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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission of Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
If an agency demonstrates that (i) there is an immediate threat to the 
public’s health or safety; or (ii) Virginia statutory law, the appropriation 
act, federal law, or federal regulation requires a regulation to take effect 
no later than (a) 280 days from the enactment in the case of Virginia or 
federal law or the appropriation act, or (b) 280 days from the effective 
date of a federal regulation, it then requests the Governor’s approval to 
adopt an emergency regulation. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to 
addressing specifically defined situations and may not exceed 12 months 
in duration. Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in 
the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; S. Bernard 
Goodwyn. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

October 2007 through September 2008 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

24:4 October 10, 2007 October 29, 2007 

24:5 October 24, 2007 November 12, 2007 

24:6 November 7, 2007 November 26, 2007 

24:7 November 20, 2007 (Tuesday) December 10, 2007 

INDEX 1 Volume 24  January 2008 

24:8 December 5, 2007 December 24, 2008 

24:9 December 18, 2007 (Tuesday) January 7, 2008 

24:10 January 2, 2008 January 21, 2008 

24:11 January 16, 2008 February 4, 2008 

24:12 January 30, 2008 February 18, 2008 

24:13 February 13, 2008 March 3, 2008 

24:14 February 27, 2008 March 17, 2008 

INDEX 2 Volume 24  April 2008 

24:15 March 12, 2008 March 31, 2008 

24:16 March 26, 2008 April 14, 2008 

24:17 April 9, 2008 April 28, 2008 

24:18 April 23, 2008 May 12, 2008 

24:19 May 7, 2008 May 26, 2008 

24:20 May 21, 2008 June 9, 2008 

INDEX 3 Volume 24  July 2008 

24:21 June 4, 2008 June 23, 2008 

24:22 June 18, 2008 July 7, 2008 

24:23 July 2, 2008 July 21, 2008 

24:24 July 16, 2008 August 4, 2008 

24:25 July 30, 2008 August 18, 2008 

24:26 August 13, 2008 September 1, 2008 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, 
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the 
Spring 2007 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 23, Issue 9, dated 
January 8, 2007). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation “emer,” and errata pertaining to final 
regulations are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows 
action taken, the volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section. 

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 1. Administration 
1 VAC 55-30-10 through 1 VAC 55-30-90 Added 23:26 VA.R. 4413-4416 10/3/07 
Title 2. Agriculture 
2 VAC 5-110 (Forms) Amended 23:26 VA.R. 4452 -- 
2 VAC 5-195 (Form) Added 23:15 VA.R. 2512 -- 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3122 7/12/07 
2 VAC 5-490-10 through 2 VAC 5-490-90 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3123-3155 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-15 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3130 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-25 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3131 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-31 through 2 VAC 5-490-39.6 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3132-3140 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-73 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3154 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-75 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3155 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-103 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3155 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-105 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3156 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3156 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3157 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-130 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3157 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-131 through 2 VAC 5-490-138 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3157-3162 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-490-140 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3162 5/23/07 
2 VAC 5-580-10 through 2 VAC 5-580-310 Repealed 24:2 VA.R. 72 10/16/07 
2 VAC 5-585-10 through 2 VAC 5-585-4070 Added 24:2 VA.R. 72-133 10/16/07 
2 VAC 5-620-10 through 2 VAC 5-620-100 Added 23:19 VA.R. 2981-2985 7/1/07 
Title 3. Alcoholic Beverages 
3 VAC 5-10-40 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-50 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-60 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-130 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-150 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2117 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-230 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2118 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-360 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2118 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-400 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2118 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-10-480 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2129 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-40-20 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2133 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-40-50 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2134 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-50-40 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4107 * 
3 VAC 5-50-50 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4108 * 
3 VAC 5-50-80 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4108 * 
3 VAC 5-50-100 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4108 * 

                                                           
* Objection to Fast-Track Rulemaking 24:1 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
3 VAC 5-50-130 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4109 * 
3 VAC 5-50-140 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4110 * 
3 VAC 5-60-20 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2137 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-60-40 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2138 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-60-80 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2138 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-60-100 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2139 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-70-100 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2142 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-70-150 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2143 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-70-160 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2143 5/19/07 
3 VAC 5-70-230 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2143 5/19/07 
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources 
4 VAC 20-70-100 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1958 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-200-10 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1659 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-200-20 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1659 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-200-30 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1659 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-200-40 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1660 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-200-50 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1660 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-270-30 emer Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2276 3/1/07-3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-270-30 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2737 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-270-40 emer Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2276 3/1/07-3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-270-40 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2737 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-300-20 emer Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2277 3/1/07-3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-300-20 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2738 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-310-55 Added 23:15 VA.R. 2481 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-370-10 through 4 VAC 20-370-30 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2986 5/1/07 
4 VAC 20-380-50 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3446 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-380-60 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3447 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-430-20 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2738 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-430-45 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2738 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-450-30 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2739 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-490-42 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1540 12/21/06 
4 VAC 20-490-42 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2986 5/1/07 
4 VAC 20-510-10 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1958 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-510-20 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1958 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-510-33 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-510-35 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-510-37 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-10 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-20 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1959 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-31 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1960 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-31 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2144 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-31 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2482 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-32 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1960 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-32 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2145 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-530-32 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2482 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-30 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1660 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-610-60 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1662 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-620-50 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2483 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-620-60 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2483 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-620-70 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2483 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-670-15 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2739 3/30/07 



Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed 

Volume 24, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 29, 2007 

449 
 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 20-670-30 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2739 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-10 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2987 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-10 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3447 5/23/07 
4 VAC 20-720-20 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2987 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-40 emer Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1540 1/1/07-1/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-50 emer Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1541 1/1/07-1/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-60 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2988 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-60 through 4 VAC 20-720-110 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3447-3449 5/23/07 
4 VAC 20-720-70 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2989 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-90 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2989 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-105 emer Added 23:19 VA.R. 2989 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-720-105 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3449 5/23/07 
4 VAC 20-720-110 emer Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2990 5/1/07-5/30/07 
4 VAC 20-752-20 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2990 5/3/07 
4 VAC 20-752-30 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2991 5/3/07 
4 VAC 20-755-10 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 133 9/1/07 
4 VAC 20-755-20 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 133 9/1/07 
4 VAC 20-755-30 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 136 9/1/07 
4 VAC 20-890-20 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2991 7/1/07 
4 VAC 20-890-35 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2991 7/1/07 
4 VAC 20-890-40 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2991 7/1/07 
4 VAC 20-890-45 Added 23:19 VA.R. 2992 7/1/07 
4 VAC 20-900-25 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2992 7/1/07 
4 VAC 20-900-35 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 2993 7/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-40 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1961 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-40 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2484 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-47 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1961 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-47 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2484 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-47 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2740 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-950-48.2 emer Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1961 2/1/07-3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-48.2 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2484 3/1/07 
4 VAC 20-950-48 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2740 3/30/07 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1663 2/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1110-10 through 4 VAC 20-1110-50 Added 23:19 VA.R. 2994 5/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1120-10 through 4 VAC 20-1120-50 Added 23:19 VA.R. 2994-2995 5/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1120-20 emer Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3449 5/29/07-6/28/07 
4 VAC 20-1120-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3871 6/28/07 
4 VAC 25-20 (Forms) Amended 23:24 VA.R. 3968 -- 
4 VAC 25-20-420 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2146 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-50-10 through 4 VAC 25-50-110 Repealed 23:22 VA.R. 3696 8/8/07 
4 VAC 25-130 (Forms) Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3370-3372 -- 
4 VAC 25-130-700.12 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2146 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-773.21 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2147 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-775.11 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2147 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-775.13 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2148 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-777.17 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3696 8/8/07 
4 VAC 25-130-784.20 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2148 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-785.25 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2592 5/16/07 
4 VAC 25-130-800.51 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2149 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-816.105 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2150 4/4/07 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 25-130-816.116 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2592 5/16/07 
4 VAC 25-130-817.11 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2150 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-817.64 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2151 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-817.116 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2594 5/16/07 
4 VAC 25-130-817.121 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2151 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-842.15 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2153 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-843.12 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2153 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-843.13 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2154 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-843.15 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2155 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-843.16 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2156 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-845.13 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2156 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-845.15 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2158 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-845.18 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2158 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-845.19 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2159 4/4/07 
4 VAC 25-130-846.14 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2159 4/4/07 
Title 5. Corporations 
5 VAC 5-30-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3872 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3872 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3873 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3873 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3874 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-60 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3874 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-70 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3875 7/1/07 
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections 
6 VAC 15-20-10 through 6 VAC 15-20-230 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3697-3703 8/9/07 
6 VAC 20-120-40 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4177 9/19/07 
6 VAC 35-20-37 emer Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4178 8/1/07-7/31/08 
6 VAC 35-190-10 through 6VAC35-190-110 Added 24:2 VA.R. 137-139 10/31/07 
6 VAC 40-50-10 through 6VAC40-50-80 emer Added 23:23 VA.R. 3876 7/1/06-12/29/07 
Title 8. Education 
8 VAC 20-21-10 through 8 VAC 20-21-730 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4179 9/21/07 
8 VAC 20-22-10 through 8 VAC 20-22-760 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4179-4214 9/21/07 
8 VAC 20-160-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3876 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3878 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3878 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3879 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3879 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-60 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3879 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-350-10 through 8 VAC 20-350-660 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 1962 5/8/07 
8 VAC 20-541-10 through 8 VAC 20-541-60 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4214 9/21/07 
8 VAC 20-542-10 through 8 VAC 20-542-600 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4214-4270 9/21/07 
8 VAC 20-700-10 through 8 VAC 20-700-50 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1541-1543 2/21/07 
8 VAC 20-710-10 through 8 VAC 20-710-30 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1543-1544 2/21/07 
8 VAC 35-60-10 Added 24:1 VA.R. 25 8/28/07 
8 VAC 35-60-20 Added 24:1 VA.R. 25 8/28/07 
8 VAC 35-60-30 Added 24:1 VA.R. 25 8/28/07 
8 VAC 40-140-10 through 8 VAC 40-140-90 Added 23:22 VA.R. 3704-3706 7/1/07 
Title 9. Environment 
9 VAC 5-20-21 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3456 8/1/07 
9 VAC 5-30-15 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3454 8/1/07 
9 VAC 5-30-60 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3454 8/1/07 
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9 VAC 5-30-65 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3454 8/1/07 
9 VAC 5-30-66 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3455 8/1/07 
9 VAC 5-40-7550 through 9 VAC 5-40-7710 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3460-3463 8/1/07 
9 VAC 5-50-400 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2742 6/1/07 
9 VAC 5-50-410 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2742 6/1/07 
9 VAC 5-60-60 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2747 6/1/07 
9 VAC 5-60-90 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2748 6/1/07 
9 VAC 5-60-100 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2748 6/1/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1010 through 9 VAC 5-140-1060 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2279-2291 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1061 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2291 * 
9 VAC 5-140-1062 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2291 * 
9 VAC 5-140-1070 through 9 VAC 5-140-1150 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2292-2295 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1200 through 9 VAC 5-140-1240 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2295-2296 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1400 through 9 VAC 5-140-1430 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2296-2302 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1500 through 9 VAC 5-140-1570 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2302-2306 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1600 through 9 VAC 5-140-1620 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2307 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1700 through 9 VAC 5-140-1750 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2307-2312 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1800 through 9 VAC 5-140-1880 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2312-2317 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2060 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2329 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2061 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2331 * 
9 VAC 5-140-2062 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2332 * 
9 VAC 5-140-2070 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2333 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2080 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2333 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2100 through 9 VAC 5-140-2150 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2333-2336 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2200 through 9 VAC 5-140-2240 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2336-2337 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2400 through 9 VAC 5-140-2430 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2337-2342 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2500 through 9 VAC 5-140-2570 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2342-2347 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2600 through 9 VAC 5-140-2620 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2347 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2700 through 9 VAC 5-140-2750 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2347-2353 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-2800 through 9 VAC 5-140-2880 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2353-2359 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3010 through 9 VAC 5-140-3060 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2359-2368 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3061 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2370 * 
9 VAC 5-140-3062 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2371 * 
9 VAC 5-140-3070 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2371 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3080 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2371 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3100 through 9 VAC 5-140-3150 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2371-2374 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3200 through 9 VAC 5-140-3240 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2374-2375 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3400 through 9 VAC 5-140-3420 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2375 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3500 through 9 VAC 5-140-3570 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2375-2380 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3600 through 9 VAC 5-140-3620 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2380-2381 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3700 through 9 VAC 5-140-3750 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2381-2386 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3800 through 9 VAC 5-140-3880 Added 23:14 VA.R. 2386-2391 4/18/07 
9 VAC 5-140-5010 through 9 VAC 5-140-5750 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2160-2186 4/4/07 
9 VAC 5-140-1020 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-1061 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-1062 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-1130 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-1420 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 

                                                           
* Effective Date Suspended 23:19 
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9 VAC 5-140-1700 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-1740 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-2020 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-2030 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-2040 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-2060 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-2062 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-2740 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-3062 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-3840 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2673 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5020 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5060 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5100 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5150 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5420 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5510 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5540 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5560 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-140-5600 Erratum 23:16 VA.R. 2672 -- 
9 VAC 5-151-10 through 9 VAC 5-151-70 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2755-2764 5/31/07 
9 VAC 5-240-10 through 9 VAC 5-240-50 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2595-2596 5/16/07 
9 VAC 20-110-90 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1665 3/21/07 
9 VAC 20-110-110 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1665 3/21/07 
9 VAC 20-200-10 through 9 VAC 20-200-70 Added 23:11 VA.R. 1666-1667 3/21/07 
9 VAC 25-31-100 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 313 11/14/07 
9 VAC 25-31-120 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 309 11/14/07 
9 VAC 25-31-165 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 333 11/14/07 
9 VAC 25-71-20 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2485 5/2/07 
9 VAC 25-71-50 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2485 5/2/07 
9 VAC 25-71-70 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2485 5/2/07 
9 VAC 25-210-10 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3464 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-50 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3468 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-60 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3469 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-75 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3473 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-80 through 9 VAC 25-210-115 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3474-3484 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-116 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3484 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-130 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3487 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-140 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3488 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-170 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3489 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-175 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3489 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-180 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3490 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-185 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3492 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-190 Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3492 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-200 Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3493 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-210 Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3493 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-220 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3493 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-230 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3493 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-210-260 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3494 7/25/07 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 139 9/11/07 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 140 9/11/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1669 3/21/07 
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9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2486 5/2/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3881 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3888 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3895 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 140 11/15/07 
9 VAC 25-720-60 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1966 5/21/07 
9 VAC 25-720-80 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1670 3/21/07 
9 VAC 25-720-80 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3901 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-90 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1671 3/21/07 
9 VAC 25-720-90 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 147 11/15/07 
9 VAC 25-720-100 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1671 3/21/07 
9 VAC 25-720-130 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2487 5/2/07 
Title 10. Finance and Financial Institutions 
10 VAC 5-40-50 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2882 5/1/07 
10 VAC 5-160-40 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2187 2/10/07 
Title 11. Gaming 
11 VAC 10-20-310 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2883 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-20-330 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2884 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-20-340 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2891 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-100-30 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2892 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-110-30 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2893 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-110-90 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2893 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-120-80 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2894 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-130-10 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1672 1/10/07 
11 VAC 10-130-10 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2894 4/30/07 
11 VAC 10-130-60 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1673 1/10/07 
11 VAC 10-140-12 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2896 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-140-15 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2896 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-140-210 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2896 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-150-12 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2897 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-150-15 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2897 5/31/07 
11 VAC 10-180-10 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3164 5/18/07 
11 VAC 10-180-20 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3164 5/18/07 
11 VAC 10-180-60 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3166 5/18/07 
11 VAC 10-180-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3167 5/18/07 
Title 12. Health 
12 VAC 5-70-10 through 12 VAC 5-70-50 Repealed 23:13 VA.R. 2187 4/4/07 
12 VAC 5-71-10 through 12 VAC 5-71-190 Added 23:13 VA.R. 2188-2195 4/4/07 
12 VAC 5-90 (Forms) Erratum 23:15 VA.R. 2507-2509 -- 
12 VAC 5-90-10 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2488 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-40 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2493 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-80 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2493 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-90 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2497 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-100 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2500 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-103 Added 23:15 VA.R. 2500 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-107 Added 23:15 VA.R. 2502 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-110 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2503 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-130 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2504 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-225 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2504 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-250 through 12 VAC 5-90-280 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2505-2506 5/2/07 
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12 VAC 5-90-330 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2506 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-350 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2507 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-90-360 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2507 5/2/07 
12 VAC 5-125-10 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3904 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-20 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3906 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-30 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3906 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-40 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3906 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-50 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3907 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-60 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3908 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-70 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3908 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-80 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3908 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-90 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3908 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-100 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3916 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-110 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3917 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-120 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3917 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-130 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3917 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-140 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3918 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-150 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3918 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-160 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3918 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-170 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3918 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-125-180 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3919 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-190-10 through 12 VAC 5-190-690 Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3498 7/25/07 
12 VAC 5-191-10 through 12 VAC 5-191-320 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3498-3509 7/25/07 
12 VAC 5-371-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1544 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-20 Repealed 23:10 VA.R. 1546 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-30 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1547 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-40 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1547 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-50 Repealed 23:10 VA.R. 1548 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-60 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1548 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-70 through 12 VAC 5-371-130 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1548-1551 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-150 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1551 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-160 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1551 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-190 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1551 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-200 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1552 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-400 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1552 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-371-410 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1552 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1554 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-30 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-70 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-80 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-100 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-110 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-130 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-140 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1555 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-150 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1556 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-180 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1556 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-210 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1556 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-220 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1557 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-270 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1558 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-442 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1558 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-445 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1559 3/1/07 
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12 VAC 5-410-650 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1560 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-720 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1560 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-760 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1560 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-1150 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1560 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-1170 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1561 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-1350 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1561 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-410-1380 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1561 3/1/07 
12 VAC 5-421-10 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 149 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-90 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 157 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-100 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 157 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 158 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-140 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 158 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-160 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 159 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-170 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 159 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-180 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 159 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-190 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 159 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-200 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-230 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-250 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-270 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-295 Added 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-300 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-330 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 161 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-340 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 161 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-350 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 161 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-360 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 161 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-430 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-440 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-450 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-460 Added 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-500 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-520 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-530 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-550 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-560 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-570 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-580 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-590 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-600 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-620 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-670 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-680 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-700 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-720 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-760 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-765 Added 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-780 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-790 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-800 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 167 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-820 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 167 10/16/07 
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12 VAC 5-421-830 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 167 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-840 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 169 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-850 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 169 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-860 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 170 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-870 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 170 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-880 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-890 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-900 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-910 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-920 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-930 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-940 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 172 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-950 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 172 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-960 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-970 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-990 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1000 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1010 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1020 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1030 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1040 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1070 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1090 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1200 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1260 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1270 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1300 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1310 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1320 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1330 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1340 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1350 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1360 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1370 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 176 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1460 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 176 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1510 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 176 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1520 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 176 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1530 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1540 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1620 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1640 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1660 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1670 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 178 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1680 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 178 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1690 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 178 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1700 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 178 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1710 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1720 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1730 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1750 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
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12 VAC 5-421-1760 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1780 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1810 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1820 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1880 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1890 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1900 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1960 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2010 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2080 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2190 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2200 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2210 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2270 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2310 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2320 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2520 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2630 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2680 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2710 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2790 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2810 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2820 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2840 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2850 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2870 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2880 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2930 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2990 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3040 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3200 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3210 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3230 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3310 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3370 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3380 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3450 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3510 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3560 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3580 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3590 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 186 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3620 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 186 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3660 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 186 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3700 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 186 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3750 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 187 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3760 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3800 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3815 Added 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3860 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
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12 VAC 5-421-3900 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3960 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 189 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3970 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 189 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-4000 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 189 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-4035 Added 24:2 VA.R. 190 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-4050 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 191 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-4070 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 191 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-585-760 through 12 VAC 5-585-830 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4298-4301 10/1/07 
12 VAC 30-10-140 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2653 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-10-560 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2396 9/1/07 
12 VAC 30-10-820 Added 24:2 VA.R. 191 10/31/07 
12 VAC 30-20-140 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2397 9/1/07 
12 VAC 30-30-20 emer Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3169 5/30/07-5/29/08 
12 VAC 30-30-60 Added 23:11 VA.R. 1673 3/7/07 
12 VAC 30-40-10 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1674 3/7/07 
12 VAC 30-40-20 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2897 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-40-105 emer Added 23:20 VA.R. 3170 5/30/07-5/29/08 
12 VAC 30-40-280 emer Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3171 5/30/07-5/29/08 
12 VAC 30-40-290 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2398 9/1/07 
12 VAC 30-40-290 emer Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3172 5/30/07-5/29/08 
12 VAC 30-50-20 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2654 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-50-35 Added 23:11 VA.R. 1675 3/7/07 
12 VAC 30-50-60 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2654 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-50-75 Added 23:11 VA.R. 1676 3/7/07 
12 VAC 30-50-130 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3518 1/1/08 
12 VAC 30-50-141 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3510 7/1/07-6/30/08 
12 VAC 30-50-151 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3510 7/1/07-6/30/08 
12 VAC 30-50-181 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3510 7/1/07-6/30/08 
12 VAC 30-50-228 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3511 7/1/07-6/30/08 
12 VAC 30-50-320 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2654 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-50-321 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2655 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-50-325 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2655 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-50-328 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2655 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-50-461 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3512 7/1/07-6/30/08 
12 VAC 30-50-490 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3175 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-50-530 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1676 3/7/07 
12 VAC 30-60-250 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3513 7/1/07-6/30/08 
12 VAC 30-60-255 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3515 7/1/07-6/30/08 
12 VAC 30-60-500 emer Added 23:26 VA.R. 4427 8/8/07-8/7/08 
12 VAC 30-70-311 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3003 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-70-321 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3003 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-70-331 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3225 8/25/07 
12 VAC 30-70-341 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3003 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-70-391 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3004 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-80-30 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3232 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-80-32 emer Added 23:21 VA.R. 3516 7/1/07-6/30/08 
12 VAC 30-80-40 emer Amended 24:3 VA.R. 377 10/1/07-9/30/08 
12 VAC 30-80-95 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3520 1/1/08 
12 VAC 30-80-190 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3004 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-80-190 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3225 8/25/07 
12 VAC 30-80-190 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3242 7/11/07 
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12 VAC 30-90-31 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3005 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-90-41 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3226 8/25/07 
12 VAC 30-90-271 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3229 8/25/07 
12 VAC 30-90-290 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3230 8/25/07 
12 VAC 30-90-264 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2400 4/18/07 
12 VAC 30-110-950 Amended 23:18 VA.R. 2898 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4080 -- 
12 VAC 30-120-61 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2655 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-62 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2657 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-64 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2659 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-65 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2660 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-66 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2660 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-68 Amended 23:16 VA.R. 2661 7/1/07 
12 VAC 30-120-310 emer Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3516 7/1/07-6/30/08 
12 VAC 30-120-370 emer Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4029 9/1/07-8/31/08 
12 VAC 30-120-380 emer Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3517 7/1/07-6/30/08 
12 VAC 30-120-380 emer Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4032 9/1/07-8/31/08 
12 VAC 30-120-700 through 12 VAC 30-120-750 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3177-3192 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-752 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3192 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-753 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3194 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-754 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3195 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-756 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3197 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-758 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3198 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-760 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3198 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-762 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3199 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-764 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3199 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-766 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3201 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-768 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3204 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-770 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3206 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-772 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3211 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-774 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3211 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-776 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3213 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-780 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3215 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-790 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3216 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-120-1600 through 12 VAC 30-120-1660 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3244-3251 7/11/07 
12 VAC 30-130-900 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1967 3/21/07 
12 VAC 30-130-910 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1968 3/21/07 
12 VAC 30-130-930 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1968 3/21/07 
12 VAC 30-135-10 through 12 VAC 30-135-40 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3520-3522 11/1/07 
12 VAC 30-135-80 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3522 11/1/07 
12 VAC 30-135-100 through 12VAC30-135-360 Added 24:2 VA.R. 196-218 12/1/07 
12 VAC 30-141-740 Amended 23:19 VA.R. 3006 7/1/07 
12 VAC 35-45-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1562 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-45-25 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1565 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-45-70 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1564 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-45-80 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1564 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-45-210 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1564 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-105-20 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1567 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-105-30 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1575 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-105-115 emer Added 23:10 VA.R. 1566 1/3/07-1/2/08 
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12 VAC 35-105-590 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1575 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-105-660 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1576 2/21/07 
12 VAC 35-105-925 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3252 7/11/07 
12 VAC 35-115-10 through 12 VAC 35-115-250 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4301-4340 9/19/07 
12 VAC 35-115-145 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4329 9/19/07 
12 VAC 35-115-146 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4330 9/19/07 
12 VAC 35-115-160 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4332 9/19/07 
12 VAC 35-210-10 through 12 VAC 35-210-120 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3525-3529 7/25/07 
Title 13. Housing 
13 VAC 5-31 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4079 -- 
13 VAC 5-91 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4080 -- 
13 VAC 5-111-10 through 13 VAC 5-111-400 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 1971 3/21/07 
13 VAC 5-112-10 through 13 VAC 5-112-560 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1971-1994 3/21/07 
Title 14. Insurance 
14 VAC 5-200-20 Repealed 23:17 VA.R. 2766 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-30 through 14 VAC 5-200-60 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2766-2770 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-70 through 14 VAC 5-200-90 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2770-2774 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-110 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2774 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-120 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2777 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-153 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2777 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-170 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2780 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-175 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2781 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-181 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2782 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-183 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2782 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-185 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2783 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-187 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2785 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-200 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2786 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-201 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2788 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-200-205 Added 23:17 VA.R. 2788 9/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-20 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3768 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-30 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3768 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-50 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3769 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-60 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3770 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-80 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3770 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-321-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1577 1/1/07 
14 VAC 5-321-20 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1577 1/1/07 
14 VAC 5-321-30 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1578 1/1/07 
14 VAC 5-321-70 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1578 1/1/07 
14 VAC 5-322-10 through 14 VAC 5-322-50 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1579-1581 1/1/07 
Title 16. Labor and Employment 
16 VAC 15-21-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3933 8/23/07 
16 VAC 25-55-10 and 16 VAC 25-55-20 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1995-1996 3/22/07 
16 VAC 25-75-10 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3544 7/26/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.6 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 26 12/15/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.66 Appendix D Amended 24:1 VA.R. 26 12/15/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.134 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.268 (b) (7) Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3545 7/26/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.302 through 16 VAC 25-90-
1910.308 

Amended 24:1 VA.R. 26 12/15/07 

16 VAC 25-90-1910.399 Subpart S Appendix A  Amended 24:1 VA.R. 26 12/15/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1000 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1996 3/21/07 
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16 VAC 25-90-1910.1001 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1017 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1018 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1025 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1027 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1028 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1029 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1043 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1044 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1045 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1047 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1048 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1050 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1052 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.5 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1998 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.505 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1998 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.507 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1998 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.1000 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1996 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.1001 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.55 Added 23:12 VA.R. 1996 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.60 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.62 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1002, Appendix A of Subpart W Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1999 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1101 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1127 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1997 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-190-1928.52 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1999 3/21/07 
16 VAC 25-190-1928.53, Appendix B to Subpart C Amended 23:12 VA.R. 1999 3/21/07 
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing 
18 VAC 5-10-10 through 18 VAC 5-10-90 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1678-1680 4/23/07 
18 VAC 10-20-230 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3548 9/10/07 
18 VAC 10-20-420 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3550 8/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-440 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3551 8/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-450 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3551 8/1/07 
18 VAC 15-20 (Forms) Added 23:15 VA.R. 2514 -- 
18 VAC 15-30 (Forms) Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2514 -- 
18 VAC 25-21-80 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3557 8/1/07 
18 VAC 25-21-90 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3558 8/1/07 
18 VAC 25-21-180 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3558 8/1/07 
18 VAC 25-21-230 through 18 VAC 25-21-280 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3559-3560 8/1/07 
18 VAC 30-10-10 through 18 VAC 30-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3276-3277 8/25/07 
18 VAC 30-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3277 8/25/07 
18 VAC 30-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3277 8/25/07 
18 VAC 30-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3277 8/25/07 
18 VAC 41-60-10 through 18 VAC 41-60-220 Added 23:12 VA.R. 2000-2009 4/1/07 
18 VAC 41-70-10 through 18 VAC 41-70-280 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4349-4359 9/20/07 
18 VAC 45-20-40 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3562 9/10/07 
18 VAC 47-20-10 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3563 8/1/07 
18 VAC 47-20-35 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3564 8/1/07 
18 VAC 47-20-210 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3564 8/1/07 
18 VAC 47-20-240 Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3564 8/1/07 
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18 VAC 47-20-250 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3564 8/1/07 
18 VAC 47-20-260 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3565 8/1/07 
18 VAC 47-20-270 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3565 8/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-10 through 18 VAC 50-30-50 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2020-2025 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-10 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 416 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-40 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 418 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-60 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2025 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-70 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2025 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-80 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2025 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-90 through 18 VAC 50-30-150 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2026-2028 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-90 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 419 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-100 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 419 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-120 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 419 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-130 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 420 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-180 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2028 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-185 Added 23:12 VA.R. 2028 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-190 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2028 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-190 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 421 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-200 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2029 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-200 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 422 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-210 through 18 VAC 50-30-260 Added 23:12 VA.R. 2030-2031 4/1/07 
18 VAC 50-30-220 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 422 11/15/07 
18 VAC 60-10-10 through 18 VAC 60-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3283-3284 8/25/07 
18 VAC 60-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3284 8/25/07 
18 VAC 60-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3284 8/25/07 
18 VAC 60-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3284 8/25/07 
18 VAC 60-20-17 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 424 11/29/07 
18 VAC 60-20-71 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3934 8/22/07 
18 VAC 60-20-180 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2510 5/2/07 
18 VAC 60-20-210 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3286 8/25/07 
18 VAC 65-10-10 through 18VAC65-10-80 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 226-228 11/15/07 
18 VAC 65-10-100 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 228 11/15/07 
18 VAC 65-10-110 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 228 11/15/07 
18 VAC 65-10-120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 228 11/15/07 
18 VAC 65-40-10 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2031 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-40 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2031 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-90 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-110 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-130 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-160 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-220 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-250 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-300 Repealed 23:12 VA.R. 2032 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-320 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2033 3/21/07 
18 VAC 65-40-340 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2033 3/21/07 
18 VAC 75-10-10 through 18 VAC 75-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3288-3290 8/25/07 
18 VAC 75-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3290 8/25/07 
18 VAC 75-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3290 8/25/07 
18 VAC 75-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3290 8/25/07 
18 VAC 75-20-60 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3574 9/10/07 
18 VAC 75-20-70 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3575 9/10/07 
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18 VAC 75-20-120 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3575 9/10/07 
18 VAC 75-20-130 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3575 9/10/07 
18 VAC 75-20-140 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3575 9/10/07 
18 VAC 76-30-10 through 18 VAC 76-30-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3292-3294 8/25/07 
18 VAC 76-30-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3294 8/25/07 
18 VAC 76-30-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3294 8/25/07 
18 VAC 76-30-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3294 8/25/07 
18 VAC 85-10 through 18 VAC 85-10-70 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3296-3297 8/25/07 
18 VAC 85-10-90 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3297 8/25/07 
18 VAC 85-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3297 8/25/07 
18 VAC 85-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3298 8/25/07 
18 VAC 85-20-30 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3299 8/25/07 
18 VAC 85-20-140 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 27 10/17/07 
18 VAC 85-20-235 Amended 23:11 VA.R. 1692 4/21/07 
18 VAC 85-20-235 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4360 9/20/07 
18 VAC 85-20-235 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4361 9/20/07 
18 VAC 85-20-290 Amended 23:13 VA.R. 2206 4/4/07 
18 VAC 85-20-290 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3934 8/22/07 
18 VAC 85-20-400 through 18 VAC 85-20-420 Adding 23:25 VA.R. 4362-4363 9/20/07 
18 VAC 85-40-61 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 28 10/17/07 
18 VAC 85-40-61 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 29 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-40-65 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 28 10/17/07 
18 VAC 85-50-58 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 29 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-80-72 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 29 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-101-50 Amended 23:15 VA.R. 2511 5/2/07 
18 VAC 85-101-152 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 30 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-110-155 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 30 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-120-130 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 229 10/31/07 
18 VAC 85-130-10 through 18 VAC 85-130-170 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1582-1586 2/21/07 
18 VAC 90-10-10 through 18 VAC 90-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3307-3309 8/25/07 
18 VAC 90-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3309 8/25/07 
18 VAC 90-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3309 8/25/07 
18 VAC 90-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3309 8/25/07 
18 VAC 90-20-30 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4363 10/1/07 
18 VAC 90-20-60 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2033 3/21/07 
18 VAC 90-20-225 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4364 10/1/07 
18 VAC 90-25-15 through 18 VAC 90-25-80 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3576-3581 7/25/07 
18 VAC 90-25-71 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3580 7/25/07 
18 VAC 90-25-72 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3580 7/25/07 
18 VAC 90-25-81 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3581 7/25/07 
18 VAC 90-25-100 through 18 VAC 90-25-130 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3581-3583 7/25/07 
18 VAC 90-30-120 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2404 4/18/07 
18 VAC 90-30-230 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2034 3/21/07 
18 VAC 90-30-240 Added 24:3 VA.R. 427 11/29/07 
18 VAC 90-40-140 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2034 3/21/07 
18 VAC 90-60-10 through 18 VAC 90-60-120 Added 23:19 VA.R. 3008-3012 7/1/07 
18 VAC 90-60-100 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 429 11/29/07 
18 VAC 90-60-120 Erratum 23:20 VA.R. 3378 -- 
18 VAC 95-10-10 through 18VAC95-10-80 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 231-232 11/15/07 
18 VAC 95-10-100 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 232 11/15/07 
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18 VAC 95-10-110 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 232 11/15/07 
18 VAC 95-10-120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 232 11/15/07 
18 VAC 105-10-10 through 18 VAC 105-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3315-3316 8/25/07 
18 VAC 105-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3316 8/25/07 
18 VAC 105-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3316 8/25/07 
18 VAC 105-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3316 8/25/07 
18 VAC 105-20-10 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3791 9/24/07 
18 VAC 110-10-10 through 18 VAC 110-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3318-3320 8/25/07 
18 VAC 110-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3320 8/25/07 
18 VAC 110-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3320 8/25/07 
18 VAC 110-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3320 8/25/07 
18 VAC 110-20-180 Erratum 24:3 VA.R. 444 -- 
18 VAC 110-20-285 Amended 23:17 VA.R. 2791 5/30/07 
18 VAC 110-40-10 through 18VAC110-40-50 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 430-431 11/14/07 
18 VAC 112-10-10 through 18 VAC 112-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3327-3329 8/25/07 
18 VAC 112-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3329 8/25/07 
18 VAC 112-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3329 8/25/07 
18 VAC 112-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3329 8/25/07 
18 VAC 115-10-10 through 18 VAC 115-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3331-3332 8/25/07 
18 VAC 115-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3332 8/25/07 
18 VAC 115-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3333 8/25/07 
18 VAC 115-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3333 8/25/07 
18 VAC 115-20-20 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2404 4/18/07 
18 VAC 115-20-130 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3584 7/25/07 
18 VAC 115-30-30 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2405 4/18/07 
18 VAC 115-40-20 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2405 4/18/07 
18 VAC 115-50-20 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2405 4/18/07 
18 VAC 115-50-110 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3585 7/25/07 
18 VAC 115-60-20 Amended 23:14 VA.R. 2406 4/18/07 
18 VAC 115-60-130 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3587 7/25/07 
18 VAC 120-30-10 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3589 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-30 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3590 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-40 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3590 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-50 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3591 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-55 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3591 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-90 Repealed 23:21 VA.R. 3592 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-100 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3588 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-100 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3592 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-130 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3592 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-150 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3592 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-160 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3592 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-180 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3592 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-190 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3593 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-200 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3593 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-220 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3593 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-230 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3594 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-240 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3594 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-250 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3594 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-270 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3594 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-280 Amended 23:21 VA.R. 3595 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-290 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3595 8/1/07 
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18 VAC 120-30-300 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3595 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-30-310 Added 23:21 VA.R. 3595 8/1/07 
18 VAC 120-40-10 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4038 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-15 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4039 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-20 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4039 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-60 Repealed 24:3 VA.R. 433 12/29/07 
18 VAC 120-40-80 through 18VAC120-40-360 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4040-4052 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-221 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4043 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-222 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4043 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-295 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4048 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-342 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4050 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-370 Repealed 23:24 VA.R. 4052 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-380 Repealed 23:24 VA.R. 4052 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-385 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4052 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-390 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-400 Repealed 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-410 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-411 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-411.1 through 18VAC120-40-411.21 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4054-4064 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-415 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4064 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-415.1 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4065 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-415.2 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4065 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-415.3 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4065 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-420 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4066 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-430 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4066 9/5/07 
18 VAC 125-10-10 through 18 VAC 125-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3346-3348 8/25/07 
18 VAC 125-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3348 8/25/07 
18 VAC 125-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3348 8/25/07 
18 VAC 125-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3348 8/25/07 
18 VAC 125-20-30 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2035 3/21/07 
18 VAC 125-30-20 Amended 23:12 VA.R. 2035 3/21/07 
18 VAC 135-30 (Forms) Amended 24:1 VA.R. 41 -- 
18 VAC 135-40 (Forms) Amended 24:1 VA.R. 43 -- 
18 VAC 135-50-10 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3794 9/22/07 
18 VAC 135-50-20 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3795 9/22/07 
18 VAC 135-50-220 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3795 9/22/07 
18 VAC 135-50-400 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3795 9/22/07 
18 VAC 140-10-10 through 18 VAC 140-10-80 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3350-3351 8/25/07 
18 VAC 140-10-100 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3351 8/25/07 
18 VAC 140-10-110 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3352 8/25/07 
18 VAC 140-10-120 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3352 8/25/07 
18 VAC 145-30-40 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3352 7/12/07 
18 VAC 150-10-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3937 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3937 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3937 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-60 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-70 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-80 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
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18 VAC 150-10-100 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3939 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-110 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3939 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-120 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3939 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-20-30 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 436 11/29/07 
18 VAC 150-20-100 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 436 11/29/07 
18 VAC 150-20-140 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 437 11/29/07 
18 VAC 150-20-220 Added 24:3 VA.R. 438 11/29/07 
18 VAC 150-20-230 Added 24:3 VA.R. 438 11/29/07 
18 VAC 150-20-240 Added 24:3 VA.R. 438 11/29/07 
Title 19. Public Safety 
19 VAC 30-20-80 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1587 3/1/07 
19 VAC 30-170-15 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 233 10/1/07 
19 VAC 30-170-50 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 233 10/1/07 
Title 21. Securities and Retail Franchising 
21 VAC 5-10 Erratum 23:18 VA.R. 2935 -- 
21 VAC 5-10-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3940 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20 Erratum 23:18 VA.R. 2935 -- 
21 VAC 5-20-65 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3942 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20-95 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3942 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20-280 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3943 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20-330 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3947 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-80-65 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3949 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-80-160 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3950 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-80-200 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3954 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-110 Erratum 23:18 VA.R. 2935 -- 
21 VAC 5-110 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4079 -- 
21 VAC 5-110-65 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3959 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-110-75 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3960 7/1/07 
Title 22. Social Services 
22 VAC 15-10-40 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1587 3/1/07 
22 VAC 15-10-50 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1587 3/1/07 
22 VAC 15-30-10 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3353 7/11/07 
22 VAC 15-30-310 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3356 7/11/07 
22 VAC 15-30-580 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3358 7/11/07 
22 VAC 40-20-10 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3364 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-25-10 through 22 VAC 40-25-70 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3360-3364 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-25-45 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3363 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-35-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3962 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-35-80 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3965 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-35-90 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3965 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-35-100 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3966 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-41-10 through 22 VAC 40-41-50 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3796-3799 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-41-55 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3799 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-41-60 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3799 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-72-930 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 38 11/1/07 
22 VAC 40-72-960 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 39 11/1/07 
22 VAC 40-540-10 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3364 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-600-10 through 22 VAC 40-600-240 Repealed 23:20 VA.R. 3364 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-601-10 through 22 VAC 40-601-40 Added 23:20 VA.R. 3365-3366 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-10 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1588 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-15 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1591 3/1/07 
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22 VAC 40-740-20 Repealed 23:10 VA.R. 1592 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-21 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1592 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-30 Repealed 23:10 VA.R. 1593 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-31 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1593 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-40 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1593 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-50 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1594 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-60 Amended 23:10 VA.R. 1595 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-70 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1596 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-740-80 Added 23:10 VA.R. 1596 3/1/07 
22 VAC 40-770-10 through 22 VAC 40-770-160 Repealed 24:2 VA.R. 234 11/1/07 
22 VAC 40-771-10 through 22 VAC 40-771-160 Added 24:2 VA.R. 234-242 11/1/07 
22 VAC 40-880-200 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3367 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-880-250 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3367 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-880-270 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3367 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-880-350 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3368 8/1/07 
22 VAC 40-880-620 Amended 23:20 VA.R. 3369 8/1/07 
Title 23. Taxation 
23 VAC 10-210-485 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4069 9/6/07 
23 VAC 10-210-693 emer Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4364 7/26/07-07/25/08 
23 VAC 10-210-6041 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4068 9/6/07 
23 VAC 10-210-6042 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4069 9/6/07 
23 VAC 10-210-6043 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4069 9/6/07 
23 VAC 10-240-20 through 23 VAC 10-240-60 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4372-4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-100 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-130 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-140 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-150 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-200 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-210 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-240 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-270 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-280 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-300 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-310 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-330 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-340 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-360 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-380 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-400 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-420 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-430 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-450 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-460 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles 
24 VAC 22-20-10 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 439 12/1/07 
24 VAC 22-20-20 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 440 12/1/07 
24 VAC 27-10-10 through 24VAC27-10-120 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4071-4075 9/20/07 
24 VAC 30-45-10 Added 24:2 VA.R. 243 10/1/07 
24 VAC 30-45-20 Added 24:2 VA.R. 243 10/1/07 
24 VAC 30-45-30 Added 24:2 VA.R. 244 10/1/07 
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24 VAC 30-155 Erratum 23:21 VA.R. 3619 -- 
24 VAC 30-155-10 through 24 VAC 30-155-100 Added 23:18 VA.R. 2915-2930 7/1/07 
24 VAC 30-320 Repealed 23:16 VA.R. 2665 3/22/07 
24 VAC 30-325-10 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2665 3/22/07 
24 VAC 30-325-20 Added 23:16 VA.R. 2666 3/22/07 
24 VAC 30-330 Repealed 23:16 VA.R. 2665 3/22/07 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

BOARD OF CORRECTIONS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Corrections intends to 
consider amending the following regulations: 6VAC15-80, 
Standards for Planning, Design, Construction and 
Reimbursement of Local Correctional Facilities. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to amend definitions and 
add a new section to existing Standards for Planning, Design, 
Construction and Reimbursement of Local Correctional 
Facilities to make provisions relative to a Value Management 
Assessment Study. The amendment will allow local and 
regional correctional facilities to receive Value Management 
Assessment cost reimbursement, which is currently not 
provided for in 6VAC15-80. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §53.1-5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on November 28, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Brooks Ballard, Architectural & 
Engineering Services, Department of Corrections, 6900 
Atmore Dr., Richmond, VA 23225, telephone 804-674-3102, 
FAX 804-674-3529, or email 
brooks.ballard@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-865; Filed October 3, 2007, 1:10 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Education has 
WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for 
8VAC20-520, Regulations Governing Reduction of State 
Aid When Length of School Term Below 180 School Days, 
which was published in 21:14 VA.R. 1984 March 21, 2005. 
The agency promulgated new regulations under the fast-track 
provisions of the Administrative Process Act, and the NOIRA 
is no longer needed. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy 
and Communications, Department of Education, P.O. Box 
2120, Richmond, VA 23218-2120, telephone (804) 225-2540, 
FAX (804) 225-2524 or email 
margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-144; Filed October 16, 2007, 11:05 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
consider amending the following regulations: 12VAC5-31, 
Virginia Emergency Medical Services Regulations. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to amend current 
regulations to include new regulations as a result of 
legislative changes and changes in the practice of EMS in 
order to adress the dynamic, ever-changing nature of EMS. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §32.1-111.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on November 28, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Michael Berg, Regulatory and Compliance 
Manager, Department of Health, 109 Governor St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 804-864-7615 or email 
michael.berg@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-877; Filed September 28, 2007, 10:48 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Physical Therapy 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
18VAC112-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Physical Therapy. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
establish requirements for certification in direct access care. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§54.1-2400 and 54.1-3482.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on November 28, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 
Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Dr., Suite 300, Richmond, 
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VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4424, FAX (804) 527-4413, 
or email lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-857; Filed October 10, 2007, 10:02 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The following regulations filed by 
the Marine Resources Commission are exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-252. Pertaining to the Taking 
of Striped Bass (amending 4VAC20-252-90, 4VAC20-252-
100). 

Statutory Authority: §§28.2-201 and 28.2-204.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2007.  

Agency Contact: Brandy L. Battle, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
brandy.battle@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments set the possession limits for the Bay and 
Potomac River tributaries fall striped bass recreational 
fishery as two fish per person from October 4 through 
December 9, and one fish per person from December 10 
through December 31. These possession limits may consist 
of only one striped bass 34 inches or greater.  

4VAC20-252-90. Bay fall striped bass recreational fishery.  

A. The open season for the bay fall striped bass recreational 
fishery shall be October 4 through December 31, inclusive.  

B. The area open for this fishery shall be the Chesapeake 
Bay and its tributaries.  

C. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall be 18 inches 
total length.  

D. The maximum size limit for this fishery shall be 28 
inches total length, except as provided in subsection F of this 
section.  

E. The possession limit for this fishery shall be two fish per 
person from October 4 through December 9.  

F. The possession limit for this fishery shall be one fish per 
person from December 10 through December 31. 

F. G. The possession limit limits described in subsection E 
and F of this section may consist of only one striped bass 34 
inches or greater.  

4VAC20-252-100. Potomac River tributaries summer/fall 
striped bass recreational fishery.  

A. The open season for the Potomac River tributaries fall 
striped bass fishery shall correspond to the open fall season as 
established by the Potomac River Fisheries Commission for 
the mainstem Potomac River. 

B. The area open for this fishery shall be the Potomac River 
tributaries. 

C. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall be 18 inches 
total length.  

D. The maximum size limit for this fishery shall be 28 
inches total length, except as provided in subsection F of this 
section.  

E. The possession limit for this fishery shall be two fish per 
person from October 4 through December 9.  

F. The possession limit for this fishery shall be one fish per 
person from December 10 through December 31. 

F. G. The possession limit limits described in subsection E 
and F of this section may consist of only one striped bass 34 
inches or greater.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-957; Filed October 1, 2007, 9:37 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-260. Pertaining to 
Designation of Seed Areas and Clean Cull Areas 
(amending 4VAC20-260-10, 4VAC20-260-20, 4VAC20-
260-30, 4VAC20-260-40, 4VAC20-260-60, adding 
4VAC20-260-35). 

Statutory Authority: §§28.2-201 and 28.2-507 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Brandy L. Battle, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
brandy.battle@mrc.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

The amendments establish for the Lower Rappahannock 
River a maximum cull size of 4-1/4 inches for harvested 
oysters, culling tolerances and standards, and stricter 
penalties for the 2007-2008 public oyster harvest season. 

CHAPTER 260  

PERTAINING TO THE CULLING OF OYSTERS 
DESIGNATION OF SEED AREAS AND CLEAN CULL 

AREAS 

4VAC20-260-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to establish clean cull and 
seed areas, culling requirements (minimum and maximum 
size limit limits) and inspection procedures which that will 
provide protection for the public oyster beds, rocks, and 
shoals in Virginia's tidal waters. 

4VAC20-260-20. Designation of seed areas and clean cull 
areas. 

A. Seed areas. The following natural public oyster beds, 
rocks, or shoals are designated for the harvest of seed oysters:  

1. Seaside of Eastern Shore. All of the public oyster 
grounds on the eastern side of Accomack and Northampton 
Counties on Virginia's Eastern Shore.  

2. 1. James River. All of the public oyster grounds in the 
James River and its tributaries above a line drawn from 
Cooper's Creek in Isle of Wight County on the south side 
of the James River to a line in a northeasterly direction 
across the James River to the Newport News municipal 
water tank located on Warwick Boulevard between 59th 
and 60th Streets Street in the City of Newport News, 
excluding the Jail Island and Point of Shoals Clean Cull 
areas and the Deep Water Shoal State Repletion Seed Area.  

3. 2. Deep Water Shoal State Repletion Seed Area in the 
James River (574.66 acres). Beginning at a point 
approximately 530 feet west of Deep Water Shoal Light, 
said point being Corner 1 as located by Virginia State 
Plane Coordinates, South Zone, NAD 1927, North 
302,280.00, East 2,542,360.00; thence North Azimuth 
30°49'59", 4,506.99 feet to Corner 2, North 306,150.00, 
East 2,544,670.00; thence North Azimuth 135°08'57", 
5,430.60 feet to Corner 3, North 302,300.00, East 
2,548,500.00; thence North Azimuth 212°13'54", 3,487.42 
feet to Corner 4, North 299,350.00, East 2,546,640.00; 
thence North Azimuth 269°10'16", 2,765.29 feet to Corner 
5, North 299,310.00, East 2,543,875.00; thence North 
Azimuth 332°58'26", 3,334.09 feet to Corner 1, being the 
point of beginning. (Map 1)  

B. Clean cull areas. All natural public oyster beds, rocks, or 
shoals in the tidal waters of Virginia, except those designated 
by the Marine Resources Commission as seed areas shall be 
considered clean cull areas.  

Two areas within the James River Seed Area are set aside as 
clean cull areas and are described as follows:  

1. Jail Island Clean Cull Area (1,342.23 acres). Beginning 
at a point approximately 2,000 feet southwest of the shore 
of Mulberry Island at Point A as located by Virginia State 
Plane Coordinates, South Zone, NAD 1927 North 
281,468.20, East 2,558,879.7; thence North Azimuth 
131°26'56", 8,422.95 feet to Corner 1B, North 275,892.62, 
East 2,565,193.09, then North Azimuth 210°28'11", 
3,468.98 feet to Corner 628, North 272,902.72, East 
2,563,434.03, thence North Azimuth 309°07'41", 9,174.96 
feet to Corner 629, North 278,692.63, East 2,556,316.67, 
then North Azimuth 39°40'29", 1,777.88 feet to Corner 22, 
North 280,061.03, East 2,557,451.72, then North Azimuth 
311°26'22", 13,325.00 feet to Corner 3, North 288,879.88, 
East 2,547,462.55, thence North Azimuth 45°25'14", 
2,004.82 feet to Corner 4, North 290,287.06, East 
2,548,890.54, thence North Azimuth 131°26'22", 
13,325.00 feet to Point A, being the point of beginning. 
(Map 2)  

Additional Clean Cull Area (Jail Island) (227.19 acres). 
Beginning at a point, Corner 4 (being the northernmost 
corner on existing Jail Island Clean Cull Area) as located 
by Virginia State Plane Coordinates, South Zone, NAD 
1927 (feet) North 290,287.06, East 2,548,890.54; thence 
North Azimuth 222°25'14", 2,004.82 feet to Corner 3 (a 
point on existing Jail Island Clean Cull Area) North 
288,879.88, East 2,547,462.55; thence North Azimuth 
296°26'55", 4,468.22 feet to Channel Light 24 North 
290,870.0, East 2,543,462.0; thence North Azimuth 
54°57'40", 825.34 feet to the Southernmost Mulberry Point 
Reef "Danger" Piling, North 291,343.85, East 
2,544,137.75; thence North Azimuth 54°57'40", 3,103.87 
feet to Corner 836, North 292,652.03, East 2,546,003.33; 
thence North Azimuth 128°18'48", 752.48 feet to Corner 
33, North 292,185.52, East 2,546,593.75; thence North 
Azimuth 128°19'00", 1,778.27 feet to Corner 1, North 
291,082.98, East 2,547,988.97; thence North Azimuth 
131°26'19", 1,202.63 feet to Corner 4, being the point of 
beginning. (Map 4)  

2. Point of Shoals Clean Cull Area (Baylor Acres—820 
acres). Beginning at Channel Light #7 and continuing 
along the south side of channel to Tylers Beach to Channel 
Light #1 at entrance to Tylers Beach Channel, thence 
North Azimuth 101°08'43", 8,417 feet to an intersection 
corner near east end of Long Rock, Latitude 37°04'28.2", 
Longitude 76°37'37.5", thence North Azimuth 205°11'49", 
9,604 feet to Day Marker #4, Latitude 37°03'03.17", 
Longitude 76°38'30", extending on same Azimuth line to 
other private ground. This area excludes any private leases 
within the outlined area. (Map 3)  

Additional Clean Cull Area near Point of Shoals (3,800 
acres). Beginning at Buoy 16 Latitude 37°04'22", 
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Longitude 76°36'14.5", thence North Azimuth 148°10'48", 
7,230.86 feet to buoy 12 Latitude 37°03'20.5", Longitude 
76°35'29" ; thence southerly to Mogarts Beach; thence 
westerly along the shore to the inshore corner of the 
westernmost inshore private oyster lease corner; thence 
north and westerly along the offshore line of private oyster 
lease lines to an intersection with a line extending inshore 
from Day Marker 4 along a North Azimuth of 205°11'49" ; 
thence along this same extended line a North Azimuth 
25°11'49" through Day Marker 4 Latitude 37°03'17", 

Longitude 76°38'30" to an intersection point near the east 
end of Long Rock, 9,604 feet from Day Marker 4, said 
intersection point being Latitude 37°04'28.2", Longitude 
76°37'37.5" ; thence North Azimuth 94°11'07", 6,755.01 
feet to Buoy 16, being the point of beginning. (This area 
excludes any private leases within the outlined area.) (Map 
5)  

 

 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Maps 2, 3, 4, and 5 are being stricken from the regulation. 

4VAC20-260-30. Minimum cull size. 

In order to encourage a continued supply of marketable 
oysters, minimum size limits are hereby established. 
Undersized oysters and/or or shells shall be returned 
immediately to their natural beds, rocks, or shoals where 
taken. When small oysters are adhering so closely to the shell 
of the marketable oyster as to render removal impossible 
without destroying the young oyster, then it shall not be 
necessary to remove it. Allowances for undersized oysters 
and shells incidentally retained during culling are found in 
4VAC20-260-40. 

1. Oysters taken from clean cull areas shall not have shells 
less than three inches in length. 

2. In the James River seed areas, there shall be no size limit 
on oysters harvested for replanting as seed oysters and seed 
oysters shall not be marketed for direct consumption. 

3. In the James River seed areas, the shells of oysters 
harvested for direct consumption shall not be less than 
three inches in length. 

4. On the seaside of Eastern Shore seed area, the shells of 
oysters marketed for direct consumption shall not be less 
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than three inches in length. (Oysters marketed as seed 
oysters shall have no size limit.) 

5. In the Rappahannock River, the shells of oysters 
harvested for direct consumption, from the areas known as 
Russ' Rock and Carter's Rock, shall not be less than 2-1/2 
inches in length. 

4VAC20-260-35. Maximum cull size in the Rappahannock 
River. 

In order to protect potentially disease tolerant oysters in the 
Lower Rappahannock River, maximum size limits are hereby 
established. In the Lower Rappahannock River, Rotation 
Areas 1 through 6, oysters larger than the maximum size limit 
shall either be collected by the Marine Resources 
Commission or returned immediately to the natural beds, 
rocks, or shoals when taken. Allowance for oversized oysters 
and shells incidentally retained during culling are described in 
4VAC20-260-40. 

Oysters taken for direct human consumption from Rotation 
Areas 1 through 6 in the Lower Rappahannock River shall not 
have shells greater than 4-1/4 inches in length. 

4VAC20-260-40. Culling tolerances or standards. 

A. In the clean cull areas, except the Lower Rappahannock 
River, Rotation Areas 1 through 6, if more than one four-
quart measure of undersized oysters or shells is found per 
bushel inspected, it shall constitute a violation of this chapter. 

B. In the Lower Rappahannock River, Rotation Areas 1 
through 6, if more than one four-quart measure of undersized 
or oversized oysters or shells is found per bushel inspected, it 
shall constitute a violation of this chapter. 

B. C. In the James River seed areas, if more than one six-
quart measure of shells is found per bushel of seed oysters 
inspected, it shall constitute a violation of this chapter. 

C. D. In the James River seed areas, if more than one four-
quart measure of undersized oysters or shells are found per 
bushel of clean cull oysters inspected, it shall constitute a 
violation of this chapter. 

D. E. On the seaside of Eastern Shore seed areas, if more 
than one four-quart measure of undersized (less than three 
inches) oysters and shell is found per bushel of oysters to be 
marketed for direct consumption, it shall constitute a 
violation of this chapter. 

4VAC20-260-60. Penalty. 

A. As set forth in §§28.2-510 and 28.2-511 of the Code of 
Virginia, any person, firm, or corporation violating any 
provision of this chapter except 4VAC20-260-50 C shall be 
guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. 

B. As set forth in §28.2-526 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person violating any provision of 4VAC20-260-50 C of the 
chapter shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.  

C. In addition to the penalty set forth by §28.2-903 of the 
Code of Virginia, any person violating any provisions of this 
chapter shall return all oysters in possession to the water and 
shall cease harvesting on that day. All harvesting apparatus of 
the person in violation of this chapter shall be subject to 
seizure, and pursuant to §28.2-232 of the Code of Virginia, 
that person shall be subject to the immediate forfeiture of all 
oyster licenses and permits until appearing before the Marine 
Resources Commission. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-970; Filed October 1, 2007, 9:39 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-650. Establishment of Oyster 
Sanctuary Areas (amending 4VAC20-650-20, 4VAC20-
650-30, 4VAC20-650-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§28.2-201 and 28.2-507 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Brandy L. Battle, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
brandy.battle@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish sanctuary (no harvest) areas 
that replace former management areas and prescribe strict 
penalties on persons who don’t adhere to the management 
measures.  

CHAPTER 650 

ESTABLISHMENT OF OYSTER MANAGEMENT 
SANCTUARY AREAS  

4VAC20-650-20. Oyster replenishment management 
sanctuary areas.  

A. The following Oyster Management Sanctuary Area is 
established: The Wreck Shoals—James River Oyster 
Management Sanctuary Area shall consist of all public oyster 
grounds within the boundaries as with a boundary defined by 
as: beginning at Corner 1 of Public Ground No.1—Warwick 
County (Lat 37° 04.520'N, Lon 76° 33.7333'W—NAD 
1983),; thence southeasterly to Deep Creek Channel Marker 
"2" (Lat 37° 03.609'N, Lon 76° 32.102'W),; thence south-
southwesterly to James River Channel Marker "5" (Lat 37° 
02.345'N, Lon 76° 32.769'W),; thence southwesterly to the 
chimney of a beach house east of the Luter airstrip (Lat 37° 
01.666'N, Lon 76° 35.136'W),; thence northerly to James 
River Channel Marker "12" (Lat 37° 03.323'N, Lon 76° 
35.169'W),; thence northeasterly to Corner 190 of Plat File 
16734 (Lat 37° 04.904'N, Lon 76° 34.254'W),; thence 
southeasterly to Corner 1 of Public Ground 1—Warwick 
County, the point of beginning. 
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B. Constructed oyster reefs include all reefs constructed and 
marked by a "no harvesting" sign provided by the 
Conservation and Replenishment Department. 

4VAC20-650-30. Closure of management  sanctuary 
areas.  

A. All Oyster Management Sanctuary Areas shall be closed 
to the harvest of oysters, except that Seaside of the Eastern 
Shore Oyster Management Sanctuary Areas shall be closed to 
the harvest of all shellfish. Any person harvesting oysters or 
shellfish from the specified areas shall be guilty of a violation 
of this chapter.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any gear 
that could be used to harvest shellfish, within 300 100 feet of 
public or unassigned oyster grounds, in the area surrounding 
any oyster management sanctuary area, and such possession 
shall be considered as prima facie evidence of a violation of 
this chapter.  

4VAC20-650-40. Penalty.  

A. As set forth in §28.2-903 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person violating any provision of this chapter shall be guilty 
of a Class 3 misdemeanor, and a second or subsequent 
violation of any provision of this chapter committed by the 
same person within 12 months of a prior violation is a Class 1 
misdemeanor.  

B. In addition to the penalty prescribed set forth by §28.2-
903 of the Code of Virginia, any persons person violating any 
provision of this chapter shall forfeit all harvested oysters, 
have their gear license revoked immediately and shall be 
subject to seizure of all harvesting apparatus for the 
remainder of the season return all oysters in possession to the 
water and shall cease harvesting on that day. All harvesting 
apparatus of the person in violation of this chapter shall be 
subject to seizure, and pursuant to §28.2-232 of the Code of 
Virginia, that person shall be subject to the immediate 
forfeiture of all oyster licenses and permits until appearing 
before the Marine Resources Commission. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-969; Filed October 1, 2007, 9:40 a.m. 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-720. Pertaining to 
Restrictions on Oyster Harvest (amending 4VAC20-720-
20, 4VAC20-720-40 through 4VAC20-720-80, 4VAC20-
720-110; adding 4VAC20-720-95). 

Statutory Authority: §§28.2-201, 28.2-507, and 28.2-518 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Brandy L. Battle, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
brandy.battle@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish public grounds oyster harvest 
season dates and harvest restrictions and additional strict 
penalties for violations of this chapter. 

4VAC20-720-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Coan River Area" means that area of the Coan River to the 
Virginia-Maryland state line (PRV1A to PRV1B), except for 
that area above a line from Walnut Point (Survey Station 
Walnut) to Stephens Point (Survey Station Arthur).  

"Corrotoman River Hand Tong Area" means that area of the 
Corrotoman River north of the line drawn from Bar Pt. to the 
westernmost point on Black Stump Point.  

"Deep Rock Dredge Patent Tong Area (Lower Chesapeake 
Bay)" means the area described as follows: starting at Cherry 
Point, Gwynns Island, thence northeast to G"1P" along the 
south side of the channel to Piankatank River; thence east-
southeast to G"1R"; thence southwest to Sandy Point, 
Gwynns Island, North of Hole-in the-Wall.  

"Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area (DWS)" 
in the James River (574.66 Acres) means the areas beginning 
at a point approximately 530 feet west of Deep Water Shoal 
Light, said point being Corner 1 as located by Virginia State 
Plane Coordinates, South Zone, NAD 1927, north 
302,280.00, east 2,542,360.00; thence north azimuth 
30°49'59", 4,506.99 feet to Corner 2, north 306,150.00, east 
2,544,670.00; thence north azimuth 135°08'57", 5,430.60 feet 
to Corner 3, north 302,300.00, east 2,548,500.00; thence 
north azimuth 212°13'54", 3,487.42 feet to Corner 4, north 
299,350.00, east 2,546,640.00; thence north azimuth 
269°10'16", 2,765.29 feet to Corner 5, north 299,310.00, east 
2,543,875.00; thence north azimuth 332°58'26", 3,334.09 feet 
to Corner 1, being the point of beginning.  

"Drumming Ground Hand Scrape Area" means that portion 
of the Rappahannock and Corrotoman River, west of the Rt. 3 
bridge (Norris Bridge), and north of a line from the center of 
the Rt. 3 bridge (Norris Bridge) following westward along the 
channel to Towles Point at Buoy "R6", excluding the 
Corrotoman River north of a line from Bar Pt. to the 
westernmost point on Black Stump Point.  

"Great Wicomico River Hand Scrape Area" means that area 
east of a line drawn from Sandy Point to Cockrell Point.  

"Hand scrape" means any device or instrument with a 
catching bar having an inside measurement of no more than 
22 inches, which is used or usable for the purpose of 
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extracting or removing shellfish from a water bottom or the 
bed of a body of water.  

"James River Hand Scrape Area" means those public oyster 
grounds of the James River west of the Monitor and 
Merrimac Bridge Tunnel and northeast of the Mills E. 
Godwin/Nansemond River Bridge (Route 17) to the James 
River Bridge (Route 17).  

"Lower Machodoc Area" means that area of the Lower 
Machodoc River to the Virginia-Maryland state line (PRV5A 
to PRV5C).  

"Nomini River Hand Scrape Area" means that area of the 
Nomini River inside of Public Ground #1 to the Virginia-
Maryland state line (PRV6A to PRV6B) (Kingscopsico), 
Public Ground 26 (Deans) and Public Ground 28 (Cut).  

"Oyster Patent Tong" means any patent tong not exceeding 
100 pounds in gross weight, including any attachment other 
than rope and with the teeth not to exceed four inches in 
length. 

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Management Area 
(PTSMA)" means the area as defined in §28.2-524 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

"Pocomoke Sound" means that area northeast from a line 
from Beach Island Light to the house on the Great Fox Island.  

"Public oyster ground" means all those grounds defined in 
§28.2-551 of the Code of Virginia, all ground set aside as 
public oyster ground by court order, and all ground set aside 
as public oyster ground by order of the Marine Resources 
Commission.  

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 1" shall consist of all 
public grounds in the Rappahannock River with a boundary 
defined as beginning at the MLW west of Broad Creek (37° 
33.952', N., 76° 19.309', W.); thence north to a VMRC buoy 
on the Baylor line (37° 34.539', N., 76° 19.022', W.) to 
VMRC buoy (37° 34.683', N., 76° 19.100' W.); thence, 
northeasterly to VMRC Buoy (37° 35.017', N., 76° 19.450', 
W.); thence, northeasterly to Sturgeon Bar Light (7R) (37° 
35.150', N., 76° 19.733', W.); thence, continuing northwest to 
Mosquito Point Light (8R) (37° 36.100', N., 76° 21.300', W.); 
thence to the house on Mosquito Point (37° 36.523, N., 76° 
21.595', W.) bounded on the east by a line from Windmill 
Point (37° 35.793', N., 76° 14.180', W.); thence, southeast to 
Windmill Point Light (37° 35.793', N., 76° 14.180', W.); 
thence southwesterly to Stingray Point Light (37° 33.673', N., 
76° 16.362', W.); thence, westerly to Stingray Point (37° 
33.692', N., 76° 17.986', W.) 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 2" shall consist of all 
public grounds in the Rappahannock River with a boundary 
on the east side defined as beginning at the house at Mosquito 
Point (37° 36.523', N., 76° 21.595', W.); thence, southeast to 
Mosquito Point Light "8R" (37° 36.100', N., 76° 21.300', W.); 
thence, continuing southeasterly to Sturgeon Bar Beacon 

"7R" (37° 35.150', N., 76° 19.733', W.); thence, 
southwesterly to VMRC buoy (37° 34.933', N., 76° 21.050', 
W.); thence, southwesterly to VMRC buoy (37° 34.883', N., 
76° 21.100', W.); thence, to a pier west of Hunting Creek at 
Grinels (37° 34.436', N., 76° 26.288', W.). Rappahannock 
River Rotation Area 2 is bordered on the west by a line 
beginning at Mill Creek channel marker "4" (37° 35.083', N., 
76° 26.950', W.); thence, northeasterly to Mill Creek channel 
marker "2" (37° 35.483', N., 76° 24.567', W.); thence, 
northeasterly to the house at Mosquito Point (37° 36.523', N., 
76° 21.595', W.). 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 3" shall consist of all 
public grounds in the Rappahannock River with a boundary 
defined as beginning from the north channel fender at the 
Norris Bridge (37° 37.483', N., 76° 25.035', W.); thence, 
southeast to the house on Mosquito Point (37° 36.523', N., 
76° 21.595', W.); thence southwest to Mill Creek channel 
marker "2" (37° 35.483', N., 76° 24.567', W.); thence 
southwesterly to Mill Creek channel marker "4" (37° 35.083', 
N., 76° 24.950', W.); thence northeasterly to Parrotts Creek 
channel marker "1" (37° 36.033', N., 76° 25.417', W.); thence 
northerly to VMRC buoy (37° 36.333', N., 76° 25.200', W.); 
thence returning northerly to the Norris Bridge north channel 
fender. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 4" shall consist of all 
public grounds in the Rappahannock River with the boundary 
defined as beginning at the White Stone end of the Norris 
Bridge (37° 38.129', N., 76° 24.722', W.); thence, along the 
Norris Bridge to the north channel fender (37° 37.483', N., 
76° 25.035', W.); thence westerly to the VMRC buoy 5-4 (36° 
38.005', N., 76° 30.028', W.); thence, north to Old House 
Point (37° 39.139', N., 76° 29.685', W.); thence, northerly to 
Ball Point (37° 41.660', N., 76° 28.632', W.); thence, 
continuing northerly to Bar Point (37° 41.666', N., 76° 
28.866', W.); thence easterly to Black Stump Point (37° 
41.737', N., 76° 28.111', W.); thence, southeasterly to the 
western headland of Taylor Creek (37° 40.983', N., 76° 
27.602', W.); thence, southwesterly to VMRC Buoy at Ferry 
Bar north (37° 40.300', N., 76° 28.500', W.); thence, 
southeasterly to VMRC Buoy at Ferry Bar South (37° 
40.167', N., 76° 28.583, W.); thence, southwesterly to 
Corrotoman Point Duck Blind (37° 39.945', N., 76° 28.467', 
W.); thence, southerly to VMRC Buoy 543 (37° 39.267', N., 
76° 27.850', W.); thence, southerly to VMRC Buoy at 
Drumming West (37° 38.833', N., 76° 27.683', W.); thence, 
southerly to VMRC buoy at Drumming East (37° 38.833', N., 
76° 27.567', W.); thence, northeasterly to Orchard Point (37° 
38.924', N., 76° 27.126', W.). 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 5" shall consist of 
public grounds in the Rappahannock River with a boundary 
defined as beginning east of a line from the east headland of 
Whiting Creek (37° 36.658', N., 76° 30.312', W.); thence, 
north to Towlest Pt. buoy "6" (37° 38.033', N., 76° 30.283', 
W.); thence, easterly to VMRC buoy 5-4 (37° 38.005', N., 76° 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 29, 2007 

477 
 

30.028', W.) continuing easterly to the Norris Bridge north 
channel fender (37° 37.483', N., 76° 25.035', W.); thence, 
along the Norris Bridge southwest to Grey's Point (37° 
36.833', N., 76° 25.999', W.).  

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 6" shall consist of all 
public grounds in the Rappahannock River with a boundary 
defined as beginning from Balls Point (37° 39.355', N., 76° 
34.444', W.); thence, northeast to the flashing red buoy "8" 
off Rogue Pt. (37° 40.158', N., 76° 32.939', W.); thence, 
southeasterly to VMRC Towles Point Area buoy (37° 
38.833', N., 76° 31.536', W.); thence, southwesterly to 
VMRC White House Sanctuary buoy (37° 38.150', N., 76° 
30.533', W.); thence, southeasterly to red buoy "6" (37° 
38.033', N., 76° 30.283', W.); thence, southerly to the eastern 
headland of the mouth of Whiting Creek (37° 36.658', N., 76° 
30.312', W.). 

"Rappahannock River Hand Scrape Area 7" means that area 
shall consist of all public grounds in the Rappahannock River 
including all public grounds between a line extending from 
the eastern-most point of Long Point thence in an easterly 
direction to flashing red buoy #8; thence due east to Rogue 
Point, upriver to a line extending from Tarpley Point; thence 
in a southwesterly direction to flashing green buoy #13; 
thence south-southwesterly to Jones Point with a boundary 
defined as beginning south of a line from Punchbowl Point 
(37° 44.675', N., 76° 37.325', W.) to Monaskon Point (37° 
44.063', N., 76° 34.108', W.) to a line from Rogue's Point 
(37° 40.040', N., 76° 32.253', W.); thence, northwest to 
flashing red buoy "8" (37° 40.158', N., 76° 32.939', W.) 
continuing southwest to Balls Point (37° 39.355', N., 76° 
34.444', W.). 

"Rappahannock River Area 8" shall consist of all public 
grounds in the Rappahannock River with a boundary defined 
as beginning east and south of a line from Jones Point (37° 
48.786', N., 76° 40.835', W.) to Sharps Point (37° 49.364', N., 
76° 42.087', W.) to a line from Punchbowl Point (37° 44.675', 
N., 76° 37.325', W.) to Monaskon Point (37° 44.063', N., 76° 
34.108', W.). 

"Rappahannock River Hand Tong Area 9" means that area 
shall consist of all public grounds in the Rappahannock River 
with a boundary defined as beginning west of the line drawn 
from Sharps Pt. (37° 49.364', N., 76° 42.087', W.) Tarpley Pt. 
to Green Buoy #13 to Jones Pt (37° 46.786', N., 76° 40.835', 
W.) to the Route 360 (Drumming Bridge).  

"Standard oyster dredge" means any device or instrument 
having a maximum weight of 150 pounds with attachments, 
maximum width of 50 inches and maximum tooth length of 
four inches.  

"Tangier Sound" means that area from Tangier Light north 
to the Maryland-Virginia line (red buoy #6).  

"Tangier-Pocomoke Sounds Rotation Area 1" shall include 
all public and unassigned grounds within the PTSMA, in 
Tangier Sound, that are west and south of a line beginning at 
the Maryland-Virginia Line (37° 54.61360', N., 75° 
53.97396', W.) continuing south on Great Fox Island (37° 
53.69465', N., 75° 53.88988', W.); thence continuing west to 
point "Area 2-NW" (37° 53.36335', N., 75° 56.55896', W.); 
thence south to a point "Area 2-SW" (37° 48.44291', N., 75° 
56.48836', W.); thence continuing east to the north end of 
Watts Island (37° 48.77578', N., 75° 53.59941', W.). Area 1 
shall also include all of the public and unassigned grounds in 
the PTSMA in Pocomoke Sound south and west of a line 
beginning at the house on Great Fox Island (37° 53.69465', 
N., 75° 53.88988', W.); thence east southeast to Red Channel 
Marker # 8 (37° 52.45833', N., 75° 49.40000', W.); thence 
south southeast to Green Channel Marker "C – 1" (37° 
52.10000', N., 75° 47.80833', W.) thence southeast to 
Flashing Red "2+1" (37° 50.95333', N., 75° 46.64167', W.); 
thence south to the northernmost tip of Russell Island (37° 
48.38796', N., 75° 47.02241', W.). 

"Tangier-Pocomoke Sounds Rotation Area 2" shall include 
all public and unassigned grounds in the PTSMA with a 
boundary defined as beginning at the house on Great Fox 
Island (37° 53.69465', N., 75° 53.88988', W.); thence south to 
the north end of Watts Island (37° 48.77578', N., 75° 
53.59941', W.); thence west to a point "Area 2-SW" (37° 
48.44291', N., 75° 56.48836', W.); thence north to point 
"Area 2-NW" (37° 53.36335', N., 75° 56.55896', W.); thence 
back east to the house on Great Fox Island. This area includes 
Public Ground # 7, known as "Thoroughfare Rock" and 
Public Ground # 8, known as "California Rock" in Tangier 
Sound. Area 2 shall also include all public and unassigned 
grounds in the PTSMA in Pocomoke Sound northeast of a 
line beginning at the house on Great Fox Island (37° 
53.69465', N., 75° 53.88988', W.); thence east southeast to 
Red Channel Marker # 8 (37° 52.45833', N., 75° 49.40000', 
W.); thence south southeast to Green Channel Marker "C – 1" 
(37° 52.10000', N., 75° 47.80833', W.); thence southeast to 
Flashing Red "2+1" (37° 50.95333', N., 75° 46.64167', W.); 
thence south to the northernmost tip of Russell Island (37° 
48.38796', N., 75° 47.02241', W.). 

"Tangier Sound Hand Tong Area" means that area in the 
PTSMA south and west of a line from Fishbone Island thence 
southeast to bell buoy #5, thence south southwest to buoy #3 
(such area to include all of Public Ground 3 and Flat Rock) 
and shall be a hand tong area only and Cod Harbor 
(approximately 1,124 acres) beginning at a point of East Point 
Marsh, said point having the Virginia state coordinates, south 
section, coordinates of north 555,414.89, east 2,730,388.85; 
thence south 79°59', east 2,260 feet to a line designating the 
western extent of the PTSMA as described in §28.2-524 of 
the Code of Virginia; thence south 10°16', west 2,800 feet; 
thence south 28°46', west 8,500 feet to a point on Sand Spit, 
position north 545,131.78, east, 2,728,014.94; thence along 
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the mean low water line of Cod Harbor in a west, north and 
northeast direction crossing Canton Creek and Mailboat 
Harbor from headland to headland to the point of beginning.  

"Temples Bay Hand Scrape Area" means that area in the 
Rappahannock River west of the Rt. 3 bridge (Norris Bridge) 
and south of a line drawn from the center of the Rt. 3 bridge 
(Norris Bridge) upriver to Towles Pt. continuing the line 
upriver to Red Buoy 8; thence across to the southside of the 
river to Long Pt., thence back to the Rt. 3 bridge (Norris 
Bridge) along the southern shoreline.  

"Thomas Rock Hand Scrape Area" means an area in the 
James River with an eastern boundary being the James River, 
Route 17 bridge and a western boundary being a line drawn 
from the south side of the river at Rainbow Farm Point; 
thence to the channel buoy green #5; and thence to Blunt 
Point on the north side of the river.  

"Unassigned ground" means all grounds other than public 
oyster ground as defined by this chapter and which have not 
been set aside or assigned by lease, permit, or easement by 
the Marine Resources Commission.  

"Upper Chesapeake Bay (Blackberry Hangs Hand Scrape 
Area)" means the area in Public Ground Number 118, south 
from the Smith Point Light to the Great Wicomico Light.  

"Yeocomico River Area" means that area of the Yeocomico 
River inside Public Grounds 102, 104, 107, 112 and 113.  

"York River Hand Scrape Area" means an area above the 
Route 17 or Coleman Bridge in Public Ground No. 30, along 
the north side of the river, to just above Aberdeen Creek.  

4VAC20-720-40. Open season and areas.  

The lawful seasons and areas for the harvest of oysters from 
the public oyster grounds and unassigned grounds are as 
follows:  

1. James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal 
State Replenishment Seed Area and James River Jail Island 
and Point of Shoals Clean Cull Areas: October 1, 2006 
2007, through April 30, 2007 2008.  

2. Seaside of Eastern Shore: for clean cull oysters only, 
October 1, 2006 2007, through December 31, 2006 January 
31, 2008.  

3. The following areas shall be opened from October 1, 
2006 2007, through December 31, 2006 2007: the 
Rappahannock River Hand Tong Area Areas 8 and 9; the 
Corrotoman River Hand Tong Area; the Rappahannock 
River Hand Scrape Area; the Drumming Ground Hand 
Scrape Area (Rappahannock River); the Temples Bay 
Hand Scrape Area (Rappahannock River); the Nomini 
River Hand Scrape Area; the James River Hand Scrape 
Area; the Upper Chesapeake Bay (Blackberry Hangs Hand 
Scrape Area) (Upper Chesapeake Bay); the York River 
Hand Scrape Area; Deep Rock Patent Tong Area (Lower 

Chesapeake Bay); and the Thomas Rock Hand Scrape Area 
(James River).  

4. The Rappahannock River Rotation Areas 1 and 6: 
October 1, 2007, through November 30, 2007. 

4. Tangier Sound and 5. Tangier - Pocomoke Sound 
Sounds Rotation Area 1: December 1, 2006 2007, through 
February 28, 2007 2008.  

4VAC20-720-50. Closed harvest season and areas.  

It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters from 
the following areas during the specified periods:  

1. All public oyster grounds and unassigned grounds in the 
Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries, including the 
tributaries of the Potomac River, except those areas listed 
in 4VAC20-720-40, are closed: October 1, 2006 2007, 
through September 30, 2007 2008.  

2. James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal 
State Replenishment Seed Area and the James River Jail 
Island and Point of Shoals Clean Cull Areas: May 1, 2007 
2008, through September 30, 2007 2008.  

3. All public oyster grounds and unassigned grounds on the 
Seaside of Eastern Shore: for clean cull oysters, January 1, 
2007 February 1, 2008, through September 30, 2007 2008, 
and for seed oysters, all year. Oyster harvest from leased 
oyster ground and fee simple oyster ground shall require a 
permit from the Marine Resources Commission as set forth 
in 4VAC20-720-90.  

4. The following areas shall be closed from January 1, 
2007 2008, through September 30, 2007 2008: the 
Rappahannock River Hand Tong Area Areas 8 and 9; the 
Corrotoman River Hand Tong Area; the Rappahannock 
River Hand Scrape Area; the Temples Bay Hand Scrape 
Area (Rappahannock River); the Drumming Ground Hand 
Scrape Area (Rappahannock River); the Nomini River 
Hand Scrape Area; the James River Hand Scrape Area; 
Deep Rock Patent Tong Area (Lower Chesapeake Bay); 
the Thomas Rock Hand Scrape Area (James River) and the 
Upper Chesapeake Bay (Blackberry Hangs Hand Scrape 
Area (Upper Chesapeake Bay); and the York River Hand 
Scrape Area.  

5. The Rappahannock River Rotation Areas 1 and 6: 
December 1, 2007, through September 30, 2008. 

5. Tangier Sound and 6. Tangier - Pocomoke Sound 
Sounds Rotation Area 1: October 1, 2006 2007, through 
November 30, 2006 2007, and March 1, 2007 2008, 
through September 30, 2007 2008.  

4VAC20-720-60. Day and time limit.  

A. It shall be unlawful to take, catch or possess oysters on 
Saturday and Sunday from the public oyster grounds or 
unassigned grounds in the waters of the Commonwealth of 
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Virginia, except that this provision shall not apply to any 
person harvesting no more than one bushel per day by hand 
or ordinary tong for household use only during the season 
when the public oyster grounds or unassigned grounds are 
legally open for harvest. The presence of any gear normally 
associated with the harvesting of oysters on board the boat or 
other vehicle used during any harvesting under this exception 
shall be prima facie evidence of violation of this chapter. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or attempt 
to harvest oysters prior to sunrise or after 2 p.m. from the 
areas described in subdivisions 1, 3 and 4 5 of 4VAC20-720-
40, except as described in 4VAC20-720-105. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or attempt 
to harvest oysters in the Rappahannock River Rotation Areas 
1 and 6 prior to 7 a.m. and after 1 p.m. 

C. D. It shall be unlawful for a boat with an oyster dredge 
aboard to leave the dock until one hour before sunrise or 
return to the dock after sunset. 

D. E. It shall be unlawful for a boat with a hand scrape 
aboard to leave the dock until one-half hour before sunrise or 
return to the dock after sunset. 

4VAC20-720-70. Gear restrictions.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters in 
the James River Seed Areas, including the Deep Water Shoal 
State Replenishment Seed Area the James River Jail Island 
and Point of Shoals Clean Cull Areas, and the Rappahannock 
River Hand Tong Area 9, the Corrotoman River Hand Tong 
Area, except by hand or ordinary tong. It shall be unlawful for 
any person to have a hand scrape on board a boat that is 
harvesting or attempting to harvest oysters from public 
grounds by hand tong. 

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the seaside of 
the Eastern Shore, except by hand. 

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the hand 
scrape areas in the Rappahannock River Rotation Area 1 or 6, 
Rappahannock River Area 8; James River Hand Scrape Area, 
Thomas Rock Hand Scrape Area, Nomini River Hand Scrape 
Area, Upper Chesapeake Bay (Blackberry Hangs Hand 
Scrape Area), and York River Hand Scrape Area, except by 
hand scrape. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to have more than one 
hand scrape on board any boat that is harvesting oysters or 
attempting to harvest oysters from public grounds. It shall be 
unlawful for any person to have a hand tong on board a boat 
that is harvesting or attempting to harvest oysters from public 
grounds by hand scrape. 

E. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the Pocomoke 
and Tangier Sounds Management Tangier – Pocomoke 
Rotation Area 1, except by a standard oyster dredge. 

F. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the Deep 
Rock Patent Tong Area, except by a standard oyster patent 
tong. 

4VAC20-720-75. Gear license.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish, 
from the hand scrape areas in the Rappahannock River, James 
River, Upper Chesapeake Bay, York River, and Nomini River 
Area who has not , unless that person has first obtained a 
current hand scrape license.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish, 
with a dredge from the public oyster grounds in the PTSMA 
who has not Tangier – Pocomoke Sounds Rotation Area 1, 
unless that person has first obtained a current dredge license.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish, 
with a patent tong from the public oyster grounds in the Deep 
Rock Patent Tong Area unless that person has first obtained a 
current patent tong license. 

4VAC20-720-80. Quotas and harvest limits. 

A. In the James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water 
Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area, there shall be an oyster 
harvest quota of 80,000 bushels of seed oysters. It shall be 
unlawful for any person to harvest seed oysters from the 
James River Seed Area after the 80,000 bushel quota has been 
reached. In the James River Seed Area, including the Deep 
Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area, and Clean Cull 
Areas there shall be an oyster harvest quota of 15,000 bushels 
of clean cull oysters. It shall be unlawful for any person to 
harvest clean cull oysters from the James River Seed and 
Clean Cull Areas Area, including the Deep Water Shoal State 
Replenishment Seed Area, after the 15,000 bushel quota has 
been reached. 

B. The lawful daily limit of clean cull oysters harvested 
from the areas as described in subdivision subdivisions 3 and 
4 of 4VAC20-720-40 shall be determined by the number of 
registered commercial fishermen licensees on board the 
vessel multiplied by 10 eight bushels. It shall be unlawful to 
possess on board any vessel or to land more than the daily 
limit of clean cull oysters. 

C. In the PTSMA in Tangier Sound and in the Tangier - 
Pocomoke Sound Sounds Rotation Area 1, where harvesting 
is allowed by dredge, there shall be a harvest limit of eight 
bushels per registered commercial fisherman licensee on 
board the vessel. It shall be unlawful for any registered 
commercial fisherman licensee to possess more than eight 
bushels per day. No blue crab bycatch is allowed. It shall be 
unlawful to possess on board any vessel more than 250 hard 
clams. 

D. Harvesters who export the oysters to an out-of-state 
market or do not sell the oysters to a licensed and Department 
of Health certified Virginia buyer but sell the oysters directly 
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to the public for human consumption shall report oysters 
harvested on a daily basis and pay oyster taxes weekly. 

4VAC20-720-95. Harvesting permit required for the 
Rappahannock River Rotation Areas 1 through 6. 

A harvesting permit is required for the Rappahannock River 
rotation areas 1 through 6. Included with this permit will be a 
map of the two rotation areas that are open for harvesting in 
any given year and a culling stick specific to management 
provisions for these areas. It shall be unlawful for any person 
to harvest or attempt to harvest oysters from the 
Rappahannock River Rotation Areas 1 through 6 without first 
obtaining and having on board a harvest permit, map of lower 
Rappahannock Rotation Areas 1 through 6, and culling stick 
specific to these areas. 

4VAC20-720-110. Penalty. 

A. As set forth in §28.2-903 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person violating any provision of this chapter shall be guilty 
of a Class 3 misdemeanor and a second or subsequent 
violation of any provision of this chapter committed by the 
same person within 12 months of a prior violation is a Class 1 
misdemeanor. 

B. In addition to the penalty prescribed by law, any person 
violating any provisions of this chapter shall return all oysters 
in possession to the water, shall cease harvesting on that day, 
and all harvesting apparatus shall be subject to seizure and 
pursuant to §28.2-232 of the Code of Virginia shall be subject 
to the immediate forfeiture of all oyster licenses and permits 
until appearing before the Marine Resources Commission. 

C. In addition to the penalty prescribed by §28.2-802 of the 
Code of Virginia, any person violating any provisions of 
4VAC20-720-105 shall destroy all oysters harvested by that 
person in violation of 4VAC20-720-105 in the presence of a 
marine police officer, and shall be subject to the immediate 
forfeiture of all oyster licenses and permits until appearing 
before the Marine Resources Commission. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-971; Filed October 1, 2007, 9:41 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-130. Solid Waste Planning 
and Recycling Regulations (amending 9VAC20-130-10, 
9VAC20-130-40, 9VAC20-130-60, 9VAC20-130-70, 
9VAC20-130-90, 9VAC20-130-110, 9VAC20-130-120, 
9VAC20-130-130, 9VAC20-130-165, 9VAC20-130-175 
through 9VAC20-130-230; adding 9VAC20-130-125, 
repealing 9VAC20-130-140, 9VAC20-130-150). 

Statutory Authority: §10.1-1411 of the Code of Virginia; 42 
USC §6942(b), 40 CFR Parts 255 and 256. 

Effective Date: November 28, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Allen Brockman, Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 
23240, telephone 804-698-4468, FAX 804-698-4327, or 
email arbrockman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments revise the minimum recycling rate to 
conform to Chapters 7 and 40 of the 2006 Acts of 
Assembly, no longer require the Department of 
Environmental Quality to approve minor plan 
amendments, and eliminate a duplicative provision on the 
waste information assessment program. 

The changes made since publication of the proposed 
regulation (i) delete the requirement that the planning unit 
submit an action plan if the solid waste plan does not meet 
the requirements of the chapter; (ii) clarify the public 
participation requirements; and (iii) modify major and 
minor plan amendments. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 130  

REGULATIONS FOR THE DEVELOPMENT OF SOLID 
WASTE MANAGEMENT PLANS PLANNING AND 

RECYCLING REGULATIONS 

9VAC20-130-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following [ meaning, meanings ] unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Abandoned material" means any material that is: disposed 
of; burned or incinerated; or accumulated, stored or treated 
(but not recycled) before or instead of being abandoned by 
being disposed of, burned or incinerated.  
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"Agricultural waste" means all solid waste produced from 
farming operations, or related commercial preparation of farm 
products for marketing.  

"Board" means the Virginia Waste Management Board.  

"Commercial waste" means all solid waste generated by 
establishments engaged in business operations other than 
manufacturing or construction. This category includes, but is 
not limited to, solid waste resulting from the operation of 
stores, markets, office buildings, restaurants and shopping 
centers. 

"Compost" means a stabilized organic product produced by 
composting in such a manner that the product can be handled, 
stored, and/or applied to the land. 

"Composting" means the manipulation of the natural aerobic 
process of decomposition of organic materials to increase the 
rate of decomposition.  

"Construction waste" means solid waste that is produced or 
generated during construction, remodeling, or repair of 
pavements, houses, commercial buildings, and other 
structures. Construction wastes include, but are not limited to, 
lumber, wire, sheetrock, broken brick, shingles, glass, pipes, 
concrete, paving materials, and metal and plastics if they the 
metal or plastics are a part of the materials of construction 
material or empty containers for such materials. Paints, 
coatings, solvents, asbestos-containing material, any liquid, 
compressed gases, or semi-liquids and garbage are not 
construction wastes.  

"Contamination" means the degradation in quality of 
naturally occurring water, air, or soil resulting either directly 
or indirectly from human activity.  

"Debris waste" means solid waste resulting from land 
clearing operations. Debris wastes include, but are not limited 
to, stumps, wood, brush, leaves, soil, and road spoils.  

"Demolition waste" means solid waste produced by the 
destruction of structures and their foundations and includes 
the same materials as construction wastes.  

"Department" means the Department of Environmental 
Quality.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality or his designee. For purposes of 
submissions to the director as specified in the Waste 
Management Act, submissions may be made to the 
department. 

"Discarded material" means a material that is: (i) abandoned 
material as defined in this chapter; (ii) recycled material as 
defined in this chapter; or (iii) considered inherently waste-
like.  

"Disposal" means the discharge, deposit, injection, dumping, 
spilling, leaking or placing of any solid waste into or on any 

land or water so that such solid waste or any constituent of it 
may enter the environment or be emitted into the air or 
discharged into any waters.  

"Facility" means solid waste management facility unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise.  

"Friable asbestos" means any material containing more than 
1.0% asbestos by weight that, when dry, may be crumbled, 
pulverized or reduced to powder by hand pressure and 
regulated as a special waste.  

"Garbage" means readily putrescible discarded materials 
composed of animal, vegetable or other organic matter.  

"Groundwater" means any water below the land surface in 
the zone of saturation.  

"Hazardous waste" means a "hazardous waste" as defined by 
the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulation, 
9VAC20-60 [ -12 et seq ].  

"Household waste" means any waste material, including 
garbage, trash and refuse, derived from households. 
Households include single and multiple residences, hotels and 
motels, bunkhouses, ranger stations, crew quarters, 
campgrounds, picnic grounds and day-use recreation areas. 
Household wastes do not include sanitary waste in septic 
tanks (septage), which is regulated by other state agencies.  

"Incineration" means the controlled combustion of solid 
waste for disposal.  

"Incinerator" means a facility or device designed for the 
treatment for volume reduction of solid waste by combustion.  

"Industrial waste" means any solid waste generated by 
manufacturing or industrial process that is not a regulated 
hazardous waste. Such waste may include, but is not limited 
to, waste resulting from the following manufacturing 
processes: electric power generation; fertilizer/agricultural 
chemicals; food and related products/byproducts; inorganic 
chemicals; iron and steel manufacturing; leather and leather 
products; nonferrous metals manufacturing/foundries; organic 
chemicals; plastics and resins manufacturing; pulp and paper 
industry; rubber and miscellaneous plastic products; stone, 
glass, clay, and concrete products; textile manufacturing; 
transportation equipment; and water treatment. This term 
does not include mining waste or oil and gas waste.  

"Industrial waste landfill" means a solid waste landfill used 
primarily for the disposal of a specific industrial waste or a 
waste that is a byproduct of a production process.  

"Institutional waste" means all solid waste emanating from 
institutions such as, but not limited to, hospitals, nursing 
homes, orphanages, and public or private schools. It can 
include regulated medical waste from health care facilities 
and research facilities that must be managed as an a regulated 
medical waste.  
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"Integrated waste management plan" means a governmental 
plan that considers all elements of waste management during 
generation, collection, transportation, treatment, storage, 
disposal, and litter control and selects the appropriate 
methods of providing necessary control and services for 
effective and efficient management of all wastes. An 
"integrated waste management plan" must provide for source 
reduction, reuse and recycling within the jurisdiction and the 
proper funding and management of waste management 
programs. 

"Jurisdiction" means a local governing body; city, county or 
town; or any independent entity, such as a federal or state 
agency, which join with local governing bodies to develop a 
waste management plan.  

"Landfill" means a sanitary landfill, an industrial waste 
landfill, or a construction/demolition/debris landfill (as these 
terms are defined in  [ the Solid Waste Management 
Regulations ( ] 9VAC20-80).  

"Large diameter tree stumps" means tree stumps larger than 
six inches in diameter.  

"Litter" means all waste material disposable packages or 
containers, but not including the wastes of the primary 
processes of mining, logging, farming, or manufacturing. 

"Market" or "markets" means interim or end destinations for 
the recyclable materials, including a materials recovery 
facility (MRF). 

"Market conditions" means business and system related 
issues used to determine if materials can be targeted, 
collected, and delivered to an interim or end market in an 
efficient manner. Issues may include, but are not limited to: 
the cost of collection, storage and [ /or ] preparation [ or 
both ] ; the cost of transportation; accessible volumes of 
materials targeted for recycling; market value of materials 
targeted for collection/recycling; and distance to viable 
markets. 

"Materials recovery facility (MRF)" means, for the purpose 
of this regulation, a facility for the collection, processing and 
marketing of recyclable materials including, but not limited 
to: metal, paper, plastics, and glass.  

"Mulch" means woody waste consisting of stumps, trees, 
limbs, branches, bark, leaves and other clean wood waste that 
has undergone size reduction by grinding, shredding, or 
chipping, and is distributed to the general public for 
landscaping purposes or other horticultural uses, except 
composting as defined and regulated under the Solid Waste 
Management Regulations (9VAC20-80) or the Vegetative 
Waste Management and Yard Waste Composting Regulations 
(9VAC20-101)..  

"Municipal solid waste" means waste that is normally 
composed of residential, commercial, and institutional solid 

waste and residues derived from the combustion of these 
wastes.  

"Open dump" means a site on which any solid waste is 
placed, discharged, deposited, injected, dumped or spilled so 
as to create a nuisance or present a threat of a release of 
harmful substances into the environment or present a hazard 
to human health. Such a site is subject to the open dump 
criteria in 9VAC20-80-180.  

"Permit" means the written permission of the director to 
own, operate or construct a solid waste management facility. 

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, a governmental body, a municipal corporation or 
any other legal entity.  

"Principal recyclable materials (PRMs)" means paper, metal 
(except automobile bodies), plastic, glass, commingled yard 
waste, wood, and textiles, tires, used oil, used oil filters, used 
antifreeze, batteries, electronics, or material as may be 
approved by the director. "Principal recyclable materials" 
does not include large diameter tree stumps. Commingled 
materials [ refer refers ] to single stream collections of 
recyclables where sorting is done at a materials recovery 
facility. 

"Recycled material" means a material that is derived from 
recycling.  

"Recycling" means the process of separating a given waste 
material from the waste stream and processing it so that it 
may be used again as a raw material for a product, which may 
or may not be similar to the original product. For the purpose 
of this chapter, recycling shall not include processes that only 
involve size reduction. 

"Recycling residue" means the (i) nonmetallic substances, 
including but not limited to plastic, rubber, and insulation, 
[ that which ] remain after a shredder has separated [ for 
purposes of recycling ] the ferrous and nonferrous metal from 
a motor vehicle, appliance or other discarded metallic item 
[ for purposes of recycling ] and (ii) organic waste remaining 
after removal of metals, glass, plastics and paper that are to be 
recycled as part of a resource recovery process for municipal 
solid waste resulting in the production of a refuse derived 
fuel. 

"Refuse" means all solid waste products having the 
character of solids rather than liquids and that are composed 
wholly or partially of materials such as garbage, trash, 
rubbish, litter, residues from clean up of spills or 
contamination, or other discarded materials.  

"Regional boundary" means the boundary defining an area 
of land that will be a unit for the purpose of developing a 
waste management plan, and is established in accordance 
with 9VAC20-130-180 through 9VAC20-130-220.  
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"Regulated medical waste" means solid wastes so defined by 
the Regulated Medical Waste Management Regulations 
(9VAC20-120-10 et seq.)  as promulgated by the Virginia 
Waste Management Board.  

"Residential waste" means household waste any waste 
material, including garbage, trash and refuse, derived from 
households. Households include single and multiple 
residences, hotels and motels, bunkhouses, ranger stations, 
crew quarters, campgrounds, picnic grounds and day-use 
recreation areas. Residential wastes do not include sanitary 
waste in septic tanks (septage), that is regulated by other state 
agencies.  

"Resource recovery system" means a solid waste 
management system that provides for collection, separation, 
recycling and recovery of energy or solid wastes, including 
disposal of nonrecoverable waste residues.  

"Reuse" means the process of separating a given solid waste 
material from the waste stream and using it, without 
processing or changing its form, other than size reduction, for 
the same or another end use.  

"Rubbish" means combustible or slowly putrescible 
discarded materials that include but are not limited to trees, 
wood, leaves, trimmings from shrubs or trees, printed matter, 
plastic and paper products, grass, rags and other combustible 
or slowly putrescible materials not included under the term 
"garbage."  

"Sanitary landfill" means an engineered land burial facility 
for the disposal of solid household waste that, which is so 
located, designed, constructed and operated to contain and 
isolate the solid waste so that it does not pose a substantial 
present or potential hazard to human health or the 
environment. A sanitary landfill also may receive other types 
of solid wastes, such as commercial solid waste, 
nonhazardous sludge, hazardous waste from conditionally 
exempt small quantity generators, construction demolition 
debris, and nonhazardous industrial solid waste.  

"Scrap metal" means bits and pieces of metal parts such as 
bars, rods, wire, or metal pieces that may be combined 
together with bolts or soldering that are discarded material 
and can be recycled. For the purposes of this chapter, this 
definition includes the reclaimable metal parts of white 
goods.  

"Site" means all land and structures, other appurtenances, 
and improvements on them used for treating, storing, and 
disposing of solid waste. This term includes adjacent land 
within the facility boundary used for the utility systems such 
as repair, storage, shipping or processing areas, or other areas 
incident to the management of solid waste. (Note: This term 
includes all sites whether they are planned and managed 
facilities or open dumps.)  

"Sludge" means any solid, semisolid or liquid [ wastes ] with 
similar characteristics and effects  [ waste  ] generated from a 
public, municipal, commercial or industrial waste water 
wastewater treatment plant, water supply treatment plant, or 
air pollution control facility, or any other waste producing 
facility.  

"Solid waste" means any garbage, refuse, sludge and other 
discarded material, including solid, liquid, semisolid or 
contained gaseous material, resulting from industrial, 
commercial, mining and agricultural operations, or 
community activities but does not include (i) solid or 
dissolved material in domestic sewage, (ii) solid or dissolved 
material in irrigation return flows or in industrial discharges 
that are sources subject to a permit from the State Water 
Control Board, or (iii) source, special nuclear, or byproduct 
material as defined by the Federal Atomic Energy Act of 
1954, as amended of those materials defined as "solid waste" 
in [ the Solid Waste Management Regulations ( ] 9VAC20-80 
[ -140) ] . 

"Solid waste planning unit" means each region or locality 
that submits a solid waste management plan.  

"Solid waste management facility ("SWMF [ ' " ] )" means a 
site used for planned treating, storing, or disposing of solid 
waste. A facility may consist of several treatment, storage, or 
disposal units.  

"Source reduction" means any action that reduces or 
eliminates the generation of waste at the source, usually 
within a process. Source reduction measures include process 
modifications, feedstock substitutions, improvements in 
feedstock purity, improvements in housekeeping and 
management practices, increases in the efficiency of 
machinery, and recycling within a process. Source reduction 
minimizes the material that must be managed by waste 
disposal or nondisposal options by creating less waste. 
"Source reduction" is also called "waste prevention," "waste 
minimization," or "waste reduction." 

"Source separation" means separation of recyclable 
materials from the waste stream by the waste generator of 
materials that are collected for use, reuse, reclamation, or 
recycling.  

"Special wastes" means solid wastes that are difficult to 
handle, require special precautions because of hazardous 
properties or the nature of the waste creates waste 
management problems in normal operations.  

"Supplemental recyclable material" means waste tires, used 
oil, used oil filters, used antifreeze, automobile bodies, 
construction waste, demolition waste, debris waste, batteries, 
ash, sludge or large diameter tree stumps, or material as may 
be authorized by the director.  

"Tons" means 2,000 pounds. 
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"Transfer station" means any solid waste storage or 
collection facility at which solid waste is transferred from 
collection vehicles to haulage vehicles for transportation to a 
central solid waste management facility for disposal, 
incineration or resource recovery.  

"Trash" means combustible and noncombustible discarded 
materials and is used interchangeably with the term rubbish.  

"Used or reused material" means a material which is either:  

1. Employed as an ingredient (including use as an 
intermediate) in a process to make a product, excepting those 
materials possessing distinct components that are recovered 
as separate end products; or  

2. Employed in a particular function or application as an 
effective substitute for a commercial product or natural 
resources.  

For purposes of these regulations, "used or reused material" 
means a given solid waste material that is separated from the 
waste stream and used, without processing or changing its 
form, for the same or another end use.  

"Vegetative waste" means decomposible decomposable 
materials generated by yard and lawn care or land-clearing 
activities and includes, but is not limited to, leaves, grass 
trimmings, and woody wastes such as shrub and tree 
prunings, bark, limbs, roots, and stumps. For more detail see 
 [ Vegetative Waste Management and Yard Waste 
Composting Regulations ( ] 9VAC20-101 [ ) ] . 

"Waste exchange" means any system to identify sources of 
wastes with potential for use reuse, recycling or reclamation 
and to facilitate its acquisition by persons who reuse, recycle 
or reclaim it, with a provision for maintaining confidentiality 
of trade secrets.  

"White goods" means any stoves, washers, hot water heaters 
or other large appliances. For the purposes of this chapter, 
this definition also includes, but is not limited to, such Freon-
containing appliances as refrigerators, freezers, air 
conditioners, and dehumidifiers.  

"Yard waste" means decomposable waste materials 
generated by yard and lawn care and includes leaves, grass 
trimmings, brush, wood chips, and shrub and tree trimmings. 
Yard waste shall not include roots or stumps that exceed six 
inches in diameter.   

9VAC20-130-40. Purpose of regulations.  

The purpose of these regulations is to:  

1. Establish minimum requirements for solid waste 
management standards and planning requirements and 
recycling for protection of the public health, public safety, the 
environment, and natural resources throughout the 
Commonwealth; promote local and regional planning that 
provides for environmentally sound and compatible solid 

waste management with the most effective and efficient use 
of available resources;  

2. Establish procedures and rules for designation of regional 
boundaries for solid waste management plans;  

3. Establish state, local government, regional or area served 
by the plan responsibility responsible for meeting and 
maintaining the minimum recycling rates of 25%;  

4. Establish the requirement in compliance with the Virginia 
Waste Management Act, §§10.1-1411 and 10.1-1408.1 D 1 
(vi) of the Code of Virginia, for withholding issuance of 
permits for solid waste management facility; [ and ]  

5. Provide for reasonable variance and exemptions [ ; and . ]  

[ 6. Provide for reporting and assessment of solid waste 
management and recycling in the Commonwealth in 
accordance with the Virginia Waste Management Act, §10.1-
1413.1 of the Code of Virginia. ] 

9VAC20-130-60. Applicability of regulations.  

A. This chapter applies to all cities, counties, towns, 
designated regions solid waste planning units (under 
9VAC20-130-180) and permitted solid waste facilities within 
the solid waste planning unit, including those facilities 
covered under permit by rule procedures found in 9VAC20-
80. Any city, county, and town within that county may 
mutually agree to unite for the purpose of solid waste 
management planning, and upon joint written notification to 
the director, shall be deemed to be a single solid waste 
planning unit for development of a local solid waste 
management plan.  

B. Any cities, counties, and towns may be represented by a 
planning district, public service authority, or designated 
region that has been adopted under 9VAC20-130-90 B.  

C. The plan may (subject to statutory authority) specify that 
all solid waste must be recycled at the rate established by the 
plan regardless of the point of origin of the solid waste. Solid 
wastes from both public and private sources shall be subject 
to such requirement.  

9VAC20-130-70. Enforcement and appeal.  

A. All administrative enforcement and appeals taken from 
actions of the director relative to the provisions of this chapter 
shall be governed by the Virginia Administrative Process Act 
(§9-6.14:1 et seq. Chapter 40 (§2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 
of the Code of Virginia). Enforcement of this chapter will be 
in accord with §§10.1-1186, 10.1-1411 and 10.1-1455 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

B. After July 1, 2000 2007, no permit for a solid waste 
management new sanitary landfill, incinerator, or waste-to-
energy facility, or for an expansion, increase in capacity, or 
increase in the intake rate of an existing sanitary landfill, 
incinerator, or waste-to-energy facility shall be issued unless 
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the local or regional applicant has a plan approved in 
accordance with this chapter until the solid waste planning 
unit within which the facility is located has a solid waste 
management plan approved by the board in accordance with 
the regulations, except as otherwise provided in §10.1-1411 
of the Code of Virginia and the permit complies with the 
statutory requirements of the Virginia Waste Management 
Act, §§10.4-1411 and 10.1-1408.1 D 1 (iv) and 10.1-1411 of 
the Code of Virginia. These provisions shall not be applicable 
to permits or permit amendments required for the operation or 
regulatory compliance of any existing facility, regardless of 
type, nor shall it be cause for the delay of any technical or 
administrative review of pending amendments thereto. 

C. Failure to attain a mandated municipal solid waste 
recycling rate shall not be the sole cause for the denial of any 
permit or permit amendment, except as provided herein for 
sanitary landfills, incinerators, or waste-to-energy facilities, 
provided that all components of the solid waste management 
plan for the planning unit are in compliance with the 
regulations. 

D. No application for a new solid waste management facility 
permit or for a modification of a permit to allow an existing 
solid waste management facility to expand or increase its 
capacity shall be complete unless the application contains 
certification, from the governing body for the locality in 
which the facility is or will be located, that (i) the proposed 
new facility or the expansion or increase in capacity of the 
existing facility is consistent with the applicable local or 
regional solid waste management plan developed and 
approved pursuant to §10.1-1411 of the Code of Virginia; or 
(ii) the local government or solid waste management planning 
unit has initiated the process to revise the solid waste 
management plan to include the new or expanded facility. 
Inclusion of such certification shall be sufficient to allow 
processing of the permit application, up to but not including 
publication of the draft permit or permit amendment for 
public comment, but shall not bind the director in making the 
determination required by §10.1-1408.1 D1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

E. No application for coverage under a permit-by-rule or for 
modification of coverage under a permit-by-rule shall be 
complete unless it contains certification from the governing 
body of the locality in which the facility is to be located that 
the facility is consistent with the solid waste management 
plan developed and approved in accordance with §10.1-1411 
of the Code of Virginia.  

9VAC20-130-90. Relationship to other bodies of 
regulation.  

A. This chapter is a solid waste management planning and 
recycling regulation that specifies minimum standards and 
planning requirements for solid waste management in the 
Commonwealth, including solid waste management planning 

by regional or local governmental entities of the 
Commonwealth and assessment of solid waste management 
in the Commonwealth. If there is a mutually exclusive 
conflict between this chapter and other adopted nonhazardous 
solid waste management regulations of this agency, the 
provisions of this chapter are superior. In any detail where 
there exists no mutually exclusive conflict between this 
chapter and other regulations of the board, compliance with 
all regulations is required.  

B. Multi-jurisdictional plans developed in fulfillment of the 
requirements of this chapter must be adopted under authority 
of the Regional Cooperation Act (Chapter 42 (§15.2-4200 et 
seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia), the Virginia 
Water and Waste Authorities Act (Chapter 51 (§15.2-5100 et 
seq.) of Title 15.2 of The Code of Virginia), the provisions of 
the Code of Virginia governing joint exercise of powers by 
political subdivisions (§15.2-1300), or other authority as 
applicable.  

C. If there is a mutually exclusive conflict between this 
chapter and the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management 
Regulations, the provisions of the hazardous waste 
regulations are superior. In any detail where no such mutually 
exclusive conflict exists, compliance with all regulations is 
required.  

9VAC20-130-110. Schedule for plan development.  

A. Every city, county and town Each solid waste planning 
unit in the Commonwealth shall develop and maintain a solid 
waste management plan or amend an existing solid waste 
management plan and submit it for approval in accordance 
with this chapter. Existing plans may be amended by 
addendum of items such as consideration of the waste 
management hierarchy, the recycling program 
implementation activities and other requirements of this 
chapter that are not a part of the existing plan. A local 
jurisdiction participating in an authorized regional solid waste 
management plan is not required to develop a separate plan.  

B. A complete, revised solid waste management plan in 
compliance with this chapter shall be provided to the 
department no later than July 1, 2004.  

C. B. The department shall review and approve or return 
comments on the deficiencies in each plan submitted in 
accordance with 9VAC20-130-110 A no later than 90 days 
from the date the plans are received. In the event the 
department is unable to complete its review within 90 days, 
the applicant will be notified and given a date as to when the 
review will be completed.  

D. C. Each submitter who receives comments on its solid 
waste management plan under subsection CB of this section 
shall submit a corrected revised solid waste management plan 
to the department no later than 90 days following receipt of 
notification of deficiencies.  
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E. D. Plans approved without alteration shall become 
effective upon notification of such approval by the 
department. If after review of the corrected plan submitted 
pursuant to subsection D C of this section, the department 
cannot approve the corrected solid waste management plan 
because it the department finds the plans plan not to be in 
accordance with this chapter, it will issue a notice of intent to 
disapprove to the submitter. The notice of intent to 
disapprove shall set forth (i) the reason for the disapproval, 
(ii) what is required for approval, and (iii) the right of the 
submitter to an informational informal fact-finding 
proceeding under Article 3 of the Virginia Administrative 
Process Act (§9-6.14:1 et seq. Chapter 40 (§2.2-4000 et seq.) 
of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia), and (iv) allow the 
development of an action plan for the solid waste planning 
unit as set forth [ in this chapter ] at 9VAC20-130-120 I. The 
department will give priority consideration for review of 
corrected plans where the local or regional body solid waste 
planning unit has a pending permit application for a solid 
waste management facility.  

F E. The director may revoke the approval of any plan or 
require its revision and resubmittal if there is evidence that 
there has been significant deviation from the plan. Significant 
deviations are departures or omissions from activities planned 
in accordance with 9VAC20-130-120. The department will 
issue a notice of intent to revoke or require revision and 
resubmittal of a plan. The notice of intent shall set forth (i) 
whether the department intends to revoke or require revision 
and resubmittal of the plan, (ii) the reason the department 
intends to take the action, and (iii) the right of the submitter 
of the plan to an informational informal fact-finding 
proceeding under Article 3 of the Virginia Administrative 
Process Act (§9-6.14:1 et seq. Chapter 40 (§2.2-4000 et seq.) 
of the Code of Virginia).  

9VAC20-130-120. Mandatory plan contents Planning 
requirements.  

A. [ The solid waste management plan shall include Basic 
basic ] planning elements: 

1. An integrated waste management strategy; Objectives 
for solid waste management within the planning unit; 

2. A discussion as to how the plan will be implemented and 
tracked, consisting of an integrated waste management 
strategy to support and promote the hierarchy set forth at 
9VAC20-130-30; giving preference to alternatives in the 
following order of priority: source reduction, reuse, 
recycling, resource recovery, incineration, and landfilling; 

3. Objectives for solid waste management within the 
jurisdiction;  

4. 3. Definition of incremental stages of progress toward 
the objectives and schedule for their implementation, 
including, for compliance with 9VAC20-80-500, specific 

solid waste management facility names, facility capacities, 
and life based on 20-year need; 

5. Descriptions of the funding and resources necessary, 
including consideration of fees dedicated to future facility 
development 4. Strategy for the provision of necessary 
funds and resources; 

6. Strategy for the provision of necessary funds and 
resources 5. Descriptions of the funding and resources 
necessary, including consideration of fees dedicated to 
future facility development; 

7. 6. Strategy for public education and information on 
source reduction, reuse, and recycling; and 

8. 7. Consideration of public and private sector 
partnerships and private sector participation in execution of 
the plan. Existing private sector recycling operations 
should be incorporated in the plan and the expansion of 
such operations should be encouraged.  

B. A minimum recycling rate of 25% of the as specified in 
§10.1-1411 of the Code of Virginia for total municipal solid 
waste generated annually in each city, county, town or region 
solid waste planning unit shall be met and maintained. The 
plan shall describe how this rate shall be met or exceeded.  

1. The plan shall describe how the minimum recycling rate 
shall be met or exceeded.  The department may approve 
the solid waste management plans of units that do not 
currently meet the minimum recycling rate only if all other 
requirements of these regulations have been met and the 
solid waste planning unit demonstrates its commitment to 
implementing a strong and detailed action plan for 
recycling to meet the required rate. 

2. When a solid waste planning unit’s annual recycling rate 
falls below the minimum rate, it shall constitute evidence 
of a significant deviation from the plan. The plan may be 
subject to revocation by the department under 9VAC20-
130-110 E unless the solid waste planning unit submits a 
recycling action plan acceptable to the department per 
subsection I of this section. 

C. Calculation methodology shall be included in the plan.  

1. The plan shall describe the method of calculating the 
rate of recycling. The following formula shall be used:  

Rate = (Recycled/Total) X 100%  

Where, "Recycled" equals the amount of principal 
recyclable material received during the previous 12 months 
for recycling and "Total" is the amount of municipal solid 
waste generated within the jurisdiction during the previous 
12 months.  

The amounts may be expressed in the following units:  

a. The actual weight of each component.  
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b. The volume of each component.  

c. The estimated weight of each component based on the 
most accurate survey or estimated per capita weight.  

2. The amount of supplemental recyclable material that is 
reused or recycled may be added into both the "Recycled" 
and "Total" amounts in each calculation method.  

3. Any local government or regional solid waste 
management body that is participating in the used tire 
management program sponsored by the department may 
add the amount of those tires to both the "Recycling" and 
"Total" amounts in the recycling rate calculation.  

4. Any local government or regional solid waste 
management body may include mulched yard waste in both 
the "Recycled" and "Total" amounts simultaneously for the 
required recycling rate calculations if it can be 
demonstrated that the finished mulch will be marketed or 
otherwise used productively. In addition, any local 
government or regional solid waste management body may 
include composted yard waste in both the "Recycled" and 
"Total" amounts simultaneously for the required recycling 
rate calculations if it can be demonstrated that the finished 
compost will be marketed or otherwise used productively.  

5. Any local government or regional solid waste 
management body may include used oil, used oil filters, 
and used antifreeze in the "Recycled" and "Total" amounts 
if it can be demonstrated that the oil, used oil filters and 
used antifreeze will be marketed or used productively.  

6. Where a source reduction of any municipal solid waste 
material or reuse of a principal recyclable material is 
documented to have occurred, is accurately quantified and 
is requested as a petition for a variance in accordance with 
9VAC20-130-230, the director may issue a credit for the 
amount to be added into the "Recycled" and "Total" 
amounts in each calculation method. The credit may be for 
a part of the source reduction or reuse amount if the 
director finds that to be more appropriate. The director 
shall grant such a credit only where an effective recycling 
program is being implemented. The director shall not grant 
the credit if the minimum recycling rate of 25% is being 
achieved.  

7. These regulations shall permit a credit, to be added into 
the "Recycled" and "Total" amounts in each calculation 
method, of one ton for each ton of recycling residue 
generated in Virginia and deposited in a landfill permitted 
under subsection M of §10.1-1408.1of the Code of 
Virginia. The total annual credits shall not exceed one-fifth 
of the 25% required recycling rate.  

C. The solid waste management plan shall include data and 
analyses of the following type(s) for each jurisdiction. Each 
item below shall be in a separate section and labeled as to 
content: 

1. Population information and projections for 20 years of 
population growth and development patterns; 

2. Urban concentrations, geographic conditions, economic 
growth and development, markets for the reuse and 
recycling of materials, transportation conditions, and 
related factors; 

3. Estimates of solid waste generation from residential, 
commercial institutional, industrial, construction, 
demolition, debris and other types of sources, including the 
amounts reused, recycled, recovered as a resource, 
incinerated and landfilled.  Entities engaged in the 
collection, processing, and marketing of recyclable 
materials should provide data for incorporation into the 
recycling rate calculation, when requested by the planning 
unit. 

4. A listing of existing and planned solid waste collection, 
storage, treatment, transportation, disposal and other 
management facilities, their projected capacities, expected 
life and systems for their use; 

5. All milestones in the implementation of the solid waste 
management plan over the 20-year projection and the 
parties responsible for each milestone; 

6. A description of programs for solid waste reduction, 
reuse, recycling, resource recovery, incineration, storage, 
treatment, disposal and litter control; 

7. A description of outreach programs for waste exchange, 
public education and public participation; 

8. The procedures for and results of evaluating solid waste 
collection, including transfer stations; and 

9. The assessment of all current and predicted needs for 
solid waste management for a period of 20 years and a 
description of the action to be taken to meet those needs. 

D. All known solid waste disposal sites, closed, inactive and 
active, within the area of the solid waste management plan 
shall be documented and recorded at a centralized archive 
authorized to receive and record information and a copy shall 
be sent to the director department. All new sites shall be 
recorded at the same central data source. 

E. A methodology shall be utilized to monitor the amount of 
solid waste of each type produced within the area of the solid 
waste management plan and to record the annual production 
by solid waste types at a centralized archive and a copy shall 
be sent to the director department. Waste types include but 
are not limited to broad classes such as municipal solid waste, 
construction/demolition/debris, industrial, regulated medical 
waste, white goods, friable asbestos, petroleum contaminated 
soil and the major categories of principle and supplemental 
recyclable materials.  
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F. The solid waste management plan shall include, when 
developed locally, a copy of the local governing body's 
resolution adopting the solid waste management plan. 

G. The solid waste management plan shall include, when 
developed regionally, a copy of the resolution approving the 
plan adopted in accordance with the Virginia Area 
Development Act, the Virginia Water and Waste Authorities 
Act, the provisions of the Code of Virginia governing joint 
exercise of powers by political subdivisions (§15.2-1300 of 
the Code of Virginia), or other authority as applicable. 

H. The solid waste management plan shall clearly and 
explicitly demonstrate the manner in which the goals of the 
planning requirements in these regulations shall be 
accomplished and actions to take if these requirements are not 
met. 

I. A planning unit that does not meet the requirements of 
these regulations  [ may shall ] submit an action plan, by mail 
or electronic mail, for approval by the department.  Such 
action plans shall include: 

1. A description of the deficiency that requires the 
development of the action plan. 

2. A time schedule to resolve the deficiency(ies) associated 
with the planning unit’s failure to meet the requirements of 
the approved solid waste management plan. 

3. A reporting requirement to the department, of a 
minimum of once every six months, including activities or 
updates documenting how the action plan requirements are 
being met. 

4. Plans and all subsequent reports and submittals shall be 
reviewed by the department within 30 days of receipt by 
the department. 

5. All the department’s requests for further information or 
response(s) shall be provided within 30 days of receipt at 
the planning unit.  The department may grant reasonable 
extensions to these deadlines on a case-by-case basis.  

9VAC20-130-125. Recycling requirements. 

A. Each solid waste planning unit shall maintain a minimum 
recycling rate for municipal solid waste generated within the 
solid waste planning unit pursuant to the following schedule: 

1. Except as provided in subdivision 2 of this subsection, 
each solid waste planning unit shall maintain a minimum 
25% recycling rate; or 

2. Each solid waste planning unit shall maintain a 
minimum 15% recycling rate if it has (i) a population 
density rate of less than 100 persons per square mile 
according to the most recent United States Census, or (ii) a 
not seasonally adjusted civilian unemployment rate for the 
immediately preceding calendar year that is at least 50% 

greater than the state average as reported by the Virginia 
Employment Commission for such year.  

B. The minimum recycling rate shall be determined by the 
following formula:  

Recycling Rate = [PRMs recycled] ÷ [MSW generated]  
+  [all Credits in C] 

Where:    PRMs recycled equals the amount of principle 
recyclable materials received for recycling each calendar 
year; and 

MSW generated equals the sum of PRMs recycled and 
MSW disposed. (MSW disposed equals the amount of 
MSW delivered to landfills, transfer stations, incineration 
and waste-to-energy facilities) 

The amounts shall be expressed in tons using one of the 
methods below:  

1. The actual weight of each component in tons; or 

2. The volume of each component, converted to weight in 
tons (conversion chart in Form DEQ 50-30). 

C. Credits may be added to the recycling formula in 
subsection B of this section provided that the aggregate of all 
such credits shall not exceed five percentage points of the 
annual municipal solid waste recycling rate achieved for each 
solid waste planning unit: 

1. A credit of one ton for each ton of any nonmunicipal 
solid waste material that is recycled; 

2. A credit of one ton for each ton of any solid waste 
material that is reused; 

3. A credit of one ton for each ton of recycling residue 
generated in Virginia and deposited in a landfill permitted 
under §10.1-1408.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. A credit of two percentage points of the minimum 
recycling rate mandated for the solid waste planning unit 
for a source reduction program that is implemented within 
the solid waste planning unit. The existence and operation 
of such a program shall be certified by the solid waste 
planning unit; and 

5. A credit of one ton for each inoperable vehicle for which 
a locality receives reimbursement from the Virginia 
Department of Motor Vehicles under §46.2-1407 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

D. Yard wastes and vegetative wastes are deemed to be 
recycled if they are composted or mulched and the finished 
mulch or compost is marketed or otherwise used 
productively.  Tires are deemed to be recycled if they are 
beneficially used in a method consistent with the waste tire 
program operated by the department. Used oil, oil filters and 
antifreeze are deemed to be recycled if they are marketed or 
otherwise used productively.  
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9VAC20-130-130. Public participation. 

[ A. Prior to the solid waste planning unit's submission of a 
solid waste management plan or a major amendment to the 
plan to the department, the submitter shall publish a notice 
and hold a public hearing on the plan in accordance with the 
procedures of the ] local [ government ] or regional planning 
agency [ or governments in the solid waste planning unit. 
When the solid waste planning unit represents multiple 
government units, the submitter of a major plan 
amendment(s) needs to conduct the above public participation 
requirements only in the county or locality where the major 
amendment is to be located. A record of the public hearing, a 
copy of all written comments and the submitter's response to 
all comments received shall be submitted with the plan. 

B. Plan developers shall, in accordance with their own rules 
and procedures, provide for ] extensive [ participation by the 
public through the use of ] citizen advisory committees and 
[ public meetings during the development of the plan. A. 
Each solid waste planning unit shall provide for public 
participation during plan development through such means as 
public meetings or citizen advisory committees. 

B. Prior to submission of a plan or major amendment the 
solid waste planning unit shall publish a notice and hold a 
public hearing on the plan. When the solid waste planning 
unit represents multiple government units, the unit submitting 
a major plan amendment(s) needs to conduct the above public 
participation requirements only in the county or locality 
involved in the major amendment. A record of the public 
hearing, a copy of all written comments and the submitter’s 
response to all comments received shall be submitted with the 
plan or plan amendment. ]  

9VAC20-130-140. Plan objectives. (Repealed.) 

Every solid waste management plan shall be a fully 
integrated waste management plan that considers all elements 
of waste management. The plan shall:  

1. Include consideration of the hierarchy defined in 
9VAC20-130-30 giving preference to alternatives in the 
following order of priority: source reduction, reuse, 
recycling, resource recovery, incineration, and landfilling;  

2. Clearly and explicitly demonstrate the manner in which 
the goals of the mandatory objectives defined in 9VAC20-
130-120 shall be accomplished;  

3. Include, when developed locally, a copy of the local 
governing body's resolution adopting the plan; and  

4. Include, when developed regionally, a copy of the 
resolution approving the plan adopted in accordance with 
the Virginia Area Development Act, the Virginia Water 
and Waste Authorities Act, the provisions of the Code of 
Virginia governing joint exercise of powers by political 

subdivisions §15.2-1300 of the Code of Virginia, or other 
authority as applicable.  

9VAC20-130-150. Incorporated data. (Repealed.) 

The local government or regional solid waste management 
plan shall include data and analyses of the following type for 
each jurisdiction. Each item below shall be in a separate 
section and labeled as to content:  

1. Population information and projections for 20 years of 
population growth and development patterns;  

2. Urban concentrations, geographic conditions, economic 
growth and development, markets for the reuse and 
recycling of materials, transportation conditions, and 
related factors;  

3. Estimates of solid waste generation from households, 
commercial institutions, industries and other types of 
sources, including the amounts reused, recycled, recovered 
as a resource, incinerated and landfilled. Estimates should 
identify special waste to include, at least, the following: 
stumps, land-clearing debris and construction wastes, 
motor vehicle tires, waste oil, batteries, sludges, mining 
wastes, septage, agricultural wastes and spill residues;  

4. A listing of existing and planned solid waste collection, 
storage, treatment, transportation, disposal and other 
management facilities, their projected capacities, expected 
life and systems for their use;  

5. All milestones in the implementation of the solid waste 
management plan over the 20-year projection and the 
parties responsible for each milestone;  

6. A description of programs for solid waste reduction, 
reuse, recycling, resource recovery, incineration, storage, 
treatment, disposal and litter control;  

7. A description of outreach programs for waste exchange, 
public education and public participation;  

8. The procedures for and results of evaluating solid waste 
collection, including transfer stations; and  

9. The assessment of all current and predicted needs for 
solid waste management for a period of 20 years and a 
description of the action to be taken to meet those needs.  

9VAC20-130-165. Waste Information and Assessment 
Program Annual recycling data reporting.  

A. The owners or operators of all permitted facilities that 
treat, store, or dispose of solid waste shall report by March 31 
of each year the amount of solid waste, by weight or volume, 
received and managed in the Commonwealth during the 
preceding calendar year. The report shall identify solid waste 
by the following categories: (i) municipal solid waste; (ii) 
construction and demolition debris; (iii) industrial waste; (iv) 
regulated medical waste; (v) vegetative and yard waste; (vi) 
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incinerator ash; (vii) sludge other than sludge that is land 
applied in accordance with §32.1-164.5 of the Code of 
Virginia; (viii) tires; (ix) white goods; (x) friable asbestos; 
(xi) petroleum contaminated soil; and (xii) other special 
waste. For each such category the report shall include an 
estimate of the amount that was generated outside of the 
Commonwealth and the jurisdictions where such waste 
originated.  

The report shall also estimate the amount of solid waste 
managed or disposed of by each of the following methods: (i) 
recycling; (ii) composting; (iii) landfilling; (iv) incineration 
(v) sending off site for further management; and (vi) stored 
on site on December 31 of the reporting year. This section 
shall not apply to captive waste management facilities. The 
report is to be sent to the department regional office for the 
facility's location.  

Information on the available capacity and expected life of 
the facilities at the disposal rates submitted in this subsection 
shall be included in the annual report required by this section.  

B. At the option of the facility owner, the data collected may 
include an accounting of the facility's economic benefits to 
the locality where the facility is located including the value of 
disposal and recycling facilities provided to the locality at no 
cost or reduced cost, direct employment associated with the 
facility, and other economic benefits resulting from the 
facility during the preceding calendar year.  

C. No facility shall be required pursuant to this section to 
provide information that is a trade secret as defined in §59.1-
336 of the Code of Virginia.  

D. Every city, county and town in the Commonwealth, or 
solid waste management planning region approved pursuant 
to 9VAC20-130-180, shall submit to the department by April 
30 of each year, the data and calculations required in 
9VAC20-130-120 B and C.  

Every solid waste planning unit shall submit to the 
department by April 30 of each year the data and calculations 
required in 9VAC20-130-125 A, B, and C.  

9VAC20-130-175. Amendments to plans.  

A. Amendments to the plans shall be classified as major or 
minor. These classifications are described in this section 
below.  

1. Major amendments shall include: 

a. Any addition, deletion, or cessation of operation of any 
solid waste [ disposal ] facility;  

b. Any increase in landfill capacity;  

c. Any change that moves toward implementation of a 
waste management strategy that is lower in the waste 
management hierarchy;  

d. Action plan(s), including an action plan to address a 
planning unit’s recycling rate that has fallen below the 
statutory minimum; [ and or ]  

e. Any change to membership in the approved area.  

2. Minor amendments shall include [ any: 

a. Any addition, deletion, or cessation of operation of any 
facility that is not a solid waste disposal facility; 

b. Any ] change that moves toward implementation of a 
waste management strategy that is higher in the waste 
management hierarchy [ and any; or 

c. Any ] nonsubstantive administrative change such as a 
change in name.  

[ 3.  ] Minor amendments shall be submitted, by mail or 
electronic mail, directly to the department for notation. The 
planning units are the repository for the minor amendments 
to the plans.  

B. Any amendments to the plans shall be approved by the 
department prior to implementation.  

C. B. Major amendments shall require the same public 
participation as detailed in 9VAC20-130-130 before being 
submitted, by mail or electronic mail, to the department for 
approval prior to implementation.  

D. Minor amendments shall be submitted directly to the 
department for approval.  

E. C. The department shall review major amendments and 
approve or return comments on the any deficiencies in each 
amendment submitted in accordance with this section no later 
than 90 days from the date the plans amendments are 
received. In the event the department is unable to complete its 
review within 90 days, the applicant will be notified and 
given a date as to when the review will be completed. No 
department approval shall be necessary for minor 
amendments. 

F. D. Each submitter who receives comments on his solid 
waste management plan major plan amendment under 
subsection E C of this section shall submit a corrected 
amendment to the department no later than 90 days following 
notification of deficiencies.  

G. Amendments E. Major amendments approved without 
alteration shall become effective upon notification. If after 
review of the corrected amendment submitted pursuant to 
subsection F D of this section, the department cannot approve 
the corrected amendment because it finds the amendment not 
to be in accordance with this chapter, it will issue a notice of 
intent to disapprove to the submitter. The notice of intent to 
disapprove shall set forth (i) the reason for the disapproval, 
(ii) what is required for approval, and (iii) the right of the 
submitter to an informational informal fact-finding 
proceeding under Article 3 of the Virginia Administrative 
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Process Act (§9-6.14:1 et seq.  Chapter 40 (§2.2-4000 et seq.) 
of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia). The department will 
give priority consideration for review of corrected 
amendments when the local or regional body planning unit 
has a pending permit application for a solid waste 
management facility. 

F. Solid waste management planning units are required to 
maintain current plans. On or before each five-year 
anniversary of the department’s plan-approval date, the 
planning unit shall submit a letter to the department, by mail 
or electronic mail, certifying that the following plan elements, 
listed in 9VAC20-130-120 C, have been maintained and 
updated: waste generation estimates are current, the schedule 
increments have been met, and a projected 20-year waste 
management capacity remains available or projects otherwise 
are on schedule to meet the unit’s solid waste needs. The 
letter of certification will be used in the department’s 
assessment of whether any plan amendments are necessary 
and to ensure compliance with 9VAC20-130-110 E.   

9VAC20-130-180. Designation of regions solid waste 
planning units.  

The director has been authorized by the Governor to 
designate regional boundaries defining areas and jurisdictions 
to be considered for joint development of solid waste 
management plans. Only those regions solid waste planning 
units meeting the standards established in this chapter will be 
considered. Any group of jurisdictions may petition the 
director for designation as a region solid waste planning unit, 
and, if the proposed region meets the standards established 
for designation, the director shall approve the request.  

9VAC20-130-190. Development of designated regions 
solid waste planning units.  

A. At least 14 days prior to designating a regional boundary 
for solid waste management planning, the director shall place 
a notice of the proposed regional boundary and an 
opportunity to comment in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations and in a newspaper of general circulation within 
the proposed region solid waste planning unit.  

B. If, as a result of the notices required by subsection A of 
this section, the director feels a significant need exists to hold 
a public hearing on the issues, a public hearing shall be held 
in the proposed region prior to the designation. At least 14 
days prior to the public hearing, a notice of the proposed 
public hearing shall appear in the same publications as the 
notice under subsection A of this section.  

9VAC20-130-200. Considerations in designating a 
regional boundary solid waste planning unit boundaries.  

A. The following shall be considered in designating regional 
solid waste planning unit boundaries:  

1. Geographic areas or jurisdictions which have a history 
of cooperating to solve problems in environmental or other 
related matters;  

2. Existing regional management systems, authorities or 
similar institutions;  

3. The size, configuration and location of the regional areas 
should have sufficient solid waste contribution and market 
availability to support the solid waste management system;  

4. Solid waste types within areas and mutuality of solid 
waste management interests;  

5. Geologic, hydrologic, soil and groundwater conditions; 
availability of land and soils; and natural barriers and 
ecosystems; and  

6. Existing planning areas established for purposes other 
than solid waste management including the existence of 
informational databases containing data related to that 
needed for solid waste management planning and 
recycling.  

B. Areas included within a solid waste planning boundary 
[ unit’s ] boundaries [ unit's ] may be local or regional.  

1. A local area may include a city, town or county and any 
towns within the county that through mutual agreement 
join with the county for the purpose of developing a plan.  

2. A regional area may include:  

a. The jurisdictions with existing regional planning 
district boundaries;  

b. Any combination of local governments formally joined 
to form a region or service authority, or  

c. Existing waste management or public service 
authorities.  

9VAC20-130-210. Criteria for designating a regional 
planning agency solid waste planning unit.  

A. The director may authorize an official committee or 
public body as authorized to develop, adopt and promulgate 
the solid waste management plan.  

B. Prospective regional planning agencies solid waste 
planning units shall have:  

1. Demonstrated ability to plan, manage or operate solid 
waste management and recycling services; or  

2. Completed planning that resulted in successful 
implementation of solid waste management and recycling 
facilities or services.  

C. An entity designated as responsible for developing a 
regional solid waste management plan shall:  
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1. Be an organization that represents the executive boards 
of jurisdictions within the region solid waste planning unit;  

2. Have planning authority for the regional area;  

3. Be capable of readily starting the plan development 
work tasks;  

4. Have an established methodology for resolving 
conflicts, making planning decisions and providing public 
participation in the development of the plan;  

5. Have experience in environmental planning and have a 
staff experienced in the work tasks involved in such 
planning;  

6. Have established a methodology and authority sufficient 
to implement the plan once it is complete and approved; 
and  

7. Have access to informational resources within the 
region.  

9VAC20-130-220. Amendment of regional boundary solid 
waste planning unit boundaries.  

The director may amend a regional solid waste planning 
unit’s boundary based on an application from the governing 
body or bodies of the region solid waste planning unit. Along 
with the application, each locality (within the original region 
and any locality being added) must submit a letter 
acknowledging the change in the boundary. 

9VAC20-130-230. Petitioning for variance or exemption.  

A. Any person regulated by this chapter may petition the 
director to grant a variance or an exemption from any 
requirement of this chapter subject to the provisions of this 
section. Any petition submitted to the director department is 
also subject to Article 3 of the Virginia Administrative 
Process Act (§9-6.14:1 et seq.  Chapter 40 (§2.2-4000 et seq. 
of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia ) .  

B. The director may grant the variance or an exemption 
provided the applicant demonstrates to the satisfaction of the 
director that: 

1. The solid waste planning unit has demonstrated that it 
has made a good faith effort to comply with the minimum 
recycling rates and with the requirements of this chapter 
before that unit petitioned for a variance; and 

2. (i) If the minimum recycling rate is addressed in the 
petition, and strict application of the minimum recycling 
rates will result in undue hardship as a result of the solid 
waste planning unit’s particular market conditions that are 
beyond the planning unit’s control; or (ii) if the recycling 
rate is not addressed in the petition and granting the 
variance will not have an adverse impact on the integrity of 
the overall solid waste management plan. 

B. C. The petition shall be submitted to the director 
department by certified mail and shall include:  

1. The petitioner's name and address;  

2. A statement of petitioner's interest in the proposed 
action;  

3. A description of desired action and a citation of the 
regulation from which a variance is requested;  

4. A description of need and justification for the proposed 
action, including impacts from existing operations and 
market conditions (if, based on the evidence submitted in a 
petition, the director determines that market conditions 
within a county, city, town or region make unreasonable 
the mandatory recycling rates specified in this chapter and 
that the market conditions are beyond the control of the 
county, city, town or region, a variance from those rates 
may be issued the planning unit chooses to petition for 
[ subdivision ] B 2 (i) of this section);  

5. The duration of the variance, if applicable;  

6. The potential impact of the variance on public health or 
the environment;  

7. 6. Other information believed by the applicant to be 
pertinent; and  

8. 7. The following statement signed by the petitioner or 
authorized representative:  

"I certify that I have personally examined and am 
familiar with the information submitted in this petition 
and all attached documents, and that, based on my 
inquiry of those individuals immediately responsible for 
obtaining the information, I believe that the submitted 
information is true, accurate, and complete. I am aware 
that there are significant penalties for submitting false 
information, including the possibility of fine and 
imprisonment." 

D. Petition processing and resolution. 

1. In the case of a denial, the petitioner’s procedural rights 
are outlined in Chapter 40 (§2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 
of the Code of Virginia. 

2. If the director grants a variance request, the notice to the 
petitioner shall provide that the variance may be terminated 
upon a finding by the director that the petitioner has failed 
to comply with any variance requirements.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering 9 VAC 20-130, 
Solid Waste Planning and Recycling Regulations, are not 
being published; however, the name of each form is listed 
below. The forms are available for public inspection at the 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of 
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Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS  

[ Solid Waste Information and Assessment Program—
Reporting Table, DEQ Form 50-25 (rev. 2/05). ] 

Locality Recycling Rate Report, DEQ Form 50-30 (rev. 1/03 
2/06). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-29; Filed October 5, 2007, 10:47 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with §2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-40. Credit Unions (adding 
10VAC5-40-5, 10VAC5-40-60). 

Statutory Authority: §§6.1-225.3, 6.1-225.3:1, 6.1-225.22, 
6.1-225.57, and 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia; 12 USC 
§1757 (7)(I) and 12 CFR 712.1. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be 
scheduled upon request. 

Public comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on December 14, 2007. 

Agency Contact: George Latham, Deputy Commissioner, 
BFI, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 640, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9698, FAX (804) 
371-9416, or email george.latham@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulation establishes the terms and 
conditions under which state-chartered credit unions 
may invest in or make loans to credit union service 
organizations. 

AT RICHMOND, OCTOBER 5, 2007 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
CASE NO. BFI-2007-00161 

Ex Parte: In re: credit union 
service organizations 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

WHEREAS, §§ 6.1-225.3, 6.1-225.3:l, and 6.1-225.22 of the 
Code of Virginia authorize the State Corporation Commission 
("Commission") to promulgate regulations to implement the 
provisions of the Virginia Credit Union Act and permit state-
chartered credit unions to exercise powers comparable to 
federal credit unions; 

WHEREAS, subsection 10 of § 6.1-225.57 of the Code of 
Virginia authorizes state-chartered credit unions to invest 
their funds in or make loans to entities known as credit union 
service organizations ("CUSOs"); 

WHEREAS, 12 U.S.C. § 1757(7)(I) and 12 C.F.R. § 712.1 
et seq. prescribe the terms and conditions under which federal 
credit unions may invest in or make loans to CUSOs; and 

WHEREAS, based on the terms and conditions under which 
federal credit unions are authorized to invest in or make loans 
to CUSOs, the Bureau of Financial Institutions has proposed 
regulations that would impose similar terms and conditions 
on state-chartered credit unions that wish to invest their funds 
in or make loans to CUSOs; 

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulations are appended hereto and 
made a part of the record herein. 

(2) Comments or requests for hearing on the proposed 
regulations must be submitted in writing to Joel H. Peck, 
Clerk, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 
Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 
23218, on or before December 14, 2007. Requests for 
hearing shall state why a hearing is necessary and why 
the issues cannot be adequately addressed in written 
comments. All correspondence shall contain a reference 
to Case No. BFI-2007-00161. Interested persons desiring 
to submit comments electronically may do so by 
following the instructions available at the Commission’s 
website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/caseinfo.htm. 

(3) The proposed regulations shall be posted on the 
Commission’s website at 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/caseinfo.htm.  

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of the 
proposed regulations, shall be sent to the Registrar of 
Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register. 
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AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent to the 
Commissioner of Financial Institutions, who shall forthwith 
mail a copy of this Order, together with a copy of the 
proposed regulations, to all state-chartered credit unions and 
such other interested parties as he may designate. 

10VAC5-40-5. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Credit union service organization" or "CUSO" means a 
corporation, limited liability company, or limited partnership 
of which more than 50% of the voting shares or ownership 
interest is held, directly or indirectly, by one or more credit 
unions or organizations of credit unions. 

"GAAP" means generally accepted accounting principles. 

"Immediate family member" means a spouse or other family 
member living in the same household. 

"Officials" means a credit union’s directors or committee 
members. 

"Reserves" means the total of undivided earnings, regular 
reserves, and any other type of funds held in reserve except 
allowances for loan losses. 

"Senior management employee" means a credit union’s 
chief executive officer (typically the president or 
treasurer/manager), any assistant chief executive officers 
(e.g., assistant president, vice president, or assistant 
treasurer/manager), and the chief financial officer 
(comptroller). 

10VAC5-40-60. Credit union service organizations 
(CUSOs). 

A. 1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, a state-
chartered credit union shall not, directly or indirectly, invest 
its funds or make loans pursuant to subdivision 10 of §6.1-
225.57 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. A CUSO shall not, directly or indirectly, invest any of 
its funds in a corporation, limited liability company, 
partnership, association, trust, or other legal or commercial 
entity unless the state-chartered credit union or credit 
unions having an interest in the CUSO would be permitted 
to directly invest its funds in such entity and the state-
chartered credit union or credit unions comply with the 
notice requirements in subsection B and the other 
provisions of this section. 

3. CUSOs shall not, directly or indirectly, acquire control 
of another depository institution, nor invest in shares, 
stocks, or obligations of an insurance company, trade 
association, liquidity facility, or similar organization, 
corporation, or association. 

B. 1. At least 60 days prior to investing in or making loans 
to a CUSO, either directly or indirectly, a state-chartered 
credit union shall give written notice of its proposed 
investment or loans to the Commissioner of Financial 
Institutions (commissioner) along with a business plan, 
marketing plan, financial analyses, and any other information 
the commissioner may require concerning the proposed 
investment or loans. 

2. If a state-chartered credit union wishes to subsequently 
increase the amount of its investment in or loans to a 
CUSO, it shall give written notice to the commissioner at 
least 30 days prior to such additional investment or loans 
along with any additional information the commissioner 
may require. 

3. A state-chartered credit union may invest up to 5.0% of 
its outstanding shares and reserves in a CUSO. However, a 
state-chartered credit union’s total investments in all 
CUSOs shall not exceed, in the aggregate, 5.0% of its 
outstanding shares and reserves. 

4. A state-chartered credit union may make loans to a 
CUSO provided that the amount of the loans, when 
combined with the credit union’s total investments in and 
loans to all CUSOs, does not exceed, in the aggregate, 
5.0% of its outstanding shares and reserves. 

5. If the limits specified above are reached or exceeded 
because of the profitability of the CUSO and the related 
GAAP valuation of the investment under the equity 
method, without an additional cash outlay by the state-
chartered credit union, divestiture is not required. A state-
chartered credit union may continue to invest up to these 
limits without regard to the increase in the GAAP 
valuation resulting from a CUSO’s profitability. 

6. The 5.0% limits specified in this subsection may be 
exceeded with prior written approval from the 
commissioner. 

C. 1. A state-chartered credit union may invest in or make 
loans to a CUSO only if the CUSO is or will be structured as 
a corporation, limited liability company, or limited 
partnership. A state-chartered credit union may only 
participate in a limited partnership as a limited partner. 

2. A state-chartered credit union may invest in or make 
loans to a CUSO only if the CUSO is or will be providing 
its products and services exclusively to (i) the credit union 
or credit unions that have invested in the CUSO; (ii) the 
members of the credit union or credit unions that have 
invested in the CUSO; (iii) other credit unions; and (iv) 
organizations of credit unions. 

3. A state-chartered credit union shall account for its 
investments in or loans to a CUSO in conformity with 
GAAP. 
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4. A state-chartered credit union shall obtain written 
agreements from a CUSO, prior to investing in or making 
loans to the CUSO, that the CUSO shall: 

a. Account for all of its transactions in accordance with 
GAAP; 

b. Prepare quarterly financial statements and obtain an 
annual financial statement audit of its financial 
statements by a licensed certified public accountant in 
accordance with generally accepted auditing standards. A 
wholly owned CUSO is not required to obtain a separate 
annual financial statement audit if it is included in the 
annual consolidated financial statement audit of the 
credit union that is its parent; and 

c. Provide the Bureau of Financial Institutions (bureau) 
and its staff with complete access to any books and 
records of the CUSO and the ability to review CUSO 
internal controls, as deemed necessary by the bureau in 
carrying out its responsibilities under the Virginia Credit 
Union Act (§6.1-225.1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

5. A CUSO shall comply with all applicable federal, state, 
and local laws and regulations. 

D. 1. A state-chartered credit union and a CUSO shall be 
operated in a manner that demonstrates to the public the 
separate existence of the state-chartered credit union and the 
CUSO. Good business practices dictate that each shall operate 
so that: 

a. Its respective business transactions, accounts, and 
records are not intermingled; 

b. Each observes the formalities of its separate company 
procedures; 

c. Each is adequately financed as a separate unit in light 
of normal obligations reasonably foreseeable in a 
business of its size and character; 

d. Each is held out to the public as a separate enterprise; 

e. The state-chartered credit union does not dominate the 
CUSO to the extent that the CUSO is treated as a 
department of the credit union; and 

f. Unless the state-chartered credit union has guaranteed 
a loan obtained by the CUSO, all borrowings by the 
CUSO shall indicate that the state-chartered credit union 
is not liable. 

2. If a CUSO in which a state-chartered credit union has an 
investment plans to change its structure, the credit union 
shall obtain prior, written legal advice that the CUSO shall 
remain established in a manner that will limit potential 
exposure of the credit union to no more than the loss of 
funds invested in or loaned to the CUSO. The legal advice 
shall address factors that have led courts to "pierce the 
corporate veil" such as inadequate capitalization, lack of 

separate corporate identity, common boards of directors 
and employees, control of one entity over another, and lack 
of separate books and records. The legal advice may be 
provided by independent legal counsel of either the 
investing state-chartered credit union or the CUSO. 

E. The commissioner may at any time, based upon 
supervisory, legal, or safety and soundness considerations, 
prohibit or otherwise limit any CUSO activities or services. 

F. A state-chartered credit union may only invest in or make 
loans to CUSOs that are or will be sufficiently bonded or 
insured for their specific operations. 

G. A state-chartered credit union may only invest in or make 
loans to CUSOs that are or will be engaged in activities and 
services that are reasonably related to the operations of credit 
unions, including but not limited to the following: 

1. Checking and currency services (i.e., check cashing, 
coin and currency services, money orders, savings bonds, 
travelers checks, and purchase and sale of U.S. Mint 
commemorative coin services); 

2. Clerical, professional and management services (i.e., 
accounting services, courier services, credit analyses, 
facsimile transmissions, copying services, internal audits 
for credit unions, locator services, management and 
personnel training and support, marketing services, 
research services, and supervisory committee audits); 

3. Business loan origination; 

4. Consumer mortgage loan origination and processing; 

5. Electronic transaction services (i.e., automated teller 
machine (ATM) services, credit card and debit card 
services, data processing, electronic fund transfer (EFT) 
services, electronic income tax filing, payment item 
processing, wire transfer services, and cyber financial 
services); 

6. Financial counseling services (i.e., developing and 
administering Individual Retirement Accounts (IRAs), 
Keogh, deferred compensation, and other personnel benefit 
plans, estate planning, financial planning and counseling, 
income tax preparation, investment counseling, and 
retirement counseling); 

7. Fixed asset services (i.e., management, development, 
sale, or lease of fixed assets, and sale, lease, or servicing of 
computer hardware or software); 

8. Insurance brokerage or agency (i.e., agency for sale of 
insurance, provision of vehicle warranty programs, and 
provision of group purchasing programs); 

9. Leasing personal property and real estate leasing of 
excess CUSO property; 
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10. Loan support services (i.e., debt collection services, 
loan processing, loan servicing, loan sales, and selling 
repossessed collateral); 

11. Record retention, security and disaster recovery 
services (i.e., alarm-monitoring and other security services, 
disaster recovery services, microfilm, microfiche, optical 
and electronic imaging, CD-ROM data storage and 
retrieval services, provision of forms and supplies, and 
record retention and storage); 

12. Securities brokerage services; 

13. Shared credit union branch (service center) operations; 

14. Student loan origination; 

15. Trust and trust-related services (i.e., acting as 
administrator for prepaid legal service plans, acting as 
trustee, guardian, conservator, estate administrator, or in 
any other fiduciary capacity, and other trust services); and 

16. Real estate brokerage services and real estate listing 
services. 

H. In order for a state-chartered credit union to invest in or 
make loans to a CUSO that is or will be engaged in activities 
or services that are not enumerated in subsection G of this 
section, the state-chartered credit union shall obtain prior 
approval from the State Corporation Commission 
(commission). A request for commission approval of an 
activity or service that is not enumerated in subsection G of 
this section shall be submitted with the written notice 
required by subsection B of this section and include a full 
explanation and complete documentation of the activity or 
service and how that activity or service is reasonably related 
to the operations of credit unions. 

I. 1. If a state-chartered credit union has outstanding loans or 
investments in a CUSO, then the credit union’s officials, 
senior management employees, and their immediate family 
members shall not receive, either directly or indirectly, any 
salary, commission, investment income, or other income or 
compensation from the CUSO or from any person being 
served through the CUSO. This provision does not prohibit 
the credit union’s officials or senior management employees 
from assisting in the operation of a CUSO, provided the 
officials or senior management employees are not 
compensated by the CUSO. Furthermore, the CUSO may 
reimburse the state-chartered credit union for the services 
provided by such credit union officials and senior 
management employees only if the account receivable of the 
credit union due from the CUSO is paid in full at least every 
120 days. 

2. The prohibition contained in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection also applies to state-chartered credit union 
employees not otherwise covered if the employees are 
directly involved in dealing with the CUSO, unless the 
state-chartered credit union’s board of directors determines 

that the credit union’s employees’ positions do not present 
a conflict of interest. 

3. All transactions with business associates or family 
members of state-chartered credit union officials, senior 
management employees, or their immediate family 
members that are not specifically prohibited by subdivision 
1 or 2 of this subsection shall be conducted at arm’s length 
and in the interest of the state-chartered credit union. 

J. 1. A state-chartered credit union’s investments in CUSOs 
in existence prior to February 1, 2008, shall conform with this 
section no later than August 1, 2008, unless the commissioner 
grants prior written approval to continue the credit union’s 
investments for a stated period. 

2. A state-chartered credit union’s loans to CUSOs in 
existence prior to February 1, 2008, shall conform with this 
section no later than August 1, 2008, unless (i) the 
commissioner grants prior written approval to continue the 
credit union’s loans for a stated period, or (ii) under the 
terms of its loan agreement, the credit union cannot require 
accelerated repayment without breaching the agreement. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-921; Filed October 5, 2007, 1:20 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Physical Therapy (amending 18VAC112-
20-90, 18VAC112-20-130, 18VAC112-20-131, 18VAC112-
20-150; adding 18VAC112-20-81). 

Statutory Authority: §§54.1-2400 and 54.1-3482.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: November 1, 2007, through October 31, 
2008. 

Agency Contact: Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 
Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Dr., Suite 300, Richmond, 
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4424, FAX (804) 527-4413, 
or email lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The adoption of an emergency regulation by the Board of 
Physical Therapy is required to comply with amendments 
to Chapters 9 (§54.1-900 et seq.) and 18 (§54.1-1800 et 
seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and the second 
enactment clause of Chapters 9 and 18 of the 2007 Acts 
of Assembly, which require: "That the Board shall 
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promulgate regulations to implement provisions of this 
act to be effective within 280 days of its enactment." 

The purpose of the regulatory action is compliance with 
the statute that requires the board to establish criteria 
for certification to provide certain physical therapy 
services without referral.  Regulations must provide for 
promotion of patient safety and for continuing education 
to carry out direct access duties.  Therefore the 
qualifications for certification are a doctoral or 
transitional program that includes education in 
screening for medical disorders or differential diagnosis 
or specific continuing education in those areas coupled 
with at least three years of experience in active practice.  
In addition, a physical therapist who intends to maintain 
certification will have to direct at least four of the 
required 30 hours of continuing education each biennium 
to topics related to practice in a direct access 
environment. 

In compliance with the law, a physical therapist treating 
a patient without referral will be required to obtain an 
attestation from a patient that he is not currently being 
treated for the same condition by another practitioner 
and written consent to provide a copy of the patient 
record to another practitioner identified by the patient if 
the condition for which he is seeking treatment does not 
improve after the 14-day period in which the physical 
therapist is allowed to treat. 

The qualifications required for certification in direct 
access assure that the physical therapist has education 
and training in the recognition of and screening for 
medical disorders to protect patient health and safety 
while in the care of the physical therapist.  The 
requirement for written consent to provide patient 
records to another health care practitioner will assure 
that the physical therapist is able to work collaboratively 
with other practitioners to provide safe and effective 
treatment. 

The amended regulations (i) establish the qualifications 
and application requirements for certification in direct 
access; (ii) set out the responsibility for the physical 
therapist to obtain the medical release and patient 
consent required by the statute; (iii) establish a biennial 
renewal of certification with continuing education hours; 
and (iv) establish the fees for direct access certification. 

18VAC112-20-81. Requirements for direct access 
certification. 

A. An applicant for certification to provide services to 
patients without a referral as specified in §54.1-3482.1 of the 
Code of Virginia shall hold an active, unrestricted license as a 
physical therapist in Virginia and shall submit evidence 
satisfactory to the board, that he has one of the following 
qualifications: 

1. Completion of a doctor of physical therapy program 
approved by the American Physical Therapy Association; 
or 

2. Completion of a transitional program in physical therapy 
as recognized by the board; or 

3. At least three years of post-licensure, active practice 
with evidence of 15 contact hours of continuing education 
in medical screening or differential diagnosis, including 
passage of a post-course examination. The required 
continuing education shall be offered by a provider or 
sponsor listed as approved by the board in 18VAC112-20-
131 and may be face-to-face or on-line education courses. 

B. In addition to the evidence of qualification for 
certification required in subsection A, an applicant seeking 
direct access certification shall submit to the board: 

1. A completed application as provided by the board; 

2. Any additional documentation as may be required by the 
board to determine eligibility of the applicant; and 

3. The application fee as specified in 18VAC112-20-150. 

18VAC112-20-90. General responsibilities. 

A. The physical therapist shall be responsible for managing 
all aspects of the physical therapy care of each patient and 
shall provide: 

1. The initial evaluation for each patient and its 
documentation in the patient record; and 

2. Periodic evaluations prior to patient discharge, including 
documentation of the patient's response to therapeutic 
intervention. 

B. The physical therapist shall communicate the overall plan 
of care to the patient or his legally authorized representative 
and shall also communicate with a referring doctor of 
medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, podiatry, or dental 
surgery, nurse practitioner or physician assistant to the extent 
required by §54.1-3482 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. A physical therapist assistant may assist the physical 
therapist in performing selected components of physical 
therapy intervention to include treatment, measurement and 
data collection, but not to include the performance of an 
evaluation as defined in 18VAC112-20-10. 

D. A physical therapist assistant's visits to a patient may be 
made under general supervision. 

E. A physical therapist providing services with a direct 
access certification as specified in §54.1-3482 of the Code of 
Virginia shall utilize the Direct Access Patient Attestation and 
Medical Release Form prescribed by the board or otherwise 
include in the patient record the information, attestation and 
written consent required by subsection B of §54.1-3482. 
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18VAC112-20-130. Biennial renewal of license and 
certification. 

A. A physical therapist and physical therapist assistant who 
intends to continue practice shall renew his license biennially 
by December 31 in each even-numbered year and pay to the 
board the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC112-20-150.  

B. A licensee whose licensure has not been renewed by the 
first day of the month following the month in which renewal 
is required shall pay a late fee as prescribed in 18VAC112-
20-150. 

C. In order to renew an active license, a licensee shall be 
required to: 

1. Complete a minimum of 160 hours of active practice in 
the preceding two years; and 

2. Comply with continuing competency requirements set 
forth in 18VAC112-20-131. 

D. In order to renew a direct access certification, a licensee 
shall be required to: 

1. Hold an active, unrestricted license as a physical 
therapist; and 

2. Comply with continuing education requirements set 
forth in 18VAC112-20-131 I. 

18VAC112-20-131. Continued competency requirements 
for renewal of an active license. 

A. In order to renew an active license biennially after 
December 31, 2003, a physical therapist or a physical 
therapist assistant shall complete at least 30 contact hours of 
continuing learning activities within the two years 
immediately preceding renewal. In choosing continuing 
learning activities or courses, the licensee shall consider the 
following: (i) the need to promote ethical practice, (ii) an 
appropriate standard of care, (iii) patient safety, (iv) 
application of new medical technology, (v) appropriate 
communication with patients, and (vi) knowledge of the 
changing health care system. 

B. To document the required hours, the licensee shall 
maintain the Continued Competency Activity and Assessment 
Form that is provided by the board and that shall indicate 
completion of the following: 

1. A minimum of 15 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapists and 10 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapist assistants shall be in Type 1 face-to-face 
courses. For the purpose of this section, "course" means an 
organized program of study, classroom experience or 
similar educational experience that is directly related to the 
clinical practice of physical therapy and approved or 
provided by one of the following organizations or any of 
its components: 

a. The Virginia Physical Therapy Association; 

b. The American Physical Therapy Association; 

c. Local, state or federal government agencies; 

d. Regionally accredited colleges and universities; 

e. Health care organizations accredited by the Joint 
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations (JCAHO); 

f. The American Medical Association - Category I 
Continuing Medical Education course; and  

g. The National Athletic Trainers Association. 

2. No more than 15 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapists and 20 of the contact hours required for 
physical therapist assistants may be Type 2 activities or 
courses, which may or may not be offered by an approved 
organization but which shall be related to the clinical 
practice of physical therapy. Type 2 activities may include 
but not be limited to consultation with colleagues, 
independent study, and research or writing on subjects 
related to practice. 

3. Documentation of specialty certification by the 
American Physical Therapy Association may be provided 
as evidence of completion of continuing competency 
requirements for the biennium in which initial certification 
or recertification occurs. 

C. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing 
competency requirements for the first biennial renewal 
following the date of initial licensure in Virginia. 

D. The licensee shall retain his records on the completed 
form with all supporting documentation for a period of four 
years following the renewal of an active license. 

E. The licensees selected in a random audit conducted by the 
board shall provide the completed Continued Competency 
Activity and Assessment Form and all supporting 
documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 
audit. 

F. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 
the licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

G. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 
continuing competency requirements for up to one year for 
good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 
prior to the renewal date. 

H. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 
requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 
licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 
service, or officially declared disasters. 

I. Physical therapists holding certification to provide direct 
access without a referral shall include four contact hours 
related to carrying out direct access duties as part of the 
required 30 contact hours of continuing education. Courses 
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for direct access continuing education shall relate to clinical 
practice in a direct access setting. 

18VAC112-20-150. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 
not be refundable. 

B. Licensure by examination. 

1. The application fee shall be $140 for a physical therapist 
and $100 for a physical therapist assistant. 

2. The fees for taking all required examinations shall be 
paid directly to the examination services. 

C. Licensure by endorsement. The fee for licensure by 
endorsement shall be $140 for a physical therapist and $100 
for a physical therapist assistant. 

D. Licensure renewal and reinstatement. 

1. The fee for active license renewal for a physical 
therapist shall be $135 and for a physical therapist assistant 
shall be $70 and shall be due by December 31 in each 
even-numbered year. From January 1, 2006, through 
December 31, 2006, the fee for active license renewal fee 
shall be $60 for a physical therapist and $30 for a physical 
therapist assistant. 

2. A fee of $25 for a physical therapist assistant and $50 
for a physical therapist for processing a late renewal within 
one renewal cycle shall be paid in addition to the renewal 
fee. 

3. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has expired 
for two or more years shall be $180 for a physical therapist 
and $120 for a physical therapist assistant and shall be 
submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement. 

E. Other fees. 

1. The fee for an application for reinstatement of a license 
that has been revoked shall be $1,000. 

2. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5, and the fee 
for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

3. The fee for a returned check shall be $35. 

4. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification to 
another jurisdiction shall be $10. 

F. Direct access certification fees. 

1. The application fee shall be $100 for a physical therapist 
to obtain certification to provide services without a 
referral. 

2. The fee for renewal on a direct access certification shall 
be $35 and shall be due by December 31st in each even-
numbered year. 

3. A fee of $15 for processing a late renewal of 
certification within one renewal cycle shall be paid in 
addition to the renewal fee. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering 18VAC112-20, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Physical Therapy, are 
not being published; however, the name of each form is listed 
below. The forms are available for public inspection at the 
Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

Application for Licensure by Examination to Practice 
Physical Therapy as a Physical Therapist or a Physical 
Therapist Assistant (rev. 7/04 9/07). 

Application for Licensure by Endorsement to Practice 
Physical Therapy as a Physical Therapist or a Physical 
Therapist Assistant (rev. 7/04 8/07). 

Application for Reinstatement of Licensure to Practice 
Physical Therapy as a Physical Therapist or a Physical 
Therapist Assistant (rev. 7/04 8/07). 

Instructions for Licensure by Endorsement to Practice as a 
Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant (Graduate 
of an American/Approved Program) (rev. 8/05 8/07). 

Instructions for Licensure by Endorsement to Practice as a 
Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant (Graduate 
of a Non-American/Nonapproved Program) (rev. 8/05 8/07). 

Instructions for Licensure by Examination to Practice as a 
Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant (Graduate 
of an American/Approved Program) (rev. 8/05 8/07). 

Instructions for Licensure by Examination to Practice as a 
Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant (Graduate 
of a Non-American/Nonapproved Program) (rev. 8/05 8/07). 

Instructions for Completing Reinstatement of Licensure 
Application for Physical Therapist/Physical Therapist 
Assistant (rev. 7/04 2/05). 

Score Transfer Request Application (rev. 5/03). 

Traineeship Application, Statement of Authorization (rev. 
7/04 8/07). 

Traineeship Application, Statement of Authorization (1,000-
hour traineeship) (rev. 7/04 8/07). 

Traineeship Application, Statement of Authorization, 
Relicensure (480-hour traineeship) (rev. 7/04 8/07). 

Form #A, Claims History Sheet (rev. 7/04). 

Form #B, Employment/Practice Verification of Physical 
Therapy (rev. 7/04). 
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Form #C, Verification of State Licensure (rev. 7/04). 

Form #L, Certificate of Physical Therapy Education (rev. 
7/04 4/07). 

Renewal Notice and Application (rev. 7/04). 

Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form (rev. 
7/04 10/06). 

Instructions for Direct Access Certification (eff. 8/07). 

Application for Direct Access Certification (eff. 8/07). 

Patient Attestation and Medical Release Form for Physical 
Therapy Treatment (eff. 7/07). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-857; Filed October 10, 2007, 10:02 a.m. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-10, 
18VAC140-20-40, 18VAC140-20-50, 18VAC140-20-60, 
18VAC140-20-105, 18VAC140-20-150, 18VAC140-20-160; 
adding 18VAC140-20-51; repealing 18VAC140-20-140). 

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

November 14, 2007 - 10 a.m. - Perimeter Center, 9960 
Mayland Drive, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 

Public comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on December 28, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4488, FAX 
(804) 527-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
Board of Social Work the authority to promulgate regulations 
to administer the regulatory system. 

Chapter 37 (§54.1-3700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia provides for licensure and regulation of social 
workers. 

Purpose: The board is amending existing regulations to 
address several issues that have arisen. First, the Standards of 
Practice for Social Work, relating to professional conduct and 
grounds for disciplinary action, need to be updated for 
consistency with current practice and with the other 
behavioral sciences. Specific standards for informed consent, 
continuation of services, confidentiality of patient records, 
and improper relationships with clients are intended to protect 
the health and safety of those who are vulnerable in the care 
of a social worker providing counseling or case management. 

Second, the board’s amendments will allow for applicants for 
licensed social worker (LSW) designation to take the 
licensure examination upon completion of the required 
education and prior to the completion of the required 
supervised experience for applicants with a Bachelor of 
Social Work degree. Licensed social worker applicants 
possessing a Masters of Social Work degree currently are not 
required to fulfill the supervision requirement and will 
continue to be exempt from this requirement under the 
regulatory change. 

Third, the board has amended the supervision section to 
accept "group supervision" as a method of obtaining the 
required hours necessary for licensure. The language would 
specify a limitation of six people as the maximum size in a 
group and that only half of the required hours could be gained 
through group. The professional training necessary to provide 
supervision is also specified to ensure adequate preparation 
for safe and competent practice by supervisees and later 
licensees. 

Substance: The board has amended 18VAC140-20-150 on 
professional conduct and 18VAC140-20-160 on grounds for 
disciplinary action or denial of issuance of a license, both of 
which fall under Part VI, Standards of Practice, in the board’s 
regulations. Amendments address issues such as standards for 
therapy not rendered in face-to-face settings; information that 
should be provided to clients at the initial sessions; informed 
consent; appropriate collaboration with other treating 
professionals; the requirement to maintain adequate 
information in client records; and the prohibition against 
engaging in relationships with clients, supervisees, students 
and those in collateral relationships with clients (such as 
spouses or other relatives). The proposed regulations will 
provide a more consistent and up-to-date basis for 
disciplinary action that will better serve to protect the health 
and safety of the client and provide clearer guidance for the 
practice of social workers. 

The board adopted amendments to allow bachelors education 
(BSW) applicants to take the basic level examination for 
licensed social worker (LSW) designation prior to completion 
of 3,000 hours of postbachelor's experience required in 
18VAC140-20-60 B 2 a. 

The proposed change will not reduce the requirements for 
LSW licensure nor will it result in applicants obtaining 
licensure without completing all existing requirements. This 
change will allow applicants to take the required examination 
upon completion of the educational requirements as set out in 
18VAC140-20-60. The rationale for proposing this change is 
threefold. First, the Virginia Chapter of the National 
Association of Social Workers (NASW-VA) approached the 
board about making this change. NASW-VA believes that by 
allowing students to take the examination upon graduation, 
more will opt to take it. Second, and closely related to the 
first reason, the board has heard from several students that 
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they would prefer to take the examination shortly after 
graduating while the information is still fresh in their minds. 
It takes roughly two years to obtain the 3,000 hours of 
supervision. The basic examination is primarily nonclinical in 
nature, therefore obtaining the 3,000 hours of supervision 
does not improve the candidates' chances of successfully 
passing the examination. Third, this change would bring 
Virginia in line with the surrounding jurisdictions (District of 
Columbia and Maryland) in terms of requirement for basic 
level licensure. Candidates for LSW level licensure are able 
to sit for the required examination in those jurisdictions upon 
completion of the necessary educational requirements. 

Currently, an applicant for licensure as a clinical social 
worker must have completed a minimum of 3,000 hours of 
supervised postmaster's degree experience in the delivery of 
clinical social work services or the equivalent in part-time 
experience. A minimum of one hour of individual face-to-
face supervision must be provided each week for a total of at 
least 100 hours. The regulations do not specify that group 
supervision is allowed, but it is already being utilized by 
persons obtaining the required 3,000 hours. The regulatory 
change will clarify that group supervision is a method for 
obtaining the hours, but there would be a limitation on the 
number of persons who could constitute a group and would 
require that no more than half the hours could be gained in 
group supervision. While supervisors are expected to be 
appropriately qualified by their education and experience to 
provide supervision, there was no specific requirement. The 
proposed rules will specify that a supervisor must complete a 
three-hour graduate course in supervision or at least 14 of the 
hours of continuing education required for renewal toward 
courses in supervision. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public would be greater 
specificity and guidance about the ethical and professional 
standards of practice to discourage a social worker from 
acting inappropriately or providing substandard care for a 
client.  Those persons seeking social work services will be 
better protected by specific rules on informed consent, client 
confidentiality, continuation of care, and dual relationships. 

In addition, the requirement for registration of supervision 
during a residency, regardless of the practice setting, will 
improve the oversight and accountability for person providing 
services during a period of gaining practical experience. 
There is an advantage to consumers since the hours and 
format for supervision are specified to ensure the service 
being provided by the resident is safe and effective. There are 
no disadvantages to consumers of mental health services. 

There are no disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth. By specifying the professional training 
required for a supervisor, there will be less ambiguity in the 
regulation, which may encourage compliance. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Social Work (Board) proposes to make changes to 
the regulations that include: (1) eliminating an obsolete 
requirement that an applicant to be a licensed clinical social 
worker (LCSW) or a licensed social worker (LSW) submit an 
application to the Board 90 days prior to the date of the 
written examination for licensure, (2) requiring that all 
supervised experience be registered with the Board in 
advance in order for the hours to be accepted towards 
licensure, (3) permitting up to, but no more than, 50 hours of 
the 100 required hours of face-to-face supervision for the 
LCSW licensure to be group supervision, (4) specifying that a 
supervisor for candidates for LCSW hold an active, 
unrestricted LCSW license and requiring that a supervisor 
have three years of post-licensure experience rather than the 
current requirement of five years post-Master’s-degree 
experience, (5) requiring that supervisors maintain 
documentation of which clients were the subject of 
supervision for five years post supervision, (6) requiring that 
LCSW supervisors receive professional training within the 
five years immediately preceding registration of supervision, 
(7) allowing persons who complete the education requirement 
to take the LSW examination immediately after graduation 
but before their supervised experience, (8) allowing a person 
with a bachelor’s degree and at least three years of post-
licensure social work experience to provide supervision for an 
LSW candidate, (9) eliminating a section establishing 
committees of the Board to assist in evaluating professional 
qualifications and the mental or emotional competency of 
licensees or applicants, (10) requiring that social workers 
provide for a continuation of care when services must be 
interrupted or terminated, (11) requiring that social workers 
inform clients of the potential risks and benefits of services 
and the limitations on confidentiality and ensure that clients 
have provided informed written consent to treatment, (12) 
requiring that as treatment requires and with the written 
consent of the client, social workers collaborate with other 
health or mental health providers concurrently providing 
services to the client, (13) requiring that licensees maintain 
records securely and destroy records that are no longer useful 
in a way that ensures client confidentiality, (14) requiring that 
social workers maintain client records for a minimum of six 
years, and (15) expanding the actions that the Board may take 
if there are grounds for disciplinary action. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
one or more proposed changes. There is insufficient data to 
accurately compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the 
costs for other changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Under the current regulations, 
an applicant to be a licensed clinical social worker (LCSW) 
or a licensed social worker (LSW) must submit an application 
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to the Board 90 days prior to the date of the written 
examination for licensure. Since the examination is now 
offered electronically daily, applicants are no longer in 
practice required to submit the application 90 days prior to 
the exam, so this requirement is now unnecessary and its 
deletion will have no economic impact. 

Under the current regulations, any LSW or LCSW working 
for state government or for state-funded agencies (e.g., United 
Way or community service boards) are exempt from 
registering their supervised experience with the Board prior to 
engaging in the supervised experience. Since LSWs can only 
practice in exempt settings, all candidates for licensed social 
work are exempt from the registration of supervision. In 
addition, according to the Department of Health Professions 
(DHP), approximately 40 percent of candidates for licensed 
clinical social work are working/under supervision in the 
public sector, and therefore, are exempt. Since there are 
approximately 300 LSWs and LCSWs who become licensed 
every year1, the number of LSWs licensed (approximately 24, 
since the LSW to LCSW ratio is about 0.08) plus the number 
of exempt LCSWs licensed (approximately 110)2 results in 
approximately 134 additional candidates for LSW or LCSW 
who would need to register supervision under these 
amendments. The fee for registration of supervision is $25, so 
the total cost of these amendments to social workers statewide 
will be an estimated $3350, in addition to the nominal amount 
of time it will take the currently exempt social workers to fill 
out the two-page form for registration. 

The economic benefit of this amendment derives from the 
assurance for applicants that their supervised and other 
experience will be approved by the Board. According to 
DHP, the Board sees approximately 2-3 applicants per month 
who, for some reason, are not qualified for licensure as a 
social worker. Many candidates gain experience under the 
supervision of other mental health professionals, such as 
psychologists or counselors, whose supervision does not 
fulfill the supervised experience requirement for licensure as 
a social worker. Some candidates have the incorrect number 
of hours or type of work experience (for example, advocacy 
work experience rather than clinical work experience).  Other 
candidates have the correct supervised experience but did not 
complete the correct coursework in graduate school. This 
means that candidates can work for two or more years under 
supervision without being able to use their time towards 
licensure. Because in the pre-registration of supervision 
process, the Board requires the applicant’s transcripts and 
specifics on the upcoming supervision from both the 
supervisee and supervisor, and because the Board requires a 
signed contract that outlines the requirements in terms of 
hours and work experience, the Board believes that the 
dissemination of information that occurs during the 
registration process will allow candidates to be confident that 
their work and experience will count towards licensure. In 
fact, even under the current regulation, many exempt 

applicants choose to register their supervision. In addition, 
there will be no more confusion about who should or should 
not register supervision, since all applicants will be required 
to register supervision. Since currently it is not uncommon 
that years of supervisor and supervisee time are lost because 
of the failure to require prior registration of supervision with 
the Board, the benefit of this amendment likely outweighs the 
cost. Under this amendment, should an applicant fail to 
register their supervision, the hours will not be counted 
towards licensure; however, in the end, the approval or 
disapproval of experience is decided on a case-by-case basis. 

Under the current regulations, licensure as an LCSW requires 
100 hours of face-to-face supervision with no allowance for 
group supervision; the proposed amendments allow up to 50 
hours of the face-to-face supervision to be group supervision, 
provided that the group comprises no more than six 
supervisees. This amendment should create a net economic 
benefit, allowing supervisors to increase the efficiency of 
their supervision (and therefore spend more time on the 
practice of social work) and supervisees to complete their 
supervised experience more quickly. The requirement that 
groups be limited to six supervisees protects the public 
interest by ensuring adequate supervision and proper training. 

Requiring a LCSW supervisor to have three years post-
licensure experience rather than five years post-Master’s 
experience is more stringent, since the current regulation 
allows candidates four years to acquire their supervised social 
work experience after completing the Master’s degree. The 
major cost of this amendment is to reduce the number of 
supervisors in the field, making it more difficult for 
candidates to complete their supervisory experience and 
therefore complete the requirements for licensure. Although it 
will also reduce the supervisory work of some social workers, 
the cost to them should be offset by the re-allocation of their 
time to social work activities. According to DHP, however, 
this amendment will not affect many supervisors, since most 
social workers who go into supervision have at least five 
years post-Masters experience and three years post-licensure 
experience. Furthermore, if a licensed LCSW has five years 
post-Masters experience, she must have at least one year post-
licensure experience (since she is required to complete the 
supervisory experience within four years), therefore the 
amendment requires at most two additional years of 
experience to become a supervisor. Given that this 
amendment will only affect a few supervisors for at most two 
years, it does not appear that this amendment will 
significantly reduce the number of supervisors in the field. 
Therefore, the economic benefit of ensuring that candidates 
have proper supervision from a qualified supervisor should 
outweigh the cost of this amendment. 

Under the current regulations, there are no requirements for 
training in supervision before registering to be a supervisor. 
The proposed amendment that LCSW supervisors receive 
professional training in supervision can be fulfilled either 
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through a three-hour graduate course in supervision or 
through 14 hours of continuing education (CE) offered by a 
Board-approved provider. A candidate studying to be a 
LCSW who would like to be a supervisor can fulfill the 
requirement by taking a course in supervision as a part of 
their Master’s degree curriculum. A LCSW who would like to 
be a supervisor can fulfill the requirement by taking 14 hours 
of CE as a part of their biennially-required 30 hours of CE for 
license renewal. According to DHP, these courses or 
continuing education opportunities in social work supervision 
are widely available. For example, supervisory courses in 
social work were found in the online course catalogues at 
Virginia Commonwealth University, George Mason 
University, and Norfolk State University. The reasons to 
require supervisory training are that in disciplinary cases, the 
Board has seen evidence of inadequate supervision in which a 
supervisor did not know or understand his role in ensuring the 
supervisee’s knowledge and skills to practice in an ethical and 
competent manner, and that professional training in 
supervision would be consistent with other behavioral health 
professions.3 Costs lie in how a potential supervisor might 
choose to allocate her courses or continuing education 
requirements without this amendment. This cost could be 
financial if the social worker could otherwise fulfill the CE 
requirements less expensively. The social worker would also 
face an opportunity cost if he cannot take a desired course in 
order to fulfill the new supervisory training requirements. 
Existing supervisors will not be required to acquire the 
training; the training is intended only for those who will 
register to become LCSW supervisors in the future. 

Under current regulations, LSW candidates are required to 
finish both their education requirements (a bachelor’s degree) 
and their supervised experience before taking the LSW 
examination. Under the proposed amendment, candidates 
who complete the education requirement will be allowed to 
take the LSW examination immediately after graduation, 
before the supervised experience. Because this changes the 
order of the requirements for licensure as a LSW, and not the 
actual requirements, it is not anticipated to impose any 
economic cost. One benefit of this change is that students will 
be able to take the examination shortly after graduating while 
the information is still fresh in their minds; because the 
examination is primarily non-clinical in nature, obtaining the 
3,000 hours of supervision (that takes approximately two 
years) does not improve the candidates’ chances of passing 
the exam.4 A second benefit is that the Virginia Chapter of 
the National Association of Social Workers believes that by 
allowing students to take the examination upon graduation, 
more will opt to take it, thereby increasing the number of 
social workers in the field.5  

The proposed amendments will allow someone with a 
bachelor’s degree and at least three years of post-licensure 
social work experience to supervise an LSW candidate; under 
current regulations, that person could not provide supervision. 

If the person with the bachelor’s degree is a qualified 
supervisor, this amendment imposes no costs on social 
workers or to the public. The benefits lie in the increased 
number of supervisors available to supervise, and therefore 
more LSW candidates can become licensed quickly and 
efficiently. The proposed amendments also repeal a section of 
the regulation establishing committees of the Board to 
evaluate professional qualifications and the mental or 
emotional competency of licensees. These committees have 
not been used in years, and therefore the repeal of the 
regulation should impose no cost or benefit. According to 
DHP, "if such an evaluation is required, it would be 
performed by an expert, not a committee of the Board." 

The proposed amendments require social workers to maintain 
records for six years, instead of the five years as currently 
required. In addition, the records of a minor child must be 
maintained for either six years after attaining the age of 
majority or ten years following service termination, 
whichever comes later. The reason for the change is to 
standardize social work with other mental health professions 
and to give social workers a clearer requirement for the 
maintenance of records (the maintenance of records 
requirements are more explicitly laid out under the 
amendments than in the current regulation). Since most 
records are maintained electronically6 and because, according 
to DHP, most social workers maintain records for much 
longer than six years, the cost of this amendment should be 
minimal. The Board believes that the maintenance of records 
is necessary to ensure continuous, competent, and safe 
treatment and is critical in the evaluation of disciplinary cases 
or in resolving disputes. 

Finally, the Board proposes a host of amendments to the 
Standards of Practice section of the regulation, including 
requiring that social workers provide for a continuation of 
care when services must be interrupted or terminated; 
requiring that social workers inform clients of the potential 
risks and benefits of services and the limitations on 
confidentiality and ensure that clients have provided informed 
written consent to treatment; requiring that as treatment 
requires and with the written consent of the client, social 
workers collaborate with other health or mental health 
providers concurrently providing services to the client; 
requiring that licensees maintain records securely and destroy 
records that are no longer useful in a way that ensures client 
confidentiality; and expanding the actions that the Board may 
take if there are grounds for disciplinary action. According to 
DHP, these changes are being proposed primarily to 
explicitly state requirements for social workers that are 
already in practice and to ensure consistency in requirements 
across mental health professions. These requirements could 
have a negative economic impact on the practices of social 
workers (finding continuation of care, providing informed 
written consent, collaborating with health or mental health 
providers, and destroying documents in a confidential manner 
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could cost a social worker time). However, these practices 
ensure a level of professionalism among social workers that 
will ensure consistency, efficiency, and fairness in service 
provision that benefits the public and should ensure a net 
economic benefit. In addition, according to DHP, these 
practices are commonly followed among social workers and 
therefore are not likely to significantly change the practice of 
social work. 

Businesses and Entities Affected7. The businesses and entities 
that will be affected by these amendments are those that 
employ the 4,805 LCSWs and 379 LSWs. In addition, these 
amendments will affect those working or studying to become 
a LCSW or a LSW and the approximately 300-325 LCSWs 
and LSWs who are licensed every year. Of the 4,805 LCSWs, 
approximately 60 percent are in private practice. The 
remaining 40 percent of LCSWs and all of the LSWs are 
employed by the public sector. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposals do not 
disproportionately affect specific localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposals have no 
projected impact on employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposals do not affect the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Many of the 
approximately 60 percent of licensed clinical social workers 
who are employed by the private sector are in organizations 
that are small businesses. However, because all of those in 
private business are already required to register for 
supervision, and because the cost of the education 
requirement for supervisors is relatively small, these 
amendments should not increase costs significantly or have 
other adverse effects on small businesses. If LCSW 
supervisors in the private sector have five years of post-
Masters experience but do not have three years of post-
licensure experience, and therefore will not be able to 
supervise LCSW candidates under the new amendments, then 
the workload potential of the firm could be reduced. 
(Assuming that there is not a one-to-one relationship between 
the hours of work of a LCSW candidate and hours of 
supervisory work for that candidate.) However, because DHP 
estimates that this amendment will affect only a small number 
of supervisors—and because an LCSW will need to gain at 
most two years of further experience—this amendment is not 
likely to have significant impact on small businesses in 
Virginia. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. There is no apparent alternative method that 
minimizes adverse impact while still accomplishing the 
intended positive policy goals. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not create additional costs related to the development of 
real estate for commercial or residential purposes. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 
impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 
regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 
types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 
projected number of persons and employment positions to be 
affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 
on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the 
proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 
§2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 
small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

____________________________________ 
1. Source: Department of Health Professions 
2. (300-24)*0.4 
3. Source: Department of Health Professions 
4. Source: Department of Health Professions 
5. Source: Department of Health Professions 
6. Source: Department of Health Professions 
7. Source: Department of Health Professions 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of Social 
Work concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget on proposed amended regulations for 
18VAC140-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of Social 
Work, relating to requirements for examination, supervision 
and practice standards. 

Summary:  

The proposed amendments (i) require registration of 
supervision by persons preparing for licensure in social 
work, regardless of the practice setting, to allow for 
group supervision, and specify the professional training 
necessary for a licensee to serve as a supervisor; (ii) 
allow a bachelor’s degree graduate to take the 
examination for a licensed social worker prior to 
completing 3,000 hours of work experience; and (iii) 
revise the standards of professional conduct to update 
the language, address conduct seen in disciplinary cases, 
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and provide consistency with other behavioral health 
professions. 

18VAC140-20-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the meanings ascribed to them in §54.1-3700 of the 
Code of Virginia: 

Board 

Casework 

Casework management and supportive services 

Clinical social worker 

Practice of social work 

Social worker 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Accredited school of social work" means a school of social 
work accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. 

"Clinical course of study" means graduate course work 
which includes specialized advanced courses in human 
behavior and social environment, social policy, research, 
clinical practice with individuals, families, groups and a 
clinical practicum which focuses on diagnostic, prevention 
and treatment services. 

"Clinical social work services" include the application of 
social work principles and methods in performing 
assessments and diagnoses based on a recognized manual of 
mental and emotional disorders or recognized system of 
problem definition, preventive and early intervention services 
and treatment services, including but not limited to 
psychotherapy and counseling for mental disorders, substance 
abuse, marriage and family dysfunction, and problems caused 
by social and psychological stress or health impairment. 

"Exempt practice" is that which meets the conditions of 
exemption from the requirements of licensure as defined in 
§54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Face-to-face supervision" means the physical presence of 
the individuals involved in the supervisory relationship 
during either individual or group supervision. 

"Nonexempt practice" is that which does not meet the 
conditions of exemption from the requirements of licensure as 
defined in §54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Supervision" means the relationship between a supervisor 
and supervisee which is designed to promote the development 
of responsibility and skill in the provision of social work 
services. Supervision is the inspection, critical evaluation, and 
direction over the services of the supervisee. Supervision 
shall include, without being limited to, the review of case 

presentations, audio tapes, video tapes, and direct observation 
a professional relationship between a supervisor and 
supervisee in which the supervisor directs, monitors and 
evaluates the supervisee’s social work practice while 
promoting development of the supervisee’s knowledge, skills 
and abilities to provide social work services in an ethical and 
competent manner. 

18VAC140-20-40. Requirements for licensure by 
examination as a licensed clinical social worker. 

Every applicant for examination for licensure by the board 
as a licensed clinical social worker shall: 

1. Meet the education and experience requirements 
prescribed in 18VAC140-20-50 or 18VAC140-20-60 for 
the category of practice in which licensure is sought. 

2. Submit in one package to the board office, not less than 
90 days prior to the date of the written examination: 

a. A completed notarized application; 

b. Documentation, on the appropriate forms, of the 
successful completion of the supervised experience 
requirements of 18VAC140-20-50 or 18VAC140-20-60 
along with documentation of the supervisor's out-of-state 
license where applicable. Applicants whose former 
supervisor is deceased, or whose whereabouts is 
unknown, shall submit to the board a notarized affidavit 
from the present chief executive officer of the agency, 
corporation or partnership in which the applicant was 
supervised. The affidavit shall specify dates of 
employment, job responsibilities, supervisor's name and 
last known address, and the total number of hours spent 
by the applicant with the supervisor in face-to-face 
supervision; 

c. The application fee prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30; 

d. Official transcript or transcripts in the original sealed 
envelope submitted from the appropriate institutions of 
higher education directly to the applicant; and 

e. Documentation of applicant's out-of-state licensure 
where applicable. 

18VAC140-20-50. Education and experience requirements 
for licensed clinical social worker. 

A. Education. The applicant shall hold a minimum of a 
master's degree from an accredited school of social work. 
Graduates of foreign institutions shall establish the 
equivalency of their education to this requirement through the 
Foreign Equivalency Determination Service of the Council of 
Social Work Education. 

1. The degree program shall have included a graduate 
clinical course of study; or 
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2. The applicant shall provide documentation of having 
completed specialized experience, course work or training 
acceptable to the board as equivalent to a clinical course of 
study. 

B. Supervised experience. Supervised experience obtained 
prior to December 23, 1998, may be accepted towards 
licensure if this supervision met the requirements of the board 
which were in effect at the time the supervision was rendered. 
Supervised experience in all settings obtained in nonexempt 
settings in Virginia without prior written board approval will 
not be accepted toward licensure. Supervision begun before 
November 28, 2007, that met the requirements of this section 
in effect prior to that date will be accepted until November 
28, 2011. 

1. Registration. An individual who proposes to obtain 
supervised post-master's degree experience in Virginia 
shall, prior to the onset of such supervision: 

a. Register on a form provided by the board and 
completed by the supervisor and the supervised 
individual; and  

b. Pay the registration of supervision fee set forth in 
18VAC140-20-30. 

2. Hours. The applicant shall have completed a minimum 
of 3,000 hours of supervised post-master's degree 
experience in the delivery of clinical social work services 
or the equivalent in part-time experience. A minimum of 
one hour of individual face-to-face supervision shall be 
provided each week for a total of at least 100 hours. No 
more than 50 of the 100 hours may be obtained in group 
supervision, nor shall there be more than six persons being 
supervised in a group unless approved in advance by the 
board. The board may consider alternatives to face-to-face 
supervision if the applicant can demonstrate an undue 
burden due to hardship, disability or geography. 

a. Experience shall be acquired in no less than two nor 
more than four years. 

b. Supervisees shall average no less than 15 hours per 
week in face-to-face client contact for a minimum of 
1,380 hours in the two-year period. The remaining hours 
may be spent in ancillary duties and activities supporting 
the delivery of clinical services. 

3. An individual who does not become a candidate for 
licensure complete the supervision requirement after four 
years of supervised experience shall submit evidence to the 
board showing why the training should be allowed to 
continue. 

C. Requirements for supervisors. 

1. The supervisor shall be hold an active, unrestricted 
license as a licensed clinical social worker in the 
jurisdiction in which the clinical services are being 

rendered with at least five years post-Master of Social 
Work three years of postlicensure clinical social work 
experience. The board may consider supervisors with 
commensurate qualifications if the applicant can 
demonstrate an undue burden due to geography or 
disability. 

2. The supervisor shall have received professional training 
in supervision, consisting of a three credit-hour graduate 
course in supervision or at least 14 hours of continuing 
education offered by a provider approved under 
18VAC140-20-105. The graduate course or hours of 
continuing education in supervision shall be obtained by a 
supervisor within five years immediately preceding 
registration of supervision. 

3. The supervisor shall not provide supervision for a 
member of his immediate family or provide supervision for 
anyone with whom he has a dual relationship. 

D. Responsibilities of supervisors: 

2. The supervisor shall: 

a. 1. Be responsible for the casework social work activities 
of the prospective applicant supervisee as set forth in this 
subsection once the supervisory arrangement is accepted; 

b. 2. Review and approve the diagnostic assessment and 
treatment plan of a representative sample of the clients 
assigned to the applicant during the course of supervision. 
The sample should be representative of the variables of 
gender, age, diagnosis, length of treatment and treatment 
method within the client population seen by the applicant. 
It is the applicant's responsibility to assure the 
representativeness of the sample that is presented to the 
supervisor. The supervisor shall be available to the 
applicant on a regularly scheduled basis for supervision. 
The supervisor will maintain documentation, for five years 
post supervision, of which clients were the subject of 
supervision; 

c. 3. Provide supervision only for those casework social 
work activities for which the supervisor has determined the 
applicant is competent to provide to clients; 

d. 4. Provide supervision only for those activities for which 
the supervisor is qualified by education, training and 
experience; and 

e. 5. Evaluate the supervisee's knowledge and document 
minimal competencies in the areas of an identified theory 
base, application of a differential diagnosis, establishing 
and monitoring a treatment plan, development and 
appropriate use of the professional relationship, assessing 
the client for risk of imminent danger, and implementing a 
professional and ethical relationship with clients.; 

6. Be available to the applicant on a regularly scheduled 
basis for supervision; and 
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7. Maintain documentation, for five years postsupervision, 
of which clients were the subject of supervision. 

3. Supervision between members of the immediate family 
(to include spouses, parents, and siblings) will not be 
approved. 

D. Supervision requirements for applicants in exempt 
practices. Individuals may obtain the required supervision and 
experience without registration of supervision provided such 
experience: 

1. Is obtained in an exempt practice; and 

2. Meets all other requirements for supervised experience 
as set forth in this section. 

18VAC140-20-51. Requirements for licensure by 
examination as a licensed social worker. 

A. In order to be approved to sit for the board-approved 
examination for a licensed social worker, an applicant shall:  

1. Meet the education requirements prescribed in 
18VAC140-20-60 A. 

2. Submit in one package to the board office: 

a. A completed notarized application; 

b. The application fee prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30; 

c. Official transcript or transcripts in the original sealed 
envelope submitted from the appropriate institutions of 
higher education directly to the applicant. 

B. In order to be licensed by examination as a licensed 
social worker, an applicant shall: 

1. Meet the education and experience requirements 
prescribed in 18VAC140-20-60; 

2. Submit, in addition to the application requirements of 
subsection A, the following: 

a. Documentation, on the appropriate forms, of the 
successful completion of the supervised experience 
requirements of 18VAC140-20-60 along with 
documentation of the supervisor's out-of-state license 
where applicable. An applicant whose former supervisor 
is deceased, or whose whereabouts is unknown, shall 
submit to the board a notarized affidavit from the present 
chief executive officer of the agency, corporation or 
partnership in which the applicant was supervised. The 
affidavit shall specify dates of employment, job 
responsibilities, supervisor's name and last known 
address, and the total number of hours spent by the 
applicant with the supervisor in face-to-face supervision; 

b. Verification of a passing score on the board-approved 
national examination; and 

c. Documentation of applicant's out-of-state licensure 
where applicable. 

18VAC140-20-60. Education and experience requirements 
for licensed social worker. 

A. Education. The applicant shall hold a bachelor's or a 
master's degree from an accredited school of social work. 
Graduates of foreign institutions must establish the 
equivalency of their education to this requirement through the 
Foreign Equivalency Determination Service of the Council on 
Social Work Education. 

B. Master’s degree applicant. An applicant who holds a 
master’s degree may apply for licensure as a licensed social 
worker without documentation of supervised experience. 

B. Supervised experience. Supervised experience obtained 
prior to December 23, 1998, may be accepted towards 
licensure if this supervision met the requirements of the board 
which were in effect at the time the supervision was rendered. 
C. Bachelor’s degree applicant. Supervised experience in all 
settings obtained in nonexempt settings in Virginia without 
prior written board approval will not be accepted toward 
licensure. Supervision begun before November 28, 2007, that 
met the requirements of this section in effect prior to that date 
will be accepted until November 28, 2011. 

1. Registration. An individual who proposes to obtain 
supervised post-master's degree experience in Virginia 
shall, prior to the onset of such supervision, register a 
supervision contract with the board as set forth in 
18VAC140-20-50 B. 

2. 1. Hours. a. Bachelor's degree applicants shall have 
completed a minimum of 3,000 hours of full-time post-
bachelor's degree experience or the equivalent in part-time 
experience in casework management and supportive 
services under supervision satisfactory to the board. A 
minimum of one hour of face-to-face supervision shall be 
provided each week for the period of supervision for a total 
of at least 100 hours. 

b. 2. Experience shall be acquired in no less than two nor 
more than four years from the beginning of the supervised 
experience. 

C. D. Requirements for supervisors. 

1. The supervisor providing supervision shall be hold an 
active, unrestricted license as a licensed social worker with 
a master's degree, or a licensed social worker with a 
bachelor’s degree and at least three years of postlicensure 
social work experience or a licensed clinical social worker 
in the jurisdiction in which the social work services are 
being rendered. If this requirement places an undue burden 
on the applicant due to geography or disability, the board 
may consider individuals with comparable qualifications. 

2. The supervisor shall: 
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a. Be responsible for the social work practice of the 
prospective applicant once the supervisory arrangement 
is accepted by the board; 

b. Review and approve the assessment and service plan 
of a representative sample of cases assigned to the 
applicant during the course of supervision. The sample 
should be representative of the variables of gender, age, 
assessment, length of service and casework method 
within the client population seen by the applicant. It is 
the applicant's responsibility to assure the 
representativeness of the sample that is presented to the 
supervisor. The supervisor shall be available to the 
applicant on a regularly scheduled basis for supervision. 
The supervisor will maintain documentation, for five 
years post supervision, of which clients were the subject 
of supervision;  

c. Provide supervision only for those casework 
management and support services activities for which the 
supervisor has determined the applicant is competent to 
provide to clients;  

d. Provide supervision only for those activities for which 
the supervisor is qualified; and  

e. Evaluate the supervisee in the areas of professional 
ethics and professional competency. 

3. Supervision between members of the immediate family 
(to include spouses, parents, and siblings) will not be 
approved.  

D. Supervision requirements for applicants in exempt 
practice. Individuals may obtain the required supervised 
experience without registration of supervision provided such 
experience: 

1. Is obtained in an exempt practice; and 

2. Meets all other requirements of the board for supervised 
experience as set forth in this section.  

Part III  

Examinations  

18VAC140-20-105. Continued competency requirements 
for renewal of an active license.  

A. After April 25, 2003, licensed Licensed social workers 
and licensed clinical social workers shall be required to have 
completed a minimum of 30 contact hours of continuing 
education for each biennial licensure renewal. A minimum of 
two of those hours must pertain to the standards of practice 
and laws governing the profession of social work in Virginia, 
or the Code of Ethics of one of the social work professional 
associations listed under subdivision B 1 d. 

1. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up 
to one year for the completion of continuing education 
requirements upon written request from the licensee prior 

to the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the 
licensee of the continuing education requirement. 

2. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 
continuing education requirements due to circumstances 
beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 
disability, mandatory military service, or officially 
declared disasters. 

B. Hours may be obtained from a combination of board-
approved activities in the following three two categories:  

1. Category I. Formally Organized Learning Activities. A 
minimum of 20 hours shall be documented in this category, 
which shall include one or more of the following: 

a. Regionally accredited university or college academic 
courses in a behavioral health discipline. A maximum of 
15 hours will be accepted for each academic course. 

b. Continuing education programs offered by universities 
or colleges accredited by the Council on Social Work 
Education. 

c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 
behavioral health field offered by federal, state or local 
social service agencies, public school systems or licensed 
health facilities and licensed hospitals. 

d. Workshops, seminars, conferences or courses in the 
behavioral health field offered by an individual or 
organization that has been certified or approved by one 
of the following: 

(1) The Child Welfare League of America and its state 
and local affiliates. 

(2) The National Association of Social Workers and its 
state and local affiliates. 

(3) The Association of Black Social Workers and its state 
and local affiliates. 

(4) The Family Service Association of America and its 
state and local affiliates. 

(5) The Clinical Social Work Federation and its state and 
local affiliates. 

(6) Individuals or organizations who have been approved 
as continuing education sponsors by the Association of 
Social Work Boards or any state social work board. 

2. Category II. Individual Professional Activities. A 
maximum of 10 of the required 30 hours may be earned in 
this category, which shall include one or more of the 
following: 

a. Participation in an Association of Social Work Boards 
item writing workshop. (Activity will count for a 
maximum of two hours.)  
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b. Publication of a professional social work-related book 
or initial preparation/presentation of a social work-related 
course. (Activity will count for a maximum of 10 hours.) 

c. Publication of a professional social work-related article 
or chapter of a book, or initial preparation/presentation of 
a social work-related in-service training, seminar or 
workshop. (Activity will count for a maximum of five 
hours.) 

d. Provision of a continuing education program 
sponsored or approved by an organization listed under 
Category I. (Activity will count for a maximum of two 
hours and will only be accepted one time for any specific 
program.) 

e. Field instruction of graduate students in a Council on 
Social Work Education-accredited school. (Activity will 
count for a maximum of two hours.) 

f. Serving as an officer or committee member of one of 
the national professional social work associations listed 
under subdivision B 1 d of this section. (Activity will 
count for a maximum of two hours.) 

g. Attendance at formal staffings at federal, state or local 
social service agencies, public school systems or licensed 
health facilities and licensed hospitals. (Activity will 
count for a maximum of five hours.) 

h. Independent or group study including listening to 
audio tapes, viewing video tapes, reading, professional 
books or articles. (Activity will count for a maximum of 
five hours.) 

Part V 

Committees 

18VAC140-20-140. Examining and advisory committees. 
(Repealed.) 

The board may establish advisory and examining 
committees to assist it in carrying out statutory 
responsibilities. 

1. The committees may assist in evaluating the 
professional qualifications of applicants and candidates for 
licensure and renewal of licenses and in other matters the 
board deems necessary. 

2. The committees may assist in the evaluation of the 
mental or emotional competency, or both, of any licensee 
or applicant for licensure when such competence is an 
issue before the board. 

Part VI V 

Standards of Practice  

18VAC140-20-150. Professional conduct. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare 
and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide 
in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 
persons whose activities are regulated by the board. 
Regardless of the delivery method, whether in person, by 
telephone or electronically, these standards shall apply to the 
practice of social work. 

B. Persons licensed as social workers and clinical social 
workers shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the 
public and does not endanger the public health, safety, or 
welfare. 

2. 1. Be able to justify all service services rendered to or on 
behalf of clients as necessary for diagnostic or therapeutic 
purposes. 

2. Provide for continuation of care when services must be 
interrupted or terminated. 

3. Practice only within the competency areas for which 
they are qualified by education and or experience, or both. 

4. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the 
laws and regulations governing the practice of social work. 

5. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 
forms of remuneration for referral of clients for 
professional services. 

6. Ensure that clients are aware of fees and billing 
arrangements before rendering services. 

7. Inform clients of potential risks and benefits of services 
and the limitations on confidentiality and ensure that 
clients have provided informed written consent to 
treatment. 

7. 8. Keep confidential their therapeutic relationships with 
clients and disclose client records to others only with 
written consent of the client, with the following 
exceptions: (i) when the client is a danger to self or others; 
or (ii) as required by law. 

8. 9. When advertising their services to the public, ensure 
that such advertising is neither fraudulent nor misleading. 

9. Not engage in dual relationships with clients, former 
clients, supervisees, and supervisors that might 
compromise that person's well-being, impair the social 
worker's or supervisor's objectivity and professional 
judgment or increase the risk of exploitation, to include, 
but is not limited to, such activities as counseling close 
friends, sexual partners, employees or relatives, and 
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engaging in business relationships with clients. Sexual 
contact or conduct of a sexual nature during the course of 
professional services and for a period of not less than two 
years following cessation or termination of professional 
services with a client or those included in the provision of 
collateral therapeutic services shall be prohibited. 
Thereafter, the licensee shall bear the burden of 
demonstrating that there has been no exploitation 
regardless of that person’s consent to, initiation of or 
participation in the sexual contact or conduct of a sexual 
nature with the practitioner. 

10. Maintain clinical records on each client. The record 
shall include identifying information to substantiate 
diagnosis and treatment plan, client progress, and 
termination. The clinical record shall be preserved for at 
least five years post termination As treatment requires and 
with the written consent of the client, collaborate with 
other health or mental health providers concurrently 
providing services to the client. 

11. Ensure that clients have provided informed consent to 
treatment Refrain from undertaking any activity in which 
one’s personal problems are likely to lead to inadequate or 
harmful services. 

12. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 
the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 
involved. 

C. In regard to client records, persons licensed by the board 
shall comply with provisions of §32.1-127.1:03 of the Code 
of Virginia on health records privacy and shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 
client to include identifying information and assessment 
that substantiates diagnosis and treatment plans.  Each 
record shall include a diagnosis and treatment plan, 
progress notes for each case activity, information received 
from all collaborative contacts and the treatment 
implications of that information, and the termination 
process and summary. 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees 
of the requirements of confidentiality, and provide for the 
destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 
that ensures client confidentiality. 

3. Disclose or release records to others only with clients’ 
expressed written consent or that of their legally authorized 
representative or as mandated by law. 

4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 
clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from 
clients or their legally authorized representative before (i) 
videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third-
party observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records 
and clinical materials in teaching, writing or public 
presentations. 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of six years or as 
otherwise required by law from the date of termination of 
the therapeutic relationship with the following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 
maintained for six years after attaining the age of 
majority or 10 years following termination, whichever 
comes later. 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 
federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time. 

c. Records that have been transferred to another mental 
health professional or have been given to the client or his 
legally authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 
board shall: 

1. Not engage in a dual relationship with a client or a 
former client that could impair professional judgment or 
increase the risk of harm to the client. (Examples of such a 
relationship include, but are not limited to, familial, social, 
financial, business, bartering, or a close personal 
relationship with a client.)  Social workers shall take 
appropriate professional precautions when a dual 
relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, 
consultation, supervision, and documentation to ensure that 
judgment is not impaired and no exploitation occurs. 

2. Not have any type of sexual intimacies with a client or 
those included in collateral therapeutic services, and not 
provide services to those persons with whom they have had 
a sexual relationship. Social workers shall not engage in 
sexual intimacies with a former client within a minimum of 
five years after terminating the professional relationship. 
Social workers who engage in such a relationship after five 
years following termination shall have the responsibility to 
examine and document thoroughly that such a relationship 
did not have an exploitive nature, based on factors such as 
duration of therapy, amount of time since therapy, 
termination circumstances, client’s personal history and 
mental status, adverse impact on the client. A client’s 
consent to, initiation of or participation in sexual behavior 
or involvement with a social worker does not change the 
nature of the conduct nor lift the regulatory prohibition. 

3. Not engage in any sexual relationship or establish a 
therapeutic relationship with a current supervisee or 
student. Social workers shall avoid any nonsexual dual 
relationship with a supervisee or student in which there is a 
risk of exploitation or potential harm to the supervisee or 
student, or the potential for interference with the 
supervisor’s professional judgment. 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 
the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 
involved. 
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5. Not engage in a personal relationship with a former 
client in which there is a risk of exploitation or potential 
harm or if the former client continues to relate to the social 
worker in his professional capacity. 

18VAC140-20-160. Grounds for disciplinary action or 
denial of issuance of a license. 

Action by the board to deny, revoke, suspend or decline to 
renew a license shall be in accordance with the following The 
board may refuse to admit an applicant to an examination; 
refuse to issue a license to an applicant; or reprimand, impose 
a monetary penalty, place on probation, impose such terms as 
it may designate, suspend for a stated period of time or 
indefinitely, or revoke a license for one or more of the 
following grounds: 

1. Conviction of a felony or of a misdemeanor involving 
moral turpitude; 

2. Procurement of license by fraud or misrepresentation; 

3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner so as to 
make the practice a danger to the health and welfare of 
one's clients or to the public. In the event a question arises 
concerning the continued competence of a licensee, the 
board will consider evidence of continuing education. 

4. Being unable to practice social work with reasonable 
skill and safety to clients by reason of illness, excessive 
use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals or any other 
type of material or as a result of any mental or physical 
condition; 

5. Conducting one's practice in a manner contrary to the 
standards of ethics of social work or in violation of 
18VAC140-20-150, standards of practice; 

6. Performing functions outside the board-licensed area of 
competency; 

7. Failure to comply with the continued competency 
requirements set forth in 18VAC140-20-105; and 

8. Violating or aiding and abetting another to violate any 
statute applicable to the practice of social work or any 
provision of this chapter. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-120; Filed October 10, 2007, 10:04 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-417. Rules Governing the 
Certification and Regulation of Competitive Local 
Exchange Carriers (amending 20VAC5-417-10, 20VAC5-
417-50). 

Statutory Authority: §12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 9, 2007.  

Agency Contact: Katie Cummings, Deputy Director, 
Communications Division, State Corporation Commission, 
P.O. Box 1197, 1300 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 371-9101, FAX (804) 371-9069, or email 
katie.cummings@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments incorporate changes in the 
telecommunications marketplace since these sections were 
last approved on April 9, 2003, in Case No. PUC-2002-
00115. 

The regulations reflect incorporation of additional 
definitions, implementation of price ceilings for intrastate 
switched access rates, and a transitional period to 
implement the access charge ceilings as requested by the 
commission from the previous case. The changes also 
provide competitive local exchange carriers shortened 
tariff filing intervals; relaxation of the current price 
ceilings; and pricing flexibility for all but basic telephone 
service, associated service charges, and switched access 
charge rates. 

Changes from the proposed regulation clarify that any 
deregulatory or detariffing treatment granted to an ILEC 
will be applicable to comparable services, class of 
customers or geographic areas of the new entrants. Also, 
additional clarification sets forth the timing of required 
access charge changes pursuant to a commission order. 
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AT RICHMOND, SEPTEMBER 27, 2007 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
CASE NO. PUC-2007-00033 

Ex Parte: Amendment of Rules Governing 
the Certification and Regulation of 
Competitive Local Exchange Carriers 

FINAL ORDER 

On April 30, 2007, the State Corporation Commission 
("Commission") issued an Order that established this 
proceeding for the purpose of amending the Commission's 
Rules Governing the Certification and Regulation of 
Competitive Local Exchange Carriers ("CLECs"), 20 VAC 5-
417-10 et seq. ("CLEC Rules"). The proposed rules in this 
case amend 20 VAC 5-417-10 (Definitions) and 20 VAC 5-
417-50 (Regulation of new entrants providing local exchange 
telecommunications services).1 

On June 20, 2007, the following interested persons 
submitted comments on the proposed rules: NTELOS 
Network Inc.; Level 3 Communications, LLC ("Level 3"); 
AT&T Communications of Virginia, LLC and TCG Virginia, 
Inc.; Cox Virginia Telcom, Inc.; Verizon Virginia Inc., 
Verizon South Inc., and MCImetro Access Transmission 
Services of Virginia, Inc.; and the Office of the Attorney 
General's Division of Consumer Counsel. 

On July 19, 2007, the Commission's Staff ("Staff") filed 
comments on the proposed rules that, among other things, 
summarized the comments filed by interested persons and 
recommended changes to 20 VAC 5-417-50 C, E2, E4, and 
G. 

On August 1, 2007, Level 3 filed a Motion for Leave to File 
Reply to Staff Comments ("Motion for Leave") and a Reply 
to Staff Comments. No objection was filed to the Motion for 
Leave. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this 
matter, is of the opinion and finds that the revisions to the 
CLEC Rules approved herein are just and reasonable. 

The revisions to 20 VAC 5-417-10 (Definitions) provide 
appropriate clarification for implementing and administering 
the CLEC Rules and are reasonable. 

The revisions to 20 VAC 5-417-50 (Regulation of new 
entrants providing local exchange telecommunications 
services), including the additional language recommended by 
the Staff, provide CLECs with appropriate requirements and 
flexibility regarding pricing, services, notice, and filings and 
are reasonable. 

The revisions to 20 VAC 5-417-50 (Regulation of new 
entrants providing local exchange telecommunications 
services), including the additional language recommended by 

the Staff, appropriately allow CLECs to request pricing 
structures or rates that do not conform to the rules and are 
reasonable.  In addition, we further modify section K thereof 
to clarify that a CLEC may offer individual customer pricing 
in a competitive bid or a competitive procurement situation. 

The revisions to 20 VAC 5-417-50 (Regulation of new 
entrants providing local exchange telecommunications 
services), including the additional language recommended by 
the Staff, appropriately addresses the disparity between 
Verizon's intrastate access rates and CLECs' intrastate access 
rates and result in just and reasonable intrastate access rates 
for CLECs.  Furthermore, we find that it is reasonable to 
remove the second sentence from proposed rule 20 VAC 5-
417-50 E.1.c.  This particular subsection establishes a just and 
reasonable intrastate access rate of $.029 per minute for a 
transition period from December 1, 2007 through March 30, 
2008.  We conclude that, as with the other parts of the rules 
adopted today, this transition rate should apply to all CLECs. 

Also, our Order establishing this proceeding did not provide 
for replies to the Staff Report, and we deny Level 3's Motion 
for Leave. 

Finally, as noted in our April 13, 2007 Order establishing 
this proceeding, the fact that the changes to intrastate access 
rates required herein are limited to CLECs does not represent 
a finding that no changes are warranted for ILECs' intrastate 
access rates. Indeed, any proposed changes to intrastate 
access rates for ILECs will be considered in one or more 
separate proceedings. 

Accordingly, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT: 

(1) We hereby adopt the revised Rules Governing the 
Certification and Regulation of Competitive Local Exchange 
Carriers (Chapter 417), appended hereto as Attachment A, 
effective on and after October 9, 2007. 

(2) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall forward this Final Order and the rules adopted herein to 
the Registrar of Virginia for publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. 

(3) Level 3's Motion for Leave is hereby denied. 

(4) This case is dismissed. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to:  Mark Keffer, Esquire, AT&T 
Communications of Virginia, 2nd Floor, Room D-C3.201, 
3033 Chain Bridge Road, Oakton, Virginia 22185; Mary 
McDermott, NTELOS Network Inc., Sr. V.P. Legal & 
Regulatory, 401 Spring Lane, Suite 300, P.O. Box 1990, 
Waynesboro, Virginia 22980; Ashley C. Beuttel, Assistant 
Attorney General, Office of Attorney General, Division of 
Consumer Counsel, 900 East Main Street, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219; Cliona M. Robb, Esquire, 
Christian & Barton, L.L.P., 909 East Main Street, Suite 1200, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219-3095; Eric M. Page, Esquire, 
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LeClair Ryan P.C., Riverfront Plaza East Tower, 951 Byrd 
Street, 8th Floor, P.O. Box 2499, Richmond, Virginia 23218-
2499; Lydia R. Pulley, General Counsel, and Secretary, 
Verizon Virginia Inc., 600 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219-2441. 

 
1. The Commission published notice of the proposed rules as classified advertising in 
newspapers of general circulation throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia and 
forwarded the proposed rules to the Registrar of Virginia for publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. 

20VAC5-417-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Attestation" means a written statement regarding 
compliance with a requirement or condition contained in this 
chapter, signed by an officer, director, or comparable official 
of the applicant or new entrant. 

"Basic telephone service" means the customer's dial tone 
line and local usage. Local usage can be purchased on a flat 
rate, measured, or on a per message basis, or some 
combination thereof. 

"Bundled service" means a designated group of services or 
products offered to customers at a package or set price. A 
bundled service may consist of regulated and nonregulated 
services or products. 

"Casual user service" means a local exchange 
telecommunications service of a competitive local exchange 
carrier or municipal local exchange carrier that does not 
require a customer to actively subscribe or contract with the 
competitive local exchange carrier or municipal local 
exchange carrier to use the service. For example, these 
services may require alternate billing arrangements such as a 
calling card to use the service. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission. 

"Competitive local exchange carrier" ("CLEC") means an 
entity, other than a locality, certificated to provide local 
exchange telecommunications services in Virginia after 
January 1, 1996, pursuant to §56-265.4:4 of the Code of 
Virginia. An incumbent local exchange carrier shall be 
considered a CLEC in any territory that is outside the territory 
it was certificated to serve as of December 31, 1995, for 
which it obtains a certificate to provide local exchange 
telecommunications services on or after January 1, 1996. 

"Customer" means any person, firm, partnership, 
corporation, or lawful entity that purchases local exchange 
telecommunications services. 

"Incumbent local exchange carrier" or "incumbent" 
("ILEC") means a public service company providing local 
exchange telecommunications services in Virginia on 

December 31, 1995, pursuant to a certificate of public 
convenience and necessity, or the successors to any such 
company. 

"Individual customer pricing" means the offering of service 
or services to a specific customer at rates, terms, or conditions 
provided through an agreement instead of pursuant to tariff. 

"Interconnection" means the point of interface between local 
exchange carriers' networks. Interconnection can be achieved 
at different points of the network. 

"Interexchange carrier" ("IXC") means a carrier that 
provides intrastate interexchange long distance telephone 
service. 

"Interstate service" means service that originates in one state 
and terminates in another state. 

"Intrastate service" means service that originates and 
terminates within a state. 

"Local exchange carrier" ("LEC") means a certificated 
provider of local exchange telecommunications services, 
whether an incumbent or new entrant. 

"Local exchange telecommunications services" means local 
exchange telephone service as defined by §56-1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

"Locality" means a city, town, or county that operates an 
electric distribution system in Virginia. 

"Municipal local exchange carrier" ("MLEC") means a 
locality certificated to provide local exchange 
telecommunications services pursuant to §56-265.4:4 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

"New entrant" means a CLEC or an MLEC. 

"Promotion or promotional rates" means an offering of 
limited duration that reduces, waives, or otherwise modifies 
applicable tariffed rates, terms, or conditions. 

"Service charges" means charges associated with work 
activities performed by the LEC in conjunction with 
providing service. These include, but are not limited to, 
charges for installation, activation, order processing, line 
restoration, maintenance visits, or changes in service. 

"Switched access charges" means the per minute rates billed 
by LECs to IXCs or other LECs for the use of the LEC's 
network when an end user makes or receives a long distance 
call. 

20VAC5-417-50. Regulation of new entrants providing 
local exchange telecommunications services.  

A. Unless otherwise allowed by the commission, tariffs are 
required for all local exchange telecommunications service 
offerings except those that are comparable to "competitive" 
offerings of any ILEC that does not require tariffs. 
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B. A new entrant that has received certification to provide 
local exchange telecommunications services shall, prior to 
offering such services, submit its proposed initial tariffs to the 
Division of Communications. A new entrant shall not offer 
any local exchange telecommunications services until its 
tariffs have been accepted by the Division of 
Communications and are effective. 

C. A new entrant may petition the commission to consider 
deregulation or detariffing treatment for any of its specific 
service offerings. [ Any deregulatory or detariffing treatment 
for any comparable service, class of customers, or geographic 
area granted to an ILEC shall be applicable to a new entrant 
under like conditions. ] 

D. Unless otherwise allowed by the commission, prices for 
local exchange telecommunications services provided by a 
new entrant basic telephone service and associated service 
charges, not purchased as part of a bundled service, shall not 
exceed the highest of the comparable tariffed services 
provided by the or applicable ceiling rates, as determined by 
the commission, of an incumbent local exchange carrier or 
carriers in the same local serving areas service territory. Price 
ceilings shall be the highest tariffed rates as of January 1, 
1996, for comparable services of any ILEC serving the local 
service area of the new entrant. Price ceilings for a new 
entrant shall be increased if the highest tariffed rate of an 
incumbent is raised through applicable regulatory procedures. 
Unless otherwise determined by the commission, price 
decreases for an incumbent's service, whether initiated by the 
carrier or adopted by the commission, shall not require a 
corresponding decrease in the price ceilings applicable to the 
new entrant. Tariff changes pursuant to this price ceiling plan 
shall be implemented as follows: 

1. Price decreases shall become effective on a minimum of 
one day's written notice to the Division of 
Communications. 

2. Price increases below ceiling rates shall become 
effective after 30 days' written notice is provided to the 
Division of Communications and affected customers. 

a. Written notice to affected customers shall be provided 
through bill inserts, bill messages, or direct mail. 

b. Notice for price increases for a casual user or 
nonsubscriber service shall be provided through 
publication once as display advertising in newspapers 
having general circulation in the areas served by the new 
entrant. Display advertising shall only be used for notice 
for casual user or nonsubscriber services unless 
otherwise authorized by the commission. 

c. A copy of the customer notice, the date or dates of 
such notification, and proof of publication, if applicable, 
shall be included with the notice to the Division of 
Communications. 

d. A proposed rate increase below ceiling rates, if there 
are no current customers, shall not require customer 
notice. The notice to the Division of Communications 
shall include an attestation by the new entrant that it has 
no customers. 

E. A new entrant may petition the commission for approval 
of pricing structures or rates that do not conform with the 
price ceilings. The new entrant shall provide appropriate 
documentation and rationale to support any request. The 
commission may permit such alternative pricing structures 
and rates unless there is a showing the public interest will be 
harmed. 1. Beginning December 1, 2007, unless otherwise 
allowed by the commission, prices for a new entrant's 
intrastate access services shall not exceed the highest of the 
following: 

a. The new entrant's comparable interstate switched 
access charge rates. 

b. The aggregate intrastate switched access charge rates 
of the ILEC in whose service territory the new entrant is 
providing service. A new entrant may utilize a blended or 
composite rate to reflect applicable price ceilings of more 
than one ILEC or to reflect an alternative rate structure to 
the ILEC. 

c. An intrastate switched access charge benchmark rate 
of $.029 per minute for a transition period from 
December 1, 2007, through March 30, 2008. [ Under 
subdivision E 1 c, a new entrant may not exceed its 
intrastate switched access rates in effect on May 1, 
2007. ] Effective April 1, 2008, [ this ] subdivision [ E 1 
c ] no longer applies. 

2. A new entrant may be required to submit supporting 
documentation to justify its [ switched access ] rates [ and 
, ] structure [ , and appropriate functions ] to the Division 
of Communications. 

3. Unless otherwise ordered by the commission, if an ILEC 
lowers its switched access charges on its own, such 
reductions shall not be reflected in applicable price ceilings 
and a new entrant is not required to adjust its rates in such 
circumstances. 

4. If an ILEC lowers switched access charges pursuant to a 
commission order, a new entrant shall have 90 days to 
adjust [ and implement ] its switched access rates to 
correspond to the new applicable price ceiling. 
[ Applicable access tariffs shall be filed with the Division 
of Communications at least 10 days prior to the effective 
date. ] The commission may approve an alternative 
implementation schedule for a new entrant or new entrants 
to adjust their switched access rates. 

F. The price ceiling requirements shall not apply to a new 
entrant's services: (i) that are comparable to services 
classified as competitive Tariff changes for the incumbent; or 
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(ii) that have been provided regulatory treatment different 
than that specified by this chapter. local exchange 
telecommunications services of new entrants shall be 
implemented as follows: 

1. Price decreases shall be noticed to the Division of 
Communications no later than three days after the effective 
date. 

2. Price increases shall become effective after at least 30 
days' written notice is provided to affected customers and 
at least seven business days' written notice to the Division 
of Communications. 

a. Written notice to affected customers shall be provided 
through bill inserts, bill messages, or direct mail. 

b. Notice for price increases for a casual user or 
nonsubscriber service shall be provided through 
publication once as display advertising in newspapers 
having general circulation in the areas served by the new 
entrant. Display advertising shall only be used for notice 
for casual user or nonsubscriber services unless 
otherwise authorized by the commission. 

c. A copy of the customer notice, the date or dates of 
such notification, and proof of publication, if applicable, 
shall be included with the notice to the Division of 
Communications. 

d. An allowable rate increase, if there are no current 
customers, shall not require customer notice. The notice 
to the Division of Communications shall include an 
attestation by the new entrant that it has no customers. 

3. New service offerings shall become effective after at 
least three business days' written notice to the Division of 
Communications. 

4. Administrative or nonprice changes shall become 
effective after at least three business days' written notice to 
the Division of Communications. 

5. A new entrant, subject to prior approval of the Division 
of Communications, may seek to file tariff changes in less 
than the prescribed timeframe stated above. 

G. Tariff filings and revisions shall be submitted to A new 
entrant may petition the Director commission for approval of 
the Division of Communications and shall include an original 
and two copies pricing structures or rates that do not conform 
with price ceiling requirements in subsections D and E. The 
new entrant shall provide appropriate documentation and 
rationale to support any request. The commission may permit 
such alternative pricing structures and rates [ unless there is a 
showing that if ] the public interest will [ not ] be harmed. 

H. Tariffs for new services offered Unless otherwise ordered 
by a new entrant that are the commission, price ceiling 
requirements shall not comparable apply to services classified 

as competitive for the incumbent or for which the 
commission has not provided regulatory treatment different a 
new entrant's services other than that those specified by this 
chapter shall be filed with 30 days' prior notice to the 
commission in subsections D and E of this section. Price 
decreases for these services shall become effective on a 
minimum of one day's notice to the commission. Price 
increases shall become effective after 30 days' prior notice to 
the Division of Communications and affected customers in 
the manner prescribed by subdivision D 2 of this section. 

I. A new entrant may, pursuant to §56-481.2 of Tariff filings 
and revisions shall be submitted to the Code Director of 
Virginia, submit an alternative regulatory plan for the 
commission's consideration in the applicant's certification 
proceeding or at a later date if it desires regulation different 
from that specified in this section [ the ] Division of 
Communications and shall include an original and two 
copies. 

J. A new entrant providing may, for a specified period of 
time, offer promotional rates, terms, or conditions for its local 
exchange telecommunications services shall not abandon or 
discontinue such services except as prescribed offerings that 
differ from the rates, terms, or conditions in 20VAC5-423, 
Rules Governing the Discontinuance of Local Exchange 
Telecommunications Services Provided by Competitive Local 
Exchange Carriers its tariffs. Promotions may be submitted 
by letter and become effective after at least three business 
days' written notice to the Director of the Division of 
Communications. 

K. An MLEC A new entrant may petition the commission 
offer individual customer pricing for authority to include a 
subsidy in any of its local exchange telecommunications 
services to a customer that may differ from those in its tariffs 
in a competitive bid [ or procurement ] situation. The 
commission may approve such a subsidy if it is deemed new 
entrant shall retain records of any such agreements and make 
same available to be in the public interest the Division of 
Communications upon request. Any commission approved 
subsidy may not result in a price for the service lower than 
the price for the same service charged by the ILEC provider 
in the area. 

L. A new entrant requesting authority to expand its 
geographic service territory not covered by its existing 
certificate shall file a petition with the commission may, 
pursuant to §56-481.2 of the Code of Virginia, submit an 
alternative regulatory plan for the commission's consideration 
in the applicant's certification proceeding or at a later date if it 
desires regulation different from that specified in this section. 

M. A new entrant providing local exchange 
telecommunications services shall not abandon or discontinue 
such services except as prescribed in 20VAC5-423, Rules 
Governing the Discontinuance of Local Exchange 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 29, 2007 

516 

Telecommunications Services Provided by Competitive Local 
Exchange Carriers. 

N. An MLEC may petition the commission for authority to 
include a subsidy in any of its local exchange services. The 
commission may approve such a subsidy if it is deemed to be 
in the public interest. Any [ commission-approved ] subsidy 
[ approved by the commission ] may not result in a price for 
the service lower than the price for the same service charged 
by the ILEC provider in the area. 

O. A new entrant requesting authority to expand its 
geographic service territory not covered by its existing 
certificate shall file a petition with the commission. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-756; Filed September 28, 2007, 2:42 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Final Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 24VAC20-120. Commercial Driver 
Training School Regulations (repealing 24VAC20-120-10 
through 24VAC20-120-180). 

24VAC20-121. Virginia Driver Training Schools 
Regulations (adding 24VAC20-121-10 through 24VAC20-
121-220). 

Statutory Authority: §§46.2-203 and 46.2-1703 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Marc Copeland, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Motor Vehicles, Post Office Box 27412, 
Richmond, VA 23269-0001, telephone 804-367-1875, FAX 
804-367-6631, TTY 800-272-9268, or email 
marc.copeland@dmv.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The Department of Motor Vehicles is repealing its existing 
driver training school regulations and promulgating new 
regulations to address the needs of novice drivers of 
passenger vehicles and commercial motor vehicles, and the 
driving public in general. 

The regulations set forth licensing requirements for 
general driving instructors, and Class A (commercial 
motor vehicle training) and Class B (passenger vehicle 
training) driver training schools; establish business office 
and classroom requirements and business practices; 
specify recordkeeping requirements, including availability 
of records, and inspection and compliance reviews; 
establish school licensing requirements, including school 

license renewal and transfer provisions; set forth school 
contract requirements; establish a driver training school 
fee schedule; and provide for sanctions for violations of 
statutes or regulations.  Notable changes to the existing 
regulations include requiring national criminal records 
checks and mandatory continuing education for driving 
instructors. 

Changes made to the proposed regulations require schools 
to provide written agreements associated with the use of 
classrooms, driving simulators and other facilities they 
utilize; allow DMV to prescribe the manner in which 
completion certificates may be provided to students by the 
schools; require schools that have filed for bankruptcy to 
notify DMV within 15 days of the filing, and to provide, 
among other things, information about the financial status 
of the company and how the filing might affect past, 
present and future students; require each school owner to 
be responsible for the acts of any instructor performing 
within the scope of his duties as an instructor; require 
Class A schools to provide written agreements associated 
with the use of driving ranges; and allow DMV, pursuant 
to §46.2-1702 of the Code of Virginia, to establish 
curriculum requirements other than the current 
Department of Education curriculum for Class B courses. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 121 

VIRGINIA DRIVER TRAINING SCHOOLS 
REGULATIONS 

Part I 

General Provisions 

24VAC20-121-10. Definitions. 

The terms "Class A licensee," "Class B licensee," "driver 
training school" or "school," and "instructor" are defined in 
§46.2-1700 of the Code of Virginia. In addition to those 
definitions, the following words and terms when used in this 
regulation shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Class A license" means a license issued by the Department 
of Motor Vehicles to a driver training school that provides 
training in the operation of any type of commercial motor 
vehicle as defined in §46.2-341.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Class B license" means a license issued by the Department 
of Motor Vehicles to a driver training school that provides 
training in the operation of any type of motor vehicle other 
than motorcycles and commercial motor vehicles as defined 
in §46.2-341.4 of the Code of Virginia. 
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"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia 
Department of Motor Vehicles. 

"Curriculum" means the courses of instruction and other 
relevant materials related to driver training offered by driver 
training schools. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Motor 
Vehicles. For notification and document submission 
purposes, department shall specifically mean the Commercial 
Licensing Division at the headquarters office of the Virginia 
Department of Motor Vehicles in Richmond.  

"General compliance review" means a formal review by the 
department of a driver training school’s operations, facilities 
and records to determine compliance with statutory and 
regulatory requirements. 

"In-vehicle instruction" means the delivery of information 
and experience by an instructor to a student who is in or 
driving a motor vehicle, and where observing the driving 
skills and actual driving experiences of other students is a 
major component. 

"National criminal records check" means a criminal 
background check performed by the Department of State 
Police that includes all participating states and jurisdictions. 

"Normal business hours" shall mean the normal business 
hours of the department, which are Monday through Friday, 8 
a.m. to 5 p.m., and Saturdays, 8 a.m. to noon. 

"Owner" means a person or persons, including a partnership, 
corporation or other business entities, that have a vested 
interest in and control over a school. 

"Period of instruction" means 50 minutes of in-vehicle or 
classroom instruction. 

"Revoke" or "revocation" means that school or instructor 
licenses revoked are not subject to renewal or restoration 
except through reapplication after (i) the expiration of the 
revocation period and (ii) any outstanding compliance 
requirements have been met.  

"Safe mechanical condition" means the continual 
compliance with safety requirements of vehicles that are used 
to train school students, and have passed either a Virginia 
state safety inspection or a federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Administration inspection, and for vehicles used to train the 
disabled, be certified by the National Mobility Equipment 
Vendors Association, whichever is applicable based on the 
type of training provided by the school.  

"Suspend" or "suspension" means that the school or 
instructor licenses suspended have been temporarily 
withdrawn, but may be reinstated after (i) the expiration of 
the suspension period and (ii) the licensee has met all 
outstanding compliance requirements. 

24VAC20-121-20. Business office and classroom 
requirements. 

A. No school license shall be issued unless the school has an 
established place of business in the Commonwealth that is 
owned, rented or leased by the school. Such established place 
of business shall: 

1. Be the premises of the licensed location of the school; 

2. Satisfy all local business licensing and zoning 
regulations; 

3. Have office space devoted exclusively to the driver 
training school; 

4. Contain all records that are required to be maintained 
under the provisions of these regulations unless the school 
has been permitted to maintain them elsewhere pursuant to 
24VAC20-121-40; 

5. Be equipped with a desk, chairs, filing space, working 
utilities and a working telephone listed in the name of the 
school; 

6. Comply with federal, state and local health, fire and 
building code requirements, including the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (42 USC §12101 et seq.); 

7. Be open to the general public a minimum of eight hours 
per week during normal business hours; and 

8. Not share space with a school classroom. 

The school shall also provide to the department the street 
address and physical address of any other business offices 
maintained by the school in addition to the licensed location 
office. 

In addition to business office addresses, all addresses [ and, ] 
physical locations of classrooms, [ driving ranges, ] driving 
simulators or any other facilities used by the school shall be 
provided to the department in writing. [ If any such 
classroom, driving simulator or other facility is not owned by 
the school, then a copy of all agreements associated with the 
use of such property by the school shall be provided to the 
department. ] Schools shall not use classrooms, [ driving 
ranges, ] driving simulators or other driver training facilities 
prior to receiving approval for their use from the department.  

A school owner’s residence may [ , in part, ] be used as the 
licensed location of a school if it qualifies for a federal tax 
deduction of expenses related to the business use of part of 
the residence and meets the established place of business 
requirements set forth in these regulations. 

B. Any school that engages in classroom instruction shall 
provide a classroom with the following: 

1. Seating arrangements and writing surfaces for each 
student and a minimum of 10 square feet per student 
attending at any given time; 
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2. Blackboards or other visual aids that shall be visible 
from all seating positions; 

3. Driver education reference books, including [ , when 
applicable, ] current curriculum guides [ , student work 
books ] and appropriate textbooks for each student; 

4. Appropriate audio/video equipment and screen in good 
working order; and 

5. Restroom facilities that are clean, accessible and in good 
working order. 

C. Office and instruction hours shall be posted in a 
conspicuous location outside the licensed location and any 
other business office [ and shall be in a manner that is visible 
and ] easily accessible to the public [ from outside of the 
licensed location and business ]. 

D. The school license and any notice of the department that 
limits or restricts training shall be prominently posted at the 
licensed location office. A copy of the school license and 
notice, if applicable, also shall be prominently posted in each 
school classroom and any other business office maintained by 
the school. 

In addition, schools shall display, in a conspicuous location 
in all their classrooms and their business offices, signs 
provided by the department that notify students and the public 
about the department’s toll-free hotline. 

E. Any school licensed by the department shall notify the 
department, in writing, 30 days prior to a change of address 
for the licensed location, any other business office or 
classroom or other instructional facility. The department will 
issue a revised license reflecting such changes. The school 
shall return the current license to the department upon receipt 
of a revised school license. All school-related business, 
classroom and instructional locations are subject to approval 
by the department, as required in these regulations. 

F. The location of a school's licensed location, other 
business offices, classrooms or practice driver training areas 
shall be a distance of at least 1,500 feet from any property 
owned, leased or maintained by the department for examining 
motor vehicle operators. Such distance shall be measured in a 
straight line from the nearest point of the primary building of 
the department’s property to the nearest point of the school 
licensed location, business office, classroom or practice driver 
training area, whichever is closest. This distance requirement 
may be waived by the department if the licensed location, 
other business office, classroom or practice driver training 
area has been previously allowed to be within the 1,500 foot 
limit as a result of an action or omission on the part of the 
department. All school-related business, classroom or 
instructional locations must be approved by the department 
prior to use. 

24VAC20-121-30. Business practices. 

A. A school shall not use any name other than that shown on 
its school license. Schools using the same or similar name of 
another current or former school or similar business, or using 
names considered to be offensive in nature, as determined by 
the department, shall not be licensed by the department. 

B. A school that utilizes "Department of Motor Vehicles" or 
"DMV" in any form of advertising including, but not limited 
to, telephone directories and websites shall use only the 
words "Licensed by the Department of Motor Vehicles 
(DMV) of the Commonwealth of Virginia." A school shall 
not refer to any other state agency or board in any 
documentation or advertisement. Schools with web sites shall 
notify the department of their web addresses when applying 
for or renewing their license or when the site becomes 
operational, whichever is sooner. 

C. A school shall not use false, deceptive or misleading 
information in any advertisement or provide this type of 
information to prospective students. 

D. A school, instructor, owner or any other person employed 
by or otherwise associated with a school shall not: 

1. Assert or imply that it will guarantee that any student 
will pass the state driver’s license examination; 

2. Assert or imply that the student can secure a driver’s 
license; 

3. Assert or imply that the student will be guaranteed 
employment upon completion of any course of instruction;  

4. Transact or solicit driver training school business on 
property owned, leased or maintained by the department; 

5. Provide translation services for any individual who is 
taking the department’s driver’s license knowledge 
examination; 

6. Falsify forms, certificates or other documents for use by 
students or other individuals in order to obtain a driver’s 
license; 

7. Possess, use, provide, sell or give the department’s 
driver licensing test questions to students or other 
individuals; 

8. Assist or facilitate the creation of false identification 
documents of any kind or false residency certification for 
any individual; 

9. Provide instruction at a site not formally approved by 
the department; 

10. Contract or subcontract, without written approval of the 
parents or legal guardians, with other driver training 
schools or driver training organizations to provide 
classroom or in-vehicle instruction for students under 18 
years of age who are not married or emancipated; 
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11. Have, use, keep or be under the influence of alcohol, 
illegal drugs or [ other ] substances, [ or otherwise ] legal 
[ drugs ] or [ illegal, substances that would affect a person's 
ability to drive or provide or receive instruction while such 
person is ] on the premises of or in vehicles used by the 
school [ that would affect a person’s ability to drive a 
vehicle or provide or receive instruction ]; or 

12. Conduct themselves in a manner not suitable or 
compatible with school-related activities. Such prohibited 
conduct includes, but is not limited to: 

a. Touching in a manner that would be considered 
inappropriate by a reasonable person; 

b. Telling jokes or making statements or comments that a 
reasonable person would consider (i) to be hateful or 
demeaning to a particular race or ethnicity, or (ii) to have 
sexual or otherwise vulgar content or connotation;  

c. Displaying objects or materials that a reasonable 
person would consider unpleasant, distasteful, nasty, 
disgusting, hateful or otherwise unsuitable; 

d. Berating or otherwise harassing students or other 
persons; 

e. Running errands; 

f. Except for emergency situations, using 
telecommunications or any other audio or video 
equipment during periods of in-vehicle or classroom 
instruction that are not part of the course of instruction. If 
an emergency situation occurs during in-vehicle 
instruction, such use should, whenever possible, be made 
once the vehicle is safely off the road and stopped; 

g. Eating during periods of instruction; 

h. Use of tobacco products during periods of instruction; 

i. Creating a training environment considered hostile or 
otherwise intimidating to a reasonable person; or 

j. Allowing any student to engage in such prohibited 
conduct outlined above. 

E. Except when full tuition has not been satisfied, a school 
shall provide, within five business days of the successful 
completion of program requirements [ and in a manner 
prescribed by the department ], an original certificate of 
completion needed by the student (i) to obtain a driver’s 
license, (ii) for insurance verification purposes, or (iii) for 
employment purposes. No fee shall be charged by the school 
for the original certificate. 

F. Schools shall operate in accordance with the driver 
training school operations manual as provided and updated by 
the department. 

G. No school vehicles shall park on the department’s owned, 
leased or maintained property except for the purposes of 

conducting official business with the department during 
normal business hours. At no time whatsoever shall a school 
provide training to a student on the department’s owned, 
leased or maintained property [ or over its test routes ]. 

24VAC20-121-40. Records to be maintained. 

Except as otherwise provided in this section, all records 
shall be maintained at the licensed location of the school. The 
commissioner may, on written request from a school, permit 
records to be maintained at a location other than the licensed 
location for good cause shown. 

Schools shall maintain accurate, complete, legible and up-
to-date records, as required under §§46.2-1701.2 and 46.2-
1701.3 of the Code of Virginia. Such records shall include: 

1. All student records; 

2. All business records; 

3. All records relating to: 

a. Compliance with or proof of exemption from local 
business licensing and zoning regulations; 

b. Federal, state and local health, fire and building code 
requirements; and 

c. Size and space requirements for places of business and 
classrooms; and 

4. Any other records required by the department in a 
manner prescribed by the department. 

All records shall be retained by the school for a minimum of 
three years after their creation. Copies of such records shall 
be provided to the department upon request. 

24VAC20-121-50. Availability of records; inspections and 
compliance reviews. 

A. All records shall be open and available for inspection by 
any employee of the department during normal business 
hours or at a reasonable time agreeable to the department 
employee. Schools shall have someone, who is employed by 
or otherwise associated with the school and who can access 
all records, available to assist the department employee, as 
necessary. If copies of such records are not readily available, 
the department employee may secure and remove these 
records in order to review, photocopy them or use them in a 
hearing. The department shall return those records it removes 
after the review or photocopying is completed, or at the 
conclusion of the hearing process, including any related court 
action, when used for that purpose. 

B. Each applicant for licensing as a driver training school 
shall permit the department to inspect its operations, facilities 
and records as they relate to its driver training program for the 
purpose of determining whether the applicant is qualified for 
licensing. 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 29, 2007 

520 

The department shall perform its inspections during normal 
business hours with or without prior notice to the driver 
training schools. The department shall prepare a written 
report on the results of each inspection, and provide a copy of 
the report to and review it with the applicant. At the 
conclusion of the review of the report, the applicant shall 
provide signed written documentation to the representative of 
the department conducting the inspection that indicates the 
school has received and reviewed the report. 

C. Each school shall permit the department, from time to 
time, to inspect and conduct a general compliance review of 
its business offices, classrooms, vehicles and any other 
records or properties associated with the operation of the 
school to determine whether the school remains in 
compliance with licensing requirements. 

D. The department shall perform its inspections and general 
compliance reviews during normal business hours with or 
without prior notice to the driver training schools. The 
department shall prepare a written report on the results of 
each inspection and general compliance review, and provide a 
copy of the report to and review it with the owner or business 
manager of the school. At the conclusion of the review of the 
report, the owner or business manager of the school shall 
provide signed written documentation to the representative of 
the department conducting the inspection or general 
compliance review that indicates the school has received and 
reviewed the report. 

E. Any school owner, employee or instructor who meets 
with department employees for the purposes of inspecting or 
otherwise obtaining records is subject to the conduct 
requirements set forth in these regulations. Any school owner, 
employee or instructor who violates the conduct requirements 
set forth in these regulations during such meetings shall be 
subject to the sanctions set forth in these regulations. 

F. Each student’s record shall be open and available for 
inspection by the respective current or former student 18 
years of age or older and by the parents and legal guardians of 
current or former students under 18 years of age during 
normal business hours or at a reasonable time agreeable to 
both the school and the student or parents or legal guardians 
of students under 18 years of age. 

Under no circumstances shall a school owner, employee or 
instructor meet, for the purposes of inspecting records, or for 
any other purpose, with current or former students under 18 
years of age at the time of the meeting without a parent or 
legal guardian being present unless the student is married or 
emancipated. Any school owner, employee or instructor who 
meets with students, parents or legal guardians for the 
purposes of inspecting records is subject to the conduct 
requirements set forth in these regulations. Any school owner, 
employee or instructor who violates the conduct requirements 
set forth in these regulations during such meetings with 

students, parents or legal guardians shall be subject to the 
sanctions set forth in these regulations. 

24VAC20-121-60. School licensing requirements. 

A. Schools seeking a license shall file with the department, 
as required by these regulations, a completed application for a 
driver training school license along with any associated fees 
and other documentation required by the department. In 
addition, each school shall collect and submit to the 
department, as required by these regulations, the instructor 
applications for those instructors that they employ along with 
any associated fees and other documentation required by the 
department. 

B. The following shall accompany the school licensing 
application and shall be in addition to any other application 
requirements of the department: 

1. An application fee; 

2. A certificate of insurance; 

3. A surety bond; 

4. Instructor applications; 

5. A local business license or zoning document, or a letter 
from local authorities indicating none is required; and 

6. A national criminal records check completed within 60 
days of the application deadline for each individual 
providing instruction or otherwise employed by or 
managing the school. 

In addition. each owner or principal of the owner of a driver 
training school shall submit a national criminal records check 
with the school license application package. 

C. The application package shall be submitted to the 
department at the address shown on the application. All 
proper applications will be either approved or denied within 
30 business days of receipt by the department. 

D. School licenses shall be valid for a period of 12 months 
and shall display the validity period on the face of the license. 
The school license shall expire on the last day of the last valid 
month of the license period. 

E. Schools seeking a license shall file with the department 
evidence of insurance, with a company authorized to do 
business in the Commonwealth of Virginia, on all vehicles 
used by schools to provide instruction, [ at least ] in the 
minimum amounts as required by §46.2-472 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

The school shall provide and maintain evidence of insurance 
coverage on a certificate of insurance form provided by the 
department. The certificate shall be filed upon application and 
at other times of the licensure period as requested by the 
department. The certificate shall stipulate the make, model, 
year, vehicle identification number, vehicle color and license 
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plate number for all vehicles and shall also stipulate that the 
department will be notified by the insurance carrier (i) 10 
calendar days before the school’s insurance policy expires or 
(ii) on the same day that the policy is canceled or not 
maintained in full force. 

Schools shall provide to the department written verification 
from their insurance company that the insurance company is 
aware the vehicles are used for driver training instruction and 
are operated by student drivers. Schools shall notify the 
department in writing of any change in liability insurance 
coverage not later than the effective date of the change. 

Each school shall provide written notice to the department’s 
driver training school section in the event that any motor 
vehicle is added to or deleted from the insurance policy 
during the coverage period. The notice shall include the 
make, model, year, vehicle identification number, vehicle 
color and the license plate number. The notice shall be 
received by the department prior to using any added motor 
vehicle for driver education instruction. Failure to maintain 
required liability insurance for school vehicles or failure to 
comply with insurance certification requirements shall result 
in the suspension or revocation of the school’s license or the 
imposition of other sanctions, or both, as set forth in these 
regulations. 

F. All licensed schools shall file with the department a 
surety bond in the sum set by statute for Class A and Class B 
schools, payable to the Commonwealth of Virginia, issued by 
a corporation licensed to transact surety business in the 
Commonwealth. The surety bond shall be filed with each 
application and must provide coverage for the entire licensure 
period. 

G. The department may refuse to approve any application, 
including originals or renewals, in which the owner or any 
principal of the owner, or any of the school’s employees or 
instructors (i) have previously been or would be subject to 
any sanctions prescribed by these regulations or (ii) has been 
convicted of a felony, including but not limited to bribery, 
forgery, fraud or embezzlement under the laws of the 
Commonwealth or any other jurisdiction, or a conviction of 
any offense included in Article 7 (§18.2-61 et seq.) of 
Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia (Criminal 
Sexual Assault) or of any similar laws of any other 
jurisdiction, or any misdemeanor or felony involving: 

1. Sexual assault as established in Article 7 (§18.2-61 et 
seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Obscenity and related offenses as established in Article 
5 (§18.2-372 et seq.) of Chapter 8 of Title 18.2 of the Code 
of Virginia; 

3. Drugs as established in Article 1 (§18.2-247 et seq.) of 
Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. Crimes of moral turpitude; 

5. Contributing to the delinquency of a minor; 

6. Taking indecent liberties with a minor; 

7. The physical or sexual abuse or neglect of a child;  

8. Similar offenses in other jurisdictions; or 

9. Other offenses, as determined by the department, which 
would impact ownership, operation or instruction by a 
school. 

Any school license issued may be suspended or revoked if 
such a conviction occurs during any licensure period. 

H. To avoid any conflict of interest, the department will not 
approve any Class A school license for any applicant that is 
certified by DMV as a Third Party Tester for the commercial 
driver's license (CDL) skills testing. 

I. Requests to change (i) the name or address of a school or 
(ii) a school license to add to or eliminate a licensed location, 
or any other business offices, classrooms or other 
instructional facilities during the licensure period shall be 
made to the department at least 30 days prior to such change. 
Such changes shall be subject to a processing fee, as set forth 
in these regulations, and the issuance of a modified license, as 
requested. The expiration on any modified license issued shall 
be the same as the current license. 

24VAC20-121-70. School license renewal required. 

A. Every licensed school applying for renewal shall return 
the following to the department at the address shown on the 
application on or before the 15th day of the month in which 
the current license expires: 

1. A renewal application; 

2. A certificate of insurance, as required under these 
regulations; 

3. A photocopy of a current business license, if required by 
the locality, or a letter from the locality that indicates no 
business license is required; 

4. National criminal records checks completed within 60 
days of the application deadline for each individual 
providing instruction or otherwise employed by or 
managing the school, as required by these regulations; and 

5. A fee for each license renewal application, as set forth in 
these regulations. 

If the original surety bond is no longer in force, a new surety 
bond must also accompany the renewal application. 

B. The department will make every effort to mail a renewal 
notice to the licensee outlining the procedures for renewal at 
least 90 days prior to the expiration of their license and to 
mail a follow-up reminder notice 45 days prior to the 
expiration of their license. Failure to receive these notices 
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shall not relieve the licensee of the obligation to apply if a 
continuation of the license is desired. 

24VAC20-121-80. Transferability of school licenses. 

A. A change in ownership shall require an application for an 
original license along with the documents and fees required 
under these regulations, which shall be submitted to the 
department at least 30 days in advance of the effective date of 
the change. The school shall not operate under the change in 
ownership until an original license has been issued by the 
department reflecting the new ownership. 

B. School licenses are not transferable; they shall not be 
sold, loaned, bartered or given by a licensee or an agent of a 
licensee to another school, individual, association, partnership 
or corporation. 

24VAC20-121-90. School contracts. 

A. All contracts between any school and any individual or 
group attending the school shall be in a standard format 
approved by the department. A school shall not make any 
changes to the format without review and approval by the 
department. A copy of the signed contract must be provided 
to each student who signs the contract for those students 18 
years of age or older and those students under 18 years of age 
who are either married or emancipated. For students under 18 
years of age who are not married or emancipated, a copy of 
the signed contract must be provided to the parents or legal 
guardians who sign the contract. 

Excluding transcripts and certificates of completion, all 
written correspondence from schools to current or former 
students and their parents or legal guardians related in any 
way to course work or the contract between the school and 
the student shall include standard information about the 
department’s toll-free telephone hotline. The department shall 
specify to the schools, as part of the school license application 
package, the content and the font requirements for this hotline 
information. 

Schools may not include any statements in their contracts 
that place the financial responsibility for accidents occurring 
in school-owned vehicles during periods of instruction on the 
student or on the parents or legal guardians of students 
operating the vehicles. 

B. The required elements for all contracts between schools 
and their independent contractors shall be provided by the 
department as part of the school license application package. 

C. Addenda to any contracts between a school and its 
students or a school and its independent contractors shall be 
approved by the department. 

D. Licensed driver training schools may conduct training 
courses at [ public or ] private schools, subject to existing 
statutory and regulatory requirements. Driver training schools 
offering such training shall provide the department with a 

copy of the written contract between the driver training 
school and the [ public or ] private school [ that includes the 
dates and times for the courses ] along with written 
confirmation [ that the classroom as to which ] portion of the 
training [ , if any, ] is being conducted at the [ public or ] 
private school. 

24VAC20-121-100. General instructor licensing 
requirements. 

A. Individuals seeking an instructor’s license shall submit, 
as required by these regulations, a completed application 
along with any associated fees and other appropriate 
documentation to the school with which they are employed. 
Schools shall be responsible for submitting the instructor 
applications, along with any associated fees and other 
appropriate documentation, to the department, as required by 
these regulations. Applicants seeking an original or a renewal 
of an instructor’s license shall submit with their application a 
national criminal records check completed within 60 days of 
the submission date of the application. 

B. Applicants must be at least 21 years of age and must be 
able to document with driving records at least five years of 
licensed driving experience, two years of which shall be 
experience in the United States or a territory thereof. These 
driving records must exhibit the individual's name, the 
driver’s license number, the date of issue, the issuing 
jurisdiction, the date of expiration and notations of any 
convictions, license withdrawals, suspensions, revocations, 
cancellations, disqualifications or restrictions. In the event an 
applicant uses driving records from a foreign country to 
substantiate licensed driving experience, such records must be 
translated into English by an appropriate authority, as 
approved by the department, at the applicant’s expense. 

C. Individuals seeking an instructor’s license must be 
employed by a licensed school. No instructor shall be 
employed by more than one school unless all the schools are 
owned by the same person. Instructors employed by more 
than one school shall have an application and other 
appropriate documentation and fees submitted to the 
department by each school that employs them.  

D. Individuals licensed as instructors or seeking an 
instructor’s license must be able to effectively communicate 
in English in an easily understood and comprehensible 
manner to their students and the department, as determined by 
the department. 

E. Individuals seeking an instructor’s license to teach in-
vehicle instruction shall hold a valid driver's license from 
their state of domicile at the time of licensing and throughout 
the entire licensure period. If such driver’s licenses are from 
another state or jurisdiction, the applicant must provide to the 
department a copy of their driving record from that 
jurisdiction with their application and every three months 
thereafter if they receive an instructor’s license. Such driving 
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record must be produced within 30 days of its submission to 
the department. 

All applicants for a license to teach in-vehicle instruction 
and those persons who are currently licensed to teach in-
vehicle instruction must also provide written notice to the 
department of any traffic accidents, convictions of traffic 
infractions, misdemeanors, or felonies, as well as any 
administrative actions relating to driving or any driver’s 
license revocation, suspension, cancellation, disqualification 
or other loss of driving privileges within 15 calendar days of 
the conviction or administrative action, or within 15 calendar 
days of the imposition of the revocation, suspension, 
cancellation, disqualification or other loss of driving 
privileges. 

Applicants for a license to teach in-vehicle instruction shall 
not be approved if their current driving privileges are expired, 
suspended, revoked, cancelled or disqualified. Persons 
required to submit to periodic medical reviews may also be 
denied an in-vehicle instructor’s license if, as determined by 
the department, their conditions are considered to pose a 
threat to the safety, health or welfare of driver training 
students or the public while these persons operate a motor 
vehicle. 

F. Individuals who obtain an instructor’s license shall at the 
time of licensing have a driving record with no more than six 
demerit points. After licensing, instructors shall maintain a 
driving record with no more than six demerit points. If during 
the licensure period the driving record of such individual 
accumulates more than six demerit points based on violations 
occurring in a 12-month period, the department shall suspend 
the person’s instructor license and shall notify the instructor 
and the driver training school where the instructor is 
employed of such suspension. Safe driving points shall not be 
used to reduce the accumulated demerit points. In the event 
that the driving record is from another state, the department 
will apply Virginia’s equivalent demerit points to convictions 
noted on such record. 

Whenever the driver's license of such individual is 
suspended or revoked, or such person is convicted in any 
court of reckless driving, driving under the influence or 
driving while intoxicated, the department shall suspend the 
person’s instructor license and shall notify the person and the 
driver training school where the instructor is employed of the 
suspension. 

G. The department may refuse to approve any application, 
including originals or renewals, in which the applicant has 
been convicted of a felony, including but not limited to 
bribery, forgery, fraud or embezzlement under the laws of the 
Commonwealth or any other jurisdiction, or a conviction of 
any offense included in Article 7 (§18.2-61 et seq.) of 
Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia (Criminal 
Sexual Assault) or of any similar laws of any other 

jurisdiction, or any misdemeanor or felony conviction 
involving: 

1. Sexual assault as established in Article 7 (§18.2-61 et 
seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Obscenity and related offenses as established in Article 
5 (§18.2-372 et seq.) of Chapter 8 of Title 18.2 of the Code 
of Virginia; 

3. Drugs as established in Article 1 (§18.2-247 et seq.) of 
Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. Crimes of moral turpitude; 

5. Contributing to the delinquency of a minor; 

6. Taking indecent liberties with a minor; 

7. The physical or sexual abuse or neglect of a child; 

8. Similar offenses in other jurisdictions; or 

9. Other offenses, as determined by the department, which 
would indicate that the applicant may present a danger to 
the safety of students or the public. 

Instructor licenses may be suspended or revoked if a 
conviction for any of the offenses outlined in this subsection 
occurs during any licensure period. 

H. Instructor applicants shall not be issued a license if they 
have a conviction of driving under the influence, reckless 
driving, refusal to submit to a breath or blood test under 
§18.2-268.2 of the Code of Virginia, or vehicular or 
involuntary manslaughter, or of any similar offense from any 
other jurisdiction within a period of five years prior to the 
date of the application. If the applicant’s driving privileges 
were revoked for any such conviction, then the five-year 
period shall be measured from the license restoration date 
rather than the conviction date. Instructor licenses issued shall 
be revoked if a conviction, as outlined in this subsection, 
occurs during the licensure period. 

I. Except as otherwise provided in these regulations, an 
individual seeking an instructor’s license shall have at least a 
high school diploma or equivalent. After initial licensure or 
renewal, instructors shall attend annual training sessions 
provided by the department. These one-day training sessions 
shall be held in each of the department's regional districts 
every year, as deemed necessary by the department. 

These sessions shall include, as appropriate and necessary, 
updates on department forms, audit processes and other 
procedural changes, and new legislation that has implications 
for driver training. They also shall include discussions about 
any issues or concerns raised by either the department or the 
licensees. 

When available, these sessions shall also offer information 
about the latest in driver training instructional techniques as 
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well as other new developments in driver training in order to 
enhance overall professional training skills and abilities. 

The schedule for such training sessions shall be developed 
by the department and provided to each instructor through the 
school that employs them at least 30 days in advance of the 
scheduled sessions. The schedule also shall include 
provisions for a make-up training session for those licensees 
who could not attend the training session in their region. 
Attendance shall be mandatory and shall be at no cost to 
licensed instructors, other than those costs associated with 
[ (i) ] travel to and from the training session, including 
lodging and meals [ , and (ii) any materials provided by the 
department during the training session, as deemed necessary 
by the department ]. 

Each licensed instructor who, without valid excuse, fails to 
attend and complete a scheduled training session or a 
scheduled make-up training session shall be subject to a 
minimum 30-day license suspension, which shall not be lifted 
until the instructor has completed a special make-up training 
session. Special make-up training sessions shall be provided 
only when necessary, and instructors attending such sessions 
will be required to pay the department's cost for providing the 
special make-up training session. 

J. All instructors shall complete training on the current 
curriculum and other course work, as required and approved 
by the department, prior to instructing students. Evidence of 
such training shall be maintained by the school employing the 
instructor and provided to the department upon request. 

K. The fee for an instructor license shall be set pursuant to 
these regulations. The instructor's license period shall expire 
when the respective school license expires. At the discretion 
of the department, instructor licensing fees may be prorated 
on a monthly basis.  

L. The instructor license application package shall be 
submitted by the school employing the instructor to the 
department at the address shown on the application. All 
proper applications will be either approved or denied by the 
department within 30 business days of receipt from the school 
employing the instructor. 

M. All licensed instructors shall have their instructor's 
license in their possession at all times while providing 
instruction. 

N. Each instructor licensed by the department shall notify 
the department in writing within 30 days of establishing a 
new residential address. 

O. In the event that a school licensed by the department 
changes its name or address, the school shall, no later than 30 
days prior to such change (i) notify the department of the 
school’s name or address change, (ii) request revised 
instructor’s licenses for the instructors it employs reflecting 
the change and (iii) submit to the department the processing 

fees set forth in these regulations for revising and reissuing an 
instructor’s license for each of its instructors. 

After receiving the processing fees, the department will 
revise and reissue the instructor’s licenses, as requested, and 
will cancel the previously issued licenses. Once it receives the 
revised licenses from the department, the school shall return 
the cancelled instructor’s licenses to the department. 

24VAC20-121-110. Instructor license renewal. 

A. Each school employing a licensed instructor applying for 
renewal shall return to the department for each of its 
instructors a renewal application, a current national criminal 
records check completed within 60 days of the application 
and the instructor license fee to the department at the address 
shown on the application, on or before the 15th day of the 
month in which the current license expires. Each instructor's 
license shall expire when the respective school license 
expires. Thirty days prior to the end of the 12 months of the 
licensure period, each instructor’s license renewal applicant 
shall provide to the school employing them, for submission to 
the department, a national criminal records check completed 
within 60 days of the application deadline. 

B. No instructor shall be permitted to continue instructing 
students upon the expiration of the instructor's license. The 
department shall not renew the instructor’s license if the 
school license of the school employing an instructor is not 
renewed. 

C. The department will make every effort to mail a renewal 
notice outlining the procedures for renewal at least 45 days 
prior to the expiration of an instructor’s license to the licensee 
at the school’s licensed location. Failure to receive this notice 
shall not relieve the licensee of the obligation to apply for 
renewal of the license through the school if continuation is 
desired. 

24VAC20-121-120. Change in instructor employment. 

Instructor licenses shall not be transferred from one licensed 
school to another licensed school. If an instructor changes 
schools, a new license application and the appropriate fee, as 
set forth in these regulations, shall be submitted to the 
department. 

24VAC20-121-130. Notice required to the department. 

A. Each school shall notify the department in writing no 
later than 15 calendar days after the termination of 
employment of any licensed instructor. The school shall make 
every reasonable attempt to return to the department the 
instructor's license. 

B. In the event of cessation of business, the school shall 
submit to the department, within 15 calendar days of such 
date, a written statement indicating the business is closing, 
and forward to the department within 30 calendar days after 
cessation of business the school license, all instructors' 
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licenses, all student records and any materials furnished to the 
school by the department. The department will retain such 
records for a period of three years from the date they are 
received to ensure such records are available to students and 
other persons or entities who may want or need access to 
them. 

C. All schools shall notify the department of any proposed 
structural or other modifications to an existing school, 
classroom or driving range 30 days prior to initiating such 
modifications. 

[ D. In the event a school files for bankruptcy, the school 
shall submit to the department, within 15 calendar days of 
such filing and in a manner prescribed by the department, a 
written statement indicating among other things (i) the 
financial status of the business, and (ii) the anticipated impact 
of the bankruptcy on the Commonwealth and the school’s 
former, current and future students, if any. ]  

24VAC20-121-140. Fees. 

All fees related to school and instructor licensing under the 
driver training program shall be, as determined by the 
department, set at levels that will provide reasonable fiscal 
support for the operations and activities of the Commercial 
Licensing Division of the department. Such licensing fees 
shall be based, in part, on the number of business office, 
classroom and instructional locations that are part of the 
license or license application at a given time. 

A schedule of such fees, as follows, shall be provided to (i) 
all school license applicants at time of initial application and 
(ii) all licensed schools at least 30 days prior to their license 
renewal date. 
  School license for one year, original 

and renewal 
$100 

  Instructor license for one year, 
original and renewal 

$50 

  [ Upgrade school license during 
licensure period to teach students 
under age 19 

$25 

  Transfer instructor license from one 
school to another 

$25 ] 

  Penalty for failure to renew school 
license prior to expiration date 

$100 

  Penalty for failure to renew 
instructor license prior to expiration 
date 

$50 

  Processing fee for change of address $3/change 

All such fees shall be nonrefundable. All check payments 
for fees shall be made on an active account containing 
sufficient funds for the amount of the payment. 

24VAC20-121-150. General equipment requirements. 

A. Each school shall provide all necessary equipment and 
materials required for classroom and in-vehicle instruction, 
including motor vehicles that are in safe mechanical condition 
and that are properly registered and insured. [ Except as 
otherwise provided in 22VAC20-121-220, no motor vehicle 
may be used for driver training purposes unless it is owned or 
leased in the name of the licensed school or the school owner 
as indicated on the application for the school license. ] 

B. Each vehicle shall also carry minimum safety equipment 
as determined by the department, [ including, while they are 
used for training students. Such equipment shall be readily 
available and maintained in a safe, workable and organized 
manner, and shall include, ] but not [ be ] limited to reflective 
triangles [ and, ] flares, first aid kit, flashlight, [ secured ] fire 
extinguisher, jumper cables or a battery charger, towel, 
blanket, [ and a  ] safety vest [ , while used for training 
students ]. 

24VAC20-121-160. Sanctions for violations of statutes and 
regulations. 

A. The department may cancel, suspend, revoke or deny 
renewal for any license issued pursuant to these regulations, 
refuse to license a school or instructor or may limit the type 
of driver training instruction provided and impose a civil 
penalty up to $1,000, as outlined in Chapter 17 (§46.2-1700 
et seq.) of Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia, for any licensee 
who violates any provisions of such statutes or these 
regulations. 

The department may take action to cancel, suspend, revoke 
or deny renewal for any license without first offering the 
licensee the opportunity for a hearing if the Commissioner 
has made a determination pursuant to §46.2-1705 E or G of 
the Code of Virginia that the violation poses a danger to the 
safety of students or to public safety or indicates that an 
instructor is no longer qualified to act as an instructor. The 
department may also limit the privileges of a school or an 
instructor pursuant to §46.2-1705 F of the Code of Virginia. 

B. For the purposes of this section, if a school licensee is an 
association, partnership, corporation or other business entity, 
it shall be sufficient cause for the suspension, cancellation, 
revocation or refusal to renew a school license in the event 
that any officer, director, [ instructor, employee, ] or any 
trustee [ or member of, partner or majority or controlling 
shareholder of ] a partnership or corporation [ , or member of 
an association or controlling person in any other business 
entity ] has committed any act or omitted any duty that would 
be cause for suspending, canceling, revoking, or refusing to 
renew a license issued to him as an individual under the laws 
and regulations pertaining to driver training schools. 

In addition, each school owner shall be responsible for the 
acts of any instructor while [ acting as the owner’s agent 
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when (i) the owner approved of those acts, or had knowledge 
of those acts or other similar acts, and (ii) after such 
knowledge retained the benefit, proceeds, profits or 
advantages accruing from those acts or otherwise ratified 
those acts performing within the scope of his duties as an 
instructor ]. 

C. Upon revocation or refusal to renew a school license, all 
school and instructor licenses, forms, documents and all 
records relating to the school operation, including all student 
records, and any materials furnished to the school by the 
department shall be forwarded to the department by the 
school within 30 calendar days of the action. 

Part II 

Specific Requirements Related to Class A Licensure 

24VAC20-121-170. Curriculum requirements for Class A 
licensed schools. 

Course curriculum requirements will be established and 
made available by the department to Class A licensed 
schools, Class A license applicants and the public. A course 
curriculum meeting the established requirements must be 
submitted to the department at the time of Class A license 
application or renewal application, and must be approved by 
the department prior to the beginning of course instruction. 

The department shall provide and update the list of course 
curriculum requirements from time to time, as deemed 
appropriate and necessary by the department, in consultation 
with all affected schools that are licensed by the department 
at the time of the update and other interested parties as 
identified by the department. 

The department shall notify the affected schools when and if 
new relevant topics are added to the course curriculum. 
Schools shall have 45 calendar days after such notice is 
issued to update their course curriculum and to certify to the 
department in writing that the school has added the new 
topics to the course curriculum. 

24VAC20-121-180. Class A instructor license 
requirements. 

A. Applicants for a Class A instructor’s license shall possess 
a valid Virginia nonrestricted interstate commercial driver's 
license, with the appropriate vehicle classes and 
endorsements for the type of instruction they intend to 
provide, and that has been held by the applicant for at least 
three years. 

Applicants for a Class A instructor’s license who do not 
have a high school diploma may nevertheless be licensed if 
they provide written evidence that they (i) have at least one 
year of previous Class A instructing experience or (ii) have 
successfully completed a Class A driver training course and a 
minimum of 160 hours of Class A instructor training 
provided by the hiring school. 

Instructor applicants shall provide with their applications 
certifications that they meet the physical requirements, and 
any alcohol and drug screening requirements for commercial 
drivers as specified in the federal motor carrier safety 
regulations. A copy of such certification shall be kept in the 
instructor’s file maintained by the driver training school 
employing the instructor. 

If applicants for a Class A instructor’s license hold a valid 
commercial driver’s license [ (CDL) ] from a state other than 
Virginia at the time of licensing, they shall maintain [ its 
validity a valid CDL ] throughout the entire licensure period 
and shall provide to the department a copy of their driving 
record from that other state [ or states ] upon application and, 
if licensed as a Class A instructor by the department, on a 
quarterly basis thereafter. 

Those applicants for and holders of a Class A instructor’s 
license shall also provide written notice to the department of 
any conviction of traffic infractions, misdemeanors, or 
felonies, any administrative actions relating to driving or any 
driver’s license revocation, suspension, cancellation, 
disqualification or other loss of driving privilege within 15 
calendar days of the conviction or administrative action, or 
within 15 calendar days of the imposition of the revocation, 
suspension, cancellation, disqualification or other loss of 
driving privilege.  

B. Instructors shall complete in-service instructor training 
provided by the school prior to offering student instruction. 
The requirements of such in-service instructor training shall 
be established and made available to licensed Class A schools 
by the department and shall include, but not be limited to, the 
following topic areas: 

1. Basic instructional skills; 

2. Student teaching with a mentor; 

3. Background in federal, state and local laws and 
ordinances; 

4. Basic skills for operating commercial motor vehicles; 

5. Safe operating practices; 

6. Maintenance of commercial motor vehicles; and 

7. Safe trip planning. 

24VAC20-121-190. Equipment requirements for Class A 
licensed schools [ ; use of driving ranges ]. 

A. All vehicles used for driver education or testing purposes 
shall be marked by signs affixed to the sides and the rear of 
the vehicle, in bold letters not less than four inches in height, 
clearly visible from 100 feet, stating one of the following: 
"Student Driver," "Learner," "New Driver," "Driver 
Education" or "Caution-Student." 

All vehicles used by a school shall display the name of the 
school, as shown on the school license, on the outside of the 
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vehicle when engaged in driver education or when the vehicle 
is being used for testing purposes. The name of the school 
shall be included on the signs affixed to the sides of the 
vehicle.  

B. The cabs of such vehicles shall be designed to have safety 
belts for each individual. [ No more than four students and 
one instructor shall occupy the cab during periods of 
instruction. ]  

C. No motor vehicle may be used for driver education unless 
it displays a valid safety inspection sticker or federal Motor 
Carrier Safety Administration inspection sticker. [ In addition 
to other equipment required by law, each vehicle used for 
driver education shall have dual-braking capability. 

D. Any and all agreements associated with driving ranges 
used by the school shall be provided to the department in 
writing. Schools shall not use driving ranges prior to 
receiving approval for their use from the department. ] 

Part III 

Specific Requirements Related to Class B Licensure 

24VAC20-121-200. Curriculum requirements for Class B 
licensed schools. 

A. [ Course Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, 
course ] curriculum shall comply with the provisions of the 
"Curriculum and Administrative Guide for Driver Education 
in Virginia" (2001) [ published by the Virginia Department of 
Education (or any successor publication so published) ] and 
these regulations. A copy of the current guide may be 
obtained from the Virginia Department of Education at the 
following Internet link: 
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/VDOE/Instruction/PE/ca_guide.
html 

[ Course curriculum requirements other than those set forth 
in the "Curriculum and Administrative Guide for Driver 
Education in Virginia" (2001) may be established by the 
department. Once established, such requirements shall be 
made available by the department to Class B licensed schools, 
Class B license applicants and the public. A course 
curriculum meeting the established requirements must be 
submitted to the department at the time of Class B license 
application or renewal application, and must be approved by 
the department prior to the beginning of course instruction as 
provided in and in accordance with §46.2-1702 of the Code of 
Virginia. ] 

B. The department shall provide and update the list of 
course curriculum requirements from time to time, as deemed 
appropriate and necessary by the department, in consultation 
with all affected schools that are licensed by the department 
at the time of the update and other interested parties as 
identified by the department. 

The department shall notify the affected schools when and if 
new relevant topics are added to the course curriculum. 
Schools shall have 45 calendar days after such notice is 
issued to update their course curriculum and to certify to the 
department in writing that the school has added the new 
topics to the course curriculum. 

C. The length of daily instruction shall comply with the 
provisions of the [ current ] "Curriculum and Administrative 
Guide for Driver Education in Virginia" (2001) [ and or as 
otherwise provided by ] these regulations. 

D. The number of students in a driver training vehicle 
during in-vehicle instruction shall be no more than three and 
no less than two students. [ The only exception to the two-
student minimum is to have the student’s parents or legal 
guardians for students under 18 years of age who are not 
married or emancipated Students 18 years of age or older may 
receive one-on-one driver training with an instructor if such 
training is agreed to in the contract with the school. Students 
under 18 years of age who are not married or emancipated 
must have their parents or legal guardians ] sign a written 
release, an original to be maintained with the student’s record, 
[ allowing for in order to receive ] one-on-one driver training 
with an instructor. 

E. Except when one-on-one driver training is being provided 
[ with the consent of the student’s parents or legal guardians 
as outlined in subsection D of this section ] , a student under 
19 years of age riding alone with the instructor shall ride in 
the back seat of the driver training vehicle until other students 
are present in the vehicle. 

F. Except when a student is driving the vehicle, the time 
during which a student is being transported in a driver 
training vehicle for the purposes of picking up a student or 
other students prior to the beginning of a period of instruction 
or dropping that student or other students off after the end of 
a period of instruction shall not count as observation time. 
Any student involved in one-on-one training with an 
instructor as permitted under subsection [ C D ] of this 
section shall meet the observation requirements with at least 
one other student in the vehicle during in-vehicle training. 

G. Students under 19 years of age shall only receive in-
vehicle instruction with other students under 19 years of age. 

24VAC20-121-210. Class B instructor requirements. 

Any instructor relying on a valid Virginia teaching license 
with a driver’s education endorsement shall submit either the 
original license or a certified copy of the original license and 
an unexpired endorsement upon original application and 
renewal of the license.  If submitted, the original license shall 
be returned to the instructor after review by the department. 
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24VAC20-121-220. Equipment requirements for Class B 
licensed schools. 

A. All vehicles used for driver education or used for testing 
purposes shall be marked by a rooftop sign, in bold letters not 
less than two and one-half inches in height, clearly visible 
100 feet from the front and rear, stating one of the following: 
"Student Driver," "Learner," "New Driver," "Driver 
Education" or "Caution-Student." 

All vehicles used by a school shall display the name of the 
school, as shown on the school license, on the outside of the 
vehicle when engaged in driver education or when the vehicle 
is being used for testing purposes. The name of the school 
shall be included either on the rooftop sign or affixed to both 
sides of the vehicle. 

B. No motor vehicle may be used for driver education unless 
it is in safe mechanical condition as defined in these 
regulations. Each vehicle used for driver education in a 
school shall have dual controls consisting of dual brakes, dual 
inside rearview mirror and right-hand and left-hand outside 
mirrors. Any training vehicle or vehicles used for instruction 
shall not be more than nine model years old. This model year 
requirement may be waived or altered on a case-by-case basis 
for vehicles specially equipped to accommodate disabled 
individuals. The driver training vehicle shall be equipped 
with a minimum of four safety belts. 

C. The department may exempt any school teaching 
disabled individuals from the requirement to provide motor 
vehicles, on a case-by-case basis. The school may use a 
vehicle provided by the disabled student for their in-vehicle 
instruction in the event that it is cost prohibitive for the 
school to maintain certain specialized equipment or if such 
equipment is not readily installed and removed or if it 
provides necessary practical experience for the student in 
their own vehicle. When using a student's vehicle, the school 
shall require that the disabled student provide written 
verification from the company insuring the vehicle that it is 
aware that the vehicle will be used for driver training 
instruction and the insurance is in full force during such use. 

The school shall also require the disabled student to provide 
a copy of the current liability insurance policy for the vehicle. 
The school shall maintain a copy of the current liability 
insurance policy covering such vehicle in the student's file. 
The school shall also send prior to beginning instruction a 
written notice to the department stipulating the reasons for 
using the student's vehicle and the anticipated dates of 
instruction as well as a copy of the current liability insurance 
policy on the vehicle. 

Any school that uses a disabled student's motor vehicle must 
ensure that such vehicle is in safe mechanical condition as 
defined in these regulations, and displays signage as specified 
under these regulations. 

[ D. Except as otherwise provided in this section, no motor 
vehicle may be used for driver training purposes unless it is 
owned or leased in the name of the licensed school or the 
school owner as indicated on the application for the school 
license. 

D. ] All motor vehicles used by a licensed school for in-
vehicle instruction shall be inspected and approved by the 
department based on the criteria outlined in these regulations 
before being used for student instruction. All motor vehicles 
used by a licensed school for the purpose of taking the 
driving examination shall have a valid registration in the 
vehicle and be in safe mechanical condition, as defined in 
these regulations. 

FORMS 

[ Virginia Commercial Driver Education Certificate, CDT-B 
(rev. 7/04). 

Application for Driver Training School License, DTS-001 
(rev. 4/05). 

Virginia Driver Training Commercial Certificate, DTS-A 
(rev. 09/07). 

Virginia Commercial Driver - Driver Training Certificate 
(DTS-A) Instructions, DTS-A I (rev. 09/07). 

Virginia Driver Training Certificate, DTS-B (rev. 09/07). 

Virginia Driver Training Certificate (DTS-B) Instructions, 
DTS-B I (rev. 09/07). 

Application for Driver Training School License, DTS-001 
(rev. 05/06). ] 

Application for Driver Training Instructor License, DTS-
002 (rev. 04/05). 

[ Commercial ] Driver Training School License, [ CDT-003 
DTS-003 ] (rev. [ 5/03 01/07 ]). 

[ Virginia Driver Training School ] Vehicle Insurance 
Certification, DTS-005 (rev. 03/05). 

Virginia Driver Training School Licensing [ Audit Review ], 
DTS-9 (rev. [ 1/05 05/06 ]). 

Virginia Driver Training School [ Licensing Review Audit ], 
DTS-10 (rev. [ 5/06 05/05 ]). 

Driver Training School [ Class B ] Student Records 
[ Review (class B) Audit, ] DTS-11 (rev. [ 5/06 01/05 ]). 

Virginia Driver Training School Close-out Audit Report, 
DTS-12 (rev. 01/05). 

Virginia Driver Training School Vehicle Inspection 
Checklist [ (Class A and Class B) ], DTS-13 (rev. [ 1/05 
07/07 ]). 
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Driver Training School Student In-Car [ Instruction 
Instruction/Observation ] Record, DTS-14 (rev. [ 1/05 
06/07 ]). 

Final Road Skills Test Score Sheet, [ DTS-15 CSMA-09 ] 
(rev. [ 1/05 04/07 ]). 

[ Virginia Driver Training School Immediate Action 
Request Fax Form, DTS-16 (rev. 04/05). ]  

[ Instructions for Completing the ] Classroom Instruction 
Attendance Roster, DTS-17 (rev. 01/05). 

Virginia Driver Training School Parent/Student 
Questionnaire, DTS-18 (rev. 01/05). 

Surety Bond Affidavit and Acknowledgement of Surety, 
DTS-22 (rev. [ 5/06 08/07 ]). 

[ 40-Hour Parent/Teen Driving Guide Confirmation of 
Receipt, DTS-40 (rev. 7/06). ]  

Virginia Driver Training School Review Report, DTS-51 
(rev. 05/06). 

Driver Training School [ Instructor Monthly ] Training 
[ Completion ] Report, DTS-100 (rev. [ 5/06 06/07 ]). 

Home-Schooled In-Car Driver Education Parental 
Authorization Application, HS-1 (rev. 05/04). 

Virginia [ Driver Training Certificate ] Home-Schooled [ In-
Car Driver Education Certificate ], HS-2 (rev. [ 7/04 07/07 ]). 

Home-Schooled In-Car Driver Education Information Sheet, 
HS-3 (rev. [ 7/04 09/07 ]). 

[ Class A Driver Training Schools Contract Checklist (rev. 
2/05). 

Class B Driver Training Schools Contract Checklist (rev. 
2/05). 

Driver Training School Contract Requirements (rev. 09/07). 

Class A Driver Training School Curriculum Requirements, 
DTS-30 (rev. 09/07). 

Class A Driver Training School Program Summary (rev. 
09/07). 

Class B Driver Training School Program Summary (rev. 
9/07). ]  

Driver Training School Application Checklist (rev. [ 7/06 
9/07 ]). 

[ Driver Training School Manual (rev. 3/05). ] 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

Curriculum and Administrative Guide for Driver Education 
in Virginia, 2001, Virginia Department of Education in 
cooperation with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, 

http://www.doe.virginia.gov/VDOE/Instruction/PE/ca_guide.
html. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-19; Filed October 4, 2007, 10:08 a.m. 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth 
Transportation Board is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with §2.2-4006 A 4 
a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are 
necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 
where no agency discretion is involved. The Commonwealth 
Transportation Board will receive, consider and respond to 
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-200. Vegetation Control 
Regulations on State Rights-of-Way (amending 24VAC30-
200-10, 24VAC30-200-20, 24VAC30-200-30, 24VAC30-
200-40; adding 24VAC30-200-35). 

Statutory Authority: §§33.1-12 and 33.1-351 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 28, 2007. 

Agency Contact: James R. Barrett, Regulatory and 
Compliance Manager, Department of Transportation, Asset 
Management Division, 1401 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone 804-662-9389, FAX 804-662-9426, or 
email james.barrett@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The changes essentially grant a role to localities in the 
permitting process where the application affected right-of-
way not under the control of the Commonwealth 
Transportation Commissioner, and provide for an appeals 
process to the Commonwealth Transportation 
Commissioner where a locality rejected an application. 
New provisions also include a fee of $400 to be filed with 
each appeal. Furthermore, revisions were needed to revise 
the current effective date of the Road and Bridge 
Specifications from 1997 to 2002, to move existing text 
elsewhere in the regulation for clarity, or to correct a 
typographical error. 

24VAC30-200-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Agent" means the person, firm, or corporation representing 
the permittee.  

"Board" means the Commonwealth Transportation Board as 
defined in §33.1-1 of the Code of Virginia.  
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"Boundary of any locality" means the limits of the 
jurisdiction of any local board of supervisors, town council, 
or city council.  

"Certified arborist" means an individual who has taken and 
passed the certification examination sponsored by the 
International Society of Arboriculture and who maintains a 
valid certification status.  

"Cutting" means to completely remove at ground level.  

"Daylighting" means to prune or remove vegetation to 
improve the motorists' view of an outdoor advertising 
structure or business.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 
Transportation (VDOT) and its employees.  

"Desirable vegetation" means vegetation to be preserved at 
VDOT's discretion.  

"Environmental manager-field" means the chief 
environmental manager in each transportation construction 
district.  

"Federal-aid primary highway" means any highway as 
defined in §33.1-351 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Inspector" means any employee designated by the 
environmental manager-field Commonwealth Transportation 
Commissioner or local government official, to review and 
approve or deny the permit application and landscape plan, 
inspect the work performed under authority of this chapter, 
and make a final approval concerning the work performed.  

"Interstate system" means any highway as defined in §33.1-
48 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Land Use Permit Manual" means the manual (24VAC30-
150-10 et seq.) maintained by the board for the purpose of 
authorizing activities within the limits of state rights-of-way.  

"Limited access highway" means any highway as defined in 
§33.1-57 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Local beautification project" means any project in a locality 
that includes installation of plant materials, using public or 
other funds, in any public right-of-way within a city or town, 
or on a highway or street in a county with the county manager 
form of government.  

"Local government official" means an employee of a local 
government delegated authority by the city or town council or 
county board of supervisors where the public right-of-way is 
within the jurisdictional limits of a city or town on a highway 
or street not within the jurisdiction of the Commonwealth 
Transportation Commissioner under §33.1-353 of the Code of 
Virginia, or on a highway or street in a county with the 
county manager form of government. 

"Permittee" means the person, firm, or corporation owning 
the outdoor advertising sign, advertisement, or advertising 

structure or the business for whom the vegetation control 
work is being performed.  

"Pruning" means to remove branches from healthy 
vegetation in a manner that is acceptable using the natural 
method under the standards and guidelines listed in 
24VAC30-200-40 published by the American National 
Standards Institute, the American Association of Nurserymen, 
and the International Society of Arboriculture.  

"Resident engineer" means the chief executive officer of any 
transportation residency within the Commonwealth of 
Virginia.  

"Specifications" means the current Virginia Department of 
Transportation's Road and Bridge Specifications (effective 
January 1997 2002).  

"Unsightly" means vegetation to be selectively removed at 
VDOT's or the local government official’s discretion.  

24VAC30-200-20. General provisions.  

A. Permits will be issued by the department to control 
vegetation in front of a sign/structure that is not exempt from 
the provisions of §33.1-355 of the Code of Virginia or 
business that is visible from any highway as defined in §33.1-
351 of the Code of Virginia and regulated by the territorial 
limitations as defined in §33.1-353 of the Code of Virginia 
provided the vegetation control work meets the criteria set 
forth in §33.1-371.1 and this chapter. An application may be 
filed with the Commonwealth Transportation Commissioner 
by an agent, including but not limited to companies which 
that trim trees. In all other areas the local government official 
shall issue the permits. 

B. All cutting to make an outdoor advertising structure more 
visible from the roadway shall be limited to vegetation with 
trunk base diameters of less than six inches. All cutting to 
make a business more visible from the roadway shall be 
limited to vegetation with trunk base diameters of less than 
two inches. All stumps shall be treated with a cut-stump 
pesticide applied by a licensed pesticide applicator with a 
license issued by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services in Category 6. All pesticides shall be 
approved by the department or local government official prior 
to use. Selective thinning in accordance with specifications or 
removal of unsightly vegetation will be allowed on an 
individual basis to enhance the health and growth of the best 
trees or to eliminate roadway hazards if recommended by the 
certified arborist supervising the work and agreed to by the 
department or local government official. Trees that are 
diseased, damaged by insects, unsightly, or that pose a safety 
hazard may be removed when recommended by the certified 
arborist supervising the work and approved by the department 
or local government official. When tree removal is 
recommended by the certified arborist and approved by this 
permit, the permittee shall provide a list of suitable trees and 
shrubs and a landscape plan to replace vegetation removed to 
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the environmental manager field inspector or local 
government official for review and approval prior to issuance 
of the permit. The certified arborist and the department or 
local government official shall agree on size and species of 
replacement vegetation. The permittee shall plant, at his 
expense, all replacement vegetation at the locations shown on 
the landscape plan in accordance with the specifications. The 
establishment period for replacement vegetation shall be in 
accordance with §605.05 of the specifications. No pruning of 
vegetation to make an outdoor advertising sign more visible 
from the roadway will be permitted if the cut at the point of 
pruning will exceed four inches in diameter. No pruning of 
vegetation to make a business more visible from the roadway 
will be permitted if the cut at the point of pruning will exceed 
two inches in diameter. No leader branches shall be cut off in 
such a manner as to retard the normal upright growth of the 
tree unless recommended by the certified arborist and 
approved by the department or local government official. All 
trees and brush removed shall be cut at ground level. 
Dogwood or other small flowering trees on the site shall not 
be removed. The use of climbing irons or spurs is positively 
forbidden in any tree.  

C. When daylighting signs, every effort shall be made to 
form a picture frame around the sign with remaining 
vegetation so as to accent the beauty of the surrounding 
roadside. A picture frame effect shall be achieved by leaving 
vegetation in place that will cover the sign structure supports 
below the face as seen from the main-traveled way.  

D. A permit must be obtained from the department or local 
government official prior to any vegetation control work on 
the state's rights-of-way. All work shall be performed by the 
permittee at his expense, including permit and inspection 
fees.  

E. A violation of this chapter shall, in addition to penalties 
provided in §33.1-377 of the Code of Virginia, result in a 
permittee or its agent or both losing its vegetation control 
permit privilege for five years. Additionally, the bond amount 
used to secure the permit will be used for any reparations to 
the site. Inadvertent violations of this permit will require 
replacement on a four-to-one basis with other suitable small 
trees approved by the department or local government official 
to enhance the roadside beauty. The department or local 
government official shall have full authority to determine 
specie and size of all replacement vegetation if inadvertent 
cutting occurs.  

24VAC30-200-30. Special provisions.  

A. The permittee shall attach two each 8" x 10" color glossy 
photographs (a closeup and a distant view) with the permit 
application showing the vegetation to be controlled, the 
highway, and the sign or business.  

The permit for selective pruning or tree cutting, or both, will 
be inspected by the department or local government official 
and approval or denial given.  

A permit may be denied any applicant, and all permits 
issued by the Commonwealth Transportation Board board or 
local government official may be revoked whenever, in the 
opinion of the Commonwealth Transportation Commissioner 
or his authorized representative inspector, the safety, use, or 
maintenance of the highway so requires or the integrity of the 
permit system so dictates.  

If, during or before work begins, it is deemed necessary by 
the department or local government official to assign 
inspectors to the work, the permittee shall pay the department 
or local government issuing the permit an additional 
inspection fee in an amount that will cover the salary, expense 
and mileage allowance, equipment rental, etc., of the 
inspector(s) inspector or inspectors assigned by the 
department or local government for handling work covered 
by this chapter. Said inspection fee to be paid promptly each 
month on bills rendered by the department or local 
government.  

The absence of a state or local government inspector does 
not in any way relieve the permittee of his responsibility to 
perform the work in accordance with provisions of §33.1-
371.1 of the Code of Virginia, this chapter, or permit.  

B. The environmental manager-field inspector or local 
government official shall be notified at least three seven days 
in advance of the date any work is to be performed and when 
completed, in order than an inspection may be made.  

C. No trees, shrubs, vines, or plant material, except as 
covered by this chapter, shall be cut or disturbed. Stubs and 
dead wood in trees covered by this chapter must be removed, 
whether occasioned by present requirements or not.  

Pruning of trees shall only be performed by qualified tree 
workers who, through related training or experience or both, 
are familiar with the techniques and hazards of arboricultural 
work including trimming, maintaining, repairing or removing 
trees, and the equipment used in such operations. The 
supervisor, a certified arborist, and tree workers shall be 
approved by the environmental manager-field inspector or 
local government official, prior to issuance of a permit to 
perform work under this chapter. The certified arborist 
supervising the work shall remain on-site whenever work is 
underway.  

All brush, wood, etc., shall be chipped and beneficially used 
or removed immediately and disposed of in accordance with 
the Solid Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-80-10 et 
seq.) of the Virginia Waste Management Board.  

The use of climbing irons or spurs is positively forbidden in 
any tree.  
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D. All access and work shall be accomplished from the 
abutting property side of rights-of-way on interstate and other 
limited access highways , except where a local beautification 
project has allowed landscape plant material to be planted 
within a median area. Plant material in median areas may be 
relocated to other areas within the local beautification project 
limits in accordance with an approved landscape plan. All 
work performed on VDOT rights-of-way shall comply with 
the Virginia Work Area Protection Manual (part of 
24VAC30-310-10 et seq.). Any damage caused to property 
owned by the Commonwealth shall be repaired or replaced in 
kind when work is complete.  

All work done under this chapter on the right-of-way shall in 
all respects be subject to department or local government 
official directions and shall be completed to the satisfaction of 
the environmental manager-field inspector or local 
government official, or his representative.  

E. The department or local government official reserves the 
right to stop the work at any time the terms of this chapter are 
not satisfactorily complied with, and the department or local 
government official may, at its discretion, complete any of the 
work covered in the permit at the expense of the permittee. If 
it is in the best interest of traffic safety, the department or 
local government official may complete or have completed at 
the expense of the permittee any of the work that must be 
done to properly protect the traveling public.  

F. The permittee shall immediately have corrected any 
condition which that may arise as a result of this work that the 
department or local government official deems hazardous to 
the traveling public or state maintenance forces even though 
such conditions may not be specifically covered in this 
chapter or in the Land Use Permit Manual (24VAC30-150-10 
et seq.).  

G. Permittees and their agents to whom permits are issued 
shall at all times indemnify and save harmless the 
Commonwealth Transportation Board, local city or town 
councils, local boards of supervisors, and the Commonwealth 
of Virginia and its employees, agents, and officers from 
responsibility, damage, or liability arising from the exercise 
of the privilege granted in such permit except if political 
subdivisions are the applicants. Then special arrangements 
will be made whereby the agent of the political subdivision 
performing the work will indemnify and save harmless the 
board and others. All work shall be performed by the 
permittee at his expense. All permit and inspection fees shall 
be paid to the department or local government official by the 
permittee.  

All trees and brush removed shall be cut at ground level.  

Dogwood or other small flowering trees on the site shall not 
be removed.  

H. The permittee agrees that if the work authorized by this 
chapter including any work necessary to restore shoulders, 

ditches, and drainage structures to their original condition, is 
not completed by the permittee to the satisfaction of the 
department or local government official, the department or 
local government official will do whatever is required to 
restore the area within the right-of-way to department 
standards, and the permittee will pay to the Commonwealth 
or local government official the actual cost of completing the 
work. When the permittee is a political subdivision, this 
requirement will be satisfied by a sum certain which that will 
appear in the permit.  

I. Road and street connections and private and commercial 
entrances are to be kept in a satisfactory condition. Entrances 
shall not be blocked. Ample provisions must be made for safe 
ingress and egress to adjacent property at all times. Where 
entrances are disturbed, they shall be restored to the 
satisfaction of the department or local government official.  

J. Road drainage shall not be blocked. The pavement, 
shoulders, ditches, roadside and drainage facilities, shall be 
kept in an operable condition satisfactory to the department or 
local government official. Necessary precautions shall be 
taken by the permittee to ensure against siltation of adjacent 
properties, streams, etc., in accordance with the Virginia 
Erosion and Sediment Control Law (§10.1-560 et seq. of the 
Code of Virginia) and Virginia Erosion and Sediment 
Regulations (4VAC50-30-10 et seq.).  

K. Any conflicts with existing utility facilities shall be 
resolved between the permittee and the utility owners 
involved. The permittee shall notify and receive clearance 
from the utility owner(s) owner or owners and comply with 
the Overhead High Voltage Line Safety Act (§59.1-406 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia) before proceeding with work in 
the vicinity of utilities.  

L. Where landscape is disturbed on state rights-of-way or 
local street and roads not under the jurisdiction of the 
Commonwealth Transportation Commissioner in accordance 
with §33.1-353 of the Code of Virginia, it shall be replaced 
with a minimum of two inches of topsoil and reseeded 
according to department specifications.  

24VAC30-200-35. Appeal to the Commonwealth 
Transportation Commissioner. 

A. Appeals by the local government official.  

1. The local government official appeal of a landscape plan 
shall be in writing within 60 days of the permittee 
submitting a permit application and accompanied by a 
$400 fee.  

2. The appeal shall specify reasons why the local 
government official is dissatisfied with the landscape plan 
and why it does not meet the intent of §33.1-371.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. It shall include any motorist or worker 
safety concerns, selection of plant material, placement of 
plant material, method or time-of-year for planting or 
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relocating plant material, and any other pertinent 
information. 

B. Appeals by the permittee. 

1. The permittee appeal of a landscape plan shall be in 
writing within 10 days after final action of the local 
government official and shall be accompanied by a $400 
fee. 

2. The appeal shall specify reasons why the permittee is 
dissatisfied with the action or stipulations placed on the 
permittee by the local government official including all 
pertinent information to help the Commonwealth 
Transportation Commissioner make a final determination. 

C. Commonwealth Transportation Commissioner’s 
determination of appeal. 

The Commonwealth Transportation Commissioner shall 
consult department personnel with expertise in horticulture 
and landscape architecture in making a final determination 
on the merits of the landscape plan presented by the 
permittee, weigh objections by both the local government 
official and the permittee, and shall provide a final 
determination within 30 days of receipt of the appeal 
request.  

24VAC30-200-40. Listing of documents incorporated by 
reference.  

Information pertaining to the availability and cost of any of 
these publications should be directed to the division indicated 
by writing to the Virginia Department of Transportation, 
1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, or to the 
agency address indicated.  

1. 24VAC30-150-10 et seq., Land Use Permit Manual 
(1983), Maintenance Asset Management Division, VDOT  

2. VDOT Road and Bridge Specifications (effective 
January 1997 2002), Construction Scheduling and Contract 
Division, VDOT  

3. 24VAC30-310-10, Virginia Supplement to the Manual 
on Uniform Traffic Control Devices (Virginia Work Area 
Protection Manual), Traffic Engineering Division, VDOT  

4. 4VAC50-30-10 et seq., Virginia Erosion and Sediment 
Control Regulations, Division of Soil and Water 
Conservation, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
203 Governor St., Richmond, Va. 23219  

5. 9VAC20-80-10 et seq., Solid Waste Management 
Regulations, Waste Division, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 E. Main St., Richmond, Va. 
23240  

6. American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Standard 
for Tree Care Operations, Tree, Shrub and Other Woody 
Plant Maintenance-Standard Practices - ANSI A300-1995 

(effective June 1, 1995), Pruning, Trimming, Repairing, 
Maintaining, and Removing Trees, and Cutting Brush-
Safety Requirements - ANSI Z133.1-1994 (effective 
August 1, 1994), American National Standards Institute, 11 
West 42nd Street, New York, New York 10036  

7. American National Standards Institute (ANSI) American 
Standard for Nursery Stock - ANSI Z60.1-1996 (effective 
November 6, 1996), American Association of Nurseymen 
Nurserymen, 1250 I Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, 
DC 20005  

8. Tree Pruning Guidelines (effective 1995), International 
Society of Arboriculture, P.O. Box GG, Savoy, Illinois 
61874  

FORMS 

Vegetation Control Application, Form TTB, rev. 8/25/97 
10/15/98. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-974; Filed October 1, 2007, 9:12 a.m.
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Public Hearing on Regulation for Scrapie 
Eradication 

The public hearing on 2VAC5-206, Regulation for Scrapie 
Eradication, will be held on December 6, 2007, at 11 a.m. in 
conjunction with the regularly scheduled board meeting. The 
hearing will be held to receive comments on a new proposed 
regulation for the eradication of scrapie in Virginia sheep and 
goats. 

Agency Contact: Roy Seward, Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services, 102 Governor Street, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3535, or email 
roy.seward@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Proposed Consent Special Order - RJ Smith, Inc. 
Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on the terms of a 
proposed consent special order issued to RJ Smith, Inc., 
regarding a construction project in Essex County, Virginia. 

Public comment period: October 29, 2007, through 
November 27, 2007. 

Summary of proposal: The proposed consent special order 
describes a settlement with RJ Smith Construction, Inc., to 
resolve alleged past violations of the Virginia Stormwater 
Management Act and Regulations at a construction project in 
Essex County, Virginia. The order requires payment of a 
$39,739 civil charge. 

How to comment: The Virginia Department of Conservation 
and Recreation accepts written comments from the public by 
mail, email, or facsimile. All comments must include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting. Comments must be received during the 
comment period. A copy of the proposed consent special 
order is available on request from the agency contact. 

Contact for public documents, documents, and additional 
information: Elizabeth Anne Crosier, Department of 
Conservation and Recreation, 203 Governor Street, Suite 206, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2449, FAX (804) 
786-1798, or email anne.crosier@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Agency Contact: David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and 
Budget Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
203 Governor Street, Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804)786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Tidal Freshwater Rappahannock River TMDL Study 
Announcement of a total maximum daily load (TMDL) study 
to restore water quality in part of the tidal freshwater 
Rappahannock River that is contaminated with bacteria. 

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) and the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
(DCR) announce the third technical advisory committee 
(TAC) meeting for the Tidal Freshwater Rappahannock River 
TMDL study. 

Technical advisory committee meeting: Tuesday, November 
13, 2007, 10 a.m. - Noon, Jepson Alumni Center, Minor 
Board Room, Fredericksburg Campus of the University of 
Mary Washington. 

Meeting description: This is the third TAC meeting for this 
project.  The purpose of this meeting is to present draft 
reduction scenarios and allocations to the TAC, and solicit 
comments and feedback on materials presented at the 
meeting.  

Description of study: Virginia agencies are working to 
identify sources of bacteria contamination in a 3.8 square 
mile segment of the tidal freshwater Rappahannock River. 
The impaired river segment is located in portions of Caroline, 
King George, Spotsylvania, and Stafford counties, and the 
City of Fredericksburg. Below is a description of the impaired 
portion of the Rappahannock River that will be addressed in 
this TMDL study. 
 

Stream 
Name 

Locality Impair-
ment 

Area 
(mi2) 

Upstream 
Limit 

Downstream 
Limit 

Rappa-
hannock 
River 

Fredericks-
burg 

Caroline 

King 
George 

Spots-
ylvania 

Stafford 

Bacteria 3.8 Fall Line 
at the 
Route 1 
Bridge in 
Fredericks-
burg 

Confluence 
with Mill 
Creek, 
below the 
Route 301 
Bridge 

During the study, DEQ will develop a total maximum daily 
load, or a TMDL, for the impaired river segment. A TMDL is 
the total amount of a pollutant a water body can receive and 
still meet water quality standards.  To restore water quality, 
contamination levels have to be reduced to the TMDL 
allocated amount. 

How to comment:  The public comment period on the 
materials presented at the TAC meeting will extend from 
November 13, 2007, to December 13, 2007.  DEQ accepts 
written comments by email, fax, or postal mail. Written 
comments should include the name, address, and telephone 
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number of the person commenting, and be received by DEQ 
during the comment period. Please send all comments to the 
contact listed below. 

Contact for additional information: Katie Conaway, 
Department of Environmental Quality, 13901 Crown Court, 
Woodbridge, VA 22193, email 
mkconaway@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Periodic Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order (EO) 36 (2006), the Virginia 
Department of Health, on behalf of the State Board of Health, 
will review the regulations listed below. The purpose of the 
review is to determine whether the regulations should be 
terminated, amended or retained in their current form.  The 
review of the regulations will be guided by the principles set 
out in EO 36. The purpose of the regulations is to protect 
public health and welfare with the least possible costs and 
intrusiveness to the citizens and businesses of the 
Commonwealth. 

The department and the board are seeking public comment in 
the review of any issue relating to these regulations, and in 
particular, whether they comport appropriately with the 
policies contained in EO 36.  EO 36 encourages consideration 
of whether (i) the regulations protect public health, safety and 
welfare with the least possible intrusion in the lives of 
citizens, (ii) alternatives in lieu of regulation may achieve the 
goals of the regulation, (iii) the regulations are based on the 
best reasonably available scientific, economic and other 
information, (iv) the regulations are designed to achieve their 
intended objective in the most efficient, cost-effective 
manner, (v) the regulations are clearly written and easily 
understandable by the individuals and entities affected, and 
(vi) the regulations have been developed in accordance with 
laws relating to the impact of regulations on small businesses. 

Comments should be addressed to the persons identified 
below as the contact person for the regulation. The deadline 
for receipt of comments is November 19, 2007. 

12VAC5-80, Virginia Hearing Impairment Identification 
and Monitoring System - Contact Dr. David Suttle 

12VAC5-160, Regulations for the Sanitary Control of the 
Picking, Packing and Marketing of Crab Meat for Human 
Consumption - Contact Dr. Robert Croonenberghs 

12VAC5-165, Regulations for the Repacking of Crabmeat - 
Contact Dr. Robert Croonenberghs 

12VAC5-408, Certificate of Quality Assurance of Managed 
Care Health Insurance Plan Licensees - Contact Carrie 
Eddy 

12VAC5-410, Regulations for the Licensure of Hospitals in 
Virginia - Contact Carrie Eddy 

12VAC5-440, Regulations for Summer Camps - Contact 
Gary Hagy 

12VAC5-450, Rules and Regulations Governing 
Campgrounds - Contact Gary Hagy 

12VAC5-460, Regulations Governing Tourist 
Establishment Swimming Pools and Other Public Pools - 
Contact Gary Hagy 

12VAC5-462, Swimming Pool Regulations Governing the 
Posting of Water Quality Results - Contact Gary Hagy 

12VAC5-475, Regulations Implementing the Virginia 
Organ and Tissue Donor Registry - Contact Dr. David 
Suttle 

12VAC5-570, Commonwealth of Virginia Sanitary 
Regulations for Marinas and Boat Moorings - Contact 
Preston Smith 

12VAC 5-610, Sewage Handling and Disposal Regulations 
- Contact Donald Alexander 

12VAC 5-615, Authorized Onsite Soil Evaluator 
Regulations - Donald Alexander 

12VAC5-640, Alternative Discharging Sewage Treatment 
Regulations for Individual Single Family Dwellings - 
Contact Donald Alexander 

AGENCY CONTACTS 

Donald Alexander, Department of Health, 109 Governor 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, (804) 864-7452, 
don.alexander@vdh.virginia.gov 

Dr. Robert Croonenberghs, Department of Health, 109 
Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, (804) 864-7477, 
bob.croonenberghs@vdh.virginia.gov 

Carrie Eddy, Department of Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Richmond, VA 23233, (804) 367-2157, 
carrie.eddy@vdh.virginia.gov 

Gary Hagy, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, (804) 864-7455, 
gary.hagy@vdh.virginia.gov 

Preston Smith, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, (804) 864-7468, 
preston.smith@vdh.virginia.gov 

Dr. David Suttle, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, (804) 864-7650, 
david.suttle@vdh.virginia.gov 
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STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 
The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on October 1, 2007, and October 5, 2007. The 
orders may be viewed at the State Lottery Department, 900 E. 
Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

Final Rules for Game Operation: 

Director's Order Number Forty-Six (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1000; "A Wreath of 
Franklins" (effective 9/23/07) 

Director's Order Number Forty-Seven (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1001; "Candy Cane Cash" 
(effective 9/23/07) 

Director's Order Number Forty-Eight (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1002; "Season's Greetings" 
(effective 10/02/07) 

Director's Order Number Forty-Nine (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1004; "$1,000,000 Holiday 
Greenery" (effective 10/02/07) 

Director's Order Number Fifty (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 820; "Lightning 7's" 
(effective 10/02/07) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-One (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1003; "Money Tree" 
(effective 10/02/07) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Two (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1005; "Cash Flurries 
Doubler" (effective 10/02/07) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Three (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1006; "Cool 7's" (effective 
10/02/07) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Four (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1007; "Snowflakes & 7's" 
(effective 10/02/07) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Five (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1012; "Pink Panther" 
(effective 9/27/07) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Six (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1013; "$100,000 Mega 
Multipler" (effective 9/27/07) 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

EDITOR'S NOTE: This notice was filed with the Registrar of 
Regulations on August 14, 2007, and was inadvertently left 
out of Volume 23 Issue 26 of the Virginia Register published 
September 3, 2007. 

Notice of Effective Date 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-260. Water Quality 
Standards (amended 9VAC 25-260-5, 9VAC 25-260-50, 
9VAC 25-260-310, 9VAC 25-260-480 and added 9VAC 25-
260-187). 

Statutory Authority: §62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 14, 2007. 

On June 1, 2006, the State Water Control Board adopted 
revisions to the Water Quality Standards in 9VAC25-260-5, 
9VAC 25-260-50, 9VAC 25-260-310, 9VAC 25-260-480, 
and added 9VAC 25-260-187. These revisions relate to water 
quality criteria to protect the designated uses of lakes and 
reservoirs from the impacts of nutrients. The amendments 
were published in the Virginia Register of Regulations as 
final in 23:1 VA.R. 40-46 September 10, 2006, with an 
effective date upon filing the notice of EPA approval with the 
Registrar of Regulations. 

The State Water Control Board hereby notices EPA approval 
of these revisions to the water quality standards via a letter 
dated July 27, 2007, from Jon M. Capacasa, Director of the 
Water Protection Division, EPA Region 3 to David K. Paylor, 
Director of the Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality. The effective date of these amendments is August 
14, 2007. Copies are available online at 
http://www.deq.state.va.us/wgs or call toll free at 1-800-592-
5482 ext. 4113, local 698-4113, written request to Jean 
Gregory at P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218 or email 
request to jwgregory@deq.virginia.gov. 

Extension of Public Comment Deadline Concerning 
Shellfish Aquaculture Enhancement Zones 

Notice of intended action: The State Water Control Board 
intends to consider drafting a proposal for amendments to 
regulations on water quality. A regulation is a general rule 
governing people's rights or conduct that is upheld by a state 
agency. 

Regulation name: Shellfish Aquaculture Enhancement Zones 

Purpose of notice: The board is seeking comments through 
the Department of Environmental Quality on the intended 
regulatory action, including but not limited to (i) ideas to 
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assist the board in the development of a proposal, (ii) the 
costs and benefits of the alternatives stated in this notice or 
other alternatives, (iii) effects of the regulation on farm forest 
land preservation, and (iv) whether the board should use an 
advisory committee. The board is also seeking information on 
impacts on small businesses.  

Public comment period: September 17, 2007, to November 
30, 2007. 

Public meeting: Eastern Shore Agricultural Research and 
Extension Center (AREC), 33446 Research Drive in Painter, 
Virginia, on October 17, 2007, at 2 p.m. Unlike a public 
hearing, which is intended only to receive testimony, this 
meeting is being held to discuss and exchange ideas and 
information relative to the development of a proposal. 

Public comment stage: Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Subject matter and intent of proposal: The intent and subject 
matter of the rulemaking is to consider a new designation of 
"Aquaculture Enhancement Zones" on the Eastern Shore of 
Virginia and narrative criteria to provide additional protection 
to these waters that are used or could reasonably be used for 
shellfish aquaculture or to support aquaculture by requiring 
applicants to demonstrate that practicable alternatives to 
discharging pollutants to the listed waters have been 
evaluated and that the proposed discharge is the alternative 
that produces the least environmental impact. The rulemaking 
will also consider how the shellfish policy in 9VAC25-370 
and the water quality standards (e.g. shellfish public hearing 
requirements in 9VAC25-260-270) should be amended in 
order to consolidate water quality protection efforts for 
shellfish for the purposes of improving the clarity and 
efficiency of implementation of these related activities. 

Advisory committee: The board is using an advisory 
committee to develop a proposal. Persons interested in 
assisting in the development of a proposal should notify the 
DEQ contact person by the end of the comment period and 
provide their name, address, phone number, email address 
and affiliated organization (if any). Persons who want to be 
on the advisory committee are encouraged to attend the public 
meeting. The primary function of the advisory committee is 
to develop recommended regulation amendments for DEQ 
consideration through the collaborative approach of 
regulatory negotiation and consensus. Multi-applications 
from a single company, organization, group or other entity 
count as one for purposes of making a decision through the 
collaborative approach. Notification of the composition of the 
advisory committee will be sent to all applicants.  

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax and postal mail. All written comments must include the 
full name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ by 5 p.m. on the last 
day of the comment period. Both oral and written comments 
are accepted at the public meeting. DEQ prefers the submittal 

of written comments, including a copy of supporting 
documents or exhibits. All testimony, exhibits and documents 
received are part of the public record. 

How a decision is made: After comments have been 
considered, the board will decide whether to take action on a 
proposal. If the board decides to consider the regulation, there 
will be another public comment opportunity, including a 
public hearing. After these comments have been considered, 
the board will make the final decision. 

To review regulation documents: The agency background 
document (including purpose, statutory authority, need, 
substance of planned regulatory changes, alternatives and the 
family impact statement) is available on the Town Hall 
website at www.townhall.virginia.gov and by contacting the 
DEQ representative named below. There are no regulation 
amendments available for public comment at this time. 

Agency Contact: Elleanore M. Daub, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4111, FAX (804) 
698-4032, or email emdaub@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Evergreen 
Country Club, Inc. 

Purpose of notice: To invite citizens to comment on a 
proposed consent order for sewage treatment plant in Prince 
William County, Virginia. 

Public comment period: October 30, 2007, through 
November 29, 2007. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Evergreen Country Club, 
Inc. to address alleged violations of Virginia’s State Water 
Control Law and regulations. Evergreen Country Club, Inc. is 
a country club and golf course located in Prince William 
County, Virginia, with a sewage treatment plant on site. The 
consent order describes a settlement to resolve wastewater 
violations.  

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax, or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests, and 
additional information: Trisha Eyler, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Northern Virginia Regional Office, 
13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, telephone 
(703) 583-3829, FAX (703) 583-3871, or email 
treyler@deq.virginia.gov. 
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Proposed Consent Special Order - City of 
Fredericksburg  

Purpose of notice: To invite citizens to comment on a 
proposed consent order for a facility in the City of 
Fredericksburg. 

Public comment period: October 30, 2007, through 
November 29, 2007. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to the City of 
Fredericksburg to address alleged violations of the Virginia 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit No. 
VA0025127. The location of the facility where the alleged 
violations occurred is 700 Beulah-Salisbury Road. The 
consent order describes a settlement to resolve permit effluent 
limit violations and failure to meet Reliability Class I 
requirements. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: Sarah Baker, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Northern Virginia Regional Office, 
13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, telephone 
(703) 583-3850, FAX (703) 583-3871, or email 
sbaker@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Hercules, 
Incorporated 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order from the Department of Environmental Quality 
for a facility in Southampton County, Virginia. 

Public comment period: October 29, 2007, to November 28, 
2007. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Hercules, Incorporated, to 
address alleged violations of Virginia State Water Control 
Law. The location of the facility where the alleged violations 
occurred is 27123 Shady Brook Trail, Courtland.  The 
consent order describes a settlement to resolve alleged 
violations of the facility Virginia Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System Permit. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 

the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: Paul R. Smith, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 
518-2020, FAX (757) 518-2003, or email 
prsmith@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Hy-Mark 
Cylinders, Inc. 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order from the Department of Environmental Quality 
for a location in Hampton, Virginia. 

Public comment period: October 29, 2007, to November 28, 
2007. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Hy-Mark Cylinders, Inc., 
to address alleged violations of Virginia State Water Control 
Law. The location where the alleged violations occurred is 
305 Hy-Mark Drive, Hampton.  The consent order describes a 
settlement to resolve alleged violations of the facility Virginia 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System General Permit 
VAR05. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: Paul R. Smith, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 
518-2020, FAX (757) 518-2003, or email 
prsmith@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - I.A.S. of VA, Inc. 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order from the Department of Environmental Quality 
for underground storage tank (UST) compliance at the BP#1 
located in Richmond, Virginia. 

Public comment period: October 29, 2007, to November 28, 
2007. 

Consent Order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to I.A.S. of VA, Inc., to 
address alleged violations of the UST regulations. The 
location of the property where the violation occurred is BP#1, 
1301 N. Laburnum Ave in Richmond, Virginia.  The consent 
order describes a settlement to bring the facility into 
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compliance with UST regulations and includes the payment 
of a civil charge. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period.  The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: Lisa Dewey, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 
Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 527-5014, 
FAX (804) 527-5106, or email lcdewey@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Mr. Lewis 
Kennett 

Citizens may comment on a proposed consent order for a site 
located in Franklin County, Virginia. 

Public comment period: October 29, 2007, to November 28, 
2007. 

Purpose of notice: To invite the public to comment on a 
proposed consent order. 

A consent order is issued to a business owner or other 
responsible party to perform specific actions that will bring 
the entity into compliance with the relevant law and 
regulations. It is developed cooperatively with the facility and 
entered into by mutual agreement. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Mr. Lewis Kennett to 
address alleged violations of the Virginia Regulations. The 
location of the site where the alleged violations occurred is in 
Franklin County, Virginia. The consent order describes a 
settlement to resolve violations associated with impounding a 
stream without the required permits. It requires the signatory 
to pay a civil penalty, institute a plan for removal of the 
impoundment and impoundment structure, restore the 
impacted stream, and comply with the Virginia Regulations. 

How a decision is made: After public comments have been 
considered, the DEQ director will make a final decision. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. 

To review the consent order: The public may review the 
proposed consent order at the DEQ West Central Regional 
Office in Roanoke, Virginia every work day by appointment 
or on the DEQ website at www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: Jerry Ford, Jr., Department of 
Environmental Quality, West Central Regional Office, 3019 
Peters Creek Road VA 24019, telephone (540) 562-6700, 
FAX (540) 562-6725, or email jrford@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Nelson County 
Service Authority 

Purpose of notice: To invite citizens to comment on a 
proposed consent order for a facility in Shenandoah County, 
Virginia. 

Public comment period: October 29, 2007, to November 29, 
2007. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Nelson County Service 
Authority to address alleged violations of the Nelson County 
Regional STP and Wintergreen Mountain STP Permits and 
regulations. The locations of the Nelson County Regional 
STP and the Wintergreen Mountain STP where the alleged 
violations occurred are located near the Town of Colleen and 
Wintergreen respectively, Nelson County, Virginia. The 
consent order describes a settlement to resolve these 
violations. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: Steven W. Hetrick, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Valley Regional Office, Post Office 
Box 3000, VA 22801-9519, telephone (540) 574-7833, FAX 
(540) 574-7844, or email swhetrick@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Oak Grove 
Mennonite Church 

Purpose of notice: To invite citizens to comment on a 
proposed amended consent order for a facility in Aroda, 
Virginia. 

Public comment period: October 30, 2007, to November 29, 
2007. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Oak Grove Mennonite 
Church to address alleged violations of the Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System Permit No. VA0063347. The 
location of the facility where the alleged violations occurred 
is at 1776 Elly Road. The consent order describes a settlement 
to resolve permit effluent limit violations. 
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How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed amended consent 
order at the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website 
at www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: Sarah Baker; Department of 
Environmental Quality, Northern Virginia Regional Office, 
13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, telephone 
(703) 583-3850, FAX (703) 583-3871, or email 
sbaker@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - VA Timberline, 
LLC 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order from the Department of Environmental Quality 
for a location in Isle of Wight County, Virginia. 

Public comment period: October 29, 2007, to November 28, 
2007. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to VA Timberline, LLC to 
address alleged violations of Virginia State Water Control 
Law. The location where the alleged violations occurred is 
Lawnes Point subdivision, Isle of Wight County.  The 
consent order describes a settlement to resolve alleged 
violations of the facility Virginia Water Protection General 
Permit WP4. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information:  John M. Brandt, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 
518-2010, FAX (757) 518-2003, or email 
jmbrandt@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Elimination of the Calendar of Events Section 
Effective July 1, 2007, the Calendar of Events section will no 
longer be published in the Virginia Register of Regulations.  
Chapter 300 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly amended the 
Administrative Process Act by eliminating the requirement 
that all state agency meeting notices be published in the 
Virginia Register.  In lieu of publication in the Virginia 
Register, the Virginia Freedom of Information Act was 
amended to require that agencies post meeting notices on the 
agency's website and on the Commonwealth Calendar 
maintained by the Virginia Information Technologies 
Agency.  To access the Commonwealth Calendar, please visit 
the Commonwealth of Virginia's homepage at 
www.virginia.gov and click on the calendar on the right side 
of the screen. Public hearing information will still be 
published in the Register and can be found with the 
corresponding proposed regulation. 

Notice to State Agencies 
Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a web-based application 
called RIS for filing regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office has 
worked closely with the Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) to coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one 
another by sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions and general notices in electronic form only; 
however, until further notice, agencies must continue to file 
print copies of proposed, final, fast-track and emergency 
regulatory packages. 

CALENDAR OF EVENTS 

 




