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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission of Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
If an agency demonstrates that (i) there is an immediate threat to the 
public’s health or safety; or (ii) Virginia statutory law, the appropriation 
act, federal law, or federal regulation requires a regulation to take effect 
no later than (a) 280 days from the enactment in the case of Virginia or 
federal law or the appropriation act, or (b) 280 days from the effective 
date of a federal regulation, it then requests the Governor’s approval to 
adopt an emergency regulation. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to 
addressing specifically defined situations and may not exceed 12 months 
in duration. Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in 
the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
23:7 VA.R. 1023-1140 December 11, 2006, refers to Volume 23, Issue 
7, pages 1023 through 1140 of the Virginia Register issued on 
December 11, 2006. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; S. Bernard 
Goodwyn. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

November 2007 through September 2008 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

24:6 November 7, 2007 November 26, 2007 

24:7 November 20, 2007 (Tuesday) December 10, 2007 

INDEX 1 Volume 24  January 2008 

24:8 December 5, 2007 December 24, 2007 

24:9 December 18, 2007 (Tuesday) January 7, 2008 

24:10 January 2, 2008 January 21, 2008 

24:11 January 16, 2008 February 4, 2008 

24:12 January 30, 2008 February 18, 2008 

24:13 February 13, 2008 March 3, 2008 

24:14 February 27, 2008 March 17, 2008 

INDEX 2 Volume 24  April 2008 

24:15 March 12, 2008 March 31, 2008 

24:16 March 26, 2008 April 14, 2008 

24:17 April 9, 2008 April 28, 2008 

24:18 April 23, 2008 May 12, 2008 

24:19 May 7, 2008 May 26, 2008 

24:20 May 21, 2008 June 9, 2008 

INDEX 3 Volume 24  July 2008 

24:21 June 4, 2008 June 23, 2008 

24:22 June 18, 2008 July 7, 2008 

24:23 July 2, 2008 July 21, 2008 

24:24 July 16, 2008 August 4, 2008 

24:25 July 30, 2008 August 18, 2008 

24:26 August 13, 2008 September 1, 2008 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, 
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the 
Fall 2007 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 23, Issue 21, dated June 
25, 2007). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation "emer," and errata pertaining to final 
regulations are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows 
action taken, the volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section. 

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 1. Administration 
1 VAC 55-30-10 through 1 VAC 55-30-90 Added 23:26 VA.R. 4413-4416 10/3/07 
Title 2. Agriculture 
2 VAC 5-110 (Forms) Amended 23:26 VA.R. 4452 -- 
2 VAC 5-580-10 through 2 VAC 5-580-310 Repealed 24:2 VA.R. 72 10/16/07 
2 VAC 5-585-10 through 2 VAC 5-585-4070 Added 24:2 VA.R. 72-133 10/16/07 
Title 3. Alcoholic Beverages 
3 VAC 5-50-40 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4107 * 
3 VAC 5-50-50 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4108 * 
3 VAC 5-50-80 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4108 * 
3 VAC 5-50-100 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4108 * 
3 VAC 5-50-130 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4109 * 
3 VAC 5-50-140 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4110 * 
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources 
4 VAC 20-20-50 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 555 11/1/07 
4 VAC 20-252-90 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 471 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-252-100 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 471 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-260-10 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 472 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-260-20 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 472 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-260-30 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 473 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-260-35 Added 24:4 VA.R. 474 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-260-40 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 474 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-260-60 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 474 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-650-20 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 474 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-650-30 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 475 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-650-40 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 475 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-720-20 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 475 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-720-20 Erratum 24:5 VA.R. 621 -- 
4 VAC 20-720-40 through 4VAC20-720-80 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 478-480 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-720-95 Added 24:4 VA.R. 480 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-720-110 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 480 10/1/07 
4 VAC 20-755-10 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 133 9/1/07 
4 VAC 20-755-20 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 133 9/1/07 
4 VAC 20-755-30 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 136 9/1/07 
4 VAC 20-910-45 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 556 11/1/07 
4 VAC 20-1120-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3871 6/28/07 
4 VAC 25-20 (Forms) Amended 23:24 VA.R. 3968 -- 
4 VAC 25-50-10 through 4 VAC 25-50-110 Repealed 23:22 VA.R. 3696 8/8/07 

                                                           
* Objection to Fast-Track Rulemaking 24:1 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 25-130-777.17 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3696 8/8/07 
Title 5. Corporations 
5 VAC 5-30-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3872 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3872 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3873 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3873 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3874 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-60 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3874 7/1/07 
5 VAC 5-30-70 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3875 7/1/07 
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections 
6 VAC 15-20-10 through 6 VAC 15-20-230 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3697-3703 8/9/07 
6 VAC 20-120-40 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4177 9/19/07 
6 VAC 35-20-37 emer Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4178 8/1/07-7/31/08 
6 VAC 35-180-10 through 6 VAC 35-180-170 Added 24:5 VA.R. 557-561 1/1/08 
6 VAC 35-190-10 through 6VAC35-190-110 Added 24:2 VA.R. 137-139 10/31/07 
6 VAC 40-50-10 through 6VAC40-50-80 emer Added 23:23 VA.R. 3876 7/1/06-12/29/07 
Title 8. Education 
8 VAC 20-21-10 through 8 VAC 20-21-730 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4179 9/21/07 
8 VAC 20-22-10 through 8 VAC 20-22-760 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4179-4214 9/21/07 
8 VAC 20-160-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3876 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3878 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3878 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3879 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3879 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-160-60 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3879 8/27/07 
8 VAC 20-190-10 Repealed 24:5 VA.R. 562 1/1/08 
8 VAC 20-500-10 Repealed 24:5 VA.R. 563 1/1/08 
8 VAC 20-541-10 through 8 VAC 20-541-60 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4214 9/21/07 
8 VAC 20-542-10 through 8 VAC 20-542-600 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4214-4270 9/21/07 
8 VAC 35-60-10 Added 24:1 VA.R. 25 8/28/07 
8 VAC 35-60-20 Added 24:1 VA.R. 25 8/28/07 
8 VAC 35-60-30 Added 24:1 VA.R. 25 8/28/07 
8 VAC 40-140-10 through 8 VAC 40-140-90 Added 23:22 VA.R. 3704-3706 7/1/07 
Title 9. Environment 
9 VAC 5-20-203 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 564 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-20-204 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 565 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-40-20 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 566 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-50-20 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 570 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-50-400 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 573 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-50-410 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 573 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-60-60 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 579 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-60-90 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 579 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-60-92 Added 24:5 VA.R. 579 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-60-95 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 579 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-60-100 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 580 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-91-20 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 587 12/12/07 
9 VAC 5-140-3400 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 594 12/12/07 
9 VAC 20-130-10 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 480 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-40 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 484 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-60 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 484 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-70 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 484 11/28/07 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
9 VAC 20-130-90 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 485 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-110 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 485 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-120 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 486 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-125 Added 24:4 VA.R. 488 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-130 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 489 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-140 Repealed 24:4 VA.R. 489 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-150 Repealed 24:4 VA.R. 489 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-165 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 489 11/28/07 
9 VAC 20-130-175 through 9VAC20-130-230 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 490-493 11/28/07 
9 VAC 25-31-100 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 313 11/14/07 
9 VAC 25-31-120 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 309 11/14/07 
9 VAC 25-31-165 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 333 11/14/07 
9 VAC 25-260-5 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 536 8/14/07 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 139 9/11/07 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 140 9/11/07 
9 VAC 25-260-50 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 536 8/14/07 
9 VAC 25-260-187 Added 24:4 VA.R. 536 8/14/07 
9 VAC 25-260-310 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 536 8/14/07 
9 VAC 25-260-480 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 536 8/14/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3881 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3888 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3895 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-50 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 140 11/15/07 
9 VAC 25-720-80 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3901 10/22/07 
9 VAC 25-720-90 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 147 11/15/07 
Title 11. Gaming 
11 VAC 10-45-10 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 595 12/12/07 
11 VAC 10-45-25 Added 24:5 VA.R. 596 12/12/07 
Title 12. Health 
12 VAC 5-90-80 emer Amended 24:5 VA.R. 597 10/24/07-10/23/08 
12 VAC 5-125-10 through 12 VAC 5-125-180 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3904-3919 9/1/07 
12 VAC 5-421-10 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 149 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-90 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 157 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-100 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 157 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 158 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-140 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 158 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-160 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 159 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-170 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 159 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-180 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 159 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-190 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 159 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-200 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-230 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-250 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-270 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-295 Added 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-300 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 160 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-330 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 161 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-340 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 161 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-350 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 161 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-360 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 161 10/16/07 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
12 VAC 5-421-430 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-440 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-450 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-460 Added 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-500 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 162 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-520 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-530 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-550 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-560 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-570 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-580 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 163 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-590 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-600 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-620 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-670 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-680 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-700 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 164 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-720 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-760 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-765 Added 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-780 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-790 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 166 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-800 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 167 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-820 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 167 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-830 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 167 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-840 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 169 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-850 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 169 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-860 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 170 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-870 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 170 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-880 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-890 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-900 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-910 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-920 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-930 Added 24:2 VA.R. 171 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-940 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 172 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-950 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 172 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-960 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-970 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-990 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1000 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1010 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1020 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1030 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1040 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 173 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1070 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1090 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1200 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1260 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1270 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
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12 VAC 5-421-1300 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1310 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 174 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1320 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1330 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1340 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1350 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1360 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 175 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1370 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 176 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1460 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 176 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1510 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 176 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1520 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 176 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1530 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1540 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1620 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1640 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1660 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 177 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1670 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 178 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1680 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 178 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1690 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 178 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1700 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 178 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1710 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1720 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1730 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1750 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1760 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1780 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 179 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1810 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1820 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1880 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1890 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1900 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 180 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-1960 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2010 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2080 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2190 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2200 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2210 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2270 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 181 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2310 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2320 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2520 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2630 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2680 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2710 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2790 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2810 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 182 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2820 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2840 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2850 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2870 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
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12 VAC 5-421-2880 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2930 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 183 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-2990 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3040 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3200 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3210 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3230 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3310 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 184 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3370 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3380 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3450 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3510 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3560 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3580 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 185 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3590 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 186 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3620 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 186 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3660 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 186 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3700 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 186 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3750 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 187 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3760 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3800 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3815 Added 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3860 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3900 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 188 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3960 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 189 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-3970 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 189 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-4000 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 189 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-4035 Added 24:2 VA.R. 190 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-4050 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 191 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-421-4070 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 191 10/16/07 
12 VAC 5-585-70 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 602 12/17/07 
12 VAC 5-585-510 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 602 12/17/07 
12 VAC 5-585-600 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 607 12/17/07 
12 VAC 5-585-610 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 607 12/17/07 
12 VAC 5-585-620 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 612 12/17/07 
12 VAC 5-585-630 Amended 24:5 VA.R. 614 12/17/07 
12 VAC 5-585-760 through 12 VAC 5-585-830 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4298-4301 10/1/07 
12 VAC 30-10-820 Added 24:2 VA.R. 191 10/31/07 
12 VAC 30-60-500 emer Added 23:26 VA.R. 4427 8/8/07-8/7/08 
12 VAC 30-80-40 emer Amended 24:3 VA.R. 377 10/1/07-9/30/08 
12 VAC 30-120 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4080 -- 
12 VAC 30-120-370 emer Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4029 9/1/07-8/31/08 
12 VAC 30-120-380 emer Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4032 9/1/07-8/31/08 
12 VAC 30-135-100 through 12VAC30-135-360 Added 24:2 VA.R. 196-218 12/1/07 
12 VAC 35-115-10 through 12 VAC 35-115-250 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4301-4340 9/19/07 
12 VAC 35-115-145 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4329 9/19/07 
12 VAC 35-115-146 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4330 9/19/07 
12 VAC 35-115-160 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4332 9/19/07 
Title 13. Housing 
13 VAC 5-31 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4079 -- 



Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed 

Volume 24, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 26, 2007 

631 
 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
13 VAC 5-91 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4080 -- 
Title 14. Insurance 
14 VAC 5-215-20 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3768 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-30 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3768 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-50 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3769 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-60 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3770 7/1/07 
14 VAC 5-215-80 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3770 7/1/07 
Title 16. Labor and Employment 
16 VAC 15-21-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3933 8/23/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.6 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 26 12/15/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.66 Appendix D Amended 24:1 VA.R. 26 12/15/07 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.302 through 16 VAC 25-90-
1910.308 

Amended 24:1 VA.R. 26 12/15/07 

16 VAC 25-90-1910.399 Subpart S Appendix A  Amended 24:1 VA.R. 26 12/15/07 
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing 
18 VAC 41-70-10 through 18 VAC 41-70-280 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4349-4359 9/20/07 
18 VAC 50-30-10 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 416 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-40 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 418 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-90 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 419 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-100 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 419 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-120 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 419 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-130 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 420 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-190 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 421 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-200 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 422 11/15/07 
18 VAC 50-30-220 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 422 11/15/07 
18 VAC 60-20-17 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 424 11/29/07 
18 VAC 60-20-71 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3934 8/22/07 
18 VAC 65-10-10 through 18VAC65-10-80 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 226-228 11/15/07 
18 VAC 65-10-100 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 228 11/15/07 
18 VAC 65-10-110 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 228 11/15/07 
18 VAC 65-10-120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 228 11/15/07 
18 VAC 85-20-140 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 27 10/17/07 
18 VAC 85-20-235 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4360 9/20/07 
18 VAC 85-20-235 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4361 9/20/07 
18 VAC 85-20-290 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3934 8/22/07 
18 VAC 85-20-400 through 18 VAC 85-20-420 Adding 23:25 VA.R. 4362-4363 9/20/07 
18 VAC 85-40-61 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 28 10/17/07 
18 VAC 85-40-61 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 29 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-40-65 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 28 10/17/07 
18 VAC 85-50-58 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 29 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-80-72 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 29 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-101-152 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 30 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-110-155 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 30 10/18/07 
18 VAC 85-120-130 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 229 10/31/07 
18 VAC 90-20-30 Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4363 10/1/07 
18 VAC 90-20-225 Added 23:25 VA.R. 4364 10/1/07 
18 VAC 90-30-240 Added 24:3 VA.R. 427 11/29/07 
18 VAC 90-60-100 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 429 11/29/07 
18 VAC 95-10-10 through 18VAC95-10-80 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 231-232 11/15/07 
18 VAC 95-10-100 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 232 11/15/07 
18 VAC 95-10-110 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 232 11/15/07 
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18 VAC 95-10-120 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 232 11/15/07 
18 VAC 105-20-10 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3791 9/24/07 
18 VAC 110-20-180 Erratum 24:3 VA.R. 444 -- 
18 VAC 110-40-10 through 18VAC110-40-50 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 430-431 11/14/07 
18 VAC 112-20-81 emer Added 24:4 VA.R. 497 11/1/07-10/31/08 
18 VAC 112-20-90 emer Amended 24:4 VA.R. 497 11/1/07-10/31/08 
18 VAC 112-20-130 emer Amended 24:4 VA.R. 498 11/1/07-10/31/08 
18 VAC 112-20-131 emer Amended 24:4 VA.R. 498 11/1/07-10/31/08 
18 VAC 112-20-150 emer Amended 24:4 VA.R. 499 11/1/07-10/31/08 
18 VAC 120-40-10 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4038 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-15 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4039 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-20 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4039 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-60 Repealed 24:3 VA.R. 433 12/29/07 
18 VAC 120-40-80 through 18VAC120-40-360 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4040-4052 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-221 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4043 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-222 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4043 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-295 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4048 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-342 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4050 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-370 Repealed 23:24 VA.R. 4052 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-380 Repealed 23:24 VA.R. 4052 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-385 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4052 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-390 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-400 Repealed 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-410 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-411 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4053 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-411.1 through 18VAC120-40-411.21 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4054-4064 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-415 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4064 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-415.1 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4065 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-415.2 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4065 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-415.3 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4065 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-420 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4066 9/5/07 
18 VAC 120-40-430 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4066 9/5/07 
18 VAC 135-30 (Forms) Amended 24:1 VA.R. 41 -- 
18 VAC 135-40 (Forms) Amended 24:1 VA.R. 43 -- 
18 VAC 135-50-10 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3794 9/22/07 
18 VAC 135-50-20 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3795 9/22/07 
18 VAC 135-50-220 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3795 9/22/07 
18 VAC 135-50-400 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3795 9/22/07 
18 VAC 150-10-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3937 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-20 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3937 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-30 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3937 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-50 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-60 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-70 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-80 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3938 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-100 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3939 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-110 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3939 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-10-120 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3939 10/7/07 
18 VAC 150-20-30 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 436 11/29/07 
18 VAC 150-20-100 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 436 11/29/07 
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18 VAC 150-20-140 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 437 11/29/07 
18 VAC 150-20-220 Added 24:3 VA.R. 438 11/29/07 
18 VAC 150-20-230 Added 24:3 VA.R. 438 11/29/07 
18 VAC 150-20-240 Added 24:3 VA.R. 438 11/29/07 
Title 19. Public Safety 
19 VAC 30-170-15 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 233 10/1/07 
19 VAC 30-170-50 Amended 24:2 VA.R. 233 10/1/07 
Title 20. Public Utilities and Telecommunications 
20 VAC 5-417-10 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 513 10/9/07 
20 VAC 5-417-50 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 513 10/9/07 
Title 21. Securities and Retail Franchising 
21 VAC 5-10-40 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3940 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20-65 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3942 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20-95 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3942 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20-280 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3943 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-20-330 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3947 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-80-65 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3949 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-80-160 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3950 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-80-200 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3954 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-110 Erratum 23:24 VA.R. 4079 -- 
21 VAC 5-110-65 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3959 7/1/07 
21 VAC 5-110-75 Added 23:23 VA.R. 3960 7/1/07 
Title 22. Social Services 
22 VAC 40-35-10 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3962 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-35-80 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3965 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-35-90 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3965 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-35-100 Amended 23:23 VA.R. 3966 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-41-10 through 22 VAC 40-41-50 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3796-3799 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-41-55 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3799 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-41-60 Amended 23:22 VA.R. 3799 9/1/07 
22 VAC 40-72-55 Added 24:5 VA.R. 616 12/12/07 
22 VAC 40-72-367 Added 24:5 VA.R. 616 12/12/07 
22 VAC 40-72-930 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 38 11/1/07 
22 VAC 40-72-960 Amended 24:1 VA.R. 39 11/1/07 
22 VAC 40-375-10 through 22 VAC 40-375-60 Repealed 24:5 VA.R. 616 12/12/07 
22 VAC 40-770-10 through 22 VAC 40-770-160 Repealed 24:2 VA.R. 234 11/1/07 
22 VAC 40-771-10 through 22 VAC 40-771-160 Added 24:2 VA.R. 234-242 11/1/07 
Title 23. Taxation 
23 VAC 10-210-485 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4069 9/6/07 
23 VAC 10-210-693 emer Amended 23:25 VA.R. 4364 7/26/07-07/25/08 
23 VAC 10-210-6041 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4068 9/6/07 
23 VAC 10-210-6042 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4069 9/6/07 
23 VAC 10-210-6043 Amended 23:24 VA.R. 4069 9/6/07 
23 VAC 10-240-20 through 23 VAC 10-240-60 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4372-4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-100 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-130 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-140 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-150 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-200 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-210 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
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23 VAC 10-240-240 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-270 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-280 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4373 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-300 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-310 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-330 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-340 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-360 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-380 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4374 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-400 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-420 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-430 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-450 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
23 VAC 10-240-460 Repealed 23:25 VA.R. 4375 10/04/07 
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles 
24 VAC 20-120-10 through 24VAC20-120-180 Repealed 24:4 VA.R. 516 1/1/08 
24 VAC 20-121-10 through 24 VAC 20-121-220 Adding 24:4 VA.R. 516-529 1/1/08 
24 VAC 22-20-10 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 439 12/1/07 
24 VAC 22-20-20 Amended 24:3 VA.R. 440 12/1/07 
24 VAC 27-10-10 through 24VAC27-10-120 Added 23:24 VA.R. 4071-4075 9/20/07 
24 VAC 30-45-10 Added 24:2 VA.R. 243 10/1/07 
24 VAC 30-45-20 Added 24:2 VA.R. 243 10/1/07 
24 VAC 30-45-30 Added 24:2 VA.R. 244 10/1/07 
24 VAC 30-200-10 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 529 11/28/07 
24 VAC 30-200-20 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 530 11/28/07 
24 VAC 30-200-30 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 531 11/28/07 
24 VAC 30-200-35 Added 24:4 VA.R. 532 11/28/07 
24 VAC 30-200-40 Amended 24:4 VA.R. 533 11/28/07 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy. 

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Philip M. Campbell. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations to allow 
an applicant to be licensed as a marriage and family therapist 
by obtaining any additional academic courses necessary for 
clinical practice as determined by a licensed marriage and 
family therapist who is preferably affiliated with a 
COAMFTE-approved marriage and family therapy training 
program. 

Agency's Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reasons for Decision: The board determined 
that amendments to current regulations to allow nonboard 
members to determine acceptability of coursework and 
qualification for licensure was not consistent with its statutory 
authority to license marriage and family therapists. 

Agency Contact: Evelyn B. Brown, Executive Director, 
Board of Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4610, FAX 
(804) 527-4435, or email evelyn.brown@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-03; Filed October 31, 2007, 8:53 a.m. 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Nursing. 

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Carmina Teresa V. Bautista. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations to 
eliminate the requirement for the CGFNS qualifying 
examination for foreign-trained nurses. 

Agency's Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for 
rulemaking will be published in the Register of Regulations 
and sent to interested parties to request comments for 30 
days. The board will consider the request at its meeting on 
January 29, 2008, and determine whether to initiate 
rulemaking. 

Public comments may be submitted until December 26, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, Executive Director, Board 
of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4623, FAX (804) 527-
4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-04; Filed November 6, 2007, 10:03 a.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

STATE BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND 
CONSUMER SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services intends to consider amending the 
following regulations: 2VAC5-200, Rules and Regulations 
Pertaining to the Disposal of Entire Flocks of Dead 
Poultry. The purpose of the proposed action is to consider 
amending the current regulation to authorize additional 
approved methods for the disposal of large numbers of dead 
poultry when disposal of whole flocks is necessary. The 
amendments will modify and clarify the development and 
requirement for filing of disposal plans by poultry operations 
of all sizes when dealing with whole flock mortality. In 
addition, consideration will be given to amending the current 
regulation to allow for the elimination of the requirement that 
all commercial poultry farms file a disposal plan with the 
State Veterinarian. Disposal of entire poultry flocks of all 
sizes would be handled in accordance with the VDACS-
approved emergency disease plans. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §3.1-726 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on December 26, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Colleen Calderwood, DVM, Program 
Manager, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 
P. O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 804-786-
2483, FAX 804-371-2380, TTY 800-828-1120, or email 
colleen.calderwood@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-916; Filed October 29, 2007, 1:16 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Mines, Minerals 
and Energy intends to consider amending the following 
regulations: 4VAC25-40, Safety and Health Regulations 
for Mineral Mining. The purpose of the proposed action is 
to make technical corrections, clarify unclear language, 

update references, make the regulation internally consistent 
and consistent with the Code of Virginia, and strength certain 
provisions dealing with mine safety. Sections to be 
strengthened relate to blasting, mine rescue, and construction 
and maintenance of mine structures. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§45.1-161.3, 45.1-161.294, and 45.1-
161.305 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on December 26, 2007. 

Agency Contact: David Spears, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 202 N. Ninth St., 
8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, telephone 804-692-
3212, FAX 804-692-3237, TTY 800-828-1120, or email 
david.spears@dmme.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-944; Filed October 26, 2007, 12:00 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
9VAC25-190, Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System (VPDES) General Permit Regulation for 
Nonmetallic Mineral Mining. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to reissue the existing general permit that expires on 
June 30, 2009. The general permit will establish limitations 
and monitoring requirements for point source discharges from 
nonmetallic mineral mining facilities. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123 and 124. 

Public comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on January 7, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Elleanore Daub, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 E. Main St., P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 804-698-4111, FAX 804-
698-4032, or email emdaub@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1057; Filed November 6, 2007, 4:31 p.m. 
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Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 
intends to consider amending the following regulations: 
9VAC25-630, Virginia Pollution Abatement General 
Permit Regulation for Poultry Waste Management. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to establish requirements 
for end-users of poultry waste to ensure that poultry waste is 
being used in a manner in which state waters are being 
protected and nutrients losses are being reduced and that these 
reductions can be measured. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§62.1-44.15 and 62.1-44.17:1.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on January 11, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Betsy Bowles, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 E. Main St., P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 804-698-4059, FAX 804-
698-4116, or email bkbowles@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1062; Filed November 7, 2007, 8:42 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING  

BOARD OF MEDICINE  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with §2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends to 
consider amending the following regulations: 18VAC85-20, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Medicine, 
Osteopathy, Podiatry, and Chiropractic. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to require a four-year degree from a 
college or university prior to chiropractic school. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §54.1-2400 and Chapter 29 (§54.1-2900 
et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on December 26, 2007. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Dr., Suite 300, Richmond, 
VA 23233-1463, telephone 804-367-4621, FAX 804-527-
4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-19; Filed October 26, 2007, 4:20 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND RECREATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE: The Department of Conservation and Recreation is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with §2.2-4006 A 1, which excludes agency orders or regulations fixing rates or prices. The 
Department of Conservation and Recreation will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 
with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC5-36. Standard Fees for Use of Department of Conservation and Recreation Facilities, 
Programs, and Service (amending 4VAC5-36-50, 4VAC5-36-60, 4VAC5-36-70, 4VAC5-36-90, 4VAC5-36-100, 4VAC5-
36-110, 4VAC5-36-120, 4VAC5-36-130, 4VAC5-36-140, 4VAC5-36-150, 4VAC5-36-200, 4VAC5-36-210, 4VAC5-36-220).  

Statutory Authority: §10.1-104 of the Code of Virginia.  

Effective Date: January 1, 2008.  

Agency Contact: David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and Budget Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 
Governor St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 804-786-2291, FAX 804-786-6141, or email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments change the standard fees for parking and launching; admission; swimming; camping; cabins; picnic 
shelters; amphitheaters and gazebos; boat storage; interpretive canoes, boats, and paddleboats programs; interpretive and 
educational tours and programs; miscellaneous rentals; conference center rentals; and administrative and processing. 

Increases to these rates and prices represent changes to maintain fair market value, the addition of new facilities and 
offerings, updates to ensure consistency with the private sector, and revisions to reflect private concessionaires’ new 
seasonal prices.  These fee amendments increase the camping, cabin, and shelter rental rates across the board by 
approximately 5.0%.  Annual passes were increased by 10% and daily parking fees were increased by $1.00 at Pocahontas, 
First Landing, and Lake Anna.  Daily parking fees were increased by $1.00 at Leesylvania for weekdays only.  Boat storage 
fees were increased at Claytor Lake and Leesylvania by 10%. 

4VAC5-36-50. Parking and launch fees.  

PARKING FEES (NONTAXABLE)  
  WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 

Daily Parking for Passenger Vehicles: Applies to cars, trucks, vans (up to 15 
passenger), and motorcycles.     

  All parks unless listed below. $2.00 $3.00 

  Parks under construction and having only limited facilities and services. $2.00 $2.00 

  First Landing, Fairy Stone, Raymond R. "Andy" Guest Jr. Shenandoah 
River, Smith Mountain Lake, Claytor Lake, Lake Anna, Pocahontas, 
Kiptopeke, Westmoreland, Mason Neck, Sky Meadows, Chippokes 

$3.00 $4.00 

  Leesylvania, First Landing, Lake Anna, Pocahontas $3.00 $4.00 $5.00 
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  York River Croaker Landing/Pier Area (also requires boat launch fee for 
all vehicles) 

$3.00 $3.00 

Horse Trailer Parking Fee (also requires vehicle parking fee.) All parks unless 
listed below. 

$3.00 per trailer $3.00 per 
trailer 

  Lake Anna $4.00 per trailer $4.00 per 
trailer 

  Surcharge for additional horse in same trailer. $2.00 per horse $2.00 per horse 

Other Trailer Parking Fee: Applies to other trailers not covered by camping, 
horse trailer and boat launch fee. (Add to daily parking fee.) 

$2.00 per trailer $2.00 per 
trailer 

Daily Bus Parking: All Seasons. Applies to vehicles with 16 or more passenger 
capacity. 

    

  All parks unless listed below. $10 $10 

  Claytor Lake, Hungry Mother, Leesylvania, Mason Neck, New River 
Trail 

$12 $12 

  First Landing, Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, Pocahontas, Westmoreland $15 $15 

Natural Area Preserve Parking Fees for any Vehicle: The department may 
charge these fees at any Natural Area Preserve. 

$2.00 $2.00 

Boat Launch Fees: Required to use park boat ramps on bodies of water where 
motorboats are permitted. Required for all vehicles using York River Croaker 
Landing/Pier Area. May not apply to small "car-top" launch facilities (facilities 
at which boats may only be launched by hand carrying them to the water). The 
fee is normally added to the parking fee to create a combined park/launch 
payment. 

    

Daily Launch Fees: All Seasons     

  All parks unless listed below. $3.00 $3.00 

  Claytor Lake $2.00 $2.00 

  First Landing, Kiptopeke (with Marine Fishing License), Lake Anna $4.00 $4.00 

  Kiptopeke (without Marine Fishing License), Leesylvania $8.00 $8.00 

Surcharge for second boat on same trailer: jet ski $2.00 $2.00 

Overnight parking at boat launch: where available $10 $10 

Camper’s Boat Launch Fee Kiptopeke: Does not apply if camper parks trailer at 
campsite. 

$3.00 $3.00 

  
  FEE 

Annual and Lifetime Parking Fees:   

Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus: Lifetime admission and parking pass to all state parks, plus 
10% discount on camping, all state park merchandise, equipment rentals, and shelter rentals. 

$275 

  Age up to 40 $303 

  Age 41-45 $273 
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  Age 46-50 $242 

  Age 51-55 $212 

  Age 56-61 $182 

Senior Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus (Age 62 or older): See Lifetime Naturally Yours 
Passport Plus above. 

$110 

Naturally Yours Passport Plus: 12-month from date of purchase admission and parking pass to all 
state parks, plus 10% discount on camping, all state park merchandise, equipment rentals, and shelter 
rentals. 

$55 $61 

Naturally Yours Parking Passport: 12-month from date of purchase admission and parking pass to 
park of purchase. 

$33 $36 

Senior Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus: See Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus above. $100 

Senior Naturally Yours Passport Plus: See Naturally Yours Passport Plus above. $30 $33 

Senior Naturally Yours Parking Passport: See Naturally Yours Parking Passport above. $20 $22 

Golden Disability Pass: Available to persons with disabilities as verified by U.S. Social Security 
Administration’s (SSA) "Benefit Verification Letter." Pass remains in effect unless SSA withdraws 
eligibility. 

No Charge 

Annual Horse Trailer-Vehicle Pass: 12-months from date of purchase admission and park pass, 
including horse trailer, good at all parks. 

$72 $79 

Annual Horse Trailer-Vehicle Pass: Occoneechee and Staunton River Only $33 $50 

Annual and Lifetime Park/Launch Fees:   

Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters: Lifetime admission, parking, and launch pass to 
all state parks, plus 10% discount on camping, all state park merchandise, equipment rentals, and 
shelter rentals. 

$385 

  Age up to 40 $606 

  Age 41-45 $545 

  Age 46-50 $485 

  Age 51-55 $424 

  Age 56-61 $364 

Senior Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters (Age 62 or older): See Lifetime Naturally 
Yours Passport Plus for Boaters above. 

$314 

Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters: 12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and 
launch pass to all state parks, plus 10% discount on camping, all state park merchandise, equipment 
rentals, and shelter rentals. 

$138 $152 

Park/Launch Passport:   

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to all state parks including 
Leesylvania. 

$116 $128 

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to First Landing, 
Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. Good only at park of purchase. 

$88 $97 

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to park of purchase other 
than Leesylvania, First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. 

$72 $79 
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Senior Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters: Good at all parks. $285 

Senior Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters: Annual permit for all parks including Leesylvania. $110 $121 

Senior Park/Launch Passport:   

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to all state parks including 
Leesylvania. 

$99 $109 

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to First Landing, 
Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. Good only at park of purchase. 

$72 $79 

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to park of purchase other 
than Leesylvania, First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. 

$60 $66 

Buggs Island Lake Special Annual Pass: Good only at Occoneechee and Staunton River State Parks. $33 $50 

Leesylvania Annual Overnight Boating/Parking Pass. $61 $67 

Handicapped Disabled Visitor Annual Boat Launch Pass (in addition to handicapped disabled tags). $40 $44 

Parks and Trails Passport:   

  In conjunction with the purchase of an annual parking pass $10 $11 

  Without the purchase of an annual parking pass $15 $17 

  
Special Event Fees: EVENT FEE 

Standard Special Event Parking Fee: Applies to all parks and events that utilize 
parking fees unless noted below. 

$10 per vehicle 

Community Event Fee: May be used by any park as a condition of a Special Use 
Permit for a community event provided by a nonprofit group or organization or 
government agency or entity. 

$1.00 per vehicle 

James River: James River Raft Race $5.00 per vehicle 

Sky Meadows: Strawberry Festival.   

  Advance payment $15 per vehicle 

  Day of Event $20 per vehicle 

Sky Meadows: Virginia Scottish Games   

  Vehicle Parking $5.00 per vehicle 

  Per Person Admission $15 per person 
$5.00 per person, active military 
and active military family 
members 
$5.00 per child 6-12 years 
Children under 6 free 

      

New River Trail: Wythe County Heritage Day. Grayson Highlands Fall Festival. 
Hungry Mother Arts and Crafts Festival. 

$6.00 per vehicle 
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Claytor Lake Arts and Crafts Festival: Free parking with canned food donation on 
designated day. 

$5.00 per vehicle 
$9.00 per two-day pass 
$12 per three-day pass 

Kiptopeke: Eastern Shore Birding Festival. Parking Fee waived to registered 
festival guests; otherwise 
standard fees apply 

Smith Mountain Lake: special park/launch rate for boaters participating in fishing 
tournaments if the tournament sponsor has also rented the Tournament 
Headquarters Building. 

$5.00 per vehicle/ boat 
combination 

Standard Special Event Per Person Entrance Fee: Applies to all parks and events 
that utilize per person admission fees unless noted below. 

$4.00 per adult 
$3.00 per child, 6 through 12 
years 
Children under 6 free 

Sailor’s Creek Battlefield: Battle of Sailor’s Creek Reenactment. $5.00 per person  
Children under 6 free 
$10 maximum per vehicle 
$50 per bus (16 passenger +) 

Chippokes Plantation Steam and Gas Engine Show. $5.00 per person  
Children under 12 free 

Chippokes Plantation Christmas. $5.00 per person 

Chippokes Gospel Explosion $10 per person 
$7.00 for advance ticket 
purchase 
Children under 12 free 

Grayson Highlands Wayne C. Henderson Music Festival. $10 per person 
Children under 12 free 

York River Estuaries Day. $2.00 (Age 3 through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Natural Tunnel Special Event Parking Fee. $2.00 per person 
$6.00 per vehicle 

Occoneechee Pow Wow $5.00 per person  
Seniors (62 and over) free  
Children under 4 free 

  Occoneechee Pow Wow School Groups $4.00 per student Teachers and 
Chaperones free 

Notes on parking fees:  

1. Weekend rates apply on Memorial Day, Fourth of July, and Labor Day holidays.  

2. No parking fee is required for up to two vehicles per campsite and per cabin. Vehicles in excess of two shall pay the 
prevailing daily parking fee for each day that the vehicle is parked in the park.  

3. Except as otherwise noted, boat launching shall be free for up to one boat per vehicle per campsite or cabin.  

4. Parking fees are waived for any vehicle displaying handicapped disabled license plates or temporary handicapped disabled 
parking identification issued by any state or the federal government. However, the boat launch fee or the portion of any 
combined parking-launching fee that applies to boat launching shall be collected from such vehicles. Additionally, the price 
for lifetime passes that include boat launching for qualified disabled individuals shall be calculated by subtracting the 
applicable parking pass fee from the park/launch pass fee. 
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5. Parking fees are waived for any vehicle occupied solely by students and/or teachers and/or assisting personnel 
participating in an official activity of a bona fide school or institution of higher learning. Parks may require that individuals 
in vehicles other than those marked as a school bus verify their official activity by letter from the school or approved field 
trip form.  

6. Parking fees are waived for official vehicles of federal, state, and local governments while on official business; vehicles 
making deliveries to the park; contractor and business vehicles performing work in the park; and emergency vehicles while 
conducting official business, including training.  

7. Parking fees are waived for park employees during time of employment, including family and household members of staff 
occupying staff residences;, visitors to staff residences, and park volunteers entering the park to perform volunteer duties.  

8. Parking fees may be waived for vehicles conducting research or collecting activities provided such waiver is included in 
the language of the Research and Collection Permit as required in 4VAC5-30-50. 

9. The period covered by a daily parking fee shall be midnight to midnight. Park guests utilizing overnight parking when and 
where available (e.g., backpackers, overnight fisherman fishermen, etc.) will be required to pay the applicable daily parking 
fee for each calendar day that their vehicle is in the parking lot (partial days included).  

10. Annual permits shall be valid for 12 months from the date of purchase, unless otherwise noted.  

11. Parking fees are waived for visitors entering the park for the sole purpose of dining at the park restaurant at Douthat and 
Hungry Mother State Parks.  

12. Parking fees are waived at state parks for participants in Walk for Parks, Fall River Renaissance, Envirothons, March for 
Parks, Operation Spruce-Up Day, Stewardship Virginia, and National Trails Day, and other park-sanctioned public service 
events as approved by the director.  

13. Daily parking fees are reduced to $1.00 for vehicles occupied by participants in fund-raising events sponsored by 
nonprofit organizations (Walk-A-Thons, etc.) provided the sponsor has obtained a special use permit from the park that 
contains provisions for the identification of participants in the event.  

14. Parking fees shall be waived for persons using park roads to gain legal access to their private residence and guests to 
such residences; and for vehicles passing through, but not stopping in, a park on a public roadway.  

15. Revenue collected from special event parking and/or admission fees may be divided between the park and the event 
sponsor if so designated and approved in the special event permit following a determination made by the director that the 
revenue split is in the benefit of the Commonwealth.  

16. Annual Park/Launch pass also covers the park entrance or parking fee for horse trailers or other allowable trailers. 
Annual and Lifetime parking-only passes do not include trailers.  

17. Parking fees are waived for service vehicles such as tow trucks when entering the park to service a visitor vehicle.  

18. Parking fees are waived for visitors entering the park to attend a performance by a U.S. military band if this is a required 
condition for the band's performance.  

19. Parking fees are included in the rental fees for meeting facilities, up to the capacity of the facility and provided that this 
waiver of fee is included in the rental agreement for the facility.  

20. Parking fees are waived for a period of up to 15 minutes for persons entering the park to deposit materials in community 
recycling collection containers.  

21. Parking fees are waived for vehicles occupied entirely by persons attending fee interpretive programs.  

22. Annual parking passes that do not include boat launch require payment of daily launch fee if launching a boat at any park 
or for all vehicles using Croaker Landing/Pier Area at York River State Park.  

23. Annual parking pass holders are not guaranteed the parking privileges of the pass should parking places be unavailable.  

24. Parking fees are waived at Mason Neck during the park’s annual Elizabeth Hartwell Eagle Festival. 
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4VAC5-36-60. Admission fees.  

ADMISSION FEES (NONTAXABLE)  
  DAILY ADMISSION PER PERSON 

(Weekdays and Weekends unless 
otherwise noted.) 

ANNUAL PASS (Good for 
12 months from date of 
purchase.) 

Shot Tower Free NA 

$1.50 (Groups of 10 or more any age) $3.00 (age 6 through 12) per 
year 

$2.00 (Ages 6 through 12) $5.00 (age 13 and over) per 
year 

Southwest VA Museum 

$3.00 (Age 13 and up) $15 (family: up to 2 adults 
and 2 children) per year 

Chippokes Plantation: Chippokes Mansion $2.00 (Age 6 through 12) 
$4.00 (Age 13 and over) 
$2.00 group rate (10 or more) 

NA 

Chippokes Plantation: Farm and Forestry 
Museum 

$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 
$2.00 (Age 6 through 12) 
$2.00 group rate (10 or more) 

NA 

Chippokes Plantation: Combination Pass $6.00 (Age 13 and over) 
$3.00 (Age 6 through 12) 

NA 

Kiptopeke Fishing Pier Fishing Fee $1.00 (Age 6 through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

NA 

Kiptopeke Fishing Pier Fishing Fee: Coupon 
book good for 10 visits 

$20 per 10 Passes NA 

Annual Night Fishing: All parks where available 
(also requires parking fee) 

$15 per person per year   

Late Night Fishing: All parks where available 
(also requires parking fee) 

$3.00 per person per night   

  
  ADMISSION 

Natural Tunnel Chairlift:   

  Children under age 6 Free 

  Round trip per person $3.00 

  One-way per person $2.00 

  Group Rate Round Trip per person (10 or more)  $2.00 

  Season Pass $20 

  Daily Pass (Good for unlimited trips on date of issue, good for one person only) $6.00 

Archery Range: All parks where available; per person user fee $2.00 per day (over 15) 
$1.00 per day (under 15) 
$15 per year (any age) 

New River Challenge Registration Fees   
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  Early Registration Fee: $35 per person 
$90 per team 

  Late Registration Fee: $45 per person 
$110 per team 

James River: River Raft Race Registration $15 per person 

Park Sponsored Special Event Vendor Fees. All parks where available unless otherwise 
noted. 

$125 per merchandise 
vendor 
$150 per food vendor 
$50 late fee 

Mason Neck Harvest Festival Event. $50 per vendor 

Notes on admission/entrance fees:  

1. Fees are waived at Natural Tunnel for use of the chairlift on one designated "Customer Appreciation Day" per year.  

2. Museum entrance fees are waived at the Southwest Virginia Museum during the "Festival of Trees" event for members of 
groups who submitted trees for the display.  

3. For park museums and historic features that charge an entrance fee, visitors participating in the Time Travelers program of 
the Virginia Association of Museums shall be charged the existing per person group rate for that facility.  

4VAC5-36-70. Swimming fees.  

SWIMMING (NONTAXABLE)  
Daily Swimming Fees WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 

All parks with fee swimming areas unless noted. Under age 3 Free 
$2.00 (Age 3 through 
12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Under age 3 Free 
$3.00 (Age 3 through 
12) 
$4.00 (Age 13 and 
over) 

  Staunton River Under age 3 Free 
$3.00 (Age 3 through 
12) 
$4.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Under age 3 Free 
$4.00 (Age 3 through 
12) 
$5.00 (Age 13 and 
over) 

  Pocahontas Under age 3 Free 
$5.00 (Age 3 through 
12) 
$6.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Under age 3 Free 
$7.00 (Age 3 through 
12) 
$8.00 (Age 13 and 
over) 

  Group campers utilizing primitive group camps. All parks 
where available unless otherwise noted. 

$1.00 (all ages) $1.00 (all ages) 

  Pocahontas (Group Cabin Guests) $3.00 (all ages) $3.00 (all ages) 

  Chippokes Plantation: Recreation/Education Fun Package: 
Swimming, Mansion, and Farm & Forestry Museum 
(Memorial Day – Labor Day: Wed. – Sun.) 

$3.50 (Age 3 through 
12) 
$6.00 (Age 13 and over) 

$3.50 (Age 3 through 
12) 
$6.00 (Age 13 and 
over) 

Deposit on all locker keys: Refunded when key is returned. $2.00 each 
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Swimming Coupon Book: (Age 3 and over). All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

$18 per 10 coupons 
$35 per 20 coupons 

  Staunton River $24 per 10 coupons 
$45 per 20 coupons 

  Pocahontas $35 per 10 coupons 
$68 per 20 coupons 

Group Swimming: per person (10 persons or more). All parks 
where available unless otherwise noted, except Pocahontas. 

$1.50 (Age 3 through 12) 
$2.50 (Age 13 and over) 

  Staunton River Group Swimming (20 persons or more). 
Five-day advanced registration required. 

$2.50 (all ages) 

  Pocahontas Group Swimming (20 persons or more). Five-
day advanced registration required. 

$3.00 (all ages) 

Season Swimming Permit: All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. 

$40 (Age 3 through 12) 
$50 (Age 13 and over) 

  Staunton River $50 (Age 3 through 12) 
$60 (Age 13 and over) 

  Pocahontas $60 (Age 3 through 12) 
$70 (Age 13 and over) 

After-Hours Exclusive Use of Pool or Swimming Area: All parks 
where available. Requires prior reservation. Rental period of 
approximately 1-2 hours, depending upon operating schedule and 
amount of available daylight. Cancellation fee charged if 
reservation is cancelled less than 3 days before the date of event 
unless cancellation is for inclement weather or cancelled by the 
park. 

$100 (up to 25 persons) 
$125 (26 to 50 persons) 
$175 (51 to 75 persons) 
$200 (76 to 100 persons) 
$35 to open food concessions with rental 
$50 cancellation fee 

Swimming lessons. All parks where available unless otherwise 
noted. 
Package of eight 45-minute lessons (includes parking) 

$30 per person 
$25 per person if two or more from same family 

Notes on swimming fees:  

1. Nonswimming adults in street clothes admitted to swimming areas free when supervising children age 12 and under.  

2. Rain check Policy for Swimming: All state parks will issue a rain check, good for a period of 12 months from the date of 
issue, to any paying customer (does not apply to free swimming vouchers) if the swimming area is forced to close for 40 
minutes or more due to inclement weather. Rain checks may be issued only to patrons present at the swimming area at the 
time of closure.  

3. A full refund is available for a group reservation only if the park or swimming area contractor is notified three days in 
advance of the time of the reservation. In the event that the group is unable to complete their reservation due to inclement 
weather, rain checks will be issued to the individual members of the group in the same manner as other park patrons.  

4. All Season Swimming Permits include parking during the swimming season only.  
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4VAC5-36-90. Camping fees.  

CAMPING FEES (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax)  
Camping fees include free use of dump station and free swimming and boat 
launching for members of the camping party during their stay at the property, 
when and where available, except that at Kiptopeke State Park guest is subject to 
applicable launch fee unless the trailer is returned to the campsite immediately 
after launching. The number of campers per campsite is limited to six individuals 
except when all campers are members of the same household. 

ALL SEASONS 
(Per site fees) 

Standard Sites: No hookup; access to bathhouse and restrooms.   

  All parks with standard sites unless noted below. $15 $16 per night 

  Chippokes Plantation, Hungry Mother, Grayson Highlands, Staunton River, 
Westmoreland, Occoneechee (nonwaterfront), Claytor Lake, Raymond R. 
"Andy" Guest, Jr. Shenandoah River, Smith Mountain Lake. 

$19 $20 per night 

  Occoneechee Waterfront Sites $22 $23 per night 

  Douthat, Kiptopeke, First Landing, Lake Anna. $23 $24 per night 

Water and Electric Sites: Access to water and electric hookups; access to 
bathhouse and restrooms.   

  All parks where available unless noted below. $21 $22 per night 

  Chippokes Plantation, Claytor Lake, Douthat, Fairy Stone, Grayson 
Highlands, Hungry Mother, Occoneechee (nonwaterfront), Staunton River, 
Westmoreland, Pocahontas, Smith Mountain Lake, Belle Isle, James River. 

$24 $25 per night 

  Occoneechee Waterfront Sites $27 $28 per night 

  Kiptopeke, First Landing, Lake Anna. $29 $30 per night 

Water, Electric, and Sewage Sites: Access to water, electric, and sewage hookups; 
access to bathhouse and restrooms.   

  Kiptopeke $33 $35 per night 

  Hungry Mother $27 $28 per night 

Primitive Camping Sites: primitive restrooms; no showers.   

  All parks where available unless noted below. $10 $11 per night 

  Grayson Highlands (November, March, and April when bathhouses are 
closed), James River, Sky Meadows. 

$12 $13 per night 

  Grayson Highlands: Sites with electricity (November, March and April when 
bathhouses are closed) 

$14 $15 per night 

  New River Trail Primitive camping sites at Foster Falls and Cliffview $14 $15 per night 

  New River Trail Water Trail Camping (no potable water) $11 $12 per night 

Horse Camping   

  Horse Stall Fee: All horses must be in stalls. $7.00 per night (Outside Stalls) 
$9.00 per night (Inside Stall) 

Standard Rates   
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Primitive Group Camp Rental (camping in special primitive group areas) All parks 
where available.   

  Up to 20 campers. $58 $61 for entire area per night 

  Up to 30 campers. $87 $91 for entire area per night 

  31 or more campers, up to maximum capacity of group camp area. $116 $122 for entire area per night 

  Grayson Highlands: Primitive camping is available in the stable area 
November, March, and April. 

$14 $15 per site per night 

Special Group Camping Areas:   

  Fairy Stone Group Campsites. $19 $20 per site per night 

  Twin Lakes, Cedar Crest Group Camping Area. $200 $210 for entire area per night  

  Chippokes Plantation: All 4 Sites; Group Rate; 24 persons maximum. 
Natural Tunnel Group Area. 
Grayson Highlands Group Area. 
James River Group Area. 
Shenandoah Group Area. 

$64 $67 per night (only available as 
entire group area) 

  Westmoreland Group Area. $116 $122 per night 

  Standard Buddy Sites: All parks where available unless noted below. $74 $78 per night 

  Douthat Buddy Sites. $92 $97 per night 

  James River Equestrian Group Area. $87 $91 per night 

Camping – Other Fees   

  Pop-up Camper Rentals (this fee is in addition to the camping site fee). $50 per night 

  Pet Fees $3.00 $5.00 per pet per night 

  Dump Station Fee: Free to state park campers during stay. $5.00 per use 

  Camping Reservation Cancellation Fee Individual Site. $10 per reservation 

  Camping Reservation Cancellation Fee Group Sites. $30 per reservation 

  Hiker or noncamper Shower Fee at Virginia State Parks. $5.00 per person 

Notes on camping:  

1. Check-out time is 3 p.m. and check-in time is 4 p.m.  

2. Camping Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy.  

a. Any fees to be refunded are calculated less the applicable cancellation fee(s).  

b. Fees paid to the reservation center by credit card will be refunded to the original credit card charged.  

c. Fees paid by check or money order to the reservation center, or by any method at the park, will be refunded by state 
check.  

d. A customer may move a camping reservation to another date or park, referred to as a transfer, through the reservation 
center only, and prior to 4 p.m. on the scheduled date of arrival. If the reservation center will not be open again prior to the 
start date of the reservation, transferring is not an option. There is no fee to transfer.  

e. A camping reservation may be canceled until 4 p.m. on the scheduled date of arrival but campers will be charged the 
cancellation fee. This cancellation fee applies to each separate reservation made.  
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f. Once the 4 p.m. check-in time is reached on the scheduled day of arrival, any adjustment to a reservation is considered 
an early departure.  

g. After the check-in time is reached, the first night is considered used whether the site is occupied or not.  

h. There is a one-night penalty, deducted from any amount available for refund, for early departure.  

3. Campers are allowed two vehicles per campsite per day without charge of a parking fee. Additional vehicles, beyond two, 
must pay the prevailing parking fee in effect at the park for each day that the vehicle(s) is parked in the park. The number of 
vehicles allowed to park on the campsite varies according to site design and size of other camping equipment. No vehicles 
shall park on a campsite in other than the designated area for this purpose. Camper vehicles that do not fit on the site, 
whether or not they require the special camper vehicle fee, must park in the designated overflow parking area.  

4. Each member of the camping party, except in primitive group areas, up to the maximum allowable per site, may receive an 
entrance pass to the park's swimming facility on the basis of one pass per night of camping. Passes only issued during days 
and seasons of operation of the swimming facility and only good during the members member’s registered stay.  

5. Damage to campsites, not considered normal wear and tear, will be billed to the person registered for the campsite on an 
itemized cost basis.  

6. At honor collection sites, the stated camping fees on this list shall be considered as having tax included. Honor collection 
is defined as the payment of the camping fee on-site at the park at a nonelectronic collection point at which the payment is 
placed in a box or safe provided for that purpose.  

4VAC5-36-100. Cabin fees.  

CABIN RENTALS (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax)  

 BASE RATE VIRGINIA RESIDENTS 

PRIME SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type Per-Night 
Rental Fee 

Per-Week 
Rental Fee 

Per-Night 
Rental Fee 

Per-Week 
Rental Fee 

 Efficiency $80 $84 $478 $502 $71 $75 $429 $450 

 One Bedroom, Standard $93 $98 $561 $589 $84 $88 $504 $529 

 One Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View $103 $108 $621 $652 $92 $97 $554 $582 

 One Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation $108 $113 $653 $686 $99 $104 $588 $617 

 Two Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless 
noted below 

$107 $112 $648 $680 $97 $102 $584 $613 

 Two Bedroom, Claytor Lake, Bear Creek Lake, James 
River, Occoneechee, Lake Anna 

$112 $118 $679 $713 $101 $106 $612 $643 

 Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, all parks where 
available unless noted below 

$119 $125 $713 $749 $107 $112 $642 $674 

 Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, Claytor Lake, 
Bear Creek Lake, James River, Occoneechee, Lake Anna 

$124 $130 $747 $784 $112 $118 $672 $706 

 Two Bedroom, First Landing, Chippokes Plantation $126 $132 $753 $791 $113 $119 $678 $712 

 Three Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless 
noted below 

$123 $129 $734 $771 $110 $116 $659 $692 

 Three Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation, Bel Air Guest House $142 $149 $855 $898 $128 $134 $770 $809 
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 Three Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, Claytor Lake, 
Bear Creek Lake, James River, Occoneechee, Lake Anna, 
Southwest Virginia Museum Poplar Hill Cottage 

$142 $149 $846 $888 $124 $130 $760 $798 

 Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) $159 $167 $954 
$1,002 

$143 $150 $859 $902 

 Fairy Stone Lodge (Fairy Stone), Creasy Lodge (Douthat), 
Bel Air Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$287 $301 $1,716 
$1,802 

$257 $270 $1,545 
$1,622 

 Douthat Lodge (Douthat), Hungry Mother Lodge (Hungry 
Mother), Potomac River Retreat (Westmoreland) 

$337 $354 $2,023 
$2,124 

$303 $318 $1,822 
$1,913 

 6-Bedroom Lodge, Water View: Kiptopeke, James River, 
Claytor Lake, Occoneechee, Bear Creek Lake, Lake Anna. 

$353 $371 $2,120 
$2,226 

$318 $334 $1,909 
$2,004 

MID-SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type Per-Night 
Rental Fee 

Per-Week 
Rental Fee 

Per-Night 
Rental Fee 

Per-Week 
Rental Fee 

  Efficiency $70 $74 $425 $446 $64 $67 $382 $401 

  One Bedroom, Standard $83 $87 $498 $523 $76 $80 $448 $470 

  One Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View $91 $96 $547 $574 $82 $86 $494 $519 

  One Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation $87 $91 $522 $548 $79 $83 $470 $494 

  Two Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available 
unless noted below 

$96 $101 $576 $605 $87 $91 $519 $545 

  Two Bedroom, Claytor Lake, Bear Creek Lake, 
James River, Occoneechee, Lake Anna 

$100 $105 $604 $634 $91 $96 $543 $570 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, all 
parks where available unless noted below 

$106 $111 $634 $666 $95 $100 $570 $599 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, Claytor 
Lake, Bear Creek Lake, James River, 
Occoneechee, Lake Anna  

$111 $117 $664 $697 $99 $104 $597 $627 

  Two Bedroom, First Landing, Chippokes 
Plantation 

$101 $106 $603 $633 $90 $95 $542 $569 

  Three Bedroom, Standard, all parks where 
available unless noted below 

$108 $113 $653 $686 $99 $104 $588 $617 

  Three Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation, Bel Air 
Guest House 

$114 $120 $684 $718 $103 $108 $615 $646 

  Three Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, 
Claytor Lake, Bear Creek Lake, James River, 
Occoneechee, Lake Anna, Southwest Virginia 
Museum Poplar Hill Cottage 

$120 $126 $716 $752 $108 $113 $645 $677 

  Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) $142 $149 $849 $891 $127 $133 $764 $802 

  Fairy Stone Lodge (Fairy Stone), Creasy Lodge 
(Douthat), Bel Air Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$254 $267 $1,527 
$1,603 

$229 $240 $1,373 $1,442 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 26, 2007 

651 
 

  Douthat Lodge (Douthat), Hungry Mother Lodge 
(Hungry Mother), Potomac River Retreat 
(Westmoreland) 

$300 $315 $1,802 
$1,892 

$270 $284 $1,621 $1,702 

  6-Bedroom Lodge, Water View: Kiptopeke, James 
River, Claytor Lake, Occoneechee, Bear Creek 
Lake, Lake Anna 

$315 $331 $1,888 
$1,982 

$283 $297 $1,698 $1,783 

OFF-SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type Per-Night 
Rental Fee 

Per-Week 
Rental Fee 

Per-Night 
Rental Fee 

Per-Week 
Rental Fee 

  Efficiency $59 $62 $354 $372 $54 $57 $319 $335 

  One Bedroom, Standard $69 $72 $415 $436 $62 $65 $373 $392 

  One Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View $77 $81 $455 $478 $68 $71 $411 $432 

  One Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation $66 $69 $392 $412 $59 $62 $353 $371 

  Two Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available 
unless noted below 

$80 $84 $480 $504 $71 $75 $432 $454 

  Two Bedroom, Claytor Lake, Bear Creek Lake, James 
River, Occoneechee, Lake Anna 

$84 $88 $503 $528 $75 $79 $452 $475 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, all parks 
where available unless noted below 

$88 $92 $528 $554 $79 $83 $475 $499 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, Claytor 
Lake, Bear Creek Lake, James River, Occoneechee, 
Lake Anna 

$92 $97 $553 $581 $83 $87 $497 $522 

  Two Bedroom, First Landing, Chippokes Plantation $76 $80 $452 $475 $68 $71 $406 $426 

  Three Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available 
unless noted below 

$90 $95 $543 $570 $81 $85 $488 $512 

  Three Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation, Bel Air Guest 
House 

$85 $89 $512 $538 $78 $82 $462 $485 

  Three Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, Claytor 
Lake, Bear Creek Lake, James River, Occoneechee, 
Lake Anna, Southwest Virginia Museum Poplar Hill 
Cottage 

$89 $93 $537 $564 $81 $85 $484 $508 

  Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) $118 $124 $706 $741 $106 $111 $635 $667 

  Fairy Stone Lodge (Fairy Stone), Creasy Lodge 
(Douthat), Bel Air Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$211 $222 $1,269 
$1,332 

$191 $201 $1,142 
$1,199 

  Douthat Lodge (Douthat), Hungry Mother Lodge 
(Hungry Mother), Potomac River Retreat 
(Westmoreland)) 

$250 $263 $1,498 
$1,573 

$226 $237 $1,348 
$1,415 

  6-Bedroom Lodge, Water View: Kiptopeke, James 
River, Claytor Lake, Occoneechee, Bear Creek Lake, 
Lake Anna 

$262 $275 $1,570 
$1,649 

$237 $249 $1,412 
$1,483 
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CAMPING CABINS, CAMPING LODGES, YURTS, AND 
TRAVEL TRAILERS (camping cabins, camping lodges, 
yurts, and travel trailers located in campgrounds and 
operated in conjunction with the campground) 

Per-Night 
Rental Fee 

Per-Week 
Rental Fee 

Per-Night 
Rental Fee 

Per-Week 
Rental Fee 

Camping Cabin rental rate: (2-night minimum rental 
required) 

$53 $56 NA $46 $48 NA 

  Yurt rental: Standard fee $93 $98 $561 $589 $84 $88 $504 $529 

  Travel Trailers: 25-30’ Standard fee $93 $98 $561 $589 $84 $88 $504 $529 

  Camping Lodges: Standard fee $93 $98 $561 $589 $84 $88 $504 $529 

Additional Cabin Fees: 

  Additional Bed Rentals $3.00 per rental night 

  Additional linens $6.00 per bed set 

  Cabin Cancellation Fee: Applies to all lodging in this 
section except as described below in "Lodge 
Cancellation Fee" 

$20 per cancellation period: See note notes 6 and 7 in the on 
Cabin Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy Note. 

  Lodge Cancellation Fee: Applies to Fairy Stone 
Lodge, Douthat Lodge, Hungry Mother Lodge, 
Potomac River Retreat, and all 6-bedroom park lodges 

$50 per cancellation period: See notes on Cabin 
Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy 

  Pet Fee $5.00 $10 per pet per night 

Pocahontas Group Cabins DAY WEEK 

Dining Hall: When rented alone; 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. $225 $236 $1,125 $1,181 

Dining Hall: When rented with a minimum of two cabins. $100 $105 $500 $525 

Cabin Units: per night – two units minimum in ecology 
camp.     

One Unit – Capacity: 28 $92 $97 $462 $485 

Two Units – Capacity: 56 $150 $158 $751 $789 

Three Units – Capacity: 84 $196 $206 $982 $1,031 

Four Units – Capacity: 112 $231 $243 $1,155 $1,213 

Complete Camp (Ecology Camp) $347 $364 $1,733 $1,820 

Complete Camp (Group Camp #3) $266 $279 $1,328 $1,394 

Refundable security deposit charged for all reservations $100 per reservation 

Notes on Pocahontas Group Cabins:  

Pocahontas Group Cabins: Reservations of more than $200 require a 25% prepayment, due within 14 days of making the 
reservation, to hold a reservation. Balance of fees is due 60 days prior to the reservation start date. Reservations of less than 
$200 require payment in full to confirm the reservation.  

Notes on cabins:  

1. Seasonal cabin rates shall be in effect according to the following schedule, except for camping cabins, camping lodges, 
yurts, and travel trailers, which operate on the same schedule and season as the campground at that particular park. In the 
event that a weekly rental period includes two seasonal rates, the higher rate will apply for the entire weekly rental period.  
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PARK PRIME SEASON MID-SEASON OFF-SEASON 

Bear Creek Lake*** 
Belle Isle 
Chippokes Plantation 
First Landing 
Kiptopeke*** 
Lake Anna*** 
Occoneechee*** 
Southwest Virginia Museum 
Staunton River 
Twin Lakes 
Westmoreland 

Friday night prior to 
Memorial Day through 
the Sunday night prior 
to Labor Day 

April 1 through the 
Thursday night prior to 
Memorial Day, and 
Labor Day through 
November 30 

December 1 through 
March 31 

Claytor Lake 
Douthat 
Fairy Stone 
Hungry Mother 
James River*** 
Smith Mountain Lake 

Friday night prior to 
Memorial Day through 
the Sunday night prior 
to Labor Day, and 
October 1 through 
October 31 

April 1 through the 
Thursday night prior to 
Memorial Day, and 
Labor Day through 
September 30, and 
November 1 through 
November 30 

December 1 through 
March 31 

***Cabin or lodge facilities will be added; exact dates of completion unknown. 

2. All dates refer to the night of the stay; checkout time is 10 a.m. and check-in time is 3 p.m.  

3. The following holiday periods are charged prime season weekend rates: the Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday 
period that includes Thanksgiving Day; and Christmas Eve and Christmas Day; and New Year's Eve and New Year's Day.  

4. Cabin guests are allowed two vehicles per cabin per day without charge of parking fee. Additional vehicles must pay the 
prevailing parking fee for each day that the vehicle is parked in the park. The number of vehicles allowed to park at the cabin 
varies according to site design and other factors. All vehicles must park in designated parking areas, either at the cabin or in 
the designated overflow parking area.  

5. Lodge guests are allowed six vehicles per lodge per day without charge of parking fee. Additional vehicles must pay the 
prevailing vehicle parking fee for each day the vehicle is parked in the park. The number of vehicles allowed to park at the 
lodge varies according to site design and other factors. All vehicles must park in designated parking areas, either at the lodge 
or in the designated overflow parking area.  

6. Damage to cabins, not considered normal wear and tear, may be billed to the person registered for the cabin on an 
itemized cost basis.  

7. Each member of the cabin rental party, up to the maximum allowable for the rented unit, may receive an entrance pass to 
the park's swimming facility on the basis of one pass per night of rental. Passes are only issued during days and seasons of 
operation of the swimming facility and are only good during the member's registered stay.  

8. Employees of DCR and the members of committees and boards of DCR shall receive a discount of 50% on applicable 
cabin rates for any season, when the rental of such cabins is in connection with the official business of DCR or its 
committees or boards.  

Notes on cabin transfer/cancellation/early departure policy:  

1. Any fees to be refunded are calculated less the applicable cancellation fees listed below.  

2. Fees paid to the reservation center by credit card will be refunded to the original credit card charged.  

3. Fees paid by check or money order to the reservation center, or by any method at the park, will be refunded by state check.  

4. A customer may move a cabin reservation to another date or park, referred to as a transfer, through the reservation center 
only, and prior to the official check-in time on 5 p.m. on the Monday before the scheduled date of arrival. After 5 p.m. on the 
Monday before the scheduled date of arrival, cancellation is the only option (see note 5 below) except that transfers to a 
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different cabin for the same rental nights shall be allowed, subject to availability, up to the check in time for the original 
reservation. 

5. If the reservation center will not be open again prior to the start of the reservation, transferring is not an option. If the 
transfer is not for the same number of nights, the cancellation policy may apply. Otherwise, there is no fee to transfer.  

65. Once the reservation is paid for, a customer may cancel in full with payment of the required $20 cancellation fee if there 
are more than 30 days before the scheduled arrival date. As long as the reservation is not during the one-week minimum stay 
requirement period, the length of stay may be reduced without a fee as long as there are more than 30 days before the 
scheduled arrival. However, the length of stay cannot be less than two nights. During the 30 days prior to the scheduled 
arrival date, the $20 cancellation fee is charged for each night cancelled or reduced from the stay. Once the official check-in 
time on the scheduled arrival date is reached, the cancellation policy is no longer in effect and the early departure policy 
applies.  

76. Once the 3 p.m. check-in time is reached on the scheduled day of arrival, any adjustment to a reservation is considered an 
early departure. There is a two night minimum charge associated with all cabin stays. Reducing the total nights stayed will 
incur a $20 per night fee. If the original reservation was for a week, the weekly discount will no longer be valid and the fee 
will be adjusted to the nightly rate before any refunds are calculated.  

4VAC5-36-110. Picnic shelters fees.  

PICNIC SHELTERS (TAXABLE)  

Two reservation periods are available per day, per shelter. The shelter rental periods shall be 
from park opening until park closing, unless otherwise specified. 

HALF-DAY FULL-DAY 

DAY 

Standard Small Picnic Shelter Rental Fee: Bear Creek Lake, Belle Isle, Caledon, Chippokes 
Plantation, Claytor Lake (including gazebo), Douthat, Holliday Lake, Hungry Mother (half 
shelter), Lake Anna, Natural Tunnel, New River Trail, Occoneechee, Pocahontas, Smith 
Mountain Lake, Twin Lakes, Westmoreland, York River, and all other small park picnic 
shelters. 

$30 $50 $53 

Standard Large Picnic Shelter Rental Fee: Belle Isle, Chippokes Plantation, Claytor Lake, 
Douthat Fairy Stone, First Landing, Grayson Highlands, Hungry Mother (full shelter), 
James River, Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, Natural Tunnel, Occoneechee, Pocahontas, 
Shenandoah, Smith Mountain Lake (Pavilion), Staunton River, Staunton River Battlefield, 
Twin Lakes, Westmoreland, York River, and all other large park picnic shelters. 

$45 $80 $84 

Shenandoah Large Group Shelter $50 $90 $95 

York River: Plus Package: Fee for use of concession rental equipment and picnic shelter. 

  

Small Shelter: Up to 25 people 
Large Shelter: Up to 40 people 
Each additional person over 25 people for the small shelter and over 40 people for the 
large shelter. 

$90 
$135 
$3.25 

$105 
$160 
$3.25 

Leesylvania Shelter Rental $60 $120 $126 

Leesylvania: Lee’s Landing Picnic Area Rental $30 $55 $58 

Leesylvania: Lee's Landing Picnic Shelter $200 $300 $315 

  With 15 tables and 100 chairs $600 $700 $735 

Mason Neck Picnic Area Rental 

  Without tent shelter $30 $55 $58 

  With tent shelter (seasonably available) $60 $120 $126 

Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter (with kitchen) $100 per 
function 

$100 $105 
per function 
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Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter (without kitchen) $60 per 
function 

$60 $63 per 
function 

Mini-Shelter: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. N/A $20 $21 

Event Tent Rental: Full day in-park rental only. Price includes set up and take down. 

  Standard fee: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. NA $0.38 per 
square foot 

  Chippokes Plantation, Douthat, Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, Pocahontas, Shenandoah River, 
Sky Meadows, Smith Mountain Lake, York River. 

NA $0.45 per 
square foot 

  False Cape, First Landing, Leesylvania, Mason Neck. NA $0.50 per 
square foot 

  Westmoreland: 20' x 40' tent with tables and chairs   $400 per 
day 

  White String Lights for Tent NA $0.80 per 
foot 

  Side Panels for Tent NA $1.50 per 
foot 

Standard Shelter Cancellation Fee: Cancellation fee deducted from refund if refund is made 
more than 14 days prior to the reservation date. No refunds if cancellation made within 14 
days prior to date. Shelter reservation may be transferred without penalty if the change is 
made through the reservations center prior to scheduled use. 

$10 $10 

Notes on shelters:  

1. Full-day shelter rental period shall be from park opening until park closing, for day use, unless otherwise specified.  

2. Morning half-day shelter rental period shall be from park opening until 2 p.m., unless otherwise specified.  

3. Afternoon half-day shelter rental period shall be from 3 p.m. until park closing unless otherwise specified.  

4VAC5-36-120. Amphitheater and gazebo fees.  

AMPHITHEATERS AND GAZEBOS (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax)  
Amphitheater or Gazebo Rental Fee: The amphitheater or gazebo rental periods shall be from 
park opening until park closing unless otherwise specified. 

HALF-
DAY 

FULL-DAY 
DAY 

  Leesylvania, Fairy Stone, Staunton River, Kiptopeke and all other amphitheaters and 
gazebos unless noted below. 

$15 $30 $32 

  Claytor Lake (gazebo), Hungry Mother, Occoneechee, Westmoreland, New River 
Trail, Shenandoah River (overlook). 

$30 $50 $53 

  Smith Mountain Lake, Natural Tunnel (gazebo at Cove Ridge), James River, First 
Landing (gazebo at Chesapeake Bay Center). 

$40 $70 $74 

  York River and Douthat N/A $100 $105 

  Natural Tunnel and First Landing Amphitheaters: Private group or company rate: $150 $300 $315 

  Natural Tunnel and First Landing Amphitheaters: Educational group. $75 $150 $158 

  Natural Tunnel Amphitheater Wedding Package: Three consecutive half-day rental 
periods. 

N/A $400 $420 
per package 
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  First Landing: Courtyard at Chesapeake Bay Center; includes amphitheater and 
gazebo. 

$400 $750 $788 

  First Landing: Additional hourly charge for hours beyond 10 p.m. for gazebo. $10 per 
hour 

$10 $11 per 
hour 

  First Landing: Additional hourly charge for hours beyond 10 p.m. for Courtyard. $50 per 
hour 

$50 $53 per 
hour 

  Fishing Tournament Staging. All parks where available. $25 $25 $26 

  Pocahontas Amphitheater Area: Without Heritage Center. Includes Amphitheater, 
Exhibit Area, Restrooms and use of sound system. 

NA $600 $630 

  Pocahontas Amphitheater Area Plus Heritage Center NA $800 $840  

  Parking Attendant (per attendant). NA $10 $11 per 
hour 

  Law Enforcement Officer (per officer). NA $25 $26 per 
hour 

  Natural Tunnel: Rental of Observation Deck at mouth of tunnel for dinner parties. 
Includes use of chairlift for transportation of guests and supplies and set-up/take-down 
of tables and chairs. 

$300 per 4 
hours 

$300 per 4 
hours  

  Natural Tunnel Amphitheater Concession Building N/A $40 $42 

  Natural Tunnel: Sound System Rental N/A $30 $32 

Stage Cover Rental:   

  Occoneechee $25 $25 $26 

Standard Amphitheater/Gazebo Cancellation Fee: Cancellation fee deducted from refund if 
refund is made more than 14 days prior to the reservation date. No refunds if cancellation 
made within fourteen days prior to date. 

$10 $10 $11 

  All parks unless listed below. $10 $10 $11 

  Pocahontas Amphitheater or First Landing Courtyard $100 $100 $105 

4VAC5-36-130. Boat storage fees.  

BOAT STORAGE (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax)  
Boat Storage Fees FEE 

Standard Annual Boat Storage Fee: Bear Creek Lake, Douthat, Hungry Mother, and all other 
parks where available unless noted below. 

$35 

Leesylvania Boat Storage Fees: Annual Fee (Dec. 1 – Nov. 30). Fee prorated for partial year 
on a months-remaining basis. Fee includes one park/launch pass per storage rental space to 
coincide with the rental period. 

  

  Boat Length Up To 16’ $685 $755 

  Boat Length Up To 17’ $728 $800 

  Boat Length Up To 18’ $771 $850 

  Boat Length Up To 19’ $814 $895 

  Boat Length Up To 20’ $857 $945 
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  Boat Length Up To 21’ $900 $990 

  Boat Length Up To 22’ $942 $1,035 

  Boat Length Up To 23’ $985 $1,085 

  Boat Length Up To 24' $1,050 $1,155 

  Boat Length Up To 25' $1,100 $1,210 

Leesylvania Canoe/Kayak Storage: Renter must possess an annual parking pass $10 per month 

Staunton River Boat Shed Fees: Does not include parking or launching fee, if applicable   

  Nightly Storage $4.00 

  Monthly Storage $15 

  Six-Month Storage $70 

  One-year boat storage $120 without annual 
park/launch pass 

$150 with Buggs Island 
Special pass 

Claytor Lake: Boat Dock Slips: 

FEE PER 
RENTAL 
SEASON 

FEE PER RENTAL 
NIGHT 

  7' wide and under $325 $360 $8.00 $9.00 

  9' wide and under $506 $560 $16 $18 

  14' wide and under $650 $715 $16 $18 

  Extended length slips $550 $605   

4VAC5-36-140. Interpretive canoe, boat, and paddleboat fees.  

INTERPRETIVE CANOE, BOAT, AND PADDLEBOAT PROGRAMS (NONTAXABLE)  
Interpretive Canoe, Boat, and Paddleboat Tours: FEE 

Environmental Education Group Canoe Tour: Available only to bona fide educational 
groups. Requires previous reservation and arrangements. Minimum 4 persons. Mason Neck 
and all other parks where available unless otherwise noted. 

$3.00 per person 

Standard Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: Applies to canoe, rowboat, or 
paddleboat tours. Child riding as third passenger, where allowed, is free.   

  Individuals at all parks unless noted below. $5.00 per person 

  Individuals at Leesylvania, York River, Pocahontas, Kiptopeke. $9.00 per person 

  Individuals at Mason Neck. $10 $15 per person 

  Individuals at Natural Tunnel. $12 per person 

  Individuals at False Cape: Back Bay Interpretive Tour. $16 per person 

  Family Groups at all parks unless noted below. Minimum 4 paying customers. $4.00 per person 

  Family Groups at Leesylvania, Pocahontas, York River, Kiptopeke. Minimum 4 paying 
customers. $6.00 per person 
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  Family Groups at Mason Neck. $7.00 $9.00 per person 

  Group rate at Natural Tunnel (minimum 8 paying customers). $10 per person 

Sunset, Moonlight, Dawn, or Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: Applies 
to canoe, rowboat, or paddleboat tours.   

  All parks where offered unless noted below. $6.00 per person 

  Sunset, Dawn, Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals:  

Leesylvania, York River, New River Trail, Pocahontas. 
Mason Neck. 

$11 per person 
$12 $15 per person 

  Moonlight/Night Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals:  

Leesylvania, York River, Pocahontas. 
Mason Neck. 

$13 per person 
$15 $20 per person 

Sunset, Moonlight, Dawn, or Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: 
Applies to canoe, rowboat, or paddleboat tours. Minimum four paying customers. 

  

  All parks where offered unless otherwise noted. $5.00 per person 

  Sunset, Dawn, or Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups:  

Leesylvania, Pocahontas, New River Trail, York River. Requires 4 or more paying 
customers. 
Mason Neck. 

$7.00 per person 
 
$9.00 $11 per person 

  Moonlight/Night Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: Leesylvania, 
Pocahontas, and York River. Requires 4 or more paying customers. 

$8.00 per person 

  Overnight Canoe Tour: Mason Neck/Leesylvania/Widewater (includes tents and 
dinner). 

$50 $145 per person 

Bear Creek Lake: Willis River Interpretive Canoe Tour   

  Short Trip. $8.00 per person 

  Long Trip. $10 per person 

Natural Tunnel Clinch River:   

  Half-Day Trip Group Rate. Requires 8 or more paying customers. $12 per person 

  Full-Day Trip. Group Rate. Requires 8 or more paying customers. $20 per person 

  Half-Day Trip. Individuals. $15 per person 

  Full-Day Trip. Individuals. $25 per person 

  Overnight Trip. Individuals. $45 per person 

  Short Trip. Clinchport to Copper Creek $7.00 per person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Solo Kayak: Westmoreland and other parks where available. $16 per person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Tandem Kayak: Westmoreland and other parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. 

$22 per kayak 

Mason Neck Interpretive Kayak Tours (solo or tandem kayaks):   

  Standard 2-hour tour $20 per person 

  Extended 4-hour tour $30 per person 
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  All day kayak adventure $50 per person 

Interpretive Pontoon Boat Tour: All parks where available. $2.00 (Age 3 through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Lake Excursion and Ecology Tour: All parks where available unless otherwise noted (limit 6 
people per tour) 

$10 per person 

  Claytor Lake $15 (Age 13 and over)$10 
(Age 3 through 12) 

  Rental of Entire Boat (Exclusive Use) Claytor Lake and other parks where available $60 per tour 

Note on Interpretive Canoe, Boat, and Paddleboat Programs:  

Cancellation Policy for group reservations: Guest must cancel four days prior to the tour date in order to receive a refund. 
Any guest canceling less than four days before the start of the reservation will not be eligible for a refund. A one-time $10 
cancellation fee will apply per reservation regardless of number of boats reserved. In the event of inclement weather where 
the park must cancel, the guest will be offered either a complete refund or reservation transfer to another date.  

4VAC5-36-150. Interpretive and educational tours and program fees.  

INTERPRETIVE AND EDUCATIONAL TOURS AND PROGRAMS (NONTAXABLE)  
Interpretive and Educational Tours and Programs 

PARK PROGRAM FEE 

Standard Interpretive Program: (Fee does not 
apply to informational programs such as 
campfire programs or roving interpretation). 

$2.00 per person 
$6.00 per family 

Standard Night Hike or Evening Program $3.00 per person 
$8.00 per family 

Standard Wagon Ride Program $3.00 per person 
$8.00 per family 
$25 exclusive group 

Extended or Special Event Wagon Ride 
Program 

$4.00 per person 
$10 per family 
$75 exclusive group booking 

Park Outreach Program: Price per park staff 
member conducting program 

$10 for under 2 hours 
$25 for 2 to 3 hours 
$50 for 4 hours plus 

Standard Junior Ranger Program: 4-day 
program. All parks unless noted below. 

$10 full program 
$3.00 per day 

All parks unless 
otherwise noted: 

Haunted Hike $1.00 (Age 3 through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Individual interpretive program pass: (Allows 
admission for one person to 4 interpretive 
programs valued at $3.00 or less) 

$6.00 per pass Occoneechee 

Family interpretive program pass: (Allows 
admission for members of the same family to 4 
interpretive programs valued at $8.00 or less) 

$18 per pass 
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Nature Camps $50 per 3-hour day for one week 
$100 per 6-hour day for one week 

Curious Kids $3.00 per program 

Pocahontas 

Nature and Discovery Programs 
(School/Groups Outreach) 

$40 per hour at park 
$60 per 1 and one-half hours at park 
$80 per 2 hours at park 
$50 per hour at school 
$70 per 1 and one-half hours at school 
$90 per 2 hours at school 
$15 additional if over 30 miles from park 

Music Program $5.00 per person Sky Meadows 

A Day in Wildflower Woods $8.00 per person 

  
Interpretive Program Series: 6-program series $15 per person per program 

$54 per person per 4 programs 
$72 per person per 6 programs 

How Our Ancestors Lived (9-week children’s 
series) 

$10 per person for entire series 
$2.00 per person for individual program 

Workshop (Adult) $10 per person 

Southwest Virginia 
Museum 

Workshop (Children) $5.00 per person 

Caledon Eagle Tours $6.00 per person 
$50 Flat Rate (minimum: 10; maximum: 20) 

All Group Programs up to 2 hours long $5.00 per person 

Haunted Hay Ride $12 per person 

Caledon Junior Ranger Program  $15 per person 

Caledon 

Special Program Bus Fee: Programs involving 
transportation within the natural area. 

$3.00 per person 

  Workshop (Adult) $15 per person 

  Workshop (Children) $5.00 per person 

Guided Programs $25 per program (Maximum 30 participants) 
$25 facility fee (If applicable) 

Environmental Education (Children’s 
Activities) 

$25 per program (Maximum 30 participants) 
$25 facility fee (If applicable) 

3 or More Activities $15 per program 
$25 facility fee (If applicable) 

Environmental Education (Adult Facilitation) $15 per person 

Natural Tunnel: 
Cove Ridge 

Field Trips Per program charge with use of center; chairlift 
passes, if required for program, included in cost 

Hungry Mother/ 
Hemlock Haven 

Junior Naturalist Program $4.00 per person per week 
$12 unlimited participation in interpretive 
season 

Kiptopeke Birding Program (Hawk observatory/bird 
banding station) 

$4.00 per person 
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Birding Program (Group Rates) $35 (Corporate) 
$25 (Nonprofit) 

Guided Adventure Programs $4.00 per person 
$40 per group (Minimum 12 persons) 

York River Children’s Programs $2.00 per person, single program 
$10 unlimited participation throughout 
Interpretive Season 

York River 

"Nature Party": Nature Themed Birthday Party 
for Children 

$10 per person 

Westmoreland Guided Program Fee $25 per person 

Junior Ranger Program (Includes T-Shirt) $35 per person 

Standard Wagon Ride Program $50 Exclusive Group Reservation 

Ranger Led Programs – Groups $3.00 per person 

Hay Wagon and Hot Dog Roast $10 per person 

Bike Tours - 2 hours $10 per person 

Extended Bike Tours - 4 hours $15 per person 

Canoe and Bike Tour - 4 hours $20 per person 

Halloween Haunted House/Hay Wagon Ride $5.00 per person  
$3.00 (Age 3 through 12) 
$5.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Mason Neck, 
Natural Tunnel 

Canoe/Hay Wagon Ride $12 (Age 3 through 12) 
$15 (Age 13 and over) 

Mason Neck Halloween Haunted House/Hay Wagon Ride $5.00 per person 

  Junior Ranger Program $50 per person 

Field Archaeology Workshop $25 per person Holliday Lake 

Junior Ranger Program (3 half-day workshop) 
(Ages 6 to 13) 

$25 per child 

False Cape Wildlife Watch Tour – Per Person $6.00 $8.00 per person 

  Astronomy Program $10 per person 

Junior Ranger Program $4.00 per session 

Interpretive Craft $2.00 per person 

Down A Lazy River Guided Canoe Trip $6.00 per child 
$8.00 per adult 

Staunton River 

Hayride $1.00 per person 

Junior Ranger Program $25 per person First Landing 

Kritter Kids $25 per person 

Bear Creek Lake Interpretive bike tours $3.00 per person 

Leesylvania Junior Ranger Program $35 $45 per person 
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Halloween Haunted Hike $2.00 per person 
$6.00 per group (4 person maximum) 

Interpretive Programs $2.00 per person 

Kids Fishing Tournament $2.00 per child 

Pannel Cave Tour $10 per person 
$7.00 per person (Family-Group; 8-person 
minimum) 

Bolling Cave Tours $15 per person 
$12 per person (Family-Group; 8-person 
minimum) 

Natural Tunnel 

Stock Creek Tunnel Tour $5.00 per person 

Westmoreland Orienteering Program $3.00 per person 
$25 per group (20 maximum) 

New River Trail Seniors Van Tour Full Day $25 per person New River Trail 

New River Trail Seniors Van Tour Half Day $15 per person 

James River Haunted Wagon Ride $5.00 per person (Age 7 and over) 
Children 6 and under free 

Belle Isle Triple Treat Program: 
Hayride/Canoe/Campfire 

$10 per person 

Notes on interpretive and educational tours and programs:  

Additional costs for supplies and materials may apply.  

4VAC5-36-200. Miscellaneous rental fees.  

RENTALS (TAXABLE; Price here does not include tax)  
Bike Rentals (includes helmet) FEE 

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted  $3.00 per hour 
$8.00 per half-day 
$15 per full-day 

  Claytor Lake $4.00 per hour 
$25 per day 

  New River Trail, James River, Mason Neck $5.00 per hour 
$12 per half-day 
$18 per day 

  First Landing $5.00 per hour 
$16 per day 

Bike Helmet without bike rental $1.00 

Child Cart for bike $5.00 

Boat Rentals   

Standard Paddle Boat Rental:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted  $4.00 per half-hour 
$6.00 per hour 
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  Fairy Stone $8.00 per hour 

  Smith Mountain Lake: Paddleboat $10 per half-hour 
$15 per one hour 
$60 for 24 hours 
$30 additional for each day after first day 

Standard Canoe Rental:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $8.00 per hour 
$15 per half-day 
$25 per full-day 
$40 for 24 hours 
$100 per week 

  Smith Mountain Lake $8.00 per half-hour 
$12 per one hour 
$60 for 24 hours 
$30 additional for each day after first day 

  Claytor Lake $8 per hour 
$25 per half-day 
$40 per day 
$50 per 24 hours 

  Leesylvania, Mason Neck $7.00 per half-hour 

$12 per hour 
$35 per half-day 
$50 per day 
$60 per 24 hours 

  James River $10 per hour (does not include shuttle) 
$40 per day (does not include shuttle) 
$120 per week (does not include shuttle) 
$12 per half hour past return time 

Standard Float Trips:   

  Shenandoah River $5.00 per person 

  James River   

    Bent Creek to Canoe Landing:   

    Canoe $45 Max 3 people 

    Single Kayak $35 per kayak 

    Double Kayak $45 per kayak 

    Canoe Landing to Dixon Landing:   

    Tubes $10 per tube 

    Group of four or more $8.00 per tube 

    Canoe $15 per canoe 

    Single Kayak $15 per kayak 

    Double Kayak $15 per kayak 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 26, 2007 

664 

    Bent Creek to Dixon Landing:   

    Canoe $50 per canoe 

    Single Kayak $40 per kayak 

    Double Kayak $50 per kayak 

    Shuttle Service Only:   

    Bent Creek Shuttle $5.00 per boat (canoe/kayak) 
$5.00 per person 

    Tubes $5.00 per person/Bent Creek Shuttle 
$2.00 between landings in park 

    Late Fee $12 per half hour past return time 

  New River Trail $7.00 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per day 
$35 per half-day, includes canoe rental and 
shuttle 
$50 per full day, includes canoe rental and 
shuttle 

  Canoe Rental (includes shuttle)   

    Trip A: Austinville to Foster Falls $35 per canoe 

    Trip B: Ivanhoe to Austinville $45 per canoe 

    Trip C: Ivanhoe to Foster Falls $50 per canoe 

    Trip D: Foster Falls to Route 100 $45 per canoe 

    Trip E: Route 100 to Allisonia $50 per canoe 

    Trip F: Foster Falls to Allisonia $55 per canoe 

  Kayak Rental (includes shuttle)   

    Trip A: Austinville to Foster Falls $25 per kayak 

    Trip B: Ivanhoe to Austinville $35 per kayak 

    Trip C: Ivanhoe to Foster Falls $40 per kayak 

    Trip D: Foster Falls to Route 100 $35 per kayak 

    Trip E: Route 100 to Allisonia $40 per kayak 

    Trip F: Foster Falls to Allisonia $45 per kayak 

Standard Rowboat Rental, without motor:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted $6.00 per hour 
$12 per half-day 
$22 per full-day 
$36 per 24 hours 
$80 per week 

  Hungry Mother: Rowboats $4.00 per hour 
$15 per day 
$40 per week 
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  New River Trail: Rafts and flat-bottom boats $7.00 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per day 

Standard Rowboat Rental with electric motor and battery: All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted 

$10 per hour 
$20 per 4 hours 
$36 per day 
$100 per 4 days 
$150 per week 

Standard Motorboat Rental, 16-foot console steering, 25-45 horsepower 
outboard. All parks where available. 

$18 per hour 
$90 per day 

Standard Fishing Boat Rental with gasoline motor and one tank of fuel: 
All parks where available. 

$10 per hour (2-hour minimum) 
$50 per day 

Pedal Craft Rental: (Hydro-Bike, Surf-Bike, etc.) All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

  

  One person. $6.00 $8.00 per hour 

  Two person. $8.00 $10 per hour 

  Smith Mountain Lake: Hydro Bike  $8.00 per half hour 
$12 per hour 
$4.00 additional per hour after first hour 
$60 per 24 hours 
$30 additional per day after first day 

  Barracuda Boat. All parks where available $10 per hour 

Solo Kayak Rental:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted  $8.00 per hour 
$15 per half-day 
$25 per full-day 
$40 for 24 hours 
$100 per week 

  Smith Mountain Lake $8.00 per half hour 
$12 per hour 
$60 per 24 hours 
$30 additional per day after first day 

  Mason Neck $6.00 per half-hour 

$10 per hour 
$35 per half-day 
$50 per day 

$60 per 24 hours 

  New River Trail $7.00 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per day 

  James River $7.00 per hour (does not include shuttle) 
$20 per day (does not include shuttle) 
$80 per week (does not include shuttle) 
$12 per half hour past return time 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 26, 2007 

666 

Tandem Kayak Rental:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $10 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per full-day 
$45 for 24 hours 
$120 per week 

  James River $10 per hour (does not include shuttle) 
$35 per day (does not include shuttle) 
$120 per week (does not include shuttle) 
$12 per half hour past return time 

  Mason Neck $8.00 per half-hour 
$15 per hour 
$45 per 4 hours 
$60 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake: 14-foot fishing boat with 5 hp (3 person capacity). 
Rental does not include fuel and oil. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$50 for 3-hours 
$10 additional per hour after first 3 hours 
$150 for 24 hours 
$30 additional per day after first day 

Claytor Lake: 14-foot Jon boat with 8 hp motor 
Damage deposit of $40 required 

$15 per hour 
$45 per half-day 
$65 per day 
$78 per 24 hours 

Claytor Lake: 14.5-foot fishing boat with 9.9 hp motor 
Damage deposit of $40 required 

$17 per hour 
$50 per half-day 
$75 per day 
$90 per 24 hours 

Claytor Lake: 14-foot v-hull boat with 25 hp motor 
Damage deposit of $75 required 

$25 per hour 
$65 per half-day 
$100 per day 
$120 per 24 hours 

Claytor Lake: 17-foot v-hull with 140 hp motor 
Damage deposit of $150 required 

$45 per hour 
$110 per half-day 
$175 per day 
$210 per 24 hours 

Claytor Lake: 21-foot pontoon boat with 50 hp motor. 
Damage deposit of $150 required 

$45 per hour 
$110 per half-day 
$175 per day 
$210 per 24 hours 

Claytor Lake: 20-foot bowrider. 
Damage deposit of $150 required 

$60 per hour 
$135 per half day 
$210 per day 

Claytor Lake: Water Sports Pontoon and Equipment Package: Includes 24-
foot pontoon boat, 2 kayaks, tubing, and ski vests. 

$300 per day 

Claytor Lake: Water Sports Speed Boat and Equipment Package: Includes 
17-foot bowrider, water skis, kneeboard, towrope, ski ropes, and ski vests. 

$250 per day 
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Occoneechee: 17-1/2-foot fishing boat. Rental includes 30 gallons of fuel. 
Damage deposit of $200 required 

$85 per hour 
$20 additional per hour after first hour 
$175 per 8 hours 
$875 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 20-foot pontoon boat with motor (8 person capacity) Rental 
includes 30 gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$85 per hour 
$20 additional per hour after first hour 
$175 per 8 hours 
$875 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 22-foot pontoon boat with motor (10 person capacity) 
Rental includes 30 gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$95 per hour 
$20 additional per hour after first hour 
$185 per 8 hours 
$925 per 7 day week 

Smith Mountain Lake: 18-20-foot Runabout with 190 hp (8 person 
capacity). Rental does not include fuel and oil. Damage deposit of $200 
required. 

$150 for 3 hours 
$20 additional per hour after first 3 hours 
$240 per 8 hours 
$305 for 24 hours 
$100 additional per day after first day 

Claytor Lake: 18-foot pontoon boat (7 person capacity) 
Damage deposit of $100 required 

$35 per hour 
 $95 per 4 hours 
 $160 per 8 hours 
 $192 per 24 hours 

Claytor Lake: 22-foot pontoon boat (11 person capacity) 
Damage deposit of $150 required 

$55 per hour 
$125 per 4 hours 
$200 per 8 hours 
$240 per 24 hours 

Smith Mountain Lake: 24-foot pontoon boat with 40 hp (10-12 person 
capacity). 

$80 for 3 hours 
$20 additional per hour after first 3 hours 
$160 per 8 hours 
$200 for 24 hours 
$80 additional each day after first day 

Smith Mountain Lake: Personal Watercraft (Waverunner 700). Rental does 
not include fuel and oil. Damage deposit of $500 required. 

$150 for 3 hours 
$20 additional per hour after first 3 hours 
$240 per 8 hours 
$305 for 24 hours 
$100 additional per day after first day 

Belle Isle: Motorboat less than 25 horsepower (6 gallons of fuel included, 
2 hour minimum) 

$15 per hour 
$90 per day 

Belle Isle: Motorboat 25-49 horsepower (11 gallons of fuel included, 2 
hour minimum) 

$22 per hour 
$110 per day 

Standard Damage/Replacement Fees: All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. Not required for damage due to normal wear and tear. 

  

  Paddle $20 

  Anchor/Rope $40 

  Fuel Tank/Hose $60 

  Fire Extinguisher $25 
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  Throw Cushion $10 

  Propeller (small) $100 

  Propeller (large) $135 

Other Rentals:   

Personal Flotation Device (PFD): When separate from boat rental. $1.00 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake, James River: Personal Floatation Device, type II. $5.00 for first day 
$1.00 additional days 

Smith Mountain Lake: Personal Floatation Device, type III $7.00 for first day 
$2.00 additional days 

Canoe/Kayak Paddles: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $5.00 per day 

New River Trail: Float Tubes $10 per day 

James River:   

  Cooler Tubes $3.00 per day 

  Seat Backs (kayaks) $3.00 per day 

  Tubes $8.00 per hour (does not include shuttle) 
$20 per day (does not include shuttle) 
$12 per half hour past return time 

Claytor Lake: 2-person tow tube and towrope (with rental of boat only) $20 per 2 hours 
$25 per half-day 
$30 per day 

Claytor Lake: Water skis and towrope (with rental of boat only) $20 per 2 hours 
$25 per half-day 
$30 per day 

Claytor Lake: Kneeboard and towrope (with rental of boat only) $15 per 2 hours 
$20 per half-day 
$25 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake: Tow tube; Water Skis; Knee Board $15 per day with boat rental 
$25 per day without boat rental 

Smith Mountain Lake: Wake Board $25 per day with boat rental 
$30 per day without boat rental 

Mobile Pig Cooker: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $40 per day 

Volleyball Net and Ball Rental: All parks where available. $10 

Binocular Rentals (2 hours): All parks where available. $2.00 

Beach Floats: All parks where available. $1.00 per hour 
$3.00 for 4-hours 
$5.00 for full-day 

Surf Lounge Floating Chair Rental. All parks where available. $2.00 per hour, single chair 
$5.00 per half-day, single chair 
$7.00 per full day, single chair 
$3.00 per hour, double chair 
$7.00 per half-day, double chair 
$10 per full day, double chair 
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Body Board: First Landing $6.00 per day 

Beach Umbrella: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $3.00 per hour 
$8.00 for 4 hours 
$15 for full-day 

  First Landing $6.00 per day 

  Kiptopeke $5.00 per 4 hours 
$8.00 per 8 hours 

Beach Chair: All parks where available $5.00 per day 

  First Landing $6.00 per day 

Fishing Rods: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $5.00 per half-day 

  First Landing $6.00 per day 
$3.00 per rod per fishing program 

Tents with a group camp reservation. All parks where available.   

  2-person tent  $12 per day 

  3-person tent $20 per day 

  4-person tent $25 per day 

  5-person tent $30 per day 

Coin-Operated Washing Machine: All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. 

$1.25 per load, tax included 

Coin Operated Dryer: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $1.25 per load, tax included 

6-Foot Table (Includes 6 chairs) 
Additional chairs: 

$20 per rental period 
$3.00 each per rental period 

Pump Out: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $5.00 

Horse Rentals:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $20 per one-hour ride 
$40 per two-hour ride 
$100 per full day ride 

  Sky Meadows $30 per one-hour ride 
$55 per two-hour ride 
$45 per 1.5-hour theme ride 
$10 pony rides, includes photo 
$250 per week, day camp (10% family 
discount) 

Pony Rides: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $5.00 per 15 minutes 

Horseback Riding Lessons: All parks where available unless otherwise 
noted. 

$25 per lesson on group basis 
$30 per lesson for individual 

Horseback Summer Day Camp: All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. 

$180 per person per week 
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Horseshoe or Croquet Rental for Campers. All parks where available. $1.00 per hour 
$5.00 per day 
$20 deposit 

4VAC5-36-210. Conference center and meeting facility fees.  

CONFERENCE CENTERS (TAXABLE)  
Prices may be discounted and/or waived by the director when necessary to 
create competitive bids for group sales. FEE 

Hemlock Haven Conference Center at Hungry Mother   

  Main Hall (Capacity: 375) $250 $263 per day 

  Upper Level (Capacity: 50) $150 $158 per day 

  Redbud Room: (Capacity 35) $50 $53 per day 

  Laurel Room (Capacity: 20) $35 $37 per day 

  Entire Meeting Room Complex $400 $420 per day 

  Day Use Recreational Package (Includes all outside recreational 
facilities) 

  

    0 – 250 Persons $250 $263 per half-day 
$500 $525 per full-day 

    250 – 500 Persons $375 $394 per half-day 
$750 $788 per full-day 

    500 + persons $500 $525 per half-day 
$1,000 $1,050 per full-day 

Cedar Crest Conference Center at Twin Lakes   

  Complex: Doswell Hall with deck, grounds, volleyball, horseshoes; 
Kitchen, Latham and Hurt Rooms NOT included. 

$218 $229 per 4 hours 
$437 $459 per day 
$50 $53 each extra hour 

  Doswell Meeting Room: Meeting Room Only; no kitchen or dining 
room. 

$156 $164 per room per 4 hours 
$312 $328 per room per day 
$35 $37 each extra hour 

  Small breakout rooms with main room: Latham and Hurt. $62 $65 per room per 4 hours 
$125 $131 per room per day 
$20 $21 each extra hour 

  Small breakout rooms without main room. $93 $98 per room per 4 hours 
$187 $196 per room per day 
$35 $37 each extra hour 

  Picnic Shelter or Gazebo at Cedar Crest. $65 $68 per 4 hours 
$125 $131 per day 
$10 $11 each extra hour 

  Kitchen rental Only available with complex rental. $100 $105 per event 

  Kitchen Cleaning Fee: Deposit. $150 per event 

Chippokes Plantation Meeting, Conference, and Special Use Facilities   

  Mansion Conference Room. $25 $26 per hour 
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  Mansion or Historic Area Grounds (Includes parking for party rental). $500 $525 per 4 hours 

  Mansion Board Room $100 $105 per 4 hours 

  Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter (Available on reservation 
basis only). 

$100 $105 per 4 hours 

  Wedding Package (includes historic area grounds, gardens, tent set up 
and take down, 10 60-inch round tables, 10 standard size rectangle 
tables, 100 folding chairs, Wedding Coordinator, changing room for 
bride and groom, Mansion kitchen area, boardroom, no fee for 
wedding rehearsal). 

$1,345 $1,412 per 4 hours 
$1,975 $2,073 per 8 hours 
$50 nonrefundable reservation fee 

Southwest Virginia Museum – Victorian Parlor Room Rental (Based on 4-
hour rental) DAY EVENING 

  Option #1: Victorian Parlor – Basic Room Package (Includes tables 
with linen and chairs) 

  

    Up to 22 People (6 tables – 22 chairs) $30 $31  $55 $57 

    23 to 30 People (8 tables – 30 chairs) OR Up to 50 people (50 
chairs and head table) 

$40 $42 $65 $68 

  Option #2: Victorian Parlor – Executive Room Package (Includes 
tables with linen and chairs, water pitcher with glasses, coffeepot with 
cups (coffee not included), AV equipment, and presentation aids) 

  

    Up to 22 People (6 tables – 22 chairs) $50 $52 $75 $78 

    23 to 30 People (8 tables – 30 chairs) OR Up to 50 people (50 
chairs and head table) 

$65 $68 $90 $94 

  Option #3: Additional meeting rooms: Victorian Parlor must be rented 
in order to rent additional rooms.  

  

    Hallway (downstairs) (Includes two existing tables with linens) $10 $11 $10 $11 

    Each Additional Table with Linens $10 $11 $10 $11 

    Small Parlor: AV room or Big Stone Gap Photo room (Includes 1 
table with linens and 6-8 chairs) 

$30 $31 $30 $31 

    Big Stone Gap Development Room (Includes 1 table with linens 
and 6-8 chairs) 

$40 $41 $40 $41 

    Additional Hours $5.00 per hour $5.00 per hour 

    Wedding Portraits $50 $52 per 2 hours $75 $78 per 2 hours 

Wilderness Road (Mansion and Ground Rental)   

  Mansion or Lawn: separately $60 $63 for 4 hours 

  Mansion and Lawn: combined $100 $105 for 4 hours 

  Additional hours beyond scheduled operating hours $10 $11 per hour 

Cove Ridge Center at Natural Tunnel:  PRIVATE FEE 
EDUCATIONAL 
FEE 
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  Cove Ridge Center Annual Membership: Membership entitles 
organization to a 25% discount on facility rental fees and group rates on 
all programming offered through the center. 

$1,000 $1,050 per 
year 

$500 $525 per year 

  Day Use: Exclusive use of the auditorium, meeting room, resource 
library, catering kitchen, great room with stone fireplace and deck for 
two consecutive half-day rental periods, and parking passes. 

$300 $315 $200 $210 

  Overnight Use of one dorm: Includes Day Use Package plus one dorm 
rooms for one night and swimming (in season). 

$650 $683 $475 $498 

  Overnight Use of both dorms: Includes Day Use Package plus two dorm 
rooms for one night and swimming (in season). 

$850 $892 $625 $656 

  Wedding Package Day Use: Exclusive use of the auditorium, meeting 
room, resource library, catering kitchen, great room with stone fireplace 
and deck for three consecutive half-day rental periods, and parking 
passes. 

$500 $525 NA 

  Wedding Package Overnight: Includes Day Use Package plus one dorm 
for one night and swimming (in season). 

$875 $919 NA 

  Wedding Package Overnight: Includes Day Use Package plus both 
dorms for one night and swimming (in season). 

$1,050 $1,102 NA 

  Wedding Package with Amphitheater: Rental of the park amphitheater in 
conjunction with any of the above wedding packages. 

$225 $236 for the 
rental period 

NA 

  Removal of furniture from great room (only available with exclusive use 
of the center). 

$40 $42 $40 $42 

  Additional seating on deck (only available with exclusive use of the 
center). 

$40 $42 $0 

  Auditorium $120 $126 per half 
day 
$220 $231 per full 
day 

$95 $99 per half day 
$175 $183 per full 
day 

  Classroom – Library (half-day) $60 $63 $30 $31 

  One dorm: Overnight lodging for up to 30, includes swimming (in 
season) and parking passes. 

$400 $420 per 
night 
April 1-October 31 
$360 $378 per 
night 
November 1-March 
31 

$300 $315 per night 
April 1-October 31 
$270 $283 per night 
November 1-March 
31 

  Both Dorms: Overnight lodging for up to 60, includes swimming (in 
season) and parking passes. 

$600 $630 per 
night April 1-
October 31 
$540 $567 per 
night November 1-
March 31 

$450 $472 per night 
April 1-October 31 
$405 $425 per night 
November 1-March 
31 

  Per Person Student Rate for Overnight Dorm Use $12.50 $13 per 
person 

$12.50 $13 per 
person 

  Kitchen Use (when not included in package) $25 $26 per event $25 $26 per event 
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Heritage Center at Pocahontas: All reservations require 50% down at time of 
reservation (Nonrefundable within 14 days of event) PRIVATE FEE 

EDUCATIONAL 
FEE 

  Large Room (Capacity: seated at tables 50; reception style 125, 
auditorium 80: includes tables, chairs and warming kitchen) 

$125 $131 per 4 
hours 
$225 $236 per full-
day 
$25 $26 each extra 
hour 

$75 $78 per 4 hours 
$135 $141 per full-
day 
$15 each extra hour 

Westmoreland FEE 

  Tayloe and Helen Murphy Hall Meeting Facility: Includes Main 
Meeting Room, Kitchen, and Grounds 

$125 (Up to 6 hours) 
$225 $350 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 
$315 additional rental days after first day 
$25 per hour for usage beyond reservation 
period 

  Breakout Meeting Room (May be rented separately from main 
meeting room only within 45 days of event. 

$75 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

  Kitchen Clean Up Fee:  (Waived if renter cleans facility) $250 per event 

  Wedding Package - Includes half-day rental for wedding rehearsal, 
and a full-day rental for wedding/reception 

$300 

  Potomac River Retreat: Table and Chair Set-up $40 

Fairy Stone   

  Fayerdale Hall Meeting Facility $225 $236 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

  Wedding Package - Includes full-day rental for wedding rehearsal, and 
a full-day rental for wedding/reception. 

$300 $315 

Douthat   

  Restaurant (includes table set-up) $225 $236 

  Allegheny Room: Up to 30 persons. $150 $158 per day 

  Wedding Package: Conference room and amphitheater (see 
"amphitheater section") on day of wedding, plus an extra half-day 
amphitheater for rehearsal. 

$275 $289 

First Landing   

  Trail Center Conference Room (Capacity: 45) $40 $42 per half-day 
$60 $63 per full-day 

Lake Anna   

  Visitor Center $30 $32 per half-day 
$50 $53 per full day 

  Concessions Building Rental $100 per day 

Bear Creek Lake   

  Meeting facility $225 $236 per day 
$125 per four hours 
$25 each extra hour 
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  Wedding Package $300 $315 per day 

Claytor Lake   

  Marina Meeting Facility $350 $400 per day 

  Wedding Package: Includes rental of facility for two consecutive days 
(8 a.m. to 10 p.m.), chairs and tables. Linens are not included in the 
rental package. 

$650 $700  

  Meeting Package: Includes rental of facility for three consecutive days 
(8 a.m. to 10 p.m.), all usage of audiovisual equipment. Linens are not 
included in the rental package. 

$950 $1,000 

Leesylvania Wedding/Function Package: Includes Rental of: Lee's Landing 
Picnic Shelter, 100 Chairs, 15 Tables, and Parking for up to 50 vehicles 

$800 $840 per half-day 
$900 $945 per full-day 

Mason Neck   

  Wedding Package: 20 foot by 40 foot tent, 100 chairs, parking for up 
to 50 cars  

$750 $788 per event 

  Parking Attendant $50 $53 per 4 hours 

Smith Mountain Lake   

  Meeting room at Visitor Center $150 $158 per day 

  Exceeding approved hours. All parks unless otherwise noted below. $20 $25 per hour 

Sky Meadows   

  Timberlake House Meeting Room $50 per half-day 
$75 per day 

  Timberlake House Kitchen (in conjunction with rental of meeting room) $25 per day or part of day 

Equipment and Services Associated with Meetings and Rentals:   

  Microphone/Podium Rental $15 per day 

  Linen Rentals:   

    Table cloth only 
Place settings 

$3.00 per table 
$2.00 each 

  Twin Lakes   

    Overlay $1.25 per table 

    Napkins $0.40 per napkin 

  Fax First 2 pages free 
$2.00 each extra page 

  Copies Single copy free 
$0.15 each extra copy 

  Lost Key Fee $10 

  Easels $5.00 per day 

  Overhead Projector $10 per day 

  TV with VCR $10 
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  Second TV $10 

  Overhead Projector with Screen $10 

  Slide Projector with Screen $10 

  Flip Chart $10 

Event Clean Up Fees   

  Park labor to clean up after special events and facility rentals if not 
done in accordance with rental agreement or use permit  

$50 per hour 

Notes on conference and meeting facilities fees:  

Conference and meeting facilities require a 30% prepayment due 10 days after making reservation, and payment of the full 
balance prior to or on the first day of the reservation. Cancellations made 14 or more days prior to the first day of the 
reservation shall be charged the lesser of 10% of the total fee or $100. Cancellations made less that 14 days prior to the first 
date of the reservation shall be charged 30% of the total fee.  

4VAC5-36-220. Administrative and processing fees.  

Returned Check Fee $35 

Special Use Application Fee: Special use Permits, issued by the park, are required 
for special events, collecting permits, and unusual usage of the park that may 
interfere with other park visitors, place special demands on park resources, or create 
unusual risk. The fee is nonrefundable. 

$10 

Replacement fee for annual pass: no replacement fee required for Golden Disability 
Pass. 

$10 

Handicapped Disabled Visitor Motorized Vehicle Annual Pass Processing Fee: New 
River Trail. Applies to specially permitted handicapped disabled vehicles and 
transportation devices allowed within the park. Fifteen dollars of the processing fee 
is refundable if permit is denied. 

$25 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1004; Filed November 6, 2007, 2:43 p.m.  
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BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to subdivision A 3 of §2.2-4002 of the Code of 
Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 
management of wildlife. The board is required by §2.2-4031 
of the Code of Virginia to publish all proposed and final 
wildlife management regulations, including length of seasons 
and bag limits allowed on the wildlife resources within the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-200. Game: Rabbit and Hares 
(amending 4VAC15-200-10). 

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 26, 2007.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or email 
phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment changes the closing date of the rabbit 
season from February 14 to the last day in February, 
statewide. 

4VAC15-200-10. Open season; generally. 

Except as otherwise specifically provided by the sections 
appearing in this chapter, it shall be lawful to hunt rabbit from 
the Saturday prior to the first Monday in November through 
the last day in February 14, both dates inclusive. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-806; Filed October 25, 2007, 3:39 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-270. Game: Firearms 
(amending 4VAC15-270-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 804-367-8341 or email 
phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment is to (i) allow licensed trappers to shoot a 
.22 caliber rimfire firearm on or over public waters for the 
purpose of dispatching trapped animals, and (ii) authorize 
department personnel to carry and shoot rifles and pistols 

while conducting wildlife management activities on public 
waters. 

4VAC15-270-40. Shooting or carrying rifle or pistol over 
public inland waters.  

It shall be unlawful to shoot a rifle or pistol at wild birds or 
animals on or over the public inland waters of this 
Commonwealth; provided, however that licensed trappers 
may shoot a .22 caliber rimfire rifle or pistol on or over public 
inland waters for the purpose of dispatching a trapped 
animal.  It shall be unlawful to carry a loaded rifle or pistol on 
a boat or other floating device on the public inland waters for 
the purpose of hunting wild birds and wild animals; provided, 
however, that unloaded rifles or pistols may be transported by 
boat from one point to another. Nothing in this regulation 
applies to department personnel conducting wildlife 
management activities on the public waters of the 
Commonwealth. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-810; Filed October 25, 2007, 3:43 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-270. Game: Firearms (adding 
4VAC15-270-80). 

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 26, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or email 
phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment (i) allows the use of shotguns without a 
restriction on the number of shells in the magazine and 
chamber combined for the hunting of nonmigratory game, 
and (ii) authorizes the director to remove the three shell 
limitation in shotguns when hunting migratory game birds 
if allowed by federal regulation. 

4VAC15-270-80. Shotgun shell capacity for nonmigratory 
game and migratory game birds. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt nonmigratory game with 
unplugged shotguns. 

B. It shall be unlawful to hunt migratory game birds with a 
shotgun capable of holding more than three shells in the 
magazine and chamber combined, unless otherwise 
authorized by the director and consistent with applicable 
federal regulations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-810; Filed October 25, 2007, 3:42 p.m. 
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Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-270. Game: Firearms (adding 
4VAC15-270-90). 

Statutory Authority: §§29.1-103, 29.1-501, 29.1-502, and 
29.1-528 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 804-367-8341 or email 
phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment fulfills the requirement of Chapter 642 of 
the 2007 Acts of Assembly and §29.1-528 A of the Code of 
Virginia by promulgating model local government 
ordinances for hunting with firearms. The model 
ordinances address such matters as the caliber of the 
firearm, the type of firearm, and the type of ammunition 
used when hunting within a locality; individual Virginia 
county or city governments subsequently would have the 
option of adopting or not adopting one or more such model 
local government ordinances. The amendment would not 
enact the model local government ordinances either 
statewide or within specific localities; rather, the 
applicability of one or more model ordinance in any 
Virginia locality would be dependent on the respective 
individual county or city governments subsequently 
adopting such model ordinance or ordinances. 

4VAC15-270-90. Model ordinances related to hunting 
with firearms for counties and cities. 

Per the provisions of §29.1-528 A of the Code of Virginia, 
the following model ordinances related to hunting with 
firearms may be adopted by counties and cities. In accordance 
with §29.1-528 B of the Code of Virginia, no such ordinance 
shall be enforceable unless the governing body of the locality 
notifies the director by registered mail prior to May 1 of the 
year in which the ordinance is to take effect. 

Model Ordinance 1:  

It shall be unlawful to hunt with a rifle larger than .22 
caliber rim fire. 

Any person who violates the provisions of this ordinance 
shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. 

Model Ordinance 2: 

It shall be unlawful to hunt with a rifle larger than .22 
caliber rim fire, except rifles of a larger caliber may be used 
for hunting groundhogs between March 1 – August 31. Any 
person who violates the provisions of this ordinance shall be 
guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. 

Model Ordinance 3: 

It shall be unlawful to hunt with a rifle larger than .22 
caliber rim fire, except rifles of a larger caliber may be used 
to hunt from a stand elevated at least 10 feet from the ground. 
Any person who violates the provisions of this ordinance 
shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. 

Model Ordinance 4: 

Muzzleloading rifles may only be used to hunt from a stand 
elevated at least 10 feet from the ground. Any person who 
violates the provisions of this ordinance shall be guilty of a 
Class 3 misdemeanor. 

Model Ordinance 5:  

Muzzleloading rifles firing a single projectile may not be 
used to hunt between April 1 - May 31. Any person who 
violates the provisions of this ordinance shall be guilty of a 
Class 3 misdemeanor. 

Model Ordinance 6: 

It shall be unlawful to hunt with shotguns loaded with slugs. 
Any person who violates the provisions of this ordinance 
shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. 

Model Ordinance 7: 

It shall be unlawful to engage in hunting with a firearm 
within the right-of-way of any primary or secondary highway. 
Any person who violates the provisions of this ordinance 
shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. 

Model Ordinance 8: 

It shall be unlawful to engage in hunting with a firearm 
within 100 yards of any primary or secondary highway. Any 
person who violates the provisions of this ordinance shall be 
guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-923; Filed October 25, 2007, 3:41 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: In 22:22 VA.R. 3074-3080 July 
10, 2006, the board published for public comment a proposal 
to amend its regulations concerning emissions trading. In 
response to that request, comments were submitted that 
resulted in several changes being made to the original 
proposal. Additional changes were made to the original 
proposal based on legislation enacted by the 2006 General 
Assembly. 

On December 6, 2006, the board adopted final amendments to 
its regulations concerning emission trading, which were to 
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become effective on April 18, 2007. The final regulation 
amendments as adopted were published in the Virginia 
Register in 23:14 VA.R. 2291-2292, 2331-2333, and 2370-
2371 March 19, 2007. Pursuant to §2.2-4007 K (currently 
§2.2-4007.06) of the Code of Virginia, at least 25 persons 
requested an opportunity to submit oral and written comments 
on specific changes to the proposal. Because of the 
substantive nature of these additional changes and the 
requests from petitioners, the board reopened the 
nonattainment area requirements of the proposal for public 
comment on those changes to the final regulation and 
suspended the effective date of nonattainment area 
requirements (9VAC5-140-1061, 9VAC5-140-1062, 9VAC5-
140-2061, 9VAC5-140-2062, 9VAC5-140-3061, and 
9VAC5-140-3062) of the regulation. 

On October 10, 2007, the Virginia State Air Pollution Control 
Board reconsidered its original December 6, 2006, decision 
on the CAIR nonattainment area requirements. In its 
reconsideration decision, the board retained the nonattainment 
area requirements; but in doing so, made changes to (i) the 
NOX Annual and Seasonal Trading Program nonattainment 
area provisions to exempt new units until the latter of 2014 or 
until such time as the unit establishes a five-year operational 
period and (ii) the SO2 Annual Trading Program to exempt 
units not eligible for allowances under the Acid Rain 
Program. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC5-140. Regulation for Emissions 
Trading Programs (adding 9VAC5-140-1061, 9VAC5-
140-1062, 9VAC5-140-2061, 9VAC5-140-2062, 9VAC5-
140-3061, 9VAC5-140-3062).  

Statutory Authority: §§10.1-1308 and 10.1-1328 of the Code 
of Virginia; 42 USC §§7408, 7409, 7410 and 7602; 40 CFR 
Part 51. 

Effective Date: December 26, 2007.  

Agency Contact: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 629 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 
698-4510, or email memajor@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action encompasses the addition of 
nonattainment area requirements to three parts of 9VAC5-
140, each of which is addressed below: 

NOX Annual Trading Program (Part II) 

This part establishes a NOX Annual Trading Program that 
addresses the following substantive provisions: permitting, 
allowance methodology, monitoring, banking, compliance 
supplement pool, compliance determination, and opt-in 
provisions for sources not covered by the regulation. 
Virginia's NOX annual budgets are 36,074 tons in 2009 
through 2014 and 30,062 tons in 2015 and thereafter. 

Beginning January 1, 2009, electric generating units with 
a nameplate capacity greater than 25 MWe will be subject 
to the provisions of this part. To accommodate the NOX 
emissions from the affected units, the units are allocated 
from the budget a specific limited number of allowances 
(measured in tons per year) during the months of January 
1 through December 31, otherwise known as the control 
period. The NOX allocations are determined through a 
methodology based upon heat input for existing units and 
electrical output for new units. January 1, 2006 is the 
cutoff for determining whether a unit is new or existing. If 
a unit does not use all of its allowances for a specific 
control period, those extra tons may be banked for future 
use or sold.  If a unit exceeds the allocated allowances, 
additional allowances may be purchased or the source may 
use banked allowances to offset the amount of NOX 
generated above the allocated allowances. Smaller sources 
within the affected source categories are allowed to opt-in 
to the program. 

Sources found to be out of compliance will be forced to 
surrender allowances for the next year on a ratio of 3:1, 
i.e., for every ton over its allocations, three tons will be 
forfeited from the next year’s allocation. 

Emissions will need to be monitored according to 40 CFR 
Part 75 for all sources subject to the regulation and for 
any sources wishing to opt-in to the program. 

As proposed, the provisions related to compliance in 
nonattainment areas prohibited the use of allowances 
other than those allocated to the unit or source by the 
board to comply. Since publication of the proposal, the 
provisions related to compliance in nonattainment areas 
have been revised to establish an independent annual 
emissions cap equivalent to the number of allowances 
issued to the affected unit. Provisions have been added to 
(i) provide temporary exemptions for new units and (ii) to 
allow compliance to be demonstrated in the aggregate for 
all units in a single source under common ownership. 

NOX Ozone Season Trading Program (Part III) 

This part establishes a NOX Ozone Season Trading 
Program that addresses the following substantive 
provisions: permitting, allowance methodology, 
monitoring, banking, compliance determination, and opt-in 
provisions for sources not covered by the regulation. 
Virginia's NOX ozone season budgets for electric 
generating units are 15,994 tons in 2009 through 2014 and 
13,328 tons in 2015 and thereafter. 

Beginning May 1, 2009, electric generating units with a 
nameplate capacity greater than 25 MWe will be subject to 
the provisions of this part. To accommodate the NOX 
emissions from the affected units, the units are allocated 
from the budget a specific limited number of allowances 
(measured in tons per season) during the summer months 
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of May 1 through September 30, otherwise know as the 
control period. The NOX allocations are determined 
through a methodology based upon heat input for existing 
units and electrical output for new units. January 1, 2006 
is the cutoff for determining whether a unit is new or 
existing. If a unit does not use all of its allowances for a 
specific control period, those extra tons may be banked for 
future use or sold. If a unit exceeds the allocated 
allowances, additional allowances may be purchased or 
the source may use banked allowances to offset the amount 
of NOX generated above the allocated allowances. Smaller 
sources within the affected source categories are allowed 
to opt-in to the program. 

Sources found to be out of compliance will be forced to 
surrender allowances for the next year on a ratio of 3:1, 
i.e., for every ton over its allocations, three tons will be 
forfeited from the next year’s allocation. 

Emissions will need to be monitored according to 40 CFR 
Part 75 for all sources subject to the regulation and for 
any sources wishing to opt-in to the program. 

As proposed, the provisions related to compliance in 
nonattainment areas prohibited the use of allowances 
other than those allocated to the unit or source by the 
board to comply. Since publication of the proposal, the 
provisions related to compliance in nonattainment areas 
have been revised to establish an independent annual 
emissions cap equivalent to the number of allowances 
issued to the affected unit. Provisions have been added to 
(i) provide temporary exemptions for new units and (ii) to 
allow compliance to be demonstrated in the aggregate for 
all units in a single source under common ownership. 

SO2 Annual Trading Program (Part IV) 

This part establishes a SO2 Annual Trading Program that 
addresses the following substantive provisions: permitting, 
monitoring, banking, compliance determination, and opt-in 
provisions for sources not covered by the regulation. 
Virginia's SO2 annual budgets are 63,478 tons in 2010 
through 2014 and 44,435 tons in 2015 and thereafter. 

Beginning January 1, 2010, electric generating units with 
a nameplate capacity greater than 25 MWe will be subject 
to the provisions of this part. To accommodate the SO2 
emissions from the affected units, the units have been 
allocated from the budget a specific limited number of 
allowances (measured in tons per year) during the months 
of January 1 through December 31, otherwise know as the 
control period. The SO2 allocations are carried over from 
the Acid Rain Program and are valid indefinitely, except 
the value of the allowances is reduced over time. If a unit 
does not use all of its allowances for a specific control 
period, those extra tons may be banked for future use or 
sold. If a unit exceeds the allocated allowances, additional 
allowances may be purchased or the source may use 

banked allowances to offset the amount of SO2 generated 
above the allocated allowances. Smaller sources within the 
affected source categories are allowed to opt-in to the 
program. 

Sources found to be out of compliance will be forced to 
surrender allowances for the next year on a ratio of 3:1, 
i.e., for every ton over its allocations, three tons will be 
forfeited from the next year’s allocation. 

Emissions will need to be monitored according to 40 CFR 
Part 75 for all sources subject to the regulation and for 
any sources wishing to opt-in to the program. 

As proposed, there were no provisions related to 
compliance in nonattainment areas in this part. Since 
publication of the proposal, provisions have been added to 
address compliance in nonattainment areas similar to 
those for the NOX trading programs. Provisions have been 
added to (i) provide a permanent exemption for units not 
eligible for allowances under the Acid Rain Program and 
(ii) to allow compliance to be demonstrated in the 
aggregate for all units in a single source under common 
ownership. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

9VAC5-140-1061. Nonattainment area requirements. 

H. A. The following requirements apply to any CAIR NOX 
unit or CAIR NOX source located in a nonattainment area 
designated in 9VAC5-20-204: 

1. No owner, operator or other person shall cause or permit 
to be discharged into the atmosphere from any CAIR NOX 
unit or CAIR NOX source any NOX emissions in excess of 
the NOX annual emissions cap. For each control period, the 
NOX annual emissions cap shall be equal to the number of 
NOX allowances (expressed in tons) allocated for the CAIR 
NOX unit or CAIR NOX source for the control period in 
accordance with 9VAC5-140-1420. 

2. A CAIR NOX unit or CAIR NOX source shall be subject 
to the requirements under subdivision 1 of this subsection 
for the control period starting on the later of January 1, 
2009, or the deadline for meeting the unit’s monitor 
certification requirements under 9VAC5-140-1700 B C 1, 
2, or 5 and for each control period thereafter. 

3. No NOX allowances other than those issued to a CAIR 
NOX unit or CAIR NOX source in accordance with 
9VAC5-140-1420 may be used to demonstrate compliance 
with the emission standard in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection. Compliance with the NOX annual emissions 
cap in subdivision 1 of this subsection shall be 
demonstrated annually, based on a comparison of (i) the 
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total NOX emissions (expressed in tons) from each CAIR 
NOX unit during the preceding control period, as 
determined in accordance with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-
1700 et seq.) of this part and (ii) the number of NOX 
allowances (expressed in tons) allocated for the CAIR NOX 
unit for the preceding control period in accordance with 
9VAC5-140-1420. However, this subsection does not 
otherwise prohibit any CAIR NOX unit or CAIR NOX 
source from participating in the CAIR NOX Annual 
Trading Program NOX annual emissions cap.  

4. If the board determines that the provisions of this 
subsection may be waived for a CAIR NOX unit or CAIR 
NOX source without the CAIR NOX unit or CAIR NOX 
source causing or contributing to a violation of any air 
quality standard or a nonattainment condition, the board 
may issue a state operating permit granting relief from the 
requirements of this subsection. The board may include in 
any permit issued to implement this subdivision any terms 
and conditions the board determines are necessary to 
ensure that the CAIR NOX unit or CAIR NOX source will 
not cause or contribute to a violation of any air quality 
standard or a nonattainment condition. The owner or 
operator of a CAIR NOX unit subject to this section shall 
be in violation of this subsection if the owner or operator 
fails to submit by April 1 of each year for the preceding 
control period (i) documentation to verify compliance with 
the NOX annual emissions cap set forth in subdivision 1 of 
this subsection or (ii) a NOX emissions compliance 
demonstration in accordance with 9VAC5-140-1062. 

I. B. Nothing in this article part shall prevent the board 
permitting authority from issuing a nonattainment area permit 
under the authority and procedures of the state operating 
permit program in order to: 

1. Cap the emissions of a CAIR NOX unit or CAIR NOX 
source contributing to a violation of any air quality 
standard or a nonattainment condition; 

2. Remedy a situation that may cause or contribute to 
nonattainment condition or the endangerment of human 
health or welfare; or 

3. Establish a source-specific emission standard or other 
requirements necessary to implement the federal Clean Air 
Act or the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law. 

J. C. Nothing in this article part shall prevent the board 
permitting authority from including in any nonattainment area 
permit issued to implement subsection I subdivision B 1 of 
this section any terms and conditions that would prohibit any 
CAIR NOX unit or CAIR NOX source subject to this article 
part from engaging in any emissions trading activities or 
using any emissions credits obtained from emissions 
reductions external to the CAIR NOX unit or CAIR NOX 
source to comply with the requirements of this article. 
subsection A of this section or any nonattainment area permit 

issued pursuant to subdivision B 1 of this section except that 
such terms and conditions may not prohibit any CAIR NOX 
unit or CAIR NOX source subject to this part from engaging 
in any emissions trading activities unrelated to compliance 
with the requirements of subsection A of this section or any 
nonattainment area permit issued pursuant to subdivision B 1 
of this section. 

D. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit any 
CAIR NOX unit or CAIR NOX source from participating in 
the CAIR NOX Annual Trading Program. Notwithstanding 
any other provision of this section or any regulation of the 
board, the permitting authority may not include in any permit 
any terms and conditions that restrict any emissions trading 
activities under the CAIR NOX Annual Trading Program. 
Compliance with the CAIR NOX Annual Trading Program 
and this section (including any nonattainment area permits 
issued pursuant to this section) shall be determined separately 
and in accordance with the terms of the provisions of each. 

E. The provisions of subsection A of this section shall not 
apply once an area is no longer listed in 9VAC5-20-204 as 
nonattainment for any pollutant; however, regardless of the 
attainment status of the area, any nonattainment area permits 
issued to implement this section shall remain in effect until 
revoked by the permitting authority. 

[ F. The provisions of subsection A of this section shall not 
apply to any CAIR NOX unit commencing operation on or 
after January 1, 2006, until the later of (i) January 1, 2014, or 
(ii) the unit has operated each calendar year during a period of 
at least five consecutive calendar years. ]  

9VAC5-140-1062. NOX emissions compliance 
demonstration. 

A. Compliance with the NOX annual emissions cap set forth 
in 9VAC5-140-1061 A 1 may also be achieved through a 
NOX emissions compliance demonstration meeting the 
requirements of this section. 

B. The NOX emissions compliance demonstration submitted 
pursuant to this section may include one or more CAIR NOX 
units in a CAIR NOX source under common control and 
located in the nonattainment area. 

C. NOX emissions compliance demonstrations shall be 
submitted to the permitting authority by April 1 of each year 
for the preceding control period. 

D. A complete NOX emissions compliance demonstration 
shall include the following elements in a format acceptable to 
the permitting authority: 

1. Identification of each CAIR NOX unit in the NOX 
emissions compliance demonstration. 

2. The number of NOX allowances (expressed in tons) 
allocated for each CAIR NOX unit for the preceding 
control period. 
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3. The total NOX emissions (expressed in tons) from each 
CAIR NOX unit during the preceding control period. 

4. The calculation for the equation in subsection E of this 
section. 

E. Compliance with this section shall be demonstrated with 
the following equation: 

 
where: 

n is the number of CAIR NOX units in the NOX emissions 
compliance demonstration (n may equal 1). 

Σ is the sum of all i CAIR NOX units. 

i is a CAIR NOX unit identified in subsection B of this 
section. 

ANOE (Actual Nitrogen Oxides Emissions) are the total 
NOX emissions (expressed in tons) from each CAIR NOX 
unit during the preceding control period, as determined in 
accordance with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-1700 et seq.) of 
this part. 

X is the number of NOX allowances (expressed in tons) 
allocated for the CAIR NOX unit for the preceding control 
period in accordance with 9VAC5-140-1420. 

F. The emissions measurements recorded and reported in 
accordance with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-1700 et seq.) of this 
part shall be used to determine compliance by each CAIR 
NOX source with the NOX annual emissions cap set forth in 
9VAC5-140-1061 A. 

9VAC5-140-2061. Nonattainment area requirements. 

H. A. The following requirements apply to any CAIR NOX 
Ozone Season unit or CAIR NOX Ozone Season source 
located in a nonattainment area designated in 9VAC5-20-204: 

1. No owner, operator or other person shall cause or permit 
to be discharged into the atmosphere from any CAIR NOX 
Ozone Season unit or CAIR NOX Ozone Season source 
any NOX emissions in excess of the NOX Ozone Season 
emissions cap. For each control period, the NOX Ozone 
Season emissions cap shall be equal to the number of NOX 
allowances (expressed in tons) allocated for the CAIR NOX 
Ozone Season unit or CAIR NOX Ozone Season source for 
the control period in accordance with 9VAC5-140-2420. 

2. A CAIR NOX Ozone Season unit or CAIR NOX Ozone 
Season source shall be subject to the requirements under 
subdivision 1 of this subsection for the control period 
starting on the later of January May 1, 2009, or the 
deadline for meeting the unit’s monitor certification 
requirements under 9VAC5-140-2700 C 1, 2, 3 or 5 7 and 
for each control period thereafter. 

3. No NOX allowances other than those issued to a CAIR 
NOX Ozone Season unit or CAIR NOX Ozone Season 
source in accordance with 9VAC5-140-2420 may be used 
to demonstrate compliance with the emission standard in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection. Compliance with the NOX 
Ozone Season emissions cap in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection shall be demonstrated annually, based on a 
comparison of (i) the total NOX emissions (expressed in 
tons) from each CAIR NOX Ozone Season unit during the 
preceding control period, as determined in accordance with 
Article 8 (9VAC5-140-2700 et seq.) of this part and (ii) the 
number of NOX allowances (expressed in tons) allocated 
for the CAIR NOX Ozone Season unit for the preceding 
control period in accordance with 9VAC5-140-2420 NOx 
Ozone Season emissions cap. However, this subsection 
does not otherwise prohibit any CAIR NOX Ozone Season 
unit or CAIR NOX Ozone Season source from participating 
in the CAIR NOX Ozone Season Trading Program. 

4. If the board determines that the provisions of this 
subsection may be waived for a CAIR NOX Ozone Season 
unit or CAIR NOX Ozone Season source without the CAIR 
NOX Ozone Season unit or CAIR NOX Ozone Season 
source causing or contributing to a violation of any air 
quality standard or a nonattainment condition, the board 
may issue a state operating permit granting relief from the 
requirements of this subsection. The board may include in 
any permit issued to implement this subdivision any terms 
and conditions the board determines are necessary to 
ensure that the CAIR NOX Ozone Season unit or CAIR 
NOX Ozone Season source will not cause or contribute to a 
violation of any air quality standard or a nonattainment 
condition. The owner or operator of a CAIR NOX Ozone 
Season unit subject to this section shall be in violation of 
this subsection if the owner or operator fails to submit by 
January 1 of each year for the preceding control period (i) 
documentation to verify compliance with the NOX Ozone 
Season emissions cap set forth in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection or (ii) a NOX emissions compliance 
demonstration in accordance with 9VAC5-140-2062. 

I. B. Nothing in this article part shall prevent the board 
permitting authority from issuing a nonattainment area permit 
under the authority and procedures of the state operating 
permit program in order to: 

1. Cap the emissions of a CAIR NOX Ozone Season unit or 
CAIR NOX Ozone Season source contributing to a 
violation of any air quality standard or a nonattainment 
condition; 

2. Remedy a situation that may cause or contribute to 
nonattainment condition or the endangerment of human 
health or welfare; or 
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3. Establish a source-specific emission standard or other 
requirements necessary to implement the federal Clean Air 
Act or the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law. 

J. C. Nothing in this article part shall prevent the board 
permitting authority from including in any nonattainment area 
permit issued to implement subsection I subdivision B 1 of 
this section any terms and conditions that would prohibit any 
CAIR NOX Ozone Season unit or CAIR NOX Ozone Season 
source subject to this article part from engaging in any 
emissions trading activities or using any emissions credits 
obtained from emissions reductions external to the CAIR 
NOX Ozone Season unit or CAIR NOX Ozone Season source 
to comply with the requirements of this article. Ozone Season 
Trading Program. subsection A of this section or any 
nonattainment area permit issued pursuant to subdivision B 1 
of this section except that such terms and conditions may not 
prohibit any CAIR NOX Ozone Season unit or CAIR NOX 
Ozone Season source subject to this part from engaging in 
any emissions trading activities unrelated to compliance with 
the requirements of subsection A of this section or any 
nonattainment area permit issued pursuant to subdivision B 1 
of this section.  

D. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit any 
CAIR NOX Ozone Season unit or CAIR NOX Ozone Season 
source from participating in the CAIR NOX Ozone Season 
Trading Program. Notwithstanding any other provision of this 
section or any regulation of the board, the permitting 
authority may not include in any permit any terms and 
conditions that restrict any emissions trading activities under 
the CAIR NOX Ozone Season Trading Program. Compliance 
with the CAIR NOX Ozone Season Trading Program and this 
section (including any nonattainment area permits issued 
pursuant to this section) shall be determined separately and in 
accordance with the terms of the provisions of each. 

E. The provisions of subsection A of this section shall not 
apply once an area is no longer listed in 9VAC5-20-204 as 
nonattainment for any pollutant; however, regardless of the 
attainment status of the area, any nonattainment area permits 
issued to implement this section shall remain in effect until 
revoked by the permitting authority. 

[ F. The provisions of subsection A of this section shall not 
apply to any CAIR NOX Ozone Season unit commencing 
operation on or after January 1, 2006, until the later of (i) 
January 1, 2014, or (ii) the unit has operated each calendar 
year during a period of at least five consecutive calendar 
years. ]  

9VAC5-140-2062. NOX emissions compliance 
demonstration. 

A. Compliance with the NOX Ozone Season emissions cap 
set forth in 9VAC5-140-2061 A 1 may also be achieved 
through a NOX emissions compliance demonstration meeting 
the requirements of this section. 

B. The NOX emissions compliance demonstration submitted 
pursuant to this section may include one or more CAIR NOX 
Ozone Season units in a CAIR NOX Ozone Season source 
under common control and located in the nonattainment area. 

C. NOX emissions compliance demonstrations shall be 
submitted to the permitting authority by January 1 of each 
year for the preceding control period. 

D. A complete NOX emissions compliance demonstration 
shall include the following elements in a format acceptable to 
the permitting authority: 

1. Identification of each CAIR NOX Ozone Season unit in 
the NOX emissions compliance demonstration. 

2. The number of NOX allowances (expressed in tons) 
allocated for each CAIR NOX Ozone Season unit for the 
preceding control period. 

3. The total NOX emissions (expressed in tons) from each 
CAIR NOX Ozone Season unit during the preceding 
control period. 

4. The calculation for the equation in subsection E of this 
section. 

E. Compliance with this section shall be demonstrated with 
the following equation: 

 
where: 

n is the number of CAIR NOX Ozone Season units in the 
NOX emissions compliance demonstration (n may equal 1). 

Σ is the sum of all i CAIR NOX Ozone Season units. 

i is a CAIR NOX Ozone Season unit identified in 
subsection B of this section. 

ANOE (Actual Nitrogen Oxides Emissions) are the total 
NOX emissions (expressed in tons) from each CAIR NOX 
Ozone Season unit during the preceding control period, as 
determined in accordance with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-
2700 et seq.) of this part. 

X is the number of NOX allowances (expressed in tons) 
allocated for the CAIR NOX Ozone Season unit for the 
preceding control period in accordance with 9VAC5-140-
2420. 

F. The emissions measurements recorded and reported in 
accordance with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-2700 et seq.) of this 
part shall be used to determine compliance by each CAIR 
NOX Ozone Season source with the NOX Ozone Season 
emissions cap set forth in 9VAC5-140-2061 A. 
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9VAC5-140-3061. Nonattainment area requirements . 

A. The following requirements apply to any CAIR SO2 unit 
located in a nonattainment area designated in 9VAC5-20-204: 

1. No owner, operator or other person shall cause or permit 
to be discharged into the atmosphere from any CAIR SO2 
unit any SO2 emissions in excess of the SO2 annual 
emissions cap. For each control period, the SO2 annual 
emissions cap shall be equal to the number of SO2 
allowances (expressed in tons) allocated for the CAIR SO2 
unit for the control period in accordance with 9VAC5-140-
3420. 

2. A CAIR SO2 unit shall be subject to the requirements 
under subdivision 1 of this subsection for the control 
period starting on the later of January 1, [ 2009 2010 ], or 
the deadline for meeting the unit’s monitor certification 
requirements under 9VAC5-140-3700 C 1, 2, or 5 and for 
each control period thereafter. 

3. Compliance with the SO2 annual emissions cap in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection shall be based on a 
comparison of (i) the total SO2 emissions (expressed in 
tons) from each CAIR SO2 unit during the control period, 
as determined in accordance with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-
3700 et seq.) of this part, and (ii) the SO2 annual emissions 
cap. 

4. The owner or operator of a CAIR SO2 unit subject to 
this section shall be in violation of this subsection if the 
owner or operator fails to submit by April 1 of each year 
for the preceding control period (i) documentation to verify 
compliance with the SO2 annual emissions cap set forth in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection or (ii) an SO2 emissions 
compliance demonstration in accordance with 9VAC5-
140-3062. 

B. Nothing in this part shall prevent the permitting authority 
from issuing a nonattainment area permit under the authority 
and procedures of the state operating permit program in order 
to: 

1. Cap the emissions of a CAIR SO2 unit or CAIR SO2 
source contributing to a violation of any air quality 
standard or a nonattainment condition; 

2. Remedy a situation that may cause or contribute to 
nonattainment condition or the endangerment of human 
health or welfare; or 

3. Establish a source-specific emission standard or other 
requirements necessary to implement the federal Clean Air 
Act or the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law. 

C. Nothing in this part shall prevent the permitting authority 
from including in any nonattainment area permit issued to 
implement subdivision B 1 of this section any terms and 
conditions that would prohibit any CAIR SO2 unit or CAIR 
SO2 source subject to this part from engaging in any 

emissions trading activities or using any emissions credits 
obtained from emissions reductions external to the CAIR SO2 
unit or CAIR SO2 source to comply with the requirements of 
subsection A of this section or any nonattainment area permit 
issued pursuant to subdivision B 1 of this section except that 
such terms and conditions may not prohibit any CAIR SO2 
unit or CAIR SO2 source subject to this part from engaging in 
any emissions trading activities unrelated to compliance with 
the requirements of subsection A of this section or any 
nonattainment area permit issued pursuant to subdivision B 1 
of this section. 

D. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit any 
CAIR SO2 unit or CAIR SO2 source from participating in the 
CAIR SO2 Annual Trading Program. Notwithstanding any 
other provision of this section or any regulation of the board, 
the permitting authority may not include in any permit any 
terms and conditions that restrict any emissions trading 
activities under the CAIR SO2 Annual Trading Program. 
Compliance with the CAIR SO2 Annual Trading Program and 
this section (including any nonattainment area permits issued 
pursuant to this section) shall be determined separately and in 
accordance with the terms of the provisions of each. 

E. The provisions of subsection A of this section shall not 
apply once an area is no longer listed in 9VAC5-20-204 as 
nonattainment for any pollutant; however, regardless of the 
attainment status of the area, any nonattainment area permits 
issued to implement this section shall remain in effect until 
revoked by the permitting authority. 

[ F. The provisions of subsection A of this section shall not 
apply to any CAIR SO2 unit for which no SO2 allowances are 
allocated in accordance with 9VAC5-140-3420. ]  

9VAC5-140-3062. SO2 emissions compliance 
demonstration. 

A. Compliance with the SO2 annual emissions cap set forth 
in 9VAC5-140-3061 A 1 may also be achieved through an 
SO2 emissions compliance demonstration meeting the 
requirements of this section. 

B. The SO2 emissions compliance demonstration submitted 
pursuant to this section may include one or more CAIR SO2 
units in a CAIR SO2 source under common control and 
located in the nonattainment area. 

C. SO2 emissions compliance demonstrations shall be 
submitted to the permitting authority by April 1 of each year 
for the preceding control period. 

D. A complete SO2 emissions compliance demonstration 
shall include the following elements in a format acceptable to 
the permitting authority: 

1. Identification of each CAIR SO2 unit in the SO2 
emissions compliance demonstration. 
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2. The number of SO2 allowances (expressed in tons) 
allocated for each CAIR SO2 unit for the preceding control 
period. 

3. The total SO2 emissions (expressed in tons) from each 
CAIR SO2 unit during the preceding control period. 

4. The calculation for the equation in subsection E of this 
section. 

E. Compliance with this section shall be demonstrated with 
the following equation: 

 
where: 

n is the number of CAIR SO2 units in the SO2 emissions 
compliance demonstration (n may equal 1). 

Σ is the sum of all i CAIR SO2 units. 

i is a CAIR SO2 unit identified in subsection B of this 
section. 

ASDE (Actual Sulfur Dioxide Emissions) are the total SO2 
emissions (expressed in tons) from each CAIR SO2 unit 
during the preceding control period, as determined in 
accordance with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-3700 et seq.) of 
this part. 

X is the number of SO2 allowances (expressed in tons) 
allocated for the CAIR SO2 unit for the preceding control 
period in accordance with 9VAC5-140-3420. 

F. The emissions measurements recorded and reported in 
accordance with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-3700 et seq.) of this 
part shall be used to determine compliance by each CAIR 
SO2 source with the SO2 annual emissions cap set forth in 
9VAC5-140-3061 A. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-230; Filed November 7, 2007, 9:50 a.m. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulation filed by 
the State Water Control Board is exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with §2.2-4006 A 9 
of the Code of Virginia, which exempts general permits 
issued by the State Water Control Board pursuant to the State 
Water Control Law (§62.1-44.2 et seq.), Chapter 24 (§62.1-
242 et seq.) of Title 62.1 and Chapter 25 (§62.1-254 et seq.) 
of Title 62.1, if the board (i) provides a Notice of Intended 
Regulatory Action in conformance with the provisions of 
§2.2-4007.01, (ii) following the passage of 30 days from the 
publication of the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
forms a technical advisory committee composed of relevant 
stakeholders, including potentially affected citizens groups, to 

assist in the development of the general permit, (iii) provides 
notice and receives oral and written comment as provided in 
§2.2-4007.03, and (iv) conducts at least one public hearing on 
the proposed general permit.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-193. General Virginia 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 
for Concrete Products Facilities (amending 9VAC25-193-
40, 9VAC25-193-70). 

Statutory Authority: §62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123 and 124. 

Public Hearing Information: 

January 7, 2008 - 4 p.m. - Department of Environmental 
Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, 
Glen Allen, VA 

Public comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on January 25, 2008. 

Public Participation: In addition to any other comments, the 
board is seeking comments on the costs and benefits of the 
proposal, the potential impacts on the regulated community 
and on any impacts of the regulation on farm and forest land 
preservation. Also, the board is seeking information on 
impacts on small businesses as defined in §2.2-4007.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. Information may include (i) projected 
reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative costs, (ii) 
probable effect of the regulation on affected small businesses; 
and (iii) description of less intrusive or costly alternative 
methods of achieving the purpose of the regulation. 

Anyone wishing to submit written comments for the public 
comment file may do so at the public hearing or by mail, 
email or fax to Elleanore Daub, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, 
VA 23218, (804) 698-4111, FAX (804) 698-4032 or 
emdaub@deq.virginia.gov. Comments may also be submitted 
through the Public Forum feature of the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall website at www.townhall.virginia.gov. Written 
comments must include the name and address of the 
commenter. In order to be considered comments must be 
received by 5 p.m. on January 25, 2008. 

A public hearing will be held and notice of the public hearing 
can be found on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website 
and in the Virginia Register of Regulations. Both oral and 
written comments may be submitted at that time. 

Agency Contact: Elleanore M. Daub, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4111, FAX (804) 
698-4032, or email emdaub@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments reissue the general permit that 
expires on September 30, 2008. The general permit 
establishes limitations and monitoring requirements for 
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wastewater discharges from concrete products facilities. 
As with an individual VPDES permit, the effluent limits in 
the general permit are set to protect the quality of the 
waters receiving the discharges. 

The general permit is amended to include new effective 
and expiration dates to correspond with the new dates of 
the reissued permit. In special condition 1 in Part I B a 
requirement for no solids deposition in surface water as a 
result of the industrial activity in the vicinity of the outfall 
has been added. Also, that the visual quality of the 
receiving stream (including observations of solids 
deposition from the industrial activity) in the vicinity of the 
outfall (including ditches and conveyances) should be 
included in the quarterly visual examination reports of the 
storm water management section (Part II D). These were 
added in response to staff concerns about solids 
depositions (concrete product) entering the receiving 
stream.   

Special condition 10 in Part I B is amended such that 
where basins are operated in a series mode of operation, 
the one foot freeboard requirement for the upper basins 
may be waived provided the final basin will maintain the 
freeboard requirements. This was added to reflect existing 
practice and design of these basins and to ensure the lower 
basin will not overflow in high flow rain events. 

Special condition 13 in Part I B was modified to reflect 
liner requirements for settling basins built after February 
1998 set forth in §62.1-44.15:5.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Special condition 15 in Part I B was modified to ensure 
that the permittee reports discharge monitoring at two 
significant digits. The changes in this section were done to 
conform to Guidance Memo 06-2016 (Significant Figures 
for Discharge Monitoring Reports) for consistency within 
the VPDES program. 

9VAC25-193-40. Effective date of the permit. 

This general VPDES permit became effective on October 1, 
2003 2008, and it will expire on September 30, 2008 2013. 
The general permit was amended on December 7, 2005, to 
add coverage for SIC Codes 3271 and 3272. The amendment 
became effective on February 8, 2006. With respect to a 
particular facility, this general permit shall become effective 
upon the facility owner's compliance with the provisions of 
9VAC25-193-50 and the receipt of a copy of the general 
VPDES permit.  

9VAC25-193-70. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 
board will receive the following permit and shall comply with 
the requirements contained therein and be subject to all 
requirements of 9VAC25-31.  

General Permit No: VAG11  

Effective Date: October 1, 2003 2008 

Expiration Date: September 30, 2008 2013 

Modification Date: February 8, 2006  

GENERAL PERMIT FOR CONCRETE PRODUCTS 
FACILITIES AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE 

UNDER THE VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE 
ELIMINATION SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE 

WATER CONTROL LAW  

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, 
as amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 
regulations adopted pursuant thereto, owners of concrete 
products facilities are authorized to discharge to surface 
waters within the boundaries of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia, except those specifically named in board regulations 
or policies which prohibit such discharges.  

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with this 
cover page, Part I-Effluent Limitations, Monitoring 
Requirements, and Special Conditions, Part II-Storm Water 
Management, and Part III-Conditions Applicable to All 
VPDES Permits, as set forth herein.  

Part I  

A. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements.  

1. Process wastewater.  

During the period beginning on the permit's effective date 
and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the permittee 
is authorized to discharge process wastewater which may 
contain input from vehicle/equipment maintenance 
activities, and may be commingled with noncontact 
cooling water or storm water associated with industrial 
activity. Samples taken in compliance with the monitoring 
requirements specified below shall be taken at outfall(s).  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the 
permittee as specified below:  
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EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING 
REQUIREMENTS 

  Average Maximum Minimum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) NL NL NL (6) Estimate 

Total Suspended Solids (mg/l) 30 60 NL (6) Grab 

pH (standard units) NA 9.0(1) 6.0(1) (6) Grab 

Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons(2) (mg/l) NA 15 NL 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(3) (mg/l) 0.016 0.016 NL (6) Grab 

Ammonia-N(3) (mg/l) NA NL NL (6) Grab 

Temperature(4) (°C) NA (5) NL (6) Immersion 
Stabilization 

 
NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
(1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) 
establish alternate standards for pH in the waters receiving the 
discharge, those standards shall be the maximum and 
minimum effluent limitations. 
(2)Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons limitation and monitoring 
are only required where a discharge contains process 
wastewater generated from the vehicle/equipment 
maintenance activities. Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons shall 
be analyzed using the Wisconsin Department of Natural 
Resources Modified Diesel Range Organics Method as 
specified in Wisconsin publication SW-141 (1995), or by 
EPA SW-846 Method 8015B (1996) for diesel range 
organics, or by EPA SW-846 Method 8270C (1996). If 
Method 8270C is used, the lab must report the combination of 
diesel range organics and polynuclear aromatic hydrocarbons. 
(3)Chlorine limitation and monitoring are only required where 
the discharge contains cooling water that is chlorinated. 
Ammonia monitoring is only required where the discharge 
contains cooling water that is disinfected using chloramines. 
(4)Temperature limitation and monitoring are only required 
where a discharge contains cooling water. 
(5)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C 
for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, 31°C 
for mountain and upper piedmont waters, 21°C for put and 
take trout waters, or 20°C for natural trout waters. No 
maximum temperature limit applies to discharges to estuarine 
waters. 

For estuarine waters, nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, 
mountain and upper piedmont waters, and put and take trout 
waters, the effluent shall not cause an increase in temperature 
of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural 
water temperature. For natural trout waters, the temperature 

of the effluent shall not cause an increase of 1°C above 
natural water temperature. The effluent shall not cause the 
temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C 
per hour, except in the case of natural trout waters where the 
hourly temperature change shall not exceed 0.5°C. 

Natural temperature is defined as that temperature of a body 
of water (measured as the arithmetic average over one hour) 
due solely to natural conditions without the influence of any 
point-source discharge. 
(6)For a facility that was covered by the previous general 
permit, and reduced monitoring was granted and compliance 
demonstrated, monitoring frequency shall be 1/quarter. In all 
other cases, monitoring frequency shall be 1/month in the first 
year of permit coverage. If the first year results demonstrate 
full compliance with the effluent limitations and the permittee 
receives authorization from the DEQ regional office, 
monitoring frequency shall be reduced to 1/quarter. Should 
the permittee be issued a warning letter related to violation of 
effluent limitations, a notice of violation, or be the subject of 
an active enforcement action, monitoring frequency shall 
revert to 1/month, upon issuance of the letter or notice or 
initiation of the enforcement action and remain in effect until 
the permit's expiration date. Reports of quarterly monitoring 
shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 
10th day of April, July, October, and January. 

Part I. Effluent Limitations and Monitoring Requirements  

A. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements.  

2. Noncontact cooling water.  

During the period beginning on the permit's effective date 
and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the permittee 
is authorized to discharge noncontact cooling water. 
Samples taken in compliance with the monitoring 
requirements specified below shall be taken at outfall(s).  
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Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the 
permittee as specified below:  

 

 

EFFLUENT 
CHARACTERISTICS DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

  Average Maximum Minimum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) NL NL NA (4) Estimate 

pH (standard units) NA 9.0(1) 6.0(1) (4) Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(2) 
(mg/l) 0.016 0.016 NA (4) Grab 

Ammonia-N(2) (mg/l) NA NL NA (4) Grab 

Temperature (°C) NA (3) NA (4) Immersion 
Stabilization 

 
NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
(1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) 
establish alternate standards for pH in the waters receiving the 
discharge, those standards shall be the maximum and 
minimum effluent limitations. 
(2)Chlorine limitation and monitoring are only required where 
the source of cooling water is chlorinated. Ammonia 
monitoring is only required where cooling water is 
disinfected using chloramines. 
(3)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C 
for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, 31°C 
for mountain and upper piedmont waters, 21°C for put and 
take trout waters, or 20°C for natural trout waters. No 
maximum temperature limit applies to discharges to estuarine 
waters. For estuarine waters, nontidal coastal and piedmont 
waters, mountain and upper piedmont waters, and put and 
take trout waters, the effluent shall not cause an increase in 
temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above 
the natural water temperature. For natural trout waters, the 
temperature of the effluent shall not cause an increase of 1°C 
above natural water temperature. The effluent shall not cause 
the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 
2°C per hour, except in the case of natural trout waters where 
the hourly temperature change shall not exceed 0.5°C. 
Natural temperature is defined as that temperature of a body 
of water (measured as the arithmetic average over one hour) 
due solely to natural conditions without the influence of any 
point-source discharge. 
(4)For a facility that was covered by the previous general 
permit, and reduced monitoring was granted and compliance 

demonstrated, monitoring frequency shall be 1/quarter. In all 
other cases, monitoring frequency shall be 1/month in the first 
year of permit coverage. If the first year results demonstrate 
full compliance with the effluent limitations and the permittee 
receives authorization from the DEQ regional office, 
monitoring frequency shall be reduced to 1/quarter. Should 
the permittee be issued a warning letter related to violation of 
effluent limitations, a notice of violation, or be the subject of 
an active enforcement action, monitoring frequency shall be 
reverted to 1/month, upon issuance of the letter or notice or 
initiation of the enforcement action and remain in effect until 
the permit's expiration date. Reports of quarterly monitoring 
shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 
10th day of April, July, October, and January. 

Part I. Effluent Limitations and Monitoring Requirements  

A. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements.  

3. Storm water associated with industrial activity—storm 
event monitoring.  

During the period beginning on the permit's effective date 
and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the permittee 
is authorized to discharge storm water associated with 
industrial activity which does not combine with other 
process wastewaters or noncontact cooling water prior to 
discharge. Samples taken in compliance with the 
monitoring requirements specified below shall be taken at 
outfall(s).  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the 
permittee as specified below:  
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EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS DISCHARGE 
LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

  Maximum Minimum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) NL NA 1/Year Estimate(1) 

Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons(3) 
(mg/l) NL NA 1/Year Grab(2) 

Total Suspended Solids (mg/l) NL NA 1/Year Grab(2) 

Total Recoverable Iron (mg/l) NL NA 1/Year Grab(2) 

pH (standard units) NL NA 1/Year Grab(2) 

 
NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
(1)Estimate of the total volume of the discharge during the 
storm event in accordance with the Operation and 
Maintenance Manual. 
(2)The grab sample shall be taken during the first 30 minutes 
of the discharge. If during the first 30 minutes it was 
impracticable, then a grab sample shall be taken during the 
first hour of discharge, and the permittee shall submit with 
the Discharge Monitoring Report a description of why a grab 
sample during the first 30 minutes was impracticable. 
(3)Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons shall be analyzed using the 
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources Modified Diesel 
Range Organics Method as specified in Wisconsin 
publication SW-141 (1995), or by EPA SW-846 Method 
8015B (1996) for diesel range organics, or by EPA SW-846 
Method 8270C (1996). If Method 8270C is used, the lab must 
report the combination of diesel range organics and 
polynuclear aromatic hydrocarbons. 

4. All storm water samples shall be collected from the 
discharge resulting from a storm event that is greater than 
0.1 inches in magnitude and that occurs at least 72 hours 
from the previously measurable (greater than 0.1 inch 
rainfall) storm event. Specific storm event data shall be 
reported with the Discharge Monitoring Report in 
accordance with Part II A.  

5. Reports of annual monitoring shall be submitted to the 
DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of January 
of each year.  

6. A quarterly visual monitoring shall be performed and 
recorded in accordance with Part II D.  

B. Special conditions.  

1. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 
foam in other than trace amounts. There shall be no solids 
deposition in surface water as a result of the industrial 
activity in the vicinity of the outfall. 

2. Except as expressly authorized by this permit, no 
product, materials, industrial wastes, or other wastes 
resulting from the purchase, sale, mining, extraction, 
transport, preparation, or storage of raw or intermediate 
materials, final product, byproduct or wastes, shall be 
handled, disposed of, or stored so as to permit a discharge 
of such product, materials, industrial wastes, or other 
wastes to surface waters.  

3. Vehicles and equipment utilized during the industrial 
activity on a site must be operated and maintained in such 
a manner as to minimize the potential or actual point 
source pollution of surface waters. Fuels, lubricants, 
coolants, and hydraulic fluids, or any other petroleum 
products, shall not be disposed of by discharging on the 
ground or into surface waters. Spent fluids shall be 
disposed of in a manner so as not to enter the surface or 
ground waters of the state and in accordance with the 
applicable state and federal disposal regulations. Any 
spilled fluids shall be cleaned up to the maximum extent 
practicable and disposed of in a manner so as not to allow 
their entry into the surface or ground waters of the state.  

4. All washdown and washout of trucks, mixers, transport 
buckets, forms or other equipment shall be conducted 
within designated washdown and washout areas. All 
washout/washdown water shall be collected for recycle or 
treated prior to discharge.  

5. Any waste concrete and dredged solids from the settling 
basins shall be managed within a designated area, and any 
wastewaters including storm water generated from these 
activities shall be collected for recycle or treated prior to 
discharge.  

6. No domestic sewage discharges to surface waters are 
permitted under this general permit.  

7. For geothermal or other system which discharges 
noncontact cooling water, the use of any chemical 
additives, except chlorine, without prior approval is 
prohibited under this general permit. Prior approval shall 
be obtained from the DEQ Regional Office before any 
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changes are made to the chemical usage in the geothermal 
or other system. Requests for approval of chemical use 
shall be made in writing and shall include the following 
information:  

a. The chemical additive to be employed and its purpose;  

b. The proposed schedule and quantity of chemical 
usage, and the estimated concentration in the discharge;  

c. The wastewater treatment or retention (if any) to be 
provided during the use of the additive; and 

d. A Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) and available 
aquatic toxicity information for each additive proposed 
for use.  

8. Within 180 days after the date of coverage under this 
general permit, the permittee shall develop an Operations 
and Maintenance (O&M) Manual for the permitted facility. 
The O&M Manual shall include procedures and practices 
for the mitigation of pollutant discharges and for the 
protection of state waters from the facility's operations. 
The manual shall address, at a minimum, operations and 
maintenance practices for the wastewater treatment process 
units and chemical and material storage areas, solids 
management and disposal procedures, temporary and long-
term facility closure plans, testing requirements and 
procedures, recordkeeping and reporting requirements and 
the duties and roles of responsible officials. 

The permittee shall implement the O&M Manual 
procedures and practices as soon as possible but no later 
than 12 months after the date of coverage under this 
general permit. The manual shall be kept on site at the 
permitted facility and shall be made available to the 
department upon request. 

For a facility that was covered by the previous permit, an 
O&M Manual was required to be developed and 
implemented for that facility. Within 90 days after the date 
of coverage under this general permit, the existing O&M 
Manual shall be reviewed and modified, as appropriate, to 
conform to the requirements of this permit. The existing 
O&M Manual shall continue to be implemented until the 
manual, if required, is revised and implemented.  

9. If the concrete products facility discharges through a 
municipal separate storm sewer system to surface waters, 
the permittee shall, within 30 days of coverage under this 
general permit, notify the owner of the municipal separate 
storm sewer system of the existence of the discharge and 
provide the following information: the name of the facility; 
a contact person and phone number; nature of the 
discharge; number of the outfalls; and the location of the 
discharge. A copy of such notification shall be provided to 
the department.  

10. The permittee shall ensure that all basins and lagoons 
maintain a minimum freeboard of one foot at all times 
except during a 72-hour transition period after a 
measurable rainfall event. During the 72-hour transition 
period, no discharge from the basins and lagoons shall 
occur unless it is in accordance with this permit. Within 72 
hours after a measurable rainfall event, the freeboard in all 
basins and lagoons shall return to the minimum freeboard 
of one foot. Where basins are operated in a series mode of 
operation, the one-foot freeboard requirement for the upper 
basins may be waived provided the final basin will 
maintain the freeboard requirements of this special 
condition. Should the one-foot freeboard not be 
maintained, the permittee shall immediately notify the 
DEQ Regional Office, describe the problem and corrective 
measures taken to correct the problem. Within five days of 
notification, the permittee shall submit a written statement 
to the regional office of explanation and corrective 
measures taken. In order to demonstrate compliance, the 
permittee shall conduct daily inspections while the facility 
is in operation and maintain an inspection log. The 
inspection log shall include at least the date and time of 
inspection, the weather data including the occurrence of a 
measurable rainfall event, the printed name and the 
handwritten signature of the inspector, the freeboard 
measurement in inches, a notation of observation made, 
and any corrective measures, if appropriate, taken. The log 
shall be kept onsite and be made available to the 
department upon request.  

11. For treatment systems which operate only in a "no 
discharge" mode, there shall be no discharge of pollutants 
to surface waters from these systems except in the case of a 
storm event which is greater than a 25 year-24 hour storm 
event. The operation of these systems shall not contravene 
the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260), as adopted 
and amended by the board, or any provision of the State 
Water Control Law.  

12. The permittee shall notify the department as soon as he 
knows or has reason to believe:  

a. That any activity has occurred or will occur which 
would result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent 
basis, of any toxic pollutant which is not limited in this 
permit if that discharge will exceed the highest of the 
following notification levels: 

(1) One hundred micrograms per liter (100 µg/l); 

(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter (200 µg/l) for 
acrolein and acrylonitrile; five hundred micrograms per 
liter (500 µg/l) for 2,4-dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-
4,6-dinitrophenol; and one milligram per liter (1 mg/l) 
for antimony; 

(3) Five times the maximum concentration value reported 
for that pollutant in the permit application; or 
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(4) The level established by the board in accordance with 
9VAC25-31-220 F. 

b. That any activity has occurred or will occur which 
would result in any discharge, on a nonroutine or 
infrequent basis, of a toxic pollutant which is not limited 
in this permit if that discharge will exceed the highest of 
the following notification levels: 

(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter (500 µg/l); 

(2) One milligram per liter (1 mg/l) for antimony; 

(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 
for that pollutant in the permit application; or 

(4) The level established by the board in accordance with 
9VAC25-31-220 F. 

13. All settling basins used for treatment and control of 
process wastewater and commingled storm water that were 
constructed on or after February 2, 1998, shall be lined 
with concrete or any other impermeable materials prior to 
commencing operation.  

14. Treated wastewater may be used on site for the 
purposes of dust suppression. Dust suppression shall be 
carried out as a best management practice but not a 
wastewater disposal method. No ponding or surface runoff 
shall occur as a result of such activity.  

15. Compliance reporting under Part I A.  

a. The quantification levels (QL) shall be as follows:  
Effluent Characteristic Quantification Level 

Chlorine 0.1 0.10 mg/l 

Ammonia-N 0.2 0.20 mg/l 

b. Reporting.  

(1) Monthly Average. Compliance with the monthly 
average limitations and/or reporting requirements for the 
parameters listed in Part I A shall be determined as 
follows: All concentration data below the QL listed in 
subsection 15 a of this subsection shall be treated as zero. 
All concentration data equal to or above the QL listed 
shall be treated as it is reported. An arithmetic average 
shall be calculated using all reported data, including the 
defined zeros, for the month. This arithmetic average 
shall be reported on the DMR as calculated. If all data are 
below the QL then the average shall be reported as 
"<QL". If reporting for quantity is required on the DMR 
and the calculated concentration is <QL then report 
"<QL" for the quantity, otherwise use the calculated 
concentration. 

(2) Daily Maximum. Compliance with the daily 
maximum limitations and/or reporting requirements for 
the parameters listed in Part I A shall be determined as 

follows: All concentration data below the QL listed in 
subdivision 15 a of this subsection shall be treated as 
zero. All concentration data equal to or above the QL 
shall be treated as reported. An arithmetic average of the 
values shall be calculated using all reported data, 
including the defined zeros, collected for each day during 
the reporting month. The maximum value of these daily 
averages thus determined shall be reported on the DMR 
as the Daily Maximum. If all data are below the QL then 
the average shall be reported as "<QL". If reporting for 
quantity is required on the DMR and the calculated 
concentration is <QL then report "<QL" for the quantity, 
otherwise use the calculated concentration. 

(3) Any single datum required shall be reported as "<QL" 
if it less than QL listed in subdivision 15 a of this 
subsection. Otherwise the numerical value shall be 
reported. 

(4) The permittee shall report at least two significant 
digits for a given parameter.  Regardless of the rounding 
convention used (i.e. five always rounding up or to the 
nearest even number) by the permittee, the permittee 
shall use the convention consistently and shall ensure that 
consulting laboratories employed by the permittee use 
the same convention. 

Part II. 

Storm Water Management. 

A. Recording of results. For each discharge measurement or 
sample taken pursuant to the storm event monitoring 
requirements of this permit, the permittee shall record and 
report with the Discharge Monitoring Reports (DMRs) the 
following information:  

1. The date and duration (in hours) of the storm event(s) 
sampled;  

2. The rainfall measurements or estimates (in inches) of the 
storm event which generated the sampled discharge; and  

3. The duration between the storm event sampled and the 
end of the previous measurable (greater than 0.1 inch 
rainfall) storm event.  

B. Representative discharge. When a facility has two or 
more exclusively storm water outfalls that, based on a 
consideration of industrial activity, significant materials, and 
management practices and activities within the area drained 
by the outfall, the permittee reasonably believes discharge 
substantially identical effluent, the permittee may test the 
effluent of one of such outfalls and include with the DMRs an 
explanation that the quantitative data also applies to the 
substantially identical outfalls provided that the permittee 
includes a description of the location of the outfalls and 
explains in detail why the outfalls are expected to discharge 
substantially identical effluent. In addition, for each 
exclusively storm water outfall that the permittee believes is 
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representative, an estimate of the size of the drainage area (in 
square feet) and an estimate of the runoff coefficient of the 
drainage area (e.g., low (under 40%), medium (40% to 65%) 
or high (above 65%)) shall be provided.  

C. Sampling waiver. When a permittee is unable to collect 
storm water samples required in Part I A or other applicable 
sections of this permit within a specified sampling period due 
to adverse climatic conditions, the permittee shall collect a 
substitute sample from a separate qualifying event in the next 
period and submit these data along with the data for the 
routine sample in that period. Adverse weather conditions 
which may prohibit the collection of samples include weather 
conditions that create dangerous conditions for personnel 
(such as local flooding, high winds, hurricane, tornadoes, 
electrical storms, etc.) or otherwise make the collection of a 
sample impracticable (drought, extended frozen conditions, 
etc.).  

D. Quarterly visual examination of storm water quality. The 
permittee shall perform and document a visual examination of 
a storm water discharge associated with industrial activity 
from each outfall, except discharges exempted below. The 
visual examination(s) must be made during daylight hours 
(e.g., normal working hours), at least once in each of the 
following three-month periods: January through March, April 
through June, July through September, and October through 
December.  

1. Examinations shall be made of samples collected within 
the first 30 minutes (or as soon thereafter as practical, but 
not to exceed one hour) of when the runoff or snowmelt 
begins discharging. The examination shall document 
observations of color, odor, clarity, floating solids, settled 
solids, suspended solids, foam, oil sheen, and other 
obvious indicators of storm water pollution. The 
examination must be conducted in a well lit area. No 
analytical tests are required to be performed on the 
samples. All such samples shall be collected from the 
discharge resulting from a storm event that is greater than 
0.1 inches in magnitude and that occurs at least 72 hours 
from the previous measurable (greater than 0.1 inch 
rainfall) storm event. The required 72-hour storm event 
interval is waived where the preceding measurable storm 
event did not result in a measurable discharge from the 
facility. The required 72-hour storm event interval may 
also be waived where the permittee documents that less 
than a 72-hour interval is representative for local storm 
events during the season when sampling is being 
conducted. If no qualifying storm event resulted in 
discharge from the facility during a monitoring period, 
visual monitoring is exempted provided that the permittee 
document that no qualifying storm event occurred that 
resulted in storm water discharge during that quarter. 
Where practicable, the same individual should carry out 

the collection and examination of discharges for the entire 
permit term.  

2. Visual examination reports must be maintained onsite 
with the pollution prevention plan. The report shall include 
the outfall location, the examination date and time, 
examination personnel, the nature of the discharge (i.e., 
runoff or snow melt), visual quality of the storm water 
discharge (including observations of color, odor, clarity, 
floating solids, settled solids, suspended solids, foam, oil 
sheen, and other obvious indicators of storm water 
pollution), visual quality of the receiving stream (including 
observations of solids deposition and oil sheen from the 
industrial activity) in the vicinity of the outfall (including 
ditches and conveyances) and probable sources of any 
observed storm water contamination. 

3. If the facility has two or more outfalls that, based on a 
consideration of industrial activity, significant materials, 
and management practices and activities within the area 
drained by the outfall, the permittee reasonably believes 
discharge substantially identical effluents, the permittee 
may collect a sample of effluent of one of such outfalls and 
report that the examination data also applies to the 
substantially identical outfall(s) provided that the permittee 
includes in the storm water pollution prevention plan a 
description of the location of the outfalls and explains in 
detail why the outfalls are expected to discharge 
substantially identical effluents. In addition, for each 
outfall that the permittee believes is representative, an 
estimate of the size of the drainage area (in square feet) 
and an estimate of the runoff coefficient of the drainage 
area (i.e., low (under 40%), medium (40 to 65%), or high 
(above 65%)) shall be provided in the plan.  

4. When the permittee is unable to conduct the visual 
examination due to adverse climatic conditions, the 
permittee must document the reason for not performing the 
visual examination and retain this documentation onsite 
with the records of the visual examinations. Adverse 
weather conditions that may prohibit the collection of 
samples include weather conditions that create dangerous 
conditions for personnel (such as local flooding, high 
winds, hurricane, tornadoes, electrical storms, etc.) or 
otherwise make the collection of a sample impracticable 
(drought, extended frozen conditions, etc.). 

E. Allowable nonstorm water discharges.  

1. The following nonstorm water discharges are authorized 
by this permit provided the nonstorm water component of 
the discharge is in compliance with Part II E 2 below. 

a. Discharges from fire fighting activities;  

b. Fire hydrant flushings;  

c. Potable water including water line flushings;  
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d. Uncontaminated air conditioning or compressor 
condensate;  

e. Irrigation drainage;  

f. Landscape watering provided all pesticides, herbicides, 
and fertilizer have been applied in accordance with 
manufacturer's instructions;  

g. Pavement wash waters where no detergents are used 
and no spills or leaks of toxic or hazardous materials 
have occurred (unless all spilled material has been 
removed);  

h. Routine external building wash down which does not 
use detergents;  

i. Uncontaminated ground water or spring water;  

j. Foundation or footing drains where flows are not 
contaminated with process materials such as solvents;  

k. Incidental windblown mist from cooling towers that 
collects on rooftops or adjacent portions of the facility, 
but NOT intentional discharges from the cooling tower 
(e.g., "piped" cooling tower blowdown or drains).  

2. Except for flows from fire fighting activities, the Storm 
Water Pollution Prevention Plan must include:  

a. Identification of each allowable nonstorm water 
source;  

b. The location where it is likely to be discharged; and  

c. Descriptions of appropriate BMPs for each source.  

3. If mist blown from cooling towers is included as one of 
the allowable nonstorm water discharges, the facility must 
specifically evaluate the potential for the discharges to be 
contaminated by chemicals used in the cooling tower. The 
permittee must determine that the levels of such chemicals 
in the discharges will not cause or contribute to a violation 
of an applicable water quality standard after 
implementation of the BMPs selected to control such 
discharges.  

F. Releases of hazardous substances or oil in excess of 
reportable quantities. The discharge of hazardous substances 
or oil in the storm water discharge(s) from this facility shall 
be prevented or minimized in accordance with the applicable 
storm water pollution prevention plan for the facility. This 
permit does not authorize the discharge of hazardous 
substances or oil resulting from an onsite spill. Where a 
release containing a hazardous substance or oil in an amount 
equal to or in excess of a reportable quantity established 
under either 40 CFR Part 110 (1998), 40 CFR Part 117 (1998) 
or 40 CFR Part 302 (1998) occurs during a 24-hour period, 
the permittee is required to notify the department in 
accordance with the requirements of Part III G as soon as he 
has knowledge of the discharge. Where a release enters a 
municipal separate storm sewer system (MS4), the permittee 

shall also notify the owner of the MS4. In addition, the storm 
water pollution prevention plan required by this permit must 
be reviewed to identify measures to prevent the reoccurrence 
of such releases and to respond to such releases, and the plan 
must be modified where appropriate. This permit does not 
relieve the permittee of the reporting requirements of 40 CFR 
Part 110 (1998), 40 CFR Part 117 (1998) and 40 CFR Part 
302 (1998) or §62.1-44.34:19 of the Code of Virginia.  

G. Storm water pollution prevention plans. A storm water 
pollution prevention plan is required to be developed for the 
facility. The plan shall be prepared in accordance with good 
engineering practices, and shall identify potential sources of 
pollution which may reasonably be expected to affect the 
quality of storm water discharges associated with industrial 
activity from the facility. In addition, the plan shall describe 
and ensure the implementation of practices which are to be 
used to reduce the pollutants in storm water discharges 
associated with industrial activity at the facility and to assure 
compliance with the terms and conditions of this permit. 
Permittees must implement the provisions of the storm water 
pollution prevention plan as a condition of this permit.  

The storm water pollution prevention plan requirements of 
this permit may be fulfilled by incorporating by reference 
other plans or documents such as an erosion and sediment 
control plan, a spill prevention control and countermeasure 
(SPCC) plan developed for the facility under §311 of the 
Clean Water Act or best management practices (BMP) 
programs otherwise required for the facility provided that the 
incorporated plan meets or exceeds the plan requirements of 
Part II G 4. If an erosion and sediment control plan is being 
incorporated by reference, it shall have been approved by the 
locality in which the activity is to occur or by another 
appropriate plan approving authority authorized under the 
Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control Regulation, 4VAC50-
30. All plans incorporated by reference into the storm water 
pollution prevention plan become enforceable under this 
permit.  

1. Deadlines for plan preparation and compliance.  

a. For a storm water discharge associated with industrial 
activity that is existing on or before the effective date of 
this permit, the storm water pollution prevention plan 
shall be prepared and implemented as expeditiously as 
practicable, but not later than 270 days from the date of 
coverage under this permit. For a facility that was 
covered by the previous permit, a storm water pollution 
prevention plan was required to be developed and 
implemented for that facility. Within 120 days after the 
date of coverage under this permit, the existing storm 
water pollution prevention plan shall be reviewed and 
modified, as appropriate, to conform to the requirements 
of this permit. The existing storm water pollution 
prevention plans shall continue to be implemented until a 
new plan, if required, is developed and implemented.  
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b. The plan for any facility where industrial activity 
commences after the effective date of this permit, and 
except as provided elsewhere in this permit, shall be 
prepared, implemented and provide for compliance with 
the terms of the plan and this permit on or before the date 
of submission of a registration statement to be covered 
under this permit.  

c. In cases where construction is necessary to implement 
measures required by the plan, the plan shall contain a 
schedule that provides compliance with the plan as 
expeditiously as practicable, but no later than three years 
from the date of coverage under this permit. Where a 
construction compliance schedule is included in the plan, 
the schedule shall include appropriate nonstructural 
and/or temporary controls to be implemented in the 
affected portion(s) of the facility prior to completion of 
the permanent control measure.  

2. Signature and plan review.  

a. The plan shall be signed in accordance with Part III K, 
and be retained on-site at the facility covered by this 
permit in accordance with Part III B.  

b. The permittee shall make the storm water pollution 
prevention plan, annual site compliance inspection 
report, or other information available to the department 
upon request.  

c. The director, or his designee, may notify the permittee 
in writing at any time that the plan does not meet one or 
more of the minimum requirements of this part. Such 
notification shall identify those provisions of the permit 
which are not being met by the plan, and identify which 
provisions of the plan require modifications in order to 
meet the minimum requirements of this part. Within 60 
days of such notification from the director, or as 
otherwise provided by the director, the permittee shall 
make the required changes to the plan and shall submit to 
the department a written certification that the requested 
changes have been made.  

3. Keeping plans current. The permittee shall amend the 
plan whenever there is a change in design, construction, 
operation, or maintenance, which has a significant effect 
on the potential for the discharge of pollutants to surface 
waters of the state or if the storm water pollution 
prevention plan proves to be ineffective in eliminating or 
significantly minimizing pollutants from sources identified 
under Part II G 4 b of this permit, or in otherwise achieving 
the general objectives of controlling pollutants in storm 
water discharges associated with industrial activity.  

4. Contents of plan. The plan shall include, at a minimum, 
the following items:  

a. Pollution prevention team. Each plan shall identify a 
specific individual or individuals within the facility 

organization as members of a storm water pollution 
prevention team that are responsible for developing the 
storm water pollution prevention plan and assisting the 
facility or plant manager in its implementation, 
maintenance, and revision. The plan shall clearly identify 
the responsibilities of each team member. The activities 
and responsibilities of the team shall address all aspects 
of the facility's storm water pollution prevention plan.  

b. Description of potential pollutant sources. Each plan 
shall provide a description of potential sources which 
may reasonably be expected to add significant amounts 
of pollutants to storm water discharges or which may 
result in the discharge of pollutants during dry weather 
from separate storm sewers draining the facility. Each 
plan shall identify all activities and significant materials 
which may potentially be significant pollutant sources. 
Each plan shall include, at a minimum:  

(1) Drainage. A site map indicating an outline of the 
portions of the drainage area of each storm water outfall 
that are within the facility boundaries, each existing 
structural control measure to reduce pollutants in storm 
water runoff, surface water bodies, locations where 
significant materials are exposed to precipitation, 
locations where major spills or leaks identified under Part 
II G 4 b (3) have occurred, and the locations of the 
following activities: fueling stations; vehicle and 
equipment maintenance and/or cleaning areas; 
loading/unloading areas; bag house or other dust control 
device, recycle/sedimentation pond, clarifier or other 
device used for the treatment of process wastewater, and 
the areas that drain to the treatment device, locations 
used for the storage or disposal of wastes; liquid storage 
tanks; processing areas; and storage areas. The map must 
indicate the outfall locations and the types of discharges 
contained in the drainage areas of the outfalls; and for 
each area of the facility that generates storm water 
discharges associated with industrial activity with a 
reasonable potential for containing significant amounts of 
pollutants, a prediction of the direction of flow, and an 
identification of the types of pollutants which are likely 
to be present in storm water discharges associated with 
industrial activity. Factors to consider include the toxicity 
of the chemicals; quantity of chemicals used, produced or 
discharged; the likelihood of contact with storm water; 
and history of significant leaks or spills of toxic or 
hazardous pollutants. Flows with a significant potential 
for causing erosion shall be identified.  

(2) Inventory of exposed materials. An inventory of the 
types of materials handled at the site that potentially may 
be exposed to precipitation. Such inventory shall include 
a narrative description of significant materials that have 
been handled, treated, stored or disposed in a manner to 
allow exposure to storm water between the time of three 
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years prior to the date of coverage under this general 
permit and the present; method and location of on-site 
storage or disposal; materials management practices 
employed to minimize contact of materials with storm 
water runoff between the time of three years prior to the 
date of coverage under this general permit and the 
present; the location and a description of existing 
structural and nonstructural control measures to reduce 
pollutants in storm water runoff; and a description of any 
treatment the storm water receives.  

(3) Spills and leaks. A list of significant spills and 
significant leaks of toxic or hazardous pollutants that 
occurred at areas that are exposed to precipitation or that 
otherwise drain to a storm water conveyance at the 
facility after the date of three years prior to the date of 
coverage under this general permit. Such list shall be 
updated as appropriate during the term of the permit.  

(4) Sampling data. A summary of existing discharge 
sampling data describing pollutants in storm water 
discharges from the facility, including a summary of 
sampling data collected during the term of this permit.  

(5) Risk identification and summary of potential 
pollutant sources. A narrative description of the potential 
pollutant sources from the following activities: loading 
and unloading operations; outdoor storage activities; 
outdoor manufacturing or processing activities; 
significant dust or particulate generating processes; and 
on-site waste disposal practices. The description shall 
specifically list any significant potential source of 
pollutants at the site and for each potential source, any 
pollutant or pollutant parameter (e.g., biochemical 
oxygen demand, etc.) of concern shall be identified.  

c. Measures and controls. Each facility covered by this 
permit shall develop a description of storm water 
management controls appropriate for the facility, and 
implement such controls. The appropriateness and 
priorities of controls in a plan shall reflect identified 
potential sources of pollutants at the facility. The 
description of storm water management controls shall 
address the following minimum components, including a 
schedule for implementing such controls:  

(1) Good housekeeping. Good housekeeping requires the 
clean and orderly maintenance of areas that may 
contribute pollutants to storm waters discharges. 
Particular attention should be paid to areas where raw 
materials are stockpiled, material handling areas, storage 
areas, liquid storage tanks and loading/unloading areas. 
The plan shall describe procedures performed to 
minimize the discharge of: spilled cement, aggregate 
(including sand and gravel), fly ash, settled dust, or other 
significant material in storm water from paved portions 
of the site that are exposed to storm water. Regular 
sweeping or other equivalent measures to minimize the 

presence of these materials shall be employed. The 
frequency of sweeping or equivalent measures shall be 
specified in the plan based upon a consideration of the 
amount of industrial activity occurring in the areas and 
the frequency of precipitation, but it shall be a minimum 
of once a week if cement, aggregate, kiln dust, fly ash or 
settled dust are being handled/processed. Where 
practicable, efforts must be made to prevent the exposure 
of fine granular solids (cement, fly ash, etc.) to storm 
water by storing these materials in enclosed 
silos/hoppers, buildings or under other covering. 

(2) Preventive maintenance. A preventive maintenance 
program shall involve timely inspection and maintenance 
of storm water management devices (e.g., cleaning 
oil/water separators, catch basins) inspecting and testing 
facility equipment and systems to uncover conditions that 
could cause breakdowns or failures resulting in 
discharges of pollutants to surface waters, and 
appropriate maintenance of such equipment and systems.  

(3) Spill prevention and response procedures. Areas 
where potential spills which can contribute pollutants to 
storm water discharges can occur, and their 
accompanying drainage points shall be identified clearly 
in the storm water pollution prevention plan. Where 
appropriate, specifying material handling procedures, 
storage requirements, and use of equipment such as 
diversion valves in the plan should be considered. 
Procedures for cleaning up spills shall be identified in the 
plan and made available to the appropriate personnel. 
The necessary equipment to implement a clean up should 
be available to personnel. 

(4) Routine facility inspections. Facility personnel who 
are familiar with the industrial activity, the BMPs and the 
storm water pollution prevention plan shall be identified 
to inspect designated equipment and areas of the facility. 
Inspections shall be conducted while the facility is in 
operation and include, but are not limited to, the 
following areas exposed to storm water: material 
handling areas, above ground storage tanks, hoppers or 
silos, dust collection/containment systems, and truck 
wash down/equipment cleaning areas. The inspection 
frequency shall be specified in the plan based on a 
consideration of the level of industrial activity at the 
facility, but it shall be a minimum of quarterly unless 
more frequent intervals are specified elsewhere in the 
permit. A set of tracking or followup procedures shall be 
used to ensure that appropriate actions are taken in 
response to the inspections. Records of inspections shall 
be maintained with the pollution prevention plan. 

(5) Employee training. Employee training programs shall 
inform personnel responsible for implementing activities 
identified in the storm water pollution prevention plan or 
otherwise responsible for storm water management at all 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 26, 2007 

695 
 

levels of responsibility of the components and goals of 
the storm water pollution prevention plan. Training 
should address topics such as spill response, good 
housekeeping and material management practices. A 
pollution prevention plan shall identify periodic dates for 
such training.  

(6) Recordkeeping and internal reporting procedures. A 
description of incidents such as spills, or other 
discharges, along with other information describing the 
quality and quantity of storm water discharges shall be 
included in the plan. Inspections and maintenance 
activities shall be documented and records of such 
activities shall be incorporated into the plan.  

(7) Sediment and erosion control. The plan shall identify 
areas which, due to topography, activities, or other 
factors, have a high potential for significant soil erosion, 
and identify structural, vegetative, and/or stabilization 
measures to be used to limit erosion. 

(8) Management of runoff. The plan shall contain a 
narrative consideration of the appropriateness of 
traditional storm water management practices (practices 
other than those which control the generation or source(s) 
of pollutants) used to divert, infiltrate, reuse, or otherwise 
manage storm water runoff in a manner that reduces 
pollutants in storm water discharges from the site. The 
plan shall provide that measures that the permittee 
determines to be reasonable and appropriate shall be 
implemented and maintained. The potential of various 
sources at the facility to contribute pollutants to storm 
water discharges associated with industrial activity shall 
be considered when determining reasonable and 
appropriate measures. Appropriate measures may 
include: vegetative swales and practices, reuse of 
collected storm water (such as for a process or as an 
irrigation source), inlet controls (such as oil/water 
separators), snow management activities, infiltration 
devices, wet detention/retention devices; or other 
equivalent measures.  

d. Comprehensive site compliance evaluation. Qualified 
facility personnel who are familiar with the industrial 
activity, the BMPs and the storm water pollution 
prevention plan shall conduct site compliance evaluations 
at appropriate intervals specified in the plan, but, in no 
case less than once a year. Such evaluations shall include 
the following: 

(1) Areas contributing to a storm water discharge 
associated with industrial activity shall be visually 
inspected for evidence of, or the potential for, pollutants 
entering the drainage system. Measures to reduce 
pollutant loadings shall be evaluated to determine 
whether they are adequate and properly implemented in 
accordance with the terms of the permit or whether 

additional control measures are needed. Structural storm 
water management measures, sediment and erosion 
control measures, and other structural pollution 
prevention measures identified in the plan shall be 
observed to ensure that they are operating correctly. A 
visual inspection of equipment needed to implement the 
plan, such as spill response equipment, shall be made.  

(2) Based on the results of the evaluation, the description 
of potential pollutant sources identified in the plan in 
accordance with Part II G 4 b and pollution prevention 
measures and controls identified in the plan in 
accordance with Part II G 4 c shall be revised as 
appropriate within two weeks of such evaluation and 
shall provide for implementation of any changes to the 
plan in a timely manner, but in no case more than 12 
weeks after the evaluation.  

(3) A report summarizing the scope of the inspection, 
personnel making the inspection, the date(s) of the 
inspection, major observations relating to the 
implementation of the storm water pollution prevention 
plan, and actions taken in accordance with Part II G 4 d 
shall be made and retained as part of the storm water 
pollution prevention plan as required in Part III B. The 
report shall identify any incidents of noncompliance. 
Where a report does not identify any incidents of 
noncompliance, the report shall contain a certification 
that the facility is in compliance with the storm water 
pollution prevention plan and this permit. The report 
shall be signed in accordance with Part III K.  

(4) Where compliance evaluation schedules overlap with 
inspections required under Part II G 4 c (4), the 
compliance evaluation may be conducted in place of one 
such inspection.  

5. Special pollution prevention plan requirements:  

a. Additional requirements for storm water discharges 
associated with industrial activity from facilities subject 
to §313 of the Emergency Planning and Community 
Right-to-Know Act of 1986 (EPCRA) reporting 
requirements. Potential pollutant sources for which the 
facility has reporting requirements under EPCRA 313 
must be identified in the summary of potential pollutant 
sources as per Part II G 4 b.  

b. Additional requirements for salt storage. Storage piles 
of salt used for deicing or other commercial or industrial 
purposes must be enclosed or covered to prevent 
exposure to precipitation (except for exposure resulting 
from adding or removing materials from the pile). Piles 
do not need to be enclosed or covered where storm water 
from the pile is not discharged to surface waters or the 
discharges from the piles are authorized under another 
permit.  
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Part III.  

Conditions Applicable To All VPDES Permits.  

A. Monitoring.  

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 
permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.  

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 
approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 
approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 
unless other procedures have been specified in this permit.  

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 
maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 
instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 
measurements.  

B. Records.  

1. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 
measurements;  

b. The individuals who performed the sampling or 
measurements;  

c. The dates and times analyses were performed;  

d. The individuals who performed the analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  

f. The results of such analyses.  

2. Except for records of monitoring information required 
by this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use 
and disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period 
of at least five years, the permittee shall retain (i) records 
of all monitoring information including all calibration and 
maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 
for continuous monitoring instrumentation, (ii) copies of 
all reports required by this permit, and (iii) records of all 
data used to complete the registration statement for this 
permit for a period of at least three years from the date of 
the sample, measurement, report or request for coverage. 
This period of retention shall be extended automatically 
during the course of any unresolved litigation regarding the 
regulated activity or regarding control standards applicable 
to the permittee, or as requested by the board.  

C. Reporting monitoring results.  

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 
required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 
month after monitoring takes place, unless another 
reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 
Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 
regional office.  

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 
Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved 
or specified by the department.  

3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 
addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 
this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 
Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 
specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 
be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 
submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 
department.  

4. Calculations for all limitations which require averaging 
of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 
otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 
to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 
which the board may request to determine whether cause 
exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 
this permit or to determine compliance with this permit. The 
board may require the permittee to furnish, upon request, such 
plans, specifications, and other pertinent information as may 
be necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from his 
discharge on the quality of state waters, or such other 
information as may be necessary to accomplish the purposes 
of the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall also 
furnish to the department upon request copies of records 
required to be kept by this permit.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 
noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 
final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 
this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 
each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 
permit, or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 
unlawful for any person to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 
other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 
properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 
to the public health, or to animal or aquatic life, or to the 
use of such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, 
for recreation, or for other uses.  

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 
discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 
industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious 
substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part III F; 
or who discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may 
reasonably be expected to enter state waters in violation of 
Part III F, shall notify the department of the discharge 
immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 26, 2007 

697 
 

later than 24 hours after said discovery. A written report of 
the unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the 
department, within five days of discovery of the discharge. 
The written report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  

2. The cause of the discharge;  

3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  

4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  

5. The volume of the discharge;  

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 
continue;  

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 
volume of the discharge will be; and  

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 
prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 
discharges not authorized by this permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department under the 
immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 
exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 
unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 
upset should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 
enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 
shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 
department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 
This notification shall provide all available details of the 
incident, including any adverse affects on aquatic life and the 
known number of fish killed. The permittee shall reduce the 
report to writing and shall submit it to the department within 
five days of discovery of the discharge in accordance with 
Part III I 2. Unusual and extraordinary discharges include but 
are not limited to any discharge resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 
indirectly from processing operations;  

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 
treatment works; and  

4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee shall report any 
noncompliance which may adversely affect state waters or 
may endanger public health.  

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 
the time the permittee becomes aware of the 
circumstances. The following shall be included as 
information which shall be reported within 24 hours under 
this subdivision:  

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and  

b. Any upset which causes a discharge to surface waters.  

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 
shall contain:  

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause;  

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 
and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 
corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 
and  

c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 
prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 
basis for reports of noncompliance under Part III I if the 
oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 
adverse impact on state waters has been reported.  

3. The permittee shall report all instances of 
noncompliance not reported under Parts III I 1 or 2, in 
writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 
submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 
in Part III I 2.  

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 
in Parts III G, H and I may be made to the department's 
regional office by telephone or by fax. For reports outside 
normal working hours, leave a message and this shall 
fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. For 
emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 
Services maintains a 24 hour telephone service at 1-800-
468-8892.  

J. Notice of planned changes.  

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 
soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 
additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 
when:  

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 
building, structure, facility, or installation from which 
there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 
construction of which commenced:  

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 
under §306 of Clean Water Act which are applicable to 
such source; or  

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 
accordance with §306 of Clean Water Act which are 
applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 
promulgated in accordance with §306 within 120 days of 
their proposal;  

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 
the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 
discharged. This notification applies to pollutants which 
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are subject neither to effluent limitations nor to 
notification requirements specified elsewhere in this 
permit; or  

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant 
change in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, 
and such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 
application of permit conditions that are different from or 
absent in the existing permit, including notification of 
additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 
permit application process or not reported pursuant to an 
approved land application plan.  

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 
department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 
or activity which may result in noncompliance with permit 
requirements.  

K. Signatory requirements.  

1. Registration statements. All registration statements shall 
be signed as follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 
For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 
officer means (i) president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-
president of the corporation in charge of a principal 
business function, or any other person who performs 
similar policy- or decision-making functions for the 
corporation or (ii) the manager of one or more 
manufacturing, production, or operating facilities 
provided the manager is authorized to make management 
decisions that govern the operation of the regulated 
facility including having the explicit or implicit duty of 
making major capital investment recommendations, and 
initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 
assure long-term environmental compliance with 
environmental laws and regulations; the manager can 
ensure that the necessary systems are established or 
actions taken to gather complete and accurate 
information for permit application requirements; and 
where if authority to sign documents has been assigned 
or delegated to the manager in accordance with corporate 
procedures;  

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 
partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 
agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 
elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 
executive officer of a public agency includes (i) the chief 
executive officer of the agency or (ii) a senior executive 
officer having responsibility for the overall operations of 
a principal geographic unit of the agency.  

2. Reports, etc. All reports required by permits, and other 
information requested by the board shall be signed by a 
person described in Part III K 1, or by a duly authorized 

representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized 
representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 
described in Part III K 1;  

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 
position having responsibility for the overall operation of 
the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 
plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 
superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 
an individual or position having overall responsibility for 
environmental matters for the company. A duly 
authorized representative may thus be either a named 
individual or any individual occupying a named position; 
and  

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 
department.  

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 
III K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 
or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 
the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 
of Part III K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 
or together with any reports, or information to be signed by 
an authorized representative.  

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under 
Parts III K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 
that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 
information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person 
or persons who manage the system, or those persons 
directly responsible for gathering the information, the 
information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and 
belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 
are significant penalties for submitting false information, 
including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 
knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 
conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 
constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 
Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 
provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the 
State Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 
noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 
termination, revocation and reissuance, or modification; or 
denial of a permit renewal application.  

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 
prohibitions established under §307(a) of the Clean Water 
Act for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge 
use or disposal established under §405(d) of the Clean Water 
Act within the time provided in the regulations that establish 
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these standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge 
use or disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified 
to incorporate the requirement.  

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 
activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 
this permit, the permittee shall apply for and obtain a new 
permit. All permittees with a currently effective permit shall 
submit a new application at least 180 days before the 
expiration date of the existing permit, unless permission for a 
later date has been granted by the board. The board shall not 
grant permission for applications to be submitted later than 
the expiration date of the existing permit.  

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 
property rights in either real or personal property or any 
exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 
private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 
infringement of federal, state or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 
preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 
the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 
established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 
under authority preserved by §510 of the Clean Water Act. 
Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypassing" (Part 
III U), and "upset" (Part III V) nothing in this permit shall be 
construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 
penalties for noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 
permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 
legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 
liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 
subject under §§62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 
State Water Control Law.  

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 
all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 
systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 
which are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 
compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper 
operation and maintenance also includes effective plant 
performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 
adequate laboratory and process controls, including 
appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 
requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 
similar systems which are installed by the permittee only 
when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with 
the conditions of this permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges or other 
pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 
of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 
any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 
steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit which has a reasonable 
likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 
environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 
be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 
would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 
activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 
of this permit.  

U. Bypass.  

1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste 
streams from any portion of a treatment facility. The 
permittee may allow any bypass to occur which does not 
cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also 
is for essential maintenance to assure efficient operation. 
These bypasses are not subject to the provisions of Parts III 
U 2 and U 3.  

2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 
of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, 
if possible at least 10 days before the date of the bypass.  

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 
notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part III I.  

3. Prohibition of bypass.  

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 
enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 
unless:  

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 
personal injury, or severe property damage;  

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 
such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 
of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 
periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 
satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 
been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 
judgment to prevent a bypass which occurred during 
normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 
maintenance; and  

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 
Part III U 2.  

b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 
considering its adverse effects, if the board determines 
that it will meet the three conditions listed above in Part 
III U 3 a.  

V. Upset.  

1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 
brought for noncompliance with technology based permit 
effluent limitations if the requirements of Part III V 2 are 
met. A determination made during administrative review of 
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claims that noncompliance was caused by upset, and 
before an action for noncompliance, is not a final 
administrative action subject to judicial review.  

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 
defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly 
signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant 
evidence that:  

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 
the causes of the upset;  

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 
operated;  

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 
in Part III I; and  

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 
required under Part III S.  

3. In any enforcement proceeding the permittee seeking to 
establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 
proof.  

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 
director, or his designee, upon presentation of credentials and 
other documents as may be required by law, to:  

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 
facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 
records must be kept under the conditions of this permit;  

2. Have access to and copy at reasonable times any records 
that must be kept under the conditions of this permit;  

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 
(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 
operations regulated or required under this permit; and  

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 
of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 
by the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, 
any substances or parameters at any location.  

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 
deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and 
whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 
herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 
emergency.  

X. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 
reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a request by 
the permittee for a permit modification, revocation and 
reissuance, or termination, or a notification of planned 
changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay any 
permit condition.  

Y. Transfer of permits.  

1. Permits are not transferable to any person except after 
notice to the department. Except as provided in Part III Y 
2, a permit may be transferred by the permittee to a new 

owner or operator only if the permit has been modified or 
revoked and reissued, or a minor modification made, to 
identify the new permittee and incorporate such other 
requirements as may be necessary under the State Water 
Control Law and the Clean Water Act.  

2. As an alternative to transfers under Part III Y 1, this 
permit may be automatically transferred to a new permittee 
if:  

a. The current permittee notifies the department at least 
30 days in advance of the proposed transfer of the title to 
the facility or property;  

b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 
existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 
transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 
between them; and  

c. The board does not notify the existing permittee and 
the proposed new permittee of its intent to modify or 
revoke and reissue the permit. If this notice is not 
received, the transfer is effective on the date specified in 
the agreement mentioned in Part III Y 2 b.  

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 
and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 
provision of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, 
the application of such provision to other circumstances, and 
the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-33; Filed November 7, 2007, 9:51 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board has 
claimed an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with §2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 
where no agency discretion is involved. The State Water 
Control Board will receive, consider and respond to petitions 
by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC25-20. Fees for Permits and 
Certificates (amending 9VAC25-20-10, 9VAC25-20-20, 
9VAC25-20-40, 9VAC25-20-50, 9VAC25-20-60, 9VAC25-
20-90, 9VAC25-20-100, 9VAC25-20-110, 9VAC25-20-120, 
9VAC25-20-130; adding 9VAC25-20-146, 9VAC25-20-
147, 9VAC25-20-148, 9VAC25-20-149; repealing 
9VAC25-20-30). 
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9VAC25-31. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System (VPDES) Permit Regulation (amending 9VAC25-
31-100, 9VAC25-31-220, 9VAC25-31-290, 9VAC25-31-
460; adding 9VAC25-31-475, 9VAC25-31-485, 9VAC25-
31-505). 

9VAC25-32. Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) Permit 
Regulation (amending 9VAC25-32-40, 9VAC25-32-60, 
9VAC25-32-80, 9VAC25-32-100, 9VAC25-32-140, 
9VAC25-32-210, 9VAC25-32-220, 9VAC25-32-240, 
9VAC25-32-300; adding 9VAC25-32-310, 9VAC25-32-
320, 9VAC25-32-330, 9VAC25-32-340, 9VAC25-32-350, 
9VAC25-32-355, 9VAC25-32-360, 9VAC25-32-370, 
9VAC25-32-380, 9VAC25-32-390, 9VAC25-32-400, 
9VAC25-32-410, 9VAC25-32-420, 9VAC25-32-430, 
9VAC25-32-440, 9VAC25-32-450, 9VAC25-32-460, 
9VAC25-32-470, 9VAC25-32-480, 9VAC25-32-490, 
9VAC25-32-500, 9VAC25-32-510, 9VAC25-32-520, 
9VAC25-32-530, 9VAC25-32-540, 9VAC25-32-550, 
9VAC25-32-560, 9VAC25-32-570, 9VAC25-32-580, 
9VAC25-32-590, 9VAC25-32-600, 9VAC25-32-610, 
9VAC25-32-620, 9VAC25-32-630, 9VAC25-32-640, 
9VAC25-32-650, 9VAC25-32-660, 9VAC25-32-670, 
9VAC25-32-680, 9VAC25-32-690, 9VAC25-32-700, 
9VAC25-32-710, 9VAC25-32-720, 9VAC25-32-730, 
9VAC25-32-740, 9VAC25-32-750, 9VAC25-32-760). 

9VAC25-790. Sewage Collection and Treatment 
Regulations (amending 9VAC25-790-10, 9VAC25-790-50, 
9VAC25-790-60, 9VAC25-790-120, 9VAC25-790-130, 
9VAC25-790-150, 9VAC25-790-180, 9VAC25-790-200, 
9VAC25-790-240, 9VAC25-790-540, 9VAC25-790-550, 
9VAC25-790-570, 9VAC25-790-580, 9VAC25-790-590, 
9VAC25-790-600, 9VAC25-790-660, 9VAC25-790-880). 

Statutory Authority: §62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Brian Cauthorn, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 804-698-4592, FAX 804-
698-4416, or email bacauthorn@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments reflect changes to §62.1-44.19:3 of the 
Code of Virginia as amended by the 2007 Acts of Assembly 
and the 2005 Acts of Assembly. 

The amendments conform the regulations with the 
legislative actions that transferred oversight of the 
regulatory program pertaining to biosolids from the 
Virginia Department of Health to the Virginia Department 
of Environmental Quality.  The legislation required other 
regulatory changes pertaining to land application of 
biosolids and required changes to the Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System Permit Regulation that were 
not made prior to the date of this regulatory action. 

The Department of Health administered the permitting 
program for biosolids with the Biosolids Use Regulation 
(12VAC5-585).  This is a comprehensive regulation that 
covers permitting requirements for land application, 
technical requirements for treatment, handling and 
storage, and procedures for the collection of established 
fees.  As the State Water Control Board administers 
separate regulations that address these topics, the transfer 
of regulatory requirements was accomplished by 
transferring language from the Department of Health into 
the State Water Control Board regulations as appropriate. 

9VAC25-20-10. Definitions.  

Unless otherwise defined in this chapter or unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise, the terms used in this 
regulation shall have the meanings ascribed to them by the 
State Water Control Law, §62.1-44.3; the board's Virginia 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit Regulation, 
9VAC25-31-10; the board's Virginia Pollution Abatement 
Permit Regulation, 9VAC25-32-10; the board's Virginia 
Water Protection Permit Program Regulation, 9VAC25-210-
10; the board's Surface Water Management Area Regulation, 
9VAC25-220-10; and the board's Ground Water Withdrawal 
Regulations, 9VAC25-610-10, including any general permits 
issued thereunder.  

"Applicant" means for the purposes of this chapter any 
person filing an application for issuance, reissuance, or 
modification, except as exempted by 9VAC25-20-50, of a 
permit, certificate or special exception or filing a registration 
statement or application for coverage under a general permit 
issued in response to Chapters 3.1 (§62.1-44.2 et seq.), 24 
(§62.1-242 et seq.), and 25 (§62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

"Application" means for the purposes of this chapter the 
forms approved by the State Water Control Board for 
applying for issuance or reissuance of a permit, certificate or 
special exception or for filing a registration statement or 
application for coverage under a general permit issued in 
response to Chapters 3.1, 24, and 25 of Title 62.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. In the case of modifications to an existing permit, 
permit authorization, certificate or special exception 
requested by the permit, permit authorization, certificate or 
special exception holder and not exempted by 9VAC25-20-
50, the application shall consist of the formal written request 
and any accompanying documentation submitted by the 
permit, permit authorization, certificate or special exception 
holder to initiate the modification.  

"Biosolids" means a sewage sludge that has received an 
established treatment for required pathogen control and is 
treated or managed to reduce vector attraction to a 
satisfactory level and contains acceptable levels of pollutants, 
such that it is acceptable for use for land application, 
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marketing or distribution in accordance with 9VAC25-31 or 
9VAC25-32.  

"Dry tons" means dry weight established as representative of 
land applied biosolids and expressed in units of English tons.  

"Existing permit" means for the purposes of this chapter a 
permit, permit authorization, certificate or special exception 
issued by the board and currently held by an applicant.  

"Established fees" means a fee established by the 
department per dry ton of biosolids managed by land appliers.  

"Land application" means the distribution of either treated 
wastewater of acceptable quality, referred to as effluent, or 
stabilized sewage sludge of acceptable quality, referred to as 
biosolids, upon, or insertion into, the land with a uniform 
application rate for the purpose of utilization, or assimilation. 
Bulk disposal of stabilized sludge in a confined area, such as 
in landfills, is not land application. Sites approved for land 
application of biosolids in accordance with 9VAC25-31 or 
9VAC25-32 are not to be considered to be treatment works.  

"Land applier" means someone who land applies biosolids 
pursuant to a valid permit from the department as set forth in 
9VAC25-31 or 9VAC25-32.  

"Local monitor" means a person or persons employed by 
local government to perform the duties of monitoring the 
operations of land appliers pursuant to a local ordinance.  

"Major modification" means for the purposes of this chapter 
modification or amendment of an existing permit, permit 
authorization, certificate or special exception before its 
expiration which is not a minor modification as defined in 
this regulation.  

"Major reservoir" means for the purposes of this chapter any 
new or expanded reservoir with greater than or equal to 17 
acres of total surface water impacts (stream and wetlands), or 
a water withdrawal of greater than or equal to 3,000,000 
gallons in any one day.  

"Minor modification" means for the purposes of this chapter 
minor modification or amendment of an existing permit, 
permit authorization, certificate or special exception before its 
expiration as specified in 9VAC25-31-400, 9VAC25-32-240, 
9VAC25-210-210, 9VAC25-220-230, or in 9VAC25-610-
330. Minor modification for the purposes of this chapter also 
means other modifications and amendments not requiring 
extensive review and evaluation including, but not limited to, 
changes in EPA promulgated test protocols, increasing 
monitoring frequency requirements, changes in sampling 
locations, and changes to compliance dates within the overall 
compliance schedules. A minor permit modification or 
amendment does not substantially alter permit conditions, 
substantially increase or decrease the amount of surface water 
impacts, increase the size of the operation, or reduce the 
capacity of the facility to protect human health or the 
environment.  

"Minor reservoir" means for the purposes of this chapter any 
new or expanded reservoir with less than 17 acres of total 
surface water impacts (stream and wetlands), or a water 
withdrawal of less than 3,000,000 gallons in any one day.  

"New permit" means for the purposes of this chapter a 
permit, permit authorization, certificate or special exception 
issued by the board to an applicant that does not currently 
hold and has never held a permit, permit authorization, 
certificate or special exception of that type, for that activity, 
at that location.  

"Reimbursement application" means forms approved by the 
department to be used to apply for reimbursement of local 
monitoring costs for land application of biosolids in 
accordance with the provisions of this regulation. The 
application shall consist of a formal written request and any 
accompanying documentation submitted by a local 
government in accordance with a local ordinance.  

"Revoked permit" means for the purposes of this chapter an 
existing permit, permit authorization, certificate or special 
exception which is terminated by the board before its 
expiration.  

"Single jurisdiction" means for the purposes of this chapter a 
single county or city. The term county includes incorporated 
towns which are part of the county.  

9VAC25-20-20. Purpose.  

Section 62.1-44.15:6 of the Code of Virginia requires the 
promulgation of regulations establishing a fee assessment and 
collection system to recover a portion of the State Water 
Control Board's, Department of Game and Inland Fisheries', 
and the Department of Conservation and Recreation's direct 
and indirect costs associated with the processing of an 
application to issue, reissue, or modify any permit, permit 
authorization or certificate which the board has the authority 
to issue from the applicant for such permit, permit 
authorization or certificate. Section 62.1-44.19:3 of the Code 
of Virginia requires the promulgation of regulations 
establishing a fee to be charged to all permit holders and 
persons applying for permits and permit modifications 
associated with land application of sewage sludge.  Section 
62.1-44.19:3 of the Code of Virginia also requires the 
promulgation of regulations requiring the payment of a fee by 
persons land applying sewage sludge. These regulations 
establish the required fee assessment and collection system.  

9VAC25-20-30. Authority. (Repealed.) 

The authority for this chapter is pursuant to §§62.1-44.15(7) 
and (10) and 62.1-44.15:6 of the Code of Virginia. 

9VAC25-20-40. Applicability.  

A. This chapter applies to:  

1. All applicants for issuance of a new permit, permit 
authorization or certificate, or reissuance of an existing 
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permit, permit authorization or certificate, except as 
specifically exempt under 9VAC25-20-50 A. The fee due 
shall be as specified under 9VAC25-20-110 or 9VAC25-
20-130.  

2. All permit, permit authorization or certificate holders 
who request that an existing permit, permit authorization or 
certificate be modified, except as specifically exempt under 
9VAC25-20-50 A 3 or 9VAC25-20-50 A 6. The fee due 
shall be as specified under 9VAC25-20-120.  

3. All land appliers land applying biosolids on permitted 
sites in the Commonwealth of Virginia, except as 
specifically exempt under 9VAC25-20-50 C. The fee due 
shall be as specified under 9VAC25-20-146. 

B. An applicant for a permit, permit authorization or 
certificate involving a permit that is to be revoked and 
reissued shall be considered an applicant for a new permit. 
The fee due shall be as specified under 9VAC25-20-110.  

C. Permit maintenance fees apply to each Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) permit holder and 
each Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) permit holder, 
except those specifically exempt under 9VAC25-20-50 B of 
this chapter. The fee due shall be as specified under 9VAC25-
20-142.  

D. Virginia Water Protection (VWP) Individual/Minimum 
Instream Flow permit fees apply to any permit for the 
construction of an intake on a stream or river, or to any permit 
for the construction of a new intake on an existing reservoir. 
The fee due shall be as specified under 9VAC25-20-110 or 
9VAC25-20-120, as applicable.  

E. VWP Individual/Reservoir permit fees apply to any 
permit for the construction of a new reservoir, or the 
expansion of an existing reservoir in which one of the 
purposes of the reservoir is for water supply. The fee due 
shall be as specified under 9VAC25-20-110 or 9VAC25-20-
120, as applicable. VWP Individual/Reservoir permit fees do 
not apply to the construction of any impoundment, pond or 
lake in which water supply is not part of the project's purpose.  

9VAC25-20-50. Exemptions.  

A. No permit application fees will be assessed to:  

1. An applicant for a permit, permit authorization, 
certificate or special exception pertaining to a farming 
operation engaged in production for market.  

2. An applicant for a permit, permit authorization, or 
certificate pertaining to maintenance dredging for federal 
navigation channels or other U.S. Army Corps of 
Engineers-sponsored dredging projects.  

3. Permit holders who request minor modifications or 
minor amendments to permits, permit authorizations or 
certificates as defined in 9VAC25-20-10.  

4. Permit, permit authorization or certificate holders whose 
permits, permit authorizations or certificates are modified 
or amended at the initiative of the board.  

5. VPDES permit holders or VPA permit holders for the 
regularly scheduled renewal of an individual permit for an 
existing facility, except VPDES and VPA permit holders 
whose permits expire on or before December 27, 2004.  

6. An applicant for a permit, permit authorization, permit 
modification, or certificate pertaining solely to biosolids 
research. 

B. No permit maintenance fees will be assessed to:  

1. VPDES and VPA facilities operating under a general 
permit.  

2. Permits pertaining to a farming operation engaged in 
production for market.  

3. Virginia Water Protection (VWP), Surface Water 
Withdrawal (SWW), and Ground Water Withdrawal 
(GWW) permits, permit authorizations, certificates and 
special exceptions.  

4. Permits pertaining solely to biosolids research. 

C. No fee shall be imposed on the land application of 
materials classified as "exceptional quality biosolids" or the 
equivalent thereof, as defined by 9VAC25-32. 

Part II 

Payment, Deposits and Use of Fees 

9VAC25-20-60. Due dates.  

A. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(VPDES) and Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) permits.  

1. Application fees for all new permit applications are due 
on the day an application is submitted and shall be paid in 
accordance with 9VAC25-20-70 A. Applications will not 
be processed without payment of the required fee.  

2. For reissuance of permits that expire on or before 
December 27, 2004, the application fee for new permit 
applications as set forth in this regulation is due on the day 
the application is submitted.  

3. An application fee is due on the day an application is 
submitted for either a major modification or a permit 
reissuance that occurs (and becomes effective) before the 
stated permit expiration date. There is no application fee 
for a regularly scheduled renewal of an individual permit 
for an existing facility, unless the permit for the facility 
expires on or before December 27, 2004. There is no 
application fee for a major modification or amendment that 
is made at the board's initiative.  

4. Permit maintenance fees shall be paid to the board by 
October 1 of each year. Additional permit maintenance 
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fees for facilities in a toxics management program, and for 
facilities that have more than five process wastewater 
discharge outfalls at a single facility (not including 
"internal" outfalls) shall also be paid to the board by 
October 1 of each year. No permit will be reissued or 
automatically continued without payment of the required 
fee.  

a. Existing individual permit holders with an effective 
permit as of July 1, 2004, (including permits that have 
been administratively continued) shall pay the permit 
maintenance fee or fees to the board by October 1, 2004, 
unless one of the following conditions apply:  

(1) The permit is terminated prior to October 1, 2004; or  

(2) The permit holder applied or reapplied for a 
municipal minor VPDES permit with a design flow of 
10,000 gallons per day or less between July 1, 2003, and 
July 1, 2004, and paid the applicable permit application 
fee.  

b. Effective April 1, 2005, any permit holder whose 
permit is effective as of April 1 of a given year 
(including permits that have been administratively 
continued) shall pay the permit maintenance fee or fees 
to the board by October 1 of that same year.  

B. Surface Water Withdrawal (SWW), and Ground Water 
Withdrawal (GWW) permits.  

1. All permit application fees are due on the day an 
application is submitted and shall be paid in accordance 
with 9VAC25-20-70 A. Applications will not be processed 
without payment of the required fee. No permit will be 
automatically continued without payment of the required 
fee.  

2. For reissuance of GWW permits that expire on or before 
March 27, 2005, the application fee for new permit 
applications as set forth in this regulation is due on the day 
the application is submitted.  

3. Application fees for major modifications or amendments 
are due on the day an application is submitted. 
Applications will not be processed without payment of the 
required fee. There is no fee for a major modification or 
amendment that is made at the board's initiative.  

C. Virginia Water Protection (VWP) permits.  

1. VWP permit application fees shall be paid in accordance 
with 9VAC25-20-70 A. Review of applications may be 
initiated before the fee is received; however, draft permits 
or authorizations shall not be issued prior to payment of the 
required fee. No permit or permit authorization shall be 
automatically continued without payment of the required 
fee.  

2. VWP application fees for major modifications shall be 
paid in accordance with 9VAC25-20-70 A. Review of 

applications may be initiated before the fee is received; 
however, major modifications shall not be issued prior to 
payment of the required fee. There is no application fee for 
a major modification that is made at the board's initiative.  

D.  Sewage sludge land application fees. Except as specified 
in this regulation, all fees are due on the day specified by the 
department. Payment of the fee shall be made by land appliers 
following notification by the department of the fee due. No 
permit or modification of an existing permit will be approved 
in the jurisdiction where payment of the established fee by the 
land applier has not been received by the due date, until such 
time that the fees are paid in full. Existing permits may be 
revoked or approved sources may be reclassified as 
unapproved unless the required fee is paid within 60 days of 
the notification by the department of the fee due. 

9VAC25-20-90. Deposit and use of fees.  

A.  Sludge Management Fund. All sewage sludge land 
application fees collected from permit holders who land apply 
sewage sludge in the Commonwealth of Virginia, and fees 
collected from permit holders and persons applying for 
permits and permit modifications pursuant to §62.1-44.19:3 
of the Code of Virginia shall be deposited into the Sludge 
Management Fund established by, and used and accounted for 
as specified in §62.1-44.19:3 of the Code of Virginia. 
Payments to the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
for their costs related to implementation of the sewage sludge 
land application program and to localities with duly adopted 
ordinances providing for the testing and monitoring of the 
land application of sewage sludge will be made from this 
fund.  Fees collected shall be exempt from statewide indirect 
costs charged and collected by the Department of Accounts 
and shall not supplant or reduce the general fund 
appropriation to the department. 

B.  State Water Control Board Permit Program Fund. All 
fees collected in response to this chapter and not deposited 
into the Sludge Management Fund shall be deposited into the 
State Water Control Board Permit Program Fund established 
by, and used and accounted for as specified in §62.1-44.15:7 
of the Code of Virginia. Payment to the Departments of 
Conservation and Recreation and Game and Inland Fisheries 
for permit applications they are required under state law to 
review will be made from this fund. Fees collected shall be 
exempt from statewide indirect costs charged and collected 
by the Department of Accounts.  

Part III  

Determination of Fee Amount 

9VAC25-20-100. General.  

Each application for a new permit, permit authorization or 
certificate, each application for reissuance of a permit, permit 
authorization or certificate, each application for major 
modification of a permit, permit authorization or certificate, 
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and each revocation and reissuance of a permit, permit 
authorization or certificate, and each application of a dry ton 
of sewage sludge is a separate action and shall be assessed a 
separate fee, as applicable. The fees for each type of permit, 
permit authorization or certificate that the board has the 
authority to issue, reissue or modify will be as specified in 
this part.  

9VAC25-20-110. Fee schedules for individual VPDES and 
VPA new permit issuance, and individual VWP, SWW 
and GWW new permit issuance and existing permit 
reissuance.  

A. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(VPDES) permits. The following fee schedules apply to 
applications for issuance of a new individual VPDES permit 
or certificate. (Note: All flows listed in the table below are 
facility "design" flows.)  

VPDES Industrial Major $24,000 

VPDES Municipal Major $21,300 

VPDES Municipal Major 
Stormwater/MS4 $21,300 

VPDES Industrial Minor/No Standard 
Limits $10,200 

VPDES Industrial Minor/Standard 
Limits $3,300 

VPDES Industrial Stormwater $7,200 

VPDES Municipal Minor/Greater Than 
100,000 GPD  $7,500 

VPDES Municipal Minor/ 10,001 
GPD- 100,000 GPD $6,000 

VPDES Municipal Minor/ 1,001 GPD-
10,000 GPD  $5,400 

VPDES Municipal Minor/1,000 GPD 
or less $2,000 

VPDES Municipal Minor/1,000 GPD 
or less that includes authorization for 
land application or land disposal of 
sewage sludge $5,000 

VPDES Municipal Minor 
Stormwater/MS4 $2,000 

For a new VPDES permit that includes authorization for 
land application or land disposal of sewage sludge, $5,000 of 
the fee will be deposited into the Sludge Management Fund. 

B. Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) permits. The 
following fee schedules apply to applications for issuance of a 
new individual VPA permit or certificate. (Note: Land 

application rates listed in the table below are facility "design" 
rates.)  

VPA Concentrated Animal Feeding 
Operation (Reserved) 

VPA Intensified Animal Feeding 
Operation (Reserved) 

VPA Industrial Wastewater 
Operation/Land Application of 10 or 
More Inches Per Year $15,000 

VPA Industrial Wastewater 
Operation/Land Application of Less 
Than 10 Inches Per Year $10,500 

VPA Industrial Sludge Operation $7,500 

VPA Municipal Wastewater 
Operation $13,500 

VPA Municipal Sludge Operation $7,500 
$5,000 

All other operations not specified 
above $750 

C. Virginia Water Protection (VWP) permits. The following 
fee schedules apply to applications for issuance of a new 
individual and reissuance of an existing individual VWP 
permit or certificate. Only one permit application fee shall be 
assessed per application; for a permit application involving 
more than one of the operations described below, the 
governing fee shall be based upon the primary purpose of the 
proposed activity. (Note: Withdrawal amounts shown in the 
table below are maximum daily withdrawals.)  

VWP Individual/Surface Water 
Impacts (Wetlands, Streams 
and/or Open Water) 

$2,400 plus $220 
for each 4,356 sq. 
ft. (1/10 acre) (or 
portion thereof) 
of incremental 
impact over 
87,120 sq. ft. 
(two acres) 
($60,000 
maximum) 

VWP Individual/Minimum 
Instream Flow - Withdrawals 
equal to or greater than 
3,000,000 gallons on any day 

$25,000 

VWP Individual/Minimum 
Instream Flow - Withdrawals 
between 2,000,000 and 
2,999,999 gallons on any day 

$20,000 
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VWP Individual/Minimum 
Instream Flow - Withdrawals 
between 1,000,000 and 
1,999,999  gallons on any day 

$15,000 

VWP Individual/Minimum 
Instream Flow - Withdrawals 
less than 1,000,000 gallons on 
any day that do not otherwise 
qualify for a general VWP 
permit for water withdrawals 

$10,000 

VWP Individual/Reservoir - 
Major $35,000 

VWP Individual/Reservoir - 
Minor $25,000 

VWP Individual/Nonmetallic 
Mineral Mining 

$2,400 plus $220 
for each 4,356 sq. 
ft. (1/10 acre) (or 
portion thereof) 
of incremental 
impact over 
87,120 sq. ft. 
(two acres) 
($7,500 
maximum) 

D. Surface Water Withdrawal (SWW) permits or certificates 
issued in response to Chapter 24 (§62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 
62.1 of the Code of Virginia. The following fee schedules 
apply to applications for issuance of a new individual, and 
reissuance of an existing individual SWW permit or 
certificate.  

Agricultural withdrawal not 
exceeding 150 million gallons in any 
single month (Reserved) 

Agricultural withdrawal greater than 
150 million gallons but less than 300 
million gallons in any single month  (Reserved) 

Agricultural withdrawal of 300 
million gallons or greater in any 
single month (Reserved) 

Surface Water Withdrawal $12,000 

E. Ground Water Withdrawal (GWW) Permits issued in 
response to Chapter 25 (§62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. The following fee schedules apply to 
applications for issuance of a new individual, and reissuance 
of an existing individual GWW permit or certificate.  

Agricultural withdrawal not 
exceeding 150 million gallons in any 
single month  (Reserved) 

Agricultural withdrawal greater than 
150 million gallons but less than 300 
million gallons in any single month  (Reserved) 

Agricultural withdrawal of 300 
million gallons or greater in any 
single month (Reserved) 

Ground Water Withdrawal/Initial 
Permit for an Existing Withdrawal 
Based Solely on Historic Withdrawals $1,200 

Ground Water Withdrawal $6,000 

9VAC25-20-120. Fee schedules for major modification of 
individual permits or certificates requested by the permit 
or certificate holder.  

The following fee schedules apply to applications for major 
modification of an individual permit or certificate requested 
by the permit or certificate holder:  

1. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(VPDES) permits. The application fees listed in the table 
below apply to a major modification that occurs (and 
becomes effective) before the stated permit expiration date. 
(Note: All flows listed in the table below are facility 
"design" flows.)  
VPDES Industrial Major $12,000

VPDES Municipal Major $10,650

VPDES Municipal Major 
Stormwater/MS4 

$5,150

VPDES Industrial Minor/No Standard 
Limits 

$5,100

VPDES Industrial Minor/Standard 
Limits 

$3,300

VPDES Industrial Stormwater $3,600

VPDES Municipal Minor/Greater 
Than 100,000 GPD 

$3,750

VPDES Municipal Minor/10,001 
GPD - 100,000 GPD 

$3,000

VPDES Municipal Minor/1,001 GPD 
-10,000 GPD 

$2,700

VPDES Municipal Minor/1,000 GPD 
or Less 

$1,000

VPDES Municipal Minor 
Stormwater/MS4 

$1,000
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The fee for modification of a VPDES permit due to changes 
relating to authorization for land application or land disposal 
of sewage sludge shall be $1,000. 

2. Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) permits. The 
application fees listed in the table below apply to a major 
modification that occurs (and becomes effective) before 
the stated permit expiration date. (Note: Land application 
rates listed in the table below are facility "design" rates.)  
VPA Concentrated Animal 
Feeding Operation 

(Reserved) 

VPA Intensified Animal 
Feeding Operation 

(Reserved) 

VPA Industrial Wastewater 
Operation/Land Application 
of 10 or More Inches Per 
Year 

$7,500 

VPA Industrial Wastewater 
Operation/Land Application 
of Less Than 10 Inches Per 
Year 

$5,250 

VPA Industrial Sludge 
Operation 

$3,750 

VPA Municipal Wastewater 
Operation 

$6,750 

VPA Municipal Sludge 
Operation 

$3,750 $1,000 

All other operations not 
specified above 

$375 

3. Virginia Water Protection (VWP) permits. (Note: Only 
one permit application fee shall be assessed per 
application; for a permit application involving more than 
one of the operations described below, the governing fee 
shall be based upon the primary purpose of the proposed 
activity.)  

VWP Individual/Surface 
Water Impacts (Wetlands, 
Streams and/or Open Water) 

$1,200 plus $110 for 
each 4,356 sq. ft. 
(1/10 acre) (or portion 
thereof) of 
incremental impact 
over 87,120 sq. ft. 
(two acres) ($30,000 
maximum) 

VWP Individual/Minimum 
Instream Flow $5,000 

VWP Individual/Reservoir 
(Major or Minor) $12,500 

VWP 
Individual/Nonmetallic 
Mineral Mining 

$1,200 plus $110 for 
each 4,356 sq. ft. 
(1/10 acre) (or portion 
thereof) of 
incremental impact 
over 87,120 sq. ft. 
(two acres) 
($3,750 maximum) 

4. Surface Water Withdrawal (SWW) permits or 
certificates issued in response to Chapter 24 (§62.1-242 et 
seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

 
Agricultural withdrawal not 
exceeding 150 million 
gallons in any single month 

(Reserved) 

Agricultural withdrawal 
greater than 150 million 
gallons but less than 300 
million gallons in any single 
month 

(Reserved) 

Agricultural withdrawal of 
300 million gallons or 
greater in any single month 

(Reserved) 

Surface Water Withdrawal $6,000 

5. Ground Water Withdrawal (GWW) Permits issued in 
response to Chapter 25 (§62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of 
the Code of Virginia.  
Agricultural withdrawal not 
exceeding 150 million 
gallons in any single month 

(Reserved) 

Agricultural withdrawal 
greater than 150 million 
gallons but less than 300 
million gallons in any single 
month 

(Reserved) 

Agricultural withdrawal of 
300 million gallons or 
greater in any single month 

(Reserved) 

Ground Water 
Withdrawal/Initial Permit 
for an Existing Withdrawal 
Based Solely on Historic 
Withdrawals 

$600 

Ground Water Withdrawal $3,000 
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9VAC25-20-130. Fees for filing registration statements or 
applications for general permits issued by the board.  

The following fees apply to filing of applications or 
registration statements for all general permits issued by the 
board, except:  

1. The fee for filing a registration statement for coverage 
under 9VAC25-110 (General VPDES Permit for Domestic 
Sewage Discharges of Less Than or Equal to 1,000 GPD) 
is $0.  

2. The fee for filing a registration statement for coverage 
under 9VAC25-120 (General VPDES Permit Regulation 
for Discharges From Petroleum Contaminated Sites) is $0.  

3. The fee for filing an application or registration statement 
for coverage under a VWP General Permit issued by the 
board shall be:  
VWP General/Less Than 4,356 sq. 
ft. (1/10 acre) of Surface Water 
Impact (Wetlands, Streams and/or 
Open Water) 

$0 

VWP General/4,356 sq. ft. to 
21,780 sq. ft. (1/10 acre to 1/2 acre) 
of Surface Water Impact 
(Wetlands, Streams and/or Open 
Water) 

$600 

VWP General/21,781 sq. ft. to 
43,560 sq. ft. (greater than 1/2 acre 
to one acre) of Surface Water 
Impact (Wetlands, Streams and/or 
Open Water) 

$1,200 

VWP General/43,561 sq. ft. to 
87,120 sq. ft. (greater than one acre 
to two acres) of Surface Water 
Impact (Wetlands, Streams and/or 
Open Water) 

$1,200 plus 
$120 for each 
4,356 sq. ft. 
(1/10 acre) (or 
portion 
thereof) of 
incremental 
impact over 
43,560 sq. ft. 
(one acre) 
($2,400 
maximum) 

VWP General/Minimum Instream 
Flow/Reservoir - Water 
withdrawals and/or pond 
construction 

$2,400 

4. VPDES Storm Water General Permits.  

a. Except as specified in subdivision 4 b of this section, 
the fee for filing a registration statement for coverage 

under a VPDES storm water general permit issued by the 
board shall be:  

VPDES General/Industrial Storm 
Water Management 

$500 

VPDES General/Storm Water 
Management - Phase I Land Clearing 
(Large Construction Activity - Sites or 
common plans of development equal 
to or greater than 5 acres) 

$500 

VPDES General/Storm Water 
Management - Phase II Land Clearing 
(Small Construction Activity - Sites or 
common plans of development less 
than 5 acres) 

$300 

b. Owners of facilities that are covered under the 
Industrial Activity (VAR5) and Construction Site 
(VAR10) storm water general permits that expire on June 
30, 2004, and who are reapplying for coverage under the 
new general permits that are effective on July 1, 2004, 
must submit an application fee of $600 to reapply.  

5. Except as specified in subdivisions 1, 2, 3 and 4 of this 
section, the fee for filing an application or registration 
statement for coverage under any general permit issued by 
the board shall be $600.  

Part IV  

Sewage Sludge Fees and Reimbursable Costs 

9VAC25-20-146. Established fees. 

A. Land appliers shall remit the established fees to the 
department as specified in this regulation. The land appliers 
shall collect the required fees from the owners of the sewage 
treatment works and facilities that generate the biosolids. 
Such works and facilities shall be approved sources of 
biosolids in accordance with this regulation. Land application 
shall only include biosolids from approved sources as listed 
in the land application permit. The established fee shall be 
imposed on each dry ton of biosolids that is land applied in 
the Commonwealth of Virginia in accordance with 9VAC25-
31 or 9VAC25-32.  

B. The amount of the established fee and disbursement are 
as follows:  

1. The fee shall be $7.50 per dry ton of biosolids land 
applied in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

2. Disbursement of the established fees collected by the 
department shall be made to reimburse or partially 
reimburse those counties, cities and towns with duly 
adopted local ordinances that submit documentation of 
reimbursable expenses acceptable to the department as 
provided for in this regulation. 
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3. Disbursement of the established fees collected by the 
department shall be made to reimburse the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation's costs for implementation of 
the sewage sludge application program.  

9VAC25-20-147. Records and reports. 

A. Records. Permittees shall maintain complete records of 
the land application activities and amounts of biosolids that 
they land apply in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Such 
records shall be maintained by the permittee in a form that is 
available for inspection by the department for five years after 
the date of the activity. Records of land application activities 
shall include the following minimum information:  

1. Name of permittee, DEQ permit number and dates of 
activity.  

2. Identification of land application site, including the 
county where taxes are remitted and permitted site 
identification name, letters and numbers, as appropriate.  

3. The source of biosolids and approximate field area 
receiving those biosolids.  

4. The amount of biosolids applied in dry tons and the 
method and calculations used to determine the reported 
value.  

5. Dates and type of any interactions with local monitors 
and names of individuals involved in the interactions.  

6. Name of responsible representative of permittee and a 
statement signed and dated by that representative 
indicating that the information submitted has been verified 
by that representative as correctly reported in accordance 
with this regulation.  

B. Reports and notification. The permittee shall submit a 
monthly report by the 15th day of the month unless another 
date is specified in the permit in accordance with 9VAC25-
32-80 I 4, following the month that land application occurs. 
That report shall include the recorded information listed in 
subsection A of this section and present a calculation of the 
total fee that is required in accordance with this regulation. 
The submitted report shall include a summary list of the total 
amount of biosolids applied and the calculated fee based on 
the land-applied biosolids for each county in which land 
application occurred in alphabetical order by county.  

9VAC25-20-148. Reimbursable local monitoring costs. 

The following describes the kinds of activities for which 
expenses may, if reasonable, be submitted for reimbursement:  

1. Charges for reviewing the permit to identify potential 
health and environmental protection issues upon 
notification by the permittee that operations will be 
initiated on permitted sites.  

2. Charges and expenses, including local travel for site 
monitoring, inspections, collection and delivery of samples 
to a nearby laboratory and examination of records.  

3. Charges for recordkeeping.  

4. Charges for complaint and incident response.  

5. Charges for biosolids and soil sample testing costs.  

6. Charges for the training of local monitors.  

9VAC25-20-149. Reimbursement of local monitoring 
costs. 

Reimbursement of local monitoring costs deemed 
reasonable by the department will be made in order of receipt 
of an acceptable invoice. Such invoices will be reimbursed 
for reasonable costs up to $2.50, as adjusted, per dry ton of 
biosolids land applied in a county during the period of time 
specified in the submitted invoice. If sufficient revenue exists 
from the fees collected monthly, then invoiced claims 
exceeding $2.50, as adjusted, per dry ton of biosolids land 
applied in that county, during the period of time specified in 
the submitted invoice, may be released for reimbursement of 
up to $4.00 per dry ton of biosolids land applied in that 
county during the month that the reimbursable costs were 
incurred, based on the order of receipt of the invoice.  

A. Application. Local government must submit a 
reimbursement application to request reimbursement from the 
department. All information is to be clearly typed or printed 
and all required or supporting documents must be attached. 
The county administrator or designated local biosolids 
monitor shall sign and date the application where indicated. 
The original signed application with one copy of each of the 
supporting documents is to be forwarded to the department. 
Applications may not be submitted by facsimile or through 
electronic means. A reimbursement invoice form as described 
in this regulation must be completed before a reimbursement 
application can be submitted. The invoice form must include 
all expenses for which reimbursement is requested during the 
designated time period.  

B. Application forms and submittal. The application for 
reimbursement must be submitted within 30 days of the last 
day of the month in which the reimbursable activity occurred. 
All applications received after this time frame will be 
ineligible for reimbursement. The following is a description 
of the application forms and an explanation of their use. The 
application forms and detailed instructions can be obtained 
from the department.  

1. Form 1 - Reimbursement Application. An invoice form 
shall be submitted with each application for 
reimbursement. The invoice form should list all 
reimbursable charges. To be reimbursed for eligible 
expenses, an applicant must provide documentation to 
demonstrate that the expenses were incurred. Invoices are 
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acceptable proof of incurred expenses. Include legible 
copies of invoices signed by the local biosolids monitor or 
agent who performed or managed the monitoring activities. 
All invoices are to include the following:  

a. DEQ permit number and site identification;  

b. Number or site address;  

c. Biosolids contractor's name;  

d. Date and type of activity monitored;  

e. Name of biosolids monitor;  

f. Number of hours to be reimbursed and charge per 
hour;  

g. List of expenses for which reimbursement is sought; 

h. Type of sampling activity performed and associated 
laboratory expense vouchers. 

The application requires the county administrator to certify 
that the responsible official has read and understands the 
requirements for reimbursement and that the application 
submitted is not fraudulent. The local monitor must attest 
to the accuracy and completeness of the information 
provided.  

2. Form 2 - Multiple Owners Payment Assignment Form. 
When there are multiple local governments as claimants, a 
separate, signed and notarized invoice form for each 
claimant must be filled out and submitted with the 
application.  

Submittal of the original completed reimbursement 
application, including the application worksheets and the 
appropriate supporting documentation, should be 
accomplished by mailing these documents to: Department 
of Environmental Quality, Receipts Control, P.O. Box 
1105, Richmond, VA 23218.  

C. Processing applications.  

1. If contacted by the department regarding an incomplete 
reimbursement application, an applicant will have 14 days 
from the date of the call or letter to submit the information 
requested and cure any deficiencies. Extensions of the 14-
day deadline will not be granted. An application that does 
not contain all of the required information after the 14-day 
time frame may be rejected or processed "as is," which can 
result in complete denial or a partial reimbursement. 

2. Only invoices pertaining to the monitoring activity 
claimed in the current application will be accepted. Costs 
omitted from previous claims are ineligible for 
reimbursement in subsequent claims. Likewise, invoices 
submitted in previous claims will not be eligible 
documentation for reimbursement of costs in subsequent 
claims. To reduce the risk of disqualification of costs, costs 
for different monitoring activities should be invoiced 

separately. If possible, invoices should be structured so that 
costs are grouped according to task or activity.  

D. Reconsideration process.  

1. Claimants may submit a written response indicating why 
costs denied on the reimbursement decision should be paid.  

2. If the claimant disagrees with the decision in the 
reimbursement payment package, a notice of intent (NOI) 
to object and a reconsideration claim form must be 
submitted to the department within the filing deadlines 
specified in the reconsideration procedure package.  

If filing deadlines are not met, the decision in the 
reimbursement payment package is final. This written 
objection is to be in the format specified in the 
reconsideration procedure package and explain the reasons 
for disagreement with the decisions in the reimbursement 
payment letter and supply any additional supporting 
documentation. Upon receipt of this information and at the 
claimant's request, the department may schedule a 
reconsideration meeting to reevaluate the denied costs.  

3. Claimants will be given an opportunity to contest the 
reimbursement decisions in accordance with the 
Administrative Process Act (§2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code 
of Virginia).  

Within the filing deadline, the claimant must submit a 
written summary of the issues that will be contested using 
the reconsideration claim form.  

4. The reconsideration procedures provide the department 
the opportunity to correct certain errors. The following 
types of errors can be corrected:  

a. Failure of the reviewer to verify an invoice form that 
was received prior to completing the verification package 
for the reimbursement.  

b. Errors the reviewer makes in verifying an invoice 
form.  

c. Failure of the claimant to submit all invoices.  

5. Notwithstanding the above, some types of errors cannot 
be corrected. It is the responsibility of the claimant or 
consultant, or both, to ensure that all application forms 
(invoice forms, and sampling and testing verification) are 
completely and accurately filled out. Failure to exercise 
proper care in preparing an application may result in a 
denial of costs, which cannot be corrected through the 
reconsideration process, including:  

a. Items omitted from the invoice form will not be 
eligible for reimbursement.  

b. Unverified sampling and testing results will not be 
eligible for reimbursement.  
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c. No additions or revisions to the invoice forms will be 
accepted from the claimant after the reviewer forwards 
the verification package to the department.  

d. Using one invoice in multiple claims. Invoices 
submitted in an application cannot be used as 
documentation for reimbursement of costs in subsequent 
claims.  

e. The following are types of errors that cannot be 
corrected:  

(1) Failure to claim performed work on the invoice.  

(2) Failure to claim sampling and testing costs as 
authorized.  

(3) Failure to claim all costs in a submitted invoice.  

(4) Failure to submit to the reviewer all supporting 
documentation to demonstrate the necessity of work 
performed that exceeds expected activities. Such 
documentation must be submitted before the reviewer 
forwards the verification package to the department.  

Part IV V 

Delegation of Authority 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection at the Department of Environmental Quality, 629 
East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

Water Quality Division Permit Application Fee Form (rev. 
7/04). 

Form 1 Biosolids Land Application Local Monitoring 
Expenses - Reimbursement Invoice, 2007.  

Form 2 Biosolids Land Application Fee - Reimbursement 
Multiple Owners Payment Assignment, 2007.  

Form 3 Biosolids Land Application Fee - Reimbursement 
Notice of Intent to Seek Reconsideration, rev. 8/07.  

Form 4 Biosolids Land Application Fee - Reimbursement 
Reconsideration Claim Form, rev. 8/07. 

9VAC25-31-100. Application for a permit.  

A. Duty to apply. Any person who discharges or proposes to 
discharge pollutants or who owns or operates a sludge-only 
facility whose sewage sludge use or disposal practice is 
regulated by 9VAC25-31-420 through 9VAC25-31-720 and 
who does not have an effective permit, except persons 
covered by general permits, excluded from the requirement 
for a permit by this chapter, or a user of a privately owned 

treatment works unless the board requires otherwise, shall 
submit a complete application to the department in 
accordance with this section. All concentrated animal feeding 
operations have a duty to seek coverage under a VPDES 
permit.  

B. Who applies. When a facility or activity is owned by one 
person but is operated by another person, it is the operator's 
duty to obtain a permit.  

C. Time to apply.  

1. Any person proposing a new discharge, shall submit an 
application at least 180 days before the date on which the 
discharge is to commence, unless permission for a later 
date has been granted by the board. Facilities proposing a 
new discharge of storm water associated with industrial 
activity shall submit an application 180 days before that 
facility commences industrial activity which may result in 
a discharge of storm water associated with that industrial 
activity. Different submittal dates may be required under 
the terms of applicable general permits. Persons proposing 
a new discharge are encouraged to submit their 
applications well in advance of the 90 or 180 day 
requirements to avoid delay. New discharges composed 
entirely of storm water, other than those dischargers 
identified in 9VAC25-31-120 A 1, shall apply for and 
obtain a permit according to the application requirements 
in 9VAC25-31-120 B.  

2. All TWTDS whose sewage sludge use or disposal 
practices are regulated by 9VAC25-31-420 through 
9VAC25-31-720 must submit permit applications 
according to the applicable schedule in subdivision 2 a or b 
of this subsection.  

a. A TWTDS with a currently effective VPDES permit 
must submit a permit application at the time of its next 
VPDES permit renewal application. Such information 
must be submitted in accordance with subsection D of 
this section.  

b. Any other TWTDS not addressed under subdivision 2 
a of this subsection must submit the information listed in 
subdivisions 2 b (1) through (5) of this subsection to the 
department within one year after publication of a 
standard applicable to its sewage sludge use or disposal 
practice(s), using a form provided by the department. The 
board will determine when such TWTDS must submit a 
full permit application.  

(1) The TWTDS's name, mailing address, location, and 
status as federal, state, private, public or other entity;  

(2) The applicant's name, address, telephone number, and 
ownership status;  

(3) A description of the sewage sludge use or disposal 
practices. Unless the sewage sludge meets the 
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requirements of subdivision P 8 d of this section, the 
description must include the name and address of any 
facility where sewage sludge is sent for treatment or 
disposal and the location of any land application sites;  

(4) Annual amount of sewage sludge generated, treated, 
used or disposed (estimated dry weight basis); and  

(5) The most recent data the TWTDS may have on the 
quality of the sewage sludge.  

c. Notwithstanding subdivision 2 a or b of this 
subsection, the board may require permit applications 
from any TWTDS at any time if the board determines 
that a permit is necessary to protect public health and the 
environment from any potential adverse effects that may 
occur from toxic pollutants in sewage sludge.  

d. Any TWTDS that commences operations after 
promulgation of an applicable standard for sewage 
sludge use or disposal shall submit an application to the 
department at least 180 days prior to the date proposed 
for commencing operations.  

D. Duty to reapply. All permittees with a currently effective 
permit shall submit a new application at least 180 days before 
the expiration date of the existing permit, unless permission 
for a later date has been granted by the board. The board shall 
not grant permission for applications to be submitted later 
than the expiration date of the existing permit.  

E. Completeness.  

1. The board shall not issue a permit before receiving a 
complete application for a permit except for VPDES 
general permits. An application for a permit is complete 
when the board receives an application form and any 
supplemental information which are completed to its 
satisfaction. The completeness of any application for a 
permit shall be judged independently of the status of any 
other permit application or permit for the same facility or 
activity.  

2. No application for a VPDES permit to discharge sewage 
into or adjacent to state waters from a privately owned 
treatment works serving, or designed to serve, 50 or more 
residences shall be considered complete unless the 
applicant has provided the department with notification 
from the State Corporation Commission that the applicant 
is incorporated in the Commonwealth and is in compliance 
with all regulations and relevant orders of the State 
Corporation Commission.  

3. No application for a new individual VPDES permit 
authorizing a new discharge of sewage, industrial wastes, 
or other wastes shall be considered complete unless it 
contains notification from the county, city, or town in 
which the discharge is to take place that the location and 
operation of the discharging facility are consistent with 
applicable ordinances adopted pursuant to Chapter 22 

(§15.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia. 
The county, city or town shall inform in writing the 
applicant and the board of the discharging facility's 
compliance or noncompliance not more than 30 days from 
receipt by the chief administrative officer, or his agent, of a 
request from the applicant. Should the county, city or town 
fail to provide such written notification within 30 days, the 
requirement for such notification is waived. The provisions 
of this subsection shall not apply to any discharge for 
which a valid VPDES permit had been issued prior to 
March 10, 2000.  

4. A permit application shall not be considered complete if 
the board has waived application requirements under 
subsection J or P of this section and the EPA has 
disapproved the waiver application. If a waiver request has 
been submitted to the EPA more than 210 days prior to 
permit expiration and the EPA has not disapproved the 
waiver application 181 days prior to permit expiration, the 
permit application lacking the information subject to the 
waiver application shall be considered complete.  

5. In accordance with §62.1-44-19:3 A of the Code of 
Virginia, no application for a permit or variance to 
authorize the storage of sewage sludge shall be complete 
unless it contains certification from the governing body of 
the locality in which the sewage sludge is to be stored that 
the storage site is consistent with all applicable ordinances. 
The governing body shall confirm or deny consistency 
within 30 days of receiving a request for certification. If 
the governing body does not so respond, the site shall be 
deemed consistent. 

F. Information requirements. All applicants for VPDES 
permits, other than POTWs and other TWTDS, shall provide 
the following information to the department, using the 
application form provided by the department (additional 
information required of applicants is set forth in subsections 
G through K of this section).  

1. The activities conducted by the applicant which require 
it to obtain a VPDES permit;  

2. Name, mailing address, and location of the facility for 
which the application is submitted;  

3. Up to four SIC codes which best reflect the principal 
products or services provided by the facility;  

4. The operator's name, address, telephone number, 
ownership status, and status as federal, state, private, 
public, or other entity;  

5. Whether the facility is located on Indian lands;  

6. A listing of all permits or construction approvals 
received or applied for under any of the following 
programs:  
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a. Hazardous Waste Management program under RCRA 
(42 USC §6921);  

b. UIC program under SDWA (42 USC §300h);  

c. VPDES program under the CWA and the law;  

d. Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) program 
under the Clean Air Act (42 USC §4701 et seq.);  

e. Nonattainment program under the Clean Air Act (42 
USC §4701 et seq.);  

f. National Emission Standards for Hazardous Pollutants 
(NESHAPS) preconstruction approval under the Clean 
Air Act (42 USC §4701 et seq.);  

g. Ocean dumping permits under the Marine Protection 
Research and Sanctuaries Act (33 USC §14 et seq.);  

h. Dredge or fill permits under §404 of the CWA; and  

i. Other relevant environmental permits, including state 
permits.  

7. A topographic map (or other map if a topographic map 
is unavailable) extending one mile beyond the property 
boundaries of the source, depicting the facility and each of 
its intake and discharge structures; each of its hazardous 
waste treatment, storage, or disposal facilities; each well 
where fluids from the facility are injected underground; 
and those wells, springs, other surface water bodies, and 
drinking water wells listed in public records or otherwise 
known to the applicant in the map area; and  

8. A brief description of the nature of the business.  

G. Application requirements for existing manufacturing, 
commercial, mining, and silvicultural dischargers. Existing 
manufacturing, commercial mining, and silvicultural 
dischargers applying for VPDES permits, except for those 
facilities subject to the requirements of 9VAC25-31-100 H, 
shall provide the following information to the department, 
using application forms provided by the department.  

1. The latitude and longitude of each outfall to the nearest 
15 seconds and the name of the receiving water.  

2. A line drawing of the water flow through the facility 
with a water balance, showing operations contributing 
wastewater to the effluent and treatment units. Similar 
processes, operations, or production areas may be indicated 
as a single unit, labeled to correspond to the more detailed 
identification under subdivision 3 of this subsection. The 
water balance must show approximate average flows at 
intake and discharge points and between units, including 
treatment units. If a water balance cannot be determined 
(for example, for certain mining activities), the applicant 
may provide instead a pictorial description of the nature 
and amount of any sources of water and any collection and 
treatment measures.  

3. A narrative identification of each type of process, 
operation, or production area which contributes wastewater 
to the effluent for each outfall, including process 
wastewater, cooling water, and storm water run-off; the 
average flow which each process contributes; and a 
description of the treatment the wastewater receives, 
including the ultimate disposal of any solid or fluid wastes 
other than by discharge. Processes, operations, or 
production areas may be described in general terms (for 
example, dye-making reactor, distillation tower). For a 
privately owned treatment works, this information shall 
include the identity of each user of the treatment works. 
The average flow of point sources composed of storm 
water may be estimated. The basis for the rainfall event 
and the method of estimation must be indicated.  

4. If any of the discharges described in subdivision 3 of 
this subsection are intermittent or seasonal, a description of 
the frequency, duration and flow rate of each discharge 
occurrence (except for storm water run-off, spillage or 
leaks).  

5. If an effluent guideline promulgated under §304 of the 
CWA applies to the applicant and is expressed in terms of 
production (or other measure of operation), a reasonable 
measure of the applicant's actual production reported in the 
units used in the applicable effluent guideline. The 
reported measure must reflect the actual production of the 
facility.  

6. If the applicant is subject to any present requirements or 
compliance schedules for construction, upgrading or 
operation of waste treatment equipment, an identification 
of the abatement requirement, a description of the 
abatement project, and a listing of the required and 
projected final compliance dates.  

7. a. Information on the discharge of pollutants specified 
in this subdivision (except information on storm water 
discharges which is to be provided as specified in 
9VAC25-31-120). When quantitative data for a pollutant 
are required, the applicant must collect a sample of 
effluent and analyze it for the pollutant in accordance 
with analytical methods approved under 40 CFR Part 136 
(2005). When no analytical method is approved the 
applicant may use any suitable method but must provide 
a description of the method. When an applicant has two 
or more outfalls with substantially identical effluents, the 
board may allow the applicant to test only one outfall and 
report that the quantitative data also apply to the 
substantially identical outfalls. The requirements in e and 
f of this subdivision that an applicant must provide 
quantitative data for certain pollutants known or believed 
to be present do not apply to pollutants present in a 
discharge solely as the result of their presence in intake 
water; however, an applicant must report such pollutants 
as present. Grab samples must be used for pH, 
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temperature, cyanide, total phenols, residual chlorine, oil 
and grease, fecal coliform, and fecal streptococcus. For 
all other pollutants, 24-hour composite samples must be 
used. However, a minimum of one grab sample may be 
taken for effluents from holding ponds or other 
impoundments with a retention period greater than 24 
hours. In addition, for discharges other than storm water 
discharges, the board may waive composite sampling for 
any outfall for which the applicant demonstrates that the 
use of an automatic sampler is infeasible and that the 
minimum of four grab samples will be a representative 
sample of the effluent being discharged.  

b. For storm water discharges, all samples shall be 
collected from the discharge resulting from a storm event 
that is greater than 0.1 inch and at least 72 hours from the 
previously measurable (greater than 0.1 inch rainfall) 
storm event. Where feasible, the variance in the duration 
of the event and the total rainfall of the event should not 
exceed 50% from the average or median rainfall event in 
that area. For all applicants, a flow-weighted composite 
shall be taken for either the entire discharge or for the 
first three hours of the discharge. The flow-weighted 
composite sample for a storm water discharge may be 
taken with a continuous sampler or as a combination of a 
minimum of three sample aliquots taken in each hour of 
discharge for the entire discharge or for the first three 
hours of the discharge, with each aliquot being separated 
by a minimum period of 15 minutes (applicants 
submitting permit applications for storm water discharges 
under 9VAC25-31-120 C may collect flow-weighted 
composite samples using different protocols with respect 
to the time duration between the collection of sample 
aliquots, subject to the approval of the board). However, 
a minimum of one grab sample may be taken for storm 
water discharges from holding ponds or other 
impoundments with a retention period greater than 24 
hours. For a flow-weighted composite sample, only one 
analysis of the composite of aliquots is required. For 
storm water discharge samples taken from discharges 
associated with industrial activities, quantitative data 
must be reported for the grab sample taken during the 
first 30 minutes (or as soon thereafter as practicable) of 
the discharge for all pollutants specified in 9VAC25-31-
120 B 1. For all storm water permit applicants taking 
flow-weighted composites, quantitative data must be 
reported for all pollutants specified in 9VAC25-31-120 
except pH, temperature, cyanide, total phenols, residual 
chlorine, oil and grease, fecal coliform, and fecal 
streptococcus. The board may allow or establish 
appropriate site-specific sampling procedures or 
requirements, including sampling locations, the season in 
which the sampling takes place, the minimum duration 
between the previous measurable storm event and the 
storm event sampled, the minimum or maximum level of 
precipitation required for an appropriate storm event, the 

form of precipitation sampled (snow melt or rain fall), 
protocols for collecting samples under 40 CFR Part 136 
(2005), and additional time for submitting data on a case-
by-case basis. An applicant is expected to know or have 
reason to believe that a pollutant is present in an effluent 
based on an evaluation of the expected use, production, 
or storage of the pollutant, or on any previous analyses 
for the pollutant. (For example, any pesticide 
manufactured by a facility may be expected to be present 
in contaminated storm water run-off from the facility.)  

c. Every applicant must report quantitative data for every 
outfall for the following pollutants:  

Biochemical oxygen demand (BOD5)  

Chemical oxygen demand  

Total organic carbon  

Total suspended solids  

Ammonia (as N)  

Temperature (both winter and summer)  

pH  

d. The board may waive the reporting requirements for 
individual point sources or for a particular industry 
category for one or more of the pollutants listed in 
subdivision 7 c of this subsection if the applicant has 
demonstrated that such a waiver is appropriate because 
information adequate to support issuance of a permit can 
be obtained with less stringent requirements.  

e. Each applicant with processes in one or more primary 
industry category (see 40 CFR Part 122 Appendix A 
(2005)) contributing to a discharge must report 
quantitative data for the following pollutants in each 
outfall containing process wastewater:  

(1) The organic toxic pollutants in the fractions 
designated in Table I of 40 CFR Part 122 Appendix D 
(2005) for the applicant's industrial category or 
categories unless the applicant qualifies as a small 
business under subdivision 8 of this subsection. Table II 
of 40 CFR Part 122 Appendix D (2005) lists the organic 
toxic pollutants in each fraction. The fractions result 
from the sample preparation required by the analytical 
procedure which uses gas chromatography/mass 
spectrometry. A determination that an applicant falls 
within a particular industrial category for the purposes of 
selecting fractions for testing is not conclusive as to the 
applicant's inclusion in that category for any other 
purposes; and  

(2) The pollutants listed in Table III of 40 CFR Part 122 
Appendix D (2005) (the toxic metals, cyanide, and total 
phenols).  
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f. (1) Each applicant must indicate whether it knows or 
has reason to believe that any of the pollutants in Table 
IV of 40 CFR Part 122 Appendix D (2005) (certain 
conventional and nonconventional pollutants) is 
discharged from each outfall. If an applicable effluent 
limitations guideline either directly limits the pollutant 
or, by its express terms, indirectly limits the pollutant 
through limitations on an indicator, the applicant must 
report quantitative data. For every pollutant discharged 
which is not so limited in an effluent limitations 
guideline, the applicant must either report quantitative 
data or briefly describe the reasons the pollutant is 
expected to be discharged.  

(2) Each applicant must indicate whether it knows or has 
reason to believe that any of the pollutants listed in Table 
II or Table III of 40 CFR Part 122 Appendix D (2005) 
(the toxic pollutants and total phenols) for which 
quantitative data are not otherwise required under 
subdivision 7 e of this subsection, is discharged from 
each outfall. For every pollutant expected to be 
discharged in concentrations of 10 ppb or greater the 
applicant must report quantitative data. For acrolein, 
acrylonitrile, 2,4 dinitrophenol, and 2-methyl-4,6 
dinitrophenol, where any of these four pollutants are 
expected to be discharged in concentrations of 100 ppb 
or greater the applicant must report quantitative data. For 
every pollutant expected to be discharged in 
concentrations less than 10 ppb, or in the case of 
acrolein, acrylonitrile, 2,4 dinitrophenol, and 2-methyl-
4,6 dinitrophenol, in concentrations less than 100 ppb, 
the applicant must either submit quantitative data or 
briefly describe the reasons the pollutant is expected to 
be discharged. An applicant qualifying as a small 
business under subdivision 8 of this subsection is not 
required to analyze for pollutants listed in Table II of 40 
CFR Part 122 Appendix D (2005) (the organic toxic 
pollutants).  

g. Each applicant must indicate whether it knows or has 
reason to believe that any of the pollutants in Table V of 
40 CFR Part 122 Appendix D (2005) (certain hazardous 
substances and asbestos) are discharged from each 
outfall. For every pollutant expected to be discharged, the 
applicant must briefly describe the reasons the pollutant 
is expected to be discharged, and report any quantitative 
data it has for any pollutant.  

h. Each applicant must report qualitative data, generated 
using a screening procedure not calibrated with analytical 
standards, for 2,3,7,8-tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin 
(TCDD) if it:  

(1) Uses or manufactures 2,4,5-trichlorophenoxy acetic 
acid (2,4,5,-T); 2-(2,4,5-trichlorophenoxy) propanoic 
acid (Silvex, 2,4,5,-TP); 2-(2,4,5-trichlorophenoxy) 
ethyl, 2,2-dichloropropionate (Erbon); O,O-dimethyl O-

(2,4,5-trichlorophenyl) phosphorothioate (Ronnel); 2,4,5-
trichlorophenol (TCP); or hexachlorophene (HCP); or  

(2) Knows or has reason to believe that TCDD is or may 
be present in an effluent.  

8. An applicant which qualifies as a small business under 
one of the following criteria is exempt from the 
requirements in subdivision 7 e (1) or 7 f (1) of this 
subsection to submit quantitative data for the pollutants 
listed in Table II of 40 CFR Part 122 Appendix D (2005) 
(the organic toxic pollutants):  

a. For coal mines, a probable total annual production of 
less than 100,000 tons per year; or  

b. For all other applicants, gross total annual sales 
averaging less than $100,000 per year (in second quarter 
1980 dollars).  

9. A listing of any toxic pollutant which the applicant 
currently uses or manufactures as an intermediate or final 
product or by-product. The board may waive or modify 
this requirement for any applicant if the applicant 
demonstrates that it would be unduly burdensome to 
identify each toxic pollutant and the board has adequate 
information to issue the permit.  

10. Reserved.  

11. An identification of any biological toxicity tests which 
the applicant knows or has reason to believe have been 
made within the last three years on any of the applicant's 
discharges or on a receiving water in relation to a 
discharge.  

12. If a contract laboratory or consulting firm performed 
any of the analyses required by subdivision 7 of this 
subsection, the identity of each laboratory or firm and the 
analyses performed.  

13. In addition to the information reported on the 
application form, applicants shall provide to the board, at 
its request, such other information, including pertinent 
plans, specifications, maps and such other relevant 
information as may be required, in scope and details 
satisfactory to the board, as the board may reasonably 
require to assess the discharges of the facility and to 
determine whether to issue a VPDES permit. The 
additional information may include additional quantitative 
data and bioassays to assess the relative toxicity of 
discharges to aquatic life and requirements to determine 
the cause of the toxicity.  

H. Application requirements for manufacturing, commercial, 
mining and silvicultural facilities which discharge only 
nonprocess wastewater. Except for storm water discharges, all 
manufacturing, commercial, mining and silvicultural 
dischargers applying for VPDES permits which discharge 
only nonprocess wastewater not regulated by an effluent 
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limitations guideline or new source performance standard 
shall provide the following information to the department 
using application forms provided by the department:  

1. Outfall number, latitude and longitude to the nearest 15 
seconds, and the name of the receiving water;  

2. Date of expected commencement of discharge;  

3. An identification of the general type of waste 
discharged, or expected to be discharged upon 
commencement of operations, including sanitary wastes, 
restaurant or cafeteria wastes, or noncontact cooling water. 
An identification of cooling water additives (if any) that 
are used or expected to be used upon commencement of 
operations, along with their composition if existing 
composition is available;  

4. a. Quantitative data for the pollutants or parameters 
listed below, unless testing is waived by the board. The 
quantitative data may be data collected over the past 365 
days, if they remain representative of current operations, 
and must include maximum daily value, average daily 
value, and number of measurements taken. The applicant 
must collect and analyze samples in accordance with 40 
CFR Part 136 (2005). Grab samples must be used for pH, 
temperature, oil and grease, total residual chlorine, and 
fecal coliform. For all other pollutants, 24-hour composite 
samples must be used. New dischargers must include 
estimates for the pollutants or parameters listed below 
instead of actual sampling data, along with the source of 
each estimate. All levels must be reported or estimated as 
concentration and as total mass, except for flow, pH, and 
temperature.  

(1) Biochemical oxygen demand (BOD5).  

(2) Total suspended solids (TSS).  

(3) Fecal coliform (if believed present or if sanitary 
waste is or will be discharged).  

(4) Total residual chlorine (if chlorine is used).  

(5) Oil and grease.  

(6) Chemical oxygen demand (COD) (if noncontact 
cooling water is or will be discharged).  

(7) Total organic carbon (TOC) (if noncontact cooling 
water is or will be discharged).  

(8) Ammonia (as N).  

(9) Discharge flow.  

(10) pH.  

(11) Temperature (winter and summer).  

b. The board may waive the testing and reporting 
requirements for any of the pollutants or flow listed in 
subdivision 4 a of this subsection if the applicant submits 

a request for such a waiver before or with his application 
which demonstrates that information adequate to support 
issuance of a permit can be obtained through less 
stringent requirements.  

c. If the applicant is a new discharger, he must submit the 
information required in subdivision 4 a of this subsection 
by providing quantitative data in accordance with that 
section no later than two years after commencement of 
discharge. However, the applicant need not submit 
testing results which he has already performed and 
reported under the discharge monitoring requirements of 
his VPDES permit.  

d. The requirements of subdivisions 4 a and 4 c of this 
subsection that an applicant must provide quantitative 
data or estimates of certain pollutants do not apply to 
pollutants present in a discharge solely as a result of their 
presence in intake water. However, an applicant must 
report such pollutants as present. Net credit may be 
provided for the presence of pollutants in intake water if 
the requirements of 9VAC25-31-230 G are met;  

5. A description of the frequency of flow and duration of 
any seasonal or intermittent discharge (except for storm 
water run-off, leaks, or spills);  

6. A brief description of any treatment system used or to be 
used;  

7. Any additional information the applicant wishes to be 
considered, such as influent data for the purpose of 
obtaining net credits pursuant to 9VAC25-31-230 G;  

8. Signature of certifying official under 9VAC25-31-110; 
and  

9. Pertinent plans, specifications, maps and such other 
relevant information as may be required, in scope and 
details satisfactory to the board.  

I. Application requirements for new and existing 
concentrated animal feeding operations and aquatic animal 
production facilities. New and existing concentrated animal 
feeding operations and concentrated aquatic animal 
production facilities shall provide the following information 
to the department, using the application form provided by the 
department:  

1. For concentrated animal feeding operations:  

a. The name of the owner or operator;  

b. The facility location and mailing address;  

c. Latitude and longitude of the production area (entrance 
to the production area);  

d. A topographic map of the geographic area in which the 
CAFO is located showing the specific location of the 
production area, in lieu of the requirements of 
subdivision F 7 of this section;  



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 26, 2007 

717 
 

e. Specific information about the number and type of 
animals, whether in open confinement or housed under 
roof (beef cattle, broilers, layers, swine weighing 55 
pounds or more, swine weighing less than 55 pounds, 
mature dairy cows, dairy heifers, veal calves, sheep and 
lambs, horses, ducks, turkeys, other);  

f. The type of containment and storage (anaerobic 
lagoon, roofed storage shed, storage ponds, underfloor 
pits, above ground storage tanks, below ground storage 
tanks, concrete pad, impervious soil pad, other) and total 
capacity for manure, litter, and process wastewater 
storage (tons/gallons);  

g. The total number of acres under control of the 
applicant available for land application of manure, litter, 
or process wastewater;  

h. Estimated amounts of manure, litter, and process 
wastewater generated per year (tons/gallons); and  

i. For CAFOs that must seek coverage under a permit 
after December 31, 2006, certification that a nutrient 
management plan has been completed and will be 
implemented upon the date of coverage.  

2. For concentrated aquatic animal production facilities:  

a. The maximum daily and average monthly flow from 
each outfall;  

b. The number of ponds, raceways, and similar 
structures;  

c. The name of the receiving water and the source of 
intake water;  

d. For each species of aquatic animals, the total yearly 
and maximum harvestable weight;  

e. The calendar month of maximum feeding and the total 
mass of food fed during that month; and  

f. Pertinent plans, specifications, maps and such other 
relevant information as may be required, in scope and 
details satisfactory to the board.  

J. Application requirements for new and existing POTWs 
and treatment works treating domestic sewage. Unless 
otherwise indicated, all POTWs and other dischargers 
designated by the board must provide to the department, at a 
minimum, the information in this subsection using an 
application form provided by the department. Permit 
applicants must submit all information available at the time of 
permit application. The information may be provided by 
referencing information previously submitted to the 
department. The board may waive any requirement of this 
subsection if it has access to substantially identical 
information. The board may also waive any requirement of 
this subsection that is not of material concern for a specific 
permit, if approved by the regional administrator. The waiver 

request to the regional administrator must include the board's 
justification for the waiver. A regional administrator's 
disapproval of the board's proposed waiver does not 
constitute final agency action but does provide notice to the 
board and permit applicant(s) that the EPA may object to any 
board-issued permit issued in the absence of the required 
information.  

1. All applicants must provide the following information:  

a. Name, mailing address, and location of the facility for 
which the application is submitted;  

b. Name, mailing address, and telephone number of the 
applicant and indication as to whether the applicant is the 
facility's owner, operator, or both;  

c. Identification of all environmental permits or 
construction approvals received or applied for (including 
dates) under any of the following programs:  

(1) Hazardous Waste Management program under the 
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), 
Subpart C;  

(2) Underground Injection Control program under the 
Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA);  

(3) NPDES program under the Clean Water Act (CWA);  

(4) Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) 
program under the Clean Air Act;  

(5) Nonattainment program under the Clean Air Act;  

(6) National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants (NESHAPS) preconstruction approval under 
the Clean Air Act;  

(7) Ocean dumping permits under the Marine Protection 
Research and Sanctuaries Act;  

(8) Dredge or fill permits under §404 of the CWA; and  

(9) Other relevant environmental permits, including state 
permits;  

d. The name and population of each municipal entity 
served by the facility, including unincorporated 
connector districts. Indicate whether each municipal 
entity owns or maintains the collection system and 
whether the collection system is separate sanitary or 
combined storm and sanitary, if known;  

e. Information concerning whether the facility is located 
in Indian country and whether the facility discharges to a 
receiving stream that flows through Indian country;  

f. The facility's design flow rate (the wastewater flow 
rate the plant was built to handle), annual average daily 
flow rate, and maximum daily flow rate for each of the 
previous three years;  
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g. Identification of type(s) of collection system(s) used 
by the treatment works (i.e., separate sanitary sewers or 
combined storm and sanitary sewers) and an estimate of 
the percent of sewer line that each type comprises; and  

h. The following information for outfalls to surface 
waters and other discharge or disposal methods:  

(1) For effluent discharges to surface waters, the total 
number and types of outfalls (e.g., treated effluent, 
combined sewer overflows, bypasses, constructed 
emergency overflows);  

(2) For wastewater discharged to surface impoundments:  

(a) The location of each surface impoundment;  

(b) The average daily volume discharged to each surface 
impoundment; and  

(c) Whether the discharge is continuous or intermittent;  

(3) For wastewater applied to the land:  

(a) The location of each land application site;  

(b) The size of each land application site, in acres;  

(c) The average daily volume applied to each land 
application site, in gallons per day; and  

(d) Whether land application is continuous or 
intermittent;  

(4) For effluent sent to another facility for treatment prior 
to discharge:  

(a) The means by which the effluent is transported;  

(b) The name, mailing address, contact person, and 
phone number of the organization transporting the 
discharge, if the transport is provided by a party other 
than the applicant;  

(c) The name, mailing address, contact person, phone 
number, and VPDES permit number (if any) of the 
receiving facility; and  

(d) The average daily flow rate from this facility into the 
receiving facility, in millions of gallons per day; and  

(5) For wastewater disposed of in a manner not included 
in subdivisions 1 h (1) through (4) of this subsection 
(e.g., underground percolation, underground injection):  

(a) A description of the disposal method, including the 
location and size of each disposal site, if applicable;  

(b) The annual average daily volume disposed of by this 
method, in gallons per day; and  

(c) Whether disposal through this method is continuous 
or intermittent;  

2. All applicants with a design flow greater than or equal to 
0.1 mgd must provide the following information:  

a. The current average daily volume of inflow and 
infiltration, in gallons per day, and steps the facility is 
taking to minimize inflow and infiltration;  

b. A topographic map (or other map if a topographic map 
is unavailable) extending at least one mile beyond 
property boundaries of the treatment plant, including all 
unit processes, and showing:  

(1) Treatment plant area and unit processes;  

(2) The major pipes or other structures through which 
wastewater enters the treatment plant and the pipes or 
other structures through which treated wastewater is 
discharged from the treatment plant. Include outfalls 
from bypass piping, if applicable;  

(3) Each well where fluids from the treatment plant are 
injected underground;  

(4) Wells, springs, and other surface water bodies listed 
in public records or otherwise known to the applicant 
within 1/4 mile of the treatment works' property 
boundaries;  

(5) Sewage sludge management facilities (including on-
site treatment, storage, and disposal sites); and  

(6) Location at which waste classified as hazardous under 
RCRA enters the treatment plant by truck, rail, or 
dedicated pipe;  

c. Process flow diagram or schematic.  

(1) A diagram showing the processes of the treatment 
plant, including all bypass piping and all backup power 
sources or redundancy in the system. This includes a 
water balance showing all treatment units, including 
disinfection, and showing daily average flow rates at 
influent and discharge points, and approximate daily flow 
rates between treatment units; and  

(2) A narrative description of the diagram; and  

d. The following information regarding scheduled 
improvements:  

(1) The outfall number of each outfall affected;  

(2) A narrative description of each required 
improvement;  

(3) Scheduled or actual dates of completion for the 
following:  

(a) Commencement of construction;  

(b) Completion of construction;  

(c) Commencement of discharge; and  

(d) Attainment of operational level; and  

(4) A description of permits and clearances concerning 
other federal or state requirements;  
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3. Each applicant must provide the following information 
for each outfall, including bypass points, through which 
effluent is discharged, as applicable:  

a. The following information about each outfall:  

(1) Outfall number;  

(2) State, county, and city or town in which outfall is 
located;  

(3) Latitude and longitude, to the nearest second;  

(4) Distance from shore and depth below surface;  

(5) Average daily flow rate, in million gallons per day;  

(6) The following information for each outfall with a 
seasonal or periodic discharge:  

(a) Number of times per year the discharge occurs;  

(b) Duration of each discharge;  

(c) Flow of each discharge; and  

(d) Months in which discharge occurs; and  

(7) Whether the outfall is equipped with a diffuser and 
the type (e.g., high-rate) of diffuser used.  

b. The following information, if known, for each outfall 
through which effluent is discharged to surface waters:  

(1) Name of receiving water;  

(2) Name of watershed/river/stream system and United 
States Soil Conservation Service 14-digit watershed 
code;  

(3) Name of State Management/River Basin and United 
States Geological Survey 8-digit hydrologic cataloging 
unit code; and  

(4) Critical flow of receiving stream and total hardness of 
receiving stream at critical low flow (if applicable).  

c. The following information describing the treatment 
provided for discharges from each outfall to surface 
waters:  

(1) The highest level of treatment (e.g., primary, 
equivalent to secondary, secondary, advanced, other) that 
is provided for the discharge for each outfall and:  

(a) Design biochemical oxygen demand (BOD5 or 
CBOD5) removal (percent);  

(b) Design suspended solids (SS) removal (percent); and, 
where applicable,  

(c) Design phosphorus (P) removal (percent);  

(d) Design nitrogen (N) removal (percent); and  

(e) Any other removals that an advanced treatment 
system is designed to achieve.  

(2) A description of the type of disinfection used, and 
whether the treatment plant dechlorinates (if disinfection 
is accomplished through chlorination).  

4. Effluent monitoring for specific parameters.  

a. As provided in subdivisions 4 b through j of this 
subsection, all applicants must submit to the department 
effluent monitoring information for samples taken from 
each outfall through which effluent is discharged to 
surface waters, except for CSOs. The board may allow 
applicants to submit sampling data for only one outfall 
on a case-by-case basis, where the applicant has two or 
more outfalls with substantially identical effluent. The 
board may also allow applicants to composite samples 
from one or more outfalls that discharge into the same 
mixing zone.  

b. All applicants must sample and analyze for the 
following pollutants:  

(1) Biochemical oxygen demand (BOD5 or CBOD5);  

(2) Fecal coliform;  

(3) Design flow rate;  

(4) pH;  

(5) Temperature; and  

(6) Total suspended solids.  

c. All applicants with a design flow greater than or equal 
to 0.1 mgd must sample and analyze for the following 
pollutants:  

(1) Ammonia (as N);  

(2) Chlorine (total residual, TRC);  

(3) Dissolved oxygen;  

(4) Nitrate/Nitrite;  

(5) Kjeldahl nitrogen;  

(6) Oil and grease;  

(7) Phosphorus; and  

(8) Total dissolved solids.  

Facilities that do not use chlorine for disinfection, do not 
use chlorine elsewhere in the treatment process, and have 
no reasonable potential to discharge chlorine in their 
effluent may delete chlorine.  

d. All POTWs with a design flow rate equal to or greater 
than one million gallons per day, all POTWs with 
approved pretreatment programs or POTWs required to 
develop a pretreatment program, and other POTWs, as 
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required by the board must sample and analyze for the 
pollutants listed in Table 2 of 40 CFR Part 122 Appendix 
J (2005), and for any other pollutants for which the board 
or EPA have established water quality standards 
applicable to the receiving waters.  

e. The board may require sampling for additional 
pollutants, as appropriate, on a case-by-case basis.  

f. Applicants must provide data from a minimum of three 
samples taken within 4-1/2 years prior to the date of the 
permit application. Samples must be representative of the 
seasonal variation in the discharge from each outfall. 
Existing data may be used, if available, in lieu of 
sampling done solely for the purpose of this application. 
The board may require additional samples, as 
appropriate, on a case-by-case basis.  

g. All existing data for pollutants specified in 
subdivisions 4 b through e of this subsection that is 
collected within 4-1/2 years of the application must be 
included in the pollutant data summary submitted by the 
applicant. If, however, the applicant samples for a 
specific pollutant on a monthly or more frequent basis, it 
is only necessary, for such pollutant, to summarize all 
data collected within one year of the application.  

h. Applicants must collect samples of effluent and 
analyze such samples for pollutants in accordance with 
analytical methods approved under 40 CFR Part 136 
(2005) unless an alternative is specified in the existing 
VPDES permit. Grab samples must be used for pH, 
temperature, cyanide, total phenols, residual chlorine, oil 
and grease, and fecal coliform. For all other pollutants, 
24-hour composite samples must be used. For a 
composite sample, only one analysis of the composite of 
aliquots is required.  

i. The effluent monitoring data provided must include at 
least the following information for each parameter:  

(1) Maximum daily discharge, expressed as 
concentration or mass, based upon actual sample values;  

(2) Average daily discharge for all samples, expressed as 
concentration or mass, and the number of samples used 
to obtain this value;  

(3) The analytical method used; and  

(4) The threshold level (i.e., method detection limit, 
minimum level, or other designated method endpoints) 
for the analytical method used.  

j. Unless otherwise required by the board, metals must be 
reported as total recoverable.  

5. Effluent monitoring for whole effluent toxicity.  

a. All applicants must provide an identification of any 
whole effluent toxicity tests conducted during the 4-1/2 

years prior to the date of the application on any of the 
applicant's discharges or on any receiving water near the 
discharge.  

b. As provided in subdivisions 5 c through i of this 
subsection, the following applicants must submit to the 
department the results of valid whole effluent toxicity 
tests for acute or chronic toxicity for samples taken from 
each outfall through which effluent is discharged to 
surface waters, except for combined sewer overflows:  

(1) All POTWs with design flow rates greater than or 
equal to one million gallons per day;  

(2) All POTWs with approved pretreatment programs or 
POTWs required to develop a pretreatment program;  

(3) Other POTWs, as required by the board, based on 
consideration of the following factors:  

(a) The variability of the pollutants or pollutant 
parameters in the POTW effluent (based on chemical-
specific information, the type of treatment plant, and 
types of industrial contributors);  

(b) The ratio of effluent flow to receiving stream flow;  

(c) Existing controls on point or nonpoint sources, 
including total maximum daily load calculations for the 
receiving stream segment and the relative contribution of 
the POTW;  

(d) Receiving stream characteristics, including possible 
or known water quality impairment, and whether the 
POTW discharges to a coastal water, or a water 
designated as an outstanding natural resource water; or  

(e) Other considerations (including, but not limited to, 
the history of toxic impacts and compliance problems at 
the POTW) that the board determines could cause or 
contribute to adverse water quality impacts.  

c. Where the POTW has two or more outfalls with 
substantially identical effluent discharging to the same 
receiving stream segment, the board may allow 
applicants to submit whole effluent toxicity data for only 
one outfall on a case-by-case basis. The board may also 
allow applicants to composite samples from one or more 
outfalls that discharge into the same mixing zone.  

d. Each applicant required to perform whole effluent 
toxicity testing pursuant to subdivision 5 b of this 
subsection must provide:  

(1) Results of a minimum of four quarterly tests for a 
year, from the year preceding the permit application; or  

(2) Results from four tests performed at least annually in 
the 4-1/2 year period prior to the application, provided 
the results show no appreciable toxicity using a safety 
factor determined by the board.  
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e. Applicants must conduct tests with multiple species 
(no less than two species, e.g., fish, invertebrate, plant) 
and test for acute or chronic toxicity, depending on the 
range of receiving water dilution. The board recommends 
that applicants conduct acute or chronic testing based on 
the following dilutions: (i) acute toxicity testing if the 
dilution of the effluent is greater than 100:1 at the edge 
of the mixing zone or (ii) chronic toxicity testing if the 
dilution of the effluent is less than or equal to 100:1 at 
the edge of the mixing zone.  

f. Each applicant required to perform whole effluent 
toxicity testing pursuant to subdivision 5 b of this 
subsection must provide the number of chronic or acute 
whole effluent toxicity tests that have been conducted 
since the last permit reissuance.  

g. Applicants must provide the results using the form 
provided by the department, or test summaries if 
available and comprehensive, for each whole effluent 
toxicity test conducted pursuant to subdivision 5 b of this 
subsection for which such information has not been 
reported previously to the department.  

h. Whole effluent toxicity testing conducted pursuant to 
subdivision 5 b of this subsection must be conducted 
using methods approved under 40 CFR Part 136 (2005), 
as directed by the board.  

i. For whole effluent toxicity data submitted to the 
department within 4-1/2 years prior to the date of the 
application, applicants must provide the dates on which 
the data were submitted and a summary of the results.  

j. Each POTW required to perform whole effluent 
toxicity testing pursuant to subdivision 5 b of this 
subsection must provide any information on the cause of 
toxicity and written details of any toxicity reduction 
evaluation conducted, if any whole effluent toxicity test 
conducted within the past 4-1/2 years revealed toxicity.  

6. Applicants must submit the following information about 
industrial discharges to the POTW:  

a. Number of significant industrial users (SIUs) and 
categorical industrial users (CIUs) discharging to the 
POTW; and  

b. POTWs with one or more SIUs shall provide the 
following information for each SIU, as defined in 
9VAC25-31-10, that discharges to the POTW:  

(1) Name and mailing address;  

(2) Description of all industrial processes that affect or 
contribute to the SIU's discharge;  

(3) Principal products and raw materials of the SIU that 
affect or contribute to the SIU's discharge;  

(4) Average daily volume of wastewater discharged, 
indicating the amount attributable to process flow and 
nonprocess flow;  

(5) Whether the SIU is subject to local limits;  

(6) Whether the SIU is subject to categorical standards 
and, if so, under which category and subcategory; and  

(7) Whether any problems at the POTW (e.g., upsets, 
pass through, interference) have been attributed to the 
SIU in the past 4-1/2 years.  

c. The information required in subdivisions 6 a and b of 
this subsection may be waived by the board for POTWs 
with pretreatment programs if the applicant has 
submitted either of the following that contain information 
substantially identical to that required in subdivisions 6 a 
and b of this subsection:  

(1) An annual report submitted within one year of the 
application; or  

(2) A pretreatment program.  

7. Discharges from hazardous waste generators and from 
waste cleanup or remediation sites. POTWs receiving 
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), 
Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, 
and Liability Act (CERCLA), or RCRA Corrective Action 
wastes or wastes generated at another type of cleanup or 
remediation site must provide the following information:  

a. If the POTW receives, or has been notified that it will 
receive, by truck, rail, or dedicated pipe any wastes that 
are regulated as RCRA hazardous wastes pursuant to 40 
CFR Part 261 (2005), the applicant must report the 
following:  

(1) The method by which the waste is received (i.e., 
whether by truck, rail, or dedicated pipe); and  

(2) The hazardous waste number and amount received 
annually of each hazardous waste.  

b. If the POTW receives, or has been notified that it will 
receive, wastewaters that originate from remedial 
activities, including those undertaken pursuant to 
CERCLA and §3004(u) or 3008(h) of RCRA, the 
applicant must report the following:  

(1) The identity and description of the site or facility at 
which the wastewater originates;  

(2) The identities of the wastewater's hazardous 
constituents, as listed in Appendix VIII of 40 CFR Part 
261 (2005), if known; and  

(3) The extent of treatment, if any, the wastewater 
receives or will receive before entering the POTW.  
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c. Applicants are exempt from the requirements of 
subdivision 7 b of this subsection if they receive no more 
than 15 kilograms per month of hazardous wastes, unless 
the wastes are acute hazardous wastes as specified in 40 
CFR 261.30(d) and 261.33(e) (2005).  

8. Each applicant with combined sewer systems must 
provide the following information:  

a. The following information regarding the combined 
sewer system:  

(1) A map indicating the location of the following:  

(a) All CSO discharge points;  

(b) Sensitive use areas potentially affected by CSOs (e.g., 
beaches, drinking water supplies, shellfish beds, sensitive 
aquatic ecosystems, and outstanding national resource 
waters); and  

(c) Waters supporting threatened and endangered species 
potentially affected by CSOs; and  

(2) A diagram of the combined sewer collection system 
that includes the following information:  

(a) The location of major sewer trunk lines, both 
combined and separate sanitary;  

(b) The locations of points where separate sanitary 
sewers feed into the combined sewer system;  

(c) In-line and off-line storage structures;  

(d) The locations of flow-regulating devices; and  

(e) The locations of pump stations.  

b. The following information for each CSO discharge 
point covered by the permit application:  

(1) The following information on each outfall:  

(a) Outfall number;  

(b) State, county, and city or town in which outfall is 
located;  

(c) Latitude and longitude, to the nearest second;  

(d) Distance from shore and depth below surface;  

(e) Whether the applicant monitored any of the following 
in the past year for this CSO: (i) rainfall, (ii) CSO flow 
volume, (iii) CSO pollutant concentrations, (iv) receiving 
water quality, or (v) CSO frequency; and  

(f) The number of storm events monitored in the past 
year;  

(2) The following information about CSO overflows 
from each outfall:  

(a) The number of events in the past year;  

(b) The average duration per event, if available;  

(c) The average volume per CSO event, if available; and  

(d) The minimum rainfall that caused a CSO event, if 
available, in the last year;  

(3) The following information about receiving waters:  

(a) Name of receiving water;  

(b) Name of watershed/stream system and the United 
States Soil Conservation Service watershed (14-digit) 
code, if known; and  

(c) Name of State Management/River Basin and the 
United States Geological Survey hydrologic cataloging 
unit (8-digit) code, if known; and  

(4) A description of any known water quality impacts on 
the receiving water caused by the CSO (e.g., permanent 
or intermittent beach closings, permanent or intermittent 
shellfish bed closings, fish kills, fish advisories, other 
recreational loss, or exceedance of any applicable state 
water quality standard).  

9. All applicants must provide the name, mailing address, 
telephone number, and responsibilities of all contractors 
responsible for any operational or maintenance aspects of 
the facility.  

10. All applications must be signed by a certifying official 
in compliance with 9VAC25-31-110.  

11. Pertinent plans, specifications, maps and such other 
relevant information as may be required, in scope and 
details satisfactory to the board.  

K. Application requirements for new sources and new 
discharges. New manufacturing, commercial, mining and 
silvicultural dischargers applying for VPDES permits (except 
for new discharges of facilities subject to the requirements of 
subsection H of this section or new discharges of storm water 
associated with industrial activity which are subject to the 
requirements of 9VAC25-31-120 B 1 and this subsection) 
shall provide the following information to the department, 
using the application forms provided by the department:  

1. The expected outfall location in latitude and longitude to 
the nearest 15 seconds and the name of the receiving water;  

2. The expected date of commencement of discharge;  

3. a. Description of the treatment that the wastewater will 
receive, along with all operations contributing wastewater 
to the effluent, average flow contributed by each operation, 
and the ultimate disposal of any solid or liquid wastes not 
discharged;  

b. A line drawing of the water flow through the facility 
with a water balance as described in subdivision G 2;  

c. If any of the expected discharges will be intermittent 
or seasonal, a description of the frequency, duration and 
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maximum daily flow rate of each discharge occurrence 
(except for storm water run-off, spillage, or leaks); and  

4. If a new source performance standard promulgated 
under §306 of the CWA or an effluent limitation guideline 
applies to the applicant and is expressed in terms of 
production (or other measure of operation), a reasonable 
measure of the applicant's expected actual production 
reported in the units used in the applicable effluent 
guideline or new source performance standard for each of 
the first three years. Alternative estimates may also be 
submitted if production is likely to vary;  

5. The requirements in subdivisions H 4 a, b, and c of this 
section that an applicant must provide estimates of certain 
pollutants expected to be present do not apply to pollutants 
present in a discharge solely as a result of their presence in 
intake water; however, an applicant must report such 
pollutants as present. Net credits may be provided for the 
presence of pollutants in intake water if the requirements 
of 9VAC25-31-230 G are met. All levels (except for 
discharge flow, temperature, and pH) must be estimated as 
concentration and as total mass.  

a. Each applicant must report estimated daily maximum, 
daily average, and source of information for each outfall 
for the following pollutants or parameters. The board 
may waive the reporting requirements for any of these 
pollutants and parameters if the applicant submits a 
request for such a waiver before or with his application 
which demonstrates that information adequate to support 
issuance of the permit can be obtained through less 
stringent reporting requirements.  

(1) Biochemical oxygen demand (BOD).  

(2) Chemical oxygen demand (COD).  

(3) Total organic carbon (TOC).  

(4) Total suspended solids (TSS).  

(5) Flow.  

(6) Ammonia (as N).  

(7) Temperature (winter and summer).  

(8) pH.  

b. Each applicant must report estimated daily maximum, 
daily average, and source of information for each outfall 
for the following pollutants, if the applicant knows or has 
reason to believe they will be present or if they are 
limited by an effluent limitation guideline or new source 
performance standard either directly or indirectly through 
limitations on an indicator pollutant: all pollutants in 
Table IV of 40 CFR Part 122 Appendix D (2005) (certain 
conventional and nonconventional pollutants).  

c. Each applicant must report estimated daily maximum, 
daily average and source of information for the following 
pollutants if he knows or has reason to believe that they 
will be present in the discharges from any outfall:  

(1) The pollutants listed in Table III of 40 CFR Part 122 
Appendix D (2005) (the toxic metals, in the discharge 
from any outfall, Total cyanide, and total phenols);  

(2) The organic toxic pollutants in Table II of 40 CFR 
Part 122 Appendix D (2005) (except bis (chloromethyl) 
ether, dichlorofluoromethane and 
trichlorofluoromethane). This requirement is waived for 
applicants with expected gross sales of less than 
$100,000 per year for the next three years, and for coal 
mines with expected average production of less than 
100,000 tons of coal per year.  

d. The applicant is required to report that 2,3,7,8 
Tetrachlorodibenzo-P-Dioxin (TCDD) may be 
discharged if he uses or manufactures one of the 
following compounds, or if he knows or has reason to 
believe that TCDD will or may be present in an effluent:  

(1) 2,4,5-trichlorophenoxy acetic acid (2,4,5-T) (CAS 
#93-76-5);  

(2) (2) 2-(2,4,5-trichlorophenoxy) propanoic acid (Silvex, 
2,4,5-TP) (CAS #93-72-1);  

(3) 2-(2,4,5-trichlorophenoxy) ethyl 2,2-
dichloropropionate (Erbon) (CAS #136-25-4);  

(4) 0,0-dimethyl 0-(2,4,5-trichlorophenyl) 
phosphorothioate (Ronnel) (CAS #299-84-3);  

(5) 2,4,5-trichlorophenol (TCP) (CAS #95-95-4); or  

(6) Hexachlorophene (HCP) (CAS #70-30-4);  

e. Each applicant must report any pollutants listed in 
Table V of 40 CFR Part 122 Appendix D (2005) (certain 
hazardous substances) if he believes they will be present 
in any outfall (no quantitative estimates are required 
unless they are already available).  

f. No later than two years after the commencement of 
discharge from the proposed facility, the applicant is 
required to submit the information required in subsection 
G of this section. However, the applicant need not 
complete those portions of subsection G of this section 
requiring tests which he has already performed and 
reported under the discharge monitoring requirements of 
his VPDES permit;  

6. Each applicant must report the existence of any technical 
evaluation concerning his wastewater treatment, along with 
the name and location of similar plants of which he has 
knowledge;  
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7. Any optional information the permittee wishes to have 
considered;  

8. Signature of certifying official under 9VAC25-31-110; 
and  

9. Pertinent plans, specifications, maps and such other 
relevant information as may be required, in scope and 
details satisfactory to the board.  

L. Variance requests by non-POTWs. A discharger which is 
not a publicly owned treatment works (POTW) may request a 
variance from otherwise applicable effluent limitations under 
any of the following statutory or regulatory provisions within 
the times specified in this subsection:  

1. Fundamentally different factors.  

a. A request for a variance based on the presence of 
fundamentally different factors from those on which the 
effluent limitations guideline was based shall be filed as 
follows:  

(1) For a request from best practicable control technology 
currently available (BPT), by the close of the public 
comment period for the draft permit; or  

(2) For a request from best available technology 
economically achievable (BAT) and/or best conventional 
pollutant control technology (BCT), by no later than:  

(a) July 3, 1989, for a request based on an effluent 
limitation guideline promulgated before February 4, 
1987, to the extent July 3, 1989, is not later than that 
provided under previously promulgated regulations; or  

(b) 180 days after the date on which an effluent limitation 
guideline is published in the Federal Register for a 
request based on an effluent limitation guideline 
promulgated on or after February 4, 1987.  

b. The request shall explain how the requirements of the 
applicable regulatory or statutory criteria have been met.  

2. A request for a variance from the BAT requirements for 
CWA §301(b)(2)(F) pollutants (commonly called 
nonconventional pollutants) pursuant to §301(c) of the 
CWA because of the economic capability of the owner or 
operator, or pursuant to §301(g) of the CWA (provided 
however that a §301(g) variance may only be requested for 
ammonia; chlorine; color; iron; total phenols (when 
determined by the Administrator to be a pollutant covered 
by §301(b)(2)(F) of the CWA) and any other pollutant 
which the administrator lists under §301(g)(4) of the 
CWA) must be made as follows:  

a. For those requests for a variance from an effluent 
limitation based upon an effluent limitation guideline by:  

(1) Submitting an initial request to the regional 
administrator, as well as to the department, stating the 
name of the discharger, the permit number, the outfall 

number(s), the applicable effluent guideline, and whether 
the discharger is requesting a §§301(c) or 301(g) of the 
CWA modification, or both. This request must have been 
filed not later than 270 days after promulgation of an 
applicable effluent limitation guideline; and  

(2) Submitting a completed request no later than the 
close of the public comment period for the draft permit 
demonstrating that: (i) all reasonable ascertainable issues 
have been raised and all reasonably available arguments 
and materials supporting their position have been 
submitted; and (ii) that the applicable requirements of 40 
CFR Part 125 (2005) have been met. Notwithstanding 
this provision, the complete application for a request 
under §301(g) of the CWA shall be filed 180 days before 
EPA must make a decision (unless the Regional Division 
Director establishes a shorter or longer period); or  

b. For those requests for a variance from effluent 
limitations not based on effluent limitation guidelines, 
the request need only comply with subdivision 2 a (2) of 
this subsection and need not be preceded by an initial 
request under subdivision 2 a (1) of this subsection.  

3. A modification under §302(b)(2) of the CWA of 
requirements under §302(a) of the CWA for achieving 
water quality related effluent limitations may be requested 
no later than the close of the public comment period for the 
draft permit on the permit from which the modification is 
sought.  

4. A variance for alternate effluent limitations for the 
thermal component of any discharge must be filed with a 
timely application for a permit under this section, except 
that if thermal effluent limitations are established on a 
case-by-case basis or are based on water quality standards 
the request for a variance may be filed by the close of the 
public comment period for the draft permit. A copy of the 
request shall be sent simultaneously to the department.  

M. Variance requests by POTWs. A discharger which is a 
publicly owned treatment works (POTW) may request a 
variance from otherwise applicable effluent limitations under 
any of the following statutory provisions as specified in this 
paragraph:  

1. A request for a modification under §301(h) of the CWA 
of requirements of §301(b)(1)(B) of the CWA for 
discharges into marine waters must be filed in accordance 
with the requirements of 40 CFR Part 125, Subpart G 
(2005).  

2. A modification under §302(b)(2) of the CWA of the 
requirements under §302(a) of the CWA for achieving 
water quality based effluent limitations shall be requested 
no later than the close of the public comment period for the 
draft permit on the permit from which the modification is 
sought.  
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N. Expedited variance procedures and time extensions.  

1. Notwithstanding the time requirements in subsections L 
and M of this section, the board may notify a permit 
applicant before a draft permit is issued that the draft 
permit will likely contain limitations which are eligible for 
variances. In the notice the board may require the applicant 
as a condition of consideration of any potential variance 
request to submit a request explaining how the 
requirements of 40 CFR Part 125 (2005) applicable to the 
variance have been met and may require its submission 
within a specified reasonable time after receipt of the 
notice. The notice may be sent before the permit 
application has been submitted. The draft or final permit 
may contain the alternative limitations which may become 
effective upon final grant of the variance.  

2. A discharger who cannot file a timely complete request 
required under subdivisions L 2 a (2) or L 2 b of this 
section may request an extension. The extension may be 
granted or denied at the discretion of the board. Extensions 
shall be no more than six months in duration.  

O. Recordkeeping. Except for information required by 
subdivision C 2 of this section, which shall be retained for a 
period of at least five years from the date the application is 
signed (or longer as required by Part VI (9VAC25-31-420 et 
seq.) of this chapter), applicants shall keep records of all data 
used to complete permit applications and any supplemental 
information submitted under this section for a period of at 
least three years from the date the application is signed.  

P. Sewage sludge management. All TWTDS subject to 
subdivision C 2 a of this section must provide the information 
in this subsection to the department using an application form 
approved by the department. New applicants must submit all 
information available at the time of permit application. The 
information may be provided by referencing information 
previously submitted to the department. The board may waive 
any requirement of this subsection if it has access to 
substantially identical information. The board may also waive 
any requirement of this subsection that is not of material 
concern for a specific permit, if approved by the regional 
administrator. The waiver request to the regional 
administrator must include the board's justification for the 
waiver. A regional administrator's disapproval of the board's 
proposed waiver does not constitute final agency action, but 
does provide notice to the board and the permit applicant that 
the EPA may object to any board issued permit issued in the 
absence of the required information.  

1. All applicants must submit the following information:  

a. The name, mailing address, and location of the 
TWTDS for which the application is submitted;  

b. Whether the facility is a Class I Sludge Management 
Facility;  

c. The design flow rate (in million gallons per day);  

d. The total population served;  

e. The TWTDS's status as federal, state, private, public, 
or other entity;  

f. The name, mailing address, and telephone number of 
the applicant; and  

g. Indication whether the applicant is the owner, 
operator, or both.  

2. All applicants must submit the facility's VPDES permit 
number, if applicable, and a listing of all other federal, 
state, and local permits or construction approvals received 
or applied for under any of the following programs:  

a. Hazardous Waste Management program under the 
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA);  

b. UIC program under the Safe Drinking Water Act 
(SDWA);  

c. NPDES program under the Clean Water Act (CWA);  

d. Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) program 
under the Clean Air Act;  

e. Nonattainment program under the Clean Air Act;  

f. National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants (NESHAPS) preconstruction approval under 
the Clean Air Act;  

g. Dredge or fill permits under §404 of the CWA;  

h. Other relevant environmental permits, including state 
or local permits.  

3. All applicants must identify any generation, treatment, 
storage, land application, or disposal of sewage sludge that 
occurs in Indian country.  

4. All applicants must submit a topographic map (or other 
map if a topographic map is unavailable) extending one 
mile beyond property boundaries of the facility and 
showing the following information:  

a. All sewage sludge management facilities, including 
on-site treatment, storage, and disposal sites; and  

b. Wells, springs, and other surface water bodies that are 
within 1/4 mile of the property boundaries and listed in 
public records or otherwise known to the applicant.  

5. All applicants must submit a line drawing and/or a 
narrative description that identifies all sewage sludge 
management practices employed during the term of the 
permit, including all units used for collecting, dewatering, 
storing, or treating sewage sludge; the destination(s) of all 
liquids and solids leaving each such unit; and all processes 
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used for pathogen reduction and vector attraction 
reduction.  

6. The applicant must submit sewage sludge monitoring 
data for the pollutants for which limits in sewage sludge 
have been established in Part VI (9VAC25-31-420 et seq.) 
of this chapter for the applicant's use or disposal practices 
on the date of permit application with the following 
conditions:  

a. The board may require sampling for additional 
pollutants, as appropriate, on a case-by-case basis.  

b. Applicants must provide data from a minimum of three 
samples taken within 4-1/2 years prior to the date of the 
permit application. Samples must be representative of the 
sewage sludge and should be taken at least one month 
apart. Existing data may be used in lieu of sampling done 
solely for the purpose of this application.  

c. Applicants must collect and analyze samples in 
accordance with analytical methods specified in 
9VAC25-31-490 unless an alternative has been specified 
in an existing sewage sludge permit.  

d. The monitoring data provided must include at least the 
following information for each parameter:  

(1) Average monthly concentration for all samples 
(mg/kg dry weight), based upon actual sample values;  

(2) The analytical method used; and  

(3) The method detection level.  

7. If the applicant is a person who prepares sewage sludge, 
as defined in 9VAC25-31-500, the applicant must provide 
the following information:  

a. If the applicant's facility generates sewage sludge, the 
total dry metric tons per 365-day period generated at the 
facility.  

b. If the applicant's facility receives sewage sludge from 
another facility, the following information for each 
facility from which sewage sludge is received:  

(1) The name, mailing address, and location of the other 
facility;  

(2) The total dry metric tons per 365-day period received 
from the other facility; and  

(3) A description of any treatment processes occurring at 
the other facility, including blending activities and 
treatment to reduce pathogens or vector attraction 
characteristics.  

c. If the applicant's facility changes the quality of sewage 
sludge through blending, treatment, or other activities, 
the following information:  

(1) Whether the Class A pathogen reduction 
requirements in 9VAC25-31-710 A or the Class B 
pathogen reduction requirements in 9VAC25-31-710 B 
are met, and a description of any treatment processes 
used to reduce pathogens in sewage sludge;  

(2) Whether any of the vector attraction reduction options 
of 9VAC25-31-720 B 1 through 8 are met, and a 
description of any treatment processes used to reduce 
vector attraction properties in sewage sludge; and  

(3) A description of any other blending, treatment, or 
other activities that change the quality of sewage sludge.  

d. If sewage sludge from the applicant's facility meets the 
ceiling concentrations in 9VAC25-31-540 B 1, the 
pollutant concentrations in 9VAC25-31-540 B 3, the 
Class A pathogen requirements in 9VAC25-31-710 A, 
and one of the vector attraction reduction requirements in 
9VAC25-31-720 B 1 through 8, and if the sewage sludge 
is applied to the land, the applicant must provide the total 
dry metric tons per 365-day period of sewage sludge 
subject to this subsection that is applied to the land.  

e. If sewage sludge from the applicant's facility is sold or 
given away in a bag or other container for application to 
the land, and the sewage sludge is not subject to 
subdivision 7 d of this subsection, the applicant must 
provide the following information:  

(1) The total dry metric tons per 365-day period of 
sewage sludge subject to this subsection that is sold or 
given away in a bag or other container for application to 
the land; and  

(2) A copy of all labels or notices that accompany the 
sewage sludge being sold or given away.  

f. If sewage sludge from the applicant's facility is 
provided to another person who prepares sewage sludge, 
as defined in 9VAC25-31-500, and the sewage sludge is 
not subject to subdivision 7 d of this subsection, the 
applicant must provide the following information for 
each facility receiving the sewage sludge:  

(1) The name and mailing address of the receiving 
facility;  

(2) The total dry metric tons per 365-day period of 
sewage sludge subject to this subsection that the 
applicant provides to the receiving facility;  

(3) A description of any treatment processes occurring at 
the receiving facility, including blending activities and 
treatment to reduce pathogens or vector attraction 
characteristic;  

(4) A copy of the notice and necessary information that 
the applicant is required to provide the receiving facility 
under 9VAC25-31-530 G; and  
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(5) If the receiving facility places sewage sludge in bags 
or containers for sale or give-away to application to the 
land, a copy of any labels or notices that accompany the 
sewage sludge.  

8. If sewage sludge from the applicant's facility is applied 
to the land in bulk form and is not subject to subdivision 7 
d, e or f of this subsection, the applicant must provide the 
following information:  

a. The total dry metric tons per 365-day period of sewage 
sludge subject to this subsection that is applied to the 
land.  

b. If any land application sites are located in states other 
than the state where the sewage sludge is prepared, a 
description of how the applicant will notify the 
permitting authority for the state(s) where the land 
application sites are located.  

c. The following information for each land application 
site that has been identified at the time of permit 
application:  

(1) The name (if any), and location for the land 
application site;  

(2) The site's latitude and longitude to the nearest second, 
and method of determination;  

(3) A topographic map (or other map if a topographic 
map is unavailable) that shows the site's location;  

(4) The name, mailing address, and telephone number of 
the site owner, if different from the applicant;  

(5) The name, mailing address, and telephone number of 
the person who applies sewage sludge to the site, if 
different from the applicant;  

(6) Whether the site is agricultural land, forest, a public 
contact site, or a reclamation site, as such site types are 
defined in 9VAC25-31-500;  

(7) The type of vegetation grown on the site, if known, 
and the nitrogen requirement for this vegetation;  

(8) Whether either of the vector attraction reduction 
options of 9VAC25-31-720 B 9 or 10 is met at the site, 
and a description of any procedures employed at the time 
of use to reduce vector attraction properties in sewage 
sludge; and  

(9) Other information that describes how the site will be 
managed, as specified by the board.  

d. The following information for each land application 
site that has been identified at the time of permit 
application, if the applicant intends to apply bulk sewage 
sludge subject to the cumulative pollutant loading rates in 
9VAC25-31-540 B 2 to the site:  

(1) Whether the applicant has contacted the permitting 
authority in the state where the bulk sewage sludge 
subject to 9VAC25-31-540 B 2 will be applied, to 
ascertain whether bulk sewage sludge subject to 
9VAC25-31-540 B 2 has been applied to the site on or 
since July 20, 1993, and if so, the name of the permitting 
authority and the name and phone number of a contact 
person at the permitting authority;  

(2) Identification of facilities other than the applicant's 
facility that have sent, or are sending, sewage sludge 
subject to the cumulative pollutant loading rates in 
9VAC25-31-540 B 2 to the site since July 20, 1993, if, 
based on the inquiry in subdivision 8 d (1) of this 
subsection, bulk sewage sludge subject to cumulative 
pollutant loading rates in 9VAC25-31-540 B 2 has been 
applied to the site since July 20, 1993.  

e. If not all land application sites have been identified at 
the time of permit application, the applicant must submit 
a land application plan that, at a minimum:  

(1) Describes the geographical area covered by the plan;  

(2) Identifies the site selection criteria;  

(3) Describes how the site(s) will be managed;  

(4) Provides for advance notice to the board of specific 
land application sites and reasonable time for the board 
to object prior to land application of the sewage sludge 
and to notify persons residing on property bordering such 
sites for the purpose of receiving written comments from 
those persons for a period not to exceed 30 days. The 
department shall, based upon these comments, determine 
whether additional site-specific requirements should be 
included in the authorization for land application at the 
site; and  

(5) Provides for advance public notice of land application 
sites in a newspaper of general circulation in the area of 
the land application site.  

A request to increase the acreage authorized by the 
permit by 50% or more shall be treated as a new 
application for purposes of public notice and public 
hearings. 

9. An applicant for a permit authorizing the land 
application of sewage sludge shall provide to the 
department, and to each locality in which the applicant 
proposes to land apply sewage sludge, written evidence of 
financial responsibility, including both current liability and 
pollution insurance, or such other evidence of financial 
responsibility as the board may establish by regulation in 
an amount not less than $1 million per occurrence, which 
shall be available to pay claims for cleanup costs, personal 
injury, bodily injury and property damage resulting from 
the transport, storage and land application of sewage 
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sludge in Virginia. The aggregate amount of financial 
liability to be maintained by the applicant shall be $1 
million for companies with less than $5 million in annual 
gross revenue and shall be $2 million for companies with 
$5 million or more in annual gross revenue. 

9. 10. If sewage sludge from the applicant's facility is 
placed on a surface disposal site, the applicant must 
provide the following information:  

a. The total dry metric tons of sewage sludge from the 
applicant's facility that is placed on surface disposal sites 
per 365-day period.  

b. The following information for each surface disposal 
site receiving sewage sludge from the applicant's facility 
that the applicant does not own or operate:  

(1) The site name or number, contact person, mailing 
address, and telephone number for the surface disposal 
site; and  

(2) The total dry metric tons from the applicant's facility 
per 365-day period placed on the surface disposal site.  

c. The following information for each active sewage 
sludge unit at each surface disposal site that the applicant 
owns or operates:  

(1) The name or number and the location of the active 
sewage sludge unit;  

(2) The unit's latitude and longitude to the nearest 
second, and method of determination;  

(3) If not already provided, a topographic map (or other 
map if a topographic map is unavailable) that shows the 
unit's location;  

(4) The total dry metric tons placed on the active sewage 
sludge unit per 365-day period;  

(5) The total dry metric tons placed on the active sewage 
sludge unit over the life of the unit;  

(6) A description of any liner for the active sewage 
sludge unit, including whether it has a maximum 
permeability of 1 X 10-7cm/sec;  

(7) A description of any leachate collection system for 
the active sewage sludge unit, including the method used 
for leachate disposal, and any federal, state, and local 
permit number(s) for leachate disposal;  

(8) If the active sewage sludge unit is less than 150 
meters from the property line of the surface disposal site, 
the actual distance from the unit boundary to the site 
property line;  

(9) The remaining capacity (dry metric tons) for the 
active sewage sludge unit;  

(10) The date on which the active sewage sludge unit is 
expected to close, if such a date has been identified;  

(11) The following information for any other facility that 
sends sewage sludge to the active sewage sludge unit:  

(a) The name, contact person, and mailing address of the 
facility; and  

(b) Available information regarding the quality of the 
sewage sludge received from the facility, including any 
treatment at the facility to reduce pathogens or vector 
attraction characteristics;  

(12) Whether any of the vector attraction reduction 
options of 9VAC25-31-720 B 9 through 11 is met at the 
active sewage sludge unit, and a description of any 
procedures employed at the time of disposal to reduce 
vector attraction properties in sewage sludge;  

(13) The following information, as applicable to any 
groundwater monitoring occurring at the active sewage 
sludge unit:  

(a) A description of any groundwater monitoring 
occurring at the active sewage sludge unit;  

(b) Any available groundwater monitoring data, with a 
description of the well locations and approximate depth 
to groundwater;  

(c) A copy of any groundwater monitoring plan that has 
been prepared for the active sewage sludge unit;  

(d) A copy of any certification that has been obtained 
from a qualified groundwater scientist that the aquifer 
has not been contaminated; and  

(14) If site-specific pollutant limits are being sought for 
the sewage sludge placed on this active sewage sludge 
unit, information to support such a request.  

10. 11. If sewage sludge from the applicant's facility is 
fired in a sewage sludge incinerator, the applicant must 
provide the following information:  

a. The total dry metric tons of sewage sludge from the 
applicant's facility that is fired in sewage sludge 
incinerators per 365-day period.  

b. The following information for each sewage sludge 
incinerator firing the applicant's sewage sludge that the 
applicant does not own or operate:  

(1) The name and/or number, contact person, mailing 
address, and telephone number of the sewage sludge 
incinerator; and  

(2) The total dry metric tons from the applicant's facility 
per 365-day period fired in the sewage sludge 
incinerator.  
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11. 12. If sewage sludge from the applicant's facility is sent 
to a municipal solid waste landfill (MSWLF), the applicant 
must provide the following information for each MSWLF 
to which sewage sludge is sent:  

a. The name, contact person, mailing address, location, 
and all applicable permit numbers of the MSWLF;  

b. The total dry metric tons per 365-day period sent from 
this facility to the MSWLF;  

c. A determination of whether the sewage sludge meets 
applicable requirements for disposal of sewage sludge in 
a MSWLF, including the results of the paint filter liquids 
test and any additional requirements that apply on a site-
specific basis; and  

d. Information, if known, indicating whether the MSWLF 
complies with criteria set forth in the Virginia Solid 
Waste Management Regulations, 9VAC20-80.  

12. 13. All applicants must provide the name, mailing 
address, telephone number, and responsibilities of all 
contractors responsible for any operational or maintenance 
aspects of the facility related to sewage sludge generation, 
treatment, use, or disposal.  

13. 14. At the request of the board, the applicant must 
provide any other information necessary to determine the 
appropriate standards for permitting under Part VI 
(9VAC25-31-420 et seq.) of this chapter, and must provide 
any other information necessary to assess the sewage 
sludge use and disposal practices, determine whether to 
issue a permit, or identify appropriate permit requirements; 
and pertinent plans, specifications, maps and such other 
relevant information as may be required, in scope and 
details satisfactory to the board.  

14. 15. All applications must be signed by a certifying 
official in compliance with 9VAC25-31-110.  

Q. Applications for facilities with cooling water intake 
structures.  

1. Application requirements.  

a. New facilities with new or modified cooling water 
intake structures. New facilities with cooling water intake 
structures as defined in 9VAC25-31-165 must report the 
information required under subdivisions 2, 3, and 4 of 
this subsection and under 9VAC25-31-165. Requests for 
alternative requirements under 9VAC25-31-165 must be 
submitted with the permit application.  

b. Phase II existing facilities. Phase II existing facilities 
as defined in 9VAC25-31-165 must submit to the board 
for review the information required under subdivisions 2, 
3, and 5 of this subsection and all applicable provisions 
of 9VAC25-31-165 as part of their application except for 

the proposal for information collection, which must be 
provided in accordance with 9VAC25-31-165 C 3 b (1).  

2. Source water physical data. These include:  

a. A narrative description and scaled drawings showing 
the physical configuration of all source water bodies used 
by the facility, including area dimensions, depths, salinity 
and temperature regimes, and other documentation that 
supports the determination of the water body type where 
each cooling water intake structure is located;  

b. Identification and characterization of the source water 
body's hydrological and geomorphologic features, as well 
as the methods used to conduct any physical studies to 
determine the intake's area of influence within the water 
body and the results of such studies; and  

c. Location maps.  

3. Cooling water intake structure data. These include:  

a. A narrative description of the configuration of each 
cooling water intake structure and where it is located in 
the water body and in the water column;  

b. Latitude and longitude in degrees, minutes, and 
seconds for each cooling water intake structure;  

c. A narrative description of the operation of each 
cooling water intake structure, including design intake 
flow, daily hours of operation, number of days of the 
year in operation and seasonal changes, if applicable;  

d. A flow distribution and water balance diagram that 
includes all sources of water to the facility, recirculation 
flows and discharges; and  

e. Engineering drawings of the cooling water intake 
structure.  

4. Source water baseline biological characterization data. 
This information is required to characterize the biological 
community in the vicinity of the cooling water intake 
structure and to characterize the operation of the cooling 
water intake structures. The department may also use this 
information in subsequent permit renewal proceedings to 
determine if the design and construction technology plan as 
required in 9VAC25-31-165 should be revised. This 
supporting information must include existing data if 
available. Existing data may be supplemented with data 
from newly conducted field studies. The information must 
include:  

a. A list of the data in subdivisions 4 b through 4 f of this 
subsection that is not available and efforts made to 
identify sources of the data;  

b. A list of species (or relevant taxa) for all life stages 
and their relative abundance in the vicinity of the cooling 
water intake structure;  
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c. Identification of the species and life stages that would 
be most susceptible to impingement and entrainment. 
Species evaluated should include the forage base as well 
as those most important in terms of significance to 
commercial and recreational fisheries;  

d. Identification and evaluation of the primary period of 
reproduction, larval recruitment, and period of peak 
abundance for relevant taxa;  

e. Data representative of the seasonal and daily activities 
(e.g., feeding and water column migration) of biological 
organisms in the vicinity of the cooling water intake 
structure;  

f. Identification of all threatened, endangered, and other 
protected species that might be susceptible to 
impingement and entrainment at the cooling water intake 
structures;  

g. Documentation of any public participation or 
consultation with federal or state agencies undertaken in 
development of the plan; and  

h. If information requested in subdivision 4 of this 
subsection is supplemented with data collected using 
field studies, supporting documentation for the source 
water baseline biological characterization must include a 
description of all methods and quality assurance 
procedures for sampling, and data analysis including a 
description of the study area; taxonomic identification of 
sampled and evaluated biological assemblages (including 
all life stages of fish and shellfish); and sampling and 
data analysis methods. The sampling and/or data analysis 
methods used must be appropriate for a quantitative 
survey and based on consideration of methods used in 
other biological studies performed within the same 
source water body. The study area should include, at a 
minimum, the area of influence of the cooling water 
intake structure.  

5. Cooling water system data. Phase II existing facilities as 
defined in 9VAC25-31-165 must provide the following 
information for each cooling water intake structure they 
use:  

a. A narrative description of the operation of the cooling 
water system, its relationship to cooling water intake 
structures, the proportion of the design intake flow that is 
used in the system, the number of days of the year the 
cooling water system is in operation and seasonal 
changes in the operation of the system, if applicable; and  

b. Design and engineering calculations prepared by a 
qualified professional and supporting data to support the 
description required by subdivision 5 a of this subsection.  

Note 1: Until further notice subdivision G 7 e (1) of this 
section and the corresponding portions of the VPDES 

application Form 2C are suspended as they apply to coal 
mines.  

Note 2: Until further notice subdivision G 7 e (1) of this 
section and the corresponding portions of Item V-C of the 
VPDES application Form 2C are suspended as they apply 
to:  

a. Testing and reporting for all four organic fractions in 
the Greige Mills Subcategory of the Textile Mills 
industry (subpart C-Low water use processing of 40 CFR 
Part 410 (2005)), and testing and reporting for the 
pesticide fraction in all other subcategories of this 
industrial category.  

b. Testing and reporting for the volatile, base/neutral and 
pesticide fractions in the Base and Precious Metals 
Subcategory of the Ore Mining and Dressing industry 
(subpart B of 40 CFR Part 440 (2005)), and testing and 
reporting for all four fractions in all other subcategories 
of this industrial category.  

c. Testing and reporting for all four GC/MS fractions in 
the Porcelain Enameling industry.  

Note 3: Until further notice subdivision G 7 e (1) of this 
section and the corresponding portions of Item V-C of the 
VPDES application Form 2C are suspended as they apply 
to:  

a. Testing and reporting for the pesticide fraction in the 
Tall Oil Rosin Subcategory (subpart D) and Rosin-Based 
Derivatives Subcategory (subpart F) of the Gum and 
Wood Chemicals industry (40 CFR Part 454 (2005)), and 
testing and reporting for the pesticide and base-neutral 
fractions in all other subcategories of this industrial 
category.  

b. Testing and reporting for the pesticide fraction in the 
leather tanning and finishing, paint and ink formulation, 
and photographic supplies industrial categories.  

c. Testing and reporting for the acid, base/neutral and 
pesticide fractions in the petroleum refining industrial 
category.  

d. Testing and reporting for the pesticide fraction in the 
Papergrade Sulfite Subcategories (subparts J and U) of 
the Pulp and Paper industry (40 CFR Part 430 (2005)); 
testing and reporting for the base/neutral and pesticide 
fractions in the following subcategories: Deink (subpart 
Q), Dissolving Kraft (subpart F), and Paperboard from 
Waste Paper (subpart E); testing and reporting for the 
volatile, base/neutral and pesticide fractions in the 
following subcategories: BCT Bleached Kraft (subpart 
H), Semi-Chemical (subparts B and C), and 
Nonintegrated-Fine Papers (subpart R); and testing and 
reporting for the acid, base/neutral, and pesticide 
fractions in the following subcategories: Fine Bleached 
Kraft (subpart I), Dissolving Sulfite Pulp (subpart K), 
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Groundwood-Fine Papers (subpart O), Market Bleached 
Kraft (subpart G), Tissue from Wastepaper (subpart T), 
and Nonintegrated-Tissue Papers (subpart S).  

e. Testing and reporting for the base/neutral fraction in 
the Once-Through Cooling Water, Fly Ash and Bottom 
Ash Transport Water process wastestreams of the Steam 
Electric Power Plant industrial category.  

9VAC25-31-220. Establishing limitations, standards, and 
other permit conditions.  

In addition to the conditions established under 9VAC25-31-
210 A, each VPDES permit shall include conditions meeting 
the following requirements when applicable.  

A. 1. Technology-based effluent limitations and standards 
based on effluent limitations and standards promulgated 
under §301 of the CWA, on new source performance 
standards promulgated under §306 of CWA, on case-by-case 
effluent limitations determined under §402(a)(1) of CWA, or 
a combination of the three. For new sources or new 
dischargers, these technology-based limitations and standards 
are subject to the provisions of 9VAC25-31-180 B (protection 
period).  

2. The board may authorize a discharger subject to 
technology-based effluent limitations guidelines and 
standards in a VPDES permit to forego sampling of a 
pollutant found at 40 CFR Subchapter N (2005) if the 
discharger has demonstrated through sampling and other 
technical factors that the pollutant is not present in the 
discharge or is present only at background levels from 
intake water and without any increase in the pollutant due 
to activities of the discharger. This waiver is good only for 
the term of the permit and is not available during the term 
of the first permit issued to a discharger. Any request for 
this waiver must be submitted when applying for a reissued 
permit or modification of a reissued permit. The request 
must demonstrate through sampling or other technical 
information, including information generated during an 
earlier permit term, that the pollutant is not present in the 
discharge or is present only at background levels from 
intake water and without any increase in the pollutant due 
to activities of the discharger. Any grant of the monitoring 
waiver must be included in the permit as an express permit 
condition and the reasons supporting the grant must be 
documented in the permit's fact sheet or statement of basis. 
This provision does not supersede certification processes 
and requirements already established in existing effluent 
limitations guidelines and standards.  

B. Other effluent limitations and standards.  

1. Other effluent limitations and standards under §§301, 
302, 303, 307, 318 and 405 of the CWA. If any applicable 
toxic effluent standard or prohibition (including any 
schedule of compliance specified in such effluent standard 

or prohibition) is promulgated under §307(a) of the CWA 
for a toxic pollutant and that standard or prohibition is 
more stringent than any limitation on the pollutant in the 
permit, the board shall institute proceedings under this 
chapter to modify or revoke and reissue the permit to 
conform to the toxic effluent standard or prohibition.  

2. Standards for sewage sludge use or disposal under 
§405(d) of the CWA and Part VI (9VAC25-31-420 et seq.) 
of this chapter unless those standards have been included 
in a permit issued under the appropriate provisions of 
Subtitle C of the Solid Waste Disposal Act (42 USC §6901 
et seq.), Part C of Safe Drinking Water Act (42 USC §300f 
et seq.), the Marine Protection, Research, and Sanctuaries 
Act of 1972 (33 USC §1401 et seq.), or the Clean Air Act 
(42 USC §4701 et seq.), or in another permit issued by the 
Department of Environmental Quality, the Virginia 
Department of Health or any other appropriate state agency 
under another permit program approved by the 
administrator. When there are no applicable standards for 
sewage sludge use or disposal, the permit may include 
requirements developed on a case-by-case basis to protect 
public health and the environment from any adverse effects 
which may occur from toxic pollutants in sewage sludge. If 
any applicable standard for sewage sludge use or disposal 
is promulgated under §405(d) of the CWA and that 
standard is more stringent than any limitation on the 
pollutant or practice in the permit, the board may initiate 
proceedings under this chapter to modify or revoke and 
reissue the permit to conform to the standard for sewage 
sludge use or disposal.  

3. Requirements applicable to cooling water intake 
structures at new facilities under §316 (b) of the CWA, in 
accordance with 9VAC25-31-165.  

C. Reopener clause. For any permit issued to a treatment 
works treating domestic sewage (including sludge-only 
facilities), the board shall include a reopener clause to 
incorporate any applicable standard for sewage sludge use or 
disposal promulgated under §405(d) of the CWA. The board 
may promptly modify or revoke and reissue any permit 
containing the reopener clause required by this subdivision if 
the standard for sewage sludge use or disposal is more 
stringent than any requirements for sludge use or disposal in 
the permit, or controls a pollutant or practice not limited in 
the permit.  

D. Water quality standards and state requirements. Any 
requirements in addition to or more stringent than 
promulgated effluent limitations guidelines or standards 
under §§301, 304, 306, 307, 318 and 405 of the CWA 
necessary to:  

1. Achieve water quality standards established under the 
law and §303 of the CWA, including state narrative criteria 
for water quality.  
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a. Limitations must control all pollutants or pollutant 
parameters (either conventional, nonconventional, or 
toxic pollutants) which the board determines are or may 
be discharged at a level which will cause, have the 
reasonable potential to cause, or contribute to an 
excursion above any Virginia water quality standard, 
including Virginia narrative criteria for water quality.  

b. When determining whether a discharge causes, has the 
reasonable potential to cause, or contributes to an in-
stream excursion above a narrative or numeric criteria 
within a Virginia water quality standard, the board shall 
use procedures which account for existing controls on 
point and nonpoint sources of pollution, the variability of 
the pollutant or pollutant parameter in the effluent, the 
sensitivity of the species to toxicity testing (when 
evaluating whole effluent toxicity), and where 
appropriate, the dilution of the effluent in the receiving 
water.  

c. When the board determines, using the procedures in 
subdivision 1 b of this subsection, that a discharge 
causes, has the reasonable potential to cause, or 
contributes to an in-stream excursion above the allowable 
ambient concentration of a Virginia numeric criteria 
within a Virginia water quality standard for an individual 
pollutant, the permit must contain effluent limits for that 
pollutant.  

d. Except as provided in this subdivision, when the board 
determines, using the procedures in subdivision 1 b of 
this subsection, toxicity testing data, or other 
information, that a discharge causes, has the reasonable 
potential to cause, or contributes to an in-stream 
excursion above a narrative criterion within an applicable 
Virginia water quality standard, the permit must contain 
effluent limits for whole effluent toxicity. Limits on 
whole effluent toxicity are not necessary where the board 
demonstrates in the fact sheet or statement of basis of the 
VPDES permit, using the procedures in subdivision 1 b 
of this subsection, that chemical-specific limits for the 
effluent are sufficient to attain and maintain applicable 
numeric and narrative Virginia water quality standards.  

e. Where Virginia has not established a water quality 
criterion for a specific chemical pollutant that is present 
in an effluent at a concentration that causes, has the 
reasonable potential to cause, or contributes to an 
excursion above a narrative criterion within an applicable 
Virginia water quality standard, the board must establish 
effluent limits using one or more of the following 
options:  

(1) Establish effluent limits using a calculated numeric 
water quality criterion for the pollutant which the board 
demonstrates will attain and maintain applicable 
narrative water quality criteria and will fully protect the 
designated use. Such a criterion may be derived using a 

proposed Virginia criterion, or an explicit policy or 
regulation interpreting Virginia's narrative water quality 
criterion, supplemented with other relevant information 
which may include: EPA's Water Quality Standards 
Handbook, August 1994, risk assessment data, exposure 
data, information about the pollutant from the Food and 
Drug Administration, and current EPA criteria 
documents;  

(2) Establish effluent limits on a case-by-case basis, 
using EPA's water quality criteria, published under 
§307(a) of the CWA, supplemented where necessary by 
other relevant information; or  

(3) Establish effluent limitations on an indicator 
parameter for the pollutant of concern, provided:  

(a) The permit identifies which pollutants are intended to 
be controlled by the use of the effluent limitation;  

(b) The fact sheet required by 9VAC25-31-280 sets forth 
the basis for the limit, including a finding that 
compliance with the effluent limit on the indicator 
parameter will result in controls on the pollutant of 
concern which are sufficient to attain and maintain 
applicable water quality standards;  

(c) The permit requires all effluent and ambient 
monitoring necessary to show that during the term of the 
permit the limit on the indicator parameter continues to 
attain and maintain applicable water quality standards; 
and  

(d) The permit contains a reopener clause allowing the 
board to modify or revoke and reissue the permit if the 
limits on the indicator parameter no longer attain and 
maintain applicable water quality standards.  

f. When developing water quality-based effluent limits 
under this subdivision the board shall ensure that:  

(1) The level of water quality to be achieved by limits on 
point sources established under this subsection is derived 
from, and complies with all applicable water quality 
standards; and  

(2) Effluent limits developed to protect a narrative water 
quality criterion, a numeric water quality criterion, or 
both, are consistent with the assumptions and 
requirements of any available wasteload allocation for 
the discharge prepared by Virginia and approved by EPA 
pursuant to 40 CFR 130.7 (2005);  

2. Attain or maintain a specified water quality through 
water quality related effluent limits established under the 
law and §302 of the CWA;  

3. Conform to the conditions of a Virginia Water 
Protection Permit (VWPP) issued under the law and §401 
of the CWA.; 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 26, 2007 

733 
 

4. Conform to applicable water quality requirements under 
§401(a)(2) of the CWA when the discharge affects a state 
other than Virginia;  

5. Incorporate any more stringent limitations, treatment 
standards, or schedule of compliance requirements 
established under the law or regulations in accordance with 
§301(b)(1)(C) of the CWA;  

6. Ensure consistency with the requirements of a Water 
Quality Management plan approved by EPA under §208(b) 
of the CWA;  

7. Incorporate §403(c) criteria under 40 CFR Part 125, 
Subpart M (2005), for ocean discharges; or  

8. Incorporate alternative effluent limitations or standards 
where warranted by fundamentally different factors, under 
40 the CFR Part 125, Subpart D (2005).  

E. Technology-based controls for toxic pollutants. 
Limitations established under subsections A, B, or D of this 
section, to control pollutants meeting the criteria listed in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection. Limitations will be 
established in accordance with subdivision 2 of this 
subsection. An explanation of the development of these 
limitations shall be included in the fact sheet.  

1. Limitations must control all toxic pollutants which the 
board determines (based on information reported in a 
permit application or in a notification required by the 
permit or on other information) are or may be discharged at 
a level greater than the level which can be achieved by the 
technology-based treatment requirements appropriate to 
the permittee; or  

2. The requirement that the limitations control the 
pollutants meeting the criteria of subdivision 1 of this 
subsection will be satisfied by:  

a. Limitations on those pollutants; or  

b. Limitations on other pollutants which, in the judgment 
of the board, will provide treatment of the pollutants 
under subdivision 1 of this subsection to the levels 
required by the law and 40 CFR Part 125, Subpart A 
(2005).  

F. A notification level which exceeds the notification level 
of 9VAC25-31-200 A 1 a, b, or c, upon a petition from the 
permittee or on the board's initiative. This new notification 
level may not exceed the level which can be achieved by the 
technology-based treatment requirements appropriate to the 
permittee.  

G. Twenty-four-hour reporting. Pollutants for which the 
permittee must report violations of maximum daily discharge 
limitations under 9VAC25-31-190 L 7 b (3) (24-hour 
reporting) shall be listed in the permit. This list shall include 
any toxic pollutant or hazardous substance, or any pollutant 

specifically identified as the method to control a toxic 
pollutant or hazardous substance.  

H. Durations for permits, as set forth in 9VAC25-31-240.  

I. Monitoring requirements. The following monitoring 
requirements:  

1. Requirements concerning the proper use, maintenance, 
and installation, when appropriate, of monitoring 
equipment or methods (including biological monitoring 
methods when appropriate);  

2. Required monitoring including type, intervals, and 
frequency sufficient to yield data which are representative 
of the monitored activity including, when appropriate, 
continuous monitoring;  

3. Applicable reporting requirements based upon the 
impact of the regulated activity and as specified in 
9VAC25-31-190 and in subdivisions 5 through 8 of this 
subsection. Reporting shall be no less frequent than 
specified in the above regulation;  

4. To assure compliance with permit limitations, 
requirements to monitor:  

a. The mass (or other measurement specified in the 
permit) for each pollutant limited in the permit;  

b. The volume of effluent discharged from each outfall;  

c. Other measurements as appropriate including 
pollutants in internal waste streams; pollutants in intake 
water for net limitations; frequency, rate of discharge, 
etc., for noncontinuous discharges; pollutants subject to 
notification requirements; and pollutants in sewage 
sludge or other monitoring as specified in Part VI 
(9VAC25-31-420 et seq.) of this chapter; or as 
determined to be necessary on a case-by-case basis 
pursuant to the law and §405(d)(4) of the CWA; and  

d. According to test procedures approved under 40 CFR 
Part 136 (2005) for the analyses of pollutants having 
approved methods under that part, or alternative EPA 
approved methods, and according to a test procedure 
specified in the permit for pollutants with no approved 
methods;  

5. Except as provided in subdivisions 7 and 8 of this 
subsection, requirements to report monitoring results shall 
be established on a case-by-case basis with a frequency 
dependent on the nature and effect of the discharge, but in 
no case less that once a year. For sewage sludge use or 
disposal practices, requirements to monitor and report 
results shall be established on a case-by-case basis with a 
frequency dependent on the nature and effect of the sewage 
sludge use or disposal practice; minimally this shall be as 
specified in Part VI (9VAC25-31-420 et seq.) of this 
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chapter (where applicable), but in no case less than once a 
year;  

6. Requirements to report monitoring results for storm 
water discharges associated with industrial activity which 
are subject to an effluent limitation guideline shall be 
established on a case-by-case basis with a frequency 
dependent on the nature and effect of the discharge, but in 
no case less than once a year;  

7. Requirements to report monitoring results for storm 
water discharges associated with industrial activity (other 
than those addressed in subdivision 6 of this subsection) 
shall be established on a case-by-case basis with a 
frequency dependent on the nature and effect of the 
discharge. At a minimum, a permit for such a discharge 
must require:  

a. The discharger to conduct an annual inspection of the 
facility site to identify areas contributing to a storm water 
discharge associated with industrial activity and evaluate 
whether measures to reduce pollutant loading identified 
in a storm water pollution prevention plan are adequate 
and properly implemented in accordance with the terms 
of the permit or whether additional control measures are 
needed;  

b. The discharger to maintain for a period of three years a 
record summarizing the results of the inspection and a 
certification that the facility is in compliance with the 
plan and the permit, and identifying any incidents of 
noncompliance;  

c. Such report and certification be signed in accordance 
with 9VAC25-31-110; and  

d. Permits for storm water discharges associated with 
industrial activity from inactive mining operations may, 
where annual inspections are impracticable, require 
certification once every three years by a Registered 
Professional Engineer that the facility is in compliance 
with the permit, or alternative requirements; and  

8. Permits which do not require the submittal of 
monitoring result reports at least annually shall require that 
the permittee report all instances of noncompliance not 
reported under 9VAC25-31-190 L 1, 4, 5, 6, and 7 at least 
annually.  

J. Pretreatment program for POTWs. Requirements for 
POTWs to:  

1. Identify, in terms of character and volume of pollutants, 
any significant indirect dischargers into the POTW subject 
to pretreatment standards under §307(b) of the CWA and 
Part VII (9VAC25-31-730 et seq.) of this chapter;  

2. Submit a local program when required by and in 
accordance with Part VII of this chapter to assure 
compliance with pretreatment standards to the extent 

applicable under §307(b) of the CWA. The local program 
shall be incorporated into the permit as described in Part 
VII of this chapter. The program shall require all indirect 
dischargers to the POTW to comply with the reporting 
requirements of Part VII of this chapter;  

3. Provide a written technical evaluation of the need to 
revise local limits under Part VII of this chapter following 
permit issuance or reissuance; and  

4. For POTWs which are sludge-only facilities, a 
requirement to develop a pretreatment program under Part 
VII of this chapter when the board determines that a 
pretreatment program is necessary to assure compliance 
with Part VI of this chapter.  

K. Best management practices to control or abate the 
discharge of pollutants when:  

1. Authorized under §304(e) of the CWA for the control of 
toxic pollutants and hazardous substances from ancillary 
industrial activities;  

2. Authorized under §402(p) of the CWA for the control of 
storm water discharges;  

3. Numeric effluent limitations are infeasible; or  

4. The practices are reasonably necessary to achieve 
effluent limitations and standards or to carry out the 
purposes and intent of the law and the CWA.  

L. Reissued permits.  

1. In the case of effluent limitations established on the 
basis of §402(a)(1)(B) of the CWA, a permit may not be 
renewed, reissued, or modified on the basis of effluent 
guidelines promulgated under §304(b) of the CWA 
subsequent to the original issuance of such permit, to 
contain effluent limitations which are less stringent than 
the comparable effluent limitations in the previous permit. 
In the case of effluent limitations established on the basis 
of §§301(b)(1)(C) or 303(d) or (e) of the CWA, a permit 
may not be renewed, reissued, or modified to contain 
effluent limitations which are less stringent than the 
comparable effluent limitations in the previous permit 
except in compliance with §303(d)(4) of the CWA.  

2. Exceptions. A permit with respect to which subdivision 
1 of this subsection applies may be renewed, reissued, or 
modified to contain a less stringent effluent limitation 
applicable to a pollutant, if:  

a. Material and substantial alterations or additions to the 
permitted facility occurred after permit issuance which 
justify the application of a less stringent effluent 
limitation;  

b. (1) Information is available which was not available at 
the time of permit issuance (other than revised 
regulations, guidance, or test methods) and which would 
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have justified the application of a less stringent effluent 
limitation at the time of permit issuance; or  

(2) The board determines that technical mistakes or 
mistaken interpretations of law were made in issuing the 
permit under §402(a)(1)(B) of the CWA;  

c. A less stringent effluent limitation is necessary 
because of events over which the permittee has no 
control and for which there is no reasonably available 
remedy;  

d. The permittee has received a permit modification 
under the law and §§301(c), 301(g), 301(h), 301(i), 
301(k), 301(n), or 316(a) of the CWA; or  

e. The permittee has installed the treatment facilities 
required to meet the effluent limitations in the previous 
permit and has properly operated and maintained the 
facilities but has nevertheless been unable to achieve the 
previous effluent limitations, in which case the 
limitations in the reviewed, reissued, or modified permit 
may reflect the level of pollutant control actually 
achieved (but shall not be less stringent than required by 
effluent guidelines in effect at the time of permit renewal, 
reissuance, or modification).  

Subdivision 2 b of this subsection shall not apply to any 
revised waste load allocations or any alternative grounds 
for translating water quality standards into effluent 
limitations, except where the cumulative effect of such 
revised allocations results in a decrease in the amount of 
pollutants discharged into the concerned waters, and such 
revised allocations are not the result of a discharger 
eliminating or substantially reducing its discharge of 
pollutants due to complying with the requirements of the 
law or the CWA or for reasons otherwise unrelated to 
water quality.  

3. In no event may a permit with respect to which 
subdivision 2 of this subsection applies be renewed, 
reissued, or modified to contain an effluent limitation 
which is less stringent than required by effluent guidelines 
in effect at the time the permit is renewed, reissued, or 
modified. In no event may such a permit to discharge into 
waters be renewed, issued, or modified to contain a less 
stringent effluent limitation if the implementation of such 
limitation would result in a violation of a Virginia water 
quality standard applicable to such waters.  

M. For a privately owned treatment works, any conditions 
expressly applicable to any user, as a limited co-permittee, 
that may be necessary in the permit issued to the treatment 
works to ensure compliance with applicable requirements 
under this part. Alternatively, the board may issue separate 
permits to the treatment works and to its users, or may require 
a separate permit application from any user. The board's 
decision to issue a permit with no conditions applicable to 

any user, to impose conditions on one or more users, to issue 
separate permits, or to require separate applications, and the 
basis for that decision, shall be stated in the fact sheet for the 
draft permit for the treatment works.  

N. Any conditions imposed in grants made by the board to 
POTWs under §§201 and 204 of the CWA which are 
reasonably necessary for the achievement of effluent 
limitations under §301 of the CWA and the law.  

O. Requirements governing the disposal of sewage sludge 
from publicly owned treatment works or any other treatment 
works treating domestic sewage for any use regulated by Part 
VI of this chapter.  

P. When a permit is issued to a facility that may operate at 
certain times as a means of transportation over water, a 
condition that the discharge shall comply with any applicable 
regulations promulgated by the secretary of the department in 
which the Coast Guard is operating, that establish 
specifications for safe transportation, handling, carriage, and 
storage of pollutants.  

Q. Navigation. Any conditions that the Secretary of the 
Army considers necessary to ensure that navigation and 
anchorage will not be substantially impaired in accordance 
with 9VAC25-31-330.  

9VAC25-31-290. Public notice of permit actions and 
public comment period.  

A. Scope.  

1. The board shall give public notice that the following 
actions have occurred:  

a. A draft permit has been prepared under 9VAC25-31-
260 D;  

b. A public hearing has been scheduled under 9VAC25-
31-310; or  

c. A VPDES new source determination has been made 
under 9VAC25-31-180.  

2. No public notice is required when a request for permit 
modification, revocation and reissuance, or termination is 
denied under 9VAC25-31-370 B. Written notice of that 
denial shall be given to the requester and to the permittee. 
Public notice shall not be required for submission or 
approval of plans and specifications or conceptual 
engineering reports not required to be submitted as part of 
the application.  

3. Public notices may describe more than one permit or 
permit actions.  

B. Timing.  

1. Public notice of the preparation of a draft permit 
required under subsection A of this section shall allow at 
least 30 days for public comment.  
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2. Public notice of a public hearing shall be given at least 
30 days before the hearing. (Public notice of the hearing 
may be given at the same time as public notice of the draft 
permit and the two notices may be combined.)  

C. Methods. Public notice of activities described in 
subdivision A 1 of this section shall be given by the following 
methods:  

1. By mailing a copy of a notice to the following persons 
(any person otherwise entitled to receive notice under this 
subdivision may waive his or her rights to receive notice 
for any classes and categories of permits):  

a. The applicant (except for VPDES general permits 
when there is no applicant);  

b. Any other agency which the board knows has issued or 
is required to issue a VPDES, sludge management 
permit;  

c. Federal and state agencies with jurisdiction over fish, 
shellfish, and wildlife resources and over coastal zone 
management plans, the Advisory Council on Historic 
Preservation, State Historic Preservation Officers, 
including any affected states (Indian Tribes);  

d. Any state agency responsible for plan development 
under §208(b)(2), 208(b)(4) or §303(e) of the CWA and 
the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, the U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service and the National Marine Fisheries 
Service;  

e. Any user identified in the permit application of a 
privately owned treatment works;  

f. Persons on a mailing list developed by:  

(1) Including those who request in writing to be on the 
list;  

(2) Soliciting persons for area lists from participants in 
past permit proceedings in that area; and  

(3) Notifying the public of the opportunity to be put on 
the mailing list through periodic publication in the public 
press and in such publications as EPA regional and state 
funded newsletters, environmental bulletins, or state law 
journals. (The board may update the mailing list from 
time to time by requesting written indication of continued 
interest from those listed. The board may delete from the 
list the name of any person who fails to respond to such a 
request.);  

g. (1) Any unit of local government having jurisdiction 
over the area where the facility is proposed to be located; 
and  

(2) Each state agency having any authority under state 
law with respect to the construction or operation of such 
facility;  

2. By publication once a week for two successive weeks in 
a newspaper of general circulation in the area affected by 
the discharge. The cost of public notice shall be paid by the 
owner; and  

3. Any other method reasonably calculated to give actual 
notice of the action in question to the persons potentially 
affected by it, including press releases or any other forum 
or medium to elicit public participation.  

D. Contents.  

1. All public notices issued under this part shall contain the 
following minimum information:  

a. Name and address of the office processing the permit 
action for which notice is being given;  

b. Name and address of the permittee or permit applicant 
and, if different, of the facility or activity regulated by 
the permit, except in the case of VPDES draft general 
permits;  

c. A brief description of the business conducted at the 
facility or activity described in the permit application or 
the draft permit, for VPDES general permits when there 
is no application;  

d. Name, address and telephone number of a person from 
whom interested persons may obtain further information, 
including copies of the draft permit or draft general 
permit, as the case may be, statement of basis or fact 
sheet, and the application;  

e. A brief description of the procedures for submitting 
comments and the time and place of any public hearing 
that will be held, including a statement of procedures to 
request a public hearing (unless a hearing has already 
been scheduled) and other procedures by which the 
public may participate in the final permit decision;  

f. A general description of the location of each existing 
or proposed discharge point and the name of the 
receiving water and the sludge use and disposal practice 
or practices and the location of each sludge treatment 
works treating domestic sewage and use or disposal sites 
known at the time of permit application. For draft general 
permits, this requirement will be satisfied by a map or 
description of the permit area;  

g. Requirements applicable to cooling water intake 
structures under §316 of the CWA, in accordance with 
9VAC25-31-165; and  

h. Any additional information considered necessary or 
proper.  

2. In addition to the general public notice described in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection, the public notice of a 
public hearing under 9VAC25-31-310 shall contain the 
following information:  
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a. Reference to the date of previous public notices 
relating to the permit;  

b. Date, time, and place of the public hearing;  

c. A brief description of the nature and purpose of the 
public hearing, including the applicable rules and 
procedures; and  

d. A concise statement of the issues raised by the persons 
requesting the public hearing.  

3. Public notice of a VPDES draft permit for a discharge 
where a request for alternate thermal effluent limitations 
has been filed shall include:  

a. A statement that the thermal component of the 
discharge is subject to effluent limitations incorporated in 
9VAC25-31-30 and a brief description, including a 
quantitative statement, of the thermal effluent limitations 
proposed under §301 or §306 of the CWA;  

b. A statement that an alternate thermal effluent 
limitation request has been filed and that alternative less 
stringent effluent limitations may be imposed on the 
thermal component of the discharge under the law and 
§316(a) of the CWA and a brief description, including a 
quantitative statement, of the alternative effluent 
limitations, if any, included in the request; and  

c. If the applicant has filed an early screening request for 
a CWA §316(a) variance, a statement that the applicant 
has submitted such a plan.  

E. In addition to the general public notice described in 
subdivision D 1 of this section, all persons identified in 
subdivisions C 1 a, b, c, and d of this section shall be mailed a 
copy of the fact sheet or statement of basis, the permit 
application (if any) and the draft permit (if any).  

F. Upon receipt of an application for the issuance of a new 
or modified permit other than those for agricultural 
production or aquacultural production activities, the board 
shall notify: 

1.  Notify, in writing, the locality wherein the discharge or, 
as applicable, the associated land application of sewage 
sludge, or land disposal of treated sewage, stabilized 
sewage sludge or stabilized septage does or is proposed to 
take place of, at a minimum:  

1. a. The name of the applicant; 

2. b. The nature of the application and proposed 
discharge; 

3. c. The availability and timing of any comment period; 
and 

4. d. Upon request, any other information known to, or in 
the possession of, the board or the department regarding 

the applicant not required to be held confidential by this 
chapter. 

2. Establish a date for a public meeting to discuss technical 
issues relating to proposals for land application of sewage 
sludge, or land disposal of treated sewage, stabilized 
sewage sludge or stabilized septage. The department shall 
give notice of the date, time, and place of the public 
meeting and a description of the proposal by publication in 
a newspaper of general circulation in the city or county 
where the proposal is to take place. Public notice of the 
scheduled meeting shall occur no fewer than seven or more 
than 14 days prior to the meeting. The board shall not 
consider the application for the proposal to be complete 
until the public meeting has been held and comment has 
been received from the local governing body, or until 30 
days have lapsed from the date of the public meeting.  

The board shall 3. Except for land application of sewage 
sludge or land disposal of treated sewage, stabilized 
sewage sludge or stabilized septage, make a good faith 
effort to provide this same notice and information to (i) 
each locality and riparian property owner to a distance one-
quarter mile downstream and one-quarter mile upstream or 
to the fall line whichever is closer on tidal waters and (ii) 
each locality and riparian property owner to a distance one-
half mile downstream on nontidal waters. Distances shall 
be measured from the point, or proposed point, of 
discharge. If the receiving river at the point or proposed 
point of discharge is two miles wide or greater, the riparian 
property owners on the opposite shore need not be notified. 
Notice to property owners shall be based on names and 
addresses taken from local tax rolls. Such names and 
addresses shall be provided by the commissioners of the 
revenue or the tax assessor's office of the affected 
jurisdictions upon request by the board.  

4. For a site that is to be added to an existing permit 
authorizing land application of sewage sludge, notify 
persons residing on property bordering such site and 
receive written comments from those persons for a period 
not to exceed 30 days. Based upon the written comments, 
the department shall determine whether additional site-
specific requirements should be included in the 
authorization for land application at the site. 

G. Before issuing any permit, if the board finds that there 
are localities particularly affected by the permit, the board 
shall:  

1. Publish, or require the applicant to publish, a notice in a 
local paper of general circulation in the localities affected 
at least 30 days prior to the close of any public comment 
period. Such notice shall contain a statement of the 
estimated local impact of the proposed permit, which at a 
minimum shall include information on the specific 
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pollutants involved and the total quantity of each which 
may be discharged; and  

2. Mail the notice to the chief elected official and chief 
administrative officer and planning district commission for 
those localities.  

Written comments shall be accepted by the board for at least 
15 days after any public hearing on the permit, unless the 
board votes to shorten the period. For the purposes of this 
section, the term "locality particularly affected" means any 
locality which bears any identified disproportionate material 
water quality impact which would not be experienced by 
other localities.  

9VAC25-31-460. Additional or more stringent 
requirements.  

A. On a case-by-case basis, the board may impose 
requirements for the use or disposal of sewage sludge in 
addition to or more stringent than the requirements in this part 
when necessary to protect public health and the environment 
from any adverse effect of a pollutant in the sewage sludge.  

B. Nothing in this part precludes another state agency with 
responsibility for regulating sewage sludge or any political 
subdivision of Virginia or an interstate agency from imposing 
requirements for the use or disposal of sewage sludge more 
stringent than the requirements in this part or from imposing 
additional requirements for the use or disposal of sewage 
sludge.  

C. For sewage sludge land application where, because of 
site-specific conditions, including soil type, identified during 
the permit application review process, the department 
determines that special requirements are necessary to protect 
the environment or the health, safety or welfare of persons 
residing in the vicinity of a proposed land application site, the 
department may incorporate in the permit at the time it is 
issued reasonable special conditions regarding buffering, 
transportation routes, slope, material source, methods of 
handling and application, and time of day restrictions 
exceeding those required by this regulation.  The permit 
applicant shall have at least 14 days in which to review and 
respond to the proposed conditions. 

9VAC25-31-475. Local enforcement of sewage sludge 
regulations. 

A. In the event of a dispute between a locality that has 
adopted a local ordinance for testing and monitoring the land 
application of sewage sludge and a permittee concerning the 
existence of a violation, the activity alleged to be in violation 
shall be halted pending a determination by the director. The 
decision of the director shall be final and binding unless 
reversed on judicial appeal pursuant to §2.2-4026 of the Code 
of Virginia. If the activity is not halted, the director may seek 
an injunction compelling the halting of the activity from a 
court having jurisdiction. 

B. Upon determination by the director that there has been a 
violation of §62.1-44.19:3, 62.1-44.19:3.1 or 62.1-44.19:3.3 
of the Code of Virginia, or of any regulation promulgated 
under those sections, and that such violation poses an 
imminent threat to public health, safety or welfare, the 
department shall commence appropriate action to abate the 
violation and immediately notify the chief administrative 
officer of any locality potentially affected by the violation. 

C. Local governments shall promptly notify the department 
of all results from the testing and monitoring of the land 
application of sewage sludge performed by persons employed 
by local governments and any violation of §62.1-44.19:3, 
62.1-44.19:3.1, or 62.1-44.19:3.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. Localities receiving complaints concerning land 
application of sewage sludge shall notify the department and 
the permit holder. 

9VAC25-31-485. Requirements for permittees who land 
apply sewage sludge. 

A. Any person who land applies sewage sludge authorized 
by a VPDES permit shall be certified in accordance with 
requirements specified in the Virginia Pollution Abatement 
Permit Regulation (9VAC25-32). 

B. Persons authorized to land apply sewage sludge under a 
VPDES permit shall report all complaints received by them to 
the department and the local governing body of the 
jurisdiction in which the complaint originates. 

C. At least 100 days prior to commencing land application 
of sewage sludge at a permitted site the permittee shall 
deliver or cause to be delivered written notification to the 
chief executive officer or his designee for the local 
government where the site is located. The notice shall identify 
the location of the permitted site and the expected sources of 
the sewage sludge to be applied to the site. This requirement 
may be satisfied by providing a list of all available permitted 
sites in the locality at least 100 days prior to commencing the 
application at any site on the list.  If the site is located in more 
than one county, the notice shall be provided to all 
jurisdictions where the site is located. 

D. The permittee shall deliver or cause to be delivered 
written notification to the department as least 14 days prior to 
commencing land application of sewage sludge at a permitted 
site.  The notice shall identify the location of the permitted 
site and the expected sources of the sewage sludge to be 
applied to the site. 

E. The permittee shall provide to the department, and to 
each locality in which it is permitted to land apply sewage 
sludge, written evidence of financial responsibility, including 
both current liability and pollution insurance, or such other 
evidence of financial responsibility as the board may establish 
by regulation in an amount not less than $1 million per 
occurrence, which shall be available to pay claims for cleanup 
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costs, personal injury, bodily injury and property damage 
resulting from the transport, storage and land application of 
sewage sludge in Virginia. The aggregate amount of financial 
liability maintained by the permittee shall be $1 million for 
companies with less than $5 million in annual gross revenue 
and shall be $2 million for companies with $5 million or 
more in annual gross revenue.  

9VAC25-31-505. Universal requirements for land 
application operations. 

A. A nutrient management plan prepared by a person who is 
certified as a nutrient management planner by the Department 
of Conservation and Recreation shall be developed for all 
application sites prior to sewage sludge land application. A 
nutrient management plan approved by the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation shall be required for application 
sites prior to board authorization under specific conditions, 
including but not limited to sites operated by an owner or 
lessee of a confined animal feeding operation, as defined in 
subsection A of §62.1-44.17.1 of the Code of Virginia, or 
confined poultry feeding operation, as defined in subsection 
A of §62.1-44.17.1.1 of the Code of Virginia; sites where 
land application more frequently than once every three years 
at greater than 50% of the annual agronomic rate is proposed; 
and other sites based on site-specific conditions that increase 
the risk that land application may adversely impact state 
waters. 

B. Sewage sludge shall be treated to meet standards for land 
application as required by Part VI (9VAC25-31-420 et seq.) 
of this chapter prior to delivery at the land application site. 
No person shall alter the composition of sewage sludge at a 
site approved for land application of sewage sludge under a 
Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit.  Any person who 
engages in the alteration of such sewage sludge shall be 
subject to the penalties provided in Article 6 (§62.1-44.31 et 
seq.) of Chapter 3.1 of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia. The 
addition of lime or deodorants to sewage sludge that have 
been treated to meet standards for land application as required 
by Part VI (9VAC25-31-420 et seq.) of this chapter, shall not 
constitute alteration of the composition of sewage sludge. The 
board may authorize public institutions of higher education to 
conduct scientific research on the composition of sewage 
sludge that may be applied to land. 

C. Surface incorporation may be required on cropland by the 
department, or the local monitor with approval of the 
department, to mitigate excessive odors, when incorporation 
is practicable and compatible with a soil conservation plan 
meeting the standards and specifications of the U.S. 
Department of Agriculture Natural Resources Conservation 
Service. 

D. For applications where surface applied sewage sludge are 
not incorporated, the department (or the local monitor with 
approval of the department) may require as a site-specific 

permit condition, extended buffer zone setback distances 
when necessary to protect odor sensitive receptors. When 
necessary, buffer zone setback distances from odor sensitive 
receptors may be extended to 400 feet or more and no sewage 
sludge shall be applied within such extended buffer zones. 
The board, in accordance with 9VAC25-31-460, may impose 
standards and requirements that are more stringent when 
required to protect public health and the environment, or 
prevent nuisance conditions from developing, either prior to 
or during sewage sludge use operations. 

E. No person shall apply to the Department of 
Environmental Quality for a permit, a variance, or a permit 
modification authorizing storage of sewage sludge without 
first complying with all requirements adopted pursuant to 
§62.1-44.19:3 R of the Code of Virginia.  

9VAC25-32-40. Exclusions.  

The following do not require a VPA permit:  

1. The introduction of sewage, industrial waste or other 
pollutants into publicly owned treatment works by indirect 
dischargers. Plans or agreements to switch to this method 
of disposal in the future do not relieve dischargers of the 
obligation to have and comply with VPA permits until all 
discharges of pollutants to state waters are eliminated;  

2. Any introduction of pollutants from nonpoint source 
agricultural or silvicultural activities, including runoff from 
orchards, cultivated crops, pastures, range lands, and forest 
lands, except that this exclusion shall not apply to 
concentrated confined animal feeding operations;  

3. Return flows from irrigated agricultural land;  

4. Land disposal activity, including sewage sludge use or 
disposal or onsite waste treatment, when this activity is 
authorized by a state Department of Health permit or 
otherwise authorized by the Department of Environmental 
Quality; and  

5. Discharges authorized by EPA under the Safe Drinking 
Water Act Underground Injection Control Program (UIC), 
40 CFR Part 144, and approved, in writing, by the board.  

9VAC25-32-60. Application for a VPA permit.  

A. Duty to apply. Any owner of a pollutant management 
activity who does not have an effective VPA permit, except 
persons covered by general VPA permits or excluded under 
9VAC25-32-40, shall submit a complete application to the 
department in accordance with this section.  

1. a. A complete VPA permit application shall be 
submitted by the owner of the pollutant management 
activity before a VPA permit can be issued. This item does 
not apply where general VPA permits are applicable.  

b. The board may require the submission of additional 
information after an application has been filed, and may 
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suspend processing of any application until such time as 
the owner has supplied missing or deficient information 
and the board considers the application complete. 
Further, when the owner becomes aware that he omitted 
one or more relevant facts from a VPA permit 
application, or submitted incorrect information in a VPA 
permit application or in any report to the department, he 
shall promptly submit such facts or the correct 
information.  

c. In accordance with §62.1-44-19:3 A of the Code of 
Virginia, no application for a permit or variance to 
authorize the storage of sewage sludge shall be complete 
unless it contains certification from the governing body 
of the locality in which the sewage sludge is to be stored 
that the storage site is consistent with all applicable 
ordinances. The governing body shall confirm or deny 
consistency within 30 days of receiving a request for 
certification. If the governing body does not so respond, 
the site shall be deemed consistent. 

d. No application for a permit to land apply biosolids in 
accordance with Part IX (9VAC25-32-310 et seq.) of this 
chapter shall be complete unless it includes the written 
consent of the landowner to apply biosolids on his 
property. 

2. a. Any owner proposing a new pollutant management 
activity shall submit an application for a VPA permit 180 
days prior to the date planned for commencing erection, 
construction or expansion or employment of new processes 
at any site. There shall be no operation of said facilities 
prior to the issuance of a VPA permit.  

b. Any owner with an existing pollutant management 
activity that has not been permitted shall submit an 
application within 60 days upon being requested to by 
the board. The board, after determining there is pollution 
occurring, may allow the construction of treatment works 
prior to permit issuance. There shall be no operation of 
said treatment works prior to permit issuance.  

c. Owners currently managing pollutants who have 
effective VPA permits shall submit a new application 
180 days prior to proposed facility expansions, 
production increases, or process modification which will:  

(1) Result in significantly new or substantially increased 
amounts of pollutants being managed or a significant 
change in the nature of the pollutant management activity 
that was not anticipated and accounted for on the 
application for the effective VPA permit; or  

(2) Violate or lead to violation of the terms and 
conditions of the effective VPA permit.  

3. Pursuant to §62.1-44.15:3 of the Code of Virginia, no 
application for a VPA permit from a privately owned 
treatment works serving, or designed to serve, 50 or more 

residences shall be considered complete unless the 
applicant has provided the department with notification 
from the State Corporation Commission that the applicant 
is incorporated in the Commonwealth and is in compliance 
with all regulations and relevant orders of the State 
Corporation Commission.  

B. Duty to reapply. Any permittee with an effective VPA 
permit shall submit a new application at least 180 days before 
the expiration date of the effective VPA permit unless 
permission for a later date has been granted by the board. 
Permission shall not be granted to submit an application later 
than the expiration date of the existing VPA permit.  

C. Information requirements. All applicants for VPA 
permits shall provide information in accordance with forms 
provided by the department.  

9VAC25-32-80. Conditions applicable to all VPA permits.  

A. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 
conditions of the VPA permit. Any permit noncompliance is a 
violation of the law, and is grounds for enforcement action, 
permit termination, revocation, modification, or denial of a 
permit renewal application.  

B. Duty to halt or reduce activity. It shall not be a defense 
for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would have 
been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted activity in 
order to maintain compliance with the conditions of the VPA 
permit.  

C. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 
steps to minimize, correct or prevent any pollutant 
management activity in violation of the VPA permit which 
has a reasonable likelihood of adversely affecting human 
health or the environment.  

D. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall be 
responsible for the proper operation and maintenance of all 
treatment works, systems and controls which are installed or 
used to achieve compliance with permit conditions. Proper 
operation and maintenance includes effective plant 
performance, adequate funding, adequate licensed operator 
staffing, and adequate laboratory and process controls, 
including appropriate quality assurance procedures.  

E. Permit action.  

1. A VPA permit may be modified, revoked and reissued, 
or terminated as set forth in this chapter.  

2. If a permittee files a request for a permit modification, 
revocation, or termination, or files a notification of planned 
changes, or anticipated noncompliance, the permit terms 
and conditions shall remain effective until the request is 
acted upon by the board. This provision shall not be used 
to extend the expiration date of the effective VPA permit.  

3. VPA permits may be modified, revoked and reissued or 
terminated upon the request of the permittee or interested 
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persons, or upon the board's initiative, to reflect the 
requirements of any changes in the statutes or regulations.  

4. VPA permits continued under 9VAC25-32-130 remain 
effective and enforceable.  

F. Inspection and entry. Upon presentation of credentials, 
any duly authorized agent of the board may, at reasonable 
times and under reasonable circumstances:  

1. Enter upon any permittee's property, public or private, 
and have access to records required by the VPA permit;  

2. Have access to, inspect and copy any records that must 
be kept as part of VPA permit conditions;  

3. Inspect any facility's equipment (including monitoring 
and control equipment) practices or operations regulated or 
required under the VPA permit; and  

4. Sample or monitor any substances or parameters at any 
locations for the purpose of assuring VPA permit 
compliance or as otherwise authorized by law.  

G. Duty to provide information.  

1. The permittee shall furnish to the department, within a 
reasonable time, any information which the board may 
request to determine whether cause exists for modifying, 
revoking and reissuing, terminating the VPA permit, or to 
determine compliance with the VPA permit. The permittee 
shall also furnish to the department, upon request, copies 
of records required to be kept by the permittee.  

2. Plans, specifications, maps, conceptual reports and other 
relevant information shall be submitted as requested by the 
board prior to commencing construction.  

H. Monitoring and records.  

1. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 
monitoring shall be representative of the monitored 
activity.  

2. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 
information, including all calibration and maintenance 
records and all original strip chart recordings for 
continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 
reports required by the VPA permit, and records of all data 
used to complete the application for the VPA permit, for a 
period of at least three years or in the case of activities 
regulated under Part IX (9VAC25-32-310 et seq.) of this 
chapter, at least five years from the date of the sample, 
measurement, report or application. This period may be 
extended by request of the board at any time.  

Records related to biosolids data and information specified 
in agreements between generator, owner, agents, landowners 
and farmers shall be described and maintained for a minimum 
period of five years or the duration of the permit or 
subsequent revisions if longer than five years. 

3. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place and time of sampling or 
measurements;  

b. The name of the individual or individuals who 
performed the sampling or measurements;  

c. The date or dates analyses were performed;  

d. The name of the individual or individuals who 
performed the analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods supporting the 
information such as observations, readings, calculations 
and bench data used; and  

f. The results of such analyses.  

4. Monitoring shall be conducted according to analytical 
methods promulgated pursuant to §304(h) of the Clean 
Water Act (33 USC §1251 et seq.) and listed in the Code 
of Federal Regulations at 40 CFR Part 136 (1995). Any 
other acceptable test procedure not listed in 40 CFR Part 
136 (1995) shall be specified in the VPA permit.  

I. Reporting requirements.  

1. The permittee shall give prompt notice to the department 
of any planned changes to the design or operation of the 
pollutant management activity.  

2. If any unusual or extraordinary discharge including a 
bypass or upset should occur from a treatment works and 
the discharge enters or could be expected to enter state 
waters, the owner shall promptly notify, in no case later 
than 24 hours, the department by telephone after the 
discovery of the discharge. This notification shall provide 
all available details of the incident, including any adverse 
effects on aquatic life and the known number of fish killed. 
The permittee shall reduce the report to writing and shall 
submit it to the department within five days of discovery of 
the discharge in accordance with subdivision 6 of this 
subsection. Unusual and extraordinary discharges include 
but are not limited to any discharge resulting from:  

a. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 
indirectly from processing operations;  

b. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  

c. Failure or taking out of service of some or all of the 
treatment works; and  

d. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

3. The permittee shall give at least 10 days advance notice 
to the department of any planned changes to the facility or 
activity which may result in noncompliance.  

4. Monitoring results shall be reported at the intervals 
specified in the applicable VPA permit.  
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a. Monitoring results shall be reported in a format 
acceptable to the board.  

b. If a permittee monitors the pollutant management 
activity, at a sampling location specified in the VPA 
permit, for any pollutant more frequently than required 
by the VPA permit using approved analytical methods, 
the permittee shall report the results of this monitoring on 
the monitoring report.  

c. If the permittee monitors the pollutant management 
activity, at a sampling location specified in the VPA 
permit, for any pollutant that is not required to be 
monitored by the VPA permit, and uses approved 
analytical methods the permittee shall report the results 
with the monitoring report.  

d. Calculations for all limitations which require 
averaging of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic 
mean unless otherwise specified in the VPA permit.  

5. Reports of compliance or noncompliance with or any 
progress report on interim and final requirements contained 
in any compliance schedule in the VPA permit shall be 
submitted no later than 14 days following each scheduled 
date.  

6. 24-hour reporting.  

a. The permittee shall report any noncompliance which 
may adversely affect state waters or may endanger public 
health. An oral report must be provided as soon as 
possible, but in no case later than 24 hours from the time 
the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances. A 
written report shall be submitted within five days and 
shall contain a description of the noncompliance and its 
cause; the period of noncompliance including exact dates 
and times, and, if the noncompliance has not been 
corrected, how long it is expected to continue, steps 
planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and prevent a 
recurrence of the noncompliance. The board may waive 
the written report requirements on a case-by-case basis if 
the oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 
adverse impact on state waters has been reported. All 
other noncompliance reports which may not adversely 
affect state waters shall be submitted with the monitoring 
report. Reports shall include overflows.  

b. The following shall be included as information which 
must be reported within 24 hours under this subdivision:  

(1) Any unanticipated bypass; and  

(2) Any upset which causes a discharge to surface waters.  

J. Bypass.  

1. A bypass of the treatment works is prohibited except as 
provided herein.  

2. If the permittee knows in advance of the need for a 
bypass, he shall notify the department promptly at least 10 
days prior to the bypass. After considering its adverse 
effects, the board may approve an anticipated bypass if:  

a. The bypass will be unavoidable to prevent loss of 
human life, personal injury, or severe property damage 
("severe property damage" means substantial physical 
damage to property, damage to the treatment facilities 
which causes them to become inoperable, or substantial 
and permanent loss of natural resources which can 
reasonably be expected to occur in the absence of a 
bypass. Severe property damage does not mean economic 
loss caused by delays in production); and  

b. There are no feasible alternatives to bypass such as the 
use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention of untreated 
waste, or maintenance during normal periods of 
equipment downtime. However, if bypass occurs during 
normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 
maintenance and in the exercise of reasonable 
engineering judgment the permittee could have installed 
adequate backup equipment to prevent such bypass, this 
exclusion shall not apply as a defense.  

3. If an unplanned bypass occurs, the permittee shall notify 
the department as soon as possible, but in no case later than 
24 hours, and shall take steps to halt the bypass as early as 
possible. This notification will be a condition for defense 
to an enforcement action that an unplanned bypass met the 
conditions in subdivision 2 of this subsection and in light 
of the information reasonably available to the owner at the 
time of the bypass.  

K. Upset. A permittee may claim an upset as an affirmative 
defense to an action brought for noncompliance. In any 
enforcement proceedings a permittee shall have the burden of 
proof to establish the occurrence of any upset. In order to 
establish an affirmative defense of upset, the permittee shall 
present properly signed, contemporaneous operating logs or 
other relevant evidence that shows:  

1. That an upset occurred and that the cause can be 
identified;  

2. That the permitted facility was at the time being 
operated efficiently and in compliance with proper 
operation and maintenance procedures;  

3. That the 24-hour reporting requirements to the 
department were met; and  

4. That the permittee took all reasonable steps to minimize 
or correct any adverse impact on state waters resulting 
from noncompliance with the VPA permit.  

L. Signature requirements. All applications, reports, or 
information submitted to the department shall be signed and 
certified as required in 9VAC25-32-70.  



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 26, 2007 

743 
 

M. Transfers. A VPA permit is not transferable to any 
person except after notice to the department according to 
9VAC24-32-230. The board may require modification or 
revocation and reissuance of the VPA permit to change the 
name of the permittee and incorporate such other 
requirements as may be necessary.  

9VAC25-32-100. Establishing limitations and other VPA 
permit conditions.  

In addition to the conditions established in 9VAC25-32-80 
and 9VAC25-32-90, each VPA permit shall include 
conditions meeting the following requirements where 
applicable.  

1. Determination of limitations. VPA permit limitations 
and conditions shall be established based on the nature of 
the pollutant management activity in order to ensure 
compliance with technology-based limitations, water 
quality standards, the law and all regulations promulgated 
thereunder. These limitations and conditions may include, 
but are not limited to, duration of VPA permits, monitoring 
requirements, limitations to control toxic pollutants, best 
management practices and schedules of compliance.  

2. Duration of VPA permits. VPA permits issued under 
this regulation shall have an effective date and an 
expiration date which will determine the life of the VPA 
permit. VPA permits shall be effective for a fixed term not 
to exceed 10 years as specified in the VPA permit. The 
term of the VPA permits shall not be extended by 
modification beyond the maximum duration. The VPA 
permit shall expire at the end of the term unless an 
application for a new VPA permit has been timely filed as 
required by this chapter and the board is unable, through 
no fault of the permittee, to issue a new VPA permit before 
the expiration date of the previous VPA permit.  

3. Monitoring requirements.  

a. All VPA permits may specify:  

(1) Requirements concerning the proper use, 
maintenance and installation, when appropriate, of 
monitoring equipment or methods;  

(2) Required monitoring including type, intervals, and 
frequency sufficient to yield data which are 
representative of the monitored activity and including, 
when appropriate, continuous monitoring; and  

(3) Applicable reporting requirements based upon the 
impact of the regulated activity on water quality.  

b. VPA permits may include requirements to report 
monitoring results with a frequency dependent on the 
nature and effect of the pollutant management activity.  

c. In addition, the following monitoring requirements 
may be included in the VPA permits:  

(1) Mass or other measurements specified in the VPA 
permit for each pollutant of concern;  

(2) The volume of waste, wastewater or sludge managed 
by the activity; and  

(3) Other measurements as appropriate.  

4. Best Management Practices (BMPs). The VPA permit 
shall require the use of BMPs to control or abate pollutants 
where numeric limits are infeasible, and the VPA permit 
may include BMPs in addition to numeric limits where 
BMPs are necessary to achieve limitations and standards or 
to carry out the purpose and intent of the law.  

5. Sludge disposal. The VPA permit shall include, where 
appropriate, specific requirements for disposal of all 
sludge.  

6. Sewage sludge land application.  Where, because of site-
specific conditions, including soil type, identified during 
the permit application review process, the department 
determines that special requirements are necessary to 
protect the environment or the health, safety or welfare of 
persons residing in the vicinity of a proposed land 
application site, the department may incorporate in the 
permit at the time it is issued reasonable special conditions 
regarding buffering, transportation routes, slope, material 
source, methods of handling and application, and time of 
day restrictions exceeding those required by this 
regulation.  The permit applicant shall have at least 14 days 
in which to review and respond to the proposed conditions. 

6. 7. Schedules of compliance. The VPA permit may 
specify a schedule, when appropriate, leading to 
compliance with the VPA permit as soon as possible. 
When schedules of compliance are applicable the 
following shall be incorporated:  

a. Schedule or schedules of compliance shall require the 
permittee to take specific steps where necessary to 
achieve expeditious compliance with the VPA permit;  

b. The schedule of compliance shall set forth interim time 
periods not more than one year apart for the submission 
of reports of progress toward completion of each 
requirement; and  

c. Schedule or schedules of compliance may be modified 
by modification of the VPA permit for good cause 
beyond the control of the permittee (e.g., act of God, 
strike, flood, material shortage).  

9VAC25-32-140. Public notice of VPA permit action and 
public comment period.  

A. Every draft VPA permit shall be given public notice, paid 
for by the owner, by publication once a week for two 
successive weeks in a newspaper of general circulation in the 
area affected by the pollutant management activity.  
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B. Interested persons shall have a period of at least 30 days 
following the date of the initial newspaper public notice to 
submit written comments on the tentative decision and to 
request a public hearing.  

C. The contents of the public notice of an application for a 
VPA permit shall include:  

1. The name and address of the applicant. If the location of 
the pollutant management activity differs from the address 
of the applicant the notice shall also state the location of 
the pollutant management activity including storage and 
land application sites;  

2. A brief description of the business or activity conducted 
at the facility;  

3. A statement of the tentative determination to issue or 
deny a VPA permit;  

4. A brief description of the final determination procedure;  

5. The address and phone number of a specific person at 
the state office from whom further information may be 
obtained; and  

6. A brief description of how to submit comments and 
request a hearing.  

D. Public notice shall not be required for submission or 
approval of plans and specifications or conceptual 
engineering reports not required to be submitted as part of the 
application.  

E. Upon receipt of an application for a permit or for a 
modification of a permit, the board shall cause: 

1. Cause to be notified, in writing, the locality wherein the 
pollutant management activity does or is proposed to take 
place. This notification shall, at a minimum, include:  

1. a. The name of the applicant;  

2. b. The nature of the application and proposed pollutant 
management activity; and  

3. c. Upon request, any other information known to, or in 
the possession of, the board or the department regarding 
the application except as restricted by 9VAC25-32-150.  

2. Establish a date for a public meeting to discuss technical 
issues relating to proposals for land application of biosolids 
or land disposal of treated sewage, stabilized sewage 
sludge or stabilized septage. The department shall give 
notice of the date, time, and place of the public meeting 
and a description of the proposal by publication in a 
newspaper of general circulation in the city or county 
where the proposal is to take place. Public notice of the 
scheduled meeting shall occur no fewer than seven or more 
than 14 days prior to the meeting. The board shall not 
consider the application for the proposal to be complete 
until the public meeting has been held and comment has 

been received from the local governing body or until 30 
days have lapsed from the date of the public meeting. 

F. Before issuing any permit, if the board finds that there are 
localities particularly affected by the permit, the board shall:  

1. Publish, or require the applicant to publish, a notice in a 
local paper of general circulation in the localities affected 
at least 30 days prior to the close of any public comment 
period. Such notice shall contain a statement of the 
estimated local impact of the proposed permit, which at a 
minimum shall include information on the specific 
pollutants involved and the total quantity of each which 
may be discharged; and  

2. Mail the notice to the chief elected official and chief 
administrative officer and planning district commission for 
those localities.  

Written comments shall be accepted by the board for at 
least 15 days after any public hearing on the permit, unless 
the board votes to shorten the period. For the purposes of 
this section, the term "locality particularly affected" means 
any locality which bears any identified disproportionate 
material water quality impact which would not be 
experienced by other localities.  

G. When a site is to be added to an existing permit 
authorizing land application of biosolids, the department shall 
notify persons residing on property bordering such site, and 
shall receive written comments from those persons for a 
period not to exceed 30 days. Based upon the written 
comments, the department shall determine whether additional 
site-specific requirements should be included in the 
authorization for land application at the site. 

9VAC25-32-210. Causes for termination.  

A. The following are causes for terminating a VPA permit 
during its term, or for denying a VPA permit renewal 
application, after public notice and opportunity for a public 
hearing:  

1. The permittee has violated any regulation or order of the 
board, any condition of a VPA permit, any provision of the 
law, or any order of a court, where such violation results in 
a release of harmful substances into the environment or 
poses a substantial threat of release of harmful substances 
into the environment or presents a hazard to human health 
or the violation is representative of a pattern of serious or 
repeated violations which, in the opinion of the board, 
demonstrates the permittee's disregard for or inability to 
comply with applicable laws, regulations or requirements;  

2. The permittee's failure to disclose fully all relevant 
material facts, or the permittee's misrepresentation of any 
relevant material facts in applying for a VPA permit, or in 
any other report or document required under the law or this 
chapter;  
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3. A determination that the permitted activity endangers 
human health or the environment and can only be regulated 
to acceptable levels by VPA permit modification or 
termination; or  

4. There exists a material change in the basis on which the 
VPA permit was issued that requires either a temporary or 
a permanent reduction or elimination of any pollutant 
management activity controlled by the VPA permit 
necessary to protect human health or the environment.  

B. In addition to causes for terminating a VPA permit 
specified in subsection A of this section, causes for 
terminating a VPA permit issued for land application, 
marketing and distribution of biosolids shall include:  

1. Failure to comply with the conditions of the permit. 

2. Violation of Chapter 3.1 (§62.1-44.2 et seq.) of Title 
62.1 of the Code of Virginia or of any provisions of this 
regulation. 

3. Change in ownership. 

4. Abandonment of the facilities. 

B. C. A VPA permit may be terminated without public 
notice and opportunity for a hearing when the termination is 
mutually agreed to by the permittee and the board.  

9VAC25-32-220. Causes for modification.  

A VPA permit may be modified, but not revoked and 
reissued, except when the permittee agrees or requests, when 
any of the following developments occur:  

1. When additions or alterations have been made to the 
affected facility which require the application of VPA 
permit conditions that differ from those of the existing 
VPA permit or are absent from it;  

2. When new information becomes available about the 
operation or pollutant management activity covered by the 
VPA permit which was not available at VPA permit 
issuance and would have justified the application of 
different VPA permit conditions at the time of VPA permit 
issuance;  

3. When a change is made in the promulgated standards or 
regulations on which the VPA permit was based; or 

4. When it becomes necessary to change final dates in 
compliance schedules due to circumstances over which the 
permittee has little or no control such as acts of God, 
materials shortages, etc.; or 

5. For the addition of new land application sites, new 
biosolids sources or routine storage facilities to the permit. 

9VAC25-32-240. Minor modification.  

A. Upon request of the permittee, or upon board initiative 
with the consent of the permittee, minor modifications may 

be made in the VPA permit without following the public 
involvement procedures.  

B. Minor modification may only:  

1. Correct typographical errors;  

2. Require reporting by the permittee at a frequency other 
than that required in the VPA permit;  

3. Change an interim compliance date in a schedule of 
compliance to no more than 120 days from the original 
compliance date and provided it will not interfere with the 
final compliance date;  

4. Allow for a change in name, ownership or operational 
control when the board determines that no other change in 
the VPA permit is necessary, provided that a written 
agreement containing a specific date for transfer of VPA 
permit responsibility, coverage and liability from the 
current to the new permittee has been submitted to the 
department;  

5. Delete the listing of a land application site when the 
pollutant management activity is terminated and does not 
result in an increase of pollutants which would exceed 
VPA permit limitations;  

6. Reduce VPA permit limitations to reflect a reduction in 
the permitted activity when such reduction results from a 
shutdown of processes or pollutant generating activities or 
from connection of the permitted activity to a POTW;  

7. Change plans and specifications where no other changes 
in the VPA permit are required;  

8. Authorize treatment facility expansions, production 
increases or process modifications which will not cause a 
significant change in the quantity of pollutants being 
managed or a significant change in the nature of the 
pollutant management activity; or  

9. Delete VPA permit limitation or monitoring 
requirements for specific pollutants when the activities 
generating these pollutants are terminated.  

C.  An application for a permit amendment to increase the 
acreage authorized by the permit by 50% or more shall be 
treated as a new application for purposes of public notice and 
public hearings. 

9VAC25-32-300. Transition. 

A. Effective July 24, 1996, the following will occur: 

1. All VPA applications received after that date will be 
processed in accordance with this regulation.  

2. Any owner holding a No-Discharge Certificate will be 
notified of the deadline for applying for a VPA permit, 
unless this notification has already been made. All such 
notifications shall be completed by July 1, 1998. Upon 
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notification that a VPA permit is necessary for the 
pollutant management activity authorized by the No-
Discharge Certificate, the permittee shall have 180 days to 
apply for a VPA permit. If a VPA permit is required, the 
existing No-Discharge Certificate will remain in effect 
until the VPA permit is issued. Concurrent with the 
issuance of the VPA permit, the No-Discharge Certificate 
will be revoked subject to appropriate notice and 
opportunity for public hearing. Notwithstanding the 
foregoing, all No-Discharge Certificates which do not bear 
an expiration date shall terminate no later than July 1, 
1999.  

3. Existing VPA permits for sewage sludge use or disposal 
shall be terminated when the sewage sludge use or disposal 
is authorized by: 

1. A permit issued by the Department of Health; or 

2. A VPDES permit issued by the board. 

B. Permits issued by the Department of Health under the 
authority of the State Board of Health prior to January 1, 
2008, shall continue in force until expired, reissued, amended, 
or terminated in accordance with the permit or this regulation. 
All owners holding biosolids use construction or operation 
permits as of January 1, 2008, shall submit an application for 
a Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit in accordance with 
this regulation within 180 days before the date of expiration 
of permits issued prior to January 1, 2008, or at the time of 
any modification request submitted after January 1, 2008, or 
by June 1, 2008, whichever is later. All owners of biosolids 
use facilities shall comply with the applicable requirements 
set forth in the operational regulations of Part IX (9VAC25-
32-310 et seq.) of this chapter. 

Part IX 

Biosolids Program 

Article 1 

Definitions and Procedures 

9VAC25-32-310. Definitions. 

A. For the purposes of this part the following definitions 
shall apply: 

"Biosolids" means a sewage sludge that has received an 
established treatment for required pathogen control and is 
treated or managed to reduce vector attraction to a 
satisfactory level and contains acceptable levels of pollutants, 
such that it is acceptable for use for land application, 
marketing or distribution in accordance with this regulation.  

"Critical areas/waters" means areas/waters in proximity to 
shellfish waters, a public water supply, recreation or other 
waters where health or water quality concerns are identified 
by the board or the Department of Health. 

"Dry tons" means dry weight established as representative of 
land applied biosolids and expressed in units of English tons. 

"Dry weight" means the measured weight of a sample of 
sewage sludge or biosolids after all moisture has been 
removed in accordance with the standard methods of testing 
and often represented as a percent solids. 

"Effluent limitations" means schedules of compliance, 
prohibitions, permit requirements, established under state or 
federal law for control of sewage discharges. 

"Exceptional quality biosolids" means biosolids that have 
received an established level of treatment for pathogen 
control and vector attraction reduction and contain known 
levels of pollutants, such that they may be marketed or 
distributed for public use in accordance with this regulation.  

"Facilities" means processes, equipment, storage devices 
and dedicated sites, located or operated separately from a 
treatment works, utilized for sewage sludge management, 
including but not limited to, handling, treatment, transport 
and storage of biosolids.  

"Generator" means the owner of a sewage treatment works 
that produces sewage sludge and biosolids.  

"Industrial wastes" means liquid or other wastes resulting 
from any process of industry, manufacture, trade or business, 
or from the development of any natural resources.  

"Land application" means the distribution of either treated 
wastewater of acceptable quality, referred to as effluent, or 
stabilized sewage sludge of acceptable quality, referred to as 
biosolids, upon, or insertion into, the land with a uniform 
application rate for the purpose of utilization, or assimilation. 
Bulk disposal of stabilized sludge in a confined area, such as 
in landfills, is not land application. Sites approved for land 
application of biosolids in accordance with this regulation are 
not to be considered to be treatment works.  

"Land applier" means someone who land applies biosolids 
pursuant to a valid permit from the department as set forth in 
this regulation.  

"Local monitor" means a person or persons employed by 
local government to perform the duties of monitoring the 
operations of land appliers pursuant to a local ordinance.  

"Local ordinance" means an ordinance adopted by counties, 
cities or towns in accordance with §62.1-44.19:3 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

"Operate" means the act of any person who may have an 
impact on either the finished water quality at a waterworks or 
the final effluent at a sewage treatment works, such as to (i) 
place into or take out of service a unit process or unit 
processes, (ii) make or cause adjustments in the operation of a 
unit process or unit processes at a treatment works, or (iii) 
manage sewage sludge or biosolids.  
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"Owner" means the Commonwealth or any of its political 
subdivisions including sanitary districts, sanitation district 
commissions and authorities, federal agencies, any individual, 
any group of individuals acting individually or as a group, or 
any public or private institution, corporation, company, 
partnership, firm or association that owns or proposes to own 
a sewerage system or treatment works as defined in §62.1-
44.3 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Permit" means an authorization granted by the board to 
construct, or operate, facilities and specific sites utilized for 
biosolids management, including land application, marketing 
and distribution of biosolids.  

"Permittee" means a person, firm, corporation, political 
subdivision or other entity holding a permit approved by the 
board for the land application, storage or distribution of 
biosolids as provided for in this regulation.  

"Pollutant" means any substance, radioactive material, or 
waste heat that causes or contributes to, or may cause or 
contribute to, pollution.  

"Pollution" means such alteration of the physical, chemical 
or biological properties of any state waters or soil as will, or 
is likely to, create a nuisance or render such waters or soil (i) 
harmful or detrimental or injurious to the public health, safety 
or welfare, or to the health of animals, fish or aquatic life; (ii) 
unsuitable despite reasonable treatment for use as present or 
possible future sources of public water supply; or (iii) 
unsuitable for recreational, commercial, industrial, 
agricultural or for other reasonable uses. Such alteration is 
also deemed to be pollution, if there occurs: (a) an alteration 
of the physical, chemical or biological property of state 
waters or soil, or a discharge or a deposit of sewage, 
industrial wastes or other wastes to state waters or soil by any 
owner which by itself is not sufficient to cause pollution, but 
which, in combination with such alteration of, or discharge, 
or deposit, to state waters or soil by other owners, is sufficient 
to cause pollution; (b) the discharge of untreated sewage by 
any owner into state waters or soil; or (c) the contravention of 
standards of air or water quality duly established by the State 
Water Control Board.  

9VAC25-32-320. Local enforcement of the regulation. 

A. In the event of a dispute between a locality that has 
adopted a local ordinance for testing and monitoring the land 
application of sewage sludge and a permittee concerning the 
existence of a violation, the activity alleged to be in violation 
shall be halted pending a determination by the director.  The 
decision of the director shall be final and binding unless 
reversed on judicial appeal pursuant to §2.2-4026 of the Code 
of Virginia.  If the activity is not halted, the director may seek 
an injunction compelling the halting of the activity, from a 
court having jurisdiction. 

B. Upon determination by the director that there has been a 
violation of §62.1-44.19:3, 62.1-44.19:3.1 or 62.1-44.19:3.3 
of the Code of Virginia, or of any regulation promulgated 
under those sections, and that such violation poses an 
imminent threat to public health, safety or welfare, the 
department shall commence appropriate action to abate the 
violation and immediately notify the chief administrative 
officer of any locality potentially affected by the violation. 

C. Local governments shall promptly notify the department 
of all results from the testing and monitoring of the land 
application of sewage sludge performed by persons employed 
by local governments and any violation of §62.1-44.19:3, 
62.1-44.19:3.1 or 62.1-44.19:3.3 of the Code of Virginia.  

9VAC25-32-330. Variances. 

A. The board may grant a variance to a procedural, design, 
or operational regulation by following the appropriate 
procedures set forth in this section.  

B. Requirements for a variance. The board may grant a 
variance if it finds that the hardship imposed (may be 
economic) outweighs the benefits that may be received by the 
public and that the granting of such variance does not subject 
the public to unreasonable health risks or environmental 
pollution.  

C. Application for a variance. Any owner may apply in 
writing for a variance. The application should be sent to the 
appropriate regional office for evaluation. The application 
shall include:  

1. A citation of the regulation from which a variance is 
requested.  

2. The nature and duration of variance requested.  

3. A statement of the hardship to the owner and the 
anticipated impacts to the public health and welfare if a 
variance were granted.  

4. Suggested conditions that might be imposed on the 
granting of a variance that would limit its detrimental 
impact on public health and welfare.  

5. Other information, if any, believed to be pertinent by the 
applicant.  

6. Such other information as may be required to make the 
determination in accordance with subsection B of this 
section.  

D. Consideration of a variance.  

1. The board shall act on any variance request submitted 
pursuant to this subsection within 90 days of receipt of 
request.  

2. In the board’s consideration of whether a biosolids use 
variance should be granted, the board shall consider such 
factors as the following:  
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a. The effect that such a variance would have on the 
adequate operation of the biosolids use facility, including 
public nuisance concerns;  

b. The cost and other economic considerations imposed 
by this requirement; and  

c. The effect that such a variance would have on the 
protection of the public health or the environment.  

E. Disposition of a variance request.  

1. The board may grant the variance request and if the 
board proposes to deny the variance it shall provide the 
owner an opportunity to an informal hearing as provided in 
§2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia. Following this 
opportunity for an informal hearing the board may reject 
any application for a variance by sending a rejection notice 
to the applicant. The rejection notice shall be in writing 
and shall state the reasons for the rejection. A rejection 
notice constitutes a case decision.  

2. If the board proposes to grant a variance request 
submitted pursuant to this regulation, the applicant shall be 
notified in writing of this decision. Such notice shall 
identify the variance, the biosolids use facility involved, 
and shall specify the period of time for which the variance 
will be effective. Such notice shall provide that the 
variance will be terminated when the biosolids use facility 
comes into compliance with the applicable regulation and 
may be terminated upon a finding by the board that the 
biosolids use facility has failed to comply with any 
requirements or schedules issued in conjunction with the 
variance. The effective date of the variance shall be 15 
days following its issuance.  

F. Posting of variances. All variances granted for the design 
or operation of biosolids use facility are nontransferable. Any 
requirements of the variance shall become part of the permit 
for biosolids use subsequently granted by the board.  

9VAC25-32-340. Permits. 

No owner shall cause or allow any land application, 
marketing or distribution of biosolids except in compliance 
with a permit issued by the board that authorizes these 
activities. Application for a permit shall be in accordance 
with 9VAC25-32-60. Information for the permit application 
is to be provided by completion and submission of the 
appropriate application forms and applicable sections in 
Article 4 (9VAC25-32-670 et seq.) of this part to the 
appropriate regional office. Applications can be obtained 
from any regional office. 

A separate biosolids use permit shall be issued for each 
political jurisdiction (county or city) where land application is 
to be undertaken. 

9VAC25-32-350. Procedures for obtaining a certificate to 
construct and certificate to operate. 

No owner shall cause or allow the construction, expansion, 
modification, or operation of facilities necessary for biosolids 
treatment or storage except in compliance with a certificate to 
construct (CTC) and a certificate to operate (CTO) issued by 
the board in accordance with the Sewage Collection and 
Treatment Regulations (9VAC25-790).  

9VAC25-32-355. Biosolids Use Regulation Advisory 
Committee. 

A. The department shall appoint a committee to advise the 
department on issues related to implementation and 
administration of this part. Advisory committee membership 
should include representatives of large size and small size 
communities and industries and their consultants. The 
advisory committee shall contain a maximum of 25 members.  

B. The committee members shall be selected from 
organizations such as:  

1. Virginia Association of Counties (VACO) and a 
representative, such as a local monitor, of a county with 
sites permitted for land application of biosolids in 
accordance with this regulation;  

2. Virginia Municipal League (VML), the Association of 
Municipal Wastewater Agencies (VAMWA), and the 
owners of medium and small flow treatment works;  

3. Virginia professional societies (i.e., engineers and soil 
scientists) and regional wastewater organizations such as 
the Virginia Water Environment Association;  

4. Biosolids consultants and contractors;  

5. State university and college faculties;  

6. Agricultural industry, the Virginia Farm Bureau and 
farmers with land permitted in accordance with this 
regulation;  

7. Medical professionals and "at large" citizens; and 

8. State agencies such as the Department of Conservation 
and Recreation, the Department of Health, and the 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.  

C. Consideration shall also be given to appropriate citizens 
who are not members of these organizations and other 
interested parties and groups such as citizens' conservation 
organizations.  

D. Each committee member may designate an alternate to 
serve when necessary. 

E. The function of the committee will be to meet, discuss 
issues, and make recommendations to the department 
concerning the regulations and standards contained in this 
part and other policies, procedures and programs for 
regulating biosolids use and associated fees. The committee's 
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meetings will be advertised and open to the public, and 
comments and recommendations from the public will be 
received.  

Article 2 

Operational and Monitoring Requirements 

9VAC25-32-360. Monitoring; records; reporting. 

The board may require the owner or operator of any facility 
to install, use, and maintain monitoring equipment for internal 
testing of biosolids quality, to identify and determine the 
causes of operational problems and to determine the 
necessary corrective actions to correct such problems. If 
required, test results shall be recorded, compiled, and reported 
to the department.  

9VAC25-32-370. Minimum biosolids sampling and testing 
program. 

A. Sampling and testing methods shall conform to current 
United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 
guidelines establishing test procedures for analysis of 
pollutants or other EPA-approved methods.  

B. Either the operation and maintenance manual, sludge 
management plan, or management practices plan shall contain 
a specific testing schedule. The testing schedule shall include 
minimum tests and their frequencies as required to monitor 
the facility in accordance with the appropriate certificate and 
the operating permit issued under this regulation.  

C. The following sampling instructions shall be followed 
when collecting samples as required by this regulation:  

1. Raw sewage or sludge samples are to be collected prior 
to the treatment process unit operations.  

2. Final treated samples are to be taken at a point following 
appropriate unit operations in the treatment process. An 
evaluation of biosolids treatment may require monitoring 
of fecal coliform levels in the treated sludge.  

3. Compositing of samples shall be in accordance with the 
treatment works operation and maintenance manual. 
Composite samples of sludge shall consist of grab samples 
taken in accordance with either the operation and 
maintenance manual or management practices plan, as 
appropriate. Composite samples shall be representative of 
the quality and quantity of the biosolids used. Greater 
frequency of grab sampling may be desirable where 
abnormal variation in waste strength occurs. Automatic 
proportional samplers are considered a valid sampling 
method.  

9VAC25-32-380. Minimum operational testing and 
control program. 

A. Sampling and testing methods shall conform to current 
United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 

guidelines establishing test procedures for analysis of 
pollutants or other EPA-approved methods.  

B. The information furnished with either the operation and 
maintenance manual, sludge management plan, or 
management practices plan should recommend and describe 
the control tests and their frequency that should be routinely 
conducted by the holder of the permit in order to monitor 
operations and verify the treatment classification achieved 
(Table 3). All special sampling methods should be identified. 
Biosolids use site sampling and testing frequencies should be 
in accordance with the requirements established by the 
instructions contained in the biosolids use operation and 
maintenance manual if provided.  

C. Additional operational control information may be 
required on an individual basis by the department.  

9VAC25-32-390. Additional monitoring, reporting and 
recording requirements for land application. 

A. Either the operation and maintenance manual, sludge 
management plan or management practices plan shall contain 
a schedule of the required minimum tests necessary to 
monitor land application operation. Such testing schedule 
information for land application of biosolids shall contain 
instructions for recording and reporting. Monitoring of any 
associated land treatment systems shall be in accordance with 
the biosolids use operation and maintenance manual if 
provided.  

B. The permit holder shall provide to the department, and to 
each locality in which it is permitted to land apply biosolids, 
written evidence of financial responsibility, including both 
current liability and pollution insurance, or such other 
evidence of financial responsibility as the board may establish 
by regulation in an amount not less than $1 million per 
occurrence, which shall be available to pay claims for cleanup 
costs, personal injury, bodily injury and property damage 
resulting from the transport, storage and land application of 
biosolids in Virginia. The aggregate amount of financial 
liability maintained by the permit holder shall be $1 million 
for companies with less than $5 million in annual gross 
revenue and shall be $2 million for companies with $5 
million or more in annual gross revenue.  

C. Evidence of financial responsibility, which may include 
liability insurance, meeting the requirements herein shall be 
maintained by the permit holder at all times that it is 
authorized to transport, store or land apply biosolids in 
Virginia. The permit holder shall immediately notify the 
Department of Health in the event of any lapse or cancellation 
of such financial resources, including insurance coverage, as 
required by this section.  
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9VAC25-32-400. Additional monitoring, reporting and 
recording requirements for sewage sludge and residual 
solids management. 

Either the operation and maintenance manual, sludge 
management plan, or management practices plan shall contain 
a schedule of required minimum tests and their frequency to 
be conducted for the sewage sludge and biosolids 
management system and shall also contain necessary 
information to document sewage sludge and biosolids quality. 
Such test schedule information should include instructions for 
recording and reporting. Monitoring, reporting and recording 
requirements for sewage sludge and biosolids quality control 
shall be in accordance with the sludge management plan or 
management practices plan in accordance with 9VAC25-32-
500 B. The recordkeeping and reporting requirements for 
sewage sludge and biosolids management contained in the 
treatment works operation and maintenance manual shall 
apply to all application sites, regardless of size or frequency 
of application. However, the requirements relative to 
monitoring, reporting and recording of site-specific soils and 
monitoring, reporting and recording of ground water and 
surface water are not applicable for any site that meets either 
of the following criteria:  

1. Whenever exceptional quality biosolids are marketed 
and distributed with a label or identification information 
that specifies proper quality information and describes how 
agronomic rates are to be determined. Also, whenever 
Class I treated biosolids are land applied so that (i) the 
annual loading rate will not result in annual maximum 
loading rates in excess of those specified in Table 8; (ii) 
applied biosolids will meet vector attraction requirements; 
(iii) the amount of nutrients applied does not exceed the 
total crop needs or agronomic loading rate; (iv) no 
additional biosolids are applied for at least five years, or 
the biosolids are applied to land maintained only as pasture 
or hay land for five years following the last application of 
biosolids and the nutrient loading rate does not exceed 
70% of the annual total crop needs of the grass or hay 
cover (Tables A-2 and 11).  

2. Whenever the application site area for biosolids 
processed by Class I or II treatment is no larger than l0 
acres and is isolated (2,000 feet or more separation 
distance) from other sites receiving applications of 
biosolids within three years of the time biosolids are 
applied to the identified site and the necessary vector 
attraction requirements are met.  

The department may recommend that specified site specific 
monitoring be performed by the holder of the permit for any 
biosolids land application practice regardless of frequency of 
application or size of the application area. Such 
recommendations will occur in situations in which 
groundwater contamination, surface runoff, soil toxicity, 
health hazards or nuisance conditions are identified as an 

existing problem or documented as a potential problem as a 
result of biosolids use operations. Requirements of 9VAC 25-
32-510 through 9VAC25-32-580 shall apply in full whether 
or not a monitoring waiver provision is applicable.  

9VAC25-32-410. Operation and maintenance manuals. 

A. General. The general purpose of an operation and 
maintenance manual is to facilitate operation and 
maintenance of the biosolids use facilities within permit 
requirements for both normal conditions and generally 
anticipated adverse conditions. The manual shall be tailored 
to the size and type of system being employed. The manual 
shall be directed toward the operating staff required for the 
facility. The manual shall be updated as necessary and be 
made available to the operating staff. The manual should be 
designed as a reference document, being as brief as possible 
while presenting the information in a readily accessible 
manner.  

B. Contents. The manual shall contain the testing and 
reporting elements required by this regulation. In addition, for 
information and guidance purposes, the manual should 
contain additional schedules that supplement these required 
schedules.  

9VAC25-32-420. Operability. 

Independently operated essential equipment, or components, 
of biosolids use facilities, including treatment works, shall be 
provided with sufficient capacity and routine maintenance 
resources so that the average quantity of biosolids used may 
be reliably transported, stored, treated or otherwise managed 
in accordance with permit requirements. Permit 
noncompliance shall be prevented in those situations in which 
the largest component is out of service.  

The need for spare parts should be determined from 
operational experience, evaluation of past maintenance 
requirements, etc. A spare parts inventory may be included in 
the operation and maintenance manual. The inventory should 
list the minimum and maximum quantities of the spare parts 
to be kept on hand, the equipment in which they are used, 
their storage location, replacement procedures and other 
pertinent information.  

Sufficient spare parts determined as necessary to ensure 
continuous operability of essential unit operations and 
equipment should be either located at the treatment works or 
at readily accessible locations. The minimum quantities of 
spare parts actually provided shall be in accordance with the 
operation and maintenance manual.  

9VAC25-32-430. Maintenance. 

A regular or routine program of preventive maintenance 
shall be adhered to. The operations and maintenance manual 
shall contain a system of maintenance requirements to be 
accomplished. The routine, minimum preventive maintenance 
system shall be in accordance with the operations and 
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maintenance manual. Such a system should provide for 
advanced scheduling of preventive maintenance and should 
be continually assessed in order to reflect increased service 
requirements as equipment ages or flow rates increase. 
Adequate records, files and inventories to assist the operator 
in his task should also be described in the operation and 
maintenance manual. Information systems provided for 
maintenance should describe the documentation required to 
verify biosolids treatment quality necessary for compliance 
with permits. Where certain components of the treatment 
process may be damaged by flooding so as to cause excessive 
delays in restoring the treatment process to a normal 
operating level, the means of protecting or removal of such 
components prior to flooding should be described in the 
operations and maintenance manual.  

9VAC25-32-440. Biosolids monitoring/reporting. 

A. Monitoring biosolids quality shall be performed as 
required for permit compliance. Monitoring frequency shall 
be sufficient to both reflect the degree of variability, if any, 
expected in the biosolids quality and the frequency of 
application. The following guidelines should provide 
sufficient data for characterizing the quality of biosolids for 
biosolids programs that land apply continuously throughout 
the year.  

TABLE 1  
Amount of biosolids(1) (metric 

tons per 365-day period) Frequency 

Greater than zero but less than 
290 

Once per year 

Equal to or greater than 290 but 
less than 1,500 

Once per quarter (four 
times per year) 

Equal to or greater than 1,500 
but less than 15,000 

Once per 60 days (six 
times per year) 

Equal to or greater than 15,000 Per month (12 times 
per year) 

Note: (1) Either the amount of bulk sewage applied to the 
land or the amount of sewage sludge received by a person 
who prepares sewage sludge that is sold or given away in a 
bag or other container for application to the land (dry 
weight basis). 

Note: Sampling shall be conducted at approximately equal 
intervals at the listed frequencies. Biosolids programs that 
store biosolids and land apply only during discrete events 
throughout the year shall schedule sampling events to 
coincide with application periods. The regulatory agency may 
require increased monitoring frequencies, if necessary, to 
adequately define any significant variability in biosolids 
quality. After two years of monitoring the permittee may 
request that the monitoring frequency be reduced, but in no 

case to less than once per year in any year that biosolids are 
applied to land.  

B. An activity report shall be submitted (postmarked) to the 
department by the 15th day of the month unless another date 
is specified in the permit in accordance with 9VAC25-32-80 I 
4, following any month in which land application occurs. The 
report shall indicate those sites where land application 
activities took place during the previous month.  

C. Biosolids application rates should be based on the annual 
average sludge quality. The average sludge quality should be 
established from the results of approved analytical testing of 
composite samples obtained during the most recent 12 
months of monitoring. For proposed treatment works, rates 
may be initially based on the biosolids characteristic 
produced by similar generating facilities. 

D. The required treatment and quality characteristics and the 
maximum allowable land application loading rates shall be 
established for biosolids use. In addition, operational 
monitoring results shall verify that required sludge treatment 
has achieved the specified levels of pathogen control and 
vector attraction reductions (Table 3). Adequate records on 
sludge composition, treatment classification, sludge 
application rates and methods of application for each site 
shall be maintained by the generator and owner. Table 4 
shows a sample operating report for documenting the 
minimum required information. Reporting shall be yearly 
(postmarked by February 19 for the preceding calendar year) 
unless otherwise required. The generator and owner shall 
maintain the records as necessary for a minimum period of 
five years until further notification by the department. Sites 
receiving frequent applications of sludge that meet or exceed 
maximum cumulative constituent loadings and dedicated 
disposal sites should be properly referenced for future land 
transactions (see the sample Sludge Disposal Site Dedication 
Form - Table A-1).  

9VAC25-32-450. Sampling. 

A. General. The sampling procedures and protocols used for 
the national sewage sludge survey (EPA Office of Water 
Regulations and Standards, March 1988) or validated 
equivalent methods will be approved by the board through 
issuance of a permit for biosolids use. Composite samples are 
better than single grab samples because they define 
representative "average" levels of sludge characteristics. A 
large open container such as a one- to two-gallon capacity 
bucket will normally be necessary to obtain complete grab 
samples of sludge flows. The volume or weight of grab 
samples should be adjusted so as to represent approximately 
equal volumes or weights of the sludge volume or mass being 
sampled. These adjusted grab samples can then be added to 
form a composite sample.  

B. Liquid sludge. In the case of digesters and liquid storage 
holding tanks, a representative sample shall be composed of 
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at least four grab samples obtained during daily operations at 
the facility or land application site. Samples of liquid 
biosolids obtained under pressure or vacuum should be 
obtained shortly after the beginning, during and at the end of 
the time period that the biosolids are produced at the 
sampling point.  

C. Biosolids storage facilities. Equal volumes of biosolids 
should be withdrawn from random locations across the width 
and throughout the length of the storage facility at the surface, 
mid-depth and near the bottom of the lagoon at each grab 
sample location. These grab samples should be added to form 
a composite mix. A range of the recommended minimum 
number of grab samples that should be obtained from various 
sizes of sludge lagoons in order to obtain a representative 
composite sample is:  

Minimum Number of Grab Samples 
Lagoon Surface 

Area (Acres) Depth less than 
4 feet 

Depth greater 
than 4 feet 

1 to 9.99 4 to 5 6 to 8 

10 or more 6 to 8 9 to 11 

D. Dewatered sludge. Small, equally sized grab samples of 
the dewatered sludge stream may be taken at equally spaced 
intervals over the period of operation of the dewatering unit. 
Centrifuged sludge samples may be taken from a belt 
conveyor or receiving hopper. Filter cake sludge samples may 
be taken from a belt conveyor or a portion of the cake may be 
removed as it leaves the unit. The smaller grab samples 
should be combined to form a representative composite 
sample. A composite sample can be obtained over the daily 
operational period at the land application site.  

E. Compost sampling. Composite samples are preferred so 
that a representative average level of compost characteristics 
can be obtained from analytical testing. Although the 
compost material has been subjected to premixing, some 
variation in quality may exist and at least three grab samples 
of one kilogram or more should be taken of each mixture and 
combined to form a composite sample of that mixture. This 
mixture should be used for analytical testing or for 
combination with other composites to obtain a total 
composite sample representing a fixed period of operation. 
Compost samples may be taken with a scoop or shovel and 
placed in flexible bags that can be thoroughly shaken to mix 
grab samples.  

F. Analysis and preservation of samples. In general, sludge 
samples should be refrigerated at approximately 4°C 
immediately after collection, which provides adequate 
preservation for most types of sludge physical and chemical 
analysis for a period up to seven days. Exact sample analysis 
and preservation techniques should be submitted in the sludge 

management plan. Analytical procedures should be updated 
as needed.  

9VAC25-32-460. Soils monitoring and reporting. 

Soil should be sampled and analyzed prior to sludge 
application to determine site suitability and to provide 
background data. After the land application program is 
underway, it may be necessary to continue monitoring 
possible changes in the soil characteristics of the application 
site. Reduced monitoring will usually apply for typical 
agricultural utilization projects where biosolids are applied to 
farmland at or below agronomic rates or on an infrequent 
basis (see Table 5). Reduced monitoring may also apply to 
one time sludge applications to forest or reclaimed lands. For 
background analysis, random composite soil samples from 
the zone of incorporation is required for infrequent 
applications and frequent applications at less than agronomic 
rates (total less than 15 dry tons per acre).  

Generally, one subsample per acre should be taken for 
application sites of 10 acres or more receiving frequent 
applications. For frequent land application sites greater than 
50 acres, a controlled area of approximately 10 acres in size 
may be provided that is representative of site loading and soil 
characteristics. The control area should be sampled through 
random collection of approximately 20 subsamples taken 
according to standard agricultural practices. Records of soil 
analysis must be maintained by the owner and submitted as 
required.  

9VAC25-32-470. Crop monitoring and reporting. 

Vegetation monitoring may be required by the board upon 
recommendation of the department once every three years on 
sites with frequent applications of biosolids applied at or 
greater than agronomic rates and when 400 pounds per acre 
or more of available phosphorus has been applied to the soil. 
Analyses of plant tissue should be conducted at the proper 
growth stage as recommended by either the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, the 
Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation or 
Virginia Cooperative Extension Service. Routine analyses 
include nitrate-nitrogen, phosphorus, potassium, calcium, 
manganese, magnesium, iron, copper and zinc. Analysis for 
additional parameters may be necessary as determined on a 
case-by-case basis. Results shall be reported annually to the 
department.  

9VAC25-32-480. Groundwater monitoring and reporting. 

A. Monitoring wells may be required by the board as 
recommended by the department for land treatment sites, 
sludge lagoons, or sludge holding facilities to monitor 
groundwater quality. The wells should be designed and 
located to meet specific geologic and hydrologic conditions at 
each site. Existing wells or springs may be approved for use 
as monitoring wells if they can be shown to provide a 
representative sample of groundwater conditions. The 
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monitoring well should be constructed so as to sample the 
shallowest occurrence of groundwater that can reliably be 
obtained. The wells must be deep enough to penetrate the 
water table, and the screened interval must be in the saturated 
zone. The well construction should include PVC casing and 
screen with a bottom end plug or cap. The casing joints 
should be of the threaded, split ring or some other type that 
does not require adhesive. The screened interval should be 
backfilled with washed porous media (sand/gravel) and a 
bentonite or other impermeable seal placed at least two feet 
above the screen. The remainder of the well may be 
backfilled with clean native materials. A concrete surface seal 
should slope away from the well. Locking caps are 
recommended. Upon well completion, a driller's log shall be 
submitted to the department.  

B. Sampling procedures must assure maintenance of sample 
integrity. Samples should be collected in clean sample 
containers and with an uncontaminated sampling device. In 
order to obtain a representative sample, standing water in the 
well must be evacuated prior to sampling. At a minimum, at 
least three times the volume of water standing in the borehole 
should be removed prior to taking a sample for analysis to 
assure movement of formation water into the well and 
eliminate false readings that would be obtained from water 
that has stratified in the well. Samples may be obtained by 
pumping, bailing or pressure methods (e.g., Bar Cad 
samplers). The state does not endorse any one particular 
method or manufacturer, but each method has advantages and 
disadvantages that must be considered prior to final selection. 
Sampling methodology should be submitted for initial review. 
To obtain sufficient background groundwater quality data, 
three to six monthly samples should be collected from each 
observation well prior to placing the land application site or 
other facility into operation. Sampling should account for 
seasonal groundwater table fluctuations. Groundwater 
samples shall be collected and analyzed on a quarterly basis 
during operation of the site or facility. Table 6 lists typical 
parameters for groundwater monitoring. Additional test 
parameters may be required on a case-by-case basis. 

C. Sample analysis and preservation techniques should be in 
accordance with the latest edition of Standard Methods for the 
Examination of Water and Wastewater.  

TABLE 2  

PARAMETERS FOR BIOSOLIDS ANALYSIS(1)  

A. Suggested minimum  

Source of sludge  

Type of sludge (lime stabilized, aerobically digested, etc.)  

Percent solids (%)  

Volatile solids (%)  

pH (standard units)  

Total kjeldahl nitrogen (%)  

Ammonia nitrogen (%)  

Nitrates (mg/kg)  

Total phosphorus (%)  

Total potassium (%)  

Alkalinity as CaCO3(mg/kg)(2)  

Arsenic (mg/kg)  

Cadmium (mg/kg)  

Copper (mg/kg)  

Lead (mg/kg)  

Mercury (mg/kg)  

Molybdenum (mg/kg)  

Nickel (mg/kg)  

Selenium (mg/kg)  

Zinc (mg/kg)  
(1) Values reported on a dry weight basis unless indicated.  
(2) Lime treated sludges (10% or more lime by dry 
weight) should be analyzed for percent CaCO3.  

B. Additional parameters such as the organic chemicals 
listed in Table 12 may be required for screening purposes as 
well as aluminum (mg/kg), water soluble boron (mg/kg), 
calcium (mg/kg), chlorides (mg/l), manganese (mg/kg), 
sulfates (mg/kg), and those pollutants for which removal 
credits are granted.  

C. Microbiological testing may be necessary to document 
the sludge treatment classification (Table 3). Microbiological 
standards shall be verified by the log mean of the analytical 
results from testing of nine or more samples of the sludge 
source. Sampling events shall be separated by an appropriate 
period of time so as to be representative of the random and 
cyclic variations in sewage characteristics.  

TABLE 3  

STANDARDS FOR DOCUMENTATION OF PATHOGEN 
CONTROL AND VECTOR ATTRACTION REDUCTION 

LEVELS FOR BIOSOLIDS  

A. Pathogen control standards (dry weight of sludge solids 
basis).  

1. Class I treatment for Class A pathogen control.  

a.(1) Composting or other acceptable time-temperature 
treatment* shall result in a biosolids content equal to or 
less than either 1,000 fecal coliform per gram or three 
salmonella per four grams of total solids in treated sludge 
prior to removal for use or preparation for distribution.  
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b. Stabilization**(2) Verify a biosolids content less than 
either 1,000 MPN fecal coliform per gram of total solids, 
or three salmonella, or one virus (PFU), or one helminth 
egg, per four grams of total sludge solids and provide 
that vector attraction reduction requirements will be met 
upon use.  

2. Class II treatment for Class B pathogen control.  

a.(1) When the influent sludge stream to the stabilization 
unit operation contains more than 6 log10 fecal coliform 
per gram of total solids, a reduction of 1.5 log10 of fecal 
coliform or more may be required for stabilization.  

b. Stabilization (2).  Verify biosolids content maximum of 
6.3 log10 of fecal coliform per gram of total solids in 
sludges subjected to adequate treatment and provide that 
vector attraction reduction requirements will be met upon 
use.  

B. Vector attraction reduction requirements (must satisfy 
one of the following for approval of land application of 
biosolids).  

1. Thirty-eight percent volatile solids (VS) reduction by 
digestion processes, or:  

a. Less than 38% reduction by anaerobic digestion if 
additional treatment (additional 40 days or more at 32°C 
or more) results in less than 17% additional VS 
reduction:  

Additional VS Reduction = VSD1%BFVSD2 / 
VSD1%BF(VSD1)(VSD2)  

D1 = Initial conventional digestion period  

D2 = Additional 40-day digestion period  

b. Less than 38% reduction by aerobic digestion if the 
specific oxygen uptake rate (SOUR) of sludge is 1.5 or 
less milligrams of oxygen per hour per gram of total 
sludge solids (dry weight basis) at a temperature of 20°C.  

c. Less than 38% reduction by aerobic digestion if 
additional treatment (additional 30 days or more at 20°C 
or more) results in less than 15% additional VS 
reduction.  

d. Less than 38% reduction if treated in an adequately 
aerated unit operation for 14 days or more at a 
temperature exceeding 40°C and the average sludge 
temperature exceeds 45°C.  

2. Sludge pH is 12 or more (alkaline addition) for two 
consecutive hours and remains at 11.5 or higher for 22 
additional hours (no further alkaline additions), or  

3. Seventy-five percent or more total solids in treated 
sludge if no untreated primary sludge is included, or 90% 
total solids if unstabilized primary sludge is included, prior 
to any mixing with other materials, or  

4. Either incorporation of treated sludge into the soil within 
six hours of surface application, or direct injection below 
the surface of the land so that no evidence of any 
significant amounts of sludge is present on the land surface 
within one hour of injection.  

5. For land application of biosolids receiving Class I 
treatment:  

a. For surface application: apply to land within eight 
hours of final treatment and incorporate below the 
surface within six hours of application, or achieve one of 
the appropriate vector attraction reduction requirements 
by treatment.  

b. For subsurface application: inject within eight hours of 
final treatment or achieve one of the appropriate vector 
attraction reduction requirements by treatment.  

C. Documentation statement for submission of treatment, or 
quality, verification reports:  

I have submitted the proper documentation to verify that the 
necessary levels of pathogen reduction and vector attraction 
reduction have been achieved for all sludge to be land applied 
in accordance with the permit requirements. These 
determinations have been made under my direction and 
supervision in accordance with approved procedures 
developed to ensure that qualified personnel obtain and 
evaluate the information necessary to ensure permit 
compliance. Also, the sludge quality characteristics are 
suitable for land application in accordance with permit 
requirements (if appropriate).  

Signed by Responsible Person in Charge  

(Title if appropriate) Date  
(1) Note: Refers to an acceptable method of treatment with 
established operational controls capable of treating sludge to 
produce the required microbiological standards (see Article 3 
(9VAC25-32-490 et seq. of this part).  
(2) Refers to testing standards.  

TABLE 4 

EXAMPLE OF REPORT FOR SUBMISSION TO FIELD OFFICES 

FIELD REPORT 

PROJECT/PERMITTEE: __________________            PERMIT NO./FIELD NO: ___________ 

(LAND OWNER/FARMER:) ________________           FIELD ACRES: ___________________ 
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APPLICATION MODE: ___________________             DATE AS OF: ____________________ 

GALLONS, WET TONS OR CUBIC YARDS 

APPLIED:                Month to Date ___________  Year to Date _______ 

DRY TONS/ACRE APPLIED:         Month to Date ___________  Year to Date _______ 

                                                Lifetime to Date ________ 

CROP/YIELD ________________  SOIL pH _________________ 

                        LBS. APPLIED/ACRE 

SLUDGE PARAMETER     MONTH TO DATE       YEAR TO DATE      LIFETIME TO DATE 

P.A.N.                                                        N/A 

CaCO3                                                        N/A 

P.                                                                N/A 

K                                                                 N/A 

As 

Cd 

Cu 

Mo 

Ni 

Pb 

Se 

Zn 

Other: 

 

DAILY LOADING FIELD SHEET  
         DATE   SOLIDS  GALLONS, WET TONS OR CUBIC YARDS  DRY TONS 

 
          ----------------------------------------------------------------- 

  

 
          ----------------------------------------------------------------- 

  

 
         ------------------------------------------------------------------ 

  

 
         ------------------------------------------------------------------ 

 
         TOTALS                                                             

 
                 ---------------------------------------------------------- 
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(If nuisance problems of odors or problems with uniform applications develop, the appropriate regional offices of the Virginia 
Department of Environmental Quality shall be notified.)  

Upon such notification, were any operational changes made? Yes* No  

*Specify the methods utilized to comply with treatment/application requirements on a separate attachment.  
TABLE 5 

RECOMMENDED SOIL TEST PARAMETERS FOR LAND APPLICATION SITES(1) 

  BIOSOLIDS APPLICATION STORAGE 

Parameter Infrequent(2) 

Frequent 
Below 
Agronomic 
Rates(2) 

Frequent at 
Agronomic(2) (3) Supernatant(4) 

Soil organic matter (%)     * * 

Soil pH (Std. Units) * * * * 

Cation exchange capacity (me/100g)     *   

Total nitrogen (ppm)     * * 

Organic nitrogen (ppm)     * * 

Ammonia nitrogen (ppm)     *   

Available phosphorus (ppm) * * * * 

Exchangeable potassium (ppm) * * *   

Exchangeable sodium (mg/100g)     * * 

Exchangeable calcium (mg/100g)     * * 

Exchangeable magnesium (mg/100g) *   * * 

Copper (ppm)     * * 

Nickel (ppm)     * * 

Zinc (ppm)     * * 

Cadmium (ppm)     * * 

Lead (ppm)     * * 

Manganese (ppm)     *   

Molybdenum (ppm)     *   
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Selenium (ppm)     *   

Particle size analysis or USDA Textural 
estimate (%)     * * 

Hydraulic conductivity (in/hr)       * 

(1) Note: Unless otherwise stated, analyses shall be reported on a dry weight basis(*). 
(2) See 9VAC25-32-560 B 3. 
(3) Testing requirements to be adjusted in accordance with prior analytical test results. Heavy metal analyses are not required 
but once every three years before application. 
(4) Liquid biosolids derived from biosolids use facilities. 

  

 

TABLE 6  
SUGGESTED GROUNDWATER MONITORING PARAMETERS AND MONITORING FREQUENCY  

Annual Monitoring  Quarterly Monitoring 

Total Kjeldahl Nitrogen Nitrate Nitrogen 

Ammonia Nitrogen pH 

Phosphorus Conductivity 

Sodium  Chlorides 

Boron  Static Water Level 

Copper   

Lead   

Nickel   

Cadmium    

Zinc   

Hardness   

Alkalinity   

COD (TOC)   

Pathogen Indicator Organism   
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Article 3  

Biosolids Use Standards and Practices 

9VAC25-32-490. Compliance with biosolids use practices 
of this chapter. 

Guidelines set forth in 9VAC25-32-500 through 9VAC25-
32-660 of this regulation specify minimum standards for 
biosolids use for land application, marketing and distribution, 
including biosolids quality and site specific management 
practices. Compliance with this chapter will not be required 
for facilities not including land application, distribution, or 
marketing, which have received the approval of the 
Commissioner of the State Department of Health and the 
State Water Control Board and for which operation has 
commenced as of January 1, 2008. Such operation of facilities 
is deemed to be commenced upon issuance of a certificate to 
operate in accordance with the Sewage Collection and 
Treatment Regulations (9VAC25-790). However, the board 
may impose standards and requirements that are more 
stringent than those contained in this regulation when 
required to protect public health or prevent nuisance 
conditions from developing either within critical areas, or 
when special conditions develop prior to or during biosolids 
use operations. Conformance to local land use zoning and 
planning should be resolved between the local government 
and the facility owner or permit holder. Applications 
submitted for facilities must demonstrate that the facility and 
biosolids use management practices will adequately safeguard 
public health and will comply with the certificate and permit 
requirements, as appropriate. Submissions that are in 
substantial compliance with this regulation and comply with  

any additional requirements as noted above will be 
approved. Justification for biosolid use proposals may be 
required for those portions of the submitted proposal that 
differ from these criteria. The owner or owner's agent shall 
identify and justify noncompliance with specific standards or 
"shall" criteria that the department identifies, or the applicant, 
in his judgment, believes to be substantial in nature. The 
department may request changes in designs that are not in 
substantial compliance with this regulation and that are not 
adequately justified by the applicant. The fact that significant 
work was accomplished on a specific permit application prior 
to adoption of this regulation shall be a consideration when 
evaluating applications.  

9VAC25-32-500. Sludge management. 

A. Sludge management activities shall be described in a 
sludge management plan or a management practices plan 
submitted by the owner or the owner's agent to the 
department for review and approval in accordance with this 
section. Before sludge is utilized or disposed of, its potential 
effects on the land and state waters should be evaluated. Land 
application and facilities for biosolids use shall not result in 
flooding or pose a hazard to public health, wildlife, water 

quality, or other environmental resources as a result of 
biosolids transport due to flooding and subsequent runoff. 
Treatment works owners involved in biosolids use 
management practices may need to require pretreatment of 
industrial waste for control of contaminants of concern in 
order to comply with this regulation.  

B. The scope and purpose, requirements, and submission 
and approval of sludge management plans or management 
practices plans are described in this subsection.  

1. The general purpose of these plans is to facilitate a 
determination by the board that the sludge management 
plan or management practices plan developed by the owner 
presents the necessary technical guidance and regulatory 
requirements to facilitate the proper management of 
sewage sludge including use of biosolids for both normal 
conditions and generally anticipated adverse conditions. 
The plan should be developed as a reference document, 
being as brief as possible while presenting the information 
in a clear, concise and readily accessible manner. The plan 
should be directed toward the management option(s) for 
biosolids use selected for the treatment works. The plan 
shall address methods of controlling and monitoring the 
quality of sludge by the owner and the means of use of 
biosolids developed from that sludge by the owner or his 
agent (9VAC25-32-670 and 9VAC25-32-680).  

2. Complete sludge management plans or management 
practices plans shall be submitted for all biosolids use 
activities, by the owner, or owner's agent. The plan shall 
contain the elements required by applicable sections of this 
regulation (9VAC25-32-670 and 9VAC25-32-680).  

3. Submission and approval of sludge management plans 
or management practices plans involving the land 
application of biosolids shall be at the time of permit 
application as follows: 

a. Three copies of the final sludge management plan or 
management practices plan shall be submitted to the 
appropriate regional office. The technical evaluation of 
the plan will not commence until the applicant has 
submitted all necessary information.  

b. Upon receipt of comments or no response by contacted 
agencies the department will complete the evaluation of 
the plan and the board will approve or disapprove the 
plan as technically adequate.  

c. The board will approve the plan if it is determined that 
biosolids use will be in compliance with Article 2 
(9VAC25-32-360 et seq.) of this part. If the board 
determines that substantial revision to the plan is 
required, the department shall send a letter to the owner 
and plan preparer, outlining the necessary revision and 
requesting submission of a revised plan within 60 days. 
A revised plan constitutes a resubmittal.  
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9VAC25-32-510. General biosolids use standards. 

A. 9VAC25-32-510 and 9VAC25-32-550 provide minimum 
criteria that will be used for reviewing sludge management 
plans and management practices plans. Each plan shall 
address site-specific management practices involving use of 
biosolids. Final disposition of sludge may involve use or 
disposal. For the purpose of 9VAC25-32-510 and 9VAC25-
32-550, "use" shall include resource recovery, recycling or 
deriving beneficial use from the material. "Disposal" shall 
involve the final disposition of a waste material without 
resource recovery, recycling or deriving beneficial use from 
the material.  

B. All practical use options should be evaluated before 
disposal options are evaluated or selected. Biosolids use 
practices include land application for agricultural, 
nonagricultural and silvicultural use and the distribution and 
marketing of exceptional quality biosolids. Sludge disposal 
methods include incineration, landfill codisposal, surface 
disposal, and other dedicated disposal practices, such as 
burial on dedicated disposal sites.  

C. Water quality protection and monitoring provisions shall 
be included in all sludge management plans and management 
practices plans, except for those land application practices 
designed for limited loadings (amounts per area per time 
period) within defined field areas in agricultural use. 
Groundwater monitoring requirements shall be evaluated by 
the board for annual application of biosolids to specific sites, 
reclamation of disturbed and marginal lands and application 
to forest land (silviculture). Submittal of site-specific (soils 
and other) information for each identified separate field area 
shall be required for issuance of permits. For information 
regarding handling and disposal of septage, refer to the 
Sewage Handling and Disposal Regulations, 12VAC5-610. 
Septage treated and managed in accordance with standards 
contained in this regulation is defined as either sewage sludge 
or as biosolids as appropriate.  

D. Conformance of biosolids use to local land use zoning 
and planning should be resolved between the local 
government and the permit applicant. The permit applicant 
shall attempt to notify land owners of property within 200 
feet and 1,000 feet of the boundaries of sites proposed for 
frequent use and dedicated sites, respectively, and furnish the 
department and the chief executive officer or designee for the 
local government where the site is located with acceptable 
documentation of such notifications (i.e., intent to land-apply 
biosolids on the proposed locations). Relevant concerns of 
adjacent landowners will be considered in the evaluation of 
site suitability.  

E. The requirements for processing approvals of sludge 
management plans and management practices plans are 
included in 9VAC25-32-500 B as well as (i) requirements for 
notification of applications, hearings and meetings, and (ii) 

minimum information required for completion of a sludge 
management plan for land application (9VAC25-32-670 and 
9VAC 25-32-680).  

F. At least 100 days prior to commencing land application of 
biosolids at a permitted site, the permit holder shall deliver or 
cause to be delivered written notification that is substantially 
in compliance with this section to the chief executive officer 
or designee for the local government where the site is located. 
This requirement may be satisfied by providing a list of 
available permitted sites in the locality at least 100 days prior 
to commencing the application at any site on the list.  If the 
site is located in more than one county, the information shall 
be provided to all jurisdictions where the site is located. 
Sufficiency of such notices shall be determined by the 
department.  

G. The notification required by this section shall include the 
following:  

1. The name, address and telephone number of the permit 
holder, including the name of a representative 
knowledgeable of the permit;  

2. Identification by tax map number and farm service 
agency (FSA) farm tract number of parcels on which land 
application is to take place;  

3. A map indicating haul routes to each site where land 
application is to take place;  

4. The name or title, and telephone number of at least one 
individual designated by the permit holder to respond to 
questions and complaints related to the land application 
project;  

5. The approximate dates on which land application is to 
begin and end at the site;  

6. The name and telephone number of the person or 
persons at the Virginia Department of Health to be 
contacted in connection with the permit; and 

7. The name, address, and telephone number of the 
wastewater treatment facility, or facilities, from which the 
biosolids will originate, including the name or title of a 
representative of the treatment facility that is 
knowledgeable about the land application operation.  

H. The permit holder shall deliver or cause to be delivered 
written notification to the department as least 14 days prior to 
commencing land application of sewage sludge at a permitted 
site.  The notice shall identify the location of the permitted 
site and the expected sources of the sewage sludge to be 
applied to the site. 

I. Within 24 hours of receiving notification of a complaint, 
the permit holder shall commence investigation of said 
complaint. The permit holder shall confirm receipt of a 
complaint by phone, email or facsimile to the department, the 
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chief executive officer or designee for the local government 
of the jurisdiction in which the complaint originates, and the 
owner of the treatment facility from which the biosolids 
originated within 24 hours after receiving the complaint. 
Complaints and responses thereto shall be documented by the 
permit holder and submitted with monthly land application 
reports to department and copied to the chief executive officer 
or designee for the local government and the owner of the 
treatment facility from which the biosolids originated. 

Localities receiving complaints concerning land application 
of sewage sludge shall notify the department and the permit 
holder.  

9VAC25-32-520. Sludge quality and composition. 

A. Sampling and testing sludge. Samples shall be collected 
so as to provide a representative composition of the sludge. 
Analytical testing shall be performed by a laboratory capable 
of testing in accordance with current EPA-approved methods 
or other accepted methods. The operational section of this 
regulation establishes the minimum constituents that shall be 
analyzed and the sampling and preservation procedures that 
should be utilized. The sludge management plan or 
management practices plan shall detail both the sampling and 
testing methods used to characterize the sludge.  

B. Nonhazardous declaration. Regulations under the 
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) and the 
Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations 
(9VAC20-60) identify listed hazardous wastes and hazardous 
waste characteristics. Municipal wastewater or sewage sludge 
is neither excluded nor specifically listed as hazardous waste. 
Hazardous wastes as established through RCRA and 
appropriate state regulations are not managed under this 
regulation. The owner shall monitor sludge characteristics as 
required to determine if it is hazardous or nonhazardous and 
declare to the department that the sludge generated at his 
facility is nonhazardous.  

C. Sludge treatment. Sludges shall be subjected to a 
treatment process sequence designed to reduce both the 
pathogen content and the solids content to the appropriate 
level for the selected method of management, such as land 
application. For such use options, the sludge treatment 
provided shall minimize the potential for vector attraction and 
prevent objectionable odor problems from developing during 
management. Acceptable levels of pathogen reduction may be 
achieved by various established conventional treatment 
methods including Class I treatment to accomplish Class A 
pathogen control and Class II treatment to accomplish Class 
B pathogen control 9VAC25-32-610. The level of pathogen 
control achieved by nonconventional treatment must be 
verified by microbiological monitoring (Table 3).  

For land application, Class B pathogen, or better, shall be 
achieved. Such Class I or II treatment may involve either: 
anaerobic or aerobic digestion, high or low temperature 

composting, heat treatment, air drying, or chemical treatment 
processes utilizing alkaline additives or chlorine. For use of 
treated sludge or sludge products involving a high potential 
for public contact, it may be necessary to achieve further 
pathogen reduction (Class A) beyond that attained by the 
above processes. Such Class I treatment may be accomplished 
by (i) heat treatment and drying, (ii) thermophilic 
composting, (iii) alkaline treatment. A three-log reduction or 
more (a thousand-fold reduction) in pathogenic bacteria and 
viral microorganisms to meet conventional treatment 
standards. Raw sludge levels of pathogenic bacteria and viral 
microorganisms can be effectively reduced to safe levels by 
conventional Class I treatment methods.  

Properly treated sludges can be safely utilized and should 
not create any nuisance problems when managed in 
accordance with approved sludge management or 
management practices plans. A sludge that receives Class I or 
II treatment for adequate pathogen control and is treated or 
managed to properly reduce vector attraction and pollutants 
within acceptable levels (Table 7-A) is referred to as 
"biosolids." A Class I treated sludge with approved control of 
vector attraction and acceptable levels of pollutants (Table 7-
A) is referred to as "exceptional quality biosolids."  

D. Sludge composition. The characterization of sludge 
properties is a necessary first step in the design of a 
use/disposal system. Monitoring and testing for certain 
pollutants shall be achieved prior to specific use or disposal 
practices. For the purposes of this regulation, sludge 
management and testing methods shall account for moisture 
content including (i) liquid sludge defined as sludges with 
less than 15% total solids, (ii) dewatered sludge normally 
defined as sludges with 15% to 30% total solids; or (iii) dried 
sludge normally defined as sludges with more than 30% total 
solids.  

9VAC25-32-530. Land acquisition and management 
control. 

A. When land application of sludge is proposed, the 
continued availability of the land and protection from 
improper concurrent use during the utilization period shall be 
assured. A written agreement shall be established between the 
landowner and owner to be submitted with the permit 
application, whereby the landowner, among other things, 
shall consent to apply sewage sludge on his property. The 
responsibility for obtaining and maintaining the agreements 
lies with the party who is the holder of the permit. Site 
management controls shall include access limitations relative 
to the level of pathogen control achieved during treatment. In 
addition, agricultural use of sludge in accordance with this 
regulation is not to result in harm to threatened or endangered 
species of plant, fish, or wildlife, nor result in the destruction 
or adverse modification of the critical habitat of a threatened 
or endangered species. Site-specific information shall be 
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provided as part of the sludge management or management 
practices plan.  

B. At least 48 hours prior to delivery of biosolids for land 
application on any site permitted under this regulation, the 
permit holder shall post a sign at the site that substantially 
complies with this section, is visible and legible from the 
public right-of-way, and conforms to the specifications 
herein. If the site is not located adjacent to a public right-of-
way, the sign shall be posted at or near the intersection of the 
public right-of-way and the main site access road or driveway 
to the site. The department may grant a waiver to this or any 
other requirement, or require alternative posting options due 
to extenuating circumstances. The sign shall remain in place 
for at least 48 hours after land application has been completed 
at the site.  

C. The sign shall be made of weather-resistant materials and 
shall be sturdily mounted so as to be capable of remaining in 
place and legible throughout the period that the sign is 
required at the site. Signs required by this section shall be 
temporary, nonilluminated, four square feet or more in area 
and shall only contain the following information:  

1. A statement that biosolids are being land-applied at the 
site;  

2. The name and telephone number of the permit holder as 
well as the name or title, and telephone number of an 
individual designated by the permit holder to respond to 
complaints and inquiries; and 

3. Contact information for the Virginia Department of 
Health, including a telephone number for complaints and 
inquiries.  

D. The permit holder shall promptly replace or repair any 
sign that has been removed from a land application site prior 
to 48 hours after completion of land application or that has 
been damaged so as to render any of its required information 
illegible.  

9VAC25-32-540. Transport. 

A. Transport routes should follow primary highways, should 
avoid residential areas when possible, and should comply 
with all Virginia Department of Transportation requirements 
and standards. Transport vehicles shall be sufficiently sealed 
to prevent leakage and spillage of sludge. For sludges with a 
solids content of less than 15%, totally closed watertight 
transport vehicles with rigid tops shall be provided to prevent 
spillage unless adequate justification is provided to 
demonstrate that such controls are unnecessary. The board 
may also require certain dewatered sludges exceeding 15% 
solids content to be handled as liquid sludges. The minimum 
information for sludge transport that shall be supplied in the 
sludge management plan is listed in 9VAC25-32-670 and 
9VAC25-32-680. 

B. The permit holder shall be responsible for the prompt 
cleanup and removal of biosolids spilled during transport to 
the land application site or to or from a storage facility. The 
operations manual shall include a plan for the prevention of 
spills during transport and for the cleanup and removal of 
spills. The permit holder shall ensure that its personnel, 
subcontractors or the drivers of vehicles transporting 
biosolids for land application shall be properly trained in 
procedures for spill removal and cleanup. 

C. The permit holder shall take appropriate steps to prevent 
drag-out and track-out of dirt and debris or biosolids from 
land application sites onto public roads. Where material is 
transported onto a paved or public road surface, the road 
surface shall be cleaned thoroughly as soon as practicable, but 
no later than the end of each day. 

D. The permit holder shall promptly report offsite spills to 
the Virginia Department of Health, the chief executive officer 
or designee for the local government and the owner of the 
facility generating the biosolids. The report shall be made 
verbally as soon as possible, but no later than 24 hours after 
the discovery of the spill. After business hours notification 
may be provided by voicemail, facsimile or email. 

E. A written report, which shall include a description of 
measures taken in response to the spill, shall be submitted by 
the permit holder to the Virginia Department of Health, the 
chief executive officer or designee for the local government 
and the owner of the facility generating the biosolids within 
five working days of the spill. The report may be sent by first 
class mail, facsimile or email, or it may be hand delivered. 

9VAC25-32-550. Storage facilities. 

A. No person shall apply to the Department of 
Environmental Quality for a permit, a variance, or a permit 
modification authorizing storage of sewage sludge without 
first complying with all requirements adopted pursuant to 
§62.1-44.19:3 R of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Three types of storage may be integrated into a complete 
sludge management plan including (i) "emergency storage" 
involving immediate implementation of storage for any 
sludge that becomes necessary due to unforeseen 
circumstances, (ii) "temporary storage" involving the 
provision of storage of stabilized sludges at the land 
application site that becomes necessary due to unforeseen 
climatic events that preclude land application of biosolids in 
the day that it is transported from the generator, or (iii) 
"routine storage" involving the storage of biosolids as 
necessary for all nonapplication periods of the year. Only 
routine storage facilities shall be considered a facility under 
this regulation.  

C. Emergency storage. The owner shall notify the 
department upon implementation of any emergency storage. 
Approval of such storage and subsequent processing of the 
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sludge and supernatant will be considered as a contingency 
plan integrated into the sludge management plan. Only 
emergency storage shall be used for storage of unstabilized 
sludges. Further processing utilization and disposal shall be 
conducted in accordance with the approved sludge 
management plan. Design and implementation of facilities 
used for emergency storage shall not result in water quality, 
public health or nuisance problems.  

D. Temporary storage. The owner shall notify the 
department whenever it is necessary to implement temporary 
storage. Temporary storage may be utilized at the land 
application site due to unforeseen climatic factors that 
preclude application of sludge (either offloaded at the site or 
in transport to the site) to permitted sites within the same 
working day. Temporary storage is not to be used as a 
substitute for routine storage and is restricted as follows:  

1. Sludge stored at the site shall be land applied prior to 
additional offloading of sludge at the same site;  

2. The owner shall be restricted to storing a daily 
maximum amount of 100 wet tons per operational site;  

3. The stored sludge shall be land applied within 30 days 
from the initiation of storage or moved to a routine sludge 
facility;  

4. Approval of plans for temporary storage will be 
considered as part of the overall sludge management plan;  

5. Temporary storage shall not occur in areas prone to 
flooding at a 25-year or less frequency interval;  

6. A synthetic liner shall be required for placement under 
and over sludge stored in this manner with one exception: 
where sludge is stockpiled for less than seven days, a liner 
placed under the stored sludge is not required. Surface 
water diversions and other best management provisions 
(BMP) should be utilized as appropriate; and  

7. Temporary storage shall not result in water quality, 
public health or nuisance problems.  

E. Routine storage. Routine storage facilities shall be 
provided for all land application projects if no alternative 
means of management is available during nonapplication 
periods. Plans and specifications for any surface storage 
facilities (pits, ponds, lagoons) or aboveground facilities 
(tanks, pads) shall be submitted as part of the minimum 
information requirements.  

1. Location. The facility shall be located at an elevation 
that is not subject to, or is otherwise protected against, 
inundation produced by the 100-year flood/wave action as 
defined by U.S. Geological Survey or equivalent 
information. Storage facilities should be located to provide 
minimum visibility. All storage facilities with a capacity in 
excess of 100 wet tons and located offsite of property 
owned by the generator shall be provided with a minimum 

750-feet buffer zone. The length of the buffer zone 
considered will be the distance measured from the 
perimeter of the storage facility. Residential uses, high-
density human activities and activities involving food 
preparation are prohibited within the buffer zone. The 
board may consider a reduction of up to half of the above 
buffer requirements based on such facts as lagoon area, 
topography, prevailing wind direction, and the inclusion of 
an effective windbreak in the overall design.  

2. Design capacity. The design capacity shall be sufficient 
to store a minimum volume equivalent to 60 days or more 
average production of biosolids and the incidental 
wastewater generated by operation of the treatment works 
plus sufficient capacity necessary for: (i) the 25 year-24 
hour design storm (incident rainfall and any runoff as may 
be present); (ii) net precipitation excess during the storage 
period; and (iii) an additional one foot freeboard from the 
maximum water level (attributed to the sum of the above 
factors) to the top berm elevation. Storage capacity of less 
than that specified above will be considered on a case-by-
case basis only if sufficient justification warrants such a 
reduction. If alternative methods of management cannot be 
adequately verified, contractors should provide for a 
minimum of 30 days of in-state routine storage capacity for 
the average quantity of sludge transported into Virginia 
from out-of-state treatment works generating at least a 
Class II level treated sludge.  

3. Construction. Storage facilities shall be of uniform shape 
(round, square, rectangular) with no narrow or elongated 
portions. The facilities shall be lined in accordance with 
the requirements contained in sewerage regulations or 
certificate. The facilities shall also be designed to permit 
access of equipment necessary for loading and unloading 
biosolids, and should be designed with receiving facilities 
to allow for even distribution of sludge into the facility. 
Design should also provide for truck cleaning facilities as 
may be necessary. Storage facilities with a capacity of 100 
wet tons or less shall comply with the provision for 
temporary storage as a minimum.  

4. Monitoring. All sludge storage facilities in excess of 
100-wet ton capacity shall be monitored in accordance 
with the requirements of this regulation. Plans and 
specifications shall be provided for such a monitoring 
program in accordance with the minimum information 
specified in Article 4 (9VAC25-32-670 et seq.) of this part.  

5. Operation. Only biosolids suitable for land application 
(Class A or B biosolids) shall be placed into permitted 
routine storage facilities. Storage of biosolids located 
offsite or remote from the wastewater treatment works 
during the summer months shall be avoided whenever 
possible so that the routine storage facility remains as 
empty as possible during the summer months. Storage 
facilities should be operated in a manner such that 
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sufficient freeboard is provided to ensure that the 
maximum anticipated high water elevation due to any and 
all design storm inputs is not less than one foot below the 
top berm elevation. Complete plans for supernatant 
disposal shall be provided in accordance with Article 4 
(9VAC25-32-670 et seq.) of this part. Plans for supernatant 
disposal may include transport to the sewage treatment 
works, mixing with the biosolids for land application or 
land application separately. However, separate land 
application of supernatant will be regulated as liquid 
sludge; additional testing, monitoring and treatment 
(disinfection) may be required. The facility site shall be 
fenced to a minimum height of five feet; gates and locks 
shall be provided to control access. The fence should be 
posted with signs identifying the facility. The fence should 
not be constructed closer than 10 feet to the outside edge of 
the facility or appurtenances, to allow adequate 
accessibility.  

6. Closure. An appropriate plan of closure or abandonment 
shall be developed by the permittee when the facility 
ceases to be utilized and approved by the board. Such plans 
may also be reviewed by the Department of Health.  

7. Recordkeeping. A manifest system shall be developed, 
implemented and maintained and be available for 
inspection during operations as part of the overall daily 
recordkeeping for the project Article 4 (9VAC25-32-670 et 
seq.) of this part.  

9VAC25-32-560. Biosolids utilization methods. 

A. Requirements applicable to land application of biosolids. 

1. All biosolids application rates, application times and 
other site management operations shall be restricted as 
specified in the approved management practices plan.  The 
management practices plan shall include a nutrient 
management plan as required by 9VAC25-32-680 and 
prepared by a certified nutrient management planner as 
stipulated in regulations promulgated pursuant to §10.1-
104.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Biosolids shall be treated to meet standards for land 
application as required by Part IX (9VAC25-32-310 et 
seq.) of this chapter prior to delivery at the land application 
site. No person shall alter the composition of biosolids at a 
site approved for land application of biosolids under a 
Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit. Any person who 
engages in the alteration of such biosolids shall be subject 
to the penalties provided in Article 6 (§62.1-44.31 et seq.) 
of Chapter 3.1 of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia. The 
addition of lime or deodorants to biosolids that have been 
treated to meet standards for land application as required 
by Part IX (9VAC25-32-310 et seq.) of this chapter shall 
not constitute alteration of the composition of biosolids. 
The board may authorize public institutions of higher 

education to conduct scientific research on the composition 
of biosolids that may be applied to land. 

B. Agricultural use. Agricultural use of sewage sludge is the 
land application of biosolids (Table 7) to cropland or pasture 
land to obtain agronomic benefits as a plant nutrient source 
and soil conditioner. This use shall require a system design 
that ensures that the land application procedures are 
performed in accordance with sound agronomic principles.  

1. Sludge treatment. As a minimum, biosolids that are 
applied to the land or incorporated into the soil shall be 
treated by a Class II pathogen treatment process and shall 
be treated or managed to provide an acceptable level of 
vector attraction reduction.  

2. Site soils. Soils best suited for agricultural use should 
possess good tilth and drainage capabilities, have moderate 
to high surface infiltration rates and moderate to slow 
subsoil permeability. Depth to bedrock or restrictive layers 
should be a minimum of 18 inches. Depth to the seasonal 
water table should exceed 18 inches as defined by the Soil 
Conservation Service soil survey. If such information is 
not available the water table depth may be determined by 
soil characteristics or water table observations. If the soil 
survey or such evidence indicates that the seasonal water 
table can be less than 18 inches below the average ground 
surface, soil borings shall be utilized within seven days 
prior to land application operations during periods of high 
water table for the soil series present, to verify that the 18-
inch depth restriction is complied with during field 
operations. The use of soil borings and water table depth 
verification may be required for such sites from November 
to May (during seasonal high water table elevations) of 
each year depending on soil type. Constructed channels 
(agricultural drainage ditch) may be utilized to remove 
surface water and lower the water table as necessary for 
crop productions and site management.  

The pH of the biosolids and soil mixture shall be 6.0 or 
greater at the time of each biosolids application if the 
biosolids cadmium concentration is greater than or equal to 
21 mg/kg. The soil pH must be properly tested and 
recorded prior to land application operations during which 
a pH change of one-half unit or more may occur within the 
zone of incorporation (i.e., use of biosolids containing lime 
or other alkaline additives at 10% or more of dry solid 
weight).  

3. Management practices.  

a. Application rates and requirements. Process design 
considerations shall include sludge composition, soil 
characteristics, climate, vegetation, cropping practices, 
and other pertinent factors in determining application 
rates. Site specific application rates should be proposed 
using pertinent biosolids plant available nitrogen (PAN) 
and crop nutrient needs (agronomic rate listed in Table 
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10) and the cumulative trace element loading rates (Table 
8). Lime amended biosolids shall be applied at rates that 
are not expected to result in a target soil pH in the plow 
layer above a pH of 6.5 for soils located in the coastal 
plain and above a pH of 6.8 in other areas of the state. 
Agricultural use of treated septage shall be in accordance 
with these requirements (Table 12). The biosolids 
application rate, application timing and all other site 
management practices shall be restricted to the following 
criteria in accordance with the approved management 
practices plan including the nutrient management plan 
that may prescribe more restrictive site management 
practices than the following criteria:  

(1) For infrequent applications, biosolids may be applied 
such that the total crop needs for nitrogen (Table 10 
Agronomic Rate) is not exceeded (in order to minimize 
the amount of nitrogen that passes below the crop root 
zone to actually or potentially pollute groundwater), 
during a one-year crop rotation period including the 
production and harvesting of two crops in succession 
within a consecutive 12-month growing season. 
However, the total application of biosolids shall not 
exceed a computed maximum loading of 15 dry tons per 
acre, unless a higher loading can be justified in relation 
to both the biosolids and the site characteristics, 
including the biosolids nutrient and dry solids content 
and the site slopes. No further applications of biosolids 
shall be allowed for a period of three years from the date 
that the agronomic rate is achieved for the crop or crops 
grown in the following 12 months.  

(2) The infrequent application rate may be restricted: (i) 
down to 10% of the maximum cumulative loading rate 
(Table 8) for cadmium and lead (i.e., 2.0 kilograms per 
hectare (kg/ha) for cadmium); or (ii) to account for all 
sources of nutrients applied to the site, including existing 
residuals.  

(3) The infrequent application rate may also be restricted 
by the lime content of the biosolids.  

(4) For systems designed for frequent application of 
biosolids (application of the PAN requirement for a 
normal crop rotation more frequently than once in every 
three years), the previous year's applied biosolids 
nitrogen and mineralization rates (Table 11) and soil 
phosphorus levels, shall be considered in the design and 
proposed subsequent application rates. Acceptable 
nutrient management requirements shall be included in 
the management practices plan for all sites proposed for 
frequent at-agronomic application rates (9VAC25-32-
680).  

(5) Frequent below-agronomic application rate involves 
frequent applications of biosolids on permanent pasture 
or hay at less than the PAN requirement listed in Table 

10. Frequent below-agronomic application rates shall be 
calculated using one of the following options:  

(a) A maximum of 70% of the nitrogen requirement of 
the permanent pasture or hay crop can be applied on an 
annual basis. The 70% application rate shall be 
calculated after accounting for the previous two years' 
applied biosolids nitrogen mineralization rates.  

(b) A maximum of 50% of the nitrogen requirement of 
the permanent pasture or hay crop can be applied on an 
annual basis. It is not necessary to account for the 
previous two years' applied biosolids nitrogen 
mineralization rates under this option.  

For systems designed for frequent below-agronomic 
rates, surface and groundwater monitoring shall not be 
required. Soil phosphorus levels shall be considered in 
the design of proposed subsequent application rates. No 
application shall be made between September 15 and 
March 15 on warm-season grasses and alfalfa.  

b. Standard slopes and topography. Management 
practices specifying uniform application of biosolids at 
approved rates should be established in accordance with 
standard slopes. Agronomic practices and crop growth on 
sites with slope of not greater than 7.0% will provide 
acceptable protection of surface water quality during the 
active growing season. If biosolids are applied to site 
slopes greater than 7.0% during the period of November 
16 of one year to March 15 of the following year certain 
best management practices (BMP's) should be utilized 
(see subdivision 3 c (1) of this subsection). Biosolids 
should be directly injected into soils on sites exhibiting 
erosion potential unless other best management practices 
are utilized to minimize soil erosion and the potential of 
nonpoint runoff. Biosolids shall not be applied to site 
slopes exceeding 15%. Biosolids shall be directly 
injected or incorporated (mixed within the normal plow 
layer within 48 hours) if: (i) applied on sites with less 
than 60% uniform residue cover (stalks, vines, stubble, 
etc.) within any portion of the site; or (ii) applied to soils 
during periods of time soils may be subject to frequent 
flooding as defined by soil survey information.  

c. Operations.  

(1) Field management. The application rate of all 
application equipment shall be routinely measured as 
described in an approved sludge management plan and 
every effort shall be made to ensure uniform application 
of biosolids within sites in accordance with approved 
maximum design loading rates. Liquid sludges shall not 
be applied at rates exceeding 14,000 gallons per acre, per 
application. Sufficient drying times shall be allowed 
between subsequent applications. Application vehicles 
should be suitable for use on agricultural land. Pasture 
and hay fields should be grazed or clipped to a height of 
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approximately four and six inches, respectively, prior to 
biosolids application unless the biosolids can be 
uniformly applied so as not to mat down the vegetative 
cover so that the site vegetation can be clipped to a 
height of approximately four inches within one week of 
the biosolids application. If application methods do not 
result in a uniform distribution of biosolids, additional 
operational methods shall be employed following 
application such as dragging with a pasture harrow, 
followed by clipping if required, to achieve a uniform 
distribution of the applied biosolids.  

Surface incorporation may be required on cropland by 
the department, or the local monitor with approval of the 
department, to mitigate excessive odors when 
incorporation is practicable and compatible with a soil 
conservation plan meeting the standards and 
specifications of the U.S. Department of Agriculture 
Natural Resources Conservation Service. 

In accordance with the management practices plan, when 
biosolids are applied to site slopes greater than 7.0% 
between the period of November 16 of one year, and 
March 15 of the following year, one of the following 
practices shall be used to prevent runoff and soil loss:  

(a) Biosolids are surface applied or subsurface injected 
beneath an established living crop such as hay, pasture, 
or timely planted small grain or cover crop;  

(b) Biosolids are surface applied or subsurface injected 
so that immediately after application the crop residue still 
provides at least 60% soil surface coverage; or  

(c) Biosolids are applied by surface application or 
subsurface injection and the site is operated in 
compliance with an existing soil conservation plan 
approved by the U.S.D.A. Natural Resource 
Conservation Service and will remain in compliance after 
any subsequent tillage operation to incorporate the 
biosolids.  

In accordance with the management practices plan if site 
slopes exceed 5.0% up to 7.0%, biosolids can be applied 
by surface application or subsurface injection followed 
by: (i) incorporation within 48 hours of application if 
crop residue still provides at least 30% soil surface 
coverage immediately following incorporation, or (ii) 
ridge tilling or chisel plowing within 48 hours of 
application; during the period of November 16 to March 
15 of the following year. The site should be chisel 
plowed or ridge tilled predominately along the contour so 
that uniform parallel ridges of four inches or greater are 
created that will improve soil roughness and reduce 
runoff. Consideration should also be given to the use of 

similar practices on slopes of 5.0% or less when feasible 
for applications during the late fall and winter.  

(2) Restrictions. Biosolids application shall not be made 
during times when the seasonal high water table of the 
soil is within 18 inches of the ground surface. Biosolids 
may only be applied to snow-covered ground if the snow 
cover does not exceed one inch and the snow and 
biosolids are immediately incorporated within 24 hours 
of application. Liquid sludges may not be applied to 
frozen ground. Dry or dewatered sludges may be applied 
to frozen ground only if (i) site slopes are 5.0% or less; 
(ii) a 200-foot vegetative (i.e., at least 60% uniformly 
covered by stalks or other vegetation) buffer is 
maintained from surface water courses; and (iii) the 
entire application site has uniform soil coverage of at 
least 60% with stalks, vines, stubble, or other vegetation 
and the site soils are characterized as well drained.  

In accordance with the management practices plan, when 
biosolids are land applied between March 15 and 
September 1, crop planting following biosolids 
application should occur within a 30-day period. When 
biosolids are applied to sites between September 1 and 
November 16, an agronomically justified crop capable of 
trapping plant available nitrogen such as small grain shall 
be planted within 45 days of the application of biosolids 
or prior to November 16, whichever comes first, or an 
established cool season grass sod or timely planted small 
grain crop shall be present. The crop planted should be 
capable of germination and significant growth before the 
onset of winter so the plant is able to use available 
nitrogen released by the biosolids.  

On sites with a high leaching index (greater than 10) as 
defined by the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation, an established cool season grass or timely 
planted small grain crop should be present when 
biosolids are applied to such sites between November 16 
and December 21 in accordance with the nutrient 
management plan. Biosolids should not be applied any 
earlier than 30 days prior to spring planting on 
environmentally sensitive sites in accordance with the 
nutrient management plan.  

d. Buffer zones. 

(1) Setback distances. If slopes are greater than 7.0% and 
biosolids will be applied between November 16 and 
March 15, setback distances to perennial streams and 
other surface water bodies shall be doubled. The location 
of land application of biosolids shall not occur within the 
following minimum buffer zone requirements:  
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Minimum Distances (Feet) to Land Application Area 

Adjacent Features Surface Application1 Incorporation Winter2 

Occupied dwellings 200 ft. 200 200 

Water supply wells or springs 100 ft. 100 100 

Property lines 100 ft. 50 100 

Perennial streams and other surface waters 
except intermittent streams 

50 ft. 35 100 

Intermittent streams/drainage ditches 25 ft. 25 50 

All improved roadways 10 ft. 5 10 

Rock outcrops and sinkholes 25 ft. 25 25 

Agricultural drainage ditches with slopes 
equal to or less than 2.0% 

10 ft. 5 10 

1 Note: Not plowed or disced to incorporate within 48 hours. 
2 Application occurs on average site slope greater than 7.0% during the time between November 16 of one year and 
March 15 of the following year. 

The stated buffer zones to adjacent property boundaries 
and drainage ditches constructed for agricultural 
operations may be reduced by 50% for subsurface 
application (includes same day incorporation) unless 
state or federal regulations provide more stringent 
requirements. Written consent of affected landowners is 
required to reduce buffer distances from property lines 
and dwellings. In cases where more than one buffer 
distance is involved, the most restrictive distance 
governs. Buffer requirements may be increased or 
decreased based on either site specific features, such as 
agricultural drainage features and site slopes, or on 
biosolids application procedures demonstrating precise 
placement methods.  

(2) Extended buffer setback distances. For applications 
where surface applied biosolids are not incorporated, the 
department (or the local monitor with approval of the 
department) may require as a site-specific permit 
condition, extended buffer zone setback distances when 
necessary to protect odor sensitive receptors. When 
necessary, buffer zone setback distances from odor 
sensitive receptors may be extended to 400 feet or more 
and no biosolids shall be applied within such extended 
buffer zones. In accordance with 9VAC25-32-100 and 
9VAC25-32-490, the board may impose standards and 
requirements that are more stringent when required to 
protect public health and the environment, or prevent 
nuisance conditions from developing, either prior to or 
during biosolids use operations.  

e. Monitoring and testing. Groundwater and surface 
water and soils monitoring and testing may be required 
by the department, or the local monitor with approval of 

the department for any frequent application sites (reach 
agronomic rate more than once in three years) for which 
a potential environmental or public health concern is 
identified by the board in accordance with this regulation 
(9VAC25-32-400). Groundwater monitoring and testing 
should not be required for infrequent application of 
biosolids.  

C. Forestland (Silviculture). Silvicultural use includes 
application of biosolids to commercial timber and fiber 
production land, as well as federal and state forests. The 
forestland may be recently cleared and planted, young 
plantations (two-year-old to five-year-old trees) or established 
forest stands.  

1. Sludge standards. Refer to 9VAC25-32-590 and 
9VAC25-32-660 of this Article.  

2. Site suitability. Site suitability requirements should 
conform to subdivision A 2 of this section. The soil pH 
should be managed at the natural soil pH for the types of 
trees proposed for growth.  

3. Management practices.  

a. Application rates. Biosolids application rates shall be 
in accordance with the management practices plan and 
information provided by the Virginia Department of 
Forestry.  

b. Operations.  

(1) Field management.  

(a) High pressure spray shall not be utilized if public 
activity is occurring within 1,500 feet downwind of the 
application site. Public access to the site shall be 
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adequately limited or controlled following application 
(Article 3 (9VAC25-32-490 et seq.) of this part).  

(b) The operations should only proceed when the wind 
velocity is less than or equal to 15 miles per hour. When 
high pressure spray is used windless conditions are 
preferred for such operations.  

(c) Biosolids application vehicles should have adequate 
clearance to be suitable for silvicultural field use.  

(d) Application scheduling should take into account high 
rainfall periods and periods of freezing conditions.  

(e) Monitoring requirements shall be site specific and 
may include groundwater, surface water or soils, for 
frequent application sites.  

(2) Buffer zones. Buffer zones should conform to those 
for agricultural utilization. Refer to Table 2.  

D. Reclamation of disturbed land. Biosolids applied at rates 
exceeding the agronomic rate may reclaim disturbed land in 
one or more of the following ways: (i) surface or underground 
mining operations, (ii) the deposition of ore processing 
wastes, (iii) deposition of dredge spoils or fly ash in 
construction areas such as roads and borrow pits. Reclamation 
of disturbed land is within the jurisdiction of the Virginia 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy. That department 
should be contacted concerning issuance of a permit for these 
operations. The land reclamation management practices plan 
should be prepared with the assistance of the Virginia 
Department of Conservation and Recreation, the Soil 
Conservation Service and the Virginia Cooperative Extension 
Service.  

1. Sludge standards. Refer to the standards of this article.  

2. Site suitability. Site suitability requirements should 
conform to subdivision A 2 of this section. Exceptions may 
be considered on a case-by-case basis.  

3. Management practices.  

a. Application rates. The application rates shall be 
established in the management practices plan through 
recommendations provided by appropriate agencies 
including the Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals 
and Energy and the appropriate faculty of the Department 
of Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences of the Virginia 
Polytechnic Institute and State University.  

b. Vegetation selection. The land should be seeded with 
grass and legumes even when reforested in order to help 
prevent erosion and utilize available plant nitrogen. The 
management practices plan should include information 
on the seeding mixture and a detailed seeding schedule.  

c. Operations.  

(1) The soil pH should be maintained at 6.0 or above if 
the cadmium level in the biosolids applied is at or above 
21 mg/kg. during the first year after the initial 
application. Soil samples should be analyzed by a 
qualified laboratory. The application rate shall be limited 
by the most restrictive cumulative trace element loading 
(Table 8).  

(2) Surface material should be turned or worked prior to 
the surface application of liquid biosolids, to minimize 
potential for runoff, since solids in liquid sludge can clog 
soil surface pores.  

(3) Unless the applied biosolids are determined to be 
Class A or have been documented as subjected to Class I 
treatment, crops intended for direct human consumption 
shall not be grown for a period of three years following 
the date of the last sludge application unless the crop is 
tested to verify that the crop is not contaminated. No 
animals whose products are intended for human 
consumption may graze the site or obtain feed from the 
site for a period of six months following the date of the 
last biosolids application, unless representative samples 
of the animal products are tested after grazing and prior 
to marketing to verify that they are not contaminated. 

9VAC25-32-570. Distribution and marketing. 

A. Exceptional quality. Distribution or marketing provides 
for the sale or distribution of exceptional quality biosolids or 
mixtures of Class I treated biosolids with other materials such 
that the mixture achieves the Class A pathogen control 
standard. Distribution or marketing of Class I treated 
biosolids that have been mixed with inert materials may be 
approved on a case-by-case basis. Inert materials shall not 
contain pathogens or attract vectors. Use of such mixtures for 
agricultural purposes should be evaluated through proper 
testing or research programs designed to access the suitability 
of the material for such use. Exceptional quality biosolids 
marketed as fertilizers or soil conditioners must be registered 
with the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services. The permit applicant shall obtain such registration 
prior to issuance of a permit by the board for residential, 
agricultural, reclamation or silvicultural use.  

1. Because of the high potential for public contact with 
distributed and marketed sludge or sludge products, only 
biosolids processed to meet criteria specified for Class I 
treatment process sequences designed to eliminate or 
further reduce pathogens (PFRP) shall be sold or given 
away for application to land. In addition, the biosolids 
must meet vector attraction reduction requirements, and 
other quality standards (Table 8) as required for the 
intended use.  

2. Exceptional quality biosolids may be distributed and 
marketed in either bulk amounts (unpacked) or as a bagged 
product. For purposes of this regulation, a bulk use 
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quantity of biosolids will be defined as a volume of that 
sludge product containing 15 dry tons or more of sewage 
sludge. Application of bulk use quantities of exceptional 
quality biosolids to home vegetable gardens shall not 
exceed an equivalent annual loading rate of approximately 
one pound dry weight of biosolids per square foot (garden 
products may constitute a significant portion of a family 
diet and the amount of applied biosolids cannot be 
specifically controlled as in agricultural use). Exceptional 
quality biosolids can ideally be used as soil amendments 
for horticulture and landscaping purposes such as:  

a. Use in potting soil mixes;  

b. Use for seed beds, for establishment of grass and other 
vegetation and for topdressing of existing lawns and 
landscape vegetation.  

3. Only exceptional quality biosolids produced from an 
approved sludge processing facility can be distributed and 
marketed. Biosolids sold for use as soil amendments or 
fertilizers must be registered with the Virginia Department 
of Agriculture and Consumer Services. Approved sludge 
processing facilities are those facilities constructed and 
operated in compliance with required permits. Approved 
methods of Class I processing for biosolids for distribution 
or marketing include, but may not be limited to, the 
methods described in this article.  

B. Permits. Any owner who proposes to distribute or market 
exceptional quality biosolids or materials derived from Class 
I biosolids (distributor), including soil additives or compost in 
bulk use quantities, shall be required to obtain a written 
approval issued by the board. The derived material shall 
achieve acceptable vector attraction reduction standards and 
contain acceptable levels of solids and pollutant 
concentrations in accordance with this regulation. A permit 
for distribution or marketing is not required provided that an 
operation permit has been issued for land application of the 
processed material as part of either an approved sludge 
management plan (12VAC5-585-140 H) or an approved 
management practices plan (12VAC5-585-240). Approval of 
the distribution of bulk use quantities of exceptional quality 
biosolids is not required for a holder of a valid permit that 
authorizes distribution in bulk use quantities. All requests for 
bulk use approval shall be directed initially to the appropriate 
regional office of the department. The Virginia Department of 
Health, the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services and the Virginia Department of 
Conservation and Recreation may participate in the review of 
such permits involving land application. A permit for 
distribution of bulk use quantities of biosolids will require the 
submittal and review of an acceptable distribution 
information sheet as described in this regulation. The 
approval of a distribution information sheet for bulk use 
quantities of exceptional quality biosolids will be issued in 

the form of a letter of approval of such use by the 
department’s regional offices.  

The permittee shall maintain records on the sludge 
processing facility operation, maintenance and laboratory 
testing. Records shall be maintained for all samples to include 
the following: (i) the date and time of sampling, (ii) the 
sampling methods used, (iii) the date analyses were 
performed, (iv) the identity of the individual obtaining each 
sample and the analysts, and (v) the results of all required 
analyses and measurements. The records shall include all data 
and calculations used and shall be available to the department 
for inspections at reasonable times. All required records shall 
be kept for a minimum of five years.  

C. Information furnished to all users. Biosolids distributed 
for public use in Virginia shall have proper identification of 
the producer and a description of the product including an 
acceptable statement of quality based on representative 
analytical testing. This information shall be provided by the 
owner in either brochures for bulk distribution or by proper 
labeling on bagged material. Labeling requirements should be 
addressed in a management plan or in the operation and 
maintenance manual for the processing facility.  

Information provided to users of marketed or distributed 
biosolids should note the following: (i) the nutrient content, 
(ii) the acceptable land application rates, (iii) the CCE value, 
the pH, (iv) to follow the stated directions for use, and (v) that 
for any uses not specified the user should contact the 
distributor at a listed address or telecommunications number.  

D. Distribution information. Distribution information should 
be maintained by the sludge processing facility owner or 
holder of a permit for distribution or marketing (distributor) 
and completed by any single biosolids distributor or user 
receiving bulk use quantities of marketed or distributed 
biosolids of more than 50 cubic yards during a period of 24 
consecutive hours or less. Copies of this information should 
be maintained by the sludge processing facility or distributor 
and be made available upon request by the department. These 
records should include the following information, as a 
minimum:  

1. Date;  

2. Name, address, and phone number of user;  

3. Amount of exceptional quality biosolids obtained;  

4. Location and property owner where biosolids are being 
used;  

5. Size of area where biosolids are spread;  

6. Proximity of site to closest river or water supply source; 
and  

7. Description of site uses.  
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Only the information listed in subdivisions 1 through 4 of 
this subsection shall be necessary for submission by a 
biosolids distributor.  

The department reserves the right to prohibit the distribution 
of bulk use quantities of biosolids when it appears that such 
distribution is being accomplished in such a manner so as to 
circumvent the foregoing requirements.  

E. Other uses. The use of a nonhazardous sewage sludge 
product, such as incinerator ash, will be evaluated on a case-
by-case basis as provided for by this regulation.  

9VAC25-32-580. Sludge disposal. 

Permits for sludge disposal practices will be issued through 
other state and federal regulations and are not subject to this 
regulation. Such practices may include:  

1. Incineration. Emission quality control requirements will 
be established in accordance with state and federal 
regulations. The generated ash is required to be properly 
managed in accordance with local, state and federal 
regulations. Applicable regulatory requirements in addition 
to this regulation may involve permits issued by the 
appropriate state and federal agencies. Buffer separation 
requirements will be established on a site specific basis in 
accordance with the applicable regulations.  

2. Landfill. Management of stabilized sludge suitable for 
topdressing of completed landfill areas will be subject to 
state and federal regulations. Codisposal of sludge within 
municipal solid waste landfills is subject to state and 
federal regulation. Codisposal requirements have included:  

a. Stabilization treatment of sludges.  

b. Dewatering of sludges by methods designed to achieve 
a suspended solids level of 20% or more, or a treated 
sludge sample passes the paint filter test standards for 
free water.  

c. A nonhazardous declaration from the owner.  

3. Lagooning (surface disposal). When these facilities are 
closed by burying the wastes in place, they may be 
considered to be surface disposal sites. A closure plan shall 
be provided to the appropriate agencies.  

4. Dedicated sites. The primary purpose of surface disposal 
sites is to allow frequent long-term sludge application at a 
single location at amounts that exceed agronomic rates but 
not for the purpose of reclaiming disturbed soils. Sludge 
disposal operations on dedicated sites will be subject to 
local, state and federal regulations including site 
management practices. Permits will be issued through state 
and federal regulations to protect public health and the 
quality of state waters. Any dedicated site may be subject 
to local zoning requirements and may be recorded as a 

dedicated site in the appropriate circuit court deed book 
(Table A-1).  

9VAC25-32-590. Standards for agricultural use. 

A. Standards for agricultural use of sewage sludge as 
biosolids have been established such that the concentrations 
of sludge contaminants released to the environment will not 
exceed the human health and environmental quality criterion 
for the relevant exposure pathways.  

B. Agricultural use standards involve regulation of the 
following:  

1. Sludge characteristics as determined from sampling and 
testing as well as control of sewer use.  

2. Sludge treatment (stabilization) in relation to process 
design and operational controls (Table 3).  

3. Site management in relation to land application of 
biosolids for agronomic use, including (i) operational 
methods, (ii) access restrictions, and (iii) buffer 
restrictions.  

4. Crop management in relation to land application of 
biosolids and crop rotation, including (i) application rate 
determinations, and (ii) crop use restrictions.  

5. Standards for biosolids characteristics including (i) 
nutrient concentrations, (ii) heavy metal concentrations, 
(iii) organic chemical concentrations, and (iv) lime 
content/pH characteristics.  

6. Standards for processing biosolids involving treatment 
process sequences for (i) pathogen reduction treatment and 
(ii) reduction of organic matter to minimize odors and 
reduce vector attraction.  

9VAC25-32-600. Biosolids characteristics; nutrients; trace 
elements; organic chemicals. 

A. The primary agronomic value of biosolids, the nutrient 
content, shall be established prior to agricultural use. The 
applied nitrogen and phosphorous content of biosolids shall 
be limited to amounts established to support crop growth. 
Nitrate nitrogen developed as a result of biosolids application 
shall be controlled in order not to accumulate in groundwater 
as a pollutant. Thus, the amount of biosolids applied to land 
shall be restricted based on the nitrogen requirements of the 
crop grown on the amended site immediately following 
application (agronomic rate). In addition, soil erosion and site 
runoff should not result in phosphorous pollution of surface 
waters as a result of surface application of biosolids. The 
results of approved groundwater monitoring programs may be 
utilized to verify frequent application rates.  

B. The heavy metal content of biosolids may restrict the 
application rate below the agronomic rate. However, 
municipal biosolids would not normally contain excessive 
heavy metal concentrations unless a significant amount of a 
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high metal content wastewater without pretreatment is 
routinely discharged into the municipal system. If a biosolid 
contains heavy metal concentrations below the ceiling values 
listed in Table 7, or is processed and evaluated as exceptional 
quality biosolids, the application rate for agricultural use shall 
be unrestricted up to the agronomic rate for infrequent 
applications. The accumulated amount of trace elements can 
restrict the application rate for frequent applications of 
biosolids.  

C. Municipal biosolids can contain synthetic organic 
chemicals from industrial wastewater contributions and 
disposal of household chemicals and pesticides. Municipal 
biosolids typically contain very low levels of these 
compounds; however, biosolids may be required to be tested 
for certain toxic organic compounds prior to agricultural use 
(Table 12). If performed and validated, these test results shall 
be utilized to evaluate the maximum allowable annual loading 
rate for the tested biosolids. If analytical test results verify 
that biosolids contains levels of organic chemicals exceeding 
concentration limits incorporated in federal regulations or 
standards, appropriate restrictions shall be imposed for 
agricultural use of that biosolid.  

9VAC25-32-610. Biosolids treatment. 

A. Stabilization. Biosolids treatment processes are primarily 
designed to increase the solids content of the biosolids by 
separation and removal of liquid and are designed to stabilize 
the solid fraction through biochemical conversions that 
inactivate pathogens and reduce vector attraction 
characteristics and the potential for odor production. Such 
treatment should be designed to improve the characteristics of 
the biosolids for a particular use/disposal practice, increase 
the economic viability of using a particular practice and 
reduce the potential for public health, environmental and 
nuisance problems.  

B. Class I treatment. Class I treatment may be achieved by 
process sequences to further reduce (PFRP) or eliminate 
pathogens, i.e., Class A pathogen control. Class I treatment 
methods reduce all pathogens potentially contained in 
biosolids or septage to a level below specified limits (Table 
3). Class A microbiological standards and an acceptable 
solids content shall be achieved at the time biosolids are used 
or prepared for distribution or marketing in accordance with 
the appropriate management practices specified in this 
regulation. Class I treatment processes should include one or 
more of the following operations:  

1. Heat treatment. The temperature of the biosolids that is 
used or disposed is maintained at a specific value for a 
specified period of time:  

a. When the percent solids of the biosolids is 7.0% or 
higher, the temperature of the biosolids shall be 50°C or 
higher; the time period shall be 20 minutes or longer; and 
the temperature and time period shall be determined 

using equation B-1, except when small particles of 
biosolids are heated by either warmed gases or an 
immiscible liquid.  

Equation B-1: D1 = (131,700,000)/ 10(exp 0.1400(t))  

Where,  

D1 = time in days that biosolids temperature is t or more  

t = Biosolids temperature in degrees Celsius (°C).  

exp = exponent or power that Base 10 is raised to.  

b. When the percent solids of the biosolids is 7.0% or 
higher and small particles of biosolids are heated by 
either warmed gases or an immiscible liquid, the 
temperature of the biosolids shall be 50°C or higher; the 
time period shall be 15 seconds or longer; and the 
temperature and time period shall be determined using 
equation B-1.  

c. When the percent solids of the biosolids is less than 
7.0% and the time period is at least 15 seconds, but less 
than 30 minutes, the temperature and time period shall be 
determined using equation B-1.  

d. When the percent solids of the biosolids is less than 
7.0% the temperature of the biosolids is 50°C or higher; 
and time period is 30 minutes or longer, the temperature 
and time period shall be determined using equation B-2.  

Equation B-2: D2 = (50,070,000)/ 10(exp 0.1400(t))  

Where,  

D2 = time in days that biosolids temperature is t or more  

t = Biosolids temperature in degrees Celsius (°C).  

e. The temperature of the biosolids is maintained at 70°C 
or higher for a time period of 30 minutes or longer 
(Pasteurization).  

2. Heat drying. A process wherein dewatered biosolids 
cake is dried by direct or indirect contact with hot gases 
and the biosolids moisture content is reduced to 10% or 
lower. Direct drying is achieved when the biosolids 
particles reach temperatures of 80°C or higher. Indirect 
drying may involve the temperature of the gas stream 
measured at the point where the gas stream leaves the 
dryer. Indirect drying may be achieved when the wetbulb 
temperature of the gas stream leaving the dryer is in excess 
of 80°C or the biosolids particles reach temperatures of 
80°C or higher.  

3. Thermophilic composting. A process using the within-
vessel composting method that maintains a treated 
biosolids temperature of 55°C or greater for three days. A 
process using the static aerated pile composting method 
that maintains a treated biosolids temperature of 55°C or 
greater for three days. A process using the windrow 
composting method that maintains a treated biosolids 
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temperature at 55°C or greater for at least 15 days during 
the composting period, and during the indicated high 
temperature period, there is a minimum of five turnings of 
the windrow. Operating temperatures are measured at the 
depth of 30 cm from the surface of the compost mixture. 
As thermophilic composting processes are less efficient in 
destroying pathogens than other disinfection processes an 
additional storage of processed compost up to 30 days or 
more may be necessary to achieve an adequate level of 
vector attraction reduction as verified by testing prior to 
final disposition (Table 3).  

4. Thermophilic aerobic digestion. Liquid biosolids 
consisting of 50% or more waste biological liquid by dry 
weight, is agitated with air or oxygen to maintain one mg/l 
or more dissolved oxygen at mid-depth, during a mean cell 
residence time of 10 days or more at 55°C or more.  

5. Alkaline (PFRP) stabilization. Thorough blending of an 
alkaline additive to digested biosolids in sufficient 
quantities to produce a mixture pH of 12 or more for a 
period of 72 hours or more with one of the following: (i) 
mixture temperature of 55°C for a minimum period of 12 
hours, or (ii) mixture temperature of 70°C or more for a 
minimum period of 30 minutes or more. Such treatment 
may be followed by storage for an acceptable period of 
time to dry the mixture to an adequate dry solids content. 
Alkaline addition to undigested biosolids will be 
considered on a case-by-case basis with extensive 
monitoring used to verify the level of pathogen control 
achieved.  

6. Chlorine oxidation. A process of introducing high doses 
of chlorine (1,000 mg/l to 3,000 mg/l) into the biosolids 
stream under low pressure (30 psig or more) producing a 
biosolids pH of four or less in order to achieve Class A 
microbiological standards (Table 3), followed by 
acceptable drying to achieve a suspended solids content of 
30% or more.  

7. Alternative equivalent stabilization processes. The 
process operating parameters for alternative equivalent 
stabilization processes (PFRP) should be addressed, case-
by-case, based on department evaluation of the results of 
adequate monitoring and testing programs (Table 3), with 
input from the USEPA staff, i.e., the Pathogen Equivalency 
Committee.  

C. Class II treatment. Class II treatment may be achieved by 
process sequences to significantly reduce pathogens (PSRP), 
i.e., Class B pathogen control. Class II treatment methods 
reduce bacteria (fecal coliform, fecal streptococci, 
enterococci) found in the treated biosolids or septage 1 logs 
or more (32 fold) below the densities found in the raw 
biosolids to achieve a density of (6.3 log10 per gram of total 
solids or less (Table 3)). Class B microbiological standards 
shall be achieved at the time the biosolids are removed and 

transported for land application in accordance with the 
management practices specified. Class II treatment processes 
may include one or more of the following operations:  

1. Anaerobic digestion. A process whereby biosolids are 
maintained in an anaerobic environment for a mean cell 
residences period ranging from 60 days at 20°C to 15 days 
at 35°C.  

2. Aerobic digestion. A process of agitating biosolids with 
air or oxygen to maintain aerobic conditions for a mean 
cell residence period ranging from 60 days at 15°C to 40 
days at 20°C.  

3. Low-temperature composting. A process using the 
within-vessel, aerated static pile or windrow composting 
methods, whereby the temperature of treated biosolids is 
maintained at a minimum of 40°C for five days. For four 
hours during this period the operating temperature of the 
treated biosolids exceeds 55°C. Additional storage of 
processed compost for 30 days or more may be necessary 
to provide the necessary level of vector attraction reduction 
prior to final disposition.  

4. Alkaline (PSRP) stabilization. A process where 
sufficient alkaline additive is blended with unstabilized 
biosolids to produce a minimum mixture pH of 12 after 
two hours of contact and a pH of 11.5 or more for 22 
additional hours or more, with storage for a period 
sufficient to produce an acceptable dry solids content as 
necessary for the method of final disposition.  

5. Air drying. Biosolids treated by methods similar to those 
listed above, but not meeting Class II treatment standards 
are dried on sand beds or in basins with underdrains for a 
minimum period of three months, during which time the 
ambient daily temperature exceeds 0°C and dried biosolids 
are produced.  

D. Additional treatment methods to provide disinfection of 
treated biosolids. Pathogen treatment processes may be 
enhanced by providing additional treatment methods to 
eliminate parasitic worms and ova (EH process sequence). 
Any of the processes listed below, if added to stabilization 
processes described previously, will further lower pathogens. 
Because these processes when used alone do not reduce 
nuisance odors and the attraction of vectors, they are 
considered to be supplementary to typical stabilization and 
pathogen treatment processes.  

1. Beta ray irradiation. A process involving the irradiation 
of biosolids with beta rays at dosages of at least one 
megarad at 20°C.  

2. Gamma ray irradiation. A process involving the 
irradiation of biosolids with gamma rays from certain 
isotopes, such as 60Cobalt and 137Cesium, at dosages of at 
least 1.0 megarad at 20°C.  
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E. Vector attraction reduction parameters. One of the 
appropriate vector attraction reduction requirements shall be 
achieved and Class A or B pathogen control obtained when 
bulk biosolids are applied to agricultural land, forest, a public 
contact site, reclamation site, lawn or home gardens. One of 
the appropriate vector attraction reduction requirements shall 
be met when Class A biosolids are sold or given away in a 
bag or other container for application to the land. The 
following operational methods will achieve the necessary 
vector attraction reduction requirements:  

1. The mass of volatile solids in the biosolids shall be 
reduced by a minimum of 38% (see calculation procedures 
in "Environmental Regulations and Technology-Control of 
Pathogens and Vector Attraction in Biosolids," EPA-
625/R-92/013, 1992, U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency, Cincinnati, Ohio 45268).  

2. When the 38% volatile solids reduction cannot be met 
for an anaerobically digested biosolid, vector attraction 
reduction can be demonstrated by digesting a portion of the 
originally digested biosolids anaerobically in the laboratory 
in a bench-scale unit for 40 additional days at a 
temperature between 30°C and 37°C. When at the end of 
the 40 days, the volatile solids in the biosolids at the 
beginning of that period is reduced by less than 17%, 
adequate vector attraction reduction is considered 
demonstrated for the originally digested biosolids.  

3. When the 38% volatile solids reduction requirement 
cannot be met for an aerobically digested biosolid, vector 
attraction reduction can be demonstrated by digesting a 
portion of the originally digested biosolids that has a 
percent solids of 2.0% or less aerobically in the laboratory 
in a bench-scale unit for 30 additional days at 20°C. When 
at the end of the 30 days, the volatile solids in the biosolids 
at the beginning of that period is reduced by less than 15%, 
adequate vector attraction reduction is considered 
demonstrated for the originally digested biosolids.  

4. The specific oxygen uptake rate (SOUR) for biosolids 
treated in a Class II or better aerobic process shall be equal 
to or less than 1.5 milligrams of oxygen per hour per gram 
of total solids (dry weight basis) at a temperature of 20°C.  

5. Biosolids shall be treated in a Class II or better aerobic 
process for 14 days or longer. During that time, the 
temperature of the biosolids shall be higher than 40°C and 
the average temperature of the biosolids shall be higher 
than 45°C.  

6. The pH of treated biosolids shall be raised to 12 or 
higher by alkaline addition and, without the addition of 
more alkaline material, shall remain at 12 or higher for two 
hours and then at 11.5 or higher for an additional 22 hours. 
Alkaline stabilization of untreated biosolids shall be 
evaluated on a case-by-case basis.  

7. The percent solids of treated biosolids that does not 
contain unstabilized solids generated in a primary 
wastewater treatment process shall be equal to or greater 
than 75% based on the moisture content and total solids 
prior to mixing with other materials.  

8. The percent solids of treated biosolids that contains 
unstabilized solids generated in a primary wastewater 
treatment process shall be equal to or greater than 90% 
based on the moisture content and total solids prior to 
mixing with other materials.  

9. For biosolids that are surface applied and incorporated, 
or injected, below the surface of the land:  

a. No significant amount of the biosolids shall be present 
on the land surface within one hour after the biosolids are 
injected.  

b. When the biosolids that are injected below the surface 
of the land are Class A with respect to pathogens, the 
biosolids shall be injected below the land surface within 
eight hours after being discharged from the pathogen 
treatment process.  

c. Biosolids applied to the land surface shall be 
incorporated into the soil within six hours after 
application to or placement on the land.  

d. When biosolids that are incorporated into the soil are 
Class A with respect to pathogens, the biosolids shall be 
applied to or placed on the land within eight hours after 
being discharged from the pathogen treatment process.  

10. The pH of untreated domestic septage applied to land 
shall be raised to 12 or higher by alkaline addition and, 
without the addition of more alkaline material, shall remain 
at 12 or higher for 30 minutes prior to application.  

9VAC25-32-620. Site access time restrictions. 

A. Unrestricted access (UA). Biosolids that have undergone 
Class I treatment to achieve Class A pathogen control may be 
applied or incorporated into the soil of agricultural lands and 
immediate public access is permitted. A waiting period is 
required up to 30 days following application (to allow 
adhering biosolids to be washed from the foliar portion of the 
plants by precipitation). This waiting period is required before 
(i) crops are harvested for human consumption, or (ii) 
domestic animals are allowed to graze on the site.  

B. Restricted access (RA). Following application or 
incorporation of biosolids that have undergone Class II 
treatment to achieve Class B pathogen control public access 
and crop management shall be restricted as follows: (i) access 
to any site with a high potential for contact with the ground 
surface (public use) by the general public shall be controlled 
for a minimum time period of one year, (ii) access to 
agricultural sites and other sites with a low potential for 
public exposure shall be controlled for 30 days, (iii) food 
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crops with harvested parts that touch the biosolids/soil 
mixture and are not totally above the land surface shall not be 
harvested for 14 months, (iv) food crops with harvested parts 
below the surface of the land shall not be harvested for 20 
months following application, when the biosolids remain on 
the land surface for four months or longer prior to 
incorporation into the soil, (v) food crops with subsurface 
harvested parts shall not be harvested for 38 months 
following application, when the biosolids remain on the land 
surface less than four months prior to incorporation, (vi) 
feeding of harvested crops to animals shall not take place for 
a total of one month following surface application (two 
months for lactating dairy livestock), (vii) grazing by animals 
whose products will or will not be consumed by humans is 
prevented for at least 30 days (60 days for lactating dairy 
livestock), and (viii) harvesting turf grass for placement on 
land with a high potential for public exposure or a lawn is 
prevented for 12 months.  

C. Modified Access (MA). If a biosolids processing 
sequence is used to treat PSRP or PSLP biosolids that 
eliminates or inactivates helminth eggs (EH), public use 
access restrictions are reduced to six and eight months 
respectively, which shall include two summer months. A 
summary listing of access restrictions is presented in Table 9.  

9VAC25-32-630. Biosolids management for nitrogen 
loading. 

A. Crop uptake guidelines. 9VAC25-32-560 B 3 states that 
application rates shall be approved by the board and that 
nitrogenous substances are often the limiting factoring 
determining these application rates. The applicant is 
responsible for providing site specific biosolids loading rates 
on a field-by-field basis. In cases where nitrogen is the rate 
limiting constituent, such rates may be justified by 
determining the predominant soil type in a field and then 
correlating the appropriate soil productivity group and 
nitrogen requirement for the proposed crop. Soil test 
recommendations developed through the Virginia Polytechnic 
Institute and State University or the Virginia Water 
Conservation, Department of Conservation and Recreation 
may be used for such purposes. Table 10 summarizes the 
correlation between nitrogen requirement and productivity 
class for several crops grown and harvested in Virginia. The 
applicant may also justify site-specific loading rates by 
documenting historic crop yield records (average of three 
highest yields in five years of record) or by written 
verifications from the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State 
University, the Cooperative Extension Service or Department 
of Conservation and Recreation Nutrient Management 
Specialist. Written verification shall accompany a request for 
higher yield goals than those posted in Table 10.  

B. Application rate calculations. For biosolids application, a 
nitrogen balance must be evaluated to determine the 
acceptable loading rate. For frequent biosolids application, 

the evaluation will require an assessment of biosolids 
mineralization rates for organic nitrogen present in the 
biosolids for the year it is applied as well as residual organic 
nitrogen that will be mineralized from previous years' 
biosolids application. Table 11 summarizes acceptable 
organic nitrogen mineralization rates and ammonia 
volatilization rates for various types of biosolids and should 
be used in computing acceptable nitrogen loading rates unless 
information is provided to justify other rates. The nitrogen 
application rate on sites registered in the conservation reserve 
plan should be established in accordance with those land use 
restrictions. The application rates for treated septage shall be 
developed using equation 1 contained in Table 12-B.  

9VAC25-32-640. Maximum application rates for trace 
elements. 

The maximum cumulative application of cadmium and other 
biosolids borne trace elements to soils used for crop 
production is summarized in Table 8. Parameters other than 
those listed in Tables 8, 9 and 14 can be used to evaluate the 
application rate of biosolids in accordance with current EPA 
technical regulations. Exceptional quality biosolids applied to 
lawns or home gardens in residential areas shall be of such 
quality so as to conform with the pollutant levels specified in 
Table 7-B.  

9VAC25-32-650. Maximum application rates for high 
lime biosolids. 

Application rates for alkaline stabilized biosolids may be 
restricted in accordance with the soil pH buffer capacity, as 
determined by commercial and state soil testing laboratories.  
The application of biosolids will affect soil pH. Unless 
properly controlled, high rates of calcium carbonate 
equivalence (i.e., CCE, which is a factor that relates the 
liming potential of biosolids to calcium carbonate limestone) 
application can have an adverse effect on crop productivity by 
increasing the soil pH beyond the range optimum for 
maximum crop production. Agricultural use of biosolids with 
high CCE content should be controlled to correspond with 
current agricultural liming practices. Calcium carbonate 
equivalent loadings should not exceed rates designed to attain 
soil pH values in the plow layer above 6.5 for soils located in 
the coastal plain and above 6.8 for soils located in other areas 
of the state.  

9VAC25-32-660. Maximum application rates for 
biosolids. 

If soils exhibit very high soil test phosphorus of 55 or more 
parts per million phosphorus (Mehlich I analytical test 
procedure or equivalent procedure approved by the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation), the maximum 
application rates for phosphorus contained in biosolids 
together with phosphorus contained in other applied nutrient 
sources to the site and all applicable phosphorus management 
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practices shall be consistent with the nutrient management 
plan. 

 
TABLE 7 

A. RECOMMENDED CEILING LIMITS FOR THE 
TRACE ELEMENT CONTENT OF BIOSOLIDS 

ACCEPTABLE FOR LAND APPLICATION 

TRACE 
ELEMENT 

CONCENTRATION IN MILLIGRAMS 
PER KILOGRAMS (DRY WEIGHT) 

Arsenic 75 

Cadmium 85 

Copper 4300 

Lead 840 

Mercury 57 

Molybdenum 75 

Nickel 420 

Selenium 100 

Zinc 7500 

B. MAXIMUM MONTHLY AVERAGE TRACE 
ELEMENT CONCENTRATIONS FOR APPLICATION 

OF EXCEPTIONAL QUALITY BIOSOLIDS TO LAWNS 
OR HOME GARDENS IN RESIDENTIAL LOCATIONS 

TRACE 
ELEMENT 

CONCENTRATION IN MILLIGRAMS 
PER KILOGRAMS (DRY WEIGHT) 

Arsenic (1) 41 

Cadmium 39 

Copper 1500 

Lead 300 

Mercury 17 

Molybdenum 
(1) 

  

Nickel 420 

Selenium 100 

Zinc 2800 

Note: (1)The monthly average concentration is currently 
under study by USEPA. 

  

TABLE 8 

MAXIMUM CUMULATIVE APPLICATION OF 
BIOSOLIDS TRACE ELEMENTS THAT CAN BE 

APPLIED TO SOILS USED FOR CROP PRODUCTION(1) 

TRACE 
ELEMENT 

Kg/ha (lbs/AC) 

Arsenic (2) 41 (36) 

Cadmium 39 (35) 

Copper 1,500 (1,340) 

Lead 300 (270) 

Mercury 17 (16) 

Molybdenum (2)     

Nickel 420 (375) 

Selenium 100 (89) 

Zinc 2,800 (2,500) 

Notes: (1)Such total applications to be made on soils with 
the biosolids/soil mixture pH adjusted to 6.0 or greater if the 
biosolids cadmium content is greater than or equal to 21 
mg/kg. 

The maximum cumulative application rate is limited for all 
ranges of cation exchange capacity due to soil background 
pH in Virginia of less than 6.5 and lack of regulatory 
controls of soil pH adjustment after biosolids application 
ceases. 
(2)The maximum cumulative application is currently under 
study by USEPA. 

  
TABLE 9 

COMPARISONS OF TIME RESTRICTIONS 
FOLLOWING COMPLETION OF BIOSOLIDS 

APPLICATION ASSOCIATED WITH CLASS II 
TREATMENT LEVELS 

Type of Application Surface(1) Incorporated(2) 

Control of Access for 
Public Use(3) 

12 Months 12 Months 

Time lapse required 
before above ground 
food crops with 
harvested parts that 
touch the 
biosolids/soil mixture 
can be harvested. 

14 Months 14 Months 

Time lapse before 
food crops with 

20 Months 38 Months 
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harvested parts below 
the land surface can 
be harvested 

Harvesting food 
crops, feed crops and 
fiber crops 

1 Month 1 Month 

Grazing and feeding 
harvested crops to 
animals whose 
products are 
consumed by 
humans(4) 

1 Month 1 Month 

Grazing of farm 
animals whose 
products are not 
consumed by humans  

1 Month 1 Month 

Harvesting turf for 
placement on land 
with a high potential 
for public exposure or 
a lawn(5) 

12 Months 12 Months 

Notes: (1)Remains on land surface for four months or longer prior 
to incorporation. 
(2)Remains on land surface for less than four months prior to 
incorporation. 
(3)Public access to agricultural sites and other sites with a low 
potential for direct contact with the ground surface shall be 
controlled for 30 days. 
(4)The restriction for lactating dairy cows is two months. 
(5)This time restriction must be met unless otherwise specified by 
the permitting authority. 

 

 

TABLE 10 

NITROGEN REQUIREMENTS FOR AGRONOMIC RATES 

A. RECOMMENDED PLANT AVAILABLE NITROGEN (PAN) APPLICATION RATES IN POUNDS OF NITROGEN 
(N) PER ACRE FOR VARIOUS NONIRRIGATED CROPS GROWN ON SOILS RECEIVING INFREQUENT 

BIOSOLIDS APPLICATIONS(1) 

Soil Productivity Group 

I II III IV V 

  

  

  A B A B A B A B   

Crop lbs N/acre 

Corn grain  180 170 160 150 140 130 120 100 80 

Corn silage 200 185 175 165 155 145 130 110 90 

Grain sorghum 140 130 120 110 100 90 90 80 

Full season Soybeans (2) 160 to 
180 

150 to 
170 

140 
to 

160 

130 
to 

150 

120 
to 

140 

110 to 
130 

100 
to 

120 

85 to 
105 

65 to 
85 

Canola (3) 100 90 80 60 60 

Wheat 100 90 80 60 60 

Barley 90 80 80 60 60 

Rye 75 75 75 75 75 

Oats 80 80 80 60 60 
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Tallgrass hay (4) 250 250 200 160 160 

Bermudagrass hay 240 - 300 240 - 300 210 - 260 210 - 260 210 - 
260 

Pasture 
Fescue/Orchardgrass (5) 

120 120 100 80 80 

Bermudagrass pasture (7) 175 - 225 175 - 225 120 - 180 120 - 180 120 - 
180 

Alfalfa (7) 300 300 210 150 150 

Sudangrass, sudan-
sorghum, millet (6) 

70 70 70 70 70 

Stockpiled tall fescue 
(summer application by 
August 15) 

60 - 100 60 - 100 50 - 80 50 - 80 50 -
80 

Notes: (1)For proposed use of crops or PAN rates (lbs/A) not included in the following tables, adequate yield and PAN Data 
are to be submitted in accordance with Article 4 (9VAC25-32-670 et seq.) of this part. 
(2)For doublecrop or late beans planted after 6/21 (of any year) allowable PAN rates are the lowest of the listed values, as 
rounded to nearest factor of 10. 
(3)For fall application rate may sidedress up to 60 lbs fertilizer N/acre in late February before spring growth begins.  
(4)Apply listed PAN rate when application occurs between 3/1 and 9/30 in any year and apply only one-half of listed PAN 
rates if application will occur between 10/1 of any year and 2/28 of the following year, with remaining PAN applied after 3/1 
of that following year. 
(5)For frequent applications apply 60 lbs PAN/acre per year.  Following infrequent application rate, subsequent frequent 
applications should be adjusted on a case-by-case basis, accounting for residual from other wastes and crops (Part IV, Table 
A-2). 
(6)Sudangrass, sudan-sorghum and pearl millet may receive a PAN rate of 120 lbs/A if the application occurs between 3/1 and 
6/1 of any year and two cuttings are to be made, weather permitting. For Foxtail or German Millet, cut only once, application 
will be limited to a PAN rate of 70 LBS/A. 
(7) From 7/1 through 9/14, applications to Bermuda grass hay or alfalfa shall only be applied at 50% of the listed rate 

B. ESTIMATED YIELDS IN BUSHELS (bu) OR TONS (T) PER ACRE (A) OF VARIOUS NONIRRIGATED CROPS 
FOR IDENTIFIED SOIL PRODUCTIVITY GROUPS 

I II III IV V   

Crop A B A B A B A B   

Corn Grain (bu/A) 
Corn Silage (T/A) 

180 
25.4 

170 
24.4 

160 
23.4 

150 
22.5 

140 
21.5 

130 
20.5 

120 
19.5 

100 
17.5 

80 
15.6 

Grain Sorghum (bu/A) 140 130 120 110 100 90 90 80 

Soybeans (bu/A) 
Early season 
Late season(8) 

 
50 
40 

 
45 
34 

 
40 

34        30 

 
35 
25 

 
25 
18 

 
20 
15 

Canola(9) UNDETERMINED AT THIS TIME 

Wheat (bu/A) 
Standard 
Intensive 

 
64 
80 

 
56 
70 

 
48 
60 

 
40 
50 

 
24 
30 
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Barley (bu/A) 
Standard 
Intensive 

 
110 
115 

 
70 
88 

 
60 
75 

 
50 
63 

 
30 
38 

Oats 80 80 80 60 60 

Tallgrass hay (T/A) >4.0 3.5 - 
4.0 

3.5 - 
4.0 

3.0 -3.5 <3.0 <3.0 

Bermudagrass hay 
(T/A) 

>6.0 5.0 - 6.0  4.0 -5.0 3.0 - 4.0 <3.0 

Alfalfa (T/A) >6.0 4.0 - 6.0 <4.0 <4.0 <4.0 

Notes: (8)Late season beans would be planted on or after 6/21 of that year. 
(9)Sufficient yield data not currently available. 

C. RESIDUAL PLANT AVAILABLE NITROGEN (PAN) REMAINING FROM GROWTH OF VARIOUS LEGUMES 
DURING THE PREVIOUS YEAR (10) 

Crop %Stand Yield Description Residual Pan (lbs/A) 

Alfalfa 50-75 Good (>4T/A) 90 

  25-49 Fair (3-4T/A) 70 

  <25 Poor (<3T/A) 50 

Red Clover >50 Good (>3T/A) 80 

  25-49 Fair (2-3T/A) 60 

  <25 Poor (<2T/A) 40 

Hairy Vetch 80-100 Good 100 

  50-79 Fair 75 

  <50 Poor 50 

Peanuts 45 

Soybeans 20(11) 

Notes: (10)The residual PAN values must be subtracted from the PAN values listed in Table A of this section to determine 
biosolids application rates following growth of legume crops the previous year. 
(11)Where yield data is available utilize 0.5 pounds per bushel. 

  

TABLE 11 

A. ESTIMATED NITROGEN MINERALIZATION RATES FOR BIOSOLIDS 

  Application Year(1) 

Biosolids Type 0-1 1-2 2-3 3-4 

Lime Stabilized 0.30 0.10 0.10 0.05 

Aerobic digestion 0.30 0.10 0.10 0.05 
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Anaerobic 
digestion 

0.30 0.10 0.10 0.05 

Composted(2) 0.10 0.05 0.03 0.00 

Notes: (1)To determine nitrogen available from previous biosolids applications, multiply the initial organic nitrogen analysis 
by the appropriate mineralization factor. 
(2)Total organic nitrogen content of 2.0% or less and no significant ammonia nitrogen. 

B. ESTIMATED BIOSOLIDS AMMONIA NITROGEN AVAILABILITY FACTORS BASED ON EXPECTED 
VIOLATILIZATION RATES FOR BIOSOLIDS 

  Availability Factor(1) 

Method of 
Application 

Biosolids pH 
Less than 10 

Biosolids pH Greater than 10 

Injection below 
surface 

1.0 1.0 

Surface 
application with/ 

    

--Incorporation 
within 24 hours 

0.85 0.75 

--Incorporation 
within 1-7 days 

0.70 0.50 

--Incorporation 
after 7 days 

0.50 0.25 

(1)To determine the plant-available biosolids ammonium nitrogen in the soil, multiply the biosolids ammonium nitrogen 
concentration or total weight applied by the appropriate availability factor. 

  

TABLE 12 

A. ORGANIC CHEMICAL TESTING THAT MAY BE 
REQUIRED TO IDENTIFY AN EXCEPTIONAL 

QUALITY BIOSOLIDS  

Organic Chemicals  

Aldrin/dieldrin (total)  

Benzo (a) pyrene  

Chlordane  

DDT/DDE/DDD (total) (1)  

Dimethyl nitrosamine  

Heptachlor  

Hexachlorobenzene  

Hexachlorobutadiene  

Lindane  

Polychlorinated biphenols  

Toxaphene  

Trichloroethylene  

(1)Note: DDT 2,2--Bis (chlorophenyl)--1,1,1--
Trichloroethane  

DDE 1,1--Bis (chlorophenyl)--2,2--Dichloroethane  

DDD 1,1--Bis (chlorophenyl)--2,2--Dichloroethane  

B. THE RECOMMENDED APPLICATION RATE FOR 
DOMESTIC SEPTAGE APPLIED TO AGRICULTURAL 
LAND, FOREST, OR A RECLAMATION SITE SHALL 
NOT EXCEED THE ANNUAL APPLICATION RATE 

CALCULATED USING THE FOLLOWING EQUATION: 

AAR = N/(0.0026)  

Where:  

AAR = Annual application rate in gallons per acre per 365-
day period.  

N = Amount of nitrogen in pounds per acre per 305-day 
period needed by the crop or vegetation grown on the land.  
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Article 4 

Permit Application Information for Biosolids Use 

9VAC25-32-670. Minimum information required for a 
management practices plan utilizing land application. 

A. General information. 

1. Legal Name and Address: The legal name of the owner 
making application for a permit is to appear on the title 
page or in the opening paragraph or both. Both the mailing 
and physical address should be included. 

2. Owner Contact: The name, title, address, and telephone 
number of the individual to be contacted regarding this 
application should be furnished. 

3. A general description of the proposed plan including 
name and location of generators and owners involved and 
copies of agreements developed, biosolids quality, 
biosolids treatment and handling processes, means of 
biosolids transport or conveyance, location and volume of 
storage proposed, general location of sites proposed for 
application and methods of biosolids application proposed. 
A description of temporary storage methods should be 
provided. 

4. Written permission of landowners and farmers on a form 
approved by the board and pertinent lease agreements as 
may be necessary for operation of the treatment works. 

5. Methods for notification of local government and 
obtaining compliance with local government zoning and 
applicable ordinances. 

6. A copy of a letter of approval of the nutrient 
management plan for the operation from the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation if required in 9VAC25-32-
680 A 3. 

B. Design information. 

1. Biosolids characterization. 

a. Amounts and volumes to be handled. 

b. Biosolids laboratory analytical data of a representative 
number of samples of biosolids in accordance with the 
guideline specified in accordance with Tables 2 and 3. 
Statement that the biosolids is nonhazardous, 
documentation statement for treatment and quality and 
description of how treated biosolids meets other 
standards in accordance with this regulation. 

2. Plans and specifications for storage facilities of all 
biosolids to be handled, including routine and emergency 
storage, shall be submitted for the issuance of a certificate 
to construct and a certificate to operate in accordance with 
the Sewage Collection and Treatment Regulations 
(9VAC25-790) and shall depict the following information: 

a. Site layout on a recent 7.5 minute topographic 
quadrangle or other appropriate scaled map with the 
following information. 

(1) Location of any required soil, geologic and 
hydrologic test holes or borings will be submitted. 

(2) Location of the following field features within 0.25 
miles of the site boundary (indicate on map) with the 
approximate distances from the site boundary. 

(a) Water wells (operating or abandoned). 

(b) Surface waters. 

(c) Springs. 

(d) Public water supplies. 

(e) Sinkholes. 

(f) Underground and/or surface mines. 

(g) Mine pool (or other) surface water discharge points. 

(h) Mining spoil piles and mine dumps. 

(i) Quarries. 

(j) Sand and gravel pits. 

(k) Gas and oil wells. 

(l) Diversion ditches. 

(m) Occupied dwellings, including industrial and 
commercial establishments. 

(n) Landfills - dumps. 

(o) Other unlined impoundments. 

(p) Septic tanks and drainfields. 

(q) Injection wells. 

b. Topographic map (10-foot contour preferred) of 
sufficient detail to clearly show the following 
information: 

(1) Maximum and minimum percent slopes. 

(2) Depressions on the site that may collect water. 

(3) Drainageways that may attribute to rainfall run-on to 
or runoff from this site. 

(4) Portions of the site (if any) that are located within the 
100-year floodplain. 

c. Data and specifications for the liner proposed for 
seepage control. 

d. Scaled plan view and cross-sectional view of the 
facilities showing inside and outside slopes of all 
embankments and details of all appurtenances. 

e. Calculations justifying impoundment capacity. 
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f. Groundwater monitoring plans for the facilities 
including pertinent geohydrological data to justify 
upgradient and downgradient well location and depth. 

3. Generic plans for on-site temporary storage. 

4. A legible topographic map of proposed application areas 
to scale as needed to depict the following features: 

a. Property boundaries. 

b. Surface water courses. 

c. Water supply wells and springs. 

d. Roadways. 

e. Rock outcrops. 

f. Slopes. 

g. Frequently flooded areas (SCS designation). 

The map shall also show the acreage to be amended with 
biosolids together with the net acres for biosolids 
application computed. 

5. County map or other map of sufficient detail to show 
general location of the site and proposed transport vehicle 
haul routes to be utilized from the treatment plant. 

6. A USDA soil survey map, if available, of proposed sites 
for land application of biosolids. 

7. Representative soil samples are to be collected to 
address each major soil types for each field and analyzed 
for the soil parameters indicated in accordance with Table 
5, and test results should be submitted with the 
management practices plan. 

8. For projects utilizing frequent application of biosolids 
the following additional site information will be necessary. 

a. Information specified (subdivisions 2 a and 4 of this 
subsection), 

b. Representative soil borings and test pits to a depth of 
five feet or to bedrock if shallower, are to be coordinated 
for each major soil type and the following tests 
performed and data collected. 

(1) Soil type. 

(2) Soil texture for each horizon (USDA classification). 

(3) Soil color for each horizon. 

(4) Depth from surface to mottling and bedrock if less 
than two feet. 

(5) Depth from surface to subsoil restrictive layer. 

(6) Indicated infiltration rate (surface soil). 

(7) Indicated permeability of subsoil restrictive layer. 

c. Additional soil testing in accordance with Table 5. 

d. Groundwater monitoring plans for the land treatment 
area including pertinent geohydrologic data to justify 
upgradient and downgradient well location and depth. 

9. Description of agricultural practices including a list of 
proposed crops to be grown, their respective anticipated 
yield, planting and harvesting schedules, proposed 
biosolids application rates on a field-by-field basis and 
how biosolids application will be integrated with these 
schedules. 

10. Pertinent calculations justifying storage and land area 
requirements for biosolids application including an annual 
biosolids balance incorporating such factors as 
precipitation, evapotransporation, soil percolation rates, 
wastewater loading, monthly storage (input and 
drawdown). 

9VAC25-32-680. Minimum site specific information 
required for a management practices plan. 

A. Site management plans. 

1. A comprehensive, general description of the operation 
shall be provided, including biosolids source(s), quantities, 
flow diagram illustrating treatment works biosolids flows 
and solids handling units, site description, methodology of 
biosolids handling for application periods, including 
storage and nonapplication period storage, and alternative 
management methods when storage is not provided. 

2. A nutrient management plan prepared by a person who 
is certified as a nutrient management planner by the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation shall be 
developed for all application sites prior to biosolids 
application. Copies of the nutrient management plan shall 
be provided to the farmer operator of the site, the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation regional office 
and the chief executive officer or designee for the local 
government, unless they request in writing not to receive 
the nutrient management plan. 

3. A nutrient management plan approved by the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation shall be 
required for application sites prior to board authorization 
under specific conditions, including but not limited to, sites 
operated by an owner or lessee of a confined animal 
feeding operation, as defined in subsection A of §62.1-
44.17.1 of the Code of Virginia, or confined poultry 
feeding operation, as defined in subsection A of §62.1-
44.17.1.1 of the Code of Virginia; sites where land 
application more frequently than once every three years at 
greater than 50% of the annual agronomic rate is proposed, 
and other sites based on site-specific conditions that 
increase the risk that land application may adversely 
impact state waters.  

4. All nutrient management plans shall account for all 
sources of nutrients to be applied to the site and include at 
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a minimum the following information: (i) a site map 
indicating the location of any waste storage facilities and 
the fields where biosolids or animal waste will be applied, 
(ii) site evaluation and assessment of soil types and 
potential productivities, (iii) nutrient management 
sampling including soil monitoring, (iv) biosolids or 
animal waste application rates based on the overall nutrient 
requirements of the proposed crop and soil monitoring 
results, and (v) biosolids and other nutrient source 
application schedules and land area requirements. 

B. Biosolids transport.  

1. Description and specifications on the bed or the tank 
vehicle.  

2. Haul routes to be used from the biosolids generator to 
the storage unit and land application sites.  

3. Procedures for biosolids offloading at the biosolids 
facilities and the land application site together with spill 
prevention, cleanup, (including vehicle cleaning), field 
reclamation and emergency spill notification and cleanup 
measures.  

4. Voucher system used for documentation and 
recordkeeping.  

C. Field operations.  

1. Storage.  

a. Routine storage - supernatant handling and disposal, 
biosolids handling, and loading of transport vehicles, 
equipment cleaning, freeboard maintenance, inspections 
for structural integrity.  

b. Emergency storage - procedures for department/board 
approval and implementation.  

c. Temporary or field storage - procedures to be followed 
including either designated site locations provided in the 
"Design Information" or the specific site criteria for such 
locations including the liner/cover requirements and the 
time limit assigned to such use.  

d. Field reclamation of offloading (staging) areas.  

2. Application methodology.  

a. Description and specifications on spreader vehicles.  

b. Procedures for calibrating equipment for various 
biosolids contents to ensure uniform distribution and 
appropriate loading rates on a day-to-day basis.  

c. Procedures used to ensure that operations address the 
following constraints: application of biosolids to frozen 
ground, pasture/hay fields, crops for direct human 
consumption and saturated or ice/snow covered ground; 
maintenance buffer zones, slopes, prohibited access for 
beef and dairy animals, soil pH requirements, and proper 

site specific biosolids loading rates on a field-by-field 
basis.  

TABLE A-1 

SLUDGE DISPOSAL SITE DEDICATION  

.........., a Virginia Corporation, does dedicate that tract or 
parcel of real estate situated, lying and being in.......... County, 
Virginia, more particularly described by deeded and plat of 
survey of record in Deed Book......, pages.....,.....,....., and....., 
of the Clerk's Office of the Circuit Court of.......... County, 
Virginia, and being the identical real estate that said 
corporation acquired by grant with General Warranty of Title 
and Modern English Covenants from........... Said dedication 
being to establish the aforesaid area for the disposal of 
sewage sludge only, and that said sludge disposal site will not 
be used for human habitation, grazing land for domestic 
animals or for agricultural purposes, and will not be 
accessible to the public. The full interest and control of the 
foresaid area dedicated shall remain with the........... and this 
instrument is solely for the purpose of assuring the 
Department of Health and the Water Control Board of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia as to the matters hereinabove set 
forth. WITNESS the following signatures and seal this.... day 
of..........., 19....  

BY:........... ATTEST:...........  

State of...........  

County of...........  

The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me 
this....... day of...., 19...., by........... of........... a........... 
corporation, on behalf of the corporation...........  

Notary Public  

My Commission Expires...........  

............  

For use of Clerk of Court  

This Sludge Disposal Site Dedication Document, as 
described above, was recorded in Deed Book..... page... on 
the..... day of....., 19....  

SIGNED:........... of the........... Circuit Clerks Office  

Article 5 

Certification of Land Applicators 

9VAC25-32-690. Certificate requirements for land 
applicators. 

A. No person shall land apply biosolids pursuant to a permit 
issued in accordance with this regulation unless an individual 
holding a valid certificate of competence as specified in this 
regulation (certified land applicator) is onsite at all times 
during such land application. Certified land applicators may 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 26, 2007 

782 

be considered to be onsite if they are at the site permitted for 
land application and, if it is necessary to leave the site, they 
are available within 30 minutes to return to the site to verify 
and ensure that land application of biosolids is in compliance 
with the issued permit. Certified land applicators shall 
possess the site-specific permit information necessary to 
conduct land application on the site in accordance with the 
issued permit and make available at the land application site 
proper identification, including their certificate number issued 
by the department. Monthly reports submitted in accordance 
with the requirements of 9VAC25-32-440 B shall bear the 
name and certificate number of the certified land applicators 
with an approved statement attesting that they were onsite at 
the times of the reported operations and that those operations 
were in compliance with the permit. The following parts of 
this regulation apply to any individual seeking a certificate of 
competence as required in §62.1-44.19:3.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

B. Certificates of competence shall be issued by the 
department to certified land applicators. The department may 
issue such certification based on specified areas of training, 
experience and level of knowledge as demonstrated through 
successful completion of examinations as acceptable to the 
department. 

9VAC25-32-700. Eligibility requirements. 

A. Certification may be obtained by satisfying all of the 
following requirements:  

1. Satisfactorily completing and submitting to the 
department an application in the form required by the 
department, including a statement of any felony 
convictions.  Such application shall be submitted to the 
department at least 30 days before the scheduled 
examination date set by the department.  The application 
shall request information relating to the person's education, 
work experience, knowledge of land application of 
biosolids and applicable regulations, and willingness to 
abide by the requirements of this regulation;  

2. Supplying proof of meeting one of the following:  

a. A copy of a transcript or similar documentation 
indicating completion of a high school or higher degree 
or equivalent education level with work experience in an 
agriculturally related area including farming and three 
months of practical experience related to land application 
of biosolids acceptable to the department,  

b. A combination of training acceptable to the 
department that may include soil science or nutrient 
management or farming practice related educational 
training and a minimum of six months of practical 
experience related to land application of biosolids, or  

c. Evidence of prior supervisory level experience with 
land application of biosolids of two or more years that is 
acceptable to the department; 

3. Obtaining a passing score on each part of the land 
applicators certification examination administered by the 
department; and  

4. Submitting the required certification fee by check or 
money order to the department.  

B. Certificates shall be valid upon notification by the 
department and for two years following each renewal from 
the established renewal date and will expire on the last day of 
the expiration month.  Certified land applicators or applicants 
shall notify the department of any change in mailing address 
within 30 days of such change in address.  

C. The department, upon review, may accept or approve 
land applicator certification programs of other states as 
satisfying partial requirements for certification. 

Individuals certified as land application operators in other 
states under certification or licensing programs acceptable to 
the department will be eligible for certification in Virginia by 
complying with all requirements of these regulations except 
for subdivision A 2 of this section.  These individuals may 
also substitute, for the requirements in this regulation, 
9VAC25-32-720, the attainment of a passing score on a 
Virginia specific examination component that shall include at 
a minimum the elements listed in 9VAC25-32-720 C 1 and C 
6.  

9VAC25-32-710. Fees. 

A. Fees shall be collected for certification and recertification 
to defray the administrative cost for the certification program.  

B. A fee may be charged to supply training materials and 
present education and training programs, including 
continuing education, which support the certification 
program.  

C. Fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated.  

D. The certification fee of $100 for the initial certification 
period shall be due with the application for certification. If an 
applicant is unsuccessful in achieving a passing score on the 
examination, the applicant is eligible to retake the 
examination at a scheduled time as offered by the 
department.  Applicants may retake the examination one time 
with no additional charge by resubmitting the application for 
certification.  Eligibility for any additional examinations 
beyond the initial retaking will require the submittal of an 
application and appropriate fees.  

E. The certificate of competence renewal fee is $100.  

F. All fees collected by the department shall be used 
exclusively for the operation of the Land Applicator Training 
and Certification Program.  
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9VAC25-32-720. Examination. 

A. The department may offer the land applicator 
certification examinations on request and will schedule an 
examination at least once per year. The examinations shall 
require a demonstration of the ability to ensure that biosolids 
will be land applied in compliance with the requirements of 
this regulation.  The department may limit the number of 
applicants taking the examination based upon available 
examination space.  

B. Applicants for a certificate of competence shall achieve a 
passing score on each part of the land applicator certification 
examination to become eligible for certification.  If applicants 
receive a passing score on any part of the examination they 
will only be retested on the remaining parts.  

C. The examinations for qualified applicants for a certificate 
of competence in accordance with this regulation shall 
address the elements listed below. 

1. General understanding of biosolids treatment processes 
and biosolids characteristics; 

2. Basic principles of soils, agriculture, and silviculture; 

3. Public health protection concepts;  

4. Land application concepts and site management and 
operations;  

5. Occupational safety and health protection concepts; and 

6. Land application training and certification regulatory 
requirements, and requirements of other land application 
related laws, regulations, and incentive programs. 

D. An individual who is unable to take an examination at the 
scheduled time shall notify the department at least five days 
prior to the date of the examination; such individual may 
reapply for an examination.  The department may consider 
accepting notice of less than five days due to individual 
hardship situations on a case-by-case basis.  Failure to notify 
the department may require the individual to submit a new 
application and payment of fees in accordance with 9VAC25-
32-710.  

E. The department shall establish acceptable passing scores 
for the examinations based on the department's determination 
of the level of examination performance required to show 
minimal acceptable competence.  

F. All applicants shall be notified of results in writing within 
60 days of the completion of the examinations. 

G. A certificate renewal date will be established and 
provided to the certified land applicator.  

9VAC25-32-730. Training. 

A. The department shall provide training sessions on the 
various topics essential to ensure that land application of 

biosolids complies with state and federal laws and regulations 
at least annually.  

B. The department may provide a training course on 
concepts supporting and relating to land application of 
biosolids that may include biosolids use regulation; basic soil 
and crop science; soil fertility; environmental management; 
and other relevant topics.  

9VAC25-32-740. Certificate renewal. 

A. The department may not renew a certificate if a 
proceeding to deny certification under 9VAC25-32-760 has 
begun, or if the department has found that the applicant 
violated any requirements of this regulation. A certificate is to 
be renewed every two years and may be renewed on or before 
the expiration of a certificate by complying with all of the 
following requirements: 

1. Submittal of a renewal application on the form the 
department requires; 

2. Payment of the renewal fee to the department; and 

3. Submittal of proof of satisfactory completion of at least 
four hours of continuing education course work within the 
past two years. The completed course work must be 
approved by the department as providing satisfactory 
training. Requests for pre-approval of continuing education 
courses should be received at least 60 days prior to the 
expected course date(s) and must include a detailed 
syllabus indicating time to be spent on each topic area 
covered. Continuing education course work must be in 
subject matter consistent with 9VAC25-32-720. 

B. Department personnel may attend continuing education 
sessions to verify that the requirements are met. Proof of 
attendance must be verified by the course provider. The 
department may accept continuing education units obtained in 
other states if such continuing education units are specifically 
for the purpose of recertification in the state land application 
operator certification program. 

9VAC25-32-750. Certificate expiration. 

A. Certificates issued under this regulation shall expire two 
years from the last day of the month in which they were 
issued, as indicated on the certificate, if any of the 
requirements of 9VAC25-32-740 are not met. 

B. Following the expiration of a certificate, reinstatement 
may be accomplished only by reapplication and compliance 
with all requirements of 9VAC25-32-700 A, including the 
examination requirements. 

C. It is the responsibility of the certified land applicators to 
accumulate the required continuing education requirements 
prior to expiration of the certificate of competence they hold. 
The department will attempt to notify the certified land 
applicators of any continuing education needs and other 
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requirements as necessary for certificate renewal 90 days or 
more prior to certificate expiration. 

9VAC25-32-760. Compliance with regulations and 
disciplinary action. 

A. If the department finds that a certified land applicator or 
an applicant for certification violated any applicable 
requirements of this regulation, including the procedural 
violations listed in subsection B of this section, the 
department may deny, suspend or revoke certification, 
following the informal fact-finding procedures of the 
Administrative Process Act (§2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

B. Certification procedural violations include: 

1. Providing misleading, false, or fraudulent information in 
applying for a certificate;  

2. Providing the department with any misleading, false, or 
fraudulent report;  

3. Failing to ensure that land application of biosolids 
complies with permit requirements in accordance with 
9VAC25-32-480 through 9VAC25-32-500 due to 
negligence of responsibilities by the certified land 
applicator;  

4. Failing to promptly and accurately record observed 
permit noncompliance or, failure to promptly notify the 
permittee of observed permit noncompliance or, preventing 
access to inspect any land application site or, failure to 
provide required field records upon request, in accordance 
with this regulation; and 

5. Conviction of a felony related in any way to the 
responsibilities of a certified land applicator.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection at the Department of Environmental Quality, 629 
East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, General 
Instructions, revised 10/95.  

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form A, 
All Applicants, revised 10/95.  

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form B, 
Animal Waste, revised 10/95.  

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form C, 
Industrial Waste, revised 10/95.  

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form D, 
Municipal Waste, revised 10/95. 

Application for a Biosolids Use Permit, 2007. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

Environmental Regulations and Technology-Control of 
Pathogens and Vector Attraction in Biosolids, EPA-625/R-
92/013, 1992, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 
Cincinnati, Ohio 45268. 

9VAC25-790-10. Definitions.  

Unless otherwise specified, for the purpose of this chapter 
the following words and terms shall have the following 
meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Area engineer" means the licensed professional engineer at 
the Department of Environmental Quality responsible for 
review and approval of construction plans and related 
materials who serves the area where a sewerage system or 
treatment works is located.  

"Biosolids" means a sewage sludge that has received an 
established treatment for required pathogen control and is 
treated or managed to reduce vector attraction to a 
satisfactory level and contains limited levels of pollutants, 
such that it is acceptable for use by land application, 
marketing or distribution in accordance with the Biosolids 
Use Regulations (12VAC5-585) of the Code of Virginia 
Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Regulation (9VAC25-
32) and the  Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31). 

"Biosolids use facility" means a type of treatment works that 
specifically treats or stores biosolids.  

"Board" means the Virginia State Water Control Board.  

"CTC" means a Certificate to Construct issued in 
accordance with the provisions of this chapter. This certificate 
will normally be in the form of a letter granting authorization 
for construction.  

"CTO" means a Certificate to Operate issued in accordance 
with the provisions of this chapter. This certificate will 
normally be in the form of a letter granting authorization for 
operation.  

"Critical areas/waters" means areas/waters in proximity to 
shellfish waters, a public water supply, recreation or other 
waters where health or water quality concerns are identified 
by the Virginia Department of Health or the State Water 
Control Board.  

"Conventional design" means the designs for unit operations 
(treatment system component) or specific equipment that has 
been in satisfactory operation for a period of one year or 
more, for which adequate operational information has been 
submitted to the department to verify that the unit operation 
or equipment is designed in substantial compliance with this 
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chapter. Equipment or processes not considered to be 
conventional may be deemed as alternative or 
nonconventional.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality or an authorized representative.  

"Discharge" means (when used without qualification) 
discharge of a pollutant.  

"Effluent limitations" means any restrictions imposed by the 
board on quantities, discharge rates, and concentrations of 
pollutants that are discharged from point sources into surface 
waters, the waters of the contiguous zone, or the ocean.  

"Exceptional quality biosolids" means biosolids that have 
received an established level of treatment for pathogen 
control and vector attraction reduction and contain known 
levels of pollutants, such that they may be marketed or 
distributed for public use in accordance with this chapter.  

"Indirect discharger" means a nondomestic discharger 
introducing pollutants to a POTW.  

"Industrial wastes" means liquid or other wastes resulting 
from any process of industry, manufacture, trade or business, 
or from the development of any natural resources.  

"Land application" means the distribution of treated 
wastewater of acceptable quality, referred to as effluent, or 
supernatant from biosolids use facilities or stabilized sewage 
sludge of acceptable quality, referred to as biosolids, upon, or 
insertion into, the land with a uniform application rate for the 
purpose of assimilation, utilization, or pollutant removal. 
Bulk disposal of stabilized sludge in a confined area, such as 
in landfills, is not land application.  

"Licensee" means an individual holding a valid license 
issued by the Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works 
Operators.  

"Licensed operator" means a licensee in the class of the 
treatment works who is an operator at the treatment works.  

"Local review" means a program for obtaining advance 
approval by the director of an owner's general local plans and 
specifications for future connections to, or extensions of, 
existing sewerage systems and of a plan for implementing 
them, in lieu of obtaining a CTC and CTO for each project 
within the scope of the plan.  

"Manual" and "Manual of Practice" means Part III 
(9VAC25-790-310 et seq.) of the Sewage Collection and 
Treatment Regulations.  

"Operate" means the act of making a decision on one's own 
volition (i) to place into or take out of service a unit process 
or unit processes or (ii) to make or cause adjustments in the 

operation of a unit process or unit processes at a treatment 
works.  

"Operating staff" means individuals employed or appointed 
by any owner to work at a treatment works. Included in this 
definition are licensees whether or not their license is 
appropriate for the classification and category of the 
treatment works.  

"Operator" means any individual employed or appointed by 
any owner, and who is designated by such owner to be the 
person in responsible charge, such as a supervisor, a shift 
operator, or a substitute in charge, and whose duties include 
testing or evaluation to control treatment works operations. 
Not included in this definition are superintendents or directors 
of public works, city engineers, or other municipal or 
industrial officials whose duties do not include the actual 
operation or direct supervision of a treatment works.  

"Owner" means the Commonwealth or any of its political 
subdivisions, including, but not limited to, sanitation district 
commissions and authorities, and any public or private 
institution, corporation, association, firm or company 
organized or existing under the laws of this or any other state 
or country, or any officer or agency of the United States, or 
any person or group of persons acting individually or as a 
group that owns, operates, charters, rents, or otherwise 
exercises control over or is responsible for any actual or 
potential discharge of sewage, industrial wastes, or other 
wastes to state waters, or any facility or operation that has the 
capability to alter the physical, chemical, or biological 
properties of state waters in contravention of §62.1-44.5 of 
the State Water Control Law.  

"Permit" in the context of this chapter means a CTC or a 
CTO. Permits issued under 9VAC25-31 or 9VAC25-32 will 
be identified respectively as VPDES permits or VPA permits.  

"Primary sludge" means sewage sludge removed from 
primary settling tanks designed in accordance with this 
chapter that is readily thickened by gravity thickeners 
designed in accordance with this chapter.  

"Point source" means any discernible, confined and discrete 
conveyance, including, but not limited to, any pipe, ditch, 
channel, tunnel, conduit, well, discrete fissure, container, 
rolling stock, concentrated animal feeding operation, landfill 
leachate collection system, vessel or other floating craft from 
which pollutants are or may be discharged. This term does 
not include return flows from irrigated agriculture or 
agricultural storm water runoff.  

"Pollutant" means dredged spoil, solid waste, incinerator 
residue, filter backwash, sewage, garbage, sewage sludge, 
munitions, chemical wastes, biological materials, radioactive 
materials (except those regulated under the Atomic Energy 
Act of 1954, as amended (42 USC 2011 et seq.)), heat, 
wrecked or discarded equipment, rock, sand, cellar dirt and 
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industrial, municipal, and agricultural waste discharged into 
the water. It does not mean:  

1. Sewage from vessels; or  

2. Water, gas, or other material that is injected into a well 
to facilitate production of oil or gas, or water derived in 
association with oil and gas production and disposed of in 
a well, if the well used either to facilitate production or for 
disposal purposes is approved by the board, and if the 
board determines that the injection or disposal will not 
result in the degradation of ground or surface water 
resources.  

"Pollution" means such alteration of the physical, chemical 
or biological properties of any state waters as will, or is likely 
to, create a nuisance or render such waters (i) harmful or 
detrimental or injurious to the public health, safety or welfare, 
or to the health of animals, fish or aquatic life; (ii) unsuitable 
with reasonable treatment for use as present or possible future 
sources of public water supply; or (iii) unsuitable for 
recreational, commercial, industrial, agricultural or for other 
reasonable uses; provided that: (a) an alteration of the 
physical, chemical or biological property of state waters, or 
either a discharge, or a deposit, of sewage, industrial wastes, 
or other wastes to state waters by any owner, which by itself 
is not sufficient to cause pollution, but which, in combination 
with such alteration of, or discharge, or deposit to state waters 
by other owners is sufficient to cause pollution; (b) the 
discharge of untreated sewage by any owner into state waters; 
and (c) contributing to the contravention of standards of water 
quality duly established by the State Water Control Board are 
"pollution" for the terms and purposes of this chapter.  

"Reliability" means a measure of the ability of a component 
or system to perform its designated function without failure 
or interruption of service.  

"Responsible charge" means designation by the owner of 
any individual to have the duty and authority to operate a 
treatment works.  

"Settled sewage" is effluent from a basin in which sewage is 
held or remains in quiescent conditions for 12 hours or more 
and the residual sewage sludge is not reintroduced to the 
effluent following the holding period. Sewage flows not in 
conformance with these conditions providing settled sewage 
shall be defined as nonsettled sewage.  

"Sewage" means the water-carried and nonwater-carried 
human excrement, kitchen, laundry, shower, bath or lavatory 
wastes, separately or together with such underground, 
surface, storm and other water and liquid industrial wastes as 
may be present from residences, buildings, vehicles, 
industrial establishments or other places.  

"Sewage sludge" or "sludge" means any solid, semisolid, or 
liquid residues which contain materials removed from 
municipal or domestic wastewater during treatment including 

primary and secondary residues. Other residuals or solid 
wastes consisting of materials collected and removed by 
sewage treatment, septage and portable toilet wastes are so 
included in this definition. Liquid sludge contains less than 
15% dry residue by weight. Dewatered sludge contains 15% 
or more dry residue by weight.  

"Sewerage system" or "sewage collection system" means a 
sewage collection system consisting of pipelines or conduits, 
pumping stations and force mains and all other construction, 
devices and appliances appurtenant thereto, used for the 
collection and conveyance of sewage to a treatment works or 
point of ultimate disposal.  

"Shall" or "will" means a mandatory requirement.  

"Should" means a recommendation.  

"Sludge management" means the treatment, handling, 
transportation, use, distribution or disposal of sewage sludge.  

"State waters" means all water, on the surface and under the 
ground, wholly or partially within, or bordering the state or 
within its jurisdiction.  

"Substantial compliance" means designs that do not exactly 
conform to the guidelines set forth in Part III as contained in 
documents submitted pursuant to this chapter but whose 
construction will not substantially affect health considerations 
or performance of the sewerage system or treatment works.  

"Subsurface disposal" means a sewerage system involving 
the controlled distribution of treated sewage effluent below 
the ground surface in a manner that may provide additional 
treatment and assimilation of the effluent within the soil so as 
not to create a point source discharge or result in pollution of 
surface waters.  

"Surface waters" means all state waters that are not ground 
water as defined in §62.1-255 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Toxic pollutant" means any pollutant listed as toxic under 
§307(a)(1) or, in the case of sludge use or disposal practices, 
any pollutant identified in regulations implementing §405(d) 
of the Clean Water Act.  

"Treatment works" means any device or system used in the 
storage, treatment, disposal or reclamation of sewage, sewage 
sludge or combinations of sewage and industrial wastes, 
including but not limited to pumping, power and other 
equipment and their appurtenances, septic tanks and any 
works, including land, that are or will be (i) an integral part of 
the treatment process or (ii) used for ultimate disposal of 
residues or effluents resulting from such treatment. Treatment 
works does not mean either biosolids use facilities or land 
application of biosolids on private land, as permitted under 
the Biosolids Use Regulations (12VAC5-585) Virginia 
Pollution Abatement Permit Regulation (9VAC25-32) and the 
Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit 
Regulation (9VAC25-31). 
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"Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) permit" means a 
document issued by the board, pursuant to 9VAC25-32, 
authorizing pollutant management activities under prescribed 
conditions.  

"Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 
Permit" means a document issued by the board, pursuant to 
9VAC25-31, authorizing, under prescribed conditions, the 
potential or actual discharge of pollutants from a point source 
to surface waters and the use or disposal of sewage sludge. 
Under the approved state program, a VPDES permit is 
equivalent to an NPDES permit.  

"Water quality standards" means the narrative statements for 
general requirements and numeric limits for specific 
requirements, that describe the water quality necessary to 
meet and maintain reasonable and beneficial uses.  

Such standards are established by the State Water Control 
Board under §62.l-44.15(3a) of the Code of Virginia as the 
State Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260).  

Article 2  

Procedures  

9VAC25-790-50. CTCs and CTOs.  

A. No owner shall cause or allow the construction, 
expansion or modification (change of 25% or more in 
capacity or performance capability or 20% for a biosolids use 
facility) of a sewerage system or treatment works except in 
compliance with a CTC from the director unless as otherwise 
provided for by this chapter and standards contained in this 
chapter. Furthermore, no owner shall cause or allow any 
sewerage systems or treatment works to be operated except in 
compliance with a CTO issued by the director which 
authorizes the operation of the sewerage systems or treatment 
works including biosolids use facilities unless otherwise 
provided for by this chapter and standards contained in this 
chapter. Conditions may be imposed on the issuance of any 
CTC or CTO, and no sewerage systems or treatment works 
may be constructed, modified, or operated in violation of 
these conditions.  

B. Discharges of 1,000 gpd or less. On-site (located within 
owners property) residential sewage treatment works having a 
design capacity of 1,000 gallons per day or less may not be 
governed by this chapter and standards contained in this 
chapter if the performance reliability of such technology has 
been established by an approved testing program (9VAC25-
790-210). These treatment works are regulated by other 
applicable regulations of the board (9VAC25-110) and of the 
Virginia Department of Health (12VAC5-610 and 12VAC5-
640). Owners of such treatment works shall make application 
in accordance with and obtain the necessary permits from the 
board or the Virginia Department of Health as appropriate via 
the application procedures established for such treatment 
works.  

9VAC25-790-60. CTC and CTO waivers.  

A. Small sewerage systems and treatment works. As 
described in this section, the requirement to formally obtain a 
CTC and a CTO through the provisions of this chapter and 
standards contained in this chapter is waived for sewerage 
systems having a design capacity of 40,000 gallons per day or 
less and serving or capable of serving a population of 400 
persons or less and consisting entirely of gravity flow sewers.  

B. Other waivers. A waiver for formal CTC and CTO 
issuance may also be granted for:  

1. Construction of gravity flow sewers of 12-inch diameter 
design size or less;  

2. Installations consisting of a single sewage pumping 
station having a design pumping capacity of 25 gallons per 
minute or less and handling a total daily volume of 2000 
gallons or less;  

3. Land application sites meeting the operational 
restrictions specified in the Virginia Department of Health 
Biosolids Use Regulations (12VAC5-585-130 Virginia 
Pollution Abatement Permit Regulation (9VAC25-32) and 
the Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination Permit 
Regulation (9VAC25-31); or 

4. Sites utilized entirely for research projects in accordance 
with this chapter, such as pilot plant studies. 

C. Larger sewerage systems and treatment works. In order to 
qualify for a CTC and CTO waiver for collection systems 
serving more than 400 persons, the permittee or owner must 
file with the area engineer an application (see Part IV 
(9VAC25-790-940 et seq.) of this chapter) or a letter of intent 
to construct and operate such a system as described above. 
The letter shall be filed at least 30 days prior to the time that 
granting of such a waiver would be required to initiate 
construction. The letter shall contain a brief description of the 
proposed sewerage system, or land application, applicable 
maintenance provisions, the area to be served, the location of 
the proposed sewerage system, treatment works, or land 
application and the point of discharge or entry to the 
downstream sewerage system or treatment works if 
applicable. If the owner of the sewerage system or treatment 
works is not the applicant, the applicant shall demonstrate 
that the downstream owner will accept the design flow for 
connection to the downstream sewerage system or treatment 
works. A written statement that the additional sewage being 
discharged into the downstream system will be accepted may 
be required. If after review of the application or letter, a 
determination is made by the director that it is not in the best 
interest of public health and welfare to waive the permit 
requirements of this chapter and standards contained in this 
chapter, the owner will be so notified and will be required to 
obtain the applicable CTC and CTO. The requirements of this 
subsection are not applicable if the owner has a local review 
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program pursuant to this chapter and standards contained in 
this chapter.  

D. The director may revoke a waiver granted under this 
section in his sole discretion if he determines that the public 
health and welfare would be better served by issuance of a 
CTC and a CTO.  

9VAC25-790-120. Construction drawings (plans).  

A. Construction drawings (plans) for sewerage systems or 
treatment works improvements for which a technical 
evaluation is required shall provide the information necessary 
to determine that the owner's final plans, specifications, and 
other documents satisfy (i) requirements established by these 
regulations and engineering standards of practice; and (ii) the 
minimum requirements and limiting factors established in the 
owner's approved preliminary engineering proposal. The final 
plans should include:  

B. Final engineering documents. Drawings, plans, 
specifications and other engineering documents that are 
submitted to the area engineer for a technical evaluation shall 
be in substantial compliance with this chapter prior to 
issuance of a CTC by the director. Engineering documents 
may be submitted by the owner to the area engineer following 
the preliminary engineering conference, or following a 
technical evaluation of the preliminary engineering proposal 
if required. Up to four copies shall be submitted to the area 
engineer for non-Virginia Revolving Loan Fund funded 
projects and up to five copies shall be submitted for projects 
financed through the Virginia Revolving Loan Fund. The 
original of the letter of submittal with appropriate signature(s) 
shall accompany the engineering documents. The letter of 
submittal should identify any necessary actions to be taken by 
the area engineer to expedite evaluation of the submitted 
documents.  

All drawings, specifications, engineer's reports and other 
documents submitted for evaluation shall be prepared by or 
under the supervision of appropriately licensed professionals, 
legally qualified to practice in Virginia, in accordance with 
the provisions of §§54.1-400 to 54.1-411 of the Code of 
Virginia inclusive.  

All submitted plans for sewerage systems or treatment 
works shall bear a suitable title showing the name of the 
municipality, sewer district, institution or other owner and 
shall show the scale in feet, a graphical scale, the north point, 
date and the name of the appropriate licensed professional. 
Also, each plan sheet shall bear the same general title 
identifying the overall project, and each shall be numbered. 
Appropriate subtitles shall be included on the individual 
sheets. The plans shall be clear and legible. They shall be 
drawn to a scale that will permit all necessary information to 
be plainly shown. The size of the plans should be no larger 
than 36 inches by 48 inches. The datum used should be 
indicated. Locations of all special features, when made, shall 

be shown on the plans. Logs of test borings should be given 
either on plans or in the specifications. Detail plans shall 
consist of plan views, elevations, sections, and supplementary 
views which, together with the specifications and general 
layouts, provide the working information for the contract and 
construction of the works. The plans shall include dimensions 
and relative elevations of structures, the location and outline 
form of equipment, location and size of piping, water levels, 
ground elevations, and erosion control abatement facilities. 
Data shall be provided for proposed additions of flow to 
existing sewerage systems indicating that the additional 
sewage flow from the proposed project will have no adverse 
impact on the operation of downstream facilities.  

C. Sewerage systems. Plans submitted for new construction 
or substantial modification (increasing flow capacity by more 
than 25%) of sewage collection piping shall include the 
following: the location, size, type and direction of flow of all 
existing and proposed sanitary sewers involved in the project.  

1. Detailed plans when submitted for evaluation shall 
provide complete and properly scaled graphical depictions 
of design information. Profiles shall have a horizontal scale 
of not more than 100 feet to the inch and a vertical scale of 
not more than 10 feet to the inch. The plan view shall be 
drawn to a corresponding horizontal scale. Plans and 
profiles shall show:  

a. Location of streets and sewers with an identification 
system.  

b. Ground surface elevations and manhole stationing.  

c. Invert elevations of sewers at each manhole.  

d. Size and grade of sewer between adjacent manholes.  

e. Any special construction features.  

2. All manholes shall be labeled in an established manner 
on the plan and correspondingly labeled on the profile. If a 
community does not allow the connection of basement 
drains to the sewer, this may be stated on the plans as a 
basis for exemption, and the plans need not show the 
elevations and locations of basement floors. Where there is 
any question of the sewer being sufficiently deep to serve 
any residence, the elevation and location of the basement 
floor shall be plotted on the profile of the sewer which is to 
serve the house in question. The engineer shall state that all 
sewers are sufficiently deep to serve adjacent basements 
except where otherwise noted on the plans.  

3. Sewerage system plans shall identify locations of all 
special features such as inverted siphons, concrete 
encasement, elevated sewers, all known existing structures 
both above and below ground that might interfere with the 
proposed construction, particularly water mains, gas mains, 
storm drains, etc.  
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4. Special detail drawings, made to a scale to clearly show 
the nature of the design, shall be furnished to show the 
following particulars:  

a. All stream crossings and sewer outlets, with elevations 
of the streambed and normal and design flow water 
levels.  

b. Details of all sewer joints and cross sections requiring 
special construction such as concrete encasement.  

c. Details of all sewer appurtenances such as manholes, 
inspection chambers, inverted siphons, regulators, tide 
gates and elevated sewers.  

D. Sewage pumping stations. Plans submitted for technical 
evaluation involving new construction or substantial 
modification (increasing flow capacity by more than 25%) of 
pumping stations shall address the following design 
information: (i) the location and extent of the tributary area; 
(ii) the location of municipal boundaries within the tributary 
area; and (iii) the location of the pumping station and force 
main and pertinent elevations.  

1. For new construction the forms of land use (commercial, 
residential, and agricultural) and access control proposed 
for the near future over a 100-foot radius from the pumping 
station structure shall be indicated. Existing buildings and 
their types within 100 feet of the pumping station shall be 
indicated. Submission of detailed plans would not be 
required for upgraded pump stations that are issued, or 
included in, a final operating permit.  

2. Detailed plans submitted for evaluation shall provide the 
following design information where applicable:  

a. A contour map of the property to be used.  

b. Proposed pumping station equipment layout and 
capacities including provisions for installation of future 
pumps or ejectors. Proper references to the specifications 
should be included.  

c. Elevations of operating levels of sewage contained in 
the wet well at the site and the estimated locations of raw 
sewage overflows in the collection system upon occasion 
of pump failure resulting in high water levels in the wet 
well.  

d. Test borings and ground water elevations, if taken.  

e. Plan and elevation views of the pump suction (from 
the wet well) and discharge piping showing all isolation 
valves and gates.  

E. Treatment works. Plans submitted for technical 
evaluation of projects involving new construction or 
substantial modifications (increasing flow capacity by more 
than 25%) of treatment works shall identify the treatment 
works relative to the remainder of the system. For new 
construction, the plan shall include sufficient topographic 

features to indicate its location relative to streams and the 
point of discharge of treated effluent. Also the forms of land 
use (commercial, residential, and agricultural, existing or 
proposed) and access controls for the near future over a 700-
foot radius from the proposed treatment works structures 
must be indicated. Existing buildings and their type of use 
within 700 feet of the new treatment works site shall be 
adequately described, e.g., by means of topographic maps, 
aerial photos, drawings, etc.  

1. For technical evaluation, the proposed treatment works 
design submittal shall include the following as specified:  

a. Topography and other characteristics of the site as 
specified:  

b. Size and location of treatment works structures.  

c. Schematic flow diagram showing the flow through 
various treatment works unit operations.  

d. Piping, including any arrangements for bypassing 
individual unit operations. Materials handled and 
direction of flow through channels, pipes and unit 
operations shall be shown, including arrangements for 
independent operation.  

e. Hydraulic flow profiles showing the average relative 
surface elevations of mainstream and sidestream flows of 
sewage, supernatant and sludge as influent, effluent and 
flow within the channels, piping, pumps and basins that 
comprise the treatment works.  

f. Soil characteristics including hydraulic conductivity 
established by soil tests and test borings and hydrologic 
factors, such as ground water elevations, that can affect 
the treatment of disposal capacity.  

2. For technical evaluation, detailed plans shall include the 
following:  

a. Location, dimensions and elevations of all existing and 
proposed treatment works unit operations solids handling 
facilities and equipment.  

b. Elevations of high water levels affecting the treatment 
works design and to which the treatment works effluent 
is to be discharged or absorbed.  

c. Pertinent data concerning the rated capacity of all 
pumps, blowers, motors and other mechanical devices. 
All or part of such data may be included in the 
specifications by suitable reference on the plans.  

d. Average and maximum elevations for the hydraulic 
flow profile within the unit operations.  

e. Adequate description of any features not otherwise 
covered by specifications or engineer's report.  

3. Facility closure plans shall address the following 
information as a minimum:  
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a. Residual wastewater and solids treatment, removal and 
final disposition.  

b. Removal of structures, equipment, piping and 
appurtenances.  

c. Site grading and erosion and sediment control.  

d. Restoration of site vegetation and access control.  

e. Proposed land use (post-closure) of site.  

F. Plans submitted for technical evaluation of biosolids use 
facilities, including substantial modifications (new location of 
storage on site, or increasing design capacity by more than 
20%) from that previously approved shall identify the 
proposed locations, management practices, biosolids sources, 
treatment and quality information as required. For new 
construction, the plan shall include sufficient topographic 
features to indicate its location relative to streams and other 
land use facilities, as required. The forms of land use 
(commercial, residential, and agricultural existing or 
proposed) buffer zones and access controls, for the near 
future, surrounding the proposed biosolids use facilities must 
be indicated. Existing buildings and their type of use within 
200 feet of the new site shall be adequately described (e.g., by 
means of topographic maps, aerial photos, drawings, etc.).  

Facility closure plans shall address the following 
information as a minimum:  

1. Residual wastewater and sludge treatment, removal and 
final disposition.  

2. Removal of structures, equipment, piping and 
appurtenances.  

3. Site grading and erosion and sediment control.  

4. Restoration of site vegetation and access control.  

5. Proposed land use (postclosure) of site.  

F.G. Approval. The area engineer will approve or 
disapprove the construction drawings and notify the owner in 
accordance with 9VAC25-790-80 C.  

9VAC25-790-130. Specifications.  

A. Content. Complete technical specifications for the 
construction of sewers, sewage pumping stations, treatment 
works, biosolids use facilities including subsurface disposal 
pre-treatment and all appurtenances, shall accompany the 
plans submitted for technical evaluation.  

The specifications accompanying construction drawings 
shall include, but not be limited to, all construction 
information not shown on the drawings which is necessary to 
inform the contractor in detail of the design requirement as to 
the quality of materials and workmanship and fabrication of 
the project and the type, size, strength, operating 
characteristics and rating of equipment, including machinery, 
pumps, valves, piping, and jointing of pipe, electrical 

apparatus, wiring and meters; laboratory fixtures and 
equipment; operating tools, construction materials, special 
filter materials such as stone, sand, gravel or slag; 
miscellaneous appurtenances; chemicals when used; 
instructions of testing materials and equipment as necessary 
to meet design requirements and standards of practice; and 
operating tests for the completed works and component units.  

B. Submittal. Specifications shall be submitted to the area 
engineer in the number and distribution specified in this 
chapter. One copy of the submitted documents shall bear on 
an initial page the original seal imprint and signature of the 
appropriately registered professional who prepared the 
specifications or under whose direct supervision the 
specifications were prepared for electronic submission of 
documents. For electronic submittal of documents, a 
transmittal letter shall bear the original seal and signature. 
Submission of specifications for gravity systems to the area 
engineer will not be required for those municipalities or 
privately owned sewerage systems that are either approved to 
participate in the local review program or have received 
department approval of local standards for design and 
construction. Local review participation requirements are 
described in 9VAC25-790-230.  

C. Approval. The area engineer will approve or disapprove 
the specifications and notify the owner in accordance with 
9VAC25-790-80 C.  

9VAC25-790-150. Sludge management plans.  

A. Evaluation. The general purpose of the plan is to 
facilitate a determination by the department that the 
management plan developed by the owner in accordance with 
the department administered VPDES or VPA permit program 
(9VAC25-31 and 9VAC25-32) presents the necessary 
technical guidance and regulatory requirements to facilitate 
the proper management of sewage sludge, including use of 
biosolids, for both normal conditions and generally 
anticipated adverse conditions. The evaluation by the 
department may address methods of controlling and 
monitoring the quality of sludge by the owner and the means 
of use or disposal of that sludge by the owner or his agent.  

Three types of biosolids storage may be integrated into a 
complete sludge management plan in accordance with the 
Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Regulation (9VAC25-
32) including (i) "emergency storage" involving immediate 
implementation of storage for any sludge that becomes 
necessary due to unforeseen circumstances, (ii) "temporary 
storage" involving the provision of storage of stabilized 
sludges at the land application site that becomes necessary 
due to unforeseen climatic events that preclude land 
application of biosolids in the day that it is transported from 
the generator, and (iii) "routine storage" involving the storage 
of biosolids as necessary for all nonapplication periods of the 
year.  The requirements for the design of biosolids storage 
facilities are located in 9VAC25-32. 
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B. Approval. The department will approve or disapprove the 
manual and notify the owner in accordance with 9VAC25-
790-80 C.  

9VAC25-790-180. CTC.  

A. Issuance. Upon approval of the proposed design by the 
area engineer, including any submitted plans and 
specifications, if required, the director will issue a CTC to the 
owner within 15 days of such approval to construct or modify 
his sewerage systems or treatment works in accordance with 
the approved design and submitted plans and specifications.  

B. Revisions. Any deviations from the approved design or 
the submitted plans and specifications significantly (25% or 
more variation from original for sewerage systems or 
treatment works and 20% or more for biosolids use facilities) 
affecting hydraulic conditions (flow profile), unit operations 
capacity, the functioning of the sewage treatment process, or 
the quality of treated effluent discharged, must be approved 
by the area engineer before any such changes are made. 
Revised plans and specifications shall be submitted in time to 
allow 30 days for the review, evaluation and approval of such 
plans or specifications before any construction work that will 
be affected by such changes is begun, unless the owner has 
received approval to proceed from the department prior to 
either a formal submittal of revisions, or the department 
approval of submitted revisions.  

C. Completion of construction. A statement shall be 
submitted by the owner assuring completion of construction 
and an inspection of the constructed system works will be 
scheduled in accordance with the provisions of this chapter.  

1. Upon completion of the construction or modification of 
the sewerage systems or treatment works, the owner shall 
submit to the area engineer a statement signed by a 
licensed professional engineer stating that the construction 
work was completed in accordance with the approved 
plans and specifications, or revised only in accordance 
with the provisions of subsection B of this section. This 
statement is called a Statement of Completion of 
Construction and shall be based upon inspections of the 
sewerage systems or treatment works during and after 
construction or modifications that are adequate to ensure 
the truth of the statement.  

2. The owner shall contact the area engineer and request 
that a final inspection of the completed construction be 
made so that either a conditional, or a final, CTO can be 
issued. Within 30 days after placing a new or modified 
sewerage systems or treatment works into operation, the 
effluent produced should be sampled and tested in a 
manner sufficient to demonstrate compliance with 
approved specifications and permit requirements. The area 
engineer shall be notified of the time and place of the tests 
and the results of the tests shall be sent to the area engineer 
for evaluation as part of the final CTO.  

3. A closure plan should be submitted with or prior to the 
statement of completion of construction in accordance with 
this chapter.  

9VAC25-790-200. CTO modifications or revocation 
actions.  

A. Amendment or reissuance. The director may amend or 
reissue a CTO where there is a change in the manner of the 
collection, the treatment, or the source of sewage or sewage 
sludge at the permitted location, or for any other cause 
incident to the protection of the public health and welfare, 
provided notice is given to the owner, and, if one is required, 
a hearing held in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act.  

B. Revocation or suspension. The director may suspend or 
revoke a CTO in accordance with the Administrative Process 
Act for the following reasons:  

1. Failure to comply with the conditions of the CTO.  

2. Violation of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia or of any 
of this chapter from which no variance or waiver has been 
granted.  

3. Change in ownership.  

4. Abandonment of the sewerage systems or treatment 
works.  

5. Any of the grounds specified in §62.1-44.2 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

9VAC25-790-240. Compliance with Part III (9VAC25-
790-310 et seq.--Manual of Practice) of this chapter.  

A. The design guidelines set forth in Part III (9VAC25-790-
310 et seq.) of this chapter specify general criteria and 
minimum standards for the design and construction of 
sewerage systems and treatment works and are not intended 
to be used as a substitute for engineering experience and 
judgment used in accordance with standards of practice.  

B. Additional standards. The director may impose standards 
and requirements which are more stringent than those 
contained in Part III of this chapter when required for critical 
areas or special conditions. Any such special standards and 
requirements including those associated with a State 
Revolving Loan program shall take precedence over the 
criteria in Part III of this chapter and will be items that 
warrant careful consideration at the preliminary engineering 
conference referenced in this chapter. Designs submitted for 
sewerage systems or treatment works must demonstrate that 
the system or works will adequately safeguard public health 
and welfare and will comply with the CTO and VPDES or 
VPA permit requirements, as appropriate.  

C. Substantial compliance. Submissions that are in 
substantial compliance with Part III (9VAC25-790-310 et 
seq.) of this chapter or additional requirements of the 
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department as noted above will be approved. Justification for 
a design may be required for those portions of the submitted 
design which differ from these criteria. The design engineer 
shall identify and justify noncompliance with specific design 
standards or "shall" criteria that the department identifies, or 
that the design engineer, in his judgment, believes to be 
substantial in nature. The department may request changes in 
designs that are not in substantial compliance with Part III of 
this chapter and that are not adequately justified by the 
engineer/owner.  

D. Exceptions. Compliance with Part III of this chapter will 
not be required for sewerage systems or treatment works that 
have received the approval of the Virginia Department of 
Health and the board and on which modifications and 
construction have been commenced prior to February 27, 
2002, or January 1, 2008, for biosolids use facilities. 
Construction or modification of sewerage systems or 
treatment works is deemed to be commenced for purposes of 
this chapter upon receipt of complete final engineering 
documents by the area engineer. The fact that significant 
work was accomplished on a specific project prior to adoption 
of this chapter and standards contained in this chapter shall be 
a consideration when evaluating applications.  

9VAC25-790-540. Sludge stabilization.  

The selection and operation of the sludge treatment or 
stabilization process shall be based on the ultimate utilization 
of the final sludge product. Land based management of 
treated sewage sludge may require the production of biosolids 
as described in the Biosolids Use Regulations (12VAC5-585) 
Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Regulation (9VAC25-
32) or Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31). The design requirements 
for the treatment and stabilization processes described in this 
chapter are based on the assumption that they must 
accomplish the necessary processing of sewage sludge at the 
treatment works. Consideration will be given to reducing 
design requirements, on a case-by-case basis, for treatment 
works employing series operation of two or more stabilization 
processes or methods in accordance with the means of sludge 
management.  The standard buffer distance of 200 feet shall 
be provided between the walls of open and exposed sludge 
treatment operations and the boundaries of the site area in 
which either controlled use or access restrictions apply. 

9VAC25-790-550. Anaerobic digestion.  

A. The design of anaerobic digesters should provide an 
optimum environment for effective microbial degradation of 
the organic matter in sewage sludge. The digester system 
design shall address separation and removal of liquid or 
supernatant. The production of methane gas (CH4) should be 
optimized. Digester gas should be utilized as a fuel whenever 
practical. 

B. Design. A minimum of two anaerobic digesters, or 
enclosed reactors, shall be provided, so that each digester may 
be used as a first stage or primary reactor for treating primary 
and secondary sludge flows generated at a treatment works 
with a design flow exceeding 0.5 mgd.  Additional digesters 
are provided to treat the total flow of primary and secondary 
sludge generated at treatment works with sewage design 
flows exceeding one MGD. 

1. Where multiple digesters are not provided, a storage 
facility or adequate available sludge processing system 
shall be provided for emergency use so that the digester 
may be taken out of service without unduly interrupting 
treatment works operation. 

2. Each digester should have the means for transferring a 
portion of its contents to other digesters. Multiple digester 
facilities should have means of returning supernatant from 
the settling digester unit to appropriate points for 
treatment. 

3. Provisions for side-stream treatment of supernatant shall 
be included when the supernatant load is not included in 
the treatment works design.  

4. Multiple sludge inlets and draw-offs and multiple 
recirculation section and discharge points (minimum of 
three) to facilitate flexible operation and effective mixing 
of the digester contents to optimize treatment for pathogen 
control and vector attraction reduction shall be provided. 
One inlet shall discharge above the liquid level and be 
located at approximately the center of the digester to assist 
in scum breakup. Raw sludge inlets should be so located as 
to minimize short circuiting between the inlets and either 
the supernatant draw-off, or sludge withdrawal points.  

5. The proportion of depth to diameter should provide for a 
minimum of six feet storage depth for supernatant liquor, 
or the proportion of total volume allocated for supernatant 
should be 10% or more.  

6. The digester bottom shall slope to drain toward the 
withdrawal pipe. At least one access manholes shall be 
provided in the top of the digester in addition to the gas 
dome. One opening shall be large enough to permit the use 
of mechanical equipment to remove grit and sand. A 
separate side wall manhole shall be provided at the basin 
floor level.  

a. To facilitate emptying, cleaning, and maintenance, the 
digester design shall provide for access and safety 
features.  

b. In accordance with VOSH requirements and these 
regulations, the operation and maintenance manual 
should specify: nonsparking tools, rubber soled shoes, 
safety harness, gas detectors for inflammable and toxic 
gases, and at least one self contained breathing apparatus.  
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C. Loadings. Where the composition of the sewage has been 
established, digester capacity shall be computed from the 
volume and character of sludge to be digested. The total 
digestion volume shall be determined by rational calculations 
based upon such factors as volume of sludge added, its 
percent solids and character, the temperature to be maintained 
in the digesters, the degree or extent of mixing to be obtained, 
expected formation of inactive deposits, and the size of the 
installation with appropriate allowance for sludge and 
supernatant storage. These detailed calculations shall be 
submitted to justify the basis of design.  

1. The design average detention time for sludge 
undergoing digestion for stabilization shall be a minimum 
of 15 days within the primary digester, but longer periods 
may be required to achieve the levels of pathogen control 
and vector attraction reduction necessary for the method 
used for sludge management.  

2. The digester shall be capable of maintaining a minimum 
average sludge digestion temperature of 35°C (95°F) with 
the capability of maintaining temperature control within a 
4°(+/-)C range.  

3. If unheated digesters are utilized, they shall have the 
capacity to provide a minimum detention time of 60 days 
within the digestion volume in which sludge is maintained 
at a temperature of at least 20°C (68°F).  

4. For digestion systems where mixing is accomplished 
only by circulating sludge through an external heat 
exchanger, the system shall be loaded at less than 40 
pounds of volatile solids per 1,000 cubic feet of volume 
per day or at a volumetric rate that provides not less than a 
30 day detention time in the active digestion volume. The 
design volatile solids loading should be established in 
accordance with the degree of mixing provided.  

5. Where mixing is accomplished by other methods, 
loading rates shall be determined on the basis of 
information furnished by the design consultant.  

D. Completely mixed systems. For digesters providing for 
intimate and effective mixing of the digestion volume 
contents, the systems shall be designed for an average feed 
loading rate of less than 200 pounds of volatile solids per 
1,000 cubic feet of volume per day or at a volumetric loading 
that provides 15 days or more detention time in the active 
digestion volume.  

1. Confined mixing systems include (i) arrangements 
where gas or sludge flows are directed through vertical 
channels; and (ii) mechanical stirring, or pumping systems. 
Both confined mixing and unconfined continuously 
discharging gas mixing systems shall be designed to ensure 
complete turnover of digestion volume every 30 minutes. 
For tanks over 60 feet in diameter, multiple mixing devices 
shall be used.  

2. Unconfined, sequentially discharging gas mixing 
systems shall be designed using the number of discharge 
points and gas flow rates shown for the various tank 
diameters as listed in this section, unless sufficient 
operating data is submitted and approved to verify the 
performance reliability of a alternative designs.  

3. Gas discharge lines (lances) mounted on a floating cover 
or top designed to accumulate gas emissions shall extend 
to the base of the vertical side wall while the cover is 
resting on its landing brackets. For floor mounted diffuser 
boxes or lances mounted to a fixed cover, gas discharge 
shall extend to the base of the vertical side wall.  

 

 
DESIGN CRITERIA FOR MULTIPLE DISCHARGE MIXING SYSTEMS, SEQUENTIAL DISCHARGE  

Maximum Diameter (Ft.) 

Tank Diameter 20-30 31-40 41-50 51-60 61-70 71-80 81-90 91-100 101-
110 

Minimum Number of Points) 

Discharge Points 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 

Minimum Gas Flow 

Gas Flow (CFM) 95 95 95 150 150 150 200 250 300 

 

4. The minimum gas flow supplied for complete mixing 
shall be 15 cubic feet/min./1000 cubic feet of digestion 
volume. Flow measuring devices and throttling valves shall 
be used to provide the minimum gas flow.  

5. The design power supplied for mechanical stirring or 
pumping type complete mixing systems shall be capable of 
achieving a minimum of 0.5 horsepower per 1,000 cubic 
feet of digestion volume.  
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6. Where low speed mechanical mixing devices are 
specified, more than one device shall be provided unless 
other mixing devices are also provided.  

E. Gas collection. All portions of the gas system, including 
the space above the liquid surface in the digester, storage 
facilities and piping shall be so designed that under all normal 
operating conditions, including sludge withdrawal, the gas 
will be maintained under positive pressure.  

1. All enclosed areas where any gas leakage might occur 
shall be adequately ventilated.  

2. All necessary safety facilities should be included where 
gas is produced in accordance with VOSH requirements.  

3. Pressure and vacuum relief valves and flame traps, 
together with automatic safety shut-off valves, may be 
provided.  

4. Water seal equipment shall not be installed on gas 
piping.  

5. Gas piping shall be of adequate diameter to provide a 
velocity less than 12 feet per second at a flow of two times 
the average rate and shall slope to condensation or drip 
traps at low points.  

6. The use of float controlled condensate traps is not 
permitted. Condensation traps shall be placed in accessible 
locations for daily servicing and draining.  

7. Electrical fixtures and equipment located in enclosed 
places where gas may accumulate will be evaluated in 
accordance with the National Board of Fire Underwriters' 
specifications for hazardous conditions and other 
applicable codes and regulations.  

8. The electrical equipment provided in sludge-digester 
pipe galleries containing gas piping should be designed and 
installed to eliminate potential explosive conditions. The 
design of electrical equipment located in any location 
where gas or digested sludge leakage is possible will be 
evaluated in accordance with applicable codes and 
regulations.  

9. Waste gas burners shall be readily accessible and should 
be located at least 50 feet away from any structure, if 
placed at ground level. Gas burners may be located on the 
roof of the control building if sufficiently removed from 
the digester and gas storage tank and will comply with all 
applicable state and federal air pollution control 
requirements. Waste gas burners shall not be located on top 
of the digester or gas storage tank.  

10. In remote locations it may be permissible to discharge 
small quantities of digester gas (less than 100 CFH) to the 
atmosphere through a return bend screened vent 
terminating at least 10 feet above the walking surface, 
provided the assembly incorporates a flame trap and is in 

compliance with all applicable state and federal 
regulations.  

11. A gas meter with bypass shall be provided to meter 
total gas production. Gas piping lines for anaerobic 
digesters shall be equipped with closed type indicating 
gauges. These gauges shall read directly in inches of water. 
Normally, three gauges will be provided: (i) one to 
measure the main line pressure; (ii) a second to measure 
the pressure to gas-utilization equipment; and (iii) the third 
to measure pressure to waste burners. Gas tight shut-off 
and vent cocks shall be provided. The vent piping shall be 
extended outside the building, and the opening shall be 
screened and arranged to prevent the entrance of rainwater. 
All piping of the manometer system shall be protected with 
safety equipment.  

12. Any underground enclosures connecting with 
anaerobic digester tanks or containing sludge or gas piping 
or equipment shall be provided with forced ventilation in 
accordance with VOSH requirements and this chapter and 
standards contained in this chapter. Tightly fitting, self 
closing doors shall be provided at connecting passageways 
and tunnels to minimize the spread of gas.  

F. Energy control. If practical, digesters should be 
constructed above the water table and should be suitably 
insulated to minimize heat loss. The use of digester gas as a 
heating fuel source is encouraged.  

1. Sludge shall be heated by circulating the sludge through 
external heaters unless effective mixing is provided. Piping 
shall be designed to provide for the preheating of feed 
sludge before introduction to the digesters. Provisions shall 
be made in the layout of the piping and valving to facilitate 
cleaning of these lines. Heat exchanger sludge piping shall 
be sized for design heat transfer requirements.  

2. Sufficient heating capacity shall be provided to maintain 
consistently the design temperature required for sludge 
stabilization. For emergency usage, an alternate source of 
fuel shall be available and the boiler or other heat source 
shall be capable of using the alternate fuel.  

3. The heating system design shall provide for all controls 
necessary to ensure effective and safe operation. Facilities 
for optimizing mixing of the digester contents for effective 
heating shall be provided.  

4. Sludge heating devices with open flames should be 
located above grade in areas separate from locations of gas 
production or storage.  

G. Supernatant handling. Supernatant withdrawal piping 
shall not be less than six inches in diameter, and piping shall 
be arranged so that withdrawal can be made from three or 
more levels in the tank. A positive, unvalved, vented 
overflow shall be provided.  
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1. On fixed cover digesters the supernatant withdrawal 
level should preferably be selected by means of 
interchangeable extensions at the discharge end of the 
piping.  

2. If a supernatant selector is provided, provision shall be 
made for at least two other draw-off levels located in the 
supernatant zone of the digester in addition to the unvalved 
emergency supernatant draw-off pipe. High pressure 
backwash facilities shall be provided.  

3. Provisions shall be made for sampling at each 
supernatant draw-off level. Sampling pipes shall be at least 
1-1/2 inches in diameter.  

4. Management of digester supernatant must be addressed 
in the treatment works design. Also, sidestream treatment 
alternatives for digester supernatant shall be considered in 
the preliminary engineering design.  

9VAC25-790-570. Composting.  

A. Conventional sludge composting facilities aerobically 
process digested, or otherwise treated, sewage sludge that is 
uniformly mixed with other organic materials and bulking 
agents to facilitate biological decomposition of organics. The 
treated sewage sludge will be exposed to temperatures at or 
above 55°C for three consecutive days or more. The method 
of mixing and aeration, and the carbon to nitrogen 
characteristics, of the compost mix are critical to the process 
design.  

B. General design. Unless the facility is totally enclosed, an 
appropriate buffer shall be established on a case-by-case basis 
by considering both the locations of any residential area, 
hospitals, nursing homes for the elderly and serum production 
centers and the prevailing wind at such locations. Local 
jurisdictions impacted by this restriction shall be so notified.  

1. All compost facilities shall be provided with adequate 
means to prevent and control odors as necessary.  

2. All compost facilities shall be provided with all-weather 
roads to and from the facility, as well as between the 
various process operations.  

3. The receiving, mixing, composting, curing, drying, 
screening, and storage areas shall be paved with asphaltic 
concrete, reinforced concrete, or other impervious, 
structurally stable material that provides similar site 
characteristics.  

4. The facility shall be graded to prevent uncontrolled 
runoff and a suitable drainage system shall be provided to 
collect all process wastewater and direct it to storage and 
treatment facilities. Process wastewater includes water 
collected from paved process areas. The capacity of the 
drainage system, including associated storage or treatment 
works system shall be based on the 24-hour rainfall of a 
10-year return frequency.  

5. All facility process wastewater and sanitary wastewater 
shall be collected and treated prior to discharge.  

C. Facilities. A weigh scale, volumetric method, or other 
means shall be provided for determining the amount of sludge 
or residuals delivered to the facility and the amount of 
compost material removed from the facility. Adequate space 
and equipment must be provided for mixing operations and 
other material handling operations.  

1. Where liquid, or dewatered, sludge or residuals are 
processed by the compost facility, all receiving of such 
inputs shall occur in either:  

a. An area that drains directly to a storage, treatment, or 
disposal facility.  

b. A handling area which shall be hard-surfaced and 
diked to prevent entry of runoff or escape of the liquids.  

c. A sump with an adequately sized pump located at the 
low point of the hard-surfaced area shall be provided to 
convey spills to a disposal or holding facility.  

2. Provisions for cleaning all sludge transport or residual 
hauling trucks that return to public roads, shall be provided 
at all compost facilities. The facility shall be capable of 
effective operation regardless of weather conditions. Wash 
water shall be collected for necessary treatment.  

3. At all compost facilities handling liquid or dewatered 
residual materials that must be mixed prior to composting, 
a mixing operation shall be provided. The operation shall 
have sufficient capacity to properly process the peak daily 
waste input with the largest mixer out of operation. 
Volumetric throughput values used to establish necessary 
mixing capacity may be based on the material volume 
resulting from the sludge to bulking agent ratio, or may be 
estimated from previous experience or pilot scale tests.  

4. Effective mixing equipment should be provided for use 
at all compost facilities. The ability of all selected 
equipment to produce a compostable mix from sludge of 
an established moisture content, residual material, and the 
selected bulking agent shall be documented from previous 
experience or pilot tests.  

5. Except for windrow composting wherein mobile mixers 
are used, an area with sufficient space to mix the bulking 
agent and sludge or residuals and store half of the daily 
peak input shall be provided. The mixing area shall be 
covered to prevent ambient precipitation from directly 
contacting the mix materials.  

6. Where conveyors are used to move the compost mix to 
the composting area and or help provide mixing, either 
sufficient capacity shall be provided to permit handling of 
the mix with one conveyor out of operation, or a backup 
method of handling or storing shall be provided. Runoff 
shall be directed to a storage or treatment facility. Capacity 
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of the drainage system shall be based on the 24-hour 
rainfall producing a peak rate expected once in 10 years.  

D. System design. The system design shall be sufficient to 
provide the level of treatment required for protection of 
public health and welfare in relation to the anticipated 
management method. Consideration should be given to 
covering the compost mixing pad and curing area in order to 
allow for handling of bulking agents and treated sludge and 
the finished compost, during extended periods of 
precipitation. If a roof type cover is not provided, operation of 
the facility during critical weather periods shall be addressed. 
Sufficient equipment shall be provided for routinely 
measuring the temperature and oxygen at multiple points and 
depths within the compost piles.  

1. Windrow method. The area requirements shall be based 
on the average daily compost mix inputs, a minimum 
detention time of 30 days on the compost pad, and the area 
required for operation of the mixing equipment. Sufficient 
compost mix handling equipment shall be provided to turn 
the windrows daily. In addition, proper drainage and space 
shall be provided to allow equipment movement between 
compost pile sections and access around the working areas.  

2. Aerated-static pile method. The aerated-static pile area 
requirement shall be based on the average daily compost 
mix inputs, along with storing base and cover material, 
with a composting time of 21 days, unless the applicant 
can demonstrate through previous experience or pilot scale 
studies that less time is necessary to achieve the 
requirements.  

a. The compost mix pile shall be provided with a means 
of uniformly distributing air flow. One foot or more thick 
base of friable material may be utilized under the deepest 
sections of compost mix. A 1-1/2 foot or more thick 
covering blanket of unscreened compost or a one foot 
thick or more blanket of screened compost may be 
utilized over the compost mix pile.  

b. Compost mix piles should be configured to provide 
adequate aeration of the mix using either positive or 
negative pressure for air flow through the piles.  

3. Confined composting methods. Due to the large 
variation in composting processes, equipment types, and 
process configuration characteristic of currently available 
confined systems, such as enclosed operations or in-vessel 
systems, it is not feasible to stipulate specific design 
criteria. However, a confined composting system will not 
be approved unless the applicant can demonstrate, through 
previous operating experience or pilot scale studies, that 
the material removed from the enclosed container or 
compost process, after the manufacturer's suggested 
residence time, has an equivalent or higher degree of 
stabilization than would be achieved after 21 consecutive 
days of aerated static pile composting.  

E. Aeration. Sufficient blower capacity shall be provided to 
deliver the necessary air flow through the compost mix, but 
the delivered air flow shall not be less than a minimum 
aeration rate of 500 cubic feet per hour per dry ton 
(CFH/DT). Where centralized aeration is utilized, multiple 
blower units shall be provided and shall be arranged so that 
the design air requirement can be met with the largest single 
unit out of service. Where individual or separated blowers are 
used, sufficient numbers of extra blowers shall be provided so 
that the design air requirement can be met with 10% of the 
blowers out of service. For facilities that are not continuously 
manned, the blower units should be equipped with automatic 
reset and restart mechanisms or alarmed to a continuously 
manned station, so that they will be placed back into 
operation after periods of power outage.  

1. Each pile aeration distribution header shall be provided 
with a throttling control valve. The aeration system shall be 
designed to permit both suction and forced aeration. The 
piping system shall be capable of delivering 150% of the 
design aeration rate. The aeration piping may be located in 
troughs cast into the compost pad.  

2. The aeration system shall be designed to permit the 
length of the aeration cycle to be individually adjusted at 
each pile header pipe.  

F. Compost handling. The design of the curing area shall be 
based on a minimum retention time of 30 days unless the 
applicant can demonstrate through previous experience or 
pilot studies that less time is required. Daily input shall be 
based on the average daily input of mix to the composting 
area.  

1. A drying stage is optional, but is usually required if 
compost is to be recycled as a bulking agent or if screening 
is required. Consideration should be given to covering the 
drying area. If a cover is provided, it can be designed so 
that sunlight is transmitted to the composting materials 
while preventing direct contact with ambient precipitation. 
Efficient drying may be accomplished by drawing or 
blowing air through the compost mixture or by mechanical 
mixing of shallow layers with stationary bucket systems, 
mobile earth moving equipment, or rotating discs.  

2. Screening shall be provided for all compost facilities 
where the compost disposition necessitates the use of a 
screened product or where the bulking agent must be 
recycled and reused.  When dry compost is used as a 
bulking agent screening is not typically provided. 

a. A daily screening capacity of 200% of the average 
daily amount of compost mix shall be provided when 
screening is required.  

b. Based on previous composting facility performance, or 
on pilot tests, the ability of the specified equipment to 
screen compost at the projected moisture range shall be 
demonstrated.  
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c. The area used for screening should be covered unless 
operations are not hindered when screening is 
temporarily discontinued.  

3. Storage areas shall be provided for six months storage of 
compost unless the applicant can demonstrate (through 
previous experience, pilot studies or letters of intent to 
accept compost offsite) that less storage area is required. 
 Storage for curing or drying biosolids compost is usually 
provided if compost is to be recycled for public use. 

For all compost facilities where a separate bulking agent is 
required, storage area for a six-month supply of the bulking 
agent shall be provided, unless the applicant can demonstrate 
that bulking agent supplies can be replenished more 
frequently.  

9VAC25-790-580. Heat treatment. 

A. The design of heat treatment systems shall be based on 
the anticipated sludge flow rate (gpm) with the required heat 
input dependent on sludge characteristics and concentration. 
The system should be designed for continuous 24-hour 
operation to minimize additional heat input to start up the 
system. Measures for the adequate control of odors shall be 
stipulated for review. 

B. Design. Multiple units shall be provided unless nuisance-
free storage or alternate stabilization methods are available, to 
avoid disruption to treatment works operation when units are 
not in service. If a single system is provided, standby 
grinders, fuel pumps, air compressor (if applicable), and dual 
sludge pumps shall be required.  

1. A reasonable downtime for maintenance and repair 
based on data from comparable facilities shall be included 
in the design. Adequate storage for process feed and 
downtime shall be included. Control parameters shall be 
adequately monitored. Continuous recorders to monitor 
temperatures shall be provided.  

2. Due to the large variation in incineration processes, 
equipment types, and configurations characteristic of 
currently available incineration systems, it is not feasible to 
stipulate specific design criteria. Therefore, these systems 
shall be considered on a case-by-case basis. Design of 
these systems should be based on pilot plant studies or data 
from comparable facilities. 

C. Features. The process should provide heat stabilization in 
a reaction vessel within a range of 175°C or 350°F for 40 
minutes to 205°C or 400°F for 20 minutes at pressure ranges 
of 250 to 400 psig, or provide for pasteurization at 
temperatures of 30°C or 85°F or more and gage pressures of 
more than one standard atmosphere (14.7 psia) for periods 
exceeding 25 days. The conventional heat drying system 
involves either direct or indirect contact between a dewatered 
sludge cake and hot gases in order to reduce the moisture 

content of the cake to 10% or less. The sludge cake 
temperature is typically 800°F or more during this process. 

1. Sludge grinders shall be provided to protect heat 
exchangers from rag fouling. An acid wash or high 
pressure water wash system shall be available to remove 
scale from heat exchangers and reactors. Materials of 
construction of heat exchangers shall be selected to 
minimize corrosion.  

2. The decant tank shall be equipped with a sludge scraper 
mechanism and shall be covered to prevent odor release. 

3. Separate, additional grit removal (in addition to grit 
removal at the treatment works influent) should be 
considered to prevent abrasion of piping. 

4. Adequate treatment works or sidestream treatment shall 
be provided for the recycle streams from heat treatment. 

5. Odor control shall be addressed for exhaust and off-gas 
from decant tanks in accordance with state and federal air 
pollution control requirements. 

D. Incineration. Sludge incinerator ash may be used as either 
a material additive or an ingredient for the manufacture of 
construction materials and other products. Due to the large 
variation in incineration processes, equipment types, and 
configurations characteristic of currently available 
incineration systems, it is not feasible to describe a 
conventional design. Design of these systems should be based 
on pilot plant studies or data from comparable facilities. 

9VAC25-790-590. Chemical treatment.  

A. The fundamental design areas to be considered include 
chemical feeding, mixing, and storage capacity. Chemical 
treatment operation controls may include pH, contact time 
and mixture temperature.  

B. Alkaline treatment.  The three design parameters 
typically considered fundamental for design of an alkaline 
stabilization system include pH, contact time, and mixture 
temperature.  The alkaline additive dosage required to 
stabilize sludge is determined by the type of sludge, its 
chemical composition and the solids concentration. 
Performance data taken from pilot plant test programs or from 
comparable facilities should be used in determining the 
proper dosage.  

1. The For conventional treatment, the design objective 
shall be to furnish uniform mixing in order to maintain a 
pH of 12 or above for two hours or more in the alkaline 
additive-sludge mixture. The design criteria for 
accomplishing adequate treatment may include:  

a. Adding a controlled dosage of alkaline agents to 
sludge and providing uniform mixing of the sludge and 
agents.  
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b. Bringing the alkaline additive-sludge mixture pH to 
the design objective, such as a mixture pH of 12.5 or 
more and maintaining the mixture pH above 12.5 for 30 
minutes or more.  

c. Providing capacity to achieve a temperature of the 
alkaline-sludge mixture of more than 52°C, if desired, 
and maintaining a sufficient temperature over a measured 
contact period to ensure pasteurization.  

d. Maintaining conditions so that the sludge is not altered 
or further distributed for two hours or more after alkaline 
treatment.  

2. For Class I or Class II treatment to achieve pathogen 
reduction and control for beneficial uses of sewage sludge, 
including biosolids, the design objective shall be to meet 
the operational standards for pH during pasteurization, 
contact time, temperature, pH following pasteurization, 
and any other applicable requirements specified in the 
Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Regulation 
(9VAC25-32) for the alkaline treatment. 

2. 3. Multiple units shall be provided unless nuisance-free 
storage or alternate stabilization methods are available to 
avoid disruption to treatment works operation when units 
are not in service. If a single system is provided, standby 
conveyance and mixers, backup heat sources, dual blowers, 
etc., shall be provided as necessary. A reasonable 
downtime for maintenance and repair based on data from 
comparable facilities shall be included in the design. 
Adequate storage for process, feed, and downtime shall be 
included.  

3. 4. Storage facilities and chemical handling shall be 
designed in accordance with this chapter. Either 
mechanical or aeration agitation should be provided to 
ensure uniform discharge from storage bins. Alkaline 
additive feeding equipment shall meet the requirements of 
this chapter. Hydrated lime should be fed as a 6% to 18% 
Ca(OH2) slurry by weight. Other suitable means should be 
developed for controlling the feed rate for dry additives.  

4. 5. The additive/sludge blending or mixing vessel shall 
be large enough to hold the mixture for 30 minutes at 
maximum feed rate. In a batch process, a pH greater than 
12 shall be maintained in the mixing tank during this 
period. In a continuous flow process, the nominal detention 
time (defined as tank volume divided by volumetric input 
flow rate) shall be used in design, and a pH greater than 12 
shall be maintained in the exit line. Slurry mixtures can be 
mixed with either diffused air or mechanical mixers. 
Mixing equipment shall be designed to keep the alkaline 
slurry mixture in complete suspension.  

5. 6. Coarse bubble diffusers should be used for mixing 
with compressed air. A minimum air supply of 20 scfm per 
1,000 cubic feet of tank volume should be provided for 

adequate mixing. The mixing tank shall be adequately 
ventilated and odor control equipment shall be provided.  

6. 7. Mechanical mixers should be sized to provide 5 to 10 
HP per 1,000 cubic feet of tank volume. Impellers should 
be designed to minimize fouling with debris in the sludge.  

7. 8. Pasteurization vessels shall be designed to provide for 
a minimum retention period of 30 minutes. The means for 
provision of external heat shall be specified.  

C. Chlorine treatment. The stabilization of sludge by high 
doses of chlorine should be considered on a case-by-case 
basis. Process equipment that comes into contact with sludges 
that have not been neutralized after chlorine oxidation shall 
be constructed of acid resistant materials or coated with 
protective films. Caution should be exercised with recycle 
streams from dewatering devices or sludge drying beds which 
have received chlorine stabilized sludge due to the creation of 
potential toxic byproducts which may be detrimental to the 
treatment process or receiving stream.  

D. Other treatment. Other processes for chemical treatment 
can be considered in accordance with this chapter.  

9VAC25-790-600. Sludge thickening.  

A. Sludge thickening to decrease the liquid fraction should 
be considered for volume reduction and conditioning of 
sludges prior to treatment and management. Biological 
sludges returned to reactors should be thickened to provide 
for effective control of biomass.  Prior to conventional 
treatment of biosolids, thickening should be provided to 
reduce volume and to condition the raw sludge flow. 

B. General design. Thickener design shall provide adequate 
capacity to meet peak demands. Thickeners should be 
designed to prevent septicity during the thickening process.  

1. A sludge handling bypass around the thickening process 
is required. Dual units or alternate storage is required for 
all treatment works of greater than 1 mgd capacity.  

2. Thickeners shall be provided with a means of continuous 
return of supernatant for treatment. Provisions for side-
stream treatment of supernatant should be considered.  

3. Consideration should be given to any potential treatment 
advantages obtained from the blending of sludges from 
various treatment processes.  

4. Odor control shall be addressed with consideration being 
given to flexibility of operations and changes of influent 
sludge characteristics.  

C. Gravity systems. Clarifiers or gravity thickeners 
sufficiently sized for clarification will provide for thickening. 
However, the use of mechanical stirring devices will 
significantly improve the performance of gravity thickeners. 
Mechanical thickeners employ low speed stirring mechanisms 
for continuous mixing and flocculation within the zone of 
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sludge concentration. In this manner, liquid separation is 
enhanced.  

1. Conventional overflow rates for gravity thickeners 
should be in the 400-800 gpd per square foot range. The 
engineer shall provide the basis and calculations for the 
nonconventional surface loading rates. The side water 
depth of conventional gravity thickeners shall be a 
minimum of 10 feet. Circular thickeners shall have a 
minimum bottom slope of 1-1/2 inches per radial foot.  

2. A gravity sludge thickener shall be so designed as to 
provide for sludge storage, if sufficient storage is 
unavailable within other external tankage. Sludge 
withdrawal from gravity thickeners should be controlled 
and adjusted, and variable speed pumps should be 
provided.  

3. Gravity thickeners should be provided with bottom 
scraping equipment to enhance sludge removal. The 
scraper mechanism peripheral velocity should be in the 15 
to 20 feet per minute range.  

a. The scraper mechanical train shall be capable of 
withstanding extra heavy torque loads. The normal 
working torque load shall not exceed 10% of the rated 
torque load.  

b. A method to correct blockage of the scraper 
mechanism and restore operation from a stalled position 
should be provided in accordance with the Operation and 
Maintenance Manual.  

4. Alternative designs should be based on data obtained 
from a pilot plant (relatively small scale test equipment) 
program. Chemical addition and dilution water feed 
systems should be evaluated for use to optimize 
performance.  

D. Dissolved air flotation. Dissolved air flotation (DAF) 
basins shall be equipped with bottom scrapers to remove 
settled solids and surface skimmers to remove the float 
established through release of pressurized air into the sludge 
inflow. The bottom scraper should function independently of 
the surface skimmer mechanism. Dissolved air flotation units 
should be enclosed in a building. A positive air ventilation 
system and odor control shall be provided.  

1. Conventional design parameters include:  

a. Maximum hydraulic loading rates of 2.0 gallons per 
minute per square foot of surface area (gal/min/sq. ft.).  

b. A solids loading rate in the range of 0.4 to 1.0 pounds 
per hour per square foot of surface area (lb/hr/sq. ft.) 
without chemical addition. A solids loading rate of up to 
2.5 lbs./hr./sq. ft. may be used if appropriate chemical 
addition is provided (9VAC25-790-860).  

c. An air supply to sludge solids weight ratio in the range 
of 0.02 to 0.04.  

2. The recycle ratio should be in the 30% to 150% range. 
The recycle pressurization system should utilize DAF 
effluent or secondary effluent if use of potable water is not 
available. The retention tank system shall provide a 
minimum pressure of 40 psig.  

3. A polymer feed system shall be provided. The feed 
system shall meet the requirements of this chapter.  

4. Alternative design should be based on data obtained 
from a pilot plant test program if sufficient operational 
performance data is not available.  

5. Skimmer design shall be multiple or variable speed such 
as to allow normal operation in the less than one fpm 
range, with the capability of a speed increase to 25 fpm.  

E. Mechanical separation. Filters or centrifuge can be used 
to thicken sludges. The process shall be preceded by 
pretreatment to remove material that can plug the media, 
nozzles or cause excessive wear.  

1. Provisions for the addition of appropriate coagulants to 
the sludge inflow to the filter or centrifuge shall be 
considered.  

2. The design basis and calculations for nonconventional 
loading rates shall be submitted for evaluation.  

3. Filtrate or centrate shall be returned to the head of the 
primary units, aeration basins, or a separate side-stream 
treatment system.  

9VAC25-790-660. Sludge management.  

Sludge management activities not specifically provided for 
through approval of design plans and specifications shall be 
described in a sludge management plan submitted by the 
owner to the area engineer and the DEQ regional office for 
review and approval. The use or disposal of treated sewage 
sludge shall be addressed through either the sludge 
management plan required by the VPDES permit, or a permit 
issued through the Biosolids Use Regulations (12VAC5-585) 
Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Regulation (9VAC25-
32) or Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31).  

Article 6  

Biological Treatment  

9VAC25-790-880. Land treatment. 

A. Site specific information shall be submitted with the 
preliminary proposal in accordance with this chapter and 
standards contained in this chapter. 

Land treatment systems shall have adequate land for 
pretreatment facilities, storage reservoirs, administrative and 
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laboratory buildings, and buffer zones, as well as the 
application sites (field area). The availability of this land 
should be determined prior to any detailed site evaluation. 
Site availability information should be obtained concerning: 

1. Availability for acquisition or acceptable control. 

2. Present and future land use. 

3. Public acceptance. 

B. Site design. Conformance to local land use zoning and 
planning should be resolved between the local government 
and the owner. Adjacent owners should be contacted by the 
applicant to establish whether significant opposition to the 
proposed location, or locations, exists. Concerns of adjacent 
landowners will be considered in the evaluation of site 
suitability. Public meetings may be scheduled either during or 
after the evaluation of final design documents so that the 
department can discuss the technical issues concerning the 
system design through public participation procedures. Public 
hearings may be held as part of the certificate/permit issuance 
procedures. 

1. The estimated established site size should be calculated 
using a typical maximum annual loading depth of 36 
inches for slow rate systems and a maximum depth of 72 
inches per year for high rate systems to compute the field 
area size. In addition, the buffer zone area should be 
estimated using a typical distance of 200 feet from the 
extremities of the field areas to adjacent property lines. 
This total estimated site area should be available and 
permission obtained to gain access to the site for field 
investigations. 

2. When investigating a potential site for application of 
wastewater, there are some limiting factors, including 
topography, soils, and vegetative growth (crop), which 
shall be evaluated early to determine site suitability for a 
land treatment system. This evaluation should be made in 
two phases: a preliminary phase and a field investigation 
phase. 

3. The preliminary phase of site evaluations should include 
the identification of the proposed location of the land 
treatment system on a recent U.S.G.S. topographic map 
(7.5 minute quadrangle) or acceptable reproduction or 
facsimile thereof. A property line survey map should also 
be available for use in identifying the site location or 
locations. 

4. The 100-year flood elevation should be identified and 
the proposed pretreatment unit processes should be roughly 
located in relation to elevation. 

5. Preliminary soils information should include a soil site 
suitability map and include information to identify soil 
textures, grades, drainage, erosion potential, suitability for 
certain crops, etc. Information on soil characteristics may 
be available from either the National Resources 

Conservation Service (NRS) Office, the local Cooperative 
Extension Service Agent, or the Soil and Water 
Conservation Nutrient Management Specialist.  

6. The field area available for effluent application may be 
estimated using typical criteria based on topography and 
soil characteristics. Field areas should be delineated on 
topographic maps of the proposed land treatment site. 

7. The land treatment system design consultant should 
arrange a Preliminary Engineering Conference (PEC), as 
described in this chapter, as a final step in the preliminary 
phase of the site evaluation. The requirements for soil 
borings and backhoe pits as needed to study soils should be 
established at the PEC. A site visit should be scheduled at 
the PEC that involves the appropriate regulatory personnel 
and the owner and design consultant. 

8. The land treatment system design consultant may not 
wish to conduct detailed field investigations of site 
topography, hydrology and soil characteristics prior to the 
site visit by regulatory personnel and their advisors. 
However, the proposed locations of field areas and 
pretreatment units should be established and identified 
during the site visit. The location of any existing soil 
borings, backhoe pits, springs, wells, etc., should also be 
identified during the site visit. Soil borings and backhoe 
pits may be excavated prior to, during and following the 
site visit as required. The requirements for soil 
permeability and hydraulic conductivity testing should be 
developed either during or shortly after the site visit. 

9. Applicants for development of all land treatment 
systems shall be required to submit at least the minimum 
required information as required for the appropriate 
certificate/permit to be issued. 

C. Site features. The soil at a potential site should be 
identified in terms of its absorption capacity and crop 
production classification, which is a function of physical and 
chemical characteristics. Important physical characteristics 
include texture, structure and soil depth. Chemical 
characteristics that may be important include pH, ion 
exchange capacity, nutrient levels, and organic fraction. The 
absorption capacity of a soil may be directly related to soil 
texture and structure. Soil color may provide an indication of 
the movement of moisture through soil. Hydraulic 
conductivity may be estimated from in-field tests using 
acceptable infiltrometer devices. In addition, the absorption 
characteristics of a soil may be related to its hydraulic 
conductivity as measured by both in situ and laboratory tests 
using acceptable procedures (Table 9). The conductivity tests 
should be conducted in the most restrictive layer within the 
depth affected by the land application system. Soil 
productivity and nutrient management characteristics are 
discussed in the Biosolids Use Regulations (12VAC5-585) 
Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Regulation (9VAC25-
32). 
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1. Soil evaluation for a land treatment system should 
follow a systematic approach of selecting proper locations 
for borings or excavations based on topographic position, 
slopes and drainage. The physical characteristics of site 
soils should then be verified by an acceptable number of 
recorded observations that include soil depth to horizon 
changes, restrictive layers and parent material, color, 
texture and structure, for borings or excavations to a 
minimum depth of five feet. 

2. If the soil characteristics differ substantially between 
borings or excavations, without a logical technical reason 
for the variation, then additional boring and excavation 
locations should be studied to identify the nature and 
extent of the changes in soil patterns throughout the 
proposed site.  

3. The soil characteristics of the proposed site should be 
described by a qualified technical specialist knowledgeable 
in the principles of soil science, agronomy, and nutrient 
management. The long-term impact of land application of 
the treated effluent on site soils and vegetation or crops 
must be evaluated by the land treatment system design 
consultant. Certain minimum soil depths are required for 
approval of a land application site. The minimum required 
depth for field areas will depend on the type of land 
application system as well as the soil characteristics.  

4. Representative soil samples shall be collected for each 
major soil type identified by the field investigation and 
analyzed for certain parameters in accordance with this 
chapter.  

5. Detailed information on the geologic conditions of the 
proposed site shall be provided by a geologist or other 
technical specialist, or specialists, knowledgeable in 
geohydrologic principles.  

a. Detailed information on the site hydrology and 
groundwater shall be provided by a geologist, hydrologist 
or other technical specialist, or specialists, 
knowledgeable in hydrologic principles and ground water 
hydrology.  

b. The depth to the permanent ground water table below 
the site shall be determined. The location, depth and 
extent of perched water tables as well as the estimated 
seasonal fluctuations shall be established. The effect of 
the permanent and seasonal water tables on performance 
of the particular land treatment system shall be evaluated 
by the design consultant.  

c. The characteristics of ground water movement under 
the proposed site should be established and evaluated 
using piezometer installations or other acceptable 
methods. The potential impact of the land treatment 
system on aquifer hydraulics and water quality shall be 

predicted through the use of modeling and appropriate 
monitoring devices.  

d. The present and planned uses of the aquifer(s) 
identified as affected by the land treatment system should 
be determined by the consultant.  

D. Land treatment methods. The following methods, or 
combinations thereof, as regulated by the appropriate permit 
or certificate, are considered conventional technology in 
accordance with this chapter:  

1. Irrigation - slow rate. Wastewater may be applied by 
spraying, flooding, or ridge and furrow methods. Irrigation 
methods are designed not to discharge to surface waters.  

2. Rapid infiltration. Wastewater may be applied by 
spreading and spraying. The system shall be designed to 
meet all certificate/permit requirements and groundwater 
standards.  

3. Overland flow. This method of wastewater renovation is 
best suited for soils with low permeability. Generally, a 
permit or certificate for a discharge to surface waters must 
be issued.  

E. Other alternatives. Natural treatment systems such as 
aquatic ponds, constructed wetlands and biological/plant 
filters and other aquatic plant systems are somewhat related to 
land treatment technology. Natural treatment involves the use 
of plants in a constructed but relatively natural environment 
for the purpose of achieving treatment objectives. The major 
difference between nonconventional natural and conventional 
treatment systems is that conventional systems typically use a 
highly managed and controlled environment for the rapid 
treatment of the wastewater. In contrast, nonconventional 
natural systems use a comparatively unmanaged environment 
in which treatment occurs at a slower rate.  

1. The use of natural treatment as a part of a land treatment 
system may take several forms including ponds called 
"Aquatic Processing Units" (APU). Floating plants such as 
water hyacinths and duckweed are often used in APU 
treatment.  

2. Constructed wetlands are defined as areas where the 
wastewater surface is controlled near (subsurface flow) or 
above (free water surface) a soil or media surface for long 
enough each year to maintain saturated conditions and the 
growth of related vegetation such as cattails, rushes, and 
reeds.  

3. Constructed wetlands must provide for groundwater 
protection and may be used to provide additional treatment 
to primary, secondary, or highly treated effluents prior to 
final discharge.  

4. Natural (existing) wetlands are considered as state 
waters and any discharge to them shall be regulated in 
accordance with an issued discharge permit or certificate.  



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 26, 2007 

802 

F. Features. Biological treatment that will produce an 
effluent either with a maximum BOD5 of 60 mg/l or less, or 
be of such quality that can be adequately disinfected, if 
necessary, shall be provided prior to natural treatment, 
including use of conventional unit operations prior to the land 
application of treated effluent and advanced treatment prior to 
reuse.  

Disinfection may be required following or prior to land 
application and other natural treatment. If spray irrigation 
equipment is utilized, adequate aerosol management 
including pre-disinfection shall be provided.  

Buffer zones around field areas shall be provided in 
accordance with the monitored maximum microbiological 
content of the applied effluent as follows, with no reduction 
in required minimum distances to water sources and channels:  
Fecal Coliform Count (1) Minimum Buffer Distance, Feet 

(No./100 mls)   

200 or less 200 (2) 

23 or less 50 (3) 

2.2 or less None, but no application during 
occupation of field area (3) 

Notes:   
(1) Exceeded by no more than 10% or less of samples tested. 
(2) No public use of field areas. 
(3) Transient public use may occur after a three-
hour drying period following application. 

1. The owner shall provide sufficient holding time to store 
all flow during periods either when crop nutrient uptake is 
limited or nonexistent, the ground is frozen, surface 
saturation occurs during wet weather, the ground is 
covered with snow, or the irrigation site or field areas 
cannot otherwise be operated. The total volume of holding 
required shall be based on the storage necessary to provide 
for climatic conditions and the nutrient management 
requirements of the field area crop. Operational storage 
necessary for system maintenance shall be provided. 
Climatic holding periods shall be based on the most 
adverse conditions of freezing and precipitation, as taken 
from accurate recorded historical data that are available for 
the local area (in no case less than 25 years). The storage 
volume shall be sufficient to prevent any unpermitted 
discharges to state waters.  

2. A minimum holding period of 120 days shall be required 
when climatic data is not available. System backup storage 
shall be determined by the complexity of the entire 
treatment system. An increase or reduction of minimum 
storage may be considered on a case-by-case basis based 
on adequate documentation of agronomic crop production 
and nutrient utilization.  

3. The depth of the volume containment for total storage 
requirements shall be measured above any minimum depth 
requirements for maintenance.  

4. The owner shall provide a minimum reserve area 
equivalent in size to 25% of the design field area. 
Additional reserve area may be required as evaluated by 
the division, if the general conditions of the field area are 
deemed marginal or in proximity of critical areas or waters. 
The reserve area shall be capable of being used as a 
functional area within 30 days of notice.  

5. Some allowance for a reduced reserve shall be allowed 
if additional storage is provided or if there is an alternate 
treatment mode (e.g., discharge) that can be utilized by the 
facility.  

6. Design criteria for treatment or storage ponds shall be in 
accordance with this chapter and standards contained in 
this chapter. In addition, the following requirements shall 
be met:  

a. A minimum operational water depth shall be 
maintained.  

b. Provisions shall be made to allow complete drainage 
of the pond for maintenance.  

c. Duplicate pumps shall be provided if necessary to 
transport pond flows, with the capacity of each pump 
sized to handle the maximum rate of flow plus an 
allowance to deplete stored volumes.  

d. Disinfection may be provided either upstream from 
ponds, or the pond effluent may require disinfection.  

e. When chlorination is utilized to disinfect pumped 
flows, the detention time of the holding pond 
chlorination facilities shall provide a minimum of 30 
minutes of contact time, based on the maximum design 
pumping rate in accordance with this chapter and 
standards contained in this chapter.  

G. Design loadings. Loading rates shall be based on the 
most critical value as determined by the liquid and nutrient 
application rates, or total application amounts for other 
constituents (such as boron, salts, pH-alkalinity, copper or 
sodium, etc.), present in such concentrations as could produce 
pollution of either the soil, cover crop, or water quality. Total 
weekly application (precipitation plus liquid loading rate) 
shall not exceed two times the design loading rate. This 
higher than conventional loading rate shall be used only to 
balance seasonal water deficits, and groundwater quality 
standards shall not be exceeded unless a variance to the 
violated standard has been approved by the State Water 
Control Board.  

1. An overall water balance shall be investigated in 
accordance with one of the following equations based on 
design criteria:  
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a. Irrigation or infiltration  

design precipitation + effluent applied = 
evapotranspiration + hydraulic conductivity.  

b. Overland flow  

design precipitation + effluent applied = 
evapotranspiration + hydraulic conductivity + runoff.  

2. Design precipitation shall be the wettest year for a 10-
year period (return frequency of one year in 10). Minimum 
time period for this analysis should be 25 years. Average 
monthly distribution (average percentage of the total 
annual precipitation that occurs in each month) shall be 
assumed.  

3. Design evapotranspiration (monthly) shall be 75% of 
average monthly pan evaporation values collected at 
official weather stations within or contiguous to the 
Commonwealth of Virginia and should be representative 
(similar geographically and climatological) of the proposed 
site.  

4. Design hydraulic conductivity shall be a given 
percentage (see Table 9) of respective laboratory and field 
measurements that yield the rate at which water passes 
through the soil under presoaked conditions.  

The test methodology should be in accordance with current 
published procedures made available to the department.  

TABLE 9.  

DESIGN HYDRAULIC CONDUCTIVITY  
Type of Test Percent of minimum 

measured value to be 
used in design 

i. Saturated Vertical 
Hydraulic Conductivity 

7 

ii. Basin Infiltration 12.5 

iii. Cylinder Infiltrometers 3 

iv. Air Entry Permeameter 3 

v. (Other--to be evaluated by 
the department) 

  

5. During periods of application, the applied nitrogen shall 
be accounted for through (i) crop uptake and harvest; (ii) 
denitrification; (iii) addition to surface water and ground 
water, or storage in soil. In winter, site loadings for slow 
rate systems shall not exceed the hydraulic design for those 
particular months. Winter application of treated effluent 
may be provided only (i) to cool season grasses (ii) 
following three consecutive days of minimum daily 
temperatures in excess of 25°F and maximum in excess of 
40°F.  

6. The annual liquid loading depth for plant nitrogen 
requirements shall be determined by the following 
equation:  

L = N/2.7C  
Where: 

N = Crop nitrogen uptake, lb/acre/yr. 

C = Total nitrogen concentration, mg/l 

C = TKN + NO2-N + NO3-N 

L = Annual liquid loadings depth, ft/yr. 

TKN = Total KJELDAHL nitrogen = organic N + NHå3ç -
 N 

7. The monthly nitrogen loading rate design should be 
distributed over the growth cycle of the particular crop, as 
much as practicable.  

8. If other nutrients, organics, or trace elements are present 
in concentrations critical to either crops, soil, or water 
quality, then a total mass balance similar to that for 
nitrogen shall be investigated for each critical element or 
compound.  

9. The land application design average rate shall be 
determined by the climatic conditions, selected crops, and 
soil characteristics. However, the maximum application 
rates in terms of depth of effluent applied to the field area 
shall be as follows:  

a. One-fourth inch per hour.  

b. One inch per day.  

c. Two inches per week (one inch per week in forest field 
areas used for year round application).  

H. Field area design. Field area is defined as the area of land 
where renovation of wastewater takes place (area under actual 
spray or distribution pattern). The field area shall be designed 
to satisfy the most critical loading parameter (i.e., annual 
liquid loading depth) according to the following equation:  
Field Area (acres) = Q/Dá*ã365/(365-S) 

Where: Q = Wastewater flow in (acre-inches/week) 

D = Applied depth in inches/week 

S = Minimum required storage capacity + annual resting 
periods during the application season when no waste can be 
land applied. 

1. The minimum storage capacity shall be the average 
design volume of flow accumulated over a period of 60 
days, unless other storage periods are justified by climatic 
data. It should be noted that the field area equation does 
not take into consideration the area needed for reserve 
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capacity or future expansion (no less than 25% of design 
field area).  

2. The field area shall be divided into smaller sections for 
application to allow for rotational use of these sections. 
Rotational operation shall be designed to provide the 
maximum resting periods for field areas. The distribution 
system shall be designed to meet the requirement for 
alternating application to the field area sections. Minimum 
resting periods shall be two days, one day and two weeks 
for irrigation, overland flow and infiltration-percolation, 
respectively. Maximum wetting period shall not exceed 
five days, one week, and one day respectively for 
irrigation, infiltration-percolation, and overland flow, 
respectively. Resting and wetting periods depend on soil 
types, climatic conditions, harvesting requirements, etc.  

3. The field area or areas shall be adequately enclosed with 
suitable fencing to prevent access to livestock and the 
public where necessary. Signs shall be posted at sufficient 
intervals (100 to 300 feet) around the entire perimeter of 
field areas to identify the land treatment operation and 
specify access precautions.  

4. A groundwater monitoring system shall be provided in 
accordance with the permit or certificate requirements. A 
minimum of one upgradient and two downgradient 
monitoring wells shall be provided. The well locations, 
along with typical well construction specifications, shall be 
submitted with the proposal. Upon installation, the driller's 
log shall be submitted. Additional monitoring well 
locations may be required if deemed necessary upon 
evaluation of monitoring data. The results of any required 
sampling and testing of groundwater shall be submitted to 
the department for evaluation in accordance with the 
operating permit.  

5. Representative agriculturally related soil tests are 
required on crop dependent systems to ensure adequate 
vegetative cover. The growing and maintaining of a 
vegetative cover on application sites is a very integral part 
of the system. The plants prevent soil erosion and utilize 
nutrients and water. The system design should provide for 
a proper balance between applied amounts of water and 
nutrients. The designer may wish to consult with both 
agronomic and nutrient management specialists on these 
matters. The design shall address crop and nutrient 
management.  

6. The wastewater application schedule should be worked 
around the plans for harvesting. A minimum of 30 days 
shall be required between the last day of application and 
utilization of all crops. Crops that will be consumed raw by 
man shall not be grown in land application field areas.  

7. Information on the proposed crops and their intended 
use may be forwarded to the Virginia Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services for evaluation.  

I. Low intensity design. The low intensity application or 
irrigation field area should be as flat as possible with 
maximum slopes of 5.0% or less. The design of low intensity 
irrigation of treated effluent shall provide for nutrient 
management control. When it is necessary to locate field 
areas on slopes of eight to 12%, special precautions shall be 
taken to prevent seepage or runoff of sewage effluent to 
nearby streams. Dikes or terraces can be provided for field 
areas, together with runoff collection and return pumping 
equipment. The maximum field area slope should be 12%. 
The irrigation field area shall be located a minimum distance 
of 50 feet from all surface waters.  

1. Five feet of well-drained loamy soils are preferred. The 
minimum soil depth to unconsolidated rock should be three 
feet. The hydraulic conductivity should be between 0.2-6 
inches/hour.  

2. The minimum depth to the permanent water table should 
be five feet. The minimum depth to the seasonal water 
table should be three feet. Where the permanent water table 
is less than five feet and the seasonal water table is less 
than three feet, the field area application rate shall be 
designed to prevent surface saturation. In addition, 
underdrain and groundwater pumping equipment may be 
required.  

3. The method of applying the liquid to the field shall be 
designed to best suit prevailing topographic, climatic, and 
soil conditions. Two methods of application are:  

a. Sprinkler systems with low trajectory nozzles or 
sprinkler heads to uniformly distribute the applied 
effluent across a specified portion of the field area. 
Application is to be restricted in high winds that 
adversely affect the efficiency of distribution and spread 
aerosol mists beyond the field areas.  

b. Ditch irrigation systems that utilize gravity flow of 
effluent through ditches or furrows, from which effluent 
percolates into the soil. For uniformity of distribution, the 
slope of the field area is to be uniform and constant.  

4. The height of spray nozzles, pressure at the spray 
nozzles and spacing of the laterals shall be adequate to 
provide uniform distribution of the effluent over the field 
area. The design height and pressure of the spray nozzles 
shall avoid damage to vegetation and soil.  

5. Adequate provisions shall be made to prevent freezing 
and corrosion of spray nozzles and distribution lines when 
the system or a section of the system is not in operation.  

6. Appropriate vegetation shall be maintained uniformly on 
all field areas. Usually water tolerant grasses with high 
nitrogen uptakes are used. Over seeding with cool season 
grasses may be necessary during the fall season, prior to 
October 15 of each year. Silviculture sites and reuse 
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irrigation sites may also be used with this type of land 
treatment.  

J. Rapid infiltration. This form of treatment requires the 
least amount of land. Renovation is achieved by natural, 
physical, chemical, and biological processes as the applied 
effluent moves through the soil. Effluent is allowed to 
infiltrate the soil at a relatively high rate, requiring a field 
area with coarse grained soils. This system is designed for 
three main purposes (i) ground water recharge; (ii) recovery 
of renovated water using wells or underdrains with 
subsequent reuse, or (iii) discharge and recharge of surface 
streams by interception of ground water.  

1. Five feet of sand or loamy sand is preferred. Soil grain 
size should be greater than.05 mm in size. The hydraulic 
conductivity should be greater than two inches/hour.  

2. The permanent ground water table shall be a minimum 
of 15 feet below the land surface. With this method, a 
recharge mound is not uncommon and shall be properly 
evaluated by the consultant. A minimum distance of 10 
feet should be maintained between the land surface and the 
apex of the recharge mound (during a worse-case 
situation). Lesser depths may be acceptable where under 
drainage is provided.  

3. Spreading and spraying are the two main application 
techniques that are suitable for infiltration-percolation.  

4. Design application rates will vary according to the site 
area, soil, geology, and hydrology characteristics.  

5. The buffer distances from extremities of field areas to 
private wells should be at least 400 feet.  

K. Overland flow. Renovation of wastewater is 
accomplished by physical, chemical, and biological means as 
applied effluent flows through vegetation on a relatively 
impermeable sloped surface. Wastewater is sprayed or 
flooded over the upper reaches of the slope and a percentage 
of the treated water is collected as runoff at the bottom of the 
slope, with the remainder lost to evapotranspiration and 
percolation. Overland systems should be capable of 
producing effluent at or below secondary level; however, 
additional treatment units may be needed to achieve the 
permitted effluent limitations.  

1. Soils should have minimal infiltration capacity, such as 
heavy clays, clay loams or soils underlain by impermeable 
lenses. The restrictive layers in the soil should be between 
one to two feet from the surface to maintain adequate 
vegetation. The hydraulic conductivity should be less than 
0.2 inches/hour. Field area slopes shall be less than 8.0%. 
Monitoring wells shall be provided.  

2. Renovated water shall be collected at the toe of the slope 
in cut off ditches or by similar means and channeled to a 
monitoring point and disinfected as required.  

3. The effluent application method should achieve a sheet 
flow pattern that will produce maximum contact between 
the applied wastewater and the soil medium. This can be 
accomplished by lateral distribution methods, low pressure 
sprays and moderate to high pressure impact sprinklers 
discharging onto porous pads or aprons designed to 
distribute the applied flow while preventing erosion. 
Maximum application rates in terms of depth of effluent 
should be less than 10 inches per week.  

4. Perennial field area vegetation shall be required. 
Hydrophilic or water tolerant grasses are usually grown 
with this type of system.  

L. Alternative design. Information submitted for approval of 
other natural treatment systems and reuse alternatives shall 
include performance data obtained from either full-scale 
systems similar to the proposed design, or pilot studies 
conducted over a testing period exceeding one year, to a 
period of two years, based on test results.  

Special consideration should be given to the following 
factors in planning and design of natural systems:  

1. Many aquatic plants are sensitive to cold temperatures 
and may require the use of a protected environment or 
operation on a seasonal basis. Some plants may be 
considered unacceptable for use and their growth must be 
controlled.  

2. Control of insects, particularly mosquitoes, is normally 
required for constructed wetlands and aquatic plant 
systems. The use of mosquito-eating fish and water depth 
adjustments are recommended.  

3. Some constituents which may be present in wastewaters, 
particularly those having high industrial loads, are toxic to 
many aquatic plants. Therefore, tests should be conducted 
to identify possible toxics prior to selection of the aquatic 
plant species.  

4. Natural systems utilize a higher life form of less 
diversity than found in more conventional biological 
treatment systems. This lack of biological diversity may 
reduce treatment performance. Constructed wetland and 
aquatic plant systems could be more susceptible to long 
term process upsets. Therefore, the effects of fluctuations 
in climate and wastewater characteristics is extremely 
important in the design of natural systems.  

5. Some aquatic plant and animal species have the potential 
to create a nuisance condition if inadvertently released to 
natural waterways. Federal, state and local restrictions on 
the use of certain aquatic plants and animals shall be 
considered.  

6. Harvesting and the use or disposal of aquatic plants 
should result in removal of organics, solids and nutrients 
such as nitrogen and phosphorous from the APU effluent. 
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Management of residual matter shall be in accordance with 
this chapter and standards contained in this chapter.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-977; Filed October 24, 2007, 11:08 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC5-31. Virginia Emergency 
Medical Services Regulations (adding 12VAC5-31-2300 
through 12VAC5-31-2970). 

12VAC5-40. Regulation Governing Financial Assistance 
for Emergency Medical Services (repealing 12VAC5-40-
10 through 12VAC5-40-190). 

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-12, 32.1-111.4, and 32.1-111.11 
of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Michael Berg, Compliance Manager, 
Department of Health, 109 Governor St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 864-7615, FAX (804) 864-7580, or 
email michael.berg@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action repeals existing 12VAC5-40, 
Regulations Governing Financial Assistance for 
Emergency Medical Services, and concurrently adds those 
provisions to existing regulation 12VAC5-31. The 
regulation (i) updates the financial assistance 
requirements to reflect the practices that have been 
followed since the beginning of the 1990s and (ii) 
establishes provisions to reflect the current practices 
followed regarding regional emergency medical services 
councils. 

Changes to the proposed regulation remove (i) clarifying 
language regarding the designation of EMS councils; (ii) 
the term "plan" from the Scope of Services; (ii) the 
requirement to provide documentation of locality support; 
(iii) clarifying language for implementation and revision 
dates; and (iv) the requirements for regional training 
plans, regional mass casualty incident plans, regional 
medical protocols, and regional hospital diversion plans. 
Requirements for the medical direction committee, 
regional medical director, and ALS coordinator 
endorsement are also removed. 

Language is added allowing the Office of EMS to award 
funds based on performance. This language change 
reflects references to the Code of Virginia as well as 
clarifying the intent of the regulations. 

The major change since the publication of the proposed 
regulations is the insertion of language that allows the 
issuance of civil penalties as a possible enforcement action 
for agencies and entities that violate these regulations. 
This is consistent with language recently implemented in 
the Code of Virginia. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part VII 

Designated Regional EMS Councils 

12VAC5-31-2300. Purpose of designated regional EMS 
councils. 

For the purposes of these regulations regional EMS councils 
shall be designated by the Board of Health, adhere to policy 
direction established by the Office of EMS and carry out the 
development and implementation of an efficient and effective 
statewide regional EMS system.  

12VAC5-31-2310. Provision of regional EMS council 
services within Virginia and compliance with these 
regulations. 

An organization or person providing designated regional 
EMS council services within Virginia must comply with these 
regulations, the applicable regulations of other state agencies, 
the Code of Virginia and the United States Code. The Office 
of EMS will publish the Virginia Regional EMS Council 
Designation Manual, a document that describes and provides 
guidance on how to comply with these regulations. 

12VAC5-31-2320. Requirement for regional EMS council 
designation. 

Any organization or person establishing, operating, 
maintaining, advertising or representing itself or any services 
as a designated regional EMS council must have a valid 
designation issued by the Board of Health. 

12VAC5-31-2330. Designation of a regional EMS council. 

A. The Board of Health will designate a regional EMS 
council that satisfies the representation requirements in these 
regulations.  

B. The designation of a regional EMS council will be based 
on: 

1. The "Regional EMS Council Designation Manual" 
application process [ ; . ] 

a. Completed application. Submitted applications missing 
any information requested will be considered incomplete 
and will not be processed for designation, 
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b. Completed Regional EMS Council Self-Assessment 
Checklist; comply with all indicated standards 
[ consistent with these regulations ], 

c. Current roster of the membership of the applicant 
organization’s board of directors. The roster needs to 
show all members of the board of directors for the 
applicant, their addresses, e-mail addresses, phone 
numbers, and the constituency they represent, 

d. Current approved bylaws. A copy of the most recently 
approved bylaws complete with adoption date, 

e. Scope of services [ plan ]. [ A plan This ] shall include 
data and information that demonstrates the qualifications 
of the applicant to plan, initiate, expand or improve the 
regional EMS delivery system, 

f. Budget. A proposed budget for the first year of 
designation must illustrate costs associated with the 
applicant’s proposed operations and programs as a 
designated regional EMS council, 

g. EMS involvement. Documentation demonstrating how 
the applicant organization interacts with EMS agencies 
and personnel, 

h. Policies and guidelines. Up-to-date policies and 
guidelines covering all aspects of the applicant's regional 
EMS councils operations, must show [ revision date of ] 
all changes made and be consistent with these 
regulations, 

i. Directory of localities, hospitals and EMS agencies. A 
comprehensive directory of the localities, hospitals and 
EMS agencies the applicant organization will be serving 
[ , . ] 

[ j. Locality support. Letters of support from the chief 
executive officers of the cities and counties within the 
applicant’s proposed geographic service delivery area 
confirming support of the application. The letters must be 
dated within 120 days of the date of application and 
specify the three-year period for which the applicant 
seeks designation. ] 

2. Hospital catchment areas for all hospitals within the 
applicant’s proposed geographic service delivery area. 
Hospital catchment areas are the geographic area from 
which a hospital draws the majority of its patients. 

3. The demonstrated capability to establish 
communitywide and regional programs. 

4. An evaluation of prior performance as a designated 
regional EMS council. 

C. The Office of EMS will evaluate the performance and 
effectiveness of a regional EMS council on a periodic basis. 

12VAC5-31-2340. Application process for designation. 

A. An applicant for regional EMS council designation shall 
file a written application specified by the Office of EMS. 

B. If the applicant is a company or corporation as defined in 
§12.1-1 of the Code of Virginia it must clearly disclose the 
identity of its owners, officers and directors. 

C. An applicant must provide information on any previous 
record of performance in the provision of related EMS 
services or any other related licensure, registration, 
certification or endorsement within or outside Virginia. 

D. Completed application packages must be received in the 
Office of EMS no later than October 1 to be considered for 
designation commencing July 1 of the following year. 

E. The application and preliminary review process is to be 
completed prior to a site review visit.  

F. The Office of EMS may use whatever means of 
investigation necessary to verify any or all information 
contained in the application. 

G. If the applicant organization does not comply with the 
required standards for designation as a regional EMS council, 
the agent of the applicant organization will be notified of the 
deficiencies by the Office of EMS. 

H. If the applicant organization complies with the required 
standards, the agent of the applicant organization will be 
notified and arrangements will be made for a site visit by a 
review team as designated by the Office of EMS. 

I. The Office of EMS will conduct a site review of the 
applicant. 

J. The applicant organization will receive the written report 
of the visiting team reviewing its findings and 
recommendations in accordance with the criteria. 

K. If a deficiency is reported, the Office of EMS may order 
the designated regional EMS council to correct the deficiency 
by issuing a written correction order. 

L. If a deficiency requires a revisit by a site review team, a 
fee commensurate with direct costs will be paid by the 
applicant.  

M. The site review process will be completed prior to the 
Office of EMS forwarding a recommendation for designation 
or denial to the Board of Health. 

N. The Office of EMS will then forward a recommendation 
for designation or denial to the Board of Health. 

O. Acting upon the favorable recommendation of the site 
review team and the Office of EMS, the Board of Health may 
designate the applicant organization as a regional EMS 
council.  
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P. The Office of EMS may schedule unannounced site visits 
at its discretion. 

12VAC5-31-2350. Inspection. 

An applicant agency and all places of operation shall be 
subject to inspection by the Office of EMS for compliance 
with these regulations. The inspection may include any or all 
of the following: 

1. All fixed places of operations, including all offices and 
training facilities; 

2. All applicable records maintained by the applicant 
agency; and 

3. All vehicles and required equipment used by the 
applicant agency. 

12VAC5-31-2360. Designation approval. 

A. The Office of EMS will review and make 
recommendations to the Board of Health determining whether 
an applicant is qualified for designation based upon the 
applicant meeting the requirements of these regulations. 

B. The Board of Health will make the final determination on 
regional EMS designation. 

C. The designated regional EMS council or applicant has the 
right to appeal any decision or order of the [ Office of EMS 
except as may otherwise be prohibited, and provided such a 
decision or order was not the final decision of an appeal 
Board of Health regarding approval or denial of regional 
EMS designation in accordance with the Virginia 
Administrative Process Act (§2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) ]. 

12VAC5-31-2370. Designation periods. 

The designation is for a period of three years, effective July 
1, after completion of the designation process. 

12VAC5-31-2380. Regional EMS councils requesting 
undesignation. 

Regional EMS councils desiring to become undesignated by 
the Board of Health must provide the Office of EMS a 
minimum of 30 days written notice of intent. Upon review the 
Office of EMS will forward the request to the Board of 
Health with its recommendation. Only the Board of Health 
can grant or remove regional EMS council designation. 

12VAC5-31-2390. Powers and procedures of regulations 
not exclusive. 

The Board of Health reserves the right to authorize any 
procedure for the enforcement of these regulations that is not 
inconsistent with the provisions set forth herein or the 
provisions of §§32.1-27 and 32.1-111.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

12VAC5-31-2400. Exceptions. 

Exceptions to any provision of these regulations are 
specified as part of the regulation concerned. Any deviation 
not specified in these regulations is not allowed except by 
variance or exemption. 

12VAC5-31-2410. Variances. 

A. The [ Office of EMS commissioner ] is authorized to 
grant variances for any part or all of these regulations in 
accordance with the procedures set forth herein. A variance 
permits temporary specified exceptions to these regulations. 
A designated regional EMS council may file a written request 
for a variance with the Office of EMS on specified forms. 

1. The written variance request must be submitted for 
review and recommendations to the governing body of all 
localities in the service delivery area of the applicant or the 
designated regional EMS council prior to submission to the 
Office of EMS. 

2. Issuance of a variance does not obligate localities to 
allow the conditions of such variance if they conflict with 
local ordinances or regulations. 

B. Both the written request and the recommendation of the 
governing bodies must be submitted together to the Office of 
EMS. 

12VAC5-31-2420. Issuance of a variance. 

A request for a variance may be approved and issued by the 
[ Office of EMS commissioner ] provided all of the following 
conditions are met: 

1. The information contained in the request is complete and 
correct; 

2. The regional EMS council concerned is designated by 
the Board of Health; 

3. The Office of EMS determines the need for such a 
variance is genuine, and extenuating circumstances exist; 

4. The Office of EMS determines that issuance of such a 
variance would be in the public interest and would not 
present any risk to, or threaten or endanger the public 
health, safety or welfare; 

5. The Office of EMS will consider the recommendation of 
the governing body provided all of the above conditions 
are met; and 

6. The agent of the designated regional EMS council 
making the request will be notified in writing of the 
approval and issuance within 30 days of receipt of the 
request unless the request is awaiting approval or 
disapproval of a designation. In such case, notice will be 
given within 30 days of the issuance of the designation. 
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12VAC5-31-2430. Content of variance. 

A variance shall include but not be limited to the following 
information: 

1. The name of the designated regional EMS council to 
which the variance applies; 

2. The expiration date of the variance; 

3. The provision of the regulations that is to be varied and 
the type of variations authorized; and 

4. Any special conditions that may apply. 

12VAC5-31-2440. Conditions of variance. 

A variance shall be issued and remain valid with the 
following conditions: 

1. A variance will be valid for a period not to exceed one 
year unless and until terminated by the [ Office of EMS 
commissioner ]; 

2. A variance is neither transferable nor renewable under 
any circumstances. 

12VAC5-31-2450. Termination of variance. 

A. The [ Office of EMS commissioner ] may terminate a 
variance at any time based upon any of the following: 

1. Violations of any of the conditions of the variance; 

2. Falsification of any information; 

3. Suspension or revocation of the designation; and 

4. A determination by the Office of EMS that continuation 
of the variance would present a risk to or threaten or 
endanger the public health, safety or welfare. 

B. The Office of EMS will notify the agent of the designated 
regional EMS council of the termination by certified mail to 
his last known address. 

C. Termination of a variance will take effect immediately 
upon receipt of notification unless otherwise specified. 

12VAC5-31-2460. Denial of a variance. 

A request for a variance will be denied by the [ Office of 
EMS commissioner ] if any of the conditions of 12VAC5-31-
2430 fail to be met. 

12VAC5-31-2470. Exemptions. 

A. The Board of Health is authorized to grant exemptions 
from any part or all of these regulations in accordance with 
the procedures set forth herein. An exemption permits 
specified or total exceptions to these regulations for an 
indefinite period. 

B. A designated regional EMS council may file a written 
request for an exemption with the Office of EMS on specified 
forms.  

1. The written exemption request must be submitted for 
review and recommendations to the governing body of all 
localities in the service delivery area of the applicant or the 
designated regional EMS council prior to submission to the 
Office of EMS. 

2. The written exemption request must be submitted to the 
Office of EMS a minimum of 30 days before the scheduled 
review by the governing bodies. At the time of submission, 
the applicant or designated regional EMS council must 
provide the Office of EMS with the date, time and location 
of the scheduled review by the governing bodies. 

12VAC5-31-2480. Public notice of request for exemption. 

Upon receipt of a request for an exemption, the Office of 
EMS will cause notice of such request to be published in a 
newspaper of general circulation in the area wherein the 
service delivery area of the applicant or designated regional 
EMS council making the request and in other major 
newspapers of general circulation in major regions of the 
Commonwealth. The cost of such public notices will be borne 
by the applicant or designated regional EMS council making 
the request. 

12VAC5-31-2490. Public hearing for exemption request. 

If the Board of Health determines that there is substantial 
public interest in a request for an exemption, a public hearing 
may be held. 

12VAC5-31-2500. Issuance of an exemption. 

A. A request for an exemption may be approved and an 
exemption issued provided all of the following conditions are 
met: 

1. The information contained in the request is complete and 
correct; 

2. The need for such an exemption is determined to be 
genuine; and 

3. The issuance of an exemption would not present any risk 
to, threaten or endanger the public health, safety or welfare 
of citizens. 

B. The Board of Health may accept the recommendation of 
the governing bodies provided all of the conditions in 
subsection A of this section are met. 

C. The agent of the designated regional EMS council 
making the request will be notified in writing of the approval 
or denial of a request. 
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12VAC5-31-2510. Content of exemption. 

An exemption includes but is not limited to the following 
information: 

1. The name of the applicant or designated regional EMS 
council to whom the exemption applies; 

2. The provisions of the regulations that will be exempted; 
and 

3. Any special conditions that may apply. 

12VAC5-31-2520. Conditions of exemption. 

A. An exemption remains valid for an indefinite period of 
time unless and until terminated by the Board of Health [ or 
the Office of EMS, or ] unless an expiration date is specified. 

B. An exemption is neither transferable nor renewable. 

12VAC5-31-2530. Termination of exemption. 

A. The [ Office of EMS Board of Health ] may terminate an 
exemption at any time based upon any of the following: 

1. Violation of any of the conditions of the exemption; 

2. Suspension or revocation of designation; and 

3. A determination by the Office of EMS that continuation 
of the exemption would present risk to, or threaten or 
endanger the public health, safety or welfare. 

B. The Office of EMS will notify the agent of the designated 
regional EMS council to whom the exemption was issued of 
the termination by certified mail to his last known address. 

C. Termination of an exemption takes effect immediately 
upon receipt of notification unless otherwise specified. 

12VAC5-31-2540. Denial of an exemption. 

A request for an exemption will be denied by the [ Office of 
EMS Board of Health ] if any of the conditions of these 
regulations fail to be met. 

12VAC5-31-2550. Right to enforcement. 

A. The Office of EMS may use the enforcement procedures 
provided in this article when dealing with any deficiency or 
violation of these regulations or any action or procedure that 
varies from the intent of these regulations. 

B. The Office of EMS may determine that a deficiency or 
violation of these regulations or any action or procedure that 
varies from the intent of these regulations occurred. 

C. The enforcement procedures provided in this article are 
not mutually exclusive. The Office of EMS may invoke as 
many procedures as the situation may require. 

D. The commissioner empowers the Office of EMS to 
enforce the provisions of these regulations. 

12VAC5-31-2560. Enforcement actions. 

An enforcement action must be delivered to the agent of the 
affected designated regional EMS council and must specify 
information concerning the violations, the actions required to 
correct the violations and the specific date by which 
correction must be made as follows: 

1. Warning: a verbal notification of an action or situation 
potentially in violation of these regulations. 

2. Citation: a written notification for violations of these 
regulations. 

3. Suspension: a written notification of the deactivation 
and removal of authorization issued under a designation. 

[ 4. Civil penalty: The commissioner (or designee) may 
impose a civil penalty to an agency or entity that fails or 
refuses compliance with these regulations. Civil penalties 
may be assessed up to $1,000 per offense. Violations shall 
be a single, different occurrence for each calendar day the 
violation occurs and remains uncorrected. 

a. Subsequent violations of the same type may be subject 
to a civil penalty of $500 per calendar day, per violation. 

b. Civil penalties will not exceed a combined total of 
$10,000. ]  

[ 4. 5. ] Action of the commissioner: the commissioner 
may command a designated regional EMS council 
operating in violation of these regulations or state law 
pursuant to the commissioner's authority under §32.1-27 of 
the Code of Virginia and the Administrative Process Act 
(§2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) to halt such 
operation or to comply with applicable law or regulation. A 
separate and distinct offense will be deemed to have been 
committed on each day during which any prohibited act 
continues after written notice to the offender. 

[ 5. 6. ] Criminal enforcement: the commissioner may elect 
to enforce any part of these regulations or any provision of 
Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia by seeking to have 
criminal sanctions imposed [ as authorized by §32.1-27 of 
the Code of Virginia ]. [ The violation of any of the 
provisions of these regulations constitutes a 
misdemeanor. ] A separate and distinct offense will be 
deemed to have been committed on each day during which 
any prohibited act continues after written notice by the 
commissioner to the offender. 

12VAC5-31-2570. Correction order. 

A. The Office of EMS may order the designated regional 
EMS council to correct a deficiency, cease any violations or 
comply with these regulations by issuing a written correction 
order as follows: 
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1. Correction orders may be issued in conjunction with any 
other enforcement action in response to individual 
violations or patterns of violations. 

2. The Office of EMS will determine that a deficiency or 
violation exists before issuance of any correction order. 

B. The Office of EMS will send a correction order to the 
agent of the designated regional EMS council by certified 
mail to his last known address. Notification will include, but 
not be limited to, a description of the deficiency or violation 
to be corrected, and the period within which the deficiency or 
situation must be corrected, which shall not be less than 30 
days from receipt of such order, unless an emergency has 
been declared by the Office of EMS. 

C. A correction order takes effect upon receipt and remains 
in effect until the deficiency is corrected or until the 
designation is suspended, revoked, or allowed to expire or 
until the order is overturned or reversed. 

D. Should the designated regional EMS council be unable to 
comply with the correction order by the prescribed date, it 
may submit a request for modification of the correction order 
with the Office of EMS. The Office of EMS will approve or 
disapprove the request for modification of the correction 
order within 10 days of receipt. 

E. The designated regional EMS council shall correct the 
deficiency or situation within the period stated in the order. 

1. The Office of EMS will determine whether the 
correction is made by the prescribed date. 

2. Should the designated regional EMS council fail to 
make the correction within the time period cited in the 
order, the Office of EMS may invoke any of the other 
enforcement procedures set forth in this part. 

12VAC5-31-2580. Suspension of a designation. 

A. The [ Office of EMS commissioner ] may suspend a 
designation without a hearing [ , pending an investigation or 
revocation procedure if the agency, organization or any of its 
personnel are found to be operating in a manner that presents 
a risk to, threatens, or endangers the public health, safety or 
welfare ]. 

[ 1. Reasonable cause for suspension must exist before 
such action is taken by the Office of EMS. The decision 
must be based upon a review of evidence available to the 
Office of EMS. 

a. 1. ] The [ Office of EMS commissioner ] may suspend 
the designation for failure to adhere to the standards set 
forth in these regulations. 

[ b. The Office of EMS may suspend the designation if the 
agency, organization or any of its personnel are found to be 
operating in a manner that presents a risk to, or threatens, 
or endangers the public health, safety or welfare. ]  

[ c. 2. ] The [ Office of EMS commissioner ] may suspend 
the designation for violation of federal or state laws 
resulting in a civil monetary penalty. 

[ d. 3. ] The [ Office of EMS commissioner ] may suspend 
the designation for conviction of criminal acts. 

B. The Office of EMS will notify the agent of the designated 
regional EMS council of the suspension in person or by 
certified mail to his last known address. 

C. A suspension takes effect immediately upon receipt of 
notification unless otherwise specified. A suspension remains 
in effect until the [ Office of EMS commissioner ] further acts 
upon the designation or until the order is overturned on 
appeal as specified in the Administrative Process Act (§2.2-
4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

D. The designated regional EMS council shall abide by any 
notice of suspension.  

E. The [ Office of EMS commissioner ] may invoke any 
procedure set forth in this part to enforce the suspension. 

12VAC5-31-2590. Revocation of a designation. 

A. The Board of Health may revoke the designation of a 
regional EMS council after a hearing or waiver thereof. 
Reasonable cause for revocation must exist before such action 
by the Board of Health. The Board of Health may revoke 
designation for the following: 

[ a. 1. ] Failure to adhere to the standards set forth in these 
regulations; 

[ b. 2. ] Violation of a correction order or for engaging in 
or aiding, abetting, causing, or permitting any act 
prohibited by these regulations; 

[ c. 3. ] Violation of federal or state laws resulting in a civil 
monetary penalty; and 

[ d. 4. ] Conviction of criminal acts. 

B. The Office of EMS will notify the agent of the designated 
regional EMS council of the intent to revoke by certified mail 
to his last known address. 

C. The designated regional EMS council will have the right 
to a hearing. 

1. If the designated regional EMS council desires to 
exercise its right to a hearing, it must notify the Office of 
EMS in writing of his intent within 10 days of receipt of 
notification. In such cases, a hearing must be conducted 
and a decision rendered in accordance with the 
Administrative Process Act (§2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code 
of Virginia). 

2. Should the designated regional EMS council fail to file 
such notice, he will be deemed to have waived the right to 
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a hearing. In such case, the Board of Health may revoke 
the designation. 

D. A revocation takes effect immediately upon receipt of 
notification unless otherwise specified. A revocation order is 
permanent unless and until overturned on appeal. 

E. The designated regional EMS council shall abide by any 
notice of revocation. 

F. The Office of EMS may invoke any procedures set forth 
in this part to enforce the revocation. 

12VAC5-31-2600. Judicial review. 

A. The procedures of the Administrative Process Act (§2.2-
4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) control all judicial 
reviews. 

B. The designated regional EMS council or applicant has the 
right to appeal any decision or order of the Office of EMS 
except as may otherwise be prohibited, and provided such a 
decision or order was not the final decision of an appeal. 

C. The designated regional EMS council or applicant shall 
abide by any decision or order of the Office of EMS, or he 
must cease and desist pending any appeal. 

D. If the designated regional EMS council or applicant who 
sought the appeal is aggrieved by the final decision, that 
person may seek judicial review as provided in the 
Administrative Process Act (§2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

12VAC5-31-2610. Submission of complaints. 

A. The Office of EMS will investigate complaints related to 
designation, operation and the delivery of services by regional 
EMS councils. 

B. Any person may submit a complaint. A complaint is 
submitted in writing to the Office of EMS, signed by the 
complainant and includes the following information: 

1. The name and address of the complainant; 

2. The name of the designated regional EMS council or 
person involved; and 

3. A detailed description of the complaint, including the 
date, location and conditions and the practice or act that 
exists or has occurred. 

12VAC5-31-2620. Investigation process. 

A. The Office of EMS may investigate complaints received 
about conditions, practices, or acts that may violate any 
provision of either Article 2.1 (§32.1-111.1 et seq.) of 
Chapter 4 of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia or provision 
of these regulations. 

B. If the Office of EMS determines that the conditions, 
practices, or acts cited by the complainant are not in violation 
of applicable sections of the Code of Virginia or these 

regulations; then the Office of EMS will investigate no 
further. 

C. If the Office of EMS determines that the conditions, 
practices, or acts cited by the complainant may be in violation 
of applicable sections of the Code of Virginia or these 
regulations, the Office of EMS will investigate the complaint 
fully in order to determine if a violation took place. 

D. The Office of EMS may investigate or continue to 
investigate and may take appropriate action on a complaint 
even if the original complainant withdraws his complaint or 
otherwise indicates a desire not to cause it to be investigated 
to completion. 

E. The Office of EMS may initiate a formal investigation or 
action based on an anonymous or unwritten complaint. 

12VAC5-31-2630. Action by the Office of EMS. 

A. If the Office of EMS determines that a violation has 
occurred, it may apply all provisions of these regulations that 
it deems necessary and appropriate. 

B. At the completion of an investigation and following any 
appeals, the Office of EMS will notify the complainant. 

12VAC5-31-2640. [ Designated regional EMS council 
name. (Reserved.) ] 

[ An organization may not apply to conduct business under a 
name that is the same as, or misleadingly similar to the name 
of an organization designated by the Board of Health as a 
designated regional EMS council. ]  

12VAC5-31-2650. Composition of designated regional 
EMS councils. 

A designated regional EMS council shall include, if 
available, representatives of the participating local 
governments, fire protection agencies, law-enforcement 
agencies, emergency medical services agencies, hospitals, 
licensed practicing physicians, emergency care nurses, mental 
health professionals, emergency medical technicians and 
other appropriate allied health professionals. 

12VAC5-31-2660. Governing body of a designated 
regional EMS council. 

A. A regional EMS council shall be organizationally 
independent of any other entity. 

B. A regional EMS council shall be governed by a board. 

C. Articles of incorporation and bylaws shall be in force that 
specify: 

1. Designated regional EMS council representation; 

2. Method of designated regional EMS council 
appointments and/or elections; 

3. Governing board representation; 
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4. Method of governing board appointments and/or 
elections; 

5. Tenure of representatives; 

6. Officers, their roles, responsibilities and terms of office; 

7. Quorum requirements; 

8. Meeting attendance requirements and enforcement 
policies; 

9. Indemnification of officers and directors; and 

10. Dissolution of assets. 

D. There shall be a minimum of five members with full 
voting privileges comprising a governing board. 

12VAC5-31-2670. Regional EMS plan. 

A designated regional EMS council, in cooperation with the 
Governor’s EMS Advisory Board, shall develop, maintain, 
and distribute a comprehensive regional EMS plan for 
coordinating and improving the delivery of EMS in the 
regional service area, in accordance with §§32.1-111.3 and 
32.1-111.11 of the Code of Virginia. 

1. The plan shall be submitted for approval by the Office of 
EMS within one year of designation. 

2. The approved plan shall be distributed to the Office of 
EMS, all localities, EMS agencies, hospitals and EMS 
physicians within its service delivery area. 

3. The plan shall be reviewed and revised, if necessary, 
every three years and redistributed to the Office of EMS, 
all localities, EMS agencies, hospitals and EMS physicians 
within its service delivery area. 

12VAC5-31-2680. Regional trauma triage plan. 

A designated regional EMS council, in corporation with the 
Governor’s EMS Advisory Board, shall develop, maintain, 
and distribute a regional trauma triage plan in accordance 
with §§32.1-111.3 and 32.1-111.11 of the Code of Virginia. 

1. The plan shall be submitted for approval by the Office of 
EMS within one year of designation. 

2. The approved plan shall be distributed to the Office of 
EMS, all localities, EMS agencies, hospitals and EMS 
physicians within its service delivery area. 

3. The plan shall be reviewed and revised, if necessary, 
every three years and submitted for approval by the Office 
of EMS. 

4. The approved revisions shall be distributed to the Office 
of EMS, all localities, EMS agencies, hospitals and EMS 
physicians within its service delivery area. 

12VAC5-31-2690. [ Regional training plan. (Reserved.) 

A designated regional EMS council shall develop, maintain, 
and distribute a regional training plan.  

1. The plan shall be submitted for approval by the Office of 
EMS within one year of designation. 

2. The approved plan shall be distributed to the Office of 
EMS, all localities, EMS agencies, accredited EMS 
training institutions, hospitals and EMS physicians within 
its service delivery area. 

3. The plan shall be reviewed and revised annually, as 
required by the Office of EMS. 

4. The approved revisions shall be distributed to the Office 
of EMS, all localities, EMS agencies, accredited EMS 
training institutions, hospitals and EMS physicians within 
its service delivery area. 

12VAC5-31-2700. Regional mass casualty incident plan. 

A designated regional EMS council shall develop, maintain, 
and distribute a regional mass casualty incident plan. 

1. The plan shall be submitted for approval by the Office of 
EMS within one year of designation. 

2. The approved plan shall be distributed to the Office of 
EMS, all localities, EMS agencies, hospitals and EMS 
physicians within its service delivery area. 

3. The plan shall be reviewed and revised, if necessary, 
every three years and submitted for approval by the Office 
of EMS. 

4. The approved revisions shall be distributed to the Office 
of EMS, all localities, EMS agencies, hospitals and EMS 
physicians within its service delivery area. 

12VAC5-31-2710. Regional medical protocols. 

A designated regional EMS council shall develop, maintain, 
and distribute regional medical protocols that include 
medication kit restocking procedures. 

1. The protocols shall be distributed to the Office of EMS, 
all localities, EMS agencies, hospitals and EMS physicians 
within its service delivery area within one year of 
designation. 

2. The protocols shall be reviewed and revised, if 
necessary, every three years and redistributed to the Office 
of EMS, all localities, EMS agencies, hospitals and EMS 
physicians within its service delivery area. 

12VAC5-31-2720. Regional hospital diversion plan. 

A designated regional EMS council shall develop, maintain, 
and distribute a regional hospital diversion plan. 
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1. The plan shall be distributed to the Office of EMS, all 
localities, EMS agencies, hospitals and EMS physicians 
within its service delivery area within one year of 
designation. 

2. The plan shall be reviewed and revised, if necessary, 
every three years and redistributed to the Office of EMS, 
all localities, EMS agencies, hospitals and EMS physicians 
within its service delivery area. 

12VAC5-31-2730. Regional medical direction committee. 

A designated regional EMS council shall establish a regional 
medical direction committee consisting of EMS physicians 
within its service delivery area. 

1. The regional medical direction committee shall be 
established within one year of designation. 

2. A regional medical direction committee shall: 

a. Develop and implement a process for endorsement of 
EMS physicians, 

b. Develop regional medical protocols and make them 
available for implementation, 

c. Develop and implement a process for the provision of 
concurrent medical direction, 

d. Develop recommendations for initial qualifications of 
prehospital personnel involved in patient care, and 

e. Develop and implement a quality performance 
improvement program for continuous system and patient 
care outcome and improvement. 

12VAC5-31-2740. Regional medical director. 

A designated regional EMS council shall designate, based 
on Office of EMS guidelines, a regional medical director for 
its service delivery area within one year of designation. 

12VAC5-31-2750. ALS coordinator endorsement. 

A. A designated regional EMS council shall develop and 
implement an ALS Coordinator applicant endorsement 
process. 

B. The regional ALS endorsement process shall have written 
guidelines and procedures, approved by the Office of EMS, 
that meet the requirements stated in 12VAC5-31-1700 A. 

12VAC5-31-2760 12VAC5-31-2700 ]. Financial assistance 
for emergency medical services. 

A. A designated regional EMS council shall participate in 
the Virginia financial assistance for emergency medical 
services program and assist eligible EMS agencies and 
organizations needing funding within the service area. 

B. The designated regional EMS council participation in the 
Virginia financial assistance for emergency medical services 
program process shall have written guidelines and 

procedures, approved by the Office of EMS, that meet the 
requirements stated in 12VAC5-31-2810 through 12VAC5-
31-2900. 

 [ 12VAC5-31-2770 12VAC5-31-2710 ]. Base funding of 
designated regional EMS councils. 

A. Required services provided by a designated regional 
EMS council may be funded by the state. 

B. A designated regional EMS council may receive annual 
base funding by the state to assist with infrastructure 
development and maintenance in providing required regional 
services. 

C. A designated regional EMS council shall submit 
documentation, as required, demonstrating a 25% match for 
base funding to the Office of EMS.  Moneys received directly 
or indirectly from the Commonwealth shall not be used as 
matching funds. 

 [ 12VAC5-31-2780 12VAC5-31-2720 ]. Matching funds. 

For the purposes of these regulations, approved matching 
funds are monetary [ and/or in-kind services as approved by 
the Office of EMS ] and only apply to base funding. 

 [ 12VAC5-31-2790 12VAC5-31-2730 ]. Performance [ -
based contract for service standards ]. 

A. The Office of EMS may enter into performance-based 
contracts [ that establish standards ] for the delivery of 
specific identified services and projects with designated 
regional EMS councils. [ These services and projects shall 
include, but not be limited to, performance standards for: 

1. Regional medical direction;  

2. Regional EMS plan; 

3. Trauma triage plan; 

4. EMS performance improvement program; 

5. Regional trauma performance improvement program; 

6. Technical assistance and review for Rescue Squad 
Assistance Fund grant applications; 

7. Regional infrastructure; and 

8. Criteria for matching funds. ]  

B. The contracts will be based upon the specific needs of the 
regional service delivery area and the requirements of the 
Office of EMS [ as described in §32.1-111.11 of the Code of 
Virginia ]. 

 [ 12VAC5-31-2800 12VAC5-31-2740 ]. Accountability for 
public funds. 

A. A designated regional EMS council shall maintain a 
current operating statement, reflecting revenue and 
expenditures, available for review. 
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B. A designated regional EMS council shall have a current 
income and expenditure statement available at all governing 
board meetings. 

C. A designated regional EMS council shall have an 
independent annual audit of financial records with 
management letters. 

D. A designated regional EMS council [ shall may ] have an 
independent audit of financial records conducted by a 
Certified Professional Accountant (CPA) upon change of an 
executive director. 

E. A designated regional EMS council shall retain all books, 
records, and other documents relative to public funds for 
[ five six ] years after the close of the fiscal year the funds 
were received. The Office of EMS, its authorized agents, 
and/or state auditors shall have full access to and the right to 
examine any materials related to public funds during said 
period. 

F. A designated regional EMS council shall follow generally 
accepted accounting principles for financial management. 

G. A designated regional EMS council’s governing board 
shall approve it’s annual fiscal year (July 1 [ - through ] June 
30) budget by July 15 of each year. 

H. A designated regional EMS council shall comply with all 
appropriate federal and state tax-related reporting. 

I. A designated regional EMS council shall follow generally 
accepted fund raising practices in the charitable field. 

J. A designated regional EMS council shall have written 
policies that indicate by position, signatories of executed 
financial and contractual instruments. 

[ 12VAC5-31-2750. (Reserved.) 

12VAC5-31-2760. (Reserved.) 

12VAC5-31-2770. (Reserved.) 

12VAC5-31-2780. (Reserved.) 

12VAC5-31-2790. (Reserved.) 

12VAC5-31-2800. (Reserved.) ] 

Part VIII 

Financial Assistance For Emergency Medical Services 

12VAC5-31-2810. The Financial Assistance and Review 
Committee (FARC). 

A. Financial Assistance and Review Committee 
appointments. 

1. Appointments shall be made for terms of three years or 
the unexpired portions thereof in a manner to preserve, 
insofar as possible, the representation of the emergency 
medical services councils. No member may serve more 

than two successive terms. The chairman shall be elected 
from the membership of the FARC for a term of one year 
and shall be eligible for reelection. 

2. The EMS Advisory Board may revoke appointment for 
failure to adhere to the standards set forth in these 
regulations, and the State and Local Government Conflict 
of Interests Act (§2.2-3100 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

3. Members serving on the FARC [ ( ] on [ the effective 
date of these regulations) January 1, 2008, ] shall complete 
their current terms of office. 

4. Midterm vacancies shall be filled by nominations 
submitted from affected designated regional EMS council. 

B. Geographical representation. 

1. Designated regional EMS councils shall be eligible to 
submit nominations to the EMS Advisory Board for 
representation on the FARC. 

2. The eligible designated regional EMS council shall 
nominate one to three candidates to fill a vacancy on the 
FARC. The EMS Advisory Board shall make 
appointments from the nominations submitted by the 
designated regional EMS council. Consideration for filling 
vacancies shall include length of nonrepresentation on 
FARC in an effort to provide reasonable geographic 
distribution. 

3. A designated regional EMS council whose 
representative has completed two successive terms on 
FARC shall not be eligible to submit a nomination for one 
full term (three years). 

C. Meetings and attendance. 

1. The FARC shall meet at least four times annually at the 
call of the chairman or the commissioner. 

2. Attendance at FARC Grant Review meetings is 
mandatory for all members. 

3. A quorum for a meeting of the FARC shall consist of 
not fewer than four members. 

12VAC5-31-2820. RSAF General Grant Program 
administration. 

A. The FARC will administer the RSAF (Rescue Squad 
Assistance Fund) General Grant Program and the funding of 
RSAF General Grant awards using the Office of EMS 
approved pricing, applicant eligibility, award criteria, and 
priorities as approved by the EMS Advisory Board. 

B. The Office of EMS shall approve and maintain a list that 
represents an average price of EMS vehicles, EMS 
equipment, communications equipment, and EMS education 
programs frequently requested under the RSAF General Grant 
Program. This list will be based on current market pricing and 
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is not all-inclusive. RSAF General Grant awards for items 
maintained on this list shall not exceed the approved amount. 

C. Funding priorities for RSAF General Grants shall be 
identified in the Virginia Statewide EMS Plan as stipulated in 
§32.1-111.3 of the Code of Virginia or special initiatives as 
approved by the EMS Advisory Board. 

12VAC5-31-2830. Award of RSAF General Grants. 

A. The requirements of this section shall apply to the 
disbursement of funds. 

B. A nonprofit licensed EMS agency or other Virginia 
emergency medical service organization operating on a 
nonprofit basis exclusively for the benefit of the general 
public pursuant to §32.1-111.12 of the Code of Virginia is 
eligible for an RSAF General Grant. 

An applicant must be in compliance with these regulations.  

C. Programs, services, and equipment funded by the RSAF 
must comply with the plans, policies, procedures, and 
guidelines adopted by the State EMS Advisory Board. 
Awards are based upon one or more of the following criteria: 

1. Establishment of a new EMS agency, program, or 
service where needed to improve emergency medical 
services offered in an area; 

2. Expansion or improvement of an existing EMS agency, 
program, or service;  

3. Replacement of equipment or procurement of new 
equipment. EMS vehicles purchased with funding from the 
RSAF shall meet the current state and/or federal standards 
for the type of vehicle purchased; or 

4. Establishment, expansion or improvement of EMS 
training programs. 

12VAC5-31-2840. Grant award cycle. 

A. The grant period shall be for a period of 12 months from 
the date of award and there shall be two review cycles per 
year; 

B. Deadline for submission of applications shall be March 
15 and September 15 of each year. Applications must be 
received in the Office of EMS by 5 p.m. of the date of the 
deadline. In the event the deadline falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday, state or federal holiday, the application must be 
received by 5 p.m. in the Office of EMS the next business 
day. 

C. Dates of award shall be July 1 and January 1 of each 
year. 

D. Other dates in the award process shall be established by 
the Office of EMS. 

12VAC5-31-2850. Emergency awards. 

A. The commissioner empowers the Office of EMS the 
ability to implement Emergency Grant Awards. The Office of 
EMS will advise the EMS Advisory Board and FARC of 
emergency grants awarded and the purpose(s) of 
disbursement of these funds.  

B. Applications shall be made to the Office of EMS on an 
approved application form at any time. 

C. The Emergency Grant Award will be made or rejected by 
the Office of EMS within 10 business days after receiving an 
application on an approved form. 

D. Award of funds shall be based upon the demonstrated 
needs arising from a natural or man-made disaster as defined 
in §44-146.16 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. Award of funds shall be based upon incidents or 
circumstances involving the loss or potential loss of critical 
equipment or services. 

12VAC5-31-2860. EMS System Initiative Awards. 

EMS System Initiative Awards are based on priorities and 
needs identified by the Advisory Board in concert with the 
office to meet EMS system objectives as stipulated in §32.1-
111.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

1. The Office of EMS or FARC, in consultation with EMS 
Advisory Board, may implement EMS System Initiative 
Awards at any time. Examples of such awards would 
include medically advanced equipment with broad 
application (automated external defibrillation) and 
information technology to enhance communications and 
data (computers). 

2. Applications must be made to the Office of EMS on an 
approved application form. 

3. The EMS System Initiative Award will be made or 
rejected by the Office of EMS within 30 business days 
after receiving an application on an approved form. 

4. EMS System Initiative Awards shall be based upon the 
demonstrated needs from the following criteria: 

a. Establishment of a new EMS agency, program, or 
service where needed to improve emergency medical 
services offered in an area; 

b. Expansion or improvement of an existing EMS 
agency, program, or service; 

c. Replacement of equipment or procurement of new 
equipment. EMS vehicles purchased with funding from 
the RSAF shall meet the current state and/or federal 
standards for the type of vehicle purchased; 

d. Establishment, expansion or improvement of EMS 
training programs. 
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12VAC5-31-2870. Responsibilities of the grantee. 

A. Grantee shall not discriminate in the provisions of its 
services or in the conduct of its business affairs on the basis 
of race, color, creed, religion, sex, national origin, or 
disability. 

B. Grantee must comply with these regulations. The grantee 
shall be responsible for ensuring that item(s) purchased in 
whole or in part with the use of the state moneys comply with 
these regulations. 

C. Grantee shall be responsible for the preparation and 
maintenance of proper accounting records that shall be 
maintained for a period of not less than five years from the 
end of the grant period. 

12VAC5-31-2880. Application for award. 

A. Applications must be made to the Office of EMS. 

B. The Office of EMS will review applications for 
compliance with the EMS regulations and RSAF policies and 
procedures. The FARC reviews and grades applications and 
makes recommendations on funding. 

[ 12VAC5-31-2890. (Reserved.) ] 

12VAC5-31-2900. Awards. 

A. The Office of EMS shall make awards as approved by the 
commissioner. 

B. Grantees will be notified of their award by mail.  

C. Funds may be disbursed to the grantee at any time within 
the grant period. [ 1. ] Agreement to the award and any 
attached conditions shall be secured prior to any 
disbursements. 

[ 2. Disbursements will be made on a reimbursement basis. 
Following proof of expenditure for item(s) approved in the 
award, the authorized agent must submit required 
documentation (original invoice and signed contract) to the 
Office of EMS. The Office of EMS will verify submitted 
documentation and upon approval, authorize the 
disbursement of the appropriate funds. ] 

12VAC5-31-2910. Amount of grant award. 

A. The amount of RSAF General Grant award granted an 
applicant will not exceed 50% of the cost of the item(s) 
except in documented and approved cases of hardship. The 
amount of an RSAF General Grant award shall be based upon 
the amount requested for the item(s) and state approved 
pricing determined by the Office of EMS. The amount 
awarded will not exceed the amount requested by the 
applicant. 

B. Additional funding may be recommended for those 
unique situations where the applicant has demonstrated the 
lack of reasonable capability to generate a 50% match 

(hardship). The additional funding above a 50% match will be 
determined by the FARC. 

1. Awards identified on the notice of award as being 
"hardship" (above a 50% match level) require the grantee 
to purchase from available state contracts. 

Awardees, able to demonstrate the ability to purchase at a 
cost equal to or less than the state contract price, may 
purchase outside the state contract with prior approval. 

2. The FARC shall recommend the percentage of an RSAF 
General Grant award based upon the review of the 
application. 

12VAC5-31-2920. Use of funds. 

A. Awards will be made in accordance with §32.1-111.12 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

B. Funds must be used only for the specific items, service, 
or programs for which they were awarded. This includes any 
conditions placed upon a grant award. 

C. The grantee is required to sign an agreement form 
attesting that the award funds will be used as granted and 
meets all conditions placed upon the award. 

D. Sale, trade, transfer, or disposal, within five years of 
vehicles or items specified by the Office of EMS in the notice 
of award purchased in whole or in part with the use of state 
moneys requires prior approval by the Office of EMS. 

E. Funds must not be used for expenditures or commitments 
made before the date of the grant award or after the 
conclusion of the grant period. 

F. Funds will not be approved or disbursed for: 

1. Leased equipment or vehicle, 

2. Equipment or vehicles secured by a lien, 

3. Guarantees or warranties, 

4. Used equipment or vehicles without prior approval, or 

5. Fire suppression apparatus or law-enforcement 
equipment. 

12VAC5-31-2930. Ownership. 

The title for all equipment, including EMS vehicles, shall be 
in the name of the organization to which the award has been 
made or in the name of the local jurisdiction or government 
entity in which the organization is located. This requirement 
shall apply to the ownership of equipment purchased in whole 
or in part with the use of these funds. 

12VAC5-31-2940. Improper expenditures. 

A. An audit revealing expenditures not permitted by the 
conditions of the award will result in the grantee being 
required to reimburse the Office of EMS any funds received. 
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B. An agency providing false, misleading or improper 
information to the Office of EMS will be ineligible for future 
grants for a period of five years. 

12VAC5-31-2950. Modification of an award. 

Any changes in the project, including any changes in the 
approved item(s), shall be permitted only by modification of 
the award. 

1. The grantee must request in writing the specific 
modifications desired and the reasons and circumstances 
necessitating such a request to the Office of EMS. 

2. The [ Office of EMS commissioner ] may modify, 
approve or deny the request for modification. 

12VAC5-31-2960. Suspension of an award. 

A. The [ Office of EMS commissioner ] may suspend an 
award and all disbursements of funds attached pending an 
investigation [ and following an informal fact-finding 
conference as defined in the Virginia Administrative Process 
Act (§2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) ]. 

B. There shall exist reasonable cause for suspension prior to 
such action by the [ Office of EMS commissioner ]. Such 
cause shall include:  

1. Failure to comply with these regulations, 

2. Violation of the terms of any conditions or agreements 
attached to an award, or 

3. A reasonable belief by the [ Office of EMS 
commissioner ] that any such violations might otherwise 
continue unabated. 

C. The Office of EMS shall notify the grantee of the 
suspension by certified mail to the last known address. 

D. A suspension shall take effect immediately upon receipt 
of notification unless otherwise specified. A suspension shall 
remain in effect until reinstated or revoked by the [ Office of 
EMS commissioner ]. 

12VAC5-31-2970. Revocation of an award. 

The [ Office of EMS commissioner ] may revoke an award 
and all disbursements of funds attached after [ a hearing an 
informal fact-finding conference as defined in the 
Administrative Process Act (§2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) ] or waiver thereof. 

1. Cause. There must exist reasonable cause for revocation 
prior to such action by the [ Office of EMS 
commissioner ].  

2. Notification. The Office of EMS must notify the grantee 
of the revocation by certified mail to the last known 
address. 

3. Period of [ Effect effect ]. A revocation shall be 
permanent unless and until overturned on appeal. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R03-158; Filed November 2, 2007, 1:59 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 
(adding 12VAC30-120-1500 through 12VAC30-120-1550). 

Statutory Authority: §§32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 26, 2007. 

Agency Contact: Teja Stokes, Division of Long Term Care, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad St., 
Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0527, 
FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
teja.stokes@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action establishes a new program, the 
Day Support Waiver for Individuals with Mental 
Retardation (Day Support Waiver) to provide day 
support and prevocational services for individuals who 
are waiting to receive services under the Mental 
Retardation Waiver (MR Waiver). The regulatory action 
contains definitions of MR Day Support Waiver terms; 
contains general coverage and requirements; outlines 
individual eligibility requirements; defines general 
requirements for home and community-based 
participating providers; defines participation standards 
for home and community-based waiver services 
participating providers; and further defines the covered 
services and outlines requirements for providers of these 
services. 

Changes to the proposed regulation are based upon both 
public comment and the agency's desire to align 
particular services that are similar in other waivers. 
There are definitions added for "date of need" and 
"supported employment" with substantial language 
added describing newly covered supported employment 
services. A change is made in the slot allocation process 
from a predominately state controlled to a predominately 
locality controlled process. Although the state will 
continue to allocate initial slots to localities, slot 
vacancies will be filled at the local, rather than the state 
level. The basic maintenance needs figure for an 
individual was changed from 100% of Supplemental 
Security Income to 165% of Supplemental Security 
Income. In addition, various time references are changed 
into business day references. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  
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Part X 

Day Support Waiver for Individuals With Mental Retardation 

12 VAC 30-120-1500. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 
have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Appeal" means the process used to challenge adverse 
actions regarding services, benefits, and reimbursement 
provided by Medicaid pursuant to 12VAC30-110 and 
12VAC30-20-500 through 12VAC30-20-560. 

"Behavioral health authority" or "BHA" means the local 
agency, established by a city or county under Chapter 6 
(§37.2-600 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia, that 
plans, provides, and evaluates mental health, mental 
retardation, and substance abuse services in the locality that it 
serves. 

"Case management" means the assessing and planning of 
services; linking the individual to services and supports 
identified in the consumer service plan; assisting the 
individual directly for the purpose of locating, developing or 
obtaining needed services and resources; coordinating 
services and service planning with other agencies and 
providers involved with the individual; enhancing community 
integration; making collateral contacts to promote the 
implementation of the consumer service plan and community 
integration; monitoring to assess ongoing progress and 
ensuring services are delivered; and education and counseling 
that guides the individual and develops a supportive 
relationship that promotes the consumer service plan. 

"Case manager" means the individual who performs case 
management services on behalf of the community services 
board or behavioral health authority, and who possesses a 
combination of mental retardation work experience and 
relevant education that indicates that the individual possesses 
the knowledge, skills and abilities as established by the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services in 12VAC30-50-
450. 

"CMS" means the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services, which is the unit of the federal Department of 
Health and Human Services that administers the Medicare 
and Medicaid programs.  

"Community services board" or "CSB" means the local 
agency, established by a city or county or combination of 
counties or cities under Chapter 5 (§37.2-500 et seq.) of Title 
37.2 of the Code of Virginia, that plans, provides, and 
evaluates mental health, mental retardation, and substance 
abuse services in the jurisdiction or jurisdictions it serves.  

"Comprehensive assessment" means the gathering of 
relevant social, psychological, medical, and level of care 

information by the case manager and is used as a basis for the 
development of the consumer service plan. 

"Consumer service plan" or "CSP" means documents 
addressing needs in all life areas of individuals who receive 
Day Support Waiver services, and is comprised of individual 
service plans as dictated by the individual's health care and 
support needs. The case manager incorporates the individual 
service plans in the CSP. 

[ "Date of need" means the date of the initial eligibility 
determination assigned to reflect that the individual is 
diagnostically and functionally eligible for the waiver and is 
willing to begin services within 30 days. The date of need is 
not changed unless the person is subsequently found 
ineligible or withdraws their request for services. ] 

"Day support [ services ]" means training, assistance, and 
specialized supervision in the acquisition, retention, or 
improvement of self-help, socialization, and adaptive skills, 
which typically take place outside the home in which the 
individual resides. Day support services shall focus on 
enabling the individual to attain or maintain his maximum 
functional level. 

"Day Support Waiver for Individuals with Mental 
Retardation" or "Day Support Waiver" [ is means  ]  the 
program that provides day support [ , and ] prevocational 
services [ , and supported employment ] to individuals on the 
Mental Retardation Waiver waiting list who have been 
assigned a Day Support Waiver slot. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services. 

"DMAS staff" means persons employed by the Department 
of Medical Assistance Services. 

"DMHMRSAS" means the Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services. 

"DMHMRSAS staff" means persons employed by the 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services. 

"DRS" means the Department of Rehabilitative Services. 

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services. 

"Enroll" means that the individual has been determined by 
the case manager to meet the eligibility requirements for the 
Day Support Waiver and DMHMRSAS has verified the 
availability of a Day Support Waiver slot for that individual, 
and DSS has determined the individual’s Medicaid eligibility 
for home and community-based services. 

"EPSDT" means the Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis 
and Treatment program administered by DMAS for children 
under the age of 21 according to federal guidelines that 
prescribe preventive and treatment services for Medicaid-
eligible children as defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 
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"Home and community-based waiver services" or "waiver 
services" means the range of community support services 
approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS) pursuant to §1915(c) of the Social Security Act to be 
offered to persons with mental retardation who would 
otherwise require the level of care provided in an 
Intermediate Care Facility for the Mentally Retarded 
(ICF/MR). 

"Individual" means the person receiving the services or 
evaluations established in these regulations. 

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the service plan 
related solely to the specific waiver service. Multiple ISPs 
help to comprise the overall consumer service plan. 

"Intermediate Care Facility for the Mentally Retarded" or 
"ICF/MR" means a facility or distinct part of a facility 
certified by the Virginia Department of Health as meeting the 
federal certification regulations for an intermediate care 
facility for the mentally retarded and persons with related 
conditions. These facilities must address the total needs of the 
residents, which include physical, intellectual, social, 
emotional, and habilitation, and must provide active 
treatment. 

"Mental retardation" or "MR" means mental retardation as 
defined by the American Association on Mental Retardation 
(AAMR). 

"Participating provider" means an entity that meets the 
standards and requirements set forth by DMAS and 
DMHMRSAS, and has a current, signed provider 
participation agreement with DMAS. 

"Preauthorized" means that an individual service has been 
approved by DMHMRSAS prior to commencement of the 
service by the service provider for initiation and 
reimbursement of services. 

"Prevocational services" means services aimed at preparing 
an individual for paid or unpaid employment, but are not job-
task oriented. Prevocational services are provided to 
individuals who are not expected to be able to join the general 
work force without supports or to participate in a transitional 
sheltered workshop within one year of beginning waiver 
services (excluding supported employment programs). The 
services do not include activities that are specifically job-task 
oriented but focus on concepts such as accepting supervision, 
attendance, task completion, problem solving and safety. 
Compensation, if provided, is less than 50% of the minimum 
wage. 

"Slot" means an opening or vacancy of waiver services for 
an individual. 

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "Plan" means the 
Commonwealth’s legal document approved by CMS 
identifying the covered groups, covered services and their 

limitations, and provider reimbursement methodologies as 
provided for under Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

[ "Supported employment" means work in settings in which 
persons without disabilities are typically employed. It 
includes training in specific skills related to paid employment 
and the provision of ongoing or intermittent assistance and 
specialized supervision to enable an individual with mental 
retardation to maintain paid employment. ] 

12VAC30-120-1510. General coverage and requirements 
for Day Support Waiver services. 

A. Waiver service populations. Home and community-based 
waiver services shall be available through a §1915(c) of the 
Social Security Act waiver for individuals with mental 
retardation who have been determined to require the level of 
care provided in an ICF/MR. 

B. Covered services. 

1. Covered services shall include day support services 
[ and , ] prevocational services [ and supported 
employment services ]. 

2. These services shall be appropriate and necessary to 
maintain the individual in the community. Federal waiver 
requirements provide that the average per capita fiscal year 
expenditures under the waiver must not exceed the average 
per capita expenditures for the level of care provided in an 
ICF/MR under the State Plan that would have been 
provided had the waiver not been granted. 

3. Waiver services shall not be furnished to individuals 
who are inpatients of a hospital, nursing facility, ICF/MR, 
or inpatient rehabilitation facility. Individuals with mental 
retardation who are inpatients of these facilities may 
receive case management services as described in 
12VAC30-50-440. The case manager may recommend 
waiver services that would promote exiting from the 
institutional placement; however, these services shall not 
be provided until the individual has exited the institution. 

4. Under this §1915(c) waiver, DMAS waives 
§1902(a)(10)(B) of the Social Security Act related to 
comparability. 

C. Appeals. Individual appeals shall be considered pursuant 
to 12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-110-380. Provider 
appeals shall be considered pursuant to 12VAC30-10-1000 
and 12VAC30-20-500 through 12VAC30-20-560. 

D. Slot allocation.  

1. DMHMRSAS will maintain one waiting list, the MR 
Waiver waiting list described in Part IV (12VAC30-120-
211 et seq.) of this chapter, which will be used to assign 
slots in both the MR Waiver and Day Support Waiver. For 
Day Support Waiver services, [ DMHMRSAS will assign ] 
slots [ will be assigned ] based on the [ application ] date 
[ of need ] reported by the case manager when the 
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individual was placed on the MR Waiver waiting list 
[ while assuring that each CSB has at least one Day 
Support Waiver slot ].  Individuals interested in receiving 
Day Support Waiver services who are not currently on the 
MR Waiver waiting list may apply for services through the 
local CSB and if found eligible will be placed on the MR 
Waiver waiting list until a slot is available. 

2. Each CSB will be assigned one Day Support Waiver slot 
by DMHMRSAS. [ This slot will remain a CSB slot that, 
when vacated, will be offered to the next individual on the 
MR Waiver waiting list from that CSB. ] The remaining 
slots will be distributed to the [ CSBs by DMHMRSAS 
based on the statewide CSBs/BHAs based on the 
percentage of individual cases when compared to the 
statewide total of cases on the ] MR Waiver waiting list. 
[ When vacated, these slots will be assigned by 
DMHMRSAS to the next individual on the waiting list, 
based upon the application date. All slots shall be allocated 
based on the individual’s date of need and will remain 
CSB/BHA slots that, when vacated, will be offered to the 
next individual on the MR Waiver waiting list from that 
CSB/BHA based upon the date of need. ] 

3. Individuals may remain on the MR Waiver waiting list 
while receiving Day Support Waiver services. 

E. Reevaluation of service need and utilization review. Case 
managers shall complete reviews and updates of the CSP and 
level of care as specified in 12VAC30-120-1520 D. Providers 
shall meet the documentation requirements as specified in 
12VAC30-120-1530 B. 

12VAC30-120-1520. Individual eligibility requirements. 

A. Individuals receiving services under the Day Support 
Waiver must meet the following requirements. Virginia will 
apply the financial eligibility criteria contained in the Title 
XIX State Plan for Medical Assistance for the categorically 
needy. Virginia has elected to cover the optional categorically 
needy groups under 42 CFR 435.211, 435.217, and 435.230. 
The income level used for 42 CFR 435.211, 435.217 and 
435.230 is 300% of the current Supplemental Security 
Income payment standard for one person.  

1. Under the Day Support Waiver, the coverage groups 
authorized under §1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VI) of the Social 
Security Act will be considered as if they were 
institutionalized for the purpose of applying institutional 
deeming rules. All recipients under the waiver must meet 
the financial and nonfinancial Medicaid eligibility criteria 
and meet the institutional level of care criteria. The 
deeming rules are applied to waiver-eligible individuals as 
if the individual were residing in an institution or would 
require that level of care.  

2. Virginia shall reduce its payment for home and 
community-based waiver services provided to an 

individual who is eligible for Medicaid services under 42 
CFR 435.217 by that amount of the individual's total 
income (including amounts disregarded in determining 
eligibility) that remains after allowable deductions for 
personal maintenance needs, deductions for other 
dependents, and medical needs have been made, according 
to the guidelines in 42 CFR 435.735 and §1915(c)(3) of the 
Social Security Act as amended by the Consolidated 
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1986. DMAS will 
reduce its payment for home and community-based waiver 
services by the amount that remains after the deductions 
listed below:  

a. For individuals to whom §1924(d) applies and for 
whom Virginia waives the requirement for comparability 
pursuant to §1902(a)(10)(B), deduct the following in the 
respective order:  

(1) The basic maintenance needs for an individual, which 
is equal to [ 165% of ] the SSI payment for one person. 
Due to expenses of employment, a working individual 
shall have an additional income allowance. For an 
individual employed 20 hours or more per week, earned 
income shall be disregarded up to a maximum of both 
earned and unearned income up to 300% SSI; for an 
individual employed at least eight but less than 20 hours 
per week, earned income shall be disregarded up to a 
maximum of both earned and unearned income up to 
200% of SSI. If the individual requires a guardian or 
conservator who charges a fee, the fee, not to exceed an 
amount greater than 5.0% of the individual's total 
monthly income, is added to the maintenance needs 
allowance. However, in no case shall the total amount of 
the maintenance needs allowance (basic allowance plus 
earned income allowance plus guardianship fees) for the 
individual exceed 300% of SSI. 

(2) For an individual with only a spouse at home, the 
community spousal income allowance determined in 
accordance with §1924(d) of the Social Security Act. 

(3) For an individual with a spouse or children at home, 
an additional amount for the maintenance needs of the 
family determined in accordance with §1924(d) of the 
Social Security Act. 

(4) Amounts for incurred expenses for medical or 
remedial care that are not subject to payment by a third 
party including Medicare and other health insurance 
premiums, deductibles, or coinsurance charges, and 
necessary medical or remedial care recognized under 
state law but not covered under the plan. 

b. For individuals to whom §1924(d) does not apply and 
for whom Virginia waives the requirement for 
comparability pursuant to §1902(a)(10)(B), deduct the 
following in the respective order:  
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(1) The basic maintenance needs for an individual, which 
is equal to [ 165% of ] the SSI payment for one person. 
Due to expenses of employment, a working individual 
shall have an additional income allowance. For an 
individual employed 20 hours or more per week, earned 
income shall be disregarded up to a maximum of both 
earned and unearned income up to 300% SSI; for an 
individual employed at least eight but less than 20 hours 
per week, earned income shall be disregarded up to a 
maximum of both earned and unearned income up to 
200% of SSI. If the individual requires a guardian or 
conservator who charges a fee, the fee, not to exceed an 
amount greater than 5.0% of the individual's total 
monthly income, is added to the maintenance needs 
allowance. However, in no case shall the total amount of 
the maintenance needs allowance (basic allowance plus 
earned income allowance plus guardianship fees) for the 
individual exceed 300% of SSI.  

(2) For an individual with a dependent child or children, 
an additional amount for the maintenance needs of the 
child or children, which shall be equal to the Title XIX 
medically needy income standard based on the number of 
dependent children. 

(3) Amounts for incurred expenses for medical or 
remedial care that are not subject to payment by a third 
party including Medicare and other health insurance 
premiums, deductibles, or coinsurance charges and 
necessary medical or remedial care recognized under 
state law but not covered under the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance. 

B. Assessment and enrollment.  

1. To ensure that Virginia's home and community-based 
waiver programs serve only individuals who would 
otherwise be placed in an ICF/MR, home and community-
based waiver services shall be considered only for 
individuals with a diagnosis of mental retardation. For the 
case manager to make a recommendation for waiver 
services, Day Support Waiver services must be determined 
to be an appropriate service alternative to delay or avoid 
placement in an ICF/MR, or promote exiting from either an 
ICF/MR placement or other institutional placement. 

2. The case manager shall recommend the individual for 
home and community-based waiver services after 
completion of a comprehensive assessment of the 
individual's needs and available supports. This assessment 
process for home and community-based waiver services by 
the case manager is mandatory before Medicaid will 
assume payment responsibility of home and community-
based waiver services. The comprehensive assessment 
includes: 

a. Relevant medical information based on a medical 
examination completed no earlier than 12 months prior to 
beginning waiver services;  

b. The case manager’s functional assessment that 
demonstrates a need for each specific service. The 
functional assessment must be a DMHMRSAS-approved 
assessment completed no earlier than 12 months prior to 
beginning waiver services; 

c. The level of care required by applying the existing 
DMAS ICF/MR criteria, Part VI (12VAC30-130-430 et 
seq.) of 12VAC30-130, completed no more than six 
months prior to the start of waiver services. The case 
manager determines whether the individual meets the 
ICF/MR criteria with input from the individual, 
family/caregivers, and service and support providers 
involved in the individual's support in the community; 
and 

d. A psychological evaluation that reflects the current 
psychological status (diagnosis), current cognitive abilities, 
and current adaptive level of functioning of the individuals. 

3. The case manager shall provide the individual and 
family/caregiver with the choice of Day Support Waiver 
services or ICF/MR placement.  

4. The case manager shall send the appropriate forms to 
DMHMRSAS to enroll the individual in the Day Support 
Waiver or, if no slot is available, to place the individual on 
the Mental Retardation Waiver waiting list. DMHMRSAS 
shall only enroll the individual if a slot is available. 

C. Waiver approval process; authorizing and accessing 
services.  

1. Once the case manager has determined an individual 
meets the criteria for Day Support Waiver services, has 
determined that a slot is available, and that the individual 
has chosen this service, the case manager shall submit 
updated enrollment information to DMHMRSAS to 
confirm level of care eligibility and the availability of a 
slot. 

2. Once the individual has been enrolled by DMHMRSAS, 
the case manager will submit a DMAS-122 along with a 
written confirmation from DMHMRSAS of level of care 
eligibility, to the local DSS to determine financial 
eligibility for the waiver program and any patient pay 
responsibilities.  

3. After the case manager has received written notification 
of Medicaid eligibility by DSS and written enrollment 
confirmation from DMHMRSAS, the case manager shall 
inform the individual or family/caregiver so that the CSP 
can be developed. The individual or individual's 
family/caregiver will meet with the case manager within 30 
calendar days following the receipt of written notification 
[ of DMHMRSAS enrollment ] to discuss the individual's 
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needs and existing supports, and to develop a CSP that will 
establish and document the needed services. The case 
manager provides the individual and family/caregiver with 
choice of needed services available under the Day Support 
Waiver, alternative settings and providers. A CSP shall be 
developed with the individual based on the assessment of 
needs as reflected in the level of care and functional 
assessment instruments and the individual's, 
family/caregiver's preferences. The CSP development 
process identifies the services to be rendered to 
individuals, the frequency of services, the type of service 
provider or providers, and a description of the services to 
be offered. Only services  [ authorized ] on the CSP 
[ authorized ] by DMHMRSAS according to DMAS 
policies will be reimbursed by DMAS.  

4. The individual or case manager shall contact [ the 
service providers ] chosen [ by the individual/family 
caregiver, as appropriate, ] so that services can be initiated 
within 60 days of receipt of enrollment confirmation from 
DMHMRSAS. The service providers in conjunction with 
the individual, individual’s family/caregiver and case 
manager will develop Individual Service Plans (ISP) for 
each service. A copy of [ these plans each ISP ] will be 
submitted to the case manager. The case manager will 
review and ensure [ the that each ] ISP meets the 
established service criteria for the identified needs. The 
ISP from each waiver service provider shall be 
incorporated into the CSP. 

5. If waiver services are not initiated within 60 days from 
receipt of enrollment confirmation, the case manager must 
submit written information to DMHMRSAS requesting 
more time to initiate services. A copy of the request must 
be provided to the individual or the individual's 
family/caregiver. DMHMRSAS has the authority to 
approve the request in 30-day extensions, up to a 
maximum of four consecutive extensions, or to deny the 
request to retain the waiver slot for that individual. 
DMHMRSAS shall provide a written response to the case 
manager indicating denial or approval of the extension. 
DMHMRSAS shall submit this response within 10 
[ working business ] days of the receipt of the request for 
extension. 

6. The case manager must submit the results of the 
comprehensive assessment and a recommendation to the 
DMHMRSAS staff for final determination of ICF/MR 
level of care and authorization for community-based 
services. DMHMRSAS shall, within 10 [ working 
business ] days of receiving all supporting documentation, 
review and approve, pend for more information, or deny 
the individual service requests. DMHMRSAS will 
communicate in writing to the case manager whether the 
recommended services have been approved and the 
amounts and type of services authorized or if any have 

been denied. Medicaid will not pay for any home and 
community-based waiver services delivered prior to the 
authorization date approved by DMHMRSAS if 
preauthorization is required. 

7. Day Support Waiver services may be recommended by 
the case manager only if: 

a. The individual is Medicaid eligible as determined by 
the local office of the Department of Social Services;  

b. The individual has a diagnosis of mental retardation as 
defined by the American Association on Mental 
Retardation and would in the absence of waiver services, 
require the level of care provided in an ICF/MR facility, 
the cost of which would be reimbursed under the Plan; 
and  

c. The contents of the individual service plans are 
consistent with the Medicaid definition of each service. 

8. All [ consumer service plans CSPs ] are subject to 
approval by DMAS. DMAS shall be the single state 
agency authority responsible for the supervision of the 
administration of the Day Support Waiver and is 
responsible for conducting utilization review activities. 
DMHMRSAS shall conduct preauthorization of waiver 
services. 

D. Reevaluation of service need. 

1. The consumer service plan. 

a. The case manager shall update the CSP annually based 
on relevant, current assessment data; in updating the 
CSP, the case manager shall work with the individual, 
the individual's family/caregiver, other service providers, 
consultants, and other interested parties. 

b. The case manager shall be responsible for continuous 
monitoring of the appropriateness of the individual's 
services and revisions to the CSP as indicated by the 
changing needs of the individual. At a minimum, the case 
manager must review the CSP every three months to 
determine whether service goals and objectives are being 
met and whether any modifications to the CSP are 
necessary. 

c. Any modification to the amount or type of services in 
the CSP must be approved by the individual or 
family/caregiver and authorized by DMHMRSAS.  

2. Review of level of care.  

a. The case manager shall complete a reassessment 
annually, in coordination with the individual, 
family/caregiver, and service providers. The 
reassessment shall include an update of the level of care 
and functional assessment instrument and any other 
appropriate assessment data. If warranted, the case 
manager shall coordinate a medical examination and a 
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psychological evaluation for the individual. The CSP 
shall be revised as appropriate. 

b. A medical examination must be completed for adults 
based on need identified by the individual, 
family/caregiver, provider, case manager, or 
DMHMRSAS staff. Medical examinations and 
screenings for children must be completed according to 
the recommended frequency and periodicity of the 
EPSDT program. 

c. A new psychological evaluation shall be required 
whenever the individual's functioning has undergone 
significant change and is no longer reflective of the past 
psychological evaluation.  

3. The case manager will monitor the service providers' 
ISPs to ensure that all providers are working toward the 
identified goals of the affected individuals. 

4. Case managers will be required to conduct monthly 
visits at the assisted living facility or approved adult foster 
care placement for all Day Support Waiver individuals 
residing in DSS-licensed or DSS-regulated placements. 

5. The case manager must request an updated DMAS-122 
form from DSS annually and forward a copy of the 
updated DMAS-122 form to all service providers when 
obtained. 

12VAC30-120-1530. General requirements for home and 
community-based participating providers. 

A. Providers approved for participation shall, at a minimum, 
perform the following activities:  

1. Immediately notify DMAS and DMHMRSAS, in 
writing, of any change in the information that the provider 
previously submitted to DMAS and DMHMRSAS;  

2. Assure freedom of choice to individuals in seeking 
services from any institution, pharmacy, practitioner, or 
other provider qualified to perform the service or services 
required and participating in the Medicaid program at the 
time the service or services were performed;  

3. Assure the individual's freedom to refuse medical care, 
treatment and services;  

4. Accept referrals for services only when staff is available 
to initiate services and perform such services on an 
ongoing basis;  

5. Provide services and supplies to individuals in full 
compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 
as amended (42 USC §2000d et seq.), which prohibits 
discrimination on the grounds of race, color, or national 
origin; the Virginians with Disabilities Act (§51.5-1 et seq. 
of the Code of Virginia); §504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 
1973, as amended (29 USC §794), which prohibits 
discrimination on the basis of a disability; and the 

Americans with Disabilities Act, as amended (42 USC 
§12101 et seq.), which provides comprehensive civil rights 
protections to individuals with disabilities in the areas of 
employment, public accommodations, state and local 
government services, and telecommunications;  

6. Provide services and supplies to individuals of the same 
quality and in the same mode of delivery as provided to the 
general public;  

7. Submit charges to DMAS for the provision of services 
and supplies to individuals in amounts not to exceed the 
provider's usual and customary charges to the general 
public and accept as payment in full the amount 
established by DMAS payment methodology from the 
individual's authorization date for the waiver services;  

8. Use program-designated billing forms for submission of 
charges;  

9. Maintain and retain business and professional records 
sufficient to document fully and accurately the nature, 
scope, and details of the services provided:  

a. In general, such records shall be retained for at least 
six years from the last date of service or as provided by 
applicable state or federal laws, whichever period is 
longer. However, if an audit is initiated within the 
required retention period, the records shall be retained 
until the audit is completed and every exception resolved. 
Records of minors shall be kept for at least six years after 
such minor has reached the age of 18 years.  

b. Policies regarding retention of records shall apply even 
if the provider discontinues operation. DMAS shall be 
notified in writing of storage location and procedures for 
obtaining records for review should the need arise. The 
location, agent, or trustee shall be within the 
Commonwealth of Virginia;  

10. Agree to furnish information on request and in the form 
requested to DMAS, DMHMRSAS, the Attorney General 
of Virginia or his authorized representatives, federal 
personnel, and the state Medicaid Fraud Control Unit. The 
Commonwealth's right of access to provider premises and 
records shall survive any termination of the provider 
agreement;  

11. Disclose, as requested by DMAS, all financial, 
beneficial, ownership, equity, surety, or other interests in 
any and all firms, corporations, partnerships, associations, 
business enterprises, joint ventures, agencies, institutions, 
or other legal entities providing any form of health care 
services to recipients of Medicaid;  

12. Hold confidential and use for authorized purposes only 
all medical assistance information regarding individuals 
served, pursuant to 42 CFR Part 431, Subpart F, 
12VAC30-20-90, and any other applicable state or federal 
law;  
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13. Notify DMAS when ownership of the provider changes 
at least 15 calendar days before the date of change;  

14. Properly report cases of suspected abuse or neglect. 
Pursuant to §§63.2-1509 and 63.2-1606 of the Code of 
Virginia, if a participating provider knows or suspects that 
a home and community-based waiver service individual is 
being abused, neglected, or exploited, the party having 
knowledge or suspicion of the abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation shall report this immediately from first 
knowledge to the local DSS adult or child protective 
services worker and to DMHMRSAS Offices of Licensing 
and Human Rights as applicable; and  

15. Adhere to the provider participation agreement and the 
DMAS provider manual. In addition to compliance with 
the general conditions and requirements, all providers 
enrolled by DMAS shall adhere to the conditions of 
participation outlined in their individual provider 
participation agreements and in the DMAS provider 
manual.  

B. Documentation requirements.  

1. The case manager must maintain the following 
documentation for utilization review by DMAS for a 
period of not less than six years from each individual's last 
date of service:  

a. The comprehensive assessment and all CSPs 
completed for the individual;  

b. All ISPs from every provider rendering waiver 
services to the individual;  

c. All supporting documentation related to any change in 
the CSP; 

d. All related communication with the individual, 
family/caregiver, consultants, providers, DMHMRSAS, 
DMAS, DSS, DRS or other related parties;  

e. An ongoing log that documents all contacts made by 
the case manager related to the individual and 
family/caregiver; and  

f. A copy of the current DMAS-122 form. 

2. The service providers must maintain, for a period of not 
less than six years from the individual's last date of service, 
documentation necessary to support services billed. DMAS 
staff shall conduct utilization review of individual-specific 
documentation. This documentation shall contain, up to 
and including the last date of service, all of the following:  

a. All assessments and reassessments;  

b. All ISPs developed for that individual and the written 
reviews;  

c. An attendance log that documents the date services 
were rendered, as well as documentation of the amount 
and type of services rendered;  

d. Appropriate data, contact notes, or progress notes 
reflecting an individual's status and, as appropriate, 
progress or lack of progress toward the goals on the ISP;  

e. Any documentation to support that services provided 
are appropriate and necessary to maintain the individual 
in the home and in the community; and  

f. A copy of the current DMAS-122 form. 

C. An individual's case manager shall not be the direct staff 
person or the immediate supervisor of a staff person who 
provides Day Support Waiver services for the individual. 

12VAC30-120-1540. Participation standards for home and 
community-based waiver services participating providers. 

A. Requests for provider participation will be screened to 
determine whether the provider applicant meets the basic 
requirements for participation. 

B. For DMAS to approve provider agreements with home 
and community-based waiver providers, the following 
standards shall be met: 

1. Licensure and certification requirements pursuant to 42 
CFR 441.302; 

2. Disclosure of ownership pursuant to 42 CFR 455.104 
and 455.105; and 

3. The ability to document and maintain individual case 
records in accordance with state and federal requirements. 

C. The case manager must inform the individual of all 
available waiver [ service ] providers. The individual shall 
have the option of selecting the provider of his choice from 
among those providers meeting the individual's needs. 

D. DMAS shall be responsible for [ assuring reviewing ] 
continued adherence to provider participation standards. 
DMAS shall conduct ongoing monitoring of compliance with 
provider participation standards and DMAS policies and 
periodically recertify each provider for participation 
agreement renewal with DMAS to provide home and 
community-based waiver services. 

E. A participating provider may voluntarily terminate his 
participation in Medicaid by providing 30 days' written 
notification. DMAS may terminate at will a provider's 
participation agreement on 30 days' written notice as 
specified in the DMAS participation agreement. DMAS may 
also immediately terminate a provider's participation 
agreement if the provider is no longer eligible to participate in 
the program. Such action precludes further payment by 
DMAS for services provided to individuals subsequent to the 
date of termination.  
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F. A provider shall have the right to appeal action taken by 
DMAS [ . Provider appeals shall be considered ] pursuant to 
12VAC30-10-1000 and 12VAC30-20-500 through 
12VAC30-20-560. 

G. Section 32.1-325 D 2 of the Code of Virginia mandates 
that "Any such Medicaid agreement or contract shall 
terminate upon conviction of the provider of a felony." A 
provider convicted of a felony in Virginia or in any other of 
the 50 states or Washington, D.C., must, within 30 days, 
notify the Medicaid Program of this conviction and relinquish 
its provider agreement. In addition, termination of a provider 
participation agreement will occur as may be required for 
federal financial participation.  

H. Case manager's responsibility for the Individual 
Information Form (DMAS-122). It shall be the responsibility 
of the case management provider to notify DMHMRSAS and 
DSS, in writing, within five business days of being informed 
of any of the circumstances described in this subsection:  

1. Home and community-based waiver services are 
initiated. 

2. A recipient dies.  

3. A recipient is discharged from Day Support Waiver 
services. 

4. Any other circumstances (including hospitalization) that 
cause home and community-based waiver services to cease 
or be interrupted for more than 30 days. 

5. A selection by the individual or family/caregiver of a 
different community services board/behavioral health 
authority providing case management services. 

I. Changes or termination of services. DMHMRSAS shall 
authorize changes to an individual's CSP based on the 
recommendations of the case [ management provider 
manager ] . Providers of [ direct service waiver services ] are 
responsible for modifying their Individual Service Plans 
(ISPs) with the involvement of the individual or 
family/caregiver, and submitting them to the case manager 
any time there is a change in the individual's condition or 
circumstances that may warrant a change in the amount or 
type of service rendered. The case manager will review the 
need for a change and may recommend a change to the ISP to 
the DMHMRSAS staff. DMHMRSAS will review and 
approve, deny, or pend for additional information the 
requested change to the individual's ISP, and communicate 
this to the case manager within 10 [ working business ] days 
of receiving all supporting documentation regarding the 
request for change or in the case of an emergency, within [ 72 
hours three business days ] of receipt of the request for 
change.  

The individual or family/caregiver will be notified, in 
writing, of the right to appeal the decision or decisions to 
reduce, terminate, suspend or deny services pursuant to 

DMAS client appeals regulations, Part I (12VAC30-110-10 et 
seq.) of 12VAC 30-110. The case manager must submit this 
notification to the individual in writing within 10 [ calendar 
business ] days of the decision. All CSPs are subject to 
approval by the Medicaid agency. 

1. In a nonemergency situation, the participating provider 
shall give the individual or family/caregiver and case 
manager [ 12 calendar 10 business ] days prior written 
notice of the provider's intent to discontinue services. The 
notification letter shall provide the reasons why and the 
effective date the provider is discontinuing services. The 
effective date that services will be discontinued shall be at 
least [ 12 calendar 10 business ] days from the date of the 
notification letter. 

2. In an emergency situation, when the health and safety of 
the individual, other individuals in that setting, or provider 
personnel is endangered, the case manager and 
DMHMRSAS must be notified prior to the provider 
discontinuing services. The [ 12 calendar 10 business ] day 
written notification period shall not be required. If 
appropriate, the local DSS adult protective services or 
child protective services and DMHMRSAS Offices of 
Licensing and Human Rights must be notified 
immediately. 

3. In the case of termination of home and community-
based waiver services by the CSB/BHA, DMHMRSAS or 
DMAS staff, individuals shall be notified of their appeal 
rights by the case manager pursuant to Part I (12VAC30-
110-10 et seq.) of 12VAC30-110. The case manager shall 
have the responsibility to identify those individuals who no 
longer meet the level of care criteria or for whom home 
and community-based waiver services are no longer an 
appropriate alternative. 

12VAC30-120-1550. Services: day support services [ and 
, ] prevocational services [ and supported employment 
services ]. 

A. Service descriptions. 

1. Day support means training, assistance, and specialized 
supervision in the acquisition, retention, or improvement of 
self-help, socialization, and adaptive skills, which typically 
take place outside the home in which the individual 
resides. Day support services shall focus on enabling the 
individual to attain or maintain his maximum functional 
level. 

2. Prevocational services means services aimed at 
preparing an individual for paid or unpaid employment, but 
are not job-task oriented.  Prevocational services are 
provided to individuals who are not expected to be able to 
join the general work force without supports or to 
participate in a transitional sheltered workshop within one 
year of beginning waiver services (excluding supported 
employment programs). The services do not include 
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activities that are specifically job-task oriented but focus 
on concepts such as accepting supervision, attendance, task 
completion, problem solving and safety. Compensation, if 
provided, is less than 50% of the minimum wage.  

[ 3. Supported employment services are provided in work 
settings where persons without disabilities are employed. It 
is especially designed for individuals with developmental 
disabilities, including individuals with mental retardation, 
who face severe impediments to employment due to the 
nature and complexity of their disabilities, irrespective of 
age or vocational potential. 

a. Supported employment services are available to 
individuals for whom competitive employment at or 
above the minimum wage is unlikely without ongoing 
supports and who because of their disability need 
ongoing support to perform in a work setting. 

b. Supported employment can be provided in one of two 
models. Individual supported employment shall be 
defined as intermittent support, usually provided one-on-
one by a job coach to an individual in a supported 
employment position. Group-supported employment 
shall be defined as continuous support provided by staff 
to eight or fewer individuals with disabilities in an 
enclave, work crew, bench work, or entrepreneurial 
model. The individual's assessment and CSP must clearly 
reflect the individual's need for training and supports. ] 

B. Criteria.  

1. For day support services, individuals must demonstrate 
the need for functional training, assistance, and specialized 
supervision offered primarily in settings other than the 
individual's own residence that allow an opportunity for 
being productive and contributing members of 
communities. 

2. For prevocational services, the individual must 
demonstrate the need for support in skills that are aimed 
toward preparation of paid employment that may be 
offered in a variety of community settings. 

[ 3. For supported employment, the individual shall have 
demonstrated that competitive employment at or above the 
minimum wage is unlikely without ongoing supports, and 
that because of his disability, he needs ongoing support to 
perform in a work setting. 

a. Only job development tasks that specifically include 
the individual are allowable job search activities under 
the Day Support waiver supported employment and only 
after determining this service is not available from DRS. 

b. A functional assessment must be conducted to evaluate 
the individual in his work environment and related 
community settings. ] 

C. Service types.  

The amount and type of [ day support and prevocational ] 
services included in the individual's service plan is 
determined according to the services required for that 
individual. There are two types of services: center-based, 
which is provided primarily at one location/building, and 
noncenter-based, which is provided primarily in community 
settings. Both types of services may be provided at either 
intensive or regular levels. [ For supported employment, the 
ISP must document the amount of supported employment 
required by the individual. Service providers are reimbursed 
only for the amount and type of supported employment 
included in the individual's ISP. ] 

D. Intensive level criteria. [ To For day support and 
prevocational services to ] be authorized at the intensive 
level, the individual must meet at least one of the following 
criteria: (i) require physical assistance to meet the basic 
personal care needs (toileting, feeding, etc); (ii) have 
extensive disability-related difficulties and require additional, 
ongoing support to fully participate in programming and to 
accomplish his service goals; or (iii) require extensive 
constant supervision to reduce or eliminate behaviors that 
preclude full participation in the program. In this case, written 
behavioral objectives are required to address behaviors such 
as, but not limited to, withdrawal, self-injury, aggression, or 
self-stimulation.  

E. Service units.  

[ Services Day support, prevocational and group models of 
supported employment (enclaves, work crews, bench work 
and entrepreneurial model of supported employment) ]  are 
billed in units. Units shall be defined as: 

1. One unit is 1 to 3.99 hours of service a day.  

2. Two units are 4 to 6.99 hours of service a day.  

3. Three units are 7 or more hours of service a day. 

[ 4. Supported employment for individual job placement is 
provided in one-hour units. ] 

F. Service limitations. 

1. There must be separate supporting documentation for 
each service and each must be clearly differentiated in 
documentation and corresponding billing. 

2. The supporting documentation must provide an estimate 
of the amount of services required by the individual. 
Service providers are reimbursed only for the amount and 
type of services included in the individual's approved ISP 
based on the setting, intensity, and duration of the service 
to be delivered. 

3. [ Services Day support, prevocational and group models 
of supported employment services ] shall be limited to a 
total of 780 units per CSP year. If an individual receives a 
combination of day support, [ and ] prevocational [ and/or 
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supported employment ] services, the combined total shall 
not exceed 780 units per CSP year. 

[ 4. The individual job placement model of supported 
employment is limited to 40 hours per week. ] 

[ 4. 5. ] For day support services: 

a. Day support cannot be regularly or temporarily 
provided in an individual's home or other residential 
setting (e.g., due to inclement weather or individual 
illness) without prior written approval from 
DMHMRSAS.  

b. Noncenter-based day support services must be separate 
and distinguishable from other services. 

[ 6. For the individual job placement model, 
reimbursement of supported employment will be limited to 
actual documented interventions or collateral contacts by 
the provider, not the amount of time the individual is in the 
supported employment situation. ] 

G. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 
conditions and requirements for home and community-based 
participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-217 and 
12VAC30-120-219, service providers must meet the 
following requirements:  

1. The provider of day support services must be licensed 
by DMHMRSAS as a provider of day support services. 
The provider of prevocational services must be a vendor of 
extended employment services, long-term employment 
services, or supported employment services for DRS, or be 
licensed by DMHMRSAS as a provider of day support 
services. 

[ 2. Supported employment shall be provided only by 
agencies that are DRS vendors of supported employment 
services; ] 

[ 2. 3. ] In addition to any licensing requirements, persons 
providing [ day support or prevocational ] services are 
required to participate in training in the characteristics of 
mental retardation and appropriate interventions, training 
strategies, and support methods for persons with mental 
retardation and functional limitations prior to providing 
direct services. All providers of services must pass an 
objective, standardized test of skills, knowledge, and 
abilities approved by DMHMRSAS and administered 
according to DMHMRSAS’ defined procedures. 

[ 3. 4. ]  Required documentation in the individual's record. 
The provider agency must maintain records of each 
individual receiving services. At a minimum these records 
must contain the following: 

a. A functional assessment conducted by the provider to 
evaluate each individual in the service environment and 
community settings. 

b. An ISP that contains, at a minimum, the following 
elements:  

(1) The individual's strengths, desired outcomes, required 
or desired supports and training needs; 

(2) The individual's goals and [ , for a training goal ] a 
sequence of measurable objectives to meet the above 
identified outcomes;  

(3) Services to be rendered and the frequency of services 
to accomplish the above goals and objectives;  

(4) A timetable for the accomplishment of the 
individual's goals and objectives as appropriate;  

(5) The estimated duration of the individual's needs for 
services; and  

(6) The provider staff responsible for the overall 
coordination and integration of the services specified in 
the ISP. 

[ c. d. ] Documentation confirming the individual's 
attendance and amount of time in services, type of 
services rendered, and specific information regarding the 
individual's response to various settings and supports as 
agreed to in the ISP objectives. An attendance log or 
similar document must be maintained that indicates the 
date, type of services rendered, and the number of hours 
and units provided. 

[ d. e. ] Documentation indicating whether [ the day 
support or prevocational ] services were center-based or 
noncenter-based. 

[ e. f. ]  In instances where staff are required to ride with 
the individual to and from the service in order to provide 
needed supports as specified in the ISP, the staff time can 
be billed as day support, [ or ] prevocational [ or 
supported employment ] services, provided that the 
billing for this time does not exceed 25% of the total time 
spent in the day support, [ or ] prevocational [ or 
supported employment ] activity for that day. 
Documentation must be maintained to verify that billing 
for staff coverage during transportation does not exceed 
25% of the total time spent in the service for that day. 

[ f. g. ] If intensive [ day support or prevocational ] 
services are requested, documentation indicating the 
specific supports and the reasons they are needed. For 
ongoing intensive services, there must be clear 
documentation of the ongoing needs and associated staff 
supports. 

[ g. h. ] The ISP goals, objectives, and activities must be 
reviewed by the provider quarterly, annually, and more 
often as needed and the results of the review submitted to 
the case manager. For the annual review and in cases 
where the ISP is modified, the ISP must be reviewed 
with the individual or family/caregiver. 
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[ h. i. ] Copy of the most recently completed DMAS-122 
form. The provider must clearly document efforts to 
obtain the completed DMAS-122 form from the case 
manager. 

[ i. j. ] For prevocational [ or supported employment ] 
services, documentation regarding whether prevocational 
[ or supported employment ] services are available [ in 
vocational rehabilitation agencies ] through §110 of the 
Rehabilitation Act of 1973 or through the Individuals 
with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). If the individual 
is not eligible for services through the IDEA, 
documentation is required only for lack of DRS funding. 
When services are provided through these sources, the 
ISP shall not authorize such services as a waiver 
expenditure. 

[ k. ] Prevocational services can only be provided when 
the individual's compensation is less than 50% of the 
minimum wage. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-247; Filed November 2, 2007, 11:22 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

JOINT BOARDS OF NURSING AND MEDICINE 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-40. Regulations for 
Prescriptive Authority for Nurse Practitioners (amending 
18VAC90-40-100).  

Statutory Authority: §§54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957.01 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public comments: Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on December 26, 2007. 

Effective Date: January 11, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 
Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 
(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 
the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards 
including the responsibility to promulgate regulations. 
Section 54.1-2957.01 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 
requirements for supervision of physicians for nurse 
practitioners exercising prescriptive authority. 

Purpose: The purpose of the action is to clarify the 
requirements for physician supervision, site visits and chart 
reviews of nurse practitioners prescribing medications to 
patients. Currently, there is some confusion about the 
requirement of law and regulation in regard to the 
requirement for the physician to regularly practice in the same 
location where the nurse practitioner with prescriptive 
authority is practicing. The law allows physicians in public 
health, federally funded clinics or nonprofit health clinics to 
either practice in the same location or make site visits to that 
location; physicians who supervise nurse practitioners in 
private practices must regularly practice in that same location. 
With the expansion of practices into retail settings, that 
requirement of law and regulation needed to be further 
specified to prevent situations in which the practice of a nurse 
practitioner is not appropriately and legally supervised by a 
physician in accordance with a practice agreement. Such a 
clarification is necessary to protect the health and safety of 
patients who may be receiving care under such agreements. 

Rationale For Using Fast-Track Process: The boards have 
determined that a fast-track process is appropriate because 
there are no substantive changes proposed. The amendments 
are intended to restate current requirements in a reorganized 
format that should be less confusing and lead to clearer 
understanding and compliance. 

Substance: The supervision and site visit requirements are 
separated into two subsections for practices in public health 
or nonprofit clinics and for practices in private settings. The 
physician providing supervision in a private practice is 
required to regularly practice in the same location as the nurse 
practitioner; but in other settings, the physician is allowed to 
make regular site visits. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is greater 
oversight and protection by clarifying that a physician 
supervising the prescriptive authority of a nurse practitioner 
must regularly practice in the same location. The supervision 
cannot be remote or electronic; the law and regulation 
requires the physician to regularly practice at the location 
where patients are being seen by the nurse practitioner to 
ensure appropriate prescribing and care are being given. 
There are no disadvantages to the public. 

The primary advantage to the agency and the Commonwealth 
is greater clarity of the regulations and consistency with the 
Code to reduce the confusion and misinterpretation by some 
who have read the rules incorrectly. 

This clarification has been given verbally to corporate entities 
who have inquired about setting up nurse practitioners in 
clinics set in retail locations. The law and regulation clearly 
provide that a separate practice setting may not be established 
for the nurse practitioner, but there may continue to be a lack 
of understanding about the requirement for physician 
oversight. 
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation 

The Boards of Nursing and Medicine (Boards) propose to 
amend their Regulations Governing Prescriptive Authority for 
Nurse Practitioners to clarify supervision requirements for 
certified nurse midwives and nurse practitioners who are 
"employed by or under contract with local health 
departments, federally funded comprehensive primary care 
clinics or non-profit health care clinics." 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, requirements for 
supervision of certified nurse midwives and nurse 
practitioners who are "employed by or under contract with 
local health departments, federally funded comprehensive 
primary care clinics or non-profit health care clinics" are 
listed as an exception to the general provision of this 
regulation which prohibits the establishment of separate 
practice settings for nurse practitioners and their supervising 
physicians. The Boards propose to amend these regulations so 
that requirements (for the individuals covered by the current 
exception) are moved to a separate section.  The Boards also 
propose to amend the language of these, now separate 
requirements, to clarify that only nurse practitioners and 
certified nurse midwives who work for the listed, mostly 
public, entities may work in a setting that is separate from 
that of their supervising physicians. 

None of the changes that the Boards are proposing represent a 
change in current practice. The current language of these 
regulations seems to be clear in prohibiting private nurse 
practitioners from practicing in a separate setting from their 
supervising physicians. The Boards are seeking to further 
separate and clarify this rule, however, because they have had 
inquiries from entities who believed such practice was 
allowed. Because these amendments do not represent a 
change in current practice, regulated individuals will likely 
not incur any costs on account of this regulatory action. To 
the extent that current rules seemed opaque to any interested 
party, these amendments should provide the benefit of clarity. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of Health 
Professions (DHP) reports that 2,973 nurse practitioners in 
the Commonwealth currently have prescriptive authority.  
DHP does not know the exact number of nurse practitioners 
who work in the public settings listed in the regulations, but 
reports that their numbers are likely a small fraction of the 
2,973. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no affect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 
in the Commonwealth are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Small businesses in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no affect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with §2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 
(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, §2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Boards of Nursing 
and Medicine concur with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget for the proposed regulation, 18VAC90-
40, Regulations for Prescriptive Authority for Nurse 
Practitioners, relating to clarification of requirements for 
supervision. 

Summary: 

The amendments clarify the supervision requirements for 
the practice of nurse practitioners within local health 
departments, federally funded clinics or nonprofit health 
clinics by distinguishing those requirements for 
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supervision from those for nurse practitioners in other 
practice settings. 

18VAC90-40-100. Supervision and site visits. 

Physicians A. In accordance with §54.1-2957.01 of the Code 
of Virginia, physicians who enter into a practice agreement 
with a nurse practitioner for prescriptive authority shall: 1. 
Supervise supervise and direct, at any one time, no more than 
four nurse practitioners with prescriptive authority. 

2. Regularly B. Except as provided in subsection C of this 
section, physicians shall regularly practice in any location in 
which the licensed nurse practitioner exercises prescriptive 
authority. 

1. A separate practice setting may not be established for 
the nurse practitioner. Exceptions to this requirement are as 
follows: 

a. A separate office practice may be established for a 
certified nurse midwife or for a nurse practitioner 
employed by or under contract with local health 
departments, federally funded comprehensive primary 
care clinics, or nonprofit health care clinics or programs. 

b. Physicians who do not regularly practice at the same 
location with the nurse practitioner and who provide 
supervisory services to such separate practices shall 
make regular site visits for consultation and direction for 
appropriate patient management. The site visits shall 
occur in accordance with the practice agreement, but no 
less frequently than once a quarter. 

3. Conduct 2. A supervising physician shall conduct a 
monthly, random review of patient charts on which the 
nurse practitioner has entered a prescription for an 
approved drug or device. 

C. Physicians who practice with a certified nurse midwife or 
with a nurse practitioner employed by or under contract with 
local health departments, federally funded comprehensive 
primary care clinics, or nonprofit health care clinics or 
programs shall: 

1. Either regularly practice at the same location with the 
nurse practitioner or provide supervisory services to such 
separate practices by making regular site visits for 
consultation and direction for appropriate patient 
management. The site visits shall occur in accordance with 
the protocol, but no less frequently than once a quarter. 

2. Conduct a monthly, random review of patient charts on 
which the nurse practitioner has entered a prescription for 
an approved drug or device. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-816; Filed November 5, 2007, 5:18 p.m.  

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC95-30. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Assisted Living Facility Administrators 
(adding 18VAC95-30-10 through 18VAC95-30-210). 

Statutory Authority: §§54.1-2400 and 54.1-3102 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2008.  

Agency Contact: Lisa Russell Hahn, Executive Director, 
Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 804-
367-4424, FAX 804-527-4413, or email 
lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Regulations for the licensure of assisted living facility 
administrators include requirements for initial licensure to 
include a minimum of 30 hours of college-level courses or 
completion of a LPN or RN training program, training in 
assisted living care, and passage of a national 
credentialing examination. Persons who have been serving 
as an administrator or assistant administrator of an 
assisted living facility or as a regional administrator with 
on-site supervisory experience for two of the four years 
immediately preceding the effective date of these 
regulations will be able to apply for licensure with 
documentation of their service and passage of the national 
examination.  

Provisions are also adopted for licensure by endorsement 
of persons who have held a license, certification or 
registration in another state or who have comparable 
credentials. Regulations also set out requirements for an 
administrator-in-training program including registration 
of persons who serve as preceptors, the number of hours to 
be completed, the program content, and approved facilities 
for training. 

Fees are established for applicants and licensees, which 
are the same as those charged under the same board for 
nursing home administrators.  For annual renewal of 
licensure, there are provisions for 20 hours of continuing 
education and for recognition and documentation of 
approved courses. Finally, the regulations set out the acts 
of unprofessional conduct that may cause the board to 
refuse to license an applicant or to take some disciplinary 
action against a licensee. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  
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Chapter 30 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Assisted Living 
Facility Administrators 

[ Part I 

General Provisions ] 

18VAC95-30-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the definitions ascribed to them in §54.1-3100 of 
the Code of Virginia:  

"Assisted living facility"  

"Assisted living facility administrator"  

"Board"  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context 
indicates otherwise:  

[ "ALF AIT" means an assisted living facility administrator-
in-training. ]  

"Domains of practice" means the content areas of tasks, 
knowledge and skills necessary for administration of a 
residential care/assisted living facility as approved by the 
National Association of Boards of Examiners of Long Term 
Care Administrators.  

"NAB" means the National Association of Boards of 
Examiners of Long Term Care Administrators. 

18VAC95-30-20. Posting of license. 

Each licensee shall post his license in a main entrance or 
place conspicuous to the public in each facility in which the 
licensee is administrator-of-record.  

18VAC95-30-30. Accuracy of information. 

A. All changes of mailing address or name shall be 
furnished to the board within 30 days after the change occurs.  

B. All notices required by law and by this chapter to be 
mailed by the board to any licensee shall be validly given 
when mailed to the latest address on file with the board and 
shall not relieve the licensee, trainee, or preceptor of the 
obligation to comply.  

18VAC95-30-40. Required fees. 

A. The applicant or licensee shall submit all fees below that 
apply:  
1. [ A.I.T. ALF AIT ] program application $185 

2. Preceptor application $125 

3. Licensure application $200 

4. Verification of licensure requests from other 
states 

$25 

5. Assisted living facility administrator license 
renewal 

$225 

6. Preceptor renewal $100 

7. Penalty for assisted living facility 
administrator late renewal 

$65 

8. Penalty for preceptor late renewal $35 

9. Assisted living facility administrator 
reinstatement 

$315 

10. Preceptor reinstatement $150 

11. Duplicate license $15 

12. Duplicate wall certificates $25 

13. Returned check $35 

B. Fees shall not be refunded once submitted. 

C. Examination fees are to be paid directly to the service [ or 
services ] contracted by the board to administer the 
[ examinations examination ]. 

18VAC95-30-50. Practice by a licensed nursing home 
administrator. 

Pursuant to §54.1-3102 B of the Code of Virginia, a person 
who holds a license as a nursing home administrator issued 
by the board may engage in the general administration of an 
assisted living facility. 

Part II 

Renewals and Reinstatements 

18VAC95-30-60. Renewal requirements. 

A. A person who desires to renew his license or preceptor 
registration for the next year shall, not later than the 
expiration date of March 31 of each year, submit a completed 
renewal application and fee.  

B. The renewal application and fee shall be received no later 
than the expiration date. Postmarks shall not be considered.  

C. An assisted living facility administrator license or 
preceptor registration not renewed by the expiration date shall 
be invalid. 

18VAC95-30-70. Continuing education requirements. 

A. In order to renew an assisted living administrator license, 
an applicant shall attest on his renewal application to 
completion of 20 hours of approved continuing education for 
each renewal year.  

1. Up to 10 of the 20 hours may be obtained through 
Internet or self-study courses and up to 10 continuing 
education hours in excess of the number required may be 
transferred or credited to the next renewal year.  
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2. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 
education requirements and considered in compliance on 
the first renewal date following initial licensure.  

B. In order for continuing education to be approved by the 
board, it shall be related to the domains of practice for 
residential care/assisted living and approved or offered by 
NAB, an accredited educational institution or a governmental 
agency.  

C. Documentation of continuing education.  

1. The licensee shall retain in his personal files for a period 
of three renewal years complete documentation of 
continuing education including evidence of attendance or 
participation as provided by the approved sponsor for each 
course taken.  

2. Evidence of attendance shall be an original document 
provided by the approved sponsor and shall include:  

a. Date or dates the course was taken;  

b. Hours of attendance or participation;  

c. Participant's name; and  

d. Signature of an authorized representative of the 
approved sponsor.  

3. If contacted for an audit, the licensee shall forward to 
the board by the date requested a signed affidavit of 
completion on forms provided by the board and evidence 
of attendance or participation as provided by the approved 
sponsor.  

D. The board may grant an extension of up to one year or an 
exemption for all or part of the continuing education 
requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the 
administrator, such as a certified illness, a temporary 
disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 
disasters.  

18VAC95-30-80. Late renewal. 

A. A person who fails to renew his license or preceptor 
registration by the expiration date shall, within one year of the 
initial expiration date:  

1. Submit the renewal notice or request renewal by mail to 
the board; 

2. Submit the applicable renewal fee and penalty fee; 

3. Provide evidence as may be necessary to establish 
eligibility for renewal.  

B. The documents required in subsection A of this section 
shall be received in the board office within one year of the 
initial expiration date. Postmarks shall not be considered. 

18VAC95-30-90. Reinstatement for an assisted living 
facility administrator license or preceptor registration. 

A. The board may reinstate an assisted living facility 
administrator license or preceptor registration that was not 
renewed within one year of the initial expiration date.  

B. An applicant for assisted living facility administrator 
license reinstatement shall apply on a reinstatement form 
provided by the board, submit the reinstatement fee, and 
provide one of the following:  

1. Evidence of the equivalent of 20 hours of continuing 
education for each year since the last renewal, not to 
exceed a total of 60 hours.  

2. Evidence of active practice in another state or U.S. 
jurisdiction or in the U.S. armed services during the period 
licensure in Virginia was lapsed.  

3. Evidence of requalifying for licensure by meeting the 
requirements prescribed in 18VAC95-30-100 and 
18VAC95-30-110.  

C. An applicant for preceptor reinstatement shall apply on a 
reinstatement form provided by the board, submit the 
reinstatement fee, and meet the current requirements for a 
preceptor in effect at the time of application for reinstatement.  

Part III 

Requirements for Licensure 

[ 18VAC95-30-95. Licensure of current administrators. 

A. Until January 2, 2009, any person who has served in one 
of the following positions for the period of two of the four 
years immediately preceding the effective date of these 
regulations [ (January 2, 2008), ] may be licensed by the 
board: 

1. A full-time administrator of record in accordance with 
requirements of 22VAC40-72-200, or an assistant 
administrator in an assisted living facility licensed in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, as documented on an 
application for licensure; or 

2. A full-time regional administrator with onsite 
supervisory responsibilities for one or more assisted living 
facilities with at least two years of previous experience as 
the administrator of an assisted living facility as 
documented on an application for licensure. 

B. Persons who are applying for licensure based on 
experience as an administrator as specified in subsection A of 
this section shall document a passing grade on the national 
credentialing examination for administrators of assisted living 
facilities approved by the board. ]  
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18VAC95-30-100. Educational and training requirements 
for initial licensure. 

[ A. Until (date of one year from the effective date of the 
regulations), any person who has served full-time as the 
administrator of record in accordance with requirements of 
22VAC40-71-60 and 22VAC40-71-630, or an assistant 
administrator in an assisted living facility licensed in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, for the period of two of the three 
years immediately preceding the effective date of these 
regulations may be licensed by the board if he provides: 

1. Documentation that he was the full-time administrator of 
record or the full-time assistant administrator for an 
assisted living facility licensed in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia for the specified time period; and 

2. Documentation of a passing grade on a state 
examination approved by the board. 

B. A. ] To be qualified for initial licensure as an assisted 
living facility administrator, an applicant shall hold a high 
school diploma or general education diploma [ (GED) ] and 
hold one of the following qualifications:  

[ 1. Administrator-in-training program. 

a. Complete at least 30 semester hours in an accredited 
college or university in any subject and 640 hours in an 
ALF AIT as specified in 18VAC95-30-150; 

b. Complete an educational program as a licensed 
practical nurse and hold a current, unrestricted license or 
multistate licensure privilege and 640 hours in an ALF 
AIT;  

c. Complete an educational program as a registered nurse 
and hold a current, unrestricted license or multistate 
licensure privilege and 480 hours in an ALF AIT; 

d. Complete at least 30 semester hours in an accredited 
college or university with courses in the content areas of 
(i) client/resident care; (ii) human resources 
management; (iii) financial management; (iv) physical 
environment; and (v) leadership and governance; and 320 
hours in an ALF AIT; 

e. Hold a master's or a baccalaureate degree in health 
care-related field or a comparable field that meets the 
requirements of subsection B of this section with no 
internship or practicum and 320 hours in an ALF AIT 
program; or  

f. Hold a master's or baccalaureate degree in an unrelated 
field and 480 hours in an ALF AIT program; or 

2. Certificate program. 

Hold a baccalaureate or higher degree in a field unrelated 
to health care from an accredited college or university 
and successfully complete a certificate program with a 
minimum of 21 semester hours study in a health care 

related field that meets course content requirements of 
subsection B of this section from an accredited college or 
university and successfully complete not less than a 320-
hour internship or practicum that addresses the domains 
of practice as specified in 18VAC95-30-160 in a licensed 
assisted living facility as part of the certificate program 
under the supervision of a preceptor; or ]  

[ 1. 3. ] Degree and practical experience.  

Hold a baccalaureate or higher degree in a health care-
related field that meets the course content requirements 
of subsection [ C B ] of this section from an accredited 
college or university and have completed not less than a 
320-hour internship [ or practicum ] that addresses the 
Domains of Practice as specified in 18VAC95-30-160 in 
a licensed assisted living facility as part of the degree 
program under the supervision of a preceptor [ registered 
by the board; or ]. 

[ 2. Certificate program. 

Hold a baccalaureate or higher degree in a field unrelated 
to health care from an accredited college or university and 
successfully complete a certificate program with a 
minimum of 21 semester hours study in a health care 
related field that meets course content requirements of 
subsection C of this section from an accredited college or 
university and successfully complete not less than a 320-
hour internship that addresses the Domains of Practice as 
specified in 18VAC95-30-160 in a licensed assisted living 
facility as part of the certificate program under the 
supervision of a preceptor registered by the board; or 

3. Administrator-in-training program. 

a. Complete at least 30 semester hours in an accredited 
college or university with courses in the content areas of 
(i) Client/resident care; (ii) Human resources 
management; (iii) Financial management; (iv) Physical 
environment; and (v) Leadership and governance; and 
500 hours in an administrator-in-training program within 
one year; or  

b. Complete at least 30 semester hours in an accredited 
college or university in any subject; and 1,000 hours in 
an administrator-in-training program within two years;  

C. B. ]. To meet the educational requirements for a degree in 
a health care-related field, an applicant must provide a 
transcript from an accredited college or university that 
documents successful completion of a minimum of 21 
semester hours of coursework concentrated on the 
administration and management of health care services to 
include a minimum of six semester hours in the content area 
set out in subdivision 1 of this subsection, three semester 
hours in each of the content areas in subdivisions 2 through 5 
of this subsection, and three semester hours for an internship 
[ or practicum ]. 
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1. Resident/client services management; 

2. Human resource management; 

3. Financial management; 

4. Physical environment management; 

5. Leadership and governance. 

18VAC95-30-110. Examination requirement for initial 
licensure. 

To be licensed under [ subsection B of 18VAC95-30-95 or ] 
18VAC95-30-100, an applicant shall provide evidence of [ a ] 
passing [ grades on examinations acceptable to the board to 
include: 1. A grade on the ] national credentialing 
examination for administrators of assisted living facilities [ ; 
and 2. A jurisprudence examination on the laws and 
regulations governing the practice of an assisted living 
facility administrator in Virginia approved by the board ]. 

18VAC95-30-120. Qualifications for licensure by 
endorsement [ or credentials ]. 

[ A. If applying from any state or the District of Columbia in 
which a license, certificate or registration is required to be the 
administrator of an assisted living facility, an applicant for 
licensure by endorsement shall hold a current, unrestricted 
license, certificate or registration from that state or the 
District of Columbia. If applying from a jurisdiction that does 
not have such a requirement, an applicant may apply for 
licensure by credentials, and no evidence of licensure, 
certification or registration is required. 

B. ] The board may issue a license to any person who: 

1. [ Holds a current, unrestricted license, certificate or 
registration as an assisted living facility administrator from 
any state or the District of Columbia Meets the provisions 
of subsection A of this section ];  

2. Has not been the subject of a disciplinary action taken 
by any jurisdiction in which he was found to be in 
violation of law or regulation governing practice and 
which, in the judgment of the board, has not remediated;  

3. Meets one of the following conditions: 

a. Has practiced as the administrator of record in an 
assisted living facility that provides assisted living care 
as defined in §63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia for at 
least two of the [ three four ] years immediately 
preceding application to the board; or  

b. Has education and experience substantially equivalent 
to qualifications required by this chapter and has 
provided written evidence of those qualifications at the 
time of application for licensure; and  

4. Has successfully [ completed a state examination on the 
laws and regulations governing the practice of an assisted 

living facility administrator passed a national credentialing 
examination for administrators of assisted living facilities 
approved by the board ]. 

18VAC95-30-130. Application package. 

A. An application for licensure shall be submitted after the 
applicant completes the qualifications for licensure.  

B. An individual seeking licensure as an assisted living 
facility administrator or registration as a preceptor shall 
submit simultaneously:  

1. A completed application as provided by the board;  

2. Additional documentation as may be required by the 
board to determine eligibility of the applicant; [ and ]  

3. The applicable fee [ . ; and 

4. An attestation that he has read and understands and will 
remain current with the applicable Virginia laws and the 
regulations relating to assisted living facilities. ] 

C. With the exception of school transcripts, examination 
scores, and verifications from other state boards, all parts of 
the application package shall be submitted at the same time. 
An incomplete package shall be retained by the board for one 
year, after which time the application shall be destroyed and a 
new application and fee shall be required. 

Part IV 

Administrator-in-Training Program 

18VAC95-30-140. Training qualifications. 

A. To be approved as an [ ALF ] administrator-in-training, a 
person shall:  

1. [ Have received a passing grade on a total of 30 semester 
hours of education from an accredited college or university 
Meet the requirements of 18VAC95-30-100 A 1 ];  

2. Obtain a preceptor to provide training;  

3. Submit the application provided by the board and the fee 
prescribed in 18VAC95-30-40; and  

4. Submit additional documentation as may be necessary to 
determine eligibility of the applicant and the number of 
hours required for the [ A.I.T. ALF AIT ] program.  

B. With the exception of school transcripts, all required 
parts of the application package shall be submitted at the 
same time. An incomplete package shall be retained by the 
board for one year after which time the application shall be 
destroyed and a new application and fee shall be required.  

18VAC95-30-150. Required hours of training. 

A. The [ A.I.T. ALF AIT ] program shall consist of [ 1,000 ] 
hours of continuous training [ as specified in 18VAC95-30-
100 A 1 ] in a facility as prescribed in 18VAC95-30-170 to be 
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completed within 24 months. An extension may be granted by 
the board on an individual case basis. The board may reduce 
the required hours for applicants with certain qualifications as 
prescribed in subsection B [ and C ] of this section.  

B. An [ A.I.T. ALF AIT ] applicant with prior health care 
work experience may request approval to receive [ a 
maximum 500 ] hours of credit toward the total [ 1,000 ] 
hours as follows:  

1. An applicant who has been employed full time for [ four 
two ] of the past [ five four ] years immediately prior to 
application as an assistant administrator in a licensed 
assisted living facility or nursing home [ or as a hospital 
administrator shall complete 320 hours in an ALF AIT ];  

[ 2. An applicant who has been employed full time for four 
of the past five years immediately prior to application as a 
hospital administrator having responsibilities in all of the 
following areas:  

a. Regulatory/compliance;  

b. Fiscal;  

c. Supervisory;  

d. Personnel; and  

e. Management; or  

3. 2. ] An applicant who holds a license [ or a multistate 
licensure privilege ] as a [ registered ] nurse and who has 
held an administrative level supervisory position in nursing 
for at least [ four two ] of the past [ five four ] consecutive 
years [ , ] in a [ training facility as prescribed in 18VAC95-
30-170. licensed assisted living facility or nursing home 
shall complete 320 hours in an ALF AIT; or  

3. An applicant who holds a license or a multistate 
licensure privilege as a licensed practical nurse and who 
has held an administrative level supervisory position in 
nursing for at least two of the past four consecutive years 
in a licensed assisted living facility or nursing home shall 
complete 480 hours in an ALF AIT. ]  

[ C. An A.I.T. applicant with the following educational 
qualifications shall meet these requirements:  

1. An applicant with a master's or a baccalaureate degree in 
health care related field or a comparable field that meets 
the requirements of subsection C of 18VAC95-30-100 with 
no internship shall complete 320 hours in an A.I.T. 
program;  

2. An applicant with a master's degree in an unrelated field 
shall complete 320 hours in an A.I.T. program; or 

3. An applicant with a baccalaureate degree in an unrelated 
field shall complete 500 hours in an A.I.T. program. ] 

18VAC95-30-160. Required content of an [ ALF ] 
administrator-in-training program. 

A. Prior to the beginning of the training program, the 
preceptor shall develop and submit for board approval a 
training plan that shall include and be designed around the 
specific training needs of the administrator-in-training. The 
training plan shall include the tasks and the knowledge and 
skills required to complete those tasks as approved by 
NAB as the domains of practice for residential 
care/assisted living in effect at the time the training is 
being provided. An [ A.I.T. ALF AIT ] program shall 
include training in each of the learning areas in the 
domains of practice.  

B. An [ A.I.T. ALF AIT ] shall be required to serve 
weekday, evening, night and weekend shifts and to receive 
training in all areas of an assisted living facility operation.  

18VAC95-30-170. Training facilities. 

Training in an [ A.I.T. ALF AIT ] program or for an 
internship [or practicum] shall be conducted only in:  

1. An assisted living facility or unit licensed by the 
Virginia Board of Social Services or by a similar licensing 
body in another jurisdiction;  

2. An assisted living facility owned or operated by an 
agency of any city, county, or the Commonwealth or of the 
United States government; or  

3. An assisted living unit located in and operated by a 
licensed hospital as defined in §32.1-123 of the Code of 
Virginia, a state-operated hospital, or a hospital licensed in 
another jurisdiction. 

18VAC95-30-180. Preceptors. 

A. Training in an [ A.I.T. ALF AIT ] program [ or an 
internship ] shall be under the supervision of a preceptor who 
is registered or recognized by a licensing board.  

B. To be registered by the board as a preceptor, a person 
shall:  

1. Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia assisted living 
facility administrator or nursing home administrator 
license;  

2. Be employed full-time as an administrator in a training 
facility or facilities for a minimum of two of the past 
[ three four ] years immediately prior to registration [ or be 
a regional administrator with on-site supervisory 
responsibilities for a training facility or facilities ]; and  

3. Submit an application and fee as prescribed in 
18VAC95-30-40.  

C. A preceptor shall:  

1. Provide direct instruction, planning and evaluation;  
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2. Be routinely present with the trainee in the training 
facility; and  

3. Continually evaluate the development and experience of 
the trainee to determine specific areas needed for 
concentration.  

D. A preceptor may supervise no more than two trainees at 
any one time.  

18VAC95-30-190. Reporting requirements. 

A. The preceptor shall maintain progress reports on forms 
prescribed by the board for each month of training.  

B. The trainee's certificate of completion plus the 
accumulated original monthly reports shall be submitted by 
the preceptor to the board within 30 days following the 
completion of the program.  

18VAC95-30-200. Interruption or termination of 
program. 

A. If the program is interrupted because the registered 
preceptor is unable to serve, the trainee shall notify the board 
within five working days and shall obtain a new preceptor 
who is registered with the board within 60 days.  

1. Credit for training shall resume when a new preceptor is 
obtained and approved by the board.  

2. If an alternate training plan is developed, it shall be 
submitted to the board for approval before the trainee 
resumes training.  

B. If the training program is terminated prior to completion, 
the trainee and the preceptor shall each submit a written 
explanation of the causes of program termination to the board 
within five working days. The preceptor shall also submit all 
required monthly progress reports completed prior to 
termination.  

Part V 

Refusal, Suspension, Revocation and Disciplinary Action 

18VAC95-30-210. Unprofessional conduct. 

The board may refuse to admit a candidate to an 
examination, refuse to issue or renew a license or approval to 
any applicant, suspend a license for a stated period of time or 
indefinitely, reprimand a licensee, place his license on 
probation with such terms and conditions and for such time as 
it may designate, impose a monetary penalty, or revoke a 
license for any of the following causes:  

1. Conducting the practice of assisted living administration 
in such a manner as to constitute a danger to the health, 
safety, and well-being of the residents, staff, or public;  

2. Failure to comply with federal, state, or local laws and 
regulations governing the operation of an assisted living 
facility;  

3. Conviction of a felony or any misdemeanor involving 
abuse, neglect or moral turpitude;  

4. Failure to comply with any regulations of the board; or  

5. Inability to practice with skill or safety.  

The forms used in administering 18VAC95-30, Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Assisted Living Facility 
Administrators are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection at the Board for Long-Term Care Administrators, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, Virginia, or at 
the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly 
Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

Checklist for Endorsement Application to Practice as an 
Assisted Living Administrators (eff. [ 10/07 1/08 ]) 

Checklist for Licensure by Experience to Practice as an 
Assisted Living Administrators (eff. [ 10/07 1/08 ]) 

Checklist for Licensure by Examination to Practice as an 
Assisted Living Administrator (eff. [ 10/07 1/08 ]) 

Assisted Living Administrator Application for Licensure (eff. 
[ 10/07 1/08 ]) 

Assisted Living Administrator Administrator-in-Training 
Application (eff. [ 10/07 1/08 ]) 

Monthly Report of Assisted Living Facility Administrator-in-
Training (eff. [ 8/07 1/08 ]) 

Completion of Assisted Living Facility Administrator-in-
Training (eff. [ 8/07 1/08 ]) 

Endorsement Certification Form (eff. [ 8/07 1/08 ]) 

Assisted Living Administrator Preceptor Application ( 
[ 10/07 eff. 1/08 ]) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-42; Filed November 5, 2007, 5:19 p.m.  

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Real Estate Appraiser Board 
has claimed an exemption from the Administrative Process 
Act in accordance with §2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of 
Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
meet the requirements of federal law or regulations, provided 
such regulations do not differ materially from those required 
by federal law or regulation.  The Real Estate Appraiser 
Board will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 
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Title of Regulation: 18VAC130-20. Real Estate Appraiser 
Board Rules and Regulations (amending 18VAC130-20-
10, 18VAC130-20-30, 18VAC130-20-60, 18VAC130-20-
110, 18VAC130-20-170, 18VAC130-20-180, 18VAC130-
20-210, 18VAC130-20-220, 18VAC130-20-230). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2013 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2008. 

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
The Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 
527-4298, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Under the provisions of Title XI of the Financial 
Institutions Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act, the 
Appraiser Qualifications Board establishes the minimum 
education, experience and examination requirements for 
real property appraisers to obtain state certification. The 
board has revised the criteria for qualifying education, the 
period of time the examination is valid, the type of license 
a supervising appraiser must hold as well as the number of 
trainees a supervising appraiser may supervise, and 
qualifying continuing education effective January 1, 2008. 
The regulations are being amended to comply with the new 
federal requirements.  

18VAC130-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 
by the context, shall have the following meanings:  

"Accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 
colleges" means those accredited institutions of higher 
learning approved by the Virginia Council of Higher 
Education or listed in the Transfer Credit Practices of 
Designated Educational Institutions, published by the 
American Association of Collegiate Registrars and 
Admissions Officers or a recognized international equivalent.  

"Adult distributive or marketing education programs" means 
those programs offered at schools approved by the Virginia 
Department of Education or any other local, state, or federal 
government agency, board or commission to teach adult 
education or marketing courses.  

"Analysis" means a study of real estate or real property other 
than the estimation of value.  

"Appraisal Foundation" means the foundation incorporated 
as an Illinois Not for Profit Corporation on November 30, 
1987, to establish and improve uniform appraisal standards 
by defining, issuing and promoting such standards.  

"Appraisal subcommittee" means the designees of the heads 
of the federal financial institutions regulatory agencies 
established by the Federal Financial Institutions Examination 
Council Act of 1978 (12 USC §3301 et seq.), as amended.  

"Appraiser" means one who is expected to perform 
valuation services competently and in a manner that is 
independent, impartial and objective.  

"Appraiser classification" means any category of appraiser 
which the board creates by designating criteria for 
qualification for such category and by designating the scope 
of practice permitted for such category.  

"Appraiser Qualifications Board" means the board created 
by the Appraisal Foundation to establish appropriate criteria 
for the certification and recertification of qualified appraisers 
by defining, issuing and promoting such qualification criteria; 
to disseminate such qualification criteria to states, 
governmental entities and others; and to develop or assist in 
the development of appropriate examinations for qualified 
appraisers.  

"Appraiser trainee" means an individual who is licensed as 
an appraiser trainee to appraise those properties which the 
supervising appraiser is permitted to appraise.  

"Business entity" means any corporation, partnership, 
association or other business entity under which appraisal 
services are performed.  

"Certified general real estate appraiser" means an individual 
who meets the requirements for licensure that relate to the 
appraisal of all types of real estate and real property and is 
licensed as a certified general real estate appraiser.  

"Certified instructor" means an individual holding an 
instructor certificate issued by the Real Estate Appraiser 
Board to act as an instructor.  

"Certified residential real estate appraiser" means an 
individual who meets the requirements for licensure for the 
appraisal of any residential real estate or real property of one 
to four residential units regardless of transaction value or 
complexity. Certified residential real estate appraisers may 
also appraise nonresidential properties with a transaction 
value up to $250,000.  

"Classroom hour" means 50 minutes out of each 60-minute 
segment. The prescribed number of classroom hours includes 
time devoted to tests which are considered to be part of the 
course.  

"Distance education" means an educational process based on 
the geographical separation of provider and student (i.e., CD-
ROM, on-line learning, correspondence courses, etc.).  

"Experience" as used in this chapter includes but is not 
limited to experience gained in the performance of traditional 
appraisal assignments, or in the performance of the following: 
fee and staff appraisals, ad valorem tax appraisal, review 
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appraisal, appraisal analysis, real estate consulting, highest 
and best use analysis, and feasibility analysis/study.  

For the purpose of this chapter, experience has been divided 
into four major categories: (i) fee and staff appraisal, (ii) ad 
valorem tax appraisal, (iii) review appraisal, and (iv) real 
estate consulting.  

1. "Fee/staff appraiser experience" means experience 
acquired as either a sole appraiser, as a cosigner, or 
through disclosure of assistance in the certification in 
accordance with the Uniform Standards of Professional 
Appraisal Practice.  

Sole appraiser experience is experience obtained by an 
individual who makes personal inspections of real estate, 
assembles and analyzes the relevant facts, and by the use 
of reason and the exercise of judgment, forms objective 
opinions and prepares reports as to the market value or 
other properly defined value of identified interests in said 
real estate.  

Cosigner appraiser experience is experience obtained by an 
individual who signs an appraisal report prepared by 
another, thereby accepting full responsibility for the 
content and conclusions of the appraisal.  

To qualify for fee/staff appraiser experience, an individual 
must have prepared written appraisal reports which meet 
minimum standards. For appraisal reports dated prior to 
July 1, 1991, these minimum standards include the 
following (if any item is not applicable, the applicant shall 
adequately state the reasons for the exclusions):  

a. An adequate identification of the real estate and the 
interests being appraised;  

b. The purpose of the report, date of value, and date of 
report;  

c. A definition of the value being appraised;  

d. A determination of highest and best use;  

e. An estimate of land value;  

f. The usual valuation approaches for the property type 
being appraised or the reason for excluding any of these 
approaches;  

g. A reconciliation and conclusion as to the property's 
value;  

h. Disclosure of assumptions or limiting conditions, if 
any; and  

i. Signature of appraiser.  

For appraisal reports dated subsequent to July 1, 1991, the 
minimum standards for written appraisal reports are those 
as prescribed in Standard 2 of the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at 
the time of the reports' preparation.  

2. "Ad valorem tax appraisal experience" means 
experience obtained by an individual who assembles and 
analyzes the relevant facts, and who correctly employs 
those recognized methods and techniques that are 
necessary to produce and communicate credible appraisals 
within the context of the real property tax laws. Ad 
valorem tax appraisal experience may be obtained either 
through individual property appraisals or through mass 
appraisals as long as applicants under this category of 
experience can demonstrate that they are using techniques 
to value real property similar to those being used by 
fee/staff appraisers and that they are effectively utilizing 
the appraisal process.  

To qualify for ad valorem tax appraisal experience for 
individual property appraisals, an individual must have 
prepared written appraisal reports which meet minimum 
standards. For appraisal reports dated prior to July 1, 1991, 
these minimum standards include the following (if any 
item is not applicable, the applicant shall adequately state 
the reasons for the exclusions):  

a. An adequate identification of the real estate and the 
interests being appraised;  

b. The effective date of value;  

c. A definition of the value being appraised if other than 
fee simple;  

d. A determination of highest and best use;  

e. An estimate of land value;  

f. The usual valuation approaches for the property type 
being appraised or the reason for excluding any of these 
approaches;  

g. A reconciliation and conclusion as to the property's 
value; and  

h. Disclosure of assumptions or limiting conditions, if 
any.  

For appraisal reports dated subsequent to July 1, 1991, the 
minimum standards for written appraisal reports are those 
as prescribed in the Uniform Standards of Professional 
Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at the time of the 
reports' preparation.  

To qualify for ad valorem tax appraisal experience for 
mass appraisals, an individual must have prepared mass 
appraisals or have documented mass appraisal files which 
meet minimum standards. For mass appraisals dated prior 
to July 1, 1991, these minimum standards include the 
following (if any item is not applicable, the applicant shall 
adequately state the reasons for the exclusions):  
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a. An adequate identification of the real estate and the 
interests being appraised;  

b. The effective date of value;  

c. A definition of the value being appraised if other than 
fee simple;  

d. A determination of highest and best use;  

e. An estimate of land value; and  

f. Those recognized methods and techniques that are 
necessary to produce a credible appraisal.  

For mass appraisal reports dated subsequent to July 1, 
1991, the minimum standards for these appraisal reports 
are those as prescribed in Standard 6 of the Uniform 
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition 
in effect at the time of the reports' preparation.  

In addition to the preceding, to qualify for ad valorem tax 
appraisal experience, the applicant's experience log must 
be attested to by the applicant's supervisor.  

3. "Reviewer experience" means experience obtained by an 
individual who examines the reports of appraisers to 
determine whether their conclusions are consistent with the 
data reported and other generally known information. An 
individual acting in the capacity of a reviewer does not 
necessarily make personal inspection of real estate, but 
does review and analyze relevant facts assembled by 
fee/staff appraisers, and by the use of reason and exercise 
of judgment, forms objective conclusions as to the validity 
of fee/staff appraisers' opinions. Reviewer experience shall 
not constitute more than 1,000 hours of total experience 
claimed and at least 50% of the review experience claimed 
must be in field review wherein the individual has 
personally inspected the real property which is the subject 
of the review.  

To qualify for reviewer experience, an individual must 
have prepared written reports recommending the 
acceptance, revision, or rejection of the fee/staff appraiser's 
opinions, which written reports must meet minimum 
standards. For appraisal reviews dated prior to July 1, 
1991, these minimum standards include the following (if 
any item is not applicable, the applicant shall adequately 
state the reasons for the exclusions):  

a. An identification of the report under review, the real 
estate and real property interest being appraised, the 
effective date of the opinion in the report under review, 
and the date of the review;  

b. A description of the review process undertaken;  

c. An opinion as to the adequacy and appropriateness of 
the report being reviewed, and the reasons for any 
disagreement;  

d. An opinion as to whether the analyses, opinions, and 
conclusions in the report under review are appropriate 
and reasonable, and the development of any reasons for 
any disagreement;  

e. Signature of reviewer.  

For appraisal review reports dated subsequent to July 1, 
1991, the minimum standards for these appraisal reports 
are those as prescribed in Standard 3 of the Uniform 
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice in the 
edition in effect at the time of the reports' preparation.  

Signing as "Review Appraiser" on an appraisal report 
prepared by another will not qualify an individual for 
experience in the reviewer category. Experience gained in 
this capacity will be considered under the cosigner 
subcategory of fee/staff appraiser experience.  

4. "Real estate consulting experience" means experience 
obtained by an individual who assembles and analyzes the 
relevant facts and by the use of reason and the exercise of 
judgment, forms objective opinions concerning matters 
other than value estimates relating to real property. Real 
estate consulting experience includes, but is not necessarily 
limited to, the following:  
Absorption Study  
Ad Valorem Tax Study  
Annexation Study  
Assemblage Study  
Assessment Study  
Condominium Conversion Study  
Cost-Benefit Study  
Cross Impact Study  
Depreciation/Cost Study  
Distressed Property Study  
Economic Base Analysis  
Economic Impact Study  
Economic Structure Analysis  
Eminent Domain Study  
Feasibility Study  
Highest and Best Use Study  
Impact Zone Study  
Investment Analysis Study  
Investment Strategy Study  
Land Development Study  
Land Suitability Study  
Land Use Study  
Location Analysis Study  
Market Analysis Study  
Market Strategy Study  
Market Turning Point Analysis  
Marketability Study  
Portfolio Study  
Rehabilitation Study  
Remodeling Study  
Rental Market Study  
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Right of Way Study  
Site Analysis Study  
Utilization Study  
Urban Renewal Study  
Zoning Study  

To qualify for real estate consulting experience, an 
individual must have prepared written reports which meet 
minimum standards. For real estate consulting reports 
dated prior to July 1, 1991, these minimum standards 
include the following (if any item is not applicable, the 
applicant shall so state the reasons for the exclusions):  

a. A definition of the problem;  

b. An identification of the real estate under consideration 
(if any);  

c. Disclosure of the client's objective;  

d. The effective date of the consulting assignment and 
date of report;  

e. The information considered, and the reasoning that 
supports the analyses, opinions, and conclusions;  

f. Any assumptions and limiting conditions that affect the 
analyses, opinions, and conclusions;  

g. Signature of real estate appraiser.  

For real estate consulting reports dated subsequent to July 
1, 1991, the minimum standards for these appraisal reports 
are those as prescribed in Standard 4 of the Uniform 
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition 
in effect at the time of the reports' preparation. Real estate 
consulting shall not constitute more than 500 hours of 
experience for any type of appraisal license.  

"Inactive license" means a license that has been renewed 
without meeting the continuing education requirements 
specified in this chapter. Inactive licenses do not meet the 
requirements set forth in §54.1-2011 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Licensed residential real estate appraiser" means an 
individual who meets the requirements for licensure for the 
appraisal of any noncomplex, residential real estate or real 
property of one to four residential units, including federally 
related transactions, where the transaction value is less than 
$1 million. Licensed residential real estate appraisers may 
also appraise noncomplex, nonresidential properties with a 
transaction value up to $250,000.  

"Licensee" means any individual holding an active license 
issued by the Real Estate Appraiser Board to act as a certified 
general real estate appraiser, certified residential real estate 
appraiser, licensed residential real estate appraiser, or 
appraiser trainee as defined, respectively, in §54.1-2009 of 
the Code of Virginia and in this chapter.  

"Local, state or federal government agency, board or 
commission" means an entity established by any local, federal 
or state government to protect or promote the health, safety 
and welfare of its citizens.  

"Proprietary school" means a privately owned school 
offering appraisal or appraisal related courses approved by 
the board.  

"Provider" means accredited colleges, universities, junior 
and community colleges; adult distributive or marketing 
education programs; local, state or federal government 
agencies, boards or commissions; proprietary schools; or real 
estate appraisal or real estate related organizations.  

"Real estate appraisal activity" means the act or process of 
valuation of real property or preparing an appraisal report.  

"Real estate appraisal" or "real estate related organization" 
means any appraisal or real estate related organization 
formulated on a national level, where its membership extends 
to more than one state or territory of the United States.  

"Reciprocity agreement" means a conditional agreement 
between two or more states that will recognize one another's 
regulations and laws for equal privileges for mutual benefit.  

"Registrant" means any corporation, partnership, association 
or other business entity which provides appraisal services and 
which is registered with the Real Estate Appraiser Board in 
accordance with §54.1-2011 E of the Code of Virginia.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license or registration 
restored to effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 
or registration for another period of time.  

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, but not a 
corporation, partnership or association, who is trading under 
his own name, or under an assumed or fictitious name 
pursuant to the provisions of §§59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

"Substantially equivalent" is any educational course or 
seminar, experience, or examination taken in this or another 
jurisdiction which is equivalent in classroom hours, course 
content and subject, and degree of difficulty, respectively, to 
those requirements outlined in this chapter and Chapter 20.1 
(§54.1-2009 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia for 
licensure and renewal.  

"Supervising appraiser" means any individual holding a 
license issued by the Real Estate Appraiser Board to act as a 
certified general real estate appraiser, certified residential real 
estate appraiser, or licensed residential real estate appraiser 
who supervises any unlicensed person acting as a real estate 
appraiser or an appraiser trainee as specified in this chapter.  

"Transaction value" means the monetary amount of a 
transaction which may require the services of a certified or 
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licensed appraiser for completion. The transaction value is not 
always equal to the market value of the real property interest 
involved. For loans or other extensions of credit, the 
transaction value equals the amount of the loan or other 
extensions of credit. For sales, leases, purchases and 
investments in or exchanges of real property, the transaction 
value is the market value of the real property interest 
involved. For the pooling of loans or interests in real property 
for resale or purchase, the transaction value is the amount of 
the loan or the market value of real property calculated with 
respect to each such loan or interest in real property.  

"Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice" 
means those standards promulgated by the Appraisal 
Standards Board of the Appraisal Foundation for use by all 
appraisers in the preparation of appraisal reports.  

"Valuation" means an estimate or opinion of the value of 
real property.  

"Valuation assignment" means an engagement for which an 
appraiser is employed or retained to give an analysis, opinion 
or conclusion that results in an estimate or opinion of the 
value of an identified parcel of real property as of a specified 
date.  

"Waiver" means the voluntary, intentional relinquishment of 
a known right.  

Part II  

Entry  

18VAC130-20-30. General qualifications for licensure.  

Every applicant to the Real Estate Appraiser Board for a 
certified general, certified residential, or licensed residential 
real estate appraiser license shall meet the following 
qualifications:  

1. The applicant shall be of good moral character, honest, 
truthful, and competent to transact the business of a 
licensed real estate appraiser in such a manner as to 
safeguard the interests of the public.  

2. The applicant shall meet the current educational and 
experience requirements and submit a license application 
to the Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation or its agent prior to the time the applicant is 
approved to take the licensing examination. Applications 
received by the department or its agent must be complete 
within 12 months of the date of the receipt of the license 
application and fee by the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation or its agent.  

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 
statement verifying that the applicant has read and 
understands the Virginia real estate appraiser license law 
and the regulations of the Real Estate Appraiser Board.  

4. The applicant shall be in good standing as a real estate 
appraiser in every jurisdiction where licensed or certified; 
the applicant may not have had a license or certification 
which was suspended, revoked or surrendered in 
connection with a disciplinary action or which has been the 
subject of discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying 
for licensure in Virginia.  

5. The applicant may not have been convicted, found guilty 
or pled guilty, regardless of adjudication, in any 
jurisdiction of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude or 
of any felony. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 
considered a conviction for purposes of this subdivision. A 
certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision, by 
a court with the lawful authority to issue such order, 
decree, or case decision shall be admissible as prima facie 
evidence of such conviction.  

6. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.  

7. The applicant shall have successfully completed 90 150 
hours for the licensed residential classification, 120 200 
hours for the certified residential classification, and 180 
300 hours for the certified general classification, of 
approved real estate appraisal courses, including a course 
of at least 15 hours on the 15-hour National Uniform 
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice course, from 
accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 
colleges; adult distributive or marketing education 
programs; local, state or federal government agencies, 
boards or commissions; proprietary schools; or real estate 
appraisal or real estate related organizations.  The required 
core curriculum for the certified residential real estate 
appraiser is an associate degree or higher. In lieu of the 
required degree, 21 semester credit hours covering the 
following subject matter courses: English Composition; 
Principles of Economics (Micro or Macro); Finance; 
Algebra; Geometry or higher mathematics; Statistics; 
Introduction to Computers – Word 
Processing/Spreadsheets; and Business or Real Estate Law. 
The required core curriculum for the certified general real 
estate appraiser is a bachelor’s degree or higher. In lieu of 
the required degree, 30 semester credit hours covering the 
following subject matter courses: English Composition; 
Micro Economics; Macro Economics; Finance; Algebra; 
Geometry or higher mathematics; Statistics; Introduction to 
Computers – Word Processing/Spreadsheets; Business or 
Real Estate Law; and two elective courses in accounting; 
geography; ag-economics; business management; or real 
estate. The classroom hours required for the licensed 
residential real estate appraiser may include the classroom 
hours required for the appraiser trainee. The classroom 
hours required for the certified residential real estate 
appraiser may include the classroom hours required for the 
appraiser trainee or the licensed real estate appraiser and 
may also include 30 hours of related courses in topics 
specified in 18VAC130-20-220 A 1. The classroom hours 
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required for the certified general real estate appraiser may 
include the classroom hours required for the appraiser 
trainee, the licensed residential real estate appraiser, or the 
certified residential real estate appraiser and may also 
include 30 hours of related courses in topics specified in 
18VAC130-20-220 A 1.  

All applicants for licensure as a certified general real estate 
appraiser must complete an advanced level appraisal 
course of at least 30 classroom hours in the appraisal of 
nonresidential properties.  

8. The applicant shall, as part of the application for 
licensure, verify his experience in the field of real estate 
appraisal. All applicants must submit, upon application, 
sample appraisal reports as specified by the board. In 
addition, all experience must be supported by adequate 
written reports or file memoranda which shall be made 
available to the board upon request.  

a. Applicants for a licensed residential real estate 
appraiser license shall have a minimum of 2,000 hours 
appraisal experience, in no fewer than 12 months. Hours 
may be treated as cumulative in order to achieve the 
necessary 2,000 hours of appraisal experience.  

b. Applicants for a certified residential real estate 
appraiser license shall have a minimum of 2,500 hours of 
appraisal experience obtained during no fewer than 24 
months. Hours may be treated as cumulative in order to 
achieve the necessary 2,500 hours of appraisal 
experience.  

c. Applicants for a certified general real estate appraiser 
license shall have a minimum of 3,000 hours of appraisal 
experience obtained during no fewer than 30 months. 
Hours may be treated as cumulative in order to achieve 
the necessary 3,000 hours of appraisal experience. At 
least 50% of the appraisal experience required (1,500 
hours) must be in nonresidential appraisal assignments 
and include assignments which demonstrate the use and 
understanding of the income approach. An applicant 
whose nonresidential appraisal experience is 
predominately in such properties which do not require 
the use of the income approach may satisfy this 
requirement by performing two or more appraisals on 
properties in association with a certified general 
appraiser which include the use of the income approach.  

9. Within 12 months after being approved by the board to 
take the examination, the applicant shall have registered 
for and passed a written examination developed or 
endorsed by the Appraiser Qualifications Board and 
provided by the board or by a testing service acting on 
behalf of the board. Successful completion of the 
examination is valid for a period of 24 months. 

10. Applicants for licensure who do not meet the 
requirements set forth in subdivisions 4 and 5 of this 
section may be approved for licensure following 
consideration of their application by the board.  

18VAC130-20-60. Qualifications for licensure as an 
appraiser trainee.  

An applicant for licensure as an appraiser trainee shall meet 
the following educational, experience, and examination 
requirements in addition to those set forth in subdivisions 1 
through 5 and 9 of 18VAC130-20-30 1 through 5 and.  

1. Within 12 months after being approved by the board to 
take the examination, the applicant shall have registered 
for and passed a written examination provided by the board 
or by a testing service acting on behalf of the board. 
Successful completion of the examination is valid for a 
period of 24 months. 

2. Within the five-year period immediately preceding 
application for licensure, the applicant shall have 
successfully completed 75 hours of approved real estate 
appraisal courses from accredited colleges, universities, 
junior and community colleges; adult distributive or 
marketing education programs; local, state or federal 
government agencies, boards or commissions; proprietary 
schools; or real estate appraisal or real estate related 
organizations. The classroom hours shall include 15 hours 
relative to the 15-hour National Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice course.  

3. There is no experience requirement for the appraiser 
trainee classification.  

4. Responsibilities of supervising appraisers are described 
in this subdivision.  

a. The appraiser trainee shall be subject to direct 
supervision by a supervising appraiser who shall be state 
licensed or certified in good standing.  

b. The supervising appraiser shall be responsible for the 
training and direct supervision of the appraiser trainee 
by:  

(1) Accepting responsibility for the appraisal report by 
signing and certifying the report is in compliance with 
the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 
Practice;  

(2) Reviewing the appraiser trainee appraisal report(s); 
and  

(3) Personally inspecting each appraised property with 
the appraiser trainee until the supervising appraiser 
determines the appraiser trainee is competent in 
accordance with the Competency Provision of the 
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice for 
the property type.  
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c. The appraiser trainee is permitted to have more than 
one supervising appraiser, but a supervising appraiser 
may not supervise more than three trainees, at one time, 
unless a state program in the licensing jurisdiction 
provides for progress monitoring, supervising certified 
appraiser qualifications, and supervision and oversight 
requirements for supervising appraisers.  

18VAC130-20-110. Qualifications for renewal.  

A. As a condition of renewal, and under §54.1-2014 of the 
Code of Virginia, all active certified general real estate 
appraisers, certified residential real estate appraisers, and 
licensed residential real estate appraisers, resident or 
nonresident, shall be required to complete continuing 
education courses satisfactorily within each licensing term as 
follows:  

1. All real estate appraisers must satisfactorily complete 
continuing education courses or seminars offered by 
accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 
colleges; adult distributive or marketing education 
programs; local, state or federal government agencies, 
boards or commissions; proprietary schools; or real estate 
appraisal or real estate related organizations of not less 
than 28 classroom hours during each licensing term.  

2. All real estate appraisers may also satisfy up to one half 
of an individual’s continuing education requirements by 
participation other than as a student in educational 
processes and programs approved by the board to be 
substantially equivalent for continuing education purposes, 
including but not limited to teaching, program 
development, or authorship of textbooks.  

3. Seven of the classroom hours completed to satisfy the 
continuing education requirements shall be the National 
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 
update course or its equivalent.  

B. As a condition of renewal, all licensed real estate 
appraiser trainees shall meet the continuing education 
requirements set forth in subsection A of this section 
beginning with the second licensing term. Continuing 
education is not required to renew a real estate appraiser 
trainee license at the expiration of the first licensing term.  

C. All applicants for renewal of a license shall meet the 
standards for entry as set forth in subdivisions 1, 3 and 4 of 
18VAC130-20-30.  

D. Applicants for the renewal of a registration shall meet the 
requirement for registration as set forth in 18VAC130-20-20.  

E. Applicants for the renewal of a certificate as an instructor 
shall meet the standards for entry as set forth in 18VAC130-
20-80.  

F. Licensees applying to activate an inactive license must 
have met the continuing education requirements set forth in 

this section within two years complete all required continuing 
education hours that would have been required if the licensee 
was active prior to application to activate the license.  

18VAC130-20-170. Standards of ethical conduct.  

In obtaining a real estate appraiser license and performing a 
real estate appraisal, a licensee shall comply with each 
provision of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 
Practice Ethics Rule and the following standards of ethical 
conduct:  

1. All applicants for licensure shall follow all rules 
established by the board with regard to conduct at the 
examination. Such rules shall include any written 
instructions communicated prior to the examination date 
and any instruction communicated at the site, either written 
or oral, on the date of the examination. Failure to comply 
with all rules established by the board or a testing service 
acting on behalf of the board with regard to conduct at the 
examination shall be grounds for denial of a license.  

2. A licensee, certificate holder or registrant shall not 
obtain or attempt to obtain a license, certification or 
registration by false or fraudulent representation.  

3. A licensee, registrant or certificate holder shall not make 
any misrepresentation.  

18VAC130-20-180. Standards of professional practice.  

A. The provisions of subsections C through J of this section 
shall not apply to local, state and federal employees 
performing in their official capacity.  

B. Maintenance of licenses. The board shall not be 
responsible for the failure of a licensee, registrant, or 
certificate holder to receive notices, communications and 
correspondence.  

1. Change of address.  

a. All licensed real estate appraisers, appraiser trainees, 
and certified instructors shall at all times keep the board 
informed in writing of their current home address and 
shall report any change of address to the board within 30 
days of such change.  

b. Registered real estate appraisal business entities shall 
at all times keep the board informed in writing of their 
current business address and shall report any change of 
address to the board within 30 days of such change.  

2. Change of name.  

a. All real estate appraisers, appraiser trainees, and 
certified instructors shall promptly notify the board in 
writing and provide appropriate written legal verification 
of any change of name.  

b. Registered real estate appraisal business entities shall 
promptly notify the board of any change of name or 
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change of business structure in writing. In addition to 
written notification, corporations shall provide a copy of 
the Certificate of Amendment from the State Corporation 
Commission, partnerships shall provide a copy of a 
certified Partnership Certificate, and other business 
entities trading under a fictitious name shall provide a 
copy of the certificate filed with the clerk of the court 
where business is to be conducted.  

3. Upon the change of name or address of the registered 
agent, associate, or partner, or sole proprietor designated 
by a real estate appraisal business entity, the business 
entity shall notify the board in writing of the change within 
30 days of such event.  

4. No license, certification or registration issued by the 
board shall be assigned or otherwise transferred.  

5. All licensees, certificate holders and registrants shall 
operate under the name in which the license or registration 
is issued.  

6. All certificates of licensure, registration or certification 
in any form are the property of the Real Estate Appraiser 
Board. Upon death of a licensee, dissolution or restructure 
of a registered business entity, or change of a licensee's, 
registrant's, or certificate holder's name or address, such 
licenses, registrations, or certificates must be returned with 
proper instructions and supplemental material to the board 
within 30 days of such event.  

7. All appraiser licenses issued by the board shall be 
visibly displayed.  

C. Use of signature and electronic transmission of report.  

1. The signing of an appraisal report or the transmittal of a 
report electronically in accordance with the Appraisal 
Standards Board Statement on Appraisal Standards No. 8, 
1998 Edition, shall indicate that the licensee has exercised 
complete direction and control over the appraisal. 
Therefore, no licensee shall sign or electronically transmit 
an appraisal which has been prepared by an unlicensed 
person unless such work was performed under the direction 
and supervision of the licensee in accordance with §54.1-
2011 C of the Code of Virginia.  

2. All original appraisal reports shall be signed by the 
licensed appraiser. For narrative and letter appraisals, the 
signature and final value conclusion shall appear on the 
letter of transmittal and certification page. For form 
appraisals, the signature shall appear on the page 
designated for the appraiser's signature and final estimate 
of value. All temporary licensed real estate appraisers shall 
sign and affix their temporary license to the appraisal 
report or letter for which they obtained the license to 
authenticate such report or letter. Appraisal reports may be 
transmitted electronically in accordance with Appraisal 
Standards Board Statement on Appraisal Standards No. 8. 

Reports prepared without the use of a seal shall contain the 
license number of the appraiser.  

a. An appraiser may provide market analysis studies or 
consulting reports, which do not constitute appraisals of 
market value provided such reports, studies or 
evaluations shall contain a conspicuous statement that 
such reports, studies or valuations are not an appraisal as 
defined in §54.1-2009 of the Code of Virginia.  

b. Application of the seal and signature or electronic 
transmission of the report indicates acceptance of 
responsibility for work shown thereon.  

c. The seal shall conform in detail and size to the design 
illustrated below:  

 

*The number on the seal shall be the 10-digit number 
or the last 6 digits, or the last significant digits on the 
license issued by the board.  

D. Development of appraisal. In developing a real property 
appraisal, all licensees shall comply with the provisions of the 
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 
(USPAP) in the edition in effect at the time of the reports' 
preparation. If the required definition of value uses the word 
"market," licensees must use the definition of market value 
set forth in USPAP "DEFINITIONS."  

E. Appraisal report requirements. In reporting a real 
property appraisal, a licensee shall meet the requirements of 
the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice in 
the edition in effect at the time of the reports' preparation.  

F. Reviewing an appraisal. In performing a review appraisal, 
a licensee shall comply with the requirements of the Uniform 
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in 
effect at the time of the reports' preparation. The reviewer's 
signature and seal shall appear on the certification page of the 
report.  

G. Mass appraisals. In developing and reporting a mass 
appraisal for ad valorem tax purposes, a licensee shall comply 
with the requirements of the Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at the 
time of the reports' preparation.  
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H. Recordkeeping requirements.  

1. A licensee or registrant of the Real Estate Appraiser 
Board shall, upon request or demand, promptly produce to 
the board or any of its agents any document, book, or 
record in a licensee's possession concerning any appraisal 
which the licensee performed, or for which the licensee is 
required to maintain records for inspection and copying by 
the board or its agents. These records shall be made 
available at the licensee's place of business during regular 
business hours.  

2. Upon the completion of an assignment, a licensee or 
registrant shall return to the rightful owner, upon demand, 
any document or instrument which the licensee possesses.  

3. The appraiser trainee shall be entitled to obtain copies of 
appraisal reports he prepared. The supervising appraiser 
shall keep copies of appraisal reports for a period of at 
least five years or at least two years after final disposition 
of any judicial proceedings in which testimony was given, 
whichever period expires last.  

I. Disclosure requirements. A licensee appraising property in 
which he, any member of his family, his firm, any member of 
his firm, or any entity in which he has an ownership interest, 
has any interest shall disclose, in writing, to any client such 
interest in the property and his status as a real estate appraiser 
licensed in the Commonwealth of Virginia. As used in the 
context of this chapter, "any interest" includes but is not 
limited to an ownership interest in the property to be 
appraised or in an adjacent property or involvement in the 
transaction, such as deciding whether to extend credit to be 
secured by such property.  

J. Competency. A licensee shall abide by the Competency 
Provision Rule as stated in the Ethics Provision of the 
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice in the 
edition in effect at the time of the reports' preparation.  

K. Unworthiness.  

1. A licensee shall act as a certified general real estate 
appraiser, certified residential real estate appraiser or 
licensed residential real estate appraiser in such a manner 
as to safeguard the interests of the public, and shall not 
engage in improper, fraudulent, or dishonest conduct.  

2. A licensee may not have been convicted, found guilty or 
pled guilty, regardless of adjudication, in any jurisdiction 
of the United States of a misdemeanor involving moral 
turpitude or of any felony there being no appeal pending 
therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. Any plea 
of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 
purposes of this subdivision. A certified copy of a final 
order, decree, or case decision by a court with the lawful 
authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision shall 
be admissible as prima facie evidence of such guilt.  

3. A licensee shall inform the board in writing within 30 
days of pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being 
convicted or found guilty, regardless of adjudication, of 
any felony or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude.  

4. A licensee may not have had a license or certification as 
a real estate appraiser which was suspended, revoked, or 
surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action or 
which has been the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction.  

5. A licensee shall inform the board in writing within 30 
days of the suspension, revocation or surrender of an 
appraiser license or certification in connection with a 
disciplinary action in any other jurisdiction, and a licensee 
shall inform the board in writing within 30 days of any 
appraiser license or certification which has been the subject 
of discipline in any jurisdiction.  

6. A licensee shall perform all appraisals in accordance 
with Virginia Fair Housing Law, §36-96.1 et seq. of the 
Code of Virginia.  

18VAC130-20-210. Standards for the approval of 
appraisal educational offerings for prelicensure credit.  

A. Content.  

1. Prior to licensure, applicants shall have successfully 
completed the 15 hour National Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice course or its equivalent.  

2. While various appraisal courses may be credited toward 
the classroom requirement specified for each classification 
of licensure, all applicants for licensure as an appraiser 
trainee, a licensed residential, certified residential, or 
certified general real estate appraiser must demonstrate that 
their course work included coverage of all the required 
topics listed below.  

Appraisal standards and ethics  

Influences on real estate value  

Legal considerations in appraisal  

Types of value  

Land economic principles  

Real estate markets and analysis  

Valuation process  

Property description and analysis  

Highest and best use analysis  

Appraisal statistical concepts  

Sales comparison approach  

Site valuation  

Cost approach  

Income approach  
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Valuation of partial interests  

In addition, all applicants for certified residential or 
certified general real estate appraiser must demonstrate that 
their course work included coverage in narrative report 
writing.  

Basic appraisal principles (30 hours) 

Basic appraisal procedures (30 hours) 

Residential market analysis and highest and best use (15 
hours) 

Residential appraiser site valuation and cost approach (15 
hours) 

Residential sales comparison and income approaches (30 
hours) 

Residential report writing and case studies (15 hours) 

Statistics, modeling and finance (15 hours) 

Advanced residential applications and case studies (15 
hours) 

General appraiser market analysis and highest and best 
use (30 hours) 

General appraiser sales comparison approach (30 hours) 

General appraiser site valuation and cost approach (30 
hours) 

General appraiser income approach (60 hours) 

General appraiser report writing and case studies (30 
hours) 

3. All appraisal and appraisal-related offerings presented 
for prelicense credit must have a final, written 
examination. The examination may not be an open book 
examination.  

4. Credit toward the classroom hour requirement to satisfy 
the educational requirement prior to licensure shall be 
granted only where the length of the educational offering is 
at least 15 classroom hours.  

B. Instruction. With the exception of courses taught at 
accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 
colleges, or adult distributive or marketing education 
programs, all other prelicense educational offerings given 
after January 1, 1993, must be taught by instructors certified 
by the board. All courses in the Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice must be instructed by an 
Appraisal Qualifications Board certified instructor.  

18VAC130-20-220. Standards for the approval of 
appraisal educational offerings for continuing education 
credit.  

A. Content.  

1. The content of courses, seminars, workshops or 
conferences which may be accepted for continuing 
education credit includes, but is not limited to those topics 
listed in 18VAC130-20-210 A 2 and below.  

Ad valorem taxation  

Arbitrations Arbitration, dispute resolution  

Courses related to the practice of real estate appraisal or 
consulting 

Development cost estimating  

Ethics and standards of professional practice, Uniform 
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice  

Fair housing  

Land use planning, zoning, and taxation  

Management, leasing, brokerage, timesharing  

Property development, partial interests  

Real estate appraisal (valuations/evaluations)  

Real estate financing and investment  

Real estate law, easements, and legal interests  

Real estate litigation, damages, condemnation  

Real estate appraisal related computer applications  

Real estate securities and syndication  

Real property exchange  

2. Courses, seminars, workshops or conferences submitted 
for continuing education credit must indicate that the 
licensee participated in an educational program that 
maintained and increased his knowledge, skill and 
competency in real estate appraisal.  

3. Credit toward the classroom hour requirement to satisfy 
the continuing education requirements shall be granted 
only where the length of the educational offering is at least 
two hours and the licensee participated in the full length of 
the program.  

B. Instruction. Although continuing education offerings are 
not required to be taught by board certified instructors, 
effective January 1, 2003, the Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice course must be taught by an 
instructor certified by the Appraiser Qualifications Board.  

18VAC130-20-230. Procedures for awarding prelicense 
and continuing education credits.  

A. Course credits shall be awarded only once for courses 
having substantially equivalent content.  

B. Proof of completion of such course, seminar, workshop 
or conference may be in the form of a transcript, certificate, 
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letter of completion or in any such written form as may be 
required by the board. All courses, seminars and workshops 
submitted for prelicensure and continuing education credit 
must indicate the number of classroom hours.  

C. Information which may be requested by the board in 
order to further evaluate course content includes, but is not 
limited to, course descriptions, syllabi or textbook references.  

D. All transcripts, certificates, letters of completion or 
similar documents submitted to verify completion of 
seminars, workshops or conferences for continuing education 
credit must indicate successful completion of the course, 
seminar, workshop or conference. Applicants must furnish 
written proof of having received a passing grade in all 
prelicense education courses submitted.  

E. Credit may be awarded for prelicensure courses 
completed by challenge examination without classroom 
attendance, if such credit was granted by the course provider 
prior to July 1, 1990, and provided that the board is satisfied 
with the quality of the challenge examination that was 
administered by the course provider.  

F. All courses seminars, workshops, or conferences, 
submitted for satisfaction of continuing education 
requirements must be satisfactory to the board.  

G. Prelicense courses. A distance education course may be 
acceptable to meet the classroom hour requirement or its 
equivalent provided that the course is approved by the board, 
the learner successfully completes a written examination 
proctored by an official approved by the presenting entity, 
college or university, the course meets the requirements for 
qualifying education established by the Appraiser 
Qualifications Board, the course is equivalent to the 
minimum of 15 classroom hours and meets one of the 
following conditions:  

1. The course is presented by an accredited (Commission 
on Colleges or a regional accreditation association) college 
or university that offers distance education programs in 
other disciplines; or 

2. The course has received the American Council on 
Education's Program on Noncollegiate Sponsored 
Instruction (ACE/Credit Program) approval for college 
credit; or  

3. 2. The course has received approval of the International 
Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC) for the 
course design and delivery mechanism and either the 
approval of the Appraisal Qualifications Board through its 
course approval program or the approval of the board for 
the content of the course.  

H. Continuing education. Distance education courses may 
be acceptable to meet the continuing education requirement 
provided that the course is approved by the board, is a 
minimum of two classroom hours, meets the requirements for 

continuing education established by the Appraiser 
Qualifications Board and meets one of the following 
conditions:  

1. The course is presented to an organized group in an 
instructional setting with a person qualified and available 
to answer questions, provide information, and monitor 
student attendance;  

2. The course has been presented by an accredited 
(Commission on Colleges or regional accreditation 
association) college or university that offers distance 
education programs in other disciplines and the student 
successfully completes a written examination proctored by 
an official approved by the presenting college or university 
or by the sponsoring organization consistent with the 
requirements of the course accreditation; or if a written 
examination is not required for accreditation, the student 
successfully completes the course mechanisms required for 
accreditation that demonstrate mastery and fluency (said 
mechanisms must be present in a course without an exam 
in order to be acceptable; or 

3. The course has received approval for college credit by 
the American Council on Education through its (ACE/ 
Credit Program) and the student successfully completes a 
written examination proctored by an official approved by 
the presenting college or university or by the sponsoring 
organization consistent with the requirements of the course 
accreditation; or if a written examination is not required for 
accreditation, the student successfully completes the course 
mechanisms required for accreditation that demonstrate 
mastery and fluency (said mechanisms must be present in a 
course without an exam in order to be acceptable; or  

4. 3. The course has received approval of the International 
Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC) for the 
course design and delivery mechanism and either the 
approval of the Appraiser Qualifications Board through its 
course approval program or the approval of the board for 
the content of the course and the student successfully 
completes a written examination proctored by an official 
approved by the presenting college or university or by the 
sponsoring organization consistent with the requirements 
of the course accreditation; or if a written examination is 
not required for accreditation, the student successfully 
completes the course mechanisms required for 
accreditation that demonstrate mastery and fluency (said 
mechanisms must be present in a course without an exam 
in order to be acceptable).  

I. A teacher of appraisal courses may receive education 
credit for the classroom hour or hours taught. These credits 
shall be awarded only once for courses having substantially 
equivalent content.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the 18VAC130-20 
are not being published; however, the name of each form is 
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listed below.  The forms are available for public inspection at 
the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of 
the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS  

Real Estate Appraiser Board License Application, 40LIC 
(rev. 9/02 8/07).  

Real Estate Appraiser Board Experience Log, 40EXP (rev. 
9/02 8/07).  

Real Estate Appraiser Board Experience Affidavit 
Verification Form, 40EXPAFFEXPVER (eff. 9/02 9/02 rev. 
8/07 ).  

Experience Requirements, 40EXPREQ (eff. 9/02 8/07).  

Real Estate Appraiser Board Trainee License Application, 
40TRLIC (rev. 9/02 8/07).  

Real Estate Appraiser Board Trainee Supervisor Verification 
Form, 40TRSUP (eff. 9/02 rev. 8/07).  

Real Estate Appraiser Business Registration Application, 
40BUS (eff. 9/02 rev. 8/07).  

Real Estate Appraiser Board New Course Application, 
40CRS (eff. 9/02 rev. 8/07).  

Real Estate Appraiser Board Instructor Certificate 
Application, 40INSTR (eff. 9/02 rev. 8/07).  

Real Estate Appraiser Board Renewal Course Application, 
40RENCRS (rev. 8/07). 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Activate Application, 40ACT 
(rev. 8/07). 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Temporary License 
Application, 40LIC (rev. 8/07). 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE  

Transfer Credit Practices of Designated Educational 
Institutions, American Association of Collegiate Registrars 
and Admissions Officers.  

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice, 2003 
2008-2009 Edition, Appraisal Standards Board, Appraisal 
Foundation.  

Statement on Appraisal Standards No. 8 (SMT-8), 
Electronic Transmission of Reports, 1998 Edition, Appraisal 
Standards Board, Appraisal Foundation.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1054; Filed November 7, 2007, 11:53 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

BOARDS OF EDUCATION; JUVENILE JUSTICE; 
MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL RETARDATION AND 

SUBSTANCE ABUSE SERVICE 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 22VAC42-10. Standards for 
Interdepartmental Regulation of Children's Residential 
Facilities (repealing 22VAC42-10-10 through 22VAC42-
10-1000). 

22VAC42-11. Standards for Interdepartmental 
Regulation of Children's Residential Facilities (adding 
22VAC42-11-10 through 22VAC42-11-1080). 

Statutory Authority: §§16.1-309.9, 22.1-321, 22.1-323, 22.1-
323.2, 37.2-407, 37.2-408, 63.2-217, 63.2-1701, 63.2-1703, 
63.2-1737, 63.2-203, 66-10 and 66-24 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 28, 2007.  

Agency Contact: Charlene Vincent, Coordinator, Department 
of Social Services, Office of Interdepartmental Regulation, 7 
North Eighth Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
726-7097, FAX (804) 726-7095, TTY (800) 828-1120, or 
email charlene.vincent@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

This joint action repeals 22VAC42-10 and adopts a new 
regulation, 22VAC42-11, Standards for Interdepartmental 
Regulation of Children’s Residential Facilities. The 
regulation applies to all children’s residential facilities 
licensed or certified by the Departments of Education; 
Juvenile Justice; Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services; and Social Services.  The 
changes made to this regulation reflect changes to the 
children’s residential facility industry in recent years, and 
in federal requirements regarding recordkeeping and 
behavior management. The changes also incorporate the 
requirements found in Chapters 168 and 781 of the 2006 
Acts of Assembly. Substantive changes address changes in 
the types of licenses issued in response to compliance 
issues, summary suspensions, staff training requirements 
and qualifications, timely educational services, 
recordkeeping requirements, medication, staff supervision 
ratios, behavior management, recreation, emergency 
procedures, and community relations. 

The majority of changes made to the proposed regulation 
is nonsubstantive and merely clarify, correct or improve 
language. 

Substantive changes include clarifying in 22VAC42-11-70 
that providers must be in substantial compliance of the 
regulations.  The amount of time a provider has to self 
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report lawsuits was changed from 72 hours to 10 days in 
the same standard.  In 22VAC42-11-90 unnecessary 
language was deleted from the provisional license section 
and the number of systemic deficiencies required before a 
facility can be given a provisional license was changed 
from one back to the original requirement of two.  In 
22VAC42-11-180 the requirement that the decision making 
plan be approved by the regulatory agency was deleted. 
Any change in program director was added to the list of 
changes needing to be reported to the regulatory agency in 
22VAC42-11-230.  In 22VAC42-11-250 "or residency at 
the facility" was added so that individuals other than staff 
or residents who live at the facility would also be required 
to have a TB assessment.  In 22VAC42-11-270 "after the 
effective date of these standards" was added to ensure that 
all current staff would not be affected by new qualification 
requirements.  Training in the appropriate sitting of 
children’s residential facilities was added as a requirement 
in 22VAC42-11-310.  The requirement that an applicant 
must show documentation regarding good neighbor 
policies and community relations was added in 22VAC42-
11-330. 

Sections regarding qualification requirements were made 
more flexible by only requiring a certain number of years 
professional experience combined instead of requiring a 
certain number of years experience in each type of 
experience.  A degree in administration was also added in 
22VAC42-11-340 as an acceptable degree for a chief 
administrative officer.  An experienced child care worker 
was added as an acceptable person to work with an 
inexperienced child care worker in 22VAC42-11-380. 

In standards where the legal guardian was listed, parents 
were added, if appropriate. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

CHAPTER 11 

STANDARDS FOR INTERDEPARTMENTAL 
REGULATION OF CHILDREN'S RESIDENTIAL 

FACILITIES 

22VAC42-11-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Allegation" means an accusation that a facility is operating 
without a license or receiving public funds for services it is 
not certified to provide. 

"Annual" means within [ 12 13 ] months of the previous 
event or occurrence. 

"Applicable state regulation" means any regulation that the 
promulgating state agency determines applies to the facility. 
The term includes, but is not necessarily limited to, modules, 
standards, and other regulations promulgated by the 
Departments of Education; Health; Housing and Community 
Development; Juvenile Justice; Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services; Social Services; 
or other state agencies. 

"Applicant" means the person, corporation, partnership, 
association, or public agency that has applied for a license or 
certificate. 

[ "Application" means a document completed by the facility 
to furnish the regulatory authority details about the facility’s 
operations and includes certifications that the facility 
understands and intends to comply with regulatory 
requirements. An application includes inspection reports 
necessary to verify compliance with applicable requirements 
of other state agencies. An application is complete when all 
required information is provided and the application is signed 
and dated by the individual legally responsible for operation 
of the facility. ] 

"Aversive stimuli" means physical forces (e.g., sound, 
electricity, heat, cold, light, water, or noise) or substances 
(e.g., hot pepper, pepper sauce, or pepper spray) measurable 
in duration and intensity that when applied to [ an individual 
a resident ], are noxious or painful to the individual, but in no 
case shall the term "aversive stimuli" include striking or 
hitting the individual with any part of the body or with an 
implement or pinching, pulling, or shaking the [ individual 
resident ] . 

"Behavior support" means those principles and methods 
employed by a provider to help a child achieve positive 
behavior and to address and correct a child’s inappropriate 
behavior in a constructive and safe manner in accordance 
with written policies and procedures governing program 
expectations, treatment goals, child and staff safety and 
security, and the child’s service plan. 

"Behavior support assessment" means identification of a 
resident’s behavior triggers, successful intervention strategies, 
anger and anxiety management options for calming, 
techniques for self-management, and specific goals that 
address the targeted behaviors that lead to emergency safety 
interventions. 

"Body cavity search" means any examination of a resident's 
rectal or vaginal cavities, except the performance of medical 
procedures by medical personnel. 

"Case record" or "record" means up-to-date written or 
automated information relating to one resident. This 
information includes social data, agreements, all 
correspondence relating to care of the resident, service plans 
with periodic revisions, aftercare plans and discharge 
summary, and any other data related to the resident. 
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"Child" means any person legally defined as a child under 
state law. The term includes residents and other children 
coming in contact with the resident or facility (e.g., visitors). 
When the term is used, the requirement applies to every child 
at the facility regardless of whether the child has been 
admitted to the facility for care (e.g., staff/child ratios apply 
to all children present even though some may not be 
residents). 

"Child-placing agency" means any person licensed to place 
children in foster homes or adoptive homes or a local board of 
[ public welfare or ] social services authorized to place 
children in foster homes or adoptive homes. 

[ "Child with a visual impairment" means one whose vision 
after best correction limits the child’s ability to profit from a 
normal or unmodified educational or daily living setting. 

"Child with special needs" means a child in need of 
particular services because the child has mental retardation, a 
developmental disability, mental illness, emotional 
disturbance, a substance abuse problem, is in need of special 
educational services, or requires security services. ] 

"Children’s residential facility" or "facility" means a 
publicly or privately operated facility, other than a private 
family home, where 24-hour per day care is provided to 
children separated from their legal guardians and is required 
to be licensed or certified by the Code of Virginia except: 

1. Any facility licensed by the Department of Social 
Services as a child-caring institution as of January 1, 1987, 
and that receives no public funds; and 

2. Acute-care private psychiatric hospitals serving children 
that are licensed by the Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services under 
Rules and Regulations for the Licensing of Providers of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation, Substance Abuse, the 
Individual and Family Developmental Disabilities Support 
Waiver, and Residential Brain Injury Services, 12VAC35-
105. 

"Complaint" means an accusation against a licensed or 
certified facility regarding an alleged violation of standards or 
law. 

[ "Corrective action plan" means violations documented by 
the regulatory authority and the facility’s corrective action to 
the documented violations within a specified time frame. ] 

"Confined in postdispositional detention" means that a court 
has sentenced the juvenile to a detention home for a period 
exceeding 30 days as found in §16.1-284.1 B of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"Contraband" means any item prohibited by law or by the 
rules and regulations of the agency, or any item that conflicts 
with the program or safety and security of the facility or 
individual residents. 

"Corporal punishment" means punishment administered 
through the intentional inflicting of pain or discomfort to the 
body through actions such as, but not limited to (i) striking or 
hitting with any part of the body or with an implement; (ii) 
pinching, pulling, or shaking; or (iii) any similar action that 
normally inflicts pain or discomfort. 

[ "Corrective action plan" means violations documented by 
the regulatory authority and the facility’s submitted pledged 
corrective action to the documented violations cited by the 
regulatory authority. ] 

"Day" means calendar day unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise. 

"Detention home" or "secure detention" means a local, 
regional or state, publicly or privately operated secure 
custody facility that houses juveniles who are ordered 
detained pursuant to the Code of Virginia. The term does not 
include juvenile correctional centers.  

"DJJ" means the Department of Juvenile Justice. 

"DMHMRSAS" means the Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services. 

"DOE" means the Department of Education. 

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services. 

"Emergency" means a sudden, generally unexpected 
occurrence or set of circumstances demanding immediate 
action. Emergency does not include regularly scheduled time 
off for permanent staff or other situations that should 
reasonably be anticipated. 

"Emergency admission" means the sudden, unplanned, 
unexpected admittance of a child who needs immediate care 
except self-admittance to a temporary care facility or a court-
ordered placement. 

"Goal" means expected results or conditions that usually 
involve a long period of time and that are written in 
behavioral terms in a statement of relatively broad scope. 
Goals provide guidance in establishing specific short-term 
objectives directed toward the attainment of the goal. 

"Good character and reputation" means findings have been 
established and knowledgeable and objective people agree 
that the individual maintains business or professional, family 
and community relationships that are characterized by 
honesty, fairness, truthfulness, and dependability, and has a 
history or pattern of behavior that demonstrates that the 
individual is suitable and able to care for, supervise, and 
protect children. Relatives by blood or marriage, and persons 
who are not knowledgeable of the individual, such as recent 
acquaintances, shall not be considered objective references. 

"Group home" means a children’s residential facility that is 
a community-based, home-like single dwelling, or its 
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acceptable equivalent, other than the private home of the 
operator, and serves up to 12 residents. 

"Health record" means the file maintained by a provider that 
[ houses contains ] personal health information.  

"Human research" means any systematic investigation 
 [ utilizing human subjects that may expose such human 
subjects to physical or psychological injury as a consequence 
of participation as subjects and that departs from the 
application of established and accepted therapeutic methods 
appropriate to meet the subjects' needs. including research 
development, testing, and evaluation, utilizing human 
subjects, that is designed to develop or contribute to 
generalized knowledge. Human research shall not include 
research exempt from federal research regulations pursuant to 
45 CFR 46.101(b). ] 

"Immediately" means directly without delay. 

"Independent living program" means a competency-based 
program that is specifically approved  [ by the regulatory 
authority ] to provide the opportunity for the residents to 
develop the skills necessary to live successfully on their own 
following completion of the program. 

"Individualized service plan" means a written plan of action 
developed, and modified at intervals, to meet the needs of a 
specific resident. It specifies measurable short and long-term 
goals, objectives, strategies and time frames for reaching the 
goals and the individuals responsible for carrying out [ a the ] 
plan. 

"Interdepartmental standards" means the standards for 
residential care that are common to the departments and that 
must be met by a children’s residential facility in order to 
qualify for a license or certificate. 

"Juvenile correctional center" means a secure custody 
facility operated by, or under contract with, the Department of 
Juvenile Justice to house and treat persons committed to the 
department. 

"Legal guardian" means the natural or adoptive parents or 
other person, agency, or institution that has legal custody of a 
child. 

"License or certificate" means a document verifying 
approval to operate a children’s residential facility and that 
indicates the status of the facility regarding compliance with 
applicable state regulations. 

"Live-in staff" means staff who are required to be on duty 
for a period of 24 consecutive hours or more during each 
work week. 

"Living unit" means the space in which a particular group of 
children in care of a residential facility reside. A living unit 
contains sleeping areas, bath and toilet facilities, and a living 
room or its equivalent for use by the residents of the unit. 

Depending upon its design, a building may contain one living 
unit or several separate living units. 

"Mechanical restraint" means the use of an approved 
mechanical device that involuntarily restricts the freedom of 
movement or voluntary functioning of a limb or portion of a 
person’s body as a means to control his physical activities 
when the individual receiving services does not have the 
ability to remove the device. 

"Medication error" means [ that ] an error [ has been ] made 
in administering a medication to a resident [ when any of the 
following occur including the following ] : (i) the wrong 
medication is given to a resident; (ii) the wrong resident is 
given the medication; (iii) the wrong dosage is given to a 
resident; (iv) medication is given to a resident at the wrong 
time or not at all; and (v) the proper method is not used to 
give the medication to a resident. A medication error does not 
include a resident’s refusal of offered medication. 

"Objective" means expected short-term results or conditions 
that must be met in order to attain a goal. Objectives are 
stated in measurable, behavioral terms and have a specified 
time for achievement. 

"On duty" means that period of time during which a staff 
person is responsible for the supervision of one or more 
children. 

"Parent" means a natural or adoptive parent or a surrogate 
parent appointed pursuant to DOE’s regulations governing 
special education programs for students with disabilities. 
"Parent" means either parent unless the facility has been 
provided [ evidence documentation ] that there is a legally 
binding instrument, a state law or a court order governing 
such matters as divorce, separation, or custody, that provides 
to the contrary. 

"Pat down" means a thorough external body search of a 
clothed resident. 

"Personal health information" means the information that 
encompasses the universe of oral, written or otherwise 
recorded information that is created or received by an entity 
[ and ] relating to either an individual’s physical or mental 
health or the provision of or payment for health care to an 
individual. 

"Pharmacological restraint" means the use of a medication 
that is administered involuntarily for the emergency control 
of an individual’s behavior when [ the administered 
medication is not a standard treatment for the individual’s 
medical or psychiatric condition when that individual’s 
behavior places him or others at imminent risk. the 
individual’s behavior places him or others at imminent risk 
and the administered medication is not a standard treatment 
for the individual’s medical or psychiatric condition. ] 

"Physical restraint" (also referred to as a "manual hold") 
means use of a physical intervention or "hands-on" hold to 
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prevent an individual from moving his body when that 
individual’s behavior places him or others at imminent risk. 

"Placement" means an activity by any person that provides 
assistance to a parent or legal guardian in locating and 
effecting the movement of a child to a foster home, adoptive 
home, or children’s residential facility. 

"Premises" means the tracts of land on which any part of a 
residential facility for children is located and any buildings on 
such tracts of land. 

"Provider" or "licensee" [ or "sponsor" ] means the person, 
corporation, partnership, association, or public agency to 
whom a license or certificate is issued and who is legally 
responsible for compliance with the [ standards regulatory ] 
and statutory requirements relating to the facility. 

"Regulatory authority [ or agency ] " means the department 
or state board that is responsible under the Code of Virginia 
for the licensure or certification of a children’s residential 
facility. 

"Resident" means a person admitted to a children's 
residential facility for supervision, care, training or treatment 
on a 24-hour per day basis. 

"Respite care facility" means a facility that is specifically 
approved to provide short-term, periodic residential care to 
children accepted into its program in order to give the 
[ parents or ] legal guardians temporary relief from 
responsibility for their direct care. 

"Rest day" means a period of not less than 24 consecutive 
hours during which a staff person has no responsibility to 
perform duties related to the facility. 

[ "Right" is something to which one has a legal or 
contractual claim. ] 

"Routine admission" means the admittance of a child 
following evaluation of an application for admission and 
execution of a written placement agreement. 

"Rules of conduct" means a listing of [ a facility’s ] rules or 
regulations that is maintained to inform residents and others 
about behaviors that are not permitted and the consequences 
applied when the behaviors occur. 

"Sanitizing agent" means any substance approved by the 
Environmental Protection Agency to destroy bacteria.  

"Seclusion" means the involuntary placement of an 
individual alone, in an area secured by a door that is locked or 
held shut by a staff person [ , ] by physically blocking the 
door [ , ] or by any other physical or verbal means so that the 
individual cannot leave it. 

"Secure custody facility" means a detention home or a 
juvenile correctional center  [ with physical barriers that 
regulate movement ] . 

"Self-admission" means the admittance of a child who seeks 
admission to a temporary care facility as permitted by 
Virginia statutory law without completing the requirements 
for "routine admission." 

"Severe weather" means extreme environment or climate 
conditions that pose a threat to the health, safety, or welfare 
of residents. 

[ "Shall" means an obligation to act is imposed.  

"Shall not" means an obligation not to act is imposed. ] 

"Standard" means a statement that describes in measurable 
terms a required minimum performance level. [ The term 
standard and the term regulation may be used 
interchangeably. ] 

"Strategies" means a series of steps and methods used to 
meet goals and objectives. 

"Strip search" means a visual inspection of the body of a 
resident when that resident's outer clothing or total clothing is 
removed and an inspection of the removed clothing. Strip 
searches are conducted for the detection of contraband. 

"Structured program of care" means a comprehensive 
planned daily routine including appropriate supervision that 
meets the needs of each resident both individually and as a 
group. 

"Student/intern" means an individual who simultaneously is 
affiliated with an educational institution and a residential 
facility. Every student/intern who is not an employee is either 
a volunteer or contractual service provider depending upon 
the relationship among the student/intern, educational 
institution, and facility. 

[ "Substantial compliance" means that while there may be 
noncompliance with one or more standards that represents 
minimal risk, compliance clearly and obviously exists with 
most of the standards as a whole. ] 

"Systemic deficiency" means violations documented by the 
regulatory authority that demonstrate defects in the overall 
operation of the facility or one or more of its components. 

"Target population" means individuals with a similar, 
specified characteristic or disability. 

"Temporary care facility" means a facility or an emergency 
shelter specifically approved to provide a range of services, as 
needed, on an individual basis not to exceed 90 days, except 
that this term does not include secure detention facilities. 

"Temporary contract worker" means an individual who is 
not a direct salaried employee of the provider but is employed 
by a third party and is not a consistently scheduled staff 
member.  

"Therapy" means provision of direct diagnostic, preventive 
and treatment services where functioning is threatened or 
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affected by social and psychological stress or health 
impairment. 

"Time out" means the involuntary removal of [ an individual 
a resident ] by a staff person from a source of reinforcement 
to a different open location for a specified period of time or 
until the problem behavior has subsided to discontinue or 
reduce the frequency of problematic behavior. 

"Treatment" means individually planned, sound, and 
therapeutic interventions that are intended to improve or 
maintain functioning of an individual receiving services in 
those areas that show impairment as the result of mental 
disability, substance addiction, or physical impairment. In 
order to be considered sound and therapeutic, the treatment 
must conform to current acceptable professional practice. 

"Variance" means temporary or permanent waiver of 
compliance with a standard or portion of a standard, or 
permission to meet the intent of the standard by a method 
other than that specified in the standard, when the regulatory 
authority, in its sole discretion, determines: (i) enforcement 
will create an undue hardship and (ii) resident care will not be 
adversely affected. [ The denial of a request for a variance is 
appealable when it leads to the denial or revocation of a 
license or certificate. ] 

[ "Volunteers" means any individual or group who of their 
own free will, and without any financial gain, provides goods 
and services to the program without compensation. ] 

"Wilderness program" means a facility specifically approved 
to provide a primitive camping program with a nonpunitive 
environment and an experience curriculum for residents nine 
years of age and older who cannot presently function in 
home, school, [ and or ] community. In lieu of or in addition 
to dormitories, cabins or barracks for housing residents, 
primitive campsites are used to integrate learning, mentoring, 
and group process with real living needs and problems for 
which the resident can develop a sense of social responsibility 
and self worth. 

22VAC42-11-20. Interdepartmental cooperation. 

The Departments of Education; Juvenile Justice; Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services; 
and Social Services shall assist and cooperate with each other 
in the licensing and certification of children’s residential 
facilities. 

22VAC42-11-30. Applications. 

A. Initial applications. 

1. A completed application includes, but is not limited to, 
an initial application form; proposed working budget for 
the year showing projected revenue and expenses for the 
first year of operation and a balance sheet showing assets 
and liabilities; evidence of financial resources or a line of 
credit sufficient to cover estimated operating expenses for 

90 days unless the facility is operated by a state or local 
government agency, board, or commission; a description of 
the program; a proposed staffing/supervision plan 
including the staff information sheet; copies of all job 
descriptions; evidence of the applicant’s authority to 
conduct business in Virginia; a copy of the floor plan with 
dimensions of rooms; a certificate of occupancy; current 
health inspection; evidence of consultation with state or 
local fire prevention authorities; a list of board members, if 
applicable; three references for the applicant; and, if 
required by the regulatory authority, references for three 
officers of the board if applicable. This information [ must 
shall ] be submitted to and approved by the lead regulatory 
agency in order for the application to be considered 
complete. 

2. All initial applications that are not complete within 12 
months [ will shall ] be closed. 

3. Facilities operated by state or local government 
agencies, boards, and commissions shall submit evidence 
of sufficient funds to operate including a working budget 
showing appropriated revenue and projected expenses for 
the coming year. 

4. Currently licensed providers [ must shall ] demonstrate 
that they are operating in substantial compliance with 
applicable regulations before new facilities operated by the 
same provider will be licensed. 

B. Renewal applications. A completed application for 
renewal of a facility’s license or certificate shall be submitted 
within 30 days after being notified to submit a renewal 
application. 

22VAC42-11-40. Investigation. 

The regulatory authority or regulatory authorities will 
arrange and conduct an on-site inspection of the facility and a 
thorough review of the services [ , ] and [ investigate an 
investigation of ] the character, reputation, status, and 
responsibility of the applicant. 

22VAC42-11-50. Review of facilities. 

A. Representatives of the [ departments regulatory 
authorities ] shall make announced and unannounced reviews 
during the effective dates of the license/certificate. The 
purpose of these reviews is to monitor compliance with 
applicable standards. 

B. The regulatory authority shall notify relevant local 
governments and placing and funding agencies, including the 
Office of Comprehensive Services, of multiple health and 
safety or human rights violations in children’s residential 
facilities when such violations result in the lowering of the 
license or certificate to provisional status. 
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22VAC42-11-60. Posting of information. 

A. Information concerning the application for initial 
licensure of children’s residential facilities shall be posted to 
the Interdepartmental Regulation website by locality. 

B. An accurate listing of all licensed or certified facilities 
including information on renewal, denial, or provisional 
licensure, services and identification of the lead regulatory 
authority shall be posted [ to on ] the Interdepartmental 
Regulation website by locality. 

22VAC42-11-70. General requirements. 

A. The [ facility provider ] shall demonstrate [ full 
substantial ] compliance with [ sufficient applicable these ] 
standards to [ clearly ] demonstrate that its program and 
physical plant [ provides provide ] reasonably safe and 
adequate care while approved plans of action to correct 
findings of noncompliance are being implemented and there 
are no noncompliances that pose an immediate and direct 
danger to residents. 

B. Corporations sponsoring residential facilities for children 
shall maintain their corporate status in accordance with 
Virginia law. 

C. The [ facility provider ] shall comply with the terms of its 
license or certificate. 

D. A license or certificate is not transferable and 
automatically expires when there is a change of ownership or 
sponsorship. 

E. The current license or certificate shall be posted at all 
times in a place conspicuous to the public. 

F. A license or certificate shall not be issued to a facility 
when noncompliance poses an immediate danger to the 
resident’s life, health, or safety. 

G. Intermediate sanctions authorized by statute may be 
imposed at the discretion of the regulatory authorities. 

H. Each [ facility provider ] shall self-report within [ 72 
hours 10 days ] , to the lead regulatory agency, lawsuits 
against or settlements with residential facility operators 
relating to the health and safety or human rights of residents 
and any criminal charges against staff that may have been 
made relating to the health and safety or human rights of 
residents. 

I. The provider shall comply with all other applicable 
federal, state, or local laws and regulations. 

J. The provider’s current policy and procedure manual shall 
be readily accessible to all staff. 

K. The provider shall comply with [ their its ] own policies 
and procedures. 

22VAC42-11-80. Written corrective action plans. 

[ A. Facilities regulated by the department of Juvenile 
Justice shall comply with the Board of Juvenile Justice’s 
certification regulations governing corrective action plans. ] 

[ A. B. ] If there is noncompliance with [ any of these 
applicable ] standards during an initial or ongoing review or 
investigation, the regulatory authority shall issue a licensing 
report describing the noncompliance and requesting the 
provider to submit a corrective action plan. 

[ B. C. ] The provider shall submit to the regulatory 
authority and implement a written corrective action plan for 
each standard [ found to be in noncompliance as identified on 
the licensing report. for which the provider is found to be in 
noncompliance. ] 

[ C. D. ] The [ plan of corrective action corrective action 
plan ] shall include a: 

1. Description of each corrective action to be taken and 
person responsible for implementation; 

2. Date of completion for each action; and 

3. Signature of the person responsible for oversight of the 
implementation of the pledged corrective action. 

[ D. E. ] The provider shall submit the corrective action plan 
to the regulatory authority within 15 business days of the 
issuance of the licensing report. Extensions may be granted 
by the regulatory authority when requested prior to the due 
date, but extensions shall not exceed an additional 10 
business days. An immediate corrective action shall be 
required if the regulatory authority determines that the 
violations [ are related pose a threat ] to the health, safety or 
welfare of residents. 

[ E. F. ] A corrective action plan shall be approved by the 
regulatory authority. The provider [ has shall have ] an 
additional 10 business days to submit a revised corrective 
action plan after receiving a notice that the plan submitted has 
not been approved. 

22VAC42-11-90. Licenses [ and/ ] certificates. 

A. The Board of Juvenile Justice shall issue a certificate to 
each facility regulated by the board indicating the facility’s 
certification status when the facility is in compliance with 
these interdepartmental standards, other applicable 
regulations issued by the board, and applicable statutes. The 
certificate shall be effective for the period specified by the 
board unless it is revoked or surrendered sooner. 

B. Facilities regulated by DOE, DMHMRSAS, or DSS. 

1. A conditional license shall be issued to a new provider 
that demonstrates compliance with administrative and 
policy requirements but has not demonstrated compliance 
with all [ of ] the Interdepartmental Standards. A 
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conditional license shall not exceed six months unless 
allowed by the Code of Virginia. 

2. A provisional license may be issued to a provider that 
has demonstrated an inability to maintain compliance with 
the Interdepartmental Standards or other applicable 
regulations; has violations of licensing standards that pose 
a threat to the health or safety of residents being served; 
[ has multiple violations of licensing standards; or has 
failed to comply with a previous corrective action plan and 
or ] has [ one two ] or more systemic deficiencies. 

a. A provisional license may be issued at any time. 

b. The term of a provisional license may not exceed six 
months unless allowed by the Code of Virginia. 

3. An annual license or certificate: 

a. Shall be issued when the provider applies for renewal 
while holding a conditional or provisional license or 
certificate and substantially meets or exceeds the 
requirements of the Interdepartmental Standards and 
other regulations and statutes. 

b. May be issued at any time if the provider has received 
one systemic deficiency. 

c. May be renewed, but an annual license or certificate 
and any renewals thereof shall not exceed a period of 36 
successive months for all annual licenses and renewals 
combined. 

4. A triennial license or certificate shall be issued when the 
provider: 

a. Applies for renewal while holding an annual or 
triennial license or certificate; and 

b. Substantially meets or exceeds the requirements of the 
Interdepartmental Standards and other applicable 
regulations and statutes. 

C. The term of a facility’s license or certificate may be 
modified at any time during the licensure or certification 
period based on a change in the facility’s compliance with 
[ this regulation these standards and other applicable statutes 
and regulations ] . 

22VAC42-11-100. Application fees. 

A. There shall be a $500 nonrefundable initial application 
fee. If the application is closed, denied, or withdrawn all 
subsequent initial applications [ will shall ] require another 
$500 fee. 

B. There shall be a $100 nonrefundable renewal application 
fee. 

C. [ No A ] renewal fee [ will shall not ] be charged to 
providers directly following the issuance of a conditional 
license. 

D. [ This The ] application fee [ does shall ] not apply to 
state or locally owned, operated, or contracted facilities. 

E. [ Such Application ] fees [ are to shall ] be used for the 
development and delivery of training for providers and staff 
of children’s residential facilities and regulators of these 
facilities. 

22VAC42-11-110. Modification. 

A. The conditions of a license or certificate may be modified 
during the term of the license or certificate with respect to the 
capacity, residents' age range, facility location, gender, or 
changes in the services. Limited modifications may be 
approved during the conditional licensure or certification 
period. 

B. The provider shall submit a written report of any 
contemplated changes in operation that would affect the terms 
of the license or certificate or the continuing eligibility for 
licensure or certification to the lead regulatory authority. 

C. A change shall not be implemented prior to approval by 
the regulatory authority. [ A determination will be made as to 
whether changes will be approved and the license or 
certificate modified accordingly or whether an application for 
a new license or certificate must be filed. ] The provider will 
be notified in writing within 60 days following receipt of the 
request as to whether the modification is approved or a new 
license or certificate is required. 

22VAC42-11-120. Denial. 

A. An application for licensure or certification may be 
denied when the applicant: 

1. Violates any provision of applicable laws or regulations 
made pursuant to such laws; 

2. Has a founded disposition of child abuse or neglect after 
the appeal process has been completed; 

3. Has been convicted of a crime listed in §37.2-416 or 
63.2-1726 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. Has made false statements on the application or 
misrepresentation of facts in the application process; 

5. Has not demonstrated good character and reputation as 
determined through references, background investigations, 
driving records, and other application materials; or 

6. Has a history of adverse licensing actions or sanctions. 

B. If denial of a license or certificate is recommended, the 
facility [ will shall ] be notified in writing of the deficiencies, 
the proposed action, the right to appeal, and the appeal 
process. 

22VAC42-11-130. Revocation. 

A. [ The A ] license or certificate may be revoked when the 
provider: 
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1. Violates any provision of applicable laws or 
[ applicable ] regulations [ made pursuant to such laws ] ; 

2. Engages in conduct or practices that are in violation of 
statutes related to abuse or neglect of children; 

3. Deviates significantly from the program or services for 
which a license or certificate was issued without obtaining 
prior written approval from the regulatory authority or fails 
to correct such deviations within the specified time; or 

4. Engages in a willful action or gross negligence that 
jeopardizes the care or protection of residents. 

B. If revocation of a license or certificate is recommended, 
the facility [ will shall ] be notified in writing of the 
deficiencies, the proposed action, the right to appeal, and the 
appeal process. 

22VAC42-11-140. Summary suspension. 

A. In conjunction with any proceeding for revocation, 
denial, or other action, when conditions or practices exist that 
pose an immediate and substantial threat to the health, safety, 
and welfare of the residents, the lead regulatory authority 
agency head may issue an order of summary suspension of 
the license or certificate to operate a children’s residential 
facility when he believes the operation of the facility should 
be suspended during the pendency of such proceeding. 

B. Prior to the issuance of an order of summary suspension, 
the regulatory authority shall contact the Executive Secretary 
of the Supreme Court of Virginia to obtain the name of a 
hearing officer. The lead regulatory authority shall schedule 
the time, date, and location of the administrative hearing with 
the hearing officer. 

C. The order of summary suspension shall take effect upon 
its issuance. It shall be delivered by personal service and 
certified mail, return receipt requested, to the address of 
record of the facility as soon as practicable. The order shall 
set forth: 

1. The time, date, and location of the hearing; 

2. The procedures for the hearing; 

3. The hearing and appeal rights; and 

4. Facts and evidence that formed the basis for the order of 
summary suspension. 

D. The hearing shall take place within three business days of 
the issuance of the order of summary suspension. 

E. The regulatory authority shall have the burden of proving 
in any summary suspension hearing that it had reasonable 
grounds to require the facility to cease operations during the 
pendency of the concurrent revocation, denial, or other 
proceeding. 

F. The administrative hearing officer shall provide written 
findings and conclusions, together with a recommendation as 
to whether the license or certificate should be summarily 
suspended, to the lead regulatory agency head within five 
business days of the hearing. 

G. The lead regulatory agency head shall issue a final order 
of summary suspension or make a determination that the 
summary suspension is not warranted based on the facts 
presented and the recommendation of the hearing officer 
within seven business days of receiving the recommendation 
of the hearing officer. 

H. The lead regulatory agency head shall issue and serve on 
the children’s residential facility or its designee by personal 
service or by certified mail, return receipt requested, either: 

1. A final order of summary suspension including (i) the 
basis for accepting or rejecting the hearing officer’s 
recommendations and (ii) notice that the children’s 
residential facility may appeal the lead regulatory agency 
head’s decision to the appropriate circuit court no later 
than 10 days following issuance of the order; or 

2. Notification that the summary suspension is not 
warranted by the facts and circumstances presented and 
that the order of summary suspension is rescinded. 

I. The facility may appeal the lead regulatory agency head’s 
decision on the summary suspension to the appropriate circuit 
court no more than 10 days after issuance of the final order. 

J. The outcome of concurrent revocation, denial, and other 
proceedings shall not be affected by the outcome of any 
hearing pertaining to the appropriateness of the order of 
summary suspension. 

K. At the time of the issuance of the order of summary 
suspension, the lead regulatory authority shall contact the 
appropriate agencies to inform them of the action and the 
need to develop relocation plans for residents, and ensure that 
parents and guardians are informed of the pending action. 

22VAC42-11-150. Variances. 

A. Any request for a variance shall be submitted in writing 
to the regulatory authority and [ should shall ] include a: 

1. Justification why enforcement of the standard would 
create an undue hardship; [ and 

2. How the facility can comply with the intent of the 
standard; and ]  

[ 2. 3. ] Justification why resident care would not be 
adversely affected if the variance was granted. 

B. A variance shall not be [ effected implemented ] prior to 
approval of the regulatory authority. 
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22VAC42-11-160. Investigation of complaints and 
allegations. 

The Departments of Education; Juvenile Justice; Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse [ Service 
Services ] ; and Social Services are responsible for complete 
and prompt investigation of all complaints and allegations [ at 
the facilities where made against providers for which ] they 
have regulatory authority, and for notification of the 
appropriate persons or agencies when removal of residents 
may be necessary. Suspected criminal violations shall be 
reported to the appropriate law-enforcement authority. 

22VAC42-11-170. Governing body. 

A. The provider shall clearly identify the corporation, 
association, partnership, individual, or public agency that is 
the licensee. 

B. The provider shall clearly identify any governing board, 
body, entity or person to whom it delegates the legal 
responsibilities and duties of the provider. 

22VAC42-11-180. Responsibilities of the provider. 

A. The provider shall appoint a qualified chief 
administrative officer to whom it delegates, in writing, the 
authority and responsibility for administrative direction of the 
facility. 

B. The provider shall develop and implement a written 
decisionmaking plan that shall provide for a staff person with 
the qualifications of the chief administrative officer or 
program director to be designated to assume the temporary 
responsibility for the operation of the facility. Each plan 
[ must be approved by the regulatory agency and shall ] 
include an organizational chart. 

C. The provider shall develop a written statement of the 
objectives of the facility including a description of the target 
population and the programs to be offered. 

D. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures to monitor and evaluate service 
quality and effectiveness on a systematic and on-going basis. 
The provider shall implement improvements when indicated. 

22VAC42-11-190. Fiscal accountability. 

A. Facilities operated by corporations, unincorporated 
organizations or associations, individuals, or partnerships 
shall prepare at the end of each fiscal year: 

1. An operating statement showing revenue and expenses 
for the fiscal year just ended; 

2. A working budget showing projected revenue and 
expenses for the next fiscal year that gives evidence that 
there are sufficient funds to operate; and 

3. A balance sheet showing assets and liabilities for the 
fiscal year just ended. 

B. There shall be a system of financial recordkeeping that 
shows a separation of the facility's accounts from all other 
records. 

C. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures that address the day-to-day handling 
of facility funds to include: 

1. Handling of deposits; 

2. Writing of checks; and 

3. Handling of petty cash. 

22VAC42-11-200. Insurance. 

A. The [ facility provider ] shall maintain liability insurance 
covering the premises and the facility's operations. 

B. The [ facility provider ] shall provide documentation that 
all vehicles used to transport residents are insured, including 
vehicles owned by staff. 

C. The members of the governing body and staff who have 
been authorized to handle the facility’s or residents' funds 
shall be bonded or otherwise indemnified against employee 
dishonesty. 

22VAC42-11-210. Fundraising. 

The [ facility provider ] shall not use residents in its 
fundraising activities without written permission of the legal 
guardian and the permission of residents 14 years or older. 

22VAC42-11-220. Weapons. 

The [ facility provider ] shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures governing the possession and use of 
firearms, pellet guns, air guns, and other weapons on the 
facility’s premises and [ on during ] facility related activities. 
The policy shall provide that no firearms, pellet guns, air 
guns, or other weapons shall be permitted on the premises or 
at facility-sponsored activities unless the weapons are: 

1. In the possession of licensed security personnel or law-
enforcement officers; 

2. Kept securely under lock and key; or 

3. Used by a resident with the legal guardian’s permission 
under the supervision of a responsible adult in accord with 
policies and procedures developed by the facility for the 
weapons’ lawful and safe use. 

22VAC42-11-230. Relationship to regulatory authority. 

A. The provider shall submit or make available to the 
regulatory authority such reports and information as the 
regulatory authority may require to establish compliance with 
these interdepartmental standards and other applicable 
regulations and statutes. 

B. The governing body or its official representative shall 
notify the regulatory authorities within five working days of 
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any change in administrative structure or newly hired chief 
administrative officer [ or program director ] . 

22VAC42-11-240. Facilities serving persons over the age 
of 17 years. 

Facilities that are approved to serve persons over the age of 
17 years shall comply with these interdepartmental standards 
for all occupants regardless of age, except when it is 
determined by the regulatory authorities that housing, 
programs, services, and supervision for such persons are 
provided separately from those for the [ other ] residents. 

22VAC42-11-250. Health information. 

A. Health information required by this section shall be 
maintained for each staff member and for each individual 
who resides in a building occupied by residents, including 
each person who is not a staff member or resident of the 
facility. Health information is to be handled, maintained and 
stored in a fashion that maintains confidentiality of the 
information at all times. 

B. Tuberculosis evaluation. 

1. At the time of hire [ or residency at the facility ] , each 
individual shall submit the results of a screening 
assessment documenting the absence of tuberculosis in a 
communicable form as evidenced by the completion of a 
form containing, at a minimum, the elements of a current 
screening form published by the Virginia Department of 
Health. The screening assessment shall be no older than 30 
days. 

2. Each individual shall annually submit the results of a 
screening assessment, documenting that the individual is 
free of tuberculosis in a communicable form as evidenced 
by the completion of a form containing, at a minimum, the 
elements of a current screening form published by the 
Virginia Department of Health. 

C. Subsequent evaluations for tuberculosis. 

1. An individual who comes in contact with a known case 
of infectious tuberculosis shall be screened as determined 
appropriate based on consultation with the local health 
department. 

2. An individual who develops chronic respiratory 
symptoms of three weeks duration shall be evaluated 
immediately for the presence of infectious tuberculosis. 

D. An individual suspected of having infectious tuberculosis 
shall not be permitted to return to work or have contact with 
staff or residents until a physician has determined that the 
individual is free of infectious tuberculosis. 

E. The [ facility provider ] shall report any active case of 
tuberculosis developed by a staff member [ or a resident ] to 
the local health department. 

22VAC42-11-260. Physical or mental health of personnel. 

A. The provider or the regulatory authority may require a 
report of examination by a licensed physician or mental 
health professional when there are indications that an 
individual's physical, mental, or emotional health may 
jeopardize the care of residents. 

B. An individual who is determined by a licensed physician 
or mental health professional to show an indication of a 
physical or mental condition that may jeopardize the safety of 
residents or that would prevent the performance of duties 
shall be removed immediately from contact with residents 
and food served to residents until the condition is cleared as 
evidenced by a signed statement from the physician or mental 
health professional. 

22VAC42-11-270. Qualifications. 

A. Standards establishing minimum position qualifications 
shall be applicable to all [ facilities providers ] . In lieu of the 
minimum position qualifications contained in this chapter, 
[ facilities providers ] subject to (i) the rules and regulations 
of the Virginia Department of Human Resource Management 
or (ii) the rules and regulations of a local government 
personnel office may develop written minimum entry-level 
qualifications in accord with the rules and regulations of the 
supervising personnel authority. 

B. A person who assumes or is designated to assume the 
responsibilities of a position or any combination of positions 
described in these standards [ after December 28, 2007, ] 
shall: 

1. Meet the qualifications of the position or positions; 

2. Fully comply with all applicable standards for each 
function; and 

3. Demonstrate a working knowledge of the policies and 
procedures that are applicable to his specific position or 
positions. 

C. When services or consultations are obtained on a 
contractual basis they shall be provided by professionally 
qualified personnel. 

22VAC42-11-280. Job descriptions. 

A. There shall be a written job description for each position 
that, at a minimum, includes the: 

1. Job title; 

2. Duties and responsibilities of the incumbent; 

3. Job title of the immediate supervisor; and 

4. Minimum education, experience, knowledge, skills, and 
abilities required for entry-level performance of the job. 
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B. A copy of the job description shall be given to each 
person assigned to a position at the time of employment or 
assignment. 

22VAC42-11-290. Written personnel policies and 
procedures. 

A. The provider shall have and implement provider 
approved written personnel policies and make its written 
personnel policies readily accessible to each staff member. 

B. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures to assure that persons employed in or 
designated to assume the responsibilities of each position 
possess the education, experience, knowledge, skills, and 
abilities specified in the job description for the position. 

22VAC42-11-300. Personnel records. 

A. Separate up-to-date written or automated personnel 
records shall be maintained for each employee, student/intern, 
volunteer, and contractual service provider for whom 
background investigations are required by Virginia statute. 
Content of personnel records of volunteers [ , 
students/interns ] and contractual service providers may be 
limited to documentation of compliance with requirements of 
Virginia laws regarding child protective services and criminal 
history background investigations. 

B. The records of each employee shall include: 

1. A completed employment application form or other 
written material providing the individual’s name, address, 
phone number, and social security number or other unique 
identifier; 

2. Educational background and employment history; 

3. Written references or notations of oral references; 

4. Reports of required health examinations; 

5. Annual performance evaluations; 

6. Date of employment [ for each position held ] and 
separation;  

7. Documentation of compliance with requirements of 
Virginia laws regarding child protective services and 
criminal history background investigations; 

8. Documentation of educational degrees and of 
professional certification or licensure;  

9. Documentation of all training required by [ this 
regulation these standards ] and any other training received 
by individual staff; and 

10. A current job description. 

C. Personnel records, including separate health records, shall 
be retained in their entirety for [ at least ]  three years after 
separation from employment, contractual service, 
student/intern, or volunteer service. 

22VAC42-11-310. Staff development. 

A. Required initial training: 

1. Within seven days following their begin date, each staff 
member responsible for supervision of children shall 
receive basic orientation to the facility's behavior 
intervention policies, procedures and techniques regarding 
less restrictive interventions, timeout, and physical 
restraint.  

2. Within 14 days following an individual’s begin date, or 
before an individual is alone supervising children, the 
provider shall [ implement conduct ] emergency 
preparedness and response training that shall include: 

a. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms; 

b. Implementing evacuation procedures, including 
evacuation of residents with special needs (i.e., deaf, 
blind, nonambulatory); 

c. Using, maintaining, and operating emergency 
equipment; 

d. Accessing emergency information for residents 
including medical information; and 

e. Utilizing community support services. 

3. Within 14 days following their begin date, new 
employees, employees transferring from other facilities 
operated by the same [ sponsor provider ] , relief staff, 
volunteers and students/interns shall be given orientation 
and training regarding: 

a. The objectives of the facility;  

b. Practices of confidentiality; 

c. The decisionmaking plan;  

d. The Standards for Interdepartmental Regulation of 
Children’s Residential Facilities including the prohibited 
actions as outlined in this regulation; and  

e. Other policies and procedures that are applicable to 
their positions, duties and responsibilities. 

4. Within 30 days following their begin date, all staff 
working with residents shall be enrolled in a standard first 
aid class and in a cardiopulmonary resuscitation class 
facilitated by the American Red Cross or other recognized 
authority, unless the individual is currently certified in first 
aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

5. Within 30 days following their begin date, all staff 
working with residents shall be trained in child abuse and 
neglect, mandatory reporting, maintaining appropriate 
professional relationships and interaction among staff and 
residents, and suicide prevention. 
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6. Within 30 days following their begin date, all staff shall 
be trained on the facility’s policies and procedures 
regarding [ universal standard ] precautions. 

7. Within 30 days following their begin date, all staff shall 
be trained on [ appropriate siting of children’s residential 
facilities and ] good neighbor policies and community 
relations. 

8. Before they can administer medication, all staff 
responsible for medication administration shall have 
successfully completed a medication training program 
approved by the Board of Nursing or be licensed by the 
Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications. 

9. All staff shall be trained in any area of quality 
improvement as identified from the results of the quality 
improvement plan. 

B. Required annual retraining: 

1. All employees, contractors, students/interns, and 
volunteers shall complete an annual refresher emergency 
preparedness and response training that shall include: 

a. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms; 

b. Implementing evacuation procedures, including 
evacuation of residents with special needs (i.e., deaf, 
blind, nonambulatory); 

c. Using, maintaining, and operating emergency 
equipment; 

d. Accessing emergency information for residents 
including medical information; and 

e. Utilizing community support services. 

2. All staff who administer medication shall complete 
annual refresher medication training. 

3. All child care staff shall receive annual retraining on the 
provider’s behavior intervention and timeout policies and 
procedures. 

4. All staff working with residents shall receive annual 
retraining in child abuse and neglect, mandatory reporting, 
maintaining appropriate professional relationships and 
interaction among staff and residents, and suicide 
prevention. 

5. All staff shall receive annual retraining on the provider’s 
policies and procedures regarding [ universal standard ] 
precautions. 

C. Each full-time staff person who works with residents 
shall complete an additional 15 hours of annual training 
applicable to their job duties. 

D. [ Facilities Providers ] shall develop and implement 
written policies and procedures to ensure that part-time staff 
receive training applicable to their positions. 

E. Training provided [ will shall ] be comprehensive and 
based on the needs of the population served to ensure that 
staff have the competencies to perform their jobs. 

22VAC42-11-320. Staff supervision. 

The provider shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures regarding the supervision of staff, volunteers 
[ , contractors ] and students/interns. These policies and 
procedures shall include: 

1. Type of supervision; 

2. Frequency of supervision; and 

3. How the supervision will be documented. 

22VAC42-11-330. [ The applicant Applicant ]. 

A. Each applicant shall [ show evidence provide 
documentation ] that they have been trained on appropriate 
siting of children’s residential facilities [ and good neighbor 
policies and community relations ] . 

B. The applicant shall be interviewed in person by the 
regulatory authority to determine the qualifications of the 
owner or operator as set out in [ this regulation these 
standards ] . 

C. Should the applicant not be qualified to perform the 
duties of the chief administrative officer, the applicant shall 
hire an individual with the qualifications, as set out in [ this 
regulation these standards ] , to perform the duties of the chief 
administrative officer. 

22VAC42-11-340. Chief administrative officer. 

A. The chief administrative officer shall have the following 
responsibilities: 

1. Responsibility for compliance with the Standards for 
Interdepartmental Regulation of Children’s Residential 
Facilities and other applicable standards; 

2. Responsibility for all personnel; 

3. Responsibility for overseeing the facility operation in its 
entirety, including the approval of the design of the 
structured program of care and its implementation; and 

4. Responsibility for the facility’s financial integrity. 

B. A chief administrative officer appointed after [ the 
effective date of these standards December 28, 2007, ] shall 
have at least: 

1. A master’s degree in social work, psychology, 
counseling, [ or ] nursing [ or administration ] and [ two 
years of full-time paid work experience in a children’s 
residential facility and one year full-time experience in an 
administrative or supervisory capacity a combination of 
two years professional experience working with children 
and in administration and supervision ] ; 
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2. A baccalaureate degree in social work, psychology, 
counseling, [ or ] nursing [ or administration ] and three 
years [ of combined ] [ full-time paid work professional ] 
experience with children, [ at least two of which were in a 
children’s residential facility and one year of 
administrative or supervisory experience and in 
administration and supervisory experience ] ; 

3. [ A master’s in education and two years of full-time paid 
work experience in a children’s residential facility and one 
year full-time experience in an administrative or 
supervisory capacity or baccalaureate degree in education 
and three years full-time paid work experience with 
children, at least two of which were in a children’s 
residential facility and one year of administrative or 
supervisory experience may be accepted for a chief 
administrative officer of a program whose lead regulatory 
agency is the Department of Education A baccalaureate 
degree and a combination of four years professional 
experience in a children’s residential facility and in 
administration and supervision ] ; or 

4. [ A baccalaureate degree and seven years of full-time 
paid work experience with children at least four of which 
shall be in a children’s residential facility and two years of 
administrative or supervisory experience. For a program 
whose lead regulatory agency is the Department of 
Education, a master’s degree in education and a 
combination of two years of professional experience 
working with children and in administration and 
supervision or a baccalaureate degree in education and a 
combination of three years professional experience with 
children and in administration and supervision may be 
accepted. ] 

C. Any applicant for the chief administrative officer position 
shall submit the following to demonstrate compliance with 
the qualifications required by this regulation for the chief 
administrative officer: 

1. Official transcripts from the accredited college or 
university of attendance within 30 days of hire; and 

2. Documentation of prior relevant experience. 

22VAC42-11-350. Program director. 

A. The facility’s program shall be directed by one or more 
qualified persons. 

B. Persons directing programs shall be responsible for the 
development and implementation of the programs and 
services offered by the facility, including overseeing 
assessments, service planning, staff scheduling, and 
supervision. 

C. Persons directing programs of a facility licensed or 
certified to care for 13 or more residents shall be full time, 
qualified staff members. 

D. A person appointed after [ the effective date of these 
standards December 28, 2007, ] to direct programs shall have 
at least: 

1. A master’s degree in social work, psychology, 
counseling, or nursing and [ two years of full-time paid 
work experience with children, one of which needs to be in 
a children’s residential facility and one year of 
administrative or supervisory experience a combination of 
two years professional experience with children, in a 
children’s residential facility and in administration or 
supervision ] ;  

2. A baccalaureate degree in social work, psychology, 
counseling or nursing and [ three years full-time paid 
experience working with children, one of which must be in 
a children’s residential facility and one year of 
administrative or supervisory experience a combination of 
three years professional experience with children, in a 
children’s residential facility and in administration or 
supervision ] ;  

3. [ A license or certificate issued by the Commonwealth 
of Virginia as a drug or alcoholism counselor/worker if the 
facility's purpose is to treat drug abuse or alcoholism; A 
baccalaureate degree and a combination of four years of 
professional experience with children, in a children’s 
residential facility and in administration or supervision ] ;  

4. [ A baccalaureate degree and five years of full-time paid 
experience working with children at least three of which 
must be in a children’s residential facility and one year of 
full-time supervisory or administrative experience A 
license or certificate issued by the Commonwealth of 
Virginia as a drug or alcoholism counselor/worker if the 
facility’s purpose is to treat drug abuse of alcoholism ] ; or 

5. [ A master’s degree in education and two years of full-
time paid work experience with children, one of which 
needs to be in a children’s residential facility and one year 
of administrative or supervisory experience or a 
baccalaureate degree in education with an endorsement in 
at least one area of disability served by the program and 
three years full-time paid experience working with 
children, one of which must be in a children’s residential 
facility and one year of administrative or supervisory 
experience may be accepted for a program director of a 
program whose lead regulatory agency is the Department 
of Education. For a program whose lead regulatory agency 
is the Department of Education, a master’s degree in 
education and a combination of two years of professional 
experience with children, in a children’s residential facility 
and in administration or supervision or a baccalaureate 
degree in education with an endorsement in at least one 
area of disability served by the program and a combination 
of three years professional experience working with 
children, in a children’s residential facility and in 
administration or supervision. ]  
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E. Any applicant for the program director position shall 
submit the following to demonstrate compliance with the 
qualifications required by this regulation for the program 
director: 

1. Official transcripts from the accredited college or 
university of attendance within 30 days of hire; and 

2. Documentation of prior relevant experience. 

22VAC42-11-360. Case manager. 

A. Case managers shall have the responsibility for: 

1. Coordination of all services offered to each resident; and 

2. Provision of case management services as required in 
22VAC42-11-760 A. 

B. Case managers shall have: 

1. A master’s degree in social work, psychology, or 
counseling; 

2. A baccalaureate degree in social work or psychology 
with documented field work experience and must be 
supervised by the program director or other staff employed 
by the provider with the same qualifications as required by 
22VAC42-11-350 D; or 

3. A baccalaureate degree and three years of [ full-time 
paid professional ] experience working with children [ at 
least one of which shall be in a children’s residential 
facility ] . 

22VAC42-11-370. Child care supervisor. 

A. Child care supervisors shall have responsibility for the: 

1. Development of the daily living program within each 
child care unit; and 

2. Orientation, training and supervision of direct care 
workers. 

B. Child care supervisors shall have: 

1. A baccalaureate degree in social work or psychology 
and two years of [ full-time paid professional ] experience 
working with children one year of which must have been in 
a residential facility for children;  

2. A high school diploma or a General Education 
Development Certificate (G.E.D.) and a minimum of five 
years [ full-time paid professional ] experience working 
with children with at least two years in a residential facility 
for children; or 

3. A combination of education and experience working 
with children as approved by the lead regulatory authority. 

22VAC42-11-380. Child care staff. 

A. The child care worker shall have responsibility for 
guidance and supervision of the children to whom he is 
assigned including: 

1. Overseeing physical care; 

2. Development of acceptable habits and attitudes; 

3. Management of resident behavior; and 

4. Helping to meet the goals and objectives of any required 
service plan.  

B. A child care worker and a relief child care worker shall: 

1. Have a baccalaureate degree in human services; 

2. Have an associates degree and three months experience 
working with children; or 

3. Be a high school graduate or have a General Education 
Development Certificate (G.E.D.) and have six months of 
experience working with children. 

C. Child care staff with a high school diploma or G.E.D. 
with no experience working with children may not work 
alone, but may be employed as long as they are working 
directly with the [ child care supervisor, chief administrative 
officer, program director, or case manager chief 
administrative officer, program director, case manager, child 
care supervisor or a child care worker with one or more years 
professional experience working with children. This section 
does not apply to the juvenile correctional facilities where 
staff are trained in a comprehensive basic skills curriculum 
before beginning their child care duties. ]  

D. An individual hired, promoted, demoted, or transferred to 
a child care worker’s position after the effective date of these 
standards shall be at least 21 years old [ , except as provided 
in 22VAC42-11-270 A ]. 

E. The provider shall not be dependent on temporary 
contract workers to provide [ child resident ] care. 

22VAC42-11-390. Relief staff. 

Qualified relief staff shall be employed as necessary to meet 
the needs of the programs and services offered and to 
maintain a structured program of care in accordance with 
22VAC42-11-780. 

22VAC42-11-400. Volunteers and students/interns. 

A. A facility that uses volunteers or students/interns shall 
develop and implement written policies and procedures 
governing their selection and use. 

B. The facility shall not be dependent upon [ use of ] 
volunteers or students/interns to provide basic services. 
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C. Responsibilities of volunteers and students/interns shall 
be clearly defined in writing. 

D. Volunteers and students/interns shall have qualifications 
appropriate to the services they render. 

22VAC42-11-410. Support functions. 

A. Child care workers and other staff responsible for child 
care may assume the duties of nonchild care personnel only 
when these duties do not interfere with their child care 
responsibilities. 

B. Residents shall not be solely responsible for support 
functions, including but not necessarily limited to, food 
service, maintenance of building and grounds, and 
housekeeping. 

22VAC42-11-420. Buildings, inspections and building 
plans. 

A. All buildings and building related equipment shall be 
inspected and approved by the local building official. 
Approval shall be documented by a certificate of occupancy. 

B. The facility shall document at the time of its original 
application evidence of consultation with state or local fire 
prevention authorities. 

C. The facility shall document annually after the initial 
application that buildings and equipment are maintained in 
accordance with the Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code 
(13VAC5-51). 

D. At the time of the original application and at least 
annually thereafter the buildings shall be inspected and 
approved by state or local health authorities, whose inspection 
and approval shall include: 

1. General sanitation; 

2. The sewage disposal system; 

3. The water supply; and 

4. Food service operations. 

E. The buildings and physical environment shall provide 
adequate space and shall be of a design that is suitable to 
house the programs and services provided and meet 
specialized needs of the residents. 

F. Building plans and specifications for new construction, 
change in use of existing buildings, and any structural 
modifications or additions to existing buildings shall be 
submitted to and approved by the lead regulatory agency and 
by other appropriate regulatory authorities. 

G. Swimming pools shall be inspected annually by the state 
or local health authorities or by a swimming pool business. 

22VAC42-11-430. Heating systems, ventilation and 
cooling systems. 

A. Heat shall be evenly distributed in all rooms occupied by 
the residents such that a temperature no less than 68°F is 
maintained, unless otherwise mandated by state or federal 
authorities. 

B. Natural or mechanical ventilation to the outside shall be 
provided in all rooms used by residents. 

C. Air conditioning or mechanical ventilating systems, such 
as electric fans, shall be provided in all rooms occupied by 
residents when the temperature in those rooms exceeds 80°F. 

22VAC42-11-440. Lighting. 

A. Artificial lighting shall be by electricity. 

B. All areas within buildings shall be lighted for safety and 
[ the lighting ] shall be sufficient for the activities being 
performed. 

C. Lighting in halls shall be adequate and shall be 
continuous at night. 

D. Operable flashlights or battery-powered lanterns shall be 
available for each staff member on the premises between dusk 
and dawn to use in emergencies. 

E. Outside entrances and parking areas shall be lighted for 
protection against injuries and intruders. 

22VAC42-11-450. Plumbing. 

A. Plumbing shall be maintained in good operational 
condition. 

B. An adequate supply of hot and cold running water shall 
be available at all times. 

C. Precautions shall be taken to prevent scalding from 
running water. Water temperatures should be maintained at 
100°F – 120°F. 

22VAC42-11-460. Toilet facilities. 

A. There shall be at least one toilet, one hand basin, and one 
shower or bathtub in each living unit. 

B. There shall be at least one bathroom equipped with a 
bathtub in each facility. 

C. There shall be at least one toilet, one hand basin, and one 
shower or tub for every eight residents for facilities licensed 
before July 1, 1981 [ , and have made no structural changes or 
constructed any buildings ] . 

D. There shall be one toilet, one hand basin, and one shower 
or tub for every four residents in any building constructed or 
structurally modified after July 1, 1981, except secure 
custody facilities. Facilities licensed after [ the effective date 
of these standards must December 28, 2007,  shall ] comply 
with the one-to-four ratio. 
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E. The maximum number of staff members on duty in the 
living unit shall be counted in determining the required 
number of toilets and hand basins when a separate bathroom 
is not provided for staff. 

F. There shall be at least one mirror securely fastened to the 
wall at a height appropriate for use in each room where hand 
basins are located except in security rooms in hospitals and 
secure custody facilities. 

22VAC42-11-470. Personal necessities. 

A. An adequate supply of personal necessities shall be 
available to the residents at all times for purposes of personal 
hygiene and grooming. 

B. Clean, individual washcloths and towels shall be in good 
repair and available once each week and more often if 
needed. 

C. When residents are incontinent or not toilet trained: 

1. Provision shall be made for sponging, diapering or other 
similar care on a nonabsorbent changing surface that shall 
be cleaned with warm soapy water after each use. 

2. A covered diaper pail, or its equivalent, with leak proof 
disposable liners shall be [ available used to dispose of 
diapers ] . If both cloth and disposable diapers are used 
there shall be a diaper pail for each. 

3. Adapter seats and toilet chairs shall be cleaned 
immediately after each use with appropriate cleaning 
materials. 

4. Staff shall thoroughly wash their hands with warm soapy 
water immediately after assisting a child or themselves 
with toileting. 

5. Appropriate privacy, confidentiality and dignity shall be 
maintained for residents during toileting and diapering. 

22VAC42-11-480. Sleeping areas. 

A. When residents are four years of age or older, boys and 
girls shall have separate sleeping areas. 

B. No more than four children [ may shall ] share a bedroom 
or sleeping area except as provided by other applicable state 
regulations governing juvenile correctional centers. 

C. Children who use wheelchairs, crutches, canes, or other 
mechanical devices for assistance in walking shall be 
provided with a planned, personalized means of effective 
egress for use in emergencies. 

D. Beds shall be at least three feet apart at the head, foot, 
and sides and double-decker beds shall be at least five feet 
apart at the head, foot, and sides. 

E. Sleeping quarters in facilities licensed by DSS prior to 
July 1, 1981, and facilities established, constructed or 

structurally modified after July 1, 1981, except for primitive 
campsites, shall have: 

1. At least 80 square feet of floor area in a bedroom 
accommodating one person; 

2. At least 60 square feet of floor area per person in rooms 
accommodating two or more persons; and 

3. Ceilings with a primary height at least 7-1/2 feet in 
height exclusive of protrusions, duct work, or dormers. 

F. Each child shall have a separate, clean, comfortable bed 
equipped with a clean mattress, clean pillow, clean blankets, 
clean bed linens, and, if needed, a clean waterproof mattress 
cover. 

G. Bed linens shall be changed at least every seven days and 
more often if needed. 

H. Mattresses shall be fire retardant as evidenced by 
documentation from the manufacturer except in buildings 
equipped with an automated sprinkler system as required by 
the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code. 

I. Cribs shall be provided for residents under two years of 
age. 

J. Each resident shall be assigned drawer space and closet 
space, or their equivalent, which is accessible to the sleeping 
area for storage of clothing and personal belongings except in 
secure custody facilities. 

K. The [ sleeping areas’ environment of sleeping areas ] 
shall be conducive to sleep and rest. 

22VAC42-11-490. Smoking prohibition. 

Smoking shall be prohibited in living areas and in areas 
where residents participate in programs. 

22VAC42-11-500. Residents' privacy. 

A. When bathrooms are not designated for individual use, 
except in secure custody facilities: 

1. Each toilet shall be enclosed for privacy, and 

2. Bathtubs and showers shall provide visual privacy for 
bathing by use of enclosures, curtains or other appropriate 
means. 

B. Windows in bathrooms, sleeping areas, and dressing 
areas shall provide for privacy. 

C. Every sleeping area shall have a door that may be closed 
for privacy or quiet and this door shall be readily opened in 
case of fire or other emergency. In secure custody facilities, 
the door may be equipped with an observation window. 

D. Residents shall be provided privacy from routine sight 
supervision by staff members of the opposite gender while 
bathing, dressing, or conducting toileting activities. This 
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section does not apply to medical personnel performing 
medical procedures, to staff providing assistance to infants, or 
to staff providing assistance to residents whose physical or 
mental disabilities dictate the need for assistance with these 
activities as justified in the resident’s record. 

E. Video and audio monitoring shall be permitted only [ in 
common hallways and common areas. All such monitoring 
shall have the approval of the regulatory authority and if 
licensed by DMHMRSAS, the approval of the Office of 
Human Rights. DJJ-certified facilities shall obtain the 
approval of the regulatory authority before any video or audio 
monitoring is permitted. Video and audio monitoring is 
prohibited in bathrooms, dressing areas, and bedrooms with 
the approval of the lead regulatory agency and for facilities 
licensed by DMHMRSAS, the approval of the Office of 
Human Rights ] .  

22VAC42-11-510. Living rooms and indoor recreation 
space. 

A. Each living unit, except for secure custody, shall have a 
living room, or other area for informal use, for relaxation and 
entertainment. The furnishings shall provide a comfortable, 
home like environment that is appropriate to the ages of the 
residents. 

B. All facilities shall have indoor recreation space that 
contains indoor recreation materials appropriate to the ages 
and interests of the residents. 

C. Facilities licensed or certified to care for 13 or more 
residents shall have [ indoor ] recreation space distinct from 
the living room. [ Recreation space is not required in every 
living unit. ]  

22VAC42-11-520. Study space. 

A. Facilities serving a school-age population shall provide 
study space. Study space may be assigned in areas used 
interchangeably for other purposes. 

B. Study space shall be well lighted, quiet, and equipped 
with tables or desks and chairs. 

22VAC42-11-530. Kitchen and dining areas. 

A. Meals shall be served in areas equipped with sturdy 
tables and benches or chairs that are size and age appropriate 
for the residents. 

B. Adequate kitchen facilities and equipment shall be 
provided for preparation and serving of meals. 

C. Walk-in refrigerators, freezers, and other enclosures shall 
be equipped to permit emergency exits. 

22VAC42-11-540. Laundry areas. 

Appropriate space and equipment in good repair shall be 
provided if laundry is done at the facility. 

22VAC42-11-550. Storage. 

Space shall be provided for safe storage of items such as 
first-aid equipment, household supplies, recreational 
equipment, luggage, out-of-season clothing, and other 
materials. 

22VAC42-11-560. Staff quarters. 

A. A separate, private bedroom shall be provided for staff 
and their families when a staff member is on duty for 24 
consecutive hours or more. 

B. A separate private bathroom shall be provided for staff 
and their families when there are more than four persons in 
the living unit and the staff person is on duty for 24 
consecutive hours or more. 

C. Staff and members of their families shall not share 
bedrooms with residents. 

22VAC42-11-570. Office space. 

Space shall be provided for administrative activities 
including, as appropriate to the program, confidential 
conversations and provision for storage of records and 
materials. 

22VAC42-11-580. Buildings and grounds. 

A. The facility’s grounds shall be safe, properly maintained, 
and free of clutter and rubbish. The grounds include, but are 
not limited to, all areas where residents, staff, and visitors 
may reasonably be expected to have access, including roads, 
pavements, parking lots, open areas, stairways, railings, and 
potentially hazardous or dangerous areas. 

B. The interior and exterior of all buildings shall be safe, 
properly maintained, clean and in good working order. This 
includes, but is not limited to, required locks, mechanical 
devices, indoor and outdoor equipment, and furnishings. 

C. Outdoor recreation space shall be available and 
appropriately equipped for the residents’ use. 

22VAC42-11-590. Equipment and furnishings. 

A. All furnishings and equipment shall be safe, clean, and 
suitable to the ages and number of residents. 

B. There shall be at least one continuously operable, nonpay 
telephone accessible to staff in each building in which 
children sleep or participate in programs. 

22VAC42-11-600. Housekeeping and maintenance. 

A. All buildings shall be well ventilated and free of stale, 
musty, or foul odors. 

B. Adequate provision shall be made for the collection and 
legal disposal of garbage and waste materials. 

C. Buildings shall be kept free of flies, roaches, rats, and 
other vermin. 
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D. A sanitizing agent shall be used in the laundering of bed, 
bath, table, and kitchen linens. 

22VAC42-11-610. Farm and domestic animals. 

A. Horses and other animals maintained on the premises 
shall be quartered at a reasonable distance from sleeping, 
living, eating and food preparation areas, as well as a safe 
distance from water supplies.  

B. Animals maintained on the premises shall be tested, 
inoculated and licensed as required by law. 

C. The premises shall be kept free of stray domestic animals. 

D. Pets shall be provided with clean quarters and adequate 
food and water. 

22VAC42-11-620. Acceptance of children. 

Children shall be accepted only by court order or by written 
placement agreement with legal guardians. This requirement 
does not apply to temporary care facilities when self-
admission is made according to Virginia law. 

22VAC42-11-630. Admission procedures. 

A. The facility shall have written criteria for admission that 
shall include: 

1. A description of the population to be served;  

2. A description of the types of services offered;  

3. Intake and admission procedures; 

4. Exclusion criteria to define those behaviors or problems 
that the facility does not have the staff with experience or 
training to manage; and 

5. Description of how educational services will be 
provided to the population being served. 

B. The facility shall accept and serve only those children 
whose needs are compatible with the services provided 
through the facility unless a child's admission is ordered by a 
court of competent jurisdiction. 

C. Acceptance of a child as eligible for respite care by a 
facility approved to provide residential respite care is 
considered admission to the facility. Each individual period 
of respite care is not considered a separate admission. 

D. Each facility shall provide documentation showing proof 
of contractual agreements or staff expertise to provide 
educational services, counseling services, psychological 
services, medical services, or any other services needed to 
serve the residents in accordance with the facility’s program 
description as defined by the facility’s criteria of admission. 

22VAC42-11-640. Maintenance of residents' records. 

A. A separate written or automated case record shall be 
maintained for each resident. In addition, all correspondence 

and documents received by the facility relating to the care of 
that resident [ should shall ] be maintained as part of the case 
record. A separate health record may be kept on each 
resident. 

B. Each case record and health record shall be kept up to 
date and in a uniform manner. 

C. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures for management of all records, 
written and automated, that shall describe confidentiality, 
accessibility, security, and retention of records pertaining to 
residents, including: 

1. Access, duplication, dissemination, and acquiring of 
information only to persons legally authorized according to 
federal and state laws; 

2. Facilities using automated records shall address 
procedures that include: 

a. How records are protected from unauthorized access; 

b. How records are protected from unauthorized Internet 
access; 

c. How records are protected from loss; 

d. How records are protected from unauthorized 
alteration; and 

e. How records are backed up; 

3. Security measures to protect records from loss, 
unauthorized alteration, inadvertent or unauthorized 
access, disclosure of information and transportation of 
records between service sites; 

4. Designation of person responsible for records 
management; and 

5. Disposition of records in the event the facility ceases to 
operate. 

D. The policy shall specify what information is available to 
the resident. 

E. Active and closed records shall be kept in areas that are 
accessible to authorized staff and protected from unauthorized 
access, fire, and flood. 

1. When not in use written records shall be stored in a 
metal file cabinet or other metal compartment. 

2. Facility staff shall assure the confidentiality of the 
residents’ records by placing them in a locked cabinet or 
drawer or in a locked room when the staff member is not 
present. 

F. Each resident’s written case and health records shall be 
stored separately subsequent to the resident’s discharge 
according to applicable statutes and regulations. 
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G. Written and automated records shall be retained in their 
entirety for a minimum of three years after the date of 
discharge unless otherwise specified by state or federal 
requirements. 

H. The face sheet shall be retained permanently unless 
otherwise specified by state or federal requirements. 

22VAC42-11-650. Interstate Compact on the Placement of 
Children. 

A. Documentation of the prior approval of the administrator 
of the Virginia Interstate Compact on the Placement of 
Children, Virginia Department of Social Services, shall be 
retained in the record of each resident admitted from outside 
Virginia. The requirements of this section shall not apply to a 
facility providing documentation that the administrator of the 
Virginia Interstate Compact has determined the facility is 
statutorily exempt from the compact's provisions. 

B. Documentation that the provider has sent copies of all 
serious incident reports regarding any child placed through 
the Interstate Compact to the administrator of the Virginia 
Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children shall be kept 
in the resident’s record. 

C. No later than five days after a resident has been 
transferred to another facility operated by the same sponsor, 
the resident’s record shall contain documentation that the 
administrator of the Virginia Interstate Compact on the 
Placement of Children was notified in writing of the 
resident’s transfer. 

D. No later than 10 days after discharge the resident's record 
shall contain documentation that the administrator of the 
Virginia Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children 
was notified in writing of the discharge. 

E. The provider shall not discharge or send out-of-state 
youth in the custody of out-of-state social services agencies 
and courts to reside with a parent, relative, or other individual 
who lives in Virginia without the approval of the 
administrator of the Virginia Interstate Compact on the 
Placement of Children. 

22VAC42-11-660. Participation of residents in human 
research. 

The provider shall: 

1. Implement a written policy stating that residents will not 
be used as subjects of human research; or 

2. Document approval, as required by the regulatory 
authorities, for each research project using residents as 
subjects of human research [ , unless such research is 
exempt from review ] . 

22VAC42-11-670. Emergency and self-admissions. 

Providers accepting emergency or self-admissions shall: 

1. Develop and implement written policies and procedures 
governing such admissions that shall include procedures to 
make and document prompt efforts to obtain (i) a written 
placement agreement signed by the legal guardian or (ii) 
the order of a court of competent jurisdiction; 

2. Place in each resident's record the order of a court of 
competent jurisdiction, a written request for care, or 
documentation of an oral request for care; and justification 
of why the resident is to be admitted on an emergency 
basis; and 

3. Clearly document in written assessment information 
gathered for the emergency admission that the individual 
meets the facility’s criteria for admission. 

22VAC42-11-680. Application for admission. 

A. Admission shall be based on evaluation of an application 
for admission. The requirements of this section do not apply 
to court-ordered placements or transfer of a resident between 
residential facilities located in Virginia and operated by the 
same sponsor. 

B. Providers shall develop, and fully complete prior to 
acceptance for care, an application for admission that is 
designed to compile information necessary to determine: 

1. The educational needs of the prospective resident; 

2. The mental health, emotional, and psychological needs 
of the prospective resident; 

3. The physical health needs, including the immunization 
needs, of the prospective resident; 

4. The protection needs of the prospective resident; 

5. The suitability of the prospective resident's admission; 

6. The behavior support needs of the prospective resident; 
and 

7. Information necessary to develop a service plan and a 
behavior support plan. 

C. The resident's record shall contain a completed 
application for admission at the time of a routine admission or 
within 30 days after an emergency admission. 

D. Each facility shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures to assess each prospective resident as 
part of the application process to ensure that: 

1. The needs of the prospective resident can be addressed 
by the facility’s services;  

2. The facility’s staff are trained to meet the prospective 
resident’s needs; and 

3. The admission of the prospective resident would not 
pose any significant risk to (i) the prospective resident or 
(ii) the facility’s residents or staff. 
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22VAC42-11-690. Written placement agreement. 

A. The facility, except a facility that accepts admission only 
upon receipt of the order of a court of competent jurisdiction, 
shall develop a written placement agreement that: 

1. Authorizes the resident's placement; 

2. Addresses acquisition of and consent for any medical 
treatment needed by the resident; 

3. Addresses the rights and responsibilities of each party 
involved; 

4. Addresses financial responsibility for the placement; 

5. Addresses visitation with the resident; and 

6. Addresses the education plan for the resident and the 
responsibilities of all parties. 

B. Each resident's record shall contain, prior to a routine 
admission, a completed placement agreement signed by a 
facility representative and the legal guardian or placing 
agency, except as permitted for temporary emergency shelters 
pursuant to §63.2-1817 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. The record of each person admitted based on a court 
order shall contain a copy of the court order. 

22VAC42-11-700. Face sheet. 

A. At the time of admission, each resident’s record shall 
include a completed face sheet that contains (i) the resident’s 
full name, last known residence, birth date, birthplace, 
gender, race, social security number or other unique 
identifier, religious preference, and admission date; and (ii) 
names, addresses, and telephone numbers of the resident’s 
legal guardians, placing agency, [ and ] emergency contacts 
[ and parents, if appropriate ] . 

B. Information shall be updated when changes occur. 

C. The face sheet for pregnant teens shall also include the 
expected date of delivery and the name of the hospital to 
provide delivery services to the resident. 

D. The face sheet of residents who are transferred to 
facilities operated by the same sponsor shall indicate the 
address and dates of placement and transfer at each location. 

E. At the time of discharge the following information shall 
be added to the face sheet: 

1. Date of discharge; 

2. Reason for discharge; 

3. Names and addresses of persons to whom the resident 
was discharged; and 

4. Forwarding address of the resident, if known. 

22VAC42-11-710. Initial objectives and strategies. 

Within three days following admission, individualized, 
measurable objectives and strategies for the first 30 days shall 
be developed, distributed to affected staff and the resident, 
and placed in the resident’s record. The objectives and 
strategies shall be based on the reasons for admitting the 
resident. The requirements of this section do not apply to 
secure detention facilities [ , except when a juvenile is 
confined in postdispositional detention ] . 

22VAC42-11-720. Service plan/quarterly reports. 

A. An individualized service plan shall be developed and 
placed in the resident’s record within 30 days following 
admission and implemented immediately thereafter. 

B. Individualized service plans shall describe in measurable 
terms the: 

1. Strengths and needs of the resident; 

2. Resident's current level of functioning; 

3. Goals, objectives and strategies established for the 
resident; 

4. Projected family involvement; 

5. Projected date for accomplishing each objective; and 

6. Status of the projected discharge plan and estimated 
length of stay except that this requirement shall not apply 
to a facility that discharges only upon receipt of the order 
of a court of competent jurisdiction. 

C. The initial service plan shall be reviewed within 60 days 
of the initial plan and within each 90-day period thereafter 
and revised as necessary.  

D. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures to document progress of the resident 
towards meeting goals and objectives of the service plan that 
shall include the: 

1. Format; 

2. Frequency; and 

3. Person responsible. 

E. There shall be a documented quarterly review of each 
resident’s progress 60 days following the initial service plan 
and within each 90-day period thereafter and shall report the: 

1. Resident’s progress toward meeting the plan’s 
objectives; 

2. Family’s involvement; 

3. Continuing needs of the resident; 

4. Resident’s progress towards discharge; and 

5. Status of discharge planning. 
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F. Each plan and quarterly progress report shall include the 
date it was developed and the signature of the person who 
developed it. 

G. Staff responsible for daily implementation of the 
resident's individualized service plan shall be able to describe 
the resident’s behavior in terms of the objectives in the plan. 

H. There shall be documentation showing the involvement 
of the following parties unless clearly inappropriate, in 
developing and updating the individualized service plan and 
in developing the quarterly progress report: 

1. The resident; 

2. The resident's family, [ if appropriate, and ] legal 
guardian [ , or legally authorized representative ] ; 

3. The placing agency; and 

4. Facility staff. 

I. The initial individualized service plan, each update, and 
all quarterly progress reports shall be distributed to the 
resident; the resident’s family, legal guardian, or legally 
authorized representative; the placing agency; and appropriate 
facility staff if allowed by federal guidelines and using all 
procedures as required by federal guidelines.  

J. The requirements of this section do not apply to secure 
detention facilities except when a juvenile is confined in 
postdispositional detention. 

22VAC42-11-730. Resident transfer between residential 
facilities located in Virginia and operated by the same 
sponsor. 

A. Except when transfer is ordered by a court of competent 
jurisdiction, the receiving provider shall document at the time 
of transfer: 

1. Preparation through sharing information with the 
resident, the family and the placing agency about the 
facility, the staff, the population served, activities and 
criteria for admission; 

2. Notification to the family, if appropriate; the resident, 
the placement agency and the legal guardian; 

3. Receipt from the sending facility of a written summary 
of the resident's progress while at the facility, justification 
for the transfer, and the resident's current strengths and 
needs; and 

4. Receipt of the resident's record. 

B. The sending facility shall retain a copy of the face sheet 
and a written summary of the child's progress while at the 
facility and shall document the date of transfer and the name 
of the facility to which the resident has been transferred. 

22VAC42-11-740. Discharge. 

A. The provider shall have written criteria for discharge that 
shall include: 

1. Criteria for a resident's completing the program that are 
consistent with the facility's programs and services;  

2. Conditions under which a resident may be discharged 
before completing the program; and 

3. Procedures for assisting placing agencies in placing the 
residents should the facility cease operation. 

B. The provider’s criteria for discharge shall be accessible to 
prospective residents, legal guardians, and placing agencies. 

C. The record of each resident discharged upon receipt of 
the order of a court of competent jurisdiction shall contain a 
copy of the court order. 

D. Residents shall be discharged only to the legal guardian 
or legally authorized representative. 

E. A facility approved to provide residential respite care 
shall discharge a resident when the legal guardian no longer 
intends to use the facility's services. 

F. Information concerning current medications, need for 
continuing therapeutic interventions, educational status, and 
other items important to the resident’s continuing care shall 
be provided to the legal guardian or legally authorized 
representative, as appropriate. 

G. Unless discharge is ordered by a court of competent 
jurisdiction, prior to the planned discharge date, each 
resident's record shall contain: 

1. Documentation that discharge has been planned and 
discussed with the parent, legal guardian, child-placing 
agency, and resident; and 

2. A written discharge plan. 

H. Discharge summaries. 

1. No later than 30 days after discharge, a comprehensive 
discharge summary shall be placed in the resident's record 
and sent to the persons or agency that made the placement. 
The discharge summary shall review: 

a. Services provided to the resident; 

b. The resident’s progress toward meeting service plan 
objectives; 

c. The resident’s continuing needs and recommendations, 
if any, for further services and care; 

d. Reasons for discharge and names of persons to whom 
resident was discharged; 

e. Dates of admission and discharge; and 
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f. Date the discharge summary was prepared and the 
signature of the person preparing it. 

2. In lieu of a comprehensive discharge summary, the 
record of each resident discharged upon receipt of the 
order of a court of competent jurisdiction shall contain a 
copy of the court order. 

22VAC42-11-750. Placement of residents outside the 
facility. 

A resident shall not be placed outside the facility prior to the 
facility's obtaining a child-placing agency license from the 
Department of Social Services, except as permitted by statute 
or by order of a court of competent jurisdiction. 

22VAC42-11-760. Case management services. 

A. The program of the facility [ , except a secure detention 
facility in which juveniles are not confined with a suspended 
commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice, ] shall be 
designed to provide case management services [ that address. 
In secure detention this requirement applies only to residents 
confined in postdispositional detention. Case management 
services shall address ]: 

1. Helping the resident and the parents or legal guardian to 
understand the effects on the resident of separation from 
the family and the effect of group living; 

2. Assisting the resident and the family to maintain their 
relationships and prepare for the resident’s future care;  

3. Utilizing appropriate community resources to provide 
services and maintain contacts with such resources; 

4. Helping the resident strengthen his capacity to function 
productively in interpersonal relationships; 

5. Conferring with the child care staff to help them 
understand the resident’s needs in order to promote 
adjustment to group living; and 

6. Working with the resident and with the family or any 
placing agency that may be involved in planning for the 
resident’s future and in preparing the resident for the return 
home or to another family, for independent living, or for 
other residential care. 

B. The provision of case management services shall be 
documented in each resident's record. 

22VAC42-11-770. Therapy. 

Therapy, if provided, shall be provided by an individual (i) 
licensed as a therapist by the Department of Health 
Professions or (ii) who is licensure eligible and working 
under the supervision of a licensed therapist, unless exempted 
from these requirements under the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC42-11-780. Structured program of care. 

A. There shall be evidence of a structured program of care 
designed to: 

1. Meet the residents’ physical and emotional needs; 

2. Provide protection, guidance, and supervision; and 

3. Meet the objectives of any required service plan. 

B. There shall be evidence of a structured daily routine 
designed to ensure the delivery of program services. 

C. A daily communication log shall be maintained to inform 
staff of significant happenings or problems experienced by 
residents. 

D. Health and dental complaints and injuries shall be 
recorded and shall include the (i) resident’s name, complaint, 
and affected area and (ii) time of the complaint. 

E. The identity of the individual making each entry in the 
daily [ activity communication ] log shall be recorded. 

F. Routines shall be planned to ensure that each resident 
receives the amount of sleep and rest appropriate for his age 
and physical condition. 

G. Staff shall promote good personal hygiene of residents by 
monitoring and supervising hygiene practices each day and 
by providing instruction when needed. 

H. The structured daily routine shall comply with any 
facility and locally imposed curfews. 

22VAC42-11-790. Health care procedures. 

A. The provider shall have and implement written 
procedures for promptly: 

1. Providing or arranging for the provision of medical and 
dental services for health problems identified at admission;  

2. Providing or arranging for the provision of routine 
ongoing and follow-up medical and dental services after 
admission; 

3. Providing emergency services for each resident as 
provided by statute or by the agreement with the resident's 
legal guardian;  

4. Providing emergency services for any resident 
experiencing or showing signs of suicidal or homicidal 
thoughts, symptoms of mood or thought disorders, or other 
mental health problems; and 

5. Ensuring that the required information in subsection B 
of this section is accessible and up to date. 

B. The following written information concerning each 
resident shall be readily accessible to staff who may have to 
respond to a medical or dental emergency: 
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1. Name, address, and telephone number of the physician 
and dentist to be notified; 

2. Name, address, and telephone number of a relative or 
other person to be notified; 

3. Medical insurance company name and policy number or 
Medicaid number; 

4. Information concerning: 

a. Use of medication; 

b. All allergies, including medication allergies; 

c. Substance abuse and use; and 

d. Significant past and present medical problems.  

5. Written permission for emergency medical care, dental 
care, and obtaining immunizations or a procedure and 
contacts for obtaining consent; and 

Subdivisions 3 and 5 of this subsection do not apply to 
secure detention facilities except when a resident is 
confined in postdispositional detention. 

C. Facilities approved to provide respite care shall update 
the information required by subsection B of this section at the 
time of each stay at the facility. 

22VAC42-11-800. Medical examinations and treatment. 

A. Each child accepted for care shall have a physical 
examination by or under the direction of a licensed physician 
no earlier than 90 days prior to admission to the facility or no 
later than seven days following admission, except (i) the 
report of an examination within the preceding 12 months 
shall be acceptable if a child transfers from one residential 
facility licensed or certified by a state agency to another, (ii) a 
physical examination shall be conducted within 30 days 
following an emergency admission if a report of physical 
examination is not available, and (iii) this requirement does 
not apply if a child is admitted to a secure detention facility or 
to a temporary care facility. 

B. [ At the time of placement Within seven days of 
placement ] , except for secure detention [ and emergency 
placements ] , each resident shall have had a screening 
assessment for tuberculosis as evidenced by the completion of 
a screening form containing, at a minimum, the elements 
found on the current screening form published by the Virginia 
Department of Health. The screening assessment can be no 
older than 30 days. Secure detention [ and emergency 
placements ] shall have completed the screening assessment 
on each resident within five days of placement. 

C. A screening assessment for tuberculosis shall be 
completed annually on each resident as evidenced by the 
completion of a form containing, at a minimum, the elements 
of the screening form published by the Virginia Department 
of Health. 

D. Each resident’s health record shall include written 
documentation of (i) the initial physical examination, (ii) an 
annual physical examination by or under the direction of a 
licensed physician including any recommendation for follow-
up care, and (iii) documentation of the provision of follow-up 
medical care recommended by the physician or as indicated 
by the needs of the resident. 

E. Each physical examination report shall include: 

1. Information necessary to determine the health and 
immunization needs of the resident, including: 

a. Immunizations administered at the time of the exam; 

b. Vision exam; 

c. Hearing exam; 

d. General physical condition, including documentation 
of apparent freedom from communicable disease 
including tuberculosis;  

e. Allergies, chronic conditions, and handicaps, if any; 

f. Nutritional requirements, including special diets, if 
any; 

g. Restrictions on physical activities, if any; and 

h. Recommendations for further treatment, 
immunizations, and other examinations indicated; 

2. Date of the physical examination; and 

3. Signature of a licensed physician, the physician's 
designee, or an official of a local health department. 

F. A child with a communicable disease shall not be 
admitted unless a licensed physician certifies that: 

1. The facility is capable of providing care to the child 
without jeopardizing residents and staff; and 

2. The facility is aware of the required treatment for the 
child and the procedures to protect residents and staff. 

The requirements of this subsection shall not apply to 
temporary shelters and secure detention facilities. 

G. Each resident’s health record shall include written 
documentation of (i) an annual examination by a licensed 
dentist and (ii) documentation of follow-up dental care 
recommended by the dentist or as indicated by the needs of 
the resident. This requirement does not apply to secure 
detention facilities, temporary care facilities, and respite care 
facilities. 

H. Each resident's health record shall include notations of 
health and dental complaints and injuries and shall summarize 
symptoms and treatment given. 

I. Each resident's health record shall include, or document 
the facility’s efforts to obtain, treatment summaries of 
ongoing psychiatric or other mental health treatment and 
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reports, if applicable. This subsection does not apply to 
secure detention facilities except when a juvenile is confined 
in detention with a suspended commitment to the Department 
of Juvenile Justice. 

J. The provider shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures that include use of  [ universal standard ] 
 precautions and addresses communicable and contagious 
medical conditions. These policies and procedures shall be 
approved by a medical professional. 

K. A well-stocked first-aid kit shall be maintained and 
readily accessible for minor injuries and medical 
emergencies. 

22VAC42-11-810. Medication. 

A. All medication shall be securely locked and properly 
labeled. 

B. All staff responsible for medication administration shall 
have successfully completed a medication training program 
approved by the Board of Nursing or be licensed by the 
Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications before 
they can administer medication. 

C. Staff authorized to administer medication shall be 
informed of any known side effects of the medication and the 
symptoms of the effects. 

D. A program of medication, including over-the-counter 
medication, shall be initiated for a resident only when 
prescribed in writing by a person authorized by law to 
prescribe medication. 

E. Medication prescribed by a person authorized by law 
shall be administered as prescribed. 

F. A medication administration record shall be maintained 
of all medicines received by each resident and shall include: 

1. Date the medication was prescribed; 

2. Drug name; 

3. Schedule for administration; 

4. Strength; 

5. Route; 

[ 6. Actual time administered;  

7. 6. ] Identity of the individual who administered the 
medication; and 

[ 8. 7. ] Dates the medication was discontinued or changed. 

G. In the event of a medication error or an adverse drug 
reaction, first aid shall be administered if indicated. Staff shall 
promptly contact a poison control center, pharmacist, nurse, 
or physician and shall take actions as directed. If the situation 
is not addressed in standing orders, the attending physician 

shall be notified as soon as possible and the actions taken by 
staff shall be documented. 

H. Medication refusals shall be documented including action 
taken by staff. [ The prescribing professional shall be 
contacted unless the refusal is addressed in standing orders.  ] 

I. The provider shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures for documenting medication errors, reviewing 
medication errors and reactions and making any necessary 
improvements, the disposal of medication, the storage of 
controlled substances, and the distribution of medication off 
campus. The policy and procedures must be approved by a 
health care professional. The provider shall keep 
documentation of this approval. 

J. The telephone number of a regional poison control center 
and other emergency numbers shall be posted on or next to 
each nonpay telephone that has access to an outside line in 
each building in which children sleep or participate in 
programs. 

K. Syringes and other medical implements used for injecting 
or cutting skin shall be locked. 

22VAC42-11-820. Nutrition. 

A. Each resident shall be provided a daily diet that (i) 
consists of at least three nutritionally balanced meals and an 
evening snack, (ii) includes an adequate variety and quantity 
of food for the age of the resident, and (iii) meets minimum 
nutritional requirements and the U.S. Dietary Guidelines. 

B. Menus of actual meals served shall be kept on file for at 
least six months. 

C. Special diets shall be provided when prescribed by a 
physician and the established religious dietary practices of the 
resident shall be observed. 

D. Staff who eat in the presence of the residents shall be 
served the same meals as the residents unless a special diet 
has been prescribed by a physician for the staff or residents or 
the staff or residents are observing established religious 
dietary practices. 

E. There shall not be more than 15 hours between the 
evening meal and breakfast the following day. 

F. Providers shall assure that food is available to residents 
who [ wish need ] to eat breakfast before the 15 hours have 
expired. 

G. Providers shall receive approval from their regulatory 
authority if they wish to extend the time between meals on 
weekends and holidays. There shall never be more than 17 
hours between the evening meal and breakfast the following 
day on weekends and holidays. 
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22VAC42-11-830. Staff supervision of residents. 

A. No member of the child care staff shall be on duty more 
than six consecutive days without a rest day, except in an 
emergency [ or as approved by the lead regulatory agency for 
live-in staff ] . 

B. Child care staff shall have an average of at least two rest 
days per week in any four-week period. Rest days shall be in 
addition to vacation time and holidays. 

C. Child care staff other than live-in staff shall not be on 
duty more than 16 consecutive hours, except in an 
emergency. 

D. There shall be at least one trained child care worker, on 
duty and actively supervising residents at all times that one or 
more residents are present. 

E. Whenever children are being supervised by staff there 
shall be at least one staff person present with a current basic 
certificate in standard first aid and a current certificate in 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation issued by the American Red 
Cross or other recognized authority. 

F. Supervision policies. 

1. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures that address staff supervision of 
children including contingency plans for resident illnesses, 
emergencies, off-campus activities, and resident 
preferences. These policies and procedures shall be based 
on the: 

a. Needs of the population served; 

b. Types of services offered;  

c. Qualifications of staff on duty; and 

d. Number of residents served. 

2. At all times the ratio of staff to residents shall be at least 
one staff to eight residents for facilities during the hours 
residents are awake, except when the lead regulatory 
agency has approved or required a supervision plan with a 
different ratio based on the needs of the population served.  

3. Providers requesting a ratio that allows a higher number 
of residents to be supervised by one staff person than was 
approved or required shall submit a justification to the lead 
regulatory agency that shall include: 

a. Why resident care will not be adversely affected; and 

b. How residents’ needs will be met on an individual as 
well as group basis. 

4. Written policies and procedures governing supervision 
of residents and any justifications for a ratio deviation that 
allows a higher number of residents to be supervised by 
one staff than was approved or required, shall be reviewed 

and approved by the regulatory authority prior to 
implementation. 

5. The supervision policies or a summary of the policies 
shall be provided, upon request, to the placing agency or 
legal guardian prior to placement. 

6. The Board of Juvenile Justice shall determine the 
supervision ratios for facilities regulated by the 
Department of Juvenile Justice. 

22VAC42-11-840. Emergency telephone numbers. 

A. There shall be an emergency telephone number where a 
staff person may be immediately contacted 24 hours a day. 

B. Residents who are away from the facility and the adults 
responsible for their care during the absence shall be 
furnished with the emergency phone number. 

22VAC42-11-850. Searches. 

A. Strip searches and body cavity searches are prohibited 
except: 

1. As permitted by other applicable state regulations; or 

2. As ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction. 

B. A provider that does not conduct pat downs shall have a 
written policy prohibiting them. 

C. A provider that conducts pat downs shall develop and 
implement written policies and procedures governing them 
that shall provide that: 

1. Pat downs shall be limited to instances where they are 
necessary to prohibit contraband; 

2. Pat downs shall be conducted by personnel of the same 
gender as the resident being searched; 

3. Pat downs shall be conducted only by personnel who are 
specifically authorized to conduct searches by the written 
policies and procedures; and 

4. Pat downs shall be conducted in such a way as to protect 
the subject’s dignity and in the presence of one or more 
witnesses. 

22VAC42-11-860. Behavior support. 

A. Within 30 days of admission, the provider shall develop 
and implement a written behavior support plan that allows the 
resident to self-manage his own behaviors. Each 
individualized plan shall include: 

1. Identification of positive and problem behavior; 

2. Identification of triggers for behaviors; 

3. Identification of successful intervention strategies for 
problem behavior; 

4. Techniques for managing anger and anxiety; and 
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5. Identification of interventions that may escalate 
inappropriate behaviors. 

B. Individualized behavior support plans shall be developed 
in consultation with the: 

1. Resident; 

2. Legal guardian; 

3. Resident’s parents, if applicable; 

4. Program director; 

5. Placing agency staff; and 

6. Other applicable individuals. 

C. Prior to working alone with an assigned resident each 
staff member shall demonstrate knowledge and understanding 
of that resident’s behavior support plan. 

[ D. This section shall not apply to secure detention and the 
Reception and Diagnostic Center. ] 

22VAC42-11-870. Timeout. 

A. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures governing the conditions under which 
a resident may be placed in timeout and the maximum period 
of timeout. The conditions and maximum period of timeout 
shall be based on the resident’s chronological and 
developmental level. 

B. The area in which a resident is placed shall not be locked 
nor the door secured in a manner that prevents the resident 
from opening it, except that this subsection does not apply to 
secure custody facilities. 

C. A resident in timeout shall be able to communicate with 
staff. 

D. Staff shall check on the resident in the timeout area at 
least every 15 minutes and more often depending on the 
nature of the resident’s disability, condition, and behavior. 

E. Use of timeout and staff checks on the residents shall be 
documented. 

22VAC42-11-880. Prohibitions. 

The following actions are prohibited: 

1. Deprivation of drinking water or food necessary to meet 
a resident's daily nutritional needs, except as ordered by a 
licensed physician for a legitimate medical purpose and 
documented in the resident's record; 

2. Limitation on contacts and visits with the resident’s 
attorney, a probation officer, regulators, or placing agency 
representative; 

3. Bans on contacts and visits with family or legal 
guardians, except as permitted by other applicable state 
regulations or by order of a court of competent jurisdiction; 

4. Delay or withholding of incoming or outgoing mail, 
except as permitted by other applicable state and federal 
regulations or by order of a court of competent jurisdiction; 

5. Any action that is humiliating, degrading, or abusive; 

6. Corporal punishment; 

7. Subjection to unsanitary living conditions; 

8. Deprivation of opportunities for bathing or access to 
toilet facilities, except as ordered by a licensed physician 
for a legitimate medical purpose and documented in the 
resident's record; 

9. Deprivation of health care; 

10. Deprivation of appropriate services and treatment; 

11. Application of aversive stimuli, except as permitted 
pursuant to other applicable state regulations; 

12. Administration of laxatives, enemas, or emetics, except 
as ordered by a licensed physician or poison control center 
for a legitimate medical purpose and documented in the 
resident's record; 

13. Deprivation of opportunities for sleep or rest, except as 
ordered by a licensed physician for a legitimate medical 
purpose and documented in the resident's record; and 

14. Limitation on contacts and visits with advocates 
employed by the Department of Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services or the Virginia 
Office [ of for ] Protection and Advocacy. 

22VAC42-11-890. Pharmacological or mechanical 
restraints. 

A. Use of mechanical restraints is prohibited except, as 
permitted by other applicable state regulations or as ordered 
by a court of competent jurisdiction. 

B. Use of pharmacological restraints is prohibited. 

22VAC42-11-900. [ Behavioral Behavior ] interventions. 

A. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures for behavioral interventions and for 
documenting and monitoring the management of resident 
behavior. Rules of conduct shall be included in the written 
policies and procedures. These policies and procedures shall: 

1. Define and list techniques that are used and available for 
use in the order of their relative degree of restrictiveness; 

2. Specify the staff members who may authorize the use of 
each technique; and 
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3. Specify the processes for implementing such policies 
and procedures [ . ]  

B. Written information concerning the policies and 
procedures of the provider’s behavioral support and 
intervention programs shall be provided prior to admission to 
prospective residents, legal guardians, and placing agencies. 
For court-ordered and emergency admissions, this 
information shall be provided to: 

1. Residents within 12 hours following admission; 

2. Placing agencies within 72 hours following the resident's 
admission; and 

3. Legal guardians within 72 hours following the resident's 
admission, except that this requirement does not apply: 

a. To secure detention facilities except when a juvenile is 
confined in postdispositional; 

b. When a facility is providing temporary care of 30 days 
or less while conducting a diagnostic evaluation to 
identify the most appropriate long-term placement for a 
child who has been committed to the Department of 
Juvenile Justice; and 

c. When a state [ mental psychiatric ] hospital is 
evaluating a child's treatment needs as provided by the 
Code of Virginia. 

C. When substantive revisions are made to policies and 
procedures governing management of resident behavior, 
written information concerning the revisions shall be 
provided to: 

1. Residents prior to implementation; and 

2. Legal guardians and placing agencies prior to 
implementation except that this requirement does not 
apply: 

a. To secure detention facilities; 

b. When a facility is providing temporary care of 30 days 
or less while conducting a diagnostic evaluation to 
identify the most appropriate long-term placement for a 
child who has been committed to the Department of 
Juvenile Justice; and 

c. When a state [ mental psychiatric ] hospital is 
evaluating a child's treatment needs as provided by the 
Code of Virginia. 

D. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures governing use of physical restraint 
that shall include: 

1. The staff position who will write the report and 
timeframe;  

2. The staff position who will review the report and 
timeframe; and 

3. Methods to be followed should physical restraint, less 
intrusive interventions, or measures permitted by other 
applicable state regulations prove unsuccessful in calming 
and moderating the resident's behavior. 

E. All physical restraints shall be reviewed and evaluated to 
plan for continued staff development for performance 
improvement. 

F. Use of physical restraint shall be limited to that which is 
minimally necessary to protect the resident or others. 

G. Trained staff members may physically restrain a resident 
only after less restrictive interventions have failed or when 
failure to restrain would result in harm to the resident or 
others. 

H. Only trained staff members may manage resident 
behavior. 

I. Each application of physical restraint shall be fully 
documented in the resident's record including: 

1. Date; 

2. Time; 

3. Staff involved; 

4. Justification for the restraint; 

5. Less restrictive interventions that were unsuccessfully 
attempted prior to using physical restraint; 

6. Duration; 

7. Description of method or methods of physical restraint 
techniques used;  

8. Signature of the person completing the report and date; 
and 

9. Reviewer’s signature and date. 

J. Providers shall ensure that restraint may only be 
implemented, monitored, and discontinued by staff who have 
been trained in the proper and safe use of restraint, including 
hands-on techniques [ , if applicable, by an individual 
experienced in training staff in the management of behavior 
for the population served ] . 

K. The provider shall review the facility’s behavior 
intervention techniques and policies and procedures at least 
annually to determine appropriateness for the population 
served. 

L. Anytime children are present staff must be present who 
have completed all trainings in behavior intervention. 

22VAC42-11-910. Seclusion. 

Seclusion is allowed only as permitted by other applicable 
state regulations. 



Regulations 

Volume 24, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 26, 2007 

877 
 

22VAC42-11-920. Education. 

A. Each resident of compulsory school attendance age shall 
be enrolled, as provided in the Code of Virginia, in an 
appropriate educational program within five school business 
days. Documentation of the enrollment [ process ] shall be 
kept in the resident’s record. 

B. The provider shall ensure that educational guidance and 
counseling in selecting courses is provided for each resident 
and shall ensure that education is an integral part of the 
resident's total program. 

C. Providers operating educational programs for children 
with disabilities shall operate those programs in compliance 
with applicable state and federal statutes and regulations. 

D. When a child with [ disabilities a disability ] has been 
placed in a residential facility [ without the knowledge of 
school division personnel in the resident's home locality ] , 
the facility shall contact the division superintendent [ in that 
of the resident’s home ] locality [ in order to effect 
compliance with applicable state and federal requirements 
relative to the education of children with disabilities ] . 
Documentation [ regarding of ] the contact with the resident’s 
home school [ locality ] shall be kept in the resident’s record. 

E. A provider that has an academic or vocational program 
that is not certified or approved by the Department of 
Education shall document that teachers meet the 
qualifications to teach the same subjects in the public schools. 

F. Each provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures to ensure that each resident has 
adequate study time. 

22VAC42-11-930. Religion. 

A. The provider shall have and implement written policies 
regarding opportunities for residents to participate in religious 
activities. 

B. The provider's policies on religious participation shall be 
available to residents and any individual or agency 
considering placement of a child in the facility. 

C. Residents shall not be coerced to participate in religious 
activities. 

22VAC42-11-940. Recreation. 

A. The provider shall have a written description of its 
recreation program that describes activities that are consistent 
with the facility's total program and with the ages, 
developmental levels, interests, and needs of the residents that 
includes: 

1. Opportunities for individual and group activities; 

2. Free time for residents to pursue personal interests that 
shall be in addition to a formal recreation program except 
this subdivision does not apply to secure custody facilities; 

3. Use of available community recreational resources and 
facilities except this subdivision does not apply to secure 
custody facilities; 

4. Scheduling of activities so that they do not conflict with 
meals, religious services, educational programs or other 
regular events; and 

5. Regularly scheduled indoor and outdoor recreational 
activities that are structured to develop skills and attitudes. 

B. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures to ensure the safety of residents 
participating in recreational activities that include: 

1. How activities will be directed and supervised by 
individuals knowledgeable in the safeguards required for 
the activities; 

2. How residents are assessed for suitability for an activity 
and the supervision provided; and 

3. How safeguards for water-related activities will be 
provided including ensuring that a certified life guard 
supervises all swimming activities.  

C. For all overnight recreational trips away from the facility 
the provider shall document trip planning to include:  

1. A supervision plan for the entire duration of the activity 
including awake and sleeping hours; 

2. A plan for safekeeping and distribution of medication; 

3. An overall emergency, safety, and communication plan 
for the activity including emergency numbers of facility 
administration; 

4. Staff training and experience requirements for each 
activity; 

5. Resident preparation for each activity; 

6. A plan to ensure that all necessary equipment for the 
activity is in good repair and appropriate for the activity; 

7. A trip schedule giving addresses and phone numbers of 
locations to be visited and how the location was 
chosen/evaluated; 

8. A plan to evaluate residents’ physical health throughout 
the activity and to ensure that the activity is conducted 
within the boundaries of the resident’s capabilities, dignity, 
and respect for self-determination; 

9. A plan to ensure that a certified life guard supervises all 
swimming activities in which residents participate; and 

10. Documentation of any variations from trip plans and 
reason [ and reason ] for the variation. 

D. All overnight out-of-state or out-of-country recreational 
trips require written permission from each resident’s legal 
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guardian. Documentation of the written permission shall be 
kept in the resident’s record. 

22VAC42-11-950. Community relationships. 

A. Opportunities shall be provided for the residents to 
participate in activities and to utilize resources in the 
community, except this [ section subsection ] does not apply 
to secure custody facilities. 

B. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures for evaluating persons or 
organizations in the community who wish to associate with 
residents on the premises or take residents off the premises. 
The procedures shall cover how the facility will determine if 
participation in such community activities or programs would 
be in the residents’ best interest. 

C. Each facility shall have a staff community liaison who 
shall be responsible for facilitating cooperative relationships 
with neighbors, the school system, local law enforcement, 
local government officials, and the community at large. 

D. Each provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures for promoting positive relationships 
with the neighbors that shall be approved by the regulatory 
authority. 

22VAC42-11-960. Clothing. 

A. Provision shall be made for each resident to have an 
adequate supply of clean, comfortable, and well-fitting 
clothes and shoes for indoor and outdoor wear. 

B. Clothes and shoes shall be similar in style to those 
generally worn by children of the same age in the community 
who are engaged in similar activities, except this requirement 
does not apply to secure custody facilities. 

C. Residents shall have the opportunity to participate in the 
selection of their clothing, except this requirement does not 
apply to secure custody facilities. 

D. Residents shall be allowed to take personal clothing when 
leaving the facility. 

22VAC42-11-970. Allowances and spending money. 

A. The provider shall provide opportunities appropriate to 
the ages and developmental levels of the residents for 
learning the value and use of money, except this requirement 
does not apply to secure detention facilities. 

B. There shall be a written policy regarding allowances that 
shall be made available to legal guardians at the time of 
admission, except that this requirement does not apply to 
secure detention facilities. 

C. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies for safekeeping and for recordkeeping of any money 
that belongs to residents. 

D. A resident’s funds, including any allowance or earnings, 
shall be used for the resident’s benefit. 

22VAC42-11-980. Work and employment. 

A. Assignment of chores, that are paid or unpaid work 
assignments, shall be in accordance with the age, health, 
ability, and service plan of the resident. 

B. Chores shall not interfere with school programs, study 
periods, meals, or sleep. 

C. Work assignments or employment outside the facility, 
including reasonable rates of pay, shall be approved by the 
program director with the knowledge and consent of the legal 
guardian, except this requirement does not apply to secure 
detention facilities. 

D. In both work assignments and employment, the program 
director shall evaluate the appropriateness of the work and the 
fairness of the pay. 

22VAC42-11-990. Visitation at the facility and to the 
resident's home. 

A. The provider shall have and implement written visitation 
policies and procedures that allow reasonable visiting 
privileges and flexible visiting hours, except as permitted by 
other applicable state regulations. 

B. Copies of the written visitation policies and procedures 
shall be made available to the parents, when appropriate, legal 
guardians, the resident, and other interested persons important 
to the resident no later than the time of admission except that 
when parents or legal guardians do not participate in the 
admission process, visitation policies and procedures shall be 
mailed to them within 24 hours after admission. 

C. In secure detention, except when a juvenile is confined in 
postdispositional detention, and temporary care facilities, 
written visitation policies and procedures shall be provided 
upon request to parents, legal guardians, residents, and other 
interested persons important to the residents. 

22VAC42-11-1000. Resident visitation at the homes of 
staff. 

If a provider permits staff to take residents to the staff’s 
home, the facility must receive written permission of the 
resident’s legal guardian or placing agency before the visit 
occurs. The written permission shall be kept in the resident’s 
record. 

22VAC42-11-1010. Vehicles and power equipment. 

A. Transportation provided for or used by children shall 
comply with local, state, and federal laws relating to: 

1. Vehicle safety and maintenance; 

2. Licensure of vehicles; 

3. Licensure of drivers; and 
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4. Child passenger safety, including requiring children to 
wear appropriate seat belts or restraints for the vehicle in 
which they are being transported. 

B. There shall be written safety rules [ for transportation of 
residents appropriate to the population served ] that shall 
include taking head counts at each stop [ , which are 
appropriate to the population served, for transportation of 
children ] . 

C. The provider shall develop and implement written safety 
rules for use and maintenance of vehicles and power 
equipment. 

[ 22VAC42-11-1020. Reports to court. (Reserved.) ] 

When the provider has received legal custody of a child 
pursuant to the Code of Virginia, copies of any foster care 
plans submitted to the court shall be placed in the resident's 
record. ]  

22VAC42-11-1030. Serious incident reports. 

A. Any serious incident, accident or injury to the resident; 
any overnight absence from the facility without permission; 
any runaway; and any other unexplained absence shall be 
reported within 24 hours: (i) to the placing agency, (ii) to 
either the parent or legal guardian, or both as appropriate; and 
(iii) noted in the resident’s record. 

B. The provider shall document the following: 

1. The date and time the incident occurred; 

2. A brief description of the incident; 

3. The action taken as a result of the incident; 

4. The name of the person who completed the report; 

5. The name of the person who made the report to the 
placing agency and to either the parent or legal guardian; 
and 

6. The name of the person to whom the report was made. 

C. The provider shall notify the regulatory authority within 
24 hours of any serious illness or injury, any death of a 
resident, and all other situations as required by the regulatory 
authority. Such reports shall include: 

1. The date and time the incident occurred; 

2. A brief description of the incident; 

3. The action taken as a result of the incident; 

4. The name of the person who completed the report; 

5. The name of the person who made the report to the 
placing agency and to either the parent or legal guardian; 
and 

6. The name of the person to whom the report was made. 

22VAC42-11-1040. Suspected child abuse or neglect. 

A. Written policies and procedures related to child abuse 
and neglect shall be distributed to all staff members. These 
shall include procedures for: 

1. Handling accusations against staff; and 

2. Promptly referring, consistent with requirements of the 
Code of Virginia, suspected cases of child abuse and 
neglect to the local child protective services unit and for 
cooperating with the unit during any investigation. 

B. Any case of suspected child abuse or neglect shall be 
reported to the local child protective services unit as required 
by the Code of Virginia. 

C. Any case of suspected child abuse or neglect occurring at 
the facility, on a facility-sponsored event or excursion, or 
involving facility staff shall be reported immediately (i) to the 
regulatory authority and placing agency and (ii) to either the 
resident’s parent or legal guardian, or both, as appropriate. 

D. When a case of suspected child abuse or neglect is 
reported to child protective services, the resident's record 
shall include: 

1. The date and time the suspected abuse or neglect 
occurred; 

2. A description of the suspected abuse or neglect; 

3. Action taken as a result of the suspected abuse or 
neglect; and 

4. The name of the person to whom the report was made at 
the local child protective services unit. 

22VAC42-11-1050. Grievance procedures. 

A. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures governing the handling of grievances 
by residents. If not addressed by other applicable standards, 
the policies and procedures shall: 

1. Be written in clear and simple language; 

2. Be communicated to the residents in an age or 
developmentally appropriate manner; 

3. Be posted in an area easily accessible to residents and 
their parents and legal guardians; 

4. Ensure that any grievance shall be investigated by an 
objective employee who is not the subject of the grievance; 
and 

5. Require continuous monitoring by the provider of any 
grievance to assure there is no retaliation or threat of 
retaliation against the child. 
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B. All documentation regarding grievances shall be kept on 
file at the facility for three years unless other regulations 
require a longer retention period. 

22VAC42-11-1060. Emergency and evacuation 
procedures. 

A. The provider shall develop a written emergency 
preparedness and response plan for all locations. The plan 
shall address: 

1. Documentation of contact with the local emergency 
coordinator to determine [ (i) ] local disaster risks [ and (ii) 
 ] communitywide plans to address different disasters and 
emergency situations [ , and (iii) assistance, if any, that the 
local emergency management office will provide to the 
facility in an emergency ] ; 

2. Analysis of the provider’s capabilities and potential 
hazards, including natural disasters, severe weather, fire, 
flooding, work place violence or terrorism, missing 
persons, severe injuries, or other emergencies that would 
disrupt the normal course of service delivery; 

3. Written emergency management policies outlining 
specific responsibilities for provision of administrative 
direction and management of response activities, 
coordination of logistics during the emergency, 
communications, life safety of employees, contractors, 
[ students students/interns ] , volunteers, visitors and 
residents, property protection, community outreach, and 
recovery and restoration; 

4. Written emergency response procedures for assessing 
the situation; protecting residents, employees, contractors, 
[ students students/interns ] , volunteers, visitors, 
equipment and vital records; and restoring services. 
Emergency procedures shall address: 

a. Communicating with employees, contractors and 
community responders; 

b. Warning and notification of residents; 

c. Providing emergency access to secure areas and 
opening locked doors; 

d. Conducting evacuations to emergency shelters or 
alternative sites and accounting for all residents; 

e. Relocating residents, if necessary; 

f. Notifying family members and legal guardians; 

g. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms; 
and 

h. Locating and shutting off utilities when necessary; 

5. Supporting documents that would be needed in an 
emergency, including emergency call lists, building and 
site maps necessary to shut off utilities, designated escape 

routes, and list of major resources such as local emergency 
shelters; and 

6. Schedule for testing the implementation of the plan and 
conducting emergency preparedness drills. 

B. The provider shall develop emergency preparedness and 
response training for all employees, contractors, [ students 
students/interns ] , and volunteers that shall include 
responsibilities for: 

1. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms; 

2. Implementing evacuation procedures, including 
evacuation of residents with special needs (i.e., deaf, blind, 
nonambulatory); 

3. Using, maintaining, and operating emergency 
equipment; 

4. Accessing emergency information for residents 
including medical information; and 

5. Utilizing community support services. 

C. The provider shall document the review of the emergency 
preparedness plan annually and make necessary revisions. 
Such revisions shall be communicated to employees, 
contractors, students, and volunteers and incorporated into 
training for employees, contractors, [ students 
students/interns ] and volunteers and orientation of residents 
to services. 

D. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency or any other 
condition that may jeopardize the health, safety and welfare 
of residents, the provider shall take appropriate action to 
protect the health, safety and welfare of the residents and take 
appropriate action to remedy the conditions as soon as 
possible. 

E. Employees, contractors, [ students students/interns ] , and 
volunteers shall be knowledgeable in and prepared to 
implement the emergency preparedness plan in the event of 
an emergency. 

F. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency, or any other 
condition that may jeopardize the health, safety and welfare 
of residents, the provider should first respond and stabilize 
the disaster/emergency. After the disaster/emergency is 
stabilized, the provider shall report the disaster/emergency to 
the [ parent or legal ] guardian and the placing agency as soon 
as possible of the conditions at the facility and report the 
disaster/emergency to the lead regulatory authority as soon as 
possible, but no later than 72 hours after the incident occurs. 

G. Floor plans showing primary and secondary means of 
egress shall be posted on each floor in locations where they 
can easily be seen by staff and residents. 

H. The procedures and responsibilities reflected in the 
emergency procedures shall be communicated to all residents 
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within seven days following admission or a substantive 
change in the procedures. 

I. At least one evacuation drill (the simulation of the 
facility’s emergency procedures) shall be conducted each 
month in each building occupied by residents. 

J. Evacuation drills shall include, at a minimum: 

1. Sounding of emergency alarms;  

2. Practice in evacuating buildings;  

3. Practice in alerting emergency authorities;  

4. Simulated use of emergency equipment; and 

5. Practice in securing resident emergency information. 

K. During any three consecutive calendar months, at least 
one evacuation drill shall be conducted during each shift. 

L. A record shall be maintained for each evacuation drill and 
shall include the following: 

1. Buildings in which the drill was conducted;  

2. Date and time of drill;  

3. Amount of time to evacuate the buildings;  

4. Specific problems encountered;  

5. Staff tasks completed including:  

a. Head count, and 

b. Practice in notifying emergency authorities; [ and ]  

[ 6. A summary; and  ]  

[ 7. 6. ] The name of the staff members responsible for 
conducting and documenting the drill and preparing the 
record. 

M. The record for each evacuation drill shall be retained for 
three years after the drill. 

N. The facility shall assign one staff member who shall 
ensure that all requirements regarding the emergency 
preparedness and response plan and the evacuation drill 
program are met. 

22VAC42-11-1070. Independent living programs. 

A. Each independent living program must demonstrate that a 
structured program using materials and curriculum, approved 
by the regulatory authority, is being used to teach 
independent living skills. The curriculum must include 
information regarding each of the following areas: 

1. Money management and consumer awareness; 

2. Food management; 

3. Personal appearance; 

4. Social skills; 

5. Health/sexuality; 

6. Housekeeping; 

7. Transportation; 

8. Educational planning/career planning; 

9. Job-seeking skills; 

10. Job maintenance skills; 

11. Emergency and safety skills; 

12. Knowledge of community resources; 

13. Interpersonal skills/social relationships; 

14. Legal skills; 

15. Leisure activities; and 

16. Housing. 

B. Within 14 days of placement the provider must complete 
an assessment, including strengths and needs, of the 
resident’s life skills using an independent living assessment 
tool approved by the regulatory agency. The assessment must 
cover the following areas:  

1. Money management and consumer awareness; 

2. Food management; 

3. Personal appearance; 

4. Social skills; 

5. Health/sexuality; 

6. Housekeeping; 

7. Transportation; 

8. Educational planning/career planning; 

9. Job-seeking skills; 

10. Job maintenance skills; 

11. Emergency and safety skills; 

12. Knowledge of community resources; 

13. Interpersonal skills/social relationships; 

14. Legal skills; 

15. Leisure activities; and 

16. Housing. 

C. The resident’s individualized service plan shall include, 
in addition to the requirements found in 22VAC42-11-630, 
goals, objectives, and strategies addressing each of the 
following areas, as applicable: 

1. Money management and consumer awareness; 
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2. Food management; 

3. Personal appearance; 

4. Social skills; 

5. Health/sexuality; 

6. Housekeeping; 

7. Transportation; 

8. Educational planning/career planning; 

9. Job-seeking skills; 

10. Job maintenance skills; 

11. Emergency and safety skills; 

12. Knowledge of community resources; 

13. Interpersonal skills/social relationships; 

14. Legal skills; 

15. Leisure activities; and 

16. Housing. 

D. Each independent living program shall develop and 
implement policies and procedures to train all direct care staff 
within 14 days of employment on the content of the 
independent living curriculum, the use of the independent 
living materials, the application of the assessment tool, and 
the documentation methods used. Documentation of the 
orientation [ will shall ] be kept in the employee’s staff 
record. 

E. If residents age 18 years or older are to share in the 
responsibility for their own medication with the provider, the 
independent living program shall develop and implement 
written policies and procedures that include: 

1. Training for the resident in self administration and 
recognition of side effects; 

2. Method for storage and safekeeping of medication; 

3. Method for obtaining approval for the resident to self 
administer medication from a person authorized by law to 
prescribe medication; and 

4. Method for documenting the administration of 
medication. 

F. Each independent living program shall develop and 
implement written policies and procedures that ensure that 
each resident is receiving adequate nutrition as required in 
22VAC42-11-820 A, B and C. 

22VAC42-11-1080. Mother/baby programs. 

A. Each provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures to orient direct care staff within 14 
days of hire regarding the following: 

1. Responsibilities of mothers regarding the child; 

2. Child development including age-appropriate behavior 
for each stage of development; 

3. Appropriate behavioral interventions for infants and 
toddlers; 

4. Basic infant and toddler care including but not limited to 
nutritional needs, feeding procedures, bathing techniques; 
and 

5. Safety issues for infants and toddlers. 

B. Each direct care worker shall have certification in infant 
CPR and first aid prior to working alone with infants or 
toddlers. 

C. A placement agreement shall be signed by the legal 
guardian for each adolescent mother and a separate placement 
agreement shall be signed for each child at the time of 
admission. 

D. In addition to the requirements of 22VAC42-11-680 B, 
the application for admission for the adolescent’s child must 
include: 

1. The placement history of the child; 

2. The developmental milestones of the child; and 

3. The nutritional needs of the child. 

E. In addition to the requirements of 22VAC42-11-700, the 
face sheet for adolescent’s child shall also include: 

1. Type of delivery; 

2. Weight and length at birth; 

3. Any medications or allergies; and 

4. Name and address, if known, of the biological father.  

F. A combined service plan following the requirements of 
22VAC42-11-720 must be written for the adolescent mother 
and her child within 30 days of the admission of the 
adolescent’s child.  

G. There shall be a combined documented review of the 
adolescent mother’s and her child’s progress following the 
requirements of the quarterly report 60 days following the 
first combined service plan and within each 90-day period 
thereafter.  

H. The developmental milestones of the adolescent’s child 
must be documented in each quarterly progress report. 

I. The record of each child 18 months or younger shall 
include the child’s feeding schedule and directions for 
feeding. This information shall be posted in the kitchen. 

J. The provider shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures for tracking: 

1. What a child 18 months or younger is eating;  
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2. How much a child 18 months or younger is eating; and  

3. The response to newly introduced foods of the child 18 
months or younger. 

K. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures to record all diaper changes. 

L. The provider shall monitor that all infants are held and 
spoken to and placed in a position to observe activities when 
they are awake.  

M. Bottle-fed infants who cannot hold their own bottles 
shall be held when fed. Bottles shall not be propped. 

N. The provider shall monitor that all children of adolescent 
mothers have access to age-appropriate toys and are provided 
opportunity for visual and sound stimulation. 

O. The provider shall ensure that when an adolescent mother 
is in school or is working, her child is appropriately cared for, 
either in a licensed child day program or at the facility. 

P. A daily activity log must be kept for each child of the 
adolescent mother showing what activities the child actually 
participated in during the day. The daily log must show that 
children have the opportunity to participate in sensory, 
language, manipulative, building, large muscle, and learning 
activities. 

Q. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures regarding health care of the 
adolescent’s child including: 

1. Obtaining health care: 

2. Ensuring follow-up care is provided; 

3. Ensuring adolescent mothers administer to their children 
only prescription and nonprescription medication 
authorized by a health care professional licensed to 
prescribe medication; and 

4. Medication administration. 

R. The provider shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures to ensure that all toys and equipment 
to be used by children are sturdy, are of safe construction, are 
nontoxic and free of hazards, and meet industry safety 
standards. 

S. The facility shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures for inspecting toys and equipment on a 
regular basis for cleanliness and safety. 

T. Cribs shall be placed where objects outside the crib such 
as cords from the blinds or curtains are not within reach of 
infants or toddlers. 

U. Pillows and filled comforters shall not be used by 
children under two years of age. 

V. Infant walkers shall not be used. 

W. Adolescent mothers and their babies may share a 
bedroom as allowed by 22VAC42-11-480 E, but shall not 
share a room with other adolescents or their children.  

X. Pregnant adolescents may share a room as allowed by 
22VAC42-11-480. 

Y. Providers shall develop and implement written policies 
and procedures to protect infants, toddlers, and young 
children from dangers in their environment. The policies and 
procedures must include but not be limited to protection 
from: 

1. Electrocution; 

2. Falling down steps or ramps or gaining access to 
balconies, porches or elevated areas; 

3. Poisons, including poisonous plants; and 

4. Drowning. 

22VAC42-11-1090. Campsite programs or adventure 
activities. 

A. All wilderness campsite programs and providers that take 
residents on wilderness/adventure activities shall develop and 
implement policies and procedures that include: 

1. Staff training and experience requirements for each 
activity; 

2. Resident training and experience requirements for each 
activity; 

3. Specific staff-to-resident ratio and supervision plan 
appropriate for each activity; including sleeping 
arrangements and supervision during night time hours; 

4. Plans to evaluate and document each participant’s 
physical health throughout the activity; 

5. Preparation and planning needed for each activity and 
time frames; 

6. Arrangement, maintenance, and inspection of activity 
areas; 

7. A plan to ensure that any equipment and gear that is to 
be used in connection with a specified 
wilderness/adventure activity is appropriate to the activity, 
certified if required, in good repair, in operable condition, 
and age and body size appropriate; 

8. Plans to ensure that all ropes and paraphernalia used in 
connection with rope rock climbing, rappelling, high and 
low ropes courses or other adventure activities in which 
ropes are used are approved annually by an appropriate 
certifying organization, and have been inspected by staff 
responsible for supervising the adventure activity before 
engaging residents in the activity;  
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9. Plans to ensure that all participants are appropriately 
equipped, clothed, and wearing safety gear, such as a 
helmet, goggles, safety belt, life jacket or a flotation 
device, that is appropriate to the adventure activity in 
which the resident is engaged; 

10. Plans for food and water supplies and management of 
these resources;  

11. Plans for the safekeeping and distribution of 
medication; 

12. Guidelines to ensure that participation is conducted 
within the boundaries of the resident’s capabilities, dignity 
and respect for self-determination; 

13. Overall emergency, safety, and communication plans 
for each activity including rescue procedures, frequency of 
drills, resident accountability, prompt evacuation, and 
notification of outside emergency services; and 

14. Review of trip plans by the trip coordinator.  

B. All wilderness campsite programs and providers that take 
residents on wilderness/adventure activities must designate 
one staff person to be the trip coordinator who will be 
responsible for all facility wilderness or adventure trips. 

1. This person must have experience in and knowledge 
regarding wilderness activities and be trained in wilderness 
first aid. The individual must also have at least one year 
experience at the facility and be familiar with the facility 
procedures, staff, and residents. 

2. Documentation regarding this knowledge and 
experience shall be found in the individual’s staff record. 

3. The trip coordinator will review all trip plans and 
procedures and will ensure that staff and residents meet the 
requirements as outlined in the facility’s policy regarding 
each wilderness/adventure activity to take place during the 
trip. 

4. The trip coordinator will review all trip plans and 
procedures and will ensure that staff and residents meet the 
requirements as outlined in the facility’s policy regarding 
each wilderness/adventure activity to take place during the 
trip. 

C. The trip coordinator shall conduct a posttrip debriefing 
within 72 hours of the group’s return to base to evaluate 
individual and group goals as well as the trip as a whole. 

D. The trip coordinator will be responsible for writing a 
summary of the debriefing session and shall be responsible 
for ensuring that procedures and policies are updated to 
reflect improvements needed. 

E. A trip folder will be developed for each 
wilderness/adventure activity conducted away from the 
facility and shall include: 

1. Medical release forms including pertinent medical 
information on the trip participants;  

2. Phone numbers for administrative staff and emergency 
personnel; 

3. Daily trip logs; 

4. Incident reports; 

5. Swimming proficiency list if trip is near water; 

6. Daily logs; 

7. Maps of area covered by the trip; and 

8. Daily plans.  

F. Initial physical forms used by wilderness campsite 
programs and providers that take residents on wilderness or 
adventure activities shall include: 

1. A statement notifying the doctor of the types of 
activities the resident will be participating in; and 

2. A statement signed by the doctor stating the individual’s 
health does not prevent him from participating in the 
described activities. 

G. First aid kits used by wilderness campsite programs and 
providers that take residents on adventure activities shall be 
activity appropriate and shall be accessible at all times.  

H. Direct care workers hired by wilderness campsite 
programs and providers that take residents on 
wilderness/adventure activities shall be trained in a 
wilderness first aid course.  

I. The provider shall ensure that before engaging in any 
aquatic activity, each resident shall be classified by the trip 
coordinator or his designee according to swimming ability in 
one of two classifications: swimmer and nonswimmer. This 
shall be documented in the resident’s record and in the trip 
folder. 

J. The provider shall ensure that lifesaving equipment is 
provided for all aquatic activities and is placed so that it is 
immediately available in case of an emergency. At a 
minimum, the equipment shall include: 

1. A whistle or other audible signal device; and 

2. A lifesaving throwing device. 

K. A separate bed, bunk or cot shall be made available for 
each person. 

L. A mattress cover shall be provided for each mattress. 

M. Sleeping areas shall be protected by screening or other 
means to prevent admittance of flies and mosquitoes. 

N. Bedding shall be clean, dry, sanitary, and in good repair. 

O. Bedding shall be adequate to ensure protection and 
comfort in cold weather. 
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P. Sleeping bags, if used, shall be fiberfill and rated for 0°F. 

Q. Linens shall be changed as often as required for 
cleanliness and sanitation but not less frequently than once a 
week. 

R. Each resident shall be provided with an adequate supply 
of clean clothing that is suitable for outdoor living and is 
appropriate to the geographic location and season. 

S. Sturdy, water-resistant, outdoor footwear shall be 
provided for each resident. 

T. Each resident shall have adequate personal storage area. 

U. Fire extinguishers of a 2A 10BC rating shall be 
maintained so that it is never necessary to travel more than 75 
feet to a fire extinguisher from combustion-type heating 
devices, campfires, or other source of combustion. 

V. Artificial lighting shall be provided in a safe manner. 

W. All areas of the campsite shall be lighted for safety when 
occupied by residents. 

X. Staff of the same sex may share a sleeping area with the 
residents. 

Y. A telephone or other means of communication is required 
at each area where residents sleep or participate in programs. 

NOTICE: The forms used in administering 22VAC42-11, 
Standards for Interdepartmental Regulation of Children's 
Residential Facilities, are not being published; however, the 
name of each form is listed below. The forms are available 
for public inspection at the Office of Interdepartmental 
Regulation, Department of Social Services, 7 North 8th 
Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

Initial Application for a Virginia State License/Certificate to 
Operate a Children's Residential Facility, 032-05-5535 (eff. 
[ 3/07 12/07 ]). 

Renewal Application for a Virginia State License/Certificate 
to Operate a Children's Residential Facility, 032-05-5545 (eff. 
[ 3/07 12/07 ]). 

Renewal Application for a Facility Holding a Conditional 
License/Certificate, 032-05-588 (eff. [ 3/07 12/07 ]). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R04-81; Filed November 7, 2007, 11:06 a.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Air Quality Plan - Norfolk Southern Railway 
Company 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 
proposed plan to attain and maintain the national ambient air 
quality standard for nitrogen oxides in the Western Virginia 
Emissions Control Area. If adopted, the Commonwealth 
intends to submit the plan as a revision to the Commonwealth 
of Virginia state implementation plan (SIP) in accordance 
with the requirements of §110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act. 
The SIP is the plan developed by the Commonwealth in order 
to fulfill its responsibilities under the federal Clean Air Act to 
attain and maintain the ambient air quality standards 
promulgated by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 
(EPA) under the Act. 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comments on whether a 
now-obsolete permit that had established RACT for a facility 
that has been shut down should be removed from the SIP. 

Public comment period: November 9, 2007, to December 10, 
2007. 

Public hearing: The Obenshain Room, DEQ West Central 
Regional Office, 3019 Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, Virginia, 
at 6 p.m. on December 10, 2007. 

Description of proposal: The Norfolk Southern Railway 
Company rail car and locomotive maintenance facility located 
in Roanoke, Virginia, (Registration No. 20468) has 
permanently shut down several coal-fired boilers that were 
subject to reasonably available control technology (RACT). 
Because the facility is permanently shut down, DEQ is 
requesting that EPA remove the permit from the SIP. Once 
EPA has approved this request and DEQ has notified the 
owner of this approval, the permit repeal will become 
effective 30 days later. DEQ is seeking comments on the 
issue of whether the now-obsolete permit should be removed 
from the SIP. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 
public participation requirements of federal regulations (40 
CFR 51.102). The proposal will be submitted as a revision to 
the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under §110(a) of the 
federal Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
facsimile transmission and postal mail. In order to be 
considered, written comments must include the full name, 
address and telephone number of the person commenting and 
be received by DEQ by 5 p.m. on the last day of the comment 
period. Due to problems with the quality of facsimile 
transmissions, commenters are encouraged to provide the 
signed original by postal mail within one week. Both oral and 
written comments are accepted at the public hearing. DEQ 

prefers that comments be provided in writing, along with any 
supporting documents or exhibits. All testimony, exhibits and 
documents received are part of the public record. Please note 
this proposed plan is being concurrently reviewed by the U. 
S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

To review proposal: The proposal and any supporting 
documents are available on the DEQ Air Public Notices for 
Plans website 
(http://www.deq.virginia.gov/air/permitting/planotes.html). 
The documents may also be obtained by contacting the DEQ 
representative named below. The public may review the 
documents between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business 
day until the close of the public comment period at the 
following locations: (1) DEQ Main Street Office, 8th Floor, 
629 E. Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, (804) 698-4070 and 
(2) DEQ West Central Regional Office, 3019 Peters Creek 
Road, Roanoke, Virginia, (540) 562-6700. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: Lillian J. Alexander, Permit Writer, 
DEQ West Central Regional Office, 3019 Peters Creek Road, 
Roanoke, VA, telephone (540) 562-6783, FAX (540) 562-
6729, or email ljalexander@deq.virginia.gov. 

Air Quality Plan - Virginia State Implementation Plan 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 
proposed plan to attain and maintain the national ambient air 
quality standard for ozone and very fine particulate matter 
(PM2.5). If adopted, the Commonwealth intends to submit the 
plan as a revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia state 
implementation plan (SIP) in accordance with the 
requirements of §110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act. The SIP 
is the plan developed by the Commonwealth in order to fulfill 
its responsibilities under the federal Clean Air Act to attain 
and maintain the ambient air quality standards promulgated 
by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) under 
the Act. 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comments on the overall 
plan, and on the issue of whether the plan demonstrates the 
Commonwealth’s compliance with certain federal Clean Air 
Act requirements related to general state plan infrastructure. 

Public comment period: November 2, 2007, to December 5, 
2007. 

Public hearing: First Floor Conference Room, Virginia 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia, at 9 a.m. on December 5, 2007. 

Description of proposal: This SIP revision addresses those 
requirements of §110(a)(2)(A) through (M) of the federal 
Clean Air Act that have not been addressed in other SIP 
revisions. It is a compilation of certain elements that describe 
how the state will demonstrate how the eight-hour ozone 
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National Ambient Air Quality Standards are being 
implemented, maintained and enforced. This SIP revision, 
once approved by EPA, will provide a federally enforceable 
confirmation of how the state will continue to comply with 
the requirements of §110(a)(2). 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 
public participation requirements of federal regulations (40 
CFR 51.102). Except as noted below, the proposal will be 
submitted as a revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP 
under §110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act in accordance with 
40 CFR 51.104. It is planned to submit all provisions of the 
proposal as a revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
facsimile transmission and postal mail. In order to be 
considered, written comments must include the full name, 
address and telephone number of the person commenting and 
be received by DEQ by 5 p.m. on the last day of the comment 
period. Due to problems with the quality of facsimile 
transmissions, commenters are encouraged to provide the 
signed original by postal mail within one week. Both oral and 
written comments are accepted at the public hearing. DEQ 
prefers that comments be provided in writing, along with any 
supporting documents or exhibits. All testimony, exhibits and 
documents received are part of the public record. Please note 
this proposed plan is being concurrently reviewed by the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency. 

To review proposal: The proposal and any supporting 
documents are available on the DEQ Air Public Notices for 
Plans website 
(http://www.deq.virginia.gov/air/permitting/planotes.html). 
The documents may also be obtained by contacting the DEQ 
representative named below. The public may review the 
documents between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business 
day until the close of the public comment period at the 
following locations: 

1. DEQ Main Street Office, 629 E. Main Street, 8th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia, (804) 698-4070 

2. DEQ Southwest Regional Office, 355 Deadmore Street, 
Abingdon, Virginia, (540) 676-4800 

3. DEQ West Central Regional Office, 3019 Peters Creek 
Road, Roanoke, Virginia, (540) 562-6700 

4. DEQ South Central Regional Office, 7705 Timberlake 
Road, Lynchburg, Virginia, (804) 582-5120 

5. DEQ Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, 
Harrisonburg, Virginia, (540) 574-7800 

6. DEQ Fredericksburg Satellite Office, 806 Westwood 
Office Park, Fredericksburg, Virginia, (540) 899-4600 

7. DEQ Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A, Cox Road, 
Glen Allen, Virginia, (804) 527-5020 

8. DEQ Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 
Woodbridge, Virginia, (703) 583-3800 

9. DEQ Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern 
Boulevard, Virginia Beach, Virginia, (757) 518-2000 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: Doris A. McLeod, Air Quality 
Planner, Air Planning Programs, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, phone (804) 698-4197, FAX (804) 
698-4510, email damcleod@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load - Back and Poquoson 
River Watersheds 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation, the Hampton 
Roads Planning District Commission, the City of Hampton, 
York County, and the City of Poquoson invite citizens to a 
public meeting to discuss the development of implementation 
plans (IP) to address fecal bacteria impairments to 
shellfishing and recreation in the Back and Poquoson River 
watersheds. Total maximum daily load (TMDL) studies for 
the impairments were approved by EPA in 2006 and are 
available on DEQ’s website at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. 

The implementation plans will identify ways to meet the 
pollutant reductions outlined in the TMDL studies. 

The first public meeting to begin development of the TMDL 
implementation plans for the Back and Poquoson River 
watersheds will be held Thursday, November 29, 2007, at 
7 p.m., Sandy Bottom Nature Park, 1255 Big Bethel Road, 
Hampton, Virginia. 

The purpose of the meeting is to discuss the proposed 
reductions in bacteria needed in the affected watersheds and 
to solicit public participation for the IP development. 

The IPs will include the corrective actions needed to reduce 
bacteria and the associated costs, benefits and environmental 
impacts. The IPs will also provide measurable goals and a 
timeline of expected achievement of water quality objectives. 
A fact sheet on the development of the IPs is available upon 
request. 

How to comment: The public comment period on 
development of the IPs will end on January 2, 2008. Oral 
comments will be accepted and addressed at the public 
meeting. Additional questions or information requests should 
be addressed to Chet Bigelow. Written comments and 
inquires should include the name, address, and telephone 
number of the person submitting the comments and should be 
sent to Chet Bigelow at DEQ or Jennifer Tribo at Hampton 
Roads Planning District Commission: 
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Chet Bigelow, Department of Environmental Quality, 629 
East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 
698-4554, email ccbigelow@deq.virginia.gov 

Jennifer Tribo, Hampton Roads Planning District 
Commission, 723 Woodlake Dr., Chesapeake, VA 23320, 
telephone (757) 366-4344, FAX (757) 523-4881, email 
jtribo@hrpdc.org 

Total Maximum Daily Load - Messongo Creek and 
Hungars Creek 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), Virginia 
Department of Conservation and Recreation, and the 
Department of Health (VDH) seek written and oral comments 
from interested persons on the development of a total 
maximum daily load (TMDL) for fecal coliform bacteria in 
waters located in Accomack County and Northampton 
County, Virginia. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and §62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 
pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 
Virginia’s 303(d) TMDL priority list and report and 
subsequent water quality assessment reports. Virginia 
agencies are working to identify sources of bacteria 
contamination in the watersheds of both Messongo and 
Hungars Creeks. 

During the study, DEQ will develop a total maximum daily 
load for the impaired waters. A TMDL is the total amount of 
a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 
quality standards. To restore water quality, pollutant levels 
have to be reduced to the TMDL amount. 

Messongo Creek, located in Accomack County, was 
identified in Virginia’s 1998 303(d) TMDL priority list and 
report. Sufficient exceedances of Virginia’s water quality 
standards for fecal coliform bacteria assessed segment VAT-
C10E-05 as not supporting the recreation use. 

Hungars Creek, located in Northampton County, was 
identified in Virginia’s 1998 303(d) TMDL priority list and 
report for not supporting the shellfish growing water and 
recreation water uses. Segment VAT-C14E-11 is impaired 
due to violations of the state’s water quality standard for fecal 
coliform bacteria in shellfish growing waters. The impaired 
segment is located in VDH Growing Area 86: Closure 136A. 
Sufficient exceedances of Virginia’s water quality standards 
for fecal coliform bacteria assessed segment VAT-C14E-01 
as not supporting the recreation use. 

The public meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, December 
19, 2007, at 6 p.m. in the Eastern Shore Agriculture Research 
and Extension Center, 33446 Research Dr, Painter, Virginia. 
The purpose of the meeting is to discuss the TMDL 
development process and to share information on bacteria 
sources in the watershed. A technical advisory committee 
(TAC) will also form and meet during the public meeting. 

The purpose of the TAC is to provide technical input and 
insight for the project, review the draft reports, and to assist 
with stakeholder and public participation. 

The public comment period on materials presented at this 
meeting will extend from December 19, 2007, to January 22, 
2008. Questions or information requests will be accepted by 
email, fax, or mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
submitting the comments. 

For additional information and to submit comments: Jennifer 
Howell, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, 
Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Blvd., Virginia 
Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 518-2111, FAX (757) 
518-2003, or email jshowell@deq.virginia.gov. 

Information from this meeting will be made available on the 
DEQ TMDL website at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl/. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on October 30, 2007. The orders may be viewed 
at the State Lottery Department, 900 E. Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

Final Rules for Game Operation: 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Nine (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1008; "7 Come 11" (effective 
10/23/07) 

Director's Order Number Sixty (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1009; "Cut The Deck" 
(effective 10/23/07) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-One (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1011; "Cash Cards" 
(effective 10/23/07) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Two (07) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1010; "$100,000 Double 
Action 2 The Sequel" (effective 10/23/07) 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order 

Purpose of notice: To invite citizens to comment on a 
proposed consent order for a facility. 

Public comment period: November 26, 2007, to December 
26, 2007. 
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Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Jean H. Shepherd to 
address alleged violations of the regulations. The location of 
the UST facility where the alleged violations occurred is in 
Clarke County, Virginia. The consent order describes a 
settlement to resolve these violations. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named below or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information: David C. Robinett, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Valley Regional Office, Post Office 
Box 3000, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-9519, 
telephone (540) 574-7862, FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 
dcrobinett@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Elimination of the Calendar of Events Section 

Effective July 1, 2007, the Calendar of Events section will no 
longer be published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 
Chapter 300 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly amended the 
Administrative Process Act by eliminating the requirement 
that all state agency meeting notices be published in the 
Virginia Register.  In lieu of publication in the Virginia 
Register, the Virginia Freedom of Information Act was 
amended to require that agencies post meeting notices on the 
agency's website and on the Commonwealth Calendar 
maintained by the Virginia Information Technologies 
Agency.  To access the Commonwealth Calendar, please visit 
the Commonwealth of Virginia's homepage at 
www.virginia.gov and click on the calendar on the right side 
of the screen. Public hearing information will still be 
published in the Register and can be found with the 
corresponding proposed regulation. 

Notice to State Agencies 

Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations 

Agencies are required to use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) when filing regulations for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Office of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations implemented a web-based application 
called RIS for filing regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register. The Registrar's office has 
worked closely with the Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) to coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one 
another by sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

The Office of the Virginia Register is working toward the 
eventual elimination of the requirement that agencies file 
print copies of regulatory packages. Until that time, agencies 
may file petitions for rulemaking, notices of intended 
regulatory actions and general notices in electronic form only; 
however, until further notice, agencies must continue to file 
print copies of proposed, final, fast-track and emergency 
regulatory packages. 

ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL 
RETARDATION AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE 

SERVICES 

Title of Regulation:  12VAC35-115. Rules and Regulations to 
Assure the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services From 
Providers of  Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services (adding 12VAC35-115-145, 
12VAC35-115-146; amending 12VAC35-115-10 through 
12VAC35-115-250; repealing 12VAC35-115-160). 

Publication:  23:25 VA.R. 4301-4344 August 20, 2007. 

Correction to final regulation: 

Page 4321, 12VAC35-115-90 A 1, "except" was 
inadvertently stricken from the sentence.  The sentence 
should read: 

"1. See, read, and get a copy of his own services record, 
 except [  psychotherapy notes, ] information that is 
privileged pursuant to §8.01-581.17 of the Code of 
Virginia, and information compiled by the provider in 
reasonable anticipation of or for use in a civil, criminal, or 
administrative action or proceeding;" 

VAR. Doc. No. R05-146 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-130. Solid Waste Planning and 
Recycling Regulations (amending 9VAC20-130-10, 
9VAC20-130-40, 9VAC20-130-60, 9VAC20-130-70, 
9VAC20-130-90, 9VAC20-130-110, 9VAC20-130-120, 
9VAC20-130-130, 9VAC20-130-165, 9VAC20-130-175 
through 9VAC20-130-230; adding 9VAC20-130-125, 
repealing 9VAC20-130-140, 9VAC20-130-150). 

Publication:  24:4 VA.R. 480-493 October 29, 2007. 

Correction to final regulation: 
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Page 486, 9VAC20-130-120 A should read: "A.   [ The 
solid waste management plan shall include Basic planning 
elements ] :" 

Page 488, 9VAC20-130-125 B, in the formula beginning 
with "Where" there is a misspelling.  The word "principle" 
should be "principal" 

Page 491, 9VAC20-130-200, strike "a" in the catchline.  
Catchline should read: "Considerations in designating a 
regional boundary solid waste planning unit boundaries." 

VAR. Doc. No. R06-29 
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