A. The owner shall complete all necessary investigations
prior to submitting the design report (Design Report for the
Construction or Alteration of Virginia Regulated Impounding

Code of Virginia.

B. Imminent danger.

Structures). The design report shall contain those components
outlined in 4VAC50-20-70 for construction activities or those
outlined in 4VACS50-20-80 for alteration activities. The scope
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and degree of precision required is a matter of engineering
judgment based on the complexities of the site and the hazard
potential classification of the proposed structure.

B. Surveys shall be made with sufficient accuracy to locate
the proposed construction site and to define the total volume
of storage in the impoundment. Locations of center lines and
other horizontal and vertical controls shall be shown on a map
of the site. The area downstream and upstream from the
proposed impounding structure shall be investigated in order
to delineate the areas and extent of potential damage in case
of failure or backwater due to flooding.

C. The drainage area shall be determined. Present;-projected
and-petential future and planned land-use conditions shall be
considered in determining the runoff characteristics of the
drainage area. The most severe of these conditions shall be
included in the design calculations which shall be submitted
as part of the design report.

D. The geotechnical engineering investigation shall consist
of borings, test pits and other subsurface explorations
necessary to adequately define the existing conditions. The
investigations shall be performed so as to appropriately define
the soil, rock and ground water conditions.

E. All construction materials shall be adequately researched
and selected so as to ensure that their preperties—meet as
constructed behavior will reasonably conform to design
criteria. If on-site materials are to be utilized, they shall be
located and determined to be adequate in quantity and quality.

4VAC50-20-250. DeSIgFHEIeed (Regealed )

4VAC50-20-260. Emergency-spitiway Spillway design.

A. Every impounding structure shall have a spillway system
with adequate capacity to discharge the design flood without
endangering the safety of the impounding structure.

CB. Vegetated earth or an unlined emergency spillway may
be approved when the applicant demonstrates that it will pass
the spillway design flood without jeopardizing the safety of
the impounding structure. In no case shall dam owners permit

the growth of trees and other woody vegetation in the
emergency spillway area.

BC. Lined emergency spillways shall include design criteria

calculations, plans and specifications for epen-channel-drop;
ogee-and-chute suitable energy dissipators and for spillways

that include crest control structures, chutes, walls, panel
lining, sills, blocks, and miscellaneous details. All joints shall
be reasonably water-tight and placed on a foundation capable
of sustaining applied loads without undue deformation.
Provision shall be made for handling leakage—from—the
channel—or under seepage and uplift pressures from the
foundation which might adversely affect the structural
integrity and structural stability of the impounding structure.

4VAC50-20-270. Principal spillways and outlet works.

A. It will be assumed that principal spillways and regulating
outlets provided for special functions will operate to normal
design discharge capabilities during the spillway design
flood, provided appropriate analyses show:

1. That control gates and structures are suitably designed to
operate reliably under maximum heads for durations likely
to be involved and risks of blockage by debris are minimal;

2. That access roads and passages to gate regulating
controls would be safely passable by operating personnel
under spillway design flood conditions; and

3. That there are no ether substantial reasons for
concluding that outlets would not operate safely to i full
design capacity during the spillway design flood.

B. If there are reasons to doubt that any of the above basic
requirements might not be adequately met under spillway
design flood conditions, the "dependable" discharge
capabilities of regulating outlets shall be assumed to be less
than 100% of design eapabilities capacities, generally as
outlined in the following subsections C through G of this
section.

C. Any limitations in safe operating heads, maximum
velocities to be permitted through structures or approach
channels, or other design limitations shall be observed in
establishing "dependable" discharge rating curves to be used
in routing the spillway design flood hydrograph through the
reservoir.

D. If intakes to regulating outlets are likely to be exposed to
dangerous significant quantities of floating drift debris,
sediment depositions or ice hazards prior to or during major
floods, the dependable discharge capability during the
spillway design flood shall be assumed to be zero.

E. If access roads or structural passages to operating towers
or controls are likely to be flooded or otherwise unusable
during the spillway design flood, the dependable discharge
capability of regulating outlets will be assumed to be zero for
theseperiod the periods of time during which such conditions
might exist.

F. Any deficiencies in discharge performance likely to result
from delays in the operation of gates before attendants could
be reasonably expected to reach the control fer—in must be
taken into account when estimating "dependable” discharge
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capabilities te—be—assumed assumptions in routing the
spillway design flood through reserveir the impoundment.
Reports on design studies shall indicate the allowances made
for possible delays in initiating gate operations. Normally, for
projects located in small basins, where critical spillway
design flood inflows may occur within several hours after
intense precipitation, outflows through any regulating outlets
that must be opened after the flood begins shall be assumed to
be zero for an appropriate period of time subsequent to the
beginning of intense rainfall.

G. All gates, valves, conduits and concrete channel outlets

shall be designed and constructed to prevent significant
erosion or damage to the impounding structure or to the
downstream outlet or channel.

4VAC50-20-280. Drain requirements.

All new impounding structures regardless of their hazard
potential classification, shall include a device to permit
draining of the impoundment within a reasonable period of
time as determined by the owner's licensed professional
engineer, subject to approval by the director.

4VAC50-20-290. Life of the impounding structure.

Components of the impounding structure, the-impeundment,
the outlet works, drain system and appurtenances shall be

durable or replaced in keeping with the design and planned
life of the impounding structure.

4VAC50-20-300. Additional design requirements.

A. Flood routings shall start at or above the elevation of the
crest of the lowest ungated outlet. Freeboard determination
and justification must be addressed by the owner’s engineer.

B. All elements of the impounding structure and
impeundments shall conform to sound engineering practice.
Safety factors, design standards and design references that are
used shall be included with the design report.

C. Inspection devices may be required by the director for
use by inspectors, owners or the director in conducting
inspections in the interest of structural integrity during and
after completion of construction and during the life of the
impounding structure.

4VAC50-20-310. Plans and specifications.

The plans and specifications for a proposed impounding
structure required in 4VACS50-20-70 for construction
activities and in 4VACS50-20-80 for alteration activities shall
consist of a detailed engineering design report that-inelades
(Design Report for the Construction or Alteration of Virginia
Regulated Impounding Structures) and engineering drawings
and specifications, with the following as a minimum:

1. The name of the project; the name of the owner;
classification of the impounding structure as set forth in
this chapter; designated access to the project and the

location with respect to highways, roads, streams and
existing impounding structures and impoundments that
would affect or be affected by the proposed impounding
structure.

2. Cross-sections, plans, profiles, logs of test borings,
laboratory and in situ test data, drawings of principal and
emergency spillways, impounding structures, outlet works,
drain system and appurtenances, and other additional
drawings project components in sufficient detail to indicate
clearly the extent and complexity of the work to be
performed.

3. Contract drawings should include, but not be limited to,
foundation and abutment treatment, stream or river
diversion, excavation and material fill processes, phased
fill and compaction and drainage devices.

4. The erosion and sediment control plan, as approved by
the local government, which minimizes soil erosion and
sedimentation during all phases of construction or
alteration.

3 Thetechnical provistons 5. Technical specifications, as

may be required to describe the materials, performance,
and methods of the construction and construction quality
control for the project.

I Sp.ee*al PrOVISIonS;—as—may be—required o dese*?be

technical PFOVISIOnS Hee] ded-to ]e.ﬂsu*e Fh]at the H“pe;’mdlmg
4VAC50-20-320. Acceptable design procedures and
references.

To ensure consistency of approach, within the major
engineering disciplines of hydrology., hydraulics, soils and
foundations, structures, and general civil design, criteria and
approaches from multiple sources shall not be mixed for
developing the design of a given feature or facility without
approval of the director. In all cases the owner’s engineer
shall identify the source of the criteria.

The following are acceptable as design procedures and
references:

1. The design procedures, manuals and criteria used by the
United States Army Corps of Engineers.

2. The design procedures, manuals and criteria used by the
United States Department of Agriculture, Natural
Resources Conservation Service.

3. The design procedures, manuals and criteria used by the
United States Department of the Interior, Bureau of
Reclamation.

4. The design procedures, manuals and criteria used by the
United States Department of Commerce, National Weather
Service.
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5. The design procedures, manuals and criteria used by the
United States Federal Agency Regulatory Commission

5:6. Other design procedures, manuals and criteria that are
accepted as current, sound engineering practices, as
approved by the director prior to the design of the
impounding structure.

4VAC50-20-330. Other applicable dam safety references.

Manuals, guidance, and criteria _used by the Federal
Emergency Management Agency, including the following:

1. Federal Guidelines for Dam Safety: Emergency Action

Planning for Dam Owners, U.S. Department of Homeland
Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency, October

3. The type of application or report submitted.

4. Whether the submittal is for a new permit or certificate
issuance or permit or certificate reissuance.

5. The amount of fee submitted.

6. Dam identification number, if applicable.

D. No permit fees remitted to the department shall be
subject to refund except as credits provided for in 4VAC50-

20-390 D.
4VVAC50-20-360. Fee exemptions.

Impounding_structures owned by Virginia Soil and Water
Conservation Districts shall be exempt from all fees

1998, Reprinted January 2004; FEMA 64 or as revised.

2. Federal Guidelines for Dam Safety: Selecting and
Accommodating Inflow Design Floods for Dams, U.S.
Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency

associated with Part VI in accordance with §10.1-613.5 of the
Code of Virginia. There will be no fee assessed for the
decommissioning of an impounding structure.

4VVAC50-20-370. Construction Permit application fees.

Management Agency, October 1998, Reprinted April 2004;
FEMA 94 or as revised.

Part VI
Fees
4VAC50-20-340. Authority to establish fees.

Under §10.1-613.5 of the Code of Virginia, the board is
authorized to establish and collect application fees for the

administration of the dam safety program, administrative

review, certifications, and the repair and maintenance of
dams. The fees will be deposited into the Dam Safety, Flood
Prevention and Protection Assistance Fund.

4VVAC50-20-350. Fee submittal procedures.

A. (Upon the effective date of these regulations,) fees for all

A. Any application form submitted pursuant to 4VAC50-20-
70 for permitting a proposed impounding structure
construction after the effective date of these regulations shall

be accompanied by a payment as determined in subsection B
of this section.

B. Fees shall be as follows:

1. $2.500 for High or Significant Hazard Potential
impounding structures

2. $1.000 for Low Hazard Potential impounding structures

4VVAC50-20-380. Reqular Operation and Maintenance
Certificate application fees.

A. Any application for a six-year Regular Operation and
Maintenance Certificate after the effective date of these

application submittals required pursuant to 4VAC50-20-370

regulations, except as otherwise exempted, shall be

through 4VAC50-20-390 are due prior to issuance of a

accompanied by a payment as determined in subsection B of

certificate or permit. No application for an Operation and

this section.

Maintenance Certificate or a Construction Permit will be
acted upon by the board without full payment of the required
fee per §10.1-613.5 of the Code of Virginia.

B. Fees shall be paid by check, draft or postal money order
payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, or submitted
electronically (if available), and must be in U.S. currency,
except that agencies and institutions of the Commonwealth of
Virginia may submit Interagency Transfers for the amount of
the fee. All fees shall be sent to the following address (or
submitted electronically, if available): Virginia Department of
Conservation and Recreation, Dam Safety Receipts Control,
P.0O. Box 10150, Richmond, Virginia 23240.

C. All fee payments shall be accompanied by the following
information:

1. Applicant name, address and daytime phone number.

2. The name of the dam, and the dam location.

B. Fees for High, Significant, or Low Hazard Potential
impounding structures shall be as follows:

1. $1.500 for High Hazard Potential

2. $1.000 for Significant Hazard Potential
3. $600 for Low Hazard Potential

4VVAC50-20-390. Conditional Operation and Maintenance
Certificate application fee.

A. Fees for a Conditional Operation and Maintenance
Certificate or for the extension of a Conditional Operation

and Maintenance Certificate for High or Significant Hazard
Potential impounding structures shall be as follows:

1. For a 2-year Certificate: $1.000
2. For a 1.5-year Certificate: $750
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3. For a 1-year Certificate: $500
4. For a 6-month Certificate: $250

B. Fees for a Conditional Operation and Maintenance
Certificate or for the extension of a Conditional Operation
and Maintenance Certificate for Low Hazard Potential

impounding structures shall be as follows:
1. For a 2-year Certificate: $500

2. For a 1.5-year Certificate: $375
3. For a 1-year Certificate: $250
4. For a 6-month Certificate: $125

C. Fees for a Conditional Operation and Maintenance
Certificate or for the extension of a Conditional Operation
and Maintenance Certificate for any impounding structure
that requires a modification in spillway capacity due to
changes in the regulations and that is eligible for a delayed
effective date pursuant to 4VAC50-20-125 shall be as
follows:

1. For a 2-year Certificate: $200
2. For a 1.5-year Certificate: $150
3. For a 1-year Certificate: $100

4. For a 6-month Certificate: $50

D. The board may allow a partial credit towards the Regular
Operation and Maintenance Certificate fee if the owner of the
impounding structure has completed, to the director’s
satisfaction, the conditions of the Conditional Certificate prior
to its expiration. Credits shall only be provided to the nearest
6-month interval.

4V AC50-20-400.
fees.

Incremental Damage Analysis review

The fee for the review of an incremental damage analysis
submitted pursuant to 4VAC50-20-52 shall be $225. Re-

review of an analysis determined to be incomplete or in error
upon the department’s prior review shall cost an additional
$45 per subsequent submittal. Should the department
determine that outside expertise to assist with the review is
necessary, the applicant shall be responsible for the cost of
such outside expertise. Such costs shall be agreed upon in
advance by the applicant.

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-130; Filed August 1,2007, 12:03 p.m.

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND
CORRECTIONS

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Criminal
Justice Services has claimed an exemption from the
Administrative Process Act in accordance with §2.2-4006 A 4
a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are
necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or
the appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved.
The Department of Criminal Justice Services will receive,
consider and respond to petitions by any interested person at
any time with respect to reconsideration or revision.

Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-120. Regulations Relating to
Criminal History Record Information Use and Security
(amending 6VAC20-120-40).

Statutory Authority: §9.1-102 and Article 3 (§9.1-126 et seq.)
of Chapter 1 of Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: September 19, 2007.

Agency Contact: Judith Kirkendall, Criminal History Records
Auditor, Department of Criminal Justice Services, 202 North
9th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 804-786-8003,
FAX 804-786-0410, or email
judith.kirdendall@dcjs.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The amendment adds a subsection in order to comply with
a legislative change made this year. This changes provides
that no criminal justice agency is required to collect,
maintain, or update criminal history record information,
as defined in §9.1-101 of the Code of Virginia, when such
information is already available and readily accessible
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from another criminal justice agency unless required by
88§15.2-1722, 16.1-299, and 19.2-390 of the Code of
Virginia.

6VVAC20-120-40. Collection.

A. Responsibility. Responsibility for collecting and updating
criminal history record information rests with:

1. State officials and criminal justice agencies having the
power to arrest, detain, or hold convicted persons in
correctional facilities;

2. Sheriffs of cities or counties;
3. Police officials of cities, counties and towns;

4. Other local law-enforcement officers or conservators of
the peace who have the power to arrest for a felony (see
§19.2-390 of the Code of Virginia);

5. Clerks of court and court agencies or officers of the
court; and

6. Other criminal justice agencies or agencies having
criminal justice responsibilities which generate criminal
history record information.

B. Reportable offenses. The above officials and their
representatives are required to submit to the Central Criminal
Records Exchange, on forms provided by the Central
Criminal Records Exchange, a report on every arrest they
complete for:

1. Treason;

2. Felonies or offenses punishable as a misdemeanor under
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia;

3. Class 1 and 2 misdemeanors under Title 18.2 except an
arrest for a violation of Article 2 (§18.2-266 et seq.) of
Chapter 7 of Title 18.2; violation of Article 2 (§18.2-415 et
seq. of Chapter 9 of Title 18.2), or §18.2-119; or violation
of any similar ordinance of a county, city or town.

In addition to those offenses enumerated above, the Central
Criminal Records Exchange may receive, classify and file any
other fingerprints and records of arrest or confinement
submitted to it by any law-enforcement agency or
correctional institution.

The chief of police, sheriff, or criminal justice agency head
is responsible for establishing a system to ensure that arrest
forms are completed and submitted in a timely and accurate
fashion.

C. Timelines of submission.

1. Arrests. Arrest reports for all offenses noted above,
except as provided in this section, and a fingerprint card
for the arrested individual shall be forwarded to the Central
Criminal Records Exchange in accordance with the time
limits specified by the Department of State Police. A copy

of the Central Criminal Records Exchange arrest form shall
also be sent to the local court (a copy of the form is
provided for the courts) at the same time.

The link between the arrest report and the fingerprint card
shall be established according to Central Criminal Records
Exchange requirements. Arrests that occur simultaneously
for multiple offenses need only be accompanied by one
fingerprint card.

2. Nonconvictions. For arrests except as noted in
subdivision 3a below, the clerk of each circuit and district
court shall notify the Central Criminal Records Exchange
of the final action on a case. This notification must always
be made no more than 30 days from the date the order is
entered by the presiding judge.

3. Convictions.

a. For persons arrested and released on summonses under
§19.2-74 of the Code of Virginia, the chief law-
enforcement officer or his designee, who may be the
arresting officer, shall furnish fingerprint cards and a
completed copy of the Central Criminal Records
Exchange form to the Central Criminal Records
Exchange. The form shall be completed immediately
upon conviction unless an appeal is noted. In the case of
an appeal, officials responsible for reporting the
disposition of charges shall report the conviction within
30 days after final action of the case.

b. For arrests except as noted in subdivision 3 a above,
the clerk of each circuit and district court shall notify the
Central Criminal Records Exchange of the final action on
a case. This notification must always be made no more
than 30 days after occurrence of the disposition.

4. Final disposition. State correctional officials shall
submit to the Central Criminal Records Exchange the
release status of an inmate of the state correctional system
within 20 days of the release.

D. Updating and accuracy. Arresting officers and court
clerks noted above are responsible for notifying the Central
Criminal Records Exchange in a timely fashion, and always
within 30 days, of changes or errors and necessary corrections
in arrests, convictions, or other dispositions, concerning
arrests and dispositions that the criminal justice agency
originated. In the case of correctional status or release
information, correctional officials are responsible for
notifying the Central Criminal Records Exchange within the
same time limits of updates or changes in correctional status
information. Forms for updating and correcting information
are provided by the Central Criminal Records Exchange.

Each criminal justice agency is required to supply timely
corrections of criminal history record information the agency
has provided to a criminal justice or noncriminal justice
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agency for a period of two years after the date of
dissemination.

E. Locally maintained and nonreportable offenses. Criminal
history record information generated by a criminal justice
agency and maintained in a locally used and maintained file,
including criminal history record information on offenses not
required to be reported to the Central Criminal Records
Exchange but maintained in local files, as well as criminal
history record information maintained by the Central
Criminal Records Exchange, shall adhere to the standards of
collection, timeliness, updating and accuracy as required by
these regulations. Arrests shall be noted and convictions or
adjudications recorded within 30 days of court action or the
elapse of time to appeal.

F. Except as provided in §§15.2-1722, 16.1-299, and 19.2-
390 of the Code of Virginia, nothing contained in this article
shall be construed as requiring any criminal justice agency to
collect, maintain, or wupdate criminal history record
information, as defined in §9.1-101, when such information is
already available and readily accessible from another criminal
justice agency.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-868; Filed July 31, 2007, 9:48 a.m.

STATE BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE
Emergency Regulation

Title of Regulation: 6VAC35-20. Regulations Governing
the Monitoring, Approval, and Certification of Juvenile
Justice Programs (amending 6VAC35-20-37).

Statutory Authority: §§16.1-233 and 66-10 of the Code of
Virginia.

Effective Dates: August 1, 2007, through July 31, 2008.

Agency Contact: Deron Phipps, Regulatory Coordinator,
Department of Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 1110, Richmond,
VA 23218-1110, telephone (804) 786-6407, FAX (804) 371-
0773, or email deron.phipps@djj.virginia.gov.

Preamble:

This regulation is necessary due to legislation enacted
during the 2006 General Assembly session (Chapter 168 of
the 2006 Virginia Acts of Assembly (SB 190)). A second
enactment clause in Chapter 168 requires the Board of
Juvenile Justice to promulgate regulations to implement
the provisions of the legislation within 280 days of
enactment.

The amendments allow the director to issue a summary
order of suspension of the license or certificate of any
group home or residential facility when conditions or
practices exist in the home or facility that pose an
immediate and substantial threat to the health, safety, and
welfare of the juveniles who are residents.

The amendment establishes that the summary order of
suspension will take effect upon its issuance. The
amendment provides the process for serving notice and the
timeframes for requesting and conducting an appeal.

6VAC35-20-37. Director's authority to take immediate
administrative action.

A. Nothing in this regulation shall be construed to limit the
director's authority to take immediate administrative action in
accordance with law whenever (i) evidence is found of any
life, health, or safety violation or (ii) a program is not in
substantial nencomphiance compliance with board-approved
standards, policies, or local plan for Virginia Juvenile
Community Crime Control Act programs. Such
administrative action may include, but is not limited to (a)
withholding funds; (b) removing juveniles from the program;
or (¢) placing the program on administrative probation for up
to six months pending certification action by the board. In
taking such action, the department shall notify beth the
program, the administrative entity that the program reports to,
and the board, in writing, of the reason for the administrative
action; and the action the program must take to correct the
situation.

B. Pursuant to the provisions set forth in §66-24 of the
Virginia Code and in addition to any other legally authorized
disciplinary actions, the director may issue a summary order
of suspension of the license or certificate of any group home
or residential facility so regulated by the department, in
conjunction with any proceeding for revocation, denial, or
other action, when conditions or practices exist in the home or
facility that pose an immediate and substantial threat to the
health, safety, and welfare of the juveniles who are residents
and the director believes the operation of the home or facility
should be suspended during the pendency of such proceeding.

1. The summary order of suspension shall take effect upon
its issuance.

a. The summary order of suspension shall be served on
the licensee or certificate holder or its designee as soon
as practicable by personal service and certified mail
return receipt requested, to the address of record of the
licensee or certificate holder.

2. The licensee or certificate holder shall be afforded the
opportunity for a hearing before the director or his

designee.

a. The summary order of suspension shall state the time,
date, and location of a hearing to determine if the

suspension is appropriate.

b. The hearing shall be held no later than three business
days after the issuance of the summary order of
suspension and shall be convened by the director or his

designee.

Volume 23, Issue 25

Virginia Register of Regulations

August 20, 2007

4178



Regulations

3. A final order of summary suspension must be in writing.
The final order of summary suspension shall be served on
the licensee or certificate holder or its designee as soon as
practicable by personal service and certified mail, return
receipt requested, to the address of record of the licensee or
certificate holder.

4. A final order of summary suspension shall include
notice that the licensee or certificate holder may appeal the

director’s decision to the appropriate circuit court no later
than 10 days following issuance of the order.

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-639; Filed Aug 1, 2007, 11:30 a.m.

L 4 *

TITLE 8. EDUCATION

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Final Regulation

Titles of Regulations: 8VAC20-21. Licensure Regulations
for School Personnel (repealing 8VAC20-21-10 through
8VAC20-21-730).

8VAC20-22. Licensure Regulations for School Personnel
(adding 8VAC20-22-10 through 8VAC20-22-760).

Statutory Authority: §§22.1-298.1 and 22.1-299 of the Code
of Virginia.

Effective Date: September 21, 2007.

Agency Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy &
Communications, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120,
101 N. 14th St., 25th Floor, Richmond, VA, 23219 telephone

804-225-2540, FAX 804-225-2524, or email
margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov.

Summary:

This regulation makes substantive changes in the

requirements for licensure of school personnel. In a
concurrent action, the Board of Education is repealing the
text of the current regulations (8VAC20-21) and
promulgating new regulations (8VAC20-22). The following
areas contain substantive changes and new requirements:
(i) conditions for licensure (including, but not limited to, a
revision of the exemption experience criteria for testing
requirements and requiring all teachers on provisionally
issued licenses to meet testing requirements for licensure
within one year of the contractual date of employment); (ii)
types of licenses; (iii) designations of career paths to
teaching; (iv) added endorsements by examination; (v)
conditions for licensure by reciprocity; (vi) names of a few
endorsements and requirements for some teaching areas;
(vii) endorsement areas by adding the mathematics
specialist and an add-on for early childhood for three-and
four-year-olds, (viii) the administration and supervision

endorsement; (ix) professional studies requirements; and
(x) revocation, cancellation, suspension, denial, and
reinstatement of teaching licenses.

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.

CHAPTER 22

LICENSURE REGULATIONS FOR SCHOOL
PERSONNEL

Part |

Definitions

8VAC20-22-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the meanings indicated unless the context clearly
implies otherwise:

"Accredited institution" means an institution of higher
education accredited by a regional accrediting agency
recognized by the United States Department of Education.

"Alternate route to licensure" means a nontraditional route
to licensure available to individuals who meet the criteria
specified in SVAC20-22-90.

"Approved program" means a professional education
program recognized as meeting state standards for the content
and operation of such programs so graduates of the program
will be eligible for state licensure. The Board of Education
has the authority to approve programs in Virginia.

"Cancellation" means the [ annulment—voiding—or
invalidation withdrawal | of a teaching license following
[ the ] voluntary [ surrender return | of the license by the
license holder.

"Certified provider" means a provider certified by the
Department of Education to provide preparation and training
for applicants seeking the Provisional License specified in
8VAC20-22-90.

"Collegiate Professional License" means a five-year,
renewable license available to an individual who has satisfied
all requirements for licensure, including the professional
teacher's assessments prescribed by the Board of Education.

"Content _area coursework" means courses at the
undergraduate level (i.e., two-year or four-year institution) or
at the graduate level that will not duplicate previous courses
taken in the humanities, history and social sciences, the
sciences, mathematics, health and physical education, and the
fine arts. These courses are usually available through the
college or department of arts or sciences.
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"Denial" means the refusal to grant a teaching license to a

appropriate earned graduate degree from [ an a regionally ]

new applicant or to an applicant who is reapplying after the

accredited institution.

expiration of a license.

"Division _Superintendent License" means a five-year,

"Professional teacher’s assessment" means those tests or
other requirements mandated for licensure as prescribed by

renewable license available to an individual who has

the Board of Education.

completed an earned master's degree from an accredited
institution of higher education and meets the requirements
specified in 8VAC20-22-600. The individual's name must be
listed on the Board of Education's list of eligible division

superintendents.

"Experiential learning" means a process of applying for an

"Provisional License" means a nonrenewable license valid
for a period not to exceed three years issued to an individual
who has allowable deficiencies for full licensure as set forth

in these regulations. The individual must have a minimum of
an undergraduate degree from [ an a regionally | accredited

college or university (with the exception of those individuals

initial license through the alternate route as prescribed by the

seeking the Technical Professional License). The Provisional

Board of Education and meeting the criteria specified in

License, with the exception of those individuals seeking

8VAC20-22-90 E to be eligible to request experiential

licensure through a career switcher program [ who will be

learning credits in lieu of the coursework for the endorsement

issued a one-year Provisional License, | will be issued for

(teaching) content area.

"International Educator License" means a three-year cultural
exchange opportunity for Virginia students and international
teachers. The International Educator License is a professional,
teaching license issued for no more than three years to an
exchange educator with citizenship in a nation other than the
United States of America, and employed as an educator in a
Virginia public or accredited nonpublic school, to teach for
up to three consecutive years.

"Licensure by reciprocity" means a process used to issue a

three years [ if—alltestingrequirements—preseribed—by—the

validityperiod-of the license ]. [ Individuals must complete
all requirements for a renewable license within the validity
period of the license. |

license to an individual coming into Virginia from another
state when that individual meets certain conditions specified
in the Board of Education regulations.

"Pupil Personnel Services License" means a five-year,
renewable license available to an individual who has earned
an appropriate graduate degree from [asn a regionally |
accredited institution with an endorsement for guidance

"Local Eligibility License" means a license [ established-by
the-Virginia-General-Assembly ] issued [ pursuant to §22.1-

counselor, school psychologist, school social worker,

299.3 of the Code of Virginia ] to an individual by a local

[ speeial-edueation, speech-language-disorder prek—12 special

school board based on specified criteria set forth by [ the
Code-of Virginia that section ]. The Local Eligibility License

education speech language pathologist preK-12], or
vocational evaluator. This license does not require teaching

shall not be issued in the federal core teaching areas or special

experience.

education. The license is valid for three years and is not
transferable to another school division. The Local Eligibility
License is a nonrenewable credential and is not reciprocal
with other states.

"Mentor" means a classroom teacher hired by the local
school division who has achieved continuing contract status
or other instructional personnel including retired teachers who

"Renewable license" means a license issued by the Board of
Education for five years to an individual who meets the
requirements specified in the Board of Education regulations.

"Revocation" means the [ annulment-byrecalling repealing

orreseinding withdrawal | of a teaching license.

"Suspension" means the temporary withdrawal of a teaching

[ meets meet | local mentor selection criteria. The mentor

license.

should work in the same building as the beginning teacher or
be instructional personnel who is assigned solely as a mentor.

A mentor should be assigned a limited number of teachers at
any time. Instructional personnel who are not assigned solely
as mentors should not be assigned to more than four teachers
at any time. Mentors guide teachers in the program through
demonstrations, observations, and consultations.

"Postgraduate Professional License" means a five-year,
renewable license available to an individual who has qualified
for the Collegiate Professional License and who holds an

"Technical Professional License" means a five-year,
renewable license available to an individual who has
graduated from an accredited high school (or possesses a
General Education Development Certificate); has exhibited
academic  proficiency,  technical  competency, and
occupational experience; and meets the requirements
specified in 8VAC20-22-50.
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Part IT

Administering the Regulations
8VAC20-22-20. Administering the requlations.

A. In administering this chapter, modifications may be made
in _exceptional cases by the Superintendent of Public
Instruction. Proposed modifications shall be made in writing
to the Superintendent of Public Instruction, Commonwealth

of Virginia, Virginia Department of Education, P.O. Box
2120, Richmond, Virginia 23218-2120.

B. In administering these regulations, competencies required
for endorsement areas are outlined in the Regulations

Governing the Review and Approval of Education Programs
in Virginia (8VAC20-542). This document should be
referenced for detailed information regarding coursework
content for endorsements. Individuals must complete the
semester _hours required for endorsement areas or the
equivalent that must be documented and [ reeceive-approval
approved ] by the Department of Education.

Part 111

Licensure

8VAC?20-22-30. Purpose and responsibility for licensure.

The primary purpose for licensing teachers and other school
personnel is  to maintain _standards of professional
competence. The responsibility for licensure is set forth in
§22.1-298.1 of the Code of Virginia, which states that the
Board of Education shall prescribe by regulation the
requirements for licensure of teachers.

8VAC20-22-40. Conditions for licensure.

A. Applicants for licensure must:

1. Be at least 18 years of age;

2. Pay the appropriate fees as determined by the Board of
Education and complete the application process;

3. Have earned a baccalaureate degree (with the exception
of the Technical Professional License) from a regionally
accredited institution of higher education and meet
requirements for the license sought. Persons seeking initial
licensure who graduate from Virginia institutions of higher
education shall only be licensed as instructional personnel
by the Board of Education if the endorsement areas offered
at_such institutions have been assessed by a national
accrediting agency or by a state approval process with final
approval by the Board of Education; and

4. Possess good moral character (free of conditions
outlined in Part VII (8VAC20-22-690 et seq.) of this

chapter.
B. All candidates who hold at least a baccalaureate degree

[ from a regionally accredited college or university ] and who
seek an initial Virginia teaching license must obtain passing

scores on professional teacher's assessments prescribed by the
Board of Education. With the exception of the career switcher
program that requires assessments as  prerequisites,
individuals must complete the professional teacher’s
assessments within [ ene—year—of the—econtractual—date—of
employment: the three-year validity of the initial provisional
license. | Candidates seeking a Technical Professional
License [, the International License, School Manager
License, | or the Pupil Personnel Services License are not
required to take the professional teacher's assessments.
Individuals who hold a valid out-of-state license (full
credential with no deficiencies) and who have completed a
minimum of three years of full-time, successful teaching
experience in a public or accredited nonpublic school
(kindergarten through grade 12) in a state other than Virginia
are_exempted from the professional teacher’s assessment

requirements.

C. All individuals seeking an initial endorsement in
early/primary education preK-3. elementary education preK-
6. special education-general curriculum, special education-
hearing disorders, special education-visual impairments and
individuals seeking an endorsement as a reading specialist
must obtain passing scores on a reading instructional
assessment prescribed by the Board of Education.

D. Licensure by reciprocity is set forth in 8VAC20-22-100.
A school leader's assessment prescribed by the Board of
Education must be met for all individuals who are seeking an
initial endorsement authorizing them to serve as principals
and assistant principals in the public schools. Individuals
seeking an initial administration and supervision endorsement
who are interested in serving as central office instructional
personnel are not required to take and pass the school leaders
assessment prescribed by the Board of Education.

[ E. ] Individuals seeking initial licensure must demonstrate
proficiency in the use of educational technology for
instruction, complete study in child abuse recognition and
intervention in accordance with curriculum guidelines
developed by the Board of Education in consultation with the
Department of Social Services, and receive professional
development in instructional methods tailored to promote
student academic progress and effective preparation for the
Standards of Learning end-of-course and end-of-grade
assessments.

8VAC?20-22-50. Types of licenses; dating licenses.

The following types of licenses are available:

1. Provisional License. The Provisional License is a
nonrenewable license valid for a period not to exceed three
years issued to an individual who has allowable
deficiencies for full licensure as set forth in these
regulations. The individual must have a minimum of an
undergraduate degree from [ am a regionally | accredited
college or university (with the exception of those
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individuals  seeking  the  Technical  Professional
License). The Provisional License, with the exception of
those individuals seeking licensure through a career
switcher program, will be issued for three years [ #—al

testine requirementspreseribed by-the Board of Education

b. Have completed a registered apprenticeship program
and two vyears of satisfactory experience at the
journeyman level or an equivalent level in the trade; or

c. Have four years of work experience at the management
or supervisory level or equivalent or have a combination
of four years of training and work experience at the
management or supervisory level or equivalent.

Individuals holding the Technical Professional License

who seek the Collegiate Professional or Postgraduate

may—be—extended—for—two—vears. | Individuals must

Professional License must meet the professional teacher's

complete the requirements for the regular, five-year license

assessments requirement.

within the validity period of the [ previsionalticense

Provisional License ].

2. Collegiate Professional License. The Collegiate

5. School Manager License. The school manager license is
[ a five-year, renewable license ] intended to provide for
the differentiation of administrative responsibilities in a

Professional License is a five-year, renewable license

school setting. A school manager is licensed to administer

available to an individual who has satisfied all

noninstructional responsibilities in an educational setting.

requirements _for licensure, including an earned
undergraduate degree from a regionally accredited college

For example, a school manager is restricted from
evaluating teachers, supervising instruction, developing

or university and the professional teacher's assessments

and evaluating curriculum, and serving as a school’s

prescribed by the Board of Education.

3. Postgraduate Professional License. The Postgraduate
Professional License is a five-year, renewable license
available to an individual who has qualified for the
Collegiate Professional License and who holds an
appropriate earned graduate degree from [ an a regionally |
accredited college or university.

4. Technical Professional License. The Technical
Professional License is a five-year, renewable license
available to a person who has graduated from an accredited
high school (or possesses a General Education
Development  Certificate); has exhibited academic
proficiency, skills in literacy and communication, technical
competency, and occupational experience; and has
completed nine semester hours of specialized professional
studies credit from [ an a regionally ] accredited college or
university. The nine semester hours of professional studies

student disciplinarian. The license is available to a
candidate who holds a baccalaureate degree from a
regionally accredited college or university; has three years
[of] successful managerial experience; and is
recommended for the license by a Virginia school division

superintendent.

6. Pupil Personnel Services License. The Pupil Personnel
Services License is a five-year, renewable license available
to an individual who has earned an appropriate graduate
degree from [am a regionally | accredited college or
university with an endorsement for guidance counselor,
school psychologist, school social worker, [ speeial
special education speech-language pathologist preK-12 ],
or vocational evaluator. This license does not require
teaching experience.

7. Division Superintendent License. The Division

coursework must include human growth and development

Superintendent License is a five-year, renewable license

(three semester hours), curriculum and instructional

available to an individual who has completed an earned

procedures (three semester hours), and applications of

instructional technology or classroom [ and behavior |

master's degree from [ an a regionally | accredited college
or university and meets the requirements specified in

management (three semester hours). The Technical
Professional License is issued at the recommendation of an

8VAC20-22-600. The individual's name must be listed on
the Board of Education's list of eligible division

employing educational agency in the areas of career and

superintendents.

technical education, educational technology., and military
science. Individuals seeking military science must have the
appropriate credentials issued by the United States
military. In addition to demonstrating competency in the
endorsement area sought, the individual must:

a. Hold a license issued by the appropriate Virginia board

8. International Educator License. The International
Educator License provides a three-year cultural exchange
opportunity for Virginia students and international
teachers. The International Educator License is a
professional, teaching license issued for no more than three
years to an exchange educator with citizenship in a nation

for those program areas requiring a license and a

other than the United States of America, and employed as

minimum of two years of satisfactory experience at the
journeyman level or an equivalent;

an educator in a Virginia public or accredited nonpublic
school, to teach for up to three consecutive years. [ This
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license does not require professional teacher’s assessments:;
however, the individual will be subject to assessment
requirements if the individual seeks a five-year renewable
license. ] To be issued the International Educator License
an individual must:

a. Be employed by a Virginia public or accredited
nonpublic school;

b. Hold non-U.S. citizenship and be a nonpermanent
resident;

c. Serve as an exchange teacher for a time period not to
exceed three consecutive years; and

d. Meet the following requirements as verified by a state-
approved,  federally-designated  Exchange  Visitor
Program (22 CFR Part 62):

(1) Be proficient in written and spoken English;

(2) Demonstrate competence in the appropriate academic

subject area(s);

(3) Hold the U.S. equivalent of a baccalaureate degree or
higher as determined by an approved credential agency;
and

(4) Hold U.S. or foreign educator credentials and
completed at least one year of successful teaching

experience that:
(a) Enables the educator to fulfill a similar assignment in

his home country; or

(b) Is comparable to those requirements for Virginia
teachers.

9. Local Eligibility License. The Local Eligibility License,
established by the Virginia General Assembly, is a valid,
three-year nonrenewable license issued by a local school
board to an individual who has met specified criteria set
forth in §22.1-299.3 of the Code of Virginia. The Local
Eligibility License shall not be issued in the federal core
teaching areas or special education. The license is not
transferable to another division. The Local Eligibility
License is a nonrenewable credential and is not reciprocal
with other states.

All licenses will be effective from July 1 in the school year
in _which the application is made [ exeept—for—the
Provisional _Li | ndividual |

Edueation. | A Virginia employing education division or
agency is required to notify employees in writing at the
time of employment of the need to meet appropriate

assessment requirements for licensure [ within-a-vearfrom
the-contractual date- of employment |.

8VAC20-22-60. Designations on licenses for career paths
to teaching.

A. Designations on licenses will reflect stages in the
professional development of teachers and promote continuing
growth and career paths as educators. Criteria and

implementation of procedures will be set forth by the Virginia
Department of Education.

B. Teaching licenses may be issued with one of the
following designations [and the designation will be
processed as an add-on endorsement ]. These designations
will not apply to the Division Superintendent License [,
School Manager License, International License, ] or the Pupil
Personnel Services License.

1. Career Teacher: This teacher designation will be issued
on a renewable teaching license for individuals who have

gained continuing contract status in Virginia.

2. Mentor Teacher: This voluntary teacher designation will
be issued on a renewable teaching license for individuals
who have achieved the career teacher designation, received
a recommendation for the designation from an employing
Virginia school division superintendent or designee or
accredited nonpublic _school head, served at least three
years as a mentor teacher in Virginia, documented
responsibilities as a mentor, and completed a local or state
mentor teacher training program in accordance with the
Board of Education requirements for mentor teachers.

3. Teacher as Leader: This voluntary teacher designation
will be issued on a renewable teaching license for
individuals who have achieved the career teacher
designation; completed at least five years of successful,
full-time teaching experience in a Virginia public school or
accredited nonpublic school; received the recommendation
from an employing Virginia school division superintendent
or designee or accredited nonpublic school head: and
completed one of the following:

a. National board certification or a nationally recognized
certification program approved by the Board of
Education and [ demenstrated——skills—andabilities—as—a
school—head: a recommendation from an employing
Virginia school division superintendent or designee or
accredited nonpublic school head and documentation in
an _approved Department of Education format verifying
the individual’s demonstrated skills and abilities as a
school leader and direct contributions to school
effectiveness and student achievement; ] or

b. A recommendation from an employing Virginia school
division superintendent or designee or accredited
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nonpublic school head and documentation in an approved
Department of Education format verifying the
individual’s demonstrated skills and abilities as a school
leader and direct contributions to school effectiveness
and student achievement.

8VAC20-22-70. Additional endorsements.

A. An individual who holds a teaching license may add an
additional endorsement to the license by passing a rigorous
academic subject test prescribed by the Board of Education.
This testing option does not apply to individuals who are
seeking an early/primary preK-3 or elementary education
preK-6 endorsement or who hold a technical professional
license, vocational evaluator license, pupil personnel services

c. The completion of requirements for an endorsement in
a teaching area or the equivalent through verifiable
experience or academic study;

d. At least five years of full-time work experience or its
equivalent; and

e. Virginia qualifying scores on the professional teacher's
assessments as prescribed by the Board of Education.

2. The Provisional License is awarded at the end of Level 1
preparation. All components of the career switcher
alternate route for career professions must be completed by
the candidate.

3. The Level I requirements must be completed during the

license, [ school manager license, ] or division superintendent

course of a single year and may be offered through a

license.

B. One or more endorsements may be added to a license
provided specific endorsement requirements have been met.
Written requests may be made by the licensed professional
and should be directed to the Virginia employing educational
agency or college or university. If the request is not acted
upon by the local educational agency or college or university
within 30 days or is disputed, the license holder may make a
written request for an additional endorsement directly to the
Office of Professional Licensure, Virginia Department of
Education. Written requests should be submitted by January
15 to be in effect by July 1 of the same year.

8VAC20-22-80. Deletion of an endorsement.

An endorsement may be deleted from a license at the request
of the licensed professional. Written requests are made by the
licensed professional and should be directed to the employing
educational agency. If the request is not acted upon by the
local educational agency within 30 days, or is disputed, the
license holder may make a written request for the deletion of
an endorsement directly to the Office of Professional
Licensure, Virginia Department of FEducation. Written
requests should be submitted by January 15 to be in effect on
July 1 of that vear. Individuals who wish to add an
endorsement that has been deleted must meet requirements
for that endorsement at the time it is requested.

8VAC20-22-90. Alternate routes to licensure.

A. Career switcher alternate route to licensure for career
professions. An alternate route is available to career switchers
who seek teaching endorsements preK through grade 12 with
the exception of special education.

1. An individual seeking a Provisional License through the
career _switcher program must meet the following
prerequisite requirements:

a. An application process;

b. A baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited
college or university;

variety of delivery systems, including distance learning
programs. If an employing agency recommends extending
the Provisional License for a second year, the candidate
will enter Level III of the program. Career switcher

programs must be certified by the Virginia Department of
Education.

a. Level I preparation. Intensive Level I preparation
includes a minimum of 180 clock hours of instruction
including field experience. This phase includes, but is not
limited to, curriculum and instruction, including
technology. reading, and other specific course content
relating to the Standards of Learning, differentiation of
instruction, classroom/behavior management,
instructional design based on assessment data, and
human growth and development.

b. Level Il preparation during first year of employment.

(1) Candidate seeks employment in Virginia with the
one-year Provisional License.

(2) Continued Level II preparation during the first year of
employment with a minimum of five seminars that
expand the intensive preparation requirements listed in
subdivision 3 a of this subsection. The five seminars will
include a minimum of 20 cumulative instructional hours.
A variety of instructional delivery techniques will be
utilized to implement the seminars.

(3) One year of successful, full-time teaching experience
in a Virginia public or accredited nonpublic school under
a one-year Provisional License. A trained mentor must be
assigned to assist the candidate during the first year of
employment. Responsibilities of the mentor include, but
are not limited to, the following:

a) Collaborate with the beginning teacher in the
development and implementation of an individualized
professional development plan;

(b) Observe, assess, coach, and provide opportunities for
constructive feedback, including strategies for self-
reflection;
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(c) Share resources and materials;

(d) Share best instructional, assessment, and
organizational practices; classroom [and behavior ]
management strategies; and techniques for promoting
effective communication; and

(e) Provide general support and direction regarding
school policies and procedures.

(4) Upon completion of Levels I and II of the career
switcher alternate route to licensure program and
submission of a recommendation from the Virginia
educational employing agency. the candidate will be
eligible to apply for a five-year, renewable license.
Renewal requirements for the regular license will be
subject to current regulations of the Board of Education.

c. Level III preparation, if required.

(1) Post preparation, if required, will be conducted by the
Virginia _employing educational agency to address the
areas where improvement is needed as identified in the
candidate's professional improvement plan; and

(2) Upon completion of Levels I, 11, and III of the career
switcher alternate route to licensure program and
submission of a recommendation from the Virginia
educational employing agency, the candidate will be
eligible to receive a five-year renewable license.

4. Verification of program completion will be documented
by the certified program provider and the division
superintendent or designee.

5. Certified providers implementing a career switcher
program may charge a fee for participation in the program.

B. An alternate route is available to individuals employed by
an educational agency who seek teaching endorsements preK
through grade 12. [ H-the—individual hasnet-mettesting

; i the  the ki 4 j]. :
be-extended fortwo—years: | Individuals must complete the
requirements for the regular, five-year license within the
validity period of the [ provisional ] license.

1. An individual seeking a license through this alternate
route must have met the following requirements:

a. Are entering the teaching field through the alternate
route to licensure upon the recommendation of the

Virginia employing educational agency;
b. Hold a baccalaureate degree from a regionally

accredited college or university with the exception of
individuals seeking the Technical Professional License;

c. Have met requirements for the endorsement area; and

d. Need to complete an allowable portion of professional
studies and licensure requirements.

2. The professional studies requirements for the
appropriate _level of endorsement sought must be
completed. A Virginia educational agency may submit to
the Superintendent of Public Instruction for approval an
alternate program to meet the professional studies
requirements. The alternate program must include training
seminar, internship, coursework, etc.) in human growth
and development, curriculum and instructional procedures
(including technology). instructional design based on
assessment data, classroom [ and behavior ] management,
[ foundations of education ] and reading.

3. One year of successful, full-time teaching experience in
the appropriate teaching area in a Virginia public or
accredited nonpublic school must be completed. A fully
licensed experienced teacher must be available in the

school building to assist the beginning teacher employed
through the alternate route.

C. Alternate route in special education. The Provisional
License is a [ three-year | nonrenewable teaching license
issued to an individual employed as a special education
teacher in a public school or a nonpublic special education
school in Virginia who does not hold the appropriate special
education endorsement. This alternate route to special
education is not applicable to individuals employed as speech

pathologists. [ TheProvisional License-will be-initially-issued

validityperiod-of the license: | To be issued the Provisional

License through this alternate route, an individual must:

1. Be employed by a Virginia public or nonpublic school
as a special educator and have the recommendation of the
employing educational agency;

2. Hold a baccalaureate degree from [an a regionally |
accredited college or university;

3. Have an assigned mentor endorsed in special education;
and

4. Have a planned program of study in the assigned
endorsement area, make progress toward meeting the
endorsement requirements each of the three years of the
license, and have completed coursework in the
competencies of foundations for educating students with
disabilities and an understanding and application of the
legal aspects and regulatory requirements associated with
identification, education, and evaluation of students with
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disabilities. A survey course _integrating  these

C. Licensure by reciprocity is provided for individuals who

competencies  would satisfy this requirement. The

have obtained a valid out-of-state license (full credential

Provisional License through this alternate route shall not be

without deficiencies) that is in force at the time the

issued without the completion of these prerequisites.

D. Alternate programs at institutions of higher education or
Virginia school divisions. Alternate programs developed by
institutions of higher education (i) recognize the unique
strengths of prospective teachers from nontraditional
backgrounds and (ii) prepare these individuals to meet the
same standards that are established for others who are granted
a license through an alternate route.

E. Experiential learning. Individuals applying for an initial

application for a Virginia license is received by the
Department of Education. The individual must establish a file
in the Department of Education by submitting a complete

application packet, which shall include official student
transcripts. [ An—assessment—of basie—skills—asprovided—in
O

Educationshall be required Unless exempted by the criteria in

subsection D of this section, licensure assessments prescribed

license through the alternate route as prescribed by the Board

by the Board of Education shall be required. ]

of Education must meet the following criteria to be eligible to
request experiential learning credits in lieu of the coursework
for the endorsement (teaching) content area:

1. Hold a baccalaureate degree from a regionally

D. Individuals who hold a valid out-of-state license (full
credential without deficiencies) and who have completed a

minimum of three years of full-time, successful teaching
experience in_a public or accredited nonpublic school

accredited college or university;

2. Have at least five years of documented full-time work

experience that may include specialized training related to
the endorsement sought; and

3. Have met the qualifying score on the content knowledge

(kindergarten through grade 12) in a state other than Virginia
are_exempted from the professional teacher’s assessment

requirements.
8VAC?20-22-110. Requirements for renewing a license.

A. The Division Superintendent, Postgraduate Professional,

assessment prescribed by the Board of Education.

The criteria do not apply to teachers of special education and
elementary education (preK-3 and preK-6) [ :-hewever—in
E .EEI’E 5|5]|E Z o€ EI 55; I’I.EE ae-

ordesignee |.
8VAC20-22-100. Conditions for licensure for out-of-state
candidates by reciprocity.

A. An individual coming into Virginia from any state may
qualify for a Virginia teaching license with comparable

endorsement areas if the individual has completed a state-
approved teacher preparation program through a regionally
accredited four-year college or university, or if the individual
holds a valid out-of-state teaching license [ ( ] full credential
without deficiencies [ ) ] that must be in force at the time the
application for a Virginia license is made. An individual
seeking licensure must establish a file in the Department of
Education by submitting a complete application packet,

Collegiate Professional, Technical Professional, [ and ] Pupil
Personnel Services [Lieenses, and School Manager
Licenses | may be renewed upon the completion of 180
professional development points within a five-year validity
period based on an individualized professional development
plan that includes ongoing, sustained, and high-quality
professional development.

B. Virginia public school divisions and public education
agencies must report annually to the Department of Education
that instructional personnel have completed high quality
professional development each year as set forth by the
Virginia Department of Education.

C. Professional development points may be accrued by the
completion of professional development activities to improve
and increase instructional personnel’s knowledge of the
academic subjects the teachers teach or the area assigned
from one or more of the following eight options.

1. College credit. Acceptable coursework offers content

which includes official student transcripts. Professional

that provides new information and is offered on-campus,

teacher's assessments prescribed by the Board of Education

off-campus, or through extension by any regionally

must be satisfied.

B. An individual coming into Virginia will qualify for a

Virginia teaching license with comparable endorsement areas
if the individual holds national certification from the National

Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) or a
nationally recognized certification program approved by the
Board of Education.

accredited two- or four-year college or university. College
coursework must develop further experiences in subject
content taught, teaching strategies, uses of technologies,
leadership. and other essential elements in teaching to high
standards and increasing student learning. At least 90
points for each five-year renewal shall be in the content
area(s) currently being taught if the license holder does not
hold a graduate degree. Instructional personnel must
complete coursework to improve and increase the
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knowledge of the academic subjects or endorsement areas
in which they are assigned.

2. Professional conference. A professional conference is a
workshop, institute, or seminar of four or more hours that
contributes to ongoing, sustained, and high-quality
professional development.

3. Curriculum development. Curriculum development is a
group activity in which the license holder contributes to the
improvement of the curriculum of a school, a school
division, or an education institution in the teaching area
assigned. This includes the alignment of curriculum
frameworks, instructional materials, and assessments to
provide a system with clear expectations of what is to be
taught and learned.

4. Publication of article. The article must contribute to the
education profession or to the body of knowledge of the
license holder’s teaching area or instructional position.
Grant reports that present the results of educational
research are acceptable provided the license holder had an

active role in planning, analyzing, interpreting,

demonstrating, disseminating, or evaluating the study or
innovation. The article must be published in a recognized

professional journal.

5. Publication of book. Books must be published for

7. Educational project. Educational projects must be
planned, focused projects based on high standards of
teaching and learning. Projects must result in a written
report or other tangible product. Projects must contribute to
the education profession or to the body of knowledge of
the license holder’s teaching area or instructional position.
A project could include participation in new professional
responsibilities, such as leading a school improvement
initiative.

8. Professional development activity. Professional
development activities must focus on student learning and
achievement, schoolwide educational improvement,
leadership. subject content, teaching strategies, and use of
technologies and other essential elements in teaching to
high standards. Activities must be planned, rigorous,
systematic, and promote continuous inquiry and reflection.
Local employing educational agencies are encouraged to
design professional development activities that are
conducted in school settings and linked to student learning
and achievement.

D. A minimum of 90 points (three semester hours in a

content area) at the undergraduate (two-year or four-year
institution) or graduate level in the license holder's
endorsement areas shall be required of license holders
without a master's degree and may be satisfied at the

purchase and must contribute to the education profession

undergraduate (two-year or four-year institution) or graduate

or to the body of knowledge of the license holder’s

level. Special education coursework designed to assist

teaching area or instructional position. The published book

classroom teachers and other school personnel in working

must increase the field of content knowledge, planning and

with students with disabilities, a course in gifted education, a

assessment for evaluating and providing students with
feedback that encourages student progress and measures

course in educational technology, or a course in English as a
second language may be completed to satisfy the content

student achievement, instruction, safety and learning

course requirement for one cycle of the renewal process.

environment, communication and community relations

Professional development activities designed to support the

working with students, parents, and members of the
community to promote broad support for student learning.

Virginia Standards of Learning, Standards of Accreditation,
and Assessments may be accepted in lieu of the content

Points will not be awarded for books self-published.

6. Mentorship. Mentoring is the process by which an
experienced professional, who has received mentorship
training, provides assistance to one or more persons for the
purpose of improving their performance. Assistance may
involve role modeling, direct instruction, demonstration,
observation with feedback, developing of plans, and
consultation to promote instructional excellence and
increased student achievement. Mentoring may include the
supervision of a field experience of a preservice student
teacher or an intern in an approved teacher/principal
preparation program, as well as mentoring as part of the

induction process for a beginning teacher or a first-year

administrator. Individuals serving in this role and
submitting documentation for license renewal based on the

mentorship option shall receive training as a mentor prior
to the assignment and at least once during the five-year
renewal cycle.

course for one renewal cycle. The substance of the activities
must clearly support these initiatives and address one or more
of the following areas: (i) new content knowledge to
implement the Virginia Standards of Learning; (ii) curriculum
development initiative designed to translate the standards
from standards to classroom objectives; (iii) teaching
beginning reading skills including phonemic awareness and
the structure of language (phonics); (iv) staff development
activities in assessment to assist classroom teachers in the
utilization of test results to improve classroom instruction;
and (v) professional development designed to implement the
technology standards in the schools. Technical Professional
License holders without baccalaureate degrees may satisfy the
requirement through career and technical education
workshops, career and technical education institutes, or
through undergraduate coursework at two-year or four-year
institutions.

E. Content area courses are courses at the undergraduate
level (two-year or four-year institution) or at the graduate
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level that will not duplicate previous courses taken in the
humanities, history and social sciences, the sciences,

L. Training in instructional methods tailored to promote
academic progress and effective preparation for the Standards

mathematics, health and physical education, and the fine arts.

of Learning tests and end-of-grade assessments is required for

These courses are usually available through the college or

licensure renewal.

department of arts and sciences. License holders with
elementary education, middle education, special education, or
reading endorsements must satisfy the 90-point requirement
through reading coursework or content coursework in one of
the areas listed above. Courses available through [the a
regionally ] accredited college's or institution's department of
education may be used to satisfy the content requirement for
those license holders with endorsements in health and
physical education, career and technical education, and
library science education.

F. With prior approval of the division superintendent, the 90

M. [ Rersens If they have not already met the requirement,
persons | seeking licensure renewal as teachers [ forthefirst
time—after such—date | must complete study in child abuse
recognition and intervention in accordance with curriculum
guidelines developed by the Board of Education in
consultation with the Department of Social Services that are
relevant to the specific teacher licensure routes.

Part IV

Licensure Regulations Governing Early/Primary Education,
Elementary Education, and Middle Education Endorsements

points in a content area also may be satisfied through
coursework taken to obtain a new teaching endorsement or
coursework taken because of a particular need of a particular
teacher.

G. The remaining 90 points may be accrued by activities
drawn from one or more of the eight renewal options.

Renewal work is designed to provide licensed personnel with
opportunities for professional development relative to the
grade levels or teaching fields to which they are assigned or
for which they seek an added endorsement. Such professional
development encompasses (i) responsible remediation of any
area of an individual's knowledge or skills that [ fails fail ] to
meet the standards of competency and (ii) responsible efforts
to increase the individual's knowledge of new developments
in his field and to respond to new curricular demands within
the person's area of professional competence.

H. The proposed work toward renewal in certain options
must be approved in advance by the chief executive officer or
designee of the employing educational agency. Persons who
are not employed by an educational agency may renew or
reinstate their license by submitting to the Office of
Professional Licensure, Department of Education, their
individualized renewal record and verification of points,
including official student transcripts of coursework taken at
an accredited two-year or four-year college or university.

I. Accrual of professional development points shall be

determined by criteria set forth by the Virginia Department of
Education.

J. Persons seeking license renewal as teachers must
demonstrate proficiency in the use of educational technology
for instruction.

K. Virginia school divisions and nonpublic schools will

8VAC20-22-120. Early/primary education, elementary
education, and middle education endorsements.

Individuals seeking licensure with endorsements in
early/primary education, elementary education, and middle
education may meet requirements through the completion of
an approved program or, if employed by a Virginia public or
nonpublic _school, through the alternate route to licensure.
Components of the licensure program include a degree from
[an a regionally | accredited college or university in the
liberal arts and sciences (or equivalent), professional teacher's
assessments requirement prescribed by the Board of
Education,  specific _endorsement  requirements, and
professional studies requirements.

8VAC20-22-130. Professional studies requirements.

Professional  studies requirements for early/primary
education, elementary education, and middle education: 18
semester hours. These requirements may be taught in
integrated coursework or modules.

1. Human growth and development (birth through
adolescence): 3 semester hours. Skills in this area shall
contribute to an understanding of the physical, social,
emotional, [ speech and language,] and intellectual
development of children and the ability to use this
understanding in guiding learning experiences [ and
relating meaningfully to students ]. The interaction of
children with individual differences — economic, social,
racial, ethnic, religious, physical, and mental — should be
incorporated to include skills contributing to an
understanding  of  developmental  disabilities  and
developmental issues related to but not limited to attention
deficit disorders, gifted education including the use of
multiple criteria to identify gifted students, substance

recommend renewal of licenses using the renewal point

abuse, child abuse, and family disruptions.

system. The renewal recommendation must include
verification of demonstrated proficiency in the use of
educational technology for instruction.

2. Curriculum and instructional procedures: 3 semester
hours.
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a. Early/primary education preK-3 or elementary
education  preK-6  curriculum and  instructional
procedures: 3 semester hours. Skills in this area shall
contribute to an understanding of the principles of
learning; the application of skills in discipline-specific
methodology; communication processes; selection and
use of materials, including media and computers; [ and
selection, development and use of appropriate curricula,
methodologies, and materials that support and enhance
student learning and reflect the research on unique, age-
appropriate, and culturally relevant curriculum and
pedagogy: ] evaluation of pupil performance [ ; and the
relationships among  assessment, instruction, and
monitoring _ student progress to include student
performance measures in grading practices, the ability to
construct and interpret valid assessments using a variety
of formats in order to measure student attainment of
essential skills in a standards-based environment, and the
ability to analyze assessment data to make decisions
about how to improve instruction and student
performance . The teaching methods, including for
[ limited English proficient students, | gifted and talented
students and those students with disabling conditions,
must be appropriate for the level of endorsement (preK-3
or preK-6) and be tailored to promote student academic
progress and effective preparation for the Standards of
Learning_assessments. Study in methods of improving
communication between schools and families, ways of

increasing family involvement in student learning at
home and in school, [ and ] the Standards of Learning [,

and Foundation Blocks for Farly Learning | shall be
included. [ Early childhood educators must understand

the role of families in child development and in relation
to_teaching educational skills. They must demonstrate
knowledge and relation to teaching educational skills.
They must demonstrate knowledge and skills in
communicating with families regarding the social and
instructional needs of children. Early childhood
educators must understand the role of the informal and
play-mediated settings for promoting students’ skills and
development and must demonstrate knowledge and skill
in_interacting in such situations to promote specific
learning outcomes as reflected in Virginia’s Foundation
Blocks for Early Learning. | Demonstrated proficiency in
the use of educational technology for instruction shall be
included. Persons seeking initial licensure as teachers and
persons seeking licensure renewal as teachers for the first
time shall complete study in child abuse recognition and
intervention in accordance with curriculum guidelines
developed by the Board of Education in consultation with
the Department of Social Services that are relevant to the
specific teacher licensure routes. Pre-student teaching
experiences (field experiences) should be evident within
these skills.

b. Middle education 6-8 curriculum and instructional
procedures: 3 semester hours. Skills in this area shall
contribute to an understanding of the principles of
learning; the application of skills in discipline-specific
methodology; communication processes, selection and
use of materials, including media and computers; [ and ]
evaluation of pupil performance [ ; and the relationships
among assessment, instruction, and monitoring student
progress to include student performance measures in
grading practices, the ability to construct and interpret
valid assessments using a variety of formats in order to
measure student attainment of essential skills in a
standards-based environment, and the ability to analyze
assessment data to make decisions about how to improve
instruction and student performance ]. The teaching
methods, including for [limited English proficient
students, | gifted and talented students [, ] and students
with disabling conditions, must be appropriate for the
middle education endorsement and be tailored to promote
student academic progress and effective preparation for
the Standards of Learning assessments. Study in methods
of improving communication between schools and
families, ways of increasing family involvement in
student learning at home and in school, and the Standards
of Learning shall be included. Demonstrated proficiency
in the use of educational technology for instruction shall
be included. Persons seeking initial licensure as teachers
and persons seeking licensure renewal as teachers for the
first time shall complete study in child abuse recognition
and intervention in accordance with curriculum
guidelines developed by the Board of Education in
consultation with the Department of Social Services that
are relevant to the specific teacher licensure routes. Pre-
student teaching experiences (field experiences) should
be evident within these skills.

[ 3—Instructional —design—based—on—assessment—data——3
|  Skillsinthi hall I

[4 3.] Classroom [and behavior] management: 3
semester hours. Skills in this area shall contribute to an
understanding and application of classroom [ and
behavior ]| management techniques [, classroom
community building, ] and individual interventions,
including techniques that promote emotional well-being
and teach and maintain behavioral conduct and skills
consistent with norms, standards, and rules of the
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educational environment. This area shall address diverse

specific methods by which adults elicit and foster the

approaches based upon behavioral, cognitive, affective,

components of language development must be included. ]

social and ecological theory and practice. [ Approaches
should support professionally appropriate practices that
promote positive redirection of behavior, development of
social skills, and of self discipline. The link between
classroom management and students’ ages must be
understood and demonstrated in techniques used in the
classroom.

4. Foundations of education: 3 semester hours. Skills in
this area shall be designed to develop an understanding of
the historical, philosophical, and sociological foundations
underlying the role, development and organization of
public education in the United States. Attention must be
given to the legal status of teachers and students, including
federal and state laws and regulations, school as an
organization/culture, and contemporary issues in
education. The historical, philosophical, and sociological
foundations of the instructional design based on
assessment data (the relationships among assessment,
instruction, and monitoring student progress to include
student performance measures in grading practices, the
ability to construct and interpret valid assessments using a
variety of formats in order to measure student attainment
of essential skills in a standards-based environment, and

b. Middle education — language acquisition: 3 semester
hours and reading in the content areas: 3 semester hours.
Skills in this area shall be designed to impart an

understanding of comprehension skills in all content
areas, including a repertoire of questioning strategies,

summarizing and retelling skills, and strategies in literal,
interpretive, critical, and evaluative comprehension, as
well as the ability to foster appreciation of a variety of
literature and independent reading.

6. Supervised classroom experience. The student teaching
experience should provide for the prospective teacher to be
in classrooms full time for a minimum of [ 560 300 ] clock
hours (including pre- and post-clinical experiences) with at
least [ 360 150 ] clock hours spent supervised in direct
teaching activities (providing direct instruction) at the level
of endorsement. One year of successful full-time teaching
experience in the endorsement area in a public or
accredited nonpublic school may be accepted in lieu of the
supervised teaching experience. A fully licensed,
experienced teacher must be available in the school

building to assist a beginning teacher employed through
the alternate route.

the ability to analyze assessment data to make decisions
about how to improve instruction and student performance)
must be addressed. ]

[ 8VAC20-22-140. Early childhood for three- and four-
year-olds (add-on endorsement).

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

5. Reading: 6 semester hours.

a. Early/primary preK-3 and elementary education preK-

1. A Virginia teaching license with an endorsement in
elementary education (such as preK-3 or preK-6);

6 — language acquisition and reading: 6 semester hours.

Skills listed for these endorsement areas represent the

2. Completed 9 semester hours of graduate-level
coursework in early childhood education; and

minimum competencies that a beginning teacher must be
able to demonstrate. These skills are not intended to limit
the scope of a beginning teacher’s program. Additional

knowledge and skills that add to a beginning teacher’s
competencies to deliver instruction and improve student

achievement should be included as part of a quality
learning experience.

Skills in this area shall be designed to impart a thorough
understanding of the complex nature of language
acquisition and reading, to include phonemic awareness,
concept of print, phonics, fluency., vocabulary
development, and comprehension strategies. Additional

3. Completed a supervised practicum of at least 45
instructional hours in a preschool setting (three- and four-
year olds) in a public school, an accredited nonpublic
school, or another program approved by the Virginia Board
of Education. One vyear of successful, full-time teaching
experience in an public or accredited nonpublic school may
be accepted in lieu of the practicum.

4. The add-on endorsement to an elementary endorsement
(that includes preK) is not required to teach preK (three-
and four-year olds), but the endorsement recognizes the
candidate’s additional preparation in early childhood. |

skills shall include proficiency, in writing strategies, as
well as the ability to foster appreciation of a variety of
literature and independent reading.

[ Knowledge of typical language development,
components and sequence of literacy development, and the
connection between language development and literacy

must be evident in coursework. Knowledge and skills in

[ 8VAC20-22-140. 8VAC20-22-150. ]
education preK-3.

Early/primary

Endorsement requirements.

1. The candidate must have graduated from an approved
teacher preparation program in early/primary education

preK-3: or
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2. The candidate for the early/primary education preK-3
endorsement must have a degree from [ an a regionally ]
accredited college or university in the liberal arts and
sciences (or equivalent) and completed coursework that
covers the early/primary education preK-3 competencies

and fulfills the following 48 semester-hour requirements:

a.  English must __include  composition
communication, and literature): 12 semester hours;

oral

b. Mathematics: 9 semester hours;

c. Science (including a laboratory course): 9 semester
hours (in at least two science disciplines);

d. History (must include American history and world
history): 6 semester hours;

e. Social science (must include geography and
economics): 6 semester hours; and

f. Arts and humanities: 6 semester hours.

[ 8VAC20-22-150. 8VAC20-22-160. ]
education preK-6.

Elementary

Endorsement requirements.

1. The candidate shall have graduated from an approved
teacher preparation program in elementary education preK-
6: or

2. The candidate for the elementary education preK-6
endorsement must have a bachelor’s degree or higher from
a regionally accredited college or university majoring in
the liberal arts and sciences (or equivalent) and fulfill the
following 57 semester-hour requirements:

a. English  (must include composition,
communication, and literature): 12 semester hours;

oral

b. Mathematics: 12 semester hours;

c. Science (including a laboratory course): 12 semester
hours in at least two science disciplines;

d. History (must include American history and world
history): 9 semester hours;

e. Social science (must include geography and
economics): 6 semester hours; and

f. Arts and humanities: 6 semester hours.

[ 8VAC20-22-160. 8VAC20-22-170. ] Middle education 6-
8.

Endorsement requirements.

1. The candidate must have graduated from an approved
teacher preparation discipline-specific program in middle
education 6-8 with at least one area of academic

preparation from the areas of English, mathematics,
science, and history and social sciences; or

2. An applicant seeking the middle education 6-8
endorsement must have ecarned a degree from [an a
regionally | accredited college or university in the liberal
arts and sciences (or equivalent); and completed a
minimum of 21 semester hours in at least one area of
academic preparation (concentration) that will be listed on

the license; and completed minimum requirements for
those areas (English, mathematics, science, and history and

social sciences) in which the individual is not seeking an
area of academic preparation. The applicant will be
restricted to teaching only in the area(s) of concentration
listed on the teaching license.

a. English. English concentration (must include

coursework in language, e.g., history, structure,
grammar, literature, advanced composition, and
interpersonal communication or speech): 21 semester
hours.

b. Mathematics. Mathematics concentration  (must
include coursework in algebra, geometry, probability and
statistics, and applications of mathematics): 21 semester
hours.

c. Science. Science concentration (must include courses
in each of the following: biology, chemistry, physics, and
Earth and space science; a laboratory course is required
in two of the four areas): 21 semester hours.

d. History and social sciences. History and social
sciences concentration (must include a course in
American history, world history, economics, American
government (including state and local government), and
geography: 21 semester hours.

Part V

Licensure Regulations Governing PreK-12 Endorsements,
Special Education, Secondary Grades 6-12 Endorsements,
and Adult Education

[ BVAE26-22-170- 8VAC20-22-180. ] PreK-12
endorsements, special education, secondary grades 6-12
endorsements, and adult education.

Individuals seeking licensure with preK-12 endorsements,
special education, secondary grades 6-12 endorsements, or
adult education may meet requirements through the
completion of an approved program or, if employed by a
Virginia public or nonpublic school, through the alternate
route to licensure. Components of the licensure program
include a degree from [ an a regionally ] accredited college or
university in the liberal arts and sciences (or equivalent),
professional teacher's assessment requirements prescribed by
the Board of Education, specific endorsement requirements,
and professional studies requirements.

[ 8VAC20-22-180. 8VAC20-22-190. ] Professional studies
reguirements.
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Professional studies requirements for adult education, preK-

middle and secondary education. Pre-student teaching

12 endorsements, special education, and secondary grades 6-

experiences (field experiences) should be evident within

12 endorsements: 15 semester hours. These requirements may

these skills. For preK-12, field experiences must be at the

be taught in integrated coursework or modules.

1. Human growth and development (birth through
adolescence): 3 semester hours. Skills in this area shall
contribute to an understanding of the physical, social,
emotional, [speech and language,]| and intellectual

elementary, middle, and secondary levels.

[ 3—Instruetional —design—based—on—assessment—data—3
|  Sillsinthi hall i

development of children and the ability to wuse this

understanding in guiding learning experiences. The

interaction of children with individual differences —

economic, social, racial, ethnic, religious, physical, and

mental — should be incorporated to include skills

contributing to an understanding of developmental

disabilities and developmental issues related to but not

limited to attention deficit disorders, gifted education
including the use of multiple criteria to identify gifted
students, substance abuse, child abuse, and family

disruptions.

2. Curriculum and instructional procedures: 3 semester

[4 3.] Classroom [and behavior] management: 3
semester hours. Skills in this area shall contribute to an
understanding and application of classroom [ and

behavior | management techniques and individual
interventions, including techniques that promote emotional

hours. Skills in this area shall contribute to an
understanding of the principles of learning; the application

well-being and teach and maintain behavioral conduct and
skills consistent with norms, standards, and rules of the

of skills in discipline-specific methodology:

educational environment. This area shall address diverse

communication processes; selection and use of materials,

approaches based upon behavioral, cognitive, affective,

including media and computers; [ and ] evaluation of pupil

social and ecological theory and practice.

performance [ ; and the relationships among assessment,
instruction, and monitoring student progress to include
student performance measures in grading practices, the
ability to construct and interpret valid assessments using a
variety of formats in order to measure student attainment
of essential skills in a standards-based environment, and
the ability to analyze assessment data to make decisions
about how to improve instruction and student
performance. ] Teaching methods appropriate for [ limited
English proficient students; ] exceptional students,
including gifted and talented and those with disabling
conditions [; ;] and appropriate for the level of
endorsement sought shall be included. Teaching methods
shall be tailored to promote student academic progress and

effective preparation for the Standards of ILearning
assessments. Methods of improving communication

between schools and families and ways of increasing
family involvement in student learning at home and in

school and the Standards of Learning shall be included.
Demonstrated proficiency in the use of educational
technology for instruction shall be included. Persons

[ 4. Foundations of education: 3 semester hours. Skills in
this area shall be designed to develop an understanding of
the historical, philosophical, and sociological foundations
underlying the role, development and organization of
public education in the United States. Attention must be
given to the legal status of teachers and students, including
federal and state laws and regulations, school as an
organization/culture, and contemporary issues in
education. The historical, philosophical, and sociological
foundations of the instructional design based on
assessment data (the relationships among assessment,
instruction, and monitoring student progress to include
student performance measures in grading practices, the
ability to construct and interpret valid assessments using a
variety of formats in order to measure student attainment
of essential skills in a standards-based environment, and
the ability to analyze assessment data to make decisions
about how to improve instruction and student performance)
must be addressed. |

5. Reading.

seeking initial licensure as teachers and persons seeking
licensure renewal as teachers for the first time shall
complete study in child abuse recognition and intervention
in accordance with curriculum guidelines developed by the
Board of Education in consultation with the Department of
Social Services that are relevant to the specific teacher
licensure routes. Curriculum and instructional procedures
for secondary grades 6-12 endorsements must include

a. Adult education, preK-12, and secondary grades 6-12
— reading in the content area: 3 semester hours. Skills in
this area shall be designed to impart an understanding of
comprehension skills in all content areas, including a
repertoire of questioning strategies, summarizing and

retelling skills, and strategies in literal, interpretive,
critical, and evaluative comprehension, as well as the
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ability to foster appreciation of a variety of literature and
independent reading.

b. Special education — Language acquisition and reading:
6 semester hours.

Skills listed for these endorsement areas represent the

minimum competencies that a beginning teacher must be
able to demonstrate. These skills are not intended to limit
the scope of a beginning teacher’s program. Additional

knowledge and skills that add to a beginning teacher’s
competencies to deliver instruction and improve student

achievement should be included as part of a quality
learning experience.

Skills in this area shall be designed to impart a thorough
understanding of the complex nature of language
acquisition and reading, to include phonemic awareness,
concept of print, phonics, fluency, vocabulary
development, and comprehension strategies. Additional
skills shall include proficiency, in writing strategies, as
well as the ability to foster appreciation of a variety of
literature and independent reading.

6. Supervised classroom experience. The student teaching
experience should provide for the prospective teacher to be
in classrooms full time for a minimum of [ 568 300 ] clock
hours (including pre- and post-clinical experiences) with at
least [ 309 150 ] clock hours spent supervised in direct
teaching activities (providing direct instruction) in the
endorsement area sought. If a preK-12 endorsement is
sought, teaching activities must be at the elementary and
middle or secondary levels. Individuals seeking the
endorsement in library media must complete the
supervised experience in a school library media setting.
Individuals seeking an endorsement in an area of special
education must complete the supervised classroom
experience requirement in the area of special education for
which the endorsement is sought. One year of successful
full-time teaching experience in the endorsement area in a
public or accredited nonpublic school may be accepted in
lieu of the supervised teaching experience. A fully
licensed, experienced teacher must be available in the

school building to assist a beginning teacher employed
through the alternate route.

[ 8VAC20-22-190. 8VAC20-22-200. ] Adult education.

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. A baccalaureate degree from [an a regionally ]
accredited college or university or hold a Collegiate
Professional License; and

2. A minimum of 15 semester hours in adult education that
must include the following competencies and one semester
of supervised successful full-time (or an equivalent number
of hours of part-time experience) teaching of adults:

a. Understanding of the nature or psychology of the adult
learner or adult development;

b. Understanding of the knowledge, skills, and processes
needed for the selection, evaluation, and instructional
applications of the methods and materials for adult basic

skills including:

(1) Curriculum development in adult basic education or
GED instruction;

(2) Beginning reading for adults;
(3) Beginning mathematics for adults;

(4) Reading comprehension for adult education;

(5) Foundations of adult education; and

(6) Other adult basic skills instruction.

Individuals not holding a Collegiate Professional License or
a_ Postgraduate Professional License must meet the
professional teacher's assessment requirements prescribed by
the Board of Education.

[ 8VAC20-22-200. 8VAC?20-22-210.] Adult English as a
second language (add-on endorsement).

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in adult English as a second language: or
2. A baccalaureate degree and an endorsement in a

teaching area and completed 21 semester hours of
coursework distributed in the following areas:

a. Methods for teaching English as a second language to
adults: 3 semester hours;

b. English linguistics: 3 semester hours;

c. Cross-cultural education: 3 semester hours;

d. Modern foreign language: 3 semester hours; and

e. Electives from the following areas: 6 semester hours

(1) Cross-cultural communication;

(2) Second language acquisition;

(3) General linguistics;

(4) Teaching reading to adults;

(5) Adult English as a second language instruction;

(6) Adult English as a second language curriculum
development.

[ 8VAC20-22-210. 8VAC20-22-220. ] Career and technical
education — agricultural education.

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:
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1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation devices, touch screen or mouse, scanning, and other
program in agricultural education; or emerging input technologies: 3 semester hours; and
2. Completed a major in agricultural education or 39 2. Supervised business experience: 3 semester hours.

semester hours of coursework in agriculture, including at
least three semester hours in each of the following:

B. Technical Professional License. An endorsement in a
specialized business and information technology area, such as

a. Plant science; networking, administration, communications _systems,

programming, database management, Internet application
development, medical office procedures, legal office

b. Animal science;

c. Agricultural mechanics; procedures, network administration and other emerging
. . highly specialized areas may be granted to individuals who
d. Agricultural economics and management; have-
. i i N . . . .
e. Forestry/wildlife management; and 1. Been recommended by an employing Virginia
f. Horticulture. educational agency;
B. Technical Professional License. An endorsement in 2. Completed two years of occupational experience in the
horticulture or agricultural machinery may be granted to endorsement area sought;

individuals who have:

1. Been recommended by an employing Virginia
educational agency;

2. Completed four years of occupational experience in the
area sought: and

3. Completed professional studies requirements (human
growth and development: 3 semester hours; curriculum and
instructional procedures in career and technical education:
3 semester hours; and applications of instructional

3. Completed a business program equivalent to a two-year
associate degree in the area sought; and

4. Completed professional studies requirements (human
growth and development: 3 semester hours; curriculum and
instructional procedures in career and technical education:
3 semester hours; and applications of instructional
technology or classroom [ and behavior | management: 3

semester hours).
[ 8VAC20-22-230. 8VAC?20-22-240. ] Career and technical

technology or classroom [ and behavior | management: 3

education — family and consumer sciences.

semester hours).
[ 8VAC20-22-220. 8VAC?20-22-230. ] Career and technical

education — business and information technology.

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in business and information technology; or

2. Completed 39 hours of coursework in business and
information technology, including:

a. Accounting: 6 semester hours;

b. Economics: 3 semester hours;

c. Business law, business principles, management,
marketing, or finance: 9 semester hours;

d. Communications: 3 semester hours;

e. Information systems and technology to include
computer _software applications (word processing,
spreadsheet, database, and presentation) information

technology  fundamentals, database management,
programming, and networking: 12 semester hours;

f. Input technologies to include touch keyboarding
(required), speech recognition, handwriting recognition,

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in family and consumer sciences; or

2. Completed 39 semester hours of coursework distributed
in the following areas:

a. Development of individual and family: 9 semester
hours;

b. Management, family finance, and consumer
economics: 6 semester hours;

c. Food and nutrition: 6 semester hours;

d. Housing, home furnishing, and equipment: 6 semester

hours;

e. Clothing and textiles: 3 semester hours;

f. Health: 3 semester hours;

g. Occupational program management: 3 semester hours;
and

h. Documented work experience related to family and
consumer sciences: 3 semester hours.

B. Technical Professional License. An endorsement in a

Personal Digital Assistants (PDAs) and other held-held

specialized family and consumer sciences area, such as child

care occupations, consumer services, family and human
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services, fashion design occupations, food occupations,

[ 8VAC20-22-250. 8VAC?20-22-260. ] Career and technical

hospitality occupations, interior design occupations, and

education - industrial cooperative training (add-on

home furnishings occupations, and home and institutional

endorsement).

services, may be granted to individuals who have:

1. Been recommended by an employing Virginia
educational agency;

2. A license or are certified as a professional practitioner in
the area in which one is to be teaching, if applicable, or
demonstrate competency in the specialized area of family
and consumer sciences;

3. In the area of occupational experience, evidence of at
least two vyears or 4.000 clock hours of satisfactory
occupational experience within the past five years in the
teaching specialty for which they are seeking endorsement.

4. Completed professional studies requirements (human
growth and development: 3 semester hours; curriculum and
instructional procedures in career and technical education:
3 semester hours; and applications of instructional
technology or classroom [ and behavior | management: 3

semester hours).

[ 8VAC20-22-240. 8VAC20-22-250. ] Career and technical
education — health and medical sciences.

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved program of study for the
preparation of health care professionals;

2. A license or be certified as a professional practitioner in
the area in which one is to be teaching; and

3. Completed two years of occupational experience in an
area related to the area to be taught.

B. Technical Professional License. An endorsement in a

Endorsement requirements.

1. The candidate must have graduated from an approved
teacher preparation program in industrial cooperative
training (ICT); or

2. The candidate must have:

a. A Virginia Collegiate Professional or Postgraduate
Professional License;

b. Completed two years or more of successful, full-time
teaching experience;

c. Completed 15 semester hours in trade and industrial
education coursework distributed in the following areas:

(1) Administration and coordination of ICT or equivalent
cooperative education course;

(2) Methods and development of competency-based
related  instructional  materials for ICT  and
implementation of a  competency-based  (CBE)
curriculum;

(3) Vocational student organizations; and

(4) Development and utilization of directly related
occupational materials; and

d. In the area of occupational experience, evidence of a

minimum of two years or 4,000 hours of acceptable
employment in a trade, technical, or industrial education

subject area.

[ 8VAC20-22-260. BVAC20-22-270. ] Career and technical

education — marketing education.

specialized health occupations area may be granted to
individuals who have:

1. Been recommended by an employing Virginia
educational agency:

2. A license or be certified as a professional practitioner in
the area in which one is to be teaching;

3. Completed two years of occupational experience in the
area sought;

4. Completed a health occupations' certificate or associate
degree program; and

5. Completed professional studies requirements (human
growth and development: 3 semester hours; curriculum and
instructional procedures in career and technical education:
3 semester hours; and applications of instructional
technology or classroom [ and behavior | management: 3
semester hours.

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in marketing education; or

2. Completed the following educational and occupational
requirements:

a. A major in marketing or 30 semester hours of
coursework distributed in the following areas: marketing
process and management, economics, merchandising and
operations, advertising/sales promotion, personal selling
marketing math, communication theory and techniques,
business  ethics, human resources/training  and
development, international business/marketing, and
marketing technology; and

b. Supervised marketing internship: 3 semester hours or
one year of successful work experience in the field of

marketing.
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B. Technical Professional License. An endorsement in a

semester _hours of technology education content

specialized marketing area, such as apparel and accessories,

coursework, including at least 3 semester hours in each of

financial services, hotel/motel operations, international

the following areas: technology and culture, technological

marketing, real estate, or restaurant, may be granted to

foundations, technological processes, and technological

individuals who have:

1. Been recommended by an employing Virginia
educational agency;

2. A license or are certified as a professional practitioner in

systems.

[ 8VAC20-22-280. 8VAC20-22-290. ] Career and technical

education — trade and industrial education.

A. Endorsement requirements.

the area in which one is to be teaching;

3. Completed a registered apprenticeship program and two

1. The candidate must have graduated from an approved
teacher preparation program in the trade and industrial

years of satisfactory experience at the journeyman level or

education program subject area for which the candidate is

an equivalent level in the trade;

4. Completed four years of work experience at the

seeking endorsement; or

2. A candidate who has graduated from an approved

management or supervisory level or equivalent or have a

teacher preparation program that is not in the trade and

combination of four years of training and work experience

industrial education program subject area for which the

at the management or supervisory level or equivalent; and

candidate is seeking endorsement must have:

5. Completed professional studies requirements (human
growth and development: 3 semester hours; curriculum and
instructional procedures in career and technical education:
3 semester hours; and applications of instructional
technology or classroom [ and behavior | management: 3

semester hours)

[ 8VAC20-22-270. 8VAC?20-22-280. ] Career and technical
education — technology education.

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in technology education;

2. Completed a major in technology education or 39
semester hours in technology education distributed in the

a. A current state licensure or industry certification based

upon the prescribed standard or examination, if
applicable; and

b. Evidence of at least two years or 4,000 clock hours of
satisfactory occupational experience within the past five
years in the teaching specialty for which they are seeking
endorsement. A candidate  whose  occupational
experience has not been within the last five years must
participate in a supervised technical update related to the
teaching specialty or area of endorsement or complete a
supervised internship of work experience of not less than
six weeks related to the area of endorsement or teaching

specialty.

B. Technical Professional License. An endorsement in a

following areas:

a. Technology and culture (experiences shall include the
historical development of technology and its present and

specialized trade and industrial education area will be granted

to individuals who have:

1. Been recommended by an employing Virginia

future impact on the individual, society and the

educational agency:

environment): 6 semester hours;

b. Technological foundations (experiences shall include
technical design and illustration, energy and power,

2. A license or are certified as a professional practitioner in

the area in which one is to be teaching, if applicable, or can
demonstrate competency in the area of trade and industrial

electronics, and materials science): 12 semester hours;

c. Technological processes (experiences shall include

education one is to be teaching;

3. Evidence of at least two years or 4,000 clock hours of

technical design, material processing, manufacturing,

satisfactory occupational experience within the past five

construction, and graphic communication): 12 semester

years in the teaching specialty for which they are seeking

hours; and

d. Technological systems (experiences shall include
communication, production, and transportation systems):
9 semester hours; or

3. Earned a baccalaureate degree from [ an a regionally ]
accredited college or university with a major in one of the
following fields of study: architecture, design, engineering,
industrial technology, or physics; and completed 12

endorsement. Candidates whose occupational experience
has not been within the last five years must participate in a
supervised technical update related to the teaching
specialty or area of endorsement or complete a supervised
internship of work experience of not less than six weeks
related to the area of endorsement or teaching specialty;
and

4. Completed professional studies requirements (human
growth and development: 3 semester hours; curriculum and
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c. Evidence of at least two years or 4,000 clock hours of
satisfactory occupational experience in business or
industry, or both, or complete a work experience
internship under the supervision of an institution of

higher education.
[ 8YAC20-22-300. 3VAC20-22-310. ] Computer science.

instructional procedures in career and technical education:
3 semester hours; and applications of instructional
technology or classroom [ and behavior | management: 3

semester hours).

C. Add-on endorsement requirements. A candidate must:

1. Hold a Collegiate Professional or Postgraduate
Professional License with a teaching endorsement;

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

2. Demonstrate competency in the trade or technology to 1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
be taught: program in computer science; or

3. Hold licensure for the trade or industrial area for which
endorsement is sought based upon the prescribed standard
or examination;

4. Have completed two years or 4,000 clock hours of
satisfactory, full-time employment experience at the
journeyman level or an equivalent level in the occupation
within the last five years. Candidates whose occupational
experience has not been within the last five years must
participate in a supervised technical update related to the
teaching specialty or area of endorsement or complete a
supervised internship of work experience of not less than
six weeks related to the area of endorsement or teaching

specialty; and
5. Have completed 3 semester hours in curriculum and

instructional procedures specific to vocational industrial
education.

2. Completed 36 semester hours of coursework to include
each of the following areas:

a. Mathematics;

b. Statistics:;

c. Data structures and algorithm analysis;

d. Introduction to computer systems;

e. Application of computer technology; and

f. Programming.

B. Add-on endorsement requirements in computer science.

The candidate must have:

1. A baccalaureate degree and an endorsement in a
teaching area; and

2. Completed 18 semester hours of coursework to include

[ 8VAC20-22-290. 8VAC20-22-300. ] Career and technical
education -  vocational _ special _needs  (add-on

endorsement).

Endorsement requirements:

each of the following areas:

a. Data structures and algorithm analysis;

b. Programming;

1. The candidate must have graduated from an approved
teacher preparation program in vocational special needs; or

2. The candidate must have:

a. A baccalaureate degree with an endorsement in one
area of career and technical education or special
education preK-12;

b. Twelve semester hours distributed in the following
areas:

(1) Overview of vocational special needs programs and
services: 3 semester hours;

(2) Instructional methods, curriculum and resources: 3
semester hours;

3) Career/life plannin transitionin occupational
information, and delivery of cooperative education
programs: 3 semester hours; and

(4) Purposes and practices and characteristics of special
populations: 3 semester hours; and

c¢. Introduction to computer systems;

d. Application of computer technology; and

e. Computer science.

[ 8¥AC20-22-310. 8VAC20-22-320. ] Dance arts preK-12.

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in dance arts; or

2. Completed a major in dance arts or 24 semester hours
with course distribution in the following areas:

a. Development of movement language: semester hours.

(1) A course in each area — ballet, folk, jazz, and modern
dance: 6 semester hours; and

(2) Area of concentration in one area — ballet, folk, jazz,
or modern dance beyond the entry level: 3 semester
hours;
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b. Composition, improvisation, and dance arts production

(may include stage lighting, stage costuming, or stage

makeup): 3 semester hours;

c. Scientific foundations, including human anatomy,
kinesiology, and injury prevention and care for dance
arts: 9 semester hours; and

d. Cultural understanding, including cultural context and
dance history: 3 semester hours.

B. Add-on endorsement requirements in dance arts. The

candidate must have:

1. A baccalaureate degree and an endorsement in a
teaching area; and

2. Completed 15 semester hours of coursework in the
following areas:

a. Development of movement language: 9 semester
hours.

(1) A course in each area — ballet, folk, jazz, and modern:
6 semester hours; and

(2) Area of concentration in one area — ballet, folk, jazz,
or modern beyond the entry level: 3 semester hours;

b. Composition, improvisation, and dance arts production
may_include stage lighting, stage costuming, or stage
makeup): 3 semester hours; and

¢. Cultural understanding, including cultural context and

(1) Survey of British literature;

(2) Survey of American literature;

(3) World literature; and

(4) Literary theory/criticism.

b. Language: 6 semester hours. Experiences shall
include:

(1) The development and nature of the English language,
including some attention to comparative English
grammar; and

(2) A grammar course integrating grammar and writing.

c. Composition: 6 semester hours. Experiences shall
include:

(1) The teaching of writing, based on current knowledge
and most effective practices, including the use of
technology for this purpose; and

(2) An advanced composition course — expository and
informational writing.

d. Oral language: 3 semester hours. Experiences shall
include the teaching of oral language in groups, as well
as attention to oral language as used in both formal and
informal presentations.

e. Electives from the areas listed above: 9 semester
hours.

dance history: 3 semester hours.

[ 8VAC20-22-320. 8VAC20-22-330.] Driver _education
(add-on endorsement).

[ 8VAC20-22-340. 8VAC20-22-350. ] English as a second
language preK-12.

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have: 1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation

1. Completed an approved teacher preparation program in
driver education; or

2. Completed 6 semester hours of coursework distributed
in the following areas:

a. Driver Task Analysis: 3 semester hours; and

b. Principles and methodologies of classroom and in-car
instruction, including a minimum of 14 hours of actual
behind-the-wheel supervised teaching experience and 2
hours of basic evasive maneuvers: 3 semester hours.

[ 8VAC20-22-330. 8VAC20-22-340. ] English.

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in English; or

2. Completed a major in English or a minimum of 36
semester hours of coursework distributed in the following

arcas:

a. Literature: 12 semester hours. Courses must include:

program in English as a second language; or

2. Completed 24 semester hours of coursework distributed
in the following areas:

a. Teaching of reading (the courses must include the five
areas of reading instruction: phonemic awareness,
phonics, fluency, vocabulary and text comprehension as
well as the similarities and differences between reading
in a first language and reading in a second language; one

course must address reading instruction to English
language learners): 6 semester hours;

b. English linguistics (including phonology, morphology,
syntax of English): 3 semester hours;

c. Cross-cultural education: 3 semester hours;

d. Modern foreign languages (if an applicant's primary

language is other than English, all 6 hours must be in
English): 6 semester hours;

e. Electives in second language acquisition, general
linguistics, applied  linguistics,  psycholinguistics,
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sociolinguistics, ESL assessment, or ESL curriculum
development: 3 semester hours; and

f. Methods of teaching English as a second language at
the elementary and secondary levels: 3 semester hours.

[ 8VAC20-22-350. 8VAC20-22-360.] Foreign language
preK-12.

A. The specific language of the endorsement will be noted
on the license.

B. Foreign language preK-12 — languages other than Latin.
Endorsement requirements:

1. The candidate must have (i) graduated from an approved
teacher preparation program in a foreign language: or (ii)
completed 30 semester hours above the intermediate level
in the foreign language. (Endorsement in a second
language may be obtained with 24 semester hours of
coursework above the intermediate level.) The program
shall include (i) courses in advanced grammar and
composition, conversation, culture and civilization, and
literature _and (i1) a minimum of 3 semester hours of
methods of teaching foreign languages at the elementary
and secondary levels.

2. Native speakers or candidates who have learned a
foreign language without formal academic credit in [ an a
regionally ] accredited college or university must complete
the following requirements:

a. Achieved a minimum score of 600 on the Test of
English as a Foreign Language, if English is not the
native language. Native speakers of English are exempt
from this test;

b. Achieved a qualifying score on a foreign language
assessment in the appropriate language as prescribed by
the Board of Education; and

c. Earned a minimum of 3 semester hours of methods of
teaching foreign languages at the elementary and
secondary levels from [an a regionally ] accredited
college or university in the United States.

C. Foreign language preK-12 — Latin. Endorsement
requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in Latin; or

2. Completed 24 semester hours of Latin above the
intermediate level. Up to six hours of Roman history,
Roman life, mythology, or archaeology may be included in
the total hours and 3 semester hours of methods of teaching
Latin at the elementary and secondary levels are required.

D. Foreign language preK-12 — American Sign Language.
Endorsement requirements:

1. The candidate must have (i) graduated from an approved
teacher preparation program in a foreign language —
American Sign Language or (ii) completed a major in
American Sign Language or 24 semester hours above the
intermediate level in American Sign Language. The
program shall include (i) courses in advanced grammar and
syntax, conversation, and culture and (ii) a minimum of 3

semester hours of methods of teaching foreign languages at
the elementary and secondary levels.

2. Native users or candidates who have learned American
Sign Language without formal academic credit in [ an a
regionally ] accredited college or university must complete
the following requirements:

a. Competency in  American  Sign Language
demonstrated by written documentation of one of the

following:
(1) Hold a current, valid qualified or professional

certification by the American Sign Language Teachers
Association; or

(2) Hold a current, valid Virginia Quality Assurance
Screening Level III Interpreting certification or higher
issued by the Virginia Department for the Deaf and
Hard-of-Hearing; or

(3) Hold a current, valid Registry of Interpreters for Deaf
certification in at least one of the following: Certificate
of Interpretation (CI), Certificate of Deaf Interpretation
(CDI), Reverse Skills Certification (RSC), or
Comprehensive Skills Certificate (CSC); or

(4) Hold a current, valid National Association for the
Deaf Level IV certification or higher; or

(5) Complete requirements of an  assessment
demonstrating proficiency in American Sign Language
prescribed by the Board of Education.

b. Earned a minimum of 3 semester hours of methods of
teaching foreign languages at the elementary and
secondary levels from [an a regionally ] accredited
college or university in the United States.

[ 8VAC20-22-360. 8VAC20-22-370.] Gifted education

(add-on endorsement).

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Completed an approved teacher preparation program in
gifted education; or

2. Completed the following:

a. Graduated with a baccalaureate degree with an
endorsement in a teaching area;

b. Completed 12 hours of graduate-level coursework in
gifted education; and
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c. Completed a practicum of at least 45 instructional

B. Add-on endorsement requirements in history, political

hours. This practicum shall include a minimum of 45
instructional hours of successful teaching experiences

with gifted students in a heterogeneously grouped (mixed
ability) classroom or a homogeneously grouped (single
ability) classroom. One year of successful, full-time

science, geography. and economics. The candidate must have:

1. An endorsement in history, political science, geography,
or economics; and

2. Completed 21 semester hours of coursework in the

teaching experience in a public or accredited nonpublic

additional social science area (history, political science,

school may be accepted in lieu of the practicum. A

geography, or economics) sought.

mentor holding a valid license with an endorsement in
gifted education must be assigned to the teacher.

[ 8VAC20-22-370. 8VAC20-22-380. ] Health and physical
education preK-12.

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in health, and physical education; or

2. Completed a major in health and physical education or
45 semester hours of coursework distributed in the

following areas:

a. Personal health and safety: 6 semester hours;

b. Human anatomy, physiology. and kinesiology: [ 942
12 ] semester hours;

c. General health and physical education theory,

including planning, administration, and assessment
principles: 6 semester hours;

d. Physical education methodology courses, including
team, individual, adaptive, cooperative activities,
rhythms and dance: 9 semester hours;

e. Health methods course: 3 semester hours; and

f. Health and physical education electives: [3-6 9]
semester hours.

[ 8VAC20-22-380. 8VAC20-22-390. ]_History and social
sciences.

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in history and social sciences; or

2. Completed [42 51 ] semester hours of coursework
distributed in the following areas:

a. History: a major in history or 18 semester hours in
history (must include coursework in American history,
Virginia history, and world history);

b. Political science: [ +2 a major in political science or
18] semester hours in political science to include
coursework in American government (state and local

government);

c. Geography: [ 6 9 ] semester hours; and

d. Economics: 6 semester hours.

[ 8VAC20-22-390. 8VAC20-22-400. ] Journalism (add-on
endorsement).

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. A baccalaureate degree and an endorsement in a
teaching area; and

2. A minimum of 15 semester hours in journalism.

[ 8VAC20-22-400. 8VAC20-22-410.] Keyboarding (add-
on endorsement).

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. An endorsement in a teaching area; and

2. Completion of 6 semester hours in keyboarding. Three
of the hours must be from formal keyboarding instruction

(or documented demonstrated mastery of the touch
keyboarding skill), and three hours must include document
formatting skills/word processing/computer applications).

[ 8VAC20-22-410. 8VAC20-22-420. ] Library media preK-
12.

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved preparation program in
library media; or

2. Completed 24 semester hours distributed in each of the
following areas:

a. Selection and utilization of library-media materials and
equipment, including the various technologies of up-to-
date libraries (computers, instructional software, and the
Internet in the teaching/learning process);

b. Production of media and instructional materials;

c. Organization, administration, and evaluation of a
library-media center, including ethical issues;

d. Theory
bibliography:;

e. Selection of print-media materials for children and
adolescents;

and management of reference and

f. Organization and technical processing of materials; and

2. The role of the library-media specialist as a resource
person for students and professional staff in curriculum
design and the integration of library-media services in
instruction; and
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(4) Calculus;

(5) Euclidean geometry:

3. Participated in a clinical experience to give the applicant
an opportunity to apply the skills, understandings, and
competencies required for the endorsement. One year of
successful, full-time experience as a school librarian in a
public or accredited nonpublic school may be accepted to
meet this requirement.

[ 8VAC20-22-420. 8VAC20-22-430. ] Mathematics.

(6) Probability and statistics;

(7) Discrete mathematics; and

(8) Computer science.

[ 8VAC20-22-440. 8VAC20-22-450. ] Music education —
instrumental preK-12.

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in mathematics; or

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in music education — instrumental; or

2. Completed a major in mathematics or 36 semester hours
of coursework distributed in each of the following areas:

2. Completed 42 semester hours of coursework in the
following areas:
a. Basic music knowledge (experiences shall be related to

music theory, music history, and literature): 18 semester
hours.

a. Algebra — Experience shall include linear (matrices,
vectors, and linear transformations) and abstract algebra
(ring, group, and field theory). A college or university
may _integrate the competencies within specified
coursework and document the completion of these

competencies;

b. Geometry — Experience shall include Euclidean and
non-Euclidean geometries;

b. Musical performance (experiences shall consist of
developing competency in a primary performance
medium (band or orchestral instrument), and in a
secondary performance medium (band, orchestral, or
keyboard instrument), and in teaching, rehearsing, and

c. Analytic geometry;

d. Probability and statistics;

e. Discrete mathematics — Experience shall include the
study of mathematical properties of finite sets and

conducting ensembles): 18 semester hours.

c. Electives (with coursework selected from either of the
two areas above): 6 semester hours.

systems and linear programming;

f. Computer science — Experience shall include computer
programming; and

[ 8VAC20-22-450. 8VAC20-22-460. ] Music education —
vocal/choral preK-12.

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

g. Calculus — Experience shall include multivariable
calculus.

[ 8VAC20-22-430. 8VAC20-22-440. ]
Algebra | (add-on endorsement).

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in music education — vocal/choral; or

Mathematics —

2. Completed 42 semester hours of coursework distributed
in the following areas:

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

a. Basic music knowledge (experiences shall be related to

1. Completed an approved teacher preparation program in
Algebra I; or

2. Completed the following requirements. The candidate
must have:

a. A baccalaureate degree from [am a regionally |
accredited college or university and an endorsement in a
teaching area; and

b. Completed 24 semester hours that include coursework
in each of the following areas:

(1) Elementary functions and introductory college
algebra;

(2) Trigonometry:;

(3) Linear algebra;

music theory, music history, and literature): 18 semester
hours.

b. Musical performance (experiences shall consist of
developing competency in a primary and secondary
medium, selected from voice or keyboard; and in
teaching, rehearsing, and conducting ensembles): 18
semester hours.

c. Electives (with coursework selected from either of the
two areas above): 6 semester hours.

[ 8WAC20-22-460- 8VAC20-22-470. ] Science — biology.

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in biology;
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2. Completed a major in biology or 32 semester hours in

3. Earned an endorsement in another science discipline and

biology. including genetics/molecular biology, botany,

at least 18 credits in physics, including preparation in each

zoology, anatomy/physiology, ecology and  other

of the following areas: mechanics, electricity and

preparation consistent with the competencies for the

magnetism, and optics.

endorsement; or

[ 8VAC20-22-500. 8VAC20-22-510.] Special education
early childhood (birth-age 5).

3. Earned an endorsement in another science discipline and
at least 18 credits in biology, including preparation in each
of the following areas: genetics/molecular biology, botany,
zoology, anatomy/physiology, and ecology. 1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation

[ 8VAC20-22-470. 8VAC20-22-480, ] Science — chemistry program in early childhood special education; or

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

2. Completed a major in early childhood special education
or 27 semester hours in early childhood special education,
including at least one course in each of the following:
foundations and legal aspects of special education,
assessment techniques for young children with disabling
and at-risk  conditions, instructional programming
speech/language development and intervention, medical
aspects, behavior management, consultation, child growth
and development, and family-centered intervention.

[ 8VAC20-22-510. 8VAC20-22-520.] Special education
hearing impairments preK-12.

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in chemistry;

2. Completed a major in chemistry or 32 semester hours in
chemistry, including inorganic chemistry, organic
chemistry, physical chemistry, and analytical chemistry
and other preparation consistent with the competencies
required for the endorsement; or

3. Earned an endorsement in another science discipline and
at least 18 credits in chemistry, including preparation in
each of the following areas: inorganic chemistry, organic
chemistry, physical chemistry, and analytical chemistry.

[ 8VAC20-22-480. 8VAC20-22-490.] Science — Earth
science.

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in special education hearing impairments; or

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in Earth science;

2. Completed a major in geology or environmental science

2. Completed a major in special education hearing
impairments or 27 semester hours in education of the
hearing impaired, including at least one course in
foundations/legal  aspects  of  special  education,
characteristics of individuals with hearing impairments,
psycho-educational assessment, instructional

with at least one course in each of the following:
oceanography, meteorology, and astronomy, [ and a course
in _geology for environmental science majors, | or 32

programming, speech-language development, behavior

management, audiology, speech and hearing science, and
communication modalities.

semester hours in Earth sciences, including geology (18
semester hours), oceanography, meteorology, and
astronomy and other preparation consistent with the
competencies required for the endorsement; or

3. Earned an endorsement in another science discipline and

[ 8VAC20-22-520. BVAC20-22-530. ] Special education —

adapted curriculum K-12.

Endorsement requirements: The candidate must:

1. Have graduated from an approved program in special

at least 18 credits in Earth sciences, including preparation

education — adapted curriculum; or

in _each of the following areas: geology, oceanography,
meteorology, and astronomy.

[ 8WAC20-22-499. 8VAC20-22-500. ] Science — physics.

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in physics;

2. Completed a major in physics or 32 semester hours in
physics. including mechanics, electricity and magnetism,
and optics and other preparation consistent with the
competencies required for the endorsement; or

2. Have completed a major in special education — adapted
curriculum or 27 semester hours in the education of
students with disabilities distributed in the following areas:

a. Core coursework: 12 semester hours distributed among
the following areas:

(1) Foundations — characteristics that include knowledge
of the foundation for educating students with disabilities;

(2) Foundations — legal aspects that include an
understanding and application of the legal aspects,
regulatory requirements, and expectations associated
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with identification, education, and evaluation of students
with disabilities:;

(3) Assessment and management of instruction and
behavior that include an understanding and application of
the foundation of assessment and evaluation related to
best special education practice; of service delivery,
curriculum, and instruction of students with disabilities;

and of classroom management techniques and individual
interventions; and

(4) Collaboration that includes skills in consultation, case
management, and collaboration.

b. Adapted curriculum coursework: 15 semester hours
distributed in the following areas:

(1) Characteristics: 6 semester hours. Skills in this area
include the ability to demonstrate knowledge of the
characteristics, learning and support needs of students
with disabilities (K-12), whose cognitive impairments or
adaptive skills require adaptations to the general
curriculum, including, but not limited to, students with
moderate to severe mental retardation or developmental
delay; autism; multiple disabilities; traumatic brain
injury; and sensory impairments as an additional
disability to those referenced above.

(2) Individualized education program implementation: 6
semester hours. Skills in this area include the ability to
apply knowledge of assessment and evaluation
throughout the K-12 grade levels to construct, use, and
interpret a variety of standardized and nonstandardized
data collection techniques; to make decisions about
student progress, instruction, program, modifications,
accommodations, placement, and teaching methodology:;
and to demonstrate the use of assessment, evaluation, and
other information to develop and implement individual

educational planning and group instruction with students
with disabilities in an adapted curriculum across the K-12

grade levels; and

(3) Transitioning: 3 semester hours. Skills in this area
include the ability to prepare students and work with
families to provide successful student transitions
throughout the educational experience to include

postsecondary training, employment, and independent
living that addresses an understanding of long-term

planning, career development, life skills, community
experiences and resources, self-advocacy, and self-

determination, guardianship and legal considerations.

2. Have completed a major in special education — general
curriculum or 27 semester hours in the education of
students with disabilities distributed in the following areas:

a. Core coursework: 12 semester hours distributed among
the following areas:

(1) Foundations — characteristics that include knowledge
of the foundation for educating students with disabilities;

(2) Foundations — legal aspects that include an
understanding and application of the legal aspects,
regulatory requirements, and expectations associated
with identification, education, and evaluation of students
with disabilities:;

(3) Assessment and management of instruction and
behavior that includes an understanding and application
of the foundation of assessment and evaluation related to
best special education practice; of service delivery,
curriculum, and instruction of students with disabilities;

and of classroom management techniques and individual
interventions; and

(4) Collaboration that includes skills in consultation, case
management, and collaboration.

b. General curriculum coursework: 15 semester hours
distributed in the following areas:

(1) Characteristics: 6 semester hours. Skills in this area
shall include the ability to demonstrate knowledge of
definitions, characteristics, and learning and behavioral
support needs of students with disabilities who are
accessing the general education curriculum at the
elementary, middle, and high school levels, including but
not limited to, students with learning disabilities,
emotional disturbance, mental retardation; developmental
delay; autism; other health impaired; traumatic brain
injury; and multiple disabilities;

(2) Individualized Education Program Implementation: 6
semester hours. Skills in this area include the ability to
apply knowledge of assessment and evaluation
throughout the K-12 grade levels to construct, use, and
interpret a variety of standardized and nonstandardized
data collection techniques; to make decisions about
student progress, instruction, program, accommodations,
placement, and teaching methodology for students with
disabilities who are accessing the general education
curriculum and the standards of learning; and to
demonstrate the use of assessment, evaluation, and other

information to develop and implement individual
educational planning and group instruction with students
with disabilities who are accessing the general education
curriculum across the K-12 grade levels.

[ 8VAC20-22-530. 8VAC20-22-540. ] Special education —
general curriculum K-12.

Endorsement requirements: The candidate must:

(3) Transitioning: 3 semester hours. Skills in this area
include the ability to prepare students and work with

families to provide successful student transitions

1. Have graduated from an approved program in special
education — general curriculum; or
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throughout the educational experience to include

1. A baccalaureate degree and an endorsement in a

postsecondary training, employment, and independent
living which addresses an understanding of long-term

planning, career development, life skills, community
experiences and resources, self-advocacy, and self-

determination, guardianship and legal considerations.

teaching area; and

2. A minimum of 15 semester hours in speech

8VAC20-22-570. Theatre arts preK-12.

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in theatre arts; or

00 clock ] : cod educati ence, |

8VAC20-22-550. Special education visual impairments
preK-12.

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in special education visual impairments preK-12;
or

2. Completed a major in special education visual
impairments or 27 semester hours in education of students
with visual impairments, including at least one course in
foundations/legal  aspects of  special  education;
characteristics of persons with visual impairments; psycho-
educational assessment and assessment for visual
impairment; language/literacy skill development; Braille

reading and writing; behavior management; transition;
consultation; anatomy, physiology. and diseases of the eye;

and instructional programming and methods.

8VAC?20-22-560. Speech communication (add-on
endorsement).

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

2. Completed a major in theatre or 33 semester hours
distributed among the following areas:

a. Directing: 6 semester hours;

b. Technical theatre: 9 semester hours;

c. Cultural context and theatre history: 3 semester hours;

d. Performance: 6 semester hours; and

e. Dramatic literature: 9 semester hours.

B. Add-on endorsement requirements in theatre arts preK-

12. The candidate must have:

1. A baccalaureate degree and an endorsement in a
teaching area; and

2. Completed 15 semester hours distributed in the
following areas:

a. Directing: 3 semester hours;

b. Technical theatre: 3 semester hours;

c. Cultural context and theatre history: 3 semester hours;
and

d. Performance: 6 semester hours.

8VAC20-22-580. Visual arts preK-12.

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. Graduated from an approved teacher preparation
program in visual arts; or

2. Completed a major in visual arts or 36 semester hours in
art with course distribution in the following areas:

a. Two-dimensional media: 12 semester hours;

b. Three-dimensional media: 12 semester hours;

c. Cultural context and art history, judgment and
criticism, and aesthetics: 9 semester hours:; and

d. Related areas of the fine arts: 3 semester hours.
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Part VI
Licensure Regulations Governing Support Personnel

8VAC20-22-590. Administration _and supervision preK-

C. Alternate route to Level I administration and supervision
preK-12 endorsement [ restricted to the Virginia school

division in which the superintendent submitted the
recommendation for endorsement. This endorsement is valid

12.

A. An endorsement in administration and supervision preK-
12 consists of Level I, which is required to serve as a
building-level administrator or central office supervisor, and
Level II, which is an optional endorsement to which an
experienced building-level administrator may aspire.

Individuals must meet the requirements for the administration
and supervision preK-12 endorsement through one of the

[ three four ] options listed in this section [and be
recommended by a Virginia school division superintendent ].
A school leader's assessment prescribed by the Board of
Education must be met for all individuals who are seeking an
initial endorsement authorizing them to serve as principals
and assistant principals in the public schools. Individuals
seeking an initial administration and supervision endorsement
who are interested in serving as central office instructional
personnel are not required to take and pass the school leaders
assessment prescribed by the Board of Education.

B. Approved program route to Level I administration and
supervision preK-12 endorsement. To become eligible for a

Level I endorsement under this option, the candidate must
have:

1. A master’s degree from a regionally accredited college
or university;

2. Completed three vyears of successful, full-time

only in the designated Virginia school division and would not
be portable or reciprocal |. In order to be eligible for Level 1
endorsement under this option, the candidate must have:

1. A master’s degree from a regionally accredited college

or university;

2. Completed graduate  coursework [ addressing
competeneies | in school law, evaluation of instruction, and
other areas of study as required by an employing Virginia
school superintendent; [ the graduate coursework must be
taken from a regionally accredited college or university
that has a state-approved administration and supervision

program,

3. Completed three years of successful, full-time
experience in a public school or accredited nonpublic
school in an instructional personnel position that requires
licensure in Virginia; |

[ 3: 4.] Satisfied the requirements for the school leaders
licensure assessment specified by the Board of Education;
and

[ 4 5.] Been recommended by [ a the ] superintendent in
[ an the ] employing Virginia school division.

[ D. Alternate route to Level I administration and
supervision preK-12 endorsement. In order to be eligible for
Level I endorsement under this option, the candidate must

experience | as-a-elassroomteacher | in a public school or

have:

accredited nonpublic school [ in an instructional personnel
position that requires licensure in Virginia ] ;

3. Completed an approved program in administration and
supervision from a regionally accredited college or

university:;

4. Completed a minimum of 320 clock hours of a
deliberately structured and supervised internship that

provides exposure to multiple sites (elementary, middle,
high, central office, agency) with diverse student
populations. These experiences shall be an integral
component of a Virginia Board of Education approved
preparation program. The internship must be focused on
[ instructional leadership and | learning for all students and
must occur in a public school or accredited nonpublic
school; and

5. Satisfied the requirements for the school leaders
licensure assessment prescribed by the Board of Education.
Individuals seeking an initial administration and
supervision endorsement who are interested in serving as
central office instructional personnel are not required to
take and pass the school leaders assessment prescribed by
the Board of Education.

1. A master’s degree from a regionally accredited college

or university;

2. Completed graduate coursework in school law,
evaluation of instruction, special education, school finance,
and educational leadership. and other areas of study as
required by an employing Virginia school superintendent;
the graduate coursework must be taken from a regionally
accredited college or university that has a state-approved
administration and supervision program.

3. Completed three vyears of successful, full-time
experience in a public school or accredited nonpublic
school in an instructional personnel position that requires

licensure in Virginia;
4. Satisfied the requirements for the school leaders

licensure assessment specified by the Board of Education;
and

5. Been recommended by the superintendent in the
employing Virginia school division. ]

[B: _E.] Out-of-state administration and supervision
endorsement. The candidate must have:
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1. A master’s degree from a regionally accredited college

or university: and

2. A current, valid out-of-state license (full credential [ ) ]
with an endorsement in administration and supervision

(2]

[E-_F.] Level II endorsement in administration and

supervision preK-12. A building-level administrator may seek
Level II endorsement in administration and supervision preK-

12 after successfully serving as a building-level administrator
for at least five years in a public school or accredited

nonpublic _school and successfully completing a formal
induction program as a principal or assistant principal. In
order to earn Level II endorsement, the candidate must meet
two _or more of the following criteria as specified by the
Board of Education [ and documented in a Department of
Education approved format and be recommended by the

employing Virginia school division superintendent | :

1. Evidence of improved student achievement;

2. Evidence of [ effective ] instructional leadership;

3. Evidence of positive effect on school climate or culture;

4. Earned doctorate in educational leadership or evidence
of formal professional development in the areas of school
law, school finance, supervision, human resource
management, and instructional leadership; or

5. Evidence of a completion of a high-quality professional
development  project designed by the division

superintendent.
8VAC20-22-600. Division Superintendent License.

An individual may be a candidate for the list of eligible
division _superintendents and the renewable Division
Superintendent License through the completion of the
requirements in one of the following four options:

1. Option one. The individual must:

a. Hold an earned doctorate degree in educational

administration or educational leadership from [an a
regionally ] accredited college or university; and

b. Have completed five years of educational experience
in a public or accredited nonpublic school, two of which
must be teaching experience at the preK-12 level and two

of which must be in administration/supervision at the
preK-12 level.

2. Option two. The individual must:

a. Hold an earned master's degree from [ an a regionally |
accredited college or university plus 30 completed hours
beyond the master's degree;

b. Have completed requirements for administration and
supervision preK-12 endorsement that includes the

demonstration of competencies in the following areas:

(1) Knowledge and understanding of student growth and
development, including:

(a) Applied learning and motivational theories;

(b) Curriculum design, implementation, evaluation and
refinement;

(c) Principles of effective instruction, measurement,
evaluation and assessment strategies;

(d) Diversity and its meaning for educational programs;

and

(e) The role of technology in promoting student learning.

(2) Knowledge and understanding of systems and
organizations, including:

(a) Systems theory and the change process of systems,
organizations and individuals;

(b) The principles of developing and implementing
strategic plans;

(c) Information sources and processing, including data
collection and data analysis strategies;

(d) Learning goals in a pluralistic society; and

(e) Effective communication, including consensus
building and negotiation skills.

(3) Knowledge and understanding of theories, models,
and principles of organizational development, including:

(a) Operational procedures at the school and
division/district level;

(b) Principles and issues of school safety and security;

(c) Human resources management and development,
including adult learning and professional development
models;

(d) Principles and issues related to fiscal operations of
school management:;

(e) Principles and issues related to school facilities and
use of space;

() Legal issues impacting school operations and
management; and

(2) Technologies that support management functions.

(4) Knowledge and understanding of the values and
ethics of leadership, including:

(a) The role of leadership in modern society;

(b) Emerging issues and trends that impact the school
community;
(c) Community resources and partnerships of school,

family, business, government and higher education
institutions;
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8VAC?20-22-610. Mathematics specialist for elementary
and middle education.

(d) Community relations and marketing strategies and
processes; and

(e) Conditions and dynamics of the diverse school

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

community.

(5) Knowledge and understanding of the purpose of
education and its role in a modern society, including:

(a) The philosophy and history of education; and

(b) Various ethical frameworks and professional ethics.

(6) Knowledge and understanding of principles of
representative _governance that undergird the system of
American schools, including:

(a) The role of public education in developing and
renewing a democratic society and an economically
productive nation;

(b) The law as related to education and schooling;

(c) The political, social, cultural and economic systems
and processes that impact schools;

(d) Models and strategies of change and conflict

resolution as applied to the larger political, social,
cultural and economic contexts of schooling;

(e) Global issues and forces affecting teaching and
learning; and

() The importance of diversity and equity in a
democratic society.

c. Have completed five years of educational experience
in a public or accredited nonpublic school, two of which
must be teaching experience at the preK-12 level and two
of which must be in administration/supervision at the

preK-12 level.
3. Option three. The individual must:

a. Hold an earned master's degree from [ an a regionally |
accredited college or university;

b. Hold a current, valid out-of-state license with an
endorsement as a division/district superintendent; and

c. Have completed five years of educational experience
in a public or accredited nonpublic school, two of which
must be teaching experience at the preK-12 level and two
of which must be in administration/supervision.

4. Option four. The individual must:

a. Hold a master's degree, or its equivalent, from [ an a
regionally ] accredited college or university:;

b. Have held a senior leadership position such as Chief
Executive Officer or senior military officer; and

c. Be recommended by a school board interested in
employing the individual as superintendent.

1. Completed at least three years of successful classroom
teaching experience in which the teaching of mathematics
was an important responsibility; and

2. Graduated from an approved mathematics specialist
preparation program (master’s level); or completed a
master’s level program in mathematics, mathematics
education, or related education field with 30 semester
hours of graduate coursework in the competencies listed
below. including at least 21 hours of coursework in
undergraduate or graduate-level mathematics.

a. Understanding of the knowledge, skills, and processes
of the Virginia Mathematics Standards of Learning and
how curriculum may be organized to teach these
standards to diverse learners;

b. Understanding of a core knowledge base of concepts
and procedures within the discipline of mathematics,
including the following strands: number systems and
number theory; geometry and measurement; statistics and
probability; and functions and algebra;

c. Understanding of the sequential nature of mathematics
and the mathematical structures inherent in the content
strands;

d. Understanding of the connections among mathematical
concepts and procedures and their practical applications;

e. Understanding of and the ability to use the five

processes — becoming mathematical problem solvers,
reasoning mathematically, communicating

mathematically, making mathematical connections, and
using mathematical representations — at different levels

of complexity:;

f. Understanding of the history of mathematics, including
the contributions of different individuals and cultures
toward the development of mathematics and the role of
mathematics in culture and society;

g. Understanding of major current curriculum studies and
trends in mathematics;

h. Understanding of the role of technology and the ability
to use graphing utilities and computers in the teaching
and learning of mathematics;

1. Understanding of and the ability to select, adapt,
evaluate and use instructional materials and resources,
including professional journals and technology:

. Understanding of and the ability to use strategies for

managing, assessing, and monitoring student learning,
including diagnosing student errors;

Volume 23, Issue 25

Virginia Register of Regulations

August 20, 2007

4207



Regulations

k. Understanding of and the ability to use strategies to

A. The school manager license is intended to provide for the

teach mathematics to diverse learners;

1. Understanding of leadership skills needed to improve
mathematics programs at the school and division levels
including the needs of high and low-achieving students
and of strategies to challenge them at appropriate levels;
child psychology, including personality and learning
behaviors; educational measurement and evaluation; and
effective professional development approaches; and

m. Understanding of and proficiency in grammar, usage,
and mechanics and their integration in writing.

8VAC?20-22-620. Reading specialist.

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have

differentiation of administrative responsibilities in a school
setting. A school manager is licensed to administer

noninstructional responsibilities in an educational setting. For
example, a school manager is restricted from evaluating
teachers, supervising instruction, developing and evaluating
curriculum, and serving as a school’s student disciplinarian.

B. To earn a school manager license, the candidate must:

1. Hold a baccalaureate degree from a regionally
accredited college or university;

2. Have three years successful managerial experience; and

3. Be recommended for the license by a Virginia school
division superintendent.

completed an approved graduate-level reading specialist
approved preparation program (master's degree required) that
includes course experiences of at least 30 semester hours of

8VAC20-22-650. School psychology.

Endorsement requirements:

graduate coursework in the competencies for the
endorsement, as well as a practicum experience in the
diagnosis and remediation of reading difficulties. The
individual also must have at least three years of successful
classroom teaching experience in which the teaching of
reading was an important responsibility.

8VAC?20-22-630. School counselor preK-12.

Endorsement requirements:

1. Option I. The candidate must have:

a. An earned master's degree from an approved counselor
education program that shall include at least 100 clock
hours of clinical experiences in the preK-6 setting and
100 clock hours of clinical experiences in the grades 7-12

setting: and

b. Two years of successful, full-time teaching experience
or two years of successful experience in guidance and
counseling in a public or accredited nonpublic school.
Two years of successful, full-time experience in guidance

1. Option I. The candidate must complete:

a. An approved program in school psychology; and

b. Sixty graduate hours that culminate in at least a
master's degree; and

c. An internship that is documented by the degree
granting institution. No more than 12 hours of internship
can be counted toward the 60 graduate semester hours
required for licensure. The internship experience shall
occur on a full-time basis over a period of one year or on
a half-time basis over a period of two consecutive years.
The internship shall occur under conditions of
appropriate supervision, i.e., school-based supervisor
shall hold a valid credential as a school psychologist and
nonschool based supervisor shall be an appropriately

credentialed psychologist. The internship shall include
experiences at multiple age levels, at least one half of

which shall be in an accredited schooling setting.

2. Option II. The candidate must hold a certificate issued

and counseling under [ an—alternate—routeticense a

by the National School Psychology Certification Board.

Provisional License ] may be accepted to meet this
requirement.

2. Option II. The candidate must have:

a. An earned master's degree from [an a regionally |
accredited college or university and certification from an
approved counselor education program; and

b. Two years of successful, full-time teaching experience
or two vyears of successful, full-time experience in
guidance and counseling in a public or accredited
nonpublic _school. Two vyears of successful, full-time
experience in guidance and counseling under a
nonrenewable [ lieense Provisional License | may be
accepted to meet this requirement.

8VAC20-22-640. School manager license.

8VAC?20-22-660. School social worker.

Endorsement requirements:

1. Option I. The candidate must have:

a. An ecarned master's of social work from [an a
regionally | accredited college or university school of

social work with a minimum of 60 graduate semester
hours;

b. A minimum of six graduate semester hours in
education; and

c. Completed a supervised practicum or field experience
of a minimum of 400 clock hours in a public or
accredited nonpublic school discharging the duties of a
school social worker.
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2. Option II. The candidate must have:

a. An ecarned master's of social work from [an a
regionally | accredited college or university school of
social work with a minimum of 60 graduate semester
hours;

b. A minimum of six graduate semester hours in
education; and

c. One year of successful full-time supervised experience
as_a school social worker in a public or accredited

nonpublic school.
8VAC20-22-670. Special _education:

speech-lanquage

pathologist preK-12.

Endorsement requirements. The candidate must have:

1. An earned master's degree in speech-language pathology
from an accredited institution; or

2. A current license in speech pathology issued by the

Virginia Board of Examiners for Audiology and Speech
Pathology.

8VAC20-22-680. Vocational evaluator.

Endorsement requirements:

1. Option I. The candidate must be certified as a
Vocational Evaluation Specialist (CVE), meeting all
standards and criteria of the Commission on Certification
of Work Adjustment and Vocational Evaluation Specialist

(CCWAVES).

2. Option II. The candidate must have a master's degree in
vocational evaluation, career and technical education,
special education, or rehabilitation counseling and
completed 15 graduate semester hours distributed in the

following areas:

a. Tests and measurements: 3 semester hours;

b. Medical and educational aspects of disability: 3
semester hours;

¢. Occupational information and job analysis: 3 semester
hours;

d. Purposes/practices of vocational evaluation: 3
semester hours; and

e. Career/life planning/transition services: 3 semester
hours.

Part VII

Revocation, Cancellation, Suspension, Denial, and
Reinstatement of Teaching Licenses

8VAC?20-22-690. Revocation.

A. A license issued by the Board of Education may be

1. Obtaining or attempting to obtain such license by
fraudulent means or through misrepresentation of material

facts;

2. Falsification of school records, documents, statistics, or
reports;

3. Conviction of any felony;

4. Conviction of any misdemeanor involving moral
turpitude;

5. Conduct [ —such—asimmorality—orpersonalcondition
detrimentalto with direct and detrimental effect on | the

health, welfare, discipline, or morale of students [ erte-the
- -

Virginia |; i

6. Misapplication of or failure to account for school funds

or other school properties with which the licensee has been
entrusted;

7. Acts related to secure mandatory tests as specified in

§22.1-292.1 of the Code of Virginia;

8. Knowingly and willfully with the intent to compromise
the outcome of an athletic competition procures, sells, or
administers anabolic steroids or causes such drugs to be

procured, sold, or administered to a student who is a
member of a school athletic team, or fails to report the use

of such drugs by a student to the school principal and
division superintendent as required by §22.1-279.3:1 of the
Code of Virginia. Any person whose administrative or
teaching license is suspended or revoked by the board
pursuant to this section shall be ineligible for three school
years for employment in the public schools of the
Commonwealth; or

9. Other [ good-and | just cause [ efasimilarnatare in the
best interest of the public schools of the Commonwealth of

Virginia. |

B. Procedures.

1. Submission of complaints. A complaint may be filed by
anyone, but it shall be the duty of a division
superintendent, principal or other responsible school
employee to file a complaint in any case in which he has
knowledge that a holder of a license is guilty of any
offense set forth in subsection A of this section. The person

making the complaint shall submit it in writing to the
appropriate division superintendent.

2. Action by division superintendent; investigation. Upon
receipt of the complaint against the holder of a license, a
division  superintendent or his duly authorized
representative shall investigate the charge. If, on the basis
of such investigation, the division superintendent finds the
complaint to be without merit, he shall so notify the
complaining party or parties in writing and then close his

revoked for the following reasons: file on the matter. This action shall be final unless the local
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school board, on its own motion, votes to proceed to a

signed  statement  requesting  cancellation. [ Fhe

hearing on the complaint or unless circumstances are

Superi | e Public1 . horized:

present making subsection A of this section applicable.

C. Petition for revocation. Should the division
superintendent or local school board conclude that there is
reasonable cause to believe that a complaint against the
holder of a license is well founded, the teacher shall be
notified of the complaint by a written petition for revocation
of a license signed by the division superintendent. A copy of
such petition shall be sent by certified mail, return receipt
requested, to the teacher's last known address. If not
otherwise known, the last known address shall be the address

- c the i holder! tton_si ]
the—division—superintendent.—to—cancelthe license. The
division superintendent shall forward the request for
cancellation along with the petition for revocation to the
Superintendent of Public Instruction within 14 days of
receipt. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall
cancel the license and send a notice of cancellation by
certified mail within 14 days of receipt of the request for
cancellation. ]

2. If the license holder files a written answer admitting the

shown in the records of the Department of Education.

D. Form of petition. The petition for the revocation of a
license shall set forth:

1. The name and last known address of the person against

charges, or refuses to accept the copy of the petition from
the postal authorities, or fails to file a written answer
within 14 days after service of the petition or has failed to
provide postal authorities with a forwarding address so that
the petition can be delivered, the local school board shall

whom the petition is being filed;

2. The [ seetal-seeuritynumber-ofand-the | type of license

[ and the license number | held by the person against
whom the petition is being filed;

3. The offenses alleged and the specific actions that
comprise the alleged offenses;

4. The name and address of the party filing the original
complaint against the license holder;

3. [ Acopy-of-theregulationscontaining a-statement-of-the
Hﬁh%s—ef—the—ﬁefsen—ehafged—uﬂde%ﬂﬂs—eh&me% A statement
of rights of the person charged under this chapter. The
statement of rights shall include notification to the person
of the right to cancel the license if he chooses not to
contest the charges. The statement must notify the
individual that he shall receive a notice of cancellation that
will include the statement: "The license holder voluntarily
returned the license in response to a petition for
revocation." The individual also shall be notified that the
cancellation of the license will be reported to division
superintendents in Virginia and to chief state school
officers of the other states and territories of the United
States |, and

6. Any other pertinent information.

E. Filing of petition. The original petition shall be entered in
the files of the local school board where the license holder is

employed.

F. Response to petition. The license holder shall present his
written answer to the petition, if any, within 14 days after the
date of service of the petition as certified by the United States
Postal Service.

1. If the teacher [ responding-to-the petition-states-that-he |
does not wish to contest the charges, he may [ veluntarily
return—the—tlicense cancel the license by returning the
license | to the division superintendent with a written,

proceed to a hearing as described in subdivisions 3 and 4
of this subsection.

3. If the license holder files his written answer denying the
charges in the petition, the local school board shall provide
a hearing at the time and place of its regular meeting or at
such other reasonable time and place it may specify. The
license holder or his representative, if any, shall be given at
least 14 days' notice of the hearing.

4. Following the hearing, the local school board shall
receive the recommendation of the division superintendent
and then either dismiss the charges or [ make—suech
revoeation—of-alicense recommend license revocation or
suspension. | A decision to dismiss the charges shall be
final, except as specified in subsection G of this section,
and the investigative file on the charges shall be closed and
[ destroyed—or | maintained as a separate [ sealed ] file
[ underprovision-of the Code-of Virginia |. Any record or
material relating to the charges in any other file shall be
[ removed—or—destroyed placed in the investigative file ].

Should the local school board recommend the revocation

or suspensmn of a hcense [ this—recommendation,—along

Instruetion the division superintendent shall forward the
recommendation and the investigative file to the
Superintendent of Public Instruction within 14 days ].

G. Revocation on motion of the Board of Education. The
Board of Education reserves the right, [ in situations not
covered by this chapter, to act directly [ in—reveking to
revoke | a license [ when the division superintendent or the
local school board has not filed a petition for revocation and
the Board of Education has reasonable cause to believe that
subsection A of this section is applicable. The Superintendent
of Public Instruction shall send a petition for revocation to the
license holder as provided by subsection D of this section.
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The license holder shall have the opportunity to respond to

teaching license and requested cancellation. Reasons for

the petition or request cancellation of the license within 14

cancellation are the same as those for revocation." However,

days of receipt.

1. If the license holder files a written answer admitting the
charges, or refuses to accept the copy of the petition from
the postal authorities, or fails to file a written answer
within 14 days after service of the petition or has failed to
provide postal authorities with a forwarding address so that
the petition can be delivered, the petition shall be
forwarded to the Board of Education for action.] No
[ sueh ] revocation will be ordered without the involved
license holder being given the opportunity [ fer—the ] to
appear at a ] hearing specified in §VAC20-22-740 B.

[ 2. If the license holder timely files his written answer

if the request for cancellation is in response to a petition for
revocation, the individual shall acknowledge that he
understands that the notice of cancellation will include the
statement: "The license holder voluntarily returned the license
in response to a petition for revocation." The individual also
shall acknowledge that he understands that the cancellation of
the license will be reported to division superintendents in
Virginia and to chief state school officers of the other states
and territories of the United States. When applicable, the
division superintendent shall forward the request for
cancellation along with the petition for revocation to the
Superintendent of Public Instruction within 14 days of
receipt. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall cancel

denying the charges in the petition, the Superintendent of

the license and send the person a notice of cancellation by

Public Instruction shall schedule a hearing with the

certified mail within 14 days of receipt of the request for

investigative panel provided in 8VAC20-21-740. The

cancellation. ]

license holder or his representative, if any, shall be given at
least 14 days’ notice of the hearing. The investigative panel
shall take action on the petition as specified in 8VAC20-
21-740. No revocation will be ordered without the
involved license holder being given the opportunity to
appear at a hearing specified in 8VAC20-21-740 C. ]

H. Reinstatement of license. A license that has been revoked

C. Reinstatement of license. A license that has been
[ returnedfor-cancelation canceled | may be reissued using
the normal procedure for application if the board is satisfied
that reinstatement is in the best interest of the former license
holder and the public schools of the Commonwealth of
Virginia. The individual must apply to the board for
reinstatement. Notification to all appropriate parties will be

may be reinstated by the Board of Education after five years

communicated in writing by the Department of Education.

if the board is satisfied that reinstatement is in the best
interest of the former license holder and the public schools of
the Commonwealth of Virginia. The individual must apply to

8VAC20-22-710. Suspension.

A. A license may be suspended for the following reasons:

the board for reinstatement. Notification to all appropriate
parties will be communicated in writing by the state agency.

8VAC20-22-700. Cancellation.

the license | by the [ individual.—erfor reasonstistedunder
SVALC20-22-690 A —or—for—thefollowing—reasen: license
holder. ]

[T herin hi ] itiom: eseribedi
SVAC20-22-690-F 1 states-that he-doesnot-wish-to-contest
the-charges: | Reasons for cancellation are the same as those
listed under 8VAC20-22-690 A.

A. A license may be canceled by [ the ] voluntary return [ of

B. Procedures. The individual may voluntarily return the
license to the division superintendent [ or the Superintendent
of Public Instruction following revocation on motion by the
Board of Education] with a written, signed statement
requesting cancellation. [ The—Superintendent—of Publie

N - ; - ;
- ; ' P ;
| the i . HI ’ | ;] - L
o £ hearine. Fed_in_g ’;;2;; )
The individual shall acknowledge in the request that he
understands that the notice of cancellation will include the
statement: "The license holder voluntarily returned his

1. Physical, mental, or emotional incapacity as shown by a
competent medical authority;

2. Incompetence or neglect of duty;

3. Failure or refusal to comply with school laws and
regulations, including willful violation of contractual

obligations;

4. Acts related to secure mandatory tests as specified in
§22.1-292.1 of the Code of Virginia;

5. Knowingly and willfully with the intent to compromise
the outcome of an athletic competition procures, sells, or
administers anabolic steroids or causes such drugs to be
procured, sold, or administered to a student who is a
member of a school athletic team, or fails to report the use
of such drugs by a student to the school principal and
division superintendent as required by §22.1-279.3:1 of the
Code of Virginia. Any person whose administrative or
teaching license is suspended or revoked by the board
pursuant to this section shall be ineligible for three school
years for employment in the public schools of the
Commonwealth; or

6. Other good and just cause of a similar nature [ in the
best interest of the public schools of the Commonwealth of

Virginia ].
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B. Procedures.

1. Submission of complaints. A complaint may be filed by
anyone, but it shall be the duty of a division
superintendent, principal, or other responsible school

cancellation and period of suspension will be reported to
division superintendents in Virginia and to chief state
school officers of the other states and territories of the
United States ] ; and

6. Any other pertinent information.

employee to file a complaint in any case in which he has
knowledge that [ a—helder—of aticense—is—guilty—of the
license holder has committed | any offense set forth in
subsection A of this section. The person making the
complaint _shall submit it in writing to the appropriate
division superintendent.

2. Action by division superintendent; investigation. Upon
receipt of the complaint against the holder of a license, a
division  superintendent or his duly authorized
representative shall investigate the charge. If, on the basis

E. Filing of petition. The original petition shall be entered in
the files of the local school board where the license holder is

employed.
F. Response to petition. The license holder shall present his
written answer to the petition, if any, within 14 days after the

date of service of the petition as certified by the United States
Postal Service.

1. If the teacher [ responding-to-the petition-states-that-he |

of such investigation, the division superintendent finds the

does not wish to contest the charges, he may [ veluntarily

complaint to be without merit, he shall so notify the

return-his cancel the ] license [ by returning the license | to

complaining party or parties in writing and then close his
file on the matter. This action shall be final unless the local

the division superintendent with a written and signed
statement requesting [ suspension- cancellation ]. [ The

school board on its own motion votes to proceed to a

Superintendent—of Publie Instruction—is—autherized—upon

hearing on the complaint or unless circumstances are

ot of the i holder's wi ned

present making subsection C of this section applicable.

C. Petition for suspension. Should the division
superintendent or local school board conclude that there is
reasonable cause to believe that a complaint against the
holder of a license is well founded, the teacher shall be
notified of the complaint by a written petition for suspension
of a license signed by the division superintendent. A copy of
such petition shall be sent by certified mail, return receipt
requested, to the teacher's last known address. If not
otherwise known, the last known address shall be the address

the—division—superintendent.—to—cancelthe license. The
division superintendent shall forward the request for
cancellation along with the petition for suspension to the
Superintendent of Public Instruction within 14 days of
receipt. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall
cancel the license and send the person a notice of
cancellation along with the time period for the suspension
by registered mail within 14 days of receipt of the request
for cancellation. |

2. If the license holder files a written answer admitting the

shown in the records of the Department of Education.

D. Form of petition. The petition for the suspension of a
license shall set forth:

1. The name and last known address of the person against

charges, or refuses to accept the copy of the petition from
the postal authorities, or fails to file a written answer
within 14 days after service of the petition, or has failed to
provide postal authorities with a forwarding address so that
the petition can be delivered, the local school board shall

whom the petition is being filed;

2. The [ secial-securitynumber—and-the | type of license

[and the license number | held by the person against

proceed to a hearing as described in subdivisions 3 and 4
of this subsection.

3. If the license holder files his written answer denying the

whom the petition is being filed;

3. The offenses alleged and the specific actions that
comprise the alleged offenses;

4. The name and address of the party filing the original
complaint against the license holder;

5. A statement of the rights of the person charged under

charges in the petition, the local school board shall provide
a hearing at the time and place of its regular meeting or at
such other reasonable time and place it may specify. The
license holder or his representative, if any, shall be given at
least 14 days' notice of the hearing.

4. Following its hearing, the local school board shall
receive the recommendation of the division superintendent

this chapter [. The statement of rights shall notify the

and then either dismiss the charges or make such

person of the right to cancel the license if he chooses not to

recommendations relative to suspension of a license as it

contest the charges. The statement also shall notify the

deems appropriate. A decision to dismiss the charges shall

individual that the license may be suspended for up to five

be final, except as specified in subsection G of this section,

years and that he shall receive a notice of cancellation that

and the file on the charges shall be closed and all materials

will include the statement: "The license holder voluntarily

expunged. Should the local school board recommend the

returned the license in response to a petition for

suspension of a license, this recommendation, along with

suspension." The individual also shall be notified that the

supporting evidence, shall promptly be forwarded by the
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division superintendent to the Superintendent of Public

investigative panel hearing provided in 8VAC20-22-740A

Instruction.

G. Suspension on motion of Board of Education. The Board
of Education reserves the right, in situations not covered by
this chapter, to act directly in suspending a license. No such
suspension will be ordered without the involved license
holder being given the opportunity for the hearing as
specified in [ 8¥AC20-22-740-B 8VAC20-22-740 C ].

H. Reinstatement of license. A license may be suspended for
a period of time not to exceed five years. The license may be
reinstated by the Department of Education, upon request, with

shall be recorded, and upon written request, the license holder
shall be provided a transcript of the hearing at his own
expense. | Any such hearing before a local school board and
any hearing before the Board of Education shall be recorded;
and, upon written request, the party charged shall be provided
a hearing transcript without charge.

8VAC20-22-740. Action by the State Superintendent of
Public Instruction and the Board of Education.

A. [ Superintendent’s Investigative Panel: Superintendent’s
Recommendation. ] Upon receipt of the complaint from the

verification that all requirements for license renewal have

local school division, the Superintendent of Public Instruction

been satisfied. The individual must apply to the board for

will ensure that an investigative panel at the state level

reinstatement. Notification to all appropriate parties will be

reviews the petition. The panel shall consist of three to five

communicated in writing by the Department of Education.

members selected by the Assistant Superintendent of Teacher

8VAC20-22-720. Denial.

A. A license may be denied for the following reasons:

1. Attempting to obtain such license by fraudulent means
or through misrepresentation of material facts;

2. Falsification of records or documents;

3. Conviction of any felony;

4. Conviction of any misdemeanor involving moral

turpitude;
5. Conduct [ —such—as—immeorality—orpersonal-condition

| he 1 - " blic schools of d
Commenwealth-of Vireinia with a direct and detrimental
effect on the health, welfare, discipline, or morale of
students ] ;

6. Revocation, suspension, or invalidation of the license by
another state or territory; or

7. Other good and just cause of a similar nature.

B. Expired license. The holder of a license that has expired
may be denied renewal or reinstatement by the
Superintendent of Public Instruction for any of the reasons
specified in 8VAC20-22-690 A. No such denial will be
ordered unless the license holder is given the opportunity for
the hearing specified in [ 8¥AC20-22-740-B. 8VAC20-22-
740C1.
